Skip to main content

Full text of "The Cary family in America"

See other formats


ciV9 Il^TLJl2L3a^_1^1 

Given By 




-^^ OiJn^ QJU^ o^C^^ V^^^ 

>-rt*-w,-.i — A^ ^^v^ <l/^l^l-V^<!/1--aZZrv^ 




Althor of this Book 

The Gary Family 
IN America 


By Henry Grosvenor Gary 






dorchester center, boston 

1907 -) 


5^ ij. o // 



Vol. I, The Gary Family in England. Illustrated 
Vol. II, The Gary Family in America. Illustrated 

Either of these volumes sent by registered mail on receipt of $5.25 

Rev. SETH C. CARY, Pubhsher 
12 Brent Street, Dorchester Center, Boston 

Press of 

Murray and Emery Company 


Publisher of this Book 



Adams Family 38 

Adgate Family 78 

Allen, James Family 45 

Samuel Family 82 

Allyn Family 59 

Andrewes Family 60 

Atchinson Family 55 

Atwood Family 59 

Babbs Family 49 

Bagley Family 33 

Beckwith Family . . . . 70 

Bodfish Family 80 

Bourne Family 42 

Brockway Family 70 

Cary : 

Abigail 16, 18 

Alfred 12, 24 

Alice 19 

Althea 11 

Amanda 22 

Ann 18 

Ann Maria 29 

Ann Sophia 29 

Annie Susan 30 

Anson 24 

Archibald 2 

Augustus Celanus 27, 30 

Benajah 26 

Benjamin 13, 14, 16 

Byfield 25 

Calthea Gilmore 27, 29 

Charlotte West 26 

David 11, 12, 15 



Devonshire Carys 2 

Ebenezer 20 

Edward Montagu 4, 90 

Edward Thomas 106 

Eleazer. .16, 17, 18, 19, 21,22 

Eliphalet 20 

Elizabeth 11, IS, 94 

Eliza Haywood 99 

Eliza Pratt 104 

Elliot 21, 23 

Emeline 25 

Emma Augusta 29 

Eunice 21, 23 

Francis 11 

Frank 29 

Freeman 26 

George 26 

George Roswell 30 

George Singleton 97, 104 

Hannah 11, 12, 91, 94 

Harriett Elizabeth 29 

Henry C 2 

Henry Frank 30 

Henry Grosvenor 27, 31 

Isaac. 26, 97, 99, 103, 105, 106 

James 1, 2, 4, 11, 16, 21 

89, 90, 92, 93 

Jerusha 25 

John. . ..1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10 

11, 13, 14, 15, 16, 89, 90 

91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96 

John F 21 

John, Jr 10, 11, 13, 98 

INDEX — Continued 


JohnM 25 

Jonathan 7, 12, 89, 90 

91, 92, 93, 94, 95 

Jonathan George 103 

Joseph 11, 12 

Josiah 16 

Lorenzo 26 

Lydia 18, 19, 21 

Lydia Gould 34 

Martha 18 

Mary... 11, 12, IS, 21, 31, 94 

Mary Adella 104 

Mary Alice 29 

Mary Bagley 34 

Mary E 98 

Mary Maria 97 

Matthew 2 

Mehitabel 11, 13 

Milan Galusha 27, 30 

Miles 1 

Minerva 25 

Nancy 21, 23, 94 

Nathan 24 

Nathaniel. 16, 19, 90, 92, 97, 103 

Nellie Lee 30 

Olivet 21, 22 

Pamelia 25 

Phebe 19 

Rebecca 11, 13, 93, 94 

Richard 2 

Robert 26 

Sally 96 

Samuel, 2, 20, 90, 91, 92, 93 
97, 102 

Samuel, Capt 1 

Samuel F 3, 4 

Sarah 11, 13, 18, 91, 94 

Seth 16 

Somerset 3 


Sophia Augusta 27, 29 

Susan 19, 21 

Susannah 21, 26 

Susannah Elizabeth 104 

Thesta Sophia 30 

Throop 21 

Timothy 16 

William, 3, 4, 18, 20, 21, 22, 25 
William Addison ... 27, 28, 29 

William Augustus 30 

William Ferdinand 90 

William George 104 

William Harris, 90,97,99, 100 
101, 102, 104, 105 

Winifred 29 

Clarke Family 51 

Collins Family 60 

Coytmore Family 38 

Crocker Family 79 

Deming Family 51 

Dennett Family 35 

Everhard Family 59 

Fitch Family 39 

Folsom Family 35 

French Family 64 

Fuller Family 75 

Gallup Family 60 

Gay lard Family 52 

Godfrey Family 81 

Gould Family 34 

Grant Family 65 

Graves Family 38 

Gray Family 38 

Guild Family 45 

Hazen Family 63 

Hicks Family 59 

Hodges Family 59 

Howland Family 80 

Howlett Family 64 


INDEX — Continued 


Hurd Family 65, 71 

Lake Family 63 

Lamb Family 82 

Lane Family 65 

Lee Family 81 

Leonard Family 57 

Lothrop Family 76 

Lovell Family 57 

Mason Family 40 

Mygate Family 53 

Paine, Robert Treat 52 

Peck Family 49 

Perkins Family 55 

Picket Family 66 

Reed Family 62 


Rowley Family 79 

Rust Family 54 

Sabin Family 43 

Scott Family 37 

Scudder Family 78 

Swett Family 34 

Temple Family 60 

Tilley Family 81 

Tracy Family 42 

Treat Family 52 

Waterman Family 42 

Watkins Family 60 

Watson Family 58 

Webb Family 36 

Winslow Family 59 



Prof. Henry Grosvenor Gary 

Rev. Seth Cooley Gary 

Old Gary House, Gharlestown 

Sachem's Rock, Bridgewater 

Site of John Gary's Homestead 

Rev. Mr. Keith's House 

Sermon Rock 

Alfred Gary House 

Dwight Gary House 

Alice and Phebe Gary 

Ghristian Street House, Gary Hill 

Glovelly, Grest Avenue, Winthrop 

John Adams and John Quincy Adams's Houses 

Jonathan Gary 

William Harris Gary 

Gary Homestead, Lexington, Massachusetts 

Isaac Harris Gary 

Gary Memorial Library, Lexington, Massachusetts 



This volume concludes the works of Prof. Henry 
Grosvenor Gary. " The Gary Family in England," 
published a year ago, gave a fair view of our ancestors 
across the sea; this volume continues the life of the 
family here in America. With these two volumes there 
is laid a foundation for serious work, on both sides the 
Atlantic. The last word has not been said or written 
concerning either branch, and will not be for many a 
long day to come, so it is now the time for research — 
patient, continuous. 

With a fairly liberal base as a point of departure, 
the filling in by the various lines and branches is the work 
now before us all. No one person can do this, but only 
the united, concentrated effort of us all can accomplish 
what is really our share in the extension and perfecting 
of the history of an illustrious family. 

The transplantiiig to this virgin soil has not spoiled 
the prestige of the past, although it has possibly changed 
the direction of the effort. To be noble, purposeful and 
aggressive in all good work, is the simple but mighty 
task that is laid at our feet. 

The Bulletins sent out by The John Gary Descend- 
ants will be the open door through which our work must 
now be continued. If these are properly sustained, the 
time will not be long before the supreme effort must be 
put forth in a new edition of the " Gary Memorials," 
issued by our pioneer in family history — Gen. Samuel 
Fenton Gary in 1874. That great work, made at a time 
when there was far less interest than now, is practically 
the leading source of information. 



All will be glad to see some facts about James Gary 
and the old ' ' Gary House ' ' at Gharlestown ; the long 
list of collateral branches of the family, and the valuable 
material that may be gathered from it ; while the list of 
"Royal Descents" will fascinate some and lead to 
further search of some far-away kin. In the Appendix 
will be found a brief sketch of Jonathan Gary Ye Third, 
who, with his brother, came to Gharlestown from Bristol, 
and who have made for themselves a name in business, 
benevolence and good citizenship. 

But the main line is that of John Gary, and here will 
be found the old Indian Deed, cuts of Sachem and Sermon 
Rocks, some of the Massachusetts and Gonnecticut 
homes, and the j^ictures of Alice and Phebe Gary, and 
much more that will interest every one. 



THE three Carys referred to in the EngHsh records as 
coming to America from Somersetshire, England, 
were as follows: John, who came in 1634 and 
settled at Plymouth; James, who came in 1635, settling 
at Charlestown, now Chelsea, after a short stay at 
Plymouth; and Miles, who came over in 1640 and settled 
in Virginia. 

From James have descended many of the Carys in 
the vicinity of Boston. That part of Chelsea called 
Caryville was settled by them. The old Cary mansion 
in Chelsea still stands. The tenitory now occupied by 
the city of Chelsea was allotted to Governor Belling- 
ham as his share of the town lands belonging to the 
Colony, and he erected this house in 1670. 

The estate came into possession of Capt. Samuel 
Cary, great-grandson of the James Cary who came from 
England in 1635, and has been occupied by the family 
from 1749 till within a few years. They still own it. 
The building remains almost exactly as when built, the 
door-stones, the door with its iron knocker, bolt, and even 
the " set-bar" which was used every night to add security. 
In each room on the lower floor is a large open fire-place, 
and the elaborate woodwork around them is much ad- 
mired. Architects have often visited the house to obtain 
ideas regarding the old Colonial style of building. 

In Revolutionary times British soldiers were quartered 
here, and places on the stairs are shown where the wood 
was cut away and other pieces inserted to obliterate 
blood stains made by the killing of a soldier in a quarrel. 



A peculiar feature of the house is the secret chamber and 
closets. The former is in the attic, and was reached by 
a passage leading from the cellar and winding around the 

The Gary coat-of-arms hangs in the hall and is the 
same as the Devonshire Garys have. Samuel Gary, 
grandson of James, is buried in the old Phipps Street 
biorying-ground in Gharlestown. The tomb has the Gary 
arms on it. The inscription is : 

Richard Gary, aide-de-camp to General Washington, 
also the wives of President Felton and Professor Agassiz, 
formerly of Harvard Gollege, are descendants of James. 

From Miles have descended most of the Garys in the 
Southern States. Archibald Gary, President of the 
House of Burgesses at the beginning of the Revolution (in 
Virginia), also the mother of the Honorables Montgomery 
and Frank Blair were among them. 

Since that time there have been nvmierous immigra- 
tions of Garys from England and Ireland. Matthew 
Garey, a distinguished book publisher of Philadelphia, and 
the father of Henry G. Garey, the well-known writer on 
social science and political economy, came from Ireland. 
The Garys in the north of Ireland are descended from 
the grandson of Robert of Glovelly, who was bom in 



1570. (See page 71 English record.) To him was given 
the manor of Red Castle at Innishowen, Donegal County. 
Some of the Irish speU the name Carey. As stated in 
the English record, the name of the descendants of the 
Somerset Carys always was spelled Cary vintil 1820, when 
William Cary of the twentieth generation changed it to 

The following record is only of the descendants of 
John, the first Cary to try his fortune on these shores. 
Samuel F. Cary, author of " Cary Memorials," says: 
"Enough is known to enable me to state that in each 
generation there have been wise and good men. A large 
proportion of them were professors of the Christian 
religion, and possessed the traits peculiar to the early 
settlers of New England. The physical, intellectual, 
moral and social characteristics, however modified by 
marriage, occupation, etc., have been remarkably pre- 
served. As a race they have been physically above the 
common statttre, stout, musctdar, dark hair and eyes, 
short necks, great powers of endurance, great tenacity to 
life, and living to more than the ordinary age. 

Their mental constitutions have been characterized 
by strength rather than brilliancy, fixedness of piupose, 
persistency of opinion, habit and pursuit. 

" The larger niimber have been farmers ; very few in 
any generation have accumulated great wealth, none 
have been mendicants, and, so far as can be ascertained, 
not one has been convicted of crime." 

In order to be perfectly clear, the ancestry of the 
Cary Family is given to include the author of this book. 

The English Ancestry. 

1. Adam de Kari Castle Kari Somerset, England 1170 

2. John de Kary Castle Kary Somerset, England 1200 

3. William de Kary Castle Kary Somerset, England 1230 

4. John de Kary Castle Kary Somerset, England 1270 

5. William Kary Castle Kary Somerset, England 1300 


6. John Cary 

7. John Cary 

8. Robert Cary 

9. Philip Gary 

10. William Cary 

11. Robert Cary 

12. William Cary 

13. Robert Cary 

14. William Cary 

15. John Cary 

15. John Cary 

16. John Cary 

17. Eleazer Cary 

18. William Cary 

19. William Cary 

20. William Cary 

21. Henry Grosvenor 

St. Giles-in-the-Heath Devon, England 1325 

Holway Devon, England 1350 

Holway Devon, England 1375 

Holway Devon, England 1400 

Cockington Devon, England 1430 

Clovelly Devon, England 1460 

Bristol Somerset, England 1500 

Bristol Somerset, England 1525 

Bristol Somerset, England 1560 

Bristol Somerset, England 1610 
The American Ancestry. 

Plymouth, Duxbury.Bridgewater Came in 1634 

Duxbury, Plymouth Colony 1645 

Bridgewater 1678 

Windham, Conn. 1729 

Windham, Conn. 1767 

Lempster, N. H. 1796 

Cary Lempster, N. H. 1829 

John Cary was the son of WilHam Cary, who was 
Mayor of Bristol, England, in 1611. This is in accordance 
with the statement of Edward Montagu Cary, of Milton, 
a man who spent much time and effort in tracing his 
ancestry, going to England for the purpose ; also accord- 
ing to Judge Mitchell, historian of Bridgewater, the place 
where John pennanently settled, and where the traditions 
of the early settlers would be correct. There are other 
strong reasons why it is believed that John and James 
were brothers, which it is not necessary should be printed 

In case John was the nephew of the mayor, as S. F. 
Cary thinks possible, the family line would still be 

Fifteenth Generation. 

John Cary, son of William of Bristol, was born near 
Bristol, Somersetshire, England, in 1610. He was one 
of a family of eight sons and two daughters. When a 
youth he was sent by his father to France to be educated, 
and while there his father died. On returning home he 
differed with his brothers about the settlement of the 
estate. He compromised by receiving one hundred 


Where the Deed was Signed 


pounds as his portion, and immediately sailed for America. 
This was in 1634. 

He first joined the Plymouth Colony. In 1649 he, 
with others, purchased of Ousamequin, afterwards known 
as Massasoit, chief of the Pockanocket Indians, a tract 
of land about fourteen miles square, embracing what 
is now the Bridgewaters. This tract was known as 
Satucket. The deed was made out to Miles Standish 
and two others, as trustees in behalf of John Cary and 
fifty- three others. The original is preserved by the old 
Bridgewater Historical Society, West Bridgewater, Mass., 
and is as follows : 

Indian Deed 

Wiitmnn Etitm }^VtntntU, that I, Ousam- 
equin, Sachem of the County of Poconocket, have given, 
granted, enfoefed, and sold unto Miles Standish of Dux- 
bury, Samuel Nash and Constant Southworth of Duxbury 
aforesaid, in behalf of all the townsmen of Duxbury afore- 
said, a tract of land usually called Satucket, extending 
in the length and breadth thereof as followeth: that is to say, 
from the wear at Satucket seven miles due east, and from 
the said wear seven miles due west, and from the said wear 
seven miles due north, and from the said wear seven miles 
due south; the which tract the said Ousamequin hath given, 
granted, enfoefed, and sold unto the said Miles Standish, 
Samuel Nash, and Constant Southworth, in the behalf of 
all the townsmen of Duxbury, as aforesaid, with all the 
immunities, privileges, and profits whatsoever belonging 
to the said tract of land, with all and singular all woods, 
underwoods, lands, meadows, rivers, brooks, rivulets, &c., 
to have and to hold, to the said Miles Standish, Samuel 
Nash, and Constant Southworth, in behalf of all the towns- 



men of the town of Duxbury, to them and their heirs forever. 
In witness whereof, I, the said Ousamequin, have hereunto 
set my hand this 23J of March,lQ4:9. 


rJ/ l^^/li 

'an I -^^^^^ 


John Bradford, 

William Otway, alias Parker, 

Witness the mark of Ousamequin. 

In consideration of the aforesaid bargain and sale, we, 
the said Miles Standish, Samuel Nash, and Constant 
Southworth, do bind ourselves to pay unto the saidOusame- 
quin, for and in consideration of the said tract of land, as 
followeth: — 

7 coats, a yard a-nd a half in a coat. 
9 hatchets. 

8 hoes. 
20 knives. 

4 moose skins. 
10 yards and a half of cotton. 


6. ^^z^. 




Of the fifty-four persons who bought this land only 
sixteen became actual settlers, of whom John Gary was 
one. The land was divided into fifty-four parts, and 
assigned by lots. John Gary drew a tract one mile wide 
by seven miles long on the northern boundary. This 
tract embraced what is now the city of Brockton. 

The town of Bridge water was divided in 1821 into 
four townships, viz. : North Bridgewater, East Bridge- 
water, West Bridgewater, and Bridgewater. North 
Bridgewater became Brockton in 1874. 

Notwithstanding the fact that John Gary never 
lived in that part of the town, but at West Bridgewater, 
there are many of his descendants living in Brockton now, 
most, if not all, being descended from his sixth child, 

The greatest elevation of land in Brockton is called 
Gary Hill, and several Gary families live on it. Some of 
these Garys are deacons, thus keeping up the reputation 
of the family in that respect. 

The town of Bridgewater was incorporated in 1656. 
That year John was chosen constable, the first and only 
officer elected at that time. The office of constable was 
second only to that of governor. The constable was the 
only officer in the town whose duty it was to execute the 
laws, and his power was almost absolute. He could even 
arrest on suspicion " without precept," a power scarcely 
allowed at the present day to the chief magistrate of a 
nation or state. There were no sheriffs in those days. 

John was elected town clerk the next year, 1657, and 
held the office till he died in 1681, a period of twenty-fotir 

He was prominent among his fellows, was intelligent, 
well educated and public spirited. He taught the first 
class in Latin in the Golony. 



The sixteen original settlers lived in what is now 
West Bridge water. Their homestead lots were laid out 
adjoining each other, in six acres each, all abutting on 
Town River, or, as called by the Indians, Nuncketest 
River. John Gary had two of these lots, and they still 
remain undivided. Their present boundary is as follows : 
On the west is South Street, the old road leading from 
New Bedford to Boston and laid out in 1668 ; on the north 
is Ash Street, and on the other two sides are the river and 
the cemetery. On this land are two houses, one, the older, 
built in 1799, on the spot where stood the dwelling of 
John Gary, the old well being still in use, and the cellar 
practically the same as then. This house and two acres 
of land have lately been willed to Mr. Fred E. Howard 
of that town for an Old Ladies' Home. 

The grave of John Gary cannot be located. The 
oldest cemetery in town is that adjoining his former 
house-lot, but was not opened until 1683, two years after 
his death. The first cemetery had no monuments or 
inscribed gravestones, nothing but large, fiat field-stones 
to mark the head of the grave. After the new cemetery 
was opened this one was neglected, the stones fell down 
and in the cotu'se of years were covered with earth, and for 
several generations the location was lost. Mr. Howard, 
mentioned above, stated to the author that when he was 
a young man, his father, while working on hisfaiTn, found 
cavities in the earth into which the feet of the oxen sank 
while ploughing, and also found them when setting fence- 
posts ; and on examination they discovered that there 
was a long lost graveyard, and that it extended under the 
road which had been laid out leading past Mr. Howard's 
residence. No attempt was made to remove the bones, 
but the rude gravestones were taken up and placed in 
the wall. Mr. Howard has erected a granite obelisk by 
the roadside with these two inscriptions : 




♦•—•— — — — •-••-" — •■-■ 








J 1 

So old John Gary rests on Mr. Howard's farm, or 
under Howard Street. 

Not far away still stands the house formerly owned 
and occupied by the first settled minister, Rev. Mr. 
Keith. He came from Aberdeen, Scotland, and preached 
here fifty-six years. 

By the side of Nuncketest River is shown the boulder, 
some twenty feet across, on which Mr. Keith stood when 
he preached his first sermon in 1664, before the meeting- 
house was bidlt. All the land about here is fine farming 
land, and that of John Gary was in one of the best loca- 
tions. There are no Garys now living in West Bridge- 

Cotton Mather wrote: "The first settlers of Bridge- 
water were a set of people who made religion their main 
interest. Remarkable was the fate of Bridgewater, a 
most praying and pious town ; seated in the very midst 
of the war (King Philip's), that, although they were often 
assaulted by formidable numbers of their enemies, yet in 
all their sharp assaults never lost one of its inhabitants, 
old or young. " The opinion was that their piety shielded 
them from savage cruelty. 

To give a little insight into those times I copy a 



few records made by John Gary, taken from his own 

"It is agreed upon by the Towne the twelfe of 
March, 1656, that there shall be five woulfe traps made." 

