(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Children's Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Counties of Morgan, Monroe, and Brown, Indiana. Historical and biographical"

Gc ^^'l 

977.201 

M82b 

1271366 



<3£;^4H:AUOGY COLLECTION 



J 



r ALLEN COUNTY PU^VlUllVl^lUim I 



GC 

3""i833 66827 8704 977.201 

M82B 



.COLTJSTTIES - 



HF. 



MORGAN, MM?BRDIN 



INDI^]^^^. 



Historical and Biographical. 



CHARLES ^LANCHARD , Editor. 



CHICAGO: 
F. A. BATTEY & CO., PUBLLSHERS. 

1884. 



F. W. Teeple. 



PREFACE. 



CV rr^HIS volume goes forth to our patx'ons the result of months of arduous, 

I unremitting and conscientious labor. None so well know as those 

who have been associated with us the almost insurmountable difficulties to 

Y be met with in the preparation of a work of this character. Since the in- 

^ auguration of the enterprise, a large force has been employed in gathering 
T^material. During this time, most of the citizens of the three counties have 

s^ J been called upon to contribute from their recollections, carefully preserved 

\\<Sletters, scraps of manuscript, printed fragments, memoranda, etc. Public 
N,*^ records and semi-official documents have been searched, the newspaper files 
of the counties have been overhauled, and former citizens, now living out 
of the counties, have been corresponded with, for the verification of the in- 
formation by a conference with many. In gathering from these numerous 
sources, both for the historical and biographical departments, the conflict- 
ing statements, the discrepancies and the fallible and incomplete nature of 
public documents, were almost apjDalling to our historians and biographers, 
who were expected to weave therefrom with some degree of accuracy, in 
panoramic review, a record of events. Members of the same families disagree 
as to the spelling of the family name, contradict each other's statements as 
to dates of birth, of settlement in the counties, nativity and other matters 
of fact. In this entangled condition, we have given preference to the 
preponderance of authority, and while we acknowledge the existence 
of errors and our inability to furnish a perfect history, we claim to 
have come up to the standard of our promises, and given as acciu-ate a 
work as the nature of the suiToundings would permit. Whatever may be 
the verdict of those who do not and ivill not comprehend the difficulties to 
be met with, we feel assured that all just and thoughtful people will appre- 
ciate our efiforts, and recognize the importance of the undertaking and the 
great public benefit that has been accomplished in preserving the valuable 
historical matter of the counties and biographies of many of their citizens, 
that perhaps would otherwise have passed into oblivion. To those who have 
given us their support and encouragement, we acknowledge our gratitude, 
and can assure them that as years go by the book will grow in value as a 
repository not only of pleasing reading matter, but of treasured information 
of the past that will become an enduring monument. 

April, 1884. THE PUBLISHERS, 



CONTENTS. 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 



Introductoky Chapter 

Act of Formation 

Agricultural Society, First 

Agricultural Society, Second 

Anti-Slavery Movement 

Associate Judges 

Attorneys, Resident 

Auditors 

Auditor's Report May 31, 1883 

Circuit Court, First 

Circuit Court, Second 

Circuit Court, Third 

Circuit Court, Subsequent Terms of.. 

Clerks 

Commissioners, County 

Common Pleas Court, First 

Common Pleas Judges 

Coroners 

County Before Its Creation 

County Justices, First Session of 

Court Houses 

Early Settlers , 

Election Returns November. 1844 

Election Returns November, 1856 

Election Returns November, 1860 

Election Returns November, 1868 

Election Returns November, 1872 

Election Returns November, 1876 

Election Returns November, 1880 

• Indebtedness, County 

Indian Cession Treaty 

Jails 

Justices, County 

Justices of the Peace, Early 

Land Survey 

Legal Cases, Important 

Library, County 

Medical Societies, County 

Old Settlers' Association 

Organization of the County 

Paupers, County ". 

Physical Features 

Politics, County , 

Population of the County 

President Judges of Circuit Court.... 

Press, The County 

Probate Court, First 



Probate Judges.. 
Railroads 



Recorders 

Roads, Common and Graveled. 
Seminary, County 



Statistical Items 44 

Superintendents, County 39 

Surveyors 38 

Temperance Work 48 

Treasurers, County 38 

Treasurers' Accounts 41 

Treasurer's Report, 1851 23 

Military History 50 

Bounty and Relief. 70 

Calls for Volunteers 73 

Call for Volunteers, Last 67 

Calls and Enlistments 64 

Capt. Scott's Company 57 

Companies for the War 57 



Death of Lincoln. 

Disloyalty During the War 

Draft of October, 1862 

Draft of September 21, 1864 

Enlistments in Winter of 1862-63 
Enlistments in 1864 — Continued. 



Enlistments, Renewed 

Fall of Fort Sumter... 

Fall of Pviehmond 

Fourth of July, 1862 

Fourth of July, 186.3 

Gen. Morgan's Raid 

Home Guards 

Home Traitors 

Martinsville Ritles '.— 

Mexican War, The 

Military Spirit 

Militia System, The Old 

Militia, The 

Opening Scenes of the Great Rebellion 

Pensioners, List of 

Presidential and Gubernatorial Campaign 

of 1864 

Reception of Veterans 

Return of Morgan County Boys 

Roll of Honor 

Troops Furnished, Summary of. 

War Meetings 38, 52, 55,58, 

Washington Township 

Martinsville ^ 

Banking Enterprises 

Development of the Town 

'\ Donations ^nd^Sales of Lots 

"^ Educat 

Fir>*^nd Subsequent Buildings, 
corporation 
and Entries. 

Manufacturing Interests. 

Officers of the Corporation. 

Population 

Pork and Grain Trade 

Present Business 

Race Track, The Old 

Religion 

Secret Societies 

Settlement, First 

Town Treasurer's Report, 1863 

Treasurer's Report, 1883 

Brown Township 

mooresville 

Banking Business 

Bear Stories 

Business Enterprises 

Business Pursuits, Present 

Incorporation 

Industrial Development and Incidents. 

Industrial Pursuits ; 

Mercantile Trade 

Pioneers 

Plat of Village 

Pork Packing 

Re igious Development 

Reminiscences 

Samuel Moore 

Schools 

Secret Societies 

Snake Story 

Jackson Township 

Morgantown 

Business Pursuits 

Distilleries 

Education 

Entry of Land 

Incid'ents of the Chase 

Manufactories 

Mills 

Poll-Tax Payers, 1842 

Religious Classes 

Reminiscences and Notes 



CONTENTS. 



PAGE. 

Clay Township 119 

Barnes Family, The 119 

Brooklyn 121 

CentertOD 123 

Early Settlers IIU 

Modern Brooklyn 122 

Preachers 124 

Teachers 124 

Monroe Township 125 

Business Interests of Monrovia 127 

Christian Organizations 129 

Monrovia, Town of 126 

Pioneers, The 12.5 

Poll-Tax Payers of 1842 126 

Schools of Monroe 127 

Underground Railroad, The 129 

Harrison Township 131 

Bluffs, The 133 

Churches 136 

Farm, The First 1.32 

Incidents 132 

Port Royal 133 

Schools 136 

Settler, First of the County 131 

Settlers, Additional Early 133 

Treaty with the Delawares.. , 131 

Waverly Village 1.35 

Waverly in Late Years 136 

Ray Township 137 

Butler Creek Settlement 137 

Churches 141 

Incidents and Improvements 130 

Paragon Village 140 

Poll Tax Payers of 1842 1.30 

Schools 141 

Adams Township 142 

Churches 144 

Eminence Village 145 

Natural Resources 142 

Schools 144 

Settlement, Early 142 

Jefferson Township 146 

Hyndsdale Village 149 

Lamb's Bottom 146 

Poll Tax Payers of 1842 148 

Religious Organizations 149 

Schools 149 

Settlement— Continued 148 

Ashland Township 1.50 

Alaska Village 153 

Church Organizations, Early 153 

Formation and Boundary....' 150 

Manufactures 152 

Pioneer Incidents 151 

Poll Tax Payers 151 



page. 

Schools and Schoolhouses 152 

Settlement, Early 150 

Gregg Township 154 

Education 1.57 

Poll-Tax List of 1842 1.56 

Religion 157 

Settlement, Later 1.55 

Villages 156 

White Men, First 1.54 

Madison Township 1.58 

Churches 161 

Incidents and Pioneer Customs 159 

Pioneer, The First 158 

Schools 161 

Settlers, Early 1.58 

Wild Animals 160 

Green Township 162 

Cleveland Village 167 

Cope Village 168 

Delawares, The 166 

Educational Interests 166 

Hunting Exploits 164 

Milling Interests 164 

Mysterious Death 166 

Poll T«x Payers of 1842 163 

Religious Interests 167 

Settlement, First 162 

Settlement— Continued 163 

Wounded Deer, The 165 

Bakee Township 168 

Education 169 

Evilsizer Family, The 168 

Facilities for Worship 170 

Poll-Tax Payers of 1842 169 

Settlers, Permanent 169 

BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 

Adams Township 294 

Ashland Township 334 

Baker Township 363 

Brown Township 217 

Clay Township 260 

Green Township 358 

Gregg Township 342 

Harrison Township 282 

Jackson Township 245 

Jefferson Township .326 

Madison Township .3.52 

Martinsville 171 

Monroe Township 270 

Mooresvllle 217 

Morgantown 245 

Ray Township 283 

Washington Township 171 



HISTORY OF MONROE COUNTY. 



Settlement, Organization, etc 371 

Actof Formation 373 

Agricultural Fair, Rules, Judges, etc 395 

Agricultural Societies .391 

Agricultural Society's Premium List .392 

Associate Judges 406 

Auditors, County 405 

Auditor's Report 411 

Circuit Court, First 376 

Circuit Court Judges 406 

Clerks, County 405 

Commissioners, County 404 

Condition of School Lands in 1846 412 

Coroners, County 406 

County Commissioners' Meetings .374 

County Politics 384 

County Poor 389 

Entries of Lands, Fir-st .372 

Erection of Townships 378 

Free Public School Vote 407 

Indian Cession Treaties 372 

Indian Occupancy 371 

Justices of the Peace, Early 404 

Library, County 400 

Old Settlers' Meetings 397 

Old Settlers' Meeting Minutes .399 

Old Settlers' Roll of Honor 399 



Population of County .376 

Presidential Electors, 1840 $85 

Presidenti;il Electors, 1S44 386 

Presidential Kk-ctors, 1856 386 

Presidential Electors, isiio .. 386 

Presidential Elettnr-, I^tU 387 

Presidential Electors, is72 388 

Presidential Electors, 1876 388 

Presidential Electors, 1880 388 

Press, County 401 

Probate Court, First 377 

Probate Judges 406 

Prosecuting Attorneys 407 

Public Buildings 382 

Recapitulation of Taxes, 188.3 411 

Receipts and Expenditures, County 407 

Recorders, County 405 

School Districts in 1882 413 

School Enumeration, etc., in 1881 412 

School Examiners and Superintendents 407 

Seminary, County 401 

Seminary Trustees 406 

Sheriffs, County 405 

Survey of Lands, First 372 

Surveyors, County 406 

Territory Attached to the County 381 

Treasurers, County 405 



CONTENTS. 



PAGE. 

Military History 413 

Adjutant General's Exhibit April 14, 1865.... 43;i 

Attairs Preceding the Fall of Sumter 414 

Army Correspondence 421 

Assassination of Lincoln 438 

Calls for Volunteers, Kew 428 

Call for Troops, October, 1S63 429 

Call of July, 1864 431 

Call for Volunteers, Last 432 

Capture of Richmond 438 

Cavalry, One Hundred and Twenty-fifth 449 

Closing Scenes of the Rebellion 439 

Curious Editorial 427 

Draft of October 6, 1862 424 

Draft of October, 1864 431 

Draft Statistics , 423 

Enlistments 416, 424 

Fourth of July, 1864 430 

Gen Morgan 428 

Infantry, Fourteenth 447 

Infantry, Eighteenth 447 

Infantry, Twenty-second 448 

Infantry, Thirty-first 448 

Infantry, Thirty-eighth 448 

- Infantry, Fiftieth 44a 

Infantry, Eighty-second 449 

Infantry, Ninety-third 449 

Infantry, One Hundred and Forty-fifth 450 

Lee's Surrender 438 

Letter from Murfreesboro 425 

Meetings, War and Other 414,416,420, 426 

Mexican War, The 413 

Militia, County 413 

Miscellaneous Incidents 434, 437 

Oif for the War 416 

Opening Scenes of the Rebellion 415 

One Hundred Days' Men 430 

Pension Roll 445 

Political Campaigns of 1864 437 

Recruiting 420 

Relief and Bounty 440 

Resistance to Military Law 427 

Roll of Honor 447 

Roll of Honor, Miscellaneous 450 

Summary of Troops Furnished 434 

Suspension of Active Work 425 , 

Volunteers, Infantry 416, 417 

Volunteers, Cavalry 419 

Volunteers, New Companies 422 

Bloomington To^\^^[SHIP and City 451 

Anecdotes 457 

Artesian Well 468 

Banking 469 

Bloomington Factory 460 

Bloomington Female College 475 

Bloomington Mills 460 

Bonded Indebtedness, 1877 467 

Business Men, Early 457 

Business Men, Present 462 

Buyers of Lots 454 

Churches of Bloomington 479 

Corporation Meeting, August, 1858 465 

Incorporation, First 463 

Incorporation, Second 463 

Incorporation of 1S59 466 

Incorporation, City 467 

Indiana College 477 

Indiana State University 476 

Industries 458 

Land Entries, First 451 

Merchants, Early 458 

Merchants of the Sixties 462 

Model School, The 475 

Monroe County Female Seminary 472 

Municipal Government, The 464 

New Albany Railroad 461 

Platting of the Village 453 

Prices Current for 1858 462 

Residents, Early 451 

Resident, First 452 

Schools of Bloomington 470 

Secret Societies 469 

Shinplasters 461 

State University, The 478 

Townsmen, Early 454 

Town in 1830-40 458 

Town in 1840-50 459 

Town in 1850-60 460 



PAGE. 

Perry Township 481 

C'hurches 485 

Land Purchasers 483 

Organization 484 

Schools 485 

"Seminary Township," The 482 

Soil 481 

Tax Payers of 1841 484 

Timber 481 

Bean Blossom Township 486 

Anecdotes 488 

Churches 494 

Geology 486 

Mt. Tabor 490 

Poll Tax Payers of 1841 489 

Schools 493 

Settlement 487 

Stinesville 492 

Surface Features 486 

Richland Township 494 

Business Industries of Ellettsville 505 

Churches 506 

Earth .Structure „... 494 

Ellettsville 503 

Geological Tables 495 

Incidents 500 

Incorporation of Ellettsville 504 

Narrative of James Parks, Sr 497 

Poll-Tax Pavers of 1841 502 

Richland Village 503 

Schools 505 

Settlement 496 

Van Buren Township 507 

Blue Spring Community 513 

Growth and Development 509 

Introduction 507 

Land Entries _. 508 

Morals, Township '. 511 

Poll-Tax Payers of 1841 510 

Schools 512 

Settlement 508 

Soil 507 

Stanford Village 510 

Stone 507 

Timber 507 

Indian Creek Township 514 

Churches 518 

Families. The First 515 

Geological Structure 514 

Government Land Entries 514 

Milling Enterprises 515 

' Poll Tax Payers 5I6 

Schools 517 

Villages 5I8 

Virginia Iron Works, The 515 

Clear Creek Township 519 

Churches 526 

Geological Formation 519 

Land Holders 521 

Poll Tax Payers of 1841 522 

Schools 525 

Settler, The First 521 

Villages 523 

Washington Township 527 

Churches 530 

Description 527 

Education 530 

Hindostan Village 5.31 

Land Buyers 528 

Soil 527 

Tax Payers of 1841 529 

Timber 527 

Wayport 531 

Benton Township 531 

Cox Tragedy, The 535 

Geology 531 

Poll Tax Payers of 1841 533 

Religious Classes 534 

Schools 533 

Soil 531 

Timber 531 

Unionville 535 

White Settlement, The ,532 

Salt Creek Township 5.36 

Churches.... ,540 

Friendship Village 540 

Land Entries ,537 

Natural Features 536 



CONTENTS. 



PAGE. 

Poll-Tax Payers of 1841 537 

Public Sohools 538 

Saltworks • 536 

Polk Township 540 

Chapel Hill Village 544 

Churches 543 

Counterfeiters 543 

Elections, First 544 

Land Buyers, Early 541 

Origin of Name 540 

Residents of 1842 542 

Schools 543 

Marion Township 545 

Churches 547 

Creology 545 

Physical Description 545 



PAGE. 

Schools 547 

Settlement 545 

BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 

Bean Blossom Township 612 

Benton Township 666 

Bloomington City 549 

Bloomington Township 549 

Clear Cieek Township 658 

Indian Creek Township 653 

Marion Township 674 

Perrv Township 602 

Richland Township,.... 628 

Salt.Creek Township 670 

Van Buren Township 642 

Washington Township 665 



HISTORY OF BROWN COUNTY. 



Introductory Chapter 

Auditors 

Church Statistics 

Circuit Court, First 

Clerks, County 

Common Pleas Court, First 

Coroners 

County Buildings 

f'reatibn of Townships 

Election, P'irst County 

Election Returns 

Finances, Statement of 

Indian Cession Treaties 

Initiatory Legislative Enactments.... 

