Skip to main content

Full text of "Chicago, the marvelous city of the West : a history, an enyclopedia, and a guide : 1893 : illustrated"

See other formats


M BIRD'S-EYE WIEW 



OF CHICAGO 

O3sn_,"!r BE 

BY READING REGULARLY 




YOU CANNC' 1 ' ccn Tun "^ DI c CAID 

SUCCESSFUl 

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS 

WHAT 1 O L 

LIBRARY 

Y 

U 

P Class Book Volume 



YOU CANNC 
BEST ADVAF 



1 OC\^UI\C rt 01 1 Urt 1 



UNLESS YOU CONSULT THE 

"WANTS" OF THOSE WHO ADVERTISE. 

YOU CANNOT BE 

IN THE SWIM 

UNLESS YOU READ 

THE CHICAGO TRIBUNE. 



AN INVITATION 



FROM 




THE CHICAGO HERALD 



AND RESIDENTS ARE INVARIABLY 
INTERESTED IN SEEING JUST 

HOW A GREAT NEWSPAPER is 

MADE, AND EVERY FACILITY IS 
CORDIALLY GIVEN THEM BY 
THE "HERALD." . . . ... 

FOR DESCRIPTION OF THIS, THE MODEL NEWSPAPER 
BUILDING OF THE WORLD, SEE PAGE 423. . . . 

ARE WELCOME AT ANY HOUR 
OF ANY DAY OR NIGHT, AND AS 

WTQ1 POP^ THERE IS NEITHER LOCK NOR 
V IwJJ 1 V/1\O KEY TQ JHE BUILDING, IT 

NEVER CAN BE CLOSED. . . 

FOR QARpFULLY EXECUTED HALF-TONE PICTURES 
OF TH' f HERALD" BUILDING, SEE INDEX TO ILLUS- 
TRATIONS, THIS VOLUME. 

THE VISITORS' GALLERY 

OVERLOOKS THE TEN GREAT PRESSES ON WHICH 
IS PRINTED THAT GREATEST OF TWO-CENT MET- 
ROPOLITAN NEWSPAPERS, 

THE CHICAGO HERALD. 



TRAIHS IH AMERICA, 



BAL TIM ORE & OHIO RAILROAD 



JVew York, Philadelphia, 
Baltimore and 




All Trains Vestibuled from End to End, and protected by Pullman's Anti-Telescoping Appliance, 

including Baggage Cars, Day Coaches, Parlor Cars and Sleepers. 
ALL CARS HEATED BY STEAM AND LIGHTED BY PINTSCH CAS. 



THE BALTIMORE AND OHIO RAILROAD 



Maintains a Complete Service 

of Vestibuled Express 

Trains between 




New York, Cincinnati, 
St. Louis & Chicago, 

EQUIPPED WITH 

PULLMAN 

PALACE SLEEPING CARS 

Running Through Without Change. 

ALL B. & 0. TRAINS 

BETWEEN THE 

EAST AND WEST 
RUN VIA WASHINGTON. 




\\V t^**"' PRINCIPAL OFFICES : 

5 211 Washington Street, Boston, Mass. Cor. Wood St. and Fifth Ave., Pittsburgh, Pa. 

415 Broadway, New York. Corner 4th and Vine Streets, Cincinnati, O. 

Cor. 9th and Chestnut Sts., PhilndPlphia, Pa 
Cor. BaltimoreandCalvertfits.. Baltimore, Md. 
1351 Pennsylvania Arenue, Washington, D, C. 



T. ODELL, GENERAL MANAGER. 



CHAS 



irk Street, Chicago, 111. 
105 Broadway, St. Louis, Mo. 
O. SCULL, GENERAL PASSENGER AGENT. 



BALTIMORE, 

ii 



For 
New York, 

Boston, 
Mass. 

Albany, N. Y. 
Buffalo, N. Y. 

Jamestown, 
N.Y. 

Chautauqua 
Lake, N. Y. 

Columbus, 0, 
and all other 
points 
on the 
Erie Lines. 



ERIE LINES. 




Chicago to the East. 

Solid Vestibule Trains between 

CHICAGO AND NEW YORK, 

With Pullman Sleeping, Dining and Day Coaches. 

Pullman Buffet Sleeping Cars to Boston, and 

Pullman Sleeping Cars to Ashland, Ky., via Columbus, O., 

EVERY DAY IN THE YEAR. 

No Change of Cars on any Class of Tickets 
to New York. 



For further information, call on or address 



A. M. WARRELL, 
City Pass, and Ticket Agt., 

242 Clark St., Chicago. 
D. I. ROBERTS, 

Gen'l Pass. Agt., New York, 
iii 



F. W. BUSKIRK, 

Ass't General Passenger Agent, 
Chicago. 
A. M. TUCKER, 
Gen'l Manager, Cleveland, O. 



NEW ROUTE 

NEW TRAIN 

ELEGANT 

EQUIPMENT 



VIA THE 



CENTRAL 

1. C. ^^^^ R.R. 

ROUTE. 




SOLID TRAIN 



(ESTABLISHED 1830.) 



NORTHERN 

Assurance Company, 

ABERDEEN. LONDON. 



United States Department Offices: 

BOSTON, CHICAQO, CINCINNATI, 

NEW YORK, SAN FRANCISCO. 



Losses paid since organization, - $35,000,000 
Losses paid in United States, - 6,890,000 



Northwestern Department : 

\VM. 3D. CROOKK, Manager, 

226 La Salle Street, CHICAGO. 

Colorado, Dakotas, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan. Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, 
Nebraska, New Mexico, Wisconsin', Wyoming. 



CHICAGO OFFICE: 

153 LA SALLE STRKKT. 

TELEPHONE 1520, 

CHARLES NELSON BISHOP, City Manager. 




MARSHALLfiaD&G). 

STATE AND WASHINGTON STREETS, CHICAGO. 



Probably of more importance to ladies than any point of inter 
est in Chicago, is the retail house of MARSHALL FIELD & Co. Ratec 
as it is among the largest in the world, it is by far the most com- 
plete and most handsomely equipped in Chicago, and a shopping 
headquarters for the larger portion of its residents. To stranger! 
a most cordial welcome is extended. Waiting Rooms, Chech 
Rooms, Retiring Rooms, and all possible conveniences are offered tc 
those who care to enjoy them. To patrons it has to recommend r 

Large Stock of Dry Goods, etc. 
Low (the lowest) Prices, 

and 
Absolute Trustworthiness. 

vi 



\ WISCONSIN! 
'CENTRAL 

LJNE_S' 

NORTHERN PACIFIC 

R.VILRCAO CO. 
S- LESSEE -X 



RUN 

Fast Trains with Pullman Vestibuled 
Drawing Room Sleepers. Dining Cars 
and Coaches of latest design, between 
Chicago and Milwaukee and St. Paul 
and Minneapolis. 

Fast Trains with Pullman Vestibuled 
Drawing Room Sleepers, Dining Cars 
and Coaches of latest design, between 
Chicago and Milwaukee and Ashland 
and Duluth. 

Through Pullman Vestibuled 
Drawing Room and Tourist Sleepers 
via the Northern Pacific Railroad 
between Chicago and Portland, Ore. 
and Tacoma, Wash. 

Convenient Trains to and from East- 
ern, Western, Northern and Central Wis- 
consin points, affording unequalled service 
to and from Waukesha, Fond du Lac, 
Oshkosh, Neenah, Menasha, Chip- 
pewa Falls, Eau Claire, Hurley, Wis., 
and Ironwood and Bessemer, Mich. 

For tickets, sleeping car reservations," 
time tables and other information apply 
to Agents of the Line, or to Ticket Agents 
anywhere in the United States or Canada. 
8. R. AINSLIE, Gen'l Manager, - - CHICAGO, ILL 
J. H. HANNAFORD, Gen'l Traffic Mgr., ST. I'ADL, MINN. 
H. C. BARLOW, Traffic Ipr., - - - CHICAGO, ILL, 
JA8. C. POND, Gen'l Paw'r i Tkt. Agt. , CHICAGO, ILL 



vil 




RICE & WHIT ACRE M'F'G CO., 

Kngines, Boilers, 

STEAM PUMPS, 

PULLEYS, SHAFTING, 

AND HANGERS, 
AND 

HOT WATER 
HEATING APPARATUS. 
47 SOUTH CANAL STREET, 

CHICAGO. 

ESTABLISHED 1857. 

J. B. CHAMBERS * CO., 

CLARK AND MADISON STS. 

IMPORTERS. 

DIAMONDS, RUBIES, SAPPHIRES, 

PEARLS, EMERALDS, ETC., LOOSE, SET AND 
MOUNTED TO ORDER. 

^,25I^j5LTCHiE*S- AMERICAN AND FOREIGN. 

STERLING SILVER SOUVENIR SPOONS. 

GOLD AND SILVER. 



DONOHUE & HENNEBERRY 

PUBLISHERS, 

PRINTERS find 

BINDERS. 



4O7 TO 




General Offices, ... 

Printing- Department, 
Bindery, ----- 
School Stationery and Supplies, 
Publishing and Wholesale Books, 
Subscription Books - 



STR&&T. 



6th Floor. 

Gtli and Basement. 

5th, 7th and Sth Floors. 

- 4th Floor. 
3rd Floor. 

- 2nd Floor. 



OUR FACILITIES ARE EQUAL TO ANY EMERGENCY. 

ESTIMATES CHEERFULLY FURNISHED ON APPLICATION. 




55 U 

2 
H H 



S . 

I 5 

U H J 
3 o7 

"S l ~ l eo I** 

sMI 

S => u S 



S tn 



H e 



c o -S 
o S 



.CHICAGO 



THE MARVELOUS CITY OF THE WEST 
A HISTORY, AN ENCYCLOPEDIA 

AND 

A 6U1D 

SEOOlsTID 

ILLUSTRATED 

1S33 



WRITTEN AND COMPILED BY 

j. 



\ot in the Arabian Nights' Entertainments, though bathed in all the glorious 
colorings of Oriental fancy, is there a tale which surpasses in 
wonder the plain, unvarnished history of Chicago." 



NATIONAL BOOK AND PICTURE CO. 

167 AND 169 FIFTH AVENUK 

CHICAGO 



Entered according to act of Congress, 
BY THE STANDARD GUIDE CO. 

(Joes J. FLINN, President; W. S. SHEPPARD, 

Secretary and Treasurer.) 
in the Office of the Librarian of Congress, 
at Washington, D. C. 



All Rights of Translation Reserved. 



J. W. rf.1-.OR, PHOTO&BAPHE 



N 

> TO 

THE CHILDREN OF CHICAGO 
IN GENERAL, 

AND TO 

MY OWN LITTLE CHILDREN 
X\ IN PARTICULAR, 

WHO, IF THE LORD SPARES THEM UNTIL 

THEY SHALL HAVE ATTAINED 
C< 
THE ALLOTTED SPAN OF LIFE, 

WILL SEE THIS CITY 
THE GREATEST METROPOLIS ON THE GLOBE, 

THIS VOLUME 
IS AFFECTIONATELY DEDICATED 

BY 
THE COMPILER. 



THIS BOOK 
IS DIVIDED ^NTO T^IVB FVA.RTS. 



PART I. CHICAGO AS IT WAS. 

PART IT. CHICAGO AS IT IS. 

PART III. THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 

PART IV. THE WORLD'S COLOMBIAN EXPOSITION. 

PART V. THE GUIDE. 



LITHOGRAPHING IN ALL ITS BRANCHES. 




FIRST-CLASS WORK. 

NO FANCY PRICES. 

GIVE US A TRIAL. 



LITHOGRAPHERS 



N. w. COR, DEARBORN & HARRISON STS. 
W. B. ORCUTT, GEN-U MGR. 



CHICAGO. 



BELDEN F. CULVER, 

O^T COl^Tls^ISSIOiT IltT 

REAL ESTATE. 

PROPERTY Of NON-RESIDENTS TAKEN CHARGE OF AND THEIR INTER- 
ESTS PROTECTED. 

CAREFUL ATTENTION GIVEN TO THE PAYMENT OF TAXCS AND 
SPECIAL ASSESSMENTS' 

59 DEARBORN ST., CHICAGO, 



ANDREW DUNNING, 






92 La Salle Street, 



CHICAGO. 



ACRE TRACTS in the Northwest Sections of 
Chicago for Subdivision and Investment 

eft 

purposes. 

V * 

IMPROVED PROPERTY paying fixed income 
on gold basis. 

CORRESPONDENCE SOLICITED. 



MAPS AND ILLUSTRATIONS. 



MAPS. 

Showing the City of Chicago as It Is Streets, Boulevards, Park System, Location 
of World's Columbian Exposition, Important Points, Industrial Centers, 
Annexed Suburbs, Outlying Territory, Etc. [Contained in "Pocket" of 
back cover.] 

Showing Chicago Sanitary Drainage District P%ge 

Showing Burned District of Chicago, After Great Fire of October, 1871 Page 

Showing Relative Position of Chicago with Regard to Other Principal Cities of 
the World, facing - Page 



108 
400 



309 



ILLUSTRATIONS. 



Facing Pago. 
Andrews, A. H. & Co., Sales Rooms. . . .'48 

Areiid's Drug Store 231 

Auburn Park Suburb, View in 27V 

Auditorium, The 21 

Berwyn, Railway Station at ... 136 

Carpenter, Geo. B. & Co., Building. ... 72 
Chicago has arisen Solace in Tribu- 
lation. Frontispice 

Chicago Opera House, Entrance to. .. 805 
Chicago Water Pumping Stations. . . . 484 
Dai y News,The Chicago, Composition 

and Press Rooms 400 

Dale & Sempill's, Interior View 157 

Douglas Monument 497 

Drexel Fountain, Washington Park.. 4."itl 

Eggleston Suburb, View in 2M 

Ely. The Edward C-)., Interior 641 

Germania Theater Building . . . 121 

Goodrich Line .Steamer "Virginia". . 441 
Gormuliy & Jeffery Mfg. Co.'s Works. 208 

Grand Central Passenger Station 469 

Grand Opera House, interior View. .. 3(14 

Grant Locomotive Works 104 

Grant Statue, Lincoln Park 29 

Herald Building 228 

Herald Building, Interior 236 

Hooley's Theater, Interior 149 

Indian Group, Lincoln Park 57 

Inter-Ocean Building 144 

Journal and Stock Exchange B'ld'gs.. 433 
Keeley Institute, Business Office, Inte- 
rior 528 

Keeley Institute, Laboratory & Office 

Building 177 

Keeley Institute, Laboratory Waiting 

Room . . 241 

Keeley Institute, Taking the Treat- 
ment 328 

Keeley Institute, Waiting for the Train 405 

KimballHall 505 

Kimball, W. W. Co., Works of 533 

Kimbark, S. D. & Co.'s Building 313 



Facing Pajre. 

La Sal le Statue 85 

Libby Prison Museum 285 

Marshall Field & Co.'s Retail House. . . 272 

Masonic Temple 113 

McCormick Harvesting Machine Co.'s 

Works 336 

Me Vicker's Theater, Interior 06 

Michigan Avenue Block, A 377 

Milwaukee A venue State BankB'ld'g. 520 
New York Mutual Life Ins. Co., Chi- 
cago Office, Interior 4*3 

Prairie Avenue, View on 464 

Pullman, Administration Building at. 264 

Pullman Building 100 

Pullman, Boulevard in 4l2 

Pullman, Corliss Engine House and 

Water Tower at 172 

Pullman, Presbyterian Church at 569 

Relic House, near Lincoln Park 213 

Richardson, M. A . & Co 5.iO 

Ritchie, W. C. & Co.'s Building 892 

Roseland Suburb, Bird's-eye View of.. 428 
Sawyer - Goodman Co.'s Receiving 

Docks 249 

Scandia Hall 4^7 

Siegel Cooper & Co.'s Establishment. . 420 

Skandinaven Building 300 

Smyth, The John M. Building 349 

State Street, Looking North from 

Madison 584 

St. Joseph's Hospital 341 

St. Vincent's Infant Asylum 80 

Temple, The lf"> 

Tribune Building 44 

Union National Bank, Interior 108 

Union Stock Yards, The Exchange.... 292 

Wellington Hotel 93 

Wells-Fargo Express Office, Interior. 49 
World's Columbian Exposition, 

Administration Building 356 

World's Columbian Exposition,Bird's- 

eye View 17 



ADVERTISERS IN THIS BOOK. 



(For Buyers' Guide Directory, see Adveitising Pages II, III, IV and V, back of book.) 



FRONT OF BOOK. 

PAGE 

Baltimore & Ohio Railroad ii 

Chambers, J. B. & Co viii 

Culver,B. F. R'l Est ,opplnd Book Div. 
Dunning, A. (>i>|>. I n:l. to Maps and III. 
Duiming,And'w,R'l Est.In.Opp.Gen Ind 

Erie Lines iii 

Field, Marshall & Co vi 

Herald, The Chicago i 

Illinois Central Railroad iv 

Northern Assurance Company v 

Orcutt Co. The. tith opp. this page. 
Prabody, Houghtelling & Co. Inv., f. p. 
Rice & whittacre Manufacturing Co. ..viii 
Tribune, The Chicago. Ins. front cover 

Wisconsin Central Lines, The vi 

BACK OF BOOK. 

PAGE 

American Trust & Savings Bank, The ii 

Andrews, A. H. & Co., F. Beds (card) . . iii 

Andrews, A H. & Co xxix 

' Andrews, Johnson & Co., Venti'ators * 

Art Institute. Art Galleries and Schools. . .ii 
Artingstall, Samuel G., Civil Engineer. ..iii 
Athenaeum, Chi., "The People's College," 
Inside of back cover 

Bank of Commerce ii 

Bent, George B Inside of back cover 

Bogue & Co., Real Estate Agency x 

Brentdho'a, Publishers, Booksellers, etc..iy 
Carpenter, G. B. & Co., Blocks & Pulleys.. ii 
Carpenter, Geo. B. & Co., Ship-Ch'd's etc.iv 
Carpenter, Geo. B. & Co., Twines & Cord. . y 
Chicago Cost. & Decorating Co., Cost's.. iii 

C., M.&St. P. Railway xv 

Chicago Rawhide Mfg. Co., The il 

Christy & Co., Engravers, etc v 

Christian Science Pub. Co., Pub iy 

Clarke, B. F., Morgan Park Property., .xxi 
Colliau, Victor, Hot Blast Cupola, Dct.xx.i 
Columbia Rubber Works Co., The It. G...iy 

Columbian National Bank ii 

Commercial National Bank ii 

Continental National Bank ..ii 

Dale & t'empill. Chemists & Phar xxii 

Dayton, Poole & Brown, Patent 'A tt'ys. . .iy 
Dibblee, The Henry Co., Ceramics xxxiii 

Diinl'i'i', J. Co., Wood Carpets, etc y 

Dunlap, 11. & Co., Hats, Caps and Furs. . .iii 
Economist, FiiiHii. and Com. Weekly Rev..i 

Edwards, H. J. & Son, Carriages iii 

Eggk'Mon, Mallette & Brownell, R. ES..XXVJ 
Electric Merch'ise Co., Elec. R. Supplies. .iii 

Everingham, L. & Co., Grain Com iji 

First National Bank of Chicago ii 

Fletcher, D. H., Patent Lawyer iy 

Forsyth, Jacob, Whiting, Ind. (Map)...xvii 

Forsyth, Jacob, Whiting, Ind xv 'j! 

Fowler's Expert Opticians vii 

Garrison M., Wood Turnings v 

Giles Bros. & Co . , Jewelers iy 

Goodrich Trans. Co., ''Goodrich Line"..vi 

Gormully & Jeffery Mfg. Co vi 

Greenebaum Sons, Bankers xxv 



HACK OF BOOK. Cont. 

PAGE. 

G regg Electric Cure Co xxx 

Guarantee Co. of North America iii 

Gust Knecht Mfg. Co., Barbers' Supplies, .ii 

fiutta Pereha Rubber Mfg. Co iv 

Hair, J. A. &S.G., Real Est. and Loans..xxx 

Hallowell C. H. & Co., Sign Painters iv 

Hanson, C. H., Stencil and Stamp Goods. . . v 

Harris, N. W. & Co., Bankers ii 

Heuer, Aug. & Sons, Upholstery Goods. . . \ 

Hibernian Banking Association ii 

Hills, Edwin E., Mineral Waters iv 

Illinois Terra Cotta Lumber Co i i 

Jennings Trust Company, The ii 

Kirstner & Co., Chus., Arch, and Eng..xxxii 
Koiii, Kdson & i o.. Wholesale Milliners. ..x 
Kemper, Alfred C.. Steam Pipe Covering, v 

Kiniball, Geo. F., Plate Glass iv 

Knapp \- Stolkird, Wholesale Furniture. . .v 
Kurt/. BCOS.& BuhrerLt Gr.Ir'n Cast \sxxxi 

Lyons, .las. I., Art. Limbs ii 

Magee Fu rn . Co . Furnaces and Ranges. . . iii 

Maxwell. S. A. & Co., Wall Paper v 

Merrick Thread Co. Spool Cotton Mfrs .v 
Mil.Ave.State Bk.& Safe Dcp't Vaults xxiv 
Moore, E. IJ. &('.>., Wood ( 'arpets, etc . . . . v 

Murray & Co., Tents, Awnings, etc v 

Murray & Co., Signs of all Descriptions . .iv 

Murray & Co., Awnings, Tents, etc ii 

Mutual Life lng.Co.of N.Y.,Ill.Gen. Agcy.ix 

N.-W. Line, The C. & N.-W. Ry.Co xiv 

Peabody, Houghtelling & Co., Inv. (card)iii 

Peacock, C. D., Jeweler iii 

Peacock, E. P., Metal Articles . iv 

Phenix Lumber Co., Milwaukee, Wis..xxx 
Pjoneer Buggy Co., Columbus, O xx vii 
Plankinton House, Mil., A. L. Chase, M.xix 

Post, The Chicago Evening xii 

Pratt & Ely, Real Estate Agents j i 

Relic House, The Rtlics of the G. F. . . xx xi 
Rice & Whitacre Mfg. Co., Boilers (card) . ji 
l(ire\- Whittacre Mfg. Co., Engines (card). iii 

Ritchie, W. C. & Co , Paper Boxes viii 

Sawyer, Goodman Co., Lumber Mfg xiii 

Sharp & SThith, Surgical Instruments ...v 
Shurly Co., The Watchmakers & Jewelers, v 

Smit i Granite Co., The Monuments iy 

Standard Guide to Chicago, The xxviii 

Stevens & Co., Old Coins \- Post. Stamps., .iy 

Sweet, Wallach & Co., Photo. Goods vii 

Street R. R.& Co., Dyestuffs iii 

Tate, C. L., Artificial Limbs ii 

Tliavcr& Jackson, Stationery Co v 

Tiffany Press Co., Pressed Br : ck iv 

Trine, Dr. J. G., Movement Cure Inst ...iy 
Union Electric Works, Electric App iii 

Union National Bank ...... xxiii 

Union National Back of Chicago, (card)...ii 
Watson, George E., & Co., Artists' Sup ii 

Watson, Little & Co., Coal iii 

Wolf& IVriolat Fur Co., Furriers ...... iii 

Wood Bros., Com. Mer. U S. Yards xxi 
Wyckoff, sw-jmans & Benedict x vi 



Peabody, Houghteling & Co. 

No. 59 DEARBORN STREET, 

CHICAGO. 



Loans *P Investments on Real Estate Security exclusively. 



INVESTMENTS. 

CHICAGO CITY MORTGAGES FOR SALE. 

For the convenience of investors we carry from $200,000 to $500,000 of choice 
mortgages at all times. These loans are made by us after careful investigation 
of the titles, the value of the securities offered and responsibility of borrowers. 
In transacting a business of over $70,000,000, no title approved by us has evei 
been successfully attacked. 

IN ANY AMOUNT. 

These loans vary in amount from $500 to $50,000, and bear from 5 per cent, 
to 7 per cent, interest, payable semi-annually at our office or at such place as investor 
may elect. The standard rate on ordinary amounts, say $3,000 to $10,000, being 
6 per cent.; smaller loans, G% per cent, and 7 per cent.; large loans, on excep- 
tionally strong security, 5 per cent, and 5J^ per cent. 

AT PAR AND ACCRUED INTEREST. 

These securities are 'ready for delivery, and are on sale at par and accrued 
interest. No commission is charged the buyer, the income named being net. 

INVESTORS' INTERESTS CARED FOR WITHOUT CHARGE. 

We collect all interest and remit to any part of the country free of charge. 
We see that all insurance policies pledged as collateral security are renewed at 
expiration, and that the investor is protected in case of failure on the part of the 
borrower to pay taxes. In other words, we act as financial agents for the investor 
without charge. Parties buying mortgages securing building loans, where the 
buildings are not fully completed, are guaranteed completion free of mechanic's 
liens. 

PRINCIPAL AND INTEREST PAYABLE IN GOLD. 



Real Estate Investments 



Sviite 23, 

92 La ,Salle Street 

CHICAOO. 



IF you desire acre property in Chicago and vicinity for 
SUB-DIVISIONS, MANUFACTURING SITES OR INVESTMENT 
purposes, where prices have not been "boomed," where 
the land lies from 25 to 100 feet above the lake, and pos- 
sesses natural beauties unequaled elsewhere around 
Chicago, and where improvements n<3t already made are 
being pushed in every direction, send for list of acres in 
NORTHWEST sections, controlled EXCLUSIVELY by me. 

If you prefer improved property paying fixed income 
on gold basis for long term of years, write me for informa- 
tion. 

Correspondence Solicited. No Trouble to Answer Letters. 



GENERAL INDEX. 



AMUSEMENTS. 

Alhambra Theater 116 

Auditorium Theater 117 
Battle of Gettysburg- 
Panorama 120 

Casino 123 

Central Music Hall 120 

Character of Chicago 

.Theaters 116 

Chicago Opera House. ..121 

Chicago Theaters 116 

Chiekering Music Hall. .123 

Columbia Theater 122 

Concert Halls, Circuses, 

etc . 128 

Criterian Theater 122 

Epstean's New Dime Mu- 
seum 122 

Freiburg's Opera House.122 

German Theater 123 

Grand Opera House 123 
Halsted Street Op. Hse . . 124 

Havlin's Theater 124 

Haymarket Theater . . .124 
H. R. Jacob's Clark Street 

Theater 126 

H. R. Jacob's Academy. 125 

Hooley 's Theater r>5 

Kohl & Middleton's Mu- 
seums 128 

Libby Prison Museum.. 126 

Lyceum Theater 126 

Madison Street Theater. 126 

Me Vicker's Theater 1 27 

New Windsor Theater.. 127 

Park Theater 127 

People's Theater 127 

Standard Theater 126 

Theater Buildings 116 

Theatrical Architecture.116 
Timmerman Opera Hse. 127 
Waverly Theater 128 

ARCHITECTURE. 

Character of Buildings .128 
Cost of Steel Building . 131 

Inspection of Steel 132 

Magnificent Buildings. . . 128 
Method of Construction. 129 

Notable Examples 130 

Office Buildings 129 

Steel Construction 130 

Testing Steel Columns.. 132 

ART. 

Art Collections 136 

Art Institute 133 

Art Institute Building. .134 

Artists in Chicago 132 

Art Museum 133 

Art School 136 

Art School,Admission to 137 



ART Continued. 

Art School Classes 136 

Art School, Terms 137 

Permanent Art Bldg ... 133 
Popularity of Art Inst. .135 

Society of Artists 137 

Union League Art Asso- 
ciation 138 

AUDITORIUM BUILDING. 

Cost of Construction 138 

Cost with ground 138 

Dimensions 138 

Directory and Officers. .139 

Enclosures 139 

Entrances 139 

History 139 

Investments 140 

Lobby 140 

Location of 141 

Recital Hall 141 

The Auditorium 141 

Views of and from 141 

BANKING INSTITUT'S-NAT 

America 148 

American Exchange 143 

Atlas M43 

Chemical 143 

Chicago 143 

Columbia 144 

Commercial 144 

Continental 144 

Drover's 145 

First 145 

First of Englewood 146 

Fort Dearborn 146 

Globe 146 

Hide and Leather 146 

Home 147 

Illinois 148 

Lincoln 147 

Live Stock 148 

Merchants 147 

Metropoltian 147 

Northwestern 149 

Oakland 149 

Prairie State 149 

Republic 149 

Union 160 

BANKING INSTITUTIONS 
STATE AND PRIVATE. 

Adolph Loeb & Bro 150 

American Trust and Sa- 
vings IfiO 

Avenue Savings 150 

Bank of Commerce 151 

Bank of Montreal 151 

Cahn & Strauss 151 

Central Trust & Savings . 151 
Charles Henrotin 151 



BANKING INSTIT'NS-Con. 

Chicago Trust & Sav- 
ings 151 

Corn Exchange 151 

Dime Savings 152 

E. S. Dreyer & Co 152 

Farmers' Trust Co 152 

Foreman Bros 152 

Globe Savings 152 

Greenebaum Sons 152 

Guarantee Co. of N. A. .162 
Hibernian Bank'g Asso- 
ciation 153 

Illinois Trust and Sav- 
ings 153 

Industrial Bank 153 

Internationale 154 

Meadowcroft Bros 154 

Merchants' Loan and 

Trust 154 

Milwaukee Ave. State. ..164 

Northern Trust 155 

Peabody, Houghtelling 

&Co 155 

Peterson & Bay 156 

Prairie State Savings 156 

Pullman Loan and Sav- 
ings 156 

Slaughter, A. 0.&Co.:..16a 

Schaffner & Co 157 

Security Loan and Sav- 
ings 157 

State, of Chicago 157 

Union Trust Company. 157 
Western Trust and Sav- 
ings 157 

CEMETEKIE8. 

Anshe Maariv 158 

Austro-Hungarian 158 

Beth Hamedrash 158 

B'nai Abraham 168 

B'nai Slalom 158 

Calvary 158 

Chebra Gemilath 158 

Chebra Kadisha 153 

Concordia 168 

Congregation of N. S .... 158 

Forest Home 158 

Free Sons of Israel 159 

German Lutheran 159 

Graceland 159 

Hebrew Benevolent If 

Moses Montefiore 160 

Mount Greenwood 160 

Mount Hope 160 

Mount Olive 160 

Mount Oiivet 160 

Oakwoods 160 

Ohavey Scholom 160 

Rosehill 160 

Saint Boniface 161 



11 



GENERAL INDEX. 



CEMETERIES-Contlnued. 

Binai Congregation 161 

Waldheim 161 

Zion Congregation 161 

CHARITIES. 

Am. Edu. Aid Asso 166 

Armour Mission 167 

Asylums and Homes 161 

Bureau of Justice 168 

Chari table Societies ... 165 
Charities, Miscelianeous.165 
Chicago, Free Kinder- 
garten Association... 171 
Chicago Home for Crip- 
pled Children 173 

Chicago Nursery and 

Half Orphan Asylum. 172 
Chicago Orphan Asylum. 172 

Chicago Policlinic 172 

Chicago Belief and Aid 

Society. ... ,.. 173 

Church Home for Aged 

Persons 173 

Convalescents' Home. . . 173 
Daily News Fresh Air 

Fund 169 

Danish Lutheran's Or- 
phans' Home 174 

Day Nurs's & Creches 163 

Erring Woman's Ref'ge.174 

Foundlings' Home 175 

Free Dispensaries 163 

Free Employment Bur- 
eaus 163 

Free Nurses 163 

Ger. Old Peoples Home. 179 
Good Samaritan Socie- 
ties 179 

Guardian Angel Orphan 

Asylum 1 79 

Hebrew Charity Asso. . .179 

Helping Hand, The 179 

Holy Family Orphan 

Asylum 180 

Home for incurables 180 

Home for Self-Support- 
ing Women 181 

Home for the Friendless.! 82 

Home for the Jews 18i 

Home for Unemployed 

(iirls 182 

Home for Working 

Women 183 

Home of Industry 184 

Home of Providence 185 

Home of the Aged 186 

Hospitals, Free & Pay . . 163 
House of the Good Shep- 
herd 186 

Hull House 186 

Jewish Charitable Asso. 177 
Lake Geneva Fresh Air 

Association 177 

Margaret Etter Chreche.186 
Masonic Orphans'Home.187 
Miscellaneous Charities. 165 



CHARITIES Continued. 

Missions. Charitable 165 

Newsboys' & bootblacks' 

Home 187 

Odd Fellows Orphans' 

Home 188 

Old Peoples' Home 188 

Pioneer Aid & Support 

Association IPO 

Recognized Charities... 161 
School for Deaf & Dumb.lW) 
Servite Sisters Industrial 

Home for Girls 190 

Soldiers' Home Fund. . . .190 
St. Joseph's Asylum for 

Boys 191 

St. Ji seph's Female Or- 
phan Asylum 191 

St. Joseph's Home 191 

St. Joseph's Providence 

Orphan Asylum 192 

St. Paul's Home for 

Newsboys 193 

Training Schools for 

Nurses 163 

IJhlich Evangelical Or- 
phan Asylum 193 

Waifs' Mission 193 

Waifs' Mission, Training 

School 194 

Young Ladies' Charity 

Circle 194 

Young Men's Hebrew 

Charity Association.. 194 

CHRISTIAN ORGANIZATIONS: 

Bible Institute 195 

Central W. C. T. U. of 

Chicago 195 

Chicago Bible Society. . .196 
Christian Endeavor Soc.196 
National W. C. T. U. 

Headquarters 197 

Young Men's Christian 

Association 197 

Young Men's Christian 

Asso. (Scandinavian) ..199 
Young Woman's Christ- 
ian Association 199 

CHURCHES. 

Baptist Churches 202 

Baptist Missions 203 

Christian Churches. . . . . .201 

Churches in ante fire 

days 200 

Churches, Miscellane- 
ous 209 

Congrfgational Chs 201 

Episcopal (Reformed) ...'.04 
Episcopa 1 (Reformed 

Missionary) 20" 

Episcopal Churches .2U5 
Episcopal Missions and 

Chapels 205 

Evangelical Asso. of N. 
A. (German) 203 



CHUHCHES-ContlnnwI. 
Evangelical Lut h e r a n 

(English Churches) ... 203 
Evan. Lutheran (Dan )..203 
Evan. Lutheran (Ger.). .203 
Evan. Lutheran (Norw.)204 
Evan. Lutheran (Sepa- 
ratists 204 

Evan. Lutheran (Swed.).204 
Evangelical (United) . . 204 
Evan. Lutheran R e- 

f ormed 204 

Free Methodist Chs .... 205 
Independent Churches. .205 

Jewish Synagogues SOS 

Location of leading Chs. 200 
Methodist Episcopal 

Churches 206 

Methodis t Episcopal 

(African) 208 

Methodist Episcopal 

(Bohemian) 206 

Methodist Episcopal 

(German) 206 

Methodist Episcopal 

(Norwegian) 207 

Methodist Episcopal 

(Swedish) 207 

Popular Ministers and 

Preachers 201 

Presbyterian Churches .207 
Presbyter! an Church 

(United) 208 

Presbyterian Missions.. 207 
Roman Catholic Chs.. . . 208 
Swedenb orgian(New 

Jerusalem) 209 

Unitarian Churches 209 
Universalist Churches.. 209 

CITY GOVERNMENT. 

Aldermen, Salaries 66 

CityCrk's Office, Salaries' 64 
City Collector, Salary... 66 
City Collector's Office. 

Salaries 64 

City Fire Dept. (See Fire 

Dept.) 48 

City Hall Minor Em- 
ployes, Salaries 64 

Com.of Pub.Wks., Salary 66 

Compt., Salary 6*5 

Corp. Coun., Salary 66 

Cost of City Gov. 1891 .. 53 
Disbursem't of City, 1891 53 

Eleemosynary Inst 47 

Erring Woman's Refuge 

for Reform 47 

Feed Officers, Salaries... 64 

Fire Dept. .Salaries 64 

Firemen's Pension Fund 47 
General Information, 
(see "Municipal Infor- 
mation") 49 

Gen. Sup. of Pol., Salary 66 
Health Dept., Salaries . . 65 
House of Good Shepherd 47 



GENERAL INDEX 



111 



CITY GOYERNMENT-Cont'd. 

111. Humane Society 47 
Institutions, Partly Sup- 
ported by City 47 

Law Dept., Salaries 65 

Map Dept, Salaries. 65 

Mnyor, Salary 6 

Mayor's Assts., Salaries. 66 
Police Court, Salaries. . . 65 
Police Dept., Salaries .. 65 
Pub.W'ks Deit.,Sal'ries 66 
Police Pension Fund 47 

Pros. Atty, Salary 66 

Revenue of City 1891 .... 53 
Salaries of City Officers. 4 
Sew. Dept. Salaries. ... 66 
Spec. Ass. Dept. Salaries 60 
Street Dept.. Salaries -..66 
Supt.of City Tel.,Sala r y 60 
Supt. of St. Dept., Salary 66 
Tenement House and 
Factory Inspection . . . 54 

Treasurer's Salary 6S 

Tel. Dept. Salaries 66 

Washingtonian Home . . 47 

CIT BAILWAY SERVICE. 

Cable Lines, Manage- 
ment of 210 

Calumet Electriu Road. .216 

Carette Lines 217 

Character of Service 2 10 
Chicago City Ry. Co. . .212 
Chi. City Ry. Co., Busi- 
ness of 1891 212 

Chi. City Ry.Co.Offlcers.212 
Cicero& Proviso t-t RdCo 217 
Equitable Trans. Co. . . 218 

Increase in Traffic 211 

Lake St. Elevated Rd...218 
Mil. A v. Elevated Rd ..219 

New Electric Road 219 

N. Chicago St. Ry. Co. . .213 
N. Chi. St. Rd.Co. Finan- 
cial Condition of. 213 

N. Chi. St Rd Co.,Officers 213 
Pay of Cable Employes .211 
Randolph St.Elevat'dRd 219 

So. End Electric Ry 219 

So. Side Alley ' L" Hd. . .219 

Steam Rd Service 211 

Wab. Av. Sub-Ky Tr Co.220 
W. Chicago St. Kd. Co.. 214 
W. Chicago St Rd. Co.. 

Business of 1891. . 214 

W. Chi. St. Rd Co., Madi- 

soii St. Line 214 

W. Chi. St. Rd Co., Mil . 

Av. Line 215 

W.Chi. St.RdCo.,Miscel210 
W.Chi. St. Rd.Co., New 

Cars and Extensions. . .215 
W. Chi. St. Rd. Co. , New 

Tun'l and Cable Serv..215 
W.Chi.St.Rd.Co.,Officers210 
W. Chi. St. Rd. Co., the 
Tunnel Loop 215 



CLIMATE. 

Average Rainfall in 

Chicago 39 

Excessive Rainfalls 40 

Extremes of Heat and 

Cold 39 

Highest Mean Tempera- 
ture 39 

Lowest Mean Tempera- 
ture ... 39 

Maximum Rainfall 39 

Mean Annual Humidity, 39 
Mean Annual Precipita- 
tion 39 

Mean Annual Tempera- 
ture 39 

Mean Temperature 1891, 39 
U. S. Signal Office Re- 
ports 39 

CLUBS ATHLETIC, SPOUT- 
ING, ETC. 

Athletic Club Houses . .220 

Base Ball Clubs 2H 

Boat & Yacht Clubs . . . .221 
Chicago Athletic Asso . . .222 
Chicago Curling Club. 223 
Chicago Fencing & Box- 
ing Club 224 

Cricket Clubs 224 

Cycling Clubs 224 

Hand Ball Courts .V 225 

Horse Associations 226 
Hunting, Fishing & Gun 

Clubs 221 

Indoor Base Ball Clubs.. 227 

Tennis Clubs ...228 

Union Athletic Club . . 228 
Western Asso. of Base 
Ball Clubs 228 

CLUBS-GENTLEMEN'S AND 
SOCIAL. 

Acacia Club 228 

Areolus Club 228 

Apollo Club 228 

ArgoClub 228 

Ashland Club 229 

Bankers' Club 229 

Bi-Chlorideof Gold Club 

of Chicago 229 

Bi-Chloride of Gold Club 

ofDwight 229 

Bi-Chloride of Gold Club 

of the World 230 

Bon Ami Club of Wil- 

mette 230 

Calumet Club 230 

CarletonClub 231 

Chicago Club 231 

Chicago Electric Club.. 231 
Chicago Women's Club. 231 

Church Club 232 

Clarendon Club 233 

Commercial Club 233 



CLUBS Continued. 

Conference Club of 

Evanston 233 

Congregational Club. . . 2J3 
Cosmopolitan Club of 

Evanston 233 

Dearborn Club... 2*1 

Dinner Clubs 233 

Douglas Club 233 

Douglas Park Club 234 

Elks Club 234 

Evanston Club. . 234 

Evanston Country Club.234 

Fellowship Club 235 

Foreign Book Club 235 

FortyCiub 23 1 ) 

Fortnightly Club 235 

Germania Club 236 

German Press Club ... 236 
Girls' Mutual Benefit 

Club 236 

Grant Club 236 

Hamilton Club 237 

Harvard Club 2.>7 

Harvard University Clb.237 

Hyde Park Club 237 

Ideal Club 238 

Idlewild Clb of Evanston238 

Illinois Club 238 

IndianaClub 238 

Irish-American Club 239 

IroquisClub 239 

Irving Club 239 

Ivanhoe Club of South 

Evanston 239 

-John A. Logan Club. . .239 

Kenwood Club 239 

Lafayette Club 240 

LaGrange Club 240 

Lakeside Club 240 

La SalleClub 240 

Lincoln Club 240 

Lotus Club 210 

Marquotte Club 241 

Minneola Club 241 

MinnetteClub. 241 

Nationalists' Club 241 

Newsboys' Club 241 

North Shore Club 241 

Oakland Club 241 

Oaks of Austin 24> 

Park Club 242 

Phoenix Club 242 

Practitioners' Club 242 

Press Club of Chicago.. 242 

Ryder Club 243 

Seven O'clock Club 243 

Sheridan Club 243 

Single Tax Club 244 

South Side Medical Club.244 
Southern So. of Chieairo244 

Standard Club 244 

Stenographers' Club 24) 

Sunset Club 245 

Union Club 245 

Union League Club 246 
University Club 246 



IV 



GENERAL INDEX. 



CLUBS Continued. 

Union Veteran Club 246 
Wah Nah Ton Club 247 


COMMEBCE OF CHICAGO. 

Bank Business, Compar- 
ative . 30 


Washington Park Club. 247 
WebsterClub 247 


Bank Clearances, Com- 
parative 30 


Whttechapel Club 247 
Woman's Sufferage Club248 


Bank Clearances, 1886 to 
1891 30 


Woman's Club of Evan- 
ston 248 


Bank Clearances for 1891 30 


Woodlawn Park Club . . .248 


Banks, Clearing in Chi- 
cago 30 


CLUBS LITEBAUY. 


Barley, Receipts and 
Shipments of 32 


Browning Clubs .. . 249 


Business of Chicago 1891 40 


Chicago Library Club. . .249 
Chicago Literary Club. .249 
Cl'b Litterairie Francais.250 


go from ia50 to 1891. . . 40 
Board of Trade Busi- 
ness 1891. . . 32 


111. Women's Press Ass'n.250 
Longfellow Club 251 


Board of Trade Corn- 


Palette Club 251 


changes 31 


Papyrus Club 251 
Press League Club 251 
Saracen Club 252 


Board of Trade Ethics .31 
Board of Trade Specula- 
tion 1891 39 


Spanish Amer'can Club. 252 
Tuesday Heading Club. .252 


Board of Trade Trans- 
actions 31 


Twentieth Century Cl'b. 253 
Women's Reading Circle 


Boot and Shoe Trade 
1891 55 


of South Evanston 253 
CLUBS STATE SOCIAL OB- 


Calves, Receipts of 1891. 35 
Calves, Shipments for 
1891 36 


(JAM/ATIONS. 


Capacity of Grain Ele- 
vators 34 


California Pioneers . . . .253 
North Pacific Assoc 25,4 
Ohio Society of Chicago. 25*4 
Sons of Chicago 265 


Capital of Chicago Bnks ;i| 
Cattle, Receipts of 1891 . . 35 
Cattle, Shipinentsof 
1891 36 


Sons of Connecticut 255 


ClothingTrade 1891 55 


Sons of Delaware 255 


Condition of State and 


Sons of Indiana 255 


National Banks 31 


Sons of Louisiana 255 


Corn Exports to Canada 33 


Sons of Maine 255 
Sons of Massachusetts 256 


Corn, Receipts and Ship- 
ments .. 33 


Sons of Michigan 256 


Crockery and Glass- 


Sons of New York ;'">(> 


ware Trade 1891 . . 55 


Sons of Pennsylvania. . .256 
Sons of Rhode Island .257 


Deposits of Chicago 
Banks 31 


Sons of Vermont 258 
States Columbian Asso- 


Drug and Chemical 
Trade 55 


ciation 258 


Dry Goods and Carpet 




Trade 1891 55 


COMMEBCIAL EXCHANGES. 


Export Trade of Chicago 
1891 56 


Board of Trade 259 


Exports of Wheat and 


Board of Trade Bldg . . 259 


Flour 32 


Board of Trade Corn's. .259 
Board of Trade, Finan- 


Flour, Receipts and 
Shipments of 33 


cial Condition of 260 
Board of Trade Ofticers..2&9 


General Trade of Chica- 
go 1891 55 


Builders' & Traders' Ex- 
change 260 


Grain and Produce, Re- 


Chicago Amer. Horse 


1890-91 .. ..35 


Exchange 260 




Chicago Real Estate Bd 260 
Chicago Stock Ex 261 


Grain Elevators, Own- 
ers of 34 


Exchanges, Miscel 263 
Fruit Buyers' Ass'n 261 


Grain Exports to Canada 33 
G rain, Inspected in 34 



COMMEBCE-Contlnaed. 

Grain Inspection 34 

G rain Inspected Out 34 
Grain Storage Capacity. 34 

G rocery Trade 1891 55 

Hat and Cap Trade 1891. 55 
Hogs and Cattle Slaugh- 
tered in 1890 35 

Hogs and Cattle Slaugh- 
tered in 1891 35 

Hogs, Receipts of 18.)!.. ;<."> 
Horses, Receipts of Ib91 85 
Hogs, Shipments of 1891. 36 
Horses, Shi pmentsof 

1891 36 

Import Trade 1891 50 

Internal Reven u e R e- 

ceipts at Chicago 41 

Iron and Steel Trade ... 57 
Jobbing and Wholesale 

Business 55 

Jobbing Business 55 

Live Stock Receipts for 

1890 .36 

Live Stock Receipts 1891 35 
Live f-tockShipments for 

1S91 36 

Live Stock Shipments of 

1890 36 

Live Stock Transactions 

1891 &5 

Lumber Trade 1891 55 

Lumber Trade of Chgo.. 41 
Manufa cturedlron 

Trade 1891 55 

Manufacturers of Chgo 
<.M '<> "Mnfrsof Chicago) 57 

Millinery Trade 1891 55 

National Banks, C o n- 

ditionof 31 

National Banks,Deposits 31 
Oats, Exports to Canada 33 
Output of Chicago 

Brewers 41 

Produce, Receipts and 

Shipments, 1890-91. .. 37 
Provision Storage Ware 

Houses 38 

Railroad Live Stock 

Transactions 1891 37 

Rye Exports to Canada. 33 
Rye, Receipts and Ship- 
ments 38 

Savings Banks, Deposits 31 
Sheep, Receipts of 1891 .. 35 
Sheep, Shipments of 1891 36 
Speculation on Board of 

Trade 39 

Speculative B u s i n ess, 

Board of Trade 39 

State Banks, Deposits. . . 81 
Storage Warehouses for 

Provisions 38 

Surplus of Chgo. Banks. 31 
Union Stock Yds. busi- 
ness of 1891 35 

Undivided Profltsof 
Chicago Banks.-.- ... 31 



GENERAL INDEX. 



COHMERCE-Contlnued. 

Volume of Business, 
Board of Trade 32 

Volume of Chicago's 
Business 1891 40 

Volume of Chicago's 
Business ia50 40 

Warehouses for Grain . . 34 

Wheat and Flour Ex- 
ports 32 

Wheat Exports to 
Canada 33 

Wholesale Business 55 

COUNTY GOVERNMENT. 

Appropriations for 1892. 45 
Board of Commissioners. 41 
Clerk of Criminal Court, 

Expenses of ... .46 

Comptroller's Office, 

Expenses of 

Cook County Jail 43 

Coroner's Inquests 42 

Cost of County Officers. . 44 
County Agent's Office, 

Expenses of 46 

County Appropriations 

1892 45 

County Attorney, Ex- 
penses of 46 

County Board 42 

County Board Salaries.. 46 
County Commissioners, 

when elected 41 

County Hospital, Expen- 
ses of 45 

County Hospital Salaries 45 
County Insane Asylum. 43 
County Insane Asylum, 

Expenses of 43 

County Insane Asylum, 

Location of 43 

County Institutions at 

Dunning, Expenses of 46 
County Jail, Situation of 43 
County Physician, Ex- 
penses of 46 

County Poor Farm... . 44 
County Poor House, 

Location of . 44 

County Supt of Schools, 

Expenses of 46 

County Tax Levy, 1892. . 45 
Dentetion Hosp.ital, 

Expenses of 46 

Detention Hospital for 

the Insane 44 

Expenses of Cook Co... 44 
Expenses of Cook Co. in- 

Detail 1893 45 

Hospital, Detention for 

Insane 44 

Insane Asylum, Expen- 

sesof 46 

Insane Asylum of Cook 

County 43 

Jail, County, Location of 43 



COUNTY GOY'T Continued. 

Jail, Interior of 43 

Jail, Murderer's Row 44 
Jail, The Anarchist Cells 43 

Jail, Visitors to 43 

Judiciary of Cook Co... 46 
Normal School Salary 

List 40 

Poor House, Expenses of 46 
Poor House of Cook Co. 44 
Power of Commissioners 41 
Prosecuting Attorney, 

Expenses of 46 

Receipts from Co. Offi- 
cers 1892, Estimated. . . 45 
. Revenue of Cook Co 44 
Salaries of Commission- 
ers 41 

Salaries of County Em- 
ployees 45 

Sheriff's Office, Expen- 
ses of 46 

State's Attorney, Expen- 
ses of 46 

Supt. of Public Service, 

Expenses of. 46 

Supplies of Co. Institu- 
tions, Cost of 45 

Taxable Valuation of 
Cook Co. Property... 46 

DETECTIVE AGENCIES. 

Bonfield Detect. Ag'y.. .263 
Bruce Detective Ag'y.. 263 
Hartman Detect. A'y.2ti3 
Mooney & Boland De- 
tective Agency 263 

Pinkertqn's National 

Detective Agency . .263 
Pinkerton's Protective 

Patrol ,.264 

Thiel's Detect. Service.. 264 

Union Detect. Assoc 264 

Veteran's Police Patrol. 2C4 

EDUCATIONAL INSTITU- 
TIONS. 

Allen's Academy 264 

Amer. Brewing Acad ..295 
Armour Mission Train- 
ing school 295 

Baptist Missionary 

Training School 295 

Chicago Athaneum 2G5 

Chicago Kitchen Garden 

Assoc 266 

Chicago Manual Training 

School 268 

Chicago Theo logical 

Seminary 269 

De La Salle Institute. . .272 

Free Kindergartens 404 

Glenwood Training Sch. 

for Boys 298 

Hyde Park Auxiliary.. 300 
Hyde Park Conserva- 
tory 272 



EDUCATIONAL INST. Con'd. 

111. Military Academy.. 272 
Industrial Sch . for Girls 300 
111. Sch. of Agriculture. 298 
111. Training School tor 

Nurses 296 

Jewish Training School. 297 

Josephinum, The 272 

Kenwood Institute 27 J 

Kenwood Physical Ob- 
servatory 409 

Lake Forest University 273 

Lewis Institute 271 

McCormick Theological 

Seminary 274 

Morgan Park Female 

Seminary 277 

Morgan Park Theologi- 
cal Seminary 277 

Northwestern Oratorical 

League 277 

North west'n University .278 
St. Ignatius College..' :>7 
3 t. Xavier's Academy 288 
University of Chicago.. 289 

University School 292 

Western Theological 

Seminary 293 

Medical Educational In- 
stitutions 294 

National Homeopathic 

College . ... 294 

Reformatory Train i n g 

School ?298 

St. Mary's Training Sch . 

for Boys 2!>9 

Training Schools 295 

EXPRESS COMPANIES. 

Adams Express 301 

American Express 301 

Baltimore & Ohio Ex- 
press 301 

Brink's City Express. ...301 
Location of Express 

Offices 301 

Northern Pacific Ex- 
press 301 

Pacific Express 301 

United States Express.. 301 
Wells, Fargo & Co.'s 
Express 300 

FEDERAL REPRESENTAT'N. 

U. S. Circuit Judge 47 

U. S. Commissioners 47 

U. S. Courts in Chicago. . 47 

U. S. District Judge 47 

U. S. Government Offi- 
cers in Chicago 47 

U.S. Marshall 47 

U.S. Minor Officers 47 

U. S. Sub-Treasurer 47 

FIRE DEPARTMENT. 

Area covered by Depart- 
ment 48 



VI 



GENERAL INDEX. 



HUE DEP'T Continued. 

City Telegraph and 

Electric Lights 48 

Efficiency of 48 

Equipment and force.. 48 

Fire Alarms 1891 48 

Fire Losses 1891 48 

Headquarters and Or- 
ganization 48 

Insurance Patrol 49 

Location of Stations 49 
Marshalis Benner & 

Swenie 48 

Officers of Department. 48 

Pension Fund 49 

Standard of Discipline.. 48 

GENERAL INFORMATION. 

Abstracts of Titles 394 

Academies (see "Educa- 
tional Institutions"). . .264 
Anarchist Monument. ..396 

Anarchy in Chicago 396 

Annexation 49 

Annual FatStock Shows396 
Amusem'ts (see "Amuse- 
ments") 116 

Architecture (see "Ar- 
chitecture") 128 

Area of Chicago 50 

Area of Territory An- 
nexed 50 

Art in Chicago (see 

"Art") 132 

Ashland Block 396 

Asylums and Homes (se3 

"Charities") 161 

Auditorium (see "Audi- 
torium Building") ...138 
Auditorium Tower (see 

"Auditorium Bldg.")..397 
Banks (see " Banking 

Institutions") 142 

Boards of Trade (see 
"Com. Exchanges") . . .259 

Bridewell 51 

Bridges and Viaducts... 51 
B'ld'g. Operations, since 

1876 105 

Buildings, 1891 L3 

Cable Lines' (see " City 

Railway Service ").... 210 
Calumet Lake, Area .... 52 

Calumet River 52 

Causes of Death 52 

Cemeteries (see "Ceme- 
teries ") 157 

Center of Chicago, Geo- 
graphical 51 

Charitable Missions (see 

"Charities") 165 

Charitable Societies (see 

"Charities") 165 

Charities 161 

Chicago as a R . R. Center478 
Chicago Epitomized ... .397 



GEN'L INFORHATION-t'on. 

Chicago River 5'J 

Christian Organizations 195 
Churches (see Churches). 200 
City Frontage on Lake 

Michigan 52 

City Parks 78 

City Railways (see City 

Railway Service) 210 

Clubs, Athletic, Sport'g.22U 
Clubs, Gentlemen's and 

Social 2JS 

Clubs, Literary 248 

Clubs, State Social Or- 
ganization 253 

Colleges (see " Educa- 
tional Institutions) . . 264 
Commercial Exchanges 
(see " Commercial Ex- 
changes") 259 

Consulates 397 

Columbus Building 397 

Cook County Hospital 
(see "Hospitals and 

Dispensaries ") 342 

Cook Comity Treasury 

Statement 398 

Coroner's Inquests 1891 . 42 
Coroner's Inquests, An- 
alysis of 42 

Crib, The 398 

Daily Papers (see 

"Newspapers ") 417 

Daniel O'Connel Statue. 398 
Day Nurseries and 
Chreches (see "Chari- 
ties) 163 

Death Rate 52 

Detective Agencies ( ee 
" Detective A g e n- 

cies ") 263 

Diseases Prevalent 52 

Dispensaries (see " Hos- 
pitals and dispensa- 
ries") 339 

Distance of Chicago 
from other principal 

cities 399 

Drainnge Canal (see 
"Ship and Drainage 

Canal") 107-112 

Drake Fountain 404 

Education (see Public 

Education") DO 

Educational Institutions 
see " Educational In- 
stitutions") 264 

Elevated Railways (*ee 

"City R'y Service") . .210 
Environs of Chicago (see 

"Outlying Chicago") .439 
Estimated Cost of City 

Gov't for 1892 399 

Exchanges, Commercial 
(see "Commercial Ex- 
changes 259 

Express Companies 300 



GEN'L INFORMATION-COB. 

Factory Inspection 54 

Farragut Monument 402 

Fire of 1871 399 

Fire of 1874 4(1 

Fire Relics 401 

Foreign Coin, Value of 

in U. S. Money 403 

Fort Dearborn 403 

Free Dispensaries ( see 

"Charities") 163 

Free Employment Bu- 
reaus (see "Charities")163 
Free Hospitals (see 

"Charities") 163 

Free Kindergartens 404 

Frt e Nurses (see "Chari- 
ties") 163 

Frontage of City on Riv- 
ers 52 

Geographical Centre of 

Chicago 51 

Goose Island 4t)4 

Grain Elevators (see 

"Great Industries". .305 
Grant Locomot-ive Wks. 

(see "Great Ind'st's") .306 
Grant Statue, Galena . . .402 
Grant Statue, Lincoln 

Park 405 

Great Clocks of the City. 405 
Great Buildings of 1891 .106 
Great Buildings of Chi- 
cago (see Part V) 561 

Great Industries of Chi- 
cago (see Great Ind's).302 
Growth of Chicago in 

square miles 50 

Guide to all Parts of (*ee 

Part V) 561 

Hack and Cab Rates (see 

Part V) r6l 

Hay market Massacre . . .408 

Haymarket Square 406 

Health of City 61 

Hell Gate Crossing .... 407 

Hiisch Monument 407 

Horse Car Lines (see City 

Railway Service) . . 210 
Hospitals (see "H ospitals 

and Dispensaries") . . . 339 
Hotels (see "Hotels")... 352 
House of Correction . 51 

Hyde Lake, Area 52 

Illinois Internal Reve- 
nue Payments . . 407 
Illinois Steel Co (see 

Great Industries") 3(8 
Indebtedn's of Chicago. 408 
Inebriate Asylums ... 361 
Interstate Exposition. ..408 

J. V. Farwell Co 40fe 

Keeley Institute o63 

Kenwood Physical Ob- 
servatory 409 

Kosciusko Monument.. 409 
Labor Temple 409 



GENERAL INDEX. 



Vll 



GEN'L INFORMATION-Con. 

Lake and Hivcr FrontVe "i2 
Lakes and Rivers in 

Chicago 52 

Lake Transportation ..53 
heading Societies (see 

"Societies") 513 

Lemont Stone Quarries 
(see "Great Industries")314 
Length and Width of city 52 

Libraries 380 

Life Saving Stations. ...383 

Light Houses 3X3 

I ,ogan Statue 4C'J 

Longest Street in City.. 52 

Market Squares 410 

Marriage Licenses, 1891 . 52 
Marriage Licenses,Anal- 

ysis of 52 

Mayors of Chicago 410 

Meat Markets 410 

McCorraick Harv. Mach. 
Co. (see Great Indus.) . .315 

Michigan Avenue 410 

Mileage of Streets 5:5 

Military (see "Military"):** 
Military Companies (see 

"Military" 384 

Milk Supply of Chicago. 41 1 

Monuments 411 

Morgue 53 

Nat'n'l Hanks (see Bank- 
ing Institutions) 142 

Nationalities Represent- 
ed in Chicago 8? 

Natural Gas Supply. . ..5! 
New Patrol Wagon and 

Ambulance 412 

Newspapers 417 

New Water Tunnels 412 

Ogden Statue 412 

.tlying Chicago (see 

" Outlying Chicago ") .439 
Police Department (see 

1 "Police Department") 79 
Population Statistics (see 

Population Statistics) 82 
Post Office (see "Post- 

Office") s.- 

P< > verty in Chicago 53 

Private Banks (se r > Bank 

Ins. State and Private"160 
Public Library (see Pub- 
lic Library") 99 

Public Parks ..... 67-78 
Public School (see "Pub- 
lic Education 90 

Pullman see"Pullman")318 
Pullman Palace Car Co. 

see Great Industries).. 327 
Railroads (see Railroads 

and where they lead to) 478 
Railroads centering in 

Chicago 478 

Railroad Entrances 51 

Railway Passenger De- 
pots 478-513 



GEX'fc INFORMATION-Con. 

Real Estate (see "Real 

Estate and Building"). 103 
Recognized Charities ...161 

Revenge Circular 412 

Riot of '77 412 

Rookery 413 

Sanitary Condition of 

City 51 

Schools (see "Public Ed- 
ucation") ... 90 

S hakespeare Statue, 

Lincoln Park 413 

Sheridan Road 413 

Sheridan Statue 414 

Ship Building(see "Great 

Industries ') 328 

Sights of Chicago (see 

fart V) 561 

Societies (see "Socities")513 
State Bantes (see "Bank- 
ing Institutions, State 

and Private" ) 150 

State Central Com 414 

State Institutions (see 

"State Institutions") .526 
State Militia (see "Mili- 
tary") 384 

Strangers' G uide (see 

Part V) rei 

Street Car Linos (see 

"City Railw'yService")210 
Stock Yards (see "Union 

Stock Yard"), 329 

Suburbs Annexed 49 

Suburbs of Chicago (sre 

"Outlying Chicago").. 439 
Subterranean Theater.. 415 
Surrounding Cities and 

Towns.. r 28 

Telegraph Service 415 

Telephones . . . .' 415 

Tenement House Inpec- 

tion 54 

Territory Annexed 49 

Thirty-one Daily Trips 

(Sec Part V) 561 

Thomas Orchestra 416 

Topography of Chicago. 54 
Towns around Chicago. 533 
Tributary Cities and 
Towns (see" Tributary 

Cities and Towns") 528 

Union Stock Yards (See 
"Great Industries").. 329 

Uniting City and Co 55 

Universities (see " Edu- 
cational Ins.") 2114 

University of Illinois. . . .416 
Urban Transit (see "City 

Rv. Service" 210 

U. S. Appraisers' Bldg. 416 

Viaducts 51 

Vital Statistics 51 

Von Linne Statue 410 

Ward Area of Chicago.. 50 
Water Transportation. 533 



GES'L IHFORMATION-Con. 

Water Supply (see Water 
Works) 55 

Waterworks (see 
" Water Works") . .112-115 

Weekly Newspaper (see 
" NeVspapers ") 431 

William Prince of Orange 
Statue 416 

Wolf Lake, Area 53 

World's Columbian Ex- 
position (see Part I V . . 537 

World's Fair (see Part 
IV) 537 

Terkes' Fountain 417 

GREAT BUILDINGS OF CHI- 
CAGO. 

Adams Express Bldg... 581 

Ashland Block 396 

Auditorium 138 

Board of Trade Bldg . . 2oli 

Bordon Block 582 

Bro. Jonathan Bldg 576 

Bryan Block 572 

Buildings of 1891 106 

Calumet Bldg 574 

CaxtonBldg 580 

Central Music Hall 585 

Chamber of Com. Bldg. .570 

Chemical Bk. Bldg 582 

City Hal 52 

Columbus Bldg 397 

Commerce IHdg 5V6 

Counselman Bldg 5'.6 

Cook Co. Abstract Bid. .597 

County Hospital 616 

Court House 562 

Dearborn Station 581 

Donohue & Henneberry 

Building 581 

Evening Journal B'ld'g.581 
Evening Post Building.. 598 

Fair, The 594 

First National Rk. Bldg .581 
German Theatre Bldg. .597 
Grand Central Depot . .511 
Great Northern Hotel 580 
Haymarket Building. .614 
Home Insurance Bldg. .574 

Ins. Exchange Bldg '75 

Inter Ocean Building. .582 
John M. Smyth Bldg.. 613 

Kent Building 572 

Kimball Hall 601 

Lafayette Building 569 

Leiter Building 594 

Madison Hall 614 

Major Block 572 

Manhattan Building .. 580 
Marshall Field & Co., re- 
tail 587 

Marshall Field's Whole- 
sale Building f89 

Marine Building 569 

Masonic Temple 583 

Mercantile Building 571 



Vlll 



GENERAL INDEX. 



GREAT BUILDI> T GS-Con. 

Merchants 1 Building-. ..570 
Monadnock and Kear- 

sage Building 580 

Monon Building 680 

Opera House Block. (97 

Otis Building 571 

Palmer House 594 

Pheonix Building 576 

Pontiac Building ..580 

Portland Block 582 

Post Office 581 

Kand McNally Build- 
ing 575 

Reaper Block 59 

Republic Life Building.. 57: 

Rookery Building . . .576 

Royal Ins. Building 576 

Security Building 599 

StaatsZeitung Building.598 
Stock Exchange Build'g.581 

Stone Building 614 

Tacoma Building 571 

Temple Court Building.. 581 

Temple, The 573 

Times Building 598 

Tremont House. 582 

Tribune Building. 583 

Union Building 570 

Union Depot C12 

Unity Building 582 

I'. S. Appraisers' Build'g416 
Wheeler Building 567 

GREAT INDUSTRIES. 

Calumet Iron & steel Co.3U4 
Columbia Steel Car Co. .305 

Grain Elevators 305 

Grain Elevators, De- 

seriptii in of 305 

Grain Elevators, capac- 
ity of , etc 305 

Grant Locomotive Wks.3i6 
Grant Locomotive Wks. 

Importance of 307 

Great Western Locomo- 
tive Works.. 307 

Illinois Steel Company.. 308 
Illinois Steel Co., capi- 
tal, etc 308 

Ilinois Steel Company, 

Joliet Works 312 

Illinois Steel Company, 

Milwaukee Works 311 

Illinois Steel Company, 

N. Chicago Works 309 
Illinois Steel Company, 

Product of 309 

Illinois Steel Company, 

S.Chicago Works.. .. 310 
Illinois Steel Company, 

Union works 311 

John H. Bass Car Wheel 

Works 313 

Joseph Klicka 313 

Kearns & Orme 313 

Kurz Bros. & Buhrer. . .314 



GREAT INDUSTRIES Con. 

Lake Side Nail Co 314 


GUIDE Continued. 

Twenty-first Day 609 


Lemont Stone Quarries. 314 
McCormick Harvesting 
Machine Co 315 


Twenty-second Day 611 
Twenty-third Day 614 


McCormick Harvesting 


Twenty- fifth Day 616 


Machine Co., Inspct. 


Twenty-sixth Day 616 


McCormick Harvesting 


Twenty-seventh Day 617 
Twenty eighth Day 618 


Machine Co., Secrets 
of success 317 


Twenty-ninth Day 619 


McCormick Harvesting 


Tlrirty-tirftt Dai/ 620 


Machine Co., The First 


Abend Post Office 598 


Harvester 317 




McCormick Harvesting 


Arend's Pharmacy . 598 


Machine Co., Wide 
Spread Business of .. 317 


Arend's Kumy ss 699 
Armour & Co . 574 


Norton Bros. Works. . . .318 
Pullman (See "Pull- 


Armour, P. D., Charac- 
teristics of 574 


Pullman, Industries of. 318 
Pullman Palace Car Co. 327 


Ashland Avenue' 615 
Ashland Block, thsNew.597 
Bee Hive 594 


Pullman Palace Car Co., 
Business of 327 


Berry, the Candy Man . .599 


Pullman Palace Car Co., 


Black legs 695 


Disbursements 328 
Pullman Palace Car Co., 
Earnings and profits 328 
Pullman Palace Car Co., 
Revenue . 328 


Blue Island Avenue 610 
Blue Island Ave. Dist. . 610 
Boarding House Rates.. 562 
Board of Trade District.576 


Railroad Trans 304 




Richards & Kelly Mfg. 
Co 328 


Board of Trade Gallery. 576 


Seed Market 328 




Ship Building Yard. .. 328 


Brentano's 602 


Source of Iron Ore and 
Coal Supply 3C2 


Broken Savings Banks . 597 


Stock Yds. (See "Union 
Stock Yards ") 329 


Brother Jonathan Bldg 576 


Thompson & Taylor 


Bryan Block 573 


Spice Company 329 




Union Stock Yards (see 


Buck & Raynor's 502 


"Union Stock Vds")..329 


"Bunco Stcerers" 5!'5 


Water Transportation.. 3t>3 
W W Kimball Co 33<J 


Business Lunches 571 




\Vlio Reside on . 605 


GUIDE, THE 

Fir*t Daii . 56 


Calumet Building 574 
Carriages 561 


Second Day 56ti 


Carriage District 601 


Third Day 56s 


Carson, Pii ie, Scott & Co 592 


Fourth Day 573 


Caxton Building 580 


Fifth Day 576 


Central Detail Station 564 


Sixth Day 577 


Central Music Hall 585 




Chambers 1 Corner 595 


Eighth Day 58 




Ninth Day 587 


Building . 570 


Tenth Day 591 


Charles L. Hutchm^on 573 


!:/> rcnth Day. 592 


Chemical Bank Building 583 


Tin Ifth Da ii 594 


" Cheyenne " 577 


Thirteenth Dmi 595 








Fifteenth Day 599 


Chicago Oyster House 599 


Sirtfciith Day . 6 


Cicero Electric Line. .. 614 


St-renternth Day 602 


City Clerk's Office 565 


Eighteenth Day .. 6()4 


City Collector's Office f.65 


Nineteenth Day 606 


C ty Hall 562 


Twentieth Day 608 


City Ha 11, Trip Through.53 



GENERAL INDEX. 



IX 



GUIDE-Continned. 

College Place 607 

Commerce Building 576 

Comptroller's Office 565 

Conlidenee Men 564 

Corner Drug Stores 592 

Coroner's Office 567 

Cost of City Hall 563 

Cost of Court House .... 563 

Council Chamber 565 

Counselman Building. . .576 
County Clerk's Office. ...567 
County Hospital and Sur- 
roundings 616 

CountyKecorder's Office5G7 
County Treasurer's Of- 
fice 568 

Coupes 561 

Xourt House 562 

Courts and Court 

Rooms 568 

Curry's News Stand 599 
CycloramaBuildinys . .601 

Daily News Office 598 

Dale and Sempill's 596 

Dale & Sempill's Popu- 
larity 596 

Dearborn Avenue 618 

Dearborn Station 581 

Detective Offices 563 

Donohue & Henneberry 581 

Drexel Boulevard 608 

Evening Journal Build- 
ing 581 

Evening Post Building.. 598 

Fair, The 59t 

Farwell Hall 599 

Fashionable Retail Cen- 
ter 593 

" Fences " for Thieves. .578 
Fidelity Bank Building. 597 
Fire Alarm Officers. .. 564 
First National Bank 

Building 581 

Fish, Joseph & Co 593 

FiskD. B. &Co 603 

Franklin McVeagh & 

Co 603 

Freie Presse Office 598 

French Consul 569 

French, Potter & Wil- 
son 603 

Gamblers and Sports... 595 

Gambling District 595 

German Theater Build- 
ing . ;.. .579 

Globe Office 598 

Grand Boulevard 607 

Grand Pacific Hotel 576 

Grant Locomotive Wks.615 
G reat Northern Hotel . . 580 

Groveland Square 609 

Hack and Cab Rates.... 561 

Hansom Cabs 561 

Hay market Building . . . 614 
Headquarters Colum- 
bian Exposition 575 



GUIDE Continued. 

Health Department 563 

Heath & Milligan 598 

Herald Building LOS 

Home Insurance Build- 
ing 574 

Hotel Rates 563 

Hotels and Boarding 

Houses 563 

Insurance Exchange 

Building 675 

Inter Ocean Building... 5H3 
Iron and Steel Center.. .616 

Jackson Hall 569 

James H. Walker's & Co.6i>2 
J tunes Wilde Jr. & Co. .593 
J. B . Chambers & Co . . 597 
Jesse Spaldiug's Office . . 569 

Jesuit Church 610 

JolmM.Smyth Bldg.. .613 

Keith & Co 603 

Kent Building 573 

Kern's 571 

Kimball Hall 601 

Kohlsaat's 571 

Lafayette Building 569 

Lake Shore Drive 619 

Lake View 619 

LaSalle Avenue 619 

LaSalleSt 568 

Lake Street . r .?:i 

Leader, The 594 

Leading Houses and In- 
dustries (see Spe'l lief) 620 

"Levee"The 577 

Loeb & Bro 571 

Lodging House Misery.. 579 

Lodging Houses 579 

Lower Strata of Society. 579 

Lumber District 616 

Madison Hall 613 

Madison Street Bridge... 611 
Madison & Clark Sts . . . . f 95 

Major Block 573 

Mandel Bros 593 

Manhatten Building &0 

Manufacturing Center. .617 

Marine Building F69 

Marshall Field's Business 

Methods 590 

Marshall Field, Career 

of 587 

Marshall Field,in private 

life 591 

Marshall Field & Co 5b7 

Marshall Field & Co's. 

barn 578 

Marshall Field & Co's 

Bldg., Retail 591 

Marshall Field & Co's 

Business 589 

Masonic Temple 583 

Masonic Temple,Propor- 

tionsof 583 

Maxwell's 603 

May Subway 565 

Mayor's Offices 304 



GUIDE-Continned. 

McClurg's Book Store . .602 

MeVicker'a 582 

Mercantile Building 571 

Merchant's Building 570 

Merchants' Nat'l Bank 569 
Methodist Church Bi'ck.597 
Metropolitan fc ational 

Bank 571 

Michigan Boulevard 607 

Milwaukee Avenue 617 

Monon Building 580 

Monatluock and Kear- 

sarge Building 580 

National Bank of Amer- 
ica 570 

North Clark Street 617 

Northern Suburbs 619 

Northwestern Masonic 

Aid Asso 575 

Northwestern Suburbs. 620 
O'Brien's Art Gallery. . .603 
Old Financial Wrecks .",n 
Old "Terror" District. 610 
Old South Market Sq. . .5.5 
Only Bldg saved from 
the fire on the South 

Side 572 

Opera House Block 597 

Otis Building 571 

Pacific A ve 577 

I'almer House 594 

Parmalee's Agents . ..561 
Pawn Broker's District. 578 

Pearson St 619 

PhenixBldg 576 

Police Headquarters . . . . 565 
Police Reporters' Room 564 

Pontiac Bldg 580 

Portland Block 583 

Postoffiee Bldg 581 

. Potter Palmer 586 

Prairie Avenue 604 

Prairie Ave., Appear- 

anceof 604 

Prairie Ave., People win 

reside on 605 

Present Slums of Chica- 
go 578 

Printing House Dis't. . .581 
Prominent Residents of 

North Side Ayes 617 

Prominent Residents of 

South Side Avenues. ..604 
Prominent Residents of 

West Side Avenues . 615 
Public School Depa 1 . t- 

ment 565 

Public Library 565 

Public Works Depart- 
ment 565 

Race Murder, Scene of. .578 
Rand-McNally Building.575 

Reaper Block 597 

Republic Life Building. 573 
Retail Dry Goods Stores 593 
Rock Island Depot 578 



GENERAL IXDEX. 



GUIDE -Con tinned. . 

Rookery Building 576 

Room Rates 563 

Root & Sons Music Co... 602 
Royal Insurance Build'g576 

Rush Street 618 

Ryan, P.P. & Co 614 

Scarlet Women and De- 
praved Men 578 

School Property 593 

Security Building 599 

Seigel, Cooper & Co.'s. . .594 

Sheriff's Office 567 

Slack's 602 

Slums, The Heart of the.579 

Smyth, John M ... 613 

Smyth Building 613 

Smyth, John M., Busi- 
ness of 613 

Smyth's Town Market . .613 
Staats Zeitung Building. 598 

Standard Guide Co 681 

State Street Compared 

with Foreign Streets.. 582 
State Street from the 

Bridge 582 

State Street, Original 

Improvement of 586 

State Street, Potter 
Palmer's Generosity . .586 

Stensland, Paul O 617 

Stock Exchange Bldg..58l 

Stone Building 614 

Subscription Book Dist 601 
South Clark Street .... 578 
South Halsted Street. . . 609 

South Water Street 583 

Southern Manufact'ng 

Suburbs 620 

Tacoma Building 571 

Temple, the 573 

Temple Court Bldg 51 

Temperance Temple 573 
Thomson's Restaurant.. 581 

Times Building 598 

Tobey Furniture Co.... 602 

Touhy&Co 614 

Tremont House 582 

Tribune Building 582 

Trunk Rates 501 

"Uncle Jesse" and "Un- 
cle Phil" 509 

Union Building 570 

Union Depot 612 

Union Nat. Bank 574 

Union Stock Yards 609 

Unity Building 582 

University Place 607 

Vartiell's 596 

Varnish District 601 

Vincennes Avenue -.f 0? 

Wabash Avenue 601 

Wabash A ve., Changes in601 
Washington Boulevard. 01 tJ 

Water Offices 665 

West Madison St., a great 
thoroughfare 611 



GUIDE-Contlnued. 

West Madison St., after 

the fire 611 

West Madison St., from 

the Bridge 611 

West Side Park System. 614 
West Side Park System, 

Drive through 615 

West Twelfth Street .. 610 
Western Associated 

Press Office 570 

Western Suburbs 615 

Western Union Office. . 570 

Wheeler Building 5^6 

Wholesale District 6 

Would-be-sports 695 

Y. M. C. A. Building. . .572 
Y. M. C. A. Quarters. . . .699 

HISTORICAL. 

Admission of Illinois. ... 28 
Angio-Am'ican War 1812 24 
Anglo-French Colonial 

War 22 

Black Partridge 20 

Butchery of Fort Dear- 
born 27 

Chicago as a City 29 

Chicago as a Thrifty 

Village , 28 

Chicago Portage 22 

Death of Marquette 21 

Defeat of Gen. Hull 25 

English Intrigue 25 

Escape of the Kinzie 

Family 28 

Establishment of Fort at 

Chicago 23 

Evacuation of Fort 

Dearborn 27 

Extensions of Chicago . . 29 
First Settler of Chicago. 22 
Fort Dearborn Erected. 24 
Fort Dearborn Massacre 27 
Fort Dearborn Rebuilt.. 28 
Garrison of Fort Dear- 
born 25 

Growth of Chicago from 

1837 29 

Incorporation of Chgo. . 29 
Indian Chief Eschika- 

gow or Chicago 21 

Jolict and Marquette. . .. 21 

Kinzie, John 25 

LaSalle's Explorations. ':',' 
Le Mai, the Fur Trader. 22 

Louisiana Purchase 23 

Massacre of Fort Dear- 
born, Site of 27 

Original City of Chicago 29 
OriginaLSpellingof Chgo 21 

Perish Le Clerc 27 

Point De Sable 22 

Population of Chicago, 

1837 29 

Population of Chicago, 
1855-60-66-70-80-86-89... 30 



HISTORICAL Continued. 

Present Population of 

Chicago 29 

Second Settlement of 

Chicago 28 

St. Joseph, Michigan... 23 

Tippecanoe 25 

War with England 25 

Wells, Captain 20 

Whistler, Captain John. 2J 

HOSPITALS AKD DISPENSA- 
RIES. 

Alexian Bros Hospital. .34X1 
Augustana Hospital ..;!41 

Bennett Hospital 341 

Chi. Emergency Hos . .341 
Chicago Floating Hos... 31 1 
Chicago Horn. Hospital. 341 
Chicago Hos. for Women 

and Children 341 

Cook County Hospital.. .342 

German Hospital 34'J 

Hahnemann Hospital . . .343 

Hebrew Hospital 314 

Linnean Hospital 344 

Locat'n of Dispensaries. 340 
Maurice Porter Memor'l 

Free Hospital 344 

Mercy Hospital 3i4 

Michael Reese Hospital. 345 
Natn'l Temperance Hos 340 
Presbyterian Hospital . 340 

Provident Hospital 347 

Ry. Brotherhood Hos. . .347 
Bt. Elizabeth's Hospital .247 
St. Joseph's Hospital . . 347 
St.Luke's Free Hospital. 348 
St. Vincent's Maternity 

Hospital 350 

U.S. Marine Hospital.... 350 

Wesley Hospital 351 

Woman's Hospital 35."' 

HOTELS. 

Atlantic Hotel 352 

Auditorium Hotel lift) 

1 Jriggs House :*V! 

Burhe's European Hotel353 
Capacity of Chicago Ho- 
tels :}52 

Clifton House '.'M 

Commercial Hotel 3->; 

Continental Hotel !i53 

Gault House 353 

Gore's Hotel 353 

Griind Pacific Hotel 354 

Hotel Brevoort . 355 

HotelDrexel 355 

Hotel G race 355 

Hotels. Miscellaneous... 358 

Hotel Wellington 355 

Hotel Woodruff 355 

Hyde Park Hotel :$55 

Leading Hotels 353 

Leland Hotel 355 



GENERAL INDEX. 



ri. 



HOTELS-C'ontinned. 

McCoy's Europ'n Hot'l . .a r >6 

Palmer House 356 

Itichelieu Hotel 357 

Saratoga Hotel 357 

Sherman House a r >7 

Southern Hotel a r >8 

Tremont House a r >8 

Victoria Hotel Itfs 

Virginia Hotel 358 

INEBRIATE ASYLUMS. 

Alexian Brother's Hospi- 
tal 361 

Earle's Private Sanitari- 
um 361 

Keeley Institute (see 
"Keeley Institute," 

The) 362 

MarthaWash'gt'n Home 361 

Mercy Hospital 361 

St. Joseph's Hospital.... 3S1 
Washingtouian Home... 362 

KEELEY INSTITUTE, THE 

Associated Koeley Bi- 

ehloride of Gold Club.. 364 
Bichloride of Gold Club 

of Dwight 364 

Character of the Patienta364 
Daily Life at Dwight... 365 
Departures and Arrivals 366 

Depot 366 

Discovery of theRemedy366 

Diseases Treated 367 

Dwight, Description of ..367 
Effects of the Treatment368 

Express Office 369 

Government Recogni- 
tion 369 

Harry Lawrence's 369 

Hotel and Boarding 
House Accommoda- 
tion 370 

How One Man was Dis- 
eased and How Cured. 370 
Information for the In- 
terested 371 

Inebriety, a Disease 372 

Keeley, as a Man 373 

Keeley Institutes- 
Branches 373 

KeelcyInstitute,Chicat!-o:j; I 
KeeleyInstitute,Foreign374 
Keeley Institute,Parent 

House 375 

Keeley Institute, Win- 

netka 374 

Leslie E. Keeley Com- 
pany, The 376 

Medical Staff 37ii 

No Restraint 376 

Other Bichloride of Gold 

Cures 377 

Photography '. 377 

Pocket Money 377 

Postoffice 377 



KEELEY INSTITUTE-Con. 

Railroad Communica- 
tion 378 

Rules and Regulations. .378 

Slang 378 

Sympathy 379 

Taking the Remedy 379 

What the Treatment 
Does 379 

LIBRARIES. 

Armour Mission Lib'ry.380 

Chicago Athaneum Li- 
brary * ....380 

Chicago Branch I. T. & 
M. Society Library. . . .380 

Chicago Historical Soci- 
ety Library 380 

Hyde Park Lyceum Li- 
brary 380 

Illinois Tract Society Li- 
brary 380 

John Crerar Library 380 

Lincoln St. M. E. Free 
Library 380 

Newberry Library . . 381 

Public Library(see " Pub- 
lic Library") 99 

Pullman Public Lib'ry. .3S2 

Ravenswood Public Li- 
brary 382 

South Chicago Public 
Library 3S? 

Union Catholic Lib'ry.. 382 

Western New Church 
Library 383 

Wheeler Library 383 

LIFE-SAVING STATIONS. 

Chicago Life-Sav'g St'n.383 
E vanston Lif e-Sav'g Stn 383 

LIGHTHOUSES. 

Chicago Light 383 

Crib and Br'kw'r Lights. 3S4 
Grosge Point Light 381 

MANUFACTURES OF CHI- 
CAGO. 

Brass, Copper, etc 67 

Brewing, Distilling and 

Tobacco 57 

Bricks, Stone, etc 58 

Capital Employed, 1891. . 67 
Capital Employed in Va- 
rious Manufactures. 57-61 

Chemicals 58 

Iron and Steel 59 

Iron and Wood 58 

Labor Employed 67 

Leather 59 

Manufactures, Miscel ... 61 

Meats 59 

No. of Mnfg. Firms, 1891 57 
Printing 60 



MANUFACTURES-Con. 

Textiles 60 

Wages, Employes, 67-61 

Wood 90 

MARITIME INTERESTS. 

Arrivals at Chicago Har- 
bor, Comparative 61 

Arrivals from!883to 1891 63 

Clearances at Chicago 
Harbor, Comparative. 61 

Clearances from 18a3 to 
1891 63 

Coastwise Receipts and 
Shipments 63 

Comparison with Lake 
Ports 62 

Comparison with Sea- 
board Cities. .' 61 

Greatest Harbor i n 
America 61 

Lake-Carrying Trade. . . 61. 

Shipments of Grain to 
Canada 62 

Tonnage of Lake Vessels 63 

Value of Exports by 
Lake 63 

Vessels Cleared at Chi- 
cago 61 

Vessels Entered at Chi- 
cago 61 

Vessels Owned in Chi- 
cago 64 

MILITARY. 

Battery D, 1st Artillery .389 

Cavalry Troop A 391 

Chicago Hussars ii91 

Chicago Zouaves . . . : 393 
Cook's Chicago Lancers 392 
Ellsworth Chi. Zouaves. 392 

Evanston Zouaves 393 

First Brig., I. N.G.,Gen'l 

and Staff 387 

First Regt., Armory 389 
First Regt., Field & Staff 

Officers 388 

First Regt., I. N. G. ...387 
First Regt., Standing and 

Personnel 388 

Fort Sheridan 385 

Gov. Headquarters ... 384 
Illinois National Guards 386 
Military Dept.of the Mo. 384 
Rock Island Arsenal 386 

Second Hegt. Band 391 

Second Refit., Field and 

Staff officers . 390 

Second Regt., I. N.G.... 390 
Second Regt., Hist, of .390 
Veteran Societies 393 

NEWSPAPERS-DAILY. 

Abendpost 417 

Arbeiter Zeitung 418 

Dagbladet 420 



xn 



GENERAL INDEX. 



NEWSPAPEBS, DAILT-Con. 

Daily National Hotel 


OUTLYING CHICAGO-Con. 

Antioch 441 


OUTLYING CHICAGO-Con. 

Evanston City of 450 


Reporter, The 418 


Argyle Park 441 




Daily News, The. .. 419 


Arlington Heights 442 




Daily Sun, The 420 


Auburn Park 442 


Fairview Park . 452 


Drovers Journal, The . . .420 


Aurora 442 


Feehanville 442 


Evening Journal 420 


Austin 442 


Fernwood 452 


Freie Presse 432 


Avondale 443 


Forest Hill . 452 


Goodall's Daily Sun .422 


Barrington . 443 


Forest Home 452 


Herald, The Chicago 422 


Batavia 443 


Fort Sheridan 452 


Illinois Staats Zeitung..424 


Bayer 443 


Fox Lake 452 


Inter Ocean, The 425 


Bensonville . 443 


Franklin Park 451? 


List.y 426 


Benton 443 


Geneva .... 453 


Mail, The Chicago 418 


Berwyn 443 


Glencoe 453 


Post, The Evening . . . . 426 


Bloom 443 


Glen Ellyn 453 


Press, The Evening ... .418 


Blue Island 443 


Glen wood 453 


Skandinaven, The 427 


Brainard . . . 444 


Goodenow 453 


Times, The Chicago ... .428 


Bremen 444 


Grand Crossing 453 


Tribune, The Chicago. .429 


Brighton Park 444 


Grant Locomotive W'ks, 




Brisbane . . 444 


addition 453 


NEWSPAPERS-WEEKLY AND 


Buena Park . ... 444 


Grayland 453 


OTHElt PUBLICATIONS. 




Gray's Lake 454 


, Advance, The 431 


Burlington Heights . .444 


Greenwood 4. r >4 


Banner of Gold, The. . . 431 


Calvary 444 


Greggs 454 


B r a i n a r d ' s Musical 


Camp McDonald 444 


Griffith 454 


World 433 




G rossdale 454 


Chicago Dramatic 


Canfield .. 444 


Gross Park 455 


Journal 432 


Cary . 444 


Gurnee .. 455 


Chicago Eagle 432 


Cheltenham . . 444 


H ammond 455 


Citizen, The 433 




Harlem 456 


Credit Company, The. . .433 


City and Environs 439 


Harvey 456 


Economist, The 433 


Clarendon Hills . 444 


Hawthorne 457 


Farmers' Review, The . 434 


Clifton 444 


Hejjewisch 458 


Figaro 434 


Clintonville .... 444 


Hessville 458 


Ex position Graphic, The434 


Clyde 444 


Highland Park 458 


Furniture 434 


Colehour . 444 


Highlands 458 


German-American . 435 


Conleys . . . 445 


High Ridge 458 


Graphic, The 435 


Cortland 445 


Hinsdale 458 


Inland Architect and 


Crawfoi'd 445 


Hyde Park Center 459 


News Record 435 


Crete . . 445 


Irving Park 460 


Inland Printer, The 435 




Itaska 46 1 


Interior, '1 he . . . 435 


Crystal Lake 445 


Jefferson Park 460 


Iron Age, The 430 


Cummings 445 


Joliet 460 


Legal Adviser, The 43fi 


Cuyler 445 


Kenosha : 461 


Lumber Trade Journal. .430 


Dalton 445 


Kensington 461 


National Builder The 43C 




Kenwood, 461 


Nederlander, De 436 




Lacton 462 


Norden . . . .433 


De Kalb 445 


La For 462 


Northwestern Christian 


Deplaines 445 


La Grange 462 


Advocate . 437 


Des Plaines 445 


La Vergne 403 




Dolton 445 


Lake 463 


man The 437 




Lake Bluff 463 


Occident 437 


Dyer ...446 


Lake Forest ... 463 




Es'mt Grove 446 


Lakeside 463 






Lake Villa 463 


Presto ' 438 


land 446 


Lemont 464 






Libertyville 404 




Edison Park 446 


Linden Park 464 




Eggleston 447 


Lisle 464 


Union Signal 438 


El burn . 449 


Lockport 464 




Elgin - 449 


Lombard 464 




Flmhurst 449 


Mandel 464 


OUTLYING CHICAGO 


Flsdon 449 


Manhattan 464 






Maple Park 4fi4 


Suburbs 439 


Englewood Heights 449 


Maplewood 464 




Englewood on the Hill 449 


Marley 464 


Altenheim .. . ..441 


Eola... 450 


Matteson 464 



GENERAL INDEX. 



Xlll 



OUTLYING CHlCAGO-Con. 

Maynard 464 

Maywood 464 

McCaffrey 465 

Melrose 46i 

Millers 465 

Mokena 465 

Monee 4f<5 

Mont Clare .465 

Montrose 465 

Moreland 465 

Morgan Park 465 

Morton Park 466 

Mount Forest 467 

Mount Greenwood 467 

Mount Prospect 467 

Naperville 4<>7 

New Lenox 467 

Normal Park 467 

North and South Shores 441 

North Evanston 467 

Norwood 467 

Oak Glen 467 

Oakland 467 

Oak Lawn 467 

Oak Park 467 

Oak woods 46tf 

Orchard Place 468 

Orland 468 

Palatine 468 

Park Ridge 46S 

Park Side 468 

Pine. 468 

Prairie View 468 

Prospect Park 468 

Pullman (See " Great 

Industries ") 468 

Racine 468 

Ravens wood 468 

Ravinia 469 

Redesdale 469 

Rhodes 469 

Richton 469 

Ridgeland 469 

Riverdale 469 

River Forest 4-i9 

River Park 469 

Riverside 469 

Rockefeller 470 

Romeo 470 

Roseland 470 

Sag Bridge 471 

Sherman 471 

Silver Lake 471 

South Chicago 471 

South Englewood 471 

South Evanston 471 

South Lawn 472 

South Lynne 473 

Spring- Bluff 472 

Stone Wood 472 

Stough 472 

Suburban Railway De- 
pots 410 

Suburban Railway Ser- 
vice 440 

Suburbs annexed 439 



OUTLYING CHICAGO-Con. 

Surnmerdale 472 


PARK SYSTEM-Continned. 

Jackson Park 72 


Summit 472 


Jackson Blvd ... 73 


Sycamore 473 




Thatcher's Park 473 


Lake Front Park 78 


Thornton 473 


Lake Park. . . 78 


Tolleston 473 


Lake Shore Drive 73 


Tracy 473 


Lincoln Park 74 


Transportation to Sub- 
urbs 440 


Lincoln Park Conserva- 
tory 6S 


Tremont 473 


Lincoln Pk., Mon'ts in... 75 
Lincoln Pk. Palm-house 75 
Michigan Ave. Blvd 75 
Midway Plaisance 75 
North and South side 
Viaduct 76 


Trevor 473 


Turner 473 


Upwood 473 


Warrenton. . 473 


Washington Heights. . .473 
Waukegan 473 


North Side Parks 67 


Waukesha 473 


Oak wood Blvd 76 


Wayne 474 


OgdenBlvd 76 


Wentworth 474 


Park Com'rs, how Appt. 67 
Parks under City Con- 
trol 78 


West Ridge 474 


West Roseland (see 
"Roseland") 474 


South Parks, The 69 


Western Springs . . 474 


South Side Parks ... 67 


Wheaton 474 


Thirty-fifth Blvd . 76 


Wheeling 474 


Union Park 76 


Whiting 474 


Vernon Park 78 


Wild Wood 477 


Washington Blvd 76 


Willow Springs 477 
Wilmette 477 


Washington Park 77 
Washington Park Con- 
servatory ... 69 


Winfleld 477 


Wmnetka 477 


Washington Square 78 
Western A ve . Blvd 77 
W. Twelfth Street Blvd. 77 
West Side Parks . 67 


Woodlawn . . 477 


Worth 477 


PARK SYSTEM. 

Access to Parks 67 


West Side Park Improve- 
ments 79 


Aldine Square 78 


Wicker Park 78 


Area of Parks 68 


Woodlawu Park 78 


Area of Public Squares. 68 
Ashland Blvd 70 


POLICE- DEPARTMENT. 

Assistant Sup't 79 


Campbell Park 79 


Central Blvd 70 
City Parks 78 


Bureau of Identification 80 


Congress Park 79 




Conservatories 68 


Composition of Force ... 80 
Cost of Maintenance 80 
Detective Department.. 80 
Div. Headq'rt'sandPrec >0 
Divisions' Inspectors 80 
General Headquarters.. 81 


Control of Parks 67 


Conveyances to Parks. . . 67 
Douglas Blvd 70 


Douglas Monument 
Square 78 


Douglas Park 70 


Douglas Park Conserva- 
tory 69 


Patrol System 81 




DrexelBlvd 71 


Policemen's Ben. Asso... 82 


Ellis Park 78 


Gage Park 71 




GartieldBlvd 71 
Garfiekl Park 71 


Secretary 80 




Garneld Park Conserva- 
tory 69 


POPULATION STATISTICS. 

Americans in Chicago. . . 82 
Bohemians in Chicago.. 8,',' 
Cook County Popula'n . . Si 
English in Chicago .... 82 
Foreisru Born Residents 82 


Grand Blvd 71 


Groveland Park 78 


Humboldt Blvd 72 


Humboldt Park 72 
Humboldt Park Conser- 
vatory . . . . 69 



XIV 



GENERAL INDEX. 



POP. STATISTICS Con. 

French in Chicago .... 83 


PUBLIC EDUCATION-Con. 

Manual Training in Pub- 
lic Schools 92 


PULLMAN, GUIDE TO-Coii. 

Death Rate (see'Health 1 ili;.'! 
Depots o"J 




Physical Culture in Pub- 


Doctors 321 




lic Schools 93 


Drainage . :>"! 




Public School B'ldgs 94 


DiCdging ... 321 


Population 18i2 82 


Public Sch'ls, How Con- 
ducted 90 


Drop Forge Company . .321 
Dry Kilns .. 321 


Population by Divisions 83 


Receipts of School B'r'd. 92 
Revenue Public Schools. 95 


Dwellings (see " Build- 
ings") 321 


ships 83 


Salaries School Emp.. 95-98 


Electric Lighting .;21 


Population by Wards. . 83 


PUBLIC LIBRARY. 


Electro Plating 821 
Engines '','.( 


Population of Illinois.. 84 


A Cosmopolitan Collec- 
tion 99 


Flats (see " Buildings ").321 
Flora 32 




Administration of 99 


Fire Department . I>21 


Scotch in Chicago 82 


Branch Delivery Sta- 
tions 100 


Freight Car Shops 321 
Foundry (see " Union 


U. S. Census Figures 82 


Cards of Membership. . .103 
Character of Books 1< 


Foundry." 321 
Fuel :J21 




Circulation of Books 101 


Garbage 322 




Condition of, 1892 101 


Gas Works 321 


POST OFFICE. 


Delivery Stations 100 




Branch Offices 85 


Directors' Report, 1892.. 101 


Glass .321 


Business, Increase of 86 


Employes of 100 
Librarian 102 


Green Houses 322 
Halls ....322 


Employees of 85 


Maintenance of 99 


Hammer Shop 322 
Health 3'*i 


Force Employed ... 85 
Foreign Mails, Closing of 85 


Number of Volumes 102 
Officers of 'J'J 


Ilennepin Canal 322 
History .... 5*23 




Percentage of Circula- 


Hospitals 322 




tion .. . '102 


Hotels 322 


International Money 
1 Order System 87 


Present Location of 99 
Reference Department.,103 


Houses (see " Build- 
ings ").... . 322 




Secretary 102 


House Drainage (see 


Mail Matter, First-Class. 89 


Visitors During 1891... 103 


"Drainage ") 322 
Hydrants 322 


Class 89 


PULLMAN, GUIDE TO. 


Ice Houses 322 


Mail Matter, Second 
Class 89 


Allen Paper Car Wheel 


Industries ?22 
Insurance 322 


Mail Matter, Third Class 89 


Amusements 319 


Iron Machine Shop 322 
Journals 322 




Arcade 319 


Labor ; 323 


Officers of the P. O 87 


Arcade Theater 819 


Lake Calumet 322 




Architecture 319 


Lake Michigan 322 




Art . 319 


Lake Vista 322 


Railway Mail Service 89 


Athletic Association. . . . 319 
Band (see "Music") 319 


Land Association 323 
Leases 323 


Railway Post Offices 89 


Bank 319 


Library 322 


Receipts for 1H91 90 


Birth Rate 319 


Living at Pullman 323 


Receipts of Post office . . 90 


Blacksmith Shops 3 9 I 
Blocks 319 


Lumber Yards 323 
Machinery 323 


Registry Department. . . 90 
Revenues of P. O 90 
Salaries of Officers 90 
Sub-Stations 85 


Brass Works (see "Union 
Foundry" 319 
Brick Yards 319 


Manufacturing . . 323 
Market 32: 5 
Municipal 323 


U. S. Money Order Sys- 
tem ... 90 


Buildinsr s 320 
Business Houses 320 
Calumet Mfg. Co 320 
Calumet River 320 


Music 323 
Nativity 323 
Necrology (see 
"Health") 323 


PUBLIC EDUCATION. 


Cemeteries 320 


Operatives (see "Work- 




Census 320 


men") 324 






Organization . 324 




Children's Work 320 


Paint Works 324 


P ijp TSJ 1 SS .h V Q1 


Churches 320 


parks 324 


Est'd Expenditures.!^. 98 


Columbia Screw Co 321 
Corliss Engine 320 


Passenger Car Shops . . .324 
Pavements 324 


Board... .. 92 


Dairy Farm . ...321 


Play Grounds 32 



GENERAL INDEX. 



XV 



TOLLMAN, GUIDE TO Con. 

Police 324 

Politics 3 .'4 

Power 324 

Pullman Cars 324 

Pullman City 324 

Pullman Company (see 
also "Pullman Palace 
Car Company") . ...324 

Pullman Farm 3;5 

Pullman Iron and Steel 

Works 325 

Pullman Land Associ- 
ation 325 

Railroad 325 

Rents 325 

River Calumet 325 

Secret Societies 325 

Sewers and Sewage 32 > 

Schools 326 

Sidewalks 3. '5 

Social Life 325 

Stables 325 

Steam Heating ~.325 

Stores ;<~'t> 

Street Railroad 325 

Streets 325 

Suburban Trains 326 

Suburbs 326 

Tenants 326 

Terra Cotta Lumber Co. 326 

Theater 32 i 

Trees 326 

Union Foundry and Car 

Wheels Works 32B 

AVages 326 

Watchmen 326 

Water 3^8 

Water Tower 326 

Waterworks 326 

Women's Work 327 

Workmen 327 

RAILROADS AND WHERE 
w ,. THEY LEAD TO. 
,- Atch son.Topeka & Santa 

< Fe 478 

, Baltimore & Ohio 480 

Chicago & Alton 438 

Chicago, Burlington & 

Quincy 482 

Chicago & Calumet Ter- 
minal 490 

Chicago Central 481 

Chicago & Eastern 111.. .491 
Chicago & Grand Trunk.491 
Chicago, Milwaukee & 

St. Paul 484 

Chicago & Northern Pa- 
cific 492 

Chicago & North-west- 
ern 493 

Chicago, Rock Island & 

Pacific 486 

Chicago, St. Paul & 
KansasCity 48 



RAILROADS Continued. 

Cleveland, Cincinnati, 
Chicago & St. Louis. . .497 

Erie Lines 498 

Grand Trunk 499 

Illinois Central 500 

Lake Shore & Michigan 

Southern 503 

Louisville, New Albany 

Chicago 504 

Michigan Central 504 

New York Central 504 

Northern Pacific 505 

Pennsylvania Lines (iti7 

Union Pacific 508 

Wabash 510 

Wisconsin Central Lines.511 

REAL ESTATE AND BUILD- 
INGS. 

Building, Comparative.. 104 

Bldg. Operations, 1891. . .103 

Bldg. Oper. since 1876. . .105 

, Building Permits, 1891.. 104 

-" Great Bldgs. of 1891 106 

Growth of Chicago 105 

Real Estate Market, '91. .105 
Real Estate Transfers. . .105, 
School Bldgs. erect. '91.. 107 

SHIP AND DRAINAGE CA- 
NAL. 

Changing the Water 

Flow 107 

Chicago Sanitary Dis- 

trict,Mapof 108 

Cost of the Undertak'g.109 
Disposing of the Chicago 

Sewage 109 

Drainage Commission . .107 
Map of Sanitary Dis- 
trict 108 

Powers of Commission.. 107 
Route of theSbip Canal. 109 
Uncertainty as to Work 
on 112 

SOCIETIES. 

Art Student's League. . .513 
Back Lot Societies of 

Evanston 513 

Bar Association 514 

Bohemian Free Think- 
ers 514 

British American Asso.514 
Canadian Amer. League 514 
Chicago Academy of 

Sciences .514 

Chicago Astronomical 

Society 514 

Chicago Democracy... 514 
Chicago Historical Soc'y 515 
Chicago Law Club ... 515 
Chicago Law Institute. .515 
Chicago Orchestral 

Union 515 

Chicago Philatelic Soc'y 516 



SOCIETIES-Continued. 

Chicago Soc'y of Deco- 
rative Art 5!6 

Chicago Turngemeinde.516 

Columbian Asso 516 

Cymrodorian Soc'y. 517 

Dania Soc'y 517 

Deutscher Krieger 

Verein 517 

Garibaldi Legion 517 

Germania Soc'y of Chi. 518 
German Mutual Benefit 

Association 518 

Girl's Friendly Soc'y. . ..518 

Horticultural Soc'y 518 

Illinois Humane Soc'y.. 518 
Illinois Soc., Sons of the 

American Revolution. 519 
Ill.State Bd.of Charities 519 
Irish Catholic Coloniza- 
tion Ass'n 520 

Irish Nat. Burial Ass. . . 520 
Luxemburg Unterstuet- 

zungs Verein 520 

Medical Societies 520 

Moral Education'l Soc'y 520 

Naval Vet. Ass'n 520 

N. W. Associ'n of Horse 

Breeders 520 

N. W. Trav. Men's Ass. .521 

Ogontz Association 521 

Personal Rights League 521 
Philosophical Society.. .522 
Physical Culture and 

Correct Dress 232 

Plat Deutsch Verein 522 

Ref onn.Societies ... 522 
Ridgeway Ornithologi- 
cal Club 523 

Secret Societies 523 

Singing Societies 523 

Societa Christof oro Col- 

umbo 523 

Societa Francaise D e 

Secours Mutual 523 

Societa Itiliana Unione 

e Fratellanza 523 

Society for Ethical Cul- . 

ture 523 

Soldiers' Home Asso . . 623 
South End Flower Mis- 
sion 5'3 

St. Andrew's Society. . . .523 
State Microscopical So- 
ciety 624 

State Council Catholic 

Benevolent Legion 524 
St. Vincent De Paul So- 
cieties 5?4 

Temperance Societies. . .524 

Turners' Societies 524 

Typothetae, The 524 

Union Veteran League. .524 
Unione e Fratellanza 524 
Union Veteran Legion.. 525 
United Commercial 
Travelers of America.525 



XVI 



GENERAL INDEX. 



SOCIETIES-Contlnned. 
Western Amateur Press 

Asso 525 

Western Society. Army 

of the Potomac 525 

Woman's Press Asso 525 

Wonfan's Alliance 526 

Woman's Exchange 526 

SPECIAL REFERENCE. 

Andrews, A. H. & Co. ..626 
Blatchford, E. W. & Co. 024 
Carpenter, Geo. B. & Co 626 
Chicago Rawhide Mfg. 

Co The 625 

Crown Pianos 8c Organe.C29 

Curry Charles C.28 

Dodge Mfg. Co. The.... 620 
Douglas' Instantaneous 

Water Heater 629 

Ely, The Edwards Co . . .r22 
Fooler, E. 8. & W. S. ttf! 
Gregg Electric Cure Co.630 
Gormully & Jeffery Mfg. 

Co 631 

Henry Dibblee Co ... . . ..621 

Irwin, Green & Co .... 623, 

James, Fred S. &Co... 623 
Jenkins, Kreer & Co... 627 
Kaestner, Chas. & Co 627 

KimbarkS. D 630 

Marine Engine Works ..621 
McDonald, Charles.. . .628 
New York Mutual Life 

Insurance Co 631 

Northwestern Masonic 

Aid Asso 632 

Northern Assurance Co. 

of London 631 

Pettibone, Mulliken & 

Co 624 

Phenix Lumber Co. Mil- 
waukee 531 

Plank inton Hotel, Mil- 
waukee ...531 

Rice & Whitacre Mfg. 

Co 622 

Richardson M.A. Jr. & 

Co 625 

Ritchie, W. C. & Co 628 

Sawyer-Goodman Co 624 

S\yeet Wallach & Co ...620 
Victor Colliau's Hot 

Blast Cupola, Detroit. 529 
Vierling, McDowell & 

Co 626 

Warner Bros. Corset 

Mfgs 625 

Western Wheel Works.. 6'S 

8T.4TE INSTITUTIONS. 

Illinois Asylum for Fee- 
ble Mind'eii Child'n ... 526 

Illinois Central Hospital 
for the Insane 526 

Illinois Charitable Eye 
and Ear Infirmary 526 



STATE INSTITUTIONS-Con. 

Illinois Hospital for the 
Insane 5~'6 

Illinois Institution for 
the Education of the 
Blind 526 

Illinois Institution for 
the Education of the 
Deaf and Dumb 526 

Illinois Northern Hospi- 
tal for the Insane 527 

Illinois Soldiers' and 
Sailors' Home 527 

Illinois Soldier s' 
Orphans' Home 527 

Illinois Southern Hospi- 
tal for the Insane 527 

Illinois Southern Peni- 
tentiary 627 

Illinois State Peniten'y .627 

Illinois State Reform 
School 528 

TRIBUTARY CITIES AND 
TOWNS. 

Cincinnati 528 

Cleveland 528 

Columbus 628 

Council Bluffs 528 

Des Moines 528 

Detroit 529 

Galena 529 

Galesburg *29 

Indianapolis 529 

Jackson 29 

Jacksonville 530 

Kansas City 530 

Keokuk 530 

Leavenworth 530 

Lincoln 530 

Louisville 53 1 ) 

Milwaukee 530 

Minneapolis . 531 

Omaha 531 

Quincy 532 

Springfield 532 

St. Joseph 532 

St. Louis 532 

St. Paul 532 

Tributary Cities 533 

Tributary Towns in Sur- 
rounding States 533 

Tributary Towns, Popu- 
lation of 533 

UNION STOCK YARDS. 

Area covered by 319 

A rmour's Great Busi- 
ness 336 

"Big Four " The 335 

Capacity of 330 

Classification of Cattle.. 333 
Clay, Robinson & Co. ...336 
Currency and Weights. 332 
Disposing of receipts. . . 333 
Dressed Beef Business . .334 
Exchange, The 335 | 



UNION STOCK YARDS Con. 

How Live Stock is Rec'd .331 

Location of 329 

Method of Buying and . .332 

Selling 332 

Packing Companies 335 

Rules and Regulations.. 331 
Sights in Pack ingtown.. 337 
Slaughtering the Cattle .334 
Union Stock Yards Com. 329 

Wood Bros 33*5 

Yardage Charges, etc 332 

WATER TRANSPORTATION. 
-LAKE. 

Goodrich Line 634 

Goodrich Line, Steam- 
ships of 534 

Goodrich Line, Descrip- 
tion of the "Virginia.. 534 

Graham & Morton Trans- 
portation Co 533 

Lake M. & Lake S. Trans. 
Co. 535 

WATER WORKS. 

Central PumpingWorks.112 
Description of Water 

Works System 112 

Expenditure since 1861 . . 113 
How to reach Pumping 

Station 1 2 

How to reach Crib 112 

Location of Pumping 

Stations 112 

New Water Tunnels 114 
Source of Water Supply.114 
Suburban Water Supply. lla 
Temperature of Lake 

Water 114 

Total Cost of Water 

Works to 1892 113 

Water Supply of Envi- 
rons 115 

Water Towers 114 

WORLD'S COLUMBIAN EX- 
POSITION. 

Act of Congress author- 
izing World's Fair 565 

Administration 537 

Administration Build- 
insr. Progress of 551 

Agr't'l Bldg., Prog- 
ress of 551 

Appropriations of For- 
eign Countries 646 

Art Galleries, Progress 
of 551 

Board of Architects . - 540 

Board of Control and 
Management of U. S. 
Government Exhibit. .540 

Board of Lady Mana- 
gers 640 

Board of Reference and 
Conirol 638 



GENERAL INDEX. 



XV11 



WORLD'S COL. EX. -Con. 

Building Outlook 189 i.. 551 
Chicago Stock Subscrip- 
tion 550 

Chiefs of Departments.. 539 

Commissioners 638 

Committees 538 

Com. of the Directory of 
the World's Col. Ex. 

on Word's Cong's fi44 

Congresses 544 

Dairy Building, Pro- 
gress of 552 

Dedicatory Ceremonies.554 

Director General 539 

Dutiable Articles Ex- 
hibited 556 

Electric Lighting 552 

Electricty Building, 

Progress of 551 

Entrance Pee 554 

Estimated Value of Sal- 
vage 550 

Executive Department. 539 

Exhibits 554 

Expenditures to Date . . 549 
Exposition Bldgs., An- 
nexes, etc 549 

Exposition Bldgs., Area 

Covered 548 

Exposition Bldgs., Cost. 

of 548 

Exposition Bldgs., Di- 
mensions of 548 

Exposition Bldgs., Ex- 
penditures 549 

Financial Ability of Ex- 
position Company . . . 550 

Financial Resources 550 

Fisheries Bldg., Progress 

of 551 

Foreign Participation ..546 
Forestry Bldg., Progress 
of 551 



WORLD'S COL. EX.-Con. 

Geenral Information . . .554 

General Review 516 

Government Aid and 

Kecognition 547 

Government Exhibits. . .56 
Hand-Hook of the Expo- 
sition 559 

Headquarters 559 

Hotel Accommodation.. 554 
Hoiticultural Building, 

Progress of 551 

Illinois Bldg, Progress of 552 
Int. earned on deposits.. 550 
Jackson Pk., Prep, at . . .654 
Jackson Park and Mid- 
way Plaisance 554 

Lighting the Buildings 

and Grounds 552 

Local Board 538 

Local Bd. of Directors . .539 

Local Bd. Corn's 538 

MachinervHall, Prog.of 551 
Manufactures and Lib- 
eral Arts Building, 

Progress of 551 

Material Used in Con- 
struction of Buildings.552 

Medical Bureau 540 

Mines Bldg., Progress of. 551 
Nations Responding .. 546 

Naval Review 553 

Officers of Local Board. P38 
Organization of Expo . . .557 
Origin of World's Fair 

Movement 555 

Power of Commission. . .556 
Precautions against Fire552 

Preliminary Work 555 

Pres. Proclamation 556 

Pres. Proclamation.Text 

Of 557 

Progress of Construct'n.551 
Prospective Gate Rec'ts.560 



WORLD'S COL. EX.-Con. 

Prospective Receipts 
from Concessions and 

Privileges 650 

Restaurants & Cafes .... 664 
Sewerage Arrange- 
ments 552 

Site of the Exposition . .558 

Special Attractions 558 

Special Exposition Fea- 
tures 5f,4 

State and Territorial Aid 

and Recognition 547 

Stock Subscriptions... .550 
Total cost of Exposi- 
tion 549 

Transportation 552 

Transportation Bl dg . , 

Progress of 651 

Transportation, In- 
crease of 559 

TJ. 8 Government Bldg 552 

WaterSupply 552 

Woman's Branch of the 
World's Congress Aux- 
iliary 545 

Woman's Build'g, Prog- 
ress of 551 

Women's Work 553 

World's Columbian Com- 
mission 537 

World's Congress, 

Arrangements for. . ..553 
World's Congress Aux^ 

iliary 541 

World's Congress Aux- 
iliary, Topic to be Dis- 
cussed 558 

World's Congresses Pro- 
posed 544 

World's Congress De- 
partments 541 



The publishers desire to state that no "paid" matter of any description ichat- 
ever appears in the body of this icork. Commercial houses, corporations, private 
interests and individuals are referred to only because a Guide to Chicago would not 
be complete were mention of them omitted. These references are made not only 
without previous arrangement, but in nearly every instance without the knowledge 
of the houses, corporations or persons referred to. The sole aim of the publishers has 
been to make a perfect hand-book. Such "paid " matter as appears in this volume 
is printed plainly aft advertising. 



THE FRONTISPIECE. 

The Frontispiece in this edition of THE STANDARD GUIDE is taken 
from the Great Oil Pai//fii/>/ presented to Chicago by the Contributors to the Fin 
lit lief Fund in London, England, after the g nut fire o/ 1871. There was a 
surplus left after Chicago had received all the a'ul tlffmtit nfressary, and this was 
used to pay for the painting of the picture. It hangs in the rooms of the Historical 
Society . Though severely criticised as a Work of Art, it irill become yearly more 
valuable as a Historical Souvenir. 




a y 
6 t 



c O 



CHICAGO. 



Not in the Arabian Nights' Entertainments, though bathed in all the 
glorious colorings of Oriental fancy, is there a tale which surpasses in won- 
der the plain, unvarnished history of Chicago. And it is probable that even 
Ihe elastic credulity of childhood, which from generation to generation has 
accepted, without question, the impossible adventures of Aladdin, Ali Baba 
and Sinbad the Sailor, would be sorely strained if confronted with the story 
which the most prosaic historian of this remarkable city is called upon to 
tell. 

Chicago is one of the wonders of modern times. Her progress amazes 
mankind. There is not on record an achievement of human intellect, skill 
and industry that will bear comparison with the transformation of a dismal 
swamp, in the midst of a trackless desert, within the span of a human life, 
into one of the mightiest and grandest cities on the globe. 

The aim of this volume is to present to the reader the results attained by 
the people of Chicago in government, art, science, culture, commerce and 
general advancement. To do this within the limits of a pocket compendium 
has required exacting labor and the exercise of all the skill which the com- 
piler could command. 

Neither Baedeker's nor Gallignani's celebrated guides, which European 
'ravelers find indispensable, are the results of a year's or of ten years' labor. 
It has required a quarter of a century or more, and frequent alterations and 
evisions, to bring them up to their present degree of excellence. It requires 
lime to perfect a volume of this character, particularly when it pretends to 
'.over faithfully a city like Chicago, where changes of magnitude are con- 
stantly occurring, and where it demands all the watchfulness, energy and 
enterprise of the editors of our great daily newspapers to keep up with the 
rapidly-moving and never-halting procession of events. 

I do not claim for " The Standard Guide " any more or less than that it 
is a faithful compilation. I have sought material everywhere, and have taken 
the liberty of using all the facts and -information that have fallen under my 
eye. 

17 



18 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

I take advantage of this opportunity to cheerfully and publicly place cm 
record my obligations to the reporters of the city press, whose work haa 
made it possible for me to collect within the covers of this volume much of 
the information it contains. 

This book, I believe, will prove to be one of the most useful ever issued in 
Chicago, both as a guide and an encyclopedia, and valuable alike to the resi- 
dent and the stranger. My aim has been to place this city, so much misrepre- 
sented of late, in a proper light before the World to convince the people of 
all countries that Chicago is not merely a big, bustling, uncultivated Westein 
town, but a great Modern Metropolis, whose people are blessed with all the 
advantages and surrounded with all the elevating and refining influences 
enjoyed by the residents of cities ten times her age. This volume will be 
read extensively throughout America and Europe, and I believe it will con- 
tribute in no small degree toward removing the erroneous impressions con. 
cerning Chicago and her people which have found a lodgment abroad. 

The printing and binding of this book were placed in the hands of Messrs. 
Donohue & Henneberry, who have performed their work in a most creditable 
manner. The photographic views from which the half-tone engravings were 
taken, were furnished by Mr. J. W. Taylor ; the photogravures were made by 
Vandercook & Co. 

THE STANDARD GUIDE TO CHICAGO will be revised and issued annually. 

JOHN J. FLINN. 
CHICAGO, 1891. 



The above appeared as the preface to the STANDARD GUIDE to Chicago for 
891. I have nothing to add to it except this : That the sale of the work 
justifies me as its compiler in pronouncing it a success. It seems to have met a 
want and filled it. For this I am grateful, and as an earnest of my gratitude, I 
have attempted to make this, the revised edition, still more worthy of public 
patronage. 

JOHN J. FLINN. 

CHICAGO, 1892. 

PUBLISHERS' NOTICE. 

In this volume the World's Columbian Exposition is treated merely as an 
incident to Chicago. We publish a "Hand-Book of The World's Colum- 
bian Exposition," which will, we are satisfied, be accepted by the public as a 
c implete compendium of information concerning the World's Fair. It has 
been carefully compiled from official sources, by Mr. John J. Flinn. 

THE STANDARD GUIDE COMPANY. 



THE MARVELOUS CITY. 



A BUSINESS VIEW. 



Population of Chicago, 1837 

Population of Chicago, 1890 (IT. 8. Census) 

Population of Chicago, 1890 (School Census) 

Population of Chicago, 1892 (Estimated) 

Area of Chicago in Square Miles, 1837 

Area of Chicago in Square Miles, 1892 

Length of Chicago, Lineal Miles, 1892 

Width of Chicago, Lineal Miles, 1892 

Buildings erected in Chicago since 1876 

Cost of buildings erected since 1876 

Frontage of buildings erected since 1876, miles 

Buildings erected in Chicago in 1891 

Cost of buildings erected in 1891 

Frontage of buildings erected in 1891, miles 

Bank Clearings of Chicago, 1866 - 

Bank Clearings of Chicago, 1891 

Commerce of Chicago, 1850 

Commerce of Chicago, 1891 

Capital of Chicago National Banks, 1891 

Surplus and Profits of Chicago National Banks, 1891 

Value of Meat Products for 1891 

Receipts of Hogs for 1891 

Receipts of Cattle for 1891 - 

Wholesale Business of Chicago, 1891 

Manufactured Products of Chicago, 1891 - 

Wages paid Employes of Manufactories for 1891 

Capital Employed in Manufacturing, 1891 



4,170 

1,098,576 

1,208,669 

1,300,000 

10.70 

181.70 

24 

10 

67,868 

$309,309,379.00 

286 

11,626 

$54,010,500.00 
53 

$453,798,648.11 

$4,456,885,230.00 

$20,000,000.00 

$1,459,000,000.00 

- $21,241,680.00 
$12,495,143.00 

- $133,860,000.00 

8,600,865 

3,250,000 

$517,166,000.00 

- $567,012,300.00 
$104,904,000.00 

- $210,302,000.00 



THE MARVELOUS CITY. 



ANOTHER VIEW. 



Investment In Public Schools to Date - $58,000,000.00 

Pupils Attending Public Schools . . 14.5 751 

Teachers in Chicago Publie Schools .... 3 259 

Cost of Maintaining Public Schools, 1891 - - $5,013 435.86 

Academies and Seminaries In Chicago . - 359 

Universities in Chicago - ... 4. 

Private Schools in Chicago . . goo 

Pupils Attending Seminaries, Private Schools, etc. - - 70,000 

Teachers in Academies, Seminaries, etc. - - 12 000 

Enrollment at Night Schools, 1891 . . . 12,000 

Cost of Night Schools, 1891 $95,361.84 

Whole number of Public Schools . . 192 

Estimated Cost Public Schools, 1892 - $6,000,000.00 

Number of Children of School Age in Chicago 289,433 

Number of Books taken from Public Library, per annum - 1,290,514 

Number of Volumes in Public Library - 166475 

Number of Volumes in other Libraries - 3,000,000 

Number of Visitors to Public Library Reading Room, 1891 - 492,837 

Reference Books Issued, 1891 . 326,619 

Visitors to Art Institute, 1891 - 75,000 

Number of Daily Newspapers in Chicago - - - 30 

Number of Weekly Newspapers 305 

Total Number of Periodical Publications - 611 

Productions of Bound Books in Chicago, 1891 9,000,000 

Hospitals in Chicago 30 

Charitable Asylums in Chicago - - 50 

Amount Expended in Public Charities Annually - - $5,000,000.00 
Amount Contributed Toward Private Charities Annually - $3,000,000.00 

Number of Churches in Chicago - 575 

Number of Literary Organizations - . 725 

Number of Gentlemenls Family Clubs - 89 

Area of Public Parks, Acres - - - 1,974 




< 

3 

O < 

3 ^ 

o 5 



* ^ 

X. 

