iu.rNO«s HfsraRfCAL su?v£y
BUSHNELU ILLINOIS, CENTENNIAL
1854 - 1954
iw M :iii;'/'«i^'iiii»-.*iin*.^:.' ^-v'*':-:-
THE COTTONWOOD TREE
A LETTER ABOUT THE BUSHNELLS
July 4, 1954
Mr. H. W. Fitch
Dear Mr. Fitch:
All of the Bushnell family records, along with some of the family tin-types, were
destroyed in a fire in the early twenties. And thus the history I have for you was
given me by my grandfather.
I was born in 1893 in Hoopeston, Illinois. My father, William Isaac Bushnell,
was born in 1868 in Terre Haute, Indiana. My father died in 1906 and I went to live
with my grandfather, Heneiy Leroy Bushnell in Hoopeston, which is probably the
main reason I can trace the family so clearly as I spent many a long winter evening
listening to family history.
My grandfather was bom in Chicago in 1841
on a farm which is now the site of the Corn Ex-
change Nat'l Bank His father was Isaac Bushnell
who was the brother of Wehenriah Bushnell,
they having migrated to Chicago from Connecti-
cut in about 1815. Their father's uncle was
David Bushnell, the inventor of the submarine
and for whom I am n^med. My grandfather had
some drawings of the original submarine which
he showed me on many occasions and which I
remember quite distinctly. It was shaped like an
egg, with propellors on the top and sides, which
were turned by a hand crank, from the inside,
by the operator.
But to return to my great grandfather's bro-
ther Wehenriah, My grandfather was named af-
ter him, but after he returned from the Civil
War he had it changed to plain Henry to please
my grandmother. My older brother, Henry, was
named for my grandfather. Grandfather used to
say there had always been a David and Henry
in our branch of the family.
Mr. D. S. Bushnell
I can remember my grandfather discussing his uncle Wehenriah as an important
railroad man and how the city of Bushnell was named after him. But just what his
position in the railroad world was, I do not know, he passed on before I was born
I am sorry I cannot be more specific and give you detailed information about
Wehenriah, as far as I know he did not have a family to perpetuate his name. Time
obliterates us all, I am sure one hundred years front now there will be few if any,
able to recall my name.
It sounds like it would be great fun to be there for your celebration and to ride
in the parade. I am sure Uncle Wehenriah would be pleased to think that one of his
descendants had survived to be at the Bushnell centennial.
If I am unable to come, I am sure our son, David, will be able to come and i know
he will be fully capable of representing the Bushnell family.
Thanking you again for your letter calling my attention to the "Bushnell"
Centennial, and assuring you of my interest in any future developments, I am.
DAVID S. BUSHWELL
This book is dedicated to those persons, who in the first twenty years of the
city's existence had the courage and foresight to see into the future and lay a founda-
tion 'lor a community that would survive and prosper down through the years.
Bushnell has never had a pariod in its existence when the population grew too
rapidly unless it was in the first twenty years, for since that time the city has grown
normally, with a growth of some 18% between 1910 and 1950 and with the same
percentage since that census is now about 3800.
We appreciate the help given us by many in the way of data and pictures, who
allowed us to use this material, in anticipation of writing a history of Bushnell.
We realize that much will be left out, because we were not informed of the
facts, or for lack ocE room, but we hope the edition is broad enough to cover most
of the important history and highlights of the city's existence.
GEO. L. CHAIN
, f ;" l>». * Vl? ?■
f ■ ^A'
A Story Worth the Saving, by all Our Readers
(The following article is from the pen of Miss Florence Williams, written in
1913. Miss Williams is a daughter of the late F. M. Williams, for years an advocate
of residents of Bushnell and vicinity. She is a member of one of the old families
of this community, was a teacher in the Bushnell Public Schools and this history
will be read with interest and profit, to her is extended our thanks — Editor's Note)
Bushnell, a town of not quite 4,000, is situated at the junction of the Burlington,
T. P. & W. and St. Louis branch of the Burlington.
Bushnell was laid out in 1854 before the completion of the Northern Cross railroad.
John D. Hall of Macomb, sold a two-third interest in northeast quarter of section 33 to
D. P. Wells and Iverson L. Twyman, also of Macomb. Wm. H. Rile, County surveyor,
assisted these men in laying out the twon, running the streets parallel with the
railroad. The quarter was divided into forty-eight blocks of 12 lots each, the blocks
being 360 ft. square. Two streets running parallel with the railroad, one on either
side were made seventy feet wide, with all others sixty.
The town was named in honor of I. N. Bushnell, at that time president of the
Northern Cross railroad, the name by which the Burlington was then known.
When the town was laid out, there was nothing on its proposed site, but a large
"wolf pole." A pole erected on the highest eminence in the neighborhood, on what is
now the home of the writer, where it could be seen by parties engaging in the wolf
hunt, it forming a common center.
The nearest houses to this site were those of M. B. Robinson, Joseph Crawford and
J. H. Spicer, some three miles west. For miles around, not a rod of land was fenced
and not a road was located and in many places the prairie grass was so tall you could
not see a man on horseback.
As soon as the town was laid out, the proprietors built a small store of slabs, en
the lot at the corner of E. Main and Wells Streets owned by Mrs. Carlock, which
they sold to Hiram Markham and he and his brother, Daniel, put in a small stock
of goods. Shortly after this, or early in 1855 Hiram Conover, John Beach, Wm. Ervin,
and Wm. Vickers made settlement here. John Crawford commenced the erection of
the first hotel but sold it to John D. Hall who completed it.
The Markhams built a store building where the Opp Garage now stands, living
above the store. Jas. Cole was Bushnell's second merchant, commencing business in
December, 1855. In April, 1856, Negley and Angle of Canton opened a store here and
Wyckoff and Shreeves located the same year where the Style Shop now is. When
Bushnell was laid out the proprietors gave two blocks of land for parks, one on each
side of the railroad. Soft maple trees were set in these parks (by Elias Beaver who
later moved to Falls City, Nebr.) which soon furnished ample shade for recreational
A band stand was erected in the East park and here band concerts. Fourth of July
celebrations, political rallies and other gatherings were held. Early in 1906 the
ladies of the Carnegie Club desiring to add to the beauty of the town, placed foun-
tains in the parks and for a time the water was turned on.
After a few years the city council in reducing the city expenses, cut off the water
and after a time the statuary which was designed by Georgia Harris, now Mrs. Dick
Bradley of Peoria, was junked.
Some years later a landscape project was started and work was begun in the East
park by removing a number of trees and filling the spaces with shrubbery. The
attempt was so strenuously objected to by residents adjoining that the West park was
At an election held March 24, 1869, Bushnell received a charter and J. B. Cum-
mings was elected the first mayor. The town was divided into four wards which in
later years was reduced to three, which is the number at the present time. James
Kelly and Manning West were elected aldermen in ward one; Jas. Cole and James
Ayres in ward two; Wm. Oglesby and J. N. McElvain, ward three and Fisher Brown
and A. E. Barnes, ward four. M. A. Luce was the first city attorney and clerk; Joe
One of the first houses built in Bushnell, but not identified.
The vocations of the people of Bushnell have been many and varied — The Bush-
nell Pump Co., the oldest in point of years was established in 1867 by Nelson, La-
Tourette & Co., later owned by Wheeler & Duntley.
A little later that year Pierpont and Tuttle manufactured cultivators and plows.
The first barbed wire factory in the United States was erected in Bushnell by Jas.
Aryes and Decker on the lot where the Kroger Store is now located.
Ball & Sons were the first wagon and carriage makers in Bushnell and to own a
Ball-made buggy was to be considered in the well-to-do class. E. E. Hall and H.
Smith came later.
Jas. Miner was the first agriculture implement dealer in the town.
J. V. and G. Oblander were the first furniture dealers in Bushnell.
Cigar factories were operated by Davey, Gardinier, Kreig, Angle and Krauser.
Livery stables were owned by Chandler & Sperling, G. W. Wood, and for years
John Roach, bought, sold and shipped many horses from Bushnell.
Bushnell's first marble cutters were Hume & Katchler.
The Farmers National Bank was organized in 1870 with Chas. Wilson, unanimously
elected its first president. Jas Cole, after some years as a grain dealer and merchant,
organized and operated the First National Bank. Alexander & Heaton, John Neune-
maker and Mack Pinckley followed down the line, and at this time, the Farmers
and Merchants State Bank is the only bank located here.
S. A. Hendee, merchant, grain dealer and hotel owner, was active in the early
days of Bushnell.
The first drug store in Bushnell, was owned by B. F. Pinckley. A. S. Clark was
Bushnell's first doctor and he was also a druggist and for many years Clark's Drug
and Book Store conducted by his sons, Edward and Clarence, was one of the best.
Drs. Markham, Morgan, Beadles, E. K. Westfall, Kay, Scroggs and Haines were
health dispensors in the passing years.
It was in 1882 that Miss Ella McGee's fly-net industries gave employment to 200
J. M. McGehe, P. Hersey and son, Albrecht and sons looked to the shoeing of
horses and the sharpening of plows. Bushnell's legal advisors in its earlier years
were W. H. Oglesby, Sanders & McKinney, Joe Connell, Barnes and Fox, E. E.
Chesney, Solon Banfil and Tom Sparks.
The first wedding in Bushnell was on November 6, 1858 when Martha Lindsey and
Augustus Downey were married by Justice W. H. Downey. The first death was that
of Edward Cole, a son of Mr. and Mrs. Jas. Cole. The first birth was in the Mark-
ham family in 1855.
The first well dug in Bushnell is on the lot now owned by Kate Klein. The
first postmaster of Bushnell was named Markham.
Reed and Shafer opened the first meat market, and Nessel and Klein entered the
meat business in 1869.
Among the many persons who have achieved more than honorable mention we
note: Chas. M. Hayes, president af the Grand Trunk railroad who went down with
the Titanic; A. D. Bethard, general manager of the M. K. & T. R. R.; Vic West, Dept.
of Political Science Leland Stanford, University; Howard Silberer, Chicago, musician
and composer, son of Louis Silberer.
Doc Kuhn, now of Indianapolis, Indiana, is a noted cartoonist.
Dr. James and Dr. Murphy were early dentists.
Early in the history of Bushnell, the making of pressed brick was an important in-
dustry and for years the E. Lauterbach brickyard, west of town, was a successful
business, but later this was abandoned and Mr. Lauterbach devoted his time to his
greenhouse, which for years was his delight.
Martin Schulze was for years a dealer in poultry.
The original Cole building at the corner of East Main Street and Hail. The
bricks for this building were manufactured by James Cole, himself, in the 1860's
and the clay was taken from the land where the pond is now located just north of the
cemetery. Mr. Cole also put up some ice out of the pond and probably was the first
ice man in town, he later sold out to George Schaefer, who lived there 'for many
years near the pond in the house still there and he was in the ice business for
The Truman Pioneer Stud Farm was organized by J. H. Truman of Whittlesea,
England, and his four sons, in 1885. Importers of Shire, Hackney, Percheron and Bel-
gian horses perhaps placed Bushnell on the map of the world more than any
other industry Bushnell has ever had. J. G. Truman was president of the firm from
As early as 1869 a library association was formed and was approved by the legis-
Largely through the untiring efforts of the Woman's Club this institution has been
kept growing and Bushnell today is proud of her library.
Miss Marjorie Elliott was the first paid librarian, followed by Miss E. Mabel Miner
who for many years most efficiently served until failing health compelled her to
resign. Since that time Mrs. Grace Cleveland, and Mrs. Robert Newell have very
capably filled that position.
The first hotel was built by John Crawford in 1855, and the National Hotel built
by the Negleys and later owned and operated by A. Hess on Crafford Street, op-
posite the East park. The St. Charles, operated by L. H. Green on Hurst Street, The
Sorter House, opposite the T. P. & W. station. The Bushnell House, opposite the Q
Station, The Hendee House on West Main Street, known as the New Alexander
today, have come down through the years.
Goeppinger, Leib, Schnarr and Beaver were early saddle and harness makers.
Sperling, Schnarr, Winkler, and Bursts made boots and shoes for the early in-
habitants of Bushnell.
In the year 1868, the first newspaper in Bushnell was established by D. G. Swan
and was called the Union Press. He soon sold his business to Andrew Hagaman,
who changed the name to The Bushnell Record. It was largely through the efforts
of this editor in 1870 that Bushnell succeeded in routing the R. I. & St. L. railroad
through Bushnell instead of Macomb. In 1871 Mr. Hagaman sold The Record to A.
W. VanDyke, who in 1873 sold out to Epperson & Spencer. In the year 1874 Epperson
became the sole owner. Next Tom Camp and Chas. Taylor took over the paper and in
1882 John Camp took Taylor's place and Camp Bros, controlled the paper until Tom
became States Attorney for McDonough County, when John had complete control
until his death in 1915. The Record was controlled by his widow until purchased by
J. E. Dertinger. It had always been of the Republican faith.
The Gleaner, an independent paper, published by A. W. Van Dyke was burned in
1884 and in that same year the McDonough Democrat was started, and through all
the years, until his death, was owned, controlled and edited by Chas. C. Chain and
It was along in the 80's that it was considered quite proper to go to the depot to
see the evening trains come in, and one evening by actual count, there were 211
people on the platform and they didn't come in automobiles either.
The American House, one of Bushnell's first hotels and stood on East Hurst
Street where Rawls Furniture Store now stands.
WAY BACK WHEN
I wonder if anybody remembers when the Clevelands had a pottery on the back
of the lot where Jess Darst now lives, just off the hard road on E. Hail Street.
Well, they did; Wm. Cleveland, the father, was foreman; Lon Cleveland was a
workman; Charles Cleveland, another son, was a workman as well as Clayte and
Bob. With some help that was the outfit, and still they made all sorts of pots and
crocks and such things as were made by hand in that year of about 1880. I do not
know whether any of the old buildings are standing, but it was quite an out-
fit right on the alley and they made many crocks, jugs, etc., for they were adept
at the work.
Now the old brick yards were located in the southeast part of town £ nd at one
time was one of the largest establishments in this part of the country. The Kaisers,
Katzensteins and others were leaders in this work. They made pressed brick and it
was all of a good quality and sold all over the country until the brick trust heads
which were in St. Louis went after them and broke th^- outfit.
In the long ago, there was a dance club in Bushnell whose membership was limit-
ed to thirty and there was always a waiting :ist. The orchestra started playing at
eight o'clock, and quit at Twelve promptly. AH the dances were held in t le Render
House and they had some fine dances. During the season, they got fifty cents a dance
end there was enough extra to have two more riaking seven dances du ing tho
season. They all worked and had to get to work at seven o'clock :n the morr.ir ; so you
can understand why they did not stay out too late. The dances were held every Fri-
day night. Following that was what was known as the Union Cub end v as com-
posed of young men oif the town who had thoir lOoms over where the old post office
was, occupying the entire floor. At that time the American House, or the remains of
the American House was next door with a stairway between the two. That was the
way we got into the better location.
It was a very popular club while it lasted but finally broke up because so manv
of the members died, got married and a lot of things like that.
The American Hotel was an old frame building which stood where Rawls Furni-
ture Store now is and S. Bradfield ran the Bushnell House right across the street
south from where Varner's Grocery is. It was a frame building still remembered by
the older ones.
W. F. Davey and Company were cigar makers in Bushnell, having an establish-
ment with offices, work rooms, etc., over where the Bank of Bushnell used to be and
Doug now has his drug store. This establishment ran clear through to the alley and
there were about one hundred and fifty employees of all kinds and character in
this establishment. That was along about the year 1880, but Mr. Davey concluded
that he would quit his establishment here and go down to New York, which he did,
and information is that he did not succeed very well in New York. K. Kreig
and half a dozen others made cigars in those days and pi'ospered, but cigar making
came to be another thing after awhile when cigars were made by machinery and
so all of those cigar makers were driven out of business.
Pierpont and Tuttle were the originators of the cultivator works, where Nichols
& Co. now have their poultry house and they were a very prosperous firm, making
plows of all sorts and kinds and about a hundred and !ifty men worked for them,
but they went broke or quit and others followed them down to the present, all of
which is spoken of in another article.
Does anybody remember when we had two flour milL in Bushnell? Well, we did.
The Depot Mill was right across the street from the Vaughan & Bushnell Manu-
facturing building and was owned by M. H. Hicks. The Excelsior Mills stood on the
corner right west of where the Depot Mills were, and was run, owned and operated
by G. S. Nevious.
In this building the first rolled oats ever manufactured without steaming the
oats were made. The process was invented by Nagel Brothers and later sold to the
Quarker Oats Co. It is the old Nagel Roller Mills, and was located where the Mc-
Donough Grain and Milling is now located.
I wonder how many of you can remember the old elevator that stood on the rail-
road track across the street from the Opera House. It was owned by Jas. Cole. It
burned down one night, and it was only by the hardest work that the Opera House
was saved. The Opera House has been greatly changed since its building in
1882 by R. S. Randall and others. It was a popular place and the opening night was
made of some importance in the town, although the troup who presented various
plays did not amount to very much, and just a little story about Chas. Chain,
to the effect that he and Curt Wann were chief ushers and the affair was supposed to
be so good that the programs were printed and perfumed. The house was full, holding
six hundred-ten people, that is to say that many could be seated. The Opera House
succeeded the only public house we had in Bushnell at that time, the old Union Hall.
It was the hall which is now known as the Odd Fellows Hall or lodge room. It had
floor seats and a gallery and would probably accommodate two or three hundred
people. It was owned and operated by the Clarke family.
Do any of you remember when the girls wore bustles and long skirts and the
women of the town passed resolutions in their clubs about spitting on the side-
walks as the skirts were so long that they swept all that up?
S. Ostesetter and Mr. Myers were pop makers in Bushnell several years ago, doing
a very thriving business.
I wonder if many people can remember when Tim Downey was alderman of the
third ward and was on the street and alley committee; when A. D. Bethard was
alderman and the father of the drainage system of Bushnell. They both did well,
especially Mr. Bethard who built many and many a mile of tile, but he did not see
that Bushnell would grow and much of his work has had to be done over, increasing
the size of the tile to accomodate the town of Bushnell.
James Cole was mayor several times and one term established a datum plane and
the first pavement was the block rr.r.nin2 east from the corner of East Main and Hail
It is worth mentioning the fact that John Frank at one time ran the most popular
restaurant in Bushnell, located just west of the Sperling restaurant. John Frank's
restaurant was a popular place for young folks and he did a thriving business so long
as he lived. His brother, Ed, also ran a restaurant underneath the Doug Drug Store.
.'sAi^A^i-. . . •^.- ..■rf^^5^.-iA--.
The Meat Market pictured above was taken in 1879 and the men out in front of
the shop are Frank, Philip and Conrad Nessel. They had the second meat market
in town. The building stood where the Adams Cleaners building now stands on the
alley and in those days was Lincoln Avenue. Later Eugene Durst had his shoe repair
shop in the building. ,
There were a number of meat markets in town at that time, but one of them was
owned by Gillam Hall and John Mull with Sam Norcross as worker. They occupied
the old frame building where the Democrat now stands and next door was Bert
Applegate with a ten-cent store. Next to that was John Lieb, All of this was seventy
years ago. The Hendee House was then running and was the largest hotel in Bushnell
and you might say the surrounding towns. The Sorter House was opposite the T. P. &
W. depot and Wanns Foundry was on the corner at the end of West Main Street.
Both burned down one night and it was with difficulty that the Bushnell Pump House
It might be interesting in this connection to note that Curt Wann, the son of the
Wann who owned this foundry, went from here to Hays City, Kansas, and there ac-
cumulated a considerable fortune.
,In sports, Bushnell had in about those years what was known as the Clippers. They
won many games about the country. The list of them I cannot remember, but I do
remember a young fellow we called Dummy because he was deaf and dumb. Dummy
James was the first man in this part of the country to pitch what was known as a
curve ball. He had just two curves, an in and an out, but his playing helped the boys
win a good many games. ' i .^-'^^
The Meat Market shown above was run by John Mull, who is standing in front
of the building, along with William Silberer, who worked for him. The shop was
on the corner where the Democrat Office now stands.
Bushnell had a paid baseba'l team in the early 1900's, with such players as Oscar
Denny, Curt Westfall, Dr. Claude Thomas, Bert Newby, Squirely West, Faulkner and
Spec Ballard. They played where the Veterans Park is now located, with bleachers
and grandstand with cover. The local team at the end of one season defeated Cedar
Rapids, Iowa, winners of the Three I League, who had just defeated the Chicago
White Sox, World's Champions that year.
Spec Ballard, a cigar maker here, was a foot racer, who ran the 100 yards dash in
ten seconds, which was fast in the old days. Frank Lomax also ran the 100 yards
near 10 seconds in his younger days.
William Hood and Forrest Greenup were the angels for a baseball team in about
1915-1917, with Howe, catching; Swanson, pitching; Newby, at first; Chain, at
second; Mott, at short; Dave King, at third; Alva Ford was one outfielder.
The first three mail carriers after free delivery was instituted in the city were
Frank Lomax, Forrest Greenup and Forrest Titchner.
That the high school football team of the Fall of 1931, from the local high school,
set a record in making more scores in one year than any other team in the State,
and this still stands.
The above picture was taken in the Harris home, that stood where the Post
Office is now located. The occasion was the ninetieth birthday of Mr. John Harris,
father of Ed Harris, for many terms Mayor of Bushnell, and grandfather of Lee
Harris. The combined ages of the group was 1271 years.
The names, left to right back row standing, are: Wiley, a lawyer and real estate
dealer; Spicer, lawyer; Scott, carpenter; James Cole, merchant and banker; Diltz,
janitor at Methodist Church; Wetzel, farmer, and J. H. Johnson, druggist. Sitting,
Murphy, farmer; Ellerbach, minister; Hawn; Shank; John Harris, farmer, retired;
Predmore; James Miner, implement dealer; A. Copeland and Dr. Clarke, doctor and
The Lincoln Electric Works was operating in Bushnell in 1916-17, in the building
now occupied by Nichols Co., enployed over seventy-five people and made electric
irons, having a complete nickel-plating plant.
Ray Cowperthwaite sold Hudson cars in the east side of the building now occupied
by Krogers. Harry Albrecht and Rex Lomax ran an auto repair shop in the west side.
S. M. Talbot built the building at the corner of E. Main and Davis Streets, last
used by Swift & Co., and he ran a Ford Garage there. Madison Wyles took over the
agency later and Bennett Brant later in the building, now where Vaughan & Bush-
nell Manufacturing Co. are located.
Rex Lomax ran a restaurant in the Chain building ,and Earl Fisk ran a jewelry
store where the Nessel Dairy is now located.
Harry Nessel and Blaine Smith ran a meat market in a building near where Brew-
baker-Ewan now have their office.
Balls ran a skating rink on the lower floor of where the Recreation Center is now
located, and the independent basketball team played their games there at one time.
The high school basketball team played their games in the opera house and the
girls also had a team. The boys team was composed of Kemper Westfall, William
Rose, James Garretson, Forrest Titchner, Dwight Hall and Clarence Krauser. Some
of the girls were Miss Clara Ball, Reta Yockey and Ula Olson.
The Bushnell Golf Club was started about 1917, just east of the Cemetery and ran
for several years.
We had several professional football teams here with Stu Clarke, brother of Potsy
Clarke, and Roon Clarke as coach, with the latter playing on the team. Cal Horn-
baker, A. Brady, Roy Stine, John Kipling, John Nagel, Hub Nagel, Pickel Sowers,
Henry Gorke, Bill Strickland, Paul Madison, Dwight Hall, B. Brant, and the writer
were among the players.
The "Fats" and "Leans" had benefit baseball games during the time that paid
baseball was in Bushnell and the Merchants divided into teams according to weight,
and put un quite a show.
Some of the big fires in the city were, the burning of two large school buildings,
the loss of several large elevators, two where the McDonough Grain & Milling now
operates, one owned by Nagel Bros., another by George Weirather; a large elevator
across from the Alexander Hcjtel, another in front of the opera House block. The
Methodist Church, the Truman Barns on West Main, the White Way Block twice,
first on the south end and the second where Penney's are now located, the Cole Flat
fire, the canning factory fire, the brickyard and Martin Schulze fire near where the
warehouse is now located, and recently the Catholic Church, Keigwins and the
Assembly of God Church.
Mike Merrow had a skating rink in his building, also a dance floor.
Fred Spiker sold Buicks, the Balls sold Studebakers, and Dwight Caruthers sold
Packards in the Ball building, and Frank Smith was his main salesman.
The first Telephone Company was started in 1896 and 1897, and some seventy-five
were subscribers at first.
Bushnell's first electric plant was a steam plant and was located on West Main
Street where the C. I. P. S. Co now has its sub-station, south of the T. P. & W.
tracks, Charles Duntley was manager for some time and this supplied the city until
the C. I. P. S. Co. bought out the holdings.
The first waterworks was started in 1894 and Lou Cleveland was the engineer
that dug the first well and distribution system.
This picture shows the children of Mr. and Mrs. L. L. Silberer and their trained
goats, which they drove on the streets quite frequently. The little girl is Mrs. Harris
Mowrey, the driver Louis Silberer and the little fellow standing is Howard Sil-
brer. It was taken by the Presbyterian Church and shows a part cxf the old Christian
Church, which stood where the 'fire house is now standing at the corner of Hurst
and Dean Streets.
Harry Doner, would come to town in the winter with his mules hitched to a bob-
sled and haul the children to school, much to their delight.
Dave Buntin and Clarence Myers ran a jewelry store where Payne's Shoe Store
There would be many boys downtown when sleighing was good and hitch rides on
the back of horse-drawn vehicles with their sleds.
The old swimming hole was at second creek, west of town, about a quarter of a mile
south of where the Walnut Grove road now meets State Route 9.
THE BIG 25c FAIR
A view of the finish of a race at the Big 25c Fair, showing the grandstand and
Away back in 1879, when Ed Chandler was at his best in building up Bushnell, he
and a corporation organized and launched the Big 25c Fair which was a BIG event
and with the best one-half mile track in the military district, some real races were
to be seen in Bushnell when Walter Palmer of Princeton, George Osgood of Quincy,
Enock Hall, Mr. Ivy of Roseville, Dan Zook, Abe Sperling, Ike Hanks, and Pratt
Dimmitt drove their horses around the track. Bushnell jockeys who rode into honor-
able mention, were Willie Sutherland and Louis Silberer.
Stalls of horses and mules, pens of sheep and hogs, coops of chickens, turkeys,
geese, ducks and rabbits. The Womens' Building filled with needlework, flowers,
culinary products, canned fruits and vegetables. The merry-go-round, pink lemon-
ade, Charlie Cole's famous cream candy and popcorn bricks; the One-Baby Down
concession, the Robbing of the U. S. Mail and Wild West show put on by Jasper
Foster, Sam Wallick, Henry Tainter, Pratt Dimmitt, Tom Malloy, Clarence Bell, made
one day too short to see them all. After the last race was over whole families climbed
into their wagons and buggies and started for home. It was an event where the
whole family attended.
Ed Chandler, Louis and Gus Kaiser, Charles Cline, F. M. Williams, John Roach,
John Johnson and John Brant were some of the presidents while Jim Campbell was
a busy secretary and Bill Hornbuckle, Rob. Sperry, Pete Albrecht, Warren Parliman,
Ben Tainter and Albert Sperry served as marshals during the time as the years
The steam boiler on a horse drawn popcorn and peanut roasting machine, blew
up on the Bank of Bushnell corner in the evening of August 14th, just after the big
fair had closed and although the streets were crowded with people, no one was hurt.
THE LAST FIFTY YEARS
The above picture is a birds-eye view of Bushnell taken from the old water
tower in 1898. In the foreground is the Kathcart Hotel, the old Transfer Building, and
in the center of the city can be seen the two grain elevators, that were there at
The matter of locating the Western Normal College by the State as a State In-
stitution, was the big talk about town, and Macomb was selected in August, 1900.
In September, 1900 the council was petitioned to put in four blocks of pavement,
along German row, which was on Hail Street, from East Main to Crafford, and on
East Main from Ball's Carriage Shop to the Bank of Bushnell, and on West Main
from Hail to Hurst.
In October, 1900, Superintendent of Schools, W. H. Miller, was informed that
students from the local high school would be admitted to the University of Illinois
without examination. ,
Benjamine Nickey died in October, 1900. He came to Bushnell in 1856.
A frame building, between where the Gamble Store is now located, and then oc-
cupied by O. B. Rose, and the Clements building now owned by the Legion, burned.
It caught fire from a peanut machine owned by J. L. Frank. Frank Dodge and Chas.
Dodge were in the buildings destroyed, running a cigar store and variety store,
In November 1900 Chas Clements was acquitted of the murder of Chas. Davidson.
In December of 1900. John D. Nagel and Henry Nagel announced they had com-
pleted the process of taking the hulls off of oats without steam-heating, the first in
the country and over six hundred grocers were selling the product. Mr. Henry
Nagel's wife is still living here.
In January, 1901, W. H. Whittlesey was superintendent of waterworks, and his son,
Bill, is present superintendent.
The city officers elected, in 1901 were: J. E. Harris, mayor; W. H. Dawson, clerk;
Jas. E. Voorhees, treasurer; J. C. Miner, police magistrate; Jas Katenstein, Martin
Schulze and Clarence Clarke, aldermen. For license 331, against 269. The city mar-
shal was John Mull; Supt. of Streets, Peter Klein and Merchants' Police, D. B.
A view looking west from the corner of Hurst and Main, showin:
which the railroad gates were opened and the West Grain Office.
In 1901 the tuition at the college, here, was $10 per term of ten weeks, board $2.00
per week, room rent $3.00 to 5.00 per term.
Priebe, Simater & Co., which was located where the Spoon River Farm Products
Co. is now located, put in the first cold storage in the city for poultry and eggs.