Items of Interest, Miscellaneous 

Judges, Associate 

Judges, Circuit 

Judges, Common Pleas 

Judges, Probate 

Justices and Commissioners 

Library, County 

Medical Society, County 

Meeting of the County Board, First., 

Old Settlers' Association 

Paupers, County 

Physicians, List of 

Politics, County 

Population 

Press, The County 

Probate Courts, First ,. 

Recorders 

School Commissioners, etc 

School 1^'unds, Origin of 

School Statistics 

Seminary, County 

Sherirts 

Surveyors 

Taxes for 1883 

Treasurers 

Treasurers' Reports 

Military History 

Bounty, Relief, etc 

Calls for Troops 

County in 18G3 

County in 1864 

Draft of October, 1862 

Drafts of 1864-65 

Enlistment in 1862 

Enlistment Tables.. 



690 
695 



700 

703 

712 

713 

709 

710 

709 

711 

708 

711 

Fall of Fort Sumter 707 

Infantry, Twenty-second 713 

Infantry, Eighty-second 714 

Infantry, One Hundred and Twentieth 714 

Infantry, One Hundred and Forty-fifth 714 

Mexican War, The 703 

Militia Organizations 703 

Number of Men Furnished 712 

Pension Roll 715 

Political Feeling in 1860-61 705 

Roll of Honor 713 

Volunteers 708 

Washington Township 717 

Altitudes, Table of. 718 

Banking at Nashville 730 

Census of 1872 727 

Churches 731 



Civil Division 719 

Hedgesville 723 

Incidents 722 

Incorporation of County Seat 727 

Industries 726 

Jacksonburg 723 

Land Entries 720-725 

Minerals 717 

Nashville 723 

Oil 717 

Organization 719 

Poll Tax Payers of 1848 721 

Salt 717 

Schools 730 

Secret Societies 729 

Settlers, Early 720 

Jackson Township 732 

Churches 738 

Drainage, etc 734 

Formation of Township 7.34 

Georgetown 737 

Gold Depo.sits '. 732 

Historical Items 737 

Horse Races 738 

Needmore 738 

Poll-Tax Payers of 1848 738 

Schools 738 

Settlements, The First 735 

Hamblen Township 739 

Churches 744 

Entries of Land 741 

Incidents 743 

Industries 743 

Natural Wealth 739 

Poll-Tax Payers of 1848 745 

Schools 744 

Villages 744 

White Settlement , 740 

Van Buren Township 746 

Churches 749 

Land Entries 748 

Officers 747 

Organization 747 

Poll Tax Payers of 1848 748 

Rocks 746 

Schools 749 

Settlement by White men 746 

Streams 746 

Timber 746 

Villages 749 

Johnson Township 751 

Elkinsville 753 

Era of Settlement 751 

Incidents and Notes 753 

Land Entries 752 

Poll-Tax Payers of 1848 752 

Surface and Soil 751 

BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 

Hamblen Township 785 

Jackson Towu.ship 773 

Johnson Townsliip 799 

Nashville 753 

Van Buren Township 795 

Washington Township 753 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

BY WESTON A. GOODSPEED. 

DESCRIPTION, ORGANIZATION, ETC 

PHYSICAL FEATURES. 

THE county of Morgan is in many respects one of the most favora- 
bly located tracts of country in the State of Indiana. It is within 
an hour's ride of the State capital, and is bounded on the north by Hen- 
dricks and Marion Counties, on the east by Johnson, on the south by 
Brown and Monroe, and on the west by Owen and Putnam. The county 
contains 450 square miles, or 291,800 acres, and is watered by the West 
Fork of White River, and by its branches. White Lick Creek, Mud 
Creek, Big Indian Creek, Stott's Creek, Clear Creek, Burnett's Creek, 
Rhodes' Creek, Mill Creek, and by other smaller streams. The valleys 
are extremely fertile, and produce annually large crops of grain. The 
numerous bluflfs along the principal water-courses are suitable for grazing. 
There is an abundance of timber, consisting of poplar, walnut, white oak, 
hickory, beech, maple and other varieties. An abundance of excellent 
building stone is' found, and is near the surface and easily obtained. Na- 
tive gold and copper have been found in small quantities. The sanitary 
conditions are very favorable, as the porosity of the soil and the rolling 
character of the surface prevent the development of malaria. 

THE INDIAN CESSION TREATY. 

The county was formerly the undisputed home of the Miami tribe of 
Indians. Here they had lived for an indeterminate period of years, 
unmolested by the whites. The earlier race, known as Mound-Builders, 
so far as can be learned, left no traces of their presence in the county. 
The case is different with the Indians. They were here when our fathers 
came, and mingled freely with the white men. The rapid settlement of 
the State after the war of 1812-15, and especially after the battle of 
Tippecanoe in 1811, when the power of the Indians was completely 
crushed, led to numerous treaties, whereby the Indians ceded to the Gov- 
ernment various tracts of land, and retired toward the setting sun. The 
Delawares, many years before, had obtained from the Miamis a large 
tract of land in Central Indiana. In October, 1818, at St. Mary's, 
Ohio, the Miamis and Delawares ceded to the United States a large tract 
of land in Central and Southern Indiana, including the present county 
of Morgan, except a small portion in the southwestern part, which had 
been relinquished at an earlier date. This was scarcely done before the 
white settlers began to invade the present county in search of homes, and 
the survey of the lands was commenced. 



12 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

THE LAND SURVEY AND THE EARLY ENTRIES. 

Township 11 north, Range 2 west, which had been ceded by the In- 
dians prior to 1816, was surveyed in that year by William Harris, and 
was therefore the first land ' ohe county measured by a surveyer's chain 
and compass. It was re-sarveyed by Thomas Brown in 1819. Township 

11 north. Range 2 east, was surveyed in 1820, by B. Bentley; Township 

12 north. Range 2 east, in 1820, by B, Bentley; Township 13 north, 
Range 2 east, in 1820, by B. Bentley; Township 14 north, Range 2 east, 
in 1820, by W. B. Laughlin ; Township 11 north. Range 1 east, in 1819, 
by Thomas Brown ; Township 12 north. Range 1 east, in 1819, by 
Thomas. Brown; Township 13 north, Range 1 east, in 1819, by Thomas 
Brown ; Township 14 north. Range 1 east, in 1820, by Stephen Collett ; 
Township 11 north. Range 1 west, in 1819, by Thomas Brown, and in 
1848 (the islands) by A. E. Van Ness ; Township 12 north, Range 1 
west, in 1819, by Thomas Brown ; Township 13 north. Range 1 west, in 

1819, by John Milroy; Township 11 north. Range 2 west, in 1816, by 
William Harris, and in 1819 by Thomas Brown ; Township 12 north. 
Range 2 west, in 1819, by John Milroy; Township 13 north, Range 2 
west, in 1819, by John Milroy. The date of the arrival of the first set- 
tlers cannot be given, though it was probably 1818. Ten or fifteen fami- 
lies arrived in 1819, and many more in 1820. All who came prior to 
September 4, 1820, and, indeed, many who came after that date, were 
" squatters," not owning the land upon which they lived until they 
had taken out pre-emption papers under the ordinance of 1787, and 
later Congressional enactments granting and modifying the right. It is 
estimated that sixty or seventy families were living in the county on the 
1st day of January, 1821. On the 4th of September, 1820, the lands 
of the county were formally thrown into market for the first time. Those 
who had come in previously hastened to the land office at Brookville, and 
entered the claims they had squatted upon or pre-empted, and many 
others, who had not yet been in the county, came in search of homes. 
Perhaps two-thirds of the early settlers were from the Southern States, 
mostly from Kentucky, but largely from Tennessee, Virginia and the 
Carolinas. The following persons entered land in the county in the year 

1820, after the 4th of September, in the township and range given with 
each name : Philip Hodges, Township 11 north. Range 1 east ; Joseph 
Townsend, same ; George Mathews, same ; Benjamin Freeland, same ; 
Benjamin Huffman, same; John Case, same; Jacob Cutler, same; Jacob 
Lafavre, same ; John Gray, same ; Joshua Taylor, same ; Joshua Gray, 
same ; Thomas Jenkins, same ; Chester Holbrook, same ; Jacob Case, 
same ; John Reed, same ; Nancy Smith, same ; Isaac Ilollingsworth, 
same ; Presley Buckner, same. All these located in Township 11 north, 
Range 1 east. The following persons entered land in 1820, after Sep- 
tember 4, in Township 12 north. Range 1 east : John Butterfield, David 
Matlock, Enoch McCarty, Benjamin McCarty, Jonathan Lyon, Martin 
McCoy, Samuel Elliott, Jonathan Williams, Devalt Koons, John Connor, 
Andrew Waymore, Larkin Reynolds, Thomas Jenkins, Joel Ferguson, 
Reuben Most, John Graves. The following entered land at the same 
time in Township 13 north, Range 1 east : Francis Brock, William 
Ballard, Thomas Lee, Charles Vertreese, James Hadley, Eli Hadley, 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 13 

William Rooker, Charles Reynolds, Isaiah Drury and Benjamin Barnes. 
William Pounds located in Township 14 north, Range 1 east, same 
time, i. e., horn September 4, 1820, to the close of the year. The fol- 
lowing persons entered land during the same/inod in Township 11 north, 
Range 1 west : James K. Hamilton, John Burnett, Samuel Newell, Fred 
Barkhart, Daniel Stout, John Kennedy, Rice Stroud, Isom Stroud, An- 
thony Vernon, Presley Buckner and Thomas Hodges. The above per- 
sons, numbering fifty-four, were the only ones who entered land in the 
county in 1820. 

The following persons entered land in the year 1821 : Samuel Scott, 
James Clark, Jacob Cutler, Thomas Hadley, Henry H. Hobbs, 
Charles Reynolds, George Mathews, Jonathan Lyon, W. W. Drew, 
Elisha Hamden, Thomas Irons, James Stott, Jonathan Williams, 
John Hodges, John Butterfield, James L. Kidds, Edward Irons, David 
Allen, Jacob Chase, John Marker, Edward Jones, Jacob Case, Joseph 
Henshaw, Abner Cox, David Matlock, Thomas Dee, Joseph Frazier, 
William McDowell, Samuel Jones, Thomas Beeler, John Leavell, Jesse 
McCoy, Christopher Ladd, Joseph Bennett, Samuel Blair, David Price, 
Joseph Sims, John Hamilton, John Barnes, George H. Beeler, Joseph 
Beeler, Benjamin Mills, Robert Stafford, William Gregory, Cyrus Whet- 
zel, Jesse Tull, Henry Rout, John Paul, Thomas Ingles, Joseph Bennett, 
Thomas Gardner, William Goodwin, James Burch, Ezekiel Slaughter, 
John McMahon, Jacob B. Reyman, John W. Reyman, Christopher Ha- 
ger, Thomas Carey, Benjamin Carey, George Moon, Samuel Dodds, Jo- 
siah Tomlinson, Eli Hadley, Abner Cox, James Curl and John Sells, all 
of whom located east of the Second Principal Meridian ; and David Fain, 
Hiram Stroud, Thomas Hodges, Philip Hodges, Wiley Williams, Abner 
Alexander, Samuel Goss, William Anderson, Joseph Ribble, James Mc- 
Kinney, Thomas Thompson and Reuben F. Allen, on the west side of the 
meridian. 

The following persons entered land in the year 1822 : Allen Gray, 
John Gray, Alexander Rowand, I. Gray, William Townsend, Josiah 
Townsend, Presley Buckner, James Reynolds, Jacob Cutler, Joshua Car- 
ter, Benjamin Cuthbert, Martin McDaniel, Isaiah Drury, William Bales, 
Elias Hadley, Jehu Carter, Moses Anderson, William McCracken, B. F. 
Beason, John H. Bray, Jesse Overman, Charles Vertreese, Jacob Jessup, 
Andrew Clark, Richard Day, William Ballard, Stewart Reynolds, Eli 
Mills, Isaac Price, John and Enoch Summers, Charles Ketchum, George 
Crutchfield, John Martin, Levi Plummer, David E. Allen, Benjamin 
Mills, Hiram Mathews, Abner Cox, William Landers, Thomas Ballard, 
Harris Bray, John Kennedy, Abraham Stroud, Fred Burkhart, John 
Buckner and John Mannon, all locating east of the meridian line except 
the five last named. The above lists include all who entered land in the 
county prior to the 1st of January, 1823. Besides these there were a 
comparatively few families living in the county who owned no land. They 
would probably equal in numbers those named above who never resided 
in the county, so that the above lists may be taken as showing to within 
a close figure the population of the county at that time. Probably 170 
families resided in the county by January 1, 1823. This would repre- 
sent a population of about 800. 



14 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

THE COUNTY BEFORE ITS CREATION. 

The territory comprising Morgan County was a portion of that exten- 
sive tract of country secured by cession from the Delaware and Miami 
Indians in 1818, and known as the " New Purchase." The next legal 
provision concerning the territory composing the county was an act of the 
State Legislature approved January 20, 1820, the second section of the 
act being as follows : 

Section 3. That all the remaining part of the said New Purchase lying east of 
the Second Principal Meridian, except so much of it as has been attached to the 
counties of Fayette, Jackson and Wayne by former laws, and except so much of it 
as is attached by the first section of this act to the counties named therein, be, and 
the same is hereby formed into a new county, to be known bj' the name of Dela- 
ware; and all that part of the said New Purchase lying west of the Second Priuci- 
pal Meridian be and the same is hereby formed into a new county, to be known by 
the name of Wabash. 

This act made all of the present Morgan County east of the meridian 
line a part of Delaware County, and all west of that line a part of Wa- 
bash County. The first elections held in the county were before its crea- 
tion, and after the passage of the above act, or during the years 1820 and 
1821, and the returns went to the county seats of Delaware and Wabash 
Counties respectively. It is impossible to tell where they are now, as 
those counties then were widely diiferent in size, form and location from 
what they are at present. In 1821, the rapid settlement of the territory 
composing the county made it apparent to the settlers that a new county 
ought to be created for their benefit, and accordingly at the session of the 
Legislature of 1821-22 a petition from the residents was formally pre- 
sented, praying that such an enactment might be passed. Accordingly, 
the following act was introduced, passed, and approved by the Governor : 

An Act for the Formation op a New County out of the Counties of Delaware 

AND Wabash: 

Section 1. Be it enacted hy the General Assembly of the State of Indiana, That 
from and after the fifteenth day of February next, all that part of the counties of 
Delaware and Wabash contained within the following boundaries, to wit : Begin- 
ning on the township line dividing Townships 10 and 11 north, where the line divid- 
ing Ranges 2 and 3 east cross the same ; thence west to the center of Range 2 west, 
of^the Second Principal Meridian ; thence north nine miles ; thence west tliree miles 
to the line dividing Ranges 2 and 3 west ; thence north eleven miles to the corners 
of Sections 19 and 20 ; thence east with said line twenty-four miles to the line divid- 
ing Ranges 2 and 3 east ; thence south to the place of beginning, shall constitute and 
form a new county, to be designated and known by the name and style of the county 
of Morgan. 

Sec. 2. That James Borland, of Monroe County ; Thomas Beazel3^ of Lawrence 
County ; Phillip Hart, of Owen County ; John Martin, of Washington County, and 
James Milroy, of Washington County, be and they are hereby appointed Commis- 
sioners for the purpose of fixing the permanent seat of justice for the said new 
county agreeably tt) the provisions of an act entitled "An act fixing the seat of 
justice of new counties hereafter to be laid off." The Commissioners above named, 
or a majority of them, shall convene at the house of John Gray, in said new county, 
on the first day of March next, and then proceed to discharge the duties assigned 
them by law. 

Sec 3. That the said new county of Morgan shall enjoy the rights, privileges 
and jurisdictions which to separate counties do or may properly belong. 

Sec. 4. It shall be the duty of the Sheriff of Monroe County to notify the Com- 
missioners above named, either in person or by written notification, of their said 
appointment, and the Commissioners of the county of Morgan shall allow tuem any 
sum of money that they may deem just and equitable, who are hereby authorized 
to allow the same out of any moneys in the county treasury in the same manner 
other claims are paid. 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 15 

Sec. 5. The Circuit and otlier courts of the county of Morgan shall be holden at 
the house of Jacob Cutler, or at any other place the court may adjourn to in said 
county, until suitable accommodation can be had at the county seat ; and so soon as 
the courts of said county are satisfied that suitable accommodations can be had at 
the seat of justice, they shall adjourn their courts to such place in said county as 
shall be tixed on by said Commissioners for the seat of justice of said county, estab- 
lished as directed by this act. 

Sec. 6. The agent, Avho shall be appointed to superintend the sale of lots at the 
county seat of the said county of Morgan, shall reserve ten per centum out of the 
proceeds thereof, and also of all donations to the said county, and pay the same over 
to such person or persons as may be appointed by law to receive the -same for the 
use of a library for said county, which he shall pay over at such time or times as 
may be directed by law. 

This act to take effect and be in force from and after its passage. 

Approved December 31, 1821. 

Samuel Milrot, 
Speaker of the House of Representatives. 

Jonathan Jennings, Ratlipp Boon, 

Oovernor. President of the Senate. 

ORGANIZATION OF THE COUNTY. 

