(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "The civil, political, professional and ecclesiastical history, and commercial and industrial record of the County of Kings and the City of Brooklyn, N. Y. from 1683 to 1884"

Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2008 with funding from 

IVIicrosoft Corporation 



http://www.archive.org/details/civilpoliticalpr22stil 






S>tiks 



2 



THE 



CHARITABLE INSTITUTIONS 



Kings County and Brooklyn. 



Brooklyn Orphan Asylum. — In the summer of 1833, the 
city was visited by the cliolera; and, among tlie disastrous 
consequences to be laid to its account, was the homeless con- 
dition of a number of children whose parents died of the 
epidemic. Their forlorn state excited the sympathy of some 
good people, who, after consultation, proceeded to act in the 
matter l)y organizing, on the 17th of May, 1833, the Brooklyn 
Orphan Asylum, the first institution of its kind in the city. 
Among the ladies engaged in the work were Mrs. Charles 
Richards, Mrs. Elizabeth Davison, Mrs. Phcebe Butler and 

Mrs. P. W. Eadcliffe. ^-;_ 

They were aided by the 
Rev. Dr. Cutler, who had 
that year taken charge 
of St. Ann's Church, 
Judge Radcliffe, Adrian 
Van Sinderen, Esq. , 
Judge Lefferts, and other 
gentlemen. The first 
residence of the Society 
was the old Jackson 
house, on the Heights. 
It stood on the bank, a 
little north of the line t)f 
Pierrepont street, and 
was entered fromWillow 
street by a lane bordered 
with Lombardy jioplars, 
that — passing by a vege- 
table garden, lying 
where the roadway of 
Columbia Heights runs 
— led around to the west 
side of the house. It 
was a Dutch mansion, 
the lower part of stone, 
the upper of scalloped 

wooden shingles, low-pitched and some 60 feet in length, and 
was of ante-Revolutionary War date. The front, with its 
three entrance doors, was toward the river, and of the 
interior there are still relics in some blue and white tiles 
from the fire-places, preserved by a family in the neighbor- 
hood. 

The affairs of the Asylum at this time were in charge of a 
boai-d of thirty-five ladies, who superintended domestic mat- 
ters, Wilde seven well-known gentlemen acted in the capacity 
of Advisory Board. Fourteen boys and twelve girls consti- 




BKOOKLYN ORPHAN ASYLUM. 



tuted the family during the first year ; $837.69 paid the bills, 
and one cow supplied milk for the household. It seems as if 
the managers of fifty years ago had an easy task, but there 
are more to bear the heavier burden of to-day. The Asylum 
has now a host of friends, who give to it systematically. 
The boys, objects of solicitude in this generation, were gener- 
ally so in that. It was as difficult to keep them busy, when 
tempted to roU down the bank to get at the river (Furman 
street not then being opened), as it is to keep their success- 
ors from scaling the wall, to reach the ponds near by. 
"Times are changed," 
but neither boys, nor 
other of the chief prob- 
lems in managing, are 
changed with them. 

In 1839, the main part 
of the Cumberland street 
Iniilding, long occupied 
1)3- the Society, was com- 
jileted ; in IS.'iil it was 
added to, affording then 
accommodation for 130 
children. 

Dr. Cox and Mr. Gcnigh 
lectured for the cause ; 
Fanny Kemble read, and 
Jenny Lind sang for it. 
Once a month Dr. Bud- 
dington preached the 
children a sermon, which 
they unfeignedly en- 
joyed. Now and again 
they had the delight of 
a picnic, or Christmas 
treat, or anniversary 
feast, where the aim of 
their entertainers evi- 
dently Vas]to]^ascertain how much cake the orphans could eat. 
The population of Brooklyn, numbered in 1833 at 20,000, 
gained apace, and the necessity of a still larger Asylum long 
pressed on the Managers, who had to deny many worthy ap- 
plicants. At length the matter was taken in hand, and a 
number of lots were secured at the corner of Atlantic and 
Kingston avenues. On December Ist, 1870, tlie corner-stone 
of the present building was laid, and vigorous efforts in be- 
half of the enterprise were made thenceforward by all con- 
nected with it. The ladies developed newtalent as financiers; 



nTSTORT 01 KINGS COUNTY. 



the gentleman gave and a-sked others to follow the example. 
It was not easy to provide for the heavy exjiense incurred, 
and yet it was punctually done. Every exigency was met, 
every dollar paid when it was due. The work was carried in 
this prudent way to its conclusion; and on "opening day," 
June IStli, 1S72, the Society was relieved, by the kindness of 
a watchful Ix-nefactor, from a mortgage, its only remaining 
liability. The building stands in tlie center of the grounds, 
and is regarded as a model, not only of exterior an^hitectural 
l)eauty, but of taste and adaptation in its interior arrange- 
ments. Its cost was $310,000; it has ample accommodation 
for 400 orjihans, but additional room is already needed. The 
institution is supported by an endowment, bequests, and 
sjM^cific donations, and bj- contributions from the charitable. 

During the half century, four ladies have filled the office 
of Directress : Mrs. Charles Richards, Mrs. Phoebe Butler, 
Mrs. James L. Morgan, and, for the past twenty years, Mrs. 
John B. Hutchinson, whose care for the children's welfare in 
body and soul takes no rest. It is estimated that, from the 
l>eginning, the Ayslum's aid has been given to nearly 5,000 
children, through whom its influence is now sown broadcast 
in the land. Many of them have returned to their friends 
and been heard of no more. A number are known to have 
been useful and respected in the various departments of life, 
from preachers and teachers down to the humblest vocations. 
One of the boys, so cri|ipled that he was limited in his exer- 
tions for a livelihood to selling papers, did this in an honest 
way that gained him favor, and enabled him to lay by $700, 
wliich at his death he left to the Asylum, with the words, 
" To the Orphan Asylum I am indebted for all that I am and 
all that I have; it has been both father and mother tome."" 
With those placed in homes selected for them, correspt)nd- 
ence, as far as practicable, is maintained by the Chairman 
of the Adoption and Indenture Committee, and frequent 
letters come, telling of contentment and gratitude. 

The Officers for 1884 are as follows : First Directress, Mrs. 
J. B. Hutchinson; Second Directress, Mrs. Anna C. Field; 
Recording Secretary, Mrs. P. P.Sherwood; Corresponding 
Secretary, Miss V. Sami)son: Treasurer, Mrs. Peter Palmer. 
The Board of Advisors consists of Hon. S. B. Chittenden, J. 
B. Hutchinson, Abraham Wyckoff, Franklin Woodruff, C. 
M. Field, Jonathan Ogden, A. H. Dana, J. G. Jlorgan, F. A. 
Crocker, J. W. Kh\oll, J. W. Mason and J. L. Truslow. The 
Board of Finance consists of Messrs. J. W. Mason, A. H. 
Dana and J. W. Elwell. The Counsel for the association is 
A. H. Dana. 

The Brooklyn Bureau of Charities was organized in 1879 
with the following officers : Seth Low, President ; Alfred T. 
White, Secretary; Darwin R. James, Treasurer. 

The objects of this Society are: 

1. To secure the co-operation of the benevolent societies, 
churches, and individuals of Brooklyn, that they may work 
with an understanding of the exact conditions and needs of 
every case. 

2. To obtain and diffuse knowledge on all subjects con- 
nected with the relief of the poor, so that all relief may be 
of the kind best adapted to the needs of each case, and ad- 
ministered in the best possible manner. 

3. To encourage tlvrift, self-dejiendence and industry 
tlurough friendly intercourse, advice and synqiathy, ;ind to 
aid the poor to help themselves rather than to help them by 
alms, raising them as speedily as possible above the need of 
relief. 

4. To prevent imposition, and to diminish vagrancy and 
pauperism and their attendant evils. 

This Society seeks to aid all benevolent societies, churchcy 
and individuals to attain the highesc aims of charity and 



thereby the truest welfare of the poor. It neither solicits 
or receives funds for the purpose of alms-giving. 

The Society consists of the following, ex-offlciis: The Minis- 
ters of aU Churches, the Mayor, the State Commissioner of 
Charities for Kings County, the Commissioner of Charities 
of Kings County, the Heads of City Departments, and Cap- 
tains of Police Precincts ; of the officers, managing boards 
and agents of all charitable organizations, and all physicians 
who are connected with dispensaries, or do gratuitous service 
among the jioor. Membership is obtained by any who con- 
tribute to the support of the Bureau. District Conferences 
are established in each Ward with an Executive Committee, 
who keep a register of all needy cases in their district, and 
assist in visiting and relieving the poor. Mr Low was suc- 
ceeded as President by Alfred T. White. 

The Officers for 1883-'84 are as follows: Manly A. Ruland, 
President: I. H. Gary, Jr., Rec. Secretary; Darwin R. Jauies, 
Treasurer; Geo. B. Buzelle, Oen'l Secretary ; M. Bennett, E. 
D. Berri, J. O. Carpenter, I. H. Gary, Jr., S. B. Chittenden, 
Jr., G. B. Forrester, D. R. James, D. A. Kendall, F. T. King, 
M. A. Ruland, A. F. Smith, F. F. Underbill, J. D. Wells, 
D.D., A. T. White, Executive Committee. 

Evangelical Home for the Aged. — The friends of the Ger- 
man Evangelical Aid Society determined to build a home for 
the aged. They bought 14 city lots on the south-west corner 
of Bushwitk avenue and Fairfax street. They rented the 
house. No. 79 Himrod street, for their immediate use, and 
the corner-stone of the new Home was laid October 15, 1883. 
On the 19th of February, 1883, the new building was occu- 
pied. The house is large and well suited to the wants of the 
Society. It now contains 4;i inmates. Those desii'ous of en- 
tering the Home as inmates are required to pay |500, if able. 
If not able, they pay according to their means; the majority 
being received entirely without money. The institution is 
supported by the charitable among the German Evangelical 
Churches. The Officers for 1883-4 areas follows: Rev. J. M. 
Wagner, President; Rev. J. Weber, Secretary; of the Board 
of Managers, Mrs. M. A. Miller is First Directress; Mrs. M. 
Wied, Second Directress; Mrs. E. Hehr and Mrs. M. Krapf, 
Secretaries; Mrs. P. Achterrath, Treasurer. 

The Brooklyn Home for Aged Men. — In 1877, Mrs. Mary 
G. Brinkerhoff, Mrs. J. G. Wilbur and Mrs. Mary E. Whiton 
found, in what had purported to be a Faith Home for old 
men, in Grand avenue, near Atlantic, seven aged men in a 
suffering condition. They, with five others who became in- 
terested in the work, cared for these men during five months 
at their own expense. In 1878, they became incorporated 
under the above name. Soon after their mcorporation, Mr. 
Frederick Marquand presented to the Society the undivided 
half of the house in which the Home was established — 84 
State street. This house was valued at |10,000. To it these 
men vifere removed, and others have been added, till it is now 
quite full. Its present capacity is twenty. Mrs. Mary G. 
Brinkerhoff was the first President, followed by the present 
President, Mrs. Lucien Birdseye. The other Officers for 
1883-'4are: Mrs. H. W. Wheeler, Mrs. John Winslow, I7ce- 
Presidents ; Mrs. A. F. Kibbe, Mrs. J. H. Williams, Secre- 
taries; Mrs. J. N. Bergen, Treasurer. 

The Brooklyn Association for Improving the Condition 
of the Poor (lOS Ijivingston street) was f(u-nied in 184:1 The 
Presidents of the Society, up to the present time, have been 
Seth Low, 1843-'53 ; Jolm H. Brower, 2)ro tern, Stephen 
Crowell, 1854-'56; George Hall, 1857-'63; R. W. Ropes, 18G3 
to 1884. The General Agents, during the same period, 
have been : Stephen Crowell, 1843-53 ; Samuel G. Arnold, 
1853 ; Luther Eames, 1854-'60; Rev. Samuel Bayliss, from 
1861 to October 13, 1876, when David H. Hawkins was elected. 



CHARIIABLE INSTITUTIONS. 



975 



Mr. Hawkins died in Spring of 1879, and, on October 13th of 
that year, Albert A. Day was elected, and continues to fill 
tlie office. This Association aims to improve the condition of 
the poor, morally as well as physically, by relieving, their 
immediate necessities, and by giving them such advice, re- 
lief or encouragement as the several cases seem to require. 
Accordingly, it visually excludes from its benefits those of 
intemperate, or confirmed vicious, or indolent habits ; those 
who, from disease, imbecility, old age, or other causes, are 
likely to be permanently dependent (such persons would be 
better cared for in various public institutions), as well as such 
as are, or ought to be, provided for by relatives, churches 



men of wealth and influence, each of whom has a district 
containing from fifty to a hundred families, which he can- 
vasses thoroughly during the montlis of November, Decem- 
ber and January. The work of distribution is carried on 
through an experienced corps of paid Ward agents (under 
the superintendence of the General Agent), who visit each 
aijplicant and investigate the case before giving an order for 
assistance. 

The Association has its own storehouses, and purchases the 
supplies disbursed at wholesale. The Thirty-fifth Annual 
Report shows such disbursements made, at a cost of 8^ per 
cent, of the value of the goods disbursed. From six to eight 




FIRST BUILDING OF THE ASSOCIATION. (In rear of present one). 

or other associations with which they may be connected ; 
recent emigrants (who properly come under the care of the 
Commissioners of Emigration); and those whose long-con- 
tinued poverty render them unquestionabh' fit subjects for 
the Superintendents of the Poor. In fact, it aims to confine 
its labors, as nearly as possible, to those whose poverty is 
caused by temporary reverses, which they may rise above; 
and those whose condition may be elevated by judicious 
assistance and advice. The society has no permanent fund, 
but depends entirely upon annual contributions. The collec- 
tions are made by voluntary unpaid solicitors, usually well- 
known residents of the district where they solicit, and often 



THE PRESENT BUILDING, 108 LIVINGSTON ST. 

thousand families are assisted each year. During the past 
six years, a very thorough and accurate system of business, 
in all the details of this work, has been inaugurated and is 
now maintained. The last Annual Report shows a disburse- 
ment for the current year of over $29,000. 

The original Officers, in 1843, were: Seth Low, Pres.; 
C. P. Smith, John Greenwood, Henry G. Murphy, William 
Rockwell, Henrj' N. Conklin, Vice-Presidents; Abraham 
Halsey, Treas.; James How, Rec. Sec; Stephen Crowell, 
Cor. See. and Oeti. Agt., office, Brooklyn Institute, Wash- 
ington street; with a Board of Managers, consisting of five 
representatives from seven Wards, and eight elected members. 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 




THE GRAHAM rNSTITTTION. 

The Brooklyn Society for the Relief of Respectable Aged 
Indigent Females, more popularly known as the Old Ladies" 
Home (or more familiarly as the Graham Institution), and 
designed for the benefit of poor gentlewomen who had been 
unfitted, l)y previous culture and refinement, to accept will- 
ingly the public asylum provided by the State for the poor 
indiscriminately, was first suggested in 1850. At a public 
meeting, held at Rev. Dr. S. H. Cox's church, in January, 
18.')1, the project took a definite form; a building site, corner 
of Washington and DeKalb avenues, valued at ^4,000, was 
presented by Mr. John B. Graham, and it was calculated that 
a proper building would be comjileted within sixteen months 
from that time ; Mr. Graham offering, during the meantime, 
to furnish relief at their own homes, to all applicants for ad- 
mission. The co-operation of twenty -six different (orthodox) 
congregations was secured, and the enterprise was thus 
j)laced on an unsectarian basis. A cliarter was obtained, the 
building commenced, and the corner-stone was laid on the 
1st of Jjily, 1851. The architect's report, read on that oc- 
casion, stated that the edifice would accommodate ninety old 
ladies, and would contain a chapel, liospital, committee- 
rooms, etc., at a probable cost of .l;22,000; Mr. Graham pledg- 
ing himself for its completion in 18.52, and the amount to be 
raised by personal application to the citizens of Brooklj-n. 
The Society failing, however, to raise the sum within tlie 
stipulated time, Mr. Graham, with his accustomed liberality, 
assumed the responsibility of the undertaking, and carried it 
on to completion, at a cost of $29,044.95. He then presented 
it to the Society, and it was dedicated to its beneficent uses 
on the 26th of Octoljer, 1852. Mr. Graham's original gift to 
this Society was |13,044.95, together with his time, labor, and 
many smaller but valuable aids to its success. It was his re- 
Ijeatedly avowed intentioh to build handsome dwellings upon 
the two side lots, and give the rents of the same, yearly, to 
the institution; and also, to free the building from debt, by 
an already prepared deed to that effect. But whilst, with pen 
in hand, calling upon his clerk to hand him this deed, death 
closed Ills fingers in its icy gra.sp. This left the managers 
under very discouraging circumstances, struggling through 
each j'ear, as l)est they could, with scarce a hope left for the 
relief of the institution, and dependent upon the uncertain 
support of public charity. In the year 1855, it was thought 
best to ap])eal to the public, through the pastors of the dif- 
ferent churches represented by the management, for the 



means wherewith to cancel the mortgage and its accumu- 
lated interest. This plan proved entirely successful, and the 
institution, since that time, has been crowned with success 
sufficient to promise its permanent and honorable position 
as one of the most valuable charities of Brooklyn. In 1862, 
the sum of $5,000, given by the estate of the late Wm. H. 
Cary, furnished a nucleus, which, with additions of various 
sums from individuals, both living and deceased, formed a 
permanent fund, the interest of which was applied to the 
support of the umiates. With the exception of $1,500 froju 
the State Legislature, no aid was received from any public 
body ; annual subscriptions and donations have been its de- 
pendence. 

The Presidents of the institution have been: Mrs. Dr. Cox, 
ilrs. Lansing, Mrs. Buckley, Mrs. J. S. T. Stranahan, Mrs. 
Webster, and Mrs. David M. Stone. 

The other Officers are as follows: Mrs. Theo. Polhemus, 
Jr., Vice-President; Mrs. W. H. Smith, Mrs. J. Arthur Burr, 
Secretaries; Mrs. A. C. Washington, Treasurer. 

The Flower and Fruit Charity was organized May, 1874, 
" to distribute fruits, flowers and other delicacies, with suit- 
able reading matter, personally, among the sick poor in hos- 
pitals, asylums and their own homes." It numbered about 
twenty members originally, which is the present aver- 
age. 

The first Officers were: Miss Badger, President; Mrs. J. H. 
Lester, Jr., Vice-President; Miss A. Mali, Secretary. Every 
Monday, from 9 to 11 o'clock, the ladies meet in the basement 
of the Brooklyn Lilirary building, arrange the contributed 
flowers in small bouquets, and carry them, with fruit, maga- 
zines or newspapers, to the hospitals for distribution. At Christ- 
mas, the inmates of all the hospitals are presented wdth cards 
and oranges, while the wards are decorated with greens. 
The charity is supported entirely by voluntary contribu- 
tions of money and supplies, and the work performed by 
ladies. 

Its Officers for 1883-'4 are: Miss A. Mali, President; Miss J. 
Duckwitz, Vice-President; Miss C. Lane, Secretary; Miss Kate 
Crane, Treasurer. 

Faith Home for Incurables.— In 1871, Mrs. Kennedy, of 
New York, opened an asylum for incurables of both sexes in 
Harlem. This was soon afterward reiiuned to Grand avenue, 
near Atlantic, in Brooklyn, and subsequently to the corner 
of Putnam and Grand avenues. In April, 1875, Mrs. Ken- 
nedy transferred this charity to Mrs. Rev. William E. Martin; 
and by her it was soon transferred to Misses E. F. and A. H. 
Campbell. In 1877, it was removed to Lexington avenue, 
near Franklin, where it remained three years. In Novem- 
ber, 1878, the institution was incorporated under its present 
name, which sufficiently indicates its object. 

The institution has been supported wholly by voluntary 
unsolicited contributions. In 1876, a donation of seven dol- 
lars was made toward a building fund. In 1881, this fund 
had increased to $8,000, about $4,000 of which was a legacy. 
In the spring of that year, Mr. A. S. Barnes donated to the 
home, land on the corner of Classon avenue and Park place, 
and superintended the erection of the elegant and com- 
modious building which stands there. In addition to his 
donation of the land, he paid about $17,000 toward the erec- 
tion of this structure, which cost about $32,000. Of this, 
about $7,000 were donated by others. The home has accom- 
modations for fif tj' patients. Most of the rooms in the insti- 
tution have been furnished by imlividuals or churches, 
and they are named after those furnishing them. The 
Officers for 1883-'4 are Rev. Geo. F. Pentecost, President; 
James M. Ham, Treasurer; S. B. Childs, M. D., Secretary; 
Emily F. Campbell and Abby H. Campbell, Managers. 



CffARtTABLE INSTITUTIONS. 



V 9^7 




THE BROOKLYN NURSERY. 



The Brooklyn Nursery.— In the spring of 1871, Mrs. E. B. 
Rollins, Mrs. H. F. Aten, Mrs. Charles Ruslimore, Mrs. W. G. 
Lawrence, Mrs. A. G. Houghton and Mrs. L. W. Seaman, 
with a few others, interested themselves in forming a tem- 
porary home for infants and young children of working people, 
where they would receive kind care during woi-king hours. 
A house in Adelphi street was secured, an Industrial School 
established, and a charter granted the Institution as Tlie 
Flatbush Avenue Industrial School and Nursery. Soon after, 
the Industrial School was discontinued, and a new charter 
granted to The Brooklyn Nursery. In Jime, 1871, the institu- 
tion was opened. i:iO children were cared for during the first 
year. The first Officers were : Mrs. E. B. Rollins, First Direc- 
tress; Mrs. M. Graham, Second Directress; Mrs. G. W. 
Alexander, Third Directress; Mrs. Charles Rushmore, Treas.; 
Mrs. W. F. Swalm, Rec. Sec: Mrs. H. F. Aten, Cor. Sec. 
Three years later, the Nursery was removed to larger quar- 
ters at No. 188 Prospect place. In 1883, the house was sold 
and lots purchased on Herkimer street, near Kingston avenue, 
where the corner-stone of the new building was laid Septem- 
ber 14th, 1883. This building is substantially constructed, on 



the plan of the letter T, with a front of 52 feet on Herkimer 
street, and a wing 45 by 58 feet in the rear. It is faced with 
pressed bricks, relieved by bands of terra cotta; is four stories 
in height, witli a basement containing the culinary and 
laundry apparatus. The first floor is used as the parlor, recep- 
tion and eewing room: the ujiper floors are occupied by dormi- 
tories, matron's room, and lavatories. Special attention has 
been i)aid to ventilation and precautions against fire. The 
cost of the building was about $30,000. The Officers for 
1883-4 are as follows : Mrs. E. B. Rollins, First Directress; 
Mrs. G. C Wood, Second Direetress;'M.rs. D. D. Barker, Third 
Directress; Mrs. D. Hustace, Treasurer; Miss J. Thompson, 
Recording Secretary; Mrs. H. F. Aten, Corresponding Secre- 
tary. 

Brooklyn Benevolent Society. — The late Cornelius Heeney, 
Esq., gave, for charitable purposes, 151 lots of land lying be- 
tween Hicks, Columbia, Congress and Henry streets, in the 
city of Brooklyn. He directed that the income from this 
jiroperty should be expended for the relief of the poor, one- 
fifth for fuel, one-tenth for clothing for poor children attend- 
ing school, |250 for a teacher for poor children, and the re- 



ore 



fflsrOEY 01 KINGS COUNTY. 



maindcr for tho inainteuance aiid education of poor orphan 
fhildron, from four to fourteen years of age. 

In 1845, tlio Benevolent Association was formed, for the 
purpose of carrying out the provisions of the tinist. The 
devise \-ields from ^22,000 to |25,000 per year, which is ap- 
portione<l among the poor of the Roman Catholic church 
principally. The OFFICERS for 1882-'83 are Rt. Rev. John 
Ix)ughlin, Prcs.: Conolly Roddy, Treas.; John McGreevey, 
Sec'i/. The Standing Committee is Andrew Dougherty, 
Chairman ; Kiernaii Egan, Jno. McGreevey, Hon. W. H. 
Hurtha. ■Williinn K.I1>. Agent. 




The Baptist Home, of Brooklyn, N. Y., was incorporated 
liy an act of the Legislature, passed April 9, 1869. The es- 
tablishment of this Home was first urged by Alexander 
McDonald, with whom Francis D. Mason co-ojierated actively 
ami efRciently. These gentlemen contributed |25,000 toward 
the Ijuilding fund, but neither lived to see the commence- 
ment of the building. Tlie object of the Home, as set forth 
in its charter, is to furnish " an institution where the deserv- 
ing infirm and needy members of the Baptist churches of 
the city of Brooklyn * * * may be provided with a com- 
fortable home, support, and employment, medical and other 
necessary care, with the religious and church privileges 
which they have been accustomed to enjoy as members of 
their resjiective churches." Tlie corner-stone of the Home 
wa-s laid October 23, 1873, and the building was dedicated 
June 22, 1875. It is three stories in height, with basement 
and pavilion. It is 112 feet in front, on Greene avenue (corner 
of Throop), and has an average depth of about 45 feet ; the 
coat was $81,500. The current expenses of the Home are 
defrayed by contributions from churches and individuals. 
Edward Adams bequeathed to the Home $5,000, and Mis. 
Sarah A. Bertine, .$15,000. Officers (1883-84) : Wm. Rich- 
ardson, Pres.; Fred'k C. Linden, Treas.; Geo. B. Forrester, 
Sec'?/. 

The Church Charity Foundation of Long Island. — This, 
as the name itni>orts, is a foundation on which to build sev- 
eral institutions for different classes of beneficiaries to which 
tlie charity of the church may be extended. Its origin is 
due to the late Rev. Francis Vinton, D.D., when rector of 
Grace Church, on the Heights (to whom had fallen the 
cliarge of three orphan cliildren of a communicant of his 
parish); and a few noble-minded and generous ladies, among 
whom were Mrs. Richards, Mrs. Pierrepont, Mrs. Hastings, 
and others. These ladies, in 1850, rented a small building in 
Love lane (which had been occupied by Harry, once a slave 
of Samuel Jackson), and tliere gathered a few aged women, 
supiilying their wants from day to day, and watching over 



them with affectionate care. Tliis enterprise enlisted the 
interest of others, and led to the holding of a meeting, on 
the 6th of February, 1851, in the church of the Holy Tiinity, 
at which steps were taken for the organization of the Church 
Charity Foundation, wliich was incorporated under the gen- 
eral act, April 14, 1852. 

The ciiarity contemplated, 1st, the establishment of a hoine 
for aged indigent persons, at first of females, but in course 
of time, of aged men and aged married couples ; 2d, an 
orphan house, for the protection, support, and education of 
indigent orphan and half-orphan children, and such other 
children, without distinction, as shall have been 
left in a destitute and unprotected condition ; 3d, 
the establishment of a hospital and infinnary for 
the sick and helpless ; 4tli, a training house for the 
instruction in nursing of the sick, of such minister- 
ing women as may desire to work for tlie afflicted, 
not only in the departments of this foundation, but 
in other charitable or penal institutions of the city, 
among tlie poor in their abodes, and in cases of 
contagious disease, or in times of pestilence; 5th, a 
liome and bethel for seamen and boatmen, and their 
families. Besides tliese, a provision is made, au- 
thorizing the receiving and executing of any trust 
for charitable uses ; it being intended, under this 
comprehensive arrangement, to enable any benefac- 
tor to establish charities and supply wants, not at 
the time of the organization of the society parti- 
cularly foreseen, but which the future growth of 
the city might render desirable, and a riper experi- 
ence in benevolence might discover and i)rovide for. In 1857, 
the Society purchased 23 city lots, at the corner of Albany ave- 
nue and Herkimer street, and, in 1858-'59, erected thereon a 
house and chapel, of sufficient capacity for 25 aged people and 
40 orphans. For the first twelve years, the care of this num- 
ber was the work of the Society. 

In 1871, a separate house for the aged, of both sexes, was 
erected. This was 120x45 feet, four stories in height. About 
tlie same time, a dispensary for the poor was opened, fol- 
lowed, in a few months, by an embryo hospital, which was 
established in the new home. In 1873, a separate house, 
35x70 feet, was erected for a hospital, wliich was opened on 
St. John's day (December 27th) of that year, and was named 
St. John's Hospital. The grounds were enlarged by the pur- 
chase of 35 additional lots, and, in 1877, was commenced the 
erection of a larger building, 140 feet on Atlantic avenue, by 
95 feet on Albany avenue, and five stories high. This build- 
ing was completed at an expense of $90,000. It is massive 
and elegant, and contains 140 beds. Herein are provided the 
most skillful physicians and surgeons, the personal care of 
devoted deaconesses, and the consolations of the church, 
where services in a chapel opening into every ward, are 
heard liy all. A resident physician and a chaplain are also 
included in the staff of workers. 

This latest addition to the equipment of the Long Island 
Church stands in complete working order, rising grandly at 
the intersection of the broadest avenue in our city, and a 
rapidly developing thoroughfare, with its massive basement 
of smoothly-dressed sandstone, its lofty walls of fine brick, 
its ample lights for rooms or wards, its great window of 
stained glass, with its wide and high corridors, its sunnj' and 
elegant private rooms, its clean and capacious wards, its 
manifold appliances for comfort and health, and its spacious, 
convenient and handsome cliapel, altogether constituting a 
Hospital, pronounced by experienced observers as unsur- 
passed in its adaptation to its purposes by any similar insti- 
tution in the country. 



CHARITABLE INSTITUTIONS. 



979 




ORPHANS' HOME, ON THE CHURCH CHARITi' FOUNDATJON. 



^^^\\ 








'LlLDii tillbliiii ' '^ '^^ 



llllilll IIH . ;'^^ 



fe^'"''^^ 



"T"* ( -^ . -v !» f' i^ ^ .J 5 •} j5 n r |f> « 1 S S ^^ 8 fi § 95 S 



iiiiittii itwf;. 



ST. JOHNS HOSPITAL, ON THE CHURCH CHARITY FOUNDATION. 



HISIORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



The construction of the Hospital, including its furniture, 
has added not less than $112,000 to the previously existing 
pos.sessions of the Foundation ; and competent persons esti- 
mate that, as it stands, finished, fitted, and furnished, it 
could bo replaced for not less than $150,000. 

The endowments consist of amounts variously contributed 
and p<'rmanently invested for the i)urposes of the Founda- 
tion. General endowment, $66,119 ; hospital endowment, 
$12,127.93; total, $78,246.93. The real property of the 
Fomidation is valued at $268,000 ; to this add the endow- 
ments, $8,246,937, and legacies to be received, $7,500, gives 
as total amount of assets, $353,746.93. Tlie significance of 
the.se figures cannot be overlooked. The united charities, 
from a feeble beginning, have accumulated at the rate of 
$10,000 a year, for more than thirty years. And, in addi- 
tion to tliis, the annual contributions for expenses approx- 
imate a sum equal to the unincumbered value of the projierty. 

From its very beginning, tliis work has drawn to itself such 
interest and lil)erality as to ttamp it unmistakably with the 
seals of necessity and popularity. For five years the Hos- 



ing the last nine years, the beneficiaries of the Founda- 
tion have averaged: aged people 50; orphans, 80; sick, 25. 

Its first Presidents were : Rev. Francis Vinton, D.D., 
who served three years; Rev. W. H. Lewis, D.D., who 
served four years; Rev. Thomas Guion, D.D., who served 
three years; and Rev. A. N. Littlejohn, D.D., who served by 
election until his connection to the bishopric of L. I., in 1869; 
since which he has been President, ex-officio. 

Officers in 1884 were: Rt. Rev. N. Littlejohn, Pres.; 
Charles Hall, D. D., Vice-Prcs.; Carlos A. Butler, Esq.. Sec'y ; 
and Edwin Beers, Treas. 

The Brooklyn Children's Aid Society. — This Society was 
originated at the house of Hon. S. B. Chittenden, on the 
evening of January 13, 1866. Its objects are : " The protec- 
tion, care and shelter of friendless and vagrant youth; fur- 
nishing them with food, raiment and lodging; aiding and 
administering to their wants; providing them with occupa- 
tion: instructing them in moral and religious truth, and in 
the rudiments of education; and endeavoring to make them 
virtuous and useful citizens." 




HOME OF THE UKOOKLYN C!l I l.lil! r s < AID SOCIETY. 



pital work has been supported by the income from its endow- 
ments, and the contributions to its purposes. It has also 
attracted for building purposes, in the same period of five 
years, at the annual rate of $20,000. Further, it has received 
by voluntary contributions, often of the most affecting asso- 
ciations, the furniture, and even the decorations < f offices, 
rooms and wards, to the value of more than .$12,000. Its 
absolute freedom from debt has enabled the Foundation to 
have its first consecrated chapel on unincumbered ground. 
As might be expected, such a sjiontaneously developed energy 
has exerted effects instantly appreciable upon the older 
activities by its side. Beds in the Orphan House have been 
generously endowed; and large sums have been devised, by a 
will now in probate, to each of the three great works of the 
Institution, which bequests are known to have been prompted 
by the unflagging persistence shown by the prosecutors of 
the enterprise in behalf of the sick and wounded. 

The Foundation lias always maintained an excellent 
primary school for the orjihans, and it has a chaplain to care 
for the spiritual and moral welfare of the inmates. Dur- 



The foremost citizens of Brooklyn have served on the 
Board of Trustees, and the story of the Society is one of con- 
stant and vigorous growth. Wm. A. Lawrence, as general 
superintendent, organized the work; and the generous gifts 
of Frederick Marquand, Chauncey Rose, H. B. Claflin, S. B. 
Chittenden, and many others, with the most careful business 
management, have kept the Society above pressing want. It 
has constantly reached out for more work, year by year. Its 
first institution. The Newsboys' Home, 61 Poplar street, was 
opened September 1st, 1866. The special relief department 
began work June 1st, 1867, furnishing homes and work for 
children. Two Industrial Schools organized the same 
year. 

By September 1st, 1867, another Home was in full operation 
at 139 Van Brunt street. South Brooklyn. 

Within another year, the Newsboys' Home proved too 
small, and the adjoining house and lot, 57 Poplar street, 
were bought and fitted up. During the same year — October 
31, 1868 — the Sewing-machine School for girls was organized, 
and has been in successful operation ever since. 



CHARITABLE INSTITUTIONS. 



981 



The departments of work conducted up to 1872 were : Two 
Newsboys' Homes; a Special Relief Department; Sewing- 
Machine Scliool, two Industrial Schools, and two Night- 
Schools for Boys. In the summer of 1873, Mr. Lawrence or- 
ganized and carried out a series of excursions for mothers 
and children to the sea-shore. 

On April 1st, 1873, Mr. Lawrence resigned the general 
superintendence of the Society, and Richard D. Douglass 
was appointed to the position. 

The picnics for mothers and children were continued dur- 
ing the summer of 1873, under the care of Mr. Wm. Kirkby, 
the work having largely increased. Mr. Douglass assumed 
the conduct of the "Fresh Air Fund Excursions" in 1874, 
and carried them on each summer, until, in 1876, by the 
munificence of Alfred T. White, who presented a new build- 
ing, fully furnished, to the Society, the Seaside Home for 
Children was opened at Coney Island. From the small be- 
ginnings of two or three mothers, sent to the sea-shore to 
board for a few days for the benefit of their babies' health, 
the work has assumed the proportions indicated by the fol- 
lowing statistics : (See, also, page 197). 



1876.... 

1877 

1878 

1879 

1880 

1881 

1882 

1883 

Total 



NO. 


NO. 


NO. 


WEEKS 


CHILDREN 


MOTHERS 


OPEN. 


RECEIVED. 


RECEIVED. 


10 


619 


2U 


l.S 


1,601 


565 


13 


1,921 


648 


13 


2,433 


805 


13 


2,821 


1,051 


13J^ 


3.1.52 


1,083 


13 


3,168 


1,202 


13 


3 383 


1,218 




19,088 


6,786 



2,166 
2,569 

3,228 
3,872 
4,235 
4,370 
4,601 

25,-74 



On January 1st, 1881, the Societj', in addition to its other 
work, established a Day Nursery for young children, in con- 
nection with the Industrial School, in Van Brunt street. 
This Society owes much of its success to the untiring efforts 
of William A. Lawrence, general superintendent for the first 
seven jears of its life, and William Kirkby, who was super- 
intendent of the Newsboys' Home from its foundation till 
July 4th, 1880, when the Master called him to a higher ser- 
vice. 

The following gentlemen have served as Presidents of the 
Society : — Hon. S. B. Chittenden, James R. Taylor, Dwiglit 
Johnson, Henry R. Jones, Charles A. Denny, James P. Wal- 
lace and Michael Snow. General Superintendents: Wm. 
Appleton Lawrence, from 1866, for seven years; Richard D. 
Douglass, from 1873 to the present time, ten years. Super- 
intendent of Newsboys' Home, Wm. Kirkby, from September 
1st, 1866, to his <lecease, July 4th, 1880 ; since which time 
Mrs. Wm. Kirkby has been in charge. 

The Van Brunt Street Home was maintained for boys un- 
til 1867, when it was found best to concentrate work at Pop- 
lar street, and at the same time enlarge tlie Industrial 
School. E. Whitney conducted this Home as Superintend- 
ent up to the date of closing the Home, as a lodging house 
for boys. Miss M. H. Robinson continues to serve as Princi- 
pal of the Industrial School. 

The breadth and scope of the work of this Society is best 
shown by the following statistics, which represents only a 
part of the work done by the Brooklyn Children's Aid So- 
ciety, from the commencement of its work, September 1st, 
1866, to November 1, 1883, a period of 17 years and 3 months : 
2,194 children sent to good homes in the country; 6,100 chil- 
dren sent to good homes in the city; 7,581 girls taught on 
the sewing machine ; 10,334 boys taken in from the streets ; 
26,011 mothers and children sent to the Seaside Home; 37,018 
articles of clothing distributed to children; 558,593 lodgings 



furnished to street boys; 1,611,036 meals furnished to the 
hungry; .$60,129.93 received from the boys, in part payment 
for their food and shelter. 

The Society has erected a new Newsboys' Home during the 
past year, and it is regarded by many as the model Home for 
this kind of work. A cut of this building appears at the head 
of this notice. 

The Convent of the Sisters of Mercy was founded by 
the Order of the Sisters of Mercy, and incorporated March 
8th, 1865. It is located on Willoughby avenue, between 
Classon and Graham avenues. The objects of the Order of 
tlie Sisters of Mercy are to provide for and educate orphan 
and destitute children ; to visit the sick in their homes, and 
convicts in prisons and jails ; and to establish and maintain 
hospitals, infirmaries and other charities. 

This convent was commenced in 1862, and completed in 
1863. It was built of brick, with a height of four stories, a 
front of 160 and a depth of 26 feet ; with wings from either 
end extending to the rear, each 135 feet. The rooms are 
large and airy, and the building is well suited to its pur- 
poses, having a capacity for 200 inmates, and school accom- 
modations for more than 600 pupils. The institution is sup- 
ported by receipts from a select school, by the labor of its 
inmates, by donations, and by aid from the city. Its prop- 
erty is estimated to be worth about $140,000. 

Home for the Aged, in charge of Tlie Little Sisters of the 
Poor. — This order was founded at St. Servan, in Brittany, in 
1840, by Abbe le Pailleur, a young priest. The work was 
commenced by two laboring girls, aged respectively 18 and 
16, who devoted themselves to the care of the aged and in- 
firm poor. From this modest beginning the order spread 
till, in 1880, it numbered 188 houses, 23 of which were in 
America. The first house in this country was opened in 
Brooklyn. 

In 1868, Rev. Ernst M. Lelievre made the necessary arrange- 
ments for the establishment of an institution here, and on the 
13th of September, seven Little Sisters took possession 
of three adjoining houses at 608 DeKalb avenue, capable of 
sheltering about forty old people. In about eighteen months 
they secured a plot of ground on the corner of Bushwick 
and DeKalb avenues, and commenced the erection of one 
wing of the present Home. By the aid of an appropriation 
from the Legislature in 1870, they were enabled to build the 
central part, containing the chapel, and afterwards the east- 
ern wing. 

The building is of brick, three stories in height, 180 feet 
long by 73 deep; well supplied with cooking and laundry 
fixtures, with accommodations for 375 old persons, which 
number is kept quite full. 

Every day two Sisters call at the various hotels, restau- 
rants, and private houses, collecting broken victuals, coffee 
grounds, tea, old clothing, etc. The butchers, grocers and 
pro^"ision dealers contribute largely to the support of the 
Home. 

A branch Home has been established on Fifth avenue, at 
the corner of 21st street, where a new building is in process 
of construction, similar to the one on DeKalb avenue. 

Convent of the Good Shepherd (the Order of the Sisters 
of the Good Shepherd). The Order was first established in 
1561 at Angers, in France, by the venerable John Eudes, and 
was introduced into the United States in 1843. The object of 
the order is the reformation of fallen women and the pre_ 
servation of young girls in habits of virtue. After reclama. 
tion, if they desire, they are admitted to the Order of the 
Sisters of St. Mai-y Magdalen, and live in retirement. The 
institution also jirovides for unmanageable, vicious children^ 
and for orphans. The house was established in Brooklyn, 



982 



BISTORT 01 KINGS COUNTY. 



May 8th, 1868, in a brick building on Henry street, near 
Atlantic. In May, 1872, they removed to the corner of 
Atlantic and Ekist New York avenues. In 1872, a new and 
larger building was commenced at the corner of Dean street 
and Roc-kaway avenue, which is now occupied by the Sisters 
and a largo number of inmates. The grounds occupied by 
the e-stablishment comprise an entire square. At this house, 
many who desire to reform present themselves; others are 
placed In it by friends, or by the authorities. Schools for the 
younger iimiates are const.anlly maintained. Fifty sisters 
are here at jiresoiit ongagi'd in this good work. 

The Female Employment Society. — This beneficent organ- 
ization was originated in Marcli, and incorporated A])ril 19, in 
1854, for the purpose of giving remunerative employment to 
poor women. It originally numbered six officers and thirty- 
four managers, which number has since been retained. The 
first Board op Officers was composed of Mrs. LiKjueer, Jlrs. 
A. A. Ix)w, Mrs. Catlin, Mrs. M. F. Odell, Mrs. P. Romeyn, 
and Miss M. Lord. Sirs. Low has been the President from 
the first. 

The Society owns tlie building. No. 93 Court street (its 
head-quarters), and gives employment to many poor women 
at more remunerative rates than they would obtain else- 
where. Aside from the sale of the work manufactured by 
these poor women, the association is supported by charity. 
Free instruction is given in needle- work and in the use of the 
sewing macliine. Cases of sickness and destitution among 
the employees receive prompt attention. The Officf.rs for 
1883-'84 are: IMrs. A. A. Low, Pres.; Miss Peet, Vice-Pres.; 
Mrs. William Brooks, Sec; Miss Star, Asst. Sec; Miss A. A. 
Bidell, Treas.; Miss Baltzell, Asst. Treas. 

The Good Samaritan. — Wliile travelling in Norway, in 
1873, Mr. M. S. Beach observed the practical working of an 
association for supplying food, ready cooked, to the poor, at 
the lowest possible price, and conceived the idea of establish- 
ing a similar enterprise here. After liis return, the matter was 
considered by Mr. Beach and several other benevolent citi- 
zens, among whom were: A. S. Barnes, F. A. Schroeder, D. D. 
Wickes, Alexander Ager, Alanson Ti-ask, John S.Ward, Tas- 
ker H. Marvin, S. V. White, A. P. Strout, James E. Kelsey, 
Robert Foster and S. N. Stebbins. Tlie result was the organi- 
zation on the 25th of January, 1877, of an association under 
the above name. The object, as set forth in the original 
articles of Association, was to furnish food and lodging to 
the needy at the lowest possible price. 

The house was first opened at 35 WUloughby street, and in 
the following May was removed to 45, in the same street. In 
1880 the present building was erected, by the subscribers to 
the Samaritan, on the corner of Willoughby and Jay streets. 

The Association is now established on a sound financial 
basis, and during the year 1881, the Nassau Branch was es- 
tablished on the corner of Nassau and Washington streets. 

This institution supplies a great desideratum. The poor 
are here furnished with food and shelter, at prices barely re- 
munerative, without feeling that they are the recipients of 
charity. It is a significant fact that the example of the found- 
ers of this establishment is being followed elsewhere. A. S. 
Banies is President of the Association. The other Officers for 
1883-81 arc: S. N. Stebbins, Vice-Pres.; F. D. Blake, Secy; 
Moses S. Beach, Treas. 

The Greenpoint Home for the Aged was incorporated Nov. 
20, 1882, with the following Manaoeks: Mrs. S. E. Dougherty, 
Mrs. E. A. Clarke, Mrs. A. F. Cornell, Mrs. H. V. Church, 
Mrs. M. E. Shaffer, Mrs. C. Broad, Mrs. M. R. Barnhart, Mrs. 
L. R. Broad, Mrs. E. H. Corwith, Mrs. J. E. VanWoert, Mrs. 
J. G. Manson, Mrs. S. Clarke, Miss A. Anderson, Mrs. S. C. 
Fiakel, Mrs. E. M. Tiylor, Mrs. S. A. Calkin, Mrs. E, F. 



Briggs, Mrs. M. A. Bradley, Mrs. L. E. Jenkins and Mrs. A. 
S. Nutting. Of these, Mrs. E. Finkel was President ; Mrs. S. 
E. Dougherty and Mrs. J. H. Broad, Vice-Presidents ; Mrs. G. 

E. Bradley, Mrs. J. S. Ogilvie, Secretaries; Mrs. E. D. Church, 
Treasurer ; and this board of officers has since been re-elected. 
Tlie organization originally numl)ered 23, which has since 
been increased to 40. May 1st, 1882, the house at 69 Dupont 
street was rented, and formally opened June 15th; it now 
contains 9 inmates with accommodations for as many more. 

German Ladies' Association, — The German element of our 
p(>]>ulati(>n is mostly self-supporting, but occasionally a case 
deserving of charitj' is foimd. In 1874, an association was 
formed among the German ladies of tlie Western District, ft)r 
the purpose of aiding poor Germans. Its President was Mrs. 

F. A. Dreyer, and '\^ice-President Mrs. H. Strybing. The as- 
sociation added to its numbers until it now has l.jO memliers. 
In 1877, it was incorporated. It is entirelj- a voluntary work, 
and dejiends upon contributions for support. It aims to help 
the needy only until they can help themselves. Its members 
visit personally the families in their respective districts, and 
give help as needed. Over 5,000 cases have been reached 
since the association began its work. The present Officers 
are: Mrs. H. Stryljing. Pres. ; Mrs. B.Westermann,T7ec-Pres.; 
Mrs. W. Polmayder, Pec. Sec; Mrs. P. Lichtenstein, Sec 

The Helping Hand. — In the winter of 1871, several ladies, 
mostly of the Clinton Avenue Congregational Church, 
formed a relief association to aid temi)orarily the wortliy 
poor. 

An investigating committee was appointed, and, after 
several efforts, an organization i^eifected July 24, 1871. Its 
objects were: 1st. To establish a charity foundation. 2d. To 
improve the condition of the poor. 3d. To instruct women 
in useful employment. 4th. To give temporary relief in 
cases of need. 5th. To establish evening and industrial 
schools. 6tli. To distribute contributions. The first Trustees 
were: Stephen Ballard, Colin Campbell, J. T. Duryea, Richard 
B. Duane, James W. Elwell, H. H. Lamport, Curtis L. North, 
E. B. RoUins, J. S. Stearns, Edmund Titus, Wm. H. Smith, 
Henry G. Richardson, James Willson. The first Board of 
Officers were: Jas. W. Elwell, Pres.; H. B. Spelman, John 
French, Mrs. H. M. Soudder, Mrs. H. Dickinson, Mrs. H. 
Dollner, Fice-Pres. ; Andrew Smith, iJec. Sec; MissMeacham, 
Cor. Sec; H. H. Lamport, Treas. In 1874, the Helping 
Hand added a Dispensary to its other aids, with Dr. Scudder 
as the first physician in charge. Since his decease, Dr. 
Archibald Campbell has held the position. The Officers 
for 1883-84 are: Jas. W. Elwell, Pres.; A. S. Barnes, Rev. T. 
B. McLeod, Hon. J. F. Pierce, Vice-Pres.; J. F. Anderson, 
Jr., Pec. Sec; Miss M. A. Berry, Cor. Sec; Mrs. A. P. Strout, 
Treas. The Trustees are: J. W. Elwell, A. S. Barnes, J. F. 
Anderson, Jr., J. F. Pierce, D. D. Ives, F. G. Smith, A. P. 
Strout, W. T. Gregg, J. Mix, C. D. Wood, Rev. E. J. Haynes. 

The Officers of the Board of Managers for 1883-84 are: 
Mrs. J. F. Pierce, Pres.; Mrs. W. T. Hemmen way, Fiee-Pres. 
Mrs. W. F. Swalm, Mrs. I. N. Thatcher, Secretaries; Mrs. A 
Strout, Treas. 

The Home for Friendless Women and Children of 
Brooklyn. In 1868, Mrs. Catharine Duryea ElweU became 
interested in three poor women in the Raymond Street Jad, 
who had been punished for crimes growing out of intem- 
perate habits ; and, on their discharge, for the sake of pre- 
serving them from a relapse into intemperance and from idle 
habits, she, with three of her friends, determined to main- 
tain them until occupation and liomes could be found for 
them. Finally, rooms were taken on Canton street, near the 
Jail, Mr. James ElweU paying the rent for six months, and 
the four friends contributing the necessary furniture. This 



CHARITABLE INSTITUTIONS. 




TEMP(iI;AI:\ lliiMi: FOR FlilENDLESS WOMEN AND 
CHILDllEN. 

experiment proved so encouraging that, before long, eiglit 
women and two children were added to the little family on 
Canton street. In May, 1869, the infant Society rented a 
small frame house on Bergen street, to "establish a refuge 
for all who desired to reform, and offer them opportunities 
to lead a better life." b'SG women and 69 little children were 
sheltered in 1869. A few months later, the Society was in- 
formally organized: Mrs. J. P. El well, Pres.; ^liss Meacham, 
See. The first annual meeting was held April 4. 1870, in 
Dr. Cuyler's church. That same month, a larger house on 
Bergen street was taken and rapidly filled. In that year, 400 
women and children were admitted, and more than 48,000 
meals furnished, but the pecuniary condition of the Society 
was discouraging. It was sustained solely by the bounty of 
friends. The need of more system became apparent. Accord- 
ingly the Society was incorporated April 28, 1870, by tlie 
following corporators : Elvira C. Jackson, Catharine Duryea 
Elwell, Carrie E. Brett, Sarah M. Trask, Martha B. Cutting, 
Carrie McDonald, Lizzie G. Meacham, Elizabeth L. Rosman, 
Maria W. Heaton, Stella Mitchell, Sarah S. C^ooper, Adriana 
Genung, Ann E. Martin, Sarah B. Baylis, Urania B. Hum- 
phrey, Laura C. Douglass, Elizabeth W. Wyckoff, Letitia W. 
AUis, Mary E. Hartt, Allitta Duryea, Ellen Woolsey, Abigail 
Bulkeley, Mary S. Delamater, Janet Tiney, Ella C. Knowl- 
ton, Ann Brown, Sara A. Pryor, A. J. Eaton, Harriet L. 
Packer, Mary White, Frances M. Allen, Margaret S. Barnes, 
Harriet Sheldon, Mary L. Stone, and Caroline O. Bogart. 
$10,000 was appropriated by the State, |19,000 more col- 
lected, and the present home on Concord street was pur- 



chased for $30,000, and was furnished and occupied May, 1871. 
Since that time it has been filled to its utmost capacity, with 
an annual average of about 600 inmates. More than 10,000 
different women and children have been sheltered by the 
home since its organization. 

The Officers for 1883-84 are as follows: Mrs. W. S. Packer, 
Pres.; Sirs. D. S. Landon, First Vice-Pres.; Mrs. S. V. White, 
Seeond Vice-Pres. : Mrs. D. G. Eaton, Treas.; Mrs. J. S. T. 
Stranahan, Mrs. John D. Rushmore. 

The Brooklyn Howard Colored Orphan Asylum. — This 
charity grew out of the need that was felt, by the freed 
women who came North, of homes for their children. By 
the advice of Gens. O. O. Howard and C. H. Howard, an as- 
sociation was formed in 186G, in New York, which was after- 
wards removed to Brooklyn, and incorporated, September 7, 
1 868, under the above name. The buildings are situated on 
Dean street, near Troy avenue, where the Society owns sev- 
eral lots. There are accommodations for about 100 children. 
.V day-school and a Sunday-school are maintained. The 
Officers for 1883-84 are: Mrs. L. A. Cooper, First Directress ; 
Mrs. A. Gladiator, Second Directress ; Mrs. M. Augusta 
Jolinson, Treas.; Mis3 F. Richards, Miss G. Cooper, Secre- 
taries; Rev. W. F. Johnson, Supt. and Gen. Agent. 

The Home Association for Working Women and Girls 
was first organized, in 1879, as a voluntary society, mainly 
through the efforts of Miss Mary Lewis, Mrs. John McLeod, 
Mrs. Helen B. Partridge, Mrs. C. Benson, Mrs. Geo. Stannard, 
and Miss Carrie Pratt. The object of the association is the 
furnishing of a homelike boarding-place for working women 
and girls at a price proportioned to their wages. The associa- 
tion was incorporated in 1879, and in its work it has been 
very successful. Its location has been several times re- 
moved to enlarge its accommodations. It is now (1884) 
located at No. 175 Hall street. Mrs. Helen D. Parsons was 
President from the incorporation of the association until 
1883, when Mrs. H. D. Partridge was elected; the other Offi- 
cers for 1883-'84 are: Mrs. Geo. Stannard, Vice-Pres.; Mrs. 
Jas. H. Taft, Jr., and Miss Etta Adams, Secretaries; Miss 
Mary E. Lewis, Treas.; Miss C. A. Pratt, Auditor. 

Sheltering Arms Nursery. — In April, 1870, Mrs. Rev. J. A. 
Paddock conceived the idea of affording to the poor mothers 
of St. Peter's (P. E.) congregation, facilities for pursuing 
their daily labor by providing a place where their infants 
could be cared for during the day. The experiment was 
made, and it gave promise of success. In October of the 
same year, ladies from the different parishes met and or- 
ganized, at first, a day nursery. A house in Pacific street, was 
rented, and the nursery established there. During the next 
year the society was incorporated under the above title, and 
permanent inmates were received. In the same year, larger 
quarters were procured in Warren street. Thence the 
nursery was removed, successively, to Atlantic avenue, Lex- 
ington avenue; and, in 1877, to its present quarters, 157 Dean 
street, near Hoyt. A building was purchased here, at a cost 
of $13,000. In 1880, this was burned out, but at once rebuilt. 
In 1878, it became a diocesan charity. It has passed through 
many vicissitudes and discouragements, but its permanence 
and usefulness have become well assured. The object of this 
charity is, not to encourage idleness, but to aid those who 
are willing to labor for their support. The first Officers 
were: Mrs. Rev. Dr. John A. Paddock, Pres., 1870-'81; Mrs. 
D. L. Dodge, Vice-Pres.; Mrs. C. L. Caswell, Sec' y; Mrs. A. 
Hallett, Treas. Present Officers : Mrs. John A. Nichols, 
Pres. Lady Managers: Mrs. William B. Kendall, Vice-Pres.; 
Mrs. Henry C. Hardy, Sec'y; Mrs. John Norton, Treas. About 
fifty infants and small children are now in the institution, 
which has a permanent fund of $50,000 for its support. 



984 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 




HEBREW ORPHAN ASYLUM. 



The Hebrew Orphan Society of Brooklyn originated from 
a gathering of charitable Hebrews to provide a home for or- 
phans from Brooklyn. An organization was perfected and 
the society incorporated in August, 1878. A house was 
rented on the corner of Stuy vesant avenue and McDonough 
street. The asylum was opened for the reception of orphans 
January 7, 1879, and sixteen children received. Before the 
expiration of two years the need of larger accommodations 
was felt, and at a meeting April 17, 1881, it was resolved to 
purchase grounds on McDonough street, near Stuyvesant av- 
enue, 120 by 200 feet, for the sum of $12,500. The trustees 
resolved to erect a new building, 70 by 100 feet, of which the 
corner-stone was laid June 26, 1883. It is of brick, with stone 
trimmings, and three stories in height. The managers have 
deemed it a wise policy to educate the children in the neigh- 
boring public school. The asylum owes much to the efforts 
of Ernst Nathan, who has been its President from the first. 
The other Officers for 1883-'4 are: S. Goodstein, Vice- 
President; G. Jlerzbach, Secretary, and M. Bruckheimer, 
Treasurer. 

The Hebrew Benevolent Society of Brooklyn, E. D., was 
organized June 24, 1868, with 36 members, and was designed 
to assist the poor and needy through a well-regulated system 
of relief. All applications are investigated by a committee, 
and the worthy are assisted with food, clothing and fuel. Its 
first Officers were : M. Kessel, Pres. ; Jloses May, Vice-Pres. ; 
Isaac Strauss, ,S'cc. ,- Philip Strauss, Cash.: S. Kaufman, A. 
Nova, M. Benjamin, N. Bernstein, S. Moog, A. H. Sonn, 
Directors. The society has meetings semi-annually; the 
committee on relief and charity meets every month. The 
society derives its income from the dues of members and 
voluntary contributions from the charitable. The Officers 
for 1884 are as follows: M. Kessel, Pres.; M. May, Vice- 



Pres.; H. Stettheimer, Sec; Philip' Sti-auss, Cash.: N. Bern- 
stein, I. Igelheimer, D. Urlach, D. Wollmar, I. Weinberg, 
Directors. 

The Brooklyn Industrial School Association and Home 
for Destitute Children (No. 217 Sterling place, between Flat- 
bush and Vanderbilt avenues), was organized in 1854, and 
incorporated in 1857. Its object is to form and support in- 
dustrial schools, and to establish and maintain a home for 
destitute children in the city of Brooklyn. The small house 
in Concord street, in which the children were first gathered 
by the Association, afforded too limited accommodation, and 
fourteen lots of ground were purchased on what is now Ster- 
ling place, although at time of purchase there were no paved 
sti-eets and no buildings in that immediate vicinity. 

In 1861 the Home for Destitute Children vcas erected at a 
cost of about 115,000. In 1874 a wing was added to this 
building to be used for hospital purposes. In 1880 the work 
had so far outgrown the utmost capacity of this Home, for 
the accommodation of applicants, as to render it necessary 
to remodel the entire building. This was done, and a new 
wing was added; the whole being ready for occupation in 1883. 

In accordance with the plans of the architect, it is pro- 
posed at some future time to erect a new westerly wing in 
place of the old one, which was allowed to remain for want 
of funds. When this change shall have been made the com- 
pleted building will appear as one of the finest in the city of 
Brooklyn. As it stands on an eminence commanding a view 
of Prospect Park, and also of the Bay of New York, it is a 
prominent object. The situation is both airy and healthful, 
and peculiarly suitable as a home for the little ones who need 
the pure, fresh air which this site furnishes. 

Six Industrial Schools have been established and supjiorted 
by this association. They are, at present date, in the locaU- 



CSARITABLE INSTITUTION'S. 



985 








1. raaaa^:3=TifcC;>,^-^;g*= ->^':i-S<6i.fa,r. i^ 



BKOOKLYN INDUSTRIAL SIIIOOL AND HOME FOIi DESTITUTE CHILDREN. 

ties here given, and their order of establishment is as follows: 
No. 1, Concord street, opposite junction of Prince street; No. 
2, Fourth street, near Smith street: No. 3, in the Home, Ster- 
ling place, between Flatbush and Vanderbilt avenues; No. 4, 
No. 391 Van Brunt street; No. 5, Throop avenue, between 
Myrtle and Flusliing avenues; No. 6, Franklin avenue, near 
Myrtle avenue. 

In these schools the children receive an elementar}' course 
of instruction and good moral and religious training. A 
suit of new clothing is provided for every child, and 
dinner is given daily in their respective schools. This pro- 
vision is made so as to enable the children to attend, for none 
are admitted who have sufficient clothing and food prepared 
by their parents; and no child who can attend the public 
school is allowed to remain here. The children are taught 
to sew by ladies who visit the schools for that purpose: every 
school is under the supervision of a committee from the 
board of managers. The cliildren in the Home building are 
those whose parents cannot, for various reasons, provide a 
shelter for them. In some cases their relations j)ay a nom- 
inal board toward their support. Some of the children are 
surrendered to the association, and others are taken entirely 
on charity. The older children assist in the light work of the 
house, and thus become familiar with the ordinary routine 
of household labor. The girls are taught to sew; and 
" kitchen garden " instruction has been introduced, so as to 
prepare them to take places for domestic service. 

The work is supported liy the voluntary contributions of 
benevolent persons. Managers are appointed from the vari- 
ous churches, and contributions are taken up by the man- 
agers in their respective chiu-ches. Nearly every Protestant 
church in Brooklyn is represented by one or more managers 
in the Home. The board at present consists of about one 
hundred and fifty ladies. An annual fair adds to the rev- 
enues of the association. The Presidents have been, in suc- 
cession: Mrs. Fisher Howe, Mrs. Jesse Smith and Mrs. J. 
Merwin; the latter is still the President of the Board. 

Orphans and half-orphans are not received in the Home 
for Destitute Children, but are referred to the Orphan Asy- 
lum, this being an arrangement made to distinguish the 
work of the two institutions. The Industrial School work, 
however, is the distinctive feature of this charity, and its 
benevolence is distributed throughout the whole city by the 
schools, which are, as to locality, widely separated from each 
other. This has always been a favorite charity in the city, 
and its growth has been very rapid. 



The Industrial School and Home of Brook- 
lyn, E. D.* — Previous to 1854, a voluntary asso- 
ciation for the care of poor children existed 
among the local churches in Williamsburgh. 
In February, 1854, Mrs. Harriet Brown, im- 
pressed by the degraded condition of poor chil- 
dren, and anxious for their reformation, per- 
sonally solicited the sum of |600, and called a 
meeting of friends in the parlors of the New 
England Congregational Church, Feb. 20th. 

The organization of the society was per- 
fected, with Mrs. Brown as chairman. It was 
determined to have a school in the old North 
American Hotel, on North Second street, be- 
tween Fourth and Fifth streets. The session 
rommenced March 7th, 1855, with eleven 
upils, Mrs. Fister being the teacher. Mrs. 
in Houghton was the first matron. 
In 1860, the association was incorporated for 
the following purposes: " To cause the chil- 
dren of the school to receive elementary 
EngUsh instruction; to teach habits of neatness and order; 
to instruct in domestic duties; to provide food and clothing, 
and procure places of employment for the children when 
they arrive at a suitable age." 

The nine Trustees for the first year were: James Hall, Rob- 
ert Dunken, George Ricard, John Broach, Isaac M. Haly, 
Richard B. Hunt, John A. Brady, M. D., Joseph H. Van De 
Water, and George W. Edwards. Some years later, the 
Home was removed to the old public school building, corner 
of Fifth and South Third streets. 

In 1866, an apjieal was made to the Legislature for aid. 
The first directress, Mrs. Lyons, fought a brave battle in the 
interest of the school. She was a leading spirit; not only in 
this institution, but in all works of charity and public 
spirit, her sympathies were quickest and her hand strongest. 
She asked others for nothing which she herself was not 
willing to give. She led where she desired others to follow. 
During the war for the Union, she gave to the stricken 
soldier the same systematic and vigorous aid as here to the 
child of poverty and want. She had taken this institution 
into her heart of hearts, and voluntarily went to Albany 
to secure the needed appropriation for this institution. 




INDUSTRIAL SCHOOL AND HOME, E. D. 

While she used no artifice, no unworthy or undignified 
methods, she omitted no proper effort that could con- 
tribute to her success. She knew the members personally, 
and literally sat down before and in the Capitol until the 
bill was passed and signed by the Governor, giving the 

* By Geo. H. Fisher, Esq. 



986 



HISTORY OF KHSTGS COUl^TT. 



school 110,000, upon condition that an equal sum be raised 
by private subscription, which was duly fulfilled. Mr. 
Greorge Ricard present«d four lots in North Second street, on 
which to erect a new liuilding; but, in 1869, the plan was 
changed ; the Pease estate, in South Tliird street, was pur- 
chased, and the large substantial building occupied. In 
1877-78, a wing, costing $32,000, was added to the Home, the 
funds for which were raised principally through the efforts 
of the lady managers. 

The association now numbers about 4o0 life members. Tlie 
first Board of Officers was: Richard B. Hunt, Pres.\ Geo. 
W. Edwards, Sec; John Broach, Treas. The succeeding 
presidents have been : Nicholas Wyckoff and Benjamin Wil- 
son. The first directresses have been: Mrs. Robert Duncan, 
Mrs. E. Lyon, and Jlrs. B. H. Howell. 

The Officers for 18--3-'84 are: Board of Trustees— Ben- 
jamin W. "Wilson, Pres.; Lewis P. Nostrand, Vice-Pres.; 
George H. Fisher, .Sec; John Broach, Treas.; Benjamin H. 
Howell, Cornelius L. Johnson, G«orge B. Cole, John T. Wood- 
ruff, Edward S. Seeley. Board of Managers — Mrs. B. H. 
Howell, First Directress; Sliss S. F. Snow, Second Direct- 
ress: Miss J. A. S. Schapps, Rec. Sec; Mrs. L. L. Kortright, 
Cor. Sec; Mrs. J. D. Wade, Treas. 

The Industrial Restaurant and Training School was or- 
ganized in 1878, inaialy througii the efforts of Mrs. A. Ten- 
ney. The aim of its managers was to provide a remedy for 
street begging, by furnishing work to be done on the prem- 
ises, to men, women and children, for meals, cooked food to 
carry home, groceries, clothing and coal. 

The work furnished for men has been: sawing, splitting 
and delivering wood. The work for women and children 
lias been: house cleaning, laundry work, sewing and rug- 
making. 

A fair amount of labor only has been required, and people 
have been urged and aided to find work outside. An appli- 
cant to the institution is allowed to work three hours per 
day, for which he receives payment at the rate of ten cents 
per hour in meals, or food to carry home. 

A weekly visitor is sent to poor families to relieve their 
wants, provide them with work, and see that the children 
attend some school. 

The restaurant cares for children during the day while the 
mother goes out to work; loans money on furniture; pur- 
chases coal at reduced rates for the poor; lodges men at 10 
cents per night; a free evening reading-room, free baths, 
and washing, in exchange for work. It also teaches the 
proper way to perform work. 

In 1882, the Industrial Restaurant moved to its present 
site, No. 112 Lexington avenue. It is supported entirely by 
charity; any person paying 5 cents per week becomes a mem- 
ber of the association, and is entitled to send all applicants 
for aid to the restaurant. 

The Officers for 1883-'84 are: Mrs. A. Tenney, Pres.; Mrs. 
H. W. St. John, Vice-Pres.; Mrs. George L. Carrington, 
Sec; Mrs. !M. B. Ross, Treas. 

The Orphan Home of the Church of the Holy Trinity 
was established in 1861, and soon afterwards incorporated, for 
the purpose of maintaining and educating orphans, from 
tlie congregation of the Roman Catholic Church of the 
Holy Trinity. There are about 30 inmates at the present 
time. The first Officers were: Very Rev. M. May, J. Bert- 
ges, J. Zimmer, and J. Raber. 

The Board is the same for 1883-"84, with the addition of F. 
J. Berlenbeauer and L. Groeser. 

St. Phebe's Mission, at No. 10 Lafayette street, was or- 
ganized in the spring of 1882, and adopted a constitution 
May 30th. Its object is to minister to the necessities of the 



sick and the destitute; especially to the inmates of the County 
buildings at Flatbush, of the Penitentiary, the City JaU, and 
the Naval and City Hospitals. To this end, women workers 
and trained nurses are engaged, who are known as St. Pliebe 
Associates. During the past year, over 1,000 visits were 
made to these various institutions by the .Sisters. The Mis- 
sion is supported entirely by charity. The first BOARD OF 
Managers was as follows : Miss Harriette Low, Mrs. A. A. 
Seaman, Miss C. King, Mrs. Hugh Allen, Mrs. Augustus 
Ivins, Miss Peck, Mrs. Samuel Cox, Mrs. F. B. Carter, 
Mrs. Alexander Hutchins, Mrs. Washburne. The Officers 
have been and are as follows: Miss Harriette Low, Pres.; 
Jlrs. Augustus Ivins, Sec; Miss Cornelia King, Treas. The 
present Board of Managers is as follows : Miss Harriette 
Low, Miss King, Mrs. Seaman, Mrs. Ivins, Mrs. A. Hutchins, 
Mrs. S. Cox, Mrs. Peck, Mrs. Stoddard, Mrs. Van Nostrand 
Mrs. Jenkins, Mrs. Snively, Mrs. Conklin and Mrs. Wood- 
ard. 

The Christian Union for Chinese Work. — This organiza- 
tion has for its object the education, elevation and protection 
of the Chinese residents in our city. The rooms of the so- 
ciety are located at 991 and 993 Fulton street, and are open 
every week-day afternoon and evening, with religious ser- 
vices on Sunday evening. On Monday afternoon, there is a 
Union school session at the Moravian Church, Jay street, near 
Myrtle avenue. The President of the society is Mr. Andrew 
A. Smith, who has been very active in assisting the Chinese in 
their business affairs; seeking redress for them when robbed 
and abused by civilized Americans, and in many other 
ways endeavoring to impress them with the idea that Chris- 
tianity means something. The other Officers of the so- 
ciety are : H. E. Pease, Vice-Pres.; Rev. E. S. Walle, Sec; 
W. D. Gleason, Treas. The Trustees are: Messrs. A. S. 
Barnes, S. L. Parsons, A. D. Matthews, Charles Tremaine, 
Miss Shirley, Mrs. Wyman, Miss Pleier, Mrs. Relph, Mrs. Dr. 
Sizer, Mrs. Simmons, Mrs. Culbertson, and Mrs. Harris. 

The First Brooklyn Woman's Christian Temperance 
Union was organized early in 1874, and incorporated in 
1880. It is connected with the New York State organization 
as well as the Woman's National C^hristian Temperance Union. 
Its Officers are as follows: K. E. Cleveland, Pres.; Miss M. 
E. Winslow, Cor. Sec; Mrs. Myra J. Denley, Bee. Sec; Mrs. 
Mary L. Jacobs, Treas. 

A hall seating 400, at the corner of Fulton and Jay streets, 
is the headquarters of the Union, with branches in different 
parts of the city. The Union provides pleasant and attractive 
reading rooms, where meetings are held every evening and 
on Sunday afternoons. Sunday evening temperance meet- 
ings are held in the theatres and places of amusement. The 
work of the Union includes the visitation of families, reliev- 
ing distress, circulating temperance literature, and gathering 
children into schools. Regular visits are paid to the Ray- 
mond street Jail and to the Kings County Penitentiary, and 
the families of prisoners are cared for when necessary. Work 
among children is carried on by means of two flourishing 
schools, numbering about 300 pupils. The Union has expended 
in its work, since March, 1874, $21,252. Mrs. Mary C. Johnson 
was its President for the first eight years. 

The Christian Rescue Temperance Union originated in 
the weekly meetings of a few children to promote the cause 
of temperance, and assist poor families in the neighborhood. 
An organization was formed June 15, 1879, at 196 15th street. 
South Brooklyn, with six members. The membership in- 
creased so raiudly, and the society did so much good, that it 
was incorporated in August, 1882, with a view to erect a hall 
and reading-room. It now consists of about 80 adult mem- 
bers and 1,500 youths and children. Weekly meetings are 



CHARITABLE INSTITUTIONS. 



987 



held for business and instruction. They are carefully trained 
in vocal and instrumental music, and give occasional con- 
certs to raise funds for current expenses and charity. Some 
fifteen families have been supported each winter, and large 
quantities of provisions distributed at Christmas. The so- 
ciety publishes a weekly paper — "Our Banner." A gospel 
temperance prayer meeting is held every Sunday by the mem- 
bers. The first Bo.uiD of Officers comprise the following 
names: Mrs. J. Duer, Mrs. Updegrove, Mrs. Seabury, Mrs. 
Sim|i3on, Mrs. Cleverley, Mrs. Stevens, Mr. C. G. Johnston, 
Mr. and Mrs. Duncome. The Officers first chosen have been 
retained in office and are as follows: Adult Department — C. 
G. Johnston, Pres.; William Cleverley and G. P. Spooner, 
Secretaries ; William Whitehead, Treas. Young People's De- 
partment—Mrs. J. Duer, Pres.; Mrs. J. Johnston, Sec ; C. G. 
Johnston, Treas. 

The Sailors' Coffee-House Company.— This is an association 
which grew out of a desire to benefit sailors by establishing 
a cheap and good hotel, conducted on temperance principles, 
for the accommodation of sea-faring men when on shore 
The following philanthropic citizens procured its incorpora- 
tion January 21st, 1880: George L. Pease, Ferdinand Van 
Sicklen, Edward H. Litchfield, Wm. G. Low, Thomas D. 
Williams, H. E. Pierrepont, Jr. A stock company was" 
formed with a capital of $20,000. The buildings 241 and 243 
York street, adjoining the Navy Yard, were rented, and an 
eating and lodging house opened. Prices were fixed as low 
as expenses would warrant, and still the work is partly car- 
ried on by voluntary aid. The Officers for 1883-'«4 are: 
William G. Low, Pres.; George L. Pease, Sec'y.; H. E. Pierre- 
pont. Jr., Treas. 

The Woman's Work Exchange and Decorative Art So- 
ciety of Brooklyn (formerly known as The South Brooklyn 
Emj)loi/ment .Society) ongma,tedin eSortsma.de in 1872-73, by 
a philanthropic gentleman connected with the Sunday-school 
of Christ Church, in Clinton street, near Harrison, to find work 
for his Bible class; particularly for a cripi)led girl who had 
no means of livelihood. At first a small circle were interested 
in his projects, but afterward many of the ladies connected 
with Christ Church promoted and sustained the endeavor. 
Later in the movement, other churches in South Brooklyn 
assisted it under this name with contributions, until there 
was an organization which had rooms at the corner of Clinton 
and Warren streets, and gave employment to seamstresses 
and also trained classes of girls in needle-work. 

The first Board of Officers consisted of Mrs. Nehemiah 
Knight, Pres.; Miss R. Da Costa, Vice-Pres.; Miss. I. E. 
Buckmaster, Treas.; Miss M. I. Adams, Sec; Mrs. A. Thomp- 
son, Directress. 

In 1878-'79, the Woman's Work Exchange, for the sale of 
articles of use or beauty, wliich should be made by women 
who wished to dispose of them, was established and united 
with the S. B. E. Society; and the two societies, under the 
same Board of Management, took up their abode at 122 At- 
lantic street, where they still remain. 

The first Board of Officers, after the union of the two so- 
cieties, was as follows: Mrs. Mary L. Clapp, Pres.; Miss Re- 
becca Da Costa, Vice-Pres.; Miss M. I. Adams, Treas.; Mrs. 
Gordon, L. Ford, Cor. Sec; Miss M. H. Post, Rec Sec. 

In 1883, the South Brooklyn Employment .Society passed out 
of existence, and the name of the association was changed to 
The Woman's Work E.xchangeand Decorative Art Society of 
Brooklyn, which represents its present aim and function. 
The Society has grown from a handful of members to a large 
and devoted fellowship; and paintings, decorated china, 
needle-work, embroidery, pickles, preserves and cake, are 
placed in their rooms, and sold for the advantage of the con- 



signors. These articles cover a wide range of ingenuity, in- 
dustry and Eesthetic taste, and the intentions of the Society 
seem to meet the public ai)proval and patronage. There are 
also painting and drawing classes under the wing of the 
Decorative Art Society, which foster talent and encourage 
good work. 

The Business Women's Union was organized by the 
Brooklyn Women's Club, and incorporated Nov. 7, 1871. Its 
object was to provide a home for self-supporting women of 
good character, at the lowest possible rates, and to establish a 
bureau of information. The first Officers and Managers 
were: Mrs. Annie C. Field, Pres.; Mi-s. Charlotte A. Clarke, 
Vice-PrM.; Miss Kate Hillard and Miss Laura F. Beeoher, 
Secretaries; Mrs. Mary H. HoUey, Treas. Mrs. S. M. Parsons, 
Mrs. L. A. Potts, Miss A. Coleman. Miss S. M. Glover, Mrs. 
H. Brigham, Mrs. R. Bunker, Mrs. C. E. Chambers, Mrs. S. 
Eppendorf, Mrs, M. A. Howland, Mrs. M. E. Rowley, Mrs. 
J. M. Wilson, Mrs. M. F. Hines, Mrs. C. C. Dike, Managers. 
The first Board of Advi.'iors was: Rev. A. P. Putnam, H. B. 
Claflin, J. Willetts, F. Woodruff, M. S. Beach. A boarding 
house was opened at No. 80 Willoughby street in 1871, as a 
home for self-supporting women. The demand for larger 
accommodations determined the society to purchase the 
property, which was done for |15,000. $32,000 more was 
spent in alterations, which fitted the house to receive about 
50 boarders. 

From the beginning, the house has paid its current ex- 
penses. The rate for permanent boarders is from $3.75 to 
$5.25 per week. A Women's Employment Bureau laaa also 
been established in connection with the Home. The present 
board (1883-84) consists of Mrs. A. C. Field, Pres.; Mrs. C. A. 
Clarke, Vice-Pres.; Mrs. W. V. Tupper, Cor. Sec; Mrs. S. M. 
Glover, Rec. Sec; Mrs. A. Fornian, Treas. Mrs. S. M. Par- 
sons, Mrs. M. E. Rowley, Mrs. J. Sterns, Auditors. Mrs. R. 
H. Manning, Mrs. M. A. Howland, Mrs. R. Bunker, Mrs. M. 
U. Lewis, Mrs. S. Ellinwood, Mrs. A. Coggeshall, Mrs. M. 
Chapman, Mrs. L. Fisk, Mrs. T. E. Jewell. Mrs. M. H. Holley, 
Mrs. L. F. Beecher, Miss J. Keese, Mrs. C. Wood, Managers; 
The Advisory Board is as follows: C. A. Field, H. B. Claflin, 
R. H. Manning, C. C. Dike, A. Forman. 

The Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals — 
Through the efforts of Henry Bergh, the New York Society 
for P. C. T. A, was incorporated April 10, 1866, by a number 
of the best citizens of that city. Its ol)jects were stated " to 
be the providing of eff'ective means for the prevention of 
cruelty to animals throughout the United States, the enforc- 
ing of all laws for the protection tif animals, and the procur- 
ing the punishment of all persons violating such laws." 
From this l>eginning, branch organiz.itions have been estab- 
lished in 37 states and territories, and Canada. The Society 
now numbers over 500 members. The first Officers were : 
Henry Bergh, Pres.; J. T. Hoffman, Peter Cooper, D. D. 
Hicks, W. H. Aspinwall, Marshall O. Roberts, H. W. Bel- 
lows, James Brown, George T. Trimble, Moses Taylor, and 
H. B. Claflin, Vice-Pres'ts. The Society was vested with full 
power to carry out its specific objects, and has been most 
successful in securing humane treatment to animals, not 
alone in our large cities, but throughout the country. Hos- 
pitals for diseased animals, and an ambulance service for 
disabled ones, are now numbered among our city institu- 
tions. The Brooklyn Agency of above Society was started 
October 31, 1881, with J. R. Pye, Superintendent. During 
the first year, 301 arrests were made, 271 convictions secured, 
871 disabled animals relieved from labor, and 429 humanely 
destroyed. 

The Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children. 
—On December 13, 1880, a number of gentlemen met at the 



HISTORY Ot KINGS COUNTY. 



residence of Mr. U. B. Clalliii. for the jiurpase of organizing 
a society for the care of helpless children. Within two 
weeks an office was opened at 199 Montague street, the 
above name given to tlie Society, and active operations were 
begun. In the first ten months, 361 complaints were lodged 
at the office, and 160 children rescued from misery. The first 
Officers were: Henry R. Jones, Pres.: H. B. Claflin and W. 
B. Leonard, Vice-Pres'ts.; Alexander Munn, Sec; and Geo. 
S. Pease, Trcas. The same board of officers have been con- 
tinued to tlie present time. During the year ending October, 
1883, 653 complaints were lodged at the Society's office, by 
citizens, or the police, and 344 cliildren removed from brutaj 
parents or guardians, and placed in homes or institutions ; 
189 cases were prosecuted, and 177 convictions obtained. The 
aim of the Society is to prosecute those who abuse little ones; 
who send children into the street to beg; who would force 
girls into lives of degradation; who would place their offspring 
in situations dangerous to health; who maliciously commit 
friendless waifs to jail, or who attempt to debauch, dissipate, 
or in any way wrong the most helpless of our race. 

Zion Relief Association (Home for Aged and Infirm of 
Zion Church). — This organization was perfected December 7, 
1869, to afford a free home to the aged poor of Zion A. M. 
E. Church of New York, and to others, upon such terms as 
the trustees should recommend. September 20, 1873, the 
trustees of Zion Church were authorized to purchase prop- 
erty for the erection of such a home, and soon after liought 
the propertj' on Dean street, between Albany and Troy av- 
enues, for $4,800, and expended $3,350 for alterations and 
repairs. Accommodations were provided for fifteen inmates, 
which number has since increased to twenty-one. 

Visiting Committee of the State Charities' Aid Associa- 
tion for the Kings County Institutions. — A central organiza- 
tion, known as the State Charities' Aid Association, formed 
in May, 1873, having its office in New York City, has for its 
objects — 1. To promote an active public interest in the New 
York State Charities. 3. To make the present pauper system 
more efficient, and introduce reforms. In connection with 
this organization, local visiting committees are formed in the 
various counties in the State. In June, 1873, a preliminary 
meeting was held at the Mercantile Library, in Brooklyn, to 
organize a local visiting committee for the public institutions 
of Kings county, at which Mrs. Stranahan presided. At an 
adjourned meeting, October 14, a constitution and by-laws 
were adopted. The first Officers were: Mrs. J. S. T. Stran- 
ahan, Pres.; Sirs. Wra. Ives Buddington, First Viee-Pres.; 
Mrs. A. C. Field, Second Vice-Pres.; Mrs. Gordon L. Ford, 
Cor. Sec. ; Mrs. Elliston L. Perot, Rec. Sec. 

Committees were appointed on Infants' Wards, on Hospi- 
tals, and on Alms-houses. The work of the committee has 
been productive of much good since the year of its organiza- 
tion. Public attention has been directed to the unfortunate 
condition of the public wards, and abuses corrected. The 
Board of State Charities is supported entirely by volunteer 
contribution, and the arduous duty devolving upon the vari- 
ous committees in Kings county have been performed as a 
labor of love. Mrs. Stranahan has been the President since 
1873. Officers, 1883-'4, are as follows: Mrs. J. S. T. Stran- 
ahan, Pres.; Mrs. Fisher Howe, First Vice-Pres.; Mrs. D. C. 
Robbins, Second Vice-Pres.; Mrs. John Vanderbilt, Cor. Sec; 
Miss Dora Robinson, Pee. Sec; Mrs. David Morrison, Asst. 
Sec; Miss Lillie Brown, Treas. 

Protestant Episcopal Mission to the Public Institutions. — 
In 1860, Mrs. Fellows, the wife of a disabled presbyter of the 
church, began to visit the city jail, hospitals, etc., with her 
husband, wlio performed such duties as required a clergy- 
man. April 1, 1869, Mrs. Fellows was appointed by the Mis- 



sionary Committee of the new Diocese of Long Island to be 
" Missionary in Charge and to the prisons and public institu- 
tions in Kings county," with a stipend of $400. A month 
before, she had been appointed Missionary to the City Hospi- 
tal and jail, with a salary of $150. May 23, 1871, she was re- 
appointed. At the same time, Jliss Eliza J. Coakley was ap- 
pomted " Missionary to the public institutions at Flatbush." 
After 1872, Mrs. Fellows continued her work, though her 
salary was no longer paid Testimony to her faithful ser- 
vices can be found in the reports of the Missionary Commit- 
tee. Since 1872, the Missionary Committee has devoted $400 
annually to this work among the puV)lic institutions. 

Th'e Hospital Saturday and Sunday Association. — It was 
the custom in New York and London to take collections on 
the last Saturday and Sunday of the year, in public places, 
in behalf of the hospitals. In December, 1881, Messrs. Wm. 
G. Low, I. H. Frothingham, and Wm. M. Richards, wei'e 
appointed a committee by the City Hospital, to introduce the 
custom into Brooklyn. An organization was formed, and a 
constitution adopted May 16, 1882, having for its object " to 
draw out benevolent gifts for hospital purposes, by bringing 
the claims of these charities simultaneously before the public; 
to stimulate personal donations and church collections on 
appointed days ; to obtain and distribute the gifts of those 
who aid the general object of hospital charity." It com- 
prised the following gentlemen, viz.: Mr. William G. Low, 
Mr. Isaac H. Frothingham, and Mr. William M. Richards, 
for the Brooklyn Citij Hospital; Mr. Thomas H. Rodman, for 
the Long Island College Hospital; Mr. Charles A. Townsend, 
Mr. David M. Stone, and Hon. William W. Goodrich, for the 
Homoeopathic Hospital ; Dr. R. C. Moffat, for the Homceo- 
pathi.G Maternity ; Mr. Aaron Field, for the Brooklyn Home 
for Consumptives ; Mr. William H. Fleeman, Mr. Alexander 
E. Orr, and Mr. Carlos A. Butler, for St. John's Hospital ; 
Mr. J. W. Vandewater, Hon. Geo. H. Fisher, and Hon. Sigis- 
mund Kauf mann, for the Eastern District Hospital ; Hon. 
Samuel Booth, Mr. Alfred T. White, Mr. Demas Strong, Mr. 
John N. Stearns, and Mr. Thomas W. Hynes, for the Bureau 
of Charities; together with the following: Mr. Lorin Palmer, 
Mr. Bernard Peters, the Rev. William A. Snively, D. D., the 
Rev. Charles A. Tibballs, the Rev. J. C. Ager, the Rev. C. 
Cuthbert Hall, his Honor, the Mayor of the City of Brooklyn, 
the Postmaster of the City of Brooklyn, and the Resident 
Member of the State Board of Charities ; and such other 
gentlemen as may hereafter be elected by a two-thirds vote. 

First Officers: William G. Low, Pres.; Alfred T. White, 
Vice-Pres.; C. Cuthbert Hall, Sec; William M. Ricliards, 
Treas. William G. Low (ex-offlcio), Alexander E. Orr, 
Thomas H. Rodman, William W. Goodrich, George H. Fisher, 
E.ircutive Committee. The Mayor of the City of Bi-ooklyn 
{e.v-offl.cio), the Postmaster of the City of Brooklyn (e.i'-q^e/o), 
the Resident Member of the State Board of Charities {ex- 
officio), Bernard Peters, Charles A. Townsend, Carlos A. 
Butler, Aaron Field, Distributing Committee. 

The first collection, December, 1883, amounted to $4,351.22; 
in 1883, it reached nearly $6,000. Officers for 1 884 : Wil- 
liam G. Low, Pres.; William H. Fleeman, Vice-Pres.; C. 
Cuthbert Hall, Sec; W. M. Richards, Treas. Executive 
Committee : William G. Low, A. E. Orr, Thomas H. Rod- 
man, William W. Goodrich, and John W. Vandewater. 
Distributing Committee: The Mayor of the city, the Post- 
master, the Resident Member of the State Board of Charities, 
and Messrs. Bernard Peters, Charles A. Townsend, Carlos A. 
Butler, and Aaron Field. 

The Brooklyn Indian Association was organized Decem- 
ber 4, 1883, in the Lafayette avenue Presbyterian church. 
Its object is : 1st, to awaken Christian public sentiment to 



CITARITABLE INSTITUTIONS. 



the abolition of all oppression of Indians within our national 
limits, and to the granting them the same protection of law 
that other races enjoy among us ; 2d, to aid educational 
and mission work for and among Indians. 

The general lines of work pursued are, as in the parent 
society, the circulation of literature adapted to the Asso- 
ciation's object; the circulation of memorials to Congress on 
behalf of Indians ; the securing popular meetings and arti- 
cles in the press which shall promote the growth of right 
sentiment concerning our national and individual duty to 
Indians, and the adoption of such other measures as seem 
fitted to further the ends desired. 

Tlie number of members has increased from 17 to GO. The 
names of the tirst Officers are: Mrs. A. B. Smith, Pres.; 
Mrs. M. W. Huntington, .S'cc; Mrs. L. H. Conklin, Treas.; 
Mrs. F. A. Iderstiue, Mrs. J. Hamblet, Mrs. C. C. Woolworth, 
Mrs. William Moses, Mrs. J. H. Burtis, Vice- Presets. A num- 
ber of public meetings have been held, under the auspices of 
the society, which have been addressed by those who thor- 
oughly understand the present condition and means of the 



The Inebriates' Home for Kings County, office 401 Pearl 
street (see page 563a), was incorporated by an act of the 
legislature, on May 9, 1867. 

The object was to devise means for the saving and redemp- 
tion of those addicted to the use of intoxicating liquors; and 
to afford an asylum for them, where tliey would be removed 
from the ordinary temptations of life, and receive medical 
and humane treatment. It was found by experience that the 
commitment of inebriates to jail not only did no good, but 
great harm both to the drunkard himself, and ultimately to 
society. The degradation of the prison seemed to dispel 
all hopes of a reformation. These facts being laid before 
the legislature, the act of incoriioration was secured, and 
twelve per cent, of tlie excise tax, and all of the fines paid 
in the county for infringement of the excise law, were set 
apart for its use. 

A block lyinff between Fourth and Fifth avenues, and 54th 
and 55th streets, was purchased ; a temporary home secured 
at the corner of Bushwick avenue and Chestnut street, and 
operations were commenced on the 10th of October, 1867. 




OCEAN VIEW OF "THE I N HliKl ATiv"! 



FOKT HAMILTON. 



Western Indians. The result has been manifested in an in- 
creasing public opinion favoring a change in the Indian ques- 
tion. The present Officers are: Mrs. George Stannard, Pres.; 
Mrs. M. W. Huntington, Sec; Mrs. J. B. Gilbert, Treas.; 
Mrs. M. A. Berry, Mrs. S. L. M. Prentice, Mrs. Geo. Watson, 
Mrs. Annie C. Field, Mrs. D. R. James, Mrs. W. H. Smith, 
Sirs. Woodbridge Nearing, Vice-Pres'ts. 

The Wayside Home is an association formed March 5, 
1880, by a number of benevolent ladies, for the purpose of 
providing a home for homeless women, and for helping them 
to procure employment. It commenced with 15 members, 
and now numbers 35. The first Officers were as follows: 
Mrs. E. F. Pettengill, Pres.; Mrs. Annie C. Field, Vice-Pres.; 
Miss C. E. Cothn. ,s'ec.; Mrs. C. W. Shepherd, Asst. Sec; Mrs. 
E. F. Lawson, Treas. 

The Association was duly incorporated, and secured a com- 
fortable house at No. 353 Bridge street. The accommoda- 
tions are hardly sufficient, and efforts have already been be- 
gun to secure more commodious quarters. The officers for 
1883-'84 are the same as given above. 



During the first two years, there were received 261 patients, 
including 41 re-admissions, and 27 patients so re-admitted. 
Of these, 160 were men, and 101 women. Of the whole 
number, 25 were boarders, the others being admitted to the 
benefits of the institution free; though some have contributed 
by labor to defray the cost of their support. The total cost 
of maintenance, including all house expenses and salaries of 
officers, was |47.77 for each person. 

By an amended charter, the grant of twelve per cent, of 
the excise money was withdrawn, and an annual grant of 
$10,000 substituted. The want of a new and improved build- 
ing was severely felt. The sum of $200,000 was provided out 
of the receipts under the excise law, for the construction of 
such a building, which was converted into U. S. bonds. The 
site was removed, from the position previously indicated, to a 
place near Fort Hamilton, known as " Beautiful View," on 
the Bidgeside road, where far superior advantages and accom- 
modations could be obtained. First Preside7its : Son. Geo. 
Hall, Hon. Jas. S. T. Stranahan, Theodore L. Mason, M. D., 
Geo. G. Herman, Esq. Officers, 1884, are as follows : Geo, 



990 



SISTORT 01 KINGS COUNTY. 



G. Herman, Esq., Pres.; Hon.Wm. M, Thomas, Treas.; Capt. 
Joseph W. Richardson, Sec. Hon. Wm. M. Thomas and Geo. 
G. Herman, Esq., Trustees. 

The Truant Home of the City of Brooklyn (Juvenile 
House of Industry) was established in 1854, under " an Act 
to provide for the care and instruction of idle and truant 
children," passed in April, 1853. It vras at one time located 
in the old Penitentiary, on the Clove road; but the J. T. 
Snediker Hotel property, on the Jamaica plank road, near 
Jamaica village (eleven acres), was purchased at a cost of 
$25,000, and in the rear of this, a large brick building, three 
stories in height, was erected for school purposes and dormi- 
tories. The hotel was used as a cooking and dining place, and 
residence of the 0]ieratives. On two sidesof the school building, 
was erected a high fence, enclosing a play-ground of about an 
acre. No changes have since been made in these buildings. 

This Home was established for the purpose of restraining, 
educating, and, if possible, reclaiming idle and vagrant chil- 
dren. To this Home vagrant children were committed by 
magistrates, on complaints by parents or others. Here they 
were kept during periods, varying from one to five or more 
years. 

After the passage, by the Legislature, of the Compulsory 
Education Law in 1874, the Board of Education in Brooklyn 
organized the Bureau of Attendance, which consists of a 
superintendent and six agents, whose duty it is to see that 
the provisions of the law are carried out. The children 
found by these officers in the condition of vagrants, or non- 
attendants at school, are committed to the Home, where 
their education and well-being are looked after. Since the 
establishment by this Bureau of Attendance of schools, one in 
the eastern and one in the western district of the city, where 
a portion of the non-attendants at other schools are sent, the 
commitments to the Home by this Bureau have been fewer 
than before. The average number, through this Bureau and 
by the police, is more than two hundred annually. The super- 
intendent and teacher for 1883-'4 is Joseph Wagner. 

The St. Joseph's Institute for the Improved Instruction of 
Deaf-Mutes was established at Fordham in the fall of 1869. 
During the first years of its existence the institution was sup- 
ported mainly by the exertions of its lady directresses; for, 
as is generally the case, the ijarents of the pupils were, for 
the most part, poor, and could contribute but little toward 
their support. 

In the spring of 1874 was opened in Brooklyn a branch 
house, for the purpose of offering to the numei-ous deaf-mutes 
of that city the advantages of a daj- school. As the house at 
Fordham was at that time considerably crowded (the addi- 
tion not having yet been built), some of the larger girls were 
removed to the branch house at Brooklyn. Others, who had 
entered the school as day pupils, now asked to be admitted 
as permanent inmates, and the house (a rented one) was soon 
found to be too small. After mature deliberation, it was 
deemed advisable to purchase one which should be sufficiently 
large to accommodate some 50 or 60 inmates. The large 
and elegant residence of Mrs. Christina Jones, No. 510 Henry 
street, was, about this time, purchased. A few weeks after 
this, an act was passed by which the institution was empow- 
ered to receive county pupils ; two years later the institution 
was placed upon the same footing with similar institutions 
in the state. 

Roman Catholic Orphan Asylum Society of the City of 
Brooklyn was founded in 1830. Mr. Peter Turner, to whose 
zeal the Society was deeply indebted for its success, was 
chosen first President, holding the position for three years 
(the longest term allowed by the constitution), and was suc- 
ceeded by Dr. J. S. Thorn. On May 6, 1834, the Society was 



incorporated by the Legislature, under the title of The Ro- 
man Catholic Orphan Society in the Village of Brooklyn; 
the names mentioned in the act being those of J. Sullivan 
Thorne, Thomas Mooney, John Sweeney, Peter Turner and 
Charles Brady. The charter was applied for, at this time, in 
order that the Society might receive a legal transfer of a 
house and lot offered to the Society by the Rev. John Walsh; 
and in this house, 188 Jay street, the first asylum was opened 
and placed in charge of the Sisters of Charity. Some years 
after, Mr. Cornelius Heeney generously donated to this So- 
ciet_v ten lots of ground on Congress street; and, at his death, 
in 1848, bequeathed the income of the greater portion of his 
large estate for the support of the orphans. The donation of 
lots enabled tiie Society to build their first asylum, that 
fronting on Congress street (now known as St. Paul's Indus- 
trial School), for male children, and the one fronting on 
Clinton, on the same lots, for females. In 1851, an addition 
was made to the Female Asylum, doubling its size, at a cost 
of |5,000; and, in 1858, a further addition of a building, 155 
by 25 feet, and five stories high, at a cost of |15,000, con- 
necting with the Male Asylum on Clinton street. In 1858, a 
new building was erected for males, corner Willoughby and 
Bedford avenues, at a cost of about $37,000, and accommo- 
dating 350 children. The building had a front of 120 feet, 
and two wings, 73 feet deep, and the grounds attached com- 
prised 14 acres. This building was destroyed by fire, Nov. 9, 
1862, 248 children being asleep within its walls when the fire 
broke out, and a snow storm raging without. Three children 
perished in the flames. The children were immediately re- 
moved; the girls to the building on Clinton and Congress 
streets, and the boys to a house on the corner of Jay and 
Chapel streets, which had been previously occupied by the 
Sisters of Mercy. 

The Board of Managers, though their means and sources of 
income were at this time very limited, then purchased the 
grounds bounded by St. Mark's place, Albanj- and Troy ave- 
nues, and Warren street, one of the most elevated and 
healthy locations in the city. On these grounds, in 1868, 
they commenced the erection of the present Asylum, now 
known as "St. John's Home for Boys." It is a massive struc- 
ture, four stories high, and solidly built of blue-stone. It 
is 170 feet front, with wings each 170 feet deep, and three 
stories above the basement in height. St. John's Home was 
opened in 1870, under the charge of the Sisters of St. Joseph. 
There are now in this institution over 700 orphan boys, who 
are, in a great measure, dependent upon the charitably 
disposed public for maintenance and support. It has accom- 
modation for 800 boys, and is valued at $200,000. 

Cornelius Heeney, a native of Queens County, Ireland, 
came to America, in 1784, being then about 20 years old. The 
vessel in which he sailed was wrecked on the Delaware 
coast, and passengers and crew were rescued by oyster boats 
plying their vocation in the bay. The oyster-men however, 
demanded a dollar a head for their services, which amount 
Heeney did not have. It was promptly given him by a 
Quaker fellow-passenger, who would not give his name (which 
young Heeney enquired, with a view to ultimate repayment), 
simply saying, "whenever thou seest a fellow creature in 
want of a dollar, as thou art now, give it to him, and thou 
wilt have repaid me," a circumstance which made a lasting 
impression upon Mr. H.'s mind. Mr. Heeney first found em- 
ployment in Philadelphia, and then in New York, where he 
entered the store of a Mr. Backhouse, where John Jacob Astor 
then served as a porter. In course of time, Mr. B. retired 
from business, and sold out to Messrs. Heeney and Astor. 
This partnership was dissolved after a few years, and Mr. 



CHARITABLE INSTITUTION'S. 



991 



Heeney entered the fur business on his own account, and 
amassed a considerable fortune. In order to secure a debt of 
$30,000, he took a large property in South Brooklyn, which 
rose on his hands to a value, at the time of his death, of over 
$300,000. This he subsecpiently made his summer residence. 
He lived and died a bachelor, yet, by his disposition, was 
peculiarly adapted for domestic enjoyment, affable in dis- 
position, fond of joke and repartee, warm-hearted and social. 
His doors were ever open to a friend and acquaintance, and 
never closed on the needy and unfortunate. His house was 
ever filled with orphan children, whom he educated and 
provided for; and many of his female proteges married into 
most respectable families in New York and Brooklyn, where 
their descendants now occupy enviable positions in society. 
His Brooklyn property contained a fine orchard, and during 



mas, also, he used to collect all the poor children in the 
vicinity, and give to each a cake and piece of silver. Though 
rarely mingling in politics, he onced served a term as mem- 
ber of the Assembly of the State, and many anecdotes are 
related concerning his shrewdness and good nature. To the 
Brooklyn Roman Catholic Orphan Asylum, he gave, in 1829, 
an endowment of |18,000; about the same time he generously 
extended a helping hand to St. Paul's Cathedral in New York; 
donated the ground for St. James's and St. Paul's churches, 
Brooklyn; was one of the founders of the Roman Catholic 
Half Orphan Asylum of New York, and contributed largely 
to several of the charitable associations of that city. Al- 
though his Brooklyn property increased in value with almost 
fabulous rapidity; yet, at his death, 3d of May, 1848 (at the 
age of j ninety-four years), his estate was worth little more 




ST. JOHNS MALE ORPHAN ASYLUM. 



the active years of his life, he was in the habit, every summer, 
of marshaling the little orphan children of the New York 
Orphan Asylum, and marching with tliem through Broad- 
way aud across the river to the orchard, where he had men 
employed to shake the trees and pull cherries, apples and 
each kind of fruit in its season, while the children ate and 
l>layed on the grass. He also purchased wood and distributed 
it to the poor, gratuitously giving to each what they could 
carry; and he took a humorous delight in seeing the loads they 
would assume, it being their custom to divest themselves 
of a portion of the burden as soon as some intervening fence 
or other obstruction concealed them from his view, in order 
to return for more ; his enjoyment of the artifice being in- 
creased by the knowledge he had of its performance, and the 
eiforts to hide what he instantly connived at. At Christ- 



than $15,000. It is estimated, however, that his donations 
and expenditures for benevolent purposes, during his life- 
time, was not far short of $100,000. His residuary estate 
(after proper provision made for relatives and friends), was 
devised as follows: The annual income of one-Jifth, to be ap- 
propriated every year towards supplying the poor of Brook- 
lyn with fuel during winter. The annual income of one-tenth , 
to be appropriated towards supplsing poorcbildren in Brook- 
lyn, who go to school, with shoes, and with such other 
articles of clothing as are absolutely necessary for their 
health and comfort during the winter. The sum of $250 
annually for employment of a teacher to instruct poor chil- 
dren in Brooklyn in the elements of an English education. 
The residue to the Brooklyn Catholic Half Orphan Asylum; a 
portion to be expended in erecting additional buildings. If 



992 



HISTORY OF KIJSTGS COUNTY. 



inything intervLMiu,! to prevent the fulfillment of this be- 
juest, it was to go to tlie New York Catholic Orphan Asy- 
lum. By a codicil to this will, after tlie incorporation of the 
Brooklyn Benevolent Society, all ilie residuary estate teas 
given to that association. Some lots in New York, adjoining 
the New Y'ork Catholic Orphan Asylum, were given to that 
institution, after the death of parties to whom he devised 
them as legatees. 

St. Joseph's Female Orphan Asylum, located at the corner 
of WilloughUy and Sumner avenues, is also under control of 
the Orphan Asylum Society, and in the immediate charge of 
the Sisters of Charity. In tlie summer of ISGi) the corner- 
stone was laid, and it was fully completed in October, 1873, 
wlicn 280 children were transferred to it from St. Paul's Fe- 
male Orphan iVsylum, in Congress street. The present num- 
ber is about 'i'i'>. It is a very commodious and handsome 
building, five stories in height, with a front on Willoughby 
avenue of 224 feet, and a width of 62 feet. It is constructed 
of Philadelphia brick and brown-stone trimmings. In the rear 
is a cliai)el, 102 by 43 feet. The building is heated by steam, 
and has all the modern improvements for institutions of this 
kind. This Asylum is under the care of the Sisters of Char- 
ity. It has ample play-grounds for the cliildren, who now 
number about 000. A day-school, for the children of the 
neighborhood, has a daily attendance of about 200. The 
asylum is valued at $150,000 

St. Paul's Industrial School. — This institution is self-sus- 
taining, and ciintains at the present time about 300 inmates, 
who are educated in all household duties, and in needle-work 
of every kind. Estimated value of Imilding and grounds, 
.$150,000. 

Tlie Right Reverend Bishop of the Diocese is President 
of the Society, and is well and ably assisted by Mr. J. M. 
Shanahan, First Vice-President, and Mr. Theophilus Olena, 
Second Vice-President ; Andrew Walsh, Treas.; M. E.Moore, 
Sec.; P. J. O'Connor, Asst. Sec. The present Board of Direc- 
tors consists of Messrs. L. P. Bodkin, Arthur E. Marsh, John 
Cunningham, John ]\IcDerm<)tt, J. H. Newman, Daniel 
Bradley, James Cassidy, Wm. Murtha, Bernard McCaffrey, 
Arthur McGerald, Tlios. Horan, Chris. Greay, Wm. Bishop, 
Thos. Green, Jas. McDonnell. 

St. Vincent's Home, of the city of Brooklyn, for the care 
and instruction of poor and friendless boys, was incorpo- 
rated in July, 1869, by the following gentlemen, who were 
also the first managers: Right Rev. Jolm Loughlin, Very 
Rev. John F. Turner, Rev. Francis J. Friel, Richard Ternan, 
John Lane, Maurice Fitzgerald, Thomas Code, Thomas 
Johnson, Francis Curran, Tliomas Horan, Matthew 
Boylan, Charles J. O'Reilly, Patrick H. Quinn, Thomas 
O'Brien, Jr., Bernard Bogen. James K. O'Mahony, Charles 
McCi)nnell, Thomas Halpiu, Michael Lowry, James Ormond, 
Michael Pliilbin, Michael Kirwin, John M. Farrell, William 
Orr, William Brown and Thomas Farrell. 

Tlie object of the society is to provide a home for the care, 
and Christian, moral and mental in.struction, of friendless 
and destitute boys; to rescue them from evil associations; 
provide a home and lodging-house for them; establish an 
evening and Sunday school, and to provide teachers for their 
benefit and instruction; and to lodge and instruct as many 
boys as possible, in order that they may bo protected and 
shielded from the vices of evil associations, qualified to dis- 
cliarge the duties of useful and resiiectable citizens, and en- 
able them to earn an honest and honorable livelihood. 

In 1869, the present house, No. 7 Poplar street, and that in 
its rear. No. 10 Vine street, with the space between the two 
fur a i)Iay-ground, were purchased at a cost of !|15,000, and 



the buildings altered and adapted to the society's purpose. 
The institution is under the care of a Board of Managers, 
composed of prominent Roman Catholic clergymen and lay- 
men, and the work of the institution is largely done by the 
St. Vincent's Home Ladies' Society, whose Officeks (1884) 
are: Mrs. Hugh McLaughlin, Pres.; Mrs. E. Brophy, Mrs. J. 

E. Dallon, Secretaries; Miss M. A. Strain, Treas. The Home 
is under the direct superintendence of B.ev. Maurice Hickey, 
and nearly 3,000 boys have, thus far, enjoyed its benefits. 

Rooms for Voluntary Relief Work (No. 59 Smith street, 
near Schermerhorn).— This is a ])rivate charity, organized 
and mainly carried on by Mr. Geo. T. Clark. In his efforts to 
aid the deserving poor, Sir. Clark investigated their condition 
thoroughly, so that he soon found himself asked to distribute 
the benefactions of others. Therefore, about the year 1868, 
he established rooms where contributions of food, clothing 
and furniture might be received and whence they might be 
distributed. He also opened a shop where repairs are made 
to cast-off shoes and clothing by those who would otherwise 
be out of employment and earning nothing. The shop pro- 
fits pay the expenses of the charity; so that money contribu- 
tions go wholly to the poor. Mr. Clark also maintains an 
Employment Bureau. 

The Williamsburgh Benevolent Society meets every Sat- 
urday at the school-house of the Williamsburgh Turn Verein, 
61 Meserole street, for the purpose of helping the worthy 
poor. After investigation, money, groceries, shoes, meat, 
etc., are given to the deserving poor, averaging about 40 
cases per week. A large Christmas celebration in gifts is 
made annually for 700 children. The Society was organized 
in 1874 by eight gentlemen of Brooklyn, who had previously 
maintained several orphans by the proceeds of cigar tips sent 
to Europe to be manufactured into snuff. The number of 
members has increased to 132, with the following Officers : 

F. V. Voigt, Pres.; M. Lindhorn, Vice-Pres.; J. Amthor, Rec. 
Sec; F. Huene, Cor. Sec.; M. Grossarth, Treas. 

The Emerald Association was organized in January, 1839, 
in the Second Ward Hotel, on the corner of York and Pearl 
streets. The first Officers were : J. Colgan, Pres.; J. How- 
ard, Secy.; and W. Hughes, Treas. The chief object of this 
association is to aid in the support of the Roman Catholic 
Orphan Asylum; the total amount thus far raised and pre- 
sented by this society to that worthy charity is |40,000. The 
present Officers are: J. C. Kelly, Pres.; B .Leary and J. S. 
Donovan, Vice-Presidents; T. F. Skelley and W. H. Kiernan, 
Secretaries ; and J. Hanley, Treas. The annual ball given by 
this association is the recognized event of the season among 
socially-inclined Roman Catholics. 

The German Roman Catholic "Orphan Home" (of Holy 
Trinit}'), Graham avenue, near Montrose, was started, in 1861. 
by Rev. M. May, for the maintenance and education of or- 
phans connected with the German Church of the Holy Trinity. 
Father May was the first President, and still holds the office. 
The other Officers were: John Bertger, Vice-Pres.; Jacob 
Timer, Sec. ; John Raber, Cashier; John Maerr, Asst. Sec. The 
same Board continued until 1883, when F. J. Berlcalath be- 
came Vice-Pres., and Louis Gfiaeren, Asst. Sec. The number 
of members of the Society is twenty-five. The ori)hans were 
first cared for in a dwelling-house procured for the purpose ; 
afterwards tlie present brick structure, 50 by 50, was erected, 
at a cost of $15,000. About 50 children are supported in the 
Home, and 150 in all have been maintained since the institu- 
tion was opened. The county of Kings now pays for the 
support of 340 orphan wards, who are distributed in the dif- 
ferent houses maintained by the Sisters of St. Dominic — 
one in Amityville, SufE. Co., one in the 18th Ward,and one in 
Astoria, L. I, — there being no room in the main Home. 



I 



THE 

ECCLESIASTICAL ORGANIZATIONS 

OF THE 

CITY OF BROOKLYN. 



THE (DUTCH) REFORMED CHURCH. 



THE FIRST CHURCH OF BROOKLYN, as has 
lieen stated iu the Ecclesiastical History of the 
County of Kings (page 337), termmated its collegiate 
relations with the other congregations of the Dutch 
Town, iu the year 1803; and Rev. John Barent Johnson, of 
Albany, was called to its pastorate, but died iu March, 1803, 
at the age of thirty-four. He was one of the most eloquent 
and popular preachers of the Dutch Church at that time. Of 




I'lH.sr lil-.l oltMKD CHUKCH (,)F lUiOUKI.V 



courteous manners, an amiable and generous sphit. he 
mingled freely with all class -s of people, and was an admira- 
ble pastor. " He left an excellent name behind him, and his 
gifts and graces were gratefully remembered " 

March 4th, 1807, the consistory determined to erect a new 
stone edifice, and the coroer-stoQe was laid about the lotli of 
Slay, by the Rev. Peter Lowe. The building was completed 
(at a cost of |13,74o.53) and dedicated December 23d, 1807; 



it stood on the south side of the lane now known as Jorale- 
mon sti-eet, somewhat back from the site of the present 
church, and was a very substantial and heavy looking 
building. 

The next Pastor was Rev. Selah Strong Woodhull, D. D. 
During his charge, the trustees of this church secured its 
incorporation December 18th, 1814, with the following 
officiary : Elders, Fernandus Suydam, Walter Berry, Jere- 

miah Johnson, John Lefferts. Deacons, 

Jeremiah Brower, Lambert Schenck, 
Abraham De Bevoise, Abraham Rem'^en. 
Mr. Woodhull in ISS.'), became a professor 
in the Theological Seminary at New 
Brunswick, and also in Rutger's College, 
but died Feb. 27, 1826. 

His successors were: Revs. Ebenezer 
Mason, 1826; Peter P. Rouse, Oct. 13, 
1828; Ilaurice W. Dwight, 1833. The 
congregation had then so increased that 
the consistory resolved to erect the 
present building. It was built by Lafever 
& Gallard, architects, under the following 
building committee: Jeremiah Johnson, 
Leffeit Lefferts, Samuel Smith, John S. 
Bergen, John Skillman, Garret Bergen, 
Theodonis Polhemus and John Schenck. 
The corner-stone was laid on the 22d of 
May, 1834, by the senior elder, Abraham 
A. Remsen, and the edifice was finished 
and consecrated on the 7th of May, 1835. 
When bO far completed that the congre- 
gation could worship in it, the old one 
was taken down. The pew owners in 
the old church were allowed the cost of 
their pens in sittings in the new building. 
It is an elegant and spacious building, 
with an imposing colonnade of eight 
columns on both front and rear. 

In May, 1843, Gen. Jeremiah Johnson 
Iresigned the secretaryship of the church, 
which office he had held for the space of fifty years. May 
1st, 1855, Mr. Dwight resigned the pastorship of the church, 
although he remained in the congregation, preaching a part 
of the time for them, until his death. 

The subsequent Pastors were: Revs. Acmon P. Van Giesen, 
installed Nov. 4, 18.55; Alphonso A. Willetts, D. D., June, 
1860; Josejih Kimball, D. D.. installed Nov. 21, 1865, died 
December, 1874; Henry R. Dickson, October, 1875, died 



994 



HISTORY OT KINGS COUNTY. 



Marcli. l-^;;; Ihiiid A. 1 ;i,.a\;iicr, September, l'-:^', to the 
present time. 

A few years ago this church established a mission in 
WyckofT street, near Tliird avenue. Lots were purchased, 
and a chapel was erected at an expense of about $18,000. 
The mission and the school have, from the first, been pros- 
perous. 

It is noteworthy that this church has still in use a por- 
tion of a communion service, which was presented by Maria 
Baddia, in 16S4. The original Dutch records of the church, 
made b\' Dominie Selyns in 16C0, are still preserved. 

The Ref. Prot. Dutch Church of Bushwick, was organ- 
ized in 10")4; part of the communion service bears the date 
1708, and there is also a receipt for a church bell, dated 1711. 
The first edifice was of octagonal form, with a very steep 
roof terminating in an open belfry, the whole resembling a 
hay-stack (see page 387). The congregation furnished them- 
selves with benches and chairs until 170.'), when a gallery wa,s 
erected and the ground floor furnished with pews. 

The people of Bushwick constituted a part of the col- 
legiate church, and were ministered to by the Pastors of the 
five Dutch towns. Revs. Freeman and Antonides being the 
first, and preaching here alternately every third Sabbath. 
Rev. Peter Low was installed in 1787 as a collegiate Pastor, 
with Rev. Martinus Sclioonmaker of Flatbush. Rev. Dr. 
John Bassett succeeded hini in 1811. The present church 
edifice was erected in 1829; remodeled in 1876. In 1878, a new 
Sabbath-school building was erected, seating 1,200 scholars. 

Rev. Stephen H. Meeker was installed Pastor in 1824, and 
served until 1876. He was the son of Benj. Meeker; was 
born in Elizabethtown, N. J., Oct. 17, 1799, grad. Columbia 
Coll., 1821; licensed to preach in 1824. He was succeeded 
by Rev. Henry A. Powell, 1876-'83, and Rev. Robert H. Ban-, 
1883-'84. The present membership of the church is 464, and 
the Sabbath-school numbers 1,200. 

The Second or Central Reformed Church (Church on the 
Heights), commenced in 1836 as a mission in the Lyceum, un- 
der Rev. John Garretson. March 3d, 1837, by the authority 
of the Classis of Long Island, a church of eleven members 
was organized; its first consistory being Jacob Talbnan and 
Walter Bicker, elders, and Cornelius C. Stryker and Joseph 
Hegeman, deacons. In November, 1837, Mr. Garretson re- 
signed. 

In February, 1838, a call was extended to Mr. Hem'y P. Tap- 
pan, which was aceei)ted; but bis examination not being sus- 
tained in the unanimous opinion of the Classis, a schism oc- 
curred, from which originated the Fifth Presbyterian chui-ch. 
In June, 1839, the consistory purchased lots for $9,750, on 
Henry street, near Clark, on which they proceeded to erect 
an edifice (now occujiied by the (Zion) German Evangelical 
Lutheran congregation), tlie corner-stone of which was laid 
Sejjtember 16th, 1839. The building was completed in May 
following, at a cost of $14,740, and dedicated June 3d, 1840, 
the sermon being preached by the Rev. Jacob Brodhead, 
D. D., who, the same month, was called to the pastorate, the 
duties of which he accepted in April, 1841. He resigned Ln 
October, 1846, at wliich time the congregation nmnberedone 
hundred and thirty families and two hundred and thirty 
communicants, and the church debt had been reduced from 
$23,000 to about $9,000. On the 19th of January, 1847, the 
Rev. Mr. (afterwards Dr.) Malcolm N. McLaren was called, 
but resigned in July, 1849, and was followed by the cele- 
brated iJeu. Dr. Oeorge W. Bethune. 

Novemljer 24th, 1850, the corner-stone of a larger and 
more imposing house of worship was laid, on Pierrepont 
street, near Monroe place. This edifice was afterward known 
as the Church on the Heights, and the church was reorgan- 



ized under that name. Dr. Bethune's ministry was a period 
of great prosperity and activity in tliis church, there being 
200 families in attendance and 445 members in communion, 
wlio.se contributions during his pastorate amounted to nearly 
$155,000, in addition to which were three mission-school 
enterprises (viz. , the Bethe.sda and Myrtle avenue schools, 
and Summit street chapel and school), besides a flourishing 
home school and Bible class. 

Ministry: Revs. John Oarretson, 1836-37; Jacob Brodhead, 
1840-'46; Geo. W. Bethune, D. D., 1847-60: James Eells, 
D. D., 1800-'67; Zachary Eddy, D. D., 1867-73; Jas. Inglis, 
D. D., 1872-77; S. S. Mitchell, D. D. 1877-80; Rev. Alfred 
J. Hutton, 1881-'84. 

The church was renovated and refitted in 1875. 

The Bedford Avenue Reformed Church, formerly the 
Fourth Street Reformed Dutch Church, near Soutli Second, 
was the first of that denomination erected in the village of 
Williamsburgh, and the third within the limits of the present 
city of Brooklj'n. The village was then confured mostly to 
the lower parts of Grand and North Second streets; its only 
house of worship was a Methodist chapel on North Second; 
the old Reformed Church in Bushwick accommodated the de- 
nomination for many years. At length the immediate and 
prospective necessity for a new church was felt, and meas- 
ures were taken to erect a cliapel on Fourth street, near 
Soutli Second, the comer-stone of which was laid September 
28, 1828, by John A. Meserole (a imtriot of the Revolution, 
and a most generous donor to the enteiijrise), with appropri- 
ate exercises by Dr. Brodlie.n.d, of New York, and the Revs. 
Jacob Sclioonmaker, of Jamaica, and S. H. Meeker, Pastor 
of the congregation. 

The house was dedicated July 26, 1829; sermon by Dr. 
Brodhead, from II Cor., vii, 16. Peter Wyckoff, Peter Mese- 
role, Abraham Meserole, Abraham Boerum and James M. 
Halsey were cliosen trustees. Immediately upon its organi- 
zation, the church obtained the services of Rev. James Dem- 
arest, who served for the first six months as a missionary, 
and partly at the charge of tlie Board of Domestic Missions. 
His congregations were small at first, as the churcli edifice 
was remote from the village; Fourth street being then but a 
farmers' lane, rough, uneven, and studded here and there 
with stumjis and trees of the original forest. Mr. Demarest 
labored with great fidelity and success for nearly ten years, 
resigning in May, 1839, and was followed in October by Rev. 
William Howard Van Dorn. 

In the winter of 1848-'9 the church was enlarged, rei^aired 
and modernized, largely at the expense of Messrs. Abraham 
Meserole, Abraham Boerum, Nicholas Wyckoff, and others. 
In 1849, Mr. Van Dorn resigned, and Rev. Job Halsey served 
as stated supply. November 13, 1849, Rev. Elbert S. Porter 
was called to the pastorate which he resigned in 1883, after a 
long and useful service of thirty-four years. 

In July, 1865, the old church edifice on Fourth street was 
sold and a number of lots bought on Bedford avenue, corner 
of Clymer street, on which was erected a large and elegant 
edifice of brick, with stone facings. It is in some respects 
tlie most complete and perfect in its appointments of any in 
the city, and was dedicated October 17, 1869. 

Dr. Elbert S. Porter has been identified with the later 
gi-owth of the Eastern District as much as any other one 
man. He is a native of Hillsboro, Somerset county, N. J., 
and was at school at Ovid, N. Y. ; at a grammar school in 
Broome street, New York, and at Somerville Academy, N. J. ; 
grad. from Princeton Coll., in 1839, and from the New Bnms- 
wick Tlieol. Sem. three years later. His first charge was at 
Chatham, Columbia Co., N. Y., where he gathered a congre- 
gation, organized a church, and a handsome edifice was built. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ORGANIZATIONS. 



In the autumn of 1849, Dr. Porter accepted a call to the 
First Reformed Church of Williamsburgh, and commenced 
his long, active and useful pastorate. In addition to his 
church work, he was editor of the Christian Intelligencer for 
sixteen years, and always a prolific writer for the press; he 
wrote voluminous letters from Europe, in 1879, for publica- 
tion, and on his return delivered an interesting series of lec- 
tures. A contemporary said of him: "Dr. Porter is emi- 
nently a prophetic writer, exerting a great influence. All 
his faculties are under good disciiiline and control. He 
knows just wliere and when to strike to annihilate an adver- 
sary." He has also written numerous poems and h3'mns of 
high literary quality. 

"Dr. Porter's intellect is both compreliensive and subtle, 
logical and poetical; he is broad in his views, and outspoken, 
yet cautious and politic; doctrinal, yet rhetorical; a conserva- 
tive progressive, and a progressive conservative. The value 
of his words is seen in the frequency witli which he has lieen 
called upon to speak upon public, educational, religitnis or 
charitable topics." 
He resigned his charge in October, 1883. 
The Third or South Reformed Dutch Church (atGowanus), 
fonnerly located on the corner of Forty-thii'd street and Third 
avenue, had its inception at a meeting held June 27, 1838. 
Tlie building, situated about a mile south of the village, was 
completed and dedicated on the 34th of June, 1840. Miuis- 
ti-y : Rev. C. C. Van Arsdale (supply), 1840; Rev. Samuel M. 
Woodbridge, 1841-51; Rev. J. M. Rowland, 18.52-3; Rev. John 
II. Manning, 1854-73. 

From May, 1843, to January, 18.50, services were held by 
the Pastor, Rev. S. M. Woodbridge, alternately in this church 
and in tlie North Church of Gowanus, on Third avenue, be- 
tween Twentieth and Twenty-first streets, and which had 
been purcliased by the consistory, in May, 1842, from the 
Fourth Presbyterian Churcli of Brooklyn. (See sketch of 
North Dutch Reformed Church.) 

The South Refoi-med Dutch Church lost a large portion of 
its members and supporters during the yellow fever of 1856, 
and it seemed at one time as if its very existence must be 
abandoned, but the few who were left rallied to its support, 
and it became again prosperous. Subsequent Pastors : Rev. 
Henry V. S. Meyers, 1874-'81; Rev. A. D. W. Mason, 1881-'4. 
The church building was destroyed by fire in 1863, and a new 
edifice commenced at the corner of Third avenue and Thirty- 
second street, tlie chapel of which was used for worship the 
same year. The church was completed in 1875. It is a 
brick structure, with a seating capacity of 350, and has a 
chapel and Sundaj'-school room in the rear. The Society 
has a parsonage on Third avenue, between Forty-second and 
Forty-third streets. 

The Fourth Reformed Dutch Church was organized Nov. 
11, 1840, at the Wallabout. Rev. Peter S. Williamson was 
Pastor, from April to October, 1841. The congregation being 
feeble, and enjoying only occasional supplies, the enterprise 
was abandoned about tlie close of 1842, but the church was 
not regularly dissolved by Classis until October 13, 1844, wlien 
the only member (and he an elder) was dismissed by the 
Classis, on his own request, and joined the Wallabout Church, 
and the North Dutch Reformed Church became extinct. 

The Middle Reformed Protestant Dutch Church, corner 
of Harrison street and Tompkins place, was org. in 1846, 
with sixteen members, in a room on the corner of Smith and 
Butler streets. John V. N. Talmage served as a stated 
preacher until the first regular Pastor, Rev. Peter D. Oakey, 
commenced his labors in March, 1847. During that year the 
congregation erected a church edifice on the corner of Court 
and Butler streets, a plain brick structure, costing about 



$10,000. Subsequent Pastors: Rev. Jas. R. Talmage, 1850-'2; 
Rev. Nicholas E. Smith, D. D., 1853-69. In 1853, lots were 
purchased, and the present church edifice commenced, the 
corner-stone of which was laid July 30, 1855. The structure 
is of brick, in the Norman style of architecture, witli two 
towers in front, the principal one being 180 feet in height. 
The building has 70 feet front on Harrison street, and ex- 
tends 96 feet on Tompkins place, the audience-room having 
a clear space of 64 feet in width. It has galleries, and its 
estimated capacity is 1,.500 persons. The exterior is trimmed 
with brown stone, the lecture-room adjoining being fronted 
with blue marble; cost, about $32,000. Other pastors : Rev. 
Edward P. Ingersoll, D. D., 1869-83; Rev. Wm. H. Ford, 
1888-'4. The church buildings were renovated and refitted 
between tlie years 1872 and 1875, at an expense of about 
•f 10,000. The Sunday-scliool rooms were wholly changed, 
and they are now as convenient and pleasant as any in the 
city. 

A mission was established in October, 1847, in the vicinity 
of Clinton and Washington avenues. A division soon oc- 
curred, and two small bviildings were erected, one on Wash- 
ington avenue, near Fulton, and the other on Clinton ave- 
nue. Their cost was about .$ l,.30O. 