J. H. Spiker bought out his brother, Fred, in the grocery business, in the Summer
James Moore was shot and killed by James Sparks in August, 1901.
The "Woman In Black" story was going the rounds, and many who had seen her
carried wierd tales about her actions.
The tax rate in Bushnell in 1902 was $5.86.
There were 101 water users in the city and the water works superintendent com-
plained many were using water from hydrants and not paying.
The Trumans were importing many horses from England in these days.
A smallpox scare was on and the Mayor issued a quarantine on the homes of Bert
King, David Mowrey, Isaac Hanks, James Barcus, J. R. Camp and W. S. Throck-
In March, 1902, Hoover and Voorhees dissolved partnership with Jas. E. Voorhees,
taking over the business.
The college had decided to quit an J offered their school buildings to the local
school district for $5000, but the voters turned it down in an election in April, 1902.
Bushnell suffered its worst windstorm in its history on June 10, 1902, when trees
were torn out by the roots and many roofs were blown off the store buildings in the
The Chain building was built in this yecr and The Democrat moved in its present
location in that year.
The old board walks downtown ware fast disappearing and brick walks were
petitioned for at each council meeting. James Cole had asked for a stone walks a-
round his building, now being torn out as he was doing extensive work at the bank
W» ■-'*•. "■'..--iiV^. .
This picture was taken looking southeast from the Alexander Hotel an'l show3
the end of the elevator that stood just across the street from the hotel and run by S.
A. Hendee, father of Mrs. Bert Roach and grandfather of Albert Clarke. On down the
street south can be seen the old stockyards that stood across from the Simpson
On September 1st, 1902 the city council passed the first paving ordinance, which
called for the paving of the block from East Main to Crafford Streets on Hail Street.
It was district one. The total cost was about $3000 and was finished in April, 1903.
In the Fall of 1902 the high school football team consisted of Miller, C. Sperry,
Watson, Hollister, Murphy, V. Sperry, E. Smick, Chidester. L. McDonald, C. Smick
The Bushnell Tank Works, which W. J. Vertrees ran here, was given approval to
make mail boxes for rural use by the government.
In November, 1902, John M. Brant Co. started their brick building on West Main
Street, now the south part of the Vaughan & Bushnell Mfg. Co.
J. E. Manlove, prominent fur dealer here, who built a building where the Swift
& Co. office now stands, disappeared mysteriously and at the same time owing
several about town considerable money.
A fifteen month old son of Mrs. Kate Woody was burned to death in the kitchen
at the Bushnell House.
Martin West, another prominent business man here, disappeared. He was in the
grocery business, having bought out Seibert and McDowell.
In February, 1903, the citizens voted to build a new school on the east side,
which is the grade school building there now. At that time it was a combined grade
and high school building.
An item in March 5, 1903 paper, states a boy with a new pair of boots started sink-
ing out of sight at the Barber Clothing Store corner in the mud and was rescued
by Ben Tainter.
A meeting was held March 9, 1903 to consider the paving of East and West Main
Streets from Gridley to Barnes Streets.
Glee Palmeter was killed when he attempted to hop a freight and missed the step
March 13, 1903.
On May 7, 1903 Miss Ethel Brant was giving piano recital at St. Mary's Academy
in Nauvoo, assisted by her sister, Miss Jennie Brant. Dr. Westfall. father of Dr.
Kemper Westfall and now husband of Miss Jennie Brant, was celebrating his 36th
year of practice in Bushnell.
This picture is of the original Hendee building at the corner of Hurst and West
Main Streets, and housed the Chandler Bank and Hendee's Store.
The brick walks were laid in the parks in the summer of 1903.
T. F. Seibert retired from active business after thirty years.
In August, 1903 the surveyor started work on the paving of East and West Main
In December, 1903 the Reform Church building was ordered sold.
In February, 1904, bonds amounting to $15,000 were voted for a new school build-
ing on the East Side.
In March, 1904, an unknown man burned to death on top of the boiler at the
The Carnegie Club of Bushnell received permission of the city council to install
fountains in the parks at the June meeting in 1904.
Frank James, of the famous James Brothers, was starter at the races of the
J. E. Harris was selected as a candidate for the Legislature by the Senatorial com-
mittee in convention in Bushnell, Tuesday, August 9, 1904 and that Fall was elected
to that position.
Bruce Pierson was a cigar dealer in the Cole building on East Hail Street.
The Truman Pioneer Stud Farm was winning many prizes during this period
at the National and Inter-National Horse Shows.
The pavement on East and West Main Streets from Gridley Street, south, and
comprising fourteen blocks, was finished in the summer of 1904. The total cost of the
Main Street pavement was $43,800.
Bushnell's orchestra was organized in the Fall of 1904, and the players were: Di-
rector, C. A. Duntley; A. S. Yearick, H. C. Yearick, Miss Zoe Walker, Geo. Ball, Jay
Dertinger, A. E. Chiles, Geo. C. Klein, J. E. Lagel and E. M. Wyckoff.
The East Side school was opened in the Winter of 1904, just before Christmas.
Walter S. Sheley was owner of a grocery store, which was on East Hurst Street,
next to the Post Office.
Advertisers in The Democrat in December, 1904, were: Jas. E. Voorhees, hardware;
Martin Schulze, located at the old brick yard; The Boston Store, with C. A. Hunt
manager; C. E. Hicks and N. H. Ervin in The Big Store, furniture and undertaking;
Swift & Co., Roger's Meat Market, Corner Jewelry Store, Nessel's Bakery, Lauter-
bach's Greenhouse, Campbell's Jewelry Store, Red Men's band fair, Yearick the
Shoemaker, J. C. Simpson & Co., J. V. Oblander & Co., H. A. Kaiser, L Barber
Walter Sheley, Bruce Pierson, Logan and Gossard, "Bee Hive" restaurant, I. A.
LeMaster, The Grocer, James P. Moore & Son, Poland China Shop, Dr. B. E. Le-
Master, Miss Frances L. Patrick, M. D., Dr. J. P. Roark, Dr. E. K Westfsll, Attorney
T. J. Sparks, Dr. J. A. James, Dentist, Dr. J. C. Griffith, Frisbee's Pharmacy,
C. E. Oblander's Dry Goods, Kuhn's Novelty Store, Crandaland Mitchell Shoes, J.
F. Spiker, grocer, Zook's Pharmacy.
The home of Rev. E. P. Livingston on North Crafford Street and stood on the
west side of the street at the end of Crafford.
Charles M. Says, vice president of Grand Trunk railroad was knighted by King
Edward VH. Hays' grandfather, Samuel Hays, ran a drug store here which he sold
' 3 Dr. A. S. Clarke.
The chicken industry was a big one in those days with the concerns picking and
Wm. Mason and Earl Gardner were killed when a train hit their buggy south
of the city in February, 1905. J. L. Shoemaker, Jr., escaped with a broken leg. He
was in the buggy with them.
Someone counted 178 horses tied to hitchracks in Bushnell on a Saturday afternoon.
Mr. and Mrs. Wm. Russler celebrated their Golden Wedding Anniversary in April,
1905. They moved to near Bushnell in 1855. They are the grandparents of Ralph
Russler, Earl Brown, Mrs. Jack McHendry, William Kessler, Chester Kessler.
William "Billy" Sunday spoke in the East Park in Bushnell, Monday, May 27,
1905, at a meeting of the County Institute of W.C.T.U. The sermon was to have been
in the Presbyterian Church, but the crowd was so large the meeting had to be
moved to the park.
C. S. Norcross and Sons let their contract for their building in May, 1906, and
were moving here from Walnut Grove. It is the building of concrete blocks at the
corner of Davis and Dean Streets, which they still use.
Mr. and Mrs. Jesse Murphy celebrated their sixtieth wedding anniversary. They
were the grandparents of J. D. Murphy of south of Bushnell. The affair was in
"Eastview" came into being in November, 1905, and the sale of lots started No-
vember 24. The lots sold for one dollar down and fifty cents a week. The price of the
lots were $25.00 to $150.00 each. A free hack ran to the sub-division every thirty
minutes from the First National Bank at the corner of Hail and East Main Streets.
The coal chute south of Bushnell, was built by the railroad in late 1905.
The home of W . H. Hunt in 1865 on Rile Street and now occupied by A. Brady.
H. A. Kaiser, the last of the Kaiser family to do business here, sold ,QUt in Decem-
ber, 1905. The name had been prominent in business circles here since the sixties.
Mr. and Mrs. E. M. Wyckoff, who for many years taught piano and vocal music in
Bushnell, presented in recital at their home, in August, 1906, the following pupils:
Bernice Allen, Grace Aughinbaugh, Myrtle Bernhill, Violet Coleman, Mamie Cole-
man, Ray Copeland, Clara Chidester, Mildred Drake, Jennie Douglas, Nelle Durst,
Goldie Edmonson, Lucy Ellis, Louise Elliott, Irma Freed, Mrs. Hattie Griffith, Harry
Griffith, Glenna Griffith, Gretchen Grimm, Rosa Goeke, Pauline Goeppinger, Ger-
trude Garretson, Bernice Hannan, Leona Herring, Elva Hurst, Verna Haines, Grace
Hays, Floy Hockenberry, Ruby Harris, lone Jackson, Lena Korn, Tena Kostinec, Zoe
Kline, Edna Kemp, Walter Lauterbach, Edward Lauterbach, Mrs. Ernie Lowe, Grace
Lafrenz, Lelia Larkin, Maia Miles, Ruth Moore, Rita Markham, Blanch McDonald,
Louie McDonald, Dora Mott, Mrs. Chas. Melvin, Rodney Medus, Ckrrie Mowrey,
Mabel Mowrey, Josie Norcross, Lillian Norcross, Florence Nessel," Henry Nagel,
Johanna Nagel, Fanny Nagel, Louis Oblander, Helen Oblander, Laivell Powellson,
Bert Reipen, Anna Rose, Ruth Rose, Mrs. Dr. Roark, Dorotha Roark, Edward Spang-
ler, Earl Spangler, Inez Simonson, Bertha Vansycle, Lillian Vertree% Anna Williams,
Edna White, Myrtle Weber, Clementine Wolfe, Ida Wheeler, Zelpha Wyckoff and
Mabel Ziegler. The Wyckoffs moved to California where they continued teaching
music until they retired.
Cole's Savings Bank has started in January, 1906, in the building now being torn
down at the corner of Hail and East Main Streets.
Bushnell was having a coal famine in 1906, and so Mayor Harris just took over a
carload of coal standing on the C. B. & Q. tracks and let people come and get it. The
coal belonged to the railroad and was paid for by those who came with small
wagons, wheelbarrows and drays, to get it.
William S. LeMaster had just started his clothing store in October, 1906. It is the
store now being run by his son, Paul LeMaster.
The city council in March, 1907. passed an ordinance prohibiting spitting on the
sidewalks in the city, and it is still on the books.
J. H. Johnson was elected mayor in 1907. J. E. Harris had held the office for over
six years before this, but he had gone to the legislature. This was the second time
for Mr. Johnson and during his term of office many concrete walks were laid down-
Bushnell's paid ball team in 1907 was Dr. Thomas, Burdette, Frish, McKoene, Den-
ney, Clarke, Hartman, Chabeck, Croake, West, Lyons, Ballard, Quin and Doyle.
S. J. Alexander gave the Presbyterian Church a pipe organ.
In August, 1907, the First National Bank bought out the Citizens Bank and W. H.
Heaton retired from the banking business.
Clark Hanks was appointed chief of police by Mayor Johnson in August, 1907.
Two paving districts were voted by the council in 1907, one on Crafford Street
from Hail Street north five blocks and the other the block from East Main to
Crafford Streets on Hurst Street.
The M. Humes home in 1870 and is now occupied by Miss Zoe Sperry.
Truman's famous Hackney mare, "Queen of Diamonds," was winning in every
show at which she appeared.
A. H. Korn made a record run to Peoria in an auto by driving in three hours. He
took Dr. Haines to see Mr. Katzenstein.
The Democrat bought the first type-setting machine in the city, in October, 1907.
Mrs. James Cole died in December, 1907 at the age of eighty years. She and Mr.
Cole were married on March 25, 1854, and came to Bushnell in 1855. To this union
eight children were born seven boys and one daughter. One son, Harry of California
and the daughter, Mrs. Luella French of this city, are still living.
A headon collision between a passenger and freight train occurred here in the
T. P. & W. yards in February, 1908.
Al Sperry was training horses owned by Frank Kramer, Carl Sperry and Pete
Robert Cain died here on March 27, 1908 at the age of 104,
fD *-< i-j
3 S HH
|-( P 3^
O ^ 03
y '^ "S.
2^ fD t3
(^ O) 3
Ci- p 3
r+ 3 ft>
o 2 ■-<
<r+ fD ^
f^ 3 9
5^ '^ w.
E D- S-
O ^ fD
3 2 ^
■ £ !=*
Ch ^ CO
3 ?r °°
O w rt-
o 2 '^
3 (w c
'S f^^ s-
2 c in
^ S o
►C fD ^
n. ^ fD
Ei £- p
i-i fD M
P 3 c
P f^ ^
g W p
Q P 2.
"^ O fD
<r+ fD lit
S- S ^
In the summer of 1908 petitions were presented to the council to pave around the
East Park and north from the northeast corner of the park, north to the end of
Rile Street. From the corner of West Main and Hurst Streets, west to the west park
around the park and then East on Hail to the Democrat Office and north on Jackson
Street to the school building.
The First Bushnell Horse Show was held October 15 and 16, 1908, and a crowd
estimated at 15,000 was present. There were eight blocks of horses in parade and
three blocks of decorated automobiles. At this time, Bushnell was boasting as hav-
ing around 25 autos.
The old T. P. & W. freight depot, two blocks west of the former T. P. & W. pas-
senger depot, burned.
In April, 1909 the streets were to be marked and houses to be numbered.
Sidewalks - 35 blocks were put in during year ending April, 1909.
Hard maple trees were bought for the parks and water plant improvement in 1909.
Mrs. C. H. McDonald built a two-story building south of Hotel.
John Zook sold his grocery to G. C. Conley and Barber bought building from
Bank of Bushnell and S. C. Haines for $11,500 and B. F. Tudor sold the Alexander
Hotel to J. E. Tunnell.
The residences of J. C. Vail and Mart F. West in 1870. Vail dealt in Insurance,
and West in grain. The houses were at the corner of Hail and Jackson Streets and
Hail and Dean Streets, respectively.
James Cole died Friday, June 25, 1909 and in the account of his death it stated
he held about every office of trust in the city, being Mayor three terms, and Presi-
dent of the School Board for seven years. He was President of the First National
Bank until 1906 when he resigned and with his son, George Cole, started the Cole's
Savings Bank of which he was president. This bank was sold and the Farmers and
Merchants State Bank started.
The hard roads built by the State were started in July of 1909. They ran west on
Hurst Street to the C. B. & Q. railroad west of the city and the experiment was a
failure as the city experienced thru the years.
Contracts were let to P. H. Truman of Macomb in August, 1909 to pave around
both parks and ifrom the Democrat Office west to the park and from the First
National Bank west to the west park.
Committees were selected for the second Horse Show in August, 1909.
Dr. W. E. Haines passed away September 9, 1909.
The Nickelodeon, a five cent picture show, caught fire on Saturday night, No-
vember 6th, 1909, in the Cole building and the place was filled, all got out with
only a few being bruised.
The local Masonic Lodge celebrated its fiftieth anniversary in December, 1909.
The officers were W. M., Geo. Bell; S. W., Ira Applegate; J. W., E. L Duntley; Trea-
surer, James Hudson, Sec'y, Jaines Garretson; S. D., A. S. Yearick; J. D., J. E. Voor-
hees, S. S., J. B. Burgett; J. S., C. L. Harrah and Tyler, J. C. Young.
A chapter of Royal Arch Masons was instituted in Bushnell, January, 1910. It
had been organized before but not recognized until this time.
Dreamland Theatre was moved from the Cole building to the building now oc-
cupied by the Telephone Co.
The building now occupied by Mayor, Ross Varner with his grocery, was built
L. Barber was elected as chairman of the Board of Supervisors.
S. A. Hendee passed away after a long illness in June, 1910, after serving Bush-
nell as a merchant, grain dealer and prominent citizen for nearly half a century.
The Nagel Roller Mill burned to the ground on the night of Wednesday, Jan-
uary 12, 1910.
Fred Allen bought the Zook Pharmacy in January, 1910, and his slogan was
"Everybody Knows Fred."
In January, 1910, the city council passed a resolution preparing the way for a
sewer system in the City of Bushnell, and in April of that year the voters approved
the bond issue, but it was found illegal and another election had to be held in July.
The city council licensed fourteen saloons in the city in the Spring of 1910.
R. G. H^nguth, a balloonist, was killed here during a Fourth of July celebration in
1910, when his balloon carried him into a tree on the West side of the C. B. & Q.
tracks about across from where Kugler and Seek Furniture Store is now located.
He had inflated his balloon not cfar from the street.
In July, 1910, the voters again approved the sewer bonds at a special election and
in August the contract was let for the work.
A view of the cars in the 1000-mile automobile race, when they stopped in
Bushnell in 1910.
Free delivery of mail in the residence district was started August 1st, 1910.
In August, 1910, the John M. Brant Co. moved into their new building, which is now
the south part o>f the Vaughan & Bushnall main building and forge shop.
Allen Sparks, father of Burrell "Pete" Sparks, died in September, 1910, afior
living in Bushnell over fifty years. He was county clerk in 1873.
Mr. and Mrs. John V. Oblander celebrated their golden wedding anniversary in
Paving districts seven and eight were let to Pat Tiernan, father of the present
city engineer for the sum of $11,210.34, which included two blocks on Crafford
Street from the Methodist Church south and three on Dean Street, from Hail Street
to the schoolhouse.
The Bushnell Homestead and Loan Association was organized in the Fall of 1910,
by the following men: J. R. Miller, C. E. Oblander, J. H. Spiker, A. P. Landers, Bert
Roach, Lute Barber and Chas. E. Chain. It was chai'tered in January, 1911
The Bank of Bushnell was purchased by Edward and Clarence Clarke and Bert
Roach in March, 1911.
Bushnell's baseball park was out in East View in 1911 with grandstand and high
board fence around a block square.
A new society was organized in Bushnell in June, 1911. The Yeomen of America,
and Earl Morris was elected president, others in the order as officers were: Clare
Smick, Miss B. Brewbaker, Bert West, Dr. and Mrs. C. R. Thomas, Mr. and Mrs.
D. Ross, Roy Herring, Mrs. Otis Beckner.
Geo. West took his own life in September, 1911 by hanging. He was forty-eight
years old and had lived in Bushnell all his life. His father, S. West, was one of
Bushnell's pioneers. ,
In the Fall of 1911 Geo. Weirather was Chief of the Fire Department and after the
resignation of Fitch, Mamrose resigned as night police, Willard Waltman was named
in his place. Willard Waltman was late Superintendent of the Water Works.
The George Long elevator burned on Sunday, September 10, 1911.
Charles Goeppinger, brother of the Goeppingcr sisters, was drowned in Spoon
River near Bernadotte dam on September 8, 1911.
In the years 1900 to 1912 the names of all the students neither absent or tardy
from school were published each month.
The Chicago Live Stock World after the 1911 Horse Show, wrote a column about
the show calling it a thing apart and was duplicated nowhere in the country. There
were 641 entries that year and $4000 in prizes.
Dr. J. D. Murphy died here in Nove.. be •, 1911. He had been a dentist in Bushnell
The Bushnell Club was organized in the Fall of 1911, and its opening was in
March, 1912, with the following officors: Presilent, Bort Roach; Vice President,
John R. Camp; Secretary, Dr. J. E. Ohon: Ass't. Secy, L. R. Norcross; Treasurer, J.
E. Voorhees. Board of Governors, W. J. Nessel, R. E. Lybarger, W. S. LeMaster,
V. V. Hall and Dr. C. L. Cleveland. T'le club thi'ved through many years and was
one of the finest social activities evar 'nfi in th? city.
The B. F. Pinkley home in 1865 and stood on the lot at the corner of Hail and Dean
Streets. Mr. Pinkley was connected with the Bushnell Pump Co.
The Bushnell Horse Show Association sponsored a special train to Chicago in
December, 1911, to attend the International Stock Show.
City Attorney Lybaiger was elected to that office in April, 1911, over David
Chambei's and J. H. Spiker defeated M. M. Pinckly for Mayor, and the Democrats
announced the taking over the Mayor's seat at the first meeting in May, as it was
the first time the Democrats had been in power for about forty years. Roy Hunt
was appointed City Tapper.
Geo. Weirather's elevator burned to the ground for the second time in March, 1912.
In July, 1912, there were 35 automobiles assessed in the city.
Dr. E. K. Westfall died in July, 1912 after practicing medicine here since 1867. He
not only served the community as their doctor, but held many elective offices as well
as serving as postmaster.
C. E. Heister built the mausoleum here in the Summer of 1913.
V. V. Hall and Clay Orum started in the grocery business in 1911 and 1912, and
Simonson and Pittenger were selling Overlands, Reo, linterstate and Moline Auto-
The Bushnell House was torn down in the summer of 1912, and the Herring Bros,
were preparing to build their garage, just south of where Mayor Varner now has
The Cannonball Trail from Chicago to Quincy was laid out through Bushnell.
It was an automobile route.
The Bushnell Fair Association was dissolved in the Spring of 1913 after running
for twenty years and the money in the treasury divided. A new association was
formed at once.
A cyclone hit south of Bushnell in April, 1913, causing considerable damage.
The sale of lots in the Northwest Edition was held on Monday, June 2, 1913,
with a free band concert and $50.00 in Gold was given away. The next week the
tract was voted into the city.
A six oxen team hitch at the Bushnell Horse Show during the parade in 1910.
The C.I.P.S. Co. had purchased the local light plant and were trying to get a
franchise from the city. In the meantime a group of local men were talking of
building a plant and the fur was flying in a short time.
Henry Diltz, died July 2, 1913. He came to near Bushnell in 1859 and lived here
until his death.
The C.I.P.S. Co. was given a ten year contract to light the streets in July, 1913.
David Doner died in July, 1913. He came to near Bushnell in 1868 and his children
Ray and two daughters, still live in Bushnell.
The Bushnell Library was started in the Dr. Griffith building in the Summer of
Philip Doll passed away on August 6, 1913. He came to near Bushnell in 1868.
He was the father of George, Carl and Harvey Doll.
The Farmers and Merchants State Bank was formed by J. H. Spiker, B. H. Alex-
ander, and L. E. Brewbaker. They purchased the Coles Trust and Savings Bank.
W. M. Crosthwaite died suddenly as he was purchasing a ticket at the T. P. & W.
depot on November 13, 1913. He was a prominent lawyer here for many years.
John Roach passed away March 18, 1914. He came to Bushnell in 1876. He was the
father of Bert Roach.
The women of Bushnell voted for the first time in the Spring of 1914, and they
voted out saloons.
The Nagel Bros. Mill burned in May, 1914.
Dr. A. S. Clarke died May 13, 1914. He came to Bushnell in 1857 and was a leading
citizen and doctor until his death. He was the grandfather of Albert Clarke.
Roy Predmore passed away May 11, 1914. He came to Bushnell in 1855.
The contract for a new water tower was let in June, 1914.
Jas. J. Campbell died in August, 1914. He came to Bushnell in 1882 and was a
jeweler here for many years. During this time he handled guns, and many other
kinds of merchandise.
The hoof and mouth disease started in this community in the Winter of 1914 and
was to become a real disaster to the farmers.
Ball Bros, sold out their garage to D. B. Carithers in January, 1914.
Mrs. J. G. Truman and Miss E. Mabel Miner were the first women to be elected
to the school board in the Spring of 1915.
John R. Camp died in the Spring of 1915. He was editor of the Bushnell Record
and a member of the Camp Bros., who had been prominent in Bushnell for many
W. N. Walthers, father of C. H. Walthers, was Chief of the Fire Department in 1915.
Eugene Durst died June 8, 1915. He came to Bushnell in 1868 and was in the
business of making and repairing shoes. His daughters, Nell and Cora, still live
here in their home on Cole Street.
West Main Street in 1900.
Lloyd Sanders was running a grocery store at the southeast corner of Hail and
East Main in 1915.
A. B. Peckenbaugh and Son, were grocers in Bushnell during this time.
John Pool and Sons were in the jewelry business.
Bushnell had its first Chautauqua in July, 1915, on the West Side school grounds.
Lepird and Blough were in the shoe business here in 1915.
J. F. Varner, father of Mayor Varner, was in the grocery business on East Main.
The Airdome Theatre was running a picture show in an open-air theatre on the
lot just north of where Stratton's Garage is now located.
There was no Bushnell Horse Show in 1915, due to the spread of the Hoof and
The petition for the curb lights on East and West Main Streets was taken before the
council and passed. The merchants were to buy the lights and have them installed.
The city council, after years of suits against the C. B. & Q. railroad, to make them
move the side tracks and freight depot from the center of the city gave up and so
notified the proper authorities.
Bushnell High School's basketball team was doing alright in the 1915-1916 season
the coach was Paul Benjamin and the players were Schaible, Van Meter, Rider, Lau-
terbach, Beckner and Simonson.
The Alexander Hotel had been completely remodeled at the end of 1915.
The C.I.P.S. Co. was given its first franchise by the city council in February of 1916.
George Bayne of Quincy was coming to Bushnell to start a new factory in the
Spring of 1916.
J. V. Oblander died suddenly in March of 1916. He had been a furniture dealer
here since 1865.
Walter Palmeter was electricuted in July, 1916.
The Presbyterian Church started the addition called Smith Memorial Hall, in the
Summer of 1916 and actual work was started the next Spring.
Clarke Hanks, city policeman, was circulating petitions asking for money to build
the swimming pool, which was operated so successfully just south of the John M.
Brant building for many years. Roy Hunt was a big aid and factor in the success
of this project, also.
The Bushnell Golf Club was going strong in the Summer of 1916 under the lead-
ership of Mr. Soderstrom.
The Bushnell Horse Show was started again in the Fall of 1916.
C. E. Dodge sold his 5 and 10c Store to Roy Hey in the Fall of 1916.
S. B. Russler of this city was elected county coroner in the Fall of 1916.
In 1917 the war and draft were the chief topics, with heatless Mondays, etc.
C. Oblander had a bad fire in his dry goods store in February, 1917.
They were having big tabernacle meetings in the building located where the
Mike Merrow building is now located.
The Cole Block in the early 1900's.
D. B. Carithers started a canning factory in a building that burned later, near
where the Hummel and Gray Lumber Co. is now located.
The business men of the city had raised $6000 to bring the Lincoln Electric Works
to Bushnell. It was located in the old Tank Works building now occupied by Nichols
The Bushnell Fire Department were hosts to the Illinois Firemen's Association at
their 29th annual state convention in January, 1917.
The Military Track Meet was held in Bushnell in May, 1917, and Elmwood High
won the meet. The next week Bushnell High won the county meet.
All schools, churches, lodges, clubs, picture shows and all public gatherings were
closed by Mayor M. M. Pinckly and Dr. J. P. Roark, chairman of the Board of Health,
in October, 1918, on account of the flu.
Melvin Bros, bought out the Bernhill Hardware in the Fall of 1918.
The old town celebrated right when the Armistice was signed on November 11,
1918 and it would hardly do to repeat some of the tales told about some of the re-
spected citizens of that day.
The 60 million dollar bond issue for hard roads carried in the state and at once all
the towns started to work to get theirs. Bushnell was interested in one coming from
the east, from Peoria and Canton.
iMax Pierce passed away on his return from France in February, 1919. The local
V.F.W. Post bears his name.
Ira Means was elected Mayor in the Spring of 1919.
In July, 1919 Coroner Sam B. Russler started the famous Dr. Alverson case, after
the death of Lawrence Clugston, here and in August the doctor and Clugston's wife
were arrested for murder.
Noah H. Everly died in July, 1919. He came to near Cuba in 1860 and later to east
of Bushnell in Lee Township and in 1901 to Bushnell.
Peter Bosier, for years known about Bushnell as "Nigger Pete" was seriously in-
jured in September, 1919, when he drove his Ford car into a train on the C. B. & Q.
crossing just west of Bushnell.
William Short was running a grocery here in 1918 and Mr. and Mrs. F. E. Lewis
Alva Ford was killed while participating in an automobile race in Carthage on
July 4th, 1918. He had played ball with the Bushnell Independents the past three
Fred Neuneker was reported missing in action in July, 1918. He was in France.
The Campbell Jewelry Store was sold in 1918 after being one of Bushnell's leading
stores for thirty-six years.
This picture was the rebuilding of Nagels Mills after their lire, and many in
this picture were old-timers here, the ones we recognize are: Mr. Ervin, one of the
first boys to come to Bushnell, third from left; John Paul, fifth from left; Carl
Nagel, Harry Nagel, John Nagel, Sr., Mrs. McGinney and Henry Nagel.
Car owners were asked by the government to quit using their automobiles on
Sundays so as to save the gasoline and oil for the army.
The flu had started to take its toll, both among soldiers and civilians and Harry
Sperry and Clarence Korn were among the servicemen in October, 1918.
John C. Goeppinger died Thursday, August 12, 1920. He came to Bushnell in 1865
and was engaged in the harness and hide business until 1910 when he retired. He
was the father of the Goeppinger sisters of this city.
Peter Klein died on September 5, 1920. He came to Bushnell with his parents in
1855, being one of the first families to settle here, after serving in the Civil War,
he married and returned to Bushnell where he served as town collector for one year,
eleven years as assessor, ten years as superintendent of streets and two years as
alderman. He was the father of Kate Klein of this city.