On the 1st of January, 1822, James Bigger was commissioned Sheriff 
of the new county by the Governor, and empowered to call an election 
for four Justices of the Peace, one Clerk and Recorder, and two Associate 
Judges; but as he failed, in some manner, to do as directed, his commis- 
sion was dropped or revoked, and Benjamin Cutler was commissioned on 
the 16th of January, 1822, to take his place and call the necessary elec- 
tion. This election was held early in 1822, with the following result: 
Justices of the Peace — Larkin Reynolds, Samuel Reed, James Burris and 
Hiram Mathews, all four of whom received commissions from the Gov- 
ernor, dated May 22, 1822 ; Clerk and Recorder — George H. Beeler ; 
Associate Judges — Jacob Cutler and John Gray, who were commissioned 
March 18,1822. 

FIRST SESSION OF THE COUNTY JUSTICES. 

Prior to the year 1831, the County Board (now the three County Com- 
missioners) comprised all the Justices of the Peace in the county. The first 
County Board was the Justices elected as stated above. They met at the 
house of Jacob Cutler, early in June, 1822, for the transaction of busi- 
ness. One of the first acts was to divide the county into townships, and 
order an election held in each for the necessary oflScers. The number of 
townships erected at this time was four — Washington, Monroe, Ray and 
Harrison. James Shields was appointed Treasurer of the county, and 
Charles Beeler, Surveyor. The report of the Commissioners appointed 
by the Legislature to locate the county seat, was presented to the board 
at their first session, and formally accepted, and the Commissioners were 
paid and discharged. Nothing further can be stated regarding the early 
acts of the County Board, owing to the destruction of the records by fire 
a few years ago. This loss was a great misfortune to the county. 

THE FIRST CIRCUIT COURT. 

The first session of the Morgan County Circuit Court was beg un at 
the house of Jacob Cutler, on the 25th of March, 1822, with Judge Will- 
iam W. Wick in the chair. He presented his commission from Gov. 



16 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

Jennings constituting him President Judge of the Fifth Judicial Circuit, 
for the period of seven years from January, 1822. On this commission 
was the following indorsement : 

State of Indiana, Third Judicial Circuit. 

Be it remembered, that on the 12th day of February, A. D. 1822, personally 
appeared before me. Miles C. Eggleston, President Judge of the circuit aforesaid, 
the within named William W. Wick, who being duly sworn according to law, took 
the following oaths, to wit : That he will supJDort the Constitution of the United 
States, and of the State of Indiana; and that he will, to the best of his ability and 
judgment, discharge the duties of his office as President Judge of the Fifth Judicial 
Circuit of the State aforesaid faithfully; and that he has not since the 1st day of 
January, 1819, either directly or indirectly, knowingly given, accepted or carried a 
challenge to any person in or out of the said State, to fight in single combat with 
any deadly weapon; and that he will not knowingly give, accept or_ carry a chal- 
lenge to any person or persons to fight with any deadly weapon in single combat, 
either in or out of the State, during' his continuance in his said office. 

John Gray and Jacob Cutler produced their commissions as Associate 
Judges, and George H. Beeler and Benjamin Cutler produced theirs as 
Clerk and Sheriff respectively. Court was then declared open. The 
first business transacted was the adoption of a seal for the court, an im- 
pression of which was made on the record of the court. The next act 
was to admit Hiram M. Curry, Craven P. Hester and Calvin Fletcher to 
practice as attorneys at the court. The latter was appointed Prosecuting 
Attorney. Larkin Reynolds add Jonathan Williams were appointed 
County Commissioners to fill vacancies that had been made. Both the 
Clerk and the Sheriff then gave their official bonds, with satisfactory 
security, which were approved by the court. The first suit was a case in 
chancery, Jacob Cutler vs. J. M. Cox. The defendant not being a resi- 
dent of the State, the notice of the pendency of the suit was ordered 
published four weeks in the Indianapolis G-azette, notifying him that un- 
less he appeared at the next term of the court to answer, the complainant's 
bill would be taken as confessed, and acted upon accordingly. The court 
then adjourned. 

THE SECOND CIRCUIT COURT. 

This session was begun at the house of Jacob Cutler on the 23d of 
September, 1822, present, John Gray and Jacob Cutler, Associate Judges. 
It having been made manifest that a place for holding court had been pre- 
pared at Martinsville, the new county seat, the Judges, in accordance 
with the enactment for the formation and organization of Morgan County, 
before proceeding to business, ordered an adjournment of the court to the 
house of George H. Beeler, in the town of Martinsville. The court re- 
assembled at 1 o'clock, P. M. Daniel B. Wick and James Whitcomb 
were admitted to practice law at the court. The Sheriff returned the 
following list of Grand Jurors : Jesse Stark, Conrad Burns, Benjamin 
Hoffman, Jesse Mulhollen, Humphry Harris, Wilson Taylor, Thomas 
Lee, Joshua Taylor, John Caldwell, Solomon Tucker,- James Donnard, 
George Crutchfield, Eli Hadley, James Shields, William Hadley, Samuel 
Scott, Sr., Thomas Reed and Isaiah Dressier. Stark, Mulhollen, Wilson 
Taylor, Caldwell, Donnard and Crutchfield were not present. Samuel 
Scott, Jr., and Richard Day were added to those present, and the Grand 
Jury thus constituted were sworn and directed to retire under the charge 
of Abraham Keedy, Bailiff. The first case at this session was William 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 17 

Cooley vs. Jesse Smith, trespass vi et armis. The plaintiff was given 
time to amend his declaration. The next case was the State of Indiana 
vs. Edward Applegate, recognizance to keep the peace. The defendant's 
•attorneys moved to quash the indictment, but after a spirited discussion 
the motion was overruled, and Mr. Applegate was ordered to enter into 
bonds at $100 to keep the peace toward Gideon Wells. The next case 
was of the same nature, but William Pumroy was discharged from enter- 
ing into bonds to keep the peace toward Brice Witcher, whose fears were 
declared to be groundless. Ten cases came before the court at this session, of 
the following character, in the order named : Assault and battery, recog- 
nizance to keep the peace, same, chancery, same, assault and battery, pe- 
tition for divorce (Rachel Morrison vs. Thomas Morrison), covenant 
and assault and battery. Each Grand Juror was ordered paid 75 cents 
per day, and the bailiff the same. Christopher Ladd was granted a 
license to keep tavern at Port Royal. John Tiffany produced his commis- 
sion as Coronor of the county, and Thomas L. Galpin, his as Sheriff. 
The Grand Jury returned the following " True Bills : " Against James 
Stotts, Sr., for assault and battery ; against John L. Johnston and Joel 
Stroud for affray ; against Larkin Johnson and Michael Dittemore for 
affray, and against George W. Preston for retailing liquor without a 
license. The court then adjourned. 

THE THIRD CIRCUIT COURT. 

This was begun at the court house in Martinsville, on the 1st day of 
April, 1823, before Judge Wick, and John Gray and Jacob Cutler, Asso- 
ciate Judges. Cephus D. Morris, Harvey Gregg, John Adams, Brecken- 
ridge Smith, Bethuel F. Morris, Elkin Nayler and Isaac Nayler were ad- 
mitted to practice law before the court. Thirty cases came before the 
court at this session, the greater number being for assault and battery. 
The Grand Jury returned eight " True Bills." The first Petit Jury were 
summoned at this session to try the case of the State vs. G. W. Pres- 
ton, for retailing liquor without a license. These men were Abner Cox, 
James Linn, Isaac D. Koffman, William Gregory, Henry Pence, Joseph 
Aulton, James Hadley, Thomas Reed, Jesse Rooker, Larkin Reynolds, 
Humphrey Harris and William Townsend. The defendant was found 
guilty, and damages were fixed at $2 and costs of suits. The plaintiff 
moved an arrest or stay of judgment on such a verdict, which was 
granted, and he was discharged. John Stipp was appointed to fill a va- 
cancy in the Board of Commissioners. Joshua Taylor was granted a li- 
cense to keep tavern. J. A. Breckenridge was appointed Prosecuting 
Attorney, vice Fletcher, who was unwell. John Sims was granted a 
license to keep tavern in Martinsville. 

SUBSEQUENT CIRCUIT COURT ITEMS. 

The October session, 1823, was held at the house of G. H. Beeler. 
Judges Wick, Gray and Cutler were present. Edgar A. Wilson and 
Daniel Goodwin were admitted to the bar, and Christopher Ladd was 
licensed to keep tavern at Port Royal. In March, 1824, the court con- 
vened at the court house. Gabriel J. Johnson and Hiram Brown 



18 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

were admitted to the bar. In 1823, Edgar A. Wilson was admitted, 
also Daniel Goodwin ; Hiram Burris in 1824; T. F. G. Adams, 
Michael G. Bright and Philip Sweetzer, 1824 ; James Braman, Andrew 
C. Griffith, W. W. Wick and Hiram Brown and Henry Hurst in 1825; 
Henry P. Coburn, James Forsee, Benjamin Bull and William Herrod in 
1826 ; James Morrison in 1829 ; Tilman A. Howard in 1831 ; G. F. 
Waterman and W. 0. Ross, 1832; Ovid Butler, 1835; John Hutchen 
and Mason Hulett in 1837 ; Harvey Brown, 1838 ; Henry Seacrest and 
Algernon S. Briggs, 1839. 

THE FIRST PROBATE COURT. 

The first session of this court was begun at the house of George A. 
Preston on the 2d of May, 1822, before Jacob Cutler and John Gray, 
Associate Judges of the Circuit Court, who proceeded to appoint Jonathan 
Watkins as County Commissioner to fill the vacancy occasioned by the 
resignation of Larkin Reynolds. No other business was transacted at this 
session. 

At the September session, 1822, before the same Judges, the first bus- 
iness was the issuance of a citation against Edward Applegate, guardian 
of the infant heirs of Isaac HoUingsworth, deceased, commanding him to 
appear on a certain day to exhibit a true inventory of all the "goods and 
chattels, lands and tenements " of the deceased. Nancy Smith and John 
Reed were summoned as witnesses. This court was held at the house of 
Jacob Cutler. Nothing else was done until the 30th of September, when 
Mr. Applegate appeared and presented the following inventory of the 
goods, etc., of HoUingsworth, deceased : 

" Four promissory notes, aggregating $132.75 ; four head of horses, 
eight head of milk cows, two head of steers, one heifer, four yearlings, 
five calves, feathers for two beds, three coverlids, five bed quilts, two 
sheets, nine delf plates, pewter plates, dishes and spoons, one earthern 
pitcher, one tin coffee pot, tea cups and saucers, one shovel-plow and two 
hoes, a number of hogs, two metal pots, one drawer knife, one pigon and 
churn, one small wheel, two weaving slays, two bells, two empty barrels, 
one rifled gun, one dutch oven, two chairs, one man's saddle, seventy- 
eight acres of land, one sieve, money on hand, $7, money collected from 
James Stills, §11.25 ; property sold to wit : 100 pounds of pork, 663 
pounds of pork, one hog sold, two sows and pigs ; property in Kentucky 
as follows : One milk cow, one wagon and gears, one bed and bedding, 
five counter-panes, three pillows, three sheets, one trunk, one pot, one 
pigon, one ax, one tin bucket, two pewter plates, one pewter basin, one 
chair; amounts due from two men, §5.50." 

This inventory is given in full that all may know what constituted the 
real and personal property of the old settlers. Joshua Taylor was ap- 
pointed administrator of Hollingsworth's estate, and required to give bond 
in the sum of §1,000 for the faithful performance of his duty. Larkin 
Reynolds, Pressley Buckner and James Lang were appointed to appraise 
the estate. Mr. Applegate was to support the heirs, and have the use of 
the estate. This session was held at the house of G. H. Beeler in Mar- 
tinsville. 

In March, 1823, Thomas L. Galpin and Thomas Sailors were granted 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 19 

testamentary letters as executors of the estate of Jacob Coss, deceased. 
His personal estate was valued at |916.12^. And so the record goes on. 
Among the estates settled up within the next few years were those of 
Joseph M. Stotts, William Ballard, Isaac Overman, Conrad Burns, John 
Paul, Ira Ashton, Edward Warren, William Beeson, Elijah Knight, John 
Winter, Thomas Dickens, Robert Bradshaw, Ezra Wilcox, Thomas 
Deakin, Benjamin Bucket, James P. Vance and John Douglass. The 
first Probate Court held at the court house was in September, 1825. 
Probate business Avas done by the Associate Judges of the Circuit Court 
until 1829, at which time the first Probate Judge, John Matthews, took 
charge of the court. In 1853, the affairs of probate were merged into 
those of the Common Pleas Court, and in 1873 into the Circuit Court. 

THE FIRST COMMON PLEAS COURT. 

This was held before William G. Turick, Judge, beginning on the 8th 
of April, 1853. The final settlement of the estate of John Sims, who had 
died in 1843, and whose aff'airs had not yet been wound up, was the first 
business before this court. One amount of personal property was so great 
that the various inventories cover forty or fifty pages of the court records 
The Common Pleas, which included probate matters, was a separate court 
until 1873, when it was merged into the Circuit Court, and has thus re- 
mained until the present (1883). 

COUNTY COURT HOUSES. 

The first courts of Morgan County convened at the log house of Jacob 
Cutler, which stood about one block north of the northwest corner of the 
public square in Martinsville. In 1823, the work of erecting the first 
court house was begun, and in the autumn of 1824, the building was so 
nearly completed that courts convened there for the first time, as shown 
by the old court records. The building was a two-storied hewed-log 
house, and was located on the southwest corner of the present public 
square. The upper story was low, but little better than half a story, and 
contained the jury rooms. The lower story was the court room. This 
room was also the first meetinghouse, schoolhouse, lecture room, etc., of 
Martinsville. The building was about 25x35 feet on the ground, and 
was compactly built. This building was used until 1833, when the con- 
tract of constructing a brick court house on the square was let to Giles B. 
Mitchell for about |2,500. Mr. Mitchell was a practical brick-maker and 
brick-layer, and completed the work in 1834; but the woodwork was not 
finished until about two years later. The County Board was compelled 
to issue " orders " for the greater portion of the contract price. These 
orders depreciated considerably in value, though they were current funds 
for all ordinary expenses in the county. The building was two-storied, 
and was about 35x40 feet on the ground. It did not contain the county 
offices. These were in business or private buildings until about 1843, 
when small offices were erected on the square. About 1855, this build- 
ing was so dilapidated and unsightly that a new court house began to be 
talked of. The Gazette of March, 1856. having in view the incorpora- 
tion of Martinsville, then strongly talked of, as well as the erection of a 
new court house, remarked as follows : " The old court house, with its 



20 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

crumbling foundation, cracked walls, diseased windows, shattered vane, 
drooping spire and moss-covered cupola, looking, as Judge Hughes re- 
marked from the bench at the last Circuit Court, ' like some bombarded 
block-house,' overlooks one vast sea of conglomerated water, mud and 
filth." The necessary pressure was brought to bear on the County Board, 
and in March, 1857, orders were issued for advertising for bids to erect 
either a combined courthouse and jail, or each to be built separately, the 
total cost not to exceed $30,000. The contract was finally awarded to 
Perry M. Blankenship at about that price, the jail and court house to be 
built together. County bonds were ordered sold to meet the expense. 
The building was completed in 1859, at a cost of about $32,000. This 
is the present court house and jail. The court room is above, and offices 
below ; the jail is in the northwest corner of the lower story, and the 
belfry is on the southeast corner. The hall extends through the building 
from north to south. The contractor evidently did his work well, as the 
structure is now almost or quite as good as new. On the 31st of March, 
1876, the records of the county in the offices of the Clerk and Auditor 
were largely consumed by fire, supposed to have been done by some ras- 
cally official, to conceal the evidences of his defalcations or other crimes. 
This was a great calamity, and cost the county many thousands of dollars 
to copy what remained of the half-consumed records. Had the old rec- 
ords not been destroyed, this chapter might contain many items of inter- 
est which it now wants. 

COUNTY JAILS. 

The first jail was a small log structure, which was erected on the 
northeast corner of the square in 1824. It was built of heavy timber, 
and answered the purposes of the county until 1826, when it was de- 
stroyed by fire. Within three or four years, a brick jail was built about 
where the jailer's house now is on the square by Mr. Sailors. The out- 
side of the structure was of brick, the inside of heavy logs, and between 
the two walls were about eight inches of broken stone. This was used 
about ten years, when a much stronger log jail was built in the northeast- 
ern part of town. This was used until the erection of the present com- 
bined jail and court house in 1857-59. 

THE COUNTY SEMINARY. 