Rev. EdwakdP. Ingersoll. D.D. (Williams Coll.. 1877). was 
born in Lee, Mass., May 6, 1834— a descendant of Rev. Jona- 
than Edwards. In 1837, his parents removed to Oberlin, 
Ohio, where he resided until he had partially passed tlirougli 
college, when he returned to MassachuEetIs and completed 
his college course at Williams. After graduating at the 
Law College at Cleveland, he was admitted to the Bar, and 
practiced three years. Desirous of entering the ministry, he 
entered Andover Theological Seminary, and, in Dec, 1863, 
was ordained and installed over the First Congregational 
Church, Sandusky, Ohio. In 1868 he accepted a call to In- 
dianapolis. The Middle Reformed Church, of this city, ex- 
tended a call to him in Dec, 1869. His labors in this field 
have been crowned with abundant success. Dr. Ingersoll 
has a very attractive delivery, and, though his pulpit utter- 
ances are mainly extempore, they show pure thought 
and earnest Christian spirit. His genial, whole-souled man- 
ners make him a welcome guest in the homes of his people. 

Washington Avenue Protestant Reformed Dutch Church, 
on the corner of Washington and Gates avenues, was organ- 
ized about 1848, and a building, 30 by 46 feet in size, and 
costing some .$14,000, was erected. The first Pastor was Rev. 
A. Elmendorf, who was called in 1848. In 1850, a Mr. Good- 
man was called, and the corner-stone of a new edifice was 
laid in 18.50; but, in 1851, the church broke up, and the edifice 
was sold to the Baptists for an amount suflicient to pay all 
debts and leave a handsome surplus. 

The Greenpoint Reformed Church was organized May, 
1848, with eight members, by a committee from the North 
Classis, of Long Island. Its first Consistory comprised 
David Swalm and William H. Guest, elders, and Dr. Isaac 
K. Snell, deacon. It held its first services in a small room, 
over the grocery store of Elder Swalm. The first church 
was built in 1850, in Java street, on land given for the pur- 
pose by Mrs. Magdalena Meserole, the foster-mother of the 
church. The growth of the church was such that the edifice 
erected was not large enough to meet the wants of the con- 
gregation; and, after a few years, a new church edifice, 63 
by 95 feet, was built on Kent street, in 1869, and dedicated 
January 30, 1870. The front is of Philadelphia pressed brick, 
trimmed with Ohio and Connecticut stone, and is of the 
Rheno-Romanesque architecture, of the sixteenth century. 
The westerly tower is 55 feet high, surmounted by a mansard 
roof, with crestings. The easterly tower is 75 feet high, with 



996 



niSTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 




GREE.NPOINT KEl'ORMED CHUKCH. 

l>elfry, at present surmounted by an octagonal mansard roof. 
The tower is intended for a spire 175 feet higb. Tlie church 
lias a seating capacity of 800 persons, and cost, with land, 
about 160,000. 

In 1880, a chapel, 45 by 100 feet, seating 1,000 persons, was 
erected, on land adjoining the church, for Sunday-school 
and prayer-meeting purposes. It has lecture-room, church 
parlor, and six class-rooms, with a gallery divided to accom- 
modate eight bible-classes, and an infant-school departmeot, 
capable of eeating 200 cliildren ; also kitchen, &c. It cost, 
with furniture, not including the ground on which it stands, 
$17,000. 

The church has had six Pastors : Rev. John W. Ward, 1849 
-'54; Rev. Goyn Talmage, D. D., 1855-'62 ; Rev. George H. 
Peeke, 1863-'65 ; Rev. A. P. Van Giesen. D. D., 1866-67; and 
Rev. Alexander McKelvey, 1867-72; Rev. Lewis Francis, 
1873-'84. 

The membership of the church is 882; communicants, 436; 
scholars on the roll of the church and mission schools, 1,022. 
The entire cost of the churches and chapel has been paid, 
save a bonded debt of |5,000 on tlie chapel. 

Reformed Dutch Church (of North Gowanus). — The proj)- 
erty of this church was first jjurchased from the Fourth 
Presbyterian Church of Brooklyn, by the consistory of the 
South Reformed Dutch Church, in May, 1842. The congre- 
gations of the South and North Reformed Churches were 
under the charge of the same Pastor till Janviary, 1850, when 
the union was dissohed by the Classis, and the North Church 
congregation was organized, and purchased the property 
from the South Church. 

In May, 1851, the Rev. N. P. Pierce, D. D., was installed 
as Pastor. 

Early in 1869, the property owned by the church on Third 
avenue, near Twenty-first street, was sold, and a new church 
edifice erected on Twelfth street, between Fourth and Fifth 
avenues. It is a brick building, 55 by 85 feet in size, and its 
cost was about $65,000. 

At that time the corporate title was changed to "Tlie 
Twelfth Street Reformed Church of Brooklyn." Mr. Pierce 
resigned, on account of ill health, in 1874, and the present 
Pastor, Rev. Uriah D. Gulick, was installed Sept. 30, 1875. 



The North Reformed Church (Clermont avenue), organ- 
ized May 15, 1851, owes its origin to the efforts of its first 
pastor, Rev. Anthony Elmendorf, D. D., who was installed 
July 11th, 1852. Four lots of ground were presented to the 
church by the heirs of Jeremiah V. Spader, and a church 
edifice was erected in 1855, at a cost of $20,000. Pastors, 
Revs. A. Elmendorf, D. D., 1853-'65; W. Tillotson Enj-ard, 
186,5-73; Alex. R. Thompson, D. D., 1873-84. 

Tlie church has been prosperous. It has a large member- 
ship and a flourishing Sunday school. 

Reformed Protestant Dutch Church of South Bushwick. 
— Nov. 6th, 1851, a petition was jiresented to the North Classis 
<if L. I., from the inhabitants of Bowronvllle and vicinity, 
praying for the organization of a Dutch church in that lo- 
cality. 

Messrs. Andrew J. Johnson and William Ten Eyck, received 
on their certificates of dismission from the Reformed Church 
of Bushwick, were constituted a consistory for the new 
organization. 

Soon after, nine persons were received, mostly from the Re- 
formed Church of Bushwick, and the Rev. J. S. Hinirod 
was appointed missionary to take charge of the new enterprise. 

Tlie organizing membership all came from the old BiLsh- 
wick Church; but the organization came about through the 
efforts, jirincipally, of the Rev. E. S. Porter, D. D. 

Steps were at once taken to obtain a suitable house of wor- 
ship. Land for this jiurpose was given, at the intersection 
of their farms on the old Bushwick Road, by the brothers, 
Andrew and Abrani Stockholm, Nov. 19, 1851. This, when 
the town of Bushwick was consolidated with Brooklyn, 
came at the corner of Bushwick avenue and Himrod street. 
Money for the purpose of buildmg was raised among the 
residents in the vicinity, and a sum presented by the Col- 
legiate Dutch Church of New York. The corner-stone of 
the church was laid by James De Bevoise, Sei)t. 6. 1852. and 
the building consecrated February, 1853. Tliis building then 
erected is the one in use now. It is a frame structure, 45 by 
65 feet. 

The Rev. J. S. Himrod, who, up to this time, had been 
acting as the missionary of Classis, was, in February, 1854, 
installed as the Pastor of the church. He remained in that 
capacity until October, 1859. The other Pastors have been 
as follows: Rev. Denis Wortraan. D. D., June 16, 1860, to 
Oct. 19, 1863; Rev. Chester Hartranft, D. D., July 10, 1864, 
to Oct. 2, 1866; Rev. Hy. V. Voorhees, Aug. 11, 1867, to 
April 21, 1869; Rev. Geo. D. Hulst, July 4, 1869, who is still 
Pastor. 

During the early part of the year 1881, a very beautiful 
and commodious Sunday-school building, 40 by 80 feet, was 
erected. It was dedicated on the 17th of July, 1881. 

The Sunday-school was organized soon after the church 
(Mr. James De Bevoise, superintendent), and, till the church 
building was completed, met in a private house in Ralph 
street, near Bushwick avenue. Since then the following 
have been superintendents: Silas Tuttle, Daniel Eklredge, 
Richard Hamilton, James H. Hart, Peter Kinsey and Geo. 
F. Booth. 

Rev. George D. Hclst, born in Brooklyn, 1846; grad. Rut- 
gers Coll. 1866; Rutgers Tlieo. Sem. 1869; located B'klyn 
1869-'84; Pres. L. I. and B'kljai Entomological Societies, 
1876-'83; contrib. to entomo. journals; author of Monograph 
on Genus Catocola, 1«83. 

The German Reformed Protestant Dutch Church of New 
Brooklyn, Herkimer, near Howard avenue, was organized 
October, 1852, by twenty-eight persons. They were supplied 
by Ernest Schrepfer till January 1st, 1853. Pastors: Revs. 
Mr. Pflster, 1853-'55; C. Dickhaut, 1855-'67; H. C. Heyser, 



ECCLESIASTICAL ORGANIZATIONS 



997 



1867-69; C. F. C. Snekow, 1870-'79; Jacob Weber, 1879-'84. 
November 32d, 1854, a church edifice (costing about $5,500), 
of Gothic style, was dedicated, and, in 1868, a parsonage 
was erected and repairs made upon the church. 

A parochial school, in connection with the church, has 
been maintained since the latter's organization. Instruction 
is given in both English and German. 

This church has a flourishing Sunday-school, and the ser- 
vices in both church and Sunday-school are conducted in 
the German language. This church is not only free fioni 
debt, but it has a bank account to its credit. 

East Reformed Dutch Church (situated on Bedford avenue, 
near Jefferson street) was organized Feb. 15, 1853; Rev. 
John W. Schenck was installed as pastor; the church edifice 
was raised in Marcli, 1854, and dedicated July 16. Ministrij: 
Revs. Jacob West, 1856-68; S. F. Farmer, 1868-'72; J. H. 
Carroll, 1873-76; P. E. Kipp, 1877-'79. 

In 1879, it was reorganized under the name of Bedford 
Reformed (Dutch) Church. Rev. Walter T. Griffin became 
pastor in 1881. 

A new church edifice was erected in 1875, on the corner of 
Bedford avenue and Madison street, two blocks north from 
the original building. Its cost was |140,000. 

The Lee Avenue Reformed Dutch Church. — The first ser- 
vices in connection with the enterprise, which afterwards 
became known as the Lee Avenue Reformed Dutch Church, 
were held in 1852, in a small frame cottage belonging to 
Barnet Johnson, situated on the corner of Bedford ave. and 
Hewes st. 




COTTAGE WHICH WAS THE BIUTHPLACE OF THE LEE 
AVENUE REFOR.MED CHUKCH. 

Near the close of his life. General Jeremiah Johnson had 
expressed a desire that a church, of the denomination to 
which he had always been attached, should be built on 
his homestead farm. His sons, in connection with several 
families in the neighborhood, sought the co-operation of the 
Board of Domestic Missions of the Reformed Dutch Church, 
in organizing the new enterprise. 

In May. 1853, it was determined to erect a chapel, and the 
building now standing on Lee ave. was commenced on land 
generously donated by Barnet Johnson and the heirs of the 
late James Scholes. The corner-stone was laid with appro- 
priate services, August 3, 1853, by the Hon. Benjamin D. 
Silliman; and, on April 9, 1854, the beautiful chapel was ded- 
icated by the Rev. George W. Bethune, D. D. 

On May 2, 1854, the church was organized with thirteen 
members by the North Classis of Long Island, and the Rev. 
W. W. Halloway was its Pastor until 1859. His ministry 
was very successful, and during his pastorate, the chapel 







LEE AVENUE HEFORMED (DUTCH) CHURCH. 

was enlarged to double its original size. Rev. John McClel- 
lan Holmes was installed Pastor November 6, 1859. New 
life and vigor was immediately infused throughout the en- 
tire enterprise, the building was crowded to excess, and the 
erection of a large and commodious church became a 
necessity. 

Barnet Johnson and the heirs of the late James Scholes 
having made another large gift of land for the site, the work 
was commenced on the first of March, 1860, and the corner- 
stone was laid on the 11th day of the following June, by the 
Rev. Dr. Van Franken, of New Brunswick, N. J. The 
church auditorium was dedicated Dec. 10, 1860, the Rev. 
George W. Bethune, D. D., preaching a memorable dis- 
course. Rev. Mr. Holmes was compelled, by impaired 
health, to relinquish his charge in 1864. 

The subsequent Pastors were: Rev. A. A. Willits, D. D., 
1.S6.5--67; Rev. W. W. Hicks, 1867-69; Rev. J. H. Carroll, 
D. D., 1869-71; at the close of his pastorate, the church 
leached a very low ebb; it was torn by dissensions and re- 
duced by withdrawals; and the hopes and plans of the gen- 
erous donors of the land on which the buildings stood were 
entirely defeated by the church changing its denominational 
relation and becoming the Lee Avenue Congregational 
Church. 

The Lee Avenue Sunday-school, which afterwards became 
famous throughout the land and the world, was organized 
in 1853, with John N. Stearns as its Supt. for 18 months; suc- 
ceeded by Jeremiah Johnson, Jr., soon after the new church 
was occupied. The prosppcts were not encouraging; the 
neighborhood was sparsely populated; there were no dwell- 
ings in the vicinity; the land was cultivated by market 
gardeners; open fields everywhere met the eye. The average 
attendance in January, 1855, was 50; in January, 18.56, 700 
scholars and 70 teachers were enrolled on the Sabbath-school 
registers. In January, 1857, the school had 1,000 scholars 
and 90 teachers; on the 7th of October, 1860, when the new 
Sabbath-school was opened, 2,000 children and 180 teachers. 

In May, 1866, Jeremiah Johnson, Jr., who had been the 
superintendent of the school almost from its inception, in 
consequence of removal to Railway, New Jersey, resigned 
his position; and was succeeded by Franklin H. Lummus, 
who successfully performed its duties, and was continued as 
superintendent until nearly the time when the church 
changed its denominational relationship. 

Bethany Chapel, on Hudson avenue, near Myrtle, first 
established as Myrtle Avenue Mission, in Myrtle Hall, in 
1853, was soon removed to a larger room, on the corner of 
Myrtle avenue and Navy street. It was maintained by the 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



Chuich ..u lliL- lleighls till 1SG8, when it was united with 
Bethesda Mission, and tlie name, Bethany, was given to 
the united missions. The jiresent chapel was dedicated, May 
29, 1870. It is a brick structure, 50 by 80 feet in size, with a 
seatmg capacity of 400. Its total cost was $26,000. 

The ]>astors of this Slission have been : Rev. Alfred Myers: 
and Rev. Jacob Whitehurst, who was born at Macclesfield, 
Eng.; grad. Brooklyn High School, 1876; studied Bklyn. 
Lay College, 1871-75; Missionary with Ch. of Our Saviour, 
1873-'75; located at Brooklyn, July, 1876. 

The chief interest of tliis Mission has centred in its Sunday- 
school, which now numbers 350. At one time it published a 
periodical called The Bethaiuj Tidings. 

The German Evangelical St. Peter's Church (Reformed), 
Union ave. and Scholes st. This church was commenced by 
the Rev. C. A. J. Pohle, of Bautzen, Saxony, in October, 
1853, in the lecture-room of the Old Bush wick Reformed 
Dutch Church. On Christmas of the same year, he cele- 
brated the Lord's Supper with 21 communicants. 

During the winter, they bought the old church, a small 
frame building, together with two lots on the corner of Union 
ave. and Scholes St., from the So. 3d. St. Methodist Ep. Con- 
gregation, for $2,300. The date of the dedication of this 
church is not given; but, on Easter Sunday, 1854, they cele- 
brated the Lord's Supper in this building, with 54 persons, 
among these being six children, who had been confirmed the 
Sabbath previous. ^Mr. Pohle died, Nov. 22, 1859, and the 
Rev. J. A. Ph. Zapf succeeded him, and was pastor of this 
church till March, 1863. Rev. Henry Hennick was called to 
the pastorate, in June, 1863, and left in March, 1865. The 
congregation divided on the calling of a minister, and when 
the majority called the Rev. J. A. Reidenbach, in April, the 
minority left the church. 

The church was now in a deplorable condition, weak and 
distracted; a mortgage of $2,400, a floating debt of $1,500, 
the members poor, and the pastor inexperienced and helpless. 
Seeing that it must unite with some ecclesiastical body 
which could assist it, or succumb, the congregation resolved, 
unanimously, to join the Ref. Dutch Church. The North 
Classis of L. I. was convened on the 22d of January, 1866; 
received it formally as a member of its body ; and at 
once assisted it in its pecuniary trouble. Mr. Reidenbach, 
the Pastor, was not received, but the Classis permitted him 
to continue his labors, and assisted him, through the Board 
of Domestic Missions. 

By the advice of Classis, the present Pastor, Rev. John 
Martin Wagner, of Honheim, in the Palatinate, a graduate 
of Rutgers College, and the Seminary of New Brunswick, 
N. J., was installed by the North Classis of L. I., on Decem- 
ber 30, 1860, and is thus the first regularly installed pastor of 
this church. A fund was started for a new church, and, in 
1880, the present commodious church building was erected. 
This structure, a mixture of ancient and modern architec- 
ture, has a front of 52 feet on Union ave., and 100 feet 
length on Scholes St., of Phila. brick and Ohio stone, with a 
tower on the corner, 150 feet high, with two bells. 

The audience-room has a raised floor and circular seats ; 
the organ loft, with the choir, is above and behind the pulpit; 
with a gallery in front of the church, seating about 900 
persons. 



The cost of the building was near $25,000. The church 
was dedicated on the 2d of January, 1881. The basement is 
high and pleasant, with a large hall for Sunday-school, &c., 
a room for the parochial school, and large parlor for meet- 
ings and social gatherings. 

The church has 460 members, the two Sabbath-schools have 
about 700 children on their rolls, and the parochial school 
averages 100 scholars. 

Centennial Chapel First R. D. Church— Feby. 21, 1869, 
a Mission S. S. was org. on the cor. of Fulton and Adams 
sts., and continued for two years; out of it grew the present 
Centennial Chapel. The originators were the late Dr. T. L. 
Mason and Sam'l Stewart ; also, A. J. Beekman, Henry M. 
Curtis, J. R. Lott, A. R. Gray, L. V. D. Hardenbergh, and a 
number of others. The corner-stone of the present chapel 
was laid, Nov. 10, 1871, and the first service was held in De- 
cember of the same year. The Rev. J. G. Bass held evening 
service there during that year. Ministry: Revs. A, N. Wyck- 
offi, 1873-'6; D. N. Westveer, 1877: J. H. Colton, D. D., 
1878-'84. At the present time, the church has a membership 
of about 200; the S. S. numbers 600, including officers and 
teachers ; the whole a growing work and in a prosperous 
condition. The Sups, of the S. S. have been Messrs. Geo. E. 
Brinkerhoff, Abram J. Beekman, Henry W. Brewer, deceased, 
and C. C. Shelley. The building is of brick and stone, and 
was Ijuilt at a cost of $19,000, including lots. 

The following clergymen of the Reformed Church are resi- 
dents of the city or county : 

Rev. Jacob West, D.D., born 1818, at Berne, N. Y.; grad. 
Rutgers CoU., 1842; Rutgers Tlieol. Sem., 1845; Cor. Sec. 
Board Dom. Missions, since 1868; previous locations. Middle- 
burgh, N.Y., 1845-'52; Piermont, N. Y., 1852-'6; frequent con- 
tributor to press: settled in B'klyn., April, 1856. 

Rev. Alfred De W. Mason, born in Brooklyn, 1855; grad. 
Amherst Coll., 1877; andTheol. Sem., New Bnmswick, N. J., 
1880; located Locust Valley, L. I., 1880-'82; Brooklyn, 1883-'4. 

Rev. John M. Wagner, born in Flonheim, Germany, 1826; 
grad. Rutgers Coll., 1853, and New Brunswick Theol. Sem., 
1856; located Silver Creek, 111., 1856-'61; WestLeyden, N. Y., 
1862-68; Melrose, N. Y., 1863-'6; B'klyn., 1866-'84, Pres. 
Germ. Evang. Home for Aged, 1879-84. 

Rev. John A. Lansing, born in Watervliet, N. Y. ; grad. 
Union Coll., 1842, and New Brunswick Theo. Sem., 1845; was 
Pres. Phi Beta Kappa Soc, and Vice-Pres. Union Coll. 
Alumni Ass'n; located at Saratoga, 1845-'48; Bethlehem, N. 
Y., 1848-'60; Catskill, 1860-'66; Sec. Board of Publication, 
1866-75; Chaplain Amer. Union Chapel, Rome, 1878 ; 
author of Ministerial Support, 1854. 

Rev. R. G. Strong is Pastor of the Reformed Church in 
Flatbush, and was born in Flatbush, 1837; grad. Univ. City 
of New York, 1855, and New Brunswick, N. J., Theol. Sem., 
1858; ord. 1860; located at Flatbush, 1858-'61;New Baltimore, 
N. Y., 1861-'9; select school, Flatbush, 1870-9; Prin. Eras- 
mus Hall Academy, 1879-'84. 

Rev. A. P. Stockwell is Pastor of the Reformed Church in 
Gravesend, and was born in Hadley, Mass., 1837; grad. Am- 
herst, 1863, and Union Theol. Sem., 1865; located Pleasant 
Plains, N. Y., 1865-69; MiUbrook, 1869-'73; Gravesend, 
1873-'84. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ORGANIZATIONS. 



PROTESTANT EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



Episcopal Churches. — During one 
hundred and twenty-five years, the Re- 
formed Dutch Church maintained un- 
disputed sway in the town of Brooklyn. 
When the Episcopal Church first made 
a beginning here is not certain. Tradi- 
tion asserts that it was established here 
as early as 1766; but the statement is not 
substantiated by any reliable data. 
Probably Episcopal services were occa- 
sionally conducted here according to 
circumstances or convenience, but no 
records of these remain. As early as 
1774, a proposition was made to erect 
a church by lottery, ' ' conformable to 
the doctrines of the church of England. " 
The project probably failed. It is 
known that, from about 1778 to the 
close of the Revolution, the Rev. James 
Sayer was stationed here; and, that, in 
the 8])ring of 1784, Rev. George Wright 
held regular services in the house of 
Garret Rapelje on Fulton street, a short 
distance above Front; and that, in the 
same year, the congregation removed to 
the barn of John Middagh, at the corner 
of Henry, Fulton and Pojilar streets (see 
engraving on p. Ill), and subsequently 

to an old British barrack at the corner of Middagh and Fulton 
streets. Not long afterward, a house that had been erected 
for Mr. Mattuck, an independent preacher, came into the 
hands of some of Mr. Wright's parishioners, and was conse- 
crated by Bishop Provost, April 23d, 1787. The parish was, by 
act of the legislature, incorporated as " The Episcopal church 
of Brooklyn," with the following trustees : John Cornell, 
Matthew Gleaves, Joshua Sands, Joseph Sealey, John Van 
Notsrand, Aquila Giles and Henry Stanton. Mr. Wright was 
succeeded, in 1789, by Rev. Elijah D. Rattoone, and he by 
Rev. Ambrose Hull. Next came Rev. Samuel Nesbitt in 
1793. 

On the 23d of June, 179.5, the church was reorganized and 
incorporated by the name of .S'(. Ami's Church, a title which 
it is said to have "tacitly received some years before," in 
compliment to Mrs. Ann Sands, who, with her husband (Mr. 
Joshua Sands), had been its most liberal donor. 

In 1798, the Rev. John Ireland succeeded to the rectorship, 
and during his charge, the stone clmrch was built on the 
ground given by Mr. and Mr. Sands, at the corner of Sands 
and Washington streets. It was consecrated by Bishop Ben- 
jamin Moore, on the 30th of May, 1805. 

Subsequent Rectors: Revs. Henry James Feltus, 1807-'14, 
John Prentiss Kenley Henshaw, 1814-'17 ; Hugh Smith, 
1817-18. 

Rev. Henry Ustick Onderdonk became Rector in November, 
1819, and continued in the discharge of his duties, until his 
election and consecration as Assistant Bishop of Pennsylvania, 
in October, 1827. The church edifice being considered unsafe 
for further use, in consequence of the damages done to its 
walls by the powder-mill explosion of 1808, measures were 
taken for the erection of a new building. March 31st, 1824, the 
corner-stone of a new church was laid, and the church was 
consecrated, July 30, 1825. 




THE SECOND ST. ANN'S CllUliClI EUIFICE. 

In 1826, a new parsonage was built, where Clark street 
now enters Fulton street, and nearly opposite to the old Epis- 
copal burying ground. 

Other Rectors were: Rev. Charles Pettit Mcllvaine, from 
1828 to 1833, when he was elected Bishop of Ohio; Rev. Ben- 
jamin Clark Cutler, 1853 till his death in 1863. 

Among the first acts under his rectorship, was the estab- 
lishment of a Secotul Sabbath-School, from the overflow of the 
original one. In August, 1833, with a small number of chil- 
dren, it was held for a time in the gallery of the church; then 
in several other places, until it was finally established, in 
1837, in a second story which was added for the purpose, to 
the building occupied bj* School No. 1. In 1839. was built the 
third rectory, a substantial brick house, located in the church 
yard, fronting Sands street, and first occupied in the spring 
of 1840. In September, 1841, a parish library was opened to 
the free use of the congregation. In the year 1838, the mem- 
bers of St. Ann's inaugurated an orphan asylum, which has 
since efiiciently but noiselessly performed its appropriate 
work; and also an education society, which had many years 
of usefulness. 

Mr. Charles Bancroft became Assistant Pastor in May, 1844. 
Rev. Lawrence H. Mills became Rector, in March, 1864, a year 
after the death of Mr. Cutler. Steps were soon afterward 
taken toward the erection of a new church and chape], on 
the corner of Clinton and Livingston streets. The chapel 
was opened April 7th, 1867. On the 30th of May, 1867, the 
present Rector, Noah Hunt Schenck,D. D., was inducted into 
the rectorship, and on the 5th of June, in the same year, the 
corner-stone of the present church edifice was laid. The 
house was opened for worship, October 20th, 1869. A chime 
of nine bells, each with an appropriate inscription, was pre- 
sented as an Easter offering, in 1869, by the Senior Warden, 
Thomas Messenger, Esq. 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 




r ST. A-NWS (lUltcIl KIUHI'];. 



The church was consecrated, free from debt, on Ascension 
Day, 1879. Sittings were made perpetually free by the con- 
dition which Mr. R. Fulton Cutting imposed, when, in 1878, 
he donated |70,000 to complete the extinction of the church 
debt. 

The total cost of the church was 1375,000. Additional ex- 
penditures, interest, etc., have swelled the amount to half a 
million. The seating capacity of the church is 1,700. 

On Ascension Day, 1881, a memorial window was placed 
in the chancel, by the ladies of the congregation, to the 
memory of Mrs. Cutting. 

A mission, called .St. Ann's House, has been established in 
Prospect St., near the site of the old St. Ann's Church. It is 
conducted by the Brotherhood of St. Ann's ; connected with 
this is a day nursery, conducted by the parish guild. Its 
work is the care of infants while their mothers are at labor 
for their support. 

St. Ann's has (July, 1883) 676 communicants, and 365 Sun- 
day-school scholars. 

Rev. Noah Hunt Schenck, D.D., born in Pennington, N. J., 
1825; grad. Princeton Coll., 1844. Admitted to the bar, 1847; 
practiced Trenton, 1848, and Cincinnati, 1849-"51; grad. Gam- 
bier (O.) Theol. Sem., 1853; ord., 1853; located Troy and 
Hillsborough, O., 1853-'55; Gambler, O., 1855-'57: Chicago, 
18a7-'60; Baltimore, 1860-'67; St. Ann's, Bklyn, 1867-'84; was 
Chaplain, Kenyon Coll., 185.V67; of St. Nicholas Soc, 1871 
-'84; author of pub. sermons, addresses, and lectures. 

St. John's Church, corner of Washington and Johnston 
streets, was erected in 1826. This parish owes its origin 
and maintenance, during many of its earlier years, to the 
foresight and liberality of its first Rector, the Rev. Evan M. 
Jolinson. The edifice, built by him at liis own expense, on his 
own land, and for several years generously furnished to the 
congregation free of cost, was first opened for divine service 
September 24th, 1826; and for a few months he was assisted 
in the services by the Rev. John A. Hicks. On Easter day, 



1827, there were nineteen communicants. On the 16th of 
July following, the church was consecrated by Bishop Hobart. 
The attendance continuing to increase, it was considerably 
enlarged and improved in 1832, and purchased by the con- 
gregation. In 183."), Rev. Jacob W. Diller became Assistant 
Minister; and, in 1841, the Rev. Stephen Patterson officiated in 
the same relation, followed by the Rev. Caleb S. Henry, D.D., 
in 1842. A few years later, quite extensive repairs and im- 
provements were made in the church. In July, 1847, the 
Rev. Mr. Johnson withdrew, after more than twenty years of 
faithful service without remuneration. His successors were 
Rev. Samuel R. Johnson, D. D.. 1847-'50; Rev. N. A. Oke- 
son, D.D., 1851-53; Rev. Thomas T. Guion, D. D., 1853-62. 

The renovation and re-fitting of the church edifice was 
completed in 1862. Other Rectors : Rev. George F. Seymour, 
D.D., 1863-67, aided by Rev. Henry A. Spaffard, Assist- 
ant Minister of the parish, and Rev. Alexander Surges, 
D.D., 1867-69. 

In 1868, the old building, on the corner of Washington and 
Johnson sts., was sold and the corner-stone of a new chapel 
was laid at the corner of Seventh ave. and St. John's place, 
on the 15th of June, 1869. This chapel is of red sandstone, 
and has about four hundred sittings. A rectory of the same 
material adjoins it. The cost of both was about $40,000. 

Rev. R. E. Terry was Rector, 1869-74, when the present 
Rector, Rev. Thomas S. Pycott, was called. The parish is 
cjuite prosperous. St. John's has (July, 1883) 350 communi- 
cants and 193 Sunday-school scholars. 

St. Paul's Free Church was the offspring of St. Ann's. 
Rev. Thomas Pyne (who was mainly instrumental in com- 
mencing and forwarding this woi-k) was engaged as mission- 
ary. Durmg the first year of its existence, services were 
held in the public school-room in Middagh street, under the 
direction of a committee of gentlemen who, with but a sin- 
gle exception, were connected with St. Ann's Church. The 
Sabbath-school, also, was conducted by teachers drawn 
mostly from St. Ann's congregation. In 1834, a building in 
Pearl street, now Concord, was purchased and refitted for 
this church. The Rev. T. S. Brittain became Rector in June, 
1835. The enterprise was maintained wholly by voluntary 
contributions, and it languished until, in 1839 or '40, the edi- 
fice was sold, and services were suspended till a reorganiza- 
tion was effected, under the name of Calvary Church, with 
Rev. W. H. Lewis, Rector. During some years the parish 
was prosperous. Jolin J. Fish, D. D., succeeded Mr. Lewis, 
but left in 1849. The parish was not prosperous after Mr. 
Fish resigned, and, in 1861, it ceased to exist. • 

Trinity Church was organized in March, 1835. Eight lots 
were donated on Clinton avenue, between Atlantic and Ful- 
ton avenues, by George W. Pine, and a stone edifice, 60 by 
45, erected. The Rectors of the church were, in suc- 
cession. Revs. D. V. M. Johnson, Dr. Thos. W. Coit and R. 
C. ShimeaU. In 1841, the jjarish having become embarrassed, 
public worship was discontinued, and the church was sold; 
but was purchased, and the services were revived by the con- 
gregation of St. Luke's. 

Christ Church, corner of Clinton and Harrison streets, had 
its inception in the labors principally of the members of St. 
Ann's parish. The i)arish was organized and recognized in 
the diocese, May 18, 1835. Services were first held in 1837, 
in a chapel on the corner of Court and Pacific streets, where 
the pulpit was temporarily supplied by Rev. C. S. Henry, 
Fred. C. Goodwin, Prof. Tin-ner and Kingston Goddard. Mr. 
Goddard became Rector in 1838, and was succeeded by the 
Rev. Dr. John Seely Stone in 1841. 

The corner-stone of the new church, on the corner of Clin- 
ton and Harrison streets, was laid June 26, 1841, and the 



MCCLESIASTtCAL ORGANIZATIONS. 



1001 



chiirch was consecrated July 28th, 1842. The cost of the 
structure alone was $33,000. 

Rectors:— Rev. E. H. Canfield, D. D., 1853-'68 ; Rev. Lucius 
W. Bancroft, D. D., in 1869-'84. In 1856, the chapel and 
Sundaj'-school accommodations were enlarged to nearly 
double their previous capacity, at a cost of about $25,000. 

In 1861, a Mission Chapel was built on the corner of Clinton 
and Luqueer streets, and organized as the Church of Our 
Saviour in 1867. Another very successful mission, Christ 
Church Chapel, on Red Hook Point, is now supported by 
Christ Church, under the charge, successively, of Revs. Wil- 
liam Hyde, Carlos E. Butler, Charles H. Tucker, and William 
Hyde again. It has (July, 1883) 177 communicants and 560 
Sunday-school scholars. Revs. Wm. B. Bodine, E. L. Stod- 
dard, C. H. Nicholson, A. B. Carver and Bishop Falkner 
liave been Assistant Ministers under Dr. Bancroft. 

The church not only has no debt, but has a surplus in its 
treasury. It has (July, 1888) 519 communicants and 852 
Sunday-school scholars. 

St. Mary's Church commenced as a Sunday-school, on 
Classon avenue, at the Wallabout, in 1836. Here Rev. D. V. 
M. Johnson held afternoon services during about 6 months. 
In 1837, Mr. Joseph Hunter became Superintendent of the 
school, and lay-reader to a small congi-egation. In that year 
a small edifice was erected, and the church called St. Mary's 
was organized. The church was consecrated Feb. 1, 1840, 
and enlarged in 1841. During the first six years, Revs. John 
Messenger, Mr. Hunter (who had taken deacon's orders), 
Thomas T. Guion and John A. Spooner had charge. Rev. 
John W. Shackleford became Rector in Nov., 1849. In 
1856, Rev. Mr. Johnson, the father of the church, became 
Rector, and ground for a new church edifice was pur- 
chased on Classon avenue near Myrtle. The corner-stone was 
laid in 1858, and the church was opened the next year. The 
cost of church and grounds was $32,000, and the sittings were 
made free. A rectory was soon added. 

In 1864, the church debt was extinguished, and the building 

was consecrated. Ground was purchased, and a rectory was 

built neai- the church, and the entire property is free from debt. 

In 1873, a chapel was erected at the corner of Park avenue 

and Skillman street, and this was enlarged in 1881. 

Two day-schools are maintained in the parish; one at the 
school-room of the church, the other at the branch. The be- 
nevolent work of this parish is efficienth' sustained by its 
members. Rev. Dr. Johnson is still the Rector; Rev. Alonzo 
E. Diller, Asst. Min. St. Mary's has (July, 1883) 506 com- 
municants and 681 Sunday-school scholars. 

Emmanuel Church, In Sidney place, was incorporated in 
1841, and a neat brick edifice was finished and consecrated in 
1^843. Rev. Kingston Goddard was the first Pastor, followed 
in 1844 by Rev. Francis Vinton, D. D. A large and costly 
church was built a few years later. A new organization 
under the name of Grace Church, was effected in 1847; the 
building was sold, and another edifice was erected on the cor- 
ner of Hicks street and Grace Court. 

Calvary Free Church, on Pearl st., near Concord, was 
purchased by Mr. Edgar J. Bartow, on the dissolution of St. 
Paul's congregation, about 1840. Mr. Barlow refitted and 
furnished the church at his own expense, and invited Rev. 
Wm. II. Lewis to take the pastoral charge, which he held 
until June, ISiT. Subsequently, the accommodations were 
enlarged by Mr. Barlow, at his own expense. Rev. John 
Fish, D. D., became Rector after Mr. Lewis; but, in 1849, he 
resigned, and in 1861 the parish ceased to exist. 

Calvary Church may be well considered the parent church 
of the Holy Trinity, as not only a large portion of the con- 
gregation, but its founder. Rector, organist, choir and sexton, 



all became connected with the latter, in the same rela- 
tions. 

St. Luke's Church, on Clinton avenue, was a reorganization, 
Dec. 14, 1841 (and incorporated 27th same month), from the ele- 
ments of Trinity Church, and occupied the eame edifice. It was 
in charge of Rev. D. V. M. Johnson, of St. JIary's Church, 
until April, 1842, when the Rev. Jacob W. Diller was called 
to the rectorship, the church then having 26 communicants. 
The church edifice was enlarged by the extension of the nave 
and the addition of two transepts, in 18.53, at an outlay of 
$15,000. In the spring of 1869, the pew system was abolished, 
and St. Luke's began its career as a free church. 

In 1878, Rev. Jas. W. Sparks was called as Assistant Minis- 
ter. In December, 1379, on account of the infirmities of the 
Rector, who had ministered to the congregation during 
thirty-eight years, his resignation was accepted, and he was 
retired as Rector emeritus, with a suitable competency. A 
call was at once extended to Rev. George R. Vandewater, 
and he entered on his pastoral duties, Feb. 1, 1880. Easter of 
that year was signalized by the cancellation of the bonded 
debt of the church, and the inception of a firna resolve that 
from thenceforth its ground and structures should be free, 
in every sense of the word. On June 28. of that year, the 
steamer Seawanhaka, on which the Rev. Dr. Diller was a 
passenger, was destroyed by fire in New York harbor, and 
the venerable Rector emeritus perished in the flames. 

During the years 1880 and 1881 a chancel extension was 
erected — solid, substantial and impressing— having five hand- 
some stained-glass windows, and covering a beautiful marble 
altar and reredos, as well as a fine tablet "in memoriam" of 
the late Rev. Father Diller. A new organ chamber and a 
new organ (the third largest in the city) have been added ; 
also, a new bell of 2,000 poimds weight. A new chapel has 
been erected, and the Parish Hall, on Vanderbilt avenue, has 
been repaired and improved. The total expense of these im- 
provements was $43,500. The church is free from debt. 

Rev. Joseph Reynolds, Jr., is Assistant Minister, and the 
church has (July, 1883) 812 communicants and 394 Sunday- 
school scholars. 

Rev. Jacob W. Diller, D. D., born in Lancaster, Pa., Sept. 
9, 1810, was educated at the Flushing Institute, and was or- 
dained deacon April, 1834, at St. George's Church, Flushing. 
A year later, he was advanced to the priesthood, and served 
as assistant in St. John's, Brooklyn, for three years. He 
then went to Middlebury, Vt., remaining four years. In 
1842, he was called to St. Luke's Parish, Brooklyn, at its or- 
ganization. St. Luke's was then a little chapel, standing in 
a cornfield, on the extreme outskirts of Brooklyn. Dr. Diller 
worked hard and spared not himself in the cause < f his Mas- 
ter. Through liis labors the church was greatly increased 
and a new edifice erected. His life was suddenly terminated 
July 2, 1880, by the burning of the Seatcanhaka, on which 
he was a passenger. His life was a pure exemplification of 
piety, charity, doctrine and devotion. His profound earnest- 
ness for the temporal and spiritual good of his people en- 
deared him to them m a wonderful way. 

Rev. George R. Van De Water, born in Flushing, L. I., 
1854 ; grad. Cornell Univ. 1874, and Gen. Theol. Sem , N. Y., 
1877; is a trustee of Theo. Sem.; located at Oyster Bay, L. I., 
1876-'80; Brooklyn, 1880-84. 

St. Thomas' Church was organized in 1843 as a free church, 
by Rev. John F. Messenger. He was followed by Rev. R. H. 
Bourne, 1846-'51, and he, by Rev. Wm. F. Walker, 1851-'52; 
Rev. John Frederic Schroeder, 1853. In 1853, the church 
edifice was sold to a German CathoUc society for $4,500. 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 




THE CHURCH OF THE HOLY TRINITY. 



I 



ECCLESIASTICAL ORGANIZATIONS. 



1003 



The congregation of St. Thomas removed to Bridge street 
for a time, but eventually separated. 

The Church of the Holy Trinity.— The erection of this 
noble and expensive edifice was wholh' the work of Mr. and 
Mrs. Edgar J. Bartow. He not only supervised the design, 
but hired much of the labor by the day. It is believed that 
the cost of the church and chapel was about $17.5,000. The 
chapel was opened June 7, 1846, and the church, April 25, 
1847, by Rev. W. H. Lewis, D. D., who was invited to take 
charge of the church b}^ Mr. Bartow. The parish was duly 
organized Nov. 27, 1851. Dr. Lewis was called to the rector- 
ship, and Rev. T. Stafford Drowne elected Assistant Minister, 
having served in that capacity since Nov. 1, 1848. In 1856, 
the congregation purchased the chvirch (not completed) for 
$100,000. It was consecrated September 33d of the same 
year. 

Dr. Lewis resigned the rectorship in 1800, and was suc- 
ceeded by the Rev. A. N. Littlejohn. The debt of the con- 
gregation was nearly extinguished; the tower and spire were 
completed at a cost of .f65,000; the rectory was repurchased, 
and very large sums were annually contributed for benevo- 
lent puq)0seB. 

Upon being consecrated Bishop of Long Island, January 
27, 1869, Dr. Littlejohn retired from the rectorship; and was 
succeeded, March Ist, 1869, by the present Rector, Charles H. 
Hall, D. D. ; Rev. Harry O. Lacey, Assist. Min. The clergy 
connected with the church as assistant ministers during the 
first rectorship were: Rev. T. Stafford Drowne, November 
16th, 1848, to May 7th, 1858; Rev. Henry T. Gregory for a 
short time, followed by Rev. Cornelius B. Smith, who con- 
tinued to February 1st, 1860. When Dr. Littlejohn assumed 
the rectorate, the Rev. N. W. Taylor Root w^is assistant for 
a few months, succeeded by Rev. John C. Middleton from 
October 21st, 1860, to Easter 1863. In the following October, 
Rev. John H. Rogers became assistant, after whose with- 
drawal in 1865, temporary services were rendered by the Revs. 
J. D. Philip and Charles H. Van Dyne in 1866. Early in 
1867, the Rev. Benjamin B. Newton was appointed Assistant 
Minister. The church has (July, 1883) 750 communicants 
and 231 Sunday-school scholars. 

In 1871, a mission was established by this church in Myrtle 
avenue. In 1875, this was transferred to the old St. Ann's 
church building in Wasliington street; and, when this was 
demolished by the Bridge Company, in 1879, the church edi- 
fice of the First Reformed Presbyterian Society in Duffield 
street, between Myrtle and WiUoughby avenues, was pur- 
chased and refitted at an expense of |25,000, and it is now the 
Chapel of the Holy Trinity, imder the charge of Rev. William 
Short. It has (July, 1883) 190 communicants and 306 Sunday- 
school scholars. 

Edgar John Bartow, bom on the 29th of April, 1809, at 
FishkUl, N. Y., was a son of Augustus Bartow, of Pelham 
Manor, Westchester Co., N. Y., and a descendant of Gen. 
Bertaut, of Brittany, a French Protestant, who fled to Eng- 
land some tune before 1672. The different branches of liis 
famUy in England and this country were early distinguished 
for their attachment to the Episcopal Church, and their efforts 
to extend it; and many of the name have been connected 
with its niiuistry. 

On the death of his father, Mr. Bartow's family, in 1816, 
removed to New York city; and, in 1830, took up their resi- 
dence in Brooklyn, and were members of St. Ann's parish, 
Mr. Bartow filling, at different timss, the position of teacher, 
librarian and secretary of the Sunday-school. On the 13th 
of November, 1838, he was married to Harriet Constable, a 
daughter of Mr. Hezekiah B. Pierrepont, of Brooklyn, a per- 



son of kindred tastes, who shared in a remarkable degree 
his imostentatious and liberal spirit. 

Mr. Bartow's business, from youth, was the manufacture 
of paper; and, during his more prosperous days, he devoted 
his means and influence with Christian fidelity to all the in- 
terests of the church, and especially to every local organiza- 
tion or object in which he could be useful. For years after the 
Church of the Holy Trinity was opened, he liberally aided the 
congregation of Calvary Church in maintaining their services, 
presenting the use of the building; and no one in this com- 
munity contributed more towards relieving the necessities of 
the poor. In secular matters he was also identified with 
every movement that concerned the progress and improve- 
ment of Brooklyn. 

He took a warm interest in the laying out of streets, in 
the erection of houses and public buildings, and was instru- 
mental in establisliing the Montague Street Ferry, having 
built, at an outlay of over $45,000, the stone archways and 
incMned plane from the Heights to the river. 

In politics, although not an active participator, he was in 
his sj-mpathies a Democrat, and in 1846 was chosen by tliat 
pai-ty as its candidate for Mayor; but he declined the honor, 
although he would, beyond a doubt, have been elected. 
Thoroughly retired and domestic in his tastes and habits, 
fond of the congenial society of a few, whom he knew in- 
timately and loved, he shrank as far as possible from public 
notice and commendation. 

His wife died in 1855 ; ani, in 1860, Mr. Bartow married 
Caroline, daughter of Col. John M. Gamble, U. S. M., of 
Morristo^vn, N. J. He continued to reside in Brooklyn (al- 
though his business avocations called him frequently to Nor- 
wich, Conn., to superintend the operations of the Chelsea 
Manufacturing Company, of which he was president), imtil 
his death, on the 6th of September, 1804. 



Rev. Charles H. Hall, D.D., born 1820, at Augusta, Ga.; 
grad. Yale, 1842, and gen. Theol. Sem., 1844; Rector at Hunt- 
ington, L. I., West Point, N. Y., Johnisland, So. Ca., Wash- 
ington, D. C. ; located Brooklyn, March 1, 1869; author of 
Notes on the Gospels, 2 vols. ' Protestant Ritualism, Church 
of tJie Household, Spina Christi, Valley of the Shadow, and 
published sermons. 

Grace Church, Brooklyn Heights, was organized (See Em- 
manuel Church) May 3d, 1847, with Rev. Dr. Francis Vinton, 
first Rector. The corner-stone of the new edifice on Hicks 
street and Grace court was laid June 29th, 1848, and on 
Christmas Day, 1848, it was opened free from debt. It was 
consecrated June 29th, 1849. Dr. Vinton wassucceeded on his 
resignation (to become Assistant Minister in Trinity Church, 
New York) in 1855, by Rev. Jared B. Flagg, and he by 
Rev. Eugene Hoffman, in Feb., 1864; followed by Rev. Ben- 
jamin H. Paddock, D. D., in May, 1869. The present Rec- 
tor William A. Snively, S. T. D., succeeded Dr. Paddock in 
1874. Rev. Henry T. Scudder is Assistant Minister. Grace 
Church has (July, 1883) 360 communicants and 300 Sunday- 
school scholars. It has a parish school, and also supports 
Gh'ace Chapel, in High street, near the Navy Yard. 



Rev. William A. Snively, S. T. D., born in Greencastle, 
Pa., 1833; grad. Dickinson Coll. Pa., 1852; tutor Dick. Coll., 
1853-5; S. T. D., Columbia, 1875; located Pittsburgh, Cincin- 
nati, Albany, Brooklyn, 1874-'84; author of Oberammergau 
Passion Play, 1881; Cathedral System, 1879; Genealogical 
Memoranda, 1883; Active in the U. S. Sanitary Com. 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 




GRACE CHURCH, BROOKLYN HEIGHT8. (See previous page.) 

Protestant Episcopal Church of the Reformation.— A 
parisli under tliis uaim^ was organized Sfpti'mber 20, 1847, 
by the lalicirs, and under the pastoral charge, of the Rev. 
Thomas S. Britton, in the vicinity of Atlantic street, in 
South Broolclyn. Services were first held in a school-room 
on the corner of Henry and Atlantic streets. Mr. Britton, 
liowever, abjured Episcopacy, in 1848, and united himself 
with the Brooklyn Presbytery, and the church became extiuct. 

Grace Church Chapel (St. Michael's Church), was com- 
menced in 1847 by the Rev. Evan M. Johnson, in a room in 
Marshall street, near the Jackson ferry, where meetings were 
first held in September of that year. He was successful, and 
soon leased from the city, for ten years, the " Eastern 
Market,'" in High street, and first held services there in Feb- 
ruary, 1848. Soon an addition of 40 by 50 feet was built. 
Rev. Wm. F. Webbe was Assistant Rector from 1849 to 1809. 
The church was incorporated, and a parsonage worth about 
^3,500, was erected. A new church edifice and rectory, of 
brick, were erected in 1866, on High street, near Gold; the 
same that is now occupied as Grace Church Chapel. 

In 1870, the property was purchased by Bishop Littlejohn, 
and placed under the pastoral charge of Rev. William M. 
Willian. In March, 1871, Grace Church, Brooklyn Heights, 
purchased this church property, continuing the services of 
Rev. Mr. Willian till his resignation, June 15, 1875. He was 
succeeded, in September, by Rev. H. L. Tighe, as Assistant 
Minister of Grace Church, Brooklyn Heights, in charge of 
Grace Church Chapel. 

Under the administration of Mr. Tighe, a very large amount 
of work has been accomplished, and the wisdom of the 
founder in planting the church in this locality has been 
demonstrated. Grace Chapel has (July, 1883) 108 communi- 
cants and 301 Sundaj-school scholars. 

St. Peter's. — This parish was commenced about the year 
1847, by a few individuals who worshiped at first in a large 
brick building in Powers street, under the pastoral charge of 
Rev. William Staunton. The parish was regularly organized 
May 18, 1848, and the congregation, which subsequently wor- 
shiped in a brick building, in Atlantic street, near Kevins 
street, graduallj' increased in numbers and strength. 



In 1849, Rev. John Stearns became Rector ; and, in June, 
1850, the cornerstone of a church wa-s laidat the junction of 
Atlantic and Bond streets. Mr. Stearns resigned in the spring 
of 1855, and was succeeded by Rev. John A. Paddock; and, in 
1850, the congregation requiring a laiger house, a new struc- 
ture was erected on State street, near Bond. It was opened 
in Jany., 1857. and contecrated, after the extinguishment of 
the debt, in 1865. Its total cost was about |45,000. 

Rev. Mr. Paddock, in 1880, was consecrated a Bishop, and 
the present Rector, Rev. Charles A. Tibbals, was called early 
in 1881. An elegant and commodious rectory, the gift of a 
single parishioner, was built in 1874. St. Peter's Church has 
(July, 1883) 356 communicants, and 382 Sunday-school 
scholars. 

A Mission School was commenced by members of the 
parish, in March, 1859, and a chapel was afterward erected 
in Wyckoff street, near Bond, where the school has since 
been held. 

Rev. Charles A. Tibbals, born at Suffield, Ct., 1853; grad. 
Yale College, 1872; Theo. Sem., 1874; located Red Pank, N. 
J., 1878-81; Bklyn., 1881. 

St. Paul's Church, Clinton, corner of Carroll street. This 
parish was organized on Christmas Day, 1849, under the 
pastoral charge of the Rev. Isaac P. Labagh. The original 
church edifice, built in 1850, consisted of a nave, tower and 
spire. Transepts were added in 1852, making it cruciform, 
with a recessed chancel. In June, 1858, the Rev. T. Stafford 
Drowne became Rector. The steady growth of the congrega- 
tion rendered necessary a second enlargement of the build- 
ing in i800. 

The corner-stone of the present church edifice was laid 
June 27, 1807, and the church was first occupied. September, 
1869. It is of Greenwich blue-stone, with Ohio and Jersey 
free-stone trimmings. It is 145 by 72 feet, and 00 feet in 
height. It has a seating capacity of 1,000, and the cost, with 
the site, was $150,000. A stone cliapel stands in the rear of 
the church, 85 by 34 feet in size. Its cost was |4.000. 

This church was the first in Brooklyn to introduce a sur- 
pliced chon-. Dr. Drowne resigned his rectorship on the 28th 
of September, 1875, to become the Secretary of the Diocese 
of Long Island; and was succeeded, February 1, 1877, by the 
present Rector, Rev. Warren C. Hubbiid. Rev. C. Ellis 
Stevens is Assistant Minister. St. Paul's Church has (July, 
1883) 335 communicants and 225 Sunday-school scholars. 

Rev. Warren C. Hubbard, born in Brooklyn, 1847; grad. 
Syracuse Univ., 1871: and in Theol., Seneca Falls, N. Y., 
1873: located Seneca Falls, 1873-77; BrTOklyn, 1877-84. 

St. Mark's Church, formerly in Fleet street, was the re- 
sult of a missionary effort undertaken by the Church of the 
Holy Trinity in the year 1850, aided and encouraged by the 
hearty sympathy and liberality of the other Episcopalian 
congregations of the city. 

A plain substantial edifice was erected, the expense of 
which was defrayed wholly by free-will offerings. It was 
opened October 0th, 1850, Rev. Francis Peck becoming its 
first Rector. 

Originally established as a free church, and sustained 
chiefly by the parish of the Holy Trinity, it was, in 1850, 
thrown upon its own resources, and resorted to the renting of 
the pews for its necessary support. 

Rectors: — Revs. Edmund Embury, 1859; Thomas G. Carver, 
1859-61; F. Cornell, 1861-'9. In 1859, the congregation .sold 
their church edifice and erected a new building on DeKalb 
avenue, opposite Fort Greene. This they sokl, in 1865, and 
purchased the church previously occupied by the congre- 
gation of the Messiah, in Adelphi street, near DeKalb 
avenue. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ORGANIZATIONS. 



1005 



Rev. William T. Fitch was Rector from 1869-75, and Rev. 
Spencer S. Roche, 1875-'84. St. Mark's Church has (July, 1883) 
390 communicants and 309 Sunday-school scholars. 

Church of the Redeemer. — This parish was org. April 14, 
1853, and incorporated in the following December. The 
original board of trustees were: Messrs. F. A. Huntington, 
Wm. H. Beare, John D. Cocks, W. Cooper, A. H. Washburne, 
J. C. Pelham, Frederick Lacey and William Poole. These 
also constituted the first vestry, with the addition of Messrs. 
R. Ford, Jr., and Thomas Rawlings. 

Having leased a hall over the old butcher's shop, on the 
corner of Fulton avenue and Elm place (since destroyed by 
fire), the congregation, which was largely drawn from St. 
Peter's parish, began its work under the pastoral care of 
the Rev. D. W. Tolford. Shortly after this the Rev. D. P. 
Sanford assumed the rectorship, Nov. 13, 1853. He wrote in 
the jiarish records : " At this time the number of communi- 
cants was about thirtj'-flve. The attendance had been 
fluctuating, owing to the want of a settled pastor, and to the 
uncertainty of the permanence of the congregation." At the 
first celebration of the Holy Communion there was forty-four 
communicants, and just one year from that time there were 
seventy-four, with a congregation numbering over two 
hundred. On May 20, 1854, a receipt was given for the first 
payment on the lots of gi'ound purchased by the parish, on 
the corner of Fourth ave. and Pacific st. The price was 
$9,500, but Mr. W. B. I^oyd deducted $3,500 as his subscrip- 
tion. On this ground a brick chapel, 35 by 80 feet, was 
erected, also a bell tower, 9 by 9 feet, and about 60 feet high. 
The builders were Messrs. Walton and F. D. Norris, the 
architect being Mr. G. Wheeler. The contract price was $8,- 
700, and ground was broken about Sept. 1, 1854. On Sept. 
27, 1854, the parish was admitted to union with the Diocesan 
Convention of New York. The chapel was first opened for 
divine service on Easter Eve, 1855, the sermon being jtreached 
by the Rt. Rev. H. J. Whitehouse, Bishop of Illinois; and the 
next day being Easter, the Rt. Rev. Horatio Potter, Bishop of 
New York, administered the rite of Holy Confirmation to 
eleven persons. The Rev. Mr. Sanford resigned his position 
on the first Simday after Easter, 1858. The Rev. Charles S. 
Putnam succeeded him on the first Sunday of July following, 
but, from illness, he resigned the rectorship May 24, 1859. 
The parish has placed, through the generosity of Mr. C. P. 
Burdett, a beautiful memorial window to record his faithful 
ministry. The Rev. Edward Jessup succeeded in August, 
1859. He labored for a number of years, extinguishing the 
old indebtedness of neaiiy $14,000, and continually accumu. 
lating money for the erection of a new church edifice. 

On April 21, 1865, the corner-stone of anew stone church 
was laid by the Rev. Bishop of the Diocese, Horatio Potter, 
D.D., LL.D. On the third Sunday in October, the old brick 
building was temporary abandoned, and, on Christmas day, 

1865, the main body of the new church was opened for ser- 
vice; the unfinished choir and chancel being partitioned off. 
On the fifth Sunday after Trinity, being the 6th day of July, 

1866, all things beingat length in readiness, and the screen re- 
moved, the entire structure was formally opened for worship 
and service of Almighty God. The Rt. Rev. Bishop Quintard, 
of Tennessee, officiated and preached. 

The contract price for the new church was $23,000, the 
total amount expended for furniture and building was $31,- 
500, and the arcliitect was Mr. P. C. Keeley, of Brooklyn. 
The edifice is of blue gneiss stone, in the early English style, 
with lateral porches, and buttresses of stone. The interior is 
exquisitely polychromed, at a cost of $1,700, and is a work of 
the choicest decorative art. The altar and font are of white 
Caen stone, beautifully carved; and the organ was built by 



Johnson, of Westfield, Mass. The seating capacity is from 
050 to 700, there being 154 pewB. 

Rev. Ferris Tiipp was associated with Mr. Jessup as Assist- 
ant Minister, from 1869 to 1872. Mr. Jessup was buried from 
the church on the 8d of May, 1872; and in October, 1872, a 
mural tablet was placed in the church, to Iris memory. 
Rev. Wm. A. Leonard was his successor; and he entered on 
his duties May 5, 1873. 

In the summer of 1874, the old brick building, being the 
original church built in 1855, was torn down; and a new 
stone chapel and bell-tower erected, at a cost of $15,000, in- 
cluding furniture and a fine chapel organ. This building 
seats 500. It has also a beautiful study for the Rector, a 
vestry and a music room. There are five memorial windows 
of stained glass placed in its walls; and it opens into the 
church proper by glass doors. The present income from the 
pew rental of the parish is $8,000, which more than meets all 
current expenses. 

The Parish Working organizations are the following : In- 
dustrial School for Girls; Mission School for Boys: Mothers' 
Meetings; Parish Guild, for all ladies of the parish; Benevo- 
lent Association, an organization which receives, on the 
first Sunday of the winter months, money pledged for assist- 
ing the worthy poor. 

The Rev. Wm. A. Leonard resigned the rectorship in Feb- 
ruary, 1881, and the Rev. Geo. Williamson Smith, S. T. D., 
officiated as Rector, Sept. 1, 1881, to July 1, 1883; and Rev. 
Charles R. Ti-eat, from Sept. 1, 1883, to the present time. Rev. 
Ferris Tiipp is Assistant Minister. The church has (July, 
1883) 635 communicants and 538 Sunday-school scholars. 

Tlie Brotherhood of the Church of the Redeemer maintains 
a library and free-reading room, on Atlantic avenue, between 
4th and 5th avenues; and assists the Rector in Parish work. 

Day Nursery, 500 Warren st. Owing to the removal of the 
Sister in charge, on account of ill health, the Day Nursery 
susiiended operations in November, 1881, until a sviitable per- 
son can be obtained to take charge of it. 

A summary of items for the past 38 years gives the follow- 
ing result : Baptisms, 960; Confirmations, 636; Marriages, 
353; Burials, 573. As near as can be calculated, the money 
raised in the Parish for all purposes, amounts to $300,000. 

The Church of the Messiah, Greene ave., cor. Clermont, 
was org. August 22d, 1850, under the rectorship of the Rev. 
William H. Newman, with twenty communicants. 

Rev. Robert J. Walker was Rector, from June, 1851, till 
June, 1858; Rev. Octavius Perinchief, 1858-'59; Rev. George 
E. ThraU, 1859-'69: Rev. Richard B. Duane, D.D., 1869-'72; 
Rev. Charles R. Baker, 1873-'84. 

The first edifice was erected in 1852, and was enlarged in 
1859, at a total expense of more than $8,000. In 1863, the 
edifice being found too small for the congregation, the 
vestry pm'chased a large, unfinished brick structure, upon 
the corner of Greene and Clermont avenues, originally 
erected for the Presbyterians, and capable of seating a thou- 
sand persons. The sum paid was $35,000, and the comple- 
tion of the edifice cost $64,000 additional. It has a seating 
capacity of 1,130. In 1878, all indebtedness was extinguished. 
The Church of the Messiah has (July, 1883) 790 communicants, 
and 280 Sunday-school scholars. 

Rev. Charles R. Baker, born in Medford, Mass., 1842; 
grad. Fi-iedrich Wilhelm Univ., Berlin, and Epis. Theol. 
School, Cambridge, 1873; located Brooklyn, 1873-84. 

Emmanuel Church originated in Ascension Church, in 1858. 
Rev. William O. Lamson, Rector. The corner stone of a 
building was laid at the corner of Third place and Smith st., 
in 1853, the congregation worshiping in a hall at the corner 
of Court and Sackett sts. On November 27, 1864, the organi- 



mSTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



zation -was changed to the > ' ' / ilic Good Angels, 

and the Rev. John H. Hobart Brown was elected Rector. In 
IS.")?, tlie diUTch was organized under its present name, and 
occupies an elegant Gothic structure of brown stone on the 
comer of Smith and President sts., seating 700, and costing 
over $30,000. 

Rectors : Rev. Wm. O. Lamson, 1853-'7; Rev. Edward De 
Zeng, 1857-60: Rev. Thos. Powell, with Rev. Edmund Em- 
bury as associate, 1860-'l; Rev. Henry Greenleaf, D. D., who 
died in 1862; Rev. Henry B. Wallbridge. D. D., 1869-'84. 

In 1870, the church was enlarged by the addition of tran- 
septs. In 1874, an addition was made in front, and in 1878, 
a recess chancel was added in the rear. The seating capacity 
is now about 950. 

In 1874, pew rents were abolished, and the seats have since 
continued free. Rev. Geo. F. Cushman, D. D., is Assistant 
Minister. 

Emmanuel Church has (July, 1883) 241 communicants and 
214 Sunday-school scholars. It has also a Parish school. 

The Church of Our Saviour, as a mission chapel from 
Christ Church, held its first service, Nov. 22, 1857, in a car- 
penter's shop on Nelson St. , west of Court, with five mem- 
bers. Rev. James S. Barnes was appointed minister, and 
served till 1865 ; a Sunday-school was started, which soon 
increased to 150 scholars. After a few months, some of the 
members of Christ Church, seeing the importance of the 
work, opened a subscription list, which, with generous help 
from the parent church, soon amounted to $14,000. The lot 
at the comer of Clinton and Luqueer streets was given by 
Mrs. Luqueer, and the present building was soon erected, 
with seats to be forever free. 

Rev. Wm. M. Postlethwaite was the next Minister in 
charge, and, during his term of over four years, the chapel 
became an independent church. Rev. Mr. Booth succeeded 
as Rector, and was in charge for over eight years. The pres- 
ent Minister, Rev. H. M. Stuart, took charge in May, 1880. 
The Church of Our Saviour is (July, 1883) without a Rector ; 
has 260 communicants and 400 Sunday-school scholars. 

St. Andrew's Church, New York ave., corner of Herkimer 
St., commenced services in a temporary building, under the 
pastoral care of Rev. Richard S. Adams, who subsequently 
became Rector. The corner-stone of the church edifice was 
laid March 33, 1859, and the parish organized in the fol- 
lowing September. In March, 1869, Rev. Charles Higbee be- 
came Rector. The parish has since ceased to exist. 

St. Matthew's Protestant Episcopal Church, Throop ave., 
corner Pulaski st., was org. as the "Free Church of St. 
Matthew," May 25, 1859. Services had occasionally been 
held in a school-room on the south-west coi-ner of De Kalb 
and Marcyaves. ; and a Sunday -.school had been organized, 
with some 25 children, under the supervision of Mr. Bailey 
J. Hathaway. It was not, however, until the spring of 1859 
that services were regularly conducted, and then by Rev. D. 
V. M. Johnson, D. D., Rector of St. Mary's Church, in the 
house of Mr. Frank Chichester, on Lafayette ave., near 
Tompkins. Soon after, a church organization was perfected. 
On the 7th of June, 1859, Mr. J. J. Rapelye gave four lots, 
together 100 feet square, on the south-east corner of Throop 
ave. and Pulaski st., as a building site for a new church. 
The corner-stone was laid July 2, 1859, and on Feb. 10, 1861, 
the completed edifice was opened for worship. Its cost was 
about $10,000. The Rectors in charge were : Rev. Isaac Ful- 
lerton Cox, 1860; Rev. James Thomson, 1861-8; Rev. C. S. 
Williams, 1868-'76; Rev. Charles Wm. Turner, 1876-'84. A 
flourishing Sunday-school of 300 members is maintained. Its 
first sui>erintendent was Rev. J. Hoyt Smith, who was suc- 
ceeded by Alex. Hutcluns,M. D., the present superintendent. 



In May, 1868, the free system was abandoned, and the pews 
were rented. In consequence, the name of the parish was 
changed to St. Matthew's Protestant Episcopal Church; and 
has (July, 1883) 175 communicants and 292 Sunday-school 
scholars. 

Rev. Chas. WnxiAM Tueneb, bom in London, Eng., 1844; 
grad. St. Mark's Coll., Lond., 1864; located at Anglican Mis- 
sion, Hawaii, 1866; San Francisco, 1869; Oakland, 1871; L. L 
City, 1874; Brooklyn, 1870. 

Church of the Atonement, 5th ave., cor. 17th st., was in- 
corp. Feb. 1st, 1864. A church edifice was erected on the 
comer of 5th ave. and 17th st., and opened Sept. 7th, 1865. 
Rev. Joseph D. Phillip was at first in pastoral charge. Sub- 
sequent Rectors: Rev. Lea Luqueer, 1865-66; Rev. E. F. 
Remington, 1866-'68; Rev. William Hyde, 1868-76; Rev. 
James Chrystal, 1876-'77; Rev. Alfred J. Barrow, 1877-'79; 
Rev. Wm. M. WOlian, 1879-'81; and Rev. Albert C. Bunn, 
M. D., 1881-'84. 

In 1878, the interior of the church was altered and re- 
arranged. The Church of the Atonement has (July, 1883) 
345 communicants, and 330 Sunday-school scholars. 

Rev. Albert C. Bunn, M. D., bom 1845, at Cape Vincent, 
N. Y.; grad. Hobart Coll. and Med. Dept. Univ. of Buffalo; 
five years Med. Missionary of Amer. P. E. Mission at Wu- 
chang, China. Studied theol. with Rev. Geo. Williamson 
Smith, S. T. D., Pres. Trinity Coll.; ordained 1882; Pastor 
at Queens, L. I.; located at Brooklyn, September, 1881. 

The Church of the Reformation was founded by Rev. 
Darius Brewer, an independent missionary, who held re- 
ligious services Dec. 2, 1866, in a smaU upper hall, at the 
corner of Classon and Fulton aves. ; and, on the 18th of Feb- 
ruary following, a church was organized, with Rev. Mr. 
Brewer as Pastor. In 1874, Mr. Brewer was succeeded by 
the present Rector, Rev. J. Bacchus. 

In April, 1867, lots on Gates ave., near Classon, were 
purchased at a cost of $8,280; and by July 14th, the church 
edifice was so far completed that services were held in it. 
It was a wooden structure, 40 by 80 feet, and finished in 
every respect in a most tasteful and thorough manner, at a 
cist, exclusive of site, of $8,964.11. 

During the past eight years the church building has been 
improved by the addition of two transejits, two parlors, and 
a robing-room, and the enlargement of the chancel and 
lecture-room. A rectory, adjoining the church, has also 
been purchased. 

The Church of the Reformation has (July, 1883) 420 com- 
municants, and 364 Sunday-school scholars. 

All Saints' Church, worshiping in Military Hall, 5th ave., 
near 9th street, was organized Aug. 4th, 1867; and, until the 
following Christmas Day, carried on by lay effort. At that 
time the Rev. Wm. D'Orville Doty, began his labors. Seven 
lots of land, at the corner of 7th ave. and 7th st. were pur- 
chased of Isaac Henderson, Esq. The corner-stone of a 
chapel was laid by Bishop Littlejohn, May 30th, 1869. It 
was a brick structure, 35 by 30 feet, with 868 sittings. 

This chapel was enlarged in 1880; its seating capacity in- 
creased to 450, and the interior wholly changed. Mr-. Doty 
was succeeded in the rectorship in 1871, by Rev. Joseph S. 
Jenckes, Jr.; and he, in 1872, by Rev. Charles H. Bixby. 
The present Rector, Rev. Melville Boyd, succeeded Mr. Bixby 
in June, 1876. During the rectorship of Mr. Boyd the 
chui'oh debt has been nearly extinguished. 

AU Saints' Church has (Jidy, 1883) 325 communicants and 
350 Sunday-school scholars. 

St. James' Church, Lafayette ave., comer of St. James 
place. This parish was originated by some naembers of St. 
Luke's congregation, living in its more immediate vicinity. 



EC CLESIASTIGAL OR GANIZA TIONS. 



100^ 



and ■was organized on the 25th of May, 1868, and admitted 
into union with convention on tlie 29th of September, 1869. 
Tlie present Rector, Rev. Charles W. Homer, previously As- 
sistant Minister of St. Luke's, was called to the rectorship 
on the 29th of May, 1868. 

A handsome chapel was erected, and twice enlarged, dur- 
ing the year 1868. It was also twice enlarged between 1870 
and 1875, and it has now a seating capacity of 1,200. St. 
James' Church has (July, 1883) 751 communicants and 767 
Sunday-school scholars. 

St. Stephens' Church was first a mission of St. Andrews, 
formed, in August, 1867, for the greater convenience of resi- 
dents in the eastern part of St. Andrew's parish. The parish 
of St. Stei)hens was erected in 1868, with a promise on the 
part of its otticers that they would ' ' oppose the erection of a 
churcli west of Rochester avenue." 

A church edifice was built in 1868, and opened for worship 
Feb. 21, 1869, on the corner of Patchen avenue and Jefferson 
street. It is a wooden structure, with 300 sittings, which, 
from the first, have been free. The expenses of the church 
have been defrayed from weekly voluntary offerings. 

Rev. William Schouler, Jr., became Rector in May, 1868 ; 
Rev. James A. Bradin, in June, 1872 ; Rev. Joseph A. Nock, 
in February, 1875; and the present Rector, Rev. Thos. J. Cor- 
nell, M. D., in April, 1881. St. Stephens' Church has (July. 
1883) 120 communicants and 170 Sunday-school scholars. 

St. George's Church was organized October 24th, 1869. 
The church edifice is of wood, 40 by 80 feet, and located 
on Greene .avenue, betw. Marcy and Tompkins avenues, 
fronting on Tompkins Park, and its cost, with the site, was 
127,000. The church owes its existence largely to the labors 
of Rev. Alvah Guion (deceased), who was its first Rector. 
He was succeeded by Rev. Charles H. Babcock, who was fol- 
lowed by the present Rector, Rev. Frederick B. Carter. The 
church maintains a Ladies' Parish Aid and Missionaiy So- 
ciety, an Industrial School, St. George's Brotherhood, a 
Parish Missionary Committee, and an association called 
" Friends of the Sick." St. George's Church has (July, 1883) 
290 communicants and 343 Sunday-school scholars. 

Rev. FREDERICK B. Carter, born in Brooklyn, 1850; studied 
Col. Coll. ; grad. Gen. Theol. Sem., 1873 ; located W. Islip, 
L. I., 1873-'75; Brooklyn, 1875-84. 

The Church of the Good Shepherd was first a mission of 
the Church of the Holy Trinity. It was organized as a sep- 
arate parish in 1870. The present church edifice, on 
McDonough st., near Stuyvesant ave., was erected in 1871, 
with a seating capacity of 300. In 1874, it was enlarged, and 
transepts were added, and it has now 600 sittings. The total 
cost of the building and site was about $24,000. The parish 
is verj- prosperous. Rev. Henry Betts Cornwall, D. D.. has 
been Rector since 1871. The Church of the Good Shepherd 
has (July, 1883) 325 communicants and 238 Sunday-school 
scholars. 

The Chapel of the Church Charity Foundation, under the 
charge of Rev. Thos. W. Brown, Chaplain, has (July, 1883) 
80 communicants and 76 Sunday-school scholars. 

Church of the Mediator. — A few friends of Rev. Wm. H. 
Reid rented tlie Juvenile Academy in Washington street, 
transfi)rmed it into a church, which was opened in April, 
1869, and org. with E. S. Blomfield and Chas. Selden, 
Church Wardens. It afterwards occupied the old St. Ann's 
Church building, which has since been taken down to make 
way for the East River Bridge. In 1873, the congregation 
purchased from the Central Congregational Society, for 
130,000, their church edifice on the corner of Ormond place 
and Jefferson st. In May, 1875, services were discontinued, 
and the iirojierty was transferred to the former owners. In 



November of the same year the building was rented, and 
services were resumed. In May, 1876, they were again dis- 
continued, and were not resumed till February, 1880, when 
the present Rector, Rev. J. W. Sparks, was called. In No- 
vember, 1881, the building was again purchased from the 
Central Congregational Society, for $15,000. It is a brick 
structure, with a seating capacity of 800. 

Rev. William H. Reid became Rector at the organization 
of the Society, and resigned in February, 1874. In March of 
the same year, Rev. L. Van Bokkelen was called, but within 
a month left the parish in an embarrassed condition. In 
July, 1874, Rev. T. F. Cornell, M. D., was called. He re- 
signed in May, 1875, and was succeeded in the following Oc- 
tober by T. Stafford Drowne, D. D. He resigned in May, 
1876, and the church was closed till February, 1880. The 
present condition of the parish is prosperous. 

St. Mark's P. E. Church, 4th st., cor. South 5th, the old- 
est Episcopal parish in Williamsburgh, was org. 1837, with 
four communicants, by Rev. Wm. Morris, afterwards Rector 
of Trinity school. N. Y. At Easter, 1838, Rev. Samuel C. 
Davis succeeded, the communicants then numbering twelve; 
and during his ministry, a brick chapel was erected at the 
rear of the present church edifice. 

In October, 1839, there being then 18 communicants, and a 
Sunday-school of 30 scholars and 6 teachers, the Rev. Sam- 
uel M. Haskins became the Rector; and, by May, 1841, a stone 
church, 45 by 90 feet, was completed and consecrated. It is 
in the Tudor Gothic style, and seats 550 people. The con- 
gregation steadily increased with the growth of the city. 
In 1846, it colonized Christ Chuvrh, and the Rector of St. 
Mark's inaugurated (with help from Trinity Church, New 
York) missionary efforts at Williamsburgh, and at Maspeth, 
resulting finally in the establishment of a church at the lat- 
ter place, under care of Rev. Wm. Walsh; and at Williams- 
burgh, in 1848, of St. PauVs, under the rectorship of Rev. 
Geo. W. Fash. 

In 1846, also. Dr. Haskins organized St. James' (colored) 
congregation, which was aided by St. Mark's congregation, 
until they could do for themselves. AsceTision Church, 
Greenpoint, in 1847; Calvary Church, in 1848, were all es- 
tablished by Dr. Haskins' labors and the aid of Trinity 
Chmch; the debt of his own church cancelled, and its size 
and adornment greatly increased in 1854. Communicants 
(July, 1883), 452; Sunday-school numbered 308. 



Rev. Samuel M. Haskins, D. D., was born at Water- 
ford, Oxford county, Maine, on the 29th of May, 1813. 
He graduated at Union College in 1836, and at the 
General Episcopal Theological Seminary, New York, 
in 1839. He was ordained deacon in the Episcopal 
Church in June, 1839, and priest at the chapel of St. 
Mark's, WilliamsLurgh, in July, 1840, by Bishop 
Onderdonk. He was called to the rectorship of St. 
Mark's in October, 1839, and has held his high office 
there for forty-four years. This church, which was 
nursed into strength and usefulness by the patient, 
earnest efforts of Dr. Haskins, has enjoyed the ad- 
vantage of his care and love throughout its whole 
interesting history. It is the parent of all the other 
Episcopal Churches in this section of Brooklyn, which 
now number six flourishing parishes. 

St. Mark's Churcli was organized as a missionary 
enterprise by the Rev. Mr. Davis, in October, 1837, on 



1008 



BISTORT OF KINGS COUNTY. 





'^£.-^k^^(:9^-t^^^ 



the outskirts of what was then the village of Williams- 
burgh. He was the first Rector, but left the parish 
in May or June, 1839. When Dr. Haskins was called, 
services were held in a small white-washed brick build- 
ing, in the midst of a cornfield. His first sermon was 
preached on the twenty-first Sunday after Trinity, 
1839, to a congregation of fourteen families and 
eighteen communicants. There was no other parish 
between Astoria and Brooklyn; yet the population was 
small, and sparse fields and orchards covering a large 
portion of the present populous city. The steady in- 
crease of the congregation made a larger church neces- 
sary. Three lots were obtained on the corner of 
Fourth and South Fifth streets, and a stone building 
erected, all at a cost of nearly seventeen thousand 
dollars — a large sum for a feeble congregation in those 
days — leaving a debt of six thousand. 

In May, 1841, the church was consecrated. The 
congregation steadily increased, until in 1846, a new 
organization, under the name of Christ Church, was 
formed and entirely made up of families from St. Mark's. 

A series of missionary services, commenced by Dr. 
Haskins in the same year, in the eastern portion of the 



town, resulted in the organization of^St. Paul's Church, 
which was received into the convention in 1848. These 
were followed by others, until six parishes now attest 
the zeal and liberality of the mother church, and the 
faithful labors of Dr. Haskins. The original debt was 
paid in 1853; at the same date the church was enlarged 
by the addition of a proper chancel and choir, and an 
increase to the nave of about two hundred sittings. 
It was also beautified by several memorial windows. 
A Sunday-school room was added in 1855. 

In 1860, further important additions were made to 
the church, and other memorial windows added. The 
site of the church is now in the older portion of the 
city, and with its plain substantial exterior, and the im- 
provements made in the interior, it has a very neat and 
tasteful appearance, and looks as should the venerable 
cradle of so many rich and powerful parishes. Six 
ministers, now preaching from Christian pulpits, were 
originally connected with the Sunday-school. In forty- 
four years the church has been closed but two Sundays, 
and during the same time, Dr. Haskins has seldom 
been absent, except for his summer vacation of four or 
five Sundays. 



ECCLESIASTICAL OR GANIZA TIONS. 



1009 



Dr. Haskins received his degree of D. D. from Union 
College in 1862. His publications consist of a num- 
ber of occasional sermons. He is of the average 
height, and well proportioned, and walks with an erect 
figure and an active step. His head is large, with a 
face of marked intellectuality and amiability; the 
features are large, but regular; the face shows decision 
and force of character; there is a kindness in the eye 
and a good-natured smile about the mouth, which 
are expressive of gentle and noble traits of character. 
His manners are those of the true gentleman, tender, 
considerate and kind, that always win the heart. With 
cheerfulness and smiles, kind words and genial actions, 
he has thus made himself popular, not only among his 
own people, but in social and public life generally. He 
is well described in those words in which Cowper por- 
trays the model preacher. 

" In doctrme uncorrupt; in language plam, 
And plain m manner; decent, solemn, chaste, 
And natural in gesture; much impress'd 
Himself, as conscious of his awful charge, 
And anxious mainly that tlie flock he feeds 
May feel it too; affectionate in look 
And tender in address, as well becomes 
A messenger of grace to guilty men." 

Seeing him in the pulpit, the living impersonation 
of this portrait is brought vividly before you. His 
clear, positive faith in the doctrines he proclaims, and 
his equally clear and positive language; his unpretend- 
ing, circumspect and solemn manner; his ease and 
grace of delivery and gesture; his evident sense of 
the obligations of his position; his tender appeals to 
the unconverted; his affectionate looking from face to 
face of those who are his sheep, all appear in most 
striking reality. He is not looking for popular ap- 
plause, but he is anxious to do his whole duty as a 
preacher of the glad tidings of salvation. 

He is not seeking to exalt himself and his talents; 
but he is pleading with his whole mind and heart to 
save those in guilt and peril. He is eloquent; his 
words flow with fluency and beauty; he is strong in 
argument, and inspired with faith; but none of this 
is intended to awaken an emotion personal to himself. 
His language, tone and manners will not allow you to 
escape from a knowledge of this fact, and it gives 
great additional power and effectiveness to his preach- 
ing. 

In this day of worldly ambition and of selfishness in 
the pulpit, as well as out of it, you can but be drawn 
nearer to the man who shows himself entirely free 
from them, and thoroughly devoted, with humility and 
seriousness of spirit, to the work of the Master. 

Dr. Haskins has labored, from early manhood to the 
decline of life, in one parish. In that time he has seen 
a great city grow up about him, with the manifold 
changes and trials it has brought to his parish. He 
has seen the little seed of his nursing and watering 



grow into the tall tree of religious power, and he has 
seen its goodly boughs severed one after another, until 
the ancient trunk is all that remains. Venerable with 
age, hoary, but not decayed, it still stands where it 
was first planted in the vineyard of the Lord, and its 
faithful husbandman will guard it until he, too, falls 
to his rest beneath its holy shade. 



Christ Church, E. D. — This parish, originally organized as 
" Christ Church, Williamsburgh," in the summer of 184(5, 
maintained services for nearly a year in the Reformed Dutch 
consistory room, Fourtli st. In September, 1840, Rev. Chas. 
Reynolds accepted a unanimous call to the parish, which at 
that time numbered only thirteen communicants. Within 
four months, a small but neat edifice was erected on the 
south-east corner of Soutli Sixth and Fifth sts. This proved 
too small for the congregation, and an eligible plot of 
ground on Bedford ave., a few rods outside of the Williams- 
burgh limits, being proffered to the vestry by i\Iessrs. Jacob 
and B. B. Boerum, in the spring of 1844, the parisli of Christ 
Church, Williamsburgh, was dissolved, and at the same 
meeting, that of Christ Church, North Brooklyn, organized. 
Tlie corner-stone of a church edifice was laid on Ascension 
Day, 1849, and the edifice opened for divine service in the 
followmg September. A subsequent enlargement was made 
in the summer of 1851, at which time the number of com- 
municants was ninety, and the Sabbath-school, under the 
superintendency of Samuel Reynolds, in a very flourishing 
condition. Mr. Reynolds' ministry here closed. May 6, 1855, 
and on the following Sabbath, Rev. A. H. Partridge assumed 
the rectorship. He found the congregation occupying a 
poor building, and about $6,000 in debt. Through his exer- 
tions the debt was paid, and a commodious chapel erected 
on the rear of the lot at a cost of about |7,500, with a capa- 
city of seating 350 to 400 persons. The old building was 
then taken down and sold; and, by the first of January, 
1863, a new and elegant brown-stone church, in the geomet- 
rical decorated Gothic style, was erected and occupied by 
the congregation. This edifice, which is 125 feet long by 75 
feet wide, with two towers in front, will seat 1,200 persons ; 
with stained-glass windows, organ, and of elegant internal 
finish and decoration. It cost $35,000, and is an ornament 
to the city. 

In 1868, this parish purchased a suitable and commodious 
house for a rectory. 

After a long and useful pastorate, Dr. Partridge died April 
8th, 1883, and was succeeded by the present Rector, Rev. 
James H. Darlington. There were 400 communicants and 
450 Sabbath-school scholars (July, 1883). 

Rev. Alfred Hinsdale Pabtridqe was born at Hatfield, 
Mass., Dec. 14, 1811. He belonged to the celebrated Dwight 
family of Hatfield, and was a descendant in the eighth gen- 
eration from Deacon Cotton Partridge. He first studied in 
the Academy at Hadley, and then entered the General Theo- 
logical Seminary, New York, and grad. in June, 1838. He 
was made a deacon at St. Mark's Church, New York, July 
1st, 1838, and a presbyter at St. Matthew's Church, Bedford, 
N. Y., July 20, 1839. 

At the latter church, he was assistant to the Rev. Samuel 
Nichols for one year, but at the end of that time was him- 
self called to the rectorship, and held that position for 16 
years. While there, his great activity is shown by the fact 
of his organizing three new churches in as many different 
neighboring villages, holding the initiatory services under 
the trees. In May, 1855, he was called as Rector of Christ 



1010 



HISTORY OF KIKOS COUNTY. 



Church, North Brooklyn. The church had been organized 
in 1S46, being an offshoot of St. Mark's; and, when Dr. 
Partridge came, worship was held in a small frame build- 
ing moved from South Sixth st. to its present site, and 
called Christ Church in the Fields. This was afterwards 
sold for just §100. 

Twenty-eight years seem a long time to remain in the 
rectorship of one church, but it is a short time in which to 
accomplish such great results as Dr. Partridge accom- 
plished. 

The rapid settlement of the neighborhood, and its selec- 
twn as a place of residence by a superior class of people, the 
general esteem in which the Rector was held, and his liberal 
and evungehcal views with regard to church matters, drew 
many who had formerly been members of other congrega- 
tions to unite with Christ Church. After 28 years' faithful 
service. Dr. Partridge died April 8, 1883. 

Rev. James H. Darlington, born in Brooklyn, 1856; grad. 
Univ. New York, A. B., 1877; A. M., Princeton, 1879; and 
Princeton Theol. Sem., 1880; memb. N. Y. Acad, of Sciences, 
1877; located in Brooklyn, 1881; author ol lectures on Amer. 
Liteiature, pamphlet on Cliurch Oovernment, etc.; Rector 
Christ Ch. since May 1st, 1883. 

St. Paul's, E. D.— In the year 1846, the Rev. S. M. Haskins, 
Rector of St. Mark's, having obtained assistance from Tiin- 
ity Church, New York, and other sources, conceived the 
project of commencing Sunday-schools and regular church 
services, once a Sabbath, in the upper part of Grand sti'eet, 
Williamsburgh, and in the neighboring village of Maspeth. 
From this beginning, both this church and St. Saviour's, 
Maspeth, date their existence. The Rev. Wm. Walsh, for a 
time, took charge of both stations, but subsequently devoted 
himself to the church at Maspeth, wliich was first built. He 
was succeeded in Williamsburgh by the late Rev. George W. 
Fash, at that time associated with Mr. Haskins in the man- 
agement of St. Mark's parochial school. On the 8th of May, 
1848, St. Paul's Parish, Williamsburgh, was duly organized, 
and Mr. Fash elected its first pastor. Services until May, 
1850, were held in a school-room over a drug store in Grand 
street, one door from the corner of Graham ave. In 1849, 
two lots of ground were purchased by the parish, on the cor- 
ner of South 2d and 13th streets and Union ave. In May, 
1850, the congregation removed to more commodious quar- 
ters in Franklin Hall, corner of Graham ave. and Remsen st , 
and contracted for the erection of a house of worship. Bvit, 
becoming financially embarrassed, and compelled to vacate 
their previous quarters, they met in the basement of the Lu- 
theran Church, corner of Graham ave. and Wyckoff st., 
where their wants were supplied from Sabbath to Sabbath 
by various clergymen. April 30th, 1851, the Rev. Henry 
Floy Roberts was elected Rector, and, by his exertions, the 
building project was revived, the edifice completed at a cost of 
|1,200, and opened for public worship on Thanksgiving Day, 
Nov. 22, 1851, although it remained during the winter un- 
plastered; and, not until Christmas was it warmed and made 
comparatively comfortable by a $20 stove. In 1852, by the 
help of Trinity Church, New York, St. Paul's was free from 
debt, and the building completed. In July, 1854, Mr. 
Roberts resigned his charge, and the Rev. Edmund Emburj^ 
entered upon the rectorship, Sept. Ist, but, in consequence 
of ill-health, resigned in April, 1856. He was succeeded, 
October, 1856, by Rev. Wm. A. Maybin. Meanwhile the 
church had been enlarged by the addition of a chancel, and 
had been newly and tastefully furnished. The parish now 
received from Mr. Barnet Johnson a gift of five lots, valued 
at near $5,000, on the corner of Penn and Marcy aves., on 
which the corner-stone of a new edifice was laid Sept. 5th, 



1860, and the church opened for divine service on Advent 
Sunday, Nov. 23d. 1861. Its cost was $24,760. 

The Rectors since 1862 are as follows : Revs. John W. 
Clark, 1862-3; David F. Lumsden, 1863-5; F. C. Wainwright, 
1865; Ed. R. Atwill, 1865-'7; Wm. A. Maybin, 1867-70; Dr. 
Fox, 1870-1; Newland Maynard, 1871-4. 

In 1866, tlie floating debt was paid off through the liberal- 
ity of sister churches in New York and Brooklyn; and the 
free-seat system, which had been in force since 1853, was 
abolished. In July, 1883, there were 225 communicants and 
294 children. 

Rev. Newland Maynard, D. D., born 1839, in Toronto, 
Ont. ; grad. Upper Canada Coll. and Berkeley Theol. Inst. 
Ct., 1869; located Staten Island, 1871; author of 25 LccfMJrs 
on Foreign Lands; elected 1879 Fellow of Royal Hist. Soc. of 
Gt. Britain; rec'd gold medal for lectures on Sacred Art and 
Mediceval Architecture. 

St. James' Church, E. D. (colored), was commenced in 
1846, and worshiped first in a small building in South Third 
st , near Ninth st. ; later (about 1855), they moved to Fourth 
St., near South Eighth, at which time the Rev. S muel V. 
Berry (colored) was their Rector. Afterwards the Rev. Mr. 
Monroe (colored) became Rector, who resigned, however, in 
May, 1859, and went to Africa. During this year, the frame 
building in Remsen st. , latterly used by this congregation, 
was purchased for them by the Convocation for Church Ex- 
tension in Kings County. For a time, the services were kept 
up by the neighboring clergy, and by lay reading. The 
church was afterwards sold, the congregation disbanded, 
and the money appropriated, by order of the Bishop, to a 
colored church in South Brooklyn. 

Calvary P. E. Church, E. D., South Ninth and Eighth 
streets, organized Jan. 23, 1849, owed its existence in a great 
measure to the Rev. Charles Reynolds (at that time Rector of 
Christ Church), and to Mr. William G. Dunn, the senior war- 
den. To meet the spiritual destitution of the northern part 
of Williamsburgh, the use of Lexington Hall, corner of Grand 
and Third streets was secured, services were held, and a 
church established in that part of the village. After a time 
Rev. Mr. Paj-ne's services were engaged, and Odd Fellows' 
Hall, corner of North First and Third streets, was secured as 
the place of assembling. Rev. Robert J. Walker was his suc- 
cessor, followed by the Rev. B. F. Taylor, and he by Rev. 
George Timlow. In 1851, lots were purchased on North 
Fifth street, and in the following year a small church edifice 
erected, which was consecrated on April, 16, 1853, by Bishop 
Wainwright. Rev. Samuel W. Say res was Rector from Sept. 
1852, to October 15, 1856. His successor was the Rev. John 
P. Bansman; he was succeeded by Rev. Henry F. Roberts, 
who resigned on May 1, 1860, after a service of two years. In 
Jul}-, 1800, the Rev. Francis Peck entered upon his duties as 
Rector; and during the early part of his administration a step 
vital to the welfare of the parish, was its removal from North 
Fifth street to its present location, where a commodious 
church edifice and a better neighborhood laid the foundation 
of future success. Mr. Peck resigned the Rectorship in Feb- 
ruary, 1882, after nearly twenty-two years faithful service, 
and was succeeded by the Rev. H. R. Harris, in April of the 
same year. The church had (July, 1883) 300 communi- 
cants. 

The Sunday-school, which was established in the early his- 
tory of this church, had for its first superintendent, Mr.Wm. 
G. Dunn. Present number of scholars, 460; volumes in li- 
brary, 075. 

Rev. Francis Peck was succeeded in 1882, by the present 
Rector, Rev. H. Richard Harris. In July, 1883, there were 
30 communicants and 460 Sunday-school scholars. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ORGANIZATIONS. 



1011 



Church of the Ascension (Greenpoint). In the fall of 1846, 
Rev. John W. Brown, of Astoria, Rev. Chas. Reynolds, of 
Christ Cliurch, North Brooklyn, and Rev. JolinC. Brown, ar- 
ranged for the holding of divine service in Greenpoint, ac- 
cording to the ritual of tlie Protestant Episcopal church. In 
October, tlie first service was celebrated by Rev. John C. 
Brown, in the parlor of Mr. David Provost's residence. Under 
Mr. Brown's guidance as a missionary, a room was forthwith 
hired, supplied witli furniture from Astoria, and services 
were regularly commenced. Deceml)er 30, 1846, the parish 
was organized, and incorporated Sept. 28, 1847. In the sum- 
mer of 1847, the services were conducted by Rev. Michael 
Schofield, who had recently become associated with Rev. J. 
W. Brown of Astoria, and a flourishing Sabbath-school was 
also gathered under Mr. Wm. Mulligan, a layman of Astoria. 
After a few nionths, Mr. Schofield was succeeded by the Rev. 
Henry Bartow, who resigned in 1848. The Rev. Robert J. 
Walker, was next appointed, in November, 1848, resigning in 
March, 1850, in order to devote his whole attention to Cal- 
vary church, Williamsburgh, where he had already been of- 
ficiating in addition to his Greenpoint duties. In May, 1850, 
the Rov. Thomas Clark was called to the rectorshi]) at Green- 
point, which ho filled until his death in August, 1853. Dur- 
ing his time, the congregation worshiped in the Sabbath- 
school room of the Dutch Reformed Church in Java sti'eet, and 
in the house of Mr. Charles Cartlidge, Franklin street. The 
Rev. Edward C. Babcock, A. B., deacon, entered on his duties 
as Rector on the 31st of October, 1853, the services being at that 
time held at Mr. Cartlidge's house, and the congregation 
numbering about thirty persons. A Sabbath-school was com- 
menced; and the first communion was administered on Sun- 
day, November 28, 1853, by the Rev. C. Reynolds, to thirteen 
persons. 

About this time, also, thi-ee lots of gi-ound, eighty- 
five feet front by one hundred feet deep, on the north side of 
K Street, midway between Franklin and Union avenues, 
were secured at a cost of |1,500. On the 30th of January, 1853, 
the congregation met for the first time in Odd Fellows' Hall, 
in K street, east of Union avenue, where they continued to 
worship until October following. On the 5th of July, 1853, 
the corner-stone of a lecture and Sabbath-school room was 
laid. It was opened for worship on Sunday, Octolier 23, 1853, 
at a cost, for land, building and furniture of about $4,500. The 
pews in the early part of 1855, were voted free by the vestry. 
Mr. Babcock resigned November 1st. and died in December 
of the same year. The Rev. Merrit H. Wellman, entered 
upon his duties as Rector January Ist, 1857; his salary being 
assumed by the joint action of the vestry, the missionary 
committee of the diocese, and the New York Pastoral Aid 
Society. 

In the fall of 1858, through efforts of the parish and 
the liberality of outside friends, an excellent organ was pro- 
cured, the building was ornamented and furnished, and a small 
balance of debt cancelled. With the close of 18G0, the church 
ceased to receive assistance from the Pastoral Aid Society, 
and that derived from the Missionary Society was also much 
reduced, the vestry being now able to assume a larger pro- 
portion of the debt. The parish made a steady and healthful 
progress, during the rectorsliip of Mr. Welhnan, who re- 
signed on May 1st, 1863. Rev. Francis Mansfield, was the 
next Rector, oflBciating first on the 38th of June, 1863. The 
congi-egation having largely increased, a new edifice became 
necessary, and the corner-stone of a permanent church was 
laid on the north side of the chapel, on the 23d of March, 
1865. The church was completed at a cost of |20,000, and 
ojjened for divine service on the 16th of September, 1860. It 
is a Gothic structure of correct proportions and pleasmg ef- 



fect, with open roof, and organ chamber adjoining the chan- 
cel, designed by Mr. Henry Dudley; and is filled with a large 
and flourishing congregation. Rev. Thos. W. Haskins suc- 
ceeded Mr. Mansfield; and Rev. C. EUis Stevens subse- 
quently became Rector; followed by the present incumbent. 
Rev. A. Whittaker. In July, 1883, there were 168 communi- 
cants and 345 Sunday-school scholars. 

Rev. C. Ellis Stevens, born 1853, in Boston, Mass. ; grad. 
Univ. Penn., and Berkeley Divin. Sch., Ct., 1875; located 
Bklyn., 1876; is a Miss. Sec'y. of P. E. Ch., in U. S.; was as- 
soc. Ed. of Living Church. 

St. John's Church, E. D., was incorporated in 1851, and 
admitted into union with convention on the 24th of Septem- 
ber of the same year. The Rev. Benj. F. Taylor, then a 
missionary in Williamsburgh, was called to the rector- 
ship. This parish did not succeed in erecting a church edi- 
fice, and the congregation, never numerous, becoming scat- 
tered, the Rev. Sir. Taylor withdrew in 1854, and further ef- 
forts under this organization were abandoned. 

Grace Church, E. D. — At the urgent request of several 
friends, the Rev. Alvah Guion, in April, 1853, visited the 
Third Ward of Williamsburgh, one and a half miles back 
from the ferries, having an industrious population of about 
1,800 souls, among whom no Episcopal church had been es- 
tablished, and no place for public worship except a small 
temporary building put up by the Baptists. Mr. Guion de- 
termined, in reliance upon Divine favor, that a free Episco- 
pal church should be established in this section, amid this 
growing population. He established his residence in their 
midst, hired two rooms with folding-doors on the first floor 
of No. 243 Lorimer street, and on Sunday, May 15, 1853, 
preached a sermon to a congregation of five souls; and on the 
following Sabbath a Sunday-school was commenced with 
one scholar. After a year's hard labor he had secured a valu- 
able plot of land on Conselyea St., near Lorimer, on which 
to erect a church, as a free gift from Messrs. Charles M. 
Church, John SkUlman and Joseph H. Skillman, on the con- 
dition that a church worth |5,000 should be erected thereon 
within two years. He had also collected a little over a fifth 
of the above amount. The plans for the church edifice were 
prepared under his own direction; and he also, singlj^ and 
alone (every member of the vestry, from inability, indiffer- 
ence, or want of faith in its ultimate success, having refused), 
assumed the entire responsibility of the enterprise. His zeal, 
faith and labors were finally rewarded with success. On the 
8th of January, 1856, the chvirch was fully completed; and, 
on the 10th of April, 1850, formally consecrated as a free 
Eiiiscopal church. Grace Church is 92 feet by 44, being cal- 
culated to seat 500 persons; and, with all its accessories, fix- 
tures, etc., is an example of how neat, comfortable and com- 
modious a chm'ch may be built, even in a city, for a compar- 
atively small sum. Mr. Guion continued the Rector of this 
parish until the spring of 1868, when he was succeeded by the 
Rev. William S. Chadwell. The vestry, at the time of the 
consecration of the edifice, were Messrs. Jonathan James 
and James S. Guion, Wardens; Dwight Woodbury, Henry S. 
Samuels, Edward W. Townsend, Richard Sealey, Erasmus D. 
Brown, DaA-id B. Cunningham, Geo. K. Brooks and Wm. T. 
Anderson, Vestrymen. Mr. Chadwell was succeeded by Rev. 
Joseph Beers; and he l)y Mr. Coan. 
St. Barnabas Chapel, E. D. — Services were commenced 
. early in 1869, by the Rev. Henry A. Dows, now in charge of 
this mission, in a building rented for the purpose on the 
north-west corner of Evergreen ave. and Jefferson st. Church 
on Evergreen ave., between Chestnut and Stockholm sts., 
opened for Divine service, Dec. 13, 1869. Afterwards dis- 
continued. 



1012 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



Tlie following Clergymen of the Protestant Episcopal 
Cluirdi are residents of the city: 

Rev. Robert Bayard Snowden, born in New York, 1833; 
grad. Williams Coll. 1854, and Union Theol. Sem., 1859; lo- 
cated in California, 1865-'70; in Conn.. 1870-75; Fort Ham- 
ilton, 1876; was editor of The Church Magazine, 1876-'77; is 
contributor to papers. 

Rev. Henry H. Loring, A. M. (Hobart), bom in Berkshire 
Co., Mass.; admitted to the bar, 1855; grad. Gen. Theol. 
Sem., New York. 1858; trustee of same, 18G7-'76; Prof. He- 
brew and Bib. Interp. Kansas Theol. School, Topeka; editor 
church paper: is on staff of The Churchman, N. Y.; located 
Fayetteville, N. Y. ; Olean, N. Y., Brownsville, Pa., and 
Topeka, Kan. ; translator and editor of Germ. Theol. mono- 
graphs: came to B'klyn, 1879. 

Rev. John Greenwood Bacchus, born in Chestertown, 
Md., 1846; grad. Kenyon Coll., 1870; Cambridge Theol. Sem., 
1873; alumnus lecturer at Theol. Sem.; located B'klyn, 1873. 

Rev. I. Barnwell Campbell, born in Beaufort, S. C, 
1815; grad. Nassau Hall, Princeton, 1835; and Prot. Epis. 
Gen. Theol. Sem., 1839; located Charleston, S. C, 1840-'58; 
New York, 1867-"68; B'klyn, 1868-84; did missionary service 
in late war, at Williamston, S. C. 



Rev. J. A. ASPINWALL, born in New York, 1&40; studied in 
France and Germany; grad. Theol. Gambier (O.) Coll., 1864; 
located Bay Ridge, L. I., 1864-'84. 

Rev. W. G. McKlNNEY, born in Charleston, S. C. 1836; lo- 
cated Buffalo, Brooklyn, Charleston and Cleveland; did 
missionary work in La. and N. C. ; author of My Early Re- 
ligious Impressions; Walter and the Prize Lottery; Archi- 
bald and Elvira: The Commandments Kept; Faith and 
Works, etc. 

Rev. Dan Marvin, Jr., born in New York, 1843; grad. 
Columbia Coll., 1863; studied P. E. Gen. Theol. Sem., N. Y.; 
was adjunct Prof. Greek, Racine Coll., Wis.; located St. 
Peter's Chapel, B'klyn, 1876-77; Asst. Min. Ch. of Messiah, 
1877-79; Ch. of Holy Communion, Norwood, N. J., 1883-84 
and Prin. Lafayette Acad., B'klyn. 

Rev. Joseph Reynolds, born in Baltimore, 1854; studied at 
Univ. of Va. : grad. Gen. Theol. Sem., 1877; is chaplain Mon- 
tauk Lodge, F. A. M.; chap. 5th Md. N. G.: located Balti- 
more, 1878-79; Harford Co., 1879-80; B'klyn, 1880-'84. 

Rev. Paulus Moort, born in St. Croix, 1850; grad. St. 
Augustine Inst., Raleigh, N. C, and P. E. Theol. Sem., 
Phlla., 1882; located New York; destined to work in Liberia, 
A f rica. 



RT. REV. ABRAM NEWKIRK LITTLEJOHN, D. D. 

Bishop of the Protestant Episcopal Diocese of Long Island. 



Bishop LiTTLBJOHN is a native of Central New York, 
having been born in Montgomery county, December 
13th, 1824. His early education was obtained in his 
native county; and, in 1841, he entered Union College, 
where he graduated with honor in 1845. Entering at 
once upon a course of theological study, he received 
deacon's orders from the Rt. Rev. William H. DeLancey, 
Bishop of the Diocese of Western New York, at Au- 
burn, N. Y., on the 18th of March, 1848. He entered 
upon the clerical duties at St. Ann's Church, Amster- 
dam, immediately; and, after continuing there a year, 
removed to Meridcn, Conn., where he officiated for a 
period of ten months. On the 10th of April, 1850, he 
was called to the rectorship of Christ Church, Spring- 
field, Mass., where he was ordained priest, November 10, 
1850, and where he remained a little more than a year. 
In July, 1851, he succeeded Rev. Samuel E. Cooke, 
D.D., as Rector of St. Paul's Church, New Haven. 
Though yet a young man, not quite twenty-seven years 
of age, when he entered upon this large and important 
field of labor, he soon gave evidence of remarkable 
intellectual abilities. His sympathy with progress 
and with the friends of higher intellectual culture, es- 
pecially among the young men, was so evident and 
hearty, that he attracted in large numbers the young 
men of the city into his congregation; and, at the same 
time, his own scholarship was so broad and thorough, 
and his ability as a speaker and writer so eminent, that 
he was in great demand as a lecturer and orator. In 
1853, he was invited to give the opening lecture of a 



course in Philadelphia, by bishops and clergymen of 
the Episcopal church, on topics connected with theo- 
logical science. The subject assigned him, and whicli 
he discussed with masterly ability, was, " The Philos- 
ophy of Religion." These discourses were subsequently 
published, with an introductory essay by Rt. Rev. 
Alonzo Potter, D. D., LL. D., Bishop of Pennsylvania, 
and constitute a valuable contribution to the literature 
of the Church. He h;id ^ready been for several years 
Lecturer on Pastoral Theology at the Berkeley Divinity 
School, Middletown, Conn., and he continued to sus- 
tain this relation to that school of the prophets, in ad- 
dition to the duties of his rectorship, during his resi- 
dence in New Haven, a period of ten years. In 1856, 
before he had completed his thirty-second year, the 
University of Pennsylvania conferred on him the hon- 
orary degree of Doctor of Divinity. In January, 1858, 
when yet but thirty-three years of age, he was unani- 
mously elected President of Hobart College, Geneva, 
N. Y. This lionor he respectfully declined. In the 
spring of 1800 he was called to the rectorship of the 
Church of the Holy Tiinity in Brooklyn, N. Y. 

The position was one of peculiar responsibility and 
anxiety, and a man of less moral courage would have 
declined to leave a congregation so strongly attached 
to him as that of St. Paul's, and one in every respect so 
pleasant, for the trials and severe labors which he well 
knew would be inevitable in his new position. The 
Church of the Holy Trinity, originally erected in large 
part through the munificence of one of its constituent 



ECCLESIASTICAL ORGANIZATIONS. 



1013 



members, and through his subsequent misfortune in 
business so heavily mortgaged that, in 1850, it was 
with the greatest difficulty rescued from falling into 
the hands of the Roman Catholics, on a foreclosure sale 
for a mortgage debt of $100,000, was still staggering 
under an incumbrance of $65,000, and was as yet in- 
complete. It was a magnificent edifice, well worthy to 
become eventually, when completed, the cathedral 
church of a future diocese; but the congregation which 
worshiped in it were, neither in wealth or numbers, 
quite strong enough to bear so heavy a burden. 

But the young and brave-hearted New Haven Rector 
saw in this persistent determination to " fight it out on 
that line " which actuated the members of the parish of 
the Holy Trinity, the possibilities of a magnificent 
future; and, stipulating that the debt should be reduced 
$10,000 before he entered upon his duties among them, 
he threw his whole heart into the work of building up 
the parish. The cheerfulness of his spirit, the rare 
courage with which he addressed himself to his work, 
the halo of enthusiasm with which he surrounded it, as 
a work done for Christ, and the eloquence and fervor of 
his preaching, attracted a constantly-increasing audience 
to the services of the church. There were yet dark days 
to be encountered. The financial depression of 1861 
and 1862 made it a difficult matter to raise money even 
for the payment of the interest on the still heavy debt; 
but, when a time of greater financial prosperity came, 
and his congregation was strengthened by the addition 
of numerous men of wealth and generous hearts, he re- 
newed his efforts to throw off the burden of debt which 
had so long crippled the energies of the church. In 
January, 1863, $20,000 of the debt was paid, and the 
income of the church having more than doubled, and 
being in excess of the amount necessary to defray the 
current expenses. Dr. Littlejohn proposed the establish- 
ment of a sinking fund, which has already greatly di- 
minished, and will, ere long, completely obliterate the 
original debt. Meantime, fully convinced that' the chari- 
ties which began at home should not end there, he incul- 
cated both by precept and example, that wise liberality, 
in the support of all the benevolent institutions of the 
church, which should demonstrate that they did not 
live to themselves alone, but unto Him who had re- 
deemed them. On the Western frontier, in Bellevue, Ne- 
braska, the parish of the Holy Trinity erected a church 
edifice named after itself, where the emigrants from our 
Eastern States could worship God as they had done in 
the land of their fathers. In the newer portion of this 
city, just where the advancing wave of population has 
reached its shores, on Fulton avenue, near Schenectady 
avenue, it has established a Free Chapel. A Classical and 
Commercial School for Boys, with religious as well as 
secular instruction, has been established, and is in a flour- 
ishing condition. The Church Orphan Asylum, the Home 
for Aged Women, and the other local church charities, 
and the Missionary, Educational, and Church Extension 



Societies, have received largely of theirbounties through 
all these years. 

Aside from the engrossing cares of his large parish, 
and the parochial and financial duties which have occu- 
pied him there, he has, from his first coming to Brook- 
lyn, been prominently connected with the missionary 
work of the church, as a member of the Domestic Com- 
mittee of the Board of Missions; he is, likewise, a trus- 
tee of St. Stephen's College, and of the General Theo- 
logical Seminary of New York; a member of the Execu- 
tive Committee of the Protestant Episcopal Freedmen's 
Commission; a director of the Society for the Increase 
of the Ministry; a member of the Executive Committee 
of the Sunday-school Union and Church Book Society; 
a director of the Long Island Historical Society; Presi- 
dent of the Homes for the Aged and Orphan on the 
Church Charity Foundation, and Vice-President of the 
Kings County Convocation for Church Extension. He 
has also been a frequent contributor to the American 
Quarterly Church Review, and has reviewed with great 
ability in its pages, " Sir James Stephens' Lectures on 
the History of France," " Cousin's History of Modern 
Philosophy," " The Character and Writings of Cole- 
ridge," " The Poems of George Herbert," and " Miss 
Beecher's Bible and the People." He has also published 
numerovis occasional discourses and addresses. 

In 1866, Dr. Littlejohn laid before the parish his pur- 
pose to complete the Church of the Holy Trinity with 
a spire. The site of the church (on the Heights) is ele- 
vated about 64 feet above the surface of the bay. He 
proposed to build a spire of stone from the summit of 
the tower already erected, to a height, including the 
metal cross with which it should terminate, of 284 feet 
from the ground. He was successful in raising the sum 
necessary for its completion ($55,000). This spire is 
the most conspicuous object which greets the eye of 
the voyager as he comes up the lower bay, and is, by al- 
most a hundred feet, higher than any other spire in 
either New York or Brooklyn. On the 19th of Decem- 
ber, 1867, commemorative services were held in the 
Church of the Holy Trinity on the occasion of the com- 
pletion of this great work. In connection with this ser- 
vice, it was stated that the contributions of the parish 
to benevolent purposes (including, of course, the church 
debt and the spire), during Dr. Littlejohn's rectorship 
(of somewhat less than eight years), had been $260,000, 
and that there had been in that time 680 communicants 
added to the church. 

At the General Convention of 1869, the formation of 
three new dioceses in New York was authorized, and 
they were organized in the autumn of that year. Dr. 
Littlejohn was elected Bishop by two of these, that 
of Central New York, and tiiat of Long Island; 
but chose the latter, as that with which he was best ac- 
quainted, and in which he could be most useful. His 
ordination and consecration to this office took place on 
the 2Tth of January, 1866. 



1014 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY 



In the fifteen years of liis Episcopato, Bi.shop Little- 
john has admitted to the Communion of the Church in 
Confirmation, nearly 20,000 persons; has ordained to 
the Diaconate and Priesthood about 100 clergymen; 
has consecrated a large number of chifrches, and has 
established throe Diocesan schools of high grade, over 
all which he maintains an active supervision. Under 
his administration as President e.f-officio of the Church 
Charity Foundation, St. John's Hospital has been 
built at a cost of §120,000, and other departments of 
the foundation have been greatly enlarged, and all of 
them strengthened by substantial additions to the per- 
manent endowments. In 1872, Bishop Littlejohn was 
appointed Bishop in Charge of all Protestant Episcopal 
Churches on the Continent of Europe. This appoint- 
ment he has held ever since, thus adding to his work in 
the Diocese of Long Island, a considei-able jurisdiction 
abroad; the latter requiring an official visitation every 
two or three years. In 1878, he attended the Lambeth 
Conferences, held in Lambeth Palace, London. One 
hundred bishops, from all parts of the world, were 
present, and the sessions were under the Presidency of 
the Archbishop of Canterbury. 

In 1879-1880, he delivered a series of lectures to the 
clergy, subsequently published in a volume entitled 



" Condones ad Clerum," which has now reached its 
third edition. In November, 1880, he delivered before 
the University of Cambridge, England, a series of dis- 
courses on "Individualism," published immediately 
after at the University Press. In acknowledgment of 
this service, the University conferred upon him the de- 
gree of LL.D. During the spring of 1 884, the Bishop 
delivered a course of lectures at the General Theologi- 
cal Seminary of New York, on " the Cliristian Ministry 
at the Close of the Nineteenth Century." These lec- 
tures are now in the press. Besides these, the Bishop 
has, during the last 25 years, contributed many elabor- 
ate articles to reviews and periodicals, and published 
many addresses and charges delivered to the clergy at 
the Annual Conventions of his Diocese. He has, for 
many years, acted as Chairman of the Domestic Com- 
mittee of the Board of Missions of the P. E. Church, 
having charge of Home Missions in all parts of the 
country. 

He is an official visitor of Ilobart College, Geneva, 
N. Y. ; Trustee of St. Stephen's College, Annandale, 
N. Y. ; also a Trustee of Columbia College, in the 
city of New York, and ex-officio, a Trustee of the 
General Theological Seminary in New York. 



REFORMED EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



Marcli 1st, 1874, the services of tlie Reformed Episcopal 
Church were inaugurated in Brooklyn by Rev. W. H. Reid; 
Bishop Geo. David Cummins, D. D., preaching the sermon. 
Since that time Mr. Reid has oi'ganized three churches in the 
cit)-, all iif which are in u flourisliing condition. 

The Church of the Atonement (R. E.) was organized on 
the 19th of September, 1875, with 160 members. Its first 
place of worship was a haU over the Kings Co. Bank, corner 
of Broadway and Fourth sts., E. D. In 1878-9, the society 
erected a cliurch building of brick, with Nova Scotia stone 
trimmings, and in the Romanesque style, on the corner of 
Keap st. and Marcy ave. 

Rev. W. H. Reid was the first Rector, followed by the Rev. 
Yelverton Peyton Morgan; and, in 1877. by Rev. Y. P. Hunt- 



ington. On April Ki, 1882, the present Pastor, Rev. William 
Henry Barnes, was installed as Rector. A large and success- 
ful Sunday-school is attached to the church. 

The Church of the Redemption (R. E.) was organized at 
Greenpoint in 1876, by Rev. Mr. Reid. The congregation 
hired a church building in Java st., from a Reformed (Dutch) 
clmrch. Rev. F. E. Dager became i-ector. The society are 
preparing to build a house of worshij). 

The Church of the Reconciliation (R. E. ) was organized 
by Rev. W. H. Reid, the present Rector, December 16, 1877. 
Its first place of worship was the old South Brooklyn church, 
corner of Clinton and Amity sts. In February. 1881, the 
congregation removed to a church edifice, on the comer of 
I Gates ave. and Irving place. 



THE SOCIETY OF FRIENDS. 



Friends' Meeting House. — The Orthodox Friends 
in Brooklyn have their place of worship on the north- 
east corner of Lafayette and Washington aves. Their 
" meeting house " is a plain three-story brick building, 
46 feet in width by 77 feet in length, fronting on 



Lafayette avenue. It was built in 1868, the ground, 
100 feet square, having been purchased two years 
before. 

The main room of the first story is used by the 
" Bible School," and will seat 250. The main room on 



ECCLESIASTICAL ORGANIZATIONS. 



1015 



second floor is used for the meetings for worship. This 
room, including the gallery, will seat 350, and the par- 
lor on the third floor, 100. 

The Brooklyn meeting is one of several constituting 
" New York Monthly Meeting," to which this property 
and that used by those meetings belong. 

The Society of Friends had its origin in England, 
between 1644 and 1664, through the preaching of 
George Fox and his coadjutors. While the funda- 
mental principles of Christian faith are held by them 
in common with all evangelical denominations, they 



entertain certain distinguishing views. They believe 
the practice of war to be inconsistent with the prin- 
ciples of the gospel, and that Christ enjoined against 
all oaths. They do not observe the outward ordinances 
— water-baptism, and the partaking of bread and 
wine — believing the one baptism and the true com- 
munion of the gospel dispensation to be spiritual. 
They believe that the Head of the Church bestows 
spiritual gifts freely, without distinction of sex, and 
that such gifts should be freely exercised. Many of 
their ministers are women. 



CONGREGATIONAL CHURCHES. 



Independent Congregational Church. — ^On the 18th 
of Sept., 1783, an " Independent Meeting House" was 
erected, and a congregation regularly incorporated 
with the following officers: John Matlock, Pastor, 
and George Wall, Assistant: John CarpcntiT, Ticas.: 
George Powers, .S'ec; William Benton. KN.Iicii Stcath, 
Barnard C'onlman, John Emer.y, and William lliiisou, 
Trustees. Tlieir place of worship stood on what was 
the old Episcopal burying ground in Fulton st. Its 
members disagreed among themselves, and the build- 
ing finally came into the possession of some Episco- 
palians worshiping in Brooklyn under the care of 
Rev. Geo. Wright, and it was consecrated by Bishop 
Provost. Such was the untimely end of what may be 
called the first Congregational Clmrch of Brooklyn. 

The Church of the Pilgrims (Henry street, corner 
of Remsen) was organized December 22d, 1844, with 
71 members. Arrangements for this had been in 
progress during some months. The corner-stone of 
the church was laid July 2, 1844; its completion was 
retarded by unforeseen circumstances, but it was 
dedicated May 12th, 1846. Its cost, first estimated 
at $25,000, reached $05,000. 

In June, 1846, Rov. Richard S. Storrs, Jr., received 
a call to the pastorate, and was installed in the fol- 
lowing November. All indebtedness was removed 
from the church in 1848, and a basis for permanent 
prosperity secured. In 1869. an addition was made 
to the building, increasing the capacity of the audi- 
ence-room to 1,300; and making ample arrange- 
ments for Sunday-school, committee rooms, etc. 

The Navy and Warren Street Missions were largely 
aided by this church. The last was removed, in 1878, 
to cor. Henrv" and Degraw sts., where an elegant 
chapel, now known as the Pilgrim Chapel, in the 
Italian Gothic style, w-as erected, costing P5,000, and 
occupied for worship Dec. 16, 1878. Its school is 
emphatically a model in organization and equipments 
numbering more than 1,000. 

In June, 1847, nine members of this church united 
with others m the formation of Plymouth Church. 

The church has been peculiarly fortunate in retain- 
ing Rev. Dr. Storrs as its Pastor, during all its exis- 
tence thus far. 




CHUllCH UFIHL IIK.KIM-- HENRY bTHEET, COR REMSEN 



1016 



aiSTORY OF KINGS COUA'TY. 



REV. RICHARD SALTER STORRS, D. D., LL. D. 

Pastor of the Church of the Piltirims. 



The doctrine of Heredity, as a factor in the evolution of 
Intellect, and as largely controlling the choice of a man's 
profession or occupation, finds a signal example in the ances- 
try of this eloquent divine, who, in his own person, repre- 
sents the fourth generation of an unbroken line of Congre- 
gational ministers. His father, the late Eev. Richard S. Storrs, 
of Braintree, Mass., was for more than half a century the 
honored and beloved Pastor of the Congregational Church of 
that town. His grandfather, also the Rev. Richard S. Storrs, 
was for nearly forty yeai's the Pastor of the Congregational 
Church at Long Meadow, Mass. His great-grandfather, the 
Eev. John Ston-s, was fc>r many years Pastor of the Congre- 
gational Church at Southold, L. I., and afterward returned 
to his native place, Mansfield, Conn., where he died. 

In the maternal line of his fathei's ancestry. Dr. Storrs 
also derives from the Rev. Richard Mather, the first Pastor 
of the Dorchester (Mass.) Church; and is connected with the 
"Williams and Edwards famdies, both eminent in the minis- 
terial annals of New England. 

Dr. Storrs, therefore, may well claim that his vocation is 
a hereditary diadem. 

Richard Salter Storrs was born in Braintree, Mass., in 
1821. The Adams family were neighbors of his parents, and 
with the Quincys and John Hancock, helped to render the 
historic township a somewhat famous locality. Young 
Storrs' preliminary education, aside from that which he re- 
ceived from his father's tuition, was obtained (1834-'5) in the 
then quite celebrated Academy at Monson, Mass. Thence he 
went to Amherst College, where he graduated in 1839, at the 
age of eighteen, and the youngest member of his class. His 
first choice for a profession was the law; and, with that pur- 
pose, he studied for some months in the office of the eloquent 
Rufus Choate. But home associations, ancestral bias, and 
his own deepening religious convictions, finally turned him 
into the paths of theological study; and, in 1841, he entered 
Andover Theological Seminary. Compelled, after a tinie, 
bj' ill health, to suspend his studies, he accepted a tutorship 
in Williston Sejuinary, at East Hampton, Mass. ; but subse- 
quently resumed his course at Andover. In 1845, he gradu- 
ated from the Seminary, and was ordained Pastor over a 
Congregational Church in Brookline, Mass., where he re- 
mained for a year. Meanwhile, in 1845, he married Miss 
Marj- Elwell Jenks, of Andover. 

In November, 1846, at the age of twenty-five years, he 
came to Brooklyn, and was installed as Pastor of the Church 
of the Pilgrims, the pioneer church of that denomination in 
this cit}'. And in this congi-egation his whole great life-work 
has been accomplished. Though often urged to accept other 
important charges, he has preferred to remain in this city, 
in the steady performance of his duties towards the peojjle 
of his early choice. His congregation, as is well known, has 
for many years been numerous, wealthy, strongly attached 
to its Pastor, and accustomed to devise liberal things. Com- 
pri.sitig a membership of marked intellectual ability, high so- 
cial influence and financial strength, it has— both by its in- 
na e impulses, and by the direction which its Pastor has given 
It— developed the characteristic of systetnativ benevolence to 
a degree not often attained bj' congregations. Its influence 
upon the growth of Congregationalism, of Missions, of Fiee- 



dom, and of every good word and work, has ever been de- 
cided and imquestioned. 

In this, the Church of the Pilgrims but reflects the wide 
sympathies, the catholicity of spirit and the judicious labors 
of its Pastor. For the past thirty-eight years he has repre- 
sented a broad and unsectarian Christianity, and has been to 
many of the oldest families on the Heights the Pastor, the 
moral teacher and example of uudeviating integrity, no 
man's enemy, but never swerving from the right line of duty 
to be any man's friend. Many, baptised by him in infancy, 
have been married by him m their days of love and gladness, 
and commended by him to God's mercy in the hour of death. 
He has stood by the graves of those whose cradles were 
blessed by his ministry. Gray-headed men and women be- 
hold him still in the full strength of his manhood, who wel- 
comed him when a mere stripling to his wow famous pulpit. 
One can hardly conceive of a church with such a name hav- 
ing any but a New England Pastor ; and Dr. Storrs is still a 
New England man to the backbone; although his thoughts, 
like other men's, have been "widened with the process of 
the suns." He believes to this day in the ideal of the Puri- 
tans, a Commonwealth based on Christianity, not less than 
he believes in the distinctive principle of Congx-egationahsm, 
that "any body of Christians, associated together, and 
statedly meeting for the worship of God and the administra- 
tion of Christian ordinances, constitutes a Christian church, 
is to be regarded as such, and is possessed of all the powers 
and privileges incident thereunto." Loving New England 
as the home of his fathers and the scene of his early life, 
while others traverse the seas and bring back the gods 
of other lands into the American Pantheon, Dr. Storrs 
spends his summer holidays on the Island, or in New Eng- 
land. 

The record of the thirty-eight years, during which Dr. 
Storrs has filled the pulpit of this church, comprises the his- 
tory of Brooklyn; the growth of its churches, libraries, 
schools and hospitals; the transformation of nearly a whole 
county into a populous city; the connecting of this city 
with the great metropolis across the river, by a magnificent 
bridge; the passing away of an old era, and the grafting in 
of new life, through emigration from all lands: the ebb and 
flow of old and new enterprises; the inception and success- 
ful foundation of literary, artistic, scientific and religious 
centres — which all go to make up a great city. No man has 
more thoroughly inwoven his life with that of the commu- 
nity in which he dwells than Dr. Storrs; and the rounded 
l^eriods of his golden eloquence have added the crowning 
grace to most of the events of civic importance which have 
signalized Brooklyn's growth. 

He has been a Director of the Long Island Historical 
Society from its organization, and the Chairman of its Execu- 
tive Committee until his going to Europe in 1871. Upon his 
return, in 1873, he was elected its President, which oflice he 
still retains. He is also a Trustee of the Brooklyn E^'e and 
Ear Hospital. 

His oratorical and public efforts, in spoken as well as writ- 
ten productions, are always remarkable. His words are 
felicitously chosen; his imagery grand in conception and 
without a flaw; his diction stately and polished, yet infused 




L-i^cy^ <^.-^ -^ ■ 



^ 



ECCLESIASTICAL OR GANIZA TIONS. 



1017 



with energy and warmth. For a peculiar quality of sus- 
tained eloquence, which never for an instant forgets the 
dignity of his theme, he surpasses — in the opinion of the 
best judges — any living orator. Wherever the English lan- 
guage is spoken, his speeches are treasured as pearls of 
price, and his solid attainments in literature, as well as his 
broad sympathy with all that is best in the domains of Re- 
ligion, Art, Science and Thought, is recognized. 

Dr. Storrs' contributions to literature — in the form of ser- 
mons, orations, lectures, etc., have been numerous and valua- 
ble ; though not, as yet, collected in permanent form.* 

That his sympathies are not confined to the circle of his 
own denomination, nor even of Protestantism, is well at- 
tested by the fact that so great a Catholic theologian as Car- 
dinal Newman wrote to him a few years since, in connection 
with an address on Roman Catholicism, delivered before the 
Evangelical Alliance in New York, by Dr. Storrs, thanking 
him for his kindly spirit, his wish to be impartial, and to do 
generous justice to Catholics; and asking if he could wonder 
that so many, like himself, had taken refuge in Catholicism 
when he looked at the endless discords of Protestantism. No 
higher compliment could be i^aid to one of Ihe foremost of 
Protestant controversialists, by the greatest living defender 
of Roman Catholicism, than such acknowledgment of his 
learning, candor and magnanimity. 

