Skip to main content

Full text of "The Canton and Dixfield register, 1905"

See other formats






Funeral Director and Licensed Embalmer. 

Goods sold at A VERT LOW PEIOE 

Livermore Falls, Maine. 


CAPITAL STOCK |50,000 SURPLUS |20,000 

Checking Dep't Savings Dep't 

Interest at 31 per cent per Annum Paid on Deposits. 

S. H. NiLES, President C. H. Sturtevant, Treasurer 

Edwin Riley, Vice President J. G. Ham, Secretary 

Dr. ROBINSON, Dentist 

Modern Artistic Dentistry at Reasonable Prices. 


Graduate Philadelphia Dental College. 

Over Stewart's Hardioare Store. 

Livermore Falls, ... Maine. 

- THE - 

Canton and Dixfield 


1 9 O 5 



Brunswick, Maine: 

Published by The H. E. Mitchell Co. 







y06 L 

eadquarters for 




Of all kinds. 

We carry the A. B Kirsclibaum Hand 
Made, also Hersberg Hand Made and 
Union liabel, good as tailor made. 

One Price to All. 


Furniture, Window Shades, Carpets, Rugs, 
Pictures and Picture Frames 



"Quality and Right Prices" is our Motto. 

We carry the well-known Singer Sewing Machine. 
Also Caskets and Burial Robes. 

R. A. WING, Licensed Undertaker. 

Whitcomb Block, Depot Street, 

LIVERMORE Falls, Maine. 


Indian Account along the Androscoggin 


Phips' Canada Proprietary 


Early Settlement 

Town Officials 

Industrial Account 

Military Matters 

Church Affairs 

School Items 

Railroad Development 



Holmantown Proprietary 
Early Settlement 


Town Officials 

Manufacturing Interests 

Civil War Soldiers 

Church Affairs 

Educational Items 

Modern Buildings 

Patrons of Husbandry 



Department Store. 


The leading Store for 
Ladies', Children's, 
Men's & Boys Ready- 
to-wear Garments 
Dry & Fancy Goods, 
Shoes, etc. 

Agents for Hart 
Clothing, Ralston 
Health Shoes, Knox- 
All Hats, Ladies' & 
Men's Fur Coats and 
everything else to be 
found in a first class 
Department Store. 

Ladies' Hats a Specialty. 


Copyright 1905 by 
Hart Schaffner dr' Marx 

Canton and Dixfield Register 



The aboriginal inhabitants of Maine comprised several 
races of red men, of which the Abenaques formed one of the- 
most powerful nations. This nation was divided into four 
distinct tribes, viz: the Sokokis, or Sockhigones, who inhab- 
ited the valley of the Saco river; the Anasagunticooks, liv- 
ing in the valley of the Androscoggin; the Canabas, or Ken- 
abas, occupying the Kennebec valley; and the Wawenocks, 
east of the Sagadahock. The Anasaganticook tribe was 
one of the most numerous and powerful, their hunting 
grounds covering the entire valley of the Androscoggin with 
an encampment and fort at Pejepscot (Brunswick) on the 
lower course; a place of rendezvous at Lewiston Falls where 
at an early date was also another fort; and on the broad in- 
tervales at Canton was a large encampment, or village, the 
home of the Rockomekas, a branch of Anasagunticooks. 

Owing to the secluded location of the Anasagunticooks 
they were less disturbed in their hunting and fishing, and 
suffered less by the encroachments of the white settlers than 


any other tribe; yet, notwithstanding this freedom from in- 
terruption, none were more hostle or vindictive toward the 
colonists. The Androscoggins were the first to "dig up" the 
tomahawk and the last to "bury" it. 

During King Philip's War the Anasagunticooks, under 
their Sagamore, Tarumkin, were very active, many of their 
number joining Philip's forces in Massachusetts. Tarumkin 
was a man strongly attached to his country and jealous of 
its rights. He was brave, but of no great intellect or 
strength of character. After the close of this war was a 
period of peace, lasting ten years, during which Worumbee, 
who, in 1684, had granted large tracts of land on the lower 
Androscoggin to Richard Wharton of Boston, became chief 
Sagamore. But at the breaking out of King William's War 
he was among the first to renew the conflict with the colon- 
ists, making the first attack on North Yarmouth, August 
13, 1688. The natives of the Androscoggin exhibited so 
much ferocity and inhumanity that the Government at 
Boston sent an expedition, under Major Church, to destroy 
Worumbee's Fort at the Upper Falls on the river (at Lewis- 
ton), where he arrived Sept. 14, 1690, having marched up 
the river from Brunswick. According to Major Church's re- 
port, they attacked the fort by surprise, killed six or seven, 
and took eleven prisoners; a lad about eighteen making his 
escape "to another place where there was corn, about 40 or 
50 miles up." This place was doubtless Canton Point, the 
Rockomeko of the Indians. 

The story is told that on one occasion the Rockomeko 
Indians were proceeding down the river by night to attack 


Topsham. They sent ahead one of their number to kindle 
signal fires on the island at Lewiston, above the falls, that 
they might not be drawn over the falls. Having built the 
fires the Indian went to the cabin of a settler who had lo- 
cated near the falls and who now surmised the Indians were 
on the war path. He got the Indian drunk and learned 
from him the story of the approaching party; after further 
treating the innocent traitor until he was unable to inter- 
fere, he rowed to the island, extinguished the fires, and built 
others farther down the stream; when the unsuspecting 
party of warriors arrived in their canoes, supposing the 
fires to be on the island, they unwittingly floated too near 
the falls and were carried over to their death. 

King William's War lasted ten years, which were years 
of bloodshed and destruction to the coast settlements. 
During Queen Ann's War the Anasagunticooks were not so 
prominent as they had been hitherto. Hodgkins, who had 
become Chief was a brave warrior, but the tribe had become 
terribly wasted away during the many years of fighting. 
About 1703 the French induced many of them, together 
with the remnants of other tribes in Maine, to retire to 
Canada, where they settled along the St. Francois, and have 
since been known as the "St. Francis Tribe." But there were 
a few of the tribe in their native haunts for many years 
after. In 1747 there were mustered 160 warriors, many 
having also died of small pox, and at the breaking out of 
the Revolution there were about forty of this tribe who 
made the shores, the ponds and the islands of the Andros- 
coggin their home. The name Anasagunticook is perpetu- 


ated only in the name of the lake at Canton village, and the 
Indian village by Rockomeko mountain in the northern 
part of the town. 

True and pathetic are the words of Charles Sprague: 

"Alas for them, their day is o'er, 

Their fires are out from hill and shore; 

No more for them the wild deer bounds, 

The plough is on their hunting grounds; 

The pale man's axe rings through their woods. 

The pale man's sail skims o'er their floods. 

Cold with the beast he slew, he sleeps; 

O'er him no filial spirit weeps; 

No crowds throng 'round, no anthem notes ascend 

To bless his coming and embalm his end; 

Even that he lived is for his conqueror's tongue. 

By foes alone his death song must be sung." 



Before the arrival of settlers in this section, and follow- 
ing the disappearance of the native tribe there was a period 
during which the primeval forest was disturbed only by the 
native beasts, or by the last remaining Indian hunters and, 
occasionally, by the advent of adventurous hunters and 
trappers of the succeeding race of white men. 

Up to 1771 the territory now incorporated within the 


towns of Jay and Canton formed part of the unappropri- 
ated public lands "east of the Saco." During- that year a 
grant was made of this territory, subsequently known as 
"Phips' Canada," until the incorporation of the town of 
Jay in 1795, and not until 1821 was the present town of 
Canton (with the exception of a small section received from 
the town of Hartford) separated from the mother town to 
become an independent organization. 

The following accounts are from the records of the pro- 
prietary which are now in the possession of the town of Jay. 
They cover the entire period of the founding of these towns, 
continuing until the final dissolution of the proprietary, 
three years after the town became an incorporated body. 



To the Honorable Thomas Hutchinson, Esq., Lieutenant 
Governor and Commander in Chief of His Majesty's said 
Province, the Honorable Council and House of Eepre- 
sentatives in General Court assembled, March 15, 1770. 

The Petition of the Subscribers, humbly Sheweth, 
That your Petitioners are the Legal Representatives of 
Sundry Persons who were in His Majesty's Service in the 
Expedition to Canada in the year 1690 and Suffered greatly 
by their hard and Difficult Service. Several of which Per- 
sons Lost their Lives in the Service and Some others soon 
after their Return, by which means Several Families were 
Reduced from Comfortable Circumstances to Penury and 
thereby Disabled from Petitioning the General Court and 


pursuing the settlement of uncultivated Lands, and Others 
Intimidated therefrom by Reason of the Perfidy & Cruelty 
of the Vile Indians; and some Others in affluent Circumstan- 
ces thinking it then, as Some do at this Day, Scarcely worth 
their notice, only for the benefit of Others, and the Utility 
of the Publick in general, whilst some others then Capable 
of Persuing and well knowing the goodness of the Lands 
then to be taken up in the Western Parts of the Province, 
have Petitioned and obtained Several Townships of Land 
more than Thirty years Since, which are now become Flour- 
ishing Towns and greatly Beneficial to the Province as well 
as Profitable to the Proprietors, and vastly Superior, both 
in Quality and Situation, to what are now to be obtained. 
And whereas Several of your Petitioners and the Predeces- 
sors of the Others, preferred a Petition to the Great and 
General Court Several years since, humbly Requesting a 
Grant of Land for said Extraordinary Service, and the Le- 
gality of their Claims (with Divers Others who then ob- 
tained Grants) were made out to the acceptance of a Com- 
mittee appointed by said Honorable Court for that purpose, 
and were by said Committee Selected into particular Socie- 
ties in order for their having Townships granted to them, 
but by the Negligence of some Persons who were Employed 
to Prefer and Pursue said Petition, and by Reason of Ex- 
traordinary Casualties the affair was Retarded, so that 
neither your Petitioners nor their Predecessors, nor any 
Others in their behalf have obtained any Grant or Gratuity 
for said Extraordinary Services. Whereas, your Petitioners 
humbly Pray, Notwithstanding their Neglect, or the Negli- 


gence of their Predecessors in not pursuing the affair in 
proper Season, that this most Honorable Court would now 
be Pleased to Grant them a Township of Land, in such a 
Situation as shall be thought most Expedient, and your 
most humble Suppliants, as in Duty Bound, Shall ever Pray. 
Signed David Phips, Esq. 

And seventy-one others. 

The committee appointed by the General Court to con- 
sider this petition reported favorably, as follows; 

In the House of Kepresentatives, June 11th, 1771, 
Resolved that there be Granted to David Phips, Esq., and 
others mentioned in the Petition, a Township of the contents 
of six miles and three-quarters square, to be laid out adjoin- 
ing to some former Grant in the unappropriated Lands in 
this Province to the Eastward of Saco River, provided the 
Grantees within seven years settle Eighty Families in said 
Township, Build a House for the Public worship of God and 
settle a learned Protestant Minister and lay out one eighty- 
fourth part for the first settled Minister, one Eighty-fourth 
part for the Ministry, one Eighty-fourth part for the Use of a 
School in said Township, and one eighty-fourth part for the 
Use of Harvard College forever; provided also that they 
return a plan thereof, taken by a Surveyor & chainmen under 
Oath, into this Court within twelve months. 

This resolution passed the Council the same day, and 
was "consented to" and signed by"T. Hutchinson" Lieuten- 
ant Governor. 

On April 22, 1772, a plan of a township was presented 
containing the contents of six miles and three-quarters 


square (exclusive of the allowance of one thousand Acres for 
Sway of chain and Two thousand Acres for Ponds & Rivers). 
Bounded as followeth, Beginning at a pine Tree on the west- 
wardly side of Amarascoggin river, thence across said 
River on the head line of a Township granted to Samuel 
Livermore and Others due East Two hundred & thirty two 
Chains, twenty five Links to a Stake and Stones; thence 
north on Province Land Five hundred and twelve Chains to 
a heap of Stones," etc., the other lines being through prov- 
ince land and all corners marked by "a Stake and Stones," 
until the northern line of Livermore w^as again reached. 
The pine tree stood on the northern line of Livermore and 
on the bank of the Androscoggin River. This township, con- 
taining over 31,000 acres, according to the above mentioned 
figures, was granted the petitioners, under the above men- 
tioned conditions, and soon beceme known as "Phips' Can- 

The proprietors of this grant of land, were residents of 
Charlestown, Cambridge, Watertown, Waltham, Weston 
and Newton, all in Massachusetts, and held their first Pro- 
prietors' meeting at the house of Bezaleed Leonard, in 
Watertown, July 1, 1771, when a committee, consisting of 
Messrs. Abijah Brown, Elisha Harrington and Israel Whitte. 
more, was chosen to choose and lay out the township. Sub- 
sequent proprietors' meetings were held at the homes, or 
"inns" of the several proprietors, many of them being held 
at the inns of Capt. Jonathan Brewer and Capt. Isaac Glea- 
son, in Waltham. Alexander Shepard, of Newton, was pro- 
prietors' clerk for many years, until July 25, 1787, and for 


his faithful and efficient services received a g:rant of 200 
acres of the undivided land in this township. The elegant 
and legible handwriting of Mr. Shepard, and his correct 
spelling reflect much credit upon his education and ability. 
He was succeeded by William Fisk, Esq., as clerk, who filled 
the office until the proprietary was dissolved. 

The first division of lots was made on June 30, 1773, 
home lots being drawn on the east side of "Amarascoggin" 
river, and an allottment of the public lands on 
the west side was made at the same time. The 
following is a list of the proprietors receiving lots, 
with the number of their lots and ranges, on the 
east side of the river. These are arranged according to the 
number of the "draughts:" Jacob Gibbs, lot 4, range 11; 
Capt. Joshua Fuller, 5, 6 and 7-10; Edmund Trowbridge, 
Esq., 3-11; Thomas Harrington, 3-12; Thomas Parker, 
island N; Mercy Nutting, 2-13; Thomas Harrington, 1-14; 
Dowing Champney, M-14; Nathaniel Tolman, 2-14; Thomas 
Parker, I and K-15; David Phips, Esq., Island R, 3-15; 
Samuel Whittemore, 4-15; Capt. BraddyJl Smith, 2-14; 
Samuel Larkin, 9-8; Seth Hastings, island', D & 7-8; First 
settled minister, 8-12; Samuel Whittemore, island S, 7 or 
B-7; Josiah Shattuck, island T, 6 or G-7; John Meriam, 
6-6; Israel Whittemore, island N, 5 or A-6; Alexander Shep- 
ard, 4-5; Nathaniel Bridge, 3-5; Thomas Hastings, 2-5 
Edward or John Manning, 1-5; Capt. John Brown, 1-4 
Alex. Shepard, 2-4; John Stbwell, 3-4; Jos. Champney, 10-9 
Geo. Peirce, 11-9; Natl. Chadwick, 12-9; James Wellman, 
13-9; James Dix, 14-9; David Stratton, 15-9; Israel Whit- 


temore, 16-9; Harvard College, 8-14; Samuel Whittemore, 
island O or 9-9; Alex. Shepard, 8-10; Edward Manning, 7-9; 
Josiah Hastings, 10-8; Wm. Goddin, 11-8; Richard Tozier, 
12-8; Geo. Lawrence, 14-8; Samuel Groves, 16-8; Nat'l 
Bridge, 17-8; Peleg Stearns, 9-10; David Bruce, 10-10; John 
Wilson, 11-10; Richard Trusdell, 13-10; Isaac Kidder, 14- 
10; Caleb Call, 15-10; David Phips, Esq., 16-10; Richard 
Clark, 17-10; Ministry, 20-5; Jonas. Peirce, 18-10; Peter 
Bent, 5-11; Edmund Trowbridge, Esq., 6-11; Timothy 
Flagg, 7-11; Jedediah White, 8-11; Ebenezer Brown, 9-11; 
Alex. Shepard, Jun., 12-11; Caleb Call, 13-11; James Ket- 
tell, 10-7; Isaac Child, 11-7; Thos. Shepard, 12-7; James 
Reed, 13-7; Nat'l Tolman, 15-7; Ebenezer Stedman, 5-12; 
Isaac Mirick, 6-12; Philip Bemis, 7-12; Alex. Shepard, 12- 
12; Thos. Harrington, 5-14; Nat'l Bridge, 6-13; James 
Grimes, 13-12; Samuel Norcross, 9-6; Samuel Whittemore, 
10-6; Wm. Kettell, 11-6; Jonathan Fessenden, 12-6; 
Edward Hall, 13-6; John Peirce, 14-6; Richard Bean, 15-6; 
John Ivory, 15-5; Alex. Shepard, 13-5; School lot, 9-12. 
Each lot contained approximately 100 acres, and each draft 
also gave title to a like area west of the river. 

At the same meeting a committee was chosen to clear a 
way to the township. 

At a proprietors' meeting, held April 12, 1774, a vote 
was made to give £4 to each of the first ten settlers who should 
clear ten acres of land in this township and seed it with grass 
or grain, build a house sixteen feet square, and settle within 
one and one-half years. 

The second division of lots was made, June 29, 1774, 


but on account of hardships occasioned by the breaking; out 
of the Revolution, the proprietors were unable to fill the con- 
ditions of settlement within the stated seven j^ears. Upon 
petition they were granted, Feb. 9, 1779, seven years more 
to complete the conditions. No settlements seem to have 
been made up to this time, for a liberal reward was still 
offered to the first ten settlers. It is probable that few set- 
tled here previous to the erection of the proprietors' mill. 

The Proprietors Mill—SeYered attempts were made by 
the proprietors to erect a saw and grist mill for the encour- 
agement of settlers. On March 27, 1787, a committee was 
appointed to choose the best location for a mill in town, and 
on Nov. 20, following, a second committee was appointed to 
receive proposals from any one or ones who would erect the 
mills. The following report, dated April 6th, 1791, was 
made by the committee, which consisted of Capt. Richard 
Peabody, Col. Josiah Fuller and Capt. Moses Stone. 

"We, the Subscribers, the Major part of a Committee 
appointed by the Proprietors of the Township of Phips' Can- 
ada, for the purpose of looking out the most suitable mill 
spot in said Townshipfor the accommodation of the Settlers 
therein and for agreeing with some suitable person to erect 
mills thereon, have attended that service, and beg leave to 
report our doings thereon as followeth, namely, — we care- 
fully viewed all the streams in said Township and were of 
Opinion that on Lott No. 6, in Range No. 5 on the east side 
of Amariscoggin River in said Township, on a Brook called 
Musqueto Brook (below Jay depot) was the most suitable 
place in said Townshipfor the purpose aforesaid; and we 



thereupon contracted with Deacon Elijah Livermore to 
erect a grist mill and saw mill thereon and keep them in 
good repair for the use of the Settlers in said Township & 
others for the term of ten years from and after the comple- 
tion of said Mills; for the Consideration of fifty pounds. 
And he has accordingly erected said Mills and given suffi- 
cient bonds to the treasurer of this property," etc. 

signed by Josiah Fuller Junr. 

Moses Stone Junr. 
a Major part of said Committee. 

The same committee was also chosen at the same time 
"to lay out a road from Sandy-river-road to such part of 
the town as they shall judge most expedient for the interest 
of said property." April 2, 1789, they reported having "laid 
out and cleared a road from said Sandy Kiver Road, thro 
said Township until it meets the road formerly cleared in 
said township leading across Seven- Mile-Brook (so called) 
at about the distance of two miles east of said Brook." 

Much effort was made by the proprietors to encourage 
settlement although not many of their number were among 
those who made their homes here. Man 3^ lots were taken up 
by the sons and sons-in-law of the owners, and after the 
beginning of the settlement the number increased rapidly. 
At a proprietors' meeting held April 6, 1791, a tax was 
assessed for the purpose of erecting the first meeting house. 
This was erected, but not completed. It remained the prop- 
erty of the proprietary until Jan. 2, 1797, when they voted 
to -'quit claim and give up" to the inhabitants of Jay the 
house erected by the proprietary for a place of worship, 


together with the lot of land occupied by the house, compris- 
ing about two acres. 

At the last meeting of the proprietors, held in Water- 
town, Sept. 3, 1798, a vote was made to pay "to the treas- 
urer of Jay all surplus monies in the hands of the proprietary 
treasurer," to be appropriated toward finishing the meeting 
house in this town. The proprietary was then dissolved, 
having existed twenty-seven years, — during which time a 
flourishing town had been created, which, within a quarter 
of a century, was destined to form two of Maine's enterpris- 
ing and prosperous incorporated centres. 


The plantation known as Phips' Canada was, on Feb. 
26, 1795, incorporated, the town of Jay, by the General 
Court of Massachusetts. This town was named in honor of 
Hon. John Jay, then a leading statesman, and was incorp- 
orated two days before its sister town, Livermore. The 
boundsof the original township, as given in the act of incorp- 
oration are these : — 

Beginning at a maple(?)tree standing in the northeaster- 
ly corner of Livermore (now East Livermore) thence running 
north six miles one hundred and twenty-eight rods ; thence 
west four miles two hundred and seventy-two rods to a 


beech tree marked ; thence south forty degrees west six miles 
two hundred and eight rods to a pine tree standing on the 
bank of Androscoggin Kiver; thence across said river the 
same course one hundred and eight rods to a hemlock tree ; 
thence south nineteen degrees east, till it intersects a line 
running south sixty-five degrees west from the north west 
corner of Livermore ; thence on the northerly line of Liver- 
more to the first mentioned bound. 

