(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Collections for a Parochial History of Wraxall"

This is a digital copy of a book that was preserved for generations on library shelves before it was carefully scanned by Google as part of a project 
to make the world's books discoverable online. 

It has survived long enough for the copyright to expire and the book to enter the public domain. A public domain book is one that was never subject 
to copyright or whose legal copyright term has expired. Whether a book is in the public domain may vary country to country. Public domain books 
are our gateways to the past, representing a wealth of history, culture and knowledge that's often difficult to discover. 

Marks, notations and other marginalia present in the original volume will appear in this file - a reminder of this book's long journey from the 
publisher to a library and finally to you. 

Usage guidelines 

Google is proud to partner with libraries to digitize public domain materials and make them widely accessible. Public domain books belong to the 
public and we are merely their custodians. Nevertheless, this work is expensive, so in order to keep providing this resource, we have taken steps to 
prevent abuse by commercial parties, including placing technical restrictions on automated querying. 

We also ask that you: 

+ Make non-commercial use of the files We designed Google Book Search for use by individuals, and we request that you use these files for 
personal, non-commercial purposes. 

+ Refrain from automated querying Do not send automated queries of any sort to Google's system: If you are conducting research on machine 
translation, optical character recognition or other areas where access to a large amount of text is helpful, please contact us. We encourage the 
use of public domain materials for these purposes and may be able to help. 

+ Maintain attribution The Google "watermark" you see on each file is essential for informing people about this project and helping them find 
additional materials through Google Book Search. Please do not remove it. 

+ Keep it legal Whatever your use, remember that you are responsible for ensuring that what you are doing is legal. Do not assume that just 
because we believe a book is in the public domain for users in the United States, that the work is also in the public domain for users in other 
countries. Whether a book is still in copyright varies from country to country, and we can't offer guidance on whether any specific use of 
any specific book is allowed. Please do not assume that a book's appearance in Google Book Search means it can be used in any manner 
anywhere in the world. Copyright infringement liability can be quite severe. 

About Google Book Search 

Google's mission is to organize the world's information and to make it universally accessible and useful. Google Book Search helps readers 
discover the world's books while helping authors and publishers reach new audiences. You can search through the full text of this book on the web 



at |http : //books . google . com/ 



X ^/^r '^^' '^'^^b 



f&ariJarU College librarg 




FROM THE GIFT OF 

WILLIAM ENDICOTT, Jr. 

(Class of Z887) 



OF BOSTON 



Somcrectebirc 

Brcbaeolodical an& Datura! 1>i6tori? 

Socfcti?. 

Hortbcrn »rancb. 

COLLECTIONS 

FOR A 

PAROCHIAL HISTORY 

OF 

IVRAXALL 

BY 

The Rev. GEORGE S. MASTER, M.A. 



BRISTOL ; 
J. W. Arrowsmith, Printer, Quay Street, 
igoo. 



(W B a.^1- ^ .1 3:>, 




Tmjiadt&^j^ 






It is with the deepest regret we have to 
record the fact that the author passed away 
on November 8th, 1900, before his work was 
issued from the press; he was able, however, 
to correct the sheets up to the 127th page, and 
we can only trust that the remainder has been 
carried out as he would have had it done. 

Rev. J. A. W AJ)MORE,y oint Hon. 
F. WERE, j Secretaries. 



The grateful thanks of the writer are tendered to the Eector of 
the Parish, the Eev. Henry Vaughan, for access to the valuable 
** Gorges" papers, left in his custody by the late Eev. Frederic 
Brown, and for much varied information ; to The Lord Aldenham, 
for allowing reproductions to be made of privately engraved plates 
in his possession; to the Et. Honble. Sir Edward Fry, Antony 
Gibbs, Esq., F. Were, Esq., C. E. Kempe. Esq., Mr. John Price, 
and other friends, for their valuable and kindly assistance ; and 
to W. Hill Budgett, Esq., and the Eev. W. A. Woodward, for 
excellent photographic illustrations, to which reproduction has 
done but scant justice. 




ST 






I 



g 

UJ 

I 
o 

D 
I 
O 

J 

< 



WRAXALL. 



Of the etymology and meaning of tliis place, anciently written 
* Werocosale,' I have no explanation to give. 

The parish, an extensive one, bounded on the North by Port- 
bury and Easton in Qordano, on the East by Abbot's Leigh and 
Long Ashton, on the South by Max Bourton and Backwell, on the 
West by Tickenham and Nailsea, includes a large and varied area, 
extending over the brow of the hilla on the North, and the rich 
meadow land of the broad valley on the South. A block of the 
Parish of Portbury, invading it on the North, interferes somewhat 
with the line of its proper boundary at Failand HiU. The pros- 
pects it commands include the Bristol Channel to Monmouthshire 
and the "Wye, with the Cotswolds and intervening Gloucestershire 
country, the mountains of Wales, the wider expanse of sea 
towards the West, with the Holmes, Worle HiU, and Woodspring, 
the villages and churches of Dimdry, Barrow-Gumey, Flax- 
Bourton, BackweU, Chelvey, Congresbury, Yatton, Worle, Uphill, 
Kenn, Kingston-Seymour, Nailsea, Tickenham, and Clevedon, with 
the Mendips on the South. Its picturesque, irregular limestone 
slopes are clothed with indigenous yews of fantastic growth, and 
coppices of hazel, while its meadows produce mighty elms. It is 
intersected on its higher ground from East to West by the high 
road from Clifton to Clevedon, and along its lower level by a 
branch of that from Bristol to Weston. 



6 

The acreage of the Parisli, anterior to its division in 1811, was 
7,694 acres^ ; its present area is 4,125 acres. 

The natural features of the village are striking, standing as it 
does well above the level of the adjoining pastoral country, and 
underlying in a sheltered nook the wooded hiUs which protect it 
on the North and East. Its grey church tower, answering to that 
of Backwell, beneath the opposite range of hills on the South, 
forms one of a pair of sentinels, at once protecting and conse- 
crating the intervening valley and its inhabitants. The population 
during the century has varied as follows : — (1801) 540, (1811) 731, 
(1821) 769, (1831) 802, (1841) , (1861) 1016, (1861) 912, 

(1871) 948, (1881) 919, (1891) 921. 

Of pre-historic times there are but scanty suggestions. A 
megalithic monument is said to have stood upon the high ground 
on Failand Hill, above that known as * The Bowling Green,' and 
the small camp at no great distance towards the East, described 
hereafter imder the head of Failand, is probably of Celtic origin. 
Of Homan occupation several * finds' of coins give evidence, 
notably one "upon the prominent part of Wraxall Hill, which 
overlooks the parsonage-house, all the coins found within a circle 
of 300 yards in diameter, scattered near the surface, and mostly in 
a patch of black earth." ^ They were chiefly of brass, and of the 
later Empire. A more recent discovery on Eailand Hill is recorded 
by Mr. A. E. Hudd, E.S.A., in the Transactions of the Clifton 
Antiquarian Club, II. 136. 

The Act for the enclosure of the waste and common lands in 
"Wraxall and its Chapelries in 1813 states that there were at that 
date 1,550 acres of such land in Wraxall and Nailsea. 

The field names are disappointing, and yield little information. 

1 Som. Rec. Soc, III. 330, gives it as 7,330. 

2 Seyer's Bristol, I. 161. 



Inhabitants of Wraxall and their asBOBsments. From the 
Exchequer Lay Subsidies, 1 Edw. m., 1327-8, in alphabetical 



order' : — 












8. 


d. 


8. 


d. 


Atte Ford Johannes 


ij. 




Cotesbrugge JuL ij. 




Atte Grene Rogerus 




viij. 


Courteneye Hugo x. 




Atte HuUe Willelmus 


ij. 




Crosman Philippus 


xij. 


Atte HuUe Willehnus 


ij- 




Crote Willelmus 


vj. 


Atte HuUe Willehnus 




xij. 


Dover Johannes 


vj. 


Atte Hume Johannes 




vj. 


Esthovere Ivon ij. 




Atte Lane Henricus 




vj. 


Foghclare Rogerus de 


vj. 


Atte Lane Robertus 


ij- 




Foyland Augn. de ij. 




Atte More Johannes 


ij. 


iiij. 


Gele Johannes 


xij. 


Atte Mede Nicholaus 




xij. 


Gauge Isabella 


xij. 


Atte MuUe Ada 


iij. 


iiij. 


Gocelyn Alicia 


xij. 


Atte Nasch Johannes 




xij. 


Gynegrove Johannes 


viij. 


Atte Pyle Robertus 




xij. 


Herberd Johannes 


vj. 


Atte Wode Willehnus 


ij. 




Hethfeld Thomas 


viij. 


Atte Yo Johannes 




vj. 


Holecumbe Ada 


vj. 


Avenal Adam 




xij. 


Hommyng Robertus 


vj. 


Aylwaker Willelmus 




xij. 


HunderhuUe Ada 


xviij. 


Berd Willelmus 




xviij. 


Hurdich Johannes 


xij. 


Berd Johannes 




xij. 


Ingrove Willelmus ij. 


vj. 


BerhuUe Richardus de 


ij. 




Intone or Incove Willelmus 


xij. 


BerhuUe Adamus 




xij. 


Kyng Johannes le ij. 




Blavy Johannes 




xij. 


Kyng Robertus 


xij. 


Bonneconne Johannes 




xviij. 


Mogge Walterus ij. 




Boneth Weye Jonannes 




xij. 


Mogge Walterus 


xij. 


Bonethweye Robertus 




vj. 


Petide Johannes 


vj. 


Bonethweye Richardus 


ij. 




Peytevyn Walterus 


xviij. 


Borbrok Ely 


ij. 




Proute Johannes le 


xij. 


Boveweye Sampsonus 


ij. 




Pynnock Rogerus 


xij. 


Boveweye Willelmus 




viij. 


Smythe Nicholaus le ij. 




Byerd Nicholaus 




vj. 


Smythe Walterus le 


xij. 


Bythemore Thomas 


ij. 




Smythe Richardus le 


xij. 


Chelvy Robertus de 


iiij. 




Southbrok Johannes 


vj. 


Cock Johannes 




vj. 


Stalprat Willelmus 


xij. 


C6k Robertus 




vj. 


StaperhuUe Walterus 


xij. 


Combe Richardus in the 




xij. 


Strete Johannes 


xij. 



» Som. Reo. Soc., IH. 235. 





8. 


d. 




8. 


d. 


Swyft Robertus 




»j. 


Weshovere Willelmus 




xij. 


Synyar Johannes le 


ij. 




Wodeward Johannes 


ij. 




Tayllour Radulphus le 




vj. 


Woderogge Robertus de 




vuj. 




ij. 




Wodholle Thomas in 


ij. 








vj. 


Whyte Hugo le 


ij. 


vj. 


Tracy Philippus 




vj. 


Wrose Johannes de 


ij. 


vj 


Tynte Richardus 


ij. 




Youngwode Thomas 




xii 


Uphulle Richardus 




vuj. 


Summa xx* villate 






Waleys Waltenis 


ij. 


iiij. 


predicte 


vjiivj* 




Warwyk Thomas 




xij. 









From the length of this list, greater than that of any of the 
adjoining parishes except Portbury, and of higher money value 
than that, it may be concluded that at the beginning of the 14th 
century Wraxall was a place of considerable importance and 
population. The name of Gorges does not occur. The highest 
payer is Hugo Courtenaye, presumably the lord paramount, 
under the Crown. 

The village is in aU respects a model one, its larger houses and 
cottages substantially built of the native limestone, its model Inn 
(*The Battle Axes,' the arms of the Gibbs family), its handsome 
Parish Room, Convalescent Home, and group of Jubilee Almshouses 
testifying to the thoughtful mimiiicence of the owners of Tyntes- 
field past and present. The last-named building, close to their 
entrance lodge, is singularly picturesque, and is intended for old 
. people of both sexes who have been employed upon the estate. A 
long low cloister in front affords shelter from the Southern sun, 
the rooms are on the ground floor, and upon the stone chimneys 
may be traced the fitting legend, GOD MADE THIS REST FOR 
US. The schools and principal residences in the parish will be 
found described elsewhere. 



The Manor. 

Aluric, as we learn from Domesday Book, was its Saxoa 
owner. The Conqueror conferred it upon liis powerful relative, 
GeofPry de Mowbray, tlie fighting Bishop of Coutances, to whom 
he gave also the adjoining parishes of Weston, Clapton, and 
Easton in Oordano, Portbuiy, Portishead, Long Ashton, Barrow 
Gumey, Winford, Butcombe, Backwell, Kenn, Kingston-Seymour, 
Weston-super-Mare, and Hutton, besides others at a greater 
distance/ 

The entry describing it is as follows: 

The same Bishop holds Werocosale. Aluric held it in the time of 
King Edward, and gelded for twenty hides. The arable is twenty-six 
carucates. In demesne is one carucate and two servants, and thirty -four 
villanes, and thirty cottages with twenty-five ploughs. There are two 
mills of the rent of twelve shillings and sixpence, and one hundred and fifty 
acres of meadow, and as many of wood. Pasture two miles long and seven 
furlongs broad. It was and is worth fifteen pounds. 

Of the same land of this manor a Knight holds four hides and a half 
of the Bishop, and has thereon two ploughs with three villanes and four 
cottagers. It was and is worth fifty shillings. 

To this manor is added one hide, which a thane held in the time of 
ELing Edward. The arable is one carucate. It is worth ten shillings. 

It is probable that the Knight heriB mentioned as holding 
under the Bishop may have been a member of the family which 
took its surname from the place, De Wrokeshale. Of them we 
have but scanty information. 

In 1319 Jeffery de Wroxale was Seneschal of Bristol.^ 

* Somerset Arch. Soc., XXXV. 9. Collinson's Somerset, III. 155. 
« Phelp's Somerset, I. 69. Barrett's Bristol, 674, 697. 



10 

1332^ Sir Jolin de Wroxale was SherifE of Somerset and Dorset. 

1334 J The last' of the family was Eichard de Wrokesliafle, 
whose daughter and heir married Eudo de Morville, and carried 
this manor to that family, with large possessions in Dorset and 
the Isle of Wight. 

By the marriage of Alianor, only daughter and heir of Eudo 
or Ivo de Morville, to Sir Ralph de Gk)rges, the estates passed 
to him and his heirs. 

The ancient and distinguished family of Gorges derived 
its name from a hamlet in lower Normandy, from which 
came — 

I. Banolph de Q-orges with William the Conqueror to the 
conquest of England.^ 

YI. Sixth in descent from his Norman ancestor was Ivo de 
Gorges, of Tamworth, co. Warwick, whose son — 

VII. Sir Ralph de Gorges married for his first wife Margaret, 
daughter and heir of Robert Fcliot,* of Warleigh, in Tamerton- 
Eoliot, CO. Devon, and by her, who died in 1239, had issue, with 
other children, Thomas de Gorges, lord of that manor, in whose 
descendants it continued for five generations. He married secondly 

® The Tiame occurs in the registers of the neighbouring parish of Easton 
in Gordano from 1597 to 1738, but not in those of Wraxall. In 
Bristol, Friar W. Wroxale is mentioned (Bristol Wills, 38) in 1393. 
Thomas Wraxall was among the Carmelite monks dispossessed at 
the Dissolution ; Nathaniel Wraxall was SheriflF of that city in 
1723; Elizabeth Wraxall married Levi Ames, Mayor of Bristol, 
1788 (BriRtol Past and Present, XL 113). 

Upon a flat gravestone at the west end of the Churchyard of St. 
Mary-le-Port, Bristol, is the following: "This vault belongs to the 
family of Sir William Lascelles Wraxall, Bart., of WraxaU, in the 
County of Somerset. August 22nd, 1839," with the arms, in a 
sunken oval, — an evident variation of the Gorges* coat : * Lozengy 
erminois and azure, on a chevron gules three estoiles or.' The present 
baronet is the grandson of Sir ^Nathaniel Wraxall, first baronet, the 
writer of Historical Memoirs. 

•^ Hoare's Wilts, III.— Cawden Hund., 39. Baxter's Memoir of Sir 
Ferdinando Gorges, 11. 151. 

® Arms of Foliot, " Gules a bend argent." 



11 

Alianor, daughter and heir of Ivo^or John de Morville, whose ancestor 
previously seated at Portbury, had in the reign of King John married 
the heiress of Richard de Wrokeshale, and in her right became 
■entitled to the Manor of WraxaU and large possessions in Dorset and 
the Isle of Wight.*° He was a renowned warrior, and was with 
Henry TTT. whilst that monarch was shut up in 1 263 by the rebellious 
citizens in the castle of Bristol. He was SherifE of Devon in 1264, 
accompanied Prince Edward to the Holy Land in 1269, was 
governor of the castles of Sherborne and Exeter, and died in 
1271. His widow, surviving him twenty years, was entrusted with 
the guardianship of the princesses Eleanor and Johanna, children 
of Edward I.^^ At her death in 1291 she was seised, inter alia, of 
the manors of Knighton in the Isle of Wight and Bradpole, co. 
Dorset. Their son — 

VIII. Sir Ralph de Gorges, second of that name, married 
Margaret, daughter of William (or Simon) and Cecilia Caleshall,^* 
of Sturminster Marshall, co. Dorset, some time before the death of 
his father, and by her became possessed of large estates. Their 
fion — 

IX. Sir Ralph de Gorges, third of that name, bom during the 
life of his grandfather, about 1266, married Eleanor de Cane, or 
Cave, by whom he added considerably to his estate. He was 
Marshal of the army of Edward I. in the wars in Gascony in 1293, 
at which time he was made prisoner by the French. In 1301 he 
held a Kjiight's fee in Braunton, co. Devon. At the siege of Caer- 

• Eudo or Ivo de Morville gave half a virgate of land at Wrokeshale and 
the mill of Radeford, and Richard de Wrokeshale, son of Toni, his 
land at Radeford, to the newly-founded monastery of S. Augustine, 
Bristol.— Barrett's Bristol, 258. 

^0 Cal. Genealog. State papers, 1255, 40 Henry III. 

11 Archseologia, XXIX. 389. Green's Princesses of England, II. 300. 

1^* Hutchins' Dorset, II. 125. Visitation of Somerset Harleian Soc., 122. 



12 

laverock in 1300 lie was one of the foremost in the assault, and 
was celebrated b j the minstrel thus : 

Sir Ralph de Gorges there I saw, 
One newly bound to Knighthood's law, 
Down on the earth was prostrate thrown. 
More than onoe struck by some great stone. 
Or staggered by the rushing crowd. 
Still to recede he was too proud. 
Upon his arms and surcoat's fold 
Was masculy of blue and gold. ** 

In 1303 he had a grant of a yearly market in his manor of 
Siditon, CO. Dorset, attended tournaments in 1308 and 9, the latter 
in opposition to Gaveston: was summoned to Parliament as a 
Baron (Lord Gorges) by writs 1308 to 1322, is mentioned in the^ 
'Nomina Villarum,' 1315-16, as in possession of Wrokeshale with 
the hamlets of Charleton, Bratton, and Naylese. He died in 1 323-4, 
17 Edward II., seized of the Manor of Wrokeshale, which he held 
by Knight's service of Hugh de Courtenay," feudal Baron of 
Oakhampton, and of two Kjiights' fees to the King in capite. 
His widow ^^ married twice after his death — first Sir Guy de^ 
Ferre, and secondly Sir John Peche. Lord Gorges left four 
children — a son, Ealph, and three daughters, Elizabeth, Eleanor,, 
and Jane. His son and heir — 

15 Nicholas* Siege of Caerlaverock, 74, 334-7. Rolls of Parliament^ 

II. 46, and Ul. 361. This coat, adopted by Lord Gorges in preference 
to the ancient canting shield of his house, " Argent, a gurge or whirl- 
pool azure," is of some historical interest. It was challenged by the 
Warbleton or Warburton family, of co. Chester, and was considered 
of sufficient importance to be carried, by writ from the King, to the 
court of his Earl Marshal at the siege of Calais, where in 1347 it was 
awarded to the defendant but with the addition of * a chevron gules.*' 
The coat styled * masculy ' by the minstrel was really * lozengy.* 

** A memorial of this connection may perhaps survive, in the occurrence 
in the central boss of the groined roof of the tower-porch of Birdoombe 
Court, of *two boars bristled and tusked,' the supporters of the 
Courtenay arms. 

16 Styling herself Alianor, late wife of Ralph de Gorges, she sealed 

a deed with an escutcheon of * lozengy, and a cross moline * placed 
alternately and circularly round the seal. Hutchins' Dorset, L 279. 
Note B. 



13 

X. Ealph., second Baron Gorges 1324, was bom in 1307, 
and died a minor, without issue, soon after liis succession, i.e, 
before 1328, the Barony falling into abeyance. 

The coheirs were his three sisters : (1) Elizabeth, who married 
Sir Bobert Ashton, inherited the Dorset estates, and had an only 
49on Bobert, who died without issue ; (2) Eleanor, who married 
Sir Theobald Eussell, by whom she had two sons — Sir Ealph 
Bussell (among whose issue is her representation) and Theobald 
Bussell, who took the name of Gorges (of whom more hereafter) ; 
(3) Jane, second wife of Sir William Cheney, whose representative 
appears to be Lord Willoughby de Broke.^' 

XI. Eleanor Gt)rge8 married Sir Theobald Eussell, of 
Kingston-Eussell, co. Dorset, only son of Sir William Eussell " of 
that place by Jane Peverel, left an orphan in 1311 at the age 
of seven by his father's death. Upon reaching his majority in 
1325, he attended the King at Plymouth for the defence of the 
Duchy of Guienne. In 1329 he was one of the wardens of the 
Isle of Wight, and resisting an attack of the French was mortally 
wounded in 1341, and was buried in the church of Yaverland. 
Young as he was, he had been twice married, and left by Eleanor 
Oorges, his first wife, three sons and one daughter; and by his 
second wife, Eleanor, daughter of John de la Tour, of Berwick, 
<50. Dorset, a son, William Eussell, ancestor of the Dukes of 
Bedford.^® His first wife died young, after inheriting the manor 
of Wraxall. Her eldest son. Sir Ealph Eussell, who was of 
Dyrham, co. Gloucester, succeeding to his paternal estates, carried 

i« CoUec. Top. et Geneal., IV. 365-7. 

1' Arms of Russell: 'Arcent on a chief gules 3 bezants.' Sir William's 
father, Ralph Russell, having married Isabel, daughter and heir of 
James Newmarch, their descendants quartered the arms of New- 
march, *or, five fusils in fesse gules, on each an escallop of the 
field.' 

18 Wiffen's Memoirs of the House of RusselL 



14 

on the elder line of the family; the second, William Eussell^ 
held the manor of Kingston-Gorges by military service, which at 
his death in 1342 passed to his brother, Sir Theobald Russell, 
who was portioned with the Manor of Wraxall. Her only 
daughter, Eleanor Russell, married John Fitz John. 

XII. Sir Theobald Russell assumed the surname and arm» 
of Gorges, the latter as determined by the decree already 
mentioned, ^^ obtained in 1362 a grant from the Crown of a weekly 
market and annual fair at Wraxall, was Ejiight of the Shire for 
CO. Hants in 1376, High Sheriff of Somerset and Dorset 1380^ 
and dying in 1381, was buried in the church of the preaching 
friars at Winchester. By his first wife, Margaret, daughter of 
Thomas Beauchamp, of Hatch, co. Somerset, he had issue four 
sons: (1) Sir Ralph, who predeceased his father in 1380;^ 
(2) Bartholomew, Patron of Bridport, who married Elizabeth, but 
died childless in 1396, seized of the Manor of Wraxall with its 
members of Bourton and Naylsay;^ (3) William, who married 
Margaret but died without issue, the estates devolving upon (4) 
Thomas, the youngest son. Their father. Sir Theobald, had 
married secondly Agnes, daughter of John de Wyk of Court 
de Wyk, in the parish of Yatton, the special license for which 
imion is thus recorded in the Register of Ralph de Salopia, Bishop 
of Bath and Wells, and is addressed to John Queynte, priest : — 

Ut in oratorio seu capella infra curiam Johannis de Wyke infra parochiam 
de Yatton nostre diocesis inter Theobaldum Gorges et Agnetem filiam dicti 
Johannis de Wyke, bannis editis, pront moris est, primitus inter eos Ucite 
valeas solempnizare matrimonium citra Natale Domini, dum tamen aliud 
canonicum non obsistat, tibi licenciam concedimus. Woky. Id. Oct., a.d. 
1343. 

XIII. Thomas Gorges married Agnes, sister of Sir Thomas 

i» Ashmolean MSS., Bodleian Library, Oxford, 1137, p. 144. 
20 Inq. post mort. : 5 Rich. 11., 1381 ; 20 Rich. XL, 1396. 



15 

Beauchamp," and relict of Thomas Norton, and died in 1403,^ 
seised of the Advowson of Bridport, eo. Dorset, and the Manor 
of Wraxall, with its members. His wife died in 1419. They 
had four children, John, Theobald, William, and Isabella.^ John 
Gorges, the eldest son, married Florence [she remarried Hargrave, 
and died 1423], and died without issue in 1414, seised of the 
Advowson of Sturminster Marshal and the Manor of Ejiighton^ 
Isle of Wight, held under Carisbrook Castle.^* 

XrV. Sir Theobald Gorges became heir to his father upon 
the death of his brother John, and subsequently, on the failure 
of heirs male to Sir Theobald Russell, who married Eleanor, 
daughter of Sir Ralph Gorges, succeeded to the Manors of 
Horsington and North and South Cheriton, co. Somerset. He 
was M.P. for the county in 1432, Lieut, of the Castle of Rouen 
1447, a Knight Banneret. His first wife was Jane, daughter 
of Richard Hankford, by whom he had one son, Walter Gorges, 
and two daughters, Elizabeth and Jane, the wives respectively of 
Thomas Grenville and John Hatch of Dillon, co. Devon. By his 
second wife Joan, daughter of John Beauchamp of LiUesden, 
he had one sod, Richard Gorges, who died in 1480, to whom his 
father gave the manor of Horsington and lands at Sturminster 
Marshal, and who married Matilda, relict of Richard Harbord 
[she remarried Sir Henry Roos, and died in 1511] , seised of that 
manor and advowson, which Marmaduke Gorges, the son and 

ai Somerset. Rec. Soc., X. 475. CoUinson (III. 167) and Baxter 
(Memoir of Sir Ferdinando Grorges, II. 159) attribute this marriage 
to Sir Theobald Grorges, his grandson, nearly a century later. 

2« Inq. post mort., 5 Henry IV., 1404. 

23 Her will, of unusual length and interest, written in contracted Latin, 
is in the Probate Office in London. A translation made by Mr. 
S. C. Paris, for the Rev. Fred Brown, is at Wraxall Rectory, and 
has been printed with other Georges' Wills in the Transactions of 
the Clifton Antiqtuirian Clvb, iv. 241. 

^* Inq. post mort., and Index to Exchequer Records. 



16 

lieir of EicliaTd, having died in 1508-9, Elizabeth, his eldest 
daughter and co-heir, carried in marriage to her husband Thomas 
Shirley, Esq.*^ Sir Theobald died in 1467, and was buried in 
the chancel of Wraxall Church, beneath a massive ledger stone 
with deeply-cut marginal inscription, twice removed from its 
original position to the east end of the north aisle in 1851, to the 
base of the tower in 1893. 

XV. Walter Gorges, his eldest son, had died in 1466, before 
his father, having married Mary, daughter and heir (by Mary, 
daughter of Lord WiUoughby d'Eresby) of Sir William Oldhall, 
of Fransham, Norfolk, and Hunsdon, Herts, Ejiight of the Shire 
for that county and Speaker of the House of Commons, whose 
mother was the daughter and heir of Sir Henry Englowes," and 
left issue an only child. 

XVI. Sir Edmund Gorges, in ward, as a minor, to John Lord 
Howard, was made Knight of the Bath, at the creation of Arthur 
Prince of Wales, son of Henry Vll., 1489. He had three wives, 
of whom the first was the Lady Anne, daughter of his guardian, 
John Howard [created Duke of Norfolk, 1483, and killed at the 
battle of Bosworth, 1486], sister of Thomas Duke of Norfolk, 
who gained the battle of Flodden Field 1513, and great-aunt of 
Catherine Howard and Anne Boleyn, Queens of Henry Vlll.'' 
His second wife was Joan, youngest daughter and co-heiress, with 
her two sisters, of John Hampton of East Harptree. [She had 
previously married, first Thomas Chokke, fourth son of Sir Bichard 
Chokke of Long Ashton, Judge of the Common Pleas, and 

2» Collinson*s Somerset, IL 372. Weaver's Somerset Incumbents, 106. 

^^ The Arms of Oldhall and Englowes acquired by this marriage were 
cherished by its descendants, and subsequently employed in all 
their monumental and other achievements : — ' Gules, a lion rampant 
ermine,' Oldhall. 'Argent, a chevron between three gads saole,' 
Englowes. 

^' Burke's Peerage, under Norfolk. 



17 

secondly Thomas, second son of Sir John Newton of Court de 
Wyk, by whom she had four children, her third son Sir Thomas 
Newton marrying Margaret, daughter of Sir Edmund Gorges by 
his first wife. Lady Anne Howard. She married thirdly Sir 
Edmund Gorges, and died 1506, leaving one son by him, Walter 
Gorges.] Sir Edmund's third wife was Jane, daughter of Thomas 
Oops ton and relict of Sir Morgan Kyd welly of the Isle of Purbeck, 
Attorney -General 1483, Knight of the Bath, 1501, died 1505. 
[After Sir Edmund's death, she married Simon Littlecot of 
Orcheston, co. Wilts, and died 1524.] By his first wife, Lady 
Anne Howard, Sir Edmund Gorges had issue three-® sons. Sir 
Edward, of whom presently, who continued the Wraxall line, 
William, and John, and one daughter Margaret, wife, as already 
mentioned, of Sir Thomas Newton, knighted on the field of 
Elodden, eldest son of Thomas Newton of Court de Wyk, by Joan 
Hampton, relict of Thomas Chokke. Sir Edmund Gorges died in 

1512, seised of the manors of Wraxall, Braun ton-Gorges, and 
Sturminster Marshall, and was buried in the Chancel of WraxaU 
Church, under a fine altar tomb, which he had presumably con- 
structed after the death of his first wife, as it supports her effigy 
and his own. (2) His second son. Sir William Gorges, mentioned 
among the captains who received ordnance at Southampton in 

1513, was of Birdcombe, styled a * manor' in his father's will, and 
noticed by Leland, c. 1540, as *a mean old maner place in a valley, 
and on each side of it on the hills a fair park.' (3) Of John, the 
third son, nothing is known beyond the mention of him in his 
father's will. 

XYII. His eldest son and heir. Sir Edward Gorges, Knight, 

^® Collinson (III. 157) says "five sons and three daughters." Sir R. Hoare 
(Hist, of Wilts, Hundred of Cawden, III. 30) credits him with three 
more sons, George, Thomas, and Nicholas, and two more daughters. 
Both historians are probably in error. 



18 

was aged about 30 at his father's death. He was High Sheriff of 
Somerset 1529, and died 1566. His will is at Wells. 

By his wife Mary, daughter of Sir Antony Poyntz^ of Iron 
Acton, CO. Gloucester, and sister of Margaret, wife of Sir John 
Newton,*^ he had five sons and three daughters. 