An early law of the State provided that certain fines and penalties 
should be used as a fund to found and maintain a seminary of learning in 
each county. A Trustee was appointed in Morgan County to care for 
the fund as it should accumulate, John Mathis being the first. The law 
provided that when the fund amounted to $400, the County Board at 
their option could build a seminary. In the spring of 1824, the fund 
amounted to over ^'rO. It ran up rapidly in the 30's, the receipts for 
the fiscal year 1835 being $114.23 ; for 1836, $369 ; and for 1837, $79. 
In the year 1838, the fund amounted to over $2,000, and about that time 
the work of erecting a two-storied brick seminary was begun. The house 
was a fine structure for that day, and cost in the whole about $2,000. 
The first teacher was David Anderson, who taught alone. The second 
teachers were Elijah and Hannah Parks. William H. H. Terrell is said 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 21 

to have been an early teacher: He afterward became Adjutant General 
of the State. Rev. Thomas Conley was another, as was a man named 
Bigham. Excellent schools were held there, quite a number of students 
coming in from abroad, paying tuition, and boarding with residents of the 
town. After a few years, the institution largely lost its character as a 
county seminary, and became virtually the school of Martinsville. Stu- 
dents from distant portions of the county ceased to attend, and the insti- 
tution lost the influence designed by the founders. While the schools 
therein were at their best, the various expenses were paid from the tuition 
charged students and from constant accumulations of the fund. The re- 
ceipts to the fund in 1849 were $410.93. After the passage of the com- 
mon school law in 1852, provision was made by the Legislature that 
county seminaries should be sold, and the proceeds and subsequent col- 
lections of the fund should be paid into the common school fund. The 
seminary was accordingly advertised for sale, and finally, in 1854, trans- 
ferred to Andrew Finley for $1,100. It passed through several hands, 
and in 1856 went to Mr. Sparks, who transformed it into a woolen fac- 
tory. Mr. Deturk occupied it for the same purpose during the rebellion. 
It was torn down about 1864. 

THE COUNTY LIBRARY. 

An early law provided that ten per centum of the proceeds of the sale 
of county lots should be used to found and maintain a county library. 
The first books were purchased in the 30's, and a Treasurer and Libra- 
rian appointed. Subsequent collections of the fund as fast as obtained 
were invested in more books. About 500 volumes were finally secured. 
The project was gradually abandoned. Township libraries were furnished 
by the State in the 50's. An aggregate of more than 2,000 volumes was 
secured. The McClure bequest also furnished the county with a library. 
Many of these books may yet be seen scattered throughout the county. 
All these libraries have been replaced with the newspaper — the most po- 
tent " book " in ancient or modern times. 



THE COUNTY PAUPERS. 

The early care of the poor was more or less defective, but began soon 
after the county was organized. It was customary to " farm out the pau- 
pers " to the lowest bidders in the various townships, and this method often 
resulted in placing the helpless or unfortunate in the hands of animals by 
nature and hypocrites by practice. Sometimes they fell into Christian 
hands, sometimes into barbarous hands. The plan of " farming them 
out " continued without interruption until the first poor-farm was pur- 
chased on the 22d of March, 1844. The farm was bought of Enoch 
Graham for $1,200, and comprised 120 acres on Sections 25, 26 and 36, 
Township 12 north. Range 1 east. On this farm was an ordinary dwell- 
ing, which was afterward improved and enlarged, as were the stables and 
■'storehouses. New buildings were also erected. A Superintendent was 
placed in charge of the farm, and numbers of the county poor were re- 
moved there. Many continued to be taken care of in the townships, and 
this is true of the present time. A doctor was employed by the year or 



22 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

visit to prescribe for the poor; he was called the " County Physician." 
Nearly all the regular medical practitioners of the county have officiated 
in that capacity. This farm continued to be the home of the paupers 
until 1869, when, owing to its smallness, the County Board ordered it 
sold and a new one purchased. William B. Taylor was appointed to carry 
this order into effect. The old farm was sold to Michael Hammons in 
July, 1869, for §2,700. The new farm was purchased of W. B. Taylor, 
N. T. Cunningham and Jacob Adams, and comprised about 120 acres, 
which cost about $12,000. The new brick poor-house was completed in 
1871, and cost over §30,000, the brick and stone work being done by 
J. E. and P. F. Douglas. This building is a credit to the county. The 
annual poor expense of the county is now about §12,000. Among the 
later Poor Superintendents have been G. W. Preston, 1867 (the poor- 
house had twenty inmates then) ; Sampson C. Voyles, 1868 (thirty-one 
inmates); Charles Day, 1870-75; William H. Dryden. 1876-78; J. 
W. Duncan, 1879 ; Sylvester Jackson, 1880 ; George W. Walker, 
18bl-83. For a number of years past, the orphan poor of the county 
have been sent to Plainfield to be cared for and educated. The care of 
the county for its indigent and helpless is a credit to the humanity of the 
citizens. But few counties of the State show greater interest and care in 
this respect. 

THE FIRST AGR,ICULTURAL SOCIETY. 

On the 20th of November, 1837, pursuant to a notice from the Coun- 
ty Commissioners, a number of the citizens of Washington Township met 
at the court house to organize an agricultural society, in accordance with 
the provisions of a legislative enactment of the previous winter. W. H. 
Craig was made Chairman of the meeting, and H. R. Stevens, Secretary. 
John Eckles addressed the assemblage and stated the object of the meet- 
ing. Much enthusiasm was manifested, and the following persons became 
stockholders by subscribing their names to the constitution and by-laws, 
and paying to the Treasurer §1 each : J. W. Bowzer, Benjamin Sweet, 
John Eckles, P. M. Blankenship, James H. Sheppard, P. M. Parks, S. 
E. Edwards, Benjamin Bull, Thomas F. Huff. Thomas Edwards, W. F. 
Laughlin, Francis A. Harryman, William Sheerer, F. A. Matheny, W. 
N. Cunningham, Thomas Miles, James Cunningham, Jonathan Carr, Eb 
Henderson, Franklin Corwin, John Sims, W. H. Craig, Philip Ander- 
son, William Lee, Charles B. Butler, Septimus T. Whiteman, Hewett 
Nutter, William Walters, William Duncan and Hannibal R. Stevens. 
The permanent officers were John Sims, President ; William Sheerer, 
Vice President; H. R. Stevens, Cor. Sec; T. F. Huff, Ree. Sec; Ben- 
jamin Sweet, Treasurer ; John Eckles. William A. Major, Thomas Miles, 
John Butterfield, Sampson Canatry, G. W. Baker, John Hardrick, M. 
D. Miller, Ephraim Goss, William Hadley, Luke Kennedy, J. H. Wood- 
small, Cyrus Whetzell, Abner Cox and Grant Stafford, Curators. No 
fair was held, as the organization soon died. 

THE SECOND AGRICULTURAL SOCIETY. *" 

The second organization of this character was effected in August, 
1851, by the election of the following first officers : William H. Craig, 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 23 

President; William G. Quick, Vice President ; James Jackson, Treas- 
urer ; Larkin Reynolds, Secretary. One Director was appointed in each 
township. The first fair was held on the open ground northeast of Mar- 
tinsville (now in town), on the 25th of October, 1851. The following 
premiums were paid : Best horse, William Cunningham, $5 ; second best, 
William Knox, diploma ; best jack, William Cunningham, $2 ; second 
best, William Knox, diploma ; best year old colt, Ira Hadley, $2 
second best, William Hughes, diploma ; best sucking colt, William Knox 
$1.50 ; second best, Henry Sims, diploma ; best brood mare, John A 
Riggins, $•■} ; second best, Allen Hicklen, diploma ; best bull, Elijah Pad 
dock, |4 ; second best, Grant Stafford, diploma ; best cow, Elijah Pad 
dock, $2; best calf, Elijah Paddock, $1; second best calf, Elijah Pad 
dock, diploma ; best yoke of oxen, James C. Henderson, |2 ; second best 
James C. Henderson, diploma ; best boar, James Cunningham, ^2 ; sec 
ond best, W. H. Craig, diploma ; best bushel of wheat, Joel Mathews 
$1 ; second best, Isaac G. Fletcher, diploma ; best sixty ears of corn^ 
George W. Egbert, 50 cents ; second best, Robert B. Major, diploma 
best saddle and bridle, Thomas Nutter, $1 ; best five yards of jeans, James 
Stockwell, $1 ; best eight yards of flannel, Isaac G. Fletcher, $1 ; best peck 
of onions, Isaac G. Fletcher, 50 cents ; best bushel of Irish potatoes, 
Absalom Jarret, 50 cents ; best ten pounds of cheese, Amos Lawrence, 
50 cents ; best butter, James Stockwell, 50 cents. The Treasurer's re- 
port on the 27th of November, 1851, was as follows: 

RECEIPTS. 

Received by subscription $74 00 

Received from county treasury 50 00 



Total $124 00 

DISBURSEMENTS. 

Paid for Secretary's books $ 1 50 

Paid on account of premiums 35 75 



Total $37 25 

Balance in the treasury $86 75 

The membership of the society about this time was seventy-five, con- 
siderable interest being manifested. It is stated that about the time this 
society was organized another started up in the vicinity of Monrovia. 
The facts cannot be given. It is certain that four or five years later there 
were two separate agricultural societies in the county, as an account of 
their consolidation appeared in the Gazette, published at Martinsville. 
The second fair was held at Martinsville in the southwest portion of the 
town. A small yard had been fenced in, to compel the curious and others 
to pay each a fee of 10 cents to see the exhibits. It is stated by Mr. 
Ray that several citizens presumed that they could pass in without pay- 
ing, and when they were refused admission unless the necessary 10 cents 
was forthcoming, they went off in high dudgeon. The premiums paid 
amounted to $128.90. James Prather exhibited a small but fine selection 
of fruit. A. B. Conduitt delivered an address of about an hour in length, 
which was published in full in the " State Agricultural Reports." On 
the second and last day of the fair, the rain fell so incessantly that not a 
lady appeared on the grounds. An excellent showing of live stock, grain 



24 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

and vegetables was made. It is believed that the third or fourth fair was 
held at Centerton, though this is uncertain. In 1855, it was held at Mar- 
tinsville, the premiums paid amounting to $185. Each season the 
County Board contributed from $50 to $200 toward paying the expenses 
and fitting up the ground. The officers at this time were Giles B. Mitch- 
ell, President ; Aaron Rose, Vice President ; Henry Sims, Treasurer ; 
0. J. Glessner, Secretary ; W. H. Craig, Uriah Ballard, W. J. Brag, 
W. G. Gray, Jackson Record, Nathan Gilbert, John B. Cox, James Eg- 
bert, Cyrus Whetzel, Amos Lawrence, John C. Baker, Campbell Goss 
and James Ainkle, Directors. No fair was held in 1856, owing to the 
political excitement. In 1857, a large, well-attended fair was held at 
Centerton. And so they continued with increasing prosperity in every 
branch. Occasionally a year would pass with no fair, as during one or 
more years of the rebellion. Sometimes the society came out in debt at 
the end of the year. Some townships of the county took no interest 
whatever in the success of the organization. Considerable jealousy has 
existed between Martinsville and vicinity and Mooresville and vicinity, 
which has resulted in the formation of two distinct agricultural organiza- 
tions in the county. The one at Mooresville has led a precarious exist- 
ence. One was organized there in 1870, with a membership of 165, and 
a capital stock of $2,180, Fifteen acres of land were leased for ten years, 
of Samuel Moon, on Section 36, Township 14, Range 1 east. It was 
designed as a union organization with the southern part of Hendricks 
County. Some excellent fairs have been held there. Utter failures have 
also occurred. The society at Martinsville in 1879 bought of Morgan 
County, for $1,536.75, twenty acres and forty-nine hundredths of an acre, 
which had formerly belonged to the poor farm, and fitted up this ground 
for fairs, the first being held there in 1880. The grounds compare favor- 
ably with those of other counties of the State in buildings, fencing, sheds, 
track, water and accommodations. At the fair of 1882, about 500 pre- 
miums were paid, aggregating about $3,000. The present oflScers are L. 
Sims, President ; John Nutter and L. Guthridge, Vice Presidents ; S. 
M. Guthridge, Treasurer ; H. A. Smock, Secretary ; A. M. Thornburg, 
Assistant Secretary; W. G. Bain, Superintendent; R. H. Tarleton, R. 
S. Aldrich, John Kirkham, H. R. Stevens, N. T. Cunningham, Harvey 
Gillaspy, N. Henley, Thomas H. Dixon, Henry C. Hodges and Merwin 
Rowe, Directors. 

COUNTY MEDICAL SOCIETIES. 

During the summer of 1855, there was organized at Martinsville the 
"Morgan County Medical and Surgical Society." None but physicians 
of the Allopathic school could become members, and the society was a 
branch of the State Medical Society, and subject to about the same code 
of ethics. Among the members were S. A. Tilford, R. H. Tarleton, B. 
D. Blackstone, S. H. Schofield, W. W. Hoyt, A. W. Reagan, G. B. 
Mitchell, W. A. Todd, W. C. Hendricks, J. J. Johnston, Dr. Patterson, 
Dr. Spencer, Dr. Keiper and others. A Board of Censors was appointed, 
and much interest was manifested in the discussion of topics of interest to 
the profession. The society gradually went down, and within a few 
years meetings were wholly abandoned. 



HISTORY OF ♦morgan COUNTY. 25 

Pursuant to call, a number of the physicians of the county seat and 
other points in the county, met at Martinsville on the 25th of April, 
1876, to organize a new medical society. Dr. Knight, of Paragon, was 
made Chairman and Dr. Douglas, Secretary. A committee of three was 
appointed to draft articles of association, and another committee of four 
was appointed to prepare a constitution and by-laws. Dr. J. H. Knight 
was elected permanent President; F. M. Douglas, Secretary, and E. V. 
Green, Treasurer. The following physicians have been members of this 
society : P. H. Perce, F. M. Douglas, E. P. Ritchey, R. C. Griffith, J. 
H. Knight, W. D. Monnett, W. S. Robertson, P. McNab, A. W. Rea- 
gan, G. B. Mitchell, E. V. Green, Jesse Regan, C. M. Lindley, J. P. 
Buckuer, U. H. Farr, S. N. Rundell, S. A. Tilford, T. Holliday, R. D. 
Willan, James E. Clark, C. C. Holman, W. R. Curer, Charles Seaton, 
John M. Snoddy, T. Stucky, W. E. Hendricks, W. P. Van Sant, J. C. 
Marker and Grant Monical. The object of the society as stated in the 
constitution is " the advancement of medical knowledge, the elevation of 
professional character, the protection of the interests of its members, the 
extension of the bounds of medical science, and the promotion of all meas- 
ures adapted to the relief of the suffering, and to improve the health and 
protect the lives of the community." "Any graduate in medicine of a 
respectable medical school, who is in good moral and professional stand- 
ing, upon signing the constitution and paying $3 to the Treasurer," may 
become a member of the society by a vote of the members. Further than 
that, any person upon the payment of $5 to the Treasurer, and the pres- 
entation of a certificate of qualification to practice medicine, from the 
Board of Censors of the society, may become a member by vote of the 
members. The code of ethics of the American Medical Society was 
adopted. The records of the society show great interest on the part of 
the members. Essays on important medical subjects are read, and pro- 
tracted discussions are had on the location, character and treatment of 
disease. The society is a credit to the medical profession of the county, 
though many of the most successful practitioners are not members. 

Dr. Kennedy, of the county seat, an eclectic physician of great 
prominence and skill, is one of the most successful practitioners of Mor- 
gan County. He is about the only representative of that excellent school 
of medicine. Homeopathy, which has made such wonderful strides in 
success and popularity during the last few years, has, at present, no rep- 
resentative. 

MORGAN COUNTY POLITICS. 

Unfortunately, owing to the destruction by fire a few years ago of 
the tally sheets in the Clerk's office at the county seat, the results of the 
early elections in Morgan County cannot be given. Old settlers state 
that the county was Democratic by a small majority, when the full vot- 
ing strength was out, though on "off years," when the opposing candi- 
date was a man of unusual prominence and worth, he often managed to 
wrest the spoils of office from his less fortunate antagonist. The county 
was organized in 1822, but politics cut no figure until the remarkable 
Presidential contest between Jackson, Adams, Clay and Crawford in the 
autumn of 1824. The administration of Mr. Monroe had been so 
pacific and conciliatory that former partisan lines had been almost wholly 



26 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 



obliterated, and an "era of good feeling" had apparently been estab- 
lished. When the election of 1824 was transferred to the House of Rep- 
resentatives, and it became known that the popular voice had been dis- 
regarded by the choice of John Quincy Adams, party lines were again 
strictly drawn, and the first decided political division in Morgan County 
was experienced. The election of 1828 made satisfactory amends by seat- 
ing in the Presidential chair, Andrew Jackson, one of the most popular 
Presidents the nation has had since Washington. So much was he ad- 
mired for the peculiar elements of his character, that he was re-elected in 
1832. So firm a hold did he secure upon the popular heart, that citi- 
zens throughout the county, during all the years from his administration 
until the present, have proudly and publicly announced themselves as 
"Jackson Democrats." The election of 1836 resulted in the selection 
of Martin Van Buren, whose administration was compelled to shoulder 
in 1837 one of the most disastrous financial crashes the country has ever 
encountered. Speculation had run riot. The wildest visions of finan- 
cial enterprise had taken possession of every breast. Everybody plunged 
recklessly into debt under the insane delusion that final settlement would 
be the careless pleasure of some future day. Jackson received the honors 
of the speculative madness ; Van Buren reaped the harvest of tares and 
cheat. When values, without warning, fell prostrate to the basis of act- 
ual worth, the failures everywhere were appalling in numbers and mag- 
nitude. Time alone soothed the desolate sea. 