"2 3 

Is 

s -i 



PART I. 

CHICAGO AS IT WAS. 

In order that the visitor may thoroughly appreciate the magnitude and 
splendor of the Chicago of the present, perhaps it would be well enough to 
take a glance at the Chicago of the past. The history of the city is as brief 
as it is wonderful. One hundred years ago the ground which it covers was 
a pathless wilderness an almost impenetrable morass; a swamp, out of 
which sprang a dense growth of wild and tangled grasses, with here and 
there a mound or a ridge covered with wild reeds, or oak and maple trees, 
stunted in their growth but luxuriant in their foliage. 

Since 1673, when Joliet and Marquette, induced by the marvelous tales 
told them by the Indians regarding the Big Water that laid toward the 
north, gazed upon Lake Illinois (the name which Lake Michigan bore for 
many years), and discovered the portage of the Chicago, or Checagow, as the 
natives pronounced it, a number of French explorers and missionaries from 
the South and Canadian voyageurs from the North had visited the spot upon 
which Fort Dearborn was afterward erected by the United States govern- 
ment, then in its infancy. Louis Joliet was the agent of Count Frontenac, 
the Governor of " New France" afterward Louisiana; and Father Jacques 
Marquette was a priest of the Society of Jesus, full of zeal for his religion 
and bent upon the salvation of the savage. Some writers maintain that La 
Salle preceded Marquette, but the doubt as to this is decidedly in favor of the 
Jesuit priest. It was Joliet, however, who first made the outside world 
acquainted with the fact that such a stream as the Chicago river existed, by 
giving it a place in a roughly-drawn map which accompanied his report to 
the French governor. Marquette did not long survive his arrival at Chicago 
Portage. He died of a fever contracted in the malarial swamp during the 
year 1675, after having established his religion among the Indians. His 
successor was Father Claude Allouez, who, during his mission to the Illi- 
nois, made several trips to this section. 

The Indians had given the name which this city bears to the river. To 
them it was Eschikagow or Checagow. There are various stories regarding 
its origin. It is known that a chief of the tribe of Illinois was named " Che- 
cagow " and that he was sent to France in 1725 and had " the distinguished 
honor of being introduced in Paris to the Company of the Indies," but the 

21 



22 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

river was called Eschikagow or " Checagow " long before this. The word 
"Checagow" in the language of the Illinois meant " Onion;" in the language 
of the Pottawatomies it signified " pole cat." The probabilities are that the 
stream received its name from the " Onion," that vegetable having been 
found in great profusion along its banks by the early explorers. 

La Salle in 1678 secured a patent of nobility from the French monarch 
and a grant of seignority for Fort Frontenac on Lake Ontario. He then 
undertook the task of Western exploration, and visited the Mississippi and 
Illinois rivers in furtherance of his object. In his company were three 
Flemish friars, and of these Fathers Membre and Ribourde became the 
immediate successors of Marquette and Allouez in the Illinois mission. For 
nearly a hundred years we read of a succession of missions, of the occa- 
sional arrival of an emissary of the French government, of the establishment 
of trading posts here and elsewhere along the shore of Lake Michigan, but 
nothing in the nature of a permanent settlement is mentioned, and it is plain 
that no idea of the foundation of a city at or near the Chicago Portage ever 
entered the minds of the few adventurous spirits who found their way hither. 

The first settler of Chicago was a fugitive San Domingoan slave named 
Point De Sable. How he found his way from his master's plantations to the 
French settlements of Louisiana and afterward into the jungles of the North- 
west is unknown, but that he was settled in a cabin at the mouth of the Chi- 
cago river and was leading the life of a trapper here in 1779 is a settled fact. 
Attention is called to his existence by the British Commander of Fort Mich- 
ilimacinac in a letter written on the 4th of July of the year mentioned, who 
speaks of him as " Baptiste Point De Sable, a handsome negro, and settled at 
Eschikagow, but much in the French interest." This negro became quite 
prominent as a fur trader, and others who sought to obtain a share of the prof- 
its obtained through barter with the Indians soon gathered around him. 
Quite a settlement of these trappers and traders sprang up at the mouth of 
the river. One of them, a Frenchman named Le Mai, bought De Sable out. 
The latter died shortly afterward at Peoria. Le Mai put new life into the 
business and caused several improvements to be made in the settlement. 
The point continued to grow in importance as a trading post, and Le Mai 
became quite a prosperous if not a wealthy man. He continued in busi- 
ness here until 1804. 

The result of the Anglo-French colonial war, in which George Wash- 
ington under General Braddock first achieved military distinction, was to 
deprive France of all territory lying upon the great lakes and east of the 
Mississippi, and without having any knowledge of the fact, for the scene of 
operation was far away and means of communication were few, the settle- 
ment of Chicago Portage passed under the protection of the British flag. 
Concerning this period, Flinn, in his history of Chicago, says: "In all the 



CHICAGO AS IT WAS. 23 

subsequent events, the session of Louisiana to Spain, the insurrection of the 
Indians under the great Pontiac, and, spurred on by the French traders, 
the attempt of the Illinois Chief Chicago to drive back the English; the 
English attempt to prevent settlements beyond the Ohio river; the annexa- 
tion of the Northwest to Canada; the preparation for a colonial revolt against 
King George through all these events Chicago Portage slumbered obliv- 
iously in her desolate neck of the woods, as blissfully ignorant of the world 
as the world could possibly be of her." 

While negotiations for the purchase of Louisiana by the United States 
government were in progress the project of building a fort a sort of an out- 
post of civilization at the southern extremity of Lake Michigan, was being 
entertained by Congress. From the close of the Re volution it had been remem- 
bered that British influence among the warriors who overran the West, and 
who could be counted in bands of thousands along the upper lakes, was gain- 
ing headway, and it became necessary with the acquisition of the new terri- 
tory that the United States government should make some demonstration of 
its strength in order to counteract the pernicious effects of England's tactics. 
The Indians could be made very troublesome to us by the artifices of a nation 
that was secretly, if not openly, still an enemy of the republic. Hence the 
proposition to build a fort. 

The mouth of the St. Joseph river on the east bank of the lake was first 
proposed as the proper site for the outpost, but the friendly Indians were 
hostile to the measure, withheld their consent to its construction, and the 
government commissioners, in the interest of peace, decided to select another 
location. 

Across the lake from St. Joseph was the Chicago Portage, where 
a piece of territory six miles square had been 'ceded to the government 
by the Indians. The mere fact that the government was the owner of 
these six miles square appears to have been the most potent influence brought 
to bear upon the commissioners. Beyond the fact that the government owned 
this little piece of land in the wilderness, there was no particular reason why 
the fort should be located here, except that the Chicago river emptied into 
the lake at this point, and from the Chicago communication could be had by 
water with the interior. The undertaking was considered at the time a bold 
one, as the post would be far removed from the borders of civilization, and 
the safety of its defenders would depend in great measure upon the friend- 
ship of the Illinois and Pottawatomie Indians. An order for the construc- 
tion of the works was issued by the War Department in 1803. There were no 
American military outposts nearer than Detroit and Michilimacinac at this 
time. A company of United States soldiers was stationed at the latter place, 
under command of Capt. John Whistler, an officer of the Revolution, and 
to him was intrusted the work of establishing the new fort. Two young 



24 GUIDE TO CfilCAGO. 

lieutenants, William Whistler, the Captain's son, and James S. Swearington 
from Chillicothe, Ohio, assisted him in command. To the latter he gave in 
charge the difficult and dangerous task of conducting the soldiers through the 
forests of Michigan to Chicago, while with his wife, his son and his son's 
wife a young bride he embarked on the United States schooner "Tracy' 
for the same destination. 

The schooner arrived in front of the settlement on July 4, 1808. The 
mouth of the river was choked with sand, driftwood and weeds. On the 
sand bar the schooner discharged her cargo of ammunition, arms and 
provisions into small boats which were rowed into the river, and landed at 
the spot where the fort was to be erected. There were at this point three 
rude huts occupied by French fur traders with their Indian wives and broods 
of half-breed children. But the news of the projected work had been noised 
around the country, and nearly 2,000 Indians were present to witness the 
debarkation. In the presence of these natives the United Stales flag was 
planted on a spot made venerable with the memories of 130 years of transient 
French occupation. The fort was not completed until the following year. 
It occupied, according to Eastman, " one of the most beautiful sites or 
the lake shore. It was as high as any other point, overlooking the sur 
face of the lake, commanding as well as any other view on this flat 
surface could, the prairie extending north to the belt of timber along the 
south branch and on the north side, and the white sand hills both to the 
north and south, which had for ages past been the sport of the lake winds.' 
Around the fort, little by little, began to gather the wild anc" 
restless adventurers who blazed the path of civilization through thr 
trackless forests. Now and then hunters "dropped in," liked thr 
place and stayed. Little by little the three log huts which the schoone? 
"Tracy" had found here became surrounded by a little village of simila" 
huts, but their occupants, instead of being French traders with squaw wives 
were more closely allied by race and disposition to the soldiers within th<- 
palisades. There were Indians about in great numbers, but they wer^ 
friendly and manageable as a rule. The post continued to be entirely isolated 
from the rest of the Caucasian race on the continent, and save for an occa 
sional visit from a supply schooner, its little garrison might well have been 
impressed with the belief that all the world had forgotten them. 

The war between the United States and England in 1812, was the cause 
of that important event in the history of Chicago, the massacre of Fort Dear- 
born. The French settlers previous to this time bad been driven out of Illi- 
nois by the English, and the latter had worked their way steadily into the 
confidence and affections of the Indians. They had been taught by English 
agents and emissaries that the Americans were attempting to rob them of 
their hunting grounds and led to believe that if they would join their fortunes 



CHICAGO AS IT WAS. 25 

with the British the Americans would be driven out of the country. The 
Shawnees, a powerful western tribe, had been thoroughly blinded by the 
English and had given themselves over bodily to the enemy, with the great 
chief Tecumseh attheir head. This chieftain was as eloquent as he was brave. 
He talked to the friendly Pottawatomie chiefs, worked upon their credulity 
and gained their adhesion to the English cause. Several of them had fought 
by his side at Tippecanoe the year before, and it is stated, on good authority, 
that Tecumseh contemplated the destruction of Fort Dearborn even then, 
and would have carried his design into execution were it not for the defeat 
he suffered in that memorable engagement. 

He was an energetic man, and he wandered through the wilderness 
constantly in search of new allies to assist him in driving the white settlers 
east of the Ohio river. He succeeded in forming an alliance of this charac- 
ter with the Winnebagoes of Rock River. 

The officers who were originally in command of Fort Dearborn were 
replaced in 1811 by Capt. Heald, Lieut. Helm, Ensign George Ronan and 
Surgeon Van Voorhees. The garrison, at the time, contained sixty-six 
soldiers. John Kinzie, the first "prominent citizen, "was living with his 
family close to the fort. There were a few straggling farm-houses along the 
river. Inside the palisades dwelt the wives of Capt. Heald and Sergeant 
Holt, and three other women, the wife of a French trader named Ouilmette, 
a Mrs. Boriou, her sister, and Mrs. Corbin, the wife of a soldier. The Kinzie, 
Burns and White families were the most prominent in the settlement. 

Everybody acquainted with American history will recall readily the disas- 
trous defeats and humiliations which befell our armies in the Northwestduring 
the early months of the War of 1812. Fort Michilimacinac, Mich., the nearest 
post to Fort Dearborn , had fallen . Finally the garrison at Detroit, together with 
the town and the entire territory of Michigan, fell into the hands of the Brit- 
ish. General Hull, who was in command, was tried by court martial and 
sentenced tobe hanged, a sentence never executed, however, for it developed 
to the satisfaction of the government and the country shortly afterward 
that the War Department, which had been inefficiently conducted, was 
really responsible for the disaster. Some days before surrendering he had 
the forethought and the manliness to acquaint Captain Heald, commander of 
Fort Dearborn, with the situation, to warn him of the impending danger and 
to urge him and the little garrison to evacuate the fort and retreat to Fort 
Wayne. This was the first intimation Fort Dearborn had received of the 
declaration of war with England and the unfortunate disasters which had 
followed. The news created consternation and confusion bordering upon 
panic. To make matters worse, there was anything but harmony existing 
between Heald and his subordinates The latter decided upon evacuation 
without consulting with his officers, in spite of the opposition of Kinzie, 



26 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

who was powerful among the settlers, and against the advice of Winne- 
mac, the friendly chief, who had brought the tidings from Hull. The 
latter had suggested, or ordered, that the supplies contained in the fort 
be distributed among the Indians. When arguments failed, and Kinzie 
found that Heald could not be turned from his purpose, he begged the 
commander to evacuate at once, before news of the American defeats and the 
peril of their position became noised ,mong the tribes. Heald, however, 
obstinately insisted upon postponing the move till he could summon all the 
Indians, in order to divide the supplies among them. Winnemac saw clearly 
the danger of this course, and advised that the fort be abandoned without 
delay, with everything left as it was; so that while the Indians were ransack- 
ing the place, and gorging themselves with the provisions, the garrison might 
safely escape. He knew that the savages had become generally hostile. 
Further appeals to Heald from officers and settlers proved to be of no avail. 
On August 12th, a council of Pottawatomies was assembled and called to 
order by Captain Heald, in the presence of Mr. Kinzie, who accompanied him 
to the place of meeting outside the palisades. This council passed off peace- 
ably enough, Capt. Heald promising to evacuate the fort and distribute the 
supplies and all surplus ammunition and arms within the garrison. The 
Indians were also to receive a liberal gift of money. The Indians appeared to 
be satisfied. They had not as yet heard of the American defeat, Capt. Heald 
remaining silent on that subject. It was conveyed to them, however, by 
Tecumseh, who promised them a glorious opportunity of driving the whites 
forever out of the hunting-grounds. 

The effect of this intelligence was to make the Indians at once more 
insolent than ever. Heald, in a foolish effort to correct a criminal mis- 
take, decided to distribute provisions only, and to destroy the arms and ammu- 
nition. The Indians prowling around the fort found fragments of muskets, 
flint-locks and broken powder casks thrown in a well, and at the river bank 
a number of headless whisky casks. When these discoveries were reported to 
the multitude of red-skins now assembled, their rage knew no bounds. They 
justly looked upon Heald's act as a piece of treachery, and it compromised 
all the good fellowship that existed between the Indians and the garrison, and 
even the Chief Black Partridge, who had always been friendly, threw off his 
allegiance and became an enemy. 

Rumors of the threatened danger at Fort Dearborn had reached Fort 
Wayne. Capt. Wells stationed there was a brother of Mrs. Heald. He 
started with fifteen Miamis to the rescue, and arrived on August 14th, find- 
ing the garrison without hope of deliverance. Evacuation at any cost had 
now been determined upon. Starvation was the only alternative. Kinzie 
left his family in charge of some friendly Indians, and volunteered to accom- 
pany the troops. His influence with the savages was great, and it was hoped 
that his presence might prevent an attack. 



CHICAGO AS IT WAS. 2? 

The evacuation occurred on the morning of the 15th. It was a sad spec- 
tacle. As the inmates left the palisades they were preceded by the post 
band which played the Dead March. Not a man or a woman among them 
expected to reach Fort Wayne. All felt that their doom was sealed. Capt. 
Wells led the little band of Miamis which formed the van. He had black- 
ened his face in token, it is said, of his impending fate. 

The evacuating party consisted of the garrison, about sixty five men, 
officers included; the Miamis and leader, the wives and children of officers, 
soldiers and settlers about one hundred and twenly-five persons, all told. 
They took their route along the southern shore of the lake beach. This was 
skirted by a range of sand hills. To the west of these hills, or say from the 
line of the present State street inward was the prairie or swamp lands, dry in 
the month of August, 1812. Much to the alarm of the fugitives the 
Pottawatomies took the prairie on the west side of the sand hills, 
and followed them at a distance. They must have reached a point 
on the shore at the foot of the present Eighteenth street, when Capt. 
Wells, who had been riding in advance, came galloping back with the 
announcement, " They are about to attack us, form instantly and charge upon 
them." These words were echoed by a volley from the sand hills. The 
massacre had begun. ^ 

At the very first discharge of the enemies' muskets, Capt. Wells' band of 
Miamis fled precipitately, their chief following. 

The whites fought with all the courage and energy of desperation. 
Again and again, the attacks of the Pottawatomies were repulsed, with great 
losses on both sides. Ensign Ronan, mortally wounded and kneeling on the 
sand, loaded and fired with deadly precision until he fell exhausted. Kinzie 
and Capt. Wells were fighting like madmen to protect the women and children. 
While the whites were charging on a squad of Indians hidden in a ravine, 
a young Indian brute climbed into a baggage wagon in which were the chil- 
dren of the white families, twelve in number, and slaughtered every one of 
them. The number of whites had been reduced to twenty-eight. After hard 
fighting near the ravine the little band succeeded in breakingthrough the enemy 
and gaining a rising ground not far from the present Oakwoods, or between 
Thirty-Fifth and Fortieth streets. The contest now seemed hopeless, and 
Lieut. Helm sent Perish Leclere, a half-breed boy in the service of Kinzie, 
to propose terms of capitulation. It was stipulated that the lives of survivors 
should be spared, and a ransom permitted as soon as possible. 

It was then that the tidings of the massacre of the children reached 
Capt. Wells. "Is this their game," he cried, "butchering women and 
children. Then I will kill too ! " 

So saying he started for the Indian camp, where the Indians had left 
their squaws and children, pursued closely by Pottawatomies. He laid him- 



28 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

self flat on the neck of his horse, loading and firing in that position, as fce 
would occasionally turn on his pursuers. At length his horse was killed 
under him, and he was seriously wounded. While a couple of friendly 
Indians were trying to drag him to a place of safety he was stabbed in the 
back and killed. It is said the Indians took out his heart and chopped it into 
little pieces. Mrs. Corbin, the soldier's wife, fought like a tigress and 
refused to surrender, although safety and kind treatment were promised her, 
and was finally cut to pieces. Sergeant Holt finding himself mortally 
wounded, gave his sword to his wife, who was on horseback, telling 
her to defend herself. She, too, was wounded by Indians, who endeav- 
ored to capture her alive. She fought with desperation, and finally 
breaking away, fled to the prairies. She was captured, however, but 
her bravery saved her life, and, after some months of captivity, was turned 
over to her friends. Mrs. Heald, who was wounded, was on the point of 
being scalped, when a friendly Indian saved her life. Kinzie escaped and 
his family was unmolested during the outbreak. Two-thirds of the evacuating 
party were massacred. The remainder were finally returned to freedom. 

Of course this event broke up the settlement at Chicago Portage. The 
fort was completely destroyed and the homes of the settlers were burned 
down. The place remained desolate until 1814, when the Government com- 
menced the rebuilding of Fort Dearborn. 

The new fort occupied the exact site of the one destroyed, and resembled 
it in construction. The government at this time also ordered a survey of the 
water-course between Chicago and the Illinois river. John Kinzie and family 
returned. The settlement began to fill up for the second time. Communi- 
cation was opened with towns and settlements in southern Illinois. The tide 
of emigration turned toward the West. The waste places were taken up rap- 
idly under the homestead act. Illinois was admitted to the Union in 1818. 
Chicago began to assume the appearance of a thrifty village, and from that 
time on, though interrupted now and'then by dreadful calamities, her course 
has been steadily upward and onward. These calamities, as well as all other 
events in her history, are noted under appropriate headings in the Encyclopedia 
of this work. 




[Engraved tor The Standard Guide Company.} 

THE GRANT STATUE, LINCOLN PARK. 

[See " Grant Statue."] 



PART II. 

CHICAGO AS IT IS. 

Chicago, Cook County, State of Illinois, United States of America, is the 
second city on the American continent in point of population and commerce. 
Among the cities of the civilized world, it is only outranked in population by 
London, Paris, New York, Vienna and Berlin, in the order named. The U. S. 
census, taken in June, 1890, placed the number of inhabitants at 1,098,576. 
The school census, taken at the same time, generally believed to be far more 
reliable, increased the number to 1,208,669. Since then new districts have 
been annexed to the city, and the former ratio of increase has been more 
than maintained, so that a conservative estimate of the population of 
Chicago, in the summer of 1892, brings the figures up to 1,300,000. 

The City of Chicago, incorporated March 4, 1837, comprised ' ' the district 
of country in the County of Cook, etc. , known as the east % of the south- 
west 1^ of section 33, township 40 north, range 14 east ; also the east J^ of 
sections 6, 7, 18 and 19, all of fractional section 3, and of sections 4, 5, 8, 9 and 
fractional section 10 (except the southwest fractional J^ thereof , occupied as a 
military post, until the same shall become private property), fractional section 
15 ; sections 16, 17, 20, 21 and fractional section 22, township 39 north, range 
14 east. " Since then there have been twelve extensions of the city limits. 

The rapid growth of Chicago has been an enigma to those who have not 
intelligently investigated the conditions which have led to it. In reality it 
hasonly kept pace with the country of which it is the natural commercial center. 
Situated as it is on the southwest shore of Lake Michigan, in 41 52' N. lat. 
and 87 52' W. long., 854 miles from Baltimore, the nearest point on the 
Atlantic seaboard, and 2,417 miles from the Pacific ocean, directly on the 
highways from East to West and from the Great Northwestern States to the 
Atlantic; having all the advantages of a seaport town combined with those of 
a great inland feeder, it is not to be wondered at that within the space of half 
a century it grew from a mere hamlet to the dimensions of a great metropolis. 

In 1837 the population of Chicago was 4,170. Ten years later it was 

29 



30 



GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 



16,859. In 1855 it had grown to 80,000. In 1860 it was 100,206. In 1866 it 
was 200,418. In 1870 it was 306,605. In 1880 it was 503,185. In 1886 it was 
703,817. In 1889, Hyde Park, Lake, a part of Cicero, Jefferson and Lake 
View, outlying towns, which had in fact years before become parts of the 
city, were annexed, and the school census of that year gave the population of 
the city at 1,066,213. 



BANKING. 

Chicago in volume of banking business transacted ranks next to New 
York, although Boston usually occupies second place in the clearing-house 
column which is published by the papers. Boston has fifty-one banks that 
clear, while Chicago has but twenty-two, yet the Chicago banks relatively do 
more business than the Boston banks. The fact that the clearing-house 
figures apparently give Boston a larger business cuts no figure in actual facts. 
Chicago really is the second city of the country in financial affairs. 

I Clearances for 1891. The following were the monthly totals of clearings 
by the associated banks of this city for 1891: 



Month. 


1891. 


1890. 


January 


$ 315,552,663 


$^96,038,598 


February 


293,2'<25,066 


2:3,062,263 




333,991,989 


304,703,836 


April . . . 


347,709,049 


323,624,385 


May 


391,093,736 


374,969 955 




374,708 913 


358,607 984 


July 


362.129,768 


350,804,127 


August 


361,884,577 


342,118 026 


September 


398.157,726 


359,984,613 


October .. 


421,521,165 


405,679,992 




401,965 054 


36i 309 585 


December 


423,945,524 


359,252,540 


Total . 


$4,456,885,230 


$4,093, H.>,904 


Total 1889 




3 379 925 189 


Total 1888 




3,163774,463 


Total 1887 




2,969,216,211 


Total 1886 




2,604,762,912 



Clearances, Comparative. The following shows the bank clearings from 
1866 to 1891 inclusive: 

1879.... 1,257,756,124.31 

1880 1,7~'5,684,894.85 

1881 2,249,329,924.73 

1882 2,393,437,874.35 

1883 " 2,517.371,581.21 

1884.' 2,259,680,391.74 

1885 2,318,579,003.07 

1886.' 2,604,762,912.35 

1887 .... 2,969,216,210.60 

1888. ' 3,163,774,462.68 

1889...! 3,379,925,188.67 

1890.. 4,093,145,904.00 

1891 4,456,885,230.00 



1866 8 453,798,648.11 

1867 580,727,331.43 

1868 723,293,144.91 

1869 734,664,949.91 

1870 810,676,036.28 

1871 868,936,754.64 

1872 993,060,503.47 

1873.... 1,047,027,828.33 

1874 1,101,347,918.41 

1875... 1,212,8]', ,207.54 

1876... 1,110,093,6?4.37 

1877 1,044,678,475.70 

1878... 967,184,093.07 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 



31 



Condition of State and National Banks. The following tables prepared 
from the last statements furnished by the State banks to the Auditor and the 
national banks to the Comptroller are matters of interest and pride to every 
Chicagoan, and clearly establish the financial precedence of Chicago over all 
competitors with the exception of New York. 



Deposits subject to check- 


$ 58 179 588 


, 




29 831,158 


$88 000 726 










15605907 


15 605907 


Time and demand certificates 


4 604 687 






5 118 008 


9 722 695 


To the credit of banks and bankers- 
National banks 


50,961,740 






4 238 461 


55200201 












$168 5''8 559 








The capital, surplus and undivided profits of the national 
banks- 
Capital 


$21,298,680 






9 378 950 




Undivided profits 


3,116,193 


$34 793 823 


State banks 
Capital 


12,327,000 






3,869,000 






1 8H9 288 


18 065 288 








fotal , 




$ 52 859 111 









There was not a single bank failure in Chicago during the year 1891. 
'Since the panic of 1873 there have been fewer bank failures in Chicago than 
in any other large American city. 

BOARD OF TRADE TRANSACTIONS. 

The Chicago Board of Trade is a world -renowned commercial organization. 
Itexercisesawiderand a more potential influence over the welfare of mankind 
than any other institution of its kind in existence, for it practically regulates 
the traffic in breadstuffs the world over. Its transactions are of far more 
importance to humanity in general than are those of the Exchange of London, 
the Bourse of Paris, or the Stock Exchange of New York. The volume of 
business transacted on the floor of the Chicago Board of Trade annually is 
amazing; the fortunes made and lost within the walls of the great building 
every year astonish the world. The membership of the Board of Trade is 
about 2,000 nearly all young men, full of the genuine Chicago spirit of 
enterprise, pluck and perseverance. Notwithstanding the severe criticisms to 
which the methods of the Board have been subjected from time to time, the 
commercial honesty and personal integrity of the members are recognized 
everywhere. On the Board of Trade there is a code of moral ethics which 
can not be violated with impunity. The member who is not known to be 



GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 



commercially honorable, or whose word has once been broken, or who has 
been detected in a disreputable transaction, loses caste among his fellows and 
is shunned for all time. Men lose fortunes here because they risk them, not 
on a game of chance, but in a trial of judgment. The Board of Trade 
building is om of the architectural monuments of Chicago. (See "Board of 
Trade Building.") The volume of business done on the Chicago Board of 
Trade during the year 1891 was largely in excess of any previous year of its 
history. The grain and produce business of Chicago is transacted on the 
Board of Trade. The following exhibits will give the stranger an idea of the 
immensity of the business done: 

Barley Receipts and Shipments: The following table exhibits the receipts 
and shipments of barley in this market during the past twenty-two years: 



YEAR. 


RECEIVED 
BUSHELS. 


YEAR. 


SHIPPED 
BUSHELS. 


1870 


3335653 


1870 


2,584,692 


1871 


4 069 410 


1871 


2,908,113 


1872 


2,251,750 


1872 


5,032,308 


1873 


4240239 


1873 


3,366041 


1874 


4 354 981 


1874 


3,404,538 


1875 


3 107,279 


1875 


1,868,206 


1876 


4 716 360 


1876 


2,687 932 


1877 


4 990,370 


1877 


4,213,646 


1878 


5 754 059 


1878 .... 


3,520 983 


1879 


4,936,562 


1879 


3,566,401 


1880 


5 211,536 


1880 


4,110,985 


1881 


5 695 358 


1881 


3,113 251 


18 S 2 


6488 140 


1882 


3,298,252 


1883 


8 831 899 


1883 


4,643,011 


1884 


7,849,829 


1884 


4,095,500 


1885 


10,760,127 


1885 


5,523,003 


1886 . . 


12,511 953 


1886 


7,293,190 


1887 


12,170,402 


1887 


7,216,580 


1888 


12,387 526 


1888 


7,772,351 




12,524,538 


1889 


8,138,109 


1890 


15,133,971 


1890 


9,470,221 


1891 


12.228,480 


1891 


7 58 I r 8 











Exports of wlieat and flour. The exports of wheat and flour in wheat 
from all American ports monthly for four years were as follows: 



MONTHS. 


1891. 


1890. 


1889. 


1888. 


January 


9,155,588 


7,997,354 


6,257,194 


7,520,860 


February 


7,791,615 


9,376,775 


4,586,130 


9,321,850 


March 


10,596,207 


10,077,654 


5,851,453 


8,564,735 


April 


10,872,949 


9,913,515 


5,810,731 


7 257216 


May 


10,240,120 


8 864 636 


6 830 122 


6014 621 




10,422,769 


6,85 7 ,143 


6 355,299 


6 242 559 


J u ly . 


13,694,899 


7 892 532 


7 015 986 


7 019 509 




25,279,027 


9 427 588 


11 619,689 


11 032046 


September 


24,655,698 


5,418,185 


8,192,149 


10 029 359 




19,610,040 


7,571 682 


9,363,535 


7 759000 


November * 


20,101,989 


7,077,941 


8,408,064 


5 344 036 


December 


21,000,000 


9,613,685 


11,627,50J 


7,063450 













CHICAGO AS IT IS. 



33 



Corn Receipts and Shipments: The following were the receipts and ship- 
ments of corn at Chicago during the past twenty-two years: 



YEAR. 


RECEIVED 
BUSHELS. 


YEAR. - 


SHIPPED 
BUSHELS. 


1870 


20,189,775 


1870... 


17,777 377 


1871 


41 853 138 


1871 .-... 


36 716 030 


187 -) 


47 366,087 


1872 


47 013 552 


1873 


38 157 232 


1873 


36 754 943 


1874 


35,799,638 


1874 


32,705 224 


1875 


28 341,150 


1875 


26 443 884 


1876 


48,668,640 


1876 


45 629 035 


1877 


47 915 728 


1877 


46 361 901 


1878 


63651,518 


1878 


59 914 200 


1879 


64,339,311 


1879 


61 299 376 


1880 


97,272,844 


1880 


93 572 934 


1881 


78,393,395 


1881 


75,463 213 


1882 


49,061,775 


1882 


49 073 609 


1883 . . 


74,412,319 


1883 


71,656' 508 


1884 


59,580,445 


1884 


53,274 050 


1885 


62,930,897 


1885 


58 805 567 


1886 


62,535,126 


1886 


56 363'781 


1887 


51,538,217 


1887 


50 443 992 


1888 


74,208 908 


1888... 


69 522 665 


1889 


79.920,691 


1889 


83 860 818 


1890. 


81,117,251 


1890 


90 556 139 


1891 


72,770,304 


1891 


66 578 300 











Flour Receipts and /Shipments: The following table exhibits the receipts 
and shipments of flour at Chicago during the past twenty -two years : 



YEAR. 


RECEIPTS. 

BBLS. 


YEAR. 


SHIPMENTS. 

BBLS. 


1870 .. 


1,766,037 
1,412,177 
1,532,014 
1,487,376 
2,666,689 
2,625,833 
2,955,197 
2,691,142 
3,030,562 
3,369,958 
3,215,389 
4,815,219 
4,179,912 
4,295,515 
4,960,830 
5,385.772 
4,183,147 
6,572,327 
6,034,006 
4,410,635 
4,358,058 
4,516,617 


1870... 


1,705,977 
1,287,574 
1,361,228 
2,303,490 
2,306,576 
2,285,113 
2,6 4,838 
2,482,305 
2,779,640 
3,C 90,540 
2,862,737 
4,499,743 
3,843,067 
3,999,441 
4,808,884 
5,240,199 
3.607,232 
6,362,580 
5,493,212 
3.916.454 
4,134,f86 
4,048,129 


1871 


1871 


1872 


1872 


1*73 


1873 


1874 *. 


1874 


1875 


1875 


1876 


1876 


1877 


1877 


1878 


1878 


1879 


1879 


1880 , 
1881 


1880 


1881 . . . 


1882 


1882 


1883 


1883.. 


1884 


1884 


1885 


1885 


1886 


1886.. 


1887 


1887 


1888 


1888 


1889 


1889 


1890 


1890 


1891 


1891 .... 







Grain Exports. The shipments of grain in transit and export to Canadian 
ports during the year 1891 were 3,824,084 bushels of corn; 1,012,547 bushels 
of oats; 1,128,918 bushels of wheat; 1,526,015 bushels of rye; total 7,491,600 
bushels. 



34 



GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 



Grain Inspection. The following shows the number of cars, boat-loads, 
and bushels of grain inspected on arrival in the city for the twelve months 
ending Oct. 31, 1891, and for the previous inspection year, also the out-inspec- 
tion for the same periods: 



INSPECTED IN 


INSPECTED OUT 




1891. 


1890. 


1891. 


1890. 


Cars, number 


277,216 
422 
27,607,282 
15,114,838 
66,294,406 
73,- ; 99 216 
8,119,510 
11,042,163 


273,956 
640 
9,122,016 
9,33:,784 
94,991,620 
74,605,342 
3,065,129 
13,378,080 












Winter wheat, bushels.. 

Spring 1 wheat, bushels. . 
Corn bushels 


23,127,995 
8,048,566 
41,218,563 
14,161,975 
5,573,6(17 
2,079,177 


4,108,468 
4,090,471 
57.285,534 
16,839,843 
1,666,253 
1,753,839 


Oats, bushels 


Rye, bushels 


Barley, bushels 





Grain Storage Capacity. The following table shows the regular grain 
warehouses of the city of Chicago at the present time. 



NAME OF ELEVATOR. 


PROPRIETORS. 


RECEIVE FROM 


CAPACITY 
BUSHELS. 


Central A 1 


Central Elevator Co ... 
Dole & Co 

Chas.Counselman & Co. 
Congdon & Co 

City of Chicago Grain 
Elevators, limited ... 

National Elevator & 
Dock Co 


I.C.R.R 
C.B.&Q 
C. R. I. & P 


1,000,000 
1,500,000 
1,250,000 
800,000 
1.500,000 
1.800,000 
1,200,000 

1,250,000 
1,000,000 
700,000 
700,000 
400,000 
900,000 
1,000,1100 
800,000 
1,500,000 
1,000,COO 
1,000,000 
1,500,000 
1,500,000 

1,000,000 

175,000 

1,100,000 
500,000 

1,500,000 

2,000,000 
700,000 


Central B ( 


C B & Q. A "I 


do B 


do C \ 


do D 1 




Rock Island A j- 
Rock Island B 


C.R. I.&P 

C. &N. W 


Galena "1 


Air Line 1 
Fulton.. 1 


C. M. &St. P 


St. Paul \ 
City 




Union 1 


W. St. P. &P... 






C. &N. W 


Chicago & St Li t 


R. R. & Canal 


Wabash 1 


Chicago Elevator Co.. . . 
Chicago & Pacific Ele- 




C. M. &St. P 


Pacific B > 


111. River Elevator Co. . 
G. A. Seaverns 


Canal 
R. R. & Canal 


Alton 


Alton B 
Santa Fe [ 


G. A. Seaverns 
Santa Fe Elevator Co. . . 

Armour Elevator Co. . . 
Illinois T. &S. Bank... 


A. T. & S. Fe R. R 

C. M. &St. P. R. R 
R. R. & Canal 


Armour Elevator 


Neeley's Elevator 


Total 


28,675,000 









CHICAGO AS IT IS. 



35 



&rain and Produce Receipts and Shipments. Following were the 
receipts and shipments of grain and produce for 1891, compared with 1890: 



RECEIVED. 


SHIPPED. 




1891. - 


1890. 


1891. 


1890. 




4,516,617 
42,931,'458 
72,770,304 
74,402,413 
9,164,198 
12,228,480 
68,166,240 
11,120,138 
20,685,354 
206,898,960 
41,744 
105,061,775 
2,400 
13,970 
74,021,945 
63,922,939 
127,765,048 
110,891,894 
35,049,664 
5,201,633 
1,345,573 
192,3f8 


4,358,058 
14,248,770 
91,387,754 
75,1. -.0,239 
3520,608 
19,401,489 
72,086,100 
6,642,905 
14,524,233 
300,198,241 
36,324 
109,704,834 
2,702 
77.985 
147,475,267 
67,338,590 
140,548,850 
103,743,421 
22,28 1,S 70 
4,737,384 
1,412,550 
170,563 


4,048,129 
38.990,169 
66,578,300 
68,772,714 
7,572,991 
7,858,108 
55,148,971 
9,990,798 
15,750,529 
751,684,t-62 
1,253,480 
877,295,885 
138,074 
278,553 
362,109,099 
50,204,235 
140,737,620 
198,571,824 
57,189,777 
8 : 0,S63 
835,069 
28,935 


4,134,586 
11,975,275 
90,574,378 
70,768,222 
3,280,438 
9,470,971 
59,213,036 
6,594,581 
15,395,873 
823,801,460 
1,767.650 
964,134,897 
145,897 
392,786 
471,910,128 
53,b29,885 
156,6 8,837 
199,083,622 
39,006,263 
724,109 
957,310 
19,378 


Wheat, bushels 


Corn, bushels 


Oats bushels 


Rye, bushels 




Grass seed, pounds 
Flaxseed, bushels 


Broom-corn, pounds 
Cured meats, pounds 


Dressed beef, pounds 
Beef packages 


Pork, barrels 




Cheese, pounds 






Wool, pounds 


Coal, tons 


Salt, barrels 


Hay, tons 



Hogs and Cattle Slaughtered in 1890. In Chicago, during 1890, 2,219,312 
cattle and 5,733,082 hogs were slaughtered, against, respectively, 1,763,310 
and 4,211,766 in the previous year. 

Received in 189J.Ther ceipts of hogs in 1891 were over 8,600,000, nearly 
a million more than were received in 1890, the previous banner year. 

Live Stock Transactions. The following is an exhibit of the business 
transacted at the Union Stock Yards, in this city, during the year 1891, as 
compared with the transactions of the year 1890: 

RECEIPTS FOR 1891. 





CATTLE. 


CALVES. 


HOGS. 


SHEEP. 


HORSES. 


January 


274,379 


7,490 


1,068,260 


205,132 


818 


February 


223,4*3 


6,012 


933,873 


175.217 


12,198 


March 


24,886 


8,336 


g61,902 


26.-i,350 


11,867 


April 


201,168 


10,403 


523,f28 


208,i>24 


10,153 


May. 


220,683 


13,440 


569,115 


185,881 


9,871 


June 


235,618 


26,782 


571,421 


167,581 


6,926 


July ... 


288,983 


28,292 


468,497 


169,793 


5,213 


August 


260,765 


2i,ai7 


394,499 


160,399 


5,605 


September 


3a8,223 


31,398 


456,584 


187,545 


7,183 


October 


3T2,:8 


26,127 


654,999 


191,473 


8,091 


November 


290,256 


16,971 


1,(8,396 


140,509 


6.209 


December 


281,237 


7.776 


1,068,702 


155,723 


4,063 


Total 


3,250,3; 9 


285,383 


8,600,865 


2,153,537 


94,396 



To bring the stock to the yards, 304,706 cars were needed. The abovt 
receipts show that Chicago, notwithstanding the establishment of great stock 
yards in cities to the west of us, still leads in the live-stock business. 



36 



GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 
RECEIPTS FOR 1890. 





CATTLE. 


CALVES. 


HOGS. 


SHEEP. 


HORSES. 


January 


283,356 


6,278 


807,798 


165 973 


6261 




232,796 > 


5,028 


563836 


153 453 


9 398 




246,592 


6,288 


634 086 


171 495 


12 9'*7 


April 


259,747 


11,131 


467 599 


191 260 


11 459 


May 


299,090 


9,767 


537 977 


172 82 1 


11 037 


June 


284,037 


19,909 


601,076 


181 406 


9020 


July .., 


328,2rfO 


26,425 


612,355 


143,958 


7,574 


August 


294,433 


21,939 


674,207 


185 174 


8081 


September 


332,706 


24,952 


618,337 


218,7t,4 


8061 


October 


382,098 


21,555 


146,344 


219 107 


7 064 


November 


263,511 


13,125 


878,992 


163 361 


6 019 


December 


277,684 


8,631 


821,221 


195,844 


4625 














Total 


3,484,280 


175,025 


7,663,828 


2,182,667 


101,566 















SHIPMENTS FOR 1891. 





CATTLE. 


CALVES. 


HOGS. 


SHEEP. 


HORSES. 


January 


93,046 


3,944 


232,048 


88,420 


7,379 


February 


87,980 


2,359 


328,463 


65,866 


12,007 


March .... 


96,258 


958 


380,893 


60,312 


10,760 


April 


70,031 


529 


292,548 


91,135 


9,636 


May 


76,756 


394 


278,269 


67,567 


8,747 


June 


67,943 


5,808 


254,364 


53,239 


6,534 


July 


83,454 


5,699 


223,712 


44,909 


4,700 


August 


88,162 


4,826 


176,368 


43,798 


4,865 


September 


114,480 


" 3729 


200,097 


47.653 


6,494 


October 


109,958 


7,735 


217,662 


25,684 


7,434 


November 


85,760 


5,398 


179,821 


25,774 


4,784 


December 


92,936 


2,969 


189,869 


34,512 


3,933 














Totals 


1,066,264 


48,331 


2,902,514 


688,205 


82,773 















SHIPMENTS FOR 1890. 





CATTLE. 


CALVES. 


HOGS. 


SHEEP. 


HORSES. 


January . 


124315 


2 ()62 


141 746 


68 922 


5 635 


February 


112675 


1 469 


227 987 


68 747 


8 872 


March 


119213 


702 


211 022 


75 474 


12335 


April 


131,249 


1 053 


143 131 


64 639 


10,425 


May. . 


139 888 


653 


121 903 


59 554 


10611 


June 


86,976 


5 476 


128 841 


85 401 


8,350 


July 


107 016 


7 457 


158 612 


40 620 


6fc03 


August. ... . 


100284 


10 539 


157 6 i:> 3 


99 962 


7431 


September 


106,234 


11 682 


191 797 


107,572 


7,356 


October 


108,195 


11,018 


214 170 


96,675 


6,402 


November 


74446 


5 531 


157 826 


63 8H1 


5,803 


December 


85,818 


3819 


132 022 


78,416 


4,339 














Totals 


1,260,309 


61 466 


1 985 700 


929854 


94,362 















2 
O 3 



3 H 
" 



n n D. 

3 < { 

3 O - 

S X O 

- p) S. 

^ po a 

1/3 n 



H < 

70 




CHICAGO AS IT IS. 



Produce Receipts and Shipments for Two Tears. The following table 
exhibits the receipts and shipments of flour, grain, live stock and produce at 
Chicago for the past two years: 



RECEIVED . 


SHIPPED. 


ARTICLES. 


1891. 


1890. 


1891. 


1890. 


Flour barrels 


4,516,617 
43,931,^58 
72,770,304 
74,402,413 
9,164,198 
12,^28,480 
68,166,240 
11,120,138 
20,685,354 
206,898,960 
41,744 
105,061,775 
2,460 
13,970 
74,021,945 
63,932,939 
127,765,048 
9,901 
8,683,195 
3,271,585 
2,164,464 
110,891,894 
35,049,664 
5,201,633 
2,045,418 
303,895 
1,345,573 
192,3(18 


4,358,058 
14,248,770 
91,387,754 
75,150,249 
3.520,508 
19,401,489 
72,086,100 
6,612,905 
14,524,233 
200,198,241 
36,324 
109,704,884 
2,702 
77,985 
147,475,267 
67,338,590 
110,548,850 
14,207 
7,6j3,828 
3,414,280 
2,182,667 
103,743,421 
22,281,570 
4,737,384 
1,941 392 
515,575 
1,412,550. 
170,562 


4,048,129 
38.990,169 
('6,578,300 
68,772,714 
7,572,091 
7,858,108 
5^,148,971 
9,990,798 
15,750,529 
751,684,^62 
1,253,480 
877,295,885 
138,074 
278,553 
362,109,199 
50,204,235 
140,737,620 
121,96. 
2,967,775 
,1,'7',200 
693,210 
198,571,824 
57,189,777 
83 ,63 
865,949 
99,855 
835,(9 
28,935 


4,134,586 
11,975,276 
90,574,379 
70,768,222 
3,280,433 
9,470,971 
59,213,036 
6,594,581 
15,395,873 
823,801,460 
1,767,654 
964,134,807 
145,890 
392,786 
471,910,128 
53,F29,,85 
156,6' 8,837 
148,859 
1,985,700 
1,' 60,309 
1,252,873 
199,083,6 2 
39,006,263 
724,019 
S12.655 
108,822 
957,310 
19,373 




Corn, bushels 


Oats bushels 


Rye, bushels 


Barley, bushels 


Grass seed, 'pounds .... 


Flaxseed, bushels 


Broom-corn, pounds 
Cured meats, pounds 


Dressed beef, pounds 
Beef, packages 


Pork, barrels 
Lard pounds 


Cheese, pounds 


Butter pounds .... 


Drerssed hogs, No 


Live hogs, No 


Cattle, No 


Sheep, No 


Hides, pounds 


Wool, pounds 


Coal, tons 


Lumbe r, M 


Shingles, M 


Salt, barrels 


Hay, tons 



Railroad Live Stock Transactions. Chicago, during the quarantine year 
beginning February 15 and ending November 30, 1891, received 576,993 
cattleand 78.383 calves in Texas division, against 540,962 cattle and 65,81 1 calves 
in 1890. Receipts the past year were brought in by nine railroads, as follows : 
Chicago & Alton, 189,275 cattle, 37,522 calves; Wabash, 129,907 cattle, 
18,135 calves; Chicago, Burlington & Quincy, 105,382 cattle, 11,739 calves; 
Santa Fe, 64,08 cattle, 5,814 calves ; Illinois Central, 31,376 cattle, 3,998 
calves ; Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific, 28,754 cattle, 141 calves ; Chicago. 
Milwaukee* St. Paul, 20,220 cattle, 1,034 calves; Chicago, St. Paul & 
Kansas City, 7,643 cattle ; C. & E. I., 350 cattle. Cattle averaged 24.6 and 
calves 85 to the car. About 111,000 head of Texas cattle were received out- 
side of the quarantine district during 1891. 

Combined receipts of Texas and Western range cattle for 1891 were 
1,959,530, being about a third of the entire receipts. The number of rangers 
was 173,000 larger than in 1890, while the arrivals of native cattle were 418,- 
000 smaller than in 1890. 

From July 6 to November 20, 1891, the Home Land and Cattle Company 
marketed 14,000 Montana-Texas cattle in Chicago that averaged about 1,190 
pounds. The first shipment sold at $4.75 and the second lot at $5.25 ; July 
27 some sold at $4.40 ; July 29, at $4.30 ; August 5, at $3 60 ; Aug. 10, at 
$3.75 ; Aug. 17, at $3.50 ; Sept. 4, at $4.35 ; September 11, at $4.25 ; Sept. 



38 



GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 



18, at $3.40 ; Sept. 21, at $3.95, Sept. 28, at $3.10; October 26, at $3.50; 
Nov. 2, at $3 ; Nov. 7, at $2.90 ; Nov. 11, at $3.30 ; and the last shipment, 
Nov. 20, at $3.20, which gives a general idea of the course of values for 
Western rangers during the past season. 

Only one lot of Texas cattle sold last April above $5.25. The $5.75 
bunch was for some grade-Hereford Texas, averaging 1,060 Ibs 

During 1891 Kansas City received 1,272,600 cattle, 76,710 calves, 2, 599,- 
200 hogs, 387,000 sheep, and 32,000 horses, showing a decrease of 203,000 
cattle, 200 calves, 276,000 hogs, 151,000 sheep, and 5,300 horses, compared 
with arrivals for 1890. 

South Omaha received 601.600 cattle, 1,538,000 hogs, 175,200 sheep, and 
8,960 horses during 1891 ; showing a decrease of 17,200 cattle and 182,000 
hogs, and an increase of 19,400 sheep and 3,900 horses, compared with 
arrivals for 1890. 

Provision Storage Warehouses. The list of regular provision warehouse 
is as follows: 

TheAllerton Packing Co. ; The Anglo-American Packing Co. ; Armour 
& Co.; John Cudahy; Chicago Dock Co.; Cyrus Dupee; H. M. Dupee; Henry 
D. Gilbert & Co. ; International Packing Co. ; Jones & Stiles; Hately Brothers; 
Thomas J. Lipton; John Morrell & Co., Ltd.;Moran& Healy;MichenerBros. 
&Co. ; Swift & Co. ; The Stock Yards Warehouse Co. ; Underwood & Co. ; J. H. 
Winterbotham & Co.; The W. H. Silberhorn Co.; The T. E. Wells Co.; The 
North American Provision Co.; The Chicago Packing and Provision Co. 

Rye Receipts and Shipments. The following were the receipts and ship- 
ments of rye in this market for the past twenty -two years. 



YEAR 


Received, 
Bushels. 


YEAR. 


Received, 
Bushels. 


YEAR. 


Shipped, 
Bushels. 


YEAR. 


Shipped, 
Bushels. 


1870.. 


1,093,403 


1881. 




1,363,552 


1870.. 


913,627 


1881. 


1,104,452 


1871 


2,011,788 


1882. 




1,934,516 


1871.. 


1,325,685 


1882. 


1,773,148 


1872 


. 1,129,086 


1883. 




5,484,259 


1872 


776,805 


1883. 


3,838,557 


1873. 


1,189,464 


1884. 




6,327,516 


1873.. 


960,613 


1884. 


4,365,745 


1874. 


781,181 


1885. 




1,892,760 


1874.. 


335,077 


1885. 


1,216,961 


1875. 


699,583 


1886 




936,547 


1875 . . 


310,592 


1886. 


817,553 


1876. 


1,447.917 


1887. 




847,009 


1876 . . 


1,433,9T6 


1887. 


690,830 


1877. 


1,728,865 


1888. 




2,767,571 


1877 . 


1,553,374 


1888. 


1,744,380 


1878. 


2,490,615 


1889. 




2,605,984 


1878. 


2,025,654 


1889. 


2,801,366 


1879. 


4,497,340 


1890. 




3,520.508 


1879.. 


2,234,363 


1890. 


3,274,382 


1880. . 


1,869,218 


1891. 




9,164,198 


1880.. 


1,365,162 


1891. 


7,572,991 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 



39 



Speculative Business of the Board. The increase in speculative business 
on the board is indicated by the annual reports for the last two years of the 
Chicago Board of Trade clearing-house. The monthly and total clearings 
and balances for 1891 were as follows : 



DATE. 


CLEARINGS. 


BALANCES. 




$ 5,388,70750 


$ 1,827,504 54 




4,869,450 00 


1,761,682 52 




11,001,201 50 


3,246,496 08 




11,955,19625 


3,751,432 41 


May 


1 ',480,938 50 


3,763,091 79 




9,929,196 25 


2,938,934 28 


[nlV 


8,978,752 59 


2,592,51561 




13,23x J ,350 ( 


4,240,611 20 




8,202,817 17 


2,444,963 09 




6,064,626 26 


1,911,967 87 




5,131,76875 


1,810,142 53 


December i 


5,848,425 00 


2,141,486 65 


Totals . 


$104,083,52967 


$32,480,827 57 



Total balances for 1890 were reported at $28.190,093.56, against $18,763,- 
093.56 in 1889, and $30,153,835.15 for 1888. The clearings in 1890 were 
more than $31,000,000 greater than in 1889. The clearings of 1891 exceeded 
those of 1890 by over $18,000,000. 

CLIMATE OF CHICAGO. 

The climate of Chicago is healthful and beautiful, though the 
weather sometimes goes to extremes in summer and winter. The air is 
cool and bracing through most of the summer, and hot nights are very 
rare. Many thoughtful persons attribute the wonderful growth of the city to 
the stimulating atmosphere which arouses all the latent energy in the human 
system, and makes possible the hard mental and physical labor of the people. 
The mean barometric pressure during a period of ten years was discovered 
by the United States signal office to have been 29,303 inches ; the mean an- 
nual temperature 40. 06, the mean annual precipitation 36.64 inches and the 
mean annual humidity of the air 70.9, 100 representing complete saturation. 
The maximum annual precipitation averaged about 46 inches during this 
period. The highest mean temperature was 51.40, the lowest 45.42. Al- 
though the mercury reaches the nineties in the summer at times, and falls 
below zero in winter, this is rarely the case. In winter the cold is tempered 
by the lake, and extremely severe weather seldom continues longer than a 
week at a time. 

Mean Temperature. The meau temperature of Chicago for 1891, as ob- 
served by the United States Signal office, was as follows : January, 30.2 ; 
February, 28.6 ; March, 30.6 ; April, 47.0 ; May, 53.4 ; June, 65.7 ; July, 
67.0 ; August, 69.0 ; September, 69.0 ; October, 52.6 ; November, 33.8 ; 
December, 35.4. 



40 



GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 



Excessive Precipitation at Chicago. Statement showing dates of excessive 
precipitation at Chicago, from October, 1871, to December, 1891, inclusive, 
with the duration and rate of fall : 



DATES. 


Fall equaling or ex- 
ceeding the rate of 
1 inch per hour. 


Fall of 2.50 inches or 
more in twenty- 
four hours. 


AMOUNT. 


DURATION. 


AMOUNT. 


DURATION 


December 
September 
May 
August 
September 
January 
June 
October 
July 
May 
July 
November 
November 
March 
June 
August 
August 
May 
July 
July 
August 
July 
July 
July 
July 
September 
August 


22-23, 
28-29, 
1-2, 
15, 
9-10, 
18, 
8, 
19-20, 
25-36, 
25, 
6-7, 
11-12, 
5-6, 
25-26, 
1-2, 
2-3, 
23-24, 
28, 
3, 
31, 
2, 
3, 
12 
18-19', 
27, 
4, 
14, 


1871 




H. M. 


2.50 
2.70 
2.82 


H. M. 
23 30 
18 45 
24 00 


1872 






1873 






1875 


1.00 


1 00 


1875 


3.50 


23 50 


1876 


1.00 
0.84 


1 00 

30 


1876 






1877 


2.55 
4M4 
2.77 
3.32 
3.38 
3.39 
3.26 
3.34 
5.90 
2 95 


24 00 
13 40 
23 00 
23 30 
24 00 
24 00 
21 f)5 
8 (13 
24 00 
24 00 


1878 






1879 






1879 






1881 






1883 






1884 






1885 






1885 






1885 






1888 . 


0.75 
75 
1.00 
67 
0.28 
0.25 
1.55 
4.02 
0.25 
1.00 


19 
23 
1 00 
33 
10 
10 
35 
3 34 
10 
34 


1888 






1888 






1888 






1889 






1889 






1889 






1889 


4.02 


3 34 


1889 


189H 





COMMERCE OF CHICAGO. 

The Commerce of Chicago has grown in volume from a total of $20,000,- 
000 in 1850 to a total of $1,459,000,000 in 1891. The increase in the trade of 
the city from year to year during the period named is shown by the following 
table. The figures in the twentieth line are for the twelve months from 
October 11, 1871, to October 11, 1872, the series having been interrupted by 
the great tire 



YEAR. 


IN CURRENCY. 


IN GOLD. 


YEAR. 


IN CURRKNCY. 


IN GOLD. 


1891 


tl,4"9 000,000 


$ 1 459 flOO 000 








1890 


$ 1,380,000.000 


gi'sso'ooo'orio 


1878 


655 000 000 


650 000 000 


1889 


1,177,000,000 


1 177 000 OCO 


1877 ,'.'. 


621\500'000 


695 000 000 


1888 


1,125,000,000 


1 125 000 000 


1876 


652 OOO'OOO 


587 000 000 


1887 


1,103,000,000 


1 103 000 OCO 


1875 


657 000 000 


666 000 000 


1886 


997,000,000 


997 000 000 


18 H 


639000 000 


575 000 000 


1885 


959,000 000 


959 OOo'oOO 


1873 


59(5 000 ! 


514 000 f(X) 


1884 


933 000 000 


933 000 000 


1871 '72 


490 000 000 


437 000 000 


1883 


],050,000,'000 


i oso'ooo'ooo 


1870 


439'oOf'oOO 


377 000 000 


]882 


1,045,000,000 


1 045 000 000 


1869 


450 DOO 000 


333 ! )0 000 


1881 


1,015,000,000 


1 015 000 000 


3868 


434 000 000 


310 000 000 


1880 


900,000,000 


900 000 000 


I860 


97 000 000 


97 000 000 


1879 


764,000 000 


764 OOt/000 


1850 


20 000 OCO 


20 000 000 















CHICAGO AS IT IS. 



41 



These figures were prepared by the commercial and financial writers of 
The Chicago Tribune, men who have been careful students of the commerce 
of Chicago for years, and maybe depended upon implicitly. [See "Bank- 
ing" "Board of Trade Transactions," "Manufactures," "Maritime Inter- 
ests," etc., in their proper alphabetical order.] 

Internal Revenue Receipts. The following shows the total receipts of the 
United States Internal Revenue office in this city for each month of 1890 and 
1891: 



MONTHS. 


1890. 


189'.. 


STAMPS SOLD. 




January. . . . 

February . . . 


$ 809,242.21 
859,832.51 
915,152.48 


ft 1,056,140.22 
1,021,733.48 
1,10 ,497.97 


Beer stamps sold 


.$2,232,351 31 




1,05,998 62 


1 160,952.09 


Spirit stamps sold 


7.709 233 9 




1,232,204.52 


1 074,941.95 


Cigar stamps sold 


529,468 11 


June 


1,047,960 71 


1,017,869.22 


Snuff stamps sold 


12,386.07 


July 


1.158,308.27 
1,161,310.18 


974,024.06 
953,144.18 


Tobacco stamps sold 
Cigarette stamps sold 


. 413,223.39 
1,548 9i 


September... 
October 


1,182, 95.28 
l,363,fi'28,64 


99t*,898.06 
879,726.41 


Oleomargarine stamps sold . 
Special stamps sold 


666,2 3.74 
422 480 10 


November . . . 
December 


1,253,194.65 
1,311,670.26 


878,547 19 
1,006,734.54 






Totals 


$ 13,518,891,33 


$12,727,359.99 







Lumber Trade of Chicago". The lumber trade in Chicago during 1891 
assumed proportions not equaled in any former year. The amount of white 
pine lumber consumed during 1891 exceeded by two hundred million feet that 
of any previous year. It is estimated that there was consumed in 1891, 100.- 
000,000 feet more than in 1890, which is largely due to the consumption of 
lumber at the World's Fair, at which a close estimate places the number of 
feet to be 50,000,000. The exact receipts of white lumber up to December 19, 
1891, were 2,025.817,000 feet ; shingles 295,804.000. The receipts of 1890 
were 1,985,135,000 feet of lumber; showing a difference of 180,682,000 in 
favor of 1891, while the shingles received in 1890, were 308,875,000 greater 
than in 1891, or in round numbers 504,680,000. While the receipts in 1891 
were not as large as those in 1888, yet more lumber was handled and sold. 

Output of Chicago Breweries. The output of the Chicago breweries for 
1891 was 3,000,000 barrels. It was the most prosperous year in the history of 
the brewing business of this city. 



COUNTY ORGANIZATION. 

The government of Cook county, Illinois, is vested in a Board of 
County Commissioners, consisting of fourteen members, elected for four 
years, half of whom retire biennially. The salaries of these commissioners 
amounted to $33,551 for 1892. The presiding officer is elected from their num- 



42 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

ber. The Board has the direction and control of all county officers, collects 
through the County Treasurer the revenues of the county, and appropriates 
money for the maintenances of the courts, jail, insane asylum, poor-house, 
county hospital, court-house building, sheriff's office, county clerk's office, 
coroner's office, etc., and has general supervision of county highways, bridges, 
etc. The County Board is entirely independent of the City Council, although 
the jurisdiction of the latter extends over a large portion of the county, 
included within the corporate limits : 

Cook County Court House. Occupies the entire east half of block, 
bounded by Washington, Dearborn, La Salle and Clark sts., in the center of 
the business district of the South side, the west half being occupied by the 
City Hall. This magnificent pile was erected in 1876-77 at a cost of about 
$3,000,000, and is one of the handsomest public buildings in the county. It is 
at present four stories in height, and two additional stories are to be added 
during the present year at a cost of $275,000. [See "Guide."] In this 
building are located the County, Probate and various Circuit and Superior 
courts, the Law Library, and all the County offices, except that of the State's 
(or prosecuting) attorney which is located in the Criminal Court building, 
North side. 

Coroners' Inquests. The report of the Coroner of Cook County for the year 
1891 contains the following facts: He was called upon to inquire into the deaths 
of 1,938 persons. Of that number 399 death certificates were issued showing 
that no inquest was necessary. Of the remainder of the deaths, 323 were 
caused by the railroads of the county. Ninety-seven of that number were 
citizens killed at the dangerous grade crossings; fifty -nine were employes of 
the roads and were killed in the performance of duty; twenty-seven were 
passengers who met death in wrecks; fifteen fell from moving trains; 122 weie 
killed while walking on the tracks; twenty-three in attempting to jump from 
a moving train, and one in a manner unknown. Twelve hundred and fifteen 
of the cases were males and 284 females; 1,469 were white and only thirty 
colored. Most of the victims, 438 were laborers; the next classes represented 
being housewives and mechanics, of whom there were 111 each. The causes 
of death and the number of victims are as follows: Natural causes, 63; 
heart disease, 58; suicide^ 270; drowned, 145; fell from buildings, 59; con- 
sumption, 3; exposure, 3, fell from wagon, 40; fell from scaffold, 47; apo- 
plexy, 5; poibon accidental, 18; railroad accidents, 323; abortion, 6; infanti- 
cide, 8; hemorrhage of lungs,!; fell from stairs, 23; elevator accidents, 24; 
street car accidents, 14 grip accidents, 28; convulsions, 8; burns and scalds, 
70; old age and debility, 2; asphyxiation, 48; machinery accidents, 51; homi- 
cide, 60; shot accidentally, 15; run over by wagon, 37; intemperance, 17; 
pneumonia, 6; falling timber, 1; boiler explosion, 10; suffocation, 15; shot 
(self defense), 5; sunstroke, 3; fell from horse, 1; kicked by horse, 4; struck 
by lightning, 1; burned in private building, 11; manhole explosion, 1; total, 
1,499. Of the 270 suicides 198 were married and 72 single; 85 were Ameri- 
cans, the Germans coming next with 84. More suicides were committed in 
August than in any other month, there being 29, while November had the 
smallest number, 17. The favorite mode of taking lif was by poison, and 
the favorite poison was morphine, 29 of the 94 poisoning cases being by the 
"morphine route." Of the 270 suicides, 41 were adjudged insane, 85 were 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 43 

actuated by despondency and 23, so said the jurors, were caused by domestic 
infelicity. Two hundred of the cases of suicide were male. Thirteen were 
persons between ten and twenty years old, 69 between twenty and thirty 
years, 65 between thirty and forty years, 62 between forty and fifty years, 25 
between sixty and seventy years, and 8 between seventy and eighty years. 
There was one over eighty. Seventy-one persons were held to the grand jury 
at inquests. 

County Insane Asylum. Located at Dunning, a suburb of Chicago. 
Take train at Union depot, Canal and Adams streets. This institution is a 
large and costly structure, surrounded by spacious grounds, far enough 
removed from the city to make the location a quiet and healthful one. 
Numerous additions in the way of cottage- wards have been made to relieve 
the over-crowded condition of the main building. The current expenses of 
1891 were: salaries, $44,111.68; supplies, repairs, etc., $112,006.87. During 
1891, 516 were admitted, 238 discharged; 364 were transferred to State 
Hospitals for the insane ; 127 died. The daily average under treatment in 
1891 was 983. In his annual report for 1890 the Superintendent of the Insti- 
tution made the following remarkable and cheerful statement regarding the 
insane and the prospects of their recovery. "I would here call attention to a 
fact, and that is where those that are insane are placed under proper treat- 
ment in well-arranged hospitals within the first three months of the inception 
of the disease the chances for recovery are ?bout as good as from any serious 
bodily ailment. The average of cures when this class of disease i.3 thus treated 
will range as high as 60, 65 and even 70 in 100." 

County Jail. Situated in the rear of the Criminal Court building, 
Michigan st., between Clark st. and Dearborn ave., North Side. Entrance 
from Michigan street. Visitors admitted by permission of the sheriff. The 
jail, like the Criminal Court building, has long since ceased to rreet the 
demands made upon it by the extraordinary growth of the city, and the con- 
sequent and natural increase in the number of criminals. It is an old- 
fashioned prison, built after the manner of the jails constructed in the'early 
years of the present century. It lacks every modern improvement, and will, 
doubtless, soon be replaced by a much larger and a better structure. The 
jail is connected with the criminal court building by a " bridge of sighs," 
over which the culprits pass for trial and after conviction. Aside from this 
entrance, which is never used except by deputy sheriffs and jailers in dis- 
charge of their duties, there is but one entrance, and that is up a narrow 
flight of steps leading from the open court between the two buildings. At 
the head of these steps is a double iron gate, where stands the outer turnkey. 
If he admits you, you find yourself in the jail office. On one side, as you 
face the prison entrance, is the head-jailer's- room ; on the other, the office 
of the jail clerk. Before going farther, you must have a permit. If you 
secure it, you are admitted into the "Cage," an iron-bound arrangement 
covered with several thicknesses of wire netting, through the meshes of 
which you can hardly poke your finger. If you wish to see a prisoner, he is 
called, and you must talk to him through this netting. Here it was that the 
" Tiger Anarchist " Lingg received from his sweetheart the dynamite cart- 
ridge which he exploded in his mouth, killing himself, the day before that 
set for his execution. As you look straight in front of you, with your back 
to the j tiler's door, you will see the cell in which the suicide occurred. It is 



44 



GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 



on the ground floor. Along the same line of cells the Anarchists were con- 
fined. Just above, on the next balcony, is ' ' Murderers' Row," from which a 
number of unfortunates have gone forth during the past twenty years to find 
the gallows waiting for them on the other side of the cell building. The 
cell balconies, just as you see them before you, four in number, run all 
around this interior building. At the northeast corner of the cell building, 
the gallows is always erected, and here the Anarchists were hanged. [See 
" Haymarket Massacre."] There is nothing of interest to be seen inside the 
jail, unless you have a morbid desire to witness the pale, hopeless faces of 
the prisoners. There are four departments: Men's, Women's Boys' and 
Debtors'. 

County Poor House. Located at Dunning, a suburb of Chicago. Take 
train at Union depot, Canal and Adams streets. This institution is not 
remarkable in any sense, save as the home of the most wretched class of 
paupers of the county. It was conducted at an expense of $23,397 for 
salaries, and $86,419.79 for supplies, repairs, etc., last year. The second 
item also includes expenses of the County Poor Farm. 

Cost of County Officers. The following were the estimated and actual 
receipts of county officers, over and above their own salaries, for 1890: 



COUNTY OFFICERS. 


Estimated 
Receipts 
for 5fear. 


Actual 
Receipts 
6 ms. June 1. 


County Treasurer 


$210,000 00 


$ 5,641 15 




175,000 00 


92,025 92 


County Clerk and Clerk County Court 


122,000 00 


58,432 47 




40,000 00 


27,000 55 


Clerk Circuit Court 


55,000 00 


32,9aO 70 


Clerk Superior Court 


40,000 00 


20,689 75 


Sheriff 


25,000 00 


14,09" 72 


Clerk Criminal Court 




1,029 80 








Total 


$667,000 00 


$251,850 00 









Detention Hospital for the Insane. New building corner of Wood and 
Polk streets, West Side. Take Ogden avenue cable line. The accommoda- 
tions for those awaiting action of the court on their sanity are much improved 
here. 

Expenses of Cook County. Following are the estimated receipts and ex- 
penses of Cook county (in which Chicago is situated) for the year 1892. They 
are upon a basisof avaluationof taxable property to the amount of $282,676,- 
167, of which $223,859,166 is forreal estate, $48,795,740 for personal properly 
md $15,021,261 for railroad property, The total amount admits of reccip s 
from the tax levy at 75 cents on $100 of $2,121,075.25, of which the amount 



ti; 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 



45 



o $1,902,071. 25 is available for county purposes, 
among the various county institutions as follows : 



This Is to be distributed 



Institutions, Etc. 


Salaries. 


Supplies, 
Etc. 


Hospital 


$ 62 756 


$130.000 


Institutions at Dunning 1 


15 580 


240,000 


Insane Asylum - 


55,257 




Poor House 


23 397 




Sheriff's Office 


219 340 


60,000 


Clerk of Criminal Court 


29,750 


2,000 


County Agent . 


25 000 


90,0 


Coroner 


19 000 


1,000 


County Board 


33 251 




Comptroller 


12,720 


8,000 


Public Service ... 


11 230 


4,000 


State's Attorney .... . . 


22,400 


5,000 


County Attorney 


6,160 


10,0 


Superintendent of Schools 


4,100 


1.5 


Normal School 


25,000 


li.OOO 


County Physician and Detention Hospital 


7,580 


7,000 


County Clerk . 


14 500 




Treasurer 


6,000 




Recorder . 


12,00) 




Clerk Circuit Court 


7.500 




Clerk Superior Court 


7,500 




Clerk Probate Court .. . ........ 


4.500 




Election Expenses 




50,000 


Total... 


8624.521 


$6 19.500 



The total amount of the tax levy is to be appropriated as follows : 

Salaries and election expenses $ 624,521.00 I Contingent fund $ 67,475.25 

Supplies, repairs, etc 6:9,500,00 | Building purposes 400,000 00 

Interest and principal on debt. . . 219,000.00 

Miscellaneous purposes 190,575.00 Total $2,121,071.25 

The estimated receipts from county officers, over and above the salaries 
to be paid out of these receipts, are about as follows : 

County treasurer $265,000 ' Clerk Circuit Court 90,000 

Recorder 225,000 | Clerk Superior Court 70,000 



County Clerk 175,"00 

Clerk Probate Court 80,UOO 

Clerk Crim;nal Court 2,000 

It is proposed to pay out of these resources, which are outside the tax 
levy, the following salaries and expenses : 



Sheriff 25,000 

Total... $932,000 



Jurors and witness fees, etc . . $150,000 

Judges County and Probate courts 17,000 
Judges Circuit and Superior courts 63,000 

County treasurer 183,972 

Recorder 173,830 

County clerk 147,522 



Clerk Circuit Court 46,956 

Clerk Superior Court 37,000 

Clerk Probate Court 48320 

Total $867,600 



The synopsis of these figures show that if the expenses are kept within 
the estimates there ought to be a surplus of $64,400 to the credit of the county 
at the end of the present year. 

Expenses of Cook County in Detail. The County Hospital will cost only 
$192,756 for 1892. The pay-roll contains 141 employes, besides training 
school nurses in twelve wards. The salary list is estimated at $62,756, and 
the amount required for supplies and repairs" is put at $130,000. The sala- 
ries range from $160 to $15 per month. 



46 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

v 

It will cost $255,580 to run the office of general superintendent of the 
county institutions at Dunning, of which $240,000 is for supplies and $15,580 
for the salary list, including twenty-nine employes. The general superintend- 
ent gets $208 a month and the stenographers $25 each. 

The regular pay-roll of the Insane Asylum is to include forty-two names 
outside of the attendants. The estimate provides for eighty-four regular 
attendants at $30 a month each, and seventeen extra attendants, when required, 
at the same figure. The total salary list is $55,257. 

The poorhouse salary list is not half so large. There are sixty -five employes 
provided for at an expense of $23,397. In both the asylum and the poorhouse 
there is a graduated scale of wages for nurses and attendants, reaching a 
maximum of $25 for poorhouse nurses and of $30 for asylum attendants, after 
six months' service. 

The sheriff's office next receives attention. There are 177 employes said 
to be needed to run thisoffice, at acos of $196,740. The chief deputy receives 
$208 a month and the chief clerk and jailer $166 each. Twenty-four deputies, 
nineteen at $150 and five county deputies at $125 a month, draw $41,700 
this year, while twenty-five bailiffs of the Criminal Court and thirty-eight 
bailiffs of the other courts, at $100 a month each, will receive $75,000 by 
next New Year's. Additional help allowed by the court for this year brings 
the total salary list of the Sheriff's office up to $219,340. The supplies for 
the Court-House, Jail and Criminal Court Building will, it is estimated, 
cost $60,000. 

The office of Clerk of the Criminal Court will cost $2,000 for supplies 
and repairs and $29,750 for salaries of twenty-two men. 

The salary list of the County Agent's office is placed at $25,000, and the 
amount needed for repairs and supplies at $90,000. The Coroner's salary 
list is made $19,000, and the supply and repair account $1,000. 

The County Board salary list is fixed at $33,251. For the County 
Comptroller's office the salary list is $12,720, and supplies for Comptroller and 
County Board $8,000. The office of Superintendent of Public Si-rvice will 
cost $11,230 in salaries and $4,000 for supplies, repairs and adveitisiog. The 
State's- Attorney's office salary list is $22,400, divided am- ng the State's- 
Attorney, five assistants and a stenographer. The sum of $5,000 is provided 
for supplies. 

The salary list of the County Attorney's office is placed at $6,160 and the 
supply and repair account at $10,000. 

For the County Superintendent of School's office $4,100 is allowed for 
salaries and $1,500 for repairs. The Normal School salary list is put at 
$25,000 and supplies and repairs, $11,000. For County Physician and Deten- 
tion Hospital $7,580 is expected to be needed in salaries and 7,000 in supplies 
and repairs. 

Judiciary of Cook County. There is one county, one probate and eighteen 
judges of the Superior and Circuit Courts. For cost of same see " Expenses 
of Cook County." 

Taxable Valuation of Cook County Property. The total valuation of all 
the taxable property in Cook County is $282,676,167. The total real estate 
valuation aggregates $223,859,166 ; personal property, $48,795,740 ; railroad 
property, $15,021,261. 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 47 

ELEEMOSYNARY SUPPORT. 

The city of Chicago supports entire or aids in the maintenance of several 
eleemosynary institutions, charities and pension funds, as follows: 

Erring Woman's Refuge for Reform. Receives a percentage of certain 
fines imposed in police courts, according to act of the general assembly, 
approved March 31, 1869. 

Firemen's Pension Fund. This fund receives 1 per centum of all reve- 
nues collected or received frora Moenses issued during each year, according to 
an act of the general assembly , approved May 13, 1887, in force July 1, 1887, 

House of the Good Shepherd. This institution also receives a per centum 
of certain fines imposed by the police courts, according to act of the general 
assembly, approved March 31, 1869. 

Illinois Humane Society. This society is entitled to fines collected 
through the agency of the organization, for the prevention of cruelty to 
animals, according to an act of the general assembly, approved June 28, 
1885, in force July 1, 1885. 

Police Pension Fund. This fund receives 2 per centum of all moneys 
received from licenses for saloons or dramshops, % of dog tax, % of all mon- 
eys received for licenses granted pawnshops, % of all moneys received for 
licenses granted second-hand dealers, % of all moneys received from mon- 
eys for licenses granted junk dealers; all moneys collected for fees for car- 
rying concealed weapons; % of all costs collected for violation of city ordi- 
nances, according to an act of the general assembly, approved April 29, 1887; 
in force July 1, 1887. 

Washingtonian Home. This institution receives a per centum of moneys 
collected for saloon licenses, not to exceed $20,000 per annum, according to 
act of the general assembly, approved Februarv 16, 1867, amended by an act 
in force July 1, 1883. 

FEDERAL REPRESENTATION. 

The civil authority and functions of the Federal government are repre- 
sented in Chicago by the United States courts Circuit (Walter Q. Gresham, 
judge) and District (H. W. Blodgett, judge), and their officers, including the 
U. S. District Attorney, U. S. Marshal and U. S. Commissioners; by the Col- 
lector of Customs, the Collector of Internal Revenue, the U. S. Sub-Treasurer 
and minor officers. 

United States Courts. The United States Courts are two in number, the 
Circuit (Judge Walter Q. Gresham), the District (H. W. Blodgett). An Asso- 
ciate Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States sits here also on stated 
occasions. The courts are located in the post-office (or government) building; 
clerk, W. H. Bradley. The United Stales Court of Claims is represented by 
U. S. Comnnissioner Hoyne, room 53 post-office building, and Simeon W. 
King, M. E. Church block. 

V. 8. Officers in Chicago. The United States officers in Chicago, aside 
from the postmaster, are the Collector of Customs, Collector of Internal 
Revenue, U. S. Sub-treasurer, Special Agent U. S. Treasury, U. S. 
Appraiser, U. S. District Attorney, U. S. Engineer, U. S. Inspector of Life- 
saving Stations. U. S. Inspector of Steam-vessels, Surgeon of U. S. Marine 



48 CHICAGO AS IT IS. 

Hospital, U. 8. Marshal, tJ. S. Pension Agent, Superintendent of U. S. Secret 
Service, U. S. Signal Officer and U. S. Lighthouse Inspector. The offices of 
all of these, excepting the appraiser's (210 Market street) and the U. S. Signal 
offices (seventeenth floor of the Auditorium building), arelocated in the post- 
office building. 

FIRE DEPARTMENT. 

The fire department of Chicago is generally acknowledged to be the best 
equipped and most efficient in the United States, which means that it is the best 
equipped and most efficient in the world, for the firemen of this country are 
called upon to be prepared for and to meet emergencies which do not rise in 
the cities of Europe. The Chicago corps have been brought up to its present 
high standard of discipline and efficiency by the two chief marshals who 
have had charge of the department since the great fire of 1871 Benner and 
Swenie. The former retired from the service about ten years ago, after re- 
organizing the department upon a basis which has served as a foundation for 
the growth and character it has since attained. Marshal Swenie was Mr. 
Benner's chief assistant, and was largely instrumental in suggesting and 
carrying out many of the reforms, ideas and improvements that characterized 
the latter's administration. Since the succession of Marshal Swenie the 
department has quadrupled its machinery and its forces. In Mr. Benner's 
time Chicago was a city covering an area of less than forty square miles, 
with a population of about 500,000. Now the city covers an area of 181 
square miles and a population of 1,250,000. The following information will 
give the visitor an idea of the strength and workings of the fire department: 

Alarmsand Losses, 1S91. There were4,570 fire alarmsduriug 1891 against 
3733 in 1890, an increase of 837. The total value of property involved was 
$115,823,005, while in 1890 it was $95,147,058, being an increase of $20,675,- 
947. The total loss in 1891 was $3,157,348, while in 1890 it was $2,047,736, an 
increase over 1890 of $1,109,612. The total insurance was $59,526,210 in 1891, 
and in 1890 $44,083,330, an increase of $15,442,880 in favor of 1891. 

City Telegraph and Electric Lights. The police and fire telegraph and 
telephone system and the electric lighting service are in charge of the city 
electrician. 

Equipment and Force. The fire department of Chicago (1892) consists 
of 970 men and officers, 72 steam fire engines, 22 chemical fire engines ,99 hose 
carts, 28 hook and ladders trucks, 1 water tower, 3 fire boats (for river and 
harbor service, and for work along the river sides on buildings, warehouses, 
lumber yards, etc., adjacent), 99 apparatus stations, 421 horses, and an 
extensive and well equipped repair shop. As an auxiliary to the department 
there are 1,935 stations, provided with necessary instruments and several 
thousand miles of wire, by which alarm of fire may be communicated. 

Headquarters and Organization. The headquarters of the Chicago Fire 
Department are ^located in the City Hall. Following is the organization : 




. 

g O 
O U 






J t/S 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 49 

Fire Marshal and Chief of Brigade, D. J. Swenie ; First Assistant Fire Mar- 
shal and Department Inspector, William H. Musham ; Second Assistant 
Fire Marshal, John H. Gale ; Department Secretary, Charles S. Petrie ; 
Fire Inspector, Michael W. Conway ; Chiefs of Battalions : 1st, Patrick 
O'Malley ; 3d, Frederick I. Ries ; 3d, Peter Schnur ; 4th, Paul F. A. Pundt ; 
5th, John Campion ; 6th, Joseph C. Pazen ; 7th, James Heaney ; 8th, Leo. 
Meyers ; 9th, William H. Townsend ; 10th, Nicholas Dubach ; llth, John 
Fitzgerald ; 12th, Edward W. Murphy ; 13th, Frederick J. Gabriel. Each 
Engine and Hook and Ladder Company is commanded by a Captain and 
Lieutenant, and the officers and men of the 99 apparatus stations are divided 
into 13 Batalions, under command of the Chiefs mentioned above. [See 
"Municipal Government " for salaries.] 

Insurance Patrol. Established in 1871, by the underwriters of the city, 
for the protection of property, merchandise, etc. and the recovery of sal- 
vage from the interior of burning buildings. There are five Fire Patrol sta- 
tions, as follows: No. 1, 176 Monroe St.. Captain George Furnald, 16 men; 
No. 2, 210 Peoria St., West Side, Captain Charles W. O'Neill, 10 men; No. 3, 
Dearborn and Twenty-third sts., Captain Frederick Harbunm 7 men; No. 4, 
Forty -third street and Center ave., Captain Frank Whitmore, 6 men; No. 5, 
now organizing, will be located at No. 60 Whiting St., with a force of 7 men, 
E. T. Shepard, Superintendent. Patrol Station No. 1 is located on Monroe 
St., between La Salle street and Fifth ave., and is the most accessible to visi- 
tors. The horses and men are trained to perfection and the operation of 
responding to sa alarm is one of the most interesting things to be seen in 
Chicago. The Patrol Service, or Salvage Corps, are generally first at a fire, 
employing fast horses and light equipment, and they save a vast amount of 
property annually. 

Location of Stations. The Engine Houses near the centre of the city, and 
within easy access of visitors, are located as follows: No. 1, 271 Fifth ave.., 
wholesale district; No. 10. 82 Pacific ave., near Board of Trade and Van 
Buren St. depot: No. 13, 19 Dearborn St., near bridge; No. 32, foot of Mon- 
roe St., No. 37 (river fire boat), foot of La Salle st.; No. 40, 83 South Frank- 
lin St., near Telephone building. The visitor, should an alarm happen to be 
signalled, will be interested in the perfect training and discipline exhibited 
by men and horses. 

Pension Fund. Firemen are retired on half-pay after continuous service 
of 20 years, the fund for this purpose beirg established and maintained by 
percentage of certain municipal revenues. [See Eleemosynary Support.] 
The firemen also have a Benevolent Society which cares for disabled mem- 
bers, and the widows and orphans of members. It is in a prosperous 
condition. 

GENERAL INFORMATION. 

Annexation. On the 28th of June, 1889, the city embraced about forty- 
four square miles of territory. On the day following, by vote of the people, 
the city of Lake View and the towns of Hyde Park, Lake, Jefferson and 
Cicero, aggregating 128.24 square miles of territory and about 220,000 people, 
were annexed to and became part of Chicago, thus constituting one great 



50 



GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 



metropolis, extending twenty-four miles from north to south, and from four 
and one-half to ten and one-half miles firm east to west. The validity of 
the proceedings resulting in the annexation was confirmed by the Supreme 
Court, October 29, 1889. By this extraordinary consolidation, six independ- 
ent municipal corporations each having a legislative and executive depart- 
ment of government, each controlled and operated under more or less 
different systems and methods of conducting public affairs were merged 
into one municipality, under the authority and control of one city govern- 
ment. During the year 1890, there were annexed to the city four 
suburbs South Englewood, area, 292 square miles, population 8,000; 
Gano, 1.80 square miles, population 2,600; Washington Heights, 2.8 square 
miles, population 3,315; West Roseland, 1.80 square miles, population 792; 
making a total annexation for the year of 9.32 square miles, withapopu- 
lation of 9,900. Fernwood was also added. 

Area of Chicago. Chicago has grown from 2.55 square miles in 1835 to 
181.70 square miles in 1891, as follows: 





SQUARK MILES. 


February 11, 1835, original town 


8.15 mak ng 
3.33 making 
8 9 ) making 


2.65 
10.7J 
14.('3 
17.93 
24.41 
35.79 
36.79 
43.94 
172.18 
174.18 
177.16 
179.96 
181.70 


March 4, 1837, there was added 


February 16, 184", there was added 


February 12, 1853, there was added 


February 13, 1863, there was added. 


6.48 making 
11.35 making 
1.00 making 
7.15 making 
128.24 making 
2.00 making 
?.98 making 
2.80 making 
1.80 making 


February 27 1864, there was added 


May 16, 1887, there was added 


November and December 5, 1887, thei e was added 


July 9 1889 there was added 


April 16, 1890 village of G:<no added 


1890 South Englewood added 


1890, Washington Heights 


189:>. West Ko.-eland . . . 



Of the present area 5.14 square miles are water, 176.56 land, 
is divided into 34 wards, each covering a territory as follows: 

First ward 1.75 square miles 

Second ward 1.5 square miles 

Third ward 1.5 square miles 

Fourth ward 1.75 square miles 

Fifth ward 1.5 square miles 

Sixth ward 2.75 square miles 

Seventh ward 0.75 square mile 

Eighth ward 0.75 square mile 

Ninth ward 1.5 square miles 

Tenth ward 1.5 square miles 

Eleventh ward 1.25 square miles 

Twelfth ward 3.00 square miles 

Thirteenth ward 3.00 square miles 

Fourteenth ward 3.00 square miles 

Fifteenth ward 3.25 square miles 

Sixteenth ward 0.75 square mile 

Seventeenth ward 0.75 square mile 



The city 



Eighteenth ward 0.75 square mile 

Nineteenth ward 0.75 square mile 

Twentieth ward 1 .00 square mile 

Twenty-first ward. . . . 1.00 square mile 
Twenty-second ward.. 0.75 square mile 

Twenty-third ward 0.75 square mile 

Twenty -fourth ward. .1.00 square mile 

Twenty-fifth ward 5.00 square miles 

Twenty-sixth ward. . . 5.75 square miles 
Twenty-seventh ward. 29.5 square miles 
Twenty-eighth ward. ..7.00 square miles 
Twenty-ninth ward 6.00 square miles 

Thirtieth ward 12.00 square miles 

Thirty-first ward 18.00 square miles 

Thirty-second ward . . .3.75 square miles 

Thirty-third ward 28.5 square miles 

Thirty-fourth ward. ..2V.OO square miles 



CHICAGO AS IT JS. 51 

Bridewell, or House of Correction. This is the city prison and is generally 
known as the Bridewell, a name which it derived from the Bridewell of Dub- 
lin, Ireland, to which it bears a similarity in many respects. The manage- 
ment is vested in a superintendent, appointed by the mayor. The expendi- 
tures for salaries and maintenance and construction are about $125, 000 per 
annum; the receipts from police court fines, brick made by inmates inside the 
walls, labor of prisoners, laundry work for police department, etc., amounts 
to about $60,000 per annum. The number of prisoners committed to the 
Bridewell annually is about 9,000, of whom about seven-eighths are male. 
The average number of prisoners confined is about 760 males and 40 females. 
The cost of the prison to the city of Chicago, as it stands to-day, is about 
$1,500,000. The prisoners are employed in brick-making and other indus- 
tries. County prisoners are also sent here, for whose support the city is paid 
about 30 cents per capita daily. The Bridewell is situated at South Califor- 
nia avenue, near West Twenty-sixth-street, West Side, and may be reached 
by Blue Island Avenue cars. Mark L. Crawford is the superintendent. 

Bridges and Viaducts. As the Chicago river is navigable for lake vessels, 
and it, with its branches, intersects the heart of the city, a large number of 
bridges have been required. No less than forty-five now span this small 
stream. Nearly all are swinging bridges, and many of them are operated by 
steam. Steel construction has been employed in the bridges most recently 
erected. Among these, the Adams street bridge is a notable structure. It is 
a 4-track bridge, 259 feet long on center truss, and 57 feet in width. Thia 
bridge is two feet three inches lower at the east end than at the west end, and, 
at the same time is reversible, the turn-table track being set on a grade of one 
in 115. Some doubts were expressed as to its feasibility when the plan was 
proposed, but the city engineers say that no bridge in the city works better 
than this one. The Rush street draw is one of the longest in the world. The 
Lake, Wells and Jackson street bridges are handsome structures. The present 
bridge at Madison street is to be moved to Washington street, and one of the 
finest bridges in the city erected in its place, which will probably be com- 
pleted this year. 

The railroads entering the city do so in but few instances above or below 
the street l^vel. Grade-crossings are the rule. Engineers have long sought 
to remedy this state of affairs, which will probably be accomplished in time; 
but, meanwhile, some relier is being provided at the most dangerous crossings 
by the erection of viaducts. There are thirty-five of these structures in the 
city, the longest and finest of which is on Twelfth street, extending from 
Clark street to Wabash avenue, crossing the tracks of the Atchison, Topeka 
and Santa Fe Railroad Company, and costing $209,736. 

Geographical Center of Chicago. The geographical center of the present 
city of Chicago is located at the intersection of Ashland avenue and Thirty- 
ninth street. 

Health of the City. There was not a single case of small-pox in Chicago 
during the year 1891. The physician of the Health Department during that 
period vaccinated 20,809 persons. The vital statistics for 1890 were based 
upon a population of 1,100,000. During the present year they are based 
upon a population of 1,250,000. Said Health Commissioner Ware, at the 
beginning of 1892 : "The health of the city has been good and very satisfac. 



52 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

tory to us. Our mortality for every month of the year was remarkably low." 
The report of the Health Department for 1891 shows that there were 27,754 
deaths In the city during the year, making a percentage, based upon a popula- 
tion of 1,250,000, of 22.20 per 1,000. Of the deaths 12,801 were children under 
five years of age, a percentage of 46.29 ; and 5 over one hundred years. The 
grippe directly caused but 336 deaths, but pneumonia and other complica- 
tions with the deadly influenza swelled the number of victims of this class of 
diseases. Pneumonia carried off 2,898 ; consumption 2.120 ; bronchitis, 1,495; 
typhoid fever, 1,997 ; accidents, 1,158 ; diphtheria, 958 ; croup, 400 ; scarlet 
fever, 499; malarial fever, 143; whooping cough, 194; suicide, 246; 
delirium tremens, 148 ; hydrophobia, 4. The total deaths from tubercular 
diseases was 2,421. 

Lake and River Frontage. The city has a frontage on Lake Michigan of 
twenty-two miles and a river frontage of about fifty-eight miles, twenty- 
two and one-half miles of which are navigable. 

Lakes and Rivers. There are three lakes within the present city limits 
containing an area of 4,095.6 acres, as follows: Calumet Lake 3122 acres, Hyde 
Lake 330.8 acres, the portion of Wolf Lake lying within the city limits 642.8 
acres. Of these Calumet and Wolf are navigable. There are two rivers within 
the corporate limits; the Chicago river, with north and south branches, which 
divide the city into districts known, respectively, as the North, South and 
West " Divisions" or " Sides" and the Calumet river, with Big and Little 
Calumet rivers, which penetrate the extreme southern part of the city. 

Length and Width of Chicago. The distance between north Seventy -first 
street, being the northern city limits, and One Hundred and Thirty-ninth 
street, being the southern city limits, is twenty-four miles. The city at its 
broadest point is 10.5 miles in width. State street has the greatest extension 
north and south, running from North avenue to the southern city limits, 
eighteen miles; Eighty-seventh the greatest western extension, running the 
entire width of the city. 

Marriage Licenses. The number of licenses issued in Chicago in 1891 was 
15,400, or nearly 1,200 more than issued in the previous year, when 12,850 
was considered a high number. In January, 1,258 licenses were issued; Feb- 
ruary showed 927 licenses; March, 893; April, 1,369; May, 1,284; June, 1,441; 
July, 1085; August, 1,206; September, 1,532; October, 1,613; November, 1,513; 
December, 1,250. The rather delicate and sometimes embarrassing question 
regarding the ages of the contracting parties was answered with all the num- 
bers from 14 to 86. In twenty instances the bride had just passed 14 years, 
while the ages of the grooms ranged between 17 and 20 years. During the 
summer months the number of applicants under the age of majority reached 
300. At an average of two times a day the "pa" or the " ma" had to give 
their consent. Never in the history of Chicago have so many people in their 
advanced age re-entered the connubial life as in the latter part of 1891, the 
records showing nearly 100 couples respectively between 55-65 and 50-60. 
The oldest man was 86 and is still alive; next comes one at 82, manied a few 
days ago, and finally a comparatively young fellow of 77. The oldest maid 
was 68 V while the oldest widow was 62. 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 



53 



Mileage of Streets. The annexation of Gano, Washington Heights, West 
Roseland and part of Calumet, has extended the number of miles of streets in 
Chicago to 2,235.71, divided as follows: 





IMPROVED. 


UNIMPROVED 


Former City ot Chicago 


438 28 


33080 


Hyde Park 


125 07 


416 87 




40 09 


298 00 


Like View 


56 05 


75 48 


Jefferson 




24?.28 


Cicero 




84.79 


Gano, Washington Heights, etc 




119 00 








Totals 


668.49 


1,567 22 









Morgue. Situated in the rear of the County Hospital, near the Polk 
street side. Take Harrison street or Ogden avenue car. Ten bodies, on an 
average, are picked up in the streets of Chicago every day. Besides these, 
morgue accommodations are necessary for many of those who die in" the 
county and other hospitals, police stations, etc. The inside measures 40x46J^ 
feet, and the entire affair, with offices, etc., cost about $18,000. All bodies 
are disinfected and frozen by the carbolic acid process before being placed on 
view. 

Natural Gas Supply. Natural gas for fuel purposes will be conveyed to 
and used in Chicago extensively before the close of 1892. 

Poverty in C7w'c#y3. Notwithstanding the great prosperity of the people 
as a whole, poverty is to be found in Chicago as well as elsewhere. Mu- 
nicipal charity in Chicago has risen to the dignity of an applied science. 
Through the refuse of alleys, up the trembling stairs of tenements, and into 
the hovels of want and misery a force of men and women daily goes, 
carrying food for the hungry, warm clothing for the naked, coals for the 
needy, and medicine for the sick. From November until April, Cook 
County gives away 200 sacks of flour, forty pairs of shoes, and fifty tons of 
coal every day. Relief of the deserving poor involves not alone the dis- 
covery and proper aid of the unfortunates, but is attended with a constant 
warfare against the idle and vicious. Agents of the Visitation and Aid 
society, the Relief and Aid society, the German Aid society, the Hebrew Aid 
society, and St. Vincentde Paul's daily seek the sick and needy, but their work 
is only of a semi-public nature. From the office of the county agent, at 36 
West Madison street, there are sent twenty-seven men and three women, who 
investigate the condition of those reported to be in want and who, by reason 
of their familiarity with neighborhoods and individuals, are able to insure a 
wise bestowal of public charity. 

Revenues and Disbursements of the City for 1801. The following shows 
in detail the revenues and disbursements of the city of Chicago for the year 
ending December 31, 1891, as reported by the city treasurer. RECEIPTS: 
balance January 1, 1891, $567,555; general taxes,1890," $9,199, 796; water fund, 
$4,456,286; sewerage fund, 1891, $171,733; department publishing works' 
1891, $692,897; school tax fund, 1890, $15,000; school tax fund, 1891, " 



54 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

643; street lamp fund, 1891, $97,855; first district police court, $27,692; sec- 
ond district police court, $7,1. JJ- third district police court, $11,093; fourth 
district police court, $6,247; fiftli district police court, $5,943; sixth district 
police court, $5,131; seventh district police court, $4,343; eighth district 
police court, $3,225; ninth district police court, $2,828; tenth district police 
court, $2,924; special assessments and deposit fund, $6,407,394; school fund, 
'$2,400,440; house of correction, 1891, $01,812; city markets, 4,792; pounds, 
$3,556; wharfing interests, $1,219; Jonathan Burr fund, $1,722; general 
fund, 1891, $1,474,805; licenses, $3,882,453; rents, $27,495; refunding loan 
account, $690,700; police department, fund 1891, $31,294; fire department 
fund, 1891, $6,755; public library fund, 1891, $6,928; health department fund, 
1891, $161; contingent fund, 1891, $3; fees, $1,550; Harrison and Tree fund, 
$48; tax deeds in 1873, $63; special tax purchases in 1878, $6; tax purchases 
in 1875, $34; tax purchases in 1887, $70; forfeitures, 1889 and prior, $259; 
police life and health insurance fund, $200 $29,550,560, tolal, $30,118,115. 
DISBURSEMENTS: Special assessments and deposit fund, $6,214,880; water 
fund, $3,888,043- school fund, $2,399,220; general fund, 1889, $10,264; gen- 
eral fund, 1890, $5,222; general fund 189i, $1,932,960; fire fund, 1890, $17,950; 
fire fund, 1891, $1,380,109; police fund, 1890, $2,511; police fund, 1891, 
$2,621,182'; house of correction, 1890, $653; house of correction, 1891, $92,- 
504; health department, 1890, $3,361; healthdepartment 1891, $454,276; school 
tax, 1890, $23,479; school tax, 1891, $4,264,016; public library, 1890, $2,499; 
public library, 1891, $100,500; street lamps, 1890, $3,841; street lamps, 1891, 
$761,223; sewerage, 1890, $17,864; sewerage, 1891, $546,874; department of 
public works, 1890,409,203; department of public works, 1891, $2,319,471; 
contingent, 1890, $583, contingent, 1891, 17,239, Jonathan Burr, $1,726; 
police life and health, $421; interest account, 1891, $546,438; Chicago and 
south side "L" railway, $100,000; Town of Lake, special, $1,052. Town of 
Lake, general, $117; Hyde Park, special, $2,540; Hyde Park, general, $52; 
Lake View, special, $672; Lake View, general, $29; Jefferson, special, $26; 
general sinking fund, $50; school tax annexed territory, $27. Total, $28,- 
149,393; balance in treasury December 31, 1891, $1,968,722. Total, $30,118,- 
115. 

Tenement House and Factory Inspection. During 1891 the Tenement 
House and Factory Inspection Department examined 8,731 new buildings 
in course of construction; 15,577 buildings and houses, containing 95,261 per- 
sons; 19,429 workshops with 404,760 employes; served 9,702 notices; abated 
9,134 nuisances; 2,162 cases of defective plumbing, and 711 cases of defective 
drainage. 

Topography of Chicago. The city of Chicago is level but not flat. There 
are considerable rises here and there, the most noticeable being the ridge 
which traverses the southern portion, west of Hyde Park, to the Indiana line. 
All difficulties in the way of sewering have been overcome long since by skill- 
ful engineering. The Chicago river which originally emptied into, now flows 
out of the lake. The sewerage is carried by the river, in great part, to a canal 
which conducts it through the interior. It finally finds its way into the Illi- 
nois and Mississippi rivers. The drainage of the city is an interesting subject, 
and the plans for future work in this connection are of great magnitude and 
involve the expenditure of many millions. [See "Ship and Drainage 
Canals," with map.] 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 



55 



Uniting Gity and County. The question of unitfng the city of Chicago 
and the county of Cook under one government, is being seriously considered 
at present. A constitutional amendment with this end in view will probably 
be submitted to a vote of the people at the next general election in 1892. 

Water Supply. The city, at present, is supplied with 22 pumping engines 
of various types and power, representing a total engine capacity for delivering 
daily 260.000,000 gallons of water. From measurements obtained, there was 
pumped during the year a daily average of over 154,000,000 gallons, which is 
nearly 60 per cent, of the total capacity of the pumping power of the engines 
now in use. [See " Water Works."] 

JOBBING AND WHOLESALE BUSINESS. 

The jobbing and wholesale business of Chicago amounted to $517,166,000 
in 1891. Of this, the dry goods trade alone amounted to $98,416,000 or 
nearly one-fifth. The following statement exhibits the business transacted in 
the various lines of trade, compared with previous years: 





1891. 


1890. 


Dry Goods and Carpets , 


8 68.416,000 


$93,730,000 


Groceries .... 


56,iOO,000 


56,700,000 


Lumber 


39,000,OdO 


36,900,000 


Manufactured Iron 


1 7. Oft V 00 


15,580,0( 


Clothing . 


23,600,1 00 


21,500000 


Boots and Shoes 


27,v 0,OCO 


25,900,000 


Drugs and Chemicals 


7,600,000 


7,100,000 


Crockery and Glassware 


6,000.0(0 


5,500,000 


Hats and Caps 


8,000,000 


7,000,000 


Millinery . ... 


7,000,000 


7,000 (X 


Tobacco and Cigars 


11, 500,' 00 


10,850,000 


Fresh and Salt Fish, Oysters and Salmon . . . 


5,500,(>CO 


5,460,000 


Oils 


4/00,000 


4,000,000 


Dried Fruits 


4,300,' 00 


4.300.000 


Building Materials 


4,500,000 


4,4fi8,000 


Furs , 


1.750,000 


I,500,0f0 


Carriages 


2,000,000 


1,850,000 


Pianos, Organs and Musical Instruments 


7,800,000 


7,300,000 


Music-books and Sheet Music 


625,0(10 


575,000 


Books, Stationery and Wall Paper . . . 


22 000,000 


22,000,( ) 


Paper 


2S,()i 0,OCO 


25,500000 


Paper Stock 


5,500,000 


5,000,000 


Pig Iron 


20,500,(00 


20,035,000 


Coal 


26,000,' 00 


25,d75,0< 


Hardware and Cutlery 


l'J,225,000 


17,500,000 


Wooden and Willow Ware 


3/00,000 


3 t6J (00 


Liquors 


15.000,0(0 


13 8( 000 


.Tewelrv, Watches and Diamonds 


25,000,0' 


20,400,000 


Leather and Finding's 


2.750,000 


2,520,000 


Pig Lead and Copper 


6,000 000 


6,666,00:) 


Iron Ore 


4,500.' (X) 


4,00(1,000 


Miscellaneous 


6,0i 0,000 


5,035,000 


Totals 


S")17 C6 000 


8186,600,000 









Total in 190.. 
Total in 1389.. 



$486,600,001 
. 418,165,000 



GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 



Export Trade of Chicago. The following is the merchandise entered for 
export, with benefit of drawback, at the port of Chicago during the year 1891. 



PACKAGES AND CONTENTS 


QUANTITY. 


ARTICLES AND QUANTITIES 
ENTITLED TO DRAWBACK. 


AMO'NT OF 
DRAWB'K. 


89 \676 packages canned meats. 
1 7,446 packages salted meats 
16,075 baled binder twine 


54,877,719 Ibs 
21,224,44 i Ibs 
1,128,468 Ibs 


Tinplate 8,735,992 Ibs 


$89,93!. 81 
4,0 .'0.45 
7,693.76 

$101 ,64-,. 02 


Salt 4,808,475 Ibs 


Hemp 1,128,468 Ibs 


Total 











Import Trade of Chicago. Following is a list of the merchandise imported 
to Chicago during the year 1891. 



COMMODITIES. 


QUANTITIES. 


COMMODITIES. 


QUANTITIES. 


Ale, beer, and porter, pkgs 


4,284 


Lemons, pkgs 


15 010 


Art material, pkgs 


22 "i 


Lumber, m 


16.S69 


Anvils No 


1,643 


Machinery, pkgs 


255 


Bans and peas, bag's. . . . 


2,411 


Macaroni, pKgd. 


6,4 i 9 


Berries, brls 


2,384 


Marble and granite, pkgs. . . 


2,215 


Bedsteads, pkgs ... 


6,873 


Marble Slabs, No 


22,641 


Uicycles, pkgs 


510 


Mf . Metal, cases 


2,082 


Bittors, cases 


H2 


Millinery, cases 


991 


Bleaching powder, pkgs 


673 


Musical goods, cases 


2,345 




600 


Nuts, pkgs 


6 i>32 


Buttles, empty, pkgs 


1,001 


Olive oil, pkgs 


2,246 


Brandy, liquors, pkgs. 


5,739 


Oxide of iron, tons. 


tsjt 


Bricks, casks . . ... 


7.118 


Paints and color ^, pkgs 


2,018 


Caustic soda pko's 


3,968 


Paintings cases 


i55 


Canned goods, csises 


6,150 


Paper, pkgs. 


1,266 


Cement, pkgs 


17,668 


Phosphate, cars 


il 


Champagne, cases 


2,978 


Pickles, pkgs 


3,553 


Cheese, pkgs 


974 


Posts, Cedar, No 


258, ? 


China, pkgs 


1,765 


Plants and bulbs, cases. . . . 


963 


Cocoanut oil, pipes 


170 


Potash, pkgs 


472 


Cocoa, pkgs 


8,172 


Prunes, pkgs 


4,420 


Cigars, cases 


1,906 


Raisins, pkgs. 


27,940 


Cotfee, bags 


5,289 


Rice, bags 


19,906 


Corkwood, bales 


3,679 


Salt sacks . . 


149,4S1 


Currants, pkgs 


2,000 


Sausage Csgs., pkgs 


326 


Cutlery, pkgs 


119 




2,0^8 


Dry goods, pkgs 


17,649 


Skins, pkgs 


440 


Druggist sundries, pkgs 


1,500 


Soda Ash, pkgs 


2,346 


Ext. of meat, cases 


190 


Stat'ry and Brnzs, pkgs . . 


2^3 


Effects, pkgs , . 


663 


Smokers articles, cases 


1,385 


Earthenware, pkgs 


16,572 


Sugar refined, brls 


83.590 


Feathers, bales 


?<71 


Sugar, Maple, pkgs 


1,978 


Figs and dates, pkgs 


13,763 


Tar and Pitch, pkgs 


2,653 


Firearms, pkgs.. 


129 


Tea, pkgs 


241,727 


Fish, pkgs 


52,070 


Ties Railroad, No 


113.620 


Fullers earth, bags. 


3,744 


Tiles pkgs 


1,199 


Furniture, pkgs 


V30 


Tinplate, boxes 


330,702 


Gin, pkgs 


2,763 


Tobacco, bales ... 


4,827 


Glass, window, pkgs 


2,730 


Toys, cases 


1,187 


Glassware, pkgs 


56J 


Type metal, pigs. 


4,874 


Glue, pkgs 


118 


Water, Mineral, pkgs.... 


635 


Grease, pkgs .. .... 


775 


Whisky, pkgs. 


3,739 


Hardware, pkgs 


5K5 


Wine, pkgs 


16,992 


Instruments, scientific, cases 


153 


Wire rope, coils 


62 


Japan, goods pk^s 


3,610 


Wood Mfd, pko-s 


1,987 


Iron and steel, mfd., pkgs. . . . 


2,148 


Miscellaneous, pkgs 


303 


Jewelers' sundries, pkgs 


232 








[Engraved for The Standard Guide Company."] 

THE INDIAN GROUP, LINCOLN PARK. 

[See "Lincoln Park."] 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 



57 



Iron and Steel Market. During the last few years a large number of 
manufacturers, who use large quantities of iron and steel, have been located 
In Chicago, and the home consumption of this material is probably the largest 
of any point in the United States; besides this, the Chicago jobbers have sold 
an unusually large tonnage for shipment to all points in the west and north- 
west, so that it must be conceded that Chicago takes first place in the United 
States as an iron and steel market, it being well known that whenever manu- 
facturers are overstocked with any material in this line, they usually come to 
Chicago to dispose of their surplus. 

MANUFACTURES OF CHICAGO. 

The manufactures of Chicago keep pace with the growth of population 
and commerce. There were 3.307 manufacturing firms in this Jty in 1891, 
against 3,250 in 1890; the capital employed iu manufactures in 1891 was $210,- 
302,000, against $190, 000,000 in 1890, the number of workers employed in 
manufacturing in Chicago in 1891 was 180,870, against 177,500 in 1890; the 
wages paid by manufacturers in 1891 amounted to $104,904,000 against $96,- 
200,000, in 1890, and the value of the product of Chicago manufactories in 
1891 was $567,012,300, against $538,000,000, in 1890. 

Brewing, Distilling and Tobacco. 



INDUSTRIES. 


No. 


CAPITAL. 


WKRS. 


PRODUCT. 


Breweries 


42 


$11 500,000 


2000 


$13 200 000 


Malthousc'S . 


34 


4,000,000 


700 


5 500 000 


Distillers and Rectifiers . . . 


84 


5 250 000 


1,000 


15 736 (100 


Tobacco and snuff 


23 


-iHK),roo 


900 


3,040'0()0 


Cigars and cigarettes 


930 


1,750,000 


2,600 


8 100000 












Totals 


1,163 


$23,400,000 


7,2TO 


$45,576,000 


Totals 1890 


1,160 


25,160,000 


7,050 


44 787 000 













The amount paid in wages is estimated at $4,380,000, against $4,368,000 
for 1890. 

Brass, Copper, etc. The following table exhibits the manufactures in 
brass, copper, etc., in Chicago, for the year 1891: 



INDUSTRIES. 


No. 


CAPITAL. 


WORKERS. 


PRODUCT. 


Brass, copper and plumbers 1 supplies 
Tin, stamped, and sheet metal ware 
Jewelry manufactures 


28 
34 
24 


$ 1,500,000 
3,000,000 
1000000 


1,700 
2,800 
600 


$ 3000,000 
7,475,000 
2 500 COO 




10 


750 000 


300 


1 500 00() 


Optical goods 


2 


250 000 


70 


500000 


Telegraph and elfctric supplies 


7 


1,470 000 


2 050 


3 660 000 


Smelting and refining 


4 


S,450 000 


750 


23 607 UOO 


Iron and brass works 


6 


2iO,COO 


250 


500,030 


Miscellaneous 


38 


650,000 


820 


2,800,000 


Totals 


153 


$11,270000 


9 340 


$45 543 000 


Totals, 1890 


141 


8,260 000 


9 185 


46 420000 













The estimated amount of wages paid in- 1891 is $6,065,000. as against 
$5, 750,000 for 1890. 



58 



GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 



Brick, Stone, etc. The estimates of the manufactures in brick, stone, etc., 
in Chicago, for 1891, were: 

INDUSTRIFS. 



Brickyards 

Cut Stone Contractors 

Marble and Granite Works. 

Gravel Roofers 

Lime Kilns 

Terra Cotta 

Stained Glass Factories 



Totals 

Totals, 1890 

The amount of wages estimated to have been paid in 1891 was $3,8bO,UJO 
against $3,209,000 in 1890. 

Iron and Wood. Following are the estimates of the combined wood and 
iron manufactures of Chicago for the year 1891: 



No. 


CAPITAL. 


WORKERS. 


PRODUCT. 


68 
65 
32 
30 
6 
1 
10 


83,600,000 
1,525,000 
1,0:-:0,000 
225,000 
225,000 
300,0' 
300,000 


3,785 
1,600 
750 
501 
370 
500 
350 


$ 3,8^6,000 
2,000,000 
1,800/00 
1,150,000 
450,000 
600,000 
90 ,000 


212 
214 


$7,205,000 
5,680,000 


7,855 
7,520 


$10,726,000 
12,600,000 



INDUSTRIES. 


No. CAPITAL. 


WORKERS. 


PRODUCT. 


Wagons and Carriages 


70 
5 
4 
6 
5 


$ 2,000,000 
7,150,000 
6,400,000 
1,675,000 
700,000 


2,000 

5,6 ;& 

8,000 
850 
250 


$ 4,000,000 
15,950,aH) 
17,350,000 
3,000,000 
800,000 


Agricultural Implements 


Car and Bridge Builders 


Elevators 


Sewing Machines and Cases 



Totals 


90 
92 


$17,925,000 
13,700,000 


16,725 
15,200 


$41,100,000 
42,000,000 


Totals 1890 





The wages of the year are estimated at $12,575,000, as compared with 
$13,000,000 for the previous year. 

Chemicals. The manufacture of chemicals in Chicago for the year 1891, 
was estimated as follows: 



INDUSTRIES. 



Chemical works . . 

White lead and paint 

White lead corroders 

Varnish 

Axle grease 

Glue fertilizers, etc 

Soap 

Candles 

Linseed oil and cake 

Soda, mineral waters, etc 
Ink, sealing wax, etc 



Totals. 
Totals 1890.. 



No. 


CAPITAL. 


WORK- 
ERS. 


PRODUCT. 


6 


$ 700,000 


250 


$1.750.000 


20 


1,500,000 


500 


4,400.000 


2 


1,750,000 


125 


2,1 00,000 


8 


1,200,000 


15(1 


1,300,000 


1 


3,00,000 


50 


1/00,000 


5 


1,700,000 


1 S 000 


3,500,0(10 


8 


3,000,000 


2/00 


8,000,00i) 


2 


500,000 


125 


800,000 


7 


1,750,000 


250 


3,500,000 


20 


900.000 


600 


2,000,000 


1 


75,000 


100 


250,000 


80 


$13,375,000 


5,150 


28,500,000 


84 


14,320,000 


4,900 


23,550,000 



The wages fiaid in 1891 footed up $3,240,000, as against $2,460, 000 in 1890. 



CHICAGO AS IT IS* 



Iron and Steel. The following table exhibits the manufactures in iron and 
steel in Chicago for the year 1891: 



INDUSTRIES. 


No. 


CAPITAL. 


WORK- 
ERS. 


PRODUCT. 




6 
60 
76 
32 
6 
9 
14 
14 
40 
JO 
50 


$ 27,700.1 00 
3.500,OOU 
3,800,000 
600,000 
2,7:>0,000 
J, 305,1 00 
40n,f'0i) 
6fO,000 
6<;0,000 
200,0(0 
3.500,000 


10,475 
4,500 
4,000 
1,200 
1,700 
1,360 
600 
800 
950 
4i'0 
4,200 


$ 25,900,0 
11,1100,000 
9,000,000 
2.250,00 
4,601,000 
2,4' 0,OT>0 
1,10 ,000 
2,80'',0(IO 
l,7l 0,000 
450,01 
9,500,000 






P"iler works 












Barbed wire and wircworks 


Miscellaneous 


Totals 


316 
321 


$ 44,005,000 
4u,600,000 


30,185 
34,600 


$70,700,000 
69,325,000 


Totals 1890 





The amount of wages paid in 1891 is estimated at $19,706,000, as com- 
pared with $18,500,000 for 1890. 

Meats. The following table shows the meat industry of Chicago for the 
year 1891. 



INDUSTRIES. 


No. 


CAPITAL. 


WORK- 
ERS. 


PRODUCT. 




20 
12 
2<i 

18 

76 
75 


$ 7,500,000 
6,000,000 

3 ono,0f o 
1,000,000 

500,000 


11,000 
9,00' 
3,500 
1,000 
50u 


$ 60,000,000 
55,0(10,000 
12,550,000 
4,330.000 
1,980,000 












$18,000.000 
17,000,001' 


25,000 
24,500 


$ 133.860,000 
137.275.1 00 


Totals. 1890 



The volume of wages for the last year aggregates 14,976,000, against 
$13,585,000 for 1890. 

Leather. The manufactures of leather in Chicago for the year 1691 were 
estimated as follows: 



INDUSTRIES. 


No. 


CAPITAL. 


WORKERS. 


PRODUCT. 




19 

50 
3 
9 

6 


$5,000,000 

6,000.000 
400,000 
500,000 

500,000 


1,800 

5,100 
400 
450 

325 


$ 6,500,000 

13,150,000 
1,500,000 
1,400,100 

1,300,000 


Boot, shoe and slipper manufactur- 


Saddleand harness manufacturers.. 


Hose and leather belting manufact- 
urers 




Totals 


87 
84 


12,401,000 
10,475,000 


7,975 
7,975 


23,850,000 
24,000,000 


Totals, 1890 




The volume of wages paid in 1891 aggregated $4,780,000, against $5,340,- 
000 in the previous year. 



GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 



Printing. The manufactures of Chicago coming under this heading in 
the year 1891 were estimated as follows: 



INDUSTRIES. 


No. 


CAPITAL. 


WORKERS. 


PRODUCT. 


Printing, binding publishing and 
newspapers *. 


240 


$4,500,000 


6,200 


$22000,000 


Lithographing nouses .' 


12 


850,000 


715 


1,500,000 


Electrotypiug and stereotyping . . . 
Type founders 


15 

4 


3(10,000 
600,OJO 


550 

65n 


1,000,000 
1 500/00 


Printers' ink factories 


3 


62,000 


20 


80,000 


Printing presses ... 


5 


375,000 


325 


7CO 000 


Printers' furniture, supplies, etc 
Book binderies 


3 
12 


50,000 
350,000 


60 
900 


125,000 
1,000,000 












Totals 


294 


7,087,000 


9,410 


27,905,000 


Totals, 1890 ... 


285 


6.322.000 


9.200 


20.912.000 



The estimated amount of wages paid in 1891 was $6,157,000, as com- 
pared with $5,800,000 in 1890. 

Textiles. The manufactures of textiles in Chicago for the year 1891 were 
estimated as follows: 



TEXTILES. 


No. 


CAPITAL. 


WORKERS. 


PRODUCT. 


Men's and boys' clothing 


50 


$15,000,000 


14,000 


$30,000,000 


Colored shirts, overalls etc 


25 


2,000,000 


2,000 


3,750,000 


Men's neckwear 


8 


750,000 


1,5' 


2,000,000 


White shirts 


20 


1,000,000 


1,500 


2,500,000 


Furs 


10 


700,000 


300 


1,000,000 


Cloaks and suitings 


15 


2,600,000 


7,000 


11,000,000 


Cloak and dress trimmings 


4 


375,000 


500 


600,000 


Millinery 


9 


850,000 


1,200 


1,700,000 












Totals 


141 


22,775,000 


28,000 


62,550,000 


Totals 1890 


165 


16,723,000 


26,960 


38,325,000 



The wages for 1891 aggregate $10,630,000, as against $8,700,000 for the 
previous year. 

Wood and Manufactures. The manufactures of wood in Chicago for 
1891 were as follows: 



INDUSTRIES. 


No. 


CAPITAL. 


WORKERS. 


PRODUCT. 


Pinning mills, sash, doors, mouldings 
boxes, etc 


80 


$3,500,000 


6,500 


$10,000,0ro 


Cooperage .... 


25 


500,000 


8>0 


2,000,000 


Furniture 


260 


8,000,000 


12,000 


21,000,000 


Pictures frames and looking glasses. 
Pianos and organs 


60 
24 


1,500,000 
4,500,000 


1,500 
3,000 


3,000,000 

7,ooo,ono 


Billiard tables . . 


3 


375,000 


400 


700.000 




30 


1,000,100 


800 


2,350,000 












Totals. 


483 


19.375,000 


25,000 


46,050,000 


Totals, 1890 


470 


18,500,000 


24,800 


46,000,000 



The estimated wages are $13,520,000, against $13,500,000 for 1890. 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 



61 



Other Manufactures. The other manufactures of Chicago, coming under 
the head of miscellaneous, for the year 1891, were estimated as follows: 



MISCELLANEOUS. 


No. 


CAPITAL. 


WORKERS. 


PRODUCT. 


Tools and bicycle factories 


3 


$850,000 


1,400 


$2 100000 


Sign-makers 


35 


125,000 


500 


750 000 


Brushes (not broom) 


16 


800000 


850 


720 000 


Brooms 


2 


75,000 


75 


250000 


Feather dusters 


4 


60,000 


150 


200000 


Show cases 


10 


120,000 


130 


45 i 000 


Glass 


] 


100,000 


120 


200'000 


Corks 


3 


130,000 


120 


225'000 


Paper boxes 


14 


250,000 


850 


900,000 


Sails, awning's, etc 


12 


200,0.0 


250 


550000 


Shipyards.. 


2 


300,000 


100 


200 (XX) 


Perfumery 


6 


225,000 


250 


750,000 












Totals...:. 


JOS 


2,735,000 


4,295 


7,295,000 


Totals 1890 


98 


2,277,000 


4,235 


7,140,<00 



The wages paid approximate $2,245,000, against $2,053,000 for 1890. 

MARITIME INTERESTS. 

% 

It will be a surprise to the stranger, whether American or foreign, to 
learn that the arrivals and clearances of vessels at Chicago harbor exceed 
those of New York by fully 50 per cent.; that they are nearly as many as 
those of Baltimore, Boston and New York combined, and that they are a 
fraction of over 60 per cent, as many as all the arrivals and clearances in 
Baltimore, Boston, New York, New Orleans, Philadelphia, Portland and San 
Francisco. Chicago has also fully 25 per cent, of the entire lake-carrying 
trade, as compared with the total arrivals and clearances in Buffalo, Detroit, 
Duluth, Erie, Huron, Grand Haven, Milwaukee, Ogdensburg, Sanduskyand 
Marquette. These noteworthy facts are amplified in the two following 
tables: 

DISTRICTS ON THE SEABOARD. 



DISTRICT OF 


VESSELS 
ENTERED. 


VESSELS 
CLEARED. 


TOTAL. 


AOGR'G'TE 
RECEIPTS. 


COST TO 
COLLECT $1. 


Baltimore 


1,828 


1,443 


3,270 


$ 3,766,922 


$0.072 


Boston 


3,260 


3,391 


6,650 


18,038,773 


.033 


New Orleans . 


1,156 


1,148 


2,304 


2,106,681 


.099 


New York 


8,196 


7,818 


16,014 


147,538,045 


.018 


Philadelphia 


1,829 


2,053 


3,883 


20,711,455 


.023 


Portland 


784 


1,149 


1,933 


187,950 


.263 


Pt. Townsend 


1,738 


1,792 


3,530 


193,003 


.288 


Providence 


666 


202 


868 


3?8,850 


.054 


San Francisco 


1,285 


1,537 


2,822 


7,956,889 


.047 














Total 


20,742 


20,531 


41,273 


$200,828,567 


$0.897 


Average 


2,305 


1,281 


4,586 


22,314,285 


.100 


Chicago 


10,107 


10,120 


20,227 


6,794,515 


.033 















62 



GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 



PRINCIPAL DISTRICTS ON THE GREAT LAKES. 



DISTRICT OF 


VESSELS 
ENTERED. 


VESSELS 
CLEARED. 


TOTAL. 


AGGR'GATE 
RECEIPTS. 


COST TO 
COLLECT $1. 


Buffalo 


3,936 


4,304 


8 240 


$ 8*2 175 


80 065 


Cleveland 


5 136 


5 170 


10 308 


388 598 


'070 


Detroit 


6 296 


6 530 


12 826 


630 670 


1 3 


Duluth 


1,150 


1,165 


2 315 


8 318 


660 


Port Huron .... 


4 952 


4 837 


9 789 


191 15 i 


228 


Grand Haven 


7,710 


7,707 


15,417 


1,881 


2 889 


Milwaukee 


10,708 


10,286 


20 994 


393 530 


034 


Ogdensburg 


1,435 


1,394 


2 829 


?63888 


091 


Marquette . . ... 


