(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Comitatus de Atholia. The earldom of Atholl: its boundaries stated, also, the extent therein of the possessions of the family of De Atholia, and their descendants, the Robertsons"

*"* l J 






Coroitattta ire atljolia 



THE 



EAKLDOM OF ATHOLL: 



ITS BOUNDARIES STATED. 



eomttattts t»e mfcolia. 

. THE 

EARLDOM OF ATHOLL: 

ITS BOUNDARIES STATED. 

ALSO, THE EXTENT THEREIN OF THE 

POSSESSIONS OF THE FAMILY OF 

DE ATHOLIA. 

AND THEIR DESCENDANTS, THE 

ROBERTSONS. 



WITH PROOFS 

AND MAP. 



BY J. A. KOBERTSON. . 

31. % - 



PRINTED FOR PRIVATE CIRCULATION. 
1860. 



Cs 



MCRRAY AND GIBB, PRINTERS, EDINBUROII. 



PROOFS AND ILLUSTBATIONS 



THE MAP. 



Previous to writing anything regarding the history of 
the earldom of Atholl, it beeomes an indispensable pre- 
liminary, to point out and show the boundaries of it. 
For this purpose, and also to show the possessions held 
in the earldom by the family of De Atholia, and their 
descendants, the Robertsons, proofs will now be given. 
It is a very remarkable circumstance, that the territorial 
extent of this ancient earldom has, from such a very 
remote period, remained very nearly the same as when 
first erected by King Edgar, before 1106; it was an 
earldom prior to 1114, as in that year Madach, Earl of 
Atholl, witnesses the foundation charter of Scone. The 
earldom occupies the entire north part of Perthshire — 
contains nine whole parishes, of the modern divisions, 
and half of another : these will be all named in course 
of the different proofs to be given, and the map shows 
their situations. The northern boundary is the earldom 

1 



of Mar, county of Aberdeen, and the lordship of 
Badenoch, in the county of Inverness ; to the east, the 
earldom of Angus ; and at the south-east, that district 
anciently called Gowerin, now Gowerie. Dunkeld was 
the great southern entrance of the earldom, and there 
also was the monastery belonging to it. To the south 
the earldom was bounded by Strathbran and Glen- 
quaich ; on the west and north-west, by the lordship of 
Lochaber, and the head of Glenorchy. At the extreme 
south-west corner is situated the district and lordship 
of Disher and Toyer. 1 It is that part which lies on both 
sides of Loch Tay, and is bounded to the west by Glen- 
dochart, and south by the parish of Comrie. This dis- 
trict for some time has been named the parish of Ken- 
more, though for many hundred years it was always 
called Disher and Toyer, and as such is still known to 
the Highlanders in the locality ; yet no notice is taken 
of this in the first statistical account of the parish, ob- 
tained by Sir John Sinclair, nor in the more recent one 
so well drawn up by the present incumbent, Dr DufF. 
The boundaries having thus been all stated, it must be 
observed, that at this part of the earldom — parish of 
Kenmore, properly Disher and Toyer — alone, has there 
ever arisen any encroachment or misappropriation of it, 
except Glenlyon, which has also in like manner, most 
erroneously, been attributed as part of another district : 
it becomes requisite to prove, therefore, that they are not 

1 This name is derived from the Gaelic word Diser, or Disearoch, and is a 
common name applied to the north side of Loch Tay, and applicable to all 
places having a southern exposure. Toyer or Twehener is from the Gaelic 
also, signifying the slope of ground that looks north. 



in Breadalbane, but parts of the earldom of Atholl. Mr 
Stobie, who published liis map of Perthshire in the year 
1783, appears to have been the first to miscall part of 
the earldom "Breadalbane." What inducement he had 
to do so ? cannot now, of course, be discovered. In his 
map he makes more than a third of the north side of 
Loch Tay — that is, Disher — to lie in " Breadalbane," by 
placing the last three letters of that name thereon; 
and almost every map since published has fallen into 
the same error by following his example. But this ex- 
tension of Breadalbane thus far into the earldom does 
not seern to have satisfied or been judged sufficient, as 
in the collection of the Society of Antiquaries of Scot- 
land there is a map (which can there be seen) that bears 
the following title : " An exact Map of Breadalbane in 
Perthshire" No author's name is given ; but it is stated 
to have been engraved by " G. Cameron." From this, 
and other external evidence, it appears to have been 
published very shortly after Stobie's map ; the arms of the 
Earl of Breadalbane are on it, whereby may be under- 
stood at whose expense it was compiled. The district of 
Disher and Toyer is properly marked on both sides of 
Loch Tay, yet it is made to lie wholly in Breadalbane. 
Further, the compiler with the same tint comes down the 
river Tay nearly two miles. The object of this is evident, 
namely, to include the house of Taymouth (which was 
formerly, and is now, by the Highlanders always called 
Balloch or Lochtown), as if it lay in Breadalbane, and not 
in the earldom of Atholl. Glenlyon also, in this " exact 
map" is wholly placed as forming part of Breadalbane ; 
likewise Drumacharry (now called Garth) and Comrie 



( astle. To dispose of the before-mentioned claims, 
and to show that Disher and Toyer, or Kenmore parish, 
Taymouth, and also Glenlyon, are not in Breadalbane, 
but within tlie earldom of Atholl, will be easv. 

The evidence of old maps of good authority clearly 
shows, that the district of Breadalbane was very different 
formerly from what now is made to form its proportions. 
In the Library of the Writers to the Signet, and no doubt 
in many others, there is a very correct atlas by Hexham, 
compiled and published so far back as the year 1636. 
In two maps of Scotland in it, Breadalbane only reaches 
to the earldom of Atholl, and county of Perth (not 
within it), at the head of Glenorchie ; in the accompany- 
ing map, the head of Glenorchie is marked, and will be 
found close above Benachastle, wbich is the extreme 
south-west point of the earldom, Hexham, as before 
said, gives two maps of Scotland : one, which contains 
the whole, and another, which divides it into the northern 
and southern divisions. Both these wholly exclude 
Breadalbane from every part of the earldom of Atholl, 
as is also shown in the author's map. 

The writer will prove the correctness of the foregoing 
statements by stronger evidence. Of Disher and Toyer 
(that is, Kenmore parish) there is old charter testimony, 
that it is not in Breadalbane. In the early part of King 
David the Second's reign, Duncan Earl of Fife was the 
proprietor thereof; and in the year 1341 he made a 
grant of a small part of it to the ancestor of the family 
of Menzies of that ilk, namely, of the lands of Moreinck 
and Edramuckie, in Disher, and whicli will be seen on 
the map not coloured. This charter was confirined by 



the Crown in 1343. 1 The family of Menzies had got a 
previous grant of another part of this lordship, which 
will he noticed hereafter. The Earl of Fife, at the same 
period as above named, made a grant of the whole re- 
maining lands of Disher and Toyer, and which grant is 
likely to have been also confirmed by King David 
Second at the same period, that is, 1343 ; and it will be 
found named among the Crown confirmation charters of 
that monarch's reign, in Robertson's Index, page 52, 
No. 47- It is therein proved, that the district of Disher 
and Toyer did not lie in Breadalbane ; as the charter 
states, it is " in the barony of Strathurde." Having had 
reason to be acquainted with this charter, and as the 
barony of Strathurd is within five or six miles of Perth, 
it was not easy to understand the cause of this, or assign 
a reason for it ; but very lately, in the Advocate's 
Library, the writer, among the original charters there, 
met with one by this same Duncan Earl of Fife, which 
fully accounts for Disher and Toyer being stated in 
King David's charter to be " in ihe barony of Strathurde" 
It is herewith given at length, and though very full of 
contractions, is printed without any ; indeed, the utility 
of printing the contractions, the writer believes, cannot 
be proved by any one. As the charter is somewhat 
curious, its purport is likewise given : — 

Date not after 1338.' 

Omnibus hanc cartam visuris vel audituris, Duncanus Comes de Ffyf 
salutem in Domino sempiternam. Noveritis nos dedisse concessisse et hac 
presenti carta nostra confirmasse Domino Roberto Lawedre militi, pro 
homagio et servicio suo totam terram nostram de Balmacoychly et totam 

1 See Nesbitfs History of the House of Menzies of Weeni, vol. ii., page 244. 



terram nostram de Loyhibride, illam scilicet quam dominus Robertus, rector 
ecclesiae ejusdem, de nobis habebat ad firmam unacum tota terra nostra de 
Blabolg superiore in Baronia nostra de Strathurd infra Vicecomitatum de 
Perth. — Tenendam et habendam dicto doraino Roberto, heredibus suis et suis 
assignatis de nobis et heredibus nostris in feodo et hereditate in perpetuum 
per omnes suas rectas metas et divisas, libere, quiete, plenarie, pacifice et 
honorifice, in venacionibus, aucupationibus, viis semitis, boscis, planis 
stagnis, aquis, vivariis, piscariis, molendinis, multuris, moris, maresiis, cul- 
turis, pratis, pascuis, et pasturis, et cum omnibus aliis libertatibus, commo- 
ditatibus, aysiamentis et justis pertinentiis, tam non nominatis quam 
nominatis, ad dictam terram spectantibus seu spectare valentibus in futurum. 
— Faciendo inde nobis et heredibus nostris dictus dominus Robertus heredes 
sui et sui assignati annuatim tres sectas Curie ad tria placita Capitalia Curie 
nostre de Strathurd unacum forinseco servicio Scoticano 1 domino nostro 
Regi Scocie de dicta terra annuatim debito et consueto. — Et reddendo inde 
nobis et heredibus nostris unum par calcarium deauratorum ad festum natale 
Domini annis singulis si petatur pro omni alia exactione seculari servicio, 
vel demanda que per nos et heredes nostros exigi poterunt seu requiri. 
Nos vero Duncanus, et heredes nostri predicti, totam terram predictam cum 
pertinenciis, aut pertinere valentibus dicto domino Roberto, heredibus suis, 
et suis assignatis contra omnes homines, et feminas, warantizabimus, acque- 
tabimus et in perpetuum defendemus. — In cujus rei testimonium presenti 
carte nostre sigillum nostrum est appensum, hiis testibus. — Reverendis in 
Christo patribus dominis, Johanne Moraviensi, Rogero Rossensi, Adam 
Brechinensi ; Dei gratia Episcopis, Domino Alexandro de Setoun, Willielmo 
de Abrenethy, et Reginaldo le Chien, Militibus, Alexandro de Meigniers, 
Patricio le Graunt, et multis aliis. 

Not after a.d. 1338. 
To all who shall see or hear this charter, Duncan 
Earl of Fife wishes everlasting salvation in the Lord. — 
Know that we have given, granted, and by this our pre- 
sent charter have confirmed, to Sir Robert Lawedre, 
knight, for his homage and service, all our land of Bal- 
macoychely, and all our land of Loghibride, that, namelv, 
which Lord Robert, the JKector of the Church there, 
held from us in farm, together with all our land of Upper 

1 This expression of Scotch service is not very common. 






Blabolg, in our barony of Strathurd, within the sheriff- 
ship of Perth. — To have and to hold by the said Sir 
Rqbert, his heirs and assignees, of us and our heirs, in 
fee and heritage for ever, by all their right meiths and 
marches, freely, quietly, fully, peacefully, and honourably, 
in huntings and fowlings, ways, paths, woods, haughs, 
lakes, waters, warrens, fishponds, mills, multures, moors, 
marshes, fields, meadows, hainings, pastures, and with 
all other liberties, conveniences, easements, and just per- 
tinents named, or unnamed, to the said land belonging, 
or that may belong in future. — Performing thence to us 
and to our heirs, the said Sir Kobert, his heirs and as- 
signees, three suits of court yearly, at the three Capital 
Pleas, of our court of Strathurd, together with the 
extrinsic Scotch service to our Lord the King of Scotland, 
from the said land, yearly, duly, and customarily. — And 
rendering thence to us and to our heirs one pair of gilt 
spurs, at the feast of Christmas yearly, if demanded, for 
all other secular exaction, service, or demand, which may 
be claimed by us and our heirs. — Moreover, we, Duncan 
and our heirs aforesaid, shall warrant, secure, and defend 
for ever, the whole land aforesaid, with all that pertains 
or may pertain to it, to the said Sir Eobert, his heirs and 
assignees, against all men and women. 

In testimony whereof, our seal is appended to this 
our present charter, before these witnesses, the Eeverend 
Fathers in Christ, Lords John of Moray, Eoger of Ross, 
and Adam of Brechin, Bishops by the grace of God ; Sir 
Alexander de Setoun, "William de Abrenethy, and Re- 
ginald le Chien, Knights ; Alexander de Meigniers, 
Patrick le Graunt, and many others. 



8 

This charter is No. 57, Book of Original Charters, in 
the Advocate's Library, by Sir James Balfour, No. 
15—1-18. 

This original evidence, therefore, fully explains the 
notice given by the charter in Eobertson's Index, and is 
a very strong corroboration of the trustworthiness of that 
Index ; and though, perhaps, it has often been slight- 
ingly spoken of by some antiquarians, whose precon- 
ceived theories it proved erroneous, yet the writer has 
recently found so many confirmations of its correctness, 
that he gladly bears testimony in its favour, that it is 
a good authority. It would appear from this charter 
of the Earl of Fife, that he had got his estate of Disher 
and Toyer united to his Perthshire barony of Strathurd. 
The spelling of the names, in this case, has been retained ; 
but any one familiar with Strathurd will easily recognise 
Logiebride — where there is still the remains of a church 
and burial-ground ; also Blelok, instead of Blabolg. The 
date of the charter to Sir Eobert Lawder is not later 
than 1338, one of the witnesses to it being then dead. 
It is important here to state, that, although Disher and 
Toyer had been joined to the barony of Strathurd, it 
still remained in the earldom of Atholl ; and this is de- 
monstrated by a Crown charter at a period consider- 
ably after. King James the Second granted, in the 
year 1451, to the ancestor of the Eobertsons of Strowan, 
a charter for all his extensive lands. In it are named 
the lands of Fearna, or Fearnan, which are called in the 
Black Book of Taymouth, " the barony of Fearnay" 1 and 
are situated in Disher, at the north-east end of it ; and 

1 See Black Book of Taymouth, pages 246, 247. 



9 

the aforesaid charter (1451) declares, that these, and all 
the other lands therein named, are " jacentes in Comi- 

TATU NOSTRO DE AtHOLIA," that is ? " ALL LYING IN OUR 

earldom of Atholl." This important charter will be 
again referred to, and is to be found in the Kegister of 
the Great Seal, Book IV., No. 227 ; and can at any time 
be seen there, also all other charters herein quoted from 
it, on application to the proper authority, at the Eegister 
House, Edinburgh — Joseph Robertson, Esq., who is 
always very civil in affording facility to inspect the public 
records. In addition to what has been already given as 
proofs of the correctness of the Map, by excluding 
Breadalbane from Disher and Toyer, one more, pointing 
out the extreme western boundary, and a conclusive 
evidence that Disher and Toyer — now called Kenmore 
parish — is within the earldom, will be furnished. It is 
as follows : — 

Carta David de Strathbogie, Comes ATHOLI.E. 

Penes Dominum Robt. Menzies de Weem. 

Circa 1312. 