The contest of 1840 was in many respects remarkable. It was the 
first time the " Great West" had come forward with a candidate. The 
cultured States of the East ridiculed the pretentions of the friends of 
Mr. Harrison by scornful allusions to the log cabins and the hard cider 
of Indiana and the Northwest. The suggestions were caught up with a 
shout by the friends of the Whig candidate, and in their thousands of 
public gatherings hard cider and log cabins and canoes were the most 
popular and prominent features. Mr. Harrison was elected, and the 
Whigs were in ecstasies. 

The contest of 1844 was really upon the question of the admission 
of Texas into the Union. The Whigs opposed the admission, to prevent 
an increase of slave territory, and the Democrats favored it for the oppo- 
site reason. The election of Mr. Polk was a triumph of the Democrats, 
and insured the admission of Texas. The partial returns given below 
of this election in Morgan County were gathered from the half-con- 
sumed records stored in boxes in the hall of the court house : 

November, 1844. 





DEMOCRAT 

Polk and 
Dallas. 


WHIG 

Clay and 

Frelinghuy- 

sen. 


LIBERTY 

Birney and 
Morris. 




44 

54 

106 

56 


3 

37 
252 

8 




Harrison 




Brown . . . . . . . 


7 










Total 


260 


300 


-J 







HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 27 

This exhibit does not properly represent the result of the election in 
Morgan County if the statements of old settlers are to be relied upon. 
The election of Mr. Polk upon the issue above stated was taken by Mex- 
ico as a settlement of the question that Texas would be admitted into the 
Union. Mexico had threatened war wrth the United States in the event 
of the annexation of Texas, and accordingly, when the latter was formally 
admitted to the sisterhood of States early in 1845, war was declared. A 
full company was raised in Morgan County for this war, reference to 
which will be found in the military history of the county elsewhere in 
this volume. In the meantime, a few Abolitionists had appeared in the 
county, the most of whom were Quakers. They invariably polled their 
votes for the Liberty or Free-Soil candidates. 

In 1846, David Wilmot, of Pennsylvania, introduced in Congress a 
bill called the " Wilmot Proviso," which stipulated that slavery should 
be excluded from all territory thereafter annexed to the United 
States. This bill encountered the fiercest opposition from the Southern 
Members of Congress, and was finally defeated, though it formed an im- 
portant issue in the Presidential campaign of 1848, and was no doubt 
one of the contributing causes for the formation of the Republican party 
a few years later. The " Compromise of 1850," introduced in Congress 
by Henry Clay, became a law, and was regarded as a wise measure by 
both parties, though the old issues were quietly kept in mind during the 
campaign of 1852. The Democrats seated Mr. Pierce, and Gen. Scott, 
the Whig candidate, fresh with the laurels of victory from the battle-field, 
was permanently retired. 

In 1854, the adoption of the Kansas-Nebraska bill, introduced in 
Congress by Senator Douglas, virtually repealed the compromises of 1820 
and 1850, and kindled a flame of indignation, unknown before in the 
history of the nation. The bill provided, among other things, that the 
citizens of the new States, Kansas and Nebraska, should decide at the 
polls whether slavery should be adopted or rejected. Open war in Kan- 
sas was the result. Mass meetings were held throughout the North to 
denounce the bill and adopt personal liberty bills. The Morgan County 
Grazette, edited by Edwin W. Callis, in 1855 espoused the cause of the 
new Republican party, and did more than any other cause to transfer the 
administration of county affairs to the new party. The editorials were a 
credit to the heart and brain of Mr. Callis, and to the party whose prin- 
ciples he so ably and bravely advocated. The Democratic majority in 
the county had begun to decrease about 1852. In 1855, it was less than 
100, and in October, 1856, 0. P. Morton, the Republican candidate for 
Governor, received a majority of eight votes over A. P. Willard, the 
Democratic candidate. This, so far as known, was the first time the 
Democracy had failed to carry the county. Both parties in the county 
fought with all their strength over the November election, with the fol- 
lowing result : 



28 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 
November, 1856. 



TOWNSHIPS. 



REPUBLICAN 

Fremont and 
Dayton. 



DEMOCEAT 

Buchanan 

and Breck- 

enridge. 



AMERICAN 

Filmore and 
Donelson. 



Washington 
Jackson — 

Green 

Harrison — 
Madison . . . 

Clay 

Brown 

Monroe .... 

Adams 

Gregg 

Jefferson . . 

Ray 

Baker 

Total. . 



200 

74 

27 

33 

46 

187 

207 

330 

127 

113 



46 



307 
194 
2?4 

58 
123 

61 
100 

37 
165 

45 

61 
120 



1,570 



1,528 



This was really the first decisive victory for the Whigs. But the ex- 
citement over the questions growing out of slavery did not die out with 
this election. In 1858, the Supreme Court of the United States decided 
in the Dred Scott case that slavery was a national institution, and could 
not under the constitution be excluded from any State. This was fol- 
lowed by renewed excitement. About this time, John Brown, an extreme 
anti-slavery partisan, incited an insurrection of the slaves at Harper's 
Ferry in Virginia, which resulted in the hanging of himself and several 
of his followers. The South soon saw that the rapid settlement of the 
North and the devolopment there of an uncompromising hostility to slav- 
ery, would result in the selection of an anti-slavery Republican President 
in 1860. They therefore declared that the election of such a man would 
be regarded as a sufficient menace to the institution of slavery to warrant 
a withdrawal from the Union. The citizens of Morgan County were awake 
on all the exciting issues of the day. After the election of 1856, the 
county went back to the Democrats, but only by a feeble majority, which 
was decreased in 1858 and still more so in 1859. The contest in 1860 was 
of the most exciting character. Both, or all, parties in the county 
thoroughly organized, and mass meetings were held everywhere with 
music, vocal and instrumental, and torch-light processions in bright uni- 
forms. The result was as follows : 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 
NovEjrBER, 1860. 



29 



TOWNSHIPS. 


REPUB- 
LICAN. 

Lincoln 

and 
Hamlin. 


NORTH- 
ERN DE- 
MOCRACY. 

Douglas 

and 
Johnson. 


SOUTH- 
ERN DE- 
MOCRACY. 

Brecken- 

ridge and 

Lane. 


UNION. 

Bell and 
Everett. 


TOTAL. 




284 

150 
81 
67 
42 

314 
85 

196 

147 
39 

158 
47 

145 


271 

128 
72 

117 
56 
44 

198 

111 
90 

209 
45 
30 

145 


13 

1 
2 

2 


5 

1 
1 
1 


;573 
280 
156 

187 
98 




JeflEerson . • . 


Madison 


Harrison 


Monroe .... 


1 
4 
5 


"'2" 


359 
287 
314 
237 
273 
210 
78 
296 


Jackson . 




Clav 


Green . . . . . 


25 

7 
1 
1 


""5"" 


Gress 


Baker 


Rav 




Total 


1755 


1516 


62 


15 


3348 




Majority 


163 















The Republican majority continued to increase after this election. 
The issue of 1864 was whether the war should be continued or abandoned. 
Great concern was manifested over the result. The returns in Morgan 
County were as follows : Lincoln and Johnson, 1,793 votes ; McClellan 
and Pendleton, 1,283 votes, giving the Republicans a majority of 510. 
The vote by townships cannot be given. The Republicans were over- 
joyed, and the Democrats were correspondingly depressed. The result 
of the election of 1868 was as follows : 

November, 1868. 



TOWNSHIPS. 



REPUB- 
LICAN. 

Grant and 
Colfax 



Washington... 

Jackson 

Green 

Harrison 

Madison 

Brown 

Monroe 

Adams 

Clay 

Gregg 

Ashland 

Jefferson 

Ray 

Baker 

Total . . . 

Majority 



372 

182 
47 
46 
60 



125 
214 
159 

70 
139 

75 
42 



2047 



587 



DEMO- 
CRAT. 

Seymour 
and Blair. 



172 

234 

33 

159 



116 
55 
46 

109 
75 
53 
34 



1460 



624 
354 
281 

79 
219 
329 
300 
241 
269 
205 
179 
214 
128 

76 



3507 



30 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 



Great opposition had been brought to bear upon the administration of 
Gen. Grant. He was severely criticised by the opposing party in the 
various departments, especially in his financial management of the country 
and in the civil service. Many Republicans were dissatisfied with his 
management of the finances, and attributed the hard times to his adminis- 
tration. The result was that many Republicans and Democrats united 
to defeat his re-election in 1872. The following is the result in this 
county : 

November, 1872. 



TOWNSHIPS. 


REPUB- 
LICAN. 

Grant and 
Wilson. 


LIBERAL 
REPUB- 
LICAN OR 
DEMO- 
CRAT. 

Greeley 

and 
Brown. 


W^asWnarton • 


398 

189 

37 

38 

49 

244 

207 

290 

114 

156 

112 

142 

42 

82 


349 




180 




196 


Harrison .... 


43 


Madison . 


146 




129 


Clay 


82 


Monroe 


41 


Adams 


135 




42 


Ray 


70 


Jefferson . . . . 


63 


Baker 


34 


Ashland 


123 






Total . . 


2100 


1633 






Majority 


467 









Seventeen votes were cast in the county for the Bourbon Democratic 
ticket — O'Connor and Julian. From this vote it will be seen that the 
Republican majority had begun to decline. This was encouraging to the 
Democracy. Soon after this, the Greenback or Independent party 
sprang into life. Its origin was mainly due to the hard times resulting 
from the depreciation of values in endeavoring to return to a specie basis, 
and to strong opposition to national banks, and to the refunding of the 
Government bonded debt. The old parties were divided by about the 
same old issues. The result in the county was as follows : 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 
November, 1876. 



31 



TOWNSHIPS. 


REPUB- 
LICAN. 

Hayes 

and 

Wheeler. 


DEMO- 
CRAT. 

Tilden 

and 

Hendricks 


GREEN- 
BACK. 

Cooper 
and 
Cary. 




421 

194 

28 

40 

55 

182 

276 

321 

126 

144 

111 

139 

45 

85 


386 
210 
218 

43 
144 
111 
141 

45 
150 

91 
109 

71 

45 
180 


4S 


Jackson 


5 




31 




10 


Madison 


10 


Clay 


7 




4 




6 


Adams 


6 


Gresrc' . 


9 




4 


Ray 


2 


Baker 


4 










Total 


2167 


1889 


146 






Majority 


278 











This was a still greater reduction of the Republican majority. The 
Republican candidates were seated by an electoral commission ; and the 
successful financial management in returning to a specie basis and the 
general prosperity of the country were the causes which elected the Re- 
publican candidates in 1880. The Greenback party had become quite 
strong. The attack upon the national banks and upon Government bonds 
was continued, and a reform was demanded in the civil service. The 
election resulted as follows : 



November, 1880. 








TOWNSHIPS. 


REPUB- 
LICAN. 

Garfield. 

and 
Arthur. 


DEMO- 
CRAT. • 

Hancock 

and 
English. 


GREEN- 
BACK. 

Weaver 

and 

Chambers. 




181 

90 

48 
275 
208 

34 ^ 
154 

62 
217 
130 

51 
346 
189 
506 


157 

150 

50 

153 

117 

217 

89 

46 

216 

107 

147 

45 

88 

469 


5 


Ashland 


1 


Baker . 


2 


Brown . . . .... 


6 


Clav 


18 




29 


GrTP.SrS' . . . 


11 


Harrison 


6 




8 


Jefferson . .... 


2 


Madison 


6 




2 


Ray .... 


2 


Washington 


35 






Total 


2891 


2046 


133 






Majority : 


345 











"32 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

Since this election, the Republican majority has been considerably 
reduced. The Democrats are confident of carrying the county in 
November, 1884. 

POPULATION OF THE COUNTY. 

The estimated population of the county in the summer of 1820 was 
250. In 1830, the population was 5,593; in 1810, 10,741; in 1850, 
14,576; in 1860, 16,110; in 1870, 17,^:28; and, in 1880, 18,899. 
John Vawter was the census taker in 1820. 

THE ANTI-SLAVERY MOVEMENT. 

In 1840, the Quakers living in the northern part of the county or- 
ganized the Westfield Monthly Meeting of Anti-slavery Friends, at the 
head of which were John Doan, Robert Doan, Eli J. Sumner, David Doan, 
George Hadley, John B. Hadley, John Pfoff, William Hadley, W. E. 
Carter, Asa Bales and many others. The Doans were especially active 
in the movement. Before the organization of the meeting, back early in 
the thirties, strong ground was taken in opposition to slavery. Mr. Sum- 
ner, yet living at Mooresville, claims to have made the first anti-slavery 
speech in the county. It was in a debate in a schoolhouse northwest of 
Mooresville in 1835, with Rev. Mitchell, a Presbyterian minister, who 
had come from Tennessee. The minister affirmed the right of slavery 
and brought forward the Bible to sustain his position, but Mr. Sumner 
managed to head him off with the same powerful authority, and was 
awarded the victory by the judges. Late in the forties and during the 
fifties this society helped ofi" scores of colored refugees who were traveling 
by the Underground Railroad from stripes and bondage to the free soil 
of the dominion of th.e British Queen. Many others in different parts of 
the county were similarly engaged. In 1848, an organization was ef- 
fected, and a county free-soil ticket put in the field, but the vote was less 
than 100. 

COMMON AND GRAVELED ROADS. 

The acts of Congress early provided that five per centum of the pro- 
ceeds of the sale of Government land in Indiana should be used to con- 
struct and maintain roads and canals, three-fifths of such percentage to 
be expended by the Legislature, and the remaining two-fifths by Congress. 
The three-fifths of the five per centum became known as the " Three Per 
Cent Fund," and was a Godsend to the early settlers, as it constituted al- 
most their entire revenue for the construction of State and county roads. 
The county was no sooner organized than the first installment of the fund 
was received from the Auditor of State, and immediately expended upon 
the first roads of the county. After many years, when this fund had 
become well-nigh exhausted from the decrease in the sale of land, other 
funds were devised, collected and expended. Early in the fifties, sev- 
eral corporate organizations were effected for the construction and main- 
tenance of toll and graveled roads, among those in the sixties being Clear 
Creek Gravel Road Company, Monrovia & Bellville Gravel Road Com- 
pany, Monrovia & Hall Gravel Road Company, Brooklyn Gravel Road 
Company, Mooresville & Monrovia Gravel Road Company, White River 
Valley Gravel Road Company, and others. Later, several others were 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 33 

projected and built. Within the last five years, there have been con- 
structed at county expense the following gravel roads : Martinsville & Rec- 
ord's Ferry Gravel Road, five miles long, estimated cost, $6,042; the 
Martinsville «& Mahalasville Gravel Road, six miles long, estimated cost 
$7,820 ; the Taggart Station & Monroe County Line Gravel Road, two 
and a third miles long, estimated cost $7,000 ; the Morgantown & 
Johnson County Line Gravel Road, one and a half miles long, estimated 
cost $1,700. The total estimated cost of the four roads is $22,562 ; the 
county has three or four toll roads owned by private corporations now in 
operation. 

RAILROADS. 

The old Martinsville & Franklin Flat-bar Railroad was built in 1847-52, 
and the first cars came to the former place in the spring of 1853. The 
grading of the road was done almost wholly by citizens along the route, 
and when this was completed the Madison & Indianapolis Company fitted 
it with iron and rolling stock, and operated it for about five years, when 
the further running of trains was abandoned. At the close of the rebell- 
ion. Gen. Burnside obtained possession of the road, put down T-rails, 
put on a good class of rolling stock, and extended the road to Fairland in 
Shelby County. After running a few years, the road again went down, 
but some time afterward passed into the possession of certain New York 
parties, and from them to the present management — the C, L, St. L. & 
C. Company. 

About the year 1853, the New Albany & Salem Company projected 
the present Indianapolis & Vincennes road, and graded it through the 
greater portion of the present length, and probably wholly through Mor- 
gan County. But there, for some reason, the work was abandoned. At 
the close of the war, Gen, Burnside secured control, and fitted the road, 
mostly on the old grade, with suitable rolling stock. The old grade was 
on the opposite side of the river from Martinsville. About the time Gen. 
Burnside assumed control, the citizens of Morgan County donated $50,- 
000 toward completing the road, with the proviso that the old grade 
should be used. This offer was accepted by the company. But soon 
after this Martinsville and vicinity came to the front, and offered the com- 
pany $30,000 to cross the river, and locate a depot in the town, which 
offer was accepted, and the road, thus altered, was completed. But the 
citizens who had donated the $50,000, declaring that the contract between 
them and the company, providing that the rolling stock should be upon the 
old bed had been violated, refused to pay their donations, and suit was 
brought to collect the amounts. After several years of lawing, a compro- 
mise was effected, whereby one-half the donation was to be paid, but as a 
matter of fact only about $15,000 of the $50,000 was received by the 
company. Martinsville and vicinity had paid the $30,000 according to 
contract. A few years ago the road was leased by the Pennsylvania 
Company. 

THE COUNTY PRESS. 