No greater evidence of the appreciation and affection in 
which he is held by his people, and the community in which 
he dwells, could be found, than in the substantial testimonial 
presented to Dr. Storrs, on November 19, 1881, on the com- 
pletitm of the thirty-fifth year of his pastorate. This was in 
the form of a certificate of deposit for $35,000 (being $1,000 
for each successive j'ear of his ministry among them), pre- 
sented to him by the members, and former members, of his 
flock. This magnificent gift was induced by no necessity in 
the circumstances of the revered recipient (who has alwajs 
enjoyed an ami>le salary); but by a strong sense, on their 
part, of the obligations under which his parishioners felt to 
him, for his life-long services to them. 

In the few pertinent remarks with which Dr. Storrs re- 
ceived this touching expression of love, he said: 

" A man stands pretty much on his own feet in this world, 
and }'ou and I understand each other; we have always 
done that remarkably well, and I believe we do now. I un- 
derstand perfectly that you intend me to receive this as a 
means of utter quietness of mind, in time to come, concern- 
ing worldly affairs, as a fresh inspiration to the work which 
I have tried to do before, and which I shall try to do better 
and better as long as I live among you ; and in that spirit 
and with that feeling I accept it, certainly with heartfelt 

* Among those which have been published, we may especially men- 
tion:— A Sermon, delivered before his own congregation, December, 
18ij0, during the Fugitive Slave Law agitation, on The Obligation, uf 
Man to Olitij the Civil Law, its (Irouml ami Kxtcnt; an Address, at the 
Amherst College Commencement, 1852, on The True Succoss of Hninan 
Life; an Oration at the Semi-Centeunial of Monson Academy, 18.54, on 
The lielatioiin iif Commerce to Literature; a Discourse before the So- 
ciety for Promoting Collegiate Education, Providence, K. I., 1855, on 
Colleges (is a I'owcr in Cieilizeition; Character in the Preacher, Theol. 
Seminary, Andover, 185(i; an Oration on The Puritan Scheme of National 
Orou'th, before the N. Y. New Bng. Soc, 1857; Sermon, The Law of 
Growth in the Kingehtm of God, Young Men's Chr. Assoc, 1858; **Things 
B7i ich are Not "—the Imtruments of Advancing Ood's Kingdnm, before 
the Am. Bd. Com. Foreign Miss., 1861; The Preaching of Christ in 
CHto, before the Y. M. Chris. Assoc, 18M; Orations in Commemora- 
tion of President Lincoln, Brooklyn, June 1, 1865, and at the unveiling 
of the Line. In Statue In Prospect Park, 1869; Discourse, The Aim of 
Chriatianily, for those who Accept it, Princeton Theol. Sem, 1867; Ser- 
mon before the Ancient and Hon. Artillery Co. of Boston. 1868; Dis- 
course, Union Theol. Sem., 1869, The Incarnation, and Hie System which 
Stands upon it; Address before the Evangelical Alliance, New York, 



gladness and gratitude. I wiU treasure it; I will try to use 
it aright; I will try to leave it to those who come after me, 
that they may also remember the church to which I have 
ministered so long. I am reminded as I stand in these rooms, 
which have sacred and tender memories connected with 
them, and as I look into the faces of some here present, faces 
which I have seen wet with tears and clouded with agony, 
that there is an impulse here from those whom we do not 
see but who are still tenderly beloved; I feel that there is a 
touch of celestial hands upon this gift. It comes to me con- 
secrated by most holy and tender memories of my ministry 
among you in the thirty-live years that have passed. I shall 
speak of it with you, by and by; I shall speak of it with you 
again when we reach that state where all earthly possessions 
have ceased to be of interest to us, but where the affections 
that we have cherished toward each other on earth shall be 
consummated and made immortal. It comes to me with 
surprise, when I think of it, that, with the single exception 
of a clergyman of the Episcopal church in the Eastern Dis- 
trict, I am the oldest settled pastor in Brooklyn to-day. And 
I think, with the single exception of Dr. Bellows in New 
York, there is none there whose pastoral term equals my 
own. I pray that the blessing of God may rest upon these 
clerical brethren present, upon the churches to which they 
minister, upon all the churches of our land, and upon the 
city of our common regard, which sweeps out so widely from 
year to year that it has grown in my ministry from 65,000 
to 600,000 inhabitants; which never had so bright a future 
opening before it as it has, I think, at this very hour. I 
pray that God's blessing may abide upon it. I cannot hon- 
estly say that I wish I was again 35 years old, for that would 
be to blot out an immense amount of happiness, at home 
and in public, and of joyful work and service, and to cut me 
off from many of the most intimate and tenderest attach- 
ments of my life; but I can honestly say that if I were 35 
j'ears old again, and an opportunity were given me, there is 
no city in the country to which I would go so soon as to 
Brooklyn, and there is no church in the country to which I 
would go so soon as to the Church of the Pilgrims. I pray 
that God's blessing may rest upon it, and upon the city, and 
upon you all, and upon all associated with us." 

As a minister of Christ, as a citizen, and as a lover of his 
fellow-men, it may be truly said that Dr. Storrs, in hij life- 
service in Brooklyn, has followed the injunction contained 
in the verse selected by him as the text (I Corinthians, iv., 2) 
of his first sermon to the church over which he still presides: 
"Moreover, it is required in stewards, that a man be found 
faithful." 

1873, on Tlic Attractions of Eomanism for Educated Protestants; 
Oration before the New York Historical Society, 1875, The Early 
American Spirit, and the Genesis of it; Oration, July 1, 1876, in New York 
city. The iJcclaralion of Imli i>i ii<lnir, , and tlir Effect ejf it; Oration be- 
fore the Phi Beta Kappa S..<irl>, Harvard College, 1S80, T/lc AVTO(/ni- 
tionof theSupcrnnhiral ill t.iil.rx ami Life; John Wiehlifre, and tlie 
First English. Bible, New York Academy of Music, 1880. Nor must we 
overlook his brilliant address at the opening of the New York and 
Brooklyn Bridge, May, 1883; or his addresses before the Long Island 
Hist. Society, on Liln-aries in Europe (without notes), and upon the 
Life and Services of Oen. O. M. Mitchell, neither of which have been 
published. 

Of lectures. Dr. Storrs has delivered several courses; in 1855, one of 
six, on the Graham Foundation, on The Constitution of tlie Human 
Soul; two on Russia and France, and their Long Duel, In 1878, delivered 
In Brooklyn, New York and Boston; one, of eight lectures, before 
Princeton Theol. Sem., in 1879, on St. Bernard. His Times and His Work 
(to be published); and ten lectures on the Divine Origin of Chris- 
tianity, Indicated by its Historical Effects, before the Union Theol. 
Sem., New York, and the Lowell Institute, Boston, 1880 (now In press). 

Dr. Storrs received the degree of D. D. from Union College in 1853; 
from Harvard College in 1859; and that of LL. D. from Princeton In 
1871. 



1018 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



The Free Congregational Church was ccmstituteii Juiil- 
16, 1845, by a vote ot the Free Presbyterian Church, worship- 
ing on the comer of Tillary and Lawrence streets, by which 
tliey rejsolved to change their platform. In the month of 
September they gave a call to the Rev. Isaac N. Sprague, of 
Hartford, Conn., to l>ecome their Pastor, which he accepted. 
This church merged in the organization from which origin- 
ated the State Street Congregational Church. 

Plymouth Church. — The ground upon which Plymouth 
Church stands was purchased in 1823, for tlie erection of an 
edifice for the use of the First Presbyterian Church. At 
that time Brooklyn Heights were cultivated fields, and the 
church thus built was remote from the settled portion of 
Brooklyn, the population of wliich was less than 10,000. A 
lecture-r<M)m, including a Sabbath-school room and stud}-, 
was attached to the rear of the church, fronting Orange 
street, in 1831. 



of the society. June 14, 1847, the church unanimously 
elected Henry Ward Beecher as Pastor; he commenced his 
pastorate on Sunday, Oct. 10, 1847, and on Thursday, Nov. 
11, was imblicly installed. 

The church was so damaged by fire, Jan. 13, 1849, that it 
was determined to rebuild, which was done; and the new 
edifice was first occupied in January, 1850. 

It is noteworthy that when the congregation were deprived 
by fire of their place of worship, the church buildings of 
nearly all the neighboring societies were generously offered, 
and these offers were gratefully accepted for a period of 
two months. A lot on Pierrepont street was offered for the 
purpose, by Lewis Tappan, Esq., and on this a temporary 
liouse of worship was erected in the short space of thirty 
days. Here the congregation worshiped till the completion 
of their new edifice. 




PLYMOUTH CHURCH. 



In 1846, John T. Howard, then a member of the Church 
of the Pilgrims, obtained the refusal of the premises, which 
were for sale, at the price of .f 30,000, and the contract was 
completed on June 11, 1840. The purchase money (•1|!9,500, 
the rest Ijeing on mortgage) was furnished by Henry C. 
Bowen, Seth B. Hunt, John T. Howard, and David Hale, 
and paid on Sept. 9, 1846. The first meeting of those interested 
in the establisliment of this church, was held at the house 
of Henry C. Bowen, May 9, 18.57, and was attendetl by David 
Hale, of New York, Jira Payne, John T. Howard, Charles 
Rowland, David Griffin, and Heniy C. Bowen, of Brooklyn. 
On Sunday morning. May 16, 1847, divine service was com- 
menced by Rev. Henry Ward Beecher, then Pastor of the 
Second Presbyterian Church in Indianapolis. 

On Friday evening, June 11, 1847, twenty-one persons 
united in the formation of the new church. On Si^nday 
evening, June 13, 1847, the church was publicly organized, 
and r/te Plymouth Church was adopted as the corjMrate name 



The church building is 105 feet long, 80 feet broad, and 43 
feet from floor to ceiling; seating in the pews and choir gallery 
about 3,100 persons; while, with the seats by the walls and in 
the aisles, it accommodates about 3,800. There has never been 
the least cause for regret that the building was made so large. 

Until 1857, visitors were provided with ordinary chairs or 
stools in the aisles. But, in that year, the present fixcil aisle 
seats, attached to the pews, were invented and introduced 
into the church. 

The lecture-room, built at the same time, was 80 by 50 feet 
on the outside: with a school-room above it, 64 by 34 feet, 
and parlors of the same size for the social circle. In 1859, 
these parlors were added to the schoolroom ; but, even then, 
the accommodations were so deficient that, in 1862, an en- 
tirely new lecture-room and school-room were erected. A 
new organ was i)urchased for the church in 1866, at an ex- 
jieuse of 123,000. Kev. Mr. Beeclier has continued in the 
pastorate until the present time. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ORGANIZATIONS. 



1019 



REV. HENRY WARD BEECHER. 



Rev. Henuy Ward Beecher. — Although Brooklyn 
ranks but third among the cities of the Union in point 
of population, for many years the " City of Churches " 
has stood indisputably first in respect to pulpit talent. 
The fame of her great preachers has spread over the 
civilized world. Among her galaxy of brilliant names, 
one of the first, brightest and farthest-shining is that 
of Rev. Henry Ward Beecher. For forty years, 
Sunday after Sunday, year after year, eager thousands 
have crowded the streets leading to the plain brick edi- 
fice, Plymouth Church. Within, arose and stood 
upon the platform the imposing form of a man, tall 
and erect, inclining to be stout; with hair pushed 
plainly back, once dark brown, now silvery- white; a 
full, smooth face that is gentle and peaceful in repose, 
but mobile, varying with every emotion; a mild blue 
eye that will never grow old, that shines with love, 
flashes with scorn, dances with merriment or dilates 
witfe feeling, even as the mountain lake mirrors the 
sunshine, the cloud or the storm. Such the figure of 
Henry Ward Beecher, familiar to thousands; such the 
face, now mellowed by the softening infiuences of time, 
from which the man's soul speaks out his love of 
humanity, of justice and of God. 

Litchfield, Conn., the ancestral home of the Beechers, 
was the place of his birth, which occurred June 24th, 
1813. He was the third son of Rev. Lyman Beecher, 
who occupied the pulpit of the Congregational Church 
there, and was afterwards president of Lane Theologi- 
cal Seminary, near Cincinnati, a famous man in his 
time. 

The child of parents eminent for godliness, brought up 
in a family who were the creatures of an atmosphere 
as unworldly, as religious as not often comes into the 
world. The fact of his being a minister was settled 
from his birth, and under this impression of destiny he 
grew up. Accordingly, he was sent to Amherst 
College, graduating in 1834, and then studied theology 
under his father, in Lane Theological Seminarj'. 

A sensitive, blundering, imaginative, good-natured, 
mischievous, unstudious boy, he represents himself to 
have been ; but his sight must have been quick for nature, 
whether in the fields and woods, or after birds and ani- 
mals, or among his fellows. His school and college 
days did not seem to be notable for anything, save that 
at college he paid especial attention to the arts of elo- 
cution. That Mr. Beecher is an easy master of these 
arts is patent to every one who has heard him speak; 
though it may be said, in passing, that, favorite as he 
is on lecture platforms all over the land, he is never 
heard at his best out of Plymouth Church, his own 
pulpit-platform; and the lofty themes which he there 



treats, inspire him and fill him with a power over his 
three thousand auditors that he gets and gives nowhere 
else. 

His first charge was a little Presbyterian church at 
Lawrenceburgh, Ind., where he eked out the scant 
salary by tilling a farm, remaining from 1837 to 1839. 
In the latter year, he settled in Indianapolis. There 
was a more suitable field for the abilities which had 
already manifested themselves in the young minister, 
so that he came to be heard of in other States. Mean- 
while he had tried his hand at editing, first a journal in 
Cincinnati, in 1837, and a few years later, an agricul- 
tural publication in Indianapolis; his articles in the 
latter were afterwards published as " Fruit, Flowers 
and Farming." 

In 1847 he was in New York, speaking at meetings 
in behalf of the American Home Missionary Society, 
and was invited to preach. May 17tli, for the newly or- 
ganized Plymouth Church in Brooklyn, which he did, 
both morning and evening. At the close of the services, 
the church felt that their future Pastor had been thus 
providentially sent them, and unanimously elected him 
to that office June 14th, 1847. He accepted, and com- 
menced his pastorate Sunday, October 10th, 1847. As 
soon as he came to Brooklyn, he began to wi'ite for the 
Independent, and was its editor from 1861 to 1863. 
His signature — a star — made the title for a volume 
called the "Star Papers." From 1870 to 1880, he was 
the editor of the Christian Union. For twenty-five 
years his sermons have been printed in the Plymouth 
Pulpit. He is the author of " Lectures to Young 
Men," " Life Thoughts," " Yale Lectures on Preach- 
ing," " Industry and Idleness," " Sermons on Liberty 
and War," " Eyes and Ears," " Norwood," " Plymouth 
Hymns and Tunes," and many fugitive pieces. 

Mr. Beecher is a rapid but not easy writer. He com- 
plains that he feels the bondage of the pen, and never 
can evolve his thoughts so clearly or so well on paper 
as he can when " thinking on his legs." But he does a 
vast deal of writing for all that, and there are few men 
who have so large an amount of current printed matter 
constantly setting forth the labors of their minds. He 
preaches every Sunday two sermons, which, not written 
out, but thought out m his study, come fresh and alive 
from his lips, and are phonographically reported for 
publication, week by week, in Plymouth Pulpit. This 
would be a tremendous test of the fruitfulness of any 
man's mind in extempore talk, and yet the test is tri- 
umphantly borne — witness the thousands who hear 
him, and the many other thousands who read him 
thrmighout America, England, and the islands of the 
sea. But he also has his Friday night prayer-meeting 



1020 



HISTORY 01 KINGS COUNTY. 



to lead, at which his familiar " lecture-room talks " on 
themes of Christian experience bring immediate help to 
man}'; and these again are taken down as they issue 
from his mouth. 

Such abundance can not come from any mind or 
any genius, however great, unless it be one stored with 
great wealth of material from without. This is Mr. 
Beecher's case, however; for in addition to his constant 
and careful study of mankind and the affairs of the 
world, he is an omnivorous reader of good books, and 
has an ever-growing library of the best literature in 
every possible direction. He is a great lover of art, 
and has, besides books and histories in that department, 
a choice collection of paintings and engravings. His 
love of flowers and out-door nature finds food on his 
little model farm at Peekskill, N. Y. And indeed, 
whatever is the realm from which he draws an illustra- 
tion, it will generally be found that he knows what he 
is talking about, and lias learned it by observation or 
study. He is not a superficial talker or thinker; he goes 
to the roots of things. 

His early labors and an experience of severe poverty, 
}irivation, and double work of farming and preaching 
during ten years in the West, developed in him very 
fully the natural courage, toughness of backbone (both 
physical and moral), independence of opinion and free- 
dom of utterance that have characterised his more emi- 
nent years. Since the day when, in 1847, he came to 
be Pastor of the newly-formed " Plymouth Church " 
in Brooklyn, N. Y., he has been a living, growing 
power in the land. The pulpit, the press, the lecture- 
platform, the political arena, the social gatherings of 
public bodies, the focal points of all great developments 
of public sympathy or discussion or action, have been 
made not only brilliant with his genius, but hot with 
the ardor of his earnestness. 

The foundation principle of Mr. Beecher's public ca- 
reer seems to be the worth of man, as a beloved child of 
God j he believes that this earth, with all its human in- 
stitutions, its civilizations, its states, its ecclesiastical 
organizations and their forms of ordinances, were made 
and developed by God /or man, to serve as man's edu- 
cators, as instruments of man's instruction, and eleva- 
tion — not necessarily that man may be " happy " here, 
but that he may be fitted to live and work for God after 
he had left this little school-house, which, like the lesser 
school-house of the boy, seems the all-important thing 
just now. 

Seeking always the best means of inspiring individ- 
ual men to train themselves toward the perfect man- 
hood set forth in the example of Jesus Christ, Mr. 
Beecher is peculiar among preachers for his eager fol- 
lowing up of the scientific developments of the day; 
promptly accepting such portions or principles of 
science as seem to him fairly established by investiga- 
tors, and making good use of them in his philosophy 
and teaching. He finds no danger in the general line 



of reasoning based on the observations of believers in 
the theories of development of higher forms of life out 
of lower forms; because the two gaps which the ma- 
terialists do not bridge, — the change from mineral to 
vegetable, and from vegetable to animal life, and still 
more notably the introduction of the soul into the high- 
est type of animal, man, — these chasms, impassable 
to the careful foot of science, are crossed by him with 
the clear-seeing eye of faith, which discerns the Creator 
there. And so, using the real advances of science as 
steps over which he is constantly leading his people, he 
devotes an unusual amount of attention to expounding 
the intimate connection of the material and spiritual 
realms as different parts of the same universe. A favor- 
ite quotation of his is the thirteenth verse of the fourth 
chapter of Ephesians, which indeed seems a fair epito- 
me of the aim of his teaching: "Till we all come in 
the unity of the faith, and of the knowledge of the Son 
of God, unto a perfect man, unto the measure of the 
stature of the fullness of Christ." To him, religion is 
the science ofgroioth unto perfect manhood. 

It is apparently with this idea in mind that Mr. 
Beecher gives so much time and effort to preaching 
about morality, how to live, how to work, how to treat 
one's neighbors, how to act in relation to questions of 
great public interest (" politics " as it is called), how to 
regulate and use in their proper way the passions 
(which, he says, are the steam-power and effective- 
ness of life if rightly and naturally made use 
of), how to get out of bad habits and into good 
ones — how, in short, to apply to practical every- 
day life the truths of God's word and God's uni- 
verse. These topics share his attention with such 
higher themes as prayer, " the preciousness of Christ," 
" the hidden life," "the power of love," "human ideas 
of God," "the way of coming to Christ" — titles which 
we find in the contents of the second series of his Ply- 
mouth Palpit sermons; yet all, even of these, embrace 
and enfold the same characteristic central idea, that 
the tohole of man is to be trained, that from the physi- 
cal he may grow to the enjoyment and use successively 
of his affectional, social, intellectual, moral, and, lastly, 
spiritual manhood. 

The central idea of his whole career as a public 
speaker and writer seems to be the incitement of men 
to self-government and to the trainmg of their whole 
nature, by the help of faith and love in Christ Jesus, 
toward the perfect manhood of immortality with God. 

On all public questions Mr. Beecher's voice, through 
his whole career, has given forth no uncertain sound; 
it was lifted up against the curse of slavery; in favor of 
the maintenance of the Union; in behalf of the home- 
less veterans of this State; in support of the temperance 
cause; to aid reform in politics and governmental 
policy. From all the land the eyes of men have turned 
to him as to a leader, and his influence has moulded 
public opinion as perhaps few others has done. 




Ret. HENKT ward BBBCHEB. 



1 



ECCLESIASTICAL OR GANIZA TIONS. 



1021 



No sketch of Mr. Beecher's life would be complete 
without mention of his visit to England in 1863. His 
public addresses there enlightened the English people 
as to the real issues and principles at stake in our civil 
struggle, and helped powerfully to turn the tide of 
popular feeling there against the recognition of the 
Confederacy as a belligerent power. In so doing, he 
incurred obloquy, even danger of personal violence; but 
his voice rang as clear in defense of the Union as it had 
in his own country. For years he had pleaded from 
pulpit, platform and press for the liberation of the 
slave, in the days when to be an abolitionist was to be 
an outcast. His denunciations of intemperance and 
the traffic in strong drink have grown with his growth, 
and strengthened with his strength. 

On the celebration of his seventieth birthday, June 
25, 1883, the love and respect which his fellow-citizens 
entertained for Mr. Beecher, led to a great popular 
gathering at the Academy of Music, with addresses 
of congratulation from prominent citizens, and letters 
of like tenor from eminent men in all parts of the land. 
No better rhum'c of his life can be given than from his 
own words on that occasion: 

" The inspiration which has made the force of my 
whole life I found in a vision of the love of God in 
Jesus Christ. It has grown larger and larger with the 
sympathy which is natural to my constitution, compas- 
sion of God, manifestations of God in Jesus C!hrist, that 
side of God which is great, holy, beautiful, showing 
Him to have compassion on the ignorant, and on them 
that are out of the way. I have tried to have compas 
sion like Christ. The less worthy the object, the iik.iv 
it was needed. I went right upon the side of the duinii 
and needy, without consideration. I think it most he- 
roic for a man with standing and inliuence and ability 
to give himself to them. I thank God I had a desire 
to work for His glory, when to do it was to earn scoff- 
ings and abuse and threats. When Kossuth brought 
Hungary to us, my soul burned. The wrongs of 
Greece made my heart kindle. Nearly all the nations 
of the world, all under the sword of the soldier or the 
ban of harsh governments, have aroused my sympathy 
and effort. I did not go into these because they were 
humanities or specious philosophies, but because it was 
Christian, that's all. I did it for humanity because I 
loved Christ. In my preaching it has been the same. 
I have attacked governments, institutions, anything; 
never a denomination or a body of ministers. I have 
preached against the principles" involved in all, and in 
my own denomination as much as in others. I have 
preached for the deliverance of souls, for clearer light, 
for a plainer path, that the stumbling blocks might be 
removed. These things I have ciianged in, only to 
grow more intense and emphatic : first, the universal 
sinfulness of mankind, so that it is necessary every- 
where for men to be born again by the Spirit, necessai-y 
for a lift to be given to human nature above its animal 
nature, and this only by the Spirit of God ; second, I 
believe in conversion and the effectual influence of 
the Spirit of God; third, I believe with ever-growing 
strength in the love of God in Jesus Christ. I know 
that Christ loves me, and that I shall go where He is. 
By grace am I saved, say I. Tlie feeling has grown in 



my later years, and when under great pressure and sor- 
row, that raised a strong sea, my strength and courage 
all came from this view— Christ loves me, He will hide 
me in His pavilion till the storm is passed. The sweet- 
ness of life is as much dependent on the love of Christ 
as the landscape is on the sun to bring out its lights 
and shadows. I never believed so much in the Gospel 
as to-day. My faith in it has never been shaken, ex- 
cept in the ideals. I was never so sure as now of its 
truth." 



Since 1868, Rev. S. B. Hallidat has been Assistant Pastor. 
He was born in Morristown, N. J., 1812 ; was Pastor of 
Cong]. Cb. at Lodi, N. Y.; author of LittU Street Sweeperss, 
Winning Souls, etc. 




f "* I ^I^Il^ 11 ^ 




lyiiilF^tS^^ 



PLYMOUTH CHURCH BETHEL. 

Plymouth Church Bethel, No. 15 Hicks st. The Bethel 
Mission Sabbalh-SeliOdl was started in 1841 by Captain A. B. 
Clark and a Jlr. Wadsworth, on Main st., near Catharine 
ferry, iu a former stable, which was fitted up for mission pur- 
poses. The Superintendents were, in succession, John P. 
Ehvell, Albert Woodruff, Richard J. Thorne, Mr. Anderson, 
I. N. Judson, Rev. G. W. Coan, afterward Missionary at 
Cromaish, Persia, J. P. Montgomery, Andrew A. Smitli, H. 
W. Law, S. R. Stone, M. T. Lynch, R. S. Bussing, Thos. H. 
Bird, George A. Bell, Thos. J. Tilney, I. S. Signer,^ J. H. 
Loyd, L. W. Manchester, and the present Superintendent, C. 
S. Van Wagoner. 

In 1855, a room over tlie Market, on James st , was leased; 
in 1858, the Mission removed to Poplar Hall, on Poplar st., 
and, in 1859. to rooms on Fulton st., opposite Front. In July, 
1866. the Mission was taken under the auspices of Plymouth 
Church; and, in 1867-68, the Bethel was erected, at a cost, 
including ground, building and furniture, of about $75,000. 
Mr. Geo. Bell was particularly active in the building project, 
and to him much of its success was due. 

The new building was first occupied in October, 1808. It 
is entirely fiee from incumbrance. The Mission has a fine 



1022 



HISTORY OF KIN on COUNTY. 



reading-room, well supplied witli the leading papers and 
m.-iKazinos, and an I'XocUent library. 

Warren Street Mission Church. — In l,S4i5 or 'AQi, a Mission 
Sunday-school was commenced in Freeman's Hall, corner of 
Amity and Columbia sts., South Brooklyn; and, in 18o3, a few 
benevolent and enterprising Christian gentlemen, prominent 
among whom were Messrs. Albert Woodruff, R. W. Ropes, 
and A. V. Wheelock, purchased three lots of ground on 
Warren st.. between Hicks and Columbia sts., on which they 
commenced the erection of a neat and commodious chapel, 
capaljle of accommodating from 400 to 500 i)ersons. In order 
to enable them to hold the property, these gentlemen, on the 
1st of February, 1853, effected a legal organization, assuming 
the name of the Warren Street Mission. The building, 
wliich, together with the lots, cost about $9,000, was finished 
in November, 1S53, free of all debt. On March 20, 1854, a 
church of thirty persons was formed. Rev. Samuel Bayliss 
was first Pastor; followed, in 1866, by Rev. J. Emory Round. 
The church prospered; a new church building was erected at 
thecornev of Henry and Degraw sts., in 1878. Rev. J. Os- 
trander is Pastor. 

The Clinton Avenue Congregational Church, Clinton ave., 
corner of Lafayette ave., was org. Nov. 18, 1847. Its first 
years were full of discouragement; but the energy of its 
founders, and of its first Pastor, Rev. Dii'ck C. Lansing, D.D. 
(installed in March, 1848), were crowned with success. 
August 4. 1S14. ground was broken for the erection of a 
large and commodious edifice on the corner of Clinton and 
Lafayette aves. On the 34th of October, in that year, the 
corner-stone was laid, and the main building completed and 
dedicated in December, 1855 ; the chapel adjoining being fin- 
ished in September, 1856. The cost of this spacious and 
beautiful edifice, which is of the Romanesque style of archi- 
tecture, including ground, was about IfGO 000: and it occupies 
a prominent position in one of the finest and best liuilt 
neighborhoods of Brooklyn. 

The Rev. Dr. Lansing resigned in December, 1855; and was 
succeeded, Dec. 19, 1855, by Rev. Wm. Ives Budington, 
D.D, who had, for some time previous, discharged the 
principal dvities of the pastorate. 

The present Pastor, Rev. Thomas B. McLeod, commenced 
his m'inistry December 31, 1879, and was installed January 
20. 1880. 

Tlie church has established two Mission Schools; one on the 
corner of Atlantic and Grand aves., and another, originally 
located on Myrtle ave., comer of Steuben st., but afterward 
on Grand ave , south of Myrtle. 

The Mount Prospect Mission Sabbath-School was org. 
July 4, 1852, by Rev. Harvey Newconibe, at an open-air 
jueeting of children and others, under a tree on the corner 
of Pacific St. and Vanderbilt ave. A small dilapidated 
garret room was hired, and on the apjiointed Sabbath about 
ninety children met there. The next week, a milk stable 
and two lots of ground on the north side of Dean street, 
lietween Vanderbilt and Underbill aves., were bought of Mr. 
S. B. Walters. Silas Davenport was elected the first .super- 
intendent, succeeded by A. S. Barnes in 1853, and S. E. W.ar- 
nerin 1855. The school occupied the premises in Dean street 
till September, 1859, when the uncomfortable building became 
too straitened for the purposes of the school, and the school- 
house of the Hope Union. Mission (commenced almost simul- 
taneously with the Mt. Prospect Mission, but located in an 
adjoining neighborhood, known as Jackson's Hollow), in 
Van Buren st., having been destroyed by fire, June, 1858, it 
was thought desirable to unite the two schools, for the piir- 
pose of building \ip a still more prosperous enterprise in that 
part of the city. Accordingly, a desirable lot, 60 by 95 feet. 



was purchased on the south-west corner of Atlantic ave. and 
Grand ave., on which a two-story building, 40 Ijy 65, was 
erected, at a cost, including the furniture, of .$8,389, designed 
to be occupied jointly liy the United Sabbath-school and the 
Mount ProsjM'i-f Intlustrial School (opened Nov. 10, 1857), the 
upper floor being fitted for a Sal)bath-school, and the- lower 
floor for the week-day exercises of the Industrial School. 
The building was dedicated, with appropriate exercises, Sept. 
18, 18.59. 

The name of the united schools was changed to the Atlan- 
tic Ave. Sabbath-School org. Sept. 24, and Mr. S. E, Warner 
was elected superintendent, and Alfred Wicks, Sec. A Miss. 
Soc. was org. Nov. 6 and Dec. 4, 1859; preaching services 
were commenced by different pastors. Rev. Anson Gleason, 
a veteran missionary among the Indians, Labored from May, 
1864, to Nov., 1866, and was followed by Rev. Franklin Noble, 
son of U. S. Chaplain Noble, of the Brooklyn Navy Yard. 

Grand Avenue Chapel. — This orig. 1861, in a " Mothers' 
Meeting," estab. by some ladies of the Clinton Avenue Con- 
gregational Church, to improve the condition of the poor in 
•' Jackson's Hollow." Afterwards a room on Myrtle ave. and 
Steuben st. was hired, and a Sunday-school started, known .as 
the "Steuben St. Mission School." The first .session was held 
Nov. 24, 1861, attended by eight teachers and fifty scholars. 
Supts.:— Messrs. A. Gilbert, 1861-3: S. Harris, 1862; L. T. 
Smith, 1803-'4; E. P. Maltby, 1865-'9; S. L. Parsons, 1869-'74; 
A, C. Barnes, 1874-8; S. W. Johnson, 1878-'9 ; Jas. Mitchell, 
1879-"84. In 1867 a chapel was completed and occupied at the 
coiner of Willoughby and Grand aves. 

Under the superintendence of Mr. E. P. Maltby, a chapel was 
erected on the west side of Grand ave., near Myrtle, and was 
dedicated in March, 1867. During two years, preaching was 
sustained there, chiefly by ministers from the City Mission. 
P.astors in charge : Rev. Dr. Waterbury and Rev. Moseley H. 
Williams, 1879-'70. This chapel proving insufficient for the 
wants of the mission, in 1883, a fine brick edifice, with brown- 
stone trinniungs, was completed, which has a frontage of 
56 feet on Willoughby ave. During all these years the school 
has been prosperous, and it has now an average attendance 
of 350 teachers and scholars. 

Tlio Church of the Covenant was organized here in 1868. 
The school is still continued mider the superintendence of 
James Thorp. (See page 1026). 

Rev. William Ives Budinoton, D. D. (Andierst Coll.), was 
born in New Haven, April 21, 1815. He entered Yale Col- 
lege, where he was known as a painstaking student, facile 
and strong with his pen, and ambitious for fidelity and m.as- 
tery. He graduated in 1834, and devoted three years to the- 
ological study in New Haven, and graduated at Andover. 
April 23, 1840, he was ordained and installed Pastor of the 
First Congregational Church, Charlestown, Mass., where he 
remained fourteen and one-half years. For a brief period 
he served the Western Presbyterian Church of Philadelphia, 
until called to Brooklyn. April 22, 18.55, he was installed 
over the Clinton Ave. Congregational Church of this city. 
He brought the ripeexjierience, the symmetriciil culture, and 
the deep f-onsecration which were needed in the successor of 
the venerated Dr. Lansing. During the 34 years of his min- 
istry, the growth of the church was slow, steady and sure. 
The preacher soiight to conserve everything substantial, es- 
sential, central, in pure theology and church polity; while 
conceding every rational demand of science and of the 
changing time. He identified himself with every movement 
of real progress. His intellect was strong and incisive, and 
his character positive. Though all might not agree with his 
conclusions, they confessed the honesty of his convictions and 



ECCLESIASTICAL OR GANIZA TIONS. 



1023 



the vigorous logic with which he reached them. He left an 
impress not only upon the intelligent and loving people of 
his charge, in whose affection he is enslirined, but also upon 
the city of his chosen labors for a quarter of a century. In 
the pulpit he was always serious, scholarly, forcible, intense. 
Upon the platform he kiudled and inspired. In social life he 
was exceedingly genial and courteous. As a leader he dis- 
played wonderful tact and courage. As a clerical friend and 
advisor, his kindly offices were prompt and grateful, and his 
counsels wise and judicious. His UDaffected, fervent sym- 
pathy with the afflicted made him a rare comforter to 
wounded souls. In the words of one of his own grateful 
flock, " he made the sorrows of others so much his own that 
it affected his health and spirits, as though the son-ow had 
been a personal one." Nor was he less one with his people 
in their joys. Compelled by ill health, he resigned his pulpit 
in 1878, and died November, \'&^Si.— Brooklyn Adcance. 

The Mayflower Mission originated under the name of 
Navy Illusion, and was kno^^^l by th.it title until after its 
formal adojition by Plymouth Church. Its name was changed 
to the " Plymouth Misnioii," in Novemlier, 1.S73, and to the 
"Mayjtoirer Mission of Plymouth Church " May 1,1874. It was 
established ia the vicinity of the Navy Yard, in 1844, and until 
June, 1871, occupied a building in Front street, corner of 
Green lane. In 1867, it was adopted by the Church of the 
Pilgrims, which, however, abandoned it in the sprmg of 1870. 
PYom that time until January, 1871, it was sustained in- 
dependently by a few of its faithful teachei's. 

At the annual meeting of the Society of Plymouth Church 
'in January, 1871, the mission was re-adopted by this church. 
In May of the same year, the building of the Third Presby- 
terian Church in Jay street (between Sands and High streets) 
was purchased for its use for the sum of .f 12,000, and, in June, 
it was occujiied by the mission. During the spring of 1872, 
the trustees expended about .f 13,000 in alterations, which 
made the building one of the best adapted and most attract- 
ive for the purjjose to be found in the city. This property is 
also wholly free from incumbrance and debt. 

The Superintendents in charge of the mission since its 
adojition by this church have been : Messrs. C. A. Van Wag- 
enor, S. F. Strong, George A. Bell and H. B. White. Mr. Bell 
took charge in February, 1872, and Mr. White in April, 1873. 

A reading-room has been opened, well supplied with papers 
and magazines. 

Bedford Congregational Church. — December 5th, 1848, 
was commenced the erection of a framed edifice, thirty by 
forty feet, on the corner of Pacific street and Clove road, at a 
cost of $2,300. Augtist 3d, 1849, the church was organized, with 
twelve enrolled members. It was once known as the Pacific 
Street Congregational Church, but its present title is as above. 

Among the clergymen who have labored here the following 
are remembered : Revs. Thos. S. Brittan, Dickinson, Henry 
D. Parker, Dr. B. R. Hall, E. Carpenter, H. B. Elliot, Greene, 
R. G. Hutchings, Cyrus Hamlin and (at present), Hvigh Smith 
Carjienter. Probably there have been others, but definite 
data for the histor}' of this church could not be obtained. 

The State Street Congregational Church.— The persons 
originallj' vuiiting in this organization, were members of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church in Brooklyn, who, desiring the 
establishment of a Methodist church with the Congregational 
form of government, formed a new religious society, June 
Sth, 1859, known as the Firiit Congregational Church of the 
City of Brooklyn. 

The Second Congregational Church, at the corner of Law- 
rence and Tdlary streets, was purchased, and regular reli- 
gious services held therein until January 1st, 1859. 



In October, 1858, the society purchased the lots in State 
street, near Hoyt, and erected a neat and commodious church 
edifice. The entire cost of the enterprise, gi'ound, building, 
and furniture, was $30,000. The corner-stone was laid No- 
vember 19th, and on the 17th of April, 1859, the lecture-room 
was occupied ; the church itself being dedicated on the 30th 
of June following. At a special meeting of the church and 
society, held January 9th, 1861, the name of the State Street 
Congregational Church of Brooklyn was unanimously 
adopted. 

Pastors: Revs. John C. Green, 1848-'53: James T. Bell, 
1853-'56; Washington Gladden, 18()0; Newton Heston, 1861- 
'64; W. W. Hicks, 1864-66; C. A. Harvey, 1866-'69; Maxwell 
P. Gaddis, 1 869-71; Isaac C. Meserve, 1871-'74. 

October 5tli, 1874, this church was consolidated with the 
Elm Place Congregational Church, to form the Union Con- 
gregational Clinrcli (if Brooklyn.. 

The South Congregational Church. — Messrs. Henry C. 
Bowen, John T. Howard, and James Freeland, procured lots 
at the corner of Court and President streets, upon which they 
erected an edifice for a lecture room. Sabbath-school room, 
and pastor's study; which was opened for public worship, in 
Feb., 1851. 

The church having been organized 24th of March, 1851, a 
meeting was held on the 31st, in the chapel, for the pur- 
pose of organizing a religious society, and the " South. Con- 
gregational Church" was adopted as the corporate name 
of the society. 

Rev. William Marsh was installed as Pastor June 10, 1851; 
followed in succession by Rev. Daniel Marsh, Jan. 16, 1854; and 
Rev. Rufus W. Clark, who was installed Aijril 14, 1857, in the 
Qew church edifice which was then completed for public wor- 
ship. Mr. Clark was succeeded, in 1863, by Rev. Edward 
Taylor, and he by the Rev. Henry M. Storrs, D. D. In 1874, 
the present Pastor, Rev. Albert J. Lyman, succeeded Dr. 
Storrs. 

About 1873, this church established, and has since main- 
tained, a mission scliool in Fourth street, near Smith, in a 
liired room. Supts. : Charles A. Parsons, S. S. Markles, and 
Andrew C. Bain. 

The Elm Place Congregational Church, Elm place, near 
Fulton avenue, was organized in 1853, by the members of the 
former Bridge Street and Fulton Avenue churches; the latter 
church being a short-lived sectssion from the Bridge Street 
Church. At about the same time the parent church was also 
disbanded, and from both arose this organization. 

Early in the history of the society, four lots had been pur- 
chased on Elm place, near Fulton avenue, and a small brick 
edifice erected thereon. Soon the auditorium of the Poly- 
technic Institute was occupied in the winter and sprmg of 
1859. Meanwhile, a building, called the Brooklyn Tabernacle, 
was erected in the rear of the corner of Hoyt street and Ful- 
ton avenue, at an expense of .|9,000; five years later this 
building reverted to the owner of the ground, in paj-ment of 
the rent. An edifice was therefore erected on the site of the 
chapel, on Elm place, at a cost of $50,000; which was con- 
secrated in May, 1864. Withm two years after its dedication, 
the debt was extinguished. 

Pastors : Rev. Samuel D. Cochrane, 1854-'56; Rev. Mr. 
Alvin Bartlett, 1858-'68; Rev. Henry Powers, 1869-71; Rev. 
Isaac Clark, 1871-'74. 

October 5th, 1874, this church was consolidated with the 
State Street Congregational Church, to form the Union Con- 
gregational Church of Brooklyn. 

Union Congregational Church w:is organized Oct. .5th, 
1874, by the cousolidation of the State Street and Elm Place 
Congregational Churches. The first place of worship was the 



1024 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



Elm Place Church cililit u, ami tUw huusc iu State street was 
rented toother congregations. In June, 1880, the house in 
Ehu place was burned, and the congregation removed to the 
editicc in State street, where tliey have since worshiped. 

In Ai>ril, 1875, Joseph Wild, D. D., became pastor of Union 
Church. He resigned in September, 1880, and iu December 
of the same year, the present pa.stor, N. Everett Smith, 
D. D., entereJ on liLs duties. 

Central Congregational Church, Ormond place, S. E. cor 
Jefferson st. The original church edifice, in Ormond iilace, 
occui)ied by this society, was erected in the year 1853, by 
Mr. R. L. Crook, a large holder of land in this neighborhood, 
with the intention of selling it below cost to some Protestant 
religious association. 

This house was, in Feb. 1854, rented for two years to 
Messrs. Wm. T. Cutter, Thos. W. Abbott, and C. N. Kinney. 
On the 37th Nov., 1854, a church of 48 members was or- 
ganized and Rev. Henry W. Parker engaged to supply the 
pulpit, as the Central Congregational Church. At the ex- 
piration of the lease, the congregation, being unable to com- 
plete the purchase, removed to the Van Buren Street Jlission 
School-house, where the attendance dwindled to 30 indi- 
viduals. At length, however, being largely aided by the 
Plymouth Church, and the Church of the Pilgrims, the 
society purchased the property; and, Nov. 16, 1856, the house 
was re-opened. 

The Rev. Mr. Parker, having removed to another field of 
labor, the pulpit was occupied by temporary supplies, until 
the Rev. J. Clement French was installed as Pastor, on the 
5th of March, 1857. 

In 1S63, the church was thoroughly renovated, both within 
and without, and a new organ placed in the gallery, all at a 
cost of about $6,000. Two years later, the house and lot. 
No. 13 Ormond place, adjoining the church, was purchased 
for a parsonage. In May, 1867, the building was provided 
with galleries, and the basement was extensively improved, 
at a cost of several thousand dollars. 

The Sabbath-school, estab. May 7, 1853, under charge of 
Mr. Wm. T. Cutter and C. N. Kinney, shared, of course, the 
vicissitudes of the church, and is now strong and prosper- 
ous, and doing good missionary work. Oct. 19, 1865, a 
Society was formed in it, "The C. C. Ch., S. S. Miss. Soc," 
which prosecuted its designs effectively for several years. 

In 1867, a few members of the ch. bought ground and 
erected a building, cor. Maroy ave. and Monroe st., and 
opened it as a Miss. School. After five years they surren- 
dered its charge, and it has since grown into the Washington 
Ave. Baptist Church, one of the most flourishing in the city. 

In 1872, the present house on Hancock st., near Franklin 
ave., was erected, at a total cost, including site, organ, and 
furniture, of .$116,000. It is 150 by 96 feet, with 1,850 sit- 
tings. The church on Ormond place was sold, in 1873, to the 
Protestant Episcopal Church of the Mediator. 

In 1874, a new building, 60 by 98 feet, for Sunday-school, 
lecture-room, parlors, etc., was erected on ground adjacent 
to the church, at a cost of |41,000. In 1877, the Society 
owed a debt of $64,000, which was extinguished within two 



Pastors: Revs. Henry W. Parker, 1854-'57; Justus Clement 
French, 1857-'70 ; Henry Martyn Scudder, D. D., 1871-'82 : 
A. J. F. Behrends, D. D., 1833-'84. 

Rev. Henry Mabtyn Scudder, M. D. (Coll. of Phys. & 
Surg., N. Y.), D. D., was born Feb. 5, 1822, at Panditeripo, 
Dist. Jaffrea, Ceylon, where his father, Rev. Dr. John Scud- 
der, was a missionary. He came to the United States in 
1833, was prepared for college at Stamwich, Conn., graduated 



from Univ. of City of New York, and from Union Theol. 
Sem. He wag ordained by the Third Presbytery of New York, 
and wiis ai)i(ointed by the Ainer. Board of Com. Foreign 
Missions a missionary to Madras, and soon after his arrival, 
in addition to his missionary work, commenced the study of 
medicine in the Med. Coll. of Madras, and after graduating, 
o))enod a hospital and dispensary in Madras, which is still in 
successful operation. He attained so much eminence there as 
to receive the honorary degree of M. D. from the N. Y. Coll. 
of Phys. & Surg., but made his gratuitous services there sub- 
sidiary to his missionary work. His health failing, he re- 
turned to the United States in 1858, and after a pastorate of 
some years in New Jersey, accepted, in 1864, a call to the 
Howard Presbyterian Church in San Francisco, where he re- 
mained till 1871, when he was called to the Central Cong'l 
Church in Brooklyn. Dr. Scudder has been through life an 
indefatigable student. His attainments in natural and 
physical science entitle him to rank with the first scientists 
of the present time, his linguistic knowledge including a 
complete mastery of many of the oriental languages. He 
has published but little, regarding his duties to his congrega- 
tion as paramount; but his few published works show that 
he is one of the ripest scholars of our time. 

Rev. A. J. F. Behrends, D. D., born in Holland, 1839; grad. 
Denison (O.) Univ., 1862, and Rochester (N. Y.) Theo. Sem., 
1866 ; was Trustee of Denison Univ. , and Rochester Theo. 
Sem. ; is Commissioner of Foreign Missions, and Vice-Pres. 
of Am. Miss. Assn.; previous locations : Yonkers, N. Y., 
1805-73; Cleveland, O., 1873-'76; Providence, R. I., 187C-'83 : 
author of published sermons; came to Brooklyn, Jlarch, 1883, 

Rochester Avenue Congregational Church originated in 
a Sunday-school, cnmnieucing iu .August, 1859, in a building 
on the corner of Patchen ave, and Chauncej' st,, which re- 
moved. May 1, 1860, to the basement of the German Lutheran 
Church, on Herkimer st. March 31, 1860, a society was org. 
called The Rochester Avenue Mission. Subsequently, a chapel 
was erected on the south-east corner of Rochester ave. and 
Herkimer St., and occupied March 17, 1861. This chapel was 
enlarged in 1865. In 1881, it was again enlarged. The audi- 
torium was reseated to hold 400, and newly furnished. 

A society termed "The Christian Brotherhood of the Roches- 
ter Avenue Mission,'" was organized; but, in 1866, was changed 
to a church of the Congregational order, and assumed the 
name of "CInii-ch of tiic Mediator,'' which was changed to the 
Rochester Avenue Congregational Church, in April, 1881. 

During the first two or three years, the pulpit of the IMis- 
sion was supplied by volunteers. In Oct., 1863, Rev. Bishop 
Faulkner became Pastor, and continued after the organiz.a- 
tion of the new church. In November, 1879, he was suc- 
ceeded by James G. Roberts, D, D. 

Puritan Church.— In Dec, 1863, several teachers of the 
Wallabout Pres. Ch. commenced a new S. S. enterprise in 
a store, 712 Myrtle ave. ; which, with the preaching services 
held there, resulted July 17, 1865, in the org. of the East 
Brooklyn Cong. Ch. In Oct. following, land, cor. of De Kulb 
ave. and Walworth st., was leased for ten years, and a tem- 
porary house of worship erected thereon. Rev. Chas. Hall 
Everest was chosen pastor, and installed May 23, 1866, On 
June 29, 1865, the present church name was adopted. June, 
1868, the present site, cor. Lafayette and Marcyaves., was 
purchased, and a new building erected and ded. May 6, 1871. 
The burden assumed in the erection of this new building, and 
the financial panic of 1873, greatly embarrassed the society, 
and retarded the development of its original plans. Mr. Ev- 
erest resigned Feb., 1877. His successors have been: Revs. 



EC GLESIA STICAL OR GANIZA TIONS. 




CENTKAL CONGKEGATIONAL CHUUCH, ORMOND PLACE. 



1026 



HISTORY 01 KINGS COUNTY. 




PURITAN CHURCH. 



R. E. Field, 187T-'81; Samuel Calcord, 18Sl-":3; Edward P. 
IngersoU, 1883-'4. The S. S. is large and flourishing ; 
specially notable for its large classes of young ladies. W. W. 
Shumway, Supt. 

Rev. Edward P. Ingersoll was born in Lee, Mass., 
18:W; grad. Williams, 185.5, and Andover Theol. Sem., 1863; 
was Pres. General Synod Ref. Ch., 1883; previous locations: 
Sandusky, O., 1863-'8; Indianapolis, 1868-70; B'klyn, 1870-83. 

Fifth Avenue Congregational Church. — Open air preach- 
ing was (-ommenced in 1863 by Rev. Newton Heston, under 
the patronage of Mr. Lindsay J. Wells. A Sunday-school 
and prayer-meeting, were at the same time established by Mr. 
Wells, in a store at the corner of 12tli st. and Fifth ave. A 
church was org. June, 1866. 

In Sept., 1865, Mr. WeUs, on his own responsibility, com- 
menced the erection of a tabernacle at the corner of Fifth 
ave. and Eighth st. This was completed at a cost, including 
the lots, of $3,500, and dedicated in January, 1866. In the 
winter of 1867-8, a portion of the members withdrew and 
commenced worship on Third st. , near > if th ave. , under the 
name of Park Congregational Church. In 1869, the two 
churches were reunited under the latter name, and com- 
menced the erection of a chapel at the corner of Sixth ave. 
and Seventh st. Tlie Rev. H. H. SIcFarland was engaged as 
a supply, and, in April, 1868, the Rev. Frank Russel became 
Pastor, continuing after the reunion. 

The chapel was completed in the latter part of 1870, at a 
cost, including site for a church, of about $40,000. The so- 
ciety is free from debt. Pastors : Rev. Frank Russell, 18C8- 
'74; Thos. R. Slicer, 1877-'81; John W. Malcolm, 1881-4. 

First Congregational Church (E. D.) was organized May 
28, 1843, by eight seceding members of the First Presbyterian 
Church. It happened, one Sabbath, in the latter church, 
that a colored man took a seat near the centre of the house, 
and was straightway requested by the sexton to take a seat 
back next to the door. This transaction specially impressed 
Samuel Wild, a member of the church, with the heinousness 
of practising cant in the house of God ; and he forthwith 
procured two lots of land at the S. W. corner of 11th and S. 
3d sts., upon which he erected, chiefly with his own means, 
the chai)el now known as "Bishop's Chapel," and occupied, at 
present, by the African Methodist congregation. The enter- 
prise, though not a success, as the world counts success, 
filled an office, in its day, as an exponent of the principles of 
rigid anti-slaveryism. The Rev. Samuel S. Jocelyn minis- 



tered to this church imtil the close of the War of the Civil Re- 
bellion. It was then disbanded, its white members uniting 
with the New England Congregational Church , its colored 
members affiliating with the colored congregation that has 
since occujiied its chajiel. 

The Rev. Mr. Jocelyn died Aug., 1879, in the fulness of 
years, honored by all, even those who had differed most 
from his opmions, for the purity of his life, the piety of 
his walk and conversation, and the coui'ageousness of his 
lirincii)les. 

The New England Church. — A meeting preliminary 
to the formation of this church was held at the house 
of Dr. Edwin N. Colt, No. 41 Fourth st., March 18, 1851. 
April 5th, public worship was commenced at Central Hall, 
cor. of 5th and So. 1st sts., under the ministration of Mr. 
Thomas K. Beecher; and, on the 21st of the same month, 
an ecclesiastical society was org. The New England Congre- 
gational Church was org. Maj' 26, 1851, and Mr. Beecher, on 
the 36th of June following, was ordained as Pastor. After 
January 7, 1853, when the Central Hall was destroyed by fire, 
tlie church worshiped in " The Odeon," in 5th, betw. So. 3d 
and So. 4th sts., mitil the completion of the lecture-room of 
the church edifice in So. 9th St., in July, 1853. In Septem- 
ber, 1852, the society purchased three lots, on the north side 
of So. 9th St., between 5th and 6th sts., on which the corner- 
st(jne of the present church edifice was laid, January 11, 
1853; and the building, completed, was dedicated on the 22d 
of the next December. 

The years 1858 and 1866 are thankfully remembered as 
years of special divine favor, in which large numbers were 
added to the church. 

The successive Pastors have been : Thomas K. Beecher, 
June 25, 1851, to May 16, 1854; Henry B. Elliott, November 
9, 1854, to November 19, 1855; William R. Tompkins, October 
9, 1856; Leonard W. Bacon, instaUed Mar. 30, 1865 ; council, 
Apr. 7, 1870; John Henry Brodt, installed Sept. 27, 1870, 
council, Sept. 37, 1873; John H. Lockwood, installed June 18, 
1873 ; resignation accepted, Nov. 15, 1878 ; council, Dec. 19., 
1878 ; Rufus Piercy Hibbard, installed May 28, 1879. 

The Church of the Covenant was org. in 1868, but the 
real history of the enterprise begins with the establishment 
of a Sunday-school in 1853, held under an apple tree, and 
then in a stable. Mr. Silas Davenport was among the jiio- 
neers of the mission. The neighborhood had been visited by 
Rev. Harvey Newcomb, and the first gathering was in the 
open air, Sunday, July 4, 1853, not far from tlie junction of 
Vanderbilt and Atlantic aves., then an open field. A garret 
in a small building was used one Sunday, and then the barn. 
This was the birthplace of Mt. Prospect Mission School. 
(See page 1033). 

In 1804, Rev. Anson Gleason began his labors here by invi- 
tation of the Clinton Ave. Church, and remained about two 
years and a half. Quite a number were converted, some of 
whom joined that church. 

Mr. Gleason was follo%ved by Rev. Franklin Noble, in con- 
nection with whose labors a church was organized Jan. 21, 
1868, of seven males and ten females. A council, March 10, 
1868, recognized the new church. Worship was continued 
at the hall, cor. of Atlantic and Grand aves., until 1871 ,when 
a chapel was erected on the cor. of Baltic street and Ciasson 
avenue. This was occupied for four years, when the congre- 
gation removed to their present sanctuary. This, a tasteful, 
brown-stone and brick chapel, was erected, at a cost, inclusive 
of land, of over .fl7,000. It has a seating capacity of 400. 
When, by pecuniar}' embarrassment, the society were unable 
to meet their liabiUties, Mr. A. S. Barnes became the owner 
of the property, giving them the use of the building, and 



ECGLE&IAHTl GAL OR GAISTIZA TION'S. 



1027 



has always been an unwearied helper of the church and 
Sunday-school; as he has also been of other similar enter- 
prises on "the Hill." 

Rev. Anson Gleason, born in Manchester, Conn., 1797; 
teacher to Choctaw Indians, Miss., 1S23-'31; to Jlohegans, 
lS32-'48; was Dist. Sec'y Amer. Board of Com. for Foreign 
Missions, 1848-'51; Missionary to Seneca Indians, Western 
N. Y., IH.'iil-'ei; was City Missionary, Rochester, 1S62; Utica, 
1S63; Brooklyn, 1864-'83. 

Rev. Franklin Noble has been associated with Father 
Gleason in the Atlantic Ave. Mission, and served the church 
that he was instrumental in forming until May 25, IST^t. His 
successors have been : Revs. E. S. Underwood, from June, 
1S74, to Nov. 28, 1875; E. P. Thwing, April, 1876, to 1880; 
Wm. Mackay, 1880; and, at present, Wra. II. Ingersoll. 

Rev. Ed\v.\rd Payson Thwing, M. A. (Harv.), Ph. D., 
born Aug. 35, 1830, at Ware, Mass. He grad. Harvard, 1855: 
at Andover Tbeol. Sem., 1858; located Portland, Me., 1858- 
'62; Quincy, Mass., 1862-'7; has preached in Europe, and for 
several months at Tolmer's Square Church, London; Pastor 
(three years) of the Church of the Covenant, Brooklyn; was 
Prof, (if Vocal Culture, Gorham Sem., Jle., 1870-'4; of Sacred 
Rlietoric in Tabernacle Free Coll., which post he retained 
four years — 1874-'8; lectured at Training College, Boston, two 
winters, and Bethany Institute, New York; author of " Drill 
Book in Vocal Culture and Gesture;" "Outdoor Life in Eu- 
rope;" "Bible Sketches," 1854; "Memorial of Thomas 
Thvi-ing," 1867; "Hand-book of Illustrations;" "Facts of 
Tobacco;" "Persian Queen," a Hymn Book; "Standard 
Hymns ;" member of N. Y. Acad, of Sciences, Victoria In- 
stitute, Philosophical Society of Gt. Britain; contributor to 
magazines and the religious press manj- jears. 

The present Pastor, Rev. William H. Inoersoll, was born 
at Rochester, 1837; grad. Columbia Coll., 1860; Att. Union 
Tbeol. Sera.; author of Art Christ, and Lore and Law in Re- 
ligion: located in Brooklyn since 1850. 

Lee Avenue Congregational Church was org. Sept. 30, 
1872, by the memliors who had formerly composed the Lee 
Ave. Reformed Dutch Church, the latter transferring their 
realty, personal property and memliersh'p to the former. 
Rev. Theodore J. Holmes was installed as Pastor Sept. 30, 
1872, and served two years. The vacant pulpit was then 
supplied by the Rev. Dr. Edward Eggleston, who liad been 
a Methodist minister in the West, but who was then occupied 
with literary work. In 1874, Dr. Eggleston accepted the 
pastorate on condition that the church became independent. 
His creed was summed up in the words " Christian En- 
deavor." He made his church unique in its independence. 
The Endeavor Club and the Shooting Gallery in the Church 
Parlor became famous throughout the land. Dr. Eggleston's 
pastorate was dissolved in 1879, and after a brief term of ser- 
vice by Mr. JIcKinlej-, of Minnesota. Rev. Wilbur F. Crafts 
accepted a call ; the independent attitude of the church was 
given up, and it returned to Congregationalism. Thus, in 
the brief sjiace of eight years, for the third time, the relations 
of the church were altered. A creed was adopted, and a 
council was called to install the new pastor, who allied him- 
self with the Manhattan Congregational Association. Liber- 
alism and orthodoxy did not, however, assimilate under Mr. 
Crafts" p;istorage, and, after many dissensions, the former 
withdrew and left the latter in possession. 

Shortly after tlie withdrawal, Mr. Crafts himself resigned. 
On April 2, 1883, a call was extended to Rev. Henry A. 
Powell, of the old Bushwick Reformed Church, which was 
accepted, and Mr. Powell was installed April 25, 1883. 

With three denominational changes in eight years, with 
constant dissensions and divisions in the church, it is not sur- 



prising that the great work in the Sunday-school was serious- 
ly interfered with ; whole classes — teachers and scholars in- 
cluded—left, and at one time it seemed as if the whole 
school would be disbanded. On October 29, 1882, when all 
was discord and confusion, Jeremiah Johnson, Jr., was again 
elected to the superintendency. He has brought order out of 
chaos, and the prosjiects for the future are very flattering ; 
already the school numbers 1,500 scholars and 150 teachers, 
and is rapidly increasing. The Lee Ave. Congregational 
Church has good reasons for encouragement, owning a prop- 
erty worth $150,000, liut slightly encumbered, and its audito- 
rium thronged at each service. 

Rev. Henry A. Powell was born in Chatham, N. Y., 1851; 
grad. 1873 from Union College, and, three years later, took 
a degree from the theological seminary connected with that 
institution. Mr. Powell has had brilliant success ; was 
admitted to the Bar, but he has no intention of giving up the 
ministry. He studied law while taking a course in English 
history at the New York University ; is a practical, common 
sense man, and a forcible speaker. While orthodox in belief, 
he is not bigoted. 

Lewis Avenue Congregational Church. — In 1873, Messrs. 
John H. Burtis, James Williamson, and Rev. Donald McLaren, 
organized a Sunday-school on the corner of Yates ave. (now 
Sumner) and Gates ave. Grace Chajiel was erected and 
opened in Nov., 1874, on Lewis ave. and Monroe st. ; and 
here, in August, 1875, Grace Presbyterian C'hurch was org., 
and Rev. C. E. Lawrence became Pastor. He was followed, 
in 1876, by Rev. Mr. Lucas, and he, in 1877, by Rev. James 
Hall; during whose pastorate the church adopted the Con- 
gregational form of government, and assumed its piesent 
name. Revs. J. Chalmers Easton ; Mr. Boyd, and G. W. 
Plaok, have since been Pastors. 

Rev. G. W. Plack was born in Altoona, Pa., 1856; grad. 
Lafayette Coll., 1879; Union Tbeol. Sem., 1883; settled in 
B'klyn May, 1882. 

Nazarene Congregational Church (colored), was org. July 
20th, 1873, with twenty members, mostly from the South. 
The first place of worship was a hall at Fulton ave. and Cum- 
berland St. They afterward removed to a hall, at Fulton and 
Clermont aves. ;then, in May, 1880, to the Athenasum Hall, 
corner of Vanderbilt and Atlantic aves. The American 
Missionary Association sent supplies to this church till 
1877, when Rev. Roliert F. Wheeler was called ; and has, 
since 1878, lieen commissioned by the Am. Home Miss. 
Society. 

Tompkins Avenue Congregational Church. — The Tomp- 
kins Avenue Congregational Societj' was org., and trustees 
chosen, July 6th, 1875, and the church established on the 
16th of the same month by twenty members. 

The Presbyterian Churcli edifice, corner of Tompkins ave. 
and ]\IcDonough street, was sold on foreclosure, July 9, 1875, 
and the trustees of the Tompkins Avenue Society obtained 
possession from the purchasers. In April, 1881, the church 
and society purchased this church property for 140,100, which 
was at once paid, leaving the church free from debt. 

January 1st, 1876, Rev. Charles D. Helmer became pastor; 
died 1879 ; followed by Rev. Samuel M. Freeland, 1879; Rev. 
Geo. F. Pentecost, 1880-84. This church has dismissed 
nearly 100 members to other churches, and has now a mem- 
bership of 450. In Sept., 1881, it opened a mission in Ellery 
street, where services have since been regularly held. 

In May, 1883, Mr. Pentecost commenced street preaching 
in the 21st Ward, and systematic visitation, and soon a mis- 
sion was established; lots were purchased on the corner of 
Park and Marcy Aves. , and a frame church erected, seating 
800, costing nearly $10,000. 



1028 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



Rev. Georoe F. Pentj;( iisT wms l>orn in Albion, 111., Sept. 
23, 1842. Wiien he was quite young his father died, and 
the lad was apprenticed to a printer; he emigrated to Kan- 
.sa-s, and was appointed to a position in the Governor's office; 
and afterwards to be Clerk of the U. S. Dis. Court, wliicli 
position he filled by proxy, being under age; returning to 
Kentucky he was converted in 1860, and the following year 
entered the College of Georgetown, Ky. Soon after he en- 
listed in a Kentucky cavalry regiment, as chai)lain, with the 
rank of captain. Desirous to devote his life to the ministry, 
he preached in Green Castle, Evansville, Ind., Covington, 
Ky. 

In 1867, he supplied the First Baptist Church, during the 
summer, and accepted a call from the Hanson Place Bap- 
tist Church, in Dec, 18(i9; three years later, he assumed 
cliarge of the Warren Avenue Church in Boston. In follow- 
ing years he held Bible readings and evangelistic services in 
many of the cities of New England. 

In 1880, he was called to the Tompkins Avenue Congrega- 
tional Church in this city. His profound study of the bible; 
liis clear, concise expositions of biblical truth; his vigor, 
earnestness and strength liave made him .a very successful 
Pastor. His Sunda.v afternoon services at the Academy of 
Music were productive of great good to the thronged au- 
diences. 

The East Congregational Church was org. 1877, with 
fifty members, mostly from Puritan Church. Their first 
place of worship was Liberty Hall, corner of Gates and Nos- 
trand aves. In 1878, a church edifice, seating 400, was 
erected at the comer of Tompkins ave. and Kosciusko street. 
The first Pastor was Rev. George C. Miln; he was succeeded 
in 1881, by Rev. W. C. Stiles, who resigned in 1883, leaving 
the church at present without a Pastor. The pulpit is sup- 
plied by Rev. J. Hyatt Smith. 

The Scandinavian Free Mission Church, org. 1879, is a 
Congregational Society, and originated in a mission that had 
been under the charge of Rev. John P. Swanstrom during 
many years. Its place of worship is a chapel on Pacific st., 
between Hoyt and Smith sts. 

Rev. Swanstrom has been the missionary in charge since 
the organization of the societj', assisted at times by others. 

The First Identity Church. — This congregation was or- 
ganized in November, 1880. The following preamble to the 
resolutions adopted by the church at its organization, ex- 
presses the peculiar belief of its members concerning the 
identity of the lost tribes of Israel and the Anglo-Saxons, 
which led to the establishment of the societ.y and the adop- 
tion of the name : 

" lV7)ereas, AVe are of the firm conviction that the ])eopIe 
now known as the Anglo-Saxons are the House of Israel ; 
that, a-s such, the prophecies and other references to the House 
of Israel, in the Old and New Testaments, refer to them." 

This congregation worships in Music Hall, Flatbush ave. 
The Pastor is Rev. G. W. Greenwood. 

Union Congregational Church, East New York, org. May 
17, 1883, by some from the Brownsville Congregational 
Church, and others who had commenced a Presbyterian mis- 
sion. Thirty members entered the church by letter, and in 
three weeks there were eight conversions. The members 
of the new church unanimously called as their Pastor the 
Rev. Curtis Graham, and he accepted the call. He had been 
a successful lawyer, but, after being conveited, left the bar 
for the pulpit. He preached in Saybrook, Conn., first in the 
Methodist Episcopal Church. In 1857, he was transferred to 
Kansas, where he was sent to the Legislature, to represent 
the Free Soil element. He had a very exciting experience, 
but stoutly maintained bis position; and, while in the Legis- 



lature, had a bill passed founding the Highland University 
and a Methodist University in the southern part of the State. 
He became a trustee of both institutions. President Lincoln 
subsequently appointed him a chaplain in the army. After 
the war, he preached in Easthampton and Narragansett, but, 
owing to a throat trouble, was compelled to retire for a time 
from the ministry. 

The land has been presented to them by Mr. Gilbert S. 
Tliatford. He has also given quite a sum of money toward 
the building fund. 

The new church is located on Orient ave. , near Liberty. 
It is a frame structure, one and a half stories high, very or- 
namental and attractive in design and finish. It is 35 feet 
front and 40 deep. The interior is finished in hard wood, 
and supplied with tlie most modern church furniture. It is 
one of the neatest churches in the town, and cost about 
S5,000. The Officers are: Trustees, G. S. Thatford, E. A. 
Wooley, H. S. Stewart, J. D. Glover, Robert Dixon, John 
Paton, N. W. Woolsey, Edwin B. Clayton and James 
McCracken; Clerk, Chas. H. Hay ward; Auditor, Charles 
Schwicker; Treasurer, Frederick Schwicker; Deacons. John 
Paton, William Bishop, Hamilton Van Sickle, Alpheus Lewis, 
Charles Wanser, Abraham De Graff and E. A. Stewart. 

First Congregational Church of Brownsville. — The church 
is located at Brownsville, a small but growing settlement in 
the south-western corner of the town of New Lots. It is the 
only church there; the next nearest church being the new 
one nearly two miles north-east of it. It was started in 
June, 1866, when meetings were held in members' houses. 
In 1867, the members decided to build a church. At this 
meeting, held at the residence of Mr. G. S. Thatford, he pre- 
sented them four lots on which to build. City Missionary, 
M. H. 5Iovvery, who preached for them, raised $3,000 to 
build the church; the Congregational Union gave |500 more. 
With additional money, subscribe<l by the members, the 
church was built; and, when dedicated. May 31, 1869, it was 
free of debt. The Rev. L. S. Davison was Pastor one year ; 
Rev. I. G. Lockwood served one year ; Rev. C. H. Paunell, 
who followed, remained eight years ; Rev. A. H. Kirkland, 
who was converted in the Plymouth Bethel (became a letter- 
carrier, and finally a minister), folhiwed, and preached two 
years ; he was succeeded by the Rev. Newman Wright ; the 
Rev. Courtis Graham followed. There was trouble among the 
members, and, although he was a good Pastor, he could not 
amicably hoal over the difficulty. There was finally a sepa- 
ration. He went with the seceders, who combined with the 
Presbyterians, and formed a new church, which, under his 
care, is progressing finely. The church, after he left, in 
searching for a Pastor, met the Rev. F. H. Decker, who 
preached for them sci successfully that they called him. 

Union Mission Chapel. — In 1862, several persons in the 
Eastern District estalilisbed a Sunday-school for poor chil- 
dren on the corner of South Eleventh and Second sts., in an 
unoccupied store. The school was afterwards removed to 
106 North Third st. Mr. J. T. Dill has been superintendent 
for twenty years. Religious services have been held, and 
clothing distributed to needy children. In May, 1883, the 
brick building at No. 155 North Second st. was purchased, 
and an extension will be built in the rear for chapel and 
school purposes. Trustees : Rev. J. J. White, Pres.; John M. 
Stearns, Treas.; Rev. N. W. Wells, Dr. Cauldwell, J. T. Dill, 
G. H. Codwell, F. Roberts, E. D. Forman, G. W. Kelsey. 

The Central Congregational Church, (see page 1024), by the 
advice of Dr. Scudder, estab. a Mission in the 25th Ward, on 
Ralph ave., near Fulton st. , for the purpose of carrying on 
missionary work among the poor people in that neighbor- 
hood, George A. Bell took charge of the Mission, and made 



ECCLESIASTICAL ORGANIZATIONS. 



1029 



a grand success of the work. The parent church voted the 
sum of $15,000 to purchase land upon which to erect a 
church edifice, as well as the Sunday-school Mission. The 
land was secured. It is a plot 100 feet square, on the 
comer of Ralph ave. and Cliauncey st. 

The work of erecting the new building was commenced, 
and the new church was ready for occupancy at the close 
of 1883. It is a frame building of the Gothic order of archi- 
tecture, with all the necessary accommodations, and erected 
of tlie best material ; finished in an attractive style, and 
with seatings for 800 people. Those who are acquainted 
witii the field predict that a magnificent work will be accom- 
plislied here; and that, in the course of five years, a church 
will be firmly establislied that will be nearly equal in size to 
the parent churcli. 

The New York and Brooklyn Congregational Association 
was tlie outgrowtli of another organization, known as the 
Manhattan Congregational Association, wliich was formed 
in November, 1841, at the Study of the Broadway Tabernacle, 
Rev. E. W. Andrews then Pastor. 

This Ass(jciation continued until the Spring of 1846, when 
the Netv York and Brooklyn Association was organized at the 
Broadway Tabernacle, March 16. 1846. There were present at 
this meeting Rev. Messrs. Dirk C. Lansing, Joseph Harrison. 
George B. Clieever, George Turner, William W. Wallace, 
Richard S. Storrs, John Marsh, Isaac N. Sprague, Amzi 
Camp, Luke S. Stoutenburg, and Joseph P. Thomson. 

No annual or semi-annual meeting lias been omitted from 
the date of its organization until the present time. At 
twenty -six of the sessions of this Association, young men 
have been examined in their preparation and fitness for the 



ministry, and recommendations have been issued to one 
hundred and sixty-three persons, two have been conditioned, 
and four rejected. 

The Association has put upon its record hearty expressions 
of active sympathy with the many societies and causes of 
benevolence and Christian work ; and obituary resolutions 
on the occasion of ihe death of ten of its members. 

Its meetings have been interesting and profitable ; many 
times vmiting with a conference called by the church at 
which they have been held; and they have ever been pro- 
motive of Christian fellowship among the churches and 
fraternal regard among its members. 

The following are Congregational clergymen residing in 
Brooklyn : 

Rev. Edward Beecher, D. D., was born 1803, at East 
Hampton, L. I.; grad. Yale, 1832; studied theol., New Haven 
and Andover, Mass.; was tutor Yale, 182o-'6; Pres. Illinois 
Coll., 1830-'44; located Boston, 1826-'30, 1844-'55; Galesbury, 
111.. 1855-'70; author of pamphlets and books: History of 
Lovejoy Mob at Alton, III., Conflict of Ages, Pax>al Conspir- 
acy, Concord of Ages, and others; located in Brooklyn, 
1870. 

Rev. Williams Ho\\t: Whittemore, born in Bolton, Ct., 
1800: grad. Yale Coll., 1825, and Yale Theol. Sem., 1839; lo- 
cated Rye, N. Y., 1829-'32; Charlton, Mass., 1833-'6; South- 
bury. Ct., 1836-'50; Prio. Sem. in New Haven, 3 yrs. ; Agent 
Nat. Freednien's Relief Assn.; located Brooklyn, 1868. 

Rev. Archibald Ross, born in Prince Edward's Island, 
1857: grad. Queen's Coll., Kingston, 1874; located Wolfe Isl- 
and, Ont., 1872-5; Brooklyn, 1876-84; author of pamphlets 
and newspaper articles. 



METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



Sands Street Methodist Episcopal Church. — The pioneer 
of Methodism liere was Thomas Webb, a captain in the 
British army, who began to preach "in his own hired 
house," near the barracks io New York, as early as 1766. He 
preached the first Methodist sermon ever heard in Brooklyn, 
about 1768. He was then about 44, and, because of his in- 
juries, was retired on full pay; but devoted himself wholly to 
the work of the ministry. Brooklyn at that time contained 
fewer people than Jamaica, and New York's population nuai- 
bered 20,000. A stormy period of twenty years followed, 
during which the Revolutionary war was fought. Nothing 
is known of Methodism in Brooklyn during tliis period. In 
1787, another Methodist preacher appears — the Rev. Wood- 
man Hick-^on. There were only about 204 Methodists on 
Long Island at that time. Coming up to Sands street, in 
front of where the church now stands, lie secured a table, 
mounted it and preached the second Methodist sermon in 
Brooklyn. 

A class was soon formed, and thus, about 100 years ago. the 
foundation of Methodism was laid in this city. In May, 
1794, the old Sands Street Church was organized at the resi- 
dence of Peter Cannon. The same year the first Board of 
Trustees was elected, viz : John Garrison, Thomas Van Pelt, 
Burdett Stryker, Isaac Moser, Richard Everett and Stephen 
Hendrickson. In September, they bought of Joshua Sands 
the lot on which this edifice now stands, and completed a 
church the following year. At that time the only other 
churches in Brooklyn were St. Ann's, dedicated 1787, and the 
old Dutch Church, dedicated, 1666. In June, the Brooklyn 



Methodists, who had been under the care of the New York 
Methodists, became a separate society, with a pastor of their 
own. Tlie congregation numbered twenty-tirree white people 
and twelve colored. Joseph Totten became their Pastor. 
Bishop Asbury, tlie only Methodist Bishop then in America, 
ill October, occupied the pulpit. In his diary of 1796, he 
wrote : " I went over to Brooklyn, where we have a small so- 
ciety. I had a very few hearers except those who came 
from tlie city (New York). 1 administered the sacrament. 
We liad some life." Under Mr. Totten's ministry of one year 
the membership increased from 35 to 39. He was succeeded 
by Mr. Phoebus who remained two years, during which time 
the membership increased to 81. Among the earliest Meth- 
odists was Hannah Stryker, wife of Bmdett Stryker, one of tlie 
first trustees. She was the first one m the church who died. 
Half a dozen uneventful years passed, save that the congrega- 
tion steadily increased. In 1804, under the pastorate of Cyrus 
Stebbins, the church was enlarged. At this time there be- 
came associated with the churcli a name destined to become 
widely known, that of Harper — Joseph Harper, grandfather 
of the original Harper Brothers, who came from England, in 
1740. He was elected a trustee in 1800. His home literally 
became the home of the Sands street ministers. As he would 
not name a price for their board, a special committee of the 
church fixed it at .|3.25 a week. The interests of the church 
were better looked after, when Joseph Harper became trustee. 
We find on the records the following resolutions : 

" Resolved, That there shaU be a new set of steps erected at 
the front door. 



niSTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



•• Jiesohrd, Tliat llie sextoa bo instnioted to have the 
church open and candles lighted at least a quarter of an hour 
before the meeting begins, and to see that the boys make no 
disturbance: also, that on dark nights when there is a public 
meeting to hglit the lamp at the church door." 

Considering the fact tliat the sexton only received |3o a 
year and a grave-digger's perquisites, it was hardly to be 
wondered that he sometimes gi-ew careless. The church 
prospered every way. The membershii) in 1808 was 250. 
Financially, they were situated so as to be able to tender to 
Joshua Sands flOO stUl due him on the church lot. He for- 
gave the debt, and they were able to put the money back in 
the treasury. In 1809, they raised sufficient money to build 
a parsonage. Tliey wished to buy a strip of land on High 
street for this purpose from Mr. Sands. He surprised tliem 
by making a present of it to them. Though an Episcopalian, 
hi-! name will ever be connected with the history of the 
church he so grandly befriended. In 1810, it was resolved to 
build a new church. The edifice then was 30x60, with an 
end gallery for colored people. It had been lengthened once, 
and the brethren wished to lengthen it again. 

The pastor, Rev. William Thatcher, opposed this, saying 
he could easier raise $3,000 to build a new church than $1,400 
for enlargement. His counsel prevailed, and thus came into 
existence the "Old Wliite Church." Its dimensions were 42x70, 
with three galleries. It cost $4,200. Bishop Asbury said it 
was an elegant house. The church had not been generous to 
its pastors, and when Mr. Thatcher was going away he said : 
"You are in tlie habit of paying $350 a year to a married 
preacher. New York pays $500, and let me tell you, no man 
has paid so much to support your preacher this year as Wil- 
liam Thatcher." The brethren had evidently not intended to 
be parsimonious, for they voted $400 for their next preacher 
and made up a piu-se of $60 for Mr. Thatcher. In 1821, under 
the pastorate of Lewis Pease, the membership was nearly 
doubled, becoming 401. In 1829, when Noah Levings was 
pastor, agam there was a notable work of grace wrought. 
Among the converts were thirty-five saUors, who requested 
their grog to be stopped. In 1837, during the ministry of the 
Rev. W. H. Norris, many were converted, the membership 
reaching 667. It became necessary to erect a larger building. 
January, 1844, a brick church (00x80) was dedicated. It was 
a fine building and elegantly situated, for Sands street was 
then the thoroughfare upon which resided the wealthy aud 
intellectual jjeople of Brookljn. Brooklyn then had a popu- 
lation of 60,000 and had been a chartered city for ten 
years. 

The church continued to prosper. A new parsonage was 
built. Dark days were approaching; $18,000 were expended, 
of which $10,000 were still due. Sunday morning, August 
11, 1848, four years after the dedication, the congregation 
assembled, not to worship, but to gaze saldy uj)on the ruins of 
their church, which had been destroyed by fire. The fire 
ruined seven blocks. They were disheartened, but the Pastor, 
Itev. iV. H. Morris, said "Rebuild." Under his zealous 
leadership the people rallied. A building committee was im- 
mediately appointed. Upon it were David Coope, Nathaniel 
Bonnell, Jacob Brown, Warren Richmond, J. J. Studwell. 
The present edifice, the same size as the foi-mer, was erected. 
From that time, thirty-four years, the church has continually 
prospered. It is the mother church of Brooklyn Methodism 
and literal mother of several Methodist churches. In 1819, 
the olficial board assessed the colored jjeople $10 a quarter 
for the support of the church. Four months after, it became 
apparent they would secede. In 1820, they formed a church 
of their own. In 1823, the York Street Church was or- 
ganized. 




SANDS ST. M. E. CUUHCH. 

In 1831, the Washington street society was organized. 
Each assumed a portion of the consolidated debt which was 
$18,500; Washington street taking $10,000; York street, $3,000; 
Sands street, $5,500. Hanson place Church was also born 
in Sands street — a committee being appointed in 1836 to see 
if ground suitable for a meeting-house could be obtained. 
Numerous other churches throughout the city owe much to 
Sands street. During the past twenty-five years it has con- 
tributed $700 to the Tract Society, $700 to the Sunday-School 
Union, $300 to the Educational Society, $700 to the Women's 
Foreign Missionary Society, $400 to the Freedman's Aid So- 
ciety, $1,000 to the Church Extension Society, $3,000 to 
the Bible Society, $3,000 to worn-out preachers, $53,000 
to Parent Missionary Societies — an average of $7,000 a 
y( ar. 

Ministry: 1795, Joseph Totten; 1790, David Buck; 1797, 
Jos. Totten; 1798, And. Nichols; 1799, Cyrus Stebbius; 1800-01, 
David Buck; 1802, Peter Jayne; 1803, Ezekiel Canfield; 
1804, Cyrus Stebbins; 1805, E. Cooper; 1806, E. Cooper, S 
Thomas; 1807, Ehjah Woolsey, J. Wilson; 1808, Daniel Os- 
trander; 1809, Reuben Hubbard; 1810-'ll, Wm. Thatcher; 
t812-'18, Lewis Pease; 1814, Sam. Merwin; 1815, Nathan 
Emory; 1816-'17, Jas. Crawford; 1818, Wm. Rose; 1819-'20, 
Wm. McCaine; 1821-22, Lewis Pease; 1823-24, Wm. Ross; 
1825, T. Burch; 1826, T. Burch, S. L. Stillman; 1827, S. 
Luckey, S. L. Stillman; 1828, S. Luckey, L. Landon; 1829, 
Noah Levings; 1830, Jas. Covel, Jr.; 1831, John C. Greene; 
1832-'34, Thos. Birch; 1835-36-"37; Barth. Creagh; 1837-'38- 
■39, W. H. Norris; 1839, Fitch Reed; 1840-41, P. C. Oakley; 
1842-'43, L. W. M. Vincent; 1844-45, H. F. Pease; ]846-'47, 
Nathan Bangs; 1848-'49, W.H. Norris; 1850-51, J. W.B.Wood; 
1852-'53, H. T. Fox; 1854-'o5, L. S. Weed; 1856-'57, Jno. 
Miley; 1859, J. B. Hagany; 1860-'61, B. H. Nadel; 1862-'3, 
L. S. Weed; 1864-"66, Chas. Fletcher; 1867, E. G. Andrews; 
1868, H. B. Elkins; 1868-'70, Rev. Geo. De La Matyr; 1871-'3, 
Rev. Geo. F. Kettell; 1874, Rev. F. P. Tower; 1875-7, Rev. 
Geo. Taylor; 1878-'80, Rev. Lindsay Parker; 1881-'3, Rev. 
J. S. Breckenridge; 1883-4, Rev. L. R. Streeter. 

The First Methodist Episcopal Church (E. D.), better 
known as the South Second Street Methodist Eiiiscopal, the 
first ecclesiastical organization in the village of WiUiams- 
burgh, and the second in the old town of Bushwick, was 
formed about 180(5. Its first house of worship was erected in 
1808, on the old Williamsburgh and Jamaica turnpike (now 
North 2d, cor. 5th); was repaired in 1821, and occupied until 
the present building was completed. 

The colored congregation, now at cor. South 3d and 11th 
sts., worshipped in the old building for some time, but about 
1845 it was burned. 

In 1837, the foundation of the present spacious brick church 
was laid, on South 2d st., between 5th and 6th. This church 



ECCLESIASTICAL OR GAJVIZA TIOISTS. 



1031 



was org. in August, 1838; its first trustees were David Gar- 
ret, Henry E. Bodvvell, Geo. W. Pittman, John L. Gray, 
Simon Ricliardson, and James Sparkman. Tlie building was 
dedicated Jan. 8th, 1840, when there were about fifty com- 
municants. 

In 1843, this cliurch first received a regular appointment 
of a preacher in charge from the annual Conference ; having 
previously belonged to the Williamsbvirgh circuit, consisting, 
with it, of the Newtown, the Cross Roads and the Wallabout 
churches, with one minister in cliarge of all four churches. 
Such has been the rapid increase of the congregation, that 
all the Methodist churches of the Eastern District of Brook- 
lyn (with the exception of St. John's) liave since been colon- 
ized from it. Notwithstanding this mother clmrch has sent 
out so many successful colonies, it continues full. The build- 
ing was unroofed in tlie great storm of 1S.53, but was repaired 
and enlarged, making it one of the largest Metliodist clmrches 
in this part of Brooklyn. 

In May, 1868, the society purcliased the jiresent parsonage 
adjoining the church for $6,500. In 1875, the entire interior 
of the church was refitted; and was, in part, remodeled, 
with an entire change of the front, making three en- 
trances instead of one; also adding a wing on the west, with 
a fine, large infant-class room capable of seating 300 scholars. 
Over this room is situated a large double parlor with folding 
doors. The expense of this improvement was about .$12,000. 
In 1883, the Sunday-school room, infant-class room, class 
rooms, etc., were again refitted, newly painted, walls and 
ceiling.^ frescoed, floors carpeted, etc., at an expen.se of 
|1,000, making it now one of the pleasantest and most com- 
modious Sabbath-school and lecture rooms in the Eastern 
District, with a lai'ge and prosperous school. The present 
church membership is about 650. 

Ministry: Rev. Dr. Coville, Wm. K. Stopford, 1836-37; 
Ricli Seaman and James Rawson, 1838; Wm. Thatcher and 
James Rawson, 1839; John LeFevre and C. Ross, 1840-41; 
Henry F. Roberts, 1843-'43; Paul R. Brown, 1844-'45; John 
M. Pease, 1846; Edwin L. James, 1847-48; W. F. Collins, 
1849-'50; R. H. Loomis, 1851; Harvey Husted, 1852-53; 
J. Miley, 1853-'55; John S. Mitchell, 1856-'57; M. L. 
Scudder, 1858-'59; Rufus C. Putney, 1860-'61; James W. 
Home, 1862-63; C. B. Sing, 1864-'66; Wm. H. Boole, 
1867-'69; G. L. Taylor, 1870; J. A. Roche, 1871-'73; J. 
Pegg, Jr., 1874-'76; John Parker, 2d, 1877-'79; A. J. Wyatt; 
1880-'81 ; Wm. H. Boole, 1883-83. The present Board 
of Trustees are: Chas. S. Potts, Peter Harkness, Benj. 
Potter, Nath'l Washburn, John C. Wolf, Dau'l C. Driver, 
Chas. W. Johnson, W. H. Bradford, Pliilip D. Schaefer, 
with Rev. W. H. Boole, President of the Joint Board of 
Trustees, Stewards and Leaders, and John R. Schryver, 
Secretary. 

York Street Methodist Episcopal Church is the child of 
Sands Street Cliurch, the congregation of which had so in- 
creased that, in 1823, during the pastorate of the eloquent 
William Ross, it was found necessary to erect another house 
of worsliip. Tliis, a neat, framed building, forty-two by 
fifty-five feet, with a small gallery, was built by Gamaliel 
King and Joseph Moser, at a cost of |5,000, and was dedi- 
cated April 6th, 1824, by the venerable Bishop George, who 
was assisted in the remaining services of the daj" by the 
sainted Summerfield and Rev. John Hannah, a delegate 
from the British Conference; thirteen candidates for the 
ministry being also ordaiued by the bishop on the same 
occasion. 

Among the original members were: Andrew Mercein, Joshua 
Rogers, John Cole and Benjamin Prince. In 1828, a par- 
sonage was erected near the church, and the congregation 



continued under the watchful eye and careful nursing of its 
devoted parent until it attained its twelfth year, 1885, when 
it was "set off" and " set up" for itself. 

The cluirch building was altered and enlarged in 1885; and, 
in 1851, a large and substantial brick building was erected, at 
a cost of 113,000. In 1853, the ground was donated by Rutson 
Suckley and sister, on which a lecture- room and school 
building were erected. The Sunday-school was org. 1832, in 
a room on the corner of Prospect and Charles streets. Mrs. 
Charles Carpenter (wife of the pastor) and Mrs. Bethnel 
Rogers, gathered in the children from the neighborhood. 
There were 70 present at the first meeting. The first superin- 
tendent was George Booth, popularly known as Fatlier 
Booth. The female superintendent was Miss Catherine 
Nichols. 

Ministry: 1835-'26, Stephen L. Stillman; 1827-'28, Seymour 
Landon; 1829-30, James Covel; 1881-'32, Charles Carpenter; 
1833-34. John Luckey; 1885-'86, Raphael Gilbert; 1837-'38, 
J. L. Gilder; 1839-40, E. G. Griswold; 1841-42, Seymour Lan- 
don, second term; 1843, John Poisall; 1844-'45, Buel Goodsell; 
1846-'47, Phineas Rice; 1848-49, William C. Hoyt; 1850-51, 
Joseph Law; 1852-'53, J. L. Gilder, second term; 1854-'55, 
George Woodruff; ]856-'57, Charles Kelspy; 1858-'59, John E. 
Searles; 1860-61, Elisha Sands; 1863-'63, William H. Boole; 
1864, Rufus Putney; 1865-'66-"67, Stephen Rushmore; 1868-'09, 
Charles Backman; 1870-'71-'72, James V. Saunders; 1873-'74, 
Charles W. Fordham; 1875-'76-'77, J. L. Gilder, third term; 
1878-79-80, A .C. Stevens; 1881-82, Duncan McGregor. 

Washington Street M. E. Church (Washington street, be- 
tween Concord and Tillary streets) was erected in 1881, at a 
cost of 115,000, and was set off as a separate station in 1885. 
It was then on the outskirts of the citv, which has since 
grown around it until it has become the centre of a dense 
population, and the parent of several of the most flourishing 
churches of the community. 

Ministry (since it became a separate charge in 1835): Revs. 
Stephen Remington. 183.5-7; J. B. Stratten, Robert Seney, 
1837-8 and 1847-48; James Floy, D. D., 1841-'2; James 
Sewell, 1842-'43; Charles W. Carpenter, 1845-'46; Daniel 
Curry, D. D., 1849-.50; John Crawford, 1851-'52; John Kenne- 
day, D. D., 1852-54 (two terms); Robert M. Hatfield, 1854-57; 
Charles Shelling, 1856-57; Jno. Kenneday, 1858-59; M. L. 
Scudder, 1860; F. S. De Hass, 1861-'62; W. F. Watkins, 1868 
-'65; A. S. Hunt, 1866-'68; 1869-70-71, C. E. Harris; 1873- 
'73-'74, John E. Searles; 1875-'76-'77, Daniel Goodsell; 1878- 
'79, D. O. Ferris; 1880-'88, R. T. McNichol. 

Tlie church and chapel are valued at $75,000; the parsonage 
(No. 265 Washington street), at ,$10,000. 

African Wesleyan Methodist Episcopal Church (colored), 
in the village of Brooklyn (Regular Line). The beginnings of 
this church originally located on High street near Bridge, 
have been noted in the history of the Sands Street Church. 
On the 18th of January, 1818, it was incorporated under the ' 
above title. Trustees : Peter Cruger, Israel Jemison, 
Caesar Sprong, Benjamin Cruger, John E. Jackson, Min- 
isti~y, (as far as known): Rev. Stephen Dutton, in 
charge 1823; Samuel Todd, in charge from 1839 to 1837; 
Richard Williams, in 1887-38; Wm. Moore, in 1839- 
'40; John Spencer, 1841-43; Edmund Cosby, in 1843-'43; 
William Moore, in 1844-'45; Ely N. Hall; 1850-'51; Israel 
Pateison, 1854; William Gardner, 1855; James Campbell, 
1856; James Morris Williams, 1857; Abraham Crippen, 18.58; 
Rev. Spekes, 1859; Richard Cain, 1860; James Morris Wil- 
liams, 1863; D. Doyle, 1866; Nelson Turpin, 1867; William 
Winder, 1869; Mowbray, 1873; James Morris Williams, 1873; 
Theophilus Stewart, 1875; John F. Thomas, 1877; John F. 
Stansberry, 1880-'83. 



1032 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



In 1854, the church property on High street was sold, and 
the present house of worship on Bridge street, between Myrtle 
avenue and Jolinson street, was purchased from a Presby- 
terian society for $12,000. 

DeKalb Avenue M. E. Church. — The first eflforts leading 
to the formation of this society and to the building of its 
church were a prayer-meeting, called by Mr. J. B. Keyes, and 
held at the house of Mr. John Robb, in Flushing avenue, near 
Classon, in the fall of 1836. The first sermon was preached 
June 18, 1837, in the new school-house in Classon avenue, 
and, on the same day, the Sabbath-school was organized witli 
eight members. 

In the fall of 1840 a church was begun in Franklui avenue, 
below Park, and the society became a part of the Williams- 
burg and Bushwick circuit. In 1841, the church"became a 
separate station, with Rev. Marvin Richardson as Pastor. He 
was followed by Rev. B. Story, under wliose labors the so- 
ciety prospered ver}- much. 

In 1846, the station was called East Brooklyn, and Ezra 
Whitney became Pastor. The Pastors following were: David 
Osborne, William Gothard, Joseph Henson, S. W. King, 
Buel Goodsell, Julius Field and Joseph Law. Through the 
labors of Mr. Law and the earnest co-operation of the mem- 
bership, the present church was built, and dedicated in 1856. 
In 1884, part of the membershij) witlidrew and formed a mis- 
sion in Tomjjkins avenue, which afterward became a pros- 
perous church. 

Pastors since 1856: Revs. J. S. Inskip, 1857-'S8; G. Dunbar, 
1858-'60; A. H. Mead, l860-'62; R. C. Putney, 1863-'63: G. L. 
GObert, 1864; J. W. Leek, 1865-68; D. O. Ferres, 1868-71; W. 
H. Warden, 1871-'73; W. P. Corbitt, 1873; S. H. Platts, 1874- 
77; C. W. Millen, 1877-'80; John Parker, 1880-'83; Wm. 
Burt, 1883-'84. 

The cliurch is now united and prosperous; membership 
about 600, class-meetings well attended, and Sabbath-school 
numbers 500. 

The Johnson St. (old Centenary) M. E. Church (Johnson, 
cor. of Jay) originated in the dissatisfaction of a large por- 
tion of the Washington street congregatif)n with the ap- 
pointment of a preacher to that station in 1838. In 1839, a 
new society was organized, and a church erected on Johnson 
St., cor. of Jay, 80 by 50 feet, for S8,000, which was finished 
and occupied in 1840. It received its name of The Centenary 
Club from the date of its commencement, that year being 
the centenary of Methodism. In 1868, the corporate name 
was changed to Johnson St. M. E. Church. 

Ministry : 1840, Benjamin Griffen; 1841, Jarvis Z. Nichols; 
1843-'3, James Young; 1844-'5, John M. Pease; 1846, J. C. 
Green; 1847, B. Griffen ; 1848-9, J. Law; 18.50-'51, J. G. 
Smith; 1852, Geo. Brown; 1853-'4, C. H. Whitecar; 185.5-6, J. 
S. Inskip; 1857-8, Heman Bangs; 1859, J. Law; 1860-'61, T. 
D. Stevenson; 1862-'3, Chas. E. Glover; 1864-'5-'6, William 
McAllister; 1867-'8-"9, J. E. Searles; 1870-1, F. W. Ware; 
1872-'3-'4, Francis C. Hill; 1875-'6, James L. Hall; 1877-'8, 
Wm. H. Russell; 1879-'80, Geo, Lansing Taylor; 1883, Barna- 
bas F. Reeve. 

Rev. Barnabas F. Reeve, bom at Southampton, N. Y. ; 
grad. Concord (N. H.) Biblical Institute; Prin. FranklinvLlle 
(L. I.) Academy, 1860-6; preached at Orient, L. I., 1866-9; 
CUnton, Ct., 1869-'71; Amityville, 1871-'4; Patchogue, 1874-'7; 
Brooklyn, 1877-'9; East New York, 1879-'81; Johnson street, 
B'klyn, 18Hl-'4. 

Mount Zion African Protestant Methodist Church was 
org. June 18, 1842, and incorporated in 1844, under \\ illiam 
Harden, a blind colored preacher, who supplied it till his 
death, in 1847. The organization then broke up, its member- 
ship mostly uniting with the African M. E. Ch. in High st. 



The first place of worship was a rope-walk, and after that 
was burned they met in private houses. 

Eighteenth St. (Sixth) M, E. Church.— The first M. E, 
services in this part of the city were held, in 1836, by local 
preachers in a private house; the use of an unoccupied Re- 
formed Church on Third ave. was offered them, and a class 
was formed, in wliich were Hamilton Reeves, David Downs, 
their wives, and others. After the use of the churcli was de- 
nied them, they met in the kitchen of a Mr. Parker, near the 
junction of Hamilton and Prospect aves. Here the church 
was organized in the fall of 1840. Rev. William McAllister 
organized a Sunday-school, with six scholars and one teacher. 
A small chapel was built on 18th st., near 3d ave., in 1842, 
which was supplied by local preachers until 1845, when the 
Conference placed Rev. L. Saulsbury in charge. In 1850, 
three lots on the south-west corner of 18th st. and 5th ave. 
were purchased, and the little church was removed to the 
new site. In June, 1855, two additional lots were purchased 
on 18th St., and one on 5th ave. The corner-stone of the 
new church was laid Sept., 1855, the church dedicated April 
6, 1856. In 1881, it was decided to build a new church in 
18th St. Tlie last services in the old church were held June 
4, 1882. The corner-stone of the new church was laid Aug. 
1, 1883. The church is a frame edifice, about 50 by 80 feet, 
and cost about $32,000. Ministry: L. Saulsbury, 1845; 
Henry Hatfield, 1846; Eben Heberd, 1847-'8; Henry D. 
Latham, 1849-50; George Taylor, 1851-3; William B. Hoyt, 
1853-5; M. N. Olrastead, 1856-7; Joseph Henson, 1858-9; 
Sam. W. King, 1860-1; Stephen Rushmore, 1 863-3: Albert 
Nash, 1864-5; George A. Hubbell, 1866-'8; Calvin B. Ford, 
1869-71; Ichabod Simmons, 1873-4; Rufus C. Putney, 1875 
-6; Robert W. Jones, 1877-'9; W. Warner Clark, 1880-3; Jno. 
.lohns, 1883-4. 

The Pacific St. M. E. Church.— In Oct., 1844, a few Meth- 
odists of South Brooklyn purchased the church edifice for- 
merly occupied by the South Presbyterian Cliurch, in Pacific, 
bet. Court and Clinton sts. The first sermon was preached 
by Rev. Dr. George Peck, then editor of the Quarterly Re- 
vieiv, Oct. 13th, and on Sunday following (30th) the church 
was organized, as the fifth separate Methodist station in tlie 
city, with 40 members. On the 18th of May, 1851, the con- 
gregation removed to its present beautiful edifice, at the cor- 
ner of Pacific and Clinton sts. It is of brown-stone, in the 
Romanesque style, and with a most attractive interior. 
Ministry: Revs. George Peck, D. D., Luther Peck, 1845; A. 
M. Osborn, D. D., 1846-'7; W. R. Stopford, 1848-9; John 
Kenneday, D. D , 1850-1; John Miley, D. D., 1853-3; R. S. 
Foster, D. D., 1854-5; John Kenneday, D. D., 1856-'7; W. H. 
Milburn, 1858-9-'60; J. H. Perry, D. D., 1861; M. R. Vincent 
and F. S. De Haas, 1864-5; Dr. Sewell, 1866-'7-'8; Charles 
Fletcher, 1869-'70-'71; W. S. Studley, 1873-'3-'4; A. S. Hunt, 
1875-'6-'7; W. W. Clark, 1878; M. B. Chapman, 1879-80; T. 
Stephenson, 1883- 3 

Carlton Avenue (Simpson) M. E. Church, cor. Willoughby 
and Clermont Aves. This congregation was org. as the Eighth 
M. E. Church, February, 1845. Though called in honor 
of Bishop Simpson, this Church has never relinquished 
its corporate name of "The Eighth M. E. Church," 
During the following summer a small building was 
erected on Carlton, north from Myrtle ave. On the 
34th of September, 1851, the corner-stone of a new 
church edifice was laid. This building, located on Carlton 
ave., south from Myrtle, was constructed mostly of 
materials from the old York Street M. E. Church, of 
wood, with brick basement, 43 by 97 feet, costing about 
110,000, and was then under the pastoral charge of the Rev. 
Nicholas White, Ministry: 1849, R, Seney; 1853-'53, S, A, 



ECCLESIASTICAL ORGANIZATIONS. 




SIMPSON.M, E. CIIUKCH. 

Seaman; 1854, J. H. Perry; 1855-56, J. W. B. Wood; 18o7-'58, 
Geo. A. Hubbell; 1859, Chas. E. Harris; 1860, C. Kelsey; 
1861-63, J. A. Roche; 1863-65, Francis C. Hill; 1866-'67-'68, G. 
L. Taylor; 1809, Rev. John Parlver; 1870-'l-'2, Richard 
Meredith: 1873-'4-'5, Wesley R. Davis; 1876-'7-'8. C. N. 
Sims; 1879-"S0-'81, James S. Chadwiclj; 1883-'3, Henry Baker. 

Grand Street, or Second M. E. Church (" Gothic 
Church"), E. D., cor. Grand and Ewen; organized Sept. 4, 
1845, with ten members. First Trustees: Lemviel Ricliard- 
son, Daniel Maujer, John F. Lutlier, Robert G. Thursby, 
Isaac Henderson, Charles Maujer. The corner-stone was 
laid Deo. 4, 1845, and the edifice dedicated Nov. 26, 1846. 
Ministry: 1846-'47, W. R. Stopford; 1848, John J. Matthias; 
1849, Samuel Meredith; 1850-51, Wm. C. Hoyt; 1853-'53, 
John Crawford; 1854, J. W. B. Wool; 186.5-'66, Seymour 
Landon; 1857, Abm. S. Francis; 1858-'59, Chas. T. Mallory; 
1860, D. A. Goodsell; 1861-62, F. Bottome; 1865, Geo. Tay- 
lor; 1866-68, J. B. Merwin; 1869-'70, George C. Dunbar; 
1871-72-73, C. S. Wing; 1874, R. C. Putney; 1875-'76, W. J. 
Robinson; 1877-'78, M. L. Scudder; 1879-'80, L. P. Perry; 
1881-82, J. B. Merwin. 

Rev. John B. Merwin, D. D.. born at Albany, 1812; grad. 
Augusta Coll. (Ky.), 1832; located in Brooklyn, 1866-'70, and 
1881-'83. 

Zion African Methodist Episcopal Church, E.D., was org. 
in 1832, by Tliomas AVilson, in his own house in 3d St., between 
North 4th and North 5th sts. From there the infant church 
of twelve members removed to a hired room in North 4th 
St. , between 3d and 4th sts. There Rev. John Churchill was 



employed as the first regular preacher. He 
also taught the first day-school for colored 
children in the village. The next removal was 
to the old Methodist CUiurch building, on the 
corner of Nortli 2d and 5th sts. The churcli 
then came under the care of the Zion Confer- 
ence. 

In 1844, on two lots of ground in North 2d 
St., between Union ave. and Lorimer st., the 
first church building owned by the congrega- 
tion was erected. The corner-stone was laid 
in 1845; tlie building was a plain wooden struc- 
ture, unijainted, and never quite finished. In 
1850, the church building was removed to De> ^e 
St., and destroyed by a heavy wind before 
was placed on the foundation. The church 
was rebuilt, but was burned in 1863. 

In 1865, a church building on South 3d st., 
corner of 11th st., was purchased for |3,000, 
and it was decided to build a new edifice, the 
corner-stone of which was laid Nov. 5, 1882: 
and the church was dedicated Feb. 11, 1883. 
The first Board of Trustees consisted of Samuel 
Ricks, Thomas Wilson, Samuel AVilson, Philip 
Groomer, Jacob Fields, Oliver Fields, and 
David Bush. The Pastors of the church have 
been : Revs. J. Churchill, T. Eato, J. Chester, 
B. N. C. Worrick, P. Lee, J. Spince, P. Coster, 
G. Treadwell. J. P. Thompson, E. Matthews, J. 
Wells, W. Marshall, M. Manning, W. Pitts, 
D. Kenneday, P. Hawkins, J. C. Biddle, N. 
Stubbs, J. Thomas, H. M. Wilson, and the 
present Pastor, Rev. George E. Smith. There 
are 90 members of the church, and 140 scholars 
in the Sunday-school. 

The Bethel African M. E. Church was 

organized about 1847, a house of worship was 

built, on the corner of Dean st. and Schenectady 

ave. It was a small wooden building, capable of seating 

about two hundred. 

In 1868, it was demolished, and the present churcli build- 
ing erected. It is a wooden structure, with a brick base- 
ment, and it has about 600 sittings. Its cost was |600. 

The Pastors of this church have been: Revs. Edward C. 
Africanus, J. P. Campbell, Jeremiah Thomas, William H. 
Ross, Geo. W. Ware, J. Morris Williams, William M. Wat- 
son, William Rogers, Edward Thompson, William Moore. D. 

Dorrell, Geo. W. Johnson, Francis Parker, Study, 

Charles Green, John Frisbee, J. J. Mowbray, John Thomas, 
and the present Pastor, William L. Hunter. 

North Fifth Street M. E. Church.— In 1847, a Sunday- 
school was org. in the public school, in North 2d St., with 
W. P. Coleman, Supt. Soon after, a church of 40 persons, 
chiefly from South 2d St. M. E. Church, was org. and placed 
under the care of Rev. S. H. Clark, of the Greenpoint 
Church. 

In 1848, a frame tabernacle was erected in 4th st., between 
North 5th and North 0th sts. The present church edifice on 
North 5th, near 4th St., a substantial brick structure, 48 by 
75 feet, seating 500 persons, with well appointed audience- 
room, lecture and class rooms, was erected in 1850. The 
first Trustees were: D. B. Betts, H. O. Austin, H. Bodwell, 
R. Bonsai, W. Johnston, W. P. Coleman, J. Briggs, R. White, 
and J. J. Cox. The church is prosperous, free from debt, 
and sustains a fiourishing Sunday-school. Ministry: Revs. 
S. Meredith, 1849-51; E. S. Heberd, 1851-'53; C. Gorse, 
1853-'55; J. Wildey, 1855-'50; C. T. Mallory, 1856-'58; M. 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



Staples, 1858-'60; J. D. Bouton, 1860-'62; S. W. King, 186a-'63; 
H. F. Pease, 1863-'64; W. F. Collins, 1864-'65; E. S. Heberd, 
lS65-'67; W. Platts, 1867-70; S. W. King, 1870-'72; G. Hol- 
lis, 1872-'75: C. P. Corner, ]87.5-'77; W. P. Estes, 1877-'80; 
"VV. W. McGuire. 1880-"82: S. H. Smith. 1882-'84. 

First M. E. Ch. of Greenpoint, Union ave., near Java st. , 
E.D., commenced from prayer and class meetings held by three 
laymen, Benj. Downing. Chas. Huff, and one other. It was 
org. in winter of 1847-'48, by Mr. S. H. Clark, who was Pas- 
tor for two years; during wliich time the present site was 
purchased, a frame edifice erected, and a lecture-room in 
basement finished for use. Ministry: 1850, Harvey Husted; 

1852, Julius Fields ; 1853-54, Geo. Hollis ; 1855-'o6, William 
Gothard ; 1857-58, Seymour Landon ; 1858-'60, Buell Good- 
sell ; 1861-62, Geo. Taylor ; 1863, John F. Booth; 1865-'67, 
Henry Asteu: 1862-69, John W. Leek; 1870-'71, R. C. Putney; 
1872-'73-^74, "W. W. Clark: 1875, G. A. Hubbell; 1876-'77-'78. 
J. W. Barnhart; 1879-80, W. P. Corbit ; 1881-82,-83, C. E. 
Miller ; 1871-"72, C. E. Harris : 1873-'74, T. H. Burch ; 1875- 
'76, J. S. Breckenridge ; 1877, S. H. Piatt ; 187S-'79-'80, W. 
H. Simonson; 1881-82-83, W. D. Thompson. 

In 1864, the congregation had so increased that a large 
colony swarmed to form the church known as the Greenpoint 
Tabernacle; yet, in 1869, there had been in the congregation 
a twenty-fold increase in 20 years. 

The First Place M. E. Church originated from a survey 
made in South Brooklyn, in 1849, by Mr. Charles Bridges, 
under the auspices of the Washington St. M. E. Sunday- 
School, for a position eligible for opening a Sunday-school. 
Some Baptists in that part of the city united with the move- 
ment for some months; and, when it was finally deemed best 
that it should be a Methodist school, the Baptists amicably 
withdrew and formed the nucleus of the present Strong 
Place Baptist Church. 

Church services were held, and, early in 1850, a society 
was organized. Lots were purchased on Hicks st. , corner of 
Summit. A church edifice was erected, but it was subse- 
quently sold for $7,000. Lots were purchased on the corner 
of Henry and Summit sts., and a church edifice, 53 by 75 
feet, with a parsonage, was erected. As the lots faced First 
place, the church was incorporated under the name, "First 
Place M. E. Church. The lecture-room was dedicated Janu- 
ary 13, 1856, and the church, September 14 of the same year. 

The cost of the entire church property was $34,000. To 
Messrs. Wm. B. Barber and Isaac Henderson the church is 
largely indebted for its financial success. 

Ministry: 1850, Rev. S. M. Clark; 1851, Rev. Gad. S. Gilbert; 

1853, Rev. Wm. F. Collins ; 1854, Thomas H. Burch ; 1856, 
Rev. Joseph H.Rylance; 1858, Geo. C.Robinson; 1859-'61, Rev. 
George Taylor; 1861-2, Rev. Charles E. Glover; 1862, Rev. R. 
M. Hatfield; 1863-'66, Rev. Alberts. Hunt; 1866-'69, Rev. John 
A. Roche; 1869-'7a, Rev. Wm H.Thomas; 1872-'75, Rev. Albert 
S. Hunt; 1875, Rev. John W. Barnhart; 1876, Rev. Chas. 
M. Giffin; 1877, Rev. Wellesley W. Bowdish ; 1880, John 
E. Cookman, D. D.; 1882-'84, R^v. W. W. Bowdish. 

Rev. W. W. Bowdish, D. D., born in Fulton, N. Y.; grad. 
Wes. Univ.; was Prof, in B'klyn Lay CoUege; located 
B'klyn and New York, 1866-'83. 

St. John's M. E. Church (formerly known as Third, or 
South Fifth St.), E. D., was colonized from the First M. E. 
Church of Williamsburgh, and was organized May 6, 1849 ; 
its first trustees being: James D. Sparkman, Nathaniel Briggs, 
Dr. S. Wade, Thomas Lewis, Wilham Y. Hemmingway, 
Gilbert Potter, Wm. Morgan, Geo. W. Smith, and Geo. D. Hub- 
bard. Ground was purchased on the corner of Fifth and South 
Fifth fits. , the Rev. E. L. Janes placed in temporary charge of 
the society, and services held in the lecture-room of the Re- 



formed Dutch Church, comer of Fourth and Second sts., until 
the completion of their building. It was dedicated July 25, 
1850, by Bishop Morris. The congregation increased and 
prospered, so that, in April, 1866, it was decided to erect a 
new building, and lots were secured for the purpose on the 
comer of Bedford ave. and Wilson st. At a meeting of the 
trustees, held on the 18th of the same month, it was resolved 
to call the church the St. John's Methodist Episcopal Church, 
and a large sum of money was contributed toward its erec- 
tion. This building was dedicated April 3, 1868, the sermon 
being delivered by the venerable Bishop Janes. The new 
edifice is built in the decorated Gothic style of the 13th cen- 
tury, of Belleville brown-stone, and has a frontage of 100 
feet on Bedford av., including 20 feet of parsonage. It ex- 
tends a depth of 167 feet on Wilson st., including lecture- 
room, etc. There are five entrances from the outside, three 
on Bedford ave. and two on Wilson st. ; and two towers, one 
ending in a spire, 180 feet high. The audience-room is 95 
feet in length, 68 feet in width, and 44 feet in height; with 
140 pews on the main floor, and 62 in the gallery. The pews 
are of black walnut, and capable of accommodating one 
thousand one hundred and fifty persons. There are, also, 
five class-rooms, one Bible class-room, a lecture-room, seating 
about four hundred persons ; parlors, kitchen, closets, etc. 
The Sabbath-school room, which, including the infant-class 
room, seats more than one thousand children, is the hand- 
somest in the city, and a model of elegance and convenience. 
The school has a fine library and organ, and is very flourish- 
ing. The windows are of stained glass, and the interior of 
the structure, the audience-room, is, at night, lighted by 
glass jets, arranged in a dome, similar to that in the House 
of Representatives, at Washington. The choir is in the rear 
of the pulpit, in a recess, around which are triple columns, 
from which the ceiling springs in rich ribbed work, etc. Be- 
tween these columns are the organ pipes. Altogether the 
church is one of the most complete in the city. The cost 
is from $225,000 to $230,000. The parsonage adjoining the 
church, on Bedford ave., is a neat, brown-stone dwelling, 
built in the same manner as the church. 

Ministry: Revs. E. L. Janes, 1849-50; B. Creagh, 1851- 
'52, F. W. Bill, 1853-54 ; H. J. Fox, 185.5-'56 ; E. L. Janes, 
1857-'58 ; W. S. Studley, 1859-'60 ; A. S. Hunt, 1861-'62 ; C. 
D. Foss, 1863-'64 ; C. H. Payne, 1865-'67 ; E. G. Andrews, 
1868-'69-'70; J. A. M. Chapman, 1871-'73-'77-'78; H. W. War- 
ren, 1874-'76; J. O. Peck, 1878-'80 ; Wm. V. Kelley, 1881 
-'84. 

Rev. WiLUAM "V. Kelley, D. D. (Wes. Univ.), born in 
Plainfield, N. J., 1843 ; grad. Wesleyan Univ., 1865 ; Prof. 
Math, and Sciences in Pennington Sem., 1866 ; Pastor, Burl- 
mgton, N. J., 1867; Camden, N. J., 1868; New Brunswick, N. 
J., 1870; Buffalo, 1873; Phila., 1874; Newark, 1878; Brooklyn, 
1881-'84. 

This church has been aptly styled '• The School of the 
Bishops," three of its Pastors, Foss, Andrews, and Warren, 
having become Bishops, while Bishop Harris was once one 
of its class-leaders; and Rev. Dr. Paj-ne, under whose influ- 
ence the present edifice was erected, is Presideiit of a Western 
Methodist College. 

Fleet Street M. E. Church, corner of Fleet and La- 
fayette streets, originated in the action of certain members 
of the Sands street and Washington street M. E. churches, 
at a meeting in the early part of March, 1850. During the 
same month, land was purchased for $4,000, and the erection 
of an edifice, fifty by seventy feet, and two stories high, com- 
menced. The congregation was organized in May, 1850, and 
the new brick lecture-room was dedicated in September of 
the same year. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ORGANIZATIONS. 



1035 




i^r 








1036 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



„'l^^ 



-.---Sf 




rt" lai <i} 




. ,,LL1 bild.1.1 ■SI. 1,. LllLi.Lll. 

In June, 1852, the Rev. E. M. Hattield was appointed Pastor, 
and the church edifice cotumenced. It was completed and 
occupied in the early part of 1853, at a total cost, exclusive of 
ground, of $27,000. In May, 1854, the Rev. J. S. Inskip was 
appointed Pastor ; and was followed, May, 1855, by the 
Rev. Dr. James H. Perry; April, 1867, by Rev. William 
Lawrence; April, 1859, by Rev. C. D. Foss; April, 1861, by 
Rev. J. F. Booth; April, 1863, by Rev, R. M. Hatfield (second 
term); April, I860, by Rev. B. M. Adams; 1868-'9-'70, S. H. 
Pratt; 1871-'2-'3, B. M. Adams (second term) ; 1874-'o-'6, 
W. C. Steele; 1877-'8-'9, J. Simmons; 1880-'l, JolmPegg, Jr.; 
1882-'4, Rev. J. Pullman. 

In 1859, the parsonage was erected and the lecture-room 
enlarged for Sunday-school purposes. In 1872, thoi'ough 
repairs were made on the church and lecture-room, costing 
about $4,000. The value of church, chapel and parsonage 
with furniture and ground is estimated at .$80,000, ff ee of debt. 

Rev. Joseph Pullman, D. D., born in Ireland, 1889; grad. 
Wesleyan Univ., 1863; ijrevious locations, New York, New 
Haven, Ct., came to Brooklyn, April, 1882. 

Summerfield M. E. Church. — Early in 1851, Messrs. Robert 
IbbotsoD, James De Gray, J. H. Havens and Daniel J. Darling 
united in erecting a church on the corner of Washington and 
Greene avenues, at a total cost, including furniture, of 
|5,800. 

The present church was erected in 1856, and ded. 
Feb. 22d, 1857. Its entire cost, including the parson- 
age and two additional lots, was about 140,000; the 
property being now worth !5i75,000. The seating capacity is 
1,000. The efficient services of Rev. J. M. Reed in superin- 
tending the erection of the church are remembered. 

Ministry: Revs. Chas. Fletcher, 1851-52; David Osborn, 
1853-'54; John M. Reed, 185.5-56; William S. Studley, 1857- 
'58; George R. Crook, 1859-'60; Tlios. J. Osborn, 1861; Chas. 
B. Sing, 1862-63; Levy S. Weed, 1864-'G5; E. L. Janes, 1866; 
J. M. Buckley, 1867-68; William S. Studley, 1869-'70-'71; J. 
M. Buckley, 1873-'73-'74; Albert H. Wyatt, 1875; Gea F. 
Retell, 1876-'77-'78; C. M. Sims, lS79-'80; W. L. Phillips, 
1881-83. 

Rev. W. L. Phillips was born in Troy, 1850; grad. Wes- 
leyan Univ., 1872; studied Boston Theo. School; located So. 
Yarmouth, Mass.; Fall River ; New Bedford; Brooklyn, 
1881-84. 

St. Paul's M. E. Church was formerly known as the Wil- 
liam. St. M. E. Church. Its buildings having been sold, the 



society was partially disbanded, being 
without a pastor.^ In April, 1879, the 
Rev. W. W. Bowdish, D. D., Pastor First 
Place M. E. Ch., was appointed to look 
after the society. He met with them in 
private houses until the present place of 
worship was secured and fitted up for 
Divine services. On the 1st of May, 
^ the Hall on Van Brunt street was 

\V is\ opened. 

~' The Sunday-school was org. May 4th, 

with an attendance of about 60, the pas- 
tor acting as superintendent. Jas. Boyd 
soon became supt.; under his direction 
the Sunday-school prospered greatly and 
in membership increased to 250. Too 
great honor cannot be given to him for 
his devotion to this work. During the 
first year, the pulpit was supplied by 
students from Drew Theological Semi- 
nary who contributed much towards the 
success of the work. At the close of the 
year, 62 members in full connection and 20 probationers 
were reported. 

Rev. Wm. Burt was appointed as Pastor in April, 1880. He 
remained three 3'ears doing efficient work. At the close of 
his pastorate, he reported 117 full members and 19 proba- 
tioners. The Rev. Millard F. Compton succeeded as Pastor 
in April, 1883. The church has been a great blessing to this 
part of Brooklyn. Statistics cannot represent the work of 
this heroic band of Christians. It is situated in the 12th 
Ward of the city of Brooklyn, upon emphatically missionary 
ground. The woi-k is among the men who follow our canals; 
sailors; the men employed in the Atlantic Dock, the Erie Basin 
and the ship-3'ards and factories that line the shore of the 
12th Ward. 

The congregation worship at j)resent in a " hired room " on 
Van Brunt st. The society expects to build a church, in the 
near future, on their property, corner of Richards and Sullivan 
streets. 

Warren Street M. E. Church.— Prior to 1852, a small 
room, for religious meetings was fitted up at 313 Baltic St., 
by Caleb Leverich. In 1852, he set apart the upper stories of 
three contiguous houses, in Butler st., for the use of tha 
Hedding Mission, which was established during that year. 
In 1853, the mission was united with that of Hicks St.; 
but, on the formatioii of the Hicks Street Church, it was left 
alone; and, in 1855, it removed to the old Reformed Dutch 
Church, on the corner of Court and Butler sts. ; soon after- 
ward, to a hall, cor. of Court and Sackett sts.; and in 1858, 
to the parlor of a house on Warren st. 

In 1S59, the church was incorporated under its present 
name, and the site of the present church building, on War- 
ren St., was purchased for !|!7,150. The corner-stone of the 
church building was laid Nov. 10th, 1859, the basement was 
dedicated June 24th, 1860, and the audience-room July 14th, 
1861. Its cost was about $22,750. 

In 1869, it was renovated and refurnished at an expense of 
■$2,600. It is a brick structure. While the society was a 
mission it was supplied by the Local Preachers' Association, 
and Matthias E. Willing, 1852, William F. Collins, 1853, Al- 
bert Nash, 1854-55; Joseph Palmer, 1856-'57, officiated. 

The first Pastor, after the organization of the church, was 
Joseph Law; succeeded by Revs. John Mitchell, 1861; Abram 
S. Francis, 1862-"63; Elislia Sands, 186i-'65; Wellesley W. 
Bowdish, 1866-'67-'68; George A. Hubbell, 1869-'70-'71; Ed- 
win F. Hadley, 1872; J. V. Saunders, 1873; John Parker, 



ECCLESIASTICAL ORGANIZATIONS. 



1037 



1874-'75-'76; C. W. Gallagher, 1877-'78-'79; Spencer H. Bray, 
1880; A. Stevens, 18S1; A. S. Kavanagh, 1883-83. 

Summerfield M. E. Mission, Park ave., bet. Spencer and 
Walworth sts., is the continuation of the East Brooklyn First 
Mission Sabbath-school and Society, founded in Oct., 1851, 
by the Rev. Harvey Newcomb. The first building occupied 
by it was an academy building in Skillman st. 

In 1853, the society was org., and lots purchased on Park, 
ave., bet. Spencer and Walworth sts., where a wooden chapel 
was built, and opened first in Feb., 1861. This was enlarged 
in 1869, and will now accommodate 300 people. 

From its foundation to 1874, it was conducted by workers 
chiefly from the Franklin Avenue Presbyterian Church. 
During nearly the whole of this time, the Sabbath-school, 
which was its chief feature, was superintended by Mr. John 
C Cook, of that church. 

In 1874, it was relinquished to the M. E. Oh., a society of 
which denomination was org. in it, largely by the labors of 
the late Rev. A. S. Francis, in recognition of which, the 
church that was formed was called the Francis M. E. Church. 
Ministry: Revs. Brower, 1877; Nathan Hubbell, 1878; J. 
Pilkinton, 1880; J. S. Whedon, 1881. W. Platts, 1888. 

In the spring of 1883, the organization, which had strug- 
gled under great difficulties in its history, was taken under 
the care of the Summerfield M. E. Church of Washington 
ave., and its name changed to its present style, the Summer- 
field Mission. Its present Pastor is the Rev. William Platts. 
Its membership is 60. The membership of tlie Sabbath- 
school is '200. 

The South Third M. E. Church, cor. Union ave., E. D., 
was org. 1854, by members from the old South 3d Street 
Church. Ministry: 1854-'55, A. S. Francis; 1856, L. C. 
Cheney; 1857, Daniel Curry; 1858-'59, Sam. W. King; 1860-61, 
J. S. Peck; 1803, Benj. Pillsbury; 1864-'65, J. S. Inskip; 
1866-'68, A. C. Eggleston; 1869-'7a-'71,W.T. Hill; 1873-'73-'74, 
F. W. Ware; 1875-76, I. Simmons; 1877-"7&-'79, W. C. Steele; 
1880-'81-'83, A. S. Graves; 1883, F. Brown. 

The First German M. E. Church of Brooklyn, was org. 
in 1855, with about 35 members. They worshiped first in a 
private house in Atlantic street. 

In 1857, the present house of worship was built on Wyckoff 
street, bet. Smith and Hoyt sts. It is a brick building, with 
300 sittings. The church is now called the Wyckoff Street 
M. E. Church. 

The Pastors of this church have been Rev. J. W. Freind, 
1858-'59; Frederick F. Zimmerman, 1860-61; Henry Rasten- 
deick, 1863-63; Frederick Bonn, 1864; William H. Kurth, 
1865-'66-'67; Francis G. Gratz, 1868; F. Rey, 1869; George 
Abele, 1870-'71; Christian F. Grimm, 1873-'73-'74; Jacob 
WolflE, 1875-'76-'77; C. Jost, 1878-'79-'80; C. A. Brockmeier, 
1881. 

The New York Ave. M. E. Church originated in a prayer 
meeting which was established in the latter part of 1855, on 
the old Clove road, near the present Eastern Parkway, by 
John McKillop, a local preacher, and his wife. Meetings 
•were at first held in a private house; but, in March, 1856, a 
house was hired for a temporary chapel. In June of the 
same year a church organization was effected, under the 
name, "Nathan Bangs M. E. Church." A plain church 
building was erected on what is now Nostrand ave., between 
Butler and Douglass sts., and ded. in March, 1857. Its cost 
was .f4,376. In 1873, the property of St. Andrew's P. E. 
Church, on New York ave. was purchased for |13,500, and 
the present name adopted. 

In the latter part of 1880, the building was thoroughly ren- 
ovated and enlarged, and a chapel, 90 by 34 feet, erected. 
The seating capacity of the church is about 500. 



While the church was known as the Nathan Bangs Church, 
it was served by the following Ministers : 1857-'8, Rev. S. H. 
Piatt; 1859-'60, A. S. Hunt; 1861, A. C. Eggleston; 1863-3; 
W. F. Hatfield; 1864. John McKillop (local preacher); 1865-'6, 
H. P. Shepherd; 1867-'8, John McKillop; 1869, A. S. Francis, 
1870, to April, 1873, D. McMullen. Subsequent Ministry : H. 
B. Hibben and D. H. Hanebergh, till April, 1874; 1874-'.5-'6, 
G. L. Westgate; 1877, T. R. Slicer, J. T. Gracey; 1878-'9-'80, 
D. A. Goodsell; 1881, L. S. Weed, D. D.; 1873, N. G. Chee- 
ney. 