1. Edmund Gorges, Esq., his eldest son, of whom more here- 
after, continued the Wraxall line. 

2. Sir William Gorges, Knt., his second son, was a great 
naval commander, knighted before 1566, Vice- Admiral of the 
Fleet 1580. He was of Charlton Manor, in the Parish of Wraxall 
(sold after his death by his sons to their cousin, Edward Gorges of 
that place). He married in 1565 Winifred, daughter and heiress 
of Eoger Budockshed of St. Budeaux,'^ co. Devon, in the church of 
which parish is a curious monument, restored 1876, to one of his 
descendants. He died and was buried in the Tower of London 
1583, his widow in Bath Abbey Church 1599. His eldest son,. 
Tristram Gorges, Esq., continued the St. Budeaux line ; his second,. 
Robert Gorges, was of Butcombe, an extra-parochial place between 
Cheddar and Rodney Stoke, and was grandfather of Thomas 
Gorges of Heavitree, John Gorges Governor of Londonderry, 
Robert Gorges, D.C.L., Secretary to Henry Cromwell [his de- 
scendants still live, in Ireland] , and Ferdinando Gorges, a rich 
Barbados merchant, who founded a family '" at Eye, co. Hereford,. 

2® Arms of Poyntz : * Barry of eight, or and gules.' 

8® In the Heralds' Visitations and in CoUinson's Somerset, Sir Edward 
Gorges is represented as marrying first Mary, daughter of Sir John 
Newton, but this is conclusively disproved by the iSiwlinson MSS. in 
the Bodleian Library at Oxford, B. No. 66, p. 89 b, and 75, p. 139^ 
drawn up in the lifetime of his son, Sir Henry Newton, and dated 
1686, where no such marriage is mentioned. 

81 Arms of Budockshed : * Sable three fusils in fesse between three stags'* 
faces argent.' She was first-cousin to Sir Walter Raleigh, their 
mothers being sisters. 

»3 Richard Gorges of Eye Court was M.P. for Leominster, 1787 ; what 
was once Eye Court is now the vicarage house. There is a monument 
in the church bearing the ancient coat of the Gorges, and the. 
Communion Plate was the gift of one of the family. 



19 

now extinct in the male line. His third son, Sir Arthur 
Gorges, K.B. 1597, was of Stanley House, Chelsea, a fine mansion 
which he erected, and married, first Douglas, daughter of Viscount 
Bindon, and secondly Lady Elizabeth, daughter of Henry Earl of 
Lincoln ; he was a learned man and a distinguished naval officer in 
the reigns of Queen Elizabeth and James I. His monumental 
brass is at Chelsea,^ where he died 1625, leaving issue. 

3. Nicholas Gorges, Esq., the third son, styled *of London,* 
was in the Navy, M.P. for Boston, co. Lincoln, 1585, and dying 
in 1594, was buried in S. Martin's, Ludgate, having married, first 
a daughter of Sir Gyles Poole, M.P. for co. Gloucester, and 
secondly Mary, daughter of Francis Southwell of Wyndham, 
CO. Norfolk, Esq. [She remarried Sir Conyers Clifford and Sir 
Anthony St. Leger, and lies buried in S. Patrick's Church, Dublin ] 

4. William^* Gorges, Esq., the fourth son, was of Alderton, 
Northants, and died 1589, having married Cicely, daughter of 
Thomas Sparchford, by whom he had a daughter, Frances, who 
married Sir Thomas Hazilrigge of Noseley Hall, co. Leicester, 
Bart. Upon his tomb in Alderton Church are an incised effigy in 
armour, and the quartered coats of his family. 

5. Sir Thomas Gorges, the fifth son, was born at Wraxall 
1536, and was a man of much dignity and importance. Groom of 
the Chamber to Queen Elizabeth, MP. for Downton, Wilts, 1586 ; 
knighted 1603. He married Helena, the beautiful daughter of 
Wolfangus Snachenberg, a Swedish nobleman. She came to 
the English Court in the suite of the Margrave of Baden and 
Cecilia his wife, daughter of Gustavus Vasa, King of Sweden, 
in 1565, and becoming a great favourite with Queen Elizabeth, 
was one of her maids of honour and chief mourner at her funeral. 

33 Monumentel Brass Society, Vol. II. 320. 

3* It is quite certain that there were two Williams in this generation. 



20 

She married, first William Parr, Marquis of Northampton, brother 

of Queen Catherine Parr, and Lord Great Chamberlain to Edward 

yi. ; and secondly Sir Thomas Gorges, who having purchased the 

manor of Longford, near Salisbury, and pulled down, at his 

wife's instigation, the ancient mansion of the Carvingtons, erected 

a magnificent, if somewhat eccentric triangular pile, on the plan of 

the castle of Wrainberg, built by Tycho Brayhe. So much was 

spent upon the building, that it would not have been completed 

but for the fortunate windfall of the hull of a Spanish galleon, 

wrecked near Hurst Castle, of which Sir Thomas happened to be 

Governor, granted to him, at his wife's request, by the Queen, and 

found to be laden with bars of silver and other treasure of great 

value.^ Sir Thomas died in 1610, set. 74 ; his wife in 1638, aet. 86. 

They lie buried beneath a stately canopied tomb," upon which are 

their full-length effigies and a wealth of heraldic and other 

decoration, erected in 1635 by their eldest surviving son, created 

in 1 620 Baron Gorges of Dundalk,'^ at the eastern end of Salisbury 

Cathedral. [Lord Gorges was succeeded about 1650 by his 

son Eichard, second Baron, who died without issue in 1712.] 

They had two other sons and three daughters, the eldest of the 

latter the wife of Sir Hugh Smyth of Ashton Court, Kjiight, and 

afterwards of Sir Ferdinando Gorges. By her last will, 1635, the 

Marchioness left a bequest to the parish of Wraxall, for the 

purchase of land for the poor thereof. There is a full-length 

portrait of her at Ashton Court. 

Jane, the eldest daughter of Sir Edward Gorges, married, first 

3s The castle was sold to Lord Coleraine in 1641 ; occupied as a garrison 
for King Charles I. in 1644 ; surrendered to Cromwell in 1646 ; and 
sold again in 1717 to Sir Edward Bouverie, the ancestor of the Earl 
of Radnor, its present possessor. 

3« The tomb and castle are figured in Hoare's Modern Wilts, Vol. III., 
Hundred of Cawden, p. 31, &c. 

^•^ At Woburn Abbey is a portrait painted on panel, dated 1597, aet. 37, 
with the motto, 'perdydos,' of Sir Edward Gorges, bom 1560, 
created Baron Dundalk 1620-1, in a buflF coat, with a gorget,. 



21 

John Aysshe of Tickenham, Esq. [who died 1560], his second 
wife, and secondly Sir Eobert Stafforde of Hanslope, co. Bucks, 
Ejit., by whom she had issue. She was buried there, 1591. 
Elizabeth, the second daughter, married John Wake of HartweE 
and Clevedon, Esq., and had issue. Her eldest son was father 
of Sir Baldwin Wake, first Baronet, and her youngest ancestor of 
Archbishop Wake of Canterbury. Mary, the third daughter, 
married John Morgan, Esq. 

Edmund Gorges, Esq , the eldest son of Sir Edward Gorges, 
died in his father's lifetime, 1557-8, having married in 1531, 
Ann, daughter of Sir John Walshe of Little Sodbury, co. 
Gloucester, Knt., Champion to Henry YIII., seised of the 
manor of Birdcumbe held of the Earldom of Devon, and of 
that of Braunton-Gorges in that county in his own right. He 
had six sons, Edward, Robert, Henry, John, Francis, Samuel, 
of whom, with the exception of the eldest, Edward, who succeeded 
him, little is known ; and five daughters, Mary, who married (the 
first of his five wives) James Perceval of Weston in Gordano, 
Esq., but had no issue; Alice, who married at Wraxall, 1569, 
Henry, son of Giles Dodington of Loxton, Esq., and had a 
large family, most of them baptised at Wraxall; Jane, who 
married Walter Crouch; Margaret, wife of the Rev. William 
Jones, B.C.L., Prebendary of Wells and Rector of Wraxall; 
and Anne, who, in 1574, was a party to the presentation of her 
brother-in-law to the rectory.^ 

XVIII. Edward Gorges, Esq., the eldest son of Edmund 
Gorges, was born about 1537, being 22 at his father's death. He 
married Cicely, daughter of William Lygon,^ of Madresfield, 

38 Wells Episcopal Register, Harleian MSS. 6964, 6968. 

39 Arms of Lygon : * Argent, 2 lions passant in pale gules.' Biglind's. 

Gloucestershire, I. 571. Glouc. Visit. Harleian Soc, 60. A portion 
of the territory of New England within the State of Maine was 
styled by Sir Ferdinando Gorges 'Lygonia,' in honour of his mother. 



22 

CO. Worcester, Esq., ancestor of Earl BeaucHamp, and by her, 
who married secondly Jolin Vivian, Esq., had issue two sons. He 
died in 1568, and was buried in the Church of St. James, 
Clerkenwell, seised of the manors of Sturminster Marshall, 
CO. Dorset, held of the Queen in capite, and of Wraxall, Eailand, 
Birdcombe, &c. 

1. Edward Gorges, his son and heir, of whom presently, was 
«Bt. 4 at his father's death.*^ 

2. His second son was the celebrated Sir Ferdinando Gorges, 
foimder of the State of Maine in America. He was born in 1565, 
perhaps at Wraxall, or more probably at Clerkenwell, though his 
baptism is not recorded at either place.*^ He married four wives,** 
and had issue by the first, Ann, daughter of Edward Bell*^ of 
Writtle, CO. Essex, Esq., whom he married in 1589 at St. 
Margaret's, Westminster, and who died in 1620, two sons, John 
and Robert, and two daughters, Ellen and Honoria, the last of 
whom died young. He married secondly, in 1621, Mary, daughter 
of Thomas Fulford of co. Devon, Esq., and relict of Thomas 
Achims of Pelint, co. Cornwall, Esq.: she died 1622; and 
thirdly, in 1627, at Ladock, co. Cornwall, Elizabeth, daughter of 
Tristam Gorges of St. Budeaux, Esq., and relict of Edward 
Courteney and of William Bligh, Esqs. — she died within a few 
weeks of her marriage. His fourth wife, married at Wraxall 
1629, was Elizabeth Lady Smyth, daughter of Sir Thomas Gorges 
and the Marchioness of Northampton, and relict of Sir Hugh 
Smyth of Ashton Court. Sir Ferdinando is described as of 
Kintbury, in the Parish of St. Budeaux, which he held in right of 

*o Harleian MSS. Brit. Mus., 6063, Art. 26. 

*i The Registers of St. James, Clerkenwell, are imperfact at this date. 

*3 Miscell, Genealog., &c. New Series, IV. 55, 

** Arms of Bell : * Ermine, on a chief sable, an escallop between two 
bells argent.* 



23 

liis third wife already mentioned. Entering the army at an early 
age, he had obtained the rank of captain at the siege of Sluys in 
1587, was a prisoner at Lisle in 1588, wounded at the siege of 
Paris 1589, and knighted at the siege of Rouen 1591. He was 
rewarded for his services by the post of Governor of the Fort at 
Plymouth, which he held for many years. An intimate and 
adherent of the Earl of Essex, he narrowly escaped implication in 
his rebellion and punishment, but was fortunately able to convince 
his judges, not only of his freedom from his patron's treasonable 
intentions, but of his own earnest endeavours to dissuade him from 
the designs for which, with five of his associates, he suffered death 
in 1601. Restored to his government at Plymouth, of which he 
had been temporarily deprived, he was led by an accidental cir- 
cumstance to become a zealous promoter of the colonization of 
America. A certain Captain Waymouth, returning from a voyage 
for the discovery of the North- West passage, brought home with 
him five Red Indians whom he had captured. Three of these he 
delivered to Sir Ferdinando, who, taking them into his house and 
instructing them in the English language, obtained from them 
accurate information about their native country. Convinced of its 
advantages, he organized several expeditions for its colonization, 
and, after many futile attempts, continued through many years, at 
length obtained a Charter from the Crown in 1637, constituting 
him Lord Palatine of the Province of New England, now known 
as Maine. ^ His memory is held in much honour by the American 
people, and is perpetuated by many monuments, notably by a 
fortification in Portland Harbour, constructed in 1863, and bearing 
his name. Upon the breaking out of civil war in England, Sir 
Ferdinando warmly espoused the cause of the King, rallied his 

** The grant was confirmed to his eldest son, John, who bequeathed 
it to his son, Ferdinando, from whom it passed to Massachusetts 
in 1677. 



24 

sons around Mm, and took up arms at Wells, his house at Bristol, 

known as * The Great House,' upon the site of the ancient Friary 

of the Carmelites, now that of Colston's Hall, being occupied by 

the Eoyalist and invested by the Parliamentary troops.*^ But he 

did not live to see the end of the struggle, dying two years before 

his master at the Lower Court at Long Ashton, the dower-house of 

his fourth wife, in 1647. He lies buried in Long Ashton Church, 

without memorial inscription, presumably in the grave in which hi& 

wife was afterwards interred in 1668.^ His eldest son, John, 

inherited his Province of Maine, of which Eobert, his younger 

son, had been for a short time Governor. Bom in 1593, he 

married first, in 1620, at St. James', Clerkenwell, the Lady Frances 

Fjnes-Clinton, daughter of Theophilus Earl of Lincoln, and 

secondly Mary, daughter of Sir John Meade of Windon-Loftus, 

CO. Essex, by the latter of whom he had issue, with there 

daughters, a son Ferdinando, who at his father's death in 1656 

inherited his Province, and by his wife Mary, daughter of Thomas 

Archdale, had a son Ferdinando, who was of Ashley, Wilts, where 

he died 1737, the last male descendant of the founder of Maine. 

The subsequent history of the Province may be briefly stated. 

There were conflicts about its government, taking advantage of 

which, Massachusetts, extending its northern boundary, contrived 

to include within it a large portion of Maine, and purchasing the 

remainder from Ferdinando Gorges, the grgmdson of Sir 

Ferdinando, in 1677, terminated the interest of the family in those 

regions. 

*5 Seyers Bristol, II. 309, 404. Barrett's Bristol, 414. *The Great 
House ' was built by Sir John Young, who there entertained Queen 
Elizabeth in great state in August, 1576. It is figured in its original 
condition, and after its alteration for Colston's School, in * Bristol ; 
Past and Present,' Vol. III., pp. 120, 136. 

46 Memoir of Sir Ferdinando Gorges, by James Phinney Baxter, M.A., 
privately printed in Boston, U.S.A., for the Prince Society, 1890. 
3 vols , 4to. 



25 

XIX. Sir Edward Gorges, his elder brotlier, was bom 1564;: 
baptized at Wraxall, September 5tli. He married before 1590 
Dorothy, daughter of Sir George Speke*^ of White Lackington^ 
Somerset, Elnt., by whom he had six sons and six daughters. 
He purchased Charlton manor in 1585 from his cousins, Tristram 
Gorges and his brothers, and other adjoining property in Wraxall 
and Portbury from the Berkeleys.** He was High SherifE of 
Somerset 1608; and dying 1624 intestate, was buried at 
Wraxall. 

XX. His eldest son. Sir Eobert Gorges, succeeded, and 
married, 1616, Mary, daughter of Sir Marmaduke Darell^® of 
Fulmer, Bucks, by whom he had two children who died in infancy, 
1622-4. He married secondly, about 1631, Dorothy, daughter 
of Sir Eobert Mellor^" of Upcerne, Dorset, Knt., and relict of Sir 
Charles Vaughan of Fulleston, Wilts, Knt. [her will proved 1 649 : 
Som. Wills, YI. 50], by whom he had no issue. He died and was 
buried at Wraxall 1636. 

2. His next brother, Samuel Gorges, inherited the estates, of 
whom presently. 

3. The third brother, the Eev. Thomas Gorges, baptised at 

Wraxall 1602, was of Queen's College 1621, Fellow of AU Soul's. 

College 1629, Prebendary of Salisbury 1643. He married 

Frances, daughter of Walter Dayrell, brother of Sir Thomas 

Dayrell of LiUingston -Dayrell, Bucks, and relict of Eobert 

Hovenden of Stanton-Harcourt, Oxon, but had no issue. Chancing 

to be at Abbots Leigh, with his connections the Nortons in 1651, 

he recognised King Charles 11., when in hiding there after the 

^"^ Arms of Speke : 'Argent, two bars azure, over all a double-headed 
eagle displayed gules. ' 

*® Smith's Lives of the Berkeleys, p. 214. 

*® Arms of Darell : 'Azure a lion rampant or ducally crowned argent.' 

'^^ Arms of Mellor : * Azure four mascles in cross or.' 



26 

battle of Worcester. ^^ Archdeacon of WincheBter 1660; D.D. 
1661; Prebendary of Westminster the same year; Eector of 
Wraxall 1663. Died 1667 ; buried in Westminster Abbey. 

Of the other brothers, Edward and Edmund died in infancy, 
-and William, having been lieutenant to his uncle Sir Ferdinando, 
at Plymouth, was one of the settlers in New England 1635; but 
returning home, died and was buried at Wraxall 1668-9. 

Of the sisters, Frances married John, second son of Andrew 
Luttrell of Hartland, co. Devon, Esq., and secondly Sir Edward 
Southcot of Bovey Tracy, Knt. Elizabeth married Francis, only 
son of William Trenchard of Cutteridge, Wilts, by Jane, daughter 
of Maurice Eodney of Eodney Stoke, Esq., and had issue. 
Dorothy married at Wraxall, 1603-4, William Carey of Clovelly, 
Esq. (his second wife), and had issue. She died 1622, and lies 
buried in Exeter Cathedral, where is a monument to her memory. 
1613, Ann married at Wraxall Edward, second son of Edmund 
Tynte, Esq. He purchased from his brother-in-law, John Ayshe 
of Chelvey, Esq., that manor,^^and lies buried with his wife in that 
church, leaving issue. The remaining daughters, Isabel or 
Elizabeth married John Ayshe of Chelvey aforesaid, and 
Dorothy^ married Donne of Tuts well, near Barnstaple, 

XXI. Samuel Grorges, Esq., second son and eventual heir of 

Sir Edward Gorges and Dorothy Speke, upon the death without 

issue of his eldest brother Sir Eobert Gorges, was born about 

1600, and married before 1639 Jane, daughter of John Cotterell 

s)f Winford, Somerset, Esq., and relict of George Allen, of 

Wrington, Gent. He was an ardent Royalist, and one of those 

61 Clarendon's History of the Rebellion. Eachard*s History of England, 
Book II., p. 694. 

6 2 Monumental Inscription in Chelvey Church. 

*3 There were certainly two Dorothys, and possibly two Elizabeths, in 
this generation. The Somerset Visitation of 1573 makes the second 
Dorothy unmarried. Weaver's Visit of Somerset, 26. 



27 

selected by King Charles 11. in 1 660 to be Knights of the Eoyal Oak, 
an Order never constituted. He had, with Jane his "wife, license 
to eat flesh in Lent, 1666-7, on the score of illness.^* He died 
1671, his wife 1681-2; both buried at Wraxall. He had three 
sons, Edward, Samuel, and Ferdinando, of whom the second — 

2. Samuel Gorges, Esq., bom 1635; of the Inner Temple, 
1665 ; was Justice of the Conmion Pleas in Ireland, 1684 ; married 
at WeUs, 1669, (the marriage, entered in the Wraxall Eegister) 
Margaret, daughter of Sir Eobert Poyntz of Iron Acton, Knt., 
and relict of Sir Richard Hastings, Bart., but had no issue. He 
died 1686, and was buried with his wife at Kilkenny. 

3. The third, Ferdinando Gorges, was buried in the Gaimts' 
Ohurch, St. Mark's, Bristol, 1649-50 ; and his only sister, Dorothy 
Gorges, at Wraxall in the same year. 

XXII. Edward Gorges, Esq., the eldest son and heir of Samuel 
Gorges, Esq., was baptized at Wraxall, December 18th, 1631; 
married at Clapton-in-Gordano, September 22nd, 1653, Grace, 
daughter of William Winter of that place, Esq., by Bridget, 
•daughter of Robert Halswell of Goathurst, Esq. ; was of Gray's Inn, 
1648 ; M.P. for Somerset, 1688 ; buried at Wraxall, September 8th, 
1708, — ^his wife, September 11th, 1698. He was the last male heir 
of the Wraxall family, as his son Samuel died in his lifetime. 
His children were — Dorothy Gorges, baptized January 17th, 
1655-6; Samuel Gorges, his son and heir; and another son, whose 
Christian name is unknown, but who was buried at WraxaU, 
October 30th, 1690, as * Captain Gorges, son of Edward 
Gorges, Esq.' 

Samuel Gorges, the younger, son and heir of Edward Gorges 
•of Wraxall, Esq., was baptized there 1657. He married Elizabeth, 
whose surname I am unable to ascertain, and who died 1738, set. 

s* Wraxall Registers, first book, blank leaf at the end. 



28 

7 1 , leaving by Will a silver salver to Wraxall Churcli. He died 
1693. THey had an only daughter, — 

XXTTT. Elizabeth Gorges, baptized at "Wraxall 1686 ; married 
there, 1709, Colonel John Codrington,^ second son of Robert- 
Codrington of Didmarton, co. Gloucester, Esq., by Agnes, daughter- 
of Eichard Sam well of Upton, co. Northampton. He was MP. 
for Bath 1710 to 1734; and died 1754, his wife in 1740. Her 
gravestone, removed from the floor of the Sacrarium, has been 
built into the north wall of the churchyard adjoining, and bearer 
the two coats of Gorges quarterly upon an inescutcheon of 
pretence. They had four daughters, of whom Elizabeth, Agnea. 
and Rachel, dying young, were buried at Wraxall, while — 

XXIY. Jane Codrington, the youngest, married, in 1742^ 
Sir Richard Warwick Bampfylde, Bart.," M.P. for Devon, and 
had thirteen children. He died in 1776, and she in 1789. She 
lies buried in a vault, now filled up, beneath the chancel floor- 
of Wraxall Church. Of their daughters, Gertrude married, 1768, 
Oldfield Bowles, Esq., of North Ashton, Oxon, patron of Wraxall 
1781; Elizabeth married Colonel Gordon; and Charlotte married 
Abel Moysey, Esq., M.P. for Bath 1774-84, father of Archdeacon 
Moysey, and grandfather of Henry Gorges Moysey, Esq., of 
Bathealton Court, near Wellington. 

XXY. Their second son. Sir Charles Warwick Bampfylde^ 
Bart., succeeded, (his elder brother having died young), and 
resided at Wraxall in 1788. He was born in 1753, was M.P. for 
Exeter, and married, 1776, Catharine, daughter of Admiral Sir- 
John Moore,^^ Bart., K.B., grandson of Charles fourth Earl of 

6s Arms of Codrington : Quarterly 1 and 4, 'Argent, a fesse embattled 
counterembattled sable, fretty gules, between 3 lioncels passant of 
the last : 2 and 3, Vert, on a oend argent 3 roses gules barbed of the 
first : in sinister chief a dexter hand of the second.* 

*® Arms of Bampfylde : * Or, on a bend gules three mullets argent.' 

^"^ Arms of Moore ; * Azure, on a chief indented or, three mullets pierced 
gules.' 



29 

Drogheda. He was assassinated in Montague Square by one 
Morland, who afterwards committed suicide, in 1823, and left 
issue one son, George Warwick Bampfylde, bom 1786, created 
3aron Poltimore 1831, father of the present peer. 

l^ir Charles Warwick Bampfylde, Bart., becoming bankrupt 
about 1800, his property was sold by order of the Court of 
•Chancery, when the manors of Wraxall and Tickenham were 
purchased by Philip Protheroe, of Over Court, co. Gloucester, 
Esq., and by him transferred shortly afterwards to Sir Hugh 
Smyth, of Ashton Court, Bart., in whose family they still remain. 



THE MANOE HOUSE. 

It is not unlikely that the original manor house of the Gorges 
iamily may have occupied a position somewhat higher than that of 
i:he existing * Court,' and nearer to the church, where buried 
^foundations and inequalities of level support the conjecture ; and 
that it was removed to afford material for the present mansion, 
built in a more sheltered spot, in the depression formed by one of 
the numerous small combes which descend from the hiUs towards 
i;he south. The stone entrance-porch, with semi-circular doorway 
flanked with Ionic columns, bears the date 1658, and the 
initials S. G., being those of Samuel Gorges, Esq., the then lord 
-of the manor, who in his last will, 1666, speaks of "my new 
dwelling-house lately built in the parish of Wraxall." Its 
lingular situation embedded in the bank is suflSciently described 
in a MS. Latin poem, entitled *Venatio,'^ written for and dedicated 
to Colonel John Codrington, its succeeding proprietor, who, as 

s« * Venatio,' a Latin poem, describing at length, in hexameters, the chase 
of hares, foxes, and stags by Oolonel John Codrington's hounds, 
by S. H., in the possession of Thomas Codrington, Esqre. 



30 

already stated, had married the heiress of the Gorges, and though 
seated at Dodington, Co. Gloucester, made this his favourite- 
hunting box, 1710—1750 : — 

"Haud procul Line inter colles nitidissimus exstat 
Nidulus in clivum, tuus o ! labor, inclyte Gorgi, 
Nunc Codringtoni venatu accommoda sedes." 

This was written when the house, though doubtless commodious,, 
was much smaller than at present, and before the addition of the 
spacious bay-windowed entertaining rooms and bedrooms over 
them added to either side of the earlier front by Thomas Upton,. 
Esq., father of Sir John Henry Greville Smyth, the present owner, 
and lord of the manor. Of no distinctive architectural character,, 
its ground plan may perhaps have been that of a hollow square, 
the vacant centre subsequently utilized by Mr. Upton for the^ 
handsome staircase erected within it and lighted from above. As 
entered from the South, the house is on ascending levels, is 
furnished with spacious offices and stabling, large stone- walled 
vegetable gardens with gleiss houses stretching up the slope^ 
behind. Its surroundings are picturesque, and the park in which 
it stands, though small in extent, is of much variety and beauty. 
Mr. HaUam, the historian, was amongst its tenants. 

The most important residential property in the parish, tha 
princely domain of Tyntesfield, wiU be described hereafter. 



OTHEE GENTLEMEN'S SEATS. 

The modem residence known as Wraxall House lies upou 
the stream, which, traversing the valley from east to west, is name- 
less in its earlier course, but is afterwards merged in the generic 
*Yeo.' Casting about for a clue to its possible history, I am 



31 

inclined to tliink it may haye been the site of the ancient mansion 
of the important family of Waleys or Wallisch, for in the will of 
Edward Tynte, of Chelvey, Esq., 1629,«» he bequeaths to his. 
younger sons, Eobert and Hugh, " aU such lands in Wraxall as do 
lie in the Field, and about Mr. Wales' house, and such as lie below 
the Field.*' This last designation is used elsewhere to describe the 
large area of then unenclosed flat country at the lowest level of the 
parish. The existing house, with southern aspect and unusually 
large sash windows, has been altered on several occasions, its 
central and oldest portion containing the hall, staircase, and a 
panelled room on the first floor. The property of Mr. Thomas Gee, 
of Bristol, it passed to his daughter's husband, Mr. James Edward 
Homer, who built the drawing-room and adjoining wing, and died 
in 1856, his wife in 1859, after which it was sold to Mr. J. L. 
Jenkins, and by his executors to Mr. William Gibbs, of Tyntesfield, 
who retaining the land, alienated the house and curtilage to Mr. 
Beadel Low, its present owner. Amongst its previous occupiers 
was William Barrett, the historian of Bristol, the preface to whose 
work is dated hence in April, 1789. 



FAMILY OF WALEYS. 

Of the family of Wale, Waleys, or Wallisch, which seems ta 

have been important, and of the dwelling-place called after their 

name, we have early mention : — 

1225. E wales de Wrokeshal occurs.*"* 

1252-3. Finalis Concordia between Mathew de Columbers and 
Matilda his wife, querents, and Robert de Burton, im- 
pedient, by Gregory de Waleys in his place for two 

6» Rev. Fredk. Brown's Somerset Wills, VL 89. 

60 Somerset Pleas. Som. Rec. Soc, XI., Nos. 358, 367, 383, p 101. 



32 

carucates of land in Buryton, and a marc of rent in 
Bame." 

1300-1. Between William de la Forde and Jolin de Lockynge, 
querents, and Jolm Wale of Wroxhale, impedient, for a 
messuage, a ferling and a virgate of land, and lis. rent 
in Wroxhale for their three lives.^^ 

1302-3. Between Nicholas, son of Ralph de Hull, and Matilda 
his wife, querents, and Adam de Waleys deforciant, for 
the manor of Tykenham.^ 

1329-30 Between Walter Waleys, querent, and Ralph de Gorges 
and Elizabeth his wife, deforciants, for the manors of 
Wroxhale and Flex-Boryton juxta Wroxhale, and for the 
advowson of the Church of Wroxhale, except a messuage 
and a carucate of land in the same manor. Walter granted 
to them the above with reversions to William son of 
Theobald Russell and his heirs, to Theobald Russell his 
brother and his heirs, to John his brother and his heirs, 
to Richard his brother and hie heirs, then to the heirs of 
Ralph.«* 

1340-1. Between Walter Waleys, querent, and Richard de 
Borytone and Agnes his wife, deforciants, for ten acres 
of land and four acres of pasture in Cherleton juxta 
Portbury. Richard and Agnes quit-claimed to Walter 
for £10 sterling.«5 

1404. Oct. 6. Robert Tynte of Wraxall grants to John Wale 
and his son land and reversions in Wales Place, 
Portbury, and Easton in Gordano. 

®i Somerset Fines Som. Rec. Soc, VI. 155. 
«2 Idem, VI. 314-15. 
«3 Idem, VI. 321. 
6* Idem, XII. 146-7. 
«« Idem, XII. 211. 



In the same year Jolm Bount, burgess of Bristol, bequeaths 

to Walter Wale of Wraxall and his heirs all testator's 

land at Cokelesford in Wraxall.** 
1545. Alice Graunt of Yatton by her Will, proved by Thomas 

Wale, leaves bequests to Richard Wale of Yatton, 

Thomas Wale the younger, and Ursula wife of Thomas 

Wale.«^ 
1592. Christopher Wale of Yatton, gent., mentions his tenements 

in Wraxall, his brothers Thomas Wale and Owen Wale 

of Wraxall, his wife Susan {ne$ Best), his daughter Mary, 

his sisters Elizabeth Fisher and Dorothy Quicke.*® 
1623. His brother, Thomas Wale of Yatton, had a daughter 

Susan, who married William Blanchard of St. Catherine's 

Court, Batheaston.«» WiU 1631. 
His brother, Owen Wale of Wraxall, married Anne, 

daughter of the Rev. William Jones, LL.B., Rector, by 

Margaret, his wife, daughter of Edmund Gorges, Esqre.'^^ 
1630. William Wale was presented to the Rectory of Weston 

in Gordano.^ 
1653. Christopher Jones of Congresbury, presumably the brother 

of Anne, mentions in his Will his cousin William Wale 

and William his son.''^ 
1670. Richard Bagnall of Wraxall mentions in his Will his 

sister, Ann Wale, and leaves his residence to his mother, 

Mary, wife of William Wale.''^ 

«6 Strachey Papers. Add. MSS. Brit. Mus. Bristol Wills, 74. 

^-^ Somerset Wills, III. 116. 

«8 Do., II. 90. 

*® Visitation of Somerset, Harleian Soc. 9. Somerset Wills, IV. 53. 

'0 Do., Harleian Soc. 63. 

■'i Collinson's Somerset, III. 175. 

'^^ Somerset Wills, III. 69. 

''s Do., IV. 72. 

