(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "A centenary of Catholicity in Kansas, 1822-1922 ; the history of our cradle land (Miami and Linn Counties) ; Catholic Indian missions and missionaries of Kansas ; The pioneers on the prairies : notes on St. Mary's Mission, Sugar Creek, Linn County; Holy Trinity Church, Paola, Miami County; Holy Rosary Church, Wea; Immaculate Conception, B.V.M., Louisburg; St. Philip's Church, Osawatomie; Church of the Assumption, Edgerton, Johnson County; to which is added a short sketch of the Ursuline Academy at Paola; the diary of Father Hoecken, and old Indian records"

; He HISTORY 

of our 

CRHDLG LHND 

THKinsellaLLDF 



Gc 

978.1 

K62c 

1247304 



m.l; 



GENEIALOGY COLL.L:,CTIObi. 



"" ALLEN COUNTY PUBLIC LIB^ifPi^, 



3 1833 01716 8987 




THE MOST REVEREND LOUIS WILLIAM VALENTINE DUBOURG 

First Bishop of the Diocese of St. Louis, Missouri. 

Most Rev. Louis William Valentine Dubourg, Archbishop of the Cardinalatial See of Besancon; 
consecrated in Rome, Sept. 24, 1815; Bishop of Louisiana, Upper and Lower, took his first residential 
seat in St. Louis, Jan. 6, 1818. On July 18, 1826, the Diocese of Louisiana was divided and the Sees of 
St. Louis and New Orleans erected. Bishop Dubourg, having resigned the See of Louisiana, was 
transferred to the Diocese of Montauban in France, Aug. 13, 1826, and made Archbishop of the 
Cardinalatial See of Besancon, Feb. 13, 1833, where he died Dec. 12 of the same year. 



A CENTENARY OF CATHOLICITY 

IN KANSAS 

1822 - 1922 

THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

(Miami and Linn Counties) 

CATHOLIC INDIAN MISSIONS AND 
MISSIONARIES OF KANSAS 

THE PIONEERS ON THE PRAIRIES 

Notes on St. Mary's Mission, Sugar Creek, Linn County; 
Holy Trinity Church, Paola, Miami County; Holy Rosary 
Church, Wea; Immaculate Conception, B. V. M., Louisburg; 
St. Philip's Church, Osawatomie;Churchof the Assumption, 
Edgerton, Johnson County; to which is added a short sketch 
of the Ursuline Academy at Paola; the diary of Father 
Hoecken, and old Indian records. 




Written and compiled h:g 
REVEREND THOMAS H. KINSELLA. LL. 



THE CASEY PRINTING CO. 

KANSAS CITY 

1921 



-1 



t- 



12473C4 



To 
THE. RIGHT REVEREND JOHN WARD, D. D. 

hid ^he ^race of God. and the favor of the Apostolic See, 
BISHOP OF LEAVENWORTH— 

A WORTHY SUCCESSOR TO THE SAINTS AND HEROES 
OF A GLORIOUS PAST-THOUGH RECENT AS TO TIME. 
YET MOST ANCIENT AS TO THE SPIRIT THAT ANI- 
MATED THEIR DEEDS AND THE CIRCUMSTANCES THAT 
RENDERED THEM TRUE APOSTLES OF JESUS CHRIST. 
THIS WORK IS AFFECTIONATELY AND RESPECTFULLY 
DEDICATED. 



VI 



ST. LOUIS UNIVERSITY, 

September 27, 1919. 
Reverend and Dear Father : 

I have been unable to answer your letter until now ; kindly pardon 
the delay. 

As I wrote to Father Cogley, your history of pioneer Catholicity 
in Miami and Linn Counties, is extremely interesting and will be a val- 
uable contribution to the story of the upbuilding of the Church in Kan- 
sas. I am sure that everybody will be pleased when they see this chap- 
ter of Western ecclesiastical history in print. 

Your record of the labors of the first Jesuit missionaries in Kansas 
is accurate and in keeping with the facts. 
* * * * * # * »^# 

I regret to inform you that to my knowledge no portrait or photo- 
graph of Father C. Hoecken is extant. The picture at Marquette Uni- 
versity of which Father Harvey speaks in his letter is, no doubt, a pic- 
ture of Father Adrian Hoecken, brother of Father Christian H. 

In conclusion, dear Father, let me congratulate you on the zeal you 
manifest in gathering up and preserving for the edification of posterity 
the rather meager data that survive concerning the pioneers of the 
Faith in Kansas. It is a noble work in which you are engaged — and I 
pray that heaven may prosper your labors more and more. 

With every good wish. 

Very sincerely yours in Deo, 

G. J. GARRAGHAN, S.J. 



VII 



PREFACE 



One hundred years — a full century has elapsed since the saintly Du- 
bourg laid the humble foundations of his mission work at Florissant, 
Missouri. The mustard seed then planted has sent forth its branches far 
and wide. The southwest, the middle west, and the northwest have 
been evangelized. A transformation has taken place the like of which 
the annals of our race furnish no parallel. 

In the comparatively short span of years from 1818, great 
commonwealths have been formed, opulent cities have arisen and the 
vast plains have become the granary of the world. All the great natural 
resources have been developed and every art and craft has been culti- 
vated. The wilderness of one hundred years ago has become the home 
of men and women from every civilized nation on earth ; their children 
have become true Americans — lovers of law and order, zealous for edu- 
cation and religion ; sober, industrious, frugal, and withal, bold and frank 
and fearless. The type is well defined — a thing apart, the "Westerner." 

The advance guard of all this, at least in a Catholic sense, passed 
through what is now Miami and Linn Cou7ities in the person of Father 
De la Croix on his way to the Osages in 1822. Father Van Quicken- 
borne, S.J.. repeatedly visited the same tribe a few years later. Doubt- 
less he followed the trail marked out by his predecessor, as this section 
lay in the direct route from Florissant to the Great Osages. He also 
visited the Miami tribe in 1835. After this the Kickapoo Mission at- 
tracts our notice. This mission was established in 1836-7 — on the banks 
of the Missouri River, north of Fort Leavenworth. It was the first or- 
ganized, permanent mission of the Jesuit Fathers, and no effort was 
spared to make it a success, but Divine Providence was guiding the des- 
tinies of the future Church into other channels. The tree that had been 
planted at Kickapoo and tended with so much zeal and self-sacrifice for 
years, produced no fruit. The mission was abandoned in 1840 and 
another tribe — the Pottawatomies — received the blessings rejected by 
the unfortunate Kickapoos. 

It is here our history begins. Father Christian Hoecken, S.J., 
emerges from the gloom of failure at Kickapoo to become the morning 
star of a new day about to break over the gliding waters of Pottawat- 
omie Creek near where they join the Marais des Cygnes River at Osa- 
watomie, Miami County. 

This was in January, 1838, and the long course of events that led 
up to this, as well as the subseqnent happenings of four score years, 
make up the burden of the following pages. This history is only an at- 
tempt to snatch from oblivion something of the rich heritage left us by 
men inspired by God to do and dare marvelous things for His greater 
honor and glory. 

Finally, after Kansas had become a regularly organized Territory 
in 1854, Father Ponziglione remained for a fe%v years as the last repre- 



VIII PREFACE 

sentative of the earl}' Jesuit Missionaries. He was undoubtedly the 
greatest of them all a\id may be likened to a graceful pier supporting 
the last bridge that led from savagery to civilization. After him came 
the first secular priest in the person of Rev. Ivo Schacht, who at the end 
of 1858 arrived from Leavenworth to minister to the scattered settlers 
of the plains. He is regarded as the founder of Holy Trinity parish at 
Paola. 

The writer and compiler of this history knew Father Ponziglione 
well, and, what is more remarkable perhaps, he, as a youth, knew Father 
Schacht after the latter had left Kansas and returned to his former home 
in the South. All succeeding pastors were or are contemporaries of the 
writer, who now feels it an honor as well as a labor of love to chronicle 
even a small part, of their heroic deeds performed when heroism had 
little value, since every man entering the field in those early days was 
a hero, and every woman that braved the ennui and loneliness of the 
prairies and dared the cyclones no less than the winter's blasts and the 
summer's terrific heat was a veritable heroine, notwithstanding the 
compensations that quickly followed. 

Probably this attitude of mind accounts for the paucity of docu- 
ments or other details that would convey to the present generation a 
clear idea of the unusual circumstances then encountered — it was simply 
a commonplace fact and, therefore, needing no elaborate chronicling. 
All being equal, the law of contrast failed to work and hero-worship was 
almost entirely unknown. Not even is the life of Bishop John B. Miege 
written, although it is now certain that he was one of the greatest mis- 
sionary bishops of the Nineteenth Century. Nor has the life of Bishop 
L. M. Fink so far been given to the world, yet we are aware that he 
was a truly noble character, a great scholar, a wise ruler, and a bene- 
factor of the State of Kansas. Some day, with God's help, those dry 
bones will stir again and new men will marvel at the miracles of energy 
and the deeds of self-sacrifice wrought on the prairies of Kansas by the 
Jesuit, Benedictine, and Carmelite Fathers and afterwards by the humble 
secular priests who so worthily followed them. * The Catholic families 
that settled on the land proved themselves worthy of such men. 

Nor do we doubt but that generations yet unborn will boast of 
being the descendants of those first families, not questioning the source 
of their pride, for, in truth, there is nothing to be especially proud of 
unless it be their perseverance, their indomitable courage in a well-nigh 
hopeless cause; the elements and the fates were against them but they 
"stuck it out" and won. that is all. Through unusual difficulties, they 

*That this state of affairs is not alone peculiar to Kansas is evident from the fol- 
lowing extract culled from a letter written by the Mother General of the Sisters of 
Charity of Nazareth, Kentucky: 

"Reverend dear Father: I thank you very much indeed for the kind interest you 
are taking in trying to get some information for the Life of Bishop David. 

"Sister Aurelia (Leavenworth) wrote me at once, but she had no data to give us. 
I suppose people, in the early davs were more intent on doing good and spreading the 
Kingdom of God, than in keepingi a record of what was done. It is certainly difficult 
to get any historical facts about many men and women who made Catholic history 
in Kentucky, at least." 



PREFACE IX 

attained victory and of that struggle was born the beautiful motto: 
"Ad astra per aspera."' 

Finally, it can be said that the compilation of this history, with all 
its imperfections, was a tedious and laborious undertaking, but, being 
a labor of love, it was jo^'fuUy accomplished in the hope that future 
generations may appreciate what their ancestors did and suffered in 
order that their descendants might enjoy the blessings of Faith and 
freedom; that their children and their children's children might possess 
the heritage of good things which the pioneers themselves planted but 
never garnered, and in a special manner, that they may preserve the 
noble ideals of those first founders who so marvelously tinged the fate 
and fortune of the new territory, of the state and, finally, of the nation 
at large. 

Catholics have added materially to the wealth of human interest 
that is found in the history of Miami and Linn Counties as the following 
pages will amply disclose. It is now their privilege to read and know 
that story and hand it on to posterity with profound respect, veneration 
and pride. 

Thanks are due to the Most Reverend Archbishop for a very special 
favor — our frontispiece. Reverend Father Garraghan, S.J., of the St. 
Louis University has spent much time and labor no less than patience on 
the manuscript copy sent him. His letter on the front page is valued 
very highly and his personal kindness greatly appreciated. 

Acknowledgment is here made to Reverend John Rothenstiner of 
St. Louis, whose researches have brought to light the important matter 
found on the opening pages of this history. Through the kindness of 
the Fathers of St. Mary's College, Father Hoecken's Diary was obtained. 
Without this important document our history would be nothing more 
than a fragment. 

From the files of the "Western Spirit" has come some of the most 
valuable matter found in these pages — all to the credit of our distinguish- 
ed townsman, Bernard J. Sheridan. 

Countless others have aided in furnishing data and, especially, the 
numerous engravings which render this history doubly interesting. Some 
valuable quotations have been made from the "Miami County Repub- 
lican," and the venerable librarian, J. B. Hobson, lent his aid and en- 
couragement also. 

To the industry of Thomas E. Schwartz and W. L. Rigney are 
chiefly due the fine account of the Wea Church and its faithful people, 
as, also, of the little church of Louisburg. Edgerton is not forgotten, 
thanks to the kind pastor, Reverend David C. Hall, and the McCarthy 
family. Miss Anna Franklin of Osawatomie gave invaluable assistance 
in recalling the long series of events which go to make up the history of 
St. Philip's Church in that famous old town. 

And last but not least ; to the Sisters of Ursuline Academy is due 
unbounded gratitude for their interest in this work and their patient 
labor in putting the manuscript into typewriting. 



XI 



CONTENTS, 



Part I. 
INDIAN DAYS. 

Policy of the Government in Respect to the Indians — Transfer of 
the Various tribes to the Kansas Indian Country — Number and Condi- 
tion of the Indians — Condition of Religion Amongst the Indians. 

Results of Bishop Dubourg's Efforts— John M. Oden's Letter to 
the Seminary of Lyons— Father Oden's Testimony Regarding Early Ef- 
forts to Convert the Indians — Indian's Respect for the Black-Robes — 
Bishop Dubourg's Providential Success — On the Missions at Last — 
The Great Osages— Father De la Croix, 1822— Further Information- 
Father Van Quickenborne to the Miarais, 1835; to Kickapoos, 1836— 
Kickapoos Abandoned, 1840. 

The Cradle of Catholicity — Pottawatomie Creek, Miami County, 
1838— Father Hoecken's Diary— Sugar Creek, 1839— Venerable Philip- 
pine Duchesne — The Ladies of the Sacred Heart at Sugar Creek Mis- 
sion, 1841 — Indian Schools — Organizing Indian Missions — The Welcome 
— Their Life and Work — Impressions of the Missions. 

Peoria Village— The Peorias— Father Aelen, S.J., 1839— Fathers 
Truyens and Van Merlo — The Miamis, 1836 — Baptiste Peoria and Wife — 
"Mother Batees" — List of Catholic Indians — The Kansas Prairie — The 
Pottawatomies — St. Mary's Mission — Sugar Creek — Removal to the Kaw 
River Reservation at St. Mary's 1848— Sug'ar Creek Mission Buildings 
Given to the Flames — Abomination of Desolation Remains — A Remnant 
of the tribe still remains in Kansas 1-31 



Part II. 
OSAGE MISSION. 



Osages Ask for Black-Robes and a School — Father John Schoenmak- 
ers, S.J., Stations, Visits Miami County— His Life Story— Father Paul 
Mary Ponziglione, S.J. — Mission Stations — a Vast P^'ield — ^Visits to the 
Peoria Tribe, 1851 — Gives Name to Peoria Village "LaCitta di Paola" — 
His Life on the Plains ; in the Mountains — Missionary to the Arapahoes, 
Wyoming — In Chicago. Chaplain of the Bridewell, Golden Jubilee — Died 
at 82— One of the Great Men of This Age.— Bishop Miege 33-46 



Part III. 

FOUNDATIONS LAID— DAWN OF A NEW DAY. 

Indians Removed to New Territory in Oklahoma — Right Rev. John 
Baptist Miege, S.J., 1851 — A New Order Ensues — The Kansas-Nebraska 



XII CONTENTS 

Bill — Catholic Settlers— Father De la Croix, First Secular Priest — Father 
Heimann — First Subject of Bishop Miege— Benedictines — Carmelites- 
Sisters of Charity — Father Schacht — Father Fish — Rev, Sebastian Favre 
— Rev. Anthony Kuhls — Rev. John F. Cunningham — Rev. Francis J. 
Wattron — Primitive Faith — Primitive Life — A Warm Welcome — The 
Cabin Homes of Kansas 47-54 



Part IV. 

MIAMI COUNTY'S FIRST SETTLERS, 1854. 

Paola Notes — Paola Incorporated, December 13, 1860 — Miami 
County's First Catholic Settlers, 1854— "The Irish Settlement" — Begin- 
ning a Parish, 1858 — Bull Creek District — Names of Settlers — Individual 
Family Records — In Memoriam — Obituary Notes on Some of the First 
Settlers 55-84 



Part V. 

HOLY TRINITY CmJRCH, PAOLA. 

Pontifical Notes — Episcopal Notes — Sacerdotal Notes — Churches and 
Pastors of Paola — Reverend Ivo S'chacht — Old Stone Church — Returns 
to the South — His Death — Reverend Sebastian Favre — Reverend Francis 
J. Wattron — Deed of Church Property — Reverend Anthony Joseph Abel 
— Reverend Daniel J. Hurley — The New Brick Church — Reverend Aloy- 
sius Carius — Reverend Michael J. Gleason — Completion of Church — ^Rev- 
erend James J. O'Connor — His Death and Burial — Reverend James Col- 
ton Dies at Paola — Reverend Nicholas Neusius — Episcopal Problems — 
Expansion — Reverend Thomas Quick — Friend of the Poor — Reverend 
Thomas E. Madden — Interregnum, Rev. Moses McGuire, Fulton — Rever- 
end Maurice Burk — Reverend AnthouA^ Dornseifer — ^Reverend Francis 
Taton — St. Patrick's School — List of Teachers — List of Graduates of 
St. Patrick's School— Father Taton 's Work at Paola, at Axtell— Chap- 
lain, National Military Home, Kansas 85-127 



Part VI. 

THE NEW CHURCH OF HOLY TRINITY. 

Reverend Maurice Burk — Destruction of Church by Fire — Master- 
ful Men to the Rescue — Building Committee's Minutes — Corner Stone 
Laid — Dedication Ceremonies — Donations, Gifts, Contributions — Father 
Burk Goes to Europe on Vacation — Seven Years' Task Completed — 
Transferred to Leavenworth — To Kansas City, Kansas — Dean of Dis- 
trict — Vicar General of Diocese- — Reverend Thomas H. Kinsella, LL.D. — 
History of "Our Cradle Land" — Chaplain of the Ursuline Academy — 
The Very Reverend Adolph J. Domann, V. F. — Holy Trinity Church Fres- 
coed — List of Families, 1918 — Altar Society — Young Ladies' Sodality — 



CONTENTS XIII 

League of the Sacred Heart — Sewing Society — Free Library — Kjiights of 
Columbus 129-160 



Part VII. 
WEA, MIAMI COUNTY. 



The first settler arrived in 1857. Others came in 1859 and follow- 
ing years — Anthony Vohs and William Schwartz, the first Catholics in 
the township — Father Favre of Lawrence, Father Wattron of Paola, 
Father Piehier of Eudora visited the settlement from 1862 to 1870 — 
First Church built in 1869 — Father Rudolph Meier P'irst Resident Pas- 
tor in 1871. He joins the Carmelites at Scipio — Father Pichler comes 
again from Eudora — Father Abel attends Wea from 1874 to 1877 — Fa- 
ther Hurley from 1877 to 1881— both from Paola. Rev. John Redeker 
became second Resident Pastor of Holy Rosary Church on October 23, 
1881. His Record— Rev. Augustine J. Wieners Pastor from Sept. 1887 
to Nov. 1897. He built the present Residence in 1892 and a fine brick 
church ux 1895-6 — Parochial School established — Rev. Joseph Hohe Pas- 
tor from Nov. 1897 to April 1912 — Destruction of the Church by light- 
ning April 9th, 1905 — Destruction of the ncAv unfinished building by a 
cyclone on Sept. 14, 1905 — Great courage displayed by the Pastor and 
people — The final victory — Dedication May 29, 1906 — -The Altar conse- 
crated by Bishop Lillis — Fine imported wood-car\^ed statues, Stations 
of the Cross, stained glass windows, pews, altars, confessional and all 
necessary equipment M-ere soon installed — All liabilities liquidated in 
two years — Holy Rosary Church one of the finest country churches of 
the Leavenworth Diocese. On April 4, 1912, Father Hohe was succeed- 
ed by Father Bollweg and he, in turn, b}^ Rev. Henry Freisberg in July, 
1915 — The new school — Personal Notes — Records of Noble and Beauti- 
ful Lives 161-176 



LOUISBURG. 

Location, Advantages, Foundation — -First Catholic Settlers — A Mis- 
sion of Paola; of Wea — Church of the Immaculate Conception Built — 
Difficulties, Decay, Restoration — A Flourishing Communitj^ — Church 
Well Furnished — Financially Sound — List of Pastors — Mrs. Ellen 
McGuirk ; a storv of human interest 177-186 



Part VIII. 
OSAWATOMIE. 



Osawatomie's History' Reviewed from 1855 — St. Philip's Church 
(1891)— A Struggle of Thirty Years— A Difficult Mission— Paola a 
Faithful Sister — State Hospital for the Insane — New Hope, New Life 
Leads to New Rectory — The Redemptorist Fathers' Mission — Resident 
Pastor Appointed, 1918 — Reverend Eugene F. Vallely — ^First Financial 



XIV CONTENTS 

Report of New Parish — Second Financial Report — Building of New 
Church and School. In Memoriam 187-196 



Part IX. 

EDGERTON, JOHNSON COUNTY. 

(Bull Creek District.) 

One of the Oldest Catholic Settlements in Kansas — Names of the 
Pioneers — Life on the Prairies — A Beautiful Country, Rich Soil, Fine 
Climate — First Priest, Father Donnelly of the ' ' Town of Kansas, ' ' Walk- 
ed to Bull Creek, 1857 — Father Bruner George Walked From Lawrence — 
The Log Church Dedicated to Saint Columkil by Father McGee, 
in 1858— Succession of Pastors— Old Stone Church Built in 1866-7 
The Famous Log Cabin of elohn McCarthy— Sick Calls — The Ceme- 
tery—The Town of Edgerton Founded, 1870— The Third or Pres- 
ent Church Built, 1890 — Reverend Doctor Pompeney — Pastoral Resi- 
dence Built, 1910 — Reverend D. J. Fitzpatrick — Religious Vocations — A 
Faithful People — A Bright Future — In Memoriam, Thomas Coughlin, 

197-206 



Part X. 
URSULINE ACADEMY. 



First Foundations in Italy, France, Germany — Louisville, Kentucky 
and Paola, Kansas — Inducements to Locate in Paola — Early Struggles, 
Gradual Growth — Remarkable Success — Paola 's Chief Institution — Sister 
Angela's Jubilee 207-222 

APPENDIX. 

I. Full Text of Father Hoecken's Diary 223-236 

II. List of Indian Families 237-241 

Baptismal and Marriage Records From 1846 to 1859 241-244 

Index 247 



XV 



INTRODUCTION. 

"The names of the first Americans who cast in their lot with the 
country of their adoption made a roll of honor of Catholic heroes. There 
are the great discoverers, Columbus, the Cabots, Americus Vespuccius. 
There are the master explorers like De S'oto. Balboa, Cortez, Champlain, 
Joliet, Cartier, LaSalle. There are the bold colonizers like Iberville, 
Bienville, Cadillac, Duluth, Vincennes, not to mention the English Lord 
Baltimore. There are the missionaries from Las Casas and the priests 
who sailed with Columbus and Cabot, to Father Juniper Serra and his 
brother apostles of California. These missionaries were often scientists 
as well as saints. With the name of LeMoyne stand those of Roche 
d'Allon, Mare and other priests, Franciscans and Jesuits, as the geolo- 
gists and botanists who identified our herbs, and found the salt springs 
of Onondaga, the oil-springs of Pennsylvania, the copper of Lake Su- 
perior, the lead of Illinois, our beds of coal and our mines of turqtioise. 
Among the philologists of the Indian languages, stand out Fathers Rales, 
White, Sagard, Pareya, Brm^a, Garnier, Garcia, Le Boulanger, Cuesta, 
Sit jar, who for almost two centuries before the Revolution were publish- 
ing dictionaries, grammars, catechisms and prayer books, in the tongues 
of the Abnaki, Mohawks, Seneca, Cayuga, Onondaga, Illinois, Wyandot, 
and the tribes of Florida, Maryland, Texas and California. Among the 
apostles and martyrs Avho have left us the earliest history of our land 
in the Jesuit Relations, are numbered Fathers Marquette, Hennepin, 
Isaac Jogues, Raymbault, Menard, Allouez, Breboeuf, Lallemand, Daniel, 
Biard, Rale, Masse, and many more, of whom Bancroft could say: "Thus 
did the religious zeal of the French bear the cross to the banks of the 
St. Mary (Sault Ste. Marie) and the confines of Lake Superior and look 
wistfully toward the homes of the Sioux in the valley of the Mississippi 
before the New England Eliot had addressed a tribe of Indians that 
dwelt within six miles of Boston Harbor." • 

As early as 1541 the soil of Kansas was hallowed by the blood of 
Father Juan de Padilla, who died a victim of his zeal for the conversion 
of the Indians during Coronada's famous expedition. He was America's 
first martyr. 

In fact it is commonplace to state that the early missionaries of the 
Christian faith left enduring monuments in every country of the civil- 
ized world. Their heroism and self-sacrifice have been the theme of 
the chronicler, the historian, and the poet, as well as the source of 
much of the legendary lore of every people. This is no less true of the 
New World than of the Old. America has had its own great mission- 
aries — men of heroic mould, whose labors and sacrifices wrought, as it 
were, a second Pentecost, and won to Christ and to civilization the 
savage races of this Continent. They laid the foundation of all the fu- 
ture glory of this new land by their explorations and discoveries; by 

•From "The Catholic Religion" by Father C. A. Martin. 



XVI INTRODUCTION 

their plans for colonization, for education, and for everything that con- 
tributed to change the country from a wilderness to a land of happy 
homes, of beautiful cities, and cultivated plains. They were, in truth, 
the pioneers of civilization in America. 

With a single mind, with a purpose that could not be diverted, the 
bands of Spanish missionaries gave themselves over to the noble work 
of teaching and Christianizing. Century after century this work went 
on until finally the people of South America and of Mexico took their 
place at the Council Tables of the other great nations of the world. 

While this work was under way in the Southern Hemisphere and 
in Mexico, the French missionaries blazed their way through the snow- 
clad forests of Canada, through those vast regions known today as New 
England, through the country surrounding the Great Lakes, and, finally, 
along the mighty rivers that led to the Gulf of Mexico. 

All this, however, may be regarded as our ancient history. It ex- 
tends over a period of nearly three hundred years from the days of 
Columbus to the realization of American Independence. The modem 
histoiy of the Church in the United States begins about 1776. Much 
of the great expanse of territory now knoMni as the United States was 
then an unexplored wilderness. Here and there along the Atlantic 
seaboard the English colonial settlements had grown in power and 
wealth since 1620. The war for Independence found these colonies iso- 
lated from the entire world. At their back was the trackless, limitless 
forest, peopled witli savage life; in front was the great ocean bristling 
with the war-ships of a vindictive and powerful Mother Country; on 
the South was the Spaniard, on the North the Frenchman — both hostile 
or, at least, indifferent. 

In this dark hour the colonial cause found its only support at the 
hands of Catholic France, Catholic Spain, Catholic Ireland and Catholic 
Poland. This is all a matter of historic record and need not be dwelt 
on here, but the fact will throw much light on the position which the 
Church assumed in the affairs of the New Nation, and the esteem of 
the more enlightened amongst its people. In the formation of the Ex- 
ecutive Division of our Government the Benedictine Rule for the gov- 
erament of monasteries was closely followed ; in the Legal Division, the 
spirit of Magna Charta and the common law of Catholic times in Eng- 
land were retained ; finally, freedom of worship as practiced in Catholic 
Maryland was incorporated into the Constitution of the New Government 
and afterwards was embodied in the Constitution of each state admitted 
to the Union. 

The foundations for peace and prosperity were thus laid and the 
Church began her career in the New Commonwealth under most favor- 
able auspices. 

The Most Reverend John Carroll was appointed first bishop of the 
United States and was consecrated in England on August 15th, 1790. 
Baltimore. Maryland, became the first See. New York became an Epis- 



INTRODUCTION XVII 

copal See in 1808, i^ud Boston and Bardstown at the same time. Upper 
and Lower Louisiana came next on the list. Rt. Reverend Louis Wil- 
liam Dubourg, D.D., was consecrated in Rome on September 24th, 1815, 
and thus became the bishop of Upper and Lower Louisiana. The most 
of the territory now known as Kansas fell within the limits of this 
vast diocese. Providentially, Bishop Dubourg was led to St. Louis in 
1818, and there established his residence. 

Bishop Dubourg came to America in 1817. Bishop Flaget of Bards- 
town, Kentucky, and Francis Niel, a student in theology, made the cele- 
brated journey with him down the Ohio and up the Mississippi, landing 
at St. Louis January 5th. 1818. January 6th he took possession of his 
See, which he held until August 13th, 1826. 

The vastness of the field entrusted to his care Avas thus impressed 
upon his mind. No tongue or pen could have revealed this to him. No 
European mind could have grasped the vastness of the newly acquired 
territory known as Louisiana. It began at the Gulf of Mexico but where 
it ended no one seemed to know. 

In coming to St. Louis, Bishop Dubourg saw the need of a supreme 
effort to meet the situation. He was poor and helpless — almost friend- 
less when he came to St. Louis. He conceived the idea of returning to 
Europe to beg for help — for men and means to aid him in his vast mis- 
sionary labors amongst the white settlers as well as amongst the un- 
counted thousands of aborigines. He searched Italy, France, and Bel- 
gium to find men who might be willing to devote their lives to the con- 
\ersion of the Indians. His visit to Europe was only partly successful. 
In the ultimate results, however, that visit produced marvelous fruit. 
We can now see very clearly the finger of God in it all. Bishop Du- 
bourg was an instrument in the hand of Divine Providence to "make 
straight the way of the Lord." He was as one crying in the wilderness 
vvith unfeigned confidence that, "every valley shall be filled and every 
mountain and hill shall be brought low ; that the crooked shall be made 
straight, and the rough ways plain, and all flesh shall see the salvation 
of Israel." 

A few truly great men and noble women barkened to the call of 
the Apostolic bishop, but what were these among so many? Unknown 
to Bishop Dubourg, however, God was directing the course of events 
so that his most sanguine hopes were fulfilled in an unexpected manner. 
The Revolutions in Europe had sent to our shores a band of young Bel- 
gian Jesuits who found shelter with their brethren in Maryland. They 
were waiting to be called into the vineyard, anxious to go forth like 
St. Fl-ancis Xavier to spend and to be spent for the glory of their Di- 
vine Master. This band of young Jesuits — exiles and refugees as they 
were — are destined to figure largely in the following pages as they fig- 
ure in all subsequent literature of historic value throughout the Western 
States of North America. 

The first Catholic priest, however, to enter the mission field in what 



XVIII INTRODUCTION 

is now known as the State of Kansas was Reverend Charles de la Croix in 
1822. He was not a member of the Jesuit Order, but a worthy precursor, 
a brave and zealous priest who, all alone, penetrated as far as the Neo- 
sho River and converted many of the warlike tribe known as the Great 
Osages. Father de la Croix in after years returned to Belgium and 
ended his days as a Canon Regular in the city of Ghent. 

The path thus made was afterwards followed in 1827 by the renown- 
ed Jesuit, Father Charles Felix Van Quickenborne. He labored amongst 
the Osages, the Miamis and the Kickapoos. He was the first if not the 
greatest of the Jesuit missionaries. 

No less glorious is the name of Father Christian Hoecken, S.J., the 
providential link between the dead past of paganism and the living pres- 
ent. God called him to be the Apostle of the Pottawatomies and his 
labors bore fruit and that fruit remains, as the sequel will show. 

The co-laborers and successors of Father Hoecken were the Jesuit 
Fathers, Felix L. Verreydt, Anthony Eysvogels, Herman Gerard Aelen, 
Francis Xavier De Coen, Henry Van Mierlo, Charles Truyens, Oliver Van 
de Velde, John Schoenmakers, John J. Bax and Paul Mary Ponziglione. 
All these splendid men labored at one time or other in this part of Kan- 
sas and within the confines of what is now known as the parish of the 
Holy Trinity at Paola. 

In 1851 the Jesuit priest, John Baptist Miege, was consecrated at 
St. Louis bishop of a wild and almost unlimited territory beyond Mis- 
souri. He found shelter at Father Hoecken 's Mission at St. Mary's, and 
his first Cathedral was a log chapel built by the Pottawatomie Indians. 
From that humble hut came the Church of Kansas. 

The following pages make but a single chapter in a beautiful tale 
as yet untold. Let us, therefore, "gather up the fragments lest they be 
lost." 

What may seem of slight importance now will grow with the years 
into items of historic value, or may enter as an element of truth into the 
legends that are inseparable from the twilight days of every people's 
history. 

The records of the Indian Missions are preserved in those marvelous 
Jesuit Relations that are gradually coming to light in our day, but with 
the formation of the new Territories and States came the white man 
with his methods of government — ecclesiastical and civil, which evolved 
a new era and a new form of history. The family, the parish, and the 
diocese keep their own records, often meager and seemingly unimportant 
but a« generations pass, these records assume an importance far beyond 
the dreams of the humble chronicler. 

It is here that the "History of Our Cradle Land" may seem prosaic 
or overburdened with details, but the reader will be patient; coming 
generations will value every scrap of history here set dovm and will 
thank us for the efforts made to preserve the story of the pioneers, of 
Iheir priests and bishops who lived and labored with them and for them. 



INTRODUCTION XIX 

and who '"died uuwept, unhonored aud unsu)ig, " during the turmoil of 
the formative period on these vast plains. 

The grateful remembrance of posterity is due the men who "trod 
the winepress alone," and toiled in sunshine and stoim to carry the 
message of hope and to break the bread of life to a famished people. 
Good shepherds truly they were, and they gave their lives for the sheep; 
but wherever they ceased to guard, guide and cherish the flock the Faith 
died out and the spirit of indifference prepared the way for every evil. 
Worldliness, social climbing, mixed marriages, secret societies, extrava- 
gance in di'ess aud amusement, saying nothing of graver crimes soon ac- 
complish what ages of persecution failed to attain. The landmarks of 
Faith are soon frittered away and men come to despise even their oMai 
race and nationality. 

What took place in many parts of the South in other days is now 
transpiring in sparsely settled districts of the West, and all because of 
a lack of priests, schools, and churches, or in one word, because of a 
lack of that Catholic atmosphere which is necessary to the well-being 
of the home from which the future generations issue forth for the weal 
or woe of the Kingdom of God on Earth. 



PART I 

INDIAN DAYS 



THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 



THE INDIAN DAYS. 

Establishment of the Catholic Missions in the Indian Territory — Direct 
Fruit of Bishop Dubourg's Exertions and Immediately Con- 
nected With the Jesuit Fathers at Florissant. 

From The Catholic Cabinet, St. Louis, Mo., November, 1843 

The goveriiraent of the United States having deemed it good policy 
to concentrate the aborigines of the country, commonly called Indians, 
assigned for this purpose a territory, beyond which, within a distance of 
1500 miles, no suitable habitation for white men can be made. This 
Indian territory is bounded by the States of Missouri and Arkansas 
towards the east, by the so-called American desert on the west; by Texas 
on the south ; and by the Missouri and Platte rivers to the north. It has 
been assigned as the permanent abode of the various Indian tribes scat- 
tered throughout the Union. (This was in 1830.) 

The Pawnees, Omahaws, Kanzas, Osages and Missourians roamed at 
large over the lands of this territory, before this plan was adopted by 
our Government, which as a necessary conseqiience of the new appropri- 
ation, was obliged to confine them within certain limits ; and to persuade 
them to cede part of their lands to their red brethren east of the Missis- 
sippi. In consequence of this arrangement the Choctaws, Chickasaws, 
Cherokees, Creeks, Seminoles, Senecas, Pottawatomies, Ottaways, Chippe- 
ways, Otoes, Miamis, Shawanees, Delawares, Kickapoox, loways and 
Foxes, emigrated — some by force, others by persuasion, but all most un- 
willingly from the various States of the Union to the respective portions 
of the territory assigned to them by the U. S. Government. The original 
inhabitants of this territory are called the indigenous tribes, and are 
savage and wretched to the extreme ; the emigrant tribes are more or less 
civilized, according to the different relations they have had with the set- 
tlers of the States. 

The whole number of the Indians of this territory amounts to about 
80,000 souls. With regard to their numbers, it may be observed that they 
appear gradually to decrease, owing to their inordinate mode of living, 
their vicious habits, the unsuitableness of the soil, the change of air by 
emigration, etc. So that they may be said, in the language of the Prophet 
Osee, (c. 13, 3), "to disappear as early dew that passeth away — as the 
dust that is driven with a whirlwind out of the floor — and as the smoke 
out of the chimney." Of their character, it may be said in general, that 
"they are the sinful nation,'' described by Isaias (1:4), "a people laden 
with iniquity, a wicked seed, ungracious children.'' It is true that the 
emigrant tribes have some civilization ; but, generally speaking, with all 
the vices of the white men, they have brought few or none of their vir- 
tues over to the Indian wilds. 

The state of our Holy Religion is truly deplorable among these un- 



4 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

happy people. Almost all the tribes are in favor of Catholic Missioners, 
and feel a kind of natural aversion to Protestant preachers. And yet, in 
the absence of the former the latter are almost everywhere to be found, 
and the whole territory has about 30 Protestant Missionary establishments. 
But every- plantation not made by the hand of the Father shall be rooted 
out. Vain are the efforts of these unsent apostles to make proselytes 
among the Indians. 

They may, indeed, scatter hundreds of Bibles among the savages; 
but these are neither prized nor understood. The principle that faith is 
to be conceived by the Bible — and by the Bible alone — proves quite in- 
comprehensible to the illiterate and savage mind ; and the consequence is 
that all the Protestant congregations of the Indian territory do not 
amount to 500 souls. 

While a few of the Indians, whose devotion is bought and paid for, 
like any other marketable commodity, are nominal adherents to Protes- 
tantism ; while thousands daily worship their Manitos, and indulge in all 
the excesses of unbridled licentiousness ; the voice of the Catholic Church 
is almost unheard, except on the banks of Sugar Creek, a tributary stream 
of the north fork of the Osage river. We would, however, willingly indulge 
the hope that within a few years a line of Catholic Missions may be estab- 
lished from the Missouri River down to Texas — a plan by no means dif- 
ficult of execution, and one which would be of incalculable advantage to 
religion. The field is large and the harvest promising, but the laborers 
are by far too few. 



RESULTS OF BISHOP DUBOURG'S EFFORTS IN THE FOUR 
YEARS FROM 1822 TO 1826. 



The order chosen by Bishop Dubourg for the evangelization 
of the Indian tribes of the West was the Society of Jesus. The Govern- 
ment of the United States was glad to receive the co-operation of the 
Catholic Church in civilizing these barbarians, who were liable to cause 
endless trouble ; and the Church gladly accepted the proffered aid of the 
Government. 

John M. Odin, then only in deacon's order, wrote to the Di- 
rector of the seminary at Lyons, March 30. 1822 : 

"Bishop Dubourg, en route for Baltimore, stopped at Washington, 
to confer with the President of the United States, concerning the mis- 
sion to the savages which he is planning to establish. The question was 
carried to the Senate, and although nearly all the members were Protes- 
tants, they resolved to grant a sum of money for the furtherance of this 
project. They promised, moreover, to pay a small pension to the mis- 
sionaries, and to furnish them with the necessary agricultural imple- 
ments. The savages themselves show the most favorable dispositions." 

On October 21, 1822, Father Odin wrote from the Barrens in 
regard to earlier efforts made for the conversion of the Indians: 



INDIAN DAYS 5 

•'We have the consolation of seeing- a mission opened, or at least, 
begun, among the savages. Father LaCroix, chaplain to the Ladies of 
the Sacred Heart of Florissant, near St. Louis, has made two journeys 
to the Great Osages. He was cordially received, and conceived great 
hopes of seeing the faith prosper among this tribe. Forty persons, chil- 
dren and old people, received the waters of baptism. 

"The second visit was short. He preached, however, before the en- 
tire tribe and the chiefs, answering, said that they were happy to hear 
the word of the Great Spirit. He pushed on further, also, along the 
banks of the stream, a hundred leagues beyond the nation of the Osages. 
among a great number of other savages. The fever, from which he suf- 
fered almost constantly, during this second mission, prevented him from 
prolonging his sojourn, and obliged him also to abandon his intention 
of building a church in this part of the country. The poor savages exist 
in great numbers. There are thirty or forty thousand very large tribes, 
between the Arkansas river and the Columbia river and the Pacific Ocean. 

"Their affection for the black-robes is touching, especially for 
the French priests. Some time ago, a great number of savages were 
in St. Louis. One of them was taken on some errand to a house where 
the Bishop happened to be. The moment he perceived the Bishop, he 
ran to him, seized his hand and kissed it with every demonstration of 
friendship. Having departed without remembering to go through the 
same ceremony, he recalled his mistake, only when already at some dis- 
tance from the house. He turned back immediately, running all the way, 
and uttering loud cries, kissed the Bishop's hand and departed once 
more." 

Bishop Dubourg himself writes on this subject to his brother 
in Bordeaux March 17, 1823 : 

"Providence deigns to grant a success to this negotiation, far in 
excess of my hopes. The government bestows upon me two hundred 
dollars a year for each missionary and that for four or five men, and 
it promises to increase the number gradually, and I am sure that it will 
do so. For an enterprise such as this, it was essential that I should 
have men especially called to this Avork, and I had almost renounced the 
hope of ever obtaining such, when God, in His infinite goodness, has 
brought about one of these incidents which He alone can foresee and 
direct the results. The Jesuits of whom I speak had their institution in 
Maryland, and finding themselves excessively embarrassed for lack of 
accommodation, were on the point of disbanding their novitiate, when I 
obtained this pecuniary encouragement from the government. They 
have seized this opportunity and have offered to transport; the whole no- 
vitiate, master and novices, into Upper Louisiana and form there a pre- 
paratory school for Indian missionaries. If I had had my choice, I could 
not have desired anything better. Seven young men, all Flemings, full 
of talent and of the spirit of Saint Francis Xavier. advanced in their 
studies, about twenty-two to twenty-seven years of age, with their two 



6 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

excellent masters and some brothers; this is what Providence at last 
grants to my prayers. 

"Near the spot where the Missouri empties into the Mississippi, out- 
side the village of Florissant, already so happy as to possess the prin- 
cipal intitution of the Ladies of the S'acred Heart, I have a good yield- 
ing farm, excellent soil, which if well cultivated (which it is not at 
present), could easily provide sustenance for twenty persons, at least, 
so far as the important question of nourishment is concerned. True, 
there is only a small house on the place, but in this country a big cabin 
of rough wood, such as will be suitable for the apostles of the savages, 
is quickly built. It is there that I will locate this novitiate, which will 
be, for all time, a seminary especially intended to form missionaries for 
the Indians, and for the civilized and ever growing population of Mis- 
souri. As soon as the actual subjects are ready, we will commence the 
mission, in good earnest. In the meantime, I propose to receive in 
the seminary a half-dozen Indian children from the different tribes, in 
order to familiarize my young missionaries with their habits and lan- 
guage, and to prepare the Indians to serve as guides, interpreters and 
aides to the missionaries when they are sent to the scattered tribes." 

NOTE — "P''or forty-one years, from 1773, the Jesuits were suppressed and dis- 
banded. On Aug-ust 7, 1814, they were officially restored by Pope Pius VII. After 
their restoration, the Maryland Jesuits were the first to organize in the United States. 
In 1823, Bishop Dubourg of New Orleans, whose jurisdiction embraced Upper and Lower 
Louisiana, applied to Very Rev. F'ather Charles Neale. S.J., Provincial of the Jesuits in 
Maryland, to supply him with Jesuit missionaries for educating- and civilizing the In- 
dians in the territories west of the ^Mississippi. Accordingly, on April 11, 1823, under 
the guidance of Rev. Charles Van Quickenborne. S.J., superior, and of Rev. Peter J. 
Timmermans, S.J., assistant superior, six Jesuit scholastics, and some Jesuit lay broth- 
ers, set out from Maryland, and arrived at St. Louis on :May 31, 1823. The Jesuit 
scholastics were: F. L. Ven-eydt, F. G. Van Assche, P. J. Verhaegen, P. J. De Smet. 
J. A. Elet, and J. B. Smedts. In June, 1823, the two Jesuit Fathers, -nith their six- 
novices and the lay brothers, took possession of a farm near Florissant. Mo., donated 
to them by a Mr. O'Neil of Florissant, and there established their Novitiate. Of these 
six no\'ices, two — P. J. Verhaegen, and J. B. Smedts — were ordained priests in 1825. 
The other four were ordained priests in 1827. Father Van Quickenborne made occasional 
Visits during the years 1828, 1829 and 1830 to the Osage Indians in Southern Kansas; 
but the Osage Mission in Kansas was not permanently established until 1S47. Father 
Van Quickenborne also established the Kickapoo Indian Mission near Fort Leaven- 
worth in 1837. That same year (1837) Father Van Quickenborne died (August 17) at 
Portage des Sioux, Mo. In 1838, Father Ee Smet, with the assistance of Father Verreydt, 
established a mission among the Pottawatomie Indians at Council Bluffs." 

(From the notes of Rt. Rev. John Joseph Hogan, in Catholic Historv Review, Vol. 
III. P. 326 (1917) by Very Rev. Wm. Keuenhof, V. G.) 



THE FIRST CATHOLIC MISSIONARY. 

In the spring of 1822 Father De la Croix, chaplain of the Ladies of 
the Sacred Heart, came on horseback from Florissant, Missouri, to 
preach the gospel to the Great Osages on the Neosho' River in Kansas. 

The trail to the West crossed Missouri from St. Louis and entered 
the Indian country at or near where the Miami Indian village once 
stood. This spot is about eight miles southeast of Paola on the Marais 
des Cygnes River. It is supposed that Father De la Croix followed the 
usual trail and entered Kansas at this point. It is worthy of note that 
he was the first priest to enter this vast region since the days of Father 



INDIAN DAYS 7 

Juan cle Padilla in 1541 as far as any written records show. 

Miami county claims the distinction of being the scene of Father 
De la Croix's first labors in Kansas for he, no doubt, tarried among 
such tribes as lay in his path. His first thought was to bless tlie 
land, "beseeching the Lord to visit it (habitationem istam) and drive 
far from it all the snares of the enemy; he asked that the holy Angels 
might dwell therein and guard its peace and that this blessing might 
remain forever?" The good man's heart w^as filled with admiration at 
all the natural beauty that lay around him on every side for, as is well 
known, there is nothing on earth more beautiful than the Kansas prairies 
in the late spring. Pushiug on through this paradise of birds and 
flowers for a distance of about eighty miles he came at last to the 
Neosho River and found the object of his laborious searchings — the Great 
Osage tribe, one of the noblest band of savages within the confines of 
Kansas. 

The following extract from the article published in the St. Louis 
Catholic Cabinet, November, 1843, gives a delightful account of this and 
a subsequent visit : 

"On the occasion of his first visit, as they were about to depart on a hunt- 
ing expedition, he could only see one village. He was very well received and 
baptized a great many children. As he had promised to visit all the villages of 
that nation of Indians, he was obliged to return last summer. He left Florissant, 
which is situated five leagues from St. Louis, on the 22nd of July. After traveling 
twelve days on horseback across prairies, broken by forests and streams, he 
reached the first village which he had already visited in the spring of 1822. 

"They were delighted to see him again. He was accompanied by several per- 
sons who intended to trade with the savages. All the warriors came to meet 
them. 

"They were conducted, with great honor, to the head chief and invited to 
feasts, prepared by the savages, and so were kept going until evening, from cabin 
to cabin. At these repasts they were presented with a wooden dish, filled with 
boiled maize or buffalo meat (boeuf sauvage), but each dish had to be duly 
tasted. 

"The head chief and six of his principal warriors offered to accompany 
the missionary in his visit to the other villages. Ten days were passed thus, 
and the missionary was received everywhere with the same eagerness. At one 
of these villages more than a hundred warriors, covered from head to foot with 
their handsomest ornaments, came quite a distance to meet him. They rode 
finely trained horses. The occupations of the men are war and hunting. The 
women are very liard working. They it is who build the cabins, and carry the 
loads of firewood on their backs. The quantity they take at one time is astonish- 
ing. The whole nation is clothed, decently at least. Everyone is covered with 
a robe. 

"Polygamy is practiced among them, for it is the custom that when a savage 
demands a girl in marriage and is accepted, not only she, 'but all her sisters also 
belong to him and are looked upon as his wives. They pride themselves greatly 
upon having several wives. Another great obstacle to their civilization lies in 
their strong distaste for the cultivation of the soil and for all kinds of work. They 
care for nothing but war and hunting. 

"One day the missionary celebrated the Holy Sacrifice. All the chiefs were 



8 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

present and also as many savages as the place would hold. He has told me 
that he was greatly moved hy the respectful attention which they showed, and 
the exactitude with which they rose and knelt, raising their arms and eyes 
to heaven. After Mass he distributed to all the chiefs a number of crosses, fas- 
tened to ribbons, which he threw around their necks. He also baptized several 
children. 

"For several years Protestant missionaries, sent out and well paid by the 
American government, had been settled among these savages, and had built up 
establishments where they cared for the children of this nation for a certain 
time. But they were not successful, and nearly a year ago the Indians took 
away all their children, saying that they had realized that they were not black 
robes, as they had thought they were at first. 

"The soil of this portion of Missouri is very fertile, and there are prairies 
six or seven leagues in extent. In summer the heat is excessive. It was during 
this journey that the missionary was attacked by a burning fever which forced 
him to leave the Osages. He was obliged to travel twelve days on horseback, 
sleeping at night in the woods, not coming across a single miserable cabin. 
This is how they go about arranging their camp. Having chosen the most suitable 
place, they unload and unharness the horses, which they let run loose in the 
woods that they may pasture during the night. They build a hut with the bran- 
ches of trees, and having gathered wood they light a big fire. Over this they 
boil a piece of young buck placed on a stick planted before the fire, the meat 
being turned from time to time. This fire serves also to drive away bears 
and other wild beasts. After, their repast, they roll themselves up in a buffalo 
skin and fatigue renders this poor bed very comfortable." 

FURTHER INFORMATION GATHERED FROM CATHOLIC CABI- 
NET, ISSUE OF NOVEMBER, 1843. 



The zealous Bishop of Upper and Lower Louisiana directed 
the views of his ever active zeal towards the unfortunate Indians, es- 
pecially the Osages. With the co-operation of the Rev. Charles Van 
Quickenbome, then Superior of the Jesuits of Missouri, two schools were 
opened for Indian youths in the township of Florissant, near St. Louis; 
the Indian boys were placed under the charge of the Jesuits, and the 
girls under that of the Ladies of the Sacred Heart. To enable them to 
succeed in this undertaking, the reverend gentlemen under whose care 
the schools were placed, applied to the Government for a moderate an- 
nual income from the sum annually appropriated for the civilization of 
the Indians. This request was readily complied with, but the greatest 
obstacle to success was found to consist in the unwillingness of the In- 
dian youth to quit their parents' home, their sports and their games, 
and to go to a distant place for the purpose of acquiring the learning 
which they so little valued. It was soon discovered that to establish 
missionary stations among the India^is in their own country would be 
a more successful and less difficult enterprise. 

In consequence, this having been determined on, the Rev. 
Charles de la Croix, then Missioner in the State of Missouri, set out on 
a visit to the Osages — one of the most savage of the Indian tribes. His 
efforts were blessed with success, and records now before us prove that 



INDIAN DAYS 9 

the number of children baptized by him on that occasion was very large 
and the number of marriages he blessed not inconsiderable. Shortly 
after, he was followed by the Rev. C. Van Quickenbome, who also vis- 
ited the Osage nation, and who was particularly successful in inducing 
the Chiefs and Headmen of the tribe to send their sons and daughters 
to St. Louis County. The schools, composed of Osage, Iowa and Iro- 
quois youths, flourished for a few years, but were finally broken up, in 
consequence of the complaints of their parents, on seeing their children 
separated from them by such a distance, as also of the disinclination 
of the young Indians to bend under the yoke of discipline. A few 
years after, the Rev. Joseph Lutz, of the Diocese of St. Louis, visited 
the wild Kanzas. The courageous efforts of this zealous Missionary ap- 
peared likely to be crowned with signal success, and already the head- 
men of that ferocious nation knelt in prayer by his side, when, after a 
residence of more than four months among them, the paucity of clergy- 
men in the diocese caused him to be recalled to supply what appeared 
to be more pressing wants. The unsteady Kanza fell back into his for- 
mer irregularities. 

In 1835, the Rev. Father Van Quickenborne paid a mission- 
ary visit to the Miamies, on the north fork of the Osage river. They 
are the small remnants of four once powerful nations, the Kaskaskias. 
the Peorias, the Weas and the Piankeshaws. He was received by them 
with great joy; and many of them, having been baptized in their in- 
fancy by the priests who attended the old French villages in Illinois, 
showed unfeigned readiness to enroll themselves anew under the stand- 
ard of the cross. They seemed to be indifferently pleased with the 
Methodist station, established among them, and willingly promised to re- 
turn to the faith of their fathers, among whom the Jesuit Missionaries 
had so successfully labored during the early part of the last century. 
An old Avoman, whose gray hair and bent up form showed that she had 
belonged to by-gone times, crawled up to the Missionary, grasped his 
hand with a strong expression of exultation, and pronounced him to be 
a true black-gown, sent to instruct her hapless and neglected nation. 
She had lived at least a score of winters longer than any other of hei" 
tribe, but yet she distinctly remembered to have been prepared for her 
first communion by one of the Jesuits who attended the flourishing mis- 
sion of Kaskaskias. His name she could not bring to mind, but de- 
scribed his dress and features in a manner to show what a deep impres- 
sion this recollection of her early youth continued to make on her mind. 
She also gave a description of the old churcli of Kaskaskias ; recited her 
prayers and sang a Canticle in the language of the tribe. She told the 
Missioiier that her constant prayer had been that her tribe, now exiled 
and almost extinct, might have the happiness to see a true black-gown 
among them. She congratulated those around her on the occasion and 
cried out, like Simeon, that her eyes had seen him now, and that she 
was readv to mix her bones with those of her fathers. Her death. 



10 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

which took place a few days after, was a great loss to the Missioiier, 
As she w^as the oiih' person who knew the prayers in the Indian lan- 
guage, and the only one who appeared to have kept herself untainted 
by the general depravity of those by whom she was surrounded. 

The few remaining Miamies have never had any permanent Cath- 
olic Mission in their situation; yet they continue to be visited at stated 
times. Among them, however, in their original residence, near Chicago, 
Father Marquette, the first explorer of the Mississippi, labored as early 
as 1675. In 1836 the first Catholic Missionary settlement was made 
among the Indians of this territory. 

The Rev. C. Van Quickenborne, of the Society of Jesus 
opened a mission among the Kickapoos. Suitable buildings were erected, 
a neat chapel built, and the zeal of the Missionaries was displayed in 
almost incessant labors by day and by night; but the soil proved for 
the time ungrateful. It seemed that the hour for those corrupted and 
intemperate beings had not yet come. The Missionaries, as happens in 
eveiy great undertaking for God, encountered great difficulties, occa- 
sioned especially by the opposition and imposture of one of the Indian 
chiefs, who styled himself a Prophet, and pretended to be sent by the 
Son of God. In 1839 some strong hopes of converting these Indians 
w^ere entertained, but unhappily were not realized. By the exertions of 
the clergyman then at the head of that mission, the Rev. A. Eysvogels, 
30 Catechumens were instructed and baptized in the Catholic Church. 
The foundation of the congregation thus appeared to have been laid, 
but it was of short duration. New clouds overshadow^ed these pleasing 
prospects, the few Christians who had entered into the pale of the 
Church emigrated to another settlement, and the aspect of affairs be- 
came more gloomy than ever. The following Jesuit Fathers labored 
in this mission : Charles Van Quickenborne, C. Hoecken, F. Verreydt 
and A. Eysvogels. They did not confine themselves, however, exclu- 
sively to the Indians; they took charge moreover of six stations among 
the border settlers of the State of Missouri. 

"Through the courtesy of President Rogers of St. Louis Univei-sity, 
that great institution of learning, founded by Father Quickenborne, I 
am enabled to present a list of missionaries who visited this section and 
made Fort Leavenworth one of their main stations," says Henrj^ 
Shindler in his '"Divine Worship at Fort Leavenworth." "It is as 
follows : 

Charles Van Quickenborne, 1835, '36. 

Christian Hoecken, '35, '36, '37, '39, '41, "42. '44, '45, '46, '47, '48, '49. 

Adrian Hoecken, '42. 

Felix Verreydt, '37, '41, '42, '44, '45. '46, '47, '48. 

Anthony Eysvogel, '39, '40, '44. 

Herman Aelen, '39, '40, '41, '42. 

Nicholas Point at Westport, '40. 

Francis Xavier DeCoen, '45. 

John F. Die's, (not yet ordained a priest) '45, '46. 

Charles Truyens, '47. 

Maurice Galliand, '48, '49. 



INDIAN DAYS 11 

John Baptist Duerink, '49. This cousin of Dr. DeSmet was drowned in the 
Missouri, on one of his excursions. There was a general impression at the time 
that his death was due to foul work of thieves. His body was never found." 

NOTBi — Rev. Fatlier Charles Van Quickenborne, S. J., was bom in Peteghem, Bel- 
gium, January 21, 1788; died at the mission of St. Francis, in the Portage des Sioux, 
Missouri, Aug-ust 17, 1857, He arrived in the United States in 1817, and in 1819 was 
appointed superior of the Jesuit novitiate at White Marsh, Mlaryland. After some 
years he was ordered to transfer his Mission to Missouri. He accordingly set out with 
twelve companions, and after traveling 1600 miles, arrived at Florissant and began the 
novitiate of St. Stanislaus. To form this establishment he had no other materials than 
the timber he carried from the woods and the rocks that he raised from the bed of the 
river. He was his own architect, mechanic and laborer, and, aided by his novices, finally 
constructed the buildings. In 1828 he set about building a university at St. Louis, 
and also erected at St. Charles a church, a convent of the Sacred Heart, and a paro- 
chial residence. His great desire from the first had been to evangelize the Indians. 
He, therefore, made several excursions among the Osages and lowas and made nu- 
merous conversions. He erected a house and chapel among the Kickapoos, and this 
tribe became the center of his missionary labors in 1836. He had visited neighboring 
tribes and formed plans for their conversion when he was recalled to Missouri. 



12 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

THE CRADLE OF CATHOLICITY. 

A Condensation of Father Hoecken's Diary, 

In the year 1837 a band of Pottawatomie Indians, numbering about 
]50, set up their wigwams on the banks of Pottawatomie Creek in the 
present Miami County near where the town of Osawatomie now stands. 
They had migrated from Indiana and some of them had been baptized 
by the Reverends Stephen Badin and Deseille. This same year two 
Jesuit missionaries, Fathers Felix L. Verreydt and Christian Hoeeken, 
were living among the Kickapoos, near Ft. Leavenworth. Towards the 
close of that same year these missionaries received an invitation from 
Nesfwawke, the Chief of the little body of Pottawatomies, to come 
and teach them religion. Father Hoeeken responded to this cry from 
the wilderness, all the more gladly because the labors of the Fathers 
had proved fruitless with the Kickapoos. In January, 1838, in the 
middle of winter, the journey was undertaken, and, after eight days 
of hardship, the missionary arrived at Pottawatomie Creek. This was 
the first visit of Father Hoeeken to the Pottawatomies, and it lasted 
only two weeks, but to it St. Maiy's College can trace its existence. 
Those who might be interested in the adventures and labors of the 
Father in those early days are referred to his Diary, also to the life of 
Mother Duchesne. 

In March, 1839, the Pottawatomies, who had not settled definitely 
at Pottawatomie Creek, but had only been exploring the country for a 
suitable site, removed to Sugar Creek, a tributary of the Osage River. 
The site selected was near where Centerville now stands.* Here 
almost immediately the Indians built a small church, in which services 
were held regularly during the remainder of the holy season of Lent 
and until the end of 1840, when, owing to their steady increase in num- 
bers through migration, a larger church had to be erected. 

Sometime in 1839 a school had been erected. It was not opened 
until 1840, however, and was kept up only for a time. In the first 
part of July, 1841, the pioneer band of Religious of the Sacred Heart 
arrived at the Mission, and on the 15th day of July a school for girls 
was constructed and placed under their care. A new school for boys 
was built towards the end of this same year, 1841, which began to be 
regularly freqnented from the commencement of 1842. The Jesuit Fa- 
thers more especially connected with this beginning of the S't. Mary's 
Mission, as it was afterwards called, were, besides the missionaries men- 
tioned above, Rev. P. J. Verhaegen, S.J., the Superior of the Jesuits 
in Missouri, and Father H. Aelen, S.J., the first assistant of Father 
Christian Hoeeken. And on the 29th of August, 1841, Father Felix L. 
Verreydt and Brothers AndrcAv Mazella and George Miles were added 
to the number of the workmen in this primitive vineyard of the Lord. 

*Five and a half miles northeast, on the Michael Zimmerman farm, but about foui 
miles in a direct line from Centerville. 



INDIAN DAYS 13 

Father Verreydt organized an anti-liquor brigade, under the leadership 
of Bro. Van der Borght. They were instructed to keep a sharp eye on 
any liquor that entered the settlement, to surround the place, break the 
bottles, and scatter the liquor. There is a quaint little remark in 
Father Hoecken's Diary under 1843, somewhat amusing too, as is the 
v/hole incident, in the light of after-events in Kansas; it says: "This 
custom was kept up to the present day." 

In 1842 we find that the United States Government assigned the 
sum of $300.00 yearly, for teachers aud school purposes, to the Fathers 
and Religious at Sugar Creek, and also that annual School Reports 
had to be foi-warded to the Government. We find that the schools 
were attended daily by 41 boys and 40 girls this year. 

By this time things were fairly started at the Sugar Creek Mis- 
sion, and year by year the conversion, education, and civilization of the 
Indians progressed. Within the next few years, too, a number of In- 
dian books, prayer-books, grammars, and dictionaries were printed and 
distributed among the Indians. These earlier Indian books were the 
groundwork of a much more extensive grammar and dictionary by the 
Rev. Maurice Gailland, S. J., assisted by the Rev. John Diels, S. J., which 
however, were never published. This latter work, in fact, seems to have 
been hopelessly lost. Father De Smet, the great Indian missionary, took 
it along with him on his last trip to Belgium in 1871, and it seems he 
left it in Europe.* 

Transmigration. 

On the 17th of June. 1846, the Government signed a contract pur- 
chasing the Indian lands on Sugar Creek, and gave the Indians a res- 
ervation along the banks of the Kansas (or Kaw) River, extending west- 
ward from what is at present the city of Topeka fifty miles on both 
sides of the Kansas River. Meanwhile the work of evangelizing the 
Indians, not only the Pottawatoraies, but all the various tribes that were 
flocking westward at the instance of the United States Government — 
the Miamis, the Osages, the Peorias, the Piankeshaws — was going on 
uninterruptedly, the Sugar Creek Mission being in a manner the center 
of operation for the Religious men and women who Avere devoting their 
lives to the labor. 

In the early part of November, 1847, an expedition of Indians ac- 
companied by Father Verreydt, S.J.. started out to explore the land 
assigned them on the Kansas River, with the object of selecting a site 
for settlement; and not earlier than November 11, 1847, the Fathers and 
Religious moved to the new location. 

On June 20, 1848, the north side of the Kansas River was definitely 
settled upon as the new site of the Mission buildings, and on September 
the 7th. Father Verreydt, S'.J.. together with the Ladies of the Sacred 
Heart, crossed to the new buildings on the north side of the river. 

*This work was found and identified in 1882 by Rev. G. J. Garrag-han, S. J. 



14 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

In this transfer and sale of the Indian lands no provision had been 
made for the Fathers and the Religions by the Government. The In- 
dians, however, contribiited $1,700 and from other sources also some 
money had been gathered to continue the missionary work begun. On 
November 11th, however, the missionaries learned that an arrangement 
had been made between the St. Louis University and the civil Govern- 
ment to erect a school at the St. Mary's Mission. Still the work of 
education had already begun, for we find that in the winter of 1848 
five new boarding scholars were received at the Mission. This, then, 
was the beginning of what we now know as St. Mary's College at St. 
Marys, Kansas; and since that winter towards the end of the first half 
of the last century the work of instruction has never been mterrupted, 
the ground has ever been sacred to the cause of education.* In No- 
vember. 1849, the roof was put on the first church at St. Mary's Mis- 
sion, and this church was placed under tlie tutelage of the Immaculate 
Conception. 

On the 24th of May. 1851, the Rev. J. B. Miege, S. J., having 
been raised to the dignity of Vicar Apostolic over the country 
inhabited by the Indians lying between the Rockies and what might be 
called the western boundary of civilization, arrived at St. Maiy's Mis- 
sion in company of Father Paul Ponziglione, S. J., and a lay Brother, to 
make the humble mission church his Pro-Cathedral. 

The Pioneer. 

It seems no more than just that we should mention the fact that 
Father Christian Hoecken, S'. J., who may justly be called the founder of 
St. Mary's, died in this year, a martyr to charity. He had been as- 
signed by the Provincial of Missouri to accompany the Rev. P. De Smet, 
S. J., on his journey to the Rockies. A pestilential disease broke out 
on the steamer upon which they had embarked. Father Hoecken, who was 
not a little skilled in medicine, made himself all to all. He became at 
once nurse, doctor, and spiritual father to the sick and dying until he 
himself fell a victim to the disease. His body was at first buried on 
the deserted shore in the wilderness, but it was afterwards transferred 
to the little historic mound at Florissant near St. Louis, to rest among 
the remains of his companions in the noble work of. civilizing and Chris- 
tianizing the Indians of the Middle West. See full text of Father 
Hoecken 's Diary in appendix. 

•St. Mary's College is, therefore, the oldest educational institution in the State of 
Kansas. 



INDIAN DAYS 15 

VENERABLE PHILIPPINE DUCHESNE. 



By G. E. M. 

In the early annals of the Catholic Church in this country, no name 
stands more pre-eminent than that of the Venerable Philippine , Du- 
chesne. She was one of the first, and altogether the greatest, among 
the spiritual daughters of the Blessed Madeline Sophie Barat, so well 
known as the Foundress of the Society of the Sacred Heart. The pio- 
neer of that Institute in the New World, it was in the midst of sorrow, 
and penury, and strenuous toil, that she cast the seed of the harvest 
whose plentiful sheaves are carried with joy by those who have come 
after her. She was a valiant co-operator in the work of the Catholic 
missionaries during the early part of the last century, and American 
Catholics can scarcely fail to be interested in her story. 

S'he was born in Grenoble, France, August 29, 1769, the same year 
as Napoleon Bonaparte. Her father, Pierre Francois Duchesne, was a 
prosperous lawj^er, practicing in the Parliament, or law court of Gren- 
oble, the capital of the Province of Dauphiny, while her mother, Rose 
Perrier, belonged to a family of wealthy merchants of the same city. 
Pierre Francois Duchesne had adopted the false teachings of Voltaire 
and his school, but his wife was very pious, and carefully brought up 
her children in the love and fear of God. Philippine was the next to 
the last in a family of six. From her earliest years she was noted for 
her serious turn of mind. One of her chief pleasures was reading, but 
even this had to be of a serious kind. Roman history was an especial 
favorite, but what she loved most of all was the lives of the saints, par- 
ticularly the martyrs. Another of her pleasures was to assist the poor. 
All of her pocket money, with everything else that she could dispose 
of went to them, and she loved to distribute her alms with her own 
hand. * * * * j^ would take too long to relate the circumstances 
which led to the visit of Mgr. Louis Valentine Dubourg, the newly con- 
secrated Bishop of Louisiana, and describe the touching scene, when 
Mother Barat, in presence of the humble yet ardent entreaties of her 
strong-souled daughter, recognized the will of God, and gave the con- 
sent she implored, to let her have a share in the missionary labors of 
the zealous prelate in the far-off region of Louisiana. 

In the hearts of God's saints, joy and sorrow are in close alliance. 
Mother Duchesne was overwhelmed with joy on seeing the realization 
of her ardent and long-cherished desires; but a midnight blackness set- 
tled upon her soul, when she found herself about to sail away from the 
shores of sunny France, leaving behind her all that her loving heart 
held so dear, and with the conviction that the parting was final, as far 
as this life was concerned. But her strong spirit did not flinch for an 
instant, and the world would never have known how keenly she felt 
the sacrifice, were it not for a few lines in one of her letters to Mother 



16 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

Barat. Her companions were Madame Octavie Berthold, a fervent con- 
vert, whose father had been secretary to Voltaire; Madame Eugenie 
Aude, a young lady whose grace and elegance had been admired at the 
court of Savoy, and two lay sisters of tried virtue. After a tedious 
voyage of ten weeks in a small sailing vessel, they reached New Orleans 
on the Feast of the Sacred Heart, May 29, 1818, and as soon as it was 
possible, they set out for St. Louis in one of the primitive steamboats 
of the time, a trip of six weeks, with numberless inconveniences and a 
very rough set of fellow-passengers. 

First Schools in the New World. 

Mgr. Dubourg cordially welcomed them to his Episcopal city, but 
the best he could do for them was to assign to them a log-house, which 
he had leased for their use at St. Charles, a village on the Missouri 
River, at a distance of thirty miles from St. Louis. Here they opened 
a boarding school, which at first was only very scantily attended. They 
also opened a school for poor children, which immediately gathered in 
twenty-two pupils. As the nuns could not afford to- keep a servant, they 
themselves had to cultivate the garden which, when they arrived, was 
a wilderness of weeds and briars. They also had to care for their cow 
and milk it, to chop wood for their fires, to bake their bread, to do the 
cooking and washing, besides teaching the two schools. For their sud- 
ply of water, they were compelled to depend upon the muddy current 
of the Missouri River, brought to them in small bucketfuls, for which 
they had to pay an exorbitant price. The summer was very hot, and 
the cold of winter was so intense, that the clothes, hung up to dry near 
the kitchen stove, froze stiff. They had to be careful in handling the tin 
plates, etc., which served for their meals, lest their hands should adhere 
to them. The white fingers of Mesdames Aude and Berthold soon became 
hard and grimy. As for IMother Duchesne, her hands had become rug- 
ged and horny long ago, from hard, rough work to which she had de- 
voted herself, especially after her re-entrance into Sainte Marie d'en 
Haut. Indeed, it had ahvaj^s been her custom to reserve to herself, as 
much as possible, every kind of work that might be most painful or 
fatiguing for others. 
#♦*#***** 

Sixty years have gone by since Venerable Mother Duchesne was 
laid away to rest, close to the old "Rock Church" adjoining the convent 
of St. Charles; but she still lives in the memory of the people among 
whom she toiled, and prayed, and suffered. 

She had personally founded six houses, three in Missouri and three 
in Louisiana, and also tlie mission among the Pottawatomies, was 
due in a great measure to her prayers and exertions. Just at the time 
of this last foundation, the Society of the Sacred Heart entered upon a 
period of rapid expansion, and when the venerable Mother died, ten 
rears later, it alreadv counted sixteen houses in tlie United States and 



INDIAN DAYS 17 

Canada; while now, there are twenty-seven in the former country and 
five in the latter. But the great tree, of which Mother Duchesne was 
the vigorous root, spread its branches still further. For she it was who 
had enkindled the sacred fire of the apostolic spirit in the heart of 
Mother du Rousier who, in the designs of God, was to be the pioneer of 
the Sacred Heart in the vast regions of South America. (Mexico, Cuba, 
Puerto Rico, New Zealand, Australia and Japan were afterwards added 
to the list). 

The Ladies of the Sacred Heart on the Indian Mission. 
"Justi in perpetuum vivent, 
apud Dominum est merces corum." 

The Religious of the Sacred Heart were pioneers of education in 
the West and zealous co-laborers of the eTesuit missionaries among the 
Pottawatomie Indians. Mother Philippine Duchesne, one of the first 
to resuscitate religious life in France in a lull of the French Revolution, 
joined the rising congregation established by Father Varin, in 1800, 
and later she became the leader and founder of the S'acred Heart in 
America, when, at the urgent entreaties of Bishop Dubourg to come 
to the help of the Indians in Missouri, she joyfully followed the call 
to a new conquest for the glory of the Sacred Heart, and with four 
of her Sisters, sundering the dearest ties of life, she quitted her native 
land forever and arrived at St. Louis on August 21, 1818. Madame 
Octavie Berthokl, Madame Eugenie Aude and Sisters Catherine Lamarre 
and Marguerite Manteau were the other generous souls who made the 
same sacrifice ; and they began their apostolate at St. Charles and Flor- 
issant, Mo. They had come to the new field of labor five j^ears in ad- 
vance of the Society of Jesus, which was yet confined to the Eastern 
States, with headquarters at Georgetown, D. C, and White Marsh. Md. 
On May 31, 1828, twelve Jesuits arrived at St. Louis, animated with 
similar zeal and destined for the same mission. They were located by 
Bishop Dubourg on a farm, a mile and a half to the northwest of the 
Sacred Heart Convent at Florissant. The place continued until recently 
to be called The Priests' Farm, and it lias ever since been a Jesuit no- 
vitiate. 

The Indian Schools. 

As Missouri was received into the Union in 1821, very few Indians 
remained around Florissant. Nevertheless, an Indian seminary was 
started, where the boys were taught by the young scholastics preparing 
for ordination, and the girls, in a different building, were cared for 
by the Ladies of the Sacred Heart. Madame Mathevon relates: "One 
evening, whilst we were saying office, the Father Rector arrived with 
two little frightened savages who were hiding themselves under his 
cloak, and he asked to see the Superior. He had sent a cart to bring 
them and he left them with us. So now we have begun our class for the 
natives. This is the work, dear Mother, for which we have been pining. 



Ig THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

Each of us is longing to be employed in it." This occurred in April, 
1825. Mother Duchesne was well pleased when she wrote: "Our school 
for the little Indians is at last beginning. We have given the care of 
it to an Irish Sister, Madame Mary O'Connor, who has just made her 
first vows. The little savages call her mamma, and run after her 
wherever she goes, to the stables, the poultry yard, and the garden." 
The Indian seminary served as a training for the teachers as much as for 
the children; in it they studied the characteristic traits and the language 
of the Indians. 

Although the schools had only from twenty to thirty children and 
were discontinued after a few years, yet it was these teachers who after- 
wards distinguished themselves in the patient hardships of the mission. 

Organizing Indian Missions. 

In 1827, when seven of the young Jesuit scholastics had been raised 
to the priesthood, the time had come for extending their labors. The 
Superior, Father Charles Van Quickenborne, was the first to cross the 
State in search of the Osages; and he preached to them under a banner 
of the Blessed Virgin, designed and painted by Mother Duchesne. He 
made several excursions across Missouri, 1827-30, and in 1836 he began 
to reside with the Kickapoos, near Fort Leavenworth. 

While the Jesuit Fathers were gathering the Indian tribes together 
on the Western border of Missouri and establishing Missions in the 
Western prairies and the Rocky Mountains, the community of the Sacred 
Heart at Florissant had increased in 1830 to sixty-four members, living 
in six houses along the Mississippi River and educating two hundred 
and fifty pupils. 

Zeal for the Missions. 

In 1 840, Madame Galitzin was sent to visit the American founda- 
tion. Mother Duchesne earnestly begged to be relieved from the office 
of Superior, and obtained her request : but though seventy-one years old 
and reduced by infinnities and frequent sickness, her longing to serve 
the savages was as ardent as when in her vigor she had clasped the 
knees of Mother Barat at Paris, asking for permission to go to the In- 
dians. Mother Duchesne had been inspired with a great veneration 
for St. Francis Xavier and a tender devotion to St. Francis Regis, the 
apostle of the poor, and this gave a tone to her life. And like the apostle 
of the Indies, she had aroused the spirit of foreign missions in 
her congregation by her example, and, like the apostle of the Vivarais, 
she still burned with a love for the poor and neglected of mankind. 
Hence she used every means to persuade her superiors when the Jesuit 
Fathers urged the opening of a mission at Sugar Creek in 1841 ; and 
she was filled with joy on receiving word from the Mother General en- 
couraging her to carry out the first object that had inspired her Daugh- 
ters to go to America. Giving vent to her enthusiasm, she Avrote : "There 



INDIAN DAYS 19 

are half-castes there who are saints, and great saints also among the 
savages. A spirit exists in that mission unknown elsewhere. The faith 
of these simple Christians is such that reminds one of the early days 
of the Church." 