The Bushnell Athletic Association after a successful year at football held a turkey
banquet at Barnhart Rock Camp on Spoon River, and what a feed. W. O. Rose was
manager and secretary of the group. Geo. L. Chain, president, and Red Runyan,
The John M. Brant Co. built the north part of their building in 1920, taking in
approximately one-half block of space.
The John Roach barn was purchased by the Sales Pavilion Directors and later
many high priced hogs and other animals were sold in the building. It is the build-
ing now occupied by Swartzbaugh and O'Herron.
The addition to the old high school building was approved by the voters in
The Globe Shirt and Overall factory opened a branch here in the Ball building
and operated for a few months.
The famous Earl G. Gordinier Show was showing in Bushnell in the Summer of
The board of supervisors of the county voted to build a sanatorium in the Fall
Isaac Hanks and one of his fine race horses. The children spent hours watching
him drive his fast horses and see his flowing beard part as he spend along. His
barn was on Cleveland Street near Wells.
The city bought a new chemical fire truck in October, 1919. It had two twenty-five
gallon soda and acid tanks mounted on it and carried a goodly amount of hose and
The Bushnell Presbyterian Church celebrated its 50th anniversary in November,
Roy R. Barnes was operating a Drug Store in Bushnell in 1918 and 1919.
In the Winter of 1919 the coal situation grew serious, because of a strike of the
coal miners, and store hours were set from 9:00 a. m. to 6:00 p. m. and a committee
was set up to dispense coal in the city.
H. J. Cleary was a shoe dealer in Bushnell in 1921.
Bushnell High School won the county track meet in the Spring of 1921.
Geo. Hillyer, Bushnell lawyer, was elected to the circuit bench in 1921.
The contract for the addition to the High School was let in August, 1921.
The county sanatorium was finished in the Summer of 1921, but the opening of
the building was held up because of lack of funds for equipment.
H. S. Bobbitt, present circuit clerk, was a photographer in Bushnell in 1922.
A note in The Democrat of April, 1922, talks of Ross Ballard and family getting a
fine musical entertainment by wireless telephone, radio.
The A & P Store started in the grocery business here and F. V. Shryock bought out
the Dickson Hardware on the White Way in April, 1922.
The merchants of Bushnell gave the children of the community a free picnic on
August 2, 1922, and over three thousand ice cream cones were consumed.
The Bushnell Oddfellows Lodge exemplified the second degree at the Grand
Lodge meeting in Springfield in October, 1922.
In November of 1922, Bushnell had a chapter of the Ku Klux Klan and several
meetings were held here later.
A big fire occurred in the White Way block in December, 1922, with the follow-
ing businesses affected. Pearce and Winget barbershop, W. J. Kessler apartment and
shop, H. Hopkins restaurant, Monroe Motor Co., R. F. Heckle shoe store and Wm.
Hood's pool hall.
The Bushnell Rotary Club received its charter in January, 1923 and John M.
Brant was its first president.
W. A. H. Miller, former superintendent of the Bushnell schools and R. R. Barnes
local druggist, were charged with bribing and selling liscenses to pharacists, but
Barnes was never found guilty.
The Hotel block in the Gay Nineties.
The Methodist Church burned in February, 1923. It was thirty-seven years old.
The Bushnell Motor Co. was advertising Ford touring cars for $298 F.O.B., Detroit.
Borgelt was running a variety store in the Chain building in 1923, buying out R.
Bushnell High School were hosts to the State District basketball tournament in
T. H. Jackson was elected supervisor of Bushnell Township in the Spring of 1923.
W. J. Frisbee, for many years a prominent druggist in Bushnell, died in April,
1923. His father was in the drug business here before him.
The paving ordinance to pave from the Presbyterian Church south one block and
then east a block, was passed in 1923.
The First National Bank changed the exterior of their building considerably in the
Summer of 1923 and O. B. Rose and Co. remodeled the two south rooms of the Opera
House building into a very up-to-date store.
The hard road from Canton to Bushnell was staked out in the Summer of 1923, and
it looked like the city was to get some state road.
The Bushnell merchants put on a big barbecue on September 6, 1923, in the
John Leib died in Bushnell, November 13, 1923. He came to Bushnell in 1871 and
engaged in the harness and buggy business here, being located where Kugler and
Seek now have their furniture business.
D. C. Neff died at his home here in December, 1923. He married Miss Frances Cole,
daughter of James Cole, in 1866. He ran a grocery here for several years, then bought
his father's farm east of Bushnell and moved there, moving back to Bushnell in
1913. Mrs. Ira Phillips was his daughter.
Newt McClaren died in January, 1924. He was a drayman here for years and a
faithful member of the Fire Department for a long time.
W. A. Gibson of this city disappeared in February, 1924, and an extensive search
was being made for him.
Mr. and Mrs. W. H. Hunt celebrated their 63rd wedding anniversary at their home
on the East Park, the same house in which they started house keeping, on March
6, 1924. The house is now occupied by A. Brady.
At a city election in April, 1924, the voters approved Sunday movies, but beat a
wheel tax ordinance three to one.
The Bushnell Farm Products Plant burned in June, 1924.
The tornado of June, 1924, did much damage here and south of Bushnell. The
Verne Thompson home was completelj' wrecked as were many buildings near the
Cottonwood School, south of the city.
Frank Specht was awarded the contract for the West Main Street paving from
Gridley Street north for $24,308.91 in July, 1924.
The State was cutting out all the common barberry bushes in the county.
The pavement on Washington Street was set up by ordinance in August, 1924,
and in September the contract was let to Frank Specht.
J. F. G. Oblander died in September, 1924. He was born in Bushnell in 1868 and
was a prominent undertaker here for years.
The Bushnell Rotary Club heard about city ownership of light plants and also
suggested the running of the State hard road on Cole Street. The Rotary Club was
taking an active part in the hard road situation.
White Way Block in 1905.
The Clarke Drug Store was sold to Sam Stephens in October, 1924. It was es-
tablished in Bushnell in 1857 by Dr. Clarke and ran for ten years on East Main Street
where Robert's Stationery Store is now located and then moved to the west side in
the building now used by the Light Company.
O. B. Rose died November 5, 1924, after being in the Dry Goods business in
Bushnell many years.
The hard road from Bushnell to Macomb was opened in the Fall of 1924, except
the gap at the railroads south of town.
W. E. Spicer, father of Guy Spicer, of west of Bushnell, won many ribbons with
his fourteen hogs at the International in Chicago.
H. B. Primm bought the Oblander Furniture Co. in February, 1925.
The State Convention of P.E.O. was held in Bushnell in April, 1925.
Chas. Williams was elected Mayor in April, 1925.
Victoria Ball, daughter of Ross Ball, was selected as "Miss Macomb" and entered a
The Methodists dedicated their new church on Sunday, July 12, 1925.
James Hudson died July 20, 1925. He was prominent in Walnut Grove Township
and in Bushnell through his long life in this community.
A DeMolay Lodge was organized here, called the Frisbee Chapter.
P. C. Hoover died in Bushncll in October, 1925. He had been a prominent hard-
ware merchant here for several years.
Walter Trout shot himself and his wife because she bobbed her hair, according to
the testimony following their death in September, 1925.
Dr. C. H. Cable was hired as the f i. st superintendent of the Elmgrove Sanatorium
in the Fall of 1925.
The Elmgrove Sanatorium was opened with a dc dication ceremony on January 14,
1926, after being built and then closed for years, while a way was found to equip
it, which was done by the voters of the county by voting a tax levy.
Josephine Totten tied for second with Miss Pekin in a beauty contest at Quiver
Beach, near Havana, in the Summer cf 1926. She later won a state-wide contest con-
ducted by the Peoria Star.
The large cement posts that had stood in the intersections of Hail and Hurst
Streets on both East and West Main Streets, were to be removed and mushroom
lights put in their place.
The city council passed an ordinence to pave from the East Park, east, on both
Hail and Hurst Streets to the new State road en Cole Street in September, 1926.
The exterior of the C. B. & Q. depot was r'^modeled in the Fall of 1926.
Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Madison celebrated their Golden Wedding Anniversary in Oc-
tober, 1926. Mr. Madison came to Bushnell when a boy.
The Firemen's Fair was held in the Rose Garden, a name then being u£:d f:r the
skating rink and dance hall, run by Mike Merrow in his buildir^ on Hurst
Street in 1926.
A scene in the parks when the fountains were in the center.
Mrs. Mary Korn passed away in Bushnell in March, 1927. She came here in the
year 1856 and the Korn family has played a prominent part in the history of Bush-
nell since that time.
The merchants of Bushell gave away five and one-half tons of sugar during April,
May, and June in 1927, in a big sales event.
Larkins were running a grocery here at the northeast corner of Hail and East Main
and Tuckers had a variety store on West Main. Kroger's had come to town and the
Rialto Theatre had started in their new building in the White Way Block.
Ernest Sowers was elected supervisor for the first time in the Spring of 1927.
The wheel tax was in force in Bushnell in 1927.
James P. Moore died September 4, 1927. He came to this community at the age
of six in 1856.
L. Barber died September 28, 1927. He had been a successful clothing merchant
here for many years.
A Corn show was held in the Fall of 1927, with many displays of corn on hand.
Thieves stole most of the clothing from the Barber Clothing House in October, 1927.
J, C. Young died on November 1. 1927. He came here in 1875 and for years had
charge of the cemetery as Sexton.
Edward Burke died in November, 1927.
The J. C. Penney Store was opened here in the Spring of 1928.
The Bushnell Business Bureau was organized in the Summer of 1928 and has
been in existence ever since. The first officers were William Rose, president; Paul
Madison, vice president; Albert Clarke, sec'y and treasurer and Bennett Brant and
Harry Nessel, directors.
Bank of Bushnell corner in the 90's.
The Bushnell Stockyards Co. was formed in May, 1928.
The contract for the hard road to Marietta was let in the summer of 1928 and the
Good Hope road assured.
Dr. Ben LeMaster died in May, 1928.
C. S. Norcross passed away October 17, 1928. He moved his factory to Bushnell
Bennett Brant was elected Mayor in April, 1929.
The paving running to the cemetery and two blocks on Rile and two on Davis
Streets were laid in 1928.
Mack M. Pinckly passed away in July, 1929. He had served as President of the
First National Bank for many years.
R. R. Barnes was elected to the Legislature in the Spring of 1930.
J. E. Harris, for many terms Mayor of Bushnell, a member of the State Legislature
and always strong in local and state politics, died May 16, 1930. In 1891 the Harris
family moved to Bushnell and lived in the big house where the Post Office now
The last of the Big 25c Fair came to an end for good, when the big barn on the
grounds burned in July, 1930.
Elizabeth Bobbitt, who had been sitting in a tree across from the Copeland Phar-
macy, was asked to come down by the Mayor, Brant. Bert Silberer and Emmett
Lantz were also trying the stunt.
Emnor Roberts died in Bushnell, September 19, 1930. He was born in Bardolph in
1868 and was a brick mason for many years. His wife, Sophia Roberts, is living in
William Rose was killed on October 4, 1930 at Trivoli, Illinois, in an automobile
accident. Bill Rose had established a fine large retail store here and was working
to improve the city in many ways. His loss was great to Bushnell.
The Bushnell High School football team was the first that started the teams of the
few years to follow into state recognition. The team was composed of Morrow, Ha-
vens, Ball, Cadwalader, Bricker, Jones, Langley, E. Gordinier, Pensinger, Dimmitt
and Young. They won the second Spoon River Conference title in a row.
Dr. C. L. Cleveland died in 1930. He had been a dentist here for many years.
They came here in 1878.
The city was lighted at Christmas time with strings of lights across the Main
Bushnell officers shot at some bank robbers in Bushnell in December, 1930. The
officers were Stine, Hanks and Turner.
The Golden Wedding Anniversary of Mr. and Mrs. John Coleman was held in
Ludwig Street was opened east from Sperry Street so the hard road could run thru
to Cole Street.
Roy Stine, Pink Kirtley and Art Normandin were doing considerable boxing in
1930 and 1931 and each was doing fine.
Left to Right, (Standing): Mrs. Ed Hendee, Mrs. Chas. Duntley. Mrs. C. A. Hunt,
Mrs. T. H. Wheeler, Mrs. Henry Yearick, Mrs. Ben Tainter.
(Seated): Mrs. W. J. Frisbee, Mrs. Reynolds, Mrs. C. C. Chain, Mrs. Milan
Jacobs, Mrs. W. J. Fultz.
The picture was taken on June 16, 1899, and the babies were all in their
The Spiker Grocery had been sold to Walter Eades and his mother.
The city was remodeling the water works and planned to electrify it and new
The contract for the East Side Sewage Disposal Plant was let in September, 1931.
Bushnell High School's football team defeated Kewanee in 1931, 13 to 0.
Frank Carideo was the speaker at the annual football banquet for the high school
team, which had not lost a game in the 1931 season. The total score for the year was
506 for Bushnell to 6 points for their opponents. A high school record for points in
one season for the State that has never been broken.
The Bushnell Athletic Club started in rooms in the Korn building on the White
Way in January, 1932,
In March, 1932, the Bank of Bushnell was sold to the Farmers and Merchants State
Bank. The Bank of Bushnell was organized on March 1, 1892, by Haines, Neuneker
and Co., and started business in the Opera House block, it later moved to the corner
of Hurst and East Main, and the officers, when sold, included: C. S. Clarke, Bert
Roach and Albert Clarke and W. J. Fultz. Not a cent was lost by the depositors.
The teachers' salaries were slashed in the Spring of 1932, with the grade teachers
getting from $720 to $800 for the year, and the high school teachers from $1000 to
Bushnell High School won the county track meet in 1932, also winning the Decla-
mation and Music.
Grace Aughinbaugh died in July, 1932. She graduated from the local high school
in 1894 and taught school near and in Bushnell until 1930.
The Bushnell Athletic Club moved to the Chain building and put on a big boxing
show the first night of the Corn Show in 1932.
The original Norcross Factory at the corner of Dean and Davis Streets.
Bushnell again had a horse show in 1932, adding horses to the annual Corn Show
After winning twenty-two football games in a row, the local high school team was
held to a tie in the Fall of 1932, and later in the season lost their first conference
game to Rushville in three years.
In November, 1932, the First National Bank announced they were making plans
to liquidate. So Bushnell, after having three Banks for over forty years, was to have
The Banks all over the nation were closed March 3, 1933, for one week. This was
done to stop runs on banks until an acute situation could be stopped.
The State Sales Tax was put on April 1, 1933, and the local merchants worked out
a token to be used to pay the new tax.
Walter Spicer died in March, 1933. He was born west of Bushnell near the Cotton-
wood tree in 1863, and lived there all his life.
Rex Lomax was elected city clerk for the first time in 1933, beating Lou Klein who
had held the office many years. A. Brady was elected Mayor.
The canning factory burned to the ground in May, 1933.
Hub Nagel gave his life trying to save a friend who had been electrocuted, by go-
ing to his aid in June, 1933.
The councU started work on paving projects on Hurst Street, Davis Street and the
south end of West Main Street, using relief work in the construction, July, 1933.
The city council started investigating the paving of streets with government aid
in November, 1933.
Bushnell was the first township to get approval for projects under C.W.A. which
was Civil Works Administration. Which was money from the government to help
labor, and the work was cleaning ditches, brush and like from country roads.
The city had three projects okayed under the government relief system in
The Farmers and Merchants State Bank took over the Prairie City Bank in
H. E. Woods and John E. Woods purchased the local stockyards in March, 1934.
Edward Johnson, President of Rotary International, was the speaker at an inter-
city meeting held in March, 1934, by the local club at the High School. He was a
cousin of L. J. Barber of this city.
In July, 1934 the city started paving the city streets under W.P.A.
They were having a bad drouth in the Summer of 1934.
The electors of the City of Bushnell voted to build a gas plant in September, 1934
The Bushnell Homestead and Loan Association was changed from a State to
Federal unit in December, 1934.
The city had to cut out several street lights in the Winter of 1934 from lack
Mr. and Mrs. John M. Brant celebrated their Golden Wedding Anniversary on
New Year's, 1935.
Ed Heister was elected Mayor in 1935 and Harry Albrecht was appointed Chief
of the Fire Department, following E. W. B. Sparks in that job.
"•■ i: - • >• ■■ ■'
» ;— ~wl jii,:'/Z^'J i*; Cjifci'ii^elWvX— ^Tii^Vi**:.*!
Home of J. H. Smith in the 70's. G«o. Smith of the city was born while this
house was being built and his parents were living in the barn at the rear at the time.
Miss Florence Williams has owned the home for many years.
In July, 1935, the city started electing their officers for four years, the city clerk's
office was moved to the city hall, the Greenhouse was moved down on the hard
road and they were making surveys for R.E.A.
Jas. J. Ball died in July, 1935. He had been in business here many years as a man-
ufacturer of carriages with his brother, and later in the automobile business.
Old Age Pension Plan was set up in 1935.
In September, 1935, the Bushnell Business Bureau, which had been working on
the Recreation Center project, reported it was a sure thing, the city council asked
for a grant for a storm water system for the city and the bids were opened for the
new Post Office. And all of these were in the process of being built in 1936.
C. S. Clarke passed away in February, 1936. He was born in Bushnell in 1862 and
lived here his entire life, being a druggist and banker, and did much for the welfare
of the city. He was the father of. Albert Clarke.
Stryke Simonson was killed while working at his elevator in February, 1936.
The old Transfer Building burned in March, 1936. It was located where Brant's
Filling Station is now located.
A & P opened their store here in June, 1936.
John M. Brant passed away in June, 1936. He had been head of the John M. Brant
Co., here, for nearly forty years. His interest in all branches of the city's affairs
was shown by being selected as head of all worthwhile projects. He was President
of the Horse Show during its existence and he gave freely of his time and money
toward getting State hard roads for Bushnell.
Geo. Weirather died suddenly in July, 1936. He had been a grain dealer here and
lost two elevators by fire. He had served as Chief of the Fire Department.
At a school election in July, 1936, during the depression period, the school tax
was raised from $1.38 per hundred to $2.00.
The West Side School burned in August, 1936, and in January, 1937, the contract
for the new school was let to Clarence Renigar.
Bushnell had their first Town Fair in 1936. At that time the merchants had win-
dow displays of old relics brought in and shown by the folks of the community.
W. J. Vertrees, Bushnell's last Civil War veteran, died in December, 1936. He
had headed the Bushnell Tank Works here when it was at its peak.
The home of J. Ford Morris in 1870, at the corner of Crafford and Harris
Streets, later the home of D. F. Chidester and now owned by B. L. Kearns.
George Porter was elected Mayor in 1937, and the city voted wet, and Dave Shu-
maker was appointed Chief of Fire Department.
The first talk of a city-owned light plant was in May, 1937.
A. S. Nichols was the new superintendent of schools in 1937.
Chas. C. Chain passed away here July 20, 1937. He had been the Publisher of the
McDonough Democrat for fifty-three years. He had served as Postmaster here from
1894 to 1898 and he had been active in Fire Department matters all his life, serving
as President of the National Firefighters' Association, three times President of the
Illinois Firemen's Association and wrote the 2% Insurance Law, which has been a
great help to Firemen throughout the State for fifty years.
The present Editor of the Democrat took over the publishing of the Paper at his
father's death and in 1954 is celebrating seventy years of father and son Editorship of
the Paper. M. M. White had started work with the Paper several months before.
Eugene Solomon, son of Mr. and Mrs. Don Solomon, was the first child to die of
polio in the county after the disease was known as such, in September, 1937.
The street drawings were started in 1936 and some discussion was had on whether
they should be stopped on account of polio, but they have been continued until this
date without a break.
In November, 1937, Robert Kikendall moved into his present location in the
Opera House block.
Judge George Hillyer passed away in February, 1938.
Fire destroyed the Illinois Tank Co. here in March, 1937 and left little industry
in the city, as most had ceased and gone out of business during the depression.
Several men, headed by A. W. Kukuk. went to the timber in the Spring of 1938
and cut poles to put lights on to light the softball diamond at the new Recreation
The residence of S. R. Hendee in 1870. It stood where the Albert Clarke resi-
dence now stands on Hurst Street.
The Carrier Equipment Co. leased the Bayne Factory in the Spring of 1938 to make
"The Areo Mail Car." They made the wheels of the Model T Ford big so mail car-
riers could pull the mud easier.
The city in June, 1938 was awarded $138,644 under W.P.A. for city streets and
other improvements, and from here on all of Bushnell's main streets that were not
already paved were black-topped, with curb and gutter on sides and with gravel base.
The Belmont Club was held up here in a daylight robbery and about one thousand
dollars was taken from the club owners and nine or ten men in the club.
The first election on the Municipal Light Plant was defeated on August 9, 1938
by 61 votes. The total vote was 1513. The second election was September 29 and the
proposition won by 39 votes. The C.I.P.S. Co. ordered the sheriff to take over the bal-
lots as soon as the election was over and keep them under guard for three days. The
total vote at the second election was 1825.
The Fire Department bought a new fire truck on an International chassis in
Dr. J. P. Roark was given a 50-year medal by the Illinois Medical Society, for fifty
years service in the medical profession in June, 1939. All fifty years were spent in
The American Legion bought the Clements building in September, 1939.
The Bushnell Federal Savings and Loan Association moved to their present build-
ing in February, 1940.
The McDonough Democrat bought the Bushnell Record in February, 1940, and
Bushnell had but one Paper.
The Mickelberry Food Products Co. moved their processing plant here in June, 1940.
The first peace time conscription registration was held at the Fire Department
building in October, 1940, and Aubrey Miller's number was the first drawn in the
draft lottery from Bushnell.
Vaughan & Bushnell Mfg. Co. started production here in October, 1940, as did
y^y'^iiiiJill Hmi itl ttittlttttftttfti+mW'R^^
The residence of D. M. Wyckoff in 1870. It stood at the north end of Rile Street.
Bennett Brant opened his new garage in February, 1941.
The first men leaving here under the draft and by enlistment in February, 1941,
were Gerald Swartzbaugh, Aubrey Miller, George Spangler, Leland McMahill and
Dr. Bert Roan was elected Mayor in April, 1941.
The city Municipal Light Plant was dedicated May 2, 1941.
Geo. L. Chain was selected Chief of the Fire Department in May, 1941.
October 15, 1941 the W.P.A. school lunch program was started in the schools.
December 7, 1941, Japan attacked Pearl Harbor and all thoughts turned to war, and
Robert Young ,son of Mr. and Mrs. Charles Young, was the first local casualty of the
war, losing his life at Pearl Harbor.
A local Civil Defense Board was set up in January, 1942.
Sugar rationing started in April, 1942.
Bushnell voted in a Community High School here July 7, 1942.
Camp Ellis was to be started in the Fall of 1942.
The U.S.O. established rooms here in December, 1943, and by July were organ-
izing Junior hostesses to aid in entertaining the servicemen who called at the center.
The Korn block burned in February, 1944.
The city was drilling a new well.
Chas. L. Harrah died in July, 1944. He had been city clerk here for two terms and
was associated with Art Kukuk in the Bushnell Personal Co., before moving to
Harry Lorance resigned as Superintendent of Schools in the Spring of 1944, and
Paul Crafton was hired to take his place.
John D. Nagel died August 13, 1944. He came to Bushnell in 1891 and had been
prominent in the milling and elevator business here.
The Bushnell Co-operative Co. was sold to the Farm Bureau in October, 1944.
The first Hog Show and Sale for 4-H and Vocational Ag. boys and girls was held
at the Stockyards in the Fall of 1944.
The U.S.O. announced that they were closing their rooms here and the community
organized to see if they could take it over. This was in December, 1944.
Byard Wills Ervin died in January, 1945. He came to Bushnell when a boy of six
years and was 95 years of age at his death. He was the father of Lulu Wells of this
J. C. Penney Co. moved from the West Side to the White Way block in the Sprmg
The honor roll was placed opposite the Post Office in the East Park during March,
Mr. and Mrs. J. H. Spiker celebrated their fiftieth wedding anniversary in April,
V-E Day was a quiet one in Bushnell with a service at the Methodist Church in
The Blansett murder caused quite a stir here when the body of a woman was
found in a burned car at the south edge of the city on June 13th, 1945.
It was the end of the war in August, 1945, and while it was not like the end of
the first World War, all let down their hair and breathed a sigh of relief.
The county survey board for the schools of the county was set up in November,
1945, and this was really the beginning of the Unit system in the schools.
The City council started to plan for post war work.
Cowperthwaites built the Super-Market in the Summer of 1946.
;rt^t»H%r '^1^*-:i<r '="'-■-■• ■■^'fSi**l'^Sri^^
The home of Wm. T. Beadles, M. D., in 1870. The house is now the residence of
Rex Lomax on Jackson Street.
Brown Lynch Scott opened their store here in March, 1946.
J. J, Ball passed away in March, 1946. He had been a resident of Bushnell for
eighty-five years and a member of the firm of Ball Bros., famous for their buggies
and wagons in years gone by.
The Jimal Jewelry Store was opened here on E. Hail Street in April, 1947.
James Robbins was the proprietor.
Dr. Harold Fitch was elected head of the State Osteopathic Clinic in May, 1947.
Reverend F. A. Rhoades left the local Presbyterian Church in the Summer of
The Bushnell Warehouse was opened in 1946.
Hulett opened the Firestone Store in May, 1946.
Reverend Claude Temple left Bushnell in June, 1946 and Reverend Kenneth Knox
became the new Methodist minister.
Fred Blout, a famous rural correspondent for both the Bushnell Record and Mc-
Donough Democrat, died suddenly in June, 1946.
Paul Crafton resigned and H. A. Renwick was employed as Superintendent of
Schools in the Spring of 1946. The veterans were planning a park this same year.
Jas. E. Voorhees and Son, Harry, sold their hardware store in July, 1946. The elder
Mr. Voorhees had been in the business for fifty years.
Harris and Scholes opened their stockyards in August, 1946.
Harold Stauffer returned from the service and opened his Food Mart in August,
The local Rotary Club had seventy members in the Fall of 1946.
There was a coal shortage in Bushnell because of the miners striking.
Earl Raby's big ditching machine was blown up in December, 1946.
A scene looking West on Gridley Street from East Main during the paving of
East and West Main Streets. Mayor, J. E. Harris is in the center of the picture.
Keigwin's Hatchery opened their new building on the State Route in the north-
east edge of the city.
The Veterans of Foreign Wars purchased the land for the Veterans Park in
Carl E. Sperry died in February, 1947.
Geo. Ball and L. J. Barber went into partnership in the Clothing business July
Opp's Garage moved to the Ball building in August, 1947.
James Madison passed away in September, 1947 at the age of 97. He came to
Bushnell as a boy and this had been his home since that time.
The decision to tform a school unit comprising the Bushnell and Prairie City
high school districts, was made at a meeting in Prairie City, December 12, 1947.
Bardolph was asked to join if they so desired.
Dr. Kenneth Goff started the practice of dentistry here in January, 1948, and
Dr. R. L. Franck started a general practice of medicine.
Parker Motor Co. bought the Miner building in 1948.
Miss Cora Durst completed her fiftieth year as a teacher in the local schools in
January, 1948, and a news reel was made of her daily activities.
"Doc" Charles Kuhn started his now famous cartoon "Grandma" in January,
1948, it first appearing in the Indianapolis Star.
Jas. E. Voorhees died on January 7, 1948, after being active in the business affairs
of Bushnell for fifty years.
The election to form a community school unit district carried, on January 31,
1948, by a vote of 310 to 64.
William Silberer was killed in an explosion at the Gas Plant in February, 1948.
In February, 1948, the following were elected as the first members of the Bush-
nell-Pi-airie City Unit District: Leo Walter, Wayne Melvin, Lawrence Luper, Clarke
Sperry, Claire Mings, Elmer Wertzler and Geo. L. Chain.
The Bushnell Cemetery was turned over to the Township in April, 1948, after
being run by public spirited citizens since 1855. Dr. Clarke, Clarence Clarke and
finally Albert Clarke had been a family interested in the upkeep of the cemetery
since its start, with S. H. Robinson for years its Secretary.
Dr. and Mrs. I. C. Rink left Bushnell for the East to make their home near their
daughter. The Doctor had practiced dentistry here for over fifty years.
The office building of Dr. Benkendorf was completed in the Spring of 1948.
A picture of the cast of the play, "The Court of Babylon," given in the Opera
House in February, 1905. The leads were taken by Dr. J. C. Rink and Mrs. W. J.
Frisbee. The lady at the piano is the mother of Mrs. J. H. Truman of this city and
the wife of Reverend Benjamin.
Chief of Police, Herman Thompson was burned at his home in July, 1948, which
resulted in his death and a lawsuit against the city.
The territory east of Bushnell in Fulton County voted to join the Bushnell-Prairie
City School Unit in August, 1948.
C. E. Oblander died in the Summer of 1948. He had been in the dry goods busi-
ness here for sixty-four years, starting with a small counter in his father's furni-
ture store. He was a fine man, and gave much to his church and community, serv-
ing in several offices in the church and in business, was president of the First Nat-
ional Bank and the Bushnell Federal Savings and Loan Association.
The bond issue for the new sewage disposal plant carried in the city in November,
1948. It was the second election, the proposition having been defeated the first time.
The addition to the Mausoleum was built in 1949.
Dr. Harold Fitch was elected District Governor of Rotary International in March,
Dr. L. A. Gray was elected Mayor in April, 1949.
Mrs. Harold Fitch was elected president of the Illinois Conference Women's Society
of Christian Service in May, 1949.
H. G. Sparks purchased the Bushnell Stockyards in the Spring of 1949.
The Skelly Oil Co. built their bulk plant here in 1949.
Hummel and Gray started their new Lumber Yard in July, 1949.
Carl Shoop died July 13, 1949.