6622 


6 686 


13 308 


If 856 


730 














Total 


47,945 


48,079 


96,024 


$2,759 069 


$4 88 


Average 


5,327 


5,324 


10,669 


306,563 


512 


Chicago 


i 10,107 


10 120 


20 2:-7 


5 794 51 5 


023 















Shipments of Grain by Lake to Canada. The shipments of grain by lake 
to Canada during 1891, embracing corn, oats, wheat and rye, were: 



SHIPPED TO 


BUSHELS. 


SHIPPED TO 


BUSHELS. 


Collingwood 


405,421 


Sarnia 


985,978 


Kingston 


4,126,400 




25 100 


Midland 


1,199,150 






Montreal 
Point Edward 
Prescott 


367,082 
344,469 
38.000 


Total 


7,491,600 



Coastwise Receipts and Shipments. The coastwise receipts and shipments at 
the port of Chicago during 1891 were: 

RECEIPTS. 



ARTICLES 


QUANTITY. 


ARTICLES. 


QUANTITY. 




5687030 


Iron ore, tons 


71,449 




852 987 


Iron tons 


19.423 




21 537 




106 273 


Lumber 1 000 


1 302 226 


Coffee, sacks 


26 i07 


Shingles 1 000 


'253 738 


Tea, chests 


4,885 


Lath, 1 000 . . . . 


37,139 


Liquor.- 1 , packages 


40,112 




4 233,929 


Fish, tons 


2,349 




2 052 050 


Hides, pieces 


4,524 




' 53 375 


Potatoes, bushels 


220,465 




32 683 


Hay, tons 


2,510 


Bark, cords 


13,434 


Flour, barrels 


22,840 




1 215 331 




ft 965 




30 775 


Stone, tons 


12,590 




403,414 


Sulphur, tons 


653 




41 080 


Plaster, barrels 


101,696 




164,260 


Cement, barrels 


316,231 




150,086 


Oil, barrels 


4,? 90 


Cheese, packages 


61,582 


Woolsacks 


1,998 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 



63 



SHIPMENTS. 



ARTICLES. 


QUANTITY. 


ARTICLES. 


QUANTITY. 


Flour, brls 
Mchds., pkgs 
Wheat, bu ' 
Corn, bu 
Oats, bu 
Rye, bu 
Barley, bu 
Grass-seed, s vcks 


1,684,011 
I,o50,30l 
29,641,142 
37,705,2o7 
17,7v28 
4,094.744 
1,628,900 
80,073 


Coffee, sacks 
Tea, chests 
Sugar, brl* 
Sirup, barls 
Hides, pieces 
Liquors, brls 
Oilcakes, Ibs 
Oil, brls 


18,178 
15,519 
17,113 
9,162 
6,478 
10,347 
210,086 
4,432 
9,647 


Flax-seed, bu ... 
Br'm-co n, b'les 
Fork, brls 
Beet', ' rls 
Oatmeal brls 
Corn-meal, brls 
Lard, pkgs 
L:rd, tes 
Glucose, brls 
Malt, sacks 


6821 
56,076 
4.672 
14,319 
12,7 9 
18,S94 
69,850 
4.i.9"0 
39,214 


Millstuffs, sacks 
Cur'd rats., pkgs 
Tallow, brls 
Nails, kegs 
Iron, tons 
Lead, piss 
Wool, sacks 
Fertilizer, brls 
Spelter, plates 


342,232 
4,443 
21,727 
27,172 
4,0i 7 
559,394 
56,227 
1,150 
97.027 



Value of Exports By Zofe. There were 893,676 packages of canned 
meats exported by lake aggregating 54,877,719 pounds; 127 446 packages of 
salted meats aggregating $21,224.440, and 16,075 bales of binder-twine al- 
to-ether 1,128^68 pounds. Of the articles entitled to drawback were8,735,992 
pounds of tin, the drawback on which was $899.30; 4,808,473 pounds ot salt, 
with a drawback of $4.020, and 1,128,468 pounds of hemp, with a draw- 
back of $7,693. The total values of imported articles entered m the port o. 
Chicago was $15,105,775. 

Arrivals and Clearances of Vessels. Following is a table showing the 
arrivals and clearances of vessels, with tonnage, at Chicago harbor, for \i 
to 1890, inclusive: 



YEAR. 


ARRIVALS. 


CLEARANCES. 


TOTAL. 


No. 


Tonnage. 


No. 


Tonnage. 


No. 


Tonnage. 


1883 


11,203 
10,513 
9,846 
10.180 
10,828 
10,158 
9,552 
10,224 


3,555,586 
3,481,907 
3,347,647 
3,546,309 
3,868,405 
3,990,021 
4,417,415 
5,524,852 


11,271 
10,640 
9,910 
10,267 
10,920 
10,308 
9,462 
10,294 


3J43,574 

3,489,666 
3,364,169 
3,594,549 
3,989,615 
4,134,064 
4,403,634 


22,474 
21,153 
19,756 
20,447 
21,748 
20,466 
19,014 


7,299,160 
6,971,623 
6,711,816 
7,140,858 
7,858,000 
8,124,985 
8,821.049 


1884 


1885 


1886 


1887 


1888 


1889 











GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 



Vessels owned in Chicago. The following table exhibits the number and 
character of vessels owned in Chicago: 



CLASS. 


NUMBER. 


TONNAGE. 


CLASS. 


NUMBER. 


TONNAGE. 


Propellers 


6'2 

7 

4 
34 
35 


19,861.97 
1,543.94 
600.50 
173.15 
1,874.05 


Schooners 


168 
8 

7 


40.940.15 
71.45 
213.34 


Tugs, 


Sloops , 


Side wheel steamers 


Sailing yachts. 


Steam canal boats. . . 


Total 


384 


65,380.46 





MUNICIPAL GOVERNMENT. 

City Clerk's Office Salaries. The salaries of subordinates are as follows: 
Deputy clerk, $3,000; chief clerk, $2,400; minor clerks from $1,000 to $1,300. 

City Collector's Office Salaries. The salaries of subordinates are as fol- 
lows: Chief clerk, $2,000; cashier, $1,800; book-keeper, $1,400; clerk, $1,400; 
five clerks, $1,500 each; five clerks, $1,000 each; messenger, $800. 

City Hall Employes Salaries. Janitor, $1,400; 2 carpenters, $3 per day; 
4 finishers, $720 each; 10 elevator attendants, $720 each; 10 janitors, $720 
each; 11 female janitors, $480 each; chief engineer, $1,500; 3 assistant engi- 
neers, $1,000 each; 6 firemen, $720 each; 3 coal passers, $660 each; 3 oilers, 
$720 each. 

Comptroller's Office Salaries. The salaries of subordinates are as fol- 
lows: Chief clerk, $3,000; general book-keeper, $2,400; assistant book- 
keeper, $1.800; cashier, $1,800; assistant cashier, $1,500; warrant clerk, 
$1,600; minor clerks, $1,000 to $1,200. 

Engineering Department Salaries. The salaries of subordinates are as 
follows: Assistant engineer, $2,500; second assistant engineer, $2,000; one 
assistant engineer, $2,000; two assistant engineers, $1,800 each; rodman, 
$900; draughtsman, $1,200; chief clerk, $1,800; messenger, $600. 

Feed Officers. City sealer of weights and measures, oil inspector, 
inspector of steam boilers, building inspector, elevator inspector, and some 
other minor officers of the city government are paid in fees, or a percentage of 
fees collected in their respective offices. Of these the oil inspectorship is 
the most lucrative, being worth about $20,000 per annum. 

Fire Department Salaries. The salaries of subordinates are as follows: 
First assistant fire marshal and inspector, $3,500; second assistant fire mar- 
shal, $3,000; assistant fire marshal and secretary, $3,200; fire inspector, 
$2,500; 13 chiefs of battalions, $2,500 each; bookkeeper, $1,800; 2 clerks, 
$1,800 each; clerk and storekeeper, $1,400; superintendent of horses, includ- 
ing medicines, $2,200; 19 captains, $1,360.80 each; 42 captains, $1,260 each; 
14 captains, $1,200 each; 19 lieutentants, $1,155 each; 25 lieutenants, $1,000 
each; 17 engineers, $1,360.80 each; 30 engineers, $1,260 each; 12 engineers, 
$1,200 each; 13 assistant engineers, $1,134 each^ 30 assistant engineers, 
$1,050 each; 12 assistant engineers $1,000 each; 115 pipemen and truckmen, 
$1,134 each; 131 pipemen and truckmen, $1,050 each; 69 pipemen and truck- 
men, $945 each; 40 pipemen and truckmen, $840 each; 37 drivers, $1,134 each; 
81 drivers, $1,050 each; 39 drivers, $945 each; 4 pilots, $1.260 each; 2 
stokers, $1,050 rs t $'945 each; 9 watchmen, $798.80 each; 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. ' 65 

superintendent city telegraph, $3, 675; chief operator, $2,362.50; 3 assistant 
operators, $1,260 each; chief of construction, $1,800; battery man, $945; 
five repairers, $1,102.50 each; chief of electric repair shop, $1,575; 3 linemen, 
$945 each; machinist, $1,050; 2 assistant machinists, $756 each; clerk and 
stenographer, $1,260; 2 electric light inspectors, paid in fees collected, 
1 manager, $1,700; 3 operators, $1,200 each; 3 repairers, $1,000 each; 
1 lineman, $945; 1 instrument man, $900; 1 battery man, $900. Total for 
salaries of Fire Department, including Chief Marshal, $974,348.00. 

Health Department Salaries. The salaries of subordinates are as follows: 
Assistant commissioner, $2,500 ; department clerk, $1,500 ; secretary, $1,500; 
registrar of vital statistics, $1,200; thirty-four sanitary police, $1,000 each; 
eight medical inspectors, $900 each; chief tenement house and factory in- 
spector, $2,000; nine meat and stock yards inspectors, $1.200 each; assistant 
tenement house and factory inspector, $1,500; clerk to tenement house and 
factory inspector, $1,000; thirty-four tenement house and factory inspectors, 
$1,000 each; five female factory inspectors, $1,000 each; city physician, 
$2,500; assistant, $1,500. 

Law Department Salaries. The salaries of subordinates are: Assistant 
corporation counsel, $5,000; assistant corporation counsel, $3,000; assistant 
city attorney, $4,000; chief clerk, $2,000; 3 minor clerks, $1,500 each; 2 minor 
clerks, $1,200 each; clerk to city attorney. $1,500. 

Map Department Salaries. Superintendent, $1,800; 8 draughtsmen, 
$1,200 each; 2 draughtsmen, $1,000 each; house numbering clerk, $900. 

Police Court Salaries. There are eight police court districts in the city of 
Chicago, in which ten police court justices administer the municipal law. These 
are appointed by the mayor. The salaries are as follows: two police justices, 
1st district, $5,000 each ; two police justices, 3d district, $5.000 each ; one 
police justice, 2d district, $5,000; one police justice, 4th district, $2,500; 
one police justice, 5th district, $2,500 ; one police justice. Englewood dis- 
trict, $1,800; one police justice, Lake View district, $1,200. The "clerks 
of the 1st district court receive $1,500 'and $1,200; all other clerks 
$1,200 each, except the assistant of the 1st district, whose salary is $1,000, 
and those of Englewood and Lake View, who receive $900 and $600, respect- 
ively. 

Police Department Salaries. The salaries of the officers and subordinates 
in the Police department are as follows: General superintendent, $5,000; 
assistant superintendent, $3,000; chief inspector, $2,800; 4 division inspec- 
tors, $2,800 each; 1 secretary, $2,250; 1 private secretary, $1,500; 2 clerks, 
secretary's office, $1,200 each; 1 drillmaster, $2,000; 1 stenographer, 
$1,200; 1 assistant stenographer, $600; 1 custodian, $1,323; 1 clerk detect- 
ives office, $1,500; 2 assistant clerks, detective's office, $1,200 each; 

1 night clerk, $900; 16 captains at $2,250 each; 52 lieutenants $1,500 
each; 1 sergeant, detective's office, $1,600; 1 assistant clerk, $1,200; 56 
patrol sergeants, $1,200 each; 86 desk sergeants at $1,200 each; 25 matrons at 
$630 each; 2 photographers, $1,200 each; 50 detective sergeants, $1,212.75 
each; 10 police court bailiffs, $1,000 each; 6 pound keepers, $771.75 each; 2 
patrolmen at mayor's office, $1,000 each; 1 patrolman at comptroller's office, 
$500; 25 lockup keepers, $1,000 each; 2inspectors of pawnshops, $1,200 each; 
4 inspectors of pawnshops, $1,000 each; 2 inspectors of vehicles, $1,200, each; 

2 assistant inspectors of vehicles, $1,000 each; 250 patrolmen on duty at 



66 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

bridges, street crossings, depots, etc., $1,000 each; 140 patrolmen, first-class, 
for duty on patrol wagons, $1,000 each; 1,750 patrolmen, first-class, for regu- 
lar duty, $1,000 each; 200 patrolmen (second class), for patrol duty, nire 
months at $60 per month; 6 engineers for police stations, $1,000 each; 6 
assistant engineers for police stations (eight months) $551.25 each; 20 janitors 
at $530 each; 1 veterinary surgeon, $1,500; 1 assistant veterinary, $1,000; 15 
hostlers, $630 each; 3 watchmen, $750 each; 6 drivers of supply wagons, 
$720 each; 70 drivers of patrol wagons, $720 each; 1 chief operator, police 
telegraph service, $1,3'IO; 1 assistant operator, $1,000; 85 operators, police 
telegraph service, at $720 each; 4 drivers for ambulances, $720 each. Total 
for salaries of police department for the year 1891, $2,485,242. 

Public Works Department Salaries. The salaries of subordinates are as 
follows: Secretary, $2,400; assistant secretary, $1,500; book-keeper, $2,400; 
assistant book-keeper, $2,000; clerk, $l,200;mino clerks from $600to $1,000. 

Sewerage Department Salaries. Superintendent, $3,500; 6 assistant 
engineers, $1,800 each; 6 rodmen, $900 each; chief clerk, $1,200; chief clerk 
of house drains, $1,800; permit clerk, $900; chief inspector house drains, 
$1,200; draughtsman, $1,200; draughtsman, $1,000. 

Special Assessment Department Salaries. The salaries of subordinates are 
as follows: Attorney, $2,700; assistant attorney, $1,800; chief clerk, $2,100; 
clerk, $1,800; clerk, $1,680; two clerks, $1,500 each; four clerks, $1,400 
each; sixteen clerks, $1,200 each; clerk, $1,000; three clerks, $900 each. 

Street Department Salaries. The salaries of subordinates are as follows: 
Assistant superintendent, $2,000;chief clerk, $1,500; bill clerk, $1,200; permit 
clerk, $900; assistant permit clerk, $720; general clerk, $900; messenger, $720; 
chief sidewalk inspector, $1,500; superintendent of house moving, $1,800 
(paid from fees). 

Telephone Department Salaries. Chief operator, $1,300; assistant chief 
operator, $900; 71 operators, $720 each; 7 repairers, $1,000 each; 2 battery 
men, $900 each; 2 hostlers, $620 each; driver, $720; operator bridge tele- 
phone office, $720; 12 operators bridge telephone system, nine months, 
$472. 50 each. 

The Mayor and Council Salaries. The government of the city of Chicago 
is vested in a mayor, elected for two years, salary $7,000, and a city council, 
composed of sixty-eight aldermen, 01 two from each of the thirty-four wards, 
who receive a per diem for actual services, the total of which amounted this 
year to about $15,000. One alderman is elected from each ward on alternate 
years. The mayor is assisted in the performance of his duties by heads of 
departments and bureaus, as follows: Comptroller, $5,000; treasurer, includ- 
ingassistauts, $25,000, and interest on city deposits, his right to the latter being 
now in dispute; city clerk, $3,500; commissioner of public works, $5,000; 
city engineer, $3,500; counsel of corporation, $6,000; city attorney, $5,000; 
prosecuting attorney, $4,000; general superintendent of police, $5,000; chief 
marshal of fire department, $5,000; superintendent of fire alarm telegraph, 
$3, 675; commissioner of health, $4,000; city collector, $4,000; superintend- 
ent of special assessment, $3,500; superintendent of street department, $3,500; 
mayor's secretary, $2,500; mayor's assistant secretary, $1,500; mayor's 
messenger, $2,000. 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 67 

PARK SYSTEM. 

The Park System of Chicago was designed and is conducted upon 
an elaborate scale. In its entirety the area covered by the different 
parks and public squares within the city limits embraces 1,974.61 
acres. This is exclusive of the ground covered by park boulevards. The 
Park System proper is divided into three divisions, each division being under 
the control of Park Commissioners, elected by the Courts. Thus we have 
three boards : The South Park Commissioners, the West Park Commis- 
sioners and the North Park Commissioners. The parks under the supervi- 
sion of these commissioners are maintained by direct tax upon the respective 
divisions of the city. Under control of the city government are a number of 
small parks, squares and " places," which are maintained at the expense of 
the city treasury. [See "Area of Parks and Public Squares."] The parks of 
Chicago form, with the boulevards as their connecting links" [See Map], a 
chain around the city, both ends of which are anchored in Lake Michigan. 
Only a very few years ago complaint to the effect that the great parks of the city 
were too fa"r removed from the people, and practically inaccessible to the very 
class whom they were intended to serve, was general. Now, however, they 
are becoming the nuclei around which populous districts are growing. In a 
few years, instead of being on the outskirts of the city, they will be breathing 
places in its interior. For the visitor, all the parks are within convenient 
reach. Cable lines or street cars will carry you to any of them at the uni- 
form rate of five cents. Trains on the Illinois Central will take you to Jack- 
son Park (South Park Station) and return for twenty-five cents. The great 
parks are grouped as follows : 

SOUTH SIDE. Jackson Park take Illinois Central train foot Randolph, 
Van Buren, Sixteenth, Twenty-second, Twenty-seventh or Thirty -first streets, 
or Cottage Grove avenue cable line. Washington Park take State street or 
Cottage Grove avenue cable line, the former for Grand boulevard, the latter 
for Drexel boulevard entrance. Park phaetons convey visitors around Wash- 
ington and Jackson parks, touching or stopping at all points of interest, for 
25 cents per adult passenger ; 15 cents for children. 

WEST SIDE. Douglas Park take West Twelfth street or Ogden avenue 
cars. Garfield Park take West Madison street cable or West Lake street 
cars. Humboldt Park take Milwaukee avenue cable line, or West North 
avenue cars. s 

NORTH SIDE. Lincoln Park takeN. Clark or Wells street cable line- 
to main entrance; take North State street cars to Lake Shore Drive en 
trance. 

Persons desiring to take other conveyances can make their selection from 
the hackney cabs, hansoms, coupes, etc., found at downtown stands. [See 
hack and cab rates.] Carriage arrangements may be made by telephone 



?0 &UIDE TO CHICAGO* 

are known collectively and familiarly as "The South Parks." The cost to 
the city of the ground which they cover was $3,208,000. They are as yet in 
their infancy, but even now they rank among the finest parks in the world. 

Ashland Boulevard. From West Lake street to West Twelfth street, or, 
rather, from Union Park south to the boulevard extension of West Twelfth 
street, which makes the connection with Douglas Park. The finest residence 
street of the West Division. Elegant mansions rise on either side, from Mon- 
roe street south. There are also some handsome church edifices on the boule- 
vard, among them the Union Park Congregational, opposite Union Park; the 
Third Presbyterian, between Madisonand Monroe; the Fourth Baptist, nearthe 
intersectionof Ashland and Ogden avenues, and Epiphany Episcopalian, atthe 
southeast corner of Adams street. The boulevard is a fashionable drive. It 
is paved with asphaltum, and is the most perfect roadway in the city. This 
boulevard connects Washington with Twelfth, thus completing a circular 
drive which includes Douglas, Garfield and Union Parks. 

Central Boulevard. Connects Garfield with Humboldt Park; one and a 
half miles in length; average width, 250 feet. Leaves Garfield Park at West 
Kinzie street, runs north to Central Park avenue, east along Indiana street to 
Sacramento Square, north to Augusta street and Hurnboldt Park. This, like 
other West Side boulevards, has been neglected up to the present time, but 
improvements are now contemplated or under way which will make it a 
magnificent avenue. Even as it is at present, it is a pleasant drive between 
the two parks. 

Douglas Boulevard. Running from the west side of Douglas Park, at 
Albany avenue, west seven-eighths of a mile, then north seven eighths of a 
mile, to Garfield Park. The roadway is kept in good repair and the drive is 
a beautiful one; but up to the present time, like the other West park boule- 
vards, it has not received proper attention. The work of improvement, how- 
ever, will now go on rapidly, and it is expected to be one of the finest of the 
boulevards before 1893. It is a very popular drive, for the circuit from Union 
Park to Garfield, then via Douglas boulevard to Douglas, and thence back by 
Ogden and West Twelfth street boulevards to Ashland boulevard and point 
of departure, completes a perfect summer evening's ride. 

Douglas Park. Area, 179.79 acres; situated four miles southwest of the 
Court-house; bounded on the north by West Twelfth street, on the south by 
West Nineteenth street, on the east by California avenue and on the west by 
Albany avenue. The district in the vicinity of this park was almost entirely 
destitute of residences ten years ago. Within a decade it has been built up, 
however, until those who have not visited the section for four or five years, 
or even two years, would hardly recognize it as the same. The popularity 
of the park, which has always been a beautiful piece of ground, has increased 
with the growth of the neighborhood and the improvement of the streets and 
drives in the vicinity. Douglas Park is beautifully laid out, well wooded and 
admirably situated. It has been cared for nicely of late years, and its lawns 
and flower beds bear evidence of skillful and faithful attention. Some of the 
avenues through this park are not surpassed by any in the city. The lake 
covers an area of seventeen acres. There is a handsome boat-house and 
refectory here. Douglas Park also has a medicinal artesian well with prop- 
erties similar to those at Garfield and Humboldt Parks. The conservatories 
and propagating houses are among the largest of the system. [See Con- 
servatories.] Vast improvements are promised for Douglas Park within the 
next two years. 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 71 

Drexel Boulevard. The eastern entrance to Washington Park commences 
at Oakwood boulevard and the junction of Cottage Grove avenue and Thirty- 
ninth street. It is a double driveway, 200 feet wide for its entire length, 
running south to Drexel avenue and southwest from that point to the park. 
Through the center is a wide strip of sward, covered here and there with beau- 
tiful shrubs, rose bushes and mounds. Upon the latter, which are interspersed 
with flower-beds of beautiful design, appear, during the summer season, 
unique figures wrought from flowers and foliage, and which attract thousands 
of sightseers annually. At the intersection of Drexel avenue is a magni- 
ficeut bronze fountain, presented by the Messrs. Drexel of Philadelphia, in 
memory of their father, after whom the boulevard was named. On either side 
of the drivewaysare to be seen some of the handsomest mansionsand prettiest 
villas of Chicago. At the head of the boulevard, a few steps from the 
Cottage Grove avenue cable line, is the "Cottage" from which phaetons start, 
at intervals through the day, for a circuit of the South Parks. 

Gage Park. Area, 20 acres; situated at the junction of Western avenue 
and Garfleld boulevard. It is laid out with trees, and will become a popular 
halting or half-way station, when the boulevards which enter it are com- 
pleted. 

Garfield Boulevard. The first link in the chain which is intended to con- 
nect the South Park with the West Park system; 200 feet wide; extends 
along Fifty-fifth street from Washington Park to Gage Park, a distance of 
about four miles, in a direct westerly course. This boulevard is in good 
condition for driving, and soon will be completed. The plan is for a cen- 
tral driveway, bordered by grass and rows of trees outside of which there is 
to be on one side a roadway for equestrians, aud on the other a carriageway, 
the whole to be lined with elm trees. 

Garfield Park. Area 185. 87 acres, situated four miles directly west of the 
Court-house; bounded by Madison street on the south, Lake -street on the 
north, and running a mile and a half west from the head of Washington 
boulevard. This was formerly known as Central Park. The name was 
changed in memory of President Garfield. The lake in the center of the 
park covers an area of 17 acres. The park is extremely picturesque, the drives 
and promenades being laid out in the most enchanting manner. The boat- 
house is one of the finest to be seen in the park system. There is a hand- 
some fountain here, the gift of Mrs. Maricel Talcott, and an artesian well 
which furnishes half the city with medicinal mineral water. It is 2,200 feet 
deep, and discharges at the rate of 150 gallons per minute. The water is 
recommended for anaemia, diseases of the stomach and kidneys, and rheu- 
matic disorders. Garfield Park is beautiful as it is, but just at present it is 
receiving the attention of West Side citizens, who contemplate making many 
improvements. Opposite the west end of the park on Madison street is the West 
Side Driving Park; west of the park near the Lake street side are the exten- 
sive shops of the West Division Railway Company. Just beyond the park on 
Madison street is the Fortieth street power-house of this company, and the 
terminus of the Madison street line. Connecting with the cable cars an elec- 
tric railway line is now in operation, which carries passengers through the 
town of Cicero, out by Austin, Oak Park, the Grant locomotive works and 
other attractive points. 

Grand Boulevard. The western entrance to Washington park; 198 feet 
in width; beginning at Thirty-fifth street and entering the park at its north- 



72 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

western angle. Is bordered by a double colonade of elms and strips of 
sward. The road-bed is perfect for driving. On the western side a strip is 
reserved for equestrians. Toward the southern end another strip is reserved 
for speeding fast horses. It is one of the most fashionable drives in the city. 
Following up the avenue connecting with Grand boulevard you are carried 
past the "Retreat "and on to the Washington Park Race-track. By keep- 
ing on the same course you may return by the flower-beds and back via 
Drexel boulevard. 

Humboldt Boulevard. This boulevard is not completed nor in such con- 
dition as to be worthy of the attention of the visitor. It is intended to con- 
nect Lincoln and Humboldt parks. At present the drive between the two 
most used is along North avenue; a good street, which touches at the south- 
ern extremity of Lincoln and at the northern extremity of Humboldt. 
While on this subject if might be well enough to say that the entire system 
of western park boulevards are at this time receiving the serious attention of 
the public. It is thought that all will be much improved before 1893. [See 
West Park Improvement.] Humboldt boulevard as designed will be one of 
the most beautiful of the system. Wrightwood avenue will probably be 
taken to fill the gap between Lincoln park and the north branch of the Chi- 
cago river. As shown in the commissioner's plans, Humboldt boulevard 
runs west a mile and a quarter to Logan square, then south one-half mile to 
Palmer place, which extending north two blocks opens into a third division 
running south three-quarters of a mile into Humboldt park at North avenue. 
The boulevard proper will be 250 feet wide; Logan square 400 by 800 feet; 
Palmer place 4,000 by 1,750; total length of drive, three miles. 

Humboldt Park. Area, 200. 62 acres ; situated fo'ir miles northwest from 
the Court House ; bounded on the north by West North avenue ; on the 
south by Augusta street ; on the east by North California avenue, and on 
the west by North Kedzie avenue. This is one of the prettiest of the West 
Side parks. It is laid out beautifully, has a charming lake, splendid avenues; 
is clothed in superb foliage, and in the summer season makes a magnificent 
display of flowers. Its conservatory is conducted admirably. There is a 
mineral artesian well here, 1,155 feet in depth. This park is the popular 
resort of the northwestern part of the city, and forms one of the group of 
three in the West Division. Immense improvements are contemplated, both 
as regards the park proper and its boulevard connections. 

Jackson Park. Area, 586 acres ; about eight miles from the Court House; 
bounded by Lake Michigan on the east ; Stony Island avenue on the west ; 
Fifty-sixth street on the north ; and Sixty-seventh street on the south. This 
beautiful park has been brought into great prominence of late by reason of 
its selection as the site for a portion of the Columbian Exposition. About 
one-third of the park had been improved up to the present year, although 
immense works have been in progress for some time in preparing the unim- 
proved portion for the public. These works included excavating and dredg- 
ing for the chain of lakes which are to have connection with Lake Michigan ; 
bridge and breakwater construction ; leveling and embanking, and land- 
scape gardening on an extensive scale. The improved portion of the park is 
at the northern end. Here there is a broad stretch of sward which has been 
used frequently as a parade ground by the militia, and by large picnic parties. 
This is surrounded or hemmed in by a wooded avenue of great beauty, which 
opens upon a sea-wall and a beautiful view of Lake Michigan. There is 




[Engraved for The Standard Guide Company.] 

GEO. B. CARPENTER & CO .- FIFTH AVE. AND SOUTH WATER ST. 
(See "Guide."] 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 73 

erected here an immense shelter, of great architectural beauty, where thou- 
sands may, on occasion, be protected either from the heat of the sun or from 
a sudden rainfall. The trees and shrubbery in the improved part of the 
park, as well as the flowers, are very attractive, although the variety which 
one finds in some of the other parks is lacking. The number of trees and 
shrubs in the unimproved portion is comparatively small. About Sixty-first 
street there is one clump of oaks and maple, shot here and therewith buncheg 
of fiery sumac. There is another and a larger grove west and north of this. 
Beyond there, except for a few small bunches and a fringe along the west 
fence, the unimproved portion is unbroken by wood. Jackson park will 
have undergone such alterations before the close of the present year that time 
spent in describing it as it is to-day would be time wasted. The opportunity 
of making it the grandest park of the system presents itself, and it will 
undoubtedly be taken advantage of. [See "World's Columbian Exposi- 
tion."] 

Jackson Boulevard. West Jackson street from Halsted street to Gar- 
field Park has finally been declared a boulevard by the Supreme Court. The 
Park Commissioners will have the boulevard fully improved before the close 
of 1891. 

Lake Shore Drive. This is the grandest boulevard drive in Chicago. 
Beginning at the North Side Water- Works on Pine street it skirts the lake to 
the northern extremities of Lincoln Park, where it connects with Sheridan 
Road, which is nearly completed for 25 miles along the north shore. Before 
reaching the park some of the most magnificent mansions in the city are 
passed ou the left. On the right is a fringe of sward, dotted with flower-beds 
and covered with beautiful foliage in the summer months. The lake beats 
against an embankment to the right, and frequently the spray is dashed across 
the flower-beds when the sea is high. Reaching the park you pass through 
beautiful avenues until you strike the Drive again. Here vast improvements 
are being made. Some years ago the State legislature gave the Lincoln 
Park Commissioners the right to issue bonds for $300,000 with which 
to defend the shore line against the encroachments of storm-tossed 
Lake Michigan. With that sum as a nucleus the commissioners designed 
and began work on a system of improvements which, when completed, 
will have cost a sum many times that raised from the original issue of 
bonds. Enough has now been finished to give a general idea of the work as 
it will appear when a continuous 3ea-wall will extend from Ohio street to 
almost the extreme northern limit of the city. The work was commenced 
in the Spring of 1888 at the foot of North avenue. Several hundred feet 
out in the lake a line of piles was driven. Powerful dredging-machines were 
placed in position and slowly but surely acre after acre was reclaimed from 
the lake. It is at this point that the Lake Shore Drive joins the boulevard 
now in course of construction. It will be finished this year. The 
breakwater proper rests on piles driven thirty-five feet into the sand. On this 
foundation granite blocks are Kid and securely cemented. Back of this starts 
the paved beach, forty feet in width, slanting at an angle of about twenty 
degrees until it meets the granilethtc promenade. This promenade is the 
most attractive feature of the improvement and is destined to become famous. 
Imagine a twenty-foot promenade, smooth as glass, three miles in length, 
with Lake Michigan vainly striving to scale the paved beach to the east of it, 
and a grand boulevard lined with carriages to the west of it ; a promenade 
commanding on one side a magnificent view of the lake, and on the other a 



74 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

prospective of Lincoln Park with all its natural and acquired beauties. There 
is nothing rigid in the lines of the promenade or boulevard. Without 
detracting from the attractiveness of the sweeping crescent described by the 
sea-wall at Jackson Park, it must be said that the sinuous curves marking the 
contour of the Lincoln Park beach, promenade, boulevard and canal, are more 
artistic and pleasing. The old shore-line has been followed as nearly as pos- 
sible. It is hard to improve on nature. With the shifting sands as the only 
obstacle to check their course, the waves have drawn along the beach curves 
such as would delight a follower of Hogarth. When they planned the out- 
lines of the drive-way the commissioners wisely decided to follow nature. 
They have made no mistake. The objective point is Diversey avenue, the 
northern limit of the park. Here the regatta course will end, but the sea- 
wall and boulevard will be continued by the people of Lake View, who pro- 
pose to make the Sheridan Road and the Lake Shore Drive continuous. The 
sea-wall will be extended to Byron avenue, opposite Graceland cemetery. 
It is thought that the park commissioners will be able to complete their 
part of the work by the commencement of next winter. They will then have 
added 100 acres to the area of the park, and have given to Chicago a boule- 
vard and regatta course unequaled in the world. Between the new boulevard 
and the park there will be three connecting points. There will be land con- 
nection at the north and south ends of the park and a bridge at a point oppo- 
site Webster avenue. The canal will connect with the lake at two points, one 
opposite Wisconsin street and the other at Fulton avenue. The boulevard 
will cross these connections on steel swinging bridges of a special construction. 
It will be several years before the dreams of the designer will be fully realized. 
Rows of shade trees will be planted to the east of the boulevard, and between 
the trees and the edge of the regatta course the sloping lawn will be beautified 
in the highest style of the landscape gardener's art. Between the west shore 
of the regatta course and the present Lake Shore Drive is a tract of land now 
piled high with stone and pine bark. This will be made one of the finest 
features of the park. Planked thus on either side by verdure-decked banks, 
the canal will wind its sinuous course towards what was Fisher's garden. 
At no point will this placid stretch of water be less than 150 feet in 
width, while the average is nearer 200. At the ends it is widened to 350 
feet, so as to permit boats to make a sweeping turn. Hardly less 
important is the improvement contemplated by the Lincoln Park Com- 
missioners and the property owners Mho own the land fronting the 
lake between Elm and Oak streets. The sea-wall ends at Elm street on the 
south. With it the Lake Shore Drive practically comes to an end. The 
problem which has ever confronted the boards of park commissioners is to 
connect the North and South Side boulevard systems. In a recent message 
to the city council. Mayor Cregier suggested that Michigan boulevard be con- 
nected with a viaduct extending over the Illinois Central tracks and crossing 
the river at some point between Rush street and the lake. An expensive plan, 
there seems to be no other available. It is proposed to swing the boulevard 
out into the lake, starting at Elm street. It will curve out 1,000 feet from the 
present line and strike the existing beach at the foot of Ohio street. The Lake 
Shore Drive has for years been the fashionable rendezvous of the North Side. 
Thousands of carriages linethe beautiful embankmenton summerafternoons. 
Lincoln Park. Area, 250 acres, two and a half miles in width by one and 
a half miles in length; bounded by Lake Michigan on the east; Clark street 
on the west; North avenue on the south, and Diversey street on the south. 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 75 

The southern portion was formerly a cemetery. The tomb of the Couch 
family remains; all others were long since removed. First board of commis- 
sioners appointed in 1869, since which time it has been under State super- 
vision. There is embraced within this small piece of territory perhaps more 
attractions than can be found in any park of the country. "Where nature left 
off art began, and the two have contributed toward making Lincoln Park the 
most charming in the city. The visitor will be delighted with the undulating 
character of the ground, the gracefully winding and curving avenues, which 
stretch out in every direction; the beautiful lakes, the handsome bridges, the 
splendid foliage, the magnificent statuary, the gorgeous banks, beds and 
avenues of choicest flowers, the rare and wonderful shrubbery, the pretty 
little dells, knolls and nooks, that lie half concealed beneath the noble trees, and 
last, though not least, with the zoological collection, which has contributed in 
no small degree toward making Lincoln Park famous. Here we find the 
Grant monument, facing Lake Michigan on the Lake Shore drive. This mag- 
nificent work of art was presented by the citizens of Chicago, and cost $100,000. 
Here, also, is the Lincoln statue, by St. Gaudieur, facing the main entrance, 
a splendid likeness of the great president, and pronounced one of the 
finest pieces of sculpture in the world. This statue cost $50.000, and 
was presented, together with a drinking fountain, by the late Eli Bates. 
Here, also, are the "Indian Group'"' in bronze, presented ^by the late 
Martin Ryerson; the La Salle monument, presented by Lambert Tree, 
and the Schiller monument, presented by German residents of Chicago. 
An entire day may be spent pleasantly by the visitor in Lincoln Park. The 
great conservatories, flower beds and zoological collection, can hardly be seen 
in less time. There is a comfortable refectory in the boat-house on the main 
lake. Boats may be rented at 25 cents an hour. 

Lincoln Park Palm-House. The plan of the new palm-house just erected at 
Lincoln Park, drawn by Architect Silsbee, shows a beautiful structure of steel 
and glass, light, airy and picturesque, sixty feet high, resting upon a bowlder 
foundation of split granite. The main building is 168x70 feet, with a rear exten- 
sion of seventy feet, making the entire length of the structure 238 feet. In front 
of the main building there is to be alobby 25x60 feet, which isapproached by a 
vestibule twenty feet square. The interior of the main building shows an 
unbroken stretch, save a few light supporting iron columns for the glass roof. 
The conservatory is in the rear of the palm house. It is thirty feet wide. At 
the extreme north end is a room 30x60 feet, which will be exclusively devoted 
to the culture of orchids. This room will be further beautified by a sort of 
observatory tower built of pressed brick and terra-cotta trimmings. The 
building will be erected on two terraces northeast of the present canal vista 
and the animals' summer quarters. The terraces occupy the space due north 
of the present green-houses. The latter structure will be removed as soon as 
the new palm-house is completed. The main approach to the palm-house will 
be from the floral gardens. The new house will cost $60,000. 

Michigan Avenue Boulevard. Michigan avenue, from .lackson street on 
the north to Thirty-fifth street on the south, a distance of three and a quarter 
miles. It is 100 feetwide from curb to curb, and skirts the Lake Front Park, 
the site for a portion of the Columbian Exposition. Formerly the ultra fash- 
ionable residence street of the city. Now undergoing a transformation. [See 
"Michigan Avenue."] 

Midway Plaisance. Area, 80 acres; a woodland drive connecting Wash- 



76 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

ington with Jackson Park, and, although unimproved to any extent \vorth 
mentioning up to this year, one of the most beautiful and romantic avenues 
within the park system. It runs between Fifty-ninth and Sixtieth streets, 
and is one and one-tenth miles in length. The Midway Plaisance, with 
adjoining lands added, will become the site of a portion of the Columbian 
Exposition. The plans for improvement during the next two years are elab- 
orate. [See "World's Columbian Exposition.' j 

North and South Side Viaduct. If a great viaduct instead of a sub- 
way is decided upon it will take the following route: Beginning at 
a point on St Clair street south of Ohio, at a point where the 
Sheridan drive now terminates, the viaduct of solid masonry work fifty feet 
wide, exclusive of pedestrian ways on each side, takes its rise. South on St. 
Clair to Michigan street, thence southwestwardly across Michigan street and 
the parallel railroad tracks; thence south along and over a private street 
between Kirk's soap factory and the McCormick, thence by a drawbridge 
across the river and by a long span across the Goodrich steamer docks to 
Front street, west on Front to a private street which is a continuation of Cen- 
tral avenue, and south along this private street and Central avenue to the 
Randolph street viaduct, at which point it begins to fall. By easy stages from 
the viaduct in a southwestwardly direction, the new viaduct is traced across 
the northwest corner of the unimproved part of the Lake Front Park to Mich- 
igan avenue and Washington street, where it comes to the level of the avenue. 

Oakwood Boulevard. Connects Drexel and Grand boulevard*; 100 feet 
wide and half -a mile long. It enters Grand boulevard at Thirty-ninth 
street, and touches Drexel boulevard at its intersection with Cottage Grove 
avenue, 

Ogden Boulevard. Running southwest from the junction of West Twelfth 
street boulevard and Oakley avenue. Not yet completed, but being rapidly 
pushed forward. It will connect Ashland and West Twelfth street boule- 
vards with Douglas Park. 

Thirty-Fifth Street Boulevard. The connecting link between Grand and 
Michigan avenue boulevards; sixty-six feet wide and one-third of a mile in 
length. 

Union Park. Area, 14.3 acres; situated one and three-quarter miles 
directly west of the Court House; bounded by Warren avenue on the south, 
Lake street on the north, Ogden avenue on the east and Ashland avenue on 
the west. This park, one of the oldest in the city, only passed into the hands 
of the Park Commissioners a few years ago. Since then it has undergone many 
alterations and improvements. On the northeast corner of the park stands 
the headquarters of the West Park Board. The lake has recently been 
enlarged and rebedded; many unsightly mounds have been cut away, and 
every year will add to its attractiveness in the future. The portion of the 
park, through which Washington boulevard passes, is laid out in flower beds. 
This is one of themost popular West Side breathing places in thesummer, and 
on Sundays it is usually crowded. 

Washington Boulevard. The continuation of West Washington street, 
west from Halsted street to Garfield Park, and the driveway from the center 
of the city to the parks and boulevards of the West Park System. Passes 
through Union Park, a beautiful square. This boulevard is lined for the 
entire distance of nearly three miles with handsome residences. Large shade 
trees and a continuous strip of green sward fringe either side of the avenue. 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 77 

On Washington boulevard are many fine church edifices. The Chicago 
Theological Seminary is passed at Union Park and Warren avenue; the 
Episcopalian Seminary on the north side, west of California avenue. 

Washington Park, Area, 371 acres; situated about one and a quarter 
miles west of Lake Michigan and about six and a half miles southeast of the 
Court House; bounded on the east by Eankakee avenue, on the west by Cot- 
tage Grove avenue, on the north by Fifty-first street and on the south by Six- 
tieth street. The finest of Chicago's parks, more by reason of its magnificent 
entrances, Drexel and Grand boulevards, than by any great natural or artificial 
attraction of its own, although its flower beds are the most beautiful of any. 
It lacks many of the advantages which are enjoyed by Lincoln and Jackson 
Parks, the contiguity of the lake being of itself one of the greatest charms of 
the two last named. " It can not boast of a zoological garden that will com- 
pare with Lincoln Park's, nor of the magnificent monuments that are making 
the north shore park classical ground. But South Park has statelier trees, 
grander avenues, more sweeping perspectives, more charming drives than any 
other park in the city. It has the jamous "Meadow, "a stretch of velvety 
sward that covers 100 acres and the " Mere," with its thirteen acres of water, 
picturesquely sparkling behind long lines of ancient oaks and elms, and bath- 
ing the emerald banks of the mounds and knolls which almost conceal it from 
the view of the passing visitor. It has also its great conservatory [see 
Conservatories] and its splendid stables, which cover 325x200 feet, and 
through which you will be driven if you take a park phaeton. It has its 
delightful refectory, known as the " Retreat," where refreshments are served 
for man and beast, but its flower gardens are its greatest boas-t, and here the 
visitor will pause the longest, for the angle in front of the flower house is 
probably the most seductive spot Chicago has to offer the lover of the beauti- 
ful in nature. Here you will find, during the months between May and 
November, the best exhibition of the landscape gardening art in the world. 
Flowers and foliage are made to do, in the hands of the gardener, what the 
brush and palette accomplish for the artist. The designs are changed annu- 
ally, and are always original, always interesting and always lovely. An 
entire day can be very pleasantly spent in Washington Park. 

West Twelfth Street Boulevard. West from Ashland avenue to Oakley 
avenue, were it connects with Ogden boulevard, which runs in a southwest- 
erly direction to Douglas Park. This boulevard is planted with a double 
row of trees and parked through the center, street cars and traffic teams tak- 
ing the roadways on either side. It is a splendid driveway and is becoming 
more and more popular every year. 

Western Avenue Boulevard. A zig-zag boulevard is projected to connect 
Douglas Park with Western avenue, which it is proposed to boulevard south 
to Gage Park. From the latter point, a boulevard is to extend east to Wash- 
ington Park, thus connecting the West and South Side park systems. For 
some inscrutable reason the east and west boulevard last mentioned is called 
Garfield, probably with the idea in view of creating still more confusion in 
the nomenclature of streets, which is confused badly enough now to be a con- \ 
slant annoyance to residents. How strangers will be able to grapple with the 
intricacies of street, avenue and boulevard names is uncertain. The boule- 
vard known as Western avenue is not beyond the point of projection, and 
neither is the boulevard known as Garfield, but it is probable that the com- 
pletion of these connecting links will now be hastened, as they will open up a 
driveway from the great southwestern portion of the city to the Columbian 
Exposition ite. [See Map.] 



78 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

City Parks. There are a number of small but very pretty parks scattered 
throughout the city, not under the control of the State Park Commissioners. 
These are maintained at the expense of the municipal government. Many of 
them, as a matter of fact, are of far more importance to the neighborhoods in 
which they are situated than the larger and more pretentious ones. Among 
these are the following: On the South Side: Lake Park, known more 
familiarly as the Lake Front ; bounded by Lake Michigan on the east, 
Michigan avenue boulevard on the west, Randolph street on the north and Park 
place on the south. From Randolph street to Madison has been vacant in 
the past; the space between Madison and Jackson has been covered with 
the B. & O. railroad passenger depot, the First Regiment Armory, Battery D 
Armory and the Inter-State Exposition buildings; and the space between 
Jackson street and Park place only has been improved as a park . The area of 
the park proper is forty -one acres. This is all made ground, having been 
recovered from the lake by filling in with the debris of the great fire. Lake 
Park has come into prominence of late by reason of its having been selected 
as the site of a portion of the Columbian Exposition [see ' ' World's Columbian 
Exposition "1. The park has been very popular with the business people of 
the South Side, not because of its attractions, but rather on account of the 
large area of free breathing space which it gives contiguous to the business 
center. Groveland twdWoodlawn parks adjoin each other on Cottage Grove 
avenue, near Thirty third street. Take Cottage Grove avenue car. These 
parks, together with the University grounds, which were opposite, were a 
gift from the Hon. Stephen A. Douglas. The University has been aban- 
doned, and the buildings removed. [See " University of Chicago."] The 
Dearborn Observatory, which was formerly attached to the University, has 
become a part of the Northwestern University at Evanston, the great tele- 
scope having been transferred to the care of that college by the trustees. 
[See Northwestern University.] Douglas Monument Square; area, 2.02 acres; 
situatedon the Lake shore, between Thirty-fourth and Thirty-fif thstreets, and 
close to the two parks last mentioned. Take Illinois Central train to Thirty- 
fifth street. Here stands the mausoleum and monument to Stephen A. 
Douglas [See "Douglas Monument"], a pretty little square; from which a 
splendid view of Lake Michigan may be obtained. Ellis Park; area, 3.38 
acres; situated four miles south of the Court House; between Vincennes and 
Cottage Grove avenues, at Thirty-seventh street. Aldine Square; area, 1.44 
acres; situated at Thirty-seventh street and Vincennes avenue, which is 
surrounded by beautiful private residences, and a number of other smaller 
squares and parks, farther to the south. West Side: Jefferson Park, area, 5.5 
acres; situated between Adams street on the south, Monroe street on the 
north, Throop street on the east and Loomis street on the west. Take Adams 
street car to Centre avenue or Madison street cable line to Throop street. A 
beautiful and popular little park, with many attractive features. Vernon 
Park; area, 4 acres; situated between Gilpin place on the south, Macalister 
place on the north, Centre avenue on the east and Loomis street on the west. 
Two miles from the Court House. Take Adams street or West Taylor street 
cars. Wicker Park; area, 4 acres; situated in the triangle between Park, 
North Robey and Fowler streets; three miles northwest from the Court 
House. Take Milwaukee avenue cable line. North Side: Washington 
Square; area, 2.25 acres; situated between North Clark street, Dearborn 
avenue, Lafayette place and Washington place. This is a popular resort for 
North Siders who do not care to go as far as Lincoln Park, and for children. 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 79 

There are other parks and squares not mentioned here, such as Campbell and 
Congress parks on the West Side and Dearborn park on the South Side. The 
former has no attractions for the visitor. The latter is fenced in and is the 
proposed site of the new Public Library building. Its area is 1.43 acres, 
and it is situated on Michigan avenue, facing east, between Dearborn and 
Washington streets, opposite the jiorth end of the Lake Front. 

West Side Park Improvement. A committee of one hundred West Side 
residents has in charge the matter of improving the West Side parks and 
boulevards immediately. The step the property owners believe it necessary 
to take is the issuance of not less than $1,000,000 in bonds and the levying of 
a tax of not less than six mills. The' improvements contemplated are as fol- 
lows: The total length of Humboldt boulevard as planned is 13,238^ lineal 
feet, comprising an area of ninety acres. Logan square is 4GO feet wide, and 
Palmer square is the same. From Palmer square to North avenue the boule- 
vard is, for a considerable distance, 317 feet wide. Humboldt Park contains 
over two hundred acres. While less than half is improved and beautified at 
present, the whole is to be brought under the hand of the artist and land- 
scape architect within the next two years. Of the two and one-half miles of 
public streets fronting on Humboldt Park, but one and one-half miles are at 
present improved. The new plans contemplate the improvement and .orna- 
mentation of the whole distance. Central boulevard, from Augusta street 
to Grand avenue, a distance of 890 feet, is 400 feet wide; from Grand avenue 
to Sacramento square, a distance of 2,206 feet, it is 263 feet wide. Sacra- 
mento square is to be a 400 foot square, and from that point the boulevard is 
tobe 250 feet wide until it reaches Central Park square, which is a distance 
of 3, 662 feet. Central Park square is to be a 400-foot square. The seventy- 
five acres of uniiri proved grounds in Garfield Park are to be put in splendid 
order, and the three miles of unimproved public streets surrounding it are to 
be put in much better shape than the quarter of a mile of the same already 
improved. Douglas boulevard will be 250 wide from Colorado avenue to 
the square south of Twelfth street, which is a distance of 4,077 feet. The 
square will be the usual 400 feet, and the boulevard from that point to Doug- 
las Park will be 250 feet wide. Douglas Park has ninety-six and a half acres 
improved and eighty-three and a half acres unimproved. The latter is to be 
beautified under the new plans, and all the public streets which surround the 
park are to undergo a transformation. Southwestern boulevard will be 250 
feet wide from the park to the east turn, which is a distance of 2.950 feet, 
and will run a uniform width for its whole length of 11,148 feet. The plans 
also include the addition of many attractions to the parks. These will 
include lakes in the now unimproved portions, buildings for the accommoda- 
tion of visitors, cafes, boating facilities, lawns, flowers, trees and pavilions. Tn 
short, the system when completed will be the finest in the world. The tot id 
length of all the boulevards ouside of the parks, as planned under the new 
order of things, is nearly eighteen miles. This will make the whole drive on 
the West Side nearly twenty-two miles. 

POLICE DEPARTMENT. 

The police department of the city of Chicago is under the official control 
of the mayor and is conducted by a general superintendent (Robert W. 
McClaughrey); an assistant superintendent (George W. Hubbard); a secretary 



80 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

with the rank of captain (Jos. B. Shepard); a private secretary to the general 
superintendent (Thomas L. Perkine); a chief inspector (Fred. H. Marsh); four 
division inspectors (Lyman Lewis, commanding the first division; Nicholas 
Hunt, commanding the second division; Alexander 8. Ross, commanding the 
third division, and Michael J. Bchaack, commanding the fourth division) ; 
16 captains, 52 lieutenants, 56 patrol sergeants and 86 desk sergeants. The 
total force, including officers and men, number 8,503. 

Bureau, of Identification. This bureau is in charge of Michael P. Evans, 
who has held the position almost continuously for the past 11 years. Under 
his management and by the aid of his valuable assistants (Geo. M. Porteous, 
Victor George, Andrew Rohan, Edgar Marsh, Sidney Wetmore and Walter 
Mueller), the bureau has become a valuable adjunct of the detective depart- 
ment. It contains the pictures of more than 12,000 criminals; many of them 
the most noted criminals in the country. The Bertillon system of measure- 
ments was adopted by the department some years ago, and is conducted 
by Geo. M. Porteous, whose knowledge of the system was acquired under ttie 
instruction of M. Bertillon, the father of the system at Paris, France. The 
Bureau now contains'the measurements of about 4,000 criminals. 

" Central Detail." This old, familiar title, as applied to those policemen 
who do -patrol duty during the day time in the central part of the city, at 
bridges, railroad depots, street crossings, etc., has been abolished. The Cen- 
tral Detail police are now attached to the " First Precinct, First District, First 
Division." This precinct patrols that portion of the South Division of the 
city lying north of the center of Van Buren street. It contains the greater 
portion of the wholesale mercantile and banking interests of the city, and has 
an area of about one square mile of territory, containing about 40,000 inhab- 
itants. The command at present includes the following officers; 1 captain, 
3 lieutenants, 3 patrol sergeants, 3 desk sergeants, 164 patrolmen on permanent 
post duty, 57 patrolmen on patrol duty, 2 patrolmen in plain dress, 4 patrol- 
men detailed in signal service, 3 patrolmen detailed as vehicle inspectors, 1 
patrolman detailed on licences. Total, 241. 

Cost of Maintenance. The amount appropriated for the maintenance of 
the Police Department in 1891 was, for salaries, new sites for buildings and 
for miscellaneous expenses, about $3,000,000. 

Detective Department. The Detective department and Bureau of Identi- 
fication (Rogues Gallery) is under the control of Chief Inspector F. H. Marsh, 
with headquarters at the City Hall. The force consists of 1 Chief Inspector, 
1 Captain (John Shea), 1 Detective Sergeant (L. Hass), and 50 Detective 
Sergeants. They are not uniformed. Under the present organization the 
department has become very effective and has done some very fine detective 
work for which they have been very highly complimented. 

Division Headquarters and Precincts: The following are the Division 
Headquarters, with commanding officers and precincts as established in 1892 

First Division: Inspector, Lyman Lewis. Headquarters, Harrison and 
Pacific Avenue. 1st District, 1st Precinct, City Hall, formerly the central 
detail. 2nd District, 2nd Precinct, Harrison and Pacific Ave. 2nd District, 
3rd Precinct, 22nd and Wentworth Ave. 2nd District, 4th Precinct, 2523 
Cottage Grove Ave. 3rd District, 5th Precinct, 144 35th St. (Stanton Ave.) 
3rd District, 6th Precinct, Thirty-fifth near Halsted. 3rd District, 7th Pre- 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 81 

cinct, 2913 Deering St. 3rd District. 8th Precinct, (Brighton Park,) Califor- 
nia Ave., near 38th St. 3rd District, 9th Precinct, . 

Second Division: Inspector, Nicholas Hunt. Headquarters, 53rd St. and 
Lake Ave. 4th District, 10th Precinct, 53rd and Lake Ave. 4th District, 
llth Precinct, 50th and State St. 5th District, 12th Precinct (Woodlawn 
Station,) 321 63rd St. 5th District, 13th Precinct (Grand Crossing,) Dobson 
Ave bet. 75th and 76th Sts. 5th District, 14th Precinct (Kensington,) Ken- 
sington Ave. and Front St. 6th District, 15th Precinct (South Chicago,) 93rd 
and So. Chicago Ave. 6th District, 16th Precinct, (Hegewisch, 134th St. and 
Superior Ave. 7th District, 17th Precinct (Englewood,)64th St. and Went- 
worth Ave. 7th District, 18th Precinct, to be opened at 86th St. and Vin- 
cennes Ave. 8th District, 19th Precinct, Mattson and Halsted Sts. 8th Dis- 
trict, 20th Precinct, 

Third Division: Inspector, A? S. Ross. Headquarters, Desplaines and 
Waldo Place. 9th District, 21st Precinct, Morgan and Maxwell St. 9th Dis- 
trict, 22ud Precinct, Canalport Ave. near Halsted. 9th District, 23rd Pre- 
cinct, cor. Hinman and Paulina Sts. 9th District, 24th Precinct, West 13th 
St. near Oakley Ave. 9lh District, 25th Precinct (Lawndale.) 9th District, 

26th Precinct. 10th District, 27th Precinct, Desplaines St. near Waldo 

Place. 10th District, 28th Precinct, 609 W. Lake St. 10th District, 29th 
Precinct, 256 Warren Ave. 10th District, 30th Precinct, W. Lake and.43rd St. 
10th District, 31st Precinct, 

Fourth Division: Inspector, M. J. Schaack Headquarters, E. Chicago 
Ave. Station, llth District, 32nd Precinct, 233 W. Chicago Ave. llth Dis- 
trict, 33rd Precinct, 99 W. North Ave. llth District, 34th Precinct, W. 
North Ave. near Milwaukee Ave. llth District, 35th Precinct, Milwaukee 
Ave., and Attrell St. llth District, 36th Precinct (Irving Park,) Milwau- 
kee Ave. and Irving Park Blvd. llth District, 37th Precinct. 12th 

District, 38th Precinct, E. Chicago Ave., near N. Clark St. 12th District, 
39th Precinct, Larrabee St. and North Ave. 12th District, 40th Precinct, 
958 N. Halsted St. 13th District, 41st Precinct (Lake View,) Sheffield Ave., 
near Diversey St. 13th District, 42nd Precinct; Halsted and Addison Sts. 
13th District, 43rd Precinct, 

Headquarters. The headquarters of the^ police department are located in 
the City Hall. 

Police Matrons. There are twenty-five matrons each receiving $630 per 
annum, they are employed at the principal precinct stations to care for 
females and children arrested. Under Chief McClaugh/ey an advisory board 
has been organized composed of ladies selected by the different women's 
organizations in the city, whose dnty it is to investigate and report to the 
General Superintendent the manner in which these matrons perform their 
duty, and to recommend such improvements as they deem proper. 

Patrol System. The Patrol Wagon system, which is worked to perfec- 
tion in this city, had its origin in Chicago. From the patrol boxes located at 
convenient corners, or by telephone from any point, place of business or 
residence, a patrol wagon containing from four to eight police officers may 
be summoned at any hour of the day or night. The response is quick, sur- 
prisingly so to strangers, who are always interested in its operation. The 
telephone and telegraph are constantly employed in connection with the 
police system of Chicago, and some arrests of dangerous and notorious 



82 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

characters have been made within recent months by the operations of this 
system that could not have been accomplished under the old methods. The 
patrol service is also an ambulance corps, and renders valuable assistance in 
rescuing the injured in accidents, or in carrying to hospitals those who are 
suddenly stricken with illness. Besides the patrol wagons there are two 
regular ambulances connected with the department, and others are to be 
added. The number of patrol wagons in the service is 35. 
Policemen's Benevolent Association. Condition at d)se of 1891: 

Cash on hand January 1, 1891 $11,456 

Receipts during 1891 62,915 

Total ...$74 ,371 

Expenditures during 1891 $67,558 

Balance January 1. 189.i 6,813 

The number of members in the association January 1, 1892, was 1,643. 

The officers for 1891 are: President, Sergt William Dollard; Vbe-Presi- 
dent, Sorgt. Rudolph Sanderson: Treasurer, Michael Brennan; Recording 
Secretary, Daniel Hogan; Financial Secretary, William S. McGuire. 

POPULATION STATISTICS. 

The present ratio of gain in the population of the city of Chicago is 
estimated at 1,000 per week. In the last twenty -two months, or, say ninety 
weeks intervening between the time of the completion of the school census, 
in June, 1890, and the present time, April, 1892, 90,000pers >ns would, there- 
fore, be added to the population of the city. The school census figures were 
1,208,669. Add 90,000, and we have 1,298,669. Add additions to population 
by annexation, since June, 1890, say 10,000, and we have 1,308,669. It is 
perfectly safe, therefore, to claim for Chicago in the spring of 1892, in 
round numbers, a population of ONK MILLION THREE HUNDRED THOUSAND. 
The statements which follow are all based upon the last school census returns. 

Nationalities Represented. Chicago is a thoroughly cosmopolitan city. 
Less than one-fourth of her people are of American birth fully one-third 
of the 292,463 native-born citizens are of immediate foreign extraction. The 
following is a careful estimate of the nationalities represented. 



American 292,463 

German .. 384,958 

Irish 215,531 

Bohemian 54,209 

Polish 52,756 

Swedish 45,877 

Norwegian 44,615 

English 33,785 

French li.HW 

Scotch 11,927 

Welsh ...* 2.96H 

Russian 9,977 

Danes 9,891 

Italians 9,921 



Hollanders 4,912 

Hungarians 4,827 

Swiss 2,735 

Roumanians 4,350 

Canadians 0,PM) 

Belgians 682 

Greeks 698 

Spanish 97 

Portuguese 34 

East Indians 28 

West Indians 

Sandwich Islanders 31 

Mongolians 1,217 

1,208,669 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 



83 



Population by Divisions. According to the census of 1880 the South 
Division had a population of 127,266, the West Division 276,321, and the 
North Division 99,717. Between 1880 and 1889 the West gained rapidly on 
the other sides, until, before the annexation of adjoining towns, it was esti- 
mated to contain two-thirds of all the inhabitants in the city. The acquisi- 
tion of the populous towns of Hyde Park and Lake, on the South, and Lake 
View and Jefferson, on the North, by the vote of 1889, however, swelled the 
population of these divisions to a point which considerably weakened the 
ascendency of the West Division. 

Growth by Wards. In order to illustrate the rapidity with which the 
population of Chicago increases, the following tables, showing the increase 
in the inhabitants of the different wards between 1888 and 1890 is given. 
Comparison is made between the school census returns of both years: 



Ward. 


Population in 
1890. 


Population in 

1888. 


Increase. 


1 


44,897 
30,652 
30,511 
31,415 
40,642 
45,199 
45,699 
36,539 
41,411 
42,925 
37,182 
52,127 
37,501 
40,724 
42,342 
58.69P 
28,333 
3\126 
48,590 
27,126 
35,335 
36,505 
41,519 
35,120 


32,333 

26,964 
28,052 
26,236 
40,067 
40,513 
36,398 
33,497 
36,592 
33,435 
32,298 
' 40,536 
32,023 
31,350 
29,761 
50,750 
24,589 
31.667 
41,671 
22,597 
30,620 
32,283 
38,579 
3;), 141 


12,564 
3,688 
2,459 
5,179 
675 
4,687 
9,301 
3,342 
4,819 
9,490 
4,884 
11,591 
5,478 
9,374 
12.681 
7,949 
3,744 
4,459 
6,919 
4,715 
4,529 
4,222 
2,940 
4,979 


2 


3 ... 


4 


5 


6 


7 


8 


9 


10 


11 


12 


13 


14 


15 


16 


17 


18 


19 


20 


21 


2i 


23... 


24 



These are the old wards. The population of the new wards must be com- 
pared with the population of the townships in which they are situated. 



Townships. 



Wards. 



LakeVieiv ] || 

Jefferson 27 

Partof Cicero 28 

(29 
Lake ^30 

1 31 

(32 
HydePark ^33 

(34 



Population 
in 1890. 
23,788 
28,003 
11,368 
8,785 
31,139 
49,718 
21,586 
29,412 
29,236 
29,611 



Population 
in 1888. 

1 46,164 
11,552 
6,850 

1 84,585 
i 67,062 



Increase. 
5,627 
1,935 

17,860 
11,191 



The large increase in the population of Jefferson was due to the fact that a 
great portion of it, containing about 4,000 persons, was annexed during 1889. 



84 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

Following is the population by Divisions, according to the school census 
of 1890: 

Total population of South Division, comprising the South Town wards 
and those of Lake and Hyde Park, male, 222,077; female, 191,845; total. 
413,922. 

Total population West Division, comprising the West Town wards and 
Twenty-eighth ward (annexed portion of Cicero), male, 297,722; female. 
258,261; total, 555,983. 

Total population North Division, comprising the North Side wards and 
those of Lake Visw and Jefferson, male, 126,091; female, 112,673; total 
238,764. 

Population Summary. Of the 1,208,669 inhabitants in Chicage in 1890, 
645,890 were males and 562,779 were females. There were 735,435 persons 
over 21 years of age, of whom 409,676 were males and 325,759 were females. 
The total number of persons under 21, 473,204 ; 236,214 being males and 
237,020 being females. The number of school children between 6 and 14 
was males, 84,272 ; females, 81,344 ; total 165,621 . The total number of chil- 
dren under 6 was 183,801. The blind numbered 183 ; deaf and dumb, 427 
males, 203 ; females, 224. The total number of pupils in private schools was 
39,906 ; total number of pupils in public schools 135,551. The total number 
of children under 21 who had finished their studies was 35,246, while there 
were 35,246 who had to work but would have attended school had they an 
opportunity. The total number between 12 and 21 who could not read 
or write English was but 2,599, of whom 1,200 were males. The total 
number between 6 and 14 who did not attend school was 6,216. The colored 
people of all ages in the city were 14,490 7,932 males, 6,558 females. The 
Mongolians numbered 1,217, of whom only 10 were females. The population 
of the annexed districts was 262,640, as against 216,213 in 1889, and within 
the old city boundaries 946,029, as against 802,651 in 1889. 

Population of Cook County. The population of Cook County, 111., in 
which Chicago is situated, according to the United States Census of June, 1890, 
was 1, 189,258 against 607,524 in 1880. This is grossly incorrect. The pop- 
ulation of the county outside of the city is not less than 100,000, which, added 
to the estimate of 1,300,000 for the city at the present time, makes the 
population of Cook county 1,400,000. 

Population of Illinois. The population of Illinois, according to the 
United States census of June, 1890, was 3,801,285, which gave her the third 
place among the States of the Union New York ranking first and Pennsyl- 
vania, second. By census districts the count was as follows : 



First District 1,226,292 

Second District 342,500 

Third District 393,155 

Fourth District 400,092 

Fifth District 370,000 



I Sixth District 384,928 

Seventh District 382,940 

Eighth District 352,378 

Total 3,801,285 



If the error made in the count of Chicago, which is included in the first 
district, be taken into account, and the gain in population since June, 1890, 
be added, the population of Illinois in April, 1891, can be fairly said to exceed 
four millions. 



*/.'' 
Of j 
31 f y 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 85 

POST-OFFICE. 

The limits or jurisdiction of the postmaster of the Chicago Post-office 
covers leas than one-third of the area of the city proper, the outlying post- 
offices being entirely distinctive, and having postmasters of their own. [See 
" Outlying Chicago Post-Offices."] The central or general office is located 
in the business portion of the city. It has eleven carrier stations and twenty 
sub-postal stations, distributed at various points within said jurisdiction. 
The force employed consists of about 769 regular carriers, 200 substitute 
carriers, 842 regular clerks, sixty substitute clerks, and about 90 persons in 
charge of Sub Stations and Stamp Agencies, making a total of 1701 paid 
employes. Of this force, 105 carriers, 57 horses and 52 wagons are employed 
in the collection of the mail from the street letter-boxes. 

Branch Offices. The city branch post-offices, or sub-stations, are located 
as follows : North Division Station, 355 and 359 N. Clark, N. W. corner of 
Oak, Supt. Theodore Stemming; Northwest Station, 51 7 Milwaukee av.,Supt. 
W. L. Householder; West Division Station, W. Washington, cor. S. Halsted, 
Supt. John Davy ; West Madison Street Station, 981 W. Madison, Supt. R.F. 
Taylor; Southwest Station, 543 Blue Island ave., Supt. John Vanderpoel; South 
Division Station, 3217 State, Supt. Joseph Harvey ; Cottage Grove Station, 
3704 Cottage Grove ave., Supt. Peter H. Witt ; Stock Yard Station, S. Hal- 
sted cor. 42d, Supt. Frank H. Ketchum ; Lake View Station, 1353 Diversey 
ave., Supt. Hbnry Bonnefoi ; Humboldt Park Station, 1576 Milwaukee ave., 
Supt. Henry Spink ; Hyde Park Station, 142 Fifty-third, Supt. H. A. 
Phillips. Sub-Postal Stations : Twenty-second Street Station, 86 Twenty- 
second, Supt. E. F. Brooks ; Ogden Avenue Station, 324 Ogden ave., Supt. 
Wm. E. Waite. 

City Delivery. Free delivery of letters by faithful carriers will be secured 
by having the letters addressed to the street and number. 

Closing of Foreign Mails Foreign visitors will be guided by the following 
rules of the closing of mails: Mails for Great Britain and Ireland dispatched 
in closed bags as follows: Sundays, Mondays and Thursdays via New York, 
close 4 P. M. For Denmark, Norway and Sweden, dispatched in closed 
bags, Sundays, Mondays amd Thursdays close 4 p. M. For Germany, dis- 
patched in closed bags, Mondays and Thursdays. For China, Japan, New 
Zealand, Australia, Sandwich Islands, Fiji Islands, Samoa, and special 
addressed matter for Siam, close daily at 2 p. M., sent to San Francisco for 
dispatch in closed bags from that office. Note: Mails for countries not 
named above close daily 4 p. M. and are sent to New York for dispatch in 
the closed bags from that office. For Canada, Province Ontario and Quebec, 
close 7 A. M. and 8 p. M. daily except Sunday, Sunday 5 p. M. Hamilton 
(city), Ontario, Toronto (city), Ontario, special despatch close daily at 2:30 P. M. 
Quebec, London special dispatch close daily 10 A. M. Mail for above points 
close Sundays 5 p. M. For Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward's 
Island and Newfoundland close daily at 8:15 A. M. and 7 and 8 P. M. For 
British Columbia and Manitoba, close daily at 2 A. M. Foreign postage 
tables will be found in the public lobbies of the main and branch offices. 
For Mexico, close daily at 8:15 A. M, and 8 P. M. 



86 



GUIDE TO CIICAGO. 



Increase of Business. The following shows the business of the Chicago 
Post-office for the five years ending Jan'y 1, 1892, and the probable increase, 
providing the same ratio is maintained for the five years ending June 30, 
1895: 





GROSS REVENUE. 


GKOSS DISBURSE- 
MENTS. 


Amount. 


Increase 
per cent. 


Amount. 


Increase 
per cent. 


1885 
1836 


$1,930,363 
2,0; 6,274 
2,226,841 
2,470,439 
2.7S4,304 
H,126,?40 
3,445,75? 


' ' ' f-'.o 

10.0 
11.0 
12.7 
12.3- 
10.2 


$ 726,860 
769,441 
8^6,146 
868,782 
964,418 
1,131,474 
1,2,17,832 


6.9 
8.7 
3.9 
11.0 
17.3 
9.4 


1887 


1888 


1889 


189!) 


1891 







COMING FOUR YEARS. 



18!) i 


| $3,797,233 


10.2 1 1 


$1 354 188| 


9 4 


1893 


4 184 539 


10 2 II 


1 481 4811 


9 4 


1894 


4,611,361 


10.2 


1,620,740 


94 


1895 


5,081,198 


10.2 1 


1,773,0491 


94 













In this table the rate of increase is estimated by the same method adopted 
in reference to the New York office. But, unless all expectations prove delu- 
sive, the increase in the receipts of the Chicago office will far outrun these 
figures. It would not surprise any observer of the growth of Chicago and 
the expansion of its business, if these should be so accelerated during the 
next two years from natural causes and by reason of the World's Fair that 
the receipts of this post-office for the year ending June 30, 1893 should bound 
up to $6.000,000. In that event, which is entirely within probability, the 
urgency for increased post-office accommodations to take care of such busi- 
ness is 50 per cent, greater here than in New York, for our local office is 
already accomplishing more with proportionately less facilities and expendi- 
tures than is the New York office. 

Inspector's Department. Located Room 93 of Post-office building: 
Inspector, James E. Stuart, in charge of Chicago Division, comprising the 
States of Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, Wisconsin, Minnesota and Dakota. Assis- 
tants : Angrew Irle, Miss Lenore Mooney, Herbert Towlson. The 
Inspector in charge has fifteen Inspectors under his supervision with 10,000 
postmasters and their innumerable employes to look after. All cases of 
irregularities, depredations or violations of postal laws, should be reported to 
the Inspector. [There is a very general misconception of the duties of the 
Inspector. He is in reality the' personal representative of the Postmaster- 
General. To him is submitted all matters concerning the management of 
Post Offices, the establishment of new Offices, the plans of new buildings, the 
bonds of Post Musters, the fitness of applicants, etc., etc. The work on dep- 
redations is but a small part of the volume of business done bvtlie Inspectoral 
Chicago. Major James E. Stuart, the present Inspector at this point, has 
been connected with the department for fifteen years, and is recognized as 
one of the most efficient officers in the service. 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 87 

International Money Order System. Orders can be obtained upon any 
money-order office in Great Britain and Ireland, Germany, Austria, Belgium, 
Holland, Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Switzerland, Italy, Canada, France, 
Algeria, Japan, Portugal, The Hawaiian Kingdom, Jamaica, New Zealand, 
New South Wales, Hungary, Egypt, and Hong Kong, India and Tasmania, 
Queensland, Cape Colony, The Windward Islands and the Leeward Islands for 
any sum not exceeding $50 in United States currency. No singleorder issued 
for more than $50. Parties desiring to remit larger sums must obtain addi- 
tional money-orders. There is no limit to the number of orders in the Inter- 
national Money-order System. The fees for all International Money-orders, 
are on ordersnot exceeding $10 10 cents ; over $10 and notexceeding $20 
20 cents ; $20 and not exceeding $30 30 cents ; $30 and not exceeding $40 
40 cents ; $40 and not exceeding $50 50 cents. 

Mail Train Service. There are 289 mail trains arriving and departing from 
the city daily, excepting Sunday ; of these trains 174 have railway post-offices 
attached, in' which 362 clerks are daily employed in the distribution of the 
mails while in transit. In addition to this number of railway clerks, a force 
of thirty-three clerks employed by the Chicago post-office is sent out on the 
night trains to the meeting point of incoming railway post-office trains, on 
which they return to distribute and make up the mail for the main office and 
stations, for immediate delivery by carriers upon arrival. This system of 
quick delivery of incoming mails was instituted by the present postmaster. 
Col. James A. Sexton. By this method sixty -five to seventy per centum of 
the mails received during the twenty-four hours is placed upon the counters 
of banks and business houses in the business portion by 9 o'clock in the 
morning. There are 110 separate mails closed daily for despatch, the first 
close being made at 3:20 A. M., and the last at 10:30 p. M. A corresponding 
number of mails is received daily. There are also used daily 1,014 leather 
bags, and 2,930 canvas bags in conveying the mails to and from the post- 
office and railway trains. The weight of the empty bags alone amounted to 
3,249,253 pounds for the year. The headquarters of the 6th Division Rail- 
way Mail Service, comprising the States of Illinois, Iowa, Nebraska, and 
Wyoming Territory, are located in Chicago. In this division 886 railway 
clerks are employed in the distribution of the mails on the cars. During the 
year ending June 30. 1891, these clerks traveled 139,435,380 miles. The Division 
of Post-office Inspectors, comprising the States of Illinois, Iowa, Wisconsin, 
Michigan, Minnesota and the two Dakotas, have their headquarters here. 

Officers of the Post-office The principal officers of the post-office are : 
Postmaster, James A. Sexton; Assistant Postmaster, John M. Hubbard; 
Supply Clerk, J. W. Ward; Record Clerk, John Matter; Superintendent 
of mails, John A Montgomery, Private Secretary, Horace H. Thomas; 
Cashier, Charles Catlin; Book-keeper, T. R. Melody; Superintendent of City 
Delivery, M. J. McGrath ; Superintendent Money order Division, H. P. 
Thompson ; Superintendent of Registry Division, R. T. Howard. 

Outlying Chicago Post-offices. There are, aside from the general post-office 
and its branches in the different divisions of the old city, fifty-eight separate 
and distinct post-offices within the corporate limits of Chicago, as follows: 
Argyle Park, corner Winthrop avenue and Argyle street; Auburn Park, 
corner Seventy-ninth and Wright streets; Avondale, corner of Kenzie and 
Belmont avenues; Bowmanville, Lincoln avenue, near Fifty-ninth street; 



GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

Buena-Park, opposite railroad station of lhat name; Burnside Crossing, cor- 
ner Cottage Grove and Lyon avenues; Calumet, Clinton, near Eighty-ninth 
street; Central Park, 4131 West Lake street; Cheltenham, 159 Cheltenham 
place; Chicago Lawn, corner Sixty-third street and Central Park avenue; 
Colehour, 10301 Avenue K; Cragin, opposite railroad station of that name; 
Crawford, Butler avenue, near Twenty-fourth streeet; Cummings, Torrence 
avenue, near One Hundred and Seventh street; Dunning, corner of Cherry 
street and Irving Park boulevard; Edgewater, on Chicago & Evanston rail- 
road; Elsdon, Fifty-first street, near Trumbull avenue; Englewocd, 6211 
Wentworth avenue; Englewood Heights, corner Eighty-ninth and Page 
streets; Forest Glen, corner Elston and Forest Glen avenues; Forest Hill, 
corner Seventy -ninth and Robey streets; Gano, corner One Hundred and 
Sixteenth and Dearborn streets; Grand Crossing, corner Seventy-fifth street 
and Wilson avenue; Havelock, corner Front street and Cemetery avenue. 
Hegewisch, 13303 South Chicago avenue ; Herinosa, Armitage street, near 
Keeney; High Ridge, corner Weber avenue and Chicago & North-Western 
railway; Irving Park, Charles avenue, near Irving Park boulevard; Jefferson, 
Milwaukee avenue, near Maynard street; Judd, corner Ninety-third street 
and Washington avenue; Kensington, Kensington avenue, near Front street; 
Linden Park, corner Robinson avenue and Einzie street; Mandell, corner 
West Forty-eighth and Harrison streets; Maplewood, corner of Evergreen 
and Maplewood avenues; Mayfair, St. James street, near Franklin; Mont 
Clare, at the railroad station of that name; Moreland, corner West Forty- 
eighth and Kinzie streets; Pacific, at the railroad station of that name; Park 
Manor, 6760 South Chicago avenue; Parkside, Stony Island avenue, near 
Sixty-ninth street; Pullman, corner Morse avenue and One Hundred and 
Twelfth street; Ravenswood, east of Ravenswood park, near Wilson avenue; 
Riverdale, corner Indiana avenue and One Hundred and Thirty-sixth street; 
Roseland, corner Michigan avenue and Union street; Simons, Kimball ave- 
nue, near Bloomingdale road; South Chicago, 9150 Commercial avenue; 
South Englewood, corner Vincennes avenue and Halsted street; South 
Lynne, Sixty-fifth street and Chicago, St. Louis & Pittsburgh railroad; Sum- 
merdale,near Fifty-ninth street and Ravenswood park; Washington Heights; 
Wildwood, Indiana avenue, near One Hundred and Thirty-third street; 
Woodlawn Park, corner Sixty-third street and Illinois Central railroad. 

Post-office Bvilfling. Located on the square bounded by Adams street 
on the north, Jackson street on the south, Dearborn street on the east and 
Clark street on the west, in the heart of the business center, within easy walk- 
ing distance of all the great hotels, railroad depots and street car terminals. 
The erection of the building was commenced in 1871, after the great fire, in 
which the old post-office building, northwest corner of Dearborn and Mon- 
roe streets, where the First National Bank building now stands, was 
destroyed. Architecturally and mechanically the structure is a failure. 
Although costing in the neighborhood of $5,000,000, it has been an eyeaore 
to the people of Chicago, a perfect blot upon the architectural beauty of the 
city, and inconvenient, inadequate and unsafe for the purposes to which it is 
dedicated. When erected it was supposed to be large enough to meet the 
demands of the Chicago postal service for fifty years to come. Inside of 
ten years it proved to be too small. The building as it stands to-day is 
hardly worth a description. The visitor, however, will be interested in 
walking through it, because of the immense volume of business conducted 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 80 

there, and the bustling crowds to be met with in the corridors. A new post- 
offlce to cost between $5,000,000 and f 6,000,000 will shortly take its place. 
Whether the same site will be occupied is not definitely settled at this writ- 
ing. The building is also occupied by the Custom-house officers and the 
United States courts. 

Postal Notes. Postal notes for sums not exceeding $4.99 will be issued on 
payment of a fee of three cents each. These notes are made payable to 
bearer at any money order office in the United States which the purchaser 
may designate. 

Railway Mail Service. Room 83 Postofflce building. Superintendent of 
Sixth Division, L. L. Troy; Asst. Supt., E. L. West. 

Railway Post-offices. Railway post-offices are established on all lines from 
Chicago. These offices run upon nearly all trains, and letters may be mailed 
at the cars up to the moment prior to the departure of the trains. Stamps of 
the denomination of two cents may be had at the cars. 

Rates of Postage. The letter rate of postage is two cents for each ounce, 
or fraction thereof, throughout the United States and Dominion of Canada. 
The postage on letters dropped in the office for delivery in the city is two 
cents per ounce. All letters must be fully prepaid by stamps. The following 
classes of letters are not advertised: Drop letters, box letters, letters directed 
and sent to hotels and thence returned to the post-office as unclaimed; letters 
returned from the dead-letter office to writers, and card request letters; circu- 
lars, free packets, containing documents, speeches, and other printed matter. 
N. B. A request for the return of a letter to the writer within thirty days or 
less, written or printed with the writer's name, post-office and State across 
the left-hand side of the envelope, on the face side, will be complied with. 
Such letters will be returned to the writer free of postage. 

Mail Matter of the Second Class. This class embraces newspapers and 
)ther periodical publications, issued not less than four times a year, from a 
inown office of publication, and bearing a date of issue, and which have no 
iloth, leather, or other substantial binding. Such publications must have a 
legitimate list of subscribers, and must not be designed primarily for adver- 
tising purposes, or for free circulation. The rate of postage on second-class 
wiatter, when sent from the office of publication (including sample copies), or 
v;hen sent from a news agent to actual subscribers, or to other news agents, 
is one cent per pound, or fraction thereof; but if sent by any other than the 
publisher, or a news agent, is one cent for each four ounces, or fraction 
hereof. 

Mail Matter of the TJiird Class. This class embraces transient news- 
papers and periodicals, books (printed), photographs, ciiculais, proof-sheets, 
and corrected proof-sheets with manuscript copy accompanying the same, 
and all matter of the same general character, as above enumerated. The rate 
of postage is one cent for each two ounces, or fractional part thereof, 
except on transient newspapers and periodicals of the second class, which 
will be one cent for each four ounces, or fraction thereof. 

Mail Matter of tlie Fourth Ckus. This class embraces labels, patterns, 
playing cards, addressed tags, paper sacks, wrapping paper, and blotting pads, 
with or without printed advertisements thereon, bill heads, letter heads, 
envelopes plain, or printed addresses thereon, ornamented paper, and all 



90 GUIDE TO CHCAGO. 

other matter of the same general character. Thisclass also includes merchan- 
dise and samples of merchandise, models, samples of ores, metals, minerals, 
seeds, &c., and any other matter not included in the first, second or third 
classes, and which is not in its form or nature liable to damage the contents 
of the mail bag, or harm the person. Postage rate thereon, one cent for 
each ounce, or fraction thereof. 

Receipts and Revenues of t/ie Chicago Post-office. The receipts and dis- 
bursements of the Chicago oilice and sub stations (exclusive of the fifty-eight 
outlying post-offices) for the year 1891 show a net profit of $2,500,000, an 
increase of $500,000 over the year 1890. During the same period the mail 
matter dispatched from the Chicago office amounted to 33,065,063 pounds, or 
336,894,627 pieces, a large increase over the previous year, while the number 
of registered articles handled and not included in the above amounted to 
3,282,585 pieces, an increase of 184,599 pieces over the year 1890. In addition 
to this, the number of money-order transactions reached 1,917,689, aggrega- 
ting a sum of $20,396.166, an increase over the year 1890 of $1,107,219 in that 
department of the office alone. The amount of mail in transit through the 
city of Chicago and transferred from incoming to outgoing trains is estimated 
to have reached the enormous bulk of 62,600 tons for the year, an increase 
over the year 1890 of 35,225 tons. 

Receipts for 1S91. The receipts of the Chicago post office for 1891 were 
$3,679,265, as against $3,318,889 for 1890 ; percentage of increase 101 per 
cent. 

Registry Department. Letters can be registered to all parts of the United 
States upon payment of a fee of ten cents in addition to the regular postage. 

Salaries of Officers. Postmaster, $6,000 per annum; assistant postmaster, 
$3,000; the superintendent of the city delivery, $2,700; the superintendent of 
mails, $2.700; the superintendent of the money order department, $2,400; the 
superintendent of the registry department, 2,400 ; the cashier, $2,600 ; the 
accountant, $1,700 per annum; clerks, from $800 to $1,200, according to length 
of service; carriers, from $600 to $1,000, according to length of service. 

United States Money Order System. The Fees for Money-orders are : On 
orders not exceeding $5 Scents; over $5 and not exceeding $10 Scents; 
over $10 and not exceeding $15 10 cents ; over $15 and not exceeding $30 
15 cents ; over $30 and not exceeding $4020 cents ; over $40 and not exceed- 
ing $50 25 cents ; over $50 and not exceeding $60- -30 cents ; over $60 and 
not exceeding $7035 cents ; over $70 and not exceeding $80 40 cents ; over 
$80 and not exceeding $10045 cents ; no fraction of cents to be introduced 
in the order. No single order issued for more than $100. Parties 
desiring to remit larger sums mast obtain additional money-orders. No 
applicant, however, can obtain in one day more than three orders payable at 
the same office and to the same payee. 

PUBLIC EDUCATION. 

The public schools of Chicago are conducted under the supervision of a 
board of education, which consists of male and female members, appointed 
by the mayor, and who are about equally divided politically. The executive 
department is in charge of a superintendent, eight assistant superintendents, 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 



a Supervisor and assistant supervisor of evening schools* a clerk, an attorney, 
school agent, business manager, chief engineer, auditor, assistant clerk, assist- 
ants to business manager, stenographers and .type-writers, and manager 
and assistants in supply department. 

City and County Public Schools. The following is a summary of miscel- 
laneous statistics, compiled by the county superintendent of schools, from 
the reports of township trustees for 1889-1890. It contains later statistics of 
the city public schools than any issued by the Chicago Board of Education: 



MISCELLANEOUS ITEMS. 


Chicago. 


County 
excluding 
Chicago. 


Whole 
County. 


No. ungraded schools 




131 


131 


No. graded schools 


180 


67 


2il 


No. high schools .... 


12 


5 


16 


'Whole No. schools 


192 


193 


C98 


Average No. of months schools sustained 


9.10 


8 4 


9 


Ch ildren under 21 years 


473,234 


429 14 


516 138 


Between 6 and 21 years 


289,483 


28,171 


317 604 


No. in graded public schools 


146,751 


10,890 


146,441 






4 460 


4 460 


No enrolled in private schools 


6'?,713 


3,8P6 


66' 6(9 


Total in public and private schools 


198,264 


19,246 


217,510 






11 415 




No. teachers in public schools 


3,%9 


409 


3,251 




1,164 


145 


1,809 


No unable to rend or write . 


2,599 


36 


2,635 


Principal of township funds 


$ 911,8 4 


$ 2<M,536 


$1,116,371 


Total district tax levy 


4,250,000 


367,457 


4,617,457 


Bonded school debt 


2,036.000 


364,659 


2,400,650 


Estimated value township fund lands 


3,963, "31 


942,211 


4.9C5.440 











Cook County Normal ScJiool. Situated on Stewart avenue, near Sixty- 
seventh streets. Post-office address, Englewood, Cook county. Take train 
at Van Buren street depot, Van Buren and Sherman streets. An institution 
for the higher education of public school graduates desirous of becoming 
teachers. 

Compulsory Education. There is a compulsory education law in force in 
this State, the provisions of which would require too much space to set forth. 
In effect, however, it provides that all children between the ages of seven and 
fourteen years shall be in some school for at least sixteen weeks of each year. 
It does not insist upon attendance at public schools. They may be public, 
private, T parochial, but the law flatly states that all children who are able 
must be at school somewhere for the time specified. Reasonable exceptions 
are made, of course, and are observed at the discretion of the truant agents. 
The process of picking up a child from the streets and placing him in school 
is called by the agents "an investigation." About 20,000 investigations were 
made m the school year 1890-91. Over 11,200 children were placed in school 
and the others were excused for proper causes. The amount, of work done 
showed a great increase over that of the previous year. During the entire 
nine months of the school year of 1889, there were but a few over 8,000 inves- 
tigations, and less than 3.000 children were placed in schools. 



92 



GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 



Receipts and Expenditures. Summary of receipts and expenditures In 
districts, as shown by reports of township treasurers for 1889-1890: 



RECEIPTS. 


Chicago. 


Excluding 
Chicago. 


Whole 
County. 


Balance in hands township treas. July 1 


$ 82,374 


$ 405,374 


$1 297 749 


State, county and townsnip funds distributed by 
trustees 


462,347 


2931 


484 278 


Special district taxes received 


2,581,456 


375350 


2956 806 






44 674 


44 f>74 


Temporary loans and other sources 


310503 


31 768 


312'272 










Total 


4 246,682 


878,993 


5 125682 


EXPENDITURES. 

Paid to teachers 


2 021 779 


294,511 


t 316 291 


N ew school houses 


68H,373 


86,175 


774 548 




39 79J 


12084 


51 874 


Repairs and improvements 


241,116 


36 891 


278 008 


School furniture and apparatus 


48,276 


11,504 


59 780 


.Libraries 


9,882 


57,521 


433397 


Paid district clerks 


27,377 


2,208 


29585 


Paid on district bonds . . 


77,500 


47,631 


125 130 


Paid interest on district bonds 


105,583 


25,488 


131 089 


Miscellaneous 


151,667 


211,149 


362 817 










Total 


$3,787,222 


$ 785,413 


$4 572,635 


Balance in treasurer's hands due district 


459,460 


936,865 


653,046 










Total 


$4,246,682 


$ 878,499 


$5,135,682 











Manual Training in tlie, Public Schools. The Chicago English High and 
Manual Training School, for instruction in the mechanical arts, was opened 
in August, 1890, and occupies the large public school building on West 
Monroe street, near Halsted street. This school is under the direction of 
the city board of education. Albert R. Robinson is the principal. In grade the 
manual training school ranks with the high schools, and no student is admit- 
ted until he hag passed through the grammar grade. Promotion cards 
entitling the holder to be admitted to the ordinary high school will admit 
him also to the polytechnic school. A full term, three years' course, has been 
laid down, and when the student has completed this, he will be graduated 
with honors and a diploma, the same as if he had gone through the high 
school. Three years aero the school board decided to provide a manual train- 
ing course of study. Those who desired to take advantage of the study were 
excused from certain branches in the high school and went to the training 
school at noon to take the lessons. In 1889 there were about seventy-five stu- 
denls in the manual training classes, but the division of work between this 
and the high school was far'from satisfactory to the board, and hence the old 
scheme was abolished, and the necessary step was taken to launch the new 
school. The previous work had gone no deeper than working in wood. Now 
all of the departments are added. Blacksmith forges are placed in the base- 
ment, and all the machinery is located on that floor also. The first floor it 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 93 

given up to the wood-working trades, while the upper floors are utilized by 
the classes in English, mathematics and the natural sciences. There is a 
course in commercial law and practical book-keeping, and every effort is 
made to send each student away with a sufficient knowledge both of busi- 
ness aad the trades to help him in almost any line of work which it may be 
his lot to follow. By glancing over the curriculum below it will be seen that 
none of the essential high-school branches are neglected. The idea is to 
combine the practical and theoretical as far as possible. The Latin and 
Greek branches are lopped off the regular high-school course as well as some 
of the higher sciences, such as geology, astronomy, biology, etc. Professor 
Clafliu has six assistants, all skilled in the different arts. A new building 
(3 stories) for use as a workshop ha been erected during the past year to 
accommodate the increased attendance. 

Free Night Schools. The term of the night schools is three moths every 
winter preceding the holidays. The total enrollment at the above schools last 
winter was about 12,000. New schools and new branches of study are added 
every year. The Board of Education is paying more attention and attaching 
more importance to free might instruction now than ever before. 

Physical Culture in the Public Schools. When, Nov. 4, 1885, the Board 
of Education appointed Henry Suder, instructor at the North Side Turner 
Hall, and a graduate of the Normal Training School, of Milwaukee, as a 
special teacher of physical culture, it was a test. Prof. Suder had only four 
schools to teach then the old Douglas on the South Side, the Brown and 
King schools on the West Side, and the Lincoln on the North Side. The 
pupils became at once interested in the new departure, and the teachers were 
quick to notice an improvement in the discipline and mental work of their 
classes. In 1886 the board extended the physical culture classes to all the 
grammar schools in the city, and eight special teachers were appointed to 
assist Prof. Suder. In January, 1889, the system was introduced into all the 
primary departments of the city, and four teachers were added to the physical 
culture staff. In the following May, exercises were commenced in the North, 
South, and West Division high schools, Henry B. Camann, a graduate of the 
Milwaukee Normal Training School, being appointed to conduct the classes 
in those schools. In addition to Prof. Suder and Mr. Camann, the following 
teachers comprise the physical culture staff: Grammar Schools Herman 
Hein, Oscar Weinbrod, August Zapp, William Kopp, Henry Hartung, Alvin 
Kindervater, OttoGreubel, F. D. Brasius; Primary Schools Ernst Hibbeler, 
F. L. Jaho, Alfred E. Belitz, Carl Graner, Charles Cobelli, Joseph Grund- 
hofer and Mr. Ferdinand Rheil. In the primary schools the pupils are exer- 
cised in calisthenics only. These exercises consist of simple muscular move- 
ments of the arm and foot, arm and trunk, trunk and foot, and marching and 
breathing exercises. The arrangement is such that all parts of the body are 
brought into play during the lesson. In the grammar schools smooth wooden 
wands, an inch in diameter and three feet long, and wooden dumbbells, shel- 
laced, having a combined weight of one pound, and eleven inches long, are 
used as an aid to the physical training of the scholars. Wand and dumbbell 
exercises are practiced once a week in all the grammar schools, and once a 
week the pupils are put through calistheuic exercises. It is in the North, 
South, and West Division high schools that physical culture is most practiced 
and appreciated. The high schools have more facilities to practice, and the 
pupils enjoy the physical culture lessons because they are a relaxation, if noth- 
ing else. Mondays and Thursdays of each week Mr. Camann visits the South 
Division high school and instructs the classes between the hours of 9:45 a. m. 
and 1:15 p. m. The assembly hall on the top floor is an admirable place 



GUIDE TO CHICAGO; 

for the exercises to be held in, and a piano gives a zest and spirit to the move- 
ments, which are lacking iu the other schools. Light clubs are also used in 
the South Division high school, and form the most picturesque of all the 
exercises. Mr. Camann takes two or three rooms at a time, marshals the 
scholars, who number from 80 to 120, and gives them one hour's practice. 
Fridays he visits the West Division high school, where there is an assembly 
hall similar to the one on the South Side, and drills the scholars for three 
hours. Wednesday is the physical culture day at the North Division high 
School. In the Northwestern high school one of the grammar school 
instructors devotes Tuesdays to exercising the first-year pupils. The cost of 
maintaining the physical culture branch in the schools is not great. The 
salary list for eighteen teachers amounts to $17,200 per year. 

Public School Buildings. The following is a list of the public school 
buildings of Chicago, with names and locations: 

NORTH DIVISION HIGH SCHOOL Wendell and Wells sts. ; NORTHWEST 
DIVISION HIGH SCHOOL Augusta st. and Hoyne are.; SOUTH DIVISION 
HIGH SCHOOL Twenty-sixth st. and Wabash ave.; WEST DIVISION HIGH 
SCHOOL 8. Lincoln st. and Ogden ave.; ANDERSON 520 N. Lincoln, near 
WestDivisionst.; ARMOUR STREET Armour st. and Bickerdike square; BUR- 
LING N. E. corner Center st. ; BLUE ISLAND AVENUE 490 Blue Island ave. ; 
BOULEVARD Armitage ave. and Humboldt bid. ; BRAINARD 587 Washbourne 
pl.;BRENAN 9535 Lime St., near Archer ave.; BRIGHTON Thirty-sixth, W. of 
C. R. I. & P. R. R. track; BRIGHTON PARK Thirty-fifth and Lincoln sts.; 
BROWN Warren ave., between Wood and Page sts; BURR N. Ashland and 
Wabansia aves. ; CALHOUN 1277 W.Jackson st.; CALIFORNIA AVENUE 1119 
California ave.; CALUMET AVENUE 2643 Calumet ave.; CARPENTER N. 
Center ave. and W. Huron st. ; CENTRAL PARK Walnut st. and Kedzie ave. ; 
CLARKE S. Ashland ave. and Thirteenth st.; COLUMBUS Augusta, between 
Hoyne ave. and Leavitt St.; COOPER 625 W. Nineteenth st.; CRAWFORD 
Twenty-fifth st. and Delaware ave. DEARBORN 768 Clybourn ave; Doo- 
LITTLE 109 Thirty-fifth st. ; DORE 217 W. Harrison st. ; DOUGLAS Forest 
ave. and Thirty-second St.; EMERSON Walnut and Paulina sts.; FOSTER 
441 South Union st. ; FRANKLIN Sedgwick and Division sts.; FROZBEL 
853 W. Twenty-first st; GARFTELD Johnson and Wright sts; GEORGE H. 
THOMAS High st. and Belden ave.; GOODRICH Brown and Taylor sts. ; 
GRANT 994 Wilcox ave,; HANCOCK S. Fairfield ave. and Twelfth st. ; HAR- 
RISON 133 Twenty-third et.; HAVEN 1470 Wabash ave.; HAYES N. Leavitt 
and Walnut sts. ; HEADLEY Lewis st. and Garfield ave. ; HEALY 3035 Wal- 
lace st. ; HENDRICKS York and Laflin sts. ; HOFFMAN AVENUE Hoffman and 
Milwaukee aves.; HOLDEN Deering and Thirty-first sts.; HUMBOLDT 920 
N. California ave. ; HURON STREET Huron and Frank sts. ; IRVING 45 Lex- 
ington ave.; JEFFERSON Nebraska and Laflin sts. ; JONES Third ave. and 
Harrisonst. ; KEITH Dearborn and Thirty-fourth sts. ; KING Harrison st. and 
Western ave. ; KINZIE Ohio st. and La Salle ave. ; KOSCIUSKO W. Division 
and Cleaver sts.; LANGLAND 121 Cortland st. ; LA&ALLE Hammond and 
Eugenie sts.; LAWNDALE S. Central Park ave. and Twenty-fifth st.; 
LINCOLN STREET W. Ohio and Lincolnsts. ; LOGAN Rhine and Bremen sts ; 
LONGFELLOW 688 Throopst.; MANIERRE 100 Hudson ave.; MAPLEWOOD 
Diversey st. and California ave; MARQUETTE 297 S. Wood st. ; MCALLIS- 
TER Thirty -sixth and Gage sts.; MCCLELLAN Wallace and Thiity -fifth sts.; 
MONTEFIORE Sangamon and W. Indiana sts. ; MOSELEY Michigan ave. and 
Twenty-fourth st.; MOTLEY Snell st. and W. Chicago ave.; MULLIGAN 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 95 

Sheffield ave,, between Clay and Willow sts.; NEWBERRY Willow and 
Orchard sts.; OAK STREET 85 Oak St.; OAKLEY N. Oakley ave. and W. Ohio 
st.; OGDEN Chestnut, between Dearborn ave. and North State st. ; PEARSON 
W. Pearson and N. Market sts. ; PICKARD Hinman st. and S. Oakley ave.; 
POLK STREET 195 W. Polk st.; RAYMOND Wabash ave. and Eda st. ; 
ROGERS 65 W. Thirteenth St.; SCAMMON S. Morgan and Monroe sts.; SHEL- 
DON N". State and Elm sts.; SHERIDAN 627 Twenty -seventh st.; SKINNER 
W. Jackson and Aberdeen sts ; TALCOTT W. Ohio and Lincoln sts; THOMAS 
HOYNE Illinois and Cass sts.;TriROOP 626 Throopst. ; TILDEN W. Lake 
and Elizabeth sts.; TILTON W. Lake and W. F.,rty-fourth sts.; TILTON 
branch Mailer, near W. Forty-eighth st. ; TILTON branch 4005 W. Har- 
rison st; VEDDER STREET Vedder, near Larrabee st. ; VON HUMBOLDT Rock- 
well and Hirsch sts. ; WALSH W. Twentieth and Johnson sts. ; WARD 
Shields ave. and Twenty seventh sts.; WASHBOURNE 220 W. Fourteenth st.; 
WASHINGTON Morgan, between Erie and W. Ohio sts. ; WEBSTER Went- 
worthave. and Thirty-third st.; WELLS N. Ashland ave. and Cornelia st.; 
WICKER PARK 153 " Evergreen ave.; WILLIAMS AVENUE Williams and 
Tinkham aves. 

The Board of Education expended, during 1890, about $320,000 on the 
Clarke, Longfellow, Foster, Carpenter and Hedges schools, new schools on 
Maplewood, Campbell and Belden aves. and Wright St., and completed 
the Horace Mann. The Hammond, Mulligan and George H. Thomas 
schools were begun in 1889, on which have been expended about $250,000. 
About $20,000 was expended on schools in the annexed districts and for sun- 
dry needs. 

Revenue of the Public Schools. The revenue of the public schools varies 
from year to year, because of the changes (generally increases) in the tax 
levies for school purposes, and for other reasons. The last report of the 
board of education, however, gives the following statement of revenues, 
which will serve as an example: School Fund From rentals of School Fund 
land, $512,036,30; from State dividend, $136,313.06; from interest on principal 
of School Fund, $45,800.04; refunded by school districts, annexation of 1887, 
$19,453 38; tuition of non-resident pupils, $1,275.00; to correct errors in 
teachers' pay-rolls, $238 10; unclaimed pay of canvassers of school census 
of 1888, $62.62; total on account of School Fund, $715,178.50. School 
Tax Fund On account of taxes of 1887 and previous years, $918,472.16; 
ou account of tax of 1883, $1,200,078.26; total on account of School Tax 
Fund, $2,118,550.42. Miscellaneous sources From sale of old furniture, old 
lead, steam-pipe, old iron, stoves, etc., $2,100.64; from rebates on special 
assessments, $9,495.88; from sale of old buildings, $1,256,00; from forfeited 
deposit of contractor, $117.00; total from miscellaneous sources, $12,969.52; 
total actual cash receipts, $2,846,698.44. 

Salaries of School Employes. The following are the salaries of school 
employes of the City of Chicago, corrected up to the spring of 1892. 
SUPERINTENDENTS: Superintendent of Schools, $5,000; Two Assistant Sup- 
erintendents of Schools, each, $4 000 ; Six Assistant Superintendents of 
Schools, each, $3,500. SUPERVISOHS AND TEACHERS OF SPECIAL STUDIES. 
German. Supervisor of German, $2,500; Assistant Supervisor of German, 
$1,800. Drawing. Supervisor of Drawing, High Schools, $2,200; Super, 
visor of Drawing, Grammar and Primary Grades, $2,400; Assistant Super- 
visor of Drawing, Grammar and Primary Grades, $1,800; Two Assistant 



96 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

Teachers, each, $1,600; Three Assistant Teachers, each, $1,200; One Assist- 
ant Teacher, $1,000; One Assistant Teacher, $160. Kinging. Supervisor of 
Singing, Grammar Grades, $2,400; Supervisor of Singing. Primary Grades, 
$2,050 Two Assistant Teachers, Grammar Grades, each, $1,700; One Assist- 
ant Teacher, Grammar Grades, 1,400; One Assistant Teacher, Primary 
Grades, $1,500; Five Assistant Teachers, Primary Grades, each, $1,200. 
Physical Culture. Supervisor of Physical Culture, 2,100; One Assistant 
Teacher, High Schools, $1,200; Eight Assistant Teachers, Grammar Grades, 
each, $1,000; Six Assistant Teachers, Primary Grades, each, $900; One 
Assistant Teacher, half time, 500. Deaf Mute Day Schools. Principal, $1,100; 
Two Assistant Teachers, each, 700; Three Assistant Teachers, each, $550. 
Waifs' Mission. One Teacher, $650. HIGH SCHOOLS. Principal West 
Division High, $2,800; Five Principals, each, $2,600; Five Principals, each. 
$2,500, One Principal, 1,600; Twelve Assistant Teachers, each, $2,000; 
Eleven Assistant Teachers, each, $1,800; Eighteen Assistant Teachers, each, 
$1,600; Seventeen Assistant Teachers, each, 1,500; Nine Assistant Teachers, 
each, $1,400; Eight Assistant Teachers, each, $1,300; Twenty-eight Assistant 
Teachers, each, $1,200; Two Assistant Teachers, each, $1,100; Nineteen 
Assistant Teachers, each, 1,000; Four Assistant Teachers, each, $900; One 
Assistant Teacher, $800; One Assistant Teacher, $750; Two Assistant 
Teachers, part time, each, $600; One Assistant Teacher, part time, $500. 

PRINCIPALS OF GRAMMAR SCHOOLS. First Group. Principals of the 
Brighton, Brown, Burr, Carpenter, Clarke, Doolittle, Douglas, Franklin, 
Garfleld, Lake View No. 2, Marquette, Moseley, Raymond, Skinner, Walsh 
and Wells schools, each $2,500 per annum. Also the following-named prin- 
cipals, at a salary of $2,500 per annum each: Laura D. Ayres, Charles F. 
Babcock, George C. Bannan, Erastus A. Barnes, Will J. Bartholf, Homer 
Bevans, Louis J. Block, Henry C. Cox, Emma M. C. Greenleaf, Nellie Har- 
dick, Henry D. Hatch, Frank S. Heywood, Lucia Johnston, Kate S. Kellogg, 
Cephas H. Leach, Albert R. Robinson, Corydou G. Stowell, John H. Tear, 
A. Henry Vanzwoll, Mary M. T. Walsh, Andrew J. Wood. Second 
Group. Principals of the Calhouu, Hayes, Jones, Kershaw, Lake View No.6, 
McClellan, Oakley and Sheridan schools, each $2,200 per annum. Second 
Group, Second Section. Principals of the Central Park, D. S. Wentworth, 
Goodrich, Graham (Lake), Harvard, Keith, Lewis, Lake View No. 7, Logan, 
Pullman (Lake), Pullman (Calumet), Sherman and Tilden schools, each $2,000 
per annum for the first year of service as principals of schools in this group; 
$2,100 per annum for the second year of service, and $2,200 per annum for 
the third and subsequent years of service. Third Group. Principals of the 
Doran, Fifty-fourth Street, Hancock (old city), Headley.Hendricks (Lake), 
Lake View No. 1, Lake View No. 3, Lake View No. 4, Lawndale, O'Toole, 
Scammon, Sherwood and Thomas Hoyne schools, each $1,700 per annum for 
the first year of service as principals of schools in this group; $1,800 per 
annum for the second year of service; $1,900 per annum for the third year of 
service; $1,950 per annum for the fourth year of service, and $2,000 per 
annum for the fifth and subsequent years of service. Fourth Group. Prin- 
cipals of the Brighton Park, Colraan, Fallon, Farren, Forestville, Hammond, 
Hancock (Lake), Maplewood, Oakland No. 2 and Pacific schools, each $1,400 
per annum for the first year of service as principals of schools in this group; 
$1,500 per annum for the second yearof service; $1,600 per annum for the third 
year of service and $1,700 per annum for the fourth and subsequent years of 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 97 

service. Fifth Group. Principals of the Amerson, Brownell, Carter, Cornell, 
Cummings, Duncan Avenue, Gallistel, George H. Thomas, Greenwood 
Avenue, Hartigan, Kelvyn Grove, Kensington, Madison Avenue, Phil Sheri- 
dan, Roseland, Ryerson, Shurtleff, Springer, Sulzer Street, Taylor and Wood- 
lawn schools, each $1,200 per annum for the first year of service as principals 
of schools in this group; $1,300 per annum for the second year of service, and 
$1 ,400 per annum for the third and subsequent years of service. The salaries 
of the principals of the George H. Thomas and Greenwood Avenue schools 
to commence January 1, 1891, on the salary of the third year of this group 
($1,400). The salary of the principal of the Roseland school to commence 
January 1, 1891, on the salary of the second year of this group ($1,300). 
Sixth Group. Principals of the Avondale, Park Side, Scanlan and Webster 
(S. C.) schools, each $1,050 for the first year of service as principals of schools 
in this group; $1,100 per annum for the second year of service, and $1,200 per 
annum for the third and subsequent years of service. The salary of the 
principal of the Park Side school to commence January 1, 1891, on the salary 
of the second year of this group ($1,100). 

Ungrouped Schools. Principal of Irving Park school, $1,800; principal 
of Oakland school, No 1, $1,800; principal of Tilton school, $1,800; principal 
of Washington Heights schools, $1,300 per annum. 

PRINCIPALS OF PRIMARY SCHOOLS. First Group. Principals of the 
Arnold, Cooper, Foster, Healy, Hoffman Avenue, Jefferson, Longfellow, 
Manierre, Montefiore, Motley, Mulligan, Oak Street, Polk Street, Rogers, 
Talcott, Washburne and Wicker Park Schools, each $1,400 per annum for the 
first year of service as Principals of Schools in this group; $1,450 per annum 
for the second year of service; and $1,500 per annum for the third year of 
service; and $1,600 per annum for the fourth and subsequent years of service. 
Second Group. Principals of the Brenan, Grant Langland, McAllister, Pear- 
son Street, Pickard, Vedder Street and Ward Schools, each $1,400 per annum 
for the first year of service as Principals of Schools in this group; $1,460 per 
annum for the second year of service; and $1,500 per annum for the third and 
subsequent years of service. Third Group. Principals of the Boulevard, 
Calumet Avenue, Columbus, Horace Mann, Huron Street, Kinzie, Kosciusko 
and Sheldon Schools, each $1,250 per annum for the first year of service as 
Principals of Schools in this group; and $1,350 per annum for the second and 
subsequent years of service. Fourth Group. Principals of the Hedged, Ken- 
wood, South Halsted Street and Wolcott Street Schools, each $1,100 per an- 
num. Fifth Group. Principals of the Andersenville, Blue Island Avenue, 
Bowrnanville, Buckley, Burnside, Garfield (Lake), Hoerner, J, L. Marsh, J. 
N. Thorp, Jefferson Park, Lake View No. 5, Oak Ridge, Park Manor, River- 
dale, Rose Hill and West Roseland Schools, each $1,050 per annum. ASSIST- 
ANTS TO PRINCIPALS. Assistants to Principals, each $1,100 per annum. HEAD 
ASSISTANTS. Grammar Schools. Who have served less than five years in such 
capacity, each $900 per annum; who have served between five and ten years 
in such capacity, each $950 per annum; who have served ten years or over 
in such capacity, each $1,000 per annum. Primary Schools. Who have 
served less than five years in such capacity, each $850 per annum; who have 
served between five and ten years in such capacity, each $900 per annum; 
who have served over ten years iu such capacity, each $950 per annum. 

SALARIES OF MALE ASSIST ANT TEACHERS. Andrew Wilson, Andrew Engel, 
Burnjde School, each, $750; Michael M.Byrne, Richard H. Stryker, Martin G,- 



98 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

Henchy, Glaus H. Claussen, Doran School, each, $800; Robert H. Rennie, 
Augustus Haley, Andrew B. Combs, John C. Pickens, Harvaid School, each, 
$800; David L. Murray, D. S. Wenthworth School, $1,000; George W. 
Miller, Irving Park School, $800; Fred. W. Kingsley, William J. Tinen, 
Irving Park School, each $775; Joseph Barnabee, Cummings school, $800; 
Richard J. Bicktrdike, Avondale school, $800 per annum. ASSISTANT 
TEACHERS IN PRIMARY GRADES. For the first year of service, $400; for the 
second year of service, $475; for the third year of service, $575; for the fourth 
year of service, $650; for the fifth year of service, $700; for the sixth and 
subsequent years of service, $775 per annum. ASSISTANT TEACHERS IN GRAM- 
MAR GRADES. For the first year of service, $450; for the second year of ser- 
vice, $525; for the third year of service, $600; for the fourth year of service, 
$650; for the f ft i year of service, $700; for the sixth and subsequent years of 
service, $775 i er annum. Second Teachers in Half-Day Division to receive 
$50 per annum less than the rates paid Assistants in Primary Grades. Three 
Reserve Teachers at a salary of $700 each per annum. All changes in salary 
to take place at the commencement of the school month succeeding the expira- 
tion of the year's service. SUBSTITUTES. Four Substitutes to be employed at 
the discretion of the Superintendent, at a compensation of $4.00 each for each 
day of actual service. Other Substitutes to be paid at the rate of $1.50 per 
day for each day of actual service. CADETS. All candidates for positions as 
Teachers, who hold partial certificates of qualifications to teach in the Chi- 
cago Public Schools, issued by the Board of Education, who have been in 
regular service in the Schools for two mouths aa Cadets, and who have shown 
such proficiency as to satisfy the Superintendent that they are desirable as 
Teachers, shall, upon his recommendation, receive a compensation of 75 cents 
per day, for each day of actual service in such capacity. After a service of 
six months as Cadets, they shall receive a compensation of $1.25 per day. 

Estimate of Expenditures for 1892. The estimated expenditures of the 
Board of Education for the year 1892 aggregate $5,996,084, as f ollov s: For 
s ilaries of superintendent and teacbeis in the primary and grammar grades, 
exclusive of teachers of special studies, on basis of salaries of 1891, $2,230,- 
825; less estimated revenue of school fund ($480,000), $1,750,325; tuition of 
pupils at Cook County Normal School, $7,500; evening schools, $110,000; 
school libraries, $2,500; supplementary reading, $20,000; rebinding books, 
$1,000; text books for indigent pupils, $5,000; maps, charts, globes, etc., 
$2,500; payments toward pianos, $1,500; Expenses Columbian Exprsition, 
$10,000; sundries, $750; salaries, office employees, attorney, and school 
agent, $45,000; salaries, engineers and janitors, $255,000; school supplies, 
chalk, etc., $50,000; school-house supplies, $15,000; fuel, $110,000; printing 
proceedings, etc., $12,000; supplies for sewing for 40,000 pupils, $5,000; 
material for manual training, $1,500; school sites, $200,000; new buildings, 
$1,765, 000; permanent improvements, $100,000; general repairs, $200, 000; beat- 
ing apparatus, $100,000; apparatusand furniture, $50, 000; rentals of branches, 
$45, 000;special assessments, $40, 000; incidentals, $45, 000; leeal expenses, $250; 
support of high schools other than manual training, $272.500; support of 
English high and manual training, $50,000; drawing salaries and supplies, 
$35,000; music salaries and supplies, $30,000; German salaries and sup- 
plies, $170,000; physical culture, $28,OrO; compulsory education, $25,000; 
school census, $15,000; due contracts, less balance of appropriation '91, $145,- 
036 $165616; payment of bonds, interest, and orders, $80,500 Total, 
$5,821,441. Loss in collection and costs, $174,413, Total estimate, '92, 
$5,996,084. 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 99 

PUBLIC LIBRARY. 

Occupies entire fourth floor of the City Hall (excepting council chamber). 
Was founded in 1872. The library contained on January 1st, Id92, 171,709 
volumes, and the collection is increasing by purchase and donation at the 
rate of somewhat over 10,000 volunms annually. Its literary treasures, many 
of which can not be duplicated at any cost, are at the lowest estimate valued 
at $275,000. With an annual circulation and consultation of over 1,500,000 
volumes, it leads the circulation of the free public libraries of the country. 
At the Paris Exposition of 1889 it received the distinguished honor of an 
award of a gold medal, on an exhibit consisting of the annual report, finding 
liats and a volume showing in detail the administration of the library in every 
department. A readjjag-room is maintained, which last year was patronized 
by 500,000 visitor, 450,000 periodicals being given out across the counter. 
There are also reference departments, including general, patent and medical, 
which are consulted by thousands of people in search of special knowledge, 
annually. 

A Cosmopolitan Collection, There is not a more cosmopolitan place in 
the city thuu the library rooms. It is a place where the people of all nations 
from a wide circuit around come for their reading matter. The library iscom- 
posed of books in all languages, selected with the greatest care. Naturally, the 
English tongue predominates, but every foreign and classic language is well 
represented on its shelves. As a result, the library assumes a cosmopolitan 
phase, because it is so extensively patronized by the people of so many dif- 
ferent nationalities. The method of securing new books is simple. The 
librarian really does the selecting. The lists prepared by him are placed in 
the hands of a proper committee, who either indorse or modify thelibrarian's 
choice, and the amended list is finally voted upon by the board. That the 
majority of the reading public who look to the library rely greatly upon it, 
is proven by the many applications made daily for the new books they have 
heard about or read about in the newspapers. The fact also proves that this 
city is the home of intelligent, wide-awake people, who wish to keep abreast 
of contemporaneous thought and literature. 

Administration and Cost of Maintenance. The Board of Directors con- 
sists of nine members, of which three are appointed annually for a term of 
three years. The Secretary of the Board is W. B. Wickersham. Frederick 
H. Hild, the librarian, has three assistants, namely, E. F. L. Gauss, first 
assistant, Elizabeth A Young and KateM. Henneberry. There are forty -three 
atttendents regularly employed in the day service of the library, and twelve 
in the evening service. With five janitors, one night watchman, one electric- 
ian, one expressman, the total number of persons in the employ of the Library 
is ninety. The amount expended for salaries last fiscal year was $51,440.54, 
which included $2,787 paid for the transportation of books to and from the 
delivery stations. t ,The total cost for the maintenance of the library for the year 
was $102,869.19. The estimated expenses of the Library for 1892 are as fol- 
lows : Salaries, $57,000; books, $16,000; binding, $7,000; heating and light- 
ing, $5,000 ; delivery stations, $12,000 ; newspapers and periodicals, $4,000 ; 
printing and stationery, $2,000; finding lists, $1,000; incidentals, $2,51)0; 
furniture and fixtures, $2,500 ; rent of reading-rooms, $3,000. In addition 



100 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

to these suras, there is a tix levy of $400,000 for building purposes, being the 
second of a series of annual levies covering a period of five years. 

Branch Delivery Stations. The most notable feature of the development 
of the library during the year has been the establishment of four branch 
reading-rooms. The first of these was opened in December and the other 
three at short intervals since that time. A fifth room will be ready durirfg 
the present month. The location of these rooms and the average attendance 
and number of periodicals issued is as follows : 

Monthly. Sun- 
average il'iy 
periodicals attend- 
Vixitors. issued. anee. 

No. 1. No. 12<)4 Milwaukee avenue 4.719 4.973 210 

No. 2. No. 625 Forty-third street 1,840 3,433 145 

No. 3. No. 341 Clybourn avenue 1,715 -a,^C 173 

No. 4. No. 164 Fifty -third street 1,708 .... 30 

The estimated annual cost of maintenance of these rooms is $2,500 each, 
which includes rent, service, light and heat, cost of periodicals and janitor 
service. The rooms are open daily to the public from 9 A. M. to 10 P. M., 
and Sunday from 10 A. M. to 10 p. M. 

There are now employed in the service of (he library eighty-nine persons. 
The amount expended for salaries was $51,440.54. There were sent to the 
five binderies, with which the library had contracts, 15,190 volumes, and 
there were repaired in the library 14,875 volumes. The amount expended for 
binding was $6,786.41. The annual inventory shows 134 volumes unaccoun- 
ted for. Of the 135 books reported missing last year 26 have since been found. 

Character of Books. A classified analysis of the entire number of volumes 
in the library shows that English prose fiction leads in popularity, there 
being 27,570 volumes in that department alone. In tlie department of Ger- 
man literature are found 18,057 volumes. French literature follows with 
8,225 volumes. Some general idea of the character of the entire collection 
may be formed from the fact that among the classes well represented are 
those of history; biography; travels; poetry and drama; essays and miscel- 
lanies; polygraphy and collected works; fine arts; natural sciences; practical 
arts (including patents); political and social science; language and literature; 
mental and moral science; ancient classics; religion; medicine; law; period- 
icals and newspapers; Government documents and State papers; bibliography; 
dictionries and encyclopedias; English prose fiction; juvenile literature; Ger- 
man, French, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Dutch, Bohemian .Polish, Russian 
and Scandinavian literature. The largest number of books issued on any 
one day in 1890 was 5,272, on February 24th. On the same day there were 
used in the other departments 1,799 volumes, making a total of 7,071 vol- 
umes, which is the largest circulation reported for any one day in the history 
of the Library. 

Delivery Stations. The number of delivery stations was increased by 
seven during the la^t year, making a total of twenty-four stations now in oper- 
ation. Of these six are located in the North Division, six in the South 
Division, and twelve in the West Division. There were issued from these 
stations 294,880 volumes, an increase of 94,623 over the number reported for 
the preceding year. Four wagons are required to transport the books for the 
delivery stations to and from the main library, and two daily deliveries are 
made to each of the stations except the Irving Park and Ravenswood sta- 
tions. 




[Engraved for The Standard Guide Company.] 

PULLMAN BUILDING, MICHIGAN AVE. AND ADAMS ST. 

[See " Great Industries."] 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 101 

Circulation of Books. The aggregate circulation of books in all depart- 
ments of the library compared with the circulation of the preceding year 
was as follows: 





1891, 


1890. 


Home circulation (main library) 


(543,022 


640,378 


Home circulation (delivery stations) 


294,880 


5Jol,267 


Issued to public schools . . 


3746 


2 336 


Keterence department 


327,616 


331,81,* 


Medical department (closed July, 1 90) 


1 176 


26,376 


Patent department 


19,477 


18,319 








Total 


1 290 614 


1 220 479 









The Circulating Department was open for the delivery of books 308 days, 
The daily average number of books issued for home use was 8.095, against 
2,749 for the preceding year. The largest number issued on anyone day was 
5,291, February 24;the smallest number 1,727, July li. The amount received 
for fines on delinquent books was $5,350.88, or $497.13 more than was 
received from this source last year. 

Condition of the Library in 1892. At the last annual meeting of the 
Directors of the Public Library, Chairman Shortall submitted a report, the 
substance of which is as follows: The number of volumes added during the 
year is 20,078, making a total of 166,475 volumes, with a total circulation of 
1,290, 514, 942,248 volumes of which were taken upon cards for home use. 
The number of visitors to the reading room was 492,837, and of those to the 
several reference departments, not including the reading room, 105,606. The 
decrease, some 8,000 from the figures of last year in the reference departments, 
is attributed to the opening of reading rooms at branch stations, and to the 
discontinuance of the medical department, the contents of which latter were 
handed over to the Newberry Library at ils request and at that of the 
original donors, with our own concurrence, and with a view of making the 
same as perfect as might be practicable the Newberry desiring to make such 
a medical department one of its specialties. 