Omnibus hanc Cartam visuris vel audituris, David de Strathbogie Comes 
Atholise, et Constabularius Scocise, Salutem in Domino. — Noveritis nos 
dedisse, concessisse, et hac presenti carta nostra, confirmasse, dilecto et fideli 
confederato nostro, domino Roberto de Meygnes militi, filio domini, Alex- 
andri de Meygnes, pro homagio et servicio suo, totum thanagium de Cranach, 
in Comitatu nostro Atholle, cum omnibus terris de Cranach, Achmore, 
Kynknoc, duabus Rothrowes, et Achnethrosik una cum omnibus pertinenciis, 
— faciendo inde nobis, et heredibus nostris, servitium unius architenentis, 
in exercitu Domini nostri Regis Scocise, et tres sectas curise, ad tria 
placita nostra capitalia per annum Apud Rath in Comitatu nostro Atholiee. 
. . . . In cujus rei testimonium presenti carte nostre sigillum nostrum ap- 
posuimus. — Hiis testibus, Roberto Senescallo Scocie, Domino Johanne 
Ranulphi Comite Moravie, Patricio de Dunbar Comite Marchie, Andrea de 
Moravia Domino de Bothevyl, Patricio de Carnoco Milite, Symone de 
Sawelton, tunc Camerario nostro, Henrico de Wollor, et multis aliis. 

B 



10 



Date about 1312. 
Charter of David de Strathbogie, Earl of Atholl. 

Inpossession of Sir Rohert Menzies of Weem. 

To all who shall see or hear this Charter, David de 
Strathbogie, Earl of Atholl and Constable of Scotland, 
Salvation in the Lord. — Know, we have given, granted, 
and by this our present charter have confirmed, to our 
dear and faithful confederate, Sir Robert de Meygnes 9 
Knight, son of Sir Alexander de Meygnes, for his 
homage and service, the whole Thanedom of Cranach, 
within our earldom of Atholl, with all the lands of 
Cranach, Achmore, Kynknoc, the two Rathrowes, and 
Achnethrosik, along with all their pertinents, — rendering 
to us and our heirs the service of one archer in the army 
of our lord the King of Scotland, and three suits of 
Court yearly, at the three capital pleas at Rath, 1 in our 
earldom of AtholL In testimony whereof, to this our 
present charter we have placed our seal, before these 
witnesses, — Robert the Steward of Scotland ; Lord 
John Randolph, Earl of Moray ; Patrick de Dunbar, 
Earl of March ; Andrew de Moravia, Lord of Bothwell ; 
Patrick de Carnoco, Knight ; Simon de Sawelton, then 
our Chainberlain ; llenery de Wollor, and many others. 

The above charter is contained in a MS., copied from 
the original by M'Farlane (the best Scotch antiquarian) ; 

1 EfovcaHed Logierait, wherewaa the castle and courtof.the ancient 
Earla nf Atholl. 



11 

and, with others, is in his volurae of " Diplomatum Col- 
lectio," in the Advocates' Library, No. 35 — 2 — 4. 

This charter mentions lands entirely situated within 
Disher and Toyer. The thaneship of Cranach, now 
called Cranachcroich, or Craienacroich, will be found on 
the north side of Loch Tay in the map, and not tintod. 
The letter L is on the loch, directly opposite to it. The 
grant of the Earl of Fife, namely of Edramuckie and 
Moreinch, adjoins directly to the west. Achmore is also 
named in the Earl of AtholPs charter ; it is at the 
extreme south-west end of the boundary line, thereby 
proving that the map correctly shows all these to lie in 
the earldom of Atholl. Balloch, now called Taymouth, 
it will be apparent, is also within the earldom. Wester 
Balloch joined the lands of Disher and Toyer. This is 
proved by the " Inquisitiones Valorum," to be found in 
the second volume of Retours, where Perthshire is givep 
Under the date 1627, and No. 13, there is an inquest as 
to the extent and value of the lordship of Disher and 
Toyer, which contains the following words : " Terre orien- 
talis finis seu caudse de Eddargall, jacentes apud terras 
de Balloch ;" and, after reciting various other lands, are 
these words : " Omnes jacentes in Dominio de Disheor et 
Toyar." The above proves that the Balloch lands on 
the west joined Eddargall in Disher and Toyer. There 
is also in the same volume an inquest as to what lands 
belonged to Campbell of Grlenurchy. See No, 6, dated 
1601, where the very same words occur. And again, in 
a retour of Sir Robert Campbell of Glenurchy to his 
brother, No. 494, in county Perth Retours, dated 1640, 
we learn, that the lands of Wester, Middle, and Easter 



12 

Stuiks, joined the East Balloch lands ; indeed, the lands | 
of Wesfer Stuiks came so close to the castle of Balloch — 
within some few hundred yards, — that it appears Sir 
Robert Campbell got them united to Inchaddin, where 
was the principal place of worship for the lordship of 
Djsher. This junction is proved by the following ex- 
tract from Sir Roberfs retour before named : — " 40 
solidatis terrarum de Wester Stuiks — advocatione ecclesise 
de Inchadden, dictis terris de Wester Stuiks, unita, infra 
Diocesin de Dunkelden." This last shows that Wester 
Stuiks, which had been previously in the parish of Weem, 
was now joined to Inchaddin ; which last place, accord- 
ing to the map engraved by " G. Cameron," is almost 
directly opposite Taymouth. There is another retour of 
Sir Robert Campbell, as heir of his father, Sir Duncan, 
which states where these lands of Stuiks (now sometimes 
called Stix) are situated. The retour is No. 517 of 
Perthshire Retours, dated 22d September 1642 ; and the. 
following words are in it : — " In terris de Middill Stuikis, 
Munichmuk — Bordland — Drum de Stuiks — Croftmoran 
ac flrmis feudifirmariis, terrarum de Garrif in Glen- 
quoyter, cum molendino, ac firmis feudifirmariis, dic- 
tarum terrarum, et molendino, omnibus infra Comita- 
tum de Atholl;" which proves that the lands of Stuiks, 
and all the rest, are within the earldom of Atholl. 

Therefore, when the situation of these lands is con- 
sidered, and that the evidence of their being in the earl- 
dom is derived from deeds of the ancestors of the family 
of Breadalbane, dated comparatively so late as 1642, it 
cannot be said correctly that Balloch, now Taymouth, is 
in Breadalbane ; but to put it beyond all doubt, one 






13 



more proof that it is not, will be given. In the Cham- 
berlain Accounts it appears, that in the year 1450, 
Eobert, son of Duncan de A tholia, was bailie 1 of the earl- 
dom of Atholl ; and his receipts from the various estates 
and farms within the earldom are mentioned in the 3d 
volume, page 509, quarto edition, and under the fol- 
lowing title: — " 1450, Computum Eoberti Duncane son 
ballivi Comitatus Atholiw, redditum apud Edyburgh in 
Monasterio Sancte Crucis, octavo die Mensis Julii Anno, 
etc. ;" which shovvs, that Eobert, the son of Duncan, 
gave inhis account of the amount received from the 
bailery of the earldom of Atholl at Edinburgh, in the 
Monastery of the Holy Cross (Holyrood), on the 8th 
day of July, the year 1450. The different places and 
properties of the comitatus are then stated, with the 
amounts received ; and when Strath Tay is named, Bal- 
loch, now Taymouth, is mentioned ; and though the 
spelling is difFerent from the present, it cannot be re- 
jected for that reason, else the whole account of the 
earldom here given might be, as the different spellings 
are even greater in some other cases. The following is 
extracted from this account, volume and page as above 
named of the Chamberlain Eolls : — " Et de 4 lib. de 
firmis terrse de Uchtertyre et de 5 lib. de firmis teme de 
BALZELLOCH et de 5 lib. 6s. 8d. de firmis terrse de 
Balauchane et de 3 lib. 6s. 8d: de firmis terra? de Pena- 
creyffr 

The above are all in Strath Tay, and clearly are — 

1 The writer will at a future period show that this office was held not 
only by persons of high rank, but even, in one instance, by a brother of the 
King. There was also no Earl of Atholl at the date naraed in the text. 



14 

Eastertyre, Balloch or Taymouti-i, Balhvhin and Pitna- 
cree : a reference to tlie map by tliose not acquainted with 
tlie district of Atlioll will show they lie in Strath Tay. It 
may be observed as to the spelling of Balloch, that the 
letter z there gives the word the same sound as if a y 
had been introduced, which thus makes it Ballyloch in 
pronunciation, from which alone the scribes of the day 
could spell it ; but if this spelling in 1450 is thought a 
reason that it is not Balloch, the Black Book of Tay- 
mouth, at page 125, furnishes, more than 100 years 
afterwards, quite as different a spelling, as there u Vester 
Bellycii" is given for " Wester Ballocli" 

With regard to Glenlyon, it has been claimed as 
part of Breadalbane ; but it is wholly within the earldom. 
It is within the abthanedom of Dull, the lordship of 
Kinclaven, and earldom of Atholl ; the proof of which is, 
as to Dull, from the Chamberlain Rolls, volume ii., page 
71, quarto edition, where are these words : " Et de 5 
lib. receptis per contributionem teme Glenlyune quse 
est infra Abthaniam de Dull." 

That it lies in the lordship of Kinclaven, a few 
miles from Perth, is shown by the inquest of value 
thereof, in the second volume of Retours for Perthshire, 
No. 12, dated 1627, stating " tote et integre terre de Glcn- 
hjon, cum omnibus suis pertinentiis quibuscunque here- 
ditarie Duncan Campbell de Glenlyon spectantes, — 
jacentes, infra dictum dominium de Kinclaven, et vice- 
comitatum de Perth," 

Which extract proves that the whole of Glenlyon is 
no part of Breadalbane ; the following charter evidence 
provcs it witliin tlic carldom of Atholl. In Robertson's 



15 

lndex, at page 51, and No. 27, a charter is mentioned 
of tlie lands of Glenlyon, and that they are " in comitatu 
Atholie" — "m the earldom of Atholl." In the printed 
record of the Great Seal, Glenlyon is mentioned in a 
charter, Book i., No. 141, and page 48, where King David 
Second grants, in 1368, to John de Lorn " totam terram 
nostram de Glenlion in Atholl" — that is, our whole land 
of Glenlyon in Atholl. 

These proofs also wholly exclude the idea, that in 
Glenlyon could there be any part of the forest of Mam- 
lorn, as is claimed, at the west end of it ; and which 
cannot be, unless it is granted at the same time, that the 
forest of Mamlorn is within the earldom of Atholl. The 
calling certain tracts of waste land " a forest," is a very 
great error, as it is not in the power of any private 1 
person to erect forests, or add to those already granted, 
without an express charter and authority from the 
Crown. Having thus proved the correctness of the map, 
where alone the boundaries have ever been miscalled, it 
will be right to notice that particular part of the earldom 
next Dunkeld (which was the entrance to it), lying on 
the south, and opposite bank, going up the river Tay, 
and still sometimes called the Bishopric. In the last 
statistical account of the parishes of Scotland, and in the 
volume for Perthshire (page 1009), it is stated that these 
lands were given to the Church in the year 1160. It 
was probable they were given directly after the death of 
Madach Earl of Atholl, which appears to have been in 

1 Proved by the proceedings in the case of Robertson of Faskally to have 
some of his lands erected into a forest. See Records of the Exchequer, 
1680. 



1G 

or about 1150 ; and by the forfeiture of his son Harald, 
Earl of Orkney, 1 the lands and earldom of Atholl came 
into the hands of the Crown, which thereby was enabled 
to make the grant, because previously Earl Madach was 
the proprietor, both long before and after Dunkeld had 
been made a bishop's see by David the First. And this 
portion of the comitatus, though called sometimes the 
bishopric or barony of Dunkeld, undoubtedly is part of 
the ancient earldom ; and, as mentioned in the last 
statistical account (Perthshire volume, page 976), it was 
only at the comparatively recent period of the reign of 
King James Second, that Bishop Lawder got these lands 
erected into the barony of Dunkeld, by charter dated 
1471, Book vii., No. 217 of the Great Seal. 

1 Orkney Saga, printed in the Iona Club Transactions. 



POSSESSIONS OF THE DE ATHOLIA FAMILY. 



The extent of the possessions of the family of De Atholia 
was very great ; and in writing of them, or exhibiting 
them on a map, the author would ask that a hasty con- 
elusion should not be made, that what is thus repre- 
sented was never the property of that family, or their 
descendants the Robertsons, merely because the parties 
who thus judge had never heard or knew such was the 
case. It is to be remembered, that the first ancestor of 
the family, Andrew de Atholia, must have lived, and 
been a proprietor within the earldom, almost 600 years 
ago. Notices of what there is recorded of the properties, 
and can be traced for four generations, will be given. 
As an illustration of the reasonableness of not hastily 
denying what is represented in the map until the evi- 
dence offered is considered, it may be asked of any one, at 
all acquainted with the district of the earldom of Atlioll, if 
they know to whom the estates of Garth — Bonskeid, and 
Fincastle, and Shierglass — belonged? Without hesita- 
tion they would say, that Garth belonged to the old family 
of Stewart of Garth, and the others also to Stewarts, 
younger sons of that family; but if the same persons 
were asked, from whom did the Stewarts derive these 
estates ? they would be quite at a loss to tell ; indeed, the 



18 

former owners of land, after one or two centuries elapse, 
become almost quite unknown when a different family 
are the occupiers. 

Of the property held by Andrew de Aiholia, no 
positive evidence exists beyond what is known as in pos- 
session of his son, Duncan de Atholia, and grandson, 
Robert de Atholia. It most probably consisted of the 
two parishes of Strowan and Lude, also Strathtummel, 
but not Glenerochy, or lands of Murelaggan, as it is pre- 
sumed these large properties (and which so long were 
in possession of the Robertsons, and still are held, in 
part, by one old family of the name 1 ) were acquired by 
Andrew de Atholia on marriage with the heiress of Ewen 
de Glenerochy, son of Cummingus, or Coningus de Glen- 
erochy (designed son of Henry Earl of Atholl), who both 
appear in the Chartulary of Cupar, from Conan having 
made a grant to that abbey of the use of his woods in 
Glenerochy, and also of Tulloch, 2 which charter was con- 
firmed by his son Ewen. The writer considers that the 
Tulloch here named must have been that which belonged 
to the Stewarts of Tulloch, and lies directly opposite 
Blair, as in the Perthshire Retours it is stated to be in the 
lordship of Cupar. 3 This thereby becomes a proof of 
the situation of that part of the De Atholia family 
property. 

1 The Robertsons of Auchleeks. 

2 For this grant, see Chartulary of Cupar, MS., by Sir James Balfour, 
in Advocate'8 Library, No. 33—2—9. This charter by Conan was probably 
in or about the year 1216. 

3 Retour of Robert Stewart of Tullich, heir of Alexander Stewart, his 
father, u in terris de Tullich infra dominium de Coupar et comitatum de 
A.thoH" IVrthshire Retours, No. 830, date 1672. 



19 

Duncan de Atholia was the son of the before-men- 
tioned Andrew. He had very extensive estates ; for, be- 
sides those that he derived from his father (who could not 
have had the title of De Ailiolia unless he had been a 
large proprietor in the earldom), he obtained great ad- 
ditions to them, From Duncan Earl of Fife he got a 
charter for the whole lands of Disher and Toyer — that 
is, both sides of Loch Tay — except what has been already 
mentioned as granted to Menzies of Weem, and con- 
firmed in 1343 ; which, no doubt, is the same date as the 
charter mentioning the grant to Duncan de Atholia, 
which is among those of David Second, in Robertson's 
Index, page 52, No. 47, as follows : — " Charter given by 
Duncan Earl of Fyfe to Duncan, son to Andrew Earl 
of Athole, of the lands of Dischener and Twehener, in 
the barony of Strathurde." 