" It is Ordered and Agreed upon by the Towne, the 
tenth of July 1660, freely and willingly to give to Mr 
Buckner if he shall come Heyther to supply the place of 
A minister the sum of twenty pounds and his diet." 

" It was agreed upon b)^ the towne mett togeyther, 
the first of November 1675, that there should be a fortifi- 
cation aboute the meeting house for the safety of the 

"The Towne being mett together by order from the 
Governor, and warned thereto by the Constable, the 21st 
of August 1676, I John Gary Gleark, being cald upon by 
the Inhabitants to call for a vote, who should have the 
money that was made of the Indians that was sold last. 
And the vote passed that the souldiears that took them 
shotild have the money; the contrary vote being cald, 
I se but three men at most who held up their hands to 
the contrary." 

" The 4th day of Desember 1676, Agreed with 
Samuel Tomkins to sweep and look to the meeting house 
A full year after the date hereof. And he was to have 12s 
for his pains or labour. " 

" The towne made choice of John Ames Seynior and 
John Gary Junior, for this year, to be helpful to the Con- 
stable and the Grand Jury man About their inspection 
into such houses that may be thought to harbour Any 
English or Indians to sell or give Liquor, or sider to make 
them drunke." 

The peculiar spelling in these selections from the 
records by John Gary would indicate in these days great 
ignorance, but at that time it was quite common even 









r ■ 




I^^^R^^^^^Hu^^SHHnLl ' 


gjQT^ ^^ 







with educated men, not only in this new country but in 
England. All accoimts agree with the following quota- 
tion from the history of Plymouth Colony, that " John 
Cary was a man of superior education, and had great 
influence in the Colony and as an officer of the Church." 

In 1644 John married Elizabeth Godfrey. She died 
in 1680. Their children were: 

1. John, born November 4, 1645, at Diixbury, died 


2. Francis, born January 19, 1647, at Duxbury, 

died 1718. 

3. Elizabeth, born December 20, 1649, at Duxbury. 

4. James, bom March 28, 1652, at Braintree, died 


5. Mary, bom July 8, 1654, at Bridgewater. 

6. Jonathan, bom September 24, 1656, at Bridge- 

water, died 1695. 

7. David, born January 27, 1658, at Bridgewater, 

died 1718. 

8. Hannah, bom April 30, 1661, at Bridgewater. 

9. Joseph, born April 18, 1663, at Bridgewater, 

died 1722. 

10. Rebecca, bom March 30, 1665, at Bridgewater. 

11. Sarah, born August 2, 1667, at Bridgewater. 

12. Mehitable, bom December 24, 1670, at Bridge- 

water. (See Godfrey, page 81 •) 

John, the first child, is the ancestor of otu- family. 

I will record a few items about John's brothers and 

Francis married Hannah Brett in 1676, and had five 
children. He died in Bridgewater. 

Elizabeth married William Brett. 

James married Mary Shaw in 1682. He hved most 
of his life in Connecticut, ana died there. 



Mary died unmarried. 

Jonathan married Sarah Allen in 1695. He had 
three children and was the ancestor of the world-wide 
known singer Annie Louise. 

David, with his brother, moved to Bristol in 1680, 
and was one of the original proprietors of that town, 
which was named for the town of that name in Somerset- 
shire, England, from which their ancestors came. 

David was a carpenter, and a man of influence, piety 
and education. He died in 1718, leaving an estate 
valued at eight hundred and eleven pounds — about 
four thousand dollars ; a wealthy man for those days. 
He had ten children. Henry, the youngest, was 
graduated at Harvard in 1733. 

Hannah died unmarried. 

Joseph went to Norwich, Conn., and afterwards 
became one of the original proprietors of Windham. 
Soon after this, he bought, on February 9, 1694, one 
thousand acres of land for ten pounds, nine shillings, — 
about fifty-two dollars. He was repeatedly chosen to fill 
important offices, civic, military and religious. He was 
deacon of the Congregational Church from 1700 till he 
died in 1722, and Captain of the Train Band. At his 
death he was buried by his townsmen " under arms," a 
very unusual occuirence at that day. He was a very 
large, athletic man, as were the Carys generally. He 
married Hannah and had one child ; he then mar- 
ried Mercy Rudd and had five children. He was the 
ancestor of the poetesses Alice and Phebe Cary, in 
the twenty-first generation ; Alice being bom April 26, 
1820, and Phebe born September 4, 1824. In the "Alfred 
Cary " house, a view of which is opposite, six genera- 
tions of Joseph's line were born. It is in Scotland 
adjoining Windham. 


In Scotland, Adjoining Windham 


Rebecca married Samuel Allen in 1685 and had five 

Of Sarah there seems to be no trace. 

Mehitable married, first, Eliashib Adams, the third 
from Henry Adams, ancestor of the Adams family, and 
had four children ; he dying, she married, second, Miles 
Standish, a descendant of the Captain. 

The other view opposite is of the Dwight Cary house, 
Windham, on Pudding Hill, Scotland Parish, owned by 
the Carys for over two hundred years. 

Sixteenth Generation. 

John Cary, first son of John (generation fifteen), was 
bom in 1645. He married Abigail, daughter of Samuel 
Allen, December 7, 1670. He moved to Bristol, R. I., 
and died there on July 14, 1721. His estate was valued 
at seven hundred pounds. In " Cary Memorials " is 
stated that John and his wife are buried in the old 
cemetery on the common. The cemetery and common 
have been separated. The gravestones which were on 
the common have been removed to the adjoining cem- 
etery, and a wall built around the latter. No attempt was 
made to remove the bones after having been buried a 
century and a half. Among the stones thus removed 
were those of John Cary and his son Benjamin; and so 
John Cary of Bristol, like his father in Bridgewater, lies 
on the common in an unmarked grave. 

In consideration of the fact that John and Benjamin 
were deacons of the church in Bristol for many years, 
their gravestones were not set in some unmeaning place 
in the cemetery, like n:iany others, but were removed to 
the yard of the Congregational Church, and are now stand- 
ing in a place of honor close to that building. 



The inscription on John's is as follows: 

Remember Death. Here lies ye dust of 
Dea. John Gary, a shining Pattern of Piety 
whose spirit returned to God that gave it 
July ye 14th 1721 in ye 76th year of his age. 

A man of prayer, so willing to do good, 

His highest worth Who of us understood. 

Fear God, love Christ, help souls their work to mend, 

So like this saint fit for bliss without end. 

John's stone is of plain slate, while that of his son 
Benjamin is elaborately carved. This is accounted for 
by the fact that John died worth seven hundred pounds, 
while Benjamin was worth eight thousand eight hundred. 

John was one of the original inhabitants of Bristol. 
After the close of King Philip's War, Mount Hope and the 
territory adjoining were granted to Plymouth Colony on 
January 12, 1680, by King Charles II, at Whitehall 
Palace, London. 

The General Court appointed a committee who sold 
the land to four proprietors on September 14, 1680, 
possession being given by " Twig & Turf." The attorney 
stood upon the land in company with the four associates ; 
breaking a twig from the nearest bush, and plucking a 
bit of turf from beneath their feet, he handed both to one 
of the proprietors and the possession of the land was 

The next thing to do was to invite settlers of the right 
quality from the towns in the Colony, and after sixty 
desirable families had been secured, that of John Cary 
being among them, the town was organized. 

Lane, in his Manual, states, " On coming to Bristol 
Mr. Cary at once took a prominent position in civil and 
ecclesiastical affairs, and was frequently elected to 
offices of trust." 





The first town meeting was held September 1, 1681, 
and John Gary and seventy-four others, including his 
brother David, were admitted as citizens. Captain 
Benjamin Church, the famous warrior, and the conqueror 
of King Philip, was one of these. He and John Gary 
were often chosen together on matters of moment. 

The Gary homestead in Bristol was on what is now 
called Malthouse Lane, from the fact that John was a 
brewer, and traces of the brewery may now be seen on the 
farm owned by the late William Paul. The ale was 
shipped to Newport and from thence to most of the 

On May 3, 1687, the first church was organized with 
only eight members. John Gary was one of the first two 
deacons, and also was chosen chtirch clerk. 

The first record made in his handwriting is as follows : 
" In the year 1687 it pleased God to bringe that reverend 
Mr. Lee to Bristol, and on a visit to se the plac and 
preach to the peopell. 

" Ther was a joynt voat of the town for his taking 
charg heer to preach the gospell, and in order of settleinge 
the plac in gospell order ; which after some short spac 
came with his wife and family to settel heer." 

John Gary, two of his sons and a son-in-law were all 
deacons of the same chtirch at the same time. His 
associate at the organization of the church was Deacon 
Nathaniel Bosworth, a cooper. He made the barrels 
and John filled them with ale, and the records state that 
" they wrought together mightily, not only in their busi- 
ness but also in their spiritual relations." 

In 1690, on the death of Stephen Burton, John Gary 
became the county clerk, at that time the same as the 
register of deeds, the clerk of court of common pleas and 
register of probate combined. He was also chosen 



selectman. This office was created in 1665. Their 
power was very great, so much so that it is difficult to 
realize it at the present time. They were empowered to 
break in the " haunts of the prophane and slothful " 
and compel their attendance at church, to compel single 
persons to live in such families as they should direct, had 
power to send any one away out of the Colony, to make 
arrests, and hold courts in which they were judges. 

" They united the functions of the Roman Censor, 
with those of the modem Police Officer. ' ' 

Among the numerous records in John's handwriting 
are these : 

" Voted that every man who shall leave a Town 
Meeting before it shall be closed by prayer, shall pay one 

' ' Voted that two Wolf pits be made to the liking of 
Captain Church and Sergent Cary." 

The children of John and Abigail were : 

1. John, born November 1, 1671, died December 

29, 1671. 

2. Seth, born January 28, 1673. 

3. John, born December 9, 1674, died April 25, 1711. 

4. Nathaniel, born November 24, 1676, died Decem- 

ber 11, 1739. 

5. Eleazer, bora September 27, 1678, died July 28, 


6. James, bom June 10, 1680. 

7. Benjamin, born October 27, 1681, died January 

20, 1734. 

8. Ehzabeth, bom May 23, 1683. 

9. Abigail, bom August 3, 1684. 

10. Josiah, bom May 6, 1686, died June 26, 1739. 

11. Timothy, bom Febmary 16, 1688. 




I copy the record of the first child as above, made 
by his grandfather, the " Towne Clearke." 

" The day and yeare of the Birth of the children of 
John Gary, Junior heare in the towne of Bridgewater is 
as followeth. And his marriage was the 7th of Desember 

" Imprimis, his first borne whose name was John 
was brought forth into the world the first of November 
1671, and the Lord took hime to himself e, and was buried 
the nine and twentieth of Desember '71." 

Eleazer was our ancestor. His brother Benjamin 
was a man of distinction in Bristol, and was town clerk 
several years. In his wife's will she gives to her daughter 
Elizabeth " all my silver-plate and indoor moveables, 
also my servant-girl Gaty." 

Seventeenth Generation. 

Eleazer, son of John (generation sixteen), was bom 
in Bridgewater on September 27, 1678. Moved to Bristol, 

R. I., and married Lydia in 1700. In 1718 he 

moved to Windham, Gonn., as his uncle Joseph was 
living there. 

The next year he bought eighty-six acres of land, 
about a mile east of the center of Windham, for one him- 
dred and ten pounds, — $550. The locality was called, 
and still retains the name of. Christian Street, from the 
piety of the early settlers. This street leads over Gary 
Hill, at the top of which was the old Gary homestead. 

The farm remains the same, but it is doubtful if the 
house retains any part of the original. (See view opposite.) 
The location is a fine one. 

The children of Eleazer and Lydia (generation 
eighteen) were: 

1. EHzabeth, bom March 25, 1701. 



2. Abigail, born January 15, 1703. 

3. Ann, born September 21, 1708. 

4. Lydia, born 1710. 

5. Eleazer, born November 19, 1713, died July 24, 


6. Mary, bom March 23, 1716. 

7. Martha, born 1718, died January 25, 1774. 

8. Sarah, born April 10, 1720, died May 4, 1726. 

9. William, born March 4, 1722, died May 2, 1726. 

10. Alathea, born May 12, 1724, died February 22, 


11. William, bom October 28, 1729, died May 7, 1808. 

Eleazer was chosen deacon of the first church in 
1726, and held the office till he died in 1757, thirty-one 
years later. He was called Captain Cary, and the town 
records show that he was a man of influence. He was 
chosen representative, or deputy, to the general assembly 
eight sessions in succession. 

The grave of Eleazer Cary is in the old cemetery at 
Windham Centre. It stands quite near the road, and is 
surrounded by numerous headstones of black slate, 
ornamented by death's heads and other cheerful devices. 
The inscription is as follows : 

In memory of Capt. Eleazer Cary. 

Although his Yousfulness in Church & State Yet 

he was Called to Close his Eyes on Mortal things 

& went with Unshaken Faith into ye Unseen world on 

ye 28th of July 1754 in ye 76th Year of his Age. 

In him Did two Great worthys Shine 
Wisdom & Justice met so Kind. 

Then Let him Rest in Undisturbed dust 
Untill ye Resurrection of ye Just. 



On the right is the grave of Deacon Gary's wife 
Lydia, and on the left is one of Ensign Gary and daughter 
Susan. The deacon and the captain are the same person ; 
the ensign was his son, who died the same year as his father. 

Of Eleazer Gary it may be said as of his uncle 
in " Hinman's Connecticut Settlers," " Joseph Gary of 
Windham must have been a gentleman of reputation, as 
no man in Connecticut at the early settlement of Wind- 
ham could have held the offices of deacon and captain 
unless of high standing in the Colony." Lydia died June 
12, 1761, aged seventy-five years. 

Continuing over and down Gary Hill, we reach the 
town of Scotland, or Scotland Society as it was called 
in old times. Here settled the descendants of Joseph, 
the ninth child of John the " Towne Clear ke," and the 
ancestor of Alice and Phebe, the poetesses. (See view of 
the " Alfred Gary house " facing page 12). 

It was in this village that the old round, so popular 
years ago, of "Scotland's Burning," was composed by 
Jonathan Huntington, 1750. 

Of this generation we will mention Nathaniel, cousin 
of William, who lived in Bristol. He was a large and ath- 
letic man, and of splendid personal appearance. He was 
colonel in the Revolutionary army. In his will he 
emancipated his miilatto man Ichabod, and provided 
means for his support. 

Another cousin, Eleazer, living in Wyoming Valley, 
lost several members of his family in the memorable 
massacre of July, 1778. 

His son John was a man of herculean frame, marvel- 
ous strength and personal courage. At eighteen years 
of age, when the inhabitants were suffering for food, he 
went from the Valley on foot through snow, over the 
mountains to Easton, for flour. 



Samuel, a brother of this John, was small of stature ; 
he escaped the massacre, but was taken prisoner by the 
Indians ; was given up as lost, but returned to the Valley 
after six years of incredible suffering among the Indians. 

The name of Eliphalet Gary is on the muster roll of 
the company that marched to the relief of Fort William 
Henry, August, 1757. 

Ebenezer Gary was a private in Israel Putnam's 
Gompany in 1756 to hold Fort Edward. 

On examining the records of the town of Windham, 
the name of Gary appears on nearly every page, several 
times on many pages. 

For year after year we find that Deacon Gary (the 
first name was not recorded) or Gaptain Gary, or Lieuten- 
ant Gary was moderator of town meeting, first selectman, 
or chairman of the lysters, i.e., assessors. 

Many times a Gary was appointed to " seat the 
meeting-house." It must indeed have required much 
judgment, not to say courage, to assign seats in the 
meeting-house to all people according to their standing 
in town, or their own estimate of their importance. 

I found in the Windham town records the names of 
six Garys who responded to the " Lexington Alarm." 

Two school districts in Windham were named for 

Eighteenth Generation. 

William was the last child of Deacon Eleazer 
(generation seventeen). He was born in Windham on 
October 28, 1729, and he died May 7, 1808. 

He married on February 19, 1754, Eunice Webb, 
daughter of Nathaniel Webb, of Windham. See the 
Webb family record on page 36. 

Their children (generation nineteen) were : 



1. Susannah, bom December 11, 1754, died July 

30, 1757. 

2. Eleazer, bom April 23, 1757, died May 15, 1790. 

3. Mary (Polly), bom Febmary 20, 1759. 

4. Olivet, born October 20, 1761, died July 15, 1833. 

5. Elliot, born December 28, 1763, died 1844. 

6. Eunice, born January 4, 1767. 

7. William, born January 4, 1767, died January 9, 


8. James, born January 4, 1767, died January 9, 


9. Lydia, bom Febmary 19, 1770, died May 12, 


10. Susannah, bom April 14, 1771. 

The foregoing was copied from the Windham town 
records. Windham Center is a good specimen of a 
country village in a farming town ; the streets all center 
here, here are the churches, bank, tavern, best stores, 
and close by is the cemetery. 

There are numerous fine trees all about, and the 
farms seem fertile. Why my ancestors left this nice 
cotmtry for the rocky hills of New Hampshire is beyond 
my comprehension ; it could not have been for better soil 
to cultivate, or for more " elbow room." 

The family moved to Lempster, N. H., in 1772 
and the following named children were bom there. 

11. Throop, bom 1773, died 1776. 

12. Lydia, born 1775. 

13. John F., born October 14, 1777, died September 

28, 1828. 

14. Nancy, bom October 14, 1777, died 1833. 

15. Susan, bom 1779. 

The first we know about the family being in Lempster 



is from the town records, which show that the first town 
meeting held there was warned by a petition of eleven 
inhabitants to a justice of the peace in Charlestown, 
N. H., and that WilHam Gary's name was among them. 
The meeting was held April 29, 1774, and WiUiam Gary 
was chosen first selectman, and Elijah Bingham and 
EUjah Prink the other two. The traditions of after 
years were, that William was a man of great strength of 
body and of mind, was chosen deacon of the first church, 
and was known to the end of his life as "Old Deacon Gary. 

He could throw barrels of cider into a cart as fast as 
a man could place them on end, and it is related that 
when a neighbor's house was on fire, he carried a tub 
holding a barrel of water across three post-and-rail 
fences, and dashed it on the fire and extinguished it. He 
was in the Revolutionary War, serving as captain of a 
company from Lempster, which went to the relief of the 
Northern Army at Saratoga under General Gates, Sep- 
tember 21, 1777. 

William Gary (generation eighteen) was captain of 
Gompany 1, Golonel Fellows' Regiment, in 1776. He was 
also captain of Gompany 8, same regiment, in September 
and October 1777, which reinforced the army of General 
Gates at Saratoga, at the time of the surrender of Bur- 
goyne's army, which took place October 17. 

Of the brothers and sisters of Deacon William I will 
record : Eleazer married Lavinia Willey on June 26, 1789. 
Olivet married Bertha Wood on December 31, 1789. 
His daughter Amanda married B. A. Miner, January 27, 
1811. These were the parents of the Rev. Alonzo A. 
Miner, President of Tufts Gollege, Massachusetts, for 
thirteen years, and a prominent Universalist minister in 
Boston for nearly fifty years. He was also widely known 
as a radical advocate of temperance for many years. 



Evinice married Nathan Willey on October 1, 1789. 
Lydia married Samuel Ayers on October 8, 1797. Elliot 
married Anna Roundy on August 8, 1790. John F. 
was graduated at Dartmouth College in 1800. He lived 
in New York State most of his life. He engaged in 
teaching many years. Nancy married Samuel Saxon on 
January 20, 1808. 

Of the other branches in this generation I note: 
There was a famous tavern kept in Windham during the 
Revolutionary War by Eleazer Cary, grandson of Eleazer, 
generation seventeen, and by his widow afterwards. 
They had a son Henry Lucius, the name reminding of 
the Lord Falkland line in England in which Henry, 
Lucius, Lucius Henry, and Henry Lucius were quite com- 
mon. The building yet stands and is still used as a public 
house. This tavern was celebrated far and near for 
its good cheer. It had for a sign a wooden image of 
Bacchus, the god of wine, indicative of the spirit that 
reigned within. When commissioners from the " Great 
and General Court " arrived in Windham on business, or 
when the town's committees were to lay out a new 
bridge, build a new schoolhouse, or discuss matters of 
church or State, they used to meet at Widow Cary's 
tavern. Doubtless their deliberations were aided by the 
influence of the libations they poured to the deity 
enthroned over the front door. 

Close by are traces of the foundations of the old 
county jail. At one time four British sailors were con- 
fined there and they passed away the time by carving 
this image. 

The historian Lamed says: " This good widow must 
have looked upon the English sailors with especial favor 
and sympathy, for to her was bequeathed the work of 
art which had occupied their leisure. The comical 



Bacchus, with his dimpled cheeks and luscious fruits, 
bestriding a wine cask, was straightway hoisted above 
the tavern for a sign and figurehead, to the intense delight 
and admiration of all beholders. Rettiming soldiers 
hailed his jolly figure with cheers and shouts of laughter, 
and were only too ready to offer up libations at his shrine, 
and the tavern of the sympathetic widow received a far 
greater share of public patronage. 