3 

\ 



34 

1705. Eleanor, wife of Eichard GlanTille of Tickenliam, leaves 

an annuity of £10 to William Wale J* 
The foregoing entries have reference to the immediate 

neighbourhood. At a greater distance we find : 
1288-9. Sire Jehan de Walleys one of men of mark in 

Somerset.''^ 
1313-14. Adam le Wallish held the manor of Langridge, near 

Bath, and built the manor house : his family continuing^ 

there for many generations. There are brasses in the 

church there to Eobert WaUshe, 1427, and Elizabeth 

Wallshe, 1441.^' 
1297-8. John le Waleys, lord of the manor of Hutton, which he* 

held of the Clares, Earls of Gloucester. 
1327-8. His seal was * Ermine, a bend gules,'" 
1349-50. Philip de Walleis holds the fourth part of a Knight'& 

fee at Beechenstoke in Nemnet.''® 
1422-3. Robert de Coker of Bower, SherifE of Somerset and 

Dorset, 1 Henry VI., married the d. & h. of John. 

Walleys of Worle.^' 
They owned the manor of WooUavington, and were some- 
times called by that name.*^ 
There is a manor in the parish of Chew Stoke called 

Walley. 

'* Do., V. 9. 

■"f CoUinson's Somerset, I. 50. 

7« Do., I. 132. 

'7 Do., III. 590. 

78 Do , II. 319. 

'» Do., II. 344. 

80 Do., m. 438. 




WRAXALL COURT. 

From a Photograph by C. O. Mastbr, Esq. 




BIRDCOMBE COURT. 

Fritm a Photograph by Rev. W. A. Woodward. 



35 



WHELPES PLACE. 

Another notable homestead, which is described as an ancient 
messuage as early as 1410-11, at which date it was conveyed by 
deed, preserved among the muniments at Tyntesfield, by Thomas 
Lord of Berkeley, to John Tynte and Alice his wife, was 
*Whelpes Place,' traditionally located on the stream at a point 
lying South of the Church, now known as * The Kennels,' and so 
employed for the pack of hounds kept here by Colonel John 
Codrington in 1720-40. Nothing remains of the mansion and its 
curtilages, but it was approached from the high road by a noble 
avenue of elms, of which *the Cross Tree,' near the lych-gate, was 
one, and another stands in the first hedgerow, in what is still 
styled * Stumps or Stubbs Park.' In the adjoining lowlying 
meadows coverts have been planted, extending over the boundary 
of Wraxall into that of Back well. 

A charmingly situated small residence, the property of Mr. 
Gibbs, of Tyntesfield, on high ground on the edge of his park and 
backed by a wood, is known as Wraxall Cottage, and enjoys a 
splendid prospect. 



BIEDCOMBE. 

On the edge of the Parish towards the west, underlying its wooded 
slopes, is the picturesque * Tower House ' or Birdcombe Court, an 
ancient manor, formerly held under the Courtenayes, Earls of 
Devon, by the notable Somerset family, styled variously 
Bythemore,®^ Delamore, and Attemore. "Whether the territorial 

®* Arms of Bythemore : * Barry, arg. and az., on a chevron gu, 3 niuiieu 
of the first.' 



36 

Lords ever resided at the Court may be doubtful; but in the 
list of Exchequer Lay Subsidies, 1327-8, Hugo de Courtenaye*^ is, 
as already mentioned, by far the largest contributor in the Parish 
of Wraxall, the names of Atte Moore and Byihemore being 
included therein ; and the occurrence upon one of the bosses of the 
groined roof of the tower-porch of the manor house of the 
bristled boars, which are the supporters of the arms of Courtenaye, 
is a reminder of their ownership, if not of their occupation. 

A long genealogical history of the Bythemores, tracing the 
descent from them, through the Percevals, of the Earls of Egmont, 
is to be found in * Anderson's House of Yvery,' a rare Somerset 
book of much research, and privately printed. 

Their estates at "Wraxall are specially mentioned in cotemporary 
Holls and Inquisitions, as early as the 6th of King John (1205), 
and from thence until about 1500, when they became merged in 
the family of Perceval. 

There is an entry in the Diocesan Eegisters at Wells, under 
date 1331, showing that one of the name was then resident at 
Birdcombe, and indicating the jealousy with which the rights of 
the Bishop and Rector of Wraxall were safeguarded. The appli- 
cation was a sufficiently modest one: **1331. Sept. 1. — Licentia 
concessa Johanni Attemore de Bredecombe, quod possit erigere 
Tabulam ligneam infra Mansimi suum predictum, et, posito super 
altari,®^ Divina absque prejud: ecclesie parochialis de Wraxhall 
iacere celebrari per 1 annum." 

'Bridcombe' is again mentioned in 1437 as then settled, with 
other property, upon John More, for so was the name contracted, ' 
and Alice his wife.®* 

82 Arms of Courtenay — *or, 3.torteaux, 2 and 1.' 

83 The super-altar wa&a small portable consecrated stone, without which 

no priest could celebrate, 
** House of Yvery, 11. 34. - " . 



37 

Tlie extravagance of David Perceval, wlio had married the 
heiress of the Byihemores, and succeeded in her right to the 
property, may perhaps accDunt for its sale about 1500 to Sir 
Edmund Gorges, of Wraxall, Knt. 

By his will, 1511, he bequeathed to his second son, William 
Gorges, "the manor of Birdcombe, with all its appurtenances 
lying in Wraxhale, Naylsee, Tykenham, and Portished, and also 
the Hole House and the Mogge House with all their appurtenances 
lying in Tykenham Parish to the foresaid William Gorges and his 
heyres in fee for ever.'* 

This William was knighted, and residing here when Leland 

visited the place in 1540, or thereabouts, was the person thus 

mentioned in his Itinerary: "Wrokeshale is a three miles 

from Wyke (Court de Wyk) towards Brightstow. Here hath 

Syr William Gorge a meane (perhaps moderate sized) old manor 

place in a valley, and on eche side of it on the hills is a fayre 

parke." 

He may have died unmarried, and the propei-ty have reverted 

to the elder branch, for in 1568 Edward Gorges of Wraxall, Esq., 

bequeathed to his younger son Ferdinando, then aged four (after 

wards the celebrated Sir Ferdinando, Founder of the State of 

Maine), "my manor of Birdcombe with appurtenances, to have 

and to hold to him and his assigns during twenty four years, if he 

so long shall live. '* 

At the expiration of this term Sir Edward Gorges, Knt., Sir 

Ferdinando's elder brother, alienated it to William Yawer^^ of 

Bristol, merchant, the title deeds, which are in the possession of 

Mr. Gibbs, of Tyntesfield, bearing date 1589-92-96, William 

Yawer died 1620, seized of the manor of Birdcombe or Burdcombe 

85 Arms of Vawer, "Sab. a spear-head between 3 scaling Udders arg: on 
a chief gu. a tower triple-towered of the second.' — Visitation of 
Somerset, 1559. Harleian MSS. f 79 b. 



38 

■with all privileges and belongings, and bequeathed them to his 
grandson William, whose father Thomas Yawer had predeceased 
testator, adding the following explanatory statement :^ "If there 
come any extent (t.^. execution) against my manor of Birdcumbe, 
for any debt of Sir William Gorges thereon, there is a confession 
by Mr. Popham, the late Queen's Attorney, which is amongst my 
writings, and which wiU avoid all extents, and is in three leaves of 
paper, and was recorded in the Exchequer in the 32nd year of the 
Queen's reign, and is contayned in the 278 rowle. I have devised 
unto my son James Yawer by learned Counsel in the Lawe the 
Chappel on the bridge of Bristol. There is a statute among my 
writings of Sir Edward Gorges of Wraxall of £1000 for the 
warraunty of one moiety of Birdcumbe, and a bond of Sir 
Edward Gorges of London of £1000 for the warrauntye of the 
other moiety of Birdcumbe." 

Passing over a generation or two, another William Yawer of 
Birdcombe Court, Wraxall, gent., by his will, 1748, bequeathed the 
manor to his beloved and only child, Elizabeth Yawer, who proved 
the will 1750 as Elizabeth Hollester.*^ 

The property afterwards passed to W. P. Brigstocke, Esq., 
M.P. for Somerset, and from him was purchased by Sir Greville 
Sm3rth of Ashton Court, Bart , its present possessor. 

The only attractive feature of the manor house is its tower on 
the East, which is of three stories, and supported upon four arches, 
the western one pierced with an entrance doorway, the lower 
portion forming an entrance porch. The stone groined roof of this 
furnishes some indication of the probable date of the house, of which 
the interior is so hopelessly modernised that its original ground plan 
has disappeared. It contains, however, some old timber beams, 

8« Somerset Wills, IV. 50. 

8'' Somerset Wills, IV. 50-51. Somerset Arch, and Nat. Hist. Soc. 
Journal, XXVn. 37-42. 



39 

those probably of the great hall, and in its southern attics the 
relics of an open roof. Two female heads in the corners of the 
groining above-mentioned are of the latter part of the 15th 
century, — judging by their costume, which is identical with that of 
some of the corbels in the nave of Wraxall Church ; the bosses are 
fanciful rather than heraldic, — one of them, however, bearing a 
heart-shaped shield with the boars of Courtenay as supporters, 
another three bars, another the emblem of the Holy Trinity, two 
triangles interlaced ; while the central one is a melee of two swans 
with two necks, the latter much twisted, and gorged with a chain 
in the form of a fret. The south side of the house is of early date, 
and is heavily buttressed. It may have contained the chapel. 
Original pointed doorways facing the entrance formed the com- 
mxmication with the offices, which under a separate and lower roof 
are now in use as a farm house, and are distinct from the mansion. 
A quantity of human bones were disinterred on the north side of 
the house, about 1837, by the then tenant, 0. L, Coathupe, Esq., 
in laying the foundation of additional rooms. They were 
supposed to be the remains of the victims of a skirmish. 

But the most interesting discovery connected with this locality 
was one made by the same gentleman in the year already 
mentioned, when, about fifty yards to the north of his residence, 
about a foot below the surface of the ground, and within a few 
inches of the underljdng limestone rock, he found buried a 
massive bronze Torque, 3 lbs. and 10 oz, in weight, which has at 
length found a safe and appropriate receptacle in the Bristol 
Museum.^ 

Its normal size and weight, as well as its form and ornamen- 
tation, point to its Celtic rather than Roman origin. It consists of 
two precisely similar halves, connected by upper and lower joints. 

®^ Described and figured in Archaeologia, Vol. LIV.,and in Proceedings of 
the Clifton Antiquarian Club, 1894-5. 



40 

A slightly V-shaped opening in the first enables the two halves to 
be pulled asunder at the second. This lower joint is in the form of 
a dowel, the square pin and hollow being nicely adjusted, fittings 
tightly, and closing, upon pressure, with a sharp click. Tho 
ornamentation consists of a series of connected scrolls in relief, 
dividing the circle into four sections, the divisions between them 
additionally ornamented. "Within the scrolls are perforations, 
intended perhaps to receive precious stones or glass imitations, 
being of the nature of settings for jewels or enamels graduated 
from front to base. On either side of the scroll pattern is a 
minutely serrated edging. The Torque is about 6 ins. in diameter 
in its inner circle. Its material is mixed metal, of copper, and 
lead or zinc. No other relic of antiquity was found near it. It is 
noticed in Yol. XXX., p. 521, of the Archeeologia of the Society of 
Antiquaries, where it is recorded that on Feb. 3, 1842 a cast of it 
was exhibited by Canon EUacombe of Bitton. And it is described 
but not figured by Sir John Evans in his " Ancient Bronze Imple- 
ments, Weapons, and Ornaments." It is remarkably clean and in 
perfect preservation. 

It is singular that Collinson, in his History of the Coimty, omits 
all mention of Birdcombe in the Parish of WraxaU. 



NAISH. 

In a position of exceptional beauty upon the western edge of 
the parish, overlooking, as a watch-tower, one of the grandest 
views in the county, including, besides the rich Gordano valley 
with its villages of Walton, Weston, Clapton, Portishead, and 
Portbury, the broad sweep of the Bristol Channel, Avonmouth, the 
range of the Welsh mountains, and the rich woodlands of 
Gloucestershire to the Cotswold, the Severn, and the Wye, stands 



41 

Naisli House, a mansion of considerable size and importance,, 
deriving its name from a former forgotten owner or occupier, of 
wliom we have evidence in the occurrence of * Johannes Atte 
Nasch' in the Exchequer Lay Subsidies of 1327-8. In the Latin 
poem called ^Yenatio' its advantages of situation are thus described l 

En ! hie Nashea superbit, 
Lseta novo moles domino, Kemmistica nuper. 
Marmoreo pandit sese Sabrina decore 
Turgentes instrata rates binam insulam amsena. 
En ! sinus inflatus velonim ! En stupea scala 
In cselum tendens, malis affixa superbis ! 
Regivise tandem stationi appulsa carina 
Littus init proegnans, gazasque effundit eoas.^^ 

In 1634-5 this property, comprising sixty acres of meadow,. 

was, with the adjoining manor and advowson of Clapton, convey ed^ 

to Henry Hals well, in consideration of a marriage between 

William Winter, its previous owner, and Bridget, daughter of 

Robert Halswell.*^ At this date the house was rebuilt upon the 

site of an older one, and in 1687 passed to the Kemys family, 

between whom and the Rector there was a tithe dispute in 1696, 

when it was shown that the house stood in the parish of Wraxall, 

while its dairy and bam were in that of Clapton.®^ Miss Mary 

Kemys by her Will, 1701, bequeathed to her sister, Anne Kemys, 

**all my mansion house of Naish, and lands in Clapton and 

Wraxall."** Miss Anne Kemys died in 1708, leaving all her lands 

to her nephew. Sir Charles Kemys, Bart. About 1740 Naish had 

become the property and residence of Walter King, Esq., whose 

death in 1792, and that of his wife Mary in 1787, are recorded 

®® These lines require some explanation. At the time they were written, 
1742, the property had just passed from the Kemys family to Walter 
King, Esq., who was its * novus dominus.' * Sabrina' is the 
Severn, *bina insula' the Holmes, 'regivia statio' Kingroad. 

®° Royalist Composition Papers, 2nd series, XII. 467, 473. 

«i Som. Archseol. Soc. Proceedings, XXVII. 1, 67 ; CoUinson's Somerset,. 
111. 179. 

«a Somerset. Wills, II. 16. 



42 

upon a tablet in the Clmrch. Among his tenants was Pliilip John 

Miles, Esq., M.P. for Bristol, living liere wliile building Leigh 

Oourt, who added to the house a dining-room and bedrooms over it. 

Then it was purchased by James Adam Gordon of Knockespock, 

near Aberdeen, and of Moor Place and Stocks, near Tring in the 

county of Herts, Esq., the owner of large estates in the adjoining 

Gordano valley. A man of great culture and ability, he was in 

early life private secretary to his uncle, Mr. Whitbread, M.P., and 

to George Canning. He married Emma Katherine, daughter of 

Admiral WoUey, but by her (who re-married Richard Bright, Esq., 

M.P. for East Somerset, and died 1890) had no issue. His heir 

was his cousin. Sir WiUiam Abdy, upon whose death Naish was 

-again sold to Lieut. -Colonel Pilgrim, who died there, from whose 

devisees it passed in 1872 to Sir Greville Smyth, Bart., its present 

•owner. It has been occupied by Colonel Lushington (who placed 

the carved oak mantelpiece in the dining-room, then the entrance 

haU), Sir Walter Morgan, Chief Justice of Madras, Sir John 

Strachey, member of H.M. Indian Council, and others, as tenants, 

and is now in the holding of W. H. Spencer, Esq., who has here a 

Bchool, in an ideal position, for little boys. 

The house, originally a large square block, with a frontage 

to the west of three stories of large and heavily framed sash 

windows and an entrance in the centre, has very thick walls, and 

has undergone many alterations. The ground-floor rooms are of 

imusual height ; the drawing-room, now divided, occupied the first 

floor, and was lighted by five windows. Mr. Gordon appended, in 

the florid Gothic of his day, an entrance tower on the east,®' and a 

®^ Built into the entrance tower is a well-carved stone shield, a similar one 
lying on the ground beneath the western wall. Quarterly 1 and 4, 
* Azure, on a fesse chequy argent and gules, between 3 boars' heads 
erased close, or,' a lion passant sable Gordon. 2 and 3, * Argent, a 
saltire gules on a chief of the last 3 boars' heads couped of the first,' 
Lavington : impaling Quarterly 1 and 4, * Argent, upon a chevron 
ermines an eagle displayed or,' WoUey ; 2 and 3, *0r, a cross patonce 
sable,' Lamplugh. 



43 

•conservatory on the south, handsomely built of hewn stone, besides 
various external additions, with a result which is hardly satisfactory. 
The turret staircase, communicating with every story, furnishes an 
admirable if unintended fire-escape. The main staircase is of 
handsome old mahogany. The attics were added by Colonel 
Pilgrim. There are two large walled kitchen gardens, and some 
small remains of a building near the house, conjectured, but with 
small probability, to have been a domestic chapel. Upon a pedestal 
near the house stands a life-size crowned figure of King John, 
with Magna Charta at his feet, and a falcon perched upon his left 
wrist feeding from a horn in his right hand. It is said to have 
been sculptured from Mendip stone by Mr. Gordon's order as a gift 
to the Corporation of Bristol, by whom it was declined. Pleasant 
woods adjoin the house on both sides, while a zig-zag carriage 
drive carried through the grounds affords much-needed access to 
the valley beneath, the public approaches to which are long and 
very steep. 

The main interest of the place centres aroimd the two maiden 
ladies already mentioned, Mary and Anne Kemys, daughters of 
Sir Charles Kemys, of Cefn Mabley, Bart., who received here in 
** retreat" the saintly Ken, deprived Bishop of Bath and Wells, 
whose biographer Anderdon thus alludes to them : — ^ 

** One of the happy asylums to which Ken loved to resort as a 
retirement into the desert out of the noise and hurry of the world, 
was Naish House, near Portishead, some six miles from Bristol. 
There two maiden ladies dwelt of the name of Kemys, who 
reverenced him for his great piety and charity. He was a sort of 
ghostly father to them, exercising all the holy charitable offices 
flowing from the Communion of Saints, and especially in fervent 
intercession with God on behalf of the poor harassed and afflicted 

® * Life of Ken, by a layman, p. 760. 



44 

clergy and others. His letters make frequent mention of these 
good virgins, in whose religious society he spent much of his time, 
especially in winter and during Lent. He calls the house * a kind 
of nunnery where I usually abide in my Lord Weymouth's 
absence/ His reason for being there at Christmas was to make a 
retreat from the festivities of a palace (Longleat) open to all 
comers of fashion and quality. His friend, Dr. Smith, compares 
him to St. Hierome conversing with the devout ladies of Bethlehem, 
instructing and confirming their faith, and directing their con- 
sciences in the matter of true spiritual life, and influencing their 
souls with seraphic notions of Q-od and of Christ, and of the other 
world, especially by the most convincing evidence and demonstration 
of example. He speaks of this private seat of the good ladies 
as having a better pretence to the title of a religious house than 
those so-called Popish countries, where superstition, opinion of' 
merit, and forced vows take off very much from the pure spirit of 
devotion, and render their restraint tedious and irksome. But 
these good ladies are happy under your conduct, aind are by an 
uninterrupted course of piety elevated above all the gaudy pomps 
and vanities of the world, and enjoy all the comforts and satis- 
factions and serenity to be wished for and obtained on this side 
of heaven, in their solitude.'' 

This is all we can learn of Naish and its inmates. It is to be 
regretted that Ken did not give a more detailed account of them. 
In the Will of Anne Kemys, 1708, she leaves ** To my honoured 
and respected friend. Dr. Ken, the deprived Bishop of Bath and 
Wells, £1 00, which I humbly entreat him to accept as a small token 
of the great duty and affection which my sister and I bore him ; " 
and again, **to my much honoured the late deprived Bishop of Bath 
and Wells £200, to be distributed by him among the deprived and 
non jurant clergy ; 5s. to as many poor women as I am years old. 



45 

After legacies are paid, £100 more to Dr. Ken, and £100 more 
-among tlie deprived clergy.*' ^ 

In tlie Kemys Chapel, Michaelstone, co. Monmouth, there is 
this inscription : 

"Mary, Anne, Kemys, sisters, who both chose 

The better part, wise virgins, here repose. 
' Mary first crowned, Anne languish'd till posses't 

Of the same grave, of the same mansion blest." 

Mary 65 Oct. 5 

aged dyed 1708 

Anne 57 Dec, 

by their friend." 

There are vestiges of a circular castrum on the brow of a hil 
opposite Naieh House.^ 



MOAT HOUSE. 

In search of localities for the residences of the several 
important families known to have sprung from this parish, it is 
impossible to avoid the inference that one of them was here. 
Occupying a depression in the high ground on the North- West, in 
•a lonely but sheltered position, concealed from observation, midway 
between Charlton and Naish, was an ancient moated homestead, 
once of much greater importance than at present. Standing upon 
-a raised plateau, protected by a deep square moat, its inner sides 

®s These ladies were the daughters of Sir Charles Kemys, of Cefn Mabley, 
2nd Baronet, by Margaret, his second wife, daughter of Sir George 
Whitmore, and were grand daughters of Sir Nicholas Kemys, 1st 
Baronet, the Samson of his day, who being challenged to try a fall with 
a noted Cornish wrestler, threw him over the park wall and then 
threw his ass after him. In 1648 he captured Chepstow Castle for 
King Charles I., which was at length reduced by famine by the 
Parliamentary Army, when Sir Nicholas and 48 men were slain in 
cold blood, and 120 prisoners i^ere taken.— Taylors* Antiqtuirian 
" 8, pp. 271-2. 



«« Barrett's Hist, of Bristol, p. 20. 



46 

faced with masonry, it was approached from the South over a wooden 
drawbridge, superseded about 1830 by a stone bridge, upon the 
comers of which an outlined shield bore date 1648, and the Roman 
capitals B and D, the former the probable initial of * Bullocke,' at 
that time its owner. A paved causeway led to the porch, giving 
access to a central passage with oak-panelled parlour and kitchen 
on either side, an oaken newel staircase, rising from one of stone to 
the cellar, communicating with two stories of chambers above. 
Its walls were and are three feet in thickness, but almost all 
features of interest have been destroyed, the moat filled up, the 
gables removed, the whole house modernised within and without. 
A sundial has the date 1658. Of its earlier history there are no 
records. Mr. George Gibbs has obligingly examined his father's 
deeds, and tells me that the lands include those formerly known as 
Upper Portbury, White wood's. Cable's, and Godwyn's parks, the 
latter name, that of the first lay grantee of the dissolved priory of 
Portbury, pointing to an earlier ecclesiastical ownership. For several 
generations the property of the BuUockes, it passed to Edward 
Stokes, and from him to William Cambridge, his daughter Mary 
leaving it to her cousin, also William Cambridge, whose daughter^ 
another Mary, married John Seager Winter, and they sold it to 
William Gibbs of Tyntesfield, Esq. 



Charlton. 

This place, one of the * members ' or * hamlets ' of the manor 
of WraxaU, was not in itself a manor until, subsequently severed 
from its head, it came to be so styled. 

It is mentioned as early as 1316, in which year Sir Eauf de 
Gorges, simimoned to military service against the Scots, is certified 




CHARLTON HOUSE, CIRCA 1600. 
From an old Map in thb possession of Antony Gibbs, Esq. 




CHARLTON HOUSE. 

Fiom a Photograph by Rev. W. A. Woodward. 



47 

by tlie Sheriff to be lord, inter alia, of * Wraxallj witb tbe bamleta 
of Charlton, Bourton, and Nailsea.' ^^ 

In 1340 there was a *finalis eondordia' between Walter 
Waleys and Eichard de Borytone and Agnes his wife for ten acres 
of land and four of pasture * in Cherleton juxta Portbury.' ^^ 

In 1398-9 Thomas, fourth of that name Lord Berkeley pur- 
chased from Thomas Norton an ancient messuage called Whelps- 
place and divers other land in *Wraxell, whereby hee further 
inlarged his manor of Portbury.*'® 

In 1400-1 he purchased from the King free warren in his 
manors of Walton, Weston, Portshead, and * Charleton ' in the co. 
of Somerset. ®^ 

So it would appear that Charlton, part of the manor of 
Wraxall at the beginning of the 14th century, and then the 
property of Sir Eauf de Gorges, had, before its close, passed to 
Thomas Lord Berkeley as an appendage to his adjoining manor 
of Portbury. When or how it reverted to the Gorges family is 
uncertain. It may have been when the extravagant Sir WiUiam 
Berkeley, afterwards Marquess, living at Portbury vita patris 
1459-60, and charged by his father on no account to alienate 
any portion of that manor, is recorded nevertheless to have 
done so. ^°° 

At all events, about 1650 it was the property and residence of 
Sir William Gorges, second son of Sir Edward of WraxaU, a 
distinguished naval commander, Yice-Admiral of the Fleet in 
1580, died 1583. 

In 1556-7 Henry Lord Berkeley devised to Edward Gorges, 

«7 Somerset Record Soc, III. 63. 

®® Somerset Fines. Somerset Record Soc, XII. 210. 

®^ Smyth's Lives of the Berkeleys, II. 14, 397. CoUinson's Somerset, 
III. 144. 

100 Ditto II. 76. 



48 

Esq., then unmarried, his servant, "all his park of Portbury, 
74 acres, then divided into three parts, of which the third part, 
<}alled the Nether Park, was 30 acres, for 60 years." 

In 1585 Edward Gorges, then Sir Edward, purchased Charlton 
from Tristram and Eobert Gorges, sons of his uncle. Sir William 
aforesaid,"^ and in 1597, from the Berkeleys, *the higher and 
nether parks,' of which he had a previous lease, and *Fluellin 
farm' adjoining." He resided here till his death, in 1624, his 
widow remarrying in 1638."^ The armorial achievement over the 
fireplace in the hall, recently restored, was erected by him: 
* Quarterly Gorges, Eussell, Oldhall, and Englowes,' as in the 
Church, impaling the coat of his wife, daughter of Sir George 
•Speke, * Argent, two bars azure, over all a double eagle displayed 
gules.' Here he received his distinguished brother. Sir Ferdinand© 
Gorges, founder of the State of Maine, when, in temporary disgrace 
from supposed complicity with the rebellion of Essex, he needed 
shelter and concealment. 

Re-attached to the manor of Wraxall, Charlton passed there- 
with to Sir Edward's eldest son, Sir Eobert Gorges, and at his 
death without issue in 1636, to his next brother, Samuel, who 
was seised of it in 1646.*^ In his will, 1666, no mention being 
made of Charlton, he described himself as *of Wraxall, Esq*"®-,* 
appointed his son Edward his executor, " to whom I give all my 
plate, jewels, and personal estate now in my new dwelling house 
lately built in the parish of Wraxall." This could hardly have 
referred to Charlton, but must have been meant for Wraxall 
Xodge, now called Wraxall Court, the entrance porch of which 
bears his initials S.G., and the date 1658. 

101 At the time of this purchase Charlton was in the occupation of Robert 
James and Joan, his wife. The purchase money for the parks was 
£1,400. 
^02 inq. p.in. on the death of her son. Sir Robert Grorges, 
*o3 Royalist Composition Papers, 2nd Series, VII. 637—666. 



49 

Edward Gorges added to the Charlton property in 1670 Prior's 
Wood, a portion of the ancient monastic estate, by purchase from 
John Digby, son of George Earl of Bristol; but being probably 
satisfied with his residence at Wraxall, conve;s©d Charlton, in 
1694, to Eobert Yate, of Bristol, Sheriff of that city in 1685 and 
Mayor in 1693. He died in 1736, leaving it by will to his 
nephews, John Day and Peter and Henry Muggleworth ; the last was 
Mayor of Bristol in 1758. Becoming vested in the latter, it passed 
under his wiU, in 1782, to Peter Goodwin, his nephew, son of his 
sister Ann, with remainder to sons and daughters in succession, 
and failing them to Thomas Kington, who married his niece 
Susanna, daughter of his sister Ann. 

It would be interesting to be able to connect the Goodwins, 
of whom there are many entries in the WraxaU Registers, and of 
whom an important branch was settled at Nailsea, with Robert 
Goodwyne, to whom in 1542-3 King Henry VJJLi. granted the 
adjoining manor of Portbury Priors and the grange there, 
belonging to the dissolved monastery of Breamore in Hants, and 
who died seised thereof in 1558. But there does not seem to 
have been any connection between them. Eobert Goodwyn left 
an only d«ughter and heir, Margaret, who married John Wake, 
of Clevedon, Esq., who died 1621. Their son. Sir Baldwin 
"Wake, first baronet 1621, married Abigail, daughter of Sir 
Robert Digby, and sister of the first Earl of Bristol. That he 
inherited some interest in this property is clear from the con- 
Teyance of Priors Wood by his son, John Digby, to Edward 
Oorges in 1670. 

In 1791 this same wood is mentioned as belonging to Henry 
Goodwin, of Charlton, Esquire, whose manorial residence was 
there. ^<^ 

10* CoUinson, III. 155. 



60 

Thomas Kington, his successor, the first owner of Charlton of 
his name, was bom in 1771, and died in 1827, having married 
Charlotte, daughter of William Miles [by Ann his wife, daughter 
of John Borrow, Mayor of Bristol 1743], 'and had nine children, 
five of whom are recorded on monumental tablets in WraxaU 
Church, as are also his wife and himself. 

His eldest son, Thomas Kington (bom 1795, died 1857), 
married Margaret, daughter of Laurence Oliphant, of Gask, heir 
male of Francis, tenth and last Baron Oliphant, and had issue five 
children, of whom the eldest son, 

Thomas Laurence Kington, bom 1831, assumed the additional 
surname of Oliphant in 1864, married Frances Dorothy, daughter 
of Henry Jebb, of Boston, co. Line, but had no issue. 

His next brother, Philip Kington, bom 1832, assumed in 1868 
the names of Blair Oliphant, of Ardbair, co. Perth, and married 
Henrietta, daughter of William H. Yaldwin, of Blackdown, co. 
Sussex, Esq., by whom he had issue six children. He conveyed 
this property, in 1865, to William Gibbs, of Tyntesfield, Esq. 

^Eluellin,' or Llewellyn's Farm, mentioned in the 16th 
century as an appendage to Charlton, is, Mr. A. Gibbs thinks, 
represented by the upper or middle barton, or both of them, 
portions of Charlton farm. The family from whom it derived it» 
designation must have occupied it for a very long period, for the 
name in a variety of spellings occurs repeatedly in the WraxaU 
Registers from their commencement in 1563 to 1721. 

*Crede Place '^°^ in Charlton, mentioned by Collinson, cannot 
be identified. The only occurrence of the name is that of 
*Theynewin de Crede in 1242-3.'^^* It is perhaps an error for 
*Wede,' a place name in Failand, applied to a locality * between 

105 Collinson, TIL 158. 

10 « Som. Pleas. Somerset Record Soc, XI. 278. 




H 
UJ 
CO 

q: 

HI 

o 

0) 

u. 
o 

>- 
H 
z 

o 
o 

LU 

I 
H 



Z 
O 

< 

X 

o 

I- 
< 



< 

X 

LU 

X 
H 

Li. 

o 

O 

OH 
lU 

H 
Z 



61 

the hamlet and the highroad from Clevedon to Bristol,' possibly 
where some remains of a building adjoin the lane at the base of 
an intervening descent. 

The mansion, as appears from an ancient outline drawing 
attached to an old map in the possession of Mr. Gibbs, was, 
about 1600, a three-storied building with recessed centre, pro- 
jecting wings, mullioned and transomed windows, and narrow, 
high-pitched gabled roof. It is uncertain whether the view is that 
of the northern or of the southern front, both of which were on 
much the same plan, and subsequently so repeatedly altered as to 
defy identification. If the latter is intended, the central recess is 
now occupied by the drawing-room. The house bears a marked 
resemblance in shape and character to * the great house at Bristol,' 
the property and residence of Sir Ferdinando Gorges, the founder 
of Maine, U.S. A , and probably erected by him, a curious etching 
of which is to be found in the * Exact Delineation of the famous 
city of Bristol, a.d. 1673.' 