Hanson Place M. E. Church, Hanson place, cor. of St. 
Felix St., was first Dean St. M. E. Church, which was reorg. 
January 3, 1858, under its present name. In that year a 
very neat and commodious church edifice was erected, and 
dedicated by Bisliop Janes Jan. 3, 1858. When it was 
opened, there were but seventy members of the church. 
There are now 1,100. Pastors: Rev. Joseph Law; 1859-60, 
James H. Perry; 1861-3. Cyrus D. Foss; 1863-'4-'5, G. W. 
Woodruff; 1866-'7-'8, W. F. Watkins; 1869-'70-'l, A. S. Hunt; 
1873-'3-'4, Emory F. Haynes; 1875-'6-'7, Geo. E. Reed; 1878 
-■9-80, J. M. Buckley, D. D.; 1881-'3-'3, J. O. Peck, D. D. 

In 1873, the church was taken down and a larger edifice 
erected on the same site; and the new house was dedicated, 
.also, by Bishop Janes, on the first Sunday in January, 1873. 
This building is faced with Philadelphia brick, and trimmed 
with Ohio free-stone. The auditorium is of the ampliitheatre 
form, and has two galleries. Its seating capacity is 1,-500. 

At the rear of the church is a Sabbath-school room and 
chapel, with accommodations for 1,000, and with the usual 
class-rooms, etc. The Christian Union connected with the 
church numbers 180 members, and presents attractive pro- 
grammes at its semi-monthly meetings. Officers, 1883-'4 : 
R. E. Selmes, Pres.; E. M. Travis, Vice-Pres.; Chauncey W. 
Browne, Rec. Sec; Louise Gilbert, Cor. Sec; Chas. R. Ran- 
dall, Treas. 

Eev. J. O. Peck, D. D., born inGroton,Vt.; grad. Amherst, 
1863; author of published sermons; located at No. Amherst, 
1860; Chicopee Falls, 1861; Chelsea, Mass., 1863-3; Lowell, 
1864-'6; Worcester, 1867-9; Springfield, 1870-'3; Chicago, 
1873-'5; Baltimore, 1875-8; Brooklyn, 1878-83. 

Janes Methodist Episcopal Church, Reid ave., cor. Mon- 
roe St., had its origin as .Janes 3Ussion, in a Sunday School 
organized in a private house in June, 1858, by Daniel North- 
rup, of Washington Avenue Methodist Episco])al Church. 

Ebenezer Willson and wife, of Nathan Bangs' Church on 
Clove road (now New York Avenue Church), afterward hired 
a house on the cor. of Patchen ave. and Madison st., where 
the Sunday-school was continued with class-meeting, prayer- 
meeting and occasional preaching. The building was desig- 
nated by a white flag by day, and a lantern by night. 

The preacliing was for several years provided by the Local 
Preachers' Association of Brooklyn, prominent among whom 
was Rev. John McKillop, of Nathan Bangs' Church. Rev. 
Job G. Bass, a local preacher, was acting pastor for about 
two years. During his ministry lots were bought on the 
south-east cor. of Reid ave. and Jlonroe St., and a frame 
church erected (36x60 feet), at a cost of .$3,600. 

The first Board of Trustees were: Jabez Ross, John W. 
Brush, Gilbert Draper, David B. Morehouse, John McKillop, 
Ebenezer Willson and William Taylor. 

The church was ded. by Bishop Janes, Nov. 30, 1859. A 
year afterwards. Rev. Charles Packman was appointed to 
take charge of the church, which then consisted of eleven 
members and twelve probationers. He remained uutil the 
spring of 1863. 

The Pastors succeeding him were: Rev. A. C. Eggleston, 
1863; Rev, Wra. H. Simonson, 1863-'4-'5; Eev. Henry C. 



1038 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



Glover, 1866-'7-'8; Re\. Win. 1£. Russell, 1871-'2-'3; Rev. J. 
H. Stansberry, 1874-*5-"6; Rev. Geo. L. Thompson, 1877-'8-'9: 
Rev. I. Simmons, 18S0-'l-'3; Rev. Robt. W. Jones, 1883-"4. 
In 1868, a Sunday-school room was added, and the audito- 
rium iniproved. 

New lots were bought on the south-west cor. of Reid ave. 
and Monroe st., in 1882, for $4,100. Plans were drawn for a 
new church in June, 1883, by Mr. John Welch, architect, 
90x65 feet, of brick with stone trimmings, to cost $30,000, 
with a seating capacity for 1,000 persons. 

The Sunday-school, which was really the mother of the 
church, has kept in advance of her interests and now num- 
bers 600 scholars. 

Its superintendents have been Daniel Northi-up, Ebeiiezer 
Wilson, Gilbert Draper, Peter Backman, Wm. A. Fitch, 
Samuel B. Terry, Allen R. Jollis, J. T. McFall, Alfred E. 
Pearsall, H. C. StoothofE, Charles L. Potter, Hiram Bedell, 
James H. Jlclntosh. 

Rev. Robt. W. Jones, born in Bethlehem, Pa. ; grad. Wes- 
leyan Univ., 1871; located in Cochranville, 1862-3; Enter- 
prise, Pa., and Philadelphia, 1864-'5; Windsor, Ct, 1868-'70; 
Hartford, Ct., 1871-'3: Norwalk, Ct., 1874-'6; B'klyn, 1877-'9; 
Flushing, L, I., 18S0-"2; B'klyn. 1883-'4. 

Rev. Job Gardiner Bass, bom 1816, in Charleston, S. C, 
was Chaplain 90th N. Y. Vols., 1861-5; of Seaman's Fiiend 
Soc. two years; of Kings Co. Jail and Penitentiary, 1867-84; 
located B'klyn, 1855. 

Nostrand Avenue M. E. Church. — A mission was estab- 
lished, in 1860, at the residence of Ebenezer Wilson, on 
Quincy st., near Nostrand ave. In 1861, it was removed to 
a building, erected for the purpose by Mr. Wilson, on Gates 
ave., near Nostrand. 

In June, 1862, the mission was org. as the Gates Ave. M. E. 
Ch. Having again outgrown its accommodations, it was re- 
org., in 1865, under its present name. A place of worship 
was erected on the corner of Quincy st. and Nostrand ave., 
which was occupied in April, 1867. 

In 1876, a parsonage was built ; and, in 1881, the present 
edifice (see opposite page) was completed, at a cost of $31,750. 
Tlie total value of the church i)roperty is $70,000. The seat- 
ing capacity is 1,225. The acoustic arrangement of the audi- 
torium is one of the best in the country. 

Ministry: Revs. Stephen Rushmore, 1861; S. M. Hammond 
(1st Pa-stor appointed by the conference), 1865-'66-'67; R. S. 
Rust, 1868-'69 ; C. E. Glover, 1870-'71-'73 ; M. Griffin, 1873- 
'74-'75; James Pullman, 1876-'77-'78; Geo. W. Woodruff, 
D. D., 1879-80; Geo. E. Reed, 1881-83. 

Rev. Geo. E. Reed, born at Brownville, Me., 1846 ; grad. 
Wesleyan Univ., 1869; and Boston Theol. Sem.; located at 
Fall River, Mass., Stamford, Ct., and Bklyn., 187.5-'78-'81- 83. 

Fleet Street Bethel (colored) Af. M. E. Church was an 
offshoot from the Wesleyan African M. E. Church, Bridge 
St., about 1861. In that year, the church edifice of St. 
Mark's Church (Episcopal), was purchased at $6,500. The 
congregation was, from the first, numerous. The first Pastor 
was Rev. (now Bishop) R. H. Cain, followed, in 1865, by Rev. 
Joshua Woodlyn, and he, in succession, by Revs. Theodore 
Gould (now Business Manager of A. M. E. Book Concern), in 
1868 ; Robert J. Wayman, 1871 ; J. B. Murray, 1874 ; C. T. 
Schaffer, 1877; H. H. Lewis, 1881-'83; Geo. Dardis, 1883. In 
1881, the church was enlarged, renovated, and refitted, at an 
expense of $4,000. 

During the pastorate of Rev. J. B. Murray, the Metro- 
politan Mission was established, by a portion of the members 
of tbis society. 

Greenpoint Tabernacle was commenced 1864, by members 
of the M. E. Ch. of Greenpoint, under the leadership of Rev. 



J. F. Booth. In January, 1870, a new and commodious 
building was dedicated. It is of brick, massive in appear- 
ance, surmounted by a high-peaked roof, is 90 feet in length, 
by 60 feet wide, with a large extension containing class- 
rooms, infant-class, and church parlors. The church affords 
1,100 seats, with standing room for 200 more; while the base- 
ment seats 700 persons. Value of real estate and building, 
about $80,000. It is a prosperous church, with a very large 
Sunday-school, and exerts a wide influence in the neighbor- 
hood where it is located. Ministry: 1864, J. F. Booth ; 1866- 
'67, D. A. Goodsell; 1869-70-71, Freeman P. Tower; 1872, 
C. E. Harris ; 1873-'74, T. H. Burch ; 1875-'76, J. S. Brecken- 
ridge ; 1877, S. H. Piatt ; 1878, J. W. Barnhart ; 1879-'80, W. 
H. Simonson; 1881-'82-'83, W. D. Thompson. 




THE WILLOUGHBT AVENUE M. E. CHURCH. 

Th e Tompkins (or Willoughby) Avenue M. E. Church. — 
In 1865,=^ many members of DeKalb Ave. M. E. Church 
were dissatisfied with the Pastor sent them by conference, 
the Rev. Gad Smith Gilbert, and, on March 16, forty-two of 
his adherents withdrew and organized John Wesley M. E. 
Church, but were incorporated as the "Tompkins Ave. M. E. 
Church.''' 

Lots on the north-west corner of Tompkins and Willoughby 
avenues were secured, and a Tabernacle, costing $1,900, was 
immediately erected and occupied ten days later. Rev. Gad 
Smith Gilbert became the first Pastor. The corner-stone of 
the present edifice was laid April 25th, 1867. On August 2, 
1868, it was dedicated by Bish. Janes. In 1872, a chapel was 
added. These are frame structures in the modern gothic 
style, with stained-glass windows. They occupy land front- 
ing 100 feet on Tompkins ave., and 120 on Willoughby ave. 
The church is 75 by 60 ft. in size, with galleries on three 
sides and a seating capacity of 1,200. The chapel is 33 ft. wide 
by 60 ft. deep. The entire cost of buildings and land was 
$46,169.84. 

On Aug. 6, 1868, a number of the members, who were dis- 
satisfied with the conference appointment of pastor, withdrew 
and held their first service as the Greene Ave. M. E. Clmrch. 

The Wesley Church became more and more involved in 
debt. The membership increased to 330. The Sabbath-school 
numbered 270. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ORGANIZATIONS. 



1039 




NOSTKAND AVENUE M. E. CHURCH. 



1040 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



Ministry as follows : 1865, Rev. Gad Smith Gilbert; 1866- 
'69, Rev. Francis C. Hill; 1869-'71, Rev. J. W. Barnhart; 
1871-74, Rev. C. B. Ford; 187-l-'77, Rev. Frederick Brown; 
1877-'79, Rev. J. H. Stansbury. In 1879, the debt was 
nearly $40,000. 

In March, 1879, the property was sold under foreclosure, 
and purchased by the Williamsburgh Savings Bank for 
$15,000. Subsequently, Miss Anna Oliver contracted with 
the bank for its purchase for $14,000. The first thousand 
was paid by voluntary contributions from four men and 



the New York East Conference. It was decided to postpone 
the raising of the purchase price untU the church should 
have demonstrated its ability to continue. The church and 
donors of the first thousand requested Jliss Oliver to hold 
the property in her name. This she reluctantly consented 
to do, at the same time declaring that she held it for the 
church. 

A bill was sought from the Legislature to vest the title to 
the property in the following Board of Tnistees : Rev. Wm. 
H. Warren, D. D., Pres. Boston University; Rev. J. E. Lati- 





"""^sss^^ 






I: pfi^iiiM'iE 



'//i. . ■ 






Jli'Kf 11 ^< 



;itA<'l-; .Mlil'IKIIIlST ICI'ISCOl'xVL CHUUCH. 



two women. A storm of persecution burst over this 
woman's enterprise. Miss Oliver is a graduate of the School 
of Theology of the Boston University, with degrees of A. 
M. and B. D., and a license to preach from the Methodist 
Episcopal Church in Boston. 

Religious services commenced under the new regime the 
first Sabbath in April, and about two weeks later a church 
organization was effected in accordance with the doctrines 
and discipline of the M. E. Church, known as the Willoughby 
Avenue M. E. Church, but which was never recognized by 



mer, D.D., Dean of M. E. Sch. Tlieol. Boston Univ. ; Rev. L. T. 
Townsend, D. D., Dean Chat. Theol. Inst.; Samuel B. Terry; 
Mrs. Harriet Skidmore, Sec. W. F. M. S. of M. E. Church, 
and J. C. Taber, M. D. The bill did not pass in three years. 

Prominent official members of the church were : Gilbert 
E. Currie, Samuel B. Terry, Hester A. Chasty, Cornelia G. 
Mitchell, Wm. M. Parrish, G. H. Hinds, G. P. McClelland, 
Mary P. Tracy, Helen M. Weekes, J. B. Whitby, K. H. Cad- 
doo, D. Lawson, Laura E. Peden, Caroline Aspinall, Martha 
Dibble, J. Leonard. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ORGANIZATIONS. 



1041 



The principles of the church were : 1. No debts to be con- 
tracted. 3. No money to be raised by means of fairs, festi- 
vals, or any similar projects. 3. No distinction of sex to be 
made in any of the offices or work of the chiirch. 

These principles were immediately put to the severest test, 
for the church was stripped of every article of furniture, 
gas fixtures, reflectors and furnaces, and the buildings were 
much out of repair. Tlie young society, at first of eight 
members, used only the money voluntarily contributed by 
the congregation that gathered. They refurnished, gradu- 
ally, the church and chapel, and repaired the buildings. 

Meanwhile, the church became thoroughly organized in 
every department, with Sabbath-school, prayer-meetings, 
class-meetings, young people's societies and meetings, and 
children's service. A temperance organization secured about 
400 signatures to the pledge in four years; and is still in exist- 
ence, having recently canvassed the Ward and obtained more 
than 1,100 signatures against renewing liquor licenses. 

The Sabbath-school was org. Aug. 34, 1879, with 150 mem- 
bers, and increased to 380. In the spring of 1883, on the 
completion of her three years' pastorate, which is the full 
Methodist term. Miss Oliver resigned. The church would 
not accept her resignation, and, in the fall, made a move to- 
ward the erection of a parsonage. However, in March, 1883, 
Miss Oliver again sent in her resignation, giving as her only 
reasons that they were not recognized by their own denom- 
ination — the M. E. Church — and the consequences which flow 
from a want of recognition. 

The church voted to disband, and also directed their Pas- 
tor to sell the church property, as she held it only for them; 
and to appropriate to herself the excess over |13,000 yet un- 
paid. They likewise directed her to sell the furniture, the 
proceeds to be devoted to the poor of the church. She de- 
clined to disi)0se of the sacred edifice for business purposes. 
It was finally sold for |18,000 to the Brooklyn Reformed 
Presbyterian Church; the congregation was disbanded, and 
the larger part of the Sunday school united with the East 
Congregational Church. 

Embury M. E. Church, Herkimer street, corner of Schenec- 
tady avenue, began Dec. 10th, 1865, when twenty -seven per- 
sons assembled at the house of Mr. James Dundas, corner of 
Fulton and Howard avenues, and listened to a sermon l)y 
Rev. J. G. Bass. On the same day a Sunday-school was org. 
with five oflioers and teachers, and ten scholars. 

The first board of trustees was elected April 6th, 18G6. The 
church edifice was dedicated June 9th, 1867, by Bishop 
Janes. 

It was enlarged in the avitumn of 1876. The church num- 
bers 375 and the Sunday-school 300. 

Minlstrij: 1 867-'68-'69, Thomas Stephenson; 187r-'71-"73, 
S. A. Seaman; 1873-74, Isaac J. Lansing; 1875-'76-'77, Charles 
E. Miller; 1878-'79-'80, Charles Bachman; 1881, Charles W. 
Millen. 

Grace M. E. Church. — The Seventh Avenue M. E. Church 
was org. about 1866, by members of the Hanson Place Society. 
The first place of worship was a small wooden chapel at the 
corner of what was then Butler street and Seventh avenue. 
In 1869, a chapel of brick, with stone front, 98 by 56 feet in 
size, was erected on the same site. 

Grace Church was organized Jan., 1878; bought the chapel 
formerly owned by the Seventh Ave. Church on Sterling 
place; afterwards five lots, corner Seventh ave. and St. John's 
place were purchased; a new church erected and dedicated 
Jan. 31, 1883, at a total cost of about .|80,000. The building 
is of light drab stone with terra cotta trimmings, in the Gothic 
style of the 13th century; the auditorium is 60 by 90 feet, 
with 600 .sittings. The Sunday-school room is 34 by 94 feet, 



and adjoins the church, the two opening together. The in- 
terior trimmings of the church are in ash and cherry, with 
fine frescoes in the Gothic style. (See opposite page). 

Ministry: 1867, G. A. Hall; 1868-"69-'70, C. M. Giffen; 1871-'3, 
E. E. Andrews; (now Bishop); 1873-'74-'75, Dr. Wild; 1876-'7, 
Emory J. Haynes; 1878-'79-'80, John S. Breckenridge; 
1881-'83, George P. Mains; 1882-4, J. R. Thompson. 

Ti-ustees, 1882-84: George Copeland, Pres.; M. J. Goode- 
nough, Treas.; J. C. Haddock, .S'ec; J. H. Stevenson, W. H. 
B. Pratt, M. D., J. N. Kenyon.W. E. Smith, Jr., C. M. Brown, 
Thos. Atkinson. 




CENTRAL M. E. CHURCH. 

Central M. E. Church. — This Society was org. by Rev. E. 
L. Janes, in April, 1867, and commenced its services in the 
building on South Fifth street, near Fifth, formerly occupied 
by the Society now constituting the St. John's Church on 
Bedford ave. The original valuation of the church property, 
including the Parsonage, was .f 33,000. The membershii^ at the 
beginning was about 130, and the names of the oiiginal Trus- 
tees were: James A. Bradley, John S. Shelley, James H. 
Briggs, William H. Hanford, John Gay, Daniel Maujer, Jr. 
Its successive Pastors, after Rev. E. L. Janes, have been: 
Rev. Benj. M. Adams, Rev. Spencer Bray, Rev. Dr. J. L. 
Peck, Rev. B. M. Adams, Rev. Dr. Thos. Burch, Rev. Dr. F. 
S. DeHass, Rev. Dr. J. E. Cooknian. The present member- 
ship is about five hundred, with a Sunday-school of five hun- 
dred scholars on register. 

Its classes and prayer-meetings are large and spiritual. 

Rev. John E. Cookman, D. D., born 1836, at Carlisle, Pa.; 
grad. Philadelphia College, 1854, and at School of Theology, 
Boston University; previous locations. New York, Boston, 
Poughkeepsie; settled in Brooklyn, April, 1880. 

Leonard Street M. E. Church, Leonard, cor. Conselyea, 
org. in November, 1867, in a room at the cor. Skillman 
and Leonard, which was dedicated Dec. 8th. The church 
was incorporated as the Hatfield M. E. Church ; and its 
corner-stone was laid in October, 1868. The edifice is a 
frame structure, 63 by 75 feet; seats 600; cost about $10,500, 
and was ded. Feb. 14, 1869. Ministry: Revs. H. Hatfield, 



1042 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



1868; J. L. Hall, 1869-71; H. C. Glover, 1873-'3; W. H. 
RusseU, 1874; S. C. Keeler, 1876-'7; J. C. Thomas, 1877; G. 
HoUis, 1877-9; n. Baker, 1880; W. HamUton, 1881-3. The 
church has 130 members; the Sunday-school, 300. 

The Mariner's Church (M. E.) was established, as the 
name indicates, for the benefit of sea-faring men. The first 
church edifice, cor. President and Van Brunt sts., was dedi- 
cated June 3, 1867. This building was occupied about 
twelve years. In 1879, a lot on Van Brunt st., between 
President and Carroll sts., was purchased ; the present 
house of worship was erected thereon, and dedicated, Feb. 
1, 1880. 

A Sunday-school was organized, at an early date, under 
the supervision of the Pastor. The present Superintendent 
is "William B. Hoyt. Rev. Edmund O. Bates has been Pastor 
from the beginning to the present time. 

Rev. Edmund Ogden Bates, born in Westchester Co. , 1808; 
joined Me. E. Conf. 1837; located at various places; at Wil- 
liam Street Bethel, 1855-'62; Chaplain Amer. Seamen's 
Friend Soc. 1863-'84; located Brooklyn, 1855-84. 

Greene Avenue M. E. Church was org. Sept. 6th, 1868, 
with 30 members. It was an offshoot from the Wesley M. E. 
Church of Tompkins avenue. The first place of worship was 
a building on the corner of Lafayette and Tomjikins ave. 
Tlie present churcli edifice, on Greene avenue, near Tomp- 
kins, was erected in the summer of 1869. It has a seating 
capacity of 400, and its cost was about |7,000. A parsonage 
adjoining the church was erected in 1874, at a cost of 
|4,.500. 

Ministry: Revs. A. H. Mead, 186&-'9-'70; O. Kelsey, 1871-'2; 
G. A. Hubbell, 1873-'4; F. W. Ware, 1875-'6; C. E. Harris, 
1877-8; Geo. F. Ketell, 1879; Marcus D. Buell, 1880-1; J. 
W. Barnhart, 1882-'3. 

Rev. John W. Baknhaet, born in Marlborough, N. Y. ; 
grad. Wes. Universit}', 1861; Pres. Fairmount Female Coll., 
1862-6; located Sag Harbor, 1867-8; B'klyn, 1869-'71; New 
York, 1873-'4; B'klyn, 1875-'8; New Haven, 1879-'80; Sag 
Harbor, 1881; B'klyn, 1882-'3. 

The Swedish Methodist Episcopal Church was first a part 
of the work of the New York Bethel Association. During 
many years class-meetings and prayer-meetings were held 
among the Swedes at their residences. About 1868, a small 
chapel was erected on Pacific street, near Flatbush ave., 
and preaching was furnished from the Bethel Mission. 
In 1871, the present church edifice was erected on Dean 
St., near 5th ave. It is a brick building, with a seating 
capacity of 500. In the same year a church organization, 
under the New York East Conference, was effected. 

Rev. Albert Ericson was the first Pastor, succeeded in 1880 
by the present Pastor, Rev. A. J. Anderson. 

Cedar St. M. E. Church grew out of a Sunday-school in 
Evergreen ave. , nearDeKalb. ; org. in 1871, with 8 teachers 
and twenty scholars, and C. W. Cook, Supt. The following 
winter they removed to Mr. Brundige's store, on Broadway, 
and were known as the " Broadway Mission." There the first 
Minister, Rev. Mr. Pease, commenced preaching. Soon 
after, he hired a church building in Kosciusko st., and re- 
moved the society there. He was followed a year later Ijy 
Rev. John Perrine, 1872-'3; Rev. R. P. Christoplier, 1873-'5. 
During his pastorate, the society took steps towards purchas- 
ing their present building from the Protestant Methodists. 
The building was purchased for about $2,600; soon after, the 
Rev. A. B. Sanford (1876) was appointed the Pastor. The 
society incorporated under the name of the Cedar St. M. E. 
Church, and removed to their present home and place of 
worship, the first Sunday in July, 1876. The school now 
numbered about 150 scholars. 



Ministry: Revs. Mr. Sanford, 1876-'7; R. K. Diossy, 1877-'8; 
C. K. True, 1878; W. C. Wilson, 1878-'81; Wm. Platts, 1881-3; 
C. P. Corner, 1883-'84. 

The school, from its small beginning, has gained in num- 
bers, and now has (1883) an average attendance of 335. The 
church is a wooden building, seating about 350. In 1883, a 
new infant-class room and lecture-room were built. 

Rev. Charles P. Corner, born 1834, in Ontario, Can. ; at 
Victoria Univ., 1857-"8; was at Baldwin's, L. I., 1866-'7; 
Rockaway, 1868-'70 ; Rockwell Centre, 1871-'2 ; Thomaston, 
1873-4; Bklyn., 1875-6; New York, 1877-8-9; Greenwich, 
Ct., 1880; City Island, N. Y., lS81-'2; Bklyn., 1883. 

Carroll Park M. E. Ch. was org. in tlie Spring of 1872, its 
principal originators and largest contributors being Henry 
Du Bois, Chas. BedeU, and W. J. Bedell. While building, 
they worshiped in a store on Smith, near Carroll st. The 
church was ded. by the late Bp. Janes, Dec. 22, 1872. It is 
of brick, with Nova Scotia stone trimmings, and is 40 by 71 
feet deep, with an L across the rear, 25 by 52 feet, contain- 
ing class-rooms and parlor for social meetings. Its cost was 
about 130,000, and it seats about 450 persons. 

Ministry: 1873-'4, Revs. L. S. Weed; 1875-6, W. W. Bow- 
dish; 1877, R. C. Putney; 1878-'9, A. B. Sanford; 1880, W. C. 
Blakeman ; 1881, H. H. Beale ; 1882, W. H. Simonson ; 1883, 
Jno, L. Gilder (till his death). Membership, 100; with an 
average of 150 in the Sunday-school. 

Forty-Fourth Street M. E. Church. — A Mission was or- 
ganized April 24, 1874, in South Brooklyn, and rooms secured 
in 3yth St., between 3d and 4th aves., where the first session 
was held. May 17, with 11 teachers and 21 children present. 
Isaac S. Bogart was elected Superintendent. Soon after, 
preaching services were instituted, and a room on 40th st. se- 
cured. 

About the 1st of January, 1876, it was accepted as a Mis- 
sion by the 18th M. E. Church, and the Pastor, R. C. Putney, 
preached there on Thursday evenings. In the following 
year, two lots in 44th st., near 4th ave., were secured. 
April 2, 1877, Rev. Jesse Povey was authorized by the Quar- 
terly Conference to take charge of the Mission. A frame 
building, 25 by 50 feet, was erected in the fall of 1877, which 
was dedicated October 14, 1877. The congregation and 
Sunday-school increased, and the church building was 
lengthened to 85 feet, in January, 1881. March 31, 1880, five 
stewards were appointed, and the church became an inde- 
pendent organization. The first Trustees were: J. Bradshaw, 
J. Bedell, H. L. Spicer, F. Purdy, and L. N. Haskins. Rev. 
J. Povey was followed as Pastor, April 17, 1881, by Rev. 
Nathan Hubbell, who remained two years, and was suc- 
ceeded by Rev. George Dunbar, April 16, 1883. 

Rev. John Johns was born in England, 1835 ; preached in 
England, 1856-72, and in New York, 1873-'9; came to Brook- 
lyn, April, 1883. 

Zion M. E. Church, corner of South Third and Eleventh 
streets, was dedicated Feb. 12, 1884. The new building is con- 
structed of brick and is a substantial edifice. It has been 
erected for the use of the Zion M. E. Church, of which Rev. 
George E. Smith is the Pastor. Tlie new structure is without 
a steeple, though its front is relieved by ornamental brick 
work. A large vestry extends under the entire building, 
with class-rooms and kitchen and all modern church ap- 
pliances. The audience-room has a seating capacity of about 
five hundred. At the coming of the present Pastor to the 
^;hurch^the] society was found to be incumbered with a debt, 
while the church building was in a state of dilapidation that 
made it almost unsafe. The Pastor set himself to work at 
once. The various churches were enlisted in a union fair, 
which was held in the basement of what is now the Lee ave. 



EG CLESIASTICAL OR GANIZA 2 IONS. 



1043 



Academy of Music, which proved successful enough to pay 
off the entire debt. A new church was at once proposed, 
a building committee of leading citizens was selected, and a 
vigorous canvass inaugurated. One gentleman generously 
gave $1,000, and an anonymous benefactor in the Eastern 
District gave !S!5,000, conditioned on the whole amount being 
raised. The cost of the church, embracing the adjoining 
parsonage, was $10,400, and it was dedicated free of debt. 

Zion's Chapel. — This chapel is attached to the Zion Home 
for the Aged and Infirm on Dean St., between Albany and 
Troy aves. Both organizations are under the care of A. M. 
E. Zion Church of New York city. The lots were bought 
Sept. 20, 1873, and such alterations made in the buildings as 
to adapt them for use as a Home and a chapel. Rev. John 
H. Smith was the first Chaplain, and was succeeded by Rev. 
H. M. Wilson, and he in turn by Rev. Abram Anderson, who 
was followed by Rev. T. Wilhams, the present incumbent. 

The Norwegian Bethel Ship Mission of the M. E. Church 
was originally the Scandinavian M. PI Bethel Ship Mission of 
New York. About 1875, the Bethel Ship was moored at the 
foot of Harrison street, Brooklyn; and services were held 
there till F'ebruary, 1879, when the place of worship was re- 
moved to a hall on the corner of Van Brunt and President 
streets. In 1881, a new church building was erected on the 
site of this hall, at an expense of $16,000. This house was a 
donation to the mission, from Edwin Mead of New York. The 
present name was adopted in 1881. 

The Pastors of this Mission, since the removal of the Bethel 
Ship to Brooklyn, have been: Revs. O. B. Peterson, B. Jo- 
hansen and the present Pastor, Christopher Freeder. The 
principal work of the Mission is among Morwegian sea- 
men. 

Sheepshead Bay M. E. Church. — The certificate of incor- 
poration of a Methodist Episcopal Church at Sheepshead Bay 
was fded in the County Clerk's otfice Aug. 9, 1883. Trustees 
and incorporators are: Supervisors John G. McKane. Alan- 
son Tredwell, Obadiah S. Aumack, James McKane and John 
Colwell. The presiding officers for the first year are: Alan- 
son Tredwell and Obadiah S. Aumack. 



METHODIST (NON-EPISCOPAL) CHURCHES. 

The First Methodist Protestant Church, being the third 
ecclesiastical organization in Willianisburgh, originated in 
the withdrawal of thirty-five members from the existing 
Methodist Episcopal Church of the place. It was organized 
in 1833, at a meeting held in the residence of Brown Suttle, 
on North Second st. The first Board of Trustees was: Fred- 
erick Dickerman, John Snyder, Benjamin Doxey, Peter Mer- 
rit and Stephen Baker. A small but comfortable wood edi- 
fice was erected and dedicated in the autumn of 1833; which 
was replaced in 1850 by a brick structure, 45 by 70 feet, with 
lecture-room. Rev. Ruel Hanks was installed Pastor in 1835, 
followed by the Revs. William H. Johnson, P. K. Whitsel, 
J. J. Smith. Samuel Henderson, William Millar, and the 
present Pastor, Rev. R. Woodruff. The membership of the 
church has been small, but is now increasing, while the Sun- 
day-school is flourishing. 

Rev. Robert Woodruff, born in Elizabeth, N. J., 1809; 
circuit preacher in Meth. Prot. Church over 40 years; located 
Brooklyn, 1879. 

The Fourth Methodist Prot stant Church was organized 
in September, 1879, with 14 members. The Rev. F. Kratz 
became Pastor in October, 1879; succeeded in March, 1880, 
by the present Pastor. Rev. Thomas BuUer. 

The first place of worship was Greenwood Hall, on Fifth 
ave., near Ninth st. ; then a store on Fifth ave., bet, Tenth 



and Eleventh streets. The present church edifice is on the 
corner of Fifth ave. and Eighth st. 

The First Free Methodist Church of Brooklyn was org. 
in April, 1874, mainly through the exertions of Joseph Mac- 
key, who purchased the house of worship of the North Dutch 
Reformed Church for 1 18,000. 

In October, 1878, the church was reorganized under the 
name, Brooklyn Free Methodist Church. In 1881, a new 
church building was erected on Sixteenth st., bet. Fourth 
and Fifth aves. It is a framed structure, with a seating ca- 
pacity of 400, and its cost, including site, was $5,000. 

Ministry, since 1874 : Revs. James Matthews, Thos. La 
Due, William Gould, George Ekin and Fred. Wurster. 

Rev. Fred. Wurster born in Freudenstadt, Germany, 
1841; grad. Theol. at Phil., 1879; located New York and 
Brooklvn, 1S83-'1, 




PAUK AVENUE PUI.MITIVE METHODIST (JHUKCH. 

Park Avenue Primitive Methodist Church, cor. N. Elliott 
place. The congregation formerly worshiped in the frame 
structure on Bridge st., which they sold in 1873, and built 
the handsome brick church, 48 by 80 feet, on Park ave., 
which they completed in 1873, at a cost of $40,000, includ- 
ing site and adjoining parsonage. Ministry: Revs. Fred. Bell, 
1873-6 ; Joseph Odell, 1876-80 ; J. Finch, 1880-3 ; E. Hum- 
phries, 1883-4. The church system has no bishops or pre- 
siding elders, but is governed by the Annual Conference and 
Executive Committees ; it maintains an itinerant ministry, 
i but pastorates are not strictly limited to three years. The 
congregation numbers about 300, and the Sunday school the 
same. E. L. Frost, Supt. 

The Brooklyn Primitive Methodist Church has existed 
since 1839. In church government it is entirely democratic, 
and all matters of progress and discipline are settled by the 
will of the people. The church is situated in Bridge St., bet. 
Concord and Tillary sts. It is a wood frame building, the 
inside plain and neat, and the religious devotions are ener- 
getic and lively. All the seats in the church are free. No 
further information concerning this church could be ob- 
tained. 

Orchard Primitive Methodist Church, Oakland St., near 
Nassau ave., was commenced by a few earnest Christians, 



1044 



SIS70RT OF KINGS COUNTY. 



who rented a store-room, cor. of Oakland st. and Nassau ave., 
and org. a Sunday-school July 4, 1874, with the following 
Officees : Smjj^., Thos. Butler ; 4ssi., W. J. Hoyt; Treas., 
Jas. H. Whitehorne; Sec, Jas. H. Bennett. Preaching ser- 
vices were instituted the same month. In May, 1875, a 
church organization was effected, and the following ap- 
pointed TrKstees: Thomas Butler, Jas. H. Whitehorne, C. 
Montross, James H. Bennett, W. J. Morrison, Jacob Weiss, 
Abraham Gamble, John Davis, Atkins Storer. 

Ministry: Rev. Thos. Butler, 1877-'9; J. A. McGraham, 
1879-'82; W. H. Yarrow, 1882-'4. 

In 1877, two lots were leased on Nassau ave., and a neat 
one-story church, 35 by 60 feet, was erected and paid for. 
In 1883, two lots were purchased on Oakland st., and the 
church building moved on to the same, raised 13 feet, and a 
commodious lecture-room built under it. A neat parsonage 
house was also erected. 

The membership at the last conference numbered 103, and 
the congregations are improving. Tliere is a good Sunday- 
school, numbering 150, in excellent working order. 

Rev. William H. Yarrow born in London, Eng., 1830: 
located London till Sept., 1876; Shepardvale, Pa., 1876-'8; 
Hazleton, Pa., 1878-83; B'klyn, 1881-4; author ot Theology 
Made Easy; History of Primitive Methodism; Life and ]Vorks 
of Charles Spurgeon. 

Protestant Methodist Qhurch, originated in a schism 
which took place among the Primitive Methodists in 1839. 
The secession first assumed the style of Wesleyan Methodists, 
and hired the building that had lieen erected by the Piimi- 
tive society, and sold for the debt with wliich it was encum- 
bered. The preacher of the original society went with the 
secession. For a while the new organization appeared to pros- 
per, and numljered nearly one hundred members. They 
purchased a lot of ground on Kent st., on whicli they erected 
a church edifice, which they occupied from 1841 to 1845, 
when it was sold to the Roman Catholics. 

It is understood that the society is dissolved. Fred. W. 
Holland was Pastor, 1839-'40; George Parsons, 1841-'3; Wm. 
Birch, 1844-'5. 

Metropolitan Mission (Independent African M. E. Church) 
was organized May 28tli, 1878, with 60 members, most of 
whom had been members of the Fleet Street A. M. E. Church. 
The congregation first worshiped in the Brooklyn Lyceum, 
Washington street. In September, 1879, they purchased from 
St. Matthew's (Evangelical Lutheran) Church their house of 
worship on Atlantic avenue, between Third and Fourth ave- 
nues, for $8,000. It is a brick stracture with a seating ca- 
pacity of 500. The church prospered, and now numbers 
300 members. Rev. J. B. Murray has been Pastor from the 
time of its organization. 

The following M. E. Clergymen reside in the city: 

Rev. I. Simmons, born 1831, in Duxbury, Mass.; grad. Wes. 
Univ. 1860; studied Concord Bib. Inst.; stationed Lynesbury, 
Conn., 1860-"62; New Haven, 1863-'G4; Bridgeport, 1864-'66; 
Birmingham, 1866-69; Norwalk, 1869-73; Brooklyn, 1873- 
'84; is Presiding Elder of New York East Conference. 

Rev. Gf.o. a. Hall, born New Castle, N. Y., 18.37; grad. 
Wesleyan Univ., 1867; Pastor 7th Ave. M. E. Ch., 1866-'67; 
State Sec'y Y. M. C. A., 1876; Special Agt. U.S. Christ. Com., 
one and a half years. 

Rev. WiLBERT C. Blakeman, born at Bridgeport, Conn., 
1847; grad. Wesleyan Univ., 1876; located at Rockland, Ct., 
1877; Whitestone, L. L, 1878-79; Brooklyn, 1880; Parkville, 
L. L, 1881-'83; Brooklyn, 188.3-'84. 

Rev. Alonzo F. Selleck, born in New York, 1806; has 
been 30 years in itinerant ministry; located Bklyn, 1877, 



Rev. James Porter, A. M. (Wes. Univ., 1847), D. D. 
(McKendrix Coll. 1856), was born in Middleboro, Mass., 1808; 
was trustee Wesleyan Univ., 1855-71; Overseer Harvard; 
Trustee C'oncord Theol. Sch. ; author of Compendium of 
Methodism, 1851; Spirit Mappings, 1853; History of Method- 
ism, 1876; and many other pub. works; located N. E. Con- 
ference, 1830-'56; Local Secy. Nat. Temp. Soc, till 1881; came 
to Bklyn, 1864. 

Rev. E. Humphries was born in England, 1853; studied 
theol. with Rev. E. Mill ward, Eng.; is Publisher and Gen. Sec. 
of Conference; previous locations, Shamokin, Pa., 1874-'76; 
Mahanoy, 1876-'78; Tamaqua, 1878-83; came to B'klyn, 1883. 

Rev. McClintic R. Barnitz, ord. as Bapt. Min., at Sag 
Harbor, 1866; Agt. Amer. Bible Union, 1868-78; settled over 
18th St. M. E. Ch., 1883. 

Rev. William Burt, born in England, 1853; grad. Wes. 
Univ., 1879; Madison Theol. Sem., 1881; located B'klyn, April, 
1880. 

Presiding Elders of the M. E. Church in Brooklyn and the 
Long Island District:— 1785, Thomas Chew; 178Cs John Tun- 
nel; 1787, Thomas Foster; 1788, Henry Willis; 1789, Freeborn 
Garrettson; 1790, Thomas Morrell; 1791, Robert Cloud; 1793 
-'3, Jacob Brush; 1794, Freeborn Garrettson; 1795, George 
Roberts; 1796, Freeborn Garrettson, Sylvanus Hutchinson; 
1797-'9, Sylvester Hutchinson; 1800-3, Freeborn Garrettson; 
1804-'6, William Thatcher; 1807-'10, Joseph Crawford; 1811 
-'14, Freeborn Garrettson; 1815-'18, Samuel Merwiu; 1819, 
Nathan Bangs; 1830-'3, Peter P. Sandford; 1834-7, Labau 
Clark; 1838-'31, D. Ostrander; 1832-5, Samuel Merwin; 1836 
-'9, D. Ostrander; 1840-3, S. TVIartindale; 1844-7, J. J. Mat- 
thias; 1848-'50, Labau Clark; 1851-4, Seymour Landon; 1855 
-'8, Buell GoodseU; 1859-'61, Wm. H. Norris; 1863, Wm. H. 
Norris; 1863, John Kennaday. * L. I. South Dist.:—18U, 
Daniel Curry; 1865-'7, B. Pillsbury; 1868-'71, E. E. Griswold; 
1872, T. G. Osborne; 1873-5, Chas. Fletcher; 1876, A. S. 
Graves. L. I. North Disf.;— 1864-'5, H. F. Pease; 1866, N. 
Mead; 1867-'8, H. Bangs; 1869-70, J. B.- Merwin; 1871, H. F. 
Pease; 1873-'5, C. B. Sing; 1876, J. L. Peck. N. Y. Dist.:- 
1877-8, J. L. Peck; 1879-'80, J. W. Beach; 1881-'3, Thos. H. 
Burch; 1883-'4, Benj. M. Adams. Brooklyn Disf. .•—1877-'9, 
A. S. Graves; 1880-'l, G. F. Kettell; 1882, W. T. HUl; 1883-4, 
Ichabod Simmons. In 1800, the M. E. population of the 
U. S. was 64,894, with 287 preachers. Brooklyn statistics 
for 1883:— Churches, 39; Church members, 13,885; Sunday- 
schools, 91; Sunday-school scholars, 19,832; Valueof Churches, 
$1,867,700. 

List of M. E. Preachers in L. I. Circuit, from 1784 [till 
1845:— 1784, Philip Cox; 1785, Ezekiel Cooper; 1786, Thomas 
Ware; 1787, Peter Moriarty; 1788, Robert Cloud; 1789, Wm. 
Phoebus, John Lee; 1790, David Kendall; 1791, Wm. Phoebus, 
Benj Abbott; 1793, John Ragan, James Boyd; 1793, Joseph 
Totten, Geo. Strebeck; 1794, E. Cooper, L. McCombs; 1795, 
Joseph Totten; 1796, John Clark, Jacob Rickhow, David 
Buck, Wm. Phoebus; 1797, Andrew Nichols, Josejjh Totten, 
Wm. Phoebus; 1798, Andrew Nichols; 1799, Cyrus Stebbins, 
Jas. Campbell, John Wilson; 1800, David Buck; 1801-2, 

* The churches were all in the Long Island District until 1864, when 
they were divided into the Long Island South and Long Island North 
Districts, the former containing the Sands St., Yorli St., Washington 
St., Johnson St.. Pacific St., First place, Carroli Paris, Warren st , Wil- 
liam St., 18th St., 7th ave., Hanson place. Fleet St., Nevp Yorl< ave., 
Embury, Nostrand ave., Greene ave., Janes Swedish Miss., Norwegian 
Miss. The latter contained Summerfieid, Simpson, Parlt ave.. Miss. » 
De Kaib ave., Tompliins ave., Broadway, St. John's, Central, Soutli 
2nd, South 3rd, Gothic, Cook St., North 5th, Leonard St., St. Mariv's 
Miss., Greenpoint, First, Tabernacle and Orchard Miss. In 1877, the 
former were made part of the New Tork District, the latter the 
Brooklyn District, 



ECCLESIASTICAL ORGANIZATIONS. 



1045 



David Buck, Peter Jayne; 1801, Billy Hibbard; 1803, John 
Fjnnegan; 1803, Ezekiel Canfield; 1804, Cyrus Stebbins; 
1805-6, Elzekiel Cooper; 1806, Samuel Thomas; 1807, Elijah 
Woolsey, John Wilson; 1808, Daniel Ostrander; 1809, Reu- 
ben Hubbard; 1810-11, William Thacher; 1812-13, Lewis 
Pease; 1814, Samuel Merwin; 1815, Nathan Emory; 1816-17, 
Joseph Crawford; 1818, William Ross; 1819-'20, Alexander 
McCaine; 1821-'23, Lewis Pease; 1823-'4, William Ross; 1825 
-6, Thomas Burch; 1836-7, S. L. Stillman; 1827-28, Samuel 
Luckey; 1828, S. Landon; 1839-'30, Noah Levings, James 
Covel; 1831-2, John C. Green, Charles W. Carpenter; 1832, 
J. Tackaberry; 1833-"4, Thomas Burch, J. Kennaday, J. 
Luckey; 1835-6, B. Creagh, 1st ch. ; R. Gilbert, 2d ch. ; 1835, 
S. Remington, 3d ch.; 1836, J. B. Stratten, 8d ch.; 1837-8, 
Wm. H. Morris, 1st ch. ; J. L. Gilder, 2d ch. ; Robert Seney, 
3d ch.; 1839, Fitch Reed, 1st ch.; 1839-'40, E. E. Griswold, 
3d ch. ; 1839, Benjamin Grififen, 3d ch. ; 1840, Peter 
C. Oakley, 1st ch. ; James Floy, 3d oh.; Benjamin Grififen, 
Centenary ch. ; J. Le Fevre, C. Foss, Williamsbiu-gh and 
Newtown; 1841, Peter C. Oakley, Istch.; Seymour Landon, 
2d ch. ; James Floy, 3d ch. ; Jarvis Z. Nichols, Centenary 
ch. ; J. W. Le Fevre, Charles B. Sing, Williamsburgh; 1843, L. 
M. Vincent, 1st ch. ; S. Landon, 2d ch. ; James Sewell, 3d 



ch.; J. Youngs, Centenary ch. ; H. F. Roberts, Williams- 
burgh; M. Richardson, Bushwick and Wallabout; 1843, L. 
M. Vincent, 1st ch. ; J. Poisal, 2d ch. ; J. Sewell, 3d ch. ; J. 
Youngs, Centenary ch . ; H. F. Roberts, Williamsburgh ch. ; 
O. States, WaUabout ch. ; 1844-5, H. F. Pease, Sands street 
ch. ; B. Goodsell, York street ch. ; C. W. Carpenter, Wash- 
ington street oh.; J. M. Pease, Centenary ch. ; O. Starr, 
Ebenezerch.; Paul R. Brown, Williamsburgh; A. F. Beach, 
Bushwick. 

The names of ministers in years following 1845 will be 
found in the sketches of the respective churches. 

M. E. Churches in the New York District of the N. Y. 
East Conference, 1884: — Summerfield, Francis, Cook street, 
Cedar street, St. John's, Central, So. 2d street. So. 3d street 
" Crothic," No. 5th street, Leonard street, St. Luke's, First 
(Greenpoint) Tabernacle. 

M. E. Churches in the Brooklyn District of N. Y. East 
Conference, 1883:— Sands street, York street, Washington 
street. Pacific street, Johnson street. First place, St. Paul's 
Mission, Carroll park, Warren street, 18tli street, 44th street, 
Grace, Hanson place. Fleet .street, DeKalb avenue, Snnpson, 
New York avenue, F^uibury, Nostrand avenue, Greene 
avenue, Janes, Swedish Slission, Norwegian Mission. 



ROMAN CATHOLIC CHURCHES. 



The history of the Roman Catholics of Brooklyn, as a 
body, begins in the second decade of the present century. 
Before that, the Catholics of Brooklyn were compelled, for 
religious worshij), to cross the East river, to attend St. 
Peter's Church, in Barclay St., New York, the first, and long 
the only Catholic church in that city. The present Cardinal 
of New York, the Most Rev. John McCloskey, is a native of 
Brooklyn, and remembers the time w^hen he, as a boy, thus 
crossed to the neighboring city. The Rev. John Power, 
Pastor of that church previous to 1822, caused mass to be 
celebrated occasionally here, in such rooms as could be ob- 
tained. It is said that mass was first celebrated in Brooklyn, 
at the residence of Mr. William Rircell, on the north-east 
corner of York and Gold sts., by Rev. Philip Larissey. 

Among the clergy who ministered to the Catholics of 
Brooklyn in these early days, were : Revs. Mich. O'Gorman, 
Patrick Bulger, McCauley, and McKenna, the latter of whom 
died and was buried in Brookl)'n. 

When, on Jan. 7, 1823, a meeting was held to consider the 
erection of a church, it was found by a careful census of 
the Catholics in the village, that only 70 were able to help, 
either in money or labor. Mr. Cornelius Heeney offered lots 
on the corner of Court and Congress sts., as a site; which, 
however, were declined as being too far out of the village. 

St. James' Church. — March 2, 1833, eight lots were pur- 
chased on the corner of Jay and Chapel sts., |400 being paid 
in cash, and $300 more secured by a mortgage. The ground 
was blessed by Rev. Jlr. Bulger, April 25th. Just two 
months later, a building committee was appointed; and, not- 
withstanding the difiSculties attending the work, the edifice 
was so far completed that it was dedicated under the name 
of St. James, August 28, 1833. The building cost, including 
fences, $7,118.16. A school was at once established, but for 
some time all efiforts to secure a resident Pastor failed. 

The Clergy of the church from its organization havo been : 
1825-'33, Revs. John Farnan, Pastor ; 1833-'43, John Walsh, 
Pastor ; 1836-'7, P. Dougherty ; 1839, PhiUp Gillick ; 1840, 



Patrick Dauaher ; 1841, J. McDonough ; 1843-'47, Charles 
Smith, Pastor; 1845-"0, Jerome Nobriga ; 1847-'8, Patrick 
McKenna; 1 848-'52, Jas McDonough, Pastor ; 1849, Eugene 
McGuire; 1849-52, John Quinn. 

At this time, the Roman Catholic churches on Long Island 
had so increased from the small beginning at St. James', that 
the Holy See formed the island into a Diocese, and the Very 
Rev. John Loughlin, then Vicar-General of New York, was 
appointed Bishop of Brooklyn. He was consecrated October 
3, 1853, and made St. James' Church his cathedral. 

Clergy: 1852-'7, Revs. Eugene Cassidy, Rector ; 1852-'i, 
Samuel .A. Mulledy ; 1856-'7, Thomas W. McCleery, D. 
Whelan ; 1857-9, Thomas Walsh ; 1857-'60, John F. Turner ; 
1857-8, Bartholomew Gleason ; 1859-60, Robert McGuire ; 
1859-'60, Robert V. Moyce ; 1864, Joseph Giraud ; 1864-'(;, 
Francis J. Freel, D. D. ; 1865-8, Thomas J. Gardner, D. D. ; 
1807-'8, Eugene McSherry ; 1870, Michael Hickey ; 1872-'3, 
John Kelly; 1872, P. Sheridan ; 1873-'78, P. F. O'Hara; 1877- 
'78, ]W. J. Murray ; 1877, Richard Foley ; 1878, Ed. McCabe, 
John O'Donohue; 1879-83, James T. Woods; 1879, M. McCabe; 
1879, Wm. Dougherty ; 1879, John Joseph Mallon ; 1880-3, 
Jas. F. Mealia, Jas. H. Mitchell. The parish has, from an 
early date, maintained a school for boys. 

Bishop Loughlin has secured a fine site for a cathedral on 
Lafayette ave., between Carlton and VanderbOt aves., and is 
now erecting a splendid church, which will be the finest 
ecclesiastical structure on Long Island." 

*The corner-atoQO was laid with much pomp and ceremony, by the 
Rt. Rev. Bishop Loughlin, on the 21st of June, 1868; and an address 
was delivered by the Most Itev. Archbishop McCloskey, of New York, 
in the course of which the speaker thus alluded to his own earlier 
recollections of Brooklyn: "And well may you rejoice on the day and 
on the occasion which is to be ever memorable to the Catholics of this 
city and of this diocese, a day which recalls so many memories, such, 
in part at least, as were awakened in the hearts of oid ; for many there 
are who had hardly hoped to sec this day. Of that number I can men- 
tion one, and it is he who now addresses you. His first and earliest 
memories ^o hero. lie first sdw tho light of heaven and breathed the 



1046 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



St. Paul's Church, -Court, cor. Congress st. Tlie plot of 
ground originally offered by Cornelius Heeney, Esq., to St. 
James', became^ in time, the site of the second Eoman 
Catholic church in the city of Brooklyn. In 183(5, the church 
of St. Paul was erected here. It was a substantial brick 
building. 73 by 125 feet, and cost about $20,000 ; the land 
being then valued at |S,000 more. 

The Pastors and Clergy of this church have been : Revs. 
Richard Waters, 1838-'40 ; Nicholas O'Donnell, O. S. A., 
1840-"7 ; James O'Donnell, O. S. A., 1840-4 ; William Hogan, 
1845-'8; Joseph A. Schneller, 1848-'60; Hippolyte De Luynes, 
S. J., 1849-'50 ; Joseph Regan, 1851-'3 ; Timothy Farrell, 1853 
-•3 ; John Curoe, 1852 ; John McShane, 1854-'7 ; M. O'Reilly, 

1854-'5 ; B. Allaire, 1857-'8; Peter C. Fagan, 1858-00 ; 

McGerrish, 1862-3; Robert J. McGuire, ]863-'80 ; V. Dallis, 
1863-5 : P. Reddy, P. McGuire, John R. McDonald, 1863-4 ; 
Ed. O'Reilly, 1870-'3 : Wm. Lane, 1870-3 ; Jno. McCarty, 
1873 : Henry J. Zimmer, 1873 ; Wm. Connolly, 1874 ; Peter 
Maguire, 1875 ; John Hogan, 1877-8 ; John Loughran, D. D., 
1877; Philip J. Kinney, 1877-'9 ; J. J. Marvin, 1878-'80; Wm. 
Giles, 1879-81 ; Wm. J. Lane, 1880-83 ; M. S. Boylan, 1881- 
"82 ; Wm. J. Hill, 1882-4 ; Peter H. Pluukett, 1883 ; Edwd. 
M. Gannon, 1883-'4. 

A school was early established in connection with this 
church, and it was regularly maintained. The boys and girls 
are under the Sisters of Charity. 

Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary, 
York and Jay sts. Corner-stone laid October 27, 1831, by 
Rev. Father Farnliam, as an independent Catholic Church, 
who afterwards abandoned his undertaking. It remained 
unfinished for many years, when it was finally purchased by 
Bishop Hughes, in 1840, who placed it in charge of Rev. D. 
W. Bacon. He completed it, and, on June 10, 1843, it was 
dedicated under the above title. Father Bacon remained its 
Pastor until 1855, when he was consecrated First Bishop of 
Portland. During his pastorate, he was assisted by the fol- 
io wing clergymen: Revs. P. McKenna, I844-'5; Hugh Maguire, 
1845-'6; J. Viera, 1851-2; B. Farrell, 1852-"3, when the present 
Pastor, Rev. William Keegan, became assistant, and suc- 
ceeded Father (now Bishop) Bacon. His assistants have 
been : Revs. P. Bradley, P. Kelly, Benjamin Allaire, P. V. 
Moyce, Gaudentius Ballestrini, Thos. Farrell, T. Eeid, 1865 ; 
Owen O'Brien, 1869-'75, when the present assistant. Rev. C. 
J. Gallagher, was appointed. The Very Rev. W. Keegan 
was appointed Vicar-General of the Diocese, in 1880; but still 
retains his position as Pastor, and still resides at the parochial 
residence, cor. of Jay and York sts. He has built a mag- 



breath of life in wliat was then but the little village of Brooklyn. He 
well remembers the day when there was neither Catholic church nor 
chapel, neither priest nor altar, within all these surroundings. He 
1 jmembers when, as a youth, when Sunday morning came, he, as one 
of a happy group, wended his way along the shore to what was then 
called Hkks' ferry, to cross the river, not In elegant and graceful 
steamers as now, but in an old and dingy horse-boat ; going, led by the 
hand of tender and loving parents, to assist at the sacrifice of mass in 
the old brick church of St. Peter's, In Barclay St. How little could he 
then have dreamed ever to have witnessed a spectacle such as this ; to 
have stood here In the capacity In which ho now stands, in such a 
presence; to see the foundations laid and the corner-stone blessed and 
consecrated by a bishop of Brooklyn, surrounded by prelates from 
other sees and dioceses, by a numerous clergy from far and near, and 
by such a vast and innumerable concourse of people, brought together 
to take part, as it were, in the beginning of such a glorious work ; a 
work which is to rear Itself up in grand and goodly proportions before 
the eyes of men, and stands a monument of your Catholic faith, your 
Catholic generosity, and your Catholic zeal; stands as a monument, 
too, of Catholic genius. Catholic architectural taste and skill, and to 
be, besides, looked upon, as it will be, as adding a newer beauty, and 
another glory, and another honor, and another source of pride to 
what Is already the renowned city of churches." 



nificent school, a hall for the young men of the parish; and, 
at present, there is nothing wanting to complete all the de- 
sideratum of a well furnished parish. The venerable church 
has been recently provided with a new roof, and the interior 
decorated in a most artistic and devotional style. 

The Very Rev. William Keegan, Vicar-General 
of the R. C. Diocese of Brooklyn. — The story of a life 
devoted to duty in the heart of a great city, can be 
neither romantic nor exciting, unless under very excep- 
tional circumstances. Novelists may indeed thrill 
their readers with the imaginary exploits of imaginary 
characters, discovered active in the routine of ordinary 
experience; but when for the eye of fertile fancy we 
substitute the observation of plain common sense, it is 
found that, even as navigable rivers have few falls, 
perilous straits or whirlpools to be described, the careers 
of men who carry forward the abiding work of society, 
are rarely marked by amazing incidents. Moral and 
material forces have at least this in common — that they 
operate, as a rule, steadily, rather than by unexpected 
manifestations. Perseverance, rather than audacity, 
progress effected step by step, and without any of the 
noise of battle, rather than a series of leaps and bounds, 
mark the records of the men who, upon the whole, 
have in settled states of society been helpful to their 
day and generation. By this, of course, no reflection 
is cast, so to speak, upon the valuation of the thunder 
storm. It is both sublime and serviceable. But the 
chief debt of the farmer, none the less, is to the rain that 
falls in due season, and the winds that are never rude. 

The very reverend gentleman, whose work and 
character are in this sketch outlined, rather than 
described, falls within the unromantic category 
just alluded to ; the category of those who by pa- 
tience, peace, good will, charity and an unwaver- 
ing faith in justice, make the world better by liv 
ing in it. This, however, we need hardly say, does 
not involve a trivial or negative outcome. On the con- 
trary, if the result be duly weighed, we shall see that 
the need of an unostentatious labor is an imposing fab- 
ric, made all the more enduring by the quiet sincerity 
of the builder. Emerson, referring to the Abbeys of 
England, says : " they grew as grows the grass," and 
so, too, has the growth of the structure, in which Vicar- 
General Keegan has been concerned, gone on. 

In 1853, when he was ordained, there were in the 
diocese of Long Island but 14 Roman Catholic 
Churches, and 14 priests. One parish school alone rep- 
resented the system of parish education, destined to 
reach the proportions already attained. There was no 
Catholic asylum, nor any Catholic hospital. To-day 
there are 90 churches, 37 chapels and stations, where 
mass is celebrated ; 160 priests; 75 parish schools; 20 
academies and select schools; 2 colleges and 1 seminary, 
16 asylums and 4 hospitals 

When his work began in Brooklyn, the Catholic 
population of the diocese numbered not more than 



^ ''ife- 




ECCLESIASTICAL OR GANIZA TIONS. 



26,000. The number is now over 226,000. This, as- 
suredly, is an impressive tale told in few words. 
Had this been wrought by tlie sword, historians would 
have been swift to give the narrative to the world; and 
the world would have treated the record with the skep- 
ticism reserved for whatever transcends ordinary ex- 
perience. But, due as it is to the unremitting efforts 
of men and women, well content to have their deeds 
unheralded and unsung, no other weapons than those 
befitting gentle minds, it is accepted as if it were an 
outcome of nature, as familiar as the rising of the sun, 
or the rounding out of the moon. If the statistics 
before us speak to any purpose with clearness, it is to the 
effect that in no other field has the Catholic Church in 
modern times gathered honor, power and confidence 
more rapidly, and by methods more amiable, than in 
the diocese of Brooklyn. " 

What Father Keegan's part has been in this cannot 
be told. Nor to him, or to anyone alone, is the credit 
due; though indeed, if comparisons were in order, 
special commendation could be given to those who, 
more than their fellows, have been distinguished for 
their zeal, skill and unwearying toil. 

The record answers our purpose in illustrating the 
magnitude of the task in which the subject of our 
sketch has been, with others, engaged heart and hand, 
and as to which he can properly say: "All of which I 
saw, and part of which I was." It also indicates the 
variety, complexity and importance of the interests, 
which must be mastered and managed by the mind, 
which demand the attention of the Vicar-General of 
Long Island diocese. 

If the Very Reverend Wm. Keegan was the most 
commonplace of men (instead of being, as he is, 
distinguished for breadth of mind, large sympathies, 
and that art of arts, the art of ruling without seeming 
to command), there would be reason enough for writing 
about him, in the fact that over a quarter of a million 
Catholics look to him as the right hand of their vener- 
able and justly celebrated Bishop. 

So far as dates go, here is the biography of the Vicar- 
General: 

In the year 1824, he was born in Kings County, 
Ireland; a county by name, at least, significant of the 
field in whicu he was destined to make a name in the 
world. While yet a child his parents emigrated to 
the United States, and fixed their abode in the city of 
Brooklyn, in the year 1842, where the boy William 
soon began the work of fitting himself for his chosen 
calling. The family came here to remain, and it 
still is represented in the citizenship of Brooklyn, as 
well as in the priesthood. After a course of prepara- 
tory education, William entered the Jesuit College, 
then but recently established at Fordham, New York, 
and was duly graduated from it in 1849, having made 
a record for scholarship, and the other qualities which 
secured for hiui, at the hands of the college authori- 



ties, a teachership in the institution. As a teacher 
he remained, until 1853; pursuing meantime, with ardor 
and profit, the theological studies in which he still de- 
lights, and upon which he has been recognized as an 
authority in the provincial councils of the church. In 
the year 1853, he was ordained by Cardinal Bedini, 
then Papal Nuncio to the United States; and, almost 
immediately thereafter, was appointed to the assistant 
pastorate of the Church of the Assumption, at York 
and Jay streets, Brooklyn. ~ "^ 

When Father Bacon, Pastor-in-Chief of the Assump- 
tion Church, was consecrated Bishop of Portland, 
Maine, in 1856, Father Keegan was promoted, and has 
continued from then until the present time in charge of 
the parish. In 1880, he was appointed Vicar-General. 

Although the life of Father Keegan has been spent 
in the discharge of his priestly duties, and for the wel- 
fare of his people, yet snatching a moment now and 
then from this never-ending work, he has composed a 
few lectures and addresses, which are rare gems of wit 
and eloquence, and can be read at all times with plea- 
sure by the lovers of true and genuine English litera- 
ture, -s 

On the 16th of October, 1878, occurred the twenty- 
fifth anniversary of his ministry, and likewise, almost, of 
his pastorship. The event was made the occasion of a 
Jubilee; and, whether at the mass of the morning, 
where were assembled the bishops and priests of the 
diocese, or, in the more popular demonstration of the 
evening, where were gathered all the civic dignitaries 
of Brooklyn, the men of letters and of social standing, 
the address of the congregation but expressed the gen- 
eral verdict — " Surely no words can frame a more 
glowing eulogy, a nobler panegyric, than this assem- 
blage." Hon. James Howell, then Mayor, abandoned a 
birthday celebration in his own home that he might 
unite with his fellow-citizens in this personal tribute to 
Father Keegan. Hon. Thomas Kinsella, editor of the 
Brooklyn Eagle; Mr. Andrew McLean, the present 
editor of the Eaglej Mr. George M. Nichols, Alder- 
man at Large; Mr. Dewey, editor of the Union; Mr. 
Barclay Gallagher, agent of the Western Associated 
Press; Corporation Counsel De Witt, Police Com- 
missioner John Pyburn; Controller Burrell; Alder- 
man Murtha and Assemblyman Clancy ; Doctors 
Bodkin, Young and Griffin; Colonel David T. Lynch, 
Mr. P. J. Regan, President of the St. Patrick Society, 
and its other officers, were all present ; and many other 
notables ; while a great number of the reverend clergy 
occupied chairs within the sanctuary. The Brooklyn 
Eagle, in an editorial upon this jubilee, used the fol- 
lowing language: 

" It is difficult to estimate the influence which such 
a man must exert, placed as Father Keegan has been, 
in twenty-five years. The men and women who have 
been brought directly under his influence are numbered 
by tens of thousands. To-day, there are gentlemen 
distinguished in all the walks of life, who received from 



HISTORY OF KI^TGS COUKTY. 



him their earliest lessons in manly duty, coupled with 
their first introduction to English education. In hun- 
dreds of households the matrons were girls subject 
to his guidance years ago. It needs a very mean soul 
to take other than delight in the proof that opportuni- 
ties so vast have been used as becomes a priest, a citi- 
zen, a friend and a neighbor." 

The programme opened with a procession march, 
dedicated to Father Keegan, the music being furnished 
by Professor William H. Nolan's orchestra. This was 
followed by " Gloria " (Twelfth Mass), by Mozart, Mr. 
Thomas Ward officiating at the organ, and a full choir 
assisting. The Rev. Father Malone then followed in an 
address, in which he especially dwelt upon Father Kee- 
gan's remarkable ability in the guiding and education 
of young men. Rev. Henry C. Gallagher, who was 
trained to the jariesthood by Rev. Father Keegan, was 
the next speaker; expressing the obligations of the 
younger clergy to Father Keegan for the sjiiritual 
training which they had received at his hands. "The 
Heavens are Telling " was then excellently rendered 
by the choir, after which an address from the congre- 
gation to their pastor was read by Rev. Charles J. 
Gallagher, as follows: 
" Reverend and Dear Father Keegan : 

" On this the twenty-fifth anniversary of 5'our elevation to 
the priesthood, and, it may be said, the twenty-fiftlx year of 
your pastorate, the congregation of tlie Church of the As- 
sumption united this morning with the venerable Bishop and 
the reverend clergy at a mass of jubilee and thanksgiving. 
To-night we again meet to offer our congratulations on this 
hapjiy day, and to give you thanks for the many favors 
which we have received at your hands. 

" This morning we returned thanks to Heaven for the zeal- 
ous pastor; to-night we thank the prudent covinsellor, the 
faithful friend, the kind, indulgent father. 

" You are, in yourself, in your life and labors, an epitome of 
Catholicity in Brooklyn — its foundation, its progress, its full 
and grand development. As a boy, you assisted at the first 
mass celebrated in this church; as a priest, here, on this al- 
tar, was offered your first mass; and here, first, your pastor- 
ate commenced, which long may Heaven to us continue. 

"Standing thus as it were by the cradle of Catholicity, you 
guided its steps in infancy, watched over its youth, guarded 
and directed it in its progress; and whatever there is now in 
its maturer years which finds favor in the sight of Heaven or 
commands the admiration of men, is largely due to your ear- 
nest, zealous and untiring ministration. 

" Words — fervent and heartfelt though they be — can do but 
faint justice to such a life. The children in your schools, the 
young men in your halls, the thousands that crowd this sacred 
edifice on each recurring Sabbath, speak more eloquently 
than any words of your entire devotion to the duties of your 
sacred calling and of the many claims you have to our love 
and reverence. 

" To you belongs the credit of erecting the first building de- 
voted to the education of the Catholic children of tliis city. 
There, education and religion, both in their highest develop- 
ment, are found to be not antagonistic, but mutually self- 
sustaining and elevating. 

"Assumption Hall is another monument to your priestly 
zeal and prudent forethought. There the youth who has left 
school and entered upon the battle of life, is not only afforded 
every facility for self-improvement; but has likewise opjjor- 



tunities to form acquaintances agreeable and beneficial. If 
to the average youth, the path of duty may seem rugged and 
uninviting, what greater inducement to perseverance unto 
the end than tlie assurance of good company and cheerful 
converse on the way. 

" But, while ever zealous among your own, while ever anx- 
ious to promote their real spiritual and temporal welfare, 
your labors have not been circumscribed by any mere paro- 
chial boundary line. Any appeals made to you were ever 
promptly answered by the generous hand responsive to the 
warm heart. One instance out of many: the Star of the 
Sea — a church, which, as far as mere human adornment can 
attain, is not unworthy the grand and solemn purposes of its 
erection. 

" But why speak your praises in the presence of those who 
know you so well? to this congregation, to whom your worth 
as a man, your fidelity as a friend, your zeal as a priest, are 
familiar as household words; to those young clergymen here 
present, who, walking faithfully in your footsteps in their 
youth, are now endeavoring to emulate your many virtues; 
to the reverend clergy, your co-laborers, who, knowing now, 
even in this period of comparative quietude, the trials and 
difficulties, the obstacles and discouragements which the con- 
scientious pastor has to encounter and overcome, can alone 
truly estimate what trials and difficulties you overcame, with 
what obstacles and discouragements you were surrouaded; 
to our venerable and venerated Bishop, who so soon himself 
will have completed the twenty-fifth year of his episcopate. 
His presence, surrounded by his clergy, at the mass of the 
jubilee this morning, showed that he is fully satisfied with 
you as a priest and pastor; his presence hereto-night, joining 
with the laity in their congratulations, proves the higli per- 
sonal esteem and regard he entertains for you. 

"Nor is this knowledge of your great worth — your many 
virtues — confined to those associated with you in the sacred 
ministry, nor to the members of your congregation. Your 
good name and fair fame have spread far and wide, and to- 
night a whole city — its highest olficials, its social leaders, its 
men of letters — come here, and deem it no derogation to of- 
ficial position, to literary rank, to social standing, to join with 
the humblest Catholic in grateful testimony to one who has 
been, io his holy calling, the good and faithful servant of his 
Master. 

" Surely, no words can frame a more growing eulogy, a 
nobler panegyric, than this assemblage. 

" On the tomb of Sir Christopher Wren, the architect of St. 
Paul's, is this inscription: Si quceris moitumentum circumspie. 
So, in a similar spirit and with equal truth, may it be said of 
you, reverend sir, that no greater nor grander tribute can be 
paid to these last twenty-five years of your life, than to see 
you here to-night surrounded by so manv grateful hearts, 
warm friends and sincere well wishers." 

At the close of this address, a handsome purse, con- 
taining $2,500, was, amid the applause of the congrega- 
tion, presented to Father Keegan. 

This interesting ceremony over, the Te Deum was 
rendered with fine effect. At its close the Rev. Father 
Keegan thus addressed the congregation : 

" My dear Friends : There have been so many and such 
pleasant things said of me to-day, and during this evening, 
that I am at a loss how to respond to them. I never thought 
for a moment that I could be painted in such brilliant colors 
as the wording of your address has just presented me. You 
might, in framing it, have had some more worthy' subject 
before your imagination, for I assure you I cannot discover 
in it a vebtigo of the original. It is not necessary that I 



MGCLESIA8TIGAL ORGANIZATIONS. 



1049 



should now go Uirough the formality of expressing my thanks 
to you upon this memorable occasion, and human language 
could not, at this moment, convey to you the gratitude tliat 
swells within my bosom. This is the most important, as it 
will be the most cherished, event of my whole life. I can 
only hope and wish that my character were half what your 
address has so elegantly expressed, and that my life liad been 
such as to merit the munificent offering which you Imve just 
presented me. It is true that we liave spent together many 
happy years, the best and most jjrecious period of our exist- 
ence. 

" Twenty-five years of unbroken friendship and undimin- 
ished confidence, between priest and people, is something of 
which any man might well be proud. We have worked to- 
gether, we have consulted together, and we have knelt and 
prayed at the satne altar. And 1, at least, am not anxious to 
sever, at this moment, the golden link that has bound us so 
long in sucli harmony and love. We all have had our faults; 
we have nrade many false steps. But we ha\o endeavored, 
to the best of our abUities, to perform the work and the duties 
assigned to us. We may have been thought rash in many of 
our enterprises, in trying to educate and cultivate the minds 
of the youth of this parish. But let me tell our outside 
friends, who, this evening, have honored us with tlieir pres- 
ence, that we have never entered upon any good work when 
failure was possible. 

" During this quarter of a century, I say it witli pleasure, 
I never appealed in vain to this congregation. Wo are, in 
deed, very few in number, and our means are limited. But 
a united congregation — a people with one heart and one mind 
— is able to sm-mounteverydifficult}';and we always received 
every kindness from our many friends outside of the Parish 
of the Assumption. We have had the sanction and confi- 
dence of one to whom we shall ever look with the most pro- 
found veneration and respect, one who, under God, has been 
the mainstay of all our ambition; wlio never yet cast a frown 
or uttered a harsh word toward us, no matter what faults 
we might have committed. Our beloved Bishop has buoyed 
us up, and always cheered us by his kind and fatherly advice. 
We have had the sympathy and good wishes of our brethren 
of the priesthood; fur, I must say it in all honor to that dis- 
tinguished body of gentlemen, that no angry, or unkind, or 
bitter expression has ever escaped the lips of eitlier young or 
old towards me. 

" But. my dear friends, it would be too tedious for me to 
dwell at length upon the various topics alluded to in your 
kind address. I can only hope that the bond of friendship 
may be yet more firmly cemented as we advance in years. 
And, if God spares us, we shall start again with renewed en- 
ergy, and renewed zeal, in the cause which we all have so 
much at heart. 

" I will now merely thank 3'ou, one and all, in the name 
of the Assumption congregation. I thank you, brethren of 
the priesthood, in the name of our venerated and beloved 
Bishop; and the laity at large, I thank in the name of its 
chief civic officer, the people's choice of ruler, His Honor, 
Mayor Howell." 

The exercises were brought to a close with the bene- 
diction by Bishop Loughlin. As the congregation 
slowly dispersed, the choir rendered the " Hallelujah 
Chorus," and the orchestra performed a grand 
march. 

The jubilee at the church was supplemented by a 
splendid banquet at the pastoral residence, to which 
over one hundred persons had been invited. The long 



tables were loaded down with substantials, and the 
hospitality was generous in the extreme. Bishop 
Loughlin presided, and was supported on his right by 
Mayor Howell, and on his left by Mr. Thomas Kinsella. 
The speeches were by Bishop Loughlin, Mr. Thomas 
Kinsella, Mayor Howell, Henry C. De Witt, Esq., Rev. 
Fathers Keegan and Fransioli, Mr. Geo. M. Nichols, 
Felix Campbell, Arthur Crooks, Vice-President of the 
St. Patrick Society, and David T. Lynch. 

Mr. Andrew McLean offered the following " Tribute 
in Verse," which was loudly applauded. Songs were 
sung by Messrs. Fitzharris and Thomas, and after an 
evening memorable for its wit, eloquence and kindly 
associations, the company dispersed. 



When basking in the calm pure light 

Of gentle hearts and kipdly deeds— 
Of souls that ever tend aright 

Through all the shifting shades of creeds. 
Wo feel the joy the soldier feels 

When, resting at the battle's close, 
The uprolled cloud of smoke reveals 

Strange allies where he counted foes. 

'Tis well for us a generous power 

Makes difference fade and manhood rise; 
That not the most impatient hour 

Will pass unless some discord diee; 
That distance renders harshness sweet, 

And time makes dull the edge of strife; 
That every wrong grows obsolete, 

And charity is Lord of life. 

To-night I count my difference naught 

On any subtle schoolman's theme; 
I banish wholly from my thought 

The questions jarring minds esteem. 
And stand 'mid friends who love you, sire, 

To blend with theirs my friendly mood; 
To own with them how deeds inspire 

That blossom into stainless good. 

A thousand little children fair. 

Who cannot plead with Heaven in vain; 
To-night send with their evening prayer 

For thee a pure beseeching strain ; 
A thousand matrons, trouble-tried. 

But cheered by hopes that baffle woe, 
Kneel by the crib and cradle-side 

To speed the prayers that trembling go. 

Youths round us hero with ardent look 

Bent on the Future's mystic face, 
Attest thy kindly past'ral crook 

And patient, tireless teaching grace ; 
I know, too, strong men at their toil. 

From strangling passion lifted free, 
Who, standing fast on honest soil, 

Do in their manhood honor thee, 

But as the beacon on the hill 

That lights some shepherd to his spouse. 
May guide a hundred feet from ill 

Unthought of in the shepherd's house, 
The annals cannot tell, dear friend. 

How many lives thy goodness praise ; 
'Tis only known the beams you send 

Have lighted countless darkened ways. 

Nor can it, matter much to one 

Who lives for good because he must. 
If, like the radiant-hearted Sun 

Who shines on all the stellar dust. 
He hear not of the flowers that long 

A thankful incense to return ; 
Nor of the birds that in theircong 

To chant his gifts with music burn. 



1050 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



Yet, well 11 is that after years 

Of labor in a noble cause, 
Some noble, generous fruit appears— 

Some echo comes of right applause. 
To prove that he who sows the seed 

For other hands to reap and bind. 
Hath greater glory in the deed 

Than any selfish soul shall find. 

T fain would add with furtive liand 

Some triQing token to the mass. 
Built high by those who understand, 

The father thoughts that through you pass, 
Some token that shall only say, 

As chance eyes choose to turn it o'er, 
He swept some mists of hate away 

And made men trust each other more. 

Rev. Henry A. Gallagher, Rev. Charles J. Gallagher 
and Rev. David A. Hickey, the three clergymen who, 
in their youth, were altar boys in the Church of the 
Assumption, surprised Father Keegan with new furni- 
ture for his bedroom. The Sisters of Charity of St. 
Joseph and of the Visitation, and the Little Sisters of 
the Poor, each made elegant presents. Dr. John S. 
Thorne sent a picture of liigh value and richly framed. 
The floral offerings were many and handsome. 



St. Peter and St. Paul's Church, Second street, near 
Sout)i 2d, E. D. — The first mass celebrated in Williamsburgh 



(about 1838) was in a stable on Grand street, west of 
Third, by Rev. Dougherty, of St. Mary's Church in New 
York. 

The first churcli erected in Williamslmrgh was ,S'^ Mar'ifs, 
corner North Eighth and First, org. 1841, and under charge 
of Eev. Mr. O'Donnell. In 1S44, Rev. Sylvester Malone took 
charge of St. Marj-'s, and soon set about building a new 
church. Tlie corner-stone of the Church of Saints Peter 
and Paul was laid May 11th; 1847, and the church was dedi- 
cated in May, 1848. Rev. Sylvester Malone has been its 
Pastor; with the exception of part of 1881 and 1883, when 
he was abroad, and his place was supplied by Rev. Mr. 
Gallagher. 

Clergy: Rev. Jno. N. Campbell, 1870-'78; Rev. John 
Fagan, 1870-'74; Rev. Henry Gallagher, 1875-'83; Rev. 
Michael Killahy, 1879; Rev. Hugh Ward, 1881-84. 

While Father Malone has held in strict regard the disci- 
pline and order of the Roman Catholic Church, in respect to 
the order and relation of its priesthood, he has ever recognized 
the duties growing out of the progressive civilization of the 
age. And while enforcing religion on the consciences of his 
people by the logic of its power, he has been careful that the 
claims of religion a:id of his church should not euroach on 
the civil rights of tlie citizen, either to restrict or control his 
dutj' to the State. 

Tlie community of Williamsburgh owe a debt of gratitude 
to Father Malone for suppressing the turbulent spirit of his 
people during the draft riots in New York. 



REV. SYLVESTER MALONE. 

Pastor of Sfs. Titer mid Paul's R. (J. Clnirrli. 



Father Malone, as he is called (not alone by his parish- 
ioners, after the manner of Catholics, but also by the whole 
body of non-Catholics in the city, in which for forty years 
he has labored with grand purpose as true man and true 
priest), was born in the inland town of Trim, about twenty 
miles from the city of Dublin, County Meath, Ireland, May 
8th, A. D. 1821. 

All the conditions cnv.'roning his early life, from his birth 
onward, naturally led to the adoption Ity him of an intellec- 
tual pursuit, and to forming and developing him into the 
broad, strong, earnest, hard-working, intellectual and Chr.'s- 
tian man he is known to be. 

His whole family had a bent for the higher callings ami 
duties of life. His father was a country merchant in Trim, 
but also discharged the functions of a civil engineer and sur- 
veyor. His mother was possessed of fine executive ability 
and strong intellect — both possessed in large degree by 
Father Malone. She died only recently, at the age of ninety- 
four years, with unimpaired faculties. It is said of her that 
she was the wise counsellor of the country people through- 
out a wide circuit. One of his brothers now follows, in 
the old town, his father's profession as au engineer; and 
another has been a 'eading physician in Brooklyn for manj' 
years. ^ 

At an early age, the subject of this sketch was entered as a 
student of mathematics and classics in the Academy of Prof. 
Matthew Carroll, a non-Catholic, and a Fellow of Trinity 
College. This gentleman was one of the most accomplished 
and erudite instructors of youth of that day. If results may 
be taken as determining fitness, the successful careers of his 



then pupils serve to clearly jirove that he was admirably 
qualified in his vocation. 

These pupils were divided as to religious opinions and 
creeds. Many of the Catholics entered professional life ; 
some became missionaries in the colonies of Great Britain; 
one is still Bursar in the College of Maynooth. Of the non- 
Catholics, several achieved distinction in the civil service 
of Great Britain, in India; and one, Dr. James Hanbury, 
was recently Chief of the Medical Staff with the English 
army in Egypt. 

Of his term at this Academy, and of his observations and 
experiences at this period of his life, Father Malone has im- 
pressively written in a letter to a friend : 

" My early life was toned by association with non-Catho- 
lics. The kindliest feeling was cultivated among people who 
followed different religious beliefs. The Catholic priest and 
the Protestant minister walked arm-in-arm througli the pub- 
lic streets of the town. No doubt such an example was a 
Iiowerful agenc3' for harmony and peace. Its influence, on 
botli sides, was calculated to destroy prejudice and insjiire 
confidence among citizens of the same nationality. To tliis 
I lovingly turn as the school that has fitted me for the proper 
appreciation of what citizens owe each other in America, 
where religion is left as an individual interest which no one 
has the right to iuterfere with." 

All the good of those days that touched him found in him 
a heartily sympathetic and responsive subject for its influ- 
ence. The impressicms then made upon him were deep and 
abiding. Nurtured by such parents, aided by his happy asso- 
ciations, he formed habits and purposes, and made for him- 
self an ideal, neither of which has ever been abandoned. On 
the contrary, each has been strengthened and confirmed 




^ ^./?^ ^i'/la //--2- 



ECCLESIASTICAL ORGANIZATIONS. 



1051 



■with his growth. His jireliminary preparation and experi- 
ence liad made liim ready to accept tlie opportunity soon to 
be offered to him for entering the priesthood. 

In 1838, Rev. Andrew Byrne, Pastor of St. James' Catholic 
Church in tlie city of New York, was in Ireland, seeking 
young men desirous of entering the Catholic priesthood, for 
the American Mission. Tiiis priest, a few years later, was 
elevated to the new Bishopric of Little Rock, Arkansas; 
and died during the war, regretting the sad state of the 
country he loved so much. With liim, young Malone, then 
in his seventeenth year, sailed for the United States, land- 
ing in Philadelphia. The first acquaintance he made there 
was with a friend of his companion. Bishop Kenrick, who, 
later on, was transferred to Baltimore, created Archbishop 
of that See, and thereby Primate of America. From Phil- 
adelphia, Sylvester soon came to New York. He was at 
once presented to Archbishop Hughes, and, by his advice, 
entered the temporary seminary at Le Fargeville, Jeffer- 
son county, N. Y. After one year's study there, he entered 
St. John's Seminary, Fordham, where he completed his 
course of studies and, on August 15th, 1844, was ordained 
a priest of the diocese of New York by its present Arch- 
bishop, His Eminence Cardinal McCloskey, who was then 
coadjutor to Bishop Hughes. This was the first ordina- 
tion of a i^riest by him, and Father Malone claims the honor 
of having been the first priest so ordained. Immediately 
after his ordination, Father Malone was sent on the mission 
in Williamsburgh, where he has ever since remained. 

Into the then scattered village of Williamsbui-gh, liaving a 
population of only ten thousand, of whom not jn< ro tlian 
five hundred were Catholics, if, in fact, there were sj many. 
Father Malone came on a Saturday night in September fol- 
lowing. 

Tliere and then was begun in reality the sacred work to 
which his life had been devoted, and immersed in which it 
was to be filled out. And w)io shall say that he was not well 
equipped for it ? He was robust in constitution and health, 
imbued with piety, zealous in purpose — that purpose being 
of the loftiest — untiringly industrious, admirable in energy, 
wholly self-reliant, resolute, well-educated, studious and in- 
tellectually well balanced. 

Quickly perceptive, judicially calm and searching in all 
his mental processes, he at once apprehended the nature and 
range of the duties devolving upon him, and correctly esii- 
niated the difficulties to be overcome. How onerous the 
former, how grave the latter, can be discerned at this time 
only by those of his flock who can recollect the events of that 
period, and who remember the humble little parish church 
of St. Mary's and its young Pastor. 

His first sermon was almost i^rophetic of what was to be 
the most controlling influence in his life. Of that sermon, 
Father Malone in his farewell address to his people, on 
May 29, A. D. 1881, prior to his departure for Europe, said: 

" The first sermon I preached, as I remember, was on char- 
ity, its principles and teachings; and I have tried to make 
this virtue tlie star guiding me in my course of life, as I was 
called to minister to not only the physical wants of depend 
ent members in society; but still more to be charitable in 
word and thought, to those who were not seen to worship at 
the same altar with me." 

How completely the prophecy has been fulfilled. St. 
Mary's parish comprised all the territorj' bounded by Hallet's 
Cove on the north. Middle Village on the east. Myrtle ave. 
on the south, and the East River on the west. From these 
remote points Catholics found their way to the services of 
the church in the little wooden building surrounded by the 
graves of their kindred, at North 8th and 2d St., almost 
the northfrlv line of Old Williamsburgh. The old churcli 



building has been razed, but the church-yard, with its 
memorial stones testifying to that past and dead genera- 
tion, is still a landmark. 

To these points, too, toiled Father Malone in his ministra- 
tions to the sick and dying; for in those days, he had no 
assistant in the care of the parish. 

Those were busy days for him. When he took charge of 
St. Clary's, it was burdened by a debt of .|2,300. Father 
Malone immediately set himself to the payment of it, and in 
two years he rejoiced with his people in having paid off the 
entire sum. 

Meantime, there had been a gradual and steady increase in 
the number of worshipers at St. Mary's, but not till his 
Iieople had been freed from the oppression of the debt, 
would he permit his mind to dwell on the project of build- 
ing a new church edifice, and in the Thirteenth Ward. Nor 
did he, iintil the way before him seemed to be reasonably 
favorable for its successful execution. 

Ways and means were subjects of serious consideration 
for him. In the address already referred to he spoke thus: 

" It was then only we conceived the idea of a new church; 
but to accomplish this in a Ward, where as yet none of the 
Catholic people seemed to have found liomes, was thought 
by many a rash undertaking. It was my judgment tliat the 
location was well selected and convenient for tlie Catholics 
of the 14tli, as well as those of tlie 13tli V/ard, which were 
the only settled sections of Williamsburgh." 

He did not advert to the fact that the land for the new 
church was not obtained without difficulty. Anti-Catholic 
prejudice was feverish and aggressive in its assertion, and 
the proposal to erect a Catholic Church in the 13th Ward, 
was unfavorably considered by the holders of that prejudice. 
But land was purchased; the title to it secured by a 
friend of the church and Pastor, and on a day, bright in the 
memories of Father Slalone, and those of his old flock who 
survive (May 11th, A. D. 1847), the corner-stone of the 
present Saints Peter and Paul's Church, was laid by Arch- 
bishop Hughes. The superstructure was speedily forwarded 
to completion, and one year later was dedicated by the same 
prelate. 

In the address, already quoted, Father Malone said further: 

'■ I may here state that we never collected a cent to help 

us in our then great undertaking, save only from the people 

who were immediately benefited by the erection of the 

church." 

It was the first church built in the diocese of New York, in 
the Gothic order of architecture. The architect was Mr. J. 
J. Kelly. 

For five years, from 1844 to 1849, Father Malone had la- 
bored unceasingly. A period of rest came to his labor that 
almost proved final. In the latter year, in the discharge of 
his duty, he attended a woman, from whom he contracted a 
virulent disease, that carried him far within the shadow of 
death. There is almost cynical irony in what followed. The 
woman was soon after murdered by her husband, and for it 
he was executed. Scarcely convalescent. Father Malone 
was prostrated by cholera; the scourge of ship fever at- 
tacked his weakened system; and finally he was burned out 
of house and home, losing in the fire his library, manu- 
scripts, and the whole of his worldly possessions. 

He had been ten years ordained; had removed the debt of 
the old church, erected the new one, the parochial school, 
and the handsome pastoral residence; had inaugurated the 
Academy of the Sisters of St. Joseph; established a church 
library; organized a literary association of the young men 
of his parish, many of whom have become prominent and 
successful in professional and business life, and had gathered 
around him a large and loving congregation, when, in 
1854, he visited Europe; chiefly to witness tlie grand assem- 



105 -2 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



l)ly of tho Bishops of the whole world, then convened at 
Rome, by the late Pope Puis IX., to proclaim the dogma of 
the Immaculate Conception, and to be present at the making 
of the proclamation. 

During liis absence in Europe, political and religious 
prejudices became much embittered in Williamsburgh, as 
elsewhere, and induced acts of physical violence. In No- 
vember of that year, a mob attacked the church and en- 
deavored to destroy it by fire, or to wreck it. It was saved 
by the prompt and resolute action of the civic and military 
authorities, who guarded it for several days, and until the 
danger to it had passed, almost as much from personal re- 
gard for Father Malone, who had already made his impress 
as a good citizen, as from convictions of duty. 

Returning in 1855, Father Malone bent himself anew to 
his work, but the next few following years were un- 
marked by any event of sjiecial significance in his pas- 
torate. 

It was not until the dreadful coming of the Rebellion that 
his power and energy were fully put forth and wrought 
with. Durhig the dark days and years of its continuance, 
no man did more in his place, and of his ability, to contrib- 
ute to the maintenance of the Union and the success of its 
arms. By voice and pen in his daily mingling with the people ; 
from the pulpit; from the platform; every where that opportu- 
nity afforded, he declared for the cause of the nation, cheered 
and encouraged the loyal, reproved and discouraged the dis- 
loyal. He aided largely in the success of the Sanitary Fair for 
the soldiers in field and liospital, and donated one-quarter of 
his small salary to the fund for soldiers' wives and children. I 
"When rumor came, on that memorable April Saturday after- 
noon, that rebels were about to fire on Sumter, the flag that 
symbolized the unity of the nation was, by his direction, 
thrown to the breeze from the spire of Sts. Peter and Paul's 
Clmrch, and astonished the eyes of early church-goers next 
morning. It was the first flag displayed on a church in the 
United States at the beginning of the long struggle, and was 
afterwards carried to the front by Williamsburgli men. 

With an eloquent address, citizens presented to Father 
Malone a flag to replace it. This one, often afterwards, from 
the spire of Sts. Peter and Paul's, signaled victory to the 
people — never more welcomely than on the 1st day of Jan- 
uary, A. D. 18G3. All the previous night had been passed in 
anxious waiting for news of the result of the three days' fight- 
ing at Murf reesboro. It came at last through the dark and 
stormy morning of that day, and the flag went up to its place 
with fervent gratitude to God, in symbol that the nation had 
won, what Father Malone believes tho philosopher in history 
will find to have been, the most radically decisive battle of the 
war. It was in symbol also that African slavery in the 
United States went to its death on that day, and that four 
milUons of freemen had been raised out of that death. 

At the close of the war. Father Malone, being in need of re- 
spite from his arduous duties, made a journey through the 
South with his friend. Rev. Thomas P'arrell, of St. Joseph's 
Church, New York, since deceased. He fully studied the 
condition of affairs there, and expressed his views on it in 
able letters, then published. After his return from tlie South, 
he resumed his active work in the care of his parish, and 
continued it with all his old-time vigor and ability until, in 
1881, he was compelled to take entire rest, and seek change 
of scene and climate. The necessity for his doing so had 
long been manifest — he was overworn — but he yielded to it 
reluctantly, and only under the imperative orders of his 
physician. In taking leave of his people, in his farewell ad- 
dress before quoted, he stated some of the results of his labors 
in his thirty-seven years' pastorate. Ten thousand discourses 



(he might have added hundreds of addresses on civic occa- 
sions) ; eighteen thousand baptisms; tliree thousand five hun- 
dred marriages; half a million penitents prepared for com- 
munion; five thousand applicants prepared for confirmation 
and first communion; one thousand converts; all debt on the 
church and parochial school paid, and the debt on the paro- 
chial liouse and St. Joseph's Academy reduced to a small sum. 

Referring to Catholic growth and expansion in the interim, 
particularly alluding to four churches that had been built, he 
continued: 

" And twelve churches besides, where the English tongue 
is spoken by Priests and people. All tliese find good support 
on territory where I stood alone, the representative of Catho- 
lic interests in the early years of my ministry. Within the 
same area there has sprung up seven other churches, in 
which the language spoken by a thrifty and hard-working 
race is that of Fatherland. " 

He paid high tribute in his eloquent address to his non- 
Catholic fellow citizens, an<l to his adopted country; tenderly 
advised his deeply-moved congregations, and concluded in 
these words: 

" And finally, may you live in charity with all your fellow 
citizens; though you have necessarily to differ with many 
in religious belief, and may or may not agree in your judg- 
ments of men, and in those questions that are constantly oc- 
cun-ing in civil life. There is one thing which will ever dis- 
tinguish you — charity — loving God above all things, and 
loving your neighbor for Christ's sake." 

He had come to them thirty-seven years before in the sign 
of charity, and in that sign he departed. A few days later 
he sailed. His tour was an extended one, embracing Eng- 
land, Ireland, Scotland, Continental Europe, Egypt and the 
Holy Land. Letters from his Bishop, Cardinal McCloskey, 
the United States Secretary, and other leading men, brought 
him into intimate association with our ministers, diplomats, 
and the leading men abroad, and his reception was as cor- 
dial and enjoyable as it was desening, in all his journey- 
ings. 

Probably no incident or experience of, or in them all, so 
much affected him, or will be so enduring to his memory, as 
will be that of the celebration by him of mass on Mount Cal- 
vary. He returned to his people early in September, 1883, 
and again took up his work. His welcome liome by the 
whole community was earnest and grateful. His first ad- 
dress indicated that he had looked on in Europe and else- 
where with intelligent appreciation of men and events. Here 
it may be remarked, that he made voluminous notes of ob- 
servation and comment on both, and that he may hereafter 
arrange them for use and reference. They may well be es- 
teemed, by those who know him, as valuable. 

This address was in part a criticism on the separation abroad 
of priests and people. He deplored it, and argued for a more 
close identification of the clergy with the everj'-day life of 
the people everywhere. 

The address provoked some adverse criticism, and gave 
him an opportunity to restate his position with greater em- 
phasis. 

Sincerely believing in the peojile, he argues that their ad- 
vancement will lift the clergy to a higher place. Banquets 
were tendered to hiin. The leading newspapers contained 
warm expressions of affectionate regard. Extracts from 
one of these will suffice to express the tone of all: 

"Upon all occasions in the pulpit he has enforced strongly 
the brotherhood of man as man. and the sacred duty of obe- 
dience to law and public-spirited citizenship. He is sincerely 
attached to liis adopted country, and no voice during the re- 
bellion was more patriotic than his. No word ever uttered 
by liim has ever given offence to Protestants, many of whom 
are to be found occasionally among his Sunday congregation, 
drawn thither by esteem for the man. ... In days like 



ECCLESIASTICAL OR GANIZA TIONS. 



1053 



our own, when there has been so much ecclesiastical disturb- 
ance in many of the countries of Europe, it is refreshing to 
Hnd an irreproachable priest, who has consistently exhibited 
in his own career the true modus ^''f 'i**' . j^'^'^;?^" „^ "'^J' 
•iiid State His has been the loyal and spiritual Catholicism, 
Which has chi.aoterized so many illustrious American 
Catholics. Like the late Archbishop Bayley, he lias always 
been recognised bv Americans as thoroughly in accord w,th 
the fundamental principles of the Repubhc. ; Handsome is 
t at handsome does,' is his estimate of human con- 
duct; and he would neither detract from virtue, because 
he found it in those of a different belief nor white- 
wash crime because it was done by those of his own reli- 
gion."' 

Never a self-seeker. Father Maloiie lias not sought prefer- 
ment to higher office in the church, but has serenely abided 
in his sphere as a parish priest with the people he has guided 
from infancy to mature age, and they are very dear to lum. 
In May 1852, at the age of thirty-one, he attend, d the 
First Plenary Council of the Church in the United States, at 
Baltimore On the suggestion of Archbishop Hughes, he 
was ai.pointed Theologian in that council to Bishop Reynolds, 
then Bishop of Charleston, S. C. Later, he prepared and de- 
livered the address to Bishop Loughlin of Brooklyn, on be- 
half of the priests of his diocese, accompanyinr; the pre- 
sentation to him of a purse to defray his expenses, on the oc- 
casion of his first visit to Rome. In 1866, he attended the 
Second Plenary Council, held at Baltimore, as Theologian 
to the same Bishop. 

On the 30th of October, 1S78, the twenty-fifth anniversary 
of the consecration of Bish.^, Loughlin, he prepared and pre- 
sented the address of congratulation to him of the priests of 
Brooklyn on the event. Though brief, it contained an inter- 
esting and permanently valuable view of the growth of the 
church in its spiritual and material interests in the diocese, 
andwas an eloquent testimony to the Bishop's admmistra- 
tion. He has been for many years a member of his Bishop s 

council. f iu x> 

In politics, Father Malone has been a member of the Re- 
publican party since its organization, and has given to it 
hearty support. He never acted with the Democratic party. 
His love for his kind, his eagerness for human progress, 
would not permit acceptance by him of its policy or methods. 
These were uncongenial to him, and in his view obnoxious 
to just principles of government, and therefore dangerous to 
the well-being of the nation. 

His atfection for his native land has caused him to take ac- 
tive interest in the movement by the Land League to amelio- 
rate her condition. 

The foUowing extract from one of his addresses from the 
pulpit, in reference to it, will serve alike to define his position 
on this point, and his clear, strong style: 



" A people have the right to inhabit their own land, and to 
inherit all the benefits and happiness of living which may 
come to them in it. When this is denied to a p.>ople, every 
orihould give his aid to them in putting off the misgovern- 
ment which allows and continues such a condition of affairs. 
On that account I am with the present Land League move- 
ment I believe in it and look upon it as the most promising 
Zvemeat that has yet stirred the thoughts of men every- 
where for justice to that land. But I go no further than the 
aeitation of the Land League question on its merits. Those 
wlo counsel and call for an uprising with arms are not those 
who seek the proper and moit effective way to arouse the 
people to the justice of the questions embodied 'U the Land 
League movement. Be wary of those people Agi ate t e 
uuestion on its merits, and the great press of the countiy 
w"u make known the justice of the cause, and move a speed> 
rectification of the wrongs. Whatever is done, b^ caieful 
that you do nothing to interfere with your line ot duty as 
citize." <.f \merica. Exaggerated statements and exagger- 
ated threats Snly prove deH^menlalto your positions as citi- 
zens and detrimental to the cause you would see advanced. 



" I have no word of approbation for any movement that 
contemplates an appeal to armed force. Agitate the ques- 
tion, create a moral sympathy for the oppressed of Ireland, 
and your movement will accomplish what an appeal to 
force would not— success. 

" We here In America must not do anything winch will 
bring this country into complications with a friendly govern- 
ment; and we must ignore those who liope by Hre-crackers 
to make a stand against cannon, rifles, and all tiie improved 
implements of destruction in the hands of a strong govern- 
ment When we become citizens of tins great country- 
Frenchmen, Germans, Spaniards and Irishmen— we swear 
allegiance to it, and for it we must ever be ready, even 
against the country we have left, to fight, and hght to con- 
quer." 

In physique. Father Malone is of full average height and 
corpulent. He has a large, symmetrical head, and a strong 
face that in repose is very grave, but lights up on o<-casion 
with rare brightness. Dignified in manner, without being 
austere, he has in large measure the faculty of putting one 
at ease. 

He is a close student and keeps in line with the leading 
thought and thinkers of the day. A thinker in the best 
sense, superficial men have no use for him. He has a very 
complete wt.rking library. There is not a book in it for 
show, and he knows his books as old friends. 

Being a man of refined and cultivated tastes, he is, as may 
weU be expected, a patron of the arts, and he is at once a 
generous and discriminating one. He has always caused a 
high standard of excellence to be maintained in the musical 
services of Sts. Peter and Paul's; and is a warm admirer 
of fine painting and sculpture which he studies with critical 
acumen and appreciation. 

In private life he is genial, unostentatious, simple and tem- 
perate To one who should know him there, it would n )t be 
difficult to believe of him, as he has stated, that retirement 
would be more congenial to his natural and acquired habits. 
The worn and weary priest has always found in his house 
a place of rest and bountiful hospitality. To young men he 
has freely given with a parent's generosity and tenderness. 
His beneficence has helped forward many such in then- 
chosen pursuits, more especially to the priesthood. To the 
unfortunate, the dependent, the shiftless and the weak, he is 
as a loving brother, a strong staff, a wise helper and a merci- 
ful chider; and he can be, to the wilfully corrupt, the sternly 
reproving judge. There is no weakness in his gentleness- 
no hardness in his resoluteness-no mere obstinacy. All 
true himself, he has a wide-reaching detestation of shams. 
His pulpit addresses are wholly extemporaneous. In them 
all mere display of rhetoric is studiously avoided. Uttered 
with definite aim and objects, they are practical, rich m 
pregnant suggestion, argumentative and logical; but they are 
always attractive, persuasive, and hold closely the attention 
of his hearers, so rife are they with the genius of his person- 
ality fine manhood and true priestly character. 

Often eloquent, he is always felicitously so in his funeral 
discourses. These latter would serve as excellent models m 
statement of matter and in style. „ , v.- « 

But it is in his altar talks with his people, that his fine 
mind and hearty and cultivated powers are best revealed to 
them, and by which they are most closely drawn to him. He 
exercises inthesetalksa never-weakening charm. 

With ^n-eater significance and force than even he used them 
in his address to his Bishop, on the latter's twenty-fifth anni- 
versary, might his people deliver to him the testimony held 
in these words 



" They cannot but look up to their Priest as one most ex- 
emnlaiy in his devotion to his sacied office; ever at his post; 
X?ays accessible to every member of his flock, young or old, 
hi^l?oi lowly, who claimed his fatherly eai- or sympathy; 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



always most willing to give to everyone the benefit of his 
couusels, and the light of his own experience. 

Wlieii we .say devotion to your high and sacred office, we 
mean tidelicy to its duties in the strictest sense. Thus has the 
liglit of your example been a guide to all, priests and people. 
Thus ha; the iufluenceof your chiracter served to form others 
to priBstly fervor and apostolic zeal. We now look back over 
tliese pregnaat forty years, and finding in your life and labors 
so much to be grateful for to the Eternal Shepherd of souls, 
we come in this presence to pay to you, who have been so long 
our good Shepherd, the homage of our congratulations and 
our gratitude. May Gk)d brighten the remaining years of 
your most useful life." 



German Church of the Holy Trinity. — This cliurch, Mon- 
trose avenue, near Eweii street (E. D.), was established in 
July, 1841, for the German Catholics. It was rebuilt in 18-53, 
the cornerstone having been laid by Ai'chbishop Hughes, 
June 39, iu that year. The site and edifice were olitained at 
the sole expense of first Pastor, Rev. John Raffeiner, who 
directeJ it till his death, July 17, 1861. 

The church proving inadequate to tlie wants of the con- 
gregition, in 1882, the f.iundation was laid for an elegant 
stone edifice in the Gothic style of the 13tli century, which 
has a front of 7.5 feet on 3Iontrose avenue, by a dejith of 180 
feet. This new church, which is not yet completed, will be 
finished in the finest style, and will cost $350,000. The fami- 
lies in the parish number about 900. The schools in connec- 
tion with the church contain 1,700 scholars. The boys are 
taught l)v lay-teachers, and the girls by the Sisters of St. 
Dominic. 

Clergy: 1. Very Rev. John Raffeiner, V. G. Pastor, 1841 
-"61; assistants, John Raffeiner, Jr., 1848-'49; Rev. John 
Rauferisen, 1849-'50; Rev. Maurus Ramsauer, 18.50-'51; Rev. 
Frederic Jung, 1851-"53: Rev. Casper Metzler, 185.3 ; Rev. 
Joseph Huber, 1853-"56 ; Rev. Alois Endets, 1856-'u7; Rev. P. 
Albrecht, 1857-'59; Rev. Michael May, 18d9-'61: Rev. John 
Hauptman, 18")9-'61. 3. Rev. M. May, Pastor, 1861-'83; as- 
sistants, Rev. John Hauptman, 1861-'63; Rev. Anthony 
Arnold, 1863-66; Rev. Joseph Ulrech, 186.5-66; Rev. Gustav 
Kamerer, 1866-'69; Rev. Peter Deaffenbach, 1869-75; Rev. 
P. J. Schwarg, 1869-75; Rev. C. Muller, 1870-'74; Rev. J. 
F. Hanselman, 1877-"80; Rev. F. X. Pauletigi, 1877-'79; Rev. 
J. B. Willman, 1877; Rev. Geo. Feser, 1880-83; Rev. Geo. 
Kaupert, 18Sl-'84. 

Rev. Michael May, born in Bavaria, 1836; came to Brook- 
lyn May 80, 1859, as assistant to Father Raffeiner at Holy 
Trinity; appointed Pastor, July, 1862; founded Ch. of An- 
nunciation, 1863; built parish schools later, St. Nicholas' Ch., 
and All Saints Ch. ; built an Orjjhan Asylum, St. Catharine's 
Hospital, and new church, 1881-'83, of stone, 88 feet by 170, 
and 70 feet in height, with two towers, 300 feet high; cost 
$300,000. 

St. Patrick's Church. — This church, cor. of Kent and 
Willoughby avenues, was the first R. C. Church in East 
Brooklyn. It was commenced in 1848 by the Rev. Hugh 
McGuire, and was for some years known as the Wallabout 
Church. It was dedicated in honor of St. Patrick, August 
3d, 1856. 

Clergy : Revs. Hugh McGuire, 1848-"60; Patrick O'Neill, 
1853-54; John Bowling, 18.54-"o5; Henry G'Neil, 1857-'58; 
Peter C. Fagau, 1803-'64; Edward Fitzpatrick, 1870-'72; J. 
Conlon, 1870; Francis Lennon, 1870-71; John Purcell, 1871 
-'72; John McCoUum, 1873-'75; Thomas Taafe, Pastor, from 
1873 to present time; Andrew 0"ConneIl, 1873-'77; M. S. 
Boylan, 1877; Henry J. Zimmer, 1877-79; Jno. McCloskey, 
lH78-'83; Will. Giles, 1878; M. Goodwin, 1879: Jas. Bobier, 
1830-83: James Taafe, 1880-'83; E. J. McGoldrick, 1883-83; 
Thomas A. Mao-Caff rey, 1883. 



Rev. James Taafe, born at Dromard, Ireland; grad. Clon- 
gowes Wood College, 1873; studied at Coll. de Ste. Marie, 
Toulouse, and S.-m. St. Sulpice, Paris; ordained 1878; app. 
curate in Brooklyn, 1879. 

Church of St. Charles Borromeo. — The Episcopal Church 
on Sydnej- place was purchased by the Roman Catli<jlics iu 
1851; and the Rev. Charles Constantine Pise, then Pastor of 
St. Peter's Church, in Barclay street. New York, was sent 
over by Archbishop Hughes to take charge of the new church 
and parish. Dr. Pise was a gentleman of the nio-st refined 
last 'S and scholarly attainments, and he soon gathered to his 
church a congregation of the elite of the Catholic population 
of the city. Dr. Pise died in l>fi6, and his successor. Dr. Freel, 
purchased, at a cost of .$35,000, ground adjoining the churcli 
and pastoral residence lor a church site. In 1868, the old 
church, with its valuable organ, its superb frescoes and fine 
collection of music, was burned. Measures were at once in- 
stituted to build a new church which is 130 feet in length by 
75 in width, and cost about $70,000. The walls of the old 
churcli were turned into St. Philoineiia's School on Sidney 
place. It is a somewhat remarkable fact that on one occasion 
tlie Rt. Rev. Levi Silliman Ives, as Episcopal Bishop of North 
Carolina, ordained in this church the Rev. Donald Macleod, 
as a minister of the Episcopal Church; and that, not many 
years after, they met again, both Roman Catholics, iu this 
church, which had also like them become Roman Catholic. 

Clergy: Rev. C. C. Pise, D. D., 1851-66; Rev. Joseph Frau- 
sioli, 1857-'59; Rev. David O'Mullane. 1863-'64; Rev. F. J. 
Freel, D. D., 1866-81; Rev. Thomas F. McGivern, 1866-'71; 
Rev. Jas. Doherty, 1870; Rev. Chas. Hubert, 1873; Rev. Jas. 
S. Duffy, 1873-78; Rev. Ignatius O'Brien, 1874; Rev. Denis 
A. Tivenan, 1875; Rev. Thomas Ward, 1875-'84; Rev. Jere- 
miah Brosnan, 1878-'83. Dr. Freel died in March, 1884. 

St. Joseph's, Pacific street, near Vanderbilt avenue, is a 
brick edifice, with a seating capacity of fifteen hundred. It 
was erected in 1853, and afterwards enlarged. There are large 
schools connected with it; the boys' school of 600 pupils 
under the care of the Franciscan Brothers, and the girls' 
school with 450 children in attendance conducted bj' the 
Sisters of St. Joseph. 

Clergy : Rev. P. O'Neill, 1853-'67; Rev. Edward Corcoran, 
1867-83. Assistant Pastors : Rev. Peter Kearney, 1867-'73; 
Rev. William O'Donnell, 1870-71; Rev. P. J. McGIinchey, 
1876: Re\ . Patrick McNamara, 1871-74; Rev. James O'Rourke, 
1873-'75; Rev. Bernard McHugh, 1874-'75; Rev. John Hogaii, 
1875; Rev. Thos. S. Reilly, 187.5-78; Rev. John Lougliran, 
1879--81; Rev, C. J. Curtin, 1881-'83; Rev. P. J. McGIinchey, 
1883-'84. 

St. John's Church, 31st st., was org. about the year 1846, 
and a wooden edifice erected. For several years there was no 
settled Pastor. Rev. Peter McLoughlin was Pastor in 18.55-'6; 
Rev. Francis McKeon, 1850-57; Rev. J. McGovern, 1857-60; 
Rev. Hugh McGuire, 1860-'73; and the present Pastor, Rev. 
James O'Beirne, since 1873. The Assistant Pastors have been : 
Rev. Peter Daly, Rev. John McGuire, Rev. Michael Hickey, 
Rev. Patrick Mulligan, and Rev. Bernard A. Plunkett. The 
church building was enlarged in 1873, and now has a seating 
capacity of 1,380. Near the church is a convent of the sisters 
of St. Joseph, erected by Father O'Beirne in 1876. Two 
schools are maintained: one for hoys, under the charge of 
the Franciscan Brothers, and one for giiis, under the Sisters 
of St. Joseph. The average attendance at these schools is 900. 
The church propert}' is valued at $60,000. 

Rev. .Iames O'Beirne, born in Ireland, 1823; grad. St. Pat- 
rick's Coll., Maynooth, 1853; located Flushing, L. I., 1853-'73; 
B'klyn, 1873-'84; Rev. Bernard A. Plunkett, died No\-. 1883; 
succeeded by Rev. Michael A. Naugliton. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ORGANIZATIONS. 



1055 



Church of the Immaculate Conception. — This church, sit- 
uated ou tlie coriu-r of Maujer and Leonard streets, was com- 
menced in 1853, tlie corner-stone liavins; been laid August 1st. 
It was a substa ntial brick structure, on a solid stone foundation , 
61 feet by 103. The interior is neatly and tastefully deco- 
rated, and the altar and organ are both tine. Including the 
lot, the church cost |30,000. CUvgy: Rev. Peter McLaughlin, 
lS.13-".")4; Rev. Anthony Farrelly, 1854-'55; Rev. A. Bohan, 
I8.).j-'G1; Rev. John R. McDonald, 1864-'78; Rev. William Mc- 
Closky, 18G6-"67; Rev. Thomas Shanley, 1867-'69; Rev. Flor- 
ence McCarthy, 1870; Rev. T. Reynolds, 1871; Rev. M. Nevin, 
1872-75; Rev. M. Brennan, 1872-75; Rev. James Woods, 
1877-'78; Rev. John Crimmins, 1879-83; Rev. M. F. Murray, 
1879-83; Rev. A. J. O'Rourke, 1883-'84. 

Church of St. Boniface.— In 1853, the Episcopal Church cf 
St. Thomas, cor. of Willoughby and Bridge streets, was pur- 
chased by a German Catholic congregation, and was dedi- 
cated to Roman Catholic worship, under the above title, Jan. 
29, 1854. Its Pastors have been: Rev. M. Ramsauer, 1855-"6; 
Rev. B. Keller, 1857-58; Rev. Joseph Bruncmann, 185£-'59. 
Rev. John G. Hummell, 1859-'64; Rev. Michael J. Decker, 
1864-'68; Rev. W. Oberschneider, 1868-"69; Rev. F. EarifR, 
1870; Rev. P. DeBerge, 1871-75; Rev. P. Schwarz, 1877; Rev. 
J. B. Wittman, 1878-84. 

There are two flourishing schools connected with the 
church. 

St. Benedict's Church (German), Fulton ave.., near Ralph, 
is a handsome brick edifice, 137 by 65 feet, built in 1874, at a 
cost of $60,000. The church was organized in 1853, and wor- 
shii)ed first in a building on Herkimer st., which, since the 
new church was completed, lias been used as a school-house, 
under the charge of the Sisters of Christian Charity. Its 
Pastors havo been: Revs. M. Ramsauer, 1855-6; B. Keller, 
1856-8; A. Enders, 1857-'8; Joseph Tuboly, ;858-'63; T. Al- 
brecht, 1861-2; F. Klosterbauer, 1863-73; M. Koehreu, 
1874-5; Henry Zimmer, 1875-6; Ignatius Zeller, 1877-'83; 
Michael N. Wagner, S. T. L., 1881-4. 

St. Mary's Star cf the Sea. — This church. Court st., cor. 
of Luqucer, was erected chiefly through the exertions of 
Rev. Mr. Bacon, afterwards Bishop of Portland. It is one of 
the largest church edifices in the city, having a seating capa- 
city of nearly 2,000. It was dedicated April 29, 1855. The 
interior was frescoed, and the spire finished in 1872. Father 
Bacon was succeeded as Pastor by Revs. James McGinnis, 
from 1855 to 1857; Eugene Cassidy, from 1857 to 1876; Law- 
rence Toi;er, Curate in charge, 1876-"7; and the present Pas- 
tor, Henry O'Loughlin, 1877-83. The Assistant Clergy have 
been: Revs. J. McKenna; Stephen Cassidy; J. M. Reilly; 
John Heflfeman, 1871; Florence McCarthy, 1872-'3; Felix 
O'Callaghan, 1872-4; Daniel Sheehy, 1874; Lawrence Toner, 
1875-3; Peter O'Neill, 1875; Peter McGuire, 1877-81; Michael 
Dennisoa, 1878; Ed. Wm. Dulles, 1879-'80; Joseph Kilpatrick, 
1880-1; P. Kenny, 1881. 

St. Mary's Parochial School was established in 1855, and 
was kept in the chapel, and in the basement, till 1868, when 
the present brick stiucture was erected, througli the exer- 
tions of Father Cassidy. The average attendance is 1,000. 

St. Francis' Church, Putnam ave., near Bedford, was 
started in 1857 as a German church, Rev. Bonaventure Keller 
being its Pastor for two years. The building is of brick, 75 
l)y 25 feet. So many of its German parishioners removed 
that it was closed for five yeais. In 1866, services were 
aL,ain commenced, with Rev. N. Balleis, O. S. B., as Pastor, 
wlio still continues in charge. 

Tlie property was devised by its owner, Father Keller, to 
the Orphan Asylum of Holy Trinity Church, and is still held 
ill trust fur that institution. 



Church of the Visitation of the Blessed 'Virgin Mary. — 
This church, on F.wen and Van Hruiit sts., was begun in 
1854, and dedicated Oct. 29, 1855. A handsome building, 
about 75 by 90 feet, of blue-stone, was commenced in 1880, 
and finished the following year, except the towers. Clergy : 
Revs. Timothy O'Fariell, 1854-69; John Cummings, lS65-"6; 
Isaac Miguely Diaz, 1868-9; T. O'Farrell, 187C-7; T. Rey- 
nolds, 1870; E. McCarty, lS71-'4; Florence McCarthy, 1871; 
Hugh Hand, 1875-83; M. Riordan, 1877-'81; John M. Kiely, 
1878-'81; Wm. J. Lane, 1881-'4. 

Church of Our Lady of Mercy, Debevoite place, near De 
Kalb ave. The parish was formed and the first church dedi- 
cated ill 1857. The present edifice was erected in 1857 and '8, 
of brick, with iime-stonc trimmings, ia the mixed Gothic 
E-tyle. It is 150 feet deep and 65 feet in width, and has seal- 
ing accommodations for 1,900 i^ersons. The exterior of the 
building is jjlain, but the interior is in remarkable contrast. 
It cost about $70,000, and was dedicated Feb. 7, 1869. Clergy: 
Revs. John McCarthy, 1857-8; John McKccna, 1858-'68; 
Bernard Gerrety, 1859-'60 ; Martin Carroll, 1S65-8 ; M. J. 
Goodwin, lS67-'8; Thomas Taafe, 186£-';2; Jiunes McElrov, 
1868-77; J. McNamee, 1870-'4; M. Ricrdan, 187C-'5; F. O'CU- 
laghan, 1875-84; J. CoughUn, 1875-7; J. Galvin, 1877-8; P. 
MoNamara, S. T. D., 1878-'84; T. McGivern, 1878; James 
Donohoe, 1877-'81; Felix O'Callaghan, 1883-'4. 

Rev. Patrick J. McNamara, born in Ireland, 1844; gi-ad. 
St. Francis Xavier's Coll, New York, 1867 ; St. Mary's Theol. 
Sem., Baltimore, 1870; located B'klyn, 1870-4; East New 
York, 1874-'7; B'klyn, 1877-'84. 

Tlie Society of the Holy Name has been connected with the 
church about seven years. James Donohoe, Spiritual Direc- 
tor. 

Church of St. Anthony. — About the year 1857, a church 
with this title was commenced on India st., by the exertions 
of Rev. John Brady, and was finished in the j'ear following. 
Its Clergy have been : Revs. John Brady, 1857-72; A. J. 
Dorris, 1871-'2; W. J. Lane, 1873-9; C. Fairelly, 187C-'5; W. 
Connolly, 1875; J. J. Mouin, 1877; E. Smith, 1877-'80; John 
Loughran, D. D., 1878-83; B. Plunkett, 1879; Michael J. 
Mm-phy, 1880-'3; John Hogan, 1880; E. W. Dullea, 1881; J. 
O'Reilly, 1881; John F. Baxter, 1883-'3-'4; Wm. J. H'-imilton, 
1883. '- -^ 

St. Peter's Church. — Thirty-five years ago that part of 
South Brooklyn, between Amity and Sackett streets, Henry 
street and the river, was occupied by a rough population with- 
out church privileges in their midst. The Rev. Joseph Frans- 
ioli, a native cf Ticino, Switzerland, having seen the needs of 
the district, recjuested that a parish be set off embracing that 
district; which was accordingly done in Aprd, 1859, and 
Father Fransioli appointed to undertake the great work of 
christianizing the people. A stone-yard, corner of Hicks and 
Warren sts., was purchased, and after long and jjersistent ef- 
forts the church was completed anel dedicated Nov. 4, 1860, at a 
total cost of $65,000. The congregation numbered about 3,000, 
and has since largely increased. In 1866, Father Frai;sioli 
built the Academy which adjoins St. Peter's Church, at a 
cost of $60,000, where 1,300 children annually receive free in- 
struction. During the war he purchased a house, corner of 
Hicks and Congress sts. , as a home for the children of soldiers 
and for orphans. Afterwards a larger building was erected, 
and the whole made into a hospital known as St. Peter's 
Hospital, which has accomplished a great work during its 
existence. In 1878, the Bacar estate was purchased, which 
gave to the church the whole of the block; and all the build- 
ings thereon were devoted to charity. A few years later 
Father Fransioli secured the chapel on Warren st., formerly 
a mission of the Church of the Pilgrims, anel instituted special 



1056 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



services for the Italians. A brick building 60 by 70 ft. is in 
course of erection for the use of the diflferent young men's 
societies attached to St. Peter's Church. A handsome build- 
ing, 60 by 100 ft., at 13-16 "Warren st., has been erected for 
librari', school and kindergarten use. The influence of the 
oliurch and its surrounding institutions has completely 
changed the character of tlie populationpf that portion of the 
city, and great credit is due to Fatlier Fransioli for his long 
and arduous labors. He is still at his jwst enjoying the rever- 
ence and affection of the entire community. The Assistant 
Clergy have been as foUows: Revs. A. Geraud, 1860-'63; L. 
Strain, 1862-63; A. J. Dorris, 1863-"66; M. J. Goodwin, 
1868-"6T; W. Gualco, 1867-'68; J. H. Pollard, 1867-'73; J. A. 
Casella, 1869-'70: J. McMeel, 1869-'74; M. Mm-phy, 1870-'74: 
P. A. Walsh, 1873-'82; E. McCarty, 1874-76; J. Bobier, 
1875-78; M. Nevin, 1877-81; M. J. Malone, 1876--81; M. J. 
Boylan, 1879-'80; M. Galvin, 1881-'84; M. L. O'Connell, 
1876-'84. 

St. Anne's Church. — August Slst, 1860, ground was 
broken for the erection of a Roman Catholic Church on the 
S. W. corner of Front and Gold streets. It was a brick edi- 
fice, 60 feat by 122, with a tower 130 feet high. It was erected 
under thc^ superintendence of Mr. P. C. Keeley, and cost 
$15,000, exclusive of the site. Clenjy: Rev. Bartholomew 
Gleeson, 186C-75; Thomas Shanley, O. S. H., 1866-67; Wil- 
Uam McCloskey, 1867-72; J. Kelly, 1871 ; E. Smith, 1877; J. 
McMeel, 1878-83; B. MoHugh, 1878-'83; Jas. Durick, 1882-"83. 

St. Vincent de Paul. — In 1863, a churcli of this name was 
begun on North 6th street, near 5th, under tlie direction of the 
Rev. Bernard McGorisk. Rev. David 0"Mullane, with his as- 
sistant, Michael Moran, began preparations for erecting a new 
edifice. The corner-stone of the new building was la'.d July, 

1868. The church U Gothic, 68by 156 feet, of Belleville gray- 
stone, with Ohio stone trimming. It was dedicated Oct. 17, 

1869, and cost about $130,000. Clergy: Revs. Bernard Mc- 
Gorisk, 1863-"66; David O'Mullane, 1865-72; Michael Moran, 
186.5-'66; Thomas McNally, 1860-67; John Crimmins, 1807-'9: 
M. Farelly, 1870-80; J. O'Rourke, 1871; M. Carroll, 1873-84; 
T. Adams, 1874-"75-'76; J. Growney, 1881; E. McCabe, 1880-4; 

John T. Woods, 1883; born in Brooklyn, 1860; graduated St. 
John's College, Brooklyn, 1880; and Tlieo. Sem., Our Lady of 
Angels, Niagara, 1883; located in Brooklyn, Dec, 1883-'84. 

Rev. Martin Caeboll, born in Ireland, 1841, grad. Coll. of 
Our Lady of Angels, Niagara, 1864; Pres. Alumni Assoc; lo- 
cated Brooklyn, 1865-84. 

Rev. E. J. McCabe, born in B'klyn, 1853; grad. Seton Hall 
CoU., N. J.. 1874; and Theol. Sem., Our Lady of Angels, 
Niagara, 1877; located B'klyn, 1877-'84; founder and editor 
of The Catholic Youth. 

Church of the Annunciation, B. V. M., is a German cluirch 
at the comer of North Fiftli and Seventh streets. The first 
church erected in 186:5 by Rev. John Hauptmami. gave plsco 
in 1870, to a handsome edifice of brick, 125 by 65 feet, built 
at a cost of $65,000 and |70,000 for the lots. Rev. Mr. Haupt- 
mann is still Pastor. There is a large school attached; also a 
convent of the Sisters of St. Dominic. The Clergy have been 
as follows: Rev. J. Hauptmann, 1870-'84; H. Zimmer, 1874-'5; 
L Schafifer, 1877-'79; B. F. Kurtz, 1880-81; W. Guhl, 
1873. 

St. Stephen's Church. — Soon after the formation of this 
parish in 1866, a church on Carroll street, near Hicks, was 
purchased from the Episcopalians, and lots on Hicks street, 
between Carroll and Summit, v/ere bought for future building 
purposes. In a few years the erection of a new church at the 
comer of Summit and Hicks was commenced. In July, 1 873, 
the corner-stone was laid, and the dedication occun-ed in Oct., 
1875. The edifice is built of brick, with Belleville free-stone 



trimmings, and in the Modern Gothic style. Its dimensions 
are 166 feet in lengtli by 78 in width. Its spire is 225 feet in 
height, surmounted by a cross, which is often illuminated at 
night. The old church is used for schools in which there arc 
800 children taught by the Sisters of charity. Pastors: Rev. 
O. J. Dorris. 1866-'69; James Moran, 1869-72; Edward 
O'Reilly, 1872-'S4. The assistants have been: Rev. Louis 
Rhatigan, 1867-70; N. Doran,, lM70-'83; Ja-i. McMeel, 1S75; 
O. O'Brien, 1877-83. 

St. Nicholas' Church (German), cor. of Powers and Oliver 
sts., E. D., is a brick structure, 100x40 feet. The corner- 
stone was laid in 1865, and the church dedicated May 13tli, 
1866. The congregation was organized by the Very Rev. 
M. May, of the Most Holy Trinity Church. In 1877, the 
church was enlarged. There are two schools connected with 
tlie church, imder the charge of the Sisters of St. Dominic. 
Pastors: Rev. C. Peine, 1866-77; Rev. J. P. Hoflfmann, 
1877-'83. Assistant Clergy: Revs. F. Bariffi, 1868-9; L. 
Fuchs, 1869-72; J. P. Hoflfmann, 1872-'S4; 51. J. Alichels, 
1877-84. 