Bishop Rosati, then in Europe, Avrote that the Pope, Gregory XVI, 
had expressed great delight at the prospect of the establishing of the 
Sacred Heart among the Indians, This wish the Holy Father clearly 
indicated the will of God and made all envy the chosen band. Mother 
Lucile Mathevon and Mother Duchesne were the first selected ; Madame 
O'Connor, who had been teaching Indian women at St. Charles 
and Florissant, and who could speak English and French, volunteered 
to join the mission; a Canadian Sister, Louise Amoyt, completed the 
band for the new foundation among the Pottawatomies. 

The Welcome. 

On June 29, 1841, under the guidance of Father Verhaegen and 
with the help of Edmond, a faithful and intelligent negro, the devoted 
nuns embarked on the Missouri and arrived at Westport Landing after 
July 4th; thence by wagon they traveled through scattered towns and 
settlements to the Osage River (Marais des Cygnes), about sixty miles 
southward Here over night two Indian messengers arrived to greet 
them with the tidings that all the tribe was assembled to receive the 
women of the Great Spirit. "Go and tell them," said the Father, as they 
knelt for his blessing, "that tomorrow, by the first light of the sun, we 
shall meet them." The rest of the journey Avas a triumph. Groups 
of horsemen were stationed along the road to show them the way ; and 
suddenly, at the entrance of a prairie, one hundred and fifty warriors 
on ponies appeared, waving red and white flags above the gay plumes 
of their head-dresses. The two resident missionaries, Father Aelen and 
Father Eysvogels, were at the front of the cavalcade, and amid the 
firing of guns and a display of horsemanship as grand as a review of 
troops, the little caravan was led up and halted before the mission 
church. There, as the Sisters alighted and were seated on benches pre- 
pared, they received an ovation from the whole tribe. Fr. Verhaegen 
presented Mother Duchesne: "My children, here is a lady who for 
thirty-five years has been asking God to let her come to you." Upon 
which the chief of the tribe addressed her a compliment, and his wife 
said: "To show you our great joy, all the women of the tribe will now 
embrace you." The men, too, wanted to shake hands, and the Nuns 
held a levee with great benignity. 

Their Life and Work. 

The best accommodations for these disciples of the cross was a hut 
of one of the savages, who gladly retired with his family into a tent. 
But in the month of August they had a two-story house of six rooms, 
which their negro had planned and built with the help of the Indians. 



20 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

"In our savage home," Mother Mathevon wrote, "we sleep better than 
in a palace. We live on bacon and milk, vegetables and bread. We 
would not give up our position for all the gold in the world ; it is such 
happiness to feel we can imitate the poverty of our Adorable Lord." 
Father Aelen gave them two cows, a horse and a yoke of oxen, and on 
July 15th, his first care was to erect a school for the Sisters. Their 
abode and this school were near the church, on an eminence which over- 
looked the endless prairie. They opened school on July 19th, the Feast 
of St. Vincent of Paul. 

Fifty young girls soon frequented the school, and the women came 
there to learn to work. The greatest difficulty at first was the Indian 
language. The mistresses had to begin by being scholars. Two Indian 
women taught them Pottawatomie, and after a fortnight, they were able 
to sing hymns in that dialect, though not yet able to speak it. "As soon 
as we could," adds Mother Lucile, "we taught our Indians the prayers 
of the Church, and especially the Litany of the Blessed Virgin as it is 
sung on Sundays after Vespers. Soon our cabin could not hold all our 
scholars, and we made a large room with green branches. Our children 
are very intelligent and understand easily all we teach them. They are 
as handy as possible with their fingers." 

After six weeks, the Sacred Heart Sisters had their work in good 
order, when, on August 29th, a reinforcement of four Jesuits arrived, viz.: 
Father Christian Hoecken, the founder of this mission, and Brothers 
Andrew Mazella and George Miles, with Father Verreydt, the new Su- 
perior; thus with Father Aelen, who remained up to June, 1842, and Bro. 
Van der Borght, the missioners' house was increased to six, besides two 
Indian boys and two teachers. Now every kind of work went on apace. 
A new school for boys was built in the Fall, and opened in 1842 with 
sixty-six pupils, taught by Jos. N. Bourassa and John Tipton. Soon 
Father Adrain Hoecken arrived to teach English, and Father Eysvogels 
replaced Father H, Aelen. Brother Mazella, like Father C. Hoecken, was 
skilled in medicine, in which it is said he had taken his degree; besides, 
he was a deeply religious man, and his services were invaluable on such 
a mission. 

So while the Brothers taught the natives tillage and various trades, 
and the Fathers cared for their souls and cultivated their hearts to 
Christian virtue, the Nuns of the Sacred Heart taught them how to 
cook, to sew, to knit, to card, spin and weave. They showed the women 
how to make themselves clothes, for hitherto their dress simply consisted 
of two yards of blue cloth rolled around the body, and the men wore 
long shirts in which they proudly paraded in Church. The Sisters 
could hardly keep their countenances at first when they saw these good 
people going up solemnly to Holy Communion in this strange attire, and 
to recover their gravity they tried to think of the white robes which 
neophytes M^ore in the early times of the Church. 



INDIAN DAYS 



21 



IMPRESSIONS OF THE MISSION. 




MOTHER PHILIPPINE DUCHESNE 



Sugar Creek was tlie name of the 
Indian village. It stood in the 
midst of a gently undulating prairie, 
nine hundred miles in length and 
as much in breadth, which reached 
from the Mississippi to the Rocky 
Mountains. It was situated at 38 
degrees 20' north latitude, seven- 
teen and one-half miles west from 
the dividing line of Kansas and 
Missouri, and about eighteen or 
nineteen miles south of Osage 
River, on a tributary stream named 
by the missioners. Sugar Creek. The 
Pottawatomie mission presented a 
glorious contrast with the neigh- 
boring Indian settlements. "Half 
the people here," Mother Duchesne 
wrote, "are Catholics and live in a 
separate village from the heathens, 
who are being gradually con- 
verted. Once baptized, they leave off stealing and drinking; all the 
houses are left open, but nothing is ever stolen. The Pottawatomies 
assemble every morning for prayers. Mass and instruction, and the same 
for night prayers. Whenever the missionary Father is absent, one of 
the natives replaces him, not only in praying but in preaching. Some- 
times the priest makes a sign to one of the catechists, who comes out 
and begins to speak, at first bashfully, with two blankets wrapped 
closely around him, but soon he grows eager in the discourse, disengages 
his arm and becomes eloquent. The Christian faith transforms not 
only the souls but even the features of these savages. They lose the 
wild, fierce look of the pagans. All the parishioners go to Confession 
once a month. On Saturdays the Confessional is besieged ; and over one 
hundred go to Comnumion every Sunday." 

There was, nevertheless, room for improvement, especially among 
the neighboring tribes, who were addicted to many vices. "Now, if by 
degrees," continues Mother Duchesne, "we can change the dreadful 
state of the neighboring tribes into the happy condition of our Christian 
village, shall we not be more usefully employed than in teaching human 
sciences in schools? If Alexander the Great wept on the shore of the 
ocean because he could not carry his conquests any further, I might 
weep also at the thought that my advanced age prevents me from saving 
so many poor people who destroy themselves by their bad lives." 

Mother Duchesne's health and spirits seemed to be improved hy 



22 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

this atmosphere of holiness and poverty. But the winter at Sugar Creek 
proved peculiarly severe. Except in the hunting season, maize and 
sweet potatoes were their only sustenance ; and such a diet soon told on 
one so weak. Spending half the day on a bed of suffering, she still 
prayed and tried to knit, offering herself as on a cross for the salvation 
of her dear Indians. After a year, in which she had won the veneration 
of the Pottawatomies, who called her, after their fashion, "the woman 
who prays always," she was recalled to St. Charles, in July, 1842. Her 
place on the mission at Sugar Creek was filled by Madames Thiefry and 
Xavier, who in 1845 retired together in favor of Sister Mary. And when 
the mission was moved from Sugar Creek in 1848, Mother Lucile, Madame 
O'Connor and Sisters Mary and Louise moved with it to St. Mary's 
Mission, on the Kansas River, and began the new foundation, which in 
twenty years developed into a large convent and academy. This scene 
of their labors is enriched by their hallowed remains. Altogether, we 
believe we have seven angels watching over the litle graveyard by the 
orchard. It would be a grateful task to record lessons of these hidden 
lives spent in the vineyard of the Lord. But for this we must be in- 
debted to ;?ome friend, as we are for the above to the Life of Madame 
Duchesne. 

A pearl without price was the sacrifice 
Of their virtuous lives to the God who gave ; 

But they cared for naught ; their only thought 
Was some weak and erring soul to save. 

(P. O'Sullivan, '92. In the Dial.) 



INDIAN DAYS 



23 



THE PEORIA VILLAGE. 

The elevated ground or hill that is now a part of Paola rests on 
a granite formation from which issues a spring of excellent water. This 
spring attracted the Peoria tribe of Indians soon after their arrival in 
the territory, influencing them, no doubt, to set up their wigwams in its 
vicinity. The hill lay in a vast undulating plain through which many 
creeks and rivulets flowed to the Osage, now called the Marais des 
Cygnes River. 

The Miamis, the Weas, the Piankeshaws and the Ottawas as also the 
Pottawatomies settled down within a radius of twenty or thirty miles 
around the Peoria Village. The head chief of the allied tribes resided 
here and, finally, the Osage River Indian Agency established its head- 
quarters at this point. It was a marked spot from the beginning. The 
whole section now known as Miami Count}^ was an ideal Indian hunting 




INDIAN SPRING, PAOLA, KANSAS. 

ground. The forests along the creeks and rivers were Avell stocked with 
game ; wild animals were in abundance and the yearly migration of the 
buffalo, deer and elk actually covered the whole face of nature. They 
came in droves to browse along the prairies, moving from North to 
South and again from South to North like the robins in our day. 

This was the Indian's hunting season, the harvest time, so to speak, 
when he went forth to reap his reward with as mucli zest as our farmers 
now enter their harvest fields. Over and above all this, the Government 
Agencies were ever present to supply his modest needs and the Mission- 
aries labored with zeal and much self-sacrifice to elevate him, to civilize 
him and make him self-sustaining if at all possible. 

As the Pottawatomie band of Indians were encamped only eight or 



24 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

nine miles from the Peoria and Wea tribes, it is presumed, of course, 
that Father Hoecken visited them during 1838. As the record goes, 
however, we find that Father Aelen, S. J.,* was the first to preach the 
gospel to the Peorias and neighboring tribes in May, 1839; he continued 
to visit tliem from Sugar Creek until 1842. It is safe to surmise that 
tlie Holy Sacrifice of the Mass was offered up on a spot within the con- 
fines of the present Paola, during that same May in 1839 and the place 
was near the spring around which the wigwams Avere set up. Father De- 
Coen, S. J., visited the Peorias and Weas on April 18, 1845, and remained 
until the 23rd. 

The Council of Chiefs decided that the time had come for their 
people to be baptized. Father DeCoen instructed them until October, 
1846, and Father Hoecken baptized the v/hole tribe in January, 1847. 
"He remained ten days,'' says the Diary, "by which time he had bap- 
tized them all and blessed their marriages according to the rite of the 
Catholic Church." 

Soon afterwards, namely, in March, 1847, Father Hoecken returned 
from Sugar Creek to prepare a class of 40 Peoria Indians for their First 
Holy Communion, which took place on Trinity Sunday of that year. 
This was probably his last visit to Miami County as preparations were 
being made for the exodus to the new location on the Kansas or Kaw 
River during that and the following year. 

About this time Fathers Truyens and Van Mierlo came from Floris- 
sant to the Miami Village. "How many people now living in Miami 
County," says Major Ben J. Simpson, writing in a local paper, "know 
the fact that in the year 1846 the brave Catholic Fathers, who all through 
our history appear to be the pioneers in religious work among the In- 
dians, established a Mission for the Miamis and the neighboring tribes 
of Peorias, Weas, Piankeshaws and Kaskaskias, and how Fathers Truyens 
and Van Mierlo with two lay brothers, labored for years to convert them 
to Christianity, but were finally recalled to St. Louis? And, then, how 
the devoted fathers at the Osage Mission on the Neosho river, eighty 
miles away, crossed the trackless and uninhabited prairie and visited the 
Miami Mission almost every month, and by this means preserved the 
Catholic faith among them ; and then Fathers Schacht and Favre of 
Lawrence took charge of them until Father Wattron was located at 
Paola." 

Around the Mission building and Agency-house at Miami Village, 

* — Father Aelen was born at Osterhaiit in Holland, April 20, 1812. Entered the 
Siiciety of Jesu.s at Florissant, Mo., Feb. 5, 1835. Was treasurer and prefect of studies 
at St. lyouis University. 

Arrived at the Jesuit Pottawatomie Mission of Sugar Creek (near the site of Cen- 
terville. Linn Co., Kansas), in April, 1839. Was for awhile Superior of this Mission in 
succession to Father C. Hoecken. Visited Independence, Westport, etc. The Diocesan 
archives in St. Louis have a letter from Father Aelen to Bishop Rosati, in which the 
Father petitions that the old log- church of Kansas City (present cathedral site) be 
Siven the name of St. Francis Regis. Father Aelen was recalled from Sug-ar Creek 
to St. Louis in October, 1842. He was subsequentlv pastor of St. Francis Xavier's Church 
in St. Louis, and Director of a .Jesuit preparatory school — Purcell Mansion — in Cincin- 
nati, Ohio. In 1S4S b« retired from active work in America and is supposed to have 
died in his native land. 



INDIAN DAYS 



25 



on the east bank of the Marais des Cygnes river, ten miles southeast of 
Paola, in 1854, when the territory was organized, were grouped a dozen 
log houses. The Osage River Agency proper was located on the hill 
immediately north and adjoining the town site of Paola and around it 
were grouped some big houses. An Indian Chapel existed at the Peoria 
Village (Paola) in 1846 and was dedicated to God under the patronage of 
St. Francis Xavier; its location is supposed to have been at or near the 
famous old spring in the northwest part of the town. 

Here resided the chief, Baptiste Peoria. He was born in 1800, near 
Kaskaskia, 111. He did not receive a school education but by the natural 
force of his intellect acquired a number of Indian languages and also 
English and French. He was for many years interpreter and for some 




BAPTISTE PEORIA AND WIFE, 

time chief of the confederated tribes in Miami County, Kansas. He came 
to Kansas in 1829 and settled near what is now Paola. AVhen the tribes 
removed to the Indian Territory he went with them and died there in 
1874, The tribe moved to the Oklahoma Indian Territory in the fall 
of 1868. 

"The story of the life of Baptiste Peoria," says B. J. Sheridan, "is 
threaded with the history of Miami County. He was an Indian, a dia- 
mond in the rough. No man of an early day caught a higher inspiration 
of coming events than Peoria, who was generally called by his first name, 
pronounced 'Batees.' Although he couldn't write his name, yet he was 
well informed and possessed a broad education. It was in deference to 
him that the legislature of Kansas, when it changed the name of Lykins 
County, gave it the tribal name of Miami. Indeed, it was his suggestion 
and ever after his great heart beat in unison with the chorus, 'The Rose 
of Miami. 



26 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

"And how accurately he foresaw and foretold the succession in the 
rapid run of events connected with the early civilization of this favorite 
spot, that became the scene of drama, tragedy and comedy ! Here began 
the pious work of the Fathers, and here followed, in bloody succession, 
the sorrow and the deaths of internecine war. Blood was as water and 
money as leaves, so lightly were human life and property regarded. After 
the war there was enacted the great drama of Kansas politics. Here Jim 
Lane, Ingalls, Wagstaff, and Simpson took the stage and briefly played 
their parts. With the comedies of county-seat struggles between Paola and 
Osawatomie, the rise and fall of parties, the clash of newspapers, and the 
wild speculations incident to the advent of the railway, came the ridic- 
ulous and the interesting entertainments of the day. And out of it all 
came finally, the better side of human life." 

This result was, in a measure, due to the influence of the pioneer 
women of Kansas. The home, the school and the church were the means 
they employed to establish law and order in the new Territory. In 
those times nearly every district or county had noted women whose in- 
fluence went far to benefit the commonwealth, or whose ability helped to 
develop the great natural resources of the New Empire. Miami County 
can boast of many such Avomen ; one in particular deserves mention here ; 
her name was Marj^ Ann Isaacs, the wife of the Chief of the Allied 
Tribes — Baptiste Peoria. She was an Indian woman of French extraction 
v\^ho came to Kansas in 1844 as the wife of Christian Dagnett. After the 
death of her first husband she married Baptiste Peoria and henceforth 
became a person of great importance in this community. 

In other times she might be called the "Queen of the Tribes," but to 
the new people she had a more beautiful name, they called her "Mother 
Batees," and they spoke the words Avith an affection and respect that was 
sincere. 

Mrs. Peoria Avas much attached to Paola and refused to leave it when 
the tribe was transferred to the Indian Territory. She took a personal 
interest in the famous County seat dispute and used her influence to bring 
that honor to Paola. It is owing to her, as much as any one else, that 
the County Seat is located at this point and not at Osawatomie. 

Through her influence, Baptiste Peoria donated the lands on Avhich 
the Catholic Church now stands and also helped to build the little struc- 
ture which was afterAvards knoAvn as the "Old Stone Church." 

Many are still living Avho kncAV "Mother Batees" and the testimony 
of all is that she Avas a Avoman of unusual mental poAver — self poised, at- 
tractive and refined. She had a charm of manner and a personal mag- 
netism that CA^en the stranger soon experienced. 

She was as good as she Avas kind, and as sincere in her friendship as 
she was rich in simple natural gracefulness. 

It is to be regretted that the story of her life has not been Avritten ; 
it Avould make a tragic tale of unusual interest and, all the more, be- 
cause it Avould be a stranger narrative than fiction could invent. 



INDIAN DAYS 



27 



' ' Mother Batees ' ' was here long before the white man came and she 
was still here when there was not a red Indian left in all the land. She 
beheld the Civilized Savagery of our territorial days and, finally, lived to 
see Kansas take its place amongst the great and rich states of the Union. 
In forty years (1844-1883) she witnessed one of the greatest transforma- 
tions in all history and was, at the time of her death, the last living witness 
of the early Indian days in Miami County. She could still recall the ex- 
odus of her people from their aiicient hunting grounds beyond the Mis- 
sissippi to the prairies of the west and the sadness of it all was too great 
to be expressed in the language of the conqueror; in her own tongue, 
however, she could tell the tale but, alas ! there was none to listen, no one 
to understand. 

"Mother Batees" lived in a cottage on the northeast corner of Pi- 
ankeshaw and East Streets at the time of her death which took place on 
March 4, 1883. Her funeral was held from Holy Trinity Church in a 
most solemn manner and her remains were interred beside those of her 
first husband. Christian Dagnett, in the Cashman Cemetery, some three 
and a half miles southeast of Louisburg. 

The people of Paola mourned the death of this the last representative 
of her race in these parts, and it is safe to say that no other person was 
held in higher regard, by all who knew her, than this Indian woman who 
learned to love us before we understood or appreciated her true greatness. 
The picture we have of "Mother Batees" does not do her justice; the 
camera failed to catch the kindliness and beauty of her countenance — 
according to those who knew her and lived as neighbors to her for many 
years. 



MIAMI COUNTY'S FIRST CATHOLIC INDIAN SETTLERS. 
This list was written bv the Jesuit Missionaries in 1846. 



Josue Gabriel Achauwisewa 

Francois Borgia Boyer 

Francois Chingwakiya 

Agnes Entiginau 

Julie Kiritokwe 

Jean Baptiste Kirisonsa 

Catherine Kinchitanokwe 

Henricus Ignatius Kintchikonsa 

Francis Mekositta 

Baptiste Mekositta 

Felix Jamison Marstchkakke 

Pierre Narrakwot 

Etienne Newapimante 

Ignace Nawekosiga 

Henricus Pimkauwata 



Basile Boyer 
Charles Charore 
Clregoire Cipakiya 
Joseph Kaikammansa 
Victoire Kiritokwe 
Paul Kichiwoinisa 
Caroline Kinontokwe 
Joseph Mahinarabe 
Marie Manitokwe 
Joseph Mechiwirata 
Samuel Minarikote 
Joseph Ninhotkapwe 
George Nemkwiga 
Jean Evang Nipiyakinta 
Marie Pinipakikamokwe 
Ambrose Pakangia 



28 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

Pelagie Pilarokokange Baptiste Peorea 

Josias Rapheal Pintayo Jean Baptiste Renipinja 

Pierre Rapintinta Louis Francois Xav Tetro 

Pierre Sesikwahanga Michel Tchiswewa 

Michel Tekona Antoine Wakachata 

Therese ■ Guillaume Wakakosiha 

Henricus Wapewisia Aloysius de Gonz Wakewita 

Francois Xav Wakochinha 8ee Appendix No. II. 



THE PRAIRIES OF KANSAS. 

Previous to the advent of the white man these vast plains inspired 
a sense of awe and mystery which varied with the changing seasons. 
In winter time they resembled the Sahara Desert, in spring and sum- 
mer and early fall, a paradise, nature's play ground throbbing with 
wild life, adorned with flowers, fruits and forests which grew along its 
creeks and rivers. In spring, summer, and fall — a marvelous sight — 
vast herds of buffalo roamed over the land, and elk and deer were pres- 
ent in great numbers. Wild animals in great variety were in abundance 
and birds in thousands flocked from the north and the south in regular 
waves to nest and feed until the rigors of winter bid them depart. 

Then nature itself went to sleep beneath a coverlet of russet color, 
to be in turn shrouded in the softest, whitest snow imaginable. Notli- 
ing green remained until spring began again a resurrection and a life as 
fresh and vigorous, as joyful and abundant as on the morning of crea- 
tion itself. Civilization or the puny hand of man had not yet marred 
this wonderful work of God. Its vastness, its variety, its ceaseless 
changes both in the heavens above and on the earth beneath were all 
enhanced by the play of the elements — the sunshine and the rain, the 
sleeping winds and the mighty storms, the cyclones, the tornadoes and 
the rolling thunders to be followed speedily by the softest, richest glow 
of a sunset or a sunrise that was ever seen on land or sea. This was 
Kansas as God made it and it is Kansas today, except where art seeks to 
improve on nature with such poor success ; yet, outside the modicum of 
convenience and comfort attained by civilized man, we find such an 
abundance of untouched natural beauty, power and grandeur remaining, 
as of old, that the transformation is, as yet, scarcely noticeable. Not- 
withstanding all this, it is strange to say that two generations ago all 
the land west of the river and the state line of Missouri was regarded 
as unfit for the use of white men. It was known as the "Great Ameri- 
can Desert." and was considered a suitable dwelling place for the remnants 
of various tribes of Indians still to be found in many parts of the 
Fnited States. It embraced a body of land covering 82,000 square miles, 
being the largest of the Southern states except Texas. 

To give some idea of what these figures mean let us suppose that 
we could combine the states of Maine. Newhampshire, Vermont. Massa- 



INDIAN DAYS 29 

chusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, Delaware, Maryland, and the Dis- 
trict of Columbia in one state, Kansas could contain them all and still 
have room for another Rhode Island. It exceeds the two Vir<>-inias in 
size and is larger than Ohio and Indiana combined. Its natural resources 
have proven to be simply marvelous and its soil produces various and 
abundant harvests. It is indeed a glorious bit of God's great earth and, 
no doubt, is destined to fill a large place in the designs of Providence. 

Our task, however, is restricted to the religious phase of Miami and 
Linn County history, and for that, we begin near Osawatomie. The 
Mission established by Father Christian Hoecken, S. J., on Pottawatomie 
Creek near its confluence with the Marais des Cygnes river, sometimes 
mentioned as the North Fork of the Osage river, or simply the Osage 
river, near the present site of Osawatomie, bestows on Miami County 
the title of "Cradle Land" of Catholicity in Kansas. 

This mission has preserved its identity from 1838 to the present 
time, whether we vieAv it at Pottawatomie Creek, Sugar Creek, or in all 
its glory beside the Kaw at St. Marys. It was the first successfully 
organized mission, west of the Missouri line. All others failed or 
became places of periodic visitation until Father Schoenmakers, S. J., 
established Osage Mission in 1847. 

The little church at Pottawatomie Creek (22x40) was built in 
November, 1838, and the following year Father Hoecken selected a new 
site at Sugar Creek in the present Linn County, about twenty miles 
farther to the south and there began St. Mary's Mission. The zeal and 
activity of the fathers residing at that mission seem to us, today, some- 
thing bordering on the marvelous. 

Removed from all civilization, in a country without roads or 
bridges, they traveled on horseback or on foot over vast expanses of 
territory, visiting many tribes, ministering to the white settlers at 
Deepwater, Missouri, while Westport Landing, seventy miles to the 
north was regularly visited, and Fort Scott, far to the south, claimed 
their attention. Sugar Creek, itself, was a bustling, busy place at this 
time. 

All connected with the mission seemed to be happy in their primi- 
tive surroundings and gave themselves over, wholeheartedly, to the 
conversion, education, and social betterment of the various tribes 
around them. They were, in truth, an Apostolic body of men, refined, 
highly educated, and inspired with the noblest motives, as is evident 
from Father Hoecken 's Diary. 

Sugar Creek Mission, St. Mary's Mission, or Mission of the Immac- 
ulate Conception, as it was variously called, must have become very 
dear to the hearts of all these men ; and no less so to that truly remark- 
able woman. Mother Duchesne, and to her band of devoted teachers. 
Surely the Pottawatomies were favored by God, and it must be said, 
to their credit, that they corresponded nobly to every grace. That 



30 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

tribe carried with them into Kansas the traditions of Father Marquette 
and the memory of Father Baden, who had baptized some of their living 
members. At Pottawatomie Creek as well as at Sugar Creek, this tribe 
displayed the fervor of the early Christians. 

The mission plant in 1847 was well established. There was a large 
church, plainly but nicely furnished by the hands of the Sisters and 
by contributions from distant cities. There were schools, well attended 
and efficiently taught. There was a priest's house, a Sisters' Convent 
and some work shops. There were horses, cattle, and farm implements. 
Hunting was still good in the locality and elk, deer, and buffalo came 
along in due season and, at times, fish was also plentiful. The yearly 
yield of maple sugar was quite an item, and nuts, berries, and wild fruit 
were in abundance. Father Hoecken deemed it an ideal spot for a 
Catholic Mission. The land was poor, 'tis true, and malaria troubled 
them as it did all early settlements along the creeks in Kansas, but it had 
other advantages which more than made up for these drawbacks. The 
harvest of souls was now ripening at Sugar Creek in 1847 when the 
clouds began to gather. Some wily agent or some secret influences were 
laying plans at Washington for the removal or rather the destruction 
of St. Mary's Mission at Sugar Creek. 

The land was purchased from the Indians without much ado and 
the Civil government carried out its purpose in 1848, when the Potta- 
vvatomies were removed to a new reservation farther to the northwest, 
on the Kaw river, at a point where the town of St. Marys now stands. 
It was a sad and solemn moment for good Father Hoecken; neverthe- 
less, it is true, Father Verreydt urged him to accept the Kaw river 
reserve — among other reasons, "because the soil in their Osage river 
home was unsatisfactory and the climate unhealthy," and we may safely 
add, because he sought to make a virtue out of what seemed to be a 
foregone conclusion Indians were never interested in the quality of 
the soil, it was the quality of the hunting that concerned them, and as 
for health, the plains of Kansas were about all alike. 

It is a noticeable fact that Father Hoecken is silent in regard to 
the motives back of this transaction. We know that the Ladies of the 
Sacred Heart were bewildered and sad at heart seeing that they had 
to go to an unknown place and begin all over again. The Indians them- 
selves began to scatter. "The decrease in the number of baptisms," 
says the Diary on its last page, "shows how the Indians were scattered 
in 1848. The baptisms for '46, '47, '48 were 178, 142, and 48 respec- 
tively. The baptisms for 10 years (1838-1848) were 1,430, of which 550 
were adults." 

Sugar Creek Mission is now abandoned and, as no allowance was 
made by the Government for the improvements created by the Mission, 
the whole collection of buildings were given to the flames in order to 
save them from desecration. The ashes are still there and a granite 



INDIAN DAYS ' 31 

hlof^k. on which is carved the words "St. Mary's Mission 1889," marks 
the spot which lies about five and a half miles northeast of Centerville. 
liinn C'onnty, on the Zimmerman farm. 

A pathetic but unwritten chapter of history gives play here to the 
imagination akin to that which inspired Longfellow to write his immor- 
tal poem, "Evangeline." Be this as it may, Linn County has remained 
a barren Catholic field to this day. No Catholic Church, no priest, no 
school or hospital, no Catholicity is to be found within its borders. 
From a Catholic point of view, it seems as if the place was abandoned 
by God. Every effort made in its behalf by priests and bishops has 
come to naught. Catholic settlers avoid that County as a plague spot, 
and those wiio ventured in a generation or two ago have, with few 
exceptions, lost the Faith. Who can explain the anomaly? Who can 
assign a cause for one of the fairest counties of the state once blessed 
by the presence of Saints and Heroes, b.y teachers and preachers of 
exceptional merit, by the noblest spirits that ever trod the plains of 
Kansas, to be utterly abandoned by the Catholic Church? 

Well might the saintl}' founder of Sugar Creek Mission have 
repeated with our Lord as He wept over Zion : "Jerusalem! Jerusalem! 
how I would have gathered thy children as tlie hen gathers her young 
beneath her wings, but thou wouldst not, and now thou drivest Me 
cruelly from thy gates." One fears to continue the quotation. Good 
Father Hoecken would never have dared to invoke such a malediction 
on the land over which he Avept on the day of his departure. But God 
reigns and His Justice remaineth forever. 

A remnant of the grand old tribe of Pottawatomies is. still amongst 
us. Divine Providence lias marked that band ; its name is indelibly 
stamped on the face of Kansas: "Pottawatomie Creek," "Pottawatomie 
County," "Pottawatomie Reservation," and a street in nearly every 
City bears the name. The name and fame of this tribe of Indians has 
gone abroad in the Land. From the last issue of the Indian Sentinel we 
glean the folloAving interesting account of the successful missionary 
work being done in the Leavenworth diocese for the Indians. 

"The Pottawatomies are generous to their pastor and to their 
bishop and are gratefully availing themselves of the opportunities they 
now enjoy. Father Geinitz has placed a number of girls in the school 
of the Sisters of Loretto, Pawdiuska, Oklahoma. One of the young 
ladies of the Kansas PottaAvatomies made her profession as a Sister of 
St. Francis. There are three other religious from the PottaAvatomie 
tribe. One of these is also a Sister of St. Francis, one a Sister of the 
Holy Cross and one a Sister of St. Joseph. The PottaAvatomie tribe 
also has the distinction of giving to the Church the first Indian priest, 
Father Albert Negahnquet, Avho Avas born on the reserA^ation in Kansas." 



PART II 

OSAGE MISSION 



1247304 



35 




REV. JOHN SCHOENMAKERS, S.J. 



OSAGE MISSION. 
Rev. John Sclioenmakers, S. J. 

Ten years have now passed since 
Father Christian Hoecken made his 
memorable journey from Kiekapoo to 
Pottawatomie Creek in 1838, and the 
following ten years were destined to 
see even greater marvels emanate from 
Osage Mission on the distant Neosho 
River. Fathers Schoenmakers, Bax, 
and Ponziglione were the Jesuit priests 
most conspicuous during this period. 
Mother Bridget Hay den and her band 
of Loretto Sisters from Kentucky fig- 
ured largely in the educational work 
of that mission. 

Following in the footsteps of Fathers 
De la Croix and Van Quickenborne, 
the Fathers from Sugar Creek, Linn 
County, visited the Osages as regularly 
as possible from 1839 to April, 1847. 
About this time the Osages them- 
selves made a request to Rt. Rev. Peter Richard Kenrick of St. Louis for 
a school to be established amongst them. The Jesuit Fathers gladly 
accepted the undertaking and appointed the Reverend Fr. Sclioenmakers, 
S. J., to that difficult task wherein he labored unceasingly for thirty-six 
years. He himself as well as Fathers Bax, Ponziglione and others "at- 
tended to the daily multiplying missionary stations. They had a very 
big task before them," says Father Ponziglione, "and were kept travel- 
ing most all the time under great difficulties. Their line of excursions 
beginning from the southeast corner of Cherokee County, was going as 
far north as to Miami County, from that point turning westward would 
extend as far as to Ft. Larned in Shawnee County. Next coming down 
to the counties along the state line, having visited these they would re- 
turn to St. Francis church. It was indeed a slow and laboring work, but 
with great courage they kept on, and deserved the honor of having been 
the first priests that brought the good tidings of the Gospel in thirty of 
the counties included in the territory just described. 

"Besides they also now and then would visit the Indian Territory 
south of Kansas, forming missionary stations at the Indian Agencies as 
well as at the military posts, as far as to Ft. Sill near to the line of 
Texas." 

Father Schoenmakers' name appears on an old record of Miami County 
Indian days for 1850, 1854, and 1857. On November 9th of this latter 
vear the last baptism of the old Jesuit Missionaries is recorded by Father 
Schoenmakers. 



36 



THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 



From St. Paul (Kas.) Journal. 

Father Schoenmakers first visited the Indians in the autumn of 1846, selected 
the site for his future h'-me and returned to St. Louis for supplies. On April 28, 
1847, (some authorities say April 29, 1847), he arrived here to make it his perma- 
nent home, and remained here until his death, Ju'^y 28, 1883. He was a native of 
Holland, was born in the town of Waspick, November 20, 1807. He was ordained 
a priest in 1833, celebrating his first mass on April 16, that year. He longed for 
the life of a missionary, and that his longings might be realized he came to Amer- 
ica, landing at New York on Christmas day, 1833. He went to Georgetown where 
he joined the Jesuit order January 16, 1834, and in July of that year left for St. 
Louis. He labored in and around that city until his appointment as a missionarj- 
among the Osages which brought him to sunny Kansas, then the home of the 
Osages, where he laid the foundation of the present city of St. Paul and started 
what has developed into the grand and magnificent St. Francis church. He was 
accompanied by Fr. John Bax and three Jesuit brothers to assist him in his work. 

Travel in those days was different from what it is now. Railroads were 
scarce in the west, and boats navigated only the large streams. So the journey 
of Fr. Schoenmakers and his little band to their chosen home was far from a pleas- 
ant one. Leaving St. Louis they went up the Missouri river by boat to Kansas 
City, from which place the remainder of the journey was made overland. Instead 
of the fast horses driven by the people of today, Fr. Schoenmakers had two or 
three teams of oxen which made the trip through the then wild and uninhabited 
country a long and tedious one. There were no houses where he might pass the 
night, and when he and his litle company lay down at night for a little rest there 
was no shelter over them, save one, the broad canopy of heaven. After seven 
days travel they reached their new home and received a most cordial welcome from 
the Osages. The first two houses here were built for Fr. Schoenmakers by the 
government. In them he took up his abode and opened a manual labor school 
for the Indian children May 10, 1847. The school prospered from the first and 
new buildings had to be erected to accommodate all the children who applied. 
As the white settlers began to arrive their children, too, attended the school. 
Thus it grew until May 7, 1870, when St. Francis Institution was chartered, and 
which flourished until after the death of its illustrious founder. 

He died full of merits for heaven on the 28th of July, 1883, having reached the 
77th year of his age, and is buried in the Catholic cemetery at Osage Mission, 

now St. Paul. 

FATHER PONZIGLIONE. 

One of the Last of the Jesuit 

Missionaries to Lahor in Miami County. 

Panl Mary Ponziglione was born 
February 11, 1818, in the city of Che- 
raseo, in Piedmont, Italy. He was of 
noble descent on both sides of the 
house — his father, Count Felice Ferrero 
Ponziglione di Borgo d'Ales, and his 
mother, Countess Ferrero Ponziglione. 
nee Marchioness Ferrero Castelnuovo. 
But the only nobility the good fatlier 
acknowledged was that he belonged to 
"the noble family of Adam.'' When 
ever his lineage was mentioned, he 
would peremptorily dismiss the subject 
FATHER PONZIGLIONE. With a quick, vigorous (Shaking of his 




OSAGE MISSION 37 

right hand, making his long, slender fingers appear like so many 
missiles caught in a whirlwind, and exclaiming, M'ith an impatient turn of 
his head, "Vanity, vanity, vanity." 

Father Paul, as he was commonly called, was christened Count Paul 
M. Ferrero Ponziglione di Borgo d'Ales. After his preliminary educa- 
tion, he entered the Royal College of Novara, and later he attended the 
College of Nobles at Turin, both being Jesuit institutions. The degree of 
bachelor of arts was conferred upon him by the University of Turin. 
After taking his degree at the university, he studied jurisprudence for 
more than a year. But there seems to have been with Father Paul an 
inborn manifest destiny for the priesthood. A religious instinct con- 
trolled him from the earliest years of his life. 

On March 25, 1848, he was ordained a priest by Cardinal-Vicar 
Constantine Patrizi, having studied for orders at San Andrea, the famous 
Jesuit novitiate at Rome. Leaving Rome, he first went to Turin to settle 
his family affairs, thence he went to Paris, and finally to Havre, where 
he boarded the first vessel for New York. The voyage across the ocean 
was a long and perilous one and we can well imagine the unbounded 
pleasure with which Father Paul beheld the land of his future labors. 
Soon after arrival, he was appointed to missionary work in Missouri and 
Kentucky. lie spent two years in this field, and now commenced his 
labors as a missionary among the Indians. Thus was the dream of his 
life being realized. In March, 1851, accompanied by Rt. Rev. Miege, S. 
J., bishop of Kansas, he left St. Louis for his far western mission. 
While his home was to be at Osage Mission, and his particular charge the 
Osages, his missionary labors extended from Kansas to Fort Sill, I. T. 
The principal scope of his work in Kansas extended from Cherokee 
County, north to Miami County, thence to Fort Larned, Pawnee County, 
and on through the counties along the southern state line, back to the 
home mission. He was the first to spread the Gospel in thirty of the 
counties of the state, including the circuit just mentioned. He also pen- 
etrated the wild regions of the Indian Territory and established mission- 
ary stations at the Indian agencies and military posts as far south as 
Fort Sill, near the Texas line. So this noble Father and his self-sacrific- 
ing co-workers, starting from the Mother Church at Osage Mission, 
within forty years, established 180 Catholic Missions, 87 of which were in 
southern Kansas, and 21 in the Indian Territory. 

A chapter in ''The Kansas Historical Collections" is devoted to an 
interesting sketch of the life and labors of Father Ponziglione. (Vol. IX. 
P. 19) from which the foregoing biography has been taken: 

Gradually the greatness of the man is dawning on us ; time will re- 
veal more fully his wonderful personality as well as his genuine sanctity. 
He was exceedingly kind and condescending to all and lived the life of 
the people amongst whom he moved. With the poor Indians he was 
very much at home, his love for those so-called savages won their con- 
fidence and even affection. He never tired in his labors from year to 



38 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

year and when the white men came to settle on these lands, they found in 
Father Panl a polished gentleman, affable and pleasant, exceedingly 
friendl}' and as kind to non-Catholics as to those of his own Faith. He 
Avas of a qnick, nervous temperament, rather slightly built, finely pro- 
portioned, with a splendid head and the most beautiful hands imaginable. 
When Father Paul visited the Peorias at this point in the summer of 
1851, he seems to have been won by their manifestations of good will. 
They had been well instructed by Fathers Aehui and DeCoen and were 
baptized by the saintly Father Hoecken himself, in 1847. Thus in the 
first fervor of their conversion to Christianity the Peoria tribe, in the 
person of their chief, gave the young Blackrobe a hearty welcome, not 
suspecting that he, too, was a chief and a scion of one of the greatest 
tribes of the old world. This, of course, did not enter the mind of the 
young missionary, his zeal for the salvation and civilization of the red 
man absorbed all other considerations. He was now enjoying the fulfill- 
ment of his hopes so long deferred. 

The Peoria tribe was still in a primitive state of civilization, living in 
wigwams or in huts and shacks in the surrounding Avoods. The place was 
without a name unless one wished to call it a village or the "Peoria Vil- 
lage." Father Paul usually rested here before turning to the West in 
his long circuit of Mission stations. A Avell founded tradition has it that 
Father Paul gave the name "Paola" to the Peoria village. This word is 
Italian, in the feminine gender, to agree with the noun "Citta'' 
understood. The full form of expression as used in that language is "La 
Citta di Paola" — the city of Paul. As no other Italian ever visited these 
parts, it seems conclusive that the honor of giving to our city its beauti- 
ful name, redolent of the primitive days and unrivaled in its soft musical 
cadence, belongs to this Italian Noble, Paul Mary Ponziglione. 

XOTE — The origin of the name "Paola" has been a subject of (3iscussion for many 
years and has given rise to various conjectures. There is no record of the name being 
chosen by any official body of settlers or even by the original town company itself. 
Naming a new town was and still is an important event in every community, yet there 
seems to be no proof whatever that such an event ever took place in the case of Paola. 

It is Paola now and was Paola when the first settlers came on the scene in 1S54-5. 
The Indians had been calling their village by that name and the few white people wlio 
arrived after the territory was opened up simplv followed suit. The name was Paola 
and nobody questioned its source or even its meaning. 

The oldest citizen, the Venerable Judge Ezra 'W. Robinson, who came to Paola in 
]So6. says that the name was in use when lie arrived and that he did not know its 
origin or whence it came. In after years, however, people began to say that it was 
called after Baptiste Peoria, the Indian chief, for no reason but because there was some 
similarity in the sound of the two words and that the Indians, when pronouncing the 
word Paola, meant Peoria. It is stranse that the tribe could not pronounce its own 
name. Moreover, whv change "e" to "a" and "r" to "1" and "ia" to "a"? The trans- 
formation is too r.Tdical to carrv conviction and doubtless was accepted by many for 
want of a better explanation. One thing that it does show, however, is that the In- 
dians used the word first Where did they get it? 

Another version of the ori.gin of the name, Paola, is given in these words, "Paola 
founded in 1S.55. named after Pasquale di Paoli, the Corsican patriot who led his coun- 
trymen against Genoa in 1755 and ITSL'." It is safe to say that the Indians never heard 
of the gentleman from Corsica. 

A third and more plausible origin of the name is given by the venerable Jolm Chest- 
nut, who cpme to Osawatomie in 1854 and is now a citizen of Denver, Colorado. He 
states that Paola is called aft-r a town on the west coast of Italy. It is true there is 
such a town on the coast of Calabria in southei'n Italy It is also true that there is a 
monasterv and a hamlet connected , with the great Church of St Paul beyond the 
walls of Pome called Paola. but it would take no other than an Italian to suggest these 
obscure places as a name for a wigwam villa.ge on the plains of Kansas in the middle 
of the last centurv. That Italian was Paul Mary Ponziglione. S J . the great Indian 
missionarv who came to these parts in 1851, and was especially beloved by the Peoiins. 



OSAGE MISSION 33 

His own name suggested that of his patron, the Great Apostle of the Gentiles: hence 
Paola. He did not have to go to the wilds of Calabria for the suggestion; it was 
within liis own heart. 

The following excerpts are taken from the obituary notice of Father 
Paul as published in a Chicago Catholic Weekly : 

"Father Paul Ponziglione has left a legacy of rare value and interest to the 
historical literature of the United States. It is made up of his letters, diaries, 
papers on Indian history and traditions and unpublished documents relating to 
the early missions and military posts of the frontier, all written during a forty 
years' scout on the plains from Fort Sill in Indian territory to Fremont's peak 
in Wyoming, in the days when history was making itself under ambush and 
at pony express speed. 

"When it is all gathered up and put into shape, as some is already, there 
will be found not only reliable information pertaining to the various Indian 
tribes with whom the Jesuit father labored, but descriptive paragraphs full of 
a beauty and tenderness which show that he got well into the feel of the great 
plains and the sense of the mountains. For instance, when he started out from 
the Osage mission in Neosha county, Kas., at the time when the Fifth cavalry 
was in field, when Wallace, Dodge, Lyon, Leavenworth and Laramie were the 
pegs on which the ropes were knotted to loop in the Kiowas, Comanches, Chey- 
ennes and Arapahoes, Father Paul took up his blanket, haversack and chalice 
and calmly went forth alone on his pony, unarmed, through country that even 
Bill Comstock and Cody were wary of, and he wrote the following: 

Went Out Alone. 

" 'I now turned my way toward Greenwood county. I had to travel some 
forty long miles, and night overtook me on a very large and high prairie divid- 
ing the waters of the Verdigris and Fall rivers. I had to put out on the green 
grass, which was plentiful and offered excellent food for my horse. The moon 
was most brilliant and the stars seemed to be invested with new brightness; 
no tree, no bush, no rock was in sight. Fortunately I had an iron pin and a 
long lariat with me; this enabled me to secure my horse for the night. All 
was silence around me, and I sat down to eat my supper, which consisted of 
some dry bread and fruits. I found both very good and by no means heavy on 
my stomach. My mind felt very light and free. Had I been a poet that would 
have been a good moment for inspiration. As I was rather fatigued I lay down 
wrapped in my blanket and passed as comfortable a night as if I had been 
lying on a feather bed. 

" 'At the dawn of day I was up, and, seeing that all was right about my 
horse, I thanked God for it, and having taken my breakfast, which was as frugal 
as the preceding supper, I was again on my way about sunrise, traveling along 
through the interminable prairies.' " 

IN THE MOUNTAINS. 

Some idea of the life of a Jesuit missionary may be gotten from the fol- 
lovtfing extract from one of his letters written from St. Stephen's mission in 
Lander, Wyo. 

"The weather in Rawlins was very cold and the surrounding mountains cov- 
ered with snow showed to great advantage under the blue canopy of heaven. 
Here I had to stop one day to secure a place in the stage, which during the 
season takes only two passengers at a time. Fortunately through the assistance 
of Rev. Father James Ryan, the parish priest of that town, I succeeded in get- 
ting room for myself and baggage. My only companion happened to be a gen- 
tleman of old acquaintance who keeps a large store at Fort Washakie, thirty 
miles west of this mission. And lucky was I in meeting him, for he, being an 
old settler and used to traveling over these mountains, was well provided with 



40 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

buffalo robes and blankets, so we had plenty of coverings to make ourselves 
comfortable. Had I not met with this good man I would have suffered a good 
deal, for, supposing that the stage company would supply passengers with 
such wrappings and blankets as are indispensable to travelers during winter, 
I had nothing with me but my overcoat and a comforter around my neck. 

"In the best of spirits we left Rawlins on the 13th of April at 8 o'clock a. 
m., the only thing that gave us uneasiness being the thought of what kind of 
weather we would have on the coming night, during which we would have 
to pass through the highest part of Sweetwater mountains, traveling for a length 
of some seventy-five miles, now on a sled and again on a common lumber wagon. 
This is the most difficult part of the journey between Rawlins and St. Stephen's 
mission, a distance of 175 miles. What makes the crossing of these moun- 
tains not only difficult but dangerous is the sudden rising of wirdstorms carry- 
ing immense volumes of snow, which, being drifted against wagons or trains, 
will sometimes cover them and fasten them to the ground, so as to render it 
impossible to move them any further. An instance of this kind took place 
but a few days before we reached Rawlins. Two freighters' outfits, one belong- 
ing to Fort Washakie above mentioned and another belonging to our mission, 
were both snowed in, and all the teamsters could do was to unhitch their teams 
and run for their lives to the nearest station. Every year somebody perishes 
in such storms. This year we lament two cowboys, who were lost in one of 
these storms. You see, therefore, that we had reason to be a little uneasy about 
what might happen to us. But He who tempers the wind to the shorn lamb did 
also take care of us, and though the mountain zephyrs that were kissing us at 
intervals all along the way were rather cold, yet we could not complain, and, 
taking all in all, our condition was by no means as bad as it might have been. 

"At noon we reached the second postal station from Rawlins, a place call- 
ed Bull Creek, and on alighting were told by our driver that dinner was ready. 
But please, said we, show us the place, for we do not see any sign of a 
house. To our inquiries he answered by pointing out with his whip a poor 
dilapidated cabin, covered with snow from the ground to the roof, the entrance 
to which was through a large cut made in the snow, which stood up frozen on 
both sides like walls. We went in through this gap and to our surprise found a 
good dinr.er. 

ONE SEAT FOR THREE. 

"Here we left the stage. All our baggage was well secured on a sled, which 
was nothing else than an old wagon-box fastened upon two beams. On this 
primitive kind of conveyance there was only one seat for two persons. Resigned 
to our lot and trying to make ourselves as comfortable as we could, we took 
possession of the seat and were fixing our blankets around us, when, lo! the 
driver, a tall, corpulent, jolly fellow, informed us that he was going to share 
the seat with us, and so saying, he wedged himself in between us, and whooping 
like a wild Indian, he started his horses at a full gallop. To say that it was 
a most insufferable kind of traveling would never convey the real idea of the 
situation. We thought our life would be squeezed out of us during that mem- 
orable night, such was the position under which we were. The niglit v\-as 
one well suited to astronomical observations, for without a telescope one could 
see millions of most brilliant stars moving through their orbits. The wind, v\^hich 
generally rages very high, left us that night alone, and the temperature was 
very mild. So we went on from peak to peak, changing horses every fifteen 
miles. At last, after crossing the highest pitch of the Sweetwater range, we 
saw the morning star peeping out of the far horizon, and glowing like a distant 
electric light. By the time we reached the summit of Beaver mountain we 
saw the day dawning in all its majesty. Its appearance robbed the stars of 
their majesty, and one after another they dwindled out of sight. To our great 
consolation the light was now rapidly increasing: for we needed daylight in 



OSAGE MISSION 11 

order to see our way in descending the mountain. Our descent, thanks be to 
God, was safe. It was sunrise when we arrived at a postal station at the foot 
of Beaver mountain, thirty miles from Lander. Here, taking a stage again we 
were more comfortable, and succeeded in getting a good sleep — as good, I mean, 
as the circumstances would allow. 

"As I stepped out of the stage I found myself in the midst of many old 
friends whom I had not seen for three years. So I had to go through a reg- 
ular gantlet of handshaking, and had to answer the welcomes and compliments 
of those good-hearted people. I found the mission considerably improved since 
I left it three years ago. So also did I find the country improved, though not 
very much. The best of all improvements that have been made is the tele- 
graph, which now unites Lander with the rest of the world. Our community 
here consists of Frank Ignatius Panken, a superior, and myself. We 
have also living with us a secular priest, Rev. Frank Scollen. who has been for 
many years a missionary among the Indians of Canada as well as the Rocky 
mountains. We have also a young man acting as servant and farmer. In our 
house, which Is the same old frame house I fixed up when I first came here, we 
have thus far neither chapel, kitchen nor refectory, but go to say Mass and 
take our meals at the convent. This is a magnificent brick building built by 
Friar F. X. Kuppend. I can assure you that it stands at a canonical distance 
from our house, for there is about one mile between the two, which distance 
we have to walk three times a day, besides the extra calls which in an Indian mis- 
"ion like this are frequent. Now these daily excursions are quite a feat, espe- 
cially when the mercury falls 30 degrees below zero and when the ground hap- 
pens to be covered with four or five inches of snow or with a thick layer of 
mud. Sidewalks being a refinement not yet introduced in this part of the coun- 
try, it follows that our situation, taken at its best, is by no means convenient. 
But we console ourselves by considering that the kingdom of heaven is worth 
this and much more. However, if we view these excursions from a sanitary 
standpoint, we are bound to acknowledge that in the long run they will prove 
highly beneficial 

"On the feast of St. Gabriel we opened our school with eight children boarding 
with us and today we count twenty-nine boys and girls. The Arapahoes now 
show us more confidence and our prospects grow brighter day by day." 

Ill after years Fatlier Paul was appointed chaplain of the Bridewell 
of Chicago. In the city jail he had to minister to a new kind of savag-e — 
the "Hoodlnms," a tribe that compared very unfavorably with his dear 
Osag-es, Peorias and Sioux, but he never despaired, for "where sin 
abounded the grace of God abounded the more." 

On the 25th of March, 1898, he celebrated the fiftieth anniversary of 
his ordination to the holy priesthood at Chicago, and just two years 
later he passed to his eternal reward in the eighty-second year of liis age. 
Thus ended the days of the last representative of the noble houses 
of Guerra and Ponziglione. All tlie wealth, the honors, the social dis- 
tinction, and everything that the heart of man craves, were but the 
"fleeting shadow" in his eyes. In preference to the life of an Italian 
nobleman he chose the luimble, yet nobler life, of a Jesuit missionary 
among the American Indians. His work for the moral and religious wel- 
fare of this country, and especially for the State of Kansas, is deserving 
of a prominent place in the pages of American history. He was a great 
missionary, a nobleman in tlie Chureli of Christ, and his life-work is a true 
type of what Christ, thi'ough His Chnrcli, has done for humaiiitv. 




THE RIGHT REV. JOHN BAPTIST MIEGE, S.J. 



43 



PJGHT REVEREND JOHN BAPTIST MTEGE, S. J., 
First Bishop of Kansas. 



Written for the Kansas State Historical Society by James A. McGonigle, of Leavenworth. 

JOHN BAPTIST MIEGE was born in 1815, the youngest son of a 
wealthy and pious family of the parish of Chevron in upper Savoy. At 
an early age he was committed to the care of his brotlier, the director of 
the episcopal seminary of Montiers. At this time he manifested literary 
and religious qualities of the highest kind. 

He completed his literary studies at nineteen. At first he desired to 
enter the army, but at his brother's suggestion he spent two more years 
at the seminary, in the study of philosophy, and after this his purpose 
was changed. On the 23d of October, 1836, he was admitted into the 
Society of Jesus by Rev. Father Puty, rector of the novitiate at Milan. 

During the very first years of his spiritual life, spent under Father 
Francis Pellico, he gave evidence of his strong purpose and energy of 
soul. Broadest charity, profound humility, unflinching spirit of dis- 
cipline and ardent devotion to his institute evidenced his vigor of char- 
acter. Charity to his fellows was one of his very strongest characteris- 
tics, and one of his favorite themes for thought and discourse. 

He pronounced his first vows on October 15, 1838, spent two years 
in literary studies, and was transferred to the boarding-school at Milan, 
where he was entrusted with the office of chief disciplinarian. Thence, 
in 1843, he was removed to Chambery where his genial disposition and 
the wide sympathy of his heart gave him a large influence over the 
students. In September, 1844, owing to promise of future eminence, he 
was sent to Rome to be instructed by eminent masters. His talents were 
extensive and varied, but his bent of mind seemed to incline him especial- 
ly to the most able solution of moral questions. 

He was ordained priest in 1847, and in 1848 completed his theological 
studies. This very year the houses of the society were closed by the revo- 
lutionists, and, among others. Father Miege sought refuge in France. 
During the journey thither he took advantage of a most successful dis- 
guise to play the role of protector of the exiles, and his influence was 
such that he greatly contributed to make the journey rather pleasant than 
otherwise for the victims of the persecution. 

In the midsummer of 1849, as the result of his long and earnest peti- 
tion, he set sail for the Indian mission of North America, and reached 
St. Louis in the fall. He was appointed pastor of the little church in St. 
Charles, Mo. His pastoral duty included the charge of the mission of 
the Portage. 

Later he was removed to the house of probation at Florissant, Mo., 
where he taught moral theology. In 1851 he was sent to St. Louis Uni- 
versity, Missouri. In the fall of this year he was appointed to the vicari' 
ate apostolic of all the territory from Kansas river at its mouth north to 
the British possessions and from the Missouri river west to the Rocky 



44 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

Mountains, being about 650 miles from south to north line and 600 from 
east to west: It required, however, the formal order of the Holy See to 
move him to accept the office. He was consecrated by Archbishop Ken- 
rick on the 25th of March, 1851, in St. Xavier's Church, St. Louis, re- 
ceiving the title of bishop of Messenia. He left St. Louis on the 11th of 
May following, and finally arrived at St. Mary's, territory of Kansas. 
Here, in 1851, he built his first Catholic Church in Kansas, of hewn legs. 

Here he began his life work as a missionary. The vast extent of his 
diocese rendered long and tedious journeys necessary, for he often visited 
its distant limits, traversing the then trackless wastes of Kansas, Ne- 
braska, Colorado, and the Indian Territory. He removed and estab- 
lished his See in Leavenworth in 1855, where he found seven Catholic 
families. 

He commenced the erection of a church, size 24 bv 40 feet. The in- 
crease in the Catholic population was so fast that in 1857 he created a 
larger church, it being 40 by 100 feet. In 1863 he erected a large episco- 
pal residence. 

In 1859 Bishop Miege, with Brother John, crossed the plains in his 
own conveyance to Denver to establish the organization of the Catholic 
Church in Colorado. A trip at that time was hazardous, as the hostile 
Indians were constantly scalping those whom they might come across on 
the plains. 

About 1858 he established a Catholic Church in Omaha, Neb. In 1858 
he invited eight members of the Sisters of Charity of the state of Ten- 
nessee to establish their order here, which they did. From the basis of 
eight members in 1858, they now number about 500, having academies 
and hospitals in Kansas, Nebraska, Colorado, New Mexico, Wyoming, and 
Montana, where they have taught and dispensed charities to thousands 
of people. There is no order of sisters in the Catholic world that has 
done so much good as they. 

Bishop Miege commenced the excavation for the cathedral at Leav- 
enworth in the spring of 1864. The corner-stone was laid in September, 
1864, and the cathedral was completed and dedicated December 8, 1868. 
The question is often asked : ' ' AVhy did the bishop erect such a fine 
cathedral at Leavenworth ? ' ' The reason was this : At that time the 
contest was between Kansas City and Leavenworth as to which would be 
the great city on the banks of the Missouri river. In 1863, and for many 
years after that, Leavenworth was very prosperous and everything indi- 
cated that it would be the large city. Bishop Miege was a strong believer 
in the great future of Leavenworth, and showed his faith by erecting 
such a cathedral. Each city was striving to become an important railroad 
point. Kansas City secured it. 

The bishop possessed an artistic and architectural mind, which the 
great work he accomplished shows. The architectural proportions of the 
cathedral are perfect. The sanctuary is the largest of any cathedral in 
this country. He often remarked that he wanted a large one, so that the 



BISHOP MIEGE 45 

largest ceremonies of the Church could be held with comfort. Bishop 
Miege secured the best fresco artist in the United States, Leon Pomrade. 
The figures in fresco are perfect, and even today the expressions and 
colors are good. The stained-glass figures show that they were made by 
a first-class artist, as the colors are as fresh and clear today as when 
executed, thirty-seven years ago. The cathedral is of the Romanesque 
style of architecture, and has no superior of that type in this country. 
The size of the cathedral is 9-1 feet front and 200 feet long and about 56 
feet high to square of building. The towers, when completed, will be 
about 190 feet high. 

After the dedication of the cathedral the prosperity of Leavenworth 
declined, which affected the financial support of the church. The indebt- 
edness of the cathedral at that time was about $100,000. 

Bishop Miege concluded a short time after the completion of the 
cathedral to make a trip to the South American states for the purpose 
of collecting funds to reduce the indebtedness. He was gone for a year 
or more, and solicited funds in all the states of South America, and 
suffered many privations and had many dangerous trips. He told me 
that in crossing the Andes mountains it was so dangerous that he was 
blindfolded, as also the mule he was riding, which was led by the guide. 
He returned to Leavenworth,, having been quite successful in his mis- 
sion. I am not quite positive, but I think he told me that he reduced the 
indebtedness about $50,000. 

After reducing the debt, in 1874, with permission of the Holy See, 
he laid aside his dignity of bishop and retired to St. Louis University, 
St. Louis, Mo. Thence he withdrew to Woodstock College, Maryland, 
where he acted as spiritual adviser. In 1877 he was sent to Detroit, 
Mich., to open a college of the Society. Here he greatly endeared him- 
self to the people. In 1880 he retired once more to Woodstock. 

In 1883 he was stricken with paralysis. He lingered in this state a 
year, and underwent many sufferings. He died July 20, 1884, with all 
the comforts of the Church. 

His noble qualities were numerous, as a religionist, a priest, and a 
bishop. His virtue and genial disposition caused him to be regarded with 
confidence and affection by the young and with deepest veneration by 
the old. With the highest endowments of mind and character, he com- 
bined the most imperturbable modesty and humility. He had the rare 
gift of being able to adjust himself to humors and characters. But one 
of his finest characteristics was the depth of his sympathy, springing 
from a broad, warm, human heart. 

There died a good bishop, a loyal Jesuit father, and one time a cola- 
borer of the great Jesuit, Father de Smet, in civilizing the Indians, who 
as a citizen of Kansas did more for its religious and material prosper- 
ity than any citizen of the state. The state of Kansas has a room in the 
capitol building at Topeka where the portraits of the distinguished men 
of Kansas are placed and cared for for all time to come. When the 



46 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

portrait of Bishop Miege shall be placed there it will represent the 
greatest of them all. 

The territory of Kansas, by a law of the United States government, 
was thrown open to settlement in 1854, giving citizens the right to pre- 
empt 160 acres of land free of cost, under certain conditions. The 
white population in all that territory at that time, from the Kansas river, 
at its mouth, to the British possessions, and from the Missouri river to 
the Rocky Mountains, did not exceed 3000. At the end of fifty-two 
years, in the same territory, there are about 3,000,000. The growth of 
the Catholic population in the same territory and the same time is about 
400,000. 

In 1855 there was one Catholic bishop and one See in all that terri- 
tory, with a population of 700 Catholics. At the end of fifty years there 
are nine bishops and nine Sees, each See having its cathedral, colleges, 
convents, parochial schools, orphan asylums, and hospitals. The char- 
acter and intelligence of the inhabitants in this territory cannot be 
excelled anywhere. 

I have submitted only a few of the many good points of Bishop 
Miege. He laid a great many good foundations and left them to others 
who will follow to build the superstructure. He was a remarkably 
handsome man, with a commanding appearance, whose presence would 
attract attention. He possessed a fine mind, and was one of the most 
lovable of men. The most humble of his parishioners could always get his 
attention and be treated Avith the utmost courtesy and kindness. 

I arrived in Leavenworth May 6, 1857, when I made the acquaint- 
ance of Bishop Miege, whose friendship was given to me, and which is 
one of the most pleasant memories of my life. My business association, 
consisting in the construction of the cathedral from the foundation to its 
entire completion, was mutually satisfactory. I had a strong affection 
for him when living, and his memory^ is cherished with great apprecia- 
ation. 

T am indebted to Reverend Father Corbette, S. J., Detroit, Mich., 
who was administrator of Leavenworth diocese during the absence of 
Bishop Miege in South America, for information of the early life of 
Bishop Miege. During Father Corbette 's administration of the diocese he 
exercised great ability and sound judgment, and retired from his respon- 
sibility, having given satisfaction to the priests and people of the diocese. 



PART III 

FOUNDATIONS LAID 



49 



FOUNDATIONS LAID. 

The Dawn of a New Day. 



The Jesuit Fathers, having now retired from Miami and Linn Coun- 
ties after the Indians were removed to the Oklahoma Indian Territory, 
the Right Reverend Bishop, John Baptist Miege, S. J., appointed other 
priests to minister to the scattered people along these border counties. 
Up to the year 1854, no white men were allowed to take up land-claims 
or homesteads in Kansas; it was exclusively an Indian country. Only 
government agents, traders, and Missionaries ever penetrated the vast 
and almost unknown region. 

Henceforth a new order ensues and a transformation takes place 
in the short space of seven years such as the records of history furnish 
no parallel. It affected the whole nation and, indirectly, the entire 
civilized world by reason of the great war which followed. No less 
important were the social and economic changes which were wrought 
by the signing of the famous Kansas-Nebraska bill. About this time 
many able men came from the North and the South to reside in the new 

Territory. Political feuds were rife. 

"During the territorial days immediately preceding the war, Kansas was a 
storm center," says the Kansas City Star. "It was full of noise and bluster and 
turmoil. It was torn with strife — it was at war with the country. Every day was 
a day for black headlines over the news from that state. It was the day of the 
radical in politics as well as in state affairs — and, perhaps, necessarily so. The 
times called for radical action. The fight for a free state was not won by namby- 
pamby methods. The mollycoddle was of no particular value to Kansas in the 
fight she was making. 

"Then followed the war and its attendant bitterness and the overturning of 
natural order and normal conditions. 

"But Kansas had been settled by a class of men and women who were not 
content simply with tearing down slavery. They were not satisfied merely with 
the admission of the state with slavery forbidden. They had brought to the 
West high ideals of government. They came from New England, from the At- 
lantic Coast, and from Ohio, Illinois, Indiana and other states, and they had an 
ambition to place the new state of Kansas upon a foundation as firm and as 
stable as that of Massachusetts. To do that the radical and the wild and the 
woolly, who had their place in the stormy days, must be supplanted by the leaders 
with constructive ideas and purposes. Kansas was no longer at war with the 
rest of the country. It was called upon to settle down to the business of mak- 
ing a place for herself in the nation." 

Beneath the disturbed condition of affairs, however, other benef- 
icent influences were at work laying the foundations of religion and 
education; the humble "squatter" or homesteader was patiently 
watching his growing crops, his roaming herds, or, Avhat Avas more likely, 
scanning the horizon for the ever threatening cyclone or tornado ; a 
constant observer of nature, he sought at all times to accommodate his 
plans to the circumstances. The whole country now became an experi- 
mental station, so to speak, and thus, in a few years, Kansas became 
one of the finest agricultural sections of the United States. Education 
kept apace with the swiftly growing population and the various Chris- 



50 



THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 



tian denominations were animated with a friendly rivalry — yet, with a 
fine spirit of neig-hborliness. Kindness and helpfnlness dominated the 
people. 

Catholics came in ever increasing numbers after the territory was 
opened to settlers. They were a patient, industrious, God-fearing class of 
men and women. These were chiefly Irish at first, but, soon, the Ger- 
mans also came and established colonies and both have grown in wealth 
and numbers. The two races have harmonized to a great extent and their 
children are, today, what might be called the "back bone" of Catholicity 
in Kansas. Other races in after years came and are proving a valuable 
addition to the Catholic body. 

It was in 1822 that the first Catholic priest entered Kansas. Father 
De la Croix came from St. Louis; he w^as a secular priest and passed 
through this section on his way to the Osages on the Neosho River. 
Father Lutz of the diocese of St. Louis came as a missionary to the 
Indians a fcAV years later. 

Father Theodore Heimann seems to 
have been the first secular priest to 
enter the field as a subject of Bishop 
Miege. He was a teacher at Osage 
Mission in 1853, and in 1854, on the 
28tli of September his name appears 
on our old Record book as baptizing 
solemnly, Louis, son of Joseph Te- 
beaux and Matilda Reoume. Father 
Heimann was ordained in Kentucky by 
Bishop Flaget and came to Kansas in 
1846. He joined the Cannelites in 
1864 and was the first to receive the 
Holy habit of that Order in the United 
States. He gave the original farm at 
Scipio to the Carmelite Order. He 
became the first Carmelite pa.stor of 
St. Joseph's Church, Leavenworth, 
where he was greatly beloved by the 
people. He died at the Novitiate, New 
Baltimore, Pa., on September 3, 1893. 

The Benedictine Fathers came in 1857 under the leadership of 
Father Augustine AVirth, 0. S. B. They established a Priory in the 
town of Atchison in 1858 and from this humble beginning has sprung the 
present magnificent church and college. 

The Benedictines have labored successfully in Kansas; they have 
developed some fine parishes and built many splendid churches and 
have worked in harmony with the secular clergy throughout a large 
section of the northern part of the state. Their Venerable Abbot, Rt. 
Rev. Innocent Wolf, 0. S. B., D. D., has been a light to the clergy and 




REV. THEODORE HEIMANN. 



FOUNDATIONS LAID 



51 



a pillar of strength to the Church in the west. 

The Benedictine Sisters have a fine Aeadejny at Atchison and also 
teach many parochial schools in the Diocese. 

The Carmelite Fathers came to Kansas from Europe in 1862. They 
established themselves at Leavenworth and Scipio, Kansas, and did con- 
siderable missionary work, with Scipio as a center. The trend of the 
Order, however, was Eastward and now, their finest establishments are 
in Chicago, Pennsylvania and New Jersey. Old S'cipio is now flourishing 
after fifty years of struggle, and the fine church, school and monastery 
at Leavenworth are still doing efficient work. 

The Sisters of Charity of Nazareth, Kentucky, came to Leaven- 
worth by way of Nashville, Tennessee, in 1858. They have developed 





A SISTER OF NAZARETH. 



A SISTRR OF LEAVENWORTH. 



into a great body of active workers and have branch houses in many 
states west of the Mississippi, and far into the Rocky Mountains. They 
are able teachers, efficient nurses, and splendid charity workers in every 
field of human misery. These three Orders were pioneers in the west. 

In the meantime the ranks of the Secular Clergy were being aug- 
mented. Father Theodore Heimann was the first to reside in Kansas. 

The end of 1858 saw Father S'chacht wending his way through Miami 
County. Father Sebastian Favre came from France in 1862 and Father An- 
thony Kuhls was ordained by Bishop Miege in 1863. Two years afterwards 
John F. Cunningham and Francis J. Wattron were raised to the holy priest- 
hood at Leavenworth by the same bishop and were at once sent forth on 
horseback to comb the prairies and fish for the living when hunting 
failed. Fort Scott was the destination of tlie former and Paola of the 
latter. Father Cunningham afterwards became pastor of Lawrence, 
Topeka and Leavenworth successively. He became Vicar General of 




RT. REV. INNOCENT WOLF. O. 



FOUNDATIONS LAID 



53 



the diocese under Rt. Rev. L. M. Fink, 0. S. B., and, finally, died on the 
23d of June, 1919, as the revei-ed and respected Bishop of Concordia. 

The only reniainino- figure of those 
early days is Right Reverend Mgr. 
Kuhls, laow in retirement. Father 
Kuhls Mas ordained by Bishop Miege 
and appointed pastor of St. Josepli's 
Church, Leavenworth. Succeeding Fa- 
tlier Fish, he became the pastor of Old 
Wyandotte wliich included the county 
as a whole. Monsignor Kuhls has lived 
to see his single parish dotted over with 
churches, schools, and religious institu- 
tions, lie has beheld a great city grow 
up around him as by magic. A new 
people and a new name — Kansas City; 
Kansas — have taken tlie place of all 
tliat was dear to his heart fifty years 
ago. 

Here might be related an abundance 
RKJHT REV. MGR. Ki^Hi.s. q£ nnssiouary experiences that ap- 

proached the heroic as well as the ludicrous, and commingled the sublime 
with the ridiculous in the most fantastic manner. Everything was 
topsy-turvy in Kansas in those early times. There were no roads, 
no fences, no railroads to speak of. Dugouts, sod houses, and miserable 
cabins were everywhere to be seen, but the people were of a superior 
class altogether, and this one fact changed the aspect of everything. 
The priests admired and loved the people and the people entertained 
the poor, tattered and tired clerical wanderers with great reverence and 
with an hospitality that was both primitive and warm. AVhat a pity that 
we haA'e not a few of the personal diaries of those days ! As it is we 
retain in memory only the fireside tales of the older folk and the older 
priests who lived through the sod-house, cabin days of Kansas. 




54 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 



"The cabin homes of Kansas! 

How modestly they stood 
Along the sunny hillsides 

Or nestled in the wood. 
They sheltered men and women 

Brave-hearted pioneers; 
Each one became a landmark 

Of freedom's trial years. 

"The sod-house homes of Kansas! 

Though built of Mother Earth, 
Within their walls so humble 

Are souls of sterling worth. 
Though poverty and struggle 

May be the builder's lot, 
The sod-house is a castle, 

Where failures enter not. 

"The dug-out homes of Kansas! 

The lowliest of all, 
They hold the homestead title 

As firm as marble hall. 
Those dwellers in the caverns, 

Beneath the storms and snows 
Shall make the desert places 

To blossom as the rose. 

"The spelndid homes of Kansas! 

How proudly now they stand, 
Amid the fields and orchards, 

All o'er the smiling land. 
They rose up where the cabins 

Once marked the virgin soil, 
And are the fitting emblems 

Of patient years of toil. 

"God bless the homes of Kansas! 

From poorest to the best. 
The cabin cf the border. 

The scd-house of the West. 
The dugout low and lonely 

The mansion grand and great: 
The hands that laid the hearthstone 
Have built a mighty state." 

SOL MILLER. 



PART IV 

MIAMI COUNTY'S FIRST SETTLERS 



57 
MIAMI COUNTY'S FIRST SETTLERS. 

The French traders, who accompanied Father Ue la Croix on his 
second visit to the Osages in 1822, were probably the first white men to 
enter the field. As Avas the custom of all traders, they exchanged for 
pelts and furs whatever the Indians needed. 

From the earliest times the French were in close touch with the 
Indians in Canada, throughout the Great Lake regions and along the 
rivers to the Gulf. Their advent, therefore, amongst the tribes in the 
New Territory was very welcome. They found a ready market for their 
wares and reaped a rich harvest in furs Avhich were then abundant. 

The old records hold such names as Burdon, Peret, Bertrand, 
Prayon, Bourg, Robbideaux, La Fontain, De Richardville, etc., none of 
which names are found amongst us today. 

The Indian agent appointed by the United States Government in 
1852 was Col. Ely Moore, a former congressman from New York. He 
was held responsible for the well-being of the Miamis, AVeas, Peorias, 
Piankeshaws and the Kaskaskias. 

Other white men, who with their families lived at or near the Osage 
River Indian Agency in 1854, were Wm. Maynard, Wm. Hunnewell, W. 
A. Mobley, the Hoggetts, the Shaws, A. G. McKenzie, General W. A. 
Heiskell. The Wea or Baptist Mission was established one mile east of 
Paola about the year 1848. It was for a number of years under the 
charge of Dr. David Lykins, who discharged his trust with great fidelity 
to the great advantage of the Indians. The doctor went to Colorado in 
1861 and died there. 

Kansas began to exist as an organized territory on the 30th of 
May, 1854, when President Pierce signed the famous Kansas-Nebraska 
Act, by which Kansas was taken into the bounds of civilization and 
empowered to determine her own future policy in regard to the National 
issues that were then before the people of the United States. 

The paramount question at the time was : whether the New Territory 
should permit the introduction of slavery and thus make it constitu- 
tional in the West as it had been in the South. 

The question aroused the keenest interest and provoked the most 
serious discussion throughout the whole country, north and south. At 
this point appears the noted figure of John Brown of Osawatomie wlio 
fought the first battle on the soil of Miami County for the abolition of 
slavery. He thus struck the first spark that enkindled the flame of one 
of the greatest wars of history — the Civil Struggle of 1861 to 1865. 

According to Major Simpson in his notes on the first settlers we are 
able to state that, "Early in September, 1854, Daniel Martin who had 
been a resident of West Point, Missouri, made a claim and settled on the 
land afterwards owned by Orin Williams and now (Jan. 1881) occupied 
by Mrs. W. G. Rainey. He is believed to have been the first white man 
that resided in this part of the county. 



58 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

"Charles N. White, long a resident of the northern part of tlie 
county, sometime during the year 1854 settled on a claim north of the 
Marais des Cygnes, that embraces the land owned for so many years by 
Judge Thomas Eoberts. Late in the fall of that same year Thomas 
Rice settled in the south part of the county on Mound Creek." Many 
others who took up claims in 1854 relinquished them the following year. 
James Poland settled on a claim southwest of Osawatomie in 1854. 

On the 24th of October, 1854, AVilliam Chestnut, 0. C. Brown, John 
I. Everett, Elder Palmer, Henry DeVillers, a young land surveyor by the 
name of Smith, Allen Wilkerson and two or three others whose names 
are not recollected, made claims in and around the mouth of the Potta- 
watomie Creek and in the course of the next two weeks erected their 
cabins and made such permanent preparations to stay that they are 
entitled to be considered as the first exclusively white settlement of the 
county. About the time of their location, probably a few days before, 
W. C. Childers, from Missouri, with his two sons, James and A. Childers, 
located on the northern bank of the Marais des Cygnes, a little east of 
the Chestnut settlement. Abr»ut this time Paola began to receive an 
influx of white settlers. 