The new street lights for the downtown area were installed and the school board
decided to build a new high school as the first half of the Century ends, and Bush-
nell started on the second half with several well established industrial firms, fine
schools and churches, and a fine business section, second to none in the State for
D D n
The Ball Bros, corner in the 80's at East Main and Gridley Streets.
D D D
SOME FIRSTS IN BUSHNELL
The first residents and storekeepers were Hiram Markham and his brother, Daniel
Dr. George Scroggs was the first Physician in 1855.
The first hotel was owned by John D. Hall, 1855, and called the American House.
First Furniture Store, Miller and Krauser, 1859.
First Hardware Store, E. P. Kline, 1857.
First Lumber Yard, Dickert and Meisser, 1856.
First Implement Dealer, J. C. Miner, 1856.
First Grain Dealers, Jas. Cole and Stockton West.
First Blacksmith, A. Downey, 1856.
First Flouring Mills, Nevius Brothers, 1866.
First marriage, November 6, 1858, A. Downey and Matilda Kindsey. The ceremony
being performed by Justice of Peace, William H. Oglesby.
First Tailor, Clemens Klein.
First house, at intersection of East Main and Wells Streets, on the northeast
The (first Newspaper was the Union Press, started in 1865, and D, G. Swann was
The first schoolhouse was on Sperry Street between Hurst and Hail Streets, in the
center of the block.
The first death was Edward Cole, son of Mr. and Mrs. James Cole, in 1856.
One of the Markhams was the first Postmaster.
The first Lawyers were William H. Oglesby and Joseph Sanders.
Reed and Shrader started the first Meat Market.
The first child was born into the Markham family.
The oldest date to be found in the Bushnell Cemetery is that of April 23, 1855,
on the stone of Mary Everitt.
The first auto was owned by Ira Phillips or George Cole.
The first bicycles were sold by Ball Bros.
D D D
IN ANCIENT COSTUME
This is the way the quaint announcement read:
Mistress W. E. Haines (wyfe of ye leech) and Mistress C. Milan Jacob will enter-
tain theire Ladye Friends on ye Fourthe Day of ye weeke, February ye 20th, in ye
yeare of Our Blessed Lord MDCCCXCV, from two of ye clocke to ye lighting of
ye candles, at ye Doctor's castle, situate on West Maine Streete in ye town of Bush-
nell. Let evereche bring her knittynge and array ye raiment and ye haire as in ye
And the letter and spirit of the invitation were carried out to the full. There were
sixty or sixty-five ladies in the party, and they were the quaintest, oldest-fashioned
set man has gazed upon in this latter end of the Nineteenth century. Wardrobes and
treasure chests were searched, relics and carefully-cherished heirlooms and relics
were gotten out, and when the ladies assembled one might have thought them a
company of Priscillas, Samanthas, Prudences, and Mercys, transplanted from co-
lonial days. One good old-fashioned woman — with a dash of merriment in her old-
fashionedness — even took her ancient pipe with her and smoked, but we have been
informed in strict confidence that she was afraid to use tobacco, and so fumigated
with prepared cubebs. The little son of Dr. Horrell of Colchester, who was a privi-
leged visitor, was asked if he had ever seen such a sight before, and promptly re-
plied that he had, on the Midway Plaisance. But we doubt if he there saw anything
There were a spinning wheel, and lots of other old furniture about the rooms,
and the house was lighted with candles which called into requisition frequently the
ancient suffers, and a lamp two hundred years old. Nearly all the ladies brought
their knitting with them, but it could be easily seen that some of them were "only
making a bluff" — ^didn't know any more about knitting than they do about spin-
ning and other of the domestic arts that have been transplanted to the factories. Tea
was served during the afternoon, the waiters being, Mrs. Maggie Haynes, Miss
Mariella Haines, and Misses Lulu and Mary Campbell. Then at four o'clock came
the old-fashioned dinner — and it was old-fashioned — none of your tea-and-wafer,
style but tables loaded with roast turkey and things to match, just as in the old
days, when the purpose of going to dinner was to eat. Altogether, Mesdames Haines
and Jacob have cause to be proud of the brilliant success of their novel and pretty
old-fashioned party. ,
Among the guests were these —
Dames: Dena Rosenbaum Katzenstein, Nell Newton Hoover, Catharine Zook
Johnson, Bell Barnes Doughty, Alice Virginia Harris, Nancy Mary Kaiser, Agnes
Sparks, Marie Louise Applegate, Bessie Adelia Reynolds, Mary Rebecca Smith
James, Lizzie Helen Renigar, Olive Blanche Ray Metcalf, Bertha Florence Hall
Ford, Susanah Elizabeth Rinker Nance, Harriet Boozel, Frances Angeline Randall
Zook, Jennie May Stiebel, Margaret Ann Smith Taynes, May Evaline Barber, Ida
Duntley, Retta Bowman Anderson, Esther Jane Matthews Tannehill, Martha Ellen
Campbell, Henrietta Girard Martin, Hariet Janet Horrell, Colchester; Jean Beatrice
Haines Terry, Rock Island; Mary Lucretia Stewart Ball, Henrietta Martin Camp-
bell, Adrianna Groendyke Hendee Hicks, Cordelia Love Boozel Seeley, Annie Mar-
garet Oblander Chain, Mary Maude Logsdon Duntley, Ida Dean Copland, Katharine
Striker Thompson, Flora Adelaide Smith Hayes, Laura Belle Scott Walters, Mary
Elizabeth Snell, Lura Catharine Camp, Emma Gale, Lizzie Harpster, Josephine
Parks, Eliza Ellen Walters, Lily Eckley West, Jennie May Boozel Walkeen, Anna
Josephine Boozel Cline, Elma Lovina Clements Clarke, Rachel Ann Haines Wiley,
Louisa Hipsley Sheeley, Charlotte Ellen Roman Chandler, Leda Naramore Skid-
more, Linette Frances Yockey, Louella Josephine Emilia Mellor McCabe, Harriet
Cody Frisbee, Hannah Alexander, Maude Snell Sparks Earnest, Heaton.
Damosels: Lucinda Louise Campbell, Adda Rebecca West, Emma Clara Haines,
Mary Campbell, Luan B. Hendee, Ruth Logsdon. — February 20, 1895
f -* •fek'Ji
JUST BY THE TURN OF THE CENTURY
A boy about ten years of age comes down town as they phrased it in those days.
He had to be washed and had a clothes change, as someone might notice him.
He was with his pals the Chatterton boys, Kemper or Claude; or maybe the Swartz
kids, Toner and Eldridge; or maybe Navy Wheeler, or Arthur Nebergall, or Davie
King and Art Smith or some of the Arthurs.
When they arrive on East Main Street at the corner of E. Hail, who are some of
the men in business there?
First there is a wooden building, where the Style Shop is now located, and there is
a grocery but later, Clarence Renigar will open a barbershop before it is to be torn
down for a modern brick and the Kroger Store will begin. They tell us L. Barber
ran a clothing store there at one time.
Along this East Main Street, J. L. Griffith has a hardware store, he is the great
grandfather of John Norcross, and the grandfather of Mrs. Hal Norcross. The Boston
Store has general merchandise, so does T. F. Seibert, and Jay Frisbee is running a
drug store, one his father had before him.
The Yearicks have a shoe store and both father and son play in the city's famed
O. B. Rose has a dry goods store, where the Gamble Store is located, and Charles
Cole has a candy store, where the Stationery Store is located.
The Clements Sisters have a millinery store, in the present Legion building, and
a grocery is next door, with the C & G Bakery next. Mrs. Emma Carpenter was one
of the owners. Jas. Campbell ran the Campbell's Jewelry Store, father of Miss Mary
Campbell and Mrs. L. J. Barber, Sperlings Drug Store was next door and the famous
old Opera House was upstairs.
J. H. Rogers ran a meat market, where Hulett's are now located, and J. H. Johnson
had a Drug Store between there and Barber's Clothing House. The Bank of Bushnell
was on the corner and there was a Barbershop in the basement.
East on Hurst Street was a cigar store and later it was owned by Hunt & McCance
and Bert Newby worked there and played ball with the local team. Harry Hunt later
ran a news stand next door and then the Post Office, where everyone went for their
mail in the morning and especially after the four seven o'clock trains came in. In
the store now housing Rawl's, Duntley and Hall ran a furniture store. V. V. Hall was
Robert Hall's father.
In the building where Daniels has his office was the Telephone Co.
In the building where the Telephone Company is now located was a roller skating
rink. To the north of this was the Hess House, a hotel with a large wooden porch.
On Crafford Street, just south of where the Methodist Church now stands, was the
McGee Blacksmith Shop and factory. Here Perry Opp's grandfather manufactured
a garden wheel plow, the first of its kind and many were sold throughout the country.
Back on the south side of Hurst Street Frank Krauser, father of Mrs. Harvey Doll,
ran a cigar factory, where the Davis' have their warehouse. Pete Albrecht had a
blacksmith shop across the alley to the west and next to that was a barbershop,
ran by William Mott and Charles Madison, brother of Ed Madison was a barber there.
On the corner was a jewelry store ran by Ed Cochran, next to the corner going south,
on East Main, was the Aller Store, next a pool hall, ran at times by William Rutledge
and later by William and Claude Duncan, William Titchner ran a barbershop in
this block for years, Korns saloon was near the center of the block and here it is re-
ported some of the men of the city dreamed up a large amphitheatre in which to hold
the famous Horse Show. On down the street was the C. Goeppinger harness shop,
he was the father of the Goeppinger Sisters and a Bushnell pioneer, next was Ed
Frank's restaurant, father of Charles Frank, the White Elephant saloon, the William
Gipps saloon and William Hood had a barbershop and pool hall. The Bushnell House
hotel was on the comer, where the armory was housed, and is now used by Vaughan
& Bushnell Manufacturing Co. for storage.
Mr. Hostetter ran a bottling works in a frame building back of where Mrs. Ethel
Heister now lives on Davis Street.
At the C B & Q station one of the best eating houses in this section was ran by
"Bish Hughs," Across the tracks the T. P. & W. station stood just east of where the
Bu.shnell Materials Co. now has its plant. Across the tracks from this station was a
restaurant and small hotel.
John M. Brant had just completed a new building, which is the south part of what
is now the Vaughan & Bushnell Manufacturing Co., and was known throughout
the Midwest as the largest distributors of heavy and farm machinery and supplies.
In the same block was the Heister Marble Works, run by C. E. Heister, a saloon ran
by Jas. Keith at one time and the Kathcart Hotel and a small restaurant in con-
junction, ran by a man by the name of Shanks.
On the corner now occupied by the Bennett Brant Garage and Filling Station,
was the old transfer building, and here farm implements and other appliances were
sold by George Bell, father of Mrs. Georgia Wells, to the west of this building
where the Main Hotel building is located by a laundry, and across the street was the
William Ellis blacksmith shop, father of Mrs. James Jones.
Back on West Main Street, John Roach, father of Bert Roach, ran a livery stable
and sale barn in the building now occupied by Swartzbaugh & O'Herron, and J. C.
Simpson had a new lumber yard in their present location.
Trumans had a sales bam at one time, where Stratton's are now located, but
after a fire destroyed the property a garage, operated by Fred Sperry, Fred Spiker,
Stryke Simonson and others was started there. At one time an outdoor theatre was
run in the lot to the north by Frank Jackson's father.
There were saloons in the next buildings, and there was a bowling alley at one
time in a [frame building in the block as well as a newspaper office.
In a frame building located where the Parson's Shoe Shop is, was the McDonald
barbershop and the McDonald boys, Lonnie, Charles, Sa mand Clarence, all worked
there. Sam studied to be a Chiropractor and made a success in his practice here
as well as in Evanston, where he now lives.
The Alexander Hotel was next door and was built by S. A. Hendee at a cost of
$25,000. Next was the store of S. A. Hendee, father of Mrs. Bert Roach and grand-
father of Albert Clarke. He was a big figure in Bushnell's business world at that
time, with a grain elevator on the railroad grounds in front of the hotel, and a
stockyards to the south in front of what is now Stratton's.
A blacksmith shop stood where Dr. Schafer's office is now located and was run
at one one time by Chas. Hockinberry.
Mid Black ran a livery stable on the lot back of the new fire station and recently
torn down and the building that stood to the east and torn down recently was used
as a cabinet repair shop and ran by William Oblander, uncle of the writer.
C. L. Harrah and Son had an implement store in the Parker Garage building and
here J. C. Miner, who built the building, had previously ran the same sort of busi-
ness, and John M. Brant and John R. Miller when they first started in Bushnell,
in 1898 started there.
Jos. Katzenstein had a clothing store on the corner where Brown Lynch Scott is
now located and before that Kaiser Bros, across the street to the south, where the
Building and Loan building is located was the Citizens Bank.
Ralph McDonald had a shoe store where Hall's Grocery is now located at one
time and the Clarke's Drug Store was next door. This was started by Dr. Clarke,
one of Bushnell's pioneers and later his sons, Clarence and Edward, took over. Clar-
ence was Albert Clarke's father and they later, closing the Drug Store, took over the
Bank of Bushnell, toigether with Bert Roach, with W. J. Fultz and Jas. Garretson as-
sisting. Both Mr. Fultz and Mr. Garretson had been in the grocery business in the
early 90's, Mr. Fultz where the Myers Barbershop is now located.
Back on the west side, a hardware store was in where the Bushnell Electric is now
located, and was operated by Hoover and Bemhill at one time and later by Mr. J.
H. Bernhill, father of Jess Bemhill and Jess did the tin work, and J. H. Spiker soon
came with a meat market and grocery, being in with his father at first. Fred Spiker
took over after James went into the bank.
Hoover and Voorhees were the hardware dealers where Oblander's Hardware is
now located. Mr. Hoover was the father of Mrs. Lee Harris and Mr. Voorhees the
father of Harry Voorhees, who with his father ran the store for many years after
Mr. Hoover retired. Mr. Jas. Madison worked as tinner in this store for years and
was one of Bushnell's pioneers. He built a telephone at one time, before that instru-
ment was invented, and talked from the store to the Hoover residence.
J. B. Kuhn ran a restaurant next door and later Felix North had a motion picture
show in the McHendry Electric building.
C. E. Oblander ran a dry goods store next door, north, this business was 70 years
old in February, with only two owners, C. E. Oblander and his cousin, Wm. Oblan-
der, who had worked there after coming here from Germany when a boy.
J. V. Oblander and son, Gus, ran a furniture store in the building where LeMasters
Store is now, but they soon moved next door to the north and Mr. William LeMaster
started a clothing store, which his son, Paul, now operates.
In the Kugler and Seek building, John Leib, father of Ella Leib and Mrs. Gus
Hartrick, ran a buggy and harness sales room and in 1902 the Democrat building
was built, before that two frame buildings stood on the corner, where Gilliam Hall,
grandfather of Robert Hall, Mr. Lou Silberer, who has many relatives still living
in Bushnell, including a daughter, Mrs. Sophia Roberts, and another daughter, Mrs.
William Rutledge of Prairie City, ran a meat market and a notion store was in the
Mrs. Davidson ran in millinery across the street and Mack Pinkley had a lumber
yard at the corner of West Main and Hail, on the railroad grounds.
Going east on Hail Street as we return home, as us kids were East Siders, at the
corner of East Main we past the First National Bank, which was run by Jas. Cole.
He was the second merchant in town, and by this time owned several buildings,
especially the Cole Block, which was just recently torn down.
We pass S. T. Henry's fruit store, Bill Spiegel's barbershop and Franks' restaurant
as we go west, and looking across the street see Nessel's bakery, run by William Nes-
sel, Logston's grocery and Eugene Durst shoe shop. Mr. Durst was the father of Cora
and Nell Durst.
The Record Office is on the alley, where Cowperthwaite's are now located, and
across the street John Albrecht and his son, John, husband of Mrs. Dora Albrecht,
were running a blacksmith shop.
For several years people were so busy learning to go and come with automobiles
and tractors that the horses and mules of the country were almost forgotten, but
with agriculture, economics and animal industry in our high schools, the youngsters
were becoming more and more interested in 4-H Clubs and farm projects. In the year
1927, The Rotary and Commercial Clubs, co-operating with these clubs, held a Corn
and Project Show which was pronounced a success.
The original Roach Livery Stables at the southwest corner of West Main and
This church was organized October 19, 1856, by a committee consisting of Rev. A.
Wilson and S. B. Ayres. The original members were Frederick Cruser, Thomas Plotts
and wife, Aaron Sperling and D. M. Wyckoff.
The church edifice was erected in 1860 or '61 and dedicated May 1, 1861. It was
located at the northwest corner of the intersections of East Gridley and Crafford
The first meetings were held in a schoolhouse and afterwards in a carpenter shop
which later was purchased, attached to the church and fitted up as a chapel.
The first consistory was composed of Elders, John Wyckoff, Thomas Plotts and
Frederick K. Cruser; Deacons, D. M. Wyckoff and Aaron Sperling.
THE GERMAN METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH
In July, 1857, a congregation of this denomination was formed with the following
members: Mr. and Mrs. Henry Wesier, Mr. and Mrs. Michael Miller, Mr. and Mrs.
George Ludwig, Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Ludwig, Mr. and Mrs. Henry Bertz, Mr.
and Mrs. Henry Wilmasshans, Mr. and Mrs. Christ Wiseman and Mr. and Mrs. John
Ewald. The first minister was the Rev. Peter Hehner.
This organization at once began to look for a place and means with which to build
a house of worship and a board of trustees was formed to advance the proposition.
The trustees were Henry Meiser, George Ludwig, Michael Miller, Andrew Ludwig
and Henry Bertz. They at once set to work and in the same year (1857) the church
building was completed and ready for occupancy. It still stands at the southwest
corner of the intersection of West Hail and Jackson Streets.
Rev. Hehner was succeeded in the pastorate by Rev. C. Johnson and he by Rev
.John Saiser. In 1885 the membership was about 60 under the ministation of the Rev.
John C. Rapp. At that time the officers were Henry Rogers, elder; C. Nessel, deacon;
C. Goeppinger, John Oblander and Frank Kramer, trustees.
The church was disbanded in March, 1906. ,
ST. BERNARD CATHOLIC CHURCH
About forty-three years ago Father John M. Sheedy, then pastor of Lewistown
and its missions, moved to Bushnell and took up residence here as the first residence
pastor of St. Bernard's Church in Bushnell. Up to this time the Catholic life of Bush-
nell had been that of a mission served by various parishes in the district. At the pre-
sent time it is a fairly well established parish, increasing in number and irifluence
in this northeast comer of McDonough county.
The first record of the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass being offered in Bushnell goes
back to the year of 1857, not long after the founding of the village of Bushnell. At
This fine edifice burned on December 20, 1951, and at once plans were made for a
new church, and it was completed in 1953.
this time Father Schilling came from Nauvoo and held Catholic services in one of
the Catholic homes of the community. From this time on until 1877 the Catholic
people were frequently visited by priests from neighboring settlements but they had
no regular services scheduled. When a priest came the people assembled at one of
their homes or at a hall which was rented for this purpose.
In 1877, the same year in which Bishop Spaulding came to Peoria as its first bishop,
the Catholics of Bushnell purchased the old third ward school house, a frame build-
ing which stood on the corner occupied by the present church edifice. During the
next thirty years the people of Bushnell had the privilege of attending Catholic serv-
ices in their own church. Mass was celebrated in the little frame church once each
month, the priest coming from Macomb or Lewistown.
In 1906 under the direction of Father T. E. Madden, the church that burnt recently,
was built. By the generous and whole-hearted cooperation of the little group of peo-
ple sufficient funds were raised to transform the little school house into a small but
dignified and worthy place for the housing of the Blessed Sacrament and the offer-
ing of the Holy Sacrifice of the Altar. The new building with its beautiful windows
and substantial brick exterior was dedicated by Bishop O'Reilly of Peoria on May 15
1907. It was dedicated to Saint Bernard of Clairvaux, the great Cistersian monk
whom the Church has honored as the last of its doctors. St. Bernard is mentioned by
historians as the great light which shone in the Church's life during the twelfth cen-
tury. On the occasion of the dedication Father Libert, then pastor of St. Mary's
Church in Canton, celebrated Mass and Bishop O'Reilly administered the sacrament
The congregation of Bushnell continued to have the limited services of an out-
mission until the Autumn of 1916. At this time the people were called upon to make
sacrifices in order that with their small numbers they might raise funds sufficient to
erect a parish house. Father John M. Sheedy directed the building of the rectory
and moved from Lewistown to occupy it in 1916. He served the people here as well as
cared for the out-missions of Rushville and Table Grove until 1925 when he was forc-
ed to resign because of ill health. He was succeeded by the Rev. A. L. Necasek, who
remained here as pastor until 1934. At this time Father Necasek became pastor of St.
Mary's of Canton and Father John P. Farrell became pastor of Bushnell. After only
two years in Bushnell Father Farrell was transferred to the chaplaincy at the State
Penitentiary at Pontiac. At this time Father Basil J. Doyle, came to Bushnell from
Streator where he had been serving as an assistant pastor.
At the time of the building of both the church and rectory many remarked that
they would stand as monuments to sacrifices made foolishly because the prospect
was that after a few years they might be deserted. However, God in His Divine
Providence, has been good to the little parish of Bushnell. Each year has found
new parishoners moving into the city or entering through the avenue of conversion
so that the church which seemed almost empty at Mass time when it was built was
taxed to its capacity.
At the present time Bushnell serves the out-mission of St. Rose in Rushville. In the
past it has served Table Grove and Raritan. ,
The priests whose names are remembered as having served Bushnell as an out-
mission or parish are as follows: Fathers Schilling, Phillip Allbright, Manning, Cog-
han, Tuohy, Max Albright, O'Brien, Callaghan, Corley, Jansen, Libert, Finn, Flynn,
Madden, Fitzgerald, Sheedy, Necasek, Farrell, Doyle and Gordon.
THE PRESENT CHURCH
Pastor: Rev. Michael Van Raes. Trustees: T. F. Burke and B. L. Kearns. 81
families, a total of 238 souls, make up the membership of St. Bernard Church. Also
attached to the parish is an out-mission in Rushville, St. Rose Church.
Assisting at Mass and other religious exercises as Altar Boys are Pete Ghiglieri,
Richard Kirtley, Tony McCleary, Larry Bell, Pat Bell, and Larry Dilts. Organ
accompaniment and singing is provided by Mrs. Shirley Cortelyou, Miss Patricia
Kirtley and Mrs. Lois Hood. John Mallon and Ted Spangler serve as ushers.
Under the leadership of Mrs. Bennett Brant, President, Mrs. Kate Henry, vice-
president, and Miss Helen Carley, secretary-treasurer, the Altar Society is active
in maintaining the appearance of the church interior as well as in promoting
parish affairs and activities. Its affiliation with the National Council of Catholic
Women is under the guidance of Mrs. Lois Hood, President; Miss Helen Carley,
Vice-President, and Mrs. Gertrude Jones, Secretary.
The men of the Parish are united in the Holy Name Society, with George
Bucher serving as President; John Burke as Vice-President; Clarence Clary as
Secretary, and Ted Spangler as Treasurer.
Two Study Clubs, the St. Bernard, under the leadership of Mr. and Mrs. Clar-
ence Clary; and the Ave Maria with Miss Helen Carley as President, provide
opportunity for informative discussion. A third Study Club, the St. Thomas, is
conducted for residents of the Table Grove vicinity.
Instruction for the children of the parish is provided each Saturday of the
school year and during a two week's Summer School by Franciscan Sisters, coming
in from Macomb and Peoria.
D D n
During the year 1856, although the people of the village were few, the always
present desire for a place of worship prompted the gathering together of a few who
espoused the Methodist Church. The initial members included Mr. and Mrs. James
Cole, Mr. and Mrs. Emanuel Allen, Mr. and Mrs. Herman Diltz, Mr. and Mrs. Jacob
Miller and Mr. and Mrs. Isaac Tharke who met for the first time in organization, in
the home of Mr. and Mrs. Cole. They worshiped for a time in the building that had
been erected by the German Methodists but in 1863 built a frame building 36 by 56
feet ground space and continued to use this until the spring of 1883 when it was razed
and the new church that was to serve the congregation for forty years was built and
dedicated in May, 1884. This splendid edifice was destroyed by fire February 4, 1923.
Pending the erection of a new building, the congregation, demonstrating a won-
derful spirit of cooperation and devotedness to their Christian duty, erected a taber-
nacle on an adjacent block where meetings were held until the present attractive and
convenient building was erected, in 1925 during the pastorate of the Rev. Chas. Van-
dettum, D. D. The dedicatory service was on Sunday, July 12, 1925, the dedicator be-
ing the Rev. George L. Snively of Lewistown, Illinois.
At the time of the dedication the Board of Trustees consisted of B. W. Ervin,
President; T. H. Jackson, E. G. Russler, F. E. Hummel, Guy Ventres and J. N. Mc-
Fadden. The building committee was F. E. Hummel, Ben C. Rogers, L. E. Brew-
baker, E. G. Russler and T. H. Jackson.
The board of stewards were R. J. Ewan, Ella Leib, Ethel Heister, Angie McElvain,
Emma Auld, J. M. Gale, G. K. Cooper, Willard Smith, Ben C. Rogers and A. W.
A. W. Hartrick was superintendent of the Sunday School.
The first pastor to minister to the congregation in 1856 was the Rev. William Under-
wood. The organization was completed in 1857.
The Methodist Church has been signally honored.
In 1928 L. E. Brewbaker and Rev. David Wilson, pastor of the church, were named
as delegates from Illinois to attend the General Conference this being the world-wide
conference whose duty is the administration and legislation governing the entire
church. This recognition was unusual in that with only five laymen and five minis-
ters from Illinois, the Bushnell church sent two of them.
In 1936 Dr. Harold Fitch was a delegate to the General Conference in Columbus,
Ohio, where plans were completed to merge the three churches, the Methodist
Episcopal, North, the Methodist Episcopal, South, and the Methodist Protestants into
one church body, and at this conference called the Uniting Conference, the new dis-
cipline of the church was written. »
In 1940, Dr. Fitch was delegate to the General Conference at Atlantic City, the
first conference of the United Churches.
Thus Dr. Fitch has the distinction of attending the last general conference of the
Methodist Episcopal Church and the first of the United Churches. There were seven
laymen and seven ministers from Illinois at Atlantic City.
To be selected as a lay delegate to these conferences is the highest honor that can
be bestowed upon a layman.
Former Pastors and Years: Wm. Underwood, 1856; Carton Springer, 1857-58; W.
G. Peterson, 1859-60; M. S. Haney. 1861; Richard Haney, 1862; B. B. Kennedy, 1863;
G. C. Woodruff, 1864; J. C. Rybolt, 1865; Peter Warmer, 1866-67; J. P. Brook, 1868;
W. J. Beck, 1869; A. Magee, 1870-71; A. C. Price, 1872-73; R. A. Cowan, 1874; B. F.
Tollman, 1875-77; G. W. Arnold, 1878-79; J. E. Taylor, 1880-81; W. F. Wilson,
1882-83; G. C. Shafer, 1884; F. H. Cumming, 1885-87; R. Russell, 1888; R. E. Buckey,
1889-92; H. K. Metcalf, 1893-94; Wm. Woolley, 1895-97; J. D. Smith, 1898-99; J. S.
White, 1900-02; W. D. Benjamin, 1903-05; J. W. Ferris, 1906-10; J. L. Shively 1911-14;
F. J. Giddings, 1915-16; Chas. Vandettum, 1917-25; D. F. Wilson, 1926-28; L. J.
Sailor, 1929-33; Richard I. Stone, 1934-37; V. W. Elston, 1938-40; Claude M. Temple,
1941-45; Kenneth E. Knox, 1946-49; A. J. Copeland, 1950—.
THE PRESENT CHURCH
««».«»< ;.»_c^.^'^-; ■-••.— =»r-r<?»;^«J^*iri<-i. -s-AJIfctSWr.*
Bishop - Charles W. Brashares, Chicago.
District Superintendent - Charles B. Wagner, Galesburg.
Pastor - A. J. Copeland.
Chairman of Official Board, A. W. Hartrick.
Secretary - Mrs. Wendell Fisk
Treasurer - Carl Caylor.
Benevolence Treasurer - L. E. Brewbaker.
Chairman Finance Committee - Lloyd Zimmerman.
Chairman Missions - Mrs. H. W. Fitch.
Chairman Membership - W. C. Phelps.
Chairman Education - Mrs. Alex Cadwalader.
Financial Secretary - Miss Louise Goeppinger.
Church Lay Leader - R. J. Ewan.
Lay Delegates - G. P. Stuart. Ross Varner, Mrs. H. W. Fitch.
Communion Stewards - Mrs. Harry Doner, Mrs. Warren Fisk, Miss Mary Black.
Chairman Board of Trustees - Edwin Laux.
Sunday School Superintendent - Eugene Dillworth.
W.S.C.S. President - Mrs. J. B. Bartlett.
M.Y.F. President - Janet Mullinax.
President Methodist Men - W. C. Phelps.
Choir Director - Mrs. Eugene Brown.
Junior Choir - Mrs. Keith Wilson.
Organist - Miss Pauline Goeppinger.
Custodian - Clarence Good.
Trustees - Edwin Laux, Ross Varner, Louise Goeppinger, Clarence Runyan, Dr.
H. W. Fitch, George Doll, Perry Opp, Harvey Doll, Sr., R. J. Ewan.
Stewards - A. W. Hartrick, Eugene Dillworth, Wilbur Roethe, Dr. J. B. Meloan,
Mrs. Harold Feaster, Mrs. J. B. Bartlett, Mrs. H. W. Fitch, Donald Lantz, V. E.
Mullinax, Lloyd Zimmerman, Leland Paul, Donald Kessler, Mrs. Wendell Fisk, W.