These lands are distinctly marked and coloured in 
the map ; and the property there belonging to the family 
of Weem will be at once seen, not being coloured. 
Duncan also got a charter for the lands of Apnadull, 
from John, Bishop of Dunkeld (which is still preserved) — 
a Nobili viro Duncano,JUio Andree de Atholia et heredibus 
suis masculis terrarum de Adulia" — that is, "to a noble- 
man, Duncan, the son of Andrew deAtholia, and hisheirs 
male, the lands of Apnadu]l.' , The charter is dated 
December 1355. Mill, who gives the history of the 
Bishops of Dunkeld, makes no mention of this John, but 
omits him altogether ; and he being considered a good au- 
thority, some difficulty was formerly found to admit this 
Bishop, or the date of the charter. The authenticity of 
it, however, has been established. John, Bishop of Dun- 



20 






kM, and William, Bishop of Glasgow, were present at 
tlie Parliament held at Perth, 1 17 th January 1356, re- 
specting the ransom of David the 2d ; and these two 
bishops appear in the name of the whole clergy of Scot- 
land. The document is at page 155 of the Appendix, 
lst volume, Scotch Acts of Parliament. These lands of 
ApnadulP lie on the opposite side of the Tay to Bolfracks 
(as in the map), and which last property will also be 
proved to have belonged to the De Atholia family. It 
is to be noticed, that the destination by the Bishop of 
Dunkeld, in his charter to Duncan de Atholia, is to 
" heredibus suis masculis" This no doubt arose from the 
fact, that, at the time, Kobert, his eldest son, had no male 
issue,his only child being a daughter; andDuncan desired, 
therefore, that the property should come to his sons by 
his second marriage. 3 This Duncan de Atholia obtained 
another great addition to his estates by his first wife, 
who, according to tradition, was a daughter of Malcolm 
Earl of Lennox. By this marriage he acquired very ex- 
tensive estates in Eannoch and Fortingal. The tradition 
of the Earl of Lennox being proprietor of these is sup- 
ported, if not confirmed, by the fact, that these Earls had 

1 The writer of the Dunkeld History, andlist of bishops therein, has made 
two mistakes, as he says the Parliament was held at Edmburgh, and cites 
as his authority Foedera, tom. 6, page 632, which relates to a period two 
centurics aftmvards. See Perthshire volume, last statistical account, \ 
982, 983. 

2 An old name for Apnadull is u Dullnagarth," but which has long been 
obsolete. 

3 Tliis destination looks clearly as a new infeftment to an old possessor 
by a fresh bishop, as the superior of these lands <>f Apnadull. They are con- 
tiguous to the churcli <>f Dull, ;nv\ the Btthop au<l Ghapter of DunkeH hel<l 
rights in them. Bee Gbftrtalaiy, Priory St Andeews, >k Kcclesia de Dull." 



21 

other property in the immediate neighbourhood. The 
western part of the present parish of Killin belonged to 
them ; they also had rights and property at Loch Tay. 
This is proved by the parish of Ardonaig, or Ardonich, 
being divided, when the partition of the Lennox took 
place, between the Haldanes of Gleneagles and Napier of 
Merchiston ; the family of Gleneagles, being the eldest 
heirs portioners, got, besides the half of the parish, the 
patronage of the church of Ardonaig, which was united 
to Killin in 1617. This last fact, as well as the notice 
of the above partition, will be found in the Statistical 
Accounts of Scotch parishes, printed by the Maitland 
Club, page 180, and which were made out so long since 
as 1627- James Haldane of Gleneagles subsequently 
sold the above property to James Campbell of Lawers, 
and also the right of flshings in Loch Tay. See the 
Privy Seal Record, year 1612, folio 42 ; and, in further 
proof ; in a retour dated forty-one years afterwards, Sir 
James Campbell of Lawers is served heir to his father, 
Sir Mungo Campbell, in the half lands of Ardonaig, or 
Ardonan, and the kirkpatronage, and half lands of Lawers, 
" within the lordship of Disheor, aboon Loch Tay." 1 

The foregoing evidence, therefore, confirms the tra- 
dition of the Earls of Lennox having held large estates 
in Rannoch, and other Highlands of Perthshire. By 
his first marriage Duncan had an only son, Robert, 2 
of whom we shall shortly speak, and of all his properties. 
The second marriage of Duncan de Atholia, by the ac- 

1 See Perthshire Eetours, No. 611, date 1653. 

2 He was naraed Robert at the desire, it is said, of King Robert Bruce, 
when in Atholl. 



22 

count published in the Iona Club Transactions, and old 
MS. histories, was to a daughter of the Lord of the 
Mes. By her he appears to have had : — 

1. Patrick de Atholia, who got from his father the 

property of Lude, and of whom hereafter. 1 

2. Thomas de Atholia, who appears to have received 

the lands of Strowan, for which he had a Crown 
charter from Eobert Third, and also another 
from that monarch for the lands of Strathloch, 
which, by his daughter Matilda, came to the 
Kobertsons of that designation. Both these 
charters, dated about 1398, will be found, 
page 141, and numbers 47 and 48, Kobert- 
son's Index. 

3. Gibhon, who is mentioned by Winton, in his 

Chronicle, volume ii., page 367, in 1392. 

Rohert cle Atholia, the eldest son of Duncan, it will 
be proved, held very large estates in the earldom of 
Atholl. He appears twice in the Chamberlain Rolls of 
Scotland ; first, dated 1358, thus : — " Et nihil hic de 

I ibus Curise vicecomitatus, pro tempore computationis 
quocl cecidit, nisi de hiis, de quibus extitit deforciamen- 
t ui ii per Robertum, filium Duncani, filium Andree de 
Atholia, super quod consulatur liex ;'' that is, " And 

1 Pfttrick was most undoubtedly the eldest brother, as he is placed first 

\n the notice in the Acts of Parliament, page 217, vol. i., ycar 1392, where 

botii thr brothen appear together, and in any Act of Pariiament the 

igeri l.ruthrr w,...l.l do* be put first ; also, from the manner in which 

x]u '? I'iu 1 .. 1 .is 8ons," they could not have been sons of 

rl de Atlu.lia, abo oamed in the Act 



23 

there is nothing here said of the fees of the Court of the 
Sheriffdom, for the time of the account that has elapsed, 
except those as to which there arose a deforcement made 
by Robert, the son of Duncan, the son of Andrew de 
Atholia, upon which the King is to be consulted." — See 
Chamberlain Accounts, vol. i., page 303, quarto edition. 
Here it is to be observed, that three generations of the 
de Atholia family are proved by this public document. 
The descent of Andrew 1 has not yet been decidedly 
ascertained. The author furnished an account of the 
Robertsons of Lude to Burke, for his History of the 
Landed Gentry, which contained some strong presump- 
tive evidence of that descent. This has since been 
taken, without acknowledgment, by other families as 
the origin of Andrew. The next notice in these Eolls of 
Robert de Atholia, proves a large portion of his lands ; 
in particular, his two baronies of Balnaguard and Bal- 
navert, in Strath Tay. Both these, with many other 
lands, will be proved, from a Crown charter, to have come 
to his grandson Robert, by inheritance, as is stated in it. 
It is right to mention, as to this deforcement by 
Robert, and upon which the King, it is stated, is to 
be consulted, as well as the next one to be immediately 
given, that they no doubt arose from the lands of Robert 
being taxed for the same amount as what his father paid, 
who was then dead, and which Robert could not justly 
be asked to pay, as his brothers, Patrick and Thomas 

1 In the Cliartulary of the Priory St Andrews there is named, in 
the year 1269, an Andrew, who was clerk or chamberlain of Dull ; he is 
called son of Gilmur. The last was seneschal of the earldom. Neither are, 
however, designed de Atholia. 



24 

di Atholia, held large portions of the property of the 
common ancestor, Duncan. The following is the next 
proof of lands belonging to Robert de Atholia. Dated 
1358. — " Item allocationem computi 12 lib. per deforcia- 
menta sibi facta, per Robertuin, filium Duncani, et Fer- 
gusium, filium Adami, pro defectu secte terrarum, Bal- 
nafert, Balmacrechy, Balnakard, Glendoch, Atholia, et 
de Fforyergill, et ad hoc probandum idem computans, se 
obligavit ut supra ;" which means as follows : — " Also the 
allowance of L.12 in the account, for the deforcements 
made by Robert, the son of Duncan, and Fergus, son of 
Adam, for default of suit of the lands of Balnavert, Bal- 
machrochie, Balnaguard, Glendochart, Atholl, and of 
Fortingall ; and to prove this, the accountant obliged 
himself, as above mentioned." — See the Chamberlain 
Rolls, vol. i., page 306, quarto edition. 

The foregoing proves the possession by Robert, son 
of Duncan de Atholia, of the two baronies of Balnaguard 
and Balnavert, which are both mentioned in the Crown 
charter of erection for the barony of Strowan, to Roberfs 
grandson, in 145 1. 1 The whole other lands here named 
were (except Balmachrochie in Strathardle), where the 
property of Robert was situated. The exception men- 
tioncd appears to have been the possession of the an- 
cestor of the Fergussons 2 in Atholl. 

These two Strath Tay baronies will be found deli- 

1 '1 hfl whole lands named in this charter will be given hereafter, under 
wan. 
ie was a Fergusson, a proprietor of part of Balmachrochie, in 
''.— See Gloag's Kental of Perthshire, pages 58 
tad I 



25 

neated opposite to Logierait — their eastern boundary 
close to Kinnaird. The western half of the barony of 
Balnaguard was acquired by a Sir William Stewart of 
Strathbran, who afterwards became of Grandtully ; and 
then it was incorporated into that estate and parish of 
Dull, and has formed the eastern part of it since 1614. 
Sir William got a Crown charter for this part of Balna- 
guard barony, of that date. — See Becord of the Great 
Seal, Book 47, No. 225. 

Proof will now be given of other lands which be- 
longed to Bobert de Atholia. He married the daughter 
and co-heiress of Sir John de Strivling (that is Stirling), 
of Glenesk. This will be found mentioned in Nesbit, 
among the notices of the Bagman's Boll by Crawfurd, 
where the name of the knight of Glenesk appears. 1 But 
there is also a charter named in Bobertson's Index 
that proves the fact. Before quoting it, however, it be- 
comes necessary to say ? that by this marriage Kobert 
had issue an only child, Jean or Janet de Atholia, who, 
besides being through her mother a co-heir to the 
Glenesk property, was likewise sole heiress to the 
whole large possessions of her father Bobert. He 
gave her, on her marriage with Menzies of Fothergill, a 
very extensive estate, as will be proved hereafter. The 
charter alluded to is noticed as follows, among those of 
King David Second : — " Charter by Bobert, son of 

1 Page 21 of Remarks on the Ragman's Roll ; but Duncan de Atholia is 
stated instead of Robert. This marriage was likely not many years before 
1358 ; in which year the charter of the eldest sister and co-heiress, granted 
be/ore marriage to Sir Alexander Lindsay, was confirmed. — See MS. Lord 
Haddington, No. 34 — 2 — 1, Advocates' Library. 

D 



2(3 

Duncan Earl of Atholl, to Alexander Menzies of Fother- 

gill, upon the marriage of Jean, daughter to the said 

Robert) one ofthe heirs of Glencsk" — Robertson's Index, 

page 51, xSo. 40. The above Jean (or Janet, as called 

in the Latin charters), it wili be observed, could have 

had no brother ; as theu she would not have been an 

heir at all of either fatber or mother, and only a co- 

hciress, if anv sister existed. She was also designed 

" Domina de Strathtummel," from the large possessions 

she had therein. Her husband, Menzies of Fothergill, 

and herself, were both alive in 1381, as wili be shown 

hereafter. Their marriage likely took place in 1370, or 

not long before it. The notice of the charter of Ilobert, 

which has just been given, is only its title, and does not 

mention the lands he had granted his daughter Janet 

on her marriage ; but from the great importance of the 

property conveyed, it was the interest, of course, of 

Menzies to have his wife's charter confirmed by the 

Crown, which, as has been shown, causes it, of course, to 

appear among those of King David tlie Second. We 

tind, by a Crown charter dated in 1379, that Janet 

resigned the southern part of Strathtummel, also the 

lands of Garth and Bolfracks, in favour of Alexander 

Earl of Buchan — very probably in consequence of the 

betrothal of Jean's child Janet to a son of this Earl ; tliere 

was a marriage at a later period between tliese parties. 

Before naming the lands, it is well to have the map 

to refer 1 to them ; they are stated in the charter in the 

following order : — " Tanpar, Lassintullich, Tullicltcroskie 

1 Tlu-v oQmmenoe omx t<. Loci Baimoch, on the aouth bank of the river 
cominc ou< of it. 



27 

(now Crossmounf), Kynachan, Gart, Bufrax, with third 
part, town of Lynnoch ;" and, after naming these lands, 
the charter has the following words in it : " Qu^e fuerunt 
de Joiianete de Meyners," " et quas eadcm Johancta ut 
supra" — that is, declaring that the lands named in the 
charter were the property of Janet de Meyners." 1 — 
See Printed Eecord, Great Seal, No. 121, page 152. 
This, therefore, proves these were a part of what Janet 
had got by charter, on her marriage with Menzies of 
Fothergill, from her father, Eobert de Atholia. They be- 
came afterwards the property of the Stewarts of Garth — 
so designed from one of the estates here mentioned — by 
the marriage of Janefs only child, also named Janet, 
with Duncan Stewart, tlie illegitimate son of the Earl of 
Buchan. The north part of Strathtummel, not resigned 
in the charter, namely, Bonskeid 2 and Fincastle, likewise 
came to Janet's descendants, — the families so designed 
being younger sons of the old Stewarts of Garth ; and 
no doubt it was through this daughter of Robert de 
Atholia that they inherited these lands, — indeed, it is 
almost impossible to suppose that they did not form the 
remainder of her Strathtummel property. It has been 
before mentioned, that Janet and her husband, Menzies 
of Fothergill, were alive in 1381. This fact is proved 
from the Account, aud evidence mentioned therein, of 
the Family of Menzies, in Nesbifs 2d volume, page 244, 

1 At this period, in Latin charters, the name of Menzies was always called 
de Meyners. 

2 On the estate of Bonskeid there is a wood nained Coillevrochan, which 
was given in consequence of King Robert Bruce having there, it is said, 
partaken of a very hasty breakfast with Duncan de A tholia, when on his way 
to Rannoch after the defeat at Methven. 



28 

and understood to be drawn up by M'Farlane of that 
ilk 1 — one of the best Scotch antiquarians — where lie 
mentions the marriage of Sir Robert de Meyners, and 
from a note marked (e), both here given from the above 
quoted page ; — thus, " Of this marriage there were two 
sons, — John, the heir of the family, and Alexander de 
Meyners de Fothergill, who, by his wife Janet, got lands 
in the shire of Aberdeen in the north. (e) Charter 
penes Mr George Crawfurd, by which Euphemia domina 
de Ross filia et ha^res Willielmi Comitis de Ross, confirms, 
as superior, a charter granted by Janet de Meyners, 
domina de Fothergill, to Alexander de Meyners, her 
husband, of the lands of Fechelly, in the barony of Kene- 
dicard and shire of Aberdeen, dated 9th March 1381." 
It has thus been proved by this marriage of Janet, and 
the mention of the Strathtummel lands as her property, 
that they previously must have formed part of the pos- 
sessions of her father, Robert de Atholia. He married 
a second time ; and, it has been stated, to the co-heiress 
of Ferdill, situated in the Stormount, in Perthshire. He 
undoubtedly acquired one half of the lands of Ferdill, 
as there is a Crown charter for them, — thus : " Carta 
Roberti fil. Duncani de Atholia, ,, etc, etc, — in the 
Printed Record of the Great Seal, page 28, and number 
42, dated in the year 1362. 