Since our last communication we have under your direction taken pos- 
session of Dearborn Park for our new building, having secured the consent of 
every owner of the abutting property save one. this one having promised to 
sign when all others had done so. His consent will doubtless be added later. 
A settlement has been arrived at between this board and the Soldiers' Home 
(to which latter was granted by the Legislature the north quarter of this plot 
of ground) upon a satisfactory basis; the soldiers and sailors of the late Civil 
War to use and occupy as a memorial hall and for other purposes of their 
organization for fifty years, a portion of the building to be erected, with a 
reversion thereof to the library the library also having a certain use of the 
Memorial Hall. 

The Building committe of the library has begun the planning of the inte- 
rior of the new building, having called to its aid most competent professional 
assistance, and has completed the chief part of that work the basement and 
first and second stories and most satisfactory. It is designed to construct 
the exterior of the building so that it shall be an honor to the city, ethically 
as well as architecturally, without profusion or meaningless ornament on the 
one hand, or commonplace simplicity upon the other, but aiming to convey, 
exteriorly, that idea of dignity and repose that should mark its use and com- 
pleteness. 



102 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

We gladly refer to the bequests of our late fellow-citizens, the Rev. William 
H. Ryder and Hiram Kelly. Mr. Ryder's bequest, amounting to $10,000, has 
been carefully invested for the library's use, and according to its terms; the 
bequest of Mr. Kelly will exceed the sum of $125,000, as appears by the 
report of our committee, which is also appended hereto, of date April IBlh 
last. It is intended that some special commemoration of those public-spirited 
gentlemen may be devised and their names and generosity permanently hon- 
ored within the new building when erected. 

We are now entering upon a most important step in the life of this 
"University of the People," the erection of its own home, a permanent house 
to hold its treasures; the fruition of a hope that has animated us so many 
years. In this we have before the failurc-s as well as the successes of many 
others. * We intend, in its construction, firstly, that it shall inwardly subserve 
its purpose as perfectly as human skill and foresight can design it, and. sec- 
ondly, that it shall express outwardly such true architectural skill and good 
taste that it shall stand forever a source of just pride to those State, city, 
and indvidual who have had the honor of assisting in its erection, and an 
example to all of the value of a discriminating, unselfish, and patriotic 
devotion to the public good. 

Librarian. The Librarian of the Chicago Public Library is Mr. Freder- 
ick II. Hild. He may be addressed directly at the Library. The Secretary 
is W. B. Wickersham. 

New Library Building. The block of ground formerly known as Dear- 
born Park, is reserved by the City of Chicago for a great Public Librarj 
Building, the construction of which will shortly be begun by the laying of 
the corner-stone some time in the spring, the competing plans for the proposed 
building being now before the board. 

Number of Volumes. The total number of volumes ?'n the library May 31, 
1891, was 166,475, a net increase of 10,232 volumes over the number reported 
last year, which was 156,243. The total number of volumes entered in the 
accession catalogue during the last year was 20,078, a larger number than 
has been added during anyone year since 1875. From this number were 
deducted the following items: Wornout books, 4,156; books lost and paid 
for, 268; transferred to the Newberry Library, 5,283 volumes of medical and 
musical books; books unaccounted for in the annual inventory of 1889, 108; ^ 
books not recovered from delinquent borrowers in 1890, 31 volumes. Of . 
the 20,078 volumes added 16,296 were bought, 1,175 were donated, 663 were 
bound periodicals received from the reading room, and 1,944 were acquired 
from the Hyde Park Lyceum. The amount expended for books was $17- 
669.22. 

Percentage of Circulation. The percentage of circulation for home use in 
each of the seven classes, compared with the reports for 1889 and 1890, is as 
follows : 

1891. 18SO. 1889. 

History and Biography 10.32 9.70 9.54 

Voyages and travels 5.10 4.63 4.56 

Science and arts 6.24 6.15 6/0 

Poetry and drama "" 3.73 3.12 3.82 

Eng Lsh prose fiction and juveniles 62.36 61.77 

Rooks in foreign languages 10.16 11.75 11.25 

Miscellaneous 2.10 2.53 2.86 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 103 

Reference Department. In the Reference Department 326,619 volumes 
were issued to 9^,964 readers, a slight decrease from the number reported 
last year. The classification of the books consulted is as follows : Arts and 
sciences, 16.24 per cent. ; history and biography, 16.49 percent.; periodicals 
(bound volumes), 17.08 per cent.; geography and travels, 9.70 per cent.; 
language and literature, 9.26 per cent. ; encyclopedias, 5.27 per cent. ; atlases 
and statistics 2.23 percent.; public documents, 2.44 per cent.; bibliography, 
2.58 per cent.; miscellaneous, 18.71 per cent. 

Two- Year Cards. The number of persons holding two -year cards which 
entitle them to draw books from the library for home usehas increased from 
36,478 to 43,749 during the last year. The entire registration for the year 
was 23,815. The number of cards issued to males was 13.357, to females 
10,458. Under the new regulation permitting persons to obtain cards at the 
delivery stations without calling at the main library 6,839 cards were issued. 
The greater number of these were taken by persons who had never before 
enjoyed the benefits of the library. 

Visitors During 1891. The whole number of visitors to the reading-room 
was 492,837, to whom 438,243 periodicals were issued, an increase of 56,425 in 
the number of readers and of 49,051 inthe number of periodicals issued over 
the report of the preceding year. The average Sunday attendance was 738. 
The number of serials on file was increased from 587 to 662 during the last 
year. Of these 46S are classified as periodicals, 69 daily newspapers, and 125 
weekly and special newspapers ; 348 are American publications, 129 English, 
86 German, 20 French, 42 Scandinavian, and 37 in other languages. The 
amount expended for periodicals and newspapers was $2,966.95. 

REAL ESTATE AND BUILDING. 

Building operations for 1891. The building operations in Chicago during 
1891 just closed were by far the largest ever experienced in the history of the 
city. In round numbers the amount of building done in this city during the 
year aggregated $55,000,000. For the year 1890 the total amount of building 
was $47,373,209 and $31,516,000 for 1889. The total number of permits 
issued during the last year was $11,476, against 11,044 in 1890 and 
7,590 in 1889. The combined frontage of these permits represents 
280,614 feet, or about fifty-three miles of building frontage. As usual, the 
South Division, which includes the business district, shows the largest aggre- 
gratecost, $19,943,800, as against $15,577,500 for the year 1890. In Hyde 
Park the number of permits issued was 1,990, against 2,044 in 1890. The cost, 
however, shows a decided increase $8,505,200, against $6,617,400 in 1890. 
The Western division comes to the front with a total of 3,572 build- 
ing permits issued, an increase of 565 over 1890, with a combined front- 
age of 93,020 feet, and an aggregate cost of $13,360,570. There were 
1,398 permits issued for Lake View, to cost $2,850,600, and 2,931 in the 
town of Lake, to cost $5,625,600. The building of the Newberry library 
swelled the total for the North side. In that division of the city 529 permits 
were issued, whose cost aggregates $4,816,000, as against $3,685,000 in the 



104 



GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 



preceding year. It is predicted on all sides that the building operations dur- 
ing 1892 will be as far ahead of 1891 as that year was ahead of 1890. 

The following indicates the great building activity of 1891 as shown by the 
building permits. The totals given for the years including 1881 and 1890 are 
from the official figures of the Building Commissioner. His estimate is taken 
in part for the year 1891. 

Building, Comparative -The total for last year is far in advance of any 
preceding year, and represents the estimated outlay for the construction of 
1 1 500 buildings, covering a frontage of over fifty-one miles. The total 
amounts of building permits for each of eleven years are given as follows: 

1881 $13,467,000 1887 19,778,000 

1883 , 15,842,000 1888 20,3W,000 

1883 17,500,000 1889 25,085000 

1884 20,689,000 1890 47,422,000 

1885 19,624,000 1891 66,360,000 

1886 21,334,000 

New buildings erected ; 11,28 

Feet frontage 281,654 

Total cost $54,010,500 

Total number of buildings erected since 1876 67,8t> 

cost ' $309,309,379 

" frontage ' 286 miles. 

Building Permits for 1891. Building during 1891 showed an expected 
increase. The totals inside the city limits revealed the issuance of 11,582 per- 
mits, for 281,654 feet, or about 53 miles of frontage, at a cost of $54,010,- 
500. The character of the buildings erected was far in advance of any year 
in the history of the city. Many of the structures are the most magnificent 
on earth. The following comparative table shows the building permits issued 
in 1890 and 1891. 







1890. 






1891. 




Months. 


No. of 
permits 


Feet 
frontage . 


Cost. 


No. of 
permits. 


t - Feet 
ontage. 


Cost. 




576 


13,556 


$1,320,000 


759 


17,133 


$1 887300 




865 


19,800 


2,226,000 


1,070 


25,786 


2 881 700 




1,329 


29,695 


3,857,600 


960 


24,299 


4 5PO 7( 


April 


964 


20,500 


2,767,000 


1,035 


24,386 


4,070 100 


May . ." 


1,854 


24,840 


3,388,000 


1,100 


27,481 


4 671 800 




1,064 


21,500 


7,899,900 


1,122 


30,120 


4 786 000 


July 


1,047 


24,570 


4,789,600 


1,097 


25,147 


4,782,500 




1,038 


24,750 


6,737,000 


1,035 


24,954 


3 711 700 


September 


1,015 


23,442 


.,676,00') 


1,102 


24,937 


4,324 900 




1,188 


28,890 


4,832.000 


1,137 


27,008 


6 611 000 


November 


824 


16,790 


2,169,700 


759 


18,421 


8,702 700 




588 


12,579 


3,725, 300 


450 


12,000 


3 700000 
















Total 


11,583 


260,919 


47,390.000 


11,626 


281,654 


54,010,500 

















CHICAGO AS IT IS. 



105 



Real Estate Transfers. The following is the total number and amount of 
real estate transfers within the city limits having a consideration of $1,000 
and upward which were filed for record during the year ended Thursday, 
December 31, 1891: 



MONTH. 


SALES. 


CONSIDERATION. 


January 


2,007 


$12,387 988 


February 


1,589 


10,695 707 


March 


1,8J4 


12,065 120 


April 


2 053 


13,623 598 


May... 


2,< 76 


16,448*826 


June 


1,996 


13, J56 130 


July . . 


3,77-J 


1 1,754 014 


August 


1,444 


9,093 528 


September 


163 


11,383 472 


October . 


1,6 


9,9^1 056 


November 


1,476 


10.115,088 


December .... 


1.280 


9,794 319 








Total for the year 1891 


20,800 


140,338,847 


Total for the year 1890 , 


22,804 


174,172,769 









The growth of Chicago during the last year is something marvellous, as 
is best illustrated by the fact that rents advanced and all classes of residence 
and flats are occupied. Notwithstanding the great number of dwelling houses, 
apartment and office buildings erected during the year, vacant dwellings and 
flats are very scarce and new buildings are being occupied as fast as they are 
finished. 

Another feature of the market during the year 1891 is the enormous 
growth of Chicago as a manufacturing center. Manufacturers from all 
parts of the country have located in Chicago, and many more are contem- 
plating a removal to this city, which additions are bound to make it the larg- 
est manufacturing center in the country. The importance of this feature for 
the permanent benefit and growth of Chicago can hardly be overestimated. 

Building Operations Since lS76:rom 1876 to 1889 there were erected 
in the city 37,042 buildings, covering a frontage of 172 miles, costing $176,- 
460,779, being an average of 3,087 per year for twelve years, an average of 
14% milesof frontage, and an average cost of $14 705,065. The least number 
of buildings erected in any one year was in 1878, with a frontage of about 
six miles. The least expenditure was in 1879. The largest tiansaction for 
same period was in 1888 number of buildings 4,958, 22 miles frontage, 
expenditure $20,360,800. During 1889 the number of buildings erected was 
7,590, covering over 34 miles of street frontage and costing $31,516,000. 
The buildings erected in 1890 covered a frontage of 50% miles. In the 
South Division 1,120 buildings were erected, having a frontage of 29,594 
feet, and at a cost of $15,400,800; in the North Division 503 buildings, with a 
frontage of 14,055 feet, costing $3,681,200; in the West Division 8,994, with 
a frontage of 91,336 feet, costing $13.687,600. In Hyde park 2,052 buildings 
were erected with a frontage of 44,481 feet, costing $6,624,300. In Lake 
2,889 were erected, with a frontage of 63,297 feet, costing $5,578,100. Lake 



106 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

View added 1,051, with a frontage of 23,518 feet, costing $2,350,100. The 
total building transactions of Chicago in 1890 were as follows: 

New bindings erected 11,636 

Feet frontage 281,654 

Total cost $54,010,5(10 

Total number of buildings erected since 1876 67,868 

" cost " " $309,309,379 

frontage ' " 5 X86 milep. 

Some of the Great Buildings of 1891. The Economist ,in its annual edition, 
gave the following : 

One fifth of the total cost for the year is composed of 22 massive struct- 
ures, chiefly office buildings, the majority of which are well under way and 
nearing completion, while six for which permits were issued during the agi- 
tation of the subject of limiting the height of buildings will not 
be constructed for some time, possibly years. The large buildings now in 
process of construction are as follows: The Unity at a cost of $750,000 ; 
Cook County Abstract and Trust Company, $600,000 ; Ashland block, $600,- 
000 ; German Opeia House, $600,000 ; the Newberry Library, $500,000 ; the 
Mecca apartment house, $600,000 ; the Venetian, $300,000 ; Hopson's Hotel, 
$250,000 ; J. W.Ellsworth's office building at 353 and 359 Dearborn street, 
$250,000 ; Chicago Athletic Association's -Club House, $200,000 ; John M. 
Smyth's mercantile building, "$200,000 ; American Express Company's Stables 
at ISebor and Clinton streets, $200,000. The large buildings for which per- 
mits were issued, and on which work has not jet been commenced are as 
follows : The Marquette, on the site of the Honore block, $900,000 ; Hig- 
gins & Furber's, sixteen-story store and office building at the southeast corner 
of State and Washington streets, $800,000 ; D. E. Blodgett, a twelve-story 
office structure on the site of the Times building at Fifth avenue and Wash- 
ington street. $700,000 ; D. E. Bradley, a sixteen-story office structure on 
Quincy and Jackson streets, east of Dearborn, $600,000; Francis Barlett's 
sixteen story office building on the south side of Van Buren street, between 
Dearborn street and Plymouth place, $600,000 ; Brooks estate on Dearborn 
street, north of Van Buren, sixteen-story office building, $600,000 ; Byron L. 
Smith, sixteen story store and office building at the southwest corner of Mich- 
igan avenue and Washington street, $400,000 ; William A. Giles, twelve-story 
office building at the northeast corner of Jackson street and Fifth avenue, 
$400,000 ; the George A. Fuller Company, a fourteen-story mercantile build- 
ing at 147 and 153 Fifth avenue, $400,000 ; and Otto Young, sixteen-story 
store and office building at the northwest corner of State and Madison streets, 
$288.000; the total involving an expenditure of $10,738,000. 

Other notable buildings for which permits were issued during 1891, many 
of which are now completed, are as follows: The six-story store and apart- 
ment house being erected by St. Luke's Hospital at 1423 and 1429 Michigan 
avenue, at a cost of $140,000; estate of B. F.Tobin, six-story apartment house 
at the southeast corner of Cottage Grove avenue and Thirty third street, at a 
cost of $125,000; B. Philpot, four-story store and Hat buildings at the north- 
west corner of Michigan avenue and Thirteenth street, $100,000; A. Turner, 
a four story apartment house at Forty seventh street and Ellis avenue, $100,- 
000: John A. Lynch, a three-story residence and barn at 562 and 568 North 
State street, $100,000; J. W. Oakley, six story warehouse at 112 and 120 
Michigan street, $100,000; M. Krause, six-story warehouse at 158 to 168 West 
Randolph street, $100,000; Western Wheel Works, a five-story factory at 127 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 107 

and 139 Sigel street, $80,000; L. Wolff Manufacturing Company, to Deconstruct 
and add three stories to the building at 91 Dearborn street, $75,000; Frank 
Turner, five four story and basement store and flat buildings at 1254 and 1258 1 
North Clark street, $70,000; Taylor, Allen & Co., seven three-story houses at 
5026 and 5088 Washington avenue, $70,000; George Hankius, eight four-story 
flat buildings at the southeast corner of Twenty -sixth street and Indiana ave- 
nue, $75,000; A. L. Patterson, seven four-story store and flat buildings at 
Forty-third street and Evans avenue, $75,000; F. D. Clarke, ten-story apart- 
ment house at 333 and 335 Michigan avenue, $75,000; Einstein &Merritt, four- 
story store building at 201 and 207 State street, $70,000; the Citizen's Brewing 
Company, a six-story brew-house at 2754 and 8764 Archer avenue, $200,000; 
the Standard Brewing Company, an $80,000 plant at the southwest corner of 
Twelfth street and Campbell avenue; Peter Hand Brewing Company, a $60,- 
000 plant at 35 to 47 Sheffield avenue, while Brewer & Hoffman enlarged their 
plant to the extent of $50,000, and the Anheuser-Busch Company, of St. 
Louis, built a supply depot at a cost of $50,000. 

The city erected twenty-two school buildings, at an average cost of $70,- 
000, making a total of $1,540,000. The buildings are mostly three stories 
high and contain sixteen rooms, each with a capacity for about sixty pupils. 
They are constructed of brick, stone and terra cotta, the interiors being nicely 
finished and heated by steam. 

SHIP. AND DRAINAGE CANAL. 

The question of drainage is one that has received the most earnest atten- 
tion of the people of Chicago during recent years. It involves so much of 
momentous importance that the State of Illinois has placed it in the hands of 
a Drainage Commission, with powers equal to those exercised by the county 
or municipal governments. These powers embrace the borrowing of an enor- 
mous amount of mouey upon the credit of the people owning property in the 
districts to be affected by the carrying out of the scheme, the condemnation 
of Und, the digging of canals, the construction of dams, dykes, docks, etc., 
etc., and the general management of the drainage system of the district known 
as the Desplaines Water Shed. It would require a volume in itself to give a 
proper review of the drainage questioe. The chief features only can be 
treated of here: 

Changing the Water Flow. In the remote past the overflow of the waters 
of Lake Superior and Lake Michigan ran through the Mississippi south to the 
Gulf of Mexico, instead of as now northeast through the Gulf of St. Law- 
rence to the Atlantic. At the same time Lake Erie was emptying into the 
Atlantic through Lake Ontario and the St. Lawrence; not by the Niagara, but 
by the Dundas valley, a channel not far from the line of the present Welland 
canal. Then, at some epoch unknown and for some cause unguessed, the 
Detroit strait and the Niagara strait were opened, Lake Michigan slowly fell 
about thirty feet, and its outlet (now "the Divide, "at Summit, close to nity 
limits, twelve miles southwest of the Court-house) gradually filled up wUh 



108 



GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 




THE SANITARY DRAINAGE DISTRICT. 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 109 

mixed deposit; so that to-day the dry bed of "Mud Lake " ia the sole remain- 
ing representative of the once great southward waterway. Within a few 
years, long before the close of the nineteenth century, the old order of things 
must be re-established and mighty Michigan once more find its waters flowing 
southward. The hand of man will compel it again to turn in its bed, and lie 
with its head to the north aud its foot to the south as of old. The canal which 
is to be built as an outlet will carry a stream of water 160 feet wide, 18 feet deep, 
flowing 2 J miles an hour. Through this canal the largest steamers might float, 
but it is not intended that passage through shall be provided for them, because 
the locks by which they would have to descend (151| feet) to reach the Illi- 
nois river are too small and the river itself is far too shallow for their accom- 
modation. Some Mississippi boats can come to us, but our stately ships can 
not go to them. Each must break bulk in Chicago. Also an important 
consideration light draft gunboats may pass and repass freely between the 
great lakes and the great river. As we stand now, any nation having control 
of the St. Lawrence and the Welland canal has at least the highway necessary 
to command Lakes Erie, St. Clair, Huron and Michigan with all that lies on 
their shores. 

Cost of the Undertaking. To accomplish the ends desired will cost the 
Sanitary District (practically the city of Chicago) about $20,000,000. 

Disposing of Chicago Sewage. Theone great object of this ship canal, how- 
ever, is to dispose of Chicago sewage. When the population was small, the 
city was drained by the Chicago river and the lake. Years ago it became 
apparent that a change would have to be made in this respect. The course 
of the Chicago river is naturally into Lake Michigan, but pumping works 
were erected at Bridgeport, in the southwestern part of the city, which lift an 
average of 40,000 cubic feet per minute into the Illinois and Michigan Canal, 
causing, under ordinary conditions, a perceptible current away from the lake. 
The water thus pumped into the canal flows south to the Illinois river and 
thence to the Mississippi. Pumping works at Fullerton avenue, on the north 
branchof the Chicago river, force water from the lake into thatstream, diluting 
its contents, and furnishing the head needed for a flow toward the Bridgeport 
pumps. This means of disposing of the city's sewage is wholly inadequate 
to its needs, and the pollution of the water supply of the city is constantly 
menaced. Measures have therefore been taken to construct a large gravity 
channel as an outlet for the sewage of Chicago into the Illinois river. The 
Chicago Sanitary District has been formed by act of Legislature of the State 
of Illinois; nine trustees have been elected to supervise the construction of a 
channel; a corps of engineers has been set at work making preliminary sur- 
veys, and plans are being perfected for a channel which will answer the 
double purpose of disposing of the city's sewage and establishing a naviga- 
ble waterway for the interchange of commerce between Lake Michigan and 
the Mississippi river. 

Route of the Ship Canal. A trip over the route of the great ship and drain- 
age canal will be interesting and iastructive to visitors who are of an inquir- 
ing or of a scientific turn of mind. Starting from Bridgeport, where is located 
the present pumping works (Ashland and Archer avenues), whose ponderous 
engines are laboriously lifting, every minute, 60,000 cubic feet of the slimy, 
filthy water of the river, at a cost of $1,000 per week, we strike right across 
the country to Summit. Here we come to the bank of the ' ' Ogden-Went- 
worth ditch," well known by name to very many and by face to very few. 



110 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

Sometimes it has been a great, moving flood, bringing Desplaines water in 
to work harm to all the low-lying partsof Southwestern Chicago. Now it is a 
huge gutter, dry, except for a sluggish rivulet trickling along its middle. 
Its purpose was to drain Mud Lake, and by its aid that long, narrow basin is 
now and has been for many years dry land at least land dry enough for 
agriculture, and to some extent for humble habitation by theunexacting poor. 
Its course presents few attractions none, unless the great Chicago Bride- 
well be called attractive, which it is not, usually rather to be avoided if con- 
venient. 

Eight miles out, at the head of the ditch, is the " Ogden Dam,'' another 
entity whereof many know the name who would not recognize the aspect if 
they met it in their morning walks. It is a plank wall perhaps twelve feet 
high on an average, running less than 100 feet northerly and southerly, bar- 
ring the eastward flow of the Deeplaines river, save when spring floods over- 
top it, Mud Lake becomes once more a lake, and its waters flow with great 
speed and volume unchecked toward the city, where they enter the South 
Branch and drive its foul winter accumulations out into the lake our drink- 
ing fountain. 

So we have reached the famous "Divide." This is" Summit." Before 
us is the Desplaines, flowing toward the warm, torrid Gulf of Mexico; bebind 
us the waters that are destined to the Gulf of St. Lawrence by icy, stormy 
Labrador. We have come eight miles fr m Bridgeport, and all the way on 
our left we have passed the present canal, its course marked by the long high 
pile ol rocks excavated from its bed. Just beyond the canal is the Chicago 
& Alton railroad, which closely follows its course nearly all the way to Joliet, 
and just this side of it the Chicago and Santa Fe, which crosses the ditch east 
of the dam. 

It happens quite by accident that the first stretch of the Ogden Ditch 
points directly toward the Auditorium tower, and, as we look back along its 
course, that square structure is perfectly visible with a glass may be faintly 
descried with the naked eye in favorable states of the atmosphere, looming 
In the little gap between the low shrubbery that has sprung up on either side 
of the watercourse. 

Turning our backsto Lake Michigan we see before us to the southwest the 
"twelve-mile level " of the Desplaines. At this dry time it is almost without 
current, and the landscape along its banks is as tame and featureless as 
can well be imagined. Even the canal itself has more fall here than the 
river, and its bed is some twelve feet lower than the surface of the stream. 
The rolling prairie near Summit changes to a wooded ridge coming in from 
the left as we near Willow Springs, a place attractive to festive picnickers 
brought out by the Alton and tlie Santa Fe railways, the former following 
the left bank and the latter the right. Following the tow path we come in 
sight of frequent piles of waste rock, showing that we are entering the great 
quarry district. The old canal (still some feet lower than the river) runs near 
a high wooded ridge that marks the southeasterly limit of the valley. At 
length this ridge begins to grow lower; we are approaching the "Sag" feeder 
which used tobring water from the Calumet river anddeliveritto the canal. 
Wearily we climb the hill, when, all at once, a strong, cool breeze greets the 
beaded brow, and lifting the eyes they are surprised with the sight of abroad 
green vale stretching eastward far below, bringing a silvery, winding stream 
and a refreshing breath of unmistakable Lnke Michigan air. Here is a ceme- 
tery and a Catholic priest in attendance. From him we learn : 



CHICAGO AS It IS. Ill 

' ' This is the Sag Bottoms before you. It is a low area of land running to 
Calumet Lake, some twenty-five miles away. The Indians who used to live 
here called the stream the Au-sag-nous-ki, the west grass valley. You see 
that winding stream? Well, that's the Sag feeder, the old Calumet Canal. 
Buck about '50 they used to run passenger-boats down the feeder. There 
wereu'tany railroads to speak of then. The feeder runs clear through from 
the Calumet river to Stony Creek, round Lane's Island (which isn't an island 
at all, but only high ground), and down through the bottoms into the Illinois 
and Michigan Canal just below here. That is the town of Sag over there." 

We descend and follow the feeder to its junction with the canal. Its 
water is low now, since the canal was deepened (1870), but there is still a cur- 
rent passing under the bridge of the railway, its successful and dominant 
rival. From Hastings to Lemont the canal presents a lively aspect. Quarry 
succeeds quarry in close succession. Each has its swinging cranes at work 
loading track-cars and canal-boats, and the canal is frequently bridged with 
"locomotive cranes "running on supporting trusses, and carry ing huge blocks 
of stone from the quarries to the mills to be sawed or planed into building 
blocks or flag-stones. In the quarries proper the scene is active and the sound 
continuous. Steam drills and channelers bore and carve the sandstone, and 
brawny arms raise and drop the heavy hand-drill. Here is a line of men 
sinking a series of wedge-holes into a stratum of the milk-white rock ; beyond 
is another line driving a row of wedges with fast-falling blows of the sledge- 
hammer. A sharp, cracking noise and the ;plit has run from hole to hole, 
and with a grinding sound a long, narrow strip of stone pushes out from its 
immemorial bed. "Do you see those men slinking off through the weeds on 
the hill ? They are getting out of the way of a blast." Sure enough, in a few 
seconds a sound of cannon-shot indicates that several blasts have been fired 
simultaneously by electricity. A mass of smoke rises, and as the cloud dis- 
perses it discloses a shower of fragments and falling stones. 

Below Lemont some extensive earth-moving, "scalping," is doing by 
steam shovels to s.trip the rock for quarrying. Though the Desplaines here is 
broad, shallow and sluggish, yet it has already fallen a good deal, for it is 
now about level with the canal or lower. These inexhaustible quarries of 
easily-worked stone are a great and ownly partly recognized factor in making 
Chicago what she is and what she will be. Timber to the north, coal to the 
south, a great lake to the northeast, a great river to the southwest, and a 
glorious country all around what more could be asked to build her up to be 
the metropolis of America? Nothing but something to build with. And she 
has it all. Lumber is her great staple. Brick, clay and building-sand are her 
very foundation, and a whole valley of kindly rock is at her very door. In 
truth Chicago is Nature's chosen tabernacle. Vain vain and foolish for us 
Chicagoans to fancy that we made our city, for it is Chicago which haa made 
us. From Lemont to Lockport the vallev widens, the bottoms forming level 
and open areas of prairie. At Lockport the river is some twenty-five feet 
lower than at Lemont. Lockport is a large and interesting manufacturing 
town, showing the effect of the water-power which even the old canal has 
furnished. Much surplus water is now wasting here; not because it is not 
valuable, but because it is the product of Vie increased action of the Bridge- 
port pumps, an increase which has accrued too lately to allow time to erect 
the mills which should be using the power. The flood forms a raging torrent 
forty feet wide, attractive to the eye, offensive to the nose. 

From Lockport to Joliet is eight miles, but the drainage canal, strictly 



112 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

speaking, ceases at Lockport, thirty-four miles below Chicago, where the 
river bed becomes low enough to care for the water. The canal is under way 
and will surely be completed within our own times. All craft short of our 
great lakers will use it. By water to the gulf and beyond will be part of our 
daily traffic. 

Note. -The canal and its route are almost as far from construction or 
determination at this writing as they were when the last edition of the Guide 
was given to the public. There is so much vagueness connected with the work 
of the commission and the engineers, and so much uncertainty as to plans, 
that the compiler does not feel justified in changing the foregoing matter' 
There is nothing better to substitute. 

WATER WORKS. 

The water works of Chicago are among the wonders of the city, not 
alone because of their magnitude, but because of the magnificent engineering 
features which they present to the intelligent or curious visitor. The great 
central pumping works of the system are as follows: Foot of Chicago avenue, 
North Side. Take North Clark street" cable or State street car to Chicago 
avenue, and walk east toward the lake. These works are at the Southern 
end of the Lake Shore drive and should be visited by all strangers. West 
Side works, corner of Blue Island avenue and Twenty -second street. Take 
Blue Island avenue car. Central pumping station, West Harrison street; 
between Desplaines and Halsted streets. Take Harrison street o-r South 
Halsted street cars. To visit the different " cribs " situated in Lake Michi- 
gan, during the summer months, take excursion boats on the lake shore, foot 
of Van Buren street. The fare for round trip is 25 cents. The area of Chi- 
cago is about 181 square miles, the greater part of which is thickly populated, 
requiring good facilities for an abundant supply of water. This is drawn 
from Lake Michigan by a number of separate water works, all of which are 
operated upon the same plan. Owing to the perfectly level plain upon which 
Chicago is built, there is no natural elevation available for the establishment 
of reservoirs. The water, when drawn from the lake, is pumped directly into 
the mains against a stand-pipe head of about 100 feet. 

Description of Water Works. The Water Works System may be intelli- 
gently described by confining ourselves to the principal Water Works, or 
those now in full operation. Two miles from the shore, in the lake, a substan- 
tial structure is located, which is popularly styled "the crib," within which 
is an iron cylinder 9 feet in diameter, extending down 31 feet below the bot- 
tom of the lake, and connecting with two distinct tunnels leading to separate 
pumping works on shore. Water is admitted into the crib from the surface 
of the lake, its flow being regulated by a gate. The tunnel first constructed 
is five feet in diameter, and commiraicates with the pumping works at the 
foot of Chicago ave., where there are four double and two single engines, 




[Engraved for The Standard Guide Company.] 

MASONIC TEMPLE, STATE AND RANDOLPH STS. 

[See "Guide."] 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 113 

which furnishes a daily average of 50,000,000 gallons under a head of 105.7 
feet. The second tunnel is seven feet in diameter, and extends under the lake 
and under the eity, a distance of six miles, to the pumping works on the 
West Side, in which there are four engines whose daily performance is about 
61,000,000 gallons under a head of 106 feet. A new central pumping station 
has recently been built on West Harrison St., between Desplaines and Halsted 
sts. , which is for the present obtaining its supply of water from the seven- 
foot tunnel just referred to. It is equipped with two triple expansion 
engines, built by the Edward P. Allis Company, of Milwaukee, each weigh- 
ing 440 tons, including pumps, and each calculated to deliver 15,000,000 gal- 
lons daily against ahead of 125 feet, with a steam pressure of 125 pounds. 
With a view to meeting the requirements in the near future of this rapidly 
growing city, a new lake tunnel is in course of construction. The in-take to 
this tunnel will be located four miles from shore, to avoid the pollution of 
the water supply from the drainage into the lake. The original plans con- 
templated an eight-foot tunnel, but difficulties were encountered in the 
nature of the soil which made it necessary to reduce the size, and two six- 
foot tunnels are now being driven. An intermediate crib has been built, two 
and one-half miles from shore, to enable the water supply from this source 
to be made available at an early day. The central pumping station at Harri- 
son st. will eventually draw its supply from this new tunnel, as will another 
pumping station now in course of erection on Fourteenth st. The latter sta- 
tion will be supplied with four triple expansion engines of the same pattern 
as those at the Harrison street station. 

Cost of Water Works. The total cost of the works constituting the 
Chicago Water system is as fojlows: 

Cost up to May 6, 1861, when the works were transferred from Board 

of Water Commissioners to the Board of Public works $1,020,160 21 

Expenditures since 1861. 

Cost of water pipe laid (including labor) $7,812,132 37 

Cost of North pumping works 918,57314 

Cost of West pumping works 896,849 37 

Cost of first lake tunnel 464,866 37 

Cost of second lake tunnel 415,709 36 

Cost of lake crib protection 149,431 63 

Cost of new lake tunnel 232,46619 

Cost of land tunnel to West pumping works 542,912 63 

Cost of new land tunnel 254,894 38 

Cost of lake tunnel crib 70,31910 

Cost of lake shore inlet 43,871 17 

Cost of new lake shore inlet 84,47417 

Cost of water worlds shop 25,551 73 

Cost of water works stock 29,318 00 

Cost of water reservoir fence v . . . 1,702 87 

Cost of addition to stable 1,01948 

Cost of real estate for sites of new pumping works 200,972 35 

Cost on account of Central pumping works 235,150 11 

Cost on account of South Side pumping works 141,743 46 

Cost on account of new lake crib 19'i,263 65 

Cost on account ot breakwater 28,181 93 



Total cost of the entire water works to December 31, 1889 $13,772,562 25 

Amounts expended in 1890 1,250,00000 

Total cost to December 31, 1890 $15,038,562 25 

Total Cost to Dec. 31, 1891 (estimated) 18,000,000 



114 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

New Water Tunnels. The new water tunnels will be completed long before 
the World's Columbian Exposition is held here. It is expected that the 
additional water supply will pas through these tunnels and be distributed in 
the city before the close of 1892. 

Source of Water Supply. The water supply of Chicago and her environs 
is taken from Lake Michigan, which is a part of the chain of lakes and rivers 
composing the basin of the St. Lawrence. To form some idea of this inex- 
haustible and magnificent reservoir of pure water, at the" very doors of her 
people, it is only necessary to give a few pertinent statistics. The chief 
geographer of the United States geological survey gives the following 
data: Area of basin of St. Lawrence, 457,000 square miles, of which 
330,000 belong to Canada, 127,000 to the United States. Lake Superior 
area, 31,200 square miles; length, 412 miles; minimum breadth, 167 
miles; maximum depth, 1,008 feet; altitude above sea level, 602 feet. 
Lake Huron area, 21,000 square miles; 263 miles long, 101 broad; maxi- 
mum depth, 702 feet, altitude, 581 feet. Lake St. Glair, 29 miles long; 
Lake Erie, area, 9,960 square miles; length, 250 miles; maximum breadth, 60 
miles; maximum depth, 210 feet; altitude, 573 feet, aud above Lake Ontario 
326 feet. Lake Ontario area, 7, 240 square miles; length, 190 miles; breadth, 
54 miles; maximum depth, 738 feet; altitude, 247 feet. Lake Michigan 
area, 22,450 square miles; maximum breadth, 84 miles; length, 345 miles, 
maximum depth, 870 feet; altitude, 581 feet. 

Temperature of Lake Water. The average temperature of the water in 
the lake, from observations taken at the crib during the year 1891, was: Jan- 
uary, 32.0; February, 32.0; March, 35. 4; April, 43.3; May, 51.9, June, 54.9; 
July, 6.5.9; August, 60.2; October, 50.6; November, 43.0; December, 37.5. 

Water Towers. For the benefit of those wlio do not understand the prin- 
ciples of water distribution in a great city, the following explanation is 
given : A tunnel from the crib in the lake is built on an iucline so that the 
water pours into a well under t<fe^vater works. In getting there it has been 
allowed to fall several feet bel^' the level of the lake. When the pumping 
Is light, of course the water rijts in the well to the level of its source the 
lake but in Chicago the demand is so strong that the pumps keep the water 
in the well several feet below that in the lake, raising the water from a dis- 
tance maybe sixteen feel below lake surface. After the pumps have thus 
raised the water their work is just begun. They must now force it out the 
mains and into the houses, just as an ordinary well pump, wiih the valve in 
the bottom of the well instead of up near the pump handle, brings the water 
to the pump spout. The use of the tower is now shown. Take away a sec- 
tion of the masonry and there remains an upright pipe: A description of the 
West Side water works tower will serve as an illustration. There the staiid- 
pipe is five feet in diameter and about 167 feet high. It is made of plate 
boiler iron about five-eighths of an inch thick, and looks like an ojdinaiy 
engine boiler, except in length. When the water passes the valve in the 
pump it passes through the main pipe close by the base of this tower, or may 
pass under the tower. An opening allows the water to run out of the pipe 
into the tower stand-pipe. At the West Side works there are four of these 
main pipes, all opening into the stand-pipe. Now comes the essential part, 
whrch is very simple, when understood. The pnmps are started, say at a 
pressure of forty pounds to the square inch of surface. The water is forced 
out along the mains, and through the opening into the tower stand-pipe. 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 115 

That will raise the water about two and one-third feet in the stand-pipe for 
each pound of pressure, which is about ninety-three feet for the forty 
pounds. The weight of the water in the p ; pe represents that power, and 
stands there as an elastic spring or cushion, rising and fa41ing, equalizing the 
pressure on the water faucets and pipes. If every one having faucets on the 
main should close them, the water pumped in the main would have an escape 
through this pipe, and the result can be imagined the pipe wouldn't hold it 
vary long if the pumps were not stopped. But there is an indicator, like the 
Iiands on the face of a clock, which shows just how much water is being 
drawn, or how much of the power is used, and the engineer regulates his 
pumping accordingly. After the above explanation it may be simply stated 
thnt the stand-pipe in the water tower furnishes an equalizer, so that when 
an engine is rv; ling at a given rate of speed or pressure, the turning on or 
off of a few more or less faucets by consumers may not seriously and too 
sudcki-ly effect the pressure and supply. 

V/ater Supply of the Environs. The water supply of the southern portion 
of the territory recently annexed to the city, and known as Hyde Park 
and Lake districts, is taken through a five-foot tunnel about 5,000 feet long, 
and is pumped by two 12,000, 000-horizontal and one 6,000,000 vertical Gaskill 
pumping engines, one horizontal 3,000,000 Knowles engine, two 3,000,000 
Cope & Maxwell engines and one of Henry R. Worthington'& horizontal high- 
duty pumping on Tines. This plant is located at the foot of Sixty-eighth 
street, near the bouth Shore station of the South Chicago branch of the 
Illinois Central railroad. The water supply of the northern portion of the 
annexed territory, known as the Lake View district, is taken through one 
twenty four-inch pipe and one eighteen-inch pipe, and is pumped by one 
horizontal 12,000,000 Gaskill engine, one horizontal 5,000,000 Worthington 
low-duty engine and a 3,000,000 Vergennes geared engine. A lake tunnel to 
supply the pumping engines for this district is now in course of construction. 
It will be six feet in diameter and two miles long. 

Suburban Water Supply. Nearly every suburban town, whether within the 
corporate limits or outside of them, has its own water works. A great many use 
the Artesian well system at first, but some, for various reasons, take their supply 
from the lake, the water of which answers all purposes of a domestic nature. 
Some of the suburbs have water works of considerable magnitude. Evanston, 
tor instance, has a system and machinery which a city of 50,000 inhabitants 
might be proud of. [See " Outlying Chicago."] 



PART III. 

THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 
AMUSEMENTS. 

The visitor, whoever he may be or wherever he may come from, will 
not lack for opportunities of enjoying himself to his heart's content in Chicago, 
no matter in what direction his taste may happen to lie. It is said by those 
who have made a study of the matter that there are more places of amuse- 
ment open in Chicago daily and nightly than in any other city on the globe. 
In addition to such amusements as may be termed strictly American, we 
have presented to us here constantly the leading attractions of European 
cities. Whatever is popular abroad speedily finds its way to Chicago, to be 
tested here at least. The Chicago theatre-goers are as familiar with the work 
of the dramatists and actors of Great Britain, France, Germany, Austria, 
Italy and Russia, as they are with the work of American dramatists and actors, 
becausethere is a constant procession of attractions across the Atlantic, and 
because foreign play- wrights and actors of celebrity find an appreciative public 
and a golden harvest on this side of the ocean. Chicago during recent years 
has become a dramatic center of the first rank. Many new plays are pro- 
duced here every season for the first time. The stamp of Chicago approval 
usually insures the success of a drama, comedy or burlesque, throughout the 
country. Architecturally the amusement houses of Chicago are the best in 
the United States ; the interior decorations, the scenery and the stage 
fittings of our theatres are unsurpassed. Aside from the theatres there are 
numerous first-class places of amusement, all of which are pointed out under 
this heading. 

Alhambra Theatre. Located at the corner of State st. and Archer ave. ; H. 
B. Jacobs, manager. Take State st. cable line. This theatre was opened by 
Miss Emma Juch, the prima donna, in 1890. It is one of the handsomest in 
the city. The theatre has a grand entrance on State Bt. and another entrance 
on Archer ave., both leading inward through a business block to a large court 
from which a spacious lobby opens into the main foyer. Here awidestaircaae 
leads to the balcony and branches into side flights of steps both at the top and 
bottom. The auditorium, constructed upon the most approved modern sys- 
tem, is wide but not deep, and has a seating capacity of 2.500 aside from the 
twelve boxes. The lower floor seats 750, the balcony 550, and the gallery 
1,200. The ornamentation of the interior about the boxes, balconies and 
stage front and ceiling, is Moorish in design, and the colors are salmon and 
shrimp pink with intermediate shades. One feature of the new playhouse 

116 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 117 

that makes Its plan well-nigh a model one is the excellent system of fire- 
escapes and exits provided. From the various parts of the house are twenty- 
eight exits, those from the gallery and balcony reaching to iron staircases, 
spiral and straight, running down the exterior walls. The stage is forty-five 
feet deep and has an opening of twenty-five feet. There are twenty-four 
dressing-rooms, besides two large rooms for "supers," a bill- room, and music 
rooms all supplied with every convenience and arranged after the most 
desirable plans. 

Auditorium^ Theatre. The theatre of the auditorium building is justly 
entitled to the distinction of being the best equipped for stage purposes, the 
handsomest in interior decorative work, the most perfect in acoustics and 
the most convenient and comfortable for audiences in this or any other 
country. Columns of praise have been written about it. Architects and 
artists of international fame have lauded its merits and its beauties. 
Thousands from foreign shores, who have visited it during the various 
notable performances which have been given within ita walls, have been 
surprised at itssize and magnificence, and gave willing testimony toitssuperi- 
ority over their own famous places of amusement. No less remarkable have 
been the compliments paid by the famous vocalists who have sung on its 
stage. Patti, whose presence has graced all the great opera-houses of the 
new and old world, marveled at the ease with which she could sing to the 
immense ^audiences which made the opening season so notable. Tamagno, 
Lehmann7 Albani, Reichman, Nordica and others of like fame, were no less 
complimentary. In short, the opinions of everybody artist, auditor, 
lecturer and critical foreigner have been unanimous in declaring the grand 
auditorium theatre unsurpassed for all the purposes to which it was 
dedicated. The great audience room was thrown open to the public on the 
evening of December 9, 1889. The occasion is not likely to be forgotten by 
those who were fortunate to secure admission. 

The following programme was given: 

TRIUMPHAL FANTASIE, - Theodore Dubois. 

Composed for this occasion for grand organ and orchestra. 
CLARENCE EDDY, Organist. 

ADDRESS, - HON. DEWITT C. CREGIER, Mayor of Chicago. 

ADDRESS, - - FERDINAND. W. PECK. 

CANTATA, - Frederick Grant Gleason. 

Composed for this occasion and sung by a chorus of five 
hundred voices under the direction of 

WILLIAM L. TOMLINS. 

ADDRESS. - - PRESIDENT HARRISON. 

ADDRESS, - HON. JOHN S. RUNNELLS, of Chicago. 

"HOME, SWEET HOME," 

MADAME ADELINA PATTI. 



INTERMISSION. 



118 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

" AMERICA," 

APOLLO CLUB. 

CONCERT FANTASIE, OP. 83, - - - F. De La Tombelle. 

Composed expressly for the dedication of the Auditorium organ. 

CLARENCE EDDY. 
"THE HEAVENS ARE TELLING," - - Haydn. 

APOLLO CLUB. 

ADDRESS (Dedicatory), HON. Jos. W. FIFER, Governor of Illinois. 

"HALLELUJAH," Chorus from "The Messiah." - - - Handel. 

APOLLO CLUB. 

The presence of President Harrison gave a national color to the festivi- 
ties. Patti received a.tremendous ovation when she stepped in front, on the 
arm of Manager Milward Adams, and as the last note of "Home, Sweet 
Home " wafted through the space the demonstrations were extraordinary 
When midnight came the vast audience dispersed and the most brilliant 
scene ever enacted in an American theatre remained fixed forever in their 
memory. A remarkably prosperous season of Italian opera followed, unde*- 
the management of Henry E. Abbey, which lusted four weeks. Next to the 
appearances of Patti was, perhaps, the debut of the renowned Tamagno, the 
tenor in Verdi's Othello, the first complete performance of which was given 
in America during this season. A few weeks later the same company returned 
for a supplementary season of two weeks, and the success of the first series 
was repeated. The Apollo Club gave its first concert on December 25th. A 
grand charity ball, attended by the wealth and fashion of the city, was held on 
the 9th of January, 1890. 

The Hebrews followed with a grand ball on 21st of same month. Sarasate 
and D* Albert, the famous violinist and pianist, appeared on 27th and 29th of 
January, and againin February. The important engagementsfollowing were: 
The Duff Opera Company, in a series of Gilbert & Sullivan operas; DeWitt 
Talmage'slecture, AprilSth; the " Kirmess," April 17th, 18th,19th;the German 
Opera Company, from the Metropolitan Opera House, New York, from Feb- 
ruary 21st to March 10th; the Apollo Club, May 26th and 27th; the Strauss 
Orchestral Concerts, June 2d to 6th; "Shenandoah," August26th to September 
6th; return engagement of Duff Opera Company, September 18th to October 
4th; Strauss return concert, October 9th to 14th, and a magnificent production 
of an English pantomime, direct from Drury Lane Theatre, London, entitled 
" The Babes in the Wood," November 10th to December 20th. 

The audience room of the theatre is reached from Congress street near the 
corner of Wabash avenue. A grand vestibule with ticket offices on the 
right and left sides leads to a mosaic paved lobby. The low vaulted ceiling, 
pillared by shapely towers and jetted with electric lights, give it a unique 
appearance. Several large cloak rooms range along one side, and from the 
other broad marble stairs, pfotected by solid bronze balusters, reach to the 
foyer. This part of the house is of ample dimensions, and richly furnished. 
Two large retiring rooms for ladies and smokers adjoin on the south end, 
both decorated and furnished with dainty taste. The house contains 40 
boxes, supplied with luxurious chairs and sofas and hung with curtains of 
delicate tinted plush. There are 4,050 seats, about 1,500 of which are 
located in the parquet. Above the parquet are the first and second balconies 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. H9 

and the gallery. The two latter portions of the house can be closed down for 
special occasions by iron curtains worked by a windlass and chains an 
ingenious arrangement and very useful at times. Over 5,500 incandescent 
lamps are used in the theatre and stage. The general color treatment of its 
walls, ceiling and pillars is yellow in various shades. The effect produced 
when the electric lamps are lit is extraordinarily impressive. The orchestra 
pit has accommodations for 100 players. 

A special feature of the theatre is the great organ located in a compartment 
behind the north walL This instrument was dedicated October 29, 1890, in 
the presence of an audience which filled every seat and occupied much of the 
standing space in the foyer. The organ is considered to be the most perfect 
in the world, and in size ranks among the largest. It contains 7,193 pipes 
and swell, and is divided into seven parts, namely, " Great, Pedal, Swell, 
Choir, Echo, Solo and Stage." The echo organ is located in the roof over the 
parquet, and is operated by means of electricity from the keyboard. The 
stage organ, as its name implies, is utilized for chorus purposes in operas, 
and for certain stage effect. The instrument, in all its parts, is a model of 
moderningenuity, combining all the latest inventions. It is the intention of 
the management to give recitals from time to time, consisting of popular 
music, for which popular prices will be charged. 

The equipment of the stage is the most complete of any In this or foreign 
countries. It is modeled after the famous one of Buda Pesth in Hungary, but 
has the advantage of improvement effected inthepastfive years mechani- 
cal, electrical and hydraulic. The depth from footlights to the rear wall is 
sixty-nine feet; the clear width from wall to wall is ninety-eight feet, giving 
the total available stage room of 6,862 square feet, an extent equal to the 
demands of the most sumptuous productions. 

The floor is entirely level in accordance with the last ideas. From the 
stage to the cellar floor is a depth of 18 feet, but there is an intermediate floor 
for working purposes. The rigging loft is 90 feet above the stage floor, the 
entire framework from top to bottom, including the rigging loft, paint 
bridges, fly galleries, etc., is of iron and steel. All the pulleys, sheaves and 
their bearings are of iron, and the cables by which the drops and border light 
are suspended are of steel, flexible and durable. In tie stage floor are four 
bridges, four traps, four small bridges and three small traps, so disposed that 
the stage can be formed into any shape required for spectacular purposes. 
The immense weights of iron and stage floor are lifted and lowered by 
hydraulic machinery located beneath. The system is most complete, and 
yet so simple that the mere movement of a lever can control all its parts. 
The water-power is obtained from an immense tank set in the to^er 180 feet 
above the street, and two force pumps with a capacity of 400 gallons per min- 
ute maintain the pressure. A unique feature is the "horizon," n panoramic 
device moving on a semi-circular iron frame around the three sides of the 
stage. Its purpose is to do away with the old time " Sky borders" whfch 
have long since grown next to useless, though still found in all other theatres 
of America. This "Horizon" is painted to depict all phases of the eky, 
clouds and clearness, and the effect of light thrown on it from the sides give 
all the necessary effect of movement, lightning, sunset, etc. The property 
room lies above the parquet and is a capacious compartment for tlie purpose 
of manufacturing and storing all the manifold furnishings required for every 
conceivable production. The accessories of the stage are in thorough keeping 
with its principal features. 



120 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

The dressing-rooms are large and splendidly furnished with every neces- 
sary convenience forartists. The electric apparatus is a wonder of complexity 
and ingenuity and the arrangement for the disposal and hanging of scene 
drops are of the latest and most approved device. To sum up, it may truly be 
said that the stage marks the beginning of a new era in theatrical produc- 
tions in this country. 

The credit for the conception of this splendid structure is due to Mr. Ferd. 
W. Peck. It was his unflagging energy, generous and optimistic nature and 
personal influence that carried the great project to completion. When others 
saw disaster, he inspired hope. The result has demonstrated his wisdom and 
foresight. Chicago has amply shown its appreciation of his successful effort 
and the. world at large has looked on and applauded. [See Auditorium.] 

Battle of Gettysburg Panorama. Located at the corner of Wabash ave. 
and Panorama pi. Take Wabash ave. cable line. This magnificent cyclo- 
rama has been one of the leading attractions of Chicago for several years, 
and hundreds of thousands of people have seen and admired it. The build- 
ing iu which the painting is exhibited is similar to those in the leading conti- 
nental cities of Europe. Open day and evening. Admission, 50 cents; 
children, half-price. 

Central Music Hall. The Central Music Hall Block was erected in 1879 
by a stock' company, its list of stockholders comprising many of the wealth- 
iest and best known citizens of Chicago. Its object was " to promote relig- 
ious, educational and musical purposes, the culture of the arts, aud to provide 
for public amusements and entertainments." The leader in this then novel 
enterprise was its first manager, the late George B. Carpenter, whose rare 
taste and judgment, as well as his experience and success as a manager, well 
qualified him for the task to which he devoted so much time and thought. 
The architect chosen to embody these ideas in plans for the building was Mr. 
D. Adler, senior member of the present firm of Adler <fc Sullivan, and o 
admirably adapted was the construction of the building for the purposes of 
its erection, it immediately became widely known for its high standard of 
excellence, and has maintained its popular favor. It has a frontage of 125 
feet on State street and 150 feet on Randolph street, its central location ren- 
dering it easily accessible from all parts of the city. It is built of grey cut 
stone, has a wide and massive entrance of white marble, is six stories in 
height, and contains, besides the large auditorium from which the building 
derives its name, a small recital hall, known as Apollo Hall, twelve stores, 
seventy offices, and a perfectly appointed photograph studio. 

The Apollo Hall, which has for years been the rehearsal home of the 
Apollo Club, occupies with its parlor and dressing rooms considerable por- 
tion of the sixth story, and has recently been remodeled, redecorated and 
refurnished, making it the most attractive small hall in the city. The 
arrangements of these rooms renders them very desirable and in demand for 
select drawing-room entertainments, literary, musical and dramatic. The 
Central Music Hall has a seating capacity of 2,000, and is the cosiest, most 
comfortable hall in the country. Much space is given to foyer and aisles, 
and to ample facilities for entrances and exits. It is tastefully decorated and 
furnished, and its acoustic properties have been pronounced perfect by the 
great lyric artists, and the speakers who have, from time to time, appeared 
upon its stage. The graceful curve of the galleries is a feature of the houeo, 
and no seat is undesirable by reason of its imperfect view of the stage, or dis- 




[Engraved for The Standard Guide Company.] 

THE GERMANIA THEATRE, RANDOLPH NEAR CLARK ST. 
[See "Amusements."] 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 121 

tancefrom it. As originally intended, the hall is occupied on Sunday morn- 
ings by the Central Church congregation, presided over by Prof. Swing, and 
for the purpose of religious services there is provided a magnificent organ, 
built expressly for the hall by the well known organ builders, Wm. A. 
Johusou &Son 

The commercial part of the building is always rented to its full capacity 
to a high class of tenants, and yields a handsome revenue to the stockholders. 
The present officers of the company are Mr. John M.Clark, president; Mr. 
Martin A. Ryerson, vice-president, and Miss Emma S. Blood, secretary and 
business manager. The Board of Directors includes N. K. Fairbank, Martin 
A. Ryerson, R. T. Crane, J. Russell Jones, H. M. Singer, John M. Clark, D. 
Adler, Eugene Gary, and Henry Dibblee. 

Chicago Opera, House. Located in the Chicago Opera House building, 
a magnificent structure, southwest corner of Clark and Washington streets, 
opposite the Court-house; close to the principal hotels and convenient to 
railroad depots and street car terminals. J. W. Norton & Co., proprietors; 
David Henderson, manager. The theatre was built for Mr. Henderson, and 
arranged with the idea in mind of the subsequent production upon a basis 
never before seen in this country of spectacular extravaganza. For five years 
Mr. Henderson has each season given to Chicago a production of musical 
burlesque, on a scale beside which everything else in that line ever attempted 
in America shrinks to pigmy proportions. The first was the "Arabian 
Nights;" the second the unparalleled "Crystal Slipper;" the third a gor- 
geously environed version of " Bluebeard Junior ;" the fourth, a reproduc- 
tion of the " Slipper," with added novelties and beauties ; and fifth and last, 
the success of all successes, " Sinbad." For the summer of 1892 Mr. Hen- 
derson has been making more elaborate preparations than ever before, and 
work is very well along upon a stupendous production, which will eclipse in 
beauty even the dazzling successes which have made the Chicago Opera 
House and the American Extravaganza Company world famous. About 
twenty-six weeks of the season are usually devoted at the Opera House to 
musical extravaganza of Mr. Henderson's own production, and during the 
remaining twenty-six the highest class combinations and the greatest stars in 
the realms of tragedy, comedy, the drama and opera are to be seen and 
heard at the Chicago Opera House. The Opera House is essentially the 
representative theatre of Chicago, and a visitor there is always assured 
of high class entertainment. The prices range from fifty cents to one 
dollar and a half, according to location, and the boxes are ten, twelve 
and fourteen dollars on the lower floor, and eight and ten dollars in the 
upper tier. The theatre has a seating capacity of about 2,300. The 
proscenium opening is thirty-six feet wide, and the height from 
stage to " gridiron " is seventy feet, making it one of the finest stages in the 
country for plays requiring machinery to produce spectacular effects. The 
main floor of the auditorium is constructed of fire-brick or tiling, supported 
upon arches covered with a solid bed of cement; all the galleries and boxes 
are constructed of iron and steel, and there is scarcely a piece of wood to be 



122 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

found in the entire interior. The dressing rooms are below, and are large 
and comfortable. There are fourteen exits distributed over the house. The 
house is illuminated by electricity exclusively. Admission prices, 50c., 75c., 
$1.00 and $1.50, according to location. Boxes, $10, $12 and $15. 

Columbia Ttieatre. Located at the south side of Monroe, between Clark 
and Dearborn sts., close to all the leading hotels and convenient to 
railroad depots and street car terminals. Proprietors, Al. Hayman and 
\Vi!l J. Davis; acting manager, Alf. Hayman. This theatre is the predecessor 
of "Haverly's" successor of the 4< Adelphi," which occupied the old post- 
office building on Monroe and Dearborn sts., the present site of the First 
National bank building. Haverly opened the new theatre, giving it his name, 
on September 12, 1882, withRobson and Crane in "Twelfth Night." Business 
reverses having compelled Haverly to retire from the management, a new 
company was formed, and the theatre was re-christened the "Columbia," by 
Miss Ellen Terry, during an engagement of Henry Irving, in 1885. Since 
then various managements have had the house in .charge, but all have failed, 
with the exception of the present one, to secure for it a sufficiently steady 
patronage to make the theatre a profitable one. Since Messrs. Hayman and 
Davis secured a lease, however, the Columbia has grown in popularity, and 
the patronage of the theatre now is equal to that of any in the city. The very 
best attractions are to be found here, and the scenic and other stage appoint- 
ments are always commensurate to the high character of the productions. The 
interior of the Columbia is beautiful, the decorations being at once rich and 
pleasing. The house is practically fire-proof, but numerous exits are pro- 
vided so that ihe theatre may be emptied in a few minutes in case of a panic 
arising from any cause. The house is illuminated by electricity. Dimen- 
sions: The building is 70 by 190 feet, six stories in height; stage 70 by 54 feet; 
proscenium opening 34 feet wide; seating capacity, 2,400. The house is lit by 
electricity. Admission, 25 cts., 50 cts., 75 cts., $1.00 and $1.50, according to 
location. Boxes, $10, $12 and $15. 

Casino, Located on Wabash avenue, near Adams street. This is con- 
ducted after the manner of the Berlin Panopticon, and is principally an exhi- 
bition of wax works. Delightful place to spend an hour. There is a stage 
performance every afternoon and evening. Lyman B. Glover, business 
manager. Admission to all parts of the house, 25 and 50 cents; children, 25 
cents. 

Chickering Music Hall. Formerly Weber Music Hall. Located on 
Wabash aveuue and Adams street. Chickering, Chase Bros. Co., managers. 
Seating capacity, 400; stage, 28x20; no scenery. Frequent high-class concerts 
are given during the season. 

Criterion T/teatre. Located on Sedgwick and Division streets, North 
Side, C. S. Engle, lessee; Alf. Johnson, business manager. Seating capacity, 
1.800. Conducted as a theatre of the light comedy and burlesque character. 
Has a large neighborhood patronage. 

Epstean's New Dime Museum. Located on the north side of Randolph 
St., near Clark st. Louis Epstean, proprietor. A first-class museum of the 
kind, containing numerous curiosities, novelties in the way of human and 
animal natural freaks, wax works, electric contrivances, etc. Very amusing 
to children. Admission 10 cents. 

Freiberg's Opera House. Located at 180 and 182 Twenty second street, 
between State street and Wabash avenue. Not regularly open. 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 125 

has achieved a phenomenal popularity for "The Haymarket." The theatre 
is constantly presenting attractions of a meritorious and a high order. 
Admission, 15, 25, 50, 75 cents and $1; Davis' Turkish chairs, $1.50; boxes, 
$5 to $10. 

Hooley's Theatre. Located on the north side of Randolph, between 
LaSalle and Clark streets, opposite the Court House; close to the leading 
hotels and convenient to railroad depots and street car terminals. Richard 
M. Hooley, proprietor; Harry Powers, business manager. Hooley's, before 
the great fire of 1871, occupied the present site of the Grand Opera House. 
Originally it was " Bryan's Hall," built in 1860, and opened by the Hans 
Balatka Orchestra. In the fall of 1870 the theatre passed into the hands of 
R. M. Hooley. It was opened January 2, 1871, by this veteran manager, 
with " Hooley's Minstrels" as the attraction. Negro minstrelsy was then 
in its glory, and Hooley's was one of the best troupes in existence at the 
time. Giacometti's tragedy was on the bill as the attraction for the week 
beginning October 9, 1871, but before the sun had arisen on the morning of 
tiiat day Hooley's theatre was a blackened ruin in the midst of a wilderness 
of ruins. On October 17, 1872, the present theatre was opened by the 
Abbott-Kiralfy Company in the "Black Crook." Once, for only a brief 
period, however, Mr. Hooley's name disappeared from connection with this 
theatre. The ephemeral Haverly secured a lease of it in some manner for 
one season, and gave it his name, as he did to everything he touched. Mr. 
Hooley, upon regaining possession, remodeled and refitted the theatre, and 
twice since that time it has undergone almost a complete transformation. 
It is generally known as " Hooley's Parlor Home of Comedy," and the title 
conveys a proper idea of the popular family resort. The seating capacity of 
the theatre is 1,506; the stage is 42x62; proscenium opening, 33x34; 
height to " gridiron," 62 feet. The theatre is also supplied with the latest 
patent smoke and fire escape and ventilator. The auditorium is furnished 
with "Hooley's Opera Chair, "and lighted throughout by the latest incandes- 
cent electric system. Hooley's theatre has the reputation among theatrical 
managers as being the most successful and popular in the United States. The 
gross receipts for the season of 1890-91 amounted to $346,858 for a period of 
52 weeks. The average weekly receipts for the regular theatre term Sep- 
tember 1 to June 30 of the same season exceeded $7,000. Hooley's theatre 
has been selected by Mr. Augustin Daly, Mr. Daniel Frohman and Mr. A. M. 
Palmer for the engagements each year of their celebrated companies; alsb"by 
Mr. and Mrs. Kewdal, Mr. E. S. Willard, and the great French comedian, M. 
Coquelin. 

H. R. Jacobs' Academy. Located on the west side of South Halsted, near 
West Madison street. Take Madison street cable line. H. R. Jacobs, mana- 
ger. This place of amusement was first popularized under the management 
of the late William Emmett, who dragged it out of obscurity, almost, and 
made it one of the most profitable theatrical houses in Chicago. It was then 
known simply as the Academy of Music. Upon Emmett's retirement it fell 
into the hands of Daniel Shelby, and was known as " Shelby's Academy of 
Music." Outside ventures, as in Emmett's case, compelled Shelby to retire, 
and Mr. Jacobs secured the management. It is conducted as a comedy and 
high-class vaudeville theatre. The interior is one of the finest in the city, the 
furnishings being beautiful. It was twice destroyed by fire, and twice com- 
pletely remodeled . The theatre seats 1 , 800. 



126 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

H. R. Jacobs' Clark Street Theatre, Located on the east side of North 
Clark St., near the bridge. Formerly McCormick's hall, later the Casino. Has 
been remodeled and refitted in a first-class manner. H. R. Jacobs, lessee; 
Joseph A. Chenet, manager. A popular light comedy and vaudeville 
theatre. 

Standard Theatre. Located at the corner of Halsted and Jackson streets, 
West Side. Take South Halsted or Van Buren street cars. Jacob Litt, lessee 
and manager. Seating ca'pacity, 2,200; stage, 60x40 feet; proscenium open- 
ing, 32 feet; height to " gridiron," 20 feet. The theatre was erected in 1883. 
Light comedy and burlesque are produced here generally. Admission from 
10 cents to $1, according to location of seats. 

Kohl & Middleton's South Side Museum. Located at 146, 148, 150 and 
152 South Clark St., near Madison. Kohl & Middletou, proprietors. Ihis 
is what is popularly known as a dime museum. Stage performances are given 
almost hourly through the day. A visit to the place will reveal a curious 
collection of freaks, etc. Admission, 10 cents. 

Kohl & Middleton's West Side Museum. Located on W. Madison street, 
opposite Union street, West Side Conducted on the same general plan as 
South Side museum of the same name. Open day and evening. Admission, 
10 cents. 

Libby Prison Museum Located on Wabash avenue, between Fourteenth 
and Sixteenth streets. One of the principal permanent attractions of the 
city. The original Libby prison (transported from Richmond, Va., and put 
up, brick after brick, just as it stood during the War of the Rebellion, when 
used as a prisofl for Union soldiers) is enclosed within massive walls, built 
after the manner of the middle ages (see illustration). Among the attractions 
offered in Libby Prison are the following: Portraits in oil of all the leading 
Northern and Southern general? and statesmen; all kinds of firearms used in 
America, from colonial times to the present period; the finest collection of 
shot and shell used in American warfare; the original first dispatches of war 
from Generals McClellan, Grant, Hooker, Sherman, etc.; the original accept- 
ance of the command of the Confederate Army by Generals Lee and Slene- 
wall Jackson; original portraits of Abraham Lineolu and Mrs. Lincoln, with 
relics and mementos; the stove, goose and shears used by Andrew Johnson 
when working as a tailor in Tennessee; the original will made by John 
Brown an hour before his execution; the very rare curiosity of two bullets 
that met in mid-air in battle at Petersburgh; the finest collection of historic 
chairs in America; the original photographs of scr-nc-s in Sherman's March 
from Atlanta to the Sea; the original commission of Jeff. Davis to Congress 
in 1845; also his commission in the war with Mexico; the wheel of Commo- 
dore Perry's flag-ship, " Powhatan." that opened the ports of Japan to the 
world; the original Arctic clothing used in the Greely relief expedition. 
Admission, 50 cents; children, half-price; open day and evening. 

Lyceum Theatre Located on Desplaines ft., between Madison and Wash- 
ington sts. T. L. Greuier, proprietor. A variety theatre. 

Madison Street Theatre Located on the north side of Madison street, 
opposite McVicker's theatre. S. G. Jnck, manager. Seating capacity, 1,400; 
stage, 22x68; proscenium c.peninir, 37; height to gridiron, 13; to lolt, 19. 
Open the year around; two performances daily. 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 127 

McVicker's Theatre. Madison street, between State and Dearborn streets. 
The McVicker Theatre Co., proprietor; J. H. McVicker, president and man- 
ager; L. L. Sharpe, assistant manager and secretary; H. G. Sommers, treasu- 
rer. McVicker's theatre is considered the handsomest and most complete 
theatre in the United States. It was originally opened November 5, 1857, 
Mr. J. H. McVicker taking the part of " Cousin Joe" in the initial perform- 
ance. The theatre was rebuilt in 1871 and opened in August, only to be 
burned to the ground by that memorable conflagration of October 5, 1871. 
Nothing daunted, Mr. McVicker again reconstructed his theatre, and it was 
open for the third time August 15, 1872. Mr. McVicker, always looking to 
advance the interest of his art, and having the welfare and the comfort of the 
theatre-going public at heart, entirely remodeled the theatre, putting in all the 
modern conveniences and improvements; and on July 1, 1885, the fourth new 
McVicker theatre was thrown open to the public, and they united with the 
press in proclaiming it the handsomest and safest theatre building in the 
United States. It is open on all sides. It has twenty -one exits. It has more 
aisles than anfp other theatre, and each leads to a door. It is simply a model 
theatre. On the morning of August 26, 1890, it was destroyed by fire. Mr. 
McVicker was away from the city at the time, but immediately on his return 
preparations were commenced for rebuilding, and on March 30, 1891, the 
handsomest theatre in the United States was opened for inspection. There 
are two historic features in the theatre which alone are worth the price of 
admission. They are bas reliefs, one representing the "Massacre of Fort 
Dearborn ;" the other, " La Salle Discovery of Illinois." These were fur- 
nished by Johanfles Gelert, the sculptor, and are considered among his best 
works. McVicker Theatre is now in its thirty-fifth year, and is probably the 
widest known playhouse in America. It always has the best class of enter 
tainments, and one will surely find amusement there. 

New Windsor Theatre. Located at North Clark and Division streets. 
Take North Clark street cable line. M. B. Leavitt, proprietor; Ben Leavitt, 
manager. Seating capacity, two thousand. Stage, 49x70 feet; proscenium 
opening, forty-three feet; height logridiron, twenty two feet; the loft, 65 feet. 
This is abeautiful little theatre, is conducted in a first-class manner and is very 
popular with North Side residents. 

Park Theatre. Located on State, between Congress and Harrison sts. 
J. D. Long, proprietor and manager. This is a strictly variety theatre. 
Seating capacity, 1,500; stage, 35 by 40. 

Peoples iheatre. Located on the east side of State street on Congress and 
Harrison streets. Jo. Baylies, lessee and manager. Conducted as a combina- 
tion theatre. 

Timmerman Opera House. Located at the corner of Sixty-third street 
and Stewart ave. Take train at Van Buren st. depot, Van Bufen and Sher- 
man sts., or State st. cable line to Englewood. H. B. Thearle, manager; 
Harry M. Heneford, acting manager. The building in which the theatre is 
located is the most imposing one in Englewood. It is named after its pro- 
jector, Ben Timmerman, and its cost was $100,000. The building is finished 
in red brick, terra cotta and stone trimmings, and is exceedingly pleasing in 
architectural design. There are large bay windows on the Sixty third street 
front and handsome iron balconies on the Stewart avenue side. The audi- 
torium is on the ground floor, and in beauty and richness of furnishings and 



128 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

decorations is equal to any theatre in the city. Silk, velvet and plush drap- 
eries in harmonious shades add to the elegance of the luxurious interior. 
The aisles are wide and the seat rows are arranged with sufficient width 
between to insure the comfort of auditors. Twelve hundred persons may 
find seats the first floor and balcony being provided with opera chairs and 
several hundred others may see the stage from " standing room,"should they 
so elect. The house is lighted by incandescent electric lights and is heated 
by steam, a late device in ventilation being employed. The precautions 
against danger from fire are most complete. The theatre is open on four 
sides, and in addition to this there are seven exits from the main floor, six 
from the balcony and three from the gallery. It is calculated that when the 
house is crowded the audience may disperse in one and one-half minutes. 
The stage is forty-nine feet wide and thirty-four feet deep, while the height 
to the rigging loft is ninety feet. A complete and modern stage equipment 
has been given the stage, and the most pretentious productions may be per- 
fectly presented on its boards. The drop curtain, the work of a local artist, 
presents a handsome marine view. 

Waverly TJieatre. Located on W. Madison street, between Throop and 
Loomis streets, West Side. Take W. Madison street cable. Seating capacity, 
1,400; stage, 40x60. A comedy and vaudeville theatre. 

Other Places of Amusement. In addition to the places mentioned above, 
tttere are innumerable concerts, lectures, etc., in the various halls of the city, 
nightly. There are also winter and summer permanent circuses, mechanical 
riding schools, "merry-go-'rounds," picture galleries, etc., open daily and 
evening. There are also club balls, mask balls and numerous entertainments 
advertised in the daily papers. See daily papers, also, for excursions by 
land and water. Concert Halls of varying degrees of respectability are open 
in all parts of the city; but the visitor will have to be guided by his own dis- 
cretion regarding these and other places of amusement not mentioned above. 

ARCHITECTURE. 

The traveled stranger, to whom the great cities of the world are familiar, 
however he may become impressed with the manners and customs of our poo- 
pic, or with their methods of doing business, and however loath he may be to 
admit the justice of our claims to pre eminence in other respects, must acknowl- 
edge that this is the best built city in the universe to-day. For nearly twenty 
years, or since the great fire of 1871 swept over the business center of the 
city, and laid it in rains, architecture in Chicago has been steadily marching 
forward, until we are enabled in 1891 to point out some of the grandest 
achievements of the art to be found on the face of the earth. 

Character of Chicago Buildings. The character of the great buildings 
erected during recent years in Chicago demonstrates that architects have 
risen to the plane of, the highest constructive knowledge in structures. It is 
not enough to use a material guaranteed by the maker, but Chicago's archi- 
tects themselves now employ engineers for the special purpose of examining 
and testing each and every piece and passing their individual opinion upon it 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 129 

in a written report, and only such as is accepted by these engineers is used in 
the buildings. So essentjpl and necessary is this department of architectural 
engineering considered, that specialists are sent to the mills which furnish 
the iron and steel structural shapes and beams for buildings, and the metal is 
not only tested in the ingot, but the strength of resistance is ascertained for 
every finished beam. The result of all this gives to Chicago buildings which 
are not only theoretically safe, but known to absolute certainty to be safe 
down to the last cubic foot of masonry and the last cubic inch of steel. In 
this respect Chicago is unique, and it is a common remark in Eastern and 
foreign cities, among those actively engaged in building, that Chicago to day 
erects the best- built structures ever known, and with the notable distinction 
that she does it with the closest economy in material and time. That is to 
say, that it is a fact that in Chicago buildings the quality is better, the dis- 
tribution of material is more skillful and the buildings are naturally more 
reliable. The buildings have all been constructed fire-proof to a degree sur- 
passing those erected under old methods. Not only are steel and iron used 
for supports for girders and for joists, but they are covered with fire clay, 
which is so disposed that air chambers are left next to the iron or steel in 
every case, making it impossible for the metal to be overheated, even by the 
hottest fires. 

Method of Construction. While many of the largest and handsomest of 
Chicago's buildings are built solidly of stone, a new system has found much 
favor here, and is being generally followed now ia the construction of the 
mammoth buildings known as "Sky Scrapers," which has given Chicagoa 
new celebrity. This is known as the steel-frame system, the structure proper 
being erected from the. foundation entirely independent of the walls, which 
consist of a mask of terra cotta or other material not intended to serve as a 
support for the edifice in any way. The floors consist of steel beams with 
arched terra cotta tile-work filled in between them, and covered either with 
the usual floor boards, or with ornamental tiles, or mosaic work. The par- 
titions are built of hollow terra cotta tiles. As little wood as possible is used, 
so that these tall structures are as nearly fire-proof as they can be made. 
Owing to the character of the ground on which Chicago is built, the con- 
struction of the foundations of large buildings is a much more serious 
problem than in most large cities. Water is encountered at a very slight 
depth below the surface of the ground. Piling was at first used, but experi- 
ence demonstrated that it did not form a satisfactory foundation. The 
method now employed is the formation of a solid substructure of steel beams 
or rails and concrete. The steel pieces laid crosswise are of a length pro- 
portioned to the weight they will have to sustain, and are imbedded in con- 
crete. Other beams or rails are then laid lengthwise, with concrete filled in, 
and thus several layers are placed in position until the foundation is com- 
pleted. Hundreds of tons of steel may thus be imbedded in Chicago earth 
before the walls of a building are on a level with the surface. 

Office Buildings. Fifteen years ago there was no such thing as an office 
building known in Chicago. The Howland Block, on the southwest corner of 
Dearborn and Monroe streets; the Kentucky Block, on the northeast corner 
of Clark and Adams streets, and the Ashland Block, on the northeast corner 
of Clark and Randolph streets came nearer the requirements of office build- 
ings than any in the city. Strictly, they were what insurance men would 
have denominated omnibus blocks. To-day the office buildings of Chicago 



130 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

rise up in every direction. They do more than rise up. They tower, and 
some of them seem to soar. And they are what their names indicate office 
buildings. The stranger in his travels about down : town is impressed with 
the idea that the business of Chicago is done in offices. Think of Only a few 
of these office structures: The new Chamber of Commerce Building has 500 
offices in its thirteen stories. Temple Court, at the corner of Quincy and 
Dearborn streets, has 400 offices beneath its roof. The Mouon, two blocks 
south, has 300 rooms in its thirteen stories. The Manhattan, an exclusive 
office structure building, opposite the Monon, is sixteen stories high and con- 
tains 700 offices. The R >okery,with over 600 rooms, is a wilderness of 
offices, one great pile of marble, andiron, and glass, and tiling. The Home 
Insurance Company Building, which, when completed a few years ago, was 
looked upon as the ultima thule in office buildings, has had its dizzy heights 
capped by two additional stories, so that the occupnnts of the top floor look 
down upon those of the top floor of the Rookery. The Tacorna, that grace- 
ful structure on the northeast corner of Madison and LaSalle streets, has 500 
abodes on its many floors. Mailer's building, on the southwest corner of 
LaSalle and Quincy streets; the Gaff and Counseknan Buildings, and the 
Royal Insurance Company's building adjoining, contain 110 and 200 and 300 
and 400 offices. "Brother Jonathan" Building, on Sherman and Jackson 
streets; the Rialto, which gives the Board of Trade a Venetian atmosphere, 
and the Insurance Exchange, opposite the Rookery, are colonies within 
themselves. 

Some Notable Examples. At the proper time and in the proper place many 
of the great structures of Chicago will be pointed out to the visitor and 
described. Some of the great architectural monuments that shall demand 
attention here are, the Board of Trade, the '^.Rookery," the Phoenix building, 
the Counselman building, the Gaff building, the Insurance Exchange build- 
ing, the Home Insurance building, the Calumet building, the Tacoma 
building, the Chamber of Commerce bldg., the Manhattan blag., the Temple, 
the Ashland bldg., the new German Theatre, and the City Hall and Court 
House ; all of which may be seen in a walk down La Salle street, from Ran- 
dolph to Jackson street. Marshall Field & Co.'s retail store, the Palmer 
House and the Leiter building, on State street. The Auditorium, Stude- 
baker, Art Institute and Pullman buildings, on Michigan avenue. The im- 
mense structures that are now rising, and have arisen like giants on South 
Dearborn street during the past two years; the Rialto and surround- 
ing structures on Van Buren street ; the Royal Insurance building on Jackson 
street; the Rand &McNally, and the Marshall Field & Co.'s building on Adams 
street ; the Grand Central'railroad depot on Fifth ave.; the Herald building 
on Washington street, and the First Regiment Armory on Michigan boule- 
vard. Besides these, the great Masonic Temple, the Temperance Temple, 
and a score of other magnificent structures, now in course of erection, will 
add to the amazement of the foreign or the American visitor, who has been 
taught to look upon Chicago as a clumsily-built Western town. 

Stfd, Construction. Chicago is rapidly becoming a city of steel from the 
enormous quantity of that material used in the great down-town buildings. 
This extensive use of rolled steel for the skeletons of massive sky scrapers has 
not only revolutionized the style of building, but it has as well created a new 
industry. The Chicago Opera House was the first fire proof building in the 
city in which this radical departure in building rules was tnade. The floor 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA* 131 

beams were those first used of steel. The columns were of cast iron. Then 
followed the Rookery, Counselman, Gaff and Boaid of Trade buildings, all 
with steel beams and cast iron columns. But steel is gradually replacing 
cast-iron for columns. The Rand-McNally building was the first in which 
steel was used exclusively. But the Monadnock, Pontiac, Caxton, Kearsage, 
Northern Hotel, Masonic and Tempi ranee Temples, the new Athletic Club 
building, the Ashland building, the Cook County Abstract building and the 
Fair building, are all steel structures. The steel used besides the beams and 
columns is found intheframesof bay windows, roof work, supports for roofs 
in fact, everything that assists in holding the weight of the building. The 
foundations also are of steel. 

WHERE THE STEEL COMES FROM. This steel comes from various points. 
Almost all the heavy steel rails used in foundations are made by the Illinois 
Steel Company here in Chicago. These are the regular rails in use on rail- 
ways. Rails are made to weigh from sixty to eighty pounds to the yard in 
length. The seventy-five pound rails are the ones used in foundations. Those 
foundations are laid deep of tiers of rails crossed, and are extended always 
into the street or alley beyond the building line, the distance varying accord- 
ing to the height and weight of the building. To illustrate: Under 
the Fair building foundation rails reach out twelve feet under the street and 
nine feet under the alley. 

Of the steel beams 90 per cent, comes from Pittsburgh, from the mills of 
Carnegie, Phipps & Co. and Jones & Laughlin. A heavy trade in beams is 
also done in Potts ville, Pa.; Trenton, N. J.jaud Pho3nixville, Pa. Certain 
sizes of steel beams are made by the Illinois Steel Company. 

COST OF STEEL BUILDING. Steel columns and beams are worth $75 
a ton delivered in Chicago. The combination price of steel beams is $3.20 a 
hundred pounds, without any fittings, Chicago delivery. Small materials in 
steel for such as windows and roof work cost from 3 to 5 cents a pound. The 
price on steel varies but little, as the mills have an agreement and there are 
but trifling deviations. As to relative cost of a steel-ribbed building to day 
and one of the best styled structures, say, ten years ago, the modern one is 
the more expensive, for labor is costlier now than then. What really gave 
birth to this steel style of construction was the fact that none of the down- 
town Chicagoans wanted to leave the center of the city. Land and space 
grew more valuable and taller buildings became a necessity. The principal 
advantage of steel ones and the old style of construction is that the building 
can be m-ide higher with safety. This style is lighter and stronger than the 
old method, too. 

Steel is succeeding cast iron. This is largely due to the fact that there 
is no practicable way of testing cast iron, while there is of steel. None of the 
manufacturers have ever made a machine to test cast iron. Cast iron col- 
umns are cast hollow while lying horizontally. The metal which is poured 
in, by running round the core to the bottom first, may press the core upward, 
so that on cooling the upper side of the column may be thinner than the 
under side. Again, there may be air bubbles form between two currents 
of molten metal. What inspection is made is to look for those two defects. 
One method to determine the thickness is to bore small holes through the 
column, but there is absolutely no way to discover those air bubbles. The 
only other test is to set the column on end and bring an enormous hydraulic 
pressure to bear on it. Cast iron columns are fastened together in the build- 



132 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

ing by bolts screwed on, while steel columns are riveted together in the build- 
ing with redhot rivets. This makes the structure more solid. 

TESTING STEEL COLUMNS. The manner of testing steel is thorough. 
The steel used is the Bessemer, and is rolled between wheels under a tremen- 
dous pressure. Air bubbles are pressed out. The columns are not round. 
They are made in plate form and riveted. They can be seen on all sides so 
as to determine their thickness. The inspection is elaborate. The inspec- 
tors take a quantity of ore out of each " blow " and test it as to the quality of 
the steel it will make. If it is not up to the requirements builders take no 
steel made from that "blow." It is inspected and tested again when the steel 
is made and again while it is being put together, and if found defective at 
any point it is not used. Again, every piece of structural steel is numbered; 
not only that, but the ore is designated that shall go into a certain piece of 
steel. ^ So thorough is this followed in detail and recorded that a builder by 
referring to his office record can trace back the course of any piece of steel 
in a building through the three stages of inspection, back to its original ore 
shape. In case of an accident he could thus locate the responsibility. 

INSPECTION OP STEEL. One of those inspections tests the breaking power 
of the steel, and builders load a building above one-fifth of that breaking 
power. In calculating so as to insure safety, they figure first on the straight 
downward pressure, then on the resistance of the wind. Besides this, on the 
tops of all these big office buildings are great water tanks to furnish water 
to run elevators and for the bowls, as the city water pressure does not drive 
water to the top of sky-scrapers. Those full tanks are of tremendous weight. 
There must be extra support for their weight. Then the strain on an eleva- 
tor is enormous at times. If filled with people, it is going down rapidly and 
suddenly stops, the columns supporting that elevator must be extra strong 
or something will break. There are do/ens of things that must be allowed 
for. It's a trade, a profession by itself, and there's plenty of room for think- 
ing in it. Every precaution is taken to guard against accident and to assure 
safety; that is to say, among those architects and builders of the city who 
have devoted great time to this class of structures and whose names are 
identified in the public mind with this Chicago style of architecture. 

ART. 

There are estimated to be in Chicago at least five hundred artists, who 
are engaged exclusively in their calling, and who find a ready market for 
their work, if it is meritorious in character. There are here a large number 
of gentleman of wealth who have devoted themselves for years past to fos- 
tering the development of art in Chicago, and who have contributed largely 
toward popularizing art exhibitions and art studies. During the past few 
years great progress has been made in the direction of building of private gal- 
leries, and the walls of many of the residences of the city are now orna- 
mented with some of the choicest productions of the studios of Europe and 
America. 



. THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 133 

Permanent Art Building. Now in course of construction, on the Lake 
Front, site of the old later-State Expositon building, main entrance to face 
Adams st. Within easy walking distance of all railroad depots, street car 
terminals, hotels, etc., in the heart of the business center. This magnificent 
structure takes the place of the present Art Institute, Michigan ave. and Van 
Buren St., which passes into the possesion of the Chicago Club. The design 
of the new institute was prepared by Architects Shepley, Rutan and Cool- 
idge, and was subjected to changes at the hands of the Committee on Build- 
ings. The structure has a frontage of 320 feet on Michigan ave.; the main 
depth is 175 feet, with projections making an arc 208 ftet in depth. The 
plan is that of a parallelogram. It consists of two galleries, the tirst being 
devoted to plaster casts, sculptures, busts, models, etc. ; the second to pictures, 
being lighted by sky-lights from above. The main galleries are twenty-seven 
feet wide and the second galleries twelve feet wide. The main staircase is 
directly in front as the visitor enters. On one side is a lecture room capable 
of seating 1,000 people, and on the other a library in which is kept the refer- 
ence boous pertaining to art. The plan of the picture galleries is similar to 
that of the statuary halls below, except that most of the rooms are lighted by 
skylights. The whole building is constructed of Bedford liaieslone, with 
a base of granite extending to the water-table. The lower portion is rusti- 
cated as far as the top of the first floor. Above this is a plain band of 
chiseled stone, and surmounting this is panels filled with statuary. Sur- 
mounting this is an entablature and cornice richly decorated, the effect of 
which is highly increased by the plain surface below. The idea of the exte- 
rior is to the main masses plain and simple, grouping the richness in certain 
places which are important in the design of the building. The roof is of 
copper and glass and presents au ornate and artistic appearance. The entrance 
hall is marble, and the principal feature is the grand staircase, which is in a 
case fifty feet square. This is lighted by a large skylight overhead, and an 
arcade is formed by arches on all four sides. The marble work of the 
staircase is white, and the decoration is in keeping with it. The vestibule Is 
in marble and mosaic, and beyond this is the entrance hall, which is in mar- 
ble, with mosaic floors and ceiling. The galleries lead out from this from 
either side, and are entered through arched openings. The plans provided for the 
use of hollow brick inner walls overlaid with one and one-half inch planks, cov- 
ered with canvas, which allows heavy pictures to be screwed to the walls where 
most convenient. The building is lighted by electricity, and all modern 
improvements are used. It has been decided by the Art Institute Trustees not 
to build* the grand staircase and central wing until after the close of the Fair. 
The present staircase is a double one, eight feet wide, and will furnish ample 
room. The building stands as far back from the Michigan avenue sidewalk 
as it can be placed, and furnish room for a roadway between it and the 
Illinois Central tracks. The entrance to the vestibule is through three arched 
openings. The funds for the construction of the Art Palace were derived 
from three sources. The Art Institute, by the sale of its old building to the 
Chicago Club, realized $275,000, the World's Fair Directory contributed 
$200,000, and Charles L. Hutchinson, President of the Art Institute, raised by 
private subscription $55,000. This makes a total of $530,000; but an addi- 
tional $70,000 was raised, so that the total cost amounted to $600,000. 

Art Institute of Chicago, Art Museum. Located in the Art Institute 
building, Michigan avenue and Van Buren street; incorporated May 24, 1879. 
Officers Charles L. Hutchinson, president; James H. Dole, vice president; 



134 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

Lyman J. Gage, treasurer, N. H. Carpenter, secretary. W. M. R. French, 
director. Executive Committee Charles L. Hutchinson, A. A. Sprague, 
James H. Dole. Charles D. Hamill, John C. Black, William T. Baker. 
Trustees, 1890-91 Charles L. Hutchinson, Samuel M. Nickerson, David 
W. Irwin, Martin A. Ryerson, William T. Baker, Eliphalet W. Blatchfnrd, 
Nathaniel K. Fairbank, James H. Dole, Albert A. Sprague, John C. Black, 
Adolphus C. Bartlett, J. J. Glessner, Charles D. Hamill, Edson Kekli, Levi 
Z. Leiter, Wirt D. Walker, Homer N. Hibbard, Marshall Field, George N. 
Culver, P. C. Handford. 

The Art Institute building [see illustration] has been pronounced by crit- 
ics the finest specimen of modern architecture in Chicago. It is built of 
brown stone; has a beautiful facade, is splendidly located, lighted perfectly, 
and, although not as massive in construction as some of its neighbors, is one of 
the attractive edifices of the Lake Front. The Art Institute owes its origin 
and prosperity to the disinterested and energetic services of a few Chicago 
gentlemen, who have expended upon it not only a great deal of their private 
means, but much of their time during the past ten years. During 1889 a 
very handsome addition was made to the building, which led to some very 
desirable changes in the interior arrangement. The portion of the Art Insti- 
tute formerly occupied by sky -lighted picture galleries, was carried up three 
floors, thus raising all the galleries to the fourth floor, and two floors of the 
same area as the former picture gallaries were added for exhibitioner other 
uses. These gallaries are six in number, of which five occupy a space of 170 
by 27 feet; and the other a space of 40 by 50 feet. They accommodate about 
550 pictures when closely hung, and the light and appointments are in every 
way excellent. The Cast collection occupies the whole of the main floor and 
one large room upon the second floor. The Library is accommodated in a 
commodious room. The collection of Greek vasea and antiquities occupies 
one room and the metal collection and bronzes another. A space on the 
third floor has been arranged fora lecture room. The building is provided 
with two passenger elevators. The following societies are tenants of the 
building: The Chicago Literary Club, The Fortnightly Club, The Chicago 
Women's Club, The Chicago Society of Decorative Art, The Kindergarten 
Training School. 

There are now in the Art Institute thirteen pictures from the collection of 
Prince Demidoff, together with one by Holbein from the May collec- 
tion in Paris, which constitute a group of Old Dutch Masters of such 
value and interest as perhaps has never before crossed the ocean. They are a 
part of the permanent collection of the Art Institute, the purchasers relying 
on the generosity of the friends of the Art Institute to pay for them and 
present them to the museum. Some have already been so presented. Several 
of these pictures, such as the examples of Hobbema and Van Ostade are 
among the most important known works of the Masters, and all are important 
pictures in perfect preservation. The Masters represented are Hobbema, Van 
Ostade, Rembrandt, Franz Hals, Ruysdael, Van Mieris, Holbein, Teniers, 
Van Dyck, Rubens, "Jan Steen, Adr. Van de Velde, Terburg and Zeeman. 
The presence of this group of pictures is sufficient to give our collection 
good standing among American museums, and their acquisition is the most 
important step of the year. 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 135 

As an evidence of the popularity of the Art Institute among the people, 
the following facts are given: During the year 1889-90 the building was 
closed half the time on account of building operations. The aggregate 
attendance of visitors to the museum during the six months was 66,927, and 
the 'admission fees and catalogue sales amounted to $1 .942.15; number of visit- 
ors paid admission fees, 5,344; number on free days, 45,915; number admitted 
free on membership tickets, other days, 12,667; number of visitors, students, 
artists; etc., admitted free, on other days (estimated) 3, 000; total admission, 
66,926; average number of visitors on Saturdays, free all day, 6G9; average 
number of visitors on Sundays, open 1 to 5, free, 855. The income from all 
sources for the year was $44,624.71; current expenses, $43,850.60; cash 
donations, $25,685.03. The whole income from all sources (aside from sums 
which merely passed through the treasury) was $70,309.74. The original cost 
of the land, with the building upon it, was $61,000; the amount expended 
by the Art Institute in building since that time has aggregated $208,500. 
The value of the collections now in the keeping of the institute, partly 
the property of the Art Institute, but chiefly loans, considerably exceeds 
$500,000. Large additions are being made annually to the collections in the 
galleries and museum. The principal accessions of late have been: A collec- 
tion of Greek vases and antique marbles, and other objects, the gift of Mr. 
Philip D. Armour and Mr. Charles L. Hutchinson; a full set of chromo-litbo- 
graph reproductions of the old masters, published by the Arundel Society, 
presented by Mr. Edward E. Ay er; a collection of works in metal, chiefly 
electrotype reproductions, presented by Mr. Martin A. Ryerson and Mr. 
Hutchinson; oil paintings, "The Shepherd's Star," by Jules Breton, pre- 
sented by Mr. Philip D. Amour; " Marsh in the North of Holland," by 
Eugene Jettel, presented by P. C. Hanford; " The Close of Day," by Charles 
H. Davis, purchased from the gift of the Opera Festival Association; Gobelin 
Tapestry, presented by -Mr. Charles J. Singer. The Cast collection has been 
enriched by the fine collection of antique sculpture presented by the Inter- 
State Industrial Exposition of Chicago, and the library has received the 
splendid work upon the Basilica of St. Marks, presented b-y Mr. Franklin 
MacVeagh and Mr. Hutchinson. 

During Mr. Hutchinson's visit to Europe in 1890, he made numerous 
purchases for the Art Institute. Among them are two fine examples of 
carved ivory. One of these, a triptych, represents in high relief on the cen- 
tral tablet the flight of the holy family into Egypt. The virgin, with the 
child Jesus in her arms, is seated on an ass that is being led by an angel, who 
is feeding the animal from an up-drawn fold of its robe. Joseph follows with 
staff and water-bottle. Above this group are cherubs in the bough of a tree 
handing down fruit to the babe in Mary's arms, who is stretching out his 
arms to receive it. On each of the leaves of this triptych are two panels rep- 
resenting saints, the crucifix, the lamb and other ecclesiastical symbols. The 
other piece of ivory carving is a panel representing the crucifixion and is a 
very high relief , the principal figures being almost in the round. Within a 
space of five and one-half by four and one-half inches there are indicated 
fourteen figures of people, three horses and a dog. Next in prominence to 
the figures on the three crosses are two soldiers in the immediate foreground 
w ho are parting the raiment, as is recorded in sacred story, while to the left 
a dog stands regarding their action. In the middle distance a Roman soldier 
is thrusting his spear into the Saviour's side. Clinging to the foot of the cross 
is Mary Magdalen, while back and to the right St. John supports the grief- 



136 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

bowed figure of Mary, the mother of Christ. The whole work on thia panel 
Is most carefully studied and skillfully wrought. These two pieces are the 
first examples of ivory carving which have been acquired by the Art Institute, 
although a fine example of Japanese carving is in the loan collection and a 
figure of carved wood and ivory has for some time been the property of the 
Institute. [Visitors to the Art Institute will be provided with catalogues of 
the entire collection.] 

Art Collections. The private art collections of Chicago are very numerous 
and very extensive. This is strikingly evident at each recurring exhibit of 
loaned pictures at the Art Institute or elsewhere. The annual exhibits at the 
Inter-State Exposition, now a thing of the past, by reason of the changes 
necessary pending the World's Columbian Exposition, have grown from year 
to year, until they promised to rank among the best in the country. Steps 
have been taken to erect a permanent Art Hall on the Lake Front, in which 
these annual exhibitions will be continued. This building will be erected 
for the Columbian Exposition, but will be constructed in such a manner as to 
be acceptable to the city as a permanent building after the exposition closes. 
The art galleries of the Illinois Club, the Chicago Club, the Marquette Club, 
the Calumet Club, and especially of the Union League Club, are becoming 
very valuable. [See Union League Art Association.] The Vincennes Gallery 
of Fine Arts, 3841 Vincennes avenue (take Illinois Central'train to Oakland 
station, Thirty-ninth St.), is open at all times, free to visitors. There are 
many beautiful collections in the private mansions of the South Side. The 
largest and best private collection in the city at present is that contained in 
the gallery of Mr. Charles T. Yerkes, 3201 Michigan avenue. The more 
important of his pictures were purchased by Mr. Yerkes in 1890, during a 
visit to Europe, when he devoted himself to the study and selection of 
pictures. The pictures are first-class examples of masters of the Dutch school, 
Rembrandt, Van Dyck, Rubens, Jan Steen, Van Ostade, Gerard Dow, 
Ruysdael, and Wonwerman being represented. From the last century there 
is a head by Greuze, and from later schools there are important pictures by 
Millet, Diaz, Daubigny, Detaille, Ziem, Vibert, Alfred Stevens, Willems, 
Charlemonte, and others. 

Art Institute of Chicago Art School. Located in the Art Institute 
building, Michigan avenue and Van Buren street. Incorporated May 24, 
1879. Officers: Charles L. Hulchinson, president; Edson Keith, vice- 
president; Lvinan J. Gage, treasurer; N. H. Carpenter, secretary; W. M. 
R. French, director. Teachers: W. M. R. French, director; Oliver Dennett 
Grover, and John H. Vanderpoel, drawing and painting, life and antique; 
Miss Caroline D. Wade, still life classes; Miss Charlotte F. Dyer, antique and 
statuary classes; Miss Charlotte F. Dyer, antique; N. fl. Carpenter, per- 
spective; Lorado Taft, modeling; Louis J. Millet, architecture and designing; 
Charles L. Boutwood, evening classes. The arrangement of classes are as 
follows: 

COSTUMED LIFE CLASS. Drawingand painting from the costumed model, 
daily, 9 to 12 A. M., 1 to 4 p. M. 

NUDE LIFE CLASS. Drawingand painting from the nude, daily: Women, 
8:30 to 12 A. M. ; Men, 1 to 4 P. M. 

PAINTING FROM STILL LIFE. Oil and water color, daily, 1 to 4 p. M. 

CLASSES IN THE ANTIQUE. Drawing from the cast, elementary and 
advanced, daily , j^to 12 A. M., 1 tQ 4, P. M. 



G 

CO 

n 

ort) 



< 3 



H 

O 

a; 




THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 143 

surplus and profits were $12,424,164 as against $10,343,119 for 1890; deposits 
were $117, 792,594 as agninst $94,471,271 for 1890, and loans and discounts 
were $89, 292, 728 as against $72,392,018 for 1890. The capital of the State 
banks doing business in Chicago, according to last reports furnished the 
State Auditor, was $12,227.000, their surplus $3,869,000 and their undivided 
profits $1,869,288. [See Bank Clearings, Bank Clearance Comparative, etc.] 
American Excliange National Bank. Organized in May, 1886, with D. 
W. Irwin, president; D. B. Dewey, vice-president; D. K. Pearsons, second 
vice-president, and A. L. Dewar, cashier. Present officers: John B. Kirk, 
president; Wm. C. Seipp, vice-president; G. F.Bissell, second viee-presidant; 
A. L. Dewar, cashier; R. M. Orr, assistant cashier; Arthur Tower, 2d assis- 
tant cashier. December 31, 1890, it showed capital stock, paid in, $1,000,000; 
surplus fund and -undivided profits, $297,989; deposits, $3,417,095.76, total 
liabilities, $4,715,085.55; loans and discounts, $3,049,131.48; overdrafts, 
$3,386.11; deposit with U. S. treasurer, 2,250; U. S. bonds to secure cir- 
culation, $50,QOO; premiums paid, $9,500; other bonds, $33,600; real estate, 
furniture and fixtures, $10,000; due from banks and bankers, $445,951.07; 
exchanges for clearing house, $319.470.24; currency, $216,796.65; gold coin, 
$575,000 $1,557,217.96; total resources, $4,715,085.55. Location, 185 Dear- 
born street. 

Atlas National Bank. Officers: President, W. C. D. Grannis; vice-presi- 
dent, C. B. Parwell; cashier, S. W. Stone; assistant cashier, W. S. Tillotson. 
Directors: Uri Balcom, R. C. Clowry, C. B. Farwell, R. J. Bennett, Joseph 
Austrian, W. C. D. Grannis, J. C. McMullin, A. A. Hunger, Wm. M. Van 
Nortwick, C. P. Libby, J. T. Chumasero. 

Chemical National Bank. Successor to the Chemical Trust and Savings 
bank, founded in May, 1880. Occupies its own building, 85 Dearborn st. 
Capital, $1,000,000. Officers: J. O. Curry, president; E. C. Veasey, vice- 
president; A. T. Ewing, second vice-president; G. E. Hopkins, assistant 
cishier. Directors: W. M. Hoyt(W. M. Hoyt&.Co., Wholsale Grocers); D. 
C. Newton (banker, Batavia, 111.); Robert Vierling, President (Vierling, 
McDowell & Co., Iron Founders); E. C. Veasey (vice-president); Charles H. 
Slack (Grocer); M. A. Mead (M. A. Mead & Co. Wholesale Jewelers); A. T. 
Ewing (second vice-president); S. E. Gross (Real Estate); Otis Jones (Director, 
Macon Dublin & Savannah Ry. Co.); S- W. Lamson (Lamson Bros., Grain 
Commission); H. J. Straight (K. J. Straight & Co., Fire Insurance); E. J. 
Edwards (President, Hicks Stock Car Co.); F. E. Spooner (Chicago Union 
Lime Works); O. W. Norton (President, Norton Brothers, Manufacturers Tin 
Plate, Japan Ware); J. O. Curry (President). It will be seen that the directors 
are representative business men. The Chemical National, though one of the 
most recently organised, ranks among the most prominent of the city. 

Chicago National Bank. Officers: President, John R. Walsh; vice- 
president, H. H. Nash; cashier, William Cox; assistant cashier, F.'M. Blount. 
Directors: A. McNally, Adolph Loeb, H. H. Nash, C. K. G. Billings, F. 
Madlener, Ferd. W. Peck, J. R. Walsh. Capital, $500,000; surplus and 
profits, $566,810; loans and discounts, $4,277,125; cash and treasury credits, 
$1,715,793; individual deposits, $5,998,610; due banks, $861,870; due from 
banks and agents, $1,396,429; checks for clearing house, $262,306; U. S. 



144 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

bonds, $50,000; other stocks and bonds, $270,636; total deposits, $6,860,480; 
circulation, $45,000. The Chicago National Bank is recognized as one of the 
leading financial institutions of the city. 

Columbia National Bank. Open for business Feb. 16, 1891. Paid in 
capital, $9,000,000. Officers: L. Everingham, president; W. G. Bently, 
vice-president; Zimri Dwiggins, cashier; J. T. Greene, assistant cashier. 
Directors, Malcolm McNeil, E. S. Conway, H. D. Kohn, C. W. Needham, 
Peter Kuntz, J. D. Allen, L. Everingham, W. G. Bently, Z. Dwiggins, and 
' J. M. Starbuck. Resources Discounts and time loans, $1,192,399.88; 
United States bonds, $50,000; redemption fund, $2,250; furniture and fixtures, 
$10,952.85; current expenses, $31,607.76; due from banks and bankers, $362,- 
641.90; cash and cashitems, $228,291.29; demand loans, $420,460.23 ($1,011,- 
393.42); total, $2,298,603.91. Liabilities Capital stock paid in, $1,000,000; 
surplus and undivided profits, $77,416.90; circulation, "$45,000; deposits, 
$1,176,187.01; total, $2,298,603.91. The Columbian National transacts a 
general banking business. A separate suite of rooms with clerical force, 
teller, etc., and every facility for banking are provided especially for ladies. 
The motto of the bank is, safety, courtesy, promptness, liberality. Location 
of banking-house, Insurance Exchange Building, corner LaSalle and Quincy 
streets. 

Commercial National Bank. Organized December, 1864. The present 
officers are Henry F. Eames, president ; O. W. Potter, vice-ptesident ; F. S. 
Eames, 3d vice-president ; John B. Meyer, cashier ; D. Vernon, assistant 
cashier. 

Resources. Loans and discounts, $6,980,972.79 ; overdrafts, $3,384.04; 
United States bonds to secure circulation, $50,000.; other stocks, bonds and 
mortgages, $260, 804.37 ; due from other National banks $891,811.04; due 
from State banki and bankers, $247.49 ; total $892,058-53. Real estate, $31,- 
750.90; taxes paid, $15,359.89; Checks and other cash items, $3,088; 
exchanges for clearing-house, $327,468.93; bills of other banks, $71,005; 
fractional currency, nickels, and pennies, $927,70 ; specie, $1,597, 994.60; 
legal tender notes, $380;000.; $2,380,484.23; redemption fund with 
United States treasurer (5 per cent of circulation), $2,250.; total, $10,617,- 
064.75. Liabilities. Capital stock paid in, $1,000,000; surplus fund, 
$1,000,000; undivided profits, $103,997.19 ; National Bank notes outstand- 
ing $45,000 ; individual deposits subject to check, $3,598,196.05 ; demand 
certificates of deposit, $216,490.77; certified checks, $63,682.12; cashier's 
checks outstanding, $176,416.76 ; due to other National Banks, $1,"793,984.68 ; 
due to State banks and bankers, $2,619,297.18; total $8,468,067.56; grand 
total, $10,617,064.75. 

Directors. Henry F. Eames, S. W. Rawson, William J. Chalmers, 
N. K. Fairbank, O. W. Potter, Jesse Spalding, Henry W. King, Franklin 
MacVeagh, Norman Williams. Location of banking house, Southeast 
corner of Dearborn and Monroe streets. 

Continental National Bank. Organized March 5, 1883. Present officers 
Directors: John C. Black, John R. Winterbotham, Calvin T. Wheeler, 
Richard T. Crane, Henry C. Durand, William, G. Hibbard, Henry Botsford, 
James H. Dole, George H. Wheeler, J. Ogden Armour, Isaac N. Perry ; 
President, John C. Black ; 2nd vice-president, Isaac N. Perry; cashier, 
Douglass Hoyt ; assistant cashier, Ira P. Bowen. Banking house, La Salle 
and Adams street. Semi-annual dividends of 3 per cent, are paid January 




[Engraved for The Standard Guide Company.] 
THE INTER-OCEAN BUILDING, MADISON AND DEARBORN STS. 

[See " Newspapers."] 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 145 

first and July first. Report of condition at the close of business December 
2d, 1891. Resources: Loans and discounts, $6,896J}37.20 ; overdrafts, $21, 
988.78 ; United States bonds for circulation, $5tyOOO ; other bonds oa 
hand, $2,600; real estate, furniture and fixtures, $39,605.37; premiums 
paid, $7,000; cash, $1,496,580.05; due from banks, $1,703,072; checks 
for clearings, $1,075,988.73 ; due from United States treasurer, $2,250 ; 
total, $11,295,622.13. Liabilities. Capital stock paid in, $2,000,000 ; sur- 
plus fund, $250,000 ; undivided profits, $219,014,20 ; bank notes out- 
standing, $23,600; individual deposits, $4,429,013.15; due banks, $4,373,- 
994.78 ; total, $11,295,622.13. Location of banking house, southwest corner 
of La Salle and Adams streets. M. Calvin T. Wheeler, one of Chicago's 
foremost business men and financiers, was the organizer of this bank and its 
first president. He was succeeded in 1887 by Mr. Black, who has been con- 
nected with the bank since its organization. He was its first cashier, and 
was actively instrumental in perfecting the system inaugurated for the tran- 
saction of the business of the bank with the greatest convenience to its cus- 
tomers. 

Drover's National Bank. Organized 1883 : Present officers S. Brintnall, 
president ; John Brown, vice-pi esident ; W. H. Brintnall, cashier ; Edward 
Tilden, assistant cashier. Resources : Loans and discounts, $807,088.97 ; 
overdrafts, $12.25 ; United States bonds, $50,000 ; banking house, $12,- 
500; premiums, $8.500; due from banks, $696,643.14; cash, $121,319.- 
13; total, $817,962.27; grand total, $1,696,063.49. Liabilities: Capital 
stock, $250,000 ; surplus, $50,000 ; undivided profits, $36,748.45 : cir- 
culation, $45.000 ; deposits, $1,314,315.04 ; total, $1,696,063.49. Directors 
Percy W. Palmer, Charles L. Shattuck, Watson 8. Hinkly, John Brown, 
James P. Sherlock, J. E. Greer, W. H. Brintnall, Solva Brintnall. Location 
of banking house, 4207 South Halsted street, Union Stockyards. 

First National Bank. Organized, Nov. 1863. Present officers : Lyman 
J. Gage, president ; Henry R. Symonds, vice-president ; James B. Forgant, 
2d. vice-present ; Richard J. Street, cashier ; Holmes Hoge, assistant 
cashier. Statement of condition January, 1892. Assets : Loan and dis- 
counts, $16,475,614.91 ; bank building and other real estate, $650,000 , 
United States bonds, (par value), $55,150 ; other bonds, $847,450. Cash 
resources: Due from banks, (Eastern exch.), $4,396,430.99; checks for 
clearing house, $1,659,783.10; cash on hand, $8,410,499.87; due from U. 
S. treasurer, $26,250 ; total ; $14,492,963.96 ; grand total, $32,521,178.87. 
Liabilities: Capital stock paid in, $3,000,000; surplus fund, $2,000,000; 
other undivided profits, $1,023,059.31 ; dividend, 90,000 ; Deposits, $26,- 
408,119.56; total, $32,521,178.87. Directors: Sarnl. M. Nickcrson, E. F. 
Lawrence, S. W. Allerton, F. D. Gray, Norman B. Ream, Nelson Morris, 
James B. Forgan, L. J. Gage, Eugene S. Pike, A. A. Carpenter, H. R. 
Symonds. Location of banking house, northwest corner of Dearborn and 
Monroe streets, First National Bank building. 

At the date of incorporation, the First National Bank had a capital of 
$100,000. Its officers were President, E. Aiken; cashier, E. E. Braisted. 
It then stood number 8 in the order of National Banks. The capital of the 
bank was soon increased to $1,000,000. In 1867 President Aiken died, and 
was succeeded by Samuel M. Nickerson, who has held the office ever since. 
In 1868 Lyman J. Gage was appointed cashier. The fire of 1871 destroyed 



146 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

the bank's building, which stood at the southwest corner of State and Wash- 
ington sts. This building was at once rebuilt, and was occupied until the 
bank moved into its present magnificent structure, which was erected espe- 
cially for its accommodation, and with aviewto the convenient transaction of 
its immense business [See "First National Bank Building " andillustration.] 
During the panic of 1873 the bank passed through the ordeal in excellent 
shape, coming out of it with the renewed and strengthened confidence of the 
public in the stability of its resources, and the wisdom and integrity of its 
management. The fact is often referred to even in these days, that Mr. 
Gage's courageous and judicious executive ability in 1873 not only averted a 
calamity for his own bank, but had the effect of stimulating the nerve of 
others in Chicago, and of inspiring the public with faith in the ability of all 
to meet their obligations if they were not harassed or hampered. The 
charter of the First National Bank expired in 1882; it went into liquidation, 
paying off its stockholders and giving each one of them $294 for every SjslOO 
paid in. This was in addition to dividends upon the capital from time to 
time, which averaged through its entire history 10 per cent, per annum. On 
the expiration of the old charter the new First National Bank, No. 2670, was 
organized, and succeeded to the business of the old bank. Its paid-up capi- 
tal was fixed at $3,000,000; Mr. Gage was made vice-president, aud Mr. 
Symonds, cashier. The First National Bank is not only the greatest finan- 
cial institution in Chicago, but one of tbe greatest in the country. The 
showing of earnings and surplus which it made at the close of last year's 
business attracted universal attention. 

First National Bank of Enylewood: Located at Englewood, Chicago. 
Officers. J. li. Enibre, president ; E. L. Roberts, vice-president ; F. B. War- 
ren. Directors : J. It. Einbre, J. K. ISichols, H. B. Murphy, D. E. Prentice, 
B. H. Knights, C. H. Caldwell, W. H. Sharp, J. M. Johnson. 

Fort Dearborn, Xnlimuil Bunk . Organized, May 1, 1887. Present officers : 
John A. King, president ; \V . L. Barnum, vice-president ; Peter Dudley, cash- 
ier ; Chas. H. McGrath, assistant cashier. Capital, $500,000. Surplus at close 
of 1892, $25.000. Undivided profits, $19,218,590. The Fort Dearborn 
National bank is an institution of the highest standing, its directors being men 
of large financial resources. Directors : W. L. Barnum ; J. W. Pluinmer, 
John J. McGrath, William J. Wilson, D. K. Hill, E. Mandel, Thomas Kane, 
George Keller, Arthur D. Rich, A. Plamondon and John A. King. Location 
of banking house, 187-189 Dearborn street. 

Globe Ni.ttiimnl Bank. Commenced business December 22, 1890, capital. 
$1,000,000, surplus, $45,000. Present officers Oscar D. Wetherell, presi- 
dent; Melville E. Stone, vice-president; D. A. Moullon, cashier; C. C. Swin- 
borue, assistant cashier. The directors, comprising well-known business 
men and capitalists, are as follows Melville E. Stone, late editor Chicago 
Dai?u AV/r.vy Gust.ivus F. Swift, president Swift & Co. packers; William II. 
Harper, manager Chicago ik Pacific Elevator Company; Robert L. Henry, 
president Keystone Palace Horse-Car Company; Morris Rosenbaum, com- 
mission merchant; Everett W. Brooks', lumber manufacturer; James L. 
High, attorney- at-law; Amos Gran nis, contractor; Oscar D. Wetherell. Lo- 
cation of banking house, northwest corner of J:>ckson and La Sails streets, 
opposite Board of Trade. 

Hide and Leather National Bank. Organized in 1872, received its charter 
as a National bank in 1878. Present officers: Charles F. Grey, president; H. 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 147 

A. White, vice-president; D. L. Forest, cashier; Thos. L. Forrest, assistant 
cashier. Capital, $300,000; resources, $2,171,827.96; surplus fund, $95,000; 
undivided profits, $43,702.12. The individual deposits amount to $1,317,- 
568.67. Directors, George C. Beuton, William L. Gray, C. H. Morse, Hugh 
A. White, J. V. Taylor, "George M. Lyoii, P. P. Muthews, Charles F. Grey, 
O. F. Fuller. "Location of banking house, La Salle and Madison sts 

Home National Bank. Officers: President, A. M. Billings; vice-presi- 
dent, J. C. McMullen; secretary, H. H. Blake. Directors: A. M." Billings, 
William A. Talcott, C. K. G. Billings, J. C. McMullen, David Bradley. 

Lincoln National Bank. Organized March, 1887.. Present officers V. C. 
Price, president; E. S. Noyes, cashier; J. R. Clarke, assistant cashier. 
Resources, loans and discounts, $592,132.42; overdrafts, $710.68; U. S. bonds 
to secure circulation, $50,000; other stock, bonds and mortgages, $500; due 
from other national banks, $140,736,35; due from state banks aud bankers, 
$33 836.09; real estate, furniture aud fixtures; $4,731.50; current expenses and 
taxes paid, $2,957.87; premiums paid, $8,000; checks and other cash items, 
$881.11; exchanges for clearing house, $51,822.26; bills of other banks, $5,692; 
fractional paper currency, nickels and pennies, $43.44; specie, $82,258.15; 
legal tender notes, $80,000; redemption fund with U. S. treasurer (ft per cent, 
of circulation), $2,250; cash means, $387,518.40; total, $1,046,557.87. Liabil- 
ities Capitalstockpaidin, $200,000; surplus fund, $10,000; undivided profits, 
$17,108.92; national bank notes outstanding, $45,000; individual deposits, sub- 
ject to check, $635,225.53; demand certificates of deposit, $24,869.99; certified 
checks, $2,640.58; cashier's cheeks outstanding, $285.96; due to other national 
banks, $107,917.18; due to state banks and bankers, $3,509.71; total deposits, 
$774,448.95; total, $1,046,557.87. 

Merchants' National Bank. Organized December, 1863 ; capital, $500,- 
000. Preeent officers : Chaimcey J. Blair, president ; Frederick W. Crosby, 
vice-president ; Henry A. Blair, second vice-president ; John C. Neely, 
cashier ; directors, C. J. Blair, William Blair, H. A. Blair, W. F. Blair, M. 
A. Rverson, F. W. Crosby. Statement. Resources: Loans and discounts, 
$6,828,123.15 ; overdrafts, $102.13; United States bonds at par, $50,000; other 
bonds at par, $283,700; banking house and safe deposit vaults, $125,000; due 
from banks and United States Treasurer, $1,585,440.62; coin and currency, 
$3,795, 797.60; total, $12,668,163.50. Liabilities: Capital, $500,000; surplus, 
$1,500,000; undivided profits. $253 483.10; dividends unpaid, $260; deposits, 
$10,414,420.40; total, $12,668,163.50. Location of banking house, 80 and 82 
La Salle street. 

Metropolitan National Bank. Organized May 12, 1884. Present officers: 
E. G. Keith, president; J. L. Woodward, vice president; W. D. Preston, 
cashier; H. II. Hitchcock, assistant cashier. Resources: Loans and discounts, 
$8,899,544.10; overdrafts, $4.893.15, bonds, $167,900; due from banks 
and bankers, $1,620,995.26; cash and checks for clearings, $2,667,229 37. 
Total, $4,456,124.63. Grand total, $13,360,561.88. Liabilities: Capital stock 
paid in, $2,000,000; surplus and undivided profits, $1,111,372.90; national 
bank notes outstanding, $45,000; deposits, $10,204,188.98. Total, $13,- 
360.561.88. Directors: William Deering, A. C. Bartlett, Edson Keith, James 
L. Woodard, W. J. Watson, E, Frankenthal, G. B. Shaw, E. T. Jeffery, 
E. G. Keith, W. D. Preston. Location of banking house, La Salle and 
Madison streets. 



148 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

National Bank of America. Organized January 1, 1883. Present officers: 
Isaac G. Lombard, president ; Morton B. Hull, vice-president; Edward B. 
Lathrop, cashier; Charles A. Tinkham, assistant cashier. Resources: Dis- 
counts and demand loaus, $3,334,154.90; overdrafts, 2,956.27; U. S. 4 per 
cent, bonds, to secure circulation, $50,000; other bonds, $50,000; due 
from other national banks, $525,227.29; due from banks and bankers, $67,- 
370.89; $592,598.18; cash exchanges for clearing house, $231,590.85; cur- 
rency and specie, $1,073,586.57; $1,305,177.42; due from treasurer U. S. 
5 per cent fund, $2,250; due from treasurer U. S. (other than 5 per cent, 
fund), $10,000; $5,347,136.77. Liabilities: Capital stock, $1,000,000; 
surplus fund, $250,000; undivided profits, $59,217.29; circulating notes, 
$44,iOO; dividends unpaid, $86.00; deposits, $3,993.431.48; $5,347,136.77. 
The directors are: William Ruger, Morton B. Hull, William Dickinson, 
Charles M. Henderson, Cyrus H. Adams, John H. Witbeck, Clarence Buck- 
ingham, Isaac G. Lombard, Edward B. Lathrop. Location of banking house 
La Salle and Washington streets. 

National Bank of Illinois. Organized December, 1871. Present officers: 
George Schneider, president; William H. Bradley, vice-president; W. A. 
Hammond, cashier; Carl Moll, assistant cashier; Henry D. Field, 2d assist- 
ant cashier. Resources: Loans and discounts, $7,736,475.44; U. S. bonds to 
secure circulation (4s at par), $50,000; other bonds and stocks, at par, 
$198,760; 5 per cent, redemption fund, $2,250; due from national banks, 
$1,390,733.76; due from banks and bankers, $397,354.99; exchanges for 
clearing house, $679,492.84; cash on hand, $2,043,899.73; $4,511,481.32; 
$12,498,966.76. Liabilities: Capital stcck paid in, $1,000,000; surplus, 
$900,000; undivided profits, $14,487.34; national bank notes outstanding, 
$45,000; dividends unpaid, $442.50; deposits individual, $7,135,158.03; 
deposits banks, $3,303,878.89; total, $10,439,036.92; grand tota], $12,498,- 
966.76. . Directors, S. B. Cobb, Walter L. Peck, William R Page, George 
E. Adams, Charles R. Corwith, C. H. Bradley, Frederick Mahla, R. E. 
Jenkins, Albert A. Hunger, William A. Hammond, George Schneider. 
Location of banking house 111, 113, 115, and 117 Dearborn street. 

National Live Stock Sank. Present officers Levi B. Doud, president; 
George T. Williams, vice-president; Roswell Z. Herrick, cashier. Resources 
Loans and discounts, $2,537,360.36; overdrafts, $7,355.30; U. S. bonds to 
secure circulation, $50,000; other stocks, bonds and mortgages, $49,875; 
Due from other National banks, $1,658,866.19; Due from Stale banks and 
bankers, $197,324.92 $1,856,191.11; Real Estate, furniture and fixtures, 
$3,326.47; current expenses and taxes paid, $83.70; premiums paid, $8,000 ; 
exchanges for clearing-house, $64,019.92; bills of other banks, $11,965; frac- 
tional paper currency," nickels and pennies, $765.97; specie, $200, 397. 50; legal - 
tender notes, $199,600; U. S. certificates of deposit for legal tenders, 1100,000 
$576,739.39; redemption fund with U. S. Treasurer (5 per cent, of circula- 
tion), $2,250; total, $5,091,181.33. Liabilities Capital stock paid in, $750,- 
000; surplus fund, $300,000; undivided profits, $176,742.13; National bank 
notes outstanding, $32,000; dividends unpaid, $1,088; individual deposits 
subject to check, 1,836,071.02; demand certificates of deposit, $332,984.91; 
lime certificates of deposit, $25.00; due to other National banks, $1,363,500.- 
47; due to State banks and bankers, 298,769.80 $3,831,351.20; total, $5,091,- 
181.33. Directors John B. Sherman, Irus Coy, George T. Williams. Levi 
B. Doud, Roswell Z. Herrick, Samuel Cozzens, Daniel G. Brown. At the 




i E 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 149 

last annual meeting of directors the sum of $100,000 was carried to the sur- 
plus fund, now $300,000, while the individual profits reached $37,000. The 
dividends have been 2 per cent, quarterly. At the last meeting of directors, 
held December 29, 1891, $100,000 was carried from profit and loss to surplus 
account, making $400,000 now (spiing of '92) in surplus. Location of bank- 
ng house, Main Stock Yards. 