Nathan, descendant of John, generation sixteen, was 
six feet tall, and of a very musctdar and powerful frame. 
He was an early emigrant to the wilderness of Penn- 
sylvania with his father and brothers. He was in the 
battle of Wyoming, but escaped miractilously. He was 
cousin to the " old Deacon " of Lempster. 

James, descendant of Joseph, generation sixteen, 
was a blacksmith, a man of tmusually large and muscular 
frame, of great strength physically and mentally. He 
was justice of the peace for twenty years, sheriff of the 
county for four years, and for several years was judge of 
the court. 

Alfred, cousin of Anson, fovmded the " Gary In- 
stitute " at Oakfield, New York. He erected two fine 
stone buildings, and gave the Institute an endowment of 
twenty thousand dollars. 

Nineteenth Generation. 

William, son of Deacon William (generation eighteen) 
was one of the triplets born in Windham, Gonn., January 
4, 1767. 

He married Jerusha Sabin of Windham on March 14, 
1795. (See the record of the Sabin family on page 43.) 

William died January 9, 1815. 

Jerusha was born August 18, 1774, and died Novem- 
ber 14, 1826, at Lempster. 



Their children (generation twenty) were : 

1. William, bom February 12, 1796, died May 18, 

1856, at Maiden, Mass. 

2. Jerusha, born September 9, 1797, died June 12, 

1838, at Unity, N. H. 

3. Byfield, born November 25, 1799, died October 

17, 1826, Ware, Mass. 

4. Harvey H., born May 10, 1802, died September 

15, 1878, at Union City, Mich. 

5. Pamelia, born July 16, 1804, died December 19, 

1824, at Lempster, N. H. 

6. Minerva, born January 15, 1807, died June 18, 

1843, at Ravenna, Ohio. 

7. John M., bom June 12, 1810, died March 11, 1884, 

at Salisbury, Mass. 

8. Emeline, born July 25, 1815, died July 28, 1863, 

at Ackworth, N. H. 

William was our father, and I will first mention his 
brothers and sisters. 

Jerusha and Pamelia never married. Byfield married 
Hannah Mayo in Ackworth, November 20, 1823. Harvey 
married Mary Barnard in Ackworth, May 12, 1825. 
Minerva married John D. Wellman, M. D., in Ravenna, 
Ohio, on November 22, 1838. John M. married Susan 
Dart in Guilford, N. H., October 17, 1832. Emeline 
married Nicholas Sargent in Lempster on October 17, 1832. 

A few facts relating to the branches of the family in 
this generation are given in this connection. 

Calvin, descendant of Francis (generation sixteen), 
was killed in a hand-to-hand fight with the Indians at 
the burning of Buffalo in 1813. He was a man of giant 
strength, weighing three hundred pounds, of fine propor- 
tions, herciilean in strength, and was a swift runner. 



Eleazer of Windham, descendant of John (generation 
sixteen), was a musician, and was known as "Eleazer the 

George, cousin of Calvin, lived in Madison, Ohio. 
He had four sons that together weighed over one thousand 
pounds, Henry weighing three hundred and twenty-five 
pounds. They were all giants in strength. 

Isaac of Boston, descendant of Jonathan (generation 
sixteen), was for over thirty years an engraver and printer 
of bank notes. He was manager and treasurer of the 
American Bank Note Company. 

Robert, descendant of Joseph (generation sixteen), 
was the father of Alice and Phebe, the poetesses. He 
lived at College Hill, Ohio. 

Benajah of College Hill, cousin of Robert, had two 
sons named respectively Andrew Jackson and Martin 
Van Buren. 

Lorenzo, cousin of Benajah, was graduated at Yale in 
1835. He was a Congregational minister at Webster, 
Mass., some years, and Professor of Languages at Farmer's 
College in Ohio in 1851. 

Samuel, descendant of John (generation sixteen), 
and his descendants were Quakers in New York State. 

Freeman, cousin of Lorenzo, graduated at Miami 
University in 1810. He taught for over thirty years. 
He founded Cary's Academy at College Hill, was the 
editor of the " Cincinnatus, " originated Farmer's College, 
and was its president many years. 

Up to 1896 there have been eighteen Carys graduated 
from Harvard. 

Some singular names appear in the earlier families, 
such as Recompense, Comfort, Prosper and Usual among 
the males, and Mercy, Experience, Comfort, Deliverance, 
Prudence, Temperance, Thankful, Delight, Harmony, 
Relief, Wealthy, Freelove and Venus among the females. 



Twentieth Generation. 

William Cary, son of William (generation nineteen), 
was married in Lempster, N. H., to Sophia Hurd, May 
22, 1817, by Rev. Elias Fisher. 

William was born February 12, 1796, and died May 
18, 1856, at Maiden. Sophia was born December 26, 
1794, and died May 8, 1857, at Maiden. 

Their children (generation twenty-one), all born in 
Lempster, were: 

1. William Addison, born July 23, 1818, died Feb- 

ruary 23, 1885, Maiden. 

2. Calthea Gilmore, born November 26, 1819, died 

January 15, 1899, Maiden. 

3. Sophia Augusta, born September 13, 1821, died 

August 27, 1840, Amesbury. 

4. Milan Galusha, born November 20, 1823, died 

March 10, 1854, Medford. 

5. Augustus Celantis, born September 16, 1825. 

6. Henry Grosvenor, born December 4, 1829, 

died April 4, 1905. 

The earliest thing we have to record about William 
(generation twenty), is that he was drafted for the War of 
1812, at the age of sixteen years. He was sent to Ports- 
mouth, N. H., to protect that port. (Frederick Bagley, 
father of Mary K., was also drafted at the same time and 
age, and sent to the same place.) 

The only thing we know about his being there is 
that it was in the winter, from this anecdote which we 
remember. One night when the sentry called out, 
" Twelve o'clock and all is well," some one finished the 
couplet by shouting, " You lie, you fool, it's cold as hell." 
Although much sought for, the poet (?) was not discovered. 



Grandfather (William Gary, generation nineteen) 
died after an illness of only four days, leaving no will. 
Father was only nineteen years old. He decided to 
take the homestead. 

He kept district school during the winters and carried 
on the farm in summer. He was six feet, four inches in 
height, and weighed two hundred and thirty pounds 
when in his prime. He was prominent in military affairs, 
and rapidly rose through all ranks to that of major- 

Father was in the New Hampshire Legislature in 
1823, 24, 25. He was chairman of the board of selectmen 
from 1822 till he moved from town in 1832, and was on 
the mounted escort to receive Lafayette at Goncord in 

His military commissions were as follows: 

June 15, 1813, William Gary, Jr., Ensign Second 
Gompany Twenty-eighth Regiment; Governor Gilman. 
August 10, 1815, Gaptain Second Gompany Twenty- 
eighth Regiment; Governor Gilman. June 26, 1819, 
Lieut. -Golonel Twenty-eighth Regiment ; Governor Bell. 
December 8, 1820, Golonel Twenty-eighth Regiment; 
Governor Bell. June 18, 1825, Brigadier-General Third 
Division; Governor Morrill. June 13, 1826, Major-Gen- 
eral Third Division ; Governor Morrill. 

The family moved to Amesbury, Mass., in 1832. At 
a call I made on the poet Whittier at his home the 
year before he died (he lived at Amesbury adjoining 
our old home, during my minority), he said, " Henry, I 
wish we had some men in this village like thy father, to 
stamp on this rum business." 

Father must have had in his veins some of the blood 
of old John the Judge, in the time of Richard II. (See 
English record, pages 26-28.) 



Twenty-First Generation. 

William Addison, son of William (generation twenty) 
was born at Lempster, N. H., July 23, 1818, and died at 
Maiden, Mass., February 23, 1885. 

He was married on September 8, 1839, to Lydia 
Gould at Northfield, Vermont. Lydia was bom March 3, 
1815. She died August 24, 1900. 

Their children (generation twenty -two) were: 

1. Emma Augusta, born June 3, 1840, died Decem- 

ber 8, 1900, Newark, N. J. 

2. Ann Maria, born July 16, 1842, died July 29, 

1844, Amesbury. 

3. Ann Sophia, bom February 27, 1846, died 

October 6, 1847, Amesbury. 

4. Mary Alice, born May 30, 1849. 

5. Harriet Elizabeth, born October 8, 1850, died 

August 12, 1854, Amesbury. 

6. Winnieferd, bom February 16, 1856. 

7. William Addison, born February 25, 1857. 

Calthea Gilmore (generation twenty-one), daughter 
of William (generation twenty), was born at Lempster, 
N. H., November 26, 1819, died at Maiden, January 15, 

She married Francis C. Swett at Amesbury on May 
28, 1844. Frank was born January 30, 1821, and died at 
Cambridge, December 8, 1883. 

Frank was connected with the American Bank Note 
Company for some twenty years. He lived in East 
Boston till 1856, then in Maiden till 1878. 

Sophia Augusta (generation twenty-one), daughter 
of William (generation twenty), was born at Lempster, 
New Hampshire, on September 13, 1821. She died of 
consumption, at the age of nineteen years, at Amesbury. 



Milan Galusha (generation twenty-one), son of 
William (generation twenty), was bom at Lempster, 
N. H., November 20, 1823, and died at Medford, Mass., 
March 10, 1854. He was married on May 4, 1847, to 
Emily M. Dennett at Salisbury. Emily was bom Novem- 
ber 21, 1821, and died September 24, 1893, at Amesbiary. 

Their children (generation twenty-two) were : 

1. Thesta Sophia, born May 14, 1848. 

2. Henry Frank, born June 29, 1851. 

Milan studied medicine with Dr. J. B. Gale, of 
Salisbury, attended medical lectures at Dartmouth and 
Harvard Colleges, took his degree as doctor of medicine 
at the Harvard Medical School, March 17, 1847, and 
began practising medicine at Amesbury in April following. 

March 11, 1850, he removed from Amesbury to 
Seabrook, New Hampshire. He remained there two and 
one-half years, then went to Medford, Mass., September 
3, 1852. Here he met with the greatest success, and stood 
high in his profession in a short time. But his career was 
destined to be a short one ; he died of typhoid fever on 
March 10, 1854, moumed by every one who knew him. 

Augustus Celanus (generation twenty-one), son of 
William (generation twenty), was born at Lempster, 
N. H., September 16, 1825. He was married on August 
17, 1846 to Harriet E. Folsom at Amesbury. 

HaiTiet was born December 16, 1827 (page 35). She 
died January 28, 1903. 

Their children (generation twenty-two) were : 

1. William Augustus, born June 12, 1848. 

2. George Roswell, born December 31, 1850. 

3. Annie Susan, bom April 8, 1853, died Febmary 

3, 1892, Maiden. 

4. Nellie Lee, born September 23, 1856. 



In 1856 the Native American or " Know Nothing " 
party came into existence, and Augustus was elected 
representative to the legislature, and in 1857 was elected 
senator from Essex County. 

Henry Grosvenor (generation twenty-one), son of 
William (generation twenty), was born at Lempster, N. 
H., on December 4, 1829. He was married August 15, 
1854, to Mary Kendrick Bagley at Amesbury, Mass., by 
Rev. B. P. Byram. Mary was born January 23, 1833. 
(Page 33.) 

Henry worked in the mill with his father and brother, 
at times, for several years. He taught the district 
school at Pond Hills, Amesbury, during the winter of 
1846, and also at Amesbury Mills Village in 1847, 1848 
and 1849. 

He had afternoon and evening singing schools at 
home, in Franklin Hall, and the Orthodox vestry, for 
several seasons, also schools at South Hampton and West 

His father had a pipe-organ built for the home ; it 
came August 9, 1843, and cost two hundred dollars. 

In 1845 Henry began taking piano lessons of Mr. 
Edward S. Nason at Newbtiryport, and in May, 1846, 
took lessons of Mr. Anson Bailey of the same place. 
These were all the lessons he took during his minority. 
November 15, 1847, his father bought a piano of Mr. 
Babson for him, but he had to keep singing school to pay 
for it. 

In 1846 he belonged to a brass band in the village, 
and went with it to play at " Musters " in New Hamp- 

The first salary he received for playing the organ in 
church was in 1846, at the Congregational Church in 
Belleville. He received a hundred dollars for the year. 



In the winter of 1851 and '52 he took piano lessons of 
George James Webb, and harmony lessons of A. N. John- 
son, both in Boston, living with Frank and Calthea 
during that time. 

After being married he lived in Medford with Errdly 
a year, then lived in Maiden from 1856 to 1878. Since 
that time he has lived in Boston, except spending the 
summer months at his " Cottage by the Sea " in Win- 
throp, Mass. In the spring of 1897 he removed to Win- 
throp, having made his summer home into a permanent 

He gave music lessons in the towns north of Boston 
for many years ; also taught singing in the public schools 
of Medford from 1862 to 1884, except two years when in 
Europe; in the schools of Maiden from 1864 to 1872; in 
those of Melrose from 1870 to 1873 ; in those of Reading 
from 1870 to 1876, 1880 and 1883 ; in those of Watertown 
from 1872 to 1876, 1879 and 1880 ; in those of Brookline 
from 1872 to 1876, 1882 to 1884, and in those of Milton 
from 1879 to 1884. 

In all these places except Brookline he was the first 
teacher of music ever employed in the schools. He was 
also instructor of music at Cotting Academy, at West 
Cambridge, now Arlington, from 1858 to 1863. 

He was instructor of music in Harvard College from 
1879 to 1883; was organist at the Baptist Church, 
Maiden, from 1854 to 1882, except one year at the Mystic 
Church, Medford, one year at the Harvard Church, 
Charlestown, and during the two times he was in Europe. 

He was organist also at the Shawmut Avenue 
Universalist Church in Boston from 1883 to 1888. 

In September, 1884, he began teaching music in the 
Boston public schools ; had the Grammar and Primary 
Schools of the Dorchester and Brighton districts, and also 


clov'p:lly, crest avenue, winthrop 


some of the central schools, for five years, and has taught 
in all the High Schools of the city since that time. 

He has made four trips to Europe: first, going alone, 
sailing April 11, 1866, and returning September 11, 1866; 
next with his wife, sailing July 8, 1876, and returning 
September 6, 1877 ; a six weeks' vacation trip in July 
and August, 1892, with H. Winslow Warren, of Jamaica 
Plain, and Charles W. Hill, of Roxbury ; and again from 
April, 1903, to the faU of 1904. 

He was a member of the Handel and Haydn Society 
of Boston from 1872 to 1888, being a director in it six 
years; a member of the Cecilia Club from 1874 to 1888, 
being librarian all the time ; also belonged to the Apollo 
Club since March, 1874, being examiner of voices for 
several years. 

Some Peculiar Genealogical Facts. 

Mary Bagley (Cary) and Ardelissa Hoyt (Cary) both 
descended from John Hoyt, one of the original settlers 
of Amesbury in 1655. 

John Hoyt, bom 1610. 

bom 1641 John Hoyt, bom 1638 

bom William Hoyt, bom 1660. 

Second Cousins. 
bom 1709 Abner Hoyt, bom 1693. 

Third Cousins. 
bom 1745 John Hoyt, bom 1732. 

Fourth Cousins. 
bom 1768 Abner Hoyt, bom 1759. 

Fifth Cousins. 
bom 1797 Peter Hoyt, bora 1814. 

Sixth Cousins. 
Mary Bagley Gary, bom 1833 Ardelissa Hoyt Gary, bom 1847. 

Thomas Hoyt, 
Thomas Hoyt, 
David Hojrt, 
Mary Hoyt Bagley, 
David Bagley, 
Frederick Bagley, 



Mary Bagley Cary and Emeline Sargent Neal, 
both descended from William Sargent, one of the original 
settlers of Amesbiuy, in 1655. 

William Sargent, bgrn 1602. 
Brother and Sister. 
bom 1651 Thomas Sargent, bom 1643. 

bom 1687 Jacob Sargent, bom 1678. 

Second Cousin. 
bom 1713 Benjamin Sargent, bom 1717. 

Third Cousins. 
bom 1741 Benjamin Sargent, bom 1743. 

Fourth Cousins. 
bom 1768 Isaac Sargent, bom 1783. 

Fifth Cousins. 
bom 1797 Nicholas Sargent, bom 1809. 

Sixth Cousins. 
Mary Bagley Gary, bom 1833 Emeline Sargent Neal bom 1833 

Sarah (S.) Bagley, 
Jacob Bagley, 
William Bagley, 
WiUiam Bagley, 
David Bagley, 
Frederick Bagley, 

Lydia Gould Gary and Mary Bagley Gary 
descended from a common ancestor. 

John Hoyt, bom 1610. 
Thomas Hoyt, bom 1641. 

Thomas Hoyt. 
David Hoyt, bom 1709. 

bom 1745 Lydia Hoyt Gould, bom 1734. 

bom 1768 Theophilus Gould. 

Second Cousins. 
bom 1797 Lydia Gould Cary, bom 1815. 

Third Cousins. 
Mary Bagley Gary, bora 1833 William Addison Gary bom 1857. 

Mary Hoyt Bagley, 
David Bagley, 
Frederick Bagley, 

Lydia Gould's parents were Theophilus Gould, of 
Amesbury, and Mary Pendelbury, of Nova Scotia. They 
were married at St. Andrews, Nova Scotia, May 22, 
1802. (Page 29.) 

Francis G. Swett's parents were Eliphalet Swett and 



Mary Swett, both of Amesbury. They were married 
there November 17, 1816. (See page 29.) 

Emily M. Dennett's parents were Thomas Godfrey 
Dennett, of Newbtiryport, and Hannah Stevens, of 
North Andover. They were married in Andover, March 
3, 1821. (Page 30.) 

Harriet E. Folsom's parents were George W. Folsom 
and Clarissa H. Lee, daughter of Captain Nathaniel Lee, 
one of the " Boston Tea-party," of December 16, 1773. 
They were both of Wolfboro, N. H., and were married 
there January 4, 1824. (Page 30.) 

Mary K. Bagley's parents were Frederick Bagley, 
of Amesbury, and Betsey Fowler, of Salisbury. They 
were married at Salisbury Point, December 13, 1825. 
(Page 31.) 



Webb Family. 

Christopher Webb came from England before 1645, 
for he was made a Freeman of the Massachusetts Colony 
in May of that year. 

He brought his wife and four children. Her name 
is not known. They settled in Braintree, and had 
several more children there. 

Christopher, son of Christopher, was bom in 
England in 1630. He married Hannah Scott, daughter 
of Benjamin Scott, of Braintree, January 18, 1655. 
They had nine children, all but one bom in Braintree ; 
that one was bom in Chelmsford. Christopher died 
May 30, 1694, and Hannah died in 1718. (Page 37.) 

Samuel, son of Christopher and Hannah, was bom 
in Braintree, August 6, 1660. He married Mary Adams, 
December, 1686. She was the daughter of Captain 
Samuel Adams and Rebecca Graves, of Charlestown, 
Mass., and was born in 1664. A singular fact is that 
four of Christopher's children married four members of 
the Adams family. (Page 38.) 

Samuel removed to Windham, Conn., in 1707, and 
died there February 20, 1739. His will gave " To my 
wife Mary all my moveable Estate both Within doars and 
Without doars to be Wholly at her dispose, and that end 
of my dwelling hows next to ye town Street, to be hurs 
deuring hur Natural life. ' ' Mary died December 21,1 744. 

Nathaniel, son of Samuel and Mary, was born in 
Braintree, Febmary 10, 1696; was married in Windham, 



April 24, 1718, to Elizabeth Fitch, daughter of Hon. John 
Fitch, and granddaughter of Rev. James Fitch, of Say- 
brook and Norwich. John Fitch was the second town 
clerk of Windham. 

Elizabeth Fitch was bom June 1, 1696. They had 
nine children. Nathaniel died September 19, 1750, and 
Elizabeth died July 3, 1780. 

Eunice, daughter of Nathaniel and Elizabeth, 
with Jerusha, a twin, was born January 12, 1734, married 
in Windham, Conn., William Cary, February 19, 1754. 
They removed to Lempster, N. H., in 1772. (Page 40). 

Eunice was third cousin to President John Adams. 
She died in 1809. 

Scott Family. 

Benjamin Scott, and Margaret his wife, came from 
England, time unknown. They first appear in Braintree, 
soon remove to Cambridge, and in 1651 were in Rowley. 
He died in 1671, as his will was proved September 26 of 
that year. They had a daughter Hannah, probably bom 
in England, who married Christopher Webb. (Page 36.) 
The widow Margaret was hung at Salem, September 22, 
1692, " guilty of certain arts called Witchcraft and 
Sorceries." She was arrested August 4, 1692, had a 
preliminary examination August 5, was sentenced Sep- 
tember 19, and executed September 22. The following 
extracts from the court records at Salem, show the 
nature of the evidence on which she was condemned. 

" Francis Wyman testified, that soon after the 
Witchcraft trials commenced at Salem, Margaret Scott, 
or her appearance, came to him, and did most grievously 
torment him by choking him, and almost pressing him to 
death, and he believed in his heart that she was a witch." 