By this second marriage Robert had an only son, 
who succeeded him/ namely, Duncan de Atholia ; he 

1 In his MS. collections, in the Advocates' Library, are many full copies 
of charters and deeds of the Menzies family ; he must have perused their 
v.rits vcry carefully. 

1 Etobert de Atholia was alive in 1392, and is mentioned that year in the 
lst volume of Scotch Acts of Parliament, page 217. 



29 

appears in the Rotuli Scotice, volume ii., page 277, where 
he is designed as " Duncanw de Atholia dominw de 
Rannoch" This designation arose, no doubt, from the 
large possessions 1 he had in the district, and from his 
residence being at Bun Rannoch. He was a hostage in 

o o 

England for the ransom of King James the First, and is 
mentioned in the same way as above, in the year 1432, 
in Rymer's Fcedera, volume iv., part 4, page 180, of the 
edition of 1740, where he is placed at the head of the 
list of a great many other hostages. His son Robert 
succeeded him very shortly afterwards, as will be here- 
after mentioned. This Duncan de Atholia, the writer 
thinks, must have married his half cousin, a daughter 
of Thomas, the first of Strowan ; and though this pro- 
perly belongs to the genealogical part to be drawn up 
hereafter, yet, to account for the possession of the 
lands of Strowan by Robert, son of Duncan, in 1451, it 
here becomes necessary to make a very few remarks. 
Such marriage by Duncan seems alone to explain it ; 
for, to suppose Thomas, first of Strowan, made a destina- 
tion of the estate, whereby it should come to his half 
grand-nephew, seems quite impossible ; because it could 
not arise from his being male heir, as Patrick, first of 
Lude, was so, being full hrother of Thomas. Any one 
will see this by reading the proceedings of the Parlia- 
ment held at Perth on the 25 th March 1392, in the 
lst vol., page 217 of the Acts. Thomas, it is true, made 
an entail of the estate of Strowan, mentioned in Robert- 



1 Duncan was the only proprietor at this time in Rannoch, as the re- 
mainder was in the hands of the Crown. 



30 

son's Index, 1 page 141, when he got a Crown charter 
for all his lands ; but he being the maker of the entail, 
there can be no reason to suppose that he would do so 
unnatural a tliing, as give his large estate of Strowan 
away from his own child to the before-mentioned rela- 
tive. 

The entry in the Acts of Parliament, already re- 
ferred to, clearly indicates also, that Thomas of Strowan 
was not son of Robert, as formerly supposed, but of 
Duncan de Atholia; and, therefore, it appears that the 
only way to account for the estate of Strowan in 1451 
belonging to Thomas's half grand-nephew Robert (when 
at the same time his daughter Matilda was alive) is, 
that Roberfs mother was his eldest daughter, and 
Matilda, 2 who got Strathloch, was his youngest. 



Having thus given notices and proofs of the property 
that belonged to the De Atholia family for four <jenera- 
tions, proofs will now be given of the lands belonging to 
their descendants, the Robertsons, within the earldom of 
Atholl, and afterwards there will be shown their descent 
from the de Atholia family, in short accounts of the two 
families of Robertson, of Strowan and of Lude. With 
regard to those other families of the name, who were 

1 Thomas is ealled, in the title of this charter, " of Atholl ;" but as the 
title is English, it cannot be argued he was not designed " de Atholia" in 
the oriijinnl Lntin charr.-r, and no doubt at all other times. 

2 Very recently a notice of a charter to Matilda, for Strowan, was met 
with by the author ; it will be adrerted to when the genealogical history <>f 

toberteonfl ia written. 



Ol 

OL 

landed proprietors within the earldom of Atholl, and 
mentioned in the map, also of many others, proof will 
be given from a most authentic and trustworthy source, 
namely, the rent-roll and valuation of the county of 
Perth, made out by order of Parliament in 1649. This 
record shows all the proprietors, and their lands, within 
the county, and by parishes ; it was printed sometime 
ago by Mr Gloag, deputy-collector of cess. The writer 
also met with, in the Advocates' Library, the rental and 
valuation for Perthshire (in manuscript) for the year 
1680 ; each page is signed by Patrick Stewart of Balle- 
chin, the collector of cess. 1 This he has diligently com- 
pared with the older one, and in it found only two 
small omissions, which have been rectified. The names 
will be given in the same rotation as they appear in the 
different parishes in the printed copy' 2 of 1 649, beginning 
with the parish of Blair Atholl, the original seat of the 
two principal stems of the Clanclonachyj from which all 
the others branched off. isTames of places, etc, have been 
corrected to the present spelling. 

1 This valuation of the rental of Perthshire is in the MSS. of the Advo- 
Cates' Library, and is No. 81 -3 — 15. 

2 The pages given apply to those mentioned wbere they appear in Mr 
(jrloag's printed copy. 



82 



Names of 
Landed Proprietors in the following Parishes, of tlie name 
of Robertson, in the year 1649 — and the then valued 
Rent, 1 within the Earldom of Atholl. 



Blair in Atholl, Strowane, Lude, and Kilmaveonog 
Parishes united. Page 66. 



1. Lady Strowan, 2 for Invervack, two hundred three 

score six pounds thirteen shillings and four 
pence. 

2. Laird of Strowan, for Glenerochj and others, 

one hundred three score ten pounds. 

3. Alexander Eobertson, for himself and his mother, 3 

for the lands of Lude, with the rest of their lands 
in this parish, eight hundred pounds. 

4. Duncan and Beatrix 4 Eobertson, their lands of 

A uckleeks, Dalhaldich, Bowane, and half Pitta- 
yowan, one hundred pounds. 

5. Patrick Robertson, for Blairfettie and Kirktown 

of Strowan, one hundred and twenty pounds. 

1 Ibfl ntl rent would be three times more now. 

2 Thii lady was Margaret, daughter of George Grseme of Inchbraikie. 

■ Hi.s mother was Beatrix Grseme, sister of George Grame of Inchbraikio. 
1 She was aunt to AJexander Uobertson of Lude, and widow of Charlee 
rteon of Auchleeks. 



33 

6. Angus Eobertson, for his larids 1 of Kindrochit. 

7. Paul Eobertson, for Pittacjowan. 

8. Alexander Eobertson, for Calliebruar. 

9. Isabell Eobertson, liferentrix of Audkinkell. 

10. John Eobertson, 2 for his lands of Clunie, one 

hundred forty-six pounds thirteen shillings 
and four pence. 

11. Donald Eobertson/ for Kincraigie and others 

in this parish, one hundred forty-six pounds 
thirteen shillings and four pence. 

12. Eobert Robertson of Faskally, for Blair and 

others, and feu-duties, in this parish, one hun- 
dred and fifty pounds. 

13. Duncan Robertson, for Calvine, three score six 

pounds thirteen shillings and four pence. 

14. Earl of Atholh, for lands, 4 feu-duties, and teinds, 

in this parish, six hundred thirty-seven pounds 
sixteen shillings and eight pence. 

15. Alexander Eobertson of Tenandry, one hundred 

two score six pounds thirteen shillings and 
four pence. 



Moulin Parish. Pages 68-70. 

1. Eobert Eobertson and his mother, liferenter for 
Faskally, four hundred forty-five pounds. 

1 Valued rent under L.50 a year, not inserted. 

2 He was the younger brother of Alexander Robertson, then of Lude. 

3 He was an uncle to Alexander Eobertson of Lude. 

4 What the rent of the lands was is not given, separate from the teinds 
named in the 1680 Rent-roll ; or, in the older one, from the feu-duties. 



34 

2. Duncan Eobertson, for Auchlickes 1 and Balla- 

gowan, thrce score six pounds tliirteen shillingj 
and four pence. 

3. Donald Eobertson, for Dalnacraig and Gl , 

rachan, one hundred and seven pounds. 

4. John Eobertson, for Lettoch, three score sixteer 

pounds. 

5. John Eobertson, for Croftnahoich. 

6. John Eobertson, fiar of Killyhangy, for Drum- 

habbar and Pitiarich, four score eighteen 
pounds. 
7- John Eobertson, for Easter Strathloch, one hun- 
dred three score eighteen pounds. 
Andrew Small, for Dernanean, four score nine 
pounds. 

8. Alexander Eobertson, for Wester Sirathloch, one 

hundred three score six pounds thirteen shil- 
lings and four pence. 

9. Janet Eobertson, half of Drumachorie, fifty-three 

pounds six shillings eight pence. 

10. Christian Eobertson, for the lands of Kinnaird, 

fifty-three pounds. 

11. Donald Eobertson, for Drumnacrich, four score 

six pounds. 

Kenmore Parish. Pages 70-72. 

Laird of Strowan, for Fearnan, four hundred 
three score six pounds thirteen shillings and 
four pence. 

property ts quite distinct fro-ni that of the same name in Gleni 



3o 

These are the lands remaining to the Eobertsons of 
Strowan, at this date, of what had been granted to 
Duncan de Atholia before 1343. 



Parish of Dull. Page 66. 

1 . William Robertson, for Invergarrick. 

2. William Robertson, for Innergair and Ballefitt. 

Fortingal Parish. Page 64. 

Laird of Strowan Robertson, for Murelaggan, 
Kinloch, and lands of Rannoch, possessed by 
him and his wadsetters, five hundred and 
twenty seven pounds six shillings and eight 
pence. 



Parish of Little Dunkeld. Page 60. 

1. Beatrix Grseme, 1 for the lands of Inchmagrenoch, 

one hundred and thirty-eight pounds. 

2. John Robertson of Inver, 2 for Inver, mill, and 

boat, fishings, and feu-duties of Dalmarnock, 
two hundred fifty-eight pounds. 






The lands of Inchmagrenoch, in the Rental of 1680, 
ire named as the property of John Robertson of Lude. 

1 Already mentioned as mother of Alexander Robertson of Lude. These 
weve her jointure lands by her contract of marriage ; the others, in the 
jarony of Lude, were given to her some years after. 

2 He was an uncle to the then Alexander Robertson of Lude. ' 



30 



Dowally Parish. Page 60. 

Patrick Eobertson of Dulcaben, for the barony of 
Dulcaben, one hundred four score thirteen 
pounds six shillings and eight pence. 

Logierait Parish. Page G2. 

1 . Donald Robertson, for Killyhangy, one hundred 

thirty-three pounds six shillings and eight 
pence. 

2. Adam Reid, alias Robertson, for Eastertyre and 

Wester Derculich, two hundred four score six- 
teen pounds thirteen shillings and four pence. 

3. Henry Reid, alias Robertson, for Pitnacree, four 

hundred and forty pounds. 

4. John Robertson, for Ballintoune and WestM 

Dalshian, three score nine pounds. 

5. James Robertson, for his half of Donavourd. 

6. John Robertson, for Ballyhandy, four score 

seventeen pounds. 

7. John Robertson of Tenandry, and his mother, for 

the lands of Pitcastle, Ballaqowan, and Pitqair, 
one hundred four score thirteen pounds six 
shillings and eight pence. 

8. Laird of Strowan Robertson, for Carrick, and for 

feu-duties of Ballichanzie, three score twelve 
pounds. 



37 



Kirkmichael Parish. Pages 56-58. 

1 . John Robertson, for JEaster Strathloch, two hun- 

dred and forty pounds. 

2. James Robertson, for his part of Cultalony, three 

score ten pounds. 

3. John Robertson, for Lenochmore 

4. John Robertson, for Bleaton, one hundred and 

thirty pounds. 

5. John Robertson, for half of Wester Ennoch. 

6. John Robertson, for Stronamuick and other lands, 

one hundred and ten pounds. 

7. Janet Robertson, for her part of Balmachrochie. 

8. Patrick Robertson of Cultalony, for Glengennet, 1 

Balnakilly, and other lands, two hundred 
twenty-one pounds. 

9. Alexander Eobertson of Bownie, for his lands, 

two hundred pounds. 



Weem Parish. 

This parish has not been named hitherto, as it con- 
tained no landed proprietors of the name of Robertson. 
The following proof, from M'Farlane's Collections, No. 
35 — 2 — 4, is given, that it is within the earldom ; being 
extracts from a charter of John Earl of Atholl, to Sir 
Alexander de Meynes, for the lands of Weem. 

1 Now called GUnderby. 



38 

Dated 1301. — u Ego Johanes Comes Atholise, dedi, 
etc., etc. Domino Alexandro de Meynes, fllio et heredi 
quondam Eoberti de Meynes, totam terram meam de 
Weem et Abyrfealdybeg in Atholia, videlicet duas dava- 
tas, et dimidiam davatam de Weem et dimidiam dava- 
tam de Abyrfealdybeg, . . . Salva mihi, et heredibus 
meis, advocatione et donacione, ecclesie de Weem. . . . 
Eeddendo unum denarium Sterlingorum, et unicam 
sectam curie de Rath, in Atholia. Hiis testibus Dominis, 
Johane de Inchmartyn, Johane de Cambrun, Archebaldo 
de Levyngston, Eoberto de Cambrun de Balemely, Lau- 
rencio de Strathbolgyn, Willielmo Olifard, Henrico de 
Inchmartyn, Johane de Cambrun, et multis aliis. 

Penes Dominum Robertum Menzies de Weem. 

The purport of which charter is, that the Earl of Atholl 
gives to Sir Eobert de Meynes the whole of his lands of 
Weem and Aberfeldybeg, in Atholl ; namely, two and a 
lialf davates of the lands of Weem, and a half davate of 
tlie lands of Aberfeldybeg ; the Earl retaining the patron- 
age of the church of Weem. Sir Eobert is to render to 
the Earl and his heirs one penny, and one suit at his 
court of Rath 9 in Atholl. The witnesses are, — John de 
Inchmartin, John de Cambrun, Archibald de Leving- 
ston, Eobert de Cambrun of Balemely, Laurence de 
Strathbolgie, William Olifard, Henry de lnchmartin, 
John de Cambrun ; and many others. 



39 

No. I. 
ROBERTSON OF STROWAN. 

This family are the descendants of tlie eldest son of 
Duncan de Atholia, the founder of the Clandonachy ; 
and being thereby chief of the Robertsons, are treated 
of as the primary family. The first of them who was 
ever called " of Strowan" was Robert, the son and heir 
of that Duncan de Atholia designed " Dominus de 
Rannoch/' who has been already mentioned. Robert 
first appears in 1436, when he apprehended some of the 
murderers 1 of King James the First. In the year 1451, 
this ancestor of the family got a Crown charter for all 
his very extensive and numerous estates, in which King 
James the Second speaks in very flattering terms of him, 
stating that he grants the charter from the love and 
favour he bore to Robert, in having with much zeal ap- 
prehended the traitors concerned in his father's murder. 
The charter names the following lands as Robert's pro- 
perty ; — namely, the whole lands of Strowan ; the lands of 
Glenerochy ; the lands of the two Bohespic's; the lands of 
Grenich, with the lake, and island of the said lake f the 
lands of Carrik ; the lands of Innerhadden ; the one half 
of all Eannoch ; the lands of Fearnan ; the lands of 
Faskalhj ; the lands of Dysart ; the lands of Killihangy ; 

1 He arrested the Master of Atholl, and also Graham, another of the 
traitors. 

2 Loch Tummel, it thus appears, was anciently called the Loch of Grenich. 
As lands of that name are on the west and north-west side of it, and also 
Gartgrenich on the south-east, that would, no doubt, be the reason. 