Rev. John P. Hoffmann, born in New York, 1848; grad. 
St. Francis Xavier's Coll., 1867, and Sem. of Our Lady of 
Angels, Niagara, 1872; located B'klyn, 1872-'84. 

St. Francis de Sales', Broad waj', near HuU st., E. D. ; 
built in 1875; is of brick, 100x40 feet. 

Pastm-s: Revs. Mr. Lenneuf, 1875-'6: E. H. Porcile. 
1876-84. Clergy: Revs. J. M. Miller, 1873-'5; F. Guicheteau, 
1873-'9: T. Vaudray, 1873; A. Kohboo. 1877; T. Lynn, 
1878-'9i E. H. Porcile, S. P. M., 1883-'3; H. Barker, S. P. M,. 
1882-3; Patrick F. Carr, 1882-'3: A. Galland, 1883-'3: William 
J. Smith, S. P. M., 18S3. 

Church of St. John the Baptist.— Rev. E. M. Smith of 
the Congregation of the Mission, w'as sent, in the spring of 
1868, to Brooklyn, to eitablish a house of his order. 

A large plot of ground was secured on Lewis and Wil- 
lougliby aves., and a small cottage situated thereon served 
as a residence for the Pastor. One of its small rooms was 
fitted up as a chapel. Mass was said for the first time on 
July 12th, 1868. Ten or twelve persons from the sparsely 
settled neighborhood, constituted the first congregation. 

On the same day the foundation-stone of the jireseut 
church was laid. During the following September, Rev. 
John Quigley, C. M., took charge of the parish; the clmrch 
was dedicated Aug. 29th, 1869. This church being designed 
as temporary only, is a jjlain, wooden structure, with a seat- 
ing capacity of 800. Pastors: Rev. E. M. Smith, C. M. ; 
J. Quigley, C. M., Sept., 1868, until his death in Jan.. 1872; 
E. M. Smith, C. M., Jan., 1872, to Sept., 1873; P. V. Byrne, 
C. M., Sept., 1873, to Jan., 1876; J. J. Maloney, C. M., Jan., 
1876, to Sept., 1877; A. J. Myer, C. M., Sept., 1877, to Feb., 
1882; Rev. J. A. Hartutt, C. M. 

A jtarochial school for girls, under the care of the Sisters 
of Cliarit}-, is attached to the church. The attendance is 
about 250. 

Chur h of All Saints (German).— Soon after the formation 
of the parish. Rev. M. Maj' commenced the erection of a 
church on Thornton st. , near Throop ave., which was dedi- 
cated on the last day of 1867; the building is of britk, 
49x94 feet. Rev. Anthony Arnold was appointed first Pas- 
tor, and came to the charge on the first day of Jan., 1868, 
which position he still occupies. The Assistant Clergy have 
been as follows: Revs. Alfred Kreutzer, John Schmetz, J. 
Amman, C. Eisolay, 1876-'81; Bernard Kurtz, 1881-'83. The 
basement of the church is occupied by a school for boys; 
behind the church is a girls' school, both conducted by the 
Dominican Sisters, and containing 700 scholars. About 550 
Catholic families reside in the pai'ish. The church owns a 



EC CLESFA STICAL OR GAJSTIZA TIOJVS. 



1051 



lot on Throop ave. and Thornton st., 100x147 feet, on which 
a handsome new structure will be built in the near 
future. 

Rev. Anthony Arnold, born in Bavaria, 1831; grad. St. 
Vincent's Coll., and Theol. Sem., Pa.; previous location at 
Holy Trinity, B'klyn, 1 863-8. 

Church of Our Lady of Victory. — In 18G8, the site for a 
new Roman Catholic Church was obtained on Throop ave., 
between Macon and McDonough sts. , and a temporary frame 
structure, 70x40 feet, erected and dedicated July 26, 1868. 
In 1883, this was replaced by a handsome stone structure in 
the Gothic style, and of larger dimensions. A flourishing 
school is maintained by the church. Rev. P. Creighton, 
Pastor, 186H-'84. 

Church of the Nativity. — The parish was organized Sept., 
18T1, and Rev. M. J. Moran appointed Pastor. Fifteen city 
lols, on the south-east corner of Classon ave. and Madison 
St., were purchased Dec. 2~, 1871, for .$30,000. 

First mas? was celebrated March 17, 1873, in the house that 
is now the parochial residence. The new church was com- 
menced April 23, 1872, and dedicated Oct. 30 cf the same 
year. It is of brick, with seating capacity of 600, at a cost, 
including furnishing, of about $35,000. Clergy: Revs. M. 
Moran, 1871-84; M. Hickey, 1873-5; W. McGinnis, 1877-84; 
W. J. McGuire, 1881-4; P. J. Kenney, 1881-'4. 

St. Bernard's Church (German) was formed about tlie 
year 1872. The congregation met in the Temperance Hall 
on Hamilton .avenue, for a couple of years, when the brick 
building, 40x85 feet, on the corner of Hicks and Rapelye 
streets, was purchased and fitted up for a church, with 
school-rooms below. Rev. John J. Ammann has been the 
Pastor since its beginning. Four hundred children are 
taught in the schools. 

Rev. John J. Amm.\nn, born in New York, 1840; grad. St. 
Francis Xavier's Coll., 1868; St. Mary's Baltimore, 1872; 
located Bklyn, ]873-"84. 

Church of the Nativity, Madison avenue, near Classon, is a 
brick edifice, 100 feet by 40, erected in 18T2, through the 
labors of Rev. M. J. Moran, who still continues to officiate as 
Pastor. The other Clergy are : Revs. M. Hickey, 1873-75; 
W. McGinnis, ]8T7-'81; W. McGuire, 1882-83; P. Kenney, 
1882-'83. 

Church of St. Louis (French), McKibben, near Leonard, is a 
wooden structure, 75x45 feet, erected in 186il. Rev. Jules 
JoUon has been its Pastor from 1869. Services in French and 
English are held and a French and German school is con- 
nected with the clmrch. 

St. Vincent's Chapel is attached to St. ^"incelit's Home for 
Boys, at 7 Poplar street, and was established in 1873, for the 
benefit of the inmates of the Home, by Rev. Maurice Hickey, 
its present Pastor. 

St. Augustine's Church was organized in 1870, with about 
eighteen members, and Rev. Lewis J. Rhatigan, Pastor. 
Messrs. Bennet, Dougherty and Rorko were chiefly in- 
strumental in procuring its organization. Services were at 
first held at the residence of the Pastor, in Warien street. 
The present -hurch edifice, on the corner of Fifth avenue and 
Bergen street, was dedicated March lOth, 1871. It is a brick 
structure, with a seating capacity of eight hundred, and its 
cost, including site, was $43,000. In 1873, a parsonage was 
erected, at a cost of $12,000. Father Rhatigan died in 1874, 
and was succeeded by the x^resent Pastor, Rev. Edward W. 
McCarty. Under his wise financial management, the debt 
on the church and parsonage Ijas been nearly discharged. 
The other Clergy have been : Revs. J. E. Bobier, 1873-4; 
D. J. Sheehey, 1875-'83; D. Hickey, 1878-'83; James F. 
Crowley, 1883. 



Church of St. Leonard of Port Maurice.— In 1871, Rev. J. 
J. Raber was appointed to the charge of this parish, then 
newly formed. In the same year, a church was commenced 
on Hamburg street, corner of Jefferson, and dedicated the 
year following. It is a substantial frame structure, 97 by 50 
feet, finely decorated inside, with a Ijeautiful painting of the 
Madonna and child in the center of the ceiling, and the four 
evangelists in the corners, also a fine painting of St. Leonard 
above the altar. The parish now contains about 400 fami- 
lies. 

The schools connected with the church contain some 600 
children, and are in charge of the Sisters of St. Dominic. 
New buildings will soon be erected. There is also an Orphan 
Asylum, with 80 inmates, occupying a handsome brick build- 
ing near the church. Father Raber has been the Pastor from 
first, and by arduous labors has built up and paid for the 
lots and buildings. 

Church of the Sacred Heart. — In 1871, Bishop Loughlin 
established the parish of the Sacred Heart, in that portion of 
Brooklyn which is bounded by Ryerson and Canton sts., and 
Flushing and Myrtle aves., appointing Rov. Thos. F. McGiv- 
ern. Pastor. A chapel was opened in Vanderbilt ave., Dec. ", 
1871. About the same time nine lots extending from Cler- 
mont ave. to Adelphi st., near Park ave., were purchased, to 
which three more \vere afterwards added, at a total cost of 
120,500. 

The erection of a church was soon commenced, its corntr- 
stone being laid May 10, 1874. In May, 1875, Rev. Mr. 
McGivern resigned, and Rev. John A. McCullum was ap- 
pointed pastor. He hastened the work on the new church, 
occupying it for divine service in three weeks after assuming 
the pastorate, finishing it for dedication June 34, 1877. It i^ 
a brick edifice, 64x137 feet, handsomely frescoed within, and 
possesses a very fine painting of the Sacred Heart. The A.'i- 
sistant Pastors have been: Rev. John F. Nash, Rtv. Chas. F. 
Wightman, 1883; Rev. P. O'Mallon, 1888. The girls' Sunday- 
school is taught by the Sisters of Mercy, and the boys' by 
lay superintendent and teachers. There is no day-school at 
present, but it is the intention to erect one. 

St. Cecelia's Church. — This parish was organized in 1873, 
and, in the year following, a frame edifice, a' out 50x80 feet, 
erected on North Henry and Herbert sts. The congregation 
increased rapidly, now numbering some 300 families. Rev. 
Florence McCarthy was Pastor from 1873-'H3, when he was 
succeeded by Rev. James TaaiTe. 

St. Alphonsus' is a German church in Kent ave., near 
Manhattan, built in 1873, of wood, at a cost, including site, 
of 121,000. Rev. W. Guhl has been the pastor since tne form- 
ation of the parish. The number of families is nearly 500. 
There is a large school attached, which is taught by the Do- 
minican Sisters. 

Church of the Transfiguration: — The parish was formed in 
1874, with Rev. John Fagan its first Pastor. Lots were se- 
cured at the corner of Hooper st. and Marcy ave., and the 
erection of the present church was commenced ; meanwhile 
services were held in a carpenter's shop on Hooper st. The 
church was finished in 1875; it is of brick, 40x75 feet, and is 
intended to be used for schools after a larger church shall 
b3 built on the corner adjoining. Father Fagan died i.. 1879, 
and was succeeded by Rev. Wm. J. Hill, now of_ St. Paul's, 
and he in turn by the present Pastor, Rev. Jnp. M. Kiely, 
who came to the parish in February, 1881. Rev. D. A. Tive- 
nan was assistant from 1877-'81. The Catholic population cf 
the parish is 4,000 souls. 

Rev. John M. Kik.ly, born in Ireland, 1847; grad. Mt. Mel- 
leray Coll., 1864; grad. Theol., Dublin, 1869; located in 
B'klyn, 1869; St. James' Church; Church of Visitation; is 



1058 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



contributor to relig- journals; published sermons and lec- 
tures. 

Church of the Holy Name— The parish was founded by 
Bishop IvOUKhliu, March 15, 18T8. A building on (he corner 
of 18th St. and 11th ave., called McCann's Stable, was the 
only available place of worship. la this humble abode t!:c 
first service was held March 31, 1878, and continued ou every 
Sunday until the following December. In tlio meantime at- 
tention was given to the purchase of land and the erection 
of a church. The site was secured April 29, 1878, at a cost of 
$6,000, by Mr. John Collias, Park place, who paid and pre- 
sented the first $103 of the purchase money. The following 
day. May 1, work was commenced; August 11. the corner- 
stone was laid: December 25, same year, it was completed 
and occupied. 

The present church edifice, situated on the cor. of 9th and 
Prospect aves., is of brick and stone, and has a seating 
capacity of over one thousand people. It was erected by the 
present Pastor, Rev. Thomas S. O'Reilly, who is the first and 
only one since the foundation of the parish. The market 
value of church property in this parish, including church, 
parochial house and grouuds, is about $40,000. 

Rev. Thomas S. O'Reilly, born in Ireland, 1844; grad. Mt. 
Melleray Coll., 1865, and Theol. Sem., Our Lady of Angels, 
1871; located in Flatbush. 1871-"4; Bklyn., 1874- "84. 

Church of the Holy Family (German). About the year 
1876, Rev. F. Heuselmann gathered a congregation in a hall 
at the corner of 27th st. and Fourth ave. In June, 1830, the 
corner-stone was laid for a new frame stmcture, 90 by 45 
feet, on 13th St., near Fourth ave., which was completed in 
the following year. There is a flourishing school attached, 
in charge of the Sisters of St. Dominic. Rev. Mr. Heusel- 
mann continues in the pastorate. 

St. Patrick's Church, at Fort Hamilton, was established 
as a mission in 1849. Services were first held in the residence 
of Peter J. Murphy, on United States ave. , between Lafay- 
ette and Church sts., and afterwards in a now barn on Third 
ave., near Shore road. In 1853, a frame church was built on 
the corner of Stewart ave. and Lafayette st., with a seatin;j 
capacity of 350. Rev. J. McLaughlin was Pastor during the 
first year, when he was removed. Rev. Mr. McKeon, of St. 
John's Church, Gowanus, performed pastoral duties until 
March 10, 1854, when Rev. Mr. McGuire succeeded as 
Pastor. , 

He built a Pastor's residence adjoining the church. His 
deatii occurred in 1856. Rov. Cornelius J. McCarney was the 
next Pastor, and was succeeded, ia 1861, by the present in- 
cumbent. Rev. .John Tanzer. There ij a school connected, 
which is under the care of the Sisters of St. Dominic. 

St. Michael's Church was established iu November, 1874. 
The first place of worship was a private house on Third avo. 
In 1876, the present church edifice was erected an the corner 
of Fourth ave. and 42d st. It is a wooden structure, with a 
seating capacity of 900 to 1,000. Rev. M. J. Hickie was the 
Pastor about three months, in 1875, and Rev. J. P. O'Connell, 
D. D., from 1876 to the present time ; Rev. J. J. McCusker, 
Assistant Pastor, from 1878-'84. 

Sit. Theresa's Church was organized March 29, 1874, under 
the present Pastor, Rev. Joseph McNamee. Ground on the 
corner of Butler st. and Classon ave. was purchased, in 
April of the same year ; and, in the following August, the 
corner-stone of the present church edifice was laid. The 
building was opened for divine service in Febiruary, 1875. 
In September, 1876, Rev. L. J. Guerin became Assistant 
Pastor, in which capacity he still continues. 

St. John's Chapel, of the now Roman Catholic Cathedral 
of Brooklyn, is situated on Clermont ave., bet. Lafayette and 



Greene aves. It is of dark, rough-dressed stone, with light 
trimming, and is 97 feet long by 38 wide. It was opened for 
divine service December 27, 1878. It is the largest of the six 
chapels which will adorn the fulure Cathedral of Brooklyn — 
a cathedral which, in size, will be unequalled by any church 
yet erected on tliis continent: and in artistic beaut}', inipress- 
iveness, and ecclesiastical utility, will be without a modern 
peer. The first Priest appointed to the charge of St. John's 
Chapel was the Rev. Patrick F. O'Hare, who is assisted by 
Rev. I. I. Mallen and Rev. Martin I. Loftus. 

St. Agnes' Church. — This parish was formed in 1879, 
and placed in charge of Rev. James Duffy. The congrega- 
tion increased rapidly; it first worshiped in a small frame 
stracture on Hoyt St., near Sackett, where lots had been 
secured for church purposes. 

The corner- stone of the new church was laid by Bishop 
Loughlin in the spring of 1881. It is a massive Gothic structure 
of brick, brown-stone and polished marble, and located on the 
north-cast corner of Hoyt and Sackett streets. The interior 
dimensions are 73i feet wide and 180 feet long, and from the 
ground to the tower the height is 130 feet. Seven largo 
arched windows on each side, a rose window in the front, 
and three grand windows in the chancel, provide an ample 
supply of light, through stained-glass panes, which were 
made in Munich. The entire cost of the stracture was $185,- 
COO, and the grand organ, built by the Jardines, cost $20,000 
more. The parish is a very large one, and the money for the 
building was raised before work was begun. Rev. James S. 
Duffy is Pastor; Rev. M. T. Kilah}", Assistant. 

Rev. Michael T. Kilahy, born in Brooklyn, 1854; grad. 
St. Francis' Coll., Brooklyn, 1873, and Niagara Theol. Sem., 
1877; located B'klyn, 1878-'84. 

St. Bridget's Church. — The parish was org. October 9th, 

1882, and Rev. Father McCloskey placed in charge. Lots 
were secured on Linden st. , near Myrtle ave., and the corner- 
stone of a church laid June 17, 1883; first service, Christmas, 

1883. It is a frame structure, 90 by 50 feet, with vestry and 
basement, and seating 600. The basement is used for a jiaro- 
chial Echool. The cost of the buildicg was about $16,000. 

St. Ambrose's Church. — In tlio eailypartof 1883 a num- 
ber of prominer:t Catholic families, f, eling that a church was 
necessary in their neighborhood, met, after the appointment 
of the Rev. D. J. Sheehy, formerly Cui-atc of St. Augustine's 
Church, Fifth ave., as their Pastor, in a jirivate dwelling in 
Kosciusko street, where services were regularly held. The 
congregation increased rapidly, and it was finally deemed 
wise to select other quarters, and, accordingh-, a very desir- 
able site, comprising 150 feet on Kosciusko street, 200 feet on 
Tompkins ave., and 50 feet on DeKalb ave., was ijurchased, 
and a handsome little Gothic building, which cost between 
$5,000 and $6,00(1, was erected. A flourishing Sunday-school 
is established. 

Rev. D. J. Sheehy still remains Pastor. He was born iu 
Ireland, 1850; grad. Mt. Melleray Coll., 1868, and Niagara 
Coll., 1873; located Brooklyn, 1873-'8|. 



The following Roman Ciatholic Clergymen reside in Brook- 
lyn: 

Rev. TuoM.vs Adams, born in Ireland, grad. Coll. de los 
Nobles Irlandeses, Salamanca, Spain, and ord. 1866; lo- 
cated Ballymena, 1866 -'72; B'klyn, 187 .-•76; author of Moral- 
ity of ihe Irish Land League. 

Rev. M. J. H.VTTON, born yi France, 1838; ord. 1861; was 
Prof, in Sem., and Asst. Priest in France: located B'klyn, 
1872, iu charge of Homes for Aged of Little Sisters of the 
Poor, in U. S. A. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ORGANIZATIONS. 



1059 



THE VERY REV. JOHN LOUGHLIN, 

Bishop of the R. C. Diocese of the City of Brooklyn, N. Y. 



A little more than thirty years ago, in October, 1853, the 
city of Brooklyn was raised to the dignitj' of an Episcopal 
See. On the 30tli of that month, Very Rev. John Lovighlin, 
then Vicar-Cxeneral of New York, was consecrated first 
Bishop of Brooklyn. The ceremony of consecration was 
performed in St. Patrick's Cathedral by Archbishop Bedini, 
the Pope's Nnncio, assisted by six bishops, and the consecra- 
tion sermon was preached by Archbishop Hughes. On the 
9th of November, Bishop Loughlin's installation took place. 
The Catholics of Brooklyn made the occasion a gala day, 
and turned out en masse, to welcome him who was hereafter 
to be their spiritual director. Catholic societies paraded, 
banners waved, bands played, and over one hundred priests 
Were present. Catholic writers termed ii; a great day for 
Brooklyn. 

It is entirely unnecessary for us to refer, at any length, to 
the great administrative ability of Right Rev. Bishop Lough- 
lin. The condition of the Catholic Church in his diocese to- 
day speaks j)lainer than any written words, of the work 
that the Bishop has done. A plain, unassuming man, gifted 
not with ability alone, Init also endowed with soimd, prac- 
tical common sense, to a degree that fe<v nien are; he has 
labored for the honor of God and the glory of his church, 
and his lalxirs have been abundantly blessed with great 
fruits. 

Upon tlie advent of Bishop Loughlin, the episcopal resi- 
dence of the diocese was fi.xed at St. James', where it has 
since been. He entered immediately upon the duties of his 
high position. The spiritual affairs of the diocese were then 
circumscribed. The number of churches in the diocese 
could bo almost counted on the fingers of a single hand. 
Since his coming, the average of new parishes created has 
been over one for each year; and the Bishop has fairly earned 
the title of the " Church Builder." 

Bishop Loughlin was born in Albany, N. Y. ; was educated 
at Emmettsbargh, Md., and was then appointed Assistant to 
the Bishoj) of the city of New York. When we have stated 
these facts, and presented the following resume of the con- 
dition of his diocese, after his thirty-one j-ears' administra- 
tion of its spiritual and temporal affairs, we have written 
his biography. Words can do no more. 

When he came to Brooklyn, the churches of St. James, 
St. Patrick, St. Paul, and of the Assumption, comprised 
tlie bulk of the Roman Catholic membership of the city. 
It is true there were a few other scattered congregations, 
Ijut they were generally insignificant in point of numbers; 
the great bulk of the people having clustered in the lower 
jiart of the city. 

By 1856, seven new and fine churches had been erected 
and dedicated; besides one in Queens county; and, in the 
same year, the corner-stones of another one in Queens 
county, and one in Greenpoint, Avere laid. The work thus 
vigorously carried on in the early years of Bishop Loughlin's 
administration has never been allowed to stop, and to-da}' is 
being as earnestly prosecuted as ever in the history of the 
diocese. 

Catholic soeieties of all kinds have also grown and pros- 
pered with the church in Brooklyn, and have done much in 
the vaiious parishes in wliicli they are situated, to asssist 
then- respective Pastors. Almost every church has its 



" Holy Name," and its "St. Vincent de Paul's " Society; and 
both of these societies have effected great good. In addition 
to these, there are numerous other societies having various 
aims and objects, and all doing gojd in their resijective 
fields. The Yoiinf/ Men's Literary Soeieties in Brooklyn num- 
ber about fifteen, and have an aggregate membership rang- 
ing from 1,200 to 1,500. Most of them affiliate with a Na- 
tional Union of all the Catholic Literary Societies in the 
United States. The President of this National Union is a 
Brooklyn clergyman, Rev. J. H. Jlitchell, of St. James' 
C'athedral. 

Temperance societies exist in many parishes of tlie city. 
Those two beneficial organizations, the Catholic Knights of 
America, and the Catholic Benevolent Legion, both very strong 
in Brooklyn, have the unqualified approval of the Bishop. Tlie 
Knights have eiglit branches in Brooklyn; the Legion seven- 
teen councils. Both are in a flourishing condition. Other 
societies of lesser importance our lack of space compels us 
to refrain from mentioning. Bishop Loughlin lias not been 
slow to approve of good societies; but he has steadily refused 
to encourage any whose aims were not thoroughly Catholic. 

The increase of opportunities for Catholic education in 
Brooklyn has kept pace with the growth of the church. 
That every Catholic child in his diocese should be provided 
with a Catholic education has always been Bishop Lough- 
lin's earnest desire. 

Upon his arrival in Brooklyn there were but two Catholic 
schools in this city; one attached to the Church of the As- 
sumption, and the other to St. James' Church. The Chris- 
tian Brothers of New York were invited to take charge 
of the new school. The desire fur Catholic education was 
so great even then tliat the school was overcrowded on the 
opening day. The Brothers are still in charge, and fully sus- 
tain their reputation as educators of Catholic youth. Very 
many of their pupils liave become prominent in mercantile 
or public life; and not a few have been, and are to-day, 
zealous priests, exercising their ministry in this diocese and 
elsewhere. 

At the invitation of the Bishop, the Sisters of St. Joseph 
came to Brooklyn iu August, 1855. In September of the 
same year, the Sisters of Mercy, and the Sisters of the Vis- 
itation a\so cuaie; and in 1858, Bishop Loughlin applied for 
a few Franciscan Brothers to ass'st in the work of Catholic 
education. Two Brothers came in May of lliat year, and 
aided by the Bishop, they multiplied in numbers, and be- 
came prosperous and flourishing. Their headquarters is the 
Monasters- of St. Francis of Assissi, in Butltr street. They 
are now educating about 5,000 children in this diocese each 
year. Today there is scarcely a cliuri h that has not a 
school adjoining. Church and school have been simultane- 
ously erected, and we can say, without fear of contradiction, 
that to-day no city in this broad land has better facilities 
for Catholic education than Brooklyn. These schools, as a 
rule, are well attended. In the diocese there are 73 i:)aio- 
chial schools, 18 academies and select schools, and 3 col- 
leges. The jjarochial schools are attended by 9,173 boys and 
9,8'35 girls; the aggregate attendance being 18,997. The se- 
lect schools are attended by 3,030 scholars, of whom 1,680 
are girls, and 350 boys. St. Fi-ancis' College is attended by 
3-5 pupils, and St. John's by 185. Bj- this it will be seen 



1060 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



that the total number of scholars attending Catholic schools 
of all kinds in this city is 21,437. 

For thirty years Bishop Loughlin has lived in this com- 
munity; and, during that time, his life has been as simple 
and open as that of the least of his flock. His heart has al- 
ways lieen with his people, and his door has ever stood open, 
th;it tlie meanest and most wretched of them might come to 
him for the relief not to be elsewhere found. He found the 
Catholics of Brooklyn few in number and weak in resources. 
To-day, in 90 churches and 37 chapels and stations, 150 priests 



minister to the spiritual needs of 300,000 Catholics; in nearly 
100 schools and colleges more than 30,000 children are being 
carefully insli-ucted ; and within the confines of his diocese, 
four hospitals and sixteen asylums stand with their doors open 
to the poor, the sick, and the unfortunate. Deeds are more 
eloquent than words, and the administration of Bishop 
Loughlin has been big with deeds.* 



* We ackuowledge our indebtedDess to The Catlioiic ExamiTier of 
October 6, 1883. 



REFORMED CATHOLIC CHURCHES. 



The movement of late years to return to the primitive 
Christianity which recognizes the Bible as the only authority 
in religious matters, iostead of the decrees of councils, found 
a number of adherents in Brooklyn. Its mission is to 
reach, with Bible tiiiths, the Roman Catholic element. In 
this, success lias been achieved by not becoming identified 
with any particular denomination, but by standing aloof, 
and as ex-Roman Catholics, still retaining the name and 
character of Catholic; thus having a greater influence, 
speaking more directly to Roman Catholics. During the 
past two 3'ears of this church in Brooklyn, 09 persons have 
identified themselves with the First Reformed Catholic 
Church. This church is under no episcopal jurisdiction 
whatever, but conducted on a purely congregational basis. 

Rev. E. H. Walsh, of New York, formerly a Trappist 
monk in the Church of Rome, formed the First Independent 
Catholic Church in this city, Sept. 25th, 1881, in Bridge St., 
between Tillary and Concord. 

Rev. J. F. McNamee was the Pastor in charge until March, 
1883, when he tcjok a portion of the church and established 
a congregation in Central Hall, known as the Fi7-st Reformed 
Catholic Churcli. At the same time Rev. Mr. Walsh camo 
to Brooklyn and took charge of the Bridge street church, 
which was incorporated in October, 1883. 



Rev. J. V. McNamara has charge of the Independent Re- 
formed Church, which holds it meetings in Everett Hall, and 
was organized in June, 1883. 

Jan. 7, 1884, a branch was org. at Masonic Hall, Grand st., 
for the Eastern District, of which Father McNaniee is 
Pastor. 

These churches are all the outgrowth of a movement that 
took form about six years ago, and which throws otf from 
church organization everything of human origin, and aims 
to return to the Apostolic form, and to the simplicity of the 
Gospel. 

Rev. Jas. F. McNamee. born in Ireland, 185T; grad. Coll. 
de Beaucamps, Lille, 1879; located Newark, 1881; Brooklyn, 
1881. 

Rev. Edmlnd H. Walsh, born in Ireland, 1853; was in 
Bridge St. Ch., and in Ind. Cath. Ch., Harlem, N. Y., from 
Sept. to Nov., 1881; Ind. Cath. Ch., Brooklyn, Nov., 
1881-84. 

Rev. Charles F. Gaegan, born at Fairfax C. IL, Va., 
1857; grad. Mt. St. Mary's Coll. (Md.), 1875, and New York 
Theol. Sch., 1880: located Newark, New York, Hartford. 
Boston, 1879-'83; lecturer. Gen. Miss, and Gen. Sec'y, Ind. 
Cath. Ch. 



PRESBYTERIAN CHURCHES. 



First Presbyterian Church (New School). — The ground 
upon which the Plymouth Church now stands was purchased 
in 1822, by John and Jacob M. Hicks, for the erection of an 
edifice for the use of the First Presbyterian Church. The 
population of Brooklyn was then less than ten thousand, 
and the church located in the midst of cultivated fields, 
and far out from the settled portion of the village. It was or- 
ganized with ten members, by the Presbytery of New York, 
March 10th, 1822, and incorporated cii the 13th of the same 
month. The new organization was admitted to connection 
with the Presbytery of New York, April 10, 1822; and on the 
15th of the same month, the corner-stone of a substantial 
church edifice was laid. This building was ninety feet in 
depth, by fifty-five feet in width. A lecture-room, including 
a Sabbath-school room and study, was attached to the rear 
of the church, fronting upon Orange street, in 1831. The 
first Pastor was Rev. Joseph Sanford, installed Oct. 16th, 
1833, and dismissed Jan. 11, 1829. He was succeeded by Rev. 



Daniel Lynn Carroll, installed March, 1829, and dismissed 
July 9, 1835. The ])ulpit then remained vacant nearly two 
years: until, on the 8th of Slay, 1837, the Rev. Samuel Han- 
son Cox, D. D., was initalled as Pastor. In November, 1838, 
the division of the Synod of New York was followed by a 
corresponding division of the memljership of this church. 
About forty families, including three elders and nearly one 
hundred members, claiming to be the legitimate representa- 
ti^'es of the original founders of the church, in their reli- 
gious opinions and sentiments, preferred to retain their con 
nection with the Presbytery of New York (which remained 
attached to the Old School Synod and General Assembly), 
and asserting themselves to be the First Presbyterian Church 
of Brooklyn, withdrew from Dr. Cox's charge. The Pastor, 
seven elders, and about five bundled and fifty members, ac- 
knowledging the jurisdiction of the Presbytery of Brooklyn, 
continued on the even tenor of their way. On the 28th of 
July, 1846, the corner-stone of the present elegant house of 



ECCLESIASTICAL ORGANIZATIONS. 



worship was laid ; the edifice being first opened for service 
on the 6th of June, 1847. The old church in Cranberry street 
had been sold, in June, 1846, for the sum of |20,000, to 
parties who subsequently conveyed it to Plymouth Church. 

The Rev. William Hogarth, D. D., was installed as Pastor 
on the 15th of March, 185.5. On the 20th of March, 1860, the 
Rev. Charles S. Robinson, D. D., was installed, and resigned 
March, 1868. He was succeeded by Rev. Norman Seaver, 
D. D., installed December 1st, 1869. Dr. Seaver resigned 
in 1876, and was succeeded, in April, 1877, by the present 
Pastor, Kev. C. Cuthbert Hall. 

Second Presbyterian Church (Old School) was organized 
by the Presbytery of New York, October 35th, 1831, from a 
colony of the First Church, consisting of thirty-one members. 
They first erected a lecture-room on Adams street, near 
Concord, which was opened May 1st, 1833. During the years 
of 1833 and '84, a brick church edifice, of the Grecian Doric 
order, one hundred and three feet by seventy-five, was 
erected on Clinton street, near Fulton, at a cost of about 
$24,000, and $4,000 for the ground. It was dedicated May 
4th, 1834; a lecture-room was subsequently built, ou an 
adjoining leased lot, atacostof $6,000; the old one, in which 
they had first worshiped, having been disposed of for $8,000. 

Pastors: Ichabod S. Spencer, D. D., March 23d, 1833, till 
his death, Nov. 33, 1854, aged fifty-six years; Willis Lord, 
D. D., 1854 to Aug., 1859; Dr. Nathaniel West, 1860-67. 

In July, 1870, this church and the Third Presbyterian 
Church were consolidated; and the united society retained 
the name, Second Presbyterian Church, the house in Clinton 
street continuing to be the place of worship. Rev. J. M. 
Green, Pastor of the Third Church, continued as Pastor of 
the consolidated church till 1873, in which year Rev. A. 
Crosby was called. 

In Sei)t. 1877, a lecture-roojn. church parlor and vestry 
room were fitted up in the church building, and reduced the 
seating capacity of the auditorium from 1.100 to 900. In 
Dec, 18S2, this church was consolidated with the Clinton 
Street Church, and the two Pastors, Revs. H. J. Van Dyke 
and A. Crosby, retained as Collegiate Pastors. 

Third Presbyterian Church (New School). — In the spring 
of 1831, a few members of the First Presbyterian Church 
(Rev. Dr. Carroll, Pastor) commenced a mission Sabbath- 
school in the upi)er room of a dwelling-liouse, cor. Nassau 
St. and Hudson ave., then Jackson St. In January, 1833, a 
framed building was erected at 153 Nassau st., nearly ojipo- 
site Stanton st., for a .school and for occasional religious 
meetings. April 13, 1835, the Third Presbyterian Church 
was there org., with 34 members, and Rev. RoUin S. Stone 
was installed as first Pastor. Mr. Stone resigned in 1837, 
and the congregation removed to Classical Hall, in Wash- 
ington St., near Concord. Rev. William Beale Lewis was 
installed Pastor Oct. 10, 1837; and a church edifice was 
erected in Jay St., between Sands and High, in 1840. Mr. 
Lewis resigned in Oct., 1848; Rev. Daniel P. Noyes, installed 
April, 1849, resigned Sept., 1854; Rev. William S. Karr, in- 
stalled Sept. 2Sth, 1854, resigned Nov. 15, 1867. Rev. Joseph 
M. Greene was installed May 12th, 1868. 

July 5th, 1870, this church was consolidated with the 
Second Presbyterian Cliurch, Clinton st., and Mr. Greene be- 
came the Pastor of the united congregation. 

Tabernacle Presbyterian Church (formerly Central, Old 
School), Schermerhorn st., near Nevins st. July 19, 1834, 
the Prince St. Mission School was established under the 
direction of the Second Presbyterian Church, then under th# 



pastoral charge of Rev. Ichabod Spencer. That school, of 
which Jolm Morris, senior Elder of the church, was the first 
Superintendent, and C. C. Mudge the last, resulted in a 
chm-ch organization April 13. 1847. After worshiping for 
a time in a school-room in Prince st., the building at the cor- 
ner of Willoughby and Pearl, formerly occupied by the Fifth 
Presbyterian Church, was purchased. This was sold in 1853, 
and a frame building on the corner of State and Nevins sts. 
was erected and first occupied April 30 of the same year. 
The corner-stone of a permanent edifice was laid on Scher- 
merhorn St., near Nevins, which was dedicated Dec. 10, 1854, 
at a cost of about $30,000. Rev. Nathaniel C. Locke was the 
first Pastor; succeeded April 13, 1851, by Rev. Edson Rock- 
well. He resigned in 1868, and was succeeded by the present 
Pastor, Rev. T. DeWitt Talmage, who was installed March 
23, 1869. The church, by reason of controversies, was nearly 
extinct at the time Mr. Talmage was called to its pastorate. 
In 1870, a church edifice, called the Tabernacle, was erected 
on the same block with the one erected in 1874. This build- 
ing had a sealing capacity of 3,000; it vpas destroyed by fire 
December, 1872. The present Tabernacle was erected in 1873, 
and dedicated Feb. 33, 1874. It is in the Gothic style, built 
of brick, with stone trimmings, and has a seating capacity of 
5,000 at the ordinary services. The auditorium has the 
amphitheatre form, and its acoustic properties are excellent. 
The membership of tlie church exceeds 3,100, while the Sun- 
day-school contains nearly 2,000. 




TABERNACLE ORGAN. 

The organ is one of the largest in the country. A series of 
" fifteen-cent admission " popular organ concerts were org. 
during the winter of 1883-'84 by Mr. Henry Eyre Browne, 
the organist of the Tabernacle, partly to defraj- the expenses 
of certain improvements, and partly to afford the people of 
Brooklj'n first-class music at reasonable prices. At these 
concerts appeax-ed many of the best vocalists in New York 
and Brooklyn. At each concert were produced five different 
pieces, without repetition of a single selection, a record never 
before made by any organist in this country ; and the music 
performed has always been of the classical order. These con- 
certs had an average attendance of 2,000 persons, and proved 
a great success, both musically and financially. The singing 
at the services is assisted by a male quartette and led by a 
cornet 



1062 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



REV. THOMAS DEWITT TALMAGE, D. D. 



Thomas Dewitt Taxmage, D. D., was born at 
Hound Brook, N. J., January V, 1832, the youngest of 
a family of five girls and seven boys. He was reared 
in a Christian home, from which three brothers pre- 
ceded him in the Christian ministry. His prejjaratory 
education was acquired in the common schools, and at the 
Academy in New Brunswick.. He then went througli a 
thorough course of reading for the law, which was first 
his chosen j)rofession; but, feeling it a duty and a priv- 
ilege to preach the Gospel, he entered the New York 
University, took a degree of A. B., with the class of 
1853; and, three years later, graduated from the Theo- 
logical Seminary in New Brunswick, N. J. His first 
charge was at Belleville, N. J., where he preached for 
three years to one of the oldest societies in the State; 
and was then called to Syracuse, N. Y. After a pas- 
torate there of three years also, where his .preaching 
grew tonic and free, as the preacher learned humanity 
and his own heart, he went to the Second Reformed 
Dutch Church in Philadelphia. He attracted large con- 
gregations, and his preaching was fruitful in spiritual 
results, during his seven years' stay in that city. 
There his powers became "set;" he had the courage 
of his convictions, and realized his duty and mission in 
the world to preach the Gospel in his own way, and to 
compel men to listen and to heed. The church was 
not to him a select few, in organization a monopoly, 
but it was meant to be the conqueror and transformer 
of the world, and his the I'esponsibility of arousing and 
leading his people in the great conflict. He also ac- 
(juired wide-spread fame as a lecturer, being invited, 
far and near, to occupy the platform. Meanwhile, the 
Central Presbyterian Church in Brooklyn was without 
a pastor, and, by reason of controversies, had dwindled 
to nineteen voting members; these signed a call to Mr. 
Talmage to become their Pastor. At about the same 
time, invitations came to hmi from churches in Chicago 
and San Francisco. He came, however, to Brooklyn, 
and was installed March 22, 18G9. The old Central 
Presbyterian edifice, on Schermerhorn street, near 
Nevins, a cramped, brick rectangle, capable of holding 
twelve hundred, was used until it became evident that 
a larger house must be provided. In 1870, he laid 
before the trustees of the church his plan for a new 
edifice. The plan was accepted, and an iron structure 
erected, with raised seats, the interior curved like a 
horse-shoe; the pulpit, a platform bridging the ends. 
It was dedicated in September, 1870, and accommo- 
dated three thousand persons, but within the first year 
was enlarged to accommodate five hundred more. The 
spiritual growth of the church kept pace with its in- 
crease in numbers. But on the 22d of September, 



1872, the Tabernacle was destroyed by fire. When Dr. 
Talmage arrived on the scene, his characteristic re- 
mark was — " Well, the Tabernacle never was large 
enough, now the people throughout the country will 
help us build a more roomy structure." While the 
fire was still burning, arrangements for the future were 
discussed, and the sympathy of others was shown by 
the generous offer of several churches for the use of 
the Tabernacle congregation, but the Academy of 
Music was secured as a temporary place of worship. A 
new and larger Gothic structure of brick and brown- 
stone, cathedral-like above, amphitheatre-like below, 
was dedicated February 22d, 1874. It holds five 
thousand as easily as one person, and all can hear and 
see equally well. Dr. Talmage's ideal in the plan was 
that of a great family gathered around the hearth- 
stone. Even this, the largest church building in this 
country, is now insuflicient to accommodate the thou- 
sands who throng to attend its services. 

Next to a free church, dispensing a free gospel. Dr. 
Talmage had at heart the enlistment of laymen in 
Christian work; he was anxious to arouse and direct 
the dormant energy of the church to the work of evan- 
gelizing the world. To this end he formed and success- 
fully carried out a plan for training and educating 
Christian workers. From this beginning grew up the 
Tabcrmtcle Lay College, with organized classes, com- 
petent teachers, and able lecturers in their special fields. 
The work was undenominational, productive of in- 
creased activity in the churches, and in the establish- 
ment of new mission and Sunday-school entei'prises, 
but of late years has been discontinued, owing to the 
multifarious duties which demand Dr. Talmage's time 
and energies in other directions. In 1879, Dr. Tal- 
mage went abroad for the third time, visiting and 
preaching in the cities of Great Britain and Ireland, 
and speaking ninety-six times in ninety-four days, also 
making a short tour upon the Continent. His reception 
among the English-speaking people was a continuous 
ovation; his public appearances, the occasion of great 
gatherings of people; while a large public meeting in 
Brooklyn welcomed him on his return home. 

Dr. Talmage has been termed a "sensational" 
preacher, but a more erroneous judgment could not be 
made, in the sense in which that term is commonly 
used. He is an earnest, impassioned speaker; and his 
extraordinary imagination, descriptive powers and 
humor; his great art in grouping and arrangement; his 
wonderful mastery of words to illumine and alleviate 
human conditions, to interpret and inspire the harmo- 
nies of the better nature, are appreciated by all who can 
put themselves in sympathy with his high consecration 



ECCLESIASTICAL ORGANIZATIONS. 



1063 




Rev. THOMAS DEWITT TALMAGE, D. D 



of purpose. His manner mates with his nature. It is 
each sermon in action. He presses the eyes, hands, the 
entire body, into the service of illustration; gestures 
are the accompaniment of what he says. As he stands 
before the immense throng, without a scrap of notes or 
manuscript, and no desk before him, the eifect pro- 
duced cannot be understood by those who have never 
seen it. His power to master an audience, from text 
to peroration, is marvelous. No man was ever less con- 
scious in his work; he preaches the Gospel literally as 
ho finds it, with a simplicity and thoroughness that 
withhold nothing. He fears and defers to no prejudice, 
interest or ism; be manifests the closest sympathy with 
nature and humanity. His mantle of charity is so 
broad, and covers the failings of others so completely, 
that no enmities or resentments linger in his memory. 
His language is clear, terse and epigrammatic; his vo- 
cabulary noticeably from the Anglo-Saxon. The prac- 
tical test of the value of his preaching is given in the 
great numbers that gather around him in the Taber- 
nacle, Sunday after Sunday, where there is a congrega- 
tion of more than five thousand regular attendants, in- 



cluding business men and their families, young people, 
and those who had previously given up the habit of at- 
tending church, besides a multitude of strangers from 
all parts of the land; and, best of all, a church of more 
than thirty-one hxindred active members, the largest in 
the world. Type gives him two Continents for a 
church, and the English-speaking world for a congre- 
gation. One hundred papers in Christendom statedly 
publish his sermons and " Friday-night talks," exclusive 
of the dailies of the United States. To pulpit labors 
of this responsibility should be added considerable pas- 
toral work, constantly recurring lecturing and editorial 
labors, to fill out the public life of a very busy man. 
He is the author of Crumbs Swept Up, The Abomina- 
tions of Moder7i Society, Around the Tea-table, and 
many published volumes of sermons. He was also editor 
of the Christian At Work, of the Advance, and now 
edits the Sunday Magazine, contributing likewise to 
other periodicals. 

Personally, Dr. Talmage is unassuming and a man 
of vivacious temperament, of pleasant address, easy 
to approach, and a sincere friend 



]064 



HISTORY OF KINGS GOUKTY. 



Clinton Street Presbyterian Church (formerly First Pres- 
byterian Churcli— Old School).— That portion of the congre- 
gation of the First Presbyterian Church whicli seceded in 

1838, woi-shiped in the Court-house for about a year. In 
ISSO-MO, they erected a new (Ouirch edifice on the corner of 
Fulton and Pineapple sts. It was a Gothic brick structure, 
SI by G") feet, and cost, including the ground, .$40,000. It 
was one of the finest church edifices in the city. In 1850, it 
was taken down, and the materials used in the construction 
of the present church, on the corner of Clinton and Remsen 
sts. , which was completed in 1853. Tlie seating capacity is 900. 

Rev. Melancthon Williams Jacobus was installed as the 
Srst Pastor of this congregation in the autumn of 1839, and 
was dismissed, on account of ill health, Oct. 21, 1851. His 
labors here were faithfully prosecuted, in the midst of diffi- 
culties which few young ministers have encountered and 
overcome. During nearly two years after his departure the 
pastorate was vacant, and the congregation in a very unset- 
tled and distracted state. The present Pastor, Rev. Henry J. 
Van Dyke, was installed on the 29th of June, 1853, and within 
ten years the society exjiended about ^12,000 in the im- 
provement of the churcli building, and extinguished their 
debt. In 1868, the interior was remodelled, at an expense of 
about $18,000. ^ 

This Firs\t Presbyterian Church (Old School) and the South 
Presbyterian Church (New School), which worshiped at the 
corner of Clinton and Amity sts., and was for 28 years under 
the pastoral care of Rev. Dr. Samuel Spear, in December, 
1875, were consolidated. Both churches technically dis- 
banded, and reorganized under the title of the Clinton. Street 
Presbyterian Church. For eighteen months the congrega- 
tion worshiped in the two buildings alternately, and then 
voted to have their permanent home at the corner of Clinton 
and Remsen sts. Some time after, the building at the comer 
of Clinton and Amity sts. was sold to St. Matthew's Lutheran 
Church. The object of the consolidation was to reduce the 
number of Presbyterian churches on the Heights. Dr. Van 
Dyke remained Pastor of the consolidated church. 

In December, 1882, at the request of the Second Presbyte- 
rian Church, on Clinton st., near Fulton, another consolida- 
tion was effected, and the two were united under the title of 
the New Second Presbyterian Church, with Rev. Dr. Van 
Dyke and Rev. Arthur Crosby as collegiate Pastors. 

The Fourth Presbyterian Church (New School) was or- 
ganized at Gowanus, by the third Presbytery of New York, 
in February, 1838. A house of worship was erected soon 
after, and the Rev. Robert R. Kellogg was installed June 4, 

1839, by the Presbytery of Brooklyn. He was dismissed in 
December following, and the congregation being few, and 
oppressed with debt, the church was dissolved by the Presl)y- 
tery. May 9, 1842, and, subsequentl}', the building was p\ir- 
chased by the Third Dutch Church. 

The Fifth Presbyterian Church (New School), which was 
first organized in Brooklyn, was entii-ely distinct from the 
congregation whicli subsequently existed under the same 
name. It had its origin in the schism which occurred in the 
infancy of the Second, or Central, Dutch Church. 

The seceders, with their Pastor, Mr. Tappan, organized as 
a Congregational body, and subsequently removed to a 
church which Samuel A. Willougliby built, and ded. May 30, 
1839. At the same time, the church changed its order, com- 
ing; under the care of the Brooklyn Presbytery, as the Fifth 
Pres. Church. Mr. Tappan left in 1839, and was succeeded 
by Rev. Absalom Peters, D. D., as supply. After a fe\/ 
weeks, preaching ceased: and tlie church was disbanded. 

The Fifth Presbyterian Church (New School) was an en- 
tirely distinct organization from the preceding. The Rev. 



George DufHeld, Jr., was ordained in January, 1841, in the 
churcli on the corner of Pearl and Willoughby sts.. built in 
1837, by S. A. Willoughby, Esq., and occupied by the first- 
mentioned Fifth Presbyterian Church. Shortly after, a 
church was formed of twenty members. The building is 70 
by 40 feet, and cost |10,000, but is now used as an auction 
sales-room. 

The Sixth Presbyterian Church (New School) was gath- 
ered, but never legally organized, at the Wallabout, January 
26, 1840, by a committee of the Brooklyn Presbytery. Rev. 
James Knox labored here about three months. After his 
departure, the church became extinct, although it continued 
to have a nominal existence for about three years, two of its 
elders and most of its members giving the Wallabout that 
church. 

The Free Presbyterian Church (New School) was or- 
ganized March 2i, 1841. and the Rev. Russell J. Judd in- 
stalled Pastor the 1st uf May following. He was dismissed 
in the autumn of 1843 ; and, in the spring of 1844, the Rev. 
Edward Reed was installed, and served about a year. Suli- 
sequently, this congregation purchased the edifice erected by 
the Second Baptist church, on the corner of Tillary and Law- 
rence sts. In the spring of 1845, the church, having become 
vacant, unanimously agreed to change their order and be- 
come Congregational. 

The First Presbyterian Church (New School), E. D., org. 
witli fifteen members, under the Presbytery of Brooklyn, 
May 3(!, 1842. Shortly afterwards, its members became 
divided on the subject of abolitionism, which resulted in the 
dismission of four male and three female members, who sub- 
sequently united in the formation of a Congregational so- 
ciety. At first dependent upon occasional supplies, the con- 
gregation received an element of permanence, liy the instal- 
lation, June 13, 1843, of Rev. Joseph Rawson Johnson, who 
had labored with them during the previous November. 
In Feb., 1844, when their number amounted to eighty-six, ,a 
proposition to transfer their relation to the Old School Pres- 
bytery, of New York, again divided the feelings and 
opinions of the church; and, finally, three elders and twenty 
members were, at their own request, dismissed, March 29, 
1844, for the purpose of organizing another church, to be 
placed under the New York Presbytery. In April, 1845, Mr. 
Johnson was dismissed from his pastoral relations, and was 
succeeded by the Rev. James W. McLane, who was installed 
September 2, 1845. During his pastorate, in 1848, a new 
church edifice was erected on South Fourth, corner of Sixth 
St., of brick, and with a lecture-room on the rear, two 
stories high and facing on Sixth st. Dr. McLane died in 
Feb., 1864, and was succeeded by Rev. Joseph H. Robinson 
1864 to 1865; Rev. Samuel Carlisle, 1866 to Oct., 1870; Rev. J. 
Glentworth Butler. D. D., 1871 to May 1, 1873; Rev. S. Miller 
Hegeman preached, June 1873, to .luly, 1874, but was not 
settled as Pastor; Rev. William Guthrie Barnes, Dec, 1874, 
till Nov., 1876; Rev. Thomas Crowther, from April 3, 1877, to 
his death, Oct. 10, 1877 ; Rev. Aaron Peck, from 1878 to Oct. 
16, 1881. Rev. H. H. Northrop is the present Pastor. 

South Third Street Presbyterian (Old School), cor. of 
Fifth St., orig. in the second secession from the First Church, 
])reviously mentioned. Thej' first assembled for divine wor- 
ship, on the 7th of Ajiril, 1844, in the public school-room of 
District No. 1. The (Old School) Presbytery of New York, 
on the 19th of April, org. a church of twenty-seven mem- 
bers, and Rev. N. S. Prime was engaged as stated supply. 
April 22, 1844, trustees were elected .and the congregation 
incorporated as Tlie Presbyterian Church of Williamsburgh. 
Rev. Eugene P. Stevenson was installed as Pastor February 
20, 1845; meetings being held in the public school-house, cor. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ORGANIZATIONS. 



1065 




SOUTH THIRD STREET PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. 

So. Third and Fifth sts. A new church edifice on So. Tliird 
and Fifth sts. was first occupied on Thanksgiving, December 
4, 1845, and dedicated on Sabbath, May 10, 184G. This edifice 
is of brick, 63 by 75 feet, with a projection of 13 by 20 feet 
for a tower and steeple; the land costing $6.")0, and the build- 
ing flG.OOO, together with a parsonage costing :|3,800. In the 
following year, the house adjoining the church, and occu- 
pied as a parsonage house, was built. Mr. Stevenson was 
succeeded by the Rev. John D. Wells, who was ord. October 
9, 1849, and is still the Pastor. 

In 1S.53, and several times since, extensive repairs and im- 
provements have been made in the interior of the church. 
From this church have been colonized the Christie St., the 
Tliroo}) Ave., and tlie Ro.is St. Pres. churches; yet the parent 
lias lost none of its vigor or influence. Rev. N. W. Wells has 
been As-istant Pastor since 1881. 

Rev. John 1». Wells, D. D., born at Whiteborough, N. Y., 
1815; grad. Union Coll, 1838, and Princeton Theol. Sem., 
1844 ; Trustee of Princeton Theol. Sem., 1878 ; on Board of 
For. Miss., 1861; Vice-Pres. of same, 1877; on Board of Con- 
trol, N.Y. State Colonization Soc. ; preached in private chapel 
of J. Lenox. Esq., 1844; Mission Chapel, N. Y. City, 1845-6; 
author of Last Week in the Life of Davis Johnson, Jr., 
Little Walter of JSijalusing: sermons and pamphlets ; lo- 
cated in Brooklyn, Jan., 1850. 



The South Brooklyn Presbyterian Church 

(New School) was org. Sept. 18, 1842. with sev- 
enty-two members, and the Rev. Samuel T. 
Spear, Pastor, May 14, 1843. Their first place of 
"vorship was a school-house on Pacific street, 
which they purchased and occupied till their 
beautiful edifice, on Clinton, corner of Amity 
street, was completed in August, 1845. Its 
dimensions were sixty bj' one hundred and fif- 
teen feet, including a lecture-room in the rear, 
and its whole cost was about ^38,000. In 1875, 
it was consolidated with the first Presbyterian 
Chunrh (Old School), and the United Society took 
the name of Clinton Street Presbyterian Church. 
The Wallabout Presbyterian Church (Old 
School), now Franklin Ave. — The Wallabout 
village, now East Brooklyn is nearly a mile to 
the eastward of the Navy Yard, the ancient 
Waale-boght. Prior to the years 1828 and 1830, 
this territory lay in farms. The Primitive Meth- 
odists, in 1836; the Episcopalians, in 1837 ; and 
the Presby'erians (New School), and Dutch Re- 
formed in 1840, attempted to occupy the ground, 
but all fa led. In 1842, Rev. Jonathan Green- 
leaf commenced missionary labor here, and in 
Deceiiil>er, 1842, a church was organized under 

^^ tilt' alpn\f name. In January, 1843, it was legally 

^^^^ constituted ; and, in February, Mr. Greenleaf 
became the Pastor. He was succeeded, after 
his death, Aoril 24,1865, by Rev. Wm. A. Fer- 
guson, and h", Januaiy 1, 1868, by Rev. Samuel 
P. Halsey. A lot of ground on Franklin, near 
Myrtle ave., was presented for a church edifice, 
by Mr. Greenleaf and wife, on condition that no 
debt slinuld be incurred in the erection of the 
house. The building was commenced in March, 
1844, and dedicated in March, 1845. The cost 
was $55,000, exclusive of bell, chimneys, carpets, 
lamps, fence, etc., which were contributed by 
individuals. It is now known as the Franklin 
Avenue Presbyterian Church. Rev. Samuel P. 
Halsey, Pastor, until June 30, 1888. 
Siloam Presbyterian Church (colored), org. July 25th, 
1847, under the Presbytery of Brooklyn with about ten mem- 
bers. The congregation first worshiped in a hall in Fulton st. 
Then the house of a mission in Prince st. was purchased by 
the Presbytery, in 1854, for |4,000. In 1868, the house was 
enlarged, and a basement was built, at an additional cost of 
14,000. 

Ministry:— Revs. A. N. Freeman, 18.53-'60, and 1863-'84; 
Charles H. Thompson, 1860-3. 

The church has been uniformly prosperous, owing to the 
untiring efforts of the Pastor, Rev. A N. Freeman, who was 
born in New Jerse.y, 1809; ordainec' m Portland, Me., 1841; 
came to Brooklyn, April, 1853. 

The City Park Chapel, originally org. as the City Park 
Union Mission Siibbath-school, July, 1848, at a prayer meet- 
ing held at the residence of Mr. Kellogg, in Willoughby st. 
Its first officers were: Isaac N. Judson, Superintendent, John 
T. Davenport, Assistant Superintendent, and Thomas S. 
Simmons, Secretary and Treasurer. Its first session was 
held on the third Sabbath in July, 1848. Its rapid increa' c 
demanded larger accommodations; and, in the spring of 1851. 
the association was organized which purchased lots on Con-, 
cord, near Gold st. , on which was erected the building now 
occupied by the Children's Home. The first board of trustees 
of this asioi^iation was composed of the following gentlemen 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 




.-awi!«|<» 



THE OLD FRANKLIN AVENUE PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. (See previous page). 



viz.: Austin Melvin (Congregationalist), Thoma.s S. Simmons 
(Methodist), Silas R. Beebe (Baptist), John T. Davenport, 
Timothj' Dauncy and Isaac N. Judson (Presbyterians). Mr. 
Judson, after six years' service, was succeeded in tlie sujier- 
intendency of the school by Mr. Nathaniel M. Terry, for 
about six years; followed by Mr. A. A. Smith for a year; and, 
in May, 1864, by Mr. A. M. Earl; and in May, 1868, by Mr. R. 
J. Dodge. Then the vicinity began to be occupied by the 
schools of individual churches, so that the union principle 
became less effectual, and those interested in the P. M. U. S. 
School felt that a church organization would better accom- 
modate the people of the neighborhood in which the school 
was located. Accordingly, an organization was effected, 
composed of jiersons mostly from the First Presbyterian 
Church, but was eventually disbanded, the teachers continu- 
ing to labor in the mission school. In the spring of 1862, the 
school was transferred to the charge of the First Presbyter- 
ian Church (Henrj' st.), which had furnished a greater part 
of the teachers, and most of the funds for the mission. In 
Feb., 18C6, a new building was erected by the trustees of the 
First Presbyterian Church, on lots adjoining the old one, at a 
cost (including a handsome organ) of nearly |21.000. In 
.lanuary, 1867, the session of the First Church extended a 
unanimous call to the Rev. Charles Wood, who accepted the 
call, entering upon his charge in Februar}' following, and 
still continues Pastor. Since that time the enterprise has 
continued to flourish. More than a hundred members have 
been added to the First Presbyterian Church, by profession 
of their faith, through the instrumentality of this chapel. 

In 1874, the chapel was enlarged by an addition to its au- 
ditorium, making its seating capacity about 400; and it was 
further improved by the addition of rooms for infant classes, 
and alcoves for adult and Bible classes. The cost of these 
improvements was $6,000. A commodious reading-room was 
fitted up, in 1880, at the expense of Mrs. James Sheldon. 
In this room, which is comfortably warmed and cheerfully 
Ughted, many young men gather nightly, some of whom 



formerly spent their evenings on the street comers, or in 
more demoralizing places. 

Rev. Ch.\rles Wood, born in Salem, N. J., 1819; grad. 
Lafayette Coll. (Pa.), 1846, and Princeton Theol. Sem., 1849; 
was Vice-Pres. of Alumni Assn., 1878-'9: located at Fox 
HiU, Blackw<iod, N. J.; City Park Cliapel, B'klyn, 1867-'83. 

The Lawrence Street Presbyterian Church. — In 1852, the 
Associate Reform Presbytery of New York established a 
mission in Brooklyn, where they soon organized a church. 
The young organization not having been supplied with reg- 
ular preaching, or a fixed place of worship, was frequently 
reduced to the verge of dissolution. 

In 1858, the church cal'ed tlie Rev. Adam McClelland to 
become their Pastor, and moved from their hall in Front 
street to an edifice purchased from the Congregational Meth- 
odists, cor. Lawrence and Tillary streets. 

In 1875, a union was effected with the Fort Greene Presby- 
terian Church, Dr. McClelland continuing as Pastor of the 
united congregation. Shortly after the consolidation the 
united congregation sold the edifice in Lawrence st. to St. 
Casimir's (Catholic) Church. 

German Evangelical Pres. Church. — In 18.53, Rev. John 
Neander, a German missionary among the Jews in New 
York city, at the request of seven Germans in Brooklyn, 
commenced a series of religious meetings here at private 
houses. And, being authorized liy the Board of Foreign 
Missions, in whose service lie then was, he org. a church in 

1853, under the care of the New York Presbytery. Lots 
were secured cor. Leonard and Stagg sts. (E. D.), on which 
a neat brick building was erected, and dedicated Got. 14, 1855, 
at a cost of $9,000, mostly furnished by George Douglas, 
Esq., of Flushing, L. I. It has since been enlarged, and ia 
now called the First German Presbyterian Church. 

Ainslie St. Presbyterian Church was organized Oct. 22, 

1854. It has had to date six Pastors: 1854-'56, Rev. C. W. 
Hodge; 1857-'58, Rev. Albert Biglow; 1859--66, Rev. Jas. 
McDougal, Jr.; 1866-"70, Rev. John Hancock; 1870-78, Rev. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ORGANIZATIONS. 



1067 



J. M. Buchanan; 1878, to date. Rev. Jos. G. William- 
son, Jr. 

The cougregation, since its organization, lias worshiped 
in but one building, a frame structure, enlarged from time 
to time, at the corner of Ewen and Ainslie sts. It was 
erected in 18.')4. The property' consists of five lots, a church 
edifice and a i)arsonage. The seating cajjacity of the church 
is 500. The present membership is about 600. The Sabbath- 
school has 500 scholars and 50 teachers. 

The Westminster Presbyterian Church (New School), 
org. in a hall on the corner of Court and Sackett sts., Jan. 
31, 185(>, with 01 members. A frame chapel was first erected 
on the present site, and dedicated on the third Sabbath of 
May, 1856 ; the enterprise received a .strong impetus in 
its early work from the able ministry of Rev. Roswell D. 
Hitchcock, D. D., who supi)lied the pulpit from the first 
Sabbath in Feb., 1856, until the first Sabbath of May, 1857. 
In Oct., 1857, the Rev. Hugh S. Carpenter was installed, 
and dismissed May, 1870. In 1858, the present building was 
commenced, and with a temporary roof and front, the au- 
ditorium was occupied for divine service the second Sabbath 
in October of that year. In October, 1807, the new church 
edifice, facing on Clinton street, corner of First place, was 
finished and dedicated. 

Mr. Carpenter was succeeded in the pastorate by Rev. J. 
Clement Fi-ench, D. D., installed Maix-h, 1873, dism. Nov., 
1876; and he by Rev. James M. Ludlow, D. D., installed 
Oct., 1877. 

Rev. James M. Ludlow was born at Elizabeth, N. J. , 1841 ; 
grad. from Princeton Coll. in 1861 ; and from Princeton Tlieol. 
Sem., 1864. In the fall of 1864, he was called to the First 
Presbyterian Church at Albany. In 1868, he succeeded Dr. 
Duryea in the C'ollegiate Reformed Church, New York, dur- 
ing which time their elegant church was erected. Dr. Lud- 
low is a scholarly man, earnest and persuasive, stimulating 
and effective. In 1881, he visited Emope and the Holy Land; 
he is a contributor to various religious papers and periodicals. 
The John Knox Presbyterian Church was commenced on 
the corner of Fulton avenue and Adelphi street, May 4th, 
1856; and a church organized June 13th, by the Presbytery of 
Nassau, with sixteen members, eight of whom were males. 
The Rev. Lorenzo Wescott was ordained Pastor, October 
16, 1856. 

Lafayette Ave. Presbyterian Church. — May 16th, 1857, a 
meeting of several gentlemen was held at the house of Mr. 
Edward A. Lambert, Clinton avenue, to cons\]lt in reference 
to the formation of a Presbyterian church in the 11th Ward, 
to be imder the care of the Presbytery of Brookl\-n. A com- 
mittee was appointed, and on the 16th of June a public meeting 
was held in the church on Carlton avenue, occupied hy the 
Park Congregational Society, when it was unanimously 
resolved to organize a Presbyterian church, as contemplated 
in the resolution of May 16th, and arrangements were im- 
mediately made to purchase and occupy the building in 
Cailton avenue, near DeKalb; the Park Congregational 
Church (worshiping there) having resolved to disband. 

Trustees were elected, and the congregation organized 
under the corporate name of " The Park Presbyterian 
Church." On the 39th of June, a constitution was adopted, 
and a petition was presented to the Presbytery of Brooklyn 
to organize said church. 

The Presbytery, on the 9th of July, met in the church, 
Carlton avenue, and duly constituted the church — 16 males 
and 33 females being received from various churches. 
Messrs. N. W. Burtis, Josiah Widnell, and Harrison Teller, 
M. D., were chosen Elders, and John Rhodes and Ralph 
Hunt, Deacons. 



Soon after the organization, the church engaged the ser- 
vices of the Rev. Roswell D. Hitchcock, D. D., who continued 
to occupy the pulpit until January, 1859. In the spring of 
1858, the congregation had so increased that it was found 
necessary to enlarge the accommodations, by extending the 
building toward DeKalb avenue, thus furnishing seats for 
some 750. On the termination of the services of Rev. Pro- 
fessor Hitchcock, the Rev. Lyman Whiting, of Portsmouth, 
N. H., occupied the pulpit until August, 1859. 

On the 7th of February, 1800, the Rev. Theodore L. Cuyler 
was mianimously elected Pastor, and, having accepted the 
call, entered upon the duties of Pastor on the 8th of April, 
and was installed by the Presbytery of Brooklyn, on Tues- 
day evening, April 24th. 

In the spring of 1861, a new church edifice was commenced 
on the corner of Lafayette avenue and Oxford street, and 
was completed in March, 1863. The building is of Belleville 
free-stone, and in th j Romanesque style; it is one hundred 
and forty-six feet in length, and eighty-six in width. The 
height of the spire is one hundred and ninety-five feet. The 
auditorium contains three hundred and four pews, and wOl 
accommodate 1,800 persons; with seats in the aisles it holds 
3,300. Above the lecture - roonv and Pastor's study are 
spacious Sabbath-school rooms, ninety feet in length. The 
whole cost of the ground and of the edifice did not exceed 
$60,000 . 

After the completion of the new edifice, the name of the 
church organization was changed to that of the " Lafayette 
Avenue Presbyterian Church." Its present membership 
numbers 1,575. 

"Olivet Mission" has a chapel on Bergen street, near 
Sixth avenue, and a flourishing Sabbath-school. "Cumber- 
land Street Mission," long connected with this church, has 
been organized into the Fort Greene, Presbyterian Church, 
under the pastoral charge of Rev. Dr. McClelland. Over 
one hundred members of the Lafayette Avenue Church w ere 
dismissed to form this organization, and "Calvary Chapel" 
was presented to them for their use. 

The chapel erected as a memorial of the revival of 1866, in 
W^arren street, near Fifth avenue, and opened in November 
of that year, was organized into a church by the Presby- 
tery of Brooklyn in 1867, as the Memorial Presbyterian 
Church. 

In the summer of 1881, a house near the church was pur- 
chased and taken down; and on its site, church parlors 
were erected. Over these, and over the lecture-room, a Sun- 
day-school room was added, 100 by 55 feet, with a seating 
capacity of 1,000. This was open.«d on Christmas, 1881. The 
cost of these improvements was |35,000. 

Rev. Theodore L. Cdyler, D. D., born in Aurora, N. Y., 
1833; grad. Princeton Coll., 1841; Princeton Theol. Sem., 
1846; located in Burlington, N. J.; Trenton, N. J.; New York 
city; came to B'klyn, April, 1860; author of Empty Crib, 
'Tliought Hives, Pointed Papers, Nile to Noriray, Cedar 
Christian, Stray Ari-oirs, Heart Life, etc.; also of iiublished 
sermons; is widely known as a powerful worker in cause 
of temperance, and of Sunday-schools. 

The Cumberland Street Chapel (near Myrtle avenue) was 
established in connection with Lafayette avenue Presbyterian 
Cburch, and was afterward erected into the Fort Greene 
Presbyterian Church. 

The Genevan Presbyterian Church (Old School), Gates 
avenue, corner ot Hunter street, was org. by the Presbytery 
of Nassau, June 13, 1856, under the name of the Greene Ave- 
nue Presbyterian Church, and so continued until June, A. D. 
1864, when its place of worship was removed from Greene 
avenue, corner of Clermont avenue, to its present place, where 



1068 



BISTORT OF KINGS COUNTY. 




LAFAYETTE AVENUE PKESBYTEKIAN CHURCH. 



MGGLE8IA8TIGAL ORGANIZATIONS. 



the church edifice was completed and dedicated, June 19, 
1864, and at the request of tlie church, and by order of tlie 
presbytery, the title was changed f o the name of the Genevan 
Presbyterian Cliurch of Gates avenue, Brooklyn, N. Y. 

The first Pastor was Rev. William B. Lee; succeeded by 
Rev. Alonzo Clark, under whose pastorate a jiortion of the 
congregation formed a union with the Tompkins avenue 
Presbyterian Church. The remnant contmued for a time to 
worship ill the churcli on Gates avenue, but finally dis- 
banded. 

The Ross Street Presbyterian Church (Old School) was 
org. April 28tli, 1804, in the chapel of Christ Church, Division 
avenue, by tlie Presbytery of Nassau witli forty-three mem- 
bers, of whom twenty- seven wex'e from the South Third street 
Presbyterian Church, and the remainder from tlie First Re- 
formed Dutch and first Presbyterian Churches. On the 15th 
of October, 1864, tlie Rev. Cliarles S. Pomeroy was duly in- 
stalled as Pastor. Lots were purchased for a church edifice 
on Ross strt et, between Lee and Bedford avenues, and also 
lots in the rear on Wilson street, for the erection of a chapel 
and Sabbath-school room. The chapel was completed and 
dedicated Sunday, May 14, 186.5. Its size is eighty-five feet 
by forty; substantially built of brick and brown -stone, with 
a school-room upon the lower floor and an audience-room 
above, seating, with the galleries subsequently added, about 
six hundred. It was furnished with a fine large organ, and 
all the appointments of a modern cliurch edifice. The expense 
of this chapel (furnished) and the ground, was about $35,000, 
free from debt. On June 5, 1871, the corner-stone was laid 




ROSS STREET 1'KL;.-.11VTI;U1AX CHURCH. 

of an <:/legant churcli edifice, upon the lots belonging to 
them in Rcss street, cor. of Wilson. It seats comfortably 
with boxes, 800; as originally with pews, 1,000. Mr. Pomeroy 
was succeeded in the pastorate by Rev. Mr. McGinley, who 
remained two years. Rev. Archibald McCullagh became 
Pastor March ITtli, 1878. During his pastorate the church has 
been greatly jirospered. It has a flourishing Sunday-school of 
000 scholars. 

Tlie growth of the Ross Street Church has been rapid and 
healthful. Its present membership is 430. May, 1869. the 
Pastor and session organized a mission-school on the north 
side of tlie city in Grand street, as a branch of the home 
school, and conducted by members of the Ross Street 
Church. Mr. Frederick A. Thompson was the first superin- 
tendent. 

Rev. Archibald McCullagh was born in Armagh, Ireland, 
1842; grad. IMnoeton Coll., 1808; and Princeton Theol. 



Sem., 1871; was located Germantown and Phil., 1871-'S; 
Brooklyn, 1878-83. 

First Presbyterian Church of Greenpoint (E. D.), Noble, 
cor. of Guernsey street, org. with fourteen members at a meet- 
ing held in May, 1869, at Masonic Hall, under the auspices 
of the Presbytery of Nassau. Lots were purchased for 110,- 
000, on which they proceeded to build a neat one-story frame 
structure, thirty-five by seventy-five feet in size, seating U]i- 
wards of four hundred and fifty persons, and costing |4,000. 
It was dedicated July 18th, 1869. Officers: Deacon, George 
Brinkerhoflf; Elders, J. N. Stearns, David Jolioe; Tmstee.i, 
D. H. Furbish, Henry Dixon, David Joline, George Campbell, 
John N. Stearns. A thriving Sunday-school, under the super- 
intendence of Mr. Stearns, was a feature in connection witli 
this enterprise. 

Christie Street Presbyterian Church, organized October 
23d, 1854, by eighteen members from the South Third street 
Presbyterian Church. 

Throop Avenue Presbyterian Church. — In 1852, a mission 
Sabbath-school was org. in a small room, cor. Throop avenue 
and Bartlett street, in a sparsely settled German neighbor- 
hood. 

In 1854, the school removed to Broadway, between Flush- 
ing and Yates avenues, becoming known as the Broadicay 
Mission Sunday-school. It increased in numbers, so that 
preaching and other religious services were maintained. 
Nov. 14th, 1861, the corner-stone of the Mission build- 
ing on Throop avenue, bet. Hopkins and Ellery streets, was 
laid, whither the school removed in 1862, assuming the name 
Throop Avenue Mission Sunday -school. The same month 
measures were taken to org. a Presbj ,eriaii Church from the 
Mission, which was completed by the Presbytery June 8th, 
1862. The membership was 37, of whom 18 came from the 
Sunday-school, and 17 from the South Third Presbyterian 
Cliurch. Rev. John Hancock was Pastor, from 1863 to Dec, 
1866; Rev. John Lovvrey, from May, 1867, to April, 1873. 
In 1867, a new edifice was built at the cor. of Throop and 
Willoughby avenues, on land given by Hon. Darwin R. James. 
It was intended as a temporary building only, and has since 
been twice enlarged, at a total expense of about $26,000, and 
seats about 900. (See engraving on following page. ) 

Rev. Lewis Ray Foote was installed Pastor, Dec. 31st, 
1873, and still occupies the position. The cliurch is prosper- 
ous, having 737 members, and annually expends more money 
upon benevolent work than for its own current expenses. It 
has under its care in the home Sunday-school, and in the two 
branch schools, 3,300 children. 

Rev. LE\\as R. Foote, born in So. New Berlin, N. Y., 1844; 
grad. Hamilton CoU., 1869; and Union Theol. Sem., 1872; 
served as private in 61st N. Y. Vols. ; wounded at Fair Oaks, 
and honorably discharged; located B'klyn, Nov., 1873. 

Classen Avenue Church. — On December 10, 1866, the ses- 
sion of the First Presbyterian Church on Henry st., and of 
the Lafayette Avenue Presbyterian Church, appointed a 
joint committee of two to inaugurate the movement for a 
new Presbyterian Church, in the section of the city now oc- 
cupied hj the Classon Avenue Church. At the in.itation of 
this committee, a number of gentlemen met on December 
20tli, at the residence of Mr. Olin W. Walbridge, on Down- 
ing St., when the organization of the new church was fully 
resolved upon. On January 27, 1867, church services were 
held morning and evening, and a Sunday-school was organ- 
ized in the building No. 174 Gates ave. Lots on the north- 
easterly corner of Classon ave. and Monroe st. were pur- 
chased for $9,000, and a frame chapel was built, which was 
dedicated June 3(lt1i. On the 8tli of July, the church was 
constituted by the Presbytery of Brooklyn, with .'59 members. 



HrSTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 




THROOP AVENUE PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. (See previous page.) 



Rev. Joseph T. Durj'ea, D. D., was unanimously chosen tlie 
first Pastor on December 3, 1867, and he was installed on the 
2fith f>f December. Ground was broken by the Pastor for 
the new edifice on May 13, 1868, the corner-stone was laid 
December 1, 1868. and the edifice was dedicated on Sunday, 
January 2, 1870. Previous to the completion of the chvirch, 
tlie chapel was enlarged to its present size. A mission Sun- 
day-school was established on Atlantic ave. soon after the 
commencement of Dr. Duryea's pastorate. In 1879, the 
church purchased the building formerly occupied by Dr. 
Nyes' Church, corner of Vanderbilt and Atlantic aves., and 
the mission school removed to this building, which has since 
been known as Duryea Chapel. On April 7, 1879, the pas- 
toral relations of Rev. Dr. Duryea were dissolved. Rev. 
David R. Frazer, D. D., was installed March 4th, 1880. Dur- 
ing his jiastorate, the remaining mortgage debt of $28,000 
was paid; ani a large proportion of the pews, which had been 
held by individuals, were surrendered to the church. Rev. 
Dr. Frazer's pastorate terminated January 31, 1883. 

Dr. Leander T. Chamberlain accepted the call extended to 
him by the Classon Avenue Presbyterian Church to become 
its Pastor, and was settled in October, 1883. 

The church in Classon ave. has a seating capacity of 1,500. 
It is elegantlj- finished inside, and free from debt. Its mem- 
bership is over 700. The Home Sunday-school and the Mis- 
sion Sunday-school, which hold their meetings in Duryea 
Chapel, on Clermont ave., are in a prosperous condition, un- 
der the able management of their respective superintendents, 
Messrs. E. B. Bartlett and E. P. Loomis. The membership 
of the latter school amounts to 400. 

Dr. Chamberlain was born in Massachusetts about forty- 
five years ago. He received his classical training in Yale 



College, where he deUvered the valedictory oration. He 
went to Andover Theological Seminary, in Massachusetts, 
to prosecute his studies for the ministry. He enjoys a wide 
reputation for biblical scholarship and eloquence in the pulpit. 

Memorial Presbyterian Church. — In the spring of 1866, a 
movement was set on f<iiit by some members of the Lafay- 
ette Avenue Presbyterian Church, and others, resulting in 
the organization of a Sunday-school, which met for a time in 
a room on Baltic st. In the autumn following, the School 
took possession of a chapel which had been provided in War- 
ren St. (now Prospect place), near Sixth ave. Preaching ser- 
vices were occasionally held, the Rev. Mr. Mason, of East 
Tennessee, oflficiating for a time. February 19, 1867, a Board 
of Trustees was elected, and the chapel and properties were 
transferred to the Board, to be used for a Presbyterian 
Church. March 38, 1867, the Presbytery of Brooklyn (N. S.) 
met at the Chapel, and organized the Memorial Presbyterian 
Church, with 34 members, of whom the majority were from 
Lafayette Avenue Church. James Craikshank, C. C. Mudge 
and Jacob S. Denman were elected Ruling Elders, while 
Ithamar DuBois and John H. Wilson constituted the first 
Board of Deacons. 

Rev. Theodore S. Brown, of Plainfiekl, N. J., was installed 
as the first Pastor of the church April 23d, 1867; he remained 
for six years. During the year following Mr. Brown's resig- 
nation, services were maintained by supplies, the way not 
appearing clear for the calling of a Pastor adapted to the 
work. In June of 1874, the Rev. t'. K. Jones was engaged 
as stated supply for one year, but retired from the work 
somewhat before the expiration of that time. 

On the 1st of May, 1875, the Rev. Thomas Crowther, of 
Pittsfield, Mass., commenced his labors. In the .spring of 



no CLESIASTIGAL OR GANIZA TIGim 



1071 




-^-sii'i 



MEMOniAl, ]-l(i;s]iVi'ERTAN CHURCH. 



1877, he was dismissed at his own request. On the 23d of 
Juno, 1877, a call was extended to the Rev. T. A. Nelson, the 
present Pastor, who was then completing his studies in the 
Union Theological Seminary of New York. He began his 
labors on the first Sabbath of August following, and was 
ordained and installed as Pastor on the evening of Wednes- 
day, Sept. 20, 1877. 

The steady growth of the congregation rendering both a 
change of location and increase of aoconimodation desirable, 
a movement was inaugurated for the purchase of an eligible 
site and the ei'ection of a ne%v edifice, which resulted in the 
present projierty on the corner of Seventh ave. and St. John's 
place. Ground was broken for the present church edifice on 
the morning of March 13, 1882, and the corner-stone of the 
new building laid, with appropriate ceremony, on the 1st day 
of June following. On Sabbath morning, Februaiy 18, 1883, 
the church was first opened for worship. 

The style is the pure Gothic of the early decorated period, 
which flourished in the beginning of the fourteenth century. 
The church is faced throughout witli gray-rock Belleville 
stone, the windows having stone tracery throughout. The 
buttresses are surmounted by stone pinnacles; the parapets 
pierced with open tracery, and the roof is of blue slate, ridged 



with ornamented terra cotta. The tower serves as a porch 
with double entrance, the other entrances being on Seventh 
ave. and St. John's jjlace. The pews in the auditorium are 
circular in form, and the woodwork generally is of stained 
cherry. The dimensions of the structure are 95 by 67; the 
height to ridge, 47 feet; and to the apex of the spire, which 
is of stone, 117 feet high. There are seats for about 800 peo- 
ple in the edifice. It is proposed in the early future to build 
a cliapel closely adjoining, for lecture-room and Sunday- 
school purposes. 

Rev. Thomas A. Nelson was born in Montreal, Canada. 
In early life he ■was engaged in the mercantile business in 
Indianapolis. In 1866, he entered Asbury TJniversit}', to 
prepare for the ministry. He was Secretary of the Y. M. C. 
A. of Toledo, 1871-'4, when he entered the Union Theol. 
Sem., New York, graduating in May, 1877; and tlie follow- 
ing month he accepted a call to the Memorial Presbyterian 
Church of this city. His pulpit discourses are noted for 
clearness and precision of expression ; he claims no advanced 
ideas iia religious theory, but his mind is naturally liberal 
and his views cheerful. His earnest, sincere and manly 
characteristics have won the esteem of a large circle of 
friends. 



1072 



HISTORY OF KlJSroS COUNTY. 



Bethlehem Mission was commenced November 1, 1868, in 
the livery stablo of Jlr. "Witty, at the junction of Fulton and 
Flatbusli aves. The mission took its name because of its or- 
ganization in .- stable. It was org. by A. M. Earle and Eev. 
D. M. Heydrick, whose life has been devoted to mission labor 
in this city, and who lias been intimately connected with the 
organization of many missions. After five Sunda.vs in this 
place the mission was removed to Prospect Hall (now Music 
Hall), at the junction of Flatbush and Fulton aves., and sub- 
sequently to a room over Nos. 635 and 637 Fulton St., vphere 
it has since been held. 

The first su]ierintendent was A. M. Earle, followed by Mr. 
Hawley, Mr. Kimball and Mr. G. A. Brett, who, with his ex- 
cellent wife, carried on the work there at their own exjiense 
during five years. Mr. Heydrick has been the Pastor of the 
mission from the first, and since 1879, both Pastor and Super- 
intendent. 

The German Evangelical Mission Church (Presbyterian), 
Hopkins St., was org. as a mission in 1868, and as a church 
in 1870. Its ])lace of worship, while a mission, was the 
Tliroop Ave. Mission School building. In 1871 the present 
church edifice was built, on Hopkins st., near Throop ave. 
It is of brick, with l,-400 sittings. A parsonage adjoins the 
church. The cost of the church ]iroperty was |62,000. 

Rev. John Meury has been Pastor from the time when the 
church was a mission. 

A parochial school is maintained iu tlie basement of the 
church, where instruction is given in both German and Eng- 
lish. It has an average attendance of 160. Two teachers 
are employed. 




Nnni.E STItEET PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. 

Noble Street Presbyterian Church. — This church was 
formed by the Presbytery of Nassau, iu April, 1869, and 
consisted of fourteen members. The first place of meeting 
was the Masonic Hall, corner of Manhattan and Meserolo 
aves. A short time after, a small frame building was erected 
on the corner of Noble and Lorimer sts., the Presbytery giv- 
ing tlie lots for the jjurpose. Subsequently this was removed, 
and the present brick edifice was erected in its place. A 
large lecture-room and j)arsonage were added. 



Rev. William Howell Taylor was installed the first Pastor 
in 1870, and continued to 1875, when ill health comjielled him 
to seek a more salubrious climate, and a less arduous field of 
labor. Rev. John T. Lloyd was installed in 1876, and con- 
tinued Pastor nearly one year. Rev. C. F. Taylor, D.D., was 
called from Le Roy, N. Y., and installed iu 1878. 

The church has grown, in spite of many discouragements, 
till it numbers over three thousand members. 

Its Officers now (1884) are: Rev. C. F. Taylor, D.D., Pas- 
tor; Bavid Joline, Geo. P. Wilson and John A. Jenkins, 
M.D., Elders: Mervin Briggs, Supt. of the large and flourish- 
ing Sabbath-school. 

Foit Greene Presbyterian Church. — The Lafayette Avenue 
Presbyterian Church established a mission in Cumberland 
St., known as Calvary Chapel. The flourishing Sunday- 
school was the nucleus of a church which the Presbytery or- 
ganized in 1873, with Rev. William Guthrie Barnes the first 
Pastor. Lots were bought for $10,000, and a handsome brick 
church, aliout 70x120 feet, was erected, costing about $45,000. 
Its seating capacity is about 750. 

In 1875, Dr. Adam McClelland's church, the Lawrence 
Street Church, corner of Tillary, was sold to the Roman 
Catholics, and the congregation united with the Fort Greene 
church under the pastoral care of Dr. McClelland, who re- 
signed in 1883. Dr. McClelland was, from 1855, principal of 
the New York Institution for the Blind. In 1858, he began 
his work as Pastor-elect of the Lawrence Street Presbyterian 
Church, and was ordained on September 23 of the same year. 
He remained Pastor of the Lawrence Street Churcli until the 
time of its union with the Fort Greene Presbyterian Church, 
in February of 1875. He has since been in quiet possession 
of his pastorate. At the time of the union of the two 
churches his whole congregation went with him. 

Greene Avenue Presbyterian Church — In 1874, A. M. Earle 
erected on Greene ave., between Reid and Patchen aves., an 
edifice, which subsequently liecame the house of worship of 
this society, which was organized May 19th, 1874, with about 
twenty members. It was but a temporary structure, but 
served their purpose until they took possession of their 
present church building, which is a wooden edifice, with 
about 500 sittings. 

During a portion of the first year of its existence, the 
church was supplied by James S. Evans, D. D., a Sy nodical 
Missionary. The present Pastor, Rev. Williana J. Bridges, 
was installed May 20th, 1875. 

The First United Presbyterian Church of Brooklyn. — The 
Rev. H. H. Blair, then Pastor of the Associate Presbyterian 
Church, of Charles St., New York, first began missionary 
work, in connection with his own pastoral labors, in Wil- 
liamsburgh, by preaching occasionally in a hall. He thus 
gathered a, nucleus, from which an organization was effected 
about 1849. The first Pastor was ihe Rev. Wm. Cleeland, a 
licentiate from the Irish Presbyterian Church, installed, Oct. 
11th, 1849, in Butterman's Hall, Williamsburph. Tiiis pas- 
toral relation continued till April 22d, 1854. On the 18th of 
May, 1854, Rev. Andrew Thomas was installed Pastor, but 
soon accepted the charge of a church in Providence, R. I. 

Nov. 15th, 1855, Rev. Samuel Farmer was installed Pastor. 
John Robb and James Smith were Ruling Elders at this time. 
During Mr. Cleeland's pastorate, the congregation bought a 
lot, and built a small brick church on the corner of 8th and 
So. 1st sts., but, under the ministry of Rev. S. Farmer, this 
was sold, and a new and much larger church edifice was 
built, on corner of 8th and So. 8th sts. This, however, 
proved almost fatal to the existence of the congregation. 

The financial crisis of 1857 came; the Pastor demitted his 
chai'ge, and an effort was made to foreclose a mortgage of 



ECCLESIASTICAL ORGANIZATIONS. 



10V3 



about $14,000. They exchanged their new church and 
grounds for a little frame church in No. 5th st., between 4tli 
and 5th sts., with the grounds, tliree full lots. This was 
nearly ruinous to the congregation. The organization, how- 
ever, was not broken up, though thoroughly discouraged and 
disheartened. 

Rev. J. T. Wilson was installed in 1867, and worked suc- 
cessfully for a few years; but feeling that his church was 
overwhelmed with debt, and tliat it was badly located, he 
made an effort to take the congregation out of it, and leave 
the property to the parties having mortgages against it. But 
tliis effort was opposed by part of the congregation, and re- 
sulted in a division. Tliose who went out with Mr. Wilson, 
worshiped in a hall for some months, and Mr. Wilson soon 
was released. From this nucleus was afterwards foi-med 
what is now known as the 2d Reformed Presbyterian Church, 
Brooklyn. 

Those remaining in the church were few and feeble. Three 
short pastorates, however, viz., that of Rev. Martin Ross, 
Rev. H. Brown, and Rev. R. T. Wylie, intervened between 
that time and May 15th, 1876, when the present Pastor, Rev. 
J. H. Andrew, was installed. With the aid of the Bd. of 
Home Missions, they were able to jiay him a salary of only 
f 1,300. In less than two years they became self-sustaining. 
They have now almost paid their church debt, and the con- 
gregation numbers about 160 members, and is increasing. 

In the year 1858, a union was formed between the Associate 
and Associate Reformed Presbyterians. And Jhva little con- 
gregation which belonged to the Associate Church, went into 
that union, hence the present name United Presbyterian 
Church. 

The present eldership of the church is as follows: John 
Patterson, William Ramsay, Robert Moore, John Ward, John 
McLean. 

The Second United Presbyterian Church. — In response to 
the petition of sixty-five citizens of Brooklyn, desirous to be 
taken under its care, and supplied with preaching, the Pres- 
bytery of New York, of the United Presbyterian Church, 
in July, 1858, consented to the request, and approved of the 
organization of this congregation, which wao effected Sept. 
1st of that year. The new church immediately commenced 
public worsliip in the Brooklyn Institute, under the pastoral 
charge of the Rev. David J. Patterson; installed Feb. 1, 
1859, and who had labored in Brooklyn during the previous 
ten years, in charge of another church organization. 

About Nov. 8, 1863, the congregation purchased the clmrch 
building previously occupied by the Reformed Presbyterians, 
on the corner of Atlantic ave. and Bond st. , and hero they 
have since worshiped. It is of brick, 40x70 feet in size, and 
accommodates about 500 persons. The principles anc forms 
of govermuent of this church are those formulated in the 
Westminster Confession of Faith, etc. Rev. Mr. Patterson 
continues in pastoral charge, and the church is prosperous. 
The First Reformed Presbyterian Church was an off- 
shoot from a church of tlie same name in New York city. 
Several families in connection with that church resided in 
Brooklyn, and this led to the establishment here of a church, 
which was organized April 3, 1848. 

Lots were purchased, and a house of worship was erected 
in DufBeld st., near Myrtle ave. Here the congregation wor- 
shiped till IsTi), when the building was sold to the Church 
of the Holy Trinity (Episcopal), for a chapel. The congrega- 
tion then worshiped in Granada Hall, Myrtle ave., till Oc- 
tober, 1881, when they purchased the chapel of the Memorial 
(Presbyterian) Church, in Prospect place. 

Tlio first Pastor was Rev. David J. Patterson, followed in 
succession by Revs. G. A. McMillan; J. Agnew Crawford, 



Jan., 1861 ; Alexander Clements, Nov., 1863; Nevin Wood- 
side, installed Jan. 17, 1867 ; and John C. Mackey. Rev. T. 
J. McClelland was installed Pastor, Jan , 1884. 

The Reformed Presbyterian Church was organized June 
17, 1857, and its first house of worship was at the corner of 
Atlantic ave. and Bond st., with Rev. J. M. Dickson as the 
Pastor for six years. The building is now occupied by the 
United Pretbylerian Church. Its second house of worship 
was at the corner of Lafayette ave. and Ryerson st., and Rev. 
J. A. Boggs was Pastor for sixteen years. Dec. 7, 1881, Rev. 
S. J. Crowe was installed Pastor. In 1888, the congregation 
pm-chased the Willoughby ave. M. E. Church building, corner 
of Willoughby and Tompkins aves. The congregation, then 75 
strong, now numbers 104 ; and has purchased the edifice in 
which it now worships, corner of Willoughby and Tomp- 
kins aves. 

Rev. S. J. Crowe, born 1843, near Pittsburgh, Pa.; grad. 
Westminster Coll., Pa., 1866, and Ref. Pres. Theol. Sem. at 
Allegheny, 1871; was Pres. Geneva Coll., Pa., 1867-71; lo- 
cated at Newcastle, Pa., 1872-'81; B'klyn, Dec, 1881-'4. 

Second Reformed Presbyterian Church, Ninth st., Brook- 
lyn, E. D., between South Second and South Third sts., was 
org. about 1869. The people worshijjed for about seven years 
in a Hall. Its first Pastor was Rev. Alexander Moffat, who, 
after four years, returned to Ireland. Rev. W. J. McDowell 
then became the Pastor, until the 23d of May, 1883, when he 
resigned. In 1876, a church edifice was erected, mainly 
through the exertions of Mr. McDowell, who was materially 
encouraged and assisted by the late J. B. Guthrie, Esq. The 
building is 35 by 60 feet in size, neat and tastefully furnished, 
and has a seating capacity of 2.50, and cost $11,000, includ- 
ing the ground. Beside the auditorium, is a good basement, 
lecture-room, and Sabbath-school. It is at present without 
a Pastor. 

Rev. Wm. J. Macdowell was born in Ireland, 1837 ; grad. 
Royal Belfast Acad. Instit., 1845, and Paisley (Scotland) 
Theol. Sem., 1847; located Canada, 1848; Lisbon, N. Y., 1858; 
So. Ryegate, Vt., 1863; B'klyn, 1873-'84 ; aufhov Scripture 
Catechism, 1880, and Ch. Magazine Arts. 

February 3d, 1869, at a meeting held ia one of the rooms of 
the Masonic Temple, corner of Seventh and Grand streets, E. 
D., a new congregation was organized in connection with the 
General Synod of the Reformed Presbyterian Chiu-ch. Messrs. 
John B. Guthrie and Thomas M. Stewart were chosen elders, 
and Messrs. Dunn, Black, McFadden, Hawthorne and Martin 
were elected trustees. This enterprise is under the supervision 
of the Northern Reformed Presbytery. 

There are two churches in the United States called Re- 
formed Presbyterian. The one is known as "The General 
Synod of the Reformed Presbyterian Church," to which this 
church belongs, and to vvhicli the First Reformed Presby- 
terian Church, in Prospect place, belongs. The other Re- 
formed Presbyterian Church is known by the designation of 
"The Synod of the Reformed Presbyterian Cliurch." The 
only material difference between them is, that the General 
Synod allows its people to vote at municipal, state, and presi- 
dential elections. The other organization forbids all fra- 
ternization with political affairs. The division took place in 
the year 1833. The only church of this denomination is lo- 
cated on the corner of Tompkins and Willoughby aves. 
Mr. Crowe is its present Pastor. 

The First Free Presbyterian Church of Brooklyn was 
organized May 31, 1881, with Rev. W. J. Clarke as Pastor. 
During five months the congregation worshiped in a mis- 
sion chapel, in Clifton place. The present iilace of worship 
is Granada Hall, in Myrtle ave. This is tlie only clmrch in 
Brooklyn where the psalms and paraphrases are sung. 



1074 



HISTOHT OF KINGS COUNTY. 



The following Presbyterian clergymen are residing in 
Brooklyn : 

Rev. James H. Callen, D.D., born in Ireland, 1834; grad. 
Lafayette Coll., Pa., 1846; Alleghany Theol. Sem., 1848. 
Previous locations, Uniontown, Pa., and Trenton, N. J., 
1848-'64. 

Rev. Lyman Gilbert, born at Brandon, "Vt., June, 1798; 
grad. Middleburv Coll., 1824, and Andover Tlieol. Sem., 1837. 
Pastor Congl. Ch., West Newton, Mass., 1838-'o6; at Malden- 
on-the-Hudson, 1859-'63; came to B'klyn, 1863. 

Rev. Benjamin Parsons, born in Bloomfield, N. J., 1836: 
grad. Yale, 1850, and Hartford Theol. Sem., 1854; was Mis- 
sionary of Amer. Bd. C. F. Missions in Turkey, 6 yrs. ; located 
Le Roy, N. Y., B'klyn, 1883-'4; was with Army of Cumber- 
land in U. S. Chr. Com. 

Rev. WiLLiAJi M. Martin, born in Rahway, N. J. ; grad. 
N. Y. Univ., 1837, and Union Theol. Sem., N. Y., 1840; lo- 
cated Woodbridge, N. J., 1852-'63; Columbia City, Cal., 1803 
-4; Virginia City, Nev., 1864-'7; Sec'y B'klyn Y. M. C. A., 
1868-'76; Supt. B'klyn City Miss, and Tract Soc, 1878-'84; in 
1863, in Chris. Com. Works. 

Rev. John Abeel Baldwin, born in New York, 1810; grad. 
Yale CoU., 1839, and Princeton Theol. Sem., 1834; located in 
Flatlands and New Lots, 1836-'53; Lincaster, Pa., 1853-'6; 
New Providence, 1857-'63; came to B'klyn, 1863; Pastor at 
Woodhaven, L. L, 1869. 



Rev. David Lyme, born in Perthshire, Scotland, 1810; grad. 
St. Andrew's Univ., 1838; in theology, at St. Mary's Coll., St. 
Andrew's Univ. , 1832; licensed to preach, 1833; Prof. Mathe- 
matics, etc.. in Columbia Coll. Gram. School; Principal 
B'klyn Pub. School No. 7, 1849-53; of No. 6, 1853; was Prin. 
of first evening sell., 1853; opened Eng. and class, sch., 1862; 
retired in 1871. • 

Rev. Benjamin G. Benedict, born in Patterson, N. Y., 1838; 
grad. La Fayette Coll., Pa., 1859, and Princeton Theol. Sem., 
1866; located in Hopewell, N. Y., 18e0-'74; B'klyn, 1876-84. 

Rev. Oliver S. St; John, born in New York, 1814; grad. 
Amherst Coll., 1838; studied Hartford Theol. Sem., 1840-'l; 
located Elizabethport, N. J., 1841-'50; Prof. Latin and Greek, 
1850-'4; located B'klyn, 1865-'84. 

Rev. Charles W. Taylor, born at Candor, N. Y. ; grad. 
Union Coll., 1848, and Princeton Theol. Sem., 1853; was tutor 
in Union Coll. ; located Ballston Center, Cambridge, Le Roy, 
B'klyn, 1878-84. 

Rev. John Gottfried Hehr, born in Germany, 1853; grad. 
Acad. Dep't., 1878; Theol. Sch. Bloomfield, N. J., 1881; lo- 
cated B'klyn, 1883. 

Rev. Loois EuLNER, born in Hessen Cassel, Germany, 
1815; Missionary Amer. and B'klyn Mission and Tract Soc, 
1843-'84. 

Rev. William J. Bridges, born in Baltimore, Md., 1835; 
grad. Princeton Theol. Sem., 1875; located B'klyn, 1875-'84. 



BAPTIST CHURCHES. 



The First Baptist Church, cor. of Pierrepont and Clinton 
sts., represents, since April, 1873, two organizations, viz., 
the First Baptist Church, formerly located on the corner of 
Nassau and Liberty sts., and the Pierrepont St. Baptist 
Church, which formerly occupied a part of the present site. 
John Ellis, a Bajitist preacher from Oyster Bay, L. I., seems 
to have attempted, during the winter of 1819-'20, to establish 
a church of this denomination in the village of Brooklyn. 
We have no further record of the results of his effort; but, 
during the prevalence of the yellow fever in New York, in 
the summer of 1833, among those who sought refuge in 
Brooklyn were two Baptists, viz., Eliakim Raymond (father 
of the late John H. Raymond, LL. D., first president of the 
Polytechnic Institute, and afterward president of Vassar 
College) and Elijah Lewis (father of Elijah Lewis, Jr., the 
well-known Long Island naturalist and active director of the 
L. I. Hist. Soc), who subsequently became one of Brooklyn's 
prominent merchants. Finding in the village five other Bap- 
tists, they commenced a prayer-meeting, occasionally pro- 
curing preaching for the twenty or thirty persons whom they 
could gather to hear a Baptist minister. Despite the subse- 
quent return of these two bretliren to New York, after the 
pestilence had ceased, they still continued to strengthen the 
hands of the little band they had left in Brooklyn by fre- 
quent visits, often crossing the East River in open boats, in 
all sorts of weather ; and by supplying preachers at their 
own cost, in which they were afterward joined by Mr. Wm. 
Winterton. On the 19th August, 1833, a church was finally 
organized, with the following members : Charles P. Jacobs 
(Clerk), Richard and Hannah Jones, Joshua and Margaret 
Evans, Maria Cornell, Sarah Quereau, Elizabeth Jacobs, 
Margaret Nostrand and Eliza Ann Rust. 

Messrs. Raymond and Lewis continued their membership 
ia New York, but gave their counsel and labor to the new 



enterprise. The first communion service was held Sunday, 
Aug. 24, 1823, and the church was formally incorp. on the 
16th of the following October, with Eliakim Raymond, Elijah 
Lewis, John Brown, Richard Poland and Chas. P. Jacobs as 
Trustees. Meetings continued to be held at private houses 
until 1834, when the use was secured of the First District 
School -house, on the site of the present Pub. S. No. 1, corner 
of Concord and Adams sts., and Rev. Wm. C. Havvley was set 
apart to the charge of the church in March of that year. 
Afterwards the congregation occupied the public school- 
house in Middagh st., until early in 1837, when (by the man- 
agement and strenuous exertions of Messrs. Raymond, Lewis 
and Corning) they had completed an edifice, 40 by 00 feet, 
without galleries, but ample for their wants at that time, 
which is still in existence, being occupied as a synagogue by 
the Jewish Congregation of Beth Elohim. Mr. Hawley was 
at this time receiving for his pastoral services at the rate 
of $11.33 a month. The first deacons of the church were 
Elijah Lewis, Gersham Howell and E. Rajmond. Mr. Haw- 
ley was succeeded in the pastorate by Rev. Jos. A. Warne, 
1838-'29; Rev. Geo. Colt and Rev. Josiah Denham, 1829-'30; 
Rev. J. E, Lascalle, 1830-'31; Rev. Leland Howell, 1833-'37. 
During his term (1834) the building was sold to the Calvary 
Free Episcopal Church, and a new one, cor. of Liberty and 
Nassau sts., was dedicated May 3, 1835. In June, 1857, the 
bass viol was ousted from the choir by an organ, not with- 
out great opposition from the older members. In 1857, Rev. 
Silas Ilsley became Pastor; and, in April, 1840, 33 members 
were dismissed to form what was first known as the East, 
and later as the Pierrepont St. B. Ch., which was reunited to 
the parent church in 1873. In 1837, the Central B. Ch. was 
org. from tliis congregation, which, in 1848, with many 
others, suffered the loss of its edifice in " the great fire." But, 
by Nov., 1849, a new building was ready for use, costing 



EGGLEtSIASTICAL OEGANIZATIONS. 



lOYs 




lyliillililill I I II I 






llKbi B\?Xibl CHURCH 

$16,000. Colonies wei'e sent forth from the church, which 
establislied the Washington Ave. B. Ch. in 1851, and the 
Hanson Place B. Ch. in 1834. 

The Pastors which succeeded Mr. Ilsley (who resigned Nov., 
1841. to take charge of the Wash. Ave. enterprise) were : 
Revs. Jas. L. Hodge, O. W. Briggs, in 1853; D. J. Yerkes, in 
July, 1860; H. M. Gallaher, in Sept., 1864, during whose pas- 
torate the church edifice was twice enlarged and improved, 
and a parsonage purchased. In Sept., 1873, Mr. Gallaher 
was obliged by ill liealth to resign. Elijah Lewis, Sr., after 
•a service of 25 years as Superintendent of the Sabbath-school, 
died in August, 1860, and was succeeded by Edward L. 
Brown. 

In April, 1873, the Pierrepont St. B. Ch. was reunited with 
this church, and, in November following, the united body 
extended a call to Rev. J. B. Thomas, D. D., of Chicago, 111., 
former Pastor of the former church, who commenced his du- 
ties Jan. 1, 1874. In Dec, 1873, the edifice was partially 
destroyed by fire, so that tlie church was obliged to worsliip 
in the Pierrejiont st. building; and, in 1880, the property was 
sold, and the site is now occupied by the publishing estab- 
lisliment of A. S. Barnes & Co. 

Rev. Jesse B. Thomas, D. D., was born at Edwardsville, 
111., July 29, 1832, a son of Judge Thomas, of the Supreme 
Court of Illinois. He grad. at Kenyon Coll., O., in 1850; 
studied law and was admitted to the bar in 1855. He after- 
wards entered Rochester Theol. Sem. . but ill health obliged 
him to leave after a short time. In 1862, he entered the 
ministry at Waukegau, lU. His subsequent locations were 
in Brooklyn, San Francisco and Chicago, returning to Brook- 
lyn Jan. 1, 1874. Dr. Thomas is a pungent and forcible 
speaker. He has a judicial mind, with great logical powers, 
and is very systematic. He is known as lecturer and author. 

The Second Baptist Church, org. about 1830, with seven 
members, who at first worshiped in the " Brooklyn Acad- 
emy " on the corner of Henrj' and Pineapple streets. In 1834, 
a churcli edifice was erected on a lea.sed lot, cor. of TiUary 
and Lawrence, at a cost of about $4,000. The Rev. Jacob 
Price, C. F. Frey, John Beetham (1839-40), and Octavius 
Winslow (1836-'37), successively labored here; but whether 
any of them were settled as pastors is not ascertained. In 
the autumn of 1838, this church was dissolved, and the build- 
ing sold to the Free Presbyterian congregation. 




PIERBBPONT STKEEX BAPTIST CHUKCH. 

Pierrepont Street Baptist Church was org. April, 1840, 
with 33 members from tlie First Church (See p. 1074,) by the 
name of tlie East Baptist Church. A building was hired at 
the cor. of Tillary and Lawrence sts. , and the Rev. E. E. L. 
Taylor, under wnose labors the enterprise had commenced, 
became its Pastor. On the 20th of July, 1843, at the cor. of 
Pierrepont and Clinton sts., the corner-stone was laid of a 
brick edifice (Gothic style), on Pierrepont St., seventy-seven 
by sixty feet, which was finished in March, 1844, at a cost in- 
cluding lot of over $19,000. The church was org. as The 
Pierrepont St. B. Church, May 24, 1843, with the foUowing 
Trustees: John Speir, Win. T. Dugan, Amos Allen, John West, 
Joseph Steele, John H. Smith, Geo. Gault, Gilbert Beam and 
Adam T. Tiebout. In 1847, thirty-eight members left the 
church to aid in forming the Central B. Church. In 1849, the 
Pastor, Rev. E. E. L. Taylor and fifty-four members left to 
form the Strong Place B. Church, and in 1854, others aided 
in establishing the Hanson Place B. Church. 

In November, 1848, the Rev. Dr. Bartholomew Welsh, of 
Albany, N.Y., succeeded Mr. Taylor, and was followed June, 
1854, by the Rev. John S. Holmes. He was followed by Rev. 
J. B. Thomas, D. D., who was installed July, 1864, and re- 
signed January, 1868; and he, by the Rev. Walter W. Ham- 
mond, who was installed September 10, 1868, and officiated 
uutil Feb., 1870, from which time, until 1873, the church was 
without a regular Pastor. 

In 1873, this church and the First Baptist Church were con- 
solidated under the name of First Baptist Church. (See 
account of that church). 

Soon after the consolidation, the interior of the church 
building of the First Church in Nassau street, in which the 
miited congregation worshiped, was burned out, and the 
Gothic edifice on the corner of Pierrepont and Clinton streets 
was occupied. Within a year the insurance company re- 
paired the church in Nassau street, and the congi\gation re- 
turned to it. In 1877, the erection of a new building on the 



loM 



SISTOBT OF KINGS COUNTY. 



site of the o:i ■ in Pierrepoat street was commenced, and, in 
18S0, it was completed and dedicated. 

It is a brick structure, trimmed with Ohio free-stone, cost- 
ing with furniture, $05,000, and having a seating capacity of 
1,800. Tlie auditorium has the form of an amphitheater, with 
the pulpit aiid ($7,000) organ in one corner. The acoustic ar- 
rangement of this audience-room is nearly perfect, and the 
(duirchisinmany of its features unique. This is tha only Bap- 
tist church in the city with an open Baptistry. The building 
was dedicated free from debt. The seats are free, and contri- 
butions voluntarj'. 

The Young People's Association of the church numbers 
300, and from it came the Y. P. B. Union, having selected 
organizations in all the Baptist churches in Brooklyn. The 
Sabbath-school (H. C. S. Jervis, Sup't) ha 5 500 scholars, of 
whom 200 are in the Adult Bible Classes, and over 25 Chinese 
scholars. 

WiUoughby Avenue Baptist Church. — Tlie first meeting of 
the Bajitists of Hush wick was held April 5, 1851, for the pur- 
pose of organizing a Baptist Church in that vicinity. On 
April 25, 1854, a regular Board of Trustees was elected and 
incorporated, and the church was organized with 23 consti- 
tuent members, and known as tlie First Baptist Church of 
Bushirick. They jmrchased their first house of worship 
from tliB Episcopal Society, for $1,600, and occupied it for 
twelve years, when it became so dilapidated that they could 
use it no longer. They then moved temporarily to what 
was known as J. Whittlesey's Omnibus House, on B'way, 
(near the present Railroad engine house, nearSumneravenue.) 
which they occujiied nearly one year. In the meantime, 
five lots were purchased on Willougliby ave., near Broadway 
(ninth Ward), on a portion of which the new church was 
erected and fitted up, at an expense of nearly $8,000. It 
is a framed stnicture, 74 by 35, one story in height, and 
capable of seating about four hundred persons. The interior 
is finished off in a neat and substantial manner, well heated 
and lighted, arid in everj- respect well suited to the purpose 
to which it is devoted. In the rear of the main b\iilding 
is an extension, 14 feet deep, running entirely across, and 
divided into two apartments, the library and infant-class 
rooms respectively. 

In May, 1866, they changed their name to Gethsemane Bap- 
tist Church: on Jan. 20, 1877, dedicated the new church 
building, situated onWUloughby avenue, near B'way; on Jan., 
1873, enlarged the building to about the present size; August 
1878, changed the nam 3 to WiUoughby Avenue Baptist 
Church. Sabbath-school was organized May 2, 1854, and re- 
organized Jan. 9, 1862; at dedication of the new Church, in 
1867, numbered 164 scholars, and now numbers about 800 
scholars. The church edifice is 65x65; extension, 20x65; is 
a frame building; its seating capacity 500; approximate cost, 
$10,000. 

Nov. 19, 1882, a mission-school was opened at Eidgewood, 
which now mmibers over 100; and steps have already been 
taken towards building a church in that neighborhood. 

Pastors: S.las Ilsley, 1854; J. W. Daniels, 1856; W. H. 
Pendleton, 1857; J. B. Morse, 1861; G. W. Folwell, 1862; 
Matthew C. Kempsey, 1863; Beriah N. Leach, 1865; Henry 
S. Stevens, 1867; A. D. Gillette, 1872; A. Stewart Walsh, 
1873; A. H. Burlingham, 1878; Geo. T. Stansbury, 1879; R. 
B. Montgomery, 1880-'84. Present membership of Church, 
525. 

First German Baptist Church of Williamsburgh was or- 
ganized 1853; recognized by council, Jan. 10, 1854. Jere- 
miah Grimmell had gathered the first members. He was suc- 
ceeded by Rev. W. Fashing who was Pastor for two years. 
It had grown to 70 members in 1873, when Rev. J. C. Grim- 



mell was called, and the present house of worship on Mont- 
rose ave. was secured for a sum of $12,000. The church 
since then has grown to a membership of 310, besides giving 
letters of dismission to 60 members now forming the Har- 
rison Avenue German Baptist Church. Rev. Zachariali 
Martin entered upon the pastorate, Oct. 1, 1883. 

The East Brooklyn Baptist Church (Bedford ave., north 
of Mjrtle) was commenceil by the labors of Rev. Mr. Wil- 
liams, and afterwards of Rev. Mr. Ballard, assembling first 
at the Academy, and subsequently at Temperance Hall, in 
Graham st.; was org. January 27, 1847. 

In 1852, the church purchased three lots on Bedford ave., 
betw. Myrtle and WiUoughby avenues, and erected thereon 
a church edifice, in tlie basement of which they commence<l 
worship, Feb. 12, 1853. The edifice was completed and ded- 
icated on the 11th of October, 1855. 

The following have been Pastors: Rev. William Hutchin- 
son, 1847; Rev. Henry Green, 1847; Rev. Arris Haynos, 1848: 
Rev. W. J. Goodno, 1852; Rev. Stephen Remington, 1854, 
and the present Pastor, Hiram Hutchins, D. D., 18.59. 

Lefferts Park 3Iission is also under charge of this church. 

The South Baptist Church. — A church with this name 
was org. with seventy members, ]5rincipally from the First 
Baptist Church, in April, 1845 ; and a small lecture-room 
building erected on Livingston st. Tlie church, however, 
dissolved in the fall of 1847. 

The present South Baptist Church is the youngest Baptist 
Church of this city. At a meeting of the Lee Avenue Bap- 
tist Chui-ch, of which Rev. J. Hyatt Smith was Pastor, 
held January, 1882, a unanimous call was extended to Rev. 
N. B. Thompson, late of Newport, R. I. The call was ac- 
cepted at a meeting held Febnaaiy 93, 1882. The Lee Ave- 
nue Baptist Church adjourned sine die. The body pres- 
ent, without Christian organization or name, was at once 
called to order; and, upon the election of proper officers for 
such a meeting, the same body at once declared themselves 
by vote and the permission of the Law of the State as the 
South Bap. Church of Brooklyn. Services were held in the 
building on Lee ave. until July, when the church held service 
in the chapel of All Souls' Universalist Ch. until Sept. Then 
Knickerbocker Hall, on Clymer St., near Bedford ave., was se- 
cured, where the church continued to worship. In the mean- 
time, the jirojierty of the Fifth Bap. Ch., corner of Hooper st. 
and Harrison ave. was jiurchased and occupied Sept. 1, 1883. 
The building is of stone, substantially built; will seat about 
500 people. It cost the South Church $3,200. There are 336 
names on church roll, and a Sunday-school of nearly 200 
members. 

The Central Baptist Church, Bridge St., between Myrtle 
ave. and WiUoughby st., was org. 4th of October, 1847, with 
90 members, a Sabbath-school having been formed, and 
preaching services and prayer-meetings sustained since the 
early part of the preceding spring. The congregation, which 
had previoush' occupied the second floor of " Granada Hall," 
on Myrtle ave., between Bridge and Duffield sts., secured 
during its first year the lots which it now occupies, and erec- 
ted a lecture room, sixty-two by thirty-two feet, at the rear 
of the property; the main building, fifty-eight by sixty-eight 
feet, being finished about the end of the second 3'ear, the 
whole costing about $18,000. 

John Wesley Searles, D. D. was Pastor of this church till 
1879. Rev. Theo. A. K. Gessler assumed the pastorate Jan. 1, 
1880; since which time about one hundred persons have 
been added to the membership of the church. During 
the summer of 1882 the church building and lecture-room 
were improved and enlarged, at an expense of about $5,000; 
and the present estimated value of the property is $35,000. 



ECCLESIASTICAL OR GANIZA TIONS. 



1011 




CENTRAL UAPTI8T CHUKOH, E. D. (See page 1081 

No. of scholar.-; i;i SuiicUiy-scliool, CfiO; Nn. cf officers and 
teachers, 31. 

Rev. Tiieodoi:e A. K. Gessler was bora in Phila., 1841; 
grad. Lewisburg Univ., 18G4; Pres. N. J. Bapt. S. H. Union, 
1874-'80; located at "West Farms, N. Y., 1864-'68; Elizabeth, 
N. J., 1868-'80; enlisted in invasion of Pa., 18G3. 

The Strong Place Baptist Church. — In the month of 
Octoljer, 1847, some of the residents in South Brooklyn, then 
a rapidly growing section of the city. estabUshed a Sunday- 
school in a vacant house on Degraw st., near Columbia. 
Among them were Wm. M. Price, Truman Richards, Dr. 
A. C. Burke, Mrs. D. P. Richards, Mrs. A. T. and Miss M. 
Downer; and Mr. Geo. M. Vanderlip, a licentiate of the 
Oliver St. B. Ch. and student in the University of New York, 
preached for them during the year 18J8. In Oct., 1848, the 
church was duly org., with Edwin C. Burt, James E. South- 
worth and E. Darwin Littlefield as trustees. This was the 
beginning of the Strong Place Baptist Church, the organiza- 
tion of which was completed in 1849. Most of the members 
at its organization were from the Pierrepont Street Baptist 
Church. In tliat j'ear, a lecture-room, on the corner of 
Strong place and Dograw st., was so far completed that ser- 
vices were held therein in January, 1849. This continued to 
be the place of worsliip till 185G, when the present church 



edifice was erected in front of the lecture- 
room, wliich was enlarged. This church is a 
brown-stone structure, finished in the Gothic 
style. The church has :io debt. 

In 1858, a number of members of this church 
were dismissed, to form the Greenwood Bap- 
tist Church, and in 1863, fifty -five were dis- 
missed to particiiiate in the formation of the 
Tabernacle Baptist Church. 

The first Pastor was Rev. E. E. L. Taylor, 
in Nov. 1848, who resigned, on account of 
iU health, after serving the clmrch eiRciectly 
during many years. He was succeeded by 
Rev. Dr. Wayland Hojt, who remained six 
years, and was followed by Galusha Ander- 
son, D. D., who resigned, after a pastorate of 
three years. Mr. Hoyt then became Pastor 
again. ^ 

In Feb., 1883, Rev. T. H. Kerfoot, D. D., 
accepted a unanimous call. During the nine 
years Rev. Dr. Kerfoot has been actively 
engaged in the work of the ministry, he has 
acquired a national reputation as a learned 
and eloquent preacher; and, from the outset of 
bis career, he has exerted an influence of 
ijiore than ordinary weight in the denomi- 
nation of which he is now conceded to be 
one of th(> leaders. He has been honored by 
being elected President of the Southern Bap- 
tist Convention. During liis five years' labors 
ill Baltimore the Eutaw Church grew so 
1 apidly that two new churches were sent out, 
and great success attended his efl'orts in other 
directions. 

The Strong Place Church is large and influ- 
ential, having a menabership of 900 persons, 
and there are no pecuniary incumbrances on 
its property. It has a large and well organ- 
ized Sunday-school, and in addition to other 
l)eneficent \vorks the members of the Strong 
P];ice Church contribute the money necessary 
for the maintenance of the Carroll Park Mis- 
sion Chapel. ^ 
Strong Place (formerly known as Carroll St.) Mission was 
established by this church at an early da}'. The Chapel of 
the Slission, on Carroll st., near Hoyt, was dedicated on the 
17th of January, 1864. It is a Gothic structure of brick, cap- 
able of holding 500 persons. Its arrangements are for con- 
venience rather than architectural beauty. Its cost was 
$6,400, and it was dedicated free from debt. 

The Washington Avenue Baptist Church originated in the 
efi^orts of Deacon Hepburn Clark, at whose house meetings 
were first held. In 1851, the property of a Dutch Reformed 
Church, on the corner of Washington and Gates aves. , was 
purchased for $7,000, and the church was fully organized in 
December of that year. A church edifice was erected adjoin- 
ing the lecture-room in which the clmrch had worshiped, 
and it was dedicated in February, 1860. In 1865, the old lec- 
ture-room was taken down, and in its jilace was erected a 
chapel combining Sunday-school room, church parlor and 
other rooms. In addition to their own Sunday-school this 
chui-ch has supported the Van Biiren St. and the Herkimer 
St. Mission Schools. > 

In 1873-'4, the exterior of the church building was com- 
pleted, by the erection of two graceful spires; and, since that 
time, much has been expended in beautifying the interior of 
the church. The structure has a seating capacity of 1,650. 



iC/g 



BISTORT OF KINGS COUNTY. 









WASHINGTON AVENFE BAI'll.-l' i HI liCII. 

The church lias no debt, and during many years it has dis- 
pensed large sums for charitable and benevolent purposes. 
Its donations sometimes reach the amount of $100,000 in a 
year. 

In 1872, the Marcy Avenue Mission was established by this 
church, and it soon became an independent church. 

lu April, 188L, a colony from this church was organized as 
the Emmanuel Baptist Church. 

Ministry: Rev. J. L. Hodge, Sept., 18.5 \ to Dec, 1856; Rev. 
Courtland D. Anable, Dec. 11, 18.56, to March 1, 1864; Rev. 
David Moore, Jr., March 1, 1864^'77; Rev. Emory J. Haynes, 
1877-84. 

Rev. Emory J. Haynes, born at Cabot, Vt., 1846; grad. 
Wesleyan Univ., 1867; special four year course in theol. ; 
Author of Are These Things So9 and The Fairest of Three; 
located at Norwich, Ct., Fall River, B'klyn, 1872-84. 

The Tabernacle Baptist Church was organized June 26, 
1862. It occupied the edifice on the corner of Rapelyea and 
Hicks sts., until it built the structure now standing on the 
corner of 3d place and Clinton st. The first Pastor was Rev. 
T. Edwin Brown, D. D., from November, 1862, to October, 
1869. Rev. A. C. Osborn, D. D., December, 1869, to October, 
1873; May, 1874, to April, 1878, Rev. Thomas Rambaut, D. D. 
December, 1878, the present Pastor, Rev. Frank Rogers 
Morse, D. D., assumed charge of the church. 

Since its organization this church has had connected with 
its membership nearly 1,400 different persons; and it has 
raised, for all purjioses, nearly $200,000. It has always sus- 
tained a lar^e and flourishing Sunday-school. For many 
years its superintendeut has been Deacon Theodore Shotwell, 
a well-known citizen of our city. The President of its Board 
of Trustees is George B. Forrester, Esq., a prominent Baptist 
layman, and a rising business man. 

Rev. Frank Rocsers Morse, bom in Warner, N. H., 1839; 
grad. Dartmouth Coll., 1861; Newton Theol. Sem., Mass., 
1865; previous locations, Cambridge, Lowell, Fall River, Al- 
bany; is editor-m-chief of A', i'. Watch Tomer; came to 
B'klyn, 1878. 



Hanson Place Baptist Church. — In the latter part of 18.53, 
a Sunday-school was commenced in a vacant store on the 
south side of Atlantic ave., near Nevins street. Fi-om this 
beginning resulted the Atlantic Street Baptist Church, which 
was organized June 18, 1854, with twenty-five members. The 
congi-egation immediately proceeded to erect a chapel on 
Atlantic st , near Powers, at a cost, including site, of |6,000. 
It w-as dedicated May 1, 1855. It was a brick structure, with 
300 sittings. 

Four years later lots were purchased at the corner of Han- 
son place and Portland ave. , and a large structure was erected 
there. It was dedicated in November, 1860. On its removal 
to its new location, the congregation assumed its piesent 
name of Hanson Place Baptist Church. 

To enlarge the auditorium the partition walls between it 
and the lecture and Sunday-school rooms were removed, the 
floors were lowered, and galleries were constructed, and the 
audience-room is now capable of seating 2,000 jieraons. A 
lecture and Sunday-school room stand on the easterly side of 
the house, and connected with it. 

The first Pastor was Rev. Marvin C. Hodge, who entered 
on his labors in November, 1854. His successors have been 
Revs. Robert Lowry, 1861; George F. Pentecost, 1869; Justin 
D. Fulton, D. D., 1873; Alexander McFarlanc, 1.877, and 
Henry M. Gallaher, LL. D., 1879, who resigned in 1883. 

Greenwood Baptist Church. — In 1856, Rev. Herry Brom- 
ley, a missionary from Strong Place Baptist Church, with a 
few co-laborers, opened a Sunday-school and established 
religious services in a hall on Third ave. Their work was so 
successful that, on the 28th of September, 1858, thirty-one 
persons united in a church organization, under the name of 
the Greenwood Baptist Church. 

Rev. H. T. Love was chosen Pastor; followed, December 5, 
1859, by Rev. E. H. Page. Ground was bought on IStli st. 
and Fourth ave., and the erection of the present lecture- 
room begun. September, 1, 1864, Rev. A. P. Graves became 
Pastor; succeeded, March, 1, 1867, by Rev. A. G. Lawson, 
who still remains. A brick chapel on 15th st. was dedicated 
in April, 1803; and the growth of the church was such that 
the corner-stone of a new edifice was laid August 4, 1874, 
which was dedicated, February 22, 1875. It is located on 
4th ave. and 15th st., and is built of brick, trimmed with 
Coignet stone; the auditorium is 70 by 72 feet, semi-circular, 
with bowled floor, and a seating capacity of about 800. 
The entire property, 2 buildings and ground, 100x225 feet, is 
free from debt, and valued at |70,000. 

Fi-om 1 school and 87 scholars, there are now 3 schools and 
1,000 connected; from 31 members, the church has grown 
to 700, and only 20 non-resident. In 25 years but one officer 
has died. Of 31 constituent members, 22 now live, and in 
the 25 years only 71 have died; less than 3 a year, with an 
average membership of over 400. 

The church is noted for its steady growth, its temperance 
and missionary work; Dr. Lawson, the Pastor, being especially 
active as a temperance editor and speaker. 

Rev. Albert G. Lawson, D. D., born at New Hamburgh, 
N. Y., June, 1842 ; was Sec. Bapt. Nat'l Conference, 1882 : 
Clerk L. I. Bapt. Assn., 1869-"83 ; Moderator, 1873; located at 
Perth Amboy, 1862-'6 ; Po'keepsie, 1866-7; B'klyn, 1867-'83 ; 
author of Church Temperance Work, 1877 ; ITie Holy Spirit, 
1880 ; Ambition in the Ministry, 1883 ; is temp. Ed. of Na- 
tional Bapt., Phila. 

Clinton Avenue Baptist Church (near Myrtle ave.) owes its 
origin to the benevolence of the late Wm. D. Mangam, a 
successful and liberal merchant of New York, who died at 
his residence on Clinton ave., April 3, 1868. His life, after 
his conversion, was marked by the noblest generosity to- 



ECCLESIASTIC AT. ORGANIZATIONS. 



1079 




GREEXWOOD liAl'TIST CIIUiiCH. (See provlous i.agei. 



warils all religious and charitible causes; and, hearing about 
1807, that a lad.r of Brooklyn had oflfered to the Baptist de- 
nomination a valuable lot on Clinton ave., if they would 
build a chapel thereon, Mr. 51. bought eight lots adjoining, 
and at once proceeded to build a chapel. It was his purpose 
to erect the main church edifice, with the proceeds of his 
business, on the lots adjoining the chapel, and towards this 
lie worked diligently and energetically, but death claimed 
him before his work was completed. His family, however, 
took up the work he had commenced, and finished the 
chapel, wliich is one of the most complete in the country, 
being a brick structure, 50 by 90 feet in size, with brown- 
stone trimmings, and of remaikable simplicity and beauty 
of finish. Its cost, including that of groimds, was $70,000. 
Rev. E. T. Hiscox, D. D., was Pastor. He was succeeded by 
Rev. S. H. Pratt. 

By reason of an imperfection in the title, the 
church lost its property, and disbanded. The mem- 
bers united with others from the Hanson Place 
B.aptist Church, and formed the Centennial Baptist 
Church, which was organized December 14, 1875, 
with 185 members. The present Pastor, J. D. Fulton, 
D. D., was called and entered upon his duties January 
1, 187G. 