National Bank of the Republic. Organized August, 1891 ; location of 
banking house, Mailers Building, La Salle st. (After May 1, 1892). Capital 
stock $1,000,000. President, John A. Lynch ; vice-president, A. M. Roths- 
child (cashier), W. T. Fenton. Directors, E. B. Strong (of the late firm of 
Foss, Strong & Co.); A. M. Rothschild (of E. Rothschild & Bros., manufact- 
urers and wholesale clothiers); Alexander Mackay (general freight agent 
Michigan Central R. R.); J. B. Mailers (capitalist); Henry Kerber, of 
Henry Kerber & Son (wholesale stone dealers); J. B. Greenhut (president 
Distilling & Cattle Feeding Co.); Samuel Woolner (capitalist); W. H. 
McDoel (general manager L., N. A. & C. R. R.); John A. Lynch of Thos. 
Lynch & Sons (capitalists), and W. T. Fenton. Comparative statement of 
deposits September 25th, $942,666; December 2d, $1,127,826.61 ; December 
31st, $1,206.296.25; January 18th, 1892, $1,307,112.06. Though one of the 
youngest, this is looked upon as being one of the strongest banks in the 
city. 

Northwestern National Bank. Organized August, 1864. Present officers 
-^E. Buckingham, president; W. F. Dummer, vice-president; F. W. Gookin, 
cashier; F. W. Griffin, assistant cashier. Resources Loans and discounts, 
$3,344,595.94; overdrafts, $2,384.60; U. S. bonds to secure circulation (4 per 
cents), $200,000; U. S. bonds to secure deposits (4 per cents), $300,000; other 
stock, bonds and mortgages, $93,091.96; due from other National banks, 
$492,510.54; due from State banks and bankers, $34,315.13 $526,825.67; 
checks and other cash items, $358.06; exchangesfor clearing-house, $290,838,- 
02; bills of o'her banks, $9,790; fractional paper currency, nickels, and pen- 
nies, $307.57; specie, $639,772.41; legal-tender notes, $307,017 $1,248,083.06; 
redemption fund with U. S. Treasurer (5 per cent, of circulation), $9,000; 
total, $5,723,981.23. Liabilities Capital stock paid in, $1,000,000; surplus 
fund, $500,000; undivided profits, $100,606.32; National bank notes outstand- 
ing, $115,045; individual deposits subject to check, $1,684,572.36; demand 
certificates of deposit, $43,628.40; certified checks, $45.417.78; cashier's 
checks outstanding. $50,190; United States deposits, $282,499.22; deposits of 
U. S. disbursing officers, $14,238.72; due to other National banks, $938,105.- 
30; due to State banks and bankers, $949,678.13 $4,008,329.91; total, $5,723,- 
981.23. Directors Ebenezer Buckingham, Edward E. Ayer, William F. 
Dummer, Marshall M. Kirkman and Franklin H. Head. Location of banking 
house, La Salle and Adams Streets. 

Oakland National Bank. Officers: President, Horace B. Taylor; vice- 
president, Arthur W. Allyn; cashier, J. J. Knight. Directors: John R. 
Walsh, Horace B Taylor, D. Harry Hammer, J. J. Knight, Arthur W. 
Allyn, William A. Hammond, D. H. Kochersperger. 

Prairie State National Bank. Officers: President, James W. Scoville; 
vice-president, George Woodland; cashier, George Van Zandt. Directors 
B. F. Homer, William Hafner, H. J. Evans, George Woodland, M. C. Bul- 
lock, George Van Zandt, Jamei W. Scoville. 



150 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

Union National Bank. Organized December, 1863. Present officers 
John J. P. Odell, president; David Kelley, vice president; August Blum, 
cashier; W. O. Hipwell, assistant cashier. Resources Loans and discounts, 
$6,210,437.71; United States bonds to secure circulation, par value, $50,- 
000; other stocks, bonds and mortgages, $831,225.09; furniture, fix- 
tures and real estate, $11,500; due from banks, $1,579.525 94; exchanges 
for clearing house $733,760.21; cash, $1,931,548.60 $4,244, 834.75; due from 
United States treasurer, $10,250; total $11,358,247.55. Liabilities: Capital 
stock, paid in, $2,000,000; surplus, fund, $700,000; undivided profits, $80,- 
640 79; reserved for taxes, $37,662.74; national bank notes outstanding, 
$44,100; deposits, individual, $4,055,088.38; deposits, banks, *4, 440,755. 64; 
$8,495,844.02; Total, $11,358,247.55. The directors are C. R. Cummiogs, 
J. H. Barker, H. N. May, David Kelley, O. C. Barber, S. K. Martin, S. B. 
Barker, D. B. Dewey, J. J. P. Odell. The Union National has been especially 
favored in having had for its presidents some of Chicago's ablest and most 
experienced financiers, and to this is mostly due the bank's prompt rush 
to the front line of the city banks and its maintenance of that position 
for so many years. The first president was William F. Coolbaugh, -who at 
his death, which occurred in November, 1877, was succeeded by Calvin T. 
"Wheeler. On the expiration of its original charter December 30, 1884, the 
Union National Bank was re-organized, and under its new charter, W. C. D. 
Grannis was chosen president, and J. J. P. Odell, vice-president. Mr. C. 
R. Cummings was made president in 1886, but took no active part in the 
management of the bank. Upon his retirement Mr. J. J. P. Odell became 
president, and has continued in that position up to the present date. Mr. 
Odell has been identified with the banking business of Chicago since 1865, 
and for twenty-four years has been connected with the Union National, hav- 
ing entered its service in 1866, as bookkeeper, and in the interval filled 
almost every intermediate position of responsibility in the bank. In 
amount of deposits the place of the Union National at the present time is in 
the second group averaging $9,750,000. Location of banking house, north- 
east corner of La Salleand Adams streets, Home Insurance building. 

BANKING INSTITUTIONS STATE AND PRIVATE. 

Adolph Loeb & Bro., Bankers. Established over thirty-three years ago, 
since which time the house has been doing an extensive mortgage loan, real 
estateand general banking business. The house was founded by Adolph Loeb, 
and shortly afterward he associated with himself his brother "William. Two 
years ago Julius Loeb and Edward G. Pauling were admitted into the firm. 
Loeb & Bro. are bankers of large capital and the very highest standing in 
Chicago commercial circles. 

Avenue Savings Bank. Location Thirty-first street and Michigan avenue. 
This institution is owned by George L. Magill, its president, and Louis Krame, 
its cashier. It pays interest to savings depositors. 

American Trust and Savings Bank. Organized under the laws of the 
State of Illinois, 1889; capital, $1,000,000; surplus, $150,000. Present 
officers G. B. Shaw, president Franklin H. Head, vice-president; J. R. 
Chapman, cashier; W. L. Moyer, assistant cashier. Directors: William J. 
Watson, T. W. Harvey, Adolph Kraiis, Franklin H. Head, S. A. Maxwell, 
J. H. Pearson, C. T. Trego, Ferd W. Peck, William Deeriug, G. B. Shaw, 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 151 

V. A. Watkins, E. L. Lobdell, C. T. Nash, Joy Morton, George E. Wood, 
William Kent, S. A. Kent. Location of banking house, Owings building, 
Dearborn and Adams streets. 

Bank of Commerce. Incorporated March 9, 1891, aa successor to the 
private banking house of Felsenthal, Gross & Miller ; capital stock paid up, 
$500,000. Location, 108 La Salle street. The business 'of the private bank 
had increased so that the firm feit it incumbent on them to join the clearing 
house, and consequently increased their capital to the required amount, 
$500,000. The officers of the State Bank of Illinois are among the most sub- 
stantial and reputable citizens of Chicago. Herman Felsenthal, president; 
Jacob Gross, vice-president ; Fred Miller, cashier. Directors : Adam Miller, 
Jacob Gross, Herman Felsenthal, Adolph Loeb, S. M. Fischer, Jacob Birk, 
K. G. Schmidt. L. Loewenstein, Samuel Woolner, Charles F. Miller, Eli B. 
Telsenthal, Morris Beifeld, Jacob Spielmann. 

Bank of Montreal. William Monroe, manager; E. M. Shadbolt, assistant 
cashier. 

Cahn and Strauss, Bunkers. Do a general commercial business, making 
specialties of government bonds, local securities and foreign exchange. 
Location of banking house, 128 La Salle street. 

Central Trust and Savings .Ban*. Present location Washington st. and 
Fifth avenue. Cost Capital, $200,000. In banking department receives 
deposits subject to check. In savings department receives deposits of $1.00 
and upward, 4 percent per annum. 'Officers : William A. Paulten, 1st vice- 
president ; F. P. Burgett, 2d vice-president; Charles Sparre, cashier. 
Directors . Wm. A. Paulsen, late of Paulsen & Sparre, Bankers ; Chas. 
Sparre, late of Paulsen & Sparre, Bankers ; E. Jennings, Pres. of E. Jennings 
Co. ; Frank A. Smith, Manufacturer ; W. A. Mason, of Jas. H. Walker & 
Co., Dry Goods; W. M. R. Vose, Real Estate and Loans ; Jas. Frake, Attor- 
ney ; James H. Channon, of H. Channon Co., Ship Chandlers ; Win. Hill, 
Mortgage Loans; J. W. Byers. Com. Merchant, Stock Yards; Gorham B. 
Coffin, of Coffin Devoe & Co., Paints. [The building at present occupied by 
this bank is to be torn down Future location unknown ^ this writing.] 

diaries Henrotin, Banker and Broker. One of the founders of the Chi- 
cago Stock Exchange, and one of the heaviest brokers in local and outside 
stocks in Chicago. A promoter of some of the largest enterprises of the 
times. Location of banking house, 169 Dearborn street. 

Chicago Trust and Savings Bank. Under the supervision of the State of 
Illinois, organized May, 1885; capital paid in, $400,000 Present officers D. 
H. Tolman, president; P. E. Jennison, cashier. Location of banking house, 
northeast corner of Washington and Clark sts. [N. B. This banking house 
has been the subject of a vast amount of most unfavorable criticism. Its 
president, D. H. Tolman, has been frequently charged with, and sued in the 
courts for, alleged unfairness in business and sharp practice in dealing with 
his clients.] 

Corn Exchange Sink. Organized 1872. re-organized 1879; capital, 
$1,000000; surplus, $1.000,000. Present officers Charles L. Hutchinson, 
president; Ernest A. Hamill, vice-president; Frank W. Smith, cashier. 
Directors Charles L. Hutchinson, Byron L. Smith, Charles Counsolman, 
Sidney A. lOnt. John H. Dwight, Edwin G. Foreman, Ernest A. Hamill, 
Charles H. VVacker, B. M. Frees, Charles H. Schwab. Edward B Butler. 



152 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

The Corn Exchange is one of the great banking houses of the city, and for 
over eighteen years has ranked among the leading financial institutions of 
the West. Location of banking house, Rookery building, Adams and La 
Salle streets. 

Dime Savings Bank. Organized under State supervision ; incorporated 
April, 1869. Present officers Samuel G. Bailey, president, merchant ; 
W. C. D. Grannis, vice-president, president Atlas National bank ; Eugene 
Gary, insurance, Rialto building ; C. B. Farwell, merchant and United 
States Senator; A. R. Barnes, printer, 68 and 70 Wabash avenue; W. M. 
Van Nort wick, paper manufacturer, Batavia, 111.; L. R. Giddings, mortgages, 
Chamber of Commerce buildiag; G. P. Swift, packer, Union Stock Yards; 
Wm. Kelsey Reed, treasurer. This is exclusively a savings bank, and ranks 
high among Chicago's financial institutions. Location of banking house and 
safety vaults, 104-106 Washington street. 

E. S. Dreyer & Co., Bankers. Established over twenty years ago, and 
one of the leading banking houses of the city. The firm is composed of E. S. 
Dreyer and Robert Berger. A specialty is made of mortgage loans, though 
the house does a general banking business. Location, northeast corner of 
Dearborn and Washington sts. 

Farmers' Trust Company. Present officers R. Sayer, president; Josiah 
L. Lombard, vice-president and treasurer. Capital $100,000. Location of 
banking house, 112 Dearborn street. 

Foreman Bros., Bankers. Pounded thirty years ago, by the father of the 
present proprietors of the house, Edwin G. Foreman and Oscar G. Foreman. 
A banking institution that has maintained a high standing through the ad- 
verse as well as prosperous times in Chicago history, for over a quarter of a 
century. Foreman Bros, receive deposits, buy and sell martgages and other 
investment securities, and make a specialty of loanson real estate. Location 
of banking house, 128 and 130 Washington St., near Chamber of Commerce, 
opposite City Hall. 

Globe Savings Bank. Organized 1890 Capital paid in $200,000. Savings 
accounts bear interest at 4 per cent, per annum. Four interest days each 
year January 1^: April 1st, July 1st, October 1st. Deposits on or before 
the 4th of the month bear interest from the 1st. C. W. Spalding, president; 
Edward Hayes, vic-president; J. P. Atgeld, second vice-president; W. S. 
Loomis, assistant cashier. 

(Greenebaum Sons, Binkers. Founded by EHas Greenebaum thirty-seven 
years ago. The present firm consists of Elias Greenbaum, H. E. Greenebaum, 
M. E. Greenebaum and James E. Greenebaum. The house transacts a very 
large banking business and makes a specialty of loans and real estate. The 
bank occupies the main floor of 116 and 118 Lasalle street, Mercantile build- 
ing. Greenebaum Sons' bank has occupied an important place in the growth 
and development of the city. Thousands of buildings, from the neat resi- 
dence to the business block, have been erected primarily by funds obtained 
through this firm. Drafts and letters of credit issued on all European cities. 

Guarantee Company of North America. Head office, Montreal, Canada. 
Chicago directors L. J. Gage, vice-president, First National Bank; R. R. Cable, 
president C., R. I. & P. R. R.; the Hon. J. Russell Jones, ex-president 
West Side Ry.; C. T. Wheeler, ex-president Continental National Bank; E. 
Nelson Blake, ex-president Board of Trade. Capital and resources, $1,079 - 
574. Office, 175 La Sail* street. 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 153 

Hibernian Banking Association. Organized 1867. One of the most sub- 
stantial banking houses inthecity; capital, $222,000 ; undivided profits, $293,- 
095.81. Present officers J. V. Clarke, president ; Charles F. Clark, vice- 
president ; Hamilton B. Dox, cashier. Directors J. V. Clarke, Hamilton B. 
Dox, James R. McKay, Henry B. Clarke, Thomas Lonergan, Charles F. 
Clark, J. V. Clarke, Jr. , Louis B. Clark. Location of banking house, Clark 
and Lake streets. 

Illinois Trust and Savings Bank. Organized under the laws of the State 
of Illinois, August, 1887. Capital stock paid in, $1,000,000; surplus, $1,000,- 
000; additional liabilities of its stockholders, $1,000,000; total amount pledged 
for the security of depositors, $3,000,000. Present officers John J. Mitchell, 
president; John B. Drake, vice-president; William H. Mitchell, 3d vice-presi- 
dent; W. H. Reid, 3d vice-president; James S. Gibbs, cashier; B. M. Chattel, 
assistant cashier. Directors L. Z. Leiter, William G. Hibbard, John B. 
Drake, John J. Mitchell, John McCaffery, J. C. McMullin, W. H. Reid, 
William H. Mitchell, D. B. Shipman. Among the stockholders of the bank 
are the wealthiest capitalists and merchants of Chicago, including L.Z. Leiter, 
J. Russell Jones, Marshall Field, Albert Keep, Philip D. Armour, Robert 
Law, J. C. McMullin. Following is a statement of the bank's resources and 
liabilities: Resources Bonds and stocks, $1,440,816.50; real estate, $26,291.34; 
current expenses paid, $25,314.61; cash and exchange, $2,856,178.05; loans on 
demand, $8,155,679.21; loans on time, $1,943,152.25; loans on real estate, 
$1,817,193.32; total, $16,264,625.28. Liabilities Capital stock, $1,000,000; 
surplus fund, $788,916.20; undivided profits, $275,737.58; dividends unpaid, 
$3,500; time deposits, $7,699,740.73; demand deposits, $6,496,730.77; total, 
$16,264,625.28. The bank has savings, commercial safety deposit and trust 
departments. Location of banking house, Rookery building, southeast 
corner of La Salle and Adams streets. 

Industrial Bank of Chicago. Location, Blue Island avenue and Twentieth 
streets. A savings and commercial institution. President, A. L. Chetlain; 
first vice-president, Louis Hutt; second vice president, B. M. Hair; cashier, 
John G. Schaar; assistant cashier, J. E. Henriques. Directors : Louis Hutt, 
A. H. Andrews, W. O. Goodman, B. M. Hair, John G. Schaar, A. L. Chet- 
lain, John McLaren, H. D. Cable and P. G. Dodge. 

The idea of establishing this new bank originated with the leading manu- 
facturers and lumbermen in that district, which is known as the lumber dis- 
trict, embracing the territory south of the Burlington tracks and as far west 
as the Belt Line. It is the most important industrial district in Chicago, 
located three miles southwest from the business center, and has a population 
of 50,000. The need of a bank there has long been felt by the manufacturers 
and business men. The annual output of the district, including lumber and 
the product of the various important manufacturing interests there located, 
amounts to over $30,000,000, while there is paid in wages to skilled and 
unskilled labor between $7,000,000 and $9,000,000 a year. 

The new bank will do a general banking business, will sell foreign and 
domestic exchange, steamship tickets of all classes to all points in Europe, 
issue letters of credit and accept savings accounts. General A. L. Chetlain, 
an old and respected citizen of Chicago, is the president of the new institu- 
tion; Louis Hutt, the well-known lumberman, is the firstvice-president; B. M. 
Hair, of Hair & Ridgway, the second vice-president; John G. Schaar, the 
cashier, and J. E. Henriques, the assistant cashier. Besides General Chetlain, 



154 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

Messrs. Hutt and Hair and Cashier Schaar, the directors are: W. O. Good- 
man, of the Sawyer-Goodman Co.; A. H. Andrews, of A. II. Andrews & Co.; 
John McLaren, of John Mason, Loomis & Co.; H. D. Cable, president of the 
Chicago Cottage Organ Company, and P. G. Dodge, of P. G. Dodge & Co. 

The high character of the men who have the management of the new bank 
is a sufficient guarantee that its affairs will be administered wisely, and that 
it will be conducted on business principles. 

The elegant fire-proof building now being built for this bank will be ready 
for them about May 1st, and will contain one of the finest safety vaults in the 
city. 

International Bank. Organized October 21, 1868, as the International 
Mutual Trust Company, and was changed to its present name in 1871. The 
first officers were Prances A. Hoffman, president; Julius Busch, vice-presi- 
dent; aucl Rudolph Schloesser, cashier. Present officers B. Loewenthal, 
president; Leo Fox, vice-president; Bernhard Neu, cashier. Mr. Lowenthal, 
the president, became connected with the bank in 1870. Capital, $500,000; 
surplus, January 1, 1892, $125,000. Directors John Kranz, Louis Wamboldj, 
August Bauer, B. New, Ed. Rose, Michael Brand, B. Lowenthal and Leo Fox. 
Besides doing a general banking business, the International Bank issues cir- 
cular letters of credits, and draws drafts on' all parts of the world. The stand- 
ing of the International is first-class. Banking house located at 110 La Salle 
street. 

Meadowcroft Bros. , Bankers. Established 1860. Located at the northwest 
corner of Dearborn and Washington streets. This banking house offers 
every facility for individuals or merchants who contemplate opening an 
account or making changes. Aside from the ordinary conveniences of hav- 
ing banking connections, the depositor can make his selection from different 
classes of deposit contracts, either certificates bearing interest or special de- 
posits with interest. Those desiring safe investment for their funds can be 
supplied with good real estate securities, or have orders for any bonds or 
stocks executed. The bank is enabled to offer the advantages of European 
correspondents both in buying and selling. Location of banking house, 
northwest corner of Dearborn and Washington sts. 

Merchant's Loan and Trust Company. Organized under the laws of the 
State of Illinois in 1857. Capital, $2,000,000; surplus, $1,000,000; undivided 
profits, $613,430. The trustees are Marshall Field, C. H. McCormick, John 
DeKoven, Albert Keep, John Tyrrell, Lambert Tree, J. W. Doane, P. L. 
Yoe, George M. Pullman, A. H. Burley, E. T. Watkins, Erskine M. Phelps, 
Orson Smith. Present officers J. W. Doaue, president; P. L. Yoe, vice- 
president; Orson Smith, second vice-president; F. C. Osborn, cashier. 
This is the oldest and one of the greatest banking houses in Chicago. 
" Long" John Wentworth was one of the original incorporators, and through- 
out the latter part of his life was active in the banks's interest. The Mer- 
chants' Loan and Trust Company does the general work of a modern Trust 
company and that of a bank of discount as well. 

Milwaukee Avenue State Bank. Location Milwaukee Avenue and Car- 
penter street. Take Milwaukee avenue cable line. Capital, $250,000. 
Successor to the banking house of Paul O. Stensland & Co., the leading 
financial institution of the northwestern section of the city. The former 
bank had built up a very large business with the tradespeople of Milwaukee 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 155 

avenue 011 the great manufacturing concerns contiguous to that important 
thoroughfare. For this reason it became necessary to increase its capital 
stock and facilities, and an organization under the State banking laws WHS 
effected on September 15, 1891, when the Milwaukee Avenue State Bank was 
incorporated. The officers of the bank are, president, Paul O. Stensland; 
vice-president, Andrew C. Lausten; cashier, Charles E. Schlytern; attorney, 
Donald L. Morill. Directors John P. Hanson, F. H. Herhold, William 
Johnson, M. A. LaBuy, A. C. Lausten, John McLaren, Thomas G. Morris, 
John Schermann, John Smulski, Paul O. Stensland and Spren D. Thorson. 
The stockholders are all representative business and professional men. 
Among the more prominent are: Franklin S. Anderson, of John Anderson 
Publishing Co. ; John P. Hansen, cigar manufacturer; F. Herhold & Sons, 
chair manufacturers; A. J. Johnson & Sons, furniture manufacturers ; William 
Johnson, Vessel owner; Peter Kiolbassa, city treasurer; Andrew C Lausten, 
president Northwestern Lead & Oil Co.; Richard Prendergast, attorney; 
Morris Rosenfeld, capitalist; Jesse Spalding, president Spalding Lumber 
Co.; Paul O. Stensland, Soren D. Thorson, of Central Manufacturing Co, 
and John R. Walsh, president Chicago National Bank. The following 
figures show the condition of the business of the bank in January of the 
present year. Assets; loans and discounts, $458,869.16; furniture, fixtures 
and lease, $10,201.50; due from banks, $83,250.29; cash on hand, $56,163.71; 
total, $608,484.66. Liabilities: capital stock, $250,000; undivided profits, 
$5,237.03; individual deposits, $216 393.08; savings deposits, $136,853.95; 
total, $353,24f .63; grand total, $608,484.66. 

This bank does a general business and in addition has a savings depart- 
ment. Teachers, clerks, artisans and wage-workers generally, will fiud'this 
a convenient and safe place for their savings. Deposits received in this 
department in amojints of one dollar and upwards, and interest allowed at 
the usual rates. This bank sells exchange and money orders on foreign 
countries at the lowest market rates. Drafts, payable on demand, drawn on 
all principal cities in Europe, and remittances made to any address without 
risk to the purchaser. Foreign money bought and sold. Connected with 
this bank are the Milvtaukee avenue Safe Deposit Vaults, where private 
boxes for the safe keeping of documents and other valuables, are rented at 
$5.00 per year. Entrance through the bank. The high standing and popu- 
larity of the president of the bank in his capacity of a private citizen, brings 
to the institution, of which he is the head, the confidence of the public. Mr. 
Stensland'g time is given almost wholly to the conduct of this institution, and 
it gives promise of ranking among the great banking houses of the city before 
very long. 

Northern Trust Company. Organized under the jurisdiction and super- 
vision of the State of Illinois, August, 1889. Capital fully paid in $1,000,- 
000. Present officers B. L. Smith, president;. Charles L. Hutchinson, vice- 
presi'dent; Arthur Heurtle}', cashier; Frank L. Hawkey, assistant cashier. 
Directors A. C. Bartlett, J. Harley Bradley, II. N. Higinbotham, Marvin 
Hughitt, Charles L. Hutchinson, A. O. Slaughter, Martin A. Ryerson, 
Albert A. Sprague, B. L. Smith. Location of banking house, Chamber of 
Commerce building, southeast corner of Washington and La Salle streets. 

Peabody, Houghteling & Co., 59 Dearborn street, Investment Bankers. 
Some years before the great fire of 1871 the extensive business done by this 
firm in mortgage loans upon real estate in Cook county had its origin Mr. 



156 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

Benjamin E. Gallup was associated with Mr. Peabody in the business, under 
the firm name of Gallup & Peabody, until 1875 or 1876. The firm earned a 
high reputation for ability and conservatism, and enjoyed the confidence of a 
large list of investors. From and after January, 1876, Mr. Gallup's connec- 
tion with the business having terminated, the business was conducted under 
the firm name of Francis B. Peabody & Co. Mr. James L. Houghteling 
became a partner in the business January 1, 1885, and since the name of the 
house has been as indicated in the caption of this sketch. Their business has 
kept pace with the growth of the city, and they are now reputed to do the 
leading business in mortgage loans in this city. 

They are known to exercise the greatest care in the valuations of real 
estate offered for loans, in the examination of title and in ascertaining the 
character and responsibility of borrowers. By reason of their long expe- 
rience, fair dealing, promptness and available capital, they are enabled in all 
conditions of the money market to select the best securities and to deal with 
the most responsible class of borrowers. They have contributed very largely 
in making loans upon Chicago property the most popular and desirable of 
investments. 

Their clientage, already very extensive, is rapidly growing, and embraces 
some of the most prominent financial and educational institutions, both in the 
East and in Chicago. The first mortgages (principal and interest payable in 
gold) they have constantly in hand are bought largely for the investment of 
trust funds, where safety and a fair rate of interest can be combined. 

Peterson & Bay, Bankers. Established 1873. Andrew Peterson and Geo. 
P. Bay, owners; deal in investment securities, foreign exchange, mortgage 
loans, make collections and do a general real estate business. Location of 
banking house Southwest corner La Salleand Randolph sts. 

Prairie State Savings and Trust Company. Organized February 22, 1861, 
with a capital of $100,000 ; increased to $200,000 October 8, 1890 ; present 
officers, Charles B. Scoville, president ; George Van Zandt, vice-president ; 
George Woodland, cashier. Location of banking house 45 South Des- 
plaines st. 

Pullman Loan and Savings Bank. Located at Pullman. Chicago. 
Officers: George M. Pullman, president: Edward F. Bryant, secretary; 
directors, Geoige M. Pullman, Marshall Field, Stephen F. Gale, John W. 
Doane, Geo. F. Brown, C. R. Cummings, John De Koven, G. Vandersyde 
and James Chase. Statement of condition, January 1, 1892: Resources: 
Loans and discounts, $509,982.69 ; due from banks and depositories, $192,- 
926 26; real estate, furniture and fixtures, $2.827.82; cash, $48,939.74. Total 
resources, $754,676.51. Liabilities: Capita], $100,000; surplus, $50,000; profit 
and loss, $7,449.16; dividend unpaid, $3,000; deposits, commercial, $174,- 
598.34; deposits, savings, $419.629.01. Total liabilities, $754,676.51. 

Slaughter, A. 0. & Co. Located at 111-113 La Salle street (Chamber of 
Commerce building); A. O. Slaughter and William V. Baker, proprietors. 
Mr. Slaughter has been in business here for over twenty-five years, and is 
considered the best informed authority on railroad bonds and stocks in the 
city. Mr. Baker is of the old firm of Baker & Parmele, which started as 
bankers and brokers in 1886. Mr. Parmele died in May, 1890. The firm of 
A. O. Slaughter & Co. was established in July, 1890. This house ranks 
among the most solid and reliable institutions of Chicago. Mr. Slaughter's 
prominence in social and business circles is indicative of the high estimation 



CHICAGO AS IT IS. 157 

in which he is held on all sides. Mr. Baker takes a foremost position among 
the skillful bank executives of the city. The management of the finances of 
many great enterprises and of many great estates has been intrusted to this 
"firm during recent years. It is considered one of the most, carefully conducted 
private banking establishments in the country. 

Scliaffner & Co., Bankers. Established January, 1878. One of the 
largest and most responsible private banking houses in the country. Herman 
Schaffner and A. G. Becker, proprietors and managers. Makes a specialty of 
handling commercial paper and dealing with manufacturing and business 
firms. Annual business transacted, about $35,000,000. Its business is confined 
to the securities and paper of this country, but it has extensive foreign deal- 
ings as well. The firm has few equals in the amount of the actual moneyed 
transactions made in any of the Eastern cities. The successful handling of 
the immense amount of paper as shown by a single year's business, is as 
highly gratifying as it is commendatory of the financial ability and acumen of 
the members of the firm. 

Security, Loan and Savings Bank. Organized August, 1886. Capital, 
$100,000. Present officers E. R. Walker, president; D. Rankin, cashier. 
Location of banking house, 127 La Kalle Street. 

State Bank of Chicago. Located at the northeast corner of La Salle and 
Lake streets (Marine building). Formerly the private banking house of Hau- 
gan & Lindgren, established originally 1879. New bank established February 
10,1891. Cash capital, $500,000. Officers: H. A. Haugan, president; John H. 
Dwight, vice-president; John R. Lindgren, cashier. Directors: Thomas 
Murdoch, A. P. Johnson, H. C. Durand, A. Jurgens, J. M. Larimer, Charles 
L. Hutchinson, Theo. Freeman, John H. Dwight, P. 8. Peterson, H. A. 
Haugan, John R. Lindgren. The last report of the bank shows the following 
as its condition Dec. 31, 1891: Loans and discounts, $1,543,957.69; bonds. 
$12,992.47; furniture and fixtures. $5,800; cash and due from banks, $503,- 
589.01; total resources, ($2,066,339.17; liabilities cash capital, $500,000; 
undivided profits, $50,868.37; deposits, $1,515,470.80; total liabilities. $2,066,- 
339.17. 

Union Trust Company. Organized under the laws of the State of Illinois, 
April 20, 1870. Present officers S. W. Rawson, president; E. F. Pulsifer, 
vice-president; G. M. Wilson, cashier; F. L. Wilk, assistant cashier. J. H. 
Pearson and James Longley , in addition to the above, constitute the Directory. 
Capital and surplus, $1,000,000. Location of banking house, northeast 
corner of Madison and Dearborn streets. 

Western Trust and Savings Bank. Organized under the name of 
Western Investment Bank, in 1884. Reorganized under its present name, 
January, 1890. Present officers William Holgate, president; E. Jennings, 
vice-president; William P. Kimball, second vice-president. Capital, $100,- 
000. Location of banking house, Washington street and Fifth ave. 

CEMETERIES. 

There are many beautiful burying grounds within the present corporate 
limits of the city, and in the immediate suburbs. There are no old grave- 
yards, or church-yards, such as may be seen in the cities and towns of Europe, 
or in the older cities of this continent, within the business district. The 
only remains of a cemetery to be seen in the old city is the tomb of the Couch 
family, which still holds its place in Lincoln Park, a great portion of whiqh 



158 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

covers the site of an old graveyard. [See Lincoln Park.] There are no 
church-yards in existence in any part of the West. The different ceme- 
teries, together with the means of reaching them, are pointed out below. 

Anshe Maariv Cemetery. Located at North Clark st. and Belmont ave. 
Take Evanston Division of Chicago, Milwaukee *fc St. Paul railroad or 
North Clark st. cable line. 

Austro- Hungarian Cemetery. Located at Waldheim, 10 miles from the 
City Hall. Take train at Grand Central depot, via Chicago and Northern 
Pacific railroad. Train leaves at 12:01 p. m. daily, including Sundays, run 
ning direct to the new cemetery station, immediately adjoining Waldheim, 
Forest Home and the Jewish Cemeteries. [See Waldheim Cemetery.] 

Beth Hamedrash Cemetery. Located at Oakwoods, Sixty-seventh st. and 
Cottage Grove ave. Take Cottage Grove ave. cable line or Illinois Central 
train, foot of Randolph or Van Buren st. [See Oakwoods Cemetery.] 

B'nai Abraham Cemetery. Located one-half mile south of Waldheim, 
nine and one-half miles from the City Hall. Take train at Grand Central 
depot, via Chicago and Northern Pacific railroad. Trains leave at 12:01 
daily, including Sundays. [See Waldheim Cemetery.] 

B'nai Shilom Cemetery. Located on North Clark st. and Graceland ave. 
Take North Clark st. cable line, or Evanston Division of Chicago, Milwau- 
kee & St. Paul railroad. 

Calvary Cemetery. Located south of and adjoining the village of South 
Evanston, ten- miles from the City Hall. Take train at Wells St. depot, via 
Chicago & North-Western railway, or at Union depot, via Evanston Division 
of Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul railroad. This is the largest and oldest 
of the Roman Catholic cemeteries. It is situated beautifully,, fronting Sheri- 
dan road and Lake Michigan. The cemetery is laid out with great taste. 
There are many costly and handsome tombs and monuments to be seen here. 
Among the latter is one erected to the memory of Colonel Mulligan, the hero 
of Lexington. The tombs of the leading Roman Catholic families of Chicago 
are located here. This burying ground was consecrated in 1861. The inter- 
ments have exceeded 25,000. Trains leave on both lines for Calvary at brief 
intervals daily, including Sundays. 

Cemetery of tJie Congregation of the North Side. Located at Waldheim, 
ten miles from the City Hail. Take train at Grand Central depot, via 
Chicago & Northern Pacific railroad. Trains leave at 12:01 daily, including 
Sundays. 

Chebra Gemilath Chasadim Ubikar Cholim Cemetery. Located on N. 
Clark st., south of Graceland Cemetery. Take train on Evanston Division of 
Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul railroad, or N. Clark street cable line. [See 
Gracelanu Cemetery.] 

Chebra KadistM Ubikar Cholim Cemetery. Located on N. Clark st., south 
of Graceland Cemetery. .Take train on Evanston Division of Chicago, Mil- 
waukee & St. Paul railroad, or N. Clark street cable line. [See Graoeland 
Cemetery.] 

Coneordia Cemetery. Located about nine miles west of the City Hall on 
Madison st. , beside the Desplaines river. [See Forest Home Cemetery.] 

Forest Home Cemetery. Located about nine miles west of the City Hall 
on Madison st., beside the Desplaines river. Coneordia Cemetery adjoins 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 159 

this burying ground. Take train at Grand Central depot, via Chicago & 
Northern Pacific railroad. Its eighty acres comprise a portion of the giound 
once constituting Haase's park, a noted resort of its day. This cemetery i 
beautifully situated and laid out with great taste. The interments in Forest 
Home Cemetery and Concordia Cemetery combined have numbered about 
15,000. 

Free Sons of Israel Cemetery. Located at Waldheim, ten miles from the 
City Hall. Take train at Grand Central depot, via Chicago & Northern 
Pacific railroad. [See Waldheim Cemetery.] 

German Lutheran Cemetery. Located on N. Clark St., se. cor. of Grace- 
land ave. Take N. Clark street cable line. This cemetery belongs to the St. 
Paul and Emauuel Luthern Churches. 

Graceland Cemetery. Located on North Clark street, five miles from the 
City Hall. Take train at Union depot, via Evanston Division Chicago, Mil- 
waukee 3TSt. Paul railroad for Buena Park, the beautiful station of which 
suburb faces the main entrance of the cemetery, or take the North Clark street 
cable line. Better still, the visitor will enjoy a magnificent carriage*ride by 
way of the North Side Water Works, Lake Shore Drive, Lincoln Park, 
through Lake View and some of the most charming of the Northern suburbs, 
to this cemetery. The Graceland Cemetery Company was organized under a 
special charter in 1861. William B. Ogden, Edwin H. Sheldon, Thomas B. 
Bryan, Sidney Sawyer, and George A. Healy being the first incorporators. 
The charter confers ample powers for the maintenance and preservation of 
the cemetery. All burial lots are declared exempt from taxation, and from 
execution and attachment; no street or thoroughfare can be laid out through 
the cemetery; nor can any part of the grounds be condemned for right of way 
by any other corporation for any purpose whatever. Under the charter ten 
per cent, of the gross proceeds of all sales of burial lots are set apart as a sink- 
ing fund for the perpetual maintenance of the cemetery grounds. This fund 
is held and managed by trustees elected by the lot holders, and is under their 
sole control. These trustees are also authorized to take any grant or bequest 
in trust, and to apply the same in such manner as the donor or testator may 
prescribe, for the care or embellishment of anj r particular lots. Save for the 
building of a receiving vault, nothing has been taken from the general sink- 
ing fund during thirty years; and this fund at the past rate of increase will, 
within a few years, reach $250,000; which sum the trustees propose to retain 
as a permanent capital, whereof the income shall be devoted to the purposes 
of their trust. The trustees of this fund will be recognized as amoni> Chi- 
cago's most prominent and honored citizens, viz.: William Blair, J. W. 
McGenniss, Daniel Thompson, E. W. Blatchford, George C. Walker, Hiram 
Wheeler, Edwin II. Sheldon, Jerome Beecher, A. J. Averill, John De 
Koven, Henry W. King; Hiram Wheeler, president: Edwin H. Sheldon, vice- 
president; Jerome Beecher, treasurer; George C. Walker, secretary. The 
site of Graceland is admirably adapted for a burial ground. It extends for 
a mile along an elevated and handsome ridge, whose natural beauty has 
been enhanced by every appliance of taste and -art. The superintendent, 
O. C. Simonds, is an accomplished landscape gardener and civil engin- 
eer, and under his direction Graceland will bear comparison with any 
cemetery in the United States. Stone coping, hedges and side-paths are 
dispensed with. The entire planting is done under the direction of the 
superintendent, and each section resembles a beautiful lawn covered with 



160 GUIDE 1O CHICAGO. 

green turf and dotted with shrubs and graceful trees. In this City of the 
Dead the voices of Nature breathe comfort into the hearts of the sorrowful, 
and whisper of hope and consolation. The cemetery has become a gardea 
whose beauty renders less sombre the solemn associations of the tomb. If the 
mourner sees in the flowers which are laid upon the new-made grave an 
emblem of the cherished form which is buried from his sight, he also sees in 
the blossoms which bloom around him the emblem of its resurretion. 

Hebrew Benevolent Society Cemetery. Located South of Graceland Ceme- 
tery and may be reached in a similar manner. 

Moses Montefiore Cemetery. Located at Waldheim, ten miles from the 
City Hall. [See Waldheim Cemetery.] 

Mount Greenwood Cemetery. Located one-half mile west of Morgan 
Park, a suburb, fourteen miles south of the City Hall. Take trains at the Van 
Buren Street depot, via Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific railway. 

Mount Hope Cemetery. Projected; to be located at Washington Heights, 
south of the city. 

Mount Olive Cemetery. Located at Dunning, nine miles west of the City 
Hall. Take train at Union depot, via Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul rail- 
road. This is a beautiful cemetery and is the burying-place of Scandinavian 
families. The secretary and treasurer is Mr. Paul O. Stensland. 

Mount Olivet Cemetery. Located one-half mile west of the suburb of 
Morgan Park. Take train at Dearborn station, via Chicago & Grand Trunk 
railway. 

Oakwoods Cemetery. Located on Sixty-seventh street and Cottage Grove 
avenue. Take Illinois Central railroad, foot of Randolph or Van Buren 
street, or Cottage Grove avenue cable line. This cemetery was laid out in 
1864. It includes 200 acres of ground beautifully laid out on the "lawn 
plan." A charming drive to the cemetery is via Michigan and Grand boule- 
vards and Washington Park. This, Rosehill and Graceland are the three 
prominent native Protestant burying grounds of the city. 

Ohavey Emunah Cemetery. Located at Waldheim, ten miles from the 
City Hall. Take train at Grand Central depot, via Chicago & Northern Pacific 
railroad. Trains leave at 12:01 P. M. daily, including Sundays. [See Wald- 
heim Cemetery.] 

Ohavey Scholom Cemetery. Located at Oakwoods, Sixty-seventh street 
and Cottage Grove avenue. Take Cottage Grove Avenue cable line or Illi- 
nois Ceutraltraiu, foot of Randolph or Van Buren street. [See Oakwoods 
Cemetery.] 

Rosehill Cemetery. Located seven miles northeast of the City Hall. 
Take train at Wells Street depot, via Milwaukee Division of Chicago & 
North- Western railroad. The Rosehill Cemetery Company was chartered 
February 11, 1859. This burying ground covers at present about 500 acres, 
but extensions can be made. Two hundred additional acres have already been 
platted and improved. It is the most beautiful cemetery in the vicinity of 
Chicago and contains many handsome and costly tombs and monuments, the 
most prominent of the latter being the soldiers' monument at the head of the 
main avenue. Large numbers of those who were once the leading men of the 
city are interred here, and the inscriptions on the tombs are interesting to the 
students of Chicago history. The green-houses and conservatories of Rose- 
hill are very handsome and extensive. The ground slopes down to the rail- 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 161 

road track and forms a beautiful landscape. li is thickly wooded with flne 
trees, and a large lake adds greatly to its beauty. Thia cemetery may be 
reached easily by carriages, via Lake Shore drive, Lincoln Park, Graceland 
and some of the most cheering of the northern suburbs. Among the things 
which will at once strike the visitor with admiration is the handsome entrance 
arch. 

Sinai Congregational Cemetery. Located, at Rosehill. [See Rosehill 
Cemetery.] 

St. Boniface Cemetery. Located on N. Clark st., cor. of Lawrence ave. 
Take North Clark street cable line. This is the German Roman Catholic 
Cemetery. 

Waldheim Cemetery. Located ten miles west of the City Hall. Take 
train at Grand Central depot, via Chicago & Northern Pacific railroad. 
Funeral train leaves at 12:01 p. M. daily, including Sundays, running direct 
to the new cemetery station, immediately adjoining Waldheim, Forest Home 
and the Jewish cemeteries. Here are interred the anarchists executed for 
connection with the Hay market bomb-throwing. [See Haymarket Massacre.] 
A number of burying-grounds are located in this vicinity. 

Zion Congregation, Cemetery. Located at Rosehill. [See Rosshill 
Cemetery.] 

CHARITIES. 

Charity aboundeth in Chicago. It is estimated that the amount volun- 
tarily subscribed annually for charity, and in support of charitable institutions 
In Chicago, exceeds $3,000,000. Hospitals, which are supported either by 
public or private charity, are not included under this heading. Neither are 
reformatory institutions. The following are the leading charitable works 
and institutions of the city. 

Recognized Charities. Following is a list of the recognized or deserving 
charities of the city, which includes every character of organized work, with 
addresses: 

ASYLUMS AND HOMES. American Educational Aid Society. Finda 
homes for children. Nursery located at 238 Sixty -sixth st. Older children 
at Aurora, 111., till homes are found. Office, room 41, 232 La Salle st. 
Chicago Industrial School for Girls. (Catholic.) A home for girls from 4 to 
18 years of age. Cor. Indiana ave. and 49lh st. Chicago Nursery and Half- 
Orphan Asylum. Pay and free. 175 Burling st. and 855 N. Halsted st. 
Chicago Orphan Asylum. 2228 Michigan ave. Children's Aid Society. 
Receives suitable homeless and destitute children, and places them in family 
homes. Also finds homes for mothers with one child. Home on Indiana 
ave., near 31st st. Office, room 44, 204 Dearborn st. Church Home for 
Aged Persons. (Episcopal.) Ladies only. Terms, $5.00 per week, or life 
contract, $300. 4327 Ellis ave. Cook County Insane Asylum. Telephone 
4334, Dunning, 111. Cook County Poor House. Telephone 4334, Dunning, 
111. Application for admission should be made at the office of the County 
Agent, 128 S. Clinton st. Danish Lutheran Orphan's Home. Free (unless 
friends are able to pay). 69 Perry ave., Maplewood. Erring Woman's 
Refuge. For the reformation of fallen women. Free. Telephone 10162, 
5024 Indiana ave. Foundling's Home. Free. 114 S. Wood st. German 



162 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

Old People's Home. both sexes. Admission, $300. Harlem, Cook Co. 
Gurdian Angel Orphan Asylum. (German Catholic.) Havelock P. O., Cook 
Co. Holy Family Orphan Asylum. (Catholic.) Cor. Holt and Division sts. 
Home for Crippled Children. 91 Heine st. West North avenue cars to 
Heine st. Home for the Aged. (Catholic.) (Little Sisters of the Poor.) Both 
sexes. Free. 29 and 31 E. 25th st. ; W. Harrison, cor. Throop, and Sheffield 
ave., cor. Fullerton ave. Home fdr Convalescents. Convalescents are 
boarded out in families at the rate of $5.00 per week. Address Dr. Dela-. 
field, 4333 Ellis ave. Home for the Friendless. Temporary home for women 
and children. Homeless and abandoned children are placed in permanent 
homes. Telephone 8194. 1926 Wabash ave. The Chicago Relief and Aid 
Society owns certain rights in this institution. Home for Incurables Both 
sexes. Pay and free. Telephone 10074; Ellis ave., cor. 56th st. Home for 
Self-supporting Women. All the inmates are required to pay. Tele- 
phone 3710. 275 Indiana st. Home for Unemployed Girls. (Catholic.) 
House of the Good Shepherd. Market st., cor. of Elm. Home of Indus- 
stry. Discharged male prisoners. 234 Honore st. House of the Good 
Shepherd. (Catholic.) Reformatory institution for young girls. N. Market 
st., cor. Hill. House of Providence. (Catholic.) (Mercy Hospital.) For 
unemployed girls. Calumet ave., cor. 26th st. Illinois Industrial School for 
Girls. Reformatory institution for young girls. South Evanston, III. Illi- 
nois Industrial Training School for 603 s. Free. Glenwood Paik, 111. 
Illinois Misonic Orphan's Home. 447 Carroll ave. IllinoisSoldiers' Orphans' 
Home. Government institution. Free. Normal, 111. Illinois Women's 
Soldiers' Home. 1408 Wabash ave. Martha Washington Home. For ine- 
briate women. Telephone 12181. Graceland ave., cor. Western ave. News- 
boys' and Bootblacks' Home. Pay and free. 1418 Wabash ave. Old 
People's Home. Ladies only. Admission, $300 and furniture for one room. 
Indiana ave., cor. of 39th st. The Chicago Relief and Aid Society owns 
twenty-five rooms in this institution, for which application maybe made at 
its office, 51 and 53 La Salle st. Servile Sisters' Industrial Home for Girls. 
(Catholic.) 1396 W. VanBurenst. Soldiers' Home. The Home is abolished, 
but the money is distributed, by members of its Board, to old soldiers or 
their families, at the Chicago Relief and Aid Society, 51 and 53 La Salle st. 
St. Joseph's Asylum for Boys. (Catholic.) Crawford ave., bet. W, Diversey 
and W. Belmont. St. Joseph's Home for the Friendless. (Catholic.) An 
industrial school and home for girls, and school for the deaf. 409 8. May st. 
St. Joseph's Orphan Asylum. Catholic.) Both sexes. 35th st., cor. Lake 
ave. St. Mary's Training School for Boys. (Catholic.) Free. Feehanville, 
Cook Co., 111. St. Vincent's Infant Asylum and Maternity Hospital. (Cath- 
olic.) 191 La Salle ave. Telephone 3282 Swedish Home of Mercy. Men 
and Women. Free. Bowmanville, 111. The Bethany Home of the Swedish 
M. E. Church for Aged Women. Sheridan road and Ilinn ave. Uhlich Evan- 
gelical Lutheran Orphan Asylum. (German.) 221 Burling st., cor. Center. 
Waifs' Mission. Home and School for Boys. Pay and free. 44 State st. 
Washingtonian Home. Men only. Pay and free. Telephone 7028. 566 
"W. Madison st. Western Seaman's Friend Society. Sailors. Pay and free. 
32 N. Desplaines st. Working Boys' Home and Mission of our Lady of 
Mercy. Pay and free. 361 W. Jackson st. Young Women's Christian Asso- 
ciation. Good board and wholesome surroundings at a very low rate, for 
skilled workingwomen. 288 Michigan ave. Young Women's Christian 
Association. Home for Transients. Nominal price or free. 362 W. Jack- 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 163 

son st. An agent is also sent to meet incoming trains. Employment office 
and dispensary, 240 W abash ave. 

FREE DISPENSARIES. Armour Mission Dispensary, Cor. of 33d st. and 
Armour av. Bethesda Mission Dispensary, 406 Clark st. Chicago Polyclinic 
Dispensary, 176 E. Chicago av. Free Dispensary for the Poor. Telephone 
8343, 2625 Dearborn st. Medical Mission Dispensary, 2242 Wentworth av. 
W. S. W. C. T. U. Dispensary, Hours from 2 to 4 P.M., 870 W. Madison st. 
In addition to the above, dispensaries will be found in connection with every 
Hospital and Medical College. 

FREE EMPLOYMENT BUREAUS. Children's Aid Society. For boys', 
Room 44, 204 Dearborn st. German Society. For men, 49 La Salle st. 
Provident Laundry of the Home for Self-Supporting Women. Instructs laun- 
dresses and gives employ!) ent to needy women. Telephone 3710. 275 E. 
Indiana st. The Helping Hand. For men, N. E. cor. Washington boul. 
and Clinton st. Waifs' Mission. For boys, 44 State st. Wood Yard of the 
Chicago Relief and Aid Society. For men. Telephone 3415. 395 N. Clark 
st. Young Men's Christian Association. For men and boys. Telephone 359, 
148 Madison st. Young Women's Christian Asso. Employment found for gover- 
nesses, book-keepers, office clerks, seamstresses, etc., room 61, 243Wabashav. 

DAT NURSERIES AND CRECHES. Bethesda Mission Creche, 406 S. Clark 
st. Hull House Creche, 221 Ewing st. Margaret Etter Creche, 2356 Wabash 
av. Talcot Day Nursery No. 1, 169 W. Adams st. Talcott Day Nursery 
No 2, 581 Austin av. Unity Church Creche, 80 Elm st. 

FREE NURSES AND TRAINING SCHOOLS FOR NURSES. Bethesda Deaconess 
Institution (German) Free nurses for the poor may be obtained, 30 and 32 
Belden pi. Chicago Deaconess' Home. Free nurses for the poor may be 
obtained, 221 E. Ohiost. Chicago Training School. Free, 114 Dearborn ave. 
Clara Barton Training School for Nurses. All pay, 3411 Cottage Grove ave. 
Illinois-Training School for Nurses. In connection with Cook County Hos- 
pital, telephone 7155, 304 Honore St., near W. Harrison st. Michael Reese 
Hospital Training School. Twenty-ninth st., cor. of Groveland ave. Nor- 
wegian Deaconess' Home. Free nurses maybe obtained, 190 Humboldt st. 
Poor Handmaids of Jesus Christ (Catholic). Day nurses, pay and free, 212 
Hudson ave. and 52 Newberry ave. Provident Hospit&l Training School 
(colored). Dearborn st., cor. of 29tb. Sisters of Mary (Episcopal). Visit 
among the sick, 215 Washington blvd. St. Luke's Hospital Training School. 
1420 Wabash ave. Training School of the Hospital for Women and Chil- 
dren. W. Adams st., cor. of Paulina. Visiting Nurse Association. Free 
nurses may be obtained for poor people; North Side, telephone 3002, North- 
west Side, telephone 4518; South Side, telephone 8166; West Side, telephone 
7134; office, 59 Dearborn st. Woman's Hospital Training School. 32d st., 
nw. cor. Rhodes ave. 

HOSPITALS. Alexian -Brothers Hospital. (Catholic). Men and boys. 
All diseases except contagious. Pay and free. Telephone 3467. 539 N. 
Market st. The- Chicago Relief and Aid Society owns eighteen beds in 
this Hospital, for which application may be made at its office, 51 and 53 
LaSalle st. Augustana Hospital. (Swedish). Both sexes and all ages. 
All diseases except contagious^ Pay and free. Telephone 3022. 151 
Lincoln ave. Baptist Hospital. Pay and free. 541 N. Halsted st. Bennett 
Hospital. Both sexes. All pay patients. Telephone 7091. Ada St., cor. 



164 GUIDE TO CHCAGO. 

Fulton. Chicaga Emergency Hospital. Both sexes and all ages. All dis- 
eases except contagious. Surgery a specialty. Pay and free. 191 Superior 
st. Chicago Homoeopathic Hospital. Both sexes and all ages. All diseases 
except contagious. All pay patients. Telephone 7291. S. Wood st., cor. York. 
Chicago Hospital for Women and Children. All diseases except contagious. 
Pay and free. Telephone 7071. W. Adams st., cor. Paulina. The Chicago 
Relief and Aid Society owns twenty five beds in this Hospital, for which 
application may be made at its office, 51 and 53 LaSalle st. Chicago Charity 
Hospital. Both sexes and all ages. All diseases except contagious. All 
patients free. 59 Plymouth Place (3d ave). Chicago Eye and Ear Infirmary. 
Free. Tuesdays and Thursdays, from 2 to 4 o'clock. 2813 Groveland ave. 
Chicago Maternity Home. (Lying in Hospital.) All pay patients. Tele- 
phone 3627. 1619 Diversey st. Chicago Polyclinic Hospital. All pay 
patients. Telephone 3586. 176 E. Chicago ave. Cook County Hospital. 
All ages and both sexes. All diseases. Free. Telephone 7133. W.Harrison 
St., cor. Wood. German Hospital. Both sexes and ullages. All diseases 
except contagious. Half its beds free. Telephone 3376. 754 Larrabee st. 
Hahnemann Hospital. Both sexes and all ages. All diseases except conta- 
gious. Pay and free. Telephone 8104. 2811 Groveland ave. The Chicago 
Relief and Aid Society owns fifteen beds in this Hospital, for which applica- 
tion may be made at Its office, 51 and 53 LaSalle st. Illinois Chaiiiable Eye 
and Ear Infirmary. State Institution. Boarding and dispensary patients. 
All free. Telephone 4048. 227 W. Adams st. The Chicago Relief and Aid 
Society owns rooms for twenty patients in this Institution, for which applica- 
tion may be made at its office, 51 and 53 LaSalle st. Lake Side Hospital. 
Surgery a specialty. All pay patients. Telephone 10221. Marine Hospital. 
Sailors. Government Institution. Special provision for contagious diseases. 
Free. Telephone 12107. N. Halsted st. , near Graceland ave. Maurice Porter 
Memorial FreeHospitai for Children. 606 Fullerton ave. Mercy Hospital. (Catho- 
olic.) Both sexes and all ages. All diseases except contagious. Pay and free. 
Telephone 8267. Calumetave. , cor. 26th st. The Chicago Relief and Aid"Society 
ownsforty beds in this hospital, for which application may be made atits office, 
51 and 53 LaSalle st. Michael Reese Hospital. (Jewish.) All ages and both 
sexes. Pay and free. Telephone 8212. 29th st., cor. Groveland ave. Na- 
tional Temperance Hospital. All ages and both sexes. All pay patients. 
Telephone 8341. 3411 Cottage Grove ave. Presbyterian Hospital. Both 
sexes. All diseases except contagious. Pay and free. A convalescent De- 
partment is attached to this Hospital. Telephone 7189. W. Congress st., 
cor. S. Wood. Provident Hospital. (Colored.) Pay and free. S. W. cor. 
29th and Dearborn sts. St. Joseph Hospital. (Catholic.) Both sexes and all 
ages. All disea c es except contagious. Pay and free. Telephone 3543. 360 
Garfield ave. , cor. Burling st. The Chicago Relief and Aid Society owns 
thirty beds in this Hospital, for which application may be made at its office, 
51 and 53 LaSalle st. St. Luke's Free Hospital. (Episcopal.) Both sexes 
and all ages. All diseases except contagious. Pay and free. Telephone 
8438. 1420 Indiana ave. The Chicago Relief and Aid Society owns twenty- 
eight beds in this Hospital, for which application may be made at its office, 
51 and 53 LaSalle st.) St. Elizabeth Hospital. (Catholic.) Both sexes and 
all ages. All diseases except contagious. Pay and free. Telephone 7329. 
Davis st., cor. Thompson. West North Avenue cars to Davis st. Wesley 
Hospital. (Methodist.) Both sexes and all ages. All diseases except conta- 
gious. Pay and free. Telephone 2415. 355 Ohio st. Woman's Hospital of 



w P 

< 

72 

^> O 

: H *"* 

O p< n 

s - 

"Ow 
~ O 3 



re 
? 

I 

Si 

C/) 3 




THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 165 

Chicago. Women only. Pay and free. Telephone 8353. 32d St., cor. 
Rhodes ave. 

MISSIONS AND MISCELLANEOUS. ANCHOKAGE MISSION. A temporary 
home for friendless girls, including fallen women and discharged female 
prisoners. 125 Plymouth pi. (Third ave.) ARMOUR MISSION INDUSTRIAL 
SCHOOL. For boys and girls. (See list of Creches and Kindergartens.) Tele- 
phone 8390. Cor. 33d st. and Armour ave. BETHESDA MISSION. Cheap lodg- 
ing house for men. (See also list of Creches and Kindergartens.) 406 S. Clark. 
BUREAU OP JUSTICE. Legal protection against injustice for those who are una- 
ble to protect themselves. 154 Lake st. CHICAGO EXCHANGE FOR WOMAN'S 
WORK Work of indigent women sold at a commission of 10 per cent. Tele- 
phone 2912. 209 Wabash ave. CITIZEN'S LEAGUE OF CHICAGO. Prosecutes 
sellers of liquor to minors. Telephone 1437. Rooms 31 and 32, 116 La Salle st. 
G. A. R. CENTRAL RELIEF COMMITTEE. G. A. Soldiers, 453 S. Canal st. 
ILLINOIS WOMAN'S ALLIANCE. First Friday of every month. Parlor O, 
Palmer House. IMMEDIATE AID MISSION AND INDUSTRIAL DAY SCHOOL. 
2917 S. Clark st. LAKE GENEVA FRESH AIR ASSOCIATION. President, E. E. 
Ayer, 481 N. Stalest. LINCOLN PARK SANITARIUM. Address Miss Harriet M. 
Dewey, Daily News. MINNETONKA WORKING WOMEN'S HOME. A cheap board- 
ing house for women, 21 S. Peoria st. PROTECTIVE AGENCY FORWOMEN AND 
CHILDREN Protection and defence of the rights of women and children 
against wrongs of any nature. Telephone 1782. 828 Opera House Bldg. 
THE MUTUAL MEDICAL AID ASSOCIATION. By pa>ing $10 per year, medical 
aid will be furnished. Telephone 2519. Room 317, Northern Office Bldg., 
sw. cor. La Salle and Lake sts. THE UNION TRAINING SCHOOL. Industrial 
school for boys and girls. Meets every Saturday morning. 1086 W. Lake 
st. UNITY CHURCH INDUSTRIAL SCHOOL FOR GIRLS. (See list of Creches 
and Kindergartens. 80 Elm st. WESTERN SOCIETY FOR THE SUPPRESSION OF 
VICE. For the suppression of obscene literature, etc. Address H. D. Pen- 
field, 148 La Salle st. 

SOCIETIES. CHICAGO RELIEF AND AID SOCIETY. Non-sectarian. Give 
temporary aid to the better class of poor. Also owns two hundred and four 
teen beds in private hospitals, twenty-five rooms in the Old People's Home, 
and certain rights in the various Orphan Asylums, Newsboys' Home, Eye 
and Ear Infirmary, Home for the Friendless, Foundling's Home, etc., etc. 
Gives temporary employment to men at its wood yard, through which per- 
manent work is often found for them. Telephone 773. Office, 51 and 53 
La Salle st. DANISH RELIEF SOCIETY. President, Fritz Frantzen, 296 Mil- 
waukee ave. GERMAN SOCIETY FOR THE PROTECTION OF IMMIGRANTS AND 
THE FRIENDLESS. Gives aid in cash and otherwise. Also finds work for 
immigrants. 49 La Salle st. HYDE PARK RELIEF SOCIETY. President, 
Mrs. George Driggs. 5361 Cornell ave. ILLINOIS HUMANE SOCIETY. For 
the prosecution of persons guilty of cruelty to persons or animals. Telephone 
65, room 43, Auditorium Bldg. LUXEMBOURG SOCIETY. For Luxembourg- 
ers only. 49 La Salle st. NORWEGIAN SOCIETY. Temporary aid to Norwe- 
gians. First and third Monday in every month. President, John Blegen. 
164 Randolph st. RUSSIAN REFUGEE CHARITY ASSOCIATION. General relief 
to Hebrew Russian Refugees. 567 S. Halsttd st. SCANDINAVIAN BETHANY 
AID SOCIETY. Second Monday of each month. Secretary, Adolf Monsen, 244 
W. Erie st. 330 W. Indiana st. ST. ANDREWS' SOCIETY. Temporary aid to 
Scots. First Thursday in February. May, August, and November. Secretary, 



166 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

James Duncan, Sherman House. ST. GEORGE'S BENEVOLENT SOCIETY. 
Temporary aid to stranded Euglishmen. First Monday of each month, at St. 
George's Hall, 182 Madison. President, Alexander Cook; secretary, W. C. Hill. 
SVEA SOCIETY. For Swedes only. First aud third Thursdaysineach month. 
Chicago ave. , ne. cor. Larrabee st. Swiss BENEVOLENT SOCIETY. For Swiss 
only. Second Monday of each month, at 8 P. M. Uhlich's Hall, Clark St., 
sw. cor. Kinzie. ST. VINCENT DE PAUL SOCIETY. A branch of this Society 
is found in nearly every Catholic church, for the relief of its poor. THK 
HELPING HAND. Lodging House for men. They pay by sweeping street*, or 
doing other work; ne. cor. Washington blvd. and Clinton st. UNITED 
HEBREW RELIEF ASSOCIATION. Aid given in cash, and permits to the Jew- 
ish Hospital and Jewish Orphan Asylum. Room 50, 181 La Salle st. VISITA- 
TION AND AID SOCIETY. (Catholic.) Visit and investigate among the poor. 
The aid given is mostly spiritual. Room 5, 124 Dearborn st. 

American Educational and Aid Association. V. B. Van Arsdale, super- 
intendent, explains the character and scope of the organization as follows : 
" We have 1,000 local advisory boards composed of representative citizens in 
as many towns and communities, whom we have made known to their coun- 
ties and committees through the local notices by the press, and through 
notices read from the pulpits, as well as by our printed matter. A homeless 
and needful child, as soon as it is known, is reported lo some of this local 
board, which reports the same to me as general superintendent. In the city 
of Chicago we have local boards in the various churches, as the result of res- 
olutions passed in their ministerial associations. Besides these local advisory 
boards we have the co-operation of the members and friends of our associa- 
tion and the various institutions where homeless children are sent. We send 
these children who come to oui; care to the temporary Homes at Englewood 
and Aurora. Our work is sustained by voluntary contributions. The total 
expense of every kind for the rescue of these children and placing them in 
families, where a large per cent, of them become worthy citizens, is less than 
$50 per child." 

The American Educational Aid Association has become familiarly known 
as the Children's Home Society of Chicago, and the following lines have 
been adopted as its popular symbol and motto : 

Give thy mite, give golden treasure, 

Freely as to child thine own ; 
Give thy heart in loving' measure: 
H P I~ o ~hiui ^o find a home. 

The following names appear in the list of patronesses : Mrs. John Wood- 
bridge, Mrs. P. E. Studebaker, Mrs. H. N. May, Mrs. N. R. Cliittenden, Mrs. 
Francis Lackner, Mrs. Benton J. Hall, Mrs. William Dunn, Mrs. J. D. Gillett, 
Rev. Florence E. Kollock, Mrs. Richard J. Oglesby, Mrs. John M. Palmer, 
Mrs. E. F. Lawrence, Mrs. A. P. Miller, Mrs. G. AV. Mathews, Mrs. A. C. 
Mather, Mrs. Solomon Thatcher, Jr. ; Mrs. M\*ra Bradwell. 

Following are the officers: John Woodbridge, president; Thomas Gait, 
recording secretary; Edward F. Lawrence, treasurer. Directors: R. D. Scott, 
F. J. Walton, N. H. Axtel, J. W. Conly, E. C. Moderwell, J. W. Allen, 
Henry Augustine, F. M. Gregg, William T. Baker, Ferd W. Peck. E. F. 
Lawrence, E. B. Butler, Francis Lackner, S. A. Maxwell, William H. Litch- 
field, W. L. Tamblyn, A. H. Wheeler, Judge M. F.Tuley, Joseph Badenoch, 
J. C. Armstrong, A. K. Perry, E. P. Savage, George K. Hoover, Fred H. 



THE ENOYCLOPLDIA. 167 

Wines, D. F. Carnahan, Judge J. P. Altgeld, M. W. Haynes, F. B. Tobey, 
J. 8. Jenckes, R. W. McClaughry, Mrs. J. M. Flower, Dr. Winnie M. 
Cowan, Dr. C. Northop. 

This society has placed 1,800 children in good homes during* the last 
nine years. One child, on an average, is now placed every day. Location of 
office, 230 LaSalle st. 

Armour Mission. Located at Butterfleld and Thirty-third streets, take 
State street cable line. Directors Philip D. Armour, J. O. Armour, William 
J. Campbell, John C. Black, P. D. Armour, Jr., Edwin Barritt Smith; Rev. 
Howard H. Russell, pastor; established in November, 1886. This magnificent 
charity owes its origin to a provision in the will of the late Joseph F. Armour, 
bequeathing f 100, 000 for the founding of such an institution. He directed 
that the carrying out of his benevolent design should be chiefly intrusted to his 
brother, Mr. Philip D. Armour, who, accepting the trust so imposed, has given 
to it the same energetic and critical attention that he has given to his private 
affairs. He has greatly enlarged upon the original design and in consequence 
has added enough from his own resources to his brother's bequest of $100,000 
to make the present investment about $1,000,000. Armour Mission is incor- 
porated under the laws of Illinois. In addition to the Mission building 
proper, the Armour Mission corporation owns the Armour Mission Flats, con- 
sisting of 194 separate flats. The entire revenue derived from the rental of 
these flats is used for the maintenance of the Mission and its departments. The 
corporation also owns adjoining ground upon which Mr. Armour has recently 
erected a manual training school, not yet ready foroccupancy. The Missionis 
abroad and wholly non sectarian institution. It is free and open toall,tothe 
full extent of its capacity, without any condition as to race, creed or other- 
wise. Mr. Armour believes that children develop into manhood and woman- 
hood according to their early training and surroundings, and that much can 
be done for the advancement of mankind by lending a helping hand to chil- 
dren and youth. His deep interest in the welfare of the young has found 
expression in the Mission and no money he has ever expended has yielded 
him more genuine satisfaction and pleasure than the large sum he has here 
invested and set apart to be forever used for the moral, intellectual and phys- 
ical advancement of the young. The Mission building proper is located at 
the corner of Armour avenue and Thirty-third street and is constructed in the 
most solid and substantial manner, the material used being pressed brick and 
brown stone. The woodwork throughout is of polished oak and the furnish- 
ings are complete and in entire harmony with the solid character of the build- 
ing. The first floor consists of a large room fitted up to receive the Creche or 
clay nursery, the kitchen, day room, kindergarten room, reading room, vault, 
closets, bath rooms, coal and furnace cellar, and the four dispensary rooms. 
The second floor consists of the main audience room, eight class rooms, 
adjoining pastor's study, officers' room, library, spacious halls, and, two large 
hide rooms to be used for Sunday-school purposes or for small meetings. The 
third floor contains a very large and handsomely-fitted-up lecture room. The 
main audience room will accommodate about 1,300 persons. The building 
when taxed to its full capacity will accommodate a Sunday-school of about 
2,500 persons. The audience room is provided with a large pipe- 
organ. With its colored glass windows, its tasteful frescoing and 
symmetrical form, it is one of the most beautiful rooms of its class. The 
seats bring the audience near to the speaker and the acoustic properties are of 



168 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

the best. One of the best features of this room is the arrangement by which It 
can be made into a small or large room, as maybe required. The kindergar- 
ten and the free medical dispensary departments are worthy of the special 
attention o^ the Visitor . The kindergarten will accommodate about 170 little 
pupils comfortably and is open to children under the age of seven years. 
Upon the completion of Ihe training school the kindergarten will be 
removed to that building. It has the care of 200 pupils. Visitors are 
greatly pleased with its work and with the bright faces and cleanly appear- 
ance of the little ones. The free dispensary of the mission is in charge of 
Dr. Swartz, a skillful physician and surgeon, who is provided with all neces- 
sary assistants. Treatment and advice are given and prescriptions filled 
without charge ; but it is intended that none shall receive either unless unable 
to pay for them. An average of about forty patients a day are treated at the 
dispensary and a much larger number provided with drugs and medicines 
entirely free of charge. The Sunday-school has always been of special 
interest to the many who visit the mission. The school numbers about 
2,200 enrolled members. The average attendance for last year was about 
1,600. In 190 it was 1,400. In 1889 the average was 1,252. There are now 
thirty officers and 113 teachers. The Armour Mission flats (194 in-number) 
are located at the intersection of Thirty-third, Thirty-fourth and Dearborn 
Btfeeta and Armour avenue, occupying both sides of Armour avenue and the 
west side of Dearborn street entirely, between Thirty-third and Thirty-fourth 
streets, and the north side of Thirty-fourth and a portion of the south side of 
Thirty-third, between Dearborn street and Armour avenue. It is a most 
desirable location, being convenient to down-town and cross-town street car 
lines and to regular railroad suburban passenger service. The buildings are 
models of modern architectural skill, both in exterior appearance and in 
interior arrangement and finish. The flats rent from $17.50 to $35 per month 
each, which includes water rent, day janitor service, night watchman ser- 
vice, hall lights and the care of halls and grounds. 

Following are the usual weekly " announcements: " SUNDAY Morning 
worship for children and families, 11 A. M. Evening, Gospel meeting at tt 
o'clock. Sunday school at 3 P. M. Young people's meeting at 7 P. M. MON- 
DAY Temperance meeting at 8 P. M. on the first Monday of each month. 
WEDNESDAY Children's Choral Class from 4 to 4:30 p. M. FRIDAY Service 
for Praise and Bible Study, at 8 P. M. SATURDAY Industrial School: Boys, 
10 to 12 A. M. ; Girls, 2 to 4 P. M. The Armour Mission Boys' Batallion is an 
organization of four companies of boys, numbering 175, for military drill and 
personal improvement. The boys are pledged against the use of tobacco, 
intoxicating liquor and vulgar and profane language. This line of work for 
the boyslis a great success. The drills of the Batallion are conducted by Col. 
W. C. Johnson, on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday evenings of each 
week, at 7:45. NOTES. The Kindergarten is open from 9 A. M. to 12 M. on 
every week day except Saturday. One hundred boys and girls from four to 
seven years of age are accommodated. The Dispensary is open daily except 
Sunday, from 9 A. M. to 11 A. M. It is free to all who are unable to pay for 
medicine or medical attendance, or both. The Visitor is published monthly, 
for gratuitous distribution in the Sunday-school. 

Bureau of Justice. An organization, first, to assist in securing legal 
protection against injustice for those who are unable to protect themselves. 
Second, to take cognizance of the workings of existing laws and methods of 
procedure, and to suggest improvements, Third, to propose new and better 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 169 

laws, and to make efforts toward securing their enactment. Office rooms, 
6 and 7 Marine building, 154 Lake street. Officers: Chas. H. Ham, president; 
J. C. Stirling, vice-president and treasurer; Edw. C. Wentworth, secretary. 
Board of directors, Chas. ,H. Ham, J. C. Stirling, Edw. C. Wentworth, W. 
H. Winslow, H. B. Cragin, Chas. E. Kremer, C. li. Corbin, Chas. E. Rand, 
A. L. Singer. Wm. M. Sailer, Wm. R. Manierre and Joseph W. Errant. 
Board of counselors, Lyman J. Gage, Henry D. Lloyd, Chas. L. Hutchinson, 
C. C. Bonney, E. Of. Keith, V. F. Lawson, Herman Raster, E. T. Jeffrey, 
Dr. E. G. Hirsch, Martin J. Russell, Louis Nettlehorst, S. D. Kimbark, John 
J. P. Odell, Franklin H. Head, Berthold Loewenthal, O. B. Green, A. C. 
Bartlett, Gen. M. M. Trumbull, Wilbur S. Henderson, Rev. J. L. Withrow, 
George Schneider, Jos. Beifciu and Franklin MacVeagh. Executive 
committee: Chas. H. Ham, Edw. C. Wentworth, Chas. E. Kremer, H. B. 
Cragin, J. C. Stirling. Agent and attorney, Joseph W. Errant. A. P. 
Williams, as-sistant attorney. The last reports of the attorney and agent 
shows that there were 3,783 matters attended to during 1890-91, as against 
2,497 for 1889-90 and 1,1(54 during 1888-89, which is indicative of the growth 
from year to year in the work of the bureau. The matters attended to afford 
an interesting illustratiog of the work peformed. In detail there are as 
follows: Chattel mortgage matters, 186; wrongful taking and detention of 
personal property, 104; different questions arising out of relation of landlord 
and tenant, 180; cases in which exemptions were threatened, 49; cases 
involving prosecution for cruel treatment or assault, 22; investigation and 
prosecution of -crime, 23; investigation and prosecution of fraud and impo- 
sition, 53; persecutions by wrongful suits and by other means, 22; support of 
parents, 10; support of children, 33; cases of support for wives, and different 
complaints of wives as to husbands, 222; cases involving prosecution for 
violation of local ordinances, 9; wrongs to women and girls, 22; different 
questions arising out of relation of employer and employe, 755; questions in 
relation to real property, 44; wages claims under lien law, 47; other wages 
claims, 717; miscellaneous matters requiring active woik of every variety, 
167; miscellaneous matters calling for advice of every kind, 1,118. Total, 
3,783. The claims for wages during the year amounted to $7,778.75. Other 
money claims, $2,879.70, making a total of $10,658.45. During the three 
years of its existence the bureau has collected $20,000 in wages, besides 
thousands in other claims. This money has been placed in the bauds of those 
who had earned it. During the last year the number of suits prosecuted was 
357; the number of suits defended, 18. Three hundred and forty-two of 
these suits were successfully prosecuted or defended. The bureau takes an 
active interest in the prevention of injustice to the poor and friendless in the 
matter of chattel mortgage!, from sales, assaults on the person and other 
crimes, and does a large amount of good work in the bringing about of neces- 
sary reforms in the law. The report of the treasurer for the last year shows 
the receipts to have been $5,337.78 and the expenditures $5,371.39. The 
bureau is supported by private contributions. The association is composed of 
many of the leading citizens of Chicago. 

Chicago Daily JNewi Fresh Air Fund. One of the most beautiful and 
most popular charities of this city is that carried on every summer undtr the 
auspices of the Chicago Daily News Fund. A summary of the work done in 
1891 will suffice as a fair example of the administration of its affairs duiing 
xhe years of its existence. There was contributed during the season of that 



170 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

year by the public and founders of the charity an aggregate of $8,662.43. Of 
tuisam-mntthe sum of $1,333.85 was expended at the Lincoln Park Sanitarium 
in the care of the 26.660 infants, children and adults during the months of July, 
August and September. The per diem expanse defrayed fromthese contribu- 
tions was about 5 cents for each individual. On account of the Country Week 
there was expended from the same contributions a total of $2,849.20, for which 
sum ample provision was made for railroad transportation and all other inci- 
dental and necessary expenses of a fortnight in the country for 3,352 children 
and mothers were defrayed. The average duration of visit from each individual 
was a fraction over fourteen days, and the average cost was about $1.00 for each 
Country-Week euest. In every instance the visitors were greatly benefited. 
As theretofore the expenses of executive management, printing, stationery, 
postage and sundries the total amounting to $1.837.34 was defrayed by the 
Chicago Daily News, thus leaving the gross receipts by subscription or contri- 
bution" to go direct for the actual expenses of the beneficiaries. The most im- 
portant feature of the Fresh Air Fund of 1889 was the establishment 
of a permanent sanitarium for infanta and children at Lincoln Park. 
[Take North Clark street cable line to central entrance of Lincoln Park, 
and walk eastwardly to the lake.] The building is of the most substantial 
character, but without any attempt at elaboration or ornament. Its archi 
tectural effect is secured by- simplicity an <j the manifest adaptation of every 
feature to its intended use. The whole saueture is directly over the water, 
being erected on a great platform, ninety feet wide, projecting into the lake 
over two hundred feet, and supported by substantial piles. * The broad roof 
with overhanging eaves covers a floor space of nearly eighteen thousand 
feet, over which swing hundreds of infants' hammocks. The wide verandas 
and the open-air court at the lake extremity furnish accommodations 
for the mothers and older children. At the shore end are grouped the 
necessary offices. On the right of the entrance is a commodious reception 
room, from which the guests pass to the doctor's office for examination and 
for medical attention when required. Thence the guests are registered in 
the office and the matron gives them in charge of trained nurses who assign 
them suitable quarters, provide hammocks, chairs, etc. The matron's room 
communicating both with the office and the physician's room, is a large 
dormitory for the care of critical cases, which it may be necessary to keep 
over night. On the opposite side of the entrance is the kitchen, with pantries 
and storerooms, and beyond is a range of bath-rooms, closets, etc. The west 
front of the sanitarium is connected with the park by a broad bridge, with 
a gentle ascent for baby carriages. Beingin close proximity to the zoological 
department and other features of interest in the park, the older children who, 
in many cases, must be brought with the baby, will find enjoyment and 
pastime without -encroaching .upon the sanitarium proper. Immediately 
south of the sanitarium with which it is connected about midway by a 
bridge is a 400 foot pier at which boats may land with guests from the 
central part of the city. The total cost of the building and equipment of 
the sanitarium amounted to $12,375.79. In addition to the $1,000 contrib- 
uted by the Daily News to the building fund there was a balance at the close 
of the season of $1,326.54 in the hands of the treasurer of the Fresh Air 
Fund, making a total of $2,326.54 to be applied on the building account. 
The deficit of $10.049.25 was advanced as a temporary loan by the Daily 
News. ' Of this $4,500 has been paid. 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 171 

The South side sanitarium is established temporarily every summer, for 
the present, at the foot of Twenty-second st. A large pavilion tent, 54x84 feet, 
is erected here, under which hammocks for babies are swung. A kindergarten 
is also established here for the older children which the mother must bring 
with her. 

One of the most far-reaching, as it is also one of the simplest, forms of 
this summer charity is that which has come to be known as " The Country 
Week" the securing of country homes for a fortnight ^r so for the city 
poor especially children. During the last season ninety -two parties, aggregat- 
ing 1,003 persons, were sent to various poiuts in Illinois, Indiana, Wisconsin 
aud Michigan, at a total cost of $1,603.21; being an average expense to the 
fund of $1.59 8-10 for each guest fora two weeks' visit. The cost of railroad 
travel was greatly reduced by special rates made through the generosity of 
the companies, which, without exception, did all that was in their power to 
further the success of the country week excursions. 

Several of the little country weekers were permanently adopted by the 
families who entertained them, and thus the Fresh Air Fund found a new 
avenue of usefulness in securing for some of its beneficiaries happy, health- 
ful homes. Summer visitors to Chicago wUl be interested in witnessing the 
workings of the North and South Side sanitariums. The latter may be 
reached speedily by the Illinois Central suburban trains, taken at the foot of 
Randolph or Van Buren sts. A ride of a few minutes will carry the visitor 
to the foot of Twenty-second st. Contributions to the Fnsli Air Fund are 
received at the office of The Chicago Daily News, 123 Fifth ave. 

Chicago Free Kindergarten Association. This association is doing a mag- 
nificent work in Chicago. Officers for 1891 President, Mrs. A. P. Kelly; 
first vice-president, Mrs. P. D. Armour; treasurer, H. M. Sherwood; secre- 
tary, the Hon. T. C. MacMillan; corresponding secretary, Mrs. L. A. 
Hagans; superintendent, Misa Eva B. Whitmore. At the last annual meet- 
ing, held in January of this year, the Board of Directors made the following 
report: We find from the superintendent's report that the work has been 
more prosperous than in former years. Seventeen kindergartens have been 
under our supervision, with an average membership for the year of 1,058; 
average attendance, 956;highestaverageattendanceforone month, 1,349; high- 
est average membership, 1,299. Two thousand three hundred and twenty- 
seven different children have been enrolled since January, 1890. The cost of 
material was $1,356.52. This includes outfits for two new kindergartens 
established during the year, and averages about 59 cents worth of material 
for each child in the kindergartens. Counting teachers' salaries, fuel, and all 
other expenses, it is found that it costs a trifle over $5 per year for each child. 
Sixty-nine certificates and diplomas have been given to young ladies during 
the year. Of this number eleven are still in training, two have married, six 
are at home resting this year, and the remaining number are in active work 
either in the city or in other States. At present there are seventy-five ladies 
in training. This number added to seventeen principals, five assistants, and 
four regular instructors makes a working force of 101. There have been 
3.146 visits to homes of the children b> the teachers in the kindergartens. 
These, with the mothers' meetings held once each month in connection with 
the different kindergartens, have been of inestimable value in bringing about 
a closer sympathy between mother and teacher and the most effectual good to 
the children. There have been 4,059 visitors to the kindergartens. This, 



172 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

with the increased number in the training class, is yet another evidence of 
the growing interest in the kindergarten work. The little paper, the Free 
Kindergarten, issued by the association, has a larger circulation this year, 
indicative of a desire by many to investigate more thoroughly the methods of 
this association. The paper is issued quarterly, and contains plans and 
reports. The association has lost by death several of its prominent original 
members; among the number are Mr. L. Hagans, Mr. Caleb Gates, and Mr. 
F. Haskel. The training class has four regular instructors, Mrs. Mary 
Boomer Page, theory; Miss Eva B. Whitmore, occupations; Miss Margaret 
D. Morley, physical culture, and Miss Mary Hofer, vocal music. Besides 
these the classes have special lectures from other specialists. Miss Josephine 
Locke has given to the classes lectures on form, color, and 'clay modeling. 
Other lecturers of the year have been Dr. I. N. Danforth, Dr. McPherson, 
Miss Frances Willard, Mrs. Kissell, and Dr. Everett Burr. The special 
feature of this association is growing in favor as its work is more thoroughly 
investigated. There have been many of its Bible cards sent home and treas- 
ured by all members of the family. Texts are chosen that children can com- 
prehend and are not given until the thought is worked out through other 
materials. 

Chicago Nursery and Half-Orphan Asylum. Located at 175 Burling 
streeet, and 855 N. Hals ed street. One of the most useful and most worthy 
of the charities of Chicago. Officers of the Board of Managers: President, 
Mrs. W. C. Goudy; vice-president, Mrs. A. Keith; 2d vice-president, Mrs. H. 
J. Berry; secretary, Mrs. F. H. Beckwith; assistant secretary, Mrs. C. Bent- 
ley; treasurer, Miss Hurlbut; matron, Miss E. M. Fuller. At the last annual 
meeting the treasurer's report showed the total receipts for the year to be 
$18,039.37; expenses and investments, $17,560.67; balance on hand, $478.70. 
Chicago Orphan Asylum. Located at 2228 Michigan avenue. Take 
Cottage Grove avenue cable line. Under Protestant management, but 
children of all denominations are admitted. Officers President, Norman 
Williams; vice-president, John M. ClarK ; secretary, Frederick B. Tuttle ; 
treasurer, W. D. Preston. Officers of the Board of Directresses President, 
Mrs. N. T. Gassette ; vice-president, Mrs. B. B. Botford ; corresponding 
secretary, Miss S. M. Horton ; recording secretary, Mrs. H. W. Getz ; treas- 
urer, Mrs. E. J. Doring; matron, Mrs. Harriet C. Bigelow. 

Chicago Policlinic. A large and v well equipped building located at 174 
and i76 E.Chicago avenue. Take Clark or Wells street cable cars. This is one 
of the most meritorious institutions of the city. All sorts of diseases are 
treated free of charge to sufferers. From an enterprise for gratuitous treat- 
ment of the poor the physicians interested have developed it into a 
college, where active practitioners may take a post-graduate course in surgery 
and medicine. The lecture and other rooms have been enlarged and there is 
now room for 200. The clinics, which continue the year round, are well 
patronized, the daily number of people treated being about 200. The hos- 
pital room has recently been increased. About thirty Chicago physicians 
are connected with the institution, among them being the following: Drs. 
Miller, Belfield, Harris, Chew, M. R. Brown, Henrotin, Etheridge, Hooper, 
Colburn, Fiske, Hoadley, MacArthur, Senn, Fenger, Futterer, Patton, Hotz, 
Ingals, Church, Hayes, J. B. Hamilton, Banga, Christopher, Anthony, E. 
M. Smith, C^S. Bacon, E. L. Holmes, H. M. Lyman. 




[Engraved for The Standard Guide Company.] 

CORLISS ENGINE HOUSE AND WATER TOWER, PULLMAN, CHICAGO. 
[See " Great Industries."] 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 173 

Chicago Relief and Aid Society. Organized by special act of the legisla- 
ture in 1857. Located in Chicago, Relief and Aid Society building, LaSalle 
street, between Randolph and Lake streets. This society received a large 
portion of the surplus funds contributed by the world for Ihe relief of the 
people of Chicago, after the great fire of 1871. The society has from time to 
time been severely criticised for the coldness of its management, and thc> 
gingerly manner in which it extends its charities. In the last annual report, 
it advises strongly against the giving of private alms. The society owns 200 
beds in private hospitals. It claims that it has sometimes found a family ask 
ing relief when there are children old enough to contribute to their own and 
their parents' support, but who are kept at school. The society refuses aid 
in such cases, placing self-support and filial duty before education. " In the 
midst of abject poverty," so the reports reads, "there is often surprising 
wastefulness. There is great need of education in res pect to the ways and 
means of economy." During 1890 the following number of articles are said 
to have been issued : Men's wear, 749 ; children's wear, 1,459 ; shoes, 1.57 1 } 
pairs ; blankets. 104 ; comforts, 37 ; red flannel, 1,520 yards ; canton flannel. 
2, 890 yards; unbleached muslin, 2,165; calico, 2.160 ; worsted goods, 183 
In the list of nationalities of those who received relief the Germans are at the 
head with 510 families, including 2,470 children, and the Scotch are the 
sma-llest with 60 families. The total is 2,350 families and 10,940 children. 
In the class of cases relieved there were 2,209 of aged, sick, or infirm widows 
with families, 400 able-bodied men with families, and 895 deserted women 
with families. The total number of applications was 13,565, of which 6,015 
were approved ; women sent to the Home for the Friendless, 145 ; children, 
300 ; meal tickets issued, 2,746 ; men furnished with employment, outside of 
wood-yard, 10,536 ; expended by Superintendent Truesdell, $39,239 ; balance 
on hand, $13,482. The cash donations, amounting to $31,583, were divided 
into 4 $1,000 subscriptions, sixteen of $500 each, three of $300, thirty of $250 
each, eight of $200 each, and a large number of sums ranging from $150 to 
$1. The officers are President, John McLaren; B. L. Smith, treasurer; 
secretary, W. H. Hubbard; general superintendent, Rev. C. G. Truesdeli, 
directors meet first Monday of every month. The society has branch offices 
as follows: Southern office, 3601 Wabash ave. Northern office, 420 Lincoln 
ave. Western office, Monroe, cor. Ogden ave. 

Church Home for Aged Persons. Located at 4327 Ellis ave. Take Cot- 
tage Grove avenue cable lines. Reports made at the annual meeting of the 
lady managers show the disbursements of last year and no debt for the 
coming year. The board is composed of Mrs. Dr. Warden, Mrs. George W. 
Mathers* Miss Sayer, Miss Josephine I. Wells and Mrs. George S. McRej- 
uolds. 

Chicago Home for Crippled Children. Dr. J. Prince in charge. Located 
at 91 Heine street. This institution is designed as a mission to the poor and 
destitute, and a charitable asylum for infirm or crippled children. It depends 
upon voluntary subscription. Ben. K. Chase, tieasurer board of trustees, 70 
State street. 

Convalescents' Home. Organized 1891 and as yet in its incipiency. The 
directors hope to begin in a small way with a home for invalids in the city in 
the winter time and a country place during the summer. Officers : President, 



174 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

Dr. Walter Delafleld; vice-president, General Joseph Stockton; secretary, 
Charles M. Flack; treasurer, Julius Rosen thai. 

Danish Lutheran Orphans' Home. Located at Maplewood, a suburb of 
Chicago. Take train at Wells street depot, Wells and Kinzie streets. Under 
direction of the Danish Lutheran Church Society of Chicago ; superintendent, 
Rev. Andrew S. Nielsen. 

Erring Woman's Refuge. Located on the west side of Indiana avenue, 
between Fiftieth and Fifty-first streets. Mrs. L. B. Doud, president; Mrs. 
H. Y. Lazeau, vice-president; Mrs. John Ailing, recording secretary; Mrs. 
Charles Oilman Smith, corresponding secretary; Mrs. E. O. F. Holer, treas- 
urer; Mrs. Helen M. Woods, superintendent; Miss Bessie Stone, assistant 
superintendent. Teachers Miss Jennie Crawford and Miss Barber. Trus- 
tees James H. Swan, Charles M. Charnley, Addison Ballard, H. H. Kohl- 
saat, Henry S. Stebbias and G. C. Bentpn. Take Indiana avenue car on 
Wabash avenue cable line. This institution was founded in 1865. The pres- 
ent building was dedicated and thrown open in the fall of 1890. It cost $60,- 
000 and will accommodate 100 women. The plan of the new building may 
be described generally as octagonal, thirty-eight feet in diameter, with four 
wings 34x48 feet in size. The inner corners of these wings are cut off so as to 
form small square courts, with alternate sides of the octagon. The main 
entrance, facing Indiana avenue, is in one of these courts, and the angle of the 
wings in front of it contains a porch. Across the corresponding angle in the 
rear, and communicating with the two rear wings, is the kitchen building. 
The building has three stories and basement,' and the rotunda towers, above 
the wings, constitute another story. The material used is half-dressed lime- 
stone for the basement and Roman red brick for" the superstructure. The 
architecture is very plain. In the basement are the store-rooms, truuk-ioom, 
engine-room, boiler-room, coal-room, ice-room, vegetable-loom, laundry and 
the drying-room, and in the rotunda the gymnasium. On the first floor, the 
rotunda, into which the entrance opens, contains the main staircase, which 
rises at either side of an ornamental mantel and fire-place tixcd in the smoke- 
stack. In the northeast wing are the sewiug-iooms, fitting-ioom and mate- 
rial-room. In the southeast wing are the office, parlor, committee-room and 
a beautiful chapel. In the northwest wing are the nurseiy, wash-room and a 
few dormitories. In the southwest wing are the dining-room and china 
closet, and connecting with them the kitchen and pantry. On the second 
floor of the rotunda is the library, and in the wings the dormitories, bath- 
rooms, servants' quarters and the hospital. The third floor is devoted entirely 
to dormitories and bath-rooms. In the fourth story of the rotunda are more 
dormitories and two lock-ups, lined with corrugated iron, for the most violent 
inmates. The capacity of the building is about 100 inmates. The cost of 
the ground was $11,000. 

The Erring Woman's Refuge is one of the best managed charities in the 
city. The inmates are generally between the ages of 14 and 20. As a rule 
they are plain, uneducated and ignorant girls. They drift into the Refuge in 
various ways, but mostly from the justice courts, though there is no law 
authorizing justices of the peace to commit them there, nor the Refuge itself 
to receive and restiain them. Whenever they choose they get released on a 
writ of habeas corpus. The aim of the management is to restore the health 
of the inmates, teach them housework, plain sewing and dressmaking, and 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 175 

to awaken their moral and religious nature. They all attend school during 
four days in the week. On Sundays there is school in the morning, a sermon 
by some minister in the afternoon, and in the evening a prayer meeting con- 
ducted by one of the inmates, whom the others have selected for that pur- 
pose. There is also a prayer meeting on Thursday evening, a temperance 
band of hope, and on the last Saturday evening in every month a public enter- 
tainment by the inmates, consisting of recitations and music. At all these 
occasions the public is welcome. A sight not easily forgotten is a peep into 
thematron's photograph album, containing the likenesses of the girls who have 
graduated from the institution. To hear her give the history of one after 
another of them is a sad but interesting experience. Visitors are admitted 
between 10 A. M. and 4 P. M. daily. 

Foundlings' Home. Located at 114 Wood St., near West Madison St., 
West Side. Dr. George E. Shipman, Supt. Visiting day, Tuesday, from 
11 A. M. to 4 P.M. Take Madison st. cable line. First opened for the recep- 
tion of foundlings January, 1870, by Dr. Shipman. It was originally intended 
only as a haven of refuge for such little castaways as were abandoned in its 
immediate neighborhood, and not as a city charity. But, through a mis- 
understanding upon this score, the city papers spoke of it as such, and the 
doctor found the superinteudency of a public charity forced upon him. He 
had realized for a number" of years the great need of such an institution 
before he opened his little home, but could find no one who thought it incum- 
bent upon himself personally to undertake it, while all admitted the crying 
need. Dr. Shipnvin from that moment until the present has never been free 
from its responsibilities. In speaking of the time of its foundation he says 
that the coroner reported to him, upon being questioned, that he held an in- 
quest on at least one child every day " found dead from exposure." This 
would make a yearly aggregate of 365, to say nothing of the great numbers 
dead by the fearful crime of infanticide. The first home was a small, two- 
story frame house at 54 South Green street, for which $35 per month wa to 
be paid, with option ou a year from the following May. From one friend 
and another, wiio learned of the doctor's intentions, he received $77. 38, and a 
patient of his said he would give $100 more when it was opened. This was 
the sum total of visible capital wherewith to support all the foundlings in 
Chicago. It is interesting to read of this meager home and its still more 
meager furnishings and compare them with the almost luxurious equipments 
of the present home. Although the entire house was made habitable very 
soon, its capacity was reached before the lapse of many weeks, and still the 
basket at the door had every morning its tiny occupant. More room must 
be gained or the basket taken in. This was not to be thought of, and search 
was at once begun for a larger house, although the home had no money. 
This resulted in the selection of two large brick houses on the southeast cor- 
ner of Randolph and Sangamon streets. Two formidable dragons stood 
between the little charity and these. The rent was $133 per month ($35 was 
more than they could pay promptly). They were in a wretched condition, 
and the landlord would do nothing. There was no way to surmount these 
obstacles except to boldly face them. These b'uildings were selected on 
March 21, and when the doctor returned home in the evening, wondering 
what .should be done and praying, in the old way, for aid and guidance, he 
found the following letter awaiting him: 

" DR. SHIPMAN: My newspaper, just road, gives me an account of your foundlings, 
and says you are relying on the Lord, who has just told me to send you the enclosed 
<a check for $10J.; Trust in God aim KtCp the 1'uunalings warm. 

J. W. [JOHN WENTWOHTH.I 



176 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

This letter was taken as an indication that a more forward move was 
demanded, and the dragons slunk away. The 27th of March found the 
little colony moving in at the forbidden doorways. The first month's rent 
was paid with J. W.'s $100 and the balance from the doctor's purse. Now 
the terrible struggles of the home began. These can not better be explained 
than by his diary, kept during theseTbitter days : 

" Thursday, March 30. Only $ J received this week . The Lord seems to rebuke us 
for something. May he in mercy show us what it is. Much money is needed, but none 
comes. Has the Lord forgotten to be gracious? ' Fear not; I am with tbee,' he saya. 
May we not trust implicitly in him? 

"Friday, March 31. No money has come in to-day, but considerable has gone 
out, which I have been obliged to furnish out of my own pocket. * * * 

" Monday, April 3. No relief yet and daily demands upon my slender purge, 
which is quite unable to meet even those made upon it by my own necessities. 

" Friday, April 7. But $7.31 has been received, and I have spent very nearly the 
last dollar of my own money." * * * 

A gleam of sunshine came on the following Monday when several brother 
physicians called upon him in the evening and left a purse containing $45. 
The home worried on through the summer, and then in October came the 
great fire. It escaped its terrors, but was $1,500 in debt. The Relief and 
Aid Society voted a monthly stipend to every city charity excepting the 
Foundlings' Home, the objection being that it was managed by an indirldual 
instead of by a " board," as were the others. This policy was not lonf per- 
sisted in, however, for they soon decided to appropriate $150 per month for 
six months to the foundlings. In May, 1872, it was intimated to Dr. Ship- 
man that the Relief and Aid Society wished to give $10,000 toward the 
erection of a building for the Home, but that they objected to giving it to a 
private individual. The only objection he had ever had to its being incor- 
porated was the possibility that the work might be interrupted as one of faith. 
This reasoning was soon set aside, and on May 28th the Foundlings' Home 
was incorporated under a general act of the legislature, with the following- 
named gentlemen as trustees: Thomas C. Dickenson, John Dillingham, the 
Rev. C. D. Helmer, William G. Hibbard, 8. A. Kean, the Rev. A. E. Kit- 
tredge, J. L. Pickard, the Rev. H. N. Powers, and George E. Shipman, 
M. D. 

In July, the lot on Wood street was purchased for $8,000, $3,000 being 
paid in cash and a mortgage given for $5.000. Work on the building was 
commenqed In October. The Relief and Aid Society gave another $10,000, 
and then $2,500 more. Citizens gave $3, 000, and May 9, 1874, the house was 
ready for occupancy. In 1884, some friends of the doctor's, who had 
watched his patient and self-sacrificing eiforts to maintain the Home for 
years, raised among themselves the sum of $25, 000 and erected a commodious 
addition to the Home building for his residence, so that with his wife and 
four of his eight children about him he lives in comfort and within sight and 
sound of every movement of his foundlings. There are at present 112 
inmates, including the nurses. The foundlings range in age from the newly- 
born to twelve months. They are usually adopted or redeemed by their 
parents before reaching one year. The Home still depends solely upon vol- 
untary contributions for support, but is now so well known and so widely 
appreciated that it does not suffer the old sorrows of destitution and misery. 
Visitors to the institution are welcome during the usual visiting hours, on 
Tuesday, from 11 A. M. to 4. P.M. and there is scarcely a more interesting 
institution in the city. 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 177 

Jewish Charitable Association. An association of Hebrews of the North 
Side for charitable purposes. The officers of the association are: B. Wartelsky, 
president; Lewis Lewisohn, vice-president; >I. Kreeger, secretary, and A. L. 
Stone, treasurer. The headquarters are at No. 567 South Halsted St., where 
the superintendent, M. Dulsky, has charge of every case of Buffering reported. 
President, B. Wartelsky; vice-presidents, Wolf Goldstein and M. Kassel; 
recording secretary, M. Kreeger; financialjsecretary, A. Bernstein; treasurer, 
N. Davis; board of directors, A. I. Frank, R. Goldstein, A. L. Stone, Lewis 
Lewinsohn, Marks Nathan, A. Lieberman, A. Wilkess, H. Stern, and S. D. 
Stoll. Advisory Board, L. Steinberg, M. Perlstein, F. Kiss, I. Lewinsohn, 
M. Schneider, P. Drosdivitz, M. Barnett, H. Barnett, C. B. Neuerman. 

Lake Geneva Fresh Air Association. Organized June 1888 by wealthy 
ladies and gentlemen of Chicago, summer residents of Lake Geneva. It is 
said this grand charity, which has for its object the granting of recreation to 
, poor children and working girls, during the heated terms of each year, had 
its origin in the suggestion of a Chicago lady during a moonlight boat ride on 
the lake. Edward E. Ayer, George Sturges, N. K. Fairbank and George C. 
Walker were instrumental in starting the movement. A committee of twenty 
young women was organized to secure subscriptions around the lake and in 
the city. In one month the committee had $12,000 pledged. A number of 
gentlemen pledged themselves to furnish an additional sum of money to start 
the organization. The articles of incorporation read : 

" The undersigned, E. D. Richardson, W. H. Hammersly, and John B. Sim- 
mons, residents cf Lake Geneva, in V\ alworth County, State of Wisconsin, hereby 
associate themselves together for the purpose of forming a corporation, under the 
Revised Statutes of the State of Wisconsin, for the purpose of constructing and main- 
ing at Lake Geneva a summer resort for poor children residing in or near the city of 
ChicHgo The capital stock of this association shall be limited to twenty thousand 
dollars (*20,OoO), divided into two hundred (~0 ) shares of one hundred dollars (*100) 
each. It mnj r commence the transaction of business when eighty (80) shares of its 
capital stock nave been subscribed for. No dividend or pecuniary profit shall ever be 
made or declared by this corporation to its members." 

The asnciatioo i nmeiiately purchased eight acres of ground ont he north 
shore of Lake Geneva, near Forest Glen. The land lies in one of the most 
picturesque spots around this beautiful lake. It is on a wooded hillside run- 
ning down to the shore, and has 300 feet frontage on the lake. A two-story 
frame house, with basement, was built on a level with the gentle slope that 
runs down to the lake. The house stands several hundred feet back from the 
shore and immediately in the rear of it rises the steep acclivity of the hill or 
bluff. This house was christened the " Holiday Home," and many a heart 
has leaped with gladness within its walls. A large veranda, after the 
Southern style of a porch, runs around the suniiy side of the house. In the 
basement are the servants' quarters kitchen, laundry and balh-rooms. On 
the first floor is a large play-room for children with an old-fashioned fire- 
place, a long hall, a dining-room, a matron's room and a committee-room. 
In the upper story are four dormitories, each fitted up with iron bedsteads. 
The walls are covered with pictures. Each child has a bag, into which it 
puts its clothing at night and hangs near the b(d. A matron has a room on 
this floor also. The home was opened July 3, 1888. There are special dona- 
tions by individuals for support of beds, and decorations in the way of pic- 
tures. About a dozen beds are thus provided. The home now has accom- 
modations for eighty persons. About $4,000 has been spent on the house. 

On June loih of each year the association sends out eighty young women 



178 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

to the home for an outing of two weeks. They are found in the ranks of the 
shop girls, clerks, type-writers and stenographers. Their car fare is paid 
both ways by the association and their boarding and lodging are free. Their 
summer retreat lasts until July 1st. They return that day in the moruing, 
and in the afternoon another party of eighty younger girls, ranging from six 
to thirteen years of age, are sent out to the home. This lot is found among 
the school children principally. A selection committee has charge of tie 
matter. Applications for an outing are handed into this committee and an 
agent makes an investigation. If the application is found to be a proper on 
the applicant is registered as one who can go. The city is divided into dis- 
tricts, each one having an agent who reports applications to the selection 
committee, and then the general agent makes his investigation. 

On the afternoon of July 15th a lot of eighty boys are taken out on the 
train to the home. They are selected from the poorer families and the sickly 
children. The succeeding fortnights alternate with a lot of boys and then a 
lot of girls at the home up to September 1st. This allows the children 1o 
return in time for the opening of the public schools. The first two weeks of 
September are devoted to giving recreation to eighty mothers and eighty 
babies. The mothers, babies, young women and girls and boys are given free 
excursions on the lake by the gentlemen in the vicinity who own private 
yachts. A pier has been built on the lake front of the association's property, 
and the boys, under the charge of custodians, are allowed to swim and bathe 
and indulge in aquatic sports. The girls are also allowed to educate themselves 
in swimming. Concerts are given in the play -room of Ihe home. A fine 
piano is there for the use of those musically inclined. Gospel hymns are 
sung, but the boys can also raise their voices in exploiting the love affairs of 
" Little Annie," who was the sweetheart of a certain Joe; or even warble 
the melodies of " There're After Me ! After me!" Concerts by older people 
are given at Harvard Camp, Kaye's Park, Forest Glen Park and Frascate 
Park, the proceeds of which go into the treasury of the home. Fresh veg- 
etables are furnished the home from the private gardens at the lake, and gen 
tlemen in the vicinity also send over barrels of watermelons in season. 

Officers. President, Mrs. George L. Dunlapjvice presidents, Mrs. Edward 
E. Ayer, Gilbert B. Shaw; corresponding secretary, Miss M. D. Sturgcs; 
recording secretary, Mrs. Herbert P. Crane; treasurer, Miss Katherine. 
Porter; board of directors, Edward E. Ayer, R. T. Crane, Henry Strong, Mrs. 
S. W. Allerton, Mrs. John T. Lester, Mrs. Lucretia J. Tilton; board of mana- 
gers, Mrs. E. E. Ayer, Mrs. S. A. Brown, Mrs. William J. Chalmers, Mrs. 
Charles Crane, Mrs. Herbert P. Crane, Mrs. R. T. Crane, Mrs. W. F. 
Dummer. Mrs. N. K. Fairbank, Miss Hannah French, Mrs. E. B. Harbert, 
Mrs. F. S. Johnson, Mrs. J. S. Norton, Mrs. George Parker, Mrs. H. H. Porter, 
Mrs. O. W. Potter, Mrs. Conrad Seipp, Mrs. Gilbert B. Shaw, Mrs. Henry 
Strong, Mrs. George Sturgis, Miss C. P. Tilton, Mrs. James Van Inwagen, 
Mrs. George C. Walker, Mrs. O. D. Wetherell, Mrs. J. R. Wilson, Mrs. T. F. 
Withrow. Standing Committee Chairmen Finance, Edward E. Ayer; 
building and grounds, George C. Walker; household, Mrs. George C. Walker; 
purchasing, Mrs. Orson Smith; amusement, Miss Katherine I sham; hospital, 
Mrs. O. D. Wetherell; transportation, R. T. Crane; selection of children, Mrs. 
T. F. Withrow; investigating, Mrs. W. J. Chalmers. Four-fifths of the 
money received by the home has come from fairs, clubs and children's enter- 
tainments. 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 179 

German Old People's Home. Located at Harlem Altenheim P. O. 
ten miles west of the City Hall. Take train at Grand Central depot, Fifth 
avenue and Harrison street. This Home was established through the efforts 
and generosity of the German residents of Chicago, and is the largest and 
best conducted institution of its kind in the country. The Home buildings 
are complete, the surroundings beautiful, and nothing is spared to make the 
lives of the old people committed to its care as happy as possible. One of the 
prime movers in this noble charity was Mr. A. C. Hesing. its president. The 
treasurer is Mr. John Buehler; secretary, Arthur, Erbe; financial secretary, 
C. Mechelke. 

Good Samaritan Society. Industrial Home, 151 Lincoln avenue,. North 
side ; take Lincoln avenue car. This institution is incorporated by special 
charter. The object of this Society is to provide a place for destitute women 
and girls, believed to be worthy, where they can earn an honest and respect- 
able living. For this purpose a home is provided, where, when necessary, 
they can be cared for temporarily, and as soon as a suitable place can be 
found they are sent to it. No money is given them except to pay car fare 
or for some immediate necessity. The essence of the whole work is, to give 
a chance to those who wish to get on in the world. Supported by voluntary 
contribution. 

Guardian Angel Orphan Asylum. This is a German Roman Catholic 
institution and is located at Rosehill (Havelock P. O.). Take train at Wells 
street depot, Wells and Kinzie streets. The institution is conducted by the 
Poor Handmaids of Jesus Christ ; Superior, Sister Mary Hyacinthe. 

Hebrew Charity Association. This association is accomplishing a remark- 
able and a noble work in Chicago. It is composed of the various Hebrew 
charitable organizations. [For particulars as to its general transactions, see 
" Michael Reese Hospital," under heading of " Hospitals and Dispensaries."] 
The receipts of the last Hebrew charity ball given in Chicago under the 
auspices of the Hebrew Charity Association were $12,000. The report of the 
united Hebrew charities for 1889-1890 showed that during the year there 
were 494 applicants for work, or forty more than the year before. Of these 
443 were provided with work, or fifty-seven more than during the preceding 
year. At the Michael Reese hospital 789 patients were treated, of whom 252 
were Jewish Charity patients and 278 Gentile charity patients. Of those 
treated 344 were Jewish, 330 Protestant, and 115 Roman Catholic. 

Helping Hand, The. The Helping Hand is the name of a new institution, 
benevolent in character, which was opemd to the public in 1891, at the north- 
east corner of West Washington and Clinton streets. The three upper floors 
of the four-story building on that corner have been leased for three years by 
well-known citizens, who organized and incorporated this charity for the pur- 
pose of making a practical test of their ideas concerning work of this kind. 
They deal chiefly with able-bodied but unfortunate men. They do not pro- 
pose to become all-embracing reformers. They have at the outset adopted St. 
Paul's dictum that " if a man will not work neither shall he eat," and to this 
they add: " Nor should he be furnished with a bed at public expense." 

One of the most important rules of the new . establishment is thus 
expressed: " A clean bed, a compulsory bath, a clean night shirt, and such 
treatment of clothing as will destroy all vermin," all of which is deemed quite 
as ueedful as food to the self-respect of a man. The three floors contain 26 



180 GUIDE TO CHCAGO. 

rooms, 18 of which are provided with enough single beds to accommodate 100 
lodgers. Then there are dining-room and kitchen, reading-room, reception- 
room and office, and room for shower baths, fumigation room for the treatment 
of oldclothes, and a large apartment in which non-sectarian gospel services will 
be conducted every evening. The house is well provided with closets, and 
newly fitted with water pipes. In these respects it is far above the average 
cheap lodging house. Not the least important of Its features is a cobbler's 
bench, where badly worn shoes of unfortunates may be repaired, and a 
tailor's outfit for the mending of frayed garments that have seen better days. 
Charitable people are requested to send cast-off clothing there, <3o that a stock 
may be kept on hand for emergencies. 

The rates at the Helping Hand are 15 cents for a bed, or 35 cents for 
supper, bed and breakfast. Cash will be accepted from those who have it; 
able-bodied men without the price will be required to pay an equivalent in 
work furnished by the institution. Cripples and men unable to work do not 
come within the scope of this refuge; they will be referred to the institutions 
which cover that field. In course of time it is expected that different kinds 
of work can be furnished by the Helping Hand, but for the present the labor 
will consist chiefly of street sweeping, scrubbing, delivering coal and kindling 
wood. Officers: Thomas Kane, president; W. H. Rice, secretary; Judge 
Qwynn Garnett, treasurer. The directors are Messrs. Garneii, Kane, Rice, 
Judge C. C. Kohlsaat, Arthur J. Caton, Charles E. Simons, R, H. Trumbull, 
E. H. Valentine, Qeorge B. Townsend and J. L. Whitlock. P. V. Welch, 
superintendent. 

Holy Family Polish and Bohemian Orphan Asylum. Located at Holt and 
Division streets. This is a Catholic institution. Sister Mary Rosamunda, 
Superior. 

Home for Incurables. Located on Ellis ave. and Fifty-sixth st. Take 
Cottage Grove ave. cable line. F. D. Mitchell, superintendent ; Miss Libbie 
8. Ainsworth, matron ; Dr. William P. Goldsmith and Dr. John H. Wilson, 
attending physicians. The buildings, together with the surrounding grounds, 
are the gift of Mrs. Clarissa C. Peck. This kindly lady, when living, was ac- 
tive in all good works, and, dying, bequeathed the better half of her estate for 
the alleviation'of a class for whom no adequate provision was made. In the 
main corridor of the great building is a magnificent brass memorial tablet, 
set like some rare jewel in fine marble. It bears the following inscription : 
* 

CHICAGO HOME FOR INCURABLES. 
This Tablet is Erected in Grateful 

Remembrance of 

CLARISSA C. PECK, 

Died Dec. 22, 1884, 

By whose Generosity This Institution 

Was Founded and Endowed. 



But a monument more lasting than brass is the great home itself with its 
cheerful apartments given over to the comfort and consolation of the afflicted. 
Mrs. Peck's bequest amounted to something over $500,000, and in the will she 
named eight gentlemen whom she wished to act as trustees .' i founding the 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. . 181 

institution. These were Byron L. Smith, Edson Keith, Albert J. Averell, C. 
M. Henderson, George L. Otis, Henry J. Willey, Albert Keep, and Charles 
Gilman Smith. Albert Keep, formerly president of the North- Western rail- 
road, is a near relative of the deceased. H. N. Higinbotham was made pres- 
ident of the institution. This gentleman had been manager of a similar 
institution at Lake View, and his omission from the list of trustees named by 
the testatrix was owing to her not having acquaintance with him. These 
trustees made purchase of a very suitable tract of land ; they have 480 feet 
on Ellis ave. and 170 feet on Fifty-sixth st. For this they paid $22,000. No 
architectural display has been attempted in the buildings. They are com- 
modious and substantial, and so arranged that not a dark or cheerless room 
can be found throughout. When completed the buildings cost $85,000. Mrs. 
Peck died in 1884, but, owing to litigation, the home was not completed till 
March, 1890. Through all these years interest had been accumulating, and 
after deducting the $107,000 expended upon grounds and buildings there 
still remained the equivalent of $600,000 in productive real estate and bonds. 
The interest upon this is more than sufficient to meet all running expenses, 
and lay by each year a goodly sum, so that, when necessary, additions can be 
made to the buildings and its facilities enlarged and improved, The main 
building is five stories high, and extending from it to north and south are 
wings of four stories. The full capacity is 125. When the Home was opened 
it took from the smaller institution at Lake View thirty-three incurables, all 
it had, and that Home was closed. All races are to be received at this institu- 
tion, which is entirely non-sectarian. When it is possible for the afflicted 
inmate or his friends to pay a monthly stipend for his support it is accepted, 
but there are many who come absolutely free. To be eligible, the applicant 
must be afflicted with some pronounced disease, which is considered incura- 
ble by the trustees, who are the final judges in the matter. The predominat- 
ing diseases are paralysis and rheumatism, the first being the more frequent. 
Those who are so afflicted as not to be able to walk are provided with invalid 
chairs, which they can propel at pleasure about their rooms or through the 
long corridors out upon the wide verandas. There are comfortable seats and 
inviting hammocks and a perspective of lawn and bright flowers which 
means much to feeble eyes and limbs. There is a parlor upon every floor, 
where the chairs are wheeled at the will of each occupant. There is a com- 
modious reading-room, and the men have a smoking-room where they may 
indulge to their hearts' content in the use of their favorite brands. During 
the usual visiting hours strangers are always welcome. 

Home for Self -Supporting Women. Located at 275 and 277 Indiana street. 
Take Indiana street car. An institution which affords a home for girls and 
women, whether employed or unemployed, if they are willing to support 
themselves when occasion offers. A great many women who work outside 
make this their home. Officers, president, Mrs. James S. Gibbs; treasurer, 
Mrs. Henry P. Crowell; recording secretary, Miss Mary A. Prescott; corre- 
sponding secretary, Mrs. W. W. Angue; matron, Mrs. V. P. Smith. 



182 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

Home for Unemployed Girls. Located at Market and Elm sts., North 
Side. Take North Market st. car. This institution is conducted by the Fran- 
ciscan sisters. Girls temporarily out of employment are cared for here. 
The charity is a noble one and receives the generous support of Roman Cath- 
olics. 

Home for Working Women. Located at 21 S. Peoria street, West Side. 
Take Madison street cable line. Conducted by the AVorkiug Women's Home 
Association. The home is one of the youngest of Chicago's many charita- 
ble works, and the success it has attained has demonstrated that it has filled a 
place long needed. The home was first opened on the seventeenth of May, 
1890, and the building now occupied was then newly painted, papered and 
furnished throughout. Applications for admission were numerous, many of 
them being from strangers in the city, and the home is now taxed to its 
utmost capacity. The aim of those in charge is to furnish a place where no 
respectable woman, regardless of her nationality or religion, will be refused 
needed assistance, and to enable those who earn but little to live comfortably 
and respectably. During the year 1891 fully 600 girls received the 
benefits of the home. The food is said to be wholesome, well cooked, and 
there is plenty of it. Every inmate has her own bed, and every room has a 
closet. The house is heated with steam, and there is hot and cold water on 
every floor. The directors are anxious that the Home shall be the headquar- 
ters for all working women, whether they live there or not. Free stationery, 
reading, sewing and bathing-rooms are at the disposal of all, and a type- 
writer and piano add to the attractions of the place. The managers are very 
emphatic that their home is not an institution, but a genuine home in every 
sense of the word. Officers A. E. Johnson, president; Dr. H. W. Thomas, 
first vice-president; A. Chaiser, second vice-president; Rev. C. Treider, sec- 
retary; George P. Bay, treasurer; Dr. Odelia Blinn, medical superintendent; 
C. R. Matson, counsel. Directors All officers, and Mrs. Dr. Gunsaulus, 
Miss C. Addie Brown, Rev. A. Hallmer, Alice J. Johnson and Henry L. 
Hertz. 

Home for the Frie ndless. Located at 1926 Wabash avenue. Take 
Wabash avenue cable line. Established in 1858. Officers A. C. Bartlett, 
president ; F. D. Gray, vice-president ; Mrs. Thomas A. Hill, corresponding 
secretary ; Mrs. C. Gilbert Wheeler, recording secretary ; W. C. Nichols, 
treasurer; Miss A. Z. Rexford, superintendent, and Miss E. T. Colburn, 
assistant superintendent. Average number of inmates about 200. During 
1890 there were 1,435 admissions, 1,144 dismissals and 9 deatbs. At the 
beginning of 1890 there was in the treasury a cash balance of $6,616.90. Of 
those admitted during 1890, 763 were Protestants, 642 Catholics, and 40 
Jews. The largest number received in one month was 182, in October, and 
the smallest 72, in February. Thirty-two children were surrendered to the 
home and fifty-eight found homes of adoption. This is one of the most inter- 
esting charitable institutions in the city. From small beginnings it has grown 
and prospered until the income of the Home is now about $21,000 per annum, 
which includes the Crerar bequest. Ten years ago the whole work of the 
home was conducted in what is now known as the main building, or the north 
and south wings. Since that time there has been erected, atacostof $35,000, 
ft part of the generous bequest of Mr. Hobart Taylor, the addition called by 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 183 

his name, which has nearly doubled the capacity of the home. It contains 
the " Shelter " and bath-room for transient inmates, two laundries, the linen- 
room, girls' department, including dormitory, bath and store rooms, the 
infirmary, dispensary and nursery. The records also show that during tne 
last ten years a procession of 20,167 women and children have passed through 
these open doors, and here halted for assistance, material and moral, which 
was offered without distinction of color, race, religion, or language, so long 
as the applicant seamed to be overborne in the fierce struggle for life. Among 
the throng hundreds of deserted wives and mothers are included, who fre- 
quently bring with them their little broods to be cared for in this tranquil 
nest. The hospitality, including rest, good food, encouragement, sympathy 
and advice, is freely tendered to all belonging to the class of worthy poor, as 
specifically laid down in the charter. During the last ten years about 
3.400 children, including day scholars, have been enrolled as pupils in the 
Home School, in which are taught the branches of the primary department and 
the graded grammar school. In the industrial class, since 1879. about 350 
girls, between the ages of 12 and 16, have been taught sewing, housework 
and elementary cooking, thereby being prepared to earn a respectable living 
when they go out into the world. Perhaps the most important feature in the 
general work of the home is the arrangement by which children are adopted 
who have been neglected or abandoned by their parents. During ten years 
734 children have been legally ' ' surrendered " to the home, which has found 
permanent places for nearly all that number with reputable families. 

It is stated in the act of incorporation, " The object and purposes of the 
Chicago Home for the Friendless shall be the relieving, aiding and providing 
homes for friendless and indigent women and children." The middle-aged 
women at the home are usually transients. A woman is out of work, or a 
stranger, and has no money to get a lodging. She makes her way to the 
Home, where all are received except the unfortunate victim of drink, for 
whom there is no immediate place but the police station. After admission 
the new guest is provided with a hot bath, and, if she desires, some clean 
clothes. She is then givtn a good meal, and, as it is usually at night that 
such applications are made, she is taken to a comfortable bed. In the 
morning, after breakfast, she is expected to help during the forenoon with 
the work of the house, and then she can have the rest of the day to look for 
employment outside. Sometimes such women stay for a week or two weeks 
before they find work, and they are made to feel at home during that time. 
In what is called the "Industrial School," young girls or women who 
seriously desire to learn are taken, and, while kept as inmates of the home 
for such time as. would be required, are taught sewing and housekeeping. 
The children in the home are mostly those who have been abandoned by their 
parents and picked up by the officers of the Humane Society. They come, 
of course, in different ways, but criminal neglect by their parents is the 
usual cause of their suffering. Children under nine months are not received 
at this institution. But those above that age, up to six or seven years, can 
be found running around their nurseries and play-rooms with as much vigor 
and heartiness as if the world belonged to them. When a child first appears 
at the home, it is the invariable rule that it shall be sent to quarantine 
quarters, at the top of the building, for fourteen days. There is scarcely 
ever any sickness in this quarantine, but considering the places from which 
most of the children are brought, it is considered prudent to isolate them. 



184 (J( IDE TO CHICAGO. 

After the two weeks' purification process, the managers of the institution try 
to find a permanent home for the waifs, and, if they are not claimed by 
parents or guardians before six montha, an officer of the home goes before a 
judge and is appointed the legal guardian. The parents or guardians also 
may voluntarily surrender all right to a child, after which it becomes the 
ward of the home, and at the earliest opportunity is placed out with 
respectable people, on trial for three months. If such trial proves agreeable, 
both for child and caretakers, the little one is usually adopted and becomes 
" part of the family." Visitors are always welcome between the hours of 10 
A. M. and noon, and 1 and 4 p. M. 

Home for the Jews. Organized in 1891. Large endowments have been 
received by this projected institution. It is not yet fully established. The 
directory is composed of: Mrs. M. A. Meyer, Mrs. Charles H. Schwab, Mrs. 
H. Klopfer, Mrs. Dora Frank, Mrs. Louis Newberger, Mrs. B. J. David, Mrs. 
Emma Stern, Mrs. Max Hart, Mrs. Julia Bernheimer, Morris Rosenbaum, 
Abram Slimmer, Nelson Morris, II. A. Kohn, H. L. Frank, B. Kuppen- 
heimer, J. Rosenbaum, Simon Mandel, B. Lowenthal, B. Calm, Harry Hart, 
Moses Born, H. E. Greenbaum, A. Kuh, E. Frankenthal, D. A. Kohn. 