Adams Family. 

Captain Samuel Adams was bom in England in 1617. 
He married Rebecca Graves, of Charlestown. (Page 39.) 

Samuel died January 24, 1689, and she died in 
October, 1664. Samuel Adams' father was Henry 
Adams who came from Devonshire, England, in 1634, 
and who was the ancestor of the two Presidents, John 
Adams and John Quincy Adams. 

John Quincy Adams and William Cary descended 
from a common ancestor. 

Henry Adams. 
Joseph Adams, bom 1626 Samuel Adams, bom 1617. 

Joseph Adams, bom 1654 Mary Adams Webb, bom 1664- 

Second Cousins. 
John Adams, bom 1692 Nathaniel Webb, bom 1696. 

Third Cousins. 
John Adams, Pres., bom 1735 Eunice Webb Cary, bom 1734. 

Fourth Cousins. 
John Q. Adams, Pres., bom 1767 William Gary, bom 1767. 

Graves Family. 

John Graves was bom at Ratcliffe, near London, 
England. He died Febmary 21, 1681. 

Thomas, son of John, was also bom at Ratcliffe, June 
6, 1605. He was a sea captain. During the Protectorate 
of Cromwell, while on a mercantile voyage, he met a 
Dutch privateer in the English Channel, and captured 
her. As a reward for his bravery the owners of the 
vessel gave him a silver cup, and Cromwell conferred on 
him the command of a ship of war, and later, the title of 
rear admiral. 

He married Katharine Gray in England. She was 

the daughter of Katharine Coytmore and Gray. 



She was bom before 1605. Thomas came to this country 
with Governor Winthrop in 1630, having command of the 
" Talbot," the vice admiral of the fleet. 

Winthrop 's fleet consisted of eleven vessels, having 
on board about seven hundred people, two hundred and 
forty cows, and sixty horses. They sailed from Cowes on 
April 8, 1630, and after a stormy voyage, four vessels, 
the Arabella with Winthrop on board, the Talbot, the 
Ambrose and the Jewel, reached Salem, June 12. By 
July 8, all the vessels had arrived. Not liking the 
vicinity of Salem, they soon left for Boston, and dis- 
tributed themselves in Charlestown, Watertown, etc. 
Thomas Graves settled in Charlestown. He made seven 
voyages to England, afterwards commanding the " Trial," 
the first large vessel built in Boston, in her long voyages 
to Bilboa and Malaga. He died Jtdy 31, 1652, "An 
able and godly man." His wife died February 21, 
1681. Their daughter Rebecca married Samuel Adams. 
(Page 38.) The long line of ledges outside of Boston 
Harbor, called " The Graves," was named for him. 

Fitch Family. 

James Fitch was bom in Bocking, Essex County, 
England, December 24, 1622. He came to America in 
1638. He fitted himself for the ministry, and in 1646 was 
ordained first minister of the church in Say brook. In 
1660 the church divided, and part removed to the new 
settlement of Norwich. Both parts of the church were 
anxious to retain Mr. Fitch, but he concluded to go with 
the majority. The cherished object of his life was to 
civilize, christianize, and render comfortable the Indians, 
in whose midst they dwelt. He was very active in pre- 
vailing on the Mohegans and Pequots to join the English 
in King Philip's War. He was always with the army as 



chaplain. In October, 1666, he had one hundred and 
twenty acres of land given him, and then Owaneco, son 
and successor of Uncas, added a tract of land nearly 
seven miles long, by one mile wide. The historian says 
that " Rev. Mr. Fitch and Mr. John Mason were the most 
noted founders of Norwich." Mr. Fitch married in 
October, 1648, Abigail Whitefield of Guilford, who died 
September 9, 1659, in Saybrook. He married next, 
October, 1664, Priscilla Mason, daughter of Major John 
Mason. (Page 41.) They had one daughter and seven 
sons. Mr. Fitch left the ministry in 1699, after fifty-six 
years' service. He died in Lebanon, Gonn., November 18, 
1702, aged eighty years. 

John Fitch, son of James and Priscilla, was a 
captain in the militia, and served against the Indians. 
He was the second town clerk of Windham. He married 
Elizabeth Waterman of Norwich, the daughter of Robert 
Waterman of Marshfield. (Page 42.) Elizabeth Fitch, 
daughter of John and Elizabeth, was bom in 1696. She 
married Nathaniel Webb, April 24, 1718. (Page 37.) 

Mason Family. 

Major John Mason, of Norwich, Gonn., was bom in 
England, not far from A.D. 1600. The first known of 
him is when he was in the English army under Lord 
Fairfax, in the Netherlands, fighting in behalf of the 
Dutch patriots, against the tyranny of Spain. 

He is supposed to have come to this country in 1630, 
leaving Plymouth, England, March 20, and arriving at 
Nantasket, May 30. He settled in Dorchester for a short 
time. In 1632 he sailed under the Govemer's Gommis- 
sion to search for the pirate Dixy Bull. He was then 

In 1634 he was employed to plan fortifications for 



Boston Harbor, particularly the Battery on Castle Island. 
In 1635 he was representative to the general court. 
The next year he removed to Connecticut, with others, and 
founded the town of Windsor. While living here the 
Pequot War occurred, and he took command of the 
soldiers of the Colony. " The skill he showed in planning 
the expedition, fighting its battles, and clinching its 
results, was the overshadowing exploit of his life." " The 
skill, prudence and active firmness and courage displayed 
by him, were such as to gain him a high standing among 
military commanders. He became renowned as an 
Indian fighter, and stood forth a buckler of defence to 
the exposed Colonists." The war lasted twenty-two 

In 1637 he was appointed by the general court " to 
train the military men " ten days every year. 

In 1654 he became major-general, and by the 
special requests of the inhabitants of Saybrook, he 
removed thither. He held several offices at the same 
time: Indian agent, Indian umpire, captain of the fort, 
justice of the peace, commissioner of the United Colonies, 
major-general of militia at home and acting commander 
in all expeditions abroad, judge of the court, member of 
the legislattire, etc., etc. 

In 1660 he was chosen deputy governor, and held the 
office eight years. He was acting governor two years 
while Governor Winthrop was in England. Many towns 
questions were settled by referring them to " the worship- 
ful Mr. Mason, and Rev. Mr. Fitch." 

In July, 1639, he married Annie Peck (page 50). 
Mr. Mason died January 30, 1672, in his seventy-third 

Priscilla, daughter of John and Annie, was born 
in Windham in October, 1641. She married Rev. James 
Fitch, October, 1664. (Page 40.) 



Waterman Family. 

Robert Waterman was born in England, and 
settled in Marshfield, Mass., when he came to this country. 
He married Elizabeth Bourne, December 9, 1638. They 
had four sons. Robert died in 1652. 

Thomas, second son of Robert and Elizabeth, was 
bom in 1644. He was married to Miriam Tracy, of 
Norwich, in November, 1668. (Page 43.) They had 
eight children. Thomas was one of the original purchasers 
of Norwich, to which place he removed in or about 
1660. His granddaughter Hannah was the mother of 
Benedict Arnold. 

Elizabeth, first child of Thomas and Miriam, 
married John Fitch, of Norwich, and settled in Windham. 

Bourne Family. 

Thomas Bourne was one of the earliest settlers of 
Marshfield, Mass. He came from England, probably 
from Kent County. His wife's name was Elizabeth. 
He was a large landholder. He was bom in 1581, and 
died in 1664, aged eighty-three years. His wife was bom 
in 1589 and died in 1660, aged seventy-one years. 

Elizabeth Bourne, daughter of Thomas and Eliza- 
beth, married Robert Waterman, of Marshfield, in 1638. 

Tracy Family. 

Thomas Tracy came from Tewksbury, England, in 
April, 1636. His parents were Paul Tracy and his wife 
Margaret Moss. His grandfather was Richard Tracy, 
a direct descendant of Alfred the Great, being in the 
twenty-fifth generation. Richard Tracy married Barbara 



Lucy, of Tewksbtiry, of the Lucys of Charlecote, who are 
direct descendants of Charlemagne, Barbara being in the 
twenty-ninth generation. See the chart at the end of 
this volume, showing the descent of William Cary from 
several royal families, through Thomas Tracy. 

Thomas landed at Salem, Mass., where he lived a 
year, and on February 23, 1637, removed to Wethersfield, 
Conn. He man-ied Mary, widow of Edward Mason, in 
1641. A few years later he removed to Saybrook, and 
in 1660 removed to Norwich, being one of the original 
settlers. They had six sons and one daughter, all born 
in Saybrook. Mary died about 1659. 

Thomas was a man of talent and activity; was 
representative to the legislature for twenty-two years, 
ensign of the train band in Norwich, lieutenant of the 
New London County Dragoons, enlisted to fight the 
Dutch and Indians, justice of the peace, etc. He had 
seven children. He died November 7, 1685. 

Miriam Tracy, daughter of Thomas and Mary, was 
bom in 1648. She married Thomas Waterman in 
November, 1668. (Page 42.) 

Record of the Sabin Family. 

William Sabin appeared in Rehoboth, Mass., at the 
organization of that town in 1643. It is not known when 
he came to this country. He was a refugee from France 
and went to Wales. He was a Huguenot, was wealthy, 
and a man of considerable influence. 

The name of his first wife is not known. She had 
twelve children, all born in Rehoboth except the first 
two. They were: 

1 . Samuel. 

2. Elizabeth, born 1642, married Robert Millard, 

1663, died February, 1717. 



3. Joseph, bom May 24, 1645. 

4. Benjamin, bom May 3, 1646. 

5. Nehemiah, bom May 28, 1647. 

6. Experience, born June 8, 1648, married Samuel 

BuUin, 1672, died June 14, 1728. 

7. Mary, bom May 23, 1652, married Nathaniel 

Allen, died Febmary 27, 1674. 

8. Abigail, bom September 8, 1653, married Joseph 

BuUin, 1675, died May 1, 1721. 

9. Hannah, bom October 22, 1654, mamed Joseph 

Allen, 1673. 

10. Patience, bom December, 1655. 

11. Jeremiah, bom January 24, 1657. (Or Jonathan.) 

12. Sarah, born July 27, 1660. 

William Sabin's second wife was Martha Allen of 
Medfield. She was bom December 11, 1641. They had 
eight children bom in Rehoboth. They were: 

13. James, bom January 1, 1665. 

14. John, bom August 27, 1666, died October 25, 


15. Hezekiah, bom April 3, 1669, died 1693. 

16. Noah, bom March 1, 1671, died 1694. 

17. Mehitable, bom May 15, 1673, married Joseph 

Bucklin, 1691, died September 27, 1751. 

18. Mary, born September 8, 1675, married Nath. 

Cooper, 1696. 

19. Sarah, bom February 16, 1677. 

20. Margaret, bom April 30, 1680, died July 10, 


William Sabin died about 1687. His will was 
probated in Boston during the administration of Governor 
Andros, and is on record there. 



It is supposed that he was buried with others of the 
French refugees in the old Granary burying-ground in 

His fourteenth child, John, was our direct ancestor. 
William and Martha were married in 1663. (Page 46.) 

William Sabin's fourth child, Benjamin, moved from 
Rehoboth to Roxbury, Mass., in 1675. In 1686, April 16, 
thirteen " pioneers " left Roxbury to go to Connecticut. 
Benjamin was one of these. Special religious services 
were held the night before leaving. They settled at New 
Roxbury, now Woodstock. 

In 1705 Benjamin and six sons removed from Wood- 
stock to the little settlement of Pomfret, where his 
brother John had lived for fourteen years. (Page 46.) 

Benjamin immediately took a prominent place. In 
1719 he was sent as the first representative to the general 

In the history of Pomfret, Windham, and other 
places in Connecticut, there is scarcely any movement of 
importance, or anything of a public spirit manifested, 
without the name of Sabin appearing among the leaders, 
and sometimes there were several working toward the 
same end. All the principal offices were repeatedly 
filled by them. Several were in the army during the 
French and Indian War. 

Ichabod Sabin was killed at the battle of Bunker 
Hill ; he was in Israel Putnam's regiment. 

James Allen came from England in 1637. On 
January 16, 1638, he married Ann Guild, of Dedham, 
and settled there, remaining thirteen years. 

He was one of the first thirteen settlers in Medfield 
in 1651. Ann Guild, and her brothers John and Samuel, 
came from Scotland, 1636. 



Thomas and Ann had nine children, the third and 
fourth, Martha and Mary, twins, being bom in 1641. 

Martha Allen married WilHam Sabin, the Hugue- 
not refugee, December 22, 1663, in Seekonk. (Page44.) 

James Allen died in 1676, and Ann died in 1673. 

John Sabin, fourteenth child of William the Hugue- 
not, was bom in Rehoboth, Mass., August 27, 1666. He 
married Sarah Peck, December 3, 1689. She was born 
Febmary 2, 1669, and died October 1, 1738. They 
removed to Pomfret, 1691. (Page 45). 

Their children were : 

1. Judith, born in Rehoboth August 26, 1690, 

married Judge Leavens. 

2. Hezekiah, bom in Pomfret November 5, 1692. 

3. John, bom in Pomfret January, 1696. 

4. Noah, bom in Pomfret January 27, 1697. 

The third child, John, was our direct ancestor. 
John, Senior, was the first settler of Pomfret, Conn. 
June 22, 1691, he bought one hundred acres of land there 
for nine pounds, about forty-five dollars. On this he 
built a house with fortifications, and gained much in- 
fluence and authority over the Indians. His house was 
just south of the Woodstock line. His family were the 
only white settlers in Pomfret for several years. During 
the Indian war he rendered great service to the inhabit- 
ants of Woodstock, and to the governments of Massa- 
chusetts and Connecticut " by standing his ground," 
protecting the frontier, and engaging his Indian neighbors 
in the service of the English. The Governor of Massa- 
chusetts, Earl Belmont, sent a letter to the Governor of 
Connecticut in praise of John Sabin. In this he said: 
" I have been made sensible of the good services done by 
Mr. John Sabin. I cannot but account it very impolitic 



to lose so useful and public spirited a man, or that he be 
discouraged by ingratitude. . . I pray in his favor, that 
you will effectually recommend his services and expenses 
to the consideration of your General Assembly for a 
suitable recompense to be made to him. I shall not fail 
to endeavor some gratification from this government." 

In 1720 John Sabin was representative to the general 
assembly. In 1722 John and his son built a substantial 
bridge over the Quinebaug river, just below the Falls, 
the project having been given up several times. It cost 
one htmdred and twenty potmds (six himdred dollars), 
and his compensation was three hundred acres of land, 
provided he should keep the bridge in repair for fourteen 

His son Hezekiah was the first resident proprietor 
of Quinnatisset, now Thompson. He was for many years 
an inn-keeper there, and his little red tavern was one of 
the most noted way-marks between Boston and Hartford. 
The location is near the center of Thompson Common. 
The first church was also built there ; Hezekiah gave the 
land, and the building was erected as recorded in the 
town records, " right before the door of Hezekiah Sabin." 

The historian Lamed says, " John Sabin was long 
the most respected citizen of Pomfret." 

He died October 25, 1742, leaving a large estate. 
Most of this went to his son Noah, but his other three 
children received several hundred pounds in money. In 
the inventory of his goods were: 

Armour, 15 potmds. 
Brass and iron, 35 pounds. 
Books, 4 pounds. 
Stock, 300 potmds. 
Six horses, 90 pounds. 
An Indian girl, 20 pounds. 


John was appointed, in October, 1726, major of the 
Windham County regiment. He was deacon of the 

John, the third child of John (1), was bom January, 
1696. He married Esther Deming on November 19, 1719, 
Their children were : 

1. Benajah, bom in Pomfret September 4, 1720. 

2. John, bom in Pomfret Jioly 26, 1722. 

3. Jerusha, bom in Pomfret September 5, 1724. 

4. Elijah, bom in Pomfret August 26, 1726. 

5. Esther, bom in Pomfret April 7, 1728. 

Esther died May 25, 1728, and John next married 
Hannah Starr, of Dedham, Mass. She died September 
13, 1757, aged 57 years. 

John moved to Franklin, Conn., in 1730, and was a 
respected physician there. He died March 28, 1742. 

John (3), second child of John (2), was bom July 
26, 1722. He married Margaret Rust, of Coventry, 
February 13, 1743. (Page 55.) Their child was John, 
bom June 13, 1748, died December 21, 1807. Margaret 
was bom December 31, 1722. (Page 55.) John (3) died 
November 6, 1749. He is buried at South Coventry. 

John (4), son of John (3), was born June 13, 1748. 
He married Temperance Perkins at Windham in 1770. 
Temperance was bom October 8, 1751, and died at 
Amesbury, Mass., December 28, 1836. 

Their children were : 

1. Lydia, bom August 30, 1771, died April 18, 1811, 

at Lempster, N. H. 

2. Azariah, bom October 26, 1772, died April 4, 

1830, at Lempster, N. H. 

3. Jerusha, bom August 18, 1774, died November 

14, 1826, at Lempster, N. H. 


4. Cynthia, bom April 9, 1776, died December 12, 

1826, at Lempster, N. H. 

5. Nabby, bom January 1, 1778, died June 27, 

1840, at Franklin, Conn. 

6. Temperance, bom November 21, 1779, died 

October 10 1847, at Franklin, Conn. 

7. Pamelia, bom June 15, 1783, died February 15, 

1862, at Franklin, Conn. 

8. Wealthy, bom Febmary 17, 1786, died July 11, 

1832, at Franklin, Conn. 

9. John, bom March 19, 1788, died March 4, 1853, 

at FrankHn, Conn. 

10. Jedediah, born August 28, 1790, died August 9, 

1867, at Ackworth, N. H. 

11. Benajah, bom May 25, 1792, died October 23, 

1865, at Dedham, Mass. 

Jerusha, the third child, was our direct ancestor. 
(Page 24.) John (4) died at Lempster, N. H., December 
21, 1807. 

Peck Family. 

The Peck family is a very old one, there being a 
pedigree on record in the British Museum, London, 
beginning with John Peck, Esquire, of Bolton, Yorkshire, 
and extending down twenty generations to Robert Peck, 
father of the brothers Robert and Joseph who came to 
this coimtry in 1638, and who are ancestors of the Cary 
-family as shown below. This Robert of the twentieth 
generation was of Beccles, Suffolk County, born in 1546, 
and died in 1593. His position in society was what is 
known in England as " Gentleman," next to the nobility, 
and he was a man of distinction. He married Helen 
Babbs. They had seven children, Robert being the 
third, and Joseph the fourth. 



Rev. Robert Peck (generation twenty-one) was 
bom at Beccles in 1580. He graduated at Magdalen 
College, Cambridge. He was the minister at Hingham 
from 1605 to 1638, when, owing to the persecutions of 
the Puritans during the reign of Charles I, he fled to 
America. He came with his wife, two children, Joseph 
and Anne, and two servants. He settled in Hingham, 
Mass., and was pastor of the church there. Cotton 
Mather wrote of him, " being though great in person for 
stature, yet greater for spirit, he was greatly serviceable 
for the good of the Church." 

At the time of the Long Parliament, when persecu- 
tions in England had ceased, he returned there, sailing 
October 27, 1641, and resumed his rectorship at Hingham. 
His wife died in England; was buried August 30, 1648. 
He died at Hingham in 1658. His son Joseph returned 
with him, and his daughter Anne remained and married 
John Mason, of Windsor, Conn., in 1639. (Page 41.) 

Joseph Peck, brother of Rev. Robert, was bom in 
Beccles in 1587, and was baptized April 30. He settled 
in Hingham, England, like his brother, and married 
there Rebecca Clarke, May 21, 1617. She died October 
24, 1637. 

He fled to America with his brother, sailing in the 
ship " Diligent," Captain John Martin, from Ipswich. 
He married his second wife just before he sailed; her 
name is not known. He came with his wife, four children, 
two men and three maid servants. They settled in 
Hingham, Mass., remaining seven years, then removed 
to Seekonk, now Rehoboth. He was public-spirited, 
was representative four years, selectman, justice of the 
peace, etc. 

Samuel, sixth child of Joseph, was bom in Hingham, 
Mass., in 1639; he was baptized February 3. He was a 
prominent man, deacon of the church, deputy to the 



general court at Plymouth in 1689 and 1692, and the 
first representative to the general court at Boston, when 
the Plymouth and Massachusetts Colonies were united. 

He married Sarah ; she was buried October 27, 


Sarah, second child of Samuel and Sarah, was bom 
February 2, 1669. She married John Sabin, October 3, 
1689. (Page 46.) 

Clarke Family. 

Lieutenant William Clarke was bom in England, 

1609. His wife was Sarah . They sailed from 

Plymouth March 30, 1630, in the ship " Mary and John," 
and landed at Nantasket, May 30. They settled in 
Dorchester and removed to Northampton in 1657. His 
wife died September 6, 1675. He died in Northampton, 
July 18, 1690, aged 91. 