The first newspaper published in Morgan County was established at 
Martinsville early in the forties by James Richards. The sheet was a 
small folio, was printed often upon paper obtained from the stores in 



34 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

town, and upon a small wooden press, and was non-partisan. It con- 
tained considerable news and was conducted a year or more, and then 
abandoned. The second paper was established at Mooresville during the 
summer of 1846 by Thomas L, Worth. It was a five-column folio, with 
columns fully half an inch wider than the usual size, and was non-par- 
tisan. It was called the Mooresville Chronicle, and cost "|2 per year 
when produce was taken and ten per centum oif for cash in advance." In 
1851 or 1852, it was removed to Martinsville, where the name was 
changed to Morgan County Gazette. Mr. Worth issued it irregularly 
until the 12th of May, 1855, when it was purchased by Edwin W. Callis, 
■who enlarged it to a six-column folio, and fixed the subscription at $1.25 
per annum. During the political excitement late in the fifties, and dur- 
ing the war of 1861 to 1865, the paper under Mr. Callis exerted un ex- 
tremely powerful influence over affairs in the county. Its Republicanism 
and loyalty to the Government were of the most ardent character. In 
1857, J. W. Howard was connected with the G-azette. T. F. Orner was . 
associated with Mr. Callis from June, 1857, until the latter part of 1858 
or the early part of 1859. A. A. Barrakman was his associate in 1861 and 
1862 ; W. H. Smith during the first years of the rebellion, and J. V. 
Mitchell for twenty months, beginning in October, 1870. In 1870, the 
politics of the paper became Independent, and were subsequently gradu- 
ally changed to Democratic. Several other important changes were made." 
In about 1874, A. and L. 0. Callis, daughters of Mr. Callis, became own- 
ers and publishers of the paper, Mr. Callis still remaining editor and 
manager. The paper is now owned and published by Lizzie 0. Callis, 
present State Librarian, and is edited by Mr. Callis, the veteran printer 
who has been at its head for twenty-seven consecutive years. The paper 
is the Democratic organ of the county, is ably managed, has a large, use- 
ful circulation and a liberal advertising and job work patronage, and is a 
credit to the editor and the Democracy of the county. 

In July, 1856, P. S. Parks and C. S. Hilbourne established at Mar- 
tinsville a Democratic newspaper called the Morgan County Monitor. 
The sheet was a six-column folio, and was an able and earnest advocate of 
the Democratic principles of that stormy period. After a few years, 
various changes were made in the ownership and management, all of 
which cannot be given here. The paper was called the Clarion during 
the war. John Storey was connected with it during the early stages of 
the rebellion. Hilbourne severed his connection with it in 1862 or 1863. 
Leonard H. Miller published the sheet in 1868, secured a large circula- 
tion and the proceeds thereof, and then decamped, it is said, between sun- 
set and sunrise. About July, 1863, the name was changed to Morgan 
County Express. During the latter part of the war, and later, the paper 
■was o-wned and managed by W. B. Burns and B. H. Bainbridge. About 
the year 1867 the paper was discontinued. Under some of the manage- 
ments, the paper was bright, newsy, and exerted a strong influence over the 
politics of the county. Under other managements, it led a precarious 
existence, and was suspended for short periods. 

Soon after the G-azette left the Republican party, in 1869 or 1870, 
the prominent members of that party, feeling lost without an organ, 
raised a subscription of about $800, and advertised for a practical printer 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. ^ r^y'^.A O 

to come on and found a new paper at the county seat, and, accordingly, 
W. H. Eagle, of the Danville Union, answered the call, purchased with 
the money subscribed a full office outfit, and on the 11th of August, 
1870, issued the first number of the Martinsville Republican, a seven- 
column folio newspaper. J. G. Bain became editor, though he had no 
pecuniary interest in the enterprise. Among those who had raised the 
funds to establish the paper were T. B. Mitchell, J. J. Johnston, J. R. 
Shelton, William Kennedy, J. R. McBride and a few others, in all about 
eight. The paper encountered the severest opposition from the Crazette 
and from the Democrats ; but after two years of incessant warfare, became 
well established, with a steadily increasing circulation. About the 1st 
of December, 1870, the entire office was sold to J. G. Bain and Henry 
Smock, the latter, having been a practical printer in Chicago, becoming 
publisher, and the former continuing as editor. About this time the 
paper became an eight-column folio. During the latter part of 1874, 
Mr. Smock sold his interest to Mr. Bain, since which time Shell Parks, 
C. S. Crary, G. W. Ryan, John D. Whitted and Elmer Whitted have 
been connected with the paper at different periods as writers, without 
owning an interest. In May, 1882, S. W, Macy began work upon the 
paper as associate editor, and is thus engaged at present. In the 
autumn of 1874, the sheet became a seven-column quarto, and in 
May, 1882, a six-column quarto, the entire paper being printed 
on the new steam cylinder power press purchased at that time at 
a total cost, including much new material, of over $1,200. This was the 
first steam press ever in the county, and is the only one up to the present. 
The paper is the official organ of the Republican party in the county, has 
a wide circulation and a satisfactory job and advertising patronage, and 
is ably edited and managed by Mr. Bain. 

In about 1869 or 1870, Lang & Weil issued at Mooresville three 
numbers of a paper called the Vindicator, which then died for the want 
of breath. Prof. E. H. Dorland then took the office, with Benjamin 
Dakin, and the sheet was issued successfully for about a year and a half 
under the name Enterprise. P. T. Macy then bought the establishment, 
and James H. Burke became editor, conducting it thus two or three 
years, when Macy sold out to Charles McNichols, a young man yet in his 
teens, who made a failure of the enterprise within a year, and the prop- 
erty went back to Mr. Macy. Burke, who had gone to Ohio, came back 
and took charge of the editorial department, and the paper became the 
Herald. A. W. Handibo was connected with the office for a short time. 
About 1874, Burke bought the paper and continued it until 1877, and 
then sold out to E. F. Tennant, who ran the office until 18>0, when it 
went to a stock company and became the Monitor. A. W. Macy, now 
of the Martinsville Republican, became editor, but in September, 1881, 
retired, and was succeeded by W. A. Hunt, the present editor and man- 
ager. The paper has been Republican under all the managements, has 
at present a larger circulation than ever before, and has a fair job and 
advertising patronage. 

Morgantown has enjoyed the luxury of several newspapers. In 1878, 
William D. and John Eves began to issue a small neutral sheet, called 
the Morgantown Qyclone. Unlike other storms of this nature, it created 



36 HISTORV OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

no destruction of life or property. After continuing a year or two, the 
oflBce was sold and removed to Brown County. After an interval, the 
same press was brought back, and George Allison, senior and junior, 
started a new neutral paper called the Morgantown Sunshine. It seemed 
so appropriate to have sunshine after a cyclone, that the contrast, as was 
thought, would be so welcome that all would take the paper and contrib- 
ute to its support. But the people seemed to love cyclone better than 
sunshine, possibly after the theory that evil deeds seek the darkness, and 
did not support the new paper as well as they did the old. The result 
was its suspension. It was revived by R. M. Dill during the political 
compaign of 1882, but it then died without prospect of future life. The 
office was removed during the summer of 1883. , 

LIST OF RESIDENT ATTORNEYS. 

Benjamin Bull, John Eakles, Larkin Reynolds, Sr., A. S. Griggs, Will- 
iam G. Quick, William R. Harris, William P. Hammond, Daniel Mc , 

William W. Burns, Abraham A. Barrickman, Oliver R. Daugherty, Joseph 
Barwick, Bazil Champer, William S. Shirlet, F. P. A. Phelps, C. F. Mc- 
Nutt, George W. Grubbs, M. H. Parker, James H. Jordan, James V. 
Mitchell. The above are among the more prominent of the older attor- 
neys. A full list of the present legal practitioners will be found in another 
chapter of this volume. The leading lawyers of the county seat at pres- 
ent are F. P. A. Phelps, James V. Mitchell, James F. Cox, Levi Fer- 
guson, Cyrus E. Davis, H. A. Smock, George A. Adams, John S. New- 
by and A. W. Scott. Several of this number are young men just begin- 
ning the practice of law. They are steadily gaining a lucrative practice. 
A few attorneys of the town are long, lean and lank, pinched with slow 
starvation, but with no fault except a hopeless and conspicuous mediocri- 
ty. Mr. Cox is prominently mentioned in connection with the office of 
District Attorney. There is also a strong sentiment from the county De- 
mocracy to nominate him for Representative to the Legislature. No other 
man of the county could make a stronger canvass. 

IMPORTANT LEGAL CASES. 

Several important decisions have been rendered at Martinsville. In 
about 1852, a man named Flynn shot and killed Terrell. Before his 
trial he broke jail and escaped, and his wife was tried as accessory before 
the fact, and acquitted. A short time before the war, two men named 
Burns and Sloan became involved in a drunken quarrel, which resulted in 
the death of Sloan. Burns was tried and acquitted. During the war, a 
Mr. Killian shot and killed a Mr.Hatley, but upon trial was acquitted. A 
Mr. Gibson killed a man named Mann with a knife. Upon the first trial 
he was sent to the penitentiary for twenty-one years, but upon the second 
trial was acquitted. A few years ago two men named Price and Weamer, 
living at Morgantown, engaged in an angry altercation, when Weamer was 
killed by a blow on the head with a stone. Price was sent to 
the penitentiary for life. The Tull-Rabb divorce suit about twelve years 
ago attracted considerable attention. The celebrated divorce case of 
Abbie McFarland vs. Hugh McFarland was tried in 1869, at the Morgan 
County bar. It will be remembered that Hugh McFarland shot Albert 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 37 

D. Richardson, the famous war correspondent of the New York Tribune^ 
for alleged improper relations with Mrs. Abbie McFarland. This led 
to the divorce suit above mentioned, Mrs. McFarland then being a resi- 
dent of Martinsville. Other important cases might be mentioned. 

EARLY JUSTICES OF THE PEACE. 

The first Justices of the Peace in Morgan County commissioned by 
the Governor, were as follows : Larkin Reynolds, May, 1822 ; Samuel 
Reed, May, 1822 ; James Burris, May, 1822 ; Hiram Mathews, May, 
1822; Samuel Scott, July, 1822; Samuel Jessup, 1823; Thomas Hen- 
ton, 1823 ; Josiah Drury, 1824 ; Benjamin Cutler, 1825 ; Thomas Reed, 
1825; Jesse S. Rooker, 1825; Robert C. Stotts, 1825; William G. 
Lear, 1826; Barclay Burris, 1826; John Mathews, 1826; Abraham 
Fletcher, 1826; Samuel Wick, 1826; David Burris, 1827; Charles 
Ventreese, 1827; William Landers, 1827; Cyrus Whetzel, 1827; 
Ephraim Goss, 1827 ; Samuel Scott, 1827 ; Grant Stafford, 1827 ; 
Henry Rats, 1828; David Withers, 1828; Abraham Lafevre, 1828 ; 
Solomon Dunagin, 1828 ; Barclay Burris, 1828 ; William Bowles, 
1828 ; William Ennis, 1828 ; James H. Lyon, 1829 ; Gideon Johnson, 
1829; James Stotts, 1829; William Wilcox, 1829; Bernard Arnold, 
1830 ; Thomas Hendeburgh, 1830 ; James Crawford, 1830 ; Mordecai D. 
Miller, 1830 ; Daniel G. Worth, 1830 ; David Withers, 1831 ; Francis 
Whitcher, 1831; William Burnett, 1831; George W. Baker, 1831; 
William Cox, 1831; Daniel Vest, 1832: Johnson Burris, 1832; James 
Newton, 1832 ; James W. Hayes, 1832'; Scott W. Young, 1832 ; Joel 
Bean, 1833 ; Thomas McCarty, 1833 ; Charles B. Butler, 1833 ; Grant 
Stafford, 1833 ; Isaac D. Hoffman, 1833 ; Jacob Seachrist, 1833 ; Will 
iam Scott, 1833; Andrew Shell, 1833; Henry W. Brayrale, 1833 
Joseph Summers, 1833 ; William Ennis, 1831 ; William Bowles, 1834 
Alfred Mathews, 1834 ; James De Moss, 1834 ; Philip A. Foxworthy 
1834 ; Nathan Langford, 1834 ; John Fee, 1834 ; Philip Zeigler, 1834 
John W. Richards, 1834 ; Jacob Ellis, 1835 ; Gideon Johnson, 1835 
Abraham Stutesman, 1836 ; Henry McAllister, 1836 ; Jesse Bradley 
1836 ; Edward Bowman, 1836 ; D. W. Howe, 1836 ; David Lake, 1836 
James Blair, 1836; Thomas Donagan, 1836; John B. Maxwell, 1836 
Robert A. Campbell, 1836. 

COUNTY JUSTICES AND COMMISSIONERS. 

The Justices of the Peace in the county served as a County Board 
until the fall of 1830, when three County Commissioners were elected. 
The names of the Justices may be seen on another page of this volume. 
The first County Commissioners were Joshua Taylor, B. Burris and 
Ezekiel Slaughter. Among other Commissioners of the thirties, forties 
and fifties, were Jonathan Lyon, Philip Hodges, G. W. Baker, B. Burris, 
John Hadley, Joshua Taylor, Hewett Nutter, Andrew Whitesett, Will- 
iam B. Taylor, John Hubbard, John Williams, Van R. King and Samuel 
Rooker. Later came Aaron St. John, Lemuel Gentry, Jacob Adams, 
John E. Greer, Rice E. Brown, Ephraim Hodges, C. Mathis ; John 
Fesler, 1868; John L. Knox, 1869; John L. Knox, 1870; Joshua 
Wooden, 1870 ; John A. Watkins, 1871 ; Robert Smith, 1872 ; J. C. 



68 HISTORY OF xMORGAN COUNTY. 

Rhea, 1873 ; Madison Avery, 1874 ; W. S. Beeson, 1875 ; Albert R. 
Taylor, 1876 ; W. M. Duckworth, 1877 ; Calvin Mathews, 1878 : Will- 
iam Rinker, 1879 ; John K. Coffman, 1880 ; John F. Hadley, 1881 ; 
H. A. Staley, 1882 ; Thomas Singleton, 1883. 

AUDITORS. 

This was not a separate office until Benjamin Bull was elected and 
commissioned in about 1840 ; Milton Guthridge, 1844 ; Barclay Burrows, 
1848 ; W. J. Manker, 1856 ; W. A. S. Mitchell, 1862 ; Robert Johnson, 
1866 ; Salem A. Tilford, 1870 ; John Williams, 1874 ; William G. Bain, 
1878 ; George W. Prosser, 1882. 



George H. Beeler, 1822; George A. Phelps, 1828; Hannibal R. 
Stevens, 1833, vice Phelps (deceased) ; Stephen McCracken, 1840 ; 
James Jackson, 1842 ; 0. R. Daugherty, 1849 ; Jefferson K. Scott, 1855 ; 
* * * * J. J. Johnston, 1863 ; John Hardrick, 1867 ; Joseph 
W. Pearcy, 1870 ; Willis Record, 1872 ; Samuel K. Harryman, 1876 ; 
Thomas B. Mitchell, 1877 ; H. C. Hodges, 1878 ; John Hardrick, 1882. 

RECORDERS. 

George H. Beeler, 1822 ; G. A. Phelps, 1828 ; Hannibal R. Stevens, 
1833; Stephen McCracken, 1840; Hiram T. Craig, 1857; J. W. 
Andrew, 1865 ; H. T. Craig, 1870 ; W. W. Kennedy, 1876 ; William G. 
Garrison, 1876 ; Henry H. Olds, 1882. 

SHERIFFS. 

James Bigger, January 1, 1822 ; Benjamin Cutler, January 16, 
1822 ; Thomas L. Galpin, 1824 ; George A. Phelps, 1826 ; Thomas L. 
Galpin, 1828 ; Hiram W. Craig, 1830 ; Jonathan Williams. 1834 ; H. 
T. Craig, 1838 ; Jonathan Hunt, 1840; William Williams, 1842 ; Joseph 
M. Worthington, 1844; T. P. A. Phelps, 1846; Joseph Johnson, 1850; 
P. B. McCoy, 1851 ; Richard A. Williams, 1852 ; William Killian, 1856; 
William E. Tansey, 1859 ; Henry Sims, 1860 ; William Hynds, 1862 ; 
Willis Record, 1866 ; William W. Kennedy, 1870 ; Thomas Dixon, 1874 ; 
John C. Comer, 1878; Wiley S. Haltour, 1882. 

SURVEYORS. 

Charles Beeler, 1822; William Hadley, 1822 ; * * * H. 
T. Craig, 1852 ; J. S. Hoagland, 1855 ; Caleb F. Greenwood, 1857 ; 
Jeremiah Hadley, 1859 ; Joseph T. Moore, 1861 ; Jonathan Hale, 1863 ; 
Benjamin T. Butler, 1865 ; Isaac Jones, 1874 ; William H. Miller, 
1875 ; Edgar A. Bourne, 1878 ; Mathew Mathews, 1882 ; Spencer 
Hiatt, 1882. 

TREASURERS. 

James Shields, 1822; Noah Allison, 1825; John Sims, 1830; J. M. 
Mitchell, 1838; John A. Graham, 1844; * * * John R. Roberts, 
1852; Allen H. Burrows, 1854; John L. Knox, 1856; Ebenezer Hen- 
derson, 1860; Jacob Adams, Sr., 1862; Jacob Adams, Sr., 1864; J. 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 39 

R. Shelton, 1866; J. R. Shelton, 1868 ; George W. Egbert, 1870 ; John 
N. Gregory, 1872; John N. Gregory, 1874; Jonathan Hadley, 1876; 
Lemuel Guthridge, 1877 ; Elliott F. Branch, 1878 ; Elliott F. Branch, 
1880; Charles Seaton, 1882. 

CORONERS. 