Home of Industry. Located at 234 and 236 Honore street, West Bide. 
Take Van Buren street car. William S. Potwin, president; Albert M. Day, 
treasurer; Charles M. Howe, secretary; B. M. Butler, Albert M. Day, Thomas 
Kane. William S. Potwin, Charles M. Howe, Mrs. T. B. Carse, Joseph B. 
Locke and H. J. Coon, directors; A. C. Dodds, superintendent. The Home 
of Industry was organized by Michael Dunn, a reformed criminal, who had 
spent over'thirty years of his life in penal institutions all over the world. 
Dunn's history as a criminal is somewhat interesting. He is a native of Eng- 
land and was born and reared a criminal. When only seven years old Dunn 
was first consigned to prison for a petty theft of which he was convicted. 
Imprisonment seemed to do him no good, and up to the time he was thirty 
years old be had been confined in prison half a dozen times and had been 
sent to various English penal settlements, but always returned to his old 
tricks. Finally, the English government paid his passage to America to 
get rid of him, and he began in this country the same career that had caused 
him so much trouble in the land from which he had been driven. He was 
frequently in pr'son in various parts of the United States, and finally, about 
ten years ago, after spending almost his entire life in penal servitude in both 
hemispheres, he became reformed and started out to aid and better the rest 
of the class which he had left. Dunn is now about sixty years old. He has 
the look of a criminal, and most people would hardly believe that he could 
e anything else, but those who know him best and have been brought into 
contact with him through the founding of these places of refuge do not 
doubt his complete reformation. When at last Dunn did see "the error of 
his way, "he conceived the idea of providing homes for discharged crimi- 
nals, where they might retire till an opportunity was afforded to earn an hon- 
est living. The first refuge he instituted was in New York. He then went 
to San Francisco and started another. He then founded the one here in Chi- 
cago and afterward another in Detroit. There are at present in the Chicago 
Home of Industry about a dozen convicts. The average term of their retire- 
ment there is about two weeks. In connection with the institution is a 
broom factory, where every one who is taken in has to earn his living or do 




[Engraved for The Standard Guide Company.] 

"THE TEMPLE" LA SALLE AND MONROE STREET^ 

[See " Guide."] 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 185 

as much towards it as he can. The Institution is not self-supporting and has 
to depend quite largely on public charity. Most of the inmates of the place 
come from Joliet and Michigan City, the nearest prisons to thin city, but the 
place has been a refuge for prisoners from most every penal institution in the 
country. Superintendent Dodds usually receives from most oZ the prisons 
a monthly discharge list. To prisoners Wr> are aoout to ue set at liberty he 
sends circulars telling of therefugo and u.e advantages to bo found in it. 
No convicts are received except on recommendation ^f tin rT ardon or chap- 
lain of the prison in which they were last confined, unless '; 7 con convince 
the superintendent of a desire to reform and lead a better 1'ue. Everyone 
who stays there must do something toward his own support, ruid all who 
enter must work or go elsewhere. The aid and influence of the superintend- 
ent are extended to all of them who seek honest employment, and any 
inmate desiring to seek work outside is allowed half a day each. week, or 
more, at the discretion of the management. The ex-convicts arc not encour- 
aged to stay, but, on the contrary, are given all possible assistance in finding 
work outside. 

The institution enforces a set of rules for the conduct of the inmates of 
the home. They are required to be particular as to personal cleanliness. 
Total abstinence from intoxicants has to be observed. Smoking is permitted 
only in certain places, and profane language is not tolerated. A rising and 
a breakfast bell are rung, and inmates are required to be in bed at 10 o'clock. 
Every inmate is charged with the care of his own room, and all are required 
to attend morning and evening prayers unless excused by the superintendent. 
Any violation of the rules subjects the offender to immediate dismissal. 
Only men are received in the home. They are taught wayo of frugality, 
industry and economy, and most of them are susceptible to those teachings. A 
record is kept of the life of every man who enters the place, but that record 
is an inviolable secret to all but the superintendent. After the name of each 
candidate are made entries about his marital condition, his parentage, his 
birthplace, his religion, the prison in which he was last confined, the length 
of his sentence, his education and occupation, the crime for which he was 
convicted and its cause. A page of Superintendent Dodds' book of record 
is a most eloquent temperance lecture. Drink has led most of his boarders 
into trouble, though their detention in prison can be traced back to all kinds 
of vice. Many of the younger ones assign bad company as the cause of their 
downfall; others have gambled themselves into theft; still others have been 
educated as criminals, and a few state that it is their natural inclination to 
steal. The column of Mr. Dodds' book which keeps the record of all dis- 
missals from the Home is interesting. In it are to be found such entries as 
" found good employment as a harness-maker;" "a hypocritical thief, 
bounced without inercy ; " "found good position, clear case of conversion; " 
' ' went out to look for work, lost on the way back ; " " went home to friends;" 
"put out for lying; " " left to go wandering," and many others of the same 
kind. Every man is paid for his work in the place from the time he enters, 
according to the degree of proficiency he has acquired. Many of them turn 
out well and return to their homes to lead honest lives. Mr. Dodds is con- 
stantly receiving letters from such men, thanking him for the benefits of the 
institution. 

Home of Providence. Located at Calumet ave. and Twenty-sixth St., 
adjoining Mercy Hospital. Take Cottage Grove cable line. An institution 
for the care and protection of young women. Conducted by the Sisters of 
Mercy. Sister Mary M. Angela, superior. 



186 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

Home of the Aged. Located at West Harrison and Throop streets. Take 
West Harrison street car. Conducted by the Little Sisters of the Poor, who 
depend for the maintenance of the institution entirely upon the alms which 
they solicit. The building is a veiy large, plain, brick structure arid is gen- 
erally crowded with inmates, whose ages vary between 60 and 100 years. 
It is a worthy charity and the Little Sisters, who have a method of seeking 
alms peculiar to themselves are generally popular among the business people, 
of the city, who give them liberal Contributions. They never beg, simply 
stating who and what they are and If an unfavorable response is given 
they walk silently away, withrut . laldng further appeal. The Little Sisters 
are a French order. They 1 \ave 'A7O institutions in the city. 

House of The Good Shepherd. -^Located at North Market and Hill sts. 
Take Market st. car. Conducted by the Sisters of the Good Shepherd 
Superior, Mother Plary \ngeliquc. This institution is a haven and a 
reformatory for fallen women desiring to rise out of their condition, and is 
one of the most extensive M well ac one of the most useful charities in the 
city. 

Hull House. Hull House is the title by which is known a social settle- 
ment of women established at 335 So. Halsted street Its purpose is to fur- 
ish an intellectual and social center for the surrounding neighborhood. There 
is no organization, and the residents pay their own expenses. Miss Culver, 
the owner of the property, gives the rent, and various friends furnish a small 
fund for contingent expenses. Mr. Edward Butler has erected a tire-proof 
art building in which are an art exhibit room, a studio and a station of the 
free public library. Hull House carries on a free kindergarten composed 
largely of Italian children. In a separate cottage is a day nursery where 
mothers, who are obliged to work away from home, may bring their children 
to be cared for and fed during the day for a charge of five cents each. A 
well equipped diet kitchen furnishes specially prepared food for the sick, 
which is sold at the cost of the material, or, if necessary, given away upon 
recommendation of the visiting district nurse. A free gymnasium is now 
opfn which is used three evenings in the week by men and boys, and three 
evenings by women and girls. There are various free afternoon sewing 
classes for girls, and clubs for small boys, and evening social and literary 
clubs for girls and young men. Weekly free concerts or lectures are held to 
which all who vibit the House are invited. Five evenings in the week College 
Extension courses are given for which a fee of fifty cents per course of 
twelve weeks is charged. The average number of students in these classes is 
about "175, while the total average number of persons who visit the House 
weekly to attend the various classes and clubs is about 800. 

Margaret Etter C;\' :hc 7%nflergc;'ten. Located at 2356 Wabash avenue. 
Take Wabash avenue cabb line. Established August 3, 1885. One of the 
noblest charities in "lie city. cares for the ch'ldren of mothers who are 
compelled to work owl Jos ~ "r ing. T'xc -ttendance for the five years of the 
creche's existence show.?- a : ir,r. ;lous ffth-. August, 1885, to October, 1886, 
2,136; October 1, 1386, to G'cto: :r 1, 188r. i),C6L ; October 1, 1887, to October 
1, 1888, 3,562; October 1, 13d8. to OC;A>*O:: 1, 1 89, 4,253; October 1, 1889, to 
October 1, 1890, '^,592. But t^e ex ens^" d. not show a commensurate 
increase, being as follows: First ye*-, 3?.,?l.\48; second year, $1.383.84; 
third year, $1,375.7 ), fourth year, $1, 9 .5r iiff year, $2,007.16. Besides 
the day nursery a kindergarten 's carri 1 c -, ?iit it in no way counts on the 
treasury of the creche. The assistance of charitably-inclined people is 
necessary to the maintenance of the ;recho. 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 18t 

Masonic Orphans' Home. Located at 447 Carroll ave. and Sheldon st. 
Cares for about thirty children, but has accommodation for about seventy -five, 
and is supported by voluntary contributions from city and State. 

Newsboys' and Bootblacks' Home. Located at 1418 Wabash ave. W. H. 
Rand, president; E. P. Bailey, auditor; H. N. Higinbotham, treasurer; 
James Frake, secretary ; Eliza W. Bowman, matron. Board of directors : A. 
C. Bartlett, H. N. Higinbotham, Wm. H. Rand, James Frake, FrankP. Lef- 
fingwell, A. P. Millar, Edward P. Bailey, J. K. Stearns, Melville E. Stone, 
Wm. K. Ackerman. Lady managers : Mrs. T. W. Baxter, Mrs. M. E. Stone, 
Mrs. M. E. Clark, Mrs. Jas. Frake, Mrs. J. L. Lombard, Mrs. A. P. Millar, 
Miss Abbey Pierce, Mrs. Robt. A. Williams, Mrs. J. C. Stirling. Take 
Wabash avenue cable line. This institution has been in existence over 
twenty-three years. It had its inception in the Chicago Industrial School 
from which a charter was obtained in 1867, theincorporators being Jonathan 
Burr, John V. Farwell, William Blair, William E. Doggett, J. Y. Scammon, C. 
G. Wicker, Eli Bates, Philo Carpenter, J.S. Reynolds and E.F. Dickinson. This 
industrial school was very soon merged into the home and was the first 
movement to assist helpless street children in Chicago. The object of the 
institution is "to provide a good Christian hcme for newsboys and boot- 
blacks and other unprotected homeless boys. Also to aid them in finding 
homes and employment in either city or country." While the doors of the 
home have always been open and a requestfor shelter and food has been all 
thnt was necessary to obtain admittance, in order to foster independence and 
self-help the small sum of 15c. is charged for supper, breakfast and lodging. 
If, however, a boy is not able to pay " banner," as all charges for entertain- 
ment are called by street boys, he is still entertained. Provision is made for 
destitute boys by giving them work and small amount of money for starts by 
which they are able to earn what is required for their immediate living 
expenses. The Newsboys' Appeal, a small paper published in the interests of 
the Home, giving inside news, etc. 

Although the Home is not entirely self-supporting, there is no soliciting 
done in its interests. Previous to the fire, a lot on Quincy street was given to 
the Home upon which a small building was erected. After the fire, through 
the assistance of the Relief and Aid Society, a brick building was built, 
which, together with the lot, was later sold to Marshall Field & Co. for 
commercial purposes for $50,000. The directors bought the present location 
out of the amount and the balance Is used for current expenses. 

The rules of the institution are simple, and are onlysuch as are necessary 
to the well-being of the boys and a wise, kindly, personal interest is taken in 
every boy who is sheltered there although they are constantly coming and 
going, and an average of something more than a thousand are entertained 
each year. A careful record of every boy who is taken into the institution Is 
kept, together with as much of his history as can be obtained, and these records 
are replete with the pathetic results of human selfishness. No insignificant 
number of these boys have parents living who are comfortably off, but, hav- 
ing been divorced, each has married again, and with one accord refused to 
care for their child, who, of ton at a tender age, was obliged to shift for him- 
self, and so drifted into this haven for destitute, forsaken boys. There are 
others who have never knowjn their parents, and still others whose parents 
are drunken, shiftless, ' ' ne'er-do-wells," and a few who have run away from 



188 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

home for one cause or another. These last are induced, if possible, to return 
to their homes, and their parents are communicated with, but no boy is 
refused shelter and food, whatever the cause for which he stands in need 
of it. 

There is a night school four evenings in a week from 7:30 to 9 o'clock 
which the boys are required to attend, and, where it is deemed advisable, 
other instruction is provided. The institution is intended for a temporary 
home, the chief aim being to provide permanent employment for the boys 
who come there from all parts of the world. The management of the Home 
co-operates with the Humane Society and other kindred organizations, and in 
this way keeps pretty thoroughly informed in regard to homeless boys. 

Miss Eliza W. Bowman, who has been the matron of the Home for the 
past seven years, is a person admirably fitted for the difficult position which 
she fills with apparent ease and with satisfaction to all concerned. She is in 
hearty sympathy with the boys, and believes unswervingly that a good and 
useful life is possible to most of them. It was through an experiment tried by 
Miss Bowman that a somewhat new departure is being carried out at the 
Home. She found that the larger boys are often in a more unfortunate con- 
dition than the smaller ones, and that often their greatest need is means to 
get on while they are making a start. She therefore resolved to undertake 
herself to make several of these boys presentable, assist them in getting places 
to work and furnish them funds, as a loan, until such time as they should be 
paid for their work. The boys proved honest and industrious, with scarcely 
an exception, and the plan was a success. Miss Bowman reported the result 
of her experiment to the managing board, which approved this method of 
assisting the boys and made it a part of the work of the Home. In this con- 
nection Miss Bowman makes an interesting statement which is full of hope 
for the philanthropist. She says that when once a boy has become self- 
supporting and has tasted the pleasure of honest independence he is rarely 
ever willing again to take to the street life which, as a rule, he is obliged to 
adopt in his early struggle for existence. 

The Home, which is located at 1418 '''abash avenue, is one of the 
few places where a boy can go to make himself tidy and get a clean shirt, 
If need be, in the city. The dean shirt is always on call, and partly worn 
garments of this kind are accepted with enthusiasm at the Home. Indeed, 
Miss Bowman prefers the shirt which has been worn, as one that is quite new 
the boys are likely to sell for what they can get for it, as when they first 
come to the Home they are quite likely to consider it an extravagance to wear 
anything which can be exchanged for money. 

Odd Fellows' Orphans' Home. Located at Lincoln, 111., 156 miles south of 
Chicago. Take Chicago & Alton or Illinois Central train This is an insti- 
tution forthe orphan children, male and female, of Odd Fellows. Buildings 
erected on a site presented by citizens of Lincoln. Corner-stone laid April 
26, 1891. 

Old People's Home. Indiana ave. and Thirty-ninth st. Take Indiana 
ave. car on Wabash ave. cable line. Founded about thirty years ago by a 
humble seamstress, who resided on Third ave. She had accumulated a little 
money and bought her a home. She found hen-elf growing old, and belong- 
ing to that respectable legion designated " the old maids," without immediate 
family, conceived the laudable idea of establishing some institution or home 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 189 

that would assist in alleviating the sorrows and sufferings she saw about her. 
This ambition she laid before her pastor, the Rev. Dr. Boyd, and acting under 
his advice a home was established for the care of indigent old ladies. They 
first occupied a small frame house near the home of this kind-hearted woman. 
She was made matron and Dr. Boyd first president. It was not long until 
the public was interested in Samantha Smith and her humble charity. Find- 
ing after the first few years the cramped quarters of so small a house inade- 
quate, Miss Smith gave up her own more commodious dwelling, together with 
its entire furnishings, for the uses of the institution, and its charges were 
transferred thereto without delay. Miss Smith continued for some years 
longer as matron and then, for reasons not explained, retired from the duties. 
From Third ave. the Old Ladies' Home removed to Indiana ave., near Twenty- 
sixth St., where it occupied an old frame building for several years. After 
the great fire it received from the Relief and Aid Society the sum of $50,000, 
which was used as the nucleus of a building fund, and the latter part of 1873 
found them established in their present commodious home. Later on the 
vacant lots between them and the corner of Thirty-ninth st. were purchased, 
thus adding 158x100 feet to their property. This donation from the Relief 
and Aid Society was given under the conditions that the name should be 
changed to read ' ' The Old People's Home," and indigent old gentlemen were to 
be admitted as well as ladies, the Relief and Aid Society to have control of 
twenty rooms for the benefit of its own pi* eges. Old gentlemen have never 
as yet been admitted, although it was intended, some time ago, to build at 
the north end of the home building a wing or addition especially for them. 
The management does not consider this idea feasible, however, and the old 
gentlemen's home will be located farther out, where they may have vegetable 
and flower gardens and trees and plants to cultivate. This institution, in 
common with many others of our city charities, is an heir of the late John 
Crerar and receives by his munificence an addition of $50,000 to their funds. 
There are at present sixty-eight inmates, so that the capacity is very nearly 
reached. The rooms pertaining to the Relief and Aid Society are always occu- 
pied, admittance to them being absolutely free. Of all other inmates an ad- 
mission fee of $300 is charged, the applicant being required to furnish her 
own room. They first enter upon six months' probation, and if the board of 
managers for any reason should not deem it expedient to make them perma- 
nent inmates the -honorarium or admission fee paid will be returned, less $3 
per week for each week she has been an inmate. Each applicant is visited 
at her abiding place by a special committee, and all particulars of her needs 
and deserts investigated before her application is brought before the board of 
managers. Applicants admitted must be absolutely eligible in every particu- 
lar. She must be at least 45 years of age and of good character, and must be 
able to show that she has no adequate means of support ; she must have been 
a resident of Chicago for the two previous years, and if she has children who 
are able to support her she can not be admitted. While the rules governing 
the domestic life of the home are of necessity enforced upon all alike, they are 
so kindly intentioned th at obedience sits but lightly upon the reasoning member 
who appreciates the perfect harmony the regulations insure. Yet the man- 
agement of sixty-eight old people, whose habits and natures are their own and 
unchangeable, is quite different from governing an institution given over to 
children, whose plastic minds conform easily to environment. It is quite 
singular that the youngest matron in the city should be found in charge of 
the oldest people. 



190 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

Pioneer Aid and Support Association. This society was organized to 
support the families of those executed for participation In the Haymarket 
massacre and those who are now at Joliet. 

School for Deaf and Dumb. Located at 409 May street, West Side. Con- 
ducted by the religious of the Holy Heart of Mary and supported by the Eph- 
pheta Society; Mrs. John Cudahy, president. Following are the directresses: 
Mesdames John Cudahy, R. P. Travers, N. S. Jones, W. F. McLaughlin, 
Starr, J. B. Sullivan, James Eagle, Thomas Duffy, J. J. Egan, M. Cudahy, 
McLaughlin, J.A. Mulligan, J. H. Drury, J. B. Inderrieden, Z. P. Brosseau, 
W. A. Amberg, M. Shields, E. A. Matthiessen, James Walsh, A. W. Green, 
M. Sullivan, F. Henrotin, Morris Sellers, W. J. Quan, Thos. Lonergan, W. P. 
Rend. The average number of deaf mutes in the school is about fifty, and 
four experienced teachers are employed. Mrs. John Cudahy has devoted a 
great deal of her time to this noble charity, as have also the other ladies 
named. 

Servite Sisters' Industrial Home for Girls. Located at 1396 W. Van 
Buren street. Take Van Buren street car or Madison street cable line. An insti- 
tution for the care, protection and training of girls who have no homes or 
homes unfit for them. Conducted by the Servile Sisters of Mary. Superior, 
Mother Mary Francis. 

Soldiers' Home Fund. This fund amounts to about $70,000 and is the bal- 
ance left from the result of the great Sanitary Fair held in Chicago during 
the early part of the war. With the money then raised was established a 
soldiers' rest or home, where troops going to the front from the Northwest 
might be fed, and, if necessary, housed. It was a hospital, too, for the 
wounded and sick who came back from the campaigns they had made. The 
first home was in an old hotel at No. 75 Randolph street. The association 
was incorporated and bought property at Thirty-fifth street and the lake, 
where the Roman Catholic Orphan Asylum now stands. Here a house was 
built. Ladies canvassed the city for $1 subscriptions and raised a large sum 
in this way. Mrs. Bristol, who is still one of the leading spirits of the associa- 
tion, canvassed the whole of the North Side, then a series of scattering vil- 
lages. The Thirty -fifth street property was sold, a block bought in South 
Evanston, and a house built with part of the proceeds of the sale. Some of 
the money was loaned on property on the North Side, and the rest on a block 
on State street, near Archer avenue. The mortgages on both pieces of prop- 
erty had to be foreclosed, and the association still owns the State street prop- 
erty. That on the North Side was sold, and the money is now loaned out at 
interest. When the Government had established soldiers' homes there was 
no longer a necessity for maintaining the one here. The property was 
therefore sold and the proceeds converted into a relief fund. 

This fund has remained intact. It has not increased, because its entire 
revenue has been expended in relieving those who were worthy of relief. 
Not one dollar of the fund has ever been devoted to any other purpose, except 
that annually $100 is paid for the use of a room in which to disburse the 
money and for the services of a clerk. The officers of the association have not 
made a charge of even so much as five cents for street-carfare, although they 
regularly and systematically visit their pensioners and devote much time and 
labor to their work. Each month they pay out about $800, the number of 
recipients of their bounty varying from sixty to seventy-five. 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 191 

The first president of the board of managers was T. B. Bryan. He still 
occupies this office. Mrs. L. H. Bristol, who disburses the fund, also enlisted 
in 1861, and has not yet been mustered out. Mrs. William H. Myrick and 
Mrs. Dr. Blain, of Hyde Park, are the only other members of the first board 
who still hold their positions. The treasurer of the fund is Mrs. J. S. Lewis. 
Other members of the board of managers are Mrs. Brayman, Mrs. Dr. Ham- 
mell, Miss Blakey, Mrs. Myra Bradwell, Justice Brad well, General Bever- 
idge. and Mr. Henry Bacon, the secretary. The first Saturday of every 
month Mrs. Bristol, the disbursing officer of the board, goes to the roomscif 
the Chicago Relief and Aid Society to hold her reception . She finds waiting 
for her a room full of the expectant callers. As they come in they are given 
numbered tickets fixing the order in which they shall go to the table behind 
a screen and receive from Mrs. Bristol the $2, $5, or $10, or whatever sum 
the case calls for. Very few receive as much as $10. 

St. Joseph's Asylum for Boys. Located on Crawford avenue, between W. 
Diversy street and Belmont avenue. Take Milwaukee avenue car. 

St. Joseph's Home. Located at 409 S. May street, West Side. Take Blue 
Island avenue or Twelfth street car. The principal object of this institution 
is to afford a protecting home for respectable young girls out of employment, 
until such time as suitable positions are secured for them, either as domes- 
tics, sales ladies, cashiers, book-keepers, librarians, etc. The terms for board 
are regulated according to the accommodations required, ranging in price 
from $2 to $5 per week. There are a number of private rooms in the build- 
ing, affording nice accommodationsto thoseyoung ladies who are employed in 
various occupations down town and who appreciate the quiet rest their retreat 
here affords them after the labors and bustle of the day. The building affords 
accommodations for over 200 persons and is most conveniently and comfortably 
arranged. Ladies who remain here find accommodations superior to those 
afforded in hotels at a very high figure, not- at all taking into consideration 
the home-like quietness they enjoy, and the many spiritual advantages 
besides. The institution is self-supporting. 

St. Joseph's Female Orphan Asylum. His Grace, the Most Reverend 
Archbishop, gives this institution his especial attention. It is conducted by 
the Sisters of the Congregation of St. Joseph, whose mother home is in 
South St. bouis, Mo. 

Since 1871, it is located on Thirty-fifth street and Lake avenue, and was 
founded in 1864. From the inception, the management has not ceased to 
carry out its true object; that of training and educating destitute, homeless 
children. The average number of inmates is 220. The asylum has no endow- 
ments and nothing in the treasury; and it is only by the most pinching econ- 
omy that the Sisters are enabled to make both ends meet. To the generosity 
of Archbishop Feehan and a few benefactors who give constant assistance, 
the institution derives its main support. The children, as is usually under- 
stood, have been deprived of one or both parents, and are dependent on the 
charitable for their instruction and happiness. In order to prepare the chil- 
dren for a life of usefulness, the Sisters endeavor to train them in household 
economy, which will enable them to be successful and happy in whatever 
station of life they may have to fill. The duty in asslstingin different parts of 
the house is assigned to each child according to her age. These duties are 



192 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

changed occasionally, giving eveiy child by this means a knowledge of the 
necessity of order, cleanliness, economy and care in different kinds of house- 
work. Their work consists of washing dishes sweeping and dusting in dor- 
mitories, refectory, kitchen, halls, staircases and laundry. They also have 
every afternoon several sewing classes. The larger girls learn to make their 
dresses and other industries, the second size make the underwear for their use 
and mend their clothes. Being taught to sew, they are furnished a means for 
the future by which they can save their earnings by doing their own sewing. 
Another source of improvement and recreation is the library, which contains 
a number of volumes and is open to their use on Sunday. When a child is 
received, she is immediately taken to the bath-room, where she is thoroughly 
bathed and supplied with clean garments. A number is given her, whichshe 
will find on every article for her use, that she may thus distinguish her comb, 
towel, handkerchiefs, hose, books, etc., from those used by her companions. 
Those who bring their own clothing to the institution are allowed to wear it. 
The children are frequently adopted by good families or are sent out into 
others to work, while it is understood that they are to be reared in a respect- 
able manner. A glance into the daily routine will probably give a better 
idea of the management of the institution. At 5:30 o'clock A. M. a sister 
awakens the children, who are to assist at Mass celebrated in the asylum, 
which commences about 6;20 o'clock. Shortly after Mass they repair to the 
refectory for breakfast. After breakfast all go to the different duties which 
have been assigned them, in the dormitories, school rooms, play room, etc. 
Tne younger children go directly to the wash room, where they are combed, 
washed and have their clean aprons put on for school. The whole house is 
swept and dusted every day, the children performing this task under the 
supervision of the Sisters, who lend their assistance and teach them to per- 
form their work neatly and thoroughly. Great promptitude and diligence 
are necessary, that all may be finished at the first school bell, which rings at 
8:30 o'clock. At the first bell, the children who have been assisting in the 
different departments are sent to the wash-room to make their toilets and 
change aprons for school. At 9 o'clock the second bell rings for the line to 
form, and all are expected to repair to their various classes, when lessons are 
began. 

Following is the order of school exercises: Sixth grade Christian Doc- 
trine, Speller, Dictionary, Grammar, Geography, Fifth Reader, Practical 
and Mental Arithmetic. Fifth grade Christian Doctrine, Speller, Diction- 
ary, Grammar, Geography, United States History, Bible History, Fourth 
Reader, Practical and Mental Arithmetic. Fourth gtade Catechism, Speller, 
Third Reader, Practical and Mental Arithmetic. Third grade Catechism, 
Spelling, Second Reader, and Mental Arithmetic, Penmanship, Drawing from 
objects and Singing included. 

At 4 o'clock classes are dismissed, and the children play again until sup- 
per time, and at 7:30 o'clock they go to bed. A Sister accompanies them and 
remains with them. The children are never left alone, day or night, the Sis- 
ters sleeping in their dormitories. Sister Mary Matilda is Superioress. 

St. Joseph's Providence Orphan Asylum. Situated near Pennock station, 
on the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul railway. Take train at Union depot, 
Canal and Adams streets, West Side. The building stands on a slight emi- 
nence in the midst of a farm of forty acres. The interior arrangements of 
the asylum are on a par with the advantages of space and pure air. The 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 193 

largeclass-roorais well lighted and ventilated and each boy has a neat desk. A 
part of the curriculum Is devoted to calisthenic exercises and each day the bright 
looking youngsters swing the dumb bells and bar bells to enlivening tunes. 
Down in the refectory the boys sit at long tables, where good food and plenty of 
it is served out to them by the Sisters of St. Joseph. Soup, meat, vegetables, 
bread and milk are given out, not in limited quantities. Meat twice a day is 
the rule for the 180 American boys of all .denominations. The dormitories 
are capacious halls, filled with iron bedsteads, covered with blankets and 
comforters. The whole house is heated by steam and has all the modern 
improvements. 

St. Paul's Borne for Newsboys. Located at 359, 361, 363 W. Jackson st. 
An institution devoted to the care and training of working boys, newsboys 
and waifs of Chicago. It is under Catholic auspices, but receives boys of 
any denomination, regardless of religious belief. It has a large number of 
boys in charge. Rev. D. S. A. Mahony, director. 

Uhlich Evangelical Lutheran Orphan Asylum. Organized 1867 by some 
ladies connected with St. Paul's church. Incorporated 1869. First cared for, 
only a few children in a small cottage, corner of La Salle avenue and Ontario 
street. A larger building on Clark street, between Garfield and "Webster 
avenues, was rented later on, but this was swept away by the great fire. The 
orphans were then brought, to the Lake View school for shelter. Afterwards 
the "Chicago Nursery and Half Orphan Asylum," 175 Burling street, took 
the children up and boarded them. The ladies had saved up about $8,000, 
and the Chicago Aid and Relief Society contributed $20,750. and they bought 
twelve lots on Burling and Centre streets, where the present building was 
erected during the fall and winter of 1872-73. This edifice received a brick 
addition in the summer of 1889. The trustees are: Mr. Wm. Knoke, president; 
Mr. John L. Diez, treasurer; Mr. John Baur, secretary; Rev. R. A. John, 
F. W. Forch, Wm. Schick, Wm. Keller, Jakob Huber, Conrad Furst, trustees; 
superintendent, Geo. Zeising; matron, Mrs. Dora Zeising. 

Waifs' Mission. Located at 44 State street, Taylor E. Daniels, superin- 
tendent. The object of the mission is the care of homeless boys, notably 
those who are abandoned to the streets by their parents or other relatives. 
Directors: Messrs. Walter Q. Gresham, Richard S. Tuthill, B. F. Hagaman, 
J. Irving Pearce, F. E. Brown, B. F. Lighter, W. H. Cowles, A. H. Revell, 
J. Harley Bradley, Lester C. Hubbard, and T. E. Daniels. Advisory Board : 
Messrs. George M. Pullman, Ferd. W. Peck, De Witt C. Cregier, W. Penn 
Nixon, C. M. Henderson, Joseph R. Dunlop, W. G. Beale, G. F. Swift, John 
R. Wilson, W. J. Chalmers, R. R. Cable, Marvin Hughitt, Lyman J. Gage, 
C. T. Yerkes, William Deering, T. W. Harvey, E. W. Gillett, George E. 
Marshall, J. M. Longenecker, T. B. Blackstone, D. K. Pearsons, and Potter 
Palmer. During the eleven months ending Jan. 1, 1892, the statistics of the 
Mission show the following : Six hundred and twenty -eight boys were admit- 
ted to the home, of whom 419 received temporary board and lodging. The 
average attendance at the Sunday-school was 570, and there were 326 religious 
services held. During the eleven months 80,000 free meals, 16,860 free beds, 
and 7,809 free baths were given, while over 17,000 articles of clothing were 
distributed. In the Police Courts the cases of 840 boys were attended to, 
which resulted in 469 discharges, forty-four sent to the Waifs' Mission, nine 



194 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

sent home, 135 fined, and 130 fined but execution stayed on promise of bet- 
ter behavior. Only twenty were held to the Criminal Court, and thirty-two 
cases were continued. Among the sick and poor 1,686 visits and investiga- 
tions weie made, and relief afforded as far as possible. The average number 
of boys enrolled in the day school was forty-nine, while the attendance aver- 
aged 78 per cent., a remarkably good showing for street children. Employ- 
ment and permanent homes were found for 188 boys. The work done in 1890 
by the mission was summarized as follows : There were 80,690 free meals fur- 
nished to hungry children; 15,630 free beds; 3,593 free baths, and 1,100 hair- 
cuts were given. In clothing the naked, 16,000 garments were given out, 
besides many pairs of shoes, and much mending done gratis. The superin- 
tendent appeared before the justices in 929 cases of boys and girls charged 
with crime or misdemeanor of which 569 were discharged, 114 executions 
stayed, 122 fined, 64 continued, 44 held to the criminal court (14 afterwards 
liberated), 16 sent home (runaways), Fifty-six boys were placed in employ- 
ment, and homes were found for 26 others. Among the sick and poor 2,254 
investigations were made, while 896 subsequent visits wtre made in these 
cases and assistance was given. Of sick and homeless boys 22 were nursed 
and 44 were sent to hospitals. There were 168 religious services held. 

The total cash expenditure was $7,349.27, including rent, salaries, heat 
and light, and all other expenses. Of this income $2,507.01 represents the 
profits earned by the American Youth, a boys' weekly paper published by the 
mission. . In this connection the report shows that the superintendent, in addi- 
tion to his other duties, earned $1,009.25 in cash, or over half of his salary, 
by the advertising secured by him for the paper, the amount being calculated 
on the basis of the percentage paid the regular advertising solicitor. The 
report expatiates at some length on the printing plant, worth $2,500, which 
has been secured, and in which the boys are taught the printers' art while 
incidentally ' ' setting up " the paper or ' ' kicking "jobs off the presses. The 
statement is made that this is the most successful manual training so far 
attempted among the waifs and the only form of trade-learning that seems to 
hold their sustained interest. 

TKAINING SCHOOL FOR WAIFS. Branch in connection with the Waif's 
Mission. Not sufficiently ad vanced at this date to determine whether or not 
it will be a success. 

Young Ladies' Charity Circle. A band of sixteen young ladies of the 
West Side who give entertainments for the benefit of charitable institutions. 
They have no stated place of meeting. The officers of the circle are: Presi- 
dent, Miss Birdie Lewinsohn; vice-president, Miss Annie Gerber; secretary, 
Miss Belle Davis; treasurer, Mrs. Eva Davis. The other members are: 
Misses Bessie and Annie Stolofsky, Eva Lerber, Sara Paradise, Mollie Lew- 
insohn.'Ray Zohn, Miss Lipsky, Miss Uphert, Lena Barnett, Miss Goodkind, 
Ray Nevens, Hattie Grosberg. 

Young Men's Hebrew Charity Association. One of the most active and 
useful chaiitable organizations in Chicago. The ball given by this associa- 
tion at the Auditorium early in the present year netted $14,000, or $2,000 
more than any of its predecessors. This money was divided among the 
charities of Chicago as follows : Michael Reese Hospital, $6,000 ; Jewish 
Training School of Chicago, $4,000 ; Y. M. H. C. A. Labor Bureau, $1,000 ; 
Contribution toward salary of superintendent of Labor Bureau, $300 ; Exe- 
cutive Committee in Aid of Russian Refuges, $750 ; Library of the Michael 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 195 

Reese Hospital, $100 ; Truant Aid Society, $100 ; Policemen's Benevolent 
Fund, $100 ; Firemen's Benevolent Fund, $1(0; Chicago Charity Hospital, 
$200 ; Alexian Brothers' Hospital, $100 ; St. Elizabeth's Hospital, $100 ; 
Provident Hospital and Training School Association, $100 ; Chicago Hospital 
for Women and Children, $100 ; Altenheim, $100 ; Home for the Friendless, 
$100. 

CHRISTIAN ORGANIZATIONS. 

Church societies are referred to elsewhere. The following are the lead- 
ing Christian organizations of a general character in the city: 

Bible Institute. The Bible Institute for home and foreign missions of the 
Chicago Evangelization Society, which is a training school for evangelists 
and other Christian workers, is situated Ladies' Department, 228-232 
La Salle avenue, next door to Moody's Church, Chicago avenue, and Men's 
Department and Class Rooms, 80 West Pearson street, between La Salle 
avenue and Wells street. Take Wells street or North Clark cable lines. 
Dwight L. Moody is the founder and president. There are about one hun- 
dred students of the bible in the Men's Department, and about fifty women. 
In the musical department over five hundred students are enrolled, but these 
are largely in evening classes. The object of the Institute is to give to men 
and women especially those who have not had the advantages of higher 
education, and who would otherwise, in many cases at least, be deprived of 
special instruction in various lines of Christian work that knowledge and 
skill in the use of the Word, which will fit them to do efficient missionary 
and evangelistic work. More than three hundred have already gone out and 
are now engaged in work as pastors' assistants, missionaries, Sunday-school 
missionaries, preaching and singing evangelists, lay helpers, pastors, church 
visitors, etc. The demand for workers far exceeds the supply. The teaching 
is done not only by those regularly connected with the Institute, but by 
eminent men from all parts of America and Great Brit&in. 

Bible Institute. The Bible Institute or Training School for Evangelists 
is situated next door to Moody's Chicago Avenue Church, Chicago avenue 
and La Salle street. Take North Clark or Wells Street cable lines. From 
this institute Daniel Moody, the evangelist, draws his assistant workers. 
There are about seventy students of the Bible in the men's department con- 
stantly and about half as many women. The object of the institute is to give 
to men largely those who have not had the advantages of higher education, 
and who would otherwise, in many cases, at least, be deprived of special 
instruction in lines of Christian work that knowledge and skill in the use 
of the Word as will fit them the better to do missionary and evangelistic 
work. Not a few are in training as lay helpers, pastors' assistants and sing- 
ing evangelists, and the school is but one evidence of the new aggressiveness 
of the Church to match the modern aggressiveness of the World. 

Central W. C. T. U. of Chicago. Headquarters 161 La Salle street. In 
addition to the general work of this association it conducts the Bethesda 
Mission, 606 South Clark street, with which is connected a day nursery, 
kindergarten, Sunday-school, kitchen garden, free medical dispensary, relief 
work and gospel meetings; the Talcott Day Nursery, 169 West Adams street, 
with which is connected a day nursery, a kindergarten and an industrial 



196 G-UlDE fO CHICAGO. 

school; the Anchorage Mission, 125 Third avenue; the Hope Mission and 
Reading School, 166 North Halsted street; the Bethesda Inn, 408 South Clark 
street, and the W. C. T. U. restaurant, 69 East Washington street. The 
president is Mrs. M. B. Carse; first vice-president, Mrs. J. B. Hobbs; recording 
secretary, Mrs. E. P. Howell; treasurer, Mrs. C. G. Davis. The board of mana- 
gers is as follows MesdamesM. B. Carse, J. B. Hobbs, E. P. Howell, E. War- 
ner, N. Norton, G. Bagley, G. Shipman, H. V. Reed, A. Bond, L. A. Hagans, 
I.Jones, L. R. Hall, E. P. Vail, C. Goodman, U. Bruun, M. J. Haywood, H. J. 
Berry, W. E. Kelley, L. M. Quine,C. E. Bigelow, T. D.Wallace, D. Fuller, Dr. 
Winter, C. G. Davis, E. Trapp, C. B. S. Wilcox, H. R. Smith, M. W. Mabbs, 
C. C. Lake, Miss Helen L. Hood. The missions, nurseries, kindergartens, 
etc., of the W. C.T. U., are all doing a splendid work in Chicago; so, also, Is the 
association'ssupervision of the work of the policematrons at the several stations. 
The treasurer's report for the year ending March, 1890, showed: Balance 
in treasury March 20, 1889, $2.92; receipts to March 20, 1890, $7,147.14; total, 
$7,150.06; expenditures to March 20, 1890, $7,113.36; balance in treasury 
March 20, 1890, $7,150.06. The object of the W. C. T. U., as stated in the 
constitution of the association, is to plan and carry forward measures which 
will, with the blessing of God, result in the suppression of intemperance in 
our midst, and the highest moral and spiritual good of those needing reform; 
and to this end to provide and maintain permanent buildings, rooms and 
accommodations for the devotional, business and social meetings of the asso- 
ciation, and to sustain and carry forward the mission and general work for 
the suppression of intemperance and for moral reform, and to encourage and 
aid such work in general by individual and auxiliary societies and associa- 
tions. (See " National W. C. T. U." and ".W. C. T. U. Building.") 

Chicago Bible Society. Depository and office, 89, 115 Dearborn street. 
Officers President, N. S. Bouton; first vice-presdent, H. W. Dudley; second 
vice-president, Cyrus H. McCormick; treasurer, C. H. Mulliken; correspond- 
ing secretary, T. B. Carter; general secretary and agent, Rev. J. A. Mack; 
auditor, C. W. Pritchard; business committee, N. S. Bouton, J. W. Farlin, 
H. W. Dudley, C. H. Mulliken, and Rev. J. A. Mack. Bible-work business 
committee : Mrs. Mark Ayres, Miss E. Dwyer, corresponding secretaries; 
Mrs. L. A. L. Shute, secretary, 49 S. Ada street. 

Christian Endeavor Society of Cook County. President, P. F. Chase; gen- 
eral secretary, Otto Buehlman. There are five divisions in the county, as 
follows Hyde Park, Oak Park, Q. Division, which takes in thirteen socie- 
tieslocated on the lineof the Chicago, Burlington &Quincy Railroad; North- 
western Division, which includes the societies located not alone on the North- 
western road, but also those on the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul, eight 
all told; and the Evanston Division. Each of these divisions is In charge of 
a secretary. The societies of the different divisions frequently hold sociables, 
prayer meetings, etc. The reportfor last year shows an increaseof 13 junior 
societies and 24 elder societies since the last convention, which makes a total 
of 154 societies, when last year there were only 117. The membership one 
year ago was 4, 000, to-day it can boast of nearly 7,000. 

The first society was organized in the Williston church, Portland, Me., 
February 2, 1881, and in June last there were 11,013 societies, with a mem- 
bership of 660,000. It has principally to do with younepeople, and the fact 
of such immense progress as the above figures show willbe sufficient to enlist 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 



197 



the interest of all people who have any care for the coming generation of 
men. The following is the statistical division of Chicago unions: 



UNIONS. 


Societies. 


Active 
members. 


Associate 
members. 


Total mem- 
bership. 


North Side 


8 


285 


52 


337 


South Side 


11 


519 


51 


670 


West Side (northern) 


6 


151 


20 


170 


West Side (southern) 


17 


6,17 


187 


814 




12 


455 


136 


591 




8 


262 


118 


380 


Northwestern , 


9 


218 


102 


3?0 


Oak Park 


8 


213 


. 65 


278 


"Q " 


10 


316 


86 


402 


Engrlewood . 


9 


299 


116 


415 


Hyde Park .. 


12 


396 


173 


569 












Total . 


110 


3,740 


1,106 


4816 













The Cook County union is thorough in its organization and discipline, 
and serves well to show the workings of the society. The cosmopolitan and 
liberal Christian spirit of the union are also better illustrated here than in 
smaller places, for here the workings maybe seen in many different denomi- 
nations of Christians and in many tongues. The visiting feature of the 
union is a great source of knowledge and is resulting in much good. 
Churches near and far which knew little or nothing of each other are becom- 
ing acquainted. 

National W. 0. T. U. Headquarters. The National W. C. T. U. head- 
quarters are at present located in the suburb of Evanston, twelve miles from 
the city. Take train at Wells Street depot, Wells and Kinzie streets, or at 
Union depot, Adams and Canal streets. The headquarters will probably 
remain at this place until the completion of the Temperance Temple in the 
city. Miss Frances Willard, president of the National W. C. T. U., resides 
at Evanston, as do also Mrs. Caroline B. Buell and Miss Esther Pugh, officers 
of the Union. The rooms are on Davis street, only a short walk from the 
railroad stations. 

Young Men's Christian Association. Organized in the year 1858. Office 
of General Board of Managers located at 148 Madison street. Officers John 
V. Farwell, Jr., president; Cyrus H. McCormick, first vice-president; H. M. 
Hubbard, second vice-president; James L. Houghteling, treasurer; H. M. 
Starkey, M. D., recording secretary; J. H. Bradshaw, R. W. Hare, E. Burritt 
Smith, John H. Leslie, A. B. Mead, N. S. Davis, Jr., M. D., C. C. Chapman, 
John C. Grant, Seymour Walton, A. Kurz, W. I. Midler, F. M. Buck, D. W. 
Potter, F. S. Osborne, W. G. Sherer; L. Wilbur Messer, general secretary; 
W. T. Hart, assistant-general secretary. Board of Trustees S. M. Moore, 
president; A. L. Coe, vice-president; E. G. Keith, secretary and treasurer; 
John V. Farwell, N. S. Bouton, Cyrus H. McCormick, A. G. Lane, George 
M. High, B. F. Jacobs, Orrington'Lunt, H. E. Sargent. 

MADISON STREET DEPARTMENT, 148 Madison street. Committee of Man- 
agement H. M. Hubbard, chairman; D. W. Potter, vice chairman; Frank 



198 GUIDE TO. CHICAGO. 

Milligaii, secretary ;L. A. Trowbridge, John V. Farwell, Jr.,R. W. Hare, J. 6. 
Morris, Geo. L. Wrenn, A. P. White, J. 8. Lane, MaxBaird, R. F. Goldsmith, 
Frederick T. West, Thos. R. Lyras, J.E. Defebaugh, Seymour Walton; Daniel 
Sloan, department secretary; L. E. Buell, W. A. Sunday, C. E. Hillis, H. W. 
Mixsell, A. F. Lee, E.R. Wilson, W. C. Beede, J. C. Maltby, assistant secre- 
taries; E. L. Hayford, M. D., physical director; L. B. Smith, assistant physical 
director. 

Among the numerous privileges offered by this department to young men, 
& r e> gymnasium, bath rooms, parlors, recreation and reading rooms, educa- 
tional classes, lectures and entertainments, practical talks, religious meetings, 
Bible-training classes, etc. The rooms are very cosily and attractively 
furnished. 

The reading room is an attractive, well-lighted and cheerful room, sup- 
plied with easy chairs. The papers are conveniently arranged in racks. 
Members will find regularly filed the leading daily, weekly, secular and 
religious newspapers, together with publications on science, art, mechanics, 
education, architecture, etc. This room contains also a spacious and com- 
fortable writing-table, and all needed material for writing can be had upon 
application. The library tables are covered with choice literary, illustrated, 
scientific and humorous periodicals. The library contains dictionaries, 
cyclopedias, and a large collection of books on history, travel, poetry, biog- 
raphy, fiction, science and theology. Books of special interest and import- 
ance to young men will be suggested to members upon application to the 
assistant secretary. The parlor is supplied with comfortable chairs, is taste- 
fully arranged, and is intended for conversation, reading, leisure, or musical 
pastime. The amusement room is supplied with numerous games of skill, such 
as chess, checkers, crokinole, faba baga, base ball, croquet, authors, etc. The 
large variety of games will provide for a number of members at a time. 

WEST SIDE DEPARTMENT, Paulina and Madison Street, A. D. Mackay, 
department secretary. Gymnasium, bath rooms, membeis' parlors, recrea- 
tion and reading rooms, educational classes, entertainments and lectures, prac- 
tical talks and religious meetings. The rooms of the department are furnished 
very attractively. 

SOUTH CHICAGO DEPARTMENT, 9140-9142 Commercial Avenue, Thomas 
Ratcliffe, department secretary. Large and finely-equipped gymnasium, 
with new tub and shower-baths, reading room, recreation room and parlor- 
lectures, entertainments and socials, practical talks and religious meetings. 

RAVENSWOOD DEPARTMENT, Ravenswood, 111., R. J. Bennett, chairman; 
L. B. Moore, department secretary. Gymnasium, bowling alleys, bath- 
rooms, lectures and entertainments, practical talks, receptions, religious 
meetings, Bible-training classes and other privileges. This department occu- 
pies a new building valued at $15,000, which has been but recently dedicated, 
and all of its appointments and furnishings are of the finest and most home- 
like order. Its supervision is under a committee of management, composed of 
the leading resident and business men of Ravenswood. 

PULLMAN DEPARTMENT, Pullman, 111. Gymnasium, bath rooms, parlor, 
religious meetings, Bible training classes and other privileges. 

GARFIELD BOULEVARD RAILROAD DEPARTMENT, Garfield Boulevard and 
Tracy Avenue, C. H. Smith, chairman; John G. Percy, department secre- 
tary. Gymnasium, bath rooms, bowling alley, reading room, religious meet- 
ings, Bible-training classes, and other privileges especially designed for rail- 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 199 

road men. This department occupies a building of its own, with modern and 
home-like appointments, having its membership principally among railroad 
men of that section of the city. 

KINZIE STREET RAILROAD DEPARTMENT, Kinzie and Canal Streets, E. H. 
Duff, chairman; William Cook, department secretary. Reading room, 
parlor, bath room, receptions and other privileges for railroad men. The 
membership of this department is largely composed of railroad men in its 
immediate vicinity. 

GERMAN DEPARTMENT, Larrabee Street and Grant Place, A. Kurz, chair- 
man; L. A. Horlacher, department secretary. Gymnasium, bath rooms, 
reading, recreation and conversation rooms, circulating library, educational 
classes, receptions, religious meetings and other privileges. 

INTERCOLLEGIATE DEPARTMENT, W. F. Seymour, secretary. This 
department has the care of the work in the professional schools of the city. 

There are connected with the association numerous features which con- 
tribute toward making a membership in this organization both desirable and 
valuable to young men. Among the privileges accordc d are participation in a 
connection with the following: Informal receptions, trades receptions, members' 
receptions, boarding-house register, home-like place, good company, friendly 
counsel, general information, employment bureau, writing conveniences, care 
in sickness, members' parlors, parlor games, reading room, current literature, 
educational classes, entertainments, practical talks, literary society, reference 
library, gymnasium, physical instruction, medical examination, healthful 
baths, toilet conveniences, summer athletics, outing club, gospel meetings, 
training classes, Bible classes, prayer meetings, teachers' meetings. Asso- 
ciate members are young men over sixteen years of age, whose references as 
to good moral character are saiisfactory. Active members are young men 
over sixteen years of age, who are members in good standing of some Evan- 
gelical Church. A regular membership ticket, good in all departments, either 
active or associate, requires an annual membership fee of five dollars. A mem- 
bership may be obtained by any young man regardless of Church member- 
ship or belief . The paid membership of the Chicago association is over five 
thousand. The Chicago association is the second in the world in membership 
and in the amount of money received annually for current expenses. 

In the building of the Madison street department, 148 Madison street, are 
located the offices of the State executive committee, the Western Secretarial 
Institute, and the Young Men's Christian Association Training School. 

Seven secretaries are employed in the Illinois State work, and the annual 
expenditure by the State committee in the supervision of the associations of the 
State is $16,000. [See " New Y. M." C. A. Building."] 

Young Men's Christian Association (Scandinavian). Located at 183 N. 
Peoria st. President, M. Ellingson; secretary, P. Hanson; treasurer, T. 
Syvertson; librarian, K. Hall. This association has very comfortable rooms 
and a large membership. 

Young Woman's Christian Association. Located at room 61, 243 Wa- 
bash ave. Officers President, Mrs. L. Stone; treasurer, Miss M. E. True; 
corresponding secretary, Mrs. J. M. Brodie; recording secretary, Mrs. R. S. 
Chamberlain; superintendent employment bureau, Miss I. Stobie, 243 Wa- 
bash ave.; superintendent of dispensary, Dr. Odelia Blinn; superintendent 
boarding-house (288 Michigan ave.), Mrs. Jones. The boarding-house 



200 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

has been overcrowded of late, but arrangements are being made for better 
and more ample quarters. Young women are boarded at a nominal cost. 

CHURCHES. 

The visitor will not be many hours in Chicago before he Is Impressed 
with the number and beauty of the structures consecrated to divine "worship. 
Unlike some of the older American and European cities, however, he will 
notice that there are no church edifices in the business center, nor along any 
of the great business arteries . There were a number of handsome and costly 
church buildings in the business district previous to 1871, but the great fire 
swept them away. After the fire, the ground upon which they had stood 
proved to be so valuable that the various church societies nnd congregations 
decided either to sell or improve their "down town "real property, and build 
their churches on less expensive ground and nearer the residence districts . 
Among the churches that were to be found down town before the fire, were 
the First Presbyterian church, on Wabash ave., near Jackson; the Second 
Presbyterian at the northeast corner of Wabash ave. and Washington st. ; 
St. Mary's Catholic church, at the southwest corner of Wabash ave. and 
Madison St., where" St. Mary's block" now stands; the First Baptist 
church on Wabash ave., and the Rev. Dr. Everts' (Episcopal) church. 
There were many others not so well known and not so well remembered. 
The Methodists, Presbyterians, Baptists, Unitarians, Roman Catholics, 
Episcopalians, and, in fact, all denominations, lost heavily by the great fire, 
both in the South and North divisions. Since then, however, they have all 
prospered, and every year since has added to the magnitude, the costliness 
and the beauty of the church edifices they have erected. 

LOCATION OF LEADING CHURCHES. The leading churches of the three 
divisions of the city are removed to the extent of a street car trip from hotels 
and depots of the South Side. On the West Side they are found principally 
along Washington and Ashland blvds. or around Jeffenon and Union parks. 
Centenary Methodist and the Second Baptist chuiches, two of the oldest in the 
city, are located on Monroe and Morgan-sts. On the North Side they are to 
be found in the district north of Ontario and east of Clark sts., principally 
on Dearborn ave. On the South Side they are to be found on Wabash ave., 
Michigan blvd. , and in the district east of State st. and south of Twenty-second 
st. Take West Madison cable line for West Side, North Clark st. cable line 
or State st. horse line for North Side and Cottage Grove ave. cable line for 
South Side. Two of the leading Independent churches of the city, however, 
the Central and the People's, hold services in the Central Music Hall and 
Columbia Theatre, respectively, only a short walk from the hotels. Prof. 
Swing preaches at the former every Sunday; Dr. Thomas at the latter. 



ov V 



^THK ENCYCLOPEDIA. 201 

POPULAR MINISTERS AND PREACHERS. Popular ministers of the city and 
those of whom the visitor is likely to hear of tenest, are Prof. David Swing, Cen- 
tral Church, Central Music Hall, State and Randolph sts. ; Dr. H. W. Thomas, 
People's Church, McVicker's Theatre, Madison St., near State st.; Simon J. 
MacPherson, Second Presbyterian Church, Michigan blvd. and Twentieth St.; 
F. J. Brobst, Westminster Presbyterian, Peoria and Jackson sts.; F. W. 
Gunsaulus, Plymouth Congregational, Michigan ave., near Twenty-sixth st.; 
Rabbi E. G. Hirsch, Sinai Congregation, Indiana ave. and Twenty-first st.; 
Dr. John H. Barrows, First Presbyterian, Indiana ave. and Twenty -first St.; 
H. H. Barbour, Belden Avenue Methodist Church, Beldenave. and Halsted 
St.; Dr. P. S. Hensen, First Baptist Church, South Park ave. and Thirty-first 
st.; Rev. Fred Campbell, Jefferson Park Presbyterian Church, Adams and 
Throopsts.; State st., near Twenty-lhirdst.; Dr. V/\ M. Lawrence, Second 
Baptist Church, Morgan and Monroe sts.; Dr. E. P. Goodwin, First 
Congregational Church, Washington boulevard and Ann street; Dr. 

F. A. Noble, Union Park Congregational Church, Washington blvd. 
and Ashland avenue. ; Rt. Rev. William E. McLaren, Episcopal Cathedral, 
Washington blvd. and Peoria st.; Rev. Dr. Clinton Locke, Grace Episcopal 
Church, 1445 Wabash ave,; Rt. Rev. Charles E. Cheney, Christ's Episcopal 
Church, Michigan ave. and Twenty-fourth St.; Rt. Rev. Samuel Fallows, St. 
Paul's Episcopal, Adams st. and Winchester ave. ;J. P. Brushingham, Ada 
Street M. E. Church, Ada st., between Lake and Fulton sts. ; Robert Mclntyre, 
Grace M. E. Church, cor. La Salle ave. and Locust st. ; Dr. William Fawcett, 
Park Avenue M. E. Church, Park ave., corner Robey st. ; Frank M. Bristol, 
Trinity M. E. Church, Indiana ave., near Twenty-fourth St.; Dr. W. T. 
Meloy, First United Presbyterian Church, Monroe "and Paulina sts.; Dr. M. 
W. Stryker, Fourth Presbyterian Church, Rush and Superior sts.; Dr. John 
L. Withrow, Third Presbyterian Church, Ashland blvd. and Ogden ave.; 
Jenkins Lloyd Jones, All Souls' Church, Oakwoodblvd. andLangleyave.; T. 

G. Milsted, Unity Church, Dearborn ave. and Walton place; J. Colman 
Adams, St. Paul's Unitarian Church, Prairie ave. and Thirtieth st. 

Christian Churches. The Christian Churches of the city are located as 
follows: FIRST CHURCH, W. Jackson st. and Oakley ave.; CENTRAL, Indi- 
ana ave. and Thirty-seventh st.; CHRISTIAN (colored), Apollo Hall, 2719 
Dearborn st.: NORTH SIDE, Cooks' Hall, Lincoln ave. and Sheffield ave.; 
WEST SIDE, 303 and 305 S. Western ave. 

Congregational Churches. The Congregational Churches of the city are 
located as follows: BETHANY, Superior and Lincoln sts.; BETHLEHEM, 
CHAPEL, 709 Loomis st., BOWMANVILLE, Bowmanville; CALIFORNIA AVKNUE, 
California ave. and W. Monroe; CENTRAL PARK, W. Forty-first and Fulton 
st.; BRIGHTON, W. Thirty fourth near Lincoln st. ; CHURCH OF THE 
REDEEMER, School st., near Evanston ave.; CLINTON STREET, S. Clinton and 
Wilson sts.; COVENANT, W. Polk st., nw. corner Claremont ave.; CRAGIN, 
Armitage ave., near Grand ave.; DOUGLAS PARK, 903 Sawyer ave.; DUNCAN 
AVENUE, Duncan ave., near Seventy-seventh st. ; EMANUEL (colored), 2811 
State st.; ENGLEWOOD, School and Sixty -fourth sts., Englewood; ENGLE- 
WOOD NORTH, La Salle and Fifty-ninth sts.; ENGLEWOOD TRINITY, Wright 
and Sixty-ninth sts.; FIRST, Washington blvd., sw. corner Ann st.; FIRST 
(Scandinavian), Point anfl Chanay sts. ; FORESTVILLE, Champlain ave. and 
Forty-sixth st.; GERMAN PILGRIM,' W. Fulton and W. Forty-first sts.; GRACE, 
Powell ave. and Cherry pi.; HUMBOLDT PARK.W. Chicago ave., near N. Calil 



202 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

(Scandinavian), North California avenue and Armitage 'avenue; FOREST- 
VILLE, Champiain avenue and Forty-sixth street; GERMAN PILGRIM, Ayers 
avenue and Elmer street; GRACE, Powell avenue and Cherry pi.; HERMOSA, 
Howard ave. and Cortland; HUMBOLDT PARK, W. Chicago ave., nearN. Cali- 
fornia avenue; IMMANUEL, State and Twenty-eighth streets; JEFFERSON 
PARK, Jefferson Park; JOHANNES (German), Franklin street, near Eugenie 
street; LAKEVIEW, Seminary and Lill avenues; LEAVITT STREET, Leavitt 
street and s.w. corner W. Adams street; LINCOLN PARK, Garfield avenue and 
Mohawk street; MILLARD AVENUE, S. Central Park avenue, se. corner VV. 
Twenty-third street; NEW ENGLAND, Dearborn avenue and Delaware place; 
PACIFIC, Cortland and Ballou streets; PLYMOUTH, Michigan avenue, near 
Twenty-sixth street; RAVENSWOOD, Commercial and Sulzer streets; ROSE- 
HILL, Rosehill; WARDIS (Welch), Peoria street near Jackson street; SEDGWICK 
BRANCH, Sedgwick and Blackhawk streets; SOUTH, Drexel boul., nw. 
corner Fortieth street, SOUTH (German], Ullmari street and James avenue; 
SOUTH CHICAGO, South Chicago; SOUTH PARK, Madison avenue and Fifty- 
sixth street; SWEDISH, South Peoria and Fifty-ninth streets; SUMMERDALE, 
near Summerdale depot, Lake View; TABERNACLE, W. Indiana street, se. 
corner Morgan street; UNION PARK, 8. Ashland avenue and Washington 
boul.; UNION TABERNACLE, South Ashland avenue and W. Twentieth street; 
WARREN AVENUE, Warren avenue, sw. corner Albany avenue; ZION, Fifty- 
sixth and S. Green streets. 

Congregational Missions. The following are the Mission Churches con- 
ducted by the Congregationalists: ARMOUR, Thirty-third street, near Butter- 
field St.; ASHLAND AVENUE, Ashland avenue and Twelfth street; CALIFORNIA 
AVENUE, California avenue and Filmore street; CHINESE, Washington boul. 
and S. Ann street: COMMERCIAL AVENUE, Commercial avenue, near Ninety- 
sixth street (S. C.); DORKMUS, Butler street, near Thirty-first street; GRACE- 
LAND, near Graceland Cemetery; HARRISON STREET, Harrison street, near 
Halsted street; HEGEWISCH, Hegewisch; HOUSE OF HOPE, 210 W. Indiana 
street; HOYNE AVENUE, W. Nineteenth street, near Leavitt street; MAPLE- 
WOOD; Maplewood; OAKLEY AVENUE, W. Indiana street, near Oakley 
avenue; RANDOLPH, 79 W. Randolph street; PULLMAN [Swedish], Pullman; 
ROBEY STREET, N. Robey street, near Cly bourne aveime; SWEDISH, Lock 
and Thirty first streets; THIRTEENTH STREET, 533 W. Thirteenth street; 
W. HARRISON STREET, W. Harrison street, near Kedzie avenue; WENT- 
WORTH AVENUE [Swedish], Wentworth avenue and Thirty ninth street. 

Baptist Churches. The Baptist Churches of the city are located as fol- 
lows: BELDEN AVENUE, N. Halsted st. and Belden ave. ; BETHANY, Lock and 
Bonaparte sts.; BETHESDA (Colored), Thirty-fourth st., se. cor. Butterfield 
st.; CENTENNIAL, W. Jackson st., cor. Lincoln st. ; COVENANT, No. 330 Sixty- 
third st.; FIRST, Englewood ave., near Stewart ave.; ENGLEWOOD (Swedish), 
Wentworthst.,southof Forty-ninth st. ; EVANGEL, Dearborn and Forty-seventh 
sts. ; FIRST, South Park ave. and Thirty-first st.; FIRST (German), Bickerdike 
and W. Huron sts.; FIRST (Swedish), Oak st., near Sedgwick st.; FOURTH, 
Washington blvd., nw. cor. Paulina st.; HUMBOLDT PARK, Humboldt and 
Cortland sts.; HYDE PARK, Madison ave. and Fifty-fourth st. , Hyde Park ; 
IMMANUEL (W. S.), Michigan ave., near Twenty-third st. ; IRVING PARK, Irv- 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 203 

Ing Park; LAKE VIEW, School street, near Lincoln avenue; LANGLEY AVENUE, 
Langley avenue and Seventy-first street; LA SALLE AVENUE, La Salle 
avenue, near Division street; MEMORIAL, Oakwood boul,, near Cottage Grove 
avenue; MILLARD AVENUE, Millard avenue, se. corner W. Twenty-fourth 
street, Lawndale; NORTH ASHLAND AVENUE, N. Ashland avinue, near W. 
North avenue; OLIVET (Colored), Harmon court and Holden place; PROVI- 
DENCE (colored), 26 N. Irving place; PULLMAN (Swedish), Pullman; SCAN- 
DINAVIAN BETHEL, Rockwell street, near Humboldt Park; SCANDINAVIAN 
PILGRIM, N. Carpenter and Ohio streets; SECOND, Morgan street, sw. cornei 
W. Monroe street; SECOND [German], Burling and Willow streets; SECOND 
[Swedish], 3018-3020 Fifth avenue, near Thirty-first street; SHILOH [colored], 
430 Sixty-third street; SOUTH CHICAGO, South Chicago; SOUTH CHICAGO, 
[Swedish], Fourth avenue and Ninety -eighth street; WESTERN AVENUE, 
Warren avenue, nw. corner N. Western avenue. WOODLAWN PARK, Wood- 
lawn Park. 

Baptist Missions. The following are the Mission churches conducted by 
the Baptists : BOHEMIAN, Throop and Sixteenth sts.; CONGRESS, Washtenaw 
ave. and Fiournoy st. ; DEARBORN, 3740 State st. ; HASTINGS STREET, Hastings 
st. near Ashland ave.; HOPE, Noble at., sw. corner W. Superior; OGDEN 
AVEXUE, 643 O.jden ave., in connection with Centennial Church; RAYMOND. 
Poplar ave. and Thirtieth St.; WABANSIA, 353 Wabansia ave. 

Evangelical Association of North America (German). The location of 
the churches of this denomination is as follows : Chicago District, Presiding 
Elder, Rev. A. Fuessele, residence 658 Sheffield ave. ADAMS STREET, W. 
Adams and Robey sts. ; FIRST, Thirty fifth and Dearborn sts. ; CENTENNIAL, 
W. Harrison, sw. corner Hoyne ave ; HUMBOLDT PARK, Wabausia ave., 
corner N. Rock well st.; LANE PARK, Roscoe and Bosworth ets. ; SALEM, W. 
Twelfth and Union sts.; SECOND, Wisconsin and Sedgwick sts.; EMANUEL, 
Sheffield ave. , ne. corner Marianna st.; ST. JOHN'S, Noble and W. Huron 
sts. 

Evangelical Lutheran (English) Churches The Evangelical Lutheran 
(English) Churches of the city are located as follows : CHURCH OF THE 
HOLY TRINITY, 398 La Salle ave.; GRACE, Belden ave. and Larrabee st. ; ST. 
PAUL'S, Fairfield and Hoyne aves.; WICKER PARK, N. Hoyne ave., nw. 
corner LeMoyne st. 

Evangelical Lutheran (Danish}. The Evangelical Lutheran (Danish) 
Churches of the city are located as follows : ST. STEPHENS, Dearborn and 
Thirty-sixth sts.; TRINITY, 440 and 442 W. Superior st. ; BETHEL, W. Lakeand 
Forty-second sts. 

Evangelical Lutheran (German) The Evangelical Lutheran (German) 
Churches of the city are located as follows : ANDREAS, 3650 Honore ; BETH- 
LEHEM, N. Paulina and McReynolds sts.; CHRIST, Humboldt and Byron aves. ; 
CHURCH of THE HOLY CROSS, Ullman st., nw. cor. James ave.; EMANUEL, 
Twelfth st. and Ashland; ave., GETHSEMANE, 4407 Wentworth ave.; GNADEN, 
169 and 171 Twenty-third pi., near Portland ave.; GRAND CROSSING, Grand 
Crossing; MARCUS, 1119 California ave.; MARTINI, 4838 Loomis ; NAZAR- 
ETH, Forest ave., near Fullerton ave.; PULLMAN, Pullman ; ST. JACOBI, Fre- 
mont st., sw. cor. Garfield ave.; ST. JOHANNES, Jefferson; ST. JOHN'S, W. 
Superior and Bickerdike sts.; ST. LUCAS, Belmont ave., Lake View; ST. 



204 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

MARK'S, Ashland and Augusta st.; ST. MATTHEW'S, Hoyne ave., bejt. 
Twentieth and Twenty-first sts. ; ST. PAUL'S, Superior and N. Franklin sis ; 
ST. PETERS, Dearborn st., south of Thirty-ninth St.; ST. SIMON'S, 1339 W. 
North ave.; ST. STEPHEN'S, 838 Chestnut; ST. STEPHEN'S, Wentworth ave., 
northwest cor. Twenty-fifth st.; SOUTH CHICAGO, S. Chicago ; ST. THOMAS', 
Washtenaw ave. and Iowa st.; TRINITY (U. A. C.), Hanover st. and Twenty- 
fifth pi.; TmNiTY(West Chicago), 9, 11 and 13 Snell st. Washington Heights; 
ZION, W. Nineteenth st., cor. Johnson st. 

Evangelical Lutheran (Norwegian). The Evangelical Lutheran (Norwe- 
gian) Churches of the city are located as follows : BETHNIA, W. Indiana st., 
se. cor. Carpenter st. ; BETHLEHEM, W. Huron st., cor. N. Centre Ave,; 
EMANUEL, Perry ave. and Cherry; NORWEGIAN, N. Franklin and ERIE sts.; 
OUR SAVIOUR'S, May and W. Erie sts.; St. PAUL'S, N. Lincoln and Park sts.; 
ST. PETER'S, Hirsch st. and Seymour ave.; TRINITY, W- Indiana st., sw. cor. 
Peoria st. 

Evangelical Lutheran (Separatists) Churches. The Evangelical Lutheran 
(Separatists) Churches of the city are located as follows : CHURCH OF PEACE, 
N. Wood and Iowa streets; FIRST CHURCH, 270 Augusta st., near Samuel st. 

Evangelical Lutheran (Swedish) Churches. The Evangelical Lutheran 
(Swedish) Churches of the city are located as follows : MISSION, N. Franklin 
ave., cor. Whiting st. ; GETIISEMANE, May and W. Huron sts.; IMMANUEL, 
Sedgwick and Hobble sts.; SALEM, Portland ave. and Twenty-eighth St.; 
TABERNACLE, S. LaSalle and Thirtieth sts. 

Evangelical ( United) Churches. The Evangelical (United) Churches of the 
city are located as follows: CHURCH OF PEACE, Fifty-second and Justine; 
EMANUEL'S, Forty-sixth and Dearborn; FIRST GERMAN, ST. PAUL'S, Ohio st., 
sw. cor. La Salle ave.; SECOND GERMAN, ZION, Union st., nw. cor. W. Four- 
teenth St.; THIRD GERMAN, SALEM, 368-372 Twenty-fifth St., near Wentworth 
ave. ; FOURTH GERMAN, ST. PETER'S, Chicago ave. and Noble st. ; FIFTH GEH- 
MAN, ST. JOHN'S, Cortland st. near Seymour ave.; LUKAS, Sixty-second, cor. 
Green; MARKUS, Thirty-fifth, cor. Dashiel; PETRI, Colehour; SIXTH GER- 
MAN, BETHLEHEM, Diversey ave, and Lewis st. ; ST. NICHOLAS, Avondale; 
TRINITY CHURCH, W. Twenty-fourth st., sw. cor. S. Robey st. ; ZION'S, 
Auburn Park. 

Evangelical Reformed. The FIRST GERMAN church of the Evangelical 
Reformed denomination is located at 177-179 Hastings st. ; THIRD FRIEDENS, 
1330 Wellington. 

Episcopal (Reformed) Churches .The Episcopal (Reformed) Churches of 
Chicago are located as follows: SYNOD of Chicago, bishop, Rt. Rev. Charles 
E. Cheney, D. D. CHRIST, Michigan ave. and Twenty-fourth st. ; EMANUEL, 
Hanover and Twenty-eighth sts.; ST. JOHN'S, Thirty-seventh st, cor. Lang- 
ley ave. ; ST. MARK'S, Maplewood; ST. MARK'S MISSION, Huinboldt Park; 
ST. MATTHEW'S, Fullerton ave. and Larrabee sts.; TRINITY, Englewopd; 
TYNG MISSION, Archer ave. and Twenty-first st. ; ST. ANSGARIUS, Sedgwick 
st. near Chicago ave. ; ST. BARNABAS', Park ave. and Forty-fourth st. ; ST. 
BARTHOLOMEW'S, Sixty-fifth si. and Stewart ave.; St. GEORGE'S, Grand Cross- 
ing; ST. LUKE'S, 388 S. Western ave. ; ST. MARK'S Cottage Grove ave. and 
Thirty-ninth st.; ST. PAUL'S, 4928 Lake ave. 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 205 

Episcopal Reformed Missionary. Jurisdiction of the Northwest and West, 
Rt. Rev. Samuel Fallows, D. D., bishop; ST. PAUL'S CHURCH, W. Adamast., 
cor. Winchester ave. 

Episcopal Churches. The Episcopal Churches of the city are located aa 
follows Bishop of Diocese of Chicago, Rt. Rev. William E. McLaren, 
D. D., D. C. L., office 18 S. Peoria St., residence 255 Ontario t. ALL SAINTS', 
757 N. Clark; ALL SAINTS', Ravenswood; CATHEDRAL SS. PETER AND 
PAUL, Washington blvd. and Peoria st. ; CALVARY, Western av. and Monroe 
st.; CHRIST, Sixty-fourth st. and Woodlawn av.; CHURCH OP ATONEMENT, 
Edgewater; CHURCH OF OUR SAVIOR, Lincoln and Belden aves.; CHURCH OF 
ST. CLEMENT, State and Twentieth st. ; CHURCH OF ST. PHILIP THE EVAN- 
GELIST, Archer ave. and Thirty -fifth at. ; CHURCH OF THE ASCENSION, N. 
La Salle and Elm; CHURCH OF THE EPIPHANY, S. Ashland ave., corner W. 
Adams, CHURCH OF THE GOOD SHEPHERD, Millard ave. ; CHURCH OF THE 
REDEEMER, Fifty-seventh st. and Washington ave. ; CHURCH OF THE TRANS- 
FIGURATION, Prairie ave. and. Thirty-ninth st. ; GRACE, 1445 Wabash ave. near 
Sixteenth st.; ST. ALBAN'S, State st. near Forty -fifth; ST. ANDREWS, Washfbg- 
ton blvd. and Robey st.; ST. JAMES', cor. Cass and Huron st.; ST. JOHN'S (So. 
Chicago.) Commercial ave. and Ninety-second St.; ST. PETER'S, 1532 N. 
Clark; ST. STEPHEN'S, Johnson st. near W. Taylor st.; ST. THOMAS' (colored) 
Dearborn st. near Thirtieth st. ; TRINITY, Michigan ave". and Twenty-sixth st. 

Episcopal Missions and Chapels. The Missions and Chapels conducted by 
the Episcopalians are as follows: ADVENT MISSION, W. Madison, near 
Albany ave.; CHAPEL OF ST. LUKE'S HOSPITAL, 1430 Indiana ave.; DOUGLAS 
PARK MISSION, superintendent, Rev. H. W. Scaife, M. D. ; HOLY TRINITY, 
Stock yards; HOME FOR INCURABLES, Ellis ave., south of Fifty-fifth st.; MIS- 
SION OF NATIVITY, W. Indiana st., near Lincoln st,; SISTERS OF ST. MARY 
CHAPEL, Washington blvd. and Peoria; ST. JAMES' MISSION, Elm st. 

Free Methodist Churches. The Free Methodist Churches of Chicago are 
located as foMows: FIRST, 16 N. May; SECOND, 447 Ogden ave.; SOUTH 
SIDE, 5251 Dearborn st.; MILWAUKEE AVENUE, Mozart st. near Armitage 
ave.; SOUTH CHICAGO, So. Chicago. 

Independent Churches. The Independent Churches of Chicago are located 
as follows: CHICAGO AVENUE (Moody's), Chicago ave. nw. corner LaSalle 
ave.. CENTRAL CHURCH (Swing's), Central Music Hall, State st., se. corner 
Randolph st,. ; MARKET STREET MISSION, 38 Kinzie st. ; PEOPLE'S CHURCH 
(Thomas'), McVicker's Theatre. 

Jewish Synagogues. The Jewish Synagogues of the city are located as 
follows: ANSHE EMES, 341 Sedgwick st. ; ANSHE KANESSES ISRAEL, se. cor. 
Judd and Clinton sts.; ANSHE RUSSIA-POLA-SEDEK, S. Clinton cor. Twelfth; 
CONGREGATION BETH HAMEDRASH HACH ODOSCH, 439 Clark st.; CONGREGA- 
TION BETH HAMEDRASH 134 Pacific ave.; CONGREGATION B'NAI ABRAHAM, se. 
cor. Wright st. and Newberry ave.; CONGREGATION EMANUEL, 280 and 282 
N. Franklin st.; CONGREGATION OHAVEH EMUNAH, 386 Clark st.; CONGRE- 
GATION OHAVEH SHOLOM, 582 S. Canal st.; CONGREGATION OF THE NORTH 
SiDE.ne. cor. Rush st. and Walton pi.; CONGREGATION MOSES MONTEFIORE, 
130 Augusta st. ; CONGREGATION BETHEL, N. May st. near W.Huron St.; 
KEHILATH ANSHE MAARIV (Congregation of the men of the West), Indiana 
ave. and Thirty-third st, ; KEHILATH B'NAI SHOLOM (Sons of Peace), Twenty- 
sixth, cor. Indiana; SINAI CONGREGATION, Indiana ave. and Twenty-first St.; 
ZION CONGREGATION, se. cor. Washington blvd. and Ogden ave, 



206 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

Methodist Episcopal Ghurchet. The Methodist Episcopal Churches of 
the city are located as follows: ADA STREET, Ada st., between W. Lake 
and Fulton sts. ; ASBURY, 3120 and 3122 Fifth ave. ; AUBURN PARK, Auburn 
Park; AVONDALE, Avondale: BETHANY, ne. cor. Francisco and W. Jackson 
sts. ; BRIGHTON PARK, nw. cor. Thirty-eighth st. and Washtenaw ave.; CEN- 
TENARY, 295 W. Monroe st., near Morgan st.; CHICAGO LAWN, Chicago Lawn; 
CUMMINGS, Cummings; DEERING, nw. cor. Ward, and Dunning sts.; DOUG- 
LAS PARK, 624 S. Washtenaw ave.; ENGLEWOOD, 6410 Stewart ave.; ERIE 
STREET, W. Erie st. near N. Robey st. ; FIFTY-FOURTH STREET, Fifty-fourth 
and Peoria sts. ; FIRST, Clark and Washington sts.; FORTY-SEVENTH, Forty- 
seventh and Dreyer sts.; FULTON STREET, 891 and 893 Fulton St., west of 
Oakley ave. ; GARFIELD PARK, W. Lake, cor. Homan ave.; GRACE, LaSalle 
ave. and Locust st. ; GRACE, Kensington; GRAND CROSSING, Grand Crossing; 
GROSS, Gross Park; HALSTED STREET, 778 to 784 S. Halsted st. ; Harrison 
and Forty-second st. ; HEGEWISCH, Hegewisch ave. , south of One hundred and 
Thirty-third st.; HKRMOSA, Hermosa; HUMBOLDT PARK, Humboldt Park; 
HVbE PARK, Hyde Park; IRVING PARK, Irving Park; KENWOOD, 83 Forty- 
third st. ; LEAVITT AND DEKALB, N. Ogden ave. ; LINCOLN STREET, se. cor. 
Ambrose and S.Lincoln sts.; MARSHFIKLD AVENUE, Marshfield st., south 
of W. Van Buren st. ; MORELAND, Moreland; NORMAL PARK, Normal Park; 
North ave; NOUTHWEST, Homer st. west of juuct. Milwaukee and Western 
ave. ; OAKLAND, sw. cor. Langley ave. and Oakland blvd.; PARK AVENUE, 
se. cor. Robey st. and Park ave.; PARK MANOR, 6758 S. Chicago ave., 
Park Side; PAULINA STREET, 3342 S. Paulina st., near Archer ave. : PULLMAN, 
Pullman; RAVENSWOOD, Commercial and Sunnyside ave.; SACRAMENTO 
AVENUE, Sacramento ave. head of Adams st. ; SHEFFIELD AVENUE, Sheffield 
ave. and George st. ; SIMPSON MISSION, LaSalle and Fifty-ninth sts.; Sixty- 
fourth and Loomis; SOUTH CHICAGO, na. c )r. Ninety-tirst st. and Superior 
ave.; SOUTH ENGLEWOOD, Murray, cor. Eighty-seventh st. ; SOUTH PARK 
AVENUE, Thirty-third st. and South Park ave. ; STATE STREET, 4637 State 
st. ; ST. PAUL'S, W. Taylor st. and Center ave.; TRINITY, Indiana ave. near 
Twenty-fourth st. ; WABASH AVKNUE, Fourteenth st. and Wabash ave.; 
WESLEY, 1003 and 1009 N. Halsted st.; WESTERN AVENUE, W. Monroe st., 
and Western ave.; VICKER PARK MISSION, Milwaukee and W. North aves. ; 
WINTER STREET, N. W. Gordon and Dashiel sts.; WOODLAWN PARK, Wood- 
lawn Park. 

Methodist Episcopal (African) Churches. The Methodist Episcopal 
African) Churches of the city are as follows: ALLEN, Avondale; BETHEL, 
ARLINGTON HALL, Thirty-first; QUINN'S, Central Hall, Wabash ave.; ST. 
STEPHEN'S, 682 Austin ave.; ZION, Dearborn st., between Twenty-ninth and 
Thirtieth sts. 

Methodist Episcopal (Bohemian) Churches. The Methodist Episcopal 
(Bohemian) Churches of the city are located as follows: FIRST, 778 S. Hal- 
sted st, ; SECOND, S. Halsted and W. Twelfth. 

Methodist Episcopal (German) Churches. The Methodist Episcopal (Ger- 
man) Churches of the city are located as follows: ASHLAND AVKNUE, 485 N. 
Ashland ave. ; CENTENNIAL MISSION, Wellington and Sheffield aves. , Lake View; 
CENTER STREET, nw. cor. Dayton and Centre els.; CLYBOURNE AVENUE, 51 
and 53 Clybourne ave.; DEERING MISSION. Clybourne ave., near Fullerton 
ave.; EBENEEZER, sw. cor. Thirty-first and Ullman sts.; FULLERTON AVENUE, 
ne. cor. N. Wester^ ave. and W. Fullerton ave.; IMMANUEL, 832 and 834 W. 



ME ENCYCLOPEDIA. 207 

Twenty-second st.; MAXWELL STKKET, 308 Maxwell st. ; PORTLAND AVENUE, 
se. cor. Twenty-eighth st. and Portland ave.; ROBEY STREET MISSION, Robey 
st., near W. Twelfth st. ; WKNTWORTH AVENUE, Wentworth ave., south of 
Thirty seventh st. 

Methodist Episcopal (Norwegian) Churches. The Methodist Episcopal 
(Norwegian) Churches of the city are located as follows: IMMANUEL, W. 
Huron and Bickerdike sts. ; FIRST, se. cor. Sangamon and W. Indiana sts.; 
MORELAND, Moreland; PARK SIDE ; TRINITY, Maplewood and Thompson. 

Methodist Episcopal (Swedish) Churclies. The Methodist Episcopal (Swed- 
ish) Churches of the city are located as follows: ATLANTIC STREET, Atlantic 
aud Fifty-second sts.; ENGLEWOOD, Sixty-seventh at. and Stewart ave.; FIFTH 
AVENUE, ne. cor. Thirty-third; FIRST, N. Market and Oak sts.; FOREST GLEN, 
Jefferson; HUMBOLDT PARK, Fairfield Ave., near North ave.; LAKE VIEW, 
Baxter st. and Noble ave.; MAY STREET, N. May St., between W. Ohio and 
Erie sts.; PULLMAN, Arcade blvd., Pullman; SOUTH CHICAGO, South Chicago; 
SWEDISH MISSION, Chicago ave., opposite Milton ave. 

Presbyterian Churches. The Presbyterian Churches of, the city are 
located as follows: BELDEN AVENUE, Beldenand Seminary aves. ; BETHANY, 
HumboldtPark blvd., north of Humbnldt Park; CAMPBELL PARK, Leavitt st. 
and Campbell Park; BROOKLINE, Brookline; CENTRAL PARK, W. Madison, 
nw. cor. Sacramento ave., Occidental Hall; CHURCU OF THE COVENANT, se. 
cor. Belden ave. and N. Halsted St.; EIGHTH CHURCH, nw. cor. Robey and 
Washington blvd.; FIFTH CHURCH, Thirtieth st. and Indiana ave.; EMERALD 
AVENUE, Emerald ave. and Sixty-seventh st. ; FIRST CHURCH OF ENGLEWOOD, 
Sixty-fourth and Yale sts.; FIRST CHURCH, Indiana ave. and Twenty-first st.; 
FIRST (German) CHURCH, Willow, cor. Orchard; FIRST (Scotch Church), 8. 
Sangamon and W. Adams sts. ; FIRST (United Church), S. W. Paulina and W. 
Monroe sts. ; FORTY-FIRST STHEET, Prairie ave. and Forty-first st. ; FOURTH, 
Rush and Superior sts.; FULLERTON AVENUE, nw. cor. Larrabee st. and 
Fullerton ave.; GRACE (colored), DEARBORN, s. of Thirty-fourth; HOLLAND, 
Noble and W. Erie sts. ; HYDE PARK, Hyde Park; IMMANUEL, Archer ave. and 
Thirty-first st. ; JEFFERSON PARK, W. Adams and Throop sts. ; LAKE, nw. cor. 
Forty-second and Winter sts.; LAKE VIEW, Evanston ave. and Addison st. ; 
MORKLAND, Fulton and W. Forty eighth sts.; NORMAL PARK, Sixty -ninth, 
cor. Yale; PULLMAN, Pullman; RAILROAD CHAPEL, 1419 State st.; REUNION, 
sw cor. Hastings st. and S. Ashland ave.; SECOND, Michigan ave. and Twen- 
tieth st.; SIXTH, Vincennes and Oak aves.; SIXTIETH STREET, Sixtieth and 
School sts.; SOUTH CHICAGO, South Chicago; TENTH, Forty-second, cor. 
Winter; THIRD, S. Ashland and Ogden aves.; WESTMINSTER, 161 S. Peoria 
st., cor. W. Jackson st.; WELSH, ne. cor. Sangamon and W. Monroe sts.; 
WOODLAWN PARK, Woodlawn Park. 

Presbyterian Missions. The missions conducted by the Presbyterians 
are located as follows: BURR, se. cor. Twenty-third st. and Wentwonh ave.; 
HOPE, Augusta St., near Western ave.; MOSELEY, 2539 Calumet ave.; 
ONWARD, W. Indiana st. and Hoyne ave.; GROSS PARK, School, cor. Gross; 
CHRIST CHAPEL, Center and Orchard sts.; WEST OHIO STREET, W. Ohio st., 
near Lawndale ave.;ELSTON AVENUE, Elstou ave., near Fullerton ave.; 
ENGLEWOOD HEIGHTS, Eighty-ninth, cor. Page; ERIE CHAPEL, Erie, cor. 
Noble; FIFTY-FIFTH STREET BRANCH, 566 Fifty-fifth st.; FOSTER, 173 S. 
DesPlaines st. ; HEGEWISCH, S. Chicago ave., cor. 133d st. ; LARRABKE STREET, 
Larrabee st., near Cly bourne ave.; MEDICAL, 2242 Wentworth ave.; COLORADO 
AVENUE, Colorado ave., near W. Harrison; OLIVET, Larrabee, cor. Vedder; 



208 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

WENTWORTH AVENUE, Wentworth ave. , near Forty-third st. ; SOUTH CHI- 
CAGO AVENUE, J cor. 100th. WEST CHICAGO AVENUE, Chicago ave., cor. 
Lawndale. Services are held at all these Missions at 3 P. M. Sundays. 

Presbyterian Church (United.) FIRST CHURCH, located at the corner of 
W. Monroe and South Paulina sts. 

Roman Catholic Churches. Archbishop of Chicago, Most Rev. Patrick A. 
Feehan, D.D.; vicar -general, Very Rev. D. M. J. Dowling; chancellor and 
secretary, Rev. P. J. Muldoon, 311 Superior st. The Roman Catholic 
Churches of the city are located as follows: CATHEDBAL OP THE HOLT 
NAME, Superior and N State sts.; ALL SAINTS' CHURCH, sw. cor. Twenty-' 
fifth pi. and Wallace St.; CHAPEL OP OUR LADY OP MERCY, St. Paul's 
Home; CHURCH OP NOTRE DAME, DE CHICAGO (French), Vernon Park pi. 
and Sibley St.; CHURCH OP OUR LADY OP GOOD COUNSEL (Bohemian), West- 
ern ave. and Cornelia St.; CHURCH OF OUR LADY OP MOUNT CARMEL, Welling^ 
ton and Beacher sts.; CHURCH OP OUR LADY OP SORROWS, 1406 W. Jackson 
st ; CHURCH OP THE ANNUNCIATION, sw. cor. Wabansia ave. and N. Paulina 
St.; CHURCH OP THE ASSUMPTION (Italian), Illinois st., near N. Market st.; 
CHURCH OP THE BLESSED SACRAMENT, West Twenty-second street; 
CHURCH OP THE HOLY ANGELS, 282 Oakwood blvd.; CHURCH OP THE HOLY 
ANGELS, Hoyneave.; CHURCH OP THK HOLY FAMILY, May and W. Twelfth 
sts.; CHURCH OP THE HOLY ROSARY, sw. cor. S. Park ave. and One Hundred 
and Thirteenth st., Roseland; CHURCH OF THE IMMACULATE CONCEPTION, N. 
Franklin st., north of Schiller st. ; CHURCH OP THE NATIVITY, Thirty-seventh 
and Dashielsts.; CHURCH OP THE SACRED HEART, se. cor. W. Nineteenth 
and Johnson sts.; CHURCH OP THE VISITATION, Fifty-first and Morgan sts.; 
HOLY TRINITY (German), S. Lincoln and Taylor sts.; HOLY TRINITY (Polish), 
Noble and Ingraham sts.; IMMACULATE CONCEPTION B. V. M. (German), 2944- 
2946 Bonfield st., near Archer ave.; IMMACULATE CONCEPTION B. V. M. 
(Polish), nw. cor. Eighty -eighth st. and Commercial ave.; ST. ALBERT'S 
CHURCH (Polish). W. Seventeenth and Paulina sts.; ST. AGNES', S. Washte- 
naw ave., near Thirty-eighth st. ; ST. ALOYSIUS' (German), Thompson and 
Davis sts.; ST. ALPHONSUS' (German), Lincoln and Southport aves.; ST. 
ANN'S, Fifty -fifih st. and Went worth ave.; ST. ANTHONY OP PADUA (German). 
BO. cor. Twenty-fourth pi. and Hanover St.; ST. AUGUSTIN'S (German), Fifty- 
first and Laflin sts.; ST. AUGUSTIN'S (colored), 2251 Indiana ave.; ST. BER- 
NARD'S, Sixty-sixth st. and Stewart ave. ; ST. BERNARD'S CHURCH (French). 
Brighton Park; ST. BONIFACE'S (German), Cornell and Noble sts. ; ST. BREN- 
DON'S CHURCH, Sixty-seventh, cor. Bishop; ST. BRIDGET'S, Archer ave. and 
Church pi.; ST. CASIMIR'S CHURCH (Polish), Twenty-second, cor. Little; ST. 
CECELIA'S, Bristol st., near Wentworth ave.; ST. CHARLES BORROMEO'S, 
87-91 Cypress st. ; ST. COLUMBAS' CHURCH, Mackinaw, south of 133d st.; ST. 
BRIDGET'S, Archer ave. and Church pi.; ST. CECELIA'S, Bristol st., 
near Wentworth ave.; ST. CHARLES BORROMEO'S, 87-91 Cypress St.; ST. 
COLUMBKILL'S, N. Paulina and W. Indiana sts. ; ST. ELIZABETH'S, ne. cor. 
State and Forty-first sts.; ST. FRANCIS OP ASSISIUM (German), W. Twelfth 
st. and Newberry ave.; ST. FRANCIS DE SALES, Ewing ave. and One Hundred 
and Second st.; ST. FRANCIS XAVIER (German), Avondale; ST. GABRIEL'S, se. 
cor. Wallace and Forty -fifth sts.; ST. GEORGE'S (German), 3915 Fifth ave.; 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 209 

ST. HEDWIG'S (Polish), North side Kosciusco, bet. N. Hoyne ave. and St. 
Hedwig st.; ST. JAMES', Wabash ave. and Thirtieth st.; ST. JARLATH'S, Her- 
mitage ave. and W. Jackson st.; ST. JOHN'S, Eighteenth and Clark sts.; ST. 
JOHN'S NEPOMUCENE'S (Bohemian), Twenty-fifth st. and Portland ave.; ST. 
JOHN THE BAPTIST (French), Thirty third ct., near S. Wood st.; ST. JOSEPH'S 
CHUUCH (French) Brighton Park ; ST. JOSEPH'S (German), N. Market and 
Hill sts ; ST. JOSEPH'S (Polish), Forty-eighth and Paulina sts. ; ST. JOSA- 
PHAT'S (Polish), nw. cor. Ward st. and Beldon ave.; ST. KEVIN'S CHURCH, 
Cummings ; ST. LAWRENCE'S, Seventy-fifth St., near Brooks ave., Grand 
Crossing ; ST. LEO'S, Wright st. and Schorling ave., Auburn Park ; ST. 
Louis, Pullman ; ST. MALACHY'S Walnut st. and Western ave. ; ST. MARTIN'S 
(German), Forty-ninth and School sts.; ST. MARY'S, Wabash ave. and Eld- 
ridge ct. ; ST. MARY'S (German), Riverdale ; ST. MARY'S OP PERPETUAL 
HELP (Polish), 901 Thirty-second St., near Ullman st.; ST. MATHIAS', Bow- 
manville : ST. MAURITIUS' CHURCH, 36th, cor. Hoyne.; ST. MICHAEL'S (Ger- 
man), Eugenie st. and Cleveland ave: ; ST. MONICA'S CHURCH, 2251 Indiana 
ave.; ST. NICOLAS' CHURCH (German), 113th PI. cor. State; 
ST. PATRICK'S, Commercial ave., near Ninety-fifth St., South Chicago; 
ST. PATRICK'S, S. Desplaines and W. Adams sts.; ST. PAUL'S (German) 
8. Hoyne ave. and Ambrose st. ; ST. PETER'S (German), Clark and Polk sts.; 
SS. PETER AND PAUL, Ninety first st. and Exchange ave., South Chicago; St. 
PHILIP'S, Park ave. and W. Forty-third St.; ST. Pius', se. cor. W. Nineteenth 
st. and S. Ashland ave. ; ST. PROCOPIUS' (Bohemian), Allport and W. Eight- 
eenth sts.; ST. ROSE OP LIMA, Ashland ave., neai Forty-eighth 8t.; ST. 
STANISLAUS KOSTKA'S (Polish), Noble and Ingraham sts.; ST. STEPHEN'S, 
N. Sangamon and W. Ohio sts.; ST. SYLVESTER'S, California and Shakespeare 
aves.; ST. TERESA'S (German), Centre and Clyde sts.; ST. THOMAS', Fifty- 
fifth st., Hyde Park.; ST. VIATEUR'S, Belmout and Crawford aves.; ST. 
VINCENT DE PAUL'S, Webster ave. and Osgood st.; ST. VITUS, Paulina and 
Van Horn sts.; ST. WENCESLAUS' (Bohemian), 173 De Kovcn st. 

Swedenborgian (New Jerusalem) Churches. The Swedenborgian (New 
Jerusalem) Churches of the city are located as follows : NEW CHURCH 
TEMPLE, Van Buren st., east of Wabash ave. 

Unitarian Churches. The Unitarian Churches of the city are located as 
follows: ALL SOULS', Oakwood blvd., se. corner Langley ave.; UNITY, se. 
cor. Walton pi. and Dearborn ave. 

Universalist Churches. The Universalist Churches of the city are located 
as follows : CHICAGO LAWN, Chicago Lawn ; CHURCH OP THE REDEEMER, 
ne. cor. Robey st. and Warren ave.; ST. PAUL'S, Prairie ave. and Thirtieth 
St.; ENGLEWOOD, Sixty-third St., Englewood ; RYDER, Woodlawn Park ; 
THIRD, N. Clark, nr. Wellington ave. ; UNIVERSALIST MISSION, Fifty-fourth, 
cor. State. 

Miscellaneous Churches. Churches not mentioned above are located 
as follows : DISCIPLES OF CHRIST, meet every 1st day at 10:30 A. M. and 7:30 
P. M. at 23 and 25 Kendall St.; FIRST SOCIETY OF SPIRITUALISTS, meet at 55 
y. Ada st., at 10:45 A. M. and 7:45 P. M., Sundays; GERMAN ADVENT, 272 and 
274 Augusta st., services 10 A. M. and 7:30 p. M.; SCANDINAVIAN CHAPEL, 269 
W. Erie St., services Saturday, 10 A. M. 



210 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

CITY RAILWAY SERVICE. 

The City railway, or intramural service of Chicago, embraces horse-car, 
cable, electric and elevated railroads. The great existing street-car compa- 
nies operating horse and cable lines are the Chicago City Railway Company, 
which operates the lines of the South Side; the West Chicago City Railway 
Company, which operates the lines of the West Side, being practically the 
owner of the Chicago Passenger Railway Company, which also operates 
lines in that division of the city; and the North Chicago Street Railroad Com- 
pany, which operates the lines of the North Side. The South Chicago City 
Railway Company is an independent line. The West Chicago, North Chi- 
cago and Chicago Passenger Railway Company are under one management, 
Mr. Charles T. Yerkes being president. Chicago, according to the last cen- 
sus, stand? third in length of street railways, as follows: Philadelphia, 283 
miles; Boston, 201 miles; Chicago, 185 miles; New York, 177 miles. But 
when we take miles of track, including sidings and switches, the ratio is 
changed as follows: Chicago, 375 miles; New York, 3G9 miles; Boston, 329 
miles; Philadelphia, 324 miles. 

CHARACTER OF THE SERVICE. In view of all the surrounding circum- 
stances, many of which have contributed toward making street car transpor- 
tation in Chicago difficult, the service rendered the public by the different 
street railway companies is unsurpassed in any city in the world. Yet in no 
city in the country, probably, have street car companies been subjected to 
more severe and unfair criticism. The basis of this criticism has usually 
been a comparison with the lines operated in other and smaller places, and 
in population centers where the conditions are entirely unlike those which 
have to be contended with in Chicago. The West and North Side companies 
have borne the brunt of the ill-natured and unreasonable abuse, which cer- 
tain papers sent broadcast without as much as deigning intelligent inquiry as 
to the causesof such public annoyance as has occurred. Especially is this 
the case in the matter of stoppages and accidents of various kinds, all of 
which have been susceptible of satisfactory explanation, and that without 
the slightest reflection on the several managements, or the city. The climatic 
difficulties, for instance, have not been the slightest of the causes, nor yet 
the easiest to overcome in perfecting the several cable systems. We have 
here the greatest extremes of heat and cold, the variations at times having 
been as radical as 60 in twenty four hours. Common intelligence under- 
stands at a glance that such a condition means the great contraction and 
expansion of metals, and opens upa long line of impediments in the success- 
ful operating of machinery exposed to the elements, to say nothing of the 
effect on the slot rails of cable roads. These great extremes are not experi- 
enced in cities like San Francisco, St. Louis, Cincinnati, or New York, yet 
the critics seem to have forgotten this. In many of the cities, too, it is unusual 
for a " grip " car to haul more than one trailer. But in Chicago the South, 
North and West Side lines always draw two, and often three trailers, and con- 
sequently much heavier loads than are carried in other places. Then, again, 
nowhere else do the '' grips" run so close together as here, especially in the 
early morning and evening hours when they are often not more than a quarter 
of a minute apart. This, however, is only a mere taste of the exactions on 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 211 

the West and North Side systems by eomparison, for while on most cable 
roads the tracks are straight and run on a level, here they bend around blocks 
in the formation of return "loops," and while on the " loops" climb steep 
tunnel grades, and this when they are loaded the heaviest. For instance, the 
West Madison street train coming east turns at Jefferson and Madison sts., 
at Jefferson and Washington (going into the tunnel beneath the river), at 
Washington and Fifth ave. (having passed under the river), at Fifth ave. and 
Madison, and at Madison and La Salle ; and going west, at LaSalle and Ran- 
dolph, at Randolph and Fifth ave., at Fifth ave. and Washington, at Wash- 
ington and Jefferson, and at Jefferson and Madison. The service of the 
North Side cable is equally, if not more, exacting its loop being longer, its 
curves shorter, and the engineering difficulties more complicated. In a word, 
nowhere else are like demands made on cable roads, for while it is true that 
other systems have " loops," it is also true that, from the nature of their 
termini they are used as switches to haul empty cars around; then, again, 
the further fact that the systems spoken of are the only ones in the country 
that have tunnels as parts of their "loops" should not be lost sight of in 
making comparisons. But, with it all, the service of these particular sys- 
tems is simply marvelous in its regularity, and at the same time makes the 
dream of rapid transit a reality. The cars are comfortable, the roads thor- 
oughly equipped. 

INCREASING TRAFFIC. The traffic on the street car lines and suburban 
railways is increasing at an enormous rate annually. The street cars in all 
divisions of the city are over-crowded almost constantly. The North, West 
and South Side cars are all carrying more people than they were built to 
carry, but still the number of passengersis increasing every day. The sub- 
urban trains are all crowded. On the Illinois Central the same state of affairs 
exists. That road has 108 trains every day to accommodate its suburban traf- 
fic, and, although from five to twelve cars on each train, which run half an 
hour apart, except in the early morning and evening hours, when there is an 
interval of five minutes between trains, the seats are always filled, and often 
people are standing as near together as possible, in every car. When a train 
is a few minutes late the crowding is worse. The Northwestern and St. Paul 
trains are also crowded, while the newer roads, which are just developing a 
suburban region, can scarcely keep up with the tax upon their rolling stock. 

PAY OF CABLE EMPLOYES. The conductors and gripmcn receive pay 
according to the number of trips made. On the Cottage Grove line the runs 
are numbered from 1 to 113 and on State st. from 1 to 111. In addition to the 
force that runs these cars are sixty-five extra gripmen and conductors on the 
Cottage Grove line and nearly an equal number on the State st. line. A 
"regular" has his "run" as long as he can do his work. An "extra" goes 
on only when one of the "regulars" is off, or when extra cars are put on. 
Consequently all the employes desire to become regulars. On the Cottage 
Grove line the conductors and gripmen receive forty-two cents for a round 
trip from Thirty-ninth st. north, and sixty cents for a round trip over the 
entire length of the line. On the State st. line the pay is forty and fifty-six 
cents respectively. The average time required to make the trip from Thirty- 
ninth st. is 115 minutes, which gives each conductor and gripman about $3.20 
a day. 

STEAM RAILROAD SERVICE. It should be borne in mind that in addition 
to the street railways of this city it has a steam railroad service, in connec- 
tion with the suburban lines of several of the great railroad companies, which 



212 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

adds immensely to the transportation facilities of the public between points 
within the corporate limits. It is a well-known fact that the Illinois Central 
riiilroad suburban trains carry more passengers than any other suburban line 
in the world. The suburban trains of the company carried 15,000,000 
passengers in 1890. Of this number fully four-fifths were passengers carried 
between points within the city limits. The Chicago & North-Western; the 
Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific; the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy; the 
Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul; the Northern Pacific ; the Grand Trunk ; 
the Eastern Illinois, and other railroad companiesdo a heavy suburban business. 
Without the supplementary aid of these lines it would be impossible for the 
existing lines of street railways to meet the demands of the public for transit. 

Chicago City Raihoay Company. This is the company which operates the 
South Side cable system. During the pasteighteen years the property has 
grown from 22*^ miles of track to 152, and from 60 bobtail cars to 1,250 
of the largest and best. Its revenue has increased from $600,000 a year to 
nearly three and one-half millions; its patronage from 30,000 passengers a 
day to 200,000; the speed of its cars from five miles an hour to an average of 
ten miles an hour. The company has developed a cable system second to 
none in the world in extent, efficiency, and public regard. During these 
eighteen years not a single strike occurred among the employes of the com- 
pany. 

Business done in 1891. During 1891 the Chicago City Railway Company, 
or as it is now familiarly known, the South Side Cable Line, carried 77,464,- 
965 passengers, producing a revenue to the company of $3,873,198.27. Of 
this $2,591,99599 was earned by the cable cars, and $1,281,202.28 by the 
horse cars. The cost of operating the road was $2,534,315.66, leaving for 
net earnings, $1,338,882.61. Out of this there was paid for dividends, $750.- 
000.00; interest, $216,585.45; depreciation cable machinery and tracks, $43,- 
091.53;total, $1,009,676.98; leaving balance to income account of $329,205.63. 
The average earnings per day were $10,611.50; the percentage of expenses to 
earnings was 65.43, a decrease of 1.42 over 1890. The cost of operating per 
car per mile was cable, 9. 369 cents; horse, 23.334 cents; all lines, 13.055 
cents. Number of miles run by cable, 14,357,050; horses, 5,096,560; all lines, 
19,453,610. The expense per passenger was cable, 2. 60 cents; horse, 4.64 
cent; all lines, 3.35 cents. During 1891 there was built 100 open cars, 100 
grip cars, and 25 box cars, making the present equipment 600 box cars, 550 
open cars and 322 grip cars. Commenced and unfinished 25 box cars and 50 
open cars. One mile single track of horse line was laid during the year, 
making cable track 34l||g miles, horse track 113fff$ miles; total, 148gV^ 
miles. Horses on hand Jan. 1, '91, 2,508; purchased, 346; 2,854: sold 193, 
died, 112305; horses on hand Jan. 1, '92, 2,459. Capital stock, $7,000,000. 
Bonds, 4% percent, $4,619,500. 

The net earnings of the road for the last six years were as follows: 1886, 
$619,253; 1887, $686,259; 1888, $683,338; 1889, $845,339; 1890, $1,'139,097; 
1891, 1,338.882.61. 

OFFICERS OF THE COMPANY. The following directors hold office for 1892: 
L. Z. Leiter, D. K. Pearsons, Samuel D. Allerton, Erskine M. Phelps, James 
C. King. William B. Walker and George H. Wheeler. Following are the 
officers for 1892: George H. Wheeler, president ; James C. King, first vice- 
president; Erskine M. Phelps, second vice-president ; T. C. Pennington, 
treasurer ; F. A. Green, secretary, and M. K. Bowen, assistant superintend- 
ent. The president, Mr. Wheeler, is practically the superintendent. This 
road now carries passengers nine and one-half miles for. five cents. 




o o 

u U 



w 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 213 

North Chicago Street Railroad Company. Has an authorized capital of 
$5,000,000. The capital stock is all issued in share sof $100 each and paid up. 
The company was incorporated in 1886 under Illinois laws, and controls the 
entire street surface system in the North Division of Chicago. The company 
acquired title by the purchase of 2,501 shares of the capital stock of the 
North Chicago City Railway Company, paying therefore $600 per share. The 
total of shares was 5,000. The companies then entered into a mutual operat- 
ing agreement whereby the new company, agreed to pay to the old company 
$30 per share rental annually on the entire stock. The lesser company also 
agreed to pay the principal and interest of the bonded indebtedness 
of the old company and assume all other liabilities. Out of the $30 
per share to be paid annually, for rental, $75,030, or the rental 
on the 2,501 shares, reverts to the credit of the lesser company, the 
owner of the shares. The issues of the new company and the issues 
of the old company, which are guaranteed by the former, are as follows: 
Capital stock, paid up, $5,000,000;'first mortgage 5 per cent, bonds (new 
company), $2,350,000; first mortgage 4^ per cent, bonds (old company), 
$500,000; second mortgage4% per cent. bonds(old company), $1,640, 000; capi- 
tal stock old company leased at $35 per share, $249,900. The first mortgage 
bondsof the Chicago Street Railway ($2,350,000) are for $500 each, bear 5 per 
cent, interest and due in 1906. These are secured by a mortgage covering all 
the property and franchises of the company, and the mortgage is held by the 
Fidelity Insurance, Trust ?,nd Safe Deposit Company of Philadelphia; interest 
payable January 1st and July 1st. The $500,000 first mortgage bonds bearing 
interest at 6 per cent, of the North Chicago City Railway Company, mature 
in 1900, interest payable January 1st and July 1st. The $1,640,000 second 
mortgage bonds are issued by the North Chicago City Railway Company, 
bear 4% per cent, interest, and are payable May 1st and November 1st at the 
company's office. The $249,000 as capital stock of the old company only 
leased to the new company at an annual rental of $35 per share. The annual 
fixed charges are $117,000,bearing interest at 5 per cent. on the North Chicago 
Street R. R. Co.'s first mortgage bonds, $2,350,000, interest at 6 per cent, on 
North Chicago City R. R. Co. First mortgage bonds of $500,000 $30,000, 
interest on $1,640,000 4% per cent. Second mortgage bonds of North Chicago 
Street R. R. Co. $73,800, interest on $500,000 6 per cent. 5-20s certificates of 
indebtedness, $30,000; rental of 2,499 shares ($30 per share) of North Chicago 
City Railway Co. stock, $74,970, thus making a total of $326,270. Accounts 
are made up each year to December 31st. The franchises of the company are 
very valuable, and include the right-of-way on all the principal streets in the 
North division, besides use of bridges and the tunnel. The company pays an 
annual license fee to the city of $50 per car. The mileage of all the North 
Side lines is over 80 miles. Part of the system is cabled. 

OFFICERS OP THE COMPANY. Directors, C. T. Yerkes, W. D. Meeker. 
W. L. Elkins, Charles Henrotin, C. A. Spring, Jr; president, C. T. Yerkes; 
vice-president, W. F. Furbeck; treasurer and secretary, W. D. Meeker, 
Office, 444 North Clark street. Registrar, Union National Bank. Stock trans- 
ferred at company's office. Business done in 1891 : The earnings of the North 
Chicago Railway Company for 1891 were $2,304,610.95; expenses, $1,221,- 
408.11; net earnings, $1,083,202.84; fixed charges, $469,744.80; surplus, 
$613,458.04; increase of earnings in 1891 over 1890, $329,856.70; increase in 
expenses, $144,691.04; car mileage, 7,762,366; passengers carried, 44,343,905; 
trips made, 1,227,853. 



GLIDE TO CHICAGO. 

West Chicago Street Railroad Company. This company operates under 
lease the lines of the Chicago West Division Railroad company and the 
Chicago Passenger Railway company. The capital stock of the West 
Chicago Street Railroad company is $10,000,000. 

BUSINESS DONE IN 1891. The gross receipts of this company for 1891 
were $4,169,200.74, an increase over 1890 of $505,819.05 ; operating expenses. 
$2,468,179.02; net income, $1,701,021.72, an increase of $240,407.86; appli- 
cable to dividends, $868,680.12. or over 8.68 per cent, on the capital stock. 
The miles run were 14,638,414, an increase of 2,422,511, which is equal to 
increasing the service of the lines 19.83 per cent. 

DESCRIPTION OP CABLE SYSTEM. The West Side system is the newest 
and most elaborate in the city and second to none in the extent of its 
resources, or the perfection of its general equipment, and for this reason 
whatever is said in a descriptive way must naturally be confined to it. This 
as well as the North Side road, it will be borne in mind, reaches the South 
Side, or business center, by way of tunnels under the Chicago river. These 
tunnels were built by the city, and prior to the companies in question 
using them were mere holes in the ground, and represented the 
waste of so much public money. President Yerkes, however, saw 
how they could be utilized to abate the bridge nuisance, and 
otherwise serve the people, and was quick to move in the matter of obtaining 
their use. In consideration of the city allowing him to use the La Salle 
Street tunnel he built and donated to the public two double steel steam 
bridges across the river, one at Wells and the other at Clark street, at a cost 
of over $300,000. The Washington street tunnel was in a far worse con- 
dition when taken hold of in fact, it had been abandoned and before it 
could be used had to be rebuilt at a cost of nearly $200,000. Both tunnels 
are now totally unlike what they were a few years ago, and the public not 
only recognizes the wisdom of their present use, but finds in them the aboli- 
tion of the former waits at the swing bridges, which is worth additional 
hundreds of thousands of dollars to the city every year. For the use of the 
Washington street tunnel the Chicago Passenger Railway Company built a 
new viaduct at Adams street, a new double steam bridge at the same point 
and moved the Madison street bridge to Washington street, placing it upon 
a new pier and abutments. The West Chicago Street Railway Company 
for the franchise on Taylor street moved the Adams street bridge to Taylor 
street, and placed it upon a new pier and abutments. Thus within a year 
two important streets have been opened to through traffic. 

THE MADISON STREET LINE. The West Side cable system consists of 
two distinct lines the Madison street line, which runs directly west, and 
the Milwaukee avenue line, which runs northwest. Both lines connect 
with the down-town "loop" hereafter referred to, and in smoothness of 
trackage and completeness of equipment are prepared to invite the most 
rigid investigation and comparison. The power for the operation of the 
system is supplied from three distinct power houses, all of which are 
supplied with the best machinery and appliances that could be obtained. 
The principal power-house is located at Madison and Rockwell streets, 
being 210x225 feet. It contains two 1,200 horse-power engines, and one 
of these is going night and day (moving the cars on Madison street), while 
the other is held in reserve in case of an accident. The cable running west 
to Fortieth street is driven at the rite of fourteen miles an hour, while 
the one running east is driven ten and a half miles an hour; the speed of 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 215 

either of them, however, can be increased at will. There is in addition a 
Corliss engine to propel a loop rope in the power-house, by means of 
which the cars can be reversed at Rockwell street, whenever it is necessary, 
The power-house itself is a neat and attractive structure, lighted by 
electricity, and surmounted by a smoke-stack 175 feet high. 

THE MILWAUKEE AVENUE LINE. The Milwaukee avenue power-house, 
located at the corner of Cleaver street, in outward appearance and general 
equipment is very similar to the one on Madison street. It is sup- 
plied with two Corliss engines of 1,200 horse-power each, which were 
built by Fraser & Chalmers, of Chicago. These two engines operate the 
entire Milwaukee avenue system, which extends from Jefferson and 
Washington streets to Armitage avenue. The west rope is driven at 
the rate of twelve miles an hour, while the east end rope is moved at 
the rate of ten and one-half miles. As with the Madison street ropes, their 
speed, however, can be increased or lessened at will. 

THE TUNNEL LOOP. The third power-house is located at the coiner of 
Jefferson and Washington streets, and is where the Company's offices are to 
be found. This station is furnished with two one-thousanu horse-power Cor- 
liss engines, which are used to operate the Washington street tunnel loop. 
The cars of both the Madison street and Milwaukee avenue lines are deliv- 
ered to the cable at this station, and by it they are drawn through the tunnel 
and around the loop heretofore mentioned. The service of this particular 
cable is very exacting. At times the heavily loaded trains are but a few 
seconds apart, yet there is seldom, if ever, any cause for complaint, so perfect 
are all the details and so elaborate the machinery and appliances. The dyna- 
mos for lighting the tunnel are also located at this point, as is also the base of 
an electric signal system which extends along the several cable lines. By this 
system the conductor or gripman can communicate with the power-housefl 
and offices at any time, which is an adjunct of alrrost incalculable advantage 
in keeping the 'tracks clear and promptly stopping the machinery in case of 
accidents from any cause. 

THE NEW TUNNEL AND CABLE SERVICE. During 1891 the work on the 
elegant new tunnel just north of Van Buren street has been pushed forward 
as rapidly as such work can be properly done and during the present year it 
will be opened for the sole use of the cars of this Company. It is much larger 
than either of the other tunnels and is pronounced by engineers to be perfect. 
This will be a grand thing for the people of the West Side, for then the 
bridge nuisance will be practically overcome. The cable lines on Blue Island 
avenue are now completed as far southwest as Twenty-sixth street, and on 
Halsted street from Van Buren street toO'Neil street. These lines have been 
substantially built, the steel girder rail used in its construction being heavier 
than that used by any steam road, except about one hundred miles on the 
New York Central, which is the same weight. The opening of these lines 
during the present year will cause a boom in the south and southwest portions 
of the city, as did the starting of the Madison street and Milwaukee avenue 
lines in their vicinity. 

NEW CARS AND EXTENSIONS. A great many new and elegant cars have 
been added to the equipment of the road during '91. They will be further 
increased during the present year. These cars are finer and larger than any 
heretofore built, and the management deserves great credit for their enter- 
prise. The windows are very large, and the cars are lighted by four chande- 
lier lamps. The tracks have been extended on Twelfth Street from Kedzie 



216 GUibE fO CHICAGO. 

avenue west to Crawford avenue, and on North avenue from California 
avenue to Crawford avenue. The Ogden avenue line has been extended 
to Lawndale avenue. During the year the magnificent viaduct over the rail- 
road tracks on Ogden avenue will be completed, when this will be one of 
the finest lines in the city. The tracks on Taylor street have been laid from 
Canal street over the bridge to Fifth avenue. The new Madison street 
bridge has been swung, so that it will be seen that the West Side has not been 
behind in the matter of improved service and accommodations. Ordinances 
are now in the hands of the Council, which, if treated fairly, will secure for 
the people of the West Division of the city the cross-town lines, which people 
so badly need, and which the Company stand ready to build in fact the 
material for this purpose is now on hand and the lines can be in operation 
within six months from the passage of the ordinances. 

AIDS TO PUOMPT SERVICE. Delays occasioned by heavily loaded wagons 
breaking down on the tracks, or from fires is almost a thing of the past, 
thanks to the service of the Company's wrecking wagon and fire wagon. The 
former carries everything needed to remove a wrecked stone or coal wagon, 
and the latter an iron " hose bridge " for raising the fire hose over the tracks 
so that cars can pass underneath it. 

NEW DESPLAINES STEET POWER HOUSE. This new addition to the cable 
service of the West Side is now about completed and is perfect in every 
respect. It is situated on Desplaines street, just north of Washington street, 
and will be used to operate any new loop that may be put into service, and 
also as a reserve in case of any accident to the plant now in use at the corner 
of Washington and Jefferson streets. The new building is 25x153 feet, sur- 
mounted by a smoke-stack 150 feet high. The foundations cover the entire 
space occupied by the building. The building contains a 1,000 horse-power 
Corliss engine, 3(5x72. Six upright boilers, 7 feet in diameter, 18 feet 10 inches 
over all, each boiler containing 230 tubes 2% inches by 14 feet. This plant is 
arranged to use oil as fuel in order to overcome the smoke nuisance. In fact 
the management deserves credit for having gone to the expense of changing 
all of its plants to use this fuel in order to assist in abating this evil. 

OFFICERS OF THE COMPANY. The officers are : President, Mr. Chas. T. 
Yerkes; Vice-President and General Manager, Jno. B. Parsons; Secretary and 
Assistant General Manager, R. C. Crawford; Treasurer, Geo. E. Newlin. 

TRACKAGE OF THF, COMPANY. During 1892 the company laid seven and 
one-half miles of new track. Fifty miles of new track will probably be 
laid during the present year, if the company and the city council come to an 
understanding regarding rights of way, etc. 

OFFICERS OF THE COMPANY. The officers are : President, Mr. 0. T. 
Yerkes. Directors : C. T. Yerkes, W. L. Elkins, J. B. Parsons, R. C. Craw- 
ford, David R. Fraser. 

Other Lines Completed and Projected. The year 1891 will probably see 
remarkable activity in the building of rapid transit lines of city railway. 
Among the new lines completed, under way and projected, are the following: 
CALUMET ELECTRIC ROAD. This line is but the beginning of an exten- 
sive system to connect the various manufacturing and residence suburbs 
which now lack proper communication with each other. It extends from 
the South Chicago Rolling Mills by way of Eighty-ninth st., Mackinaw ave., 
Harbor ave., Ninety-third st. and Stony Island ave. to Ninety-fifth st. The 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. *17 

Rae system of propulsion by means of overhead wires is employed. It dif- 
fers from the Sprague and the Thompson-Houston systems chiefly in hav- 
ing a single motor for each car instead of two smaller ones. A speed of from 
fifteen to twenty miles is attained with entire safety, as the road-bed is firm 
and the cars are strongly built, weighing more than five tons each. The 
curves and switches are guarded against accident by an automatic device of 
which Mr. Loss is the inventor. At the power-house are engines of 125 horse- 
power, capable of supplying the lines now in existence, that is the one opened 
yesterday and another already built from Pullman to Cottage Grove ave. and 
Eighty-seventh street. A connecting line has been opened from South Chicago 
to the" Pullman line at Cottage Grove avenue and One Hundred and Fourth 
street. As soon as practicable the system will be extended to One Hundred 
and Fifteenth street, through One Hundred and Fifteenth St., Michigan 
avenue, One Hundred and Eleventh street, and Vincennes road, around 
Washington Heights and Morgan Park. Further extensions will probably 
follow. The overhead system will be removed if an economical and other- 
wise suitable storage battery appears. It is said that none at present 
exists. 

CAHETTE LINES. Operated by the Russell Street Carette Company. Office 
of company, 148 S. Green street. Officers: A. W. Buokwood, president; W. 
H. Cowles, secretary and general manager ; Edward Twitty, treasurer. 
Organized July 19, 1889. This company operates carette lines over Madison, 
Adama and Rush streets, from Ashland avenue to Lincoln Park. Number 
of cars at present in the service, thirty-five; number of horses, three hundred. 
The company expects to increase its equipment during the next three years to 
two or three hundred cars. This is the only line that transports passengers 
without change, between the West and North Sides of the city, covering a 
portion of the South Side on the way. The Russell Carette is a more com- 
fortable vehicle than any yet introduced to meet the demands of the public 
for a conveyance which can be operated on streets without tracks. It is 
much larger and moves much easier than the omnibus. It is provided with a 
rear platform, which is as low and convenient for elderly persons as the 
street car platform. A conductor as well as a driver accompanies every 
carette and the general conduct of the vehicle is similar to that followed in the 
management of the street car. The carette has the advantage of being able 
to turn aside from its course to evade other vehicles, while it can pick up and 
discharge its passengers at tb e curb line. Each carette will furnish seats com- 
fortably for twenty persons -ten on each side and in addition there is a seat 
in front for at least three persons, which is very popular. While the rear 
platform affords standing room fora number of persons, each carette actually 
seats twenty-three persons, yet they frequently carry from thirty to forty per- 
sons at a time and have had as many as forty-seven passengers on a single 
trip. The carettes are nicely upholstered, contain spring seats and backs 
covered with Wilton carpet. The interior is finished with white, natural 
woods, ash and cherry being used for doors, windows, frames, etc. All trim- 
mings are of bronze. 

CICERO AND PROVISO STREET RAILWAY COMPANY. The electric line oper- 
ated by this company extends from the terminus of the W. Madison st. cable 
line, W. Madison and Fortieth sts., to Oak Park. It will be extended further 
west. The ride is a delightful one, passing as the line does through some of 
the most beautiful of our western prairie suburbs. The principal suburbs 
reached are Austin and Oak Park. 



218 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

Contracts have been let for the construction of extensions from Harlem 
avenue, the present terminus, to the Desplaines river and on Desplaines avenue, 
from Madison street south to Twelfth street. The road is to be double 
tracked. The electrical equipment will be put in by the Edison General 
Electric Company. The rolling stock for the road built at Pullman will con- 
sist of twelve motor cars with twenty-five horse-power equipments to each 
car, geared to rtfn from twenty to twenty-five miles per hour. These cars 
will draw open trail cars. The new lines will be completed and in operation 
by August 1st. The present road is succeeding beyond the expections of its 
projectors and has had a wonderful effect upon the value of property along 
its lines. 

EQUITABLE TRANSPORTATION Co. A permit was recently issued in this 
city for the construction of an " L"road in the old town of Lake, upon the 
franchise guaranteed in 1889 to the Equitable Transportation Company. At 
this writing there seems to be no doubt but that the road will be built within 
the coming two years. The company has the right to build on Eighty-seventh 
from State street to Western avenue. This is right along the line of active 
growth in population, and is the territory for which the South Side alley L 
road is supposed to be aiming by the ordinance for the right of way along 
Vincennes avenue, asked for in the name of W. D. Chidester. It is also the 
territory for which the lately organized north and south elevated road is aim- 
ing. Thus there are three competitors for this territory, making it morally 
certain that vast improvements in transportation facilities for this region are 
soon to be had. The Equitable Transportation Company, by the liberal terms 
of its ordinance, would seem to have the decided advantage. It is given the 
right to erect telegraph, telephone, electric and pneumatic appliances on all its 
various lines. These various lines, as provided in the ordinance, are : 

1. State and Thirty-ninth streets to Halsted and Thirty-ninth; on Halsted south 
to Vincennes or Summit avenue; southwest on either of these avenues to Eighty-sev- 
enth street, and tin-nee to State and Eighty-seventh. 