By the Act of Incorporation Edward Eichardson Esq., 
was authorized to issue a warrant calling the first town 
meeting. This warrant he directed to Wm. Livermore, call- 
ing a meeting to be held at the meeting house, on the first 
Monday in April, 1795. 

At this first town meeting in Jay, Moses Craft was chosen 
moderator; Wm. Livermore, town clerk; Peter Asting, Sam- 
uel W, Eustis and Wm. Goding, selectmen; Wm. Livermore, 
town treasurer; Wm. Livermore, Samuel W. Eustis and 
Wm. Goding, assessor; Wm. Peabody and Oliver Fuller, 

On February 5, 1821, an act to divide the town of Jay 
and to incorporate the westerly part into a township by the 
name of Canton, tor Canton, in Massachusetts, was passed 
by the Maine legislature and signed by the first governor of 
the state. The dividing line between Jay and Canton estab- 
lished at this time was as follows : " Beginning at the south- 
east corner of breakage lot No. 8 in the sixth range on the 
north line of the town of Livermore; thence north on the 
east line of said number, or tier of lots, to the north-east 
corner of lot No. 8 in the second range on the westerly side 


of Androscoggin River; otherwise said lot to extend so far 
north that a west course across said river will strike the 
north line of lot No. 6, in the tenth range on the easterly 
sideof said river; thence west in said north line to thesouth- 
east corner of lot No 7 in the eleventh range ; thence north 
on the east line of said range to the south-east corner of lot 
No. 14 in said eleventh range; thence west in the north line 
of said number or tier of lots to the south line of the town of 
Dixfield "etc. — Provided, however, that Israel Bean, Joseph 
Lawrence, Joseph Strout and John Drought, with theirfam- 
ilies and estates, and also lot No. 8, in the eleventh range, 
shall remain a part of and belong to the town of Jay." Ad- 
ditions have since been made to the town of Canton by an- 
nexing lots from the town of Hartford on the south. 

The town of Canton, although having more than one- 
third of the territory of the old town, received that propor- 
tion of all public property, and of the ministerial and school 
funds, also to hold all public lands that fell within her bor- 
ders ; likewise, she assumed one-third of the liabilities of the 
town of Jay at the time of separation. James Starr, Esq., 
of Jay Hill, issued the first warrant for a town meeting in 
the new town ; this he directed to Joseph Holland, the meet- 
ing to be held in the school-house near Mr. Holland's, at 
Canton Point, March 28, 1821. At this meeting John 
Hearsey presided as moderator; Dr. Cornelius Holland was 
chosen town clerk, which office he tilled for ten years ; Joel 
Howard became treasurer, and Joseph Holland, Abiathar 
Austen and Joseph Coolidge, Jr. were elected selectmen of 
the new town. 



Atthetime the grant of "Phips' Canada" was made, this 
town formed a part of Cumberland and Lincoln counties; 
the Androscoggin river being the boundary line between 
them, with Cumberland on the south-west. The lands in this 
section were distinguished as "the unappropriated lands 
east of the Saco," but the sales or grants made began along 
the lower course of the river, each new township being 
located to the north, west, or east of those already chosen, 
as the grantees' representatives considered the locations 
most desirable. The grant of a township was made to the 
proprietors of the present towns of Livermore and East 
Livermore on the same day the grant was made to David 
Phips and his associates, and Elisha Harrington, one of the 
committee appointed to lay out this township, was also 
employed by the Livermore proprietors. It is probable that 
the latter township was laid out only a few weeks previous 
to this one, the location chosen by them being the fertile val- 
ley of the Androscoggin, north of Sylvester, Canada 
(Turner) ; and that chosen by the succeeding party was sur- 
veyed still farther north in the same valle}' including the 
broad intervales where were earlier confields of the departed 
natives, at Canton Point. It is said that the hills on the 
cornfields were plainly visible to the surveying party. 

We are informed that there were no permanent settle- 
ments made in this township prior to the close of the Revo- 
lution, and, indeed, it seems doubtful that the required ten 


families were settled before the year 1786. The first perma- 
nent settlement made in the townships was in the vicinity of 
Jay Hill, and the proprietors' mill was erected on the brook 
to the south. The early arrivals seem to have been very 
intimate with these in Li verm ore, and it is probable that 
the pioneers were also connected in their meagre business 
relations, grinding at the same mill, and assisting each 
other in "raising" the substantial frames for their dwellings, 
when they had become able to replace their original log- 
cabins (for many of them erected log-cabins) with the 
spacious square houses of which so many have withstood 
the blasts of nearly one hundred winters. 

Who was the first to settle in that part of Jay which 
became incorporated as the town of Canton in 1821 we are 
unable to say. The first permanent settlement of impor- 
tance was made at Canton Point, the Rockomeko of the 
Indians, and here implements such as they used have fre- 
quently been turned out of the soil, and a burying ground 
containing many of their skeletons has also come to light. 
That part of the town which has been annexed from Hart- 
ford, in the vicinity of Anasagunticook, or Whitney, pond, 
was originally included within a grant of a tract of land 
given to Capt. William Thompson, a zealous captain at 
Bunker Hill, where he led his men, and remained in the ser- 
vice during the entire eight years of the Revolution. 

We find that the first settlements in the present town of 
Canton were made about 1790 and that Wm Livermore, 
Wm. French, Moses Coolidge, Peter Austen, Abraham Peter- 
son, Henry Goding, and Edward Shepard were among the 


first to establish their homes here. 

Wm. Livermore, the son of Dea. Elijah Livermore, was 
one of the foremost spirits in the settlement, and filled 
many important positions in the early town of Jay. Wm. 
French located in what is now Gilbertville and became a 
prominent citizen. Moses Coolidge took up a lot in the 
northeast corner of the town. Peter Austen (or Astin, as 
we find it spelled), settled at the Point, and became the pro- 
genitor of one of the most influential and wealthy families 
in the early town; he was, perhaps, the w-ealthiest man in 
the settlement prior to 1800. Abraham Peterson settled 
west of but near to "Peterson's Rips," now the location of 
the Riley mills. The Codings became a numerous and 
valued family. Edward Shepard was probably the son of 
Alexander, the proprietary clerk who owned large shares in 
the township. 

The town of Jay was divided into school districts in 
1798, when the part now forming this town, or a part of it, 
was called Number 1. In an inventory record which seems 
to be of this district, and dated 1799, we find the following 
additional names: Thos. M. Prentiss, Samuel Bean, Benj. 
Bean, Amos Carver, Richard Drout, Eliphalet Gray, Japhet 
Allen, Daniel Child, Joshua Walton. David Clark, Samuel 
Juitt, Mark Willson, Geo. Wilson, Richard Peabody, and 
John Clark. Of these men Child settled below Canton 
Point, and Mark Willson on the east side of the river. 

Dr. Cornelious Holland, Joseph Holland, and Samuel 
Holland, settled at the Point early in the century; they were 
men of wealth and influence, and were extensive land owners. 


Dr. Holland moved here from Livermore and erected the 
house at the Point which is still standing, occupied by his 
granddaughter, Mrs. Fred C. Howe. He was state senator 
from Oxford county two terms, and thrice elected represent- 
ative to the U. S. Congress. 

Gustavus Hayford, son of William Hayford, moved his 
family from Hartford to Canton in 1815, and he and his 
brother, Zeri, were the first settlers of Canton Village. He 
erected the first saw mill and grist mill, and the first dwell- 
ing house at this place. While building these mills they oc- 
cupied a log cabin, built on the present site of Nathan Rey- 
nold's drug store. This log house was occupied by Zeri 
and his familj^ for two or three years, to board the work- 
men in the mills, and later as a schoolhouse, until a better 
one was erected. The dwelling house built by Gustavus 
Hayford the next year, 1815, the first framed dwelling house 
at this place, is now standing on the original site, beauti- 
fully located on the margin of Anasagunticook pond, near 
the mills, and is owned and occupied now (1905) by Frank 
0. Proctor. 

When purchasing the water power at this place, Mr. 
Hayford also became the possessor of a large tract of land 
upon which the present village is located. This was for 
many years known as Hayford's Mills. 

Zeri Hayford built a small house on the hill south of the 
mills, a portion of which is now standing, and a part of the 
same his son, Zeri, Jr., and grandson, Oscar, have since oc- 
cupied. Mr. Ha3^ford was a man of great physical strength, 
standing 6 feet 7% inches in his stocking feet, of large frame 


and well built. 

In a list of real estate owners in Canton, in 1825, we 
find, together with the foregoing or their descendants, the 
following: Alexander Alden, settled on Alden Hill; John 
Ames, Henry Briggs, Canton Village; Simeon Brett, (an 
1812 soldier), James and John Brown, south of village, set 
off from Hartford; Hosea Benson, near Deshon's store; Jo- 
siah Bennett, Horatio Bisbee, Uriah Capen, Silas Dunbar, 
near Hartford line; Fuller Dike, Philip Arden and Gideon 
Ellis, (the latter settled on the Abiathia Austin farm below 
the Point), Jabez FarriDgton, Chas Fuller, Pelatiah Gibbs, 
John Gileneas, Reuel Hinkley, Ivory Harlow, Thos. Hanni- 
ford, Samuel Hill, Isaac Harlow, Timothy Huntress, east- 
ern part of town; Joel Howard built the house, now the ell 
to Lyman Smith's house, on the same lot; Gilbert Hatha- 
way, John Hearsey, John Kelsey, Noah Lawrence, Jacob 
Leach, Jacob Lothrop, Jacob Ludden, Dan'l Ludden, Amos 
Lindsey, Manassah Lawrence, Thos. McCollister, John Man- 
well, John Parsons, Daniel Reynolds, John Simmons, Jere- 
miah Staples, Elijah Soule, Allen Sturtevant, Daniel Shack- 
ley, Jacob Strout, John Stickney, Ezekiel Treat, Thomas 
Thorn, Elisha Thomas, S. R. Treat, Gowen Wilson, Abel 
Wood and James Whitney. 

Noah Bosworth, Jr., Daniel Cram, John Hearsey, Otis 
Hayford, and John Stickney, were taxed for "stock in 
trade," and Joseph Bartlett, Daniel Child, Cornelius Holland, 
and David Reynolds, for money at interest. 



Clerks and Treasurers Since 1850. 

The same man g;enerally fills both offices. 

1850-'51, John Hearsey; 1852-'54, John M. Deshon; 
1855, D. S. Tracy; 1856, John M. Deshon; 1857, D.S. Tracy, 
clerk, John M. Deshon, treas; 1858, Otis Hayford, Jr.; 1859, 
Otis Hayford, Jr., clerk, C. M. Holland, treas.; 1860, John 
Hearsey; 1861-'63, Nathaniel Whittemore; 1864, Isaac N. 
Stanley; 1865, Oscar Hayford; 1866-'67, John P. Swasey; 
1868-'69, Roscoe H. Thompson; 1870, Munroe Peabody; 
1871, J. P. Swasey; 1872, ; 1873, W. H. H. Wash- 
burn; 1874-'79, M. Peabody; 1880-'82, D. Bradford; 1883- 
'85, M. Peabody; 1886, H. H. Burbank; 1887-'93, M. Pea- 
body; 1894-'99, Nathan Reynolds; 1900-'02, John W. 
Thompson; 1903-'04, F. E. Bicknell; 1905, Geo. L. Wadlin. 


1850 — Caleb P. Holland, Ira Reynolds, John M, Deshon. 
1851-'52— Gideon Ellis, Ira Reynolds, Jacob Ludden. 
1853-'54— C. P. Holland, Geo. DeCoster, Granville Child. 
1855 Ira L. Delano, Thos. C. Gurney, Amasa Huntress. 
1856— Ira L. Delano, Thos. C. Gurney, Hiram A. Ellis. 
1857— Thos. C. Gurney, H. A. Ellis, Sylvanus R. Treat. 


1858— Thos. C. Gurney, John McAllister, Ansel G. 

1859— H. A. Ellis, Elkanah Leonard, S. R. Treat. 

1860— H. A. Ellis, Elkanah Leonard, John D. Hodge. 

1861 — John McCollister, Jacob Ludden, Granville Child. 

1862-'64— H. A. Ellis, John D. Hodge, Farnura Austin. 

1865— H. A. Ellis, John D. Hodge, Otis Hayford, Jr. 

1866— H. A. Ellis, Thos C. Gurney, Albion Thorne. 

1867— H. A. Ellis, Albion Thorne, Calvin S. Brown. 

1868— C. S. Brown, C. P. Holland, William Dunn. 

1869— C. S. Brown, C. P. Holland, Chas. T. Moulton. 

1870— P. C. Holland, C. T. Moulton, D. P. Stowell. 

1871—0. Hayford, A. G. Staples, Thos. Reynolds. 

1872 , , . 

1873— C. T. Moulton, B. C. Waite, G. Ellis. 

1874— H. A. Ellis, C. P. Holland, S. P. Adkins. 

1875-H. A. Ellis, C. P. Holland, L B. Fuller. 

1876— H. A. Ellis, J. M. Holland, S. P. Adkins. 

1877— H. A. Ellis, Wm. H. H. Washburn, S. P. Adkins. 

1878-'79— H. A. Ellis, A. P. Hutchinson, J. M. Holland. 

1880— C. M. Holland, J. M. Holland, W. H. H. Wash- 

1881— J. M. Holland, W. H. H. Washburn. Albert K. 

1882— W. H. H. Washburn, A. K. Foster, 0. Hayford. 

1883— J. M. Holland, A. Dunn, A. K. Foster. 

1884— J. M. Holland, A. Duon, A. S. Hathaway. 

1885— J. M. Holland, A. K. Foster, Adelbert Delano. 

1886— A. Delano, O. F. Taylor, H. N. Campbell. 


1887— A. Delano, B. C. Waite, H. N. Campbell. 

1888— A. Delano, B. C. Waite, C. C. Ellis. 

1889— B. C. Waite, J. H. Burbank, C. C. Ellis. 

1890-'91— B. C. Waite, C. T. Bonney, W. W. Rose. 

1892— C. T. Bonney, Jr., W. K. DeCoster, A. K. Foster. 

1893— A. Delano, W. H. H. Washburn, D. W. Wood- 

1894— W. H. H. Washburn, A. K. Foster, D. W. Wood- 

1895~W. H. H. Washburn, S. M. Ludden, D. B. Dear- 

1896— W. H. H. Washburn, C. F. Oldham, A. Delano. 

1897-'98— W. H. H. Washburn, C. F. Oldham, C. R. 

1899— W. H. H. Washburn, E. W. Howe, J. M. Johnson. 

1900— A. Delano, E. W. Howe, J. M. Johnson. 

1901— B. C. Waite, C. F. Oldham, S. B. Ellis. 

1902— B. C. Waite, E. E. Caldwell, D. B. Dearborn. 

1903— B. C. Waite, E. E. Caldwell, W. W^ Blanchard. 

1904— E. E. Caldwell, W. W. Blanchard, F. W. Morse. 

1905— E. E. Caldwell, C. R. Ellis, H. T. Tirrell. 


Lake Anasa^unticook, formerly known as Whitney 
Pond, lies on the southern border of Canton, and upon its 


outlet, now known as Whitney brook, is the beautiful vil- 
lage of Canton. This was for many years known as Hay- 
ford's Mills, and later, as Canton Mills, until, this village 
having increased in population and commercial importance, 
while that at Canton Point had decreased, the name Canton 
was given this postoffice. The picturesque scenery of this 
section is unsurpassed. Varied by its rugged hills and 
mountains, its level, fertile intervales, glassy ponds or flow- 
ing river, who can wonder that the native red men found 
here the ideal spot of all the section around for their en- 
campment, and for a resting place for their departed war- 

As already shown in a preceding chapter, Gustavus 
Hayford erected the first mill and dam at his place, in 1814. 
The following year he brought his wife and daughter, Eliza- 
beth; who was born in Hartford the proceeding June (1815), 
and who is now so well remembered as Mrs. Elizabeth Bar- 

Mr. Hayford's saw mill was built where the tannery now 
stands, the grist mill was on the opposite side of the road, 
now the site of the dry house. In 1819 Amos Turner 
bought a share in the right on this water privilege, of Mr. 
Hayford, for the purpose of introducing a tannery; and 
this, although meagre in itself, is the beginning of the pres- 
ent industry which is so important a factor in maintaining 
the prosperity of this community. 

Simeon Brett, an industrious and energetic business 
man, came from Turner, around 1830, purchased a portion 
of the water power, and put up a Fulling and Carding Mill 


where he did a flourishing business. Later he enlarg:ed its 
capacity by erecting a fine, large building, which is now 
standing on Main street, on the old site, and introduced 
looms for the manufacture of cloths. His goods soon ac- 
quired a good reputation and ready sales, and until late in 
life he continued in the manufacturing business. He also 
opened a hotel in the place, and was the popular and hon- 
ored host for many years including the 40's and SO's. 

George DeCoster, another early arrival in the village, 
for many years carried on a large Carriage Manufacturing 
business, and it was here that Simeon Bicknell, beginning 
when a poor boy, learned this business, which he continued 
through the greater part of his life. 

This village was also the site of a Foundry, located near 
John P. Swasey's law office. This was established by Otis 
Hayford, early in the last century. Mr. Hayford was suc- 
ceeded by Andrew Barrows and Gideon Ellis, Jr., and they 
by R. A. Barrows, who continued the business until about 
1889, when it was discontinued. Stoves, plows, mill cast- 
ings, shingle machine frames, and other articles were pro- 
duced here in large quantities. 

At Gilbertville, which was at one time quite a manufac- 
turing center, there was a pulp mill and a large lumber mill 
in operation. The pulp mill was erected by the Denni- 
sons of Mechanic Falls, about 1880, and employment was 
given to 100 men. The business afterwards came into pos- 
session of the Poland Paper Co. and was operated until 
1897, when it was burned, on the third of April. The plant 
has never been rebuilt. 


The large lumber mill was established by Gilbert Bros, in 
1879, with capacity for three cars per day, employinpj the 
services of 40 to 50 men. George VanDyke bought the prop, 
erty after a few years, and sub-let it to Geo. B. Staples, and 
others, lastly to one Mr. McFadden, but this has not been 
operated for several seasons. 

The tanning business, which has been continued without 
intermission, except for brief periods, at first occupied but 
one of the four water privileges at this village. It was oper- 
ated by Mr. Turner for a period of several years when he 
sold to Wm. Bosworth; he, in turn, sold to Ichabod Lind- 
say; and he to Cyrus Hutchinson. Each of these men were 
tanners here for several years, tanning all varieties of skins, 
the work being done entirely by hand. After the death of 
Mr. Hutchinson the business was practically discontinued 
until 1887, when it was purchased of the heirs by Lyman W. 
Smith. The capacity of the plant at that time was to give 
employment to six or eight men. Mr. Smith began at once 
to enlarge the business. He erected new buildings, installed 
new machinery for doing the work, and introduced modern 
methods of operating, until now 100 men are employed reg- 
ularly, and a correspondingly large amount of business 

None but sheep-skins are used now. These are tanned 
and assorted, the best quality being used for covering the 
rolls used in spinning cotton; other grades are used in the 
manufacture of shoes, both tans and blacks, also for making 
leather novelties. 

An electrical generator was installed about six years 


ago, and a system of electric lights put in throughout the 
buildings and some on the streets. The business has now 
outgrown the water power, and steam is used as a supple- 
mentary power. 

The packing bouse at Canton village was built in 1881, 
by J. Winslow Jones. The Winslow Packing Company was 
soon after formed, and this house operated by them until 
1887, when it was bought by the Portland Packing Co. The 
main building was burned and a new building erected in 
1901, Nothing but corn is packed here, 500,000 cans annu- 
ally being its capacity. J. K. Forhan, the foreman, has 
been connected with the plant since 1887, with the excep- 
tion of the year 1891. 

The Canton Co-operative Creamery Ass'n was organized 
in the spring of 1899 and the creamery erected the following 
summer. It was opened Nov. 1, 1899, with J. R. Remick, 
manager. On June 15, 1900, it was leased to Brown & 
Cowen and operated by them until April 15, 1901, when it 
was closed. Mar. 1, 1902, it was again opened, bytheHobart 
Farm Co., but closed again duringthesummer. March 1,1903, 
the factory was purchased by the Somerset County Creamery 
Co. which began operations the first of the following April, and 
has continued successfully. They have 150 patrons, and make 
a specialty of sweet cream, which is shipped to the Boston 
trade. J. N. Gilman, of Pittnfield, is general manager; B. E. 
Patterson is local manager. 

W. W. BlancharcVs feed mill was erected by Atwood & 
Low. It was operated by Wm. F. Stanley, E. W, Howe and 
Bicknell & Stanley successively before being purchased by 



Mr. Blanchard two years ago. $3,000 worth of business is 
done monthly. 

The well-known violin maker and player, Frank Rich- 
ardson, has produced over 100 fine instruments which sell at 
an average price of $50, but for some he has received as high 
as $100. The work of the past winter has produced five 
handsome specimens. Mr. Richardson has played at public 
entertainments for sixty-four years, having begun at the age 
of sixteen. 