C. Phelps, Randall Paul, Alex Cadwalader. Bruce Freer, Richard Williams, Harvey
Doll, Jr., Gale Gentle, Mrs. V. E. Mullinax.
THE PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH
With Bushnell only two years old, a movement was started for the establishment
of the Presbyterian Church. As early as October 14, 1856 a petition was presented
at the meeting of the Rushville Presbytery and the Revs. J. C. King and Thompson
and Elder S. H. McCandless were appointed to organize the church if in their opin-
ion it should be done.
At a meeting of the Presbytery in Mt. Sterling, April 3rd, 1857 the committee
reported that the organization had been perfected and ruling elders elected. The
minutes of the Presbytery meeting in North Henderson, October 17, 1859, shows
that the church had become extinct and stricken from the rolls of the Presbytery.
At a spring meeting of the Presbytery of Warren, held in Monmouth, in 1868, a
petition was presented, asking for an organization of a Presbyterian Church in
Bushnell. This petition was signed by about thirty persons, the greatest number
of whom were members of the Reformed Church. The committee, composed of the
Rev. R. C. Matthews, D. D. of Monmouth; Rev. C. Leavenworth, Galesburg; Rev.
George Norcross, Galesburg, and Elder Wier, Monmouth and Jackson of Galesburg
reported favorably, after visiting the field, and the church was organized April 25,
Twenty-one persons presented a certificate, in a body, from the Reformed Church
and seven from other Presbyterian churches, a total of, the entire petition including
twenty-six names forming the nucleous of the new church. They were John W.
Adams, Mrs. Minerva F. Adams, Robert A. Adams, Mrs. Caroline Adams, Mrs. Carrie
Anderson, Daniel H. Bodine, Mrs. Harriet S. Bodine, Mrs. Maria C. Hessler, A. H.
McGahan, Mrs. Alice McGahan, Mrs. Eliza A. McGahan, Mrs. Lydia Moore, Joseph
Neff, Mrs. Mary Neff, Mrs. Jennie Odell, Robert Rea, Mrs. Hanna Rea, Frank Sample,
R. M. Scott, Mrs. A. K. Scott, Mrs. E. A. Seiber, Mrs. Elizabeth J. Sperry, William
Tiedrick, Mrs. Caroline Tiedrick, Henry S. Wells and Mrs. Frances Wells.
The pulpit was occasionally supplied with preachers the first year until August,
when the Rev. R. T. McMahan became stated pastor, remaining two years.
The church had been organized in the Baptist church, that congregation having
rented their church to the new organization to be used on Sunday afternoons, and
at such times as not needed by their own people.
It was during the pastorate of the Rev. McMahan that the efforts were put forth
for a church and the property was acquired from B. F. Pinckly, consisting of two
lots and is the present site of the Church and Manse. The church property was ac-
complished for about $7,000. It was erected under the superintendency of F. A.
Cooley. The plastering was done by Shafer and Kuhn; the painting by Adams, Barrett
and Davis; the frescoing by Jevin and Almini of Chicago, and the stained glass
windows by Geo. A. Misch and Brothers, also of Chicago.
The board of ruling elders, usually designated the "session" elected at the organi-
zation of the church was composed of the following: Robert Adams, Robert Rea,
Robert M. Scott, and A. H. McGahan. Mr. McGahan was chosen clerk. At this time
the Church retained the life service plan of eldership, adding to the session from
time to time, as deemed necessary. On the 18th day of May, 1873, the following were
elected as Deacons: R. W. Wheeler, D. A. McDonald, Wm. Tiedrick and F. M. Deul.
Later Mr. Wheeler was released from serving as deacon on his election to the elder-
ship. The first Board of Trustees consisted of R. M. Scott, Joseph Neff and A. H.
The Sunday-School was organized soon after the dedication of the church building
in 1869, and A. H. McGahan was chosen superintendent.
In May of 1903 it was decided to remodel the old church. The original building
which faced the north, was turned to face the west, on the corner lot then occupied
by the manse, and the manse was moved to south lot, their present locations. The
trustees were the building committee with Rev. W. R. Stewart as chairman, were
Jas. Hudson, W. J. Vertrees, J. F. G. Oblander, C. A. Hunt, Mrs. C. E. Oblander,
Mrs. S. T. Henry. The work of remodeling completed, dedication services were
January 3, 1904, with the Rev. W. R. Stewart preaching the sermon.
In March, 1906, the Reformed Church having disbanded and the building sold,
some 30 or 40 of the remaining membership were transferred to the Presbyterian
During the pastorate of the Rev. C. E. Schaible the church building was enlarged
to its present size. Conceived by Rev. Schaible, the work was begun in the Spring of
Rev. Schaible's last labor for the Church was in connection with the laying of the
cornerstone, he throwing the first spade of earth. He became ill immediately follow-
ing these ceremonies and passed from the scene of earthly labor.
Ministers in the Presbyterian pastorate since its organization are: Rev. R. T. Mc-
Mahan, 1868-1870; Rev. Matthew Bigger, 1871-1872; Rev. R. T. Stephenson, 1873-1877;
Rev. S. H. Parvin, 1880-1884; Rev. H. J. Frothingham, 1884-1885; Rev. D. R. Thomp-
son, 1886-1889; Rev. George C. Copland, 1891-1896; Rev. John A. McGaughey, 1897-
1901; Rev. Wm. R. Stewart, 1901-1907; Rev. C. E. Alexander, 1907-1910; Rev. James
Harden Smith, 1910-1913; Rev. C. E. Schaible, 1913-1917; Rev. Rea W. Martin, 1917-
1920; Rev. L. Burnie Shell, 1921-1923; Rev. Wm. Boaz, 1924-1929; Rev. F. C. Everitt,
1930-1936; Rev. Arthur C. Young, 1937; Francis Rhoades, Erwin Ruklic.
Rev. Matthew Bigger, Rev. Wm. R. Stewart and Rev. Charles E. Schaible died
during their pastorate in this church.
THE PRESENT CHURCH
Minister: Rev. William Rule, D. D., 384 Dean St., Phone 474.
Church Treasurer: OVTr. Frank Lomax, 1085 Crafford St., Phone 428K.
Financial Secretary: Mr. Robert Walton.
Organist and Director of Junior Choirs: Mrs. Robert Baer.
Director of Senior Choir: Mrs. William Rule.
Sexton: Mr. William Hoover, 443 E. Barnes St., Phone 377X.
The Session: Rev. Wm. Rule, moderator; Arthur Kukuk, clerk; Earl Harris, Mrs.
C. Lay, Loren Kugler, Gene Brewer, Melvin McGinley, Ben Sperry, William Thorn-
ton, Mrs. R. G. Trummel.
The Trustees: Ray Cowperthwaite, chairman; Wm. Heath, Clarence Evans, Wm.
Walthers, Howard Payne, H. A. Renwick, John Scholes, Kenneth Goff, Robert
Committee of Christian Education: Mr. Newton Bricker, Mrs. Clarence Lay, Mr.
Kenneth Goff, Miss Kathryn Scholes.
Sunday Church School Teachers and Officers meet quarterly.
Nursery Class - Mrs. Peggy Ogle, Mrs. Ilene Lawson, Mrs. Martha Beatty.
Beginners - Mrs. Bernice Roan, Mrs. Leona Curtis, Miss Kathryn Oblander.
Primary - Mrs. Merlin Heagy, Mrs. Thelma Curtis, Mrs. Marjorie Roan.
Junior Dept. - Mrs. Peg Bricker, and Class Mothers.
Junior High - Mrs. Virginia Thornton, Mrs. Carolyn Smith.
Senior High - Mr. George Trotter.
Mixed Adult Bible Class - Mr. Hal Renwick.
Men's Bible Class - Mr. R. E. Lybarger.
Women's Bible Class - Mrs. Nina Cobb, senior teacher.
Superintendent: Mr. Newton Bricker; Secretary: Miss Sandra Sammons; Trea-
surer: Miss Gertrude Garretson.
Nursery Roll: Mrs. George Bertolino, Supervisor.
The Women's League: Mrs. George Chain, President.
The Circles of the League: Circle One - Mrs. Lyell Sperry; Circle Two - Mrs.
George Trotter; Circle Three - Mrs. James Walton; Circle Four - Mrs. R. G. Trum-
The Men's Brotherhood: Mr. John Brophy, President.
Head Usher: Mr. Wm. Thornton.
February 13, 1862, a number of persons who were of the Baptist denomination,
gathered together and effected an organization of a society. Elder H. S. Warren acted
as moderator of the meeting and John F. Smith as clerk.
The original members pledging their allegiance to the newly formed church
at this meeting were J. F. Smith, Jonathan Greene, William Greene, H. S. P.
Warren, Mary A. Smith, Lucy P. Greene, Jane Fuson, Angeline Kinyon, William S.
Hummel, Moses Wilson, Esther Adams and Laura J. Warren.
It was recognized as a church, April 16, 1862, and the Rev. H. S. P. Warren was
installed as pastor. Meetings were held for a short time in the German Methodist
Church in Andrew's and Smith Halls. In 1866 they built the church on Crafford
Early pastors ministering to the church were the Rev. Warren, above mentioned,
Rev. William T. Bly, Rev. E. Russ, Rev. William T. Hill, Rev. J. J. W. Place, Rev.
G. P. Gyle, Rev. Niles Kinney, Rev. Charles Cross, Rev. J. C. Hart, Rev. R. C. Ray.
THE PRESENT CHURCH
Minister: Reverend Harold Lane
Moderator: Mr. Oliver Wells.
Church Clerk: Miss Vera Brown.
Trustees: Mr. Arthur Cooper, Chairman; Mr. Wayne Williamson, Mr. Fred
Wells, Mr. Harvey Scott, Mr. William Campbell.
Deacons: Mr. Oliver Wells, Chairman; iMi-. Derril Bentzinger, Mr. Hollis Camp-
bell, Mr. William Trout, Mr. Elmer Faler.
Financial Secretary: Mrs. Theda Trout.
Treasurer: Mr. Wayne Williamson.
Deaconesses: Mrs. Francis Johnston, Mrs. Dorothy Campbell, Mrs. Theda Trout.
Missionary Treasurer: Mrs. Mildred Miller.
Youth Adviser: Mrs. Mary Bentzinger.
Sunday School Supt.: Mrs. Arthur Cooper.
Assistant Sunday School Supt.: Mr. William Trout.
Primary Department Supt.: Mrs. Helen Lenker.
Cradle Roll Supt.: Mrs. Mable Copes.
Sunday School Secretary-Treasurer: Mrs. Mamie Williamson.
Women's Mission Board: Mrs. Edna Cooper, President.
Church Musician: Mrs. Virginia Wells.
Assistant Musician: Mrs. Dolores Lane.
Men's Brotherhood: Mr. Wayne Williamson, President.
Willing Helper's Class: Mrs. Myrtle Warren, President.
Upstreamers Class: Mrs. Josephine Connor, President.
Companion Class: Mr. Derril Bentzinger, President.
B. Y. F.: Miss Gloria Johnson, President.
BUSHNELL CHRISTIAN CHURCH
A church of the New Testament pattern in this town of 3,500 population, has
long been a dream of many interested persons.
Joe Combites, of Bushnell, became a member of the church in the neigh-
boring town of Sciota, a number of years ago, and served as deacon and as
president of the Men's Bible Class. When Ellwood Beeman came to Sciota
as minister in 1952, Mr. Combites expressed to him his wish for a church
The project of establishing a church was presented by Mr. Beeman to min-
isters of the area, many of whom volunteered to help in making a religious
census. The survey results were sorted according to prospects. The local V.F.W. Re-
ception Hall was obtained as a meeting place through the generosity of that organ-
The first service was held on March 9, 1953, with Mr .Ellwood Beeman as minister
for the Sunday morning services. Ministers of neighboring churches took their turn
for the evening services each week. Mr. Beeman served as minister until June 7,
1953, at which time Dean Hill of Lincoln Bible Institute, was employed as minister
to the congregation. Mr. Hill served for the summer months and then returned
to his studies in Lincoln and Mr. Beeman again became the leader of the flock.
The church is now meeting in its own building which was purchased in the month
of November, 1953. It is located at the west edge of Bushnell on Charles Street,
or what is better known as Route 9.
Elders: Joe Doan, Joe Combites.
Jr. Deacon: Larry Combites.
Church Clerk: Mrs. Joe Doan.
Treasurer: Barbara Williamson.
Bible School Clerk: Mrs. Jerry Wheeler.
Minister: Ellwood Beeman.
CHURCH OF GOD
The work in Bushnell started in 1917 when a C. B. & Q. railroad man by the
name of Joe Richter began to hold prayer meetings. For seven years the services
were held in a hall above a store on the west side of the tracks.
A lot was bought on East Barnes Street in 1924 and a church building was erected
in 1925. In 1930 the church was raised, a basement dug under it and a vestibule added
to the front. Rev. Charles Longton was pastor when these improvements were made.
The following pastors have ministered in this church in the order named: Rev.
Arthur Lanham, Rev. S. J. Lane, Rev. H. Tracey, Rev. Paul Jeune, Rev. Charles
Longton, Rev. Albert Dunham, Rev. Henry Frahm, Rev. Sam Atterbury, Rev. Owen
Post, Rev. Sam Nachtigall, and Rev. C. F. Higgins. Rev. Ruby Whitten has been pas-
tor for the last seven years.
Trustees: Ralph LeMaster, Clifford Hoffmeister, Lyle Miller.
Church Treasurer: Tom Mason.
Sunday School Superintendent: Dorothy LeMaster.
ASSEMBLY OF GOD CHURCH
In the year of 1934 the Rev. Lulu Hulett moved to Bushnell with her husband,
Edmund, and three small children. Finding no church of her choice, she began
cottage prayer meetings. As time went on several were added to their number.
The group felt the need of a larger place to worship so they held services in a
The congregation held their meetings in the Buckley Hall on West Hail Street,
until late in the year of 1939. During the summer of that year, with an indomitable
determination that has earned sincere admiration, the little band of sixty members
built an attractive church on East Barnes Street at Rile Street. They had an
attendance in Sunday School of eighty.
Edmund Hulett donated a lot at the corner of Rile and Barnes Streets and a
building was erected in 1939. In January, 1954, this church building was destroyed
by fire and another is being constructed in its place.
Rev. Hulett pastored the church until her health failed in 1940. She was suc-
ceeded by the following ministers: Rev. B. F. Goodin. Rev. Adolph Brewer, and
Rev. Cecil Liddle.
Rev. W. E. Thurmond came here in 1951, and is the present pastor. The official
board of trustees are Vern Eggers, Charles Crawford and Earl Goff. Charles
Crawford is the Sunday School Superintendent.
ST. THOMAS EPISCOPAL CHURCH
This organization was organized on April 27, 1883 by the Rev. John W. Elliott, with
the following members: Charles A. Dickinson, Mrs. G. J. Spooks and Mrs. W. Z.
Boyington. After about three months Rev. Elliott, the rector, left and was succeed-
ed by the Rev. J. M. D. Davidson. At this time T. J. Sparks was senior warden, J.
W. Z. Boyington, junior warden and secretary; C. A. Dickinson, treasurer; J. C.
Young, J. C. McGowan, C. A. Dickinson, M. Cassidy, S. T. Henry and C. Gram,
The meetings were held in what was known as the Union Hall, later the pro-
perty of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, on West Main St. The church later
bought the building that had been built for the German Methodist Church
at the southwest corner of the intersection of West Hail and Jackson Streets.
HISTORY OF BUSHNELL SCHOOLS
The first school houses in this part of the county were dark and rough log cabins,
usually having one window consisting of six 8x10 glass panes. Scholars sat on rude
benches made from logs, smoothed on top, and pegged beneath to keep them from
rolling. Pupils stood at ledges fastened to the wall when they wanted to write. The
teacher sat on a three-legged stool at a rough desk, which stood on a rude platform.
At least four such schools are known to have existed in this part of the country.
The first school in Bushnell-Prairie City township was tauht by David Robinson
in 1838 and is thought to have been located on Section 30, three miles west of Bush-
nell, where Matthew Robinson, the first settler of the township built his new home.
In Mound township, S. H. McCanless taught the first school in 1838 in a loig cabin
located in Section 18.
The first school in Walnut Grove township was a log cabin built in 1835 on Section
16 in what was known in 1878 as Deer Park, now known as Center. The teacher was
Another early log school in Walnut Grove township was located in Scottsburg
community, and for a window, is said to have had only a slit-like opening made oi
window panes placed end to end just above the writing ledge along the wall.
The first school house in Bushnell was a frame structure between Hail and Hurst
Streets. The first teacher is reported to have been Miss Emmalin Spangler. As
Bushnell grew, more schools were added until there were four - one in each ward;
The one on Sperry Street, the second on Water Street between Rile and Sperry,
a third on the northwest corner of Jackson and Davis, two blocks south of the
northwest corner of the West Side Park; and a fourth on the southeast corner of
West Hail and Washington where the Catholic Church now stands.
The population of the rural areas around the Town of Bushnell, was also in-
creasing, and from 1854-1872 most of our school districts were organized and the
one room school houses were built.
All these were the "Little Red School Houses," which were more often brown,
or white, or some other color.
One of the oldest school districts in this area is the Emory School, organized in
1856 on Section 4 of Prairie City township. The first teacher was Mrs. Henry Peasly.
Although many of these schools carried an enrollment of 50-55 pupils, the average
attendance was often as low as 25 or 30.
The next step in the development in education was the adoption of the graded
system, whereby students advanced from grade to grade according to standards
for that grade. Here-to-fore, students of all aiges and sizes were placed in one room
and studied on their own level. ,
The graded system was adopted in Bushnell in 1868, under the direction of Mr.
Hyde, the first city superintendent. But a graded system was difficult to administer
in four separate one-room schools such as Bushnell had, and during the years of
1875 and 1876 a large two-story brick building was erected on the site where the
West Side Grade School now stands. This building consisting of eight classrooms
and four basement rooms, was built of red brick at a cost of $20,000. At the time of
its construction it was said to be the largest in the county. Now it was ix>ssible to
put a graded system into operation and a high school department was added. Al-
though no definite information has been discovered, it appears that this was a two-
year high school course. The first class to graduate from high school in this part of
the county consisted of six students - one boy and five girls. They graduated in
1878. Abram Neff was superintendent. That was 76 years ago.
Bushnell's high school course had been extended to three years sometime before
1889. Only one course - the classical course - was offered and the superintendent
and the principal handled all the high school classes. Then in 1896 the large brick
structure of which Bushnell had been so proud, was destroyed by fire. Fire from a
defective flue leveled it to the ground. But in nine months a new structure of buff
brick and ornamental design was erected to replace it. The cost was approximately
$15,000. By 1904 the educational needs of Bushnell had so expanded that a new
brick building - now the East Side Grade School - was constructed on the comer
of Cole and Hurst Streets, at a cost of $25,000. This became the new home of the
high school. Grades one to seven were divided, those living on the West Side
of Main Street attending the West Side School and those on the East Side of Main
Street going to the new building.
"^rTigOl, the high school course at Bushnell was extended to four years. This major
development took place under the administration of Superintendent W. H. Miller.
Not long afterward the high school was accredited by the University of Illinois.
*\' y/ ';|f ''V ■,' •
.^ ^^^K^K^^L^UbkB^^ " -^^^^
Vlr IM "t'-i^
^Hk^ *^^H|^^^^^L.j^^H^^B|^Ba|^^ ^^^'x --^j^
. vfl / ) ' jfl
^If ^^S^HbI^^^^I^HB^m ^\
\ )^' / lii^l
^^Hii . . - ' ^^^HBS^MII^T^fww^^BKS^B^S n.
w;^ '/t' ^^^^^1
^^^^i!^. \. ,' ' feriariSfm'Itt '''ii'':^CT.T mi'-' '
M^^^SB^^mSt^^^i^f^^ ;-? aCrffl -lBt jSMKMw mi . JBI 'SSk ■&ilB\ iPtfr ■ '
West Side School, built in 1896-97, destroyed by fire in 1936.
Courses of study in high schools were still very limited, but very intensive at
this time. In 1906 the students of Bushnell High School had the choice of two
courses - the Latin Scientific Course and the English Scientific Course. In either
case lOVz units of work were required and only SVz elective. Required were: One
and one-half units of Algebra; One unit of English composition; Two units of Eng-
lish literature; One unit of Plane Geometry; Two units of History, and Three units
of Latin, including Caesar and Cicero. The history of high school curriculum since
East Side Grade and High School Building in 1905.
that time has been one of expansion to include subjects that suited the particular
abilities or fitted the needs of most of the pupils attending high school. As more
and more of the area's youth were enrolled, the need for greater variety grew.
Typewriting was introduced in 1915, and became so popular that the class doubled
in size the next year.
By 1915, the curriculum had been expanded to include a Classical, English, Reg-
ular Business, or a Short Two-Year Business Course. It included much more than
Reading, Writing, and Arithmetic. But the expansion of the curriculum continued.
Home Economics, or rather Domestic Science, as it was called then - was introduced
in Bushnell High School in 1923. The teacher was Dorothy Fultz Newby. Vocational
Agriculture was introduced in Bushnell High School in 1930. A. L. Canterbury was
the Instructor; Maurice White was the Superintendent. Public school music was
added in Bushnell sometime during the late 1920's. While musical organizations
existed in the high school earlier, public school music was extended to include the
high school in 1932. Doris Ritchey Scholes was the first instructor. A chemistry de-
partment was added in Bushnell High School in 1937. The first teacher is also
the present teacher. Miss Leila Warfel. Driver Training was added in Bushnell in
1947, and in Prairie City in 1949. Mr. Bertolino and Mr. Gibson were the first in-
structors, respectively. And so the curriculum grew until today's student has a choice
of 5 courses: The College Preparatory Course; The Business Course; The Vocational
Agriculture Course, The Homemaking Course, and the General Course. Next year's
students will have the opportunity to take the Industrial Arts Course.
Sometime after the turn of the century extra-curricular activities began to take
their place as a necessary part of high school life. While basketball, baseball, and
football teams are known to have existed as early as 1900, it is difficult to tell when
they ceased to be town teams and became purely high school teams, on which
only regularly enrolled high school students could play. An early Yearbook indi-
cates that the first Bushnell High School basketball team was organized in 1910,
while the first official baseball team may have been organized in 1913.
Class plays are known to have been presented as early as 1913. In Bushnell it is
said that Junior-Senior banquets have been a custom since the early 1900's. Here,
the juniors and seniors were often entertained in the home of one of the teachers
The first high school Yearbook was Bushnell's Codax. The Yearbook was revived
in 1926 under another name, The Replica, which was published until 1951 with
only a few years interruptions.
The first high school band in the area was started in Bushnell in 1932 under Mr.
Bunnell's instruction. Mr. Maurice White was Superintendent.
In 1922 a two-story brick addition to the East Side School was erected in Bush-
nell. This is the present high school building. At the time it was built it presented
fine facilities for the one hundred twenty-five students then in High School. These
included a gymnasium, an auditorium with a staee. and home economics laborator-
The West Side School burned in August, 1936, and in January, 1937, the contract
for the present school was let to Clarence Renigar, at the same location.
The high school population was growing. In addition to the increase in the num-
ber of town pupils, more and more rural pupils were demanding high school educa-
tions. Therefore, the school districts were enlarged to include rural areas. These
new units were known as community high school districts. Bushnell's community
high school district was not formed until 1942. Mr. Lorrance was the superinten-
dent. The formation of community high school districts eventually led to trans-
portation of students by buses.
To Prairie City goes the credit for the first bus transportation route. Not only the
first in the area, but also the first in the county. The date was 1941.
The community high school units had helped the high schools by providing more
revenue, but the grade schools also needed help. A broader tax base was necessary
and educational opportunities needed to be equalized. The trend toward consoli-
dation continued and finally culminated in the establishment of Community Unit
Districts. In March of 1948, residents of Prairie City and Bushnell communities went
to the polls and voted to form a new school district - Community Unit No. 170 - and
become a part of it. From many school districts we became - one school district
with a single purpose - with equal educational opportunities for all school children.
For three years, both high schools were operated independently, but in 1951 they
were consolidated in the present Bushnell High School building. Now all high
school pupils of th Unit have equal opportunities in sports, extra-curricular activi-
ties. They could all play in the same band, have equal opportunities in education,
and all could elect chemistry, home economics and trigonometry. Next year an-
other step in the education of the students of this Community Unit will be taken
when the high school moves into its fine new quarters built and equipped by the
taxpayers at a cost of $750,000. There, many of the problems that have plagued our
high school the past few years will be eliminated and the Class of 1954 looks for
another period of growth in the educational history of the Bushnell and Prairie
City communities. It took 76 years to bring us to this development.
H. A. Renwick, Superintendent of
Myron Armstrong, Principle of
West Side Grades, Prairie City Grade
Schools and Rural Schools.
Denton White, Principle of High
School and East Side Grades.
East Side School - First Grade— First Row (Left to Right): Linda Lorton,
Steven Sperry, Lloyd McCleery, Larry Shepard, Vera Seaman, Deloris Barger,
Cheryl Thomas. Middle Row (Left to Right): Carl Wright, Martha Jane Moore,
Danny Wilson, Ken Goodman, Billy Griffith, Carl Hunter, Mary Beth Peterson,
Larry Schiffler, Karen Malott, Ronnie Goff, Earl Wier, Donald McCormick Rose-
mary Ruark. Back Row (Left to Right): Elaine Farrar, Linda Albright, Carolyn
Serven, Tommy Coplin, Stephenie Geeves, Larry Raymond, Roger Forrest, Earl
Dodson, Larry Howard, Anita Geer, Linda Nicholas, Stephania KrigloWitz (absent),
Verna Hammon, Teacher.
East Side School - Second Grade— Front Row (Left to Right): Bert Parker, Rob-
ert Hammon, Linda Selby, Gene Markley, Barbara McCleery, Denise Mason, Elaine
Welch, Pam Terry, Leslie Morss, Carl Wagner, Maria Dahlgren, Mary Campbell.
Center Row (Left to Right): Lana Smith, Bonnie Jo Kirby, Sharon Hobbs, Ricky
Jo Raby, Johnny Peterson, Jane Anne Farrenkopf, Peggy Shaffer, Gary Elwood,
Howard McNeeley, Melvina Johnson, Allen White, Carolyn Wagner, Bobbie Bart-
lett, Buddy Jordan. Back Row (Left to Right): Kenneth Hiermeier, Richard Goff,
Sharon Johnson, Virgil Hollaway, Sharon Wishon, Leland Hoyle, Gerald DeRenzy,
Robert Martin, Sherri Wagner, Freddie Smith, Jerry Fitch, Harold Coates, Essie
East Side School - Third Grade— Bottom Row (Left to Right): Judy Malott,
Larry Raby, Teddy Williams, Nancy Spencer, Danny Myers, Connie Kreps, Erlena
Mae King, Billy Lewis. Second Row (Left to Right): Mrs. Lane, Teacher; Jerry
Ruark, Sally Robinson, Ruthie Bolton, Gary Ebert, Jimmy Farrenkopf, Dianne
Harris, Peggy Clayton, Terry McDonough, Diana Coombs, Donald Hanson. Top Row
(Left to Right): Dianne Moore, Thelma Scott, Zelma Scott, Janet Raymond, Lynda
Cox, Delberta Howard, Gerald Smith, Marie Ridle, Pegigy Pickett, Gary Schmalshof.
East Side School - Fourth Grade— Front Row (Left to Right): Erma Brush,
John Kelly, Dennis Perry, Nancy Goodman, Janet Melvin, Karen Flewellen, Linda
Payne, Janet Hammond. Middle Row (Left to Right): Lynn Hood, Gary Carey,
Ronald Cox, David Chambers, Clara Welch, Sharon Weaver, Larry Myers, James
McCormick, Kenneth DeRenzy, James Wells. Back Row (Left to Right): Mrs. Hen-
derson, Teacher; June Kirby, Linda Snowman, Patricia Scholes, Mary K. Ault,
Debrah Morrow, Patricia Terry, Dale Wright, Joe Parker, Johnny Friend, Martha
East Side School - Fifth Grade — Front Row (Left to Right): Stevie Lovell,
Janice Avery, David Seek, Sara Barger, Arthur Harris, Janet Cox, Jerry McDonald,
Sandy Wells, Roberta Miller. Middle Row (Left to Right): Miss Keithley, Teacher;
Robert Wilson, Betty Lou Pickett, Judith Goodman, Marcia Kirby, Bonnie Taylor,
Diane Philbrick, Jean Morss, Janet Morss, Judy Ann Graves, Sharon Head, and
Bobby Joe Fitch. Back Row (Left to Right): Carl Erwin, Mary Ellen Payne, Mar-
lene Fitch, Pat Bell, Jerry Joe Jordan, Virgil Bankes, Melvin Scott, Jimmy Scott,
Ruth Ann Ault, Beverly Carey, and Rose Ann Reed.
East Side School - Sixth Grade— Front Row (Left to Right): Judith Babbitt,
James Cox, Ronnie Hummell, Marilyn Malott, Peggy Flewellen, Bonnie Jackson,
Jack Kirby, Zonia Williams, Shirley Phillips, Carole White. Middle Row (Left to
Right): Virginia Harris, Teacher; Judy Harris, Mike Garrett, Gerald Kreps, Don
Seek, Sue Ann Cox, Bernice Vancil, Clyde Parker, Darryl Kane, Marjorie Phillips,
Gloria Wilson, Danny Johnson, Bernard Vancil, Leland Fitch, Larry DeRenzy. Back
Row (Left to Right): Sandra Hammond, Patricia Perry, Dottie Dodson, George
Brush, Charles Whitten, Charley Dillenbeck, Melvina Campbell, Joyce Mason,
Peggy White, Mary Ann Sperry, David Wells.