2. State and Thirty-ninth to State and Eighty-seventh streets. 

3. State and Vincennes road to Summit avenue. 

4. Forty-seventh street and Center avenue to Center avenue and Eighty-seventh 
fctreet. 

5. On Ashland avenue from Thirty-ninth to Eighty-seventh street. 

6. On Western avenue from Thirty-ninth to Eighty seventh street. 

7. On Wallace street from Thirty-ninth to Forty-.-econd and thence on Forty-sec- 
ond to Halsted. 

8. On Seventy-ninth street from State to Johnson avenue, 

9. From State to Halsted on Forty-third street. 
10 On Sixty-ninth from State to Johnson avenue 1 . 

11. On Forty-seventh street from State to Johnson avenue. 

12. On Johnson avenue from Thirty-ninth to Eight 1 , -seventh street. 

13. On Ashland avenue from Thirty-ninth to Eighty-seventh street. 

LAKE STUEKT ELEVATED RAILROAD. The superstructure of this 
railroad was completed from Cana! street, along Lake street on the West 
Side, very nearly to Union Park, in the spring of the last year. Its 
course in the future is entirely unsettled, but the probabilities are that it 
will have two branches, one extending toward the northwestern portion of the 
city, the other extending to the southwestern, while the main stem will follow 
the Hue of Lake street into Cicero, passing through the environs of Austin 
and Oak Park. As far as completed the road is substantially built. It will 
have a double track, and will be operated in a manner similar to the system 
employed on the New York elevated roads. The question of securing a 
South Side terminal that, is a starting-point on the south side of the city, or 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 219 

in the business district, is not settled. There have been several propositions 
regarding the establishment of a terminal east of the south branch of the 
river, but all have been abandoned for the time being at least. The probable 
route of the line through the business district is via the alley -ways parallel- 
ing Lake street, from Market street east. 

MILWAUKEE AVENUE ELEVATED ROAD. The Chicago Transit Company, 
with a capital stock of $12,000,000, was granted articles of incorporation 
last year by the Secretary of State. The incorporators are: J.M.Hannahs, 
who is Vice-president of the Elevated road which expects to run up Mil- 
waukee avenue; H. M. Taylor, and G. W. Stanford. The incorporators say 
they intend to construct a road that will furnish rapid transit for the 
North Side residents from some point on the river between State and Market 
and to build their road on private property, which they will acquire by pur- 
chase, lease, or condemnation to some portion of the city where the streets 
are less crowded. The road will run from the Chicago River to Waukegan, 
but it is probable it will be elevated only to Evanston, beyond it will be a 
surface road. The motive power will be electricity. 

NEW ELECTKIC ROAD. A new electric road has been projected for North 
Side, Chicago. The proposed route is from Diversey avenue on Evanston 
avenue to the Ridge road, along the Ridge road to Oakton avenue. At this 
point a T will be formed by one lice running east to Calvary Cemetery and 
another west, connecting the main line with the Montrose cut-off. The road 
will open up for settlement an entirely new section of country, and be of 
great benefit to South Evanston. 

RANDOLPH STREET ELEVATED RAILROAD. The company which projected 
this line, to penetrate the West Division from the heart of the city , via Randolph 
St., has met with some obstacles in the courts, and its future movements are 
uncertain. 

SOUTH END ELECTRIC RAILWAY. A new corporation; capital, $100,000. 
The plan is to connect the territory on the ridge with the Pullman electric 
lines at One Hundred and Fifteenth, One Hundred and Eleventh, One 
Hundred and Third, and Ninety-fifth streets, and also to connect at the 
latter with the Calumet Electric street railroad for South Chicago. The 
road will be one of the best in the country. The rails used will be of the 
girder type, weighing seventy pounds to the yard. The electrical apparatus 
is to be of the very best, involving some new features whereby all noise is 
obviated and a high rate of speed can be maintained if necessary. 

SOUTH SIDE ALLEY " L " ROAD. An elevated railroad running from Van 
Buren street south to 39th over the alley between State street and Wabash 
avenue and projected to the Indiana Stale line. The line up to this writing 
is almost wholly completed between Van Buren and 39th streets. It will be 
ready for rolling stock during the present summer. Nothing is definitely 
known as to the course the main line or its branches may take after leaving 
39th street. Various maps showing the course of the road have been pub- 
lished, and some of them, perhaps, with authority, but they are all subject to 
change. The company haying the project in hand was belayed in its opera- 
tions during the year 1891 on account of a scarcity of funds, but toward the 
close of the year named, $3,600,000 were raised and the work was pushed 
rapidly forward. The equipments of the road will be first-class. Handsome 
depot buildings at the street intersections have been erected. It is expected 



2.20 GUIDE TO CHCAGO. 

that the facilities afforded by this road will greatly relieve the strain whica is 
now felt by the South Side Cable Car Company, while it will assist still 
further in developing the territory lying south of 39th street. It is under- 
stood that the alley elevated railroad will not extent north of Van Bureu 
street for some time, if ever. Mr. L. Z. Leiter, it is said, is heavily interested 
in the enterprise now and probably will control it in the future. It will be a 
part of his plan, if so, to locate the northern terminal of the line at Van Buren 
street in the vicinity of his great building and in a locality where he has 
immense property interests. It is the deteimination of Mr. Ltiter and cithers 
associated with him to establish in that vicinity the business center which the 
erection of the Auditorum rendered certain some years ago. Mr. Leiler, it 
is well known, is a large stock-holder in the Chicago City Railway Company 
(the South S.de cable line). He is also interested in the North Side Company. 
The West Division Railway Company will have completed the construction 
of a tunnel at the close of the present jear at Van Buren street, and the Norih 
Side road is credited with the intention of extending its cable line to the Polk 
Street depot, and the South bide Company, as is well understood, co operates 
with the Alley Elevated Road. Everything in the way of rapid transporta- 
tion turns toward Van Buren street as a center and the determination has 
been expressed frequently among capitalists capable of carrying it out that 
Van Buren street shall be an artery of trade second to none in the city. There 
are some projects for the construction of arcades from State street acioss to 
3d avenue, to connect the new business center with the old quarter, around 
the Board of Trade, and south of that point. One of these is a scheme for a 
connection from a point near the head of Congress street. The exact 
method of forming a convenient terminus for the Alley Elevated road has 
not been decided upon, but it will be a loop or a stub, the effect of which will 
be to discharge passengers in large numbers at Congress and Van Buren 
streets, mainly, no doubt, on the former. The Alley Elevated Railroad can 
never be a completed line until it shall have at least penetrated the Jackson 
Park district. It is understood that every effort will be put forth in that 
direction so that the line will be in full operation before the opening of the 
World's Columbian Exposition in the spring of 1893. 

Wabash Avenue Sub-Railway Transportation Company. Articles of incor- 
p .ration of the Wabash Avenue Sub-Railway Transportation were filed early 
in 1891. According to the articles it is proposed to build a sub-railway com- 
mencing at a point at the north line of the Chicago River, at the south end of 
Cass street, in the city of Chicago, thence running south under the center 
line of Wabash avenue to Eighty-first street. The capital stock is $10,000,- 
000. The iucorporators and first board of directors are George W. Cole, 
Maria E. Beasley, J. Warren Pease, Silas Rhodes and Pleasant Amick. The 
electric overhead system will be used. 

CLUBS ATHLETIC, SPORTING, ETC. 

Athletic Club Houses. Amo*ng the leading athletic club houses of the city 
are: The new home of the Chicago Athletic Association, on Michigan ave., 
between Madison and Monroe; the Fairaput Club House; the Illinois Cycling 
Club House, 1068 Washington Bd.; the Lincoln Club, No. 1, Park ave.; the 
Chicago Cricket Club, Parkside, the Englewood Club, and the Oak Park 
Cycling Club House now being built at the coiner of Oakwood Bd. and 
Prairie ave. 




[Engraved for The Standard Guide Company.] 
AREND'S DRUG STORE -MADISON ST. AND FIFTH AVE. 
[See "Guide."] 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 221 

Base Ball Clubs. In 1891 there wps one professional base ball club in this 
city, under the managtment of the National League. There are two base ball 
grounds, one on the West Side and one on the South Side. Van Buren street 
horse ears reach he former; State street cable cars and L. S. & M. S. Railway 
the latter. " The Chicago Ball Club " office, 108 Madison street; president, 
James A. Hart; secretary, F. H. Andrus; treasurer, John A. Brown. " Chi- 
cago City Base Ball League " comprises eight clubs. Offices, 108 Madison 
street and 145 Monroe street; president, James C. Moodey, vice-president, 
Virgil M. Brand;" secretary, Ferd Wirtz; treasurer, John S. Burke; mana- 
ger, Frank Rheims. PARKS North: Halsted street and North avenue; take 
C. M. & St. P. train (Evanston Division) or North Halsted street horse car. 
South: Thirty ninth street and Wentworth avenue; take Wabash avenue cable 
car. Went: Ogden avenue and Rockwell street; take Ogden avenue horse car. 
WESTERN ASSOCIATION OP BASE BALL CLUBS Meets at 108 Madison street; 
president, L. C. Kransthoff , Kansas City, Mo. 

Boat and Yacht Clubs. CATLIN BOAT CLUB, Lake shore, foot of Pearson. 
President, Charles Catlin; secretary and treasurer, T. P. Hillinan. CHICAGO 
CANOE CLUB A boating organization of the South Side; member of the West- 
ern Canoe Association; boat house foot of Thirty-seventh st. C. W. Lee, 
purser. CHICAGO YACHT CLUB Commodore, A. J. Fisher; secretary, Harry 
Duvall, 655 Rookery building; treasurer, F. W. S Brawley. COUNTESS YACHT 
CLUB Room 25, 6, Sherman. President, Sidney W. Woodbury; treasurer, E. 
W. Heinck. EVANSTON BOAT CLUB Located on Sheridan road (Lake Shore 
drive) in the suburb of Evanston. Take train at Wells street depot, Wells apd 
Kinzie sts., North Side, or at Union depot, Canal and Adams sts., West Side. 
Officers: Frank Winne, president; George Lunt, vice-president; E. G. Angle, 
secretary; J. B. Ide, treasurer, and James Judd, captain. The club house is 
an elegant one, and it is the center of the social life of the younger portion of 
Evanston's society. Among the events looked forward to with pleasurable 
anticipations by Evanston people is the annual regatta given by the club. 
Rowing has become a popular amusement with the youngpeople of the town. 
Many ladies have become experts, and almost any fine day their barks can be 
seen skimming the surface of the lake. FARRAGUT BOAT CLUB Located at 
3016 and 3018 Lake Park ave. Take Cottage Grove avenue cable line. 
Organized in 1872. Occupiosa handsome brick building, two stories and base- 
ment. In the basement are the bowling alley, pool room and lavatories; on the 
first floor are the parlors, reception room, billiard room, card room and library. 
On the second floor are a dancing hall and theatre, with equipment of scenery, 
etc., and seating capacity of 400. A seriesof entertainments are given during 
the winter seasons. The boat house of the club is a one-story brick building 
on the south snore, foot of Thirty -third st. The club owns about twenty five 
boats, including an eight-oared barge, four-oared shells, four-oared gigs, 
single and double shells, single and double training-boats and pleasure boats 
of all descriptions. Admission fee, $50; annual dues, $24. Officers: president, 
C. F. Bryant; secretary, E. M. Shinner; treasurer, Frank M. Staples; captain, 
E. 8. Hunter. FARRAGUT NAVAL ASSOCIATION op CHICAGO Meets third 
Thursdays. Commodore, J. J. Sullivan ; executive officer, C. B. 
Plattenberg ; paymaster, Thomas L. Johnson ; secretary, William S. 
Kaufman. LINCOLN PARK YACHT CLUB Organized in 1890. Officers: 
Commodore, James J. Wilson; vice-commodore, S. S. Johnson; rear 



222 GUIDE TO CHCAGO. 

commodore, A. E. Back; treasurer, H/ A. Paus; secretary, C. O. Andrews; 
committee on membership, E C. Benniman, D. D. Button, C. Johnson. The 
club consists in the main of those yachtmen, who, during the last season, kept 
their craft in the new slip at Lincoln Park inside of the new drive that is being 
constructed along the old Lake-Shore drive, several hundred feet out in the 
lake. This new slip is the only place around Chicago that can be called a 
yacht harbor, and, although not completed and not as handy as might be, 
owing to the continuance of the work on the drive, was used last season by 
about ten or a dozen yachts as permanent shelter. The owners of these yachts 
have noworganized as a club for co-operation in matters concerning yacht in;.', 
for economy and safety in taking care of the boats, and in order to be able to 
look after their interests in submitting suggestions or requests to the Park 
Commissioners with reference to the new drive and the harbor it encloses. 
OGDEN BOAT CLUB Lake Shore, foot of Superior. President, J. V. Clarke, 
Jr.; secretary, J. D. Caidwell; treasurer, J. B. Waldo; captain, W. R. Cregier. 
Chicago Athletic Association. The idea of organizing the above associa- 
tion and building for it a suitable home originated with one or two of the 
present members in January, 1889. Object of the association : to encourage 
all manly sports and promote physical culture. Present number of members, 
1,500, including many of the li-ading business and professional men of the 
city. Location of new gymnasium building, Michigan-avenue, between Mad- 
ison and Monroe, facing east, only a short walk from the business center. 
This magnificent home for the Chicago Athletic Association was begun in 
February of the past year. The new building contains the largest and best- 
equipped athletic club house in the United States, and cost $500,000. The 
ground upon which it stands measures 80x172 feet. The building is of a sub- 
stantial character, with.a front of yellowish brick and gray stone in Venetian 
style, with tall, diamond-cut windows covering the fourth and fifth floors, 
which are thrown into one so as to give ample height to the gymnasium. The 
eighth story has balconies large enough to set tables and chairs upon for those 
who want to enjoy the fresh air and the prospect upon Lake Michigan. That 
floor is us(d for the dining rooms. The ninth and tenth stories have no win- 
dows, being lighted by skylights, as they are set apart for the ball courts. 
The basement contains eight bowling alleys, reaching under the sidewalk ; a 
shooting gallery, running the whole depth of the building ; a bicycle storage 
room, with lockers, and connected by an incline with the bicycle club 
room on the first floor ; large storage and repair rooms and the boilers 
and machinery. The first story is reached by a spacious vestibule in 
the center of the front, with the business office and reception and 
coat rooms on either side. A large hall at the top of the steps opens 
into the lavatory, barber shop and dressing rooms, back of which are the 
Turkish and Russian baths, a swimming tank measuring 40xGO feet, and a 
lounging room. Another door leads from the hall to the bicycle club room, 
which has a separate entrance from the street to admit wheelmen and their 
machines, the object being to make it convenient for bicyclists to ride up to 
the door of the building, store their machines, put on their business suits 
and leave their wheels there during the day. The second story consists of a 
large hall in front, with a cafe at the south end, separated by a colonnade, 
and a billiard room with twenty-six tables. Between the two main rooms 
are small apartments for the billiard markers and lavatory and serving room. 
The third floor contains a library and reading room at the southeast end. 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 223 

with two club rooms adjoining, lavatory, drying room, linen room and office. 
The rear half is given up to thirty-seven baths, with 1,500 lockers and 106 
dressing rooms. The gymnasium occupies the fourth and fifth stories. 
Three rooms are used for special apparatus, leaving for the gymnasium 
proper a larger space than is given to any other similar institution in the 
country. The running track is on a balcony at the height of the fifth story, 
so as not to interfere with the work of gymnasts. The length of the track 
is ten laps to the mile. The sixth and seventh stories are occupied by bed- 
rooms, sixty-six in" number, with the necessary baths and other requisites. 
The eighth story is taken up by dining rooms, there being one large general 
dining room and several private rooms, with the store rooms, kitchen, etc., 
in the rear. The balconies on this floor can be used by dinner parties. The 
ninth and tenth stories are thrown into one and contain two racquet courts, a 
tennis court and five courts with a parlor and marker's rooms. Everything 
is finished with more regard to substantiality than elegance. The baths are 
finished with tile and marble, nickel-plated pipes, etc., in the most durable 
manner. The lounging room on the first floor has two fire-places and a col- 
onnade opening into the swimming-tank. It is furnished with comfortable 
chairs, divans and lounges. Each of the dressing rooms has a lounge and 
is comfortably fitted up. Membership limited to 2,000. The initiation fee is 
$100 for active members and $50 for non-resident members, with annual dues 
of $40 and $20 respectively. 

The government of the association is vested exclusively in a board known 
as t be " board of governors." This consists of twenty -one members chosen 
by ballot and the gentlemen now constituting the board are : C. L. Hutchin- 
son, president; N. B. Ream, vice-president; James S. Gibbs, treasurer; R. C. 
Nickerson, secretary; Joseph Adams, (Jhas. Schwartz, Warren M. Salisbury; 
B. B. Lamb, M. C. Lightner, Henry Ives Cobb, N. K. Fairbank, Eugene S. 
Pike, A. G. Hpulding, W. Vernon Booth, Egbert Jamieson, Joseph T. Bowen 
Cyrus II. McCormick, H, P. Crane, Wm. H. Hubbard, W. S. McCrea. This 
board has full and absolute power over all the property of the association and 
complete management of it. It has also special powers calculated to regulate 
the life of the club-house. That its management thus far has been wise and 
salutary for the association is the conviction of all connected with it. 

Chicago Curling Club. Curling was introduced into Chicago in 1854. 
At the start the Chicago Club was composed exclusively of Scotchmen, but 
since that time it has grown and extended its membership, including several 
Americans and members of other nationalities. Meets at 83 Madison st. 
The present officers of the club are: President, David Hogg; vice- 
president, James McWhirter; secretary, James Duncan; treasurer; 
Alexander White; representative to the Grand National Curling 
Club, James White; committee of management, John Campbell, 
James Ralston, Dtniel McKay, Richard Pritchard and Robert 
McWhirter; honorary members, James Alston, Andrew Wallace, Robert 
Clark and Alexander Kirkland; regular members, John Angus, John Camp- 
bell, James Duncan, Frank Grady, David Hogg, Robert C. Harper, Alex- 
ander D. Hannah, James B. Hill, E. W. Kibbie, Walter Keeran, William 
Manson, Frank Manson, Daniel Manson, John McArthur, Daniel McKay, 
James McWhirter, George Hoffman, Thomas Nicholson, John Pettigrew, 
Richard Pritchard, John T. Raffen, James R'Uston.Georce Wood, Alexander 



224 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

White, Alexander Watson, G.Barron, E.Hall, Archibald Savage andG. Ham- 
mond. Under the rules of the National Curling Club the club members are not 
allowed to play matches for money, as from the very beginning every effort 
has been maile to keep the game pure and free even from the semblance of 
gambling. The rules do not prohibit games between members, however, for 
some trophy. The rule in the Chicago Club has been to play matches for 
certain amounts of money, the winners to donate the spoils to some charity. 
Chicago Fencing and Boxiivj Club. Organized 1890. Club rooms, 106 
E. Randolph street. The objectof the organization -was to increase the interest 
in local amateur athletic circles. Officers: President, T. W. Sprague; first 
vice-president, C. H. Chamberlain; second vice-president, F. E. Willard; 
secretary, F. H. Wightman; treasurer, C. R. Calhoun; captain, Otto Hassel; 
first lieutenant, C. T. Essig; second lieutenant, J. P. Keary. The instructor 
in boxing is Prof . George Siler, one of the oldest and best known boxers in 
America. The club gives frequent public exhibitions. UNION ATHLETIC 
CLUB President, J. F. Cook. Meets at 200 Adams street. CHICAGO ATH- 
LETIC PLEASURE CLUB Officers: G. S. Smallwood, president and manager; 
P. Mahouey, vice-president; J. Dullaghan, Jr., secretary, and W. D. Fenner, 
treasurer. 

Cricket Clubs. CHICAGO CRICKET ASSOCIATION Annual meeting 1st Tues- 
day in April at Grand Pacific. Officers: President, W. P. Griswold; first 
vice-president, F. Wilde; second vice-president, H. A. Watson; secretary, 
E. J.Tomlins,238 Randolph st. CHICAGO CRICKET CLUB (incorporated) Meets 
room 5, 170 State. ST. GEORGE CRICKET CLUB Secretary , W. Lovegrove, 
710 N. Wells. WANDERERS' CRICKET AND ATHLETIC CLUB One of the fore- 
most athletic clubs of Chicago. Composed of cricketers, sprinters, rowers, etc. 

CycUnrj Clubs. Among the cycling organizations of Chicago are the 
following BICYCLE CLUBS' ASSOCIATION, composed of the wheelmen of the 
various clubs of the city. The objects of this association are to secure 
harmonious and concerted action in all matters of general interest to wheel- 
men in Chicago and vicinity, particularly in such matters as municipal legis- 
lation, improvements of streets and roads, the prevention of the theft of 
wheels, to spread a knowledge of the rights, duties and privileges of wheel- 
men, to promote road and track racing, to foster fraternal club intercourse 
and, as far as possible, to aid the state and national organizations of the 
League of American Wheelmen. The delegates and the cycling clubs repre- 
sented by them are as follows: CHICAGO CYCLING CLUB S. A. "Miles, L. B. 
Sherman andM. A. Hosgood. ILLINOIS CYCLING CLUB T. L. Sloan, A. J. 
Street and W. A. Davis. LINCOLN CYCLING CLUB William Herrick, J. M. 
Irwiu and R. G. Betts. WASHINGTON CYCLING CLUB L. W. Conkling, B. B. 
Ayresand Frank Barrow. DOUGLAS CYCLING CLUB C. H. Wachter, J. C. 
Wachterand A. W. Miller. ^EOLUS CYCLING CLUB J. A. Erickson, R. H. 
Ehret and A. W. Roth. OAK PARK CYCLING CLUB C. A. Sturtevant, C. E. 
Fox~ and A. T. Merrick. ENGLEWOOD CYCLING CLUB H. A. Stoddard, F. 
H. Gere and R. Rees. LAKE VIEW CYCLING CLUB LeRoy Cram, E. C. 
Wescott and E. L. Ward. VIKINGS BICYCLE CLUB Carl Dietrich, F. A. 
Kern and H. Behrens. The association controls 1,500 political votes and 
will support candidates favorable to wheelmen and wheeling. AMERICAN 
CYCLING CLUB President, C. W. Patterson; secretary, H. M. Kimball. 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 225 

CHICAGO CYCLING CLUB Club house located at Lake ave. and Fifty-seventh 
St., Hvde Park Centre. Take Illinois Central train, foot of Randolph or 
Van Buren St., or Cottage Grove avenue cable line. This is one of the 
largest cycling organizations in the country. Its membership consists of 
about 300 wheelmen, from all parts of the South Side, their runs being on 
the beautiful boulevards and avenues of the South Park system. President, 
C. E. Randall; treasurer, R. Powell; secretary, Qeo. Kretsinger. COOK 
COUNTY WHEELMEN An off-shoot of the Washington Cycling Club, recently 
organized. Officers: C. E. Graham, president; A. B. McLean, Jr., vice- 
president; G. Howard Cornell, secretary; W. E. Brooks, Jr., treasurer; E. C. 
W. Macholdt and C. H. Hinson, directors; W. u. Whitson, captain; RobertC. 
Craigie, first lieutenant; Bert Salvage, second lieutenant; C. G. Sinsabaugh, 
third lieutenant; A. L. Holtslander, color-bearer; F. A. Beach, bugler. 
DOUGLAS CYCLING CLUB A large organization of wheelmen. Officers: 
J. C. VVachter, president; C. Kopi, vice-president-. Fred Maack. secretary; 
J. G. Loebstein, Jr., financial" secretary; Ed Blettner, treasurer; A. W. 
Miller, captain; H. B. Walker, William Slavik, board of directors; C. H. 
Wachter, A. A. Wendell, surgeons. Club house, 586 W. Taylor st. 
ILLINOIS CYCLING CLUB Located at 1068 Washington blvd., just west of the 
railroad crossing, south side of street. Take Madison street cable line to 
Campbell ave. The building is a four-story brick, built expressly for the 
club, and is arranged for the convenience and comfort of cyclers. The 
interior is elegantly furnished. There are billiard-rooms, card-rooms, recep- 
tion parlors, etc. The club has a large membership. The officers are: 
President, T. L. Sloan; vrce president, H. C. Knisely; secretary, W. A. 
Davis; treasurer, George A. Mason; directors, C. R. Street, John Hohmann, 
H. L. Barnum; captain, E. J. Roberts; first lieutenant, Charles Hagaman; 
second lieutenant, H. E. Krause; third lieutenant, H. G. Chisholm; fourth 
lieutenant; George Skeer; color-bearer, John Palmer; bugler. S. C. Beach; 
librarian, H. J. Winn; quartermaster, C. H. Stevens. LAKE VIEW CYCLING 
CLUB Located at Lake View, Chicago. Officers: President, C. Edgar 
Wescott; vice-president, LeRoy T. Cram; secretary, Robert E. Ward; 
treasurer, Harry Parsons; captain, F. R. McDonald; lieutenant, C. Arnold 
Wescott; color-bearer, Irving Telling. The four executive officers and 
captain comprise the board of directors. LINCOLN CYCLING CLUB 235 
La Salle ave. President, T. W. Gerould; secretary, W. F. Hochkirk. OAK 
PARK CYCLING CLUB Located at Oak Park, a suburb of Chicago; has a large 
membership. Following are the officers: President, C. A. Sturtevant ; vice- 
president, Thomas H. Gale; secretary, Ed Burin gton; treasurer, R. T. 
Miller; board of directors, J. M. Stimpson. Dr. De Vour, Harry Pebbles; 
captain, J.' M. Stimpson; first lieutenant, O. L. Cox; second lieutenant, 
Charles Steiners; color-bearer, James C. Carter; quartermaster, C. O. Lud- 
Jow: bugler, A. T. Starkweather; delegates to associated cycling clubs, J. M. 
Stimpson, C. A. Sturtevant, C. E. Fox. WASHINGTON CYCLING CLUB 650 
W. Adams. President, Burton i ? . White; secretary, Alberf J.Elliott; treasurer, 
Frank Barron. 

Hand Ball Courts. There are a number of hand ball courts or "alleys" 
in Chicago, the best being McGurn's, located on Division st. , North Side. 
Take Division st. car. Among the leading hand ball plavers of the city are 
Thomas E. Barrett, John T. McGurn, Peter O'Brien. Mart Scanlan, Hugh 
O'Brien, William McGurn, Dennis Cronin, John Nagle, Captain James. 



226 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

Pumphry, of the fire department ; Marshal Campion, David Gushing, John 
Healey, Charles Dolan, Catcher Buckley, of theNational League; John Car- 
mody, Captain John Hall, of the fire department; ex-Alderman James O'Brien, 
Hugh Harrity, Con Dwyer, Thomas Loftus, John McDonough, Joseph Mc- 
Laughlin, Thomas McCormack and John Coleman. 

Horse Associations. AMERICAN HORSE SHOW ASSOCIATION 182 Monroe. 
President, H. J. McFarland; secretary, Hobart C. Taylor; treasurer, E. S. 
Brewster; general manager, E. C. Lewis. CENTRAL PARK DRIVING ASSOCIA- 
TION President and treasurer, J. T. Rawleigh; secretary, W. H. Kane, 173 La 
Salle. [See Washington Park Club.] 

Hunting, Fishing and Gun Clubs. AUDTTBON CLUB Meets second Tues- 
day in each quarter at Kern's, 110 La Salle. President, Chas. Kern; secre- 
tary and treasurer, William W. Foss. CHICAGO CUMBERLAND GUN CLT:P, 
Organized in 1881. Located in Lake county, 111. Itsdub house and grounds 
were formerly the property of the sons of an English nobleman. Lord Parker, 
and cost th-at gentleman about $60,000. It is one of the finest pieces of hunt 
ing club property in the country. Fifty miles from the city, equipped superbly 
for all purposes of this character, invaluable as a hunting ground for feathered 
game, in a healthful locality, the Cumberland's quarters in Lake county offer 
a permanent temptation t) the sportsmen of the club. The officers -for the 
first year were these : President. John M. Smyth ; vice-president. Frederick 
B. Norcom; secretary, Charles K. Herrick; treasurer, John .Heiland ; board 
of managers, Stephen Rymal, Charles D. Gammon, Mictael Eich. The 
officers for the present year are: President, H. I). Nichols; vice-president, 
James Gardner; secretary, William L. Shepard; treasurer, John Heiland. 
Board of managers, Harry D. Nicholls, Charles D. Gammon, Walter Mat- 
tocks. CUMBERLAND GUN CLUB Meets at Sherman House. President, 
Chas. K. Herrick; treasurer, J. Heiland ; secretary, W. L Shepard, 164 La 
Salle. CHICAGO RIFLE CLUB President, S. M. Tyrrell ; secretary and treas- 
urer, W. H. Chenoweth, 76 West Monroe. CHICAGO SHAKPSHOOTERS' ASSO- 
CIATION Meets first Monday at 49 La Salle st. President, E Thielepappe; 
secretary, Orcas Matthae; treasurer, W. Burck. CHICAGO SHOOTING CLUB 
Meets at Sherman House club room. President, R. B. Organ ; secretary 
and treasurer, John Matter. DIANA HUNTING CLUB Clubhouse at Thayer, 
Ind. President, J. Press; secretary, J. A. Kreutzberg. ENGLISH LAKE 
HUNTING AND FISHING CLUB Located at English Lake, Indiana. The club 
was organized by a number of Chicago gentlemen in 1878 and has prospered 
since its birth. It is not a regularly incorporated body, but is very-wealthy 
notwithstanding, and its club house is one of the best and most comfortably 
equipped in the State. The house is a fine frame structure of twenty rooms, 
and surrounding it are 6,000 acres of marsh-lands. These are the property 
of the club and abound in duck, snipe, prairie chicken and geese. The 
members of the English Lake Club who find pleasure in angling are 
furnished with excellent opportunities in the lake. Among the game fish 
in its waters are bass, pickerel and pike. Officers: A. M. Fuller, president; 
J. M. Adams, vice-president ; R. W. Hosmer, treasurer, and A. W. Cobb, 
secretary. CHICAGO FLY CASTING CLUB Meets at Sherman House. Presi- 
dent, A. H. Harryman; W. H. Babcock, vice-president; C. E. Kenyon, secre- 
tary and treasurer. Fox LAKE SHOOTING AND FISHING CLUB Meets at theTre- 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 227 

mont House. President, A. V. Hartwell; secretary, G. M. Millard. 117 
Wabash avenue; treasurer, W. D. Cooper. Fox RIVER FISH AND GAME 
ASSOCIATION An association for the preservation of fish and game in the 
Fox rive* district. President, George E. Cole; directors, H. L. Hirtz, 
C. A. Knight. John Stephens, C. F. Hills, George -E. Cole, John Wilkin- 
son, L. M. Hamburgher, George R. Davis, O. J. Weidener and James 
Gardner. FORT DEARBORN SHOOTING CLUB President, H. D. Nichols-; 
A. Klineman, vice-president; C. K. Herrick, secretary and treasurer. 
GRAND CALUMET HEIGHTS CLUB President, W. L. Pierce; secretary, 
G. E. Marshall; meets quarterly at the Sherman House. LAKE GEORGE 
SPORTSMAN'S ASSOCIATION Meets second Thursdays in each quarter at Sher- 
man House. President, Jas.W. Sheahan; secretary, J. S. Orvis. LAKE VIEW 
RIFLE CLUB Meets Saturdays at 2 p. M. , at Rifle Range. Colebour. President, 
N. S. Warren; secretary, W. W. Holden. MAK-SAW-BA SHOOTING CLUB 
Meets at Sherman House; club house at Davis Station, Ind. President, T. 
Benton Leiter; vice-president, L. R. Brown; secretary, W. R. Smith. MIN- 
NEOLA FISHING CLUB Club House at Fox Lake, 111. President, O. H. Roche; 
secretary and treasurer, J. G. Divenn. MISSISSIPPI VALLEY AMATEUR ROW- 
ING ASSOCIATION President, W. R. Moore, Moline, 111.; secretary, D. R. 
Martin, Pullman, 111. ; NORTH CHICAGO SCHUETZEN VEREIN Meets second 
Tuesdays at 267 North avenue. President, F. W. Labahn; secretary, H. R. 
Zemple, 244 North avenue. SPORTSMAN'S CLUB Meets third Thursday in 
each quarter at Sherman House. President, C. N. Holdeu; vice-president, 
Charles Hadwen; secretary and treasurer, A. W. Carlisle, 1001 Rookery 
building. THE GUN CLUB Meets at Sherman House. President, F. C. Don- 
ald; secretary and treasurer, C. E. Willard. TOLLESTON CLUB Club grounds 
near Tolleston, Lake county, Ind.; composed of Chicago business men of 
sporting taste. One of the wealthiest clubs in the United States. The club 
was originally organized in 1871 by a number of Chicago gentlemen, who had 
for years resorted to the marshes of the Calumet, near Tolleston, in Lake 
county, Ind., for the purpose of shooting the duck and chicken for which 
these marshes are noted. They called tue organization " Tolleston Club" 
simply and purchased sixty acres of land close to the marshes and known as 
Van der Naillen farm. On this land, which is somewhat elevated, arose the 
first Tolleston clubhouse. The house has of late years been vastly improved 
and enlarged, until now it possesses every comfort. Twenty-two large rooms 
are finely furnished and nothing is wanting to make the quarters worthy of 
the tenants, among whom are numbered a hundred or more of Chicago's 
wealthiest citizens. The officers of the club are: President, F. A. Howe; 
vice-president, W. R. Linn; secretary, George P. Wells; treasurer, C. D. 
Peacock; board of directors, C. C. Moeller, James Wright, P Schuttler, 
J. N. Grouse, S. M. Moore; superintendent of club house, Willard West. 
UNION SHOOTING AND FISHING CLUB Club house at Fox Lake, 111.; meets 
third Tuesdays each quarter at Grand Pacific. President, John G. Beazley; 
secretary and treasurer, J. C. McCord, 116 La Salle, room 24. WESTERN. 
RIFLE ASSOCIATION Secretary and treasurer, W. H. Chenoweth, 76 W. 
Monroe. 

Indoor Base Ball Clubs. There are " Indoor Base Ball Clubs" connected 
with nearly every social club of prominence in the city, besides a great num- 
ber of independent organizations in city and suburbs. There are two leading 
"leagues" of Indoor Base Ball Clubs the "Midwinter" and Chicago 



228 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

ludoor Base Ball League. The gime was very popular and fashionable in 
Chicago last winter and thi probabilities are that it will continue to be so 
for more seasons to come. The game is of Chicago invention and followed 
what came to be known as the " Roller Skating Craze." The ball used is of 
large size and made of a yielding substance. The bat is 2 % feet long and 
1% incheS'in diameter at the larsje end. The four bases are each 1% feet 
square, each filled with sand. They are not secured to the floor, and a man 
may slide in and carry the base with him. The pitcher's box is six by three 
feet, and is marked on the floor in chalk. The nearest line is 22 feet from 
the home plate. The bases are 27 feet from each other, forming a diamond. 
The distance from home to second base by a straight line is 37^ feet. Eight 
or nine men may be played on a side and only rubber-soled shoes are used. 
The leading teams are La Salles. Kenwoods. Oaks of Austin, Idlewilds of 
Evanston, Carletons, Marquettea, Farraguts. rml Ashlands, of the Midwinter 
League, and the Harvards, Lincoln Cycling Club, Chicago Cycling Club. 
and South Side Illinois Club of the Indoor League. 

Tennis Clubs. CHICAGO TF.NNIS CLUB 2901 Indiana ave. EXCELLO 
TENNIS CLUB Secretary, E. U. Kirabark, 183 Monroe. NORTH END TEN- 
MS CLUB President, Wm. Waller; secretary, A. T. H. Brower, State, corner 
Burton pi. 

Union Athletic Club. 52 State st. President, J. F. Cook; secretary, J. A 
Bar key, 113 N. Peoria. 

Western Association of Base Ball Clubs Office 108 Mauisbn st. Presi- 
dent, L. C. Krauthoff, Kansas City. 

CLUBS GENTLEMEN'S AND SOCIAL. 

Acacia Club. A social organization, 105 Ashland ave., West Side. 

^Eolus Club. A social organization. Officers: President, H. B. Keats; 
vice-president, A. W. Roth: second vice-president, S. Wittenberg; corres- 
ponding secretary, T. J. Svvenie; financial secretary, H. J. Freeman; treasu- 
rer, C. P. Kennedy; quartermaster, J. B. Wilson; librarian, E. Andrews; 
directors, J. Mohr, Al Christiansen, and S. W. Wolf. 

Apollo Club. A musical organization of prominence and high standing 
in the city, of which Prof. W. L. Tomlins is the director. It has through the 
tireless energy and splendid talents of its leader and his ability to impart his 
profound knowledge of musical art in a practical way, attained a high plane 
of artistic effect. 

Argo Club Club house situated on Lake Michigan at the extreme end 
of the Illinois Central pier. It is a floating structure and the object of locat- 
ing it on the water is to secure for the members the cool breezes which blow 
across the water in the summer season. It is in reality neither a boat nor a 
house, and yet both combined. It is built entirely of wood aiidcost $15,000. 
If it were built on shore a fire ordinance governing the building of frame 
structures within the city limits would swell the expenditure to twice that 
size. The kitchen and store rooms are in the hold. The main saloon is 
above, and this room is elaborately finished in mahogany and curly maple. 
From the tables, which are scattered about the saloon, the club men and their 
guests are a.fforded a splendid view of the lake. The state-rooms are on still 
another deck, end above this is the .hurricane or promenade deck, where the 




[Engraved for The Standard Guide Company."! 

CHICAGO HERALD BUILDING, 154-158 WASHINGTON ST. 

[See " Newspapers."] 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 229 

orchestra is stationed at all receptions. From top to bottom this half ship, 
half house, is furnished in the most luxuriant style and the gymnasium or 
athletic equipment is not surpassed by any semi-aquatic club in the country. 
Nearly one hundred names are on the roll of membership. 

Ashland Club. Located at 575 Washington boulevard, corner Wood 
street, organized in October, 1886. It is the leading, as well as the largest, 
social organization on the West Side. The present membership is 500, to which 
number it is limited by the by-laws of the club. The club house is a handsome 
and commodious structure. It contains parlors and reception rooms, a ban- 
quet hall capable of seating 200 persons ; an assembly hall with a floor space 
60x80 feet, the largest of the kind in Chicago, provided with a stage, with 
complete settings suitable for theatricals, concerts, lectures, etc., far the exclus- 
ive use of the club ; billiard room with twelve tables, library and reading 
rooms, wash and bath rooms, kitchen, servants' rooms, bowling alleys, cafe, 
etc. The balls and other elegant entertainments given by the club have made 
it a recognized social leader: The buildings and grounds cost $85,000. The 
admission fee is $50 ; annual dues $40. A. E. G. Goodridge is president and 
A. N. Marquis, secretary. 

Bankers' Club. An association of the leading bankers of the city. They 
give an annual banquet, to which distinguished guests are invited. Offi- 
cers President, E. G. Keith; vice-president, John C. Black; secretary, James 
D. Sturges; executive committee, John C. Neely, W. F. Dummer and John 
C. Black. 

Bichloride of Gold Club, of Chicago. Organized on the 28th of July, 
1891, Composed of graduates of the Keely institute atDwight and its various 
branches. Meets at 155 Washington street. Lesley E. Keeley, M. D., LL. D., 
honorary president for life. First officers: President, Opie P. Read .first vice- 
present, Thomas F. Murray ; second vice-president, D. W. Wood ; third vice 
president, John Dillon ; treasurer, Dr. W. F. Standiford ; secretary, C. E. 
Banks; corresponding secretary, N. A. Reed, Jr.; directors, P. W. Snow- 
hook, N. A. Reed, Jr., Frank A. Moore, Louis A. Rexford, H. H. Boyington 
and Charles H. Sampson. Present officers: O. W .Nash, president; 
George B. Booth, secretary ; N. A. Reed, Jr.; corresponding secretary ; C. H. 
Sampson, treasurer. This club has done a marvelous amount of good work 
since its organization, it has sent to Dwight for treatment many needy per- 
sons, and up to this writing not a single relapse has been reported. The 
Chicago club is incorporated under the laws of the Slate of Illinois. The 
incorporators were : Louis A. Rexford, Nate A. Reed, Jr., W. Grant Rich- 
ardson, Homer H. Boyington, Frank A. Moore, Opie P. Reed and William 
A. Standiford. 

Bichloride of Gold Club of Dwight. Located at Dwight, 111 . , seventy- 
two miles southwest of Chicago. Take the Chicago & Alton railway. Or- 
ganized April, 1871, in a blacksmith shop by a few graduates of the Keeley 
Institute. Object of the club, the affiliation of those who have taken the 
Kefiley treatment at Dwight, or any of the legitimate branches of the Kteley 
Institute. This is the parent club of all the Bichloride of Gold Clubs in the 
world. Its meeting place for many months was in a disused Presbyterian 
church to which a large addition or annex was built. The club has a mem- 
bership at present (summer of 1892) of about 5.000. These members in turn 
became connected, upon leaving Dwight, with the various Bichloride of 
Gold Clubs in other parts of the country. The badge of the club is a horse- 



230 .GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

shoe in token of the place where the first meeting was held, in the center of 
which is the capital letter " K " in recognition of the discoverer of the Bi- 
Chloride of Gold remedies. The club meets at present in the old opera house 
at D wight, which is also used in part as a treatment hall. This is supplied 
with a stage and all the necessary appliances for the giving of performances. 
Its presiding officers from the commencement to the present time have been 
as follows: Presidents: 1st, S. E. Moore, Pittsburgh, Pa. ; 2d, O. B. Stan- 
ton, Dwight, 111.; 3d, J. D. Thayer, Warsaw, Ind.; 4th, B. Reynolds, Wash- 
ington, D. C.; 5th, S. S. Lowe, Chattanooga, Teun.; 6th, Wm. M. Burris, 
Liberty, Mo.; 7th, P. H. Sherry, Joliet, 111.; 8th, W. D. St. Clair, Chicago, 
111.; 9th, Frank Clark, Bartow, Fla.; 10th, Henry C. Cleveland, Rock Island, 
111.; llth, James N. Brown, Huntsville, Ala.; 12th, J. Haydon Burns, Chi- 
cago, 111.; 13th, J. W. Van Dervoort, Mt. Vernon, N. Y.; 14th, O. W. Nash, 
Oak Park, 111.; 15th, J. D. Kehoe, Maysville, Ky. Chairmen: 1st, John J. 
Flinn, Chicago, 111 ; 2d, W. E. Morrison, Morrisonville. 111.; 3d, Waller 
Young, St. Joseph, Mo.; 4th, Geo. H. Slator, Alpeua, Mich.; 5th, Charles 
Stewart, Cedar Rapids, Iowa. The secretary of the club, who is also the 
secretary of the Bichloride of Gold Club of the World, is Hon. J. D. Kehoe, 
of Maysville, Ky. Meetings are held every morning in the week at nine 
o'clock, at which business is transacted and departing members make their 
addresses, etc. These meetings are conducted according to parliamentary 
rules and are always interesting. They are usually attended by from 500 to 
700 men. Song services are held every Sabbath. The club entertainments 
are given on Wednesday and Saturday evenings of every week. Admission 
fee, $1; price of badge, $1.50. 

Bichloride of Gold Club of the World. The outgrowth of the Bi-Chloride 
of Gold Club of Dwight. Founded in November, 1891. First annual con- 
vention held on Feb. 15, 1892. First Board of Directors : S. E. Moore, Capi- 
talist, Pittsburgh, Penn., who was also first president of the Bi-Chloride of 
Gold Club of Dwight; Hon. W. S. Arnold, ex-surrogate judge of Idaho Ter- 
ritory, resident counsel at Dwight for the Leslie E. Keeley Company; John 
T. Rice, M. D., Attica, lud.; Hon. J. D. Kehoe, Maysville, Ken.; John J. 
Fiinn, Chicago, 111.; W T illiam M. Burris, Lawyer, Liberty, Mo.; L. H. Lyon, 
Capitalist, Lyou's Falls, N. Y.; S. E. Moore, President, W. S. Arnold, Vice- 
President ; J. D. Kehoe, Secretary. This club is founded on the principle 
of Grand Lodges and furnishes charters to subordinate clubs. Delegate 
conventions are to be held annually. The membership of the Bi-Chloride of 
Gold Club of the World, it is expected, will exceed 20,000 by the spring of 
1893. 

Bon Ami Club, of Wilmette,. Located at Wilmette, a suburb of Chicago, 
fourteen miles from the Court House. The organization is for social purposes 
strictly. Officers: President, W. E. Crane; secretary', W. R. Morley; treas- 
urer, E. T. Paul; financial secretary, Mrs. A. N. Gage. The club uses the old 
Adrian House as a meeting place. 

Calumet Club. Located at the corner of Michigan ave. and Twentieth 
St. Take Wabash avenue cable line. Organized in 1878. The building 
which it occupies is a magnificent one, four stories high, with fronts on both 
the streets named. Thegrand hall is very handsome, with its broad fire-plocc, 
handsome staircase and stained glass windows. To the left are the drawing- 
rooms, with windows the whole length of the Michigan avenue front, and to 



THE ENCYCL01 LDTA. 231 

the right the offices, the cafe and the billiard room. On the second floor are 
card rooms and the ball room, where, from time to time during the winter 
months, entertainments are given. The third floor is devoted to private 
apartments, and the top floor to the dining rooms and kitchens. The Club 
has a splendid collection of pictures. It aims to preserve the early history of 
the city and State, and its old settlers' annual receptions have become famous. 
The Club is composed generally of the leading men of the South Side. 
Admission fee, $100; annual dues, $80. 

Garleton Club. A South Side social organization. Meets at 3800 Vin- 
cennes ave. 

Chicago Club. Located on Monroe st., between State st. and Wabash 
ave., opposite the ladies' entrance to the Palmer House. Was organized iu 
1869, and was an outgrowth of the old Dearborn Club, which was located on 
Michigan ave., near Jackson st. The first club house of the Chicago was 
situated at the corner of Wabash ave. and Eldridge ct., and was destroyed in 
the great fire. The present building was erected shortly afterward. The 
structure is not as magnificent as some of the club buildings erected more 
recently, but the interior is beautifully and tastefully arranged. There is 
more real elegance about it than, perhaps, may be found in any of the others, 
although it is of an unostentatious character. The dining rooms and kitchens 
are at the top of the house. The Club is composed generally of the merchant 
princes and leading professional men of the city, and it is very exclusive. 
Comfort and congeniality more than crowds and confusion are desired. The 
admission fee is $300, the annual dues are $80, payable semi-annually. Mem- 
bership limited to 450 residents and 150 non-residents. The Chicago Club 
has purchased the beautiful Art Institute Building and will probably move 
into its new quarters during the present year. 

Chicago Electric Club. Composed of electricians and those connected 
with electric pursuits. A social club for gentlemen. Located at 103 Adams 
street. Its rooms are very handsomely fitted up. There are reception rooms 
for members and their friends of both sexes. There are dining rooms on one 
floor opening into Kinsley's upper corridors, and arrangements are made to 
furnish either liquid or solid comfort after the most approved method. Bil- 
liard, chess and backgammon outfits are provided in elegantly furnished 
rooms, but cards are tabooed. An audience hall occupies a large space on 
the top floor, where the regular club meetings are held for scientific discus- 
sion. Paintings, works of art, bric-a-brac, pervade the whole apartment and 
a music room with piano and other instruments is a part of the fitting. In 
other words, all has been done that was needful to make the club quarters 
elegant, refined and in every particular a recherche gentleman's club. Some of 
the members are as well known in Europe as throughout the United States ; 
many of them are social leaders and all of them are successful business men. 

Chicago Women's Club. Organized in 1876 by Mrs Caroline M. Brown, 
who served as president for three years. The object of the club, as defined in 
the constitution, Is " mutual sympathy and council and.united effort toward the 
higher civilization of humanity and general philanthropic and literary work." 
The club is divided into six departments, as follows : Reform, philanthropy, 
home, education, art and literature, philosophy. The regular meetings of the 
club are held on the first and third Wednesdays of the month, with a business 
session on the fourth Wednesday. The exercises consist of papers and dis- 



232 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

cushions on topics connected with the work of the different departments. 
Much outside work of a philanthropic, reformatory and educational nature is 
also done by the club. The work of placing women physicians in the asylum 
at Jefferson to take charge of women patients and of securing the appointment 
of women as matrons in the jail and at the police stations was accomplished 
by the club, as Well as that of procuring the appointment of women on the 
srhool board. The first free kindergarten was established through the efforts 
of this society, which also raised among its members and outside fiiends 
nearly $40,000 tor the Boys' Industrial School at Glenwood. Three indepen- 
dent organizations owe their existence to the Women's Club, viz., the Physio 
Icgical Society, the Protective agency for Women and Children, and the 
Industrial Arts Association. The last named society had for its direct object 
the introduction of manual training in the lower grades of the public schools. 
For four years its work, aided by the Decorative Art Association, was succes- 
fully carried on through mission schools, the Boys' Industrial School at 
Glenwood, together with the forming of free classes for the instruction of 
teachers. It tirst petitioned the Board of Education for trial schools in 1887 
and again in 1892, three of which have been established. Classes for instruc- 
tion in the special subjects in their charge are held by the twoliterary depart- 
ments of the Women's Club. The present membership of the club is about five 
hundred. Membership is obtained by ballot and the payment of an initiation 
fee of $10 ; annual dues $5. The meetings are held in the club rooms of the 
Art Institute building, corner of Michigan avenue and Van Buren street. 
The officers are : President, Julia Plato Harvey ; vice presidents, Lucretia 
M. Ht-ywood, N. Halsted ; recording secretary, Laura H. Clark ; correspond- 
ing secretary, Kate G. Huddleston ; treasurer, Frances B. Smith ; directors, 
Lucretia Effinger, Isabel A. H. Prindle, Frank Stuart Parker, Mary E.Galvin, 
Mary E. Farnham, Jessie Willard Bolte, Kate M. Higginson, Ellen C. 
Broomell, Clara M. J. Farson, Matilda L. Ware, Arabella C. Rogers, Mary 
Spalding Brown, Sarah M. Hey wood, Phebe M. Butler, Emma Dupee, Ida 
M. Lane, Rachel Mayer, Kate Hutchinson Judah. 

SOCIETY FOR THE PROMOTION OF PHYSICAL, CULTURE AND CORRECT 
DRESS. Fostered by the Women's Club, and holds its meetings in the rooms 
of that club which are at present in the Ait Institute Building. These 
meetings occur on the first Friday of each month at 2:30 P. M. The object of 
the society is mutual help toward learning the highest standards of physical 
development, and mutual counsel towards realizing these standards in prac- 
tical life. The membership now numbers two hundred. The president is 
Mrs. H. M. Wilmarth, 222 Michigan avenue, and the secretary Mrs. L. J. 
Dreier, 4627 Lake avenue. 

Church Club Organized December, 1890. Located on the fourth floor 
of the High building, No. 103 Adams st. This is an Episcopalian organization 
and its object is to bring into closer relations the clergy and the laymen of the 
diocese, such as the board of Missions, the Standing Committee, the St. 
Andrews Brotherhood, the trustees of the Theological Seminary, the Girls' 
Friendly Organization, the Women's Auxiliary, and every other work of the 
church, including Diocesan Offices where the Rt. Rev. the Bishop of 
Chicago and the Archdeacon can meet the clergy and laymen, and transact 
any business pertaining to the diocese. Reading and reception rooms are 
open to members and visitors from 9 A.M. till 5 p M. daily except Sunday. 
Regular meetings of the Club are held on the 1st Thursday in each month at 
8 P.M. 



THE EKCYCLOPEDIA. 233 

Clarendon Club. A social organization composed of Israelites. The 
membership, however, is not limited to those of Hebrew race or creed. The 
membership includes many of the leading Hebrews of the city. 

Commercial Club. An association of the leading merchants, manufact- 
urers, bankers and capitalists of Chicago, the object of which is to encourage 
in a social and informal way the interchange of opinions respecting the com- 
mercial necessities of the city. The club gives frequent dinners and banquets 
and entertains distinguished guests. Some question of great importance 
uppermost at the time is always discussed at their meetings and banquets. 
[See Chicago Manual Training School.] Officers: President, T. W. Harvey; 
vice-president, A. C. McClurg; treasurer, Henry J. McFarland; secretary, 
Fred 8. Janes. 

Conference Club of Evanston. Organized in 1890. Its object, " to call 
together gentlemen of different professions and opinions to discuss present- 
day topics," has been salutary. A dinner is served monthly during the win- 
ter, of which notice is given to members, and the topic for discussion is 
announced. Two gentlemen particularly interested in or familiar with the 
subject are chosen to give twenty-minute addresses, after which any member 
may speak upon the assigned subject. 

Congregational Club. A society of members of the Congregational church. 

Officers: President, ; E. H. Pitkin, vice-president; W. E. Hale, 

second vice-president; Professor H. M. Scott, third vice-president; J. H. 
Tewksberry, secretary, and J. R. Chapman, treasurer. 

Cosmopolitan Club of Evanston : The Cosmopolitan Club of Evanston 
was organized in October 1891, the avowed object being to furnish comfort- 
able rooms where brain and brawn workers might meet on a common footing 
and enjoy a pleasant hour in reading, games and conversation ; an object 
that has been well carried out. The club is, in a measure, unique, and at 
first met with considerable criticism, but during the three months of its exist- 
ence it has proved so great a success that there is no longer anything but 
favorable comment. The rooms of the club, three in number, are over 416 
Davis street and are fitted up with all sorts of conveniences. There is a 
general assembly room, where lectures and entertainments are given and the 
meetings of the club are held, a library with reading tables supplied with 
nearly all the current periodicals, an?l a smoking room with card tables. 

The credit of originating the idea of the club belongs to Mr. Volney W. 
Foster, and to Mr. Foster, Dr. Hillis and one or two others, who have given 
time and attention to the enterprise, the organization owes its present success. 

Dearborn Club. Located at 43 and 45 Monroe st. [See "Chicago 
Club."] 

Dinner Clubs. Among these are the "Epicurean" and the "Forty 
Club." The members dine periodically at one of the leading hotels and 
discuss questions of current interest. 

Douglas Club. Located at 3518 Ellis ave. Organized April, 1885. 
Occupies a three story and basement building, formerly a dwelling, which 
has been remodeled. There is a beautiful lawn in front and on the sides of 
the house. In the basement are bowling alleys ; on the first floor are the 
dancingjiall, ladies' reception room, library and reading room ; on the second 
floor are dressing and private rooms ; on the third floor is a large hall fitted 



234 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

up with portable machinery, where dramatic entertainments are given by 
members of the club. Ladies of each member's family, and males from 
fourteen to twenty-one, are entitled to the privileges of the club, subject to 
certain restrictions. Admission fee, $25 ; dues, $30 per annum. 

Douglas Park Club. A West Side social organization of prominence. 
Officers : President, Lawrence Ennis; vice-presidents, William P. Davis and 
William Harley ; treasurer, P. E. Remie ; secretary, Robert H. Coudrey ; 
Directors, Pleasant Amick, T. W. McFarland, A. L. Coates and George 
Kohl. 

Elks' Club. An association of members of theatrical and other prof essions, 
similar to those in all our large cities. Officers: Dr. W. A. Jones, E. R. ; 
George Schlessinger, E. L. K.; G. W. Barstow, E. L. K.; D. E. Hodges, E. 
L. K.; J. W. White, secretary; Dr. L. H. Montgomery, Lee H. Willson, John 
W. White, trustees; Rev. Henry G. Perry, chaplain; G. W. Andrews, esquire; 
E. V. Girard, inner guard general; J. W. Shaw, organist. The lodge is in a 
very prosperous condition, and during 1892 over $2,000 was disbursed for 
charity. 

Evanston Club. Located at the suburb of Evanston. Take train at 
Wells St. depot, Wells and Kiuzie sts., North Side; or at Union depot, Canal 
and Adams streets., West Side. Club House at Chicago avenue and Grove street. 
Officers: President, Marshall M. Kirkman; first vice-president, Milton W. 
Kirk; second vice-president, N. C. Gridley; treasurer, W. J. Fabian; secre- 
tary, Frank M. Elliot; additional directors, W. D. Hitchcock, F. A. Hardy, 
W. Hokbird, W. H. Bartlelt, N. G. Iglehart, A. C. Buell and H. R. Wilson. 
Mr. Kirkman organized the club and has been fts president ever since. The 
club is open every day in the week from 7 o'clock in the morning until mid- 
night. The interior of the house is modestly beautiful. A music or dancing 
hall of generous proportions occupies the west half of the building. Hand- 
some portieres separate the ladies' reception room from the vestibule, and the 
lobby or smoking room occupies the center of the club home. This room, 
tinted in warm colors, is the general lounging place for the club men, and 
from it open the billard room, the charming library, and the card room. 
Below stairs are the kitchen, dining room and bowling alley, the latter having 
two fine runways. The Evanston c^b is not a club in the usual sense of 
that word. It is a pleasant rendezvous where 200 gentlemen and their famil- 
ies may meet for recreation and amusement and for the promotion of social 
culture. 

Evanston Country Club. A summer social organization of the suburb of 
Evanston. The home of the ciub is known as the " Shelter," and is situated 
in the midst of beautiful grounds, on Hinmah avenue and Clark street close 
to Lake Michigan. It is the leading club of the village from May until No- 
vember, and has a quasi connection with the Evanston Boat Club and other 
social organizations. Frequent receptions, band concerts, boating parties, 
etc., occur during the season. The membership is about 450, equally divided 
between ladies and gentlemen. The president is Mr. Marshall M. Kirkman; 
Mr. William E. Stockton and Mr Frank Arnd are vice-presidents; Mr. 
Nicholas J. Iglehart is treasurer, and Mr. Edwin F Brown is secretary. 
The directorate is composed of twenty ladies and eleven gentlemen. It is a 
custom of the club to have one of the directorate ladies, one afternoon and 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 235 

evening of each week, act the part of hostess, presiding over the tea tables 
and receiving the guests. The active committee is termed the house and 
grounds committee. The responsibility of success or failure of the season 
rests -with this committee, and the appointment is no sinecure. Mr. 
Thomas 8. Creighton is chairman, and is aided by Mr. Edwin F. Brown, Mr. 
Frederick Arnd, Mr. F. P. Frazile, F. A. Handy, and B. V. Adams. Many 
of Chicago's most prominent business men wear the dainty silver four-leaf 
clover, the badge of the club. 

Fellowship Club. Organized June 4, 1891. Object, the promotion of 
good-fellowship, and its extension to "the stranger within our gates." 
Number of resident members limited to fifty; non-resident members, twenty- 
five; honorary members admitted only by the unanimous vote of the members 
present at any meeting at which quorum of the resident members is present. 
Each member may invite one guest to a dinner of the club, the expenses to be 
paid by the member inviting him. The executive committee has the right to 
invite one or more club guests to each.dinner, the expenses of whose entertain- 
ment is paid out of the funds of the club. Initiation fee, $25. Dues from resi- 
dent and non-resident members, $10 annually. Business meetings and 
dinners of the club held on the first Thursday, June, October, December, 
February and April, and on other stated occasions. Meetings held at one of 
the leading hotels or restaurant. Officers: James W. Qcott, president; George 
Driggs, vice-president; H. Y. Selfridge, treasurer; F. Willis Rice, secretary. 
No. 7 E. Monroe street. Executive committee: James W. Scott, George 
Driggs, F. Willis Rice, H. H. Kohlsaat, Victor Lawson and M. P. Handy. 

Foreign Book Club. Comprised of ladies of the North Side who read 
Foreign literature. Its membership is small. 

Forty Club. A dinner club meeting monthly. Active membership lim- 
ited to forty drawn from bench, bar, the law, the theaters, and the profes- 
sions generally. Entertains theater people and distinguished writers. 
Meets at one of the principal hotels. 

Fortnightly Club of Chicago. Meets Fridays at 2:30 P. M. at Art Institute, 
Michigan ave. and Van Buren st. Organized as a Woman's Club in 1873 by 
Mrs. Kate Newell Doggett. Intended originally as a Womans' Suffrage 
Organization, in which men and women should hold membership. Now 
devoted to social intercourse and intellectual culture. The work of this 
association is arranged on a carefully considered plan, which secures a 
thorough knowledge of the subject to be treated at each meeting. Each 
writer has a year in which to master the subject she is to present, and, as the 
writer of an essay remarked, "To prepare a paper for the Fortnightly is to 
add a good deal to your education, it matters not how liberal it maybe." 
The work of the club for the year is divided into two courses, the continuous 
course of study and the miscellaneous course. A committee of five members 
takes charge of the continuous course, which is represented by a paper at one 
of the two meetings that occur each month, and another committee of the 
same number directs thu miscellaneous course, which presents' a paper on the 
alternate day. At each of the meetings, which occur the first and third Fri- 
days in the month, a well prepared and brilliant discussion under appointed 
leaders follows the paper. The discussion over, tea and cake are served and 
a delightful social hour closes the meeting, at which the visitor will observe 
that the strictest parliamentary forms, as well as the latest behest of fashion, 
are carefully obeyed. The membership of" The Fortnightly of Chicago" 
is limited to 175. The initiation fee and also the yearly dues are $12. The 



236 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

officers are: President, Mrs. Charles D. Hamill; first vice-president, Mrs. F. 
M. Wilmarth; second vice-president, Mrs. Otto H. Matz; corresponding 
secretary, Mrs. Elizabeth M. Stone; recording secretary, Mrs. F. H. Gardner; 
treasurer, Mrs. B. F. Aver; directors, Mrs. Milward Adams, Mrs. H. G. 
Brainerd, Miss Nina G. Lunt, Mrs J. J. Glessner, Mrs. John Ailing, Mrs. 
James M. Hubbard. 

Germania Mwnnerchor . Located at North Clark street, corner of Ger- 
mania Place. Take North Clark street cable line. President, Harry Rubens ; 
vice-president, Chas. H. Wacker ; secretary, Geo. W. Claussenius ; treasurer, 
F.'J. Dewes. The socity had its origin at the funeral of Abraham Lincoln 
in 1865, when a small party of Germans from Chicago attended to render a 
chorus. They were pleased with each other's singing and determined upon 
the organization of a permanent society. To day it is one of the largest, most 
respectable and most prominent musical organizations in the country. Incor- 
porated March 31, 1869. Membership about 650, of which 125 are not Ger- 
mans. The club is social as well as musical. The club house is one of the 
handsomest in Chicago. 

German Press Club. An association of the German press clubs of the 
city. Meets at 106 Randolph street. The club has fifty-five active members 
and several honorary members. Was organized in 1891. President, Theo- 
dore Janssen. 

Girls' Mutual Benefit Club. Organized in November, 1890; located at 100 
Cornelia st. The institution was established solely through the efforts of a 
few energetic young ladies of the Third Presbyterian, First Congregational 
and the Epiphany Episcopal Churches, Miss Sadie Morgan, Mrs. C. D. 
Howell, Miss Helen Hutchins, Miss Mary Gillman, Miss Ida E. Moore and 
Miss Alice C. Burkhardt. Nearly one hundred working girls nightly receive 
instructions in those arts which make the model housewife. The follow, 
ing is the curriculum: Monday, dressmaking and typewriting; Tuesday, 
dressmaking and music; Wednesday, cooking and history; Thursday, music, 
embroidery and millinery; Friday, cooking; Saturday, embroidery, cooking 
and music. The house is self supporting, each one of the members being 
required to pay a weekly assessment of 5 cents. The teaching force includes, 
besides the ladies already named, Miss Wolf, Miss Avery, Miss Reese, Miss 
Lowden, Miss Page, Miss Mack, Miss Burdick, Miss Fritz, Miss Blanche and 
Content Patterson. On every weekday evening there are at least three of 
these ladies present to take charge of the various classes. The house is com- 
fortably furnished and well adapted to the purposes to which it is put. The 
nucleus of a library has been started, and it is expected that before long the 
number of books will be large enough to warrant the starting of a circulating 
library. Officers President, Miss Sadie Morgan; vice-president, Mrs. C. D. 
Howell; secretary, Miss Ida E. Moore; treasurer, Miss Helen Hutchins. 

Grant Club. Chartered Aug 10, 1885. Object: To promote social 
and political intercourse, and advance the interest of the Republican party. 
Also the discussion of improvements in our municipality. Holds its annual 
meeting on the third Thursday in August. On June 3d, 1891, at the unveiling 
of the Grant statue at Galena, 111., thirty of its members participated in the 
exercises. Officers: President, Hon. L. L. Bond; 1st vice-president, Fred 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 23? 

M. Blount; 3d vice-president, Henry H. Heistand; secretary, Dr. Listen H. 
Montgomery, 70 State street; assistant secretary, Chas. L. Webster; treasurer, 
M. E. Cole; sergeant-at-arms, W. H. Cosper. 

Hamilton Club. Chartered April. 1890. Named after Alexander Hamil- 
ton, the American statesman. The original officers of the club were presi- 
dent, R. H. McMurdy; secretary, Rufus Metcalf ; treasurer, Ralph Metcalf. 
The club is one of the most noted institutions of Chicago, with a large mem- 
bership composed of the most prominent citizens in all walks of life. In 
politics it is republican, but is not partisan in spirit. State and national ques- 
tions of importance are freely considered, with the view of increasing the 
growth of patriotism and the promotion of good government by its diffusion 
of the principles of Hamilton, is doing much to promote the cause of loyalty 
to the nation. Its annual banquets are among the notable political events of 
each year, the speakers at the banquet of 1892 including such representative 
public men as Russell A. Alger of Michigan, John M. Thurston of Nebraska, 
and Governor Joseph W. Fifer. The present officers of the club are: Presi- 
deut.HenryM. Bacon; first vice-president, Frederick A. Smith; second vice- 
president, George P. Englehard; third vice-president, Jamts R. Terhune; 
treasurer, Ralph Metcalf; directors (five to be elected), John P. Ahrens, E. 
M. Ashcroft, Frank H. Barry, Will H. Clark, George H. Harlow, Thomas 
Hudson, John R. Laing, J. B. Mailers, Charles D. Warren; members of 
political action committee (two to be elected), George P. Englehard, John H. 
Hamline, George H. Harlow, James R. Terhune. 

Harvard Club Organized 1888. Club house located at Sixty-third and 
Harvard sts., Englewood. A social organization. It has a large membership 
and gives frequent receptions through the season. 

Harvard University Club. Composed of graduates of Harvard University, 
Cambridge, Mass., resident in Chicago. Moses J. Wentworth, president. 
Meets at stated occasions in the Auditorium hotel, holds an annual banquet 
and entertains distinguished officers and graduates of the University, from 
time to time. Many leading citizens of Chicago are members. 

Hyde Park Club. Located at Hyde Park. Club house, corner of Wash- 
ington avenue and Fifty-first street. Has a membership of about 250. 
Take Illinois Central train, foot of Randolph or Van Buren street, or 
Cottage Grove avenue cable line. The building is a handsorre one. Its 
exterior is striking and the interior has evidently been given the thought of 
tasteful decorators. It is strictly a gentleman's club. There are two stories 
and a basement devoted to club purposes. In the basement are the gymna- 
sium, bowling alley, store room, kitchen and boiler room. On the first floor 
is a capacious foyer, opening into which are the office, reception and reading 
rooms, connected by an inglenook, a billiard room with eight tables and a 
cafe. The second floor is reached by the grand staircase, which leads 
through a broad hall to the ball room and art gallery adjoining, all three of 
which can be used for dancing on occasions. On this floor there are also 
fourcosey card rooms and a committee room, which can be thrown together 
when desired. The whole interior is finished in antique oak. The mantels 
and even the office desk, having been designed by the architect of the build- 
ing, blend harmoniously with the treatment of the rest of the woodwork. 
This beautiful building was dedicated by the club in 1890. The officers are: 



238 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

president, Martin J. Russell; vice president', W. R. Kerr; secretary, 
Edward R. Shaw; treasurer, S. R. Jenkins; directors, Burton A. Sewell, C. 

E. Woodruff, E. H. Turner, Robert Boyd, Charles H. Hunt, Robert Stewart, 
C. A. Mallory, W. D. Mackey and S. G. Wilkins. 

Ideal Club. A social organization; meets at 531 and 533 Wells street. 
Officers: president, David Eichberg; vice-president, Simon Goldsmith; secre- 
tary, Samuel J. Marks; treasurer, Adolph Berg; directors, A. Shakman, 

F. Griesheimer, A. Yondorf, C. S. Bloch, Jos. Goodman, Geo. Frank, E. C. 
Hamburgher, Jos. P. Weinreb. 

Idlewild Club of Evamton. The Idlewild Club of Evanston is an organi- 
zation composed of the younger men of the village. They have commodious 
quarters on Davis street, known as Idlewild hall, and occupy all the second 
story of one and the greater portion of another of the larger business blocks, 
and consists of the largest hall in the village, together with reading and 
billiard rooms. The special feature of this club is winter ball, and on the 
occasion of league games the hall is packed with enthusiastic spectat.ors all 
whom contribute a liberal sum by the purchase of associate members' tickets, 
which entitles the holder to witness all the games played. The club has thus 
far this season played 19 games with Chicago and neighboring teams and 
has yet to lose its first game. The phenomenal playing makes the home team 
the pride of the town and they are warmly encouraged by the substantial 
citizens. The club also gives numerous parties and social entertainments 
during the winter season. 

Illinois Club. Located at 154 Ashland ave.. West Side. Take W. Madi- 
son street cable line. Organized in 1878. First building occupied, 401 
Washington blvd.; moved to Ashland ave. and Madison St.; purchased pres- 
ent quarters in 1884. Occupies a very handsome and commodious building, 
fronting the most beautiful avenue in the West division of the city. Object 
of club, the cultivation and promotion of literature and the fine arts, and of 
social intercourse. The house contains kitchens, dining rooms, parlors, 
reception rooms, reading rooms, billiard room, wash room, bowling alley, 
ball room, private rooms, etc. Some very handsome pictures ornament 
its walls. It gives elegant^ entertainments during the winter seasons. 
Admission fee, $100. Annual dues, $50. William ,). Chalmers, president 
Fred S. James, vice-president; J. F. Talbot, secretary; Charles C. Reed, 
treasurer. The, following were elected directors for three years: Willis G. 
Jackson, James P. Soper and A. C. Wakeman. 

Indiana Club. Located at 3349 Indiana ave. Organized in 1883. Take 
Indiana avenue car, via Wabash avenue cable line. Occupies a very pleas- 
antclub house, a two story brick building. On the first floor are the billiard 
and pool rooms, bowling alley and dressing rooms; on the second floor are 
the parlor, reception room, card room, and a spacious dancing hall. This is 
a family club, the wives and children of members being entitled to all privi- 
leges. Entertainments are given at intervals throughout the year. Admis- 
sion fee, $50. Annual dues, $20. 



"THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 239 

Irish-American Club. Organized May, 1880. Location of club rooms, 
40 Dearborn st. Membership about 250. The fundamental principle of this 
club is an immutable belief in Ireland's right to be governed by and for her 
own people as an independent nation. The objects of the club, however, are 
social. All men of Irish binh or descent, of good reputation, are eligible to 
membership. Officers: President, John L. Cooke; vice president, Mark Mad- 
den; secretary, James Conlan, Jr.; treasurer, John B. Heaney; executive 
committee: M. J. Keane, M. W. Kerwin, P. Cavanaugh, M. S. Madden. 

Iroquois Club. Located at 1 10 Monroestreet(Columbia Theatre Building), 
in the business center of the city. Organized October4, 1881. It is a political 
(Democratic) and social club. Has very handsome and spacious quarters, 
arid is provided with all the comforts of modern club houses. It is the lead- 
ing Democratic political club of *he city, and numbers among its members 
the most prominent partisans of the Jeffersonian creed. Its influence is felt 
in National, State and Municipal campaigns. The Iroquois Club entertains 
splendidly, and it was at a reception given here that Grover Cleveland used 
ttie expression, "A public office is a public trust." Membership about 500. 
Admission fee and annual dues reasonable. Officers, president, Adlai T. 
Ewiug; vice-presidents North Division, John Addison, E. O. Brown, and 
A. C.Helmhoiz; South Division, O. S. Favor, F. G. Hoyne, and A. W. Wright; 
West Division, J. J. Byrne, E. Carqueville, and Malcolm McDonald, Jr.; 
recording secretary, J. F. Learning; corresponding secretary, R. W. Mor- 
rison; treasurer, E. R. Cox. 

Irving Club. Located at Irving Park, a suburb of Chicago, organized 
in 1890. This club has an elegant home. The officers are: C. A. Cook, 
president; Frank Crego, vice-president; John I. Oswald, secretary; A. V. 
Berry, treasurer; and besides these four, John I. Monk, D. L. Buzzell, Phil 
W. Coyle and W. T. Orell, as a board of directors. The Irving Club 
House occupies a commanding position, well back in a beautiful stretch of 
ground near the center of the little suburb. The building is of frame, with a 
convenient height of three stories. On the first floor of the clubhouse are the 
billiard-rooms, the gymnasium and the bowling alley. The second floor con- 
tains the club parlors and reception-rooms, the directors' meeting-room and 
the library. On the third floor is the pride of the whole affair, a masonic lodge- 
room and a hall for other society meetings. The club house is very neatly 
furnished, all of its decorations being selected in extremely good taste. 

Ivanhoe Club. Located at South Evanston. Organized, 1891. Object, 
the promotion of social intercourse between members and their families. 
Officers: President, O. T. Maxom, M. D.; vice-president, Evan H. Hughes; 
second vice-president-, A. C. Pinkham; secretary, John E. Poor; treasurer, 
Thomas L. Fansler. Directors: Albert E. Jacox, A. B. Beerup, G. B. Tre- 
loar, Frank Sherman and C. S. Redfield. 

John A. Logan Club. Located at 466 La Salle ave., North Side. Take 
Clark or Wells street cable line. Organized February 12, 1888. A polit- 
ical (Republican) and social club. Has commodious quarters. Admission 
fee, $10; annual dues, $12. 

Kenwood Club. Located at Forty-seventh st. and Lake ave., Kenwoot 
Take Illinois Central train at Randolph or Van Buren Street depot. Organ 
ized in 1883. A social and family club in which the ladies and other members 
of the family are entitled to privileges. Occupiesthe former residence of Nor- 



240 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

man B. Judd, Esq., which has been remodeled and enlarged. The bowling 
alley, dining-room and kitchen are in the basement; on the first floor are the 
hall, office, reception and dancing hall; on the second floor are the card 
rooms, billiard room, reading room, library, ladies' and gentlemen's dressing 
rooms, etc. Admission fee, $100; annual dues, $40. The officers are: 
Edwin F. Bayley, president; William S. Seaverns, vice-president; Charles B. 
Vankirk, second vice-president; Harry B. Black, treasurer; Charles C. Whit- 
tiker, secretary. The board of directors is composed of C. B. Bouton, John 
S. Belden, William T. Brown, Ed. R. Woodle, W. T. Whetmore, T. S. Faun- 
tleroy, J. Frank Aldrich and F. H. McClure. 

Lafayette Club. A social organization of the South Side. This club 
gives twelve dances each year, nine at Douglas Hall and three at Jackson 
Park pavilion. 

LaGrange Club. Located at LaGrange, a suburb of Chicago. A social 
club; membership 100; fee $10, dues $20 annually. 

Lakeside Club. Located on Indiana- avenue between Thirty-first and 
Thirty-second streets. Organized in 1884. Take Indianaavenue car, via Wabash 
avenue cable line. O wns its present home, a modern building of brick and stone, 
containing three stories and a basement. The billiard room, cafe, bowling 
alley, private supper-rooms and dining room, capable of seating 400 guests, 
are located in the basement, on the first floor are the ladies' and gentlemen's 
parlors and reception room, drawing rooms, and an assembly and dancing 
room, fifty -five feet wide by one hundred feet long; in the second story are the 
card rooms and gymnasium; in the third story are private rooms and servants' 
apartments. Admission fee, $200; annual dues, $40. Membership limited 
to 250. 

La, Salle Club. Located at 542 Monroe St., West Side. Take West 
Madison street cable line. Organized in 1884. It is a political (Republican) 
and social club. First occupied premises at 9 Laflin st. ; moved to 28 Warren 
ave. and finally came into possession of the former residence of C. C. Holton, 
Esq., which has been remodeled, enlarged and beautified. It is a marble 
front, four stories and basement, with a frontage of 125 feet, and a depth of 
95 feet. An addition of 48x125 feet has been made by the club. The lunch 
room, cafe, cigar stand, gymnasium and bowling alley are located m the 
basement; on the first floor are the hall, two large parlors, reading room and 
office, and billiard room with twelve tables; on the second floor are eighteen 
card rooms, and the assembly hall; on the third floor are private rooms, ser- 
vants' quarters, etc. Admission fee, $50; annual dues, $40. 

Lincoln Club. An organization of young Republicans of the West Side, 
with purposes similar to those of the Hamilton Club of the South Side and 
theMarquette Club of the North Side. Officers: H. A. Ingalls, president; C. 
A. Brown, first vice-president; Dr. II. M. Thomas, second vice-president; W. 
W. Wheelock, secretary; H. S. Dale, treasurer; house committee, R. J. Bas- 
sett, L. D. Taylor a.nd Dr. Stuart Johnstone; entertainment committee, E.W. 
North cott, E. L. Hance and Grant W. Ford; library and publishing com- 
mittee, O. N. Carter, E. R. Edoand F. S. Loomis; membership, W.H. Noble, 
W. A. Leonard and A. M. Rogers; political action committee G. E. Foss, H. 
JL. Wheeler, W. S. Holden, A. S. Kimball and A. Wahl. 

Lotus Social Club. Composed of the leading colored people of the city. 
Give social parties. 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 241 

Marquette Club. Location of club house former residence of the late 
Hon. E. 13. Washburne, corner of Dearborn ave. and Maple St., organized 
1886. This handsome building has been remodeled and fitted up in the most 
approved style, making it one of the finest club-houses in the city. The ban- 
quet hall is worthy of a special mention. It is the handsomest in Chicago and 
is second only to that of the Auditorium Hotel. The Marquette is a club com- 
posed of the leading republicans of the North Side. It is a social rather than 
a political club, however. It has a present membership of three hundred. 
Many of the republicans of the city, non-residents of the North Side, are mem- 
bers. Among its honorary members is President Harrison. The Hamilton 
Club of the South Side and the Lincoln Club of the West Side, are formed on 
the same principal. The Marquette gives numerous entertainments and re- 
ceptions duiing the season. It has from time to time the leading republicans 
of the country as its guests and its banquets are watched with a great deal of 
interest by politicians as expression is frequently given to the keynotes of 
political campaigns at these gatherings. The officers are : president, E. B. 
Gould; vice-president, T. S. Simpson; treasurer, W. A. Poulson; secretary, 
J. E. Rodgers; chairman political action committee, John S. Runnells. 

Minneola Club. Officers: President, O. H. Roche; .vice-president, M. 
Hamburger; secretary and treasurer, James G. Deven. Directors, O. H. 
Roche, J. G. Deven, L. M. Hamburger, Robert Lindblom, T. Bennett, J. C. 
Peasley and J. V. Booth. 

Minnette Club. A West Side social organization which gives receptions 
at Martine'a Hall, 55 Ada St., during the season. 

Nationalists' Club. An association of gentlemen formed for the purpose 
of interchanging ideas regarding questions of National interest and advo- 
cating reform in Legislation and Government. Meets at the Grand Pacific 
Hotel. 

Newsboys Club. Occupies rooms one and two in the Imperial Building, 
Mr. Alfred J. Barnes is president; Miss Mary Logan Pearson, vice-president; 
Miss Mary E. Sands, secretary; Mr. Alexander Schultz, treasurer, and Mr. Ford 
Jones, librarian. The club is in a flourishing condition. It has a good library. 
Well-behaved newsboys are admitted to membership. 

North Shoi-e Club. A family Club. Has entertainments of different 
kinds two or three times a week during the winter, for the members, their 
wives and children. Lawn tennis, etc., in the Summer. Club House and 
grounds open to the ladies of members' families at nil times. 

Oakland Club. Located at Ellis and Oakland avenues, in building for- 
merly the Lake Side Skating Rink. Take Cottage Grove avenue cable line 
or Illinois Central train at Randolph or Van Buren Street depot to Thirty- 
ninth street, Oakland station. The building has been remodeled and refitted 
for club purposes. It is a large, two-story brick structure, rather unique 
from an architectural point of view. On the first floor are the office, gentle- 
men's and ladies' reading rooms, promenade hall, two ladies' parlors, two 
gentlemen's sitting rooms, billiard hall 100 feet long, two card rooms, kitchen 
and dancing hall 100 by 80 feet; the second floor contains the assembly 
room, private rooms, servants' quarters, etc. Strictly a family club. No 
intoxicating liquors or games of chance allowed on the premises. Admis- 
sion fee, $50; annual dues, $30. 



242 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

Oaks, of Austin. Located in their own building at Austin, one-half 
mile west of city limits. Take train at Wells street depot, Wells and Kmzie 
streets. Has very handsome quarters, consisting of a reception hall, parlors, 
card and billiard rooms, banquet hall, etc. The club has facilities for giving 
amateur theatrical performances. 

Park Club. Located corner 57th street and Rosalie court. Take Cottage 
Grove avenue cable line or Illinois Central train at Randolph or Van Buren 
street to South Park station. Organized in 1886. A family club. Occupies 
a handsome building four stories in height. In the basement are the bowling- 
alleys, pool room and janitor's rooms ; on the first floor are the ladies' recep- 
tion, cafe and hall ; on the second floor are the billiard room, card rooms and 
director's room ; the upper floor is thrown into an^assembly room, with 
boudoirs, etc. The club house has splendid verandas, which make it a most 
attractive resort in the summer. Admission fee, $25, annual dues, $40. 

Phcenix Club. Located at Thirty-first street and Calumet avenue. Take 
Cottage Grove avenue cars. Composed of young men of Hebrew lineage. 
The club rooms were secured for five years, and $5,000 has been expended in 
remodeling the building. There are two large parlors, a library, dining- 
rooms, billiard haU, smoking room and all the requisites of a first-class social 
club. Card playing and auy form of gambling are positively prohibited. 
Officers Milton A. Strauss, president; A. J. Briersdorf, vice president; D. 
L. Frank, secretary; E. Lowenstein, assistant secretary, and L. A. Nathan, 
treasurer. 

Practitioner's Club. An association of physicians. Meets at the Palmer 
house. A chairman is elected at every meeting and questions of interest to 
practitioners are discussed. Officers: President, William A. Amberg; first 
vice-president, Z. P. Brosseau; second-vice president, Dr. John Guerin; sec- 
retary, Joseph B. Cremin; treasurer, George D. McLaughlin. 

Press Club of Chicago. Organized January 15, 1880. Club rooms located 
at 131 Clark st. Charter members Melville E. Stone, Franc B. Wilkie, 
Rodney Welch, W. K. Sullivan, T. C. MacMillan, Joseph R. Dunlop, Henry 
F. Donovan, W. B. Sullivan, F. O. Bennett, Theodore Gestef eld, William T. 
Hall, John J. Flinn, J. F. Ballantyne, Elwyn A. Barren, W. T. Collins, 
James Maitland, Platt Lewis, Thomas E. Burnside, C. A. Snowden, Law- 
rence Hardy, W. P. Hanscom, Guy Magee, W. H. Hicks, John E. Wilkie, 
Sam. V. Steele. The club was organized for the purpose of " bringing the 
members of the newspaper profession together in closer personal relations, to 
levate the profession, to- further good fellowship, and to extend a helping 
hand to all members of the organization who may deserve it." The entirelist 
of presidents is as given below, James W. Scott being the only man ever 
re-elected to the oflice: 1880, Franc B. Wilkie, of The Times; 1881, W. K. 
Sullivan, Journal; 1882, Samuel J. Medill, Tribune; I8b3, W. E, Curtis, 
Inter-Ocean; 1884, James W. Bradwell, Legal News; Ib85, Joseph R. Dunlop, 
Inter-Ocean/ 1886, John F. Ballantyne, Morning News; 1887, James W. Scott, 
Herald; 1888, James W. Scott, Herald; 1889, James W. Scott, Herald; 1890, 
Stanley Waterloo, Tlte Times; 1891, William A. Taylor, Herald; 1892, John 
E. Wilkie, Tribune. The officers for the present year are: President John 
E. Wilkie; first vice-president, Montgomery B. Gibbs; second vice-president, 
A. T. Packard; third vice-president, H. E. O. Htiutmanu; recording secre- 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 243 

tary, Charles E. Banks; financial secretary, Ed. R. Pritchard; treasurer, 
George Schneider; librarian, Fred H. Hild; directors, Charles Matthias, 
William Iglehart, F. J. Schulte, Wolf von Schierbrand, E. W. Pickard. The 
club rooms are handsomely fitted up, and are convenient to the members 
actively engaged^ in newspaper work. Journalists visiting the city are 
granted the piivilege of the club on being properly introduced by a member 
in good standing. The Press Club is at present contemplating the erection of 
a building in which it may be enabled to more suitably entertain visitors 
during the coming two years. The membership is now about 250. Admis- 
sion fee, $15; annual dues $20. 

Ryder Club. A social organization, composed of members of St. Paul's 
Unitarian Church. Oflicers: President, Frank N. Gage; vice-president, 
Frank Twing; secretary, W. E. Lamb; treasurer, Miss Annie Colby ; Liter- 
ary director, Frederick Hill; dramatic director, Byron Boyden; Social 
director, Miss Mae Hutchinson. 

Seven O'Clock Club. Conducted after the manner of the Sunset andother 
clubs for the discussion of questions of current interest and importance. 
Meets at the Masonic Hall, Sixty-third and Yale streets, and has an annual 
banquet. Among the prominent members are A. H. Champlin, Homer 
Bevans, O. T. Bright, E. W. Adkinson, C. S. Deneen, Edward Maher, John 
Whitely, W.W. Smith, R. C. Croft, E. E. Loomis, A. J. Cleave, G. H. Owen, 
C. W. Taylor, W. S. Demorest, H. A. Morgan, F. L. Mort, C.G. Thompson, 
L. E. Noble, F. E. Daughly, H. C. Stebbings, G. H. Findle and C. Alderson. 

Sheridan Club. Organized 1889 by a few young gentlemen of the south 
side. When the membership had reached thirty-five, the club took quarters 
at 3532 Lake avenue. On May 1, 1890, the club moved into a larger and bet- 
ter building at 35 Michigan avenue, its membership being ninety. Later on 
$5,000 was raised for the construction of a new club house on the southwest 
corner of Michigan avenue and 41st street. This building is two stories 
and a basement of brick and brown stone with copper cornice, and fronts on 
41st street. The outside dimensions are 50x130. In the basement are the 
bowling alley, kitchen, furnace room, coal room, etc, The fiist floor Is 
divided in a hall, 17x20 feet, with a grand staircase, from the landing of 
which extends a circular balcony for musicians; foyer, 24x23 feet, and cor- 
ridor, 25x9| feet, all closely connected by wide archways. Facing on Michi- 
gan avenue are the parlor, 16x20 feet, and smoking-room, 21x17 feet, joined 
by an ingle-nook, 14%xlO feet. At the right of the entrance is the c ffice, 
and next comes the cafe, 35x25 feet, with a large service pantry separating it 
from the billiard-room, 42x48. On the south side of the corridor are the 
lavatory and wardrobe. 

On the second floor are the directors' room, card-rooms, ladies' boudoir 
(above which are the servants' quarters) and an auditorium, 90x48 feet, a 
story and a half high, to be used for dramatic performances and dancing. 
A movable stage, 16^x40 feet, is adjustable at the west end of the hall, 
while at the east end there is a balcony capable of seating 100. A striking 
architectural effect is a row of columns along the north and south sides of 
the auditorium. This room is decorated in white and gold. The wood-work 
of the house is in oak and cherry. 

The Sheridan Club banquet, given at the Auditorium January 15 1891, 
iirousrht the club conspicuously before the public, since which time its nr?m- 
b.rship has increased rapidly. Its "boom" may be said to date from 



244 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

that event. The club numbers among its members some of the wealthiest 
men of the city, as well as some of the brightest young men in town. An 
evening at the Sheridan leaves the impression that a jollier or more hospit- 
able band of brothers would be hard to find. 

The officers of the club are: President, John Julius Kinsella; vice- 
president, Thomas D. Walsh; secretary, William A. Lydon; treasurer, Will- 
iam F. Carroll; directors, Thomas E. Nelson and P. H. Keenan. The offi- 
cers of the auxiliary association are: President, Michael Cudahy; vice- 
president, A. Cummings; secretary, John R. Geary; treasurer, T. F. Keeley; 
directors, John P. Hopkins, T. E. Nelson, D. Corkery, E. Hudson, J. 
O'Malley. 

Single Tax Club, The Chicago. Meets every Thursday eve. at 206 LaSallest. 
President, W. W. Bailey; secretary, Frank W. Irwin. Incorporated under 
the laws of Illinois. Object, 1st. To advocate Ihe abolition of all taxes upon 
industry and the products of industry, and upon exchange through tariff 
taxation, and the taking by taxation upon land values, irrespective of 
improvements, of the annua, rental value of all those various forms of 
natural opportunities embracet under the general teim, land. 2d. To advo- 
cate the abolition of all special privilege legislation. 3d. To advocate the 
adoption of the Australian system of voting. Any person in sympathy with 
the principals and objects of the club may become a member. Four months 
dues must be paid in advance. Regular dues twenty-five cents per month. 

South Side Medical Club. This club was organized in 1889 upon the plan 
of the Sunset club, and has among its members many of the leading physi- 
cians of the South Side of Chicago. Meetings are held once a month to dis- 
cuss leading medical topics. 

Southern Society of Chicago. Organized in 1891. Location of club 
rooms, 425 Home Insurance Building. An association of Southern born and 
Southern bred gentlemen for the purpose of social intercourse and mutual 
benefit. The club or society is organized on a basis similar to that of the 
Southern Society of New York, and has for its object, ultimately, the erec- 
tion of a down-town club house. Officers: Gen. Jno. C. Underwood, presi- 
dent; W. A. Alexander, first vice-president; J. E. Neiswanger, second vice- 
president; J. D. Alsup, secretary; A. O. Slaughter, treasurer. Directors: T. 
Hamilton Mclntosh, D. A. Payne, M. D., George S. Norfolk, T. V. Wooten, 
H. O. Nourse, John T. Dickinson, Willoughby Walling, M. D., J. C. Roath, 
George O. Clinch, John J. Flinn, Thomas G. Windes, Percival C. Sneed. The 
membership of this society includes many of the foremost professional and 
business men of Chicago, natives and former residents of the so-called South- 
ern States. Politics are notallowed to enter into the question of admission of 
members nor into discussions in the club rooms Among the members are 
many ex-Confederate and Union soldiers. One of the principal objects of 
this club is to provide a place where people of southern affiliation may be 
brought together, and where southern visitors to Chicago may be hospitably 
and courteously received. The club gives frequent receptions which are 
attended by ladies. 

Standard Club. Located at Michigan ave. and Twenty-fourth st. Take 
Wabash ave. cable line. Organized in 1869. The leading Jewish club of the 
city. Occupies one of the mo >t elegant and complete club houses in Chicago. 
In the basement are the bowling alleys, gymnasium, etc.; on the first floor are 
the parlors, library, cafe, billiard room, etc.; on the second floor are ladies' 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 245 

parlors and retiring rooms, and three dining rooms; on the third floor is the 
assembly and ball room, with theatrical appointments. The club is magnifi- 
cently furnished. Membership limited to four hundred and nine. Admis- 
sion fee, $500; annual dues, $80. Officers: President, Joseph Spiegel; vice- 
president, Jacob Schnadig; treasurer, Oscar G. Foreman; financial secretary, 
August Gatzert; recording secretary, N. Greensfelder. Directors: M Selz, A. 
Loeb, H. Nathan, H.Elson, H. B. Gimbel, A. M. Snydacker, M. Hirsh, N. 
Florsheim, 0. R. Wineman, N. J. Schmaltz. 

Stenographer's Club. Officers: President, Dan Brown; vice-president, 
Nellie F. Sargent; treasurer, E. C. Quimby; secretary, Miss Mary Arnold;, 
directors, W. K. Bush, Harry Piper, Lillian Bonner, Mary Perry, Ruth A. 
Briggs. 

Sunset Club. Founded in 1891 on the principles of the Twilight Club of 
New York and the Seven O'clock Club of Washington. It takes its motto 
from Herbert Spencer's line: ' We have had somewhat too much of 'The Gos- 
pel of Work,' it is time to preach ' The Gospel of Relaxation.' " Meets every 
Thursday at one of the leading hotels at a quarter past six, at which time a 
dinner is served and short talks are heard from members or invited guests on 
questions of current interest or importance, the object of the club being to 
foster rational good fellowship and tolerant discussion among business and 
professional men of all classes. The only expenses incident to membership 
in the Sunset Club are an annual assessment of two dollars for stationery, 
printing, etc., and one dollar for each dinner partaken of. Any genial and 
tolerant fellow may become a member on approval of the Executive Commit- 
tee. The following is the Club's declaration of principles: No club house, 
no constitution, no debts, no contributions; no accounts, no defalcation.no 
by-laws, no stipulations, no profanity, no fines, no stealing, no "combines," 
no president, no bores, no steward, no " encores," no long speeches, no dress 
coats, no late hours, no perfumed notes, no parliamentary rules, no personali- 
ties, no dudes, no mere formalities, no preaching, no dictation, no dues, no 
litigation, no gamblers, no dead beats, no embezzlers from foreign retreats, 
no meanness, no vituperation, simply tolerant discussion and rational recrea- 
tion. The Executive Committee is composed of the following gentlemen: 
Henry Bausher, Jr., Dr. A. P. Gilmore, S. S. Gregory, C. L. Hutchinson, 
Rollin A Keyes, Victor F. Lawson, George D. Rumsey. Murry Nelson, 
Georce F. Stone, Henry B. Stone, Edward S. Washburn, W. W. Catlin, A. 
A. McCormick, Joseph W. Errant, secretary. 

Union Club. Located onWashington pi. and Dearborn ave., North Side. 
Take North Clark st. cable line or North State st. car. Organized in 1878. 
Formerly occupied the Ogden residence, recently torn away to make room 
for the great Newberry library. The present structure Is a handsome one and 
is beautifully arranged and furnished. On the first floor is a magnificent hall, 
finished in carved oak ; to the left are the parlors, extending the length of 
the Dearborn ave. side, and to the rear is the cafe ; the billiard room, reading 
room, coat room and lavatory are also on this floor; on the second floor is the 
dining room, card rooms, director's room, etc.; the kitchen and servants' 
partments are in the basement. It is a strictly social club and very exclusive. 
The active membership is limited to 600, but only 388 are on the roll. Admis- 
sion fee, $100 ; annual dues. $60. Officers: President, Franklin H. Watriss; 
vice-president. George S. Willits; secretary, John B. Kitchen ; treasurer, 
William D. Beall. 



246 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

Union League Club. Located on Jackson st. and Fourth ave., fronting 
the south end of Custom-house and Post-office. The great general commer- 
cial and professional club of the city. Incorporated 1879, with the declared 
object of encouraging and promoting, by moral, social and political influence, 
unconditional loyalty to the Federal Government, and of defending and 
" protecting the integrity and prosperity of the nation; of inculcating a higher 
appreciation of the value and sacred obligations of citizenship; of maintaining 
the civil and political equality of all citizens in every section of our common 
country, and of aiding in the enforcement of all laws enacted to preserve the 
purity of the ballot-box, resisting and exposing corruption, promoting econ- 
omy in office and securing honesty and efficiency in the administration of 
National, State and Municipal affairs. The political complexion of the Club 
is strongly Republican, but it is conducted on strictly non-partisan principles. 
The active membership has recently been increased from 1,000 to 1,200, and 
there is a demand for a still further increase. With this great membership, 
the admission fee being $200 and the annual dues $80, taken in connection 
with the large receipts of the dining and wine-rooms, etc., the revenue of the 
Club is very heavy, and it has been possible lo make aaditions to the building 
and to beautify the interior in a manner which makes it the most sumptuous 
club house in the city. It has a splendid library. The house is centrally loca- 
ted audis the popular luncheon quarters tor business and professional members. 
It has a ladies' department", e'legantly fitted up. The east entrance is used 
exclusively lor ladies with escorts. It is not possible for strangers to vis>it the 
appartments of the Club, f-ave when accompanied by a member, nor are 
meals served to non-members who are residents of the city, when accompanied 
by a member, save by special permission. Members, however, may take 
strangers in the city to the cafe at any time. The Union League entertains in 
a princely fashion, and durinu the World's Columbian Exposition it will con- 
tribute greatly toward the comfort and enjoyment of distinguished visitors. 
Officers for 1892: President, George E. Adams; first vice-president, Ferd W. 
Peck; second vice-president, Porter P. Heywood; treasurer, WiUinm D. Pns- 
ton; secretary, Hei>ry A. Knott; directors, one year, John C. Neely, J. W. 
Brooks, Jr., James W. Ellsworth; two years, Charles T. Trego, J. C. Welling, 
George H. Holt; three years, William A. Bond, H. G. Selfridge, Alexander 
H. Revell. 

Committee on political action, J. S. Runnells, chairman; C. C. Kohlsaat, 
Julius A. Grinnell, John Roche, J. Harley Bradley, John P. Wilson and 
William Penn Nixon. 

University Club. Located in the University building, Dearborn street 
and Calhoun place. Composed of graduates of the various colleges and uni- 
versities. The building is built of brown stone to the third story. All above 
the third floor is occupied by the University Club. The apartments are hand- 
somely furnished. There are reception rooms, parlors, billiard rooms, card 
rooms, etc. , and all the comforts of a modern club house. The University 
Club has a large membership and is prosperous. 

Union Veteran Club. An association of Veterans of the War of the 
Rebellion. The Club is in a healthy condition as to membership and finances. 
Officers President, E. R. Lewis, of Evanston; vjce-presidents, J. B. Clark 
and John M. St. John; secretary, J. A. Straub; treasurer, John Leffler; mar- 
shal, Patrick Sullivan; board of directors, George Cannon, James A. Scott, 
George Howison and Thomas Brown. 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 247 

Wah Jfah Ton Club. The Tammany democratic club of Chicago. Offi- 
cers President, Walter S. Bogle; vice-piesideut of the South Side, Valentine 
Sehmidl schmidt; West Side, John O'Brien; North Side, W. H. Lyman; sec- 
retary, B. F. Jenkins; financial secretary, James Donohue; treasurer, George 
P. Bunker; sergeant-at arms, James Russell; assistant sergeants-at aims, John 
Reid and Paul Dasso; trustees, North-Side John S. Co< per, John F. O Mai- 
ley; South Side John C. Schubert, Owen Murray, William J. O'Brien, An- 
thony Dwertman; West Side Walter S. Bogle, Frank J. Dvorak, John A. 
King, John O'Brien and E. J. O'Hayer. 

Washington Park Club. Situated at South Park ave. and Sixty-first 
st. Take Cottage Grove avenue cable Jine. Organized 1883. Occupies an 
unpretentious though commodious club house, within easy accessof the Wash- 
ington club racing park, south of Washington park. It is a combination of 
the higher class of sporting, country and city clubs, members of nearly all 
the other leading clubs being connected with it. The club house is more in the 
nature of a rendezvous than a resort. The racing meetings of flie Washington 
Park Club are of national celebrity. The club house is handsomely fitted up 
for the comfort of the members and the ladies of members' families. Follow- 
ing are the officers for 1892: President, George Henry Wheeler; vice-presi- 
dents, Samuel W. Allerton, Albert S. Gage, Charles Schwartz, H. J. Mac- 
farland; treasurer. John R. Walsh; secretary, John E. Brewster; assistant 
secretary, James Howard; executive committee, the president, the vice-presi- 
dents, the treasurer, ex-officio, Charles D. Hamill, John Dupee, Jr., Arthur 
J. Caton, Henry J. Macfarland, Thos. Murdoch, J. Henry Norton, John B. 
Carson; property committee, John Dupee, Jr., Charles D. Hamill, John B. 
Carson; house committee, Charles Schwartz, Charles D. Hamill, J. Henry 
Norton; racing stewards, Albert S. Gage, Samuel H. Sweet, Frank S. Gor- 
ton, John Dupee, Jr., John E. Brewster; board of directors for 1892, 
Nathaniel K. Fairbank, Norman B. Ream, Samuel W. Allerton, James W. 
Oakley, Columbus R. Cummings, Charles J. Barnes, John R. Walsh, J. 
Henry Norton, Albert S. Gage, Samuel H. Sweet, Henry J. Macfarland, 
George H. Wheeler, Thomas Murdoch, Charles J. Singer. James B. Goodman, 
John Dupee, Jr., Frank 8. Gorton, George Smith, John B. Carson, Thomas 
Cratty, Arthur J. Caton, Charles Schwartz, Charles D. Hamill, John E. 
Brewster. The admission fee is $150, from the payment of which subscribers 
for one thousand dollars or more of the capital stock and officers of the U. S. 
Army and Navy are exempt; annual dues, $40. 

Webster Club. Composed of young men and organized for social pur- 
poses. Following are the members. Fred Abele, M. J. Walsh, Franklin 
Giese, M. J. O'Donnell, G. T. Thirsk, H. C. Grundman, W. S. Lahey, J. T. 
Stewart, W. A. Diez, J. E. McGrane, E. F. Breyer, H. E. Otte, L. A. 
Lemke, W. W. Lill, F. Becker, H. Stolt, P. H. Berkes, T. Lindberg and 
W. C. Carberry. 

Whitechapel Club. Located in the rear of 173 Calhoun PI. Organized in 
October, 188y. The object of the club is givtu on the charter as "Social 
Reform." The purposes of the club are purely social, the intention in form- 
ing it being to band together professional and literary men of congenial habit. 
Business meetings are held once a week. It is customary to permit residents 
of Chicago to visit the dub rocms and inspect the extremely unique decora- 
tions on Saturday. The visitor must be vouched for by a member of the club. 



248 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

It is customary, once a month, to hold a social meeting called a "Symposium," 
to which guests are invited by the club and by individual members. The 
initiation fee is $50, and one objection from any member bars an applicant 
from admission. President, Charles Goodman Perkins; secretary, Hugh 
Blake Williams ,M. D.; treasurer, Henry Frayser Frarnsworth; board of 
directors for 1891, Charlts Goodyear Seymour, Wallace de Groat Reid, 
Finley Peter Dunne, Hoiace Taylor, Henry Ai.tbony Kosters, Edwin Michel 
Bernard, Frederic Uphsm Adams and Brand Whitlock. 

Women's Suffrage Club. Meets in the club-room of the Sherman House 
on the evening of the third Tuesday of each month. Organized for the pur- 
pose of advocating and agitating equal political rights. Officers President, 
Mrs. J. A. McKinney; vice president, Mrs. E. W. Haskett; secretary, Mrs. 
F. Beckwith; treasurer, Mrs. C. B. Sawyer. 

Woman's Chib of Emmton . Oiganized in 1889. One of the largest of 
the many Women's clubs which form the federation of the United Slates. 
The membership was limited to 125 until the fall of 1891, but now the mem- 
bership ia unlimited. The club is divided into committees, each having 
charge of Rome special branch of work; each committee holding meetings as 
often as desired. The club as a whole holds fortnightly meetings at the 
home of Mrs. Elizabeth Boynton Harbert, president of the club. Especial 
interest is being manifested in the World's Fair committee work. Other 
committees are on philanthropy, reform, philosophy and economy. 

Woodlawn Park Club. Located at Woodlawn Park, has a membership of 
over one hundred. Officers: N. C. Wheeler, president; A. S. Delaware, vice- 
president; F. G. Atwood, secretary; S. A. Magill, treasurer, and J. W. Hill, 
D. Graham, W. A. Fowler, A. J. Mills, S. V. Cornish and G. W. Riggs com- 
pose the board of directors. A handsome new home was erected for thisclub 
in 1892. It is a three-story brick, Queen Ann style of architecture, and is 
equipped with all modern conveniences. In the basement is a bowling alley. 
The club has a large dancing hall and stage for private theatricals. The hall 
has a seating capacity of 500. 

CLUBS LITERARY. 

Intellectual life in Chicago is creeping within bindings, and intellectual 
society in clubs is becoming as potent a factor as is fashionable society in 
ballrooms, parlors, and reception halls, which may not seem much in the 
saying, but is infinitely more than it seems, since culture is a slow growth 
and requires not only cessation from business cares, but careful thought and 
retirement. Moreover, the culture clubs of Chicago are not ephemeral crea- 
tions. They have struck their tools firmly into the roots and found it fertile. 
They have not been given over to faddists, but to men who carried the same 
sound business perceptions into literary recreation that had made them rich 
and well-known in the financial world. No doubt many builded better than 
they knew, but they had chosen a rock foundation, and when the winds 
blew and the rains descended, the structure did not vanish, as have too many 
of the sand-bedded edifices of a civilization grown effete and given over to 
whimsies. So it has come to pass in these latter days that Chicago has 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 249 

builded for herself many a quiet temple of literary fame wherein high 
thoughts and noble inspirations feed the eternal flame upon the inmost altar. 
It is the "living up, not down ; out, not in," and the city is better because 
these men and women have striven to acquaint themselves with the literature 
of both past and present, and instead of feasting on material things taste of 
the dainties that are bred in books. And posteiity, that much-talked of 
child, will be a nobler creature because of an ennobled and mentally broad- 
ened ancestry. 

Beseda (Bohemian Reading dub). Meets Tuesdays and Saturdays at 74 
W. Taylor st. President, J. Kasper; secretary, E. A. Haase; treasurer, A. 
Matuska; librarian, F. B. Zdrubek. 

Browning Clubs' There are several Browning clubs in Chicago and 
vicinity, with no stated place of holding meetings. Nearly all are allied 
closely to the Women's Club and other literary societies. 

Chicago Library Club. The library club is precisely the kind of an 
organization that might be expected from its caption. It is comprised of 
mny men of many books, and is a comparatively recent association. The 
mere fact that such a club can exist and prosper is a significant one, and with 
a great truth underlying it. Unless a city were well equipped with library 
centers in its different districts a library club would be impossible. But 
Chicago is a city of splendid libraries, from the great free center with its 
171,000 books, and the New berry reference library with 80,000 books, all 
along the gamut of the Hammond theological, the Chicago university, the 
Academy of Sciences, the Chicago Historical society, and the Northwestern 
university libraries. Besides these are the libraries connected with the 
Baptist union, the Presbyterian seminary, and St. Ignatius college, and the 
Law institute, together with a host of public school and smaller libraries. 
From all these sources have been drawn the membership of the Library club, 
with no less a peisonage for its president than Dr. William Poole, of the 
Newberry library. Fred Hild, of the public library, first vice-president; C. 

C. Pickett, of the Law institute, second vice president; Dr. G. E. Wise, 
secretary; Miss Lydia Dexter, treasurer. There will be no club rooms, as the 
club purposes meeting around in the various libraries, a sort of itinerant 
fellowship all through, becoming familiar with each other and with the 
different libraries at one and the same time. 

Chicago Literary Club. One of the oldest and most prominent of the 
culture organizations of Chicago. Organized March, 1874. Meets every 
Monday evening; holds receptions every fifth Monday; meets in the Art Insti- 
tute building. The list of presidents since its inception are as follows : Robert 
Collyer, 1874-75; Chas. B. Lawrence, 1875-76; Hos'mer A. Johnson, 1876-77; 
Daniel L. Shorey, 1877-78; Edward G. Mason, 1878-79; William F. Poole, 
1879-80; Brooke Herford, 1880-81; Edwin C. Lamed, 1881-82; George How- 
land, 1882-83; Henry A. Huntington, 1883-84; Chas. Oilman Smith, 1884-85; 
James S. Norton, 1885-86; Alexander C. McClurg, 1886-87; Geo. C. Noyes, 
1887-88; James L. High, 1888-89; James Nevins Hyde, 1889-90; Franklin H. 
Head, 1890-91; Clinton Locke, 1891-92. The officers for 1891-92 are: President, 
Clinton Locke; vice-presidents, Lewis H. Boutell, Clarence A. Burley, Arthur 

D. Wheeler; corresponding secretary, Edward I. Galvin; recording secretary 



250 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

and treasurer, Frederick W. Gookin. Committees: Officers and members: 
Lewis H. Boutell, Henry V. Freeman, Ephraim A. Otis, William Eliot Fur- 
ness, James A. Hunt; arrangements and exercises, Clarence A. Burley, Frank 
Gilbert, William W. Case, Allen B. Pond, Theodore P. Prudden; on rooms 
and finance, Arthur D. \Vheeler, Henry B. Stone, Charles D. Hamill, Moses L. 
Scudder, Jr., Edwin Burritt Smith. 

Club Litteraire Francais. Club rooms 45 E. Randolph st. Organized 1872. 
The membership is composed of about half French people and half Ameri- 
cans, and between the program numbers are intermissions for conversation, 
which, according to club regulations, shall be in French only. The French Lit- 
erary Club of Chicago came, like a new newspaper, to fill "along-felt want." 
Here, where opportunites of hearing the French language spoken in all its 
purity are particularly small, it was an unspeakable boom to bring educated 
Parisians together with those who were endeavoring to become familiar with 
the Gallic tongue. To bring them together so as to give mutual pleasure to 
both classes was even more desirable. Both have been done. The Club 
Litteraire Francais is a verity. It has a local habitation and a name, and it 
meets every Saturday evening for a social reception, a short musical pro- 
gram, or a French play, sometimes a blending of all three, varied by mon- 
ologues and essays, though the latter are considered a trifle monotonous and 
not volatile enough for " Lalange Francaise." The dramatic- performances 
are the club's pride. They, like all else on the program, are entirely French, 
but they are admirably conducted by A. Gouere, who was formerly an actor 
in the famous Comedie Francaise in Paris. Added to this is the fact that 
many of the best musicians in town are members of the club, and are not 
chary of their contributions. The Conseil d'Administration for 1891-92 is as 
follows: President, Robert D. Ward well; vice-president, Leon de Sadowski; 
second vice-president, Mme. C. A. Sykes; secretary, M. Leon Grehier; treas- 
urer, Arthur Woodcock; dramatic director, M. A. Gouere; reception com- 
mittee, Mile. Li'y Roemheld, Mile. Katherine Knowles, W. M. Payne, A O. 
Proast, H. J. Mellen, Ed E. Bideleux, O. L. Jandsha. 

Illinois Woman's Press Association. From a score of workers who met at 
the home of that most zealous of clever literary women Dr. Julian Holmes 
Smith in 1885, has sprung the Illinois Woman's Press Association. It was 
suggested by the organization of the Woman's National Press Association at the 
New Orleans Exposition and is conducted on much the same lines, is a mem- 
ber of the National Editorial Association, the Federation of Women's Clubs, 
the International League of Press Clubs, and is auxiliary to the Illinois 
Woman's Alliance. Meets nine times a year. In order to facilitate achieve- 
ment the association is divided into committees of editors, reporters, authors, 
correspondents, contributors, and publishers, each having its own particular 
branch of work to attend to. 

All women having published original matter in book form or who have 
been, or are, regularly connected with any reputable journal are eligible for 
membership. The social side of the club, busy women that they are, has not 
been overlooked. The annual banquet is always admirably arranged, well- 
conducted, and a thoroughly enjoyable event. Also, noted newspaper women 
visiting the Garden City are prone to find themselves the honored guests of 
this band of brainy women. 

A peculiarity of this club is that it has never had, or wanted to have, but 
the one president. From the organization in 1885, through the re- organization 



TilE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 251 

of 1886, up to the present time Mrs. Mary Allen West of the Union Signal has 
stood at the helm. Sometimes her subordinate officers went the way of all 
officials, but the revered president was, is, and will be Mary Allen West. 
The official list for 1892 is: President, Mary Allen West; vice presidents, 
Mrs. Elizabeth A. Reed, Alice B. Stockham, M. D., and Mrs. Sarah Wilder 
Pratt; recording secretary, Belle L. Gorton; assistant recording secretary, 
Jessie King; corresponding secretary, Emily A. Kellogg; assistant corres- 
ponding s cretary, E. Jeannette Abbott; treasurer, Mrs. Francis E. Owens; 
librarian, Ella S. Bass. 

Longfellow Club. An association of young ladies engaged in the study of 
the poet Longfellow. Meets at the homes of members. On the order of 
"Browning Clubs." 

Palette Club. A society of Artists; gives exhibitions of the works of local 
artists at the Art Institute, and meets for social purposes. The leading 
artists of the city are among its members. 

Papyrus Club. Organized Sept. 14, 1891. The club with the suggestive 
Egyptian name is entirely given over to the literati, and is modeled after the 
Papyrus club of Boston, one of whose prominent members, Mr. Hovey, the 
local club has recently entertained. The only people eligible for membership 
in the Papyrus are writers, publishers, artists, and booksellers, and already 
the club has established a handsomely furnished suite of rooms in the Audi- 
torium building, where members may at all times resort, and where, no 
doubt, social amenities will be developed as the club waxes older and stronger. 
Already it numbers among its members such well-known writers as Nancy 
Huston B-inks, author of the charming Kentucky romance " Stairs of Sand;" 
Thomas S. Denison, the playwright; Maud Menefee, the writer of children's 
stories, and Mrs. Lou Y. Chapin. What the club may grow into if judiciously 
managed is difficult of prophecy, that will depend on the literati themselves. 
They have already given an "author's reading" evening, which is quite an 
in novation in Chicago clubs. The officers are: President, Mogs P. Handy; 
first vice-president, George P. Englehard; second vice-president, Charles H. 
Sergei; third vice-president, Mary Allen West; corresponding secretary, Ed- 
ward Owings Towne; recording secretary, Maud Menefee; financial secretary, 
T. S. Denison; treasurer, Robert H. Vickers; librarian, Austin Granville; 
additional directors, Auguste Eckle, C. H. Kingman. 

Press League, The. Organized for the purpose of receiving and enter 
taining newspaper and literary people during the progress of the Columbian 
Exposition, but with particular regard to the entertainment of women writers. 
Has no connection with the National Press League. When the women writers 
from afar come to the Exposition they will find the league's rooms on the 
grounds, a very Mecca for the tired and perplexed journalist, and after the 
fair has come and gone there is no doubt but the organization will continue 
to establish co-operation among regular writers for the press, to furnish 
information as may be desired by writers from fellow-workers in different 
parts of this country and in foreign countries, and to foster an esprit du 
corps. The league meets once a month in the Auditorium club rooms, and 
those gatherings are reported to be the wittiest and merriest; albeit intensely 
literary, that an organization which contains not one dull person may pro- 
duce. A peculiarity of the Press League is that ils officers are elected for 
three years, so that the following will still be in office during the Exposition: 
President, Mary H. Krout, the Inter-Ocean; vice-presidents, Martha Howe 



252 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

Davidson, Aclele Chretien. San Francisco Examiner; Helen Winslow, Boston 
Beacon; Lou V. Chapin, Chicago Graphic; recording secretary, Virginia Lull, 
the Chicago Evening Journal; corresponding secretary, Eve H. Brodlique, 
the Chicago Times; corresponding secretary representative board, Isabella 
O'Keefe; treasurer, Antoinette Van Hoesen Wakeman, the Chicago Evening 
Post; chairman auditing board, Mary E. Bundy, the Religio- Philosophical 
Journal; assistant secretary, Norah Gridley; representatives at large, A. V. H. 
Wakeman, Chicago Evening Post; Illinois, Virginia Lull, Chicago Evening 
Journal; Ohio, Claudia I. Murphy, Toledo Commercial; Michigan, Sarah J. 
La Tour, American Tyler, Detroit, Mich.; Indiana, Ida A. Harper, Indianap- 
olis News; Iowa, Pauline Given Swalin, Oskaloosa Herald; California," Win- 
fred Sweet Black; New Jersey and New York periodicals, Hester M. Poole; 
New York, Florence Ives; Massachusetts, Helen M. Winslow, Boston Beacon; 
Nebraska, Ellia Peattie, Omaha World-Herald; Minnesota, Ruth Kimball, St. 
Paul Globe. 

Saracen Club. Organized 1876. The originators of the club were 
Henry W. Fuller and Dr. Samuel Willard and it was named the Saracen 
because its members proposed to criticise ideas and literature as unsparingly 
as the Saracens fought their enemies and giving as little quarter. There is no 
clubhouse. For sixteen years the members have met around at each other's 
homes, thus preserving a marked social feature. There is always a paper, 
followed by a discussion, and then a supper is served by her who it chances is 
the hostess of the evening. The entertainment is frequently quite elaborate, 
as the Saracen members are people of ample means and social prominence. 
There are eighty of them in all and each member has the privilege of bringing 
a friend, so that to have a meeting of the Saracens at one's home is no ignoble 
affair. During the winter seasons the meetings are held every month and are 
discontinued in the summer. The membership is largely composed of doctors, 
lawyers and literary men and their wives, with a sprinkling of unmarried 
folk. Every year they give an entertainment and dinner at Kinsley's, which 
is quite a fashionable gathering. During the whole list of presidents there has 
been only one lady at the head of affairs, Mrs. George A. Harding, who is also 
a member of the Fortnightly and Chicago Women's clubs. The officers for 
1892 are: President Merritt Starr; vice-presidents, Mrs. Sumner Ellis, Austin 
Bierbower and Dr. Marie J. Mergler; secretary and treasurer, Norman P. 
Willard; executive committee, Irving K. Pond, Mrs. John Wilkinson, E. B. 
Sherman, Mrs. Charles Guy Bolte, Edwin Burritt Smith. 

Spanish American Club. Meets usually at the Tremont house. The aim 
of the association is the better understanding of the Spanish language and 
the customs of the people and the products of the Latin countries. While as 
yet the club is purely social, later it will undoubtedly become active in prac- 
tical lines. Among those prominently connected with the organization are 
City Treasurer Peter Kiolbassa, August E. Gans, Alberto Zarate, J. M. 
Wiers, E. F. Cotilla, E. S. Douglas, A. Raphael, A. C. Aaback, B. T. 
Thomas, Manuel S. Molano, Mrs. A. M. L. Coleson and Miss Grace L. Dick- 
inson. 

Tuesday Rinding Club. Organized in 1891, Mrs. Jean M. Waldron, a 
prominent North Side woman, being its originator. It was her idea to form a 
reading club wherein ladies might meet for the study of good literature and 
to leran how to read it expressively. The idea took and a coterie of North 
Side ladies have banded together and meet every Tuesday evening for the 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 253 

pleasant exercises. As the club meets at the respective homes of the mem- 
bers, there is afforded a charming opportunity for sociability, a factor which 
never has been overlooked. Light refreshments are served, and sometimes 
the ladies sit down to a dainty luncheon. But the literary part is counted as 
the first and greatest part of the club's existence. 

Twentieth Century Club. Established November 9, 1880, very much on 
the plan of the .Nineteenth Century club of New York. It is a club which 
admits both ladies and gentlemen, in fact its founder was a lady, Mrs. George 
R. Grant, who had returned from the Atlantic coast full of the new idea. 
Mrs. Grant is a society leader, as well as a beautiful and accomplished woman, 
a daughter of Fernando Jones. She has been the mainspriug of the Cen- 
tury club ever since its inception, though the presidents have been of the 
sterner sex. For the first two years Maj. Kirkland filled that office, and a; 
present Charles D. Hamill, who is well-known as the new president of the 
board of trade, stands at the head of this fashionable literary organization. 

The object of the club is the promotion of serious thought upon art, 
science and literature, and the entertainment of distinguished men and women 
of other cities of this and other countries. Such individuals as have achieved 
distinction in their respective departments of knowledge are invited to meet 
the club and speak before it. The officers are: President, Charles D. Hamill; 
vice-presidents, L. C. Collins, Jr., Mrs. Charles Heurotin; secretary, Mrs. 
George R. Grant, 1834 Prairie avenue; treasurer, William Morton Payne, 
1601 Prairie avenue; general committee, Elwyn A. Barron, Hugh T. Birch, 
Ingolf K. Boyesen, Charles Page Bryan, L. C. Collins,' Jr., Charles D. 
Hamill, Joseph Kirkland, A. C. McClurg, William Morton Payne, Henry B. 
Stone, David Swiug, Charles Walsh, Mrs. H. C. Brainard, Miss Amy Fay, 
Mrs. George R. Grant, Mrs. W. Q. Gresham, Mrs. Charles Henrotin, Mrs. 
Fernando Jones, Mrs. Joseph Medill, Mrs. S. J. Medill, Miss Harriet S. Mon- 
roe, Mrs. G. M. Pullman, Mrs. H. O. Stone, Mrs. H. M. Wilmarth. 

Women's Reading. Circle of S^nth Evanston. Organized November 5, 
1890, meets semi-monthly; membership limited to twenty-live; object, the study 
of history. Mrs. Alexander Clark, director. 

CLUBS STATE SOCIAL ORGANIZATIONS. 

The American population of Chicago is composed in great part of natives 
of other sections of the United States. The States of Indiana, Kentucky, 
Ohio, Pennsylvania, New York, New Jersey, New Hampshire, Vermont, Con- 
necticut, Rhode Island and Massachusetts are very largely represented here 
among the mercantile and professional classes. The natives of a number of 
the States have formed themselves into organizations of a social character, 
which are referred to below. 

California Pioneers. The Western Association of California Pioneers 
was organized January, 1890. The society is composed principally of persons 
who crossed the plains in 1849, and for the purpose of bringing together for- 
mer residents of the State of California. Its meetings are held at the Grand 
Pacific Hotel, and its annual meeting is held on the 18th day of January in 
each and every year, in commemoration of the day on which gold was first 
discovered in California, January 18, 1848. The officers are: Charles P. 