C. F. Oldham is operating a wood-working establishment 
where considerable business is done in house finish and other 


The town of Canton is justly entitled to the high esteem 
of the state and nation for her loyal support of the inter- 
ests of the American government in the great rebellion. If 
one thing more than another is to be revered and commem- 
orated, impressed upon the minds of the rising generation, 
that thing is the record of names and deeds of men who 
faced the dangers of the battlefield for the welfare and safety 
of their country. Time rolls on and we are apt to forget 
the value of the service rendered by the soldier in war. Each 
succeeding generation is more forgetful of these things than 
its predecessor unless it is taught to revere and love the 
memory of the deeds of the soldier. It should be in the 
mind of each father and each mother to instill into the mind 


of the youth the significance of the inscriptions, "Killed at 
Gettysburo;," "Wounded at Vicksburg," and "Died in Libby 
Prison." No one should lose the opportunity to impress 
upon the generation to which he belongs and upon the one 
which follows, the responsibility which rests upon each man. 
It is with pleasure that we are able to give a list of the 
names of the men who enlisted from this town in the Union 
ranks during the War of the Rebellion. These names we 
have compiled from the Maine Adjutant General's reports 
for the years covering the dates of that struggle. 


Osborn Allen, Lorenzo D. Allen, George W. Burbank, 
Gilman R. Buck, Frederick W. Buck, Isaac Bearce, Sam'l 
T. Blackwell, Chas. Brown, Benj. K, Barrows, Ronello A. 
Barrows, Lewis C. Bisbee, I. R. Bubier, Horatio Bisbee, Jr., 
Lieut. Col. Elisha Bisbee, Corp'l Asamiah N. Childs, Edwin 

B. Childs, Matthew H. Childs, Bradley J. Childs, Bradbury 
J. Childs, Stephen L. Cushman, Jas, Carver, Stephen E. Cor- 
thell, Josiah Clewly, Caleb Delano, John D.DeCoster, Arthur 
Downey, Walter B. Ellis, Alphonso W. Ellis, Josiah N. East- 
man, Wm. W. Esler, Francis P. Furber, Wm. Farrier Fogg, 
Geo. Garner, Jonas E. Greenwood, Fairfield Gammon, Wm. 
F. Gerald, Geo. G. Gifford, Albert Hunter, Gustavus Hay- 
ford, Aretus A, Hutchins, Enoch H. Hinds, Enoch Hines, E. 
H. Hines, John E. Hersey, Pulaski Hodge, Sam'l W. How- 
ard, Cooper A. Holt, Jos. 0. Holland, Chas. O. Holt, Geo. A. 
Hutchins, John Hagan, Geo. C. Hayford, musician, Artemus 

C. Holt, John A. Hodge, Ebenezer A. Harlow, Clifton Jones, 


Ratilius P. Jones, Rutiloiis T. Jones, John B. Kelsey, Thos. 
H. Kelley, Sam'l Lucas, Geo. W. Moore, Albert A. Mitchell, 
Wm, S. Moore, Gillson Mendall, Alonzo Noyes, Eliphalet 
Noyes, Cyrus S. Peabody, Stephen S. Packard, Sam'l Pea- 
body, Gorham M. Park, Luther S. Pomroy, Wm. B. Puring- 
ton, Austin Reynolds, Janues A. Reed, Jas. A. Reed, Jas, M. 
Reed, Augiustus Read, Wm. K. Ripley, Jr., Serg't Alvin Rob- 
inson, Henry Ripley, John Shackley, Albert Smith, David P. 
Stowell, Major John P. Swasey, Jas. M. Shackley, Moses 
Sims, Wra. F. Shackley, Geo. F. Towle, Albion Thorn, John 

Foreign Enlistments: Jerome R. Hodges, Almond A. 
Noyes, Henry B. Noyes, Napoleon Stock bridge, Virgil Stock- 

Nor was this town without good representation in the 
late Spanish-American War, fought in the interests of civil- 
ization and humanity. The names of Leon S. Johnson, 
Guy H. Virgin, and Wm. S. Wills, musician, are found on 
the roll of the First Regiment of Maine Volunteers. Al- 
though their services were not required for so long a period 
nor the demand upon them so great yet the fact that these 
boys were found ready to defend their country's flag and 
face death on the battlefield if need be, merits our deepest 
respect and honor. 

Grand Army Post.— John A. Hodge Fost, No. 71, was 
organized April 17, 1883, as follows: Isaac Virgin, Com.; 
M. R. Davis, Sr. Vice Com.; Polaski Hodge, Jr. Vice Com.; 
W. H. H. Washburn, Adj.; Robert Swett, Qr-Mr.; R. A. Bar- 
rows, Chap.; G. W. Moore, Sur.; C. O. Holt, O. D.; G. K. 


Johnson, 0. G.; and the Comrades: A. R. Dorr, 0. R. Stet- 
son, J. M. Shackley, J. D. Pike, Adelbert Kidder, Thos. 
Wentworth, Samuel Lucas, Gilson Mendall, and B. A. 
Swasey. The present organization of this Post is as fol- 
lows: Wm. F. Mitchell, Com.; Geo. W. Moore, Sr. Vice Com.; 
John W. Thompson, Jr. Vice Com.; R. A. Barrows, Adj.; 
Robert Swett, Qr-Mr.; Polaski Hodge, O. D.; J. M. Shackley, 
0, G.; L. 0. Virgin, Chap.; Benj. A. Swasey, Sur.; and M. R. 
Davis, I. G. Virgin, John P. Swasey, Michael Looney, Adel- 
bert Delano, Geo. F. Towle, Thos. Farrar, Benj. F. Reader, 
and Elias H. Johnson, Comrades. 


The first arrivals in this section were included in the first 
parish of Jay, and worshipped in the old church begun by 
the proprietors, on Jay Hill, in ] 791. This edifice was never 
finished, but was used as a house of worship until the pres- 
ent Jay town house was erected by a committee chosen by 
the First Baptist Church society of that town. The pews in 
this fine old church, erected on the old English style, with 
broad galleries and a raised pulpit which was reached by 
stairs, were sold in September, 1809, and the house was reg- 
ularly used lor a long period of years, until the village had 
grown away from it. 

Bj the terms of the act of incorporation of the town of 


Canton, the town received one-third of all ministerial and 
school funds which had arisen from the sale of the lands 
reserved for these several institutions in the ^rant of the 
original township. According to the tax list for 1825, pre- 
viously referred to, we find the 137 voters in Canton classi- 
fied for drawing the interest on the ministerial funds for the 
support of their respective denominations as follows: Uni- 
versalists, 62; Baptists, 36; and Methodists, 15. 


The Universalist Society was one of the first organized 
in town, and above we have seen that the number of its 
adherents in 1825 greatly outnumbered that of the other 
religious denominations. Previous to 1853, we have no rec- 
ord of this organization. On Nov. 12 of that year, the 
society voted to employ Rev. Geo. Bates, and to erect a new 
meeting house, previous to which they had worshipped in 
the Baptist church and in schoolhouses. The church was 
accordingly erected during 1855, and some pews in it were 
sold to the Free Baptists who held their meetings in the new 
house until their house was erected. The Universalist house 
was extensively repaired in 1879, and made a more modern 
church. Rev. Mr. Bates resigned the pastorate in Oct. 1856, 
and was followed, after a short interval, by Rev. Mr. Taylor. 
Other pastors who have had the charge of this church are 
Revs. Otis H. Johnson, Wm. A. Pratt, E, C. Downey, Rev. 
Mr. Aubrey, H. C. Munson and J. H. Little. The present 
pastor, Miss Marcia M. Selman, began her work here, Feb. 
14, 1904. 



A society of Free Baptists was organized in Canton, in 
1840, with eleven members as follows: Joseph Soule, Robin- 
son Gammon, Mrs. Sarah Gammon, Mr. and Mrs. Samuel 
Walker, Mr. and Mrs. Nelson Frances, Mr. and Mrs. 
Matthew Childs, Mrs. Jesse Peabody and Miss Charlotte 

Rev. Robert Hayes became the first pastor of the society, 
and was succeeded in this capacity by the following men: 
Revs. Wm. Woodsom, Otis Andrews, Austin Wheeler, David 
Allen, James Austin, H. Atwood, Charles Bean, E. Eaton, 
Asa Hutchinson, Rev. Mr. Hultz, J. A. Libbey, S. W. Per- 
kins, C. T. D. Crockett, Chas. Purington, Ozro Roys, W. J. 
Twort, H. C. Lowden, P. W. Curtis, J. H. Bartlett, J. M. 
Paige, W. W. Carver, C. C. Foster, E. B. Foster, and the 
present pastor, Rev. L. L. Harmon. This society had no 
church home of its own until the year 1868, when a new 
meeting house was erected. Ten years later, the steeple of 
this structure was blown down upon the roof, crushing in a 
portion of the roof and necessitating the rebuilding of the 
church at that time. On December 14, 1902, this church 
was entirely destroyed by fire. Although it was not covered 
by insurance, making it a dead loss to the members, by 
their heroic and self-sacrificing efforts the present neat, new 
church building was erected, and was dedicated free from 
debt on January 12, 1904.— Account furnished by C. E. 
Mendall, Church Clerk. 



The early history of the schools of this town is the his- 
tory of the schools of the town of Jay. We find that when 
that town was divided into school districts in 1798, and 
committees chosen in each of the four districts laid out for 
the erection of schoolhouses, the committee chosen in Num- 
ber 1, consisted of VVm, Livermore, Peter Austin, Abraham 
Peterson, Edward Shepard and Henry Goding. This district 
seems to have covered the part of this town then inhabited, 
and the first schoolhouse was probably on the point. 

The first school kept at Canton village was kept in the 
log cabin erected in 1814 by Mr. Hayford. It is probable 
this house served for several years. 

Very soon after the incorporation of Canton the town 
was re-districted into school and highway divisions. Six 
school districts were laid out, and the sum of $200 raised for 
the maintainance of instruction. 

In 1825, there were 290 scholars in the town, according 
to a tax list of that date. Eight of these came from one 
family, that of Jacob Strout; while seven were sent from 
each of the following: Abiathar Austin's, Jonathan P.Ames', 
Fuller Dike's, Jabez Farrington's, Timothy Huntress', Sam- 
uel Holland's, Jacob Ludden's, John Parsons', John Sim- 
mons' and Ezekiel Treat's. These are the families that have 
perpetuated the stock of this hardy class of pioneers, and 
many of these "youngsters" proved themselves the worthy 
descendants of an honorable race. 


The present school building at Canton village was erected 
in 1881, to take the place of that erected ten years previous, 
but which had been burned in 1880. The house was nearly 
doubled in size during the last year, and it has now ample 
room to accommodate the high school, as well as the lower 
grades of the village school. The School League has done 
much toward decorating and furnishing the rooms at the 
Village and Point schools, each of which have a good library, 
book cases, etc. The league at the Point has purchased and 
paid for an organ this past winter, costing about $50. 

The course of study in the high school has been recently 
enlarged, and the school accepted as a standard school by 
the State. The number of pupils enrolled in the several 
schools of this town during the past school year is 201. 


Previous to the arrival of the railroad in this section 
there was little manufacturing of any commercial import- 
ance in Canton or Dixfield. The railroad bed leading from 
Mechanic Falls to Canton was graded by Francis 0. J.Smith 
before the breaking out of the rebellion, but no rails were 
laid until several years after its close. At that time this 
town gave bonds for |50,000 to have the road extended 
through to this place. It was constructed only to Buckfield 


at first and was operated as the Portland & Oxford Central 
R. R. In 1878 Ex-Gov. Washburn, S. C. Andrews, of Port- 
land, N. L. Marshall, of West Paris, and Otis Hayford, of 
Canton, purchased the bonds of this road and organized the 
Rumford Falls and Buckfield Railroad Co. They rebuiltand 
equipped the old road and extended the line through to Gil- 
bertvillethe same year. This was for some years known loc- 
ally as Smith's railroad. 

The road was later sold to the Portland & Rumford 
Falls R. R. Co., and, in 1892 the line extending from Canton 
to Rumford Falls was built and equipped. It was not until 
about 1899 that the branch from this village to Livermore 
Falls was constructed. 


CANTON GRANGE, NUMBER 110, P. of H., was or- 
ganized at Canton Feb. 20, 1875, with 34 charter members. 
This organization has a large hall, erected in 1897 at a cost 
of $3000. J. M. Holland was chosen the first master, and 
served two years. He has been succeeded by J. H. French, 
2 yrs; J. S. Mendall, 5 yrs. ; Gilson Mendall, 4 yrs. ; C. Pack- 
ard, 1 yr. ; John Manwell, 3 yrs. ; W. W. Rose, 5 yrs. ; A. F. 
Russell, 3 yrs.; E. R. Boothby, 1 yr. ; C. D. Leavitt, 4yr8. ; 
and 0. M. Richardson, 1 yr. The present master is A. F. 


Russell; other leading officers are: E, E. Caldwell, Over.; 
Mrs. L. O. Virgin, Lee. ; Mrs. C. W. Walker, See. ; C. W. 
Walker, Treas. ; and John Manwell, Chaplain. The organi- 
zation now numbers 220 members, and is one of the most 
successful and prosperous in the county. — Account furnished 
by Mrs. C. W. Walker, Sec. 

The fine new Odd Fellows Hall, erected the same year as 
the Grange Hall, contains a large Opera Hall below, seat- 
ing 300 people. The society rooms are on the second floor. 
The building is 40 by 80 feet on the ground, with the opera 
room 16 feet and the society hall 12 feet posts. The Odd 
Fellows society was organized Jan. 22, 1879 with seven 
members, and run for tw^enty-five years without losing one 
of these men, and all but one are yet living. A society of 
Rebekahs has been organized, and occupies the same 

ASSOCIATION has been in operation practically since 1884 
when the track near the railroad line was laid out and the 
grand stand, judges' stand and stalls erected ; this organi- 
zation however was not made until 1888. During the sum- 
mer of 1903 a large new grand stand was erected. The fair 
is held three days during September. J. W. Thompson, of 
Canton, was president of the Association for six years prior 
to the last election. The present officers are: Dr. A. L. Stan- 
wood, of Rumford Falls, Pres. ; O. M. Richardson, of Canton, 
Sec. ; and D. W. Goding, of East Peru, Treas. 




proprietors' record. 

Township No. 1, on the north side of the Androscoggin 
river was purchased by Col. Jonathan Eolman, of the Com- 
mittee for the sale of Eastern Lands, for himself and Asso- 
ciates, A. D. 1789; — which originated by a subscription, 
dated at Sutton, Massachusetts, June 26, 1789, as follows: 

We, the subscribers, agree to join in the purchase of the 
(ye) township or piece of land which Dr. Elijah Dix has ob- 
tained the refusal of until (tile) the fifth of July next, from 
the Court's Committee, according to their (its) proposal, 
dated the 20th inst, wherein they say they will sell to Messrs 
Holman and Waters, of Sutton, a tract of land lying on the 
north (side) of the Androscoggin River, and, we hereby 
agree and engage to pay for the quantity of land we sever- 
ally and respectively annex (annix) to our names, provided 
we can have a title to the same, in the tract of land de- 
scribed in said proposals of the Court's Committee accord- 
ing to said proposals. 

This tract of land was considered in the subscription for 
it, as divided into sixty (60) parts or rights, and the sub- 
scribers "annex to their names" are, two or more 60ths 



(sixtieths). After the first subscription, there were alter- 
ations in the quantity of land to some of the subscribers, so 
that on (at) the first of Dec, 1787, when there was a gen- 
eral liquidation of all expenses and accounts up to that day, 
they stood as follows: 

Stephen Stockwell 1 

Solomon Holman 1 

Peter Holman 1 

David Holman 1 

Samuel Bixby 1 

Samuel Goodell 1 

John Goodell 2 

Joshua Goodell 2 

Moody Severy 1 

Elijah Waters 1 

Ebenr. Chaplin 1 

Jonas Libby 1 

Stephen Prince 1 

John Pierce 1 

The following note was added: 

"N. B.: Although said purchase is said to originate in 
the foregoing subscription, yet the matter was negotiated 
about 2 years before; and Col. Holman, Dea. Waters, and 
Capt. Eliot, spent considerable time and expense, in Aug. 
and Sept., 1787, in looking out a township, and picked on 
part of the same land now purchased and bespoke (?) it of 
the Committee for the sale of Eastern Lands; and as a com- 
mittee from their Association, in Oct. 1787, went to the 
Committee to contract for it, but could not obtain." The 

Jonathan Holman 


Asa Waters 


Andrew Eliot 


Asa Goodell 


John Holland 


Samuel Small 


Aaron Pierce 


James Taylor 


Nathan Whitmore 


Gardner Waters 


Amos Trask 


Elijah Dix 


John Jacobs 


Jeremiah Robinson 



old Association was dissolved and the above entered into. 

"Col. Holman went to Boston and contracted for said 
tract of land July 2nd, 1789, and paid earnest towards it, 
for himself and others, £391 lis 9d in consolidated notes,— 
which contract and receipt of said earnest, as also the re- 
ceipts for £1,340 6s 6d more paid (the) the 17th of Deer, 
recned as paid at the first of Novr., and £10 Gs 3d premium 
(s) may be seen under hand of Leonard Jarvis, Esqr. which 
is on file." 

At the first proprietors' meeting, held Sept. 13, 1789, 
Eben Chaplin was chosen moderator and clerk. 9s on a 
right was raised toward defraying the charges of laying out 
the township, and Jonathan Holman, Dea. Asa Waters and 
Jeremiah Robinson were chosen a committee to perform the 
work. On Nov. 16, 1789, three rights were sold, one to 
each. Dr. Dix, Col. Holman, and John Pierce. 

The plan for the township was made by one Mr. Tit- 
comb, but the lots were laid out by the committee men- 
tioned before, of which we find Col. Holman and Mr. Robin- 
son, in 1790, were directed to "continue to lay out the land 
in 100 acre lots as far as the land will admit." The town- 
ship, which then contained the present towns of Dixfield and 
Mexico, was variously called "Township No. 1," "Andros- 
coggin Purchase No. 1," and "Holmanstown," until the in- 
corporation of Dixfield, June 21, 1803, the remainder re- 
taining the name of "Holmanstown" until incorporated the 
town of Mexico fifteen years later. It is said that Dr. Dix, 
who was a heavy land owner, but not a resident, bought 
the privilege of naming the town by the promise of present- 


ing: to the town a library. After the iDcorporation the 
settlers waited some time and receiving no library, men- 
tioned the subject to the busy Doctor; not long after an old 
trunk of second-hand books came to the eastern part of the 
town and constituted the Doctor's "library," 

The meetings of the proprietors were generally held at 
Sutton, that being the home of the greater number of the 
body. Their meetings were continued until Nov. 13, 1809, 
when, their management being no longer needed, the pro- 
prietary was brought to an end. 


Who was the first white man to enter the territory now 
incorporated within the town of Dixfield, or, indeed, who 
was the first to attempt to make for himself a home in this 
section we are not certain. Col, Jonathan Holman with two 
other men was here in August and September, 1787, and to 
this man is generally accorded the distinction of being the 
first permanent settler in Dixfield. The following informa- 
tion is furnished mostly by Mr. Henry Park, of Mexico, who 
has made the history of this town a study for many years. 

Peter, Jonathan and Ebenezer Holman were the sons of 
Col. Jonathan Holniau. These sons all came early to this 
township (which then included Mexico) of which their father 


had purchased seven of the sixty rights, and others were in 
the possession of the family. For many years the Bolmans 
were the most influential family in the township, their com- 
bined ownership of lands exceeding even that of Dr. Elijah 
Dix, who owned large tracts here, but never lived long in the 
town. Peter Holman settled near the center of the town, 
and erected the large Holman mansion at what is now Dix- 
field Center. Jonathan made his clearing one mile away 
toward East Dixfield, on the farm where John J. Towle's 
brick house was burned by being struck by lightning. Eben- 
ezer settled about a mile from the Center, on the road lead- 
ing to Dixfield village. Nathan Holman, of what connection 
with the above family we are not informed, was probably 
one of the earliest in town. He once owned a part of what 
is now Donald M. Torrey's farm, but where he first located 
we are unable to say. Solomon Holman, and David Hol- 
man, each owned one right in town. Jonathan, son of Peter 
Holman, was the first white child born in the town. 

Doubtless the first arrivals here lived in log houses for a 
few months, perhaps most of them for a few years, until the 
lumber could be prepared for erecting framed houses. Dr. 
Dix erected the first frame house in the township, which was 
none other than a portion of the present hotel, formerly 
known as the "Old Yellow House." 

John Stockbridge was one of the first to build his cabin 
in the town. He lived on the plains north of the village. 
He was a selectman, and one of the leading spirits for sev- 
eral years, before removing to Byron, where he settled what 
became known as "Stockbridge Hill." His son, William, 


erected the second frame house in Dixfield village. 

The Severys were probably among the first, if not the 
first to settle in the vicinity of East Dixfield. Warren Severy 
has said that his father felled the first trees that were cnt on 
Severy Hill, within a mile and a half of East Dixfield village. 
The earliest comers generally selected the hills and ridges for 
their first clearings. Warren Severy, the last of his genera- 
tion of Severys, is now nearly seventy-nine years old. His 
grandfather was a soldier in Washington's army, enlisting 
from Sutton, Mass. Four of his sons, Asa, Aaron, Archi- 
bald and Samuel, settled in Dixfield in 1795, and a daughter, 
Ruth, who came with the boys, married Henry King, from 
which union came the Severy Hill Kings. Lieut. Solomon 
Leland settled in East Dixfield. He was several years town 
selectman, and was sent a delegate to Portland to help form 
the Constitution for the new State, in 1819. Isaac Park, 
father of Henry, settled on Severy Hill, but in 1834 removed 
to Dixfield village. Moses Park located near the center of 
the town. He was an early mill man and lived for a few 
years in the village. Lieut. Caleb Park was another early 
settler here. William Eddy settled on Severy Hill, near the 
Leland settlement. Gen. John Holland settled on the River 
road, three miles toward Canton village, on the farm now 
occupied by Robert Roed. He served as town clerk for many 
years. Capt. Amos Trask settled the Frank White place. 
He operated the "Old Yellow House" as a tavern lor several 

Daniel Torrey settled on the River road, two miles below 
Gen. Holland's. Antipas Holland probably lived on the 


same farm as Gen, Holland. Simeon Newton lived four 
miles from the village, on the Newton Brook meadow. Levi 
and Jacob Newton both lived near the center of the town. 
Joseph Mitchell's home was two and a half miles north of 
the village, on the Weld road. Asa Axtell, who was an 
important man in the early town, settled near the Jay (now 
Canton) line. The Howards lived four miles below the vil- 
lage. Joseph Wheeler settled at the lower end of the village, 
on the site nbw occupied by Levi Humphrey's house. He 
was an early constable, and a trial justice. 