The property on Clinton ave. was purchased, and 
here the congregation worshiped till 1879, when the 
Brooklyn Rink, on Clermont ave., near MjTtle (the 
cost of which was $127,000), was purchased for 
§50,000, and fitted up for a free house of worship, at 
an expense of f 9,000. It was dedicated in December 
of that year. 

Rev. Justin D. Fdlton, D. D., came to Brooklyn, 
in 1873, as Pastor of the Hanson Place Church. 
Having his own views as to the manner of reaching 
the people, and not meeting with the favor which 
he desired, he resigned and org. the Centennial 
Baptist Chm-ch. In 1879, the Rink was bought and 
refitted for a place of worship. The church numbers 
BOO members, the Sabbath-school about the same. 
The work of the church is supported entirely by 
voluntary contributions. 



Sands Street Mission. In 1858, Peter 
Balen hired a room over a cooper's shop, in 
Jolm St., near Bridge, and established a mis- 
sion school there. The mission was taken 
in chai-ge by the Pierrepont Street Baptist 
Chm-ch, and, after two years, was removed 
to a house iu Prospect st. , that had been used 
as a dance-house. 

It then took the name of Prospect Street 
Mission. In the midst of vile surroundings, 
the mission I'ontinued its work till 1868, 
when the biuldiug was sold to the Board of 
Education, and the children were taken to the 
church school, cor. Pierrepont and Clinton sts. 
In 18G9, Rev. John Toomath, a blind man, 
who had been a missionary here since 1862, 
en,i;'aged a room iu Sands 6t., that had been 
used as a lager beer and billiard saloon ; and 
the mission was removed to this place, 
where it has since continued. 

The Supei'intendents of this mission, from 
the first, have been : John L. Plummer, 
Thomas Vernon. Isaac Davis, J. Leland, 
Richard Oliver, E. H. Loud, E. Sniffen, W. 
R. Anderson, W. J. Oliver, J. Schriever, 
ami tlie present Sujj't, Richard Oliver. 
Herkimer Street Baptist Church originated iu a Sunday- 
school that was established b}' Washington Avenue Church, 
iu Fulton St., near Troj' ave., about 1861. A chapel was 
erected for this mission at the corner of Troj^ ave. and Her- 
kimer st. , and in this the Herkimer Street Baptist Church 
was organized in 1865. In the summer of 1876, this chapel 
was enlarged to meet the growing wants of the congrega- 
tion, and it now has a seating capacity of 435. It is a wooden 
structure on a brick basement. 

The Pastors of this church have been- Revs. Giscard, 

Baker, D.D., Henry Waring, Wm. Reid and John Evans. 

Rev. William Reid, born in Ayrshire, Scotland. 1812; 
grad. 1839, Conn. Literary Institution; located at Wethers- 
field, 1839-40; Tariflfville,.1840-"44; Bridgepoit, 1845-'o4; New 
London, 185t-'61; Grcenpoint, 1861-7; New York, 1867-75; 
Brooklj-n, 1876-'83. 




CENTENNIAL EAETIST CHlUlt'll. 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 




.-IXTH AVKNTID llAPTIST (-IIIKCH. 

Sixth Avenue Baptist Church. — The nucleus of tliis church 
was a mission Sunday-school, wliich was established in 1864, 
at 195 Flatbush ave., by a few members of the Hanson Place 
Baptist Church. Soon afterward, two lots on the corner of 
Sixth ave. and Lincoln place were purchased, at a cost of 
.^4,000, and a chapel was erected at an expense, including 
furniture, of about .$6,000. Preaching was added to the Sun- 
day-school services, and Rev. Henry Bromley became preacher 
and missionary. 

January 16, 1873, the church was organized with 4.3 mem- 
mers; and re-organized Feb. 8, 1872. 

Pastors: J. B. Cleaver, Feb. 13,1872, to Oct. 23, 1874; 
Rev. Rufus B. Kolsay (the present pastor), D. D., Nov. 1, 
1875. The present edifice commenced March 17, 1880; ded. 
Dec. 28, 1880; of brick, with stone trimmings, 100 by 110 feet, 
and Beating 6.^0 persons; value, $55,000. Present membership, 
260. The Sunday-school, org. 1865; has 37 officers and teachers; 
400 scholars on the roll; average attendance, 251; 566 ^■ols. 
in library. 

Rev. R. B. Kels.\t, D. D., born in New Jersey, 1842; 
studied with Rev. Samuel Haren, and theology with Rev. 
Daniel Kelsay; previous locations, Meadville, 1864-'7; Balti- 
more, 1867-70; Albany, 1870-2; Passaic, 1872-'5; came to 
Brooklyn in 1875; in late war, was captain for short time. 

Marcy Avenue Baptist Church. — When the Washington 
Avenue Baj^tist Church had appointed a committee to survej' 
the field and look out for a favorable opening to begin a new 
enterprise in the then Twenty-first Ward, the Centi-al Con- 
gregational Church intimated a willingness to convey their 
mission interest to the Baptists. The property, corner of 
Marcy ave. and Monroe St., consisting of lots 50x190 feet, 
with the chapel and Sunday-school furniture, was conveyed 
to the Washington Avenue Baptist Church, for .|5,000. 

Mr. Theodore M. Bauta became superintendent of the mis- 
sion. The first regular session of school was held on the 7th 
day of July, 1872, with 9 teachers and officers and 55 scholars. 

On Tuesday evening, July 2, 1872, the first prayer-meeting 
was held. The services were conducted by Rev. A. A. Fin- 
ney, and the following were present, namely: Henry A, 
Caldwell, Ganet Ditmars, H. B. Porter, Wm. S. Dm-brow, 
Wm. C. Chapman, Theodore M. Banta, L. P. Brockett, Geo. 
R. Graves, Myron Tanner, and George S. Farmer, the six first- 
named becoming identified as members with the chnrch sub- 
quenth' organized. September 29lh, 1872, preaching sei-vices 
were held for the first time by Rev. Dr. Moore, of the Wash- 



ington Avenue Baptist Church. January, 1873, arrange- 
ments were made with Rev. J. A. Ajipleton to preach every 
Sabbath evening until the fii'st of May. Subsequently, 
Brother Delavan DeWolf, was engaged for six months to 
preach every Sabbath evening, and take general chai'ge of 
the interest. In October, 1878, the prospects appeared 
sufficiently encouraging to warrant the formation of a chui'ch. 
On the evening of November 10, 1873, a meeting was held, 
whereat forty-five persons presented letters of dismission 
from various Baptist churches (twent.y-seven being from 
Washington Avenue Church). 

An organization was effected under the name of the Marcy 
Ai-cnue Baptist Church of Brooklyn; and, at an adjourned 
meeting, held one week subsequently, Brethren Edwin Ives, 
Garret Ditmars, and William B. Fox were elected Deacons. 
H. A. Caldwell was elected Treasurer, and Eollin O. Smith, 
clerk. December 2, 1873, an election for Tnistees A\'as held, 
whereat the following-named persons were chosen: Henry 
A. Caldwell, John Hills, John T. Davies, Chas. B. Wyckoflf, 
and Theodore M. Banta. 

At a meeting held December 8, 1873, to consider the subject 
of calling a Pastor, Rev. Dr. Jeffery received the unanimous 
vote of all present, and he entered upon the pastorate the 
following Sabbath, December 14, 1873. 

The next evening, December 15, a council was held in the 
chapel, composed of delegates from all the Baptist churches 
of the city and vicinity, which recognized the church as a 
regular Baptist church, and the hand of fellowship was ex- 
tended to the church, through its Pastor, by the Rev. Dr. 
Moore, of Washington Avenue Church. 

In Januarj-, 1874, it was determined to enlarge the church 
accommodations. Three additional lots were purchased, 
giving 125 feet on Marcy avenue, by 100 feet on Monroe street, 
and a commodious chapel was erected by Deacon Garret 
Ditmars, under the plans and superintendence of Wm. B. 
Ditmars. The chapel was dedicated on the 11th day of 
October, 1874. The property cost, for lots, buildings, and 
furniture, |21,000, and consists of lots, 163 feet on Marcy 
avenue, by 100 feet on Monroe street, with a frame building, 
76 feet wide and 100 feet deep, the whole costing over |32,000. 

Ministry : Rev. Dr. Jeflfery, 1873-'80 ; H. O. Pentecost, 
1881-'83. 

Present number of church members, 894 ; in sunday-school, 
1,018. 

The First German Baptist Church of South Brooklyn 
was organized in 1873. The first place of worship was a liall 
on 22d St., near 3d ave. This building was j^tu'chased in 
1873, and converted into a chui-ch. In 1877, this property 
was abandoned, and the congregation removed to Strong 
Place Chapel, in Can-oil sti'eet, near Hoyt, where they wor- 
shiped till 1881, when they I'emoved to a building on the cor- 
ner of Si-xtli and Prospect aves. 

The first Pastor was Rev. R. Hofflin; followed, in 1876, by 
Rev. C. Damm, and he, in 1881, hj the present Pastor, Rev. 
Hironemus. 

Calvary Baptist Church (colored). — Marion Street Mission 
was first estabUshed in East New York in 1875; and during 
the same year Calvary Church was organized. In the spring 
of 1879, the congregation removed to 210 Marion st., where 
they have since worshiped. 

The first Pastor was Rev. Oscar Ritter, succeeded, in 1879, 
by tlie present Pastor, Rev. Josiah Jolmson. 

Trinity Baptist Church was organized in 1875, with about 
tliu'ty members, many of whom were from the WiUoughby 
Ave. Baptist Chui-ch. They first worshiped in Ridgewood 
Hall, at the junction of Broadway and Lexington and Ralph 
aves. In 1877, the present house of worehip was built on 



ECCLESIASTICAL OR GANIZA TIONS. 



Greene ave. , between Patchen ave. and Broadway. It is a 
wooden chapel, capable of seating 450. 

Rev. Dr. Hodge was Pastor during a year after the organi- 
zation of the chui'ch; followed, in 1876, by the present Pastor, 
Rev. O. E. Cox. The church has been uniformly prosperous. 

First Church of Christ. — A few yeais since, a- number of 
Baptists withdrew from their churches, to organize a society 
on a more liberal basis. This organization was effected, with 
Rev. J. B. Cleaver as Pastor. Their first place of worship 
was a chapel in Lincoln place, near Sixth avenue. Here the 
congregation worshiped till the autumn of 1881, when they 
purchased the house of worship of Grace M. E. Church, in 
Sterling place, near Seventh avenue. It is a brick structure 
with a brown-stone front, and it has a seating capacity of 
about 1,000. Its estimated value is $65,000. 

Emmanuel Baptist Church was organized in October, 1881. 
It consists of ~00 members, mostly from the Washington 
Avenue Baptist Church. Their present place of worship is 
Adelphi Academj', on Lafayette Avenue, corner of St. James' 
place. The church has purchased lots on Lafayette avenue, 
opposite this Academy, at a cost of $60,000, whereon to erect 
a churcli building in the near future. 

Pastors: J. Wheaton Smith, D. D., of Philadelphia, until 
1883 ; Rev. John Humpstone until present time. 

Rev. John Humpstone received his education at Madison 
Ijniversity and the Crozer Theological Seminary at Upland, 
Penn. Ho has presided over churches in Philadelphia and 
Albany with rare acceptability, and has a reputation for elo- 
quence and scholarship not wholly confined to the ecclesias- 
tical organizations which he has heretofore rei^resented. 

The Central Baptist Church, So. 5th st., cor. 8th, E. D. In 
June, 1805, forty persons obtained letters of dismission from 
the First Baptist Church, AVilliamsburgh, for the purpose of 
organizing a new church. July 7th the church organized 
under the name of " The Central Baptist Church, AVilliams- 
bm-gh. (See illustration, page 1077.) 

The first Pastor was Rev. Thomas S. T. Hanna, who began 
his pastorate Aug. 1st, 1866. He was ordained Sept. 13th, in 
the house of worship previously owned by the Reformed 
Church, on the corner of So. 2d and 4th streets, which the 
church had previously purchased. JIi'. Hanna resigned his 
pastorate in March, 1870. 

The church united with the Hudson River Association 
South, June 18th, 1866; but united with the Long Island Bap- 
tist Association at the time of its organization, June 27th, 
1867. 

The Rev. John Duncan, D. D., of Fall River, Mass., became 
Pastor of the chm-ch July 3d, 1870, and remained in that posi- 
tion until May, 1873. 

The church edifice and lots were sold in May, 1873, from 
which date services were held in the hall over the gas com- 
pany's office, corner of So. 2d and 4th streets, until May, 
1874. 

Rev. Clu-istopher Rhodes, of New York city, became Pastor 
Jan. 1st, 1874. At that time the church numbered 147 mem- 
bers. The congregation becoming too large for the hall, a tent 
was erected the following ilay on Broadway, in which the 
church met during the summer. 

Ground was broken for the new meeting-hoiise corner of 
So. 5th and 8th streets, May 4th. The corner-stone was laid 
June 1st. The first service was held in the lecture-room, Sun- 
day Sept. 27th, and the house was dedicated April 13th, 1875. 
The house is of Gothic style of architecture, 60 by 100 inside; 
is of Phila. pressed brick, trinmied with light-colored stone; 
seats 850; and cost, with the adjoining parsonage, $85,000. 

The church numbers 550 communicants. The Sunday- 
school, of which F. C. Linde is the superintendent, numbers 



629 scholars, and 59 officers and teachei-s,with an average at- 
tendance of 470. 

The church contributes liberally to various benevolent ob- 
jects, being exceeded in the amount of its contributions by 
six only of the churches in the L. I. Association. 

The church entered their new house with about 200 mem- 
bers, with a debt of $45,200. The debt has been reduced grad- 
ually to $3,000, all of which will be paid in Sept. next. 

Rev. Cheistopheb Rhodes, bom in Providence, R. I., 1831; 
located in Phenix, R. I., 1855-'61; Providence, 1861-4; New 
York, 1866-'74; Brooklyn, 1874-'84; author of address bef. N. 
Y. S. S. Assn. Semi-Centen. Sermon of Stanton street Church, 
New York. 




GREENPOINT BAPTIST CHURCH, 105 NOBLE STREET. 

The First Baptist Church, Greenpoint. — In 1847, there were 
about thirteen Baptists living in Greenpoint, who, feeling the 
need of worshiping according to Baptist usage, organized a 
church with nine members in the old Origen house in Frank- 
lin avenue. Rev. Mx. Jones and others supplied the pulpit 
until 1849, when a small house was built, costing about $700, 
seating one hundred persons. Preaching was continued for 
two years. Mr. Peter Boyce officiated from July, 1851, to 
April, 1853, when he desired to relinquish the charge; but the 
church voted that "Mi\ Peter Boyce be continued as our 
Pastor for an unlimited time." Mr. Boyce was ordained 
Feb. 23d, 1855, but resigned soon after. During his ministry 
the house was enlarged to 40 by 80 feet, at a cost of $800, and 
the membership increased to 41. Rev. J. Y. Aitchison was 
Pastor from July, 1855, to Sept., 1856; Robert Carr to Sept., 
1857, Kelsy Walling, to Sept., 1859; Alfred Harvey, 1860-1; 
William Reid, Sept., 1861, to March, 1857; during his pastor- 
ate new lots were secured, and a neat brick edifice built, and 
large numbers added to the church. He was succeeded by 
Rev. J. W. T. Boothe, from 1867 to 1875, and the present 
Pastor, Rev. D. Henry Miller, D. D., from 1875 to 1884. The 
church numbers about 500 members, besides a large and 
flourishing Sabbath-school. It sustains several missions. 

Rev. D. Henry Miller, D. D., was born in the Isle of Jer- 
sey, 1837; was educated in High school, Boston, and Phiner's 
Clas. Acad.; grad. Wesleyan Univ., 1845; Pastor at No. 
Stonington, Ct., 1847-9; Yonkers, 1849-'57; Meriden, 1857-63; 
Trenton, 1864-'7; Elizabeth, 1867-'73; Lowell, 1873; New York, 
1873-5; Brooklyn, 1875-84. He was in service as Chaplain of 
15th Conn. Vols., 1863-'4. Editor Baptist Memorial several 
years; author of History of Early Baptists of Mercer County. 

Concord Baptist Church (Colored) was organized May, 1847, 
in the house of Mrs. Maria Hampton, then residing in Fair st. 
The membership consisted of five persons only, and Rev. 



HISTORY OF KlirOS COUNTY. 



Sampson AVhite was their Pastor. They hired the Uris Hall, 
then opposite the City Hall, for about a year. Lots were 
iKiught on Concord st. , where a meeting-house was erected 
which yet remains. 

The membership increasing beyond the limits of the old 
bviilding, the church, in 1873, pui-chased their present property 
on Canton St. of the Central Baptist Church, at a cost of 
$8,000, and renovated and fxirnished it anew. The member- 
ship, Dec, 1883, is 560, with a very interesting Sunday-school. 
Tliere is also connected with the church a Female Home 
Missionary and Dorcas Society, a Jlutual Relief Society, a 
Young People's Social Union, and a Foreign Jlission Society. 

The Pdslorn have been : Revs. Sampson White, whose 
pastorate commenced in 1847; Leonard Black, 1851; Simon 
Bundick, 1853; Sampson White, 1857; Wm. J. Barnett, 1863; 
and the present Pastor, William T. Dixon, 1868. 

Rev. William T. Dixon, born in New York ; licentiate of 
Abyssinian Bap. Ch., N. Y.; located Bklyn, 1863; Cor. Sec. 
N. E. Bapt. Mission Convention. 

The Harrison Ave. German Baptist Church, originated 
in a Mission Sunday-school, undertaken by some of the mem- 
bers of the German Baj). Ch., of New York, in a private 
house on Harrison ave., E. D. In 1878, they rented the 
chapel — specially built for their use — which they still occupy. 
The pulpit was supplied by Rev. C. Damm, then Pastor of 
the Ger. Ch. of Soutli Brooklyn; and by other preachers 
from New York city. Although few in numbers and weak 
in means, they finally called the Rev. H, Trumpp, Pastor of 
the Ger. Bap. Ch., in Albany, N. Y., who entered upon this 
charge May 1, 1881. On the 23d of same month, they org. as 
a church, with 47 members; and in the next month were 
duly recognized by a council of the Bap. Church of Brooklyn 
and vicinity. The growth of the church, since that date, has 
been very steady and encouraging. The membership is now 
(July, 1883) 99. The cliapel seats about 200; but is too small 
and insufficient for their purposes. The Sunday-school is in 
a flourishing condition, with an enrollment of 250 scholars 
and 24 teachers; and would be larger, if it had larger accom- 
modations. The church is a self-sustaining one — united in 
action — m much need of a larger edifice, and deserving of 
tlie sympathy of its sister churches. 

First Swedish Baptist Church of Brooklyn was organized 
Jan., 1884, witli a membership of 94, who withdrew from the 
Swedish Baptist Church in New York to organize a church 
of their own in Brooklyn. Services are held in a hall at 16 
Smith street. Rev. Mr. Lundin is the Pastor. 

The First Baptist Church, Brooklyn, E. D., was formed 
March 19, 1839; of 14 members. Rev. John Jones was 
Pastor, 1839-'40, and Rev. C. F. Frey, 1840-'41, the church at 
that time numbering 30 persons. Meetings were held in the 
District School-house, and the Village Court-house, until a 
frame structure was erected on the corner of 5th and South 
1st streets, and dedicated June 29, 1843. 

Ministry ; Rev. Lawson Muzzey, Sept. 15, 1841, to Nov. 8, 
1843; Rev. A. P. Mason, 1844-49. Under his ministry, the 
church erected the fine strvicture on the corner of 5th and 
South 5tli sts.. Dr. Spencer H. Lowe preaching the sermon of 
dedication June 1, 1849; Morgan J. Rhees, D. D., 1850-'53; 
Samuel Baker, D. D., 1854-'65; John B. Brohett, D. D., 1865 
-'73; Daniel Read, LL. D., 1877-'80; Daniel C. Eddy, 1881- 
'84. 

In 1883, the church purchased lots of land on Lee ave., 
corner of Keap street, where it proposed at once to erect a 
new church edifice. 

The present membership of the church is 531. The church 
edifice is valued at $40,000; will seat 800 persons; is of gothic 
style, and has all the conveniences of such a structure. The 




FIRbT BAPTIST CHURCH, aTH AND SOUTH 5th STS. 

church supports the Hope Mission, and a flourishing Sunday- 
school in a chapel on Maujer street. 

The following Baptist Clergymen are residents of BrooklyiK 

Rev. RuFi'S Lewis Perry, born in Tenn., 1834; studied at 
Kalamazoo Coll., Mich; grad. Kal. Theol. Sem., 1860; located 
at Ann Arbor, Mich., 1861; St. Catherine's (Ont.), 1863-4; 
Buffalo, 1865; Editor and pub. of National Monitor, formerly 
Ed. of People's Journal and American Baptist, N. Y. ; located 
in B'klyn, 1868. 

Rev. D. C. Hughes, born in Great Britain; grad. from 
Madison Univ., N. Y., 1877; previous locations, Glens Falls, N. 
Y., 1860-3; Oswego, N. Y., 186G-'9; Newark, N. J., 1869-'74; 
Brooklyn, 1874-"84; author of Studies in Mark; contributor 
to Honiiletic Monthly, N. Y. 

Rev. Samuel Williams, born in Cornellsville, Pa., 1802; 
grad. West Theo. Sem., Allegheny (Pa.), 1830; located Pitts- 
burgh; Akron, O. : Springfield, O. ; was School Director, Pitts- 
burgh, Pa. ; author of Mormonism Exposed, On Baptism, and 
other works: ed. Christian Witness, Pittsburgh. 

Rev. Jeremiah B. Taylor, born in New York; grad. N. Y. 
Univ. 1848; was engaged in Mission Work in Kansas, 1860-'7; 
Author of Berean Articles, 1875-'83. 

Rev. Francis Arthur Douglass was born in Ticonderoga, 
N. Y., 1824; grad. Amherst Coll. 1851, and Newton Theol. 
Sem. 1854 ;Sec. Amer. & Foreign Bible Soc, 1879-83; previous 
locations, Nellore, India, 1855-65; Champlain, N. Y., 1865-'9; 
Piqua, 0., 1869-'73; Lebanon, 0., 1873-'5; Cincinnati, 1875-'9; 
came to Brooklyn 1879. 

Rev. Joseph B. Breed, born in Salem, Mass., 1807; grad. 
Newton Theol. Sem. 1839; located Virginia, New York, New 
Hampshire, Rhode Island ; came to Brooklyn 1877. 

Rev. Henry L. Morehouse, born in Stanford, N. Y., 1834; 
grad. Univ. Rochester, 1858; Rochester Theol. Sem., 1864; 
Trustee of Kalamazoo Coll., 1870; Cor. Sec. N.Y. Bapt. Union 
for Ministerial Education, 1877-'9; Cor. Sec. Amer. Bapt. Home 
Mission Soc, 1879; located E. Saginaw, Mich., 1864-73; 
Rochester, 1873-9; Brooklyn, 1879-'84; author Baptist Home 
Missions in America. 

Rev. Halsey W. Knapp, D. D., born in New York; grad. 
Comi. Lit. Inst., Suffield; was trustee of Madison Univ., 1859- 
'68; locatedat West Farms, 1858; Jersey City, 1859-'65; New 
York, 1865-'70; Brooklyn, 1875-'83. 

Rev. Henry Bromley, born in Norwich, Ct., 1813; grad. 
Hamilton Lit. and Theol. Inst., 1838; located in Conn. 15 



EGCLESIASTtCAL OUGANIZATIONS. 



1083 



years; 80 years ia New York, Philadelphia and Brooklyn; 
engaged in Church extension and Sunday-school work. 

Rev. C. G. Roberts, born in Savannah, Ga. , 1842; grad. 
Liberia Coll., 1863; located at Sinoe, Liberia, 1878-'80; came to 
B'klyn, 1880; pastor, 1880-'4. 

Rev. John Flavel Bioelow, A. M., (Roch. Univ., 1856), 
D. D. (Vermont Univ. 1864); was born inPaxton, Mass., 1818; 
studied Brown Univ., Columbia College, and Univ. Berlin, 
Germany; located Bristol, R. I., 1848; Middleboro, Mass., 
1855; Keeseville, N. Y., 1860; St. Albans, Vt., 1866; was 



Pres. Ti'ustees, Pierce Acad., Mass., and other institutions; 
Assistant Prin. Athenreum Sem. for Y'oung Ladies, B'klyn, 
1868-'80; author of pub. sermons and Synthetic Method of 
Study. 

Rev. J. D. Bengless. born Del. Co., Pa., 1836; grad. Lewis- 
burg (Pa.) Univ., 18G0; Pres. New York Cremation Society, 
1881-'3; located Pawtuxet, R, I.; Chaplain 2d R. I. Vol. Inf.. 
1864. Chaplain U. S. Navy, 1864-'84; author oi Islam and 
Ottoman Empirt, 1876, Incineration, 1883; located Brooklyn, 
Sept., 1877. 



EVANGELICAL AND LUTHERAN CHURCHES. 



The German Evangelical Church, Schermerhorn Street. — 
In 1843 a few German residents of Brooklyn began religious 
services in their own language at the Brooklyn Institute. 
From this beginning sprang the first German church in the 
city, which was org. in 1845, under the above name; the 
members being from the Lutheran and German Reformed 
denominations. During their occupancy of the Brooklyn 
Institute, a house of worship was erected on Schermerhorn 
street, near Court, of brick, and seating 300. In 1863 the 
building was enlarged to 45 by 80 feet, increasing the sittings 
to 500. 

Pastors : Walzer, Dr. Winklemann, 1845 ; Revs. 

Miller, 1846 ; Herman Garbechs, 1847-65 ; J. Bank, 1866-'71 ; 
C. F. Hausmann, 1871-'75 ; and the present Pastor, Theodore 
Dresel, 1875-'84. 

The basement is occupied by an English Sunday-school, on 
Sunday morning, with 300 scholars, and by a German Sunday- 
school in the afternoon, with 200 scholars. A private German 
and English day-school is kept by L. Goebel, with 50 to 60 
scholars. ^ 

St. Johannes' Evangelical Lutheran Church, cor. Graham 
avenue and Ten Eyck street, org. 1843, by the Rev. Mr. 
Delke. At first the congregation worshiped in the Pastor's 
house. No. 128 Scholes street. In 1844 they met in a wooden 
building, at the corner of Graham avenue and Remsen street. 
In 1846 funds were raised for a new chm'ch, mostly from the 
congregation itself, and the building completed in 1847. 

In 1883 the corner-stone of a new church on Maujer street, 
near Humboldt, was laid, which is of Philadelphia brick, in 
pure Gothic style, 60 by 100 feet, with belfry and spire 165 
feet high. The ulterior is severely Gothic, with hardwood 
finish. The cost was |50,000. 

Ministry : Revs. Delke, 1843 ; Schwarz, 1843-'50 ; Beisel, 
Mengat, 1850 ; Pole, 1850-'04 ; Christian J. Weisel, 1854-'76 ; 
Tucker, 1876-'78 ; P. Beyer, 1880-84. 

Rev. C. J. Weisel was a man of deep piety who had felt it 
his duty to go out into the world and preach the gospel to 
every creature, and went as a missionary among the Jews of 
New York. In 1854 he was called as Assistant Pastor to St. 
Johannes' Church; misunderstandings arose, so that Rev. 
Pole, with a portion of the congregation, withdrew in 1855, 
and formed a new church on the corner of Scholes street and 
Union avenue, leaving Rev. Mr. Weisel Pastor of the old 
church. He served with great acceptance for 24 years, and 
died April 12, 1876, universally mourned. 

A large school is connected with the church, of which G. 
Oexle, Wm. Grietzmacher, C. Leune and Mr. Use, have been 
the teachers. 

The St. John's Evangelical Lutheran Congregation was 
organized in 1867. Some of the more active members were : 



Christian Koch, Henry H. Lettmann, Henry Feis, James L. 
Jensen, David Plath and Henry Gundlach. They at first 
held divine services in Union Hall, on Manhattan avenue ; 
then in a small church on Leonard street. In 1869 the 
foundation of their church was laid ; material, wood ; cost, 
.^16,000; seating capacity, 850; church membership, about 
600 communicant members; Sunday-school, 300. 

Ministry : Rev. O. Kaselitz, 1867-'76 ; Rev. Theo. Heisch- 
mann, 1876-'83; Rev. F. W. Oswald, 1883. 

There is also a parochial school, having 60 scholars and 2 
teachers. Since April, 1883, services are held in the English 
language on Sunday evenings. A Ladies' Missionary Society 
is also connected with the church. 

The Zion German Evangelical Lutheran Church, Henry 
street, near Clark, resulted from the efforts of Rev. Frederic 
William Tobias Steimle, aided by Jacob Goedel. A room 
for worship was first hired in Franklin Building, cor. Nassau 
and Fulton streets, in 1855; when in 1856 more ample quarters 
in the Juvenile High School on Wasliington street, and then 
Concert Hall oa Henry street, was purchased, and dedicated 
November 30, 1856. The cost of this building was $14,000; 
and about |12,000 were expended on repairing and refitting 
it. Mr. Steimle was Pastor till his death, Feb., 1879. In the 
following June the present Pastor, Rev. J. F. C. Henuicke, 
was called. A school has been maintained (both in German 
and English) in connection with this church. 

St. Matthew's English Lutheran Church, corner of Clin- 
ton and Amity sts., was organized in 1858, and first wor- 
shiped in a hall; then in the church building on Atlantic 
ave. ; then in State st. Having purchased, in 1879, the build- 
ing corner of Clinton and Amity sts., from the South Pres- 
byterian Church, they now hold regular services. The fol- 
lowing have been its Pastors : Revs. William Hull, 1858-'61 ; 
John Kuhns, 1861-'3; I. K. Funk, D. D., 1868-'72; A. Stewart 
Hartman, 1872-4; J. I. Burrell, 1874-'6; M. W. Hamma, D.D., 
1877-'82 ; J. C. Zimmerman, since December, 1882. Seating 
capacity, 800. Present membershiij, about 200. The Sunday- 
school numbers over 200. This church has English services, 
and belongs to the General Synod of the United States. Tlie 
American Lutheran Chui-cli accepts the Augsburg Confession 
as a correct exhibition of its creed. This church, though 
conservative, is evangelical and progressive, being identified 
with the cause of Home and Foreign Missions, and taking an 
active part in questions of moral reform. Its j>resent Pastor, 
Rev. J. C. Zimmerman, was born in Ohio, 1851 ; grad. Mt. 
Union (O.) Coll., 1874, and Wittenberg Sem., 1876 ; previous 
location, Osborne, O., 1876-83; came to Brooklyn in 1882. 

On Nov. 10, 1883, the 400th Anniversary of Martin Luther's 
Birthday was celebrated in this church, in which many 
Protestant clergymen of Brooklyn participated. The call 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUlTtT. 




sr. ;.).^iiHoUb ENGLISH LUTHERAN CIIl'KCH. 

was signed by 300 ministers. Rev. Henry Ward Boecher, 
Drs. Thomas, Peck, and Behrends made tlie principal ad- 
dresses on the hfe and work of the great Reformer. The 
church was too small for the large audience, and many were 
turned away. 

St. John's German Evangelical Lutheran Church was or- 
ganized in 1866. The congregation worshiped in a Methodist 
church in Third ave., till 1867, when their present house of 
worship was completed and dedicated. This is in Prospect 
ave., between Fifth and Sixth aves. It is a wooden struc- 
ture, with a brick basement, which is used for a parochial 
school. The church has a seating capacity of 350. 

The first Pastor was Rev. A. Reidenbacli, followed, in 1868, 
by Rev. E. J. Geise, and he, in 1873, by the present Pastor, 
Rev. J. Helmuth Sommer. 

Tlie parochial school was established in 1866. Instruction 
is given in both the German and English languages, and it is 
both relgious and secular in character. The average attend- 
ance is 125. -^ 

St. Peter's German Lutheran, Walworth st. and DeKalb 
ave., was organized in 1865. Services were first held in a 
small chapel in Skillman st., near Park ave. In 1868, the 
church removed to Park Avenue Chapel. The present church 
edifice was bought in May, 1870, from the Puritan Congrega- 
tional Society. It is a frame structure, 50 by 110 feet, in- 
cluding the school building in the rear, and has a seating 
capacity of 600. The number of communicants is about 900. 
There are two Sunday-schools of over 500 children. In 1879, 
a gallery and organ-loft were added, and a new organ pur- 
chased. In 1880, the auditorium vi^as frescoed and decorated. 

In 1868, a parochial school was established ; and, in 1878, a 
new school building erected, adjoining the church. This 
school, in English and German- has 3 teachers and 100 
scholars. *^ 

Ministry: Revs. John Zapf, 1865--8; Dr. Schubert, Jan.- 
Oct., 1868; Robert C. Beer, 1868-'9 ; Clias. Goehling, 1869-'78 ; 
John J. Heisohmann, 1878-'84. 



Rev. John J. Heischmanh, bom in Lyons, N. Y., 1858; 
grad. Bloomfield (N. J.) CoU., 1876, and Phila. Theol. Sem., 
1879 ; is Sec'y of Home Mission Soc. of Luth. Ch., of N. Y.; 
editor of B'klyn Luth. Ch. News, lS78-'83; European Letters, 
1882; located in B'klyn, 1878. 

St. Luke's German Evangelical Lutheran Church was or- 
ganized in 1870. The first place of worship was a hall in 
Cumberland st. , bet wen DeKalb and Lafayette aves. During 
the year 1870, the congregation purchased from the Simpson 
M. E. Churcli, for 114,000, the church building on Carlton 
ave., near Jlyrtle. Tliis building was repaired and renovated 
at an expense of about .$3,500, and an organ was purchased 
at a cost of ){;2,000. In 1879, §1,000 were expended on the 
Smiday-school rooms. 

A parochial school was commenced in 1870 ; and, in 1878, 
a school-house, adjoining the church, was built, at a cost of 
|5,000. In this school, instruction is given in German and 
English. The school has four teachers and seventy scholars. 
Rev. J. H. Baden has been the Pastor from the organization 
of the church. 

St. Paul's Lutheran Church was organized in 1872. Its 
first place of worship was a hall in (Columbia street, near 
Woodhull. In 1876, a church edifice was erected at the corner 
of Henry street and Third place. It is a brick structure with 
a seating capacity of 000. Its cost, including site, was 
$15,000. 

The first Pastor was Rev. Robert Neumann, who was suc- 
ceeded in 1878 by the present Pastor, Rev. John Huppen- 
bauer. 

The Norwegian Seamen's (Lutheran) Church was organ- 
ized in July, 1878. The first place of worship was a hall on 
tiie corner of Van Brunt and President streets. In February, 

1879, the church property of the William street M. E. Church, 
between Richard and Van Brunt streets, was purchased for 
about $11,000. 

In addition to the church services a reading-room is main- 
tained here for sut^li Norwegian sailors and others as may, 
from time to time, be in the port. Here they are kept from 
the e^il influences that so generally surround that class of 
people. 

Rev. O. Asperhem was the first Pastor, succeeded August, 

1880, by the present Pastor, Rev. A. Slortensen. 

Our Saviour's (Danish) Evan. Luth. Church, for Brooklyn, 
New York and vicinity. The Danish Evan. I,uth. Slission 
had its beginning in July, 1872, when the Rev. A. L. J. 
Soholm, from Denmark, org. a congregation at Perth Amboy, 
N. J. His labors, though extended to various places in the 
States of N. Y. , N. J. and Mass. , were yet mostly devoted to 
this Perth Amboy enterprise, and to the Danish emigrants 
arriving at Castle Gardeur In Perth Amboy, a little frame 
church (St. Stephen's Danish Luth.) was erected; and Mr. S. 
labored there until May, 1878, when he removed to Wau- 
paca, Wis., to take charge of the Danish Luth. Church there. 
He was succeeded at Perth Amboy by Rev. R. Andersen; but 
as the congregation had mostly gone to the West, the church 
there was broken up. Mr. Andersen, therefore, turned his ' 
attention to Brooklyn, where he held his first mission ser- 
vice to his countrymen, July 10, 1878, in a house (previously 
used as a Ger. Bap. Church), No. 137 Twenty-second st., near 
3d ave. Sept. 15, he opened a mission in Harmonia Hall, 
Van Cott avenue, Greenpoint, E. D., preaching also in N. Y. 
to emigrants and seamen. Subsequently the Greenpoint 
meetings were held in St. Johannes" Ger. Evan. Luth. Church, 
in Leonard street, between Greenpoint avenue and Colyer st. 
In the Spring of 1879, he commenced mission meetings in 22d 
street, Brooklyn, in a hall called "Augsburg Chapel," occu- 
pied by the Mission S. S. of the Eng. Luth. St. Matthew's 



ECCLESIASTICAL Oil GANIZA TIONS. 



Church in Amity street. Mr. Andersen went to Denmark in 
Jan., 1881, returning in May to the care of the "Augsburg 
Chapel " mission (which was afterwards transferred to the 
Dutch Ref. denomination in connection with the 13th St. Ref. 
Cluirch) and the Greenpoint Mission. In 1882, a regular mis- 
sion was begun in Jersey city, and in the same year the 
' ' Augsburg Cliapel " enterprise became estalilished in its own 
building (a two-story brick house). No. 193 Ninth street, the 
first floor being converted into a neat little church, and the 
second floor occupied as a jjarsonage. This new home was 
dedicated under its present name, on Sunday, Feb., 1883; and 
at the tirst confirmation held within its walls, April 15, four 
l)ersons were confirmed. Two days later the mission was duly 
org. as a congregation, which was incorporated June 6th, and 
now numbers about 40 families and some single persons. Its 
nicmbersliip extends over New York, Brooklyn, Greenpoint, 
Iloboken, etc., and its affairs are managed by nine trustees. 
The church scats 100 persons, and though plainly furnished, 
possesses (hy gift of a friend) a fine altar-piece^ etc. There is, 
also, a jirosperous Sunday-school. ^ 

This church stands in connection with tiie uanish Luth. 
Church, both in Denmark and America, and with the Luth. 
Church in general. Its work is primarily among the Danish 
and Swedish chiu'ches, and those who remain about the ports 
of New York, Brooklyn and Jersey city for awhile, before 
going West. 

Rev. Rasmus Andersen, born 1848, at Vedelshave, Den- 
mark; grad. High school in Ryslinge, 1871; came to this 
land in June, 1871, as the missionary of "the Society for 
Preaching the Gospel to Danes in America," and a similar 
society for preaching to Danish saUors; completed his theol. 
education at the Augsburg Sem. at Marshall, Wis.; was 
ordained June 26, 1872; was one of the founders of Danish 
Evang. Luth. Church in America, 1872; and Secretary of 
Synod for some years ; author of History of Evang. Church: 
formerly in Waupaca and Three Rivers, Wis., 1873-'78; 
teltled in Brooklyn Sfptendjer. 1878. 

Grace English Evangelical Lutheran Church, at present 
worshiping in a haU on the N. E. cor. Broadway and 4th 
St., was org. March 17, 1881. It is the only .Engrfe/i Luth. 
Chui-ch in Eastern Dist., and the second in Brooklyn; St. 
Idatthew's being the other. The communicant-members 
number about iiO, although a much larger congregation is in 
regular attendance. Sunday-school has about 50 scholars, 
and is growing. The church is connected with the Synod of 
N. Y. and N. J., and is supported by the Home Mission 
Board of the Gen. Sjniod of the Evan. Duth. Ch. Officers : 
Rev. G. F. Belu'inger, Pastor; John Brissell, J. Fred. Van- 
denfauge, Elders; Geo. Meier, Jacob MoUer, Geo. Tonjes, 
Charles Niemeyer, Deacons; L. R. Stegman, C. R. Henry, J. 
H. Fahrenliolz, J. A. Beyer, G. Tonjes, H. Dick, Trustees. 
Sunday-school: Supt., G. F. Bahringer; Asst. Supt.,C. R. 
Henry; Sec, Geo. Meier; Treas., Chas. Niemeyer. 

Rev. Geohoe F. Behringer, born in New York, Oct., 1846; 
grad. Cornell Univ., 1869, and Univ. Leipzig, 1873; was Ass't 
Prof. German, etc., at Cornell, 1869-'70, and Prof. Rhetoric 
at Howard Univ., 1874^'75; previous locations, Indianapolis, 
lS77-'78; Des Moines, 1879-81; author of Life of Luther; 
came to Brooklyn, 1881. - 

Harrison Ave. Church of the Evangelical Association of 
North America was org. January 10, 1876, through the labors 
of Rev. E. Glaesen, Missionary, who preached at first in 
Winter's Hall in Harrison ave. Messrs. G. A. Sebolmer, 
Philip Stark. Ernest Boelun, F. Boyen and Ulrich Barth were 
its founders and first trustees. Tlu-ee lots were secured in 
Harrison avenue, between Gwinnett and Middleton streets, 
March 1, 1876; and the erection of thejiresent ijarsonage com- 



menced (cost $3,500), in the second floor of which church- 
services were held. These accommodations soon proving too 
small, a church edifice, 90 by 42 feet, frame, in a partly 
Gothic style, was erected. The comer-stone was laid July S, 
1877, and the chui-ch ded. Sept. 12, 1878. It has a seat- 
ing capacity of 500, and cost about $12,000. The first Pastor, 
Ml'. E. Glaesen, was succeeded by Rev. J. P. Schnatz, May 1, 
1879. He remained two years, during which the church 
prospered; and was followed by Rev. F. Kurtz, the present 
Pastor; the congregation having increased, in two years, 
from 120 to 170 members. Tlie church sustains a Sunday- 
school of over 400 children. The services are all in the 
German language. , 

St. Mark's Evangelical Lutheran Church, Evergreen ave., 
op. Jefferson, org. 1868. The church is a wooden structure, 
seating 500 persons, with a parsonage; is worth about 
$20,000, and is free from debt. Rev. G. A. Schmitli, Pastor, 
from 1868 to March, 1871; Rev. August E. Frey, from March, 
1871, to 1884. The church has prospered, and numbers now 
1,000 communicants; 500 Sunday-school scholars; sustaining 
St. Slark's pai'ochial school of six teachers and 300 scholars. 

Mr. Frey, a native of Germany, born in 1844; educated in 
Basse, Switzerland. He was first located in Ghent, Columbia 
Co., N. Y., 1868-'71. He is the author of Chrstl. Volks- 
Biblidheh and Missions Bihliothelc, History of the Reforma- 
tion, also Editor of the Evang. Luth. Mission Blait for 8 
years, and otVcrgissmeinnicht. 

Evangelical Lutheran Emmanuel Church was foimded in 
January, 1875, by Rev. F. T. Koerner, witli twenty members. 
Services were first held in Tuttle's building; afterwards the 
church on South Eighth and First streets was purchased. It 
is a brick structure, 35 by 50 feet, and had been first a 
Presbj'terian and next a Jewish church. 

The edifice was refitted, and the congregation now number v 
six Inindi-ed; while the Sunday-school has two hundred and 
fif tj' membex-s, and the day school has a hundred pupils. 
The congregation helps support the German Home for the 
Destitute and Hospital, at East New York, and Mr. Koerner is 
a member of the Board of both Institutions. The church i 
belongs to the Sj-no<l of Missouri, Ohio, and other States, | 
which includes about a thousand ministers. ^ 

German Evangelical Mission Church in Hopkins St. — The 
first attempt for the gathering of a German mission in the| 
21st Ward in Brooklyn was made in the year 1868. InJ 
Tlu-oop ave., between Hopkins and Ellery sts., the English^ 
brethren have a Mission Chapel (Sunday-school building) 
which they offered to the (iermans for their services. Mis- 
sionary Hones was called to the work, but he was not suc- 
cessful. Tlie second attempt was made on tlie 5th of July, 
1868, when Rev. Henry Loesch was called as a minister; 
but he had to resign in a short time (Feb. 10, 1870), for want 
of hearers and success. 

On the 15th of July the present Pastor, Rev. John Meury, 
accepted the call. He is a man of uncommon energy, pow-i 
erful oratorical talent, and high cultivation, together with 
personal cheerfulness and piety. He went to work with zeal 
and courage. The meetings and services were attended with, 
growing interest, and soon the locality was too small to holdj 
the hearers. On Jan. 6th, 1871, the session resolved to biiild 
a church edifice. In May, 1871, the congregation was incor-: 
porated under its present name. Three lots in Hopkins St., be- 
tween Throop and Sumner aves., were purchased, and the 
Ijuilding commenced. On the 23d of Feb., 1872, the new 
church was consecrated and occupied. The building is 
constructed in the most solid manner, thorouglily, of brick, 
50x85. The spacious main hall has wide galleries all around 
and can accommodate 14,000 persons. The basement consists 



1086 



SISTORT OF KIN^GS COtTlTTT. 



of large lecture-room, and two school-rooms for 160 scholars 
of the j)arochiaI school. The congi-egation also owns a par- 
sonage, 20x50; l)rick bmlding with Frencli roof. TJie church 
and parsonage were erected at the cost of $40,800. The con- 
gregation numbers .at the present time about 675 members. 
The Sunday-school is regularly attended by 700-800 children. 
The parochial school, with a German and an English teacher, 
has 180 scholars now. Tlie church is connected with the 
Presbytery of Brooklyn; is in a flourishing condition, and 
fully self-sustaining. 

Other Lutheran clergymen residing in Brooklyn are: 

Rev. J. P. Beyer, born in (rermany, 1833; grad. Concordia 

(Mo. ) College, and St. Louis Theol. Sem., 1855; was Pres. of 

Eastern District Synod of Missouri; formerly at Memj)his, 

Tenn., 1855-'.58; Altenburgli, ilo.. lS58-'63; Chicago. 186.3-TO: 



Pittsburgh. 1870-'80; Brooklyn, April 8, 1880-'84; editor Lu- 
theran Child's Paper. 

Rev. H. Daegener, born in Brunswick, Germany, 1833; 
grad. Holzminden, 1841; and in theol. at Univ. Gottingen, 
1844; Memb. Exam. Com of Ministerium of New York. 
Pastor St. Mark's, N. Y., 1856-'82; in Brooklyn as Emeritvis, 
Oct., 1883. 

Rev. Caklslen Hausleen, born in Norwaj", 1856; grad. 
Christiana Coll., 1874, and Christiana Univ., 1880; located 
Brooklyn, 1883. 

Rev. Andreas Mortensen, born in Norway, 1849; grad. 
Giertsen's Coll., Christiana, 1873; in theol. at Royal Fredrik's 
Univ., 1877; teacher of Theol. Hist, and Lang., Christiana; 
Pastor Norweg. Luth. Seamen's Ch., in New York, 1880. 

Rev. Albert Rodell, bom at Grand Island, N. Y., 1853; 
grad. Augustana Coll. (111.), 1875, and Augustana Theol. Sem.. 
1877; editor Augustana Observer, New York; located in Kan- 
sas City, Mo., 1877-80; Brooklyn, 1880-'84. 



UNITARIAN CHURCHES 




CHURCH OF THE SAVIOUR, (unitarian.) 

First Unitarian Congreg-ational (Church of the Saviour), 
north-east cor. Pierrepont st. and Monroe PI. Unitarian ser- 
vices were first held in Brooklyn in 1833, before which time, 
those of liberal religious views were accustomed to attend the 
First Unit. Ch. in Chambers st.. New York. Several meetings 
of those interested were held in the summer of 1833, and a 
church org., comprising the following among its members: 
Josiah Dow, Seth Low, John Frost, W. H. Cary, AI?x. H. 



Smith, Wni. H. Hale, Chas. Woodward, Henry Leeds, 
Thos. Woodward, Geo. Blackburn, Geo. S. Cary, P. G. 
Taylor, Rich. W. Dow, Jas. Walters, Joshua Jolford 
and Geo. B. Archer. The first public services were 
held Aug. 17, in Classical Hall, Washington st. Rev. 
David Hatch Barlow was installed Pastor Sept. 17, 
1834. He was a graduate of Harvard; "a preacher 
and poet too, of no ordinary gifts. Able, cultured 
and graceful, he won sincere respect for his talents, 
as also affectionate esteem for his devotion to his 
jiarishioners." Ill health compelled him to resign in 
July, 1837. He was succeeded by Rev. Fiederick 
West Holland, from April 1, 1838, to April 1, 1842; 
wlu) also was a graduate of Harvard and of Cambridge 
Divinity School, "and by excellent gifts, intellectual 
attainments, earnest piety and great energy, was well 
fitted for his work in life." Meanwhile, through some 
differences which had arisen, a Second Unitarian 
Society was formed Dec. 3, 1840, by twenty-two 
persons, in the Brooklyn Lyceum. Rev. F. A. Farley 
was installed Pastor of the new society Aug. 1, 1841 ; 
.and it was incorporated Nov. 1, 1841, with these 
Trustees: Wm. H. Cary, Chas. Woodward, Thos. A. 
Morrison,Geo. C'oUins, Ben. Blossom, Wm. K. Tucker, 
L. W. Thomas, Joshua Atkins and Joseph L. Brigham. 
Mar. 33, 1842, the two churches were united under 
Dr. Farley as Pastor and worshiped in the Hall of 
the Brooklyn Institute until April 2, 1844. The 
Trustees of the United First Unitarian Church were: 
Seth Low, President; William H. Cary, Peter G. 
Taylor, Davit Felt, Charles M. Olcott, L. W. Thomas, 
Joseph L. Lord, John Greenwood and George B. 
Granniss. A plot of land on PieiTepont st. and 
Monroe Place had been purchased, and a new and elegant 
church erected, which was consecrated April 24, 1844, as the 
Church of the Saviour. In Nov., 1863, Dr. Farley preached 
his farewell sermon, after twenty years' pastorate. His suc- 
cessor. Rev. A. P. Putnam, the present incumbent, was 
installed Sept. 28, 1864. In 1865 the society established its 
Furraan st. Mission School, and about the same time, aided 
largely in forming the Bi"ooklyn Christian Liberal Union. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ORGANIZATIONS. 



1087 



In 1865-'6, a beautiful chapel adjoining the church was 
erected, at an expense of $30,000, besides extensive repairs 
to the church. In 1867, it dismissed a number of its families, 
for the purpose of establishing a new society of its faith in 
South Brooklyn, and gave |10,000 for the erection of Unity 
Chapel. It has about 300 communicants and a Sabbath- 
school (if thirty teachers and 300 scholars. 

Rev. Frederick Augustus Farley, born in Boston 1800; 
grad. at Harvard 1818; studied law; admitted to the bar 1821; 
grad. Harvard Divinity School, 1827; settled at Providence 
1828-'41; came to Brooklyn 1841; author of Unitarianism in 
U. S. : Vnitaricuiis)ii. Defined; History of Brooklyn and L. I. 
Sanitary Fair, 1804; i-esigned pastorate 1863. 

Second Unitarian Church. — The society org. Nov. 5, 1850; 
held its first pviblic service April 20, 1851, in the Brooklyn 
Female Academy, and continued to meet there until the 
l)uilding was burned in January, 1853. The society then 
occupied tlio Brooklyn Institute for a few months; and next 
the Brooklyn Athena?um, until March, 1858, when a church 
edifice on the corner of Clinton and Congress streets was 
completed. Of cruciform shape, in the Anglo-Italian style, 
with fine stained windows and beautiful interior decorations, 
it is an attractive building, and was the first departure in 
Brooklyn from conventional church architecture. Rev. 
Samuel Longfellow, a younger brother of Henry W. Long- 
fellow, served as Pastor, with great acceptance, from Oct. 36, 
1853, till April 29, 1860, when he resigned for rest and re- 
cuperation. Rev. N, A. Staples succeeded him Nov. 6, 1861, 
and served as Pastor iinlil his death in Feb.. 1864. Rev. John 
W. Chad wick was ordained and installed as Pastor in Dec, 
1864, and continues to officiate till the present time. His 
ministry has been highly successful and the church is pros- 
perous. This society has always represented the more ad- 
vanced and rationalistic element of Unitarianism. 



Rev. John White Chadwick was born in Marblehead, 
1840: grad. Bridgewater Normal School 1859: Cambridge 
Theol. gem. 1804; author of The Man Jesus; Faith of Reason; 
Bible of To-Day; Some Aspects of Relic/ion ; Belief and Life; 
Origin and Destiny; Book of Poems. 

Third Unitarian Congregational Society (Unity Chapel). 
— September 30, 1807, thirteen j^ersons assembled at a private 
house in Ryerson st. (to take the initiatory steps towards the 
establishment of a society of the Liberal Faith in Central 
Brooklyn), in response to a call published by the Rev. A. P. 
Putnam, Pastor of the First Unitarian Society. The first 
Sunday services were held October 6, 1867, in an upper room, 
over a fish market, on the corner of Classon and Fulton 
aves.. Rev. Dr. F. A. Farley preaching in the morning to an 
audience of fifty, and Rev. A. P. Putnam in the evening, to 
about the same number. At the same place, on Dec. 3, 1867, 
some thirty persons org. the Third Unitarian Society. A 
Sunday-school had been organized on the 29th of October 
previous. 

Revs. E. J. Galvin and H. C. Badger supplied the church 
during its earlier months. The preaching of Rev. Robert 
Collj-er, Oct. 11, 1868, gave impetus and influence to the new 
organization. It was materially aided by the First Unitarian 
Societ}', in its beginnings. Seven lots on Classon ave. and 
Leflerts st. were purchased, and the corner-stone of Unity 
Chapel was laid Sept, 4, 1868. The dedication services were 
held Dec. 9, 1868. The chapel and lots cost $35,716. Rev. 
Stephen H. Camp was installed as the first Pastor, Oct. 6, 
1869, and has since continued to ofliciate in that capacity 
with marked success. 

Rev. Stephen H. Camp was born in Windsor, Ct. , 1837 ; 
grad. Meadville (Pa.) Theol. Sem., 1863; Pastor, Toledo, O., 
1864-'9 ; came to Brooklyn, 1869 ; was Chaplain Corps 
d'Af rique in late war. 



UNIVERSALIST CHURCHES. 



For many years ])revious to the establishment of a Univer- 
salist church in Brooklyn, there were those here who be- 
longed to the society and congregation in New York city, 
and for whose convenience meetings were held from time to 
time, on this side of the river, under the ministry of the Rev. 
Messrs. Mitchell, Sawyer and others. Finally, in 1841, 
Messrs. William Burbank, Hiram K. Haskins, Wm. Raynor, 
Edwin Smith, and Monis Reynolds decided to rent a hall, on 
the corner of Fulton and Cranberry sts., owned by Hon. 
Creorge Hall, which they occupied for several Sabbaths, with 
preaching by Mr. Sawyer and others. This experiment 
proving successful, they applied for the rent of the hall for 
the term of a year. By this time, however, much opposition 
had been aroused among the orthodox denominations in the 
city, and the further use of the hall was denied them by its 
owner, on the ground that " Brooklyn was bad enough with- 
out having Universalism preached in it." At this juncture, 
however, the First Unitarian Society offered the use of their 
church, a small frame building, in Adams St., with organ 
and furniture included. This was accepted ; and, under the 
preaching of Rev. Abel C. Thomas, the society gained mem- 
bers, and determined to have a building of their own. Not 
being strong enough to effect this, however, eight gentle- 
men, viz., Abner Chichester, A. C. Thomas, Wm. Burbank, 
Wm. Raynor, Hiram K. Haskins, E. Winchester, B. A. 



Brewster, and Morris Reynolds, acting on the suggestion of 
the last named, purchased lots on the north-west corner of 
Fulton and Pineapple sts., on which, in January, 1843, they 
commenced the erection of a building, the lower part of 
which was used as stores ; and the upper jjart, including a 
small building adjoining, for Sunday-school purposes, was 
leased to the society for twenty-one years, with renewals, at 
ifeOO per annum. This building was first opened and occu- 
pied June 33, 1843, by the newly incorporated society. 

The First Universalist Soci;ty (Church of the Restora- 
tion).— The Rev. Abel C. Thomas officiated, from the Fall of 
1842, until about 1844, and was succeeded by the Rev. T. B. 
Thayer. Li the great fire of 1848, the building was burned ; 
and the society, having disposed of their lots on favorable 
terms, purchased lots and erected an elegant new edifice, on 
the south-cast corner of Monroe place and Clark st., at a 
cost, including lots, furniture and organ, of about $30,000. 
In 1851, Rev. Mr. Thayer was succeeded in the pastorate by 
Rev. H. R. Nye, who remained until 1857, and was, in turn, 
succeeded by Rev. Henry Blanchard. During the early part 
of his ministrj', another Universalist Society, called the 
Church of the Redeemer, was formed by some of the younger 
portion of the society. In the early part of 1868, a removal 
farther up town, and nearer the centre of the parish, was 
deteiTJiined upon; and, in October of the same year, the edi- 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



flee was sold to the Swedenborgians for ^40,000, leaving the 
society with a net balance of about |30,000. Mr. Blanchard 
resigned the charge of tlie society, January 1, 1869. 

The Church of Our Father.— In 1868, the Fourth Society 
(or Church of the Redeemer) became consolidated with the 
first society under this name. In the Spring of that year, 
Rev. E. C. Bolles became Pastor, and a chapel was erected 
on Clermont ave. He resigned in 1869, and Rev. H. R. Nye 
was recalled in 1870. In 1879, the chapel was sold to the 
Classon Avenue Presbyterian Church, and a church building, 
on State St., near Hoyt, was occupied during one year. In 
1880, Mr. Nye resigned, and the congregation removed to the 
Conservatory Building, corner of Fulton si. and Bedford 
ave., where they have since worshiped. 

Lots were jjurcliased at the comer of Lefferts place and 
Grand ave. , and a line church edifice erected in 1883. The 
main audience-room is 70 b\- 80 feet, and the vestry, or 
Sunday-school room, 30 by 60 feet ; and, as the latter is so 
arranged that it can be made a part of the main room, the 
total seatings will accommodate 1,300 persons. The pews are 
arranged on the amphitheatre plan. The style of architec. 
ture is Byzantine; the material used, Trenton pressed brick, 
terra cotta trimmings, and ornamental stone. The roof is of 
slate, and the ceiling of iron, resting on columns. The pews 
and all interior fittings are of hard wood. The walls and 
ceilings are tastefullj- decorat-d, and the windows of stained 
glass. The church includes in its plan commodious parlors, 
dining-room and kitchen. The architect is Mr. L. B. Valk, 
whose system of ventilation is used in the building. A 
square tower, 100 feet in height, rises from the Fulton st. 
side of the building. The entire cost is alxiut |3.5,000. The 
present Pastor, Rev. A. J. Canfield, entered on his duties in 
May, 1881. The condition of the society is prosperous. 

About the year 1870, a mission was established, and a 
chapel, called The Centenary Cha^Jel, was erected in Nos- 
trand avenue; and here services were held during several 
years. This mission finally became united with the Church 
of Our Father, and a mission school was established in 
Broadway. 

Mr. CA^fF^ELD was born in Broome county, N. Y., 1840 ; 
grad. Union Coll. Theol., Canton, N. Y.; ord. 1863 ; previous 
location, Concord, N. H. ; frequent contrib. to Tlie Leader, 
etc., etc. 

All Souls' Universalist Church, South 9th st., near Fourth. 
— This societj", originally known as the First Universalist So- 



ciety of Williamsburgh, was started with nineteen members, 
in April, 1845, thi'ough the efforts of a few residents of the 
village of Williamsburgh, who had formerly been connected 
with the Orchard St. (N.Y.) Society, of which Rev. Dr. Thomas 
J. Sawyer was then Pastor. The first services weie held in a 
small chapel on Second street. The little band worshiped 
there for three years, growing in numbers, until, in 1848, at 
a cost of $7,000, a church was erected at the corner of 
Fourth and South Third streets. 

The first Pastor was Rev. Henry Lyon, who served till 
1849, succeeded by Rev. Day K. Lee, until 1854. In 1856, 
Rev. Bernard Peters, of Cincinnati, was called and served 
with much efficiency until 1863. Rev. A. J. Canfield served 
as Pastor for five years, and was followed, in 1870, bj' Rev. 
Almon Gunnison, who yet occupies the pastorate. 

In May, 1873, the present church edifice, known as All 
Souls' Church, was dedicated. Two years later, a new chapel 
was erected. The church property extends through the entire 
block, the church facing on South Ninth st., the chapel on 
South Tenth, the two joined together in the rear. The build- 
ings are commodious, having all the apijointments necessary, 
and were erected at an expense of eighty thousand dollars. 
They are free from debt. 

The first trustees of the society were : George Ricard, 
William B. Miles, Joseph Stanley, William Dillingham, 
Theophilus W. Smith, Milton Wooley, Amos Smith. 

The first-named of these, George Ricard, was elected Presi- 
dent of the Board, holding the office for thirty-five years until 
his death. A marble memorial tablet was erected by his rela- 
tives in the church, commemorative of his life and works. 

The church organization has, at the present time, upwards 
of three hundred members, the Sunday-school numbering 
four hundred. 

The following are the present oflScers of the church : Rev. 
Almon Gunnison, D. D., Pastor; B. W. Wilson, Wm. H. 
Gaylor, E. S. Seeley, George H. Fisher, Wm. E. Bailey, 
Clarence E. Lyon, James B. Perkins, Trustees. 

B. W. AVilson, George E. Jloulton, Mrs. S. A. Jarvis, 
Supts. of the Sunday-school. A Young People's Association, 
and other auxiliary organizations, are maintained. 

Rev. Almon Gunnison, D. D. (St. Law. Univ.), was born 
in Hallowell, Me., 1844; grad. Tuft's Coll. and St. Lawrence 
Univ. Theol. Dept., 1868; is Trustee of St. Law. Univ.; 
located at Bath, Me., 1868-'71; B'klyn, 1871-84; author of 
Rambles Overland, 1883; Assoc. Ed. of Christian Leader. 



JEWISH SYNAGOGUES. 



Congregation of Beth Israel. — To obviate the incon- 
venience of crossing to New York to attend worship, a small 
num!)er of Israelites, in 1856, organized an independent con- 
gregation in Brooklyn, with M. Erlich as President. A room 
was hired, and services were conducted by such clergymen as 
could be procured, till Rabbi Joel Alexander became Pastor. 
A building for a synagogue was erected during the presi- 
dency of Solomon Furst, Esq. , on the corner of State st. and 
Boerum pi., at a cost of $10,000. It was completed and 
dedicated Aug. 31, 1862. 

A school was established for the instruction of children in 
the Hebrew language, and it has continued at intervals since. 

The congregation was at first strictly orthodox ; but, in 1879, 
it adopted certain reforms. Rabbi Alexander was succeeded 
by Rabbi Adolph Ressler. 



The Congregation of Beth Elohira, founded iu Oi tooer, 
1861, by a secession from the Congregation Israel, is mainly 
composed of German Israelites. Shortly after, they pur- 
chased the edifice formerly known as Calvary Protestant 
Episcopal Church, in Pearl, between Concord and Nassau 
streets, at a cost of $5,100; which, together with an expense of 
13,000 for alterations, was cheerfvdly borne by acongregation 
of only fifty members. This edifice was dedicated March 30, 
1863; and in February, 1870, the fine edifice previously oc- 
cupied by the Central Presbyterian Church, in Schermerhorn^ 
between Powers and Nevias streets, was purchased, at a cost 
of $55,000. Previously to this time, also, the congregation had 
cx)uducted their religious services according to the orthodox 
ritual; but they adopted, and on the 19th of February, 1870, 
inaugurated the moderate reform services. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ORGANIZATIONS. 



In 1871, the building was repaired and remodeled, and 
family pews were substituted for the former seats. An organ 
was at this time purchased. George Brandenstein has been 
tlie Rabbi in charge from the founding of the congregation; 
aud to Moses Hess, Samuel Hess and S. Rosenburg, this con- 
gregation is largely indebted for its prosperity. 

Temple Israel, in Greene ave., bet. Carlton and Adelphi. — 
A number of intelligent Hebrews of Brooklyn assembled 
Nov., 1869, at 30 Douglass street (A. Fleischauer's), and or- 
ganized a temple whose services are ia English, except the 
Psalms. Their first place of worship was the rooms now 
occupied by the Y. M. C. A., Fulton ave. and Gallatin place, 
occupied Jan. 1, 1870. The present temple was purchased 
from the "Church of the Redeemer "in 1878. Its seating 
capacity is 800. The membership is about 70 families. The 
Sunday-school has 100 children. The first Rabbi was Rev. 
B. C. Lewin, succeeded by Rev. ]\Ir. Lasker, 1874-'76; Rev. S. 
Moshe, 1876-'80; Rev. E. M, Chapman, 1880-'84. 

Rev. Edward Mauiuce Chapman, born in London, Eng., 
1854; grad. Jews' Coll. inTheol. and London Univ., 1874; was 
Prof, of Hebrew, East London College, 1872; Asst. Supt. Heb. 
Orphan Asylum, New York, 1877-'78; located at Hartford, 
Ct., 187S-'S0; B'klyn, 1880-84. 

Congregation Temple Beth Elohim, Brooklyn, E. D. — 
The congregation Beth Elohim, now worshiping in the 
beautiful Temple on Keap st., Brooklyn, E. D., was started 
about 30 years ago, by 1.5 Israelites, wlio met every Sabbath 
and holidays, in a modest place of worship on the North side 
of Williamsburgh, for which the annual rent of $150 was 
paid. To become a member of that religious society, the 
payment of an initiation fee of $3, and the annual contribu- 
tion of $6, was required. The first officiating Hasan (Reader) 
of the Congregation was Mr. Barnard. 

As tlie Jewish population increased in Williamsburgh, 
this Congregation became stronger in membership, till they 
were able to buy, in 1860, the building on the corner of South 
First and Eighth sts., now the German Lutheran Church 
"Emanuel." This the}' reconstructed; and it served to the 
Congregation as a Synagogue till 1876, when it was sold to 
the above-named congregation, and the Temple on Keap st. 
was dedicated. 

In the old Synagogue, Mr. Eiseman, an old member of the 
Congregation performed the ministerial duties for a number 
of years; and then, in succession. Revs. Gotthold, Rubin and 
others officiated. Tlie form of worship was conducted ac- 
cording to the orthodox ritual. When the Congregation 
resolved to adopt the ritual of the modern reform school, a 



considerable number of the conservative members withdrew, 
and formed a separate orthodox Congregation, whose Syna- 
gogue is on Johnson ave. Since that time a new era has 
begun for the Beth Elohim Congregation. The new Temple 
on Keap St., near Division ave., was erected at a cost 
of ij!50,000; its size, 60x100 feet; its seating capacity about 
800; and its material, Philadelphia brick, with brown-stone 
trimming. It is the largest and finest Jewish house of wor- 
ship in Brooklyn, and is counted among the handsomest 
edifices of the " City of Churches." 

The first regular Rabbi and preacher of this Congregatic >n 
was Rev. Dr. Grossman, who was succeeded by Dr. Schwal), 
who resigned to accept a ministry in St. Joseph, Mo. The 
present Rabbi of the Temple is the Rev. L.Wintner, Dr. Ph., 
who has occupied the Beth Elohim pulpit since October, 1878, 
and is also the Superintendent of the Sabbath-school. 

The number of Sabbath-school pupils has increased, mak- 
ing necessary alterations in the lower part of the Temple for 
the purpose of more school-room accommodations: and re- 
quiring also more salaried teachers. 

The present officers of the Congregation are : Pres., Moses 
May; V. Pres., M. Hessberg; Treas., N. Bernstein; Secy, H. 
Meyers. Trustees : M. Kessel, Morris Adler, Ph. Strauss, I. 
Igelheimer, Henry Newman, M. Levy. Rabbi, Rev. L. 
Wintner, Ph. Dr.; Header, Rev. E. Halff; Sexton, I. 
Smith. 

Rev. L. Wintner, Ph. D., A. M., born in Hungary, 1834, 
studied in Imp. Univ., Vienna, and Jena Univ., Germany, 
and Rabbinical schools ; grad. Univ. Tubingen, Germany; 
came to America 1863; teacher theol. and modern languages 
in Mobile, Louisville, Jackson and St. Paul; minister in St. 
Paul, 1871-'3; and Detroit, 1873-6 ; was in Europe, 1876-'8; 
came to Brooklyn, 1878. 

Other Rabbis residing in Brooklyn are: Rev. Dr. I. Mayer, 
born 1809, in Bavaria; grad. Theol. Sem. at Frankfort-on-the- 
Main, 1834 ; former locations Cinciimati, Rochester, Hart- 
ford, 1870; author of Ben Sirah, 1853; Hebreiv Grammar, 
1856 ; Source of Salvation, 1874 ; located in Brooklyn, May, 
1883. 

Rev. Sal. Moshe, born in Germany, 1843; grad. from 
Royal Sem. 1860, and Theol. Sem. at Breslau, 1862; previous 
locations, Germany and New Orleans, La. ; came to Brooklyn 
1874. 

Ahavis Achim. — A society of reformed Jews of the Eastern 
District was established, and their Sepher Tore, or Book of 
the Law, dedicated at the hall, corner of Meserole and Ewen 
streets, August 31, 1869 



MISCELLANEOUS. 



Christian Church of the Evangel. — In 1860, a movement 
was inaugurated in the Sevsnteenth Ward of Brooklyn, then 
the village of Greenpoint, to establish a religious body which 
should be independent of existing sects, and, at the same 
time, thoroughly in sympathy with all Christians and Chris- 
tian work. 

Through the efforts of Mr. W. H. Corwith and others, an 
organization was effected under the name of the Oreenjjoint 
Missio7i Society, which lield its first meeting in a carpenter's 
shop in Eckford st., on June 24, 1860. 

A Sabbath-school was connicted with the enterprise, and a 
number of ])ei-sons became identified with it by letter and 
profession of faith. Elder Moses Cummings was connected 



with the society for a year and a half, after which his place 
was supplied by Rev. I. C. Ti-yon and others until August 8, 
1862, when E. W. Lockwood was cho'^en to preach. About 
this time the old house standing on the cor. of Leonard and 
Collyer sts., formerly owned by the Baptist Church, was 
hired by the society, which on Jan. 5, 1863, directed its pur- 
chase. On March 1, 1863, the trustees were authorized to 
buy two lots in Leonard, near Meserole st., and move the 
building thereon. This having been effected, the house was 
repaired, and on April 11, 1863, ded. At the same time 
E. W. Lockwood was ordained to the ministry. He re- 
signed June 12, 1864. Rev. S. S. Nason commenced his work 
in June, 1865, but died in the following August. Rev. E. G, 



HISTORY OF KIH-GS COUNTY. 



Hauleubeck, of Xew York City, preached six months, begin- 
ning with January, 1866. 

In July, 1866, the society secured Mr. Martyn Summerbell 
for the remainder of the year; Dec. 20, 1867, he was or- 
dained; ^lay 4, 1868, five persons were baptized (by immer- 
sion) by the Pastor. 

To promote acquaintance in tlie now growing congrega- 
tion, a "Ladies' Social" was inaugurated on Juh" 15, and 
Nov. 10, 1869. May 23, 1869, under a decree of the Supreme 
Court, the Longregatioa adopted tlie legal title of the First 
Chrxstmn Cong. Ckurch, of Greenpoint, and was consolidated 
with the Suffolk St. Church of New York City. 

In Nov., 1872, the church adopted its present Manual, 
ani. with permission of the Sujireme Covirt, received its 
present name. The Christian Church of the Evangel. 

From this time forward the growth of the churcli under 
Mr. Summcrbell's pastorate was constant and healthful. In 
1875, it was decided to erect a new edifice. In 1876, the old 
house was removed to the rear and remodelled; and on Sept. 
28, 1876, the corner-stone of the new building was laid, the 
51 isonic Order and the New York State Christian Asso. par- 
ticipating in the ceremonies. Tlie plan of building only as 
the bills were met was strictly adhered to; and, on Clmstmas, 
1878, the edifice, furnished and carpeted, was formerly ded. 
for worship The building is semi-Gothic, covering two city 
lots, and will seat about 400. It is substantially constructed, 
with frame filled to the jjlates with brick, and finished out- 
side with wood. The inside finish is of hard wood, chestnut, 
odk and black walnut. It is conveniently supplied with 
bajttistcry infant class, and retiring rooms, and is connected 
with the chapel at the rear. The tasteful effect of its interior 
furnishings, contrasting well with the stained-glass windows, 
is much admired. The tower, surmounted with belfry and 
gilded cross, rises to the altitude of nearly one hundred feet. 

In July, 1880, Mr. Summerbell resigned to take pastoral 
charge of the Franklin St. Christian Church in Fall River, 
Mass., after a service of exactly fourteen years. In Septem- 
ber, 1880, Rev. E. A. Hainer commenced his labors and still 
remains Pastor. 

Rev. Edwix a. Hainer, born in Burford, Ont., 1856; grad. 
New Market High Sch., 1874; Christian Bib. Inst., 1880; lo- 
cated New Market, 1874; West Eimelburg, 1875; Franklin, 
1876; Brooklyn, 1880. 

Other ministers of the Christian denomination are: 

Rev. John Ball Cook, born at Livingston, N. J., 1804; 
grad. Succasunna Acad., N. J., 1829; and Newton Theol. 
Sem., 1833; located Cincinnati, Middletown, Rochester, 
Binghamtoa, Brooklyn, 1869; author of Reviews, Tractj, 
and Diagram of Prophecy. 

The Brooklyn Society of the New Jerusalem (Svyedenbor- 
gian). — Lay services were commenced at private jiarlors in 
April, 1856, by some twenty-five Swedenborgians, and con- 
tinued for about a year. In ilay, 1857, the hall of the Acad- 
emy on Clinton street, near Pierrepont, was secured as a 
place of worship, and the occasional services of a minister 
were enjoyed. In Oct., 1858, Mr. James B. MiUs, a licentiate, 
of Boston, became minister, and a society under the above 
name was organized June 15, 1859. The increase of members 
rendered a removal to the Athenaeum building, corner of 
Clinton and Atlantic streets, necessary in 1860; and, at tlie 
same time, a society that had worshiped at Dodsworth's 
Academy united with this. June 5, 1861, Mr. Mills was in- 
stalled Pastor. The society was accepted as a member of the 
General Convention in 1862. In Oct., 1863, Mr. Mills resigned, 
and for a year lay services were held, with occasional preach- 
ing. January 8, 1865, the present Pastor, Rev. J. C. Ager, 
entered on his duties. In February of the same year, the in- 



crease of the congregation necessitated another removal, and 
the chapel of the Polytechnic Institute was secured. Here 
the congregation worshiped during four years. The Churcli 
of the Restoration, corner of Monroe place and Clark, was 
purchased, with organ and furniture, at $40,000, and upward 
of .§6,500 expended in repairing and decorating the interior, 
and Feb. 21, 1869, the edifice was dedicated. Dr. R. C. Moffat 
has, from the beginning of the society, been a prominent and 
active member, and its leader whenever without a Pastor. 

Rev. John Curtis Ager, born 1835, at Warner, N. H. ; 
grad. Urbana (O.) University, 1858; studied at Newton, Mass. 
Theol. Sem. ; was Prof. Mental Phil, and Eng. Lit. at Urbana, 
1858-61; previous location, Brooklino, Mass., 1861-"4; Editor 
Neic Jerusalem Messenger; located ia Brooklyn, 18C5. 

Rev. JOH.v EscHMANN, born in Zurich, Switzerland, 1817; 
grad. City Gymnasium, 1835; Zurich Theol. Sem., Switzer- 
land, 1839; located New York, 1845; and East New York, 
1869; was itinerant missionary in North-west; author of pub. 
eermons, catechism and several translations. 

The First Moravian Church of Brooklyn was organized in 
1854, by some members of the Moravian Church in New Ycrk 
city, who had become residents of Brooklyn. In that year a 
frame building was erected on Jay street, near Myrtle avenue, 
and consecrated September 10th. September 24, 1868, it was 
destroyed by fire, and the present brick church structure, with 
a parsonage, was at once erected on its site, at an expense of 
^24,000. It was dedicated Oct. 10th, 1869. It has 400 sittings. 

The Pastors of this church have been: Revs. Joseph Rum- 
mer, 1854-'8, Edward Kluge, 1859-'60; Edwin E. Reinke, part 
of 1860; Herman Brickenstein, 1861-'4; Isaac Prince, 1865; 
Edward Ronthaler, 1860-73; Charles B. .Schultz, 1874-'7; 
Charles Ricksecker, 1878: Wm. Henry Rice, 1879-'80; and 
the present Pastor, Edward S. WoUe, 1880. 

The Church of the Blessed Hope. — This society was org. 
in 1879. The members had belonged to other Advt nt churches; 
but they organized this society in accordance with views 
which they had come to hold, different, in some respects, from 
those of other adventists. Their jjlace of worship is a chapel 
in Cumberland street. Rev. J. B. Cook has been the Pastor 
from the organization of the society. 

Rev. Georoe R. Kramer, born in Baltimore, 1839; educated 
Dickinson Seminary, Pa; located in Augusta, Ga. ; Staunton, 
Va. ; Wilmington, Del.; built Independent Church in latter 
place; came to Brooklyn, 1882; author of pub. sermons and 
poems. 

Life and Advent Church was organized about 1879. Ls 
place of worship has been Brooklyn Institute, on Washington 
street. It has had no settled Pastor, but has maiotained regu- 
lar worship. The pulpit has been supplied by Revs. F. D. 
Burbank, W. N. Pile, Brown and others. There are in Brook- 
lyn several small societies of Adventists termed "Brethren," 
who maintain worship in accordance with their views. 

Union Chapel was first established as Columbia Union Mis- 
sion in 1848, in a hall on the corner of Smith and Butler 
streets. In 1852, it was removed to a small hall in Union 
street, and during the warm part of the year, services were 
held in a tent on a vacant lot. In 1854, the mission was 
burned out, and, during two years, services were held in 
Hamilton avenue, in a room furnished by Anson Blake, Esq. 

Thence it was removed to Columbia street, near Summit, 
where services are still held. It is non-sectarian in its char- 
acter, and during its long existence it has accomplished much 
good. From the organization of the mission till 1881, a period 
of more than thirty years, it has been under the pastoral 
charge of Rev. Josiali West. He and his wife have given a 
large jiortion of their lives to this self-denying work. The 
mission is now known by the name of Union Chapel. 



HISTORY 

OF THE 



SUNDAY-SCHOOL WORK 

IN 

BROOKLYN. 



THE development of the Sunday-school, as an institution 
for teaching the Heaven-revealed truths of the Bible, 
has occupied for both hemispheres but a little more 
than a hundred years; sixty-six of these 3 ears have 
received the thoughts and the activity of the gentleman 
whose portrait is on the opposite page. 

The Sunday-school in a New England country town, in 
1816, had strength enougli to tempt the lad of eleven years 
to engage in its ever-increasing work; and as age matured 
judgment and strengthened reflection, tliis institution per- 
meated his life with its influence, and caused him to devote 
tlio whole of his time, talents and substance, in later yeai-s, to 
tlie Sunday-school cause. 

While it is no part of the design of these volumes to write 
history, much less biography, beyond tlie events that have 
acted and reacted upon our city life and development, society 
and character, so subtle are these influences, and so inter- 
twined that it is impossible to set forth either without tracing 
them to some extent from their source to their issue. This 
alone justifies a narration here of such examples as are 
capable of imitation by any and every layman who would 
mingle his higher obligations with the every-day transac- 
tions of his life. 

The individual who directs his efforts to the promotion of 
the higher interests of his race is the only person who occu- 
pies a normal position in society. It is the glory of the 
Sunday-school system, as it is of the Gospel method, to mul- 
tiply moral teachers; nay, to virtually resolve the community 
into two classes — teachers and taught. Lessons are drawn 
directly from the only text-book which contains motives of 
sufficient power to restrain the passions or affect the will. 

Unfortunately, all human experience has shown how diffi- 
cult is the task of influencing the adult mind in a way con- 
trary to cherished wrong oi)inions, and of changing long- 
fixed evil habits of thought or action. It is obvious, there- 
fore, that the Gospel teachings must be brought to bear upon 
the minds and hearts of the young, before evil has gained 
supremacy there. The steel must be forged while it is plas- 
tic, the streamlet must be turned before it has become the 
river. Whether the first attempts to gather in the children 
for Sabbath instruction, a hundred years ago, were inspired 
more by pity for their neglected condition or by a desire to do 
good for the blaster's sake, the result exceeded even the 
hopes of the pioneers. 

Not speaking of the scliools of the catechumens, Luther's, 
Knox's, Borromeo's or Haecker's, none of which were Sun- 
day-schools in the modern sense, the first organization in 



which the teaching was done by the lay dement was founded 
by Robert Raikes in 1780, at Gloucester, England, where he 
at first placed twenty children under the care of Mrs. King, 
for Sunday instruction, in her cottage in Catherine street. 

The progress of the Sunday-school system, from that small 
beginning to this present time, when fifteen millions of 
scholars are under religious instruction on the Lord's day, 
has been truly marvelous. The advance that has taken place 
from the "shilling-a-day teachers," employed by Raikes, to 
this period, at which something near two millions of volun- 
tary teachers are engaged in Sunday-school instruction, is 
the most wonderful movement of the nineteenth century. 
Its origin was humble; it owes its success neither to lavish 
expenditure, love of display, or the patronage of the gi-eat. 
It is the result of Christian devotion consecrating the Sab- 
bath to the religious education of the young. Its greatest 
glory is that it is voluntary; free and Scriptural. Starting iu 
Gloucester, England, it has been carried to every quarter of 
the civihzed globe, itself being the greatest of civilizing 
agencies and the means best adapted to that universal dif- 
fusion of Christianity which is to usher in its ultimate 
triumiih. It has brought about the unprecedented recogni- 
tion of the influence and importance of childhood that 
characterizes this century. Robert Raikes and his com- 
peers, mindful of the command — "Feed my lambs" — began to 
pay attention to the wants of children; true religion in- 
creased; the world grew more spiritual as the Sunday-school 
work took hold of the people's time, thought and energies; 
until after a single century. Pastor, adults and children meet 
to study the Word of God, binding by one topic and one 
text the nations of the world in the international lessons. 

The Sunday-school germ soon extended to America, where 
schools are said to have been established by Bishop Asbury, 
in Virginia, in 1786; by Bishop White, in Philadelphia, in 
1791; by Katy Ferguson, a colored woman, in New York, in 
1793; and by Mrs. Graham, in 1801, who had seen the schools 
in England, and on returning, taught poor children in her 
own house in New York. 

About 1809 the churches in America assumed charge of the 
schools and made the instruction more exclusively religious. 
Since 1848 special attention has been given to planting and 
sustaining Mission schools. 

Brooklyn Sunday-School Union Society. A meeting wa 1 
held March 27, 181G, to organize a society in the village 
of Brooklyn, similar to the Sunday-School Union Society in 
New York, whose object was to give gratuitous religous in- 
struction to children on the Sabbath day, and to unitj 



1092 



HISTORY OF KIJSTGS COUNTY. 



Christians in tliis benevolent undertaking. As a result of 
this meeting, the Brooklyn Sunday-School Union Socwtyvras 
formed, adopted a constitution April 8th, and subsequently 
a code of rules, issued by Joshua Sands, President : Andrew 
Mercein and Abraham Remsen, Vice-Presidents; Thomas 
Sands, Treasurer; Rev. John Ireland, Secretary; William 
Cornwell, Robert Bache, David Anderson, Jonathan G. 
Pray, Joseph Harris, Robert Snow, and Alexander Young, 
Directors. In July, 1821, circulars were issued, inviting the 
people to join the Brooklyn Sabbath Union for the promotion 
of Sunday-schools, offering instruction to all without price; 
great attention was jiromised to the " manners and morals of 
scholars." The first celebration of the Union was held in 
1839, at the Sands Street Methodist Episcopal Church. In 
1838, Messrs. Charles Clark, R. J. Thorn, I. Peet, and some 
others of different denominations, arranged to hold a Monthly 
Teachers' Concert for Prayer, Reporting and Conference, 
which was sustained for many years. Cyrus^ P. Smith was 
President of their organization, Jno. N. Wyckoff, Jno. Dike- 
man, Vice-Presidents, and Wm. E. Whitney, Treasurer. 

As before noted, these earlier schools were largely missions, 
to which business men gave of their time and means; while 
delicate ladies did not hesitate to explore lanes and tenement 
houses in search of new members for the schools. ' ' Tliou- 
sands of dollars were expended for clothing and food for 
destitute children. Thanksgiving day was celebrated with 
the zeal of which only the poor and hungry were capable. 
It was not unusual to see a mission-school boj- leave such an 
entertainment with a lot of apples inside his shirt, belting his 
body just above the waist-band, while caps were often util- 
ized for secreting cake, candy, and even pumpkin pies; for 
home consumption." Some of these schools still exist, while 
many have gone into permanent church organizations, such 
as the Prmee Street Mission of 1832, from which came in 1847 
the church which is now the Brooklyn Tabernacle; the Soutli 
Brooklyn Mission of 1840, out of which grew the South 
Presbyterian Church; the Kavy Mission of 1844, now merged 
into Mayflower Mission; the Bethel Mission of 1841, now in 
a commodious building on Ilicks st., near Fulton; the Warren 
Street Mission, begun in Freeman's Hall, Amity St., 1847, now 
the Pilgrim Chapel ; the City Park Chapel, organized as a 
mission in 1841; the Bonder Mission, now Olivet Chapel ; the 
Throop Avenue Presbyterian Mission ; the Rochester Avenue 
Mission, now the Church of the Mediator; besides manj' 
others that luiglit bo named. '^ ( 

The Sunday-School Union was reorganized in 1854 upon 
a different basis, and took substantially its present form. It 
was divided into committees, thus : — Albert Woodruff, Chair- 
man, Congregational; John R. Monis, Secretary, Presby- 
terian ; J. M. B. Bogert, Josepli H. Field, Ellis S. Potter, 
Reformed; Thomas R. Harvey, E. Marx, Moravian; A. D. 
Matthews, John C. Smith, R. S. Slocum, Protestant Epis- 
copal ; Peter Balen, Geo. W. Bleecker, J. Y. HaiTiott, Bap- 
tist ; A. A. Smith, J. W. Judson, F. A. Fisher, Chas. Clark, 
C. C. Mudge, R. M. Hubbard, Presbyterian ; Silas Daven- 
port, Sidney Sanderson, H. N. Holt, Congregational ; Samuel 
Carter, Wm. Edsall, Wm. H. Brown, Methodist. 

The presiding officers have been as follows : Albert Wood- 
mff, 1854-'6 ; E. A. Lambert, 1856; Andrew A. Smith, 1857- 
'67; S. L. Parsons, 18G7-8; James McGee, 1869; A. B. Cas- 
well, 1870-'l; Israel Barker, 1872-7; Benjamin Baylis, 1878- 
'82; George A. Bell, 1883-'4. The present officers are: George 
A. Bell, Pres.; Silas M. Giddings, Vice-Pres.; Edwin Ives, 
Cor. Sec; John R. Morris, Bee. Sec; James R. Lott, Treas.; 
R. H. Underbill, Counsel. Monthly meetings have been 
held, at which reports of the work of the Union are 
given. 



Systematic Visitation. — This important work of the 
Union was carried into effect for several years, begin- 
ning in 1854, and with excellent retults, under the direc- 
tion of Mr. Albert Woodruff, Chairman of the Missionary 
Committee. The city was divided into districts and assigned 
to the different churches, so that each visitor had the super- 
vision of eight or ten families, and every family had the 
help of a sympathetic friend. Many neglected children were 
gathered into Sunday-school, and the word of God carried 
to those wlio did not attend church services; Uie Christian 
activity of the churches was greatly quickened and re- 
warded, and a wonderful outpouring of the Spirit followed. 
The work was so practical, so well adapted to engage and 
reward Christian labor, to reach those who need to have tho 
gospel brouglit to them, that its equalhasnot yet been found. 
We look in vain to a Bureau of Relief, to ingenious methods 
of avoiding imposition, t<i outside associations of any kind, 
however wisely and benevolently designed to take the place 
of the body of Christ in bringing about the talvation of any 
community. Of late years, however, systematic visitation 
has given place to the work of the Board of City Missions 
and its missionaries. 

An interesting feature of the Sunday-School Union has 
been its anniversary celebration and parade. The first was 
held Tuesday, June 26th, 1838, -when nineteen schools took 
part; George Hall, the first Mayor of Brooklyn, was chairman 
of tlie committee on arrangements. At the Jlay parade of 
1883, sixty thousand children were in line, from 172 schools. 
In the spring of 1864 the Union was incorporated, and b)' 
special act of tiie Legislature, in 1871, it was authorized to 
erect and maintain a public building for its uses. It is pro- 
posed to unite with the Young Men's Christian Association 
in erecting an edifice suitable for tlie accommodation of both. 

The Union is conducted by a board of thirty-six managers 
divided into ten standing committees of six each, which have 
their separate sj^ecial work for the year. The value of the 
chapels and buildings, used almost exclusively for the 
schools connected %vith the Union, is many hundred thous- 
and dollars. TIio libraries at last report numbered 86,219 
volumes, and cost not less than $50,000, while the money an- 
nually contributed for benevolent purposes reaches a large 
amount. The Sunday-school scholars of Brooklyn are as one 
in seven of the population, in New Yorlc as one in eleven. 

Mr. Albert Woodruff's interest in Sunday-schools was 
earl}- awakened. When he came from his Massachusetts home 
to New York City, in 1827, to begin his long and prosperous 
career as a merchant, he also entered into the Sunday-school 
work. First, he became Superintendent of the Sunday- 
school in Dr. Spring's Cliurch, in Beekman St., then of the 
one in Public School No. 1, Centre St., near the present site 
of the Hall of Records. It is worthy of note, that in this 
school were first heard some of the popular Sunday-school 
songs that have since sung themselves around the world. A 
little hymn-book was published containing the words and 
music of "I want to be an Angel," "There is a Happy 
Land," "I think when I read that sweet story of old," and 
" We won't give up the Bible." Then crossing tlie river lie was 
superintendent in the Chvircli of the Pilgrims; tlien of Mari- 
ners' Church School in Main st. ; of the one in Granada 
Hall; then Warren St. Mission; several of these schools were 
organized by him. Mr. Woodruff was diligent in business; 
and his firm, which was first E. P, & A. Woodruff, and 
then Woodruff & Robinson, became one of the foremost 
in their line. Mr. Woodruff had tlius come into prominence 
as a Sunday-school worker; he was connected with the New 
York Sabbath-School Union; was a long time Vice-Presi- 
dent of the American Szmday-School Union, and was the 



SUNDAYS CHOOL WORK IN BROOKLYN. 



first President of the Brooklyn Sabbath-school Union, as else- 
where stated; but for the past twenty years, lie is best known 
by his work in connection with tlie 

Foreign Sunday-School Association.— In 1856, Mr. Wood- 
rulf laid aside the cares of business for a time, and, with his 
family, made a pleasure tour in Europe; expecting, at the 
same time, to observe the moral condition of the people 
among whom he traveled, and to sow good seed by the 
way. In Paris, he remarked the universal desecration 
of the Sabbath, both by the government in carrying on 
public works, and the people in their jmrsuit of business 
and i>Ieasure. Knowing the futility of any appeal to adults, 
he felt it a duty, as well as a privilege, to introduce into 
pleasure-loving France the Sunday-school methods that had 
proved so powerful for good in England and America. There 
were but few Protestant Sunday-schools in all France, and 
they imperfectly organized, notwithstanding the fact that 
eighty years had elapsed since such schools had been opened 
across the channel. Mr. Woodruff procured from America 
a supply of oiu- Sunday-school music, children's papers, and 
Sunday-school books adapted for use in France ; and, during 
his stay of six months, had the pleasure of seeing six schools 
in active operation as the result of his efforts, and, which was 
even better, the attention of French Protestants awakened 
to the wondrous possibilities of the Sunday-school system. 
Their gratitude to Mr. Woodruff took the form of a public 
farewell meeting, just previous to his return to America. 

In 18(51, he again visited Europe, for the jmrposo of estab- 
lishing Sunday-schools, remaining more than two years, ex- 
tending his travels through several countries, and establish- 
ing schools wherever practicable. 

Italy was then ripe for the new movement, because of her 
emancipation from the temporal power of the Pope, and the 
progi'ess of civil and religious liberty, but there was not a 
Protestant Sunday-school witliin hei; borders, and Sabbath 
instruction by lay teachers was unknown. Mr. Woodruff 
established the first Sunday-school in Naples, in connection 
wiih a little Scotch assembly, whose Pastor, Mr. Buscarlet, 
said: "Your Sabbath-school is just what I want. I have 
been praying to the Lord these eight or ten weeks past, tliat 
He would show me liow^ to set my people at work, and here 
I have the answer." At the firat meeting, the American mode 
of conducting Sunday-schools was described through an 
interpreter, and a number of young men and women signified 
their willingness to become teachers. A school was formed, 
which soon increased to eighty pupils, mostly boys ; for, at 
that day, few women or girls could be persuaded to attend a 
Protes'ant meeting of any kind. Afterwards, an association 
of young people commenced a systematic visitation from 
house to house, and gathered together another school. In 
Florence, the Italian patriot, Gavazzi, was preaching the 
Gospel in his own hired house. He kindly acted as inter- 
preter to the meeting that was called ; and, from his knowl- 
edge of the schools in England and America, assisted mate- 
rially in organizing a school. 

Anti-Protestant bigots afterwaids prevented the securing 
of a suitable place for holding meetings; and, during Gavaz- 
zi's absence, the congregation and Sunday-school were scat- 
tered. Another school that was opened in Florence was in 
connection with a day-school. The teacher, Damiano 
Bolognini acted as interpreter in presenting the Sunday- 
school idea to the people; became the Superintendent of the 
school, and afterwards editor of the Youth's Journal, called 
the Scuola della Dominica, or " Sunday-school,'' a little 
weekly sheet, for whose publication Mr. Woodruff provided, 
that soon attained a large circulation, and was of material 
assistance in extending the new work. 



After the beginning thus made in Italy, Mr. Woodruff 
passed through Southern Germany to MuuicJi. He found the 
German nation, so great in numbers, power, learning and 
genius, to be sadly wanting in spiritual life. In his attempts 
to establish a school in Munich, he met with the strongest 
opposition. One said: ' Such scliools cannot be wanted i;i 
Germany; our children hate the name of school, for they arc 
compelled to go at the point of the bayonet all the week, and lo 
the catechism on Sunday besides." At Heidelberg.Mr. Brockel- 
mann, the interpreter, exclaimed: "This Sunday-school 
is what we want to give religious life to Germany. This will 
cure Germany of its s.icial, jjolitical and skeptical evils.'' So 
strongly was he impressed that he devoted himself wholly (o 
the Sunday-school cause, acting as interpreter for Mr. Wood- 
ruff through the remainder of his travels in that country. 

In Stuttgart, a German friend was requested to call to- 
gether some Christians, that they might learn the American 
method of conducting Sunday-schools. When he was asked 
why no ladies attended the meeting, he said in astonishment: 
" Is it contemplated to make women teachers of religion in 
Germany?" "Yes, certainly," was the reply. " In England 
and America they do more than half the teaching." " Butit 
would not be German to invite them," he answered, "and 
would not lie jjermitted." 

In Halle, the effort to establish a school was successfully 
made. Two hundred girls were soon under instruction. 
There was at the University of Halle, a theological student 
from New England, who had not lost sight of the children, 
but boldly putting his hand to the work, soon brought in a 
hundred boys to the same school. This union of the sexes, 
for educating the conscience under the restraint of religion, 
was quite a new thing in Germany. 

In Berlin, the highest preacher in the realm gave a lettir 
recommending Mr. Woodruff to his clergymen, some of whom 
called together their best membership, both men and women, 
to inquire of them whether lay-teaching and Sabbath-seliools 
were a possibility in Germany. One lady of benevolent dis- 
position had invited the servant girls of the neighborhood to 
spend an hour each Sunday in social enjoyment, light work 
and reading. Among them was made the first attempt in 
Berlin to organize a Sunday-school. It failed, but the good 
woman caught the idea and spirit of the work, invited in her 
friends for teachers, and the youth as pupils, and still le- 
mains the successful superintendent of a large and flourishing 
scliool. Similar incidents occurred in various places. 

Although Germany is the home of music, l.er i eligiou.s 
songs, for adults and children alike, were in heavy chorals. 
Mr. Woodruff urged repeatedly that the Sunday-schools 
must be enlivened by the introduction of the American soul- 
stin-ing melodies, but met the reply " that would not be Ger- 
man, and cannot be." " But," he insisted, "these melodies 
have stirred the whole religious world through the Sunday- 
schools." " No matter," was the answer, " they are only fit 
for our beer-shops; nay, it was thence you Americans and 
English imi)orted them." "But," returned Mr. Woodruff. 
" we have baptized them; and your own Luther says: the devil 
must not have all of the best music." A visit to the great 
organist, Haupt, won from him the opinion that "religious 
worship by children was most appropriately performed in 
melodies," which he consented might be publi-shed in the 
children's paper, althougli, as he said, "it will bring the 
musical wrath of Germany upon me." Marx, the great, 
vocalist, approved the religious melodies like "There is a 
happy land," which was soon published in Die Sonntaij--^- 
schule, with the tune also of " I want to be an angel;" and 
now the children throughout Germany, where there are to-day 
about 3,000 schools, 30,000 teachers, and 300,000 scholars, arc 



1094 



HISTORY OF KlJSrOS COUNTY. 



singing Sunday-school melodies. Money was needed for the 
support of the Sabbath-school paper. " Could it be raised in 
Berlin V" '• No, not in all Germany," was the reply. " Ger- 
mans do not give money to such things." But a few days' 
effort, and the help of some English architects, procured the 
necessary funds, and to-day the paper is more than self-sus- 
taining. Mr. AVoodnitT remained longer in Germany than in 
any of the other European countiies, because of the import- 
ance of tlie fie)d. The geographical position of Germany, her 
political prominence and influence, the extent and proft)und- 
iiess of her literature, her increasing commerce and her insti- 
tutions generally, are all favorable for a restoration of those 
evangelical principles which once placed her in the front rank 
of refornaing nations. 

In Holland, a great deal of interest was felt upon the sub- 
ject. One lady had just published, at her own expense, a 
Sabbath-school hymn book, containiug some twenty tunes, 
but not one of them had a note iu it shorter than the semi- 
breve. A large and influential assemblage gathered in 
Amsterdam and resolutions were passed, since pretty well 
kept, that Sabbath-schools should be introduced into every 
city and village iu Holland. At Rotterdam, a Ralibath-school 
was established in the same room where the meeting was 
held. While these meetings were held iu the evenings, the 
days were pleasantly and profitably spent with groups of 
earnest individuals, anxious to learn all that could be known 
by di scription of these schools. A Sunday-school Union is 
now at work in Holland to give the system to the Nether- 
lands, where the seeds of civil and religious liberty were 
germinated for the blessing of mankind. 

In Switzerland, Mr. Woodruff found that rationalism had 
spread like a blight over the land of Zuingle and Calvin. 
Through his exertions, several well-organized schools were 
established. There a Union committee was enabled, with the 
help of Rev. Mr. Jaulmes-Cook and his good lady, to extend 
Sabbath-schooU over the Canton de Vaud and afterwards 
over other parts of Switzerland. In Geneva, was organized 
a school of more than a hundred boys and girls, superin- 
tended by the pious and gifted wife of Merle d'Aubigne, the 
liistoiian of the Reformation. Later, the Sabbath-school 
Union was placed among the National Societies, and its 
meetings called together one of the largest religious assem- 
blies in Switzerland. 

Mr. Woodruff's return to America in no degree diminished 
his interest in the foreign work that had been so happily 
begun, and he was appointed by the Board of the American 
Foreign and Christian Union an Associate Secretary, with 
special reference to the Sabbath-school Department which 
they crea'.ed at the same time. 

The value placed on Mr. Woodruff's labors by those among 
whom he labored is best shown by the spontaneous utter- 
ances of various Continental speakers at the Sabbath-school 
Centennial, held in London in 1880. 

Dr. J. Prochnow, of Berlin, traced the rise of secular Sun- 
day-schools in Germany, from the Revolution, through the 
age of Voltaire, when they died out. He told how, through a 
long and dark period, the nation passed, till Mr. Woodruff 
came, and enlisting the sympathy of three clergymen, started 
the organization that, in spite of much difficulty and oppo- 
sition has kept on growing until the present day, as shown 
by statistics below. 

Speaking of Sunday-schools in France, Rev. H. Paumier 
said: "Since the fii"st visit of our dear friend, Mr. Woodruff, 
there are 1,115 schools in France, with more than 40,000 chil- 
dren." Rev. Mr. Brockelmann, from Germany, said: "For 
many years it was considered highly improper in German)' 
for anybody but clergymen and school-masters to explain 



the Bible to children; but, in 1863, a Sundaj-jchool man 
from the new world, Mr. Albert Woodruff of Brooklyn, 
came over to Germany and blew the trumpet of Sunday- 
schools from one end of the country to the other, stirring, 
cheering, explaining all about the system, how to start a 
Sunday-school and so on. Mr. Woodruff was a ijractical 
Christian. He resembled those heroes in history who 
conquered the world, because they did not come before 
their time nor behind then- time, but just at the right 
time. Meanwhile, Mr. Woodruff succeeded in establishing 
the Foreign Sunday-school Association at Brooklyn, which 
had afforded most useful help by appointing the ladies of 
their committee to keep up a most encouraging correspond- 
ence with German Sunday-school teachers, and to assist 
them when needed. Next to our gracious Lord, Germany 
owes the mtroduction of Sunday-schools to Mr. Albert 
Woodruff, and to the Sunday-school Union of England." 

Said Pastor Basche: ' While at the baths in Bohem'a for my 
health, I became acquainted with an American family who 
told me of a girl who was very fond of Sunday-schools. 
Some weeks afterwards I received a letter from the young 
lady herself,, urging on me the duty of establishing a Sun- 
day-school. Afterwards she wrote again, and at length 1 
determined to make the attempt. We established one Sun- 
day-school, and the Lord has been with us." 

At another time. Dr. Prochnovr, from Berlin, paid a tribute 
of praise to the work that was done by Mr. Woodruff, 
stating that when he went to Germany some year's ago, 
there were only three clergymen to look after the children, 
whereas, on a recent Sunday, 7,000 children assembled in 
one church to celebrate the centenary." 

On Mr. Woodruff's way home from his field of labor in 
Continental Europe, he tarried awhile in London, urging the 
Sabbath-school LTnion of that city to co-operate in furnishicg 
the continent with Sunday-schools. After several interviews, 
that noble union of workers appointed nine members to co- 
operate with the American friends, who, ever afterward, have 
heartily continued their labors. 

After Mr. Woodruff's return to America, liis interest in the 
European work so auspiciously opened, led to the frequent 
interchange of letters with the newly-awakened workers 
there, which came from beyond the sea, some with joyful 
tidings, and some with appeals for help, a vast freight of 
hopes and fears. So fast did they accumulate, and in such 
diverse languages, that recourse was had to the lady teachers 
in Packer Institute, Dr. West's, and other schools, for assist- 
ance in translating and answering them. The growing in- 
terest and demands of the work, its wonderful expansion, 
necessitated the organization of a society devoted exclusively 
to the foreign Sunday-school work. Therefore, in 18G8, Mr. 
Woodruff withdrew from the Runday-School Department of 
the Foreign Christian Union, and, with other earnest friends 
of the cause, organized 

The Foreign Sunday-School Association, which was in- 
corporated April 4, 1878, with Mr. Woodruff as President, 
and a large membershiii among the best people in the cit}'. 
It aims to extend to foreign countries the institution of the 
Sabbath-school, which has quickened t'hristian faith and 
zeal so mightily in Great Britain and America. There is in 
every foreign country a scattered number, who in one way 
or another, have become Christians, and in some degree have 
yielded to convictions of self-restraint and duty. To search 
out these, wherever they are, and set them to teaching in 
cellars, parlors and garrets, or in the open air, on the 
Sunday-school theory, and finally to work with them, is the 
central idea of the Foreign Sunday-school Association. 
Written communications with these scattered workers are the 



SUNDAY-SCHOOL WORK IW BROOKLYN. 



most available means, wherefore it becomes a prominent 
aim of the Association to restore the letter-writing system 
of tlie New Testament, which is itself so largely composed of 
letters written to stir up, to exhort, to rebuke, to instruct, 
and above all, to encourage, comfort and cheer the believers 
who have jielded to the force of Truth, and started on the 
Heavenly way. 

Tiie result of its work to April, 1884, is shown iu the follow- 
ing partial statistics : In Germany and German-Switzerland, 
there are: Sunday-schools, 3,915; teachers, 17,643; scholars, 
328,677. There are 7,735 Svmday-school scholars in Italy; 
and in Bohemia, 93 schools, 225 teachers and 2,875 scholars. 
Lato statistics from t)ther foreign countries where the work 
is equally prosperous, have not yet been received. 

The officers of the Association for 1883-84 are as follows: 
President, Albert AVoodruff; Treasurer, C. B. Davenport; 
Cor. Secretaries, l^ev. O. C. Morse (Cleveland, O.), Rev. H. C. 
Woodruff (Black Rock, Ct.); Rec. S,:o., Miss M. E. Thal- 
heimer; Asst. Sec. Miss Sadie Woodruff; Sec. of Committees, 
Miss H. A. Dickinson. 

After this cursory glance at the rise and progress of the 
all-i tuportant Sunday-school uiovement in our own and in 
foreign lauds, which, it is hoped, will be of interest to the 
churches, it only remains to look briefly at the beginning and 
growth of this divine institution in the City of Brooklyn, 
with the hope that historians to come may be able to chronicle 
a future increase even more wonderful than the past growth 
of the 

Sunday-schools in Brooklyn. — From a pa])er read by Mr. 
John R. Morris, we take the following account of early 
schools in Brooklyn: 

In the Long Island Star of ]\Ian;li 20, 1816, appeared this 
advertisement: — 

'• Brooklyn SuNDiY-soHOOL. The attention of the enlight- 
ened and benevolent inhabitants of Brooklyn are particu- 
larly invited to this institution. It is now in operation; the 
number of scholars is upward of seventy. The school is un- 
der the management of four superintendents, a standing 
committee of seven, and a number of male and female teach- 
ers who have kindly volunteered their services. As it is the 
design of this institution to combine religious and moral in- 
struction with ordinary school learning, it is expected that 
parents and guardians will give proper advice to their child- 
en as to tlieir behavior at school; to forward them in study 
at home; to send them to the school in jiroper season; and 
particularly expres.s Their wishes as to what catechism they 
will have them to learn. It is requested that children may 
be sent to school .'is neat and clean as circumstances may 
permit. A subscription has lieen made to purchase a num- 
ber of books, slates, etc.; stUl they fall short. Whatever the 
citizens may contribute will be thankfully received by any 
of the subscribers. The superintendents likewise invite 
those wlio will assist as teachers to make their intentions 
known and their offer will be accepted. The average num- 
ber of children is about seventy. The managers hope to be 
able to educate a much greater number; they, therefore, re- 
quest the citizens of Brooklyn generalh- to exert their influ- 
ence with the poor especially to persuade them to send their 
children; a number of poor children will be taken from that 
most destructive of all places to the morals of 30uth — we 
. mean the street — on Sabbath-day. We ought to have ob- 
served that children are taught to spell, read and write. 
They will, likewise, be taken to such church as their parents 
may choose on the Sabbath-day." 

This document is signed by Andrew Mercein, Robert Snow, 
Joseph S. Harrison and John Murphy. 

In the school district there were 978 children between the 
agea of five and sixteen years. 

In the Star of March 25, 1816, an advertisement appeared 
as follows: — 

"Notice is berebv given that at 7 o'clock on Wednesday 
evening, 27th inst., "in the school-room of Mr. Evan Beynan, 
will be held a public meeting, at which Christians of every 



denomination in Brooklyn are invited to attend. The design 
of these meetings is to organize a rocjety in the village simi- 
lar to tlie Sunday-school Society of Now York, and the ob- 
ject of tlie society will be to establish a school in which child- 
ren or adults shall bo tau£;ht gialtiitousiv, on the Sabbath- 
day, to read the Holy Scriptures, and shall receive other re- 
ligious instruction. Monthly meetings of the society will be 
held, and quarterly meetings, at whi.'Ii reports as to the con- 
dition of the school and class'es will be given. If the scliola- s 
are disorderly or profane in their language, and if, after be- 
ing admonished, ihey continue the offense, they will be ex- 
pelled from the school." 

The officers of this society were: Joshua Sands, President: 
Andrew Mercein and Abraham Mercein. Vice-Presidents; 
Thomas Sands, Treas.; Rev. John Ireland, Sec; WilH;im 
Cornvk-ell, Robert Bache, David Anderson, Jonathan G. 
Pray, Joseph Harris, Robert Snow and Alexander Young, 
Examining Committee. 

In the Star of April 10, 1816, is tlie Constitution and By- 
laws of the Brooklyn Sunday-school Union Society, adopted 
April 6. The school was divided into classes, graduated 
according to the pupils' knowledge; first class, those who 
knew not the alphabet; second, those who could spell 
words of two or more letters; third, those who could read 
one or two syllables; fourth, those who could spell three or 
more syllables; fiftli, of those who could read sentences; 
sixth, of tlrose who were capable of reading the New Testa- 
ment. 

The school up to this time had been held in Thomas Kirk's 
printing office — a long, narrow, two-story frame edifice c^n 
the westerly side of Adams st., between Higii and Sands — 
but was afterwards removed to the district school-house. No. 
1, cor. Adams and Concord sts. Robert Snow was superin- 
tendent; succeeded by Joseph Herbert. In 1817, St. Ann's 
Sunday-school was first organized, Rev. Hugh Smith being 
Rector. The school was held in a school-house some distance 
from the church, so that it was found impracticable to con- 
tinue its sessions during the winters of 1818 and 1819, on ac- 
count of the inclement weather. Its membership in the fall 
of 1818 numbered 187; Rev. James P. L. Clarke, Superin- 
tendent. Rev. H. W. Onderdonk, D. D., who was Rector of 
St. Ann's from December, 1819, to October, 1827, was not an 
advocate of the Sunday-school, so after a few years the 
school was discontinued. He had regular catechetical in- 
struction of the children of the parish on Sunday afternoons. 
After his resignation. Rev. Mr. Mcllvaine became Rector in 
1828. On Sunday, May 11th, the school was opened in the 
Dutch Consistoiy rooms, on Middagh st. Fourteen adults 
and twenty children assembled at the first session. 

May 13th the Constitution and By-laws were adopted, in 
part, as follows; " This school shall consist of male and 
female scholars four years old and upwards. Its object shall 
be to instruct youth in the knowledge of God's word, and it 
shall embrace children of all classes without distinction. 
Yearly selections of Scriptures and catechetical lessons shall 
he arranged by the Rector and the Superintendents for the use 
of the school, so that every class of readers shall receive in- 
struction in the same lesson and at the samj time." 

May 13th, Frederick T. Peet was elected Superintendent; 
George A. Bartow, Secretary, and a committee of seven were 
chosen to look after the school. As it increased, it was 
found necessary to look for new quarters. The vestry ap- 
pointed a committee, consisting of Messrs. Bache and Van 
Bokelin, to co-ojierate with tlae committee from the Sunday- 
school, and the property cor. Washington and Prospect sts. 
was bought. A building was erected which cost about 
$1,500 and occupied in 1829. Frederick T. Peet was superin- 
tendent from 1828 to 1845, and A. D. Matthews from 1845 to 
Oct. 30, 1870, when old St. Ann's School was closed. The 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



present Superinteudent of St. Ann's Sunday-school is Mayor 
Low. 

Before dismissing the subject of the early organization of 
this Pchool, it may be interesiing to (juote one of the rules, 
whicli provided that ' ' No teacher shall appear with a rod or 
cane in his or her class, but order shall bo maintained in the 
several classes by the most temperate means. They shall 
deliver over disorderly scholars to the superintendents." 

In 1824, the only Sunday-school was the School Union, cor. 
Adams and Concord sts. It ii supposed that this school was 
in existence until 1824, when the various denominations sep- 
arated and organized schools in their different churches. As 
most of those engaged ia llie Union School were Methodists, 
it has been allowei that Sands St. is the oldest school, but its 
o:irly records were destroyed i i the great fire. The Superiii- 
t;\ndent3 have been: Robert Snow; Joseph Herbert; Thomas 
Mercein; M. F. Odell (died Juno 13, 186G); John Collier 
to Jan. 21, 1867; S. U. F. Odell (died May 6, 1875); Samuel S. 
Utter, until May 15, 1877; Henry G. Fay, until Feb. 19, 1878; 
AVm. I. Preston and John M. Espencheid, from Oct. 24, 1882. 

In 1819, Mr. Nebemiah Denton org. a Sunday-school in the 
kitchen adjoining his dwelling, near the old Yellow Mill on 
Gowanus creek, which was removed after a year or two to 
the school-house at the foot of the Post Road, cor. of Gow- 
anus lane; it merged in the school on Third ave. and after- 
wards in what is now the Twelfth St. Church. This school 
still has the old banner painted in 1829. Between tlie years 
1822 and 1827, schools were also formed in the school-house 
at lower Gowanus, at the foot of Pope's Lane, with Albert 
Van Brunt. Sujierintendent; also one in the school-house at 
Bedford, and another in the school-house at Wallabout. 
There was also a school for a few years in the old lecture- 
room of the First Reformed Ch., then in Middagh st., where 
Public School No. 8 now is. 

In 1829, the First Reformed Dutch Church built a frame 
lecture-room on Joralemon street, in the rear of the City 
Hall, in wliich a Sunday-school was organized, witli Andrew 
Hegeman, Superintendent, till 1839; Samuel Smith and Mar- 
tinus Schoonmaker, Assistant Superintendents; Thos. Hege- 
man, Sec'y; Mrs. Mary Van Brant, Female Superintendent, 
and Miss Harriet Silliman, assistant. Among tlie teachers 
were: John W. and Archibald T. Lawrence, James M. Duf- 
field, Abraham J. Beekman, John D. Prince, Joseph Hege- 
man, iMiss Mary Moon, Miss Alice and Miss Cornelia Moon, 
Miss Aurilia Silliman and others. Other superintendents: A. 
J. Beekman, till 1848; Samuel Sloan, Roswell Graves, Stephen 
H. Wheeler, Henry D. Van Or Jen, till 1865; Bookman, 1865-8; 
Gustavus A. Brett, Henry V. Gilbert, Mervin Rushmore, 
William H. Dike, Frederick B. Schenck, Rev. S. S. Wood- 
hull, Abraliam Remsen, David Anderson and Abraham Van- 
derveer, members of First Reformed Church, were workers 
in the old Union School in Adams street. Mr. Beekman com- 
menced his Sunday-school work in 1820 in a wheelwright shop 
in Greggstown, Somerset county, New Jersey, established to 
teach slaves; in 1828, lie removed to Brookhm. The Central 
Dutch Reformed Sunday-school was organized in 1837, and 
when the Reformed Church on the Heights was built, the 
school was re-organized. East (now Bedford) Reformed 
Sunday-School was organized in 1854. Isaac Brinkerhoff was 
Superintendent in 1858. This school afterwards moved from 
its old building to one nearly opposite on Bedford avenue. 
The present Superintendent is 5Ii-. Henry Howland. The 
Xorth Reformed Sunday-school, Clermont avenue, was or- 
ganized in 1851, with E. S. Potter, Superintendent for many 
years. The Twelfth Street Reformed was formerly on Third 
avenue and Twenty-third street. It has now a membership 
of 1,400; Mr. C. H. Buckley, superintendent. 



The First Presbyterian School was organized in a building 
on the site of the lecture-room of Plymouth Church, :"n 1824. 
Many of the teachers and scholars had been in t'le Union 
School. The first Sujierintendent was Nathan W. Sanford. 
Miss Margaret Cunningham, was Assistant Superintendent; 
Marvin McNulty, Secretary. The school used t') unite with 
the schools in New York, on anniversary day, at Castle 
Garden. The Superintendents were: Professor Greenleaf, 
R. J. Thorn, George B. Ripley. Robprt C. O.^don and E. S. 
Potter. Mr. R. D. Dodge is now Sui)eiintendeut. 

In 1838, owing to a division in the church, another school 
was organized, called the First Presbyterian Sunday-school. 
It was on the corner of Pineapple and Fulton streets, but 
moved afterward to the corner of Remsen and Clinton streets. 

Nov. 13th, 1831, a colony went out from the first church 
and organized a church, and afterwards a Sunday school, 
known as the Second Presbyterian School. The school met 
in Classical Hall, Washington street, near Concord. John 
Morris was Superintendent, assisted by John Alexander; Sir. 
Henry Hadden, Secretary; James Spies, librarian; willi 
eighteen teachers; and at the first session there wei'e eighteen 
scholars. About 1832, it moved to Gothic Hall, Adams street, 
between Nassau and Concord streets; and in 1835 moved to 
Clinton street, junction of Fulton. Rev. Dr. Sjjencer became 
Pastor of this church in 1832. Among those who have acted 
as Superintendents of this school are: John Wright, Charles 
Clark, Myron Goodman, Andrew A. Smith and Jasper 
Corning. 

When this school united with the Third Presbyterian, Jlr. 
AV. H. Hurlbut became Superintendent, and remained so 
until his death. It was united with the Clinton Street Prcs- 
by,.erian, 1883, and known as the Second Presbyterian. 

In 1831, another school was organized in Nassau street, 
corner Hudson avenue. W. H. Hurlbut, with a few others, 
left the First Presbyterian Sunda5--school, which aftervvards 
became the Third Presbyterian Church and school. Mr. 
Hurlbut then connected himself with that church, and be- 
came the Superintenilent of the school. 

The First Presbyterian was organized about 1841. It occu- 
pied the building corner Willoughby and Pearl streets, where 
Joseph Hegeman's auction-room now is. In 1847, this school 
was disbanded. 

In 1835, the first mission school was organized. Mr. John 
Morris, who organized the Second Presbyterian Sunday- 
school, leased the ground (where Prince street now is) of 
Messrs. Sackett & Fleet. A school-house seating 250 was 
built on it, costing about |500. Myrtle avenue was not then 
cut through, and there was not a house within a quarter of a 
mile. Tlie school was opened July 19, 1835; Mr. Morris was 
its first Superintendent. It was known as the Prince Street 
Mission Sunday-school, and was under the care of the Second 
Presbyterian Church. For the first three or four years, how- 
over, it was mainly supported by voluntary contributions. 
The first teachers were: Daniel Colt, James B. Cochran, Isaac 
Jaques, Augustus Butler. Elias Edwards, Joseph W. Camp- 
bell, James Lawson, William Phraner, Louis Wheaton, Mrs. 
Elizabeth Wheaton, Miss Sarah Smith, Elizabeth and Maria 
Campbell, Mrs. S. A. Butler, Sarah and Jane Wheaton. Two 
years later Mr. Morris retired, and Mr. Augustus Butler was 
elected; in 1842, Mr. C. C. Mudge succeeded him. 

After MjTtle avenue and the other streets were cut through, 
the building was moved to Myrtle avenue, between Prince 
and Carll streets. 

In 1847, a building was erected in Prince street, now known 
as Siloam Presbyterian Church, in which the Central Presby- 
terian Church was organized, the teachers and scholars mov- 
ing from the old school-house. 



SUNDAY-SCHOOL WORK IW BROOKLYN: 



1097 



The church known as the Fifth Presbyterian, corner Wil- 
loughby and Peaal, was offered to the Central Society for 
$5,000, and was bought. Preaching services commenced 
there in April. Rev. N. C. Locke was the first Pastor. The 
school flourished under the administration of Mr. Mudge, 
Rev. Mr. Sloan and others. Finally, the building was sold, 
and scliool and cliurch moved to Schermerhorn street, occu- 
pying a temporary building, corner State and Nevins street, 
until the Tabernacle was built, of wliich Rev. Dr. Talniage is 
Pastor. From the Prince Street Mission many teachers have 
gone out and organized other schools and churches. 

In 1842, Rev. Jonathan Greenleaf organized a school iu the 
Wallaliout in Franklin avenue, now known as the Franklin 
Avenue Presbyterian Sunday-school. 

In 1840, a mission-school was organized in Pacific street, 
which afterwards became the South Presbyterian Church. 

Of the schools of the Baptist denomination, the first is the 
First Baptist, organized in 1824, holding its sessions in the 
public school building on Middagh street, on the site now 
occupied by school No. 8, also in jiublio school building, first 
district, corner Concord and Adams streets. The first youths' 
missionary society organized in connection with the school 
was in 1831. Officers: Pres., Robert Raymond; Vice-Pres., 
Elijah Lewis; Sec, Alexander Lewis; Treas., Joseph Kutz. 

In June, 1873, the school and the Pierrepont street Baptist 
were united, adding about 120 teachers and scholars. The first 
Superintendent was Eliakim Raymond. He served two 
years, succeeded by the following persons: Elijah Lewis, 
John Bigelow, John Clark, E. L. Brown, Isaiah \V. Raymond, 
Sylvanus White, D. W. C. Taylor, J. D. Reid, H. C. S. Jervis, 
J. W. S. Harding, and at present H. C. S. Jervis is Superin- 
tendent. In the early history of the school, it occupied the 
building in Pearl street, where the Jewish Synagogue now is. 
Pierrepont Street Baptist Sunday-school was organized in 1838. 
This church organized a mission in South Brooklyn, from 
which sprung the Strong Place Baptist Sunday-school; it also 
had a mission in John street for many years. After a number 
of yeai's strong Place Baptist established a mission in Colum- 
bia, street, near Hamilton avenue, now known as the Taber- 
nacle Baptist; also a mission-school in Gowanus, now known 
as Greenwood Baptist. The Tabernacle Baptist started a 
mission in Hamilton avenue, which, after a few yeai-s, dis- 
banded. Strong Place Baptist now supports a mission called 
Carroll Park. Hanson Place Baptist was organized in 1853; 
it first met iu Atlantic avenue, near Fourth. East Brooklyn 
Baptist was organized in 1846. The Pierrepont Street Bap- 
tist established mission-schools and w^as the means of organ- 
izing large churches in South Brooklyn. The largest school 
in that denomination is the Marcy Avenue Baptist. 

York Street M. E. Sunday-school was organized in 1830. A 
Mr. Booth was the first Superintendent, succeeded by Alfred 
Mulford, George Hunt, Hon' Samuel Booth, Joshua Rogers, 
Jr., and others. Samuel Booth was Superintendent thirty- 
nine years, leaving York st., in 1858, to take charge of Han- 
son Place M. E. Hon John French was Superintendent of 
Hanson Place for nearly twent\--five years. 

\Vashin(jton St. was the third Methodist school organized. 
Judge Dykeman took an active part in the work, and Jere- 
miali Mundell N\as never absent from school but twice in 
twenty years. 

After 1832, schools began to multiply. The first Congrega- 
tional school was the Pilgrim. In 1846, a school was org. in 
the Mariners' Clim-ch, Main st., near Front, an old wooden 
building. Mr. John P. Elwell was the first Superintendent, 
and the school moved from there to the old Fulton Market, 
James st., in 1844, and this school is now the Bethel in 
Hicks st. 



The Navy Mission was situated on the comer of Green lane 
and Front st. Wlien it was first started, so strong was the 
opposition that, when meetings were held on Sunday even- 
ings, it was hardly safe to pass through the street. Stones 
would often be thrown against the door. Members of the 
Second Presbyterian Church would stand outside the door to 
watch the boys. 

The first Unitarian, school was in 1838 ; the Universalist 
about the same time; the first Roman Catholic in 1828. There 
are five Jevyish schools, numbering about one thousand 
scholars. 

The first Lutheran Sunday -scliool was started in AVilliams- 
burgh, in 1847. The Moravian Sunday-school was organized 
in 1854. In 1853 in a small cottage, near where the present 
chapel of Lee Avenue Congregational now stands, was or- 
ganized the Lee Avenue Reformed Sunday-school. There 
were no houses in the vicinity for a mile or more ; on 
either side open fields met the eye. The beginning was 
feeble, consisting of three teachers and eight scholars. The 
whole enterprise grow slowly for the first two years, when, 
in 1858, it numbered 1,350, officers and teachers, Mr. Jere- 
miah Johnson, Jr., being its Supt. They were the first 
schools that had class banners. So noted was this school that 
strangers came to visit it. 

St. John's P. E. Sunday-school was org. in 1827, in Mr. 
Kingsley's school-room, Adams St., near Johnson. Judge 
Morse was Supt., and John T. Moore, Sec'.v. Some of the 
teachers were: Mr. William Hunter, Hon. John W. Hunter, 
John H. Baker, Miss Hester Strang, Misses Ryerson, Rowley, 
and Moysers; and some of the scholars, John Folk, John 
Wiggins, Dr. Watson, Samuel Booth, Stephen Kidder, 
Howard C. Cady, Mrs. Alfred Emanuel. That jear they 
joined the schools in celebrating the anniversary at Castle 
Garden. Tlie banner carried on that occasion was a white 
silk one, having the picture of an open Bible. 

In 1828, they moved to the new school-room, corner John- 
son and Washington sts. About two hundred scholars were 
then in attendance. The following persons have been Super- 
intendents : Rev. D. V. 51. Johnson, Rev. Henry Spafard, 
Mr. S. D. C. Van Bokelin, up to the time of their removal 
from Johnson st. to St. John's place. 

The second school of St. Ann's was organized August 80, 
1830; Mr. Charles Gongdon, Supt; Mr. Wm. H. Carter, Sec'y, 
with twelve teachers. In 1845, Rev. Charles Bancroft was 
Supt; H. P. Morgan, Sec'y; Henry G. Nichols, Librarian; and 
Abraham Halsey, Asst. Librarian. 