Rebecca, sixth child of William and Sarah, was bom 
in 1648, and married Israel Rust, December 9, 1669. 
(Page 54.) 

Deming Family. 

John Deming was one of the original settlers of 
Wethersfield, Conn., in 1635. He was representative 
to the general court several times from 1649 to 1661. 
His name is on the Connecticut Charter by King Charles 
'II, in 1662. He spelled his name Demion. 

He married Honour Treat, daughter of Richard Treat, 
of Wethersfield. (Page 52.) John died in Wethers- 
field in 1705. 

John, son of John and Honour, was bom September 
9, 1638. He was known as Sergeant Deming. He 
married Mary Mygate, datighter of Joseph Mygate, of 



Northampton, September 20, 1657. (Page 54.) He 
died January 23, 1712. 

Joseph, son of John and Mary, was bom Jime 1, 
1661. He lived in North Woodstock. His wife's name 
is unknown. He was a carpenter. 

Esther, daughter of Joseph, was bom in North 
Woodstock, April 13, 1693. She married John Sabin, 
of Windham, November 17, 1719. She died May 20, 
1728. (Page 48.) 

Treat Family. 

Richard Treat or Trott, as he wrote it, was bom 
in 1584 in Pitminster, Parish of Trull, Somerset County, 
England. His parents were Robert and Honotir Trott, and 
his grandparents were Richard and Joanna Trott, all of 
Pitminster. His great-grandfather, William Trott, and 
his great-great-grandfather, John Trott, were of Staple- 

Richard came to this country in 1637 or 8. He was 
an original settler of Wethersfield, Conn. He was a 
prominent citizen, being representative to the general 
court several years, chosen magistrate eight times, 
member of Governor Winthrop's council in 1663, '64, etc. 
He married Alice Gaylard, April 27, 1615, in England. 
She was daughter of Hugh Gaylard, who died in October 
1614, at Pitminster. 

Richard died in Wethersfield in 1670. He was bom 
as Trott, married as Trett, his children were baptized as 
Tratt, and he died as Treat. Robert Treat Paine, a 
signer of the Declaration of Independence, was a descend- 
ant of Richard Trott. He was third cousin to Esther 
Deming, who married John Sabin. (Page 48.) Honor 
Treat was the daughter of Richard and Alice, bom 1616. 
She married John Deming about 1637. (Page 51.) 



Mygate Family. 

Joseph Mygate, or Mygott as he wrote it, was born 
in England in 1596, during the reign of Queen Elizabeth. 
In the stormy times of religious intolerance, he took sides 
with the Puritans. He sailed from the Downs for 
America about the middle of July, in the " Griffin" 
(page 61), with his wife Ann and some two hundred others, 
among whom were Rev. Thomas Hooker, Rev. John 
Cotton and Rev. Mr. Stone, all eminent divines. Many 
of these passengers were obliged to steal on board in 
disguise, to elude the British authorities. During the 
voyage the passengers were given three sermons every 
day, one from each of the three ministers, and as the 
passage lasted eight weeks, it must have been a relief 
from the discomforts of a sea voyage and the infliction 
of nearly two hundred sermons, doubtless most of them 
doctrinal and extending to "eleventhly," when they 
stepped on shore in Boston, September 4. 

Many of these emigrants went to Newtowne, now 
Cambridge, among them Joseph Mygott. He had a 
grant of land in 1634, and was admitted freeman in 1635. 
In June, 1636, most of the members of that church 
removed to Connecticut in order " to have more room." 
They walked about one hundred miles " through a 
hideous and trackless wilderness, driving a herd of one 
hundred and sixty head of cattle, over mountains, 
through swamps, thickets and rivers, which were passable 
■ with great difficulty. This was more remarkable because 
many of this company were persons of figure, who had 
lived in England in honor, affluence and delicacy, and 
were entire strangers to fatigue and danger. ' ' They slept 
in the open air, and lived on what they carried, and the 
milk of the cows. They were obliged to cross rivers 
several times, which added much to their labor. In 



about two weeks they reached the Connecticut river, 
and founded a town which they named Hartford for 
Rev. Mr. Stone, who came from Hartford, England. 

Joseph Mygott was a prominent member of the new 
settlement, was a town officer from 1640 to 1651, repre- 
sentative to the general court from 1656 to 1661, deacon 
of the church, etc. His house stood where Trinity 

College buildings now are. His wife was Ann . 

She was born in England, 1602, and died in Hartford in 

Joseph died at Hartford, December 7, 1680, aged 
eighty-four years. They had two children, Jacob bom 
in England in 1633, and Mary bom in Hartford in 1637. 
She married John Deming, Jtmior, of Wethersfield, 
September 20, 1657. (Page 51.) 

Rust Family. 

Henry Rust came from Hingham, Norfolk Covmty, 
England, between 1633 and 1635, and settled in Hing- 
ham, Mass. The name of his wife is unknown. She 
was also from England. He died in 1684 or 1685. 

Israel, son of Henry, was baptized in Hingham, 
November 12, 1643. He married Rebecca, daughter of 
William Clarke, of Northampton, December 9, 1669. 
He died November 11, 1712. She died Febmary 8, 

Nathaniel, son of Israel and Rebecca, was bom in 
Northampton, November 17, 1671. He married Mercy 
Atchinson, of Hatfield, May 17, 1692. She was bom in 
1673, and died January 21, 1754. (See Atchinson, page 55.) 
Nathaniel married again when he was eighty-two years 
nine months and twenty-three days of age, September 
9, 1754. 

Nathaniel, son of Nathaniel and Mercy, was bom 



in Northampton in December, 1695. He married Hannah 
Hatch, April 19, 1716. He served on the first jury in 
Windham County, Conn., June 26, 1726. 

Margaret, daughter of Nathaniel and Hannah, was 
born December 31, 1722. She was married in Coventry, 
February 13, 1743, to John Sabin. (Page 48.) 

Atchinson Family. 

John Atchinson, of Hatfield, was killed by the 
Indians September 19, 1677. About fifty savages at- 
tacked the town when many of the men were at work 
in the meadows ; they killed three men, four women and 
four children, and carried many away. John's wife was 

Mary, or Mercy Atchinson, daughter of John and 
Deliverance, was bom October 30, 1673. She married 
Nathaniel Rust, as stated on page 54, March 17, 1692. 
She died January 21, 1754. 

Perkins Family. 

John Perkins, the emigrant, was born in Newent, 
Gloucestershire, England, in 1590. He married in 1612 

Judith . On December 1, 1630, he embarked 

with his wife and several children on board the ship 
" Lion," Captain William Pearce, master, at Bristol, and 
after a tempestuous passage arrived at Nantasket, Feb- 
ruary 5, 1631. The famous Roger Williams was one of 
the passengers. They first lived in Dorchester, but in 
1633 removed to Ipswich, where he became a land owner, 
and a prominent and useful citizen. Among other property 
he owned Perkins Island, at the mouth of Ipswich River. 
He was representative to the general court, and held 
many offices of trust and honor. He died in 1654. 



Sergeant Jacob Perkins, son of John and Judith, 
was born in England in 1624, and consequently was but 
six or seven years of age when brought to this cotmtry 
by his parents. In 1648 he married Elizabeth Lovell, 
who was bom in 1629, daughter of Thomas, Junior, and 
Ann Lovell, of Ipswich. (Page 67.) Elizabeth died 
February 12, 1686. Sergeant Perkins died January 29, 

Jabez Perkins, son of Jacob and Elizabeth, was born 
in 1677. About the end of the seventeenth century, he, 
with his brother Joseph, removed to Norwich, Conn. 
He married June 30, 1698, Hannah Lathrop, of Norwich, 
daughter of Samuel Lathrop and Hannah Adgate, his 
wife. (Page 78.) 

Hannah Lathrop Perkins died April 14, 1721, and 
Jabez married for his second wife Mrs. Charity (Hodges) 
Leonard. Jabez died January 15, 1742. 

Jabez Perkins, son of Jabez and Hannah, was bom 
June 3, 1699. He mamed May 11, 1725, Rebecca 
Leonard, daughter of Elkanah Leonard, of Middleboro. 
(Page 58.) Jazeb died April 27, 1739. 

Jedediah Perkins, son of Jabez and Rebecca, was 
born in Norwich, June 10, 1725. He married Jtme 11, 
1746, Temperance Hazen, daughter of Jacob Hazen, of 
Norwich. (Page 64.) 

Temperance Perkins, daughter of Jedediah and 
Temperance, was born in Norwich, September 25, 1751. 
She married John Sabin in 1770. (Page 48.) 

Henry G. Cary and his wife, Mary K. Bagley, 
descended from a common ancestor. 

John Perkins, bom 1590. 

Brother and Sister. 

Jacob Perkins, bom 1624 Elizabeth Perkins Sargent, bom 1618. 

Jabez Perkins, bom 1677 Sarah Sargent Bagley, bom 1651. 



Second Cousins. 
Jabez Perkins, bom 1699 Jacob Bagley, bom 1687. 

Third Cousins. 
Jedediah Perkins, bom 1725 William Bagley, bom 1713. 

Fourth Cousins. 
Temperance Perkins Sabin bom 1751 William Bagley, bom 1741. 

Fifth Cousins. 
Jerusha Sabin Gary, bom 1771 David Bagley, bom 1768. 

Sixth Cousins. 
William Gary, bom 1796 Frederick Bagley, bom 1797. 

Seventh Cousins. 
Henry Grosvenor Gary, bom 1829 Mary Kendrick Bagley, bom 1833 

LovELL Family. 

Thomas Lovell, of Ipswich, was bom in 1621. 
He came from Dublin, Ireland, in 1639, was in Salem 
in 1640, and settled in Ipswich in 1647. He was select- 
man in 1681. 

Thomas Lovell, Junior, son of Thomas, married 
Ann . He died January 2, 1710. 

Elizabeth Lovell, daughter of Thomas and Ann, 
married Jacob Perkins in 1648. (Page 56.) 
Leonard Family. 

The Leonards came from Pontypool, Monmouth 
County, Wales, on the Avon River and about twelve 
miles from Newport. The family were celebrated for 
the working of iron in early times. 

They claim to be of the family of Lennard, Lord Dacre, 
one of the most distinguished families in Great Britain, 
and to descend from Edward III in two lines, — through 
John of Gaunt, Earl of Lancaster, and through Thomas 
Plantagenet, Duke of Gloucester. 

James Leonard and his brother came from England, 
leaving Thomas, their father, at home. James was in 
Lynn in 1651, in Braintree in 1652, and settled in Taunton 
the same year, where he and his brother had the first 
forge in this country. James and his sons traded with 



the Indians and were on such terms of friendship that 
when the war broke out King Phihp gave strict orders 
to his men never to htirt a Leonard. James died before 
1691, and his wife died before him. 

Thomas, son of James, was born in 1641. He 
married Mary Watson, August 21, 1662. He died 
November 24, 1713, aged seventy-two years, and his wife 
died December 1, 1723, aged eighty-one. (See below.) 
Thomas was bom in England and came over with his 
parents. He was a distinguished man ; was a physician, 
major, justice of the peace, town clerk, deacon, judge of 
the court of common pleas, etc. 

Elkanah, son of Thomas and Mary, was bom on 
May 15, 1677. He married Charity Hodges. (Page 59.) 
They lived at Middleboro, where he died December 29, 

Rebecca, daughter of Elkanah and Charity, was 
bom in 1706. She married Jabez Perkins May 11, 1725. 
She died September 2, 1788. (Page 56.) 

Watson Family. 

George Watson, one of the prominent early settlers 
of Plymouth, was probably son of Robert and Elizabeth 
Watson who came over from England with three children 
about 1632. He married Phebe Hicks, daughter of 
Robert Hicks, in 1635. 

He held various offices of importance, and was a very 
large land holder. He died January 31, 1689, aged 
eighty-six years. Phebe died May 22, 1633. 

Mary Watson, daughter of George and Phebe, was 
bom about 1641. She married Thomas Leonard, August 
21, 1662. (See above.) She died December 1, 1723, 
aged eighty-one years. 



Hicks Family. 

John Hicks, of Tortmouth, England, Gloucester 
County, was a lineal descendant of Sir Ellis Hicks, who 
was knighted by Edward, the Black Prince, on the battle- 
field of Poitiers, September 19, 1356. 

Thomas, son of John of Tortmouth, married Margaret 
Atwood. He died in 1565. 

Baptist, son of Thomas and Margaret, married 
Mary Everhard, daughter of James Everhard. He was 
bom about 1526. 

James, son of Baptist and Mary, married Phebe 
AUyn, daughter of Rev. Ephraim AUyn of Hertz. 

Robert, son of James and Phebe, was bom in 1580, 
married in 1610, to Margaret Winslow. He came over in 
the ship " Fortune " in 1621, and his wife came with her 
four children in the ship " Ann " two years later. 

Phebe was the sixth child of Robert and Margaret. 
She married George Watson of Plymouth. (Page 58.) 

Hodges Family. 

William Hodges came from England, probably as 
early as 1633. He appears in Taunton in March, 1643. 
He married Mary Andre wes of Taunton. They had two 
sons. He died April 2, 1664. (Page 60.) 

Henry, son of William and Mary, was born in 1652. 
He was a man of great worth and much respected, a 
leader in both civil and military affairs. He was known 
as Captain Hodges, and was also deacon and presiding 
elder in the church. He married Esther Gallup, Decem- 
ber 17, 1674. (Page 63.) Henry died September 30, 
1717, aged sixty-five. He left five children. 

Charity, daughter of Henry and Esther, was bom 
April 5, 1682. She married Elkanah Leonard. (Page 58.) 



Andrewes Family. 

Henry Andrewes was in Cohannet, the Indian name 
of Taunton, in 1636. He was one of the founders of 
that town in 1639. He was deputy to the general court 
in 1639, '43, '44, '47, and '49. He built the first meeting- 
house in town in 1647, and received from the town as his 
pay the " calf pasture." He died in 1652. 

Mary Andrewes was the second child of Henry. 
She married WUliam Hodges about 1630. 

Gallup Family. 

John Gallup, or GoUop, the emigrant, came from 
Mosteme, Dorset County, England. His ancestors are 
thus spoken of in the records of the Harlean Society, 

" John GoUop came out of the North A. 5, Edward 
IV. 1465. Mar. Alice, daughter and heir of William 
Temple of Dorset County. 

"John GoUop, mar. Joan Collins. Died 25 Henry 
VIII. 1533. Thomas Gollop of No. Bowood, son and 
heir, mar. Agneta Watkins of Holwell, Dorset Co. died 
Apl. 8, 1610. Jacob. (James.)" 

John, third child of Thomas and Agneta (Agnes), 
was from Strode, England, where the family still resides. 

John Gollop, son of John of Strode, was bom in 

1590. He married Christobel . They sailed from 

Plymouth in the " Mary and John " on March 20, 1630, 
landing at Nantasket May 30. He left his family in 
England. He^. first lived in Dorchester, but soon re- 
moved to Long Island, Boston Harbor. He was a pilot 
and fisherman, and engaged in trading expeditions along 
the coast. He was a valuable citizen and was held in high 
esteem, as is shown in many ways. His wife was averse 



to coming to this new coimtry, and Governor Winthrop 
was so afraid that John would return to England that 
he wrote to friends in that country to persuade her to 
come here. He was late in returning from one of his 
trading trips, and after his arrival, Roger Williams began 
a letter to the Governor with, " Thank God, John GoUop 
has returned." John GoUop achieved great distinction 
by piloting the ship " Grififin," in September, 1633, 
through a new channel, when she had on board Rev. 
John Cotton, Reverends Hooke and Stone, and other fath- 
ers of New England among her 200 passengers. For this 
service the Governor gave him GoUop Island. Beside this 
he had a meadow on Long Island, a sheep farm on Nix's 
Mate, and a house in Boston. This house stood where 
No. 221 Hanover Street, comer of Mechanic Street, now is. 
Hanover was then called Middle Street. Mechanic Street 
was then Gollop's Lane, and led to the harbor, the water 
at that time coming up to where North Street now is. 
Here was moored the " Buck " when its owner was in 

John died in Boston, January 11, 1650; his wife 
died September 27, 1655. 

John Gollop, son of John and Christobel, came over 
with his mother in 1633. He was living in Boston in 
1637. He was a soldier in the Pequot War, for which 
he received one himdred acres of land from the govern- 
ment, near where Stonington stands. His father was 
also in this war. 

At the time of King Philip's War, John (2) was over 

sixty years of age, yet he entered into it with all the vigor 

and enthusiasm of a young man. He fought under 

Major John Mason. (Page 41.) At the fearful swamp 

fight at Narragansett, December 19, 1675, he was one of 

the six captains that were killed. He was in the general 

cotu-t in 1665-7. 



In 1643 he was married to Hannah Lake, daughter 
of John Lake and Margaret Reed. Margaret was a 
daughter of Edmund Reed, of Wickford, Essex County, 
England, who was son of Wilham who died in 1603, son 
of Roger who died in 1558, son of William who died in 
1534, all of Wickford. 

At his marriage John removed to Taunton, and in 
1651 to New London. Margaret died in Ipswich, Mass., 
in September, 1672. 

John was a very brave man. The following 
account will give an idea of his courage. " In 
passing by water from the Connecticut River to 
Boston, he saw off Block Island, a vessel moving in a 
peculiar manner. Approaching nearer, he discovered 
that it was the vessel of his friend John Oldham, that it 
was full of Indians, and that some of them were loading 
a canoe with goods to take ashore. Convinced that his 
friend had been killed, he determined to capture the 
vessel and avenge his death, although he had with him 
only his two sons, mere lads, and one man to help manage 
the boat. He sailed alongside and fired several volleys 
of buckshot among the Indians, which threw them into 
confusion. He then drew off a good distance, and 
putting on full sail, ran his prow directly into the side of 
the other boat, which caused six of the Indians to jump 
overboard. This he did two or three times, and com- 
pletely demoralized them. The Englishmen then jumped 
aboard, although many of the savages were armed with 
swords and hatchets, and by the free use of their guns 
and knives, the Indians wei^e soon either killed, frightened 
overboard, or forced to seek refuge below, where they 
were securely imprisoned. 

" The body of Oldham was found on board, and this 
with most of the valuables was put on GoUop's vessel. 
A rope was attached and he started to tow the ship into 



port, but a wind arising in the night he was obliged to 
cut loose." 

Esther Gallop, daughter of John and Hannah, 
was bom March 24, 1653, in New London. She married 
Henry Hodges, December 17, 1674. (Page 59.) 

Lake Family. 

John Lake was a descendant of the Lakes of Nor- 
manton, Yorkshire, who claim descent from William the 
Conqueror, through the Counts of Louvaine and the 
Earls of Arundel and Sussex, as recorded in the Herald's 

Hannah Lake, daughter of John and Margaret 
(page 62), was born in England, and came over in the 
" Abigail," with her mother, an-iving at Nantasket 
October 6, 1635. 

Hazen Family. 

Edward Hazen and his wife came from England 
and settled in Rowley. The first record of him in that 
town is " Elizabeth wife of Edward Hazen was buried 
September 18, 1649. ' ' She left no children. 

He married again in March, 1650, Hannah, daughter 
of Thomas and Jane Grant. He was selectman in Rowley 
in 1650, '51, '54, '60, '65, and '68. He was a judge in 
1666. He had large estates, and was entitled by vote 
of the town to " seven gates," February 4, 1661. This 
related to the cattle rights on the town common, the 
average being three, none over seven. He was buried 
in Rowley, July 22, 1683. He had eleven children. 

Thomas Hazen, fourth child of Edward and Hannah, 
was born February 29, 1658. He owned a farm in 
Rowley in 1683, but removed to Boxford before 1690, 



and again to Norwich, Conn., in 1711. He married 
January 1, 1683, Mary, daughter of Thomas Howie tt, son 
of Sergeant Thomas, one of the first ten settlers of 
Ipswich in 1633. He died April 12, 1735, aged seventy- 
seven years. Mary died October 24, 1727. They had 
eleven children. 

Jacob Hazen, son of Thomas and Mary, was baptized 
April 24, 1692. He married October 27, 1719, Abigail 
Lothrop. (Page 78.) They had five children, all bom 
in Norwich. He died there December 22, 1755. 

Temperance Hazen, daughter of Jacob and Abigail, 
was bom August 26, 1727. She married Jedediah 
Perkins in 1746. (Page 78.) 

HowLETT Family. 

Sergeant Thomas Howlett was bom in England in 
1599. He came in the fleet with Winthrop in 1630. He 
was a commoner in Ipswich in 1641, but had lived there 
since 1633. He was in the general court in 1635. 

He was a brave and trusty officer in severed expedi- 
tions against the Indians. The town of Ipswich agreed 
December 4, 1643, " that each soldier for their services 
against the Indians, shall be allowed 12d. a day and 
officers dubble." He was ensign in 1645, elder in the 
church in 1648, selectman in the same year, and one of 
the ' ' seven men ' ' to regulate the affairs of the church in 

He married Alice French of Boston, about 1645, and 
they had eleven children. They removed to Topsfield, 
where he was selectman in 1659, and deputy to the 
general court in 1664. His wife Alice died in 1656, and 

he married Rebekah . She died in Newbtu-y, 

November 1, 1680. He died December 22, 1677. (Page 



Thomas, son of Thomas, died December 27, 1667. (See 
preceding page.) 