40 

tlie lands of Dulcaben ; the whole lands of Balnaguard 
and Balnavert; the lands of Glengarry, with the free 
forest of the same, and all its pertinents ; and which 
whole lands, with all their pertinents, are now united 
into one barony, namely, the barony of Strowan, — the 
whole being in the earldom of AtJwll and sheriffdom of 
Perth. This important charter, dated 1451, is in the 
Record of the Great Seal, Book 1 iv., No. 227. It is first 
to be observed, that this charter contains both the Strath- 
tay baronies which belonged to his grandfather, Robert 
de Atholia, namely, Balnaguard and Balnavert ; it con- 
tains also the barony of Fearnan, part of the grant to 
Duncan de Atholia, from the Earl of Fife, of Disher 
and Toyer, which remained for many hundred years the 
property of the Robertsons of Strowan. Thus it has been 
distinctly traced and proved that the possessions of the 
family of de Atholia came to this chief of the Robert- 
sons ; and the charter states, by inheritance. Also, the 
whole lands named in the charter are declared to be in 
the earldom of Atholl ; and as they formed part of the 
following parishes, it follows that those parishes are also 
in the earldom of Atholl — namely, the parishes of 
Strowan, Moulin, Fortingal, Kenmore, Little Dunkeld, 
Dowally, and Logierait. The estate of Strowan next 
came to Alexander, son of Robert. He, of course, was 
Roberfs son; but William, his successor, in 1505, was 
the first who truly took the surname ; and in the course 
of forty or fifty years more, it became pretty general 
with all the clan. The above named ancestor of the 

1 In tlit> K.vorl of the (iivat Seal they are oallel Books. not Volumes, 



41 

family, William, was murdered, it is said, by tlie Earl of 
Atholl in 1530. See DougWs Baronage, page 407- 

Robert Robertson, the next ancestor of the family, 
got a charter under the Great Seal, dated 1541, for the 
lands and barony of Fearnan, in Disher, — namely, the 
lands of Stronefearn, Lagfearn, and Kingeldy. Book 
xxviii., No. 239. In the year 1545, this Eobert of 
Strowan was served heir to his father William in the 
following lands (this is an instance of getting a Crown 
charter several years before being served heir) : — 

(No. 6«) 

" 19th February 1545. 

" Robertus Eobertsone de Strowane hceres Willilmi 
Robertson de Strowane patris in terris de Finnart, Mure- 
laggan, Kinloch, Boyoquhen, Auchinroy, Kinaldy, JBaltolo- 
skin [Cultoloskin], Killironzie, in baronia de Strowan." 
See Perthshire Eetours, number and date as above. 

Among the foregoing mentioned lands, those of Mure- 
laggan were then very extensive, going from the head of 
Glenerochy to Kinloch Rannoch uninterruptedly. Eobert 
Robertson, another of the family, in the year 1600 got a 
Crown charter, which recites a previous one granted in 
1587. This charter of 1600 is among the writs of the 
family of Robertson of Strathloch, which are in theLibrary 
of the University at Edinburgh. It narrates that the 
King's letters were directed to George Robertson, alias 
Clandonachy, 1 and Alexander Robertson of Moaloch. 

1 Clandonachy nieans, the children or descendants of Duncan. It was, up 
to 1G00, quite the same as Kobertson, as a surname ; thus in the Lude 
charter chest there are bonds of maintenance granted by different Earls of 

F 



42 

After thc King's perfect age (in 1587), he had ratifiedand 
confirmed, and also by chartcr approved of, the gift made 
by John Eobertson, merchant burgess of Edinburgh, to 
Robert Robertson, son of a brother of the late William 
Robertson of Strowan, and to his heirs male begotten, 
whom failing, to his nearest heirs male, bearing the arins 
and surname of Robertson ; and after reciting the various 
lands of the barony of Strowan/ tlie charter declares that 
the manor of Invervack 2 is the principal messuage of the 
said barony, and where sasine for the whole thereof may 
be taken. Dated at Holyroodhouse, 14th January 1600. 
Since the foregoing notices of this family were 
made out, a friend of the writer (W. F. Skene, Esq.) 
obliged him with the perusal of an old MS. relating to 
the Robertsons of Strowan, and the lands held by the 
first ancestors of the name. In it are enumerated all 
the lands mentioned in the charter of 1451, and further 
names Strathtummel ; also, all Bun Rannoch ; stating that 
these, with the lands of Dullmagarth — that is, ApnaduU 
— had been given off in marriage. This evidence is 
therefore a corroboration of what has been already men- 
tioned of the marriage lands of Janet de Meyners, the 
daughter of Robert de Atholia. With regard to the Ap- 
nadull lands, they certainly came to the descendants of 
Janet, as Neil Stewart of Fothergill, so far back as 1488, 
enters into a bond with Campbell of Glenorchy, whereby 

Atlioll to the Lairds of Lude, "and sundry persons of the sumame ol 
('landonoquhy." 

1 These have been already given ; therefore they are not repeated. 

* In the map, the situation of the ruins of the old tower or castle of Inver- 
vack i.s marked, being one of the aneient residences of the family. This 
ch&rter notices it in 1. 



43 

they engage to assist each other, to maintain certain 
lands and bailieries ; and they were " to stand in awfald 
kyndness and help to uthers in tyme to cum." In this 
bond, Neil is named as proprietor of Apnadull 1 (or Dull- 
magarth of the old Strowan MS.) ; he gives to Glen- 
orchy the bailierie of Glenlyon, and Glenorchy gives 
Neil the bailiery of Rannoch, and his tacks of Apnadull 
kirklands, and also Glenquaich. This bond is dated 
Edinburgh, 15th Oct. 1488. See Black Book, Taymouth, 
pages 177, 178. Alexander Robertson of Strowan, in 
the year 1681, was served heir to no less than nine of 
his predecessors ; — namely, to Robert, the son of Duncan 
de Atholia, " Dominus de Rannoch," which Eobert got 
the charter of 1451. This service is proved by the fol- 
lowing entry among the General Retours : " No. (6273), 
22d February 1681. Alexander Robertson de Strowan, 
hceres, Roberti Duncaneson de Strowan, avi trtiaw." The 
Retours of the eight other generations are on the same 
page. This evidence places it beyond all cavil that the 
Robertsons are the descendants of the De Atholia 
family. This Alexander was succeeded by Alexander 
Robertson of Strowan, the poet, who suffered great losses 
(like many others of the clan) from his adhesion to the 
Stewart family, and was three times forfeited. He joined 
Lord Dundee in 1689, and was engaged in both the 
civil wars, of 1715 and 1745. He died 1749, when the 
direct male line of this old family 2 failed. The estate 

1 This fact is very confirmatory of the statement of the Strowan MS., and 
Apnadull has been proved to have been the property of Duncan, the father 
of Robert de Atholia, in 1355. 

2 See for a history of the families of Strowan and Lude, Burke's Landed 
Gentry, letter 7? of the edition bcgun 1843, and finished 1848. 



44 

thcn camc tu tlie next malc heir, Duncan Robertson of 
Drumachune. In 1752 the Government took it from 
hhn, but restored it to his son, Colonel Alexander 
Robertson, wlio died in 1822. Arcmnant of tlie ancient 
iaheritance 1 still remains, and the representation, with 
Georcje Duncan Robertson, Esq. of Strowau. 



No. II. 

ROBERTSON OF LUDE. 

As already mentioned, this family descends from Patrick 
de Atholia, the cldest son of Duncan de Atholia by his 
marriage with a daughter of the Lord of the Isles. He 
got the lands of Lude for his patrimony, comprehending 
the whole of the two parishes of Lude and Kilmavconog. 
the whole of Grlenfernat, and also the lands of Strath- 
garry. Patrick is mentioned by Winton in 1392, 2d 
volume, page 367, as one of the chieftains and leaden 
of the clan; he is also mentioned in the lst volume o1 
the Acts of Parliament, page 217. He was most un- 
doubtedly son of Duncan de Atholia from thc way he 
is therein designed ; indeed, he was never called any- 
bhing else, till once very recently ; and this would nol 
have been said, it is thought, if this additional evidencc 
liad been known. Patrick had two sons : thc cldcst 
Donald, Lis hcir; and Alexander, from whom desccndec 

1 The ftgnre 1 in tho map tbxrm fche barony of Strowan, accoidini 
charl lon 1 161, and the other proofs. 



45 

the Eobertsons of Strathloch. Donald resigned his 
lands of Lude into the King's hands on the 7th Feb. 
1447, but died before he could receive his infeftment. 
His son John got the charter under the Great Seal, 
erecting the lands of Lude into a barony, proceeding on 
his father's resignation. The charter is dated the 31st 
March 1448, which is a little less thantwo months after 
his father's resignation, as it must be remembered the 
year in Scotland began on 25th March. In all the old 
title-deeds, the barony of Lude is stated to be " infra 
thanagium de Glentilt," — within the thanedom of Grlen- 
tilt ; and proof that the lands extended a long way up 
that glen at one point, and almost to the very head of 
it at another, will be given in the course of the narrative. 
A reference to the map will show the situation and ex- 
tent of the lands to be now enumerated as composing the 
barony, though its original extent was far larger anciently. 
The figure 2 has been placed on all the most distant 
boundaries, strictly according to a map drawn up after 
a survey by a very eminent land surveyor, and given 
into the Court of Session as a piece of evidence, ex- 
hibiting the extent and boundaries of the barony of 
Lude, as it existed at the comparatively recent period of 
1716 ; the dateof the map being given in, asabove men- 
tioned, was in the year 1809. 

The following are the lands which are contained in 
the barony of Lude : — The four merk land of Lude, Brae 
of Lude, Little Lude, and Kirktown of Lude ; lands of 
Dalginross and Campsies ; two Drakochs ; the whole 
lands of Kincraigie, with the mill and mill lands ; the 
two Molochs and Toldunie ; the eight merk lands of 



46 

Easter and Wester Monzies, and their pertinents Shinageg 
More and Shinageg Beg ; tlie lands of Glenloch, and all 
its pertinents ; the lands ofAuld Calloch and. Corryneroch, 
with woods and fishings ; the lands of Urrard More and 
Urrard Beg ; the six merk land of Cluniemore and 
Cluniebeg ; the twelve merk land of the two Levages, 
otherwise Strathgroy ; the six merk lands of Kindrochet, 
with the mill ; the six merk land of Balnagrew ; l the 
two merk land of Balnakeilhj ; the two merk land of 
Balarnot, with mill and pendicles — all forming the two 
parishes of Lude and Kilmaveonog, within the thanedom 
of Glentilt and earldom of Atholl. 

The above, it will be observed, does not include 
Glenfernat ; it was given by Patrick de Atholia, first 
of Lude, to Alexander, his youngest son. Strath- 
garry was given by Donald, who resigned the lands 
of Lude in 1447, to his youngest son, Donald. This 
branch of Lude ended in an heiress, who married 
an illegitimate son of Stewart of Invermeath. About 
the year 1700 the property was sold to another 
family named Stewart. The four merk lands of Pitna- 
cree were given off upon the marriage of Donald of 
Lude's daughter, about 1446, to Finlay, Thane of Glen- 
tilt. These lands are not above 500 or 600 yards from 
the house of Lude ; they will be again spoken of. The 
lands of Invertilt were annexed by a Crown charter in 
1452, granted to John of Lude, and his wife, Margaret 
de Drummond. In the year 1507, another ancestor of 
the family, also nained Donald, resigned the barony of 
1 It :- bere that the niansion-house of Lude haa been for the last 230 



47 

Lude into the King's hands, in favour of his eldest son 
and heir, John ; but reserved his liferent, and also a 
reasonable terce to his wife. A charter under the Great 
Seal was then granted, of which the following is a short 
abstract : — 

" Carta, Joanni Donaldson, filio et apperenti heredi, 
Donaldi Johnson 1 de Lude, et heredibus suis, de omni- 
bus et singulis terris, et Baronice de Lude, cum suis perti- 
nentiis, jacentibus, infra thanaginm de Glentilt, comitatum 
de Atholia, et vicecomitatum de Perth, super resigna- 
tionem dicti Donaldi, per suas litteras patentes apud 
Edinburgum, tenendis de Rege, faciendo jura et servitia, 
debita et consueta. Testibus ut in aliis, Apud Edinbur- 
gum, primo die Februarii 1507." 

See the Eecord of the Great Seal, Book 15, No. 109. 

From this charter it is to observed that the barony was 
to be held of the King, and according to use and wont. 

It becomes necessary now to give special proofs of 
some of the lands before mentioned being undoubtedly 
parts of the barony. First, then, as to the lands of 
Urrard More and Urrard Beg : These are situated close 
to the Castle of Blair ; on the north-west and west side 
of it, they come within 500 or 600 yards. They were 
long in possession of the lairds of Lude, who feued them 
to some of their descendants, as is proved by the follow- 
ing papers in the Lude charter chest : — 

" Precept of Seisin granted by Donald of Lude, di- 
rected to his bailies, Alexander, Donald's son, of Strath- 

1 These names, though thus written with the word " son" after them, 
signify that the charter was granted to John, the son of Donald, the son of 
John of Lude, thus proving three generations of the family. 



48 

garry, and Alexander Red of Strathloch, coinmanding 
tlicm to give infeftment to Alexander Red of thc lands 
of Urrard More, etc, in the barony of Lude. Dated 4th 
July 1507." "Reversion granted by Alexander M'Ian, 
alias Robertson, on a wadset on the lands of Urrard 
More, lying within the harony of ' Lude." Dated at Dun- 
keld, lOth July 1530. Lude charter chest. 

There is also charter evidence respecting these lands : 
namely, — a charter dated 1493, granted by Donald of 
Lude, for the lands of Urrard More and Urrard Beg, 
which, it states, are "jacentes in haronia mea de Lude" — 
that is, " lying in my harony of Lude." This charter is 
in the Atholl charter chest ; it was seen, and a note 
taken of it, by the late Mr George Smythe, Methven, 
an excellent antiquarian. The charter has the granter's 
seal attached to it ; but of this hereafter, when the 
genealogical history of the Robertsons is written. The 
lands of Urrard were exchanged with the Earl of Atholl 
for the four merk lands of Pitnacree, in the year 1538. 
The Earl had acquired Pitnacree from Finlay, Thane of 
Glentilt (and son of the before named Finlay), in 1502 ; 
when he got the whole of their Glentilt property, and 
had a Crown charter for it and the thanedom. See 
Record of the Great Seal, Book xiii., No. 524. The 
Stewarts of Urrard took their designation from these 
lands, and which belonged to them until 1718. Thcir 
first ancestor, Alexander Stewart, M'Robert, had a Crown 
charter for them in the year 1617. — Urrard charter 
chest. It must be stated that the lands of the barony 
of Strowan joined to those of Urrard both on the nortli- 
west and west. 