PAOLA 



Miss Ethel Wise in her class essay before the Paola High School on 
June 11, 1918, says: 

"On the ICth day of August, 1855, the First Territorial Legislature passed an 
act incorporating the Paola Town Company, consisting of Baptiste Peoria, Isaac 
Jacobs, A. M. Coffey, David Lykins and their associates. Early in August, 1858, 
the Osawatomie people presented a petition for a vote to permanently locate 
the County Seat in accordance with the provision of the law of 1858, which 
said, "When the County Seat of any county has not been located by a vote of 
the electors of the county and county buildings have not been erected, the 
Board of Co. Commissioners upon the petition of a majority of the legal electors 
of the county shall order an election for the location or removal of such county 
seat." The County Seat had never been located in Paola, that* is by a vote of 
the electors. Some of the earliest settlers remember the submitting of this 
important question to the Paola Beard as causing much agitation among the 
Paola people. The Board of Supervision ordered an election for the permanent 
location of the County Seat to be held on the same day as the general election 
and from that time on party lines were abolished. The Paola people worked 
like beavers. It was said at the time that they personally visited every legal 
voter in the county. For ten days before the election it was believed that Paola 
would win if the voters could be persuaded to go to the polls: hence every 
effort and inducement was used to get all voters friendly to Paola to the vot- 
ing places. The county was divided into small districts and three men consti- 
tuted a committee to get every voter of every district to the respective polls. The 
returns showed that Paola had won by a majority of about 90 votes. A contest 
was threatened based upon some illegal Indian votes. But after examination it 
was found that if the claim of illegal Indian votes was sustained that Paola 
would still have a majority of 48 votes. The result of that election was of great 
importance to Paola. It created a belief among those who wanted to live and 
build at the County Seat that the town was sure to remain as such. The only 



MIAMI COUNTY'S FIRST SETTLERS 59 

evidence now existing tliat Paola is the County Seat is to be found in the act 
of 1855 establishing it as the permanent Seat of Justice. The petition upon which 
the Board of Supervision ordered the election has disappeared. The journal of 
the Board does not contain the order of election. No record of the canvass, of 
the vote seems to exist. The County Seat still rests on an act of the Bogus 
Legislature. 

"One of Paola's earliest settlers will be remembered as Knowles Shaw, who 
came here as a blacksmith in 1854 and hammered an honest living out of iron 
for many years. 

"Cy Shaw came to Paola in 1855 and ran the first stage line from Kansas 
City to Fort Scott, by way of Paola and Osawatomie. The trail which our fa- 
thers and grandfathers followed was then along Ten Mile and Indian Creek, later 
it was moved west to take in Olathe and Springhill. The stage coach came 
daily, bringing the mail and a coach full of passengers at each trip. Fresh stage 
horses were procured at a barn in the northwest part of town. When the 
coaches were in need of repair, they were run into a barn located where the 
Vassar Hotel is and made ready for further use. 

"That which is possibly Paola's oldest house is the home of Martin Timken, 
situated on North Pearl street. It was built by a man by the name of Totten 
in the year 1858. He turned rebel and his property was taken over by the Gov- 
ernment for military purposes. During the time soldiers were stationed here 
the officers' headquarters were in this house. They took their meals at Ezra 
Robinson's house, which was then directly across the street in what is today 
known as the home of Watt Glenn. 

"We may think of the block in which the Peoples Nat'l Bank is located as 
being the block in which were the homes of two of Paola's first settlers, one 
being Thomas Hedges and the other Knowles Shaw. Opposite them was the 
home of Mother Baptiste. In my recent talks with old settlers, I have found 
that Mother Baptiste held a warm spot in the hearts of all who knew her. 

"Mrs. Jacobs was probably the first white woman that came to Paola. Her 
husband had the first house erected that was built on the town site. It was 
located about where Prendergast's store is. The carpenter work was done by 
Samuel P. Boone. Mr. Jacobs was Paola's first mayor. B. F. Simpson was the, 
first lawyer; Dr. W. D. Hoover the first practising physician. He lived about 
where Devins Laundry is situated. Samuel Boone was the first carpenter; Mrs. 
Cy Shaw taught the first school; Rev. Wood was the first preacher. Walter 
Buck and his brother Alf were the moving water works of the city and with a 
little cart and pcny they were at it early and late. The first wedding was that 
of George Tomlinson and Miss Mary Mead. Mrs. P. H. Latimer of Louisburg 
has the name of being the first white child born on the town site. Her maiden 
name was Sue Heiskell. The first death was that of an infant son of Dr. Coffey. 
There is a record of almost every trade and who started it in Paola, with the 
exception of the barber shop and no records can be found of the first man to 
start up such a business here. 

"The land for the city park was given to Paola by the Town Company with 
the proviso that no buildings should ever be placed on it. While we think of 
it as a place of beauty, in; our fathers' day it was an open common where the 
Indians were wont to run horse races, and indulge in war dances. Baptiste Peoria 
had made it a play ground for his people and the Town Company continued the 
gift and so recorded it on the books. 

"Paola in her youth was not without churches. Her first Methodist church 
was where Mr. Hunt keeps a plumbing shop. Those of the Christian Church 
held their services in a town hall on the west side. In 1882 the foundation for 
their church on East Piankeshaw was laid. The Baptists held church in a small 
building located in the same place as the one they now have. While we look 
upon the Busy Bee as a hotel, it was in the time of the generation before us 



60 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

and the generation before them the Presbyterian Church located where the pres- 
ent Presbyterian church is. The location of the Congregational Church has al- 
ways been the same. The first Catholic Church was a one-room, stone building. 
The ground together with a donation in money was given to the Catholics in 1859 
by Baptiste Peoria and his wife. This first church was torn down in 1880 
and a brick building was put up. This burned in 1906 and the one now stand- 
ing was built in 1906-07. 

"The first county building erected was the jail, which was built in 1858 and 
cost $2, GOO. It was a stone structure and was situated back of Mayers' Cloth- 
ing store. The first term of court was held May 23, 1856. 

"With the year of 1860 came the famine and, quoting Mr. H. M. McLach- 
lin, "hustlers for Pomeroy's beans and old clothes showed up in force." Aid 
was given out from a room on the northeast corner of the square and was quite a 
help to some, but like all charities it was greatly abused. Men who owned 
acres and acres of land were compelled to take provisions for their families, 
but the sympathetic manner of Ezra Robinson in issuing the goods softened 
the bitterness of charity. 

"The amusements in the earlier days consisted of lodges, suppers given by 
the different organizations for the purpose of raising money, and literaries given 
once a month. There were also singing schools which furnished a good deal 
of pleasure to the young folks. A dancing club called the Q. A. M. D. C. (quit 
at midnight dancing club) gave dances every two weeks in the Mallory Hall 
which was on the west side of the park. 

"Baptiste Peoria was the big man of that day, a large, full-blooded Indian 
with a great deal of business tact and shrewdness. The Indians were then in 
force and life with them was sport galore. Horse racing was possibly the great- 
est sport. Northeast of what was known as the Bell place they cleared up a 
straight track about a quarter of a mile long. The Indians were great traders, 
and every horse they got was tried en the track. Saturday was always fete 
day for the Indians, and all congregated at the track and races filled the time. 
The track was later changed out east of town and then they would swap races 
with the boys from the surrounding towns and Missouri. 

"The Paola Free Library is known as the pridel of Paola and well it might 
be called that. There was a stock company formed in 1872, called the Miami Co. 
Teachers Library. Its few books were kept in a hall on the north side of the 
square. This room was kept open on Thursdays from 4 to 6 o'clock, and on Satur- 
day afternoons. The librarian then was Mrs. H. S. Turner. In 1878 the asso- 
ciation turned the books over to the city as a gift with the understanding that 
the city was to provide and care for it. Mr. Sponable became inerested in the 
work and gave not only the land on which the building now rests but gen- 
erous sums of money at different times. His work for the library was a part of 
his life work. It must be remembered that we owe much to Mrs. Martha Smith, 
who at her death in 1901 gave $10,000 to the directors of the library for the pur- 
pose of erecting a library building. Thus, Paola's library is not a Carnegie 
Library. 

"If from this imperfect sketch yen can look back and see Paola as she was 
in May, 1855, a town fighting for an existence, I am sure you will take a more 
appreciative view of Paola, and note what remarkable changes have been wrought 
by time and the hand of man." ETHEL WISE. 

PAOLA INCORPORATED. 

APPROVED DEED. 



This Indenture Made this 13th day of December A. D. 1860. between Baptiste 
Peoria, a reserve of the Confederated tribes of Piankeshaw, Peoria, Kaskaskia 
and Wea Indians of Kansas, Territory, and Mary Ann Peoria, his -wife, residents 



MIAMI COUNTY'S FIRST SETTLERS 61 

of Lykins county, Kansas Territory, parties of the first part and The Paola Town 
Company, of the second part. 

Witnesseth, That the parties of the first part, and The Paola Town Com- 
pany of the second part: 

Witnesseth, That the parties of the first part for and in consideration 
of the sum of Five Thousand and Dollars, in hand paid by the parties of the 
second part in gold and silver coin of the United States, to the parties of the 
first part, the receipt of which is hereby acknowledged, have granted, bargained 
and sold and do hereby grant, bargain, sell and convey to the party of the 
second part and to their heirs, successors and assigns the following described 
real estate lying in Lykins county, Kansas Territory and bounded and described 
as follows, that is to say: 

Commencing at an ash stake by an oak tree on the north- 
west corner of the town track, thence east 321 perches and 3 
feet to a stone monument and stake, thence south 200 perches to 
stake and stone, thence west 321 perches and 3 feet to a stake, 
thence north 200 perches to beginning and containing 403 14 acres, 
in Sections 16 and 17, township Seventeen, Range Twenty-three, 
East, and is all upon the headright of Baptiste Peoria, and is a 
part of the allotments of lands to the said Baptiste Peoria made 
under the treaty May 30, 1854, between the above con- 
solidated tribes of Indians and the United States. 
TO HAVE AND TO HOLD the above described premises with the appur- 
tenances to the said party of the second part, and to their heirs, successors, and 
assigns forever. The party of the first part hereby covenanting with the party 
of the second part that the title hereby conveyed is free, clear and unincum- 
bered and further that the party of the first part will forever warrant and de- 
fend the same to the party of the second part and to their heirs, assigns and suc- 
cessors against the lawful claims of all persons whomsoever. 

In Testimony Whereof, the parties of the first part have hereunto set their 
hands and ink scroll or seals this 13th day of December A. D. 1860. 

Baptiste Peoria (his mark X) 
Mary A. Peoria. 
Executed in presence of 
John L. Street, 
B. F. Simpson. 

Osage River Agency, Paola, Lykins County, 

Kansas Territory. 

Before the undersigned. United States Indian Agent for the Confederated 
tribe of Piankeshaw, Peoria, Kaskaskia and Wea Indians, personally appeared 
Baptiste Peoria and Mary Ann Peoria, his wife, well known to me to be the 
identical grantors in the above deed named, and whose genuine signature ap- 
pear thereto and acknowledged the signing and sealing of the above deed of 
conveyance to be their free, voluntary act and deed for the uses and purposes 
therein named, and the said Mary Ann Peoria being at the same time examined 
by me separate and apart from her said husband, and the contents of said deed 
made known to her by me, she did declare upon such separate examination that 
she signed, sealed and acknowledged che same of her own free will and accord 
and relinquished her dower interest therein, without fear or compulsion on the 
part of her said husband and that she is still satisfied therewith. 

Witness mv hand and ink scroll or seal this 13th dav of December A. D. 
1S60. 

Seth Clover, 

Indian Agent. (Seal Scroll). 
Department of the Interior, 

Office Indian Affairs, 

February 2d, 1861. 

The within deed from Baptiste Peoria, a member of the confederated tribes 
Peoria, Piankeshaw, Kaskaskia and Wea Indians, to the Paola Town Company 
for the conveyance cf 403 V2 acres (as described above) for $5,000 is respectful- 



62 



THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 



ly submitted to the Acting Secretary of the Interior for his approval. 

(Signed) A. B. Greenwood, Commissioner. 
Department of Interior, 

February 12th, 1861. 
The within deed is hereby approved as recommended by the Commisijioner 
of Indian Affairs. 

(Signed) Moses Kelley, Acting Secretary. 
Filed for record on March 21st, 1861, and recorded in Book C. of Det.ds, at 
pages 638 and 639, in the office of the Register of Deeds within and for Miami 
County, Kansas. 

LIST OF THE MAYORS OF PAOLA CITY. 



Allen T. Ward 1861-63 

E. W. Robinson 1863-65 

G. W. Brown 1865-67 

A. G. McKensie 1867 

B. F. Simpson 1868 

J. Stoddard 1869 

J. H. Smith 1869-73 

Wm. Crowell 1873-74 

J. B. Hobson 1875 

J. W. Sponable 1875-77 

B. Miller 1877-79 

J. W. Sponable 1879-81 

Wm. B. Brayman 1881-83 

W. D. Hoover 1883-85 

Chas. S. Gould 1885 

C. F. W. Rawson (Mayor Pro 
tem.) 1886 



T. M. Hobson 1887-89 

S. R. Smith 1889-91 

H. A. Miller 1891-93 

J. H. Haldeman 1893-95 

D. H. Johnson 1895-97 

D. O. Sellers 1897-99 

J. F. Donahoe 1899-1901 

C. F. Henson 1901-03 

Ward J. Carnenter 1903-05 

J. R. Fordyce 1905-09 

R. S. Ayres 1909-13 

L. B .Smith 1913-15 

E. J. Sheldon 1915-17 

J. C. Ballard 1917 

Alex Hamlin (Mayor Pro tem.) 

1918-19 

V. G. Wright 1919-21 



63 
THE FIRST CATHOLIC SETTLEKS OF MIAMI COUNTY. 



The first Catholic settler was James Poland. He arrived in 1854. 
Mr. Poland came from the County Down, Ireland, and was accompanied 
by his wife, Elizabeth, and his two sons, John and William Poland. John 
went to California and William sleeps with his parents on the old home 
place. In the year 1856 a third son, Patrick, joined the family in Miami 
County and took a claim next to the father's about two miles southwest 
of Osawatomie. He had been married in New York to Elizabeth Robins, a 
convert to the Faith, a lady of education and refinement. She was the 
mother of seven children, named respectively: William, Mary Ann, 
James, Ellen, Anna, John and Margaret. William lives at Chickasha, 
Okla. ; Margaret married James McRoberts and Elizabeth married 
Michael Mulvihill, both of Topeka ; John settled in Butte, Montana, Mary 
Ann became the second wife of Michael Cunningham, her marriage being 
the second celebrated in the Old Stone church by Father Wattron on the 
2nd of July, 1866. Anna Poland rests in Holy Cross cemetery. Father 
Schacht, the first priest who came to Miami County after the Jesuit 
Fathers left, said Mass at the home of the Polands late in 1858, and in 
Osawatomie the same year at the home of a widow lady named Mrs. 
Remington. 

About this time a Dr. John Darr was appointed to an important posi- 
tion at the State Hospital at Osawatomie. He came from New Castle, Ind. 
It was through Dr. Darr's influence that the following named families 
were induced to migrate to Kansas in 1858. They were all Catholics, 
closely related to each other, by marriage or by kindred. They had 
come in to Indiana from the west coast of Ireland, and had kept together 
in all their wanderings. 

As a preliminary to the exodus from New Castle, two of their num- 
ber visited Dr. Darr at Osawatomie in the fall of 1857. Their names 
were Michael Allen and Maurice Cunningham. These gentlemen made a 
favorable report to their homefolks at New Castle. Preparations were 
at once made and arrangements perfected to start for the new land m 
what was then regarded as the far AYest. They had already crossed the 
Atlantic a few years before and had worked their way in to the wilds of 
Indiana as it then appeared to them, and now, to go out where the wild 
Indians still roamed the prairies, and where there was no church, no 
people of their own faith or nationality, seemed to be more than their 
courage could endure ; but Dr. Darr, like another Moses, led them on to 
a land of vast expanse, fairer and richer than their native heath and in 
every sense a veritable "Land of Promise." 

God bless Dr. Darr, and God bless the men and women who dared so 
much for their holy faith and for the welfare of their children and 
their children's children for all the years to come. 

The story of the Pilgrim Fathers made the rock at Plymouth famous 
but the scene ends at the coast; while these new pilgrims dared and 



64 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

suffered all that the Puritan Fathers endured pins the long wanderings in 
the wilderness, confronted by like conditions on the part of civilized 
brethren of other faiths as well as of savage men and savage nature every- 
where. Some other and nobler pen than mine will one day illuminate the 
story of the first band of Catholic pilgrims, who laid down their burdens 
at the gates of Osawatomie on the 29th of March, 1858, and there found 
rest. Their names were ]\Iichael Allen, his wife. Bridget Collins, and chil- 
dren; Henry xVllen, brother of Michael, his Avife, Anna Carlton and chil- 
dren; Maurice Cunningham, his wife, Mary Collins, and children; Michael 
Crinningham, brother of Maurice, his wife, Nora Allen and one child ; 
Michael Moran, his wife, Mary Allen and children; Richard Collins; 
Mrs. Catherine Sheehan, a sister of Richard Collins, a widow, mother of 
John aud Ellen Sheehan. The party that left New Castle on March the 
17th, 1858, consisted of six men, six women and eight children. They 
went by rail to Cincinnati. From there they took an Ohio river boat to 
Louisville, Kentucky, and from there they traveled by boat to St. Louis, 
and up the Missouri River to Westport Landing. They arrived at West- 
port Landing on the 26th of March. Hiring a four-liorse team, the party 
drove inland towards Osawatomie, the women and children riding and 
tlie men walking the entire way, a distance of about fifty miles. On 
the 28th of March they passed through Paola arid arrived at Osawatomie 
the following day. At once each family built a small cottage on ground 
donated by Wm. Chestnut in the town of Osawatomie. The men went 
to work at anything their hands found to do in order to amass means 
enough to establish their claims to some of the vast uncultivated land 
that lay on all sides. After a year or two each family had moved on to 
the claim selected, about six miles east of Osawatomie — the aggregation 
being henceforth known as the "Irish Settlement'' and which now forms 
part of Osage Township. 

This was the begiuning of Holy Trinity Parish, Paola, and was one 
of the first Catholic settlements in Kansas. 

Li after years, about 1874, Joseph Dalton and his wife, Johanna 
Cunningham, sister of Maurice and Michael, came with their family to 
the "Irish Settlement" and have prospered. Their sons, James and 
Charles, are successful farmers in Osage Township. 

Richard Wolfe, whose mother was Ellen Collins, was also a late addi- 
tion to the settlement. He married Marg^aret Dalton, daughter of Josepli, 
and raised a family of five children. Including these latter, the settle- 
ment had 48 living children of the first generation. Henry Allen did not 
settle on the land but continued in the railroad construction business in 
whi^h he Avas an expert. The first Mrs. Michael Cunningham and Mrs. 
Richard Collins are buried together in a little well-kept spot on the 
prairie, on what is uoav known as the "Whiteford place." Rest to their 
ashes: they were truly brave and noble women whose memory should be 
cherished by all our people. 

In March. 1859. William J). Sheridan, father of Bernard. John. 



FIRST CATHOLIC SETTLERS OF MIAMI COUNTY 65 

Hiram, Allen and Frank Sheridan, came to Miami County, remaining 
until December, 1860. He returned again, however, in November, 1868, 
and made this his final home. In writing of this period, Benjamin Miller, 
ex-Mayor of Paola, states: "During the great drouth of 1860 there was 
absolutely not enough rain to lay the dust from the middle of September, 
1859, to the 17th of March, 1861, anywhere within a hundred miles of 
Kansas City. All the people in those parts," continued Mr. Miller, 
"being new comers and poor when they came, it is easy to imagine their 
condition." Many left the state, others sought more favorable locations 
while those who struggled on, finally became rich and their children are 
prosperous citizens of Kansas today. 

EGBERT McGRATH and his wife, Alice Maloney, came from Ireland 
in 1849 and after many wanderings settled in Linn County, Kansas, in 
1858. Finally removing to Miami County in 1866 they purchased the 
Baptist Mission farm near Paola and made that their permanent home. 
There were nine children born to Mr. McGrath and his good wife, all of 
whom, except one, have remained faithful to the Church. All have pros- 
pered and their children's children have increased and multiplied and 
have preserved the high moral standard of their venerable and truly 
noble ancestors. A granddaughter is a Sister in the Ursuline Convent at 
Paola. 

F. G. NOLEN came in 1868 and is still living, one of the few remain- 
ing patriarchs of the olden days. His wife died May 23, 1903. His sou, 
J. W. Nolen, is in business in Paola and his daughter is now Sister St. 
John of the Order of the Good Shepherd. There are five children living. 

ANTHONY STRAUSBAUGH came to Kansas in 1871 and to Miami 
County in 1873. He Avas born in Adams County, Pennsylvania, in 1835. 
Married Elizabeth Thompson, a native of Belfast, Ireland, at Forreston, 
Ogley County, Illinois, in 1845. There were eight children in this family. 
Mr. Strausbaugh died June 5, 1918, aged 83 years. 

JACOB KOEHLER came to Paola from Germany in 1871. Mathias 
Johann and wife in 1875. Frank Koehler, brother of Jacob, came in 
1875. It would be interesting and, in fact, entirely feasible, just now, to 
note down and trace out the wanderings and varied fortunes of the 
descendants of these first settlers. From Miami County tliey have 
branched out into all parts of the United States and beyond. They 
have multiplied, in two or three generations, into a mighty host of self- 
respecting, industrious American citizens and faithful Christians. 



66 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

EARLY SETTLERS OF BULL CREEK DISTRICT. 
Now Marysville Township. 

The first Catholic settler of Bull Creek district was Patrick Maloney, 
who came in 1860. His wife, Mary Maloney, was the mother of nine 
children, named respectively : Anna, William, James, Mary, Jane, Eliza- 
beth, Patrick, Agnes and John. 

JOHN AND MARY JOSEPHINE CONNER came about 1860. Their 
children were Charles, James, Marj^, Ellen and Agnes. 

HUGH AND MARGARET RILEY came to Kansas in 1866 and to 
Miami County in 1867. Their children were Elizabeth, Catherine, Mar- 
garet, Sarah, John and Teresa. 

JOHN AND CATHERINE RILEY came to Kansas in 1866 and to 
Miami County in 1867. Their children were Margaret, Hugh, Mary, 
Catherine, Ellen, James and John. 

WILLIAM AND MARY McCORMICK came to Kansas in 1866. Their 
children were named respectively, Mary, James, William and Peter. 

PATRICK AND CATHERINE SMITH. Their children were Philip, 
Margaret, Mary, John, and Catherine. 

THOMAS AND SARAH CLARK came to Rock Creek (Edgerton) 
in 1858. Then to Miami County in 1868. Their children were John, 
Richard, Delia, Mary, Rose, George, Martin, Thomas and Margaret. 

JAMES AND ANNA CLARK came to Rock Creek, Johnson County, 
in 1858. To Miami County in 1868. Their children were John, William, 
Mary and Elizabeth. 

JOHN AND MARY HARKIN. Their children were George, Ber- 
nard, Ellen, Mary, Margaret and Susan. 

PHILLIP AND MARGARET CASEY. Their children were Michael, 
Margaret and Marv. 



THE RILEY BROTHERS. 



John and Hugh Riley were born in County Westmeath, Ireland, in 
1837 and 1830, respectively. They came to America in 1857 and located in 
Montgomery County, Indiana. At this time the two brothers purchased 
land in the new territory of Kansas, hoping, some day, to make that their 
future home. John married Miss Catherine McLoughlin at Crawfords- 
ville, Montgomery County, in June, 1861. 

He left Crawfordsville for the west in the spring of 1866 and arrived 
in Johnson County, Kansas, on the fifth of March that same year. After 
a short stay on a place near Edgerton he moved on to the farm now 
owned by Sol George in Miami County, and the Spring of 1867 saw him 
housed in his log cabin on his farm located in the Bull Creek district, 
now Marysville Township. After a few months he went to Kansas City 
and worked there for two years. Having saved his earnings he returned 
to his farm and there with his good wife and seven children toiled and 
Jabored happily until the day of his death which occurred April 13, 1905. 



FIRST CATHOLIC SETTLERS OF MIAMI COUNTY 67 

Hugh Riley's life-story is different; his earlier and later years, 'tis 
true, ran parallel in fate and fortune with that of his brother. There 
was a warm brotherly affection in the hearts of these two men that 
notiiing c^uld affect or destroy. 

While still living in Indiana, Hugh Riley enlisted in the army and 
fought through the Civil AVar from 1862 to 1865, finally receiving an hon- 
orable discharge from Governor Martin of Indiana at the cessation of 
hostilities. His rank was that of First Lieutenant with the papers made 
out conferring on him the rank of Captain when peace was declared by 
President Lincoln. He was acting captain at the time, the regular officer 
of that rank having been killed in one of the last battles of the war. 
Lieutenant Eiley was mustered out in June, 1865. He was regarded as a 
brave soldier and an excellent officer. In after life he proved himself a 
good husband and father and won the respect and esteem of all who 
knew him. Hugh Riley was married in February, 1866^ to Miss Margaret 
McCarrick, a native of Canada, at Crawfordsville, Indiana, and immedi- 
ately set out for Kansas. He arrived in Johnson Conntj^ in 1866 and 
finally settled on his farm in Miami County in 1867 where, with his wife 
and children, he remained until the fall of 1877. Then he removed to 
Kansas City where he died December the twenty-fifth, 1883. The death 
of his only son while on the farm caused him to abandon the land and 
seek the educational advantages of the city, for his grooving daughters. 
The results have proven his wisdom and his foresight. 

The scant outlines revealed in this short chapter of human interests 
is a fair example of the struggles of each and every man and woman who 
came into Miami County in the early davs. We can read between the 
lines, if we will, more than tongue can tell, more than is now believable, 
of persistent effort, of hardships, sickness and death, all enshrouded in 
a loneliness such as civilized man had never known before ; nor can we 
todaj^ realize what it was to cross the ocean then, and to travel far 
afield to find a little spot somewhere and to call it "home." 

NOTE — There were about fifty children of the first generation in the 
Bull Creek district, and these, with the children of the "Settlement" on 
the South, made a throng of happy faces each Sunday in and around 
"the church." Great changes have come to all of these people of the 
first generation. Like those of the "Irish Settlement" they are scat- 
tered far and wide and a new people have largely taken their place. 

MICHAEL FENOUGHTY. 



Anthony Fenoughty and his wife, Catherine McAndrews, emigrated 
from County Mayo, Ireland, in 1817 They came to Kansas in 1868 and 
to Paola in 1870. There were four children in this family, all having 
lived to be over eighty years of age in Kansas. 

One of the sons, Michael Fenoughty, married Cecelia Davis in St. 
Ann's Church, Jennings County, Indiana, on May 2nd, 3866, and imme- 



68 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

cliately set out for Kansas. By good fortune they were directed to 
Stanton Township, Miami County, where they procured 320 acres of rich 
land and there established their home. 

There are nine children in this family. Although living at a dis- 
tance of about seven miles from Paola they were never known to miss 
Mass on Sunday even when the lumber wagon was the only mode of 
eonvevance. 




MEMBERS OF THE FENOUGHTY FAMILY. 

The result of the good example of the parents is seen in the children. 
Mary and Ella became nuns, Sister Angela and Sister Veronica, respec- 
tively, of the Sisters of Mercy, and Joseph is a distinguished priest of 
the Society of Jesus. John, the eldest son, married Miss Anna Pickles 
and resides with his wife and three sons on a farm near Osawatomie. 
Henry and George are in business in Illinois. Emma married W. J. 
Sheehy of Paola. Frank is married and lives on an extensive ranch in 
western Kansas, and Charles entered the army during the great Euro- 
pean War. He is now married and occupies the old home place. 

Mrs. Cecelia Fenoughty was greatly loved and respected by all ; a 
splendid Christian woman, a faithful wife and a kind and gentle mother. 
Her death took place on May 27, 1916, at the age of 72. 

Michael Fenoughty is still active in his old age. His only sister, 
Mrs. John Dyer, lives with her daughter, Mrs. Charles Butel, near Paola. 
Her two other daughters are Sisters of Charity of the Leavenworth Com- 
munity. 



FIRST CATHOLIC SETTLERS OF MIAMI COUNTY 69 

A LETTER FROM MRS. PATRICK MAHONEY. 

April 3, 1919. 
Dear Rev. Father Kinsella: 

I am writing you a few lines to let you know the prominent facts in our 
family history. My husband, Patrick Mahoney, was born in Limerick, Ireland, 
in 1833. My maiden name was Catherine Dalton. I was born in the County 
Tipperary and came to the United States in 1859. I was married to Mr. Ma- 
honey in Lexington, Kentucky, in 1861 and 'came to Kansas March 17, 1876. 

I was very much disappointed when I saw it after leaving "my old Ken- 
tucky home" for at that time it was mostly prairie country in Kansas. The 
first place we landed was east of Paola, I spent three years there. The next move 
was on a farm near Edgerton, Kansas, where we lived for six years, and from 
there we moved to the farm I now own in Richland Township, Miami County. 
The hardships were many and the struggle severe but through it all Mr. Ma- 
honey was a great worker and a good provider. May God rest his soul. 

I raised quite a large family of eight children, two sons and six daughters. 
My eldest son died when he was twenty-two years old, and my youngest daugh- 
ter when she was only three years old. Mr. Mahoney, my husband, died about 
ten years ago. My son, Dennis, has been my only stay and my other children 
are doing for themselves. 

After I was in Kansas for a while I liked it better, and when I got my own 
home I was still more satisfied, and, now, I thank God that I have prospered as 
well as I have. 

I have roamed through many a land and many a friend I have met, not 
one fair scene or kindly smile shall my fond heart forget. 

I am, dear Father, your child in Christ. 

Mrs. Catherine Mahoney. 

MARTIN LANGAN. 

Mr. Langan may be regarded as one of the old Catholic pioneers of 
the West. He came to America with his parents from the County Water- 
ford, Ireland, when a boy of eight years of age. They settled at Schulls- 
bnrg, Wisconsin. The boy knew, of course, all the hardships of pioneer 
life, rendered all the more severe in that northern climate. It has made 
him robust, a man of sterling character and unflinching purpose. He has 
always been a consistant and loyal Catholic, a faithful attendant at 
church although living about ten miles from Paola. In winter as well as 
in summer the family were always in time for Mass when people living 
near by were often late. It has long been a subject of comment and a 
striking illustration of an old but familiar saying which need not be 
repeated here. 

Martin Langan married his wife, Katheryn Quinn, at Houghton, 
Michigan, in 1864, and came to Kansas in 1879. He purchased a fine farm 
in Middle Creek Township, Miami County, and has become one of the sub- 
stantial men of the county. His living children are : 

Maurice Langan, who married Miss Anna Cunningham; Nellie (Mrs. 
Will Cunningham); Agnes (Mrs. Michael O'Connor), and Mary who 
lives with her father. Mrs. Langan died February 29, 1896, and rests in 
Holy Cross Cemetery. She was a lady of refinement and great benevo- 
lence. Her home was a house of prayer and a place of real happiness. 
She ruled her family gently but wisely and the Spirit of Faith, Hope and 
Charity harmonized with her natural disposition to such a degree that 



70 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

goodness was like a second nature to her. The people speak of Mrs. 
Langan with respect even to this day, her own household in reverent 
silence feel and know that she was a holy woman, a good mother and a 
faithful wife. 



THE FIRST ENGLISH FAMILY. 
Family Record of Elias and Mary Jane Pickles. 

Elias, youngest child of Thomas and Ann Pickles, was born at Deep 
Dale, Gisburn, Yorkshire, England, March 23, 1831, where he lived until 
March 25, 1856. Then he sailed for United States of America, having 
been sent for to run some large flour mills that were being built at 
Sparta, Randolph County, Illinois. 

Mary Jane, eldest daughter of Captain John and Mary Ann Lickiss, 
was born at Hull, Yorkshire, England, November 2, 1840. Coming with 
her parents to America February 14, 1855, landing in New Orleans 
Easter Sunday, April 10, coming up the Mississippi, they settled near 
Georgetown, now Steelville, Illinois. 

She and Elias Pickles were married at that place April 30, 1859. 
They lived at Sparta, Illinois, until the fall of 1860, Avhen they returned 
to England, living at Preston for about two years. Returning to Amer- 
ica August, 1862, they lived at St. Genevieve, then to Red Bud, Randolph 
County, Illinois, from which place they came to Paola, Kansas. Mr. 
Pickles coming in May, 1879, the family coming the first of July. Paola 
has been the home of the family ever since. Ten children were born to 
them. Alice Ann at home ; Mary Louise now Mrs. William Fry, Osawato- 
mie, Kansas; Thomas J., Paola, Kansas; Margaret J., Annie, now Mrs. 
John A. Fenoughty, Osawatomie, Kansas; Agnes, now Mrs. John T. 
Lyon, Paola, Kansas; Rebecca, now Mrs. Bert Stiles, Springhill, Kansas; 
John, Hillsdale, Kansas ; Genevieve, now Mrs. Jasper B. Poteet, Paola, 
Kansas; Winifred, who died in infancy. 

Mr. and Mrs. Pickles were both reared Episcopalians but their sec- 
ond child was baptized in the Catholic Church at St. Genevieve when ?n 
infant. Mrs. Pickles and her family were received into the Catholic* 
Church at Red Bnd, Illinois, in the years 1873-74. 

Mr. Pickles, though not being baptized in the Church, always made 
it a point to attend church with his wife and family, and to see that they 
got there. He was baptized on his death bed, July 22 , 1901. Mrs. 
Pickles died September 13, 1915. She was a very devout and holy 
Christian woman whose influence stamped the lives of all her children. 
THE FIRST GERMAN FAMILY. 

The first German Catholic family to settle in the parish of Holy 
Trinity was Mathias Johann, who, with his wife, Katherine, came from 
Coblenz, Germany, in 1875. They were exceedingly poor when they 
arrived in Miami County, but by dint of toil and frugality this brave 
pair of honest strangers became the owners of 65 acres of good land in 
Middle Creek Township and there raised a family of eight children. 



FIRST CATHOLIC SETTLERS OF MIAMI COUNTY 71 

namely: Kate, (Mrs. C. W. Ames); Jolm, Mary, (Mrs. AVilliam Claw- 
son); Dick, Bettie, Peter who died in young manhood; Sarah, (Mrs. 
James Hammond) and Ella who became the wife of Frederick Sheets. 

There are, in all, ten Catholic and eight non-Catholic grandchildren 
of Mathias Johann. It will be interesting to follow np the history of 
this family through the next generation and mark the results of Ameri- 
can Social influence on the descendants of our first European Catholic 
settlers. 

THE FIRST FRENCH-CANADIAN FAMILY. 

John B. Charland (De Francoeur) and his wife, Marie Louise 
Hamel, came to the United States from St. Jean Des Chaillous, Canada, 
m 1870. They settled first at St. Josepli, Missouri, and came to Paola in 
1888. They became active members of Holy Trinity parish and soon won 
the respect and esteem of the people on account of their devout Chris- 
tian lives and their refined and cultivated manners. 

One of the splendid windows of the present church was donated by 
Mr. Charland and bears his name. The "pieta" together with its pedestal 
is erected to the memory of Mrs. Charland. This is perhaps the finest 
piece of art work in the church. The figures are almost life size, beauti- 
fully tinted and most striking in features, contour and pose. It is a 
copy of some great master piece which the people of Paola have learned 
to appreciate. There is nothing finer any where in the State. Mrs. 
C^iarland is well remembered and her name is affectionately aud rever- 
ently spoken even to this day. She died July 13, 1896 and was laid to 
rest in Holy Cross Cemetery in the preseuce of a large concourse of people 
from the town and surrounding country. That Marie Louise Charland 
was a lovely character is the testimonj^ of all who knew her. 

Mr. Charland lived until January 11, 1917, and his remains rest 
be.=^ide those of his wife in our cemetery. He was a splendid type of his 
race, a good provider for his family in all things including education and 
religion. He was affectionate and domestic in habits — a faithful hus- 
band and a good father. There are four living children in this family : 
Emetine, wife of Mr. Edward McCluskey, resides in Colorado Springs ; 
Joseph Emil is in business in Portland, Oregon; Mary Jane is Mrs. C. W. 
Boone of Paola, and Mary Teresa lives in Kansas City. 

THE FIRST ITALIAN FAMILY. 
Secundo Balocca was born in Brusnengo, Italy, January 23, 1861, 
and came to America January 7, 1882, and then to Osage City, Kansas. 
He came to reside in Paola in 1914 and entered business. Mr. Balocca 
was married in his native town June 23, 1888, and is the father of seven 
children, namely : Rosie, Sophia, John, Adale, Joseph, Anna and Bea- 
trice. Mr. Balocca and his wife, Mrs. Maiy Balocca, are esteemed and 
respected by all our people. The family is refined, industrious, and 
thoroughly Catholic. They fill an important pUice in the business life of 
the communitv. 



72 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

IN MEMORIAM. 

The following obituary notices of some of the first settlers are from 
the pen of the editor of the Western Spirit, Mr. B. J. Sheridan. These 




B. J. SHERID.AN. 

are exceedingly valuable as historical documents ; the data is absolutely 
reliable and the story of each is given true to nature, beautifully 
expressed and masterful in style and sentiment. 

THE DEATH OF A BELOVED WOMAN. 



Mrs. Melinda A. Siieridan, wife of William D. Sheridan, died at her home on 
the farm near Vermillion, Marshall county, Kansas, at 8:18 p. m. on Saturday, Jan- 
uary 22, 1898, and was buried in the Catholic cemetery, Paola, Kansas, at 12:50 
p. m. on Tuesday, the 25th inst., after mass at Holy Trinity Church by Rev. Father 
Francis Taton. The following named old friends of the family were the pall- 
bearers: F. G. Nolen, Col. Geo. H. Hume, W. T. Johnston, Major B. F. Simpson, 
Judge J. P. Ranney and Major J. B. Hall. 

Melinda A. McLafferty was born in Clarion, Pennsylvania, February 1, 1835, 
and in her 17th year, on November 4, 1851. she and William Sheridan were mar- 
ried by Rev. Father Gray at Sugar Creek church. Armstrong county, Pennsylvania. 

Three children were born there, Bernard J.. John C. and Hiram D.. and in 
February, 1859, the family came to Lykins (now Miami) county, Kansas Territory. 
Here they lived till the fall of 1860, the dry year, when they moved to Wisconsin, 
stopping for a few months in Missouri. In the summer of 1859. June 27th, the 
first daughter, Ellen C. now Mrs. Wm. Acker, was born in Osage township of 



IN MEMORIAM 73 

this county. After living five years in Monroe county, Wisconsin, where Peter 
C. and William T. were born, the family went to McArthur, "Vinton county, Ohio, 
going by way of their old home near Kittanning, Pennsylvania. There they re- 
sided two years where Frank M. was born. 

In 1868 they returned to Kansas where Mr. Sheridan still owned 160 acres 
of land and here they lived for ten years and went to Marshall county, Kansas, 
where they have resided ever since with the exception of a few years across the 
State line near Wymore, Nebraska. The other children, Allen V., Sarah Ann, Mary 
C, and Grace E., were born in this county. All but two, Peter C. and William T., 
are living. 

Through all this moving and the trials of rearing a large family, Mrs. Sheri- 
dan bore up with courage and patience. Educated in her girlhood, she was 
teaching when she was married and through all the years that followed she was 
a student. She was a great reader, not of books alone, for she read human nature 
with that quick penetrating insight of the highest order known — a woman's in- 
tuition. In the cabin or covered wagon, on the frontier and in the parlor with 
scholars, sha was alike at home — the same bright mind that, unconscious of its 
power, swayed all around it. She never began a book she didn't finish nor 
dropped a task till it was done. Always frail in body, yet the stoutest by her 
side have yielded to hardships that she bore with an endurance supernatural. 
Fortitude and mercy were blended in her nature. 

Years ago, after she took the grippe and lung trouble set in, she went on 
cheerfully, holding off death with one hand while with the other she set to rights 
the temporal affairs of her family and at last, calling husband and children about 
her, directed the details of her burial. Her last whisper was to bless them all 
and then she closed her eyes in death without a tremor, without a struggle. 

It is hard to write of one so pure, so powerful, so loved. When for the first 
time the realization comes that the heart that nurtured your own into life is chill 
and still forever, language is but a feeble instrument of the will. Words seem only 
to baffle the emotions that struggle for expression when memories throng the 
brain and grief unnerves the man. Too much has been left undone by the hand 
that would pen a fitting tribute to the dead. Sentences can not be woven that 
will make reparation to the conscience for a single disobedience or set the mind 
at peace that devotion never faltered to the loyal one of earth who has gone. 
Tears alone are the language of sorrow when the lips that gave the first kiss and 
the last benediction are cold forever. 

The only solace is a belief that she is in heaven. Surely there is a heaven 
for such a soul — there must be a heaven for Mother. Else why venerate her 
grave? If that vital spark, that indefinable something we call life, is not im- 
mortal why did one so good walk the earth bearing aloft Faith, inspiring Hope and 
exemplifying Charity by good works? Why contemplate the mystery of birth or 
look with awe upon death? Heaven for the worthy, either a place or a condition, 
is the only answer that satisfies the mind of man. She is not here, she's surely 
there. All that's left to us is her sweet name to beautify an imperishable record 
of well-doing that will stand as a monument for her children to the remotest gen- 
eration to look upon and say: "Blessed woman who entwined the sacred names 
of Wife and Mother with every enduring grace of humanity, we revere your 
memory." 

HIS LIFE WORK DONE. 



William D. Sheridan died on Wednesday, August 7, 1901, at the home of Dr. 
Allen V. Sheridan, Paola. Kansas. He was in his seventy-third year and the 
immediate cause of his death was a second attack of the grippe last winter. 

Born in Armstrong county, Pennsylvania, July 15, 1829, his boyhood was 
spent there and there he was married in 1851 to Miss Melinda McLafferty. In 



74 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

the winter of 1S59, he came to Kansas, then a territory, with his family and the 
following spring took a claim in Osage township, Miami county, then Lykins, a 
quarter section now owned by James Dalton. He built a house, broke up about 
60 acres of the prairie sod, planted out an orchard and raised a good crop. But 
the next year, 1860, he raised nothing, his orchard died, the family was sick and 
some of ills stock died with murrain, a disease prevalent in different localities 
that season. Tn December he moved to Liberty, Missouri, and got work with his 
oxen on the railroad, then being built, and the next spring moved to Wisconsin 
where his brothers, James and Bartholomew, lived, and located near Sparta, 
Monroe county. Here he cleared out two different farms and In the winter of 
1866 returned with the family to Pennsylvania, expecting to resume his early 
calling, that of contracting ore and coal to the iron furnaces. 

Things were changed, however, when he got back to Pennsylvania and he 
didn't stay, but went to Vinton county, Ohio. Here he got contracts and handled 
a large force of men for Vinton and Zaleski furnaces, making considerable money. 
But he saw no future for a large family there — no chance to get lands and homes 
— so In October, 1868, he again moved to Kansas, landing at Kansas City the 
morning before the Presidential election of that year and reaching Paola the 
night after. That winter the family lived in a little log house on the Mike Allen 
place in Osage Township and the next spring Mr. Sheridan bought land of Maj. 
Baptiste in Middle Creek township near where Somerset was afterward located. 
This he improved and sold in 1876 to buy a place northwest of Paola. After liv- 
ing there a few years, he sold out and moved to Marshall county, Kansas, later 
to Gage county, Nebraska, and finally back to Marshall county, where he im- 
proved the farm of 160 acres near Vermillion which he owned at the time of his 
death. Since the death of Mrs. Sheridan In January, 1898, he had lived with his 
children most of the time. He spent part of 1899 at his old home in Pennsylvania 
and early in 1901 came to Paola. He went to Marshall county in April and came 
back in June. There are eight children living. Bernard J.. Frank M., and Allen 
v., live here; Mrs. Wm. Acker, Mrs. Frank Gaylord and Mary in iXf.arshall county; 
Hiram D. in Montana, and Mrs. George Flaherty in Wyoming. John C, Clover P. 
and William T. are dead. 

The life of William Sheridan was one of activity and hardship. He was a 
hard worker and ever restless. By days labor, by contracts on public works and 
by farming he made much monev and spent most of it supporting his family and 
moving from place to place. With his own hands, helped some by his sons, he 
made nine different farms from the raw land, some of them in heavy timber; he 
owned, at one time and another, more than a dozen different homes in different 
states; by overland, by boat and by rail he traveled with his family nearly ten 
thousand miles and as many more by himself; he built houses, bridges and roads 
and helped to build school houses and churches. His career was one of good 
example in truthfulness, charity, industry, courage and honesty. 



REACHED HIS EIGHTIETH YEAR. 

Another honest and honorable pioneer left us last Sunday, February 26, 1899, 
when James B. Clark died at his home four miles northwest of Paola. He took 
pneumonia two weeks ago and might have recovered but that his once iron consti- 
tution was worn to the breaking point by toil, trouble and time. A few months 
more and he would have been 80 years old. He was born near the close of the 
year 1820, in the county of Meath. Ireland, and spent his boyhood on the "Old 
Sod." He was, like most other Irish lads, poor, patriotic and ambitious. After 
the failure of the uprising of 1848, In which he participated, he saw no future, no 
liberty in the dear land of his birth and he came to this country, landing in Boston 
In 1849. 

From there he drifted to New York and then to Crawfordsville, Indiana, work- 



IN MEMORIAM' 75 

ing steadily at whatever he could turn his hand to. He was industrious but rest- 
less and, in 1854, went to California, going by way of the Isthmus of Panama. His 
career on the Pacific coast was full of adventure and. at length, he resolved to 
settle down for life. Returning to Crawfordsville, he married Miss Ann Mc- 
Cormick in 1857 and by his side she stayed until his body was laid to rest last 
Tuesday in the Catholic cemetery, a mile east of this city. 

Four children were born to this union, John B., William D., Mary, who is now 
Mrs. Robt. Bittner, and Elizabeth, who is still at home. Jim Clark located in this 
state in 1858 and lived several years on Rock Creek. In 1867 he purchased the 
farm that has since been his home. He was a plain, upright man, who hadn't the 
least trace of sham in his make-up. Steadfast in beliefs, loyal in friendship and 
obliging to neighbor and wayfarer alike, every friend he made he kept to his 
death. His family grew up an honor to his name and he left the world better 
than he found it. His elder son is in business in Kansas City and doing well; 
William is our well known loan broker and Mrs. Bittner, with her husband, re- 
sides on a farm adjoining the old place, while Lizzie lives with her mother at home^ 
Rev. Father Taton conducted the burial services at the Catholic Church and at the 
grave. 

DIED AT EIGHTY. 



Mrs. Ann Clark, widow of the late James B. Clark, died at her home in Paola, 
Kansas, on Friday, April 10, 1903, aged eighty years. She lived a useful life and 
died a Christian death, mourned by daughters, sons and grandchildren who rose 
up to call her blessed. 

Born in Athboy Parish, County Meath, Ireland, she was 23 years of age when 
she landed at Utica, New York, in 1856. Later she went to Crawfordsville, In- 
diana, and there in 1856 she became the wife of Mr. Clark. Two years later the 
family came to Leavenworth, in 1859 to this county, locating on Rock Creek, in 
Richland township. A few years later they moved to the farm northwest of town 
about 4 miles, which was their permanent home till after Mr. Clark's death. 

Then Mrs. Clark moved to Paola with her two daughters, Mrs. Mary Bittner 
and Miss Lizzie Clark. The two children, John B. and William D. are here, al- 
though John's place of business is in San Francisco, California. 

The funeral at the Catholic Church on Easter Sunday and burial in the cem- 
etery east of town, was attended by a long train of friends, the largest number 
of carriages out this year. Services were by Father Taton. 

Thus has gone another of the revered matrons whose 40 years of toil and 
kindness helped to people Miami county and fill the land with fruit and grain; 
to spread the mantle of charity, cheer the sick and nourish the weak; to make 
homes the center of devotion to parents, to industry and to God. May she rest 
in peace. Beside immediate connection, the following were here at the funeral: 
Mrs. Margart Riley, Mrs. Mary Clark, Mr. and Mrs. James McCormick, Robert 
Miller, Patrick Murphy, and James Conner, of Kansas City, Mo., and Miss Mary 
Snjith of Cherryvale, all relatives. 

MORRIS CUNNINGHAM DEAD. 



Morris Cunningham died at his home in Osage tov^^nship, last Tuesday morn 
ing. October 9, 1906. aged 75 years. He had been in poor health for over a year. 
Mrs. Cunningham, whom he married in Indiana 50 years ago, survives him as also 
do the following named sons and daughters: George Cunningham, Stanton town- 
ship; William H. Cunningham, who is on the home place; Mrs. John Chamberlain 
(Emma) and Mrs. Joseph Chamberlain, (Catherine) who, with their husbands, 
live in Osawatomie; Mrs. M. Langan, (Annie) who with her husband, resides in 
this city. 



76 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

Mr. Cunningham was born in the County Kerry, Ireland, in 1831, and came 
to America when 20 years of age. In 1857 he sought a home in Kansas and 
located in Osage township, where ever since he had lived till the final summons 
came. For 48 years he worked there to make a home for himself and family and 
contribute his share to the up-building of this county and State. The last year 
he was an invalid and couldn't work. A better and truer man never was enum- 
erated among the honorable and the useful men of this county. Industrious, re- 
liable and obliging, he did well his part, and besides a fair share of property, he 
gave to his family a good name. 

The funeral yesterday at the Catholic Church in this city, was very large. 
Rev. Father Burk conducted the services and interment v\ras in the cemetery east 
of Paola. 



DEATH OF MICHAEL ALLEN. 



Had he but lived until September, Michael Allen would have reached his one- 
hundredth milestone. He died last Friday, April 11th, and was buried in the 
Catholic graveyard, east of this city, on Monday, April 14, 1913. Requiem Mass 
was sung at Holy Trinity church, conducted by Rev. Father Burk, and the last 
rites were observed at the grave. The funeral procession was nearly a mile long. 

Mrs. Allen died August 25, 1900, and the sons and daughters surviving are: 
Richard Allen of Hutchinson; Henry Allen, of this city; Mrs. Ella McGrath, the 
wife of Robert McGrath, of Coffey county, and Robert Allen, who lives on the old 
homestead. There are many other relatives, direct and collateral, many of whom 
were in attendance at the burial. 

Born in the County Kerry, Ireland, about the middle of September, 1813, 
Michael Allen lived there until past thirty years old. Considerable difficulty was 
encountered in determining his age, because the English laws of that period kept 
the Irish from being taught to read or to write, and prohibited the parish priest 
from even recording births or deaths. Irish families were still paying the penalty 
of the unsuccessful rebellion of 1798; the tyrant's foot was still upon their necks. 
Only by counting back through events by family traditions; by happenings of un- 
usual moment such as the "big wind," the famine, the execution of Irish patriots; 
the "plague year," the summer of the "potato rot" were dates of birth in this era 
of oppression in Ireland determined upon. By such methods has many an aged 
Irishman had to fix the date of his coming into the world. Mr. Allen had a strong 
and bright intellect in which grew a memory of remarkable power. He could 
neither read nor write, and under the law passed by the recent Democratic Legis- 
lature of Kansas, he would have been disfranchised, but he knew more than many 
a college graduate. In the school of experience he became well informed. 

■'1 was born, me boy, in 1813, but 1 didn't know just when, nor was I entirely 
certain of the year until I was about twenty. I put together the things told me by 
father and mother, and I always carried in my mind big things that happened. 
Yes, yes, and this is the way I got back to the year and month of me birth." Thus 
spoke Mr. Allen to the writer, fifty years ago. 

In 1848, Michael came to America and, with a companion or two, soon after 
landing in New York, he set out across the country. He worked with his hands 
at whatever turned up to be done for wages. He was in the land of liberty, and 
he longed to see the wilds. From the canals in the sparsely settled localities he 
went westward, and in the early fifties he rounded up in Indiana, not far from 
what is now the town of New Castle. There he was married to Bridget Collins. 
This was in 1854. A few years later, in 1858, he headed an Irish colony for Kansas. 
These young pioneers took up homes in Osage Township. Mr. Allen pre-empted 
the quarter section upon which he lived and where he died. 



IN MEMORIAM 77 

Mike Allen fought the fight and kept the faith. God had given him a big 
mind in a strong body. He was a born leader. All the others around him sought 
his counsel and heeded it. Through the hardships of territorial days; through 
ague and famine; through war; through lean years and through all the troubles 
incident to early times in Kansas, Michael Allen was a courageous, cheerful, 
steady worker. He led the way; he laid the first stone of the new Catholic 
church in Miami county; he picked out and measured the first Catholic burial 
ground ; he helped to construct the first rude ferry boat that aided travel in 
crossing that treacherous stream known as the Marais des Cygnes. His hand 
helped to shape the first log that went into the first school house of Osage town- 
ship, the little structure that stood on the Jimmy Williams corner, to mark the 
center of district number six. He was a delegate to the first Democratic county 
convention ever held here. "Who sent you, who sent you?" a friend once asked. 
"Why, I sent myself. Sure and there was nobody to tell me to come," was his 
reply. 

in stature Mr. Allen w"as about five feet, six and one-half inches high; round 
bodied; small hands and small feet. In his prime his hair was heavy and black. 
His average weight was about 165 to 170 pounds. He was active and quick, just 
the man who impressed his individuality on those around him in a new country. 
No horse was so wild that he could not tame it; no man so powerful that he 
could not hold his own with him. To build a house, swim a river, or to fight a 
bully was ai simple task for Mike Allen. He was ready for either at the drop of 
a hat, and yet, with all his courage, he was charity personified. He loved chil- 
dren, and he was ever alert to help the weak. Tender-hearted as a girl and ever 
affectionate with his family, he was the well known man in his community for 
generousness, in doing good turns; in obliging all who came within his reach or 
touch. A prince fell when Mr. Allen died. A man among men; a leader of 
leaders; a person truly great in the lovable things that he did for himself and 
for others. 

His last visit to Paola was in the summer of 1912. He walked with steady 
step, and spoke with a mind clear as ever. "How long will I live, ye ask? Till 
after the next Democratic President is put in the White House, d'ye mind that?" 
Sure enough, he went to the polls in Fontana last fall and called out to those 
around him. "Boys, I'm going to vote a straight Democratic ticket, and live to 
see Wilson in the big chair at Washington!" To a friend a few weeks before his 
death, he said: "My time is about here. I am nearly one hundred years old. 1 
have seen the country grow from a desert to bloom in farms and fine homes. I 
had no school in the old country in my day, but I helped to put schools in this 
country, which is my country. My children have been very good to me. Never 
have I wanted for friends. This is a great land, and it was a blessing upon me 
that I came here to live. I have done my best and am ready to go when it is 
God's will to take me." 

Father Burk's sermon at the funeral was along the lines that have been 
touched upon in this obituary. Indeed, so forceful and so striking were the 
sentences from the lips of the priest that they could not be forgotten by anyone 
who listened to them. Michael Allen has gone, but his deeds v/ill live forever in 
the memory of the children, and the children's children of those who knew him. 



MR. JACOB KOEHLER. 



Mr. Koehler was a citizen of Paola for forty-three years and the greater 
part of that time he was actively engaged in business. 

He was born April 4, 1851 in Naurenberg Province, North Hessen Nassau, 
Germany, and with his brother, Frank Koehler, emigrated to America in June, 
1866, locating in Kansas City, where an aunt lived. Mr. Koehler learned the 
baker's trade and became very proficient. 



78 



THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 



In 1871 he came to Paola. He was an untiring worker. Earlj' and late, from 
year to year, he was constantly at his place of business, seldom taking any recre- 
ation and his vitality becoming weakened by over attention to business is believed 
to have been primarily the cause of his sudden death, which occurred May 22. 
1914. 

Mr. Koehler possessed a calm, deep nature, an analytical mind and a wide 
knowledge of affairs. He had an equable temper and a pleasing disposition as 
a result of which he had many real friends. During all the many years of his 
active business relationship with the people of this county, he dealt honestly and 
justly with all. He was always ready to promote any good cause and he helped 
by his good works, his kind words and finance; besides he was a great man in the 
Church; for many years a committeeman; a Knight of Columbus and a fervent 
promoter of the League of the Sacred Heart. 

He was largely instrumental in bringing Ursuliue Academy to Paola. He was 
the one who made the leading move so that the Sisters would locate here and 
not go elsewhere. 

Mr. Koehler was a real leader in the Church, was generous in all his con- 
tributions and was counselled in all its affairs. He was intensely religious and 
was a man who not only practiced his religion but one who could explain it as well 
as a clergyman, not in an ostentatious way but in order to enlighten and in 
order to do good. He had no diplomas from High Schools or Universities but he 
was a great reader in sacred literature and consequently well versed in all the 
teachings of Holy Mother Church. 

Mr. Koehler was married in Paola in 1873 to Miss Catherine Klassen, daugh- 
ter of Mr. and Mrs. M. Klassen. Their union was blessed with two sons and 
four daughters, Frank Koehler, Mrs. Grace Reimbold, wife of Ernest Reimbold; 
Mrs. Agnes Luby, wife of William Luby; Augustine J. Koehler of New York; 
Miss Mary Koehler, who is Sister Cecilia of Ursuline Academy of Paola and Miss 
Antoinette Koehler. 

Mr. Koehler was greatly devoted to his family, in fact, he lived and died 
for God and his family. "Sacrifice and duty" was the motto of his life and all 
who knew him realized how closely he lived up to it. 

MRS. JACOB KOEHLER. 




SISTER ]\r. CECILIA KOEHLER. 



Mrs. Koehler, wife of Jacob Koehler, 
was the eldest daughter of Mr. and Mrs. 
M. Klassen of Paola. She was born in 
Chicago, 111.. December 21, 1856, and a year 
later went with her parents to Kansas City 
and in 1861 came with them to Paola, 
where she grew to womanhood and made 
her permanent home. 

She was one of the pupils of the first 
schools in Paola and her last teacher was 
Prof. D. M. Ferguson, about 1871. She 
was known to all of the early residents as 
a charming, light-hearted, happy girl, a 
pleasing entertainer and a favorite among 
the young folks. She was married to Jacob 
Koehler, October 8, 1872, and surrounded 
by every comfort they lived happily until 
his death May 22, 1914. After that she 
went with her youngest daughter "Nettie" 
to live with her son in New York, where 
she died of heart trouble August 22, 1916. 

Mrs. Koehler was brought up in the 
Catholic Church and was devoted to her 



IN MEMORIAM 



79 



faith and family. Stie was one of the first women to lend her efforts and as- 
sistance to the Church on all occasions. She was president of the Altar So- 
ciety and was appointed president for life of the Catholic Toadies Sewing Society. 
She, too, with her husband was a fervent promoter of the League of the Sacred 
Heart For many years she took charge of the sacristy, the altar linens and the 
decoration of the High Altar. Regularly on Saturday afternoon she could be 
seen going to the church after a hard day's work with a basket of the flowers she 
had raised in her garden for the adornment of the altar. 

Her life work though seemingly brief was well done. She was a woman of 
rare worth. Christian devotion was the leading trait of her character and a 
more exemplary church member never offered prayers to God. To her husband 
she gave help, to her children she gave good character and to the world she gave 
an example that today is her crown among the saints. 

MOTHER McGRATH. 



Mrs. Alice McGrath, widow of the 
late Robert McGrath, has gone to her 
reward. She was a character of ex- 
cellence that will never come again. 
In her was combined the patience, the 
wit and the piety of women of Irish 
blood. Had she lived until next 
month she would have reached her 
ninety-fifth birthday. 

Death came as a gentle messenger 
on Easter Sunday, April 12, 1914. She 
was then at the home of her son-in- 
law and daughter, Mr. and Mrs. 
Michael Dore, near Waverly, Coffey 
county, Kansas. The body was brought 
to Paola on Tuesday, the 14th inst., 
and burial was in the Catholic ceme- 
tery, east of Paola, on Wednesday. 
Solemn Requiem Mass was chanted 
by Rev. Father Scanlan of Sheffield. 
Mo., in Holy Trinity church here, and 
he was assisted by Rev. Father Burk, 
of this parish, and Rev. Father Mc- 
Donald, Chaplain at Ursuline acad- 
emy. Father Scanlan, who delivered 
the beautiful sermon is a nephew of 
the deceased. There was a large 
attendance of those who knew Mrs. 
McGrath in her lifetime. 

Maloney was her maiden name, Alice Maloney, and she was born in the 
county Limerick, Ireland, May 16, 1819, became the wife of Robert McGrath on 
February 16. 1847; sailed for America two years later and reached the state of 
New York, by way of Quebec, Canada, and Mr. McGrath. with his brother-in-law, 
Thomas Dwyer, engaged in contracting in the building of the Erie railroad. In 
1850 the family moved to Ohio, and lived there eight years. It was in the spring 
of 1858 that Robert and Alice McGrath landed at Arrow Rock, on the Missouri 
river, below Saint Louis. From there they traveled behind ox teams to Linn 
county, Kansas. Mr. McGrath bought a claim for $75.00 and pre-empted this 
quarter section of 160 acres. Through the war the family lived in Linn county 
and in 1866 they moved to the old Baptist Mission farm, just east of this city, 
which Mr. McGrath bought. It was here that he died in 1870. The wife had 
nine children to look after at the time of his death, the youngest only three years 
of age. Then came the test of excellence, of her ability to manage, and of her 




SISTER MARY CHARLES McGRATH 
GRANDDAUGHTER. 



80 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

patience. She proved equal to eveiT emergency. Industrious, religious and ob- 
liging, she quietly but firmly followed her own plans. The result was she reared 
sons and daughters to bless her life, cherish her memory, and keep the name 
clean before the world. 

In 1898, the family being all grown and married, she went to make her home 
with her daughters and her sons, but lived most of the time with Mr. and Mrs. 
Dore. Last August she fell from the porch and was severely injured. From this 
she never recovered. 

Her sons and daughters living are Thomas McGrath, of Paola; Mrs. Mary 
Fenton, of Drexel, Mo.; Patrick H. McGrath, of Gardner; Mrs. Amelia Dore, of 
Waverly; Mrs. Margaret Koehler, of Wichita; Robert I. McGrath, Waverly; Tim- 
othy W. McGrath, Idalia, Colorado, and Christopher C. McGrath, Waverly. Mary's 
husband, John Fenton, died a few years ago, also Maggie's husband, Joseph 
Koehler, is dead. He died about twenty years ago. John McGrath, a son, died 
here when he was about twenty-one. There are thirty-six grandchildren and 
twenty-eight great grandchildren. 

Mrs. McGrath was not schooled and yet she was educated. She had a mind 
that took in everything around her. Common sense and purity of heart were her 
leading traits. She knew how to support a home, how to regulate a school, how 
to conduct a church and how to train children that they would become useful and 
honorable. She was intensely democratic, not in the partisan sense, but in the 
deeper and broader meaning of the word. She loved liberty and feared oppres- 
sion. She saw clearly into the future. Time proved her excellence in every way 
and especially in her foresight. Often those about her couldn't understand her 
plans and her predictions. She was ahead of them in that intuitive knowledge 
which enables the true mothers of this country to shape its destin3^ 



MRS. JOHN SHEEHY DEAD. 

Mrs. John Sheehy died Saturday morning, October 20, 1917, shortly after 11:00 
o'clock, at her home, 404 East Miami street, Paola, Kansas. Eighty-six years' 
contact with a world that is not always kind, had worn out the frail body. But 
the end came peacefully and she died content with her children gathered around 
her and the consolation of the last prayers of her Church. 

Born in the County Tyrone, Ireland, about the year 1831, Mary Colton grew to 
womanhood there under the care of her parents, James and Sarah Colton. It 
was in 1857 that her brother. Father James Colton, a parish priest in Shullsburg, 
Wisconsin, went back to Ireland for a visit with the old folks. On his return to 
America his sister, Mary, accompanied him. He placed her under the care of 
the good Sisters of the Dominican convent, at Benton, Wisconsin, where she re- 
mained three years. Her education completed, she was married in the year 1860 
at Shullsburg, Wisconsin, to John Sheehy, and for nineteen years the couple 
lived at Monroe in the same state. Six children were born to them. Two died in 
infancy, the four surviving being: Mrs. Sarah Williams, Katherine, wife of J. D. 
Bogle, and James F. Sheehy of Paola, and Allie, wife of Walter Nalty of Omaha, 
Nebraska. Thirteen grandchildren also survive. 

Mr. and Mrs. Sheehy came to Kansas in 1879. For a year they lived on a 
farm just east of Paola, then located on the place in Middle Creek that was 
the Sheehy homestead many years. Mr. Sheehy died twenty-two years ago. and 
the next spring the widow came to Paola, where she has since resided. A gentle, 
homeloving woman, all her thoughts were for her family and her church, and no 
mother was ever more richly rewarded in the love and care of her children. 

Mary Colton Sheehy was a woman of simple virtues that prompted her to 
deeds of love everlasting. She came of a family of high name and good blood. 
She read deeply and gathered sermons from running brooks and stones. The 
kitchen and the parlor, the cradle and the altar were the places of her labors and 



IN MEMORIAM 



81 



her devotion. She was domestic and religious, her industry never flagged and 
her charity never waned. Children and grandchildren have risen to call her 
blessed. Well may the mound in Holy Cross cemetery, above her consecrated 
dust, be a shrine where they will often pray, for she was saintly as well as 
human. Her noble examples of conduct like the sunbeams, will continue to per- 
petuate and purify all earthly life. "Good name in man and woman is the im- 
mediate jewel of their souls," said the bard, whose thoughts live on and on, and 
Mrs. Sheehy's immortal spirit left this earth reflecting the light of "full many a 
gem of purest ray serene." 

Every pew of Holy Trinity church was filled Monday morning when she was 
borne there for the last blessing of her church. A solemn Requiem Mass was 
chanted by the Reverend Father O'Farrell, assisted by Father McNamara, of 
Louisburg, and Father Bollweg, and the last tribute was paid to this good woman 
by Father Kinsella. Interment was in Holy Cross cemetery, east of town. 



MRS. MARCELLA CLARK IS DEAD. 



A gentle soul went to a rich re- 
ward last Sunday evening, October 12, 
1913, when Mrs. Marcella Clark of 
this city died at her home. Had she 
lived until the last day of this month, 
she would have been 83 years old. 

Born in Wexford, Ireland, October 
31, 1830, she was married to John 
Keenan in 1854. Immediately after 
their marriage, the young couple set 
sail for America and landed in Ncv 
York. Remaining there a short while, 
they moved west and settled at Free- 
port, Illinois. From Freeport they 
moved to Dublin, Illinois. Here Mr. 
Keenan died and, in 1865, Mrs. Kee- 
nan and Richard Clark were married. 
Three years later the family moved 
to Miami county, Kansas, and made 
their home south of Paola on the 
north bank of the river. Mr. Clark 
died there in 1877. 

In 1880 Mrs. Clark moved to Paola 
and here she lived from that time on. 
She was a very devout and indus- 
trious person, who gave heed to the 
welfare of everybody with whom she 
came in contact. Many is the person 
that she has helped and many is the prayer she has offered up for those in 
want and those in distress. 

Mrs. Clark was a woman of bright mind. She was saving and invested her 
surplus money to a good advantage. To her sons she extended all the oppor- 
tunities for education that the countiy afforded, and, besides this, gave them 
wholesome moral example in her conduct. 

The three living sons are: Thomas C. Keenan, a resident of Williamsburg, 
Franklin county, Kansas; Joseph F. Keenan, whose home is near Cleveland, Mo., 
and Peter J. Keenan, who lives upon the old homestead, south of town. Joe will 
move to Paola in a short time, as he has already purchased ground and expects 
to make this his permanent home. 

Burial services were conducted last Wednesday. Mass being sung at the 
Holy Trinity church by Reverend Father Burk. The body was borne to the 
Catholic cemetery, east of the city, and there interred with the rites of the Church. 




SISTER M. LOYOLA KEENAN, 
GRANDDAUGHTER. 



82 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

Thus lived and thus died the unselfish, hard-working charitable Marcella Clark. 
May her soul rest in peace! 



MRS. JOSEPH DALTON DEAD. 

Death came peacefully on Saturday morning, May 17, 1919, at 6:30 o'clock 
to Mrs. Johanna Dalton, widow of the late Joseph Dalton, at the family home, 
near Fontana. Mother Dalton was in her 82nd year and had been in declining 
health for months. After a serious sick spell a month ago, she rallied a-nd her 
death at this time was unexpected. She breathed her last, sitting in a rocking 
chair, after only an hour's illness. 

Johanna Cunningham was born in the County Kerry, Ireland, in April, 1839," 
and came to this county when 14 years of age. She joined her brothers, Michael 
and Maurice, in Richmond, Indiana, and lived there until her marriage to Joseph 
Dalton, four years later. Shortly afterward the young couple went to Canada, 
where Mr. Dalton followed contract mining about fifteen years. Then they moved 
to Michigan, coming to Kansas almost fifty years ago. They located on the home- 
stead in the Irish settlement near Fontana, which has been the family home ever 
since. It was the center of hospitality in the neighborhood, and it was the warm 
Irish heart and cheerfulness of Mrs. Dalton that made it such a popular spot. 
She was truly the queen in the household, and sixteen jewels were the royal dec- 
orations in the sacred crown of motherhood she wore so proudly. One of the 
sixteen children died in infancy, four others in their youth, but eleven have 
grown to useful manhood and womanhood. In their children and children's 
children this noble father and mother built a living monument that is a constant 
exemplification of the reward earned by clean, wholesome living. Mr. Dalton 
died eight years ago last October, and the good wife' was laid beside him in Holy 
Cross cemetery, Monday morning, following services at Holy Trinity church. Rev. 
Father Francis Fitzgerald sang the Requiem Mass, and in his matchless way. 
Rev. Father Kinsella gave the funeral address, dwelling on the worth, goodness 
and living faith of this pioneer mother. 

The surviving children are Mrs. Maggie Wolfe, Miss Mary Dalton, James and 
Charles, all of whom live on farms near the home place; Jack, in Cordova, 
A'aska: Annie, wife of Lawrence Moran, of Fulton, Kansas; Jennie and Michael, 
Miles City, Mont., and Dan, Sarah and Kittle, at home. She also leaves twenty- 
two grandchildren, two great grandchildren, and one brother, Michael Cunning- 
ham, in Rosedale, Kansas. Mr. Cunningham is 96 years old. 



MR. PATRICK HOGAN DEAD. 

Four score and five was the run of years that decreed the body of Mr. Patrick 
Hogan, of Paola, Kansas, to the grave, earth to earth and dust to dust. At his 
home here, surrounded by wife, sons and daughters, he died Wednesday morning, 
March 31, 1920, and today will be the burial in Holy Cross cemetery, east of 
town. Services will be at the Catholic church at 10 o'clock this morning (Friday). 
Born on Saint Patrick's Day, 1835, in the County Clare, Ireland, the boy struck 
out for America in 1847, and landed in Canada, where he went to work. Later he 
crossed the line into Michigan and lived there many years. On the 12th day of 
September, 1863, he was married to Miss Mary Ann Ryan, at Hancock, Michigan, 
and in 1878, the family moved to Miami county, Kansas. The first home was in 
Osage township, and afterward in Paola township. In 1903, Mr. and Mrs. Hogan 
moved to this city, and here they made their home ever since. 

Besides Mrs. Hogan, the wife and mother, there are four sons and three 
daughters sui-viving, John Edward Hogan lives in Kansas City, Kansas; Michael 
James Hogan, Pueblo, Colo.; Patrick Henry Hogan, in Humboldt, Kansas; William 
Dennis Hogan, at Augusta, Kansas; Mrs. Minnie Allen, wife of Richard Allen, 



IN MEMORIAM 



83 



Hutchinson, Kansas; Mrs. Hannah Cunningham, wife of George Cunningham, and 
Lillie Fitzgerald, wife of Michael J. Fitzgerald, in Paola. All were at the bed- 
side when the father died. 

Here was a plain man of the common mold v/ho made his living by his hands, 
reared a large family and added to the world's wealth, not alone in goods, but in 
happiness. Early in life, he learned to labor and, through the long run of years, 
made his bread by the sweat of his brow. By his side in every trial and through 
all toil, was his faithful wife, who survives him. She was the light of home, 
the ever industrious one who laid up store for rainy day and led in family prayer. 
This couple's example is worth more than gold, and today the husband and father 
is mourned by the household, by the city and by the whole community. 



DIED IN HIS 96TH YEAR. 



-m '^ 



1^^ 



Michael Cunningham died on Thurs- 
day, May 6, 1920, at his home at No. 32 
South Ninth Street, Kansas City, Kansas, 
in his ninety-sixth year, and the body 
was buried in the Holy Cross cemetery, 
east of Paola, on Saturday, May 8th, after 
Requiem Mass had been sung in the Cath- 
olic Church of this city. Rev. Father 
Kinsella spoke briefly of the old pioneer 
whose eventful life had closed. No his- 
tory of Miami county would be complete 
without reference to Michael Cunning- 
ham, who came here in 1857. In that 
year there was a settlement formed in 
Osage township by an Irish colony from 
Indiana. Besides Mr. Cunningham, there 
were his brother. Morris Cunningham; 
Michael Allen, Michael Moran and Rich- 
ard Collins. Also there was Katherine 
Sheehan, a widow, the mother of John 
Sheehan, who now resides upon the edge 
of the old settlement. The Cunning- 
ham, Allen, Moran, Collins and Sheehan 
families all were directly or collaterally 
related. Mrs. Michael Cunningham was 
the sister of Michael Allen. She died in 
1864 and about two years later Mr. Cun- 
ningham and Miss Mary Poland were married. She was the daughter of Patrick 
Poland, one of the first settlers of Osawatomie township. The surviving child 
of the first union is Sarah Cunningham, and the other sons and daughters are 
as follows: William Cunningham, who lives in Rosedale; John Cunningham, 832 
Homer Street, Kansas City, Kansas; Bert and Tom Cunningham, who live in 
Miami county; Mrs. John Sheehan, of Osage township; Mrs. Wm. Baxter, Healy, 
Kansas; Mrs. John Marks. Sixth Street and Minnesota Avenue, Kansas City, 
Kansas, and Mrs. Maurice Wolfe, who lives at the Cunningham liome. 

From 1857 until 1910, Mr. Cunningham resided upon the land which he home- 
steaded, then he turned the place over to the sons and moved to Kansas City, 
Kansas, taking a home in the Rosedale section. Through the long period of 
over fifty years of the building of Osage township ani of Miami county, Mr. 
Cunningham was a potential factor. He helped to rear the first school house, 
to build the first bridge and hauled part of the stone to erect the first little Cath- 
olic Church in the city of Paola, upon a plat of ground given by Mother Baptiste. 
In the war he helped to guard the border and, through it all he was a cheerful. 




MICHAEL CT'NNINGHAM, 

Last of Old Settlers. 



84 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

vigorous worker. He not only kept the faith of his fathers, but so ordered his 
conduct that he was respected on every hand. 

Born in the County Kerry, Ireland, in the year 1825, the brief period of his 
youth was spent in the unhappy Island where hard times prevailed, and the en- 
ergetic boy seized the first opportunity to strike for America. He landed v>'ith 
nothing to help him but his hands and he went to work. It was at an early day 
that he settled with those whom he had helped to bring from Ireland, near In- 
diana. Like those associated with him, he lived upon public works and gladly 
embraced the opportunity that came with the opening of Kansas for settlement 
to get some land of his own. Although not schooled in books, he was well in- 
formed upon the happenings of the age around him, and became an intelligent 
citizen. Especially did he become a patriotic American, loving liberty and hating 
tyranny. His soul was filled with the spirit of American freedom. "Great flag, 
me boy, and a great country." he would remark every time he saw the Stars and 
Stripes. His honesty was of the plain old sort, his other virtues were in keeping 
with all that is set forth in the Ten Commandments, and he lived to be the last 
of the grand colony of Irish, who helped to make Miami county and the state of 
Kansas. His younger brother, Morris Cunningham, died several years ago, and 
Mike Moran fell early in the fighting. Mike Allen, Richard Collins, Katie Sheehan 
and all the rest have gone the way of earth. In his ninety-sixth year he lay down 
peacefully and breathed his last. His memory will live as long as our language 
is spoken. 