The existing house, to which its present owner added in 1884 
a billiard-room, and, enlarging the dining-room, greatly altered 
and improved its western portion, presents the appearance of a 
handsome Tudor manor house, with large stone projecting windows 
and ornamental gables. The entrance through the ancient porch, 
projecting from the central recess, is into a screened passage 
piercing the building from North to South, and having the great 
hall on the West and the offices on the East, retaining thus the 
usual arrangement, the offices with the kitchen adjoining, th^ 
most ancient part of the house, lighted by small mullioned and 
hooded windows. The hall, of noble proportions, has an orna- 
mental plaster ceiling, a large stone fireplace of florid Jacobean 
carving with figures of Justice and Mercy, and the quartered 
shield of Gorges impaling Speke, recently correctly re- tinctured. 



52 

The cornice of interlaced red- deer horns is especially effective ; 
the windows are large and transomed. 

On the South of the house are spacious flower gardens with 
walled kitchen gardens and glass houses, and a deer park ; on the 
North the ground falls rapidly towards the Severn, of which and 
its surroundings a view of much magnificence is obtained from the 
crest of the hiU before descending the steep carriage-drive through 
the wood to Portbury. There are ornamental lodges at both 
entrances to the park, and a dainty little dairy below the house 
on the North. 

Hard by, on the North-east, a large oblong artificial pond, 
175 feet by 85, lined with masonry, may not improbably be a 
relic of the monks of Portbury Priory, whose woods clothed the 
adjoining slopes, and to whom a stew or fishpond was an indis- 
pensable possession. Utilised subsequently for bathing, bisected 
by a stone wall, and floored at its western portion for that purpose, 
an arbour on a central island forming a convenient dressing-room, 
the cattle have still access to its eastern water. 

Charlton House has been occupied for several years by Lord 
Hobhouse, as a summer residence. 



Failand. 

An outlying hamlet of the parish of Wraxall bears this name, 
which it is hardly likely can mean * Fay ' or * Fairyland,' although 
its exceptional beauty of situation may lend colour to the tradition. 
It is curiously intermixed with a similar section of the adjoining 
parish of Portbury, both together known as Failand. 

In or about 1283 Thomas Lord Berkeley, lord of Portbury, 
granted to John Fitz-john *"Wede/ between Failand and the 



53 

highway from Portbury to Bristol, with rights on the down 
(duna).^o^ 

It was written *Foyland' in 1327, when Augustine de Foyland 
was assessed to the Exchequer lay subsidies at ij. shillings.^"* 

Along its elevated southern ground runs the modem highroad 
from Clifton to Clevedon, abutting upon which was the ancient 
common land, enclosed by Act of Parliament in 1813. 

Near its edge lies a little known but fairly perfect camp,^* the 
area of which, perhaps from having been ploughed, has an 
angular rather than a circular appearance, but its raised circum- 
ference indicates the latter form. It consists of a single rampart 
or bank, constructed of earth and loose stones, from five to six 
feet in height, enclosing an area of some fifty yards in diameter. 
Its entrance was apparently on the north-west, where are some 
large stones. It may possibly have been nothing more than a 
defensive shelter for herdsmen and their cattle, but nevertheless 
of Belgic or British construction. 

Finds of Eoman coins on WraxaU and Failand hills are 
recorded."® Not far from this may be the traditional site of a 
destroyed church, the evidence of which rests mainly upon its 
inclusion in Speed's map of the county of Somerset (1611), which 
however is upon too small a scale to indicate its locality, though 
some remains of foundations on the side of the road leading 
northward towards Failand House are still visible. 

These, as well as the camp, are within *the manor farm,* of 
the antecedents of which little or nothing is known, though it 
may possibly represent the ancient residence of the De Faylands, 

10 7 Somerset. Archaeol. Soc. Transactions, XXXIX. 2,62. 

108 Somerset. Record Soc, III. 236. 

109 Barrett's Bristol, 20. 

110 Seyer's Bristol, I. 161. 



54 

now degraded to a poor farmhouse, but retaining in the arrange- 
ment of its rooms some manorial features, being entered from the 
South through a central passage, with the hall or living room on 
the West, and the kitchen on the East, the former built over a 
large cellar, while a circular staircase leads to the rooms above. 
Two small cherubs' heads in low relief ornament a doorway 
outside, and upon a stone now recumbent is inscribed : * Boundary 
1772.' The situation of the house, upon high tableland, from 
which the ground falls sharply to the North, reveals a view across 
the Severn of much beauty, while beneath are picturesque wooded 
dingles characteristic of the locality. Lines of elevation in the 
soil point to former terraces and walls, and the existence of a 
somewhat large garden. 

Beyond these, upon a further plateau, stands Failand House, 
the property and residence of the Bight Honourable Sir Edward 
Ery, late Lord Justice of Appeal — a large irregular mansion, 
dating from the beginning of the eighteenth century, built of 
the old red sandstone of the neighbourhood, and showing traces of 
divers alterations and additions, the latest those effected by its 
present appreciative proprietor, who has built a noble library and 
planted a pleasaunce of choice trees and shrubs. It commands a 
wide and beautiful prospect, across the Severn into "Wales, and 
along the entire Cotswold range from Berkeley to Bath, with the 
rich intervening Gloucestershire country. The estate was the 
property of Abraham Elton of Bristol, Esq.,^^^ who died in 
1794, leaving a benefaction to the parish, and under his will 
and a partition amongst his family, vested in William Warry 

m Ancestor of Sir Edmund Elton of Clevedon Court, Bart., for whose 
descent see Burke's Baronetage. Abraham Elton was Sheriff of 
Bristol 1702, 1728, 1736, Mayor 1710, 1719. Abraham Elton, jun., 
was Sheriff 17 iO, M.P. 1727, Mayor 1742, 1753. Jacob Elton was 
Mayor 1733. Sir Abraham Elton, Bart., was M.P. 1734—1741. 
Isaac Elton was Sheriff 1743, Mayor 1761. Isaac Elton, jun., was 
Sheriff 1765 and 1770.— Barrett's History of Bristol. 



55 

And Thomas Marwood Elton, wlio in 1861 sold it to Edmund 
Cooper, Esq., from whom it passed in 1874 to its present owner. 

Further westward, conspicuous objects in the landscape, and 
commanding a magnificent prospect, are the church and curate's 
residence, the latter known as * The Chantry,* — munificent gifts to 
the parish by Eichard Yaughan of Elmes Place, Bath, Esq., brother 
of Edward Protheroe, the late rector, constructed of local limestone 
in the Middle-pointed style of Gothic, and having accommodation 
for 200 worshippers. The church comprises a broad and spacious 
nave with lofty open roof, a raised chancel, and wide short transepts — 
that on the North utilised for the organ, a fine instrument pre- 
viously at Tyntesfield, a vestry on the same side,— and a handsome 
South porch, over which rises a tower surmounted by a stone 
broach spire, the whole 120 feet in height. The floors are tiled, 
the fittings of oak, the large windows glazed with stained or 
tinted glass. That in the East gable, of five lights, has a rose in 
its head, and in its central light a figure of the Saviour knocking 
at a closed door. The West window is of six lights ; the six windows 
in the nave are of two ; the transept windows are roses ; the pulpit 
of stone and marble; the font, octagonal, of Bath stone, carved 
with the Evangelistic emblems and the sacred monogram. Upon 
B, metal plate, built into the North wall of the Sacrarium, is the 
following inscription : — 

** Xlo tbe alorg ot (3o^ an& to tbe beloved memory ot *Ricbar& 
i)audban ot iBlmce place, J3atb ; born H.2>. 2 jfebruati^, 1803t 
^ntereb Into rest 2atb 5ulfi, 1893, J3b wbom tbie Cburcb waa 
tounDeJ) anb given to tbe *Rectorfi ot Mrajall tor tbe wor^btp 
ot HImtdbts (3ob accorbtng to tbe use ot tbe Cburcb ot Bnglan^ 
anb tor tbe benefit ot tbe inbabltanta ot jfatlanb in tbe pariab 
ot TRarajall tor ever, In tbe eeat ot our Xorb 1887* *SIe66eb 
are tbc^ tbat bwell in Zb^ l)0U6e: tbei^ will be still praising 
^bee/~p6alm Ijxjiv^ 4/' 



56 

The handsome residence of the curate, built in corresponding" 
style and of similar materials, stands in a weU-shrubbed lawn in 
convenient proximity to the church, the latest addition to which 
is a Jubilee clock. The cost of the church and house was £12,000* 

The school house and teachers' residence near at hand were 
built in 1839 upon a site purchased by subscription from Colonel 
Blagrave, the former being used for forty years for Divine service 
by the Wraxall clergy. A portion of the bequest of Mrs. Elizabeth 
Martindale (see * Parish Church Benefactions') was applied to the 
building fund. 

Placed, I presume for shelter, in a nook beneath the summit 
of the ridge, just where the road to Portbury commences its steep 
descent, was the old residence of the Jubbes, now a farmhouse, 
and still called * Jubbe's Court.' Some slight remains of founda- 
tions on the North are possibly those of a pond or garden. Of 
the family from which it derives its name very little is known. 
Matthew Jubbe was Sheriff of Bristol in 1495 ; Thomas Jubbe 
was in the commission of the peace for the Co. of Somerset, with 
Edward Gorges and others, in 1514-20-23, in which last year he 
was one of the collectors of subsidy from Bristol, *a learned 
lawyer-man and of the council of the Duke of Buckingham of 
Thcmbury Castle.' By his will, 1533, he desires to be buried at 
S. Thomas the Martyr, Bristol; speaks of his lands in Ireland^ 
and his books concerning the law ;, leaves all his lands, after the 
death of Maude his wife, to Francis Stradling; speaks of his 
daughters (step-daughters, it would seem), Alice and Margaret 
Younge ; and directs his wife and Francis Stradling, his executors, 
to " dispose of his estate for the wealthe of his soule in deedes of 
charity, as they will answer for it at the Daye of Judgement.'* 
Francis Stradling, who was of Easton in Gordano, had married 
his daughter, and dying in 1589 was buried there. He was the 



67 

son of Henry Stradling, second son of Thomas Stradling of St. 
Donats, Co. Glamorgan, Esq. 

It is not unKkely that the family of Baber, better known at a 
later date as connected with Chew Magna, had also its origin from 
hence. Its place of residence was styled * St, Baber's.' Its entries 
of birth and burial [there are no marriages] in the WraxaU 
Eegisters range from 1566 to. 1750. In the wiU of Catharine, 
wife of William Baber, of Failand, 1691 [buried at Wraxall 
1590; her husband, William Baber, in leoel, she mentions her 
father-in-law, George Tynte, and her daughter, Agnes CoUer. She 
was evidently an heiress. In 1598 John Crocke, of Phayland, 
makes William Baber overseer of his wiU. This William Baber 
was probably the brother of Edward Baber, of Chew Magna^ 
Sergeant-at-law, and uncle of John Baber, D.D., Yicar of Chew,. 
1589 — 1626, who was ancestor of Sir John Baber, Physician temp. 
James H. 

Close to Failand Hill House, the property and residence of 
Mrs. Brittan, itself just within the parish of Portbury, and com- 
manding a fine view across the Severn, stood a house of some size 
and importance, within the Wraxall boundary, upon the site now 
occupied by the poultry farm, and may not improbably have been 
inhabited by one of the families to which it is now impossible 
with any certainty to assign a location. Our choice lies between 
those of Baber, Sheppard, Harbord, and Madox, of the latter of 
which no trace remains, save the name of its dwelling, * Madox 
Court,' taken down about 1878. 

Approached hence by one of the narrow sunken lanes, which, 
avoiding the higher and lower levels, are carried along the slopes 
of the hill-sides, and are possibly Celtic in their origin, is the 
small scattered hamlet of Failand, in which some ivy-covered walls 
and gables represent an extinct tanning industry. In some meadow 



58 

lands known as * the small lands,' part of the lower Failand farm, 
the * balks * are visible, which indicate cultivation on the open field 
-system in former times. The village, once a considerable one, was 
thQ residence of several families of importance, amongst whom 
were the Medes of Medes Place, and those of Madox, Baber, 
Harbord, and Sheppard. All traces of their habitations have been 
^destroyed and their sites forgotten. 

FAMILY OF MEDB. 

This family, deriving its surname doubtless from original 
residence in the meadows, was possessed, before 1461, of an 
ancient capital messuage with 100 acres of land at Overton, in 
the parish of Arlingham, known as * Medes land' to this day."* 
But before that date we find ' Nicholas atte Mede ' assessed to the 
Exchequer lay subsidies in 1327-8, in the co. of Somerset."' 
From him descended Thomas Mede, **of the ancient family of 
Mede, of Medes place, in Feyland, in the parish of Wraxall, 
nr. Portbury, in the co. of Somerset, where anciently they had 
^jontinued." "* They were wealthy merchants and citizens of 
Bristol, in the parish of S. Mary EedclifEe. Thomas Mede, son 
•of Thomas aforesaid, was BailifE of Bristol in 1438, and SherifE 
in 1452. His son, or brother, Philip Mede, was Bailiff in 1444, 
Mayor in 1458, succeeding Canynges, and again in 1461 and 1468, 
M.P. in 1460,^^ and lord of Barrow, in Tickenham. He obtained 
valuable charters for the city from King Edward lY., 1461, 
raised in a single night a contingent of fighting men on the side 
of WiUiam Lord Berkeley, afterwards Marquis, at the battle of 

112 Smyth's Hund. of Berkeley, 65. 

lis Som. Rec. Soc., III. 236. 

11* Smyth's Lives of the Berkeleys, II. 172. Barrett's Bristol, p. 679. 

115 Seyer's Bristol, II. 189, 192, 194. Brist. and Gloucest. Archseol. Soc., 
XIX. 123. 



69 

^iblej Green, of wliicli more hereafter, 1470. His wife's name 
was Isable, mentioned in his will, by whom he had a son and heir, 
Eichard Mede, and a daughter Isabel, the wife of Maurice, brother 
of William Marquis Berkeley, and his successor as Baron of 
Berkeley. 

Philip Mede's WiU is dated 1471, and he died in 1475. 

Excerpta e testamento Philippi Mede, burgensis Bristol, Datum 11"?° 
• Januarii 1471. l-iego corpus sepeliendum in ecclesi^ Beats Marise de Redcliff, 
juxta altare Sancti Stephani Martyris. Vicario ecclesiae de Redcliffe 20 
solidos : fabricse ecclesiae unam pipam glasti (woad). Omnia maneria terras, 
&c., in comitatft Somerset et Bristol Isabellse uzori mese, remaneant Ricardo 
Mede filio meo, remaneant Maricio Berkeley et Margaretse filiae me» uxor! 
ejus. Ordino et constituo executores testamenti mei Isabellam uxorem meam, 
Mauricium Berkeley, Isabellam uxorem ejus filiam meam, et Ricardum 
fihum.ii« 

It is clear, therefore, that the fine monument now to be 
described is that of the testator, and not of his father, as has been 
surmised. 

The eastern end of the North aisle of the choir of S. Mary 
Eedcliffe Church was the Mede Chantry, dedicated in honour of 
S. Stephen, and founded perhaps by Philip Mede. Its ornaments, 
valued at LII? viij? were, in 1547-8, confiscated to the King's 
use.^^^ The beautiful heavily-canopied double altar- tomb standing 
out from its north wall may possibly have been erected by him, 
and furnished with its effigies either then or at a later date, the 
adjoining compartment being left for future use. They underlie 
a handsome continuous canopy of rich 1 5th century stone carving, 
-supported by demi-angels bearing open books, and wearing upright 
caps with hexagonal flowers upon their heads. Above them rise 

11* Witnessed by Magister Johannes Mede, Rector de Wraxall. A trans- 
lation is printed in the Rev. T. P. Wadley's Book of Wills. Bristol 
and Gloucester Archseol. Soc., p. 157. 

^^■^ Inventories of Church Goods, 6 Edw. VI. Brist. and Glouc. Archseol. 
Soc, XII. 99. 



60 

crocketed and finialled niches, surmounted by cornice and cresting-. 
Within the western recess are full-length recumbent effigies of a. 
man and his wife, their heads resting upon cushions supported by" 
angels. The man is bare-headed, his hair combed back, and is clad 
in a sleeveless mantle, from which emerge the arms and cuffs of an. 
undergown, a scarf hangs from his left shoulders, and a leathern 
gypciere from hie girdle, his feet resting upon a couchant dog. His- 
wife wears a broad fillet across her forehead, her head-dress fallings 
back, a tight-fitting gown with cuffs at the wrists, and a short 
girdle, her pointed shoes enveloped in the folds of her dress, 
resting upon two little dogs. On the wall behind the effigies is a 
shield with the Arms of Mede : * Gu., a chevron ermine between 
3 trefoils slipped arg.' {or or), and upon a fillet of brass along its- 
front an incomplete inscription; *\ . . preWcti ^boma^ ItC^Cf 
ac tet maioria iatiua villas J6tidtoUia^ qui obt. 20 bie men6i& 
2)ecembri0 Bnno Dfii 1475 quorum anfmabus propfcfetur Deus^ 
ilmcn," It is reasonable to suppose that the missing word before^ 
^ pr edict t^ may have been ^Jilius ' or ^ /rater. ' "' 

At the back of the adjoining and vacant tomb against the 
north wall beneath its canopy, is an oblong mural brass plate,"® 
upon which are incised kneeling fig^es of a man and his wife, a 
second female standing behind him. He is of youthful appearance^ 
with smooth face and long flowing hair, and is clad in complete^ 
plate armour, over which is his surcoat of arms — (gu.) ' a chevron 
ermine between 3 trefoils slipped (arg) ' — and is without spurs, his 
helmet lying on the ground. His wife wears a pedimental head- 
dress with veil hanging down behind, necklace and girdle, and plain 
gown, over which is her mantle emblazoned with her arms: *(gu),. 

118 There is a good plate of the tomb in Skelton's Antiquities of Bristol^ 
No. 33. Barrett's Bristol, 585. 

"» Engraved in 'Bristol : Past and Present,' 11. 208. 



61 

2 (or 3) lions rampant (arg).'"^ The standing figure is similarly 
clad, but without mantle. Erom the kneeling figures arise the 
legends: **sancta ^rinitaB, unue 2)eu0, miaerere nobis;*' and 
"pater Dc cclie 2)eu6, miBccere nobia," addressed to the Holy 
Eather, whose radiated demi-figure supported by a cloud, His hands 
raised in blessing, is engraved above. This is no doubt the 
monument of Eichard Mede, son and heir of Philip aforesaid, and 
his two wives Julian (or Elizabeth), daughter of John Arthur of 
Clapton in Gordano, Esq., and Anne, daughter of Thomas 
Pauncefote of Hasfield, co. Gloucester, Esq. (she remarried Arthur 
Kemys),^^^ and is identified by her Arms. Eichard was of Barrow 
•Court in Tickenham, and had issue, who died young, and dying 
iimself in or about 1488, his sister Margaret (or Isabel) became 
his heir. 

She was a widow, and the mother of three children who had all 
•died young, when in 1465 she married Maurice Berkeley, of 
Thornbury, brother and heir-apparent of William, afterwards 
Marquis, Berkeley, bringing to her husband lands in Somerset, and 
the lease of Modes Place for 21 years.^*^ As heir to her brother 
she inherited lands and tenements in the co. of Gloucester, in 
Bedminster, Eelonde, Ashton, Wraxale, and Middle Tykenham, 
and had for her jointure others in Thornbury and elsewhere. 

Maurice Berkeley was thirty years old at the time of his marriage, 
which was a very happy one, and when in 1469 the long- continued 
feud between his own and the Shrewsbury families culminated in 
the battle of Nibley-Green, for which his brother had gathered an 
^rmy of a thousand men, he "stole from his young wife and tender 

120 Visitation of Gloucestershire 1623. Harleian Soc., p. 257. 

121 Colli nson's Somerset, III. 178. I suppose she carried to the second 

husband portions of the Mede property, because I find Roger Kemys 
in possession of Barrow Court, in Tickenham, 3 Eliz. (see post, p. 12). 

1*2 Smyth's Lives of the Berkeley s, II. 173 ; quoted by Seyers, I. 488, and 
Barrett, 256. Seyers, I. 488. 



62 

son, the hope at that time of both their posterities, and joined hink 
with a fair band of men suddenly raised from Thombury, where- 
he then dwelt." The story of the battle and the death of Lord 
Lisle are too well known to need repetition here.^^ But it was a 
poor return for the fraternal support afforded to Lord Berkeley, 
that Maurice should be disinherited from the Lordship and Castle 
of Berkeley, which his brother, in return for a Marquisate, 
alienated to King Henry VI., ^'* disingenuously alleging displeasure- 
at the mesalliance he had formed. The historian, however, does 
justice to the lady. 

"How little cause the Marquis Berkeley had to complain of the 
obscure parentage of the lady Isable, which he vainly called base, 
and of the unworthiness of his brother's match with so mean 
blood as he reproached it, making that a motive to his own vast 
expenses, and of the disinheritance of this Lord his brother, lest 
any of her base blood should inherit after him, may to his further 
reproof be returned upon his memory, to be but a feigned and 
unbrotherly quarrel picked on purpose to give colour to his own 
exorbitances. Like vain were his exceptions to his said brother 
and heir, for defending the virtue of his wife and worthiness of 
her parentage. She was a virtuous lady, and evermore content 
with better or harder fortunes." ^^ 

Surviving her husband nine years, and dying at Coventry 
1516-17, set 70, she was carried with great funeral pomp to London 
and buried by his side in the Church of the Augustinian 
Friars (burnt down in 1666), leaving issue three sons, of whom the 
eldest, Maurice, succeeded to the Barony, and one daughter. 

In addition to the monumental inscriptions in S. Mary Eedcliffe 

123 Bristol and Gloucester Archaeological Soc, III. 315. 

124: They remained in the Crown until 1557, when they were restored to- 

the family. Smyth's Lives of the Berkeleys, II. 277- 
125 Smyth's Lives of the Berkeleys, 11. 173. 



63 

Cliurch already noted, the following remains to be accounted for^ 
It is described as having been upon the floor at the foot of the- 
Mede Monument :—"l)fc jacct Jobanne0 iiscbc, butflcnsis villjc 
J5ri6tonfJC, qui obtlt 17" We mensf0 Bprflfs, B.D. 1496, ct juita 
eum requicBcit Blicta user ejus, quorum animabud ptopicletut 
S)eU6. amen/* 126 He may possibly have been a brother of Philip 
Mede, and perhaps the Master John Mede, Rector of Wraxall, 
who was one of the witnesses of his Will, and who was presented 
to the Eectory by Sir Theobald Gorges in 1467 ; but if so, he must 
have retired from his benefice before 1493. We find one of his. 
Christian name witnessing, in 1441, the Will of Eobert Hall of " 

Bristol/" 

No other members of the family are to be traced hereabouts,, 
but in the Visitation of Cambridgeshire, 1619,^" is a pedigree 
deduced from Thomas Meade of co. Somerset, and continued for 
several generations, with the same armorial shield, and additional 
quarterings of EuUer, Brakin, and Chichele. Thomas Mott of 
Bocking, Essex, married Alice Meade, with the same arms/^ 
Medes Place must have passed, soon after the death of Lady Isable 
in 1516, to the family of Morgan, lords of the manor of Easton in 
Gordano,— for by his will, 1567^*^, Thomas Morgan of Feilond, 
gent., leaves to Edmund of Morgan, his eldest son, *the house of 
Eeilonde called Medes Court/ It is thought to have been situated 
upon the high land known as * the bowling green/ and in that case 
had a magnificent situation . 

^^» Barrett's Bristol, 585. 

^27 Rev. J, P. Wadley's Notes of Bristol Wills, 131. 

128 Visitation of Cambridge, Harleian Soc, 69, Trans, of Mon. Brass Soc, 
III. 13. 

i2» Visitations of Essex, 1552-8, Harleian Soc., 458. 

130 Somerset Wills, I. 87. 



64 



FAMILY OF HARBORD. 

Another family deriving its origin from this parish, its place 
t)f residence also unknown, is that of Harbord, maternal ancestors 
of Baron Suffield, who adopted this surname in lieu of Morden in 
1742. 

The name occurs in connection with Wraxall in 1327-8, when 
'Johannes Herberd' is assessed to the Exchequer Lay Subsidy, 
and in 1419, when Agnes, relict of Thomas Gorges, leaves bequests 
to *Eichard Herbard/"^ 

Eichard Gorges, who died in 1480, married Matilda, widow 
of Eichard Harbord. She re-married thirdly Sir Henry Eoos, 
who by his will, 1504, left legacies to Ann and Matilda Harbord, 
presumably daughters of her first marriage. She died in 1511, 
leaving bequests to Thomas Harbord her son, and to his daughter 
Elizabeth, and directing masses to be said for John Harbord. 

The Wraxall Eegisters contain no entries of marriage or of 
burial, but record their baptisms from 1596 to 1611. 

They migrated hence to Welton, in Midsomer-Norton, in which 
parish many of them were buried.'^ 

William Harbord, or Harvord, of Welton, styled * mariner,' 
and so possibly the owner or commander of a privateer, married 
Dorothy, daughter of Eichard Sheppard by Elizabeth his wife, 
relict of Edmund Tynte, both of Wraxall. In his will, 1615,i3» ]^^ 
mentions his sons Charles, Samuel, and John, and his daughter 
Frances, under seventeen at that date.^^ His monument in the 
Church of Midsomer Norton, without armorial shield but adorned 

isi Will of Agnes Gorges, 1419, among the Gorges papers at Wraxall 
Rectory. Clifton Antiqvxirian Chib Transactions, iv. 241. 

132 Collinson*s Somerset, II. 151. 

133 Somerset Wills, VI. 99, 100. 

13* He had another daughter, Elizabeth, who married first Michael 
Meredith, and secondly Coxe. Will 1655.— Somerset Wills, III. 56. 



65 

with. Jacobean carvings, was restored by bis son, Sir Charles 
Harbord, in 1678. Edward Tynte of Chelvey, Esq., by bis will, 
1629, left a gold ring to his nephew, Mr. Charles Harbord. 

Sir Charles Harbord, bom at Wraxall about 1595, was Surveyor- 
General to Kings Charles I. and 11., was of Stanning HaJl, co. 
Norfolk, and Morehall, co. Herts. He married Mary, daughter of 
John Yan Alst of Flanders, and by her (who died 5th Sept., 1666, 
set. 6i) had issue four sons and three daughters, all mentioned in 
his will 1678.^ He was buried at Besthorpe, co. Norfolk, 
11th June, 1679.13* 

His eldest son, Philip Harbord, married Anne, sister and co-heir 
of Anthony Drury of Besthorpe, Esq. (she died Jan. 1678-9), and 
by her had two daughters, Anne and Elizabeth, mentioned in their 
giandfather's Will as under age in 1678. He died in 1687. 

William Harbord, the second son, was of Grafton Park, co. 
Northants, Ranger of St. James' Park, and Ambassador to the 
Ottoman Porte. He married first Mary, daughter and co-heir of 
Arthur Duck, LL.B., Master of Requests, of Chiswick, co. 
Middlesex, and Grafton Park, inheriting that estate jure uxoris, by 
whom he had three daughters and co-heirs ; 1, Margaret, married in 
1689 to Robert King second Baron Kingston of Ireland, died 
without issue 1998; 2, Mary, wife of Sir Edward Ayscougb of 
Soutb Kelsey, co. Line, by whom she had two daughters ; and 3, 
Grace, who married Thomas Hatcher of Kirkly, co. Line, and died 
without issue in 1703. William Harbord married secondly 
Catherine, daughter of Edward Russell and sister of Edward Earl 
of Orford, and by her had issue a fourth daughter and co-heir, 

135 Somerset Wills, VI. 99, 100. 

136 Baker's Northamptonshire, II. 172. In 1670, for his services as Auditor 

of the Duchy of Cornwall, Surveyor-General of all the Royal Manors 
and of the jointures of Queens Henrietta and Catherine, he had an 
augmentation of honour to his Coat of Arms (already granted by 
Sir William Segar, * Quarterly azure and gules 3 lions rampant 
argent*) of a fourth lion and an imperial crown. 

5 



66 

Letitia, married 1703 to Sir Eowland Winn of Nostell Priory^ 
CO. York, third Baronet, from whom descend Barons Headley and 
St. Oswald. 

Sir Charles Harbord, the third son, a captain E.N., unmarried^ 
w^as killed at sea in action against the Dutch in 1672, and buried 
in Westminster Abbey. 

John Harbord, the fourth son, of Gunton, co. Norfolk, married 
Catharine, daughter of Sir John Eous of co. Suffolk, but dying 
without issue in 1710, left that estate to his nephew, Harbord 
Oropley, of whom below, who took the name of Harbord. 

Anne Harbord, the eldest daughter of Sir Charles, married 
Eichard Newman, of Fivehead Magdalene. Hester Harbord, the 
second, married Simon BritifEe of Cley, co. Norfolk. 

Catherine Harbord, the third, married, first Thomas Wright of 
Kilverston, co. Norfolk, by whom she had issue ; and secondly 
William Cropley of Haughley, co. Suffolk, by whom she had 
issue : 1, Harbord Cropley, above mentioned, heir of his uncle, 
John Harbord, and 2, Judith Cropley, the wife of John Morden 
of Suffield; their son William Morden, afterwards Sir William 
Harbord, Bart., K.B., assuming that name by act of Parliament, 
1 742, under the Will of his maternal uncle, Harbord Harbord of 
Gunton, formerly Cropley. Sir William married Elizabeth, 
daughter and co-heir of Eobert Britiffe, of Baconsthorpe, co. 
Norfolk, and had issue — 

Sir Harbord Harbord, of Gunton, second Baronet, created Baron 
Suffield of Suffield 1786, who married Mary, daughter and co-heir 
of Sir Ealph Assheton, third Baronet, of Middleton, co. Lane. 

Pailand Lodge occupies the site of the original "Failand Inn,*' a 
well-known hostelry at which a Club of the neighbouring gentry was 
wont to meet, the magistrates holding petty sessions here. It stood 
upon the open down, until its enclosure in 1812, when the direction 




TYNTESFIELD, GARDEN FRONT PRIOR TO 1843. 
From ▲ Water-colour Drawing. 

From a Photograph by Rev. W. A. Woodward. 




TYNTESFIELD, ENTRANCE FRONT PRIOR TO 1843. 
.From a Watkr-cololr Drawing. 

Fruni a Photograph by Kev. W. A. WooDWAun. 



67 

of tlie Hgh road was altered, and the present inn substituted for tlio 
older one. It was leased in 1756 hy Sir Charles Kemys Tynte to 
Canon Wilkins of Easton in Gordano, Esq. The house, rebuilt by 
George Penrose Seymour of Belmont, Esq., was let as a private 
residence, until in 1839 a boarding school for the education of boys 
of the middle classes, one of the earliest attempts of the kind, 
was established here by a committee of gentlemen. It flourished 
for 41 years, upwards of 1200 boys receiving their education here, 
at the expiration of which time, having become the property of 
Antony Gibbs of Tyntesfield, Esq., its present owner, it became a 
laundry, and was afterwards let to a market gardener. Near the 
house stood a pedestal of stones, once perhaps the base of a cross, 
and called by that name, but destroyed by misadventure for 
repairing the road. Upon the high ground further to the west 
was a monument of greater interest, no longer in existence, but 
undoubtedly a cromlech of prehistoric antiquity, the destruction of 
which is much to be deplored. 



Tyntesfield. 

FAMILY OF TYNTB. 