254 GUIDE TO CHCAGO. 

Jackson, president; Addison Ballard, first vice president; Thad. P. SearS, 
second vice-president; John B. Kerr, secretary; Davis W. Miller, treasurer; 
trustees: George G. Custer, J. A. B. Waldo, Samuel Waugh, George A. 
Emery, Addison Ballard, Chicago; Wm. N. Brainard, Evanstou, 111.; Cam- 
den Knight, Custer Park 111. 

North Pacific Association. To include former residents and natives of 
Alaska, Washington, Idaho and Montana. Object, to bring together former 
residents of the sections named in order to advance .the interests of that 
division of the Union, and to formulate the best plans for the proper enter- 
tainment of the people of the North Pacific section during the World's Colum- 
bian Exposition. 

Ohio Society of Chicago. Organized April 29, 1890, the charter members 
being Charles E. Bliven, Charles D. Hauk, John T. Shayne, E. S. Jeuison, 
Samuel Parker, Dr. Listen H. Montgomery, Leroy D. Thoman. The resi- 
dent members number 151; non-resident members, 13; honorary members 11, 
making a total membership in March, 1892, of 175. The society meets quar- 
terly, on the first Tuesdays in January, April, July and October. The annuai 
meeting is held on April 30th. In the list of honorary members are included 
the following : Benjamin Harrison, President of the United States ; Ruther- 
ford B. Hayes, ex-President of the United States ; Charles Anderson, of Eddy- 
ville, Ky.; Gen. Jacob D. Cox, of Cincinnati, Ohio; ex-Governor R. M. 
Bishop, Cincinnati, Ohio ; ex-Governor Charles Foster, Fostoria, Ohio ; 
ex-Governor George Hoadley, New York ; ex-Governor Joseph B. Foraker, 
Cincinnati, Ohio ; Governor James E. Campbell, Columbus, Ohio; Allen G. 
Thurman, Columbus, Ohio. Among other prominent members are : Bishop 
Merrill, Prof essor Swing, Dr. Barrows, Dr. Gunsaulus, the Rev. G. K. Flack, 
Dr. Arthur Edwards, the Rev. R. D. Scott, ""Colonel H. C. Corbin, ex-Gov- 
ernor John M. Hamilton, General Benjamin Butterworth, Judge Baker, John 
B. Drake, Major F. Q. Ball, Colonel J. S. Cooper, C. S. Darrow, J. W. Ells- 
worth, P. S. Grosscup, W. W. Gurley, S. W. Stone, Wm. A. Mason, and many 
other names equally well-known. The officers of the society elected at its last 
meeting were: President, Judge L. D. Thoman, ex-United States CivilService 
Commissioner; Vice-presidents, Charles E. Bliveu, Win. A. Ewing, Albert 
H. Massey, Geo. Watkins, Lucius B. Montonya, Oscar M. Smith, Daniel W. 
Mills, Henry D. Overdier, and Geo. W. Anderson. Honorary Vice-presidents, 
Joseph Medill, Anthony F. Seeberger, William Penn Nixon, Joseph B. Leake, 
John B. Drake. Secretary, Dr. L. H. Montgomery; Treasurer, Samuel Parker; 
Trustees, John T. Shayne, Geo. P. Jones, Chas. D. Hauk, Addison Ballard, 
Amos J. Harding, Henry J. Bohn, Theo. P. Elliott, Aaron J. Mik^clie, 
Edward S. Jenison. In a circular issued by the officers on May 1, 1890, 
the object of the society is set forth as follows : " We believe it desirable to 
have a social organization in this city of former residents of Ohio, to the end 
that the enviable position attained by our native State in the recent contest for 
the location of the World's Fair may be maintained." Any person over eighteen 
years of age, of good moral character, and who is a native, or the son of a 
native, of the State of Ohio, or has been a resident of Ohio fora period of five 
years, may be admitted as an active member. Any person of the age and 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 255 

character and similarly qualified, residing in Ohio or born therein, or having 
been a resident thereof for five years, ana residing elsewhere than in the city 
of Chicago, and not within fifty miles thereof, may be admitted as a non-resi- 
dent member. Non-resident members shall be entitled to all of the privileges 
of the society, except that they shall not vote or hold office. Admission fee, 
$10 ; annual dues, $.5 ; non resident members' admission fee, $5 ; no dues. 

Sons of Chicago. Organized 1892. Native born Chicagoans are alone 
elligible to membership. Thomas H. Cannon, chairman, Clark C. Rolf, 
secretary. 

Sons of Connecticut. Organized 1891. Requisite for membership, birth 
in the State of Connecticut. Object, to promote the interests of that State in 
the World's Columbian Exposition, and for social purposes. Officers : Presi- 
dent, E. St. John ; Vice-President, Frank M. Blair ; Secretary and Treasurer, 
C. W. Newton, 7 Randolph st. Executive Committee : E. St. John, Frank 
M. Blair, Joseph Woodruff, F. W. Short, C. W. Newton. 

Sons of Delaware. Organized June 20, 1890 ; membership about 35. 
Requisite to membership, birth in the State of Delaware. A social organiza- 
tion. Initiation fee, $2.00. Officers: President, F. L. Ford ; Vice-President, 
T. H. Glenn ; Treasurer, M. J. Powers ; Secretary, A. Lloyd, 3800 Vincennes 
avenue. 

Sons of Indiana. Organized December 20, 1890. Present membership, 
about 125. Requisites for membership, former residence in the State of 
Indiana, present residence in Co*bk county, Illinois. Meetings hela quarterly, 
first Tuesdays in January, April, July and October, at such places as may be 
named by the president. First banquet held February 24, 1891, in celebra- 
tion of the anniversary of the capture of Viucennei by George Rogers Ciark. 
The date of the annual banquets is fixed at December 11, in celebration of 
the admission of Indiana as a State into Union. Initiation fee, $1.(0; annual 
dues, $1.00. Assessments are made to meet expenses of banquets, etc. The 
officers are: President, John Lyle King; 1st vice-president, D. M. Hillis; 2d 
vice-president. J. W. Helm; secretary, Geo. W. Wiggs; treasurer, E. W. 
Akinson; executive committee, J. Harvey Bates, J. M. Olcott, J. William 
Telm, Geo. W. Wiggs, James M. Starbuck, W. C. Niblack, Lawrence P. 
B -yle. 

Sons of Louisiana. Organized May 1, 1889. Membership, about 50. 
Requisite for membership, former residence in the State of Louisiana. Initia- 
tion fee, $2.00 ; dues, $6.00 per annum ; meet first Monday of each month. 
Officers: President, G. W. Becker; vice-president, Seymour Walton; secre- 
tary and treasurer, F. R. Sonthmayd. 

Sons of Maine. Organized April 3, 1880. Present membership, about 
200. Requisite for membership, birth in the State of Maine, regardless of sex. 
No stated place of meeting, one of the leading hotels being usually selected for 
semi-annual gatherings and banquets. Initiation fee, $1.00 ; annual dues, 
$1.00. Assessments are made to cover expenses incurred. The officers are : 
President, E. F. Getchell; 1st vice-president, Geo. L. Dunlap; 2d vice-pres- 
ident, J. J. P. Odell; 3d vice-president, J. B. Hobbs; treasurer, William 
Sprague: secretary, Frank Hamlin (son of Hon. Hannibal Hamlin, and a 
ri-ing young lawyer), room 77, 119 La^alle st. ; directors: Geo. M. Sargent, 
Geo. A. Emery, F. H. Smith, C. F. Kimball, Newton Goodwin, W. H. 
Andrews, F. A. Johnson. The Sons of Maine have on their list of members 
the names of many leading citizens of Chicago. 



256 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

Sons of Massachusetts. Organized November 12, 1889. Present member- 
ship, about 150. Meet semi-annually at the Grand Pacific Hotel. The object 
of the association, as stated in the by-laws, is " to cherish the memory of our 
mother State, to acknowledge our love and fidelity to her, t'o perpetuate her 
memory to those who come after us, and to maintain a patriotic love and devo- 
tion to our common country, composed of all States." Any citizen of Illinois 
born in Massachusetts, or formerly residing there, is eligible to membership. 
AD annual assessment is made upon the members for the liquidation of such 
expenses as may be incurred. The officers are: President, Erskine M. 
Phelps; vice-presidents, fcilas N. Brooks, Edward F. Lawrence, Porter P. 
Heywood; secretary, Edward H. Griggs; treasurer, Norman W. Harris; 
Directors, Chas. Lyman Case, E. W. Brooks, Charles E. Field, Joeiah L. 
Lombard, John B. Clarke, Henry Slade, E. A. Simonds, Edward O. Parker, 
John C. Policy. 

Sons of Michigan. A Society composed of former residents of Michigan. 
President, Joseph A Nealey; secretary, Richard Altrogh; treasurer, John W. 
Irvine. The object of the club is to provide entertainment to Michigan people 
coming here during the World's Fair. 

Sons of New York. An Association of the natives of the State of New 
York was formed early in September, 1889, and was incorporated on January 
2, 1890. Its object or purpose was to co-operate with other State societies in 
the effort then being made to secure the location of the great Inteinational 
Exposition at Chicago. To this end the members of the Association, individ- 
ually and collectively, devoted their time and influence with characteristic 
zeal and energy. The membership of the Association increased at so rapid a 
rate that it was resolved to make the organization permanent, which was done, 
as mentioned above, by incorporating under the laws of Illinois. The princi- 
pal object of the Association is the occasional bringing together at re-unions 
of the resident men and women who hail from the Empire State for the pur- 
pose of social intercourse, to renew past acquaintance, form new friendships 
and cultivate the amenities incidental to a common citizenship. The society 
of the Sons of New York has a .membership of over seven hundred, hailing 
from every county in the State of New York, and many of whom were form- 
erly friends and neighbors, but now residents of the great Empire City of the 
West, in the growth and development of which the New Yorkers have ever 
been conspicuous. Meets once a month at the Sherman House. ' Officers: 
President, De Witt C. Cregier; first vice-president, J. Irving Pearce; second 
vice-president, Solomon Thatcher, Jr.; third vice-president, J. L. Hotchkin; 
secretary, John E. Davis, 154 Lake st. ; treasurer, Cbas. E. Leonard; directors, 
Potter Palmer, Nelson Steele, Geo. H. Harlow, D. Miks and Daniel H. 
Pinnery. 

Sons of Pennsylvania. Organized December, 1889; present membership, 
about 800. The association is comprised; 1st, of native born or resident Penn- 
sylvania^; 2d, of former citizens of Pennsylvania, who have resided at least 
tea yers in the State; 3d, of those who have been connected with the 
University, or any of the colleges, scientific or professional institutes of 
Pennsylvania; 4th, of those who served during the war in any Pennsylvania 
regiment, and may also include as members thoe still residing in Pennsyl- 
vania; numbers among its honorary members, Geo. W. Childs, Andrew 
Carnagie, Ex-Gov. Beaver, Gov. Patterson, Ad jutant General Hastings, Post- 
Master General Wanamaker and others. The object of the association, as 
stated in the preamble of the constitution, is " for the purpose of promoting 
more intimate acquaintance with each other, cultivating and keeping 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 257 

alive the associations, and reviving the recollections of our native State; 
and, to the end that we may the better act in regard to all matters per- 
taining to the common interest of the State of Pennsylvania and the 
State of our adoption." Initiation fee,*$2.00; annual dues, $1.00. Meetings 
are held monthly at the Palmer House. Election of officers occurs on the 
first Monday in December, annually. At least one banquet is held every 
year. In an address issued by the officers, the following presentation of the 
organization's aims is made: The "Sous of Pennsylvania" is an organiza- 
tion growing out of the Pennsylvania Auxiliary Committee of the World's 
Fair, and is a permanent association, devoted to the development of an 
expression of those social and fraternal influences which cling to the mem- 
ories and incidents of " Home " in " The Keystone State " of Pennsylvania. 
During the World's Fair season, the fraternal instincts of the Association will 
gladly assist all Pennsylvanians, whether residents of the Keystone State or 
citizens of "The Empire of the West," to secure home comforts at that moder- 
ate cost which, upon great occasions in large cities, is so difficult of access to 
the temporary sojourner. It may serve to still further endear the Associa- 
tion to the heart of every Pennsylvanian to know that in its permanent form 
of organization, one of its special duties will be to demonstrate the value and 
extent of the influence exerted by Pennsylvanians throughout the entire 
West, in its social, commercial and professional progress." The officers are: 
President, Hon. W. B. Cunningham; vice-presidents, Franklin MacVeagh, 
Dr. Swayne Wickersham, Hon.H M Shepard, Hon. J. J. Brinkerhoff, Capt. 
J. B. Clow treasurer, Dr. J. W. Slonaker; secretary, Frederick J. Patterson, 
449, "The Rookery," Chicago; executive committee, Austin L. Nestlerode, 
chairman; Hon. Thos. D. McClelland, Major C. I. Wickersham, J. C. Ander- 
son, W. B. Cunningham, F. J. Patterson; finance committee, Gen. Jos. 
Stocton, chairman; Dr. A. P. Gilmore, Dr. John F. Williams, Wm. Y. 
Daniels; membership committee, Atlee V. Coale, chairman; C. E. Bruner, S. 
E. Gross, C. S. Burrows, E. C. Loomis, B. B. Anderson. The membership 
of the Sons of Pennyslvania is comprised of many of Chicago's leading citi- 
zens in every honorable walk of life. 

Sons of Rhode Island. Organized November 12, 1889. Present member- 
ship about 100. Initiation fee, $1.00; annual dues, $].UO. Meets annually on 
the first Tuesday in October at such place as the preside nt may direct. Other 
meetings may be called during the year. The preamble to the constitution 
sets forth the purpose of the association as that of " promoting more intimate 
acquaintance with each other, cultivating and keeping alive the associations 
and reviving the recollections of our native State, and to the end that we may 
the better act in regard to all matters pertaining to the common interests of 
the State of Rhode Island and the city and State of our adoption." The 
membership of this association consists "of gentlemen and ladies who were 
born in Rhode Island, residing in Illinois at the time of joining the associa- 
tion, and such other gentlemen as claim to be Rhode Islanders, or who served 
in any Rhode Island regiment during the war, or who have been connected 
with Brown University, and shall be recommended by the membership com- 
mittee, upon their signing the constitution ana by-laws and paying the 
required fee." The officers are: President, Col. W. A. James; vice-presidents, 
H. B. Cragin, David Fales. Charles J. Mauran, J. M. Francis, C. P. Walcott; 



258 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

secretary, Henry A. Taylor; treasurer, Willliam B. Bocart ; executive com- 
mittee, H. L. Belden, W. P. Cragin, J. B. Marsh, J.^G. Cozzens, J. W. 
Lyon; membership committee, W. B. Ballou, F. P. Crandon, (). S. Westcott, 
E. L. Barber, C. L. Weaver; delegate* to State Association, W A. James, J. 
T. Bowen, E. F. Cragin. An annual assessment is made to cover expenses 
incurred. 

Sons of Vermont. Organized January 10, 1877. Present membership 
about 275. Object, the perpetuation of the memory of the mother State, and 
social intercoime among her sons. Originally it was requisite that an appli- 
cant for membership should be a native of Vermont, but by a recent amend- 
ment to the constitution sons of Vermontersov<r age of eighteen are eligible. 
Males only are admitted to membership. No stated place of meeting, but one 
banquet is given annually at one of the leading hotels. The association 
meets semi annually for business purposes. The animal banquet occurs on 
the 17th of January, in celebration of the independence of the State of Ver- 
mont The offices are: President, Thos. J. Sutherland; 1st. vice-president, 
Lewis H. Bisbee; 2d. vice-president, James McAubery; 3d. vice-president, 
Frank B. Williams; secretary, George Edmund Foss, 919 Chamber of Com- 
merce building; treasurer, H. H. Nash. Executive Committee, Austin Clem- 
ent, E. B. Sherman, John M. Thatcher, A. G. Fisher, W. N. Sattley. An 
annual assessment is made to cover expenses incurred. In the list of mem- 
bers are the names of many of the foremost men of the city, in professional 
and commercial life. 

Slates Columbian Association. Thereisin existence here a States Association 
of representatives from societies organized among foimtr residents of the 
several States as an auxiliary to the World's Columbian Exposition enterprise. 
The object of the Association as stated in the constitution is " to enable the 
several State organizations of Chicago to co-operate for the purpose of promot- 
ing the success of the Columbian Exposition; the understanding being, viz.: 
the several State Associations, herein represented, do not surrender to this 
Association any of their prerogatives or powers, nor shall their work be pre- 
scribed or interfered with in any manner by this Association." The Asso- 
ciation is composed of three duly accredited representatives from each of the 
State and Territorial Associations now existing or which may be hereafter 
formed in Chicago, provided, that the several Provinces of British America, 
and such organizations representing Nationalities as the Executive Committee 
may from time to time designate, may also be represented, in the same man- 
ner, as their associations are duly organized. Officers: President, LeRoy D. 
Thoman (of Sons of Ohio); First vice president, Elijah B. Sherman (of Sons 
of Vermont); secretary, Hervey Sheldon (of Sons of New York), Secretary's 
address, room 309 Inter Ocean bldg.; treasurer, Solomon Thatcher, Jr. (of 
Sons of New York). Vice-presidents: G. M. Sargent, Maine; H. B. Cragin, 
Rhode Island; F. M. Blair, Connecticut; F. L. Ford, Delaware; W. W. Mc- 
Elhaney, Virginia; Dr. H. A. Costner, North Carolina; P. C. Sneed, Geor- 
gia; Charles Marsh, Alabama; R. H. Stewart, Mississippi; William Van 
Ketle, Louisiana; Dr. M. R. Brown, Texas; F. I. Moulton, Missouri; C. 
Thompson, Tennessee; D. W. Mitchell, Kentucky; Major C. E. Bliven.Ohio; 
GeorgeS. Willits, Michigan; Charles H. Aldrich. Indiana; D. H. Lamber- 
son, Illinois; Van H. Higgins, Iowa: Col. F. A. Battey, Minnesota; S. H. 
Stevens, Kansas; W. NTBrainard, California; T. Z. Magarrell, Canada; De 
Witt C. Cregier, New York; Col. E. A. Calkins, Wisconsin; Felipe 
Berriozabel, Jr., Latin Am. League. 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 259 

COMMERCIAL EXCHANGES. 

The commercial exchanges, associations and boards of Chicago are 
numerous and powerful. Although the largest, the association known as 
the Board of Trade (which, in reality and properly, should be called the Grain 
and Produce Exchange), is by no means the only important one. There are 
various interests of magnitude not represented on the floor of the Board of 
Trade, which are handled by other exchanges. The different Exchanges and 
Associations are as follows : 

Board of Trade. The leading Grain and Produce Exchange in the world ; 
membership, about 2,000. [See Board of Trade Transactions.] Following 
are the officers for 1892: President, Charles D. Hammill; first vice-presidente 
James T. Rawleigh; second vice president, R. G. Chandler; secretary, Georg, 
F. Stone; assistant secretary, R. S. Worthington; treasurer, Earnest A. 
Hamill; Attorney, A. W. Green; manager of clearing-house, Samuel Powell; 
treasurer of clearing-house, John C. Black; official grain samplers, Owen Mc- 
Dougall, and Cruickshanks; inspector and registrar of flaxseed, S. H. Stevens; 
inspector of provisions and weigher of packing-house products, also registrar 
of provisions, Isaac T. Sunderland; inspector of grass-seeds, John Pax; 
inspector of hay, David Walsh. The following are the standing committees 
for the year: Executive Rawleigh, Healy, Mitchell. Finance Chandler, 
Dousman, Edwards. Membership Fiske, Beach. Smith. Room- VanKirk, 
Bartlett, Booth. Market Report Worthington, Chandler, Wright. Clearing- 
House Mitchell, Worthington, Lyon. Real Estate Hannah, VanKirk, Wright. 
Rules Edwards, Hannah, Smith, Booth, Beach. Legal Advice Bartlett, 
Healy, Dousman. Ware house Beach, Fiske, Hill. Violation of Rules Smith, 
Beach, Mitchell. Tarnsportation Dousman, Fiske, Booth, M. Cudahy, Rich- 
ardson, H. W. Rogers, Jr., M. Rosenbaum, W J. Pope, W. J. Coon. Claims 
Wright, Bartlett, VanKirk, Worthington, Rawleigh. Meteorological Observa- 
tion Booth, Lyon, Edwards. Weighing John Hill, Rawleigh, Healy. Provis- 
tion Inspecting Healy, Besley, Botsford, Wells, Stewart. Flour Inspection 
Montague, W. H. Crocker, C. Reifsnider, Isaac Horner, John B. Young. 
Flaxseed Inspection Lyon, Seckel, W. B. Waters, A. M. Henderson, J. 
Wright. Other Inspection Lyon, Hannah, Hill. Arbitration Committee 
on Grass and Field Seeds Hill, Seckel, A. M. Henderson, A. Eddy, Jr., 
Alexander Rodgers. The secretary of the board, Mr. Stone, is also secretary 
of the National Transportation Association and member of the Pan-Republic 
Congress committee, of the general committee of the World's Congress Auxil- 
iary on Commercial and Financial Congresses, of the Committee of the World's 
Congress Auxiliary on a Water Commerce Congress, and of the Committee of 
the World's Congress Auxiliary on a Board of Trade Congress. 

THE BOARD OF TRADE BUILDING is situated at the foot of La Salle, on 
Jackson St., between Sherman st. and Pacific ave. , in .the heart of the busi- 
ness center, and only a short walk from the great hotels, railroad depots and 
streetcar terminals. The immense size and architectural beauty of the 
structure will attract the stranger's attention. It covers an area of 200 by 174 
feet; and is built of gray granite. The beautiful front is surmounted by a 
tower which tapers to a pinnacle 322 feet above the pavement. On the top 
of this tower is the largest weather-vane in the world, a lake schooner 15 feet 



260 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

in length, -with rigging in proportion. From the street below it does not 
appear to be a fifth of this size. Visitors are admitted to the tower, from 
which a grand bird's eye view of the city and the lake may be obtained. On 
the first floor are settling rooms, private offices, telegraph offices, etc. Above 
these is agreat Exchange Hall, the dimension of which are 174 by 155 feet. 
Some idea of the vastness of this room may be obtained from the knowledge 
that one of the largest five story blocks in the city could be accommodated 
within it. The interior decorations are elegant. There are two galleries, 
one for the public and one for invited guests. Admission to the former may 
be gained within business hours. Prom this gallery a perfect view may be 
had of the operations on the floor, operations which it would be impossible to 
describe, and impossible for the average visitor to understand. Admis- 
sion to the floor is granted only on rare occasions, and by the Secretary of the 
Board of Trade. The rear portion of the building is given over to offices. 

FINANCIAL CONDITION OP THE BOARD. The report of the Directors of 
the Board of Trade for 1891 made the following showing: On hand Jan. 6, 

1891, $2,817.80. Received in sundry deposits from the secretary of the Board 
of Trade, from Jan. 6 to the close of the fiscal year, Jan. 4, 1892, inclusive, 
$255,612.67. Total, $258.330.47. Paid 552 checks drawn by the secretary, 
amounting to $239,797.55. Leaving a balance of $18,532.92. The report 
of theboaid of directors showed the following figures: Receipts, $291, 685. 51; 
expenditures, $259,538.79. Cash on hand and in hands of the treasurer Jan. 5, 

1892, $32.146.72. 

Builders' and Traders' Exchange. An organization of builders and 
dealers in builders' materials. Location of Exchange, 12, 14 and 16, No. 159 
La Salic St. Officers: President W. H. Alsip ; first vice-president, R. Vierl- 
Ing ; second vice-president, A. Gordon ; secretary, James John ; treasurer, 
W. H. Mortimer. 

Chicago American Horse Exchange. Situated at the southeast corner of 
Sixteenth and Dearborn sts., facing 151 feet on Sixteenth and 362 feet on 
Dearborn, street. Take State street cable line. 

Chicago Real Estate Board. One of the most important and prominent of 
Chicago's commercial organizations. Organized in 1887. Comprises the 
leading and responsible real estate dealers of the city. Located in the Real 
Estate Board building, Randolph and Dearborn sts. The Board rooms are 
made a general headquarters and depository for information pertaining to real 
estate interests. A carefully arranged record of transfers, council proceed- 
ings and enactments of the County Board are kept for reference, as well as 
maps, plats, etc., thereby furnishing facilities for members for learning facts 
without going to various public offices. Besides its function as a conserva- 
tor of the public weal, the Board exerts beneficial influence in matters bearing 
more directly upon the interests of property owners and agents. A valuation 
committee of the Board is established whose duty is to value property on 
request for a small compensation by comparison with the service rendered. 
Valuations are made without bias for trust companies, Investors, mortgagers, 
and for condemnation or damage purposes, by persons thoroughly competent 
to make them. As showing the high estimate upon services of this committee 
it is only necessary to say they were called upon to value -$4, 001, 888.60 worth 
of real estate in 1888. One of the greatest results of this organization, how- 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 261 

ever, is the prevention of fraud on the part of dishonest and irresponsible 
real estate 1 dealers, and the creation of a high-toned sentiment among real 
estate men. No man of a blemished commercial character can become or 
remain a member. 

OFFICERS FOR 1892. President, E. S. Dreyer; vice-president, G. A. 
Henshaw; treasurer, Benjamin A. Fessenden; secretary, C. L. Hammond. 

Executive Committee J. H. Trumbull (two years), Bruce B. Barney, 
(W. W. Baird holding over). 

Membership Committee P. A. Barnes (two years), C. H. Mulliken, Wm. 
A. Merigold, H. S. Dietrich, P. M. Elliott, H. W. Christian, R. D. Hfll, Car- 
ter H. Harrison, Jr. (D. M. Erskine, Jr., holding over). 

Reference Committee H. A. Haugan (two years), E. S. Hawley, (A. B. 
Mead holding over). 

Valuation Committee William A. Bond, George Birkhoff, Jr. (Willis G. 
Jackson, Joseph Donnersberger, Eugene H. Fishburn holding over). 

Call Board Committee John L. Manning (two years), B. R. De Young, 
James B. Galloway, J. Robson Weddell (Nelson Thomasson holding over). 

Public Service Committee West Side, Geo. M. Bogue (two years), R. L. 
Martin, Paul O. Stensland; South Side, Walter H. Wilson, Frank Riedel ; 
North Side, William L. Schrader, H. V. Seymour. 

Chicago Stock Exchange. Located in the Stock Exchange building, Dear- 
born and Monroe streets. Officers: President, Edward L. Brewster; secretary 
and chairman, Joseph R. Wilkins; treasurer, John J. Mitchell. Calls at 
10:30 A. M. and 2:15 p. M. on stocks and bonds. The Chicago Stock Exchange 
made greater progress in 1890 toward becoming an institution of prime 
importance in the financial situation of Chicago and the West than it had 
made in all the previous years of its existence. Trading has been active, and 
interest in the market has been widespread. The total sales at the Stock 
Exchange for 1890 were 1,058,074 shares, against 145,725 in 1889, and $18,- 
268,600 bonds, against $19,029,500 in 1889. As Chicago ranks as the second 
city in the United States, the immensity of these operations are only second 
to those of Wall street, and many investors prefer to buy and sell the leading 
speculative stocks of Chicago in this exchange, as they are surer of finding 
quotations nearer actual values than if they sent their orders to the East, 
where the nature of Chicago properties are comparatively unknown. The 
Exchange building is devoted almost exclusively to the uses of bankers and 
brokers. The ground floor is occupied exclusively by bankers who have 
made a specialty of handling securities and documentary loans that represent 
corporations of great wealth. The arrangement of offices is peculiarly 
adapted to the quick despatch of business. 

Fruit Buyers' Association. A new organization formed by the wholesale 
fruit dealers of Chicago. Meets at the Produce Exchange. The object of 
the Association is to regulate the sale of California fruit, from ten to twenty 
car-loads of which arrive daily, representing in value from $10,000 to $20,- 
000. These fruits are disposed of at auction in two rooms. The rule laid 
down by the association is that each room shall begin the sale of fruits at 
9:30 in the morning on alternate days, and if the room whose turn it is to 
commence at 9:30 is not ready, the buyers shall proceed to the other room, 
when the sale ia to commence'. When one room has begun a sale, the other 
must not start in until the first is finished. One object of this rule is to have 



2(52 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

the sales concluded by nocm, instead of late in the afternoon, as formerly. 
Another object is to keep out an objectionable element that crowd ed the room. 
The fee for members is $25. The association is incorporated under the State 
laws. The following are the officers: President, J. F. Chacker.of Chacber 
Bros.; vice-preskient, J. D. Raggio, of J. D. Raggio & Co.; secretary, E. E. 
Connery, with M. Scanlon; treasurer, Samuel Page; trustees, Frank Cuneo, 
O. S. Edwards, Louis Boitano, S. H. Clapp and William Ostatag. 

Fruit and Vegetable Dealers' Association. Location of Exchange, 144 S. 
Water street. A prosperous and important association of merchants in ihe 
fruit and vegetable commission trade. Organized 1888. Officers for 1891: 
President, F. A. Thomas; vice-president, Robert A Burnett; treasurer. J. 
W. Sharp; secretary, Colonel Littler; executive committee, George W. Bar- 
nett, Charles B. Ayers, Henry A. Ott, Charles Wilmeroth, and F. A. Thomas; 
arbitration committee, J. W. Sharp, Edwin R. Baker, Richard Kemper, B. 
V. Emery, L. R. Ermeling, and George S. Sawyer. 

Lumbermen's Association of Chicago. This association was formed about 
April, 1891, from the three existing associations of lumber dealers the 
Lumbermen's Exchange, Chicago Lumber Yard Dealers' Association, and 
the Lumbermen's Association of Chicago. The new association may be said 
to be the successor of the Lumbermen's Exchange, the oldest of the associa- 
tions, incorporated March 31, 1869. The object of the Exchange is to advance 
the commercial character, and promote the general lumber interests of the 
City of Chicago and the Northwest, to inculcate just and equitable principles 
in trade, establish and maintain uniformity in the commercial usages of the 
city, acquire, preserve and disseminate valuable business information, and 
avoid and adjust, as far as practicable, the controversies and misunderstand- 
ings which are apt to arise between individuals engaged in trade when they 
have no acknowledged rules to guide them. Any person, firm or company, 
interested or engaged in thelumber trade, approved by the board of directors, 
may becomes member of the association by signing the rules and regulations 
and paying the annual dues. Ex-members of the Exchange on retiring from 
business, may, by vote of the board of directors, be allowed the privilref s of 
the Exchange rooms without fees. The officers are: W. W Scholtz, pres- 
ident; Geo. E. White, vice-president; E. E. Hooper, secretary; G. P. Soper, 
treasurer. The Exchange is located at 618 Chamber of Commerce Building. 

The lumber business of Chicago is immense. The figures used in estimat- 
ing it run away up into the billions. The water frontage used forjinloading 
lumber needs be computed by miles. The cars used to move the Chicago sup- 
ply to the demand are numbered by thousands. The 7nen engaged in the 
work would make an army. Them are about ten miles of water frontage in 
Chicago devoted to the lumber business. This frontage is principally on slips, 
and is mostly located on the south branch of the Chicago river. There is 
however, a great deal of lumber handled on the lake front. To these large 
lumber districts must be added the many small yards scattered about the city. 
Michigan furnishes about 70 per cent, of the lumber supply, which comes by 
lake. The other 30 per cent, comes from almost everywhere. California 
furnishes the redwood. This is principally valuable for its durability when 
exposed to moisture in tanks, etc. Yellow pine comes from the South. Its 
principal use is for inside finishing, and the demand is increasing. Poplar 
comes almost altogether from Indiana and the South, oak from the middle 
States, walnut from the South, from Indiana, and a little from other localities. 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 263 

Other Exchanges. AMERICAN LIVE STOCK ASSOCIATION, organized May, 
1888. Has paid two dividends since then. 186 per cent, on the capital stock 
in 1889 and 150 per cent, in 1890. CHICAGO COAL EXCHANGE, 635, 225 Dear- 
born; CHICAGO ANTHRACITE COAL ASSOCIATION, 203, 225 Dearborn; CHICAGO 
FLOUR AND FEED DEALERS' ASSOCIATION, 907 Royal Insurance Building; 
CHICAGO LIVE STOCK EXCHANGE, Union Stock Yards; CHICAGO MILK 
EXCHANGE, meets Fridays. 144 8. Water; CHICAGO OPEN BOARD OF TRADE, 
Open Board Building, 18-24 Pacific ave.; CHICAGO OPEN BOARD OF TRADE 
CLEARING HOUSE, OPEN Board of Trade Building; COMMERCIAL EXCHANGE, 
(Wholesale Grocers), 11-34 Wabash ave.; GRAVEL ROOFERS' EXCHANGE, 99, 
159LaSalle; INSTITUTE OF BUILDING ARTS, 63-65 Washington; NATIONAL 
ASSOCIATION OF LUMBER DEALERS, 35-92 La Salle; NATIONAL BUTTER, 
CHEESE AND EGG ASSOCIATION, 144 S. Water; NATIONAL PRODUCERS' AND 
SHIPPERS' ASSOCIATION meets monthly, 144 S. Water; PRODUCE EXCHANGE, 
144 S. Water, cor. Clark, telephone 5628; UNION STOCK YARD AND TRANSIT 
COMPANY, S. Halsted, cor. Thirty-ninth. 

DETECTIVE AGENCIES. 

In addition to the city detective force there are established in Chicago a 
number of private detective agencies, the most responsible of which are the 
following: 

Bonfield Detective Agency. Founded by John Bonfield, formerly Inspec- 
tor of the Chicago Police Department, located at 120, 122 and 124 La Salle 
street: John Bonfield, Principal; M. L. Bonfield, superintendent. 

Bruce Detective Agency. Robert Bruce, general superintendent; located at 
166 Randolph street. 

Hartman Detective Agency. George A. Hartman, superintendent; located 
at 128 South Clark street. 

International Detective Agency. C. A. Wallace, superintendent, 186 S. 
Clark street. 

Mooney & Boland Detective Agency. This is a stock company, organized 
under the laws of the State of Illinois. The officers of the Company, all of 
whom are stockholders, are: James Mooney, president; John Boland, 
vice-president; William J. Sutherland, sec'y and treas. Mr. Sutherland is also 
superintendent of the Chicago office, and Emil Sandmeyer ass't superintendent 
of the new organization. The Moony and Boland Detective Agency ranks 
among the most reliable and respectable concerns of the kind in the world 
It has branch offices in nearly every large city in the country. Some of the 
finest detective work, of a private as well as of" a public nature, ever presented 
here, has been done by this agency. Its connection with the " Boodler Cases" 
gave it an international reputation. 

Pinkertons' National Detective Agency. Founded by the late Allan Pinker- 
ton in 1850. William A. Pinkerton, general superintendent Western Division, 
191 and 193 Fifth Avenue, Chicago; Robtrt A. Pinkerton, general supejin- 
tendent Eastern Division, 66 Exchange Place, New York City. D. Robertson, 
assistant to general superintendent, Chicago; Frank Murray, superintendent of 
Chicago office; T. G. Conklin, assistant superintendent. Offices at St. Paul, 
Kansas City, Denver, Portland, Ore., New York, Boston and Philadelphia. 
This is the original Pinkerton National Detective Agency. 



264 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

Pinkertons' Protective Patrol. Founded by Allan Pinkerton, 1850. W. 
A. Pinkerton and Robert A. Pinkerton, principals. Chicago Station-house, 
191-193 Fifth Avenue, Patrick Foley, captain; J. H.Cleary, 1st lieutenant; 
George Hay, 2d lieutenant. 

Thiel's Detective Service. Chicago office, The Temple, corner of La Salle 
and Monroe. 8. H. Thiel, proprietor; T. E. Lonergan, general agent of 
Chicago; C. F. Newcome, general manager, St. Louis, C. E. Peterson 
general assistant manager; G. E. Ives, traveling manager. Offices: St., 
Louis, Mo., 700 and 702 Olive street, W. E. Giese, manager; Chicago, 111., 
Stock Exchange building, C. M. French, manager; New York, 82 and 84 
Nassau street, A. Cunz, manager; Kansas City, Mo., Sixth and Main streets, 
I. S. Hurst, manager; St. Paul, Minn., German American Bank building, 
J. H. Mason, manager; Denver, Col., Tabor block, T. F. Williams, manager; 
Portland. Ore.. Labbe's building, M. C. Sullivan, manager. With offices in 
the principal cities, from the Atlantic and Pacific, each under the direction of 
skilled and experienced managers; "with a large force of operatives, carefully 
selected from many nationalities and representing nearly every profession and 
vocation; with means of placing any needed force at any designated point 
promptly, and with a reputation for good work and fair charges to maintain, 
not earn, the service is one of the best in the country. 

Union Detective Association. J. H. Lobell, superintendent; 125 S. Clark 
street. 

Veterans' Police Patrol. John L. Manning, manager; located at 91 S. 
Clark street. 

EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS. 

The Educational Institutions of Chicago and its suburbs rank among the 
best in the United States. The new University of Chicago will be, when 
in full operation, one of the grandest institutions of learning in the world. 
The Northwestern University of Evanston holds a leading place among the 
higher colleges of the United States. The various universities, colleges, 
seminaries, academies, institutes, etc., are referred to below. 

Allen's Academy. Located at 2125-2253 Calumet ave. A high-class pre- 
paratory school for boys and girls having the sanction and support of such 
citizens as LymanJ. Gage, H. N. Higiubotham, E. T. Jeffery, George M. 
Pullman, Ferd W.Peck, Philip D. Armour, Thomas Dent,Charles B.Farwell, 
Thomas M. Hoyne, Charles P. Packer, John H. S. Quick, William E. Hale, 
A. F Seeberger, John V. Farwell, S.W. Allerton. Ira Wilder Allen, M. A., 
LL.D.,president,assisted by a large and efficient faculty. Only pupils of good 
moral character are desired, and each application for admission must bear the 
favorable endorsement of one or more of the directors or visitors, or satis- 
factory references to parents of pupils who have been or are now members of . 
the school. The average age of pupils entering the first class of the academic 
department is about twelve years. To make careful preparation for these 
academic courses, we have a preparatory department for boys and girls of six 
or seven to about eleven or twelve years of age. Terms per annum: Prepara- 
tory department, $100; academic department, first, second and midde classes, 
$200; academic department, junior and senior classes, $250; resident pupils, 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 265 

$560; for day pupils, payable semi-annully in advance, October 1st and Febru- 
ary 1st; for resident pup'ils, $300 at entrance September 18th, and $260 Febru- 
ary Igt. Where two or more pupils are from the same family a reduction is 
made. 

Chicago Athenmim.ln the iummer of 1890 this nonored institution, 
which has been justly called " The People's College," entered upon the most 
promising period of its history, at the opening of its Twentieth year. At that 
time the Board of Directors, composed of eome of the best known and most 
influential citizens, with Ferd. W. Peck, Esq , as president, secured a valu- 
able property 91 x97 feet at 18 to 26 Van Buren St., one of the choicest loca- 
tions in the city, which has been enlarged to a seven-story building and filled 
up in the most attractive style, with all desirable conveniences. The property 
was purchased for $200,000, besides which $90,000 have been expended in 
the improvements. Situated in the veiy heart of the city, close to the Art 
Institute, and in the same grand square on which the Auditoiium stands, it is 
destined to become a recognized educational center, and one of Chicago's 
most beneficent Institutions. The Athenaeum entered its new home in JVIarch, 
1891. From the date of its organization in October, 1871, its animating spirit 
has been philanthropic. Though a private corporation, it has always nibin- 
tained the Athenaeum solely for the public good, having been chartered as an 
institution not for pecuniary profit. The benefits that it has bestowed 
upon this city can not be overestimated. Open daily throughout the 
year, and five evenings a week for nine months of the year, with an 
able corps of twenty-nine teachers and a large list of studies all elect- 
iveyoung men and womerk may enter at any time, without examination, 
and receive the desired instruction at moderate cost- Here everything 
Is done by the superintendent and teachers, not only lo aid the pupils in the 
special branches that they have chosen but tostimulate a love for learning. Tc 
this end a well-chosen circulating library of good English liieratuie is main- 
tained, containing books of reference in the arts and sciences, and an opin 
reading-room with the daily and weekly papers, magazines and reviews. 
During the fall and winter lectures on popular science, literatuie aud 
applied art are given. In the same building an assembly hall has been 
provided, which will give tar better facilities for such instructive lec- 
tures. A room has been specially prepared to receive apparatus and 
chemicals for the illustration of lectures on natural philosophy and chem- 
istry. For the past fifteen years the Athenaeum has been closely allied with the 
Chicago Mechanics' Institute, organized in 1843, of which Geo. C. Prussinp, 
Esq., is president, and has done all its educational woik. The liberal 
advantages of the Institute are extended to indigent mechanics or their chil- 
dren, on written application, duly vouched for. Many a worthy young 
mechanic or citizen has thus secured, through the Athenaeum evening classes, 
such thorough instruction in mathematics and drawing as to gain for him 
promotion in his trade, as an intelligent and practical foreman or a master- 
builder. While the greater importance in this " People's College" is attached to 
the fundamental branches whose utility is everywhere acknowledged, valu- 
able service is also rendered to young women who desire to qualify them- 
selves for teachers in the public schools, or to pass the examination loi still 
higher grades, by giving them able instruction in advanced mathematics, 
physics and the natural science. Here also young men may reciive 
special instructions in science, the classics and Fiench, German or Spanish, lo 



266 GUIDE TO CHCAGO. 

enable them to enler any college in the land. The new " Atheraeurn 
Building" is a substantial and commanding edifice constructed of pnss-ed 
brick and stone. It is 91x97 feet and seven stories high. Special attention 
here is given to securing abundant light and good ventilation not onlj by 
meansof numerous broad windows, those in front beingplate glass, but through 
two large light-wells down through the entire building. A broad entrance and 
hallwith handsome marble pavement and side walls leads to two large electric 
elevators, the first of this kind introduced into Chicago, by W. E. Hale & Co., 
and to a broad iron and marble stairway leading to the seventh story. 
The upper story has been elaborately fitted up with sixteen or eighteen studios 
for the special accommodation of artists. The lifth and sixth floors are devoted 
to spacious and beautiful class-rooms, an assembly hall, library and reading- 
room, the business office and superintendent's private office. Other rooms 
below are occupied by literary, philanthropic and educational associations. 
A larger and finer " Athenaeum Hall," with a seating capacity of 400, has 
been opened on the second floor, and is often used for conceits ar.d lectures. 
With the exception of the broad entrance hall leading to the elevators, tbe 
entire first story and basement have been made into the most spacious and 
fairly -appointed Gymnasium in this city, with a height of 26 feet. The east 
half is devoted to the gymnasium proper, handsomely frescoed and furnished 
with the best apparatus that can be obtained. Thirteen feet above the floor 
is a suspended and well supported running track, 5 feet wide. The ceiling 
is finished in heavy hard wood panels, and admirably adapted for suspended 
rings, ladders, climbing ropes, etc. The west half is occupied by a splendid 
racket alley (or hand ball court), 65x23 feet, with cement walls; a plunge 
bath lined with English porcelain, 18x28 feet and 7 feet deep; fifteen shower 
baths and four porcelain tub bath rooms. Along the entire front runs one of 
the best standard bowling alleys, being partly under the sidewalk and well 
lighted. Thus generously equipped with apparatus, and with spacious and 
handsome educational departments, the Chicago Athenaeum is destined to 
become one of the most attractive institutions for mental and physical culture 
of any city in the land. The names of the officers and directors of the Chi- 
cago Athenaeum are a sufficient guarantee of its high standard and useful 
aims. Ferd. W. Peck, president; Wm. R. Page, first vice-president; Harry 
G. Selfridge, second vice-president; John Wilkinson, secretary and treasurer; 
Edward I. Galvin, superintendent in charge. Directors: Henry Booth, 
Franklin H. Head, Lyman J. Gage, Wm. J. Chalmers, Hugh A. White, Joseph 
Sears, Ferd. W. Peck, Chas. J. Singer, Wm. R. Page, A. C. Bartlett, J. J. 
P. Odell, Alex. H. Revell, John Wilkinson, Harry G. Selfridge, H. H. Kohl- 
saat, Gilbert B. Shaw. Under the guidance and government of these public- 
spirited citizens, this time-honored institution will ever keep in the line of 
progress, in promoting the interests of practical education. 

Chicago Kitchen- Garden Association. The Chicago Kitchen-Garden 
Association began its active labor in May, 1883, when the ladies connected 
with it received Normal instruction fiom a New York teacher. These ladies, 
realizing the important Mission of the Kitchen-Garden, called a general meet- 
ing of women, representing many churches of the city, and organized the 
Association. During the first two years the work of the Association was 
confined to classes in connection with various city missions. A schrol on 
Randolph street; one on Ashland avenue and 12th street, the Bethany, the 
Bethesda and the Central Church Missions, each had a class supported by the 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 267 

Association. In the first year the lady founders taught these classes, but later 
it was found more profitable to engage a responsible salaried teacher. About 
the middle of the third year (in (1886), a store on Clybourn Ave., under the 
Central Church Mission, was rented, and fully fitted up for a kitchen-garden 
and cooking school. A classroom, kitchen, dining-room and bedroom were 
partitioned off and furnished, and at last the Association controlled a place 
where they could carry out their complete course of instruction. During this 
year, some of the mission classes were given up, others added, and the first 
evening cooking classes for working girls were started. The success of this 
complete course of training at the Clybourn avenue school, proved by the 
.fact that older pupils taught here easily secured situations at domestic service, 
inspired the Board of Managers to process at once to a more advanced 
branch of this sort of instruction, *. e. , to start a training school for se'rvants. 
For two years, in addition to the work among young girls, the training school 
was effectually carried on. The Board of Managers was enlarged, other 
organizations enlisted in their behalf, housekeepers interested, and every 
effort made to achieve success. Although the Association managed always 
to raise money enough to defray the enormous cost of such an undertaking, 
though housekeepers sent their cooks, laundressi s and housemaids at their 
own expense for courses of lessons ; though the price of lessons was reduced 
to the minimum yet, in the very direction in which every energy was 
strained to make the work felt, it failed. The servants at large, of their own 
accord, would not patronize the school. It was an admission of incompetence 
to attend a training school, and if they so humbled their pride, they expected 
compensation in being able to demand increased wages: Meanwhile the 
Kitchen-Garden work waited. When the Training School should pay for itself, 
the Kitchen Garden department could hope for a larger share of the Associa- 
tion funds. The existing Kitchen Gardens were pushed on vigorously, but 
little new work could be added. When, in September, 1889, the sixth year 
commenced without the incubus of the Training School, the Managers felt 
that at last the Kitchen-Garden bad a chance to grow. When the Managers 
should recover from the tremendous pressure under which they had been 
struggling for two years, they would turn to the Kitchen-Garden with 
renewed energy. Preparations were made to start a completely equipped 
school on Wentworth avenue. In March, in reply to an application for per- 
mission to introduce cooking into one of the city public schools, the Associa- 
tion received the answer that they might occupy one room of the Huron 
Street School after school hours ; and now the Kitchen-Garden department 
felt that they were at last beginning to enjoy the reward of patience. 

The ladies have worked mainly in these three schools. Each year the 
number of pupils increases. The plan which the Kitclien-Garden Association 
pursues is as follows : girls over ten years of age are admitted to its classes. 
Pupils must begin with the Kitchen-Garden, and frequently they go twice 
through its course that the lessons may be thoroughly learned. Next they 
are promoted into practice with real rooms and furniture. Finally, when 
they are proficient in Kitchen-Garden work, and are twelve years old, they 
learn something about food and its proper use, and are taught simple cooking 
and every day economies. A comparison of the work of 1890 and 1891 with 
1889 and 90 shows : At Clybourn avenne in 1890, there were nine classes ad 
165 children ; 1891, twelve classes, 244 children. At Huron street, in 1890, 
there were seven classes, 112 pupils; in 1891, five classes, 75 pupils. At 
Wentworth avenue, 1890, there were six classes, 133 pupils; in 1891, six 



268 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

classes, sixty-seven pupils. Total number of classes, 1890, twenty -two ; 12 
1891, twenty-three ; pupils, 1890, 410 ; 1891, 386. In addition to the children 
is the clas? of young women which numbered sixteen, making a total of 40n 
pupils. The receipts for the year ending May 15, 1891, were $5,063 ; the 
disbursements, $4,897. The officers are: Presid'ent, Mrs. Henry Ives Cobb, 
390 Ontario street ; first vice-president, Mrs. J. R. Owen, 1902 Michigan 
avenue ; second vice-president, Mrs. Victor F. Lawson, 317 La Salle* avenue ; 
third vice-president, Mrs. H. H. Porter, 311 Erie street ; recording secretary. 
Mrs. C. G. Oarleton, 378 Erie street ; corresponding secretary, Miss E. W, 
Towner, 113 Cass street ; treasurer, Mrs. P. D. Johnston, 11 Scott street. 

Chicago Manual Training Schoqfc. Located at Michigan ave. and Twelfth 
st. Take State st. cable line. Founded by the Commercial Club of Chicago, 
and its history dates from the regular monthly meeting of that club held, 
March 25, \S82, at which time the necessary funds were subscribed, and a 
committee appointed to propose a plan for the organization of the school. 
The Chicago Manual Training Association was incorporated under the laws 
of the State of Illinois, April 19, 1883, and the control of the school was vested 
in a Board of Trustees, nine in number, elected by the Association. The lot 
on which the building stands was purchased March 28, 1883; the corner-stone 
was laid with appropriate ceremonies September 24, 1883, and the regular 
school exercises began February 4, 1884. The Junior class, only was organ- 
ized at that time, and consisted of seventy-two pupils, all thatcoujd be accom- 
modated. The dedicatory exercises were held June 19, 1884. The Middle 
class was organized September 1, 1884; the Senior class September 7, 1885. 
The first class was graduated June 24, 1886. In September, 1886, the capacity 
of the school was increased, and a Junior class numbering ninety six was 
admitted. The object of the school is clearly stated in the Articles of Incor- 
poration, as follows: " Instruction and practice in the use of tools, with suc- 
instruction as may be deemed necessary in mathematics, drawing and English 
branches of a high school course. The tool instruction as at present con- 
templated shall include carpentry, wood-turning, pattern-making, iron chip 
ping and filing, forge work, brazing and soldering, the use of machine shop 
tools , and such other instruction of a similar character as may be deemed 
advisable to add to the foregoing from time to time, it being the intention to 
divide the working hours of the students, as nearly as possible, equally 
between manual and mental exercises. The Board of Trustees consists of 
E. W. Blatchford, president; John M. Clark, vice-president; Marshall Field, 
treasurer; William M. Fuller, secretary; John W. Doane, Christopher Hot/,, 
Edson Keith, H. H. Porter, George M. Pullman. The teachers are: Henry H. 
Belfield, Ph. D., director; William R. Wickes, Harlow W.Eaton, physicsand 
history; Charles E. Boynton, chemistry and physiology; Honta Smalley, 
Latin; Earl B. Ferson, drawing; Frederick Newton Williams, drawing; G. 
Willis Ritchey, woodwork; J. W. Raymond, Jr., foundry and forge: S. J. 
Townsend, algebra; C. E. Depuy, machinist; Miss Clara E. Beefield, French 
teacher and secretary. 

JUNIOR YEAR 1. MatJiematics Algebra; Geometry. 2. Science Physi- 
ology. 3. Language English Language and Literature; or Latin. 4. 
Drawing Freehand Model and Object; .Projection; Machine; Perspective. 
5. Shoptoork Carpentry, Joinery, Wood-Turning, Pattern-Making, Proper 
Care and Use of Tools. 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 269 

MIDDLE YEAB 1. Mathematics Geometry; Plane Trigonometry. 2. 
Science Physics. 3. Language General History and English Literature, or 
Latin. 4. Drawing Orthographic Projection and Shadows ; Line and 
Brush Shading ; Isometric Projection and Shadows ; Details of Machinery ; 
Machines from Measurement. 5. Shopwork Molding, Casting ; Forging, 
Welding, Tempering; Soldering, Brazing. 

SENIOR YEAR 1. Mathematics Mechanics ; Book-keeping. 2. Science 
Chemistry and Physical Geography, or Descriptive Geometry and Higher 
Algebra. 3. Language, Etc. English Literature, Civil Government, Politi- 
cal Economy, or Latin or French. 4. Drawing Machines from Measure- 
ment ; Building from Measurement ; Architectural Perspective. 5. Machine 
Shopwork Chipping, Filing, Fitting, Turning, Drilling, Planing, Etc. 
Study of Machinery ; Management and care of Steam Engines and Boilers. 

Candidates for admission to the Junior year must be at least fourteen 
years of age, and must pass a satisfactory examination in Reading, Spelling, 
Writing, Geography, English Composition, Arithmetic, and History of the 
United States. Boys who have completed a grammar school course should 
have no difficulty in passing the examination for admission. A certificate of 
the completion of the first year's course in a reputable high school is accepted 
in lieu of examination. No boy will be admitted without a certificate of 
good moral character from some responsible person ; and no pupil will be 
retained who is an impediment to the progress, or an injury to the morals, of 
his classmates. The school year is divided into two terms of twenty weeks 
each, and begins on the First Monday of September. Tuition, payable by 
the term, is as follows : 

JUNIOR YEAR, per term, $40.00. Per year, $ 80.00 
MIDDLE YEAR, " 50.00. " 100.00 

SENIOR YEAR, " 60.00. 120.00 

To secure or retain a seat, tuition must be paid, or arrangements satisfac- 
tory to the Director made, not later than the first week of each term. A 
deposit of $5 is made by every pupil as an offset against possible damage to 
tools, apparatus, etc. This deposit is returned, less assessments, if any, 
when the pupil leaves school. Pupils furnish their own books, drawing 
instruments and material, aprons, overalls and pocket tools. Shop tools and 
material are provided by the school. The school does not furnish board or 
lodging, which may be obtained in the city or suburbs for $5 to $6 per week. 
The Director will assist non-resident pupils in obtaining homes. The cost of 
books is, for Junior Year, about $5 ; for Middle and Senior Years, about $6 
each. Drawing material and drawing instruments coat about $15 for the 
Junior Year ; about $5 for Middle and Senior Years, each. The founders of 
the school desire that its advantages may be enjoyed by boys who, by reason 
of age, scholarship, mechanical aptitude and good moral character, are fitted 
to enter the school, but who, from lack of means, hesitate to apply for 
admission. Provision has been made for the payment of the tuition of a 
limited number of such deserving boys, whose parents are invited to consult 
with the Director. School hours are from 9 A. M. to 3:30 p. M., with inter- 
missioii of thirty minutes from 1 o'clock. A warm lunch is provided at rea- 
sonable rates for those who desire it. 

Chicago Theological Seminary, situated on Union Park and Ashland 
boulevard, in the West Division of the city. 



270 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

The Chicago Theological Seminary was organized on the twenty-seventh 
of September, 1854, by delegates from the Congregational churches in Michi- 
gan, Indiana, Illinois, Iowa. Wisconsin and Missouri, was incorporated by 
the State of Illinois on the fifteenth of February, 1855, and began its work 
on the sixth of October, 1858. It has been from the first under the control 
of the churches of the Northwest, which, through the Triennial Convention, 
elect the directors. In this manner the Seminary is kept in close relation 
with the churches of its constituency. The Special Course, designed for 
men who have not had a classical training, but who have gifts justifying 
them in preparing for the ministry, was authorized by the original conven- 
tion, and a professor was appointed for it in 1869. The Foreign Departments, 
established to meet manifest and growing needs, were opened as follows: 
the German in 1882, the Dane-Norwegian in 1884 and the Swedish in 1885. 
The German Department is inclose connection with the German Seminary at 
Crete, Neb., and receives students from it year by year. The Swedish De- 
partment has the approval of many of the Swedish churches in this country, 
both among those which are independent and those which belong to the 
"Forbundet." The Dano-Norwegian Department has no ecclesiastical con- 
nections. It originaled in the suggestion of a banker in Chicago, a Norwe- 
gian by birth, who has rendered it pecuniary aid. 

THE FACULTY. Rev. Franklin Woodbury Fisk, D.D., LL. D., president, 
and Wisconsin professor of sacred rhetoric, residence, 532 West Adams 
street ; Rev. George Nye Boardman, D. D., LL. D., Illinois professor of 
systematic theology, residence, 641 Washington boulevard ; Rev. Samuel 
Ives Curtiss, Ph. D., D. D., New England professor of Old Testament litera- 
ture and interpretation and librarian, residence, 395 West Monroe street ; 
Rev. Giles Buckingham Willcox, D. D., stone professor of pastoral theology 
and special studies, residence, 512 Washington boulevard ; Rev. Hugh Mac- 
donald Scott, D. D,, Sweetser and Michigan professor of ecclesiastical his- 
tory, residence, 520 West Adams street ; Rev. George Holley Gilbert, Ph. D., 
Iowa professor of New Testament literature and interpretation, residence, 536 
Washington boulevard ; Joseph Rix Jones Anthony, instructor in elocution 
on the J. W. Scoville endowment, address 81 Ashland boulevard ; Rev. 
Edward Thomson Harper, Ph. D., instructor in the department of Old Tes- 
tament literature and interpretation, residence 465 Washington boulevard ; 
Rev. Caleb Frank Gates, instructor in the use of the English Bible and meth- 
ods of Christian work, residence 465 Washington boulevard ; Rev. John 
Edward Hermann, Ph. D., instructor in the German department, study, 45 
Waeren avenue ; Rev. Reinert August Jernberg, B. A., B. D., instructor in 
the Dano-Norwegian department, residence 734 Washington boulevard ; 
Rev. Otto Christopher Grauer, instructor in the Dano-Norwegian depart- 
ment, residence 478 North Robey street ; Rev. Fridolf Risberg, S. M. C., 
instructor in the Swedish department, residence, 26 Ogden avenue ; Rev. 
Magnus Egidius Peterson, instructor in the Swedish department, residence, 
50 Walnut street ; Rev. Marcus Whitman Montgomery, B. D., instructor in 
English in the Scandinavian departments, residence, 62 Park avenue; Rev. 
Charles Truman Wyckoff, B. D., instructor in sacred music. 

DORMITORY BUILDINGS. Fisk Hall, erected in 1889-90, was opened for 
occupancy in 1891. On the first floor are four large lecture rooms, profes- 
sors' studies, rooms for the president, secretary, and treasurer, a reception 
room and a parlor. In the basement are bath-rooms, and in the fif ih story 
is a gymnasium. The second, third and fourth floors contain ninety-seven 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 271 

suites of rio-ris for students, viz.: thirty-seven suites consisting each of a 
study and two bedrooms for two students, and sixty consisting each of a 
study and a bedroom for one student, in all providing accommodations for 
134 students. These suites of rooms, finished in hardwood, are furnished 
throughout in a uniform manner, with new, substantial and abundant furni- 
ture, including bedclothes and towels, and everything needed to render them 
comfortable and pleasant. These rooms, as also the other parts of the build- 
ing, are heated by hot water and lighted by gas, This building is occupied 
by students of the Regular and English courses. 

Keyes Hall contains, in addition to three lecture rooms, nineteen suits of 
rooms providing accommodations for thirty-eight students. 

Carpenter Hall, besides Carpenter Chapel, and two lecture rooms, con- 
tains nineteen suites of rooms for thirty-eight students. The rooms of these 
two buildings are furnished throughout with all needed furniture. 

The Hammond Library contains 11,000 volumes, and is increased by the 
addition of all valuable theological works as they appear. 

The library contains some rare and valuable special collections one on 
Egyptology, the gift of Rev. E. M. Williams, ar.d one on the Rise of Con- 
gregationalism, the gift of the Rev. P. W. Gunsaulus, D. D. The students 
have easy access also to the large public libraries of Chicago. The reading-room 
is supplied with the leading American and European reviews and religious 
papers. It is open daily from 8 A. M. to 9 P. M. 

directors, of which the officers are: President, E. W. Blatchford; vice-presi- 
dent, C. F. Gates; secretary, Rev. G. 8. F. Savage. 

THE FACULTY, ETC. The following is the faculty: Rev. Franklin Wood- 
bury Fisk, D. D., LL. D., president and Wisconsin professor of sacred 
rhetoric. Rev. George Nye Boardman, D. D., LL. D., Illinois professor of 
systematic theology. Rev. Samuel Ives Curtiss, Ph. D., D. D., New Eng 
land professor of Old Testament literature and interpretation and librarian 
Rev. Giles Buckingham Wilcox, D. D., Stone professor of pastoral theology 
and special studies. Rev. Hugh Macdonald Scott, D. D., Sweetser and 
Michigan professor of ecclesiastical history. Rev. George Holley Gilbert, 
Ph. D., Iowa professor of New Testament literature and interpretation. 
Rev. Gustav Adolph Zimmermann, Ph. D., instructor in the German depart- 
ment. Rev. Peter Christian Trandberg, instructor in the Dano-Norwegian 
department. Rev. Fridolt Risberg, S. M. C., instructor in the Swedish de- 
partment. Rev. David Nyvall, M. Ph. C., instructor in the Swedish 
department. J. R. J. Anthony, instructor in elocution on the J. W. Scoville 
endowment. Rev. Reinert August Jernberg, B. A., B. D., instructor in 
English in the Scandinavian departments. In addition to its other advantages 
the seminary has a library containing .9,400 volumes, furnishing adequate 
reference material for students The library is open eight hours each day, 
and the reading room attached to it is supplied with the leading American 
and European reviews and religious papers. Recently a handsome dormi- 
tory has been added to the seminary. It was foimerly opened at the close of 
1890. The new building is 125 feet by 150. The front portion is five stories 
and the rear portion four stories in height. The lower story contains four 
lecture rooms, parlor, reception room, offices and studies for professors. 
The npper stories are used entirely for a dormitory, and have accommoda- 
tions for 134 students. The main building faces Ashland ave., and there is 
a wine on Warren ave. and one in the rear. The total cost of the buildirg 
was $110,000. 



27xJ GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

De La Salle Institute. Opened for the reception of pupils September 7, 
1891; located northeast corner Wabash ave. and Thirty -fifth st. In charge of 
the Roman Catholic Order of Christian Brothers. Pupils of all creeds are 
admitted. The ground plan of the building is quadrangular in outline and 
has a total frontage of 259 feet. The building is constructed of pressed brick, 
with Portland stone facing. The entrance is on Wabash ave. The ground 
floor is apportioned into play-rooms and halls for gymnastic exercises. The 
first, second and third floors are devoted to recitation halls, class-rooms and 
the like. 

The curriculum of studies comprises commercial, scientific and classical 
courses, with all the branches that usually belong to these departments in the 
best American high schools. It includes religious instruction, arithmetic, 
reading and elocution, penmanship, composition and grammar, English 
literature, rhetoric, history and geography, mensuration, natural philosophy, 
algebra, geometry, trigonometry, surveying and navigation, book-keeping, 
telegraphy, stenography, type-writing, commercial law, commercial cor- 
respondence, Latin, Greek, German and French. 

Brother Adjutor and twelve associates opened their first school in this 
city in 1878 at St. Patrick's Church, on Desplaines street. The remarkable 
success of that institution and the success with which its graduates met in 
their battle through life was highly gratifying to the Christian Brothers. In 
1888 Brother Adjutor conceived the idea of erecting a magnificent building. 
He made known his desires, and many leading citizens, some of whom were 
adherents of a different faith than his, came to his assistance with contribu- 
tions. The corner-stone was laid with appropriate ceremonies by Archbishop 
Feehan on Sunday, May 19, 1889. Father Dorney delivered the address. A 
bazaar held at the institution in the latter part of May, 1891, netted a large 
sum, which was applied to the cost of the building. 

Hyde Park Conservatory. A high-class musical and dramatic art school; 
location Fifty-third street and Lake avenue (Hyde Park). The courses of 
study generally followed in first-class conservatories are observed here. 
Instruction on all modern musical instruments is given, as well as in elocution 
and stage business. Geo. W. Kelsey, director. 

Illinois Military Academy. Located at Morgan Park, a suburb of the city, 
situated on the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific railroad, thirteen miles from 
the City Hall. Take train at Van Buren Street depot, Van Buren and Sher- 
man streets. A boarding-school for young men , conducted on the West Point 
plan. The students are known as cadets and are uniformed. The course of 
instruction is thorough, and at the same time the physical powers are devel- 
oped by the exercises and drills for which the Academy is noted. Though 
it is a boarding-school, residents of the town can enjoy all its advantages and 
still have their sons board at home. The school building cost $40,000 and is 
situated on the hill and surrounded by a drill-ground of fifteen acres. 

Josephinum, The. Situated at Oakley avenue and Thompson street, in 
the northwestern section of the city. The institution is under the pastoral 
supervision of Father Thiele, of St. Aloysius Church . and under the immediate 
charge of Sister Superior Edward and the Sisters of Christian Chnrity. arr 1 is 
for the instruc'ion of young women. The course of study admits of tlie 
ordinary academic branches, together with a thorough course in practical 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 273 

housekeeping. The latter course is a new venture in the field of instruction 
and will be the principal feature of the school. Those attending will not 
only receive a thorough intellectual and Christian training:, but they will also 
master the culinary science. The .Tosepbinum is a beautiful structure and is 
surrounded by a broad expanse of prairie. The building and grounds cost 
$LOJ,0<JO. Tdere are accommodations for about seventy -five boarders and two 
hundred day pupils. 

Kenwood Institute for Young Ladies. Located at "Kenwood." Take 
Illinois Central train, foot of Randolph or Van Buren sts., or Cottage Grove 
ave. cable cars. The Institute is located on Lake ave. and Fiftieth St., and is 
in charge of Mrs. Helen E. Starrett, an accomplished woman and a writer of 
some celebrity. It was founded by Mrs. Kennicott, wife of Dr. Kennicott, 
in 1866, and has been a fashionable boarding-school for young ladies for 
several years. [See " Kenwood."] 

Lake Forest University. Located at Lake Forest, a suburb of Chicago, 
situated on the Milwaukee division of the Chicago & North-Western railway, 
twenty-eight miles from the city, on the north shore of Lake Michigan. 
Take train at Wells Street depot, Wells and Kinzie sts. , North Side. In 1853 
several prominent presbyterians of Chicago, feeling the need of an institu- 
tion where young men might be trained for the ministry, decided upon the 
establishment of a college. There was nothing of the kind nearer than Lane 
Seminary at Cincinnati, and the want seemed to be an imperative one. The 
scheme was carried through by the Rev. R. W. Patterson, D. D. , and Charles 
H. Quinlan, M. D., both residing at present at Evanston. A committee to 
look for a site had their attention directed to the present location by the Rev. 
Ira M. Weed, of Waukegan, who had been attracted by the beautiful situa- 
tion in a noble forest, 150 feet above Lake Michigan, intersected by deep 
ravines. 

An association, known as the Lake Forest Association, was formed in 
1856, $50,000 was subscribed, and 1,300 acres of land was purchased. Half 
of this, in alternate lots, was in 1859 deeded to the University which had 
been chartered by the Legislature, February 13, 1857. An Academy was 
begun in the winter of 1858, and continues to day in a flourishing condition. 
In 1869 Ferry Hall Seminary for young ladies was opened, and in 1876 the 
college began with its first class. 

The Academy is one of the finest classical schools in the West, and its 
graduates are fitted for Harvard and Yale as well as for the home college. 
Its courses, classical and scientific, cover four years. The Ferry Hall Semin- 
ary, in a building, which with its thorough equipment, has cost $115,000, furn- 
ishes an education for young women who do not care to attend college, 
graduating them as Bachelor of Letters at a point of attainment where if 
desired they can enter a sophomore class. Especial attention is given to 
physical culture. A gymnasium, has been fitted up with every variety of 
mechanical appliances for physical training. A competent instructor is in 
charge and all are required to take gymnastic exercise. In short, at Ferry 
Hall the pupils can have all the advantages of a home and of a first-class 
seminary. 



274 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

It was not till 1878 that the college entered upon its era of prosperity. 
Then the college hall was built at a cost of $30.000, and the college opened 
with a faculty of seven aqd fifty students. In 1886 Dr. Roberts was called 
to the presidency, and it is through his management that the college is coding 
to be recognized at home and abroad. Among other things he has raised 
$700,000 for the college and has caused new blood to be infused into the fac- 
ulty as well as into the board of trustees. During his presidency, also, the 
University has become a reality. Rush Medical College becoming a depart- 
ment in 1887, the Chicago College of Dental Surgery in 1890, and the Chicago 
College of Law in 1889, so that to-day the associate schools number 1.500 
students. In 1891 the finest gymnasium in the West was put up at a cost of 
$30,000, and its fine equipment makes it one of the most attractive features of 
the University. Nearly completed is the Durand Art Building, a handsome 
structure of red sandstone, three stories high. The cost has been $60,000 
given by Mr. and Mrs. H. C. Durand, of Lake Forest. This building will 
contain an art gallery, a biological laboratory, and the college auditorium to 
seat 600. 

The University has in use to day for school purposes twelve buildings 
at Lake Forest, valued at $310,000, on 65 acres of inalienable parks worth 
$85,000. It owns in addition forty acres of salable town lots worth $25,000. 
The interest-bearing endowment funds amount to $600,000, in addition to 
which there is $65,000 in scholarship funds. 

The College faculty number fifteen, that of the Academy seven and that 
of Ferry Hall fifteen. There are 113 students in the college, and 267 in the 
other two schools. 

Lewis Institute. The late Allen C. Lewis left a bequest in the nature of 
a fund to be used in the establishrneijt of a technical school- of the highest 
order. The buildings of the Institute are to be erected on the property at 
Van Buren and Morgan streets, West Side. The property is 165x201 feet, 
the longer frontage being on Van Buren street. Title goes from O. W. Bar- 
rett to James Adsit, Hugh A. White, and Henry F. Lewis, trustees of the 
Lewis estate. The consideration is about $100,000. Thefund now amounts 
to more than $1,000,000, to be expended, if Mr. Lewis' wishes are followed, 
about as follows: Two hundred and fifty thousand for land and buildings, 
$50,000 for books and apparatus, and $500,000 for a sustaining fund. Now 
that the fund has swollen to greater proportions by one third than Mr. Lewis 
had anticipated, the project is in even better shape than he thought it would 
be at the time fixed by him. This was 1885, as Mr. Lewis directed that the 
fund should be allowed to increase until that date, or until it reached $800,- 
000. While no plans have yet been drawn it is known that the building, to 
be a structure of few stories, will coverall the ground. The Institute will be 
patterned in a general way after the Girard College, or the Massachusetts 
Institute of Technology. As Mr. Lewis wished the Institute to include 
reading-rooms, courses of lectures, and day and night schools for young 
men and women, these features will undoubtedly be incorporated in the 
project. 

McCormick Theological Seminary. Located on North Halsted street, 
between Belden and Fullerton avenues. North Side ; take Lincoln avenue 
cars. North Side cable line. This widely known and successful school of 
sacred learning, organized by the Presbyterian Church for the distinct purpose 
of training young men to preach the Gospel, was permanently established at 
Chicago in the year 1859, in consideration mainly of a donation of one hun- 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 275 

dred thousand dollars, made to the General Assembly of that year by the late 
Cyrus H. McCormick, on condition of Chicago's being chosen as the loca- 
tion. Prior to this date, however, the institution had passed through an 
important history connecting it with two other localities and extending as far 
back as the year 1830. It was first organized at Hanover, Indiana, in 1830, as a 
department of the Hanover College, where it was taught for ten years, under 
the instruction of Rev. John Matthews, D. D.. and others, during which time 
forty five students were educated for the ministry. In 1840 this Theological 
Department was removed by the Synods in charge of it, and re-established as 
a separate theological seminary at New Albany, Indiana, with the title of 
the "New Albany Theological Seminary," and at this place it continued for 
seventeen years, under the instruction of Dr. Matthews and Dr. James Wood 
till the death of the foimer, and then under Drs. MacMaster, Stewart, 
Thomas and Lindsley. During this second period 147 students were edu- 
cated. In 1859, by the concurrent action of its Board of Directors, and of the 
seven Northwestern Synods then controlling the seminary at New Albany, 
the school was transferred to the General Assembly of the whole Church. 
The Assembly having received Mr. McCormick's offer, fixed upon Chicago as 
the most fitting place for the " Seminary of the Northwest," and at once 
appointed a new- Board of Directors and a new faculty to open the school at 
Chicago, under that wider designation. The professors, appointed by the 
Assembly, Drs. N. L. Rice, Willis Lord, L. J. Halsey and W. M. Scott, were 
inaugurated in October, 1859, and with fifteen students in attendance, this 
much traveled institution entered upon its third and now more hopeful term 
of service. About the time of this opening the broad and beautiful grounds 
on which the seminary buildings now stand were donated to the institution by 
four public-spirited citizens of Chicago twenty acres by Messrs. William B. 
Ogden and Joseph E. Sheffield, and five acres by Messrs. William Sill and 
Michael Diversej\ At the date of the gift, this ground wasvalued at one 
thousand dollars per acre. Now it is probably worth fifteen or twenty times 
as much. The first building on the grounds, now known as the "Ewing 
Hall, "was erected in 1863, and contains thirty-five rooms for students, a 
reading room and a refectory. The second building was erected in 1875, con- 
taining chapel, library and two lecture rooms. The third, McCormick Hall, 
was erected in 1884, containing fifty-one suites of rooms for students, a parlor 
and a faculty office. The fourth public building, Fowler Hall, was erected 
in 1887, and contains sixty-one suites of rooms for students, and two lecture 
rooms. Besides these, five houses for professors have been erected since 
1882. 

BUILDINGS. This fine group of educational buildings, all of brick and 
stone, and all artistically arranged on a spacious campus of grass plots, trees 
and graveled walks, constitutes an attractive feature to the eye of the visitor, 
and makes the seminary an ornament to the cfly. Both in its outward adorn- 
ments and in the completeness of all its internal arrangements, this seminary 
is probably not excelled by any similar institution in our country. These 
four public edifices, including the five residences of the professors, represent 
an outlay of $315,000, of which $285.000 were contributed by Mr. Cyrus H. 
McCormick and his family. But in addition to this large outlay on buildings, 
Mr. McCormick, prior to his death, which occurred in 1884, had also, in addi- 
tion to his original gift, contributed to the endowment funds of the seminary 
the sum of seventy-five thousand dollars. And after his death, his son, 
Cyrus H. McCormick, Jr., and Mrs. McCormick followed up these great 



276 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

gifts, in 1885, with the further munificent donation of one hundred thousand 
dollars. In consideration of a liberality so long continued and so unusual, the 
Board of Directors and the Board of Trustees of the Seminary took concurrent 
action in 1886, asking the General Assembly to so amend the constitution of 
the Seminary as to^change the name of the institution from its old title of 
"Theological Seminary of the Northwest " to that of "TheMcCormick Theo- 
logical Seminary of the Presbyterian Church." This measure, adopted by a 
unanimous vote in the two Seminary Boards, was also adopted in the Gen- 
eral Assembly of 1886 by a vote almost unanimous. 

LIBRARY. The library of the Seminary contains about 10,000 volumes, 
mostly of standard theological works. With the ample accommodations in 
the way of buildings and the increased facilities for study secured during the 
last five or six years, the number of students in attendance has had a large and 
steady increase. From less than fifty, the roll of the three classes has gone 
up with each year until it reaches one hundred and ninety-six, the number 
now in the institution. The present faculty consists of eight instuetors, all 
of whom except one have been inducted into their chairs since 1880; and the 
large increase of students is no doubt largely due tothenewlife and vigor 
which they have infused into their work. The present teaching force of the 
institution is as follows: 

FACULTY. Rev. LeRoy J. Halsey, D. D., LL.D., Professor Emeritus of 
Church Government and the Sacraments; Rev. Willis G. Craig, D.D., LL. D., 
Cyrus H. McCormick, Professor of Didactic and Polemic Theology; Rev. 
David C. Marquis, D. D., Professor of New Testament Literature and 
Exegesis; Rev. Herrick Johnson, D. D., LL.D., Professor of Sacred Rhetoric 

and Pastoral Theology; Professor of Old Testament Literature 

and Exegesis; Rev. John Di-Witt, D. D., LL.D., Professorof Apologetics and 
Missions; Rev. Andrew C. Zenos, D. D., Professor of Biblical and Ecclesi- 
astical History; Rev. Augustus S. Carrier, Adjunct Professor of Biblical 
Philology. 

TUITION CHARGES. This Seminary charges students no fee whatever 
tuition, use of Library and of furnished rooms being entirely free. Con- 
venient day board may be obtained at from $,00 to *3.50 per week. Wash- 
ing 60 cents per dozen. The charge to each studen' Jar steam heat is $12.00, 
and for gas $4.00. Deserving studentc, whoce circumstances require it, 
receive aid to fc limited extent from the scholarships of the Seminary and from 
special funds contributed for this purpose. Students needing aid should ' 
apply first to the Board of Education through their Presbyteries. If the 
Board's Scholarship should prove insufficient an additional sum will be 
granted from the scholarship funds of the Seminary. But the aggregate 
amount received from both sources shall not exceed $200.00. The session 
for study is seven months. This^eaves a continuous vacation of five months, 
during which period, students have no difficulty in finding useful and remu- 
nerative employment in Mission work. Stated preaching, during the term, 
is forbidden by the rules of the Faculty, and occasional preaching must not 
interfere with required Seminary work. 

STUDENTS ADMITTED. This institution is open to students of all denom- 
inations of Christians. Its object is the thorough training of young men for 
the ministry of the Gospel. The requisites of admission are a consistent 
Christian profession in connection with some Evangelical Church, and a reg- 
ular course of collegiate study. Where a full collegiate course has not been 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 277 

pursued, a special recommendation is required from the Presbytery. Each 
student should bring a letter of church standing from his Pastor or Session, 
aid also hia College Diploma or other testimonial of scholarship. When 
students come from other Theological Seminaries, they must bring evidence 
of an honorable dismission. Testimonials should be furnished on-applying 
for admission. 

Morgan Park Female Seminary. Located at Morgan Park, a suburb of 
Chicago, situated on the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific railroad, thirteen 
miles from the Court-house. Take train at Van Buren Street depot, Van 
Buren and Sherman sts. This institution was formerly known as the 
Chicago Female Seminary. It is located opposite the "Illinois Military 
Academy in a natural grove, and cost $30,000. Dr. Gilbert Thayer, its presi- 
dent, has so looked after the welfare of those committed to his charge that 
each year the institution has grown and improved till it now ranks with the 
best in the country. Besides pupils from Cook county and Illinois, there are 
numbers from other States. 

Morgan Park Theological Seminary. Located at Morgan Park, a suburb 
of Chicago, on the line of the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific railroad, thir- 
teen miles from the city. Take train at Van Buren Street depot, Van Buren 
and Sherman sts. The Baptist Theological Union founded the Seminary 
here in 1877, having ben granted a tract of five acres by the citizens. Imme- 
diately a $30,000 building was erected. Within the last two years there have 
been added a spacious library, costing $15,000, and well stocked with a collec- 
tion of 35,000 volumes. Blake Hall, a beautiful structure, containingthe chapel, 
professors' rooms and recitation rooms, has also lately been added at a cost of 
$35,000. The seminary is benevolent in its character and the largest institution 
of its kind in the United States. The course of study is three years, which 
is free to the students. All it costs them is living expenses, which by 
system is reduced to minimum. The course of study is most thorough, 
and the college offers unexcelled facilities for research into biblical literature, 
church history, homiletics and systematic theology. The graduates of 
Morgan Park Theological Seminary are to-day filling many of the best pulpits 
in the land. It has a Dano-Norwegian department and a Swedish depart- 
ment, and now many of the regular students are from foreign countries. 
The faculty contains such names as George W. Northrup. D. D., LL. D., 
president; James R. Boise, D. D., LL. D.; B. Hulburt, D. D. The latter 
was a short time ago offered the presidency of Colgate University, formerly 
Madison University, of Hamilton, N. Y., but refused, that he might continue 
his life-work begun at Morgan Park. [See Uuiversity of Chicago.] 

Northwestern Oratorical League. The leading universities of the North- 
west have combined to form the Northwestern Oratorical League, providing 
for an annual contest, to be held at each college in rotation the first Friday in 
May. These colleges are the Northwestern University, of Evanston; Mich- 
igan University, of Ann Arbor; Oberlin, Ohio; and Wisconsin State Uni- 
versity, of Madison, Wis. An executive committee, consisting of president, 
secretary and treasurer of the league has charge of the business details. They 
also are empowered to select the six judges of contest, three of whom grade 
composition and thoughts, and three judge the delivery. In addition to 
specifying an impartial selection of judges, each college association may 
^remove two on protest. The prizes are of $100 and $50 each . 

The method of selecting contestants is left to the decision of each college 
association . At Northwestern the contestants will probably be selected from 
the junior and senior classes by a series of preliminary contests. 



278 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

Northwestern University. An institution under the control of the Meth- 
odist Episcopal church, but entirely unsectarian in its government and admin- 
istration, was chartered January 28, 1851. The seat of the college of liberal 
arts, the academic department, and the college of music, oratory and theol- 
ogy is at Evanston, a village of 10,000 inhabitants, twelve miles north of 
Chicago, on the shore of Lake Michigan. Take Northwestern train (Mil- 
waukee division) at Wells Street depot, Wells and Kinzie sts., or Chicago, 
Milwaukee & St Paul train (Evanston division) at Union depot, Adams and 
Canal ats. Trains run at brief intervals through the day. Excursion tickets 
60 cents. Visitors may in the course of a morning or afternoon make a trip 
to Evanston, giving abundant opportunity for an inspection of the grounds 
and buildings of the University. The most noteworthy of the buildings of the 
Evanston departments of the University are the following: University Hall, 
Science Hall, the Gymnasium, Heck Hall, Memorial Hall, the new Dormi- 
tory, the Swedish Seminary, the Dearborn Observatory. These buildings 
are all on the campus of the University. A short distance west of the 
campus are the following buildings: Woman's College, College cottage, and 
the Norwegian-Danish Theological Seminary. The colleges of medicine, law, 
pharmacy, and dentistry are located in Chicago, in proximity to the hospitals 
and the courts of law. The first president of the University was Rev. Dr. 
Clark T. Hinman. The complete list of presidents up to date is as follows: 
1853-1856, Rev. C. T. Hinman, D. D.; 1856-1860, Rev. R. S. Foster, D. D., 
now Bishop Foster; 1869-1872, Rev. E. O. Haven, D. D.; 1872-1881, Rev. 

C. H. Fowler, D. D., now Bishop Fowler; 1881-1890, Rev. Joseph Cumming? 

D. D. ; Henry Wade Rogers, LL. D., the present incumbent, was elected to 
the presidency in the summer of 1890. 

COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS. The College of Liberal Arts is the center of 
the entire University system. This department, located at Evanston, offers 
courses of study leading to the following degrees: A. B. Ph. B., B. S., B. L. 
The requirements to admission to these courses are as follows: 

REQUIREMENTS FOR ADMISSION: Candidates for admission must be at 
least sixteen years of age, and must present satisfactory evidence of good 
moral character. 

ADMISSION OF CANDIDATES FOR A DEGREE: A student desiring to become 
a candidate for a degree, unless admitted by a certificate from an accredited 
school, must pass examination in some one of the groups of subjects described 
below. 

FOR THE DEGREE OF BACHELOR OF ARTS: Candidates for admission will 
be examined in the following subjects: 

1. English Language, Grammar, Elementary Rhetoric. 

2. English Literature. The examination in 1892 will be in the following 
works: Shakespeare's Julius Caesar, Scott's Ivanhoe, Hawthorne's House of 
the Seven Gables and Longfellow's Evangeline. Those who do not bring satis- 
factory certificates will be asked to write an essay on any one of the above 
works. The essay must show familiarity with the plot, incidents and char- 
acters of the work, and be correct in spelling and expression. 

For 1893: Shakpeare's Julius Caesar and Twelfth Night, Scott's Mar- 
mion, Longfellow's Courtship of Miles Standish, the Sir Roger de Coverly 
Papers in the Spectator, Macaulay's second Essay on the Earl of Chatham, 
Emerson's American Scholar, Irving's Sketch Book, Scott's Ivanhoe and 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 279 

Dickens' David Copperfield. For 1894: Shakespeare's Julius Csesar and 
Merchant of Venice, Scott's Lady of the Lake, Matthew Arnold's Sohrab and 
Rustrun, the Sir Roger de Coverly Papers in the Spectator, Macaulay's second 
Essay on the Earl of Chatham, Emerson's American Scholar, Irving's Sketch 
Book, Scott's Abbott, Dickens' David Copperfield. 

3. History Smith's Smaller History of Greece; Smith's Smaller History 
of Rome; Johnston's History of the United States. 

4. Geography Political Geography, Ancient and Modern ; and Hous- 
ton's Physical Geography. 

5. Physics First five chapters of Avery's Elements of Natural Philoso- 
phy. 

6. Human Anatomy and Physiology Martin's Human Body (Briefer 
Course. 

7. Mathematics Arithmetic: Loomis's or Wells's College Algebra, 
through Radicals and Quadratics; Plane Geometry. 

8. Latin Grammar (including Prosody); Caesar's Commentaries, four 
books; Cicero, six orations; Vergil, Bucolics, and six books of the ^Eneid; 
the translation, at sight, of passages from Csesar or Cicero; Jones's Latin 
Composition, or an equivalent. 

9. Greek Grammar; Xenophon's Anabasis, three books; Homer's Iliad; 
three books; Jones's Greek Composition. 

FOR THE DEGREE OF BACHELOR OP PHILOSOPHY. Candidates for admis- 
sion will be examined in the following subjects: 

1. English Language Grammar; Elementary Rhetoric. 

2. English Literature. The same requirements as candidates for the 
degree of Bachelor of Arts. 

3. History History of Greece; History of Rome; Johnson's History of 
the United States. 

4. Geography Political Geography, Ancient and Modern; and Hous- 
ton's Physical Geography. 

5. Physics First five chapters of Avery's Elements of Natural Philoso- 
phy- 

6. Human Anatomy and Physiology Martin's Human Body (Briefer 
Course). 

7. Mathematics Arithmetic, Loomis's or Well's College Algebra, 
through Radicals and Quadraiics; Plane Geometry. 

8. Latin Grammar (including Prosody): Caesar's Commentaries, four 
books; Cicero, six orations; Vergil, Bucolics, and six books of the ^Eneid; 
the translation, at sight, of passages from Csesar or Cicero; Jones' Latin Com- 
position. 

9. German or French. German Joynes-Meissner's Grammar, part I.; 
Joynes' Reader; von Hillern's Holier als die Kirche; Uliland's Ballads. 
French Edgren's Grammar ; Super's Reader ; Daudet's Coutes Choisis, 
Halevy's L'Abbe Constantin, or equivalent. 

FOR THE DEGREE OF BACHELOR OF SCIENCE. Candidates for admis- 
sion will be examined in the following subjects : 

1. English Language Grammar; Elementary Rhetoric. 

2. English Literature. The same requirement as for candidates for the 
degree of Bachelor of Arts. 

3. History Johnston's History of the United States. 

4. Geography The applicant must be prepared in Physical Geography, 
and be able to draw an outline map of any country or state, and loo rite therein 
the principal towns, rivers, and mountaiiis. 



280 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

5. Physics Avery's Elements of Natural Philosophy entire. 

6. Human Anatomy and Physiology Martin's Human Body (Briefer 
Course.) 

7. Zoology Packard's Elements of Zoology. 

8. Botany Gray's Lessons, and the ability to analyze common flowering 
plants; an Herbarium of fifty species. 

9. Mathematics Arithmetic (familiarity with the metric system of 
weights and measures required); Loomis's or Well's College Algebra, through 
Radicals and Quadratics; Plane Geometry. 

10. Astronomy Young's Elements. 

11. Latin Jones's Latin Lessons, and two books of Cresar's Commen- 
taries. 

12. German Joynes' Meissner's Grammar, part I, (or equivalent); Joy- 
nes' Reader; von Hillern's Hoher als die Kirche; Uhland's Ballads. 

13. French Whitney's French Grammar, and selections of standard 
prose and poetry not less in quantity than four hundred pages. 

14. Drawing Elements of Free Hand and Geometrical Drawing, such 
a knowledge of the subject as may be gained by practice under instruction 
one hour a week through the year. Candidates may offer Chemistry in place 
of one of the three language requirements, viz. : Latin, French, German. 
Those availing themselves of this substitution will be expected to complete 
the full amount of French and German prescribed for the degree. The 
Chemistry should be equivalent to Remsen's Briefer Course, or Clarke's or 
Shepard's Elements, and should include laboratory work. As evidence of 
the latter, the student's original note-book should be presented with the 
instructor's certificate. 

For tfie Degree of Baclielor of Letters. Candidates for admission will be 
examined on the following subjects : 

1. English Language Grammar, Elementary Rhetoric. 

2. English Literature The same requirements as for candidates for the 
degree of Bachelor of Arts. 

3. History History of Greece, History of Rome, Johnston's History of 
the United States, Montgomery's History of England. 

4. Geography Political (Barnes' Common School) and Houston's Physi- 
cal Geography. 

5. Physics Avery's Elements of Natural Philosophy, Dynamics, Elec- 
tricity and Magnetism. 

6. Human Anatomy and Physiology Martin's Human Body (Briefer 
Course). 

7. Botany Gray's Manual of Botany. 

8. Mathematics Arithmetic; Loomis's or Wells's College Algebra, 
through Radicals and Quadratics; Plane Geometry. 

9. Latin, French or German. Candidates may offer either Latin, French 
or German. The requirement is supposed to represent the work of two years, 
and in each language is as follows : 

Latin Jones' Latin Lessons, four books of Caesar's Commentaries, with 
Latin Composition based on Caesar's vocabulary and idioms; two orations of 
Cicero and two books of Virgil's ^Eneid, or satisfactory equivalents. 

French First year. Edgren's Grammar ; Super's Reader ; Daudet's 
Coutes Choisis ; Halevy's L'Abbe Constantin (or equivalents ; Grandgent's 
French Composition, based on Super's Reader. 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 281 

Second year. Super's Readings from French History; L'Ami Fritz (or 
equivalent); Lacombe's Petite Histoire du Peuple Francais; Hugo's Hernani 
or Ruy Bias; Grandgeut's French Composition, based on L'Abbe Constantin. 

German First year. Joynes-Meissner's Grammar, Part I. (or equiva- 
lent); Joynes' Reader; von Hillern's Holier als die Kirche; Uhland's Ballads. 

Second year. Schiller's Ballads, Wilhelm Tell; Lessing's Minna von 
Bornhelm; Goethe's Egmont; Joynes-Meissner's Grammar, Part III. 

10. The elements of one of the following sciences. The requirement in 
each subject is equivalent to the work of one year, and is as follows : 

Botany Gray's Manual of Botany. 

Chemistry The Chemistry should be equivalent to Remsen's Briefer 
Course, or Clark's or Shepard's Elements, and should include laboratory work. 
As evidence of the latter the student's original note-book should be presented 
with the instructor's certificate. 

Zoology Packard's Elements of Zoology. * 

SELECTED STUDIES. Students who do not seek a degree are permitted to 
attend recitations and lectures under the following conditions: 

1. The candidate must first enter the College of Liberal Arts by passing 
one of the entrance examinations. This rule, however, may be waived by 
action of the Faculty in rare cases in the interest of students of special ability 
and maturity. 

2. Each Professor will judge of the fitness of applicants to pursue special 
branches in his department. 

3. Unless specially excused, special students will be required to con- 
form to the same rules of order as regular students such as attendance upon 
prayers, public worship and rhetorical exercises. 

Students who have pursued selected studies with success for at least six 
terms are entitled to a certificate. 

Those who desire to pursue selected studies with the view of ultimately 
entering the Medical School are recommended to pass the entrance examina- 
tion for candidates for the degree of Bachelor of Science. 

EXAMINATIONS. The regular days of examination for admission to the 
College of Liberal Arts are the Monday next before Commencement and the 
Tuesday next before the opening of the College year. The first regular 
examination for the year 1892 will beheld on June 20th, and the second on 
September 15th. Candidates may be examined and admitted at other times; 
they are advised, however, to enter at the beginning of the year. Candi- 
dates for admission should be at least sixteen years of age and must present 
testimonials of good moral character. 

Candidatesfor advanced standing are not admitted later than January of 
the year in which they expect to graduate. All students from other Colleges 
must present evidence of honorable Qismission, and must give satisfactory 
proof of preparation; for the classes which they desire to enter. 

Candidates for admission are requested to bring from their teachers cer- 
tificates giving in detail the amount and grade of their preparatory work. 
Blanks of the desired form will be supplied by the University on application. 
These certificates will receive due credit in determining the proficiency of the 
candidate. Graduates of accredited Academies and High Schools who pre- 
sent certificates showing satisfactory standing in studies required for admis- 
sion to College will be admitted without examination, but such certificates 
will not be accepted for studies pursued in the College courses. 



282 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

Near the middle of the first term a special examination is appointed as a 
test of the preparation of students provisionally admitted. Students who are 
admitted by certificate are notconsidered matriculated until they have main- 
tained satisfactory standing in their classes for one term. 

COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS. Faculty : Henry Wade Rogers, LL.D., presi- 
dent ; Daniel Bonbright, LL. D., professor of Latin ; Oliver Marcy, LL. D., 
professor of natural history ; Julius F. Kellogg, A. M., professor of mathe- 
matics ; Herbert F. Fisk.'D. D. , prof essor of pedagogics; Robert L. Cum- 
nock, A. M., professor of rhetoric and elocution ; Robert Baird, A. M., pro- 
fessor of Greek ; Charles W. Pearson, A. M. , professor of English literature ; 
Robert D. Sheppard, D. D., professor of history and political ecorfomy ; 
Abrain V. E. Young, Ph. B., professor of chemistry; Charles 8. Cook, B. 
S., professor of Physics ; George W. Hough, A. M., professor of Astronomy; 
James Taft Hatfield, Ph. D. , prof essor of "German ; Eliakim H. Moore, Ph. 
I)., associate professor of mathematics, Charles B. Atwell, Ph. M., professor 
of natural history ; George A. Coe, Ph. D., acting professor of philosophy ; 
Emily F. Wheeler, acting professor of romance languages ; George H. Hors- 
weU, Ph. D., assistant professor of Latin and Greek ; William E. Smyser, B. 
A., instructor in English ; P. S. Stollhofen, Ph. D., instructor in French and 
German; John A. Scott, A. B.. instructor in Greek ; George W. Schmidt, 
Ph. B., instructor in German ; Francis A. Walker, LL. D., lecturer on Fi- 
nance; Carroll D. Wright, A. M., lecturer on statistics; Albert Shaw, Ph. D., 
lecturer on government of cities; Edward W. Bemis, Ph. D., lecturer on 
economics ; Franklin H. Giddings, Ph. D., lecturer on sociology. 

WOMAN'S COLLEGE. Northwestern University is a co-educational insti- 
tution. In 1873 the trustees of the University purchased the grounds, 
buildings and apparatus of the " Evanston College for Ladies," forthepurpose 
of combining and making available all tbc special means and advantages of 
both institutions for the college education of women. Young women are 
admitted to all the undergraduate departments and to all the professional 
schools with the single exception of the College of Medicine. The Woman's 
College, a large brick structure completely equipped, is> located on ground 
of its own, about three minutes' "walk from the University campus in Evan- 
ston. To accommodate the many young ladies who desire to secure an edu- 
cation at a cost somewhat less than the regular rates, the ' ' College Cottage," 
a brick building near the Woman's College, has been erected. The young 
ladies in this building have charge of a large share of the domestic arrange- 
ments, and expenses are thereby greatly reduced. Co-educalion has been 
found to work successfully at Northwestern, and experience shows the 
ladies to be in every respect the equals of the young men in college work. 

PREPARATORY SCHOOL. Owing to the lack of good secondary schools 
the University found it necessary many years ago to establish its own pre- 
paratory department. In this school the advanced grade of scholarship 
which the University seeks to maintain may be begununder the direct super- 
vision of the authorities of the University. The number of students in the 
preparatory departments has steadily grown until during 1890 there were 
nearly 700 students in attendance, an increase of 100 per cent, in about 
four years. The graduates of this department pass, in general, to the 
Freshman Class of the College of Liberal Arts, but many here complete their 
preparations for Eastern colleges. The applicant should be at least thirteen 
years of age, and must have such proficiency as to be able in one term to 
complete Geography, and in two terms to complete Arithmetic and English 



ME ENCYCLOPEDIA. 283 

grammar. Faculty: Rev. Herbert F. Fisk, D. D., principal ; Rev. Joseph 
L. Morse, A. M., assistant principal ; Charles B. Thwing, A. M., instructor 
in physics ; Ada Townsend, A. B., .instructor in Latin ; Charles H. Gordon, 
M. S., instructor in natural history ; George W. Schmidt. Ph. B., instructor 
in German ; Henry Benner, M. S., instructor in mathematics ; John A. Scott, 
B. A., instructor in Greek ; Charles H. Zimmerman, B. A., instructor in 
Latin ; Effie K. Price, A. B., instructor in English ; Louise Pearsons, A. B., 
instructor in mathematics ; Arthur H. Wilde, A. B., B. D., instructor in 
Latin ; John A. Walz, instructor in French ; Zuba E. Ferguson, instructor in 
drawing. 

GARRETT BIBLICAL INSTITUTE. The faculty is as follows: Rev. Henry 
B. Ridgaway, D. D., LL. D., president; Rev. Miner Raymond, D. D., LL. D.; 
Rev. Charles F. Bradley, D. D.; Rev. Milton 6. Terry, D. D.; Rev. Charles 
W. Bennett, D. D., LL. D.; Robert L. Cumnock, A. M.; Rev. Charles Hors- 
well, A. M., B. D.; Rev. Nels E. Simonsen, A. M., B. D. The Garrett Bib- 
lical Institute, the theological department of the University, has been in 
operation since 1856. It is open to all young men from any evangelical 
church who are proper persons to study in preparation for the Christian min- 
istry. It is supported by the income from property in the city of Chicago 
bequeathed as a perpetual foundation by the late Mrs. Eliza Garrett. It is 
essential that those who enter this school should have good preparation in 
previous study. The regular course of study extends through three years and 
leads to the degree of Bachelor of Divinity. There is a diploma course and 
an Eclectic English course for those who are not classical graduates of a col- 
lege. In connection with the theological school there is a Norwegian-Danish 
department. Rev. Nels E. Simonsen, A. M., B. D., is principal. 

SWEDISH THEOLOGICAL SEMINARY. The Swedish Theological Seminary 
was established in 188^ and is the only school of its kind under the patronage 
of the Methodist Episcopal Church. "From this school preachers are sent out 
to nearly every State in the Union. It was called into existence to meet the 
urgent and increasing demands for educated pastors and missionaries among 
the Swedish population in the United States. Rev. Albert Ericson, A. M., is 
president, and Rev. C. G. Wallenius is assistant professor. 

SCHOOL OF ORATORY. The School of Oratory, under the direction of 
Prof. R. L. Cumnock, A. M., the noted elocutionist, has become widely 
known and is largely attended. Students from other colleges, while prepar- 
ing for various oratorical contests, frequently come to Northwestein for 
special training in this school. A high standard of oratory is maintained at 
Northwestern, and the prize speaking at commencement brings together a 
great audience. The College of Oratory offers a two years' course of study 
and gives to its graduates a certificate of graduation. 

CONSERVATORY OF Music. The Conservatory of Music has for some time 
been one of the prominent departments of the University. It affords facilities 
for a thorough and systematical education in the theory and practice of music. 
Pupils in music are advised to pursue at the same time some studies in one of 
the literary departments of the University. Four courses of study are offered, 
each occupying four years. Faculty Piano, P. C. Lutkiu, Allen H. Spencer, 
Mamie C. Lull, Cornelia Hopkins, Jennie Sanborn; voice culture, J. Harry 
Wheeler, Edith Gale; organ, P. C. Lutkin, Wm. H. Cutter; theory and com- 
position, P. C. Lutkin; harp, Julia Phelps; violin, Joseph Vilim; guitar and 
banjo, Geo. H. Bowers; sight-reading and chorus classes, William Smedley. 



284 GUIDE TO .CHICAGO. 

ASTRONOMICAL, DEPARTMENT. The astronomical department of the Uni- 
versity is located at Evanston. The new observatory, a stone building eighty- 
one feet in length by seventy-one feet in breadth, includes a dome for the 
great equatorial telescope, a meridian circle room, a library and eight addi- 
tional rooms for other purposes. The great Dearborn telescope, an equatorial 
refractor, was made by Alvan Clark & Sons, of Cambridge, Mass., in 1861. 
This insturment was the largest refractor in the world until a few years ago, 
and now has few superiors. The observatory will be open to visitors on 
Thursday evening of each week by previous arrangement with the director. 
Visitors may also be admitted at other times by making special arrangements 
with the president of the University or the director of the observatory. 

The location of the observatory is on the lake shore, about half a mile 
north of the main buildings of the university. While in this vicinity the 
visitor should visit the Evanston Water Works and Grosse Point Light House, 
which are located a little farther to the north. There is a magnificent drive 
along the lake shore here also, extending north to Fort Sheridan, or a re'urn 
may be made upon the old Green B ly road, which is met after a circuit 
around the point, and carries the visitor back on Ridge ave. , the finest resi- 
dence street in Evanston. Prom Grosse Point may be witnessed the most 
dangerous roadway on the lake, and the one most frequented by vessels. 
Dense fogs settle here through the navigation season, and for the protection 
of shipping the Government has located a fog-horn in the vicinity. 

CHICAGO DEPARTMENTS. The Chicago departments of the University 
include the Medical School, Law School, School of Pharmacy, and Dental 
School. 

THE MEDICAL SCHOOL. The Northwestern University Medical School, 
formerly known as the Cbicago Medical College, is located in Chicago, adjoin- 
ing the Mercy Hospital. The course of study is graded; it extends over three 
years, and leads to the Degree of Doctor of Medicine. Students who begin 
their medical studies in this college are required to take three full courses of 
lectures. Applicants for admission must present diplomas or certificates from 
recognized colleges, schools of science, academies, high schools, or teachers' 
certificates of the first or second grade, or sustain an examination in the 
following subjects: 1. English The writing of a composition, in the form 
of a letter, of not less than three hundred words, relatiug to some well known 
recent event ; the subject to be announced at the time of the English exami- 
nation. 2. Arithmetic Prime and composite numbers, factors, divisors and 
multiples; proportion; decimals, including percentage; simple and compound 
interest and discount, but not the technical parts of commercial arithmetic: 
English weights and measures and the metric system. 3. Geography A 
reasonable familiarity with the principal facts in physical and civil geog- 
raphy, as taught in the public schools. 4. At the option of the candidate, 
either one of the following subjects: (a) Latin The translation into Eng- 
lish of a short passage of average difficulty from one of the first four books 
of Ctesar's " Commentaries on the Gallic War," and the answering of ele- 
mentary questions relating to the grammar of the passage, (b) German 
The translation into English of short passages of average difficulty from 
"Whitney's German Reader," and the answering of elementary questions 
relating to the grammar of the passages, (c) Physics Balfour Stewart, or 
its equivalent. Exception Special students, not candidates for the degree 
of M. D., will be admitted without the presentation of diplomas or certifi- 




sj 

o > 

u < 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. - 285 

cates, and without the examination mentioned above. Faculty: Henry "Wade 
Rogers, LL. D., president; Edward O. F. Roler, A. M., M. D., professor 
emeritus of obstetrics; Nathan S. Davis, M. D. , LL. D., Dean, professor of 
principles and practice of medicine and clinical medicine; Edmund Andrews, 
M. D., LL. D., treasurer, professor of clinical surgery; Ralph N. Isham, 
A. M., M. D., professor of principles and practice of surgery and clinical 
surgery; John H. Hollister, A. M., M. D., professor of clinical medicine; 
Samuel J. Jones, M. D..LL. D., professor of ophthalmology and otology; 
Marcus P. Hatfield, A.M., M. D., professor of diseases of children; JohnH. 
Long, Sc. D., professor of chemistry and director of chemical labratory; 
Emilius Clark Dudley, A. M., M. D., professor of gynaecology; John E. 
Owens, M. D. , professor of principals and practice of surgery and clinical 
surgery; Oscar C. DeWolf, A. M., M. D., professor state medicine and public 
hygiene; Frederick C. Schaefer, M. D., professor of descriptive anatomy; 
Isaac N. Danforth, A. M., M. D., professor of clinical medicine; William E. 
Casselberry, M. D., professor of materia medica and therapeutics, laryn- 
gology and rhinology: William W. Jaggard, A.M., M. D., professor of 
obstetrics; Nathan S. Davis, Jr., A. M., M. D., professor of principles and 
practice of medicine; Frank 8. Johnson, A. M., M. D., professor of general 
pathology and pathological anatomy; Frank Billings, M. S., M. D. , secre- 
tary, professor of physical diagnosis and clinical medicine and lecturer on 
practice of medicine; E. Wyllys Andrews, A. M., M. D., professor of clin- 
ical surgery; Frank T. Andrews, A. M., M. D., professor of histology; 
George W. Webster, M. D., professor of physiology; Joseph Zeisler.M . D., 
professor of dermatology and syphilis; Herbert H. Frothingham, M. D., 
professor of descriptive anatomy; Elbert Wing, A. M., M. D., professor of 
nervous and mental diseases, and medical jurisprudence; William E. Morgan, 
M. D., lecturer on operative surgery and surgical anatomy; George S. Isham, 
A. M.,M D., clinical assistant to professor of surgery; John D. Kales, M. 
D., demonstrator of pathology; Rufus G. Collins, M. D., demonstrator of 
obstetrical operations; Thomas Benton Swartz, A. M., M. D., demonstrator 
of anatomy and clinical assistant in gynaecology ; Horace M. Starkey, M. D., 
clinical lecturer on ophthalmology and otology; Thomas J. Watkins, M. D., 
clinical assistant in gynaecology; Edward Tyler Edgerly, A. M., M. D., 
demonstrator of histology and instructor in physical diagnosis; John Leern- 
ing, M. D., lecturer on materia medica; Jared C. Hepburn, M. D., clinical 
assistant to laryngology and rhinology; James T. Campbell, M. D., assistant 
demonstrator of anatomy; Samuel C. Plummer, A. M., M. D,, assistant 
demonstrator of anatomy; Daniel N. Eisendrath, A. B., M. D., curator of 
museum. 

SCHOOL OF PHARMACY. The School of Pharmacy, located at the cor- 
ner of Lake and Dearborn ts.,is one of the most numerously attended 
schools of pharmacy in the country. The attendance during the last year 
was 360. This college being especially designed for the education of drug- 
gists, the requirements for entrance are such as will admit the great, majority 
of drug clerks, apprentices and persons preparing for the drug business. 
Thus a good common public school education is sufficient ; but no person 
under eighteen years of age will be admitted. Faculty Henry Wade 
Rogers, LL. D., president; Oscar Oldberg, Pharm. D , Dean, Professor of 
Pharmacy; John H. Long, Sc. D., Professor of Chemistry; Edson S. Bastin, 



GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

A. M., F. R. M. S., Professor of Botany; Wm. E. Quine, M. D., Professor 
of Physiology, Therapeutics and Toxicology; William K. Higley, Ph. C., 
Professor of Microscopy; E. B. Stuart, Ph. G., Professor of Materia Medica 
and Pharmacognosy ; M. A. Miner, Ph. C., Assistant, to the Chair of Phar- 
macy; Mark Powers, -Sc. B., Assistant to the Chair of Chemistry; Harry 
Kohn, Ph. M., Assistant to Chair of Pharmacy, and Instructor in Chemical 
Laboratory. 

COLLEGE OP DENTAL AND OVAL SURGERY. The college of dental and 
oval surgery is one of the most recently established departments of the 
University. The faculty numbers thirty-three professors and instructors. 
The requirements for admission are the same as those of the Chicago Medical 
College. The course of study iq graded and comprises three consecutive 
annual courses of lectures and clinical teaching. A fourth year is provided 
for those who desire to continue their studies and take the M. D. degree. 

Faculty: Henry Wade Rogers, LL. D., president; E. D. Swain, D. D. 8., 
65 Randolph street, Chicago, dean; G. V. Black, M.D..D. D. S., professor of 
dental pathology; Geo. H. Cushing, M. D., D. D. S., professor of principles 
and practice of dental surgery; John S. Marshall, M. D., professor of clinical 
oral surgery; Charles P. Pruyn, M. D., D. D. S. , professor of operative dent- 
istry; Isaac A. Freeman, D. D. S., professor of clinical operative dentistry; 
Thomas L. Gilmer, M. D., D. D. S., professor of oral surgery; Arthur B. 
Freeman, M. D., D. D. S., professor of human and comparative dental anat- 
omy; B. S. Palmer, B. S., D. D. S., professor of embryology and dental 
histology; W. B. Ames, D. D. S., professor of prothetic dentistry; Arthur E. 
Matteson, D. D. S., professor of orthodontia; E. L. Clifford, D. D. S., pro- 
fessor of dental materia medica and Therapeutics; G. W. Haskins, M. D., D. 
D. S., professor of metallurgy; G. W. Whiten'eld, M. D.. D. D. S., professor 
of crown and bridge work; D. M. Cattell, D. D. S. , professor of operative 
technics; H. P. Smith, D. D. S., instructor in prothetic technics. 

THE LAW SCHOOL. The Law School is located at 40 Dearborn street. 
The course of study covers two years. Students entering the junior class are 
expected to have at least a good common school education. A knowledge of 
Latin is desirable, but is not required. No discrimination on account of sex 
or color. Faculty Henry Wade Rogers, LL. D., president; Hon. Henry 
W. Blodgett, LL. D., dean; Hon. Henry Booth, LL. D., Hon. Harvey B. 
Hurd, Hon. Marshall D. Ewell, LL. D., M. D.; Hon. William W. Far- 
well, Hon. Nathan S. Davis, M. D., LL. D. 

NUMBER OF PROFESSORS AND STUDENTS, 1891. The faculty numbers 150 
professors and instructors. The total number of students in attendance dur- 
ing the present year (1892) is between 2,250 and 2.300. 

NEW LIBRARY BUILDING. Orringtou Lunt, of Evanston, has donated 
$50,000 to the Northwestern Universiiy for the erection of a new library 
building. The trustees have already taken steps to carry out the design of 
the donor, and the work of construction will begin at an early date. The new 
.library will be located on the campus amid the other university buildings. 
The present library is in three rooms of an upper story of University Hall, 
and contains 30,000 volumes. It is quite crowded and inconvenient, and the 
need of more commodious quarters is greatly felt. Mr. Lunt has been a lib- 
eral friend of the university, and his latest donation will be enthusiastically 
welcomed by the students. The library of the Garrett Biblical Institute will 
also have a place in the new structure, and it is possible that room for a 
chapel may be provided. 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. 287 

UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES. Each of the professional schools of the Univer- 
sity has its special library, supplementing the general library of the College 
of Liberal Arts. This general library numbers about 23,000 bound volumes, 
besides 8, 000 unbound pamphlets. It contains a large number of books for 
general reading and reference, and for use in the several departments of 
study. It is unusually complete in the departments of Greek and Latin 
literature. Every author is represented by the best editions from the earliest 
date. In the relited subjects of Archaeology, Criticism and History, the 
Library is correspondingly full, so that in the special field of Classical 
Philology it ranks with the best in America. In modern literature it is well 
supplied with standard works in German, French, Spanish and Italian. 
There is also a vdunble selection of books illustrating History, the Sciences 
and Pine Arts. There is a reading room in connection with the Library 
open morning and afternoon, supplied with a good collection of reviews and 
other periodicals. Every student is entitled to its privileges. 

St. Ignatius' College. Located at 413 West Twelfth St., adjoining the 
Jesuit church. Take West Twelfth st. car. The college was erected in 
1869 for the higher education of the Catholic youth of Chicago and vicinity. 
It is conducted by Fathers of the Society of Jesus. A charter was granted 
the institution by the Legislature of the State of Illinois June 80, 1870, with 
power to confer the usual degrees in the various faculties of a university. 
Th- Board of Managers are: Rev. Edward A. Higgins, S. J., president; Rev. 
Edwin D. Kelly, S. J., vice-president; Rev. Eugene A. Magevney, S. J., sec- 
retary; Rev. John F. Pahls, S. J., treasurer; Rev. JamesM.Hayes^S. J., Chan- 
cellor. The Faculty is as follows: Rev. E. A. Higgins, S. J., president; 
Rev. Geo. A. Hoeffer, vice-president and prefect of studies; Rev. J. F. Pahls, 
S. J. , treasurer and professor of book-keeping; Rev. J. P. Hogan, S. J., 
professor of mental and moral philosophy; Rev. F. A. Moeller, S. J., professor 
of natural philosophy; Mr. M. I). Sullivan, S. J., professor of mathematics and 
chemistrv; Rev. F. X. Shulak, 8. J., professor of mineralogy and natural 
history; Mr. W. H. Fanning, S. J., professor of rhetoric; Mr. C.B. Moulinier, 
S. J., professor of poetry and elocution; Mr. T. C. McKeogh, 8. J., humani- 
ties and elocution; Mr. H. B. McMahon, S. J., first academic class; Mr. T. F. 
Conroy, S J. , second academic class and elocution; Rev. E. J. Hanhauser, 
?. J., third academic class grade A; Mr. J. E. Stack, third academic 
class grade B; Rev. T. B. Chambers, S. J., preparatory class; Rev. E. A. 
Higgins, S. J., Mr. C. B. Moulinier, S. J., professors of French; Rev. F. A. 
Moeller, S. J., Rev. E. J. Hauhauser, S. J., professors of German; Rev. F. 
A. Moeller, S. J., professor of vocal music; Mr. T. C. McKeogh, S. J., Mr. 
H. B. McMahon, S. J., prefects of discipline. 

NORTH SIDE COLLEGIATE SCHOOL. Located at 616 La Salle ave., is con- 
ducted under the following instructors: Rev. P. J. Mulconroy,S. J., director 
first academic class ; Mr. J. B. Hemann, S. J., prefect of discipline, second 
academic class; Mr. E. M. Paillow. S. J., prefect of discipline, third aca- 
demic class; Mr. J. B. Hemann, professor of German and vocal music. The 
studies pursued in the college comprise the doctrines and evidences of the 
Catholic religion, logic, metaphysics, ethics, astronomy, natural philosophy, 
chemistry, mathematics, rhetoric, composition, elocution, history, geogia- 
phy, book-keeping, arithmetic, the Latin, Greek, English, German and 
French languages and literature. The college is intended for day scholars 
only. The collegiate year is divided into two terms, the first beginning on 
the first Monday of September, the second on the first Monday of February. 



288 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

Students, however, are received at any time during the year. At the close 
of eich term the several-classes are subjected to a thorough examination in 
the branches studied during the previous half year. The Annual Commence- 
ment'is held on the last Wednesday in June, when degrees are conferred and 
premiums awarded. On completing the studies of the Collegiate Depart- 
ment, those who prove deserving of the distinction receive the degree of 
Bachelor of Arts. Subsequently, by devoting one year more to the study of 
philosophy, or two years to any of the learned professions, they may obtain 
the degree of Master of Arts, if the board of managers be satisfied with their^ 
proficiency and moral conduct. The Catholic students are carefully 
instructed in the doctrines and practices of their religion, and the most solic- 
itous attention is paid to the morals of all. Whilstupon the college premises, 
the pupils are constantly under the watchful care of one. or more of the 
Prefects or Professors. 

TERMS OF TUITION. As the Institution is not endowed, it is entirely 
dependent for its support on the fees paid for tuition. Tuition per session 
of ten months, for all classes, $40. Students of chemistry and natural phi- 
losophy, for the use of the apparatus, chemicals, etc., required for purposes 
of ilustration and experiment, pay $10 per session. Diploma for graduates 
inthe classical course, $10. The session is divided into quarters, which 
begin, respectively, about the 1st of September, the 15th of November, the 
1st of February and the 15th of April. Payments must be made quarterly 
or seem-annually, in advance. No reduction is allowed for absence except 
in case of dismission or protracted illness. 

ST. XAVIER'S ACADEMY. Located at the corner of Wabash ave. and 
Twenty-ninth st. Conducted by the Sisters of Cbarity. First opened in 
1846, and is consequently one of the oldest, as it isone of thebest educational, 
institutions of the city. Take State st. cable line. The building is a ia^ge 
and handsome edifice of brick with stone trimmings. Hot and cold baths are 
connected with the various departments, and the arrangement of thestructure 
generally is well adapted to the purposes for which it is dedicated . The dis- 
cipline of this academy is mild, yet conducted with such uniformity as to 
secure order and regularity, and the young ladies entrusted to the rare o f the 
sisters leave their charge cultivated intellectually, strengthened and fortified 
morally, aad with habits fixed, which secures them good physical aswell as 
mental health. 

SCHOLASTIC YEAR. The scholastic year is divided into two sessions of 
five months each, the first session commencing on the first of September; the 
second on the first of February. A vacation of about one week is allowed at 
Christmas, when pupils are permitted to visittheir parents if they desire it. If 
residents of the city, they are permitted t>* do so once a month generally the 
first Sunday of the month, unless deprived of this privilege for uon observ- 
ance of rules. Wednesday aiid Sunday are visiting days for parents, rela- 
tives or friends. The correspondence of the young ladies is, at all times, 
subject to the supervision of the Directress, hence private correspondence is 
not allowed. Pupils may enter at any lime during the year, their session 
always commencing with date of entrance; but can in no case leave just 
before the close of the year, without seriousdamage to theirstanding, besides 
forfeiting prizes. No undue influeuceis exercised over the religiousopinions 
of non-Catholic pupils; however, for the sake of the order, all are required to 
conform to the external discipline of the Institution. Monthly examinations 
are held and reports of deportment, scholarship, etc. , are forwarded to parents 



THE ENCYCLOPEDIA. ' 289 

and guardians. At the annual distribution of premiums, those who have 
observed the rules and given evidence of polite and amiable deportment are 
crowned by the Most Reverend Archbishop. Graduating Medals are con- 
ferred on those only who take the full Academic Course, and ClassMedals are 
awarded for the highest average. Each pupil is required to write home every 
two weeks. Weekly instructions are given in politeness and all that consti- 
tutes lady-like deportment. There are two general examinations each year, 
after which any pupil who may be found duly qualified is promoted. The 
daily routine for boarders is as follows: 5:30 o'clock, rise; 6:30 o'clock, mass, 
followed by mornig prayers; 7 o'clock, breakfast, followed by recreation ; 8 
o'clock, study; 9 o'clock, recitation in respective classrooms; 11:45 o'clock, 
dinner and recreation; 12:30 o'clock, study; 1 o'clock, mathematics; S o'clock, 
plain sewing, penmanship, etc.; 4 o'clock, luncheon and recreation; 4:30 
o'clock, study lessons for next day; 5:45 o'clock, Rosary for Catholics; 6 
o'clock, supper; 6:30 o'clock, recreation; 8 o'clock, night prayers, after which 
all retire to their respective dormitories for the night, and do not visit the 
rooms of others without special permission. 

TERMS. Terms for boarders per series of five months in advance. Board 
and tuition in English and music, $150; languages, each $10;- oil and water- 
color painting, $40; portrait painting, $50; crayon and pastel painting, $40; 
harp, $40; guitar, violin, banjo, mandolin, zither, each, $30; vocal lessonsand 
harmony, each, $30; washing, $5. For chemical and physical apparatus, etc., 
in senior classes, $3. There are no other extra charges. 

University of Chicago. The newest thing in the city is the new University 
of Chicago. The old institution of that name, after a struggle for existence 
for nearly thirty years, succumbed to financial difficulties in 1886, and sus- 
pended its educational work. So profound, however, was the conviction that 
Chicago was the ideal location for a great institution of learning, that efforts 
began to be made almost immediately looking to the establishment of a new 
university. It was soon found that John D. Rockefeller was interested in 
the project. In 1888 the Baptists of the United States organized the Ameri- 
can Baptist Educational Society, and elected Fred T. Gates its corresponding 
secretary. Mr. Gates soon became persuaded that the first great work for 
the new society to undertake was the establishment of a new university in 
Chicago. He and Mr. Rockefeller entered into correspondence, and to fbefr 
conferences with each other Chicago owes its university. In May, 1889, the 
Education Society resolved to undertake the raising of $1,000,000 to found a 
well equipped college in this city, and Mr. Rockefeller at once made a sub- 
scription of $600,000, conditioned on the subscription being increased to a 
full $1,000,000 within one year. T. W. Goodspeed was associated with Mr. 
Gates in the effort to raise the $400,000 required by this condition. Not only 
was this done within the time specified, but $150,000 more than was required 
was secured. 

Marshall Field gave a site of a block and a half valued at $125,000, 
but now worth much more than that sum. To this gift from Mr. Field there 
has since been added two and a half blocks, making the present site four 
blocks. The intersecting streets have been vacated by the city council so 
that the site consists of a solid block 802 by 1,261 feet, or nearly twenty-four 
acres. The location is an ideal one. The side lies between Ellis and Lexing- 
ton avenues, and Fifty-seventh street and Midway Plaisance. Washington 
Park lies four blocks west and Jackson Park seven blocks east. The site. 



290 GUIDE TO CHICAGO. 

i'rouls south on the Plaisance which is itself a park connecting Washington 
and Jackson. These magnificent parks will be the pleasure grounds of the 
students, affording facilities for all kinds of outdoor games and exercises. 
Immediately after the organization of the board of trustees, Prof. Wm. 
Rainy Harper, of Yale University, was elected president of the university. It 
was the conviction of Dr. Harper that the institution should from the outset 
be in fact as well as iu name a true university. With this view Mr. Rocke- 
feller and Mr. Gates heartily agreed, and on the day of Dr. Harper's election 
to the presidency he read to the Board a new subscription from Mr. Rocke- 
feller for one million dollars. This great sum was given for the express pur- 
pose of making the new institution a true university. It required the estab- 
lishment of a great graduate department, the transferring of the Morgan 
Park Theological Seminary to the new site as the Divinity school of the 
university, and the establishment of a well equipped academy in the buildings 
of the seminary at Morgan Park. 

In the spring of 1891 the executors and trustees of the estate of Wm. B. 
Ogden, the first mayor of Chicago, designated seventy per cent, of the 
bequest under Mr. Ogden's will for benevolent purposes to the new univer- 
sity. In making the designation they expressed the hope that the university 
would receive above $500,000 from the estate. With this sum the trustees are 
to establish " The Ogden Scientific School of the University of Chicago," for 
advanced graduate scientific instruction. Although there is a contest over 
the will, the board is confident that the full amount indicated above will 
finally be realized from the estate for the scientific school. 

A NON-SECTARIAN INSTITUTION Although the Univ