The following are the names of other men who were 
among the early comers here, and to w hom is due the credit 
of helping to establish and form a flourishing township in 
the midst of the wilds of Maine, during the days when this local- 
ity was only approachable by water,or by spotted line through 
an unbroken forest, and when the hardships of pioneer life were 
borne with patience and fortitude by the noble men and 
women who have labored that the succeeding generations 
might inherit homes and liberties in a free laud. Oliver Put- 
nam, Jonathan Morse, John Gould, Aaron Barton, Andrew 
Elliot, Elijah Daisy, John Marble, John Moore, William 
Wait, Israel Richmond, Esq., Holmes Thomas, Bartholomew 
Hutchinson, Gardner Brown. 

Jot) Hathaway and Elisha Park were doubtless the first 
mill owners; Silas Leonard, Chas. L. Eustis, and "Old" Sam 
Parks were other early mill men. They will be mentioned 
under industries. Col. Samuel Morrill opened the first tav- 
ern in 1827; Gen. Henry Farwell was the first lawyer; and 
Drs. Chaplin and White, the first practicing physicians 
located in town. 




In the year of Our Lord one thousand ei^ht hundred and 
three. An act to incorporate the easterly part of a tract of 
land in the County of Cumberland which was granted to 
Jonathan Holman & others on the north side of Andrew- 
scogging river, with the inhabitants thereon into a town by 
the name of Dixfield. 

Section I. Be it enacted by the senate and House of Rep- 
resentatives in General Court assembled and by the author- 
ity of the same that the hereafter discribed laud within the 
following bounds(viz) : beginning at the westerly line of Jay 
on the north bank of the Andrewscogging river ; thence run- 
ning north forty degrees east, by said Jay six miles, to a beach 
tree; thence running north sixty -eight degrees west partly 
by Tyngtown (Wilton) and partly by land sold by this 
Commonwealth to Messrs Phillips & Abbot and others(now 
Carthage) eight miles or until it comes to the center of 
Webb's river ; thence running southerly through the center 
of said Webb's river about six miles and until it comes to 
Andrewscogging river; thence running easterly by said An- 
drewscogging river about six miles or until it comes to the 
west line of Jay (now Canton), being the bounds first 
mentioned, with the inhabitants thereon be and the same 
hereby are incorporated into a town by the NAME OF DIX- 


Section II. And be it further enacted that the minister- 
ial and school lands which were granted by this Common- 
wealth and that the aforesaid grant of land shall be divided 
between the said town of Dixfield and the remaining part of 
said tract lying westerly of said town in equal proportion 
according to the quantity of land contained in said town 
and the remaining tract laying westerly there of. 

This act was approved hy the Governor, Caleb Strong, 
June 21, 1803, the day before the act incorporating the town 
of Wilton was signed. 

The first warrant for a town meeting in Dixfield was is- 
sued by William Livermore, one of the leading men of that 
part of Jay that afterwards became Canton. This warrant 
was issued March 1, 1804, directed to Capt. John Holland, 
summoning the legal voters of the town to meet at Levi 
Newton's dwelling house on the twelfth of the month. 

At the first town meeting, held in accordance with this 
warrant, Capt. Holland was chosen moderator of the meet- 
ing, and Capt. Amos Trask was chosen town clerk. Five 
selectmen were elected, viz: Lieut. Caleb Park, Capt. John 
Holland, Lieut. John Stockbridge, Lieut. Solomon Leland, 
and Mr. Gardner Brown. Joseph Wheeler was made con- 
stable, and chosen collector, collection to be made @ 5%. 

At a special meeting held during the following September 
the road leading from the Jay line to "Dr. Dixes' Mills" was 
accepted as a town road ; this is now the "river road" lead- 
ing to Canton village. 

For several years after the incorporation of this town 
proper returns of the warrants ior the meetings were not 


made nor recorded, and it was discovered that all transac- 
tions of the town up to 1815 were illegal, but by special act 
of legislature, passed that year, they were rendered valid, 
with the records thereof. 



1850, Isaac N. Stanley; 1851-'60, John J. Holman; 
1861-'76, Geo. S. Holman; 1877-'99, Emerson Waite;1900- 
'05, Geo. P. Stanley. 


1850, Isaac N. Stanley; 1851-'53, Chas. W. Walton; 
1854-'59, Elijah Holman; 1860-'62, Walter S. Chase; 1863- 
'67, Stephen E. Griffith; 1868-'72, Hiram M. Cox; 1873-'75, 
S. E. Griffith; 1876-'78, H. 0. Stanley; 1879, L. H. Ludden; 
1880, Manderville Holman; 1881-'91, Geo. Holt; 1892-98, 
C. L. Dillingham; 1899-1900, J. P. Johnston; 1901, M. 
Holman; 1902-'05, J. P. Johnston. 


1850— Thos. S. Cox, Caleb Delano, Isaac Waite. 
1851-'2 — John J. Holman, Isaac Randall, Caleb Delano. 
1853— Caleb Delano, Ephraim Marble, Aaron Severy, Jr. 
1854— John J. Holman, Aaron Severy, Jr., Isaac Parks. 


1855— Calvin Stanley, John T, Severy, Caleb Marsh. 

1856 — Calvin Stanley, John J. Holman, Ira Leland. 

1857— Thomas J. Cox, John J. Holman, Ira Leland. 

1858— Thomas J. Cox, Cyprus Eustis, John S. Ludden. 

1859— Thomas J. Cox, Raude White, Gustavus Hiscock. 

1860 — John H. Marble, Sewall Dunn, John J. Holman. 

1861— John J. Holman, Calvin Stanley, Sewall Dunn. 

1862 — Calvin Stanley, John J. Holman, John Hasley. 

1863-'4 — Thomas J. Cox, Sewall Dunn, John Hasley. 

1865-6— Luther H. Ludden, John J. Holman, Sewall 

1867-'9— L. H. Ludden, John J. Holman, Gustavus 

1870 — L. H. Ludden, Gustavus Hiscock, Sewall Dunn. 

1871— L. H. Ludden, G. Hiscock, M. Holman. 

1872— Geo. S. Holman, C. W. Eustis, A. H. Blake. 

1873-'5— Geo. S. Holman, H. M. Cox, M. Holman. 

1876-'7-S. E. Griffith, W. W. White, A. L. Douglass. 

1878— S. E. Griffith, D. F. Newton, E. Whittemore. 

1879-'80-Geo. H. Newman, C. D. Marble, J. M. Ludden. 

1881-'82— Frank Starley, G. Hiscock, John J.Towle, Jr. 

1883-86— F. Stanley, G. Hiscock, Emerson Waite. 

1887-'89— F. Stanley, A. Holman, E. Waite. 

1890-'91— John S. Harlow, A. Holman, J. M. Holland. 
, 1892— J. S. Harlow, M. Holman, Henry C. Smith. 

1893— J. S. Harlow, H. C. Smith, Wm. M. Kidder. 

1894— Philetus Torrey, H. C. Smith, Willis W. Waite. 

1895-'98— W. W. Waite, Albion Holman, E. Waite. 

1899-1900— C. L. Dillingham, A. Holman, E. Waite. 

1901-'05— W. W. Waite, A. Holman, W. E. Towle. 

Road Commissioner, 1905, Ira 0. Babb. 



The first industry of a mechanical nature that demand- 
ed the attention of the settlers in the back towns of Maine, 
and in fact in almost any locality, was the manufacture of 
lumber, and the construction of ^rist mills for preparing 
flour from the wheat and corn which they generally raised 
on the first clearings. Where the first mill established in 
town was located we are unable to say, but believe it must 
have been that built by Elisha Park, in the center of the 
town, on Newton Brook. Job Hathaway built the first mill 
at East Dixfield, according to the best authority Mr. Henry 
Park is able to find. He also states that mills were erected 
early in 1800, some at the villaoe, and one a mile above the 
village. Among the earliest owners of these were Silas Leon- 
ard, Chas. L. Eustis, and "Old" Sam Parks; it is probable 
that they constructed the mills. The model mill at the be- 
ginning of the nineteenth century combined both an up-and- 
down saw and a set of stones for bolting meal and grinding 
flour. These were sometimes owned in shares by the men of 
the neighborhood, and were operated by them for a length 
of time commensurate to the value of their several shares. 
The amount of business done by these early mills, many of 
them having been operated by different parties down to the 
present time, has been such as to create a great deal of ac- 
tivity in the place. Gradually the system has become 
changed until to-day most of the manufacturing is carried 


on in or near Dixfield village where shipment may be easily 

C. P. Howe's grist and wool-carding mill occupies an old 
mill site on Webb's river at the village. Here at one time 
the American Kake Co. manufactured large quantities of 
hay rakes. The wool-carding machinery was put in nine- 
teen years ago when $500 worth of business was done in 
carding alone; now scarcely |50 worth of business is done 
annually. The grist business has also changed; now there 
is very little custom grinding. Corn and feed is bought and 
shipped from the West, and is ground and sold to the con- 
sumers. One carload of corn is handled a week in winter, 
besides other feed. The summer trade is not so heavy. 

W. E. Putnam's house furnishing and lumber mill occu- 
pies another old mill site, just back of the grist mill. This 
was the location of the old clover-mill, which was burned 
some years ago. W. F. Putnam established the present 
business 25 years ago and operated it alone until the com- 
pany became W. F. Putnam & Son, in 1891. In 1901 W. E. 
Putnam, the son, bought entire control of the business in 
May; the founder died the following August. Mr. Putnam 
has put out as much as 150,000 feet of lumber annually, he 
now employs 2 or 3 men. 

H. G. Thayer's saw mill is on the site that has been oc- 
cupied by a saw mill for, perhaps, a century. Here Hosea 
Austin sawed lumber up to the time of his death in 1881. 
Then it was operated by Chase & Willoughby, and later by 
Mrs. (L. C.) Willoughby, who sold to Mr. Thayer six years 
ago. Mr. Thayer sawed 3,000,000 feet of pine for the Berlin 


Mills Co. last summer, and 1,500,000 feet at his portable 
mill. During the summer he employed 25 men, after Octo- 
ber 1, the crew numbers about 15 men. This is a long 
lumber, and planer mill. 

The manufacture of spools, toothpicks, and novelties 
has become an important source of income in this village. 
In 1890 the U. S. Spool & Shuttle Co., who were operating a 
spool mill here, sold the plant to G. L. Merrill & Co., who 
operated the business until January, 1903, when they sold 
to the present operator, N. S. Stowell. Mr. Stowell erected 
the Harlow Mill in 1903, thereby doubling the capacity of 
the business. He now employs about 90 hands and is doing 
a flourishing business. 

The N. S. Stowell Co., a concern consisting of N. S. 
Stowell and Geo. Walters, was incorporated last October. 
They manufacture novelties of all kinds, in the lower story 
of Mr. Stowell's new building, and employ twenty men. 

The toothpick factory which is now operated as the 
Estate of Chas. Forster, 0. H. Hersey, trustee, is located on 
the Mexico side of Webb's river, but is practically a Dixfleld 
industry. The mill which occupied this site for many years, 
and which had been occupied for this business for some 
time, was burned Jan. 5, 1904. It was immediately rebuilt, 
and operations were begun in the new mill August 15, 1904. 
One hundred hands, about half of whom are women, are 
employed here. 100 cases, each containing 100 boxes of 
1800 picks, are manufactured per day. 

The Forster Manufacturing Co., incorporated March 30, 
1904, and consisting of M. W. Forster, John S. Harlow, and 


Geo. L. Merrill, was formed for carrying on a general manu- 
facturing business of wooden articles, principally tooth- 
picks. A mill building, 37 feet wide and 125 feet long, was 
built during the summer and fall of 1904. Also a fire proof 
engine house, of bric.k and iron, was constructed and 
equipped with 200 h p steam capacity. Toothpick manu- 
facturing was begun the middle of Dec, ] 904. Additions 
will be made of a building 160 feet long this coming sum- 
mer, also a small office building and k large machine shop. 
This concern now employs 35 to 40 hands, which number 
will soon be increased to 50, and a further increase in the 
fall will bring the number to from 75 to 100. One-half car- 
load per week is the present shipment, this is to be increased 
to a carload weekly, next fall. The product is sold through- 
out the United States and Canada by the agency of travel- 
ing salesmen. 

Burnham & Morrill Co., Incorporated, erected their corn 
factory on Third street about 1888. They can corn exclu- 
sively, having a capacity for 35,000 cans per day. An acre- 
age of from 225 to 275 acres, largely in Dixfield, is planted 
for their use annually, making considerable business in the 
agricultural section of the town. Seventy -five hands are 
employed for about five weeks during packing time in Sept. 
and Oct., and from 15 to 20 hands for two months longer 
labeling. They also manufacture the cans used, which re- 
quires the labor of seven hands for about four months 
during the winter. 

Besides the large crops of sweet corn for the canning 
factory, considerable attention is given to agriculture. 


Most of the land in town is hilly but productive, while there 
are some smooth, level valley lands, and several excellent 
farms. Many farmers give considerable attention to dairy- 
ing, and keep some fine dairy stock. 

This place has become known in the sporting world as 
the home of Henry 0. Stanley, one of the fish and game 
commissioners of the state, Mr. Stanley is also interested 
in the manufacture of flies and fishing-tackle which he began 
about the time he was first appointed fish and game com- 
missioner, thirty-two years ago. His son, George Stanley, 
is now connected with the business, which is carried on 
under the name of H. 0. Stanley & Son. They manufacture 
fifteen or eighteen distinct varieties of "Rangely Spinners," 
of which they produced and sold 100,000 doz. in 1904. 
These they sell entirely to wholesale dealers, including Iver 
Johnson and The Lovell Arms Co. 


The military record of this town begins with the war of 
1812, although a few of its pioneers were veterans of the 
Revolution, Col. Jonathan Holman having served as a captain 
in the French and Indian wars, and Colonel in the Revolution. 
In the war of the Rebellion the part taken by^the citizens of 
this town was a credit to the fathers of the pioneer stock, 
and a glory to the men who so nobly went to the front to 


fij^ht and die, if need be, for the preservation of the Union. 

The following list we have carefully compiled from the 
Adjutant General's reports of the enlistments from Maine. 
We believe the list will be found to be nearly if not quite 

Reuben Andrews, Chelsea C. Abbott, Reuben Anderson, 
Melville H. Andrews, Henry F. Bent, Nelson R. Brown, Chas. 
Brown, Geo. Brown, Alonzo Brown, Wm. G.Brown, Leonard 
F. Blackwell, Henry F. Bent, Columbus Bancroft, Mark Bev- 
erly, Corp'l Roscoe Cooledge, Alonzo Coolidge, Sam'l Clark, 
Gerry E. Coolidge, Thos. C. Cogswell, Henr^^ W. Dunn, Rufus R. 
Dunn,Wm. H Davis, Sam'l W.Doble, musician, John H. Do- 
ble, Geo. F. Drown, Brainbridge Dillingham, Bertrand Dilling- 
ham, Humphrey E. Eustis, Holland F. Eastman, Lorenzo S. 
Fish, Ferdinand G.Gray, Carleton T.Gleason,Jas. Glines, Pe- 
ter Holman, Chas. Hampton, Isaac W. Hopkins, Fairfield J. 
Holman, Jas. Hubbard, John Hasley, Lieut. Rawson Hol- 
man, musician, Horace Holman, Asa Holman, Marion Hol- 
man, Thos. J. Hunnaford, Abijah D. Hunnaford, Chas. L. 
Holland, Ira D. Jones, Alburn C. King, Harrison Knight, 
Chas. H. Kidder, Adelbert Kidder, John Kidder, John F. 
Libby, Wm. McCutcheon, Jeremiah McCarty, Geo. Mitchell, 
David Mclntire, Edw. R. Norcross, band leader, Albert L. 
Newton, Chas. M. Newton, Orison R. Newton, Leonard W. 
Numan, Dan'l E. O'Brien, Silas H. Park, Elmore S. I'helps, 
Stephen H. Parks, Hiram J. Pratt, Columbus C.Richardson, 
Oliver C. Redding, Christopher C. Richardson, Lieut. Jacob 
Reed, Gardiner F. Rundlett, W. H. Randall, Geo. E. Smith, 
Eben D. Severy, Wm. H. Small, Issachar Stockbridge, Cor- 


nelius D. Stockbridge, Sylvander H. Thomas, Corp'l Henry 
C. Tucker, Corp'l Jas. M. Virgin, Isaac G. Virgin, Lieut. Har- 
risoQ B. Winter, Chas. A, Waite, Serg't Manville Waite, 
Corp'l Hawson B. Winter, Corp'l Jotham S. Whaler, Corp'l 
Elisha Winter, Capt, Elnathan L. Wright, Jotham S. 
Wheeler, Barnard H. White, Dan'l O. Warren, Wm. J. 
Wheeler, Geo. W. White, Hiram K. Washburn, Andrew Wins- 
low, Lorenzo Wait, Granville Wait, Jas. A. Yeaton. 


Wm. S. Clark, Marshall H. Flagg, Aurelius Gray, Les- 
more D. Kidder, Wallace Levery, Gilbert Newton, Scott 
Newman, Orrison Reed, Lyman Randall, Henry Townsend, 
Oliver Wright. 


Concerning the early church in Dixfield, we have learned 
nothing, Previous to the year 1810 it was the custom that 
the Parish church should be maintained at the expense ot the 
town, and provided with a meeting house by the same organ- 
ization. In the case of the Proprietary, certain lands were 
to be reserved and certain provisions made for the establish- 
ment and raaintainance of the public worship of God, but 
the course followed in this town, or who were the early pro- 
mulgators of Gospel truths, we are unable to say. 


Mr. Park informs us that C. L. Eustis erected a chapel 
here about 1846 or '48, in which the Congre^ationalists and 
Methodists held services for many years. Rev. Mr. Libbey 
and Rev. Mr. Mason, local preachers, presided over this 
church, and Rev. Wm. R. Jordan preached in this house for 
many years; he then went to Andover, then to Chapman, 
Kansas, where he died. 


The early affairs of the Universalist church in the village 
are also a blank to us, although we have endeavored to learn 
when the present church was erected, and when the organi- 
zation was formed. 

The last three pastors here have been Rev. E. W. Webber, 
Rev. Manley B. Townseud, and Rev. Stanford Mitchell, who 
began his services in March, 1903. He resides at Rumford 
Falls. This stately and substantial old church edifice was 
extensively remodeled during Rev. Mr. Townsend's pastor- 
ate. The audience room was then newly frescoed, painted 
and carpeted, and a new entrance was added to the front. 
The membership of this society at the present time is about 
25. There is also a parish organization, with a membership 
of 27, whose duty it is to look after the financial affairs of 
the church. 


At the little village of East Dixfield, situated partly in 
this town and partly in the town of Wilton, (the town line 
following the middle of Main street) is the church edifice of 


the East Dixfield Free Baptist society. This society dates 
back to 1864, Sept. 29th, when organization was made by 
sixteen citizens. L. W. Raymond, now the successful pastor, 
was one of the foremost movers in organizing the church, 
and became one of the two first deacons. He was also 
instrumental in building the church edifice, which was erected 
four years later. 

Rev. Roger Ela was installed pastor at the time of organ- 
ization; he has been followed in that office by the following 

men: Revs. J. S. Staples, 1867-'68; G. W. Gould, 1873; 

Rev. Mr. Cutting, 1875; Rev. G. W. Gould, second term; 

Dexter Waterman, 1877 , S. P. Morrill, 1878 ; David 

Allen, 1881 ; F. Starbird, 1882-'89; O. Roys, 1889-'90; 

W. W. Carver, 1891-'92; L. S. Williams, 1892; Geo. H. 
Hamlin, 1892; G. W. Gould, third term, 1893-'95; L. H. 
Metcalf, 1897-'99; F. Starbird, second term, 1899-1900; J. 
P. Barrett, 1901-'04; L. W. Raymond, 1904, to the present 
time. Since his early days in this chuich,Rev. Mr, Raymond 
has been doing successful work in the gospel ministry, hav- 
ing filled pastorates at Harrison, Me., Lowell, Mass., Fair- 
field, N. Y. and other churches of this denomination, 

A chapel was erected at Dixfield Centre, in 1896, since 
which time the pastors of this church have also held regular 
services at that village, 


The Free Baptist Church in Dixfield village dates back to 
the winter of 1899-1900, when Rev, Edgar V. Wheeler, a 
Church of God preacher, held a series of revival services here 


in the Grange hall, in connection with the Methodists. Mr. 
Wheeler died March 1, 1901, after the erection of a church 
had been begun. Rev. M. Holman then occupied the pulpit, 
preaching alternately with Rev. V. Hannaford, the Metho- 
dist pastor at Rumford Falls. Mr. Hannaford was later 
succeeded by Rev. Mr. Purington, who continued to supply 
the pulpit for this people every other Sabbath. It being 
more desirable to have the people united under one pastor, 
the Free Baptists purchased of the Church of God people, the 
partially constructed church edifice, and under Rev. Mr. 
Holman, the Methodists and Free Baptists were amicably 
united and the Free Baptist Society organized Feb. 27, 
1903, with 14 members. Mrs. Julia Holman Jones was 
chosen clerk, and Thos. A. Wyman, treasurer: he was, 
March 30, 1904, chosen deacon. Rev. Mr. Holman was suc- 
ceeded by the present pastor, Rev. T. H. Scammon, and the 
little church is progressing. We trust she has before her a 
long and useful career. 