The family of Tynte, giving its name to this place, although 
subsequently associated in local history with the neighbouring 
manor of Chelvey still in its possession, had certainly its origin in 
Wraxall, in and about which it was widely spread, its members 
holding the position of * franklins,' freeholders, or yeomen, in 
Backwell, Flax Bourton, Long Ashton, Chew Magna, Winford, and 
other adjoining parishes. 

In 1404 Eobert Tynte of Wraxall granted to John Wale and 



\ 



68 

his son lands and reversions in Wale's Place, Portbury, and 
Easton in Gordano.^* 

In 1410 Thomas Lord Berkeley granted to John Tynte and 
Alice his wife, with reversion to Eobert Tynte and Isabella his 
wife and their heirs, Whelpes place in this parish,^^ conjecturaHy 
bearing reference to the lioncel in their arms. 

There are Wills of John Tynte of Wraxall, franklin, 1542 ; 
John Tynte of .Long Ashton, 1550 ; Isabel Tynte of Long Ashton, 
1558; John Tynte of Wraxall, 1563; Eobert Tynte of Wraxall, 
1577; Edmund Tynte of Backwell, yeoman, 1577; Edmund 
Tynte of WraxaU, yeoman, 1570, without date of proof. ^*** 

Edmund Tynte married Elizabeth, daughter of John Panther 
or Panter of Keynsham (who married secondly, in 1571,"^ Bichard 
Sheppard, their daughter Dorothy becoming the wife of William 
Harbord of Midsomer Norton, ancestor of Baron Suffield) and 
had issue — 

I. Edmund Tynte, ob. 1670, aged 6. 

II. John Tynte of Wraxall, Esq., of the Middle Temple, 
Barrister-at-Law, styled in the Register of Burials *the 
Counsellor,' who married Eebecca, daughter of Richard 
Stevens, Esq., but dying without issue in 1616 passed on 
his property to his brother."^ 

III. Edward Tynte, Esq., who married here, in 1613,^*^ Anne, 
daughter of Sir Edward Gorges of Charlton, and by her 
had issue as below. He purchased the manor of Chelvey ^^^ 

188 Strachey Papers. Add. MSS., Brit. Mug. 

ISO Deed in the possession of Antony Gibbs of Tyntesfield, Esq. 

1*0 Rev. F. Brown's Somerset Wills, VI. 88, 90, 92, etc. 

1*1 His monumental brass tablet in Wraxall Church. 

14:2 Wraxall Registers, 

1*3 His gravestone in Chelvey Church, 



69 

from his brotlier-iii-law, John Aishe, Esq., and resided 
there. He died and was buried there 1629.^*' Will same 
date.^*° His wife was buried there, 1660.^*^ 
ly. William Tynte, to whom his father left lands at Bourton. 

Y. Sir Eobert Tynte, went to Ireland, was founder of the family 
now represented by Joseph Pratt Tynte of Tynte's Park, 
CO. Wicklow. WiU 1643:^** left bequest towards the 
re-edifying of the Tynte's house at Wraxall. 
VI. Dorothy Tynte, married William Harbord. 

VII. Florence Tynte, married Thomas Sheppard. 

Edward Tynte, Esq., the second son, and heir to his brother 
John, had issue — "*^ 

1. John Tynte, Esq., bom 1618, General in the Eoyal Army. 

M.P. for Bridgwater 1661, thrice married — first to a lady 
of Devon, by whom he had a daughter married to John, 
eldest son of Francis Baber, D.C.L., of Chew-Magna ; 
secondly to Jane, daughter and heir of the Rev. Hugh 
Hals well. Rector of Cheriton, Hants, by whom he had 
issue Sir Halswell Tynte, first baronet, ancestor of 
the Kemys-Tyntes of that place, and Cefn Mably, co. 
Glamorgan; thirdly at Bradford, Wilts, 1663, to Prances, 
daughter of Francis Trenchard of Cutteridge, co. Wilts, 
by Elizabeth his wife, daughter of Sir Edward Gorges of 
Wraxall. (She re-married Sir Edward Nevill, Baron of 
the Exchequer, and died in 1714.) He died 1670. 
Will 1669.1** 

2. Robert Tynte, buried at Chelvey 1636, set. 16.i*« 

144 Rev. F. Brown's Somerset Wills, VI. 90-93. 

i*s Visitation of Somerset, 1623. Harleian Soc, 113. 

1*® His gravestone in Chelvey Church. 



70 

3. Sir Hugh Tynte of Peperharrow, co. Surrey, a cavalier 

officer 1643-9, Mayor of Guildford 1688. By his wife 
Penelope, daughter of Sir Philip Prowde, he had no 
issue. (She married secondly Nathaniel, Baron Crewe, 
Lord Bishop of Durham.) Will 1690."* 

4. Eev. Edward Tynte, Vicar of Yatton 1666-79. His eldest 

son, Colonel Edward Tynte, Will 1709,"* was Governor 
of Carolina. 

5. Dorothie Tynte, 1 
unmarried. 



1 



6. Florence Tynte, 

Among the Boyalist Composition papers in the Eecord Office is 
a memorandum by John Tynte of Chelvey, Esq., in his own 
handwriting : 

** 1646, Feb. 2. Sir Robert Tynte, his uncle, has bequeathed 
to him £1000, according to his Will Ap. 3, 1643, part of the 
£4000 due to him. Sir Eobert, from His Majesty and House of 
Parliament in England, being lent in ready coin or ticket for the 
use of His Majesty's army in Ireland, £1000 thereof [increased 
by codicil. May 10, to £2000] he freely doth give and bequeath 
to the compounder, John Tynte, towards the re-edifying and 
repairing of the house in Wraxall, Somerset, being the ancient 
house of his ancestors, for which John Tynte prayeth that he may 
be admitted to a composition." 

From the Journals of the House of Commons, Oct. 3, 1646 : 

"Whereas the House did order Ap. 3, 1642, that Sir Robert 
Tynte should have the public faith of the kingdom for the repay- 
ment of £4000 with interest borrowed of him by the Lord 
President of Munster ; that the said Sir Eobert Tynte being now 
dead, and that Captain Sir William Tynte ^*^ having the money in 
his possession when it was borrowed, It is now ordered for the 
1*'' Eldest son and heir of Sir Robert Tynte. 



71 

comfort and satisfaction of the said Captain Sir William Tynte 
that Sir J. WoUaston, Treasurer at Guildhall, do give the public 
faith for what is due of principal and interest to Captain Sir 
William Tynte and his assigns." 

It is doubtful whether any portion of the legacy above 
mentioned was actually expended upon the repairs of the Wraxall 
mansion, John Tynte preferring Chelvey Court as his residence, 
and adding to it, inter alia, an ornate entrance porch on the east, 
bearing his arms and those, as is supposed, of his third wife. The 
old family house at Wraxall was approached through an avenue of 
fine elms. Sir Charles Harbord, Kt., by his will (1678), left a 
bequest to the inhabitants of Wraxall for apprenticing two boys, 
at the discretion of * my worthy kinsman and friend, Hugh Tynte, 
Esq., or his heirs, being owners of that ancient Mansion House, 
wherein he now dweUeth in Wraxall aforesaid.' ^** 

The stately residence of Antony Gibbs, Esq., deriving its name 
from one of the enclosures of the property, stands upon or very 
near to the site of the ancient mansion of the Tynte family, of 
which no vestige remains, known as * Tynte's Place.' Degraded 
to the condition of a farm-house, and subsequently known from 
its occupiers as *Brodribbs,' * Sadler's,' &c., its exceptionally 
beautiful situation attracted the attention, in 1813, of John 
Penrose Seymour, Esq. (at that time owner of the adjoining estate 
of Belmont), who purchased the place, his son and successor, the 
Eev. George Turner Seymour, erecting a handsome mansion upon 
it. His widow alienated it in 1843 to William Gibbs, Esq., the 
father of its present proprietor, and he by many successive addi- 
tions and alterations, whereby much of the former fabric became 
buried within the loftier walls of the later structure, completed 
the existing palatial building. The architect mainly responsible 
1*8 Somerset Wills, Rev. F. Brown, VI. 99. 



72 

was Mr. John Norton, of Bristol. Sir Arthur Blomfield, A.E A., 
was the builder of the beautiful chapel, and Mr. Henry Woodyer, 
of Guildford, of subsequent additions, notably the drawing-room, 
cloister, and the bays of the eastern facade. 

The position is one of extreme loveliness, the stone-built 
mansion, of imposing architectural elevation, occupying a terraced 
plateau at half-height upon the hillside, amid sheltering woods, 
which, clothing the limestone range with indigenous and artificial 
growth, are traversed by glades and dingles of varied beauty. 
The prospect from the house, which faces South and West^ is of 
unusually wide extent, including the rich intervening pastoral 
valley from Dundry to the Mendips and the Bristol Channel, whose 
broad silver streak, broken by its * holmes ' and horizoned by the 
mountains of Wales, is a notable feature in the charming combi- 
nation of sea and land, hill and plain, woodland and meadow, 
outstretched at length, in which may be noticed the church towers 
of Dundry, Barrow Gumey, Flax Bourton, Backwell, Wraxall, 
Nailsea, Tickenham, Yatton, and Clevedon. 

Entered on the East through an arched porch,"^ forming the 
lower portion of a high-roofed, clock -bearing, pinnacled tower, a 
corridor leads into the centre of the house, and has on either side 
the spacious dining-room and the library, the former enlarged in 
1888 by the addition of three stone-mullioned bays carried up to 
the story above ; the latter a noble room with open timber roof, 
recessed windows, carved chimney-piece and cornice, and book- 
lined walls with their numerous valuable treasures."^ Through a 
spacious and lofty staircase-hall, with large stone fireplace, a 

1*® Over the door, with the quartered shield of Gibbs and Bucks, is the 
gracious salutation— « pay ^ntrantibua, Salus Hbcuntibua.' 

150 Among these may be mentioned an unique copy of *Bigland's Glou- 
cestershire,' with all its subsequent additions ; a Chaucer on vellum 
from the Kelmscott Press; an illuminated MS. Service Book, and 
the fourth folio of Shakespeare in metal German binding. 




Q 

O 
O 



I 



I- 

Z 

o 

Ll 

I 
I- 



UJ 
LL 
CO 
LU 

I- 

z 



73 

morning-room and music-room on either hand, an anteroom, in 
whicli are two remarkable panels of Windsor tapestry ^^^ specially 
designed and manufactured for their owner, gives access to the- 
great drawing-room, to which a handsome carved-stone cloister 
verandah was added on the South in 1885. This noble apartment, 
open to its roof, and having an elaborately decorated alabaster 
fireplace, contains, amongst other noticeable objects, a magnificent 
Japanese screen,^^^ originally made for the Mikado ; a curious 
Italian ivory casket of the 14th century;^ and upon its walls 
large pictures by Turner and Creswick, the first representing the« 
temple of Jupiter at JEgina, in the artist's best and earliest 
manner, the second St. Michael's Mount in Cornwall, with the 
addition of figures on horseback by Ansdell. There is also here^ 
a Holy Family, by Bellini ; and in the other rooms and upon the^ 
staircase (among many family portraits and other pictures of much 
excellence, notably the fine full-length of William Gibbs, Esq., by 
Sir William Boxall) are — S.S. Laurence and Antony, by Zurbaran ; 
The Mater Dolorosa, by Murillo ; a portrait of a Dutch gentleman, 
by Frans Hals ; * Le petit chaudron,' by Eubens ; The Temple of 
Osiris at Philse, by MuUer ; Southampton Water, by Sir Augustus 
CaUcott; a Yiew of Eome, by Eichard Wilson; and Yenus^ 
Disrobing, by Etty. 

To the north of the drawing-room is the biUiard-room, adjoining^ 

151 These represent scenes of Somerset history connected with King 
Alfred, and have the arms of the family in their borders. They will 
always be of great rarity, the manufactory established by Queen 
Victoria having been abandoned. 

15 2 Made by special skilled craftsmen, who laboured upon it for six years, 
and expended upon it the most costly materials and laquer; it 
represents *The Legend of Kiku-Jido,' its back panels *The 
pilgrimage to Mount Fugi.' 

163 Upon this, in carved panels, is the romance of 'The Chevalier au 
Signe,* a wonderful history of a Queen, whose seven children were 
turned into swans, which has been illustrated by Lord Aldenham for 
the Early English Text Society from au unique MS. in the British 
Museum. 



74 

wMcli a handsome erection of glass and iron, forming a capacioas 
■winter-garden and conservatory, lias superseded tlie smaller edifice 
of the same kind constructed by the Eev. G. T. Seymour. 

Upon the steep slope which rises immediately from the house 
on the north-east stands the magnificent chapel, unrivalled as an 
Appendage to a private gentleman's residence, built on the plan of 
a college chapel in the Decorated style, with lofty high-pitched roof 
and bell-turret, its interior rich in mosaic pavements, stained-glass 
windows, and costly adornments, a fine organ in its western stone- 
oarved gallery, and its external doorway on the north protected by 
a choice specimen of delicately- wrought ironwork. 

Upon brass plates, within a blank arcade, and beneath beautiful 
marble and metal memorial crosses in the north wall, are the 
following : — 

"IN LOVING MEMORY OF WILLIAM GIBBS. 

'the hoary head is a crown of glory, if it be found 

IN the way of righteousness.' " 

''AatflDa JSlancbe (3fbb6 beneatb tbfa Croda 

tounb bafli? comfort In prai?er anb praise* JSorn 2)cc. t7, t8t7. 

2)(Cb Sep- 22, 1887/' 

"A. A. G. ANIMA SIMPLEX REQUIESCIT IN PACE. 
RESPICE HUMILITATEM ANCILL^ TU^, DOMINE." 

<« W. G.— G. A. G. IN HOC SACELLO JAMPRIDEM ORARE SOLITI 
IN CHRISTO PLACIDE OBDORMIVERUNT." 

"ALICIA BLANCHE CONJUGI BENEMERENTI DULCISSIMiE 

DESIDERATISSIM^ QU^ VIXIT IN CONJUGIO 

{AH ! BREVIS LUX] ANNOS IV. ET OBDORMIVIT IN DOMINO, 

ANN. XXVII. NATA, FECIT ALFREDUS GURNEY MARITUS, 

SPE DUM OMNIA RESTITUERENTUR EXPECTANS. 

HANG TU, CHRISTE, CHORIS JUNGAS C^LESTIBUS ORO, 
TK CANAT, ET PLACIDUM JUGITER ASPICIAT, 

ET DILECTA TUO QU^ SEMPER PENDET AB ORE 
AUXILIUM SOBOLI CONJUGIOQUE FBRAT." 




CO 

q: 

UJ 

o 

CO 

LL 
O 



z 

O 

o 

UJ 

X 

I- 



UJ 

u. 

CO 

111 

I- 
z 



75 

A little higher on the hillside is the pleasant Chaplain's house, 
and near it the engine-house, from whence electric light is supplied 
to every part of the premises; while eastward are the stables, 
forming a handsome quadrangle, and southward, where they are 
concealed from view by the fall of the ground and the intervening 
trees, extensive kitchen gardens with handsome stone orangery, 
spacious ranges of glass houses, and convenient residences for the 
gardeners. Picturesque stone lodges at all the entrances of the 
park, their gates * opening of their own accord,' being worked by 
internal windlasses ; intermediate lodges for domestic servants ; 
and a * water-catch ' on the crest of the hill, an ingenious con- 
trivance, whereby the rainfall upon an acre of enclosed and 
asphalted ground is intercepted, and conveyed by pipes to the 
house below, are only some of the many admirable appliances of 
an exceptionally perfect and delightful residence. 

Within the demesne, at some distance to the east, another 

mansion-house, Belmont, is now included. This was a separate 

estate, the property at the end of the 18th century of William 

Turner, Esq.,^ who built the house upon the site of an older 

cottage, and laid out walks in the wood behind it, one of them 

planted with an avenue of yews.^^ Engaged to marry Miss 

Hannah More, he employed selections from her poems to ornament 

his grounds, placing them upon tablets of wood, two of which have 

recently been repainted and restored to their original positions. 

IS* ColUnson's Somerset, III. 165. 

15 5 At the east end of this, upon a stone basement supporting an urn of 
oblong shape, are the following inscriptions : 

" To the memory of the most worthy and my ever esteemed Joseph Parell, Esq., 
this token of love and friendship. Willm Turner, D.D.D. 1778." 

"Ye who revere celestial friendship's name, 
'Who boast her influence, and who feel her flame, 
Oh 1 if from early youth one friend yoti 've loved 
Whom fair afi'ection chose, and taste approv'd ; 
If you have felt what angnish rends the heart, 
When such, so known, so lov'd, for ever part, 
Approach ! for you .the mourner rears this stone 
To sooth your s(»tow8, ^nd record his own." 



76 

Djing here, and buried in the Cathedral yard at Bristol, he was 
succeeded by his nephew John Penrose Seymour, whose eldest son, 
the Key. George Turner Seymour, the builder of Tyntesfield, as 
already stated, sold this property to George Gibbs, Esq., cousin of 
William Gibbs, Esq., the subsequent owner of both, and re-builder 
of Tyntesfield. George Gibbs dying without issue, Behnont passed 
in reyersion to George Lewis Monck Gibbs, who sold it to his 
uncle. The central portion of the house, which was a commodious 
and substantial one, has been deprived of its floors, furnished with 
a glazed roof, and turned into a racquet-court, while its rooms 
in either wing remain available for residential purposes. 

FAMILY OF GIBBS. 

William Gibbs, Esq., purchaser of Tyntesfield in 1844, and 
foimder of the Somerset family, was bom at Madrid, 22nd May, 
1790, second son of Antony Gibbs, a Spanish merchant, by 
Dorothea-Bametta his wife, daughter of William Hucks of 
Knaresborough, Esq. He was partner in the firm of Antony 
Gibbs & Sons, and head of the house in 1842 — 1875 ; a munificent 
benefactor of the English Church, of which he was a devoted son, 
building at his own cost the magnificent Chapel of Keble College, 
Oxford; the Church and vicarage of St. Michael, Exeter; the 
Church of St. Michael, Paddington [for the most part] ; the Church 
of Maxley, co. Gloucester; the vicarage of Exwick, and the 
Chapel at Cowley, both in co. Devon. He contributed largely to 
the restoration of Exeter Cathedral, and of many parish churches, 
of which Backwell was one ; he was patron of the benefices of 
Clyst St. George and Exwick, co. Devon, and Stow-nine-churches, 
CO. Northampton. He married, August 1st, 1839, at Elaxley, 
Matilda Blanche, daughter of Sir Thomas Crawley-Boevy of 
Elaxley Abbey, Bart., and by her, who died September 22nd, 1887^ 




a: 

LU 



lij 

< 

X 

o 



I- 

(O 

o 

X 

o 

X 
O 

LU 

I 
h 



co 

ffl 
ffl 

o 
< 



Ll 
O 

H 
Z 
LU 

IE 

D 
Z 
O 



77 

and was buried at Wraxall, had issue as below. He died here, 
April 3rd, 1875, and was buried at Wraxall. Inscriptions to his 
memory in the parish church will be noted under that heading; 
his name and that of his wife being also commemorated on the 
table of benefactors in Keble College Chapel, and in the Church 
of St. Michael, Paddington. 

At St. Michael's Church, Exeter, beneath a handsome recessed 
tomb in the north wall of the sanctuary, bearing his full-length 
recumbent effigy, covered with a sheet and clasping a Bible, is the 
following: ** William Gibbs, a merchant of London, but by parent- 
age and affection a man of Devon, in his life did many good works 
for the love of Christ, as elsewhere, so especially in the city of 
Exeter. One such work — the erection of the Church of SS. Michael 
and All Angels for the use of the poor of the neighbourhood — is 
here recorded by his widow and surviving children, to the end that 
the remembrance of his loving- kindness and piety may not pass 
away." 

There are busts of his wife and himself at Tyntesfield by 
Macdonald, and portraits there by Sir William Boxall, and one in 
Keble College Hall by W. Eichmond, E A., a replica of which is at 
Barrow Court. 

His children were — 

1. Dorothea Harriet, born June 12th, 1840. 
n. Antony Gibbs, bom December 10th, 1841, of Exeter 
CoUege, Oxford ; M.A., 1869 ; High Sheriff of Somerset, 
1888 ; Deputy-Lieutenant, 1889. With his brother he 
gave to Keble College its hall and library : is of Charlton 
and Tyntesfield, to both of which he has made large 
additions, and has splendidly restored his Parish Church 
of Wraxall. He is patron of his father's benefices, and 
of Alphington, co. Devon ; Otterbourne, co. Southampton ; 



78 

Flax Bourton, and Nortli Newton, co. Somerset ; and a 
benefactor to King^s College, Taunton. He married at 
St. Michael's, Paddington, 22nd June, 1872, Janet Louisa, 
eldest daughter of John Louis Merivale, Esq., and has 
issue — 

1. George Abraham, bom July 6th, 1873 ; educated 

at Eton and Christ Church, Oxford; B.A., 1897. 
Captain North Somerset Yeomanry, and now of 
the Imperial Yeomanry. 

2. Antony Hubert, bom September 18th, 1874 ; 

educated at Eton and Trinity Hall, Cambridge ; 
B A., 1897. North Somerset Yeomanry. Married 
at Burrington, co. Somerset, October 18th, 1899, 
Mary Mercy, eldest daughter of Evan Henry 
Llewellyn of Langford Court, Esq., M.P. 

3. Albinia Eose, bom March 31st, 1876; married at 

Wraxall, December 2nd, 1899, Eichard Alexander 
Bennett, Esq. 

4. William, bom November 20th, 1877 ; educated at 

Eton and Magdalen College, Oxford; B.A., 1899. 
7th Hussars. 

5. John Evelyn, bom December 22nd, 1879; educated 

at Eton and Sandhurst. Coldstream Guards. 

6. Anstice Catharine, bom September 12th, 1881. 

7. Louis Meritale, born April, 1883 ; died May lst> 

1884 ; buried at Wraxall. 

8. Eustace Lyle, bom March 10th, 1885; educated at 

Eton. 

9. Janet Blanche, bom April 16th, 1887. 

10. Lancelot Merivale, bom December 23rd, 1889. 
in. Alice Blanche, bom October 27^h, 1843 ; married at 



79 

Wraxall, August 16th, 1866, the Eev. Alfred Gumey,. 
Vicar of St. Barnabas, Pimlico, and had issue. Died 
March 12th, 1871 ; buried at Wraxall. 

IV. William, bom January 14th, 1846 ; died unmarried 

June 11th, 1869; buried at Wraxall. 
V. George Abraham, bom March 25th, 1848; educated at 
Christ Church, Oxford ; died unmarried at Ejngston^ 
Jamaica, February 23rd, 1870 ; buried at Wraxall. 

VI. Henry Martin, bom May 30th, 1850 ; educated at Clare 
College, Cambridge ; a benefactor, with his brother 
Antony, to Keble College, Oxford, to Lancing College, 
Sussex, and to King's College, Taunton; munificent 
restorer of the Parish Church of Barrow Gumey ; patron 
of the benefice, and purchaser of Barrow Court ; married 
at Lindfield, co. Sussex, June 22nd, 1882, Emily Anna, 
daughter of the Ven. William Bruere Otter, Archdeacon 
of Lewes, and has issue. High Sheriff of Somerset, 1897. 

1. William Otter, born September 13th, 1883; educated 

at Eton. 

2. Noel Martin, born December 25th, 1884 ; educated 

at Eadley and Eton. 

3. Francis Antony Woodard, born December I7th^ 

1885 ; educated at Eton. 

4. Eoland Vicary, bom March 16th, 1887 ; educated at 

Eton. 

5. Matilda Blanche, bom November 20th, 1888 ; died 

January 14th, 1889 ; buried at Barrow Gumey. 

6. Guy Melvil, bom December 15th, 1889. 

7. Ealph Orawley-Boevy, bom July 24th, 1891. 

8. Lionel Cyri], bom February 15th, 1893. 

9. Mary Albinia, bom November 5th, 1894. 



80 

Vli. Albinia Anne, bom June 7th, 1863 ; died unmarried, April 
nth, 1874 ; buried at Wraxall. 

The lineage of the fanuly may be briefly stated as follows : 

Seated in co. Devon temp. Edward HI., at Fenton (now Venton), 

in the parish of Dartington, John Gibbes was Mayor of Exeter in 

1394, near to which city Clyst St. George became the * nidus' of 

his race. Here, in 1525, John Gybbe had a property called Pytte, 

still belonging to Mr. Gibbs of Tyntesfield. Erom him the 

descent is continuous to Abraham Gibbs of Topsham, whose sons, 

establishing banking houses in Naples, Genoa, and Palermo, laid 

the foundations of the prosperity of their family. His grandson, 

"George Abraham Gibbs, had issue by Anne his wife, daughter and 

co-heir of Anthony Vicary of Exeter, with other sons and daughters, 

Sir Yicary Gibbs, Lord Chief Baron of the Exchequer, who died 

in 1820; George Gibbs of Eedland, Bristol, who died in 1818; 

-and Antony Gibbs of Malaga, Cadiz, and Exeter, founder, in 1808, 

of the house of * Antony Gibbs & Sons,' of London. Sir Yicary 

left no male issue ; his brother George an only son, who was of 

Belmont, as already mentioned ; his brother Antony three sons — 

"George Henry, father of Henry Hucks Gibbs, created Baron 

Aldenham 1896; William of Tyntesfield; and the Eev. Joseph, 

incumbent of Clifton-Hampden, whose widow inherited Belmont, 

and passed it to her son George Louis Monck, who sold it to his 

uncle, as above stated. A full account of the family is given in 

Burke's Peerage, under * Aldenham.' "• 

IS 6 In the libraries of Tyntesfield and Barrow Court are copies of a 
carefully-compiled pedigree of the Gibbs family, from the accomplished 
pen of the Lord Aldenham, F.S.A., its head, privately printed in 
1891, and illustrated by etchings of seats and monuments. 




Ci 



OH 

o 

q: 
iii 

h 
z 



I 
o 

3 
I 
O 



< 

QC 



81 



THE PAEISH CHUEOH. 

The parish church of Wraxall, dedicated in honour of "All 
Saints," is beautifully situated, at half height, upon the southern 
slope of the range of wooded hills which extends from the Avon 
at Clifton to the sea at Clevedon, and whether viewed from a 
nearer or further distance, or approached more closely through its 
handsome lich-gate on the east, is an imposing object,"^ conveying 
an impression of solidity and massiveness, its strongly-buttresced 
tower, a conspicuous feature in the scenery, and twin sentinel with 
that of Backwell across the vaUey, guarding and consecrating the 
intervening plain. 

The oaken lich-gate, with high-pitched roof and open Per- 
pendicular tracery, rests upon a basement of stone, and gives 
access to the spacious ^^* and carefuUy-tended burial groimd, 
dominated by its noble churchyard cross, seen to much advantage 
against the dark foliage of a venerable jew of unknown age. The 
cross stands upon a calvary of four deep octagonal steps, the lower 
one having a hollow drip moulding. The square socket, hewn out 
of a single block, is exceedingly massive, resting upon an 
octagonal plinth with projecting angles, four of them with dowel 
holes, perhaps to receive sculpture. The shaft, a monolith octa- 
gonal and tapering, has been raised to its original height, and 
now again supports its head, a re-construction from ancient 
fragments, with the sacred moaogram in its centre, and of suitable 
15 th century design ^"^ 

^57 Visited by the Somerset Archseol. Soc. in 1881, it was then described 
by Mr. Ferrey as *one of the finest' in this part of the county. — 
Proceedings, XXVIII. 42. 

16 8 A large addition to its area, the gift of Mr. Antony Gibbs, was 
consecrated on All Saints' day, Nov. 1st, 1894, by Bishop Kennion 
of Bath and Wells, his first episcopal act in his diocese. 

159 j'or a description, vignette, and plan of the cross, see Pooley's Crossea 
of Somerset, p. 83. 

6 



82 

Another cross — the village or market one — stood just outside 
the lich-gate, where a fine elm tree, called the cross tree, occupies 
its site, growing out of the bevelled plinth and basement of the 
original calvary which supported it. Here formerly stood the 
whipping-post and the stocks. 

Against the north-east wall of the churchyard a huge block of 
unhewn conglomerate, ten feet in height, bears the following 
inscription upon a bronze plate at its feet : * THIS STONE WAS 
ERECTED BY THE INHABITANTS OF THIS PARISH TO COM- 
MEMORATE THE 60TH ANNIVERSARY OF THE ACCESSION OF 
HER MAJESTY QUEEN VICTORIA, 1837-1897. GOD SAVE THE 
QUEEN.' 

Further westward the gravestone of Elizabeth Codrington, 
daughter and heir of Samuel Gorges, hereinafter described, is 
built into the wall, with sundry small remnants of broken tomb- 
stones and architectural fragments, amongst which may be 
noticed a headless figure of the Holy Father supporting the 
crucifix, and a portion of a very narrow coffin-lid with trefoiled 
termination to its cross. Here is the bier-house, erected for the 
reception of the parochial hand-bier, behind which, on the other 
side of the wall, are stable buildings, now belonging to Wraxall 
Court (or Lodge), but previously used for the reception of the 
horses of parishioners who rode or drove to attend the services. 
The fine Perpendicular eastern windows of the chancel and south 
chapel, the former high in the wall to give room for the reredos 
beneath; the heavily-moulded gables and parapets of the leaded 
roofs, with their floriated crosses; the ornate pinnacled sanct- 
bell cot on the east gable of the nave; the exceptionally lofty 
Early English southern porch, are all important features of the 
external view of the church. But the glory of the whole is the 



83 

solid mass of the western tower, ^^ with its four graduated stages 
of masonry, its blocked and perforated two-light windows, angle 
buttresses, ornamental parapet, and handsome pinnacles. Blank 
niches, recently re-constructed, interrupt the carved cornice on 
three sides of the tower, and desiderate their statues, while the 
fourth, an ancient one facing westward, retains its original life- 
size figure, royally crowned and habited, with the orb of 
sovereignty in his hand, possibly that of Henry YI. or Edward IV. 
A clock must have been added about 1730,"^ when Colonel John 
Oodrington was one of the subscribers to it. The existing one 
is of more modem date. 

The ground-plan comprises a chancel, with commodious vestry 
on the north and chapels on either side, nave, north aisle, south 
porch, and western tower, the whole a fine example of a typical 
Somerset Church of 15th century work. As usual, we discover 
its earliest feature in its southern doorway, the only remaining 
relic of an original Norman Church. First Pointed details in the 
chancel, north aisle, and south porch point to a rebuilding at that 
period, while another, or else a considerable enlargement, must have 
taken place in the 15th century, to which period the tower and all 
the roofs and windows belong. 

The chancel, which is out of centre with the nave, had been 
credited with the date of the Early English period, on the strength 
of a double piscina and a priest's door of that style in its south 
wall ; but these interesting objects are foimd to have been 
insertions in a wall of much later construction, built from the 

^«o It is said that King George IV., a boy guest of Sir Warwick Bamfylde, 
used to play fives against the north side of the tower, a popular 
practice at that time, and with some difficulty interdicted by the 
rector. 
A large elder-bush, self sown, and growing out of the tower beneath 
one of the belfry windows, had become so vigorous as to injure the 
masonry, and required special scaJSblding for its removal about 1883 
or '84. 