George Crutchfield, 1822; Samuel Scott, 1824; William Wilson, 
1831; Richard S. Jones, 1888; Septimus T. Whiteman, 1839; Austin 
Carr, 1839 ; Septimus T. Whiteman, 1839 ; Harvey Sheppard, 1841 ; 
Sammerly G. Cunningham, 1843, who did not qualify ; J. H. Sheppard, 
1843; Richard P. Johnson, 1844; Thomas Hardwick, 1846; Lloyd 
Lee, 1848; C. R. Burk, 1849; Perminter M. Parks, 1849; Thomas S. 
Phelps, 1850 ; Hiram Whetzel, 1851 ; E. T. Harryman, 1852 ; Andrew 
T. Wellman, 1855 ; William Haase, 1856 ; Joseph Bradley, 1859 ; 
Allen S. Seaton, 1860 ; Lloyd Lee, 1861 ; Harvey Baker, 1864 ; Har- 
vey Chandler, 1866; Charles S. Twiss, 1868; P. R. xMarshall, 1870; 
Thomas Singleton, 1872; Patrick Cane, 1874; H. C. Robertson, 1876; 
Samuel N. Bundell, 1878; Elijah P. Ritchey, 1880; William A. 
Hodges, 1882. 

PROBATE JUDGES. 

Hiram Mathews, 1829 ; Benjamin Bull, 1833 ; Solomon Dunegan, 
1834 ; Algernon S. Griggs, 1841 ; George F. Waterman, 1844 ; John 
W. Richards, 1846. (This office was abolished in 1852.) 

ASSOCIATE JUDGES. 

Jacob Cutler and John Gray, March 13, 1822 ; Samuel Reed, vice 
Gray, 1824 ; Jared Olds, vice Reed, 1827 ; James Burns, 1827, vice 
Cutler ; John Mathews, 1829 ; Benjamin Bull, 1833, vice Mathews ; 
Solomon Donegan, 1834 ; Jonathan Hoffman, 1834. vice Burns ; Jesse 
S. Rooker, 1836 ; Jonathan Hoffman, 1836 ; George Miller, 1842, vice 
Huffman ; J. S. Kooker, 1842 ; Thomas McClure, 1842 ; Hiram Math- 
ews, 1843, vice Rooker, deceased ; William Landers, 1849 ; Hiram 
Mathews, 1849. (This office was abolished in about 1852.) 

PRESIDENT JUDGES OF CIRCUIT COURT. 

William W. Wick, 1822; Bethuel F. Morris, March, 1825, vice 
Wick, resigned ; William W. Wick, 1834 ; James Morrison, 1839 
David McDonald, 1842 ; James Hughes, 1853 ; J. M. Hanna, 1856 
Solomon Claypool, 1859 ; Delaney R. Eckles, 1860 ; — Franklin, 1864 
John C. Robinson, 1876 ; A. M. Cunning, 1882. 

COMMON PLEAS JUDGES. 

William G. Quick, 1853 ; George A. Buskirk, 1857 ; 0. J. Gless- 
ner, 1865; T. W. Woolen, 1869; Richard L. Coffee, 1871. (This court 
was created in 1852, and abolished in 1873.) 

COUNTY SUPERINTENDENTS. 

The early examiners are unknown. H. T. Craig, 1854, two years ; 



40 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

Eb Henderson, 1856, two years; John Story, 1858, two years; B. D. 
Blackstone, 18G0, five years ; Jonathan H. Henry, 1865, six months ; 
Samuel S. Griffitt, 1865, two years and six months ; J. H. Henry, 1868, 
eight months ; S. S. Griffitt, 1869, two years and four months ; Robert 
M. Garrison, 1871, one year and four months; Hiram N. Short, 1872, 
three years; R. V. Marshal, 1875, two years; H. N. Short, 1877, two 
years; S. S. Griffitt, 1879, two years; E. W. Paxson, 1881, to date. 

OLD settlers' association. 

Morgan County has no organization of this character except 
in connection with other counties. In 1869, a call was circulated through- 
out the county for the organization of an old settlers' society, the meet- 
ing to be held at Mooresville, and other counties were invited to partici- 
pate. The call was signed by hundreds, and, in 1870, the first meeting 
was held on the fair ground at that town. An enormous crowd assem- 
bled from Marion, Hendricks, Owen, Johnson and Morgan Counties, and 
a most enjoyable time was passed. The meeting was held on the 9th of 
August, and James Blake, of Marion County, was President of the Day, 
and Fielding Beeler, Secretary. Meetings have been held annually since. 
As high as 10,000 people have assembled. The old settlers have no ex- 
cuse in not recording their experiences. They recount their personal ex- 
perience of early times to one another, but neglect to have a competent 
scribe put it in writing, and thus the incidents so full of interest to their 
descendants and so valuable, by way of example, to the growing popula- 
tion and the coming thousands, are lost irretrievably. Such neglect 
should cease. If necessary a collection of $10 should be taken on the 
grounds and paid to some competent man to take a brief of everything 
said, and then write it out in full in proper record books. Don't forget 
this! 

COUNTY INDEBTEDNESS. 

When the county was first organized it was compelled to issue 
" orders " to meet the necessary expenses. The court houses of 1824 
and 1834 were built in this way, the orders being afterward taken up as 
the county funds allowed. Probably the first issue of real county bonds 
was when the present combined court house and jail was built. They 
were not wholly redeemed until after the rebellion. Smaller issues were 
afterward sold to secure ready means to build various bridges. When the 
new poor farm was bought and a new poor house built, about thirteen 
years ago, more bonds were sold. In June, 1873, the Commissioners 
sold 160,000 worth of county bonds to secure funds to build bridges 
over White River, at Waverly, and at the county seat, and to fence the 
court house square with iron. In 1876, they ordered $50,000 new bonds 
issued and sold to refund at a lower rate of interest the old bonds which 
were drawing ten per centum interest, the other $10,000 having been 
paid before. The county farm bond debt raised the entire bond debt to 
about $75,000. In May, 1882, the outstanding bonds amounted to 
$60,500, which sum, in December, 1882, was reduced to about $50,000, 
the present county bond debt. 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 41 

RECEIPTS FOR 1822.* 

June 29, from G. W. Preston, County Agent $364 02 

June 29, from Jonathan Lyon, store license 20 00 

August 5, from Christopher Ladd, tavern license 10 00 

November 20, from Benjamin Cutler, County Collector. . . 103 81 

November 20, from G. M. Beeler, tax on court writs 2 50 

November 20, from delinquent tax collected 45 

Total 500 78 

EXPENSES FOR 1822. 

August 4, cash paid County Justices $364 02 

November, cash paid out on orders 103 81 

Total $467 83 

RECEIPTS FOR 1823. 

February 11, from G. W. Preston, County Agent $54 00 

April — , from Joshua Taylor, tavern license 10 00 

May 29, from the County Collector 147 12 

June 29, from Jonathan Lyon, store license 20 00 

August 11, from G. W. Preston, i County Agent 165 91 

September 20, from Jonathan Lyon, store license 20 00 

October 4, from Samuel Moore, store license 12 00 

October 4, from John Sims, tavern license 10 00 

October 4, from Christopher Ladd, tavern license 10 00 

November 6, from T. L. Galpin, County Collector 136 87 

November 6, from Robert Bradshaw, ferry license 5 00 

Total $590 90 

EXPENSES FOR 1823. 

February — , cash paid to County Justices $135 31 

August — , cash paid to County Justices. 219 41 

November — , cash paid on county orders 141 87 

Total $496 59 

The cash receipts for 1825 amounted to $665.56, and the expenses 
to $660.36, exclusive of outstanding orders. The indebtedness of the 
county was nearly $200. The outstanding orders were at a slight dis- 
count, and were current funds in almost all transactions. The cash re- 
ceipts for 1826 were $540.93, of which $218.20 was county revenue, 
$229.61 was from the sale of town lots, and $64.25 from merchandise 
and liquor licenses. The cash expenses for 1826 were $260.22. The 
cash receipts for the year 1827, exclusive of the county revenue, were 
$297.60. The county revenue was $241.08 ; the merchandise and liquor 
licenses, $72.50 ; from the sale of lots, $178.03. The cash expenses 
were $522.57, a few outstanding orders being taken up. The total cash 
receipts for 1828 were $742.62, of which $241.13 was county revenue ; 
$71.25 merchants' and liquor sellers' licenses ; $425.23 from the sale of 
county lots. The cash expenses for 1828 were $794.46, more of the 
outstanding orders being called in. The total cash receipts and expenses 
of the county for the year 1829 were in full, as follows : 

RECEIPTS FOR 1829. 

January 5, from James Crawford, County Agent $74 50 

January 5, from G. H. Beeler, tax on court writs 4 00 

January 5, T. L. Galpin and P. Dicken, fees 4 50 

* Taken from the Treasurer's ledger. This record does not include outstanding orders. The 
county was really in debt at the end of each year. 



42 ~ HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

January 5, from G. A. Phelps, County Collector 269 85 

January 6, from James Crawford, County Agent 44 39 

February 3, from C. Ladd, estray 8 50 

February 10. from William Lander, estray 2 87 

February 3, from G. H. Beeler, jurors' fees 13 50 

February 9, from John Craig, liquor license 5 00 

February 18, from Silas Stapp, merchandise license ..... 10 00 

May 1, from James Crawford, County Agent 271 85 

May 4, from G. A. Phelps, delinquent revenue 131 29 

May 4, from Barclay Burris, grocery license 5 00 

May 4, from John Hurst, liquor license 5 00 

May 13, from Samuel Drake, merchandise license. 2 50 

August 10, from T. L. Galpin, estray 7 12 

September 1, from Sims & Drake, store license 1 66 

September 1, from Washburn & Co., merchandise license 1 10 

September 1, from Worth & Kelly, store license 10 00 

September 1, from Samuel Moore, store license 10 00 

November 12, from Sims & Drake, store license 10 00 

November 13, from Washburn & Co., store license 10 00 

November 13, from G. A. Phelps, County Collector 170 00 

Total 11,072 63 

EXPENSES FOR 1829. 

January 6, cash paid to County Justices $427 24 

April — , cash paid on sundry orders 11 37 

May 5, cash paid to County Justices 271 85 

May 5, cash paid to County Justices 169 79 

November 9. cash paid on sundry orders 39 38 

Total $919 63 

The cash receipts and expenses for 1834 were in full as follows : 

RECEIPTS FOR 1834. 

January 4, from John Sims, store license $10 00 

January 6, from Clerk, jury fees 13 50 

January 6, interest on $200 loaned 16 64 

January 6, from County Collector 655 68 

January 22, from James Cunningham, store license 10 00 

January 30, from Hiram Whetzel, grocery license 81 

January 30, from M. D. Miller, estray 4 50 

February 1, from Reuben Lambert, estray 1 75 

February 3, from Caleb Staggerwalt, estray 1 75 

February 7, from Clerk for jury fees 13 50 

March 7, from Cyrus Whetzel, grocery license 1 66 

April 17, from J. D. Fogg, circus riding 10 00 

April 25, from R. L. Jones, grocery license 31 

May 5, from H. R. Stevens, jury fees 9 00 

May 5, from Hiram Whetzel, grocery license 10 00 

May 5, from County Collector 65 00 

May 12, from R. L. Jones, grocery license 3 34 

May 19, from J. M. Mitchell, merchandise license 3 33 

June 3, from John Fee, merchandise license 2 50 

June 13, from Samuel Moore, store license 10 00 

June 17, from H. R. Stevens, jury fees 13 50 

July 17, from Miller & Co., exhibiting animals 5 00 

July 22, from Michael Stockwell, grocery license 1 10 

July 23, from Gideon Johnson, merchandise license 1 10 

August 8, from Eplinger, estray 1 00 

August 11, from S. Butler & Co., exhibiting animals 5 00 

August 24, from John Weathers, estrays 26 00 

September 2, from Gideon Johnson, store license 1 75 

September 2, from John Fee, store license 10 00 

September 4, from J. M. Mitchell, store license 10 00 

September 17, from William Scott, store license 7 50 

October 1, from Samuel & Henry Lawrence, grocery license 87 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 



43 



October 4, from Michael Stockwell, grocery license 81 

October 9, from Jonathan Williams, estray 4 34 

October 22, from Kelly & Worth, store license 10 00 

October 22, from County Collector 172 53 

November 3, from Lawrence Brothers, grocery license 10 00 

November 7, from John Sims, estray 1 50 

November -, from County Collector 53 00 

November 3, from interest on $100 loaned 8 32 

November 4, from J. W. Blankenship, grocery license 10 00 

December 19, from Avery McGee, liquor license 37 

December 20, from John Warren, liquor license 41 

December 24, from John Cox, liquor license 25 

December 26, from William Hasty, estrays 12 50 

Total $1,210 12 

EXPENSES FOR 1834. 

January 8, cash paid to County Commissioners $ 795 57 

January 8, cash paid on sundry orders 20 21 

November 3, cash paid to County Commissioners 890 07 

Total $1,705 85 

This exhibit illustrates two important facts : 1. Money had previous- 
ly accumulated in the treasury. 2. The county was either paying off old 
outstanding orders, or was engaged in some public improvement, as, for 
instance on the county buildings, or perhaps both. The total cash re- 
ceipts for 1839 were as follows : 

RECEIPTS FOR 1839. 

January 3, from H. R. Stevens, jury fees $ 54 00 

January 7, from W. Sheerer, County Agent 34 20 

January 8, from Gideon Johnson, store license 5 00 

January 8, from John Haines, grocery license 25 00 

January 22, from S. L. Graham, estrays 75 

January 22, from E. Pinswanger, store license 50 

January 22, from A. Worth, store license 5 00 

January 23, from H. C. Martin, store license 1 00 

February 7, from E. St. John, store license 4 20 

February 8, from H. Hamilton, store license 3 10 

February 16, from Wiley Gregory, store license 1 04 

February 18, from H. Collins, estrays 3 00 

February 26, from John Hadden, estrays 6 00 

March 5, from County Agent 43 80 

March 5, from J. S. Killy, store license 5 00 

March 5, from S. R. Trower, store license 5 06 

March 6, from Wiley Gregory, grocery license 25 00 

March 13, from L. M. R. Pumphrey, grocery license 4 00 

March 18, from Samuel Moore & Co., merchandise license 83 

April 2, from W. Sheerer, County Agent 47 23 

April 13, from Craig & Major, merchandise license 33 

April 13, from S. T. Durin, clock license 3 15 

April 16, from L. D. Pond, wooden clock license 3 12 

April 23, from H. Nespum, grocery license 18 

May 6, from County Agent 35 00 

May 6, from John Sims, store license ; 5 00 

May 6, from N. Edwards & Co., store license 2 50 

May 6, from Hadley & Bales, store license 2 50 

May 11, from John Crandall, clock license 15 88 

May 24, from Sluss, grocery license 1 37 

June 27, from S. Moore & Co., merchandise license 1 66 

June 28, from Otenstine & Goldsmith, merchandise license 83 

July 15, from John Hudeburgh, grocery license 3 12 

August 1, from David Wise, grocery license 44 

August 5, from EHis Wise, grocery license 44 

August 7, from D. P. Morris, grocery license 44 

3 



44 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

August 19, from A. B. Arnold, grocery license 31 

September 3, from Hadley & Bales, store license 2 50 

September 9, from G. N. Walbridge, store license 75 

September 11, from John Buckner, store license 75 

September 11, from John E. Clark, store license 75 

September 16, from John Hudeburgh, store license 3 12 

September 18, from P. M. Parks, store license 1 25 

September 18, from J. M. & S. M. Mitchell, store license 83 

September 30, from W. O. Fee, store license 84 

November 4, from N. Edwards & Co., store license 2 50 

November 4, from W. O. Fee, store license 5 00 

November 4, from J. M. & S. M. Mitchell, store license . . 5 00 

November 4, from P. B. McCoy, grocery license 25 00 

November 4, from County Agent 50 00 

December 14, from John Hudeburgh, gi-ocery license 1 00 

December 14, from Samuel Moore & Co., mdse. license 83 

December 31, from L. Goldsmith, merchandise license. . . 12 

From poll tax on 1,496 polls 748 00 

From property tax on $1,428,856 1,428 85 

From road tax on non-residents 105 50 

From county tax on ferries 24 00 

From sundry delinquent collections 26 62 

From interest on money loaned 34 20 

Total $2,814 39 

In 1840, the tax on 1,584 polls was $792, and the tax on $1,411,084 
worth of property was $1,411.08. The ferry license amounted to $21.50. 
The cash receipts of the county from June, 1841, to June, 1845, 
amounted to $22,136.08. This included county revenue, proceeds of the 
sale of lots, merchants' license, ferry and grocery license, jury fees, estray 
receipts, seminary fund, interest on surplus revenue and various inci- 
dental receipts. The cash expenses for the same period were $23,959.67. 
The total receipts for the year ending June, 1849, were $8,954.84, and 
the total expenses $6,332.02. The receipts for the year ending June, 
1851, were $10,374.13, and the expenses $8,967.33. The receipts for 
the year ending June, 1855, were $11,778.89, and the expenses were 
$9,098.19. Receipts for fiscal year 1857, were $24,078.27, less $6,681.85 
on hand at the beginning of the year, and the expenses were $17,828.30. 
For the fiscal year 1862, the receipts were $21,374.09, and the expenses 
$21,164.39. In 1867, the total receipts were $49,077.63, and the total 
expenses $56,641.75. For the fiscal year 1875, the orders issued during 
the year amounted to $33,749.53, there being outstanding orders at the 
beginning of the year $5,374.51. The outstanding bonds amounted to 
$60,000, making the total indebtedness $99,124.04. The orders re- 
deemed during the year were $29,258.35. So much of the indebtedness 
was paid off in 1876 that the Treasurer's statement showed that $156.48 
had been overdrawn. For the fiscal year 1879, there was on hand at 
the beginning of the year $7,065.81. The total receipts exclusive of this 
amount were $27,236. The total expenses, less $7,703.49 remaining in 
the treasury, were $26,598.32. The total receipts for the fiscal year 
1881 were $128,248.70, exclusive of $59,043.46 remaining in the treas- 
ury at the commencement of the year, and the total expenses were $131,- 
159.38, there being a balance in the treasury at the end of the year of 
$56,132.78. 