40 

The next part of tlie barony of Lude requiring 
special mention and proof, is with regard to tlie 
lands of Auld Calloch, Littletown, and Corryneroch, 
with woods and fishings thereof ; they lie on the south 
side of the water of Tilt, as all the barony dicl, and are 
about a mile above Bentorkie. They are particularly 
marked on the map, in Glentilt, and will be easily found. 
Bentorkie, or as often called, Carntorkie, is the north- 
west point of Benegloe, and was the farthest boundary 
of the commonty of the barony, and that part of it 
named Kincraigie (the property of Eobertson of Kin- 
craigie, a younger son of Lude), and which was last 
century acquired by the Duke of Atholl. The com- 
monty was divided in 1810. The following, from the 
Lude charter chest, is proof of the lands of Auld Calloch, 
etc, forming a portion of the barony of Lude : — 

Extract from Royal Letters of Cognition, directed 

u To oure Sheriff of Perth. — That wheras the laird 
of Lude has the landis and baronie of Lude, his prede- 
cessoris and tenantis been in continual possessione of the 
landis of Corrynach, Littletoun with the woodis therof, 
and Auld Calloch, as partis and pertinentis of saide landis 
and haronie of Lude in times bygone past memorie of 
man, till now, that oure Cousin Johne Earl of Atholl, be 
himself and utheris, in the month of June last, wrong- 
ouslie ejected the saide laird and his tenantis under- 
written, viz. (eight in number), and their gudes furth of 
the saide landis, and as yet will not desist without he be 
compelled. — Oure will is 7 therefor, that ye call baith the 
said pairties befor ye, and tak cognition in the saide 



50 

inatter ; and if it appears y l saide laird of Lude and his 
predecessoris have been in continual possessione of saide 
landis, and that oure saide Cousin wrongouslie ejected 
saide pairties, y f yc cause and compel our saide Cousin 
to desist therefrom, and restore y e said lairde again to 
his possessione and keip, and defend hiin therein, as 
partis and pendicles of his said baronie of Lude aye and 
until he be justfullie callit and ordonelie put therefra." 
u At Edinburgh, Gth July 1590." 
John Robertson, another ancestor of this family, after 
the battle of Pinkey, in 1547, married Beatrix Gardyn, 
widow of Findla More, predecessor of Farquharson of 
Invercauld, who was killed there ; and in 1564 the above 
John Robertson acquired a large property, as appears by 
the following deed in the Lude charter chest : — " Dispo- 
sition of all and whole the lands, woods, salmon fishings, 
and forest of Inchmagrenoch ; the lands of Newton, Dal- 
marnok, and all their pertinents, by John M'!Nair, eldest 
son of Sir Robert MNair. 24th April 1564." This 
estate lies for several miles on the south side of the 
river Tay, beginning at Inver, and proceeding upwards 
to Dalguise, as will be seen on reference to the map. 
This John Robertson, and his wife, Beatrix Gardyn, 
had a Crown charter, dated 18th December 15G5, for 
these lands. See the Record of the Great Seal, Book 
xxxii., No. 547. Alexander Robertson, son of the above 
John Robertson and Beatrix Gardyn, acquired the 
lands of Kilmorick by the following " Ratification by 
Colin Cainpbell of Glenlyon to Alexander Robertson, of 
a disposition of the lands of Kilmorick, given to him and 
his spouse, Agnes Gordon, by his eldest son, Duncan 



51 

Campbell, Duncan Menzies of Comrie, and Mary Camp- 
bell, his spouse ; wbich said lands are in the bishoprick 
of Dunkeld." Signed and dated at Dunkeld, 30th 
Nov. 1607. — Lude Charter Chest. 

The son of the above was also Alexander Eobertson 
of Lude. He died very suddenly in 1639 at Dulcaben, 
leaving a son and heir, also Alexander Robertson, who, 
though quite a youth, joined the great Montrose, and 
was with him at Tippermuir ; as in Napier's Memoirs, 
the Master of Maddertie and others^ in their evidence, 
state they saw Alexander Robertson of Lude " in High- 
iand weed." This laird was served heir to' his father 
(owing to the state of the times) by a Colonel Daniel, 
who was Croinwell's Grovernor of Perth. Dated 16th July 
1656. 1 He was, however, served heir in the more usual 
manner in the barony by the following special retour : — 

(823) " 2d June 1671. 

"Alexander Robertson de Lude, hceres Alexandri 
Robertson de Lude, patris in terris Baronice de Lude" 
etc. etc. — Perthshire Retours, vol. ii., date and No. as 
above ; also, Lude Charter Chest. 

This Alexander died, and was succeeded by his eldest 
son, John, whose service was to his grandfather Alex- 
ander, as follows : — 

(871) "12Feb. 1675. 

" Joannes Robertson de Lude hceres Alexander 
Robertson cle Lude avi, in terris Baronise de Lude," 
etc, etc. — Perthshire Retours, date and No. as above, 
and Lude Charter Chest. 

This laird had much trouble during his minority 

1 This service is in the I.ude Charter Chest. 



52 

about the boundaries of the barony, and, in particular, 
with regard to the most distant of the pasture grounds 
at the north-west part of Glenloch, beyond Lochloch, 
called the Sheallings of Rienagie and Auldindeanj. Their 
grazings extended to a ford on the Water of Tilt, called 
Dalchronicht. The following notices prove that en- 
croachments were made on them ; the situation of thein 
is particularly marked on the map : — 

Instrument of Protest, John Robertson of Lude, taken 
at the Shealing of Rienagie, against Captain W. 
Murray, John Robertson of Balnacraig, and their 
accomplices. 3d July 1680. — Lude Charter Chest. 
Extract from the above. 
" The said Johne Robertsone of Lude offerit to instruct 
and proove, that the said sheilling did pertein andbelong 
to him and his predecessors ; and that they, and uyrs in 
their names, wes occupying and possessing the samyne 
past man's memorie" . . . " and protestit that the said 
sheilling did pertein and belong to him heritablie, als 
freelie in all respects as it did pertein and belong to his 
predecessors of beffoir, no man impeding, contradicting, 
nor gainsaying in the contrair." 

Instrument of Protest, John Robertson of Lude against 
John Robertson of Balnacraig, at Rienagie, for 
building a bothie therc. Dated 3d June 1687. — 
Lude Charter Chest. 

Extract from the above. 
" The said shealling and houndis perteining heritabh/ to 
the said Johnc Robertsone of Lude, and to his predeces- 



53 

sors. And that they, and uyrs in their names, wes oc- 
cupying and possessing the samen past man's memorie." 

Depositions of Witnesses, taken at the Castle of Blair, 
Court of the Regality of Atholl. 1687. — Lude Charter 
Chest. 

" Court of the Regalitie of Atholl, holden within the 
Castle of Blair, the seventh day of July, J m YI C 
eighty seven years, be Patrick Stewart of Bal- 
lechan, Bailzie of the said Regalitie." 1 

John Robertson, elder of Easter Straloch, of ye age 
of seventie yeeres, or yrby, a witnes sworn, purged of 
partiall councill, depones, — He knew the lairds of Lude 
in possessione of ye schealing of Rienagie these fiftie 
yeares bygone, without any interruption till within these 
three yeeres bygone. This is ye truth as he shall ansr. to 
God, and knew non oyr. in possessione yrof. 

(Signed) J. Robertson of Straloch. 

John Stewart of Urrard, sworn ut supra, depones, — 
That he knew ye lairds of Lude in possessione of ye 
schealing of Rienagie these fourtie fyve yeares bygon, 
and yt. ye deponenfs father haid ye same sometymes, 
and yt. be Lude's tolerance, and he heard it named to be 
a pairt of Glenloch. This is ye truth as he shall ansr. 
to God. 

(Signed) J. Stewartt. 

Stewart of Ballechan signs these depositions, and authenticates them as 
correct. 



oi 

Donald Eobertson of Calvein, of ye age of fyftie 
fyve yeeres, swom ut supra, depones, — That threttie 
four yeeres agoe he and ye tutor of Strowan being at ye 
watch, cam and drank milk at the sd. schealing, being 
in Lude's possessione, and yt. ye same is a pairt of 
Glenloch. This is the truth as he sall ansr. to God. 

(Signed) D. E. 

John Eobertson of Pittagowan, of ye age of sixtie 
yeeres, sworn ut supra, depones, — That since ever he 
remembers he never knew any person in possession of 
ye schealing except ye lairds of Lude, and yt. \v 
schealing itself is a pairt of Glenloch. 

(Signed) John Eobertson. 

Alexander Eobertson, in Downie, of ye age of four 
scoir yeeres or yrby., sworn ut supra, depones, — He knew 
ye lairds of Lude to be in possession of the sd. scheall 
these sixtie four ijeeres bygon, and knew no oyr. person 
to be in possession yrof., and yt. ye lairds of Lude 
would be on tym in Glenloch and anoyr. tyme in ye sd. 
scheall. This is the truth as he shall ansr. to God. 

(Signed) A. E. 

Eobert Gray, in Lyncopackith, of ye age of eighty 
sex yeeres, sworn utsupra, depones, — He knew in his tyme 
ye lairds of Lude to have twelve severall buemen in ije 
sd. schealing, qrof. ye deponent himself was one, and 
knew no oyr. person in possession yrof. ; farder de- 
pones, yt. ye same is a pairt of Glenloch. This is the 
truth as he shall ansr. to God. Fardcr depones, yt. hifl 



00 



meinorie consists in seventie yeares, qch. tyme Lude 
liaid ye sd. possessione. Depones he can not writt. 

(Signed) Pa. Stewart. 

John Fergusson in Levashbeg, of ye age of fourscoir 
nyn yeeres, sworn ut supra, depones, — He remembers these 
fourscoir yeeres the lairds of Lucle to be in possession of 
ye sd. schealing, and no oyr. persone in possessione of 
ye same, and yt. ye same is a pairt of Glenloch. This is 
truth as he shall answer to God. Depones he can not 
writ. 

(Signed) Pa. Stewart. 

From this evidence, 1 by gentlemen who were pro- 
prietors in the district, and by other very old and re- 
spectable persons, it is shown they could testify, from 
their own knowledge, for periods of from sixty to eighty 
years, that the lairds of Lude were proprietors of these 
lands ; and, further, the evidence proves that this right 
of property had never been controverted till the date 
named in the depositions of the witnesses, who also, 
from their forefathers, 2 must have learned that to Lude 
alone these lands belonged. No further attempt was 
made on this portion of the barony; but in 1716 these 
and other more valuable lands had to be given up by 
this John Eobertson of Lude, to save a brother's life 

1 Further proofs, — namely, leases, and tolerances to pasture these lands, 
also old rentals of the barony, in the Lude Charter Chest, — could be given. 

2 Those who knew Lude's rights for the long period of seventy to eighty 
years, would know for at least the same periods further back from their 
fathers and s^andfathers. 



who was taken prisoner for his liaving been engaged 
in the civil war of that period. The details of this and 
similar facts belong, however, to the historical part, to 
be written hereafter. He was succeeded by his only son, 
also John, who was only a few years in possession when 
he died, leaving his eldest son, James Robertson, a 
minor. Thislaird was sixty-two years in possession ; lie 
acquired the Kirkton of Strowan, also the lands of Tol- 
dunie, from Robertson of Kincraigie. He was succeeded 
by his eldest son, General Robertson of Lude, who died 
in January 1820. His eldest son (the writer hereof) is 
the representative of this family. The estate of Lude 
was sold 1 in 1821. 



No. III. 

ROBERTSON OF STRATHLOCH. 

This family descend from a younger son of Lude, 
namely, from Alexander, youngest son of Patrick, first 
of Lude ; and who gave him the property of Glenfernat, 
which adjoins and descends from Glenloch, within the 
barony of Lude. This Alexander was called " Rua" 
that is, Red ; and his representatives were always called 
the Baron's Rua, or Reid. This last word is an old Scotch 
one, to signify the colour red. Alexander married his 
Cousin Matilda, daughter of Thomas de Atholia, — tlie 

1 To the father of J. P. M'Inroy, Esq., now of Lude, who has built ;i nen 
m:uisiuii honte, iZkd mde niany judicious and liheral improvcments. 



57 

first on record called " of Strowan." Thomas had a 
Crown charter for the lands of Strathloch, Easter Dovan, 
Tomanturie, Dekerwand, and Dalcharnich. The charter 
is not dated, but was between 1398 and 1405, as the 
whole charters in the roll are declared to be between 
the 8th and 15th year of the reign of King Robert the 
Third. From the position of Thomas's charter in the 
roll, it is likely it was dated in 1402. — (See Robertson's 
Index, page 141, No. 47.) These lands came to Ma- 
tilda, who had a Crown charter for them, of which the 
following is an abstract : — 

u Carta Matilda? Duncanson, filise quondam Thomse 
Duncanson. Pro toto tempore vitre suse et post 
ipsius decessum Joanni Alexanderson, filio Alexandri 
Red, Patrickson, et heredibus suis, de corpore suo 
legitime procreatis, seu procreandis, quibus deficienti- 
bus Alexandro Hed fratri germano dicti Joannis et 
heredibus corpore suo legitime procreatis seu pro- 
creanflis quibus deficientibus veris legitimis et propin- 
quioribus heredibus dictce Matildce quibuscunque — de 
omnibus et singulis terris Carroth, Dalcharny, et de 
Thomcurry cum pertinentiis jacentibus in Comitatu de 
Atholia et vicecomitatu de Perth super resignationem 
dictae Matildse — Tenendis de Rege — Reddendo servitia 
debita et consueta — Testibus ut in aliis (superscriptis) 
apud Edinburgum 4to die Augusti 1451."— See Book 
iv., No. 226, Great Seal. 

Which purports, that the lands therein named 
were, on the resignation of Matilda Duncanson, granted 
to her in liferent, and, on her death, to her son 
John Alexanderson, son of Alexander Red, Patrick- 



58 

son 1 (her husband), and his lawful issue ; whom fail- 
ing, to John's brother-german, Alexander Rcd, and 
his lawful issue ; whom failing, to her own nearest 
and lawful heirs whatsoever. And this charter shows, 
that Matilda was absolute proprietrix, and could dis- 
pose of her lands as she chose, unfettered by any 
entail. The lands named are Carroth, Dalcharny, and 
Thomcurry, with their pertinents, lying in the earldom 
of Atholl. 

It wiU be seen that the • lands of the family tlien 
held of the Crown. The manner in which the supe- 
riority came to John Stewart, Earl of Atholl, is men- 
tioned in a MS. belonging to Major Robertson of Cray, 
which contains a most full and detailed history of this 
family, and extracts will be given from it at the proper 
time. There is a considerable number of the old infeft- 
ments, etc, of this family in the College Library, Edin- 
burgh, proving the lands which belonged to them. 
They had, besides Glenfernat, the lands of Easter and 
Wester Strathloch, which were in the two parishes of 
Moulin and Kirkmichael. On referring to the valued 
rents of these properties, at preceding pages 34 and 37, 
in the parish lists of 1649, it will be seen, they amount 
together to the sum of almost L. 600. They included 
tlie following, namely : the lands of Dalcharny (or Dal- 
carnich), Balnagoins, Tomnancan, Balindrine, Carroch, 
Dirnanean, Wester and Middle Invercroskie with the 
mill, Auchencapel, Whitejield, and Dalnagairn ; also 



io the Lnde charter, this one is to John, the son of Alexandi 
who wai thc son i.f I';itriek, first of Lnde. 



59 

Easter and Wester Lair, 1 the lands of Easter 2 and Wester 
Kindrogan, 3 Dovan, also Tarvie and Mill of Tarvie, and 
lands of Tomanturie. In 1513, John Red, as son and 
heir of Alexander Red, gets the lands of Dalcharny from 
his father. This was confirmed by the Earl of Atholl 
as superior. In 1539, another John Red of this family 
got lands in the barony of Ealmachrochy, from Hugo 
Maxwell of Telling. In 1567, the family took the name 
of Robertson, on the marriage of their ancestor, John 
Red, with Marjory, daughter of John Robertson, ances- 
tor of Lude. The lands of the family in the two 
parishes of Kirkmichael and Moulin are declared to be 
within the Earldo^n of Atholl, as proved by the two fol- 
lowing retours : — 

" (No. 519) 31st December 1642. 