Kings County Sunday-School Union, organized 1829. — In 
the Long Island Star of April 8, 1829, mention is made of a 
meeting iu the Apprentices' Librar}^ held the 6th inst., when 
it was determined to establish a Sunday-school society for 
Kings county, auxiliary to the Southern Sunday-School 
Union of New York. The following gentlemen were elected 
Officers: Nehemiah Denton, Pres.; J. Terhune, N. W. San- 
ford, Vice-PresV s ; Rev. E. 51. Jolmson, Sec; Abraham Van- 
derveer, Treas. Managers : For Brooklyn, Rev. Mr. Rouse, 
Rev. Sir. Carroll, Eliakim Raymond, Adrian Hegeman, 
Henry White; Flatbush, Rev. Mr. Strong, John Lefferts, Dr. 
Vander\-eer; Flatlands, Rev. Mr. Crookshank, David Neefus, 
James Remsen; Qravcseml, Bernardus C. Lake, John S. Gar- 
ritson ; Bushwick, Rev. Mr. Jleeker, Peter WyckofE, James 
Halsey; Neiv Lots, John Williamson, Jno. Vanderveer; New 
Utrecht, Rev. Mr. Beattie and M. j\llen; also the gentlemen 
who are Superintendents of schools, in connection with 
American Sunday-School Union, are also ex-officers and 
managers. 

In the Star of June 20, 1830, notice is given of a meeting 
of the Kings County Sunday-School Union, at Flatbush. 



1098 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



The churcli was crowded with the scholars and teachers 
and friends, banners hung around the church, and a proces- 
sion of 600 children took place. 

June 3, 1830, a public meeting was held in the Sunday- 
school room of St. Ann"s Church, for the purpose of estab- 
lishing an African Infant Class Association. The object was 
to establish an infant school for African children. P. W. 
Radclifif was Pres. ; F. C. Tucker and Robert Snow, Vice- 
Prest's; W. H. Van Sinderen, Sec; Charles J. Aiding, Treas, 
and fourteen Directors. The first colored school oiganized 
was in High st. Tlierc arc now iibout ten colored schools. 

Sunday-school Statistics for 1883. — There are 279 Sunday- 
schools in Kings county, containing a total membershij) of 
100,597 officers, teachers, and scholars. These schools are 
divided as follows: Presbyterian, 30; Reformed, 33; Baptist, 
34; Congregational, 28; Methodist, 61; Protestant Episcopal, 
47; Reformed Episcopal, 3; Lutheran and Evangelical, 15; 
Friends. 2; Moravian, 1, Christian, 3; Union Mission, 15; 
Unitarian, 4; Universalist, 3; Reformed Catholic, 1. The 
total average attendance of the schools for the full term was 
57,762, and the number of conversions or confirmations, 
2,676. The moneys contributed during the year by various 
schools, for benevolent and other purposes, amounted to 
$81,589.80, the Methodist giving the largest part or |17,303.09 
of that sum. The fifteen Union Mission Schools gave 
§3,417.95 during the same period. 

The following are some of the veterans in Sunday-school 
service in Kings county: 

Andrew A. Smith.— Born at Berlin, Ct., 1817; came to 
New York in 1834, and entered Dr. Erskine Mason ".s Pros. 
Sunday-school; visited Grand Rapids, Mich., in 1836; no 
Sunday-school, and stores open on Sundays; established a 
Sunday-school in store loft, also a Sabbath service, reading- 
room, etc., and very soon gathered a regular congregation; 
a church was org. and jjastor called; tlie place grew to be a 
moral, religious community, now a large city noted for 
churches, etc. ; returned to Brooklyn in 1838; was a teacher in 
Dr. Spencer"s Church and Mission School; while teaching a 
Bible class was called persistently to take charge of Bethel 
Mission Sunday-school (now Bethel of Plymouth Church): in 
this work fifteen years; left Bethel to build uj) City Park 
Mission, now in Concord st., where, after a year or two, he 
broke in health, and was compelled to leave and rest from all 
Sunday-school work. 

He was President of the Brooklyn Sunday-school Union 
some twenty years; also President of ths Hamilton Literary 
Association, and aided to organize the Young Men's Christian 
Association ; was its first president for three years; also 
aided in organizing State Sunday-school Convention; was 
elected Superintendent of Dr. Duryea's Church Sunday-school; 
employed there some two years, and then in prison-work 
three or four years, till seized with rheumatic fever con- 
tracted there; is now Supt., and active in the Chinese mission- 
school on DeKalb ave. 

AzEL D. Matthews.— Born in Hinsdale, Mass., 1809; when 
the Sunday-school was first introduced, in 1820, he became a 
scholar in the Congregational Church. In 1828, came to this 
city and connected himself with the church and Sunday-school 
of the First Pres. Church, in Cranberry st. In 1833 removed 
church and school relations to St. Ann's Prot. Ei>is. Church, 
continuing there as teacher and Superintendent until 1872; 
then removed to St. Peter's Epis. Church, and now is teacher 
of a young men's Bible class, not having left the Sunday- 
school since 1830. He has been a manager of the Brooklyn 
Sunday-school Union since its organization; was Vice-Presi- 
dent of the Union for a number of years; was foremost in the 



organization and support of the State Sunday-school Associa- 
tion, and County Secretary for a number of years. 

Charles C. Mudqe. — Born in 1806; in 1837 ho entered the 
Sunday-school as a teacher of one of the younger classes; 
this school was situated in the rear of the Quaker Meeting- 
house in Rose st., New York City, his class being composed 
of three colored persons — father, son, and grandson — all 
learning their letters; about two years later lie entered the 
Sunday-school of Dr. Romeyn's Cedar St. Pres. Church, 
where he continued as scholar, Ass't I^ibrarian and teacher 
until 1830, when he took a class in a mission school in 
Duane st., near Church. In 1841 he entered the Prince 
Street Mission Sunday-school, Brooklyn, connected with 
the Rev. Dr. Spencer's Second Pres. Church; this was 
the first 7mssion-school started in Brooklyn, and was 
originated by Mr. John Morris ; he was Superintend- 
ent from 1843 until the school developed into the Cen- 
tral Pres. Church (1847), now the Tabernacle, and con- 
tinued as its Superintendent until 1856; shortly after this he 
.started a niission-scliool at 317 Altantic st., and now known 
as the Pacific Street Chapel, under the care of Dr. Van Dyke's 
Church; resigned in 1863, on account of ill health. 

In the fall of 1866 he entei'ed a mission-school connected 
with Dr. Cuyler's Church, now the Memorial Presbyterian; 
he continued as Superintendent about two years after the 
church was organized; was one of the managers of the 
Sunday-school Union almost uninterruptedly since its organi- 
zation; early in its history he was Recording Secretary, and at 
a later period for many years its Treasurer; he died in 1883. 

John R. Morris. — Born in New York City, 1833; entered 
the Sunday-school of the First Pres. Church, Brooklyn, in 
1828: took a olass in Prince Street Mission 1843; in 1853 was 
elected Secretary of the Brooklyn Sunday-school Unio)i ; the 
management then was by an Executive Committee, consist- 
ing of one from each denomhiation; subsequently the Board 
was increased to 33 members, and then to 36, and he served 
as Assistant Secretary; in 1868 was elected one of the 
Managers, and in 1873 its Recording Secretary; has been 
County Secretary over eight years; has been gathering 
statistics for thirty years, and Secretary of the State Con- 
vention six years; was a scholar when there were but six 
Sunday-schools in Brooklyn; was one of the visitors when 
all Brooklyn was districted out for systematic visitation, 
twenty-five years ago, when every house was visited to see 
who attended Sunday-school and who did not; he is still one 
of the Managers of the Sunday-school Union, and its Record- 
ing Secretary, and County Secretary vinder the State Asso- 
ciation of Sunday-school Teachers. 

Rev. Samuel Bayliss came to Brooklyn, in 1853, as Pastor 
of the Warren St. Mission, formerly a Sunday-school which 
met in Freeman's Hall (cor. of Columbia and Amity sts.), 
the school became a church, with a membership of o^er 175, 
He was always present at the sessions of the school and at the 
weekly teachers' meetings, and also habitually attended the 
meetings of the Brooklyn Sunday-school Union. In 1868 or 
1870, he became Secretary and Manager of the Association 
for Improving the Condition of the Poor. His death took 
place Feb. 12, 1879, in his 68th year. Mr. Bayliss frequently 
visited the Sunday-schools of the city. His son, Benj. Bayliss, 
was President of Brooklyn Sunday-school Union, from 1877 
to 1883; is still a Manager; has been for 13 years Supt. of the 
Memorial Presbyterian Sunday-school of Brooklyn. He 
worked with his father many years as Superintendent of the 
Warren St. Mission, 



SUNDAY-SCHOOL WORK IX BROOKLYN: 



Jeebmiah Johnson, Jr., born June 37th, 1837, at the 
Wallabout, Brooklyn; he is the son of Barnet Johnson and 
the grandson of Gen. Jeremiah Johnson. May 1st, 1853, he 
org. the Lee Ave. Sunday-school in a small cottage in the 
vacant lots, cor. Bedford ave. and Hewes st., with three 
teachers and 8 scholars. During his thirteen years' ser\-ice 
as Superintendent, he was absent but four Sundays. He 
witnessed the growth of the Sunday-school from eight to two 
thousand scholars, and the erection of the present commodious 
and substantial buildings, largely through his own efforts 
and liberality. He was Supt. of the First Pres. Sunday- 
school, Rahway, N. J., for six years. He was Supt. of the 
Madison Ave. Ref. Sunday-school for three years, from Dec, 
1873, and secured the erection of a fine Sunday-school room 
on 57th street. 

He was elected Supt. of the Brooklyn Tabernacle Sunday- 
school (Rev. Dr. TalmaRp'o): served two years and then in 
October, 1883, resigned to become Supt. of the Lee Ave. Sun- 
day-school, then somewhat demoralized, but now numbering 
1,500. Mr. Johnson is a man remarkable for activity and 
energy, which he has a great faculty of infusing into his 
Sunday-school work. 

William M. Pibrson. — Born 1808, in Westfield, N. J.; his 
first recollection of the Sunday-school is the gathering of a 
class of six on Sunday afternoon, his mother — the teacher — 
and four brothers and one sister, forming it, the Bible and 
the "Westminster Shorter Catechism the text-books: in 1829 
entered tlie York Street Methodist Sunday-school as a 
teacher; in 1835 connected himself with the Prince Street 
Mission; continued here until the Central Pres. Church was 
organized, Sept. 5, 1847, and in this school (now the Taber- 
nacle) he has continued up to the present time; Superintend- 
ent one and one-half years; teacher of Bible class; had charge 
for four or five years of tlie .Sunday-scliool of the Protestant 
Orphan Asylum, in Cumberland st. 



Henky R. Pieecy. Born in 1798; in 1826 entered the 
Sunday-school Union School, held in district school-house on 
Concord st. ; this school consisted of members of the different 
evangelical denominations; it soon became too large for the 
building, and it was deemed advisable to separate and have 
the schools in their respective churches; he was Superin- 
tendent of Sunday-schools thirty-six years; is now teaching 
in the Union Congregational Church, State st. 

Samuel L. Parsons.— Born 1817, in West Springfield, Mass. ; 
entered Sunday-school in 1837 or 1838; removed to Marshall, 
Mich., in 1837, where he was Secretary of a Sunday-school; 
for two years he occupied similar i)Osltions in Pahuyra, Mo.; 
for two years from 1843 he did tlie same work iu Springfield, 
Mass. ; in 1845 he was for four years .Secretary and Superin- 
tendent; removed to Brooklyn in 1851; served twenty years 
as Supt. of Church schools, and five in a mission school; was 
President of the Sunday-school Union from 1867 to 1869. 
During this period he spent all liis Sabbaths iu visiting the 
schools of the Union. In 1S79 Im opened a scliool for the 
Chinese in rooms of A^oung Men's Christian ^Association, 
where he gathered a goodly number of Chinamen to study 
the Bible. 

Israel A. Barker.— Born in New York City 1820; entered 
the Sunday-school of the Willet Street M. B. Church in 1837; 
came to Brooklyn in 1842, and joined the Centenary M. E. 
Sunday-school; was teacher and secretary until 1848, when, 
with about one hundred otliers, left the M. E. Church and 
organized a Congregational Metliodist Clmrcli, corner Law- 
rence and Tillary sts., where lie served as trustee of the 
church and secretary of tlie .Sunday-school; went into the 
Sunday-school and became Superintendent till 1865; was 
elected one of the Managers of the Brooklyn Sunday-school 
Union iu 1863; now belongs to the Park Congregational 
Churcli, and teacher of a class of young ladies, and still one 
of the Managers of the Sunday-school Union, 



TlIK old .Siiyilain house, of which a cut is given here- 
with, is still standing, in good repair, and occupied 
as a residence by Hon. A. M. Suydara. It is on the 
corner of Evergreen and Woodbine avenues, and wis 
probably built in the early part of the last ceiituiA 
since it was considered an old house in 1760, when Jacoli 
Suydam bought the farm on which it stood, and he ic 
shingled and repaired it then. During the Revolutionaiy 
War it was used by the British troops as their winter quai 
ters for a time. It is built of stone gathered from thi 
surrounding fields, which are covered with cement. Th< 
door is in two sections, an upper and a lower. The ^n 
dows have the small lights and heavy sash of the olden 
lime. It was erected in the clearing, before any roads weiL 
laid out in that part of Bushwick; afterwards the old 
" Bushwick road," now Evergreen avenue, was put through 
from the little village beside East River to Platbush 
The old house has been the home of three gcnerixtions ( I 
Suydams. (See biography of A, M. Suydam, page iiOl.) 




ULD DUVUAil HObs-b. 



MISSIONARY. BIBLE. TRACT 

AND 

OTHER ORGA-NIZATIONS 

FOR CHRISTIAN WORK. 



THE practical fniits of Christianity are seen in the many 
charities of the city, and the benevolent organizations 
which look after the spiritual and temporal welfare 
of the needy. Brooklyn, "the city of churches," 
is well supplied with these charitable societies. One of the 
oldest is 

The Brooklyn City Mission and Tract Society, which 
was organized July 33, 182!). in tlio Apprentices' Library. It 
is wholly undenominational, and has steadily pursued its 
work of ministering to tlie spiritual, and often to the tempo- 
ral, wants of the destit-ute. Up to 1848 the Society main- 
tained its existence only by hard struggles. 

From that time new efforts were made bj' its friends to 
enlarge its resources, and extend its operations. The follow- 
ing year three missionaries were employed , the numljer of 
visitors was increased to 354, and tlie collections amounted to 
$3,134.46. In 18.50, four missionaries were employed, with 
407 visitors, and |3,011.48 were received into the treasury. 
In 1858, the constitution was amended, and the society was 
named, in accordance with what it had in fact become, " The 
Brooklyn L'ity Mission and Tract Society." The employment 
of missionaries, in distinction from the simple circulation of 
religious tracts, became thenceforth its principal work; and 
the happj' effect of the change upon its resources and opera- 
tions, and on the interest felt in it by tlie churches, at once 
became apparent. It has since gone on with continually in- 
creasing prosperity and power. The first number of its 
journal was issued in Januar}', 1862 

The society has had as Presidents : Rev. (since Bishop) C. 
P. Mcllvaine, 1829-'33; Rev. I. S. Spencer, D. D., 1832-8; Rev. 
B. C. Cutler, D. D., 1838-'45; Jasper Corning, Esq., :845-'7; 
Rev. B. C. Cutler, D. D., a second time, 1847-03; Rev. R. S. 
Storrs, Jr., D. D., 1863-74; Wm. W. Wickes, Esq., 1874-80; 
Alfred S. Barnes, Esq., 1880-4. Owing to hard times, from 
1874 to 1880, the work was suspended, but; resumed in the 
latter year. Fifteen missionaries are now employed, besides 
a large number of helpers and visitors. 

In 1847 Mr. C. C. Mudge (see biography, p. 1098), became 
General Agent and missionary of this society. If the Sunday- 
school work was his hobby, the tract work was his life-work, 
to which he devoted himself with unfailing love and faith- 
fulness, winning for himself not only resiject and esteem, but 
the deep affection and love of Ids visitors and associates. 

Soon after his connection with this society, as a natural 
outgrowth of his work and the Bible work in connection with 
it, he was appointed Depositary and Secretary of the City 
Bible Society. In these two societies he served with loyalty 



and devotion, till the Master said: "Stand aside and wait 
awhile.' Then followed fovu- years of gentle submission to 
God's will, when, on the 33d of September, 1888, four days 
before the comjjletion of his 77th year, the call came and he 
entered into rest. " And his works do follow him." 

The Brooklyn City Bible Society was formed m 1841, as 
auxiliary to the Long Ishaid Bible Society. Its first Offi- 
cers were : James Ruthven, President : Edward Corning, 
David Stamford, Thomas Kirke, Geo. L. Sampson, Adrian 
Hegeman. D. H. Arnold, David Coope and J. A. Sperry, 
Vice-Presidents; Rev. M. W. Jacobus, Cor. Sec.: Henry C. 
Bowen, Rec. Sec.: Henry Young, Treas.; and a board of 
twenty managers. The first year's receipts were |469.09; 
expenditures, |406.83, and 1,701 bibles and testaments dis- 
tributed. In 1849, the Society became auxiliary to the Amer- 
ican Bible Society ; in 1848, 1856 and 1867, the whole city was 
thoroughly canvassed; and, in 1867, the affairs of the society 
were committed to the control of an executive committee of 
twenty. Presidents : Geo. L. Sampson, 1843-'3; A. R. Moen, 
1844 ; Daniel Ayres, 1854-'8 ; Chandler Storr, 1849-57 ; 
Daniel Ayres, 1857-'69 ; Richard P. Buck, 1860-'9 ; Rev. 
N. H. Schenck, D. D., 1870-3; Rev. W. I. Budington, 1873; 
Rev. David Inglis, 1874-77; Rev. Dr. A. S. Hunt, 1878-'84. 
The present Vice-Presidents are : Sidney Sanderson and 
John Barnier; Cor. Sec, Rev. Henry J. Van Dyke, D. D.; 
Treas., E. B. Wood. Mr. Chas. C. Mudge was Rec. Sec. from 
18b4 till nis aeatli. 

The Brooklyn Woman's Bible Society, auxiliary to the 
above, was founded in 1850; also a North Brooklyn Bible So- 
ciety was established in 1845. 

Brooklyn Young Men's Christian Association, designed 
to improve the siiiritual, intellectual and social condition of 
young men, to bring them under Christian influence, and to 
stimulate tlieiu to Christian effort, found inception at a 
convention of some three hundred young men connected 
with the several evangelical denominations in this city, in 
June, 1853. It was organized September 15, 1853, with two 
hundred and seven members ; a certificate of incorporation 
was filed, and a suite of rooms rented in the Washington 
Building, corner of Court and Joralemon sts., the regular 
monthly and other public meetings being held in the lecture- 
rooms of the Pilgrim Congregational Church, and the Henry 
St. Presbyterian Church. Here a library and reading-room was 
established and opened, free to all young men, irrespective 
of membership in the, association; while a Literary Society, 
course of free popular lectures by eminent speakers, monthly 
meetings for social reunions, stated conference and prayer- 



MISSIOJSTAE r AND TRACT SOCIETIES. 



meetings, educational classes, etc., lent their aid to further 
the objects of the association. In 1854, the association inter- 
ested it.self largely and practically in the work of tract dis- 
tribution and of mission-school enterprises, of which there 
were, at that time, twenty in operation in this city. In 
April, 1859, the Association removed to the Brooklyn Institute 
building, and remained until their removal, in Augvist. 1865, 
to the building on the corner of Fulton ave. and Gallatin 
place. After that time, the work of the Association, in all 
its departments, received a wonderful impetus, and its labors 
were attended witli a commensurate amount of good to the 
community. 

In August, 1872, the Association removed to the opposite 
corner of Fulton and Gallatin place, which was fitted up 
with a large gymnasium, a lecture-room seating 500, a libra- 
ry of 6,600 volumes, and a reading-room containing two 
hundred current journals and magazines, with cheerful par- 
lors, reception and class rooms. 

Of the great work that has been accomi)lished by the 
Young Men's Christian Associations in this country, the 
Brooklyn society has done its full share. It now provides a 
course of lectures, literary entertainments, instruction in 
French, German, penmanship, book-keeping, phonography, 
elocution, vocal music, and other subjects. 

In 1869, a charter was obtained, framed with a view to the 
erection of a large building for the uses of the Association, 
on the plan of tlie Cooper Institute in New York. 

The bequest of the late Frederick Marquand, Esq., gave to 
the Association $200,000 for a new building, on condition 
that the further sum of $150,000 should be raised by the 
members as an endowment for the Association. The condi- 
tion is so nearly met that plans have been adopted for a new 
building, to be erected during 1884, on Bond st., near Fulton, 
with an entrance on the latter street. It will be of brick, 
four stories and basement, 100 by 125 feet, with a 25 feet 
wide extension to Fulton, conveniently arranged and espe- 
cially adapted to the uses of the Association. 

Its Presidents have been: Andrew A. Smith, 1 853-'56 ; James 
McGee, 1856-'57; George A. Bell, 1857-'58; John M. Double- 
day, 1858-'59; Henry H. Lloyd, M. D., 1859-60; Robert S. 
Bussing, 1860-61; James M. Ives, 1861-62; O. Vincent Coffin, 
1862-63; O. Vincent Coffin, Charles A. Righter, 1863-'64; 
William Edsall, 1864-C8; Wm. W. Wickes, 1868-'69; Joseph 
T. Duryea, D. D., 1869-'70; D. G. Eaton, 1870-73; WiUiam 
Edsall, 1873-'74; D. H. Cochran and Tasker H. Marvin, 
1874-'76; D. D. McWilliams, 1876-'77; John P. Adams, 1877 
-'78; B. H. Dillingham, 1878-79; D. D. McWilliams, William 
Taylor, 1879-'80; R. Fulton Cutting, 1880-83; Edwin Pack- 
ard, 1883-'84. 

Officers, 1884: Pres., Edwin Packard; Vice-Presidents, 
Henry DaUey, Jr., F. H. Stuart, M.D.; Treas., Daniel W. 
McWilliams; AssH Treas., Henry G. Fay; Rec. Sec, F. A. 
Parsons; Oen. Sec, Thos. J. Wilkie; Ass't Sec, Wallace 
McMuUen; Librarian, J. Harry Gould. 

BOAKD OF Directors: SUas M. Giddings, Alanson Trask, 
A. A. Raven, Henry G. Fay, E. W. Hawley, Wm. Peck 
Smith, Edwin Packard, Alonzo Alford, A. J. Newton, J. 
H. Righter, M. II. Dorman, David A. Boody, F. A. Parsons, 
Willoughby Powell, Jas. R. Cowing, F. E. Bassett, Edw. A. 
Lovell, Noah Tebbetts, D. W. McWiUiams, John J. Vail, F. 
H. Stuart, M. D., A. Augustus Low, Henry Dallej', Jr., 
Oliver G. Gardner, W. P. Gill, R. E. Beers, Clias. L. Bonnell, 
M. D., Geo. F. Peabody, F. B. Schenck. 

Board of Trustees: Alanson Trask, A. S. Barnes, John T. 

Martin, Jolni A. Tucker, George I. Seney, Thomas S. Moore. 

The East Brooklyn Young Men's Christian Association, 

Library and Free Reading Room, held its first meeting, 



October 9, 1866, at the residence of Dr. Alexander Hutchins. 
Its first rooms were at 675 Myrtle avenue, whence in May, 
1868, it removed to No. 693. The first number of the East 
Brooklyn Gazette (monthly) was issued by the Association 
in October, 1867. Presidents: 1866, Alex. Hutchins, M. D.; 
October, 1867, Rev. John W. Leek; January, 1868, C. H. H. 
Pannell; March, 1868, Alex. Hutchins, M. D.; July, 1868, 
Rev. D. O. Ferris; June, 1869, Edgar A. Hutchins. 

Union for Christian Work was formed in 1866, under the 
name of the Broolchjn Liberal Christian Union, for the pur- 
pose of uniting all denominations of Christians, without ex- 
ception, in the work of mutual improvement and practical 
beneficence. It first established its head-quarters in the 
Hamilton Buildings, corner of Court and Joralenion streets, 
wliere it opened a free reading-room, with a good library of 
six hundred volumes, mostly the gifts of friends, and a large 
variety of religious and secular magazines and papers; also 
with suitable means for innocent, rational amusement. As 
the institution grew in favor with the public, it was found 
necessary to seek for it ampler accommodations. Its head- 
quarters were accordingly transferred, Feb., 1870, to the new 
and handsome edifice, known as Baxter's Building, 131 
Fulton ave., opposite Elm place, the second, third and fourth 
stories of which it devoted to the purposes of library and 
reading-rooms, and apartments for gymnastics and various 
other kinds of recreations. Tliese quarters were dedicated to 
tlie work of the union by public exercises on the evening of 
February 14, 1870, when tlie organization assumed its present 
name and adopted a new constitution. 

In the spring of 1870, the Union rented and fitted up the 
" Smith Mansion," on Smith st., near Fulton; a library and 
reading-room were jtrovided, also separate rooms for games, 
conversation and correspondence. On the second floor are 
the rooms for boys' evening school and gii-ls' sewing school. 
An employment bureau, industrial and relief departments 
have been successfully conducted, and various courses of 
lectures given from time to time. The Union is entirely un- 
sectarian and undenominational, inviting all to enter its 
membership, and at an annual fee so low as to be within the 
means of the poor. Consequently, its rooms are largely fre- 
quented by young and old, while its general operations have 
become much extended. The first Pi-esident was Isaac H. 
Frothingham; his successors have been : Robert Foster, 
Charles P. Gerrish, Ripley Ropes, Josiah B. Blossom, and 
Robert Foster; the Officers for 1883-'84 are: Robert Foster, 
Pres.; Joseph R. Blossom, Alex. Forman, Vice-Presidents; 
Wm. C. Gardner, Sec; Isaac H. Gary, Jr., Treas.; Wm. A. 
Butler, Supt. 

The German Evangelical Aid Society.— A number of 
Christian German ladies organized September 21st, 1877, a 
Ladies' Mission Society, to alleviate the misery of destitute 
Germans in the city. In their work they found many per- 
sons who were too old and feeble to work, friendless, and 
without means in a strange land. These ladies determined 
to found a Christian Home for the aged, helpless, worthy 
German Protestants of both sexes. They issued an appeal for 
contributions, which met with a hearty response. Soon a 
meeting of the German Evangelical Pastors of Brooklyn was 
held to further the object. An organization was perfected 
and incorporated in April, 1877, as the German Evangelical 
Aid Society of Brooklyn. Fourteen lots, at the corner of 
Bush wick ave. and Fairfax st. , were purchased for .f 45, 000, 
on which suitable buildings are in course of construction. 
Meanwhile, the house. No. 79 Himrod St., was rented, and is 
occupied by 15 inmates. The society is governed by a council 
of Pastors of German churches and a Board of Managers, 
consisting of ladies. 



HISTORY Oi KINGS COUNTY. 



ELI ROBBINS. 



Eli Robbins. — Among the men who have helped to 
make Brooklyn respected as a residential city of 
merchant princes, a high rank is due to the memory of 
Eli Rohbins, the subject of this sketch. 

Mr. Robbins came of a stock in which some of the 
best qualities of the New England character existed in 
their happiest combination. Towards the close of the 
last century Puritanism in ISTew England had laid aside 
much of its sternness and intolerance, and had com- 
menced to reconcile itself with the milder charities of 
life; retaining, however, amidst all classes of the popu- 
lation, as much patriarchal simplicity of manners as 
probably ever existed in a modern civilized community. 
The Robbins homestead was situated in West Cam- 
bridge, now Arlington, Massachusetts, on the road 
rendered historic by the celebrated ride of Paul Revere. 
The patriotism of the family is indicated by the fact 
that the name of Robbins is found four times on the 
roll of Captain Parker's company of " embattled 
farmers," who faced the British at the famous Concord 
fight. After the Revolution and the restoration of 
social order, the qualities above mentioned speedily 
adapted themselves to their new environment, especially 
in the vicinity of Plarvard College. The original 
Colonial custom of providing variety for the table, by 
a neighborly interchange of agricultural commodities, 
called " barter," gave place to a more systematic 
method of distributing produce, and public markets 
were substituted for the primitive pork-barrel and 
private poultry-bin. 

Nathan Robbins, the father of the present genera- 
tion of that name, was among the earliest to engage in 
the regular market business, by exchanging meat for 
other merchandise, such as shoes, snuff, cigars, choco- 
late, and Continental money. In accordance with the 
domestic regulations of those days, his home was en- 
livened by the successive advent of nine children, the 
youngest of whom was Eli, who was born September 
22, 1821. He was not a strong child, but being healthy 
and self-reliant, he soon mastered the rudiments of 
such knowledge as was convenient to his circumstances, 
and began his business career at an early age, by pro- 
viding a horse and wagon for himself, and purchasing 
poultry of the neighboring farmers, which he dressed 
with his own hands and carried to Boston for customers. 
Meanwhile, his brothers had established themselves in 
Faneuil Hall market, and were building up a profitable 
trade in the same kind of produce. 

About the year 1836, Simeon Boyden, who kept the 
Tremont House in Boston, and had a high appreciation 
of these industrious young men, became proprietor of 
the Astor House, then the principal hotel of New York 



city. He made overtures to Nathan, the eldest, by 
remarking on the dearth of first-class poultry in Fulton 
market, and suggesting that there was a fine opening 
for some New England man, who could attend to busi- 
ness and keep out of bad company. This was exactly 
what the Robbins boys knew how to do; and Amos, 
the next older than Eli, at once departed for the 
metropolis. Three years later, in 1839, Eli followed 
his brother to Fulton market, at first as an employee; 
but in 1841 they entered into partnership, under the 
firm name of "A. & E. Robbins," which has since 
become familiar to all frequenters of the streets of 
New York. It was a small beginning — two country 
boys, aged 18 and 21, with a capital of only 236 dollars 
each. But they had an advantage in the superior 
style in which they dressed their poultry, and they 
were not ashamed to work. Add to this their deter- 
mination not to speculate nor run into debt, and the 
result might easily have been predicted. They soon 
distanced all competitors, and for more than forty 
years have stood at the acknowledged head of that 
line of business in the United States, thus affording a 
notable instance of conspicuous success, attained solely 
by honorable enterprise and strict integrity. 

On the 13th of May, 1845, Mr. Robbins married Miss 
Maria C. Farmer, of his native town, a young lady 
with whom he had been acquainted from childhood, 
and whose subsequent devotedness, as wife and mother, 
amply justified the projjhetic foregleams of his youth- 
ful affection. Her love, like a jewel, hung for eight 
and thirty years about his neck, yet never lost its 
lustre. Possessed of a modest dignity, which created 
an atmosphere of sweet content, and artless as a child, 
she sought her own delight in making all around her 
bright and happy. The abundant means which her 
husband furnished enabled her also to gratify every 
hospitable impulse and refined taste. Their first home 
in Brooklyn was on Washington street, where two dear 
children came to work their mission of love; Warren, 
born September 2l8t, 1846, and Clinton, December 
27th, 1848. The birth of these children was a joy 
which could only be adequately measured by the terri- 
ble grief that followed their early departure. Clinton 
died April 26th, 1864, and Warren November 12th, 
1869. 

Mr. Robbins had already become a rich man, and 
saw in his offspring an adequate shrine whereon to 
lavish all his paternal love and care. To this end he 
erected the spacious and elegant mansion on the corner 
of Smith and Livingston streets, which, although de- 
prived of its expected chief attraction, has remained 
the charming residence of Mr. and Mrs. Robbins, as 




-^^ 





'//^^-^^ 




^ C 6/ 



> 



HlOGRAPniES. 



1103 



well as a welcome resort for a host of relatives and 
choice acquaintances. 

Eli Robbiiis was, by nature and early training, in- 
clined to economy and careful in his investments. Yet 
he was not indifferent to any worthy cause. His bene- 
factions to private families and individuals were so 
secret and unostentatious, that none but those who were 
t he recipients of it can compute the sums which he an- 
nually bestowed among them. In religion, he was a 
Universalist. On removing to Brooklyn, while yet a 
young man, he became a member of the First Uni- 
versalist Society, and remained ever after loyal to that 
form of Christian faith. This furnishes the key to his 
whole moral character. He never sought for novelty, 
nor shrank from the dictates of duty. He had the two 
things which make men strong — an intelligent con- 
science and the quiet courage to obey it. True courage 
is not noisy. It does not find its expression in defiant 
manners or vapory speech ; but it does consist in a 
quiet-determination to do right, because it is right, and 
in traveling in a straight though unpopular pathway. 

With such a conscience and with such a courage, Eli 
Robbins entered ujjon the career which lay before him 
and followed it successfully to the end. The end came 



while he was yet far from being an old man. He died 
on the morning of June 21st, 1883, in the 62d year of 
his age, leaving, as the result of his life, a character for 
business integrity, against which no word of suspicion 
was ever breathed; a fortune approximating two mil- 
lions of dollars, no portion of which was obtained by 
questionable means; a wide circle of associates who 
honored and trusted him; and a wife who, having passed 
with him through every grade of society, is peculiarly 
qualified to be the almoner of his generous intentions. 

His will, which was written ten years before his 
death, disposes of some three hundred thousand dollars 
in various bequests, among which are legacies to the 
Church of our Father, of this city, the Brooklyn 
Orphan Asylum, the Blind Asylum of New York, 
the Unitarian and Universalist Churches of Arling- 
ton, Mass., and his native town, to which his body 
was taken for interment. 

The Montauk Fire Insurance Co. and the Firemen's 
Trust Insurance Co., of both of which he was a trustee, 
together with the religious society with which he was 
long and intimately connected, passed appropriate res- 
olutions of regret, and all who knew him were sincere 
mourners. 



AMOS ROBBINS. 



Amos Robbins, who is mentioned in the foregoing 
sketch of the life of his younger brother, Eli Robbins, 
was born in West Cambridge (now Arlington), Massa- 
chusetts, December 28th, 1817, and received a limited 
education in the public schools of the time and 
locality. 

At the age of fourteen, he came a poultry -buyer and 
dresser for his brother, Nathan, who had then been for 
some time established in Faneuil Hall Market, in Bos- 
ton; and who, still living at the age of eighty, has been 
in business sixty years, and is at this time president of 
the Faneuil Hall Bank, besides being connected with 
other important interests in Boston. 

At the age of sixteen, Amos Robbins removed to Bos- 
ton, and was employed in his brother's business thei'c 
until 1836, when, as has been stated in the foregoing 
article, he went to New York to prepare and furnish to 
the tables of the Astor House such poultry as was 
desired by Mr. Simeon Boyden, who, at that time, 
assumed the management of that since famous hotel. 



Three years later, when Eli Robbins entered the em- 
ploy of Amos, the latter had laid the foundation of the 
subsequent immense business of the firm of A. & E. 
Robbins, reference to whose almost unexampled career 
has been made above. At the death of Eli Robbins, 
in June, 1883, he was succeeded in the firm by his 
nephew, Milton Robbins, son of Mr. Amos Robbins, 
and the style of the firm was changed to A. & M. 
Robbins. 

Mr. Robbins was married, at the age of twenty, to 
Miss Adelia Martling, of Tarrytown, N. Y., who has 
borne him two sons, and two daughters who were 
reared and mai-ried, but who died in early womanhood. 
Mr. Robbins, in his declining years, is in the enjoyment 
of well-earned wealth, and such has been his character 
from boyhood that he is held in equally high regard in 
business circles and among his intimate friends, and is 
esteemed alike as an intelligent and influential citizen 
and as a friendly and whole-souled Christian gentle- 



1104 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



FREDERICK LOESER. 



Frederick Loesee. — In the year 1853, Mi-. Loeser, 
impelled like many other young men by the desire of 
getting a start in the world, resolved to leave the beaten 
track and seek for better fortune in America. His 
previous life had been but a repetition of an oft-told 
tale. Born in the town of Mergentheim, in the southern 
part of Germany, the eldest son of a poor silversmith, 
he found himself at an early age under the necessity of 
earning his own livelihood. When only a lad he lost 
his mother, and was then obliged to leave school, much 
against his inclination, for his desire was to become a 
physician. He entered as an apprentice into the store 
of a fringe-maker in the town of Wiirzburg, and lived 
three years in his master's family, but his position there 
was unenviable; hard tasks and short fare were the 
rule, though of chidings and blows there was no lack, 
so those days were a better schooling in patience and 
suffering than in the loom an'd shuttle. His appren- 
ticeship over, he started on his wanderings in search of 
employment, with staff and knapisack and some ten 
florins saved from his scanty earnings. This was the 
course necessary for every young artisan to pursue in 
those days; ere he could be counted among the 
"masters" of any trade he must have spent three years 
in wandering from place to place, becoming familiar 
with the methods of trade in different countries. To 
meet the requirements of these "journeymen," a sort of 
guild or trades-union existed throughout the cities of 
the continent, which provided the young fellow with a 
position, helped him in distress or sickness, and were 
friends and home to him wherever he might be. 

Mr. Loeser's first trip was by way of Munich, through 
the Tyrol and northern Italy to Verona. The whole 
of the journey had to be performed on foot, for the 
young man's means hardly sufficed to buy his daily 
bread. Wages were small, and the war with Austria 
caused all German-speaking persons to be looked on 
with disfavor, so the young man turned northward 
through Lombardy and Styria to Vienna, in 1850. 
After a year and a half spent here and two years in 
Zurich and Berne, he returned to his old home. He 
had now reached the age when all able-bodied young 
men were compelled to enter the army, but as he could 
ill afford to call on his father's treasury for five years, 
and be no better off at the end of that time, he resolved 
to leave for America. Sailing from Havre, November 
Ist, 1853, he arrived in New York after a short 
passage, with a capital of two and a half dollars and a 
silver watch. As nothing was then known of fringe- 
making in the city, he resolved to go west and find 
other employment. In Morganfield, Ky., he found 
some distant relatives, and there, after trading in furs 



for a year, he earned enough to open a small country 
store at Smith's Mills, Henderson county, Ky. His 
prospects brightened, though after a time both he and 
his clerk were taken ill with chills and fever. For- 
tunately their days of sickness alternated, so that one 
or the other could be in the store every day. In 1855, 
he sold out and went to Louisville for a couple of 
years, and then to New York city, where he obtained a 
position with S. M. Peyser, the leading trimming and 
worsted store in the city. 

In 1800, he married, and the same year went into 
business with Moritz Dinkelspiel upon a capital of $1 ,200, 
opening a store at No. :i77 Fulton street, Brookljm, with 
a small stock of worsteds, embroideries and trimmings. 
Matters progressed well until the rebellion broke out, 
and injured business for a time. In 1863, Mr. J. W. 
Jones entered the firm, and a branch store was opened 
at No. 737 Broadway, New York. In 1866, Mr. Loeser 
sold his interest in the New York business, and bought 
out his partners in the Brooklyn enterprise. In addition 
he started a button factory on Fulton street, Brooklyn, 
which was very successful, but which other business 
cares compelled him to dispose of after a few years. In 
1870, the store was removed to its present site, Mr. 
Louis Liebmann was received as partner, and the stock 
of dry goods was largely increased. In 1872, his 
brother, Mr. Hermann Liebman joined the firm, and in 
1876, Mr. Gustav Loeser was admitted as a member. 
The public of Brooklyn has always been appreciative 
of their enterprise, Mr. Loeser says, and ready to re- 
spond to the efforts of the firm to keep the trade at 
home. Through its liberal patronage, they are enabled 
to give employment to nearly seven hundred men and 
women, while their establishment ranks as one of the 
leading retail houses in the city. 

It is mainly due to Mr. Frederick Loeser's energy 
that the business has been developed to so large an ex- 
tent. His close watch of the demands of trade, his 
thorough system introduced into all departments, and 
his careful attention to details, have enabled him to suc- 
ceed where so many have failed. His features indicate 
the possession of a strong, positive character, though 
not haughty or self-willed; his courteous bearing marks 
the gentleman, while his social qualities make him 
highly esteemed among a large circle of friends and ac- 
quaintances. 

Notwithstanding the demands of business, Mr. Loe- 
ser finds time to gratify his literary taste ; his resi- 
dence contains a well-selected library ; he is con- 
versant with current events, alive to the questions of 
the day, thorough-going and honorable, and secure in 
the confidence and esteem of the community. 



^^- 



^ 



>^< 



/ 



t I open a small counti 

■rson county, Ky. 1\ 

ifter a time bath be an 

'; chills and fever. ^Fo: 

alternated, so t! "■ 

i re every day. J 

j ijouisville for a cou|i( < 

V ork city, where he obtained 

• 'hi' leading triramiDg ai 

III', the same year went in t 
cispiel upon a capital of $1 ,2 ( i I 
Fulton street, Brooklyn, wii 
, embroideries and triinming 
■Tfii the rebellion broke on 
ae. In 1863, Mr. J. V 

.. branch store was open; 

uadway, New York. In 1 866, Mr. Loes 
,_!est in the New York business, andbougi 
))ai'tner8 in the Brooklyn enterprise. In additJi 
.ted a b.ntton factory on Fulton street Two:'!;! 
liich was vet-y successful, but which o! 
.■;• s oompelle.<i him to di.-uose nT after a '■ 

he store was rt i j present .•■; 

■ ^'Nin'uiri wa* i\'-; ^. ■■ucv, ari'l ( 

■eiy mcreii 
,i'1;iuan joii; 

; admitted as a memb' 
:ray=; beon appreclTt".- 



_ , they are enabi 
hundred men ai; 
.ill ranks as on^ 

1 'ck Loeser's euei t^ 

1 to so large an ■ 

ui the demands of trade, Ir 

i^ed into all departments, ar 

- have enabled him to sn 

d. His features indica 

ij,, positive character, thou. 

1; his courteous bearing mar. 

il',' his social qualities make he 

nonga large circle of friends and a 

leraands of business, Mr. Lo 

y his literary taste ; his re-' 

selected library; he is coi 

cuij em events, alive to the questions « 

jugh-going and honorable, and secure 



iMMMMMiii 



THE PROGRESS 



DRAMA, OPERA, MUSIC AND ART 

IN BROOKLYN. 



BY 








THE PROLOGUE.— There are few cities in any 
part of the civilized world where the Drama had 
a longer or a harder struggle to obtain a foot- 
hold than in the city of Brooklyn. To impute this to 
the want of taste on the part of its inhabitants, would 
be incorrect. The fact of Brooklyn being so adjacent 
to the great metropolis was really the cause. For 
many years after Brooklyn was looked upon as a city 
of considerable magnitude, its inhabitants favored 
New York for almost everything, whether it belonged 
to commerce or amusements. The habit once formed, 
it still continued long after Brooklyn was acknowl- 
edged a great city in many respects. Even at the 
present day, there is a prejudice so strong in favor of 
everything in New York that it is detrimental, not only 
to those who cater for the amusement-seeking portion 
of the public, but to many in all other branches of 
business. With a population of over six hundred 
thousand, and ranking in numbers a.s the third city in 
the Union — there are but three places of amusement 
that can be looked upon as respectable in arcb.itectural 
proportions, or class of amusements furnished for the 
people; these are the Brooklyn Academy of Muaic, 
Park Tlieatre, and Brooklyn Theatre, the first 
named being only occasionally used for either the 
opera or the drama. The Park and Brooklyn theatres 
are invariably closed during the summer months, and 
yet thousands of Brooklynites crowd the ferry-boats to 
attend places of amusement in New York. There is 
really more cause for this at the present period than 
twenty years ago. The great improvements in con- 
veyance from the several ferries in New York to the 
up-town theatres, requiring but fifteen minutes by 
elevated railway, and the great variety and superior 
manner in which pieces are placed upon the 
metropolitan stage, both in actors and artistic details, 
must be admitted as great inducements. Many argue 
that Brooklyn would not support what might be 
termed a first-class theatre — like Wallack's — with a 
picked company of artists, and months of preparation 



for the production of a single play. This is not so; 
for these very people who go to New York are the most 
intelligent and respectable class of amusement-seekers, 
and visit Wallack's, the Union Square, and the Fifth 
Avenue theatres for the reason that whatever they go 
there to see, is sure to be well done in every par- 
ticular. 

The Drama can only be built up to itshighest condi- 
tion by a local growth, and when the mnnagers give 
proper attention to all the finer necessities of the 
stage, together with a first-class company. 

Yet, with all the drawbacks and obstacles to a more 
elevated condition of the stage in Brooklyn, it has a 
dramatic history of great interest, arising from the 
fact that nearly all of the great stars who have adorn- 
ed the stage of the metropolis, have appeared in 
this city. But it makes no difference what the drama 
has been in Brooklyn : its future must be of necessity 
far greater in many respects. The growth of the two 
cities is so rapid that they are becoming farther apart 
every year, and the localities of the theatres must ad- 
vance with their boundaries. This will cause tiie Brook- 
lyn people to seek their amusements at home in spite of 
rapid transit; and the people will require and demand 
more than one theatre managed on the principles of 
Wallack's or the Union Square. 

DORAN, in his History of the British Stage, and 
DuNLAP, in his History of the American Theatre, have 
gone back as far as they could go, in the relation of the 
smallest details in connection with their subject. If we 
may be allowed the same privilege, we will begin the 
history of the Drama in Brooklyn as far back as 1776. 

"The Curtain Up."— After Washington had 
made his masterly retreat to New York, leaving Bur- 
goyne, Clinton and Howe, in disappointment, to wonder 
at the magic change of scene made by the ever-watchful 
American commander in the national drama which they 
had expected to suddenly conclude; the British army, 
from Bedford and Flatbush down to the water's edge, 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



where now stands the City of Brooklyn, had a chance 
for a long rest on Long Island. With this rest came the 
necessity for amusements of some kind for the officers 
and men of the invading foe. Often they resorted 
to the drama, and rigged up a stage of some kind, 
even painted their own scenery, formed an orchestra 
out of a regimental band, and performed some of the 
lighter dramatic productions. At this period, Brook- 
lyn became famous as the camp of the British army, 
and soon followed all sorts of amusements at a stone 
building situated on the north side of the " old road " 
(Fulton street), near the corner of Front street. This 
building had been known for thirty years or more as 
"Corporation House," from the fact that it belonged 
to the Corporation of the City of New York. The 
building was about seventy by sixty feet, and two 
stories high, containing a large hall on the second 
floor, with a tavern and ferry-rooms on the ground 
floor. As soon as the British got possession of Brook- 
lyn, the Corporation House changed hands and name, 
and was known, as long as the British remained in 
Brooklyn, as " The King's Head." It was now fitted 
up in the most complete manner for the attraction of 
the officers and men. At The King's Head all 
sorts of games were given, from bull-baiting to lotteries. 
The King's birthdays were celebrated by illuminations, 
and hundreds of i:)eople came from New York to see 
the different shows, and to partake of first-class " fish 
dinners." In this building, no doubt, took place 

The First Performance in Brooklyn.— 

Among the pieces performed was an original farce sup- 
posed to have been written by General John Burgoyne, 
who was one of the commanders of the British forces 
on Long Island. This same Burgoyne, after he had re- 
turned to England, became a dramatic writer of con- 
siderable reputation. He was the author of the " Maid 
of the Oaks," "Lord of the Manor," the fine farce of 
"Bon Ton," and the excellent comedy of "The 
Heiress," which, at the time of its production in 
London, stood almost as high as "The School for 
Scandal." 

The following title of the farce alluded to is from the 
printed copy, published by J. Rivington, New York, 
1776: 

THE BATTLE OF BROOKLYN, 

A Farce in Tico Acts. 
As it was performed on Long Island, on Tuesday, 27th day of 
August, 1776, by the representatives of 
— The Tyrants of AirERicA, — 
Assembled in Philadelphia. 
Published by J. Eivington, N. Y. 
On the second page of the book is the following list of char- 
acters : 
Dramatis Persona;. 
Men. 
Washington, ] 
Putnam, I 
Sullivan, l^'^'^ ^'"^^- 
Stirling, 



Slasher, a Shoemaker of New Y'ork. 

Clark, a Retailer of Rum in Connecticut, lo ^ 

Eemsen, a Farmer of New Town, Long Island, \ ^'°^°^'^^^- 

Ebenezer Snuffle, a New England Parson, Chaplain to General 

Putnam. 
Joe King, Servant to Stirling. 
Noah, Servant to Sullivan. 

Women. 
Zady Gates, 
Hetty, her Servant. 

OmCEES AND SOLDIEBS. 

Scene.— Partly within the Rebel lines at Brooklyn, and partly 
at Gowanus. 

The piece is not badly written. Its dramatic action 
is good, and full of fun. It represents the American 
cause in the most ludicrous light ; and, at the end, 
makes a somewhat eloquent appeal to all Americans in 
rebellion against His Majesty. It does not appear as to 
who performed the characters, and, if performed at all, 
it must have been in the large hall at the "King's Head." 
An original copy of this scarce and remarkable dra- 
matic production may be found in the Library of Con- 
gress. A reprint of it is in the Library of the Long 
Island Historical Society of Brooklyn. 

For many years alter the conclusion of the Eevolu- 
tion, the "King's Head " was known as the " Brook- 
lyn Hall. ' 

1810. — The next dramatic performance in Brooklyn 
that we are able to record with any certainty, took place 
May 5th, 1810, at Green's Military Garden, which was 
situated where the County Court House now stands. 
The entertainment was given by a " company of gentle- 
men " from the City of New York. The following is 
the bill of performance: 

"The Wags op Windsor." 

Caleb Quotem Mr. Biven 

Captain Beaugard Mr. Haswell 

with the song of "Go to the Devil, and shake j'ourself." After 
which a scene from 

"The Real Soldiee." 

Captain Cringer Mr. McCready 

Nipperkin Mr. Biven 

Lenox Mr. Haswell 

Major Tactic By a young gentleman 

The whole to conclude with a patriotic song, written and sung 
by Mr. Haswell, and a " Recitation upon the Relics of the un- 
fortunate Americans who perished during the War, written and 
spoken by Mr. Haswell." 

1814. — August 4th, Mr. Robinson* and Mrs. Ent- 
wistle gave an entertainment at Military Garden, which 
they termed "Dramatic Olio," consisting of songs 
and recitations. 

The Mrs. Entwistle above named was the cele- 
brated Mrs. Mason, who made her first appearance 
at the Park Theatre, New York, in 1809. 

* Mr. RoBrNsoK was an old member of the Park Theatre Company, New 
York, and was highly esteemed as a gentleman and an actor. He was a mem- 
ber of the Richmond Theatre, Virginia, at the time it was burned in 1811, 
and by his presence of mind and noble daring he was the means of saving 
a large number of lives. He died in New York, Nov. 10th, 1819, at forty- 
eight years of age. 



THE DRAMA, OPERA, MUSIC AND ART. 



1107 



1820. — Nothing further is discoverable of a dra- 
matic nature in Brooklyn till 1830, when two promi- 
nent members of the profession gave a performance at 
" Morrison's Hotel" in accordance with tiie following 
programme : 

Positively for one night only. 
At Mobeison's Hotel, 
The ladies and gentlemen of Brooklyn and its vicinity are 
respectfully informed that 

Messes. Kilnek * and Spilleb, f 
(of the New York Theatre,) 
at the suggestion of their friends in the village, intend doing 
themselves the honor to present them on 

Friday evening, January lUh, 1820, 

( — with a novel entertainment entitled — ) 

"The Actor's Ways and Means." 

For particulars see small bills. Doors open at 6 o'clock, and 

the performance to commence at half-past 6. Admittance one 

dollar. Tickets to be had of Captain Young, J. K. Badell, and 

at the office of the Long Island Star. 

Mr. John H. Morrison kept a tavern and boarding- 
house at the corner of Columbia and Cranberry streets. 

1823.— The Star of June the 5th stated that 
Mr. Duflon, proprietor of the well-known " Military 
Garden," was fitting up his place as a summer theatre, 
where music, recitations and theatrical pieces would be 
performed. The garden opened on the 14th of June, 
with a concert ; nothing was said as to stage or dramatic 
pieces. The Garden is advertised as a "delightful 
resort, about three-quarters of a mile from Fulton 
Ferry." It was situated on the spot of ground now 
occupied by the County Court House and other public 
buildings. At that time it took up the whole of tlie 
block bounded by Joralemon, Boerum, Court and 
Livingston streets. The entrance to the garden was 
where the County Court House now stands. It consisted 
of a long frame building, three stories high, entirely 
void of any ornamentation, through the centre of which 
was a broad hallway to the garden. The writer used 
to visit this beautiful resort, when quite young, with 
his New York chums, among whom was the well- 
known James T. Brady. 

1825.— December 15th, Mr. Hewlett, the "col- 
ored tragedian," J informed the " Ladies and Gentlemen 

* Mr. Thomas Kilner was born in England ; made his first appearance 
on the American stage at the old Park Theatre, New York, in 1816, where he 
was a favorite aetor in such parts as " hearty old men." He became man- 
ager of the Federal Street Theatre. Boston, Mass., and also was acting and 
stage manager for Barrere. who first put up the " Chatham Theatre," New 
York, in 1824. He retired from the stage in 1831, and lived on his farm in 
Ohio for many years, where he died. 

t Mr. Spillkr was born in England, and' made his debut at the " Hay- 
market Theatre." London ; first appeared in New York, April 20th, 1811, at 
the Park Theatre, as Frednrick in •' Lovers' Vows ;" died in New York in 1827. 
Mr. Spiller was a man of fine literary abilities. He was an actor most at 
home in eccentric characters. 

t Hewlbtt was a mulatto. His histrionic education was canght up by 
being an attendant to the celebrated Cooper and Cook when traveling 
through the country on their starring trips. His imitations of all of the 
great performers were recognized as correct, and evincing great discrimina- 
tion and dramatic genius. He was born at Rockaway, Long Island, and 
died somewhere in Europe. 



of the village that he would give an intertainment at 
the Military Garden, consisting of Scenes from Plays, 
in imitation of the celebrated Cooper, Kean, Kemble, 
and Matthews; interspersed with songs from favorite 
operas." He styled himself " Shakespear's Proud Ee- 
presentative." 

1826. — This year was made somewhat memorable 
by the fact that Mr. Roberts* and other actors from the 
Chatham Theatre, New York, aj^peared with stage and 
scenery at Mrs. Chester's Hall and Exchange Coffee 
House. The performance took place on March 3d. 
The pieces were Matthew's " Mail-Coach Adventure," 
and "Sylvester Daggerwood ;" Sylvester, Mr. Rob- 
erts; Fustian, Mr-HnrnhuW; Jo/<», Mr. Wray. Tickets 
50 cents, to be had at the bar. Open at half-past six, 
commence at seven o'clock. 

The most complete dramatic performance up to 
this time, in Brooklyn, took place on the 10th of 
March. The following is a faithful copy of the printed 
jj] ay-bill : 

BROOKLYN THEATRE. 

At Mrs. Chester's Hall. 
The Chatham Theatre Company of Comedians beg leave to in- 
form the ladies and gentlemen of Brooklyn and vicinity that 
they will open a Theatre in the above Hall, 
Feidat, March 10, 1826, 
With Stage, New Scenery, Decorations, &c., &c., &c. 
The evening's entertainment will commence with an admired 
Tragedy, called 

"DoCGI^AS." 

Young Mrval (Douglas) Miss Riddle. 

As performed by her at the Chatham Theatre, New York. 

Glenavan Mr. Scott 

Lord Randolph Mr. Walstein 

Old Norval Mr. Herbert 

Officer Mr. Elting 

Trembling Coward Mr. Jones 

Lady Randolph Mrs. Entwistle 

^„,j(l Mrs. La Combe 

After which, a comic song by Mr. Roberts, called the "Smok- 
ing Club, or Puff! Puff!" 

A Song, by Mrs. La Combe 

A Comic Song, by Mr. Wray 

The above to conclude with the laughable Farce, in Two Acts, 

called 

" The Review," 

Or the Wags of Windsor. 

Captain Beaugard Mr. Walstein 

Looney McTwalter Mr. Andrews 

As performed by him at Chatham Theatre, New York. 

John Lump Mr. Herbert 

Dohbs Mr. Wray 

Deputy Bull Mr. Turnbull 

* Mr. KoBEKTS made a great reputation in New York by his excellent 
performance of Bo6 ioj/i'c in the comedy of "Tom and Jersey." He made 
his first appearance in America, at the old Circus in New York, on the east 
side of Broadway, between Grand and Howard streets, in 1823. He was so 
attractive at one time as a comedian, that the manager of the Bowery 
Theatre. New York, paid one thousand dollars, the penalty attached to his 
articles of agreement with the Chatham Garden Theatre, to secure his ser- 
vices in 1826. He was born in Scotland in 1798, and died in Philadelphia 
in 1833. 



l\0> 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



Caleb Quotem Mr. Roberts 

(As performed by him at the Chatham Theatre, with the songs 
of " The Life, Birth, and Parentage of Caleb Quotem," and the 
" Nightingale Club.") 

Zucy Miss Riddle 

Grace Gaylove Miss La Combe 

Tickets fifty cents, to be had at the bar. Children half 
price. Doors open at 6, and performance to commence at 7 
o'clock. A band of musicians from the Chatham Theatre will 
perform. No postponement on any account. Places may be 
secured from 2 until fi o'clock on the day of the performance. 

The old Brooklyn Star, a weekly paper, spoke of the 
hall having been fitted up with stage, scenery, &c., &c , 
aud said the part of Lady Randolph was sustained with 
great ability by Mrs. Entwistle, and that Miss Eiddle, 
as young Norval, was indeed interesting, and gave 
promise of great excellence in the future. Mr. Roberts 
was highly extolled as Caleb Quotem, and the whole 
performance spoken of as a great success. 

On Monday evening, March 13 th, the house was 
filled to overflowing. "The Soldier's Daughter" was 
performed with great applause. Mrs. Eutwistle* was 
the lively widow, and Mr. Scott, as " Frank Hartall," 
sustained his reputation as a fine actor, while Roberts 
took the house by storm in his comic songs. " The 
Spoiled Child" was the after piece, with Miss Eiddle,f 
as "Miss Pickle." On Tuesday evening, March 14th, 
'•The Stranger" and "Lover's Quarrels" made up 
the bill. Thursday, March 16th, the tragedy of "Jane 
Shore" and "Animal Magnetism" were performed, 
with Mr. ScottJ as " Lord Hastings," Walstein § as 
"Gloucester," Wray as " RadcliflF," Elting as " Cates- 
by," TurnbuU as "Lord Derby," Herbert as "Du- 
mont," Andrews as " Belmour," Cadwell as "Officer," 
Mrs. Eutwistle as "Jane Shore," and Mrs Walsteinjl 
as " Alicia." 

March 18th, the same names filled up the cast of 
"John Bull," and a favorite farce. At the bottom of 
the bills it was advertised that the horse boats would 
be in readiness at the Catherine Ferry, from 8 to 12 
o'clock, to convey parties back to New York. 

* We regret that we have not the space to speak of Mrs. Entwistle in pro- 
portion to her great merits. She made her first appearance in America at 
the Park Theatre, 23d of October, 1809, as " Mrs. Beverly," in the tragedy of 
" The Cjamester." She was at that time Mrs. Mason, and was the leading 
favorite in comedy aud tragedy for many years. Her polished and elegant 
deportment in her performances ot women of fashion was extremely fascina- 
ting. There was nothing forced, nothing studied, nothing which the most 
fastidious taste would wish altered, nothing of the common-place artifice 
called stage trick, none of that daubed over-doing which, like caricature in 
painting, raises the coarse merriment at the expense of the natural pro- 
priety and truth, but was of the refined, polite, yet natural and pungent 
quality of humor which casts a mild sunshine over the heart, tilling it 
with pure enjoyment. She was born in England, and died in New Or- 
leans. La., 1835. 

1 Miss Riddle made her debut in the WaUmt Street Theatre, Philadelphia, 
in 18*23. After playing many seasons in New York, Boston, and other cities, 
as a great favorite, she retired from the stage for several years, but returned 
to it at Laura Keeue's Theatre, in 1856, as Mrs. .Smith. Her last engagement 
was at Howard's Athenaeum, Boston, where she died in 1861. She was a lady 
of eminent and spotless character. 

t Mr. Scott was a very large man, and was known among the playgoers as 
" Fatty Scott." He was a fine actor, as the writer can testify, as he has 
often seen him on the stage of the old Chatham Theatre, where Scott made 
his appearance on the 10th of May. 1825. He often performed the part of 



Thus we have the record of the first dramatic per- 
formance in the City of Brooklyn, with stage, scenery 
and decorations in full, and for a consecutive number 
of nigiits with success. 

Mrs. Chester's cotfee-house was situated on Front 
street, east side, aud was known at the time as 28 and 
30 Front street. The coffee-house consisted of two 
frame buildings, made into one, with a large room on 
the second floor, which was appropriated for balls and 
public meetings and the same as was used on the occa- 
sion of the dramatic performances above mentioned. 

1828.— The Amphitheatre.— The next event 

of importance in the dramatic history of Brooklyn was 
the erection of an Amphitheatre, on leased ground in 
Fulton street, east side, between Nassau and Concord 
streets. The ground was broken for this building 
on the 22d of May, 1828. Its front was of brick, 
while the theatre itself was mostly of frame. It was 
erected by Charles W. Sandford, lawyer, of New 
York City, and for many years Major-General of 
the First Division of the New York State Militia. 
At the time he erected the Amphitheatre he was the 
manager and owner of the Lafayette Theatre and the 
Mount Pitt Circus, New York. His object in the 
erection of the Brooklyn theatre was to find use at 
times for a portion of his over-full company. This was 
the first building ever erected in Brooklyn for theatrical 
purposes. The wife of Mr. Sandford was an actress of 
superior ability, and a vocalist of remarkable skill and 
sweetness of voice. Her representation of the part of 
Clari in Payne's opera of "The Maid of Milan " was a 
splendid performance, and was repeated many times to 
crowded houses in the City of New York. 

The above Amphitheatre was first opened to the 
public on the evening of July 17th, 1828, with great 
feats of horsemanship. Among the company were the 
celebrated Richie, De Forest, Wliittaker and Master 
Alexander ; boxes 50 cents, pit 25 cents ; open at 7, 
commence at 8 o'clock. The Brooklyn Star remarks 
that the new theatre "was a plain building, suited to 
convenience rather than show. The drop curtain was 
beautiful and the scenery very fine. The ring for the 
horsemanship was directly in front of the orchestra, 
while the seats for the occupants of the pit were under 
the boxes." On the evening above mentioned, the melo- 
drama of the " Broken Sword " was performed. " It 
was well done, and attracted the silent and orderly 
attention of the audience." The performances were 

" Fitz James," to H. Wallack's " Roderick Dhu," in the drama of •' The 
Lady of the Lake." Scott was born in Philadelphia, and died in New York, 
in 1849. He was not related to the celebrated J. R. Scott. 

§ Mr. Walstein was born in New York, made his first appearance at the 
Chatham Garden Theatre in 1826. He was a good actor and had a fine per- 
sonal appearance for the sta^e. He died in Philadelphia in 1836. 

II Mrs. Walstein was the sister of the celebrated Mrs. Barnes. She made 
her debut, at the Old Park Theatre, New York, April 17th, 1816, in the char- 
acter of the " Nurse." in •* Romeo and Juliet." She became so large a person 
that she was unfitted for the stage. She retired from the profession Janu- 
ary the 8th, 1839, and died in New York, April Ist, 1856. 



TSE DRAMA, OPERA, MUSIC AND ART. 



1109 



given two or three times a week, and for a while did 
rather well, through the attendance of country people 
of the Island coming in to see the circus. On August 
14th, Mr. Richie took a benefit. This was the last night 
of the season. September 5th, the place re-opened 
as the Brooklyn Theatre. The ring was removed ; the 
company was excellent. The following pieces were 
performed, commencing with the musical drama of 
" The Poor Soldier," and the ibilowing cast : 

Patrick (with songs), Mr. Gainer; Darby (with two songs), Mr. 
Koberts; Dermoni (with a song), Mr. Blakely; Captain Fltzroy, Mr. 
Neilson; Father Luke, Mr. Quin; Bagatelle, Mr.Walstein; Boy, Miss 
Fisher; Norah (with songs), Mrs Sandford; Cathleen, Mrs. Fisher; 
after which the laughable farce of the " Sleep Walker " : Somino, 
Mr. Koberts (in which character will be given imitations of 
Messrs. Kean, Macready, Hilson, Simpson and Cooper) ; Sir 
Patrick Magidre, Mr. De Camp ; Scilly, Mr. Blakely; Squire 
Mattlepate, Mr. WoodhuU;* Mrs. De C, Mrs. Walstein; Ellen, Mrs. 
Fisher. 

The Miss Fisher, mentioned in the above cast be- 
came the well-known favorite, Miss Alexina Fisher, 

* Jacob Woodhdll, whose real name was Hull, was at one time one of 
the most noted and remarkable men connected with the drama in New 
York. He made his lirtt appearance upon the public stage at the old Park 
Theatre, in 181G, in the character of JaJJier, in "Venice Preserved," made a 
success, and soon became a valuable addition to the Park company. He 
was an educated and lively-hearted gentleman, and of ver.satilo talents, 
always ready to do a iavor, and made every one his friend whom he met. 
One of the best critics of New York remarked " that no one man on the 
stage could possibly fiU Mr. WoodhuU's place as a versatile actor, and that 
while he was one of the most useful men to a manager, still he was the 
most ill-used actor that ever trod the boards of a theatre. His good nature 
was imposed upon, as he would consent to perform any part that would 
accommodate the management. He played the blood-thirsty villain, misers 
and young spendthrifts, graybeards and lovers, walking gentlemen, soldiers, 
sailors. Irishmen, Scotchmen, Dutchmen, Jews, Gentiles, Turks, Indian 
savages, the heroes of dramas, and aU with perfect satisfaction to his audi- 
ence. Week after week, month after month, and year after year, he went 
through his performances of all these various characters, with more 
propriety and rationality than many would-be stars." Mr. WoodhuU pos- 
sessed a remarkable memory, an assertion which one anecdote told of him 
will serve to illustrate. " One evening, after the performance, while standing 
in a saloon with some gentlemen, enjoying a social intercourse, one of the 
party inquired of Mr. WoodhuU, " How is it possible to commit to memory 
so many parts in so short a time 1" WoodhuU replied it gave him no trouble 
whatever ; that he had frequently committed a character by once reading 
it. This the gentleman doubted so emphatically that Mr. WoodhuU immedi- 
ately offered to wager a champagne supper for the party there and then on 
the spot, that after reading a column of advertisements from any newspaper 
only once over he could repeat the whole letter-perfect. The wager was 
accepted, and Mr. WoodhuU was the winner." On another occasion, one of 
the actors faUing to appear at night to perform the character of Ludouico, in 
Sheilds' tragedy of " Evadne," he, on arriving at the theatre, was requested 
to take the deUnquent's place. He consented to do so it the management 
would keep the curtain down while he had time to read over the words of 
the first act, and so on. between each act, that he might have a chance for 
study. This, with the Uttle time he had between the scenes in which 
Lttdovico does not appear, was all the time he had to commit this difficult 
blank verse part, .ind yet it is stated that he not only performed the part 
without a single prompting, but to the applause of the audience and the 
astonishment of aU the company around him. It was for Mr. WoodhuU's 
benefit at the Park Theatre, New York, in 1826, that Edwin Forrest made his 
first appearance before a New York audience. He performed the part of 
OUiello, and carried the house by storm. He was at that time a stock actor 
at Albany, N. Y., and was aUowed this opportunity to do his friend 
WoodhuU a service. The occasion made Forrest, as it was not long 
after he was prevailed on to play a star engagement at the Bowery 
Theatre, whore he made a great success, and soon had his pay raised from 
forty doUars a week to two hundred dollars a night. Mr. Forrest himself 
told the writer these facts, and spoke of WoodhuU in high praise. Mr. 
WoodhuU left the Park company in 1832, and went with Mr. Barns as stage 
manager of the Eichmond Hills Theatre, N. Y., but the cholera, whose first 
terrible visitation occurred in that year, caused his death on the 31st of 
August, when he was only forty years of age. He was born 
street. New York City, 1792. 



, Greenwich 



and turned the heads and hearts of all the men who 
saw her. They became wild in admiration of her 
beauty, fine acting in comedy, and sweetness of voice 
in singing. 

It appears that a company from New York advertised 
a performance to take place at the Amphitheatre on 
the night of Sept. 23d; money was taken in at the 
doors, and the audience, after waiting for nearly an 
hour for the curtain to go up, discovered that neither 
actors, or treasurer could be found ; on which the en- 
raged audience took satisfaction by commencing to pull 
the building to pieces, and did much injury before the 
constables could quell the disturbance. The advertise- 
ment did not mention who were the managers. The 
press and people of Brooklyn looked upon it as a shame- 
ful swindle. This had the effect of keeping all man- 
agers away from Brooklyn, and nothing occurred in 
the dramatic line for a number of years. The Amphi- 
theatre was numbered among the things of the past, 
and so ended the first attempt to give the drama a 
local habitation in Brooklyn. 

1840.— Colonnade G-arden.— A new place of 

amusement made its appearance in Brooklyn under this 
name, and was located on Brooklyn Heights, on Col- 
umbia street, opposite to Pineapple street, on August 
Gth. The vaudeville of "The Lady and the Devil " 
was presented, with Mr. Graham and Mr. Charles in 
the cast. " The Rendezvous " was the after-piece. 
The stage and scenery of this place was of temporary 
construction. Several performances were given by good 
actors, but the dramatic part of the garden soon came 
to a final exit. 

1842. — June 29th, Mr. Walcott* made an at- 
tempt to introduce the drama at the Colonnade, and 
appeared as " Hector Timid," in the "Dead Shot." 
Mr. Collins, the Irish comedian, also appeared on the 
same little stage. 

1844. — Some actors from Few York fitted up the 
long room at City Hotel, Fulton street, with some 
scenery, and performed the drama of the " Drunkard;" 
the enterprise was a failure. The drama in Brooklyn 
now became perfectly dead, until 

1848. — When, in November, Mr. George Waldo 
Hill, a personal friend of the writer, made an attempt to 
establish the drama in Brooklyn. He became the 
lessee of the large frame building that stood in the 
grounds of " Military Garden," Duflon's old place, and 
known at the time as the "City Hotel." The beauty 
of the old garden had been destroyed for many years 

*Mr. Walcott was a great favorite at Mitchell's Olympic Theatre in New 
York; was for several years a member of Mr.Wallack's Company. His perform- 
ance of " Lavator," in Planche's comic drama of that name, was a master 
performance. He was the author of "Hiawatha, or the Ardent Spirits," 
and "Laughing Water," "Washington," "Giovanni in Gotham." "David 
Copperfleld," " Richard the Third to KiU," " The Customs of the Country," 
and " Snips Snaps," all oxceUent burlesques. He was born in London, Eng- 
land, 1816, and died in Phihidelphia, May 13, 1868. 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



past by the eucroachmeat of buildings on the adjucoufc 
streets, which had left only the centre part, containing 
a few bushes and the building alluded to. Mr. John 
Tremble, the celebrated theatre architect, transformed 
this building (known as the Assembly Rooms) into 
a beautiful little theatre, with a parquette and a 
balcony circle, with seats for six hundred people. 
Mr. Hill was under the impression he could make 
the place pay under the form of a "Dramatic Asso- 
ciation."' There were a few unprofitable performances 
given, when he closed the place for a few weeks and 
re-opened it as a theatre, on the 19th of December, 
with a small stock company of but little merit. 
This second attempt soon became a failure, and the 
place remained closed until 

1849. — When, June 11th, it was opened with a 
good company. The pieces were the '• Youthful 
Queen," Count De Odenstein, by Mr. Bass. On the 
12th, " Charles the II," Bass as Captain Copp. On 
the 16th, " The Dead Shot" and "Wandering Minstrel," 
with Bass in the leading characters. On the 18th, 
Mr. Walcott, of "Mitchell's Olympic Theatre," New 
York, appeared as "Jeremiah Clip" in " The Widow's 
Victim." Friday, the 22d, Miss Fanny Wallack ap- 
peared as "Pauline," in the "Lady of Lyons," with 
John Dyott as " Claude," and Bass as "Col. Dumas;" 
this was a splendid cast. Saturday, 28th, " Naval En- 
gagements." On the 26tli, " The Married Rake " and 
"Brooklyn in Slices," with T. B. Johnston in the 
casts. As a summer season experiment, it was a fail- 
ure. September 29th the place was opened again, with 
Baruey Williams as "O'RafiTerty," in "Born to Good 
Luck," and the after-piece of the "Secret," with the 
celebrated George Holland as "Thomas." This was 
the gentleman whom a professed Christian minister 
refused to do funeral service over, because he was an 
actor, and whose name became prominently associated 
with "The Little Church Around the Corner." On 
the 24th of September, J. R. Scott* made his first ap- 
pearance before a Brooklyn audience. He performed 
the character of " Michael " in the drama of the 
"Adopted Child." There were not over a dozen per- 
formances given, and the place was closed as an utter 
failure. 

In November, 1849, the writer was induced to play 
six nights. The engagement was accepted with the 
understanding that they should be made subscription 
nights and giving two performances a week. The 
plan was adopted, and made to pay. The piece se- 



* J. R.Scott was an actor of splendid ability. In such characters as ■' Bob 
Key," and "William," in "Black Eyed Susan," he was unsurpassed. He 
had a splendid stage appearance, and one of the finest-shaped heads that 
ever sat upon an actor's shoulders, ms voice was full and flexible, and he 
always gave evidence of close study in the characters he performed. He 
was born in Philadelphia, and died there March 22d, 1856. Fanny Wal- 
lack. Dyott, and Bass were all prominent members of the New York theatres, 
whose interesting biographies must be sought for elsewhere, as our Umited 
space will not allow us to do them justice here. 



lected for the opening night was the tragedy of 
"Evadne": 

Ltidovico, Gabriel Harrison; Colonna, Mr. McDonald; Kinr; of 
Naples, Mr. Connor; Vicmtio, Mr. De Forest ; Spalalro, Mr. 
Eogers; Evadne, Miss Mason; Olivia, Miss Norton. 

On the second night, " Damon and Pythias," with McDonald 
as "Damon," and Harrison as "Pythias " Third night, 
" Eolla," Mr. Harrison; " Pizzaro," Mr. McDonald. Fourth 
night, "The Wife," with Mr. Harrison as "Julian St. Pierre." 
Fifth night, Harrison as "William Tell." Sixth night, as 
" Carwin." 

1850.— The Brooklyn Mnseum.— Messrs. 

Chanfrau* and Burke (according to their advertisement) 
" caused to be erected " a large brick building on the 
northwest corner of Fulton and Orange streets, at a 
cost of ten thousand dollars, which they called the 
"Brooklyn Museum," containing a collection of pic- 
tures, stuffed beasts and birds. On the top floor was a 
room fitted up with a stage and scenery, styled a 
"lecture room,'' for the representation of " chaste and 
moral dramas. This "lecture room" was nothing 
less than a pretty little theatre. The M useum opened 
its doors for the first time on Monday evening, July 
1st, 1850, with the following company and pieces: — 
" The Gambler's Fate." 

Mr. Derance, Mr. C. Burke; Augustus, Mr. D. P. Bowers; 
Amelia, Mrs. D. P. Bowers; Louisa, Miss Smith. Concluding 
with the Farce of "The Dumb Belle." Fiuian., Mr. Bowers; 0' Smirk, 
Mr. Burke; Eliza, Mrs. Bowers. Price of admission, 25 cents. 

On the second day of the opening, performances 
were given on afternoon and evening. The manage- 
ment continued the stock company till July 29th. 
Mr. Couldock commenced a star engagement as "The 
Stranger," with Mrs. Bowers as Mrs. Haller. He 
played for a few nights, when the Museum suddenly 
closed its doors for the want of support. The edifice 
was the finest place of amusement that had hitherto 
been given to the Brooklyn public, and deserved a far 
better success. The building was owned by Mr. Cam- 
meyer. " Kimberly's Minstrels" reopened the place 
on the 26th of August, with little or no success. 

Chanfrau and Burke made another attempt at the 
management of the Museum, and re-opened it Septem- 
ber 9th, with a splendid stock company. Charles Dib- 
din Pitt played a star engagement for one week, open- 
ing in " Hamlet ;" on September 16th, Mr. Charles 
Kemble Mason appeared as a star. September 23d, on 
the same night, T. D. Rice gave the people of Brooklyn 
a taste of his peculiar genius in the character of 
"Jumbo Jum." On the 30th, Mr. W. H. Reeves, an 
English singer of fine ability, appeared in scenes from 
the operas of "Maritana" and the "Love Spell." 

* Mr. Chanfrau was born in New York, 1824. He commenced his dra- 
matic life at the bottom of the ladder, and by his talents and industry he soon 
advanced to higher positions. He made a great hit in the character of 
"Mose." a local drama written by Mr. Ben Baker, entitled "Life in New 
York." He performed this character to crowded houses for a whole season 
at Mitchell's Olympic Theatre, New York. He was a man of versatile talent, 
and in every way a credit to the profession of his choice. 



THE DRAMA, OPERA, MUSIC AND ART. 



October 7th, James E. Mnrdock* made his entree on 
the Brooklyn stage. He performed " Hamlet," " Olaiul," 
" Beverly," and his other best characters. Murdock 
was followed by John Brougham. On Saturday, No- 
vember 2d, Miss Mary Taylor, once famous at Mitchell's 
Olympic Theatre, New York, appeared in the after- 
piece of "Jenny Lind." She made a hit with her 
audience. She appeared in "Cinderella" fortwelve nights. 
She proved the only great success that had as yet ap- 
peared at the Museum, in spite of the fact of many 
other superior artists that had gone before her. At 
the conclusion of her engagement, Chanfrau and Burke 
wisely gave up the management, with what little cash 
they had made. November 33d, the names of Lovell 
and King appear at the head of the bills as managers, 
with Mary Taylor, continuing her engagement till 
November 30th. Monday, December 2d, the celebrated 
elder Booth appeared for the first time in Brooklyn. 
The piece selected was : 

"New Wat to Pay Old Debts." 
Sir Giles Overreach, Mr. Booth; Lord Lovell, Mr. Jjindon; All- 
worth, Mr. Lovell; Justice Greedy, Mr. King; Marall, Mr. Kent; 
Margaret Overreach, Mrs. Lovell. 

The newspapers hailed Mr. Booth's appearance in 
Brooklyn with much favor. The Star remarked the 
next day, "that this child of true genius renewed their 
old impressions of his former days." 

" Tuesday, December 10th." 

" The Ikon Chest." 

Sir Edward Mortimer, Mr. Booth; Wilford (his first appearance 

* James E. Murdock was one of the finest actors America has produced. 
As a light comedian, in his own day he had not his superior. As a tragedian 
he was flue, and of the Cooper school. He was a man of marked poetic feel- 
ing, and an unusually mature scholar. His love of the dramatic art was a 
love for its elevation. He was a student of close application, and his repre- 
sentation of characters an intellectual treat. He had a flue figure, a rich 
sonorous voice, was graceful in action, and with the exception of Edwin 
Forrest, the finest elocutionist on the American stage. It is an unusual 
thing to find actors and actresses accomplished elocutionists, for most of 
them treat this branch of their profession with too much neglect. 

Mr. Murdock was born in Philadelphia in 1812. He made his first appear- 
ance at the Arch Street Theatre, that city, as "Frederick" in "Lovers' 
Vows," In 1838 he appeared as " Benedict," and made a fine impression. 
About 1842, he withdrew from the profession for the purpose of completing 
a college education, and after three years' hard study, he reappeared upon 
the boards of the Park Theatre, in New York, Tuesday, October 21st, 18i5. 
On this occasion the writer performed the part of the " King " to his ''Ham- 
let " He had a splendid audience, and performed a week's engagement with 
great success. In 1856 he went to England, and appeared for the first time 
before a select British audience, September 22d, at the Haymarket, London 
as "Young Mirable," in which character he made a fine impression. He 
performed the part of 'Young Rapid," in " Cure for the Heart Ache," for 
many consecutive nights to crowded houses. In 1857 he returned to the 
United States, and performed in all the principal theatres throughout the 
country, making admirers wherever he went. Mr. Murdock was also a 
patriot, as the following anecdotes will show: 

During the rebellion, and while he was playing an engagement at Milwau- 
kee, hearing that his son had joined the Union troops and was on his way to 
Washington, he immediately gave up his engagement, joined the army, and 
declared he would not act again tiU the war was over. His health failing 
him, he was forced to give up the active service of the field, and devoted his 
four years to the cause by attending to the sick and wounded soldiers in the 
different hospitals ; while doing so, he frequently gave readings for the 
amusement of the soldiers, and for the benefit of the Sanitary Commission in 
Washington and other cities. He was appointed Volunteer Aid on the staff 
of General Rousseau. After the war he reappeared upon the stage, and 
performed several brilliant engagements. For several years past he has not 
appeared upon the stage as an actor, but occasionally gives public readings. 
At this time he still lives, honored and respected in his old age. 



on any stage), Master Edwin Booth; Wenterton, Mr. C. W. 
Taylor; Lady Helen, Mrs. Lovell. 

It will here be observed that Edwin Booth, the 
famous tragedian, made his first attempt as an actor 
upon the Brooklyn stage. Through the indisposition 
of Mr. Booth, he was prevented from filling out his 
week's engagement. In fact, the houses were so poor 
that it was not worth the great actor's exertions to 
continue. A few more nights of ill-success, and it was 
found necessary for some of the prominent and liberal- 
minded citizens, headed by the ever noble-spirited gen- 
tleman and editor of the Star, Alden J. Spooncr, to 
give the manager, Mr. Lovell, a complimentary benefit. 

This took place on December the 20th, and we might 
say that here the ill-fated Museum closed its public 
career. 

Upon the stage of the Brooklyn Museum, within a 
few months, appeared the finest dramatic talent of the 
country, and yet the managers and actors did not meet 
with a success that might be expected in any country 
town of five thousand inhabitants; Brooklyn's popula- 
tion at the time was two hundred thousand. The only 
solution we can give of this singular neglect to support 
a well-regulated place of amusement is in the sup- 
position that Brooklyn was too convenient to New 
York, where abounded theatres and opera-houses of 
more gorgous proportions, and performances of greater 
attractions. 

1851, — February 7th, some of the principal citiz- 
ens of Brooklyn and New York gave a complimentary 
benefit, at Burton's Chambers Street Theatre, New 
York, to Dr. Nokthall, of Brooklyn, the dramatic 
author. They were John C. Vanderbilt, Gen. George P. 
Morris the poet, Hon. Samuel Johnson, Hon. Edward 
Copeland, Hon. John Greenwood, Hon. John A. King, 
Hon. Henry C. Murphy, Arthur James, Alden J. 
Spooner, and many others. The bill offered for the 
occasion was Dr. Northall's dramatization of "David 
Copperfield." The cast of characters comprised the 
names of William E. Burton, Rufus E. Blake, Lester 
Wallack, T. B. Johnston, Mrs. Russell, (Mrs. Hoey), 
Mrs. Hughes, Mrs. Skerret and Miss Hill (afterwards 
Mrs. W. E. Burton). The after-piece was a burlesque 
from the pen of Dr. Northall* entitled " Lucy-did- 
Sham-Amour." Miss Caroline Chapman appeared in 
her original character of Lucia. 

* Dr. William Knight Northall was the son of WiUiam Knight Northall 
of England ; his father came over to Brooklyn in 1830, and finding here 
a promising field, sent for his son, who had been educated for a surgeon- 
dentist. The Doctor soon got into an extensive practice, interrupted, how- 
ever, by sickness and nervousness, which forced him at times to seek relief 
in opium. He soon began to display his accomplishment as a writer, and 
was the first editor of the " Brooklyn Daily Advertiser." Subsequently he 
engaged as dramatist with Mr. Mitchell, manager oftheN. Y. Olympic 
Theatre, and Mr. Burton, of the Chambers Street Theatre, N. Y. He wrote 
travesties for these managers, all of which met with great success. Many of 
them embraced Shakespeare's plays. He had also great aptitude for sketch- 
ing, as his capital portrait of Jacob Patohen, "The last of the leather 
breeches," now in the rooms of the Long Island Historical Society wiU 
attest. Besides editorials and plays in great numbers, he wrote the life of 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



During the winter and spring of 1851, several other 
attempts were made to revive the Museum, with J. R. 
Scott in some of his best parts, and Chanfrau as 
*' Mose," but to no effect. 

On December 7th, several members of the profession 
gave the Fire Department a benefit, on which occasion 
0. W. Clark, Gabriel Harrison, Mr. Macdonald, Conner, 
Mrs. J. R. Scott and Miss Mestayer appeared. It was 
a success, turning in, as it did, over two hundred dol- 
lars. 

1852. — The Museum now fell into the hands of 
the amateurs, with an occasional performance by jjro- 
fessionals. 

1853. — "The Bbooklyk Athenaeum" opened 
its doors for the first time on May 2d. The building, 
a very tine structure, stands on the northeast corner of 
Atlantic and Clinton streets. It contains a fine, large 
lecture and concert room, with a small stage and drop 
curtain, but not convenient for dramatic j^erform- 
ances. 

During the early part of September, 1853, the writer 
proposed and organized a society, called the Brooklyn 
Dramatic Academy. The object of the association was 
to educate ladies and gentlemen for the stage, and give 
private performances twice a month. The Museum 
was taken for the purpose, and after some renovation 
they gave their first performance to a crowded and select 
audience. Among the members were several profes- 
sional gentlemen, who had partly retired from the 
stage. The organization had a prosperous existence 
for several years. The press of Brooklyn spoke of the 
Society in the highest terms, and on the day after its 
first performance, one of the Brooklyn papers made 
the following remarks : " The first dramatic perform- 
ance of the ' Brooklyn Dramatic Academy' took place 
last night, and was attended by an overflowing audience. 
The stage and boxes were beautifully decorated for the 
occasion. In front of the stage hung a large wreath 
of flowers, in the center of which were the words, ' The 
Drama.'' The columns on each side of the stage bore 
the names in gold of the most celebrated American 

George Frederick Handel Hill (the Yankee comedian), and lectures on den- 
tistry. He at length accepted an invitation to visit New Orleans, and take 
a position as one of the editors of the " Delta." He was there a short time 
when the cholera appeared, and he attempted to return home to Brooklyn, 
by steamer: when a few days out ho, with several others, was seized with the 
frightful malady, and died. The Itoctor was a most excellent companion. 
His wit was always genial and playful. Miss .Julia Northall, so well known 
for a time as an admirable vocalist, was his sister. He was for several 
years a member of the Brooklyn Hamilton Literary Association, and some 
of his piquant papers are noted in its early records. He was a most excel- 
lent dramatic critic, and was doubtless the best adapter of humorous pieces 
at the time the stage had in the country. He was the first Brooklyn man 
noted as a dramatist, and this (too iuadetiuate) sketch of him, in connection 
with the progress of the drama in Brooklyn, is eminently proper. Ho was 
the author of the following pieces ; •' David Copperfleld," "She's come," 
"Musical Arrivals." "Macbeth Travestie," " Virginius Travestie," " Old 
King Cole," "Magic Arrow," "Taming a Tartar," " Mount Cristey," "Lucy- 
did-sham-amour," " Here and There," "Jenny Phobia," " Arrival of the 
Kings of Europe," "Now York in Slices," "Three Gifts," "Two Dukes." 
" Magic Horse," and several laughable pieces for the negro minstrel stage. 



and European dramatic authors. The scenery and all 
the stage appointments were the finest ever wit- 
nessed in Brooklyn. The opening play was 'William 
Tell,' with Gabriel Harrison as 'Tell.' The characters 
were well cast, and the performance excellent through- 
out. Perhaps the organization will be able to accom- 
plish its main object in trying to create a taste for the 
drama in Brooklyn.'' 

1854. — About the only thing of any note in the 
way of the drama that was done in this year, was a 
benefit, given by the members of the " Dramatic Acad- 
emy," for the widows and orphans of the firemen who 
lost their lives at what was called the "Jennings 
Fire " in New York. The result yielded several hun- 
dred dollars. 

1855. — -The Howards took the old Brooklyn 
3Iuseum, and. prodiiced "Uncle Tom's Cabin," with 
little Cordelia Howard, the original Bva, and Mrs. 
Howard, the original Topsy, in the cast. It had a suc- 
cessful twelve nights' run. 

After a few weeks' absence, the Howards reappeared 
at the Museum in "The Lamplighter," with little 
Cordelia as the attractive feature of the play. The 
drama in Brooklyn was now dead in almost every par- 
ticular. In 1856-'57 and '58, there were some few at- 
tempts at the drama on the little stage of the Brooklyn 
Athenseum. The only prominent dramatic feature 
that occurred there, was on February 2d, 1858, when 
Mrs. Frances Ann Kemble read to a select but small 
audience Shakespeare's " Cymbeline." On the 4th of 
February, she read " Richard III," and on the 6th, 
" Henry VIII." On the last two nights the audience im- 
proved in numbers, and well they might, or Brooklyn 
be eternally disgraced for the want of sufficient intelli- 
gence to appreciate this woman's remarkable genius. 

The Brooklyn Academy of Music- 
Brooklyn now was growing rapidly, and many of its 
citizens who did not like going to New York to seek 
dramatic entertainment, began to talk about the want of 
a first-class building in Brooklyn, where the opera and 
the drama could both be performed. The writer, in con- 
junction with Judge Greenwood, Alden J. Spooner, 
and a few others interested in the progress of the drama 
and music in Brooklyn, called a meeting at the old 
Museum (which had now changed its name to that of 
Music Hall) for the purpose of securing the erectiou of 
an Academy of Music. 

The idea met with general approval. Several other 
meetings were called, and finally, on the evening of Oc- 
tober 22d, 1858, about fifty of the first citizens of Brook- 
lyn attended a public meeting to consider the necessity 
of a first-class building for opera and concert purposes. 
Mr. Whitehouse was called to the chair. Mr. A. A. 
Low and several other gentlemen made strong speeches 
in favor of amusements in Brooklyn, and Judge Green- 
wood offered the following resolution : 



THE DRAMA, OPERA, MUSIC AND ART. 



Resolved, That the time has come when the citizens of this 
rapidly growing city should have a building where they can ob- 
tain the benefits to be derived from innocent and instructive 
amusements. And instead of being obliged, as they now are, to 
go beyond the bounds of their own city for such purposes, a 
building should be immediately erected of sufficient capacity to 
accommodate the largest audience which will likely be drawn 
together. 

Other resolutions provided for a joint stock corpora- 
tion, with a capital of $300,000, whereon Mr. A. A. 
Low, Edward Whitehouse, Luther B. Wyman, S. B. 
Chittenden, Judge Greenwood, A. M. White, H. E. 
Pierrepont, E. D. Plympton, J. Carson Brevoort and 
others were appointed as a committee to make definite 
plans for the object. On the 19th of March, 1859, the 
act of coiporation was passed, authorizing a capital of 
$150,000, with power to increase the sum to $200,000 ; 
the stock to be held in shares of $50 each, with an 
inducement offered that each subscriber to the amount 
of ten shares should have free admission to all enter- 
tainments without the right to reserved seats. Among 
the largest subscribers were A. A. Low, S. B. Chitten- 
den, Thomas Hunt and H. E. Pierrepont. In a few 
weeks the desired amount was obtained ; and on May 
the 18th, 1859, the following gentlemen were appointed 
the Building Committee : A. A. Low, S. B. Chitten- 
den, G. P. Thomas, H. E. Pierrepont, Luther B. Wy- 
mau, Arthur W. Benson, and E. I. Lowber. Mr. Eidlitz 
was selected as the architect, John French mason, I. 
lleeves carpenter, and H. W. Calyo scenic artist. 
The work of excavation commenced on October 6th, 
1859. As the building advanced, the stock was in- 
creased to $200,000, which proved to be the full cost of 
the edifice when completed, allowing it to start free of 
debt, a fact seldom occurring in the erection of an 
opera-house. 

1861.— The Academy of Music was duly inaugu- 
rated by a grand concert on Tuesday evening, Janu- 
ary 15th, and a ball on Thursday evening, January 
17th. On the opening night, Mr. S. B. Chittenden, at 
that time President of the Board of Directors, delivered 
an address. The Committee on Entertainments were 
Lnther B. Wyman, S. B. Chittenden, A. Cooke Hull, 
Judge John Greenwood, W. M. Richards, and J. W. 
Degrauw. 

Progkamme 

OF THE OPENING ENTERTAINMENTS, 

Taesday evening, Jan. 15, 1861. 

Vocal and Instrumental Concert, under the direction of 3Ir. 

Theo. Mxfeld, conductor. 

The Committee of Arrangements take pleasure in stating that 

the services of the following eminent artists have been secured ; 

Madame Colson Soprano. 

Signor Brignoli Tenor. 

' ' Ferri Baritone. 

" Susini Basso. 

Signor Muzio, conductor of the vocal part. 
Jos. Noll, leader of the full and complete orchestra of the 
Philharmonic Society. 
(2) 



Pakt I. 

Overture— " Dei- Preischutz Weber 

Quartette de " / ParUani,"—" A te Cara amor Focoso" 

Madame Colson, Brignoli, Feeki and Colletti. 

Aria de " Don Giovanni "— "Madamina" Mozart 

Signor Colletti. 

Belerode, " Vespers Siclliennes" Verdi 

Madame Colson. 

Duetto de " Don Pasquale"—E rimasto impietrato" 

Madame Colson, Brignoli, Ferei and Colletti. 

Part II. 

Overture— "(?«aaunie Tell" Eossini 

Duetto de " Don Giovanni"—" La ci darem la mano Mozart 

Madame Colson and Ferei. 

Eomanza de "Martha." Floton 

Signor Brignoll 

Chanson a vere de " Manon L'Escant" Auber 

Madame Colson. 

Eomanza de ' ' Ernani." Verdi 

Signor Ferei. 

Gran Finale de '■ Lucia." Donizetti 

Madame Colson, Brignoli, Ferei and Colletti. 

Duetto de " Belissario" " Liberi Siete" , Donizetti 

Beignoli and Ferri. 

" ScUlkr March." Meyerbeer 

Second Entertainment. 
Ihursday evening, January 17, 1861. 
A Grand Promenade and Ball. 
Tickets of admission for both evenings, $5.00. 
Eeserved seats to the concert without extra charge. 

The concert gave perfect satisfaction to the audience. 
Although the night was disagreeable, yet the house 
was filled to overflowing. At the close of the first 
overture the drop curtain, representing the "Temple 
of Apollo,"was slowly let down to the stage, in front of 
the crimson one, wheii of a sudden the full force of over 
a thousand jets of gas was turned on, producing almost 
an electric effect ; illuminating, as it did, the fine ef- 
fort of the artist, and revealing more definitely the 
splendid proportions of the house. 

The Academy of Music fronts on Montague street, 250 feet 
long, running parallel with the street, and 92 feet wide. There 
are seven entrances on Montague street. The main entrance is 
at the west end, towards Clinton street. The vestibule which 
leads into the theatre proper is spacious, and decorated in the 
same style as the interior, which is a sort of cross between the 
Turkish and Gothic, done in stencil, with the coloring sombre 
of brown and low key yellows, not wholly appropriate to a build- 
ing of its nature. There are three entrances Irom the vestibule to 
the lobby that forms itself around the auditorium. To the left 
and right are two stairways, seven feet wide, one leads to the 
gallery and the other to the dress circle. There are five en- 
trances from the lobby to the parquette, which contains 425 arm 

chairs. 

The balcony around the parquette seats 460, and dress cir- 
cle about the same number ; while the gallery contains room 
enough to make the seating of the house number 2,300. There 
are six large proscenium boxes, several private rooms for the 
directors of the building, and a large assembly room over the 
vestibule. The stage of this building is its finest feature, and 
in size is almost equal to Drury Lane or Covent Garden Thea- 
tres London. The width is 90 feet, depth 86 feet. The open- 
ing between the proscenium is 55 feet, with a height of over 60 
feet, while the accommodations of stage-traps, green-room, and 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



dressing-rooms are every ample for all purposes connected 
wtth drama or opera. The wholo building is a solid and fine 
piece of masonry, and for its object has not its superior in the 
cauntry ; and, whatever may be its faults as to interior coloring, 
still it reflects the highest credit on all concerned with its incep- 
tion and completion. 

When this building was first opened, it was intend- 
ed that the drama should not enter within its "sacred 
walls," but that opera, concerts and balls would fully 
occupy its stage and floor. This, however, proved to 
be a great mistake ; operas, concerts and balls were not 
so plentiful, or in sufficient demand to give continuous 
support to the building. Besides, a large and highly 
respectable proportion of the public desired the drama, 
and demanded it. Several of the best managers of New 
York had made application for the building for a large 
number of nights, but their applications had been re- 
fused, on the ground that the building was not intend- 
ed for dramatic purposes ; while, at the same time, it 
had every facility in scenery, etc., for opera or drama- 
tic performances. It was, in fact, a first-class theatre. 
Finally, the people's voice for the drama was so strong 
and the applications of managers so numerous that 
the matter forced itself before the Board of Directors, 
and a committee was appointed, consisting of Judge 
Greenwood, E. R. Raymond and Mr. Lambert, to de- 
cide whether the drama should be admitted into the 
building. To their honor and enlightenment be it 
said, they reported favorably, and saved the city of 
Brooklyn from a lasting stigma that would have dis- 
graced the bigotry of the most stupid Puritan. It was 
not long before the utterances of the great dramatists 
resounded amid the pillars and archways of this fine 
temple. The celebrated Hackett and Edwin Forrest 
were the first applicants to introduce the drama into 
the Academy of Music. These gentlemen had been re- 
fused, while the Board of Directors allowed a " horse- 
trainer," by the name of JoJin S. Rarey, to disgrace the 
building. However, prejudice soon hung her head in 
shame.and the tragic and the comic muse, as developed 
by the genius of a Shakespeare and a Sheridan, a John- 
son, a Garrick, and a Siddons, were then accorded their 
proper place within the walls of this splendid edifice, 
and did more for its maintenance and success than 
anything else that occurred there. 

The first performance after the opening of the build- 
ing was given by the Brooklyn Philharmonic Society, 
on Saturday evening, Jan. 10th ; after this many 
operas and concerts followed in rapid succession, which 
will be particularized in our chapter upon the His- 
tory of Music in Brooklyn. 

Brooklyn at this time had nearly 400,000 inhabi- 
tants and, was still withouta permanently open theatre. 
This is unprecedented in the histories of cities of the 
same size throughout the civilized world. Yet, from 
the fact of the opening of the Academy of Music, we 
shall find the space at our command crowded with a 
larger number of performances than hitherto; and can 



notice only those entertainments which were of a superior 
character; minor concerts and dramatic performances 
can find no record here. The beginning of the dramatic 
history of any city showing its struggles for advance- 
ment and recognition, is far more important and inter- 
esting than its history after it has obtained a proper basis. 
The following is acopy of the bill of the inauguration 
of the drama in the Academy: 

BROOKLYN ACADEMY OF MUSIC. 
Lesee Henry C. Jarrett. 

First Drmnalic Peiformatice 

ever given in this building will take place on 

Monday Evening, December 23d, 1861. 

When will be presented Shakespeare's great Tragedy of 

" Hamlet." 

Hamlet, Prince of Denmark MJr. E. L. Davenport 

TJie Ghost of Hamlet's Father Mr. J. W. Wallace 

Polonius Mr. Mark Smith 

Laertes Mr. J. H. Allen 

Horatio Mr. Henry Langdon 

First Gravedigger Mr. T. Placide 

Gertrude, Queen of Denmark Mrs. J. W. Wallack 

Ophelia Mrs. .Julia Bennett Barrow 

King Mr. Kingsland 

Osrick ....Mr. H. G. Clark 

Bernardo Mr. Matthews 

Francisco Mr. Proctor 

Actress Miss Gimber 

Rosencrantz Mr. Ferguson 

Guildenstein Mr. Van Deering 

First Actor Mr. Livingston 

Marcellus Mr. Garland 

Second Gravedigger Mr. J. Sefton 

Prices of Admission. 

Secured seats in Parquette and Balcony $1.00. 

Balcony, Parquette, and Dress Circle 50c. 

Family Circle 25c. 

The piece was well placed upon the stage and well 
performed. Davenport and Wallack were fine in their 
respective parts. The house was crowded in every 
part. 

The Second Dramatic Performance 

took place on Tuesday, December 24th, on which oc- 
casion Sheridan's great comedy of The School for 
Scandal was performed, with the following cast: 

Joseph Surfaee, Mr. J. W. Wallack ; Charles Surface, Mr. E. L. 
Davenport ; Sir Peter Teazel, Mr. Mark Smith ; Sir Oliver Surface, 
Mr. George H. Andrews ; Orahtree, Mr. Thomas Placide ; Sir 
Benjamin Backbite, Mr. J. H. Allen ; Careless, Mr. Langdon ; 
Moses, Mr. J. O. Sefton ; [Ladij Teazel, Mrs. J. B. Barrow ; Mrs. 
Candow, Mrs. Brougham ; Lady Sneerwell, Miss Irving ; Maria, 
Miss Gimber. 

Ttttrti Dramatic Night. — Wednesday, December 25th, 1861, 
Shakespeare's tragedy ot "Othello," with the following cast: Othello, 
Mr. E. L. Davenport ; lago, Mr. J. W. Wallack ; Brabantio, Mr. 
Mark Smith ; Gassio, Mr. J. H. Allen ; Montana, Mr. H. Lang- 
don; Emelia, Mrs. J. W. Wallack; Desdemona, Mrs. Julia B. 
Barrow; Boderigo, Mr. J. O. Sefton ; Duke of Venice, Mr. Kings- 
land ; Gratiano, Mi. Ferguson; Ludouico, Mr. Van Deering; 
Julio, Mr. Matthews ; Messenger, Mr. Garland. 

The fourth performance was that of London Assurance ; the 
fifth that of Damon ami Pythias, concluding with the comedy of 
the Honey-moon. 



THE DRAMA, OPERA, MUSIC AND ART. 



These performances were great successes. Nothing 
further of dramatic importance occurred at the Aca- 
demy of Music in the first season of its existence. 

1862. — Mr. James W. Nixon, manager, presented 
the celebrated tragedian Mr. Edivin Forrest, for eight 
nights, at the Academy of Music, with new scenery, 
etc. 

Mr. Forrest's first appearance here was on Monday, 
February 10th, 1862, as King Zear, supported by John 
McCullongh as Edgar, Miss Athena as Cordelia, Mad. 
Ponisi as Goneril, and Mrs. N. K. Forrester as 
Regan. The tragedywas remarkably well placed 
upon the stage. Mr. J. R. Smith, one of the best 
scenic artists in America at the time, painted 
several new scenes for the piece ; and, indeed, it 
was the first time that any effort had been made 
to place a performance on the Academy stage 
with suflBcieut attention to make it worthy of public 
remark. The house on this occasion was crowded in 
every part, and the reception which the grand actor 
received must have been even highly satisfactory to 
him, who had so often stood before crowded audiences 
in the largest theatres iu the world. On Wednesday, 
Feb. 12, he played in Jack Cade, supported by the 
same company, and with new and appropiate scenery, 
by J. R. Smith ; on Thursday, February 13, in Vir- 
ginius; on Friday, February 14, in Richelieu; on 
Monday, February 17, as Damon in Damon atid Py- 
thias; on Wednesday, February 19, in Metamora, 
(never before performed in Brooklyn), with new 
scenery, etc.; on Thursday, February 20 as Spartacus 
in The Gladiator; on Friday evening, February 
21, he had a benefit, on which occasion he appeared 
in the tragedy of Hamlet. During Mr. Forrest's en- 
gagement the price of admission was 50c., reserved 
seats 50c. extra. 

Other combinations soon followed, with such stars as 
John Gilbert, John E. Owens, Lester Wallack, Miss 
Bateman, Matilda Heron, Hackett as Falstaff, etc., 
etc. Tuesday, Dec. 23, Mr. Edwin Booth appeared 
for three nights, as Richelieu, Sir Edward Mortimer, 
and Shylock. 

After these performances followed all the best drama- 
tic combinations and stars. Mr. Lester Wallack fre- 
quently brought over his company from New York, 
and presented tlie old Euglish comedies with the full 
strength of his company. Joseph Jefferson performed 
his great cliaracter of Rip Van Winkle many times 
to crowded houses. Miss Charlotte Cushman played 
Queen Catherine, Meg Merrilies, and Lady Macbeth 
with great success. Laura Keeue frequently brought 
over her Olympic company. 

The Celebration of the 300th Birthday of 
Shakespeare, 1864.— On April 23d, 1864, a "com- 
plimentary testimonial" was given to Gabriel Harrison, 
under tlie auspices of the members of the Long Island 
Historical Society. The date of 23d of April happening 



to l)e tiie three hundredth anniversary of Shakespeare's 
birtliday, Mr. Harrison turned the occasion into a cele- 
bration of the Bard's birthday, and, in order to make 
the occasion befitting, produced a series of tableaux vi- 
vants, illustrating scenes from Shakespeare's principal 
plays. The groupings contained over one hundred 
personsin costume. Between the play and the tableaux, 
Sprague's great ode to Shakespeare was read by Miss 
Ellen Grey, in the character of Melpomene. The 
evening's entertainment commenced, for the first time 
in Brooklyn, with Shakespeare's five-act comedy of the 
Twefth Night, with the following cast : Viola, Mrs. Con- 
way; Malvolio, Mr. Conway; Duke Orsino, Mr. J. 
Duff; Sir Toby Belch, Mr. A. Vincent ; Sir Andrew 
Aguecheek, Mr. C. W. Lewis; Clown, Mr. H. Hawks; 
Antonio, Mr. T. H. Dow; Sebastian, Mr. H. S. Mur- 
dock ; Fabian, Mr. T. Duncan ; Valentine, Miss Bur- 
nett; Roberto, Mr. Wilkes; Friar, Mr. Perry; Olivia, 
Miss E. King ; Maria, Miss Mowbray. 

1863, like 1861, will stand out in bold relief in 
the history and progress of the Drama in the City of 
Brooklyn. Even the inauguration of the Academy of 
Music had not yet satisfied the people, or given them a 
temple devoted to the Drama solely, where they could 
nightly gather for the enjoyment of rational amuse- 
ment. The performances at the Academy were but 
occasional, and, frequently, the prices too high to suit 
all classes. Besides, the jjlace became the resort of the 
fashionable, who vied with each other in the display of 
dress, which was the means of shutting out a large 
number of highly intellectual people, who could not 
afford the display of silks and velvets, or roll in fine 
carriages to the Opera, Grand Concerts, or the Drama. 
The public, however, by the opening of the Academy 
of Music, had been awakened to the desire for the 
Drama, and had tasted from the magic goblet of the 
tragic muse, as presented by the great Forrest, with 
his magnificent figure, voice, passion and pathos ; or 
Matilda Heron, in her wonderful rendering of Camille, 
with her tender and mysteriously sympathetic depths 
of human nature, and whose mantle as an artist was fit 
to adorn the shoulders of a Rachel. Miss Bateman, 
too, had touched the hearts of young lovers of both 
sexes by her charming personification of Juliet ; while 
Falstaff, as rendered by Hackett, cracked the sides of 
his audience by his unctuously told lies. Indeed, a 
new spirit was infused in the people for a theatre 
proper in the city, and not a building devoted to all 
kinds of entertainments. In 1862 the upper part of 
the building at the corner of Court and Remson streets 
was fitted up in the form of a theatre, and opened as 

Hooley's Opera House, and was devoted 

wholly to negro minstrel exhibitions. This place be- 
came a success at the start, and acted as another incent- 
ive for a theatre. The writer, who was always anxious 
to have a theatre in Brooklyn, appreciated these fiicts, 
at once called on Buckley T. Benton, Esq., who was 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



filially induced to build a tlieatre. On the 1st of 
May, 1863, the foundation for the building was com- 
menced. The writer at once became an applicant, 
among; many others, for the lesseeship, and accom- 
plished his object at a rental of $6,500 per year. 

The Park Tlieatre Opened.— On Monday 

evening, September 14th, 1863, the first regularly 
established Theatre was opened in the City of Brook- 
lyn. The writer named it the " Park Theatre," after 
the old Park Theatre of New York, for many years the 
honored temple of the Drama in this country. 

The location of the theatre is on Fulton street, directly oppo- 
site the City Hall. The front is of Xora Scotia stone, presenting 
a handsome elevation of 60 feet, with a width of 56 feet. The 
entrance is in the centre of this building, while the theatre ex- 
extends 110 feet along Adams street. The auditorium has a 
parquette and a dress circle, or gallery. The theatre seated 
1,200 people. Mr. Gabriel Harrison here introduced, for the first 
time in any theatre, what he termed "sunken footlights," so that 
the front edge of the stage was not interrupted by the scolloped 
tins, which usually prevented a full sight of the actors' feet. This 
was an innovation that was soon followed by almost every theatre 
in the country. The ceiling was handsomely frescoed with the 
representation of the patron-muses ; and, instead of the usual 
brackets and globes of light projecting out from the side walls, 
perplexing the sight, a large corrugated reflector hung from the 
ceiling, imparting a mellowness of light that was perfectly 
agreeable to the sight. The stage was GO feet broad by 31 feet 
deep. There were two private boxes, and the whole theatre had 
a bright and pleasing effect. 

The object of the manager was to conduct the 
theatre on the most refined principles, with a stock 
company of excellent artists for the performance of 
light and pleasing comedies, dramas, and musical 
pieces of every character. The following is the bill for 
the opening night: 

PARK THE.4TRE. 
Fulton Street, opposite City Hall. 

Lessee and Managek Grabriel Harrison. 

Stage Manager Mr. B. A. Baker. 

Scenic Aetist Mr. George Tirrell. 

Mr. Gabriel Harrison 

Respectfully informs the public that this New and Elegant 

Theatre will open for the 

REGUL.1B Season 

On Monday evening, September 14th, 1863, with a first-class 
company, consisting of the following ladies and gentlemen : 

Miss Henrietta Irving From the Western Theatre. 

Miss Mary Shaw From the Baltimore Theatre. 

Miss E. Couren From the Boston Theatre. 

Miss E. Burnett From Niblo's Garden. 

Madam Pozzoni From the St. Louis Theatre. 

Mrs. Tyrell From Laura Keene's Theatre. 

Miss Curtis, Miss Singleton and Miss Norton. 

Mr. George H. Andrews From the Old Park Theatre, N. Y. 

Mr. Delmon Grace From Winter Garden, N.Y. 

Mr. George Metkiff From Walnut Street, Philadelphia. 

Mr. Walter Lennox From Laura Keene's, N. Y. 

Mr. T. C. Gonilay From Niblo's Garden, N. Y- 

Mr. George Rea, Mr. S. Florence, Mr. H. Flood, and Mr. B. A. 

Baker Of the Old Olympic, N. Y. 

Together -r ith a numerous Corps de Ballet. 

On this occasion will be presented Buckstone's excellent 
Comedy, in three acts, entitled 



" 3Iarried Life." 

Mr. Coddle Mr. George H. Andrews. 

Mrs. Coddle Miss H. Irving. 

Mr. Dore Mr. Walter Lennox. 

Mrs. Dore Miss Mary Shaw. 

Mr. Lionel Lynx Mr. Delmon Grace. 

Mrs. Lionel Lynx Miss E. Couran. 

Mr. Younghusband Mr. Metkiff. 

Mrs. Younghusband .^ Miss Burnett. 

Mr. Dismal Mr. Gourlay . 

Mrs. Dismal Mrs. Tyrell. 

To conclude with the musical farce of 
" The Loan of a Looer." 

Peter Spyke Mr. Walter Lennox. 

Captain Amesfort Mr. Metkiff. 

Swezsell Mr. Gourlay. 

Delve Mr. Rea. 

Gertrude (with song) Miss Mary Shaw. 

Ernestine Miss Burnett. 

Orchestra, of 26 performers, under the leadership of John M. 
Loretz, Jr. 

Price of Admission. 

Private Boxes $5.00 

Orchestra Chairs 1.00 

Parquette 75 

Balcony 50 

Family Circle 25 

No Extra Charge for Reserved Seats. 

The theatre was packed from parquette to gallery. 
The following expression of the success of the opening 
we take from the New York Times : 

"The charming little theatre, the first attempt of our sister 
city in the dramatic line proper, was opened last night to the 
fullest house we have ever seen. Long before the rise of the 
curtain, the cheerful placard of ' standing room only ' was 
placed conspicuously at the door, and hundreds were compelled 
to go away disappointed. We have already given a detailed de- 
scription of the house, which for neatness and elegance of finish, 
is a credit to the city and an exception even in the long list of 
metropolitan theatres. The bill for the first night included 
' Married Life ' and 'The Loan of a Lover.' The company in- 
cludes several well-known names, prominent among which are : 
Mr. G. H. Andrews, " Old Park," favorite, and Miss Mary Shaw, 
sister to Mrs. Hoey and Mrs. Watkins. It would not be fair to 
criticise closely the initial performance of an opening night, 
and yet it affords us pleasure to state that Mr. Harrison's cast, 
scenery and appointments are by no means inferior even to 
those which at Wallack's last season we so pleasantly remem- 
ber. Mr. Tirrell's scenes are worthy of special commendation, 
ranking far above those of ordinary establishments, and worthy 
really to be examined as works of art. After the first piece, Mr. 
Harrison, who was loudly called for, made a neat and telling 
speech, thanking the audience for their generous patronage and 
promising to do all in his power to deserve a continuance of 
public favor. The orchestra, under the direction of Mr. Loretz, 
Jr., was well balanced, plastic, and practically useful." 

The house was well filled night after night to wit- 
ness such pieces as " The Soldier's Daughter," " Beauty 
and the Beast," "John of Paris," " Sketches in India," 
and such light pieces. On Monday night, November 
16th, the style of the performance was changed to a 
heavier class of plays, in which the manager, Gabriel 
Harrison, appeared as Julieu St. Pierre in Sheridan 
Knowles' tragedy of "The Wife," in which he was sup- 
ported by Miss Irving as Marianne, with the rest of 



THE DRAMA, OPERA, MUSIC AND ART. 



1117 



the cast filled out to the best ability of the company. 
It is always an unpleasant task to write in the personal 
pronoun I, even when used with the greatest modesty, 
but as the matter is one of history, the writer shall 
allude to himself as if speaking of another person. On 
Mr. Harrison's first appearance, the house was crowded 
in every part, and he met with such a success as an 
actor that he performed the one character for a whole 
week. The second week he performed the character of 
" Claud Melnotte " in "The Lady of Lyons;" third 
week, " Carwin " in the drama of "Therese ;" fourth 
week, in the drama of " The Impostor." This was the 
first production of a Brooklyn dramatist on a Brooklyn 
stage. It was a translation from the French, made by 
John J. Kyan, one of the editors of the New York 
Herald, and adapted to the stage by Gabriel Harrison. 
This drama had a run for ten nights, and was with- 
drawn on account of the illness of Mr. Harrison. 

Tlie New Tork BecaH remarked that "Mr. Harrison conceived 
and acted his characters with great power. He has a nervous 
manner and an excellent voice, which he manages well. Per- 
fectly at ease on the stage, he is also utterly without the aifected 
poses, exits and other traditional nonsense of the profession, 
and is a valuable addition to our list of actors." 

The Neiv Yorlc World endorsed the above in saying: 

" Mr. Gabriel Harrison has a firm appreciation of stage art. 
He has a capital presence, enunciates finely, and furnishes 
throiighout excellent reading of his text. His actions are ani- 
mated, easy and natural, and in some scenes he is surpassingly 
fine. There is a taste and a gentlemanliness in all that he 
does." 

These remarks of the press were more than gratify- 
ing to the writer. Success and fortune seemed to be 
extending their hands, but sunshine can be obscured in 
the brightest day. Mr. John J. Kyan, of the Herald, and 
several other highly cultured gentlemen, suggested that 
Mr. Harrison should introduce the English Opera upon 
the boards of his theatre. The idea seemed a good one, 
and Mr. Harrison immediately organized an English 
opera troupe. 

1864:. — After some three weeks' preparation of 
new scenery, dresses, &c., &c., at an expense of nearly 
$3,000, he announced the engagement of Mad. Compte 
Borchard, of the Italian opera, as sorprano, Mr. Wil- 
liam Castle as tenor, Mr. S. C. Campbell, baritone, and 
Mr. Theodore Thomas as leader of the orchestra. 
Castle and Campbell were members at the time of a 
minstrel troupe, and had never before performed in 
opera. The orchestra had thirty in number, and the 
chorus thirty-seven picked voices. 

Monday evening, January 4th, 1864, was presented Balfe's 
opera, in four acts, entitled the Bohemian Girl, with the following 
cast, viz: Arline, Mad. Compte Bochard ; Gypsie Queen, Miss 
Mary Shaw; Thaddeus (his first appearance in opera), Mr. W. 
Castle ; Count Arnheim (his first appearance in opera), Mr. S. C. 
Campbell ; DevUshoof, Mr. Geo. Kea ; Fiorsiein, Mr. Pike ; 
(iiptain of the Guard, Mr. Florence ; Tambourine Dance, Miss 
Jennie Gourley ; Conductor, Mr, Theodore Thomas ; Master of 
Chorus, Mr. Metzler. New scenery, dresses, &o., &o. 



The houses were crowded for a few nights, and al- 
though the press of New York and Brooklyn spoke of 
the performance in the highest terms, still, with the 
extraordinary expenses of the two companies, the man- 
ager found it impossible after a few months' struggle to 
keep his theatre open any longer. The operas of 
" Maritani," "The Bohemian Girl," and "Era Diav- 
olo " had been placed upon the stage in the best pos- 
sible style to uo other effect than the ruin of the 
manager; and, in the latter part of February, 18G4, 
Mr. Harrison retired from the management of the Park 
Theatre. The house was then let out to Miss Fanny 
Herring, who performed for a week; after her Mr. 
Hackett had the house for a week, and the theatre 
changed hands till April 2d, when Mr. and Mrs. Con- 
way became the lessees, and opened with the play of 
Ingomar, themselves taking the parts of Ingomar and 
Parthenia. They met with some success. Their sum- 
mer season, as they called it, lasted nineteen nights, 
when they closed the theatre until the 3d of Septem- 
ber, on which occasion they re-opened the Park Theatre 
with the comedy of "School for Scandal" to a full 
house, with Mr. and Mrs. Conway performing the 
leading characters. The first season of Mr. Conway's 
management was a struggle, but by hard work and ex- 
cellent management (with an occasional introduction 
of stars) the theatre became a marked success. At the 
time they took the theatre, the great Rebellion was 
over, and the people of the North flushed with victory, 
and an immense amount of money, put into circulation 
by the paying off of thousands of troops, gave the 
masses means for enjoyment, and all kinds of places of 
amusement gathered in rich harvests. 

The Brooklyn Theatre.— The Con ways ex- 
tended their ambition, and after several years of 
brilliant success in the little Park Theatre, they felt 
that they must have a larger one. Upon their 
application, Judge McCue, Messrs. Kingsley and 
Keeney purchased the old St. John's Church projierty 
on the southeast corner of Washington and Johnston 
streets, and at once began the erection of a fine theatre. 
It had a width of seventy feet on Johnston street and 
one hundred and twenty-eight feet deep, parallel with 
Washington street, with the entrance to the auditorium 
on the extreme south end on Washington street. This 
entrance was 28 feet wide by 40 feet deep. The face of 
the building was constructed of Philadelphia brick with 
brown stone trimmings, with no pretension to arch- 
itectural beauty. The auditorium was well arranged 
and the decorations were of the richest description. It 
was equal in this respect to any of the finest theatres in 
New York City. 

Mr. and Mrs. F. B. Conway were the lessees, and the doors of 
the Brooklyn Theatre were open for the first time on October 2d, 
1871, with Lord Lytton's admirable character comedy of Money, 
with the following distribution of characters: Alfred Evelyn, 
Mr. Frank Eoche ;* Sir John Vesey, Mr. F. Chippendale ; Mr. 



1118 



mSTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



Graves, Mr. E. Lamb ; Sir Fredrick Blount, Mr. M. A. Ken- 
nedy ;• Captain Dudley Smooth, Mr. K. 0. White ;* Mr. David 
Stout, Mr. G. C. Charles ;* Lord Rosemore, Mr. C. Loveday ;* 
Old Member, Mr. George Spear ;* Sharp, Mr. J. Mackay ; Ser- 
vaiU, Mr. F. Edwards ; Toke, Mr. A. S. Wright ; Clara Douglas, 
Miss Ella Burns ;* Lady Franklin, Mrs. Farren ;* Oeorgiana 
Vesey, Miss 5Iaud Ernest.* Prior to the comedy, an opening 
address, written by Mr. John Brougham, was delivered by Mr. 
and Mrs. F. B. Conway, and at the rising of the curtain the 
national ode of the " Star Spangled Banner " was sung by the 
entire company. 

The house was crowded with a brilliant audience, 
and the future of the theatre promised prosi^erity; but 
the Conways lost during their management, up to 1875, 
over $12,000. After the deaths of Mr. and Mrs. Con- 
way, which occurred within one year of each other, in 
1874: and 1875, their daughters managed the theatre 
for a short time, but not successfully. 

No two dramatic artists were ever connected with 
the history of the drama in Brooklyn more deserving 
of a biographical notice than Mr. and Mrs. Conway. 

For years they worked night and day for the ad- 
vancement ot the drama and the pleasure of the peo- 
ple, and we deeply regret that our limited space will 
not allow us to do them justice in full detail. 

Fredekick Baktlett Conway was born in Clifton, England, 
February 10, 1819, and was at the time of his death 55 years of 
age. His father— known in dramatic history as the Elder Conway 
—was an actor of eminence, one of the proud names that adorn 
the British stage. Frederick, a lad of unusual promise, was en- 
tered at Oxford at an early age, in the expectation that he 
would adopt the clerical profession. The histrionic instinct of 
his race was strong within him, however, and would not con- 
form itself to the vocation selected for him. He broke away, 
and went upon the stage as soon as his majority was attained. 
With that quick, manly intelligence and artistic impulse 
which were among the distinguishing features of his subsequent 
career, his advancement was exceptionally rapid, and at the 
age of 24 he had become one of the favorite impersonators of 
"leading juvenile" characters in his native country. He was 
judged competent to sustain opposite parts to the brightest stars 
of the theatrical firmament, and the record shows that his pri- 
vate life was one of moderation, modest and manful persever- 
ance, and the closest attention to the study of an art he held in 
proiound reverence. His fame grew steadily, and when, in 
1851, he accompanied the eminent comedian, Mr. William Dav- 
idge, to America, Mr. Conway found that his good name had 
preceded him. His welcome in this country was prompt and 
cordial, and he at once took high rank among the most capable 
and erudite members of his profession. His first appearance in 
America was made at the Broadway Theatre, New York, where 
he performed Charles Surface in the "School for Scandal." 

About this time Mr. Conway formed the acquaintance of a 
briUiant young actress just then ascending to fame. Miss Sarah 
Crocker. The acquaintance, promoted by an enthusiastic devo- 
votion to a common art-purpose, speedily developed a tenderer 
feeling, and the beautiful and talented young artiste soon be- 
came Mrs. Conway. It was a brilliant and prosperous alliance 
of hearts, animated by the generous impulse that leads to renown 
—devotion to each other and to their art. Mr. Conway was 
one of the most pains-taking and sympathetic artists that ever 
supported a star actor. His admirable support of Edwin For- 
rest for over one hundred nights at the Broadway Theatre, New 
York, met with the full endorsement of the press. Mr. Forrest 



• First appearance. 



was one of those artists whose keen, good judgment and great 
heart always raised him above the pettiness of attempting to add 
to his own lustre by the aid of colorless surroundings. That 
great actor knew— as every truly great actor always knows — that 
he shone best when his support was most competent and intel- 
ligent; and the writer takes great pleasure in stating, that two 
years previous to Mr. Conway's death, while taking Thanksgiv- 
ing dinner with the great tragedian, at his residence in Broad 
street, Philadelphia, Mr. Forrest remarked " that he never in 
his life, as a star actor, here or in Europe, met with a more able 
supporter, a more genial gentleman, or a more thorough dra- 
matic scholar than Mr. Conway," and this was perfectly true. At 
the time of his first appearance in this country, at the Broadway 
Theatre, in conjunction with Mr. Davidge, on the 19th of 
August of that year, when the Broadway Theatre was reopened 
by Marshall, with Mr. G. Barrett as stage manager, the initial 
performance was " The School for Scandal" ; Mr. Conway play- 
ing the part of Cliarles Surface. During the season he essayed 
the characters of Hamlet, Macbeth, Othello, Claude Melnotte, 
Captain Absolute, and Doricourt, in all of which he was emi- 
nently successful. Tragedy and light comedy were equally con- 
genial to him, and he soon became an established favorite. 
He also appeared in "The Stranger," with Miss Charlotte Cush- 
man as Mrs. Haller, and in "The Husband of My Heart," 
as the Count de Fromsac. In the intervals of their engagements, 
Mr. Conway, with his wife, made extended " starring tours," 
visiting the principal cities of the East, West, and South, and 
meeting with favorable receptions wherever they played. Ad- 
mirable as Mr. Conway was as a " star," his greatest reputation 
was achieved while supporting Edwin Forrest, and though en- 
dowed by nature and gifted in a remarkable degree, the secret of 
Mr. Conway's success rested in his pains-taking conscientious- 
ness; with him whatever was worth doing at all, was worth 
doing well. His motto maybe said to have been, "Whatever 
thy hand findeth to do, do it with all thy might." His por- 
trayal of the character of Jacques was a very fine performance. 
His Elgar, in "Lear," was unapproachable. His Rolando, in 
"The Honeymoon," as a piece of epigrammatic acting, if it 
might be so termed, was the best that has ever been seen on the 
American stage, and was only equaled by his representation of 
Pytliias, in ' Damon and Pythias." A favorite character with 
him was Malvolio, in "The Twelfth Night." In all the attri- 
butes which form the gentleman, the actor, and the scholar, Mr. 
Conway was the peer of the brilliant galaxy with whom he was 
contemporary. His social qualities endeared him to a large cir- 
cle of friends and admirers, who all felt alike the loss of Fred- 
erick B. Conway. 

He died Sept. 7th, 1874, in Manchester, Mass., whither he had 
gone in quest of health and strength. Mr. Conway had been 
in ill-health for nearly three years previously. His funeral took 
place, Thursday, Sept. 10th, from the Church of the "Savior." 
The Eev. Mr. Nye preached the funeral sermon, and over a 
thousand people attended the service. He was buried amid 
the quiet and leafy intervals of Greenwood, and his death was 
sincerely felt by thousands of citizens. The Edwin Forrest Club, 
of New Y'ork, of which he was a member, took appropriate action 
in regard to the loss which the dramatic profession had sustained 
in the death of this excellent artist. 