161 Collinson's Somerset, III. 161. 



84 

debris of a previous building bearing evidence of having been 
destroyed by fire, and largely composed of fragments of windows 
and other portions of previously-used masonry. In the late com- 
plete restoration, carried out by the munificence of Mr. Antony 
Gibbs of Tyntesfield, under the superintendence of the late 
Sir Arthur Blomfield, it was found necessary to rebuild from the 
ground the eastern and southern walls, and to re-case the northern 
one, so that the entire chancel is practically new : and very fine 
it is, a grand oak roof of excellent proportion and design, with 
tracery in its arched beams, which are brought down below the 
waU-plate and rest upon well-carved stone corbels, attracting 
immediate attention. The floor of the sacrarium, where the 
altar has an elevation of four steps, is laid with small tesserae 
of fine Eoman mosaic, and has an excellent effect. The eastern 
window, set high in the wall, so as to afford fitting space 
for the carved stone reredos beneath, is of five lights, a 
reproduction, with improvements in its tracery, of one which 
preceded it.^*'^ The reredos is a simple but beautiful sculpture 
in Bath stone. In its central compartment, beneath a triple- 
pinnacled canopy, is * The Transfiguration/ a somewhat unusual 
suTbject in this position. Upon the mountain top stands the 
Saviour, His arms outstretched, His three favoured Apostles 
kneeling beneath, while from clouds on either side emerge the 
heads of Moses and Elias. This is flanked by six cinquef oiled 
niches, three on each side, with crocketed canopies and open 
tracery, containing statuettes, those of SS. Andrew and Paul 
nearest to the centre, having behind them SS. Veronica and 

16 2 CoUinson mentions (Vol. III., p. 159) that there were in his time (1741), 
with other armorial shields recently restored in the glazing of this 
window, one which he described as ' Or, five falconer's gloves pendant 
ppr.' No such shield being known, it is conjectured that he mistook 
it for, *Five wounds gutted,' representing an ancient Guild of the 
B. Sacrament, and this identical shield, removed from hence, may be 
seen in the parvise over the south porch. 



85 

Etheldreda ; in the outer niches, SS. Clement and Augustine of 
Hippo. The re-table is a chamfered slab of black marble backed 
by Algerian onyx, and supports an altar-cross of latten and silver, 
its central and terminal plaques of the latter metal, with the Holy 
Lamb and the Evangelistic symbols in bas-relief, its shaft, and 
those of the accompanying vases and candlesticks, having bosses of 
tabernacle-work. Against the wall on either side of the altar is a 
mural panel of fine Roman mosaic, into which are introduced the 
entwined initials A. S., for * All Saints.' The altar, of massive oak, 
is vested with a richly-embroidered frontal. The side walls of the 
chancel are faced with yellow ashlar, to which bands of a redder 
tint give variety of colour. The embrasure of the two-light 
southern window of the Sacrarium, lengthened for the purpose, 
forms a priest's sedile, in the eastern jamb of which has been 
adroitly contrived, within cinquefoiled arches on the north and 
west, an elegant piscina with six-foiled basin. ^*^ The window, with 
another farther to the west, also of two lights, are re-insertions. 
The original Early English priest's door, with its external roll and 
hood mouldings, among the best details of the church, retains its 
position, but the piscina of the same period has been removed into 
the adjoining Charlton Chapel. All the fittings, altar railings, 
choir stalls, and desks are of oak of the best description, the work 
of skilled carvers. Handsome brass lamps, those within the 
Sacrarium more ornate than the others, are pendant from the roof. 
An arch on the north, ranging with those in the nave arcade on 
that side, admits to the chapel beneath the organ, and' another of 
wider span to the Charlton Chapel on the south. 

The chancel arch is of First Pointed date, wide and lofty, but 

16 3 Of one of the chancel windows, we know not which, Agnes, relict of 
Thomas Gorges, in her Will, 1419, makes mention thus : "Item lego 
in auxilium reparationis unius fenestri {sic) in cancell^ ecclesiae 
Omnium Sanctorum de Wroxhale in comitatu Somerset, quam quidam 
fenestram Rectores ecclesise predictse fecisse debuissent, xx^-" 



86 

quite plain, without pillars, its mouldings carried to the ground. 
It is spanned by one of the finest of modern rood-screens, a 
splendid specimen of oak carving, its overhanging loft projecting 
into the nave, and carried across the adjoining north aisle, where, 
still further extended, it supports the organ, a fine instrument in a 
noble case. The ancient rood staircase in the north wall, with its 
original upper and lower doorways, has been utilised for the 
organist. From the chapel beneath, which contains the monuments 
of ihQ Gibbs family, their burial-place being under the adjoining 
vestry, there is a door of access thereto. There is no vestige of an 
altar. The east window of three lights is elevated, to give room 
for the roof of the vestry. The arch hence into the chancel is 
slightly differenced from the rest of the arcade to which it belongs, 
having had its western capital pared away and carved with faces 
emitting foliage. 

The corresponding chapel on the south, communicating with 
the nave by a tall stone doorway from which a large trefoiled 
hagioscope commands the chancel, aud by a wide adjoining arch 
spanned by a beautifully carved oak screen, another similar one 
separating it from the chancel, was until 1894 very small and 
almost transeptal, its proportions indicated by the ogee-arched 
piscina in its southern wall, the trefoiled one with double basin 
further to the east having been, as already mentioned, brought 
from the chancel. Known as the Charlton Chapel, it is said to 
have been re-roofed in 1754 by Alderman Mugle worth of Charlton 
House, an entry in the parish books confering its use upon his 
family for ever! It has now been considerably extended to the 
east. Its new oak roof rests upon stone corbels of the date 1851, 
brought from the chancel, and carved with angels bearing the 
legend, **1bol^f Doly, DolB, XorJ) (5ob BlmiflbtB, TKIlbfcb waa, 
mb 16, anD ie to come/' It is lighted by three three-light 



87 

Perpendicular windows, the two southern ones of late date and 
nearly square-headed, the eastern one new and of good design. 
A tiny trefoiled opening high in the western wall enabled the 
priest in the parvise to look into the church from thence. Arranged 
and fitted as a * Lady Chapel,' for use at early or week-day services, 
it supports upon a tiled and stone-paved footpace the oaken altar- 
table which, placed in the chancel at its restoration in 1851, has 
been there superseded by a larger and more appropriate one, and 
a reredos of beautiful design in carved oak, representing in its 
central panel the Annunciation, with three canopied figures oi^^ ^ 
saints on either side. Its walls are lined with an oaken dado S'CU4,y^L4^ 
of plain and linen-pattern panels, while upon the cresting of its ^' 7«/t,^«--«.' 
northern screen, which has taken the place of the handsome ^^ "fl^ ^ ** "* 
metal one previously there, are shields intended to bear the coats ^ /^^-^^rt** 
of arms of the successive owners of Charlton. S^-J^* K^ 

The nave has a 15th century roof, formed by a closely-set 
series of moulded timbers with parcel-gilt bosses, twenty-seven in 
number, carved with knots of foliage and other devices, the 
central one a quaint conceit of eight human faces in which eight 
eyes do double duty ; upon another is the * Agnus Dei ' within a 
ring borne by an angel ; while a third has a human face with 
foliage springing from its under lip.^" The embattled wall-plate* 
rests upon stone corbels, carved with male and female heads, many 
of the latter wearing homed head-dresses, the former high caps, 
a king, a queen, and two bishops among them. The entire floor, 
which was honeycombed with graves, some of them close to the 
surface, has been carefully concreted, and is paved with stones, 
upon which the seats are raised upon curbs and floors of wood. 
There were but few vaults, one being that of the Lucas family. 
Near the west end an arcade of five bays, with handsome arches, 

164 Very similar designs form tail-pieces in * William Wyrcester redivivus ; 
or, Notes of Church Architecture in Bristol, 1823,' pp. 17, 24, 33. 



88 

bold pillars and capitals, separates the nave from its north aisle, 
against the most western unengaged pillar of which stands the 
font — a good Third Pointed octagon with tracery upon its sides, 
with the unusual but useful adjunct of a small stone desk 
supported by an angel, and bracketed out from the adjoining 
column.^®^ The font cover, the seats and poppyheads in nave and 
aisle, and the pulpit, all of oak, are of the date 1851, when an 
important restoration was effected at the cost of William Gibbs 
of Tyntesfield, Esq., in accordance with the best professional 
skill of the day. The pulpit, removed from the southern to the 
northern pier of the chancel arch, has been reduced in height, 
and lightened by the perforation of its panelled tracery. An 
oaken lectern of delicate workmanship, the gift of the Eector, 
flanks it on the opposite side. Here, too, hangs the rope of the 
sanct-bell, which occupies the pinnacled * cot ' ah*eady mentioned 
upon the gable above. A three-light Perpendicular window near 
the west end is the only one in the nave. Near it are the 
benefaction tables, and the doorway of the intramural stone 
staircase of twenty steps, leading to the parvise. 

Of the considerable alteration of the northern aisle, and 
possibly of the southern wall, of the original Early English 
Church at the beginning of the 15th century we have interesting 
cotemporary evidence in the will of Agnes, relict of Thomas 
Gorges, Esq., 1419.^*^ While the walls were allowed to remain, 
their windows were superseded by the later ones which are still 
in existence ; but during the last exhaustive restoration the jambs 
and sills of the former disclosed themselves in the eastern, western, 
and northern walls, clearly proving that no change had been made 

165 There is a similar arrangement at Beckley, Oxon, engraved in 

Architect. Antiq. in the Neighbourhood of Oxford, p. 207. 

166 "Item lego in auxilium reparacionis unius ylse vocatsB le Northyle in 

ecclesisl Omnium Sanctorum de Wroxhale predicts, per parochianos 
de novo fabricauda il*- " 



89 

in the Early Englisli ground-plan, and that the church of that 
period survives upon its ancient lines."^ Two shallow-arched 
recesses of little interest, perhaps intended for tombs, low down 
in the north wall, and the jamb of a small doorway to the west 
of the upper one of the rood staircase point to some unexplained 
alterations of an earlier date. The aisle has a good timber roof of 
low pitch, is floored with wood blocks, seated with oak benches, 
like the nave, and lighted by good 16th century three-light, 
windows, of which three, with a doorway of the same period now 
disused, are in its northern and one in its western wall. 

The south porch, of exceptional interest, excellent masonry,, 
and unusual height, ranging with that of the nave, is a remainder 
of the older First Pointed church, to which it supplied in its upper 
story a priest's chamber, 12 feet square, with strong timber roof 
and doorway, lighted by small trefoiled openings on the north, 
east, and south. In one of these is the figure of an angel in 
long flowing white robe with standing collar and apparels, bearing 
the shield of the * Jesus Mass,' removed from the east window, 
* Argent, five woimds guttee,' the pendant goutes mistaken for the 
fingers of falconer's gloves, as already explained. Below the floor 
of this chamber was one of the curious porch galleries not 
uncommon hereabouts, but elsewhere imknown, of which an 
uninjured example fortunately exists at Weston in Gordano. 
Here it has been removed, but a second stone staircase of nino 
steep steps, with upper and lower doorways, which give access to 
it, its trefoiled niche over the inner door of the church,^^ and a 
small angle bracket for a lamp, indisputably attest its existence^ 
which is the more remarkable because in this instance only, as far 

*®'' An architectural plan of these details is preserved at the rectory. 

168 The figure in the porch was probably that of the B. Virgin. Bequests, 
for its maintenance, sometimes of wedding-rings, were not unusual. • 
Wells Wills, pp. 17, 76, 179. 



90 

as I know, it was accompanied by a priest's chamber, as abready 
described, both within the same porch. It is well known that 
large portions of our occasional services, notably those of Holy 
Baptism and Holy Matrimony, were directed to be said in the 
porch ; but if, as has been surmised, the local prevalence of porch 
galleries points to the introduction in late pre-Reformation times 
of some special "cult," then the earlier date of this example 
seems opposed to that theory. The inner Norman doorway, 
flanked by a circular column on either side ; the large and hand- 
some external doorway of First Pointed date, with circular pillars 
and hood moulding with terminal heads, and the large stoup with 
quatref oiled basin found blocked in the north-east angle, but now 
opened and repaired, are additional features of interest. 

The western tower, approached from the nav© by a plain 
but lofty arch, has a Perpendicular western window of three 
lights, a staircase in its north-eastern angle, and a good 
western doorway. There is a fine peal of eight bells, of which 
one bears the name of Sir Edward Gorges, High Sheriff of the 
County in 1608, and buried here 1624 : three record that of 
their founder, Edward Bilbie, and the others that of their 
munificent donor, Antony Gibbs of Tyntesfield, Esq., and the 
ioUowing mottoes : — 

1705. Thoft my voice it is but small, 

I '11 be herd amongst you all. 

1887. Domine salvam fac Reginam. 

1894. Nos Deo laudem dabimus magnam. 

,, Det Deus pacem nobis diumam. 

,, In terra Deo toUimus gloriam. 

,, Nobis aetemam det Deus vitam. 



91 

THE MONUMENTS. 

The monuments, wMcli are numerous and interesting, will best 
be described by themselves. 

Beneath the floor of the chancel was the burial-place of the 
family of Gorges, for nearly five centuries lords of this manor; 
their memorials however, with the exception of those described 
below, have been removed or destroyed. 

The most ancient is a very thick sandstone ledger, taken hence 
and relaid at the east end of the north aisle, from whence it was 
relegated in 1893 to the base of the western tower, where it is now 
to be seen. Its inscription [the letters of which have been 
deepened and refilled with black pigment] , rudely incised within 
marginal border lines, is as follows : ** + fbctc l^CtbC Sgt ^l^bbot 
<5oxQce kni^dbt and JSanetet ot wbod doule (3ob bave metes* 
Bmett. '^^7 \" There is some difficulty about the date : the second 
figure is 4, represented as half an 8 ; the third, which looks like 2, 
is really 6 reversed; the fourth is 7. It is without doubt the 
gravestone of Sir Theobald Gorges, knight of the shire in 1432, 
lieutenant of the Castle of Eouen 1447, and lord of this manor 
1414 to 1467. CoUinson gives the date as 1468, which is manifestly 
in(;orrect. Utilised at a later period to receive a record of another 
burial, it bears across its centre — 

"GORGES INTERRD ... OF SEP." 
Other memorials mentioned by CoUinson as existing in his time, 
1791,^^ have entirely disappeared. They were * those of Grace, 
wife of Edward Gorges, Esq., who died September 9th, 1698, and 
Dorothy their daughter, who died January 29th, 1693 : Edward 
Gorges, Esq., interred the 8th day of September, 1708': also of 
* the Eev. William Jones, B.C.L., Prebendary of Wells and Rector 
of Wraxall, who died 1609, and Margaret his wife, daughter of 
Edmimd Gorges, Esq., who died 1582.' 
i«» Collinson's Somerset, ni. 159. 



92 

Hence was also exhumed a large yellow ledger-stone, now built 
into the churchyard wall, north-east of the chancel, where, being 
of friable oolite, it is gradually succumbing to the action of the 
elements. It is hardly inferior in interest to that already described, 
being the memorial of the last survivor of the Gorges family, who 
carried its estates and this manor, in 1709, in marriage to her 
husband. Colonel John Codriogton of Dodington, co. Gloucester, 
Esq.,"o M.P. for Bath 1710-34, after the death of her father, 
Samuel Gorges, Esq., its last male representative, in 1693. The 
armorial shield and inscription were fortunately examined soon 
after its exhumation, the former bearing upon a lozenge within a 
sunken oval two coats of Codrington — Quarterly : 1 and 4, * Argent 
afease embattled, counter-embattled sable fretty gules between three lions 
passant of the last ' ; 2 and 3, * Vert^ upon a bend argent three roses 
barbed and seeded gules, in sinister chief a dexter hand couped at the 
wrist of the second.^ Upon an inescutcheon — Quarterly : 1 and 4, 
^Argent, agurges^"^ azure; 2 and 3, * Loungy, or and azure, a chevron 
gfilex,* the ancient allusive and later coats of the Gorges family. 
The inscription seems to have been this : ** Here lieth the body of 
Elizabeth Codrington, y* wife of John Codrington of Dodington, 
in the county of Gloucester, Esq. She departed this life February 
K'th, 1740, aged 51. Also the bodies of two of their daughters — 
Agnes, their second, who died July 30, 1715 ; Eachel, their third, 
who died the 18th day of February, 1717,"^ this . . ." 

170 Barrett's Bristol, 304. 

171 The gurges, usually represented as a succession of rings occupying 

the entire field, has in this instance but one curve springing from 
the fesse point, rising to the middle chief, and discharging itself at 
the dexter base of the shield ; the tinctures do not appear upon the 
tombstone. 

17 2 Memoir of the Family of Codrington. Brist. and Gloucest. ArchseoL 
Soc, XXI. 331. There were two other daughters — Elizabeth, the 
eldest, who died September 27th, 1735, set. 25, and Jane, the youngest, 
eventually heiress of both her parents, who married in 1742 Sir 
Richard Warwick Bampfylde, Bart. , and dying 1789, lies buried in 
a vault, now filled up, under the north chancel stalls. 



93 

On the north side of the sacrariiun, within a recess in the wall — 
too small unfortunately for its purpose — constructed in 1851, 
during a restoration of the church to receive it, is a fine altar- 
tomb of stone, removed from its original position further westward 
in the chancel, and bearing the full-length recumbent effigies of 
Sir Edmund Gorges, Kt., and the first of his three wives, the 
Lady Anne Howard, daughter of John, 1st Duke of Norfolk, K.G., 
slain at Bos worth Field. The fine series of armorial shields which 
surround the tomb is, wholly on the north side and partially at the 
east and west ends concealed from view, those on the south side 
alone being visible. Their heraldic bearings, incorrectly described 
by CoUinson,^^^ and at a subsequent period further confused by an 
unskilled painter, may be taken as foUows. On either side are 
three floridly sculptured panels, the central one of which contains 
a heavily-mantelled achievement, surmounted by a knight's helmet 
with visor nearly closed, and upon a wreath the Gorges' crest, 
*a greyhound'8 head (in this case affronU) ppr.^ The shield is — 
Quarterly: 1, * Lozengy or and azure a chevron gules j^ Gorges; 2, 
^ Argent y on a chief gules three bezants,^ E-usseU of Dyrham ; 3, * Gulee, 
a Iton rampant ermine,^ Oldhall; 4, ^ Argent y a chevron (sable) betu:een 
three gads^"^^ ermines,^ Englowes. This is flanked by two side panels, 
each having a kneeling angel bearing a single shield, those on the 
north ^Oldhall' and * Englowes,' those on the south * Gorges' and 
'Russell,' as already described. At the east end are two shields, 
the southern one suspended by a strap from the neck of *« lion 
sejant regardant — Quarterly: 1, ^Argent, three trivets sable ^^ Trivet; 
2, Gorges, as before ; 3, * Argent, a chevron engrailed sable, a martlet 
far differences^ Holbeach ; 4, RusseU, as before. The northern 

173 We have no alternative but to take on his authority the shields upon 
the north side, which we cannot see, and of which we have no other 
record. Of those which are visible, on the south, we know that he 
wrongly describes one as * Mowbray * which is really * Oldhall.' 

*''* CoUinson calls them * caters on the dice.* 



94 

shield, suspended from the neck of ^an eagle ^ wr falecn rising^ — 
Quarterly: Gorges, Eussell, Oldhall, and Englowes, as before. 
At the west end are two more shields, the southern one, supported 
by two lions sejant gardant, * vairee azun and argent,^ Beauchamp 
of Lillesdon ; impaling ^Argent, two hendUta nehulee eable,' Hankford, 
or Stapledon an heiress of Hankford. The northern one, 
supported by two wild men or wodehouses, 'Gorges,' and 
'Eussell,' one over the other, impaling ^ Gules, a hfnd argent 
between n'x fleure de lyn ^r,' Hampton.^^* The effigies recline in the 
attitude of prayer, that of the lady, perhaps as of superior rank to 
her husband, on his right hand. He is bareheaded, with long 
flowing hair, his head upon his wreathed and mantelled helmet, 
which is without a crest, his body clad in very plain and tight- 
fitting plate armour without any indication of mail at the neck 
or elsewhere. He wears a plain gold ring upon the little finger 
of his bare right hand, a chain of large rings round his neck, 
a strong belt across his body supporting his sword on the left and 
his dagger on the right side : a little cape, perhaps of leather, 
lies over his shoulders. His breast, arms, thighs, knees, and legs 
are completely encased in plate ; his feet in jointed round-toed 
soUerets, without spurs, rest upon a couchant greyhound ; the lion 
which we should expect to find there, being transferred to his lady. 
Her head reclining upon two cushions has a kennel-shaped head- 
dress with lappets on either side and a veil hanging down behind, 
concealing the hair. The pleating of her square-cut under- 
garment is seen at her neck, beneath the long robe with open 
hanging sleeves which falls thence in severe folds to her feet, 
which in very commonplace shoes rest upon the couchant lion 
of which she has deprived her husband. She wears a plain 

1^* It is remarkable that upon this, her own tomb, the arms of Lady Anne 
Howard do not occur, while those of her husband, with the alliances 
of his family, are repeated with unnecessary frequency. 



95 

gold ring upon the fourth finger of her bare right hand, a chain of 
interlaced circles supporting a pectoral cross at her neck, a cord 
with rose and tassel depending from her waist. Both figures, 
youthful in face and appearance, are completely if not veiy 
successfully coloured, and suggest the probability of the erection 
of the tomb by the husband soon after the death of his first 
wife. 

Upon a marble slab over the doorway of the vestry is tha 
following, surmounted by a coat of arms: — ^ Argent ^ on a bend 
engrailed sable three fleure de lye of the field^^ Holt ; and his crest, 
* a cubit arm erect y holding pheon,^ " Hie tandem laboribus 
defunctus requiescit una cum conjuge Avicia [nee enim par 
conjunctissimum mors ipsa dirimit] venerabilis vir THOMAS 
HOLT, S.S. THEOLOGI^ PROFESSOR, ECCLIiE CATHLIS 
WELLEN CHANCELLARIUS & CANONICUS RESIDENTIARIUS ;"6 
hujus ECCLIiE parochialis rector Irenarches seu Justiciarius 
ad Pacem in comitatu Somersettensi Rerum humanarum vicea 
aliquoties expertus et fata ECCLI^ ANGLICAN^E bis pessundatse 
bis instauratsB bis victse bis triumphantis fortunam eodem semper 
vultu excepit seu blandientem seu minantem. Vir prisca fide, 
omnibus sequus ac Justus sero naturse quod debuit persolvit, anno 
setatis suse 80° 10° calendis Aprilis, a.d. 1688. Obiit Avicia 4° 
calendis Februariis 1687, anno eetatis 70°." 

On the same wall, upon a handsomely bordered oval slab of 

''* This good man, bravely remaining at his post of duty at Wells during 
the outrages of the Civil War, when the fabric of the Cathedral was 
desecrated and horses were stabled in it, insisted upon holding the 
normal Chapter, though he sat alone in it ; and so on July 1st, 1685, 
in the presence of Nicholas Nebbett, Notary Public, adjourned it to 
that day four weeks, confidently hoping that in the meantime the 
nefarious rebellion would be stamped out. '*Neque ilium fefellit 
ipsius dignissimi Prsesidis votum, quippe quod faustus ille inter- 
medins sextus dies Julii apud Weston Zoyland in hoc comitatu 
Rebellionis finem et rebellibus excidium attulit, sic que ad ecclesise 
curam contra perduellium arma et odium, contra portas inferni 
stabilitsB in tuto jam rediro licet. Deus, Deus nobis haec otia fecit." 
— Extract from the minutes of the Chapter of Wells, 1685. Dean 
Plumptre's Life of Bishop Ken, I. 215. 



96 

Av^hite marble: <*^o tbc beloveD auD tevereD memory of ^nmce 
IDaugban, titt^tivc seare 'Rector of 'QOiraialL Con0traine& bfi 
tbe love ot Cbtist anD supported bs l>id Spirit be devoted bid 
powere to tbe good ot man, and religinfi in bumble but tlrm 
taitb upon tboee eure promisee ot (5od in Cbrist wbicb be bad 
so tearlesslfi and atlectionateli? proclaimed, be entered into bis 
rest on tbe 5tb ot 5une, 1857, in tbe eigbti^^tbird sear ot bis 
^ge and tbe sijtietb ot bis ministry, also ot Sarab bis wite. 
trbeg lived togetber tltts^eigbt sears, united be tbe same taitb 
^nd bope, and sbe tollowed bim in tbe same patb to glorij on 
tbe 2lst Sanuarg, in tbe 1860tb sear ot ber Xord and tbe 
^igbtfis^ttrst ot ber pilgrimage/' 

Upon a small plate of coloured brass below the last : 
^'Sacab :6mma IDaugban sleeps in 5esus, waiting in pertect 
taitb tor tbe return in glorg ot ber risen Xord. JBorn I3tb 
September, 1812; died 5tb ^anuari^, 1879/* 

Upon a diamond-shaped brass plate set in a carved alabaster 
frame, and incised with, an ornamented cross with quatref oiled 
terminations: "SACRED TO THE MEMORY OF EDWARD 
PROTHERO VAUGHAN, M.A., OF BALLIOL COLLEGE, OXFORD, 
RECTOR OF WRAXALL, YOUNGEST SON OF THE LATE REV. 
JAMES VAUGHAN. HE WAS CURATE OF WEST HARPTREE, 
SOMERSET, 1834; OF SPEEN, BERKSHIRE, 1835; AND OF 
WRAXALL, 1836 TO 1857, WHEN HE SUCCEEDED HIS FATHER 
AS RECTOR, AND AFTER A FAITHFUL AND LOVING MINISTRY 
FOR 55 YEARS IN THIS PARISH HE ENTERED INTO REST ON 
MAY 27th, 1891, AGED 81. ALSO OF HARRIET, HIS WIFE, 
DAUGHTER OF THE REV. J. HENSMAN, INCUMBENT OF 
CLIFTON. BORN 10th JULY, 1809; DIED 5th MARCH, 1896. 
* ©J^ftOT also bfeirl^ alup in |esus foil! ^oh bring foitfe Sioi.'— 1 Thess. iv. 14." 

On the south chancel wall, upon a sunken brass plate : 
^'IN LOVING MEMORY OF RICHARD VAUGHAN, SON OF THE 
REV. JAMES VAUGHAN, RECTOR OF THIS PARISH, WHO 
ENTERED INTO REST 26th JULY, 1893, IN HIS NINETIETH 



97 

YEAR. HIS UNFAILING LOVE FOR THE CHURCH OF HIS 
CHILDHOOD WAS PROVED BY HIS REGULAR ATTENDANCE 
AS A WORSHIPPER FOR MORE THAN FIFTY YEARS, BY HIS 
ERECTING A CHAPEL OF EASE AT FAILAND, AND BY A 
LARGE BEQUEST TOWARDS AUGMENTING THE INCOME OF 
THE BENEFICE OF WRAXALL. * 'goxh, | feafre bfreb t^e feabifation of 
C^g Ifeouae/" 

Upon another, surmounted by a star and the motto : * per 
lucent a& coronam/ *XLo tbe Qlot^ ot (5oD anO in loving mcmorig 
of ]&mtli2 CoudtancCt elDeet ^augbtec o( 5amed IDaugbant 9ncum« 
bent of CbriBt Cburcb* JStidbton, anD :6mtls bis wife. Sbe was 
born on tbe :6pipbani^ 2l.2>* 1844, anD tollowing from Ufe'd 
earliest bawn tbe brigbt anb morning Star, ebe walfteb ber patb 
or liflbt until ebe entereb into perfect bag, 5uIb l0t. 2l.2>* 1864/ 

Upon another: *Cbri0ti 0ervitu0 vera libertae. Zo tbe glorg 
of (Bob, anb in boli? anb loving memori^ of Ranted IDaugban, 
Ipiebenbaris of Cbicbeeter, anb for 48 ^eare Encumbent of Cbrist 
Cburcb, JSrigbton, tbirb eon of Barnes IDaugban, former 'Kector 
of tbid iparidb; born Buguet 27tb, 2l.2>* 1805; entereb into rest 
Aai2 7tb, 1889. tie 6ervant0 sball serve l>im/ 

Upon a brass plate beneath a stained window in the south wall 
of the chancel: <5n memory Of Sibella, 4tb baugbter of (5eorge 
Bbrabam (5ibbs, of Clgst St. (George, co* of 2>evon, wbo oieb at 
Xong Bsbton, 25tb December, 1841, ageb 81, anb was burieb in 
tbis cburcb^arb/ 

Upon another: «5n memovij of 2lnne, 2nb anb i^oungest 
baugbter of Bntons (Bibbs, wbo bieb at JSelmont in tbis parisb, 
6tb ©ctober, 1852, ageb 55^ anb was burieb bere/ 

Against the east wall of the north chapel, upon a brass plate 
upon an engraved slab of polished grey granite, in which is 
inserted a fine metal cross, with the Holy Lamb and the Evan- 
gelistic symbols : * + (To tbe glorg of (5ob anb in loving memory 
of milliam (5ibbs of zr^ntestlelb in tbis parisb, wbo was born 
^ag 22nb, 1790, anb entereb into rest Bpril 3rb, 1875* TiClbat 

7 



98 

dotb tbe Xotd requite ot tbee» but to bo JuetlSt anb to love 
mctc^^ anb to walk burnbli^ witb tbi? (Bob? Bldo ot Aatilba 
:iSlancbe (Bibba, wite ot tbe above, anb baugbtec ot Sit Z. 
Crawley *3Boevei2 ot flajles abbes, JSart, wbo wae born 
December 17tb 1817, anb entereb into reet September 22nb, 1887. 
Witb XLM blesding let tbe bouse ot ZTbs aervante be bleeseb tor 
ever/ 

Upon tlie same wall, upon a plain quatref oil of white marble 
bearing an embossed metal cross, set with crystals : * + TO THE 
GLORY OF GOD, AND IN SWEET MEMORY OF ALICE 
BLANCHE, WIFE OF ALFRED GURNEY, AND DAUGHTER 
OF WILLIAM AND MATILDA BLANCHE GIBBS OF TYNTES- 
FIELD IN THIS PARISH, WHO WAS BORN OCTOBER 27th» 
1843, MARRIED AUGUST 16th, 1866, AND DIED MARCH 12th, 
1871. REQUIESCAT IN PACE.' 

Upon another similar one: '+TO THE GLORY OF GOD, 
AND IN LOVING MEMORY OF ALBINIA ANNE GIBBS, 
DAUGHTER OF WILLIAM GIBBS AND MATILDA BLANCHE 
GIBBS OF TYNTESFIELD IN THIS PARISH, WHO WAS 
BORN ON THE 7th DAY OF JUNE, A.D. 1863, AND DIED 
ON THE I7TH DAY OF APRIL, A.D. 1874. REQUIESCIT 
IN PACE.* 

Upon the north wall of the same chapel, beneath a brass Latin 
cross, with the Holy Lamb and Evangelistic symbols as its centre 
and terminations, set in a slab of grey marble: MN LOVING 
MEMORY OF WILLIAM GIBBS, SECOND SON OF WILLIAM 
AND MATILDA BLANCHE GIBBS OF TYNTESFIELD IN THIS 
PARISH, WHO DIED JUNE llTH, A.D. 1869, AGED 23 YEARS. 
ALSO OF GEORGE ABRAHAM GIBBS, THEIR THIRD SON, 
WHO DIED FEBRUARY 23RD, 1870, AT KINGSTON, JAMAICA, 
IN THE 22ND YEAR OF HIS AGE. HE GIVETH HIS 
BELOVED SLEEP.' 