The early schools of Dixfield, like those of other Maine 
towns, were established under the most adverse circumstan- 
ces, but were, nevertheless, established upon a basis that has 
proven a firm foundation for educational advancement. At 


a town meeting held in April, after the incorporation of the 
town, a vote was taken appointing the board of selectmen a 
committee to divide the town into school districts, and to 
raise the sum of $120 for the support of schools throughout 
the town. This sum, for the time, was a liberal one, and the 
few weeks of instruction which it gave the youths of the 
town were of inestimable value to them, although their at- 
tention was not always given bo study during school hours. 
We cannot do better than to cast a glance toward the 
typical common schools of Maine during the early days. 
Even as soon as our forefathers, almost always of Puritani- 
cal extraction, had located themselves in the forest of the 
Pine Tree State and begun their efforts of erecting meeting- 
houses, they made provision lor common schools. They, in 
common with us of to-day, considered education the bulwark 
of our institutions, the institutions for the establishment of 
which they had fought and bled. They knew, therefore, 
better than we, how much depended upon the proper guid- 
ance of the newly established government. They saw their 
liberties and prosperity wrapped up in the new government 
which Washington had said was "one to-day and thirteen 
tomorrow." Is it a strange thing that these men who so 
well understood the significance of these trying years, should 
so thoroughly grasp at the thought that in the education of 
the masses lay their only hope of ultimate success? No, they^ 
saw well their duty, and as pioneers prepared to meet it. A 
room in the little log cabin became the university of the 
wilderness, and, humble as were the first efforts, mighty 
results came from them. From out of these rough, low- 



roofed structures walked men who were to meet the repre- 
sentatives of the courts of Europe on the battlefield, in diplo- 
macy, and in scores of other capacities from which they 
emerged unscathed. This system went on until it became 
almost a necessary thing for a man to reach the president's 
chair that he be able to present a career begun in the " little 
red school-house" in the back-woods hamlet. It was not 
that the people loved wealth and culture less, but that they 
loved the more the homely virtues inspired by the healthy 
atmosphere of the country. As we look back to-day over 
the progress of our school system, we dwell with pride upon 
the record it has made. But this system, like all others, 
was expected to advance and it has advanced. The town of 
DixfieldhaSjin common with other towns, reared thehomely 
structures on the hillsides and at the crossroads, hired male 
teachers at from |10 to |15 per month, and female teachers 
at 75 cents to $1.50 a week, and this with the "board 
round" provision. 

The report of the school superintendent for last fall's 
sessions shows an attendance on the town schools of 176 
pupils. These are divided among the graded village school 
and the six rural schools. Carl Holinan, the principal of the 
high school succeeded Mr. Ormsby, who remained two or 
three years. There are also grammar and primary grades 
at the village, where all the sessions are held in the brick 
academy building on Weld, erected about twenty years ago. 
The names of the other schools in town are the Center, which 
is the largest outside of the village, Severy Hill, Torrey, 
Lancaster, Towle and Paul. 


The school committee for 1905, consists of E. E. Hol- 
man, Albion Douglass, and Don. A. Gates. Carl Holman, 
the principal of the high school, is the school supervisor. 


Few villages the size of Dixfield, present so many beauti- 
ful buildings as may be seen here. 

Harlow block, located on the corner of Main and Weld 
streets, is one of the finest business blocks in the county. 
This is a brick structure, erected by E. G. Harlow, in 1878, 
and finished the following summer. It is 100x50 feet on the 
ground, and three stories high, and was intended for a hotel, 
with a store in the west end, a bank on the corner, and the 
third story for an Odd Fellows' Hall. The latter was occu- 
pied as such for ten years. The ground floor is now occu- 
pied by W. G. Harlow's dry goods and clothing stores in the 
west end, J.S.Harlow's law office on the corner, the Forster 
Mfg. Co.'s office, a barber shop and the Universalist Ladies' 
Aid Society's dining rooms and kitchen. The second floor is 
used for tenements, and a large hall on the third floor is 
used by the Mechanics. 

The beautiful new Odd Fellows' Block was erected in 
1903, replacing their hall which had been burned in Feb. 
1901. The present hall cost |5,000. The first floor is occu- 


pied by the Tuscan Opera House, which seats 400 people 
and is finely finished. Tuscan Lodge, I. 0. O. F. was organ- 
ized in 1877, and for many years occupied the hall in the 
Harlow block. 


Mount Sugar Loaf Grange, Number 111, was organized 
at Dixfield village, Feb. 20, 1875, with thirty members. 
Isaac Randall was made the first master and has been fol- 
lowed in this office successively by Marion Holman, Wm. T. 
Eustis, Marion Holman, G. H. Newman, Alex. Holman, Sew- 
ell Goff, B. W. Elliott, O. M. Howard, Warren Petteugill, E. 
F. Gould, P. W. Torrey, W. M. White, N. A Babb, W. V. 
Tainter, W. M. White, J. S. Maxwell, A. K. P. Berry, and W. 
M. White, a third time. The Grange Hall, located on the 
corner of Main and Third streets, was built by the organiza- 
tion in 1879, costing f 2,000. The society is now in most 
successful operation, with 134 members. The leading 
officers for the present year are: Mrs. N. A. Babb, master; 
Klaus K. Brackett, over.; Mrs, Flora Pease, lee; Mrs. Ava 
Eastman, sec; Marion Holman, treas.; and Mrs. Annie Tor- 
rey, chaplain,— Account furnished by Mrs. N, A, Babb, 

Mjstic Valley Grange, Number 313, was organized at 
East Dixfield, March 29, 1892, with seventeen charter mem- 
bers. W. D, Adams was chosen the first master, in which 


oflBce he has been succeeded by N. H. Campbell, W. D. Camp- 
bell, A. R. Coolidge, W. W. Adams, Mame Casey, and the 
present incumbent, W. W. Rollins. The other leading oflS- 
cers for 1905 are; W. F. Holman, over.; W. F. Allen, lee; 
W. W. Adams, sec; Hattie Prescott, treas.; and Phcebe 
Knapp, chaplain. 

This society has had a steady, strong growth, the mem- 
bership having increased to 125, and the financial standing 
of the order has become well established. The Grange Hall 
was erected in 1902, at a cost of $1,600.00. This is thirty 
by sixty feet, and is well finished and furnished. The main 
hall is provided with 220 chairs, hanging lamps, and a new 
Weaver organ. The dining room and kitchen are well fitted 
up. The membership is harmonious and progressive, doing 
much for the advancement of the interests of the patrons of 
the order.— Account furnished by N. H. Campbell. 

The following account was received to late to be inserted 
in the chapter on Church Affairs. 


This church society was organized on Sept. 5, 1822, 
when the following sixteen men and women formed them- 
selves into a religious body: Wm. French, Alanson Cary, 
Zeri Hayford, Timothy Huntress, Allen Sturtevant, Moses 
Parson, Elizabeth Austin, Ruth Jewett, Polly Huntress, 


Abagail Hayford, Sally Hay ford, Sophronia Brett, Lydia 
Hayford, Alvira Hayford, Susan Austin, and Betsey Stur- 
tevant. Rev. Daniel Hutchinson became the first pastor of 
the church. Previous to this organization, formed soon 
after the separation of this town from Jay, the Baptists of 
this locality had belonged to the First Parish church of that 
town, where a society had been formed as early as 1799. 
This society worshipped in the old first church, built on Jay 
Hill, aad after 1809 in the building which forms the present 
Jay town house. The early meetings in Canton were held in 
schoolhouses or private homes for many years. In 1852 
the present church edifice was erected, and was dedicated 
October 6, that year, the sermon being preached by Elder 
Nutter, of Livermore. The succession of pastors who have 
settled over this church is as follows: — Rev. Daniel Hutchin- 
son, Rev. Levi Burnham, Rev. M. Lawrence, Rev. Sumner 
Estes, Rev. Mr. Foss, Rev. N. Whittemore, Rev. Carlton 
Parker, Rev. D. C. Dixby, Rev. A. C. Herrick, Rev. Asa Gould, 
Rev. W. H. Ventres, Rev. Joseph M. Long, Rev. J. C. 
Andrews, Rev. H. M. Purrington, Rev. Henry G. Clark, Rev. 
W. C. Wescott, and W. R. Redden as supply. At the present 
time the church is without a settled pastor, the pulpit being 
supplied by students from the Cobb Divinity School, Lewis- 


The population ol the towns of Canton and Dixfleld has 
been arranged in families where that arrangement has been 
possible. In these families, in addition to the resident 
living members, the names of the non-resident members 
are included. It should be borne in mind that i^his plan 
does not include the names of all former residents of this 
town, as the names of the non-residents appear only when 
one or both of the parents are still living in the town. After 
the name of each non-resident will be found the present 
address, when such address has been given to us. Non-resi- 
dents are indicated by the (*). 

When a daughter in a family has married, her name 
taken in marriage appears after her given name in parenthe- 
sis, the name preceded by a small m, thus: (m ). 

Following the names of the population is the occu- 
pation, postofRce address, or rural free delivery route. To 
designate the occupations we have used the more common 
abbreviations and contractions, as lollows: Farmer — lar; 
carpenter— car; railroad service — R K ser; student, a member 
of an advanced institution of learning — stu; pupil, a member 
of a lower grade of schools (including all who have reached 
the age of five years)— pi; housework— ho; laborer— lab; 
physician and surgeon— phy & sur; clergyman — clerg; mer- 
chant— mer; teacher — tr; blacksmith— blk; clerk — cl; book- 
keeper— bk kpr; lawyer— law; mechanic-mech; machinist- 
mach; engineer-eng; maker— mkr; worker — wkr; work — wk; 
shoe shop work— shoe op; cotton or woolen mill operatives 
— mill op; weaver — weav; spinner — spin; electrician — elec; 
painter — ptr; carriage work — car w^k; dress maker — dr mkr; 
insurance— ins; traveling salesman, or commercial traveler — 
sales, or coml trav; music teacher — mus tr; teamster— team. 

This Census was taken expressly for this work during 
the winter and spring of 1905, by Rev. B. V. Davis, of Kent's 
Hill, Me. 

Geo. L. Wadlin Sc Co. 


Heavy and Shelf Hardware 

Stoves, Ranges & Furnaces, 

Builders' k iwcKscmTHS' Iupplies. 

Also Dealers in 

Watches, Clocks and Jewelry. 

Carpia^es^ liapnc$$c$ and 

Hopse Outfits. 



RuMFORD Falls, 





Where address is not given, Canton P. O. is understood. 
The following abbreviations designate other addresses: 

Canton Point— Point; Canton, K F D 1— No 1; Gilbert- 
ville — Gil; Meadowview — M V; North Livermore— No Liv; 
Livermore Falls— L Falls. 


John B stu 
Sadie E stu 

Abbott, Luther C retc 


Isabel J pl 

Martha J (Field 


G Merle pl 
Alden, Amos A far No Liv 

*Harold L 


Nellie (Catlin ho 



Flora M 

Adkins, William E 


Jessie E 

Dora L (Timberlake 


John A 

*Maud E (m Sanders ho 

Allen, E W mus'l goods 
25 Pleas 

Vera E (m Dailey 
Yerna M (m Smith 


*Wallace L eng 
Mechanic Falls 

Forrest H 


Alley, Eunice D ho & dr mkr 

Mildred R 


Arseneault, Joun lab 

Delbert E pi 
Adkins, Eldon H far No 1 

Ella A (Adkins ho 
Adkins, Hannah P (Dailey ho 
Adkins, Geo D car 

Madalene (Deroche ho 
Josephine (m Henry ho 
Katie (m Chason ho 
Henry tannery 

Julia A (Man well 


Andrews, Anna ho Point 

•Chester W Lynn, 


*Ralph B far 

sole leather shop 

No Woodstock 



*Eut?ene W s s wk 

Mo u tell o, Mass 

Frank far 

Andrews, Bernard far Point 
Guy B L pi 

Vira B pi 

Bertie W pi 

Aursenault, Reuben 

cont & lumb 
Mary (Roux ho 


Babiuo, Anthony sec hd Gil 
Sarah (Henry ho 

Frank lab 

Mary C pi 

Bacon, H E fore pulp mill yd 

Eleanor A pi 

Ruth E pi 

Elsie M (Campbell ho 

Vera M pi 

Bailey, Sarah J ho 

Bailey, W H livery stable 

•Gertrude (m Stevens ho 

Mattapan, Mass 

Barker, Abbie M (Decoster ho 
Zedah C ho 

Jasper S millman 

Barker, Geo B car 

Fremont G pi 

Barker, J S millman Gil 
Abbie B (Stanley ho 

Barrett, G W tannery Gil 
Bridg:et (Reardon ho 

*Joanua (m Davis 

Rumford Falls 
Rosanna ho 

Geo W tannery 

William H tannery 

John F pi 

Mary L pi 

Joseph N pi 

James L 
Walston S 

Barrieault, Anthony pulp mill 

*Nora (m Henry Riley 
Ida ho 

Clara pi 

Hattie pi 

David pi 

Virginia pi 

Priscilla pi 


Barrows, Elizabeth D (Hafford 
Melvina H (m Decoster ho 

Barrows, Ronello A far 

Ida F (Blanchard ho 

Clara M nurse 

Geo B lab 

Jennie M stu 

Bartlett, Fred C far 


Bartlett. W C tool kpr Gil 
Estella M (Lucas ho 

Ella M pi 



Hattie S pi 

Carrie E pi 

Bartlett, Eunice W (Parsons 

Bassett, Susan (Bryant 

William E lab 

*Forre8t E far Peru 
Edgar H lab 

*Mary B (m Capin Jay 

Beaudin, Albert tannery No 1 
Melinda (O'Brian ho 

Eddie pi 

Addie Bell 

Berry WF far No 1 

Sarah E (m Eose ho 

Bicknell, Simeon retd 

Alvira J (Haford ho 

*Hattie A (m Holt ho 

Abbie C milliner & mer 
Frank E clothier 

Bicknell, Jas W mer 

Lillie M (Wentworth ho 
Ralph W stu 

J Clyde stu 

Bicknell, Frank E clothier 

Rosa A (Ellis ho 

*A Stanwood tannery 

Winchester, N H 

Bicknell, Geo F blk 

Nellie E (Record ho 

Emily M (m Hackett ho 

Bis by, Edward L far 

Flora H (Staples ho 

Elden G far 

D wight A stu 

Marie L pi 

E Irene pi 


Blackwell, Martha J (Taylor 

*Vera L (m Knapp Byron 

Blanchard, Wm W grain dlr 
Georgia S (Newman ho 
Ralph W pi 

Beatrice A pi 

Ruth M pi 

Bonney, Cyrus T far No 1 
Letitia M (Tyler ho 

Donald C pi 

Ada C pt 

Brett, Rosette J (Jones ho 
Francelia E (m Packard 
Esther H (m Reed ho 

*Florence M (m Phillips 

No Liv 
*Harriet R (m Stevens 


Briggs, Montell A car 

Lottie M (Reader ho 

Briggs, John blk 

EstellaC (Barker ho 

Eva L stu 

Britton, Mary A ( Walton ho 

*Everett E scythe shop 


Brown, William N tannery 
Mary R (Decoster ho 



*Gracie M Salem, Mass 

William J lab 

Henry A lab 

GB pi 

Marion L pi 

Mabel R 

Margaret A 

Brown, Parker A lab Gil 

Bryant, Ernest lab No Jay, 1 

Bryant, Frank H lab 

Buck, Leonidas far Point 

Sophila H (Numan ho 

•Clarence M com trav 

Auburn, Neb 

Buck, Frederick W far Point 

Mary A (Hutchinson ho 

Burbank, Chas M far Jay 

Lizzie J (Darling ho 

Burbank, S H far No 1 

Hannah J (Shackley ho 

*Willis S Liv Falls 

Burke, Clark C far 

Eva M (York ho 

Burnam, Edith proofreader 

Burnham, Henry R far Riley 

Hannah A (Gerry ho 

*Martha A hotel wk 

Liv Falls 

*Inez C tr Jay 

Reuel M lab 

Minnie B ho 

Lincoln L lab 

Harrison D pi 

Everett G pi 

Myrtle M pi 

Lowell A pi 

Burnhan, Minnie V ho Point 

Cain, James far No Jay, 1 

Caldwell, EE far & 1st sel 
Lizzie E (Merrill ho 

Bert E lab 

Ralph E pi 

Callage, Simon far No Jay, 1 

Campbell, A F far No 1 
Annie R (Lovewell ho 

Ralph E pi 

Clyde A 

Campbell, Bertha A (Sabin 

mer Gil 
Winnie B ho 

Elsie M ho 

Gladys B ho 

Carpenter, G W lab M V 
Mary E (Sherwood ho 

Edward G pi 

Ezra, E 

Carter, John lab Gil 

Bertha (Boynton ho 

Grace ho 

Henry pi 

June pi 


Carver, Leon H ptr 

Bessie M ( Works ho 

Carver, Geo E tar No 1 



Augrusta A (Sprague ho 

Carver, Frank E far 

Etta L (Sprague ho 

*Arthur A hack driver 

46 Winter, Auburn 

Leon H ptr 

Edith M (m Gilbert 

Mabel E stu 

Elsie E stu 

Merl F pi 

Guy R 

Casaidy, Addif (Buck ho 

Inez 1 (m Foye ho 

Castanguay, Peter far L Falls 

Mary (Fonnier ho 

*Josephine pi Canada 

Peter Jr pi 

Charles pi 

Mary D pi 

J()69ph E pi 

George pi 



Chase, Charles C lab 

Mnud (Holt ho 

Cecil C 

lone L 

Eunice E 
Chason, Ernest tannery 

Katie (Arseneault ho 

Childs, Viola B (Wing ho 

*Elbridge G far West Peru 

*Chas N lab W Peru 

*Geo V far W Peru 
*Wm W far W Peru 
*Arthur L far W Peru 
♦Percy E Dixfield 

•Clarence E Dixfield 

Arthur E pi 

*Mary E M (ra Farnham 
Wilton PI 

('hilds, Geo far Point 

Josie N (Luce ho 

Georgia F pi 

Dana E 

Childs, Amos far Point 
Fannie (i radbury ho 

( hilds, Sitinny far 

Martha (Bom ey ho 

Herman W lab 

Flossie stu 

Chieone, Mitchell far Rihy 
Thomile (Lavigc ho 

John pi 

Georgia pi 

Flora pi 

Adolph pi 

Lewis pi 

Eunice pi 

Coburn, Sarah A (Jevsett ho 
Mary E dr mkr 

Conant, Albert B far Point 
Clarinda T (Paine ho 

Wallace G far 

EfRe M (m Morrison ho 

Cone, Frank A tannery Gil 
Mary L (Knapp ho 



Ida M (m Stanley ho 

Leroy A 
Coolidge, Jephtha far Jay 
Coolidge, C A. phy & sur 

Sarah N (Foster ho 

*Henry E Lisbon Falls 
law & bank cashier 
*Chas M phy & sur 

No Waterford 
*Agne8 M (m Dolloff 

L Falls 
Coolidge, Elwood B far Jay 
Cushman, Noyce fore tannery 
Hattie (Dority ho 

Cushman, Elmer E lab 

Maud B (Howe ho 

*LillianU Banning, Col 
Ralph E lab 

Carrie B pi 

Winnie H pi 

Gladys L pi 

Laforest S pi 

Alice B pi 



Dailey, EL P M & far Point 
Ida M (Holman ho 

Elton E far 

Elsie M (m Hines ho 

Dailey, Elmer L lab 

Agnes L (Davenport ho 

Dailey, John H far Point 
Anna M (Hersey ho 

Helen I pi 

Dailey, Elton E far Point 
Vera E (Adkins ho 

Shirley E pi 

Hildah B 

Dailey, Jas P far Point 
Daisy B (Smith ho 

Beatrice I 

Dailey, A J far Point 

J W (Capen ho 

James P far 

Moras H far 

Mary A ho 

Dailey, Benj B far Point 
Nancy L (Wilson ho 

Dailey, S P barber 

Nellie F (Milner ho 

Enid A stu 

Merle F pi 

Darrington, John L ptr 

Mary M (Taming ho 

Bertha W (m Wadleigh 
*Wm L pulp mill L Falls 
*Chas A pulp mill 

Berlin, N H 
*Geo B pulp mill 

Rumford Falls 
*Vina S (m Grover 

East Andover 
Stella M stu 



Linwood E pi 

Hattie F pi 

Mamie E pi 

Davis, Lucy A (Jordan ho 

Davis, Alfred D tannery wk 
Madge A (Ellis ho 

Kaymond L 

Dearborn, Daniel B far 

Celestia J (Lowe ho 

*Josephine (m Coolidge 

Lisbon Fails 
*Wilson el 

Dorchester, Mass 
•Florentine E (m Moores 

Livermore Falls 
Lucian L com trav 

Dearborn, Percy E far 

Persis (Childs ho 


Dearborn, John C far 

Amanda M (Fuller ho 

Decosta, Wm K cont & bldr 
Melvena H (Barrows ho 
Clytie W millinery 

Delano, Adelbert far Point 
Ellis far 

*BertA tr Trinadad, Col 
Melvina tr 

Grace E stu 

Hattie E (Harmon 

Delano, Ellis far Point 
Hattie E (Herbert ho 

Georgia A pi 

Denquett, Henry lab L Falls 

Jennie (Como ho 

Theodoa D pi 

DeShon, Mabel C (Kidder tr 

Leora tr 

Dorothy R stu 

Dillingham, Chas M team 

Bertha E (Ingersoll ho 
Amy B pi 

Martin pi 


Dillon, John tannery 

Sherman E pi 

Dodge, Frank W far No 1 
Ida M (Jones ho 

*Lila M (m Card Riley 
Joanna J pi 

Frank A pi 

Dority, John S lum Gil 
Frances M (Stanley ho 
Hattie (m Cushman ho 
Caroline E pi 