Mrs. F. B. Conway, before meeting and marrying Mr. Con- 
way, was known as Miss Sarah G. Crocker. She was born in 
Litchfield, Conn., and was the daughter of Kev. Mr. Crocker, an 
Episcopalian minister of that place. At two years of age, the 
family moved to New York. In this city she imbibed a taste 
for theatricals, and at the age of fifteen she entered the profes- 
sion of which a sister had already become a member. It is 
quite a coincidence that her first appearance upon any stage 
was made in this city, although not a resident. This appearance 
was made in the theatre attached to Du Flon's Military Garden, 
already alluded to. Whether this first appearance was successful, 



THE DRAMA, OPERA, MUSIC AND ART. 



1119 



and whether she manifested the abilities which have since won 
her a distinguished place in the American drama, the records 
say not, and the lady herself was too modest to tell. It is jjre- 
Bumed, however, that she was appreciated, for she remained the 
season out. From thence she went to Baltimore, Maryland, and 
became a member of the company of which Mr. John E. Owens, 
the distinguished comedian, was the manager. 

Severing her connection with this company, the lady joined 
Purdy's National Theatre, in Chatam street. New York, then in 
its glory, in 1850. Playing here one season, she is next found 
upon the boards of the Broadway Theatre, where she met Mr. 
Conway, whom she married during the engagement. The next 
season, that ol 18.52, she joined J. W. Wallack's company, taking 
the position of leading lady, made vacant by the defection of 
Miss Laura Keene. The company at Wallack's at this time was 
one of the best gathered under his distinguished management. 
The cast of " Much Ado About Nothing" will give the best idea 
of the ability of his company, and we here present it : J. W. 
Wallack, Jr., Benedick; Lester Wallack, Pedro; Jno. Dyott, 
Chiudio ; F. Chippendale, Antonio ; W. R. Blake, Dogherry; Chas. 
Hale, Venjes ; Mrs. F. B. Conway, Beatrice; Mrs. Hale, Hero. 

In this play Mrs. Conway fairly divided the honors of the 
evening with Mr. Wallack. Here she remained, a great favorite 
with the critical audiences of this theatre, for one season, and 
then Mr. William Wheatly, having conceived the idea of build- 
ing up a Wallack's in Philadelphia, leased the Arch Street 
Theatre, and engaged Mr. and Mrs. F. B. Conway as members. 
The company was exceeding strong, and was noted for the abil- 
ity of the ladies, and Mrs. Conway was the leading lady. The 
company comprised the names of Mrs. Conway, Mrs. D. P. 
Bowers, Mrs. John Drew, Miss Caroline Eichings, Mrs. Anna 
Cowell, then known as Miss Cruise, Mr. Conway, Mr. H. Perry, 
Mr. George Boniface, Mr. E. F. Keach, Mr. John and Frank 
Drew, and Mr. John E. Owens. The company separated at the 
conclusion of the season, and the subject of our sketch with 
her husband joined the fortunes of the Walnut Street Theatre. 
At the conclusion of this season, Mr. and Mrs. Conway set out 
upon a starring tour. For ten years they traveled up and 
down the country, considered by managers among the most 
remunerative stars then before the public. They added to their 
fame and fortune, but the romance of traveling soon wears out, 
and ten years showed them the vanity of wide spread fame. 
They finally came to Brooklyn, took the management of the Park 
Theatre, opening on a rainy night to a small house, on April '2d, 
18G4. The first season was gloomy in its prospects and very un- 
profitable, but pluck, perseverance, ability, and managerial tact 
made the Park Theatre a success, and brought them wealth . The 
funeral of Mrs. Conway took place from the same church as did 
her husband's. She died April 28th, 1874, forty-two years old. 
Her remains were deposited in Greenwood, by the side of her 
husband. 

And so, within the little space of one year, these two busy 
people of the drama, who looked forward to wealth and dramatic 
triumphs, were put to silence by that inscrutable power as against 
which we are nothing. 

After the daughters gave up the theatre, it was next 
leased to Mr. Theodore Moss, of Wallack's Theatre, 
but, Mr. Wallack refusing to lend his name to the en- 
terprise, Mr. Moss forfeited what he had paid, and for 
a time 'the theatre went begging until 1875, when 
Messrs. Shook and Palmer, of the Union Square 
Theatre, New York, became the lessees, and continued 
to run it as a branch of their New York establishment, 
performing all of their most attractive stars and pieces, 
with but partial success. Under these managers oc- 
curred the most frightful calamity that ever took place 
in the history of the drama. 



The Burning of the Brooklyn Theatre, 

on Tuesday night, December 5th, 1876. 

The flames were first seen creeping along one of the flies on 
the left-hand side of the stage, and in less than two minutes all 
the drapery was in flames, and forked tongues of the devouring 
element could be seen creeping along through the canvas of 
which the roof of the scenic cabin was composed. Such scenes 
of terror on the part of a panic-stricken audience and of cool 
perseverance and courage on the part of a few others — the actors 
on the stage— have rarely, if ever before, been chronicled, either 
in this or any other city. The curtain had risen on the last act 
of the drama of "The Two Orphans." Miss Kate Claxton, who 
was acting the part of Louise, the blind girl, lay on her pallet of 
straw on the left-hand side of the stage,the scene being the boat- 
house on the river, the home of La Frocliard. Near stood Mrs. 
Mary Ann Farren, La Frocliard. Mr. J. E. Studley, who was 
acting the part of Jacques Pi-ochard, and Mr. H. S. Murdock, 
Pierre, the cripple. Miss Claxton had already heard it whis- 
pered behind the scenes that the theatre was on fire, but even 
though she could see the flames directly over her, with rare 
presence of mind and courage, she went on with the perform- 
ance of her part, as did her companions, not one of them betray- 
ing by look nor word the agitation felt by all. The flames 
spread rapidly, however, and when the appalling fact could no 
longer be kept from the audience— for some of those in the or- 
chestra chairs had already discovered it and were starting up in 
their seats— the actors, with one accord in beseeching tones, called 
upon them for " God's sake to disperse quietly." Some person in 
the audience shouted that the theatre was on fire, and the alarm- 
ing cry of "Fire ! Fire !" was caught up by those in the family 
circle and the gallery, until it was echoed and re-echoed from pit 
to dome. Those of the audience who could retain their presence 
of mind, in response to the advice of the actors, resumed their 
seats, but it was only for a few seconds, and then began an in- 
discriminate rush for the doors. The books of the box-office 
show that there were seated in the theatre over one thousand 
persons, two hundred and fifty of whom were seated in the par- 
quet and orchestra, three hundred and fifty in the dress circle, 
and four hundred and five in the upper gallery. Within three 
minutes after the discovery of the fire, this mass of human be- 
ings was clambering over the seats and over each other, in their 
frantic endeavors to reach the exits. The entrances and cor- 
ridors to the lower part of the house, which lead out to Wash- 
ington street, were by no means commodious, but nevertheless 
the crush in them was small compared with that at the exit from 
the upper gallery. When the worst became known, the ushers 
acted nobly and endeavored to quiet the terrified people, their 
chief, Mr. Thomas Kochford, going down to and opening the 
door leading out from the auditorium to Flood's alley, in the rear 
of the theatre. This door afforded a means of escape for many 
who might otherwise have lost their lives, and in a very short 
time nearly every person who had been seated in the lower part 
of the house had reached the street in safety. 

This, however, was but the beginning of the end, for black 
volumes of smoke began to roll from the burning scenery of the 
stage into the body of the house, almost totally shutting off the 
light of the gas, and depriving those in the house, for a few mo- 
ments at least, of air to breathe. The scene at this moment was 
one which beggars description. The actors had rushed from the 
stage to save themselves, and having managed to escape the 
clutches of the flames, met again in the street in their stage cos- 
tumes and congratulated one another. The unfortunate and 
terrified people in the dress-circle and gallery were rushing 
pell-mell toward the one door which gave egress from each, and 
through which only two or three persons could pass at one time. 
The house was filled with smoke, and the air was almost stifling. 
Men shouted and rudely jostled delicate women in their efforts 
to reach the doors. Strong men shed tears, and women and 
boys screamed with fright, a large number fainting away and 



1120 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



being trampled under foot by the rushing mass. Thus far the 
audience had seen very little flame, but the stage entrances and 
the scene doors having opened, a strong current of air was let 
into the rear of the building, which drove the flames out from 
the stage-enclosure, and as they licked up everything in their 
path, the whole interior of the building was lighted up with the 
lurid glare. Many of the unfortunate people who had, up till this 
time, preserved their equilibrium, now broke forth with heart- 
rending cries for help. A few there were among this mass of 
terrified and struggling humanity who made noble endeavors to 
prevent their unknown companions from crushing one another to 
death, but fell suffocated under the feet of those whose lives they 
were endeavoring to save. The flames roared and crackled as 
they rushed upward toward the dome, and the hot, blinding and 
suffocating smoke poured down mercilessly on the poor unfor- 
tunates, whose efforts already showed signs of weakening. All 
this, it must be remembered, was only the work of a few min- 
utes, and still the devouring flames mounted higher and higher. 
Three alarms had been rung in quick succession, and the en- 
gines could be heard nearing the vicinity. The streets were 
£lled with a throng of excited people, who ran hither and thither, 
calling aloud the names of dear ones, whose voices could not be 
heard in answer. Many were hatless and coatless, their garments 
having been torn from them by the pushing and jostling of the 
crowd. 

The police of the First Precinct, under the command of Ser- 
geants Eason and Cain, were on the ground within three minutes 
after the breaking out of the fire, and did very effective work in 
quieting the fears of the populace. These gallant men, divest- 
ing themselves of their outer garments, rushed into the burning 
building and, pushing their way on beyond the main corridor, 
ascended the stairs leading to the dress circle, and assisted a 
number to escape. On reaching the top of the staircase, how- 
ever, the blinding smoke forced them to retreat. They did not 
give up the gallant fight, however, and returned again, this time 
ascending the stairs leading to the upper gallery, where they 
found a mass of people, and were compelled to use their clubs 
to prevent them from trampling one another to death. Inside, 
meanwhile, the flames made rapid progress, and had forced their 
way through the roof, which had become one sheet of seething 
flame. The cries of the doomed auditors for help could no 
longer be heard, and the stream of people that had hitherto 
poured forth from the burning building was rapidly diminish- 
ing. An awful hush fell over the multitude, for It was well 
known that there were still hundreds of people within the burn- 
ing structure. These victims, in their terrible haste to reach the 
street, became wedged together in a short turn in the staircase, 
and thus prevented those from behind from escaping. Frantic 
in their terror, those in the rear having more room than those 
ahead of them, jostled and trampled upon one another, and it is 
thought that very many were killed in this way. The volume 
of flame which issued from the roof, and shot upward into the 
air, rapidly increased, and soon the entire upper part of the 
building was one lurid sheet. In less than twenty minutes after 
the sounding of the first alarm, the mansard roof fell in with a 
crash, carrying with it to the cellar both the upper gallery and 
the dress circle, with their freight of human beings. By this 
time the entire Fire Department was on the spot, and numerous 
streams of water were being poured into the burning building 
and upon the adjoining houses, to which the efforts of the fire- 
men were directed, in the hope that these, at least, might be 
saved. Before the falling of the roof, some of the inmates en- 
deavored to get through the windows, but so far as known, only 
one succeeded, and he jumped to the roof of the station-house. 
Another, who was immediately behind him, only succeeded in 
catching hold of the sill of the window, when the smoke and 
flame forced him to relax his hold, and he fell back into the 
burning cauldron beneath, to share the fate of those who had 
not succeeded in getting even so slight a chance of safety. Soon 



the major portion of the Johnson street or southerly wall fell, 
crushing beneath it a brick house and covering the street with 
debris. A few minutes later, the easterly wall fell, and the 
Brooklyn Theatre was a heap of smouldering ruins. Some of 
the three hundred unfortunate people who had suffered such a 
terrible death might even now have been left in a condition to 
be recognized by their friends, but the gas burnt fiercely, light- 
ing up the scene and sending a cloud of white steam into the 
air. Hardly an hour had elapsed from the time of the breaking 
out of the fire before the building was totally demolished, and the 
flames well under control. Streams of water were kept pouring 
upon the ruins during the remainder of the night, and it was 
decided that at daylight the search for the missing ones should 
commence. Mayor Schroeder, Commissioners Jourdan and 
Vyhun, were present during the conflagration, directing the 
movements of their subordinates. 

A few minutes after four o'clock in the morning, they reached 
the boxotfice and found the first body. It was that of a large 
woman, and was lying face downward. Even at that hour many of 
the most experienced firemen were of the opinion no great num- 
ber of persons had lost their lives. A few hours later, however, 
when daylight began to break, all doubt had vanished, and the 
terrible reality was revealed. The smoke and steam were still 
ascending in dense vohimes, but an occasional puff of wind 
blew aside the clouds, and the horror-stricken firemen .saw the 
bodies of the dead who had fallen through from the gallery piled 
up in heaps. Chief Engineer Nevins at once assigned a com- 
pany of firemen to remove the dead. From the front entrance 
on Washington street, for a distance of about thirty feet, the floor 
remained unburned, and at this point the work of removing the 
bodies was commenced, and they were piled in a heap in the 
entrance-way. Hardly any were recognizable except by their 
clothing. At this time, the extent of the calamity was not fully 
known, and the crowd outside could be numbered by hundreds. 
An hoiar later, when a large force of undertakers had arrived 
with wagons, and the bodies began to be removed to the Morgue, 
the excitement knew no bounds. The police force was doubled, 
but for a time it seemed as if the excited crowd would break 
down all barriers and rush bodily into the mined theatre. The 
half-burned and broken glass doors were pulled partially to- 
gether, and a group of sturdy policemen was stationed in the 
gap, with orders to allow no person to enter. This course en- 
abled the firemen to pursue their dangerous work with a little 
less peril to themselves. 

The floor, with the exception of the liortion just inside the 
entrance, had fallen into the cellar, and it was at this point most 
of the bodies were found. The second bend in the stairs lead- 
ing to the top gallery, was immediately over the corridor. When 
the gallery gave way, it fell into the cellar. In order to get out 
the bodies, it was found necessary to have a large ladder, the 
top of which rested at the entrance to the corridor on the ground 
floor and the end on the smoking ruins. The rungs were hastily 
covered with boards so as to make a gangway for the passage of 
the undertakers' men. For hours the firemen worked down in 
the smoking ruins, amid the still burning beams of the floor 
and galleries. A stream of water was kept constantly playing into 
the cellar. As the work progressed and the smoke became less 
dense, the undertakers' cases were pushed down along the gang- 
way, and the bodies placed in them and decently covered before 
being taken up. Many men who anxiously strove and even 
fought to obtain an entrance, turned sick when they had looked 
once on the ghastly heap of the dead. Passing down into the 
ruins among the firemen, the sight was complelely appalling. 
One's powers of thought and speech were paralyzed. Even the 
firemen, used to similar scenes, moved about awe-stricken and 
silent among the heap of dead, pulling aside the debris wherever 
possible with their hands, without resorting to the implements 
of their craft. In one place the bodies of twenty persons, most 
of them young and of the male sex, were found closely wedged 



THE DRAMA, OPERA, MUSIC AND ART. 



1121 



together, lying over each other in layers. They were not much 
burned, but so blackeneil and bruised as to be beyond recogni- 
tion. About noon, the body of officer Patrick McKearon, of the 
Sanitary Squad, was taken from the ruins. He was detailed in 
the gallery of the theatre, and died in the performance of his 
duty. Bvit of the four hundred persons in the gallery, not more 
than one hundred escaped. The stairway was very narrow, and 
had a tortuous bend just over the entrance to the main corridor. 
At seven o'clock, December 6th, all the bodies which had fallen 
through this passageway when the gallery gave way, had not been 
recovered. 

As soon as it became too dark for the men to see what they 
were about, calcium lights were procured and placed at different 
points among the ruins, and with their light, no difficulty was 
experienced in continuing the work. In order to give moi'e 
light at the entrance, the burner of a street lamp on Washington 
street, directly opposite, was broken off, and the heavy stream of 
gas was lighted. It gave out a brilliant flame about eighteen 
inches high, illuminating the street from one end of the block 
to the other. The flooring of the lobby of the theatre was the 
only part of the whole, which had not fallen through, and on the 
further end of this another calcium light had been placed in 
such a manner, as to throw its rays down into the space between 
the side wall and foundation wall of the partition, dividing the 
lobby and the auditorium, where the greater number of the 
bodies were found. On the east side of the ruins a third cal- 
cium light was placed, its light falling directly upon the anterior 
portion of the auditorium, where a large number of ladies were 
also discovered. About a quarter past seven o'clock, the space 
between the side wall and the foundation wall of the lobby par- 
tition above mentioned, was completely cleared, and the labors 
of the firemen were directed to the d6bris in the auditorium. 
The scene, as viewed from the gap in the main wall in Johnson 
street, was singularly weird. The bright glare of the lime-lights 
threw the broken and rugged edges of the walls and arches into 
strong relief, and the black and grimy figures of the firemen, as 
they raised the bodies and bent over the coffins, was a scene 
long to be remembered. 

The scenes at the Morgue in the market on Washington street, 
with thousands of persons viewing the charred remains, and 
identifying the bodies, were indescribable. 

As the bodies were taken from the ruins of the burned theater, 
they were placed in undertakers' wagons and ambulances and 
conveyed to the Market House. The first loads of fire-blackened 
and disfigured bodies were taken to the City Morgue on Wil- 
loughby street about six o'clock, where they were placed in 
coffin-like boxes, kept for the reception of the hospital dead. 
There was then no supposition on the part of those who brought 
the first dreadful load of dead, that there was to be so great a 
demand upon the accommodations of the Morgue as aftenvard 
proved to be the case. But another and another load followed 
quickly upon the first, until more than eighty bodies had been 
strewn upon the marble floors. By eight o'clock, every spot of 
available space had been occupied by the charred and ghastly 
remains. The Morgue has but one dead-room in which bodies 
are usually displayed for recognition, but the entire first floor 
of the building in which the Morgue is situated, was devoted, on 
this occasion, to the exhibition of its horrible occupants. The 
crowds that collected by thousands were permitted to enter, after 
satisfying the officers on duty that they came not from idle 
curiosity, but for the purpose of identifying, if possible, missing 
relatives or friends. Many came provided with passes, but some 
who did not hold them, were allowed to enter, after pleading 
with tears to be admitted. 

Tico actors stifled and burned while endeavoring to escape. —At the 
moment when the fire was first discovered, Mr. Murdock was 
before the curtain playing with Miss Kate Claxton. As soon as 
the panic occurred and a general rush was made to escape, Mr. 
Thrope, the stage manager, saw Messrs. Murdock and Bur- 
(3) 



roughs rush to their respective dressing-rooms, which were 
on the same side of the stage, immediately in the rear of the 
upper right-hand box, as viewed from the auditorium, and con- 
sequently furthest from the stage-door. The dressing-rooms 
were arranged in tiers, approached by a narrow stairway, which 
led up to the painter's bridge which spans the stage. Mr. Mur- 
dock's* room was on the second tier, and Mr. Burroughs'! on the 
third. Changing their clothing, their stage-garments being very 
scanty, and collecting wliat valuables they could, they made an 
effort to descend together, but during the time thus occupied 
the flames had made such headway, that when they made their 
appearance, the stairway was one sheet of flame. All chance of 
escape in this direction was now cut off, an<l the unfortunate 
men were compelled to beat a hasty retreat. There was still one 
chance left— they might effect their escape from the other side 
of the bridge, and thither they hurried ; but the hungry flames 
were doing their work here also, and the young men were now 
surrounded entirely by fire. Alone on the burning bridge— cut 
off from all aid— their sufferings must have been intense. 
Whether they made the frightful leap into the burning mass be- 
neath them, or remained upon the burning bridge until the last, 
meeting their fate as only men can, will never be known. 

*Mr. Henry S. Murdock was engaged in the cast of "The Two Orphans " 
as Pierre, tlie cripple, and was the sole support of his widowed mother and 
two sisters. Mr. Murdock was born in Boston, Aug. 6, 1845, and was con- 
sequently in the thirty -second year of his age. He received his education in 
Philadelphia, and made his debut at the Arch Street Theatre in that city, in 
the winter of 1864. During the season of 1865 he fulfilled an engagement 
at the Boston Museum, and from there he went to Cincinnati, where he 
performed at Pike's Opera House until its destruction by fire on March 22. 
1866. In this case he narrowly escaped with his life, and lost his entire 
wardrobe in the fire. He next went to San Francisco, where he played 
with John McCuUough at the California Theatre. He remained there two 
years, 1867-8. He then performed short engagements at Washington, Balti- 
more, St. Louis and Pittsburgh. In 1872-3 he played at the Arch Street 
Theatre, Philadelphia, under the management of Mrs. John Drew, taking 
the parts of " Fop smA Walking Gentleman." and upon one or two occasions 
played leading parts. The season of 1873-4 he spent in Chicago, and acted 
at Hooley's Theatre, under the management of Mr. Fred. Williams, of Bos- 
ton. He resigned his position before the close of the season, to support 
Miss Clara Morris at the Academy of Music in the same city, then under the 
management of Mr. C. R. CJardner. During his engagement with Miss 
Morris he made a decided hit as Armande, in the play of " CamiUe." At the 
conclusion of his engagement in Chicago he returned to Boston, where be 
remained one season, atter which he commenced his engagement with 
Messrs. Shook & Palmer, when he played the part of Sandy Morton, in the 
play of "Two Ali n of Sandy Bar," at the Union Square Theaire, New York 
City. From there he went to the Brooklyn Theatre, on October 9, 1876. Mr. 
Murdock, whose real name was Hitchcock, was a nephew of Mr. James E. 
Murdock, >h.^ eminent tragedian, and a brother of Frank Murdock, the 
author of Javid Crockett." He had a brother in New Orleans, also an 
actor, whose stage . - me was William Wallace. Mr. Murdock was an ac- 
complisheii .'"a educated gentleman, and a rising actor. During his en- 
gageme'-,' :■: " jston, he played such characters as Charles Middlewiek, in the 
play ci ir Boys," and Harry Spreadbear, in "Sweethearts." He gave 

much outiSfaction in Brooklyn in his interpretation of Eustace in "Con- 
science," Charles Surface in " School for Scandal," and was giving a good 
rendition oi Pierre, the cripple, in the " Two Orphans," at the time of the 
fire. He was a [r-^d vocalist, and an amateur artist. He had been suffering 
from sciatica I ome time, and the malady 'had given him considerable 
pain, during the six weeks previous to his death, causing him to limp 
painfully at times, Te occupied apartments at 53 Concord street, Brook- 
lyn, where his unc: , .vir. Henry Murdock, resided. 

t Mr. Claude Bukrough-' made his first appearance on the stage at the 
Winter Garden, New Yor': •';•> ',•■' 1866, playing in "Hamlet" with Edwin 
Booth. At the conclusion of his engagement with Mr Stuart, who was then 
managing the 'Winter Garden, he came to Brooklyn, where he played light 
comedy parts in the Park Theatre, then uml.-v Airs. Conway's management. 
Upon the opening of the Union Square Theaii't- New York City, by Messrs. 
Shook & Palmer, Mr. Burroughs was engaged to pl.'> 'i^ht parts. His first 
appearance at that theatre was as a Reporter in "Agues," the first piece pro- 
duced in the house, and he had been in the cast of nearly every play produced 
there. Upon a few occasions, when not playing in New York, he accepted 
engagements in Brooklyn. He was the Fop in " Athcrly Court," the Fop in 
"Jane Eyre," Maxime in "Ferrol," and a very clever representative of 
Talbot Champneys in "Our Boys." At the time of his death he was playing 
Picard. the valet, in the "Two Orphans." He was but twenty-six years old, 
and unmarried. 



1122 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



The bodies of the two actors were found together, and it was 
apparent that they had died at the same time— perhaps when 
the Johnson street wall of the theatre fell, thereby depriving the 
stage of its support. 

Fortunately all the ladies engaged in the second and previous 
act had left the theatre as soon as they had performed their 
parts, and so escaped any danger. 

Action of the Public Authokities. — In response to a call from 
Mayor Schroeder, a special meeting of the Brooklyn Board of 
Aldermen was held at four o'clock, Wednesday, December Gth, 
1876. The Common Council Chamber was filled with citizens, 
who took a deep interest in the proceedings of the Board. 
The roll having been called, and considerably more than a 
quorum of the aldermen having responded to their names, 
Alderman French, the President of the Board, called for the 
reading of a special message from Mayor Schroeder. The docu- 
ment was as follows : 

" Mayor's Office, Dec. 6, 187G. 
To the Honorable the Common Council : 

Gentlemen, — I have called you together to-day to deliberate 
and take action concerning the terrible calamity which has be 
fallen the people of this city, in the burning of the Brooklyn 
Theatre last night. It is impossible at this hour to estimate the 
number of human beings who have perished in the conflagration, 
though already over one hundred have been exhumed. Fi-om 
such observations as I have been able to make among the ruins, I 
do not think the relatives and friends of the dead will be able 
in many cases to identify the bodies of those whose loss, under 
circumstances of such horror, must be mourned with unequaled 
grief. For this reason, it seems to me, arrangements, should be 
made by the public authorities for the burial of the unrecognized 
dead, in a manner becoming a sympathetic and Christian people. 
To this end a committee should be at once appointed, and our 
merchants and tradespeople should close their stores on the day 
of the funeral, and participate in the obsequies. If, in addition, 
it should transpire that many homes have been dejirived of their 
support, by the loss of a father, brother, husband, or son, the at- 
tention of our churches and charitable institutions and our 
wealthy citizens should be promptly called to the fact, in order 
that neither the reality nor apprehension of immediate want 
may be superadded to an affliction in itself almost insup- 
jjortable. 

Kespectfully, 

FREDERICK A. SCHROEDER, Mayor." 

At the conclusion of the reading of the Mayor's message, 
President Fisher arose and, after a few feeling words, presented 
the following resolutions : 

"Resolved, That a committee of nine be appointed to take into 
consideration the duty incumbent upon the municipal au- 
thorities, in view of the recent destruction of the Brooklyn 
Theatre, and the calamitous results flowing therefrom. 

Resolved, That there be a special meeting of this Board at two 
o'clock, p. M., Thursday, the 7th inst., to receive report from said 
committee and take action thereon. 

Resolved, That said committee be authorized to confer 
upon this subject with other organizations, official or other- 
wise." 

These resolutions were appropriately seconded by Alderman 
Murtha, and unanimously adopted, and President Fisher ap- 
pointed the following Aldermen as members of the committee 
called for : Aldermen Fisher, Burnett, Black, Murtha, Arnot, 
Rowley, Acker, Donovan and Guthrie. 

Alderman Fisher announced that the Board of Supervisors 
had met earlier in the afternoon, and had appointed a committee 
composed of Supervisors Strong, Sexton, Curran.Harman, Brown, 
■Ryder and Byrne to confer and co-operate with the committee 
of the Board of Aldermen. He proposed that the committee, of 
which he was the chairman, should meet in the Common 
Council Chamber immediately on the adjournment of the 
Board. 

A motion that the Board of Aldermen should hold a special 
meeting, December 7, at two o'clock p. m., was carried. 

The Numbek that Pekished. — Two hundred and ninety-five 
human beings were known to have perished in the flames of 
this Ul-fated theatre. One hundred and ninety-seven of the 



bodies were identified and taken away by their friends, and the 

ninety-eight unidentified bodies were buried by the city. 

Immediately after the calamity, a Relief Committee of 250 of 
the first citizens of Brooklyn commenced their earnest work to 
assist the afflicted relatives of the dead. All of the theatres of 
Brooklyn and New York gave benefits, which were liberally 
attended, and over $-10,000 was obtained by the united action of 
the committee, and the dramatic performances. The number of 
I^eople who received aid from the fund was between five and six 
hundred. In some cases there were as many as five and six 
in one family. The highest amount paid to any one family was 
$20 per week, which was the case of a widow with eight children. 
The fund lasted over a year. 

To do justice to all of the good citizens who showed their 
deep sympathy and took an active part, would require more 
space than here allotted. His Honor Mayor Schroeder, the 
members of the Common Council, and many of the first clergy- 
men of the city, including Henry Ward Beecher, did them- 
selves lasting honor. Actors and managers of theatres every- 
where through the country did nobly, and gave another evidence 
of their proverbial disposition for deeds of charity. 

The Funeeal in Cold and Storm. — At two o'clock on Saturday, 
December the 9th, the gleam of bayonets was reflected from 
the struggling sunshine that peeped out now and then between 
the broken, dark storm-clouds. 

The military were arrayed along Sehermerhorn street. The 
head of the procession was nearing the point of establishment 
of the right of the line. -At Flatbush and Fulton avenue junc- 
tion it halted for ten minutes while the disposition of the 
various parts of the procession was perfected. The Twenty- 
third Regiment, that had marched up in hollow square forma- 
tion, opened and rested at "order arms," while the Forty- 
seventh Regiment passed through and took the right of the line. 
Then the hearses and undertakers' wagons were broken from a 
single to a double column, and the Twenty-third Regiment was 
placed as a guard of honor, surrounding that portion of the 
mournful cortege. Then the march was begun, and the boister- 
ous cold winds bore fitfully the strains of the saddening dirge 
played by a full band of sixty pieces, with the procession follow- 
ing, at funeral pace and slow, in the following order : 

Squad of Mounted Police — Sergeant Johnson, Alderman Fisher, 
and Supervisor Quimby. 
Committees, in Carriages. 
Forty-Seventh Regiment Band. 
Foi'ty-Seventh Regiment. 
Detachment of Fourteenth Regiment. 
Gatling Battery, without piece. 
Conterno's Band. 
Twenty-Third Regiment, as Guard of Honor, leading the flank- 
ing first Hearses. 
Hearses — Seventeen. 
Forty-five Undertakers' Wagons, with from one to four Coffins in 
each. 
Carriages with Relatives and Friends. 
Carriages with Ministers and Officials. 
Thirteenth Regiment and Drum Corps of forty pieces. 

All along Flatbush avenue and the line of march, the side- 
walks were crowded with spectators, all with sad faces, and 
the DiKGE, which the band had been playing, ceased for a 
time, while the roll of forty muffled tenor drums marked the 
time of the military. Solemnly impressive as had been the 
music of the band, it seemed less effective than the roll of the 
drums. Now and then could be heard the deep knell of the 
city's fire and church bells, as the bitter, violent north winds 
swept from that portion of the city. This efi"ect had almost the 
form of melody, and impressed itself on the heart as monotone 
sobs; and the air grew heavy with the weight of those meas- 
ured pulsations of half-voiced articulatives that seemed to drop 



TBE DRAMA, OPERA, MU8IG AND ART. 



1123 



down from the black fringing clouds of the heavens. Along 
both sidewalks moved steadily a silent multitude; there was 
no talking to beguile the weary way ; only a sullen resistance to 
the frenzy of the gale, which, bitter as it was, seemed as a 
bright contrast to the sutlerings of the helpless hundreds who 
were had been roasted, like hecatombs, alive. 

The drums ceased, and from the military bands wailed forth 
another dirge, more weirdly sad than the first. A trembling, 
thrilling ci-y, as of a stricken soul, voiced by a single cornet 
in a high trembling note, accompanied the deep sub-sonorous 
sounds of the base instruments, which seemed to utter sighs 
as they kept time to the dramatic situation. 

The march was a terrible one, for its deep oppressive gloom, 
the deadly cold, the grief on every hand ; but that portion of 
Sixth avenue to the ^ate of Greenwood Cemetery was in all re- 
spects the worst. All the way across the wide vacant spaces to- 
ward the bay, the ice-blast seemed the breath of death itself. 
At three o'clock, the funeral halted on "Battle Hill," where 
the arrangements for the interment of the bodies in one com- 
mon grave had already been made. Hei-e a circular trench had 
been cut, seven feet deep and thirteen feet wide, surrounding a 
round sodded space ten feet in diameter, upon which a monu- 
ment was to stand. One by one, the hearses and the undertakers' 
wagons passed up the main avenue, each in turn stopping to 
deposit its ghastly freight, and then moving away. Twelve 
cemetery employees received the coifins and lowered them to 
their last resting-place. They were placed in double row, the 
heads all pointing toward the monumental centre. The work 
was not delayed, but was necessarily slow. Meanwhile the ceme- 
tery bell kept up its sad tolling, " rolling on the human heart a 
stone." The fury of the gale soon made it evident that human 
endurance would not be able to bear any protracted obsequies. 
With wonderful fortitude, not less than five thousand persons 
maintained their places around the grave. At length, the coiBns 
were all in place, containing 101 bodies. Sixty German singers, 
members of the Brooklyn Saengerbund, South Brooklyn Quartet 
Club, Schuetzenfest, and Brooklyn Maennerchor, led by W. 
Groschel, stood upon the centre plot and sang Abt's "Repose." 
The Eev. John Parker read the Episcopal burial service. The 
Rev. Dr. Putnam, instead of the extended funeral oration 
which he had prepared for the occasion, announced that the 
extreme cold would preclude the possibility of its delivery, and 
said a few brief words on the uncertainty of life and the blessed 
hopes of immortality. Then a benediction was pronounced 
by the Rev. Mr. Odell, and the ceremony concluded with the 
singing by the Germania choir of Kuhlan's beautiful choral, 
" Above all summits there is repose." 

The graves were soon filled in, and many of the spectators 
took up handfuls of earth and dropped them reverently into 
the trench before turning away for their homes. One man, a 
stalwart Englishman named Weeden, a Long Island farmer, 
stood on the central plot until all had departed, and with tear- 
dimmed eyes bent upon the earth-covered cofiSns, he dropped 
some flowers; for among that group of unrecognized dead rested 
his son. 

The early evening shadows fell upon the great mound rounded 
over the unclaimed deid, with a fragile but beautiful monument 
in the form of a lai'ge floral crown and cross, placed there by the 
Germania Theatre Company. The wind had ceased its howling, 
the night became clear and bitter cold, and the bright stars in 
the dark blue of the heaven looked like crystallized tears quiver- 
ing over the hill of the dead. 

The Actors' Funekal. — On Sunday afternoon, December 10th, 
the funeral services of the two actors, Mr. Haeet Muedock and 
Mr. Claude BniiRonoHs, took place in the " Little Church Around 
the Corner," in Twenty-ninth street, New York City. Long be- 
fore the hour of service, two o'clock, a large crowd was gathered 
about the doors and in the church. The celebrated Dr. Houghton 
conducted the service. At the words " Ashes to ashes," there 



was a visible movement of agitation among the congregation, 
which comprised nearly all the leading members of the dramatic 
profession in the city. After the short burial-service had been 
read, the musical portion of the sad rites took place. Mesdames 
Gulager and Pappenheim, Conradi, Gomien and McDonald, and 
Messrs. Fritsch and Sohst, had volunteered, with Carl Berg and 
Louis Dachauer at the organ. "I know that my Redeemer liveth " 
was given with tearful effect. At the conclusion of the service, 
the coffins, which were covered with flowers, were carried to the 
hearses, followed by the pall-bearers. The coffin containing the 
remains of Harry Murdock was taken to the Pennsylvania Rail- 
road Depot, at Jersey City. Claude Burroughs' remains were 
conveyed to the receiving vault in Second avenue, in New York 
City. 

The Memorial Services, for all of the dead, were held on Sun- 
day night in many churches of New York, and in Brooklyn at the 
Academy of Music, Hooley's Opera House and Park Theatre. In 
all of them, crowds of people assembled to do homage to the 
memory of the lost. Among the speakers, Henry Ward Beeoher 
was prominent. He held forth at Hooley's Opera House, on 
Court street, where now stands the new Dime Savings Bank. 
The Rev. Dr. Storrs was at the Academy of Music. At the Park 
Theatre the Episcopal burial service was read by Dr. D. N. Miller, 
and Rev. Dr. Theodore L. Cuyler delivered a feeling address. 
In many other churches throughout the city special services were 
held ; in fact, the whole Sabbath day was devoted to the memory 
of the heart-rending accident, and its afflictions to the living 
relatives. 

A Momiment now lifts its tall and graceful 
marble shaft where lie the congregated dead of this 
frightful calamity. "There is no evil so great but 
some good will come out of it." Every community 
throughout the civilized world took a lesson from the 
sad mishap by providing better safeguards for the es- 
cape of large assemblies of people, whether in theatres, 
concert-halls, or churches. 

The ruins of the burnt theatre stood undisturbed 
until 1879, when Messrs. McCue, Kingsley and Keeney 
erected on the site, what is now known as 

"Haverly's Theatre." it opened under his 
management, October 4th, 1879. The front of the 
theatre this time was placed on Johnson street, and in 
its construction every care was taken to make its 
places of egress equal to the greatest emergency, so 
that a full house can be emptied within the short space 
of five minutes. 

We must now, in our condensed history of the drama 
in Brooklyn, go back to the days when the Con ways 
left the management of the Park Theatre to risk their 
little fortune in the ill-fated Brooklyn Theatre, in 1871. 
Shortly after they took up their new dramatic abode, 
Messrs. Carroll and McOluskey became the managers 
of the little Park Theatre, at the head of which they 
remained for about a year, performing melodramas and 
sensational plays with but moderate success. After 
these gentlemen came Mr. John P. Smith, who held 
the theatre for about the same length of time, with 
little, or no better success. In 

1873 the owner of the property leased the Park 
Theatre to Mr. A. R. Samuells.who, at a large expense, 



1124 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



altered it so that the parquette floor was ou a level with 
the street (a great improvement), and the theatre was 
made equal in appointments to the new Brooklyn 
Theatre. It was then called the " Netv Park Theatre." 
But it did not succeed under Mr. Samuells' manage- 
ment. In 

1874 Mr. Edward Lamb, a genial gentleman and 
an excellent comedian, and a great favorite with the 
Brooklyn public, while under the Con ways' management 
of the Park Theatre, now became the next lessee of the 
Neiu Park Theatre. He opened it with a good com- 
pany, and played many of the best "star combinations," 
among whom were John Brougham, John E. Owens, 
Miss Lucille Western and others. Mr. Lamb's manage- 
ment was of short duration. 

1875. — The lesseeship next fell into the hands of 
Colonel William E. Sinn, and up to the present time he 
still holds possession. Mr. Sinn was a man of great 
energy and business tact, and it can be safely said that he 
made more money during his management than any 
person who ever controlled the destinies of the Park 
Theatre. In rapid succession he played all of the best 
stars in the country, whether of tragedy, comedy, or 
English opera. It was a rare thing not to see the 
house filled to overflowing. The little Park Theatre, of 
which the writer had the honor of being the founder, 
has been the most successful place of amusement in the 
city of Brooklyn. 

1876. — Mr. George Wood, for many years man- 
ager of " Wood's Museum," New York, took Hooley's 
Opera House on Court street, and, re-decorating the 
whole interior, made it a beautiful little theatre. He 
opened it in the early part of this season with a small 
but excellent company. During his management, he 
produced some of the best light comedies, and several 
of the best combination companies performed there, 
with moderate success. Among these combinations 
were Daly's Fifth Avenue company, of New York. 

On February 25th, 1878, Mr. Gabriel Harrison pro- 
duced for the first time his dramatization of Haw- 
thorne's " Scarlet Letter." His daughter, Viola Harri- 
son, made her first appearance upon any stage, in the 
character of Hester Frynne. Mr. Harrison painted 
new scenery for his own piece, and produced the drama 
with every detail of stage effects. The play had a run 
for an entire week to crowded houses, and the press of 
New York and Brooklyn spoke of the drama and per- 
formance in the highest terms. It is so seldom that 
an American play, in plot, is produced, that the cast 
of characters, &c., &c., becomes a dramatic fact worthy 
of record. 

"The Scablet Lettee." 

Roger ChUlingworth Gabriel Harrison 

Hester Prynne Miss Viola Harrison 

Mev. Arthur Dimmesdale E. E. Barry 

Mr. Bellingham, Governor of Boston, Mass J. E. Howe 



Jiev. Mr. m/.s-on T. E. Hann 

Master Townsman J. Montgomery 

Citizen Rawson J. Warner 

Master Brackett (Town Beadle) J. Greaver 

Captain Goodwill. W. Denny 

Pearl, 7 years old Miss Florence May 

Mistress Hibbins, Governer Billingham's bister, and 

a New England witch Mrs. Lemiene 

Mistress Oossip Miss Edmonson 

Mary Mercy - Miss Nelson 

Mistress Small Miss Storer 

Witches and Indians: 

Swamp-Fox J. Howard 

Spear-Head B. Failes 

Fleet- Wing D. Carroll 

Blighted-Trunk, 80 years old G. Lentus 

Weeping- Willow Miss Foot 

Scenery and Incidents in Boston, A. D. 1864. 

Mr. Wood, though one of the most cai'eful mana- 
gers in the country, failed to make this theatre a financ- 
ial success, and closed its doors in the early spring. 

1879.— The Hooley Opera House changed 

its name to the Court Square Theatre, and successively 
fell into the hands of several itinerant managers, who 
all failed of success. It (hen was leased to a Mr. Bun- 
nell, who turned the place into what he called a" Dime 
Museum," which under his management, was a suc- 
cess, and so it continued until May, 1883, when the 
property was sold to the Brooklyn Dime Savings Bank ; 
and, upon the sjjot of this once jjopular place of amuse- 
ment, now stands the splendid building that is one of 
the architectural adornments of the city. 

The next place of amusement that started up in the 
City of Brooklyn was 

The Standard (or "Volks") Theatre, 

situated on Adams street, west side, and a few doors 
south of Myrtle avenue. This building was originally a 
market. It soon failed as such, and remained closed for 
several years. The uj)per floor of this building was at 
one time used as a ball-room, with an entrance to it 
on Myrtle avenue. 

Messrs. Hyde and Behman became lessees of this 
property, and taking out the upper floor converted the 
place into a theatre, and opened it as such on May 
19th, 1877. The class of amusements given therein is 
known as " Varieties,'-' and was visited by men and 
boys only, and for this style of amusement the place 
became a great success. 

Music Hall. — -The next place of amusement that 
calls our attention was a minstrel hall, on the corner 
of Fulton and Flatbush avenues. It was a large frame 
building, and was first altered into a theatre by Welch 
and Hughes m 1873. The place never was a success. 
In 1878, the building was taken down, and on the site 
has been erected a fine brick building, called " Music 
Hall." This hall was first opened to the public in 1880, 
and is used for concerts and lectures. 



THE DRAMA, OPERA, MU8I0 AND ART. 



1125 



The Olympic Theatre.— In ib-59 the Elm 

Place Congregational Church, wishing to erect a larger 
edifice in Elm place, where the Grand Ojiei-a House 
now stands, leased a piece of ground, to the east of the 
old Dutch Church burial-grounds, on the south side 
of Fulton avenue, between Hoyt street and Gallatin 
Place, and put thereon a brick building for their tem- 
porary accommodation, which they called Brooklyn 
Tabernacle. In it the Kev. William Oliver Bartlett 
preached for several years, until the removal of the con- 
gregation. May 1st, 1864, to the former location, when 
the premises reverted to the owner, Mr. A. S. Wheeler. 
They were then leased for five years to the county, as 
an Armory for the Fifty-Second Regiment. The regi- 
ment was disbanded before the termination of the 
lease. After this, it was occupied by the " Constitution 
Club," as a political wigwam. On May 1st, 1869, 
Thomas L. Donnelly, in conjunction with E, M. Hooley, 
entered into possession, and reconstructed the building 
into a theatre, which for many years was known as the 
Olympic Theatre. In 1870 Mr. Hooley retired, and 
his place was filled for a short time by Edgar Dewell ; 
upon the withdrawal of the latter, Mr. Donnelly con- 
tinued as sole lessee until May 1st, 1876. Mr. Charles 
Chevalier, Pierce L. Jarvis, Daniel Hatfield and John 
S. Leese became the managers, January, 1879, when 
the theatre was again remodeled. At this time a 
frame house, which stood at the front of the theatre 
was now removed, and a spacious brick entrance to 
the theatre took its place. Shortly after this the 
premises were assigned to Richard Hyde and Louis C. 
Behman. It then became the Standard Theatre, and 
was so retained till 1883, when it was again subleased 
to John W. Holmes, as the Standard Museum. 

The G-rand Opera House.— The last new 

theatre, up to this present time, is situated on Elm 
place, west side, south of Fulton avenue. It is erected 
on the site of the Congregational Church, which was 
destroyed by fire in 1878. This theatre was first opened 
to the public in 1881. The first owners of the theatre 
were Messrs. Barry Fay and Lewis, and from them 
it was purchased by Messrs. Hyde and Behman. At the 
present time, it is under the management of Messrs. 
Ruudles and Morris. The Grand Opera House, with the 
exception of the Brooklyn Academy of Music, will seat 
more peojjle than any other place of amusement in 
Brooklyn. The interior is pleasing to the sight, and is 
well furnished with a good stock of scenery and every- 
thing that pertains to a well-provided stage. The 
management is in excellent hands, and, as a place of 
amusement, has been a success from the start. It is run 
on the "star" principle. 

The Novelty Theatre.— The first theatre 

that acquired any success in the Eastern District 
of Brooklyn, was the Novelty Theatre. This build- 



ing was erected in 185:i, by Messrs. Alfred and 
Henry Kemp, builders. It was called the "Odeon," 
and was intended for a ball-room and public meet- 
ings. At this time it was the largest public 
hall in Brooklyn or Williamsburgh. Messrs. Kemp 
subsequently failed, and the property was sold under 
foreclosure, and passed into the hands of several own- 
ers. After this a stage and some scenery was put into 
the back end of the hall, and it was conducted as a thea- 
tre by Alfred Theall, Samuel Lewis and others. At 
the time of the Rebellion, the building was used as a 
drill-room, etc. This, however, was before it was 
used for theatrical purposes. In 1868, the building 
passed into the hands of R. M. Hooley, who fitted it up 
as a variety theatre; but not a success, he sold the place 
in 1869. In 1870, it was sold under foreclosure again, 
and purchased by the present owners, Thomas F. 
Jackson, James Eodwell and Henry Waterman, who 
fitted up the building as a ball-i'oom, and named the 
place Apollo Hall. In 1878, the building was entirely 
reconstructed, and converted into a theatre in every 
particular, named the "Novelty," and leased to Thomas 
Theall, who subsequently formed a copartnershij? with 
Henry Williams. The place is still under their man- 
agement, and is run as a star-theatre. 

We here close our history of the Drama in Brooklyn, 
having faithfully traced from the first known dramatic 
performance in Brooklyn, 1776, to 1883. We have 
been more particular in giving the details of the ear- 
liest dramatic performances in Brooklyn, since they il- 
lustrate the struggles of the drama to find a foothold in 
Brooklyn ; and from the fact that every additional year 
makes it more difficult to secure the data for the his- 
torian to work from. At the present time, the city of 
Brooklyn has several daily newspapers that not only 
record every night's performances at the theatres, but 
also give a general criticism on the characteristics of 
the actors, and the manner the different plays are placed 
upon the stage. These papers will preserve and furnish 
in detail abundant matter for the future historian of 
the Drama and Music in Brooklyn. 

The Drama is the most entertaining and instructive 
amusement the people can have. It has always flour- 
ished in the largest and most celebrated communities. 
The growth of its refinement did, and must always, 
keep pace with the advancement of civilization. 

The dramatic art is a combination of all the sister 
arts — music, painting and poetry blended into one ; 
and the populous city that is without the charm and 
intelligence of the drama, is without the most needed 
nourishment of the human mind. 

All that Brooklyn now requires to make complete 
her places of instructive amusement is a well-appointed 
theatre, with a first-class stock company, managed on 
the principles of Wallack's or the Union Square Thea- 
tre of New York. 



THE 



Progress of Music and Opera 
in brooklyn. 



THE history of the progress of Music with the growth 
of any city or country is always interesting. It is 
a language of the soul, felt and understood by 
every class of human beings; and, in accordance with 
the civilization of a people, so will it advance to a higher 
and a more scientific condition. In this respect, large 
cities have an advantage over the smaller ones, because 
they can better afford to support the best talent— thus 
offering an example and an incentive to musical cul- 
ture. 

The first musical performances that were given in 
Brooklyn were at the time when the population was 
too small and too poor to encourage the best artists, 
by frequent exhibitions of the highest class of music. 
Therefore, the earliest encouragement that music re- 
ceived in Brooklyn was through the medium of the 
church choirs. 

1810.— The first musical performance 

in Brooklyn, worthy of notice, was an " oratorio" 
given by the vestry of St. Ann's Church for the bene- 
fit of Mr. Pierson, the leader of its choir. On Thurs- 
day evening, October 4th, "a grand selection of sacred 
music, vocal and instrumental," was advertised to take 
place, but no mention was made as to who the perlorm- 
ers were. The price of admittance was fifty cents. 
Mr. Pierson was long and favorably known in New 
York and Brooklyn as a leader of church music. 
Another public musical entertainment followed at the 
same church on the 13th of May. After these there 
were no other public performances until 

1813, when a concert was given for the benefit of 
the Loisian Seminary for the education of "forty poor 
female children." The performers were volunteers 
from New York City. Mr. S. P. Taylor presided at 
the organ. The public were admitted free, and a col- 
lection was taken up between the first and second parts 
of the jjrogramme. 

The first concert given outside of the church was at 
Mr. Stockofi's " Military Garden," spoken of elsewhere 
as "Green's Military Garden," and afterwards "Dnf- 
lon's." This concert was given by the Panharmonic 
Society of Brooklyn, on the 2d of December. This 
society was organized on the 1st of May, 1813. Mr. 
Taylor was its first president, and perhaps its last. The 
society gave three public performances, and then 
nothing more was heard of it. After this there was 
another long interval until 



1819, when Mr. Cartwright, the celebrated per- 
former on " musical glasses," gave a concert on the 
37th of October, at Columbian Hotel, "tavern and 
tea garden," 137 Fulton street. Mr. Cartwright was 
an Englishman, who came to America in 1818. He 
was an exquisite performer, and attracted large audiences 
througliout the United States. 

1823.— Mr. Duflon fitted up a little stage at "Mili- 
tary Garden" (formerly known as Green's), and open- 
ed on the 14th of June, with a concert. Mr. Bristow 
acted as leader of the band. 

1825. — January 28th, a "Grand Sacred Concert" 
was given at the First Presbyterian Church, for the 
benefit of the " holy cause of Grecian emancipation 
from bondage.'' It was under the direction of Mr. 
L. P. Cole, of New York ; Messrs. Dyer, Eiley and 
Moran were among the singers. Selections from 
Handel, Mozart and Beethoven were performed. All 
of the first named gentlemen were well known in New 
York as leaders of church music. 

1829.— The Sacred Music Society of BrooUyn, 
attached to the Cranberry Street Church, gave three 
public concerts at St. Ann's Church this season. The 
names of Mr. Taylor, Pearson, Coats, Miss Humbert, 
Miss Pearson and Mrs. Whelply Avere on the pro- 
gramme. 

1830. — Mr. Bristow gave two concerts for the be- 
nefit of the Appentices' Library. Mr. Bristow acted as 
conductor. On this occasion Mr. Solomon, of London, 
appeared, assisted by Mr. B. Colby, Thornton and 
others. The Apprentices' Library stood on the corner 
of Cranberry and Henry streets ; the building was of 
brick. The corner-stone was laid by General Lafayette 
on July 4th, 1825, while he was at that time on a 
second visit to this country. 

1834.— December nth, a "Grand Oratorio" was 
given at St. John's Church, for the benefit of the Sun- 
day school, at which Miss Watson, Mrs. Franklin and 
Mr. Trust were the principal artists. Both of the 
ladies mentioned were at the time prominent concert- 
singers in New York. 

1835. — Mr. Trust gave a fine concert, at " Clas- 
sical Hall," Washington street, January 16th. Sig. 
Gambarti, the celebrated cornet-player, who had made 
a great sensation in the city of New York, now per- 
formed for the first time in Brooklyn. Mr. Kyle (flute), 



THE PROGRESS OF MUSIC AND OPERA IN BROOKLYN. 



1127 



Mr. Phillipson (piano), and Mrs. Franklin (soprano) 
filled up the programme. July ith, Miss Watson, Sig. 
Montressor* and Mr. Trust (harpist) gave a concert 
at the same hall. This was one of the finest musical 
exhibitions that had ever been given in Brooklyn. 

1837. — Mr. Henry Eussell, a fine tenor, gave a 
concert at Classical Hall, April 25th, on which occa- 
sion Mr. Edwinf and Mr. Thomas IScott made their 
first appearance in Brooklyn. Both of these last named 
gentlemen were excellent artists. 

lu September of this year, a Sacred Music Associa- 
tion was formed for the "practice and performance of 
sacred music, and particularly of anthems and chants." 
Mr. Adrian Hegeman was elected president of the 
society ; and Mr. Joseph Sprague, 1st vice-president ; 
Cyrus P. Smith, 2d vice-president; H. B. Duryea, 
secretary ; P. T. Arcularius, treasurer ; and 0. D. 
Burtis, librarian. The first performance of this so- 
ciety took place on the 6th of October, 1837, at the 
residence of H. B. Duryea, Esq., No. 10 Front street. 

On Monday, December 4th, Madame Caradori Al- 
lenj gave her first concert in Brooklyn, at the Ly- 
ceum. 

1839.— January 4th, Madame Otto, Mrs. Munson 
and U. G. Hill {violinist) appeared at the Lyceum. 
May 9th, Mr. E. C. Horn, an excellent tenor singer, 
appeared for the benefit of the Apprentices' Library. 

Mr. and Mrs. Seguin § made their first appearance at 
a concert in Brooklyn at the Lyceum. Both of these 
artists were great public favorites. 

After the Seguins followed Henry Eussell |1 with a 
concert at the Lyceum, assisted by Mr. Knight. 

• Sig. Chakles Montkessor was an Italian, and an artist of splendid abili- 
ties. He made his first appearance on the American stage at the Chestnut 
Street Theatre. Philadelphia, June 23, 1833, in Italian opera. 

t Mr. Edwin made his debut on the stage at the Surrey Theatre, London, 
in 1834. and his first appearance in this country, November 19th, 1836, at the 
Park Theatre, New York. He afterwards became a. great favorite at Mitchell's 
Olympic Theatre, N. Y. He was a fine actor, and had a beautiful tenor 
voice, which he managed with remarkable skiU. He was born in London, 
and died in New York, 1842. 

t This lady made her first appearance in the United States at the Park 
Theatre in 1833, as Rosini in " The Barber of Seville." She was an artist of 
fine ability, and for several years attracted great houses in all the principal 
cities in the United States. She took her farewell of the American stage at 
the Park Theatre, April 15th. 1848, and returned to Europe. She died in 
England, October loth, 1865. 

§ Mr. Seguin had a remarkable bass voice. He was born in London, .-ipril 
7th, 1809. He was a member of the London Academy of Music, from which 
he retired in 1830. He made his first appearance on the London stage, July 
3d, 1831. In 1838, he came to this country, and appeared for the first time 
in' America October 18th, 1838, at the National Theatre, Church street. New 
York City. He died in New York, December 13th. 1852. 

Mrs. Seguis's maiden name was Ann Child. She was born in London, 
and made her first appearance at a grand concert of the Philharmonic So- 
ciety of London. She was a member of the Italian Opera Company for over 
three years. She first appeared on the American stage, October 16th, 1838, 
at the National Theatre, New York. She traveled as a star through the 
United States, much admired as an artist, and much respected as a lady of 
cultivated manners. 

II Mr. RussEli was, at the time, the most prominent tenor singer this 
country had ever produced. He was born in Philadelphia, and made his 
debut May the nth, 1839, in opera, at the Chestnut Street Theatre, Philadel- 
phia, in the character of £(in>w in "La Sonnambula." He visited Eng- 
land' in 1844. and was complimented by being invited to sing before the 
Queen at Windsor Castle. He was the first American singer that met with 
marked attention and success in England. 



1840. — In January, Mr. E. Horn gave a concert 
at the Lyceum, introducing to a Brooklyn audience, for 
the first time, Madame Manncelli and Mr. Masset, 
both excellent artists. On March 3d, The Brooklyn 
Sacred Music Society gave a concert at the Presbyterian 
Church on the corner of Clinton and Fulton streets, 
and repeated the concert, with great success, on the 
28th of April, at Rev. Dr. S. Hanson Cox's church in 
Cranberry street. In April, a new place for amuse- 
ment was opened on Columbia street, opposite to Pine- 
apple street, called "Colonnade Garden," and on 
August 6th, was presented the vaudeville of " The 
Lady and the Devil," in which Mrs. Charles and Mr. 
Graham did the singing. 

At a concert of sacred music, December 30th, at the 
Lyceum, Mr. Braham,* the celebrated tenor singer, 
made his first appearance before a Brooklyn audience. 

1841.— Mr. Duflon, of the Military Garden, com- 
menced, on July 13th, to give concerts, "vocal and 
instrumental," at a shilling admittance. He must have 
met with considerable success, as they were continued 
until the latter part of September. 

1842. — Mr. Braham gave a farewell concert at the 
Lyceum, and had a crowded house. 

1843. — March 2d, the Mozart Association, anew 
organization, gave a concert at the Brooklyn Institute 
(Lyceum). Mr. Charles Holt was conductor. This 
year, Mr. Duflon retired from the management of 
Military Garden, and Mr. Isaac Burtis became lessee. 
He gave concerts through the season. Other concerts 
were given at the Institute, with the names of N. C. 
Hill and Mr. Timni on the bills. 

1844.— "The Hutchinson Family" appeared in 
Brooklyn this season, and gave several very successful 
concerts at the Institute. Monday, May 20th, Vieux 
Temi^s, the great violinist, assisted by his sister Fanny, 
an accomplished pianist, gave a concert at the In- 
stitute. 

1845. — The most noteworthy concert of this sea- 
son was given at the Institute, 14th of August. Mr. 
Templeton,t William Francis Brough.t and Mr. 
Dempster, all fine artists, aj^peared for the first time 
in Brooklyn, and gave the public great satisfaction. 

* Mr. Braham was an artist of fine culture. He had a strong, clear tenor 
voice, and in London, for many years, he was the favorite ballad-singer. He 
was said to be the finest Harri/ Bertram, in the musical drama of ■■ Guy 
Mannering," that ever walked the English stage. He performed this part 
with great success at the Park Theatre, New Y'ork, in 1840. He was born in 
London. He died in England, February 17th. 1856. 

t Mr. Templeton was born in Scotland, and made his first appearance in 
this country as a tenor singer at concerts. His voice had great power and 
sweetness, with a fine articulation He went to England in 1832, and 
became a great favorite. He was a member of Drury Lane and Covent Gar- 
den Theatres. He returned to this country, and gave an interesting enter- 
tainment entitled •• Nights with Burns and Walter Scott." As a baUad 
singer he had few equals. 

t Mr. Bbodgh, born at Wexford, Ireland, in 1798, appeared first on the 
stage as a bass singer in Sussex, England, 1818, and was afterwards a fa- 
vorite at the Haymarket Theatre, London. He came to the United States in 



1128 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



1847. — The most prominent concert given this 
year was at Gothic Hall, for the bene6t of the suffer- 
ing people of Ireland, at which Sig. Lesto Beneditti, 
Mr. Phillips, Mr. Beams, Mr. Bowlaiid and Miss Julia 
Northall (daughter of Dr. Northall, the dramatist) ap- 
peared 

1848. — "The Hutchinson 'Family" gave several 
very successful concerts at the Institute. This troupe 
was at one time the most successful concert organiza- 
tion that ever traveled in the United States. Not so, 
however, from their possessing any extraordinary abili- 
ty, but simply that they sang old-fashioned songs, in 
costumes, and in a quaint and old-fashioned way. 

December 31, Madame Anna Bishop,* wife of Sir 
Henry Bishop, the well-known composer (and who 
arranged the old Sicilian air to John Howard Payne's 
words of " Home, Sweet Home"), gave her first concert 
in Brooklyn, at "The Brooklyn Female Academy." 
The concert was made up of eavatinas and songs from 
the best composers. 

The BrooUyn Sacred Music Society gave the "Ora- 
torio" of " The Seven Sleepers" at the " Female Acad- 
emy." The orchestra was composed of over one 
hundred performers ; Mr. J. Zundel was director. 

There were no unusual musical performances given 
in Brooklyn during the year 1849. 

1850.— February 18th, Mrs. Emma Gillingham 
Bostwick gave a concert at the Female Academy. This 
lady was for several years the leading voice in Grace 
Church, N. Y. The Hutchinsons returned to Brook- 
lyn this season, and performed to crowded houses for 
a whole week at Plymouth Church. 

1836, and flret appeared at the Park Theatre, September 4tli, as Dandini. 
He met with great success, and was, for many years, the bass singer of the 
English opera troupe of Mr. and Mrs. Wood (Mrs. Wood was formerly the 
celebrated Miss Ann Paton). He traveled with them through the United 
States, and became a great favorite wherever he appeared. He had a rich, 
deep voice, and managed it with remarkable skill. Brough was one of those 
whole-souled and kind-hearted men that carried sunshine with him wher- 
ever he went. He was a most excellent actor, and was always greeted with a 
round of applause as soon as he appeared upon the stage. He was over six 
feet high, of a fine figure, and had a genial face that at once drew yon 
towards him and made you his personal friend. 

Mr. Brough was the author of several burlesques, one of which, " The 
Field of the Cloth of Gold," had a long run at Mitchell's Olympic Theatre, 
New York. At different periods, he was the agent and manager of Miss 
Maggie Mitchell, the Webb sisters, and the celebrated Mr and Mrs. Charles 
Eean, with whom he traveled throughout the United States during their 
last visit to this country. He was for a long time a resident and a property- 
owner in the city of Brooklyn. His health failing him, he undertook a trip 
to England, and died just as he arrived there, May 21st, 1867. His body was 
brought back to this country in February, 1808, and buried in Greenwood 
He had a very large and highly respectable funeral. 

* Mbs, Bishop made her debut in London, July 5th, 1839. In 1843, she trav- 
eled through Europe with success, and closed a brilliant engagement at 
Naples in 1845. She made her first appearance in this country at the Wal- 
nut Street Theatre, Philadelphia, in the opera " Norma," November 22d, 
1847. Sir Henry Bishop, her husband, died April 30th, 18-55. In 1858, she mar- 
rried Martin Shultz. She went to Europe in 1859, soon returned to the States, 
and has since sung in almost every important city or town on the globe. Her 
last appearance was in the spring of 1883, at a concert given to Harry B, Dod- 
worth, Steinway Hall, N. Y., January 30th. This lady, after a short illness 
of two days, died in the City of New York, March 18th, 1884. Her remains 
were deposited at Red Hook, N. J. 



1851. — The celebrated Catherine Hayes* gave her 
first and only concert in Brooklyn, which took place 
at the Female Academy. Mr. Braham and 'Sir. Bassford 
assisted. Her selections were mostly from Donizetti 
and Wallace. The hall was packed, and the recipts 
amounted to over seven hundred dollars ; tickets one 
dollar each. 

Thursday, Nov. 4th, Madame Henrietta Sontagf gave 
a concert at Plymoth Church, assisted by Pozzolini, 
Carl Eckert, and other prominent artists. Her selec- 
tions were from Rossini, Schubert and Hayden. 

* This remarkable vocaUst was bom in Limerick, Ireland, in 1828. Bio- 
graphers have given her a place among the "queens of song." When she 
was only ten years old, her pure soprano voice and pathetic style of singing 
attracted the attention of the Eight Kev. Edmund Knox, Bishop of Limerick, 
who happened to overhear her singing. He invited her to his house, and 
she at once became the star at the musical re-unions given by her patron. 
She soon took up her residence in Dublin with her selected teacher, and 
made a successful appearance in this city, in 1841. Lablache heard her, 
and predicted for her a great future. As soon as she heard Madame Grisi, 
she made up her mind to study for the opera, and at once commenced her 
studies with the great teacher Garcia. At the end of two years, he declared 
that he could not add another grace to her voice. On May 10th, 1845, she 
made her first appearance in the Opera House of Marseilles, as Elvira in 
" Puritani." She labored through the opera until she reached the latter part, 
when, as if by inspiration, she gained full confidence, and made a great 
success. She then appeared in "Lucia de Lammermoor," and other firat- 
class operas. Three months after this, she made a great sensation in "La 
Somnambula," and even a greater triumph in the part of Ophelia in the 
piece of " Othello." Her conceptions of characters were strongly dramatic. 
She was tail, of a fine figure, graceful and lady-like. She made her first ap- 
pearance in .America, at Trlpler Hall, N. Y., on Sept. 23d, 1851. After she 
left Brooklyn, she went through the States, thence to the Sandwich Islands, 
Australia, and back through England. Her success was beyond all prece- 
dent. While in New York City, she married a Mr. BushneU. who was acting 
as her agent. She did not give up her maiden name until she returned to 
England. He soon died, while at Sydenham. She retired from the stage 
for a while, and died August 11th, 1861. She was a lady of the most refined 
culture and noble character, and was much beloved by all who knew her. 
She left a property of nearly one hundred thousand dollars, which was be- 
queathed in handsome legacies to her relatives and friends. 

t HENKrETTi SoNTiG ranks among the finest artists of the lyric stage. She 
was born at Coblenlz, May 13th, 1805. She was intended by her parents for 
their own profession, and, when only six years old, she appeared on the stage 
at the Court Theatre of Hesse Darmstadt, in an opera entitled " Donau 
Weibchen." Her prettiness and silver-toned voice made her a favorite at 
once with her audience. In her ninth year she lost her father, and im- 
mediately after, her mother took her to Prague, where she performed the 
parts of children, under the direction of the celebrated Weber. At fifteen 
years old, a sudden illness of the prima donna gave her the opportunity of 
taking the part of the Princese de Navarre, in the opera of " Jean de Park," 
and being very small for her age, the little vocalist was furnished with heels 
four inches high, so when the prodigy appeared on cork pedestals the house 
was filled with acclamations, and she left the stage that night with a repu- 
tation which never faded. In 1834 she appeared in Leipzig, and made a 
brilliant success. Her voice was a pure soprano, reaching from A orB to D 
in alt. In her high octave from F to C in alt, her notes rang out like the 
sound of silver bells. Her inventions were displayed in brilUant flights and 
lavish fioriture. Her rare flexibility of voice was a natural gift, but fully 
cultivated by her taste and by incessant study and practice. 

Sontag was of middle stature, with a face full of deUcacy and sensibility. 
She had Ught-colored hair, fair complexion, and large blue eyes, hs an 
actress, though not great, she Justly claimed applause. 

In 1826, she appeared at Paris in " D Barbier di SevigUa," and made 
a decided success. In 1827, she was at Berlin, and in London the next 
season, always gaining new laurels wherever she went. She left the stage 
for several years, and when she returned to it still found public favor. 
In 1850, she was prima donna under the management of Lumleyatthe Drury 
Lane Theatre, London. In 1852, Sept. 19th, she arrived in New York City, 
and gave a series of splendid concerts at Metropolitan Hall, assisted by Sig. 
Silvl She next appeared in Brooklyn, Boston, Philadelphia and New Or- 
leans. She then returned to New York, and in July, 1853, appeared in opera 
under the baton of the celebrated Max Maretzek at the Castle Garden. In 
1854 she went to Mexico to perform an engagement of two months, lor 
which she was to secure ten thousand dollars, but shortly after she arrived 
there, she died of the cholera, on the 17th of June. 1854. She had an im- 
mense funeral; all performers of both theatres assisted at her funeral service. 
Her remains were sent to Germany, and buried in the Abbey Marienstem. 



THE PROGRESS OF MUSIC AND OPERA IN BROOKLYN. 



IVid 



1852. — Whatever minor concerts were given this 
year in Brooklyn were attended with a better success 
than formerly. The excitement created by two such 
great artists as Miss Hayes and Madame Sontag ap- 
pearing iu Brooklyn, gave a new impulse to the desire 
on the part of the people for other musical entertain- 
ments of high order, and almost demanded the return 
of these excellent artists to the " City of Churches." 

1853. — This year is made notable from the fact 
that a new hall, " The Athenmum," opened its doors 
for the first time on the 3d of May. The building is a 
fine structure, standing on the north-east corner of At- 
lantic and Clinton streets. It contains a large hall on 
the second floor, and will seat twelve hundred people. 
It has a parquette floor and a gallery, both well 
arranged. The interior is finely frescoed, and has a 
small sta.ge, a drop-curtain and a few scenes, better 
adapted to concert purposes than to the drama. Sev- 
eral fine concerts were given the early part of the 
season at this hall. On October 14th, Henrietta 
Sontag appeared at the Athenasum. This was her 
second and last appearance in Brooklyn. She was 
supported by Sig. Rocco and Paul Jullien. 

1854. — Madame Isidora Clark, an American prima 
donna, and who for many years had been a resident of 
Brooklyn, gave a concert at the Athenasum November 
39th. Mr. Henry Appy, the celebrated violinist, and 
Mr. Wells, pianist, assisted. The well-known Mr. 
Henry Timm acted as conductor. 

1855. — "ThePyue and Harrison English Opera 
Troupe " gave their first concert in Brooklyn at the 
Athenaeum, April 5th. Miss Louisa Pyne* was assisted 
by her sister, Mr. William Harrison, and Mr. Henry 
Horncastle. The selections were from the most pop- 
ular operas. The concert was rej^eated on the 11th of 
the same month with increased attendance. 

*Mi8s Louisa Ptne was a great favorite with the American public. At au 
early age, she was i>laced under the instructions of Sir George Smart. When 
only ten years old, she appeared at the Queen's Concert-Room, London, and 
met with much applause, and soon became a favorite concert singer. Iu 
1847, she visited Paris, and met with success. In 1849, she made 
her iirst appearance in opera at Boulogne, as Armena in " La Son- 
nambula," and was greeted with loud applause on the fall of the 
curtain. Two months later, she performed at the " Princess's " Theatre, 
London, as Zeilina in " Don Giovanni." In 1851 she was prima donna 
at the Haymarket Theatre, London. It was here that she first appear^^d in 
the opera of "The Crown Diamonds," the music of which she sang with 
exquisite taste and brilliancy. Her fame was now made, and she soon 
appeared, by request, before Her Majesty Queen Victoria, at Windsor Castle, 
and at Buckingham Palace. In 1854, from Liverpool, she embarked for the 
United States, and made ber first appearance at the Broadway Theatre, Oc- 
tober 9th, the same year, in the opera of •* La Sonnambula." The theatre was 
crowded almost to suffocation, the admittance being only fifty cents. She 
made a most decided hit, and performed for several weeks to crowded 
houses. After this, she traveled through the States with like success. Her 
voice was a soprano of excellent quality, remarkable for compass and flexi- 
bility. In her appearance she was petite and blonde, with a most agreeable 
expression of face that almost sparkled with intelligence. After remaining 
in the States for three years, she returned to England in 1857, and at the 
Lyceum Theatre, London, she made a great hit in "The Kose of Castile," a 
new opera by Balfe, which was produced for the first time, October 29th, 
1857. In 1860 and 1861, Miss Pyne crowded Drury Lane and Oovent Garden 
Theatres by her delightful singing in Wallace's new opera of " Lurline." In 
1862, she took the place of Miss Kellogg at Her Majesty's Theatre, London. 
Mr. William Harrison, a fine tenor, and who always sang with Misa Pyne, 
died in England, 1868, 63 years old. Miss Pyne was born in England in 1835. 



September 14th, Madame Theresa Parodi made her 
first salutation to a Brooklyn audience at the Athe- 
njeum. Madame Amelia Patti, Strakosch, Sig. Barvidi, 
and Mr. Gardiner composed the list of artists. The 
selections were from Meyerbeer's "Prophet," "Casta 
Diva," "Norma," with the duettino called "Love's 
Approach," composed by William Wallace, and were 
sung by Madame Parodi.* 

1856. — January 16th, the celebrated Gottschalk 
gave his first " Piano-forte Soiree " in Brooklyn, at the 
Polytechnic Institute, Livingston street. This gentle- 
man came to Brooklyn with a splendid reputation, 
which he had recently made in the City of Ncav York, 
yet, on this occasion, he performed to almost empty 
benches. He was a wonderful artist. The piano in liis 
hands seemed like a spirit of music that answered in a 
peculiar and thrilling way to his fingers as they floated 
over the keys, as if by magic. There was a melancholy 
of tone and pathos of melody which at times he expressed 
that would force tears to the eyes. He made the piano 
talk to you as the poet talks in his written verses. 
You understood his effect of sounds as you understand 
the forms of words. He could express sentiments so 
strongly and picture the descriptive so vividly that 
one could almost see the colors of the sunset, and hear 
the ripplings of water, see the flashings of the light- 
ning and hear the mutterings of the thunder, the 
swayings of the forest in the storm, and the meanings 
of the afiiicted. If ever the human soul was expressed 
through the medium of the fingers upon an instrument, 
Gottschalk attained the height of that expression, f 

*This lady was the pupil of the great Pasta, who was the most prominent 
of all lyric tragediennes . She was to the operatic stage what Siddons was 
to the dramatic stage. Parodi made her first appearance on the stage at the 
Grand Opera House, London, April 10th, 1849, in " Norma," and achieved a 
perfect success. A critic, who used to write many years ago for the New 
Yorker, a weekly paper, over the nom de plume of " D ", and was present at 
her rfeSwi, describes her performance in the following terms: "I weU re- 
member the eager scrutiny which the whole performance underwent, to 
ascertain how much of the Pasta leaven it contained, and how far her Norma 
would bear comparison with that of Grisi. the acknowledged great • diva ;' 
but Parodi's interpretation was entirely different iu many respects from 
that of Grisi. There was more of the lovely yet slighted woman, and less of 
the tragic queeu about it. Not only were the great outlines of the character 
more strongly developed, but all of the nicer shades were filled in with more 
artistic skill and dramatic effect, which gave tone and coloring to the whole 
picture. In this the teaching of Pasta and the great scholarship of Parodi 
were alike evident. There was the same beauty of declamation in the reci- 
tative, the same frequent sacrifice, though but momentary, of composer to 
author, and the same abandon of style which her great teacher had manifested 
in her own wonderful performances." 

Madame Parodi arrived in New York City, October 25th, 1850, and made 
her appearance under Max Maretzek, Nov. 4th, 1850. She was warmly 
received by the New York press, and was frequently compared to Grisi. 
Her voice was pure and sympathetic, with a fine quality preserved through- 
out. She was not brilliant in execution, but she put in those embellish- 
ments that attracted, for the reason that they belonged to the sentiment of 
the music, and not to mere tricks of the voice to gain applause. She pos- 
sessed an intellect that gave great power and artistic thought and weight to 
her conception of character — ^just such a mind as could grasp the meanings 
of such a character as Lady Macbeth, and expound the meanings of deep 
thoughts. She had a fine figure, and a face better fitted to the work of a 
tragic actress than a prima donna, to whom we generally look for voice-cul- 
ture only, and not to those mental acquirements that are absolutely neces- 
sary to make a great actor or actress. On leaving the theatre, one was more 
apt to remember Parodi as the great actress, than as the great singer. 

t This great genius of the piano was born in New Orleans in 1829, and 
died at Tijuca, a plateau, about two miles from Rio, on the 18th of Decem- 
ber, 1869. 



1130 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



On the 22d of January, Louisa Pyne made another 
visit to the Athenfeum. January 39th, Gottschalk made 
his second attempt at the Polytechnic Hall, and on 
this occasion the people of Brooklyn redeemed their 
reputation for musical culture by giving him a fine re- 
ception and a full house. February 32d, Louisa Pyne, 
Gottschalk and Paul Jullien all appeared at the Athe- 
nffium. May 8th, Madame La Grange and Gottschalk 
gave a concert at the Athenaeum. Oct. 15th, La 
Grange gave her second concert at the same hall. On 
the 23d, Parodi, Gottschalk, Tamberlini, Bernaidi and 
Morini all appeared at the same concert at the Athe- 
na3um. Selections were given from Rossini, Donizetti, 
Verdi, Ballini and Malibran. This was the greatest 
disf)lay of musical genius that had ever appeared on the 
same night in the city of Brooklyn. 

December 1st, Thalberg appeared for the first time 
in Brooklyn. 

1857. — January 5th, Mr. William Mason, an 
American pianist of fine ability, captivated his hearers 
at the Athenrcum. On the 16th, Gottschalk gave a 
concert at the same hall, assisted by Parodi, Cora Wil- 
horst, and Madame Amelia Patti. February 5th, the 
Pyne and Harrison troupe. March 14th, Carl Prox 
gave what he called a " Philharmonic Soiree," at the 
AthenaBum. April 4th, Ole Bull, the great violinist, 
gave a concert at the Athenaeum to a crowded house. 
April 30th, many of the first citizens of Brooklyn gave 
a grand complimentary concert to Miss Louisa Pyne, 
at the Athenaeum. Every seat in the house was 
filled. 

Philharmonic Society .—On Monday evening, 
April 13th, 1857, a number of gentlemen met, pur- 
suant to notice, at the Brooklyn Athenreum, to organ- 
ize a Philharmonic Society. The Hon. Judge Green- 
wood was called to the chair, and Luther B. Wyman, 
Esq., was appointed secretary. Judge Greenwood 
stated the object of the meeting, alluded to the power- 
ful influence arising from the cultivation of music, and 
tendered his hearty co-operation with the gentlemen 
present in the formation of an institution so much re- 
quired in the city of Brooklyn. Professor Raymond 
then offered a set of resolutions, wherein it was stated 
that the first duty of every community was to advance 
its own moral and spiritual condition; and, that the 
most effective measure to this end was an institution of 
pure and elevated recreation for the people, and no other 
institution could so perfectly accomplish the object as 
one devoted to the sublime Art of Music. The com- 
mittee appointed to draft a plan of organization and 
constitution; consisted of Robert R. Raymond, John 
Greenwood, Luther B. Wyman, and Edward White- 
house. 

May 5th, a second meeting was held at the same 
place. A Board of Directors was immediately formed, 
elected to serve for one year, consisting of Edward 
Whitehouse, Charles Christmas, Robert R. Raymond, 



Luther B. Wyman, A. Cooke Hull, L. S. Burnham, 
John Greenwood, P. K. Weizel, Alfred Large, George 
C. Ripley, W. M. Newell, Charles Congdon, Samuel 
Sloan, H. Mayren, Henry F. Vail, Robert M. Berdell, 
E. D. Plympton, William Pool, Luke W. Thomas, 
David M. Stone, R. H. Tucker, Lea Luqueer, George 
G. Hastings, and C. M. Congreve. Luther B. Wyman 
was elected President; Edward Whitehouse, \st Vice- 
President; John Greenwood, 2fZ Vice-President; Rob- 
ert R. Raymond, Secretary, and A. Cooke Hull, Treas- 
urer. 

The society's first concert took place at the Athe- 
naeum on Saturday evening, Nov. 14th, 1857. Con- 
ductor, Theo. Eisfeld ; leader, J. Noll ; under whose 
skillful management the following interesting pro- 
gramme was performed : 

Pakt I. 

Erucia — Symphony, No. 3 Beethoven 

Sear ye, Israel, from "Elijah" Mendelssohn 

Miss Heneietta Behrend. 
Concerto for Cornet-a-Pision Schreiber 

L. SCHEEEBER. 

pakt n. 

Ruy Bias — Overture Mendelssohn 

A ve Maria — Gornet-a-pision Schubert 

L. SCHEEIBEB. 

Aria from "Linda" Donizetti 

Miss H. Beheend. 
Oberon — Overture Weber 

The orchestra consisted of forty excellent musicians. 
The house was crowded to its fullest capacity ; the 
concert was a perfect success, and was followed by an- 
other, December 12. 

1858. — The Haydn Quartet Glub gave four con- 
certs at the Polytechnic Institute, January 30. Third 
concert of the Pliilharnionic took place at the Athe- 
nmum, Madame de Lussan, soprano; Aptommas, harp; 
and full orchestra of forty instruments, with Theo. 
Eisfeld as director. Symphony No. 7, Beethoven, was 
performed. 

The Brooklyn Harmonic Society, composed of the 
vocal and instrumental societies of Brooklyn, with 
Carl Prox as director, gave their first concert at the 
Polytechnic. Selections from several of the best com- 
posers were given. 

October 1st, at the Athenasum, Sig. Strakosch, with a 
portion of the Italian opera troupe from New York, 
gave a concert. Madame Pauline Colson, Brignoli, La 
Bactta and Amodio made up the list of singers. The 
first concert of the second season of the Philharmonic 
was given October 30th, with Madame Gazzanigaas the 
soprano of the occasion.* 

* Want of space obliges us to condense much that had been prepared 
concerning the Philharmonic. Suffice it to say, that Bince 1877, five or 
more concerts have been given every year. At present the season con- 
sists of twenty performances — eight concerts, eight public rehearsals, and 
four matinees. 

Performances were given in the Brooklyn Athenseum till 1862; since 
then at the Academy of Music. The first president was Mr. Luther B. 
Wyman, who held the office until his death ; siuce when Mr. Henry K. 
Sheldon has been president. Theodore Eisfeld was the first conductor, 



THE PROGRESS OF MUSIC AND OPERA IN BROOKLYN. 



1131 



Italian Opera in. Brooklyn.— The first per- 

formauce took place at the Athenffiiim, Saturday, 
November 30th. A stage had been erected at 
the west end of the room, furnished with scenery, foot- 
lights and drop curtain. The stage was about thirty 
feet wide inside of the proscenium, by twenty-two feet 
deep; and, although small and cramped, in comparison 
with the required amount of sj^ace, when all the char- 
acters and chorus were on the stage; still that could 
well be overlooked in the exciting thought that Brook- 
lyn had really reached an Italian opera performance. 
It was, indeed, an epoch in the history of Brooklyn, 
and caused at the time quite a sensation among the 
elite. The following is the programme in full : 
BROOKLYN ATHEN^UM. 
Saturday, Kove)nber 20lh, 1858. 
Italian Opera, performed with Chorus, Orchestra, Costumes. 
A SpeciaIj Stage, 
with new scenery and footlights, having been built and painted 
by Allegri and Calyo. 
Piccolomini, Gazzaniga, Formes, Florenza, Tamaro, Mag- 

gioroehi. 
Doors open at 7.30 ; opera commences at 8 o'clock. 
The performance will commence with the second act of 
' ' The Dauohteb of the Regiment, " 
Preceded by an overture — Orchestra. 

Mile. Piccolomini, Carl Formes, Tamaro, Marra. 
To be followed by the second act of 

" LucREZiA Borgia. " 
Gazzaniga, Florenza, Tamaro. 
Previous to " Lucretia Borgia," the orchestra will perform the 
overture to " Der Freischutz." The performance to conclude 
with the entire opera of 

" La Serva Padrona. " 
Mile. Piccolomini, as the Housemaid. 
During the^comic particcio of "La Serva Padrona," will be in- 
troduced '* The Quarrelling Duette," from Auber's comic opera 
of "The Mason and the Locksmith," and, at the end of the 
opera, " The Piccolomini Waltz," especially composed for her 
by Signor Muzio. Previous to " La Serva Padrona," the orches- 
tra will perform the overture of " Massaniello." 
Reserved seats, $2.50. General Admission, SI. 50. 

Card to the Brooklyn Public. 
As one-third of the Athenjeum will be occupied by the stage, 
there will be lost over three hundred seats. In view of this cir- 
cumstance, and of the great expense attending the performance, 
the price charged will not be remunerative to the director. His 
principal motive, however, in giving opera in Brooklyn, is to 
stimulate the citizens of Brooklyn toward hastening the rapid 
construction of the contemplated Brooklyn Academy of Music, 
which, Mr. Ullman trusts, will be closely united, under one 
management, with that of New York. 

November 25th, the second operatic occasion, was 
the performance of The Barhieredi Seviglia. Madame 

until 1865; Carl Bergmann was conductor for 1865-6; Theodore Thomas 
was conductor from 1866-1870; Carl Bergmann again, 1870-1873; Theodore 
Thomas, 1873 until the present time. The orchestra at first numbered 
40. Now its regular force is 100, and is, on some occasions, increased to 
140. Board of Directors : — President, Henry K. Sheldon; 1st vice-presi- 
dent, Lyman S. Burnham; 2nd vice-president, Frederic Cromwell: treas- 
urer, William R. Bunker; secretary, Benj. T. Frothingham; John T. 
Howard, Henry N. Whitney, William H. CromweH, John D. ElweU, Wil- 
liam H. Husted, Camden C, Dike, Frederick A. Ward, F. H. Cowper- 
thwaite, Horatio C. King, Jos. P. Holbrook, Frederick D. Blake, John F. 
Praeger, O. H. Prentiss, W. W. Goodrich, William B. KendaU, C, T. Christ- 
ensen, Chauncey Low, Edward B, Bartlett, Herbert Seymour, John S. 
Frothingham. 



La Bord (from the Grand Opera House, Paris), Ro- 
sina; assisted by Maggio, Rochi, Florenza, Lorini, 
Dubruie, Collotti and Morra ; director, Muzio. 

On the first evening, the audience, though brilliant 
in fashion, was not so full as on the last occasion. 
The price having been reduced to $1.50 for reserved 
seats, and $1.00 for general admission, gave more satis- 
faction to the Brooklyn public. On both occasions the 
performance was very fine. The entire company was 
from the New York Academy of Music. Madame La 
Bord gave the utmost satisfaction, and although Pico- 
lomini had just been creating a great /wrore in New 
York, La Bord at once became the favorite with the 
audience, which she justly deserved, for she was in 
many respects the far superior artist. 

1859. — The third concert of the second season of 
the Philharmonic took place, June 29th, at Athenaeum; 
Miss Maria S. Brain.ard, soprano. February 17th, Miss 
Elizabeth Greenfield, the "black swan," a colored 
woman, who iiad sung with great success in Euro^De, 
gave her first concert in Brooklyn. Miss Greenfield 
possessed a sweet and powerful soprano voice of great 
compass, executed well, and sang with good taste. 
Among her selections were ihscavatina from the opera of 
" Ernani," Visions of Rest, from "Trovatore," and 
others from the best composers. She gave several con- 
certs in this city, and drew good houses. March 5th, 
Madame De Lussan, and March 16th, Madame Gaz- 
zaniga, were the sopranos at the two Philharmonic con- 
certs. The Philharmonic this season tendered a com- 
plimenty concert to Madame Gazzaniga, for which Sig. 
Steffani Amadio and Carl Formes volunteered. 

I860. — This season was filled up with several 
good concerts. The Philharmonic Society had in- 
creased so rapidly in its popularity that the Brooklyn 
Athenteum was no longer large enough to hold the 
number that flocked to the rehearsals and concerts. 
The purpose of having an Academy of Music in the 
City of Brooklyn incited the people to foster the Phil- 
harmonic, which had also become the fashionable re- 
sort. The Academy of Music (of which a full history 
will be found in the dramatic chapter of this book), 
was the offsjjring of the Philharmonic Society. 

1861. — The first concert of the Philharmonic that 
was given at the Academy took place on Saturday 
evening, January 19th, 1861. Madame Colson, Signor 
Ferri, and Mr. L. Schreiber were among the artists, 
with an orchestra of si.xty performers. Theo. Eisfeld, 
conductor, and Mr. J. Noll, leader. 

January 22d, the first Italian opera performance was 
given at the Academy of Music. This was termed the 
"Inauguration of the first season of six nights." 
The opera originally selected for the opening night 
was "Traviata," but the directors of the Academy object- 
ed to the story of the opera, on the ground that it was 
not of a moral character (?). The management were 
forced to produce in its place, Mercandante's II Oiu- 



1132 



SISTORY OF KINGS COUNTT. 



ramento (the curse), Elasir (1st time), Madame Col- 
son ; Bianca, Miss A. Phillips; Viscardo, Sig. Brig- 
noli ; Manfredo, Sig. Ferri ; conductor and director, 
Sig. Muzia. This was a great musical occasion for Bi'ook- 
Ivn, as the house was packed from parquette to dome 
with one of the most brilliant and fashionable audiences 
that ever graced a theatre. The opera was beautifully 
placed upon the stage, with new scenery, properties and 
costumes. Madame Colson appeared to her best ad- 
vantage. Her pure vocalizations, and the finest of 
execution, together with her fine acting, were worthy of 
the applause she received. Miss Phillips seemed to 
feel the importance of the occasion, and captivated 
her hearers with her fresh and powerful contralto 
voice ; while Brignoli's fine tenor voice held the at- 
tention of his audience as if they were in a dream. 
Ferri was a fine actor, and appeared to great advantage 
in the part of Manfredo. The orchestra, though small, 
only twenty-seven jjieces, did their work well, under 
the leadership of Sig. Muzio. Price of admission, 
$1.00; reserved seats, $1.50. 

Among the distinguished persons present was Mrs. 
Abraham Lincoln, wife of the President of the United 
States, accompanied by her sons. The party occupied 
one of the private boxes, and divided the attention of 
the audience. 

January 26th, second opera-night, with the debut 
of a new prima donna. Miss Isabella Hinkley, on 
which occasion was produced Donizetti's opera of "Lu- 
cia de Lammermoor": Lucia, Miss Hinkley ; Edgardo, 
Sig. Stefani ; Ashton, Sig. Ferri ; Raniundo, Sig. Co- 
letti. 

Miss Hinkley* made her first appearance in New 
York Academy of Music, on tlie Wednesday evening 
previous. It was admitted by the entire press of 
New York, that she was a success, and a young lady of 
great promise. Her appearance met with the warmest 
encouragement. It was so rare a thing to have an 
American prima donna, that all present felt that a 
generous warmth of encouragement was no more than 
proper. Her voice was a pure soprano, reaching readily 
to high C, in alt, clear and ringing in the upper re- 
gister, and with an uncommon quality of chest and 
lower tones. Her careful training was evident in the 
manner she changed from the lower to the middle 
register, and the clear delicacy with which the ex- 
treme high notes were enunciated, while the staccato 
upper passages were remarkably well done. 

* MisB Hinkley was tlie daughter of a physician in Albany, N. T. Her 
father saw that his daughter possessed a fine soprano voice, and while she 
■was quite young, placed her under the best instructors in his vicinity. He 
died before she had attained to any great proflciency in her difficult art. 
Her mother, feeling that her daughter should pursue her studies, took her 
to Italy to complete her musical education. She remained there for over 
two years, receiving instructions from some of the best masters, and ap- 
peared in opera in several European cities. On her return to this country, 
she appeared in New Vorli and Brooklyn. In 1861, she became the wile of 
Sig. Susini. She died of typhoid fever, at her residence in New York City, 
July 6th, 1862. Her sudden death was a great shock to her friends and the 
musical public. No .\merican prima donna ever before or since has ap- 
peared, possessed of so many of the requisites for the operatic stage. 



January 28th, third opera night at the Academy, 
"The Sicilian Vespers" was performed, with Colson, 
Brignoli, Ferri, Susini, and Coletti in the cast. Janu- 
ary 30th, fourth night, "II Trovatore," with Miss 
Hinkley as Leonora, and Miss Phillips as Azu- 
cena. This was something new to have the two prin- 
cipal characters represented by American artists. Miss 
Phillips' acting and singing in the "Gipsy Mother" 
were remarkably fine. Her full, rich voice and vocali- 
zation were exhibited to great advantage in the " Stride 
la Vampa," and so completely did her dramatic inten- 
sity carry away her audience that she was summoned 
before the curtain at the close of the opera: 

Brooklyn, at this time, was having three opera nights 
per week, while New York had to be satisfied with two. 
This caused considerable comment by the New York 
press. 

February 1st, the opera of " Martha " w^as per- 
formed, with Colson in her great original character 
oi Lady Henrietta. February 5th, the " Barber of 
Seville," with Miss Hinkley as Roscna. February 
9th, "Ernani" — Elvira, Madame Colson; with the 
last act of "Lucia Lammermoor" — Lucia, Miss 
Hinkley. So great was the success of the first season, 
that Sig. Muzio was induced immediately to commence 
six additional nights. February 12th, "Lucrezia Bor- 
gia," with Signorina Elena as Lucrezia. This lady 
was one of Sig. Garcia's pupils, and was a success. 
February 15th, eighth opera night, and Miss Hinkley 
as Leonora. February 19th, " Mr. Ballo in Mas- 
chera," — Anelia, Madame Colson; Oscar, Miss Hink- 
ley. This opera and " Trovatore " were both 
performed in the United States before they were in 
England. The " Masked Ball " was repeated on Feb- 
ruary 33d. On the 26th, "1 Puritani;" March 2d, 
" Don Giovanni ;" March 5th, the first appearance of 
Miss Louisa Kellogg in Brooklyn, 

RiGOLETTO, 
With the following cast : 

Gilda MissKeUogg 

Magdalena Miss Phillips 

Dm of Mantua, Sig. Stigalli 

Eigohllo Sig. Ferri 

Sparafucile, Sig. Colletti 

Miss Kellogg was the third American lady who made 
her debut this season as a prima donna. This was an 
extraordinary harvest of fine singers reaped from Ameri- 
can soil that the public did not expect, and up to tJiis 
time has not been equaled. Miss Kellogg at onee be- 
came a great favorite with the public. 

March 9th, the fourteenth opera night, and benefit 
of Miss Hinkley, — Norma, Colson ; Adelgia, Miss 
Hinkley. The performance on this occasion con- 
cluded with Miss Kellogg as Oilda, in one act of 
"Rigoletto." Thus ended the first opera season in the 
city of Brooklyn, with the receipts averaging $2,300 
per night, while they did not reach $1,600 in the city 
of New York. 



TBE PROGRESS OP MUSIC AND OPERA IN BROOKLYN. 



1133 



The Philharmonic Society and tliese performances of 
the Italian opera had established a taste for music in 
Brooklyn, which has increased in its growth every year; 
until Brooklyn is looked upon by all operatic and 
concert managers as being the most appreciative city 
in the Union, and where they are always certain of re- 
plenishing their coffers. From 18G1 to 1883, all the 
great lyric artists that have appeared in New York 
City have, also, appeared in Brooklyn, and frequently 
with a greater monetary success than in any other city 
of the Union. Having now pictured the first strug- 
gling efforts for the establishment of music in the " City 
of Churches," we are compelled, for the want of sjiace, 
to notice only the most prominent musical events that 
have occurred up to the present time, and that in 
brief. 

March 14th, Mr. George F. Bristow, son of the 
Mr. Bristow mentioned in the early parts of this 
article, performed at the Academy his oratorio of 
" Praise to God," with a full chorus of two hundred 
picked voices. April 9th, Sig. Muzio's opera troupe 
appeared for three nights at the Academy. Madame 
Colson, Miss Hinkley, and Miss Kellogg were the stars 
of the occasion. 

May 18th, the Philarmonic Society gave a " Grand 
Extra Concert " at the Academy, in aid of the " Patri- 
otic Relief Fund." Miss Hinkley, Miss Kellogg, Sig. 
Brignoli, Mr. Schreiber, Mr. George Warren, and 
others volunteered. George P. Morris, the poet, wrote 
a song for the occasion, eutited " The Union, Right 
or Wrong;" music by Muzio, and sang by Miss Hink- 
ley. 

1862.— January 10th, the first grand opera night, 
"II Barbiere di Seviglia," Miss Hinkley and Sig. 
Brignoli in the leading parts. This season, " l\ Tro- 
vatore," ""Martha," "La Favorita," "Betty," and other 
first-class operas were performed, with Miss Hinkley 
and Miss Kellogg the favorite prima donnas. May 1st, 
Mrs. Grace brought before the Brooklyn public, at the 
Athenajum, Miss Carlotta Patti. Miss Emelia J. 
Boughton made her debut at the Academy, as Violetta. 

October 2d, a musical and dramatic performance was 
given at the Athenaeum for the benefit of the sick and 
wounded soldiers. Mr. Gabriel Harrison performed the 
part of Fazio, to Miss Osgood's Bianca. Mr. John 
M. Loretz, Mr. and Mrs. John Abbot, and Mrs. Prior 
all volunteered, and took prominent parts in the mu- 
sical programme. 

Nov. 25th, Madame Guerrabella made her first ap- 
pearance at the Academy as Leonora. On the 27th, 
Signora Lorini as Norma. Dec. 4th, Mile. A. Cordier 
as Dinorah, with new scenery and costumes. Many 
other operas were performed this season with great 
success. 

1863. — January 8th, Grau gave his first opera- 
night of the new season, with Miss Kellogg as Pao- 



lina, making her first of a series of farewell perform- 
ances, prior to her departure to Europe.* This season 
the German Opera Troupe gave several performances, 
with partial success. March 19th was Max Maretzek's 
first night of his Troupe. On this occasion. Mile. Or- 
tolani Brignoli appeared as Violetta. This artiste 
had made considerable reputation abroad, but did not 
meet with the success she deserved in this country. 
She wa,s petite and very graceful, had a good voice, and 
was quite charming as an actress. After this lady fol- 
lowed Madame Guerrabella as Amelia in the "Masked 
Ball," and Miss Kellogg as Martha. 

November 4th, Mrs. Van Zandt (Miss Jennie Blitz), 
a lady who had resided in Brooklyn nearly all her life, 
made her first apiJearance in Brooklyn at a concert 
given at the Academy, and when the curtain fell upon 
her performance, she stood an accepted artist and 
favorite, f It is an astonishing fact, that since the open- 

*CHRA Louise Kellogg won bnr way into public esteem by hard 
work and a soul devotion to her glorious art, and occnpies at the present 
time the proudest position ever reached by an American singer. The 
forcing process so well known to speculative management was never ap- 
plied to her. She was of a purely natural growth, and, step by step, has 
made her way up the rounds until she is an acknowledged triumph, and 
in every sense an ornament of the lyric stage. 

Her fame preceded her to Europe, and opened the doors of the principal 
opera-houses for her. as to the most honored guest. She sang before the 
worshipers of the great Patti, Nilsson and Lucca, and still retired covered 
with laurels. The brothers Strakosch, while hunting in Europe for their 
annual novelty, could find no singer abroad more desirable as a means of 
cis-Atlantic speculation than the fair young American. This was turning 
the tables ; they sent to catch a foreign songster, and brought home a 
native bird. It takes but a few words to explain her abilities as a singer. 
"She does not astonish you; she does what is far better — she delights you." 
She is natural in every particuKir of voice-management. She is sympathetic, 
and has an almost faultless method, and while we cannot say that she is a 
dramatic artist of any startling effects, we always feel perfectly satisfied 
with her quiet style of acting, which leaves a good impression upon her 
audience. As any one can admire a rose or a lily, or can be impressed 
with the glory of a sunset, or feel awe-struck with the grandeur of an 
Alpine scene, so it is with native worth on the stage. An audience is 
magnetized just as promptly and as truly by the tlash of genius; and the 
popular heart always knows when it is thrilled in sympathy with the true 
genius of song, and appreciates its real value, and the power that breathes 
it forth, as the humble Swiss peasant appreciates the sublimity of his 
mountains of eternal snow. 

t Mns, Van Zandt was born in the City of Now York, January 1st, 1845. 
She studied iu New York under Sig. Barili and Sig. Abella. She made her 
first appearance upon the stage at a concert a few months previous at the 
Brooklyn Academy. Her complete success before crowded houses, composed 
of the musical dilettanti and the best critics, more than sustained the an- 
ticipation of those who had frequently heard her in private. The press 
spoke of her efforts as delicately artistic performances, and predicted for 
her a glorious future, which has been fulfilled. Subsequently she appeared 
in the " Bride of Lammermoor " with increased success. In 1865 she went 
to Milan, and there placed herself for instruction under the well-known 
Lamparte. Her progress was so great that she was soon offered an engage- 
ment at the Royal Opera House, Copenhagen, where she appeared with the 
most flattering success. After this she entered into an engagement with 
the Russian Government to sing during the winter months at the Imperial 
Opera House. In the winter of 1867 and 1868 she appeared for five months 
at the far-famed La Scala, Milan, and the. furore she there created attracted 
the attention of Mr. Gye, the manager of the Royal Italian Opera, at Covent 
Garden Theatre, London, where she appeared in April, 1868, making a great 
hit in "Don Giovanni," and proving herself a most fascinating Zerlina. 
She was here engaged for the seasons of 1869 and 1870. .After this, she was 
engaged by Gye for a lengthened tour through Great Britain, visiting 
Glasgow, Dublin, Liverpool, and aU the large cities, receiving marked at- 
tention and favors wherever she went. After winning many laurels 
abroad, during her absence of six years, she returned to her native city. 
New York. She was immediately engaged by Mr. Rosa as a prima donna 
soprano for the tarepa Rosa's "Grand English Opera Troupe," and made 
her first appearances in English opera on the 9th of October, at the New 
. York Academy of Music. Balfe's opera of "Satanella " was chosen for the 
occasion; Madame Van Zandt was received with great applause, and the 
press spoke of her in the highest terms. 



1134 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



ing of the Academy of Music, in less than three years, 
no less than four American prima donnas made their 
first great success in Brooklyn, and were recognized 
wherever else they went, as artists of marked abilities. 
The residue of this season was filled up with many 
fine operatic performances. The Philharmonic con- 
certs were attended by crowds of people, and, on many 
occasions, even the Academy was not large enough to 
accommodate them. 

1864. — The most important event this season in 
the opera line, was the first appearance in Brooklyn 
of Mrs. Jennie Van Zaudt on the operatic stage, which 
took place November 19th, she having made her debut 
at the New York Academy a few evenings previous. 
She chose the part of Oilda in " Rigoletto." On both 
occasions her success was decided. 

Madame Van Zandt is still popular with the Ameri- 
can public. Her voice still retains its freshness and 
many beauties of execution, and wherever she appears, 
in concert or opera, she is welcomed with all the marks 
of respect and approval. 

In the season of 1864, Signora Carozzi Zucha jjer- 
formed frequently at the Academy in " Lucrezia Borgia," 
" Don Giovanni," " II Polinto " and '•' Don Sebastian". 
This same season Miss Kellogg made a great impression 
in the character of Marguerita in " Faust," drawing 
immense houses whenever she apjjeared. 

After the advent of three such American artistes as 
Miss Hinkley, Mrs. Van Zandt and Miss Kellogg, it is 
impossible for foreigners to say that this country has 
not produced artists of high merit; which fact they 
should ever feel ready to admit, and of which every 
American should feel justly proud. 

As years have passed, the Philharmonic Society has 
increased in juiblic favor, and no musical organization 
in America can compare with it for the great work it 
has done in building up a refined taste for music. The 
society has always kept its faith with the public by 
giving the best talent they could obtain, whether native 
or foreign, vocal or instrumental. To one gentleman 
in particular are the citizens of Brooklyn indebted for 
the great success of this society and the progress of 
music in Brooklyn. This gentleman was Luther B. 
Wtman, and to this statement no one can take excep- 
tion. If any man in connection with the history of 
music in Brooklyn deserves a recognition and bio- 
graphic mention, it is he. 

LuTHEE B. Wyman. — This gentleman was born in Massachu- 
setts, in February, 1805. He passed the first twenty years of his 
life on his father's farm. At the age of twenty, he went to Boston, 
aud soon alter he became a member of the Handel and Haydn 
Society. He possessed a superior bass voice, and with some 
hard work in its culture, he gained the position of one of its 
principal solo singers, and frequently appeared in public, and 
was siJoken of as a careful and jiaiustaking artist. 

In 1830, he started West. On arriving at Troy, a friend took 
him to see the then just completed Erie Canal, and here, by ac- 
cident, he met a young lady, daughter of the Eev. Dr. Warren, 



who afterwards became his wife. This caused him to remain in 
Troy, where he obtained a position in the office of the Troy 
Towboat Company. He had been but a few weeks in Troy when 
he was appointed to take charge of the choir of the Second Pres- 
byterian Church, which he conducted for two years. Subse- 
quently, and for several months prior to his departure for New 
York, he became quite famous as a violoncello performer in the 
Rev. Dr. Berrian's church. At the end of three years, Mr. Wy- 
man moved to New York. He at once joined the New York 
Sacred Music Society. His connection with this, the only 
musical society of note in the city, lasted for over fifteen years, 
and for the last five years of this time he acted as its president; 
his choirs gave superb perfoi'mances of the most noted vocal 
compositions, assisted by such soloists as Madame Cazadori 
Allen, Mrs. Austin, and Mrs. and Mr. Joseph Wood, and all of 
the great artists of that day. 

In 18iO, Mr. Wyman removed to Brooklyn, then a city of less 
than forty thousand inhabitants. At this time, he sang bass in 
the Church of the Messiah, Dr. Dewey's, New York. However, 
he soon resigned this position, and accepted the appointment of 
musical director in the newly-erected Unitarian Church of the 
Eev. Dr. Farley. This position he held until 1870, at which 
time he was presented with a handsome silver service as a testi- 
monial of their high appreciation of his great labors in accom- 
plishing an advanced condition of church music. Soon after 
joining Dr. Farley's church, he was elected president of the 
Brooklyn Sacred Music Society, and superintended the produc- 
tion of the oratorios " Samson " and the " Messiah " at Plymouth 
Church, and the "Seven Sleepers," by Karl Lowe, in the hall 
of the old Academy, on the site where the Packer Institute now 
stands. This office he held for three years, and in this Society 
he made the acquaintance of Miss Frances N. Hall, who became 
his second wife in 18'19, his former wife having died some 
years before. 

In 1857 he took the initiative of forming the Brooklyn Phil- 
harmonic Society. Theretofore, Brooklyn had been mainly 
dependent upon New York for instrumental music of a high 
order. On the evening of April 15th, 1857, a committee of gen- 
tlemen met at the Brooklyn Athenasum to organize a society for 
the purpose of giving in Brooklyn a series of concerts similar to 
those BO long enjoyed by the citizens of New York under the 
auspices of their Philharmonic Society. A committee, com- 
posed of Luther B. Wyman, Eobert R. Raymond, John Green- 
wood, Edward Whitehouse, Carl Prox, Leopold Bierwirth and 
Mr. Spies, was appointed to draft a plan of organization and a 
constitution. On the following 5th of May, the committee re- 
ported, and the society was permanently organized. Luther B. 
Wyman was appointed its president. It is sufficient to say, that 
from the inception of the Philharmonic Society, Mr. Wyman 
held, by annual re-election, the position of president almost up 
to the hour of his death, and was, without doubt, its most active 
and efficient manager. The great success of the Philharmonic 
Society at the Athenaeum rendered it absolutely necessary to 
have a large hall to admit the crowds that attended its concerts. 
The Philharmonic Bo.ard, with Mr. Lyman at its head, was the 
first to propose the erection of the Academy of Music. A board 
was formed, stock was subscribed, Mr. Wyman was elected sec- 
retary of the Building Committee, and the work proceeded 
without delay. In June, 1860, while the erection of the Acad- 
emy was in progress, Mr. Wyman had a narrow escape from 
death. On the 2'.)th of that month, he was in the unfinished 
building, to fulfill an engagement with the master mason, Mr. 
French. He was some few minutes in advance of his engage- 
ment, and while on the main floor, watching the raising into 
position the immense trusses, weighing nine tons each, which 
were to support the roof, he observed a storm gathering, and 
suddenly a squall arose, and striking the first truss on the Clin- 
ton street end, which was not fully secured, it fell, carrying the 
whole ten trusses one after the other with it, and falling with a 



THE PROGRESS OF MUSIC AND OPERA IN BROOKLYN. 



frightful crash into the interior of the building. Mr. Wyman, 
unable to escape, was buried beneath the debris. After being 
extracted from his dangerous situation, he was carried home, 
and, lingering between life and death, was confined to his bed 
for over two months. 

It has been the intention of this sketch to trace Mr. Wyman's 
connection more particularly with musical matters, and the 
various projects with which he has been indentified for the ad- 
vancement of music in the city of Brooklyn . It is well to remind 
our readers of the prominent part he took during the War of the 
Rebellion in the organization of regiments, in "sanitary fairs," 
in patriotic concerts, and every other movement for he further- 
ance of the success of our armies and the saving of the Union. 
In such matters, no citizen of Brooklyn was more active, and 
when he could not give in the way of wealth, he made himself 
doubly serviceable by personal devotion to the great cause. We 
can truthfully say that in every position of public trust he 
proved himself an unselfish and public-spirited citizen and an 
honorable gentleman, whose character would adorn the proudest 
of cities. For over three years previous to his death, he was an 
invalid from paralysis. No man ever died in Brooklyn who was 
more highly respected, or whose death was more deeply re- 
gretted, than Luther B. Wyman. He died in Brooklyn, on Sun- 
day, July 27th, 1879, at the age of seventy -six years. His re- 
mains were laid at rest in Green-Wood. 

In mentioning the names of the celebrated artists 
who have visited Brooklyn, and who have, by their 
remarkable talents, lent the city of Brooklyn pages of 
musical history worthy of the greatest cities in the 
world, there are two singers who deserve more than a 
passing notice ; these are Parepa Kosa and Madame 
Albani. 

Of all the singers that have appeared upon the lyric stage, 
none was more beloved for her personal character than Pakepa 
EosA. Man, woman and child, on meeting her, at first sight took 
her into their hearts. There was a freshness and a truthfulness 
about her that captivated every one who met her on, or off the 
stage. And to her lovely character may be attributed as much 
of her fame as to her musical genius. 

Euphrosyne Parepa was born in Scotland in 1839. Her mother 
was the daughter of Mr. Seguin, and was the sister-in-law of 
the celebrated Mrs. Seguin. Euphrosyne gave evidence of mu- 
sical talent when she was quite young. At the age of sixteen 
she made her first appearance in Malta in the character of Ar- 
mina in "La Sonnambula." She was a success. She then went 
to Rome, Naples, Genoa, Lisbon, and Madrid. In 1857, she ap- 
peared in London with the great Eonconi, and there held a very 
high position in the Italian opera. In 1863, she married Captain 
Carroll, of the East India service, who left her a widow after six- 
teen months of married life. In 1866, Parepa accepted an en- 
gagement from Mr. Bateman, father of the well-known actress. 
Miss Kate Bateman, who brought her to this country. She made 
her first appearance at Irving HaU, New York, on September 
nth, same year. Mr. Bateman, through bad management, did 
not make her a success. He then passed her over to the man- 
agement of Mr. Lafayette Harrison, owner of Irving Hall at that 



time. He soon introduced her to the public in oratorio and 
opera, when she at once took position in public opinion as one 
of the finest queens of song that had ever visited the United 
States; and she nobly maintained that position till the hour of 
her death. 

In 1866, she married Carl Rosa, the violinist. In 1872, they 
organized an English opera-troupe of their own, which was so 
great a success that their profits inside of two years amounted 
to $150,000. Flushed with wealth and fame, she returned to 
England to rest for a few months; but shortly after her return 
to her native country she suddenly died on the 22d of January, 
1874. 

Her voice was pure and sympathetic in every note, and was 
ample in volume, but possessed no dramatic quality of expres- 
sion. Her great charm as a singer lay in her simple truthfulness 
of note and manner of modulating its compass. Wherever she 
went, she flooded the land with melody, and gladdened the 
hearts of all who heard her. 

Madame Albani is an American artist, whose ability as a singer 
has lent additional glory to the limited circle of American sing- 
ers who have given the "New World ''a reputation in musical 
art. It was while she was studying for the operatic stage in 
Milan that she attracted the attention of her old maestro, and 
he wrote to the manager of the Theatre "La Pergola," at Flor- 
ence, that he would send him the most accomplished and the 
most finished singer in style that had ever left his studio. How 
well she redeemed all he had promised, the Florentines soon 
testified. Her fame spread rapidly, and she soon appeared at 
the Covent Garden Theatre, London, and made a decided success 
in the character of Armlna in "La Sonnambula." It was con- 
ceded by press and public that she was worthy to take rank with 
the foremost prima-donnas of Europe. After an absence of some 
ten years, she returned to her native country, where she soon ap- 
peared in the concert room and on the operatic stage. She was 
fully endorsed by all as a great artist, and she still holds her 
position as such, having become a fixed favorite with the best 
critics. 

To particularize the advancing steps of Music in tlie 
city of Brooklyn, from 1865 up to the present writing, 
1883, would require a volume of five hundred pages. 
The rapid succession of the appearance at the Academy 
of Music of all the musical celebrities, Italian, French, 
German and American, would indeed be interesting to 
detail, and would further prove the fact that Brooklyn 
has done as much to encourage the advancement of 
music as any other city in the Union. Among the 
great artists who have appeared in Brooklyn in the 
last twenty years may be named Pauline Lucca, Patti, 
Nilsson, Parepa Rosa, Zucchi, Aim6e, Geistinger, De 
Murska, La Grange, Gerster, Albani, Rozetti, Krebs, 
States, Silly, Gary, Charles Santley, Wachtel, Rubin- 
stein, Ronconi, Formes, Thalberg, Strauss, and many 
other fine lyric artists. 



1130 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 




The Ast-Association Building, Montague Street, Beookltn. 



The Fine Arts in Brooklyn. 



BY 



ART is the beginning, the substance, and the end- 
ing of civilization. The first line of grace 
drawn, or the first graceful adjustment of a fold of 
drapery, belongs to the beginning of art. Art is innate 
and instinctive with all human beings to a greater or 
less degree. The barbarian, though savage and brutal, 
has the conditions of art in his wild nature. The first 
human being that breathed the breath of life, though 
a barbarian, was simply a man with the elements of grace 
in his soul, which ultimately lead to the expression of 
art, and from which spring civilization. 

The wild Indian of the Far West demonstrates the 
existence of the germs of art within him by the decora- 
tions of his garments, by the feathers that flaunt 
upon his head, the wampum that hangs from his belt, 
and the colors of paint that adorn his face. None 
other than the born fool can see things of grace with- 
out an emotion; therefore all things of grace indicate 
art, for the reason that emotion is the mother of grace, 
and so long as the human mind is able to distinguish 
the difference betw'een a curved and a straight line, art 
will exist, and civilization will go on. Form was the 
first-born child of art. Next came light and shade, 
twin children, and then followed harmony of color, the 
three producing the picturesque, which is the highest 
condition of art. 

But few cities in the world are celebrated for art-col- 
lections; but few cities can afford a proper encourage- 
ment for a high art-culture; for here we must admit 
that art ultimately becomes the greatest of luxuries, as 
it takes years of study, labor, and even genius on the 
part of the artist to reach an eminent degree of success, 
and he must accordingly be well paid for what he has 
accomplished. However this may be, Brooklyn has 
done quite as well, all things considered, as any other 
city in the Union. 

London had no permanent art-school, or an academy 
of design, until it was over seven hundred years old, 
and yet it was surrounded with the great art-marts of 
the world. Taking these facts into consideration, the 
Americans have no cause to complain for what they 
have, or what they have not, done for art. They have 
had none of the surrounding art-examples of ages, 
accumulated in galleries, nor has the Government re- 
sources or ecclesiastical wealth, as among the nations 



of Europe, to assist the American artist to advancement. 
The churches in this country do absolutely nothing 
for art beyond the mere frescoing of the walls in the 
modern bed-quilt pattern, through the cheap medium 
of stenciling, and this frequently so inharmoniously 
done that one wonders at the lunatic condition of the 
mind that invented the grotesqueness. The Govern- 
ment many years ago purchased a few pictures for the 
Rotunda at the top of the Capitol at Washington. 
Either for the want of good judgment, or through po- 
litical peculation, many of these pictures are repulsive 
to the intelligent mind, for the ignorance the artist has 
shown of the historical situation and condition of 
things which he has portrayed in what he calls an his- 
torical picture. A simple examination of several of 
these pictures is all that is required to prove their 
worthlessness as historical pictures, especially so in the 
one styled "De Soto Discovering the Mississippi." 
From the style of costume and the physical condition 
of De Soto and his men, one would be led to suppose 
that they had been fattened for the occasion and turned 
out for a dress parade, after having consulted a Chinese 
laundry and a first-class French barber, while the direct 
opposite was the condition of De Soto and his squalid, 
fagged-out, half-roasted, and half-starved little band of 
heroic followers, when De Soto gave one glance at the 
river of rivers, fell sick, died, and was buried in the 
mud of the fickle stream. 

Another painting in the Capitol, entitled " Washing- 
ton Crossing the Delaware," is faulty with like impossi- 
bilities. Amidst blocks of ice, falling snow, and a stiff 
wind, the Father of his Country is standing up in the 
centre of the boat that is in rough motion, holding an 
American flag. The position of Washington is such 
that he could not keep it under such circumstances, and 
there is no poetical or historical license to warrant it, 
or the melodramatic position of General Washington, 
whose manner was always that of an unostentatious 
gentleman. 

The picture entitled " The Baptism of Pocahontas " 
is alike faulty in its costumes and surroundings. She 
was baptized from a common wooden trough in the 
little stone church at Jamestown, Va., with everything 
in the most primitive condition, as would attend the 
early settlers in a strange country, which was yet a wil- 



H38 



HISTORY OF KINGS COUNTY. 



derness. But the picture alluded to represents the 
scene as one of luxury. The native romance and poetic 
effects that might be thrown into a composition of the 
baptism of Pocahontas, are of the finest order; and any 
artist of ability ought to see enough in the truth of the 
situation, without having recourse to falsehood and the 
flummery of things that are introduced only to catch 
the eye. There is no necessity for untruthful historical 
picture representations. The historian has given the 
facts of American history with sufficient exactness to 
prevent the artist making any mistakes, provided the 
artist has sought for truth. 

The nation's history is replete with fine subjects for 
the artist's genius. The romance of situations involved 
in the discovery by Columbus, the settlements in Vir- 
ginia, and the darings and sufferings of the Pilgrim 
Fathers on the wild coast of Massachusetts, the strug- 
gles of the Revolution, the Rebellion — opening the flood- 
gates of rich battle compositions of every nature, from 
the merest skirmish to the gigantic proportions of the 
Gettysburg fight — all give a marvellous fullness of sub- 
jects to inspire the artist's pencil to great results. 

Yet, after all such deductions, it can be safely said 
that great credit is due to American art-progress when 
w^e look at the fettered condition under which it has 
been forced to fight and struggle. The early painters 
of this country did great work, and in their own day 
commanded high attention in Europe. We cannot 
ignore the fact that West, Leslie, Washington, Allston, 
Copley, Vandenlin, Malbone, Thomas Cole and Gilbert 
Stuart did grand work. As artists they lent an undy- 
ing glory to the days in which they lived, and brought 
this country an art-fame of which every American 
should feel proud. It is a fact that the early painters 
of this country aspired to higher achievements in art 
than do the artists of the present day. They not only 
saw nature in form and color with an acute eye, but 
saw, too, the ideal, and made the effort to combine 
both, thereby demonstrating higher conditions of 
thought as well as a higher expression of art-effects. 
The works of Allston, West, Trumbull and Cole are 
positive evidences of these facts. For, while they 
painted histories and ideals, their paintings exalted 
them as historical figures in the art-history of their 
own country. It is the grandeur of thoughts that 
make great men, and it is only great men that can 
make a nation's history worth consideration. 
Allston's " Dead Man Revived," " Belshazzar's 
Feast," "The Bloody Hand," and " Uriel in the Sun," 
are works of art equal to the best productions of any 
of his contemporaneous European artists. He was also 
a poet of high ability ; his " Paint-King," and his 
" Lines to the Genius of Edmund Kean," are among 
the best efforts of English poetry. Col. John Trum- 
bull has enriched his country with art-treasures in his 
battle-pictures of the American Revolution, that should 
be valued not only as painted history, but also as works 
pf art eruanating fi-om a,n Aniericq,r( hand that was 



highly respected in England and France. His " Death 
of Montgomery," " Death of Wolfe," and " Sortie of 
Gibraltar," as battle compositions, must ever rank with 
the best works by the artists of any nation. Thomas 
Cole stands alone as the poetic landscape painter. His 
" Voyage of Life " is a poem — an ideal of a high 
character — pictures that tell their enchanting story in 
forms and colors as strongly as the verses of Byron or 
Longfellow through the medium of words. Cole's pic- 
tures create thoughts in the beholder as soon as the eyes 
take them in. Their power over the mind in form and 
color is even stronger than words ; they grasp the eye 
and ignite the brain with thoughts of our own, added 
to those suggested by the artist. That writer or artist 
is the best who makes us think the most — who makes 
us have two thoughts of our own to the one he gives 
us. It is the unwritten thoughts between the thoughts 
that Shakespeare wrote that make his genius incompar- 
able. And the pleasure we have in seeing or reading 
lies in the sensation-nerves of our own brain which are 
brought into action by the suggestions of others. 
Cole's "Voyage of Life" and " Course of Empire" are 
full of these suggestions, and are painted epics. 
In speaking of Malbone, the American miniature 
painter, we feel as if our ink should be dew ex- 
tracted from the leaves of roses, and our pen as soft 
and delicate as the brush with which he so exquisitely 
touched the ivory. The writer of these words has 
had the honor of holding in his own hands Malbone's 
glorious miniature entitled, " The Hours ; or, the 
Past, the Present, and the Future." He saw it in the 
possession of old Mrs. Whitehorne, the sister of Mal- 
bone, at Newport, R. I. The composition represented 
three lovely female figures in one group — Girlhood 
full of joy and expectation ; Womanhood (the centre 
figure), full of dignified pride and satisfaction ; while 
the third figure, expressing the approach of Age, 
formed a composition replete with grave and deep hu- 
man thought. The faces of the three figures were 
luminous with feeling, and the harmony of colors that 
pervaded the picture was like a sweet melody produ- 
cing a repose and restful ness seldom produced by 
pictorial effects. 

The touchings of the brush in the execution of the 
work are marvellously beautiful, and make one feel, 
while viewirg the picture, that it was executed by fairy 
fingers. 

Benjamin West, the American artist, told JNIr. ]\Ion- 
roe (afterwards President of the United States), when 
in Europe, that he had seen a picture, " The Hours," 
by a young gentleman of the name of Malbone, which 
no artist in England could excel. This was true, and 
the picture, as a miniature on ivory, stands to-day un- 
equaled.* 



♦Some unknown band, inspired by this exquisite art-worli, wrote 
the following lines, tliat were extensively copied at the time: 
Whoe'er beheld thy rosy Hours, 

And could unfelt their beauties see. 
The mind is his where darkness lowers. 
And his the heart that mine should flee. 



ART HLSTORY. 



This young American genius of art, giving too close 
an application to his inspiring profession, sickened and 
died at the age of thirty-two years. 

Stuart, Trumbull, Elliott, and George A. Baker 
have not been excelled as portrait painters. 

With these facts looking us in the face, it will not 
do to say that the American people are not naturally 
disposed to art-culture, or have not those sensbilities 
that are necessary to make a nation celebrated in art 
matters. We have evidences to the contrary in every 
department of art, and in no one has this been more 
empathically demonstrated than in the wonderful im- 
provement made in this country in wood-engraving. 
Its rise and progress knew no bounds until it absolute- 
ly leaped into a new style of wood-engraving that ex- 
presses in touch and effects everything that can be ex- 
pected in black and white, and surpasses anything of 
the kind done in Europe. Our illustrated magazines 
have more value given to them through the wood-en- 
gravings that adorn their pages than is contributed to 
them by any of their writers. Harper's and the 
Century magazines are almost galleries of art-gems, 
and have became valuable as art-collections. The rea- 
son for this vast improvement in this department of 
art arises from the taste of the American people for il- 
lustrated works. The engraver becomes valuable to 
the publisher; he is in demand, and the artist strug- 
gles to reach a higher standard of excellence, that he 
may reach a higher standard of pay, and so long as this 
disposition lasts, so will wood-engraving keep on im- 
proving, if it is possible to imjirove any more. Every- 
thing must be fostered that it may improve, and when 
the Government of the United States wakes up to the 
realization that an artist means something much more 
than a carpenter, a bricklayer, a stone-cutter, who 
puts up its public buildings, it will discover that even 
a democratic-republican form of government can add 
not only to the happiness of its people, but to the 
glory of the nation. The affected disregard or con- 
tempt for the paternal influence which should be ex- 
ercised over the morals and the art-fostering of the 
people is an insult to ordinary intelligence, and ob- 
viously unworthy of the characteristics and policy of 
a highly civilized nation. 

Has the fact that the governments of England, 
France and Germany having patronized art made 
the people of those nations any worse ?— and has 
not the fact of their governments having fostered the 
art made the people happier, and the nations greater 
in intellectual achievements ? 



May memory to thy mind present 
The |)HSt with gentle, placid mien. 

When Hope, prophetic spirit sent. 
Waving her golden hair, was seen. 

And may thy present hours be bright 
As the fair angel smiling there; 

Without a cloud to dim tlieir light- 
Without a thought that sets in care. 

But for the future— Oh ! may they 
Be crown'd with bliss, health, and fame ! 

And may this little, humble lay 
Be lost midst songs that sound thy name. 



When the representatives of the people at Washing- 
ton ,are made to see something more than " river and 
harbor" improvements, and are sufficiently developed 
to estimate the difference of importance between the 
work of a carpenter and of an artist, they will then 
discover that there is something in art that is worth 
the care of the government, and that such care cannot 
in the least impair the dignity of the government, or 
jeopardize " democratic-republican institutions." Let 
our government make an occasional appropriation 
from its overflowing coffers for the encouragement of 
art. Let awards be offered for national historical 
pictures. The appropriation of one hundred thousand 
dollars would place upon the walls of the Capitol's 
Rotunda at least four pictures worthy of art-fame. 

In 1850, the few artists that resided in Brooklyn 
felt that something should be done by organization to 
uphold and advance a taste for art in the rapidly grow- 
ing city. Among the Brooklyn artists of those days 
stood prominently Mr. Thomas Thompson, the marine 
painter, and at that period among the best in the 
country. Mr. Thompson was born in London, Eng- 
land, March 25, 1776. He came to the United States 
in 1817. For several years he resided in Baltimore, 
and had his studio on Lexington street. In 1830, he 
came to New York Citj% was highly esteemed by his 
brother artists, and was for many years a member of 
the New York Academy of Design. His marine pic- 
tures were frequently on exhibition at the New York, 
Philadelphia and Boston Academies. In 1840, he 
moved to Brooklyn, where he remained until his death, 
November 15, 1852. In 1818, while a resident of 
Baltimore, he was commissioned by a gentleman of 
that city to paint a view of New York Harbor. 
Among his later works, the writer has seen two oblong 
pictures representing the Batter