Upon the north wall of the north aisle, upon a brass plate, 
forming two intersecting triangles, with the Holy Lamb, Sacred 



99 



Monogram, and Evangelistic symbols in the comers : *Ti dtatetui 
l^atidb to tbe memori? ot William gibbs ot XLtrxtcsticl^ an^ 

MATILDA BLANCHE biS WltC. 1888/ 

In the borders of the two outer lights of the pattern window 
at the east end of the north chapel : * + 5n memory Ot 5obtt 
MllinQslc^ Sei^mout ot JSaliol College^ ®£totD» son ot (Beorgc 
ZTurner ani) Marianne Sei^mour, wbo ^ie^ at Xa^bacb in 5Ul2tia, 
wbete hie remains arc ^epositedt tbe 14tb ®ctober» 1843, a^e^ 
21 i^eara* 5n memori^ ot (George aiejanber Segmour ot ltlng'0 
CollCQCf CambriOge, elbeet son ot (George (Turner anb /Marianne 
Sei^mour, wbo bleb at Cambrfbge tbe 5tb 5uIb, 1838, ageb 
21 scara* IM0 remains are bepoditeb in fttna'd College Cbapel/ 

Upon the north wall of the same, upon a marble tablet with 
coat of arms, *^ Argent^ a lion rampant sable,'* Mathew, * In memory 
of WILLIAM MATHEW of this parish, gent, who died 
January 15th, 1781, aged 78. Also of ELIZABETH his wife, 
who died November 19th, 1781, aged 68.' 

Against the north wall of the north aisle, upon an ornamental 
marble monument, with crocketed pyramidal head and the 
armorial shield — Quarterly : 1 and 4, ' Or, on a pile gules between sine 
fieurs de lys a%ure three lions of England * ; 2 and 3, ^ Qules, tufo wings 
conjoined in lure or,'* Seymour. Crest : Out of a ducal coronet or a 
phcenix of the last issuing from flames ppr* Motto : * Foy pour devoir.' 
^Sacreb to tbe memoris ot (Beorgc l^enroee Sei^mourt iB^a^ late 
ot JSelmont in tbid parisbt one ot t^iB Aajeeti^a ^ustlcee ot 
tbe peace anb Beputs^sXieutenant tor tbis Counts* 1>e was 
inbetatigable in tbe biacbarge ot bid otQcial butiee, learneb in 
tbe law0 ot bie countri^, anb in jubgrnent biecerning, temperate, 
anb just; be bieb mucb esteemeb anb lamenteb tbe 26tb 5uli?, 
1827t ageb 64 i^earst wbose remaine are bepoeiteb in a vault 
beneatb tbi6 tablet 2ll60 in memori^ ot Xoui^a Seymour, bis 
\^ibow, wbo beparteb tbie lite tbe I8tb ot /ftarcb, 1853, at 
Clitton, afleb 87 igeare, verg eincerelg lamenteb \>^ ber tamilij 



100 

anO trtendd. Bldo in mcmox^ of 1>ent^ Cam Se^mour» a major 
ot tbe 23r0 •Refit, of •Rogal 'TOlelcb f U0ilicr6, tbc ^ounficet 0on 
of tbe above, wbo MeO to tbe great atCfction ot bfe wit)ow an^ 
relattvee at Clifton on tbe 5tb of /ftarcb, 1847, ageb 44 ijearg. 
also of Osnv^f bie wire, elbest Dauflbter of tbe 'Rev, anbrew 
2>aubeni2, /ft.2l., of JSackwell, wbo bleb Bprfl I6tb, 1887. **Zo 
me to live is Cbriet, anb to bie id gain/' pbil. i. 21. Tilso in 
memon? of tbe "Rev. (George ^Turner Seymour, X.X.3B. of ZTrinitg 
l>all, Cambrtbge, anb late of XTgntestlelb in tbie parisb, 5.P»t 
elbeet son of (3eorge Penrose Sei^mour, :6dq., wbo bieb tbe 
I4tb of ©ct., 1880, in tbe 89tb sear of bfs age. ^^Tllntil tbe bai? 
^)awn/' 2 pet. i. 10/ 

Upon a tablet of black and white marble on the same wall : 
*IN MEMORY OF CHARLOTTE CHAPMAN OF WRAXALL LODGE. 
SHE WAS THE ELDEST DAUGHTER OF THE LATE ANTHONY 
CHAPMAN OF GUNVILLE, ESQ., IN THE COUNTY OF DORSET, 
BY THE HONBLE. CHARLOTTE GARY, HIS SECOND WIFE. SHE 
DIED ON THE 23rd DAY OF MARCH, A.D. 1850, AGED 69. HER 
REMAINS ARE DEPOSITED IN THE ADJOINING CHURCHYARD. 
BLESSED ARE THOSE SERVANTS WHOM THE LORD WHEN HE 
COMETH SHALL FIND WATCHING. Luke XIL 37.' 

Upon another tablet, of white marble, oh the same wall : 
*IN MEMORY OF CATHARINE CHAPMAN, LATE OF WRAXALL 
LODGE. SHE WAS THE SECOND DAUGHTER OF ANTHONY 
CHAPMAN OF GUNVILLE, ESQ., IN THE COUNTY OF DORSET, 
AND THE HONBLE. CHARLOTTE GARY, HIS SECOND WIFE. 
SHE DIED NOV. 13th, 1859, AGED 78. HER REMAINS ARE 
DEPOSITED IN THE ADJOINING CHURCHYARD. "COME UNTO 
ME ALL YE THAT LABOUR AND ARE HEAVY LADEN, AND I 
WILL GIVE YOU REST." Matt. XL 28. ALSO OF JANE 
CHAPMAN, FORMERLY OF WRAXALL LODGE, YOUNGEST 
DAUGHTER OF THE ABOVE-NAMED ANTHONY CHAPMAN AND 
THE HONBLE. CHARLOTTE GARY HIS SECOND WIFE. SHE 
DIED DECEMBER 20th, 1867, AGED 83. HER REMAINS ARE 
DEPOSITED IN THE ADJOINING CHURCHYARD. **THEM ALSO 



101 

WHICH SLEEP IN JESUS, WILL GOD BRING WITH HIM." 
I. Thess. IV. 14. 

Upon a tablet of grey and white marble, upon the same wall : 
'Near this place lie the remains of MARY, wife of ROBERT 
NEWTON of this parish, who died October 26th, 1821, aged 64 
years. Also of the above ROBERT NEWTON, who died 
February 15th, 1837, aged 87 years.' 

Upon a tablet of grey and yellow marble, surmounted by an 
urn: *In memory of WALTER KING, Esq., of Naish House in 
this parish, who died April 11th, 1792, aged 78 years. Also of 
MARY his wife, who died October 16th, 1787, aged 63.' 

On the west wall of the north aisle, upon a tablet of grey and 
white marble with bas-relief of a seated female mourner holding a 
vase with a rosebush in it, a flower- wreathed urn above : * Sacred 
to the memory of LOUISA, daughter of JOHN ROBT. LUCAS, Esq., 
and ANNA his wife. She died at Stapleton House in the 
County of Gloucester, 3rd of March, 1807, aged 16 years. An 
amiable disposition, engaging manners, and benevolent heart 
distinguished this affectionate child, and endeared her to her 
parents and friends, whilst an exemplary goodness and sincere 
piety recommended her soul to God. 

''Look down, blest soul, and from the realms above 
Accept this last sad tribute of our love ; 
The last, ev*n now our sorrows we resign. 
And lose our feelings, to rejoice in thine." 

Upon the floor of the central passage of the north aisle were 
lying, until the restoration of 1893-4, the several ledger-stones now 
relaid beneath the tower, and hereafter to be noticed as in that 
position ; in addition to which were the following, now no longer 
to be found : 

* Here lyeth the body of Eliza, wife of Francis Mitchel, and 



102 

daughter of William and Martha Parsons of this parish, who 
departed this life April the 19th, 1729, aged 26. Also here lieth 
the body of the aforesaid Francis Mitchel of the parish of Nailsea, 
who departed this life April the 22nd, 1762, aged 63. Likewise 
the body of Martha Evans, relict of Edward Evans of the parish 
of . . ., Gent, and daughter of the aforesaid Francis and Eliz^ 
Michel : she departed this life July the 24th, 1791, in the 65th 
year of her age.' 

* Here lieth the body of . . ., wife of John Kilmister of this 
parish, yeoman, who died October . . ., aged 3 : A virtuous 
woman is a crown to her husband ! 

Meek was her temper, modest was her life, 
A tender mother and a virtuous wife. 

Also here lieth the body of Moses Elilmister of this parish, yeoman, 
who died May the 9th, 1766, aged near . . .* 
The following are stiU in situ : — 

* Sacred to the memory of Elizabeth, wife of Samuel Alvis of 
this parish, who died February 22nd, 1811, aged 40. Also of 
Ann, their daughter, who died April 11th, 1802, aged 4 years. 
Also of Elizabeth, their daughter, who died July 7th, 1814, aged 
15. Also of Samuel, his son by Hester his second wife, who died 
February 22nd, 1815, aged 1 year and 5 months. Also in memory 
of the aforesaid Samuel Alvis, who departed this Hfe Jime 20th, 
1831, aged . . . years.' 

Under the pulpit : * Here lyeth the body of Adryan Bower, 
Esq., late of Alaerton, in ye county of Somerset, who departed this 
Hfe the 3rd day of May, 1686, aged 56 years.' 

At the west end of the nave, north of the tower arch, is a 
tablet of white and grey marble, surmounted by f uU-length modem 
figures, male and female, weeping over an urn, upon which are 
the initials J. L. and the date 1817, and the following shield — 



103 

Quarterly : I. Quarterly 1 and 4, ^Argent, a chevron gules between 3 
pellets J on a chief azure a moorcock inclosed hy 2 crosses crosslet Jitchy or,' 
Lucas ; 2 and 3, * Oules^ 3 covered caps <yr^ Butler. II. Quarterly 1, 
* Verty a pale between 2 griffins s^greant or^ Adams; 2 and 3, ^ Azure, 
a double-headed eagle displayed or,^ Lyde ; 4, * Sable, 3 fleurs de lys 
2 and 1 argent,^ Adams. III. Quarterly 1 and 4, * Sable, 3 fleurs de 
lys 2 and 1 argent,' Adams; 2 and 3, ^Argent, a horse forcene sable, in 
<ihief 3 crosses patted gules,* Bush. IV. Quarterly 1 and 4, Lucas, as 
before ; 2 and 3, * Or, on a fesse azure 3 garbs of the first,^ Vernon. 
Crest : ^A dexter arm embowed, habited azure and argent, having on its 
Mow a quatrefoil sable, holding fesseways in the hand ppr, a cross-crosslet 
Jitchy gules, ^ Motto : " Pro rege et patria."^^ *Near this marble are 
deposited the remains of JOHN LUCAS, Captain of His Majesty's 
Ist Regiment of Somerset Militia, and only son of J. R. LUCAS 
of BackweU Hill, in this county. He departed this life November 
the 10th, 1817, in the 33rd year of his age. As a last sad tribute 
of gratitude and affection to the memory of the best of sons, this 
monimient is erected by his afflicted parents.' 

Upon a small brass plate beneath the last : * + In affectionate 
memory of JAMES NICHOLS, for 35 yeai-s bailiff on the 
Tyntesfield estate, Bom 1831, Died 1891, this tablet was 
placed here by his friends in and around this parish as a token of 
their regard and esteem.' 

Under the tower, on flat stones removed from the north aisle 
and re-laid in 1893-4, lying north and south [Sir Tibbot Gorges, 
1467, already described] — 

*HERE LYETH THE BODYS OF MR. SAMUEL STILL, CLERK, 
LATE RECTOR OF WRAXALL, AND ARGENTINE HIS WIFE, 
WHO BOTH DEPARTED THIS LIFE IN THE YEARE 



1''^ This shield, recently re-tinctured, is crowded with a needless repetition 
of quarterings. 

^'8 This was originally in the chancel. — Collinson's Somerset, III. 159. 



104 

'HERE LYETH THE BODY OF LEWIS KEMYS, GENT. : HE 
WAS BORN AT LANUAIRE IN MONMOUTHSHIRE IN DECEMBER, 
1623, AND DEPARTED THIS LIFE AT NASH THE 23 OF 
JANUARY, ANNO DOM. 1694.' 

'HERE LIETH THE BODY OF ELIZABETH SIMMONS, WIFE 
OF JAMES SIMMONS, THE ELDEST DAUGHTER OF THOMAS 
A . . . G OF THIS PARISH, WHO DEPARTED THIS LIFE ON 
THE 9th DAY OF APRIL, AN. DOM. 1706, AGED 24 YEARS. 'i^* 

'In memory of WILLIAM VAWER of this parish, Gent., 
who departed this life September ye 29th, 1748, aged 60. Also 
of JUDITH his wife, who departed this Hfe September the 2d, 
1747, aged 49. In memory of ELIZABETH the wife of LUKE 
HOLLISTER of this parish, Gent., and daughter of the aforesaid 
WILLIAM and JUDITH VAWER, who departed this life the 
11th of June, 1771, aged 39.' 

' In memory of MARY, daughter of ROBERT and HESTER 
BAKER of the parish of Tickenham yeoman, who died the 18th 
October, 1772, aged 6 months. Also here resteth the body of the 
aforesaid HESTER BAKER. She departed this life the 21st day 
of April, 1786, aged 48 years. 

Farewel my loving husband dear, 
My children, unto you adieu. 
For God hath called me to rest. 
In Heaven I hope for to see you. 
And there with angels for to sing 
Praises to our Heavenly King. 

likewise MARY, daughter of the aforesaid ROBERT and 
HESTER BAKER who departed this life the 8th of December, 
1786, aged 5 years 10 months. 

Happy 's the babe, who privileged by fate 
To shorter labour and a lighter weight, 
Receiv'd but yesterday the gift of breath, 
Order'd to-morrow to return to death. 

*'* A further portion of the inscription, possibly a verse, is illegible. 



105 

Also of the aforesaid ROBERT BAKER, who died Apiil 1st 
1811, aged 76.' 

*To the memory of MARY, wife of THOMAS BAKER, of 
the parish of Tickenham, Yeoman, who died the Ist October, 
1780, aged 53. Also of THOMAS, son of the above THOMAS, 
and MARY BAKER, who died November the 15th, 1786, 
aged 21, And also of the aforesaid THOMAS BAKER, Sen., 
who died January 15th, 1799, aged 68. Also of BENJAMIN,, 
their eon, who died October 14th, 1802, aged 39.' 

Upon a small white marble tablet, against the west wall of 
the nave, south of the tower arch: * Sacred to the memory of 
BETSEY, wife of JOHN BAKER of Congresbury, and of JOHN, 
their infant son. She died December 24th, 1808, aged 37.' 

Upon a double stone-bordered white marble tablet against 
the south wall of the nave ; * Sacred to the memory of EMILY, 
youngest daughter of the late THOMAS KINGTON, Esq., of 
this parish, who fell asleep in Jesus on the 5th of March, 1845, 
aged 3S years. **Who shall change our vile body, that it may 
be fashioned like unto His glorious Body." Phil. iii. 35. Also 
of SARAH SUSAN, the eldest daughter of the above, wha 
died on the 19th April, 1849, aged 50 years. **I will fear na 
evil, for Thou art with me. Thy rod and Thy staff they comfort 
me." Ps. xxiii. 4. Also of CHARLOTTE ANN, the wife of 
the Rev. J. D. HALES, Incumbent of St. John's Church, 
Eichmond, Surrey, obiit. 15th October, 1858, aged 59 years. **I 
shall be satisfied, when I awake with Thy likeness." Ps. xvii. 15. 
Sacred to the memory of THOIAaS KINGTON, Esq., of Charlton 
House, in this parish, ob* 19th February, 1857, aged 62 years. 
"Complete in Him." Col. ii. 10. Also to the memory of 
SUSANNA ANN KINGTON sister of the above, bom May 5th^ 
1802, died December 9th, 1879. She "being dead yet speaketh.'^ 



106 

Heb. xi. 4. Also to the memory of MABEL HENRIETTA, fourth 
daughter of PHILIP and HENRIETTA KINGTON BLAIR OLIPHANT, 
and granddaughter of the aforesaid THOMAS KINGTON, Esq., 
died September 2nd, 1879, aged 14 years. "Is it well with the 
ohild ? It is well." 2 Kings iv. 26. Also to the memory of 
PHILIP OLIPHANT KINGTON BLAIR OLIPHANT, second son 
of the above THOMAS KINGTON, died July 2nd, 1892, aged 
59 years. "Until the day dawn and the shadows flee 
away." ' 

In the south-east corner of the nave, upon a flat stone : 
* Sacred to the memory of BENJAMIN BAKER, of the parish 
of Max-Bourton, who departed this life October 17th, 1831, aged 
31 years. " Why should we mourn for him that dead {sic), released 
from sin and toil and strife, in hopes to enjoy eternal life." 
Also in memory of EDWARD DOGGETT, of the parish of Yatton, 
who departed this life December 15th, 1833, aged 58 years. 
Also SARAH, the wife of the above EDWARD DOGETT, who died 
November 7th, 1836, aged 61 years.' 

Upon a brass plate in the embrasure of the doorway leading from 
the nave to the Charlton Chapel, surmounted by the shield, * Q-ules, 
a lion * dormant,' really couchant between six crosses crosslet argent,' 
Tynte. *HIC REQUIESCIT CORPUS JOHANNIS TYNTE ARMIGERI 
<5UI INEUNTE ETATE REBECCAM FILIAM RICHARDI STEVENS 
ARMIGERI IN UXOREM CEPIT, SED MORIENS SINE PROLE 
SIBI SUCCESSIT JURE HEREDITARIO EDWARDt) TYNTE DE 
CHELVEY ARMIGER FRATER EIUS PROXIMUS, IS ANNAM 
FILIAM QUARTAM EDWARDI GORGES DE WRAXALL MILITIS 
IN. UXOREM DUXIT, EX QUA NUMEROSAM SUSCEPIT PROLEM, 
QUIBUS OMNIBUS PROPITIETUR DEUS. OBIJT XHI^ DIE 
OCTOBRIS 1616, ANNO XIin« REGIS JACOBL' 

Upon a white marble slab, against the south wall of the 
"Charlton Chapel : * Sacred to the memory of Majob WILLIAM 



107 

MILES KINGTON, late of the Carabineers, who departed this life 
on the 23rd February, 1841, aged 44 years.' 

Upon another: ^This tablet is erected to the memory of 
JOHN KINGTON, Esq., whose remains are deposited in this 
church. He died the 7th of April, 1814, aged 38 years. In the 
same vault the body of MARY ANN KINGTON, spinster, sister 
to the above, lies interred. She departed this Hfe the 16th of 
December, 1814, aged 36 years.' Arms, ^ Argent^ guttei de sang^ a 
crescent sable for difference ^ on a chief wavy per pale gules and vert three 
ducal coronets or^ in this case vpon tJie third. Crest, ' On a crescent 
a%ure four guttei d^or between two sprigs of mgrtle ppr,^ Kington. 

Upon another, surmounted by an esquire's helmet and the 
shield, ' GktleSy a chevron erminois between three crosses calvary argent^^ 
Coopey, impaling * OuUs, a wyvern displayed argent charged on the breast 
with three ermine spots^ Brent. Crest : * A demi-wyvern argent f 
charged on the breast with three ermine spots.^ Motto: *Deus pro- 
videbit.' * This monument sacred to the memory of MARGARETA, 
the wife of the Rev. SAMUEL COOPEY, M.A. She was the 
daughter of the Rev. CHARLES BRENT, M.A., Eector of Christ's 
Church and St. Werburgh in the city of BRISTOL, and CANON 
RESIDENTIARY OF ST. DAVID'S. His ancestor came from 
Normandy with the Conqueror, and had great possessions at 
COSSINGTON and SOUTH BRENT in the reign of Henry I. 
Many of the family served the kings of England in the wars both 
in Gascony and Scotland in the quality of knights, and were great 
benefactors to the Abbey of Glastonbuiy. The last possessor of 
that ancient family, JOHN BRENT, Esq., died at COSSINGTON 
1693. This is an account of her family only, but she wanted no 
advantages of birth to adorn her character. Know then, reader, 
that if a most compleat education joined with the sweetest temper, 
if the sincerest heart, if charity and universal benevolence, if all 



108 

the social and conjugal virtues adomod -with a truly Christian life, 
could have rescued her from the grave, tfiou wouldest not have 
seen here inscribed the imperfect description of this excellent 
woman. After a long and most painful iUness, which she bore 
with a marvellous patience, it pleased GOD to release her from 
all her miseries and troubles on the 6th day of December, 1744, 
aged 51. In vicino subtus domicilio cum carissima conjuge dormit 
SAMUEL COOPEY, A.M., honestissimis parentibus natus. Qualem 
dum apud mortales commoratus est vitam egit DIES ILLE indicabit. 
Emigravit. A.D. MDCCL.' 

Against the west waU, upon a large marble tablet, bearing 
the inscription: 'Eemoved from St. Ewen's Church, BRISTOL,' ^^ 
*Eeverendus CAROLUS BRENT, A.M., antiqua stirpe oriundus, 
hujus ecclesiae rector, S^- Werburgse vicarius, ac CANONICUS 
RESIDENTIARIUS MENEVENSIS, cum duabus Uxoribus totidemque 
Liberis juxta requiescit. Concionator erat egregius, assiduus, 
perpolitus. Vitse probitate omavit, et splendore sermonum 
illustravit, magnas Christianse Eeligionis Veritates. DiflB-cillimas 
TheologisB Questiones mira sagacitate explicare ac latentem 
veritatem eruere optim6 novit. Acumine ingenii, suavitate morum, 
animi candore, benevolentia, eruditione, modestia inter plurimoa 
exceUuisset. Emigravit Junii xm., A.D. MDCCXXIX., eetatis 63. 
Caetera infra lege.' An obliterated shield above was doubtless that 
already given as * Brent.' 

Upon a white marble tablet, surmounted by a dove: 
'SACRED TO THE MEMORY OF MARGARET, WIFE OF THOMAS 
KINGTON, Esq., OF THIS PARISH, WHO DIED AT TEIGNMOUTH, 
DEVON, ON THE 14th SEPTEMBER, 1839, AGED 40. ''Looking urUo 
Jeav^." ALSO OF JAMES WILLIAM, SON OF THE ABOVE, WHO 
DIED ON THE 3rd MARCH, 1836, AGED 21 DAYS.' 

*^o A parish consolidated with Christ Church, under which heading this 
inscription is printed in Barrett's Bristol, p. 470. 



109 

Upon another: * SACRED TO THE MEMORY OF THOMAS 
KINGTON, Esq., OF CHARLTON HOUSE, IN THE PARISH OF 
WRAXALL, WHO DEPARTED THIS LIFE ON THE 22^d OF APRIL, 
1827, AGED 55 YEARS. ALSO OF CHARLOTTE KINGTON, WIFE 
OF THE ABOVE, WHO DIED ON THE 21st FEBRUARY, 1844, AGED 
69 YEARS. "Christ is all and in all."' 

Upon a brass plate on the south ■wall, beneath one of the 
Endows: '^be j£a0t witiOow in tbc Cbancel and tbose In tbe 
Cbarlton aisle were Dedicated In 1896 to tbe memorB of (5eorge 
<5lbb0 of Selniont In tble parted wbo Med 28tb /BSarcb, 1863, 
and ot Ibarrlett bis wife, wbo died I5tb ©ctobec, 1865, botb of 
AVbom are burled In tbl0 cburcb^ard/ 

Beneath the south porch is the burial-place of the Vaughan 
family, and against its eastern wall a diamond-shaped brass plate 
protected by plate glass and bordered in alabaster, bears a cross 
fleury, its terminations etched in fine lines with representations of 
a sower, sheaves of com, a lighthouse, a Bible and pastoral staff, 
the Sacred Monogram in its centre. Upon its lateral arms, 
^*J5leB6ed are tbe dead wbo die in tbe Xord;" and across its 
vertical ones, ♦ ibere rest tbe mortal remains ot Jobn Ibensman, 
yellow ot C.C.C. Cambridge, tormerlB Curate ot Timraiall, wbo, 
atter 55 sears ot bumble and taltbtul ministry In tbe parlsb ot 
CUtton, died tbere Bprll 23d, 1864, aged 83 gears, also ot 
;6ll3abetb bis beloved wlte, sister ot 5ames IDaugban, "Rector 
ct TOraxall. Sbe died at CUtton, IRovember 9tb, 1860, aged 
84 sears/ 

THE BENEFACTIONS. 

Engraved upon two brass plates, framed in stone on the 
south wall of the nave, placed there in 1851, is the following 
Table of Benefactions : — 

'CTbe Aarcbloness ot naortbampton, 'Relict ot Sir (Tbomas 
<5orges, Itnt., gave £100 to tbe poor ot Mraxall, wltb wblcb 



110 

were purcbaeed tbe fields called ^be fn^tb fUilaea^ tbe rent 
to be btatributeb amongat tbe poor on St ^Tbomaa' bai?, aa tbe 
Cbutcbwatbend tbinfi fit 

fbcnvs Auglewottb, iBeq.f ot Cbarlton 1)0U6e in tbia paci5b» 
b^ bid TDQlill 5une 15tb» 1782, gave £tO lOa* in trust to tbe 
Cburcbwarbend, tbe interest to be given in breab ^cnvl^. 

OsxB. Bnne Hewmant relict of tbe saib 1). Augleswortb, 
afterward wife ot Samuel Viewman ot JSristot JEsq., b^ ber TDQlill 
bated 30tb December, 1783, gave £100 in trust to tbe Cburcb^ 
wardens, tbe interest to be given in bread and mone)? on Cbristmas 
Dai? to poor bousefieepers and sucb otber poor ot tbis parisb as 
tbe Cburcbwardens sball tbinfi proper. 

Zbc two last bequests, togetber witb £80 arising from tbe 
sale of timber on Jibe fri^tb, bave been invested b^ tbe 'Rector 
and Cburcbwardens in a field at Hailsea Ho. 128t 

Ars. J6li3abetb Aartindale b^ ber TKIlill gave £195 Old 
Soutb Sea annuities, tbe dividends to be applied b^ tbe 'Rector 
and Cburcbwardens to tbe education of si; poor girls of tbis 
parisb. % moiet)? of tbis sum was invested in 1837 in tbe 
erection of tbe national Scbooi Cottage at failand, and tbree 
poor girls of tbis parisb are to be educated in tbat scbooi free 
for ever* 

JSi? a decree of tbe Xord 1)igb Cbancellor, dated 1st Bpril, 
1808, it is ordered tbat tbe interest from time to time to accrue, 
due on £702 18s. 8d. 3 per cent consolidated JSank annuities, 
standing in tbe name of tbe accountant General ot tbe Court 
of Cbanceri? in trust, in tbe cause Cooper and otbers against 
JSengougb and otbers, tbe parisb of TKIlrasall account, wbicb 
arises from a legac)? given b^ tbe mill ot Bbrabam JElton, J6sa„ 
deceased, bearing date lOtb Bpril, 1794, sbould be paid to tbe 
l^ector ot tbis parisb until furtber order of tbe said Court, to 
be b^ bim applied, in conjunction witb tbe Cburcbwardens and 
Overseers for tbe time being, for tbe advantage of tbe poor ot 
tbis parisb according to tbe directions of tbe said Bbrabam 
jElton's milt 



Ill 

'Ricbatd Daudban ot HQltasaU Xodge erected tbe acbooltoom 
in tbe cbutcbi^ard in 1809, and qhvc it in trust to tbe l^ector 
for tbe time being tor tbe education ot tbe cbildren ot tbia pariab 
for cvct. On tbe tat 5anuari?, 18tt, be gave also in truet to tbe 
•Rector for tbe time being £300 to be inveated in eucb aecuritc 
aa tbe aaid 'Rector aball tbinfi proper, tbe ptoceeda to be applied 
to tbe repair of tbe acboolroom and tbe religioua education of 
tbe poor of tbia pariab. XLo tbia aum tbe l^ector baa added £70, 
inveating £320 in tbe erection of tbe acbool cottage and depoaitin^ 
£50 in tbe JSriatol Savinga JSand. 

n:bomaa *lkington, jEaa^ of Cbarlton Douae, b^ bia mill date^ 
3d Aarcb, t813, gave £200 in truat to tbe 'Rector and Cburcbs> 
wardena, witb wbicb were purcbaaed two tielda in TOtraxall,. 
flo. 779 and 840, tbe rent to be given to tbe deaerving poor of 
tbia pariab on tbe tat of 5anuari?, or aa near tbat time aa i^ 
convenient to tbe 'Rector, in bread, coal, or warm clotbing/ 

THE STAINED WINDOWS. 

The series of coloured windows is of so exceptionally beautiful 
a character that it may be well to describe them as a whole, apart 
from the architectural features of the church. They are from the^ 
burine of Charles Eamer Xempe, Esq., and are among the finest 
examples of his art. Their subjects are arranged in two sequences. 
— those in the north aisle clustering around the Saviour's birth, 
those in the Charlton Chapel around His Passion, the whole 
culminating in 'the Majesty' of the eastern window of the 
chancel. 

'The Annunciation' in the three-light western north aisle 
window, a subject which lends itself more readily to one of two- 
lights, is cleverly treated under difficult conditions. There is a 
continuous ornate interior, with garden and landscape seen through 
an arcade of small Eomanesque arches. In the centre a rich group 
of devotional furniture — a book-case prie-dieu just vacated by its 



112 

t)wner, her conventional lily in a brazen vase, lighted candles, 
books of devotion lying open with the text from the Song of 
Hannah, *j6jultavlt cot mcum'"^ and 'iDocabant me beatam;' 
the Holy Dove, emitting crimson rays of glory, sweeping down 
from above, — with the legend on a scroll, *1BivCf Aaria^ 0tatia^ 
plena, Dns tecum/ The angel Gabriel in the dexter light, nimbed 
and crowned, in jewelled cope, dalmatic and albe, his right hand 
raised in benediction, carries in his left a sceptre bearing the 
crowned initial Ub and a vexillum with *BVC Aaria/ The 
Blessed Virgin in the sinister light, in robe of blue, over which is 
a white embroidered mantle, stands at a lectern reading, with a 
look of absorption, while from her lips upon a riband runs the 
familiar aspiration, * j6cce ancilla Dni, flat mibf eecunbu verbu tuu/ 
In the tracery a choir of demi-angels, crowned and wearing copes, 
support the chant, * (Gloria tibU 2>ne, qui natus ea be tDirglne.' 
In the adjoining window on the north (they are all of three 
lights) *the Nativity' follows. The dexter and central lights are 
filled with shepherds, who, in dark-coloured, fur-lined hoods and 
cloaks, one of* them carrying musical pipes, stand and kneel in 
adoration, while S. Joseph holds a lantern from which he has 
removed its lighted candle. In the distance shepherds amongst 
their flocks are listening to the Heavenly message, while in the 
sinister light the Blessed Virgin, in dark blue robe and white 
mantle, unveils to view the Babe Divine, a vested attendant 
-angel ^^ kneeling at her side, while a similarly-clad celestial choir, 
descending a broad staircase from above, maintains the song, 
* (Gloria in excelstd Deo.' Demi-angels in the tracery repeat the 
strain, ♦ ©lotla tibi, ISfnc, qui natua ea be Dirgine/ 

^81 It is pleasant to think of the Blessed Virgin learning by heart the song 
of Hannah (1 Sam. ii. 1). Another three-light window similarly 
treated by the same artist is in the church of Reigate in Surrey. 

*8* Milton's Ode on the Nativity, last line. 



113 

'The Adoration of the Magi' occupies the third window, in 
the sinister light of which the Blessed Virgin, robed as before, is 
seated beneath a thatched shed, her Divine Son upon her knees, 
the guiding Star above their heads. In the near distance S. Joseph 
is approaching from the cattle-shed. The other lights are occupied 
by the three gorgeously - apparelled Kings with rich Oriental 
crowns and turbans, and strange caskets in their hands, their 
retinue accompanying them ; a fortified city in the central distance. 
More angels in the tracery above continue the eternal song of 
praise already twice repeated. 