Osmer J pi 

Dresser, W E prop Revere Ho 
Lillian J (Fuller ho 

Douglass, Madeline E pi 

Douglass, Eunice M pi 

Dunn, R G far & br mason 
Eveline (Conant ho 

Dyment, Geo G tailor 

Violet V (Kerr ho 

Charles E 
Mima E 



Eastman, A A far 

Helen A (Austin ho 

Eastman, Albert A lab Gil 
Jennie M (Childs ho 

Ethel May 

Edgerly, Hubert R blk 

Agnes M (Cutting ho 

Marjorie E pi 

Olive E pi 

Lucille M 
George V 

Ellis, Simeon B tannery wk 
Edith E (Staples ho 

Lyman pi 

Ansel S pi 

Ellis, C C fore tannery 

lola M (Johnson ho 

Erold C pi 

Fred W pi 

Edith M pi 

Harlan d A 

Ellis, Chas E truckman 

AbbieS (Brett ho 

Simeon B tannery wk 

Chas E Jr tannery 

Julia M (m Hollis ho 

W Maud drmkr 

*G Albert teleg op 

Rumford Falls 

Ellis, Chas R far Point 
Alice B (Bashon ho 

Ruth H pi 

Ellis, A W ptr 

Susan L (Deshon ho 

*Clarence G lab 

Rumford Falls 
*Lottie M (m Douglass 


William ptr 

*yerne E elec mach 

Navy Yard, New York 

Myrton M lab 

Ellis, Isaac A far Point 

Matilda S (Buck ho 

*Nettie M (m Fuller ho 

East Dixfield 

Charles R far 

*E8ther H (m Waite 

No Jay, 1 
*Harry A ins 

31 Bowdoin, Boston, Mass 
Mary C (m Pitman ho 
Vesta N ho 

Farnum, C C far 

Francenie R (Foster ho 

Emma M (m McCalister 

Farnum, Albert lab 

Flora E (Buck ho 

Richard A pi 

Farrington, Winfleld O lab 

Farrington, Minnie E stu 

Farrand, Arthur W tannery 



Ida M (Thompson ho 

Fish, Albert J team M V 
Grace G (Powers ho 

Leona G 

Forhan, J K 

Portland pack Co 
Minnie D (Mason ho 

Neil K stu 

Foster, Bertis far No Jay 1 

Foster, Mertis far No Jay 1 

Foster, Albert K far Point 
Mary D (Conant ho 

Foster, Arthur J far Point 
Stella A (Hafford ho 

Winnelred C mus tr 

Foye, John far 

John N far 

Sarah J (Pike ho 

Foye, John N far 

Ida I (Cassidy ho 

Freeman, David cobbler 

Information withheld 

French, William sec hand 

Alice M (Wadley ho 

Fuller, Effle I retd 

Fuller, E E lar & jobber 

Dora M (Thompson ho 
Orlestus C lab 

Cornelia M stu 

Fuller, Carroll M lab Poiut 

Gammon, Mary (Conant 


John O lab 

*Chas G bagg:a^e master 

So Brain tree. Mass 

*Geo A car 

*Wm H car 

11 High, Lewiston 

*Roswell D car & millrt 

L Falls 

Cyrus B far 

*Fred shipping- cl 

31 Pine, Auburn 

Joseph L far 

Gammon, J snowshoe mkr 
Biancy M (Dillingham 
Hattie M (m Small ho 

Gammon, Clara (Swett 

Jennie C (m Small ho 

^Nettie M (m Howard ho 

Rumford Point 

Gilbert, Ralph N tannery 

Edith M(Carver ho 

Mabel M 

Gilbert, Chas H mer 

Mary E (Burnham ho 

Gilpatrick, Fannie M (Tarbox 

Glines, Arthur A livery stable 
Mabel F (Glower ho 

Harold L hostler 

Goding, Mary (Stetson 

♦Tilson S far No Liv 



*G Washington mer 

West Peru 

*Jelferson D Auburn 

far & milk bus 

Grover, Clara M (Smith 


George E 




Hackett, Almon H 
Hackett, Frank W 

Emily M (Bicknell 


Gerald E 
Hafford, Gustavus 

far & ice bus 

Clara A (Thompson ho 

Ethel M (m Johnson ho 
Harlow, Eben far Gil 

*John M mer 

Rumford Falls 

Harmon, L L clerg 

Mary J (Butler ho 

*Geo H tr Island Falls 

*Isadore M stu 

Island Falls 

Harmon, Ivory L far Point 

Frances L Foster ho 

Hartsgrove, William far 

Harriet (Crooker ho 

Hathaway, Martha A (Rollins 

Mattie I mus tr & 

type writer 

Harvey, Saytire (Eastman 


*Chas A blk 

Quincy, Mass 

*Albion K P phy & sur 

Washington, D C 

*Milton D civil serv emp 

1443 East Capitol, 

Washington, D C 

Hay ford, Oscar far 

Joan B(Reed ho 

Susan A(m Tirrell ho 

Asa F far 

Carrie F ho 

*Mytie B (m Jones ho 


Hayford, Otis State assessor 

Amanda (Phiney ho 

*Herbert F sta agt 

Mechanic Falls 

* Wilder bk kpr Dover 

*Mary (m Hayford 

Hebert, Frank ptr 

Millie (Miller ho 

Eddie pl 

Hebert, Jewett lab Gil 

Mary (White ho 

Paul tannery 

Joseph pl 

Charlie pl 



Lucy pi 

Agnes pi 

Henry, Stephen lab Gil 
Josephine (Arseneault 

Edith pi 

Hobb, Almira L (Phelan 

Frank P lab 

Hines, Chas M far 

Alice A (House ho 

Charles L far 

Geo A far 
*Ernest M s s wk 
Rockland, Mass 

Henry F far 

Hines, Frank R far M V 

Addie M (Tracy ho 

William H pi 

John pi 

Charles E pi 

Hines, Chas L far No 1 

Lillian (Jackson ho 

Zoraida B pi 

Wallace L pi 

Clyde A pi 

Pearle J pi 
Agnes L 

Hines, Frank R lab 

Elsie M (Dailey ho 

Hodge, A L far 

Sadie E (Goding ho 
Everett R 

Hodge, Abraham L far 

Angle C ( Farris ho 

Appleton L tannery wk 

Vera B pi 

Willie E pi 

Charles H pi 

Alfred pi 
Erold E 

Hodge, Frank far Point 

Ida M (Wells ho 

Inez M pi 

Harold N pi 

Walter F pi 

Merle M pi 

Hodge, S C car 

Katie B (Grodard ho 
Martha A (m Godding ho 

Hodge, Polaski lab 

Hodge, D far 

Flora I (Berry ho 

Beatrice M pi 

Grover D pi 

Helenl^ . 
Ellen i*^^°« 

Leroy 1, . 

Hollis, Edwin K 


Julia M( Ellis 


W Margueritte 


M Katherine 


Charles E 

Holt, Eunice E (Bennett Point 

*Pearl E (m Hutchinson 


Maud (m Chase 


Hutchinson, Albion P 




Asenath E (m Russell 

Hutchinson, W E far & lumb 
Nellie H (Reynolds ho 

Ethel L stu 

Sybil J stu 

Hazel V pi 

Woodbury A 

Hutchinson, C L agt 

Lucy A (Hutchins ho 

Jackson, F Ervin cl 

Jackson, B W barber 

Johnson, Geo H meat market 
Ethel M (Hayford ho 

Ruth M pi 

Clare M pi 

Arthur H 

Johuson, Alden E tannery wk 
Marion A (Bean ho 

Johnson, E H ret'd vet Point 
Mary H (Marston ho 

Johnson, Geo K ret'd 

Mary E (Niles ho 

*Jos M broker 

215 Turner, Auburn 
*Ella M (ra Nevens ho 

124 Goff, Auburn 
Geo H meat mkt 

Jordan, Lucy A ( 

*Nettie (m Gordan ho 

Providence, R. I. 

Jordan, Allura B (Lovejoy 

Lottie A ho 

William M lab 

Percy L pi 

Jones, Samuel C far 

Ida M (m Dodge ho 

Julia M (Harris ho 

*Grace B (rn Kilbreth ho 

So Li verm ore 

Marcia L stu bus col 

Julia R millinery 

S Harris stu 

Keith, Lester tannery Gil 

Kerr, Ephraim far & mason 

Lottie E (Heather ho 

*Wm D blk Rumford Falls 

*JasH cont Rumford Falls 

*Etta M (m Ash 

Rumford Falls 

*Geo A mer Rumford Falls 

*Harry S mason 

Rumford Falls 

Violet V (m Dyment 

Sarah H stu 

Kidder, Philander far No 1 

Abbie A (Alley ho 

Mabel C (m Deshon 

Kilbreth, LL No 1 

Bessie M (Hall ho 

Edward L 

Knapp, Henry D far Gil 

Etta (Bennett ho 

George E far 

*Fred B lab 

94 Summer, Auburn 

Nellie E (m Daley Mexico 



*Ethel L (m Berry ho 

Rumford Falls 

Lee H stu 

Ladd, Florence L (Wyraan 

L Falls 
Dazella W pi 

Lane, Eugene F lab 

Lane, Charles far Point 
Lillian (Collidge ho 


Lavorgna, Marco 

Italian supply 
Ella I (Whitcomb ho 

Lawrence W pi 

Jennie A pi 

Albert pi 

George B pi 


Leavitt, Ida hotel wk 

Lothrop, Isaac J far M V 
Eva May ho 

*Mary E (m Hinkley 

No Liv 
Annie C (Gibbs ho 

Herbert ptr & far 

Louney, Michael ret'd 

*Mary (m Hopkins Peru 

Lovejoy, Melvin F tannery wk 
Carroll F pi 

Lovejoy, C H far & car Gil 
Deborah H (Burgess ho 
Elina B (m Stone ho 

*Roscoe L far Welchville 
Melvin F mill wk 

*Ada C (m Stone Jay 

*Rilla G (ra Henry ho 

Rumford Falls 

Lovejoy, Frank E mill wk 

Ina M (Davis ho 

Lowell, Roscoe C tannery wk 

Annie S (Stanley ho 

Fred S 
Lowell, C T tannery wk 

Helen M (Staples ho 

*John L trimmer s shop 
66 Hampshire, Auburn 

Roscoe C tannery 

*Addie E (m Cole ho 

Rumford Falls 

Ludden, Alvin L far No Jay 1 

Julia E (Bryant ho 

Ludden, B C far Point 

Clara B pi 

p]unice E (Holt ho 

Ludden, J M far Point 

Nellie A (Philips ho 

Manwell, John far No 1 

Huldah J (Poland ho 

*Lucy E (m McKinnon ho 
Georgletown, Mass 

Julia A (m Adkins ho 

*Geo W sole leather shop 
Lynn, Mass 

Nettie M (m Marshall 

dr mkr 

Hazel M pi 

Marston, Walter E far 

Esther F (Austin ho 



Arthur W pi 

Marston, John ret'd Point 

Mary H (m Johnson ho 

Martin, Clarence S lab Gil 

Mayner, W G lab Point 

*Lois E (m Davis ho 

Jackson, N H 

Mayo, F M blk 

•Nellie (m Mead ho 

No Bridgton 

*Hattie T (m Delano ho 

Rocklin, Cal 

Mary L (Capen ho 

McCollister, J T far Point 

McCollister, R E far Point 

Emma M (Farnum ho 

Rodney M pi 

Urban R 

McCollister, Philena A nurse 

McCollister, Elva E nurse 


Miller, Leon lab 

Lizzie (Muse ho 

*Johu woodwork 

• Gardner, Mass 

•Martin paper mill 

Piercefield, N Y 

Phil lab 

Patrick lab 

Joseph pi 

Edward pi 




Mitchell, Joanna C (Baird ho 

•Clara C (m McGibbon ho 


* Walter C laundry 

Beverly, Mass 

*Chas J grocer 

Beverly, Mass 

Sarah E (m Reynolds ho 

•Flora M compositor 

97^ Exchange, Portland 

Moore, Geo W 

harness mkr & car dlr 
Mary E (Fuller ho 

Archer B far 

Moore, Roy harness mkr 

Myrtie M (Campbell ho 
Helen B 
Morse, Frank W phy & sur 


Nalley, William J Point 

Leon R pi 

Eva M pi 

Nichols, John tannery 

Susan (Bassett ho 

Numan, Georgia S (Luce 

•Henry S mach Dixfield 
•Arthur L shipping cl 

Horace D stu 

Harold C stu 



Florence E 
Lucy L 



O'Brien, Hfenry tannery 

Mildred (Wight ho 

Malinda (m Boadway ho 
*Mack mill wk L Falls 
*Annie B (ra Doucetts 

*Emma (m Wight 

Frank tannery 

Joseph tannery 

Alice pi 

Madie p] 

Oldham, Chas F wood wk 

Eunice S (Russell ho 

Evie B (m York ho 

Oliver, Frank M sta agt 

Minnie A (Oldham ho 

Packard, Mellen B tannery 
Nellie B (Brooks ho 

Ethel W ho 

Arthur M stu 

Packard, Almina C (Gammon 

Mellen B far 

*J A supt s shop 

Brooklyn, N Y 

*L M lodging house 


Packard, Alpheus far 

Francelia E (Brett ho 
*Simeon D grocer Mexico 
*Royalston C eng 

*Archer eng Mexico 
*Nora B (m Gleason 


Packard, BenJ D far 

Alberta (Davis ho 

*Ethel M (m Hussey ho 


Mildred F pi 

Harold pi 

Paine, Martha Q ho Point 

Paine, Louisa ( Point 

Park, W L far 

Flora B (Waldron ho 

Arthur L pi 

Frank S pi 


Edward W 
Park, Fred E lab 

Patterson, Walter J bk kpr 
Emma B (Stem ho 

Lawrence J 
Patterson, Bernard E mach 
Flora B (Thompson ho 
Mildred T 
Ruby A 
Perry, Mike tannery 

Nettie (Burke ho 

Philips, Geo C lab Point 
Pingree, H far Gil 


Emma L (Cote ho 

Arthur D 
Ellsworth L 

Pitman, Geo M far Point 
Mary E (Ellis ho 

Gladys F pi 

Lillian M 

Poland, Caroll S team M V 
Nellie L (Hackett ho 

ElvraS pi 

Iva L 

Poland, Lewis E far 

Luella H (Beals ho 

*Geo A mill wk Livermore 
CE lab 

Elery F horse trainer 

Norman S lab 

Emerson L lab 

Wallace lab 

Mary stu 

Potter, Frank far & fish dlr 

No Jay 
Cora E (Hathaway ho 

Proctor, F O far 

Abbie F (Stetson ho 

Caro S stu 


Eay, Arthur H 

member L. W. Smith Co.,mf^s 
Mary E (Cooke ho 

Walter A stu 

Charles A pi 

Reed, Esta H (Brett 

Harry R R R con 

Reeder, B F decorator 

Lottie M (m Briggs ho 

Reynolds, Nathan druggist 

" Sarah E (Mitchell ho 

James A stu 

Reynolds, Harriet B (Foye 


Willie A far 

Rich, A E far & lumb Point 

Florence P (Kempton ho 

*Chas A bk kpr 

Bellows Falls, Vt 

Bertha F tr 

Guy C pi 

Roy A pi 

Ethel G pi 

Richardson, Frank violin mkr 

Mary T (Neal ho 

*Geo F dentist 

Mt Pleasant, Mich 

*Mary N portrait ptr 

192 Clarendon, Boston, Mass 

*Wyona P (m Ingersol 


Fannie B (m Lucas ho 

Charles E far 

Otis M printer & ins ag 

Richardson, Otis M 

printer & ins agt 
Blanche (Poor ho 

Henry F pi 

Ruth pi 



Richardson, C E far 

Mary I pi 

Mildred A pi 

Clara M (Grover ho 

Roberts, W L 

undertaker & mer 
Cora J (Hewett ho 

Rose, W W far No 1 

Sarah E (Berry ho 

Rowe, F E fore boom wk 

Cora M (Holland ho 

Alice H ho 

Homer E stu 

W Sherman pi 

Roux, Mary (m Aursenault 
Laury mer 

•Emma (m Gilman ho 
New York 

Reubin, J mer 

Fannie (Haskell ho 

Mamie R stu 

Harry stu 

Henry pi 

Lewis pi 

Russell, Alphonso F retd 

Caroline A (Saunders ho 
Arlena F tr 



*John S 



Abbott A 


Ethel W 


Leietta C 


*Lucy B (m Elliott ho 
Rumford Point 
Nina M tr 

Ned N ba^ga^e master 
Alphonso F Jr lab 

Russell, Geo C mach 

Asenath E (Hutchinson 
*Nina A (m Cornish 


Russell, Albion P tannery wk 
Beatrice C (Stubbs ho 

Ralph C 

Russell, Lizzie H (Morse 

Shackley, Samuel far 

Lottie pi 

Shackley, William F far 

Addie (Cassidy ho 

Shackley, James M far 

Lena M (m Manwell ho 
Samuel E far 

Susan E (Delano ho 

Simmons, Sarah W (Noyes 

No Liv 
*Mary N (m Thompson 

L Falls, 1 

*Eliphalet J lab 

West Farmington 

•Gilbert C far No Jay, 1 

Edgar W far 

Shanahan, Alice M stu 

Small, Dexter L eng 

Jennie C (York ho 




Letaiiy, N B 

Edwin G 

♦Charlotte E 
(m Dillingham Hartford 

Eldred A pi 

Small, Hattie M (Gammon ho 


Herbert L 
Small, Chas L lab Point 

Myrtle J (Stubbs ho 


C Kenneth 
Smith, Mary M (Lambert ho 

Mildred E pi 

Florence I pi 

Sherley R 

Alverdeen W 

Cherlena M 
Smith, Clinton R tannery 

Verna M (Adkine ho 

Shelden C 
Smith, L B feed dlr & horse Dr 

Sarah K (Ripley ho 

*Frank E elec 

454 Chatham, Lynn, Mass 

*Fred H blk Byron 

* Willis C overseer stable 
73 Bates, Lewiston 

Clinton R tannery 

Smith, Mary E (Willis 

ho & asst mistress 

William F pi 

George R pi 

Smith, Francelia A (Brown 
Clara M Cm Richardson 

Smith, Lyman W 

prop tannery 
Marion (Abbott ho 

Stanley, William F far Gil 
Marcella (Morse ho 

Charles lumb 

Mary F (m Dorrity ho 
Thomas H team 

Nathan B horse trainer 
Geo B grist mill 

Fred lab 

Abbie B (m Barker ho 
Alice I ho 

Annie I (m Lowell ho 

Stanley, Burge N lab Gil 
Ida M (Cone ho 

Stanley, George B lab 

Lizzie R (Went worth ho 
George R pi 

Staples, A G far 

Flora H (m Bisby ho 

M Louise mus tr 

Edith E (m Ellis ho 

Staples, Sewell far Point 
Delia R (Oldham ho 

Edwin E pi 

Sarah E pi 

Harry E 
Florence E 
Daniel C 

Stetson, Elma B P M Gil 

Mary E (Smith 

asst P M 



Stetson, Lydia M (Ames 

*Oberun O State ho cl 


Viola A (m Hathaway ho 

Abbie (m Proctor ho 

Stone, Frank H far Jay 
Allura B (Jordan ho 

Strout, C F sta agt & P M 

M V 
Lula R (Garber ho 

Strout, Satire (Harvey Point 

Strout, Geo H far Point 
AlzadaM(Vann ho 

Ralph C pi 

Arthur L pi 

Lena H pi 

Milton D 

Strout, M G mer 

Philura S (Allen ho 

Stubbs, W M millman M V 
Myrtie J (m Small ho 

Floyd D lab 

Beatrice C (m Russell ho 
Bernice M ho 

Swasey, John P law 

*Hattie May (m Childs ho 


Ella L (Hersey ho 

*Carrie E (m Smith 

Belle (m Wadlin ho 

Minnie E ho 

Swett, Chas R car & ho ptr 
Annie (Swett ho 


Swett, Robert car 

Luzune W (Jones ho 

Herbert A car 

Harriet H dr mkr 

*Lizzie P (m Hutchins ho 
30 Boyd, Portland 
*Clifton F carriage man 
50 Bell, Deering 