East Side School - Seventh Grade — Bottom Row (Left to Right): Sue Kirby,
Elda Bartlett, Georgia Nicholas, John Henry Phillips, Richard McCann, Gary Reed,
Naomi Young, Nancy Lewis. Middle Row (Left to Right): Charles Friedel, Teacher;
Gloria Dimmitt, James Brown, Mary Lee Nicholas, Gloria Graves, John White,
Buddy Lewis, Marvin Barger, Mickey Hammond, Dean Coates. Top Row (Left to
Right): Bill Shaffer, Roy Dimmitt, Janet Ault, Laverne Fryrearer, John Scholes,
Howard Johnston, Calvin Frank, Patty McDonald, Elgin Everly, Larry Bell.
&■> ^sy*;tiS^-ii,' ,.',
East Side School - Eighth Grade— Front Row (Left to Right): Dale Cleveland,
Dorothy Chambers, Sandra Young, Darlene Scott, Christine Friend, Shirley Per-
ry, Paul Stoddard, James Nicholas, Judy Johnson. Second Row (Left to Right: Don-
ald Beard, Larry Hopper, Sally Sperry, Ronnie Dennis, Margaret Pyles, Ruth Ann
Kelly, Phyllis Miller, George Mason, Hazel Whittles. Third Row (Left or Right):
Larry Payne, Donna Harlan, Dixie Havens, Nancy Dimmitt, John Wilson, Donald
Ford, Donald Markley, Donald Kreps, Billy Gibson, Ronnie Graves, Miss Bessie
West Side School - First Grade — Front Row (Left to Right): Gary Bggers,
Wanda Mason, Dennis Wilson, Philip Kreps, Marsha Talley, Frederick Coombs.
Middle Row (Left to Right): Bob Kidder, Donna Freburg, Jane Seek, Sue Herrin,
Middle Row ( Left to Right): Bob Kidder, Donna Freburg, Jane Seek, Sue Herron,
Marjorie Jackson, Elaine Norcross, Donald Jordan, Robert Smith, Michael Ebben,
Philip Combites, Mary Jo Graham, Craig Paul, Gene Hummel, Sandra Freer, George
Mills, Mrs. Oathout, Teacher.
West Side School - First Grade— Front Row (Left to Right): John Faulhaber,
Billy Fryrear, Rex McCrery, Dickie Franck, Alan Robinson, Danny Brush, Dixie
Glaze. Second Row (Left to Right): Ronnie Rhodes, Marvin Walters, Ronnie Rein-
ing, Gene Trout, Terry Crank, Gary Abernathy, Aleta Lockwood, Linda Webb.
Back Row (Left to Right): Jim Robbins, Ralph Schoonover, Diana Cramblet, Linda
White, Michael Ewing, Kenny Powell, Gary Bradford, Lois Wood, Teacher.
West Side School - Second Grade— Front Row (Left to Right): Walter Heagy,
Ronnie Cramblett, Tommy Perkins, Michael McGough, Jeffrey Roan, David Owen,
Robbie Roark. David Bertolino, Clarence Davis. Second Row (Left to Right): Patri-
cia Goddard, Gregory McCleary, Karen Caylor, Dotty Lawson, Charles Whittier,
Dana McCance, Diana McCance, Darrel Hendrickson, Charles Paul, Kathy Jones.
Thiixi Row (Left to Right): Sharon Cox, Robert Haulk, Mary Rita Bucher, Joseph
Spangler, Sandra Miller, Russell Melvin, Patricia King, Gene Wilson, David
Cameron, Steven Kreps, Glen Redding. Fourth Row (Left to Right): Mrs. Veva
Kuehn, Teacher; Judy Dilts, Phyllis Bollinger, Billy Kitch, Zelda Gibboney, Rod-
ney Vaughn, Kenneth Fisk, Gene Jones, Norma Jean Walls, Bob Morris, Lenora
West Side School Third Grade — Front Row (Left to Right): Jimmy Feaster,
Ella Mae Haskins, Charles Waller, Evelyn Davis, Sharon Talley, Connie Talley,
Paula Kaye Kidder, Cynthia Strode. Second Row (Left to Right): Voyde White,
Dickie Ray, Billy Brush, Dennis Smith, Gloria Wilson, Bonnie Mason, Mary Mor-
ris, Jessie Campbell, Nancy Franck, Gaye Mikesell, Robert LeMaster, John Jones.
Back Row (Left to Right): Tom Mason, David Webb, Charles Powell, James
Beaird, Gerald Silberer, Don Roberts, Sandra Babbitt, Kathleen Ewing, Sue
Schafer, Roberta Roan, Danny Webb, Mrs. Good, Teacher.
West Side School - Fourth Grade— Front Row (Left to Right): Mary Beth
Combites, Carol Williamson, Willa Ewing, Peggy Jo Melvin, Lana Jo McElvain,
Cheryl Lay, Kathy Jo Swanson, Susan Wise, Vicki Lomax. Middle Row (Left to
Right): Randy Utter, Robert Campbell, Roscoe Redding, Donald Lomax, Roy
Kitch, Stanford Collins, Patricia Ann Roark, Sandra Kilbourne, Bonnie Cameron,
Dallas Campbell, Fred Bertolino. Back Row (Left to Right): Jimmie Stewart,
Douglas Smith, Larry Brown, Roger White, Paul Howerter, Kenneth Freburg, Ken-
neth Goff, Willa Ewing, Darlene Hoffman, Mary Margaret Hoffman, Linda Kreps,
Nellie Jones, Teacher.
West Side School - Fifth Grade— Front Row (Left to Right): Sharon Jones,
Betty Mason, Judith Wise, Dora Faler, Sandra Arnold, Donna Gibboney, Janice
Feaster, Sharon Arnold, Grace Griffith, Gae McGinley. Middle Row (Left to Right):
Billy Craycraft, Barbara Webb, Linda Farrenkopf, Linda Robbins, Carolyn Reno,
Shirley Yocum, Sally Swartzbaugh, Judy Paul, Susan Welch, Kent Pierce. Back
Row (Left to Right): Larry Hoover, Raymond Talley, Paul Swanson, Larry Dilts,
Larry Hoover, Earl Morris, Lee White, Darwyn Hiel, Kenneth Wise, Larry Rodda,
John Mowrey, Miss Burke, Teacher.
West Side School - Sixth Grade— Front Row (Left to Right): Katherine Waller,
Sally Mills, Mildred Morris, Susan King, Sandra Oblander, Bruce Paul, James
Brush, Bernard McCance, Gary Paul Antoine, Delbert Thompson. Second Row (Left
to Right): Mrs. Evelyn White, Teacher; Karen Haffner, Judy Roan, Judy Filbert,
Evelyn Ewing, Jerry Mason, Philip Shriver. Larry Blagden, Billy Trout, Tommy
Furniss, Danny Wagle, Tony McCleary, Larry Cramblet, Howard Tally, George
Spangler. Third Row (Left to Right): Janice Curfman, Rebeccah Norcross, Teresa
Holcomb, Robert McCleery, Schuyler Campbell, Charles Campbell, Dick Morris,
Gary Fisk, Larry Shumaker, Jack Abernathy, Marvin Pestle, John Millard, Eugene
Widger, James Faulhaber. (Eileen Murfin, absent.)
West Side School - Seventh Grade— Front Row (Left to Right): Mary Ann
Hovell, Linda Reno, Judith Kuehn, Edna Hinman, Teacher; Jim Peek,, Jack Persh-
ing, Bert Lowe, Middle Row (Left to Right): Patrick Elting, Guy Wilson, Connie
Stewart, Anna Louise Walls, Barbara Robinson, Mary Lou Craycraft, Norman Gib-
boney, Ted Williamson. Back Row (Left to Right): Leann Wagle, Patricia Kirtley,
Kay Vincent, Barbara Wier, Helen Benkendorf, Lyle Hickman.
West Side School - Eighth Grade— First Row (Left to Right): Evelyn Hart,
Karen Paul, Pat Schmalshof, Roberta Waller, Alma Sue Craycraft, Karen Trout,
Judy Curtis, Linda Strode. Second Row (Left to Right): Mr. George Laird, Teacher;
Gail Faulhaber, Mary Benkendorf, Pat Melvin, Barbara Herron, Sandra Sammons,
Janice Wise, Virginia Orwig, Sharon Haulk, James Rule. Third Row (Left to
Right): Roger Cameron, Joyce Faler, Evelyn Stoller, Bob Bunch, Dale Curfman,
Gene Hoffman, Linda Swartzbaugh.
BUSHNELL-PRAIRIE CITY HIGH SCHOOL
D D D
Class Sponsors: Miss A'Hearn, Mr. White, Mrs. Armstrong
Class Officers: Joyce Worthington, Bob Emory, Carol Formhals, Clarabeth Pestle
Lorene Bagley ,
Ruth Ann Heagy
Shelba Hensley John
Jay Dee Kipling
Rena Mae Parker
Wanda Jo Payne
r I- '
Verle Thurman ,
D D D
Left to Right, Class Officers, Mr. Garinger, Mr. Lawson, Ross Coons, Mrs. Shank-
lin, Patty Myers, Patty Lay, Mary Waller. Class: Louis Bankes, Lari^y Bradford,
Diana Bryan. Second Row: Gerald Calhoun, Judy Combites, Cornelia Coombs.
Third Row: Ross Coons, Gene Cooper, Raymond Curfman, Dee Dillenbeck, Doris
Left to Right: Eugene Filbert, Connie Friend, Robert Hammond, Richard Hart,
Robert Herron. Second Row: Janet Havens, Ruth Havens, Barbaralou Helle, Ruth
Ann Hoover, Bob Hummell. Third Row: Frank Johnson, Richie Kirtley, Kenny
Kreps, Patty Lay, Jim Leighty.
First Row: Robert Lewis, Myrna Lindner, Juanita Lockwood, Carl Lovell, Clair
Second Row: Beverly iMcDonald, Bonnie Melvin, Bob Morris, Dean Mullenix,
. Virgil Murfin, Patty Myers, Ronnie Oakman, Merrill Pershing, Dan
Top Row: Tom Pratt, Alice Ruark, Tom Rule, Robert Runyan, Jim Smith.
Second Row: Jerry Stoller, Ann Stotler, Mary Taft, Carl Tread way, Barbara Van
Third Row: Mary Waller, Alice Wilson, Ladd Wilson, Joan Winter, Roger Young.
Class Officers: Roger Smith, Roberta Baer, Ray Pensinger, Judy Feaster. Spon-
sors: Wm. Thornton, Miss Warfel. Class, Left to Right: Jim Ashton, Lyman Avery,
Second Row: Josephine Bearce, Harold Beaty.
Third Row: Leon Bricker, Gretchen Berry, Dellann Brown, Martha Brown, Donna
Buchen, Marshall Buchen.
First Row: Judy Bunch, Ronnie Calhoun, Idella Coates, Larry Combites, Sylvia
Combites, Beverly Cox.
Second Row: Eileen Cox, Jeannette D'Camp, Gale DeRenzy, Marvin Drury, Jim
Evans, Judy Feaster.
Robert Fitch, Gary Formhals, Richard Forinhals, Robert Gingerich, Marjorie
Griffeth, Marcia Hammond.
. Velda Hendrickson, Bill Herron, Shirley Hilton, Larry Hood, Janice
Hopper, Dick Hovell.
First Row: Dellann Howe, Lawrence Hoyle, Lyle Huffman, Linda Hutchins, Joyce
Johnson, Bill Jones.
Second Row: Gary Kane, Elwin Kessler, Rosalie Learned, Sharon Lewis, Donna
Mason, Bernard McCance.
Third Row: Larry McCoy, Larry Mead, Jim Miller, Terry Murphy, Kenny Nelson,
First Row: Alan Payne, Fred Payne, Ray Pensinger, Elizabeth Perry, Larry
Perry, Elaine Phillips.
Second Row: Betty Pieper, Jim Reeder, Galen Renwicl^, David Runyan, Bud
Schoonover, Chas. Serven.
Third Row: Betty Sinnett, Richard Smith, Roger Smith, Norma Spangler, George
Stambaugh, Marvin Stewart.
Fourth Row: Donna Sweney, Martha Taft, Verla Thurman, RoUie Westlake, Jo
Ann Wilson, Rosa Lee Wise.
D D n
Larry Carley, Eugene Carnes, Wayne Chambers, Donna Chapman, Gerald Dean,
Class Officers: Mrs. Wilcox, Mr. 'iiuUer; Tom McGiew, Lois Thompson, Janet
Evans, Jim Hughbanks. Class, Left to Right: Gaylord Ackerson, Kenneth Ashby,
Second Row: John Bradshaw, Robert Brown, Viva Brown.
— W .«
First Row: Donna Elting, Janet Evans, Ronnie Filbert, Robert Fisk, Stan Formhals,
Second Row: Donnie Hart, Lonnie Havens, Phyllis Head, Jan Hensley, Patty
Hobbs, Faye Howard.
Third Row: Jim Hughbanks, Mary Lou Jarvis, Bill Jenkins, Hildred Jones,
Sherry Kille, Dean King.
Fourth Row: Wayne King, Ronnie Larner, Jimmy Lovell, Martha Lowe, Elmer
Malott, Fern McGrew.
Top Row: Garry McNeely, Joyce Melvin, Sharon Miller, Larry Moore, Kay Mor-
row, Neil Parker.
Second Row: Andrew Payne, Joyce Pershing, Sharon Peters, Molly Phillips,
Kathryn Reno, Richard Rock.
Third Row: Henry Rogers, Robert Ruark, Richard Schmidt. Carol Smith, Dwight
Smith, Bruce Spangler.
Top Row: Jimmy Sperry, Mary Lou Sperry, Karen Stehl, Joan Talley, Lois
Thompson, Lynda Tudeen.
Second Row: Larry Waller, Hugh Walters, Paul Wells, John Williams, Marcella
Willhite, Nelson Wilkey.
Third Row: Evelyn Wilson, Bernadine Worthington, Shirley Yocum, Danny Zook.
In all the State of Illinois there was no better institution for learning than the
Western Normal College, located in this city, and the most of the people felt
a just pride in the fact that it was located here.
lightning in 1882; also three halls in Cole's blck, which together with Christian
lished a normal college. They had been in many of the cities of the State, looking
up a location, and chose this city because of its many advantages, its central location
and its railroad facilities, making it easily accessible from all directions, and so it
was selected as the location for the Western Normal College.
The Dormitories of the Western Normal School still standing on East Twyman
There was then no college building, but the citizens generously secured and donat-
ed the use of the south public school building, then vacant, afterwards destroyed by
lightning in 1882; also three halls in Cole's block, which together with the Christian
Church, formed the college buildings. This was done with the understanding that if
the college proved a success that they would give it substantial aid toward erecting
a college building. The college was a private enterprise and therefore did not have
the good will and nourishing care of any church or corporation, but notwithstanding
this, the school opened July 20, 1881, with about fifteen pupils in attendance. Before
the close of therm there were about twenty. Teachers were I. E. Wilson, J. A. Lyons,
E. P. Farr and W. E. Vaughn. Those not familiar with the circumstances, can hardly
realize the difficulties under which the college labored, but before the year closed
it had enrolled about 300 different students. About this time the proprietor concluded
to locate elsewhere, and the school was taken in hand by J. E. Chandler, and some-
time in the latter part of 1882 a site was purchased and building begun, but owing
to the severity of the weather, the walls were raised to but two stories that Fall.
Early the next Spring the work was taken up and the building was completed the
following Fall. To the erection of the building, the citizens again contributed several
thousand dollars. The college building proper was a commodious three-story brick,
containing a chapel, a reading room, public and private offices, six recitation
rooms, besides a chemical laboratory and twenty dormitory rooms.
Prof J. A. Lyons was principal of the school a while, and after a while closed
The Main building of the Western Normal School.
In the year 1888, however, two young men came up from Macoupin County and
again opened up the school. They brought energy with them, and were workers all
the time. They were educated men, and knew thoroughly all the workings of the
normal methods of teaching. They prospered from the start, and soon the town was
pleased to see the college filled with students. The school had, before Messrs. Evans
and Earnest came, through the failure of the Farmers National Bank, passed into the
hands of a number of people, being turned over to depositors of that bank in part
paym.ent of their deposits. The school was therefore yet a corporation, and the or-
ganization was as follows: Board of Directors — J. W. Earnest, T. J. Sparks, W. M.
Evans, W. W. Earnest, James Cole, John R. Camp, Chas. C. Chain. The officers of
the board were: James Cole, President; W. W. Earnest, Secretary, and Chas. C.
The main building contained recitation rooms, laboratory, studio, reading room,
public and private offices, the chapel and many student's rooms 9x17 and 9x15.
The commercial building, just back of the main building, contained the commercial
hall, fitted up for bookkeeping, business practice, and penmanship work, and a
large dining room and kitchen.
The telegraphy building, next, north of the main building, contained some choice
rooms for students.
The corner dormitory, across the street north 'from the last named, was occupied by
suites of rooms for ladies' residences, each suite consisting of a corner sitting room
12xlOV2 and an adjacent bedroom 12x7 1/2.
The dining hall domitory, just east of the corner dormitory, had in the first story
a large dining room and kitchen, and two dormitories above, with rooms 13xlOy2
with closets 3x6 feet adjoining.
SCHOOLS, IN BUSHNELL-PRAIRIE CITY SCHOOL UNIT. IN RURAL AREA
AND PRAIRIE CITY
■vvt ^ ^ aww ayc*- ".^^^mr.'^. i n nji m iii«i>WWW
No. 4 School - Grades 1 & 2— Front Row (Left to Right): Rebecca Cheek, Ellen
Smith, Terry Curtis, George Thompson, Lyle Paul, Ronald Howard, Mike McElvain,
Vern Haffner, Alberta Nelson. Back Row (Left to Right): Carol Jean Nelson, Shir-
ley Ervin, Mike Zuspann, Mike Combs, Eddie McMillan, Francis Chase, Ruth
Chase, Cynthia Rexroat, Judy Banner. (Absent - Dannie Paul, Clinton Faught.)
Mrs. Westerdale, Teacher.
No. 4 Intermediate Room — Front Row (Left to Right): Janet Ginther, Wayne
Haffner, Mary Combs, Benny Cheek, Marcia Foster, Helen Roberts, Barbara Hall,
Carroll Faught. Back Row (Left to Right): Marvin Hobbs, Martha Pahl, Alan Crum,
Patty Cox, Mrs. Frowein, Teacher; Nila Parker, Diane Curtis, Philip Zimmerman,
Roger Runyan. (Not present - Allen Paul and Donna Varvel.)
No. 4 School - 5th, 6th, 7th & 8th Grades— Seated (Left to Right): Sonny
Faught, James Bricker, Duane Howard. Kneeling (Left to Right): Kenny McMillian,-
Larry Haffner, John Combites, Janene Walter, Barbara Zimmerman, Thomas Cur-
tis, Ronald Conner, Gerald Banner, Paul Runyan. Standing: (Left to Right): Lar-
ry Banner, Barbara Lantz, Earlene B'Camp, Marilyn Conner, Jerry Walter, Ban-
ny Combites, Thomas Combites. (Not in picture - Wendell Howe, Ludmilla Pahl.)
Leroy Crum, Teacher.
Sperry School - Lower Grades — Front Row (Left to Right): Joyce Still, Eliza-
beth Hensley, Susan Creek, Karma Havens, "Penny", school dog, Marsha Crowl,
John Bricker, Janet Smith. Middle Row (Seated at Table, Left to Right): Jimmy
Miller, Armand Havens, Ellen Lou Johnson, Bernita Havens, Luan Boden, Teacher;
Cathy Firebaugh, Eldon Livingston, Paul Murphy, Raymond Stotler, Junior Kreps,
Back Row (Standing, Left to Right): Carroll Hensley, Bonna Car ley, Harriet Hen-
derson, Kathleen Murphy, Marilyn Boll, Bonnie Chapman, Ronnie Chapman, John
Kelly, Larry Chapman, Biana Benham.
Sperry School - Upper Grades — Front Row (Reading, Left to Right): Shirley
Chapman, Betty Ann Sperry, Jill Gallehue, Gordon Havens, John Creek, Bruce
Sperry, Mary Lee Miller, Judy Yocum, Ginger Benham. Second Row (Back of desk.
Left to Right): Sally Stambaugh, Judy Gallehue, Mrs. Ruth Henderson, Teacher;
Donna Yocum. Back Row (Standing, Left to Right): Gary Havens, Jean Smith,
Tommy Stotler, Benny Hilton, Jeanne Ann Miller, Sharon Miller, Charles Ben-
ham, Larry Livingston, Carol Beth Markley, Ruth Ann Kelly, Ruth Ann Stam-
baugh, Cheryl Havens, Betty Carley.
New Philadelphia School — Front Row (Left to Right): Johnny Howard, Linda
Jennings, Jackie Murphy, Harold Ford, Kenny Pratt, Joan Curless. Second Row
(Left to Right): Ronnie Swartzbaugh, Roberta Cromer, Lynn Chenoweth, Carolyn
Howard. Back Row (Left to Right): Terry Pratt, Jerry Pratt, Dorothy Dennison,
Sally Bohon. Mrs. Bohon, Teacher.
New Philadelphia School — Front Row (Left to Right): Sandra Curless, Irene
Howard, Harrison Hendee, Josephine Cromer, Dorothy Chenoweth. Second Row
(Left to Right): Locie Pensinger, Kent Shaver, Loren Mullenix, Herbert Hendee.
Back Row (Left to Right): Patricia Cromer, Shirley Curless, Max Guilliams, Mar-
ion Osborn, Ronney Paul. Joan T. Clary, Teacher.
Checkrow Primary School - 1st & 2nd Grades — First Row (Left to Right):
Janet Myers, Cynthia Keener, Larry Longcor, Jerry Wilson, Johnny Myers, Arly
Rock, Andy Rock. Second Row (Left to Right): Danny Turner, Jimmy Ashby, Les-
ter Ridle, Roger Schmidt, Billy Riley, Edith Bird, Linda Riley. Third Row (Left to
Right): Joan Wheatley, Curtis Strode, Ronald Schmidt, Sharon Strode, Frances
Checkrow School - Intermediate Grades — Front Row (Left to Right): Dale
Bird, Russell Graves, Bob Douglas, Dale Treadway, Harold Ashby, James Hinchee.
■Second Row (Left to Right): Bonnie Arnold, Clarelene Roberts, Lorene Longcor,
-Sharon Bird, Judy Rock, Rodney Ruberg Jr., Robert Wheatley. Third Row (Left to
Right): Jack Sinnett, Russell Wells, Sharon Schmidt, Janice Schmidt, Peggy Hin-
chee, Frank Beaty, Boyd Wilson, Ronnie Turner. Back Row (Left to Right): Mrs.
Ava Boyce, Teacher; Judy Wheeler, Frances Sinnett, Margo Keener, Glenda Riley,
Raymond Ashby, Keith Ashby, Gene Wheatley,
Checkrow School - 6th, 7th & 8th Grades— Front Row (Right to Left): Garry
Pickel, Larry Ashby, Shirley Graves, Judy Camp, Barbara Bird. Second Row (Right
to Left): Gregory Leigh, Rosetta Wheatley, Clyde Wheatley, Bert Wilson, Shirley
Bird. Back Row (Right to Left): Richard Keener, Wayne Smith, Garry Grove,
Ronnie Formhals, Bonita Rock, Eva Newell, Teacher; Josephine Myers, Rosemary
Robbins, Claudette Yocum, Sharon Ruberg.
STUDENTS IN PRAIRIE CITY SCHOOL
i .J. ,
. . k J:
First Row (Left to Right): Lynn Harding, Anita Weilbaker, Larry Graham, Flor-
ence Hickey, Teacher; Esther Williams, Jean Curtis.
Second Row (Left to Right): Kerry Copeland, LeRoy Fender, Dennis Fayhee, Mar-
garet Fender, Glen Wilson, Janice Buchen.
Third Row (Left to Right): Dick Evans, John Varner, Patty Jennings, Karen Day,
Michael Harsbarger, Mark Peterson.
Fourth Row (Left to Right): Terry Flynn, James Sloan, Jimmy Sloan, Larry
Hawkins, David Sorrells, Linda Jones.
First Row (Left to Right): Teresa Phillips, Barbara Williams, Lynn Wilson, Mar-
■■:%* % ■
First Row (Left to Right): Jean Yocum, Nancy Emory, Donna Emory, Johnny
Arnold, Nancy McNeely, Ivan Aldridge, Judy Flynn.
Second Row (Left to Right) : Alice Blagden, Kenny Day, Wendell Simmons, Patrica
Smith, Charles Garnett, Cynthia Taft, Pearl Campbell, Teacher.
Third Row (Left to Right): Grant Williams, Larry McMahon, Jimmy Yocum,
Gary Jones, Lana Arter, Roger Sloan.
First Row (Left to Right) : Dean Fender, Alma Graham, Judy Morgan, Gene Wilson,
Wayne Hornbaker, Barbara Balagna, Charles Williams.
Seond Row (Left to Right): Jimmy Vollbracht, Lyle Worthington, Kay Perry,
Barbara Sloan, Terry Copeland, Sam McGrew, Michael Heap.
Third Row (Left to Right): Mary Ellen Thurman, Diane Spurgeon, David Berry,
Shan Varner, Michael Young, David Mead.
o CI ^ '^
First Row (Left to Right) : Ann Evans, Janet Avery, Mary Lou Hornbaker, Michael
Emory, Freeman Swift, Rex Freburg, Jeannette Avery.
Second Row (Left to Right): Linda Balagna, Romona Wise, Patricia Dixon, Bobby
Jones, Juanita Sorrells, Barbara Bearce, Jane Smith.
Third Row (Left to Right): Jerry Copeland, Eugene Roberts, Charles Keithley,
Juanita Jones, Lind Jones, Sandra McGrew, Sherry Simmons.
Fourth Row (Left to Right): Gary Paul, Eldon White, Charles Campbell, Charles
First Row (Left to Right): Deana Jo Hughbanks, Don Long, Kenney Wise, Billy
Wilson, Judy Wise, Louise Aldridge.
First Row (Left to Right): John McGrew, Billy Wells, r:r,nklin Ha-ffner, Mona
Lou McCone, Nancy Hornbaker, Patricia Gingerich.
Second Row (Left to Right): Richard Keithley, Larry Yocum, Larry Paul, Marcia
Yocum, Diane Rose, Beverly McNeely.
_ - J.- _ . 'l ' ^>..~-
First Row (Left to Right): Bud Mead, Jackie Garrett, Jerry Arnold, Harold Spur-
geon, Roger Campbell, Phyllis Wells.
Second Row (Left to Right): Linda White, Dave Skean, Marilee Smith, Donna Jen-
kins, Leland Thurman, Kathleen Roberts.
Third Row ( Left to Right): Judy Balagna, Eugene Graham, Nancy Taft, Carl
-- SEVENTH GRADE
First Row (Left to Right): Billy Blunt, Linda Arnold, Billy McGrew, John
man, Linda Worthington, Jane Pendarvis, Gloria Taft.
Second Row (Left to Right): Dan Wilson, Dorothy Bearce, William Bearce,
sell McNeely, Mary Frances Freburg, Marilyn Paul, Donna Hite.
Third Row (Left to Right): LeRoy Graham, Caroline Serven, Max Hammond,
Evans, Marlene Varner, Markay Simmons.
k n; fV.
First Row (Left to Right): Jerry Luper, Jim McCone, Mary McNeely, Shirley Ellis,
Betty Bearce, Janice Wise.
Second Row (Left to Right): Donald Wilson, Jerry Zuspann, Sandra Balagna,
Betty Yocum, Virginia Lockwood, Jean Wagner.
Third Row (Left to Right): Eugene Berry, Eugene McGrew, Marie Orwig, Betty
White, Darlene Haffner, Evelyn Wilson.
In the Fall of 1911 the Macomb Presbyterian men challenged the men of the local
church to a contest to run six weeks, the object to see who could have the largest
attendance at Sunday School. idigebi
It started in a mild way but on the last Sunday there were over 1164 in Sundav
School with 788 present in this division, at the local Presbyterian Church.
Bushnell won handily and a special train took the local group to Macomb to en-
joy a dmner, a reward for the winner.
The picture of this Company, which was part of the Presbyterian Sunday School
in the Fall of 1911. contained several hundred men, many we recognize, but many
more we do not.
Starting from the left of the picture we will name those we recognize and in
these names, many remembrances will come back to many who read this, and
many will be relatives of those now living in this community.
Rufus Lybarger, prominent local Attorney; Oscar Hartman, Sam Sharp, Bent
Firebaugh, Glenn Swartzbaugh, Hi Clem, for years high school janitor; Dr. Sammie
McDonald of Evanston, Wm. Wolfe's father; John Hunt, Elva Ford, Tea Ford,
Mr. Shanks, P. C. Hoover, one of Bushnell's earliest hardware men; Henry Silberer,
King, Mr. Faust, Geo. Black, Edgar Frye, Don Crosswaight, Frank Ball, Jack Nagel,
Frankie Sperling, Lee Crabtree, J. F. Dertinger, Ben LaFrenz, John Nagel, T. H.
Jackson George Douglas, Ira Crabtree, George Stambaugh, "Fid" Kramer, Billy
McGee, William McDonald, Barney Palmeter, Art Chatterton, Art Cole, Roy Hey,
Frank Nessel, Si Perkins, John Clem, Jonas McGrew, Roy Williams, Martin Schulze,
Ulrich Juneman, E. D. Lauterbach, Boyd Griffith, J. C. Griffith, Dr. J. C. Griffith,
Ervin, J. G. Truman, J. B. Brant in front center of picture. Captain of the Com-
pany; Sam B. Russler, James Madison, Enoch Hall, J. H. Johnson, holiday banner
and Mayor of Bushnell, Doc Kuhn, famous cartoonist of Indianapolis, Dr. B. E.