" Joannes Robertson de Strathloch hceres Joannis 
Robertson alias Reid de Strathloch, proavi, in terris de 
Dalcamich, Balinalor, Balnagoyne, Balindrine, Carroch 
(vel Grarsovert), Tomanturie, in Comitatu ATHOLiiE — 
tertia parte terrarum de Easter Invercroskie in baronia 
de Downie." — See Perthshire Retours, ISo. and date as 
above. 



" (N T o. 520) 31st December 1642. 

" Joanes Robertson de Strathloch hceres masculus 

1 There some of the f amily resided at one period. These lands were after- 
wards sold, apparently in small portions, as per charters 1595, in College 
Library. 

2 Appears to have been sold to persons named M'Coul, who had it till 
near 1700. 

3 The family kept these longer. 



60 

Alexandri Bobertson de Strathloch patris in bina parte 
terrarum de Invercroskie, bina parte, lie Shealings de 
Corrievurich. — 40 solidatis terraruin de Wester Kindronin, 
cum multuris praefatamm terrarum et terrarum subse- 
quentium, viz. 7 mercaUe teme de Dirnanean, Ennack- 
dow, et Stodderscroft et 40 soliditarum terrarum de 
Easter Kindrogan, in Comitatu Atholi^e." — See Perth- 
shire Retours, as above. 

This family continued in the direct male line till the 
death of the son of the last Baron Reid, who died in 
1806, a full General in the Army, and Colonel of the 
88th Regiment. The estates had been sold twenty 
years previously. Major Eobertson of Cray is under- 
stood to be the representative of the family. 



No. IV. 
ROBERTSON OF FASKALLY. 

This is an old cadet of Strowan, deriving from the 
first of that family, named Alexander, and by his second 
marriage with Lady Elizabeth Stewart, daughter of John 
Earl of Atholl. Her Christian name is not given in the 
peerage ; but it is distinctly given in the charter of the 
Great Seal. A very curious relationship arose by this 
second lnarriage of the laird of Strowan,as his son had pre- 
viouslv married another daughter of the Earl of Atholl, 
and sister of his father's wife. By the record of tlie 
Great Seal, it appears that Strowan 1 and Lady Elizabeth 
1 Ob lii^ mvii rerignatioD of this part of bia baronj. 



61 

were infeft in the conjunct fee of a very large estate, and 
I to the longest liver of the two, ancl their issue. The 
charter is dated 1504, 1 which may be presumed to be 
the date of the second marriage. The following are the 
lands mentioned, namely : the lands of Calvine ; the 
lands of Callybruar, and all its pertinents ; the lands of 
Pettagoivan and Pitteldonich ; the lands of Kenordochie and 
Kindrochet ; the whole lands of Faskally, and the lands 
of Dysert. See Book xiv., No. 94, of the Great Seal. 
This estate, on reference to the map, will be found 
very large : it commences six miles from Blair ; and in 
1504 it went direct thence to Pitlochry, with only the 
Lude estate, from the lands of Urrardbeg to Auldclune, 
intervening ; besides, the estate included all Glenbruar. 
The lands of Faskally then extended far more than is 
supposed, — namely, both sides of the Garry, with the 
lands of Tenandry, and the two Orchills and Renrory. 
There is a Crown charter to the eldest son of this second 
marriage, who was the first of this family, — namely, to 
Alexander Eobertson, and his wife, Isabel Hay, for the 
lands of Faskally, etc, etc, dated 1533, Book xxv., No. 
111. In 1543, Alexander Eobertson of Faskally had 
another Crown charter for the lands of Dysert. See 
Book xxix., ]So. 64. This Alexander was succeeded by 
George Eobertson, 2 whose son Alexander got a Crown 
charter for the barony of Faskally, dated 1599, Book 

That is no less tlian forty-four years after the first marriage of Strowan 
to the daughter of Lord Glamis. 

2 This laird, it appears, was the one who sold the two Orchills and Ren- 
rory to a George Leslie, called by the Earl of Atholl " Servitor noster," in 
a charter in Urrard Charter Chest. 



62 

xlii., No. 133. George Robertson was the eldest son of 
this last Alexander, and he ? and his wife, Elizabeth 
Lundie, had a charter for part of the barony in hia 
father's lifetime, dated 1611, Book xlvi., No. 200. He 
died without male issue before his father, and his n 
brother, Duncan Robertson, was served heir to him by 
the following, among the Perthshire Retours, dated in 
the year 1615 : — 

" (No. 235) 6th December 1615. 

" Duncanus Robertson hccres masculus Greorgii Robert- 
son feoditarii de Faskally/ra^m — in terris de Pittagowan, 
Kindrochit, et Pittildonich, quce sunt partes baronise de 
Faskally." 

This Duncan succeeded, and was served heir in the 
whole remainder of the barony in 1621. His son was 
Robert. There are many old papers of this laird in the 
Urrard Charter Chest ; having had great disputes with 
Robert Stewart of Orchill More, an ancestor of the Urrard 
family. Robert Robertson of Faskally is proved by the 
valuation of 1649 to have been proprietor of the lands 
of Blair, in the parish of Blair Atholl (which see at page 
33), and which is shown in the map by the figure 4, as 
tliis whole barony is. Robert was succeeded by his son, 
Alexander Robertson, in the whole lands of the barony 
of Faskally, as proved by the following retour : — 

"(No. 823) 17 May 1671. 

u Alexander Robertson hceres Roberti Robertson de 
Faskally patris in terris de Faskalhj — terris vocatis Dysei t, 
Gilliehambie, Cahfine, 1 Pitta<jowan, Glenbruar, Ktndro- 

1 Calvinc is nicant. 



63 

chart, Pittildonich, unitis in baroniam de Faskally." — 
Perthshire Retours, number and date as above. He 
was also proprietor of the lands of Blair, as proved by 
the valuation of 1680. 

This laird of Faskally married the daughter of 
Alexander Robertson of Lude, and had by her his son 
and heir, George Robertson, the last of the direct male 
line of Faskally. He was engaged in the civil war of 
1745, but was not forfeited. He removed the mansion- 
house from Faskally to Dysert. The estates were sold, 
in or soon before 1770, to the Duke of Atholl and H. 
Butter/ Esq. of Pitlochry, whose family had been for a 
considerable time proprietors there. 



No. XII. 
ROBERTSON OF TENANDRY. 

The oldest cadet of Faskally, therefore, though not 
in the regular rotation, is here named. The first ap- 
pears to have been an Alexander Robertson, who got 
that part of the Faskally estate that lies on the south 
side of the Garry, directly opposite the lands of the 
Orchills, Renrory, and Old Faskally. The estate of 
Tenandry included Easter and Wester Balroby, Ard- 
tullachan, Fanvuik, etc v and goes about two miles along 
the river Garry. The Robertsons of Tenandry had 
another estate in the parish of Logierait even more 
valuable than Tenandry, as shown by the rentals of 

1 The writer will be able to show that there were proprietors of the name 
of Butter in Atholl of an older date than is generally known. 



04 

1649 and 1G80. The following is tlie proof they v, 
proprietors of other lands : — 

1635. (No. 439.) 

"Joanes Kobertson de Tenandry hceres Alexandri 
Robertson de Tenandry patris — in 40 solidatas terrarum 
de Pitcastle cum sheilling Rievullin nuncupato et pia 
tionibus salmonum infra tenandrium de Logierait. Et 
8 lib. solari dimidiatate lie sunny half Rinrig terrarum 
de Pitnarigarren alias Ballygoican et solari dimidiatate 
lie shealling vocato South Rienaloysen cum piscatione 
salmonum super aqua de Tummel et- Lochbroom infra ten- 
andriam de Logierait. Et 4 lib. terris umbratilis dimi- 
dietatis dictarum terrarum Pitnarigarren alias Bally- 
qowan cum salmonum piscatione extendentibus ad 20 
soliditas terrarum jacentibus ut supra. Et 4 lib. villa 
et terris de Pitgair extendentibus ad 40 solidatas ter- 
rarum cum shealling ejusdem vocato Rienavullan et pis- 
catione jacentibus ut supra. Et 8 lib. 40 solidatas ter- 
rarum de Balnacraig cum piscaria jacentibus ut supra." 
— See Perthshire Retours, as above. 

The estate of Tenandry was sold to Stewart of Urrard 
in 1718. 



No. V. 

ROBERTSON OF KILLIEHANGY. 

Tliis family appear to come of Andrew, son of the 
Alexander Robertson of Strowan who died 1505. 
Andrcw is stated, in Douglas' Baronage, page 407. afl 



65 

immediate younger brother of Alexander's successor, 
whereby they are older cadets of Strowan than Faskally. 
The above Andrew is mentioned among the Ballechin 
writs, in a Precept of Seisin granted by Sir John Stewart 
of Stuiks, dated so far back as 5th August 1505. This 
family appear to have been predecessors to several others 
of the name. Their property of Killiehangy, in Logierait 1 
parish, extended, on the south side of the Tummel, from 
Easter Dunfallandy to the boat or ferry of Tummel. They 
also were proprietors of another estate in the parish of 
Moulin, 2 namely, the lands of Drumhabber and Pittarach. 
Their properties at first, no doubt, held of the Crown ; 
but, towards the end of the 16th century, the superiority 
appears to have been acquired by the then Earl of Atholl. 
This is known by two charters of John Earl of Atholl, 
granted (as superior) to James Robertson of Killiehangy, 
for the lands of Drumhabber and mill, dated 1580 and 
1585 ; which charters are in the Urrard Charter Chest — 
the Stewarts of Urrard havingacquired the lands of Drum- 
habber from Robertson of Killiehangy during last cen- 
tury. Donald Robertson was proprietor in 1649, and in 
1685 he was a Commissioner of Supply. John Robertson 
was his successor. In the unfortunate civil war of 1745 
both James Robertson of Killiehangy and his son took 
part. 

1 See page 36. 2 See page 34. 



66 

No. VI. 
ROBERTSON OF DULCABEN. 

This is stated as the oldest branch of Strowan in the 
earldom of Atholl. Their property was the barony of 
Dulcaben. It is on the north side of the Tummel, 
along which it goes about a mile, and extends several 
miles towards the north. 

In 1563, Patrick Robertson of Dulcaben received a 
remission for the murder of the late Alexander Red. 
Campbell of Ardkinlass was Patrick's surety. — See 
Criminal Trials, vol. i., page 431. The Robertsons of 
Dulcaben held their barony of the Crown. In the year 
1599, Duncan Robertson had a charter under the Great 
Seal for Dulcaben, andalso thelands ofLawton. At page 
36, in parish of Dowally, Patrick Robertson is proved 
proprietor of Dulcaben. In 1677, Alexander Robertson, 
apparently his son, was created a baronet. The family 
went to Holland, and took the name of Colyear, as ap- 
pears by the following retour, yet still retaining that of 
Robertson : — 

" (No. 5987) 24 March 1687. 

" Colonellus Alexander Robertson alias Colzear hceres 
Joana? Colzear filiae Majoris Davidis Colzear sor 
germanse." 

Tliis family were fnrther advanced in titlc, being 
afterwards raised to the peerage as Earls of Portmore. 
For further account of them, see the last edition of 
Douglas' Scotch Peerage. 



67 

No. yii. 

ROBERTSON OF GUAY. 

An old branch from Lude, their first ancestor being 
John, son of the John who, with his wife Margaret de 
Drummond, got a Crown charter in 1452. For an account 
of this family, see Burke's Landed Gentry, letter R. They 
appear to have had an extensive estate ; and after they 
had disposed of the greatest part to the Earl of Atholl, 
they still retained the designation. They, like so many 
more of the clan, unfortunately took part in the civil war 
of 1715. "Robertson of Guay" is named as a prisoner 
that year, and was confined in Eewgate in 1716. They 
then lost their estate that had remained to them. Now 
represented by Captain Robertson, a post-captain of the 
Eavv. 






No. VIII. 
ROBERTSOST OF AUCHLEEKS. 



This family is named ra Douglas' Baronage as being 
from the son of James, the son of Strowan, who died 
1505. They have undoubtedly been long proprietors of 
Auchleeks. As before alluded to, they hold a portion of 
the Glenerochy estate, which can be traced back to a 
longer period than any other part of the possessions of the 



68 

Robertsons. Charles, one of the ancestors of tliis family, 
married Beatrix Robertson, of the family of Lude. This 
laird of Auchleeks was called " Charlich nan Jead"- 
that is, " Charles of the Strings," — from his great skill 
as a harper. It is proved, at page 32, that Duncan Eo- 
bertson, along with his mother, was proprietor of Auch- 
leeks, etc, and of another estate in parish of Moulin. 
In 1661, Duncan Robertson of Auchleeks was a Com- 
missioner of Supply for the county of Perth. — See 14 Act 
of Charles the Second, year 1661. The family is now 
represented by Robert Robertson, Esq. of Auchleeks. 



No. IX. 
ROBERTSON OF CALVINE. 

Stated to descend from James Robertson, son of the 
first of Strowan named Alexander, who died 1505. ' As 
the lands of Calvine were a part of the estate of Faskally, 
their coming into the possession of another family can 
only be understood by their first ancestor, James, having 
acquired Calvine from Robertson of Faskally. The de- 
scendants of this family are called M'James ; and, in a 
similar way, the neighbouring proprietors, the Robert- 
sons of Pittagowan, were called M'William. There is a 
special retour (No. 68), dated 1601, of Perthshire Re- 
tours, of " Alexander Robertsoun hceres Duncani Robcrt- 

1 Sce Douglas' Baronage, page 407. 



69 

soun aiias Jacobi M'CaIvyn patris in terris de Leik, 1 infra 
dominium de Atholl." Thus the Duncan Eobertson 
here named is also called James, son of Calvine. In the 
Chronicle of Fortingal there is a still older notice of one 
who appears likewise to have been an ancestor of this 
family, in these words : — " Obiit Alexander M { James 
alias Robertson apud Calvine, prope Strowan in Autholia, 
et tumulatus in Ecclesia de Strowan, 19° die Januarii 
Anno Domini 1555. Litera Dominicalis e. et d. Orate 
pro anima 2 ejus." This last extract proves that Alexander 
M f James, alias Mobertson, died at Calvine, near Strowan, 
in Atholl, and was buried in the church of Strowan, date 
as above. The family appear to have continued pro- 
prietors for long. In 1649, Calvine belonged to Duncan 
Eobertson. He was retoured *to his grandfather Duncan 
in 1627. 3 In 1687, Donald Eobertson of Calvine was a 
witness that the shealing of Eienagie belonged to John 
Eobertson of Lude, and that it was a part of Glenloch, 
within the barony of Lude. 

1 These lands of Leik named here are on the south side of Loch Tummel, 
and also called Frennich Leik. 

2 The Eomish invention, as to prayers for the dead, would appear, from 
these words, not to have been as yet rooted out of the Highlands. 

3 General Retours (No. 353), dated lOth August 1627 : " Duncanus 
Robertson hseris Duncani Robertson de Calvine avi, in terris de Leik in 
Comitatu Atholise." 



70 

No. X. 
ROBERTSOST OF KINCRAIGIE. 