Besides Mrs. Cunningham, the widow, and all the living children, the follow- 
ing persons accompanied the body from Kansas City to the burial ground: John 
Sheehan, James, Sarah and Charles Dalton, Paola; Maurice Wolfe. John Marks, 
W. H. Poland and wife, Mrs. McLain. Mrs. Dunlavy, Henry Allen, Harry McGown, 
Will Wolfe, Kansas City; Michael Mulvihill and wife, James McRoberts and wife, 
Mrs. Crawford, Mrs. Hess and James Mulvihill, Topeka; Thomas, Will, Mary and 
Thomas Mulvihill, Jr.; Harry, Anna and Allen Cunningham, Rosedale, and Mary 
Sheehan, Leavenworth. 



PART V 

HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, PAOLA 



INTRODUCTORY REMARKS 37 

PONTIFICAL NOTES 



POPES REIGNING SINCE THE TIME THE FIRST MISSIONARIES ENTERED 

KANSAS. 

Pope Pius VII sat in the chair of Peter at the time Father de la Croix passed 
this way on his first visit to the Osage tribe in 1822; Napoleon I had died the 
previous year, May 5, 1821. 

Pope Leo XII was in office when Father Van Quickenborne, S.J., journeyed 
through this section on his way to the same tribe in 1827. 

Pope Plus VIII was reigning during his visit in 1830. 

Pope Gregory XVI was Pope at the time of his visit to the Miamis on the 
Marais des Cygnes river in 1835. It was under this Pope that Father Aelen, S.J., 
first preached the Gospel to the Peorias, where Paola now stands, in 1839. 

Pope Pius IX was head of the Church when Father Schoenmakers, S.J., came 
in 1847; also when Father Ponziglione, S.J., came in 1851, and Father Schacht 
in 1858. Then followed the regular line of pastors to our own day. 

Pope Leo XIII reigned from 1878 to 1903. 

Pope Pius X from 1903 to 1914, and the present Pope. Benedict XIV, followed. 
It can thus be seen that eight Popes have reigned since the Missions in Kansas 
began in 1822. 

EPISCOPAL NOTES. 



First Bishop — Most Rev. Louis William Valentine Dubourg, Archbishop of 
the Cardinalatial See of Besancon; consecrated in Rome, Sept. 24, 1815; Bishop 
of Louisiana, Upper and Lower, took his first residential seat in St. Louis, January 
6, 1818. On July 18, 1826, the Diocese of Louisiana was divided and the Sees of 
St. Louis and New Orleans erected. Bishop Dubourg, having resigned the See of 
Louisiana, was transferred to the Diocese of Montauban in France, August 13. 1826. 
and made Archbishop of the Cardinalatial See of Besancon, February 15, 1833. 
where he died December 12 of the same year. 

Second Bishop. — Rt. Rev. Joseph Rosati, C. M., Bishop of St. Louis; conse- 
crated Bishop of the titular See of Tenagra and constituted Coad.iutor of Bishop 
Dubourg of Louisiana at Donaldsonville, La., March 25, 1824. When the See of 
Louisiana was divided Bishop Rosati was made Bishop of St. Louis and Adminis- 
trator of New Orleans. He died while on business in Rome on September 25. 
1843. 

Most Rev. Peter Richard Kenrick, D. D., Archbishop of St. Louis, cons. No- 
vember 30, 1841, Bishop of Drasa and Coadjutor of Rt. Rev. Bishop Rosati; 
Bishop of St. Louis, 1843; Archbishop, 1847: Titular Archbishop of Marcianopolis, 
May 21, 1895; died March 4, 1896. 

The first Bishop to administer the Sacrament of Confirmation within the 
confines of what is now known as Kansas was the Right Rev. Peter Richard 
Kenrick of St. Louis, who officiated at Sugar Creek Mission, I.iinn County, on 
June 19, 1842. He confirmed 300 Indians. 

Bishop Barron,* acting for the Right Rev. Bishop Kenrick, visited the same 
Mission on December 17, 1845. He remained two weeks and administered the 
Sacrament of Confirmation to eighty Indians. 

Right Rev. John Baptist Miege, S. J., the first bishop to reside in the section 
of country now known as Kansas, arrived soon after March 25, 1851, the date 
of his Consecration at St. Louis, Mo. He established his home at Leavenworth in 
August, 1855. Up to this date he resided at St. Mary's College, Kansas. 

*Right Rev. Edward Barron, D. D., Bishop of Tapper and I^ower Guinea, Africa, 
on his return to the United States, where he had formerly resided, visited Arch- 
bishop Kenrick of St. Louis. 



88 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

Right Rev. Louis Mary Fink, O. S. B., his immediate suocessoi' and long his 
co-worker, was consecrated in Chicago on June 11, 1S71. 

Bishop Miege resigned in 1874 and Bishop Finlc filled the office until May 
22, 1877 as Bishop of Eucarpia, when he became the first Bishop of Leavenworth 
with Kansas exclusively as his diocese. In 1887 this immense diocese Vv^as di- 
vided, and Concordia and Wichita were erected into independent Sees. 

Bishop Fink died on the 17th of March, 1904, after thirty-three years of 
strenuous but most successful labor for the upbuilding of the church in Kansas. 

Right Rev. Thomas Francis Lillis, D. D., succeeded Bishop Fink on December 
27, 1904, and was transferred to the See of Kansas City, March 4, 1910. 

Right Rev. John Ward, D. D., was appointed to succeed Bishop Lillis Novem- 
ber 24, 1910, and was consecrated February 22, 1911. 



SACERDOTAL NOTES. 

Cliurehes and Pastors of Paola. 

The first Catholic Church at this point was erected by the Indians 
and was in existence in 1846. The second, "the old stone church," was 
begun in 1859 and completed in 1866. The third, or brick church was 
begun in 1880 and was, unfortunately, destroyed by fire on the 14th of 
January, 1906. The corner stone of the fourth or present church was 
laid May 27, 1906, and was dedicated April 1, 1907, by Rt. Rev. Thomas 
F. Lillis, bishop of Leavenworth. 

The priests who were appointed pastors of Holy Trinity Church and 
the Missious in all of Miami and Linn Counties were the Reverend 
Fathers Ivo Schacht from 1858 to 1862, Favre from 1862 to 1865, Fran- 
cis J. Wattron from 1865 to March. 1874, Anthony Joseph Abel from 
March, 1874 to August, 1877, Daniel J. Hurley from August, 1877 to 
March, 1883, Aloysius Carius from April, 1883, to August, 1885, M. J. 
Gleason from August, 1885 to April, 1889, J. J. O'Connor from April, 1889, 
to February, 1891, Nicholas Neusius from March, 1891 to August, 1891, 
Thomas Quick from September, 1891 to September, 1892, T. E. Madden 
from September, 1892, to September, 1893. Maurice Burk from October, 
1893, to October, 1894, Anthony Dornseifer from October, 1894, to July, 
1895, Francis Taton from July, 1895. to August, 1903, Maurice Burk 
from August, 1903, to December, 1914, Thomas II. Kinsella from Decem- 
ber 4, 1914 to April 14, 1919. At this time Osawatomie was raised to the 
dignity of a parish and Paola stood alone as the parish of Holy Trinity 
with Very Rev. Adolph J. Doraann as pastor. 



HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, PAOLA. 



REVEREND IVO SCHACHT. 




REV. IVO SCHACHT. 



Reverend Ivo Schacht, a Belgian 
priest, "a man full of zeal and spiritu- 
ality," was appointed Ecclesiastical 
Superior of the Sisters of Charity of 
Nashville, Tenn. When the^ Sisters, at 
the invitation of Bishop Miege, 
moved to Leavenworth, Kansas, in 
1858, Father Schacht visited them, 
and while in Kansas he exercised his 
remarkable missionary zeal by going 
out on horse-back to visit the scat- 
tered people of the plains. Kansas 
was still a territory, and the on-rush 
of new settlers was very marked at 
this time. There were many Catholics 
amongst the first settlers. In some 
places regular settlements were 
formed, but a vast number picked up 
claims wherever an opportunity 

offered. It was this class that kept the horse-back missionary continu- 
ally in the saddle. 

Father Schacht passed through Miami C'ounty at the end of Decem- 
ber, 1858. Paola Avas nothing but a cluster of humble dwellings then. 
It was not incorporated nor had it any modern improvements whatever. 
Baptiste Peoria, the Indian Chief, was the most important personage of 
the place as he owned all the land on which the town was built. Father 
Schacht was the first secular priest to say Mass in Paola. The date is 
presumed to be the 30th of December, 1858, as on that day he "baptized 
solemnly in domo paterne, Richard, born Sept. 28, son of Thomas 
Lafontain and Mary Beck." There are six records of baptism over his 
Qame in the old Indian book of records, the last being dated the 10th of 
April, 1861. 

Paola was a Catholic center from the earliest missionary days and 
was especially beloved by Father Ponziglione. 

Father Schacht 's visit to Paola and his continued interest in the 
place led the settlers of the surrounding country to plan the erection of 
a church either at the latter place or at Osawatomie. It seems that Osa- 
watomie was chosen for the site and the rock was hauled there for the 
foundation but on account of defect in title to property the church was 
never built and the stone was disposed of for other purposes. It is sup- 
posed too that the atmosphere of the place was hostile, as Osawatomie, 



90 



THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LANr 



like Topeka, Lawrence, Manhattan and other towns, was founded by 
New Bnglanders of the old school. 

Soon afterwards, Father Schacht called a meeting of the Catholic 
settlers at Paola, the chief, Baptiste Peoria, was present. After the 
Father had explained the object of the meeting the chief arose and said : 
"We must have a church. I will give the place for it and I will give 
three hundred dollars; the new people will give some, also. Our old 
church has fallen down; we must build here at Paola where the Black- 
gowns came long ago, and preached religioTi to my people." 

The facts as here stated are given by Michael Cunningham, one of 
the first settlers who is now over ninety years of age. 

In the meantime the Catholics continued to meet in private houses 




East side of the Public Square, Paola, Kansas, 1868, showing Town Hall where 
the congregation worshipped for some time. 

to hear Mass; first at the home of Thomas Hedges situated on ground 
now occupied by the People's National Bank; then at the house of 
Baptiste Peoria, a long, low^ building, which stood about where the Com- 
mercial Hotel is built and, finally, as the number of worshippers increas- 
ed, the use of the Town Hall was obtained. This hall was in the second 
story of a modest frame building which stood at the corner of the 
square on ground now occupied by the Miami County Bank. 

The foundation of the proposed church was laid in 1859 and the 
building, afterwards known as the "Old Stone Church" was enclosed in 
1860. All manner of difficulties arose about this time which prevented 
the completion of the building for the next five years. 

The great drouglit of 1860, the consequent failure of crops followed 
by a veritable famine; the chronic unrest and, finally, the great Civil 
War of 1861 to 1865 were more than sufficient to dampen the zeal of the 
people and crush the heart of one of the bravest and most unselfish mis- 
sionary priests that ever labored in Kansas. 

The two Rvan brothers were the builders, assisted bv the farmers 



HOLY TRINITY CHURCH. PAOLA 91 

of the surroimding county. A certain Ponsaint Cartissere was appointed 
by Father Schacht to collect money from the Catholics of the surround- 
ing counties for the building of this church and one at Strong City. 

The collector disappeared and, it is said, fled to France. The 
amount collected was never known but the effect of the defalcation was 
far reaching and added greatly to all the other difficulties that con- 
fronted a poor but willing people in their efforts to establish the first 
Catholic Church in Miami County. 

Father Schacht 's sentiments were with the South in the great Civil 
struggle. He left Kansas and returned to his old home in 1861 or possi- 
bly in 1862. He spent the remainder of his life on the Missions in Ken- 
tucky and finally became pastor of St. Stephen's Church, Owensboro, 
Kentucky, in 1870, and died there on the 10th of April, 1874. 

Hon. Ben. J. Webb, in his "Centenary of Catholicity in Kentucky," 
gives such a faithful and just estimate of Father Schacht "s character that 
v/e quote his words: "Father Schacht was esteemed in every congre- 
gation served by him as a laborious and successful priest. I knew 
Father Schacht and it is my conviction that a more earnest and faithful 
priest never labored for the good of souls on the soil of Kentucky." The 
same may be said of his short sojourn in Kansas from the end of 1858 to 
1862. He was destined by Providence to be the link that united the 
Jesuit Mission period to the present order of things in Miami County 
and surrounding missions. He was the founder of Holy Trinity Parish, 
Paola, and thus made this church tlie inheritor of all the labors and tra- 
ditions of a glorious past. 

The venerable J. B. Hobson. a member of the original Town Com- 
pany, states in his notes on the churches of Paola that, "The church of 
the Holy Trinity may be considered to be a continuation of the labors 
of the Jesuits, who established a mission among the Confederate tribes 
extending out to the New York Indians in 1845, under charge of Father 
Hoecken. 

"In 1859 the Catholics began the erection of a stone church and 
completed it. with the exception of floors, doors and windows, in 1860. 
The first year of the Civil War interfered materially with religious 
affairs in this part of Kansas, and the unfinished church was used for a 
stable until 1863 (1865?) when it was finished and used for religious 
purposes. ' ' 

The writer visited Father Schacht 's grave in the beautiful Catholic 
cemetery at Owensboro in 1920. He carried home with him to Paola 
some of the myrtle that grew on the grave and had it planted on the 
grounds of Holy Trinity Church. The name of this venerable priest is 
greatly revered in all that country. The name "Ivo" is common in 
Owensboro now, the church he built there is preserved as a relic and his 
grave is a place of pilgrimage. 



THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 



REVEREND SEBASTIAN FAVRE. 



This young Frenchman came in 1862 
ciiul at once succeeded Father Schacht 
in liis missionary circuit with head- 
(luarters at Lawrence. He traveled 
through several counties on horseback 
and suffered untold hardships on ac- 
count of the winter's cold and the sum- 
mer's excessive heat but more especial- 
ly on account of the poverty of the 
people and the disturbed condition of 
affairs during the Civil War. He was 
succeeded by Father Wattron at the 
end of 1865 and, after some time, re- 
tired to Saint Meinrad's Abbey, Indi- 
ana, where he died clothed in the habit 
of the Benedictine order, on September 
3rd, 1885. 




REV. SEBASTIAN FAVRE. 



REVEREND FRANCIS J. WATTRON. 

Rev. Francis J. Wattron was born 
in Alsace, France, on July the 8th, 
1833. At the age of seventeen he came 
to this country with the intention of 
studying for the priesthood. Soon 
after his arrival here he entered St. 
Benedict's College, Atchison. After 
a successful course at St. Benedict's he 
went to St. Francis Seminary, Mil- 
waukee, and after completing his theo- 
logical studies he was ordained priest 
by Bishop Miege at Leavenworth, 
Kansas, on the 8th of August, 1865. 

Paola was his first api3ointment. He 
remained here nine years, and during 
that time accomplished much for the 
salvation of souls and for the welfare 
of religion. An unrecorded chapter in 
REV. FRANCIS J. WATTRON. ^j^^ j-^^ ^^ j,^^j^^^ Wattrou is Written 

in the hearts and memories of the older inhabitants of Paola. In 1865 
the war had ceased its deadly strife, and people began to settle down to 
normal habits of peace. New families began to move on the land and 
the population increased daily. North of Paola, along the Bull Creek 




HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, PAOLA 93 

district, several Catholic families had built their homes, and these 
together with the people of the "Irish Settlement" on the south, made 
Paola a center of church activity. Father Favre, who had succeeded 
Father Schacht on the mission, found himself powerless to do anything 
towards the completion of the church which stood there as an abandoned 
building — a shelter for cattle, swallows and pigeons. The end of its deso- 
lation was, however, near at hand, for Divine Providence was shaping 
all things for a most auspicious future. 

Father Wattron came in his youth and vigor. He came as first resi- 
dent pastor of Paola in the fall of 11865, and found no residence nor 
church, except— as afterwards at Fort Scott— the shell of a weather- 
beaten building which was soon set in order, plastered, furnislied and 
otherwise beautified. The bell was swung into its tower, the little organ 
piped its soft notes, and Mass was sung by the happy pastor in tones of 
sweetest music, for Father AVattron had a beautiful voice. The deep- 
toned bell was heard far out on the prairies and great numbers came, of 
all creeds, to witness the dedication of the first Holy Trinity Church. 
The date of this event is not recorded, but future research may yet 
establish the exact date of an event which future generations may deem 
important. 

A pastoral residence was the next thing undertaken. A modest 
frame building was soon under roof, and the people vied with one 
another to make it homelike and comfortable. The ladies left nothing 
undone to make "the good Father" contented and happy. The years 
passed pleasantly and the congregation grew in numbers. The people 
were very faithful in their attendance at Mass in all kinds of weather. 
Many came great distances, for eight or ten miles were not thought 
much of in those days. Heavy four-wheeled wagons were much in use 
in getting to church, and the horse and saddle were considered high 
class. The people came, they always came, they never missed Mass. 
Father Wattron loved his people and was beloved by them, as living wit- 
nesses can now testify. In 1874, however, an occurrence took place 
which changed it all. One evening while in his study, sitting near the 
window, a pistol shot was fired from without, piercing the chair on 
which he sat just a second before. He had risen for som,e pui^DOse, and 
the change of position saved his life. The affair Avas a great shock to 
Father Wattron. He never got over the fear it inspired, and the result 
was that he requested the Bishop for a change. It is supposed that the 
calling out of the names of non-])a>'ing members from the altar led to 
the dastardly act. 

During his nine years at Paola, Father Wattron recorded in most 
beautiful handwriting 187 baptisms ; the first occurring on January the 
8th, 1866, and the last on March 12, 1874. There were 22 marriages in 
that time, and the last one was on January the 21st, 1874. In those 
early times it was difficult to get many of the necessary things of life 
anywhere in the county. Corn bread was the food of the people ; flour 



94 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

was a luxury and tea and coffee precious commodities. On one occa- 
sion, it is related, that Michael Allen and Maurice Cunningham made 
a raft to cross the flood tide of the Marais des Cygnes River and, then, 
from the north bank started on foot to Richmond, twenty-two miles away 
to buy flour. Each man shouldered a sack of fifty pounds and walked 
back to the raft and to their homes in the "Irish Settlement." — A 
remarkable feat ! It is also related that on one occasion there was no 
flour in Paola on Christmas eve, a load was on the way from Kansas 
City and the next morning each family received nine pounds of the 
precious meal for their batch of Christmas biscuits. 

After the Civil War prices arose to a prohibitive degree ; the poor 
suffered and as Father Wattron was one of that class he felt the pinch 
of poverty to an extent that is scarcely believable today. On a certain 
Sunday morning Michael Allen found the old housekeeper grieving over 
the empty Avood box in the kitchen; she had no wood to cook the 
priest's breakfast. There was not a stick of wood anywhere. After 
Mass Mr. Allen hurried home— eight or nine miles — and began to chop 
wood for the priest. By next morning he had loaded his wagon and 
hurrying on, he was back in Paola by noon, Monday. He stated that he 
found Father Wattron at table with nothing but a piece of rough, 
cold cornbread and a glass of water. There was no coffee and no fire 
with which to make it. 

Long years afterwards Mr. and Mrs. Allen were sitting on their 
porch one evening when they saw a stranger approach. Mr. Allen said 
in an undertone to his wife, "It looks like Father Wattron." Like two 
children they rushed down the lawn, and falling on their knees they 
kissed his hands. The little party wept with emotion, and when they 
found speech. Father Wattron said: "Michael, I have come to have a 
long talk with you before we die. This may be my last visit to Leaven- 
worth, and I stopped off the train at Fontana and walked over (three 
and one-half miles) to spend the night with you both and talk over old 
times." 

The venerable Michael Fenoughty relates that the first Sunday he 
attended Mass in the old Stone Church in 1866 he heard Father Watt- 
ron announce from the altar that he could not live on less than $250.00 
a year, and that he would be compelled to ask the bishop for a change 
unless the people would pay their dues. This gives a good idea of the 
poverty of the people and, as a consequence, of the priests who for many 
years eked out a precarious existence on the Missions of Miami and 
Linn Counties. 

Newman, Jefferson County, Kansas, was Father Wattron 's next ap- 
pointment. After nine months in this place, he Avas transferred to Fort 
Scott. He arrived at Fort Scott on December the 9th, 1874. At that 
time the shell of the ucav church Avas already built. It remained for 
Father Wattron to complete it. By his untiring efforts he succeeded. 



HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, PAOLA S5 

When he arrived in Fort Scott there was a debt of $7,000 on the church, 
but before many years not only was the church completed and the debt 
paid off, but a splendid rectory was built. For thirty years Father 
Wattron lived at Fort Scott, and passed to his reward on the 19th, De- 
cember, 1904. 

The following account of his death is taken from the Fort Scott 
Tribune: "Father Francis J. Wattron, Pastor of the Catholic Church 
in this city for almost thirty years, and a priest for forty, died this 
morning at his home, 413 Crawford Street, of a complication of dis- 
eases, at the age of 71 years. The expected end came at 7:15, and it 
was pleasant and peaceful, surrounded by Father B. J. McKernan, 
who had been his friend for twenty years ; his faithful housekeeper, Mrs. 
Annie Hughes, and her sister, Mrs. Cronin; Sister Angela of the hos- 
pital, and Carl Williams, who had been waiting on him for a couple of 
weeks. * * * Father Wattron had been in ill health for more than 
ten years, suffering from a weak heart. Seven years ago he showed 
signs of fast failing and he was compelled to give up his life's work 
at the church. * * * Father Wattron was a man of retiring dis- 
position, but he was a faithful worker and always at labor for the 
interests of his church and the welfare of his parishioners. He never 
took a prominent part in the outside world, and whenever he was not 
conducting services at church he was found in his study. He was a 
profound student of all that was good, and many good works along 
such lines were found in his librar3^ He was loved by all of his people 
and respected by the community at large. His church was his life. He 
had a faithful trust to perform in this world and he fulfilled his mis- 
sion, and did it well." 

As the first resident pastor of Paola, the name of Rev. Francis J. 
Wattron shall remain forever enshrined in the hearts of the people of 
this parish. 

The following deed gives legal titles, under the Town Company, 
to the tract of land donated by Baptiste Peoria in 1859 : 



DEED 

This Indenture, Made this 24th day of August A. D. 1865, between the Paola 
Town Company, party of the first part and John B. Miege, party of the second 
part, Witnesseth, That the party of the first part in consideration of the sum of 
one hundred dollars in hand paid by the party of the second part, the receipt 
whereof is hereby acknowledged, have granted, bargained and sold, and do by 
these presents hereby grant, bargain, sell and convey to the party of the second 
part, the following described real estate, situated in Miami County in the State 
of Kansas, and bounded and described as follows: 

This is to say Lot Nun:bered one (1) two (2) three (3) four (4) and five (5) 
in block number one hundred and thirteen (113) in the city of Paola in said 
county and state as the same are designated on the plat of said city. To Have 
and to Hold the above described premises with the appurtenances to the party 
of the second, and to his assigns and successors forever, Hereby covenanting 
that the title hereby conveyed is free, clear and unincumbered and further that the 



96 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

party of the first part Avill forever warrant and defend the same to the party of 
the second part and to his successors or assigns against the lawful claims of 
all persons except as against taxes assessed on said lots. 

In Witness Whereof, the Paola Town Company have affixed their corporate 
seal and hereunto signed the same by their agent. 

(SEAL) W. R. WAGSTAFF, 

Agent Paola Town Company. 
In Presence of R. W. Ma^sey. 
The State of Kansas, Miami County, ss. 

Before the undersigned, acting Notary Public in and for said County and 
State, personally appeared W. R. Wagstaff, to me known as the acting agent of 
the Paola Town Company, and who is the identical individual whose genuine sig- 
nature appears to the within and foregoing deed, and who is agent of the Paola 
Town Company, executed the same, and such agent acknowledged the signing and 
sealing of the foregoing deed of conveyance to his own free act and deed, for the 
uses and purposes therein expressed. Witness my hand and official seal this 
24th day of August, A. D. 1865. 

(SEAL) R. W. MASSEY, Notary Public. 

Filed for record August 26, A. D. 1865, at 9:00 o'clock. United States Rev- 
enue Stamps 50 cents. 

W. T. SHIVELY, 
Register of Deeds Miami County, Kansas. 



HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, PAOLA 



97 



BISHOP MIEGE VISITS PAOLA. 

The Right Reverend Bishop Miege Administered the Sacrament of Con- 
firmation to the Following in Paola, Kansas, on May 14, 
1871, Rev. F. J. Wattron, Pastor. 



Philip Casey 
Richard Allen 
Henry Allen 
John Clark 
James Conner 
Michael Cinnan 
Andrew McCarthy 
John Sheehan 
Joseph Keenan 
Thomas Keenan 
John McGrath 



Thomas Hogan 
Thomas McGrath 
Patrick McGrath 
Charles Conner 
Francis Stolz 
Michael Mulvehill 
John Nolan 
Mary Burns 
Mary Cunningham 
Sarah Cunningham 
Mary Moran 



Lucy McCarthy 
Margaret McGrath 
Ann Maloney 
Elizabeth Poland 
Ellen Poland 
Ellen McGrath 
Ammillia McGrath 
Mary Maloney 
Mary McGrath 
Elizabeth Higgins 



This was the first class to receive the Sacrament of Confirmation 
at Paola. They were gathered in from all the surrounding country and 
Mrs. Alice McGrath housed and fed thirty-one of the young people the 
night before. 



many as have 



NOTE — The lists of the Confirmation classes are not complete but 
been found are inserted in their proper places. 

REVEREND ANTHONY JOSEPH ABEL, 

By P. W. Goebel. 

Reverend Anthony Joseph Abel, who 
came to Paola in March, 1874, Avas born 
in Bavaria, Germany, in 1830. He at- 
tended elementar}^ schools there and 
absorbed the gymnasium course in the 
same country. He came to Canada 
when about eighteen years old and at- 
tended a Jesuit school at Montreal. He 
also took the Seminary course in Can- 
ada and was ordained priest at Cleve- 
land by Bishop Rapp. His first service 
was on the Ohio Missions. Later he 
came to Missouri, and to Leavenworth 
Diocese about 1872. 

He was thoroughly equipped in 
everything necessary to make him a 
wonderfully successful missionary 
priest. His education was thorough, 
not only in theology, but in science. 
He spoke English, French and German fluently, and had a working 
knowledge of Spanish. It goes without saying that he was a thnroiigli 
Latin scholar. 




REV. ANTHONY JOSEPH ABEL. 



98 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

He did wonderful work in Miami County in gathering together the 
scattered Catholic families. No condition of weather or roads would 
keep him from appointments at his various missions. While residing 
at Paola he was at home less than half of his time, as he had charge of 
the Wea Church, where he had services every other Sunday. He also 
gathered together a number of Catholic families in and about Louisburg 
and said Mass for them at a private house in Louisburg. He did the 
same in Sugar Creek Township, where he had regular services at the 
home of the late Andrew Gorman. 

Many of the children of the Catholic families in this vicinity had 
never had the chance to hear Mass, or to be taught in the Catholic re- 
ligion by a priest. He gathered these children about him, taught them 
the catechism and imbued them with a Catholic spirit. 

He frequently walked to a settlement six miles northwest of Paola 
to teach the children. In fact, no hardship ever kept him from being 
at his appointments. On Christmas Day, 1874, he celebrated the first 
two Masses at Wea, one of them being a High Mass, then rode to 
Paola on horseback, twenty miles, over very rough roads, with the ther- 
mometer fourteen below zero, and celebrated High Mass at Paola at 
eleven o'clock on the same day, and in spite of his fatigue after these 
services, he was cheerful and gathered about him a class of youngsters 
in the afternoon for a musical entertainment. A thorough musician 
himself, music was his hobby. He trained a splendid choir at Wea and 
at Paola. He was an excellent organist and a very creditable performer 
on the flute and violin. 

After leaving Paola he went to Boulder, Colorado, again engaged in 
Missionary service, but on account of the continuous strain of it, the 
Bishop of Denver retired him as Chaplain of a Denver hospital, but he 
later returned to Kansas and was active in the Wichita Diocese for a 
number of years and finally was again appointed Chaplain of a hospital 
in Wichita. Here he remained until his death, which occurred Decem- 
ber 11, 1907. 




THE RIGHT REV. L. M. FINK, O. S. B. 



100 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

BISHOP FINK VISITS PAOLA. 



Michael Fink was born in Triftersberg, Bavaria, on the 12th of June, 
1834, and, after studying in the Latin school and gymnasium at Ratisbon, 
came to this country at the age of 18. Called to a religious life, he sought 
admission among the Benedictines of St. Vincent's abbey in Westmore- 
land County, Pennsylvania. He was received by the founder, Abbot 
Wimmer, and made his profession on the 6th of January, 1854, taking 
the name of Louis Maria. After completing his theological studies he 
was ordained priest on May 28, 1857, by Bishop Young of Erie. The first 
missionary labors of the young Benedictine priest were at Bellefonte, 
Pa., and Newark, N. J. He was then made pastor of a congregation at 
Covington, Ky., where he completed a fine church. He introduced into 
the parish Benedictine nuns to direct a girls' school, which was one of 
his earliest cares. Appointed to St. Joseph's, Chicago, he aroused a 
spirit of faith in his flock at that place and gathered so many around 
the altar that a new church was required, which he erected at a cost of 
$80,000, planting a large and well arranged school house beside it. As 
prior of the house of his order in Atchison, Kan., he showed the same 
zeal and ability, and when Bishop Miege wished to obtain a coadjutor 
to whom he could resign his charge, that prelate solicited the appoint- 
ment of the prior of St. Benedict. On June 11, 1871, he was consecrated 
by Bishop Foley as Bishop of Eucarpia, in St. Joseph's church, Chicago, 
which he had erected. Bishop Fink not only aided Bishop Miege in the 
episcopal labors of the vicariate, but in his absence had the entire charge. 
In 1874 Bishop Miege resigned the vicariate, and resumed his position in 
the Society of Jesus as a simple Father. 

Bishop Fink became vicar-apostolic of Kansas till the erection of the 
See of Leavenworth, May 22, 1877, when he was transferred to it. The 
diocese is a large and important one, and Bishop Fink in pastorals and 
otherwise shows his zeal for Catholic progress. His diocese is well pro- 
vided with educational establishments for its 80,000 Catholics. St. Bene- 
dict's College is connected with the Benedictine Abbey at Atchison; the 
Jesuit Fathers direct St. Mary's College at St. Mary's; there are besides 
three academies and forty-eight parochial schools, with 4,000 pupils, un- 
der Benedictine and Franciscan Sisters, Sisters of St. Joseph and of 
Charity, and of St. Agnes. The diocese also possesses orphan houses and 
hospitals under the charge of the Sisters of Charity. 

"When I came to Leavenworth," said Bishop Fink, "there were only 
about thirty or forty Catholic priests and about 15,000 souls in the State. 
Today there are 150 priests and over 100,000 souls. I was the first Bishop 
in the State, and the only towns of any importance, save Leavenworth, 
were Lawrence, St. Marys and Topeka. Great efforts were made about 
1879 to secure emigration to Kansas. Mr. D. C. Smith, who was then 
connected with the State agricultural board, had charge of the emigra- 



HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, PAOLA 



101 



tion, and sent out thousands of pamphlets prepared by the board. I my- 
self sent out 12,000, and about 8,000 in addition which I prepared myself. 
I sent these pamphlets to England and Ireland and secured the emigra- 
tion of many thousand souls. 

"In those days the country grew so rapidly that no map was good 
longer than six months, and I had to fly around all over the State attend- 
ing to my church duties. The work became too heavy, and finally I ap- 
plied to Rome for the establishment of additional dioceses and selected 
Wichita and Concordia as the future Sees. 

Bishop Fink departed this life March 17th, 1904, and is buried in the 
Convent Cemetery at Leavenworth. May he rest in peace. 



The Right Reverend Bishop Fink Administered the Sacrament of Con- 
firmation to the Following in Paola, Kansas, in 1874, 
The Rev. A. J. Abel, Pastor. 



John Peter Gorman 
William Timothy M'aloney 
Richard Thomas Gorman 
Peter John Keenan 
William Peter Fritz 
Peter Mathew McCarthy 
Robert Andrew McGrath 
William Richard Clark 
James Phillip Nolen 



Tim William McGrath 
Geo. John Cunningham 
George Peter Harkin 
James John Moran 
William Burns 
Alfred G. Sloan 
Mary Ellen Burns 
Susan E. Burns 
Bridget Alice Gorman 



Ella Mary Sheridan 
Mary Jane Rigney 
Mary Martha Connors 
Martha Lizzie Nolan 
Mina Agnes Stolz 
Nora Anna Moran 
Ellen Allen 
Ella Mary Conners 
Ida Anna Croan 



REVEREND DANIEL J. HURLEY 



The first native American student 
ordained to the Holy Priesthood in the 
Diocese of Leavenworth was Daniel J. 
Hurley. This event took place in the 
Cathedral on June 29, 1877, Rt. Rev. 
L. M. Fink officiating. 

Father Hurley was at once appoint- 
ed pastor of Paola and Missions where 
he remained for six years, having been 
transferred to Junction City in 1883. 

This young priest endeared himself 
to all at Paola. After forty years he 
is still affectionately remembered and 
his name is held in benediction by the 
older members of the parish of Holy 
Trinity. 

Nature and grace combined to make 
him lovable. He was simple in man- 
ner, very sincere and prudently zeal- 
ous. He organized the scattered little flock into a united and self-cen- 




RBV. DANIEL, J. HURLEY 



102 



THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 



tered congregation, thus completing the work of good Father Abel, and 
his predecessor, Father Wattron. 

Father Hurlej^ displayed marked executive ability so that whatever 
he put his hand to prospered. Youth and good will were on his side, 
nothing daunted him. The bad conditions of the roads, the inclemency 
of the weather or the more trying perplexities of depleted finances were 
all overcome with patient determination. 

He suffered much in the winter season attending the distant mis- 
sions and in going on sick calls at night time ; in fact, the probability is 
that the severe rheumatism of his latter vears could be traced to this, for 




he was never comfortably clothed, nor was his home accommodations 
adequate. He was indeed a poor priest, but forgot all about it because 
he forgot himself. The church, the people and the little children were 
all he lived for. The little catechism was all he taught and little kind- 
nesses filled all his days. He died poor but well beloved, on September 
7, 1903. 

In Father Hurley's time it was noticed that the Old Stone church 
was fast falling to decay ; large cracks appeared in the walls and it was 
felt that it was no longer safe for the people to assemble there. 

This necessitated the building of a new church. It Avas a daring 
undertaking when we consider that the number of families then in the 
parish was not over fifty, probably forty families were all that were 
worth counting. 

The difficulty forced itself on the people, however, and Father Hur- 
ley was the man providentially sent to accomplish the work. Plans were 



HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, PAOLA 103 

drawn and approved by Bishop Fink. The excavations were made, the 
foundations laid, the rock being hauled by the people. The stone work 
completed, the corner stone was laid on August 29, 1880. (This stone is 
now a part of the watertable of the present church at the southeast cor- 
ner of the sacristy.) 

The church was to be built of the best brick— 50 feet by 80 feet, 
with bell tower, shingle roof and plain glass windows. The shell of the 
building was soon completed but it took several years to finish the 
interior. 

The financial part of the undertaking rested on the pastor. He was, 
however, ably seconded by the ladies, than which no finer body of 
women workers could be found anywhere. This has always been true of 
Holy Trinity Parish, The women have done nobly in every crisis and 
have come to the rescue in every emergency. The ladies organized a 
bazaar or fair twice each year to which the non-Catholic citizens gave 
their patronage freely. These fairs were great events in those days and 
proved very successful. Father Hurley had the pleasure of seeing all 
indebtedness paid off by the time he was promoted to Junction City, 
August, 1883. The building cost $13,000 when completed by Father 
Gleason in November, 1886, and was then dedicated by Bishop Fink 
with due solemnity. 



TRIBUTE OF THE PRESS. 



M. F. Campbell, writing for the Junction City Press, Nov. 16, 1896, 
said of Father Hurley : 

"The Rev. D. J. Hurley, pastor of St. Xavier's church. Junction 
City, Kansas, and dean over seven surrounding counties, was born July 5, 
1854, in Boston, Mass. He is one of a family of seven, two of whom are 
priests, and one a sister of the order of St. Vincent De Paul. He came 
to Kansas with his parents in 1858, being then but four years old, so that 
he may almost be called a veritable Kansan and a son of the soil, and 
therefore, more ejninently fitted to cope with the emergencies of the 
growing west. 

"Father Hurley's earliest school days were passed in the Cathedral 
school in Leavenworth, and his remarkable progress there is attested by 
the fact that at the age of eleven he was sent to the Seminary of the As- 
sumption, which flourished then under the management of Father De- 
fouri. in Topeka. After a seven years' course he was sent from there to 
"West Moreland, Penn., where at the Benedictine college, St. Vincent, his 
education was completed in five years, although he was not yet old enough 
to be ordained a priest. He was, however, made deacon, and returned 
to Leavenworth to wait the allotted time. Twenty-four is the required 
age for ordination in Holy Orders, but, by special dispensation. Father 
Hurley was, on account of his rapid advancement in learning and devel- 
opment of character, ordained at the age of twenty-two years and ten 



104 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

months on June 29, 1877, by Bishop Fink of Leavenworth. 

"The young priest's first parish was in Paola, Kas., of which place 
he was pastor for six years, being transferred to Junction City in 1883. 

"Father Hurley is a man of frank and pleasing address; dignified, 
yet without austerity in his official capacity, and his sermons show a 
depth of thought and power of expression seldom found. A constant 
victim to ill health, his manifold duties demanded all of his time and 
strength, leaving none for social relaxation, yet he is a general favorite 
among all kinds and classes of people with whom he is thrown in con- 
tact. None may address Father Hurley without feeling sure of a response 
in which ready wit mingles with good sense and kindly humor. He has 
now been pastor of the Catholic Church of our city for thirteen years, 
and a glance at the relative condition existing now and as in 1883 show 
that something more than the mere increase of population must be 
recognized in accounting for the present satisfactory condition in the 
affairs of the church in this place. This something — under Divine bless- 
ing — is the rare financial ability, the good common business sense dis- 
played during these trying times by Father Hurley. 

"During his stay in Paola, a mission which included all of Miami and 
Linn counties, and part of Johnson, entailing almost constant traveling, 
the greater part of his time being spent in the saddle, Father Hurley 
built in that place a $13,000 church. His first undertaking on coming here 
was the erection of a handsome church in Chapman, the old church there 
being utterly unfit for use, while the one in Junction City might be made 
to do service for a few years longer. But the necessity for a new par- 
sonage here was urgent, and this was his next enterprise, the result of 
which is in evidence today, as one of the most beautiful residences and 
decidedly the best parsonage in Junction City. 

"It is an oft-reiterated saying of Father Hurley's, 'If you allow the 
children to stray from the fold you will soon have no need for the 
church,' in vicAV of which maxim he organized a parochial school in 
which the little ones are prepared by a thorough drill in the truths of 
Christianity for the sacrament of confirmation, the ordinary school 
studies being at the same time carried on, so that a class from this school, 
in each succeeding year, takes creditable rank in the higher grades of 
our public schools. 

"This is the time in which careful, economical and conservative 
leadership is doubly essential on every hand, and above all in church 
matters, that the word of God ma}' not be scandalized by disgraceful 
broils and complications, and Father Hurley has managed the affairs of 
his church so successfully, while at the same time increasing the congre- 
gation and uniting it closer together, that when the new church — that 
objective point towards which we are now hopefully looking and volun- 
tary contributions are accumulating — is projected there will not be, as 
indeed there is not now, a single debt to hamper this much-needed enter- 



HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, PAOLA 105 

prise, and it is the hope and prayer of the congregation that Father Hur- 
ley may be spared to this church for many a year after the faintest 
tracery in the carving of its highest pinnacle has been completed." 

PANEGYRIC. 

Delivered in the Cathedral, Leavenworth, Kansas, Over the Remains of 

VERY REV. DANIEL HURLEY, V. F. 

By Rev. T. H. Kinsella, September 9, 1903. 

"Behold a great priest who in his days pleased God, and was found just." 
Eccl. 44. 

Love and duty summon us before this altar today, my brethren. We owe it 
to ourselves to love all that is good and beautiful in nature. We owe it to our 
city to honor her sons in whatever avocation they have gained renown; and we 
owe it to our holy mother, the Church, to honor those who have "fought the good 
fight, who have finished their course, and who have kept the faith in the blessed 
hope of obtaining the crown which the Lord, the Just Judge has laid up for them 
in heaven." 

This occasion is, indeed, one of deep sorrow. Our hearts go out in sympathy 
to the friends and relatives of him whose remains now lie before us. It is but 
natural that you should weep, dear friends, for one so good in every sense, so 
beautiful in character, so noble in purpose, so humble, gentle, kind. Yet, grief 
alone rules not this scene; love and duty holds a place. Leavenworth, like a 
mother, takes this child once more to her bosom. She is proud of her sons, they 
have exalted her name in all the land, for they have won distinction in every 
walk, and have adorned every profession. Like the noble matron of old, she bids 
her sons to the conflict, and commands "that they return not except with their 
shields or upon their shields." 

Like the true soldier that he was. Father Hurley is carried back today on his 
shield of victory, crowned with the fadeless laurels of a well spent life. 

The first native priest to venture into the mission field of Kansas, he 
bravely entered the conflict, and, after twenty-six years of toil and suffering, he 
is now borne back to his native city, to the very spot where he enlisted as a 
soldier of Jesus Christ, and where he received the commission to "go forth and 
preach the gospel to every creature."' Father Hurley was a modest and retiring 
man; zeal and prudence ruled all his actions, and his sunny disposition as well 
as his natural goodness of heart made him loved and respected by all. 

For twenty-one years he was pastor at Junction City, and was appointed 
dean of that district. On one occasion while walking with him through the streets 
of the town, I was forced to take notice of the universal respect shown him by 
Catholics and non-Catholics alike. I am not astonished to know, therefore, that 
Junction City went into mourning on this, their sad bereavement, and that all 
stores were closed and the flag hung at half mast over its city hall. 

It was, of course, to his own people of the parish of Junction City that 
Father Hurley was all in all. As years passed on he sought to reproduce in the 
children of his flock what he himself had been in childhood, and it was his 
constant endeavor to plant in the homes of the people that faith and piety which 
he had imbibed from a good mother in his humble home in Leavenworth. 

Born of parents who brought from Ireland the old time spirit of Faith, and 
raised in a home that has given two of its sons to the priesthood, as also a 
daughter to the Sisters of Charity of St. Vincent De Paul, nothing less could 
be expected of him. 

My brethren, how great is the blessing of a good Christian home! Little did 
you think, O good and gentle woman, that, in caring for the spiritual welfare of 
your children, your influence would, one day. be carried into the homes of others, 



106 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

into the lives of many, and down into the hearts and souls of thousands yet un- 
born. To you, and such as you, we owe every best gift that cometh down from 
the Father of lights through the hands of the priest. Without wealth, or power, 
or learning you have thus enriched many through the tireless hands of Charity. 
You have lifted the fallen, you have taught the ignorant, you have comforted 
the sorrowing, you have visited the sick, and you have prayed for the living and 
the dead through the ministry of the priesthood with which God rewarded 
your care. 

To build up true Christian homes in this new land is of more lasting im- 
portance than the building of fine churches. Father Hurley knew this well, and 
therefore, he left nothing undone to revive and prc«3erve the spirit of prayer and 
piety in the homes of the people entrusted to his care. 

He established the League of the Holy Family in his parish, and was one of 
the few who made it a success. To it he attributed great results, and always 
looked upon the devotion as a special blessing to his people. Let this then be 
hie monument. Let the people of that parish preserve the League in memory 
of its founder, and G-od will bless them and their children for generations yet 
to come. 

As a priest amongst priests, Father Hurley was indeed a model. During all 
his years in the sacred ministry he never forfeited the good will of Bishop Fink — 
a very unusual thing, for our venerable Bishop is a strict disciplinarian who never 
fails to give honor to whom honor is due, nor reproof when reproof is merited. 
Not less harmonious were his relations with the Bishop of Concordia. Esteemed 
by all, he exemplified in his life the sublime dignity of the priesthood. He was 
ever mindful of its awful responsibilities, for he felt that the priest was "placed 
for the rise or the fall of many in Israel." That he yielded a power which, in its 
ujse ascended on high and besieged the very citadel of God's mercy; or, in its 
abuse, descended to the depths of hell — a power that builds up into sanctification, 
or shatters to destruction the very kingdom of God in the souls of men. He 
knew that he was mighty for good, or terrible for evil. He knew that as a 
priest he could become the brightest light in the direst darkness or the darkest 
cloud athwart the face of heaven. By such as he, were nations blessed — were 
peoples cursed, and such as he have made or marred the civilization of the 
ages. O priest of God, how great are thy responsibilities! How terrible will be 
thy judgments! 

Wonder not, then, my dearly beloved brethren, that the Catholic heart is 
stirred to its very depths when a priest is called by God to render an account of 
his stewardship. Our interests in eternity are at one with his, for our souls 
will be required at his hands. 

Be mindful, therefore, of your Christian duty towards your priests; pray for 
them while living, pray for thera when dead, that God may give them grace, and 
mercy, and pardon, and peace eternal. 

It is true, that poor Father Hurley suffered his purgatory while here on 
earth. With Christ he was nailed to the cross. For many years his hands and 
feet were, in a manner, racked and torn by cruel pain, and his heart, at last, war, 
pierced by a pang that wrought his deliverance from this body of death. 

Fortified by the grace of the sacraments, and consoled by the blessings of 
the Church he died in the arms of her who taught him how to live and how to 
die. He passed from friends on earth to friends in heaven — 'to Jesus, Mary and 
Joseph, whom he had loved and served all the days of his life. 

Be consoled then, O Christian friends. And you, venerable Mother, lift up 
your heart to the Lord; you have lived to see the harvest of your labors gathered 
into the eterna barn. 'Twas this you sought — for this you prayed. Rejoice, 
then, that God has taken him from Earth to Heaven. There he will await you as 
on earth he often sought your face, or listened for your footfalls, or longed for 
your coming. Requiem aeternam dona ei, Domine; et lux perpetua lucet ei. 
Amen. 



HOLY TRINITY CHURCH. PAOLA 



107 



The Right Reverend Bishop Fink Administered the Sacrament of Confir- 
mation to the Following in Paola, Kansas, on May 11, 1879, Rev. 
D. J. Hurley, Pastor 



Francis Nolen 
William Strausbaugh 
Christopher McGrath 
Peter Gorman 
Edward Burns 
Henry Reetiker 
James Maloney 
Brigitta McCloskey 
Maria Clarey 
Anna Nolen 
Helen Tracy 



Maria Clark 
Elizabeth Clark 
Emma Cunninghs 
Helena Doherty 
Agnes O'Connor 
Maria Maloney 
Elizabeth Dalton 
Maria Moran 
Maria Gorman 
James Dalton 
James Tracy 



Hugh Riley 
Cornelias Sheehan 
Francis Nolen, Sr. 
Patrick James Maloney 
William Retiker 
Helena Gorman 
Maria O'Reilly 
Maria Allen 
Catharine Smith 
Nora Cunningham 



REVEREND ALOYSIUS CARIUS. 
(By B. J. Sheridan.) 

For about three years, beginning 
with 1883, Reverened Father A. Carius 
was in charge of this parish. He was 
a Frenchman of deep learning, who 
had traveled much, and was then in 
the autumn of life. His first charges 
in America were in the South, and he 
was at New Orleans when the Civil 
War broke out. From there he went 
into the Confederate Army as chaplain, 
and with the exception of some two 
years that he was stationed in charge 
of a parish in Texas, he stayed with 
the Confederate forces until the close 
of the war. In 1866, he got the ap- 
pointment of chaplain in the United 
States Army, and served at different 
places until about 1868, or 1869. Just 
when he came to this diocese is not 
known to the writer, but his advent to Paola was soon after the presi- 
dential election of 1880. 

In looking after his priestly duties he was very industrious, prompt 
and devout. The dwelling was old and lacked the ordinary comforts 
necessary to a man of his age and habits and the pay of the parish priests 
was small. He had been accustomed to more money, and it was hard for 




REV. ALOYSIUS CARIUS. 



108 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

him to accommodate himself to the cramped ways. In fact, he often 
complained, saying: "This is a neekel (nickle) parish." However, no 
hardship was too great for him to undergo in serving any of his people. 
Neither stress of weather, or lack of conveyance held him back. He was 
known to walk in the winter, answering sick calls, in Osage township, 
some eight miles distant. In manner he was blunt and outspoken. He 
wrote an even, rather feminine hand and his letters were models of accu- 
racy and choice language. 

Paola never had a more versatile priest. Others were more fluent 
speakers, many of them orators of remarkable research and natural gifts, 
but none surpassed Father Carius in range of learning. He absorbed 
libraries, and his eyes were ever full of the many things he had seen m 
his world travels. Most of the time in this parish he had no housekeeper, 
so he was priest, secretary, cook and janitor. Father Balmes' "European 
Civilization" Shakespeare, Victor Hugo, Jefferson's letters to Thomas 
Jefferson Randolph, Father Ryan's Poems, and Longfellow were secular 
works that he spoke of most frequently. 

Party feeling ran high in the campaign of 1884, and the word got 
out that Father Carius had been in the Confederate Army. He was strong 
for Glover Cleveland. T. M. Carroll of Paola, who was formerly a 
Democrat, and then a Republican, challenged the vote of Father Carius, 
upon the ground that his political disabilities had never been removed. 
The challenge came nearly starting a riot, but didn't prevent the judges 
from accepting the challenged vote. When quiet was restored, and a 
bloody face or two wiped off, Father Carius stepped before the election 
board, uncovered, and straightened to his full height, said : 

"Yes, gentlemen, 1 was in the Confederate service. I served as 
chaplain a few years, encountering hardships that I hope to never encoun- 
ter again. After the Stars and Bars went down in defeat, I accepted from 
the victors their terms, and I at once took up the work of restoration ; ot 
making our country one country again. Soon I was offered the position 
of chaplain in the United States Army and there I served nearly as long 
as I did in the Confederate Army. I am a servant of God first, and of 
this, my country next. That's all I have to say." 

The following winter in the Legislative session of 1885, a friend of 
Father Carius, to make sure of avoiding another scene at some future 
election, handed the priest's name to Honorable Ed Carroll, state senator 
from Leavenworth county, and it was included with others in the list 
often carried through the different sessions, restoring to full citizenship 
those who had participated in the AVar of the Rebellion. Mr. Carroll, 
who was a Catholic gentleman, as well as a Democrat, saw to it that the 
bill passed both houses, and was duly signed by the governor. But when 
the published list fell under the priest's eye, he was much enraged, and 
gave his friend a rather severe tongue-lashing. He contended that no 
disabilities could attach to his name because of the nature of the services 



HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, PAOLA 



109 



rendered in the Confederate Army and, further, because he had afterward 
rendered the same services in the Army of the United States. It was 
explained to him that able lawyers differed on this point, and that the 
Legislative Act was not uncomplimentary, but merely a formal course 
according to the usages of the day; and that, further, it cleared up the 
matter so there could be no adverse criticism in time to come. Father 
Carius accepted the explanation after he had studied it over for a week 
and by letters to his friends and to Mr. Carroll, expressed gratitude for 
what had been done in his behalf. 

This good, old-fashioned priest was transferred from Paola to some 
other charge in about the year 1885, and was never back here but once 
after leaving ; this was on a stormy Sunday in the winter, and all of the 
small children, who happened to be out that day, gathered around the 
noble old priest, greeting him fondly and affectionately. His love for chil- 
dren seemed to be uppermost in his makeup. 

Of this remarkable man Father Hayden of Topeka, writes : 
"Father Carius had the distinction of being chaplain in the war with 
Mexico as well as in the Civil War, and was present at the execution of 
Maximillian. A stranger to the ways of polite society, of rough and ready 
manner, as well as careless of dress or appearance, he was possessed of a 
large and generous heart, was a deep thinker and had very high intellec- 
tual attainments, for which his average acquaintance gave him no credit. 
He was light-hearted and happy, the soul of wit and good humor, cared 
nothing for appearances, and was lavish in his charity." (From notes by 
Very Rev. F. M. Hayden, LL.D.) In his latter years Father Carius was 
chaplain of a convent in St. Louis; in his last illness he was cared for in 
the Sisters' Hospital where he died a holy death and was buried in the 
priests' circle in the Catholic cemetery of that city. 



The Eight Reverend Bishop Fink Administered the Sacrament of Confir- 
mation to the Following in Paola, Kansas, on May 26, 1885, Rev- 
erend A. Carius, Pastor. 



Patrick R. Clark 
John Hogan 
John Fenoughty 
Jeremiah Finn 
Bernard Harkin 
William Cunningham 
Daniel Dalton 
Michael Fenton 
James Bernard Riley 
Maurice Langan 
William Holden 
Joseph Fisher 
Martin Arnhalt 
Frank Vohs 
John Maloney 
Robert Allen 



James Sheehy 
Charles Dalton 
Wm. Cunningham 
Alexander Hodges 
Joseph N. St. Louis 
Wm. McCormick 
Michael M. Powers 
Geo. N. Fleming 
James Hogan 
Michael Hogan 
Lizzie Holden 
Blanche Hogan 
Marguerite Jane Pickles 
Mary Fenoughty 
Ellen Fenoughty 
Anna Allen 



Catherine Koehler 
Richard Hogan 
Caroline Fisher 
Gertrude Nolen 
Margaret Mahoney 
Mary Dalton 
Mary Klassen 
Ellen Hogan 
Catherine McGrath 
Sarah Dalton 
Anna Sharlot Pickles 
Bridget Finn 
Nellie Langan 
Agnes Strausbaugh 
Clara Strausbaugh 
Ida Nolen 



110 



THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 



Catherine Riley 
Margaret Maloney 
Anna Cunningham 
Elizabeth Maloney 
Ellen Harkin 



Suzenna Harkin 
Ellen Riley 
Mary Fisher 
Mary McCormick 
Anna St. Louis 



Lizzie Fisher 
Agnes Pickles 
Katie Allen 
Mary Agnes Clark 
Anna Allen 




REV. MICHAEL J. GLEASON. 



REVEREND MICHAEL J. GLEASON. 

The immediate successor of Father 
Carius was Father Gleason. He was a 
young man latel}- ordained at Alle- 
ghany, New York, for the diocese of 
Kansas City and was lent by Bishop 
Hogan to the diocese of Leavenworth 
for the time being. He was fresh from 
his seminary studies in Ireland — a 
bright, eloquent and high spirited 
young man, a real Celt — with all the 
virtues and some of the faults of his 
race. He was the first and only pas- 
tor that Paola has had from the be- 
ginning to the present time who was 
born in Ireland. Holland, Belgium, 
France, Italy, Germany, and England 
are represented in the long list to 
which America has added distinguish- 
ed names, but Father Gleason up to 
these latter years stood alone as the representative of Ireland. He proved 
himself a worthy successor of Fathers Hoecken, Aelen, Ponziglione, 
Wattron and Hurley. His difficulties were no less great than theirs but 
he met them all successfully. 

When he arrived in Paola about the tenth of August, 1885, he fell 
into deep dejection of spirit; it was all so strange, so new, so uninviting; 
the new church was like a barn, the rectory was miserable with its cellar 
filled with water and its larder empty. 

In the midst of his anxieties he found one good angel and that was 
Miles Finn. Mr. Finn encouraged him and befriended him in every way. 
On the 15th of August he said his second Mass at Paola. Some of 
the people called on him after the service and assured him of their good 
will and loyal support. There were some children in the crowd and they 
attracted his attention at once : this was his first ray of sunshine which 
never afterwards left him — the love of the little ones, the companionship 
of the children. 

To adjust himself to the new and strange conditions must have been 
an ordeal. To get on to the roads, to find the missions and to become 
acquainted with his scattered people was, of course, his first duty. Father 
Hurley had left a good buggy for his use and Joseph Dalton presented 



HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, PAOLA 



111 



him with a fine horse, so that he was soon able to begin the exploration of 
Miami county, Linn county and a part of Johnson county before the win- 
ter of 1885-6 set in. He found the interior of the church unplastered and 
unfurnished. He at once set to work to complete the building in all its 
details. He proved himself to be a good collector, a great rustler, and a 
terror to the laggard and the slacker. He enjoyed a fight, and still more 
the friendship that usually followed it. He never harbored enmity and 
the quick temper was soon changed to gentleness, and when necessary an 
apology was given or taken and good fellowship established forthwith. 
He had the elements in him of a true sportsman. After the plastering of 
the church was completed the ladies set to work once more to furnish the 
sanctuary and the sacristy ; the vestments, the altar linens, the statues, 




SANCTUARY OF CHURCH WHICH BURNED. 

stained glass windows and a full set of new pews were added. The Com- 
munion railing and Stations of the Cross were finally put in place and 
thus came to a close a struggle of five years during which the men and 
women of the parish vied with one another in making this House of God 
one of the fairest and most devotional churches in the state. 

The little frame rectory needed repairs ; it had grown old and dilap- 
idated since the days of Father AVattron and never had any modern con- 
veniences. Now it was repainted, plaster-patched and repapered ; the 
ladies found means to add some new furniture, a set of delf for the dining 
room and other little comforts. 

About this time five acres of ground, now Holy Cross Cemetery, was 
purchased from Andrew Joyce and filed for record September 14, 1885, 



112 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

it being part X. E. \i, Sec. 22, Twp. 17, Range 23, as seen in Book 48, 
page 122 of Comity Recorder's office. 

The transfer of bodies from the old cemetery was made during 
Father Gleason's time. The first interment in the new cemetery was 
that of Catherine Sheehy. His last act while pastor of Paola was to 
obtain a deed to the ground in Osawatomie on which St. Philip's church 
now stands. This plot of ground had been donated by the town company 
years before for the use of a Catholic Church but it was never claimed 
until now (1889). 

This was the first step in the establishment of a church at Osawato- 
mie under his successor, Father O'Connor. Like his predecessors. Father 
Gleason drove to Edgerton once a month in all seasons, a distance of 
twenty miles north. The State Hospital at Osawatomie was always 
attended from Paola, but Mass was not then celebrated there. La Cygne 
and other points in Linn county were visited. 

Father Gleason accomplished a great deal during the few years he 
was pastor of Paola. Bishop Hogan recalled him finally to Kansas City 
in the spring of 1889 and made him pastor of a new parish which Father 
Gleason named the "Holy Trinity" after the church at Paola. He 
retained a warm affection for this, his first charge and once remarked, in 
after years, that his happiest days were spent at Paola. The reader 
understands, of course, that such meager outlines of a priest's life as is 
here given are far from adequately expressing the entirety of his labors ; 
the important part — his Sacerdotal office is seldom referred to and, yet, 
it is in that and through that that he is really effective for good, rather 
than through any material success or financial ability he may possess. It 
is the priest as such rather than the builder or the money getter that 
counts. Is he a man of prayer? Is he an humble preacher of the Word 
"in season and out of season?" Is he a spirtual director of souls in the 
Sacrament of Penance? Is he zealous for the welfare of the sick and 
dying? Is he a lover of little children, as may be seen by his delight in 
bringing them to Christ? In one word, is he a priest of God rather than 
a "social lion?" For this he was educated, unto this was he called, and 
to fail here is to suffer shipAvreck, or at least to become an unprofitable 
servant. The Catholic reader understands all this and. therefore, there 
is no need to refer to it further in these pages. 



REVEREND JAMES J. 'CONNOR. 

After the transfer of Father Gleason to Kansas City in the Spring 
of 1889, six pastors of Holy Trinity church followed one another in 
comparatively quick succession until July, 1895, when Rev. Francis Ta- 
ton was placed in charge. 

The first of these was Father James J. O'Connor who held office 
from April, 1889, to March, 1891, when he was called by death in the 



HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, PAOLA 



•113 




REV. JAMES J. O'CONNOR. 



flower of his young manhood. 

He was the first pastor, though not 
the first priest to die in Paola. Rev. 
James Colton, brother of Mrs. John 
Sheehy, died here in 1884 and is buried 
in the Circle of Holy Cross cemetery, 
%S||ta|. ^^^^^I^V directly west of the Cross.* Father 

^fe ^^T^W O'Connor passed to his reward in the 

priest's residence at Holy Trinity 
church on Tuesdaj^, March 3, 1891, at 
6 :55 p. m. He had been in poor health 
since his ordination and the end was 
not unexpected. He felt the loneliness 
of the AVest and the absence of all who 
were near and dear to him. 

P'ather O'Connor was born in New- 
ark, New Jersey, in 1867, and took a 
full collegiate course, graduating at 
Berlin, Canada, in 1885. Soon there- 
after he was ordained and assigned to Kansas. From Chetopa he came 
here. From the outset he was deservedly popular in this parish, and 
his friends and admirers included people of differing creeds. Self-poised 
and affable in conduct, he bore the dignity of priest and scholar in 
every act of life even to the moment of final dissolution. His parents 
lived in Cleveland, Ohio, and in obedience to their wishes the remains 
were sent there for burial. 

Funeral services as published in "The Western Spirit," is here given: 
The funeral of Rev. Father James J. O'Connor on Friday, March 6, 
was largely attended. Mass was said at the church at 10 :30 a. m. by 
Rev. Father Lee of Armourdale, assisted by Rev. Fathers Madden, Cur- 
tin, Redekor, Scherr. McGuire and Michel. 

Rev. Father Gleason, of Kansas City, preached the funeral sermon 
from the text, "I am the resurrection and the life," and his eloquent 
sentences fell on appreciative ears. The large church was crowded and 
every listener was impressed with the touching tributes to the dead 
priest. Father Gleason began by saying that he came with no polished 
sentences of chiseled Avords to perform the last sad and solemn rites of 
tjhe Holy Church over the remains of his dead brother. From this he 
went on without notes or stops to the close of one of the ablest and most 
appropriate sermons ever delivered in Paola. Many tears were shed by 
members of the congregation and others. 



"■ — Liiber Defunctoi"um — A. D. 1884, on the 9th of May having- received the 
rites of the Church, died, about sixty years old, the Rev. James Colton, pastor of 
Eden, Fond du Lac Co., AVisconsin. Having obtained leave of absence to restore his 
broken health at his sister's (Mrs. Sheehy) home near this place, on account of the 
greater mildness of the climate. It pleased God to call the good Father to Himself. 
He was one of the pioneer priests of the arch-diocese of Milwaukee, in which he built 
many churches and pastoral residences. R. I. P. A. Carius. 



114 



THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 



About 1 o'clock in the afternoon carriages and wagons began to 
arrive at the church and an hour later the funeral cortege proceeded to 
the Missouri Pacific depot from where Mr. Jacob Koehler accompanied 
the body to Cleveland, Ohio, for burial. The procession was a long one 
and represented all creeds and sects. 




REV NICHOLAS NEUSIUS. 



REVEREND NICHOLAS NEUSIUS. 

Father Neusius succeeded the la- 
mented Father O'Connor in March. 
1891, and remained in charge until the 
following August. He was a young 
priest, born in Germany, but partly 
educated in America. He was noted 
for his thoroughness and efficiency, a 
strict disciplinarian and a willing 
worker — an excellent priest in ever> 
way. He established the League of 
the Sacred Heart on the first Friday 
of June, 1891, and appointed the first 
promoters. 

An explanation of the frequent 
changes of pastors, during the next 
few years, may be found in the fact 
that this was a period of expansion in 
church affairs in Kansas. The old 
time horse-back missionaries were 
passing, and mission stations were being supplied with resident priests, 
who in turn, established other missions, or abandoned fruitless ones as 
the case might be. 

The Right Reverened Bishop sought out theological students in 
various schools in Europe, and in addition to these, he maintained a 
number in various American seminaries. A native clergy was, of course, 
his ideal, but the country was too new to expect its realization. Very 
soon, however. Bishop Fink was successful in obtaining for his vast 
diocese — the whole of Kansas — a very efficient body of young priests, 
and as a consequence, Leavenworth became one of the best organized 
dioceses in the West, It would be a mistake to suppose, however, that 
all this was easily attained for we know that the good bishop experi- 
mented a great deal with the placing of priests in the various parishes 
so as to obtain the best results, and to satisfy the people of various 
nationalities rather than the priests themselves. Indeed, the latter had 
little or nothing to say in the matter. 

This aspect of affairs formed the greatest problem of the saintly bish- 
op's whole regime; it confronted him for years and baffled his best 
ingenuity at times ; but he had a remarkable man as his Vicar General, 



HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, PAOLA 115 

who had the art of cutting the gordian knot at every critical juncture. 

Very Rev. John F. Cunningham had spent a life time on the prairies 
of Kansas and knew how to advise the young men and even sympathize 
with them as they passed out to grub or starve, as the saying was. 

It would be easy to picture, Avithout doing violence to truth, a sad 
state of affairs over much of the sparsely settled sections of a diocese 
covering a territory of 82,000 square miles. In the bordering counties 
along the Missouri River and the Missouri line, the horse-back mission- 
aries of former days found every Catholic home a home indeed; they 
were never lonesome, they Avere welcome to the simple accommodations 
offered them and, as a consequence, they Avere to a large extent care-free. 

But Avhen the time of expansion came and the missions farther west 
received their pastors it Avas then that the real troubles began. It must 
be remembered that these young priests came from the centers of civiliza- 
tion in Europe and America, that they Avere men of education and often 
highly refined. They Avere indeed unprepared for the new order of 
things. Had they been raised in the West, the results Avould have been 
different, but as it Avas, many became bcAvildered and discouraged, for it 
required the greatest heroism to endure the lonesomeness of the prairies, 
and often, also, a lack of sympathy on the part of superiors, no less than 
on the part of those Avhom they came to serve. 

Mountains and streams are companionable but the dead level of a 
Avinter prairie is very oppressive to the mind, all the more when silence 
reigns and the elements of social life are absent. As a consequence some 
priests returned again to the East, some sought admittance into other 
dioceses, and a fcAv fell by the Avayside. The slow process of improve 
ment, however, went on, the Avisdom of the bishop prevailed and finally^ 
the demon of loneliness and the spectre of poverty Avere gradually elimi- 
nated. Fine churches, schools, and pastoral residences sprang up all over 
Kansas as the people multiplied and the towns grcAv apace. Finally in 
1887 the State was divided into three dioceses : LeavenAvorth, WichitK 
and Concordia, with a total Catholic population, at the present time 
(1918) of 132.000. The various Catholic institutions, too, developed Avon- 
derfully, so that the Colleges, Academies, hospitals and asylums are 
noAv amongst the best in the United States ; Avhile many religious orders 
are Avell represented, and are laying great foundations for the future. 



REVEREND THOMAS QUICK. 

Father Quick aa^hs the tenth pastor of Holy Trinity church. His term 
extended from September, 1891, to September, 1892. He was a man ad- 
vanced in years, of a kind disposition, \ery charitable to the poor and 
very forgetful of himself. He did not seem to knoAV the value of money 
or hoAV to ask for Avhat Avas his bj^ right. All he seemed to delight in 
was to give. The Avandering Avorkraen Avho filled the country at this 
time were knoAvn as "tramps" and hungry tramps generally made a 



116 



THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 



straight line for the Catholic rectory 
when they arrived in any town. If 
there was a hospital or a Sisters' 
School, that would, probably, be the 
first place the penniless, able-bodied 
men would call for a "bite to eat." 
At times it often looked like a small 
"bread line" at the back door of 
nearly every priest's house in the 
country. 

Paola being at the converging point 
of several railroads, got more than its 
share of the "Wandering Willies." 
The citizens protested and refused to 
aid "strapping fellows that should be 
at work." but the men protested that 
there was no work to be had, that if 
they could get to Kansas City or St. 
Louis or Chicago they could find em- 
ployment. Father Quick found many an occasion to aid this class and 
never turned any man from his door. 

He himself was an Englishman and had labored amongst the poorest 
of the poor in the slums of Manchester for years before coming to Amer- 
ica. He had the unique distinction of accompanying the famous "Man- 
chester Martyrs," Allen, Larkin, and O'Brien, to the scaffold and held 
the crucifix to their lips before the death-caps were drawn. 

The Irish people held this kind-hearted priest in great regard and 
when he was transferred from Paola to assist Father Hayden in Topeka, 
the people here sent a delegation to the Capital with a testimonial and 
purse of tliree liundred dollars as a mark of their esteem. 




REV. THOMAS QUICK. 



REVEREND THOMAS E. MADDEN. 

From September, 1892, to September, 1893, Father Madden was 
pastor of Paola. He was a bright young man, lately ordained, a product 
of the Eastern schools and a native of Brooklyn, New York, and entirely 
unaccustomed to western life. He was a refined and lovable character, 
but, still, "a college boy" — active in sports and sought after in society. 
Evidently his place was under the tutorship of an older priest where his 
splendid ability would develop normally with his years. 

He established the first parochial school in Paola with Simon Ken- 
nedy of Fulton, Kansas, as teacher. The basement of the church proved 
unsuitable for school purposes and the people began to feel the need of 
a school building which was hoped would be erected in the near future. 
Tu the meantime the basement school was abandoned and the school was 
not re-opened again until St. Patrick's was built in 1902. Father Madden 



HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, PAOLA 



117 



left Kansas and took up his duties un- 
der Bishop Lancaster Spalding of 
Peoria, 111., where he has distinguished 
himself in every line of priestly activ- 
ity and has been promoted to the pas- 
torate of one of the leading churches 
of the city of Peoria — St. John's, 
where he has an assistant and a pa- 
rochial school with eight teachers and 
three to four hundred pupils. 

Owing to the scarcity of priests the 
parish of Holy Trinity was vacant 
from June 20, 1893, to September 25, 
or October 1, 1893, when Father Burk 
was appointed. In the meantime 
Father Moses McGuire came from Ful- 
ton, Kas., once a month to say Mass 
for the people of Paola. 




REV. THOMAS E. MADDEN, 



REVEREND MAURICE BITRK. 

The next in order of appointment 
was Father Burk; he, like the iour 
preceding pastors remained but a 
sliort time, he Avas destined, however, 
to return in after years and accomplish 
great things for Holy Trinity parish. 
Born in Germany at Wadersloh in 
Westfalia on September 28, 1869, he 
passed through all his studies most 
successfully and was finally ordained 
to the holy priesthood in Louvain, Bel- 
gium, on the 29th of June, 1892. 

His destination was for the Kansas 
missions, and on his arrival was, after 
a short respite, sent to Paola as pas- 
tor on the 25tli of September, 1893, 
and remained until October 4, 1894. 
For many years, in fact, from the time 
of Father Gleason the financial affairs 
of the parish were at a standstill; Catholic families were being added to 
the parish year by year but they were all busy with their own affairs 
and the church was suffered to drift along from 1888 to 1894 when 
Father Burk took up the most pressing need of the time, namely : the 
building of a new rectory. The old one built by Father Wattron away 




REV. MAURICE BT'RK. 



118 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

back in the '60s had served its usefulness and was now unfit for human 
habitation. The present beautiful building was erected in 1894 and the 
work incidentally revealed the latent ability of the young pastor which 
in after years showed forth so conspicuously. 

Father Burk was respected and admired by the people although he 
remained with them but one year. The Eight Reverend Bishop knew of 
his learning and strength of character; of his prudence and industry 
which was all the more effectual on account of his genial manner. He 
was a gentleman without affectation and a priest above everything. 
Such a person could not remain hidden in a country town, so that the 
next thing we find he was called away on October 4, 1894, to be the Bish- 
op's assistant as secretary. His heart, however, was in Paola and when 
a vacancy occurred in 1903 he asked to be sent back to his first love. 




THE RIGHT REV. BISHOP HENNESSY, D. D. 



120 



THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 



BISHOP HENNESSY VISITS PAOLA. 



Bishop John Joseph Hennessy was born near Cloyne, County Cork, 
Ireland, July 19, 1847, of Michael and Ellen (Cronin) Hennessy. He 
came A\ath his parents to the United States in childhood, settling in St. 
Louis. He attended the Christian Brothers' College of that city, gradu- 
ating from there to Cape Girardeau College, in which he studied philos- 
ophy. His theological studies were made at the S'alesianum Seminary 
of Milwaukee, and by special dispensation he was ordained priest No- 
vember 21, 1869, when only twenty-two and a half years old. 

Shortly after his ordination Father Hennessy was sent to the Iron 
Mountain region, where his parochial duties extended over ten counties 
and where in 1876 he established the Ursuline convent at Arcadia, Mo. 

He was consecrated bishop of Wichita November 30, 1888, in St. 
Louis by Archbishop Peter R. Kenrick. He suffered a stroke of par- 
alysis early in the morning of July 13, 1920, and died a few hours later. 
He was buried from the Cathedral which he erected in Wichita. 



Francis David Fenoughty Maria Langdon 



The Right Reverend Bishop Hennessy Administered the Sacrament of 

Confirmation to the Following in Paola, Kansas, June 19, 1894, 

Reverend M. Burk, Pastor. 

Alphausus Johannis 
Patrick Daniel Hogan 
Francis Andreas Robinson 
Carolus Edgar Mallory 
Francis Phillip Cooper 
William Joseph Sheehy 
Francis Mallory 
Thomas Cunningham 
Johannis Alburtis Minning 
Johannis Edward McGrath 
Carolus Michael Cooper 
Emma Thersia Fenoughty 



Edward Carolus Hogan 
Maria Elizabeth Keenan 
Lilly Gertrude Allen 
Ella Cecelia Franklin 
Johanna Dalton 
Elsie Maria Harnden 
Anna Cecelia Nunning 
Flora Catharina Cooper 
Thomas Joseph Powers 
Katharine Cecelia Finn 
Maria Veronica Killy 



Henricus Willelhun Fenoughty Myrtle Anna Klassen 



Maria Elizabeth Dalton 
Maria Light 
Maria Powers 
Giace Maria Koehler 
Anna Lucia Toelle 
Genevieve Pickles 
Rose Clark 
Lilly Hogan 
Anna Lucia Finn 
Anna Maria Klassen 
Anna Maria Drehr 
Lucia Maria Sheridan 



REVEREND ANTHONY DORNSEIFER. 

Father Dornseifer became pastor on October 5, 1894. He was but 
lately ordained in Louvain, Belgium, and had but a slight acquaintance 
with the English language. "He was very young, very humble and very 
kind;" — the people give testimony to all this, for, to this day, they 
speak his name reverently. His struggles with the English tongue were 
oftentimes amusing but it made him all the dearer to the people. They 
liked Father Dornseifer and, he in return, has always retained a sincere 
affection for this, his first field of labor in America. 

During his time the Passionist Fathers gave a mission in Paola and 
Osawatomie and, incidentally. Father Michael, a famous missionary of 
that Order, induced the Ursuline Sisters to visit Paola. When Mother 
Jerome and her companions arrived at the priest's house. Father Dorn- 



HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, PAOLA 



121 



seifer welcomed them as Little Sisters 
of the Poor of St. Francis from St. 
Margaret 's Hospital. He was in a hurry 
to catch the train for Osawatomie 
where he had to go to instruct the 
children, etc., but he took time to place 
his visitors in touch with some of the 
leading citizens of the town and thus 
began the first chapter in the history 
of Our Ursuline Academy. 

During this year the Sodality of the 
Blessed Virgin and League of the 
Sacred Heart were greatly revived. He 
took a great interest in the young folks 
and in many other ways endeared him- 
self to the people. He was transferred 
to Kosedale in July, 1895, where he 
has labored successfully ever since. 
The church, school and pastoral resi- 
dence at Rosedale are amongst the finest in the Leavenworth diocese. 
Father Dornseifer has held the important office of "Defensor 
Vinculi" in the matrimonial court of the Diocese for several years. 




REV. ANTHONY DORNSEIFER. 



REVEREND FRANCIS TATON. 