LeMaster; Earl Morris, Walter Pinckly, Charles Mariner, Milton Chambers, James
Keith, Tuffy South, Ben Chidester, Dr. Hamilton, S. E. Henry, John Paul, William
Hornbuckle, Rev. John Pool, Peter Newell, famous New York cartoonist; Mr. Bed-
well, John Bernhill, Harry Boden, David Watson, Harry Lantz, W. J. Fultz, teacher
of the class; B. H. Alexander, J. E. Dertinger, Frank Jones, Bruce Pearson, William
Cadwalader, Frank Markley, James Turner, Mat McDonald, Art Mummert, Jess
Bernhill, Louis McDonald, Flem Tannehill, Seibert, Jackson, Claude Chatterton,
Ira Chandler, Ed Lambert, Ells McGee, Floyd Newell, Clem Paul, Taylor, John
Mummert, John Cox, Pearce, Clarence Krauser, Wilson West, Hazen Crabtree,
Vern Newell, John King, Ray Clupper, Charles Williams, Ira Ball, Clarke Sperry,
George Rogers, Harry Doner, All Sperry, George Hulick, Wes Weigert, Carpenter.
The C. E. Oblander Store in the early Ninteen Hundreds. Mr. Oblander ran a dry
goods business here from 1884 until his death in September, 1948. This was the
longest any store was ever run in Bushnell under the same owner.
A. F. & A. M.
T. J. Pickett Lodge No. 307, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, was organized
January 15, 1857, with the following members: J. H. Smith, J. Seaborn, Hiram Con-
over, J. W. Kelly, J. Ewald, J. Wells, William Keims, R. Lindsay and E. P. Living-
ston. J. H. Smith was the first Worshipful Master.
The lodge has been outstanding in proficiency through all the years, many of
their members being recognized as Grand Instructors, which means that these so
recognized have learned the entire ritualistic work letter perfect. The lodge, early in
its existance purchased their lodge room which they still occupy. A room 45 x 40
feet in size and ample anti rooms. It is one of the finest lodge rooms in the state
in smaller cities. ,
Present Officers: Rufus Jarvis, Worshipful Master; Garnet Sammons, Senior
Warden; Irl LeMaster, Jr. Warden; Jay Cheek, Secretary; Wayne Opp, Treasurer;
A. W. Hartrick, Chaplain; Robert Cheek, Senior Deacon; Bernard Brillhart, Jr.
Deacon; Harry Crank, Senior Stewart; Arnold Lomax, Jr. Stewart; Bill Jenkins,
Marshal; Chas. Baughman, Tyler.
West Main Street 1954 - Hail to Hurst Streets
I. O. O. F.
Bushnell Lodge, No. 332, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, was organized in
November, 1865, with the following twelve original members: G. C. Ridings, J. B.
Cummings, I. N. Pearson, Charles West, W. W. Travis, John Willis, Fred Seibert,
E. J. Dunlap, George Schaffer, F. C. Grimm, Thomas Fairman and John Stokoe.
The first officers were J. B. Cummings, Noble Grand; G. C. Ridings, Vice Grand;
I. N. Pearson, R. S.; Charles West, L. S.; and John Willis, Treasurer.
The lodge has occupied their own rooms for many years, and it too, is one of the
most commodious and convenient fraternal quarters in the state.
McDonough Encampment, No. 79, I.O.O.F. was organized October 23, 1867, with
the following charter members: J. B. Cummings, J. P. Dimmitt, G. C. Ridings, I. N.
Pearson, S. L. Abbott, J. A. James, G. A. Kaiser, F. C. Grimm, James Cole and J. E.
Miller. The first officers were J. B. Cummings, Chief Priest; G. C. Ridings, High
Priest; J. P. Dimmitt, Senior Warden; I. N. Pearson, Junior Warden; J. A. James,
Scribe; and S. L. Abbott, Treasurer.
Bushnell Uniform degree encampment No. 15 of the I.O.O.F. had its initial meeting
in January, 1883. Its first officers were: J. B. Pearson, Commander; Thomas Fair-
man, Vice-Commander; J. D. Murphy, Officer of the Guard; J. B. Cummings, Sec-
retary and G. A. Kaiser, Treasurer.
Present Officers: Noble Grand. Randall Paul; Vice Grand, Keith McMillan;
Recording Secretary, Lyndall Pigg; Financial Secretary, Gifford Yocum; Treasurer,
Ezra Huffman; Warden, Jr. Doll; Conductor, Ross Van Syckel; Chaplain, Gordon
Weber; Inside Guard, Don Crowl: Outside Guard, John Ridle; R.S.S.. Verlan Yocum;
L.S.S., Lyman Avery; R.S.N.G., Myron Creek; L.S.N.G., W. J. Roethe; R.S.V.G.,
Gail Miller; L.S.V.G., Harvey Doll; Past Noble Grand, Hubert Miller; Deputy, Dale
Encampment: Chief Patriarch, Maurice Chatterton; High Priest, Randall Paul;
Senior Warden, Ross Van Syckel; Junior Warden, Clarence Mayo; Scribe, Cephas
Hering; Treasurer, Roy Conn; Past Chief Patriarch, John Ridle.
East Main Street 1954 - Hail to Hurst Streets
The Lodge of Rebekahs was organized March 21, 1895 with the following charter
members: Agnes Sparks, T. J. Sparks, Martha Campbell, Ida Duntley, James
Campbell, Lulu Campbell, D. C. Neff, Francis Neff, Cora Neff, S. Q. Duntley, T. B.
King, Jennie King, Etta Tannehill, Anna Tannehill, Charles Henry, Emma Schnarr,
Wm. Madison, Mary Madison, Jos. Katzenstein, Dana Katzenstein, David Hageman,
Jay F. Dertinger, Frank Nessel, Louisa Nessel, Dr. J. A. James, Delia Herring,
Mina Mull, Henry Stiebel, Jennie Stiebel, John R. Camp, Lura Camp, Frank Jones,
Edith Henry, Frank Krauser, George McCabe, Louella McCabe, Herman Weirather
and Mary Herring.
The first officers were: Noble Grand, Agnes Sparks; Vice Grand, Ida Duntley;
Recording Secretary, Cora Neff; Financial Secretary, Edith Henry; Treasurer, Martha
The Rebekah Lodge was honored by the election of Cora Neff Phillips to the high-
est office in the State, that of President of the Rebekah State Assembly, serving as
its president in the year 1917. The State Assembly further recognized her by giving
her the highest honor in their power to grant, and that was as a representative
to the Association of Rebekah Assemblies, the national organization. She attended
this assembly in 1918 at St. Louis.
Present Officers: Noble Grand, Alberta Miller; Vice Grand, Virginia Creek; J.P.
N. G., Elnore Yocum; Recording Secretary, Mildred Goddard; Financial Secretary,
Verna Sheehan; Treasurer, Norma Jean Pigg; R.S.N.G., Marie Bricker; L.S.N.G.,
Leah Hoffman; R.S.V.G., Jean Swartzbaugh; L.S.V.G., Virginia Doll; Musician, Neva
Hunt; Chaplain, Norma Weber; Inside Guardian, Doris Crowl; Outside Guardian,
Inez Livingston; Staff Captain, Mabel McHendry. Marie Bricker is an Assembly
Appointee, serving on the Youth Committee. Nora Moore, Delegate.
KNIGHTS OF PYTHIAS
Chevalier Lodge No. 101, Knights of Pythias, organized under a charter that bears
the date of October 18, 1882, with chai'ter members as follows: J. Herring, W. J.
Frisbee, T. H. B. Camp, L. O. Gould, M. L. Walker, T. F. Seibert, J. E. Chandler,
John Varner, G. M. Rose, T. J. Sorter, A. H. McGahan, M. J. Johnson, J, V. D.
Kelly, D. E. Zook, A. T. McElvain, J. C. V. Kelly, M. L. Hoover, A. H. Roman,
J. W. Parks, E. K. Westfall, A. W. VanDyke, L. Schamp, T. B. Morton, J. C. Thomp-
son, Ira Applegate, H. T. Clarke, J. E. Chandler, H. M. Harrison, S. H. Parvin, C. F.
Coulter, A. B. Cooper, J. F. Cowgill, W. M. Scott, A. Reed, W. Pontifex, C. S. Bird,
Geo. M. Ball, I. M. Ball, Herman Kaiser, E. Durst, W. H. Wilson, J. W. Hays, C. C.
Branson, C. J. Mariner and H. L. Benson.
The first officers were: A H. McGahan, Past Chancellor; T. J. Sorter, Chancellor
Commander; Jacob Herring, Vice-Chancellor; Rev. S. H. Parvin, Prelate; T. F. Sei-
bert, Master of Exchequor; M. L. Walker, Master of Finance; T. H. B. Camp,
Keeper of Records and Seal; J. F. Cowgill, Master of Arms; M. L. Hoover, Inner
Guard and C. F. Coulter, Outer Guard. ,
J. E. Dertinger was honored by occupying all the offices in the local lodge and all
the line officers in the Grand Lodge of Illinois, except those of Grand Keeper of
Records and Seal and Grand Master of Exchequor, these not being in the line of
succession. He was advanced to the position of Grand Chancellor, the highest
office in the state and then given the highest honor in the gift of the Grand Lodge
by being a Representative to the Supreme Lodge, which includes the United
States and Canada. This is the highest honor the Grand Lodge can confer. He held
this position six years.
East Main Street 1954 - Hurst to Barnes Streets
KNIGHTS OF HONOR
Harmony Lodge, No. 867, Knights of Honor, was born on the 4th day of September,
1878. Charter members were: G. A. Kaiser, Herman Kaiser, J. W. Sparks, A. H. Ro-
man, James Ayres, J. C. Thompson, T. F. Capp, George Kuhn, H. E. Tippitt, D. T.
Morgan, J. C. Cadwalader, S. Darnielle, H. E. Whittier, A. Peterson, S. A. Hendee,
E. F. Currier, A. C. Decker, H. L. Goudy, A. Logan, and J. B. Sperling.
The first officers were: J. C. Cadwalader, Dictator; T. F. Capp, Vice-Dictator;
W. E. Whittier, Assistant Dictator; E. F. Currier, Reporter; John Sperling, Financial
Reporter; G. A. Kaiser, Treasurer, and J. C. Thompson, Past Dictator.
ANCIENT ORDER OF UNITED WORKMEN
Phoenix Lodge, No. 17. This organization which flourished for several years,
was organized October 2, 1876 with a large membership. Charter members were:
G. A. Kaiser, Charles West, Thomas Fairman, John Leib, O. C. Hicks, W. A. Spader,
Ferdinand Kreig, H. D. Brooks, Conrad Nessel, C. E. Weyman, Albert Applegate, S.
A. Greenbaum, Louis Kaiser, J. V. Sorter, George Kuhn, R. Fees, H. T. Walters,
Frank Nessel, J. Fees, J. Stephenson, L. S. Mills, J. W. Sparks, J. E. Moore, H. T.
Clarke, J. J. Hosselkus, J. A. Gardner, J. B. Seeley, W. E. Whittier, Ira Apple-
gate, C. A. Davy, A. Schamp and G. A. McElvain.
They named the following as the first officers: G. A. Kaiser, P. M. W.; Charles
West, M. W.; Thomas Fairman, F,; John Leib, O.; O. C. Hicks, Recorder; W. A.
Spader, Financier; F. Kreig, Receiver; H. D. Brooks, G.; C. Nessel, I. W.; and C. E.
Weyman, O. W.
West Main Street 1954 - Hurst to Barnes Streets
The Royal Neighbor Lodge was chartered in Bushnell on April 14, 1897, and was
named Louisa Chapter No. 642. The charter members were: Nettie Campbell, T. B.
Campbell, Harriett Heister, J. P. Heister, Ella Parliman, W. R. Parliman, Sarah
Sperling, C. S. Sperling, Mrs. T. B. King, Mrs. Mary McClen, J. J. McClen, Louisa
Nessel, from whom the charter was named; Frank Nessel, Mary E. Pensinger, G. W.
Pensinger, Leona Fultz, W. J. Fultz, Louisa Melvin, C. N. Melvin, George Bell, Dr.
E. K. Westfall, Flora Smith, Floyd Lantz.
The present officers are: Oracle, Mrs. Jennie Hulett; Vice Oracle, Mrs. Sarah
Orwig; Past Oracle, Mrs. Ella Shumaker; Chancellor, Fannie Goakes; Recorder,
Anna Fisk; Receiver, Ina Ault; Managers, Ella Shumaker, Emma McElvain, Mary
Crowl and Musician, Mildred Miller.
D D D
Lucile Chapter Order of Eastern Star was organized in Bushnell on November 23,
1896, with the following officers: Worthy Matron, Agnes Sparks; Worthy Patron,
W. J. Fultz; Assistant Matron, Mary Neff ; Secretary, J. N. Haynes; Treasurer, Louisa
Applegate; Conductress, Cora Neff Phillips; Associate Conductress, Lula Walker;
Adah, Ella Haynes; Ruth, Blanche Neff; Esther, Grace Pearson; Martha, Lou Sperry
Ball; Electa, Maggie Haines; Warder, Frances Neff; Sentinel, Dan Neff; Chaplain,
Harriett Frisbee; Marshal, Alice Harris; Organist, Julia Bell.
Present Officers are: W. M., Inez Bradshaw; W. P., Rufus Jarvis; A. M., Viola
Hageman; A. P., Harry Crank; Secretary, Ethel Sperry; Treasurer, Belle Lovell;
Conductress, Mamie Kessler; Assoc. Conductress, Ruth Rogers; Chaplain, Bernice
Roan; Marshal, Beulah Cowperthwaite; Organist, Virginia Doll; Adah, Bonnie Cad-
walader; Ruth, Wilhelmina Crank; Esther, Florence Foster; Martha, Thelma Sam-
mons; Electa, Alice Stoller; Warder, Ruth Simms; Sentinel, Caroline Jarvis; Color
Bearer, Edward Stoller.
GRAND ARMY OF THE REPUBLIC
Carter Van Vleck Post, No. 174 of the Grand Army of the Republic, came into
existance January 3, 1883, with 46 members. The first officers were: J. B. Pearson,
Commander; Clark C. Morse, Senior Vice-Commander; A. E. Barnes, Junior Vice-
Commander. E. F. Currier, Adjutant; H. H. Nance, Quarter Master; John Livingston,
Officer of the Day, and W. F. Wilson, Chaplain,
The Grand Army of the Republic was a motivating force in the community through
all the years of its existance and this splendid organization held together with a
firm devotedness to duty until Time took its toll and with the last survivor of the
Civil War answering the muster call from that Supreme Commander of the Unit-
verse and it is now preserved in the memory of those who came after them.
WOMEN'S RELIEF CORPS
The Women's Relief Corps, Carter Van Vleck Corps No. 68, was organized in
Bushnell on March 2, 1887, with the following persons as charter members: Fanny
Young, Mary Harrison, Marcy Sperling, Alice Reck, Maggie Hafete, Sarah Whit-
tlesey, Cora Clarke, Jennie Melvin, Alice Whittlesey, Mollie Young, Sue Nance,
Sena Wood, Mary Lantz, Sara Livingston, Amelia Hoover, Allie Fleming, Martha
Downing, Emma Tutewiler, Mary Ball, Mina Mull, Gladys Shafer, Mary McGehe,
Mattie Mitchell, Betsy Patterson, Charlotte Chriswell, Sarah Deevy, Sarah Johnson,
Frances Sutherland, Octavia Shrader and Ellen Thornmartin.
Present Officers are: President, Mrs. Mary Crowl; Vice President, Ella Shumaker;
Jr. Vice President, Garnet Ridle; Chaplain, iMiss Fannie Goakes; Secretary, Lulu
Cadwalader; Treasurer, Emma McElvain; Conductor, Mrs. Iva McGee; Ass't. Con-
ductor, Mrs. Jennie Hulett; Patriotic Instructor, Mrs. Zalea Elliott; Guard, Mrs.
Lena Barker; Ass't. Guard Mrs. Cordie Conn; Press Correspondent, Mrs. Doretha
Lincoln; Color Bearer No. 1, Mrs. Elsie Hoosier; Color Bearer No. 2, Mrs. Emma
Hoover; Color Bearer No. 3, Mrs. Sara Or wig; Color Bearer No. 4, Mrs. Sara
Breasaw; Musician, Mrs. Mabel Standifird.
The American Legion was first started in Bushnell in the Fall of 1919, and in
September of that year a temporary organization was set up with Ray Copeland,
President and John Mallon, Secretary.
Those chosen as a membership and steering committee were: Gale Douglas, Carl
Shoop, Rex Lomax, Dr. George Duntley, Lyell Sanders.
The first officers of the local Post, elected in November, 1919, were: Commander,
Dr. J. C. Griffith; Vice Commander, Dr. J. H. Hornbaker; Secretary, L. F. Oblander;
Treasurer, George M. Ball; Sergeant- At-Arms, Glen B. King.
Present Officers: Jas. N. Bricker, Commander; Harry Crank, Senior Vice Com-
mander; John Lawson, Junior Vice Commander; George Trotter, Chaplain; Glenn
Lovell, Finance Officer; Rex Lomax, Adjutant; Dale Tafflinger, Sergeant-At-Arms.
AMERICAN LEGION AUXILIARY
The American Legion Auxiliary was organized in 1921-22 with Mrs. Rex
Lomax as President.
Present Officers are: Mrs. Margaret Bricker, President; Mrs. Belle Lovell, 2nd
Vice President; Mrs. Gladys Pugh, Secretary; Mrs. Lillian Spangler, Chaplain;
Mrs. lone Ellison, Historian and Mrs. Jessie Lincoln, Sergeant-At-Arms.
VETERANS OF FOREIGN WARS
The Veterans of Foreign Wars was chartered here on March 3, 1926. Gale Douglas
and Ernest Gardner had pushed the beginning of the organization and the following
were the charter members: Gale Douglas, Charles Burke, George Ball, Alvin Berg-
gren, Ray Copeland, Harry Mills, Jacob Barker, Jerry Cole, William McDonald, Ern-
est Gardner, Perry Opp, Alvin Wilson, James Swank, John Nagle, Paul Stambaugh,
Paul Tranchitell, G. Earl Raby, Harry Loller, Park McDonald, Clarence Murphy,
Roscoe Heath, C. G. McDonald, Reed Leighty, C. A. Shoop and Ebbert Norris.
Present Officers are: Spike Hood, Commander; Senior Vice Commander, Glenn
McCance; Junior Vice Commander, Wayne Hilton; Quartermaster, Francis M. Ross;
Judge Advocate, U. S. Collins; Chaplain, Rex Abernathy; Surgeon, Dr. R. L.
Franck; Trustee for Two Years, James R. Roark; Trustee for One Year, Harlan
D D D
LADIES' AUXILIARY VETERANS OF FOREIGN WARS
The Ladies' Auxiliary Pierce-McDonald Post 1422 Veterans of Foreign Wars,
of the United States, was instituted in June, 1927. The meetings were held on the
second and fourth Thursday, in Ball's Hall. Now the meetings are: Sewing on the
second Friday for the hospital, with the regular meeting on the fourth Friday,
in the Veterans of Foreign Wars building.
The charter members were as follows: Rose Etherton, Clarene Severns, Haidee
Chatterton, Veda Opp, Alice Ross, Rose Samuelson, Grace McElvaine, Helen Ball,
Inez Mills, Frances Gardner, Eula Raby, Nelle Hartman, Eunice McDonald, Bertha
Wilson, Lily D. Ball, Alice Mills, Ethel Hauston, Ada Taylor, Lena Barker.
The first President was Mrs. Rose Etherton.
The present officers are: Mrs. Spike Hood, President (2 years); Mrs. Lena Barker,
2nd Vice President (2 years); Mrs. Ezra Huffman, 3rd Vice President (1 year); Mrs.
Zalea Elliott, Treasurer ( a position held for 15 years); Mrs. Helen Coombs, Secre-
tary (2 years); Mrs. Donald Skiles, Conductress; Mrs. Eunice Darst, Chaplain; Mrs.
Perry McLain, Guard; Mrs. Ben Everly, Trustee (3 years); Mrs. Marge Albright,
Trustee (2 years); Mrs. Wendell McCance, Mrs. Everett Waller, Mrs. Mildred Cromer,
and Mrs. Maxine Spangler, Color Bearers; Flag Bearer, Mrs. Helen Coombs; Patriotic
Instructor, Mrs. Glenn McCance; Delegates, Mrs. John Mallon and Mrs. Zalea El-
liott; Alternates, Mrs. Ben Everly and Mrs. Marge Albright.
Municipal Light & Power Co.
ALICE CAREY RISLEY TENT NO. 87, DAUGHTERS OF UNION VETERANS
OF THE CIVIL WAR 1861-1865, Inc.
Instituted November 27, 1931. Charter closed December 30, 1931. Named for Alice
Carey Risley, an Army Nurse of the Civil War then living at Columbia, Missouri.
Comrades signing roll: W. J. Vertrees; D. M. Myers; E. R. Anderson; Elijah P.
Ervin; Dr. T. J. Watson; P. B. Crandall.
First officers of Tent: President, Mrs. Zalea C. Elliott; Sr. Vice President, Miss
Wyssie Myers; Jr. Vice President, Mrs. Maude Mitchell; Chaplain, Miss Edith
McElvain; Treasurer, Mrs. Lou Klein; Council Members, No. One, Mrs. Beulah
Sutliff; No. 2, Miss Eloise Cox; No. 3, Mrs. Sylvia Myers; Patriotic Instructor, Mrs.
Bertha Wilson; Secretary and Press Correspondent, Mrs. Mary Geer Wilson; Guide,
Mrs. Beulah Sutliff; Musician, Miss Gaynelle Cox; Guard, Lulu Bell; Ass't Guard,
Adrienne Cox; Color Bearer No. 1, Mae Ellison; Color Bearer No. 2, Mertie Foltz;
Color Bearer No. 3, Lillian Vertrees; Color Bearer No. 4, Cecile Adams.
Present Officers: President, Miss Effie Helen Taylor; Senior Vice President; Mrs.
Garnet Ridle; Jr. Vice President, Mrs. Bertha Wilson; Chaplain, Mrs. Lulu Cad-
walader; Treasurer, Miss Mae Ellison; Council Members, No. 1, Mrs. Sarah Orwdg;
No. 2, Miss Emma Taylor; No. 3, Mrs. Leona Douglas; Patriotic Instructor, Miss
Cora Durst; Secretary and Press Correspondent, Mrs. Zalea C. Elliott; Guide,
Mrs. Ella Shumaker; Guard, Mrs. Helen Lauterbach; Ass't. Guard, Mrs. Blanche
Davis; Musician, Mrs. Garnet Ridle; Color Bearer No. 1, Sarah Orwig; Color Bearer
No. 2, Beaula Lambert; Color Bearer No. 3, Myrle Rogers; Color Bearer No. 4,
Leona Douglas; Historian, Miss Cora Durst;
Tent meets first Friday in the American Legion Hall
iMiss Ora Cox of this city, a member of the Medford, Oregon Tent, served as
National President in 1943-1944, presiding in Des Moines, Iowa, in 1944. Miss Cox
is now a member of the National Board of Directors, National Headquarters located
in Springfield, Illinois.
THE ROTARY CLUB
The Bushnell Rotary Club was first conceived by John M. Brant, John G. Truman,
W. J. Frisbee, L. E. Brewbaker and Ben Pinckly after Bert Roach had withdrawn
from the original five.
The Macomb club was the sponsoring club and the charter was received in 1923,
with the following charter members: John M. Brant, John G. Truman, W. J. Frisbee,
L. E. Brewbaker, J. E. Dertinger, L. J. Barber, Nat Mann, T. W. Everitt, George W.
Hageman, Dr. C. L. Cleveland, H. D. Voorhees, Dr. J. P. Roark, George L. Chain, Rev.
Charles Van Dettum, William Rose and George V. Helfrich.
The club has had many members down through the years, the membership aver-
aging about forty members during its existance. During the depression years it
struggled through many lean times, but survived to again take its part in the
civic affairs of the community.
They have sponsored many yearly activities for the schools and other institutions
and its members are always to be counted on when a job is to be done.
The present officers are: President, Perry Opp; Vice President, Rex Lomax;
Secretary, Eugene Brown; Treasurer, Harold Feaster; Past President, W. V. Ewing.
Directors: Myron Armstrong, Rev. Wm. Rule, William Craycraft, and Fred Emory.
THE OLDER LITERARY WOMEN'S CLUBS
The Carnegie Club was organized in the Fall of 1901, and was started as a maga-
zine club. This club through the years did much for the city.
The Mutual Improvement Club was organized in 1902 and also was prominent in
many civic activities of the city.
The Bushnell Woman's Club was organized in 1894 and through the years spon-
sored the Bushnell Library, which has grown from an humble start to one that the
city can be proud.
The P.E.O. Sisterhood was organized here on June 1, 1909. Among its members
was a State President, Mrs. W. J. Frisbee, and Mrs. W. M. West held many important
The oldest socdal club is the Thursday Club which was organized in the nineties.
THE BUSHNELL POST OFFICE
The first mail was received in Bushnell Township by going to the Half-way House,
which was located near the present residence of Mr. and Mrs. K. Cowperthwaite some
three and one-half miles west of town. Here the stage coaches going to Rock Island
stopped to change horses and eat.
The first Post Office in the Village of Bushnell was in Markham's Store at the
corner of East Main and Gridley Streets. It was later moved to one of the rooms in the
Cole building on Hail Street, where a large wheel on the order of and old Dutch
Windmill was installed and you pushed the wheel around to determine if you had
a letter or card.
The Post Office building on East Hurst Street, which served the city for many
Later it was moved to East Hurst Street into the Roark building, where it re-
mained until the new building was built.
Postmasters down through the years were:
Dr. E. K. Westfall
R. S. Randall
Chas. C. Chain
John R. Camp
Henry S. Buntin 1903-04
Mrs. Anna Buntin 1905-07
Chas. S. Duntley 1908-14
James H. Spiker 1915-21
James E. Voorhees 1922-34
John R. Markley 1935-39
Walter Vail 1940-46
John Mallon 1947- ?
Present Post Office
THE BUSHNELL CEMETERY
The Bushnell cemetery was laid off May 12, 1863 by J. T. Sanders, A. S. Clarke,
Stockton "West, Wm. Shreeves and E. P. Livingston, Trustees. It was incorporated
under the old law. The land which it occupied, six acres in extent, was purchased
from Joseph McConnell, the consideration being $360.00 or $60.00 per acre. This city
of the dead was surveyed and platted by David Shreeves on November 20th of the
same year. The first interment was that of Providence, wife of Joseph Wells, who
was buried in the Spring of 1863 before the survey was made. The next purchase of
land was January 15, 1881, and was four acres from Emanuel Aller for $500.00 or
$125.00 per acre. The next purchase was sixteen acres from the heirs of Emanuel
Aller, May 16, 1902, for $1600.00 or $100.00 per acre. The next purchase was twenty
acres from Wm. H. Cadwalader, March 24, 1926 for $5000.00 or $250.00 per acre.
This brings the entire holdings of the cemetery up to 46 acres at a total cost of
$7460.00 and was deeded an the name of the Bushnell Cemetery Association. In 1903
S. J. Alexander and W. H. Heaton each donated $1,000 for an ornamental fence. The
Trustees let a contract for a brick arch over the stream where the fence would be
placed. Also a stone retaining wall at a cost of $241.00. In 1904 the fence and all was
completed, including the grading at a total cost of $1551.87 and was paid from the
fund donated by Messrs. Alexander and Heaton. At this juncture the Association
was out of debt and had a balance of $587.33. This same year, 1904, the Ladies of the
Thursday Club erected an ornamental foot bridge and presented it to the Association.
Thus adding to the convenience and beauty of the grounds.
Edward L. Clarke succeeded his father as secretary and treasurer and served as
secretary and treasurer for a period of thirty-eight years.
In 1917, everyone who could and would, was asked to donate a dollar a lot
per year for caretaking of all lots. This system has been maintained ever since at
annual cost of from seven to eight hundred dollars per year. These contributions
together with money derived from sale of lots and rents from unoccupied portion of
grounds, made the Bushnell Cemetery what it is today. Much credit is due to
Edward L. Clarke, as well as Mr. Heaton and Mr. Alexander, the latter having con-
tributed $1,000 more in the settlement of his estate by Mr. Heaton. The implement
and office building was erected in 1926 at a cost of $1400.00. The hard road to the
cemetery was constructed in 1927. The assessment was spread for it to cost
$1490.69, after a hard campaign for funds with which to do it. The city, township,
abutting property owners and popular subscription put the job over. All this was
carried along by the late M. M. Pickly and Chas. E. Henry, and it was through their
untiring efforts that this much-needed public improvement was accomplished.
In 1932 the Trustees decided to improve the streets throughout the platted part
of the cemetery by building cinder drives. This was done by axcavating the sod
six inches to eight inches deep and filling up with railroad cinders, using 19^2 cars
and built 364 rods (1 mile and 44 rods) at a cost o'f $1335.58. In 1933 they oiled these
drives, using 5000 gallons of oil at a cost of $125.00, thus completing them at a total
cost of $1460.58.
L. C. Kugler and K. R. Clugsten each contributed $50.00 and George Braun $3.00 to
In the history of the cemetery there has only been seven sextons, including the
present one who is now serving his second year. Their names are as follows: Moses
Fugate was the first one, J. C. Young, the second one; Ed. F. Klein, was the third
one; W. D. Brown, the fourth one; Clark Hanks, fifth; Herman Brown, Elzie Pestle.