Grant Family. 

Thomas Grant, Jane, his wife, and four children 
came from England in 1638. Their second child was 
Hannah, who married Edward Hazen in January, 1650. 
(Page 63.) She died February 17, 1716. 

HuRD Family. 

John and Adam Hurd, brothers, came from Eng- 
land about 1 635, and settled in Stratford, Conn. John was 
a land surveyor, and a man of education and influence. 
In 1644 he was appointed by the general court to collect 
money in Connecticut, " for the mayntenaunce of 
scoUers " in Cambridge. He was for several years 
member of the legislature in New Haven. 

Adam Hurd, the ancestor of the East Haddam and 
New Hampshire Hurds, married Hannah -. 

John Hurd, son of Adam and Hannah, married 
Ann, widow of Joshua Judson, December 10, 1662. 

Ebenezer Hurd, son of John and Ann, was bom in 
November, 1668, in Stratford. He mamed there Sarah 
Lane, daughter of Robert Lane and Sarah Pickett. 
Sarah Lane was bom February 24, 1667. Ebenezer 
removed to East Haddam about 1720. 

Robert Lane, bom about 1638, came from Derby- 
shire, England, and was one of the first settlers of Strat- 
ford, Conn. He received land in 1660 ; he was a " herder " 
in 1662. He and another man were fined twenty shillings 
for leaving the herd in the woods and returning home for 
a few days. 

He was admitted freeman in 1668, and was appointed 



" burier " or sexton in 1676. He was deputy to Hartford 
in 1686. In 1695 he removed to Killingworth, and was 
deputy from that place for sixteen years, 1699 to 1715. 
He was a successful farmer and a man of note. 

He married in Stratford, December 19, 1665, Sarah 
Pickett, daughter of John and Margaret Pickett. They 
had ten children, all bom in Stratford. The first child 
was Sarah, who married Ebenezer Hurd. (Page 65.) 
Robert died April 2, 1718. Sarah died March 11, 1725. 

John Pickett was first heard of in Salem in 1648. 
He had four children there, and all of them were baptized 
in November of that year. He removed to Stratford in 
1660. He was constable there in 1667, selectman in 
1669, and representative to the general court in 1673 and 
75. His wife Margaret died October 6, 1683. He died 
April 11, 1684. 

Sarah Pickett, daughter of John and Margaret, 
was baptized in November, 1648, in Salem. She married 
Robert Lane. 

Justus Hurd, son of Ebenezer and Sarah, married 
Rachel Fuller, date unknown, but according to the good 
old ways, it must have been in 1747, as their first child 
was bom May 22, 1748. Rachel was bom in 1726, and 
died in 1815. (Page 76.) 

Justus removed to Gilsum, N. H., in 1769. He 
resided there tiU his death, March 31, 1804. He and his 
wife were original members of the first Congregational 
church. He was selectman and moderator several years. 
He was a farmer, also a builder of " stone chimbleys." 
The family was for many years among the most active 
and efficient in all public affairs. 

Their children were : 

1. Elizabeth, bom East Haddam, May 22, 1748. 

2. at East Haddam, January 25, 1750. 



3. Uzzel, bom at East Haddam, 1752. 

4. Huldah, bom at East Haddam in 1754. 

5. Ebenezer, bom at East Haddam, April 10, 1756. 

6. Rachel, bom at East Haddam in 1758. 

7. Zadock, born at East Haddam in 1760. 

8. Robert Lane, bom at East Haddam, Febmary 

29, 1764. 

9. Asenath, bom at East Haddam, October 15, 

10. Justus, bom at East Haddam, November 2, 1770. 

Elizabeth married Colonel Jabez Beckwith, of Lemp- 
ster, had three children, one of whom, Martin, lived to 
be over one himdred years old. 

Shubael was our direct ancestor. (Page 69.) Uzzel 
married Ruth Day, of Keene, on May 1, 1777. He 
removed to Lempster. He was in the Northern army 
in a regiment raised by General Gates' request to rein- 
force the army at Ticonderoga, October and November, 
1776. He had four children. 

Huldah married Obadiah Wilcox, February 18, 1773. 
She had two children. She next married Thomas Red- 
ding, November 28, 1781, and had four children. 

Ebenezer married Abigail Kempton and had eight 
children. He was in the army of the Revolution. On 
October 28, 1776, at the battle of White Plains, when 
General Washington was defeated by Admiral Lord 
Howe, he was hit three times but not wounded, one 
■ bullet piercing his cartridge-box, and two going through 
his coat and shirt. He was afterwards body-servant to 
Benedict Arnold, and got his horse for him when he fled 
after the arrest of Andre. 

Rachael married Berzaleel Mack on July 28, 1785, 

She had two children. See record of her grandson on 

page 74. 



Zadock married Molly Griswold on September 2, 
1784. He had seven children. He was in the Revolu- 
tionary War. In 1782 he was paid eight pounds " for 
taking up and securing a deserter." He was wounded 
and received an invalid's pension. He was in Gilsum 
before 1793, and moved to Chesterfield in 1803. He was 
a captain in the militia, moderator of Gilsum fotu" years, 
clerk one year, selectman six years, and representative 
one year. 

Robert Lane married Lydia Russell on November 
28, 1788. He had nine children. Lydia died February 
1823, and he married Lucy Winegar. In 1809 Robert was 
chosen moderator of the town meeting, and the first two 
votes recorded were: 

Voted to adjourn to Smith's Tavern. 
Voted to adjourn back to the meeting. 

The number of votes in those days was small, and 
the moderator paid for the drinks for the town. Robert 
died August 25, 1856. 

Asenath manied Jacob Smith in 1790. She had 
eight children. Asenath died August 24, 1853. Justus 
married Ruth Handel and had five children. 

Shubael married Rachel Beckwith. She was bom 
in East Haddam, June 20, 1750. They removed to 
Gilsum in 1772. Shubael bought a farm there that year, 
and in 1777 built a frame house, the timbers being hewn 
and the boards running up and down. They removed 
to Lempster about 1779, and built a log house near 
where stands the house in which George Hiird now lives. 

Shubael was sergeant in the 7th Company, Colonel 
Ashley's Regiment, to reinforce the army at Ticonderoga 
in 1777. Justice, his father, was private in the same 
company. Their wages were four poionds and eighteen 



shillings per month, travel two and a half pence per 
mile. Shubael died March 1, 1827. 

Shubael married Rachel Beckwith in 1767. Their 
children were : 

1. Abigail, bom November 26, 1770, E. Haddam, 

died March, 1838, Grafton. 

2. Lucy, bom April 18, 1772, E. Haddam, died 

April 19, 1832, Ohio. 

3. Shubael, bom Febmary 26, 1774, Gilsum, died 

March 22, 1854, Baltimore. 

4. Flavel, bom October 19, 1776, Gilsum, died 

July 12, 1849, Lempster. 

5. Wealthy, bom May 30, 1779, Lempster, died in 


6. Candace, bom June 7, 1781, Lempster, died 

May 1, 1881, Lempster. 

7. Rachel, bom October 14, 1783, Lempster, died 

1845, Albion. 

8. Lydia, bom June 21, 1786, Lempster, died 

February 29, 1804, Lempster. 

9. Matilda, bom April 4, 1788, Lempster, died 

September 9, 1862. 

10. Luman, born February 2, 1791, Lempster, died 

June 21, 1805, Lempster. 

11. Sophia, bom December 23, 1794, Lempster, died 

May 8, 1857, Maiden. 
Rachael (grandmother) died on June 14, 1800, and 
Shubael next married widow Isabel Smith in 1802. She 
died in 1847, aged eighty four years. Their children were : 

12. Smith, bom January 11, 1803, Lempster, died 

March 3, 1877, Lempster. 

13. Justus bora May 15, 1805, Lempster, died 1870, 

St. Louis. 



Beckwith Family. 

Probable ancestry of Rachel Beckwith. (Page 68.) 

Matthew Beckwith, the emigrant, was bom in 
Pontrefact, Yorkshire, England, in 1610. He came to 
America in 1635. He was living in Hartford in 1645, 
and about 1652 was in New London and Lyme, his land 
being in both towns. He owned much land. He 

married Elizabeth . They had seven children. 

Matthew died October 21, 1680, "by a fall in a dark night 
down a ledge of rocks." His wife survived him and died 
before 1690. 

Nathaniel, fourth child of Matthew and Ehzabeth, 

was bom later than 1640. His wife was Martha . 

He owned considerable land in Lyme, East Haddam, 
Moodus and New London. They had seven children. 
His will was proved December 25, 1725. 

Nathaniel, first child of Nathaniel and Martha, was 
bora May 28, 1671. He manied Sarah Brockway, 
daughter of Wolston Brockway, of Lyme, January 20, 
1704. Sarah was bom at Lyme, September 23, 1769. 
They had five children. Nathaniel died in 1717 at 

Nathaniel, second child of Nathaniel and Sarah, 
was bora January 6, 1707. He married Abigail Huntley, 
April 11, 1728. (They are supposed to have been the 
parents of Rachael Beckwith who married Shubael Hurd 
in 1767, page 69.) 

Brockway Family. 

Wolston Brockway was born about 1640 in Eng- 
land. He married Hannah, daughter of William and 
Mary Briggs, of Lyme. He died about 1718, and 



Hannah died February 6, 1688. She was bom in Boston 
August 28, 1642. 

Wolston was a shipmaster in 1704. 

HuRD Family. 

Record of the brothers and sisters of Sophia Hurd, 
wife of William Gary (generation twenty), also their 

1. Abigail married Benjamin Willey. They had 

seven children. 

2. Lucy married Nathan Wilcox. They had four 


3. Shubael married Asenath Story; next married 

Lydia Wheeler. 

Their first child was bom in Goschen; all others in 
Lempster. They were : 

1. Collins, bom July 16, 1796, married Sallie Way. 

They had fourteen children. He died April 
30, 1876. 

2. Lucy, bom June 4, 1798, married James Hardy. 

They had one child. 

3. Harriet, bom February 11, 1800, and married 

Reuben Hardy. They had four children. 
She died in 1876. 

4. Lima, bom September 14, 1803, married Reuben 

Ober, and had one child. 

5. Liunan, born March 13, 1805. He married 

Laura Vickery. They had one child. He 
died January 24, 1867. 

6. Erastus, born July 7, 1812, died September 11, 


7. Rhoda, was bom October 7, 1813, married Barb- 

ie tt Gunnison. 



8. Sophia was bom October 2, 1815. She married 

Dennison Dudley, and had one child. 

9. Lyman was bom October 14, 1817, married 

Sarah Miner and had two children. 

4. Flavel married Abigail Story June 30, 1799. 
Their children were : 

1. Ansel married Willey. 

2. Candace married Willey. 

3. Franklin. 

5. Wealthy married Alvin Wood May 31, 1801. 
Their children were : 

1. Emily, bom 1817, married Carlos Clarke. 

2. Matilda, bom 1819, married Towne. 

6. Candace married Byron Beckwith, June 4, 1806. 

He was bom on March 24, 1781, and died 
January, 1859. Candace died May 1, 1881, 
aged ninety-nine years, ten months and 
twenty- three days. Her husband, brothers, 
sisters, children and grandchildren all died 
before she did. 
Their children were : 

1. Elvira, bom May 24, 1811, married John Buck- 

minster ; he died November 29, 1839. 

2. Diana was bom September 7, 1813, died 1825. 

3. Harriet was bom November 2, 1815, died 1829. 

4. Emeline was bom August 29, 1818, married 

Marvin Spenver, died 1847. 

5. Luman was bom November 1, 1808, died 

November 23, 1808. 

Emeline (4) had a son Luman who died in the Civil 



7. Rachel married Phineas Wilcox in 1807. 

Their children were : 

1. Susan, bom March 18, 1814, married Almon 

Clarke. They had two children. She died 
October 6, 1898. 

2. Harriet, bom June 1, 1816, married Orrain 

Taylor. They had two children. She died 
February 9, 1854. 

3. Oscar, bom April 27, 1827, married Ophelia 

Underwood, died February, 1894. 

8. Lydia was bom April 4, 1786, and died in 1804. 

9. Matilda, married Roswell Booth, son of Free- 

grace Booth. 
Their children were : 

1. Alvin. 

2. Solon, bom October 14, 1807, and died October 

24, 1810. 

3. Solon Alonzo, born April 19, 1812, and died 

January 29, 1888. 

4. Matilda, bom May 3, 1826. She married John 

Scribner, and had two children. 

5. Hosea, bom March 11, 1822, and died November 

11, 1837. 

10. Luman died in his youth. He was killed at the 
moving of a schoolhouse. 

Record of the half brothers of Sophia Hurd and their 

12. Smith, married Mehitable Emerson, May 30, 
1825. She was bom on January 13, 1804, 
and died October 4, 1898. 
Their children were : 

1. Yoric G., bom Febmary 17, 1827, married Mary 



A. Twitchell and Ruth A. Brown. He died 
in 1889. 

2. Robert S., bom March 25, 1829, and died July 

27, 1852. 

3. Isabel E., bom January 26, 1831. She married 

Dr. J. Parker. They had one child. She died 
May 12, 1878. 

4. Dency, bom February 4, 1833. She married 

Austin Spencer. They had two children. 

5. Eunice E., bom March 3, 1835, and died Decem- 

ber 17, 1885. 

6. George W., bom September 16, 1837, married 

Eliza A. Fletcher, had two children. 

7. Emerson D., born October 25, 1843, and married 

Ruth M. Bruce. They had three children. 

13. Justus, married Isabel Beauford. Their children 

1. Pineo. 

2. Isalba. 

Justus married Sarah Gordon for his second wife. 

Oscar Mack, according to the historian of Gilsum, 
" inherited his military spirit from his grandmother, 
Rachel Hurd." He was graduated from West Point in 
1850, and rose through the ranks as follows: Second lieu- 
tenant in 1851, first lieutenant in 1856, captain in 1861, 
major in 1866, lieutenant colonel in 1874. 

He was on the staff of General George H. Thomas 
till wounded at the Battle of Stone River, December 3, 

He served as major and aide-de-camp from April 
16, 1863, till honorably mustered out July 1, 1866. 

Afterwards he was provost marshal of Concord, 



treasurer and secretary of the United States Soldiers, 
Home at Washington, and Inspector of National Ceme- 
teries from 1871 till his death in 1876. 

(Page 73.) Yoric Hurd was surgeon of the 48th 
Regiment of Massachusetts Troops in 1861 and 1862, in 
the Department of the Gulf. 

He was also medical director of staff in General 
Butler's regiment for ten years. 

Fuller Family. 

Edward Fuller was one of the passengers on the 
first voyage of the Mayflower, landing at Plymouth, 
December 21, 1620. He came with his wife Ann and son 
Samuel. His brother Samuel came at the same time. 
Both Edward Fuller and his wife died the first year. 

Samuel, son of Edward and Ann, must have been 
between five and ten years of age when he came with his 
parents to this country. At the death of his parents he 
was put in the care of his Uncle Samuel. 

At the division of land in Plymouth, in 1624, he 
received three shares, probably out of respect for his 
father and mother. He was married in Scituate, at the 
house of Mr. Cudworth, by Captain Myles Standish, 
April 8, 1635, to Jane Lothrop, daughter of Rev. John 
Lothrop, of Scituate. He removed to that town in 1634, 
and built the fifteenth house there in 1635. In 1641 they 
removed to Barnstable, where he died October 31, 1683. 
He was a man of retiring habits, eminently pious. They 
had nine children. (Page 77.) 

John Fuller, last child of Samuel and Jane, was 
bom in Barnstable in 1656. He married Mehitable 
Rowley. (Page 79.) They had ten children. He was 
called " Little John " to distinguish him from his nephew 



John, son of his father's oldest brother, Matthew, who 
came to this coimtry twenty years later than the Pilgrims 
did. (See below.) 

Shubael Fuller, third child of John and Mehitable, 
was bom in Barnstable before 1688. He married, July 
10, 1708, Hannah, daughter of Jonathan Crocker, of 
Barnstable. They had eight children, all bom in East 
Haddam. (Page 80.) 

Rachael Fuller, last child of Shubael and Hannah, 
was bom Febmary 24, 1727. She married Justus Hurd, 
and had ten children. (Page 66) 

Another Fuller Line. 

Matthew Fuller, son of Edward the Pilgrim, but 
who did not come with his father in the Mayflower, 
was bom in England about 1610. 

His wife's name was Frances. They came to Ply- 
mouth in 1640. In 1652 they removed to Bamstable. 
He was surgeon of the Colonial Troops in 1673, and a 
captain in 1675. He died in 1678. 

Elizabeth Fuller, daughter of Matthew and 
Frances, was bom in England, as is supposed. She 
married Moses Rowley, April 22, 1652. (Page 79.) 

LoTHROP Family. 

John Lowthropp (generation one) lived at Low- 
thropp, a parish in Yorkshire, England. The name in old 
English signifies Lo, or Low, to see, and Thropp, a vil- 
lage. The family doubtless lived on a hill, from which 
they could see a village. 

Thomas (generation two), son of John, lived at 
Cherry Burton, afterwards at Elton, Yorkshire. 

Rev. John Lothrop, son of Thomas, was bom at 



Elton, at what date is uncertain. He was educated at 
Christ College, Cambridge. He became the minister of 
the church at Edgerly, County Kent, some fifteen miles 
from London. He next went to London and became the 
second pastor of the first Independent Church in Eng- 
land. He was there eight years, and was one of the 
Puritans who incurred the enmity of Archbishop Laud 
and Bishop Bancroft. On April 29, 1632, his congrega- 
tion was discovered worshiping in a private house, and 
forty-two of their number were arrested. They were 
kept in prison for two years, then released on bail, except 
Mr. Lothrop. After a while the King allowed him to 
leave the country. His wife had died and he came with 
thirty of his flock, sailing about August 1, 1634, in the 
" Griffin," landing at Boston, September 18. He lived 
first in Scituate, then in Barnstable in 1639. He had 
eight children, all bom in England. He died November 
8, 1653. 

Jane Lothrop (generation four), first child of John, 
was bom in Edgerly, and baptized September 29, 1614. 
She married Samuel Fuller. (Page 75.) 

A Second Line. 

Samuel Lothrop (generation four), brother of Jane 
(page 75), was the seventh child of Rev. John, and came 
over with him to Scituate in 1634, then to Barnstable, 
where he married, November 28, 1644, Elizabeth Scudder 
from Boston. She was daughter of Thomas and Eliza- 
beth Scudder of Salem. 

In 1648 Samuel removed to New London, Conn., 
then called Pequot. He held various positions of honor 
and responsibility from the very first. He was a judge, 
and died Febmary 9, 1700. 



Samuel Lothrop (generation five), son of Samuel 
and Elizabeth, was bom in New London in March, 1650. 
He married Hannah Adgate in November, 1675. 

Hannah Lothrop, daughter of Samuel and Hannah, 
was bom January 6, 1677. She married Jabez Perkins, 
June 30, 1698. (Page 56.) 

Hannah Adgate was the daughter of Thomas 
Adgate, of Saybrook, who was bom in 1621. He was 
deacon of Rev. Mr. Fitch's church for over fifty years. 
(Page 39.) He died July 21, 1707. Hannah was bom 
October 6, 1653. She married Samuel Lothrop as 
above. She died in 1695. 

A Third Lothrop Line. 

Joseph Lothrop (generation five), brother of Samuel 
(generation five) above, son of Samuel, was bom in 
Norwich in October, 1661. He married Mary Scudder, 
April 8, 1686. She died September 18, 1695. Joseph 
died July 5, 1740, in Norwich. 

Abigail Lothrop (generation six), daughter of 
Joseph and Mary, was bom September 16, 1693. She 
married Jacob Hazen. He died December 22, 1755, 
leaving six children. Their second child was Temperance, 
who married Jedediah Perkins. (Page 64.) 

Scudder Family. 

Elizabeth Scudder, daughter of Thomas and 
Elizabeth Scudder, was sister of John Scudder who was 
bom in England before 1619. 

He came from London probably in 1635. He 
located first in Charlestown and removed to Barnstable 
the next year. 

Elizabeth followed him in 1644, and on November 



28 of that year she married there Samuel Lothrop. 
(Page 77.) 

Rowley Family. 

Henry Rowley was in Plymouth in 1632. He 
came from England in the ship " Charles." He was 
living in Scituate in 1634, and removed to Barnstable in 
1639, with Rev. John Lothrop. (Page 77.) 

Moses Rowley, son of Henry, lived in Barnstable. 
He married April 22, 1652, Ehzabeth Fuller, daughter of 
Matthew Fuller, son of Edward Fuller, of the May- 
flower. (Page 76.) 