The periodic changes have come to 
an end at last. Certainly, such fre- 
quent removals of pastors could not 
but have a deteriorating effect on any 
organized parish, but, fortunately for 
Paola, all the priests who came and 
went so frequently were mostly of a 
high order of clerical excellence. Noth 
ing but kindly memories enshrine their 
names in the hearts of the people so 
that, it is probable, the general effect 
was more favorable than otlierwise. 
It must be said of the Catholic people 
of Paola that the.y have long memories 
and warm hearts for their old-time 
pastors. All the first settlers were 
Irish — direct from Ireland, and this 
fact explains it all. It was this beau- 
tiful sentiment in the minds and on the 
lips of the old people that induced the writer of these pages to note down, 
to collect and compile the many items that go to make up this history. 




REV. FRANCIS TATON. 



122 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

The story of eighty strenuous years can not be told in this imperfect 
manner, but it is the best that can be done now and it may help others in 
days to come to give a proper setting to a very beautiful scene to which 
time will lend a halo and a warmth not now perceived. 

Father Taton remained pastor of Holy Trinity church from July 17, 
1895, to August 17, 1903. He was a native American, born in Illinois, of 
French parents and raised in Johnson county, Kan. He was in every 
way fitted for the rough usage of the western missions. He was a young 
priest of pleasing personality, with great courage and quiet determina- 
tion. He seemed never to grow weary in his missionary work through- 
out all of Miami county. He knew every road and lane, and almost every 
farm house in the county. Linn county too was visited regularly, but his 
best efforts bore little or no fruit in that most remarkable county. 
Father Taton spent all his spare time visiting the people and teaching 
catechism to the children ; he delighted in that kind of work. To be out 
in the sunshine and the fresh air, to get a whiff of zero weather or a 
blister from the summer sun was all in his line, he enjoyed it. No one 
ever seemed more happy in his work than Father Taton. Year in and 
year out he kept on, always accomplishing something, yet, never neglect- 
ing himself. He could eat everything, sleep anywhere and made friends 
of the very enemies of God Himself. It looks like over-drawing the pic- 
ture, but it is not overdrawn, for more good things can be said of this 
young priest than any other since the days of Father Hurley. It is true 
he inherited a well equipped church from the labors of his predecessors, 
and he had a new and comfortable dwelling to enter when he cared to be 
at home. 

The Catholic people were now increasing gradually and the church 
of the Holy Trinity was becoming an important congregation, but it 
lacked that most essential requirement, namely : a parochial school. The 
Sisters sought to meet this want ever since their Academy started in 1896, 
but it was never intended to be a permanent arrangement. 

The Right Rev. Bishop, L. M. Fink, 0. S. B., urged Father Taton to 
build a school for the children of the parish. The task looked formidable 
enough, financially considered, but the objection that the greater num- 
ber of children lived too far from town to be benefitted by such a school 
could not be denied. In fact, the people were not unanimously in favor 
of building a school at this time ; besides, the church needed repairs ; the 
selfish ones thought that they should pay for their own homes first and 
that the public schools were good enough. Then came the unkindest cut 
of all: "Why could not the priest go around the parish in his buggy to 
teach Catechism as they did in olden times?" "Father Abel used to walk 
six miles to our place," said another, 'to teach us youngsters the cate- 
chism, no doubt he Avent in other directions also." Thus the discussion 
went on but Father Taton kept his council and laid his plans carefully. 
He took up a subscription and gave some entertainments during 1900. 
He thus accumulated a fund of $1326. The following year he added 



HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, PAOLA 



123 



$932 to this amount. In the spring of 1901 the foundations of St. Pat- 
rick's School were laid and the construction with its many details was 
carried forward successfully so that the following year, 1902, saw the 
building completed and the school put in running order with Miss Helen 
Lewis as first teacher. In 1903, on September 8, the Ursuline Sisters took 
charge of the school and have continued ever since to render most effi- 
cient service. 

Saint Patrick's school was a success from the beginning. About 




PAROCHIAI. KKSIL)1':X 



\OOTj, PAOT.A, KANSAS. 



eighty pupils attended each year and occupied all the space that could 
be furnished with desks. 

The names of the teachers down to the present time were: 

1903-1904— Sr. M. Benedict, Sr. M. Rose Claire, Sr. M. Ignatius. 

1904-1905— Sr. M. Benedict, Sr. M. Mieliael, Sr. M. Ignatius. 

1905-1912— Sr. M. Benedict, Sr. M. Ignatius. 

1912-1913— Sr. M. Ignatius, Sr. M. Anne. 

1913-1916— Sr. M. Ignatius, Sr. M. Gabriel. 

1916-1917— Sr. M. Ignatius, Sr. M. Catherine. 

1917-1918— Sr. M. Ignatius, Sr. M. Catherine, Sr. M. Veronica. 

1918-1919— Sr. M. Ignatius. Sr. M. Helen. 

The first Parochial school was begun at the new Academy. Paola, in March, 
1896. The pupils, or day scholars, as they were called, were the following Cath- 
olic children of the town: 

Myrtle Klassen. Grace Koehier, Katherine, Anna and Susie Finn, Genevieve 
Pickles, Irene Clark, Hazel Kelly, Mary Koehler and Florence Allen. The boys 
were Samuel and Edgar Harnden and Harry Strausbaugh. On the next session 
of school in September the following names were added: Mary and Ethel Bogle. 
Eugene, Paul, Mark and Mary Lewis, Guss and Grace, Mary and Anna Powers, 



124 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

John Finn, Mary, Anna, Rose and Lizzie Toelle, Marie Charland, Ethelyn and 
Florence Chamberlain. 

This school was transferred to St. Patrick's in 1902. 

The first cost of the building was $3076.13 ; to this amount was added 
$179.25 in 1902 as necessary preparations for the opening of school. 

Only $600 remained to be paid and this was borrowed from the 
Miami County National Bank at 6 per cent per annum. This amount ran 
on in the bank until July, 1907, when it was finally paid. 

The following financial report for 1901 is taken from the parish 
books, a copy of which report was sent to the Right Rev. Bishop at the 
time. 

Summary of Receipts, 1901. 

By cash for last year $1326.00 

Cash Pew Rent 521.75 

Cash Sunday Collection 48.05 

Cash Cathedratic 30.00 

Cash Seminary 22.00 

Cash Orphans 16.00 

Cash Peter's Pence 2.75 

Cash Fuel Collection 45.35 

Cash Propagation of the Faith 3.00 

Cash Collection for St. Patrick's School 932.50 

Cash Borrowed for St. Patrick's School 600.00 

Cash Altar Society Funds 75.55 

Cash Cemetery 45.50 

Total Received $3668.45 

Total Expended 3475.16 

$ 193.29 
Note — Donated to Holy Trinity Church the salary of 
1901 for St. Patrick's School at Paola. excepting $50.18. 
Rev. Francis Taton. 

Summary of Expenses for 1901. 

To Pastor's Salary $ 50.18 

To Cathedratic 30.00 

To Fuel 104.98 

To Seminary 22.00 

To Peter's Pence 2.75 

To Insurance on School 46.00 

To Orphans 16.00 

To Water Supply 9.00 

To Propagation of the Faith 3.00 

To Infirm Priests' Fund 5.00 

To Altar Expense 40.65 

To Cemetery 69.47 

To St. Patrick's School in full 3076.13 

Total Expended $3475.16 

Balance on hand $ 193.29 

Note on St. Patrick's School for $600.00 at 6% in the 
Miami County National Bank, dated July 8, 1901. 

John Sheehan, Peter Keenan, } „ ,. 

Rev. Francis Taton. j Consultors. 

The foregoing accounts have been examined and are 
found correct. JOHN REDEKER, Dean. 

Westphalia, Kansas, January 30, 1902. 



HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, PAOLA 
List of graduates from St. Patrick's School is as follows; 



125 



Perry Powers 
Samuel Harnden 
Lawrence Finn 

Leo Nunnink 
Waiter Maioney 
Levi Hodges 
Paul LeAvis 
Noah Harnden 
Leslie McCarthy 

Robert Thompson 
Emil Koehler 
Clarence Goebel 
Mark Lewis 
Frank Johnson 

Josephine Johnson 
Henry Kaiser 
Glenn Stout 
Bernard Palmer 

John Conneghan 
Hugh Conneghan 

Fred Williams 
Frank Williams 
Frank Cunningham 
McKenna Hodges 

Cyril Nalty 
William Schwartz 
Charles Hilderbrand 
William Brueck 

Ferdinand Martin 
Marguerite Williams 

Alex Hodges 

Raymond Nalty 
Leo Schwartz 
Thomas Rigney 
Richard Nalty 
Oliver Brueck 

Theodore Toelle 
Herman Toelle 

Gregory Hodges 
Edward Schwartz 
Harold Williams 
Lawrence Nolan 



June 8, 1905. 
June 11, 1906. 

June 11. 1907. 

June 9, 1908. 

June 6, 1911. 
June 11, 1912. 

June 10, 1913. 

June 16, 1914. 

June 8, 1915. 
June 9, 1916. 

June 8, 1917. 
June 7, 1918. 



Mary McCarthy 
Lizzie Toelle 



Tereea Nunnink 
Regina Bogle 
Stella Kepple 
Maggie Theno 
Nettie Koehler 



Ellen Allen 
Helen McCarthy 
Mary Kepple 
Pauline Clarke 



Mary Cone 
Clara Theno 
Lorine Hodges 
Carrie Stout 

Mary Nalty 
Carmela Lewis 

Vincent McWilliams 
Marian Clarke 
Grace Gallagher 
Lethia McCarthy 

Bemice Hilderbrand 
Agnes Cunningham 
Thelma Koehler 



Elizabeth Clarke 
Marie McLean 

Hazel Mobley 

Mary Dalton 
Elizabeth Sheehan 
Olive Nalty 
Bernice Nalty 



Adelaide Kaiser 
Florence Regnery 

Pearl Koenig 
Genevieve Miller 
Bertha Guy 



126 



THE PnSTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 



Leo Nolan 
Herbert Hainline 
Joseph Buckley 
Joseph Guy 
Henry Koehler 

Eugene Schwartz 
Frank Koenig 
Bernard Rigney 
Louis Scherman 



June, 1919. 



June, 1920. 



Louise Buckle> 
Katherine Brueck 
Louise Clarke 
Margaret Graham 
Marie Starkey 

Jennie Poteet 
Agnes Lenehan 
Laurene Rigney 



Father Taton deserves great praise for his perseverance and his 
patience. He has been the author of untold blessings to this congregation 
by his many works of zeal. He reestablished the free library and revived 
the spirit of the Sodality and the League of the Sacred Heart. He 
prepared many classes for First Holy Communion and for Confirmation. 
He made innumerable visits to the sick and dying. He reconciled many 
fallen away Catholics to the Church and converted some to the true faith. 
He acted as chaplain of the Academy for some years, in addition to his 
other numerous duties. 

The parish records show that he baptized 164 persons from 1895 to 
1903 ; he witnessed 28 marriages, and buried 70 persons in Holy Cross 
cemetery. 

Father Taton 's next appointment was to Axtell, Kas., when the 
parish was no more than a mission and his time was equally divided 
between Axtell and Beattie. In 1904 he commenced work on a new 
church and dedicated it in 1906. In 1909 a residence was built and early 
in 1913 work was started on a parochial school. It was about that time 
that Father Taton celebrated his silver jubilee. 

He was promoted to the important post of chaplain of the National 
Military Home at Leavenworth in the spring of 1919. 



HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, PAOLA 



127 



The Right Reverend Bishop Fink Administered the Sacrament of Con- 
firmation to the Following- in Paola, Kansas, on October 7, 1897, 
The Rev. Father Taton, Pastor. 



Michael Francis Dalton 
Mathew Francis Harnden 
William Peter Theno 
Frederick Patrick Nunnink 
William Albert Wiest 
Michael Albert Cunningham 
Richard Joseph Johann 
John Bonifac Johann 
Augustine James Koehler 
Francis Joseph Keenan 
John Michael Finn 
Henry John Theno 
Edgar Sylvester Harnden 
James Archibald Lewis 
Berthel Frances Chamberlain 
Edith Augustine Harnden 
Dennis Francis Sullivan 
John Francis Leiniger 
Robert Lawrence Calderwood 
Thomas Morris Wolfe 
Charles William Masters 
William Henry Leiniger 
Edwin John Smith 
Garfield Arthur Cooper 
Wm. Patrick McDonough 
Adelia Josephine Gaffney 
Marcella Ester Smith 



Elizabeth Frances Wolfe 
Mary Cecelia Hutchinson 
Mary Theresia Rich 
Anna Frances Wolfe 
Elizabeth Olive Hodges 
Mary Alvira Chamberlain 
Grace Agnes Powers 
Catharine Agnes Langan 
Elizabeth Francis Johann 
Mary Margaret Toelle 
Mary Frances Foster 
Sarah Lillian Chamberlain 
Mary Mildred Lewis 
Sarah Frances Chamberlain 
Mary Agnes Koehler 

Elizabeth Cecelia McCarthy 
Anna Mary McCormick 
Mary Elizabeth Downes 
Mary Magdaline McCaulIa 
Catherine Agnes Leiniger 
Josephine Helen Roos 
Adalene Emma Vohs 
Mary Elizabeth Calahar 
Anna Mary Franklin 
Louise Elizabeth Robinson 
Ester Anna Cooper 



PART VI 

THE NEW CHURCH OF HOLY TRINITY 



HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, PAOLA 131 

REVEREND MAURICE BURK. 

Reverend Maurice Biirk succeeded Father Taton on August 15, 1903, 
and remained pastor until December 4, 1914. This was the second time 
that he became pastor of Paola. In the interval he had acted as private 
secretary of Rt. Rev. h. M. Fink. Bishop of Leavenworth. He 
was made pastor of Axtell and, on the transfer of Father Taton 
to Axtell he requested to be appointed to his old place in 
Miami county. The request was granted as a reward and the young 
priest reentered on his pastoral duties with alacrity and also with 
much additional experience. His immediate predecessor had left the par- 
ish and missions in fairly good condition. The school building was fin- 
ished, the rectory and church completed, and improvements carried out 
also in the Osawatomie chapel. Then, too, new families had been moving 
into these districts during the past few years so that the Catholic body 
had now become an important element in the population, of the county. 

Holy Trinity congregation might be regarded at this time as a well 
equipped parish with a bright future. It is needless to say that 
Father Burk was a contented and happy shepherd, surrounded by a flock 
that appreciated his worth. 

The situation was almost ideal when, lo ! as from a clear sky came a 
thunderbolt of misfortune. The cry of fire rang out on the chill night 
air and the town and country was soon illuminated by the lurid flames 
that shot up from the roof and tower of the beautiful church of Holy 
Trinity. Every effort to save the venerable building proved fruitless and 
in a few short hours it was reduced to ashes on the night of January 14, 
1906. 

The cause of the fire has never been ascertained. The regret felt by 
the people in general and by Father Burk in particular can well be imag- 
ined. It was, indeed, a serious loss financially, but more touching if not 
more important were the hallowed memories that perished in those 
flames. 

A generation had worshipped there since 1881. The baptisms, the 
marriages and the funerals of twenty-five years rendered the old church 
a landmark in many lives. Nine pastors had ministered to them within 
its walls and the joys and sorrows of a struggling people were there 
made known to God. 

The hour of trial had come, but, as events will show, a kindly provi- 
dence "tempered the winds to the shorn lamb." 

The pastor arose to the occasion and met the shock manfully. Sur- 
rounded by a body of masterful men on the following Sunday he laid the 
plans which gave to Paola its present splendid temple and to Miami 
county its finest church. 

The following records of the committee meetings are very interesting 
both in style and matter : 



132 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND. 

Secretary's Record of the Building of the New Holy Trinity Church In the Paola 

Parish of the Leavenworth Diocese of the State of Kansas, the Right 

Reverend Bishop Lillis In Charge. 

The old brick building burned on Sunday night, January 14, 1906, and on Sun- 
day, January 21, 1906, the following building committee was chosen by the con- 
gregation present, alter Mass, in the lower room of St. Patrick's school house; on 
the church plat, the north half of Block No. 113, in the city of Paola, Kansas: 
Jacob Koehler, Henry Allen, Peter Theno, Peter J. Keenan, John Sheehan, P. W. 
Goebel, Wm. Schwartz, Martin Langan, M. Fenoughty, Bernard Harkin, John 
Morris, James Riley, James Dalton and B. J. Sheridan. The committee was duly 
approved by Reverend Father Moritz Burk and upon the unanimous request of 
the congregation present, Father Burk was made a member of the committee and 
agreed to act. 

Adjourned to meet on Monday night, January 22, 1906. 

Monday night, January 22, 1906, half past seven o'clock, the Building Com- 
mittee met in the office of the Western Spirit newspaper. Present, Rev. Father 
Burk, Wm. Schwartz, Peter Theno, P. J. Keenan, B. J. Sheridan, Jacob Koehler, P. 
W. Goebel; Absent, 'Henry Allen, James Dalton, John Sheehan, Martin Langan, 
Bernard Harkin, M. Fenoughty and John Morris. On motion of Mr. Sheridan, Mr. 
Koehler was elected chairman and on motion of P. W. Goebel, B. J. Sheridan wa& 
chosen as secretary. Mr. Koehler accepted and so did Mr. Sheridan, The latter 
after first explaining that he must be absent from town much of the time the 
next six months, or more, and agreeing to do the work when he could be on hand, 
provided J no. W. Sheridan be authorized to act and work in his place in cases of 
absence. This was agreed to. 

It was unanimously resolved to proceed at once with the work of building a 
new church. Then after some discussion, it was agreed that the building should 
be 55 feet wide and 90 feet long, of stone and brick, Gothic architecture and 
modern in every way, with basement, furnace and steam heat, to stand on old site 
and steeple to be about 130 feet high. Peter Theno was appointed to get men and 
superintend the taking down of the old walls, saving all material of use or value. 
Reverend Father Burk was directed to correspond and find out who would be a 
suitable architect. 

Adjourned to meet on Sunday after Mass in the St. Patrick's school building. 

JACOB KOEHLER, Chaiiman. 
BY B. J. SHERIDAN, Secretary. 

Sunday, January 28, 1906, the committee met pursuant to adjournment in St. 
Patrick's school house, which by the way, is now used as a house of v/orshlp. 
Jacob Koehler was in the chair and in the absence of the Secretary, P. W. Goebel 
acted as Secretary pro tem. 

In the matter of subscriptions to the building fund, it was ordered that they 
be made one-third cash, one-third due in October, 1907, and one-third due in Oc- 
tober, 1908, with interest on notes at 6 per cent from October 1, 1906, at 6 per cent 
per annum. 

On motion, Jacob Koehler was chosen Treasurer. He was ordered to pay bills 
upon the O. K. of Peter Theno, and of Reverend Burk, or either of them 

Ordered that the pay of Peter Theno, who is in charge of the work now be 
fixed at 25 cents an hour. 

Adjourned to meet Sunday at 2 o'clock p. m., February 18, 1906; those present 
were Mr. Koehler, Mr. Schwartz, Mr. Goebel, Mr. Allen, Mr. Theno, Mr. Morris, 
Mr. Riley, Mr. Sheehan and Rev. Burk. 

P. W. GOEBEL, Sec. pro tem, 
By B. J. S. 

Sunday, February 18, 1906, the committee met pursuant to adjournment in St. 
Patrick's school building; present. Chairman Koehler, Secretary Sheridan and 
Messrs. Allen, Goebel, Schwartz, Rev. Father Burk, Rily, Theno and Fenoughty. 

Father Burk read several letters from architects and for one hour there was 
a general discussion as to the size of the building. Most of the architects held 
that the dimensions adopted at first meeting, 55x90 feet, with steeple 130 feet high, 
are not proportional. That 50x100, with steeple about 100 feet high is better. 



HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, PAOLA 133 

The matter of deciding whether the steeple should be in the middle of the 
north end or at the corner were left for future decision. Ordered that the base- 
ment extend under the whole structure. Ordered that the excavating be done 
by the day — dirt sold, and rock crushed under the supervision of Peter Theno. 
The rock crushing to cost, not to exceed 75 cents a yard. Also, Mr. Theno was 
directed to quarry rock and to get the same on the ground, employing men and 
teams by the day to do the same. 

Father Burk was appointed a committee of one to see about freight rates on 
material. 

Adjourned to meet at 2 p. m., Sunday, February 25th. in school building. 

B. J. SHERIDAN, Secretary. 

Sunday, February 25, 1906. Met in St. Patrick's school building, present. Rev. 
Burk, Jacob Koehler, P. W. Goebel, Peter Theno, Henry Allen, William Schwartz, 
James Riley, P. J. Keenan and M'. Fenoughty; also. Thomas McGrath was present 
by invitation of the secretary. Ordered that Wm. Ryan be employed under Peter 
Theno, as foreman of the stone quarrying at $1.75 per day. Plans of different 
structures were examined and on motion, it was ordered that the decision as to 
whether the steeple should be in the center, or on the side of the north wall, go 
over till next regular meeting. 

JACOB KOEHLER, Chairman. 
B. J. SHERIDAN, Secretary. 

Special meeting, February 27, 1906. Met to hear from Mr. Hair, the architect. 
Present, Jacob Koehler, P. W. Goebel, Wm. Schwartz, Peter Theno and P. J. 
Keenan. Mr. Hair not having plans with him, nothing was done. 

Adjourned till regular meeting, Sunday, March 4, 1906. 

JACOB KOEHLER, Chairman. 
B. J. SHERIDAN, Secretary. 

Sunday, March 4, 1906. Regular meeting held in St. Patrick's school building. 
Present, Rev. Father Burk, Jacob Koehler, Wm. Schwartz, Thomas McGrath, Geo. 

Toelle, Henry Allen, Peter Theno, P. J. Keenan, Riley, M. Fenoughty 

and Jno. W. Sheridan, proxy for B. J. Sheridan. Mr. Hair, of the firm of Hair & 
Smith, was present with plans and specifications of proposed new Catholic church. 
His drawings were gone over and discussed, and Father Burk stated that the 
plans must be presented to the Bishop for his predilection and then to the congre- 
gation, so Mr. Hair was told that he would be notified, within a week as to what 
had been done. The next architect's plans submitted were those of Washburn & 
Son, the firm being personally represented by the Junior member. Mr. Washburn's 
draMings were examined and same were left with the committee, he to be notified 
of the acceptance or non-acceptance of plans submitted within a week from Mon- 
day, or March 12th. 

Following this came the regular business meeting, called to order by Mr. 
Koehler. It was moved and carried that stone be quarried from the McGrath farm, 
east of town, and as much as possible be used in the construction of water table. 
Henry Allen moved that a purchasing committee, consisting of 5 members on the 
building committee be appointed to look up material of masonry, lime, sand, etc., 
and also investigate freight rates. This motion was carried and following were 
chosen to act on committee: Jacob Koehler, Fathei" Burk, P. W. Goebel, Wm. 
Schwartz and B. J. Sheridan. It was moved and motion prevailed, that Peter 
Theno be instructed to see how many stone masons were procurable and present 
names at next meeting. 

Adjournment. 

JACOB KOEHLER, Chairman. 
JNO. W. SHERIDAN, Acting Secretary. 

Sunday, April 8, 1906. In regular meeting the following were present: Jacob 
Koehler, Rev. Burk, Wm. Schwartz, Peter Theno, P. J. Keenan, James Riley, 
Henry Allen, M. Fenoughty, P. W. Goebel and B. J. Sheridan. Mr. Hair, the archi- 
tect, was present and gave the following estimate: , 

On motion, Wm. Schwartz, Peter Theno and Jacob Koehler were appointed a 
sub-committee to go over the estimates with Architect Hair. Peter Theno was 
asked how many yards of broken stone he had for concrete and said about 100 



134 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

yards. Mr. Theno also reported ordering 2 cars of sand. The railway; companies 
would give no cut on freights. The matter of brick came up and the wish was 
unanimous to get all brick in Paola that could be gotten which would fill the bill. 
The drawings of the building were shown by Mr. Hair and unanimously approved. 
Adjourned. 

JACOB KOEHLER, Chairman. 
B. J. SHERIDAN, Secretary. 

Western Spirit office, May 12, 1906. 

Committee met pursuant to call of Father Burk. Present, Chairman Koehler, 
Secretary Sheridan and other members, Rev. Burk, P. J. Keenan and Peter Theno. 
Ordered that an advertisement be sent to the Kansas City Journal for bids on the 
brick work, and the carpenter work of the church, to be received on June 1, 1906; 
also, that bids be advertised for in The Miami County Republican and The Western 
Spirit of Paola, Kansas. The plans and specifications to be on file at the store 
of Jacob Koehler, Chairman. Bids to be received till noon on June 1. 1906. It was 
decided that the painting would not be let with the other work, but later. The 
matter waa discussed of letting the brick, iron and woodwork separate or all to- 
gether, and the general opinion was that best satisfaction would result In letting 
all to one man. 

Adjourned to meet upon the call of the chairman or upon the call of Rev. 
Father Burk. 

JACOB KOEHLER, Chairman. 
B. J. SHERIDAN, Secretary. 

June 12, 1906. Committee and several bidders met to open bids. Prior to 
this date it had been agreed upon by the sub-committee to extend the time for 
receiving and opening the bids. 

Committee present, Chairman Koehler, Secretary Sheridan, Schwartz, Theno, 
Langan, Fenoughty, Keenan, Riley, Dalton, Rev. Father Burk and J. Sheehan; 
absent, Goebel and Morris. The bids were as follows: 
Fordyce Bros., Paola, Kansas, according to plans and specifications, ex- 
cepting the sash, glass, iron, hardware, sash-cord, painting, brick, cut- 
stone and mortar. We, Fordyce Bros., furnishing all lumber, including 
frames, doors, brick, work setting cutstone, cleaning walls, plastering 

metal work, nails and carpenter work $9,644.00 

Add to this if slate is used, main roof, $357.00; towers, $112.00, total 469.00 

Galvanized shingles on tower 92.00 

Basement carpentering 70.00 

Bid of J. H. Petty, Paola, Kansas, same specifications as recited in Fordyce 
bid: 

According to specifications, etc $9,374.00 

Add, if slate is used, main roof and towers 700.00 

On towers 215.00 

Metal 195.00 

V. Bauer, Horton, Kansas, according to specifications $10,450.00 

J. F. Hoover, Paola, Kansas, according, etc $10,935.00 

Towers, with slate roof, add $140; main roof with slate, $433 573.00 

J. Q. McAfee, Garnett, Kansas, according to specifications, etc $10,383.00 

As some bids excepted the sash and others included sash, also, as the commit- 
tee had not yet decided whether roof would be shingle or slate, it was moved 
that the matter of awarding contract be postponed until Sunday, June 17, 1906. 
Carried and Committee adjourned. Before adjourning Wm. Schwartz, Jacob Koeh- 
ler and Peter Theno were appointed committee to go over bids. 

Sunday, June 17, 1906. Committee met in St. Patrick's school building, pur- 
suant to adjournment. Present, Jacob Koehler, Chairman; B. J. Sheridan, Secre- 
tary; P. W. Goebel, Wm. Schwartz, Jas. Riley, M. Fenoughty, Peter Theno, Rev. 
Father Burk, Peter Keenan. 

Moved by P. W. Goebel that the towers and main building be covered with 
slate, seconded by Peter Theno. Carried. Father Burk said that the matter of 
bids on sash was next. Wm. Schwartz reported that the committee on examina- 
tion of bids had found and concluded that the contract lay between Fordyce 



HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, PAOLA 135 

Brothers and J. H. Petty, all depending upon whose bid for sash was cheaper; 
that McAfee of Garnett, Hoover of Paola, Bauer of Horton, all were much higher 
than Fordyce Brothers and Petty. 
Bids on sash were then opened. 

J. H. Petty, Paola, Kansas $ 300.00 

Fordyce Brothers, Paola $240.00 

The bids were then gone over and carefully compared and found to be as 
follows: 

Fordyce Bros., Paola, Kansas, main bid $ 9,644.00 

Slate roof for towers, $112.00; main building, $357.00 469.00 

Sash 240.00 

Total $10,353.00 

J. H. Petty, Paola, Kansas, main bid $ 9,374.00 

Slate roof on towers and main building 700.00 

Sash 300.00 

Total $10,374.00 

(NOTE — Total cost of building, including basement, about $23,000.) 

On motion, duly seconded, the contract was awarded to Fordyce Brothers, their 
bid being $21.00 lower than J. H. Betty's bid. 

Wm. Schwartz and Peter Theno were appointed a committee to see the 
lumber and material dealers in Paola, and adjust differences in regard to the 
prices charged for sand and so forth. 

B. J. Sheridan and Wm. Schwartz were appointed a committee to have con- 
tract and bond made with Fordyce Brothers. 

It was agreed that the time for the completion of the church be fixed, if pos- 
sible, at December 1, 1906. 

Adjourned. 

JACOB KOEHLER, Chairman. 
B. J. SHERIDAN, Secretary 

There were various informal meetings of the committee not called regularly, 
yet some details were passed upon. All the terms of the contract with Fordyce 
Brothers were agreed upon and contract drawn in duplicate, signed by B. J. Sheri- 
dan, Wm. Schwartz, Jacob Koehler, Father Burk and Fordyce Brothers. 

B. J. SHERIDAN, Secretary. 

August 27, 1906. 

Work was delayed some weeks owing to Mr. Sellers being unable to get cut 
stone from quarry, but it is now being pushed rapidly along. 

CORNER STONE LAID. 



The Bishop of This Diocese Consecrates the Foundation of the New Catholic 
Church In Paola and Lays the Corner Stone. 



2,000 PEOPLE WERE PRESENT. 



Nine Priests Assisted In the Services and the Sermon Was Delivered In the Open 
Air On Sunday Afternoon, May 27, 1906. 

(From The Western Spirit.) 
The completion of the foundation of the new Catholic Church in Paola was 
celebrated on Sunday afternoon. May 27, 1906, by the laying of the corner stone on 
which was chiseled, "Holy Trinity Church, 1906." Right Reverend Bishop Lillis of 
Kansas City, Kansas, whose charge is known as the Leavenworth Diocese, con- 
ducted the solemn services in which he was assisted by Rev. Father Kuhls, the 
oldest pastor in active service in the state, who has been at the head of the old 
Wyandotte parish for forty years; also by Rev. Father Jennings of Argentine, Rev. 
Father Beck of Armourdale, Rev. Father Dornseifer of Rosedale, Rev. Father 



136 



THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 



Grormley of Garnett, Rev. Father Hohe of Wea, Rev. Father Michel of Frank- 
fort, Rev. Fathers Burk, and Eloe of Paola. 

Music was furnished by the Wea church orchestra band and Bishop Lillis de- 
livered the sermon from a temporary platform on the new foundation. Although 
in the open and the wind blowing some, every word was heard. Full 2,000 people 
listened to it. The Bishop's language was simple and his discourse was very im- 
pressive. He spoke 56 minutes, and without notes. He likened Jesus Christ and 
the Catholic Church to husband and wife, and inveighed against divorce. The ne- 
cessity of religion was the necessity of the home — simple, pure and sanctified to 
God. He heartily congratulated the people of Paola on their moral and liberal 




NEW HOLT TRINITY CHURCH. 



character, and commended to them unity, charity and harmony in the upbuilding 
of their religious interests. Bishop Lillis is a young man, powerful in mind and 
rugged in body. He is of Irish blood, reared in Kansas City and thoroughly drilled 
to a high degree of scholarship. He is an ideal clergyman of ancient learning and 
modern finish, trained in thinking aright and gifted in language. There's poetry 
in his sentences though his words are simple, and there's music in his piety while 
he talks like a man. Clear eyes, white teeth, a brow and upper lip indicating 
courage and firmness, dignity of carriage, a voice under perfect control and ges- 
tures few. Bishop Lillis combines the prelate and the advocate, the prophet and 
the orator. 

In the box of the granite stone were placed the following articles: A his- 
tory of the parish, beginning with 1848, and down to the present time, prepared 
by Rev. Father Burk, a list of the parishioners with notes; copies of The Catholic 
Register of Kansas City, the St. Louis Progress, the Miami Republican and The 
Western Spirit; a few coins, and a St. Benedict medal. "Holy Trinity," a cross 
beneath, and "May 27, 1906," is the carving on the face of the stone. 



HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, PAOLA 137 

No collection was taken up. The church, when complete, will cost about 
$25,000. 



THE NEW HOLY TRINITY CHURCH IS DEDICATED. 

Impressive Ceremonies Mark the Completion of Paola's New $40,000 Edifice 

Last Monday. 

RIGHT REVEREND THOS. F. LILLJS THE OFFICIATING DIGNITARY. 

Services Began at Nine O'clock with Blessing the New Church Followed by 

Solemn High Mass and Able Addresses by Father Jennings 

and Bishop Lillis. 

(From The Western Spirit.) 

The dedication of the new Holy Trinity church in Paola occurred Monday, 
April 1st, 1907, and was attended by 1,500 people. 

Right Reverend Thomas Francis Lillis, Bishop of the Leavenworth diocese, 
officiated. The dedicatory services began at nine o'clock a. m. with the bless- 
ing of the beautiful edifice. 

About 9:30 the Bishop and his assistants entered the church, which was fill- 
ed to over-flowing. Solemn High Mass was then celebrated, the celebrant be- 
ing Reverend Father Leo Molengraft, O.F.M., of Kansas City, Kansas, assisted 
by Father B. S. Kelly, also of Kansas City, Kansas, as Deacon, and Reverend 
Father Dornseifer, of Rosedale, as Subdeacon. Father B. A. Mohan, of Kansas 
City was Master of Ceremonies, and the assistants to the Bishop were Fathers 
A. J. Kuhls, of Kansas City, Kansas, and Redeker, of Westphalia. 

The Reverend Father Jennings, of Kansas City, Kansas, delivered the dedi- 
catory sermon. His language was simple and his discourse very impressive. 
Bishop Lillis also spoke and many who heard him pronounce it the ablest and 
most beautiful address ever listened to in Paola. 

After the other services, confirmation was administered by Bishop Lillis. 
Besides the resident pastor. Reverend M. Burk, the following out-of-town priests 
were present and assisted in the exercises: Reverend Fathers Kuhls, Mohan, 
Kelly, Bradley, Jennings and Molengraft, all of Kansas City, Kas.; Rev. Father 
Bernadine, Rev. Father M. J. Gleason, Rev. Father C. M. Scanlan and Rev. Father 
Macleod, C.Ss.R., of Kansas City. Mo.; Rev. Father Beck of Argentine; Rev. 
Father Dornseifer, of Rosedale; Rev. Father Michel, of Frankfort; Rev. Father 
Herberichs, of iLenexa; Rev. Father Scherer, of Greeley; Rev. Father Redeker, 
of Westphalia; Rev. Father Hohe, of Wea; Rev. Father Heuberger, of Loulsburg, 
and Rev. Father Eloi, O,. S. B., of Ursuline Academy. 

The dedicatory services over, the priests and congregation repaired to St. 
Patrick's school, east of the new church, where dinner was served. The priest's 
table occupied the upper floor, while the down stairs room was used for the 
general dinner hall. The Catholic ladies worked like beavers, caring for the 
immense throng of hungry patrons, but all were looked after in good shape, and 
everybody enjoyed one of the best meals ever spread on a table. While dinner 
was being served, the Wea Parish band, under the direction of Reverend Father 
Hohe, discoursed sweet music, which added greatly to the success of the happy 
occasion. 

The old church, destroyed by fire January 14, 1906, was 50 feet by 80 feet, 
and was built in 1881. Work on the plans of a new church was started immed- 
iately after the fire, and the building committee was composed of Jacob Koehler, 
Henry Allen, P. J. Theno, Peter J. Keenan, John Sheehan, P. W. Goebel, William 
Schwartz, Martin Langan, M. Fenoughty, .John Morris, Bernard Harkins, James 
Riley, James Dalton and B. J. Sheridan. This committee was duly approved by 
Reverend Father Burk, who, upon the unanimous request of the congregation, 
was made a member of the committee. 

The completion of the foundation of the new church was celebrated in Paola, 
May 27, 1906, by the laying of the corner stone. Bishop Lillis conducting the serv- 
ices. Work was pushed and now, in its finished condition, furnishings complete, 
the new Holy Trinity church represents a value of about $40,000. 



138 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

The structure is 52 feet wide by 115 feet long, and is built of pressed brick 
and white stone. The larger tower, wherein hangs the $300 bell, donated by Wil- 
liam Schwartz, is 110 feet high. A basement extends under the whole structure. 

Entering the main door on the north, one steps into a large vestibule, sep- 
arated from the church proper by three sets of double swinging doors. On the 
extreme left is a smaller vestibule to which admission is gained by a door at 
the northeast end of the church. From this room a stairway leads to the gal- 
lery. In the center of the balcony rests the large pipe organ, while on the east 
is a small alcove which may be used to a good advantage when the capacity ot 
the church is taxed, as an arched opening gives full view of the sanctuary. 

Six massive white pillars, each adorned with capitals of the composite style, 
occupy positions on either side of the center aisle, and serve as supports to the 
arched Gothic ceiling, which is divided into six parts and each projecting shoul- 
der of the groined section meets the immaculately white columns, giving strength 
as well as beauty to the appearance of the large audience room. 

The pews are divided into four divisions and three aisles, the main one being 
at the center. On the left side, within the communion rail, is the Blessed Virgin 
Mary altar, beneath whose canopy stands a statue of the Blessed Virgin. This 
altar was the gift of the Sodality Society and the statue from one of the parish- 
ioners. 

The central altar, donated by the altar society, is a handsome piece of work 
of Gothic pattern, bearing statues of Jesus, Mary and Saint Ann. Standing out 
in bold relief at the base of the altar is the scene of the last supper. On the 
west is Saint Joseph's altar, which, with the statue, was presented by faoia 
Council No. 1149, Knights of Columbus. 

The sacristies on each side of the altar are conveniently connected by a 
light, airy passageway which leads from the vestment apartment to the room on 
the west that will be used by the altar attendants to the priest during services. 

Great care was exercised in selecting the church windows. They are of im- 
ported cathedral glass and very beautiful. The first on the left is Saint Peter, 
given by Jacob Koehler. Next comes the patron saint of Ireland — St. Patrick — 
donated by Michael and Patrick Fenoughty. The third window on the east shows 
Saint John — a memorial to Mary L. Charland, late wife of John Charland. The 
large double window is a fine specimen of art, representing "The Ascension." 
The north half is in memory of James B. and Anne Clark, and the south half 
is the gift of Joseph Dalton and his sons, Charles and James. Saint Agnes' win- 
dow is the first on the right of the auditorium, in memory of Miles Finn, and 
to the south of it is W. F. Killy's donation, St. Rose of Lima. St. Cecilia, donat- 
ed by Peter J. Theno, is the next window. To the right of the sanctuary is the 
large double window, picturing Christ blessing little children. St. Patrick's 
school is the donor. The smaller windows in vestibules were donated by John 
Sheehan, James Wiest and Thomas McGrath. The rounded frontal over the north 
entrance was given by Mathew Harnden. 

The new edifice ranks among the finest in Kansas and is a structure of which 
all Paola may feel justly proud. Father Burk, to whom much credit is due for 
his faithful work in supervising its erection, feels grateful to all for substantial 
assistance, not only from his parishioners, but from non-Catholics, who contrib- 
uted generously to the building fund. 

Last Wednesday, in company with Bishop Lillis and Rev. Patrick Mclnerney, 
of Olathe, Father Burk left for New York, from which point they will sail for 
Rome. The Bishop's trip is what is known in the Church as the Ad Llmina or 
Bishop's visit to the Pope. 

Once in ten years the Bishop of every diocese is required to visit the Holy 
See in Rome and report on the condition of the churches under his charge. It 
has been twenty-six years since a Bishop of the Leavenworth diocese appeared 
in person before the Pope. 

While abroad. Rev. Burk will visit his parents, who live at Wadersloh, West- 
falen, Germany. During his three months' absence, Rev. Father Clarence Brad- 
ley, assistant at St. Mary's church, Kansas City, will take his place here. 



HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, PAOLA 139 

On Father Burk's return from Europe in July of that same year he 
immediately resumed the important task of finishing the many details 
left over from the past year's work. His health was now restored and his 
spirits rendered buoyant by the joy of the people at his return. 

It took years to complete the work and to liquidate all indebtedness, 
—seven years in fact, — but he succeeded completely and left to future 
generations a perfectly equipped church, beautiful in proportions and 
stately in its general outlines. In keeping with all this was the new 
equipment of the rectory. He installed a full set of fine electric fixtures 
in the church and residence. He laid out the grounds with excellent 
taste and constructed an extensive system of cement walks. In fact, it 
would be hard to find a single thing wanting, from the steam heating 
plant in the cellar to the fine toned bell in the tower. The beauty of the 
interior of Holy Trinity church is greatly enhanced by the splendid altars 
and Stations of the Cross, but more especially by the artistic excellence 
of the stained glass windows. There are fine pews and a large pipe 
organ. 

The vestments and sacred vessels are in keeping with the rest, and 
the choir, under Sister Cecilia, would do credit to any city church. Thi» 
was Paola in 1914. The reader, however, must remember that Osawatomie 
and the State Asylum was then a part of the daily and weekly burden 
that wore on the health and nerves of this willing worker. 

Father Burk felt his health again declining and his nervous system 
affected so that a change became necessary. He freely and by request 
exchanged place with Father Kinsella of the Sacred Heart church at 
Leavenworth on December 4, 1914, and after one year and eight months 
at the latter place, he was appointed to the important rectorship of St. 
Mary's church, Kansas City, Kas. This took place September 1, 1916, 
and the following December the 19th, he was appointed Dean of the Kan- 
sas City district and a Vicar General of the Leavenworth Diocese. 

A much needed pastoral residence at the Sacred Heart church is the 
result of his short stay in Leavenworth. The same is true at St. Mary's; 
he has built a modern, up-to-date residence there, which is regarded by all 
as the best of its kind in the two Kansas Cities. 

It is pleasant now to record that this good priest has retained the 
esteem and reverence of all who ever knew him in Miami county, and 
more especially, the people of Paola. 




VERY REV. JOHN F. CUXXIXaHA:Nr. D. 1>. 



HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, PAOLA 



141 



BISHOP CUNNINGHAM VISITS PAOLA. 

On September 21, 1898, the Very Rev. John F. Cunningham, Vicar- 
General of the Diocese of Leavenworth, was consecrated in that city. 
Bishop of Concordia. Born in 1842, in the County Kerry, Ireland, he 
made his studies at St. Benedict's College, Atchison, Kan., and at St. 
Francis' Seminary, Milwaukee, Wis., and was ordained priest at Leaven- 
worth, August 8, 1865. After his consecration he devoted himself to the 
multiplication of schools and institutions of learning and charity. 

From 1898 to 1907, 45 churches and 20 schools were built, exclusive 
of the opening of many new missions and stations. There are 51 secular 
and 15 religious priests, attending 91 churches, 30 stations, and four chap- 
els. The children in the parochial schools number about 2,482. The 
Catholic population of the diocese is 26,125. 



The Right Reverend Bishop Cunningham Administered the Sacrament of 

Confirmation to the Following in Paola, Kansas, on June 26, 1904. 

Reverened M. Burk, Pastor. 



John Richard Wolfe, 

George Bernard Fenoughty, 

Walter Leo Maloney, 

Forest Edward Cooper, 

William Joseph Chamberlin, 

Edward Thomas Maloney, 

Lawrence James Finn, 

Leo. Charles Nunnink, 

Michael Pierce Powers, 

Charles Smith, 

William Kilian Palmer, 

Samuel August Harnden, 

Francis Arthur Edw. Murphy, 

John Joseph Wolfe, 

Anna Marcella Adelaide Keenan, 

Anna Marie Alice Papst, 

Maria Theresa Charland, 

Mary Catharine Lucile McCarthy, 

Elsia Ursula VanKirk, 

Sallie Philip Drehr, 

Gertrude Kepple, 

Alice Veronica Reitinger, 



Mary Hogan, 

Susie Frances Agnes Finn, 
Elis Lewis Cecelia Toelle, 
Mary Elizabeth Smith, 
Mary Alice Fortz, 
Lola Jerome Obermeyer, 
Mary Lucy VanKirk, 
Mary Anna Doroney, 
Catherine Theresa Burns, 
Violette Mary Dillan. 
Julia Lawrentia Gaffney, 
Amelia Gertrude Vohs, 
Clara Agatha McCullough, 
Elis Theresa Wolf, 
Cath. Elis. Theresa Barnes, 
Sarah Francis McCarthy, 
Mary Ellen Wiest, 
Mary Monica Koehler, 
Theresa Jerome Gaffney, 
Florence Ursula Allen, 
Catherine Alphonsus Lewis. 




THE RIGHT REV. THOMAS FRANCIS LII.LIS. D. D. 



HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, PAOLA 



143 



BISHOP LILLTS VISITS PAOLA. 

Rig'ht Rev. Thomas Francis Lillis was born March 3, 1861, 
at Lexington, Mo., studied Classics at St. Francis, Milwaukee ; 
studied philosophy at St. Benedict's College, Atchison, Kas.; 
Theology at St. Meinrad's Seminary, St. Meinrad, Ind. ; ordained 
in Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception, Kansas City, Mo., by 
Bishop Hogan, August 15, 1885 ; appointed assistant to Rev. E. Hamill, at 
Shackelford, Mo.; from 1887 to 1904 pastor of St. Patrick's church, Kan- 
sas City ; made Vicar General in June, 1903 ; appointed Bishop of Leav- 
enworth, Kas., by Papal Bulls dated Sept. 14, 1904; consecrated Bishop 
of Leavenworth in the Kansas City Cathedral December 27, 1904, by 
Archbishop J. J. Glennon of St. Louis, assisted by Bishop J. J. Hogan of 
Kansas City, and Bishop J. F. Cunningham of Concordia, Kas, ; appointed 
Coadjutor to the Bishop of Kansas City, with the right of succession, 
March 14, 1910; Bishop of Kansas City, February 21, 1913. 

When Bishop Lillis was transferred to Kansas City, those who knew 
him as pastor of St. Patrick's church, or as Bishop of the diocese of Leav- 
enworth, foresaw that his new field of labor would yield the choicest 
fruit. Bishop Hogan immediately transferred the administration of the 
diocese to his new Coadjutor, and since his advent the movement of the 
Church has been onward and upward. 



The Right Reverend Bishop Lillis Administered the Sacrament of Con- 
firmation to the Following in Paola, Kansas, on April 1, 1907, 
Reverend M. Burk, Pastor. 



Herman Arthur Vohs, 
Paul Francis Clem Lewis. 
Frank Thos. Mathew Jchnson, 
Peter St. Benedict McCarthy, 
Thomas Franklin Morris, 
William B. Brueck, 
John William Morris, 
Augustus Thos. Maloney, 
Noah Mathew Harnden, 
Bernard Emil St. John Cone. 
Ursula Helen Boyle, 
Catharina Anna Lynch, 
Angela Maria Coughlin, 
Lucilla Clara O'Leary, 
Gertrude Alma Cone, 
Madalena Carmen Coyle, 
Marg. Eva Mary Theno, 



Nellie Agnes Coughlin, 
Gladys Jontius Sheehy, 
Florence Agnes Celest Lyon, 
Sarah Agnes McCa.be, 
Mary Stella Veronica Vohs, 
Antoinette Louise Koehler, 
Stella Mary Louise Kepple, 
Cath. Ellen Cecelia Sheehan. 
Josephine Mary Woodson, 
Maria Strout. 
Grace Mary Toelle, 
Mary Johanna Toman, 
Mary Frances Sheehan, 
Regina Elis. Bogle, 
Ella Ester Johann, 
Minnie Mary Toman. 



The Right Reverend Bishop Lillis Administered the Sacrament of Con- 
firmation to the Following in Paola, Kansas, on May 22, 1910, 
Reverend M. Burk, Pastor. 



Mark Joseph Lewis, 
Ferdinand Levi Hodges, 
John Francis Nalty, 



Margaret Helen Cunningham, 
Mary Elizabeth Jordan, 
Agnes Ellen Papst, 



144 



THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 



Bernard Donegan Palmer, 
William Francis Wolf, 
Walter Anton Reitinger, 
Herbert Richard Kepple, 
John Joseph Chamberlain, 
Milo Michael Baxter, 
Richard Wolf, 
John Donald Sheehan, 
John Francis Conneghan, 
Thos. Francis Baxter, 
James Martin Dougherty, 
Leo Jacob Koehler, 
Frank Patrick Cunningham, 
Emil Theodore Koehler, 
Wilbur William Kepple, 
James Jos. Lewis, 
Margaret Cecelia Steinbacher, 
Mary Agnes Frances Brinker, 
Mary Pearl Elis. Cadden, 
Mary Gertrude Masters, 
Rosa Marj. Agnes McMorrow, 
Lillian Theresa Coughlin, 



Pauline Bernadette Clark, 
Catharine Toelle, 
Stella Mary Maloney, 
Clara Elis. Theno, 
Cecelia Brinker, 
Mary Theresa Barlis, 
Elis. Josephine Wolf, 
Anna Miller, 
Mary Josephine Kepple, 
Mary Magdalene McCarthy, 
Mary Elizabeth Cone, 
Josephine Veronica Johnson, 
Nettie Mary Wolf, 
Anna Mary Daltimeier, 
Helen Frances Allen, 
Rosa Monica Killy, 
Helen Mary McNamara, 
Mina Koehler, 
Mary Maloney, 
Lorene Bridget Hodges 
Pearl Christine Hamm, 




THR UIGHT REV. JOHN WARD, D. D. 



146 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND. 

BISHOP WARD VISITS PAOLA. 

(From The Leavenworth Times.) 

Bishop Ward was born May 23, 1857, in the vicinity of Cleveland, Ohio. He 
attended the Parish school at Olmstead, Ohio, and passed through the High School 
at Berea. He continued his classical studies at Mt. St. Mary's, Cincinnati, and 
completed his collegiate course at Sanwich College, Ontario. He took up his 
studies of Science, Philosophy and Theology under the Benedictine Fathers at 
the famous institution of learning at St. Meinrad's, Indiana. He was ordained to 
the Priesthood in the Cathedral of Leavenworth, July 17, 1884, by his lamented 
and saintly predecessor, Rt. Rev. Louis Mary Fink, O. S. B. 

Immediately after his ordination. Father Ward served for some months as 
Assistant Priest at the Cathedral, with Rt. Rev. Bishop Cunningham as Rector of 
that time. In November of the same year, he was sent as pastor to Frankfort 
and Irish Creek where he remained four years. With his people of the north- 
west, his name, his kindness, his zeal, good work are held in loving memory, not 
only by the old pioneers and early settlers but by the present generation whom he 
baptized and instructed in the mysteries of holy religion. In 1888 he was trans- 
ferred to Parsons, Kansas, which at that time was a part of the Leavenworth 
Diocese. With seven years in Parsons, his next charge was St. Thomas Church, 
Armourdale, then the most flourishing parish of the Diocese. Three years later, 
with the appointment and consecration of Bishop Cunningham to the Diocese of 
Concordia, Father Ward was sent as his successor to the Cathedral in Leaven- 
worth. Eleven and one-half years as rector of the Cathedral so won a place in 
the hearts of the Catholics and non-Catholic people of Leavenworth, that his 
consecration yesterday was their joy and their pride, and they gathered at his 
feet yesterday morning in the grand old House of Worship he loved so well, to 
pay him their reverence and homage and childlike devotion. 

In the spring of 1909 when the irremovable rectorship of St. Mary's Church, 
Kansas City, Kansas, was made vacant by the resignation of Monsignor Kuhls, 
from the concursus Bishop Lillis chose Father Ward as his appointee to the parish. 
With the recent appointment of Bishop Lillis as Coadjutor to Bishop Hogan, Kan- 
sas City, Mo., the name of Father Ward was first en the tongue and in the pray- 
ers of the people and clergy to receive the exalted estate. His consecration was 
the consummation of a well earned title, the reward of a priestly and zealous life 
and an answer to the prayers of his admiring friends within as well as without 
the Catholic Fold. 

His character as seen by those who know him best, is moulded in traits which 
make him a pleasant companion, a faithful and affectionate friend, a wise and 
prudent counselor, a watchful and zealous Father of his people and a churchman 
to the last. His sense of Justice is exacting, his decisions firm and his principles 
uncompromising. He will fittingly carry the dignity of his high office, like a 
prince of the Church, and when he represents her in word or deed, all will know 
what the Church holds and teaches, and what she expects of her official repre- 
sentatives. May the hopes of his people and cherished friends be realized in a 
length of years spanning his episcopal administration, as a crown of glory over 
one of the most flourishing and best dioceses in the new world. 



KOLY TRINITY CHURCH, PAOLA 



147 



The Right Reverend John Ward Administered the Sacrament of Confir- 
mation to the Following in Paola, Kansas, June 17, 1913, Reverend 
M. Bnrk, Pastor. 



Asa Bernard Houser, 
Steaman Ed Groan, 
Chas. Oscar Hilderbrandt, 
Eustace McWilliams, 
Vincent McWilliams, 
Ernest Papst, 
Chas. Bernard Sheehan, 
Joseph James Plain, 
Ferdenand Bernard Martin,' 
George Vincent Lawler, 
Thos. McKenna Hodges, 
Phillip Sheridan, 
Martin Bernard Houser, 
Lloyd Michael Reitinger, 
Algier Mathias McCarthy, 
Basil John Johnson, 
Walter Cyril Nalty, 
William Thos. Brueck, 
Chas. Borrowiska, 
William Eugene Schwartz, 
Michael Francis Sheehan, 
John Francis Harkin, 
Thos. John Sheridan. 
Cornelius Patrick McLain, 
Bernard Sheridan, 
Asa James Houser, 
Henry Lawrence, 
Robert Lehr, 
Prank Houser, 
John Bernard Keenan. 
Charles Joseph Hilderbrandt, 
Nathaniel Porter Graham, 
James Rohrer, 
Dennis Mahoney, 
Prank Vincent Plain, 
Harry Barnett, 
Paul Ambrose Coughlin, 
Ellen W. Sheridan, 
Mary Agnes Cunningham, 



Josephine Allen, 
Maud Mary Koehler, 
Cath. Elizabeth Morris, 
Pearl Elizabeth Reitinger, 
Margaret Ruth Healy, 
Ellen Louise Nolan, 
Mary Theresa McLain, 
Mary Lillian Connelly, 
Helen Josephine Maloney, 
Marion Rose Clark, 
Blanch Schouaerts, 
Theresa Allen. 
Mary Agnes Dalton, 
Lena Elizabeth Lawrence. 
Ellen Patricia Crolly, 
Thelma Lucille Koehler, 
Margaret Frances Plain, 
Margaret Cecelia Williams, 
Bernice Rose Hilderbrandt, 
Mary Speicher, 
Veronica Leontine Harkin, 
Carmela Ursula Lewis, 
Josephine Elizabeth Morris, 
Elizabeth Theresa Clark, 
Margaret Mary Keenan, 
Frances Elizabeth Renner, 
Mary Houser, 
Mary Elizabeth Bergen, 
Mary Ruth Healy, 
Mary Agnes Nalty, 
Margaret Anastasia Coughlin, 
Mary Helen Morris. 
Lethia Frances McCarthy, 
Catharine Elizabeth Hodges. 
Cleo Mary Smith, 
Catharine Bernice Morris, 
Lucretia Frances Coughlin, 
Elizabeth Vohs. 



The Right Reverend John AVard Administered the Sacrament of Confir- 
mation to the Following in OsaM^atomie, Kansas, on September 14, 
1913. Reverend M. Bnrk, Pastor. 



Albert Everett, 

Paul Joseph Fenoughty, 

Leo. Fenoughty, 

Albert Michael Chamberlain. 

John Chamberlain, 

Joseph William Rue, 



James Hammond, 
Albert Olson, 
James Joseph Dehan, 
Pearl Prances Chamberlain, 
Catherine Ethel Sullivan, 
Anna Catharine Rue. 



148 



THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 



REVEREND THOMAS H. KINSELLA, A. M., LL. D. 




REV. THOMAS H. KINSELLA 
(At 35 Years.) 



Father Kinsella became pastor of 
Holy Trinity church and missions on 
the departure of Father Burk, Decem- 
ber 4, 1914, and remained until April 
14, 1919. During his stay a few im- 
portant improvements were made, such 
as the paving of the street in front of 
the church, plastering the extensive 
basement, and improving the winter 
chapel, also the school building and 
grounds. Nothing was added to the 
church, however, except the large 
Crucifix over the altar which was do- 
nated by Miss Lucy Mallory in mem- 
ory of her parents. Mrs. Charles Lyon 
gave the beautiful baptismal font. A 
set of large brass candlesticks for the 
main altar was donated by Mrs. Mar- 
cella Clark's estate. Miss Mary Dal- 
ton donated a full set of black vestments in memory of her father, Joseph 
Dalton and Mr. Frank Fenoughty donated the large central, chandelier, 
which adds much light and beauty to the whole interior of thefchurch. On 
Sept. 10, 1915, Dr. J. L. Porter, a distinguished and wealthy non-Cath- 
olic citizen of Paola, died ; he bequeathed in his last will a certain amount 
of money to each of the churches of the town. Holy Trinity church 
received $1,000 from his estate with a sense of sincere gratitude on the 
part of the Catholic people. All the churches of Paola unite in decorat- 
ing his grave each year and it is to be hoped that the custom will con- 
tinue. 

It seemed that there was nothing more to be done now except the 
frescoing of the interior of the church. A new, up-to-date school build- 
ing was, however, the dream of the pastor; but, unfortunately his failing 
health caused him to leave to his worthy successor the realization of that 
hope. 

During the four years and four months of Father Kinsella 's pastor- 
ate he learned the almost forgotten story of the early Jesuit missions in 
Miami and Linn counties, and of the no less heroic struggles of the secu- 
lar priests who followed them during the territorial days and during the 
formation period which preceded and followed the great Civil war. The 
more he delved the more he found to engage his attention. Going back 
forty, sixty, eighty years, he was led to see the designs of Providence 
working in Europe and America, a century ago, to make Florissant^ 
Mo., and this nameless section of the future state of Kansas, veritable 



HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, PAOLA 



149 



fountain heads from which would flow the waters of Regeneration and 
the blessing- of Christian civilization to the whole middle west. 

With patience and untiring effort he compiled and composed this 
History of Catholicity in Miami and Linn counties, but gave special 
attention of course, to the history of Holy Trinity church as being the 
inheritor of the glories of other days — days though not remote, neverthe- 
less as primitive in circumstances as the wildest flights of the imagina- 
tion could picture. Father Hoecken's Diary in the Appendix to this 
volume will give some idea of the utter miseiy and degradation of the 
Indians, less than one hundred years ago. The Diary is of great value 
and may be regarded as one of the most important literary treasures of 
the state of Kansas. It was originally written in Latin but, through the 
kindness of Very Rev. Father AVallace, S. J., president of St. Mary's Col- 
lege, a translation was furnished, which had been previously published in 
"The Dial." 

During his la.st years at Paola, Fa- 
ther Kinsella was assi.sted by Rev. Mich- 
ael J. O'Farrell and. after him. Rev. 
Francis T. Fitzgerald who rendered 
efficient assistance to the end of their 
term in office. Osawatomie was now 
raised to the dignitj' of a parish under 
the care of Rev. Eugene F. Vallely on 
April 1, 1918. Father Fitgerald re- 
mained, however, until April 14, of the 
following year when Father Kinsella 
resigned his charge of the parish. He 
then accepted the chaplaincy of the 
llrsuline Academy as being more 
suited to his age and infirmity. The 
transfer was made on the day after 
Palm Sunday — April 14 — a day remin- 
iscent of an event that took place fifty 
years before, on the same day in 1869. 
when Father Kinsella arrived in New York from Ireland, being then in 
his fifteenth year. Father Kinsella was born at Knockhouse. in the 
County Kilkenny, a few miles from the city of Waterford, in 1854. He 
went to school in Ireland and afterwards in New York City. After a 
few years as a clerk in Louisville, Ky., he went to St. Joseph's College 
at Bardstown, Ky., in 1874; then to Mt. St. Mary's College, Maryland, 
for seven years; going thence to St. Meinrad's Abbey. Indiana, to pre- 
pare for Ordination which took place in the Cathedral of Leavenworth 
on the 17th of July, 1884; Rt. Rev. John Ward, D. D., and Rev. Chas. 
Curtin being ordained at the same time. After celebrating his first 
Mass in Topeka, the home of his brother, on the 20th of July, he was 
appointed to the Cathedral, from which center he attended all institu- 




REV. THOMAS H. KINSELLA 
(At 45 Years.) 



150 



THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 



tions and missions around the Episcopal City. There were seven differ- 
ent places to visit each month. The list may prove interesting as show- 
ing the varied human interest that center at Leavenworth. The KicKa- 
poo church, a mission seven miles north of this city ; the military prison 
at Fort Leavenworth and also St. Ignatius chapel in the Fort proper, 
within the city, St. John's hospital on week days. South of the city was 
the great state prison at Lansing and beyond that, about two miles, was 
the little church at Delaware; the "Poorhouse," six miles west of the 
city was as the apple of the bishop's eye. On a fixed day, once a month, 
for twelve years, over the worst roads imaginable, and before day in 
winter time, the Father was on hand to say Mass and give Holy Com- 
munion to a very miserable, a very sad, and yet a very devout body of 
poor people. 

No word can describe the unsanitary conditions of the Leavenworth 
county poor house in those days. It is all changed now, however, and 
that county can feel proud of its care of God's poor. Seven years at Leav- 
enworth had now passed; then three years at Horton, from which place 
he was recalled to Leavenworth to take charge of the Catholic veterans 
of the Soldiers' Home and, in conjunction with that important position — 
a Governmental one — he assumed also the chaplaincy of St. Vincent's 
Orphanage for six years. 

He remained about seventeen years 
as Chaplain of the National Military 
Home, the last ten of which were ex- 
ceedingly pleasant in every way. Then, 
he requested a change and after three 
years as pastor of the Sacred Heart 
church in Leavenworth he was ap- 
pointed to Paola where he found it his 
duty to visit the famous State Hospital 
for the Insane at Osawatomie each 
month and to say Mass twice a month 
in the town church a mile distant. It 
can thus be seen that his experiences 
were many-sided and quite full of in- 
terest. Father Kinsella traveled ex- 
tensively in Europe and America and 
came in contact with many people of 
prominence; he saw and enjoyed the 
best productions of art in all its forms, 
and visited the great Sanctuaries of many nations — not the last of which 
was his old home in Ireland. In 1900 he saw the Passion Play at Ober- 
ammergau, visited Lourdes, saw Pope Leo XIII, Queen Victoria, and 
Edward VI. The Paris World's Fair was in progress at this time. 

It is interesting to note that Father Kinsella was the twentieth pas- 




REV. THOMAS H. KINSELLA, 
(At 65 Years.) 



HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, PAOLA 151 

tor of what we now call Paola, since the days of Father Herman Gerard 
Aelian, S. J., who came in May, 1839. After him came Father Francis 
Xavier De Coen, S.J., who came in April, 1845; then came Father John 
Schoeniiiakers, S. J., and companions in 18-17 ; Father Paul Mary Pon- 
ziglione, S. J., the last of the Jesuit missionaries came in 1851 to 1858. 
In 1854 Kansas became a regularly organized Territory, in 1860 it was 
admitted into the Union. During these latter years great numbers of 
people came to settle on the land and henceforth the bishop of the dio- 
cese ruled the church of Kansas. Paola with its many mission stations 
was served by the following pastors: 

Rev. Ivo Sehacht was sent from Leavenworth at the end of 1858 and 
began the organization of Holy Trinity parish. 

Rev. Sebastian Favre came in 1862. 

Rev. Francis J. Wattron, the first resident pastor, in 1865. 

Rev. Anthony Joseph Abel in 1874. 

Rev. Daniel J. Hurley in 1877. 

Rev. Aloysius Carius in 1883. (?) 

Rev. Michael J. Gleason in 1885. 

Rev. James J. O'Connor in 1889. 

Rev. Nicholas Neusius in 1891. 

Rev. Thomas Quick in 1891. 

Rev. Thomas E. Madden in 1892. 

Rev. Maurice Burk in 1893. 

Rev. Anthony Dornseifer in 1894. 

Rev. Francis Taton in 1895. 

Rev. Maurice Burk again in 1903. 

Rev. Thomas H. Kinsella in 1914. 

Rev. Adolph J. Doman. 

Families of Holy Trinity Parish, JanuarA% 1919. 



A 


Clark, Geo. P. 


Allen. Robert 


Clarke, Miss Lizzie 


B 


Cunningham. George 


Balocca, Secondo 


Cunningham, William H. 


Boehm, Michael 


Connaghan, Frank 


Brady, Patrick 


Clarey, Michael 


Brueck, W. B. 


Cole, John 


Butel, Chas D. 


Conn, Mrs. Jas. A. 


Bogle, Mrs, J. D. 


Connor, James 


Boone, Mrs. Charles 


Clark, John 


Buckley, J. F. 


D 


Becker, M. J. 


Dempsey, J. G. 


Boehm, Frank 


Doherty, James 


C 


Debrick, Mrs. Gus 


Coughlin, Mrs. Margaret 


Dalton, Mrs. Joe 


Coughlin, Thos. F. 


Dalton, James 


Coughlin, J. M. 


Dalton, Charles 


Coughlin, R. E. 


E 


Coughlin, E. H. 


Edmiston, George 


Clark, W. D. 





152 



THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 



Finn, Miss Katherine 
Finn, John M. 
Finn, Lawrence J. 
Finn, Edward 
Fenoughty, M. 
Fenoughty, Frank 
Fenoughty, Charles 
Fergus Mrs. P. E. 

G 
Gast, 0,scar 
Gallagher, Leo 
Gallagher, Edwin 
Graham, N. P. 
Guy, Mrs. Rose 

H 

Haefele, Fred 
Hogan, Mrs. Thos. 
Hogan, Patrick 
Hogan, M. A. 
Houlihan, John 
Harkin, Bernard 
Hodges, Alex, 
Houser, Asa 
Hainline, Mrs. W. M. 
Hurley, William J. 

J 

Johann, Mathias 
Johann, Dick 
Johnson, John P. 
Johnson, Frank 

K 

Koehler, P. W. 
Koehler, Leo 
Koehler, Frank, Sr. 
Koehler, Fred 
Kelly T. T. 
Killy, W. F. 
Koenig Chas. M. 
Kinney, Mrs. James 
Keenan, Jos. F. 
Keenan, Peter 
Kaiser, N. J. 
Kaiser George 
Kaiser, Edward 

L 
Lyon, Mrs. Chas. T. 
Lyon, Mrs. John 
Langan, Martin 
Langan, Morris 
Lavelle, P. H. 
Lenahan, Thomas 
Lehr, Robert 
Loch, John 



M 
Mallory, Miss Lucy 
Morris, John, Sr. 
Maloney, Mrs. W. T. 
Mahoney, Mrs. Patrick 
Mahoney, Dennis 
Moews, Frank 
Martin, Barney 
Miller, Mrs. Leon 
Miller, John H. 
Miller, Mary 
Maloney, Patrick 
McGrath, Thos. 
McLain, John 
McWilliams, W. E. 
McGrath, J. T. 
McAnarney, F. A. 
MoCabe, Miss Mary 

N 
Neylon, James 
Nolen, F. G. 
Nolan, Jos. M. 

P 
Peterson, Mrs. Oliver 
Pickles, Alice 
Pickles, Thomas J. 
Pickles, John 
Papst, Eugene 
Plain, A. T. 
Poteet, Mrs. Jasper 
Palmer, Will K. 
Powers, M. M. 
Prendergast, T. V. 

R 
Reitinger, Frank 
Regnery, Wm. 
Riley, Mrs. Margarei 
Riley, John L. 
Riley, James 
Rohrer, James 
Reiter, T. A. 
Rigney, W. L. 

S 
Sheehy, Richard 
Sheehy, W. J. 
Sheehy, James F. 
Shiel, Thomas 
Sheehan, John, Sr. 
Sheehan, John, Jr. 
Schwartz, T. E. 
Sheridan, B. J. 
Sheridan, John W. 
Sheridan, F. M. 
Sheridan, B. L. 
Scherman, Andrew 
Smith, Leonard 
Strausbaugh, Harry 



HOLY TJIINITY CHURCH, PAOLA 



153 



Strausbaugh, A. 
Strausbaugh, J. A. 
Stiles, Mrs. Bert 
Sullivan, Dennis M. 

T 
Theno, Henry J. 
Theno, P. J. 
Toelle, Mrs. Henry 

V 
Vohs, Anthony 
Vohs. Mrs. Jasper 



W 

Wolfe, Mrs. Margaret 
Woodson, Mrs. 
Williams, Mrs. Sarah 
Wright, Mrb. Margaret 
Wiest, James 
Welsh family 
Y 
Yeker, John J. 

In all about 500 souls 



The Right Reverend Bishop Ward Administered the Sacrament of Con- 
firmation to the Following in Paola, Kansas, October 14, 1915, 
Rev. Father Kinsella, Pastor 



William Joseph Fenoughty, 
William John Sullivan, 
Vincent Peter Koehler, 
Charles Anthony Boutelle, 
Ralph Raphael Johann, 
Patrick Cecil McWilliams, 
Philip Joseph Peterson, 
William Bernard Clark, 
William Matthew Koehler, 
Wallace Francis Hainline, 
Joseph Martin Nolan, 
Raymond Joseph Clark 
Jerald Martin Koehler, 
Richard John Dalton, 
Lola Loretta Sullivan, 
Catherine Margaret Wilson, 
Anna Bernadette Dalton, 
Anna Frances Gratton, 
Katherine Agnes Langan 
Xorah Agnes Sheehan, 
Ruth Margaret Boehm, 
Cecelia Louise Toelle, 
Ida Josephine Kaiser, 
Julia Agnes Brown, 
Catherine Rose Loftus, 
Margaret Frances Graham 



Joseph Michael Buckley, 
Henry James Allen, 
Joseph Francis Dalton 
Charles Ernest Reiter, 
Vincent George Sterbenz, 
Robert John Peterson, 
Eugene Joseph Schwartz, 
Bernard Jerome Rigney, 
Frank Aloysius Koenig, 
John Thomas Clark, 
Leo Francis Nolan, 
Elizabeth Margaret Dalton, 
Mary Elizabeth Clark, 
Mary Elizabeth Boravika 
Louise Mary Buckley, 
Mary Ursula Chamberlain, 
Maria Norah Regnery, 
Katherine Mary Brueck, 
Mary Elizabeth Sheehan, 
Agnes Martha Monach, 
Ceceia Ethelreda Loftus, 
Jennie Anastatia Poteet, 
I-,enora Maria Reiter, 
Louise Katherine Clark, 
Clara Mary Barnes, 
Rose Cecelia Borovika. 



The Right Reverend John Ward Administered the Sacrament of Confir- 
mation to the following in Paola, Kansas, September 5, 1917, The 
Rev. Father Kinsella, Pastor. 



Herman Joseph Toelle, 
Theodore Peter Toelle, 
Leo Therence Schwartz. 
Richard Charles Nalty, 
Edward Francis Schwartz, 
Raymond John Nalty, 



Charles Joseph Lawrence, 
Henry Peter Koehler 
Weston Edward McWilliams, 
Edward William Fry, 
Charles Raymond Morris, 
Gregory Eugene Hodges 



154 



THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 



Alexander James Hodges 
Oliver Thomas Brueck, 
Thomas Patrick Rigney, 
Joseph William Rignery 
Lawrence Patrick Nolan, 
Harold Paul Williams, 
Peter Edward Plain, 
Stephen Bernard Sheridan, 
Leo James Reiter 
Frederick Wm. (Killy) Peterson, 
Charles Edwin Theno, 
August Paul Reiter, 
Edward James Doherty 
Clifford William Doherty, 
Bernard Herman Stiles, 
Elias Francis Stiles, 
Michael John Allen 
Robert Edwin Allen, 
James Francis Conn, 
Herbert Paul Hainline, 
Raymond Anthony Vohs, 
Mathew William Coughlin 
Joseph James Guy, 
Albert Joseph Borovica. 
William Bernard Maloney, 



Elsie Josephine Fry, 
Anna Charlott Sheehan, 
Catherine Dorothy Williams, 
Myrtle Mary Keenan 
Florence Dorothy Regnery, 
Laura Elenora Dauch, 
Ursula Genevieve Nalty, 
Genevieve Ursula Miller 
Bertha Elizabeth Guy, 
Loretta Mary Stockhoff, 
Teresa Agnes Mary Loos. 
Hazel Elizabeth Mobley, 
Elizabeth Mary Sheehan, 
Olive Bemadette Nalty, 
Dorothy Mary Papst, 
Anna Josephine Bolocca 
Augusta Elizabeth Papst, 
Ruth Maria Borovica, 
Maude Smith, 

Catherine Dorothy Williams, 
Anna Catherine Burns 
Adelaid Mary Kaiser, 
Margaret Bernadette Papst, 
Bernice Mary Nalty. 



THE VERY REV. ADOLPH J. DOMANN, V. F. 

Eighty years have now passed since 
the days of Father Hoecken. The 
ancient race has entirely disappeared 
and a new people have taken its place. 
Paola has grown to be a beautiful lit- 
tle city surrounded by well cultivated 
farms and handsome homesteads. Holy 
Trinity church stands alone in all its 
magnificence, shorn of missions and all 
extraneous incumbrances, free of debt, 
with school and pastoral residence in 
keeping. Father Domann is, therefore, 
the pastor of Paola proper. He has 
been chosen for this position on ac 
count of his excellent quality of head 
and heart and because of his success in 
the former parishes of Burlington and 
Westphalia. 
VERY REV. A. J. DOMANN. V. F. jj^ ^^.^^ ^^^^ ^^ Winchester, Kas.. 

in the parish of Corpus Christi, Mooney Creek, on the 13th of January, 
1871. He was sent to St. Joseph's school at Leavenworth for his early 
training and there received his first Holy Communion in 1884. He went 




HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, PAOLA 



155 



to St. Meinrad's College, Indiana, in 1888, and the following year entered 
St. Benedict's College, at Atchison. In 1894 he began his theological 
studies at Kenrick Seminary, St. Louis, and was ordained by Rt. Rev. 
L. M. Fink, 0. S. B., the 21st of June, 1899. Burlington, Kas., was his 
first mission. From there he was transferred to Westphalia on April 1, 
1916, and to Paola April 14, 1919. 




INTERIOR OF NEW HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, PAOLA, KANSAS 

Holy Trinity church at once became an object of his zeal and admi- 
ration. He engaged some of the finest artists in the United States and 
had the church frescoed in oil, adorned with hand painted medallions, 
the pillars done in rich onyx colors and the electric lights augmented and 
rearranged. The church is now complete and is certainly one of the most 
beautiful ecclesiastical edifices in the whole state of Kansas. It was 
reopened Nov. 27, 1919. 

On Sept. 10, 1920, Father Domann bought the three lots, 125x175 ft. 
just across the street. East, from the present school, for play grounds 
for the children. It is possible that the prospective new school will be 
built on this plot of ground. The cash price was $1,500.00. 



156 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

PARISH ACTIVITIES. 



The Altar Society. 

This organization is the oldest and most honored Society of Holy 
Trinity church. Its history goes back to the days of Father Wattron, 
Paola's first resident Catholic pastor who came in 1865. 

The beneficent deeds of this society are beyond reckoning. It was 
organized by the wives and daughters of the first Catholic Settlers of 
Miami county and the members have inspired every good movement in 
the long struggle all down the years. The history of the Altar Society 
is simply the history of Holy Trinity church and more can not be said 
to add to the glory of this most faithful and most beautiful organization, 
known as the "Ladies of the Altar Society." 

Much fine needlework, lace, and embroidery were destroyed in the 
fire of 1906. At the present day, however, the new church boasts of an 
uncommon supply of most splendid handworked Altar cloths and all 
other Altar linens ; of fine Vestments, Copes, Veils, Albs, Surplices and 
other things which the deft fingers of the Ladies and the Ursuline Sisters 
freely supplied. 

The main Altar is the gift of the Altar Society aided by the contribu- 
tion of $140 from the treasury of the Sewing Society. 