Swett, Herbert A car 

Emma (Holmes ho 

Sweatt, Clarence A tannery 
Florence M (Bennett ho 

Tamney, Edward far 

Tarbox, H B car & builder 
Augusta M (Folsom ho 
Thompson, J W P M 

Harriet G (Stevens ho 
Nellie F P cl 

*Dora M (m Chase ho 

69 Brown, Portland 
Ida M (m Farrand ho 

Tirrell, Henry T car & dentist 
Susan A (Hayford ho 

Arthur L stu 

Shirley O pi 

Iva G stu 

Herman A pi 

A Wesley pi 

Edna M 

Towle, Geo F musician 



Alma A (House ho 

Treat, Sarah A (Howland 

Tripp, Chas F far Point 

Philena A (Weld ho 

Earland L pi 

John R 

Lloyd C 
Tucker, George S far No 1 


Vergin, Isaac G retd Point 

Vergin, Leavitt far Point 

Guy Harold far 

Augusta H (Brown ho 

Fred E lab 

Carl C lab 

Virgin, G H Jay 

far & lathing machine agt 

Fannie C (Waite ho 

Chester H 


Wadleigh, Sam'l Gil 

river driver 

Bertha W (Darrington ho 

Roiie S pi 

Jessie M 

Wadlin, Geo L mer 

Belle (Swasey ho 

Swasey pi 

Waite, M A far & stock broker 
Clara A (Brackett ho 

Gladys L mus tr 

Nathan Byron pi 

Waite, Mrs. C R (Green Jay 
*Etta E (m Ludden Jay 
Ira O ptr 

Edgar E far 

Fannie C (m Virgin ho 

Waite, Byron C Point 

far & speculator 

Louisa (Treat ho 

*Osmond S mer No Jay 

Milford A far & trader 

*Ella M (m Nickerson ho 

764 Congress, Portland 

*Williani T com trav 

217 Congress, Portland 

Walker, Charles W far 

Lydia T (Hathaway ho 
*Minnie A (m Glover 

Lillian M ho 

Charles W Jr lab 

Alphonso G pi 

Ella M pi 

Walker, Frank L car & far 
Julia E (Merrill ho 

Merrill W 

Wallingford, Geo lab No Liv 
Sarah C (Kincaid ho 

*Leroy G eng 

Bridgewater, Mass 
*Alson lab L Falls 
*Roland lab L Falls 
Edna L ho 




Perley L pi 

Hazel E pi 

Warren, Fred M hotel wk 

Washburn, E I (Delano ho 

*Ethel L (m Hollis ho 

Kurnford Falls 

Webb, A W ho & far Jay 

Webster, Kobt A prin H S 

Lillian (Knowles ho 

Weld, Marjory C (McCollister 

Philena A (m Tripp ho 
Lyla M stu 

Weld, Lincoln R car Gil 
Mary (Milliken ho 

Clarence M pi 

L Harold pi 

Wentworth, Brothers (2) 

Westgate, Elmer E tannery wk 
Eleanor (Holdstock ho 
Eleanor E pi 

Artliur E pi 

Wetmore, William lab 

Mary (Sproul ho 

*Chas W pulp mill 

Rnmford Falls 
*Nellie (m Arris Riley 

Annie (m Willey ho 

Jennie ho 

Wilder, W E prop steam mill 

Abbey A (Wilder ho 

Wight, Mary A (Stone 

Truman H pi 

Willey, Roscoe D sec hd Gil 
Annie M (Wetmore ho 
Charlie C 

Willis, L F millwright Point 
Ellen A (Usher ho 

Mary E (m Stetson ho 
*Jennie L (m Washburn 

West Paris 

*Marie ho Norway 

*John W millman 


LF pi 

Woodman, Lillian (Coolidge 
Elwin pi 

Wording, Katherine L stu 


Wright, Chas W shipping cl 
Martha B (Butterfield ho 

Wright, Arthur G tannery wk 

Wyman, Parker G far No Liv 
Violanta (Rollins ho 

*Florence L (m Whitman 

L Falls 
Laura E tr 

Edna L tr 

Wyman, Thos S far Gil 
Melvina (Downs ho 

*Etta (m Pease L Falls 
*Geo S far Readfield 
*Chas far Readfield 
*Emma M (m Gordon 




York, William sec hand 

Theda A (Robinson ho 

York, Laura S (Glines ho 

Eva M (m Burke ho 

Andrew P sec boss 

Susie L (m Cole ho 

Ervin A sec hand 

*Althea A 
11 Arch, Haverhill, Mass 

York, E A sec hand Gil 
Flora A (Twitchell ho 

Sherbourne F 

York, Andrew P fore R R sec 
Evie B (Oldham ho 

York,ElmerH blindman&lab 

*P Gladys (m Godding ho 


Guv L 





Luella J 



Myrle L 





Gilson R 


York, Addie 

L (Garcelon 





For that is tHe place to buy 

Boots^ ^ $boc$ ^ and ^ Rubbers 

with a line that cannot fail to suit both in price and quality. 

Buy a pair of Gold=SeaI Rubbers— they will stand service. 







Where address is not ^iven, DIXFIELD P. O. is under- 
stood. The following abbreviations designate other 

East Dixfield— East; Dixfield, E. F. D., 1— No 1; Canton 
Point— C Point; North Jaj, R. F. D., 1— No Jay, 1; South 
Carthage — So Car. 

Abbott, Wm W Oak Cliff 

Lucinda A (Doble ho 

Nellie C ho 

Adam, Anna (Kidder Third 

Adams, Chas S far East 
Elizabeth S (Allen ho 

Adams, Jesse W far No 1 
Mamie E (Holman ho 

Cleon H 

Adams, Malissie (Severy No 1 
Walter S R R ser 

*Lester W eng Auburn 
Ida J (m Thompson 

Nellie A (m Babb 


kins, William E 


Lelila M (Burgess 


Dert, Moses lab 


Cora (Farladeay 








llene pl 


Allen, Andrew F far East 
Rosa T (Webster ho 

Lida M stu 

Allen, Frank A far No 1 
Inez R (Coolidge ho 

Allen, Elizabeths (Trask East 
*Delmont M far Jay 
^Ferdinand F far Jay 
*Ardean M mer 

Reading, Mass 
*Sadie E (m Thomas Jay 
*Hattie E (m Heseock 

114 Oxford, Portland 

*Oramandel pulp mkr 


Ames, Chas H mach 35 Elm 
Alice M (Fish ho 

Robert pl 

Ames, E F barber 11 Main 
Ethel A (Davis ho 




Clarence B pi 

Andrew, Philip Grist Mill op 
Cora May (Dorr ho 

*Mabel A (m Brobee 

*Wm L piping & plum 
Philip W pi 

Mary T 
Andrews, W M far No Jay, 1 
Martha A (McLaughlin ho 
*Alice G (m Dill ho 

225 Summer, Auburn 
Avis E (m Andrews ho 


Bryant, Henry far E Peru 
Lucy M (Numan ho 

Babb, E harness mkr& jobber 
*Cora E (m Allen 

So Waterford 
Susan J (Rollins ho 

Babb, Roscoe F far East 
Lillian M (Bibber ho 

Albert E lab 

Alton L pi 

Aurie E pi 

Clinton V 

Babb, H H far & car East 

Babb, Henry M far East 
Zema R (Walker ho 

Roland W 

Babb, Ira far No 7 

F A (Hutching ho 

Wm spool shop & s wk 

Babb, John A far 

Edith A (Cox ho 

Babb, W spool shop & s wk 

Ida M (Brackett ho 

Glendon O 

Bartlett, Grace E tr 

Bartlett, Susan B ho Main 

Bartlett, C W far Main 

Barrett, R C butcher 

Berry, Susan (Higgins ho 

Berry, Lizzie T (Hill 

*Nellie D (m Merrill Frye 
*Lilla M (m Decoster 

Carrie S (m Howard ho 
Benjamin T far 

Elisha C lumb 

*Zuba L (m Hanson 


Lizzie A pi 

Merle D pi 

Berry, Herbert E far C Point 

Flora M (Tucker ho 

Alice M pi 

Blaisdell, A E far East 

Fannie L (Chase ho 



Butterfield, Edith A mer 

Butterfield, Clara E mer 




Butterfield, C A far So Car 

Lucy A (Merchant ho 

Blanchard, L G far East 

Blanchard, Susie F ho 

Brackett, H W far No 1 

Lucetta M (Dolloff ho 

Klans K far 

Melissie L (m Babb ho 

Brackett, Olive E (Thompson 

Margie E (m Trippe 

Ida M (m Babb ho 

Mary ho 

Brackett, Herbert L ptr 

Brackett, Geo F team 

Brown, Annie (Brown ho 

*Mabel Liv Falls 

William H lab 

Geo W toothpick mill 

*IsabelM pi British Col 

Minnie pi 

Raymond A pi 

Mary J pi 

Ruby M 

Brown, J Freeman lab 

Mary C (Sinck ho 

Leroy C lab 

Loretta E pi 


Brown, H team 

Clara Bell (Murdock ho 

Brown, G J spool mkr & mus 

Nellie L (Holt ho 

Wilson L stu 

Richard A pi 

Brainard, Allen lather 

Billington, K W millman 

42 Main 

Hattie J (Howard ho 

Ray stu 

Billington, H A mill watch 
Billington, Frank H clerg 

Lesla G (Gilbert ho 

Hawthorne A pi 

Lesla Rupheael 
Burgess, Hubbard lab 

Edith M (Smith ho 

Carlton, Geo E far No 1 
Leah A (Farrington ho 

Carlton, Albert L far No 1 
Hattie E (Philbrick ho 
Geo E far 

Carroll E stu 

Chase, Mrs V M (Austin ho 
W K mus & far 

Chase, Fred S eng s mill 

Walter E mill wk & stu 

Chase, Wilder K mus & far 
Clara L (Hooper ho 

Annie L (m Woodward ho 

Chase, Geo W far & blk No 1 
Lula A (Gould ho 

Harold G 

Childs, Percy lab 

Florence M (Lamb ho 



Elwin pi 

Childs, A C far East 

Augusta R (Hall ho 

*Geo C lab Mexico 

Carrie M (m Holm an 
*Hermon A clerg 

*EarlA tr Hinoham,Mass 

Coolidge, R A lar East 
luez (m Allen ho 

Leona (Thomas ho 

Alton R far 

Lilla E ho 

Coolidge, Bethiah (Campbell 

Moses M far 

Coolidge, D D far E Peru 
Etta S (Smith ho 

Chester C pi 

Erma M pi 

Coolidge, C T far No Jay, 1 
Mary E (Mclntire ho 

*Bert D far E Peru 

Coolidge, C E far No Jay, 1 
Annie M (Porter ho 

Almon W far 

*Ida A (m Allen paper mkr 
Delbert C lab 

Harry E pi 

Ora E pi 

Coolidge, A W lar No Jay, 1 
Rilla A (Brown ho 

Colcord, P E livery stable 

Grace L (m Howe ho 

Cox, Emery L lab East 
Eva H (Bean ho 

Victor E lab 

*Addie F (m Bacheler ho 
Farmington Falls 
Raymond E lab 

Darwin E lab 

Angenette L ho 

Violet E pi 

Warren A pi 

Prince A pi 

Leon M pi 

Perry D pi 

James B 
Beryl E 

Cox, Mary A ( East 

*Frank L car Eustis 
Emery L lab 

*Rebecca A (m Reed 

Haverhill, Mass 

Cox, Fred lab 

Fred L pi 

Crockett, Geo W lab 74 Main 
Cora E (Lunt ho 

Arthur W 

Cummings, F S mill op 

61 Main 
Maud E (Ricker ho 

Madeline R pi 

Geo O pi 

Anna M 
Charles H 



Danforth, C E en^ No 1 
Florence A (White ho 

Danforth, J C far No 1 

*Jas W B shop 

24 Manley, Auburn 

Clarence E far 

Danforth, F W millman No 1 
Mary E (Chubb ho 

Walter E spool mill 

Davis, Jas B s mkr Third 
Hannah C (Pendleton ho 
Nellie J toothpick op 

Davis, F M Nov op Main 
Sarah A (Eand ho 

Davis, Margaret A ( 

58 Main 

*Geo F law Duluth, Minn 

5627 Huntington 

Decker, John A retd 

Mabel E (Raymond ho 
John R pi 

Delano, J A hostler 

Delano, C T far No 1 

Abbie M (Sanders ho 

*C M teleg op Globe 
ES far 

Helen E teleg & bk kpr 
Annie L photog 

Dean, Geo M far East 
Edith M (Piper ho 

Violet A 

Dillingham, C L mer Main 

Sybil L (Gates ho 

Datie L pi 

Dockham, C E mill op Main 

Dockham, G W deputy sheriff 

Lizzie A (Chubb ho 

Lavinia L ho 

Dolloff, Sarah toothpick op 


Douglass, A L far No Jay, 1 
Florilla E (Wait ho 

Mahala E stu 

Marion H pi 

Albion L pi 

Drown, Wm F far No 1 
Gertrude M (m Holman 
Ethel M pi 

Percy W pi 

Perley A pi 

Douglass, R H far No Jay, 1 
Elmira (Judkins ho 

Dunham, J L far 

Mary J (Keyes ho 

*Hannah M (m Jones ho 
Livermore Falls 
Charles C mach 

Willis J mach & far 

*Mary A (m Benson ho 

Durrell, Chas S lumb mfg 

Lena E (Holman ho 

Mina M pi 

Maurice C 

" ?WMT 



Eaton, Jacob far East 

Elizabeth J (Fletcher ho 

*Edw phy & sur 

Hudson, Mich 

Edmunds, J P blk 18 Main 
Edna M ho 

Ina E mill wk 

Eustace, Col Wm T 13 Main 
Elizabeth (Stowell ho 

Annie T pi 

William W pi 

Au«i;usta F pi 

Albert pi 


Eustis, Chas W retd 11 Main 
Mandana M (Griffith ho 

Farrington, C W s finisher 

Anna M (Virgin ho 

Carroll E tr 

Farrar, Llewellyn A lab Main 

Grace M (Smith ho 
Lelia M 
C Henry 

Fish, Frank H far No 1 

Alice M (Hall ho 

Harris A stu 

Lorea M pi 

Georgia E pi 
Nathaleen G 

Fish, Vesta A (Lamb No 1 

Ina M (m Burgess ho 

Geo P far 

Flagg, Elmer far C Point 
Gertie U (Gordon ho 

Flagg, George P far 

Fletcher, T H lab lower Main 
Lizzie B (Howe ho 

Flora L ho 

Harry T mill wk 

Elven P pi 

Fletcher, Geo I far No 1 
Augusta C (Coolidge ho 
Margaret ho 

Charles lab 

Forster, M W toothpick mfg 

Lelia (Randall ho 

Frost, William F lab 

Ruth A (Welch ho 

Arthur C lab 

Maggie M pi 

Ruth A pi 

Bernice G pi 

Fuller, A J retd East 

Gammon, W W wood wkr 

Eusebia M (Hines ho 

*Wm P R R eng 


Gates, Geo G far Main 
Sybil L (m Dillingham ho 
Dorcas P (Evans ho 



Edith A (m Stowell ho 
Ethel C (m Keene ho 

Gates, Don A far & lumb 

Alice W (Davis ho 

Esther C pi 

Ruth D pi 

Glines, Jane E (Goudy Main 
Franklin W invalid 

Gould, Enos T far No 1 
Mary A (McTire ho 

Winnie A (m Holman ho 
Lula A (m Chase ho 

Charles S team 

Gould, Clara A (Holman 

47 Main 

*Everett F sales 

75 Elm, Lewiston 

Ormond O s mill op 

Greenlief, Chas W surveyor 

13 Main 

Mary S (Eustice ho 

M Eustace actor 

Gordon, Esther J (Childs 

C Point 
*Grafton B far Peru 
Gertie U (m Flag^ ho 

Grover, Lizzie B (Leavitt 
Daisy M (m Marshall ho 

Grover, John F far No 1 
Clarinda E (Paul ho 

Chester C pi 

Roland J pi 


Harlow, Gertrude ho 

Harlow, lone Milliner Main 

Harlow, W G mer 

R el 

Harlow, S V tea agt No 1 
Carrie P (Morse ho 

Myrtle B pi 

Agnes M pi 

Nettie M pi 

Thomas E pi 

Ernest S pi 


Hammons, S L 

National House, Main 
Ada L (Curtis ho 

Hawkins, M P lumb Third 
Cora B (Davis ho 

Ray E lab 

George W lab 

Edith M toothpick op 

Winifred pi 

Gwendoline / pi 

Hawkes, F H toothpick mill 
Jennie F (Holt ho 

Kenneth B 
Vilda N 

Haynes, Chas F brick mkr 
Zelma Z (Wing ho 

EfRe M (m Lovejoy ho 
Claude B spool mill op 

Haynes, D E far 

Rhoda (Whitney ho 



Leroy L 



Hall, William C 


Ella (Whitemore 




Hall, Leroy R 


Mary W (Delano 



Alice M (m Fish 


Sadie M 


Harvey, David W far No 1 
Frances A (Marble ho 
Doris F 

Hannaford, Joseph N 

Frank far 

Joseph far 

*Herbert far 

West Gardiner 
*Ida M (m Seavery 


Holman, Alex mill man No 1 

Holman, W IS mail car No 1 
Winnie A (Gould ho 

Lelia A pi 

Holman, Ellen M (Carlton 
Frances (m Paul ho 

*Albert S far E Peru 
*Geo C plumber 

Colebrook, N H 
*Ida M (m Dailey C Point 
*Elois (m Stone Jay 

*Arthur C ptr 

Darwin B far 

Holman, D B far No Jay, 1 
Cora A (Tucker ho 

Arthur L pi 

Gertrude F pi 

Mildred I pi 

Mabel I 

Holman, Mandeville mer 

9 Main 
Alice A (Mclntire ho 

Julia B ins & typewriter 
Delia M tr 

Wendwell P stu 

Holman A far No Jay, 1 

Flora M (Smith ho 

Wallace F tr 

Theda M pi 

Holman, C D far East 

Gertrude I (Brown ho 

Elsie M pi 

Holman, Sarah E (Harvey 

Daniel H far 

Delmer D pi 

Fred W pi 

J Bennett pi 

Lena M pi 

Burtrand H pi 

Holman, J J far No 1 

Carrie M (Childs ho 

* Weston P tr Friendship 
*Wilmer H tr Waltham 
Andrew W tr 

Holman, E E far No 1 
Ordesa (Holman ho 



Lillian E (m Merrill ho 
* Walter E lab Ridlonville 
Jennie M mill op 

Harris S stu 

Mjron L pi 

Agnes A pi 

Celia A pi 

Archie R 

Holman, A M far No 1 

EfRe (Douglass ho 

Holman, Marion retd 


Holman, Horace far No 1 
Betsey S (Hutchinson ho 
Lydia (m Smith dr mkr 
*Edith (m Millett 

Amherst, Mass 
*Ella (m Barker Topsham 
*Livoni M (m Barrett 

Lena E (m Durrell ho 

*Hattie B (m Kidder Peru 

Holman, Verdell A No 1 

Gertrude M (Drown ho 
Durward F 

Holman, E M far No 1 

Susie E (Farrington ho 

Lilla M 
Walter M 
Ervin P 
Harold B 
Oscar M 
Una L 








Holman, Melvin far No 1 
*Ernest M clerg 

68 Pearl, Melrose, Mass 
*Anna E (m Paine Jay 
Carl far 

Floyd L lab 

Myrtie A stu 

Gladys E stu 

Lucy A (Towle ho 

Holman, Edgar M car 

Nellie E (Ramsdell ho 

Lottie M (m W^ebster ho 
*Maud B (m York ho 

Rum ford Falls 
Leo E toothpick mill 

Eva May pl 

Holman, Hannah 

(Hutchinson High 
Etta E ho «& P cl 

*Gertrude S (m Holt ho 
Livermore Falls 
*Mellie E (m Fernald ho 
Rumford Falls 
*Geo S cl Rumford Falls 
LE cl 