They had eight children, two of whom, Shubael and 
Mehitable, were bom January 11, 1660. 

Moses was representative to the Colony Court in 
1692. He died in Haddam in 1705. 

Mehitable Rowley, daughter of Moses and Eliza- 
beth, married John Fuller. (Page 75.) 

Crocker Family. 

William Crocker was bom in England. He lived 
in Crocker's Hale, Devonshire. He came to America in 
1634, stopping first at Roxbury, then in 1636 at Scituate, 
and settling in Barnstable in 1639. 

He was a public-spirited man, serving as constable, 
selectman and grand juryman for many years. He was 
deputy to the Colony Court in 1670, 71, and '74, and 
was deacon of the church. He was married in 1636 to 

AHce . He had a large landed estate, and was 

considered very wealthy. He had seven children, all of 
whom became wealthy. He died in the fall of 1692, 
about eighty years old. 

Deacon William had a clean record; men who 
acquire great wealth often make enemies, but he had none. 



John Crocker, first child of William and Alice, was 
bom in Scituate, May 1, 1637. He married in November, 
1659, Mary, daughter of Robert Bodfish (below) and 
had seven children bom in Barnstable. He died in May, 
1711, aged seventy-four years, and she in December, 1662. 

Jonathan Crocker, second child of John and Mary, 
was bom July 15, 1662. He married Hannah, daughter 
of John Howland, a Mayflower descendant. May 20, 
1686. (Page 81.) They had four children. He died 
August 24, 1746. 

Hannah Crocker, second child of Jonathan and 
Hannah, was bom March 26, 1688. She married Shubael 
Fuller, July 10, 1708, and removed to East Haddam. 
(Page 76.) 

Bodfish Family. 

Robert Bodfish, or Botfish as he wrote it, came 
from England. He was in Lynn in 1635. He was one 
of the original proprietors of Sandwich in 1637, and 
joined the Plymouth Colony in 1639. His wife's name 
was Bridget. They had three children. He died in 1651. 

Mary Bodfish, daixghter of Robert and Bridget, 
married John Crocker. 

Howland Family. 

John Howland came over from Holland in the 
Mayflower as servant or assistant to Govemor Carver. 
He was bom about 1590 in Essex County, England. His 
name was thirteenth on the covenant signed in the cabin 
of the Mayflower. He became a prominent man in 
the Colony. 

He was representative to the Colony Court, and 
assistant to the Governor in 1633, '34 and '35. Govemor 
Bradford places him among the " ten principal men." 



He married Elizabeth Tilley, a Mayflower pas- 
senger who came with her father. John Howland died 
February 23, 1673, aged about eighty years. 

John Howland, son of John and Elizabeth, was born 
in Plymouth, February 24, 1626. He removed to 
Marshfield and then settled in Barnstable. He held many 
town offices. He married, October 27, 1651, Mary, 
daughter of Robert Lee. (See below.) 

Hannah Howland, fourth child of John and Mary, 
was bom May 15, 1661. She married Jonathan 
Crocker, May 20, 1688. (Page 80.) She died before 

Tilley Family. 

John Tilley, his wife Elizabeth and daughter Eliza- 
beth were among the Pilgrims of the Mayflower in 1620. 
Both parents died during the first year in Plymouth. 

Elizabeth Tilley, the daughter, was bom in 1607, 
and consequently was thirteen years old when she came 
from England. Three years later, 1623, she married 
John Howland, also one of the Pilgrims. 

She outlived all her fellow passengers, except those 
who were younger. She died December 21, 1687. 
(See above.) 

Lee Family. 

Robert Lee was in Plymouth in 1636. He probably 
came from England. His wife's name was Mary. 

Mary Lee, daughter of Robert and Mary, married 
John Howland. (See above.) 

Godfrey Family. 

Francis Godfrey was in Plymouth in 1637, and in 
Duxbury in 1640. He bore arms in 1643 ; was a carpen- 



ter. Not much is known of his early history. He had a 
servant named John Pitcher. He died in 1669, " an 
old man " as he called himself in his will, written in 1660. 
He was worth 117 pounds, 17 shillings, 5 pence. 

Elizabeth, daughter of Francis, married John 
Gary in 1644. (Page 11.) 

Samuel Allen Family. 

Samuel Allen and Ann, his wife, came from 
Bridgewater, Somerset Gounty, England, in 1632. They 
were the first Aliens to emigrate to America. They first 
settled in Brain tree, Mass. They had six children, three 
of whom married children of John Gary, Sr., viz., 
Sarah Allen married Jonathan Gary (page 12), Samuel 
Allen married Rebecca Gary (page 13), and Abigail 
Allen married John Gary, Jr. (page 13). Abigail was 
bom in 1640, and was married in 1670. 

Ann, wife of Samuel Allen, Sr., died September 29, 
1641, and Samuel married Margaret Lamb, of Braintree. 
He died in June, 1665. 

Miscellaneous Items. 

1577. One of the Devonshire Garys was among the 
first Englishmen to set foot in America. On November 
15, 1577, Sir Francis Drake set sail from Plymouth, 
England, on a voyage round the world. They touched 
America on the Pacific coast. They returned to Ply- 
mouth September 26, 1580. There were one hundred 
and sixty-four men in all, but only forty-eight names 
have been preserved. Among them was that of George 
Gary, musician. 

1635. Richard Gary, aged seventeen, was passenger 
on the barque Primrose, Gaptain Douglass, for Virginia. 



1641. There was a ferryman at Salisbury, Mass., 
named George Cary. 

1675. Peter Cary was a soldier in Captain Joseph 
Gardiner's Company from Marblehead in King Philip's 

1675. Jonathan Cary was also in that war, in 
Captain Joseph Syll's Company. See Massachusetts 
Archives, Volume 68, page 93. 

1692. The wife of Nathaniel Cary, of Charlestown, 
was accused of being a witch. She was put in irons in 
prison in Cambridge, but was smart enough to escape to 
New York. 

1695. Matthew Cary went to Quebec to ransom the 
English captives there. He sailed in the brigantine 
Tryal by command of the authoritiesof Massachusetts Bay. 

1697. October 6. John Cary was licensed to keep 
the Green Dragon Hotel, so long famous during " old 
Colony times," on Union Street, Boston. 

1744. February 14, Jonathan Cary was captain of 
9th Company, 7th Massachusetts Regiment, Colonel 
Shubael Gorham. 

1746. George Cary was in the expedition to Louis- 
burg in the 7th Company, 3d Massachusetts Regiment. 

1758. Simeon Cary, of Bridgewater, was captain of 
a company in the expedition to Canada. He was pro- 
moted to colonel in the Revolutionary War. 

1762. September 30, George Cary was in the army 
at Crown Point. 

1775. November 4, Major Cary of the 9th Regiment, 
Continental army, reported at Cambridge. 

1776. Nathaniel Cary and twelve others were 
arrested July 20 at Charlestown, " for giving comfort to 
the enemies, and for approving the conduct of the 
perfidious General Gage." 



1780. J Gary commanded the privateer brig 

Hercules from Maryland. 

1781. July 21, William Gary was committed to the 
old Mill Prison in England, near Plymouth. He was 
taken on the ship Essex. He was from Boston. 

1809. Samuel Gary, Unitarian minister, graduate 
of Harvard, preached at King's Ghapel from January 1, 
1809, till he died October 22, 1815. 

1812. George S. Gary was a member of the Boston 
Light Infantry stationed in Fort Strong, now Fort 





























Alfred the Great 

b. 849. cro. 871. d. 901 
Edward the Elder 

b. 870. cro. 901. d. 924 
Edmund the Atheling 

b. 922. cro. 940. d. 946 

b. 943. cro. 973. d. 975 
Ethelred II. 

b. 968. cro. 978. d. 1016 

Princess Goda 

d. 1054 
Rudolph, Earl de Mantes 

d. 1057 
Harold. Earl de Mantes 
John. Lord of Sudeley 

mar. Grace de Traci 1130 
Sir William de Tragi 

b. 1134. d. 1224 
Sir Henry de Tracy 

d. 1246 
Sir Henry de Tracy 

d. 1296 
Sir William Tracy 
Sir William Tracy 
William Tracy 
Sir John Tracy 

d. 1363 
Sir John Tracy 

d. 1379 
William Tracy 

d. 1399 
William Tracy 
William Tracy 

d. 1460 
Henry Tracy 

d. 1506 
Sir William Tracy 

d. 1531 

Richard | Tracy 

d. 1596 
Sir Paul Tracy 

d. 1626 
Thomas Tracy 

b. 1610. mar. 1641. d. 1685 
Miriam Tracy 

b. 1648. d. 1668 
Elizabeth Waterman 
Elizabeth Fitch 

b. 1696. mar. 1718, d, 1780 
Eunice Webb 

b. 1734. mar. 1754. d, 1S09 

William Gary 

b. 1767. mar. 1795. d. 1815 
William Gary 

b. 1796. mar. 1817. d. 1856 

Some of the Ancestors of WIL] 

Born at Lempster, N. H., 1796 


1. Charlemagne 

b. 742. cro. 768. d. 814 

2. Louis Debonnaire 

b. 778. cro. 814. d. 840 

3. Charles the Bald 

b. 823. cro. 840. d. 877 

4. Judith 

mar. 863 

5. Count Baldwin II. 

cro. 880. d. 918 

6. Count Aenulf 

b. 872, cro. 918. d. 964 

7. Count Baldwin III. 

cro. 959. d. 962 

8. Count Arnulf II. 

cro. 962. d. 988 

9. Count Baldwin IV. 

cro. 988. d. 1036 
10. Count Baldwin V. 
cro. 1036. d. 1067 
















Matilda | 
mar. 1053 

d. 1085 

1. William I the Conqueror 
b, 1025. d. 1087 
mar. 1053. cro. 1066 





b. 820. cro. 867. 




Leo VI. 

b. 865. cro. 886. 




Constantine VII. 
b, 905. cro. 944. 





b. 938. cro. 959. 




Anne | 

William, | Earlof Warenne 

d, 1138 
William, Earl of Warenne 

d. 1147 
Lady Isabel de Warenne 

mar. 1163. d. 1198 
Lady Isabel Plantagenet 
Lady Margery Bigod 

Henry 1 de Hastings 

d. 1250 
Henry de Hastings 

d. 1264 
Henry de Hastings 

d. 1268 
John de Hastings 

b. 1262. d. 1313 
Lady Elizabeth Hastings 
Reginald de Grey 

d. 1388 
Reginald de Grey 

b. 1362. d. 1440 
Lady Eleanor de Gray 
William Lucy 

d. 1492 
Edward Lucy 

b. 1464. d. 1498 
Thomas Lucy 

29. Barbara I Lucy 

NOTE. — The Otho and Robert lines unite in the tnarriage of 
Edgiva and Hugh Magnus, the Robert and Ruric lines in Henry 
I. and Anne of Russia, the Ruric and Basil lines in Vladimir and 
Anne, the Robert and Charlemagne lines in Isabel and William, the 
William the Conqueror and the Charlemagne lines in William 
and Matilda, the Kenneth II. and Charlemagne lines in Ada and 
Henry, and all unite in Richard Tracy and Barbara Lucy. 

b. — bom d. — died 

• married cro. — crowned 

AM GARY, of Amesbury, Mass. 

Died at Maiden, Mass., 1856 


1. RuRic THE Great 

cro. 862. d. 880 

2. Igor 

cro. 912. d. 945 


cro. 964, d. 972 

4. Vladimir | 

cro. 972. d. 1015 

5. Jaroslaw 

cro 1019. d. 1054 

6. Anne I of Russia 


1. Robert of Anjou 

d. 863 

2. Robert of France 




1. Otho the Illustrious 

d. 919 

2. Henry. King op Germany 

b. 876. cro. 919. d. 936 

Hugh | Magnus 

d. 956 
Hugh Capet 

b. 940. cro. 987. d. 996 
Robert II. The Pious. 

b. 971. cro. 996. d. 1031 

6. Henry. 1 King of France 

b. 1011. cro. 1031. d. 1060 

7. Hugh, Count Vermandois 

d. 1102 

8. Isabel ) of Vermandois 

3. Edgiva I 
mar. 938 



Kenneth II. 

cro. 843. d. 858 


Constantine II, 
cro, 862. d. 878 


Donald IV. 

cro. 892. d. 903 


Malcolm I. 

cro. 943, d, 958 


Kenneth III. 
cro, 970, d. 994 


Malcolm II. 

cro. 1003. d. 1033 


Princess Beatrix 


Duncan I. 

cro, 1033, d, 1034 


Malcolm III. 

cro. 1056. d. 1093 


David I. 

cro, 1124. d. 1153 




David, Earl Huntington 

13, Ada 

Other Anc 

esters of HENRY G. CARY, 

son of William 




Mayflower Pilgrim 

Mayflower Pilgrim 

Mayflower Pilgrim 

1, Edward Fuller d. 


1, John Howland d, 1673 

1, John Tilley d. 1621 

2. Samuel Fuller d. 


2, John Howland 

2, Elizabeth Tilley d, 1687 

3. John Fuller 

3, Hannah Howland 

Daughter of John married 

4. Shubael Fuller 

4, Hannah Crocker 

John Howland, Sen. 

5, Rachael Fuller d. 


5, Rachael Fuller d. 1815 

6, Shubael Hurd d. 


6, Shubael Hurd d, 1827 

7, Sophia Hurd d. 


7, Sophia Hurd d, 1857 

8. Henry G. Gary 

8, Henry G. Cary 




Rear Admiral English Navy 

Hung as a Witch, Salem, 
September 22, 1692 

" Conqueror of the Peqttots " 

1, Thomas Graves d 


1. Margaret Scott d. 1692 

1, John Mason d. 1672 

2, Rebecca Graves d 


2. Hannah Scott d, 1718 

2. Priscilla Mason 

3, Mary Adams d 


3, Samuel Webb d. 1739 

3. John Fitch 

4, Nathaniel Webb d. 


4, Nathaniel Webb d, 1750 

4, Elizabeth Fitch d. 1780 

5, Eunice Webb d 


5, Eunice Webb d, 1809 

5. Eunice Webb d. 1809 

6, William Cary d 


6, William Cary d, 1815 

6, William Cary d. 1815 

7, William Caby d 


7, William Cary d. 1856 

7, William Cary d, 1856 

8, Henry G, Cary 

8, Henry G. Cary 

8, Henry G, Cary 





By Isaac Harris Gary 

of the Fifth Generation 


First Generation. 

Jonathan Gary, Shipwright, of Charlestown, Mass., 
was born in England about A. D. 1700. He is called 
" Tertius " in the records. 

Jonathan Gary and James, his brother, were un- 
doubtedly nearly related to John Gary of Plymouth and 
James Gary of Gharlestown, who came to Massachusetts 
eighty odd years before ; but as the exact connection can 
not be traced authentically in this country, and as no 
relationship has ever been claimed, their descendants pre- 
fer that they should be considered as the head of a sepa- 
rate and distinct family in America. The connecting link 
can be found only in the mother country, and will be an 
interesting study for some of their descendants. We 
know they all came from Bristol, England, or its imme- 
diate vicinity. 

It has always been the tradition in that branch of the 
Gary family of which Jonathan Gary " ye third " was the 
progenitor, that he, with his brother James, came from the 
West of England (where the best of broadcloth was made), 
aged about twenty-five years. 

The two brothers landed at Gharlestown, Mass., 
probably about the years 1722-3. The first records we 
find of them are in the minutes of the Old First Ghurch, 
Rev. Simeon Bradstreet, pastor, where we find that 
Jonathan and his brother James were baptized adults, 
February 7, 1724-5. Jonathan was entered as " Jonathan 
Tertius " (third), probably to distinguish him from the 
Garys of the same given name then living in Gharlestown. 
There are many characteristics in the descendants of John 



and James, and Jonathan " ye 3rd " of Charlestown, 
which suggest that they came from the same stock. 

The family names, John, James, Jonathan, Samuel 
and Nathaniel, appear in nearly every generation of each 
family. They can be foiind to-day in the same localities 
where their ancestors first settled. 

As a class the Carys in America have always been 
industrious, thrifty, and with a propensity to invest in 
real estate, to hold, rather than for speculation. 

The Carys have always firmly stood by the country 
of their adoption, having assisted in its welfare in vari- 
ous ways to the extent of their means and abilities. In 
those dark days of the War of the Revolution, we find 
John Cary, son of Jonathan Cary " ye 3rd," after having 
been burned out at Charlestown, and having removed 
his family to a place of safety, building boats for Wash- 
ington's army at Cambridge, Mass. 

The War of 1812 finds Jonathan Cary (grandson of 
Jonathan " ye 3rd ") enrolled in Boston to defend that 
city against English invasion. The great Rebellion of 
1861-5 finds descendants of all branches of the family at 
the front in the interest of freedom and the Union. 

Each family has been blessed with prominent men 
and women. William Ferdinand Cary, the prominent tea 
merchant of New York City, and Edward Montagu Cary, 
of East Milton, Mass., are descendants of the first James 
of Charlestown. William Harris Cary (of the firm of 
Cary, Howard, Sanger & Co. of New York City, the 
largest importers of fancy goods in this country), a 
prominent citizen of Brooklyn, N. Y., where he died in 
1861, was a descendant of Jonathan Cary "ye 3rd " of 

The knowledge of the fact that the early Carys, both 
in England and America, were a worthy people should be, 



and is, a matter of pride to their descendants. Pride in a 
good record is honorable. 

Boat building, even at that early date, must have 
been somewhat remunerative, for we find in the year 1739 
Jonathan Gary " ye 3rd " was enabled to buy a piece of 
ground with house thereon from Henry Pownell, of 
Gharlestown, for the sum of £110 ($550). Jonathan " ye 
3rd ' ' deeded a small part of this same piece of land to his 
son John in the year 1772 for the sum of ;^13 65 8d. 

Jonathan Gary was married first at Gharlestown, 
Mass., October 30, 1724, to Sarah Roy, or Ray, daughter 
of David and Hannah Ray, of Gharlestown, Mass., by 
Rev. Simeon Bradstreet, pastor of the Old First Ghurch. 
She was bom in 1699, and baptized August 5, 1700. 
She probably died at Gharlestown, Mass., about 1732. 
(Her father, David Ray, or Rea, owned Ghurch Covenant 
at Gharlestown, Mass., September 26, 1696, having been 
baptized at Forfar, Scotland.) Their children were : 

2. Jonathan Gary, born at Gharlestown, Mass., July 
9, 1725; baptized at Gharlestown. Mass., July 
11, 1729; died young. 

2. Hannah Gary, bom at Gharlestown, Mass., April 
17, 1728; baptized April 21, 1728. She was 
brought up in the family of John Hartwell of 
Bedford, who made her one of the legatees under 
his will. She married Timothy Pike of Bedford 
or Goncord about the year 1 748. They had six 
children ; at least two of the boys served in the 
Army of the Revolution. 

2. Samuel Gary, bom at Gharlestown, Mass., July 
26, 1730. He died at Gharlestown, Mass., Octo- 
ber 23, 1815, aged eighty-five years ; vmmarried. 

2. Sarah Gary, bom 1731; died 1784, aged fifty- 
three years ; unmarried. 


Jonathan Gary was married there secondly by Rev. 
Hull Abbott, August 15, 1733, to Sarah Edmands, born 
January 10, 1699-1700, daughter of John Edmands of 
same place. Their children were : 

2. Thomas Gary, bom at Gharlestown, Mass., No- 
vember 22, 1734; died at Gharlestown, Mass., 
April 28, 1748. 

2. John Gary, bom at Gharlestown, Mass., May 29, 

2. James Gary, born at Gharlestown, Mass., May 21, 
1739; he died unmarried at Gharlestown, 
Mass., A. D. 1764. 

2. Nathaniel Gary, born at Gharlestown, Mass., 
March 10, 1741 ; he died unmarried at Gharles- 
town, Mass. 

We have no record of the death of Jonathan " ye 
3rd " or his wife, Sarah Edmands Gary, but we find that 
they both received war aid at Reading, Mass., in 
1775, which was probably in the shape of food and shelter. 
The Reading people called these Gharlestown " Refu- 
gees," of whom there were many, " Donation People." 

They retvirned to Gharlestown to find their house 
destroyed by the British troops, and at their time of life 
(seventy-six years) it was too late, and they were too much 
impoverished, to rebuild. 

It is probable that their sons John and Samuel made 
a home for their old father and mother, for John rebuilt 
his house on Maudlin Street as soon as possible after he 
returned to Gharlestown. For a number of years after 
the burning of Gharlestown the town records were but par- 
tially kept; undoubtedly it was during this time that 
Jonathan " ye 3rd " and his wife Sarah died, and they 
were probably buried in the old Gharlestown burying 



ground, with those of their children who went before 

1. James Cary of Charlestown, Mass., a younger 
brother of Jonathan Cary " ye 3rd," was bom in England 
about A. D. 1702. 