THE YOUNG LADIES' SODALITY. 

The Sodality of the Blessed Virgin Mary was organized in May, 
1878, by Father Hurley. During the building of the first brick church 
the members assisted greatly in raising funds to help pay for it. After 
Father Hurley was removed it continued to exist but did not flourish 
until Father Taton came in 1895 ; he reorganized it under the name of 
the Immaculate Conception and became affiliated with the Sodality in 
Rome. After the present church was built, the Sodality bought and 
paid for the Blessed Virgin Altar which cost $200; a Chalice, $115; 
also Vestments and Cope amounting in all to about $230. They donated 
more than $100 to help pay off the church debt. The Sodality has, for 
years, helped to maintain and augment the library for which $160 has 
been contributed. The members gave socials and lawn parties for the 
benefit of the school and in many other ways have helped to improve the 
social life of the parish as well as its devotional and religious spirit. 



THE LEAGUE OF THE SACRED HEART. 
Paola, Kas., May 14, ]899. 

A Short Sketch of the Apostleship of Prayer League of the Sacred Heart, 
Holy Trinity Center, Paola, Kas. 
A Diploma of Aggregation to the Apostleship of Prayer was applied 



HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, PAOLA 157 

for by Rev. J. J. O'Connor in November, 1889, but no steps were taken 
for the establishment of the League until May 17, 1891, when Rev. Father 
Neusius who was then pastor, after having briefly explained the name, 
object, practices, and benefits of the Apostleship of Prayer at High Mass, 
had the first reception of Associates after Mass on the following Sunday ; 
giving each Sunday a little more instructions on tlie practices and bene- 
fits of the League, also explaining and establishing the first Fridays and 
Holy Hour, beginning with tlie first Friday in June. 1891. On the first 
Friday in July it was requested that there should be a meeting of tlie 
associates the following Sunday to see if they should be orgfinized intn 
bands and promoters appointed on trial. 

On Sunday, July 5, 1891, the first band of fifteen was formed with a 
promoter on trial, and arrangement made for them to receive leaflets, 
also for a box to be placed in the church for leaflets so that those associ- 
ates who did not belong to the band could help themselves to leaflets. 

Father Neusius then being removed was succeeded by Rev. Father 
Quick who blessed the statue of the Sacred Heart donated by one of the 
associates and was zealous in promoting devotion to the Sacred Heart 
and in keeping the First Fridays, but he did not do anything to pro- 
mote the League as a Local Center, to receive new associates or having 
promoters. 

He was succeeded by Rev. Father Madden, who took no interest in 
the League altliough through the zeal of the associates, the first Fridays 
were kept with the exception of once or twice during his stay. 

From June 20, 1893, to October 1. 189:], our parish was visited but 
once a month by Rev. Father McGuire of Fulton and the first Fridays 
were missed and the leaflets were not received. 

Father Burk took charge October 1, 1893, and was making arrange- 
ments to renew the work of the League and to appoint new promoters 
when he was removed. Rev. Father Dornseifer having taken charge Octo- 
ber 2, 1894. He soon began to infuse new life into the League and on the 
First Friday in January, 1895, a number of new associates were received 
and invested with the badge of the Sacred Heart. 

On the first Sunday in January, 1895, the first promoters' council 
was organized and consisted of the promoter appointed on trial by Rev. 
Father Neusius and new ones appointed by Father Dornseifer. From that 
time the promoters' meetings were held every month and the minutes all 
recorded. Father Dornseifer held the first promoter reception in Febru- 
ary, 1895. He was succeeded July 17. 1895, by the Rev. Father Taton un- 
der whose diligent care the work of the League has grown until it had at 
the beginning of the year 1899 a membership of over five hundred asso- 
ciates, eighteen promoters, and seven promoters on trial. 

ALICE S. PICKLES, 
First Promoter of the League of the Sacred Heart, Holv Trinitv Center. 



158 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

LADIES' SEWING SOCIETY, HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, PAOLA, 

KANSAS. 

Organized May 10, 1894. 

Purpose : Furnishing Parochial Residence. 

FIRST OFFICERS: 

Mrs. Jacob Koehler President Mrs. T. T. Kelly Treasurer 

Mrs. J. J. Alton Secretary 

The charter members were: 

Mrs. Mary Klassen Mrs. Henry Allen 

Mrs. Peter Keenan Mrs. Ann Allen 

Mrs. B. McCarthy Mrs. J. J. Alton 

Mrs. F. Mallory Mrs. Marcella Clark 

Mrs. A. Nunnick Mrs. J. Charland 

Mrs. F. G. Nolen Miss Lizzie Clark 

Mrs. W. Nalty , Mrs. Wm. Fritz 

Mrs. M. J. Pickles Mrs. Anna Finn 

Mrs. Anna Powers Mrs. J. Fleming 

Mrs. B. J. Sheridan Mrs. Thos. Hogan 

Mrs. J. C. Sheridan Mrs. Alex Hodges 

Mrs. A. Strasbaugh Mrs. J. Koehler 

Mrs. A. Vohs Mrs. T. T. Kelly 

The amount taken in bj' the society has been about $4,250. They 
first furnished the priest's residence excepting dining-room which was 
furnished by the young ladies of the parish, and have kept the residence 
supplied ever since ; they paid for the first baptismal font, gave $100 to 
St. Patrick's school funds when it was being built; $140 for the altar of 
the new church ; helped to pay the debt on the church and helped sup- 
ply flowers and other things for the altar. They gave $30 to K. of C. 
War funds, $20 to the Red Cross and were very active in Red Cross work. 



THE SACRED HEART LIBRARY. 

Rev. Father Hurley, when he was here in 1878-82 began collecting 
books for a Library; when he left not anything more was done about it 
until 1895. 

Rev. Father Taton established "The Sacred Heart Library" Decem- 
ber 8th, 1895, with about 136 books collected from the old library and 
from donations. 

The only revenue the library had was 2i/2C a month, or 30c a year 
from each member of the Young Ladies' Sodality, Altar Society, C. 
M. B. A., Catholic Truth Society and promoters. The C. M. B. A. and 
T. S. soon ran their course and there were only the Young Ladies' Sodal- 
ity and Altar Society from which to draw funds. There is now 729 
books in the Library ; additions being made yearly. 

Names of those donating books: 



HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, PAOLA 159 

Old Library 25 Mrs. J. Lewis 6 

Mr. H. B. Toelle G9 Mr. J. Charland 2 

Mr. and Mrs. J. Koehler U Mr. R. Collins 5 

Mrs. F. Mallory 7 Miss Lizzie Clark 2 

Mr. Ed. Powers 1 Mr. Charles May 3 

Mrs. Horr 1 Miss Mary McCarthy 6 

Mrs. Henry Allen 1 Miss Mary Foster 6 

Mrs. B. McCarthy 6 Rev. Father Taton 3 

Mrs. Alex Hodges 4 

Yearly report of the Sacred Heart Library. 

ON THE 1ST OF JANUARY, 1918. 

Received from Altar Society for 1917 $18.60 

Received from Young Ladies' Sodality for 1917 4.00 

Received Back Dues 50 

Balance from last year 4.72 



Total on hand $27.82 

Number of books in Library 729 

Number of books drawn in 1917 300 

Number of new books ordered 4o 

ALICE PICKLES, Librarian. 

THE KNIGHTS OF COLUMBUS. 

Paola Council No. 1149. 

First Charter was at Osawatoniie, Kansas, July 16, 1905, where the 
initiation took place with a class of 45 candidates. The first Grand 
Knight Avas F. S. Goebel ; Dep. G. K., W. D. Clarke ; Financial Sec, L. 
L. Herr. 

10 Insurance members and 21 associate, or 33 Charter members. 

On September 9, 1906, the Charter was transferred from Osawatomie 
No. 1022 to Paola Council No. 1149. 

The officers were Grand Knicrht, F. S. Goebel; Dep. G. K., W. D 
Clarke, Financial Sec. ; L. L. Herr. 

190C— Nov. 29 Initiation, 20 members; F. S. Goebel, Grand K.; W. D. Clarke 
Dep. G. K.; L. L. Herr, Fin. Sec. 

1907— May 30 Initiation; 12 members; F. S. Goebel, Grand K.; W. D. Clarke 
Dep. G. K.; T. E. Powers, Fin. Sec. 

1908— Nov. 2G, Initiation; 19 members; W. D. Clarke, Grand K.; J. W. Church 
ill, Dep. G. K.; T. E. Powers, Fin. Sec. 

1909— Nov. 25. Initiation; 16 members; W. D. Clarke, Grand K.; J. W. Church 
ill, Dep. G. K.; John McGrath, Fin Sec. 

1910— iNov. 24, Initiation: 20 members; J. W. Churchill, Grand K.; J. F 
Sheehy, Dep. G. K.; John McGrath, Fin. Sec. 

1911— Nov. 30, Initiation; IG members; Jas. F. Sheehy, Grand K.; W. B 
Brueck, Dep. G. K.; W. J. Sheehy, Fin. Sec. 

1912— Nov. 28, Initiation; 12 members; Jas. F. Sheehy, Grand K.; W. B, 
Brueck, Dep. G. K.; T. E. Schwartz, Fin. Sec. 

1913— Nov. 27, Initiation; 13 members; W. B. Brueck, Grand K.; L. J. Finn 
Dep. G. K.; T. E. Schwartz, Fin. Sec. 

1914 — ^Nov. 26, Initiation; 15 members; T. E. Schwartz, Grand K.; Jas. Ney 
Ion, Dep. G. K.; V. M. Hogan, Fin. Sec. 

1915 — Nov. 26. Initiation; 10 members; L. J. Finn, Grand K.; Jas. Neylon, Dep 
G. K.; V. M. Hogan, Fin. Sec. 



160 



THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 



1916 — Nov. 30, Initiation; 15 members; F. T. Johnson, Grand K.; M. J. Becker, 
Dep. G. K.; W. J. Sheehy, Fin. Sec. 

1917 — Nov. 29, Initiation; 20 members; T. V. Pendergast, Grand K.; Edward 
Hogan, Dep. G. K.; W. J. Sheehy, Fin. Sec. 

1918 — Nov. 28, Initiation; 19 members; T. V. Pendergast, Grand K.; M. J. Beck- 
er, Dep. G. K.; W. J. Sheehy, Fin. Sec. 

Total membership in 1918, Insurance 67 

Associate 87 



Forty new members were admitted in 1919. 
Twenty-five new members were admitted in 1920. 



154 members 



PART VII 

WE A. MIAMI COUNTY 



].63 



WE A, MIAMI COUNTY. 



THE CHURCH OF THE HOLY ROSARY. 

In July, 1857, the first settler took up his land-claim in the Wea town- 
ship ; his name was George Wickline, who by industry and perseverance 
became the owner of the northwest and the southwest quarters of 
section 30, range 25, township 15. 

In the year 1859, Anthony Vohs and William Schwartz came to Wea 
and took claims in section 30. William Schwartz began with 40 acres 
but in after years became one of the wealthy men of Miami County. His 




THE CHURCH OF THE HOLY ROSARY, WEA, KANSAS. 

brother, Jacob Schwartz, came to the Settlement in 1860, and Joseph Vohs 
in 1863. This little group of families formed the neucleus of the Catholic 
Congregation of Wea. They were visited by Rev. Sebastian Favre from 
Lawrence, also, in after years, by Father Wattron. 

Father Pichler came from Eudora in 1870 and Father Rudolph 
Meier was sent to Wea as its first resident pastor in 1871 and remained 
for two or three years. He built a small residence to which Father 
Redeker afterwards added a room, which room is now the kitchen at- 
tached to the Sisters' house. Father Meier went to Seipio from Wea 
and joined the Carmelite Order, where he received the name Pius. He 
was a man of great ability and learning, held high positions in his 



164 



THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 




Order and, finally, became the General of the whole Order in Ronje. 

He was succeeded at Wea for a short time by Father Pichler until 
Father Abel became pastor of Paola in 1874. He attended Wea as a 
mission and was followed by Father Hurley from 1877 to 1881. Finally 
Rev. John Redeker Avas appointed resident pastor of Holy Rosary Church 
on October 28. 1881. 

The first modest building known as 
the "Holy Rosary Church" was erect- 
ed in 1868. It was of wood and cost 
about $3,500. Father Favre was the 
first to offer up the Holy Sacrifice of 
the Mass in this Church. It was used 
as a parish hall in after years. This 
frame building was destroyed by fire 
in 1906. In 1881 there were about 60 
Catholic families or 350 members be- 
longing to the parish. The second resi- 
dent pastor was Very Rev. John Red- 
eker. He was born in Westphalia. 
Germany, June 22, 1854. He received 
his literary education in his native 
country, studied Theology at Louvain. 
Belgium, and was ordained at Mechlin. 
May 22. 1880. He emigrated to 
America the same year, arriving in this 
country, October 29. He came direct to Kansas, and was assigned to 
the position of assistant priest of the Catholic Church of Independence, 
Kansas. He was appointed to Wea, 
October 23, 1881, and immediately en- 
tered upon the discharge of his duties. 
He remained mitil 1887. then he was 
sent to Olathe, and finally, to West- 
phalia, where he remained until his 
death on March 7. 1916. Father Red- 
eker was a man of deep piety, a 
learned and zealous priest, and left his 
impress on every parish he served. His 
immediate successor at Wea was Rev. 
Augustine J. Wieners who came in 
September, 1887. Father Wieners 
built a fine residence in 1892 and a 
large brick church in 1895-6. He es- 
tablished the parochial school, took 
great interest in the young people and 
in many ways proved himself a good 
shephei'd and a wise administrator. 



VERY REV. JOHN REDEKER. 




REV. AUOrSTINE J. WIEXERS 



CHURCH OF THE HOLY ROSARY, WEA 



165 



In addition to the church and rectory at Wea, Father Wieners also 
built a house for the school teacher; at his departure there was a debt 
of only $3,000, which was paid off in a few years. 

The Louisburg church, exclusive of the foundations, is the work of 
Father Wieners. When Ave consider the limited means at the disposal 
of this young priest it is altogether remarkable how much he accom- 
plished in the short space of ten years. Paxico, Wabaunsee county, be- 
came his next field of labor. There he remains as of old, ever busy, 
ever zealous for the Spiritual and temporal welfare of his flock. 

The immediate successor of Father Wieners was Reverend Joseph 

Hohe. 

^ Father Hohe was born in the diocese 

of Wursburg, Bavaria, on the 25th of 
February, 1863. He passed through 
the university of his native town and 
then coming to America finished his 
theological studies at the Benedictine 
Monastery of St. Meinrad's, Indiana. 
He was ordained to the priesthood Feb- 
ruary 25, 1888 at Vincennes, Indiana, 
by Bishop Chatard and at once set out 
for Kansas. 

After attending to various missions 
in the Diocese of Leavenworth, he was 
appointed pastor of Holy Rosary 
church, Wea, in November 1897, and 
continued in that position until the 
spring of 1912. The fine brick church 
that had been built by his predecessor, 
Father Wieners, had been completed 
when a terrible catastrophe overwhelm- 
evening of Passion Sunday, April 9th, 
1905, a bolt of lightning struck the steeple and the church was quickly 
reduced to ashes. The Blessed Sacrament was saved, also the sacred 
vessels, vestments, and other movable things but, as a whole, the build- 
ing was ruined. It was a severe blow to the pastor and people of Wea. 
Mr. Q. V. McAfee of Garnett, Kansas, had built the church in the 
first instance and was now called in to restore it at any cost. He ac- 
cepted the contract in June but the work of rebuilding did not begin 
until the 15th of August; it was carried forward with great energy and 
was nearing completion of the roof when on the 14t]i of September, 1905, 
a cyclone leveled the building and left it a tangled mass of ruins. The 
contractor became discouraged and seeking out William Schwartz noti- 
fied him that he was through with the .job. "But we are not through 
with it, Mac," he replied, "You can't afford to abandon the work now. 
Stand up to it, Mac, and we will back you to the limit." 




REV. JOSEPH HOHE. 

and furnished and all debts paid, 
ed the labors of years. On the 



166 



THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 



Mr. McAfee took courage once more and, for the third time, began 
to bring order out of chaos. He and his men worked steadily all through 
the fall and winter. The plastering was done in February, 1906, and the 
heating plant installed at the same time. In early spring new furniture, 
new pews, altars, railing, and confessional were put in and these things 
added to the vestments, sacred vessels, and other valuables rescued from 
the fire the year before, enabled the pastor to invite the Rt. Rev. Bishop 
of the Diocese to dedicate the new church of the Holy Rosary at Wea 
on May 29, 1906. Right Rev. Thomas F. Lillis, D. D., consecrated the 
new altar also in a solemn manner and Father Beck of Argentine 
preached an able sermon. The first- Mass was said in the new church, 
however, on February the 26th, previous. 

When the church was finally finished a debt of only $3,500 remained 
on the building. This was paid off by each member of the congregation 
assuming a part and giving his note for the amount. The i^lan worked 
very satisfactorily; in two years the debt was canceled. 

It is worthy of record here that the splendid main altar and all the 
beautiful imported wood-carved statues that adorn the church are the 
gifts of the children of good old Jacob Schwartz, dedicated to the mem- 
ory of their father. 

There are two high-class stained glass windows in the sanctuary, im- 
ported from Munich, Bavaria : all the other windoAVs are of American 
workmanship. When the church of the Holy Rosary is frescoed it will 
be one of the most beautiful in the diocese and one of the most interest- 
ing, historically considered. 

On April 4th, 1912, Father Hohe was succeeded by Rev. John Boll- 
weg and the latter, in turn, by Rev. Henry Freisberg in July, 1915. 

Father Bollweg was born in Neuen- 
kirchen, Germany, on January 9th, 
1865. He was educated in Paderborn, 
Floreffe, and Louvain, Belgium, and 
was ordained at Louvain on June 29th, 
1891. He came to America on the 2nd 
of August of that year and was ap- 
pointed to Shawnee. In 1893 he be- 
came pastor of Alma. In 1895 he was 
appointed to Mooney Creek; then to 
Wathena in 1901. He took charge of 
the Holy Rosary Church, Wea, on 
April 4th, 1912. He became Chaplain 
of Ursuline Academy in June, 1916, 
and went to Louisburg as pastor, April 

FATHER BOI^LWEG. 15, 1919. 




CHURCH OF THE HOLY ROSARY, WEA 



167 



REVEREND HENRY FREISBERG. 

Rev. Henry Freisberg was born in Naiiort, Hessen-Nassau, Germany, 
November 25th, 1877. Received his literary education in Germany and 
Holland. Studied Philosophy and Theology in Belgium and was ordain- 
ed at Louvain on June 29th, 1895. He came to America on the 15th of 
August of that year, coming direct to the Diocese of Leavenworth, Kan- 
sas, and had charge of parishes at Holton, Olathe, Nortonville, Everest 
and Eudora, Kansas, and was appointed to his present charge, Wea, 
Kansas, July 4th, 1915. 

Father Freisberg is interested in Catholic Education and is build- 
ing a large and imposing school at a cost of nearly $20,000. It is a dis- 
trict school as well as a parochial one and the Ursuline Sisters are paid 
from the public school fund. There is also a High School department in 
the new building and all modern conveniences are installed. 

Holy Rosary parish is fortunate in its location, in the richness of 
the soil and in the quality of its people who are both German and Irish 
in origin but, now, American in the full meaning of the term. 

They are a progressive, industrious, and united body of farmers and 
stockraisers. Wea is financially one of the strongest communities in 
Miami County. 




THE HOLY ROSARY DISTRICT SCHOOL. 



168 



THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 



NOTES ON THE FIRST CATHOLIC SETTLERS OF THE WEA PARISH. 




WILLIAM SCHWARTZ. 



WILLIAM SCHWARTZ. 

Among the pioneer settlers of Miami 
County no man of any calling has occupied 
a more conspicuous place in the trials and 
struggles of pioneer days than William 
Schwartz, and it is only right to say, be- 
cause it is true, that he never lagged be- 
hind, but was always with the first to act 
in any movement or enterprise for the gen- 
eral good of the community. 

He was born in Nassau, Germany, May 4, 
1838. At the age of eighteen years, in 1856, 
after having served an apprenticeship in 
the millright trade, he visioned the oppor- 
tunities awaiting the ambitious young men 
of his country in far away America, and in 
obedience to the call to the opportunity, he 
like others of his day, left all his kindred 
behind, and faced westward across the At- 
lantic. 

If a detailed narrative of his experience 
after leaving Germany, prior to reaching 
Miami County were written, it would be in- 
teresting, but would take too much space 
to tell here. Let it suffice to say, that his 
experience was quite similar to thousands 
of young men or mere boys, whose courage 
prompted them to do as he did, because 
they were movel with a profound rurpose to 
better themselves, and were able and willing to work. His willingness to work 
his mind as well as his body were pronounced characteristics of his, and every- 
thing he undertook to do, his work showed that his mind had fully worked out the 
varied business enterprises outside of his vast individual activity as an agri- 
culturist. In matters of religion he pursued an unyielding, constant, course, al- 
ways on hand at Mass, and at the business meeting of the congregation, with 
his wise counsel, his money and his willing hands to help in the labor to be 
performed. 

Mr. Schwartz and Anna Doherty (referred to otherwise in this book as of the 
Doherty family) were married in Kansas City by Father Donnelly in 1864. Four 
children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Schwartz. Jacob A., the eldest, died in 1888. 
Dora M., the second, now Mrs. M. A. Kelly, lives on the original Schwartz home 
place near the Wea Church. Mr. and Mrs. M. A. Kelly were married November 
22, 1893. Ten children have been born to them, all of whom are living. They 
are as follows: Phillin W., Anna J., Margaret U., Thomas E., Johanna M., Mary 
Frances, Dorothy M., Agnes C, William M. and Cecilia. William A., the third, 
was for more than thirty years manager of the Inter-State Mercantile Company 
of Louisburg, Kansas, but now of Cincinnati, Ohio. Wm. A. and Clara Straus- 
baugh of Paola were married in 1893. They have no children of their own. 
Agnes McNutt, now twenty years old, has made her home with them since she 
was five years old. Thomas E., the youngest, engaged actively in farming for 
many years. Later, he engaged in the mercantile business at Cleveland, Mo.. 
for a few months, after which he associated himself with his brother, Wm. A., at 
Louisburg, Kansas, but in 1910 he became the Cashier of the Citizens State Bank 
at Paola, Kansas, and is still in that position. However, he still continued his 
farming activities through tenants. His wife was Margaret M. Vohs, eldest 
daughter of Mr. and Mrs Eugene Vohs of Wea. Their children are seven in 
number. William E., Leo T., Edward F., Eugene J., Lawrence M., Thomas A. and 
Mary Pauline, Margaret Ann having died January 5, 1913, at the age of five 
years. 



IN MEMORIAM 169 



DOHERTY FAMILY. 



There were four brothers and one sister in the Doherty family: Martin, 
Thomas, Michael, John and Anna (Mrs. Wm. Schwartz). 

They came from County Roscommon, Ireland, in 1865, and located south of 
what was then Aubry, Johnson County, Kansas. 

Edward Doherty was married before he left Ireland, and they had a family 
of six children: Bridget (Mrs. Jacob Vohs), Patrick, Edward, Mary (Mrs. P. H. 
Murphy), John and Annie (Mrs. A. P. Conboy). Mr. and Mrs. Edward Dox^erty 
died some years ago, and were laid to rest in the Wea Cemetery, as were also 
their daughters, Mrs. Vohs and Mrs. Murphy, and their son, Patrick. 

Martin Doherty was married to Ellen Kelly in 186S, and made their home 
in a comfortable Log House that was located directly across the road from the 
Wea Catholic Church. Their humble home was always open to the good Fathers 
that attended this parish (then a Mission) and the parishioners that came from 
afar. This very religious couple very frequently drove twenty-one miles to Paola 
in a lumber wagon, without even a spring seat thereon, to attend Mass on Sun- 
days and holy days. Mr. Doherty died in 1882, and his good wife in 1889. Both 
were laid to rest in the cemetery near where they had long resided. 

Thomas Doherty was married to Mrs. Paschal and lived on a farm West of 
Paola for many years, and later lived in the Indian Territory. They had five 
children: Ellen (Mrs. Eugene Papst), William, Edward, James and John. Mrs. 
Doherty also had a daughter (Mrs. Mollie Paschal, Osborne) by a former mar- 
riage. William died in 1917, and was buried in the Paola Catholic Cemetery. 
Thomas Doherty was also ba'-ied in the same cemetery. 

John Doherty never married but made his home with his sister, Mrs. Wm. 
Schwartz. He died at Wea, and was buried in the Catholic cemetery there. 

Anna (Mrs. Wm. Schwartz) came from Ireland with her brothers in 1865. 
She was married to Wm. Schwartz in Kansas City, Mo. by Father Donnelly. lu 
ihose days, people did not travel in high power automobiles, but these good 
people took with them in their lumber wagon to the nearest town, Kansas City. 
Mo., twenty-seven miles away, a few sacks of wheat to have made into flour, 
so that they would have some flour in the house to begin housekeeping. This 
characteristic trait they continued all through life, and both lived to see the 
wisdom of their foresight. They had a comfortable and commodious home on 
their farm near Wea that was always open to all people of all creeds, and in 
the early history of this county was the stopping place of travelers from far and 
near. The writer of this article lived many years in this home, and knows that 
never was there a door locked, either front or rear, day or night, and never was 
anything large or small taken from this home. They had one daughter, Dora (Mrs. 
M. A. Kelly) who now lives on the old homestead at Wea. Jacob A. died in 
California, August 22, 1888. William A., was a resident of Louisburg until 
October, 1919, and now is a resident of Covington, Kentucky. Thomas E. lives in 
Paola, Kansas. Mrs. Schwartz died at the old home at Wea, August 3, 1895, and 
was buried in the cemetery at Wea. 



MICHAEL KELLY 

Was one of the early residents of the humble village of Wea. He was born 
in County Roscommon, Ireland, in 1827. After the death of his wife he came to 
Miami County, Kansas, in 1869, locating at Wea, Kansas. He was married to 
Mary Lannian, who was also from County Roscommon. They had four children, 
two of whom died when young. Bridget (Mrs. John Gritter), lives at Wea, 
Kansas. Mary (Mrs. Michael Flaherty), lives in Olathe, Kansas. Mr. and Mrs. 
Gritter have one daughter, Mary (Mrs. B. W. Seek) and one son, Albert Gritter. 
Both live near the present home. Mr. and Mrs. Flaherty have two daughters, 
Ida (Mrs. Clem Conboy). Kansas City, Mo., and Katherine (Mrs. Geo. Grass), of 
Olathe, Kansas. John Gritter was a carpenter by trade, and came to Wea in the 
seventies. He was married to Bridget Kelly in May, 1876. Mr. Gritter built many 
of the first good and substantial buildings in this community, and built the 
first Catholic Parsonage in Wea, which is now being used as a home for the 
Sisters who teach the Wea school, Mr. Gritter built the Altar, Communion Rail- 



170 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

ing and Pews for the first church in Wea out of walnut trees, which they went 
to the timber for, and hewed out of the rough lumber. Mr. Gritter was one of 
the old class of workmen that labored under difficulties, but did fine work. 

ANTHONY VOHS 

Was born in Nassau, Germany, August 8, 1829. He and Wm. Schwartz were 
working in a saw mill east of Kansas City, Mo., in 1858. when they were offered 
an eighty acre tract of land in Miami County, Kansas, at $3.00 per acre as part 
payment for wages due them. They borrowed transportation to Wea which was 
then a yoke of oxen and wagon. With these they wended their wav through the 
prairies to inspect what later become their fine country home, and from which 
sprang up the Catholic settlement that was named Wea after the Wea tribe of 
Indians, and is also located in Wea Township. At the time Mr. Vohs and Mr. 
Schwartz located here, there were only two other families in this part of the 
county. 

Mr. Vohs was married to Elizabeth Becker in Illinois, in 1858. Their family 
consisted of one daughter, Lena (Mrs. Anthony Bauer), who lives near Louisburg, 
Kansas; George at Plainville, Kansas, Anthony and Jasper near Paola, Frank at 
Osawatomie, and Joseph H. at Wea. Mrs. Vohs died September, 1876. and was 
buried at Wea. Mr. Vohs was later married to Barbara Hughes. Mr. Vohs died 
January 18, 1907, and is buried in the Wea cemetery. 



EUGENE VOHS 

Was born in Nassau, Germany, July 31, 1844, and came to Kansas in 1868, 
where he purchased a farm close to the Wea Catholic Church. He remained on 
the farm until 1876, when he bought the village store and became postmaster. In 
those days he had to haul the country produce to. and his merchandise from 
Kansas City, a distance of thirty miles. Wea was on a Star Mail Route, the mail 
being carried from Kansas City to Fort Scott and later from Kansas City to Louis- 
burg. When the Missouri Pacific Railroad was built through this part of the 
county a R. F. D. Route was established through Wea, and the Wea Postoffice was 
discontinued. 

Mr. Vohs was married January 9, 1872, to Margaret Goebel, daughter of Peter 
and Anna Goebel. Mrs. Vohs has one sister and three brothers, who are now or 
have been residents of Miami county, Mrs. Mary Legner and J. L. Goebel of 
Louisburg, Kansas, and P. W. and F. S. Goebel, now of Kansas City, Kansas. Mr. 
P. W. Goebel came to Wea when about fifteen years of age, and made his home 
with Mrs. Vohs for about four years. Mr. and Mrs. Vohs had a family of six 
children: Margaret M. (Mrs. T. E. Schwartz) of Paola, Kansas, Albert P., Jasper 
J. and Ida (Mrs. Terrence McGuirk) of Louisburg. and William E. and Lawrence 
F., on the home farm with their mother. Mr. Vohs died November 24, 1906, and 
was buried at Wea. Mr. and Mrs. Vohs took an active interest in the welfare of 
the community and were ever ready to give their time and assistance to the bet- 
terment of the community in which they lived. 



JOSEPH VOHS 

Came from Nassau, Germany, in 1858, where he was born February 24, 1829. 
He first located in Illinois, where he was married to Rose Hirt August 28, 1859. 
The following year they moved to Wea, where they lived continuously until their 
death. They had a family of twelve children. Those now living are John. William, 
Louise Spielbusch, Elizabeth Seuferling, Albert, Rose Strack, Joseph P. Vohs. One 
daughter, Mary, became Sister Barbara and was located with the Sisters of 
Charity of Leavenworth until her death. Three of the children died when young 
and Josephine Henry in 1918. Mrs. Vohs was born in Baden, Germany, in 1836. 

They were both industrious and hard working people. Aunt Rose, as she 
was familiarly known, was a very generous and kind hearted woman, and could 
always be depended upon and found lending a helping hand to her neighbors and 
friends when in need of her services. These people remained on the home in 



IN MEMORIAM 171 

which they were located the year following their marriage until their death, which 
occurred in 1913; Mr. Vohs, July J 3th, and Mrs. Vohs, December 25. Both were 
laid to rest in the Wea cemetery. 



JACOB SCHWARTZ 

Was born in Oberselters, Nassau, Germany, on October 22, 1832. He received 
his education there and came to the United States in 1860. His younger brother, 
William, had preceded him and was then located in Miami County. He well fore- 
saw the possibilities of this new and undeveloped county, and had Jacob, as well 
as his sisters, Katherine Stahle, Elizabeth Seek, Helena Seek and Dora Papst Hirt, 
come direct to Wea, Kansas. Mr. Schwartz was married in 1862 at Kansas City, 
Mo., to Miss Annie Shilo. To them two children were born, Elizabeth and Dora. 
Mrs. Schwartz died in 1870, and the daughter, Elizabeth, in 1873. Mr. Schwartz 
was married again in 1872 to Miss Frances Bauer, who was born in the same 
town in Germany in 1849, and came to America in 1869. To them five children 
were born, Jacob, Frances, William, Joseph and Mary. Dora, now Mrs. FYank 
Gangle, as well as her two sisters, Frances and Mary, are now located in Kansas 
City, Mo. The two latter live with their mother. The three sons are all located 
on the old home farm or on adjoining farms. Mr. Schwartz died January 11, 1910, 
at his home in Wea, Kansas, and was buried in the Catholic cemetery there. 

Mr. and Mrs. Schwartz were very active in the welfare of this community in 
which they lived, were liberal with their friends and generous in their gifts to 
the church in which they worshipped. 



JACOB SECK 

Was from Nassau, Germany, and was born October 9, 1841. He was married 
in 1866 to Elizabeth Schwartz, who was also a resident of the same village. The 
following year they came to Wea and located on a farm, where they raised a large 
family, and continued to reside until their death. Five of their children died when 
young. The seven living are Jacob H., at Wea, William G. at Hutchinson, Kansas, 
Bernard W., Anthony J., Mary D., Rosner and Lawrence A., who resides on ihe 
old home, and the others on adjoining farms. Berthold J. lives at Larned, Kansas. 

Mr. and Mrs. Seek were hard working and industrious people, and this, to- 
gether with their good business ability, enabled them to provide well for their 
family. 

Mrs. Seek died in 1903 at their home, and Mr. Seek died at St. Margaret's 
hospital September 1, 1914. Both were buried in the Wea cemetery. 



WILLIAM PABST 

Was born in Germany December 29, 1840. He came direct from his home 
to Miami County in 1869. The following year he was married to Dorothy Schwartz. 
They had two children, Mary F. Vohs of Wea and Adam Pabst of Ransom, Kansas. 
Mrs. Pabst was born in Nassau, Germany, July 15, 1839. 

Mr. Pabst died August 6, 1875, and was buried in Wea cemetc-ry. Mrs. Pabst 
was married to Berthold Hirt in 1877. To this union two children were born, 
Bertha, now Mrs. Louis Gangle of Kansas City, Mo., and Joseph Hirt of Dorrance, 
Kansas. 

Mrs. Hirt died November 9, 1909, and was buried in Wea cemetery. 



ADAM MILLER 

Was born in Nassau, Germany, August 1, 1829. He came to America at the 
age of twenty-five years, and located in Illinois, where he married Caroline Finch 
in 1861. They came to Wea in 1869, and located on a farm. Thirteen children 
were born to this union. Three died in infancy, and the balance are located as 
follows: Effie Keenan at Paola, Kansas, Joseph in Armourdale. Kansas, Bertha 
Conboy at Lawrence, Kansas, Frances Conboy and George Miller at Stilwell, 



172 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

Kansas, Mary Seek at Wea, Eugene at Cleveland, Mo., Clarence at Rosedale, 
Kansas, Margaret Houston and Gertrude in Kansas City, Mo. 

Mr. Miller died February 17, 1889, at Wea and was buried in the Catholic 
cemetery there. 

Mrs. Adam Miller was born near Sandwich, Illinois, November 21, 1843. She 
died February 21, 1904, in Kansas City, Mo and was buried beside her husband 
at Wea. 

They have forty-three grandchildren living and five dead. Also twenty great 
grandchildren. 

PETE MILLER 

Was born in Uber Selters, Nassau, Germany, January 22, 1831, and came to 
America in 1852. He worked at the blacksmith's trade, and on coming to Kansas 
was employed by the government for two or three years among the Delaware 
Indians. He married Miss Annie E. McGuirk, January 6, 1863, and came to Wea in 
1864. The family consisted of nine sons, namely: Peter J., William A., Jacob T., 
Adam E., Anthony, Albert H., George A., Bernard J., and Lawrence Miller. Albert 
and George died in their 4th year and Adam in 1899. Peter Miller died October 
12, 1901, and his wife, Anna, passed away June 27, 1909. They rest in the Wea 
cemetery, after a most laborious and honorable struggle to make a home for 
themselves and their children. They were eminently successful. They died re- 
spected by all, leaving to their sons an honored name and a reverence for the 
ancient faith for which they, themselves, made great sacrifices. 

The giving of these few facts and dates in the life story of Peter Miller and 
his wife arouses a desire to know more about them — the father of a great home 
and the mother of nine sons. They were pioneers, we know; but in a generation 
or two it will be asked who was Peter Miller? Who was Anna McGuirk? There 
must be a beautiful story back of these names, but men have forgotten it. Even 
the grandchildren will know little, and the great-grandchildren nothing at all about 
the personalities of these two great characters, the founders of the family m 
America. 

It behooves the children of the pioneer families to transmit in writing or in 
print a full account of their parents' wanderings and struggles, their bravery and 
their final victory over all obstacles. Time will give it value. No true man can 
afford to be ignorant of his ancestors. Pride here is legitimate and ennobling — a 
beautiful thing. The family tree is one that is worth climbing; every member of 
each generation should sit in its branches a'^'d rest in its pleasant shade and re- 
member those from whom they have received every earthly blessing. 

JOHN LARKIN 

Among the early settlers of Johnson County was a remarkable young Irishman 
named John Larkin. He had been a sailor from his boyhood days and had seen 
much of the world. Endowed with a bright mind and a clear, unerring judgment, 
this youth assimilated a. fund of knowledge which other men obtained with much 
labor from books. He was one of those remarkable men, once common in Ire- 
land, who could solve mathematical problems without the knowledge of figures, 
and who could give weights pnd measures without the use of scales or measur- 
ing rod. He could sing correctly without the use of notes and spoke the English 
language eloquently, if not correctly, without any knowledge of the rules of gram- 
mar or any acquaintance with books or schools. He knew the sea and sky and 
all the coasts and bays of the civilized world. He met men of all races in 
all climes and endured hardships that would net be believed possible in our day. 

Born in the County Down. Ireland, in 1820. Mr. Larkin took to the sea when 
that profession meant danger and superhuman labor. He came to America finally 
and settled in Peoria, Illinois, where he wooed and wed Mary Morgan, a young 
girl from his own county in Ireland. This event took place in 1859, after which 
the young couple moved to Kansas and preempted the claim in Johnson County 
which remained their home to the end. 

Mr. Larkin was a remarkably shrewd business man, rough of speech, quick 
in action, honest in all his dealings. In the early days he formed a partnership 



IN MEMORIAM , 173 

with Philip Conboy in the cattle trade. They drove fat cattle on foot to Kan- 
sas City and were amongst the first to give impetus to the meat packing industry 
for which the latter city is now justly famous. On one occasion, it is related, 
"Jack" Larkin was returning on foot from Kansas City after disposing of a large 
herd of cattle. He was overtaken by a farmer and his wife who kindly offered 
him a "lift." The tramper gratefuHy accepted the ride and lay on some straw in 
the well of the wagon. Proceeding slowly over the rough prairie-trail the party 
was attacked by robbers and the prosperous looking farmer and his wife were 
soon relieved of all their cash; as the highwaymen were departing the "tramp" 
in the bottom of the wagon lifted himself on his elbow and asked the thieves to 
give a poor man a quarter to get a bed that night. One of the robbers flung him 
a coin and passed on, not suspecting that Mr. Larkin had several thousand dol- 
lars on his person at that moment. Innumerahle stories are told of "Jack Lar- 
kin;" but the ones told by Mr. Larkin himself, on himself, were rich and rare 
and racy to a high degree of wit and humor. He was an Irishman in the full 
sense of the word and had hosts of friends. Of course no one regarded him as 
a pious Catholic, but a fighting one he always was. 

He established a fine home near Auburey (now Stilwell) and his children 
continue to prosper and are amongst the substantial people of the district. There 
were eight children in the family, six of whom are living and married in and 
around the old home place. 

The mother died July 10, 1889, in the 54th year of her age. She was greatly 
respected for her splendid qualities of head and heart. She was a good Christian 
woman, a true wife and mother and never suffered discouragement to overshadow 
the terrible struggles of the pioneer days. Mr. Larkin lived to be 76 years of age; 
he departed this life on December 30, 1896 and was laid beside his beloved wife 
in Holy Rosary Cemetery, Wea. May they rest in pace. 



PHILIP CONBOY 

Philip Conboy was born in County Roscommon, Ireland, in 1833. He came 
to the United States in 1851 and married Sarah McCarrol in New York in 1853. 
She was a native of county Armagh. The young couple started west to seek what 
ever good fortune might be in store for them. The young wife proved herself to 
be a woman of sterling character, "a truly great woman, she was a home maker, 
a good manager and withal a splendid mother." 

They resided in Dixon, Illinois, for a time and then came to Westport, Mis- 
souri, when Kansas City was only a small place. Mr. Conboy took great interest 
in the public life of the new city which has since become the metropolis of the 
west. He served two terms on the Town Council and afterwards acted as tax 
collector. Later, when the Civil War broke out, he was chosen City marshal of 
Kansas City. He was respected and honored for his fearless championship Of 
law and order and his stern attention to duty. He remained a member of the 
State Militia until the end of the war in 1865. 

About this time Mr. Conboy formed a business partnership with John Lar- 
kin in the cattle trade. Their venture was successful. The firm of Conboy and 
Larkin drove herds of fat cattle from the finest pasture lands of Kansas. They 
were instrumental in making Kansas City a center for the cattle trade which led 
eventually to its great packing industry. A whole chapter might be written on 
the adventures of these two remarkable men. 

Famous "Jack" Larkin, Philip Conboy and even their town of Auburey are now 
only sacred memories. In 1866 Mr. Conboy purchased the homestead in Johnson 
County where he resided until his death in 1905. His good wife, Sarah Conboy, 
lived until 1914. thus closing a chapter of human interest, the like of which can 
never come again. 

Their remains rest in the Catholic Cemetery of Wea, and their children still 
maintain the fine old home and, what is more, they maintain the high standard 
of faith and character for which the old folks were noted. 

It seems as if Kansas was destined to receive the bravest and the best of 
those whom fate had cast upon our shores during those eventful years of revolu- 
tion, fever and famine in Europe, beginning with 1846. There is undoubtedly 
much good material for literature back of the names we now pass by so care- 



174 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

lessly. "What is in a name?" you will say; what interest can future generations 
find in men clad in homespun, or in women who never knew a note of music ot 
read a line of Dante or saw a play of Shakespeare? Like the clods of the earth 
in which they delved, they surely can have no message for us of a brighter and 
ibetter day. 

Be not deceived; those men and women lived the tragedies and comedies that 
poets only dreamed of; they played upon a vaster stage than art could build and 
saw the sweep of natuie's fingers over the mighty organ which God had made 
on the day, "When the stars sang together" and the mountains answered back 
to the sea and all nature piped its melody from throat and cloud and rippling 
stream along the pathway of a richer and fuller life than we can ever know. 

These men and women passed through "purgatories" and "infernos" not 
imagined by the author of the Divina Commedia. Their lives are unwritten epic 
poems, replete with plots, contrasts and climaxes: with victories and failures, and 
plentifully varied with the joys and sorrows that lent to life its charm and its 
perfection. The theme ennobled the actors and made them heroic; the scenes 
were real, whereas art can only copy. God himself was its author and His Di- 
vine Son the teacher, and the best and bravest human hearts the world ever knew 
acted the play of life magnificently. If you want proof of all this, look around. 
The stage is right here, hallowed by the fame of the actors and the glory of their 
deeds. 



THE KELLY FAMILY. 

Philip Kelly was born in the County Tipperary, Ireland, in 1828. Coming to 
America in his young manhood he endured all the hardships of a long voyage 
and the still more trying conditions incidental to the life of an emigrant amongst 
strange peoples who were, as often as not, hostile to his faith and nationality — 
such were the ignorant backwoods Americans of those days; Philip, however, was 
from Tipperary and no contest went counter to the fame of his native county 
nor left a shadow cf cowardice on the ancient name he bore. Like many thou- 
sands of his country-men he labored with his hands wherever the opportunity of- 
fered. Finally we find h^m in Memphis, Tennessee, where he wooed and wed Miss 
Johanna Ryan, a girl of Limerick, who had come out of Ireland in her teens, in 
fact, she was but thirteen years of age when she arrived in Montreal, Canada. 
Fever and famine had done its work in the old land. Families had been disrupt- 
ed and children cast adrift. 

This child was taken as a hired girl by a family that lived in the forests, 
eighty miles from that city. Unable to stand the hardships and, also, afraid of 
her employer, she fled and spent a night among the wild animals in the timber 
and then walked most of the distance back to Montreal. 

After a time she came to Boston and found employment in the factories of 
that city. Following the trend of the times, she, too, sought to better her con- 
dition by going west, away from the crowded condition of tenement life, and the 
degradation and intemperance to be found on every hand in the big cities of the 
East. 

Cincinnati was then a thriving town, Louisville and Memphis were attracting 
thousands, and here again we meet Johanna Ryan. She had been through the 
stirring times of the vicious Know-Nothing movement which attacked her Church 
as well as her nationality. Then came the yellow fever to Memphis, causing ter- 
rible ravages among the people. Having married Philip Kelly in Memphis, sh.e 
and her husband came north, up the Mississippi river to St. Louis and from the 
latter point took boat to Westport Landing on the Missouri where Kansas City 
now stands. This was away back in 1856. Then the cholera came and slew its 
thousands. Toil and struggle was, of course, to be expected. They hoped to own 
a home some day. The family moved from Kansas City to their newly purchased 
farm in Johnson County in 1868 and there, in the choicest part of the best state 
in the Union, found an abiding place and a final rest. However, the end is not 
yet. After two years of pioneer life Mr. Kelly's health failed and he succumbed 
to consumption. His death at his home in Auburey in 1870, left his widow almost 
helpless with her little son as her only treasure. The land she owned was only 
partly reclaimed. There was no one she knew, all were strangers, and yet, brave 



IN MEMORIAM 



175 



woman that she was, she met the situation successfully and carried out her pur- 
pose magnificently. She became a successful farmer. Finally she won the ad- 
miration of her neighbors and the respect and honor oV^^f^^"'^^^!,^^"^^^,,^^^ 
was a woman of pleasing personality, ready wit and indomitable courage, Strong 
in mind as well as in constitution she was able to endure any hardship. Though 
living a frugal and simple life herself, she was. nevertheless, a great entertainer 
and made hosts of friends. She loved to see all about her happy. She loved Kan- 
sas; and was very contented with her final lot, seeing that her son, who had mar- 
ried the daughter of William Schwartz, a wealthy neighbor, was now a pros- 
nerous and an honorable citizen. , ^ ^ i. 

The grandchildren and their children's children will hark back to Johanna 
Ryan as the founder of their family and a heroine of the highest type, ever show- 
ing forth in her life that love and respect for religion which was typical of the 
old Irish people. Her faith it was that kept her. ^ .. ^ », v. .. ,„ 

She died full of years and honors in 1898 and rests beside her husband in 
Saint Mary's cemetery. Kansas City. Missouri. May her soul rest in peace. 



MRS. CATHERINE STAHL. 

Catherine Schwarts. the sister of 
William and Jacob, was born in Ober- 
salters, Nassau, Germany, in 1834. 
She was married to Peter Stahl in 
1854. The husband died in Germany 
in 1865. Mrs. Stahl with her chil- 
dren came to Wea in 1869. The chil- 
dren's names are as follows: Kath- 
erine, (Mrs. Honor Meyer), Anna, 
(Mrs. Geo. Furthmyer), Dora, (Sister 
Walburga of the Sisters of Charity of 
Leavenworth). Elizabeth, (Mrs. Geo. 
Vohs) and Peter J., who married Miss 
Mary Hirt. 

Mrs. Stahl, "Aunt Kate." as she was 
familiarly called, was known for miles 
around for her charity in nursing the 
sick. She was the donor of many 
beautiful articles for the Wea Church, 
and was always a devout and helpful 
member of the congregation. 

The story of her life is very inter- 
esting; it was. however, her beautiful 
personal qualities that endeared her 
to the hearts of all her neighbors. 

For fifty years she went about do- 
ing good without, in any way, neglect- 
ing her own household. Her spirit of 
kindliness coupled with her energy of mind and body made her a power for good 
amongst the people. 

It is safe to say that Wea will long remember Katherine Stahl; nor need we 
fear that her children or her children's children will ever lose the Faith because 
her love of God, of the Church, and of all humanity was too great to be put into 
a coffin and laid away in a country church yard; her love will live and not die 
and other hearts will emulate her beautiful example for generations yet to come. 
She died at the venerable age of 86 in St. John's hospital, Leavenworth, and 
her remains were taken to Wea where they rest amongst her own people, in the 
shadows of the Church she loved so well. She passed away surrounded by the 
Sisters of Charity and in the arms of her daughter. Sister Walburga, on February 
14, 1920. 

Rev. Wm. Michel of Kansas City, her cousin, officiated at the altar, and the 
pastor praised and exalted her many virtues. 




SISTER WALBURGA. 



176 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

MilCHAEL O'KEEiFE. 

Michael O'Keefe was born in the County Kilkenny, Ireand, November 1, 1832, 
and emigrated to this country in 1846; he came to Kansas and to the parish ol 
Wea in 1868. Mr. O'Keefe married Anastasia Norman, a young lady from his own 
county in Ireland on November 30, 1869. 

Their children's names are Margaret, Joseph, Mary, John, Anastasia, Lucy, 
Edward and Lawrence. Mr. O'Keefe was a fair type cf the plain people of Ire- 
land. He came to America when it took six weeks to make the voyage. He was 
rugged in body and mind, simple in honesty, strong in what he believed to be 
right, true to his friends, industrious, and always successful and useful in his un- 
dertakings. He believed in Catholic Education for his children, always subscrib- 
ed for and read the County Papers and one Catholic Journal. He knew his re- 
ligion by heart. Just a year before his death he was heard reciting the Ten 
Commandments — in short, he was one of the old timers who had the faith deeply 
implanted in the heart. He died at Stillwell, Kansas, April 2, 1905 and is buried 
at Wea. 

In the same year, 1846, Anastasia O'Keefe came to Cincinnati, Ohio, thence 
in 1865 to Kansas City, Missouri, where she met and married Michael O'Keefe. 
She came into this County for the first time on that day and took up life's bur- 
dens and for forty-seven years was a valiant worker and a defender of the Faith. 
She was a woman of energy and thrift, having a bright mind that sv/ayed all 
around her. She was a lover of books and left no task unfulfilled. She was truly 
a pioneer and a good woman. She passed away on November 30, 1916, and rests 
beside her husband in Holy Rosary Cemetery. Mrs. O'Keefe was beloved by all 
and greatly respected by the entire community. The funeral oration was deliver- 
ed by Father Kinsella of Paola, a native of her own County in Ireland. It abound- 
ed in many beautiful passages, extolling the valiant woman. "The price of her," 
said he, "is as things from afar and from the remotest coasts." 

Stillwell and Wea have many finely built homes and well equipped farms, 
but the home of Anastasia Norman O'Keefe is not the least of them, nor is it 
excelled by the best she had known in her native land. All her hopes, surely, 
were fulfilled; she died, thanking God for all His blessings, not the least of which 
was the love and affectionate reverence of her chi'dren. 



177 
LOUISBURG, MIAMI COUNTY. 



CHURCH OP THE IMMACULATE CONCEPTION. 

This flourishing little town situated near the east side of Miami 
county, came into being immediately following the close of the Civil war. 
It was first started at a point some four or five blocks east of the busi- 
ness center of the present toAvn near the Shield's spring and was then 
called St. Louis, or in speaking the name it came to be called Little St. 
Louis. On November 10th, 1868, the principal part of the present town 
site was surveyed by Charles Sims, Dr. R. F. Steger and D. L. Perry. The 
Missouri, Kansas and Texas railroad from Sedalia to Paola was started 
to be built through the town in 1870 and in order to avoid the confound- 
ing of the name of the town with St. Louis, Mo., the name was changed 
in 1870 to Louisburg. Among the early settlers who came to that vicin- 
ity in the territorial days that were identified as Catholics were the 
Shields, Cots, Dagnetts, Laramies, and the Morgans. Later came the 
O'Maras, O'Briens and Sloans. Prominent among the pioneers of the 
town were James Doyle and his sister Bridget, natives of Ireland. They 
were nephew and niece of Dr. Doyle (J. K. L.) Bishop of Kildare. Mr. 
Doyle became active as a town builder, but after a few years returned 
to his former home in Michigan and died soon afterwards. Miss Doyle, 
his sister, continued to live in Louisburg until the late nineties, when 
she moved to Paola. She was well educated, cultured and refined. The 
infirmities that came with the burden of years caused her to live a life 
of seclusion. She moved to Paola in 1897 ?nd in 1917 she retired to the 
Little Sisters of the Poor in Kansas City. 

L. A. Bowes and family settled on their farm east of Louisburg in 
the early seventies. During the seventies, P. W. Goebel settled in Louis- 
burg and in the early eighties his mother along with her sons, Ferdinand 
S. and Joseph, settled there. Prominent among the Catholic families who 
came to Louisburg in an early day was Geo. Neiman, who came in 1869. 
He was a shoemaker by trade. He engaged in that business and later 
he added to his shop trade a stock of boots and shoes, and afterwards 
included a grocery store. Joseph Gangel and family located on a farm 
southeast of Louisburg in 1881. Dominic Maschler, with his family, came 
to the same neighborhood in 1882, and August Hauser and family came 
in 1884. The last three families came from Austria, Hungary. During 
all the years from the early settlement of the country until 1886 the faith- 
ful got along by going occasionally to church in Wea or Paola. The 
priests, each in their day at Paola, would go the rounds among the scat- 
tered people and occasionally say Mass at some private house in Louis- 
burg. The Catholic population by 1886 had grown in numbers until they 
felt they were able to build a church of their own at Louisburg. Through 
the able leadership of Father Redeker of Wea the parish was organized 
and the foundation for the church building laid. In the midst of his 
early efforts Father Redeker was transferred from Wea to Westphalia. 



178 



THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND. 



He was succeeded by Father Wieners, who completed the frame church 
in 1887. It is dedicated to God under the title of "The Immaculate Con- 
ception." The beautiful cemetery, sloping gently to the east to wel- 
come each morning's sun until tlie day of the resurrection, adjoins the 
town at the southeast corner of the town limits. It was purchased in 
1898. Already it is well flecked with marble f;nd granite of various hues, 
marking the last resting place of the mortal remains of many of the 
pioneers as well as many of the younger generation who have gone to 
premature graves. Father Hohe, who succeeded Father Wieners, built 
the rectory in 1903. Father Heuberger became the resident priest fol- 
lowing the building of the rectory. He built the sacristy to the church 
and had the steeple improved. Extensive improvements to the prop- 
oi-ty was made by Father McNamara, in the way of cement side walks, 




IMMACULATE CONCEPTION CHURCH, UOUISBURG, KANSAS. 

painting of the buildings and a general beautifying of the premises, all 
to the delight of the members who helped him make his administra- 
lion a success. AVhen Father Hohe came to Wea in 1897 Lonisburg was 
still a mission from Wea. He found the Louisburg church building, 
then ten years old, run down, both inside and outside. The foundation 
had given way, letting the building settle which cracked the plaster until 
much had fallen off. He built a new foundation, had a steel ceiling put 
on, the side walls mended and canvas covered and the entire interior of 
the church decorated in oil by an expert frescoer. A new altar, stataes 
and stations of the cross were purchased, and other improvements were 
made that occasioned financial sacrifice, but which Avere Avell compen- 
sated for in a revived spirit of zeal in the congregation. From time to 
time during the administration of the different priests, vestments, 



CHURCH OF THE IMMACULATE CONCEPTION 179 

sacred vessels and many beautiful and useful altar equipments have 
been added until the church now is well supplied in its needs both as 
to beauty and utility. In writing this chapter on Louisburg it has been 
quite impossible to get the names of all the Catholic people that have, 
at different times, lived in or around Louisburg, and, to have woven all 
their names and activities into this narrative would have been an utter 
impossibility because of needed information. 

A vast number of Catholic people have come and gone from the vi- 
cinity of Louisburg, both before it had a church and since. Some would 
stay but a short time and never in a particular way leave any lasting 
memory. Others stayed longer and became distinctly identified as per- 
manent citizens only later to move to other locations where business 
and schools held out inducements to attract them away. It is not un- 
common in talking to some of those who have drifted to other places 
to hear them say they cherish in fondest memory the days spent in and 
around Louisburg, and it is said many of them wander back here from 
time to time purely for the purpose of satisfying that yearning to see 
the old town and have a kindly word with friends of former days. 

There is pathos found in the retrospective view of Louisburg. The 
place as a town of business has seen better days. It at one time sup- 
ported a population of more than one thousand people, well employed, 
and gave promise of growth, but there came a change in railroad build- 
ing in adjacent territory and a change in her own railroad accommoda- 
tions that checked the tide of the town's advancement, and as the town 
suffered so did the church in the loss of many of its most active mem- 
bers who moved away to places of better or more attractive opportuni- 
ties. In this thought we are reminded of the sentiment as expressed 
by the poet when he said: "Those that go are happier than those that 
are left behind ! ' ' 

The congregation is holding its own notwithstanding its handicaps. 
As some go away, others take their places and it is to be hoped it will 
increase in number and flourish in the coming years. 

Louisburg and vicinity always was attended from Paola until Father 
John Redecker became the resident priest at Wea in 1881. From 1881 
to September, 1887, he attended Louisburg as a mission. Father 
Wieners, who succeeded Father Redeker, attended Louisburg from Wea 
until November, 1897. Rev. Joseph Hohe succeeded Father Wieners 
from November, 1897, to April, 1912 Father Heuberger became resident 
pastor at Louisburg and remained six years and three months. Father 
Sylvester Meehan became resident pastor June, 1911, to September, 
19] 3. Father Patrick McNamara took charge of the parish September, 
1913, and remained until April, 1918, when he was succeeded by Father 
Pottgiesser, who remained in charge until April 14th, 1919, when he in 
turn was succeeded by Father John Bollweg, who is resident at this time. 



180 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

MRS. ELLEN McGUIRK. 
A Story of Human Interest. 

The history of Catholicity in Miami County, Kansas, would not be 
complete without the special mention of a small Catholic community 
located on the north side of South Wea Creek, seven miles east and three 
miles north of Paola. 

This immediate settlement was founded in the early spring of 1866, 
and centered around the person of Mrs. Ellen McGuirk. Her children 
were : Mary, Catherine, Margaret, Anna and Patrick H. The McGuirk 
children were all born in Ireland in the county of Monaglian, Province 
of Ulster, and though young at the time, they all remember the suffer- 
ing and the horrors of the famine of 1848. 

Terrance McGuirk, the husband and father of this family, witness- 
ing the seeming hopelessness of a successful future in their oppressed 
native land, resolved to seek a home in the land of opportunity in far 
away America, and in obedience to his family obligations, and with the 
heroism always characteristic of his race, in 1851 he gave an affection- 
ate goodby to his wife and children with the promise he would find a 
home in America and send for them, and with a sorrowful farewell to 
the land of his birth he sailed for the New World. Landing in America 
he caught the spirit as expressed by Horace Greeley: "Go West and 
grow up with the county," and following the impulse, he pressed west- 
Avard and finally located in Jackson County, Missouri, not far from In 
dependence. 

He found employment at once and was soon prepared with means 
to send for his family, Avhich, except Margaret, followed him in the early 
spring of 1852. They arrived at New Orleans May 3rd, and after a week 
spent in quarantine and a river boat voyage up the Mississippi and Mis- 
souri rivers, they met the anxious husband and father at Wayne's 
Landing, three miles out from Independence, Missouri. They at once 
took up their new home on the farm between Independence and West- 
port. Margaret, who remained behind in Ireland along with other rela- 
tives, joined the family in 1854. 

The Catholic faith was naturally deep seated with the family, and no 
doubt strengthened by persecution in Ireland, as they lived in Ulster 
Province, where Orangeism dominated. All of them remember seeing 
the orange walks and witnessed to their chagrin and humiliation the 
stamping under foot the shamrock which to them was held in sacred 
memorv in the beautiful tradition as St. Patrick's svmbol of the triune 
God. 

The home of this family always was a welcome place for the priest, 
and from which he never left emptj^ handed. Father Donnelly on his 
rounds among his scattered people at once became a welcome guest, and 
the McGuirk home became a local center where the faithful of the vicin- 
ity gathered to hear Mass and receive instructions. 



IN MEMORIAM 181 

Mary, the eldest daughter, was married to W. H. Burns, March 11th, 
1855, and they at once set up a home of their own. Their after-lives are 
nicely commented on in their obituaries later on in this narrative. 

Catherine, the second daughter, was married to Patrick Rigney, 
April 5th, 1858, and their subsequent life is touched upon later in the 
obituary of Patrick Rigney. Mrs. Rigney still survives and lives in Louis- 
burg, Kansas. 

In 1858 a shocking sorrow came to the McGuirk family by Mr. Mc- 
Guirk being killed, supposedly by a horse he was riding, some distance 
from home on a mission in behalf of the family, and the fact that his 
dead body lay on the ground all night uncared for until found the next 
day, lent tragedy to the affair that intensified the grief of the stricken 
family. Sad is the thought that a faithful husband and a devoted father, 
who had the fortitude and courage to do for his family what he had 
done up to this time, that cruel fate should cut short his life with but 
six years' effort in behalf of his family in the new land of opportunity. 
The brave wife, who with four of her five children, some yet quite 
young, when she faced the perilous Atlantic Ocean on a slow going sail- 
ing vessel to join her husband in a far off land, was equal to the task 
that fell to her lot on being left a widow. She maintained her home with 
her three younger children, making out the best she could, and then, 
in 1861, came the Civil War with the added troublesome border strife. 

On January 6th, 1863, Anna, the fourth daughter, was married to 
Peter Miller. Soon afterwards Mr. Miller and his young wife moved to 
Kansas to what afterwards became Wea Parish. Besides their obituaries 
in this narrative their names are also mentioned elsewhere in this book 
on the notes of that parish. 

The Civil War, with all the strife of theft and murder, so common 
in that part of Missouri, during the war, had sorely borne down on these 
people and the call of the prairies of Kansas in the late fall of 1864 
found the families of W. H. Burns and Patrick Rigney living on the 
Colonel Polk farm, four miles northwest of what is now Louisburg, Kan- 
sas. The spring of 1866 found Mrs. Ellen McGuirk and her daughter, 
Margaret, and son, Patrick H., along with the Patrick Rigney family, 
establishing the center of the little Community on South Wea Creek. 
W. H. Burns' family joined them in 1869. This same year a sister of 
Mrs. McGuirk, Mrs. Catherine Murphy, also a widow, along with her 
daughter, Mary, and son, Patrick, joined the community. The Murphy 
family all have gone to their reward. This same year, 1869, Margaret 
McGuirk, the third daughter, was married to Max Miller and moved to 
Paola, where they lived for a few years, when they moved to a farm 
ten miles southeast of Paola, near Block. In March, 1878, Mr. Miller 
died. In 1881 Mrs. Miller moved to Louisburg, where she still lives. 
Having no family responsibilities of her own, she became a benefactor 
to the newly organized parish and contributed liberally of her means 
and untiring personal efforts to build up and maintain the parish. Among 



182 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

her bequests is the splendid bell in the belfry of the church. 

The little colony on South "Wea Creek became the social center for 
people far and near and the open door hospitality extended by those 
people soon made their homes known to be places where strangers seek- 
ing shelter and food would not be turned from their doors. The families 
grew in number until the Ellen McGuirk family tree numbered more 
than twenty. 

These people realized they had gone far afield as regards location 
to church, but their faith, by inheritance and made strong bj' persecu- 
tion, found enchantment and inspiration rather than despair in overcom- 
ing their handicaps and difficulties. The old custom practiced back in 
Missouri when Father Donnelly would come to their home and say Mass 
and gather the children around him for instruction soon came to be the 
established custom in the new community. In those days Paola was 
the only place of a resident priest in this county, and Father Wattron 
for a time looked after their needs. Later on came Father Abel. Wea 
was then a mission out of Paola. This community being midway be- 
tween those two places, a distance of twenty miles, it became a stop- 
over-night place at regular intervals for the priest. The faithful of the 
community, along with the McCarthys and Sheridans, who lived to the 
southwest a few miles, knew when to look for the priest, so all would 
gather to hear Mass and have the children instructed. Thus the place 
really became a mission. This was the practice during Father Abel's 
time and continued during Father Hurley's years in Paola. When 
Father Hurley left Paola Wea ceased to be a mission from Paola, and 
Father Redeker became the resident priest at Wea and wnth that change 
the half-way mission ceased and the community became distinctly as be- 
longing to the Paola Parish, until the church was built at Louisburg 
in 1887, when they became members of that parish. 

P. H. McGuirk, the fifth child of Ellen and Terrance McGuirk, their 
only son, Avas married to Mary McCluskey, November 26, 1876, at Paola, 
Kansas. He and his wife continued to live on the farm a few years, 
when they moved to Louisburg, but later returned to the farm, where 
they both are living today. Their children are : Terrance, John, Ed- 
ward, Theresa, Mary, Henry and Margaret, all of whom are married and 
have homes of their OAvn, except Mary and Henry, who are with the par- 
ents on the farm. 

Ellen McGuirk in her declining days in 1881 went with her daugh- 
ter, Margaret, to live in Louisburg, where she died August 5th, 1886, 
being seventy-two years old at the time of her death. The writer would 
fail to do justice to this noble woman if no special or further comment 
was made of her. She came from a parental lineage of people recognized 
in her country as not having suffered so keenly the pressure imposed 
on the common peasantry of that mifortunate land. Though not es- 
pecially educated, she bore the distinct marks of culture and refinement 
that made her a noticeable character, and thus she commanded the 



IN MEMORIAM 183 

highest esteem and respect of all who came in contact with her. Hei 
advice and counsel was always considered worth while. Her children 
we^-e obedient to her in youth, and as their mother, when they were 
grown, she never surrendered her parental right to advise them to the 
ext'^nt of chastisement. She exercised the parental right to correct and 
even to chastise her grandchildren. She stood for honesty and fair play 
in all things, and while she was not contentious, she would not condone 
wrongdoing from anyone for the sake of personal popularity. She stood 
above the petty things of life, and with those high conceptions she taught 
her children the way they should go. She especially idolized her only 
son, Patrick, until the day of her death. That only can be explained by 
the fact that because he was a man he typified to her the faithful hus- 
band who had been so good to her and whose memory she cherished so 
keenly that tlie anniversary each year afterwards of his untimely death 
was a funeral day to her. The encomiast would find it difficult to over- 
rate the influence for good in the world of the somewhat obscure indi- 
viduals of her kind, and it is a sad commentary that such worthy char- 
acters are so easily lost sight of after they pass out of life. She fought 
the good fight to the highest degree in all the duties she owed to her 
family and friends and in matters of faith, as taught by Holy Mother 
Church, she carried from Ireland the faith of her fathers and nurtured 
it in her own family, and at least by good example, planted it in Amer- 
ica, and in faith we believe she will receive her reward on the morning 
of the resurrection. Well might all her grandchildren, especially, cherish 
her memory and often recall in solemn reflection the faith, fortitude 
and sacrifice of this noble grandmother in the hope of bringing to them- 
selves a merited benediction. Fleeting time since her death has called 
two of her daughters and three of the sons-in-law to their eternal reward. 
The following obituaries of the deceased, taken from the local papers 
at the time of their death, shed some light on the type of her children and 
those who, later, by marriage, became members of the Ellen McGuirk 
family. 

THE DEATH OF WM. H. BURNS, HUSBAND OF MARY E. McGUIRK. 

William H. Burns died at his home in Kansas City, August 8, 1894. of Bright's 
disease. He was born November 15, 1818, aged 75 years, 8 months and 24 days. 
Mr. Burns was born in Dublin, Ireland, and spent most of his youth in traveling 
in foreign countries, where he gained a knowledge of manners and customs of 
the different nations. Having an unusual retentive memory, he was an interest- 
ing conversationalist, especially on the cradle lands of the Bible and also of the 
peculiarities of China and India, where he had spent several years. He came to 
this country in 1848, and was married to Miss Mary E. McGuirk March 11, 1855, 
at Westport, Mo. He was at that time employed by the Shawnee and Delaware 
Indians as a stonemason. He immediately moved with his Avife to the newly 
opened territory of Kansas and settled at what was known as the Delaware cross- 
ing on the Kaw river, where he had charge of a ferryboat and had the honor of 
crossing the first legislative body that met in Kansas. He moved back to West- 
port in 1856, lived there until the spring of 1857, when he moved to the Hayes 
settlement near Westport. He returned to Westport again in 1859, where he was 
employed by William Bernard & Co., wholesale merchants, for the Mexican trade 



1S4 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

and remained in their service until 1864, wtien lie removed with his family to 
Miami County, Kansas, where as one of the pioneer settlers he endured the hard- 
ships and privations that are always experienced in frontier life. He improved 
and lived upon his farm there for a number of years, but his health failing he 
left; the farm in the spring of 1884. He purchased a home in Louisburg. Kansas, 
and lived there until November, 1892, when he moved to Kansas City, Mo., where 
he died. He was a kind and devoted husband and a loving father. He was the 
father of eight children, five daughters and three sons, of which he leaves four 
daughters and two sons to mourn his loss. The remains were brought to Stillwell. 
Kansas, where they were met by sorrowing relatives and a host of friends. From 
there he was taken to the Catholic church at Wea, where the funeral services 
were conducted by Rev. Father Wieners. This is the second time at the same place 
within three weeks that this bereaved family have been called upon to stand 
beside the open grave to see a loved form laid away; first little Leo Kelley, and 
now the aged grandfather. They have the heartfelt sympathy of the community. 



DEATH OF PETER MILLER, HUSBAND OF ANNA McGUIRK. 

Peter Miller, one of the first settlers of the north part of Wea township, a 
man high'y respected by all who knew him, had a stroke of apoplexy on Friday 
afternoon, October 11. about 3 o'clock. He, with his son, Peter, Jr., was returning 
from Kansas City, Mo., riding on a lumber wagon. When two miles west of 
Belton, Mo., he suddenly spoke to his son, saying that he felt rather queer, had a 
sensation of heat and fullness in chest and head, and in a very few minutes he 
leaned over the spring seat and became unconscious. He was carried into the 
house of David Roberts and Dr. Strether of Belton was summoned. The doctor 
remained the entire night with Mr. Miller and Dr. G. A. Boyle of Louisburg was 
called Saturday morning. The doctors pronounced his case as hopeless. Mr. 
Miller never regained consciousness and died at 5 p. m. Saturday. 

The funeral was held at the Wea church Tuesday at 10 o'clock, the Requiem 
Mass being said by Rev. Father Hohe. and interment in the Catholic cemetery. 

Peter Miller was born in the Dukedom of Nassau, now a province of Germany, 
in 1831. Came to America in 1852 and settled in Pennsylvania, where he spent 
about three years as a wholesale grocer. He then came west and worked a year 
for the Delaware Indians and after that worked at the wagon making trade in 
Westport. In 1861 he enlisted in Company "I"' Second Kansas and served three 
years. 

Mr. Miller was married to Miss Anna McGuirk in Westport, January 6, 1863. 
He was a foreman for a time in the Great Western wagon shops and from there 
in 1864 he moved to his late home in Wea township. Nine sons were born to them, 
of whom two died in childhood and one, A. E. Miller, died in 1899. His wife and 
six sons survive him. Two sons reside in St. Louis, one in Greenwood county and 
three at home. 



DEATH OF PATRICK RIGNEY, HUSBAND OF KATHERINE McGUIRK. 

Another pioneer has gone. Patrick Rigney died at his home, ten miles east 
of Paola, and four miles southwest of Louisburg, on June 12, 1911, aged 80 years. 
2 months and 25 days. Mrs. Rigney survives, and so do the following named sons 
and daughters: Mrs. Mary Thompson, wife of John Thompson, who lives in 
Sugar Creek township, this county; Mrs. Lena Barnes, wife of C. W. Barnes, of 
Richland township, this county; John Rigney and W. L. Rigney, of this county; 
Maurice F. Rigney of Kansas City, Mo.; Maggie Rigney, Charles and Harry 
Rigney at home. 

There was a large funeral at Louisburg last Wednesday, the 14th inst., 
where Reverend Father Meehan conducted the burial service from the Catholic 
church. Interment was in the cemetery near there. 

It was the 17th of March, 1831, in King's County, Ireland, that Patrick Rigney 
was born. When 16 years of age he reached America. From the Atlantic coast 
he came with the regular and ever-increasing hosts seeking homes in the west. 
Rugged of build, and with the strength of youth, he was a power among his as- 



IN MEMORIAM 185 

sociates. In fact, his was to lead and command. From Michigan he came to 
Kansas City and there he was married, in April, 1858, to Miss Katherine McGuirk. 
The couple went back to Michigan in a wagon and returned to Kansas City in 
1861. Then Mr. Rigney crossed the plains to New Mexico. Upon his return in 
1866 he moved to Miami County, and located on one of the Col. O. H. P. Polk 
farms in what is now Ten Mile township. Two years later he bought the home- 
stead where he lived until the end, on the north side of v/hat is known as "Little 
Wea," nearly directly east of Somerset, this county. 

With his good wife all the hardships of early days were met and mastered. 
The hewn log house was Rigney's castle. It was good and stout because he 
reared it with his own hands. The next work to his own home building was the 
rearing of a school house and helping to build the little stone Catholic church in 
Paola. He held back from no task and shirked no hardships. When past sixty 
years of age he was still a man of powerful mold and it was easy for him to do 
two days' work in one. His honesty was of the early pioneer stamp that never 
needed re-enforcing in any manner whatever. In labor he saw dignity and a 
future competence. Homes he made, both for himself and his children and to 
each he gave liberally in property. 

To his faithful wife, whose unselfish labors helped him to subdue the wilds 
of the west, and keep a roof o'er head and plenty beneath, is due in part the suc- 
cess and the good example Patrick Rigney gave to the world. To her in her 
sorrow, every old settler's heart goes out today. 



MRS. ANNA E. MILLER DEAD. 

Mrs. Anna Miller, one of the first settlers of North Wea township, a woman 
highly respected by all who knew her, died Sunday morning, June 28th, at 8:45 
a. m. 

The funeral was held at the Wea church Tuesday, at 9 o'clock, the Requiem 
Mass being by Rev. Father Hohe, and interment in the Catholic cemetery. 

Anna E. McGuirk was born in Monaghan, Ireland, 1846. When a girl of six, 
with her parents she crossed the Atlantic and came to America. They settled 
in Kansas in 1852, living on a farm south of Westport, known as the Ward place. 
Here she lived until the breaking out of the Civil War, when with her mother 
moved to Westport, her father, Terrance McGuirk, having been killed by a 
horse, March 3, 1859. 

Miss Anna E. McGuirk was united in marriage to Peter Miller, January 5, 
1863. Nine sons were born to them, of whom two died in childhood and one, A. E. 
Miller, died in 1899. She leaves six sons, William, Jacob and Barnard, who are 
at St. Louis in business, Peter and Anthony are prosperous farmers, living in the 
northern part of this township, and Lawrence is on the homestead, where his 
mother died. 

A Catholic funeral ceremony is very impressive. A large body of people were 
present at the funeral of Anna Miller last Tuesday, yet they were all subdued 
and thoughtful. There was no crowding into the church. No looking back at 
late comers. As the casket was being carried from the church to the cemetery 
no one attempted to precede it, but all with bowed head and measured tread, 
silently followed all that was mortal of Anna Miller to its last resting place. And 
consistency is also found here, in that no elaborate monuments appear, it being 
held that only fleeting mortality which must soon return to dust lies buried there, 
that the living must not think of their loved ones as having returned to earth, 
but rather to hope and pray that their immortal spirits shall enter into eternal 
rest. 



A GOOD MOTHER CALLED HOME. 

Mrs. Mary E. Burns died at her home in Louisburg, June 9. 1914, at the age 
of 74 years, one month and three days. With the passing of this remarkable 
woman is closed the last chapter in a life whose full years were beautifully 
rounded out in service to others. No person knew Mrs. Burns who did not admire 
her, and none knew her intimately without loving her. She was possessed of a 



186 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

bright mind and remarkable memory which with her sunny disposition and her 
rare gift of entertaining conversation made her a most companionable woman. 
She was ever hopeful and helpful to others in all afflictions. Though her days 
were full of her own strenuous duties, yet,, she was never too busy, nor too tired 
to serve her neighbor in sickness or distress. Her ready sympathy went out to 
those in trouble and she rejoiced in the joy of others. Her optimistic theory of 
life never failed to shed its roses on those with whom she came in contact. 