The remaining window on the north, included now in the 
chapel east of the organ-screen, contains a beautiful picture of 
*The Presentation in the Temple,' the Event Itself in the sinister 
light, where the Blessed Virgin Mother and the aged Simeon, 
fltanding together, support between them their Holy Burden, Who 
lies with crossed arms and gentle smile, while from the old man's 
irembling lips escapes the fViunc Mmittie ecxvvi tuu,' In the 
dexter light the aged Anna is seen entering the sanctuary, with 
hands uplifted, dad in dark robe and embroidered mantle, her 
hood drawn over her head, while the Virgin Mother and her Holy 
Child approach from behind. In the central light S. Joseph offers 
at the altar the accustomed offering, in a barred cage, the priest 
with his office-book standing by. The background represents a 
Tich Eomanesque interior, lighted by pendant lamps. The tracery 
is treated like that of the other windows. 

In the Charlton Chapel on the opposite side of the church 
increased gloom and darker colouring indicate a change of subjects. 
The events of the Passion are treated in a double row of con- 
tinuous pictures, interrupted by the midlions of the two southern 
windows. * The Agony in the Garden ' represents the ministration 
of the chalice to the kneeling Sufferer by an angel, the slumbering 

8 



114 

Apostles in the foreground, while in the near distance the approach 
of the traitor and his band over a covered bridge into the olive 
grove, and the actual betrayal scene, are portrayed. In the lower 
portion of the same window is * The Hall of Judgment.' Within 
a Komanesque arcaded building Pilate, richly clothed, is seated on 
his chair of state, his wife in ermine-lined robe accosting him, 
while a page pours into a basin the water for his hands, and 
priests and Eoman soldiers stand and gaze. The sentenced Victim 
is led forth between two of His guards, a fine group of whom 
precede and follow, one bearing aloft the brazen eagle with the 
S.P.Q.E. of Imperial Eome. 

In the higher tier of the adjoining window is the * Ecce Homo.' 
Pilate, in magnificent apparel, standing at the top of a flight of 
stairs, his Holy Prisoner, with tied hands and crimson robe, beside 
him, while at the bottom kneels a scoffing soldier in feigned 
adoration, bystanders of all classes looking on and reviling. The 
*Via Dolorosa' finds illustration below, the Saviour, the central 
Figure, bearing His Cross, S. Veronica offering her kerchief on her 
knees ; in advance a procession of soldiers, one of them carrying in 
a basket the implements of crucifixion, while a dignified Pharisee 
bears the title INRI in his hands; behind, a group of sorrowing 
women, headed by the Blessed Virgin and S. John, a man on 
horseback and another with a ladder bringing up the rear. The 
backgrounds of both the windows are very sombre in tone ; the 
fortified city of Jerusalem is seen behind. Beneath the subjects, 
on broad bands^ are extracts from the ancient office for Good Friday 
.known as *The Eeproaches' : *® ! its^ people, Wbat bave 5 ^Olie 
unto tbee, anb wberein bave 5 wearieb tbee? answer Ae.'*»* 
And the additional lamentations : * 3- gave tbee a roj^al 6Ceptret 
anb tbou gaveet flSe a crown ot tborns.' * because 5 broufltut 

183 Micah vi. 3, 4. 



115 

tbee out ot tbe land of JBg^pt, tbou baet prepared a croee tor 
tbB Saviour/ *5 teb tbee witb manna tbrou^b tbe beaert, anb 
tbou beatest Ae witb buttetd anb econvgcs: '5 went betore 
tbee in a pillar ot cloub, anb tbou lebbeet Ae betore IMlate'a 
Jubdnient^aeat/ In the tracery, demi-angels bear golden shields 
with the emblems of the Passion. 

The east window of the chantry contains the Crucifixion, a 
dignified presentment of the Saviour occupying its central, S. Mary 
the Blessed Virgin, and S. John its side lights, with a background of 
the architecture of the Holy City, and vested angels in the diapered 
and star-spangled sky. The skill of the artist is commemorated 
by a small armorial shield in the upper tracer}^ — * Gules, 3 garbs 
within a bordure engrailed or, entoyre de pomeis,^ for Kempe ; 
while another bears the initials E. A. T., those of his chief artificer. 
The other spaces have the Sun, the Moon, and the Evangelistic 
symbols. The tone of this window is lighter than that of its 
companions, having a larger admixture of white glass. 

In the chancel two smaller southern windows, from the studio 
of Mr. T. C. Tute, illustrate ' The Entombment ' and ' The Eesur- 
rection,' while Mr. Kempe's magnificent east window culminates 
the whole. This is of five lights, the grand figure of Our Lord in 
majesty, splendidly apparelled, His right hand raised in benediction, 
in His left the orb of universal sovereignty, seated upon a decora- 
tive canopied throne, occupying the central space. At His feet, two 
seated angels in jewelled copes bear between them upon a scroll 
the legend * Xaubate W\m be cells. Xaubate J6um in excelale/ 
In the adjoining lights are richly- attired seated figures of SS. Peter 
and Paul, the former carrying his keys, the latter in his right hand 
an open book inscribed, *5n flomen 5c8U omne genu tlectatur/ 
and inliis left the sword of his martyrdom. Behind them stand 
the Blessed Virgin and S. John the Evangelist, the first crowned and 



116 

holding a lily, the second a pen in his right hand, and in his left his 
open Gt)spel inscribed, * IDecbum catO tactU6/ a golden eagle upon a 
lectern at his side. In the north and south lights are seated, in full 
pontificals, S. Augustine of Canterbury, wearing a precious mitre, 
and holding a yexillum with a crucifix upon it in one hand, and 
his archiepiscopal cross in the other; and S. Gregory the Qreat, 
wearing the triple Papal crown and a jewelled cope, the triple 
cross in his right hand. Behind these stand S. John the Baptist 
with his bannered cross, and S. Andrew with his own. In the 
«tarry sky, supported upon conventional radiated clouds, are white- 
vested angels with coloured wings in attitudes of adoration. The 
entire composition is highly finished and effective, the faces fine as 
miniatures. In the tracery are twelve armorial shields. Over the 
central lights : 

I. Quarterly: 1. Lozengy, or and azure, a chevron gules, 
Gorges (2d coat); 2. Argent, on a chief gules three 
bezants, Bussell of Dyrham; 3. Gules, a lion rampant 
ermine, Oldhall; 4. Argent, a chevron sable between 
three gads ermines, Englowes. 
n. Argent, three battleaxes, 2 and 1, within a bordure nebule 

sable, Gibbs. 
m. Bussell, as before. 

rV. Sable, a chevron argent between three infants' heads 
couped at the shoulder of the second crined or 
enwrapped about the neck with as many snakes ppr., 
Yaughan. 
Over the dexter lights : 

V. Argent, a gurges azure. Gorges (1st coat). 
VI. Gorges (2d coat), as before. 
Vn. OldhaU, as before. 
Viil. Englowes, as before. 



117 

Over the sinister lights : 

IX. Gibbs, as before, impaling argent on a pile issuing from 
chief azure a demi-lion rampant of the £rst, in base 
two fleurs de lys of the second, Merivale. 
X. Merivale, as before. 
XI. Gibbs, as before, impaling Quarterly 1 and 4, Erminois on 
a f esse azure between three cranes ppr. a saltire humett j 
between two crosses crosslet fitchee or, Crawley. 2 and 
3, ermine, a bend gules guttee d*or between two 
martlets sable, Boevey. 
Xn. Quarterly, Crawley, and Boevey, as before. 
In the apex, on scrolls, twice repeated : XaU0 2)C0* 

Quite distinct from the two sequences described are special 
windows in the nave and tower. One of them, over against the 
font, may be termed * The Baptismal window,' the other * The 
Angelic one.' Single figures fill the upper spaces of the first: 
8. John the Baptist, in the centre, with his camel's-hair coat 
beneath a green mantle, holds upon his right arm on closed book 
the couchant Holy Lamb, and in his left hand his traditional 
wooden cross, the vexillum inscribed *JBCCC %Qn\X6 Dci/ Noah, 
upon his right, wears crimson robe and white embroidered mantle, 
and holds aloft upon one wrist the dove, and in his other hand an 
olive branch and a model of the ark. Moses, on his left, very 
similarly attired, with scintillations of glory from his forehead, 
carries his rod and the open tables of the Law. The initials of the 
three appear in the borders of the lights, the lower part of which 
represents the Baptism of Our Lord. Standing in a sedge-grown 
brook, with a crimson cloth around His form, He receives the 
Sacrament from a scallop-shell at the hands of His Forerunner 
kneeling upon the bank, the radiated Holy Dove alighting upon 
Him, while beautifully-vested attendant angels hold towels on either 



118 

side. Six demi-angels in the tracery above bear upon scrolls the 
legends— *j5eneWcUc maria, ct, tlumlna Dno/ 'Xau^ate et aup' 
cxaltate J6u in accula.'"* 

Warrior angels, clad in full plate armour of varied design, 
bearing pennons with crosses thereon, with jewelled and ermined 
mantles over their shoulders, occupy the three lights of the western 
window, and support their leader, S. Michael, in their midst, 
similarly clad, as with cross-headed lance he transfixes the crimson 
dragon prone beneath his feet. Small demi-angels in the apex hold 
shields with monograms. 



THE 0OMMI7NION PLATE. 

In 1419 Agnes, relict of Thomas Gorges, Esq., bequeathed 
to Wraxall Church *one gilt cup,' and in 1511 Sir Edmund 
Gorges *a chalice to the valeur of £5.' 

These pre-Eeformation articles have long since been confis- 
cated, or have disappeared. And so has * a branched candlestick,' 
noted by Collinson as 'given by Isaac Martindale, gent, in the 
year 1728.' 

The plate at present in use consists of — 1. A pair of capacious 

bell-shaped cups on high stems, 8J inches high, the bowls 

4i inches in diameter : on the older of the two the hall-mark of 

1660 or 1662; on the companion cup, made to correspond, the 

hall-mark of 1702 (Newcastle), the maker's initials illegible on 

both. 2. A pair of plain footed patens, 2f inches high, 8 inches 

in diameter : upon one the hall-mark (London) 1702, maker's 

initials L.O., with a key, date engraved 1713 ; upon the other the 

hall-mark (London) 1723-4, maker's initials T.M., with a star 

below, within a trefoil. 3. A large plated flagon of tankard type, 

184 _From the * Benedicite,* — one of the antiphons at Lauds on the Feast of 
Epiphany. 



119 

with spout, curved handle, and domed lid. It is probably the 
later of the two patens mentioned above which was the gift of 
Elizabeth (who died 1733), relict of Samuel Gorges, Esq., as noted 
by Collinson. 

THB REGISTERS. 

Of these the earliest is a small folio of ninety-two leaves of 
vellum, in good preservation, rebound in leather, with some blank 
leaves of paper at the end. Eecorded separately are Baptisms, 
1663 to 1721; Marriages, 1562 to 1717; Burials, 1562 to 1721. 
The entries, in one handwriting to the close of the 17th century, 
are evidently those of the Elizabethan copyist. Upon the flyleaf 
at the beginning is the inscription : — 

* Feare God, Honour y« King, 
Let those y* feare God for ever say k sing.' 

On leaves at the end are *An Inventory of the Church goods,' 
and *A Terrier' of the Rectorial Glebe, both taken in 1634, 
under the signatures of *Ezechiell Pownell,' then Eector, and 
Thomas Porter and David Tilly, Churchwardens. There is also 
a late instance of a 'license to eat flesh in Lent,' granted in 
1666 by the Eector aforesaid to Samuel Gorges, Esq., and Jane 
his wife.^®^ After the close of this book, the entries of Baptisms 
and Burials are continuously recorded in other volumes, but 
there is an interruption in the Marriages until 1754, when they 
are recommenced upon the printed formula then in use for the 
publication of banns and celebration of marriages, in a vellum, 
folio, continued to 1812, when it was superseded by the modem 
registers. It is unfortunate that no explanation is obtainable 
of the loss of the missing volume, and application at the Diocesan 
Eegistry at WeUs reveals the fact that there are no transcripts 
185 Printed in Somerset and Dorset Notes and Queries, I. 67. 



120 

there of that period. Of the Churchwardens' books none is 
extant before 1707, though reference is made to an earlier 
volume. From that date they are well kept and written, and 
the rates confirmed by the signatures of the magistrates. 

There are entries of the Gorges family from 1564 to 1708, of 
the Babers from 1566 to 1750, of the Sheppards from 1591 to 
1637, of the Wales or Wallish family from 1577 to 1718, of the 
Harbords [baptisms only] 1596 to 1616, of the Tyntes from 1571 
to 1616. The Marriage Eegisters, by kind permission of the^ 
Eector, are about to be printed in Mr. Phillimore's Somerset series. 
Eobert WiUmatt was approved and swome as *Eegister' of tha 
Parish, February 17th, 1653, by Ei. Jones, Esq., J.P. 

The second Eegister of Baptisms, a paper folio newly covered 

in leather, contains upon thirty -five leaves the entries from 1731 to 

1812. The first page has been re-mounted, and suggests the 

probable loss of one or more of the earlier leaves, and of their 

record of Baptisms from 1721 to 1731. A memorandum under 

the date 1801 mentions the death of the Eev. Eobert Simpkinson^ 

Eector, in that year, and the induction of his successor, the Eev. 

James Vaughan. The second Eegister of Burials, a precisely 

similar volume, has upon thirty-one leaves the entries from 1721 

to 1812. Prom 1751 to 1771 affidavits are recorded of burial in 

woollen, according to the Act then in force. The bulk of both 

books, discontinued in 1812, and superseded by the modem forma 

still in use, remains blank. There are entries in 1752 and 1800 

of the baptism of negro boys in domestic service."® The admirable 

condition of all the parish books is due to the reverent care 

bestowed upon them by the Eector and his immediate predecessors. 

186 These were slaves, purchased probably at Bristol, the great emporium, 
for them. It is pleasant to find their masters caring for their 
spiritual interests. 



121 



THE EECTOES. 

From * Somerset Incumbents, edited by the Eev. F. W. Weaver^ 
vicar of Milton Clevedon, Evercreech, 1889/ pp. 302-3, continued 
from other sources. 



Date of 

Institution. 


Incumbent. 


How Vacated. 


Patron. 


A.D. 


Adam de Morville "7 






1311. 


Joh: de Overton i* 






1318. 


Walt: de Eudon iw 


per res: J. de 0. 


Rad: Gorges. 


1320. 


Ric: de Buron or 

Bourne i«> 
Joh: Kyvele iw 


per cess: Walt.... 


Sir Ralph Gorges. 


1325. 


per mut: c. R.B. 


Hug: de Courteney,. 


There must 


be omitted institutio na between 1325 


mil: ratione cus- 


and 1401. 


one of which is suppl ied by the will of 
bald de Gorges, which is at Lambeth, 


todies man: de 


Sir Theo 


Wroxhall, et Radul- 


dated 13 


80, in which he appoin|ts Thomas Mon- 


phi fil: Rad: de 
Gorges nuper de- 
functi. 


nex, Rec 


tor of Wraxall, one of 


his executors. 


1401. Dec. 13 


Joh: Bathe 




1406. Nov. 3 


Ric: Brynkele 


perres:J.B. ... 


Tho: Norton, Arm. 


1409. Mar. 8 


Joh: Lokhawe 


per mut: c. 
R.B.i9^ 




1416. Dec. 18 


Nich: Sturgeon 


per mut: c. 


Joh: Rodney, Will: 






J.L.193 


Beaucham, Hug: 
Pyke, Tho: Norton,, 
jun: fil:, Tho: Norton 
de Bristol. 


1433. May 17 


Will:Waynfleteiw... 


perres:N.S. ... 


Theobald Gorges, mil. 


1436. Nov. 18 


Will: Stephens \ 
Canon: Wellens J 


permort:W.W.iM 




1447. Oct. 1 


Tho:Heynes 


permort: W.S.... 


Theobald Gorges, mil. 



187 This name, not in Mr. Weaver's list, has been kindly supplied by the Rev. Canon 

Holmes. Adam de Morville died September 22, 1265. It was found in a fragmentary 
Register of Bishop Gilford, bound up with other documents at York. 

188 Or Everdon. Forced to resign by the ' contra plurales ' constitution.— Bp: Drokensford's 

Register. Somerset Record Soc, Vol. I., p. 12. 

189 Or Everdon. 

19J Confessing to the Bishop his non-residence and contumacy, whereby he was Table to 
excommunication and sequestration, he obtained absolution " in fnrm& juris " on 

})romise "de stando et parendo," and giving sureties. But finding it convenient to 
eave the diocese, he effected an exchange with John Kyvele for the Yicarafre of 
Shalfleet in the Isle of Wight. Bp: Drakensford's Register, as above, p. 253. These 
early rectors seem to have been somewhat irregular in their conduct. 

191 '1848. Monitus ad residend: in e&dem.' Wells Dioc: Reg: Harleian M8S. Brit: Mus: 
Register of Bishop Ralph de Salopia. Som. Rec. Soc X., 725, 728. 

U2 For the Rectory of Towcester. 

193 For the Rectory of Avening and Chapel of Alveston (Allcrton) juxta Weare. 

191 It would have been pleasant to have been able to identify this Rector with his name- 
sake and cotemporary, the great Bishop of Winchester and Founder of Magdalen 
Coll., Oxford, some of whose biographers, e.g. Wood and Chalmers, have done so. 
But the most reliable and careful of them has concluded that the evidence of the 
Diocesan Registers renders it impossible. Chandler's Life of Waynflete, 17. Phelps, 
however (MSS. continuations to Gollinson, Brit: Mus: Vol. YII.) has fallen into th& 
same error. 



122 



Date of 
Instation. 


Incumbent. 


How Vacated. 


Patron. 


1455. May 24 


Will: Prout or 
ProweiM 


permort: T.H.... 


Theobald Gorges, mil. 


1467. July 17 


Job: Mede, A.M.1W 
Tbo:Moyse 


per res: W.P. ... 


Ditto 


1493. May 14 


Will: Drewe Capel- 

lanus 
Tho: Austyll, LL.B. 


per mort: T.M.... 


Edmund Gorges, mil. 


1601. Jan. 12 


perres:W.D. ... 


Ditto 


1603. Mar. 8 


Tbo: Gyllyngbam ^7 
Edm:Ken, A.M. ... 


perres:T.A. ... 


Ditto 


1614. Dec. 14 


per mort: T.G. ... 


Ditto 


1545. Oct. 31 


Job: Barlow 


per mort: E.K... 


Ditto 


1546. April 10 


Ric: Netheway 
Edw: Toogood, A.M. 
Tho: Lewis 


per mort: J.B. ... 


Ditto 


1554 Sep. 21 




Ditto 


1560. Dec. 18 


per mort: ult: 

Rect: 
per mort: ult: 


Edw: Gorges, gen: 


1662. June 19 


Will:Ck)ok 


Ditto Arm: 






Rect: 




1674. Oct. 8 


Will: Jones, LL.B.iw 


perres:W.C. .. 


Alicia nup: ux: Hen: 
Dodyngton, Marg: 
et Jana Gorges sor- 
ores, Edw: Gorges 
Arm: def. 


1609. Mar. 6 


Rob: GuUiford, 
S.T.B.i»J 

200 


permort: W.J.... 


Edward Gorges mil 


1613. May 15 


Ezekiel Pownell, 

A.M.201 


sue: R.G 


Jac. Rex. 


1663. April 21 


Tbo: Gorges, 

S.T.P.M2 


sue: E.P. 


Rob: Gary mil:, Geo: 






et Eliz: Gary frater 








et soror Rob: Gary 
mil. 
Sam: Gorges, Arm. 


1667. Feb. 4 


Ric: (or Edward) 


sue: T.G 




Ancketyll,A.M.2^» 







196 Afterwards Master of the Hosp: of 8. John at Bedmlnster. 

196 Juramentuin pnestitit diosolvend: ann: pensionem & lib ad cantari3, fandata eccle: 
Gath: Wells: ad altarem Sancti Crucis. 

107 Witness to the Will of Sir Bdmnnd Gorges, Ent., 1511. 

198 Prebendarj' of Wells, 1567. D.G.L. 1574. Married Margaret, daughter of Edmund Gorges 

Esq., Vicar-General to Bishop of Bath and Wells, "double and treble beneficed in 
the diocese thereof," Wood's Fasti Ozon. Died 1609. His gravestone was in the 
chancel. Coliinson, VoL III. p. 159. 

199 Prebendary of Bristol, died 1612— buried there, but entered at Wraxall. Will 1612. 

Bom. Wills, V. 42. Barrett's Bristol, p. 840. 

1:00 There is no room in this place for Nathaniel Pownell, Registrar of the Diocese of 
Bristol, buried at S. Augustine's the Less in 1611, and stated to have been rector here, 
and to have built the Rectory House. Barrett's Bristol, p. 407. He has evidently 
been confounded with his namesake, the succeeding rector, who held the benefice for 
fifty years. His will, 1611, styles him Nathaniel Pownell, of Bristol, gent. Registrar 
of the Diocese of Bristol by patent. Somersetshire Wills, I. 26. 

201 Buried here 1662-3. 

202 This is thought to have been a re-institution, and that h« had held the benefice before 

the outbreak of civil war, and been rejected. He was the fifth son of Sir Edward 
Gorges, of Charlton, Knt., Fellow of All Souls 1629, Prebendary of Sarum 1643, 
Rector of ^orth Stoneham, Hants, Archdeacon of Winton 1660, Prebendary of 
Westminster 1661. Walker's ' Suflerings of the Clergy," II. 70. 

208 Rector of Clapton in Gordano, ob. 1685. 



123 



Date of 
Institution. 


Incumbent. 


How Vacated. 


Patron. 


1686. April 20 


Tho: Holt, S.T.P.,»4 
Cancellarius et Ca- 
nonicus Wellens: 


per mort: R.A. ... 




1689. June 5 


John Trenchard, A.B. 


permort: T.H.... 


Ditto 


1694. Aug. 2 


Sam: Still «» 


per mort: J.T. ... 


Ditto 


1698, May 21 


Edm. Estcourt, 

A.M.2M 


permort: S.S. ... 


Ditto 


1711. Nor. 19 


Sam:Coopey.A.M.»7 
William Batt a» ... 


per mort: E.E. ... 


John CJodrinton, Arm. 


1750. 




The King, by lapse. 


1767. 


Reginald Cotton . . . 




Sir Chas. Warwick 

Bampfylde, Bart. 
Oldfield Bowles, Esq. 


1780. 


James Gumming 4*. 




1781. 


Robert Simkinson ... 




Ditto 


1801. 


James Vaughan**... 




Richard Vaughan, Esq. 


1857. 


Edward Protheroe 

Vaughan «<> 
Henry Vaughan ^^... 




Himself. 


1891. 







2M Baried at Wraxall, 1688, set. 80. His monumental tablet in the chancel. 

205 Married here, November 6th, 1678, Argentine Ancketyll, daughter of Richard, called in 

the entry of the marriage Bdward, one of his predecessors in the Rectory. Killed by 
a fall ftrom his horse on Wraxall Hill. 

206 Buried here 1711. Will 1710. Somerset Wills, VI. 12. 

207 He preached a remarkable Assize Sermon at the trial of rioterii at Bristol on the 

Accession of George I., Seyer's Bristol, II. 566. He died, 'emigravit' 1760. His 
monument is in the souui chantry. 
206 Died 1766. 

209 Ob. 1857. Monumental tablet in the chancel. He purchased the advowson in 1803. 

210 M.A. of BaUiol Coll., Oxford, ob. 1891. Monumental brass in chancel. 

211 M.A. of University Coll., Oxford. Rural Dean 1900. 



THE EECTOEY. 

The advowson of the church went with the manor,"' the lords 
of which, as will be seen from the list of patrons, nominated the 
rectors. On two occasions only the Crown appointed. About the 
year 1800, upon the bankruptcy of Sir Charles Warwick Bamp- 
fylde, Bart., the next presentation was purchased by Eichard 
Yaughan of St. Michael's Hill, Bristol, Esq., and in 1808 the 
advowson by the Eev. James Vaughan, whom he had appointed to 

212 They were conveyed together, 4 Edw. HI., 1330-1, to Ralph de Gorges 
and Elizabeth his wife, with remainders to the sons in succession 
of Theobald Russel, and their heirs. — Som. Fines, Som. Rec. Soc., 
XII. 146. 



124 

the Eectory, which remains in his family. The tithe rent-charge 
was commuted at £528, and there is a glebe of seventy-six acres. 
The value of the benefice was considerably augmented in 1893> 
under the Will of the late Eichard Vaughan, Esq., who placed in 
trust the sum of £40,000, the income to be paid to the Eector for 
the time being, and also the further sum of £24,000, for the 
purpose of establishing a Curate's fund for Wraxall and Failand, 
at which latter place he had buHt during his lifetime a handsome 
church and curate's residence at the.^ost of £12,000. 

In 1811 the Eev. James Vaughan obtained a private Act of 
Parliament for the severance from the mother-church of her two 
dependent chapelries of Nailsea and Max Bourton, and their joint 
constitution as a separate benefice, an arrangement which, curiously 
enough, had been recommended by Commissioners in the time of 
Cromwell. Mr. Vaughan purchased a house at Nailsea close to 
the church, and made it over for a Eectory, resigning the tithe 
and fees arising from that chapelry for its endowment, and dis- 
posing of its patronage to James Adam Gordon of Naish, Esq., 
from whom it passed to the mother of the Eev. Frederic Brown, 
who appointed her son to the Eectory, which then included the 
chapelry of Max Bourton. By his exertions a further division 
was effected in 1844, when by Order in Council the last-named 
place was made independent, its quota of tithe and fees appended 
to it, and it became a Eectory in 1866, its patronage being 
subsequently transferred to Antony Gibbs of Tyntesfield, Esq., 
who further endowed it with a Eectory house and eight acres- 
of meadow and orchard. 

There are but few items of interest in the ecclesiastical history 
of Wraxall. In 1450, by the connivance of Sir Theobald Gorges, 
the patron, and Thomas Heynes, the rector, an annual pension or 
payment of £10 was assigned out of the profits of the Eectory to 



125 

the Chapel of the Holy Cross in Wells Cathedral, called Stortewate's: 
Chantry, for masses there "for the good estate of Sir Theobald 
Gorges, his ancestors and successors." ^^' It is hardly surprising 
to find that in 1547, nearly a hundred years later, the chaplain, 
Giles Buttal, made plaint that **the said yerely pencon had been 
w*^holden by the psones of the said churche of Wrexall, and 
Sir Edwarde Gorges knighte patrone and fermo' of the same, by 
the space of v] or vij yeres.'* 

There was an * Obit ' also in Wraxall Church, when or by whom 
founded does not appear, endowed with two tenements and their 
gardens in Temple Street, Bristol, worth yearly xij"* iiij** ^^* 

The Eev. Thomas Gorges, S.T.P., whose name appears among 

the subsequent list of rectors, was probably in possession of this 

benefice at the outbreak of civil war, and ejected by his intruded 

successor, for in the Journals of the House of Lords, under date 

1660, it is ordered that, upon his petition, *a sequestration of the 

profits of Wraxall into the hands of the churchwardens is hereby 

discharged, and that the possession and profits of the said rectory 

be restored and continued to Thomas GK>rge8, Clerk, until the suit 

between him and Ezekiel Pownell depending in Chancery shall 

otherwise determine the same.' There was not much love lost 

between them. In his last Will, August 17th, 1667,*" Dr. Gorges 

constitutes Hugh Tynte, Esq., his exor, * provided the s&id Hugh 

Tynte shall refund, restore, and release all the church lands 

belonging to Wraxall which he hath in his possession, which his 

father got of Ezekiel PowneU at play, of which I am witness : all 

these to be restored within three months.' Of. his brother, Samuel 

Gorges, Esq., he says : — " I give and remit to my brother Samuel 

313 Phelp's Somerset, II. 146. Survey of Somerset Chantries ; Som. Rec. 
Soc, IL 161-2. 

31* Idem, 84, 265. 

ai« Somerset Wills, VI. 97. 



126 

all the tithes he has detained from me, and do forgive him aU the 
incivilities and wrongs he hath done me from the beginning of the 
world to this day." 

It is said that Sir Charles Warwick Bampfylde, Bart., who with 
his wife residing at Wraxall Court, planted the belt of trees 
adjoining the churchyard on the west to lessen the sound of the 
bells, once cut their ropes with a carving-knife, and had to do 
penance for the offence by standing clad in a white sheet in the 
church during Divine service. 

Standing in pleasant grounds, with ample gardens, and 
picturesque adjoining glebe, well-timbered and sloping upwards 
towards the east to beautiful hanging woods upon its crest, the 
rectory-house has a southern aspect, and an extensive view across 
the intervening valley to the wooded range of Backwell and 
Brockley, and the Mendip hills beyond. Erroneously stated to 
have been built by Nathaniel Pownell, Registrar of the Diocese of 
Bristol, who died in 1611,*" a near relative, perhaps the father of 
Ezekiel Pownell, who held the benefice for fifty years, from 1613 
to 1663, it is certainly more than a century earlier than the first* 
named date, as is apparent from the massive construction of its 
southern walls — more than three feet in thickness — and from the 
character of its cusped and transomed windows on the west. 
Fallen into decay, abandoned by the rectors, and divided into 
tenements, it was at length reclaimed and restored about 1801 by 
the Eev. James Vaughan, who rebuilt the greater part of the 
house, adding stables in 1814, sinking a well 100 feet deep, and 
laying out the lawn and grounds. It is now a commodious and 
attractive residence, the recent discovery in 1891 of a handsome 
Tudor stone fireplace in the dining-room being an additional 
feature of interest. The previous home of the rectors had been a 
"6 Barrett's Bristol, 407. 



127 

low-lying, rose-covered building adjoining the gardens, and close 
to the high-road. The fine ilex on the lawn was planted in 1802, 
as were also the trees at the top of the home field. 

. In 1801, the only school in the village was kept by an old dame 
in a cottage, since pulled down, below the rectory. She taught the 
children "criss-cross" and "to sit still.'' This was her own 
account of it. * Criss ' or Christ's Cross was an alphabet printed in 
that form, and protected by a sheet of transparent horn. 

In 1809, Eichard Vaughan, Esq., then residing at Wraxall 
Lodge, bmlt at his own cost the schoolroom in the churchyard, no 
other site being attainable for the purpose, using timber obtained 
from a man-of-war broken up at Bristol. The building bears the 
following inscription : ^jCrectcD In tbe gear flSDCCCJf. bg tbe 
late 'Rfcbarb iDaugban, jCaq.t anD Qivcn In trust to tbe 'Rector 
for tbe time bciwQ, tor tbe eDucatfon ot tbe cbilbren ot tbis 
pari6b for ever, as recorbeb on tl^e tablet In tbe Cburcb/ 
Upon the school cottage, serving as a lodge, at the entrance of 
the churchyard on the west, is a similar one : * JCrecteb in 
ADCCCSSlt)55* witb part of tbe sum of tbree bunbreb pounbs 
Qivcn in truat to tbe 'Rector of tbis parisb bs tbe late 'Ricbarb 
It^augban, jCeq., as recorbeb on tbe tablet in tbe cburcb/ 

In 1856, William Gibbs of Tyntesfield, Esq., erected the 
present boys' school and master's house, and soon afterwards the 
girls' school was built by Antony Gibbs, Esq., then of Charlton, 
now of Tyntesfield, both upon sites given by Sir Qreville Smyth, 
Bart. 



This book should be returned to 
the Library on or before the last date 
stamped below. 

A fine of Ave cents a day is inotured 
by retaining it beyond the specified 
time. 

Please return promptly. 



JHWMWlj'Bi 



■.trt^- 



■^