James Cary was baptized as an adult with his brother 
Jonathan " ye 3rd " February 7, 1724-5. He married 
Rebecca French of Concord in 1729 ; published January 7, 
1729. He lived some time in Bedford. Births of family 
in Concord. He died about the year 1740. Administra- 
tion taken November 18, 1747, by Thomas Fox of Con- 
cord. Their children were : 

2. James Cary, bom at Concord, Mass., June 11, 

1732; died young. 
2. Rebecca Cary, bom at Concord, Mass., July 14, 
1735; she married Mr. Fletcher. 

Second Generation. 

2. Samuel Cary of Charlestown, Mass., third child of 
Jonathan Cary " ye 3rd " of same place, was bom there 
July 26, 1730. He died October 23, 1815, aged eighty- 
five years, and was buried in the old Charlestown burying 
ground. He was a mason by trade, a straightforward, 
reliable mechanic, contented with little and generous to a 
degree. He never married. 

" He owned a small piece of ground adjoining the 
Charlestown Navy Yard. When the Navy Yard was 
enlarged the government bought his lot, giving him in ex- 
change a lot on one side of ' Breed's Hill,' near where the 
Bunker Hill Monument now stands, also some cash. His 
grand-nephews, now living (1879), still remember him in 
his Charlestown home, dressed in leather short-clothes, 
shoe-buckles, three-cornered hat and queue." 

2. John Cary of Charlestown, Mass., shipwright, 



sixth child of Jonathan Gary " ye 3rd " of same place, was 
bom there May 29, 1736, and died there May 12, 1790, 
aged fifty-four years. 

He was married in Gharlestown, Mass., September 27, 
1759, by Rev. Hull Abbott, to Hannah Edmands, 
daughter of David and Hannah Edmands, of Gharles- 
town, Mass. She died there May 15, 1821, aged eighty- 
six years. Their children were : 

3. Hannah Gary, bom at Gharlestown, Mass., Octo- 
ber 14, 1760. She was married in Gharlestown 
to Benjamin West, of Roxbury, Mass., and died 
in Gharlestown, Mass., September 23, 1823, aged 
nearly sixty-three years. 

3. John Gary, born at Gharlestown, Mass., March 27, 
1763 ; died at Gharlestown, Mass., July 2, 1763. 

3. Sarah Gary, bom at Gharlestown, Mass., June 9, 
1764. She married Jacob Famsworth, and died 
November 8, 1794, aged thirty years. 

3. Mary Gary, born at Gharlestown, Mass., October 
17, 1766. She mamed Elias Farnsworth, 
June 14, 1795. 

3. Jonathan Gary, born at Gharlestown, Mass., 
November 3, 1768. He died at Lexington, 
Mass., April 17, 1855, aged eighty-six years. 

3. Elizabeth Gary, born at Gharlestown, Mass., 
October 9, 1771. She died May 26, 1853, aged 
eighty-one years, unmarried. 

3. Rebecca Gary, bom at Gharlestown, Mass., 
November 14, 1773. She married Samuel Bur- 
ditt, and died January 13, 1836, aged sixty-two 

3. Nancy Gary, bom at Reading, Mass., February 
8, 1776. She died at Boston, Mass., unmarried, 
October 30, 1811, aged thirty-five years. 




3. John Gary, bom at Gharlestown, Mass., Novem- 
ber 6, 1778. He died May 8, 1828, aged forty- 
nine years. 

" John Gary was a ship carpenter and mast and spar 
maker, and while a yovmg man worked with his father. 
When the British burned Gharlestown in 1775, he re- 
moved his wife and children from their home on Maudlin 
Street, near the river, to a building called the Malt 
House, not far from the place now occupied by the State 
Prison. They afterwards removed to Reading, Mass., oc- 
cupying part of a house with a Mr. Bowman. Here his 
eighth child, Nancy, was bom. While the family were at 
Reading, John was employed by the United States Gov- 
ernment to build boats at Cambridge. When they 
returned to Gharlestown they occupied for nearly one 
year a part of the fort which the British had evacuated. 

' ' In the meantime John rebuilt his house on Maud- 
lin Street near the distillery, with timber brought from 
Lexington by a Mr. Harrington. John died May 12, 
1790, aged fifty-four years, and was buried in the Gharles- 
town burying ground. Hannah, his wife, lived in the 
Maudlin Street house until her death, May 13, 1821, 
aged eighty-six years. She brought up her large family 
during those years of trouble and suffering, of which we 
have but little conception. Blessed with a robust con- 
stitution and a genial nature, she was loved and respected 
by all who knew her. She was buried in the old Gharles- 
town burying ground. Their family Bible, printed by 
Thomas Basket, Oxford, England, in 1759, is in good pres- 
ervation, and in care of their descendants." 

Third Generation. 

3. Jonathan Gary of Gharlestown, Boston and Lex- 
ington, Mass., fifth child of John Gary of Gharlestown, 



was bom at Charlestown November 3, 1 768. He removed 
to Lexington, Mass., and died there April 17, 1855, aged 
eighty-six years, five months and four days. 

Jonathan Gary, while a young man, was apprenticed 
to Samuel Han-is of Boston, master spar maker, until of 
age, living in the Harris family. He was afterwards ad- 
mitted as a partner, and married his employer's daughter 
for his second wife. It was probably about this time that 
he bought a lot in Henchman's Lane, in the North End of 
Boston, on which he built a house, working on the build- 
ing himself, using for the heavier timbers many spars and 
pieces of ship timber, which could readily be detected as 
unusual lumber for a dwelling-house. 

He afterward entered into partnership with Samuel 
Brown, a sober, industrious, hard-working man. They 
hired for their mast-yard what was then known as 
Wheeler's Wharf, near the North Square, Boston. 

During the War of 1812 we find Jonathan Gary and 
his partner, Samuel Brown, enrolled in Boston to protect 
that city against English invasion. The old flintlock 
musket, made in 1808, which he then carried, could speak 
for itself to-day, if necessity required it. 

He was married first at Gharlestown, Mass., Novem- 
ber 25, 1791, to Jemima Green, of Groton, Mass., by Rev. 
Thomas Baldwin. Their children were : 

4. John Gary, born at Boston, Mass., January 14, 

1793. He died May 11, 1811, aged nineteen 

4. Maria Gary, bom at Boston, Mass., July 13, 1794. 

She died March 4, 1808, aged nearly fourteen 

4. Sally Gary, born at Boston, Mass., A. D. 1795; 

died 1797. 



His first wife died in Boston, Mass., February 27, 
1797, aged thirty-three years. 

He was married secondly at Boston, Mass., December 
31, 1797, to Mary Harris, daughter of Samuel and Lydia 
(Thornton) Harris, of Boston, Mass. Six children were 
born of this marriage, all of whom were named after mem- 
bers of the Harris family ; and much of their future suc- 
cess was due to the careful training and good advice 
received from their mother. 

4. William Harris Gary, born at Boston, Mass., 
December 23, 1798. He died February 27, 
1861, aged nearly sixty-three years. 

4. Samuel Harris Gary, bom at Boston, Mass., July 
22, 1800. He died December 3, 1814, aged four- 
teen years. 

4. Nathaniel Harris Gary, born at Boston, Mass., 
February 22, 1802. He died September 20, 
1883, aged eighty-one years. 

4. Isaac Harris Gary, born at Boston, Mass., No- 
vember 3, 1803. Died at Jamaica Plain, May 
22, 1881, aged seventy-seven years. 

4. George Singleton Gary, born at Boston, Mass., 
September 15, 1807. He died June 14, 1875, 
aged nearly sixty-eight years. 

4. Mary Maria Gary, bom at Boston, Mass., March 
4, 1810. She married John Hastings of Lexing- 
ton, Mass., August 28, 1862. Died August 22, 
1887, aged seventy-seven years. 

His second wife died at Boston, Mass., January 17, 
1821, aged fifty-one years, eleven months and seventeen 

He was married thirdly at Boston, Mass., December 
9, 1821, to Abigail, daughter of Isaac and Mary Hastings 



of Lexington, Mass. She died at Lexington, Mass., July 
25, 1877, aged eighty-nine years. Jonathan Cary, also 
his second and third wives, are buried in the Cary lot at 
Mount Auburn, Cambridge, Mass. 

He continued to live in his house on Henchman's 
Lane until, having gained by hard labor at the same trade 
of his father and his grandfather before him, what was 
then considered a respectable competency, he purchased 
in 1827 a small farm in the western part of the town of 
Lexington, adjoining the Hastings homestead, where he 
continued to reside until his death, April 17, 1855. As 
the sun set behind the hills, so he passed quietly away at 
the advanced age of eighty-six years, five months and 
fourteen days. 

3. John Cary, Jr., of Charlestown and Boston, 
Mass., ninth child of John Cary of the first-named place, 
was born in Charlestown, Mass., November 6, 1778. He 
resided in Boston. He married Mary Glover of Boston, 
November 24, 1812. vShe died April 30, 1818, leaving 
three daughters. 

4. Mary E. Cary, born in Boston, Mass., November 

29, 1813, after the death of her parents lived 
in the family of her cousin, William H. Cary, 
in Brooklyn, N. Y. She was married to Charles 
B. Tatham of Brooklyn, April 20, 1854. This 
maiTiage proved most unhappy, and a divorce 
was obtained by Mrs. Tatham in 1874, who took 
her maiden name. She died at Yosemite Valley, 
Gal., July 8, 1877, while traveling for health and 
pleasure. By her will she left to Brooklyn 
and other charities a goodly part of her ample 
4. Charlotte West Cary, born Febmary 29, 1815. 
She maiTied Andrew C. Spring of Somerville, 



Mass. (merchant of Boston) , January 19, 1841. 
She died July 18, 1849. Mr. Spring married 
for his second wife 
4. Eliza Haywood Gary, bom August 22, 1817, the 
younger sister of his first wife, September 29, 

Fourth Generation. 

4. William Harris Gary, first child of Jonathan and 
Mary Harris Gary, was bom in Henchman's Lane, North 
End of Boston, December 23, 1798. As a boy he worked 
with his father in his mast and spar yard until he was 
twenty-one years of age. Swinging the broad-axe in the 
uncovered mast yard on Wheeler's Dock gave him a 
muscular frame to withstand the long and busy life which 
was before him. During those years it was his good for- 
tune, by his indomitable courage, to save two lives from 
drowning, at the imminent risk of his own. 

As early as 1824, he and his brother Isaac were 
merchants on Washington Street, Boston. In a short 
time, by steady application, their business was so in- 
creased that they were enabled to build for themselves a 
granite-front store on Washington Street. 

During the year 1827 they opened a branch store in 
New York Gity, on the corner of Wall and Pearl Streets, 
William attending to the New York branch, and Isaac to 
the Boston business. 

In a few years Isaac withdrew his New York interest, 
and William continued alone. As the business increased, 
it was his policy to take in as partners those young men in 
his employ who showed good business qualities, giving 
them an interest rather than outside parties with capital. 
At the time of his death the seven partners associated 
with him had each been clerks in his employ. 



In 1847 he built for William H. Gary & Go. the five- 
story brown-stone building Nos. 243 and 245 Pearl Street, 
running through to Gliff Street, being 44x200 feet. In 
1857 he built for the use of Gary, Howard, Sanger & Go. 
the " Gary Building," Nos. 105 and 107 Ghambers Street, 
running through to Reade Street. This building was one 
of the first iron-front buildings in New York Gity, and is 
to-day (1906) one of the handsomest buildings in New 

At the time of his death the firm was the largest 
importers of fancy goods in this country. When he first 
came to New York Gity he resided on William Street, but 
shortly afterwards removed to Brooklyn, N. Y., where he 
lived for the last thirty years of his life, growing up with 
that city. 

As a citizen William Harris Gary was largely inter- 
ested in everything that tended to the welfare and pros- 
perity of his adopted city. In the introduction of gas and 
water he was especially active, and also in the establish- 
ment of the Brooklyn Gity Railroad. 

At the time of his death he was an active director in 
the Nassau Bank; Nassau, Montauk and Firemen's Trust 
Fire Insurance Gompanies ; the Home Life Insurance 
Gompany and the Brooklyn Gity Railroad. 

Mr. Gary from a poor boy rose to a high position, 
commanding the love and esteem of all who knew him. 
He was one of the founders of the Ghurch of the Saviour 
(Unitarian). As a Christian he was sincere and fervent. 
He married Maria, daughter of Isaac and Mary Hastings 
of Lexington, Mass., May 4, 1828. This man-iage was not 
blessed by the birth of children; but the gap was in a 
measure filled by the adoption of a daughter, Alice Butler, 
who proved to be all that their fondest wishes covild have 




The old Hastings Homestead at Lexington, Mass., 
having passed out of the family, Mr. Gary purchased it 
and fitted it up as a summer residence, where he and his 
family passed the warm season of the year. During his 
life he had caused the farm to be greatly improved, and 
had expressed an intention of making a tender of this 
place to the State, providing it would establish an agri- 
cultural school on the premises. But dying suddenly, he 
left no will. His widow and his heirs, however, knowing 
his wishes, generously made the offer (which was not ac- 
cepted), and have also made several other liberal grants 
in conformity with the intentions of Mr. Gary, as ex- 
pressed in his lifetime. 

Memorial Hall and the Gary Library at Lexington 
owe their existence, principally, to the generosity of the 
widow of Mr. William Harris Gary, and his daughter, Alice 
B. Gary. 

At a meeting of the wholesale fancy goods dealers of the 
city of New York, held at the store of Messrs. Burnham, 
Plumb & Go. , Mr. G. W. Burnham was called to tlie chair, 
and Robert S. Lyon appointed secretary. On motion of 
Mr. B. F. Britton, the chair appointed a committee to 
draft a preamble and resolutions, expressive of the sense 
of the meeting convened on account of the death of 
William H. Gary, Esq. 

The committee presented the following preamble and 
resolutions, which were unanimously adopted : 

Whereas, We have heard with feelings of profound 
regret, of the death of William H. Gary, Esq., of this city, 
one of the principal founders of our trade, in whom we 
have recognized an eminent and successful merchant, a 
just and worthy member of society ; and, believing the 
occasion demands an expression of our sympathy for the 
loss of one to whom we have been so closely allied, 




Resolved, That in the death of William H. Gary, Esq., 
the city of New York has lost one of its most enterprising 
merchants, and the community one of its most estimable 

His name unblemished, his disposition kind and 
humane, his course and conduct elevating the standard of 
mercantile character, his word ever becoming his bond, 
his industry being almost without a parallel, he leaves 
behind him a worthy example of the life of a good man. 

Resolved, That, as a mark of respect for his memory, 
we will close our respective places of business on the after- 
noon of the day of his funeral, and attend in a body. 

Resolved, That the secretary be authorized to en- 
grave these resolutions and present the same to the family 
of the deceased, tendering our respectful sympathy and 
condolence with them, upon their irreparable loss. 

Resolved, That the proceedings of this meeting 
be signed by the chairman and secretary, and published. 

Robert S. Lyon, Secretary. 
S. W. BuRNHAM, Chairman. 

4. Samuel Harris Gary, fifth child of Jonathan Gary 
of Gharlestown, Boston and Lexington, Mass., was born in 
Boston, Mass., July 22, 1800. Samuel Gary, while a boy, 
was employed in the law office of a Mr. Monroe, at the 
head of State Street, Boston. 

During the fall of 1814, at the time when the town 
was in a state of great commotion, British war vessels 
being outside the harbor, while Governor Strong was doing 
all in his power to protect the city, by building and 
strengthening the fortifications in the harbor, moving ar- 
tillery from place to place, drums beating, troops march- 
ing, etc., while Samuel Gary was riding a spirited horse, the 



animal became unmanageable and threw his rider, drag- 
ging him for some distance. He was taken up and laid on 
the steps of the church on the north end of Hanover 
Street, and found to be terribly injured about the head. 
He died December 3, 1814, aged fourteen years, four 
months and eleven days. 

4. Nathaniel Harris Gary, of Boston, Lexington and 
Brooklyn, N. Y., sixth child of Jonathan Gary of Charles- 
town and Lexington, Mass., was born at Boston, Mass., 
February 22, 1802. He was married first in Boston in 
1826 to Sarah B. Floyd. She died in Brooklyn, N. Y., 
October 3, 1835, aged thirty years, six months. One child : 

5. Maria Gary, born July 13, 1827. She was mar- 

ried to David S. T. Hardy of Franklin, Mass., 
and died December 15, 1871, leaving three 

Nathaniel Harris Gary was married secondly No- 
vember 18, 1836, to Ann Eliza Wilson of Portsmouth, 
N. H. She died in Brooklyn, August, 1840. No issue. 

Nathaniel Hanis Gary was married thirdly to Mercy 
L. Bolton of Dover, Me., July 2, 1844, by whom he had 
two sons. 

5. Isaac Harris Gary, born May 27, 1845. 

5. Jonathan George Gary, born December 3, 1846 ; 
died while a student at Harvard Law School, 
October 4, 1869, aged twenty-two years, ten 
months, one day. 

4. Isaac Harris Gary of Boston, Mass., seventh child 
of Jonathan Gary of Charlestown and Lexington, Mass., 
was born in Boston, Mass., November 3, 1803. He was 
married February 22, 1831, to Phebe P. Pratt, daughter 
of William and Mary Pratt of Roxbury, Mass. Three 



5. Susanna Elizabeth Gary, bom in Boston, Mass., 

July 26, 1832. 
5. Eliza Pratt Gary, bom in Boston, Mass., August 

15, 1834. She was married September 22, 1862, 

to Dr. Horace P. Farnham of New York. 
5. William George Gary, born in Boston, Mass., 

August 3, 1836. He died there August 22, 1837. 

4. George Singleton Gary of Boston, Mass., eighth 
child of Jonathan Gary of Gharlestown and Lexington, 
Mass., was born in Boston, Mass., September 15, 1807. 
When a young man he was, for a time, in the employ of 
Hastings, Spring & Go., of Boston. In 1829 he came 
to New York, connecting himself with his brother William 
in the importing of fancy goods. He remained in that 
firm until the death of William Harris Gary in 1861, 
always occupying the position where honesty and integ- 
rity were required. 

For many years he attended to the Gustom House 
Department of their business, paying to the United 
States Government many millions of dollars for duties on 

Almost immediately after coming to New York, he 
settled in Brooklyn, where he continued to reside, except 
for the summer months, which latterly were spent at his 
country place at Babylon, N. Y. 

He, as well as his brother William, was connected 
with the Ghurch of the Saviour (Unitarian) from its 

He was married October 29, 1840, to Mary Welling- 
ton, daughter of Deacon David and Rebecca Wellington 
of Lexington, Mass. Two children were born. 

5. William Harris Gary, bom in Brooklyn, Sep- 

tember 5, 1841 ; died there March 9, 1859. 
5. Mary Adella Gary, born in Brooklyn, March 22 


Brooklyn, New York 


1846. She was married October 14, 1869, to 
Nelson G. Carman of Brooklyn, N. Y. 

Fifth Generation. 

5. Isaac Harris Cary, second child of Nathaniel 
Harris Cary, of Boston, Mass., and Brooklyn, N. Y., 
was bom at Whetmore Island, Penobscot River, opposite 
Bucksport, Me., May 27, 1845, his parents returning to 
Lexington, Mass., when he was a boy of seven years. In 
this beautiful old New England town were spent all his 
boyhood schooldays, first in the old West District School, 
near the Cary Farm, and afterwards in the Grammar 
School in the centre of the town. At the age of fourteen 
years he went to Brooklyn, N. Y., to live with relatives, 
and for the particular advantage of attending the Brook- 
lyn Collegiate and Polytechnic Institute. There he 
remained three years, or until July 1, 1862, when he 
returned for his summer vacation to Weston, Mass., where 
his parents were then living. The country was then in 
the midst of the great Rebellion of 1861-5. Young Mr. 
Cary, then seventeen years old, having had some military 
training at the Polytechnic, enhsted in the 44th Regi- 
ment, M. V. M., serving with the regiment in North Caro- 
lina until it was mustered out of service in June, 1863. 
After the war Mr. Cary returned to Brooklyn, served one 
term in the Brooklyn Board of Aldermen, also in Board of 
Civil Service Commissioners, and has for many years been 
in the Board of the South Brooklyn Savings Bank. 

He married there Cornelia Hull, daughter of Oliver 
and Rebecca Hull, of Brooklyn, N. Y., June 20, 1871. 
They had one son. 

6. Wilham Harris Cary, bom in Brooklyn, N. Y., 

March 3, 1872. This family (1906) resides in 
Brooklyn, N. Y. 



Sixth Generation. 

William Harris Gary, only son of Isaac Harris Gary, 
of Brooklyn, N. Y., was bom in Brooklyn March 3, 1872. 
He married there Katharine Babcock Thomas, November 
24, 1897. Two sons. 

7. William Harris Gary, Jr., born in Brooklyn No- 
vember 9, 1898. 
7. Edward Thomas Gary, born in Brooklyn Novem- 
ber 30, 1901. 
This family (1906) resides in Brooklyn, N. Y. 



3 9999 06 

75 146 5