Holman, Livona ho East 

Holt, Otto F barber 

Grace E (Robinson ho 

Holt, EL far milk & wood dlr 
Hattie F (Brown ho 

Cristy C tr 

Hildred M pl 

Holt, Viola D (Blodgett ho 
E L far, milk & wood dlr 



Hattie L (m Stockbridge 
Nellie (m Brown ho 

*Etta M (m Draper ho 
Westwood, Mass 
Jennie F (m Hawkes ho 

Holt, Abel D barber 

Eda E (Badger ' ho 

Floyd S pi 

Holt, Geo H retd 

Vina A (Yeaton ho 

Herschel B marble wk 

Geo D printer 

Thos P jeweler 

Howard, M T spool mill High 
Edith M (Cobb ho 

Howard, Walter E car 

Elizabeth S (Staines ho 
Harold E 
Thomas O 

Howard, H C spool mkr Main 
Lelia (Randall ho 

Houston, Fluella L 

(Stockbridge ho Main 
Myrtle M pi 

Houston, T I s mill turner 
Jeneveive S (Neal ho 

Hildreth, W H mer East 

Mary A (Searles ho 

*0 A millman 

Laconia, N H 

*Della H (m Coburn 


Hiscock, Gustavus retd East 
*Frank P far Livermore 

Rose ho 

Geo A mer 

Howe, Clara C (Marsh ho 

*Eliott W mer 

Rumford Falls 
*Sybil A (m Minot ho 

22 Chapel, Augusta 
Corabel tr 

Carroll P mer 

Abbie M tr 

Hubble, Emma L (Tomlinson 
Susie M (m Walters ho 
George S pi 

Humphrey, L H s mill op 

Lower Main 

Addie E (Packard ho 

Earl P toothpick op 

Hilda B 


Johnson, Malinda (Waite 
James P druggist 

Mary J (m Smith ho 

Delia R (m Wentworth ho 
*Ida B (m Leighton ho 

Johnston, J P druggist 

Mary E (Newton ho 

Judkins, Elmira (Wetheren 

No Jay, 1 
Edith stu 




Keene, Fred H mer Weld 
Ethel C (Gates ho 

Olive E stu 

Keith, M E High 

overseer corn shop 

Alice (Marsh ho 

Thelm pi 

Kenerson, Ella F (Tyler 

77 Main 
Amanda A (m Tyler ho 
Blanche L ho 

Kenney, Harvey far No 1 

*E F cont & bldr 

Gallup, New Mexico 

*Laforest E eng 

Salem, Mass 

Malissa (Adams ho 

Kidder, Gladys U pi 

Kidder, George L pi 

Kidder, William M car Third 

Chiloe F (Abbott ho 

Archer P s mill op 

*Shirley A (m Dyer ho 

Rumford Falls 

Kidder, Theodore pi No 1 

Kilgore, Mary Ann (Widber 
Marcus W eng 

Ella P (m Widber ho 

Kilgore, M W eng 79 Main 
Hattie C (Moye ho 

Kimball, Ann C (Carr ho 

Clara Bell (m Brown ho 

Knight, Laforest far No 1 

Evie L (Bonny ho 

Knight, E C (Barnard el 

Knight, Emery far 

Hattie G (Bobbins ho 

(yora H pi 

Knox, F L toothpick mill op 

Willard E pi 

Susie A (Tainter ho 

Labb, Gertrude (Rand No 6 
Ladd, Leon I pi No 6 

Ladd, Wallace s mill op Main 

Mabel (Wright ho 

Florence pi 

Lamb, Levi L far No 1 

Vestie A (m Fish ho 

*Lelaud A far Weld 
Lamb, Frank A car Main 

Eda M (Widber ho 

Lane, Clarence S No 1 

Lemieux, Archie raach Third 

L (Lambert ho 

Littlefield, W D s mkr Main 
Lothrop, Mary E (Ridley ho 
No Jay, 1 

George L far 

Lovejoy, Melvin E nov mill 

William B pi 

EffleM (Hayne ho 



Lovejoy, H L toothpick mill 
50 Main 

Luce, Henry H far 

Christina C (Hall ho 

*Cha8 S mer E Peru 
*Josie N (m Childs ho 

C Point 
Leon W nov mill op 

H Clifford lab 

Ludden, V ho & tr Main 


Marsh, Columbus far No 1 

*Augie (m Buckfield 

*Matilda (m Clew ho 

Boston, Mass 
Nellie (m 

Marsh, Matilda A (Newton ho 

- *Chestina M (m Edwards 

15 Orkney, Woodfords 

Harry B mer 

Lutie M ho 

Marsh, N D C Point 

Anna J (Knapp ho 

Marsh, G A fore corn shop 
Josephine H (Maynell ho 
Netta L (m Stanley ho 
Alice M (m Keith ho 

Josephine M cl 

Marshall, F M toothpick op 
Daisy M (Grover ho 

Macomber, Justus retd Main 
Ferdinand P 

Macomber, F P Main 

Cora M (Smith ho 

Carroll J s mill op 

Austin B pi 

Floyd P pi 

Cassie H pi 

Ina M pi 

Ervin A 

Marble, D S far No 1 

*Elva J hotel 

Rumford Ctr 

Addie F (m Harvey ho 

Marble, W S far No 1 

Mary L (Towle ho 

Marion F pi 

Marble, D S far No 1 

Mclntire, Adelia (Holman 

9 Main 
Mary A (m Gould ho 

Alice A (m Holman ho 
Maurice bdg house 

McAlister, James lab Main 

McLaughlin, J M far C Point 
Martha A (m Andrews 
*Bertha (m Lord 

Merrill, V far No 1 

Callie (Harlow ho 

Edwin T lumb 

Roswell C far 

Grover C -pi 

Merrill, G L mfg 29 Weld 
Abbie W (Nichols ho 

Merrill, Edwin T lab Main 
Lillian E (Holman ho 



Estella L 

Everett E 

Pearl E 
Morse, Chas E far East 
Morse, Myrtie M ho 

Morse, Wm C s rakr Main 

Abbie M (Leavitt ho 

Thelma A 
MorrisoD, F W far No 1 

Ella R (Hall ho 

Vivian M pi 

Moy, Geo E car ptr Main 

Jennie A (Young ho 

Martin M team 

Myatt, Lewis nov mill op 

Mitchell, J H far No 1 

Melissa J (Fish ho 

*Ella M (m Decoster ho 
Amesbury, Mass 

Omer S far 

*Ethel M (m Eustis 

Strong, No 2 

Roy H far 

Murch, E W car 68 Main 

Ada E (Berry ho 

Murdock, Clara B (Kimball 

*Sadie A (m Dupaul 

Wilder, Vt 

Burton K cl 


Newell, Thos B 

spool mkr 

Lilla E ( Judkins ho 

Celand T pi 

Newton, Floyd A mech No 1 
Alice B ( Waite ho 

Cora A 

Newton, Hosie far No 1 

Abbie A (Hall ho 

*Ida May ins agt 

Rumford Falls 

Lucena A ho 

Newton, Cyrus blind 

Fidelia A (Maxwell ho 
Charles A far 

Newton, Fred G mer High 
Rena M (Knight ho 

Roy A - lab 

Newton, Dan'l F car High 
Flora A (Turner ho 

*Floyd A mach 

Los Angeles, Cal 
Lacy A lab 

Elsie M ho 

Mertie P stu 

Nichols, Clifton s mill op 


Oldham, Chas L blk East 
Eliza L stu 

Oliver, E S s finish 68 Main 
Mary B (Jeffers ho 

Packard, E D far No 1 



Grace E (Glover ho 

Elmer G pi 

Grace E pi 

Helen M pi 

Edmond A pi 

Everett G pi 

Hezekiah M 

Packard, Moses F far & mason 
Alma O (McLaughlin ho 
Edmond D far 

*M Albert mason & far 
*Wm E car & letter car 
Wakefield, Mass 

Packard, Sarah S 

(McLaughlin ho No 1 

MF far 

*Hubbard C mason 

17 Appleton, Boston, Mass 

Sarah E (m Porter ho 

Paine, O L truckman 

72 Main 
Ella E (Bartlett ho 

Harold pi 

William pi 

Geo Byron 

Payne, O E spool mkr High 
Lillian M (Fogg ho 

Parsons, Ida (Brown Third 
Ernest G pi 

Grace M stu 

*Harry B s shop Auburn 

Pease, WM phy&sur 14 Main 
Cora M (Hubbard ho 

Pease, Emma A stu 

Philbrick, S L far No 1 
Bertha A (Bucknam ho 
Leona G pi 

Lamont M pi 

Beryl R 

Porter, Clinton F far No 1 
Dora C (Robinson ho 

Elery C pi 

Lona pi 

Edna pi 

Ina pi 


Porter, Geo T far No 1 
Sarah E (Packard ho 

William C far 

Inez A pi 

Zilla L pi 

Pratt, H C retd 

*Geo W R R ser 

260 Wash, Boston, Mass 

*Chas H stu 12 Vine 

Somerville, Mass 

Proctor, Martha E (Bradeen 

Eva B ho 

Bessie E pi 

Proctor, R G eng s mill Main 
Thirsa L (Brown ho 

Alton E 

Putnam, Wm E Lower Main 
undertaker & furniture dlr 
Nettie H (Hutchinson ho 

Paul, W A far No 1 



Frances A (Holman ho 
Clarindia E (in Grover ho 
*Bert S barber 

Bellows Falls, Vt 
Clyde C lab 

Paul, W L birch mill E Peru 
Bertha M (Weutworth ho 
Aline M pi 


Rand, Sam'l D far No 1 
Alfa L (Mclunis ho 

Randall, Emma M (Hammond 

39 Weld 

Lelia M (m Foster ho 

Ella M toothpick op 

Randall, Maliesa M (Eaton 

39 Weld 

Reed, Robt far No 1 

Lydia A (Carlton ho 

Milford E far 

Effie M stu 

Reed,WN far C Point 

Addie E (Knight ho 

Ricker, Chas mach 62 Main 
Charlotte (Stockholms 

Ricker, W H nov turner 

61 Main 
Emma J (Abbott ho 

Margaret C 

Ricker, W P s cutter Main 
Maria N (Dorr ho 

Geo W s finisher 

Chas P s finisher 

Willis H s finisher 

Maud E (m Cummings ho 

Ricker, Geo W s mkr High 

Isabel (Stackhouse ho 

Hattie I pi 

Lillian M pi 

Robbins, Emma E pi East 

Robbins, Theodore A far East 

Inez C pi 

John A pi 

Edith (Holden ho 

Rollins, John H retd No Jay, 1 

Emily S (Paine ho 

*Rosa A (m Swain 


*John F far &, car 

West Bethel 

*Chas F mason 

Liver more Falls 

*Emma M (m Lernard 

No Jay 

*Fred E mason 


Rollins, W W far No Jay, 1 

*Maud E (m Wright 

Mary E (Lothrop ho 

Alice M pi 

Orissa M pi 

Philip W pi 

Root, Mrs D L (Barnard ho 
*Albert B blk 48 Wenham 
Jamaica Plains, Mass 



Eose, Calvin M far No 1 

Rose, Nelson far 

Alma J (Williams ho 

Alton F pi 

Russell, Peter far No Jay, 1 
*Syntha (m Tibbetts 

Susie ho 

*E (m Reynolds No Jay 
Dennis far 

Russell, Dennis far C Point 
Cora (Coolid^e ho 


Russell, S A s mkr 7 Elm 
Etta A (Holland ho 

Lizzie M tr 

Chas M s mkr 

Millie H millinery 

Ryerson, Frank L car 

May T (Williams ho 

Erland M 

Scott, WmH novmill 9 Elm 
Ida I (Fletcher ho 

Raymond F pi 

*Schofield, C M superintendent 
Florence, Arizona 
Ina M (Swett ho 


Severy, William H far East 
Lillian J (Burgess ho 

Cony W pi 

Morris S pi 

Severy, Warren far No Jay, 1 
Catherine K ( Waite ho 

Small, W H 8 turner 64 Main 
Emma F (Dunham ho 

Smith, A L s mill op 74 Main 
Grace V (Pike ho 

Bertha G pi 

Smith, Gustavus retd East 

Elva (m Severy 

*Walter E s shop op 

Georgetown, Mass 

Esther A (Clark ho 

Smith, Warren E far East 
Ada E (Smith ho 

Sadie M tr 

Walter H far 

Lena A tr 

Myrtle E stu 

Dora E pi 

Smith, Sam'l M far East 
Eliza R (Richmond ho 

Julia B (m Kidder ho 

Daniel E far 

Clara E (m Wright ho 

Smith, D E far East 

Mary J (Johnston ho 

Mamie E (m Casey ho 

Leon C team 

Linda R stu 

Smith, Albert W nov op 




*Fred W P cl 

Rumford Falls 

Burleigh F pi 

Smith, E A lab High 

Keziah (Canwell ho 

Alvin L lab 

Edith M (ill Burgess ho 
*Bennie A lab Ridlonville 
Charles E lab 

Stain, W H far No 1 

MaryV(Holman ho 

Stain, L S b'dg house 

Myrtie I (Emery ho 

*Ivan L lab No Bethel 
Erie Q lab 

Omar E lab 

*Estelle M (m Richardson 
Rachel F stu 

Myrtie M pi 

Stanley, Charles mer 

Alfreda V (Abbott ho 

*Chas L mer Mexico 
Arthur M mer 

Chester C stu & paper boy 

Stanley, H mfg- 

*Nellie L (m Kimball ho 

39 Sagamore 

Dorchester, Mass 

George P mach 

Stanley, Geo P 6 Elm 

mach »& town cl 

Netta L (Marsh ho 

Josephine M stu 

Stockbridge, A H lab Pine 
Hattie L (Holt ho 

Stowell, Newton S mfg Main 
Edith G (Gates ho 

A Isabel ho 

Arthur N spool mgr 

Mary S bk kpr 

George P stu 

Herbert K 

Starkey, Nellie toothpick op 

Sturtevant, E W butcher 

Myrtle L (Greene ho 

Sturtevant, J S phy & sur 

37 Weld 

CeliaH(Wing ho 

James M stu ' 

Blandine stu 

Swett, E S s mill op 

Elva A (Houle ho 

Miles L pi 

Hollis J 
Clifford R 

Swett, E S ptr & paper hgr 

33 Main 

Flora R (Hayman ho 

Ina M (m Schofield ho 

Tainter, S S s mill High 
Bernice M (Hutchinson ho 
Roland H 

Tainter, Emily S (Alden 

25 Main 




*Abraham L far & team 


Simon S s mill op 

Susie A (m Knox ho 

Tainter, Willis W mach 

Una A (Farrar ho 

Taylor, Mary A (Turner High 

ho & dr mkr 

Lena M dr mkr 

Taylor, Z W U S ser 25 Main 
Jessie (Brown ho 

Taylor, Eugene F 37 Main 
Dora S (Babb ho 

Florence L stu 

Taylor, Dan'l G far 50 Main 
Addie M(Lovejoy ho 

Erwin L far 

Teague, C D 

eng toothpick mill 
Martha A (Purrington ho 

Thayer, H G lumb mfg Weld 

Emma J (Oxnard ho 

*Clarice O (m Small ho 


Florence M stu 

Thomas, W S mech & far 

AUie A (Richardson ho 

Thompson, J N s finisher 

31 Weld 
Ida J (Adams ho 

Bessie M (m Marsh ho 
Geo N s finisher 

Henrietta B stu 

Toothaker, John H 12 Main 
Emma A stu 

Torry, P W far No 1 

Annie M (Verrill ho 

*Erland C US soldier 

Plattsburg, N Y 
Leo G far 

Wilfred V pi 

Torry, G P far - No 1 

Torry, D M far 

Emma A (Philbrick ho 
Eugene L far 

Hortense B tr 

Towle, Willis E far No 1 
EdnaM(Holman ho 

Howard W stu 

Carl E pi 

Esther E pi 

Towle, Geo H far No 1 
Carrie S (Robinson ho 
Annie R pi 

Manilla D pi 

Wilford R pi 

Towle, J J car 53 Main 
Mary F (Holman ho 

*Chas H mach 

Mabel N stenog 

Ethel R toothpick op 

Tucker, Lydia P (Coolidge ho 
No Jay, 1 
Cora A (m Holman ho 
*Leslie D far Wayne 
Flora M (m Berry ho 

Iva L ho 



John E far 

Clifford E team 

Turner, Mason H far 

Flora A (m Newton ho 

*Emery E straw shop 

Foxboro, Mass 

Turner, L F lar 

Lizzie M (Smith ho 

Phoeba M pi 

Florence A pi 

Clayton pi 

Tyler, Wm E team 77 Main 
Amanda A (Kenerson ho 
Myrtle R 


Waite, Jane C (Newton 

10 Main 
Laforest A ptr 

Waite, Margaret A (Davis ho 

Waite, Will W lab 58 Main 
Winnifred F (Bredden ho 

Waite, Rosamond E (Holman 
No Jay, 1 
*Minnie E (m Nickerson 

So Orrington 

Waite, Alva A far 

Esther H (Ellis ho 

Charles A pi 

Doris K pi 

Waite, Anna C (Parlin No 1 
Walter J far 

Alice B (m Newton ho 

Walters, Geo nov mfg 

35 Weld 
Susie M (Hubbell ho 

George T 

Walton, G M far East 

Eliza S (Bean ho 

Mertice L car & far 

*Ella B (m Smith ho East 
Winifred E stu 

Ralph E pi 

Webster, Guy E lab East 
Florence P pi 

Chester G pi 

Agnes O pi 

Lena pi 

Lottie M (Holman ho 

Anna H 
Ellen M 
Earl W 

Weld, Fred far 

Evelyn T (Decoster ho 
* Walter J sta agt 

Arthur C far 

Carl L lab 

Norma B pi 

Susan B pi 

Ina May pi 

Frank M pi 

Wentworth, Alonzo 76 Main 
Adelia (Johnston ho 

Wheelwright, E P East 

Eliza W (Townsend ho 



*Susie M (m Hunnewell 


Wheelwright, S G East 

piano & organ dlr 

Annie M (Oldham dr mkr 

Widber, EdaM (Barrett Main 

Dora B (m McAlister ho 

Sherley P s mill op 

Clarence H pi 

Scott D pi 

Widber, Charles H far 

Ella P (Kilgore ho 

Widber, Danl W stone cutter 

Widber, Jas 

far & horse trainer 

Whittemore, C D team East 

Nacy J (Wentworth ho 

*Carroll E attendant 

Poland Springs 

*Ernest E barber 

18 Goff, Auburn 

Whittemore, Eben far East 

Huldah A (Wordsworth 

*C Laforest wood turning 


Whittemore, H L lab High 

May A (Lillie ho 

Agnes M 

Whittemore, Harry E lab 


Lillian A (Closton ho 

White, H S ice bus 53 Main 

Jennie L (Eliott ho 

White, Wm H far No 1 

•Arabella A (Marble ho 
Spoone, Wis 
*Matilda J (m Kidder 

Florence A (m Danforth 
Henry S far 

William M far 

White, Wm M far No 1 
Rosilla (Carver ho 

Eva M ho 

Edgar M stu 

Bertha M pi 

Arthur H pi 

Grace B pi 

Carl B pi 

Lena E pi 

Velma R 

Whitney, Elvira N (Parke ho 
*Herbert J far No 1 
Rhoda D (m Haynes ho 

Willoughby, F L mech High 
Jennie M (Frost ho 

Bertha M pi 

Winslow, Wm H retd East 
*Ella A (m White No Jay 

Wright, Walter E far East 
Bessie M(m Penley ho 
Raymond E pi 


Wright, Geo E far East 
Clara E (Smith ho 

Walter E far 

*Edw M far No Jay, 1 
Lelia E ho 



*Bes8ie F (m Murch No Jay 
Thera G pi 

Clyde S pi 

Works, V B repr & tool mkr 
Inez N (Starkey ho 

Leland I pi 

Works, Leon P 
Wyman, Thos A 

Idella M 

nov turner 

nov op 





1830 William King, Bath. 

1821 William D. Williamson, Bangor, Acting. 

1831 Benj. Ames, Bath, Acting. 
1823 Albion K. Parris, Paris. 
1827 Enoch Lincoln, Portland, (d.) 

1829 Nathan Cutler, Farmington, Acting. 

1830 Jona G. Hunton, Readfield. 

1831 Samuel E. Smith, Wiscasset. 
1834 Robert P. Dunlap, Brunswick. 

1838 Edward Kent, Bangor. 

1839 John Fairfield, Saco. 

1841 Edward Kent, Bangor. 

1842 John Fairfield, Saco. 

1843 John Fairfield, Saco (elected to U. S. Senate). 

1843 Edw. Ejavanagh, Newcastle, Acting. 

1844 Hugh J. Anderson, Belfast. 
1847 John W. Dana, Fryeburg. 
1850 John Hubbard, Hallowell. 
1853 William G. Crosby, Belfast. 

1855 Anson P. Morrill, Rqadfield. 

1856 Samuel Wells, Portland. 

1857 Hannibal Hamlin, Hampden (elected U. S. Senate). 

1857 Joseph H. Williams, Augusta, Acting. 

1858 Lot M. Morrill, Augusta. 
1861 Israel Washburn, Jr., Orono. 
1863 Abner Cobum, Skowhegan. 


1864 Samuel Cony, Augusta. 

1867 Joshua L. Chamberlain, Brunswick. 

1871 Sidney Perham, Paris. 

1874 Nelson Dingley, Jr., Lewiston. 

1876 Selden Connor, Augusta. 

1879 Alonzo Gareelon, Lewiston. 

1880 Daniel F. Davis, Corinth. 

1881 Harris M. Plaisted, Bangor. 
1883 Frederick Eobie, Gorham. 

1887 Joseph E. Bodwell, Hallowell, died December 15, 1887. 

1887 S. S. Marble, Waldoboro, Acting. 

1889 Edwin C. Burleigh, Bangor. 

1893 Henry B. Cleaves, Portland. 

1897 Llewellyn Powers, Houlton. 

1901 John Fremont Hill, Augusta. 

1905 Wm. T. Cobb, Rockland. 


William P. Frye, Eep.— Lewiston, 1883-1907 

Eugene Hale, Rep.— Ellsworth, 1887-1905 


Amos L. Allen, Eep. — Alfred, Lawyer 

Chas. E. Littlefield, Eep. — Eockland, Lawyer 

Edwin C. Burleigh, Eep. — Augusta, Editor 

Llewellyn Powers, Eep. — Hoidton, Lawyer 



Flour, Grain and Feed. 

Also a full line of Stock Foods, 
and Veterinary Remedies. 





Full line of all the leading remedies. 
Prescription work a specialty. Wall 
Paper, Window Shades, Paints, Oil 
and Varnishes, Brushes, Sporting 
Goods, Fishing Tackle, 


G. DANA HOLT Established 18H7 THOMAS P. HOLT 

Holt Bros. Print Shop 

I will deliver at .any Maine freight station this safe, guaranteed 
fii'e-proof, size, lo x 10 x 10 inches, inside measure, FOR ONLY