Dui'ing the existence of the cemetery, the following people have served as Trustees:
J. T. Sanders, A. S. Clarke, Stockton West, E. P. Livingston, J. C. Thompson, Edward
L. Clarke, W. H. Heaton, T. J. Sparks, G. E. Soloman, Chas. C. Williams, Clarence S.
Clarke, R. H. Sparry, James McDill, S. H. Robinson, Albert Clarke, Harry Voorhees,
Wm. Oblander and Earl Brown. Dr. A. S. Clarke served the longest time, being 51
years. There never was any resignations, everyone, up to the present time, served as
long as they lived. There never was any friction or graft among the members. No
member ever received a cent of pay for his services, notwithstanding reports to
the contrary that there was a lot of money made that went to the trustees individ-
The cemetery was turned over to the Township in 1951 and is now run by a board
elected at the regular town meeting, and is kept up by taxes.
HISTORY OF THE BUSHNELL FIRE DEPARTMENT
Although the records of the Bushnell Fire Department are somewhat confused
in the beginning the best information the Democrat can get is that the Bushnell
Fire Department was organized and established about the year 1871. Although there
are no authentic records of all this, it is to the best recollection of those living that
in about that year they began the department. It was known as the Alert Hook and
Ladder Company. What they meant by hook and ladder is in the memory of those
gone before, however, they had a ladder wagon with a lot of ladders on it and what
were known as hooks in fire parlance, were hooks attached to ropes that would pull
down buildings and help along in putting out the fire.
From all records the Democrat is able to find, William Pontifex was the first
foreman; they did not call them chiefs in those days, but William Pontifex was the
The picture was taken of the equipment before the Tanker was bought.
department later. Peter Ayers is dead. I am speaking now in about the year 1890.
William Oblander and George Oblander, brothers, were in the department.
It ran along as the Bushnell Alert Hook and Ladder Company for a number of
years. There was a time when the department had some thirty-five to forty members.
The old Hook and Ladder Company went to tournaments, annual meetings of
state associations, and in short was looked upon as one of the leading fire depart-
ments of the country towns. Finally the city council took hold of the department; it
was made a part of the city government. A chief was nominated and elected by the
city council and members of the department were put on regular payroll. The first
chief of the department was M. L. Walker, a jeweler, in Bushnell. To the best recol-
lection of older members Mel Walker never wanted the place, therefore, his at-
tendance at meetings was rather slim but he held the job for a year. He was ap-
pointed in 1891. Following him came either Kit Carson or Lew Copeland. How long
they lasted and which one was chief, the records do not show. Following them came
W. H. Walters, who was chief the first time from 1896 to 1909. Then came George
Weirather; following was P. C. Albrecht. Then W. H. Walters again chief for a year
or two; following was N. V. Breasaw, who was chief for several years. Then E. W. B.
Sparks, Harry Albrecht, Dave Shumaker, Geo. L. Chain, Milt Sherwood.
Ulll Hill illlli lilill ■■■■■!
The picture above is of the new Fire House.
first foreman. Mr. Pontifex was a horse man, a trainer of horses, and that seems to
have been his business although he passed away years ago. Tom Camp was in the
Going back it might be interesting for you to know who were officers in the
company in 1880. The foreman was George R. Epperson, first assistant was M. M.
AUer, second assistant O. C. Sprague, secretary was Tom H. B. Camp, financial sec-
retary Harvey Wells, treasurer John H. Davidson. Members were H. T. Walters, M. L.
Hoover, J. E. Cumm.ings, O. W. Cowgill, Stewart Sperling, Frank McElvain,
E. E. McKinney, John Miller, E. E. Varner, J. M. Varner, H. Lichendahl, A. Renigar,
Lute M. Seibert, James Richards, Samuel Pertes, J. McGehe, William Pontifex, W.
H. Walters, R. G. Nebergall, E. D. Calaway, William Mills, Jr., Russell Ditmars,
Wm. Oblander, J. H. Seibert, L. R. McCoy, and T. H. McCoy.
This then was the first company the records show. It has been changed a great
deal since that until now, the company is limited to twenty men. In after years,
the company became more or less prominent in state affairs. In fact, a meeting of the
State Association was once held in Bushnell. That was during the time the old Opera
House was open and they met there. However, that was in 1917. Tournaments
have been held on the part of the State Association, at which time the Bushnell
Fire Department made a display and a good one.
It might be well to say that in past years, the Bushnell Fire Department occupied
quite a position in the State Association. For three years, Chas. C. Chain was presi-
dent. For a number of years before that and after his incumbancy as president, he
was on what was known as the Executive Committee made up of nine men besides
four officers, making thirteen in all and they were the real governors — the main
officers in the association. John Albrecht was for years a member of that board.
During the time the association met in Bushnell, J. P. Albrecht was Vice President.
Various other members of the department have held offices in the association. George
L. Chain was president of the Central Illinois Firemen Association, and was historian
of the State Association for seventeen years.
The present Fire Department is run by a board of trustees, under the State laws
relative to Fire Protection Districts, and financed by taxes, from the territory cover-
ed. The present trustees are J. B. Meloan, J. B. Brant and Donald Lantz. The district
has in the past two years built a new Fire House and purchased equipment to bring
the department up to a standing with the better departments in the State.
The equipment includes a thousand gallon tanker with front-mount pump, a 750
gallon pumper on a Ford chassis, a 500 gallon pumper on an International chassis,
a 350 gallon pumper on a Reo chassis and a utility truck on a Chevrolet chassis.
There is all the necessary minor equipment on the several rigs.
The officers in the department are: Ed Stoller, Chief; George Mills, Assistant
Chief; and the members are, Arthur Hoyle, Gordon Roberts, Rex Lomax, Clinton
Griffith, John Lyons, Kenneth Kirby, Harry Crank, Phil Haymaker, Orth Mikesell,
Bernard Brillhart, Garnet Sammons, Gerald Morrow, Charles Brant, Glen McCance,
George Chain, Marvin Moore, John Geeves, Joe Winter, Orion Young, Merle
The City Hall and Fire Department, for many years.
THE CITY ADMINISTRATION
The city is run by the Aldermanic form of government, and the present city of-
Mayor, Ross M. Varner; City Clerk, Rex Lomax; City Treasurer, Lester E. Ever-
ly; City Attorney, R. E. Lybarger; Aldermen: From Ward One, Geo. Bertolino, and
J. D. Haymaker; Ward Two, Henry Wilson and T. E. Samuelson; Ward Three, Edwin
Laux and Claire Curtis.
Of this group Mayor Varner served many terms as Alderman before becoming
Mayor; Edwin Laux has served as Alderman more terms than any other person and
Henry Wilson has been on the council many years as has T. E. Samuelson,
3. E. Harris probably served more terms as Mayor than any other person in the
history of the city, unless it be Jas. Cole.
Some of the city's Mayors since the turn oif the century, besides Mr. Harris, are:
J. H. Johnson, M. M. Pinckly, J. H. Spiker, Ira Means, J. B. Brant, C. C. Williams,
L. S. Mills, John Severns, A. Brady, Ed. Heister, Geo. Porter, Dr. Bert Roan, and L.
Some of the City Clerks are: W. H. Dawson, B. S. Harris, Ed Dertinger, C. L.
Harrah, Lou Klein, and Rex Lomax. All but Mr. Harris served many years.
We can name only a few of the Aldermen: Ed Russler, S. B. Russler, Jas. McDill,
Robert Sperry, T. H. Jackson, James Hudson, L. F. Oblander, Jake Markley, John
Markley, Emerson Huffman, Ed Heister, Geo. Porter, J. H. Spiker, S. E. Mowrey,
Floyd Newell, Dr. J. P. Roark, John Snell, William Mallon, L. A. Gray, Tipton
Peek, W. J. Fultz, H. D. Voorhees, A. M. Shaw, Jas. Madison, A. Brady, J. E. Voor-
hees, Martin Schulze, L. J. Barber, Clarence Renigar.
The City Treasurers have included: Mr. McElvain, Harry Voorhees, Bert Roach,
Chas. Henry, L. J. Barber, A. W. Kukuk, Geo. L. Chain, L. S. Oblander, Ross Varner,
and Mrs. William Mallon. ,
Some of the Chiefs of the Fire Department under city appointment are: Geo.
Weirather, W. H. Walthers, Nick Breasaw, Pete Albrecht, E. W. B. Sparks, Harry
Albrecht, Dave Shumaker, Geo. L. Chain and Milton Sherwood. W. H. Walthers
served several different times.
R. E. Lybarger has served as City Attorney for over thirty years, and was elected
to the office at first, and since that time has been appointed by both Republican
and Democratic mayors.
Vaughan & Bushnell Mfg. Co.
ITEMS OF INTEREST
Frank Kramer bought a bicycle and Frank (Spud) Sexton told all the neighbors
how the would-be bicyclist tore down fences and bumped into walls learning to
ride the dam thing. "Chuckle" Depue's little dog, Tokio, ran to all the fires, starting
for the fire house with the first tap of the bell.
C. H. Wood opened a bicycle repair shop on West Main Street. There were 241
bicycle owners in the city. As far as could be ascertained the first bicycle in Bush-
nell was owned by Milt Curtis in the year 1879. It was made from a buggy wheel
for the front and a small wheel of like material at the rear and weighed 180 pounds.
In 1880, iMilt Curtis, Ben Clarke, Tom Wheeler, John and Will Camp were riding
wheels and organized a club. Their meeting place being the third floor in the Cole
Block which was the sleeping room of Curtis and John Camp. The wheels were the
high front wheel type and cost from $100.00 to $150.00 each. Tom Camp bought the
first safety bicycle such as are in use today. The first lady cyclists were Misses
Maude Sparks and Effie Justice.
Tom Wheeler was the veteran rider, having used the wheel for 17 years. He had
three ordinaries and six safeties. R. W. Wheeler was the most persistent rider, using
his wheel all kinds of weather from summer heat to zero winter. Tim Downey was
rated second. Five aldermen in the year 1897 were riders. They were aldermen,
Nagel, Dunlavy, Downey, McCabe and Hughes. — Published 1937.
In November, 1899, President McKinley and members of his cabinet visited
Bushnell. A platform was built near the Q passenger station, from which the
President spoke. A committee, headed by Mayor Montgomery, met the special train
at Macomb, and rode with them to Bushnell.
Following his address, the President introduced the members of his cabinet: Sec-
retary of State, Hay; Secretary of War, Root; Attorney General, Knox; Postmaster
General, Smith; Secretary of Navy, Long; Secretary of Interior, Hitchcock; and
Secretary of Agriculture, Wilson.
•■91- y— ym.», ' v .' ^-^j^k-^'JW. ii, o''^.-'-*;wr«<r^ ■
Illinois Culvert & Tank Co.
Mrs. John R. Camp, chairman of the floral committee, presented President
McKinley with a floral piece, the offering being carried by a little girl with long,
red curls, Carrie Mowrey, now Mrs. Jack Ross.
General John A. Logan visited Bushnell about 1885. There was a Civil War veterans
meeting and he was entertained at the home of Major Bell who lived where Rex
Lomax now lives. He was Commander of G.A.R. when first Decoration Day was
celebrated in 1868.
In the late nineties, a special train came through Bushnell and stopped long
enough to let us see several of the former Republican Governors of Illinois, and the
Republican candidate for the coming election, Richard Yates, Jr., who was elected.
The ex-Governors were: Oglesby, Cullom, Fifer and Tanner.
There may have been others whose names have been printed in "Who's Who" who
claim Bushnell as a birthplace, but Peter Newell, who graduated in the class of
1880, became a distinguished artist in New York, and had the honor of being in
The originators gave the town two blocks of ground, one on the East Side, and
one of the West Side of the railroad, for city parks. These were soon planted with
rows of soft maples and silver poplars which made rapid growth, and for many
years not a tree was missing. In later years band concerts were held in the parks.
Early in 1900 fountains were given to the parks.
A fence of boards enclosed each park in the early days. A stile was at the middle
of each side. Later the corners were open with heavy posts driven in the ground so
that a person could pass through but the cows which roamed the streets at will,
could not enter the parks.
AN INVITATION TO AID THE PRESIDENT
Following is an invitation extended to Jas. J. Cole to the dedication of the
Government Building in Chicago, at which time President Wm. McKinley was pre-
Mr. James Cole,
The people of Chicago request the honor of your presence to assist the President
in the ceremonies of laying the corner stone of the United States Government Build-
ing in that city on Monday, October Ninth, 1899.
John R. Tanner, Governor of State of Illinois
Carter N. Harrison, Mayor of Chicago
TO THESE WE DO HONOR
Mrs. L. Luella Cole French, who is to act as the Queen of the Centennial, has been
a Bushnell resident for many years and her father was one of the pioneers of the
community, as has been mentioned many times in this book.
Mrs. Jennie Ailworth, who has lived in Bushnell all her life, is eighty-nine years
of age, and most of the time has been spent in the same house on North Rile Street.
She is the oldest member of the local Presbyterian Church an institution her father,
Frank Sample helped organize.
Mrs. Emma Dertinger, was born and raised in the old Schnarr and Dertinger
home on Crafford Street. She is in her eighties and has lived in only two homes,
the one mentioned above and her present residence in the Turnbull apartments,
where she lives with her daughter, Lois.
C. S. Norcross & Sons Co.
Mrs. Minnie Leader Smith, who is in her eighties, was born in Bushnell and has
lived here since that time. She married Fred Smith and she has both children,
grandchildren and great-grandchildren living in this community.
Miss Florence Williams was not raised in Bushnell, but just east of the city. She
has been here these many years and was once a teacher in the local schools. While
not having a family of her own she raised many of her nephews and nieces at
her home at the north end of West Main Street.
Mrs. Dora Albrecht has lived in Bushnell since the late sixties. She is the daughter
of Mr. and Mrs. John Oblander. Mr. Oblander and his brother, Geo. Oblander, came
here in the sixties and started in the furniture and undertaking business, making
caskets as they were needed. Mrs. Albrecht married John Albrecht, a family
which has been connected with Bushnell's growth.
Mrs. Grace Pearson Cleveland has been a resident of Bushnell for over eighty
years. Her family and the Cleveland family were very prominent in Bushnell's early
history, as well as during just before the turn and after the beginning of the
century. She was kind enough to aid us in some of our writings.
Mr. and Mrs. Joe Runyan have been in this community for many, many years.
Both in their nineties, have celebrated nearly seventy wedding anniversaries.
- :/:P3.:^Af9 T*'?^-'^.'
Ready Foods Co.
Mrs. Florence Bricker LeMaster was born west of Bushnell, the daughter of Mr.
and Mrs. J. N. Bricker. She taught in the local schools as a youn lady, later marrying
W. S. LeMaster, prominent clothier here for many years.
The Goeppinger Sisters were all born and raised here, their father being a pioneer
in the harness and leather business.
Miss Kate Klein, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Peter Klein, has lived in Bushnell for
over eighty years. Her father, as mentioned in another part of this book, held many
important offices in the town and had the first well in Bushnell.
Edward Weber was born in Bushnell and this community has been his home for
about eighty-nine years. He was a staunch supporter of the old 25c Fair, and a great
lover of horses. He has served the city as alderman and always took pride in its
George Smith was born in Bushnell and has lived here for eighty-eight years. His
father, J. M. Smith, was the first Worshipful Master of the local Masonic Lodge.
George has seen the town grow from a village to a city, and is probably the oldest
man living that has always lived in Bushnell proper. He says the house at the corner
of Jackson and Wells, where Ernst Juneman lives, is probably the oldest house
in town as it was built in 1858 and moved to its present location when his father
built the Smith home on West Hurst Street.
The above picture is of the old Spicer home, taken in 1854. It stood where the
Guy Spicer home now stands on the corner of the section just west of the Cotton-
wood Tree, three miles west of Bushnell, The Spicers, one of the first families to
settle in this territory, have always lived on the farm that Guy Spicer now
There are several descendants living in and around Bushnell who are direct de-
scendents of Charles Wilson, who was a pioneer of Bushnell and the community east
of the city. Mr. Wilson was the President of the first Bank in Bushnell, and also
was among the group of men that built the three-story building on West Main
Street, where the Masonic Lodge rooms are located. They gave the Masons
free rent as long as the rooms were used for that purpose. Mr. Wilson at the time
of his death was one of the largest land owners in this community, owning some
2500 acres. He was a great force in this community at its beginning.
Ellen and Jack Smith, daughter and son of Mr. and Mrs. Don Smith, have the
distinction of being the fifth generation on both sides of the family that have always
male their home in Bushnell. They are descendants of John Oblander and George
Oblander, brothers, who came here from Quincy in the sixties. The children's great
grandmothers, Mrs. Anna Oblander Chain and Mrs. Dora Oblander Albrecht, were
■ermni' ■ si .--^ ,j Jr;%ATn^- -*i
Blue Bell Inc.
PRESENT BUSINESSES IN BUSHNELL
A & R Cafe, E. Hurst St.; Ace Hardware, E. Main St.; Adams The Cleaner, E. Hail
St.; Alexander Hotel, W. Main St.; Archer Nursing Home, Dean St.; Art's Auto
Laundry, E. Twyman St.; Alexander Barbershop, Alexander Cafe, W. Main St.; A &
W. Drive In, Route 41.
Barber Clothing House, E. Main St.; Beaird & Jones, Cole St.; Beauty Bar, E. Hail
St.; Benkendorf, Dr. R. C, W. Sail St.; Bill's Auto Body, N. Cole St.; Claggett's Bril-
liant Bronze, Cole St.; Birdsall - Gift Shop, Washington St.; Blue Bell, Inc., E.
Barnes St.; Bonnett & Grate Feed Co., Crafford St.; Bowlmor, South on Route 41;
Bradford Commission Co., Stockyards; Brant Auto Service, W. Main St.; Brewbaker-
Ewan Insurance, E. Hurst St.; Brown Lynch Scott Co., W. Main St.; Brown, T. Otis,
Atty., W. Hail St.; Bryan's Mobil Service, Juction 9 & 41; Bunch, Maurice, Ins.
Agency, W. Hurst; Bushnell Cafe & News Agency, E. Main St.; Bushnell Dairy Co.,
Junction 9 & 41; Bushnell Electric Co., W. Main St.; Bushnell Feed Co., Route 41;
Bushnell Hatchery, Cole St.; Bushnell Materials Co., Provine St.; Bushnell Mattress
Co.; Bushnell Paint & Wallpaper, Cole St.; Bushnell Greenhouse; Bushnell Post
Office, E. Hail St.; Bushnell Producers, Stockyards; Bushnell Stockyards Co.; Bush-
nell Warehouse, Moorman, 9 & 41; Bushnell Credit Bureau, E. Main St.; Brown,
H. F., Ins., Cole St.; Blue Star Skating Rink, Route 41.
C & G Appliances, E. Main St.; Chandler Beauty Shop, W. Main St.;C.I.P.S. Co., E.
Main St.; Circle K Cafe, Cole St.; Cole Gran Co., Ed. Laux, 576 Washington St.;
Cortelyou Septic Tank Co., Sperry St.; Cowperthwaite's, E. Hail St.; Cramblet
Bros. Service, E. Hail St.; Craycraft, Wm. C, Funeral Home, W. Hurst St.; Curfman
Inn, W. Davis St.; Curtis & Haines, Trucking; C B & Q Railroad, H. C. Crank,
Agent, E. Main St.
Daniels D. R., Ins., E. Sail St.; Davidson Commission Co., Stockyards; Davis, L. B.
& Son, E. Hurst St.; Democrat, McDonough, W. Main St.; Dimmitt, Russell, Truck-
ing; Dodson, E. L., Contractor S. Sperry St.; Doud's Tavern, W. Main St.; Douglass
Pharmacy, E. Main St.
Eastview Market, Cole St.; Ebe's Standard Service, E. Main & Gridley Sts.; Evans-
Helbling Adv. Inc., Junction 9 & 41; Embassy Tavern, E. Main St.; Ebbert Pool
Hall, E. Main St.; Everly, Lester E., Ins., W. Main St.; Eggers, Verne, Contractor.
Farmers & Merchants State Bank, E. Main St.; Farr, Melvin, Imp. Store, W. Main
St.; Filbert Bros. Garage, W. Barnes St.; Fitch, H. W. & Nellie, Clinic, Dean St.;
Franck, R. L., M. D., E. Hurst St.; Frank, Charles, Restaurant, Cole St.
Gamble Store, E. Main St.; Goff, Kenneth S., Dentist, Dean St.; G & H Root Beer,
Cole St.; Graves, Leo, Tinner, Cole St.
H & H Grocery, Cole St.; Hall's Grocery, W. Main St.; Harmony Beauty Shoppe,
W. Main St.; Harris & Scholes, W. Hurst St.; Hart Barbershop, E. Main St.; Herring,
E. D., Dentist, W. Hurst St.; Hickenbottom Motor Co., Cole St.; Home Oil Co., W.
Davis St.; Homer Limestone Service, E. Hail St.; Hood's Cafe, E. Main St.; Hook's
Mrs., Dancing School, Sperry St.; Hoyle, Victor - Heating & Plumbing, E. Main St.;
Hulett's Paint & Wallpaper, E. Main St.; Hummel & Gray Lumber Co., E. Ludwig
St.; Heath Motor Co., Cole & Davis Sts.; Hummel, Neil - Contractor, E. Ludwig St.;
Hilly er, John D., Grocery, W. Davis St.; Horrom, Lee, 2nd Hand Store, Cole St.;
Hornbaker Imp., Cole St.
Illinois Culvert & Tank Co., S. Jackson St.; Illinois Telephone Co., E. Hurst St.
Jenny Wren Club, E, Water St.; Johnson's Cafe, E. Main St.; Juneman, Ernst,
Produce Co., E. Water St.
Keig win's Poultry Farm, Cole St.; Kikendall's Store, E. Main St.; Kille Home
Laundry, E. Davis St.; Kugler & Martin Funeral Home, Crafford St.; Kugler &
Seek Furniture, W. Main St.; Kukuk, A. W., Ins. Agency, W. Main St.; Kroger Gro-
cery Co., E. Hail St.
Bushnell Stockyards Co.
L. & G. Building Supplies, Cole St.; Lay's West Side Market, W. Osborne St.;
LeMaster's Clothing Store, W. Main St.; Lomax, Rex, City Clerk; Lovell, Glenn S.,
Route 9; Lovell, Sherman, Ins. & Real Estate, W. Main St.; Ludlum Food Mart, Cole
& Hess Sts.; Lybarger & Collins, Attys., E. Hurst St.
Macomb Electric Co., E. Barnes St.; McClelland, R. L. Vet., E. Barnes St.; McDon-
ough Grain & Milling Co., W. Davis St.; McGee, Ralph, Auto Shop, W. Barnes St.;
McHendry Gas & Electric, W. Main St.; Meloan, Dr. J. B., Opt., Dean St.; Monroe,
Robert, Barbershop, E. Hurst St.; Moore's Standard Service, Hurst & Cole Sts.; Mor-
ris Elevator, E. Main St.; Municipal Electric Light & Power, W. Main St.; Murphy
Grocery, Rile St.; Myers Barbershop, E. Hurst St.; McCoy, C. E., Trucking, Crafford
Nessel Dairy Products, W. Main St.; Newell Livestock Commission Co.; Nichols &
Co., E. Main St.; Norcross, C. S. & Sons, Dean & Davis Sts.; Nu-Way Cleaners, E.
Oblander Dry Goods, W. Main St.; Oblander Hardware, W. Main St.; Opp's Garage
& Auto Body, E. Main St.
Pappas, A. M., Phono. & Radio, Cole St.; Parker Motor Sales, W. Hail St.; Parsons
Shoe Shop, W. Main St.; Payne Shoe Store, E. Main St.; Penney, J. C. Co., E. Main
St.; Pennington, D. I., Tinner, E. Hurst St.; Payne, Bud - Trucking.
R & J Playhouse, E. Main St.; Rawls Furniture Co., E. Hurst St.; Ray's Welding
Shop, Hwy. 41; Ready Foods Provision Co., Grant & Davis Sts.; Reno Service,
Charles St.; Rialto Theater, E. Main St.; Roan, Dr. Bert, W. Hurst St.; Roark Clothing
Store, W. Main St.; Robbins Jewelers, E. Main St.; Robinson Drug Store, E. Main St.;
Rohrbaugh Grocery, E. Main St.; Railway Express Agency, E. Main St.; Robert's
Stationery Store, E. Main St.; Ray's Tavern, W. Main St.; Ritchey, Dr. G. F., Jackson
St.; Reining, Dale E. - Painting, Crafford St.; Renwick, H. A., Supt of Schools.
Salisbury Appliance, E. Hurst St.; St. Clair's Beauty Nook, Sperry St.; Samuelson
Mach. & Welding, E. Barnes St.; Schafer, Dr. Edw. J., Dentist, W. Hurst St.; Sears,
C. G. Auto Repairs, E. Main St.; Skelly Products, G. Bradford, Harris St.; Simp-
son-Powelson Lumber Co., W. Barnes St.; Skelgas Div. Skelly Oil, W. Davis St.;
Smith Service Station, Cole St.; Sparks, H. L. & Co., Stockyards; Shell Service
Station, Cole St.; Spoon River Products Co., E. Water St.; Stauffer's Food Market,
E. Main St.; Stoller Home & Auto Supply, E. Main St.; Stratton Chevrolet Co.,
W. Main St.; The Style Shop, E. Main St.; Swannie's Tap, W. Main St.; Swartz-
baugh & O'Herron, W. Main St.; Sperry, Lyell, Trucking; Standard Oil, G. P.
Stuart, W. Barnes St.; Swanson's Tap, E. Main St.; Silver Dollar Tavern, E. Main St.
Nichols & Co.
Taxi Service, Ed. Arnold, N. Dean St.; Theobald, G. W. & W. R., Jet. 9 & 41;
Thompson Filling Station, Green St.; T. P. & W. Railroad, E. Main St.; Trop-Art
Heating and Air Conditioning, E. Main St.; Trummel, Dr. R. G., E. Hail St.; Turner
Grocery, Cole St.; Tastee Freeze, Cole St.
Varner Grocery, E. Main St.; Vaughan & Bushnell Mfg. Co., W. Main St.; Veteri-
nary Food Inspect., W. Main St.; Vincent, Lyell, Shoe Repairs, E. Main St.
Wade Accounting-Tax Service, E. Hurst St.; Waller & Watt Grocery, Front &
Charles Sts.; Walthers Food Market, W. Main St.; Webb Imp. Co., Ludwig St.; Wells
Studio, E. Hurst St.; Western Auto Store, E. Main St.; Western Union Telegraph,
W. Main St.; White Hut, Route 9; Wier Tractor Service, W. Hail St.; Williamson, H.
R., Cole St.; Wilson, Maude, Beauty Shop, Crafford St.; Wilson & Hood Produce,
E. Ludwig St.; Winget Barbershop, W. Hail St.; WKAI Radio Station, E. Hurst St.
Wolf, Kenneth, Insurance, Crafford St.
Yocum Plumbing & Heating, Crafford St.; Young's Tap, E. Main St.
$1.90 to $2.10
41 V4 to 48 V2
$1.93 to $1.94
45c to 50c
1314 to 16%
60c to 75c
221/2 to 26
$1.57% to $1.56%
$2.75 to $3.25
$21.00 to $24.75
$4.25 to $6.25
Lb. 16y2C to 28c
Each 80c to $1.00
Lb. 20c to 22c
11 Lbs. $1.00
10 Lbs. 89c to 95c
Lb. $1.07 to $1.35
, $1.25 to $2.25
75c to $1.00
$4.50 to $6.00
25 Lb. Bag $1.93
1. $1.25 to $1.40
1/2 Gal. 59c
25 Lbs. $1.00
2 Lbs. 35c
Lb. 60c to 75c
41c to 59c
6c to 15c
19c to 89c
10c to 13c
50c to 75c
(crisco 35c) 19c
59c to 63c
3c and up
24c to 49c
3c and up
McDonough Grain & Milling
The drawing at the beginning of the boolc was made by Wendell Fisk of this city
and was prepared for Pamphlet issued this year for the Business Bureau and later
adopted as the Centennial Emblem.
Mr. Fisk is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Earl Fisk and his mother before marriage was
Miss Reba Raby. Both the Fisk and Raby families have been residents of Bushnell
for over seventy years. Mr. Fisk's wife was a Glower and her mother was a daugh-
ter of Mr. and Mrs. Willard Smith, who were residents here for over fifty years.
The drawing was printed on the Centennial Stationery as well as in this book.
Hoover and Voorhees Hardware at Turn of the Century
The Farmers and Merchants State Bank
This is the end of an effort to give those interested in Bushnell some of the facts
concerning the city, both at the beginning and during the past fifty years. We know
we have made mistakes and have repeated some things, but most of the facts have
been derived from as authentic material as was available.
We are indebted to many for their aid. Much of the material was taken from clip-
pings given us by Mrs. Elizabeth Baylinson, daughter of the late J. E. Dertinger, and
had been published in the Bushnell Record when they celebrated their seventieth
birthday. Some was taken from the McDonough Democrat and written by Chas. C.
Chain, when the Democrat was fifty years old. The rest was furnished by several
individuals and papers of long ago. The pictures came from the Democrat files, an
old atlas loaned us by Orth Mikesell, and many folks about town as well as out of
the city, including John Mull and William Nessel.
To all that took an interest in this publication, thanks and we hope it will serve
the purpose for which it was intended, to bring back old memories to some, be a
keepsake to the present school children, whose pictures appear in it, and be in-
formative to all.
THE COTTONWOOD TREE
The Cottonwood Tree, which is pictured on the front of the cover, was planted in
18S6 by iM. B. Robinson, as a cornerstone to his farm. It is still standing in the
center of the road three miles west of Bushnell.
This Book is Published by the Bushnell Centennial Association, Inc.