Mary E. McGuirk was born in Monaghan, Ireland, May 5, 1840, and came to 
America with her parents in 1852, where they located at Westport, Mo. March 
11, 1855, she was married to William H. Burns, also a native of Ireland, and a mi^n 
of education and travel, who at that time was employed as a stonemason for '1:3 
Shawnee and Delaware Indians. Soon after this she removed with her husband 
to the newly opened territory of Kansas, where they settled at what was known 
as Delaware Crossing of the Kaw river. It was here that her husband, while in 
charge of sc ferryboat, carried across the Kaw river, the members of the first 
legislative body that met in Kansas. 

They moved back to Westport in 1856, then to Hayes Settlement in 1857, 
back again to Westport in 1859, where they lived until 1864. During these years 
Mrs. Burns passed through many interesting and perilous experiences attendant 
upon the Civil War. Her husband, then employed by the Bernard Co., wholesale 
dealers for the Mexican trade, was gone for many days at a time; and she, filled 
with anxiety for his safety, remained at home with her small children. The 
border troubles were every-day happenings with her, and the battle of Westport, 
and Quantrell's raid were at her very doors. 

In 1864 she came to Miami County, where with her husband, she endured the 
hardships and privations of pioneer life. Here they broke the prairie, established 
a home and reared their family, suffering the same inconveniences with their 
pioneer neighbors, but enjoying with them the simple pleasures of that time. 

She moved to Louisburg in 1884, then to Kansas City in 1892. where in 189''. 
Mr. Burns died. After his death Mrs. Burns made, her home in Louisburg, where 
she gained a host of friends, all of whom have proven themselves to be "friends 
indeed." She was the mother of eight children, six of whom survive her. They 
are: Mrs. Ellen Kelly, Mrs. Susie E. Frank, Mrs. H. L. Williams, Mrs. Fred Weir 
and W. S. Burns of this city, and E. J. Burns of Kansas City. Besides these there 
are two sisters and one brother, Mrs. Kate Rigney, Mrs. Margaret Miller and P. 
H. McGuirk of Louisburg. Among" numerous other relatives are numbered eleven 
grandchildren, and three great grandchildren. 

She bore her last illness bravely and while suffering displayed a great pa- 
tience and undying trust in her God. A few days before her death she repeated 
these lines: 

"Other refuge I have none; 
Hangs my helpless soul on 

Thee ; 
Leave, O leave me not alone 
Still support and strengthen 

me." 

From the green old sod of Ireland she brought the Faith of her fathers, in 
light of which she walked unfaltering to the end. 

The funeral services were held at the Catholic church in Louisburg, Wednes- 
day morning, June 10th, conducted by Rev. Father McNamara. Interment was 
in the Catholic cemetery at Louisburg. 

As a parting word on the Ellen McGuirk family let it be said that every one 
of them heroically kept the faith and endeavored to pass it on to their posterity. 

A retrospective view of the lives of such people, as to the hardships they en- 
dured for their families along with the sacrifices they made for the faith, makes 
the thoughtful observer to wonder at times how lightly religion is accepted by 
some of the succeeding generations. The serious thinker is struck with amaze- 
ment when he sees so manv lightly casting aside the priceless heritage of faith 
which came to them as a birthright, showing no disposition to make any sacri- 
fices in order to preserve it for themselves, or to pass it on to their posterity. 



PART VIII 

OSAWATOMIE, MIAMI COUNTY 



189 



OSAWATOMIE, MIAMI COUNTY. 
St. Philip's Church. 



The history of Osawatomie and vicinity is very interesting. Long 
before the town was established in 1855, destiny had marked the place. 
A small band of Pottawatomie Indians from Indiana settled there in 
1837 and gave their name to the creek that empties into the Marais des 
Cygnes near Osawatomie. There were many Catholics amongst these 
Indians, and. learning that there were Black-robes among the Kickapoos 
near Fort Leavenworth, they sent a request for a priest to visit them. 
The Jesuit Father, Christian Hoecken, came at once, though it was in 




THE ORIGINAL. ST. PHIUP'S CHURCH, OSAWATOMIE, KANSAS. 

tho middle of winter. The journey on horseback took eight days; he 
arrived at Pottawatomie Creek early in January, 1838. He was wel- 
comed by the poor Indians as an angel from heaven and there, we venture 
to say, he laid the foundations of our Holy Religion in Kansas. 

The second Catholic Church, in what was afterwards known as the 
State of Kansas, was constructed at or near where Osawatomie now 
stands; that was in November, 1838. It was built by the Indians and 
measured 22 by 40 feet. Kickapoo had the first church, which was af- 
terwards abandoned ; but the mission established at Pottawatomie Creek 
remains to this day at St. Marys, Pottawatomie County, Kansas. 

After the removal of the Pottawatomie Creek mission to Sugar 
Creek, Linn County, in 1839, we read nothing more of the place in Cath- 
olic annals until 1858. 

In December of that jear Father Schacht visited Osawatomie and 



190 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

said Mass at the home of a Mrs. Remington, and then passing beyond 
the town to the southwest, about two miles, he came to the home of the 
first Catholic settler of Miami County, James Poland, where he rested, 
said Mass, and consulted in regard to future plans for building a church 
at Osawatomie. These plans were quickly matured, a site was obtained 
and the foundations were about to be laid when a defect in title was 
found, which frustrated the whole design, and Paola was chosen as the 
place of the first church. In the early days the Town Company of Osa- 
watomie donated ground to each denomination for church purposes, 
but the plot on which the present Catholic Church now stands remained 
unclaimed until 1889. Father Gleason placed the deed on record in the 
name of the Catholic Bishop of Leavenworth. Right Rev. L. M. Fink, 
O.S.B., and Father 'Conner, his immediate successor, began the work 
of founding the parish and building the Church of St. Philip. From 1889 
to 1918 is a long series of years, but it took all that time to make a 
success of Catholicity at Osawatomie. The town itself was founded 
by people from the New England States and the spirit of the place was, 
of course, strongly anti-Catholic. It felt the effects of the border ruf- 
fian warfare and was once burned down. The name and fame of John 
Brown afterwards made the place famous in song and story ; no less so 
the name and fame of Horace Greeley, who called into being the great 
Republican Party at a meeting once held at Osawatomie, so it is said. 

Ex-President Roosevelt made a pilgrimage to the town in 1911 and, 
after visiting the monument and park maintained there by the patriotic 
societies of Kansas in honor of John Brown, he made one of his most 
famous speeches and inaugurated a new movement, if not a new progres- 
sive party which has greatly affected the whole country. 

The first and oldest state institution, the State Hospital for the 
Insane, is located at Osawatomie, and the first Division Point of the Mis- 
souri Pacific Railroad, together with the repair shops, are also located 
in the town. It is one of the oldest Masonic centers in Kansas, and the 
Elks have also a splendid home. All the societies are well represented, 
but the churches of the various denominations are rather poorly sus- 
tained. 

In the summer of 1889, Father O 'Conner, the pastor of Paola, said 
Mass in Osawatomie. The old stone school house that is now a part 
of the Remington Lumber Yard was used and, afterwards, a frame build- 
ing which stood where Johnson's furniture store is now located, served 
as a meeting place for the few scattered Catholics. 

The railroad shops, the round house, and the section along the Mis- 
souri Pacific furnished the congregation. The people were eager to 
contribute towards the erection of a church; plans were drawn and 
Father 'Conner gave the contract to Mr. Petty of Paola in 1891. 

A good rock foundation was laid for a frame building, 30 by 60 
feet ; there was no Sacristy or tower called for in the contract. Just 
the four walls with the pews, windows and doors, exclusive of plastering. 



OSAWATOMIE 191 

Father 'Conner died on Tuesday, March 3rd, 1891, and was succeeded 
by Reverend Nicholas Neusius as pastor of Paola. He remained until 
the following August. The church at Osawatomie had no sanctuary furni- 
ture, not even an altar, a common board being used for that purpose. 
About this time Mrs. Shanklin obtained a gift of an old altar — the one 
now in use — from St. Augustine's church, Knox County, Illinois, in the 
diocese of Peoria. 

The Sanctuary steps and foundation for the altar were constructed 
in Father Neusius' time and the beautiful little altar was placed in posi- 
tion at last. The altar is of walnut, painted white, and adorned with 
carved scroll work. 

Mrs. Franklin and Mrs. Douglas collected money from the men in 
the shops for this purpose, Catholics and non,-Catholics giving cheer- 
fully. They also raffled a silver tea set, which added much to their fund, 
and thus an important step in the furnishing of the little church was 
accomplished. 

Father Madden became the next pastor of Paola, from September, 
1892 to 189.S. During his time the altar railing was put in place. The 
ladies gave a ball and raffled a silver water pitcher with considerable 
financial success and thus the railing was paid for. 

Father Quick followed Father Madden, but in his time nothing was 
done to speak of. 

Then came Father Burk, from September, 1893, to September, 1894. 
He was followed by Reverend Anthony Doi nseifer, who invited the Pas- 
sionist. Father Erasmus, to give the first mission ever preached at Osa- 
watomie. 

In Father Dornseifer's time the organ was bought. To make the 
money for this a Social was given and a voting contest was carried on, 
at which $200.00 was realized, and thus the organ and other things were 
paid for. 

Father Francis Taton was the next pastor. He was appointed to 
Paola in July, 1895, and remained until August, 1903. Father Taton 
did much for Osawatomie when we consider his limited means and the 
continual changes tliat took place in tlie railroad management. He built 
the Sacristy and added the choir gallery. He procured vestments and 
many other things needed for divine worship. He, like his predecessors, 
was very attentive to the instruction of the children and never neglected 
to give the people an opportunity to approach the Sacraments. Few 
can realize in our day what a labor it was to attend to Osawatomie from 
Paola in all kinds of weather the year round, and this for thirty years. 
Every priest felt the strain. 

Father Burk came again as pastor in August, 1903, and remained 
until December, 1914. He was prompt in his attendance and gave a 
monthly Mass on the 4th Sunday to the Asylum. He built the steeple 
to St. Philip's church, and Mrs. Mary Smith donated the bell, in memory 
of her son, Francis Ellis Smith. His health failing and feeling unequal 



192 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

to the task, Father Burk requested a change and was succeeded by 
Father KinselJa. 

Father Kinsella became pastor on December 4th, 1914, with the un- 
derstanding that he was to have an assistant priest as soon as possible. 
Many months passed, however, before the boon was granted. Fathers 
John F. Purcell and Michael J. O'Farrell became assistants in turn. In 
the meantime Father Kinsella found some work to do at Osawatomie and, 
incidentally, he learned the history and traditions of the place. He be- 
came greatly interested in the church and in the people and sought to 
inspire them by telling them that in twenty years the Centennial of 
Catholicity in Kansas would be held at Osawatomie; that it was now 
time to bestir themselves and not be taken unawares, for years pass 
swiftly. He impressed on them his idea that Osawatomie had a bright 
future and that the hand of God was over it in some mysterious way. 
On one occasion he said in a sermon: "I foretell, without being, at all, 
a prophet, that the day will come, and many of you will see that day, 
when Osawatomie will have a fine church, a Catholic school, a Sisters' 
house, and a priest's residence. Catholics will multiply; they will come 
from the farms around and the industries within your town. The grime 
and sweat and tears of eighty years will have their reward some day." 

Henceforth events shaped themselves favorably and matters moved 
on swiftly to a renewed life. The railroad shops were regaining their 
old-time importance and many of the officers and employees were Cath- 
olics. The future looked hopeful. 

During Father Kinsella 's time the church was repainted, electric 
lights were installed, a fine vestment case was placed in the Sacristy, 
books for a free library were purchased and, finally, the cottage west of 
the church was bought for $1,300.00. The purchase of this very modest 
home for the priest was made possible by the giving of the personal 
notes of S. L. Landis, James Churchill, W. G. Boisvert, to the owner of 
the property. This transaction added materially to the size of the 
church grounds and became the deciding factor in the Bishop's mind to 
raise the mission to the status of a parish. The above named gentlemen 
deserve the credit. 

Father Catterlin of the Redemptorist Order, who gave a two weeks' 
mission at Osawatomie in November, 1917, also gave his testimony to the 
Bishop in favor of the appointment of a pastor to St. Philip's church. 

The important step was finally taken in the spring of 1918, and 
Father Vallely, pastor of Lansing, Kansas, and Chaplain of St. Vincent's 
Home, was appointed first resident pastor. He said Mass and preached 
for the first time here on Sunday, April 7th, 1918. The new pastor found 
a good piece of property, well located, on which was a neat little church 
fully furnished, all free of debt. The residence, however, was a make- 
shift in appearance but rather neat and pleasant inside. Up to this time 
no priest felt at home in Osawatomie. The people were always kind, 



OSAWATOMIE 



193 



of course. The home of Mr. and Mrs. John Churchill was always open 
to him; there he lodged and found refreshments year in and year out 
when he came to say Mass or to instruct the children. 

This was the one redeeming feature of the mission for many years. 
To this may be added the continual kindness and helpfulness of W. G. 
Boisvert and the Burns family. Finally, S. L. Landis and Mrs. Landis 
gave a warm welcome to the priest during these latter years — their house 
being contiguous to the church. Gratitude demands here the record of 
these facts because they typify the story of Mary and Martha as related 
in the Gospel. These good people, busy about many things, cheered the 
drooping spirits of the lonely and weary priest who had not whereon to 
lay his head. 

The little cottage was furnished at last by the ladies of the parish 
so that the priest could now sit by his own fireside and be refreshed at 
his own table and feel the comfort of his own home, simple and humble 
though it was. 

Father Vallely began at once to 
plan for the future ; he got every 
Catholic in the shops to donate one 
day's pay a month to a building fund, 
the other members of the Congrega- 
tion giving a fixed yearly amount for 
the same purpose. 

The first year (1918) saw $925.17 
placed to the credit of that fund. The 
second year (1919) raised the amount 
to $3,807.38, and on April 1st, 1920, 
the plans were being formed for a 
fine brick combination building — 
church and school — to be finished by 
September following. The Sisters' 
apartments will be in the same build- 
ing. The church portion to be com- 
pleted interiorlj^ at a future time, but 
the school rooms to be ready by Sep- 
tember, 1921. 

Thus in the short space of four years, a transformation has taken 
place at Osawatomie that augers well for the future of the Church in 
that famous little city. By the year 1938 the Centennial will be cele- 
brated fittingly, it is hoped, and further improvements planned and ex- 
ecuted. 

The young pastor deserves great credit for his wise and energetic 
efforts and for his ability to win the good will and co-operation of all the 
people of his own flock and, what is more, of the general public, or rather 




REV. EUGENE F. VALLDLY. 



194 



THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 



the public spirited citizens of the town. He has settled down to work like 
a native of Kansas, although, as his record will show, he is a product of 
the Eastern schools and an alumnus of a NeAv York college. 

Rev. Eugene F. Vallely was born in Reynoldsville, Pa., December 
23, 1888, but was raised in Du Bois, Pa., where he attended the grade 
and high schools of St. Catherine's church, graduated in June, 1906. In 
the fall of 1906 he entered St. Bonaventure's College, Allegany, New 
York, and received his A. B. degree in 1911. He made his theological 
course in the same institution and was ordained by Bishop Ward in St. 
Benedict's Church, Atchison, Kansas, April 3, 1914. He sang his first 




THE NEW ST. PHILIP'S CHURCH AKD SCHOOL. 

Solemn High Mass at Du Bois, Pa., Easter Sunday, April 12, 1914. 

Father Vallely was then assigned as assistant at St. Thomas Church, 
Armourdale, Kansas City, Kansas, where he remained till September 1, 
1914, when he was transferred to St. Mary's Church, Kansas City, Kansas, 
as assistant to Rev. Alexander Jennings. Upon the illness of Father Jen- 
nings in November, 1915, he assumed charge of the parish and continued 
during the illness and after the death of Father Jennings until Septem- 
ber 1, 1916, when Father Burk assumed the rectorate of St. Mary's. 
From St. Mary's he went to Leavenworth as Chaplain of St. Vincent's 
Home and Rector of St. Francis de Sales, of Lansing, until April 1, 1918, 
when he became the first resident pastor of Osawatomie. 



OSAWATOMIE 195 

PERSONAL NOTES. 



Sister Mary Luke (Julia Gaffiiey) of the Order of Saint Vincent De 




SISTER :MARY LUKE (GAFFXEY) 

Paul, Leavenworth, hails from Osawatomie. She is the first of St. Phil- 
ip's parish to enter Religion. 

Mrs. Shanklin, Mrs. Franklin and Mrs. Dciiglas were the great workers of the 
early days! 

In later years Mrs. I^einlnger and a band of able assistants collected a month- 
ly tribute for the priest amounting to about $25.00. They furnished the Altar 
with linens, flowers and carpets and kept the church in order. 

Mr. Churchill and Mr. Boisvert were the pillars of the church for many years. 
They deserve the inclusion of the following obituary notices in this history. 



RESPECTED OSAWATOMIE MAN DEAD. 

(From the Western Spirit.) 

A patriot and a patriarch, John Churchill, died at his home in Osawatomie, 
Kansas, on Tuesday, May 4th. 191C. Had he lived until the 20th of June, he would 
have been 83 years old. He was, therefore, 82 years, 10 months and IG days of 
age. Mr. Churchill was a soldier and a railway man. The principal years of his 
life were spent in the government and raihvay service. 

John Churchill was bo'-n in the County Mayo. Ireland. June 20th, 1833, and 
came to the United States when he was IG years old, landing at Philadelphia. A 
few years later he went to Chicago and after spending a few years on the river 
as steward of different steamboats, he finally brought up at St. Louis. Here he 
enlisted in the First Missouri Infantry and served his full term of enlistment, 
much of the time at the front. He had already done some work as section fore- 
man and on his return from the army he took up railroading again. April 15, 
1865, Mr. Churchill went to Philadelphia, where he and Mary J. McElheny were 
married by Archbishop Ryan and the couple returned to St. Louis. It was about 
this time that he accepted a job with the Missouri Pacific railroad, and from that 
time on he stayed with the company. It was in 1889 when Mr. Churchill and his 
family moved to Osawatomie. He is survived by his widow and five children. 
Mary A., James W. and Matthew P. Churchill live in Osawatomie; Thomas F. 
Churchill is a resident of Hoisington, and the other daughter. Mrs. Elizabeth Grif- 
fon, resides at Rock Island, Illinois. 



196 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

On Sunday, May 7th, 1916, funeral services were conducted at the Catholic 
church in the city of Osawatomie by Reverend Father Kinsella and interment 
was in the Catholic cemetery in Paola. The flag of the United States was wrap- 
ped around the casket. The Knights of Columbus of Paola attended in a body. 

Miami county has lost a man who gave good example, whose life was a pat- 
tern for young men. He was an Irish gentleman in the fullest sense of the word, 
honest, brave, religious, temperate and charitable. In speaking of him as an 
Irishman, we refer only to the place of birth; the honor he always accorded to 
the "Old Sod," but in all else he was an American in every fiber and every 
thought. When war called for stout arms and brave hearts he went to the front 
in behalf of his country, and his record as a soldier is one of the best. The 
Grand Army button, that matchless emblem of valor, was his to wear and he wore 
it. In church matters he was considerate of everybody else's feelings and be- 
liefs. Deep down in his heart he was a Catholic and he so lived that in being 
an honor to the Church Militant he was sure to be honored at the last by the 
Church Triumphant. For a man to live so that all of his name and blood carry 
with them and in them a passport to the honor and respect of the world is con- 
vincing proof that virtue is its own reward. 



PASSING OF W. a BOISVERT. 

(From the Graphic, Osawatomie.) 

William G. Boisvert was born at LaBaie du Febure, Quebec, Canada, August 
28, 1852. He died at St. Mary's Hospital, Kansas City, Mo., January 16, 1919. He 
came to Kansas in 1881 and had been a resident of this city for 34 years. He 
was married to Elizabeth Hosp, at Garnett, Kansas, March 4, 1883. He leaves to 
mourn his taking away, his wife, Elizabeth Boisvert, two children, Ethel and 
Charles F. Boisvert, both of Osawatomie, five brothers and sisters, and a grand- 
son, Chas. Dow Boisvert. 

The life of W. G. Boisvert was interwoven with all progressive movements 
of this city. He was a staunch supporter of the water system, electric lights 
and paving. He was the champion of many civic improvements To the student, 
the life of William Boisvert must drive home the fact that glory is only a furrow 
in the dust, but at the same time, it cannot help teaching that it is worth while 
to stamp that dust underfoot — so as thereon to leave an impression by which the 
world and posterity may know that we have once journeyed along the road of 
life. In the going out, this good man left his impress. The substantial things 
he stood for and helped to build will be his monument to this and future genera- 
tions. He was a devout member of the Catholic Church; a charter member of 
the Elks Lodge; was trustee of this order for many years. He was a tireless 
worker in this capacity of trustee and largely responsible for our magnificent 
Elks' Home. He was also one of the oldest members of the City Fire Depart- 
ment. Many of the younger members of the fire department dropped out dur- 
ing the years it has been in existence, but Will G. Boisvert was faithful to the 
end, a period of service covering a quarter of a century. 

The character of William Boisvert was as the open day. Neither darkness 
nor shadow rested upon it. Like beautiful landscape, its varied features were 
plainly seen; there was nothing hidden that should be revealed; nothing conceal- 
ed that should be known. The page of his life is clearly written, without 
a blot or stain. His work was unchallenged. The breath of suspicion could not 
reach it. The rancor of aspersion could not touch it. His acts of mercy, though 
many, were unproclaimed. They were like the gentle dew of heaven, that nourish- 
ed the soil of human poverty and lifted up the downcast and fallen. He recogniz- 
ed the fact that human justice and benevolence have not as yet eliminated jus- 
tice from the social fabric. His word was his bond and those who knew him 
best asked no other security. In sorrow and in disappointment, in the struggle 
with the affliction and battle for his life, though sustained by an unflinching 
energy, resignation pointed the way. Two words, duty and resignation, were 
the leading exponents of his nature. In the consummation of his business plans, 
William G. Boisvert was a constructor and not a destroyer. He has, indeed, lived 
well, upon the tombstone of whose grave can be carved the verity. "Herein lieth 
a man who was a creator and not a destroyer." 



PART IX 

EDGERTON, JOHNSON COUNTY 



199 



EDGERTON, JOHNSON COUNTY. 
The Church of the Assumption. 



The first homesteaders of this district began to arrive in 1854. By 
the spring of 1857 a few Catholic families were settled on the surround- 
ing land in Miami and Johnson counties; it was known as the "Bull 
Creek Parish." or Bull Creek district. 
The Pioneer Catholics were : 

Mr. and Mrs. John McCarthy. 

Mr. and Mrs. Murtha Noland and family. 

Mr. Frank Wachenburger. 

Mr. Florence McCarthy, Sr., The Rothwell Family. 

Mr. James DeCoursey. 

Miss Johanna Coughlin, sister of Mrs. John McCarthy. 

Daniel Leahy. John Griffin, John Fenoughty and John Dean. Thos. Keating. 

Mr. Patrick O'Connell and wife. 

Mr. Edward Coughlin, two sons, Thomas and Edward, and daughter, Jane. 

Mr. and Mrs. John Dwyer (Santa Fe). "Long" John, Dennis and Daniel Dwyer 

(brothers.) 

Mr. and Mrs. Michael McCarthy and daughter. 

Mr. Reynolds Crowley, brother of Mrs. Michael McCarthy. 

Mr. and Mrs. Patrick Brickley. The Gorman Family. 

Mr. and Mrs. Dennis Murphy, Dennis Dwyer and Timothy Dwyer, (brothers). 

Daniel and John Galivan (brothers). Mr. Jacod and family (French). 

Mr. and Mrs. Michael Keneally. Jeremiah Dwyer (cousin of the above). 

James and Thomas Clarke. The Knipscher Family. 

Peter and William MoCormack. 

Dick Carberry. Thomas O'Mara. 

James Keating, now in Gardner parish. 

Michael Watson, now in Gardner parish. 

James King, now in Gardner parish. 

Thomas Lovett and family, now in Gardner parish. 

George Lovett, now in Gardner parish. 

Thomas Carroll, now in Gardner parish. 

"Grandpa" Taton and two sons, relatives of Father Taton. 

There was a settlement of French across the line in Douglas County. 
Some of these were the Garmont family, Mignot family and the Rousleau 
family. Mr. Matthew Babee was one of the earliest settlers. 

Nearly all of these had come from Ireland and France. They were 
a good class of people, honest and industrious. They were imbued with 
the old Faith and left nothing undone to bring the blessings of Religion 
into their rough and lonely lives. They lived in dugouts, sod houses, 
log cabins and, finally, in comfortable homes. The land was rich and 
the pastures extensive. The climate Avas excellent, though variable. It 
took years to understand the peculiarities of the new surroundings and 
to fit themselves to fight the battles of life on the prairies. Some, of 
course, fell by the wayside, chiefly through their own fault, while the 
frugal, industrious families and individuals went forward to success and 



200 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND ^ 

affluence. 

There is no finer land in the United States, no grander country than 
eastern Kansas, and this land God gave to our people after generations 
of cruel tyranny in the old world and after the plague and the famine 
had passed away. The older people fully appreciated these facts. They 
were grateful to God and showed it in their generositj^ to the Ministers 
of religion and in their zeal for the up-building of the Church in the 
New World. 

"The first priest to visit the settlement Avas Father Bernard Don- 
nelly; he celebrated Mass in the home of John McCarthy in October of 
the year 1857. Only five or six families were here at the time. The 
rest came during the following few years. Father Donnelly walked 
out from Kansas City to attend this little flock; he did not ride. Father 
Bruner George walked also; he did all his missionary work on foot and 
recited his rosary as he walked along," says J. W. McCarthy. Father 
George's headquarters was at Lawrence. 

In 1857 the Catholic families that had settled in this district began 
the construction of a church. It was built of logs, held together by 
wooden pins and rendered airtight or wind proof by mortar forced in 
between the logs. The men of the district hewed and hauled the logs, 
hacked them into shape, laid the foundations, and built what was, per- 
haps, one of the first Catholic churches in Kansas for white people ex- 
clusively; there had been Indian chapels in Kansas since 1837 at Kick- 
apoo; 1838 at Pottawatomie Creek; 1839 at Sugar Creek; 1847 at Osage 
Mission and 1849 at St. Mary's. Bishop Miege moved to Leavenworth 
in 1855 and there built a very modest church. 

No white people could own land in Kansas before 1854. After that 
date, therefore, we must look for the first white settlement (Kickapoo?) 
and then for the first Catholic settlement or body of people capable of 
building a church and forming a community or parish. Bull Creek dis- 
trict (now Edgerton), embracing a part of Miami and Johnson counties, 
had a regular church, dedicated to God under the patronage of St. Colum- 
kil, where divine services were held from 1858 onwards. During the next 
few years, a flourishing community sprang up around the little church, 
which was only 14x16 feet in dimensions. It was located near the east 
side of the present cemetery, on land donated by Mr. Murtha Noland. 
Father McGee came to dedicate the church and to celebrate Mass 
in it for the first time. This took place in April, 1858, says ven- 
erable Florence McCarthy. Nothing could have been more primitive, 
more simple, than this first public Catholic function in these parts, 
yet, back of it all, was a flood of human sentiment, of sad recollections, 
and fond memories that nothing but the sky above and the vast plains 
beneath could encompass. The little church was only a figure, a symbol 
of the grand old Church of their Native land, and they besought the 
Patriarch, St. Columkil, to preside over it, as he did over Ancient lona. 



EDGERTON 201 

The little chapel grew dear to the people as the years went by, for it 
became the center of their social as well as their spiritual life. To this 
humble chapel came the famous Father Ivo Schacht on his way to Paola 
and other points south, in 3859; he continued his visitations up to 1862. 
Father Schacht was a noted preacher and some of his finest sermons were 
delivered in the church at Bull Creek, for there was no other church, 
then, anywhere in the vicinity. 

Father Bruner George came on foot from Lawrence in 1860, or there- 
about. Father Sebastion Favre came, also, from Lawrence, on horse- 
back, during the Civil War period; he was followed by Father Francis 
J. Wattron, who came from Paola in 1866. In his time the Stone Church 
was built. It is supposed that he continued to visit this settlement un- 
til 1874. In 1870 the town of Edgerton was laid out and the railroad built. 
Henceforth the settlement was known as "Edgerton, Johnson County," 
but the parish boundary extends far into Miami County on the south 
side, and that fact is the cause of its inclusion in this volume. It would 
take a separate work to do justice to this— one of the oldest Catholic 
Settlements in Kansas. It will be a misfortune if the memory of those 
heroic men and women should pass into oblivion; they deserve better of 
posterity. The more we know of the pioneers of Kansas the more are 
we moved with admiration for their many virtues. 

The old stone church was built in the cemetery, about 75 feet south 
of where the Log Church once stood. 

"It was commenced in 1866 and dedicated in 1867." — Florence McCarthy. 

Rev. Father Noonen succeeded Father Wattron in 1874. He remained 
eighteen months and resided in Edgerton. Rev. Father M. J. Casey at- 
tended Edgerton from Olathe for several years and was succeeded by 
Rev. M. J. Gleason of Paola in 1885. Rev. Father Pujos became a resident 
pastor in 1889. Reverend Joseph A. Pompeney, D.D., came from Leaven- 
worth as resident pastor in 1890. In speaking of this period Doctor Pom- 
peney remarks: "I succeeded Father Pujos as resident pastor in March, 
1890. Father Pujos must have been the first resident pastor. He pur- 
chased a two-story frame building two blocks south of the location where 
the new church was erected and used it as the first pastoral residence. 
I occupied that house between March, 1890, and October, 1893, when I 
was appointed to Pittsburg. Rev. B. Hudson succeeded me (as a non- 
resident pastor). He lived at Olathe. He sold the pastoral residence at 
Edgerton to Martin Kelley. The old stone church was still standing 
when I left Edgerton in 1893. The new church was built in the town 
of Edgerton as an accommodation to the priest and to a considerable 
number of parishioners who lived north and west, and who had to drive 
through town and a mile and three-fourths beyond the town eastward to 
the old church." The cost of this new building was about $3,000 



THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 




After Father Hvidson, came 
(between 1893 and 1910) Rev- 
erend Fathers Lee, Kennedy, 
Freisberg:, Mclnerney, Galvin, 
and Herron, all of Olathe. 
Edgerton was once more a mis- 
sion station. Reverend Dennis 
J. Fitzpatrick became resi- 
dence pastor in January, 1910. 
He built the present pastoral 
residence at a cost of $2,646.00. 
This zealous young priest did 
much for the financial and spiritual welfare of the parish. He lived 
in the sacristy of the church until the new residence was finished in 
May, 1910. By the end of the year he was recalled home by his own 
Bishop in Ireland to the great regret of the people of Edgerton. He 
was succeeded by Reverend B. F. McGeary as resident pastor. 

After Father McGeary, came Reverend Lawrence Kramer in 1913, 
as resident pastor; he was followed in turn by Reverend David C. Hall, 
the present worthy pastor who was appointed in April, 1916. 

During all the years, many good 
priests came at stated times to minis- 
ter to the people, while, at other times, 
priests who were not interested in the 
place acted as pastors for a time and 
passed on. The spirit of faith and 
piety grew cold, some remained away 
from Mass, while others became pe- 
nurious and failed to contribute, ac- 
cording to their means, to the support 
of religion. Discord and disunion 
threatened the very life of the parish. 
This, however, was more apparent than 
real, for the people were still Roman 
Catholic to the heart's core and took 
small account of such bickerings. Fam- 
ily prayer and the observance of fast 
and abstinence was strictly maintain- 
ed, and few, if any, ever missed their 




REV. DAVID C. HALL. 



Easter duty. 

In writing of the early days, Mr. J. AV. McCarthy says: "In the 
log cabin of Mr. and Mrs. John McCarthy was celebrated the first Mass, 
which was attended by four or five families only, namely: Mr. and Mrs. 
Patrick O'Connell and family, Mr. and Mrs. Daniel Gallivan and family. 
rSanta Fe) John Dwyer and family, (Black) Dennis Dwyer, Mr. and 



EDGERTON 



203 



Mrs. John MoCartliy and family, Mr. Mnrtha Noland and family. This 
was in 1857. 

"In this log cabin of Mr. McCarthy were administered all the sacra- 
ments of the Church except Holy Orders. It was the home of all the 
priests and Bishops up until 1880. Strange to say, that there were no 
deaths in the community except one, a sudden death in a saw mill, up 
until the year of 1870 that were not attended by a priest, for there was 
never a night too dark or cold for certain young men in the congrega- 




CHURCH OF THE ASSUMPTION 

tion to go for the priest or doctor. They would ride one horse and lead 
another for the priest or doctor to ride on. The round trip would take 
two days and two nights. They would always have to return with the 
priest. Those young men were Michael Keating, John Reding, Maurice 
Buttinore, J. W. and Florence McCarthy, Junior (brothers). 

"The land donated for the cemetery was: First, one acre by Mr. 
Murtha Noland, the Northeast one; the next was given by Mr. Michael 
McCarthy, the Southeast one ; the Northwest one was donated by Mr. 
Michael Kenneally, and the Southwest one by Mr. Patrick Brickley. 
The present cemetery now, 

"The first to enter Religion was Hannah McCarthy, daughter of 



204 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

Mr. and Mrs. John McCarthy, now Sister Felicitas of the Order of St. 
Vincent De Paul of Leavenworth. Next, Mary Sullivan, a step-daughter 
of (Black) Dennis Dwyer, Sister Zita. She died shortly after her pro- 
fession in the Order of St. Vincent De Paul. May Knipscher, daughter 
of Mr. and Mrs. Theodore Knipscher, Sister Mary Bernard, Order of St. 
Vincent De Paul. Father John Knipscher, S.J., a brother of Sister Mary 
Bernard. The next is Mr. J. Leo McCarthy, S.J., a scholastic, teacher of 
St. Mary's College; he is a son of Mr. and Mrs. J. W. McCarthy, nephew 
of Sister Felicitas. Margaret Kauffman is now a Novice, if I under- 
stand right, of the St. Joseph Order of St. Louis, a daughter of Mr. and 
Mrs. Joseph Kauffman, now of Edgerton, but formerly of Louisburg. 
Do not know her Sister name. Agnes McCarthy is a Postulant of St. 
Vincent De Paul of Leavenworth. 

"The Edgerton people did not only build three churches at Edger- 
ton but were assessed to help build a residence and to furnish it at 
Baldwin. They helped to build the second church and residence at 
Olathe, and to furnish them. The stone church at Edgerton was built 
in or about the year of 1866-7." 

Some of the old family names have disappeared from the district 
and many new ones have been added to the parish roster. There are 
now about forty-five families in the parish. 

The main altar in the present church as well as many other splendid 
gifts came from the venerable pioneers, Mr. and Mrs. Florence Mc- 
Carthy. 

The young people have scattered far and wide, filling places of 
honor in all walks of life — while still retaining much of the old Catholic 
spirit of their ancestors. The future of the parish is now assured. It is 
financially and spiritually prosperous. 

A parochial school will, some day, crown the work and an increased 
Catholic population will be attracted to Edgerton district on account of 
its religious and educational advantages as well as its rich soil and 
healthful climate. 



EDGERTON 
IN MEMORIAM. 



205 



Thomas Coughlin died at his farm in Richland township, Miami county, 
Kansas, Saturday, January 10, 1920, at the age of 93 years, five months and fif- 
teen days. He was a great character, a natural leader of men, who was above the 
petty dissensions of life, fair minded and just. He was a true Christian and 
practiced it every day of his life. He was wonderfully devoted to his family, 
and to him his boys were always his children, and his happiest moments were 
when he had them all about him. He looked forward each Sunday to the visit 
of his two sons in Paola, Edward and Robert, and was always solicitous for the 
welfare of his family, even as the shadows were closing about him. His mental 

vigor was remarkable, enabling him to di- 
rect the management of his large business 
interests as unerringly and successfully as 
in the earlier years of his life. His death 
brings sorrow to all the community where 
he lived and wherever he was known. The 
heritage of a great life is the most valu- 
able possession that he could have be- 
queathed to his family. 

Mr. Coughlin was born July 26, 1826, his 
life reaching far into two centuries. His 
birthplace was the town of Moate, county of 
West Meath, Ireland. His father lived on 
seven acres of rented land, which he farm- 
ed by the use of a spade. Thomas came to 
America in 1849, requiring seven weeks 
and three days to make the voyage. He 
was sick three months and in quarantine 
in the city of New York after his arrival. 
As soon as he was able, he hired to a farm- 
er in New Jersey and worked for $6.00 a 
month during the winter and for $15 a 
month during harvest. In 1852 he went to 
Crawfordsville, Indiana. The same year he 
sent for his father and brother to come to 
to this country and sent them $40 to pay 
for their voyage. He came to Kansas, 
March 10, 1858. He was told at St. Louis that he would not be able to make the 
trip, because of the border troubles, but said that he was never treated with 
more courtesy than on this trip, which he made overland, riding a horse. The 
people where he stopped would not let him even saddle his own horse or pay 
for his keep. He put in a little ten acre crop of corn, and in June of that year, 
in company with Peter McCormick and Michael Coughlin, walked to Leaven- 
worth, making the trip in one day over Indian paths, and worked the remainder 
of that year and the next on the government farm at Leavenworth. In October, 
1859, he returned to Crawfordsville and worked for a Mr. Blair as a packer and 
butcher until 1865. when he again came to Kansas. His father came to this State 
in 1865. 

Mr. Coughlin was married in Kansas City in 1868, by Rev. Father Donnelly, 
to Miss Bridget McLaughlin, his Crawfordsville, Indiana, sweetheart, who faced 
the hardships of the early days with her husband, uncomplainingly, and who was 
her husband's best inspiration. 

Privations then were many and comforts and necessities few, but there would 
have been no pioneering, no development of the sturdy pioneer character, if this 
had not been true. He brought practically nothing with him to Kansas except 
his determined purpose, his sturdy character and the integrity that illuminated 
his whole life and which are characteristic of his family. The prairie cabins 
were few and widely scattered, and when he went away from home at night he 
hung a lantern at his cabin door to guide his return. He walked to Leavenworth 
for his provisions and carried them home on his back. Finally he became th^ 




THOMAS COUGHLIN. 



206 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

proud possessor of a pony, and by working an occasional day for the neighbor 
pioneers, he secured the use of another pony with which to break up his prairie 
farm and get part of it planted. From this humble beginning, by slow degrees, 
with what we now regard as the hardships of pioneer life, but which were then 
considered merely the incidents necessary in the country's development, came 
the splendid estate of 1,100 acres of the finest land in Kansas, well improved and 
well stocked, which he leaves to his family. With its accumulation came the 
development of the splendid citizenship for which Thomas Coughlin stood. His 
life was in the open, physically and mentally, and because of his well ordered 
life and regular habits, he was as sturdy as the oak that withstood the storms of 
ages, and lived far beyond the allotted span. He leaves his widow, one daughter 
and five sons, his children being among the most useful and respected citizens 
of Miami county. The daughter is the wife of W. L. Rigney of Paola. Three of 
the sons assisted their father in the management of his farms, Thomas J., John 
and Charles F. Coughlin, and two of the sons live in Paola, Edward H. and Rob- 
ert E. Coughlin, who are leading members of the Miami county bar. 

The funeral was held Monday, January 12, at 10:30 o'clock a. m., from As- 
sumption church at Edgerton. His pallbearers were his five sons and his son- 
in-law, W. L. Rigney. Solemn High Mass was said by Father D. C. Hall of Ed- 
gerton, assisted by Father A. J. Domann and Father T. H. Kinsella of Paola. 
Burial was in the Catholic cemetery at Edgerton. 

Thomas Coughlin climbed the rugged pathway of life, conquering and sur- 
mounting obstacles that seemed almost impassable, and in the fulness of years 
gazed calmly down from the heights, with the consciousness that he had fulfilled 
life's best mission and left no duty undone. 



PART X 

THE URSULINE ACADEMY, PAOLA 



209 



THE URSULINE ACADEMY, PAOLA. 



From Brescia to Milan, from Milan to Aix, from Aix to Paris, from 
Paris, indirectly, to Strasburg, from Strasburg across the ocean to 
Louisville, Kentucky, and from Louisville to Paola, Kansas, Ursuline 
Academy traces her long line of princely ancestry. This illustrious 
descent, centuries old, is the precious heritage upon which the fruitful 
work of the Ursulines in behalf of Christian education for nearly a 
quarter of a century in the Diocese of Leavenworth has been founded. 

On the feast of the Immaculate Conception, December 8, 1894, two 
Sisters left the train at Paola, Kansas, and made their way toward the 
Rev. Father Dornseifer's residence. No, they were not charity Sisters 
begging a pittance for Christ's poor, almost the only Sisters Paola had 
ever known. On another mission had these Sisters come , a mission that 
was to fructify a hundred fold beyond the most roseate visions of any 
citizen of our little village on that December day of '94. Ursulines from 
Louisville, Kentucky, they were, strangers on the strange soil of Kan- 
sas. Simply and briefly they told the purpose of their coming to the 
Reverend Pastor. They had been sent by Bishop Fink to investigate 
the possibilities of establishing a convent and academy at Paola. 

Like a bomb from a clear sky 
came this message, but the people of 
Paola rose to the occasion. Father 
Doniseifer called in some of the 
prominent parishioners and the mat- 
ter was discussed with the Sisters. 
Greatly encouraged by the kindly 
attitude of the townspeople, Mother 
Jerome, for it was no other, who 
had come to lead her little band of 
Ursulines to Paola, returned to the 
Bishop with, however, no definite 
plans made. In the meantime liberal 
offers were made by other towns 
to the Sisters for the location of 
their school. When it was seen in 
Paola that these openings Avere be- 
ing seriously considered. Mr. Jacob 
Koehler and Mr. Joseph E. Max- 
well, a Catholic and a non-Catholic, 
went to the Bishop and promised in 
the name of the townspeople of 
Paola, the plot of ground for the projected building if the Sisters would 
come to Paola. Bishop Fink favored the Paola offer and finally in May, 
1895, the deal was made whereby five acres of the present Academy 
grounds on East Wea Street were purchased and presented to the Ursu- 
lines. The first great step was taken with the acceptance of the ground : 




SISTER ANGELA MEYER 
FIRST NOVICE 




MOTHER JEROME 



URSULINE ACADEMY 



211 



and great was the gratitude of the recipients towards the kind donors. 
But — the Sisters were penniless; moreover, they were strangers, with 
none to whom they might turn for help. At this critical time there ap- 
peared the friend, without whose help the present magnificent buildings 
and extensive grounds of Ursuline Academy could never have been real- 
ized. Mother Jerome's father, Mr. Andrew Schaub, of Pittsburgh, Pa., 
came forward and promised financial security to the Sisters. Then, 
and then only, did the Bishop give his consent for the Ursuline 's per- 
manent establishment in Paola. Through the efforts of Mr. Schaub a 
loan was secured in the East and plans were begun in earnest for 
Paola 's future convent and academy. 

Mr. J. N. D. Clark of Kansas City, Kansas, was secured as architect, 
and upon the shoulders of our respected parishioner, Mr. Jacob Koehler, 



MER^ 




E *«^ ' 




tfl 


i»"^JS« 














iikxi^i^ 


V 


' M^^i 






p^fli 






iffpl^ 




* "SB^f^ 




3hr 




^?*«uH 




^^.AjIi 


ff^^- iiig 




r^!§ ^ 


^m 


^RSiT 






9hm 


m 




K '^ 


■5^ v" 






fc^>^3 


1 


ii 






1 






Kry|^ 


IfBy^^'in" 


M> 


Mfcr"^'^^^ 





THE ORIGINAL URSULINE ACADEMY, PAOLA, KANSAS. 

devolved the self-assumed burden of the superintendency of the building. 
The contract for the building was let to Mr. John Fordyce of Paola, 
with sub-contracts for lighting, heating, etc. 

In July, Reverend Father Dornseifer Avas removed from the pas- 
torate of Paola, and under his successor. Rev. Father Taton, the work 
for the Academy was continued. All plans were now rapidly perfected 
and on July 25, 1895, Mr. Koehler turned the first spade of earth that 
began the excavation for the new building. 

Paola was but a village then and East Wea Street was a corn-field. 
It was a dreary looking spot indeed to Mother Jerome and her Sisters 
from the East, and only that firm faith in the Divine Providence that 
was directing them could have sustained them and made them look 



212 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

over the stubbles of that corn-field and see the abundant harvest that 
the future years were to bring. 

On September first the corner stone of the new Academy was laid 
in the presence of two thousand people. Very Rev. John F. Cunning- 
ham of Leavenworth, Vicar General of the Diocese, laid the stone and 
Rev. Father Michael, C.P., of the Monastery of Normany, St. Louis, Mo., 
delivered the sermon. These two eminent clergymen were assisted by 
Rev. Fathers Redeker of Westphalia, Curren of Emerald, Elias of Scipio, 
Podgersek of Greeley, Cusson of Nebraska City, Dornseifer of Ottawa 
and Taton of Paola. 

Work on the building progressed rapidly during the fall and winter 



■*"'*^h.- 




^^^M^bE 


P^^^^^ 


HJH 


HB 



with a few delays caused by the cold weather. By March 1, 1896, the 
Academy was ready for occupancy, having been completed at a total 
cost of $12,000. 

Then the little Ursuline community came to its new home in Paola. 
That building is only the minor part of the house as it stands today, 
but to them, then, it was a palace, with the best heating, lighting and 
water facilities that Paola could afford. The school was opened at 
once as a parochial and boarding school. 

On June 20th the new building was dedicated by Rt. Rev. Bishop 
Fink. Rev. Father T. H. Kinsella delivered the dedicatory sermon and 
the doors of the Academy were thrown open to the people of Paola, who 
vied with each other in welcoming the new comers into their midst. 

School was reopened in September with four boarders and about 
forty day scholars. One school year succeeded the other in rapid suc- 
cession now, for in all pioneer work, the years, though hard and fraught 



URSULINE ACADEMY 213 

with trials, pass quickly under the banner of hope that always spurs 
the pioneer builder on to still greater things. 

The closing days of the Nineteenth Century saw the Louisville Ursu- 
lines firmly established in their new home. The first perilous years of 
founding their school, of breaking through the reserve of a strange peo- 
ple and making friends where at first there were none, were safely pass- 
ed and the new century ushered in an era of firm faith in the possibilities 
of the years that lay before them. Although still laboring under diffi- 
culties the school was growing. The first class was graduated from the 
four years Academic course in 1901. These first graduates were : Miss 
Ethel Boisvert of Osawatomie ; Miss Nellie McCarthy, Osawatomie ; and 
Miss Clara Calhoun, Nevada, Missouri. 

In 1902 the St. Patrick parochial school was built and the Academy 
became exclusively a boarding school with day school accommodations 
for the Academic grades. The first building was fast becoming too small 
to accommodate the increasing number of pupils. Three and one-half 
acres were added to the original five acres and in the summer of 1904 
a second building was begun. This building was erected at the cost of 
$22,000 and consisted of the present chapel, dormitories, dining and rec- 
reation halls. 

But during all these years there was one great hindrance : the 
Sisters had no chaplain. There was no Holy Sacrifice of the Mass 
on Sundays. It was a Catholic boarding school with only the 
Parish church to administer to the spiritual wants of its pupils, daugh- 
ters of good Catholic parents who placed religious training first in the 
education of their children. Through mud and rain, in the heat of sum- 
mer and the inclemency of Kansas winters the Sisters with their little 
flock of pupils made their way to Holy Trinity church and there in an 
already overcrowded auditorium, assisted at the Holy Sacrifice wher- 
ever kneeling room could be found. Needless to say all of this was a 
serious obstacle in the way of growth and progress for the school. 

Finally in 1902 a chaplain was promised the Sisters. A small chap- 
lain's residence was erected and the Rev. Father Hippalite Topet, O.S.B., 
of Sacred Heart at Shawnee, Oklahoma, became the first spiritual direc- 
tor for the Ursuline Academy. He was succeeded in a few months by 
Rev. Father Gracian Ardens. To Father Gracian is due much credit for 
his indefatigable labors for the school in its struggling days not only in 
a spiritual but also in a temporal way. Father Gracian was succeeded 
by Rev. Father Vincent Montalibet, 0. S. B., and Father Eloi Juston, 
O.S.B., who was chaplain until 1908. Since then the chaplains up to 
the present time have been : Rev. D. Fitzpatrick, Rev. John Ryan, Rev. 
A. J. Smits, 0. C. C; Rev. Ignatius McDonald, 0. C. C. ; Rev. F. Alban, 0. 
S.B.; Rev. J. Bollweg and Rev. T. H. Kinsella. 

The next decade of years marks a period of steady growth for Ursu- 
line. She steadily climbs upward to her place as one of the leading edu- 
cational institutions of Eastern Kansas. Both buildings are outgrown, 



URSULINE ACADEMY 



215 



the grounds have been extended to include thirty acres to the south and 
west of the original site, and funds are at hand to erect a $100,000 Audi- 
torium and Music Conservatory. But one obstacle hindered the develop- 
ment of the plans. A public road divided the Academy Grounds. At 
last in 1913 under the mayoralty of Mr. L. B. Smith, the Paola City Coun- 
cil magnanimously granted the concession asked by the Academy and 
the street was vacated. Now that the school's holdings were no longer 
divided the way was clear for the enlarging of the institution. Wilder 



,^ 


1^ 


1 




M 


w^'i 


K^a^MP ** 


*l 


yf 


1 


^ 



REBECCA AT THE WELL. From the Art Room. Painted by Sister Cecilia. 

and Wight of Kansas City drew up the plans and F. M. Spencer & Son 
of Topeka secured the contract for the third building. By November, 
1916, all work was completed and where once there was only a cornfield. 
St. Ursula's Auditorium now stands, the pride not only of those who 
had toiled to make it possible, and the master builder who bad erected 
it, but even of the townspeople of Paola. The building is absolutely fire 
proof and modern in every way. The Auditorium which occupies the 
first and second floors is one of the finest west of the Mississippi River 



216 



THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 



and is uiieqiialed for the beauty and detail of its workmanship. Sur- 
rounding the Auditorium are the music rooms and on the third floor 
are dormitories and private rooms. With the erection of this last build- 
ing the grounds of the new and enlarged campus were laid out under 
the direction of Mr. Edward F. Koenig of Chicago. The central feature 
of the campus is the Grotto of Lourdes, an exact reproduction of the 
original in Lourdes, France, and erected in memory of Andrew and Mag- 
dalene Schaub, to whose untiring efforts much of the success of the 
school in its early days is due. On the East campus is a shrine of the 
Sacred Heart, a miniature reproduction of Castle Rheinstein on the Rhein 
and erected by private donations. 

Mt. Calvary Cemetery which joins the campus on the south attracts 
the admiration of all visitors at the Academy. In the center is the Cal- 
vary group, a work of unquestionable art, which was erected in memory 
of Carl and Barbara Heinzman. Surrounding the cemetery is designed 
a wall of petrified rock and the fourteen stations, making even more 
sacred the holy ground where Christ's faithful sleep their last sleep be- 
neath the pines and flowers that loving hands have helped to plant. 

The fine residence now used as a home for the Chaplain was pur- 
chased in 1919. 

Thus in less than a quarter of a century the almost impossible has 
been accomplished. The number of pupils has passed the hundred mark, 
and each year from Ursuline classrooms, a hundred young harvesters of 
knowledge (where once there were only four), go out to the North, 
South, East and West. The school was chartered January 3, 1898, by 
the State Legislature of Kansas as the Ursuline Academy of Our Lady of 
Lourdes. 

It is empowered to confer 
Academic honors, has a two 
years College course, is affiliat- 
ed with the L'niversity of Kan- 
sas ; College of New Rochelle, 
New Rochelle, New York; Lo- 
retto College, St. Louis, Mo.; 
Notre Dame College, Notre 
Dame, Indiana ; College of St. 
Mary's of the Woods, Indiana, 
and approved for teacher's 
credits and State Normal cer- 
tificates. The Community from 
the handful of followers who 
came with Mother Jerome to 
Kansas has grown with the 
school and now numbers over 
fifty members with missions at 
CHAPLAIN'S RESIDENCE. Tulsa and Bartlesville, Okla- 




URSULINE ACADEMY 217 

homa; Rosedale, Wea and Greeley, Kansas. The seven pioneer Sisters 
who first came to Paola, to plant the seed from which has sprung a great 
institution and are still laboring with unwavering faith for the accom- 
plishment of their great end are: Mother Jerome, Mother Thomas, Sis- 
ter Lawrence, Sister Genevieve, Sister Benedict, Sister Matthias and Sis- 
ter Lucille. But none of these things could have been accomplished with- 
out the good will and the earnest cooperation that have been shown at 
all times by the citizens of Paola. There have been many difficulties but 
all have been surmounted by the united efforts of all toward the noble 
goal of education — education tingling Avith all the modern innovations of 
a highly cultured and progressive country ; but shielded and strengthen- 
ed by the firm armor of religion, and the experience of the Ages. The 
present generation has seen a gigantic work begun. In God's hand lies 
the power that is to push onward this embryo task for generations yet 
to come. The future beckons. Ursuline Academy has taken but the first 
step in the fulfillment of her ambitions, her ideals, and her sacred trust. 

SILVER JUBILEE OF SISTER MARY ANGELA 

Of the Ursuline Convent, Paola, Kansas, 
September 30, 1920 



At an early Mass on the morning of the Jubilee, the Sisters and pupils of- 
fered up their prayers and Holy Communions for the Jubilarian; and at nine 
o'clock a Solemn High Mass was celebrated by Rev. E. Scherer of Greeley, Kan- 
sas, assisted by Rev. James A. Ording of Olathe as deacon, and Rev. Father 
Koch of Edgerton, Kas., as subdeacon; Very Rev. A. Domann being master of 
ceremonies. 

The music under the direction of Sister Cecelia was in keeping with the 
occasion. 

The address by Rev. T. H. Kinsella. LL.D., was as follows: 

Reverend Mother, Respected Sisters, and dear young ladies: — We are cele- 
brating today the Silver Jubilee of Sister Angela. Jubilees always suggest age 
and therefore I am tempted to call her dear old Sister Angela, forgetting that 
she is not old in years but rather old in virtue and heavenly merit. We con- 
gratulate her today in a light vein of youthful merriment because it is only a 
step in the fleeting years that lead to her golden crown. 

Silver is beautiful but gold alone is the standard. To you, then, young 
ladies is given the privilege of celebrating Sister Angela's Jubilee all by your- 
selves; we but look on, your teachers sit back in admiration of your exuberant joy 
as displayed in the last evening's musical and literary program, and in this 
morning's spiritual bouquet, followed by this solemn service of thanksgiving into 
which I now insert my humble discourse in tribute to the Jubilarian and in 
praise of her labors as a nun in the Order of Saint Ursula. My discourse today 
will be but the first chapter in the story of a life that will continue on, I feel 
certain, to the golden years of achievement wherein Sister Angela, like the great 
foundress of the Order, St. Angela of Brescia, will accomplish the will of God 
without stopping to consider the glorious results that are sure to follow. 

Great women have adorned the pages of history in the old world as well as 
in the new; Rebecca, Esther, Judith, and many others down to her before whom 
the Angel bowed in reverence as the Queen of Heaven and the mother of the 



218 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

redeemed. Then, too, the martyr's palm, the virgin's spotless robes and the 
confessor's chains were shared by many noble women during the first ages 
of our era. 

We have had a Helena, a Scholastica, a Clara, and we have had a Teresa 
whose great learning and spirituality placed her apart and gave her the right 
to be regarded as a Doctor of the Church. When she began her great reform, 
her worldly means consisted of three pennies — three sous. Her friends remon- 
strated, saying: "Teresa, what can you do with three pennies?" She replied, "I 
know that Teresa and three sous cannot do anything, but Teresa, three sous and 
God can do all things," and subsequent events proved the truths of her words. 

Then came the great women of modern times — Jane Frances De Chantel, 
Madame LeGras and a host of others in France. England and Ireland produced 
an army of valiant women from the earliest times down to the present century, 
and, finally, America developed a type of womanhood that has been an honor 
to the race. For my purpose today I shall mention only two or three. Mother 
Elizabeth Seton, who founded the Sisters of Charity at Emmitsburg in 1810, and 
Mother Catherine Spalding, the foundress of the Sisters of Charity of Nazareth, 
Kentucky, in 1812. Then came the Sisters of Loretto near Fairfield, Kentucky, 
under the saintly Father Nerinx. All three Orders were American in origin 
and grew to maturity under the stress of poverty and adverse conditions. 

Not in any age did women rise to a higher plain of heroism nor attain a 
greater degree of spiritual perfection than those native American women living 
and laboring in the log cabins of the New World. Their followers are now num- 
bered by the thousands and their institutions of learning and beneficence dot the 
continent from Boston to New Orleans and from the Atlantic to the Pacific 
Ocean. It was my good fortune to have passed my college days in the im- 
mediate vicinity of those early foundations and to have been influenced by the 
primitive simplicity that still lingered there. My sister dwelt in the Order of 
Nazareth for thirty-three years and her remains now rest in one of the most 
hallowed spots in all America — the little cemetery of Nazareth. 

There were others, of course, mothers, wives, and daughters of the common 
people who were truly great, but whose deeds are not recorded on earth but 
rather in heaven. Who has not heard of Margaret of New Orleans? She is 
one of many. It took the soul of the South and the heart of the French people 
to place that unlettered woman on the pinnacle of fame. Margaret Haughery 
was the orphan child of parents who had fled from fever and famine in Ireland. 
The girl was taken as a servant from Baltimore to New Orleans, where she had 
learned one thing well, namely, how to make good coffee, and to this she 
added another accomplishment, that of making good bread. Margaret noticed 
one day how the poor sailors after long voyages rushed from their ships to the 
drinking places along the river front. She then bethought herself that if 
she would make some buns and warm coffee they would prefer that to the 
"drink." Following her inspiration she established her little stand near the 
water's edge. Gradually, as bees find the flowers, the sailors found Margaret's 
buns and coffee and found them as sweet as "mother used to make." The fame 
of these buns spread and all New Orleans wanted them. She enlarged her 
business, then built an extensive bakery, hired an army of helpers and conducted 
a very successful business. Then she began to think of the orphans — "Maybe 
they, too, would like my buns," she said, and she baked a few extra batches and 
sent them over to the Catholic Orphan Asylum; the next day the Protestant Or- 
nhan Asylum received its share and, then, the Jewish Asylum came next. The 
more Margaret gave away the more her income increased. Daily her bread vans 
called at the orphanages but no bills were ever presented. People began to take 
notice; Margaret had become a power in the commercial life of New Orleans. 
Men of business came to consult her, her counsels were found to be safe and 
her business foresight unerring. The woman who never wore anything but calico 



URSULINE ACADEMY 219 

and a sun bonnet is now regarded with respect by the whole city. 

As her last days approached she willed all her wealth to the three orphan 
asylums and at last she gave up her noble spirit to the Hand that gave it. She 
finished her course in all the simplicity of faith and trust in her Divine Savior. 
A great silence fell on the City of New Orleans when Margaret Haughery died; 
her funeral was not like any other ever seen in that city. The mayor and 
council attended and all denominations poured out en masse. All the orphans 
of the city made a wonderful sight to behold and the Cathedral and all the 
adjoining streets were filled with mourners. The Archbishop blessed the remains 
and, then, an almost endless file of people followed the body of that humble 
woman to her grave. The people of New Orleans would not, could not forget. 
They erected a magnificent monument to her on the principal plaza of the 
city — the first ever raised to a woman in America, it is said — and at its un- 
veiling were all the municipal officers, the governor of the state of Louisiana, 
three ex-governors, the clergy of all denominations, and the archbishop of New 
Orleans surrounded by a concourse of people, including the orphans, that was 
beyond the power of man to number. Such is the story of an humble American 
woman. 

My dear young ladies, I will now read to you a letter written by Mother 
Catherine Spalding some sixty-five years ago. It will doubtless remind the older 
Sisters present of letters written by Mother Jerome during the formative period 
of this institution. It was written when I was but one year old. It will form the 
first fine thread that weaves our own destiny into one great pattern of wonderful 
lace, wrought by the invisible fingers of a Divine Hand. 

"Jan. 9, 1855. 

"My heart yearns for you all with maternal interest. Oh, if you all have 
hearts as devoted to all the interests of the community as mine is, there would 
truly be but one common interest and self would be laid aside. * * *_ Our 
community must be the center from which all our good works emanate, and in 
the name of the Community all must be done. Then let none of us be ambitious 
as to who does more or who does less. God will judge it all hereafter. Let us 
therefore strive hard daily to secure our eternal union in the bosom of our 
Blessed Lord in Heaven. Our Church is finished; we are just preparing to put 
the seats in it. Then there will be an edifice to the honor of God, not indeed 
as fine and rich as the one built by Solomon; but as fine as His poor daughters 
of Nazareth could build for His honor for future generations. We hope to use 
the new academy next summer; then we are ready to begin to arrange thi& 
house for the Community, where the Sisters may live as a regular community 
should live. As it is, we are all scattered a,nd sleeping about where we may find 
most convenient. Oh, how I long to see all fixed as a Community should be, and 
then I may lay me down in peace! Pray for me, my dear child, that God in His 
own good mercy may give rest to my poor soul in a better world; for in this 
life there has been little rest for me — and indeed we should not seek rest 
here, for here is the time for labor and sorrow. Now, my good Sister, do not 
be too particular with your poor Mother. You know how hard it is for me to 
write since I have suffered so much severe pain; I never expect to be entirely 
well again * * ♦ write to me whenever you can. I am always 

"Your sincere friend and Mother, 

"Catherine." 

On January 9, 1855 — the date of this letter — the Territory of Kansas had 
just begun to exist. There was no church then in the little nameless place which 
we now call Leavenworth. Atchison, Topeka, and many other important towns 
and cities did not then exist, yet the threads in the beautiful pattern are moving 
swiftly and little by little we begin to notice a design. Oh, how wonderfully 
beautiful is that piece of lace, all wrought out by the hand of God! Never 



220 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

have th-e eyes of my mind beheld anything like it. The stitches that form the 
loops and links are being formed right here in this chapel and there is a 
place in the piece for each one of us if we be in harmony with God's Holy 
Will. In imagination we can picture to ourselves two spools of thread, one of 
silver and one of gold. The spool of gold unwinds at Nazareth, Kentucky and 
the spool of silver at New Castle, Indiana. These threads like spiders' webs 
are carried far afield and meet on the banks of the Marais Des Cygnes River 
in far off Kansas. 

Then came other threads from the Rhineland, France and Italy. Watch 
the threads moving! Mother Catherine was now dying at Louisville on the 20th 
of March, 1858, and on that same day a band of pilgrims was passing down 
the Ohio River from New Castle, Indiana, by way of Cincinnati, and had landed 
at Louisville preparatory to taking another boat that would boar them around 
Cario and up the Mississippi to St. Louis, thence by way of the Missouri 
Rtver to Westport Landing; this was on the 26th of March and on the 28th 
they arrived by wagon at this point — forty miles inland, and on the 29th they 
finished their twelve days' journey at Osawatomie. 

A little band of Sisters of Charity of Nazareth arrived in Leavenworth from 
Nashville, Tennessee, that same year and their chaplain, Father Ivo Schacht, 
came out on horseback to minister to the scattered people of Johnson and 
Miami counties. He it was who built the first church at Paola, assisted by a 
donation of land and money from the Chief of the Peoria tribe of Indians. 
His parishioners were the same families that had lately arrived from Indiana. 
They were the Aliens, the Cunninghams, the Collins, the Sheehans, and the 
Morans with their wives and children. Then followed the great drought of 
1860, the failure of crops and finally, the Civil War. The Mission languished 
but was never abandoned. A long line of successors followed Father Schacht and 
many eminent priests labored here to complete his work. A generation passed 
and Paola grew in numbers, wealth, and beauty. Finally the Ursulines came 
and established this academy in 1896, chiefly because there was a Catholic 
church in the town. Therefore, it can be said that this great Order' of teachers 
would not be here today if Father Schacht had not founded the church at 
this point. Father Schacht never would have arrived here if the Sisters of 
Charity had not come to Leavenworth in 18!i8 and those Sisters sprang from the 
foundation laid by Mother Catherine Spalding at St. Thomas' seminary near 
Bardstown, Kentucky, Bishop Flaget and Father David being, of course, the 
real founders. These saintly men go back to the days of the French Revolution. 
It thus can be seen that the threads are running true to form; the silver 
and the gold commingling. The emigrants from Indiana or rather from Ireland 
are now about to play their part. It was for them and through them that 
Holy Trinity church was built and rebuilt and restored again from its ashes 
a third time. These first Catholic settlers of 1858 were the prime cause of 
all that is ours in Paola today. 

The Ursulines' history runs back through the ages; the thread of their 
destiny is of purest gold and is now being woven into the selvage of the pattern 
by the Divine Hand. Coming out of Italy through France and Germany they 
arrived in the United States at an early period of our history. This branch 
of the order, however, came from Cologne to Louisville, Kentucky, during the 
last century, at the invitation of Father Leander of the latter city. As a boy I 
knew Father Leander and I visited the original foundation of the Order on 
Shelby Street in Louisville; that was fifty years ago. Good Sister Angela is 
not the only one who is celebrating a Jubilee today. It is my Golden Jubilee 
of the day I knelt in that beautiful convent chapel and asked God to bless me, 
to guide me, and protect me through all the years. I have said that prayer 
many thousand times since and the good God has never failed me. Notice 



URSULINE ACADEMY 221 

once more, dear children, how the threads interlace, commingle, are lost to 
sight only to reappear again. Thus a hundred lives from many nations are all 
combined in working out the pattern. 

Let us take this precious filmy thing and make a frame, a background for 
Sister/ Angela's picture — what more beautiful in all the world? Thus she 
will become a part of the whole design as if the piece were made for this 
occasion and for her alone whereas, in reality, she is but a tiny strand in the 
selvage, so far only twenty-five stitches have been taken and it is impossible, 
as yet, to tell what its final effect will be. Doubtless it is meant to beautify 
and strengthen, to bind the whole into unity and finality "unto the coming of 
the day of Our Lord Jesus Christ." 

Sister Angela Meyer was born in St. Louis and came of a refined and 
devout Catholic family. While yet quite young she came under the influence of 
a holy nun of the Ursuline Order — Sister Innocent, who is still living at Louis- 
ville, having celebrated her Golden Jubilee and is now awaiting her day of 
final victory. Little Angela was only a postulant in Kentucky but coming to 
Kansas with Mother Jerome and her companions she received the white veil 
at Scipio in 1895. She followed the Community to the new foundation at Paola, 
and after two years, in 1897, she made her vows to which she has faithfully 
adhered through peace and joy, through stress and storm adown the silver years 
of her young life. For six years she taught music at the academy and for 
nineteen years her energies have been devoted to popular education in the Paro- 
chial schools. She has the distinguished honor of being the first novice of 
this community, and the first person to receive the holy habit of the Ursuline 
Order in Kansas and the first among the first in every virtue. She has propped 
up the foundations of this house and stood by the mast when its ship of 
destiny seemed to be on the verge of sinking. Endowed with a fine mind and 
a resolute will, she feared nothing, she braved the storm, and re-awakened the 
drooping spirits of all around her. 

Yes, I am right, the tiny golden strand introduced into the selvage of the 
pattern was meant not only to beautify but also to strengthen; to unite, 
console, counsel, and inspire. The day niay come, and it never fails in Kansas 
to come, when stress and storm, cyclone or tornado may sweep across the face 
of things unexpectedly; and then, it will require the courage and the faith 
of Angela, it will require an angel hand to prop again the foundations and 
to guide the barque of destiny into peaceful waters should the occasion ever 
arise. On the other hand, it can be said, that a greater danger lurks in the 
other extreme; perpetual peace and prosperity is more dangerous than adversity 
because of the inherent weakness of human nature. Our Blessed Lord said, 
"when I am lifted up I shall draw all things to Myself," not when I have 
worked miracles or when I have spoken the wisdom of My Father to the sons 
of men but, rather, when I have been lifted upon the cross, "I shall draw all 
things to Myself," and the first fruit of the redemption was the penitent thief 
on the summit of Calvary. From that day to this, all peoples and tribes 
and tongues have been drawn "to Christ and Him Crucified." 

St. Paul said, "I glory in nothing save in the Cross of My Lord Jesus 
Christ," "I preach Christ and Him Crucified," "I die daily that Christ may be 
manifest in me." It can be said, my dear young friends, that no mere human 
being ever drew more souls to Christ than St. Paul, because with Christ he 
was nailed to the cross. 

Our venerable foundress, Mother Jerome, in all her struggles and sorrows 
carried the cross that Mother Catherine Spalding and Mother Elizabeth Seton 
carried. With St. Paul they all could truly say, "With Christ I am nailed to the 
cross," but can others claim that distinction? You have drawn all else to 
yourselves — name and fame and popular esteem. You have won the respect 
of our fellow citizens, the approval and respect of our Rt. Rev. Bishop and, what 



222 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

Is more than all the admiration of your chaplain — no small matter; you attract 
many pupils, and the friendship of many friends; your magnificent buildings 
and beautiful grounds are very attractive indeed. The curriculum is the all 
Important thing because a great school must flourish here and Ursuline Academy 
must stand in the first rank so as to be attractive and worthy of patronage. 
Music, painting, dancing, and domestic science hold an important place in 
the daily grind; nor are religious instructions and chapel services in any 
way restricted — all of which is very beautiful, and all as it should be, but a 
statue of Mary is out in the cemetery kneeling at the foot of the cross and the 
living Martha is busy about many things. The result is expressed in the 
words of St. Peter, "Master, we have labored all night and have taken nothing." 
Wliere are those beautiful young souls that pass from year to year? Where 
are the nuns of the future? Has the Crucified One ceased to draw all hearts 
to Himself? Is the day of doom at hand? Has the Cross become agam a 
stumbling block to the Gentiles? Is Christ rejected once more? No, my 
daughters in Christ, a thousand times no, it is we who have feared to follow 
Christ to the summit of Calvary where alone we can draw all hearts to Hin; — . 
'glorying in nothing save in the cross of their Lord Jesus Christ' — desiring 
nothing but to be brides of the Lamb and singing nothing but that new song 
not given to others to sing — following wheresoever He goeth, even to Calvary 
that they might reign with Him forever in heaven. 

May God help us all, and may the blessing of the Most High descend upon 
us and upon Sister Angela today and grant her many years of life, and may her 
golden days be as fruitful and happy as the silver years that have passed. Up- 
ward, then, and onward, Angela. Ad majorem Dei Gloriam. — Ad multos annos. 



APPENDIX 



225 



APPENDIX. 



FATHER HOECKEN'S DIARY 
Of the Pottawatomie Mission At Sugar Creek. 

(This diary has been in the archives of St. Mary's College 
and it is now printed for the first time. A pretty close translation 
of the original Latin will leave it to speak for itself, with its own 
authority. The narrative is written in the third person, as is usual 
with Jesuit annals ; nevertheless, in two or three verbs the ending 
of the first person slipped inadvertently from the pen, a mark 
which alone would reveal the authorship, even if we had not the 
assurance of tradition. The mission was started at "Pottawat- 
omie Creek" (near Osawatomie), usually named Osage River, and 
by some authorities "Marais des Cygnes," a tributary to the Mis- 
souri River.) 

Beginning of the Mission on Pottawatomie Creek, Miami County, Kansas. 

HISTORY OF THE CHURCH DEDICATED TO GOD UNDER THE TITLE 
OF THE IMMACULATE CONCEPTION OF THE B. V. MARY ON SUGAR 
CREEK. 

A. D. 1837, a band of Pottawatomie Indians, in number about 150, 
came to this place from Indiana, where some of them had long before been 
baptized in the Catholic Church by Revs. Stephen Badin and Deseille. A few 
months after their arrival in this territory, their chief, Nesfwawke, learned from 
somebody that there were Catholic priests residing in the Kickapoo settlement. 
At this news, the chief immediately went to a trader and asked him to write to 
the clergyman at the Kickapoo village, to get information for him on the matter 
he had at heart. The trader did so, and the letter was brought to the Kickapoo 
settlement towards the end of the year 1837. The Fathers at that time stationed 
at the Kickapoo mission were Revs. Felix Verreydt and Christian Hoecken, S.J. 
The latter, as soon as he understood the purport of the letter, prepared for the 
journey without delay, and set out for the mission, glad at heart; all the more so 
because they had been a long time laboring among the Kickapoos without fruit. 

This occurred in the beginning of the year 1838, in the month of January. 
It was midwinter and the intense cold made it scarcely possible to travel. Yet 
though progress was slow, the Father was buoyed up with hopes of success, and 
held on his way cheerfully. It took eight days to reach the river called by the 
Indians Pottawatomie Creek. There he found the band of Indians, referred to 
above, miserably situated; some were living in tents, others in hovels constructed 
of logs and bark. Their destitution was visible in their food and clothing, as well 
as in their huts. They possessed nothing, and had no means of subsistence be- 
yond the corn and meat supplied by the government, however, this did not lessen 
their veneration for the priest, whose arrival was greeted with a warm and cordial 
reception. But, mindful of the old adage. "Si Romae fueris, Romano vivito more; 
si fueris alibi, vivito sicut ibi," he was obliged to suit himself lo the surroundings, 
and when he got a breakfast, well and good; when he got none, he was satisfied. 
Some days he had his supper, other days he went without it. Yet so overjoyed 
and recreated in soul was he at the sight of those faithful Catholic Indians, that 
his exhilarated spirit did not feel the need of bodily refreshment. 

First Mass Under Difficulties. 

A few days after the Father's arrival, the Holy Sacrifice was to be celebrated, 
and an altar and sanctuary prepared — an undertaking of no little difficulty under 
the circumstances, for the Father had brought with him but a few linen cloths, 
barely necessary as altar cloth, corporal, etc., and the Indians, scantily clothed 
themselves, had no linen to spare for decorations. At length after much delib- 
eration and consideration, they succeeded in fitting out a place for saying Mass. 
In the middle of a semi-circle that was inclosed with strips of old calico, and open 



226 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

to the skies, a barrel was set up, with a log thrown across it for the altar — such a 
thing as a plank was not to be found — and old rags and trappings were hung 
around for ornaments. But the greatest difficulty was to dispose and steady the 
altar, so that the chalice could stand on it safely. As therei was only one candle- 
stick, a bottle was used to hold the other candle. 

The work done, the chief and his family squatted down on an Indian mat di- 
rectly in front of the altar. At this signal, the priest began to recite the divine 
office, in preparation for the sacrifice. He was vested and about to commence, 
when lo! the bottle candlestick toppled over and ignited the drapery behind the 
altar. At once the priest rushed forward to smother the flames, and succeeded 
in burning one hand badly; but the Indians soon saw his predicament and running 
up, they quickly extinguished the blaze. After this th© priest proceeded with the 
Mass, and at its conclusion he discoursed to them on the Ten Commandments of 
God. 

The rest of the week the Father spent in visiting the sick, who were not a 
few; he baptized many infants and several adults, and also re-validated irregular 
marriages. 

After staying about a fortnight, he took leave of the chief, promising to visit 
him again soon and retracted his steps to the Kickapoo village. 

SECOND VISIT. 

1838 — In May, 1838, the Superior of the Missouri Jesuits. Rev. P. J. Verhaegen, 
paid a visit to the Kickapoo mission. While there he decided to make an excur- 
sion with Father Hoecken to see how the Pottawatomies were situated. They 
set out together, and after a journey of several days arrived at their destina- 
tion. The delight of the Indians was great; and encouraged by the visit they 
pressed Father Verhaegen with entreaties to leave the other Father with them. 
To satisfy them, the Superior consented so far as to leave Father Hoecken there 
for some time, but not permanently. So Father Hoecken remained to console 
them. And to secure their good will, he made himself serviceable by healing 
their diseases. One of these cures is worthy of notice for its happy consequences. 
There was a boy afflicted for a long time, and reduced, I may say, to the point 
of death. His parents came in haste to the above mentioned Father, saying, that 
they were desirous to devote their son to the Religion. The Father went to visit 
the boy; and in a few days he restored him to perfect health. On witnessing 
the cure, the parents offered to the Religion not only their son, but all their sons 
and daughters and themselves likewise. Accordingly all the family received 
the sacrament of Baptism. And to this day they have persevered faithfully in 
the practice of their religion. 