., 



This family is a younger branch from Lude. Th 
first ancestor was Donald Robertson. He received from 
his father, at his death in the year 1615, the estate of 
Kincraigie, comprising lands in Glentilt and Glenfender. 1 
This Donald was the immediate younger brother of 
Alexander Robertson of Lude, who died in 1639. He, 
with John Robertson of Inver (another brother), greatly 
assisted Montrose in bringing the Atholl men to the 
royal standard in 1644. At page 33, and No. 11, Donald 
Robertson is provedproprietorof Kincraigie "and others" 2 
in 1649. He was succeeded by his son of the same name ; 
which Donald Robertson of Kincraigie, and his wife, had 
a Crown charter in 1670 for lands of Moloch More and 
others. — See Record of Great Seal, Book lix., ISTo. 262. 
Alexander was the next successor, and father of John, 
whose son sold Kincraigie to the Duke of Atholl, and the 
lands of Toldunie to James Robertson of Lude. The 
grandson of the last proprietor of the family was Colonel 
Robertson, 21st Royal Scotch Fusiliers. Represented 
by James Robertson, Esq., Chamberlain to the Duke of 
Argyle. 

1 By a reference to the map, the situation of the lands of this family will 
be found close to Lude, and marked No. 10, the same as at the heading of 
this account. 

2 That is, other lands in the parish of Blair Atholl. 



71 

ffo. XL 
ROBERTSOtf OF TULLIEBELTOK 

This family descend from Lude. Their ancestor was 
Jolm Robertson, who, on his father's death in 1615, got 
the lands of Inver 1 (opposite Dunkeld), and which was 
the family designation for several generations. This 
John Robertson of Inver was a firm supporter of the 
Royal cause under the great Marquis of Montrose, and 
very numerous letters to him from the Marquis have 
been printed in Napier's Memoirs. At page 35, this 
John Robertson is proved proprietor of Inver in 1649. 
The then yearly valued rent of it is stated at L.258. In 
1665, Donald Robertson of Inver got a Orown charter 
for the lands of Tulliebelton, with the mill and mill lands, 
Meikle and Little Tulliebelton, also the manor place, and 
all their pertinents. In this charter Donald is designed 
eldest son and heir of John Robertson of Inver. — See 
the Eecord Great Seal, Book lxi., No. 80. The family 
now took the designation of Tulliebelton. Alexander 
Robertson, the eldest son and heir of the above Donald, 
got a Crown charter to himself, and his wife, Catherine 
Maxwell, and to their heirs male, whom failing, to the 
nearest heirs male whatever of the said Alexander. The 
charter is dated 1683, and is in the Great Seal, Booklxix., 
Nb. 15. In 1737, John Robertson had aCrown charter 
on his own resisnation for the lands of Tulliebelton. In 
1754, this John, and his son Robert Robertson, had a 

1 These lands are marked, according to the reference, No. 1 1 in the map, 
and they will be easily found thereby. 



72 

charter for the lands of Kilspindie. This Robert made 
an entail of all his properties ; and he was succeeded 
therein by his sons, John Robertson and Robert Henry 
Robertson. The latter died in 1850, and was succeeded 
in the family estates by Major-General Richardson Ro- 
bertson, C.B., now of Tulliebelton. 



No. XIII. 
ROBERTSON OF BLAIRFETTIE. 

This family are a branch of Strowan, through Cal- 
vine ; their first ancestor is stated to be James. At 
page 32, No. 5, Patrick Robertson is proved proprietor 
of Blairfettie and Kirktown of Strowan in 1649, when 
the yearly rent was L.120. His son was Alexander, who 
was succeeded by another Alexander, as proved by the 
following general retour : — 

" (No. 5883) 2 March 1676. 

" Alexander Robertson de Blairfettie hceres Alexandri 
Robertson de Blairfettie ^atfnV 

This last Alexander was involved in the civil war of 
1715, and was a prisoner 1716. His son, James Robert- 
son of Blairfettie, engaged in the 1745, and wasa major 
in Lord George Murray's regiment. This Blairfettie fled 
to France. The next successor was shot by accident. 
The estate now belongs to Robertson of Auchleeks. 



73 



No. XIV. 

ROBERTSON OF KINDROCHIT. 

The family of Kindrochit are stated in Douglas' 
Baronage to come from Strowan, through Calvine. The 
ands of Kindrochit, however, appear to have formed a 
part of the barony of Faskally, whereby this branch of 
fche clan might likely descend from Faskally. At page 
33, Angus llobertson is proved the proprietor in the 
year 1649. It would appear he was succeeded by an- 
other Angus, who died in 1690, when his last will and 
testament is proved, as shown by the Abbreviate of Wills 
for the diocess of Dunkeld, under that date. The late 
Captain Duncan Kobertson of Kindrochit appears to 
have been the last direct male descendant. The pro- 
perty will be found marked close to Strowan. As there 
was no bridge over the Garry at that last place till 
recently, the lands of Kindrochit must have derived their 
name from the bridge over the Errochie. There are 
lands of the same name in the barony of Lude, derived 
from the bridge over the Tilt, which is the oldest bridge 
in Atholl. Camden calls it " Pons Tiltce ;" but of this, 
and such notices, when the historical account of the 
earldom is written. 



74 



No. XV. 

ROBERTSON OF TRINAFOUR. 

Stated in Douglas' Baronage to descend from 
Strowan, through Calvine. Their property is marked 
on the map, and was at the head of Grlenerochy. Patrick 
Robertson of Trinafour engaged in the civil war 1745, 
and had command of the party of Prince Charles' men 
stationed at Dalnacardoch. The estate now belongs to 
Robertson of Auchleeks. 



No. XVI. 
ROBERTSON OF EDRADYNATE. 

This family descends from Strowan, through Robert- 
son of Killyhangy. Their principal property lies in the 
parish of Logierait ; but they have also lands in the 
parish of Kirkmichael, part of the former possessions 
of the Robertsons of Downie. The number 16 will be 
found marked in the map on both the Strathtay and 
Strathardle properties. 



75 



Nos. XVII. and XVIII. 

EEID alias EOBEETSON OF PITNACEEE, AND 
EASTERTYEE. 

These are stated as descended from the Reids alias 
Eobertsons of Strathloch, but do not appear to have 
taken that last name so soon as Strathloch. Both 
families are proved proprietors in 1649, at page 36. In 
the civil war of 1715, Eobertson of Eastertyre took part ; 
and the family appears at that period to have dropped 
the name of Reid, as he is called Eobertson of Easter- 
tyre when confined in prison in 1716. This John 
Eobertson was too old to join Prince Charles in the 
1745, but sent his son John in his stead. See the 
Atholl Correspondence, printed by the .Abbotsford 
Club, page 18. General Stewart of Garth mentions in 
his work a John Robertsbn of Eastertyre as a man of 
great strength of body, alive in the year 1761. 




No. XIX. 
EOBEETSON OF DOWNIE. 

This family descend from Lude, through that of 
Robertson of Strathloch. Their first ancestor was Alex- 
ander; he was brother of the laird of Strathloch in 
1567- They had a pretty considerable property in the 



7G 

parish of Kirkmichael, being part of the old barony of 
Downie. Tliey also liad an estate in tlie parish of 
Blairgowerie, named tlie barony of Drumlochy, for wliich 
Alexander Robertson, fiar of Downie, had a Crown 
charter in 1643. See Great Seal, Book lvii., No. 224. 
Alexander Robertson was served heir to his father by 
the following general retour : — 

" (No. 4409) January 1G59. 

" Alexander Robertson of Downie, heir of Alexander 
Robertson of Downie, his father." In the Rental for 
Perthshire in 1G80, the property of Downie belonged to 
Alexander Robertson. These lands, along with many 
others in Kirkmichael parish, are by the Acts of Parlia- 
ment, Vol. viii., page 103, proved to be in thc earldom 
of Atholl ; and the retours of the Strathloch family 
likewise prove that parish part of the earldom. 



No. XX. 



ROBERTSON OF CRAY. 



They descend from Lude, through the Strathloch 
family. Their first ancestor was James of Cray, third 
son of John Robertson of Strathloch, and his wife, 1 
Margaret Ruthven, daughter of Alexander Ruthven of 
Freeland. ' The property of Cray is marked on the 
nuip, No. 20 ; and had, no doubt, been the possession of 
the Strathloch family, at the same time as that of 

1 Thoir m&rriage took pUwce in i 



77 

ILair and the Ennochs. The successor, named in the 
Cray MS., 1 to James, was John, whose son was Alexander. 
In the Moulin parish register, John Robertson of Cray 
lis stated to have been married in 1760 ; and also, that 
he had a son and heir baptized, Robert. It is understood 
that Major Robertson of Cray represents this family, 
and also the ancient one of the Barons Reid or Robert- 
sons of Strathloch. 



Nos. XXI. and XXII. 

ROBERTSON OF EASTER AND WESTER 
BLEATON. 

Both these descend from Lude, through Strath- 
loch. Their first ancestor was Leonard Robertson of 
Bleaton, who was the second son of the John Robertson 
of Strathloch who married in 1567. The property of 
Bleaton continued united till after 1649 ; that year the 
proprietor was John Robertson, as proved at page 37. 
The lands then came to be separated into Easter Bleaton 
to the eldest, and Wester Bleaton to the youngest son. 
Both familieSj like all the others of the name, unfor- 
tunately were engaged in the civil war of 1745. David 
Robertson was then proprietor of Easter Bleaton. 

1 This MS. has been mentioned at page 58. 



78 



No. XXIII. 



ROBERTSON OF CULTALONY. 

The Robertsons of Cultalony descend from Strowan, 
through the familv of Killyhangy. They had a good 
estate in the parish of Kirkmichael, called Cultalony and 
Glengennet (changed to Glenderby in recent times). 
It became partly separated before 1649. At page 37, 
Patrick Robertson is proved proprietor ; and his brothei 
James is also there proved for his part. In 1649, th< 
valued rent, for both parts, was almost L.300. These 
lands are all in the parish of Kirkmichael, and in th< 
earldom of Atholl. See 8th Vol., page 103, of th< 
Scotch Acts of Parliament. 



No. XXIV. 
ROBERTSON OF AULICH. 



Douglas, in his Baronage, says of this family, at 
page 363: " Robertson of Aulich, in Rannach, an ancienl 
cadet of the family of Strowan." The lands of Aulicl 
now belong to Sir Robert Menzies. 



79 



No. XXV. 

EOBEETSON OF BALNAGUAED. 

They descend from Lude, through Tulliebelton. 
Donald Eobertson of Inver, mentioned at page 71, 
married a second time, in 1651, to Marjory Graham, 
daughter of Graham of Balgowan, and widow of Max- 
ton of Oultuquhey, and had by her Charles Eobert- 
son, first of Balnaguard. The proprietor of Balna- 
guard was engaged in the troubles of 1745, The pro- 
perty, however, remained with them. It was sold in or 
about 1810, to the late Yiscount of Strathallan. 



. 



No. XXVL 
EOBEETSON OF BALNACEAIG, 



is family came of Tenandry, and was a younger 
son. Donald Eobertson, at page 34, is proved the pro- 
prietor in 1649. Balnacraig was only a very small 
place ; but Glenbrerachan belonged likewise to this 
family, as proved by the above rental, and thereby the 
valuation was L.107- 

The smaller proprietors of the name of Eobertson, 
whose yearly rental in 1649 did not exceed L.50, will 
be found marked in the map thus : XX. 



so 



M<INTOSH OF GLENTILT. 

In the map, it will be observed, a large property is 
marked as belonging to this family, on tbe north side of 
Glentilt. They were the descendants of the old Thanes 
of Glentilt, and were called the Tosachs of Glentilt, and 
their descendants M'Intosachs. Without enterincr into 

o 

the disputed point, whether the above word, Tosacl 
meant thane, or eldest cadet, it is certain that tl 
family were the Thanes of Glentilt before 1502, when, 
already stated, they sold their lands to John Stewar 
Earl of Atholl. The family origin is of coursc coevj 
with the first thane in Atholl, which must have been 
a very remote period. Tradition states, that when tl 
Cummins got a footing in Atholl, they commenced, tl 
then usual practice, to attack their neighbours. The 
attacked the M'Intosachs when at a feast, who werc 
murdered, except a young child in a cradle, nam< 
Ewen, wlio, in twelve or fifteen years afterwards, attacke 
the Cummins at a place called Toldamph, near Blair 
Atholl. He defeated them ; and the Cummins fled up 
Glentilt, and turned in at the stream that comes out of 
Lochloch ; but this Ewen (Sherigan, as he was called) 
crossed a near way through the hills of Benegloe, by a 
stream callcd the Cro?naldan, and met Cummin at Lech- 
nadiold, and slew him ; and which last place was so 
named, and signifies that Cummin had there been driven 
out of his saddle, — that is, he was shot. 

The tradition, as thus stated, has every appearance 



81 

of probability ; and to tliis day, the cairn raised by the 
M tf Intosach, where Cummin was killed, remains. It is 
marked on the map. The situation of it is a little to 
the north of Lochloch. The date of the circumstance is 
supposed to be in, or very soon after, 1260, The son of 
the above Ewen, Sherigan, was Angus, who is said to 
have got what was called " a bounding charter" for his 
lands from King Robert Bruce. As long as the family 
kept the lands, they were thanes ; and it appears that 
the thanedom went with the lands. In a similar man- 
ner, the thanedom of Cranach, mentioned at pages 9 and 
10, was held by the proprietor, who held what was called 
the King's office of u Tosachdorership," or thanedom. 
As long as the family of Menzies held the lands, they had 
Crown charters for them and the office, called as above. 
When the family of Glenorchy got the lands, they be- 
came thereby possessors of the office, as can be proved 
by their retours. This office is mentioned in Robertson's 
Index, at page 146, No. 44, and is called " Tothia 
daroche." But of these and other very curious antiquarian 
points, when the history of the earldom is written. 

The author hopes hereafter to write as follows, as 
soon as the proofs are put together. 

1. A full description of the district forming the earldom 
of Atholl, with historical and antiquarian notices from 
the earliest period of it, also of the monastery of Dunkeld. 

2. A rectification 1 of the descent of the ancient 
Earls of Atholl, with old charters by them. 

1 The writer will be obliged to notice errors in a very recent pedigree of 
the Earls of Atholl, by Mr Anderson, in his publication called the " Scottish 
Nation." He makes Alan Ostiarius to be Earl before, instead of after 
Thomas de Galloway, etc, etc. 



82 

3. The probable origin of the family of De Atholia, 

4. History of the De Atholia family. 

5. The surnames which have prevailed in Atholl 
frora the earliest periods, and ancient notices of all the 
difFerent estates. 

6. A full genealogical detail of various families of the 
name of Robertson. 1 

1 An interesting fact is just made known to the writer. A gentleman, 
named A. S. Robertson, originally from Edinburgh, has lately purchased a 
large tract 6i Crown lands (upwards of 20,000 acres), near the Lake 
Coramgamite, in Victoria, Australia, and has obtained the sanction of the 
Government to call the parish containing it, Strowan. 



In conclusion, the writer caimot venture to suppose 
that even this little pamphlet is free from all errors ; 
but he can truly say, he has endeavoured to avoid them, 
and he will be obliged by having them pointed out, and, 
when proved, will correct them. 



J. A. ROBERTSON. 



118, Princes Street, Edinburgh, 
18^ July 1860. 



Vt A>'i> OIBB rniNTKns, F.iUNttriM.n. 



mvim* 5ECT. JAN 1 5 1973 



PLEASE DO NOT REMOVE 
CARDS OR SLIPS FROM THIS POCKET 

UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO LIBRARY 



GS 

479 

R62 
1860 



Robertson, James Alexande] 
Comitatus de Atholia