The Father was thus occupied about three weeks, baptizing the infants on 
his rounds, and a good number of adults in danger of death. This done, he re- 
turned to the Kickapoo Mission. 

Some weeks after his return, he received a letter from his Superior, Father 
Verhaegen, granting him permission to go and labor among the Pottawatomies, 
near the river Osage, or (as it was then called) the Pottawatomie Creek. Where- 
fore the Father got ready as soon as possible, and departed immediately for his 
destined mission at the aforesaid place. 

THE MISSION ESTABLISHED. 

In the meantime the Pottawatomie chief had built himself a new hut, which 
he at once offered to me. His offer I accepted, on condition that he would con- 
tinue to occupy it with his family. In this hut was the Divine Sacrifice cele- 
brated every Sunday, and often during the week; and on such occasions the 
chief used to assemble his people by blowing a good-sized trumpet, which sound- 
ed with a loud noise over the prairies.. Though not very musical, the chief's 
horn was a good church bell. 

This was the condition of things for two months or so, during which inter- 
vals many infants and some adults were regenerated at the sacred font of Bap- 
tism, when another band called the Wabash and St. Joseph Pottawatomies ar- 
rived; it was on November 4, 1838. They came here along with Rev. B. Petit, 
from Indiana. The Father had been among them about six months, and he 



FATHER HOECKEJN'S DIARY 227 

remained with me two months, (propter infirmitatem) to recover his health and 
strength, and then departed from this place on January 2, 1839. 

By the advice of their pastor, these Indians immediately constructed a 
church 40 feet long and 22 feet wide; and by means of wood and bark and canvas 
they raised shanties for a temporary shelter, until they could select a fixed 
abode. For this purpose, we determined to explore the country, soon after the 
late addition to our members, and setting out we discovered the land which we 
now occupy at Sugar Creek. We chose this locality for several reasons; be- 
cause it afforded sugar and abundance of timber, and especially as a place re- 
mote from American settlers and from other Indian tribes addicted to intoxica- 
tion. We remained, however, on the old ground at Pottawatomie Creek until 
March, 1839. From November 4th to the end of the year 1838, we had 300 con- 
fessions and 20O communions. 

1839 — In March, during the season of Lent, all our Indians moved off to the 
river called Sugar Creek. The first work done at the new settlement was to 
build a log church. It was the fourth Sunday of Lent, when I called the tribe 
together and told them all to come on Monday, to work at building a church. 
They were on hand promptly, and in three days the church was finished, so that 
I was able to celebrate Mass in it on the Thursday following. From that on, 
I had thirty communions every Sunday, and many more confessions, including 
the catechumens whom I heard every day. Up to the middle of July, 1839, I had 
baptized a hundred catechumens. 

Towards the end of April, Rev. H. Aelen, S.J., arrived; but he worked among 
the Ottawas, Peorias, and Weas (probably the lowas) and other tribes until July, 
when he returned and found Father Hoecken prostrated by sickness. On return 
of Father Aelen, Father Hoecken went to St. Louis to recruit his health and 
treat with the Indian Superintendent on important business. 

Father Hoecken had received certain papers from Rev. B. Petit, promising, 
on the part of the government, to build a church and a priest's house on the 
new reservation in Kansas. As soon as he arrived at St. Louis, he went to see 
Mr. Pilcher, the Superintendent of Indian Affairs, and inquired about the grant 
signified and pledged in these documents. This gentleman was very kind in his 
manner, and assured him that he would attend to it. And not long after, he 
sent to Father Hoecken $2,000 for the church. 

The Indians were sorely tried by sickness and disease after the departure 
of their father and physician; and, being without medicines, they died in great 
numbers in this and the succeeding year — 1840. 

Towards the end of the year 1840, several hundred more Indians arrived 
from Indiana. For their accommodation a new church was built, which was 
blessed on Christmas Day, 1840, by Father Aelen. 

In July, 1841, a new cemetery was blessed. 

For a period in 1841, about the months of May, June and July, Father 
Eysvogels was assisting Father Aelen on the mission. 

Father Aelen baptized a good many Indians while he was directing the mis- 
sion, receiving into the Church at different times, up to the month of September, 
1841, in all 220 souls. 

On July 8, 1841, Father P. J. Verhaegen brought to the mission four ladies 
of the Sacred Heart, to educate and christianize the Indian females. On July 
15, a school was opened for the girls by these good religious, viz.. Mother Phil- 
ippine Duchesne*, Mother Lucille Mathevon, Madam A. O'Connor, and Sister 
Louise Amyot. The school was attended with success from the beginning. Moth- 
er Duchesne did not remain long; for, on account of her advanced age, (73) she 
was recalled to St. Charles, Mo., in 1842. 

NOTE — This apostolic religious is worthy of further notice. When Mother 
Gallitzin, the assistant general of the Sacred Heart Religious in America, visited the 
Sugar Creek Mission, in March, 1842, she saw that Mother Duchesne was too old and 
feeble for this life of hardship, and persuaded her to return to St. Charles, where she 
died at the age of 84, having spent thirty-four years in the hard and edifying service 
in the United States. Mother Duchesne was the pioneer of the ladies of the Sacred 
Heart in America. It was her ardent desire to save and civilize the poor Indian sav- 
ages, that brought to this hemisphere the blessing of that religious and successful body 
of educators, whose refinement and graces of heart and soul has since diffused them- 
selves over the best families far and wide throughout the country. On May 29, 1818, 



228 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

Feast of the Sacred Heart, Mother Duchesne arrived in St. T^ouis, leading a band of 
five, and estabhshed the first Home of the Sacred Heart at Florissant, Mo. As Supe- 
rior of the order she opened the first Convents and Academies of the Sacred Heart, be- 
ginning -nith St. Charles and St. Louis, Mo. When relieved of the Superiorship in 
1840, her fervent spirit exulted in going to Sugar Creek as to the promised land; the 
greatest longing of her life was going to be fulfilled among her simple and docile savages 
on a real Indian mission. We may judge of her disappointment when the body, at the 
age of 73, was unable to keep pace with the brave devoted soul. But God took the 
desire for the deed, and in her place raised up many heroines molded after her example, 
though for so short a time the mission was edified by her solid virtue, and was, no 
doubt, helped by her prayers during her long preparation for death in a distant city. 

Moreover, on August 29, 1841, there arrived at this mission Revs. Felix 
Verreydt and Christian Hoecken with two lay brothers, Andrew Mazella and 
George Miles. 

After this the Indians took heart and showed signs of new life, having their 
physician restored with a supply of medicines and other necessaries that were 
wanting before. So they began to build houses and to labor in fields and to 
do other work with renewed energy. They likewise increased greatly in num- 
bers, by additions from other places, and partly by natural increase. 

On June 19, 1842, Rt. Rev. Dr. Kenrick, the Bishop of St. Louis, came to 
this place to administer the sacrament of Confirmation. Many of the Indians 
had been confirmed in Indiana, whence they emigrated. About three hundred 
received the sacrament on this occasion; 260 on the first day, and the rest on 
the 20th of June. 

In the year 1842, 235 Indians were baptized. About this time Father Aelen 
left this mission. In his place come Fathers Eysvogels and Adrian Hoecken. 
Father Eysvogels went to Platte Purchase, remained there till December, 1842; 
Father Adrain Hoecken departed in May, 1843, for the Rocky Mountains Mis- 
sions. In 1843 the Fathers P. Verheydt and Soderine spent a short time at the 
mission. 

BOYS' SCHOOL. 

A school had been built for the boys as early as 1839, but was not opened till 
1840, and then only for a short time. Another school was erected towards the 
close of the year 1841, and in the beginning of the year 1842 it was well attended; 
and it continues so up to the present day — January 31, 1844. In 1843, 145 In- 
dians were baptized. (In 1843 the Catholic Indians of the mission were reck- 
oned to amount to 1,200). 

Two other ladies of the Sacred Heart arrived in 1843 to assist in the schools, 
Mother C. Thiefry, as Superior, and Madam Xavier. 

SODALITIES AND RETREAT. 

In 1843, Rev. F. Verreydt organized some of the Indians into an anti-liquor 
brigade, under the leadership of Brother Francis Van der Borght. They were 
instructed to keep watch that no liquor was brought into the village; and if 
anyone had been observed with liquor, they were to go out immediately, sur- 
round the place, search for the liquor, break the bottle and spill the liquor. 
This they constantly did, and the custom is kept up to the present day. 

The Arch-Confraternity, in honor of the Pure Heart of the Blessed Virgin 
Mary, for the conversion of sinners was started in the month of May, 1843, by 
Father Verreydt; and many had themselves enrolled in this confraternity. 

In November of this same year, another society, called the "Society of Jesus 
and Mary," was set on foot; but it was not well organized till January, 1844. 
Several hundred heads of families were inscribed in this society. 

At the close of the year 1843, a spiritual retreat of eight days was preached 
to the Indians, according to the method of the Spiritual Exercises of St. Ignatius. 
It continued into the beginning of the present year, 1844, and it has produced 
admirable and abundant fruit. 

1844, April 1, Rev. Father Verreydt has set the Indians to work hewing 
and preparing lumber for the extensions of the church. April 2-4, the same 
Father preached a triduum, which was well attended. It was given in English 
and in Indian. April 12, fourteen Indians of both sexes made their first Com- 
munion. 



FATHER HOECKEN'S DIARY 229 

April 15, Rev. Father Verreydt sent one of ours to the village of the Ottawas 
to instruct some catechumens. In March preceding, a catechist had gone on the 
same mission. April 23, Rev. Father Verreydt visited the Osages, at a place 
called Osage, to make arrangements for establishing there a new missionary 
station. 

WORKING GUILDS. 

On the advice of their priests, the Indians have organized themselves into 
working bands for the purpose of helping one another in manual labor. This is 
the plan of organization: In each band an overseer is. appointed who arranges 
the work and gives directions to the rest — where, when and how they must 
work. The overseer also presides at the prayers, which were said in common. 

May 12, Father Provincial, Rev. J. Van de Velde, arrived on his annual 
visitation, according to the custom of the Society of Jesus. He remained up to 
May 29. During his visitation Major Thomas Harvey, the Indian Superintendent, 
was also our guest for ten days, from May 18 to 28. He promised several favors 
to the Indians before going away. 

FORTY DAYS' RAIN. 

June here, as everywhere around, it has been raining for forty days In suc- 
cession, and great floods covered the country. The damage, however, was not 
great. 

June 14, the Association of the Sacred Hearts of Jesus and Mary was es- 
tablished. 

July. Father Verreydt undertook a journey to Independence, Mo., to admin- 
ister the sacraments to the Catholics there and in the adjacent district. July 
31 being the feast of our holy founder, St. Ignatius Loyola, the Sacred Heart 
L<adies distributed rewards for good conduct to the girls attending school. Also 
during this month, preparations for building a new church were going on, in 
felling trees, splitting logs, making posts, etc. 

August. The school statistics were cast up in form and sent to St. Louis, 
to comply with the government regulations requiring an annual statement 
from the school teachers on the Indians' reservations. 

INDIANS LEGISLATING. 

August 22. On the octave of the Assumption of the B. V. M.. the Indians 
drew up a code of laws, which were unanimously agreed to and were Put in 
writing to impress their observance. Moreover, they elected constables to see 
to it that these laws were well observed. August 25, a solemn procession took 
place in honor of the Immaculate Heart of the Blessed Virgin. The attendance 
was large and their devotion was manifest. August 30, Father Verreydt made 
another excursion to Independence and also to Westport (now part of Kansas 
City) to visit the Children of the Faith. 

September 13. The Indians, having received their annual allowance in money 
from the American government, have set apart a certain sum ($109.50) for 
medicines and the sick, to be given out by the hands of their Priest. September 
16, Rev. Father Verreydt went with the Indian Superintendent to the town of the 
Osages to select a site for school buildings. 

September 20, Mr. Charles Findlay contributed %20M' for the poor. Septem- 
ber 21, Mr. Joseph Sire, as a contribution to our church building, has promised 
to supply the nails and laths or shingles, enough for the whole church: i. e., 
40,000 shingles and two or three barrels of nails. September 26, Rev. Father 
Verreydt has gone to St. Louis to consult Rev. Father Provincial about the 
Oisage Mission. 

September 27, premiums were distributed in our school for boys, on the feast 
of SS. Cosmas and Damian, the anniversary of the first confirmation of the So- 
ciety of Jesus. 

October 20, a new Indian agent visited the mission in company with Mr. 
Joshua Carpenter, who was lately put out of office by the American government. 

On account of great abuses growing out of the laws which the Indians fram- 
ed for themselves some time ago, 1 was compelled, by my responsibility as their 



230 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

pastor, to have those laws abolished. October 31, Father Verreydt returned from 
St. Louis with Rev. Francis Xavier de Coen, who has been sent by Father Pro- 
vincial to do work on these missions. 

COUNCIL BLUFFS. 

November 4, 1 started on a missionary excursion to Council Bluffs, Iowa. 
While there I baptized twenty-one infants of the Indians, etc. (i. e., besides the 
usual works of zeal, as opportunity offered) received from friends some dona- 
tions for widows and orphans, which I divided among them after my return from 
Council Bluffs, in December. In the month of November Father Verreydt made 
a journey to Deep Water, to break the bread of life to the German settlers; and 
in December he again visited the American and French Catholics residing at In- 
dependence and Westport. 

December 25. On Christmas day the feast of the Nativity of our Divine Lord 
Jesus Christ was solemnized with unusual splendor. The communicants at Mass 
were very numerous. We gave a dinner to the members enrolled in the "Society 
of Jesus and Mary," recently established. 

OUTLYING MISSIONS. 

1845. In the beginning of January, 1845, the Indians were working for Fa- 
ther Verreydt, splitting logs and hauling lumber to inclose a new cemetery. Jan- 
uary 10, Rev. Father X. de Coen proceeded to the Ottawa Reservation, to es- 
tablish a mission there and make arrangements for saying Mass and administer- 
ing the Sacraments once a month. January 20, Fort Scott. Rev. F. Verreydt 
made an excursion to Fort Scott, to see about starting a new mission there and 
find a place where the surrounding Catholics could meet for divine worship. He 
took this occasion to talk with Colonel E. Choteau and the agent of the Osages 
about the proposed buildings at Osage. We owe it to kind Providence that 
the hunting this winter has been more successful than in any other year since 
the Indians came to this territory. Indeed, it is a mark of the special protection 
of God, without which the poor people must have suffered the greatest hardship, 
for no provisions are now scarce and very dear. 

February. As a measure of relief, a grant of about 3,000 bushels of corn 
was freely offered by the American government to these Pottawatomies, to make 
up for the loss of their crops by the floods of the lasit year; and the same was 
divided among them in the beginning of this month. February 5. The Indians 
are busy preparing lumber for the new church. We presented them with a bar- 
rel of pork and 200 pounds of flour. February 7, Father de Coen went out to 
his mission at the Ottawa Reservation. February 10, Father Verreydt was call- 
ed on by the Osage Indians to go and mark out the grounds and settle the plans 
for the school buildings. A joiner was hired by the Indian agent to oversee the 
work and finish the structure. 

March 10, Father C. Hoecken visited the settlement called Deep Water, Mis- 
souri, to give the Germans living around the opportunity to receive the Sacra- 
ments. He made a collection for the poor. At the same time Father X. de Coen 
was away on his monthly excursion to the Ottawas, and this time he took in his 
rounds the tribes of the Chippewas and Peorias. 

March 20, Father Verreydt departed for Westport and Independence, tak- 
ing Brother Van Borght as companion on the journey. March 23. Some of the 
Pottawatomies have set out on a hunting expedition, in order to provide' a sup- 
ply of game for the national feast, which it is customary to have on Easter Sun- 
day. We contributed flour and coffee for the festival. The agent, Colonel A. 
J. Vaughn, partook of the dinner. 

The alms collected for the poor and the destitute widows and orphans 
amounted to $45, which was promptly distributed, partly among the Peorias and 
partly here, according to the wishes of the donors. 

April. The agent. Colonel A. J. Vaughn has otained from the government a 
stretch of arable land for our Indians— as much, as 200 ox teams can work in a 
day, some 200 acres in extent — to encourage them to plow and till their fields. 
April 4, Father de Coen went on his usual mission to the Ottawas, to administer 
the Sacraments. 



FATHER HOECKEN'S DIARY 231 

April 14, the chief of the Chippewas paid us a visit with his family. He 
asked to have a mission established for his tribe and arrangements were com- 
pleted for a regular mission among the Chippewas, near the stream called Osage 
River. 

April 18, Father de Coen set out with two Indian interpreters to visit the Peorias 
and Weas, with the purpose of establishing missionary stations among those 
tribes if he found them well disposed. He visited the Catholics on his way and 
gave them the Sacraments. 

PEORIAS AND WEAS ASK INSTRUCTIONS. 

The chiefs of the above tribes met in council to hear the proposal of the 
Father. At the end of his speech they consulted together and agreed that he 
might baptize their children. They asked him to return within two weeks and 
explain the Catholic religion, assuring him that they were ready to embrace the 
teaching and practice of the Catholic prayer, and that they would bring their 
children in that prayer. 

Father de Coen returned home the 23rd of the month, 1845. In the month 
of May the same Father de Coen went to the Chippewa reservation, at the in- 
vitation of the chief of that tribe. These Chippewas held a council with the 
Ottawas, and came to the conclusion that they ought all to embrace the same 
religion, since the Pottawatomies, Ottawas and Chippewas were brothers, and, 
consequently, ought to have the same sentiments and be of one mind. 

May 6. Today two of the Peoria tribe came to the mission, being sent by 
the chief to make inquiries about the Catholic religion. We satisfied them and 
dismissed them the following day, loaded with presents of meal and lard. May 
8, Rev. F. X. de Coen took a journey to the German settlement at Deepwater, 
to say Mass and give the sacraments to the Catholics. 

POTTAWATOMIE BOOKS. 

The books in the Pottawatomie dialect, which had been sent to Cincinnati 
and St. Louis to be printed, were brought to the mission. May 21, and were at 
once distributed among the Indians. The same day we received a trunk full 
of medicines, worth about fifty dollars, a present from the Indian superintendent. 

CHANGES AMONG THE RELIGIOUS. 

May 23. Rev. Father Provincial J. O. Van de Velde arrived on his annual 
visitation, at the close of which he took with him Brother Van der Borght, prom- 
ising to send another lay-brother in his place. The Superioress of the Sacred 
Heart religious also withdrew Mother C. Thiefry and Madam Xavier, and left 
on the Mission a Sister of the name of Mary. 

May 25. Corpus Christi was celebrated by the usual solemn procession In 
honor of the Blessed Sacrament of the Altar, performed with great order and 
piety. Many of the Peoria village were in attendance. 

GOVERNMENT AID TO GIRLS' SCHOOL. 

June. Early in this month we received a letter from the Superintendent of 
Indian Affairs, informing us that the American government promised to appro- 
priate $500 annually for the support of the Academy of the Ladies of the Sacred 
Heart. June 11, Rev. Father Verreydt proceeded to the Osage reservation to 
attend to the mission and make arrangements about the schools which the gov- 
ernment intended to establish there. 

July. In the first week of July, I accompanied the Indians on a hunting 
expedition. After twenty-two days I came home. July 12, Father Provincial kept 
his promise by sending us Brother Regan to be cook, and Carissime J. Diels, a 
novice, to teach the boys. July 13, Estanikwot, the Chippewa chief, came himself 
to ask for a catechist to instruct his people in religion. 

PROHIBITION COUNCIL. 

Towards the end of July the Indians held a council, and unanimously agreed 



232 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

on a course of action in case any one would bring liquor into the village or sell 
it to others. 

August 11. For some time all the Indians have been hard at work on the 
new church; all are busy — some digging the foundations, others getting rock 
and carrying materials. 

In the latter part of August, Father C. Hoecken took his departure for St. 
Louis, to solicit help for the widows and orphans. He returned with the alms on 
the 23rd of October. 

DISEASE AND DEATH. 

In September and October almost all the Indians fell sick, and many deaths 
occurred. Among the children, especially, the mortality was great. 

Mr. J. B. Sarpy contributed $120 to the building of the new church, instead 
of the shingles which he had promised to furnish. Meanwhile, Rev. Father Ver- 
reydt attended to the missions at Westport and Independence, Mo., visiting the 
Catholic families. 

CONFIRMATION BY BISHOP BARRON. 

December 17, Right Rev. Bishop Barron arrived at the Mission. He stayed 
a fortnight, and administered the Sacrament of Confirmation to eighty Indians 
during Christmas week. The festival of Christmas was observed with great 
devotion and rejoicing. Besides the beautiful ceremonies at Mass, a crib was 
made this year to give the Indians a lively representation of the birth of the 
Divine Infant in the stable at Bethlehem. 

THE PEORIA TRIBE ALL BAPTIZED. 

A. D. 1846. Some Peoria Indians were at the Mission to witness the festiv- 
ities of Christmas. On their return, Father Christian Hoecken repaired with them 
to the Peoria reservation, twenty-five miles distant, to instruct and. prepare them 
for baptism. He remained there ten days, by which time he had baptized them 
all and blessed their marriages according to the rite of the Holy Catholic Church. 
(January 6, 1847.) 

FIRST PAYMENT TO THE ACADEMY. 

January 11. The Sacred Heart ladies received $500 from the civil govern- 
ment. This is the allowance granted to their school, to be paid annually, dating 
from July 1, 1845. 

February. Rev. Father Hoecken set out with an Indian guide, in the begin- 
ning of February, to seek along Kansas river the lands apportioned to the Sacs 
Indians, and to try what he could for the salvation of their souls. 

March. Mr. M. Giraud gave forty bushels of corn, commonly called maize, 
for the indigent widows and orphans. 

March 16, Rev. Father Verreydt made a journey to Deepwater, to visit the 
German families and give them the sacraments. 

April. At the request of Bishop Barron, the same Father went to the town 
of Westport, in April, to hear the confessions of the French Catholics residing 
there, that they might make their Easter Communion. About the same time 
Father F. de Coen made an excursion to the Peoria reservation. At the close of 
the month Father Verreydt again visited the Germans at Deepwater. 

BLESSING THE CROPS. 

April 25. On St. Mark's day, according to the good old Catholic custom, the 
usual procession walked around the fields, chanting the Litany of the Saints, to 
implore God to bless the fruits of the soil and preserve the crops. This reminds 
us of the kindness of the government in distributing corn and potatoes to our 
Indians in time for sowing and planting. 

COUNCIL BLUFFS. 

May. In obedience to the wishes of the Superior of the Mission, Father C. 
Hoecken undertook a journey to the place called Council Bluffs, Iowa, to examine 
what prospect there was to do something for those Indians. While there, this 



FATHER HOECKEN'S DIARY 2'J3 

Father baptized fifty infants and a squaw who was dying. He returned to this 
mission on June 15. 

GOVERNMENT PURCHASE. 

June 17. On the way he was joined by delegates from the American govern- 
ment, who were commissioned to purchase the lands of the Pottawatomies. These 
commissioners succeeded in making terms for the purchase of the Pottawatomie 
reservation at Sugar Creek. In the month of June Father F. de Coen paid a visit 
to the Osage reservation to see if the school buildings in process of construction 
there were finished and ready for use. 

The annual procession of the Blessed Sacrament took place on the Sunday 
within the octave of Corpus Christi. It was conducted with all possible splendor. 

Thirty dollars received in alms has been bestowed on the widows and or- 
phans. Mr. Hagebuck, a German Catholic from Deepwater, has donated some 
articles of linen to the church besides some clothes for the poor. 

MISSION WORK AMONG THE SOLDIERS. 

July. In the month of July the project of a mission was started among the 
soldiers of Fort Scott, many of whom had been brought up in the Catholic re- 
ligion. For this purpose Father F. de Coen ventured to introduce himself at the 
Fort, on July 12. He preached and broke the Bread of Eternal Life to them; 
and he left them the following day rejoicing. 

PROHIBITION ENFORCED. 

July 22. On the feast day of St. Mary Magdalene, the Pottawatomies met 
again to devise more stringent measures against intoxicating liquors. For this 
purpose they invited the agent. Col. Vaughn, to attend, and, at his suggestion, 
it was determined that anyone thereafter caught bringing liquor into the mission 
should be locked up in the guard-house at Fort Scott. 

August. Father C. I. Hoecken made an excursion to the reservation of the 
Sacs, Piankichas and Miamis, to try to convert those tribes. He found the Sacs 
absent on a hunting expedition, but met with a kind reception from the other 
Indians, who asked him to come back after a few weeks. He baptized their 
children, and promised to return. 

August 17. Father F. X. de Coen went to the Osages to baptize their infants. 

A PRISON BUILT. 

In the month of August another council was held at the Mission, and with 
unanimous consent three laws were passed to suppress drunkenness, libertinism 
and card-playing. These laws were committed to writing and promulgated. Soon 
after, the tribe came together and built a prison to punish the evildoers. 

Before the end of August I returned to the camp of the Piankichas, celebrated 
Mass there and baptized their infants. All these Indians expressed a desire to 
become Catholics. Some time later I made a tour of the principal cities of the 
United States, to obtain assistance from the charitable and to awaken interest 
in the condition of these Indian tribes, and I took along the manuscript for two 
books to be printed in the Indian dialects. 

1846 — September. On my journey through the United States, I (Father 
Hoecken) gave to press two books, one in the Pottawatomie dialect and the other 
in the vernacular of the Peorias, Piankichas and other tribes. In October, Rev. 
Francis Xavier de Coen was recalled and left the Mission to go to St. Louis. About 
the same time Rev. John Schoenmakers was sent out here to visit the Sugar 
Creek Mission and the new mission among the Osage Indians. 

BAPTISM OF THE KICKAPOO CHIEF. 

Pasidji, the chief of the Kickapoos, came to the Mission in November, earn- 
estly asking to be baptized. The Fathers of the Mission were all absent; but 
Rev. J. Benoit happened to be here and he received the chief into the Church 
on November 13, giving him the name of Joseph. The new convert was 60 years 
of age. His fervent piety was a source of edification to all, but especially to those 
who had known him before. 



234 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

In December, Father Verreydt proceeded to Independence, Mo., to meet Father 
Peter J. de Smet, who was expected to land there on his return from the Rocky 
Mountains. 

1847 — ^January. Rev. Verreydt attended the Peoria mission, baptizing an 
adult and many infants. Early in February, Rev. C. Hoecken returned from his 
tour through the States, bringing to the Mission the alms which he had collected 
from the cities for the Pottawatomies and other Indian tribes in the then Missouri 
Territory. 

PIANKICHAS BAPTIZED, 1847. 

March 1. Father Hoecken went on the mission to the Peoria village to in- 
struct the tribe for First Communion, taking a Pottawatomie Indian to help him. 
While thus employed, he met a band of the Piankicha nation, who, with their 
chief, Wakochinga, had come to see him. These also he instructed in the faith, 
regenerated them all in the waters of Baptism, and blessed their unions with the 
sacred bond of matrimony. 

MIAMI MISSION, 1847. 

March 15. A letter was received from the Superintendent of Indian Affairs 
at St. Louis, in reference to establishing a mission among the adjoining tribe of 
the Miamis. On Shrove Tuesday, we gave our Indians a national holiday, to 
cheer their spirits and encourage them to begin the fast of Lent, on Ash Wednes- 
day. 

April. The feast of Easter Sunday was observed with great devotion and 
solemnity. The Pottawatomies held their national festivities, to which they in- 
vited many from the neighboring tribes, who had come for religious services. In 
the latter part of April, Rev. C. I. Hoecken made an excursion to the Piankicha 
reservation and remained ten days, instructing them in the commandments of 
God. When they were sufficiently instructed, he baptized about sixty of them. 

PIANKICHAS TILL THE FIELDS, 1847. 

After their conversion, the Piankichas began to till the soil; and the Father 
excited their diligence by distributing seed to sow in their fields. In the month 
of May, we hired a carpenter to repair for the Peorias their mill, which had long 
lain broken. 

JUBILEE AND MAY DEVOTIONS, 1847. 

May. Rev. Fr. Verreydt went to Deepwater to preach to the Germans, and af- 
ford the settlers an opportunity to gain the indulgence and privileges of the 
Jubilee. We dedicated the month of May to the ever Blessed Virgin Mary, singing 
or reciting every day the Litany of Loretto. 

May 18. A novena was begun in honor of St. Francis Hieronymo for the 
welfare of the Mission, and every morning Benediction of the Blessed Sacrament 
was given during the novena. Toward the close of the month Rev. Fr. Hoecken 
visited the Peoria village, to prepare them to make the Jubilee. 

FIRST COMMUNION— FORTY PEORIAS, 1847. 

After suitable instructions, about forty of them approached to receive the 
Holy Eucharist for the first time, on Trinity Sunday. 

June. A solemn novena was proclaimed to be made for the general welfare of 
the Mission, in honor of the Most Holy Sacrament of the Eucharist, accompanied 
with the exposition of the Blessed Sacrament every day of the octave. 
PUBLIC PROCESSION— FOUR INDIAN TRIBES. 

June 6. A great concourse of Indians from the neighboring reservations of 
the Peorias, Miamis, Piankichas, etc., collected at the Mission to take part in the 
public procession of Corpus Christi. They behaved with edifying devotion, and the 
day was orderly throughout. 

A DAY OF FASTING. 

June 15. On the vigil of St. John Francis Regis, a public fast was announced 
in our church, to obtain relief in the distressful condition of the Mission. To 
this end special prayers were offered up. and good works recommended to be per- 



FATHER HOECKEN'S DIARY 235 

formed on that day, and the people were urged to go to confession and communion. 
July 1. Very Rev. James Oliver Van de Velde, our Provincial, arrived at the 
Mission and stayed with us for several days. 

PROHIBITION COUNCIL. 

The Indians living at Pottawatomie Creek came to hold a council with our 
Indians at Sugar Creek in the latter end of July. They decreed unanimously, 
that: Whoever thereafter should bring into these lands intoxicating liquor, should 
forfeit for his first offense half his annual pay from the government, and for the 
second offense should forfeit all his money. Likewise that whoever would kill 
another, should forfeit his own life. 

FATHER TRUYENS— NEW MISSIONER, 1847. 

August. Rev. Father Verreydt departed for St. Louis in the interest of the 
Mission, to obtain supplies and beg aid for the Indians. We welcomed him home 
again on September 4, and greeted Rev. Charles Truyens, who came with him, 
being sent by the Father Provincial to assist us in our missions. On the feast of 
the Pure Heart of the B. V. Mary, the Indians joined devoutly in the customary 
procession, which was marshaled and managed with much pomp and dignity in 
honor of the Mother of God. 

September 17. The mission to the Peorias was attended to by Father Truyens. 
After saying mass, and administering sacraments to the faithful, he came home 
on September 20. 

AN OFFICIAL LETTER, 1847. 

An official letter received at this date. It makes a precise statement on the 
part of the civil govei'nment, that, in the payment for the Pottawatomie pur- 
chase, "no compensation can be allowed for the Catholic church and the priests' 
residence and improvements." The reason assigned is, "that no mention was 
made of them in the Secretary's report, when the land was sold by the Indians." 
It concludes with the recommendation that we compound for our loss with the 
Indians. The Indians — to their credit — made no trouble about it. 

In September, Father C. Hoecken made his annual retreat at the Osage res- 
ervation. He returned to the Mission on October 2. 

Father Verreydt furnished the Peorias, who were quite destitute with articles 
of clothing which he had bought at St. Louis. He also gave them corn for plant- 
ing in the Autumn. This month, our Indians received payment from the civil 
government; and they offered a certain sum out of their portions for a new 
church to be built in the territory to which they are going to move near Kansas 
river. 

In the beginning of October, the time of their annual payment, the Indians 
contributed to the erection of a church and a house for the priests, by the river 
called Kansas, seventeen hundred dollars. 

Rev. C. Truyens set out for the Peoria mission, and then passed on to the 
Piankicha reservation Father Verreydt. the Superior of the missicn. has decided 
that henceforth these tribes, the Peorias and Piankichas, shall be visited every 
month on the first Sunday. 

PROSPECTING ST. MARY'S MISSION. 

1847 — November 1. Rev. Father Verreydt took a party of Indians to explore 
the country along the Kansas river, where the government had assigned a new 
reservation for the Pottawatomies, and to select a suitable and central locality 
for the new mission. 

Beginning in October, Father C. Truyens directed a spiritual retreat for the 
Religious of the Sacred Heart at Sugar Creek. Rev. Father Bax, from the town 
called Neosho, paid us a visit the first week of November. He took away with 
him articles donated to his mission by Father Provincial and Mother Galitzin, 
besides presents of altar linen from the Ladies of the Sacred Heart. 

N. B. — Father Hoecken's diary here comes to a sudden close, and there is 
a gap in the annals of the Mission up to September, 1848, when Father Maurice 
Gailland, S. J., continues the narrative in the new reservation at St. Mary's, 



236 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND. 

Pottawatomie County, Kansas. A study of the baptismal record seems to reveal 
that the Indians began to move into their new lands — "50 miles square on the 
Kaw river immediately west of the present city Topeka"— in the fall of 1847. 
Father Hoecken is registered for baptisms performed in that locality in Decem- 
ber, 1847, and thereafter. The other Fathers, with the Religious of the Sacred 
Heart, remained at Sugar Creek until September, 1848. The decrease in the 
number of baptisms shows how the Indians were scattered in 1848. The baptisms 
for '46, '47, '48 were 178, 142 and 48 respectively. The baptisms for 10 years 
(1838-1848) were 1,430, out which 550 were adults. 



237 
OLD RECORDS. 



A. M. D. G. 



STATUS ANIMARUM INDIANORUM NOMINE PEORIAS ET PIYANKICHAS, 
A D. 1846 ET 1847. 



Patronus Ecclesiae Peorearum, est St. Franciscus Xavarius. 

et 

Titulus Ecclesiae Piyankicharum, est Patrocinium Beatissimi Joseph. 

Status animarum Indianorum nomine Miamis, Weas, Peorias, 

Piyankichas et New York Indians. 



Josue Gabriel Achauwisewa 

uxor 
obiit Fevrier Catherine Kichamikikange. 

1847. 

Inf., Francois Xavier, natus Januier 3, 1847. 
Cohab. frater I. G. A. Christian Tacques Pandauwe, 12. 



Basile Boyer Viduus 

Infantes. 

Jean Parakwai, 11. C. 

Jean Baptiste, 5. 

Joseph Matchiranchauwa, 3. 
Cohab. Ignace Marissa, 60 C. 

Francois Borgia Boyer 
uxor 

Matilde Roi-con-king. 

Baptiste Peorea 

uxor 
Infantes. 8. 

Charles Charore C. 

uxor 

Rose Kindikwe. C. 
Infantes. Tacques Kitakimankwe. 

Francois Chingwakiya 
uxor 

Agatha Mangokwe. 
Infantes. Marie Anne. 1. 



Agnes Entiginau. Vidua. C. 

Gregoire Cipakiya. '^ 

Agnes Kaikammansa. 

Infantes: 8. 

Marie Magdalene. 6. 
Julie Kiritokwe. Vidua. 

Infantes. 
Victoire Kiritokwe. 30. Vidua. 

Infantes. 

Marie Therese. 1. 

Note: These baptismal records were entered on vacant spaces in the old 
book in after years. — T. H. K. 

On the 16th of April, 1854, the undersigned baptized solemnly John Kisansa, 
son of Kisansa and Ackignamcha, about one month old. 

Godfather, Joseph Gibeau. 

Godmother, Mary Gibeau. 

J. SCHOENMAKERS, S. J. 



238 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

Jean Baptiste Kirisonsa obiit 

uxor 

Lucie Hopannikikwe. 
Inf. Caliste. nata December, 1846. 
Paul Kichiwoinisa 

uxor 

Francoise Karissakwawa. 
Infantes. 

Pierre, 7. 

Francois, 4; obiit, 1846, January 8th. 

Marie Louise, nata Sept., 1846. 

Catherine Kinchitanokwe. C. obiit. 
Infantes. 

Louis, 5. 

Marie, 10. 

Caroline Kinontckwe. Vidua. 
Infantes. 

Jean, 13. 

David, 4. 
Henricus Ignatius Kintchikonsa. C. 

uxor 
obiit Oct., 1847— 

Marie Elizabeth Chankochingu. C. 

Marie Anne, 4. 

Caroline, nata Nov., 1846. 

On this 9th of January, 1853, the undersigned baptized privately, Marcus, 
son of Luther Paseal and Manda Pioria. 

Godmother has been Felicita Guiro. The boy was born on the 22d of Nov., 
1850, and belongs to the Peoria nation. 

PAUL MARY PONZIGLIONE, S. J. 
Joseph Mahinambe. C. 

uxor 

Marie Minauwatokwe. C. obiit. 
Infantes. 

Joseph Kocuinta, 13. 

Francois Minauwatointa. 10. obiit. 

Jacques, 5. 

Marie Louise — obiit, 1846. 

Elizabeth, 4. obiit, 1846. 
Cohab. Julia sororis Mahin. 

Eransita, 9. 
Francis Mekositta. C. 

uxor 

Pelagia Arikokanga. C. 

Infantes. • natus statim obiit, 1847. 

Marie Manitokwe. Vidua, obiit, 1846. 

Infantes. Joseph, 5. obiit. 
Baptiste Mekositta. obiit. 
Coh. 

Kirisokwe. 
Bapt. Jan. 9, 1846 — Infantes Marie Therese, 4 months. 
Joseph Mechiwirata 

uxor 

Marie Louise Nowekamokwe, obiit 1846. 
Infantes. 

Louis Kinclisa, 6. 

Michikaterokwe, 3. 

Catherine Kichamikikange, 20. 

Guillaume, 22. C. 
Felix Jamison Marstchkakke 

uxor 

Josette, 3. 



OLD RECORDS 239 

Pierre, 6 months. 

I baptized, the fifth of December, 1847, Felix, son of Felix Jamison and 
Josette Kirisokwe, who was born the 3d, 1847. Godfather, George Namkikwea, 
Godmother, Cecelia Cheukasinga. 

C. TRUYENS, S. J. 
Samuel Minarikwoto 

uxor 

Agnes Mayakwagne. 
Cohab. frater Joseph, obiit, June, 1847. 76. 
Pierre Narrakwot 

uxor 

Marie Anne Pankichwoka. 
Infantes. 

Louis, 5. obiit, 1846. 

Cipiwa, 6. 
Joseph Ningotkapwe. 
George Nemkfwiga. C. 

obiit, Oct., 1847. Etienne Newapimente. 1870. 
Ignace Nawekosiga 

uxor 

Marguerite Tekigwe. obiit, Oct., 1847. 
Infantes. 

Cohab. Kirisonsa, 12. 

Andri Wapannikikapwe, 18. 

obiit. Jean Ev. Niplyakinta, 19. C. 
Henricus Pimkauwata C. 

uxor 

Therese Pitatammakwe. C. 
Infantes. 

Cecilia Chinkachinga, 14. C. 

Francois Namoita, 7. 
Cohab. duce orphanie 

Nidachimikwe, 9, Bapt. 

Ontanakitammikwe, 7, Bapt. 

28th of February, 1848, I baptized Mary, daughter of Henricus and Therese 
above named. She was three weeks old. Therese was godmother. 

C. TRUYENS. S. J. 
Marie Pinipakikamokwe. Vidua. 60. 
Infantes — 12. 

Philomine, 6. 
Pelagie Pilarokokange. Vidua. 
Infantes. 

Ambroise Pakangia, 25. 
Josias Rapheal Pintayo. C. 

uxor 

Josephine Nomdamokwa. C. 
Infantes. Marie Jeanne, 3. 

On the 10th of January, 1853, the undersigned baptized privately, Joseph, son 
to Pitan-machi-cha-pa and Chipacha-chasique, who was born in the month of Jan- 
uary, 1851, and who belongs to the Peoria nation. Godfather has been John 
Bourg. P. M. PONZIGLIONE, S. J. 

On the 16th of April, 1854, the undersigned baptized solemnly, Peter, son of 
Pitan-machi-cha-pa and Chipacha-chasique, about one year old. Godmother, Sophia 
Bourdeau. 

J. SCHOENMAKERS, S. J. 
Pierre Rapintinta 19. C. 
Jean Baptiste Renipinja. 

uxor. 

Cecile Cipakigwe. 
Pierre Sesikwahanga. 

uxor. 

Josette. 



240 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

Louis Francois Xav. Tetro. C. 

uxor. 

Odilda Marie Papindkwe. C. 
Infantes. 

Ignace. 12. 

Francolse. 10. 
Michel Tekona. 20. C. 
Michel Tchiswewa. C. 

uxor. 

Cecile Pankantamo. obiit 1847. 
Infantes. Elizabeth. 2. 

Pechkamokwe. 
Matri. dux. Sept. 5, uxor. 

1647. 
Therese. Vidua. C. 
Infantes Jean Kirisanta. 9. 

Martr. .luncta Vide Wakiwita Helene Mankogwe. C. obiit. 
Antoine Wakachata. C. 

On the 10th of January, 1853, the undersigned baptized privately Peter, son 
to Wonsapie and to Chilsoque, of the Peoria nation, about 4 months old. God- 
father has been John Bourg. 

PAUL MARY POXZIGLIO'NE, S. J. 
Henricus Wapewisia. C. obiit. 

uxor. 

Philomine Mekontakewe. C 
Infantes. 

Octilde Mekontakewe. 6. obiit 1847 July. 

Marie Elizabeth Wapunnikikapokwe. 

Marie Anne. 8. 

Cecile bapt. Apr. T847. 
Cohab. Soror ux Francoise Arenipisikwe. 26. 
Guillauine Wakakosiga. 22. C. 
Matri. dux. uxor. 

Aout 15, 1847 

Marie A. Achte. 
Francois Xav. Wakochinha. 

uxor. 

Cecile. obiit. 
Infantes. Josephine. 12. 

Simon. 7. 



Aloysius de Gonz. Wakewita. obiit. 1847. 

Vixor. 

Helene Mankogwe. C. obiit. 
Infantes. 

Marie. 1. 

Magdaleine. 5. 



M. D. G. 



Status animarum Indianorum nomine Miami. 
Weas, Peorias, Piankishaws, New York Indians. 



le 12 dec. 1847 j'ai re cu le consentement mutuel de jiseph Bourdon fils de 
Francois Bourdon et de Lisette Peret. et de Sophie Gibeau fille de Louis Gibeau 
et de Marie Louise Robidou et leur ai donne la benediction nuptia'e en presence 
de deux temoins. C. TRUYENS, S. J. 

le 14 Mai 1848 j'ai re cu le consentement mutuel de Joseph Bourch et de 
Menastchi, en presence de deux temoins. C. TRUYENS, S. J. 

j'ai re cu le consentement mutuel de Hamilton Bertrand et de Eliza Parson 



OLD RECORDS 241 

avec dispense te due difference de culte. C. TRUYENS, S. J. 

le 17 Juillet 1852, j'ai re cu consentement mutuel de marriage de G. B. Bourre 
et de Rose Anne Gibeau temoins Pierre David Gibeau et Marie Ebneranfeune. 

J. B. MIEGE. S. J. 

Die 2d Maii Baptisavi Joanuem Crooth eodem die consensum matrimonialem 
accepi ejusdem cum Waw-paw-ke-ke-quah, Testes, James Aveline and L.G oin. 

Stephen Cof.t On the 7th of June 1854 the undersigned received the mutual 

and consent of matrimony of M. Stephen Cott, 55 years old, and of 

Mary Cot t Mary (Vajeret) Cott 58 years old. (Mr. Cott is a Canadian and 

Mrs. Cott is a half-breed Weas.) Witnesses, Louis Gibeau and 

Louis Bourg. PAUL MARY PONZIGLIONE, S. J. 

Mr. William Shaw On the 10th of January, 1858, the undersigned received 

and the mutual consent of Matrimony of Mr. William Shaw, an 

Mrs. Rosalia Cott American, and of Mrs. Rosalia Cott, a half-breed Weas, dis- 
pensando in disparitate cultus. Mr. Wm. Shaw having 
never been baptized. Witnesses, Mr. Stephen Cott, Mrs. 
Mary Cott. PAUL MARY PONZIGLIONE, S. J. 

Racheal Donahoo On the 29th of April, 1858, the undersigned received the 

Stephen Cott mutual consent of matrimony of Mr. Stephen Cott (son of 

Mr. Stephen and of Mrs. Mary Cott) and Miss Racheal Dona- 
hoo, dispensing on the impediment Disparitatis cultus. Wit- 
nesses, Mr. Stephen Cott, Mrs. Mary Cott. 

P. M. PONZIGLIONE, S. J. 

le 12 dec. 1847 j'ai re cu consentement mutuel de Charles Gibeau fils de 
Louis Gibeau et de Marie Louise Robidoux et de Adeline Prayone fille de Etienne 
Prayon et de Aloide Prebert et leur ai donne le benediction nuptiale en presence 
de deux temoins. C. TRUYENS. S. J. 

j'ai re cu le consentement mutuel de Joseph Gibeau fils de Louis Gibeau et 
de Marie Louise Robidoux et de Mathilde Prayon fille de Etienne Prayon and de 
Aloise Robert avec dispense du difference consanguinite, en presence de temoins. 

C. TRUYENS. S. J. 

Sophia Bourdon On the 1st of May 1858, the undersigned received the mu- 

Isac Howard tual consent of matrimony of Mr. Isac Howard and of Sophia 

Bourdon belonging to the Miami nation. Witnesses, Mr. 

Fonsaint Cartiser and Mrs. Joseph Cartiser. 

P. M. PONZIGLIONE, S. J. 

On the 3rd of August the undersigned received the mutual consent of matri- 
mony of David Gibeau and Mary Ebner, having dispensed with the impediment. 
Witnesses, Mary Gibeau, Elias Gibeau. J. J. BAX, S. J. 

On the 25th of May, 1857, the undersigned joined in the bonds of matrimony 
James H. Benson and Mary Gibeau catholicam cum dispensatione disparitatis 
cultus. (Miami Nation, Linn Co., Kansas Terr.) Witnesses, John Bourg, Mrs. 
Bourdon. J. SCHOENMAKERS, S. J. 



BAPTISMAL REGISTER OF THE MIAMI NATION. 
1848. 



In the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and forty-eight, on the 
second day of September, I, the undersigned, baptized Josetta, daughter of Pem- 
mame and Mariame Cota, born on the twenty-fourth of August the same year. 
Godfather, Louiton. C. TRUYENS, S. J. 

Moisis On the nineteenth of September, in the year of our Lord. 

and one thousand eight hundred and forty-eight. I baptized Moisis 

Micheal Gibeau and Micheal Gibeau, sons, Charles Gibeau and Adeline Pravon, 



242 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

born on the same day — I baptized Moisis under condition. 
Godfather, Louis Gibeau; Godmother, Matilda Prayon — of the 
latter, Godfather, Micheal Richardsville; Godmother, Mary 
Louise Richardsville. H. VAN MIERLO, S. J. 

On the first of October, in the year of our Lord, one thousand eight hundred 
and forty-eight, I baptized Archange Rosaly Philomena Bourdon, daughter to 
Joseph Bourdon and Sophia Gibeau, born on the twenty-ninth of September last. 
Godfather, James Gibeau; Godmother, Mary Rosaly Gibeau. 

H. VAN MIERLO, S. J. 
his 
James X Gibeau. 
marque 

her 
Mary Rosaly X Gibeau. 

marque 
Peter Cingweusa 

On the 28th of December, 1848, I baptized Peter, one 
year and two months old, son of 
On the 1st of October, 1849, was baptized privately, Catherine Wapipiziggue, 
daughter to Akolekanga and Pekenta, 5 years old. 

J. Schoenmakers, written for 

REV. H. VAN MIERLO, S. J. 

La Ferriere On the first day of July, 1849, I baptized Marguerite, daughter 

Marguerite of Peter La Ferriere and Jane Valet, born 12, January, 1849. 

Godfather, Mr. Richardville; Godmother, Aloise Gibeau. 

C. TRUYENS, S. J. 

Joseph Driver On the fifth day of August, 1849, I baptized Joseph Kaw- 

ahangasalia Driver, about 12 years old. Godfather, Joseph 
Gibeau; Godmother, Madam Wilson. 

H. VAN MIERLO, S. J. 

Catherine On the 9th of December, 1849, the undersigned supplied the 

Mipipiu ceremonies of baptism to Catherine Mipipiu Shiskirri, daughter to 

Askolestha and Dekonsa, born in the spring of 1845. Godmother, 
Mary Gibeau. J. J. BAX, S. J. 

Alexius On the 25th of March, 1850, the undersigned baptized solemnly, 

Nangonza Alexius Nangonza, son to Duyshani and Sousanne Aiol, born in 

March, 1850. Godfather, William Bat; Godmother, Mary Gibeau. 

J. J. BAX, S. J. 

On the same day the undersigned baptized solemnly, son to Francis Valley and 
Hishshe-lo-suat, born 2d of February, 1850. Also son of Manereo and Frances 
Guen, born the winter of 1850. Godfather, Joseph Bourdon; Godmother, Mary 
Gibeau. J. J. BAX, S. J. 

On the 9th day of June, 1850, the undersigned baptized solemnly Sabwainshagho 
(alias Thomas), one year old, son to Thomas Smith and Mrs. Mangantechwa. God- 
father, Jaco Robbideau. J. SCHOENMAKERS, S. J. 

On the 4th of June, the undersigned baptized solemnly Mary Kititonnongkwey, 
about 33 vears old, daughter to Mainsonshe, (mother unknown). Godmother, Rose 
Anne Gibeau. J. SCHOENMAKERS, S. J. 

On the 10th of June, 1850, the undersigned baptized solemnly James, about 5 
years old, son to Jabaisekanh, and Mrs. Petatomekwa. Godmother, Jane Robedo. 

J. SCHOENMAKERS, S. J. 

Catherine On the 11th of July, 1850, the undersigned baptized solemnly 

Wasangworta Catherine Wasangworta, daughter of Nikansa (Sepiurrel) and 

Panaekikanja, about 30 vears old. Godfather, Michel Tezkansa. 

J. J. BAX, S. J. 



OLD RECORDS 243 

Clemens On the same day Clemens Bourdon, son to Joseph Bourdon and 

Bourdon Sophia Gibeau. born 5th of June, 1850. Godfather, Charles Gibeau; 
Godmother, Felice Revard. J. J. BAX, S. J. 

John Bourge On the 2d of January, 1857, the undersigned baptized solemnly 

Francois Bourge, son to Jaque Kasankide and Fakansa, about 3 
months old. Godfather, John Robideau; Godmother, Mary Gibeau. 

J. J. BAX, S J. 



1852. 



On the 29th of February, 1852, the undersigned baptized solemnly Joseph 
Paul Gibeau son to Peter David Gibeau and Mary Ebner. born 25th of February, 

1852. Godmother, Mary Gibeau. PAUL MARY PONZIGLIONE, S. J. 

On the 1st of March, 1852, the undersigned baptized privately Catherine Aul, 
about 25 years old, daughter to Mr. Aul. (Died spring, 1852.) 

PAUL MARY PONZIGLIONE, S. J. 

Elizabeth Annowell On the 1st of March, 1852, the undersigned baptized 

died on the privately Elizabeth Annowell, born the first of January, 

3d of April, 1853. 1852. Daughter to Mr. Annowell and Mrs. Annowell. God- 
mother. Catherine Aul. 

PAUL MARY PONZIGLIONE, S. J. 

Mary On the 9th of May, 1852, the undersigned baptized solemnly 

Pakonge-kowi Mary Pakonge-kwoi, daughter to Kilnasanzan (alias Godfrey) 

and Gin-dig-kwoi, about 5 years old. Godfather, Joseph Bour- 
don; Godmother, Mary Gibeau. 
Also Margarite Lanepi-jik-kwoi, daughter to the above father and mother, 
about 13 months old. Godfather, Jaco Robbedeau and Sophia Bourdon. 

Also Baptist Woipin-rang-woi, son of Sakazkwoi (alias White Loom) and Lan- 
van-na-kwoi, about 5 years old. Godfather, John Robbideau; Godmother, Mathilda 
Gibeau. J. J. BAX, S. J. 

Josephine Josephine Fekonsazkwoi, daughter to Maekonsa and Landana- 

Fekonsazkwoi kig-kwoi, about 4 months old. Godfather, Eliah Gibeau, Godmother, 
Ro'asia Gibeau. J. J. BAX, S. J. 

Margaret On the 21st of September, 1852, the undersigned baptized solemn- 

Mainer ly (but under condition si numquam bone baptisate fuisti) Margaret, 

daughter to Nantsa and Edward Mainer, native of the state of Ten- 
nessee. Godfather has been Joseph Bourdon, Godmother, Sophy 
Bourdon. PAUL MARY PONZIGLIONE, S. J. 

Adele On the same day the undersigned performed the ceremonies of the 

Tebeau Holy Sacrament of Baptism on Adelide Esther, daughter to Matilda 

and Joseph Tebeau, born the 5th of July, 1852. Godfather has been 

John B. Robbedeau and Godmother, Sophy Bourdon. (The child had 

already been baptized by J. B. Miege.) 

PAUL MARY PONZIGLIONE, S. J. 

1853 On the 23rd of October the undersigned performed the ceremony of 
the Holy Sacrament of Baptism on Margarite Mary Lonsa, daughter of Margarite 
and James (or Jaco) Robbedeau. The child was born on the 28th of September, 

1853, and was privately baptized on account of sickness. Godmother, Mrs. Mar- 
garite de Richardville. PAUL MARY PONZIGLIONE, S. J. 

1854 On the 28th of September the undersigned baptized solemnly Louis, 
son to Joseph Tebeau and Matilde Reoume, born 10th of September. Godmother, 
Mary Tebeau. THEOD. HEIMAN 

Hillarius On the 25th of December 1854, the undersigned baptized solemnly 

Honywell lUai, or Hillarius Honywell, son of Mr. Honywell. who was born the 

10th of August, 1854. Belonging to the Miami nation, living near 



244 THE HISTORY OF OUR CRADLE LAND 

the Miami village. Godmother has been Mrs. Mary Jebaeu. 

PAUL MARY PONZIGLIONE, S. J. 

Anne In the month of November of the year 1854, Rt. Rev. John B. Miege 

Polen baptized solemnly Anne Polen, daughter of Mr. Moses Polen and of 

Mrs. Angloque Polen (Ottawa-half-breed) about one year old, living 
near the Mission of M. Micar on the Ottawa creek. 

PAUL MARY PONZIGLIONE. S. J. 

John Baptist On the 21st of November, 1855, the undersigned baptized John 

Guetaca-pua Baptist, son of Guetaca-pua and Jacon-jaque, about 2 months old 

belonging to the Miami nation. Godfather, Ely Jebeau, Godmoth- 
er, Mary Jebeau, PAUL MARY PONZIGLIONE, S. J. 

Mary On the 6th of April, 1856, the undersigned baptized solemnly Mary 

Smith Smith, an orphan child about 7 years old, raised by Mr. Guin. The 

child was born in Westport. Godfather, Micheal M'Guin, Godmother, 
Mrs. Margaret Richardville. PAUL MARY PONZIGLIONE, S. J. 

On the 9th of November, 1857, the undersigned baptized solemnly in domo 
paterna, Agnes Frank, born on the 1st day of September, 1857, daughter to Louis 
Lafountain and Marv Bourdon; Godfather, Joseph Lafountain, Godmother, Agnes 
Demon. ' J. SCHOENMAKERS, S. J. 

Richard On the 30th day of December, 1858, the undersigned baptized 

Lafountain. solemnly in domo paterna Richard, born September 28th, son of 

Thomas Lafountain and Martha Beck. 
Godfather, Louis Lafountain. 
Godmother, Mary Lafountain. IVO SCHACHT, Missionary. 

Paul On the 19th day of June, 1859, the undersigned baptized 

Gotecah-Poech. solemnly Paul, born in August, 1858, son of Go-te-cah-Poech 

and Fa-con-sachuah. 
Godfather, Fonsaint Cartissere. 
Godmother, Mathilde Jibeau. IVO SCHACHT, Missionary. 

Sarah Anne and On the same day the undersigned baptized solemnly 

Edward Robedeaux. Sarah Anne, born 11th of April, 1857, and Edward, born 

November 11th, 1858, children of John Robedeaux. 
Godfather, Fonsaint Cartissere. IVO SCHACHT, Missionary. 

Howard. On the same day, privately, a child of J. Howard, in Miami Vil- 

lage. 7 days old. IVO SCHACHT, Missionary. 



1860. 



Louisa On the 30th day of January the undersigned baptized solemnly 

Lafountaine. Louisa, born July the 9th, 1859, daughter of Louis Francis Lafoun- 
taine and of Mary Magdalene Bodeaux; Godfather Anthony 
Schmitt being godfather, the child is a Miami. 

IVO SCHACHT, Missionary. 



1861. 



Mary On the 10th day of April the undersigned baptized solemnly 

Elizabeth Mary Elizabeth, born in March, daughter of Luther Pascal and 
Pascal. Elizabeth Burke; Lucier Dagenette and E. Price being sponsors, 

the child is a Wea half-breed. IVO SCHACHT, Missionary. 



247 



ALPHABETICAL INDEX 



A 

Page 
Abbot, Rt. Rev. Innocent Wolf, O. 

S. B 50, 52 

Abel. Rev. Anthony Joseph 97-98 

Academy, Ursuline 207, 222 

Aelen, Herman Gerard, S. J. XXIII; 

10, 12, 24 

Allen, Michael 63. 76 

Allen, Henry 64 

Altar Society 156 

Appendix 223-244 

B 

Bax, John J., S. J., XVIII; Diary 35 

Barat, Madeline Sophia 15 

Baden, Rev. Stephen 12 

Barron, Rt. Rev. Edw 87, 88 

Benedictine Fathers 50 

Benedictine Sisters 51 

Bull Creek District 66 

Baptismal Records, Appendix 137 

Burk, Rev. Maurice 117. 131-147 

BoUweg. Rev. John 166, 179. 213 

Balocca, Secondo 71 

Burns, Wm. H 183 

Burns. Mrs. Mary E 185 

Boisvert, W. G 196 

Bruner, George, Rev 200, 201 

C 

Creek, Pottawatomie 12 

Cradle Land 12. 

Creek. Sugar 13, 29. 30. 31 

Condensation of Diary 12 

Cemetery at Bdgerton 203 

Cemetery. Chashman 27 

Old Cemetery Abandoned 112 

Holy Cross Cemetery 

Deed of Purchase 111-112 

Colton, Rev. Jas 113 

Catholic Indian Names 27 

Charland. John B 71 

Conboy. Philip 173 

Carmelite Fathers 51 

Charity Sisters 51 

Churchill, John 195 

Cunningham, Rt. Rev. John F. 51, 141 

Carius, Rev. Aloysius 107-109 

Cabin Homes of Kansas 54 

Cunningham, Maurice 63, 75 

Cunningham. Michael 64, 83 

Collins, Richard 64 

Connor, John and Mary J 66 

Clark, Thomas and Sarah 66 

Clark, James and Anna 66 

Casey, Philip and Margaret 66 

Clark. James B 74 



Page 

Clark. Mrs. Marcella 81 

Clark, Mrs. Anna 75 

Churches of Indians: 

Kickapoo (1836) 10 

Pottawatomie Creek (1838) 12 

Sugar Creek, (1839) 12 

Peoria Village (18—) 74 

Osage Mission ( 1847) 35 

Miami Village ( 18—) 24 

St. Mary, Kaw river (1848) 13 

Pottawatomie Reservation in Potta- 
watomie County 31 

Churches for White People: 

St. Columkil, Bull Creek 200 

Stone Church, Bull Creek 201 

Church of the Assumption, Edger- 

ton 201, 203 

Holy Trinity Church, Paola..90, 93 
Holy Trinity Church, Paola 102, 111 
Holy Trinity Church, New 131. 136 

Holy Rosary Church, Wea 164 

Holy Rosary Church 164 

Holy Rosary Church 166 

Immaculate Conception Church, 

Louisburg 177, 178 

St. Philips Church, Osawatomie 189 

D 

De Coen, F. X., S. J. XVIII 24 

Days, Indian 3 

De la Croix, Rev. Charles VIII 

XVIII 6. 7, 8 

Diary, Rev. Christian Hoecken's 

12, 144, 225-236 

Diels, Rev. John, S. J 13 

Dornseifer, Rev. Anthony 120 

Dubourg, Most Rev. Louis W. V. 

XVII 5, 6, 15, 87 

Duchesne, Philippine, Ven 

15 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21 22 

Dawn of a New Day, 49-54 Part III. 

Darr, Dr. John 63 

Dalton, Joseph 64 

Dalton, Mrs. Joseph 82 

Domann, Rev. Adolph J 154 

Doherty Family 169 

Donnelly, Rev. Bernard 200 

E 

Eysvogels, Anthony, S. J., XVIII.. 10 

Episcopal Notes 87 

Edgerton, 197-206 Part IX. 

Edgerton Pioneers 199 



Florissant 6 

Fink, Rt. Rev. L. M.. O. S. B 

87, 88, 100 



248 



NDEX 



Page 
Foundations Laid 49-54 Part III. 

Favre, Rev. Sebastian 51, 92 

Famine Year 60, 66 

Fenoughty, Michael 67, 68 

Freisberg, Rev. Henry r. 167 

Fitzgerald, Rev. F. T 149 

Fitzpatrick, Rev. D. J 202 

G 

Garraghan, Rev. G. J., S. J. VI.... 13 

Gailland, Rev. Maurice, S. J 13 

Gleason, Rev. Michael J 110-112 

Grotto, Ursuline Academy 214 

H 

Hoecken, Christian, S. J., XVIII... 

12, 13. 14, 24, 29, 30, 31 

Hurley, Rev. D. J 101-107 

Holy Trinity Church 85-127 Part V. 
Holy Trinity Church, New, 129-160 

Part VI. 

Hunting Season, Indian 23 

Hayden, Mother Bridget 35 

Heimann, Rev. Theodore 50, 51 

Harkin, John and Mary 06 

Hall. Rev. D. C 202 

Hennessy, Rt. Rev. J. J 120 

Hohe, Rev. Joseph 145 

Heuberger, Rev 179 

Hogan, Patrick 82 

I 

Index 247 

Index of Illustrations 251 

Isaacs, Mary Ann 26 

Indian Days. 1-31. Part I. 

Irish Settlement 64 

Indian Families. List of 237-241 

Indian and French Baptismal Rec- 
ords 237 

Indian Records (1846 to 1859.) Ap- 
pendix 241-244 

In Memoriam...72, 168. 180. 195, 205 

Indian Names 27 

Indian Spring 23 

Indian Schools: 

Sugar Creek 17, 18 

Osage Mission 35, 36 

Indian Missions. Sugar Creek, 18, 21 

Indians, The 3 

Pawnees, Omahaws. Missourians. .3 

Miamis VII 3, 7, 24 

Kanzas 3 

Osages 3, 35, 36 

Kickapoos 3, 10 

Choctaws, 3 ; Chickasaws 3 

Cherokees. 3 ; Creeks 3 

Seminoles 3 

Senicas, 3 ; Ottaways 3 

Chippeways, 3 ; Otoes 3 



Page 

Shawanees, 3 ; Delawares 3 

loways, 3; Foxes 3 

Pottawatomies 3, 12, 31 

Kaskaskias, 7; Weas 7 

Piankeshaws 7 

Peorias 7, 23 

J 

Johann, Mathias 70 

Jerome, Mother 210 

K 

Kickapoo Tribe VII 0, 10, 12 

Kansas Prairies 28 

Kenrick, Rt. Rev. Peter Richard . . 

35, 87 

Kuhls. Rt. Rev. Anthony 51, 53 

Koehler, Jacob 65, 77 

Koehler, Mrs. Jacob 78 

Koehler, Frank 65 

Kaw or Kansas River 30 

Kinsella. Rev. Thomas H 148-154 

Knights of Columbus 159 

Kramer. Rev. L 202 

Kelly. Michael 169 

Kelly Family 174 

L 

Lyons. City of 4 

Lutz, Rev. Joseph 9 

Lillis. Rt. Rev. Thos. Francis, 88, 143 
Ladies of the Sacred Heart.. 6, 15-22 

Loretto Sisters 35 

Louisburg, 177-186. Part VII. 

League of the Sacred Heart 156 

Library of the Sacred Heart 158 

Langan, Martin 69 

Larkin, John 172 

Log Cabin, the Famous 202, 203 



M 



Miege. Rt. Rev. John Baptist. S. J. 

XVIII 14. 43-46, 87, 97 

Mazella, Andrew, Brother 12 

Miles, George, Brother 12 

Marais des Cygnes VII 19 

Mother Duchesne 15-22 

Mother Hayden 35 

Mother Jerome 210 

Miami County's First Settlers, 55-84 

Part IV. 

First Catholic Settlers 63 

Mayors of Paola 62 

Moran, Michael 64 

Marysville Township 66 

Madden. Rev. Thos. E 116 

Meier, Rev. Rudolph 162 



INDEX 



249 



Mahoney, Mrs. Patrick 69 

Miller, Adam 171 

Miller, Peter 172, 184 

Miller, Mrs. Anna E 185 

Missions, See Father Hoecken's Diary 

Kickapoo 6, 10, 12 

Pottawatomie Creek 12 

Sugar Creek 29-31 

Kaw River 13, 14, 30 

Peoria Village 23 

Miami Village VII 23 

Osage 35-36 

Buildings, Sugar Creek, Burned.. 30 

Pottowatomie Reservation 31 

McGrath, Robert 65 

McGrath, Alice 79 

McCormick, Wm. and Mary 66 

McGuirk, Mrs. Ellen 180 

McNamara, Rev. Patrick 178, 179 

McGeary, Rev. B. F 202 

N 

Napoleon Bonapart 15 

Nolen, F. G 65 

Noonen, Rev. Father 201 

Neusius, Rev. Nicholas 114 

Negahanquet, Rev. Albert 31 

NOTES— 

Bishop Hogan 6 

Father Van Quickenborne 11 

Location of Sugar Creek 12 

Indian Manuscripts Found 13 

St. Mary's College, Oldest School 14 

Father Aelen, S. J 24 

Origin of Name "Paola" 38 

Pontifical 37 

Episcopal 37 

Sacerdotal 38 

Confirmation Classes 97 

Rev. James Colton 113 



Odin, John M 4 

Odin, Rev. John M 4. 5 

Old Records, Appendix 237 

Osages VII 5 

Osage Mission. Part II 33-46 

Osage Mission 35, 36 

Osage Schools 35, 36 

Osage Township 64 

O'Connor, Rev. J. J 113-114 

O'Keefe, Michael 176 

O'Farrell, Rev. M. J 149, 192 

Osawatomie, 187-196. Part VIII. 



Ponziglione, Paul Mary, S. J., XVIII 
14, 35-41. See Diary. 



Page 

Pontifical Notes 87 

Paola, Origin of Name 38 

Paola, Notes on 58 

Paola, Incorporated 60, 61 

Peorias, See Diary 7, 23, 38, 58 

Pottawatomie Creek 12 

Pottawatomies 12, 13, 14, 29, 30, 31 

Prairies of Kansas 28 

Poland, James 63 

Pickles. Elias and Mary Jane 70 

Panegyric, V. Rev. Dan'l. Hurley.. 105 

Pabst, William 171 

Purcell, Rev. J. F 192 

Pujos, Rev. Father 201 

Pompeney, Rev. Doctor 201 

Peoria Village 23 

Peoria, Baptiste 25 

Peoria, Mrs. Mary Ann 26 

Priests, Jesuit, (See Fr. Hoecken's 
Diarv 225.) 

Aelen, XVIII 10, 12, 24 

Bax, 35, Corbette 46 

DielR 10, 13 

De Coen XVIH 10, 24 

Eysvogels, XVIII 10 

Galliand 10, 13 

Hoecken, C 10, 12, 13, 14 

Hoecken, Adrian 10 

Ponziglione 36, 41 

Schoenmakers, XVIII 35, 36 

Truyens 10, 24 

Van Mierlo 24 

Van Quickenborne XVIII 7, 9, 10, 11 
Verhaegen, XVIII. 

Verreydt, XVIII 10 

Van de Velde, XVIII. 

Fenoughty 68 

Knipscher 204 

Priests, Secular, Paola. 

Abel 97 

Burk 117, 131 

Carius 107 

Domann 154 

Favre 51, 92 

Fitzgerald 149 

Gleason HO 

Hurley 101 

Kuhls 51, 53 

Kinsella 148 

Madden 116 

Neusius 114 

O'Connor 113 

O'Farrell 149, 192 

Quick 115 

Purcell 192 

Schacht 51, 89 

Taton 121 

Vallely 193 

Vv^attron 51, 92 



250 



NDEX 



Page 
Priests, Secular. Edgerton 

200, 201. 202 

Priests, Secular, Wea 263, 267 

Priests, Secular, Louisburg 

177, 178, 179 

Negahanquet, Rev. Albert, Indian.. 31 
Pioneers. 

Indian 12, 27 

Whites, French Traders 57 

Osawatomie 190 

Bull Creek (Edgerton) 199 

Irish Settlement (Paola) 64 

Wea 163 

Louisburg 177, 179 

Q 

Quick^ Rev. Thomas 115 

River, Kansas or Kaw 13, 30 

Sugar Creek 12, 29, 31 

Marais des Cygnes 19 

Neosho 7 

Osage 19 

R 

Riley, Hugh and Margaret 66 

Riley, John and Catherine 66 

Riley Brothers 66, 67 

Rosati, Rt. Rev. Bishop 87 

Redeker, Rev. John 164 

Ryan, Johanna 174 

Rigney, Patrick 184 

Rebecca at the Well 215 



Page 

Angela Fenoughty 68 

Veronica Fenoughty 68 

Cecilia Koehler 78 

Loyola Keenan 84 

M. Luke Gaffney 195 

Angela Meyer 209, 217 

Walburga Stahl 175 

M. Charles McGrath 79 

Sisters of the Pottawatomie Tribe 31 

Schwartz, Wm 16S 

Schwartz. Jacob 171 

Sheehy Mrs. John SO 

Sheridan, Bernard J 72 

Sheridan. William D 73 

Sheridan. Mrs. Wm. D 72 

Seek. Jacob 171 

Stahl, Catherine 175 

Schools: 

St. Mary's, Sugar Creek 17, 18 

St. Patrick's, Paola 122-126 

Holy Rosary, Wea 164, 167 

St. Philip's, Osawatomie 194 

Ursuline Academy 211 

Silver Jubilee, Sister M. Angela's 217 

Sisters FVom Edgerton 204 

Sister Felicitas McCarthy. 
Sister Zita Sullivan. 
Sister M. Bernard Knipscher. 
Margaret Kauffman. 
Agnes McCarthy. 



Truyens, Chas., S. J., XVIII 24, Diary 
"The Cabin Homes of Kansas". .. .54 
Taton. Rev. Francis 121-127 



Schoenmakers. John. S. J., XVIII 
35. 36, See Diary. 

Sugar Creek 13, 29, 30, 31 

St. Mary's Mission 29, 30, 31 

St. Paul 36 

Sheridan. Bernard J 72 

Schools, Indian. 

Sugar Creek 17, 18 

Osage Mission 35, 36 

Sacerdotal Notes 88 

Sodality, Young Ladies 156 

Sisters of Charity 51 

Sisters of St. Benedict 51 

Sisters of Loretto 35 

Sisters of St. Ursula 209 

Schacht, Rev. Ivo VIII, 51, 89-91, 201 

Sheehan, Mrs. Catherine 64 

Settlers, First Catholic 63 

Sewing Society 158 

Settlers, First Miami County 57 

Sheridan, William D 64-65 

Strausbaugh, Anthony 65 

Smith, Patrick and Catherine 66 

Sisters. 



U 

Ursuline Academy, 207-222 Part X. 
V 

Van Quickenborne, Chas. Felix, S. J. 

XVIII. 7, 9, 10. 11. See Diary. 
Van de Velde, Oliver. S. J., XVIII. 

See Diary. 
Van Mierlo, Henry. S. J., XVIII. 24. 

Diary. 
Verhaegen, Rev. P. J., S. J. 12. See 

Diary. 
Verreydt. Felix L.. S. J., XVIII. 10, 

12. See Diary. 

Vohs, Anthony 170 

Vohs, Eugene 170 

Vohs. Joseph 170 

Vallely, Rev. Eugene F 193 



W 



Ward, Rt. Rev. John V..88, 146 



INDEX 



251 



Page 

Wolf, Rt. Rev. Abbot 50, 52 

Wattron, Francis J 51, 92-97 

Wolfe. Richard 64 



Page 
Wea, Holy Rosary Church, 161, 176. 

Part VII. 
Wieners, Rev. A. J 164 



INDEX OF ILLUSTRATIONS 



Page 
Frontispiece — The Most Reverend 
Louis William Valentine Dubourg. 

Mother Philippine Duchesne 21 

Indian Spring, Paola, Kansas 23 

Baptiste Peoria and Wife 25 

Rev. John Schoenmakers, S. J 35 

Father Ponziglione 36 

The Right Rev. John Baptist Miege, 

S. J 42 

Rev. Theodore Heimann 50 

A Sister of Nazareth 51 

A Sister of Leavenworth 51 

The Right Rev. Innocent Wolf, 

O. S B., D. D 52 

Right Rev. Mgr. Kuhls 53 

Members of the Fenoughty Family 68 

B. J. Sheridan ...72 

Sister M. Cecilia Koehler 78 

Sister Mary Charles McGrath 79 

Sister M. Loyola Keenan 81 

Michael Cunningham 83 

Rev. Ivo Schacht 89 

East Side of Public Square, Paola.. 90 

Rev. Sebastian Favre 92 

Rev. Francis J. Wattron 92 

Rev. Anthony Joseph Abel 97 

The Right Rev. L. M. Fink, O. S. B. 99 

Rev. Daniel J. Hurley 101 

Holy Trinity Church 102 

Rev. Aloysius Carius 107 

Rev. Michael J. Gleason 110 

Sanctuary of Church Which Burn- 
ed Ill 

Rev. James J. O'Connor 113 

Rev. Nicholas Neusius 114 

Rev. Thomas Quick 116 

Rev. Thomas E. Madden 117 

Rev. Maurice Burk 117 

Rt. Rev. Bishop Hennessy, D. D...119 

Rev. Anthony Dornseifer 121 

Rev. Francis Taton 121 

Parochial Residence and School, 

Paola, Kas 123 

New Holy Trinity Church 136 



Page 
Very Rev. John F. Cunningham, 

D. D 140 

Rt. Rev. Thomas Francis Lillis, 

D. D 142 

Rt. Rev. John Ward, D. D 145 

Rev. Thomas H. Kinsella (At 35 

years) 148 

Rev. Thomas H. Kinsella (At 45 

years) 149 

Rev. Thomas H. Kinsella, LL. D. 

(At 65 years) 150 

Very Rev. A. J. Domann, V. F 154 

Interior of New Holy Trinity 

Church, Paola, Kansas 155 

Church of the Holy Rosary, Wea, 

Kansas 168 

Very Rev. John Redeker 164 

Rev. Augustine J. Wieners 164 

Rev. Joseph Hohe 165 

Father Bollweg 166 

Holy Rosary District School, Wea. .167 

William Schwartz 168 

Sister Walburga 175 

Immaculate Conception Church, 

Louisburg, Kansas 178 

Original St. Philip's Church, Osa- 

watomie, Kansas 189 

Rev. Eugene F. Vallely 193 

The New St. Philip's Church and 

School 194 

Sister Mary Luke (Gaffney) 195 

Assumption Church Rectory, Ed- 

gerton, Kansas 202 

Rev. David C. Hall 202 

Church of the Assumption 203 

Thomas Coughlin 205 

Sister Angela Meyer, first novice.. 209 

Mother Jerome 210 

Original Ursuline Academy, Paola, 

Kansas 211 

Ursuline Academy, Paola, Kansas 212 
The Grotto, Ursuline Academy. .. .214 

Rebecca At the Well 215 

Chaplain's Residence 216