SUNDRY STATISTICAL ITEMS. 

The receipts for merchants' license, from June, 1841, to June, 1844, 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 45 

were $168.35. County officers were paid $2,341.10 from June, 1842, to 
June, 1844. The county paupers cost $1,585.72 from June, 1842, to 
June, 1843, and $529.61 from June, 1845, to December, 1845. County 
officers cost $664.48 from June, 1844, to June, 1845. For the fiscal year 
1849, merchants' licenses brought $139.17, and the seminary fund re- 
ceipts were $410.93. County officers cost $651.65 in 1842,* the poor 
$250.30, county buildings $1,855.20, elections $58.25, roads and high- 
ways $90.10, jurors' fees $472.74, specific allowances $811.90, and 
criminals $85.57. The total receipts for 1848 were $10,806.90, and the 
total expenses $9,146.82. The county revenue was $4,925.44. In 1858, 
the receipts were $9,517.19, and the expenses $8,515.64. Countv officers 
cost $522.40 in 1848, and $797.82 in 1851, and $1,525.75 in 1853. The 
poor cost $485.27 in 1848, and $485.38 in 1851, and $580.51 in 1853. 

The cash receipts for the year ending June, 1849, were $8,954.84, 
and the expenses $6,332.02. Of the receipts, $139.17 was from mer- 
chants' license, $410.93 was seminary fund; county revenue, $5,063.02. 
Of the expenses, $552.99 was for the poor,$585.25 was for county officers, 
and $100 was tuition in the County Seminary. The cash receipts for 
the year ending June, 1851, were $10,374.13, and the expenses $8,967.33. 
The receipts from merchants' license were $157.50 ; for the seminary 
fund, $138.88; for county revenue, $1,419.33; district school tax, $384.42. 
The expense included $799.82 for county officers, $485.38 for pau- 
pers ; for bridges, $283. The receipts for the year ending June, 1852, 
were $7,701.25; expenses, $9,132.62. The paupers cost $714.26, and 
the county officers $1,026.71. The receipts for the year ending June, 
1855, were $11,778.89, of which $9,226.32 was county revenue. The 
expenses were $9,098.19, of which $2,457.64 was for county officers-, 
$100 for agricultural society, $920.08 for the poor. The receipts for the 
year, ending June, 1857, were $24,078.27, of which $7,669.76 was 
county revenue, $6,378.38 for schoolhouses. There was in the treasury 
at the beginning of the year $6,681.85. The expenses were $17,828.30, 
of which $1,977.15 was for county officers, $926.02 for paupers, $100 
for the agricultural society, and $7,273.75 for schools. 

In 1858, public buildings cost $10,229.66 ; the paupers, $995.11 ; 
county officers, $1,198.79 ; the agricultural society, $130. In 1861, 
the poor cost $1,107.86; county officers, $1,241.91; the agricultural 
society, $125, and the military, $20.50. For the years 1858, 1859 and 
1860, county buildings cost $27,076.73. In 1865, county officers cost 
$1,476.85; the poor, $2,656.58 ; the military, $18,375.12; the agri- 
cultural society, $215 ; county bounty, $3,530. The county revenue 
amounted to $50,836.03. In 1866, the poor cost $5,140.04, and in 
1867 cost $2,304.89. In 1876, the total poor expense was $9,375.15; 
bridges cost $9,696.90 ; county officers, $8,683.73. In 1878, the poor 
cost $8,835.93; county officers, $6,342.35 ; orphans, $628.37. The total 
receipts were $41,910, including $10,381.12 on hand ; the expenses were 
$34,894.71. In 1881, the poor expenses were $7,768.03, also $3,253.24 
on the house and farm ; county officers cost $7,344.43 ; county bounty, 
$4,513.74: jurors' fees, $1,824.89. 

♦Hereafter the year referred to will mean the fiscal year, expiring the 31st of May of the date mentioned. 



46 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

The following is the Auditor's report for the fiscal year ending 
May 31, 1883: 

RECEIPTS. 

Balance in treasury June 1, 1882 $43,651 20 

County revenue 41,076 03 

Fines and forfeitures 709 48 

Congressional interest 1,092 05 

Gravel road fund 1,120.64 

Liquor license 400 00 

Docket fees 10 60 

Dog tax fund 656 66 

Common school principal 3,384 16 

State revenue 210 00 

Township revenue 5,653 68 

Road fund - 14,250 57 

Redemption of land sold for tax 2,049 18 

Tax refunder 1,767 51 

Common school tuition 17,055 15 

Special school fund 15,300 08 

Common school interest 2,764 24 

Highway damages 200 00 

Local tuition fund 13,013 78 

M. & R. F. Gravel Road 98 36 

Bond interest 3,688 84 

Bond principal 7,060 95 

Bridge fund 747 02 

Town bond fund 412 76 

M. & M. Gravel Road 2,765 68 

T. S. & M. Co. Line Gravel Road 9,850 00 

M. & J. Co. Line Gravel Road 1,700 00 

Congressional school fund 1,107 00 

Total $191,795 61 

STATEMENT OF FUNDS IN TREASURY. 

County revenue $7,250 52 

Township fund 2,766 58 

Road revenue 13,871 85 

Redemption of land 843 26 

Special school tax 8,489 61 

Gravel road fund 609 73 

Common school principal 651 46 

Common school interest 464 40 

Local tuition tax 7,120 91 

M. & R. F. Gravel Road 341 08 

Bond interest 6,569 48 

Bond principal 923 44 

Town bond fund 14 86 

M. & M. Gravel Road 1,517 13 

T. S. & M. Co. Line Gravel Road 1,082 50 

Congressional school principal 1,107 22 

Total $53,624 03 

LESS AMOUNTS OVERDRAWN. 

State revenue $ 52 00 

Tax refunders 110 55 

Congressional fund interest 2,227 73 

Bridge fund 1,814 05 

Salt Lick Gravel Road 65 05 

M. & C. V. Gravel Road 90 65 

M. & B. Gravel Road. 113 45 

M. & J. Co. L. Gravel Road 66 99— $4,540 47 

Amount in treasury subject to draft. May 31, 1883 $49,088 56 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 47 



EXPENDITURES. 



COUNTY FUNDS. 



Fee and salary of officers $4,902 44 

Jurors and boarding jurors 3,009 25 

Expenses of Poor Asylum, Orphans' Home and interest 

on Poor Farm debt 5,674 31 

Specific 1,526 87 

Criminal expense 1, 784 91 

Commissioners' Court 743 60 

Coroner's inquest 257 85 

Roads and highways 275 10 

County Superintendent 856 00 

Books, stationery, printing, etc 2,864 34 

Assessing revenue 1,895 90 

Insanity 287 01 

Fuel 368 41 

Bridges 649 74 

Temporary poor 7,396 50 

Bailiffs, Circuit Court 886 50 

County Attorney 364 50 

Board of Health 363 70 

Election expenses 87 80 

County bounty 145 95 

County institute 50 00 

Procuring field notes and plat of county 250 00 

Interest on county orders.. 219 63 

Insurance 75 00 

Change of venue 68 40 

Total expenditures $34,953 71 

OTHER FUNDS. 

Fines and forfeitures $709 48 

Congressional interest 1,621 04 

Gravel road fund 510^91 

Liquor license 1,400 00 

Docket fees 10 60 

Dog tax fund 1,488 76 

Common school principal 3,910 00 

State revenue 130 00 

Township revenue 6,313 85 

Road fund 9,069 97 

Redemption of land 2,405 99 

Tax refunder 1,854 84 

Common school tuition 17,055 15 

Special school fund 14,895 62 

Common school interest 2,635 29 

Highway damages 200 00 

Local tuition 13,075 09 

M. & R. F. Gravel Road 555 50 

Bond interest 2,760 00 

Bond principal 10,500 00 

Bridgefund 2,56107 

Townbond fund 878:37 

M. &. M. Gravel Road 607 55 

T. S. & M. Co. Line Gravel Road 8,667 00 

M. & J. Co. Line Gravel Road 1,766 99 

Congressional school principal 1,971 17 

M. & B. Gravel Road 113 45 

M. & C. V. Gravel Road 90 65 

Balance in treasury May 31, 1883 49,083 56 



Total $191,795 61 



48 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

TEMPERANCE WORK. 

For the following facts in relation to the temperance work done in 
Morgan County, the publishers are indebted to the contribution of E. J. 
Sumner, Es<|., a resident for nearly fifty years of the vicinity of Moores- 
ville, and a prominent worker in the temperance cause. The contributor 
divides the treatment of the subject into three periods — the first extend- 
ing to the year 1839, the second to the year 1872, and the third to 1884: 

During the first period, it wfes conceded by the advocates of temper- 
ance that the drinking of spirits as a beverage was not to be condemned, 
provided it was not carried to drunkenness, which was denounced as a 
vice ; during the second period the temperance men took a step further 
and declared that not only was drunkenness a vice, but that the only safe 
way of avoiding that vice, was by total abstinence from the use of intoxi- 
cants as a beverage ; during the third period, the approved method of 
urging the temperance cause was by declaring that the only protection for 
the individual and for society from the vice of drunkenness was through 
the Constitution and by legislative prohibition of the liquor traffic. The 
word temperance herein used applies only to the use of intoxicating 
drinks, and not in its general sense of the proper or moderate use of law- 
ful things. 

The neighborhood of Mooresville was principally settled by immi- 
grants from North Carolina, Ohio and Kentucky, and however much they 
might differ on other subjects, the prevailing opinion among them was 
that intemperance consisted only in getting drunk, and not in the use of 
intoxicants as a beverage, and consequently neighbors drank together in 
public without reproach during the first period of nineteen years. The 
country around was settled mostly by Friends, Baptists and Episcopal 
Methodists, and during the first period the work of temperance was car- 
ried on. entirely through the churches. The Friends were largely pre- 
dominant, and were proverbial for sobriety. Their church discipline was 
excellent as far as the use of distilled spirits was concerned, but was lax 
as to the use of fermented drinks ; the Baptists held that true temperance 
consisted in the moderate use of alcoholic drinks, while the Methodists, 
and more especially the itinerant preachers, taught that the only remedy 
for drunkenness was the total abstinence from all intoxicating liquor, and 
thus every Methodist society became an embryo temperance association. 
All through this first period small distilleries and drinking saloons were 
common ; drunkenness and fighting were inevitable on election day, and 
indeed whisky was quite a factor at the polls. 

About the beginning of the second period, in 1839, there were added 
to the temperance force the Disciples Church, the Total Abstinence 
Society, the Washingtonians, the Sons of Temperanc.e and the Good 
Templars ; but many Friends had considered fermented drinks harmless, 
and the honest but mistaken father would think he had mistreated a 
neighbor or calling friend had he failed to ofi"er him a cup of cider or of 
domestic wine, and the boys would make merry with their companions 
over a mug of cider when occasion seemed to require, yet the Friends 
were looked upon as bright examples of temperance, the other churches 
and organizations not being any further advanced in the temperance 
cause. But now a great revival was inaugurated by the Methodists, and 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 49 

the sale of liquor abated, and the selling and drinking of whisky became 
very unpopular. The Disciples were energetic and their preachers were 
among the most eloquent in advocating the temperance cause. All the 
total-abstinent societies named above were zealous in their work, and con- 
verts were made at all points. 

At the beginning of the third period, the various temperance societies 
were absorbed by the Independent Order of Good Templars, and in the 
fall of 1872, memorials began to be forwarded to the Legislature praying 
for prompt penal legislation for the suppression of the sale of intoxicating 
beverages ; as a result, the Baxter law was passed. The enforcement of 
this law met with strenuous opposition, and, strangely enough, much of 
that opposition came from a few leading members of the Society of 
Friends. However, since the great Methodist revival of 1839, drinking 
saloons have been quite unpopular, and none of those started could sur- 
vive over a few weeks at a time. Some have been closed by legal process, 
some by moral suasion, and some have been suppressed by violence. 
Among the latest at Mooresville, one was abolished in July, 1883, 
through the efforts of the Women's Christian Temperance Union, and one 
which was opened immediately after in the same building was legally ex- 
terminated about the 20th of October, 1883. No drinking saloon now 
exists in the town, and the traffic in liquor is generally held as disreput- 
able. 




50 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 



MILITARY HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

BY WESTON A. GOODSPEED. 

THE OLD MILITIA SYSTEM. 

FROM the formation of the county to the rebelhon of 1861-65, the 
old militia system, which had done such excellent service during aH 
the previous Indian border wars, was permitted to almost wholly die out 
in Indiana, owing to a protracted period of profound peace. A more or 
less nominal organization was carried on in Morgan County, and annual 
musters were enjoyed by large and motley crowds, more intent on frolic 
and roystering than improvement in military discipline. Aside from this, 
the military spirit of the people quietly slumbered until roused by the 
war with Mexico. The following, however, is a partial list of the soldiers 
of the war of 1812-15 who afterward resided in Morgan County : George 
Pattorff, Samuel Harryman, Benjamin Mugg, Spencer McDaniel, old 

man Tull, William Worthen, John Robb, Fonville, Tobias Butler 

and others. 

THE MEXICAN WAR. 

In 1846, immediately after the call of the President for volunteers, 
a company was organized at Martinsville for the war with Mexico. The 
services of the company were tendered the Governor just one month after 
the call for volunteers had been issued. The ofiBcers were John W. Cox, 
Captain ; Pleasant Williams, First Lieutenant ; James W. Ford, Second 
Lieutenant; and the company was styled the "Morgan County Rangers." 
But so great was the rush from every county in the State to get into the 
service that the company was too late, and was rejected, though five or six 
afterward entered other companies. The following men, who at some 
period were residents of Morgan County, served in the Mexican war, 
though but few went from the county directly into the war, the greater 
number going from other countiea and States: Owen G. Williams and 
Lawrence C. Williams, with Gen. Taylor ; David Nowlen, same ; William 
Mabee, with Gen. Scott, shot through the hand ; Charles Stoker, with 
Scott, was under fire twenty-two times ; Stephen and Jackson Bales, 
Larkin Jones, William Crum, John Coifey, Y. J. Robinson, John Gless- 

ner, E. T. Harryman, Hadley, Wilson, Lash, and no 

doubt several others. 

OPENING SCENES OF THE GREAT REBELLION. 

It is unnecessary to give a summary of the causes which led to the 
rebellion of 1861-65. During the five years previous to the breaking-out 
of the war, the interest in Morgan County ran to fever heat. The ele- 
ments of political feeling were sharp and distinct. Many of the citizens 
had formerly been residents of the South, and a strong regard for the 
land of their birth and childhood led them into open sympathy with their 
former friends. On the contrary, many others were Abolitionists, with 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 51 

scarcely an instinct or a thought in common either with the Southern 
people'^or their Northern sympathizers. This condition of things gave the 
county all shades of opinion on the impending crisis. Late in the fifties, 
the two parties, Democrat and Republican, were almost equal in the 
county in point of numbers. The Presidential campaign of 1860 was 
bitterly fought, with the following result : Republicans, 1,755 ; Douglas 
Democrats, 1,516; Breckenridge Democrats, 62; Union candidates, 15. 
This was a Republican gain of 218 votes over the Presidential election of 
1856, and greatly encouraged the party in the county. Soon after the 
news had been received of the passage of ordinances of secession by 
South Carolina, a mass meeting of the party was called to meet at the 
court house in Martinsville on the 29th of December, 1860, on which 
occasion several thousand persons assembled to take into consideration the 
state of the country. Hon. A. S. Griggs was made President, and Sims 
Major, Secretary, and the following committee was appointed to draft 
resolutions expressive of the sense of the meeting: W. H. Craig, T. J. 
Worth, A. A. Barrickman, Thomas Freeman, S. D. Ruckle, S. A. Til- 
ford and Aaron St. John. While this committee was at work, the meet- 
ing was addressed by the President, and by Dr. J. J. Wright and others. 
A long series of resolutions was then adopted, asserting that the Chicago 
platform was just; that the deplorable state of the country was due to 
the Democratic administration of Buchanan which desired to carry slavery 
into all the Territories; that the termination of Buchanan's reign would 
be hailed with joy : that the Union must be perpetuated at all hazards, 
and that secession was treason, and should be rigidly dealt Avith. The 
meeting was very enthusiastic. 

About the middle of February, 1861, a strong Union meeting was held 
in Gregg Township, J. B. Hinkle acting as Chairman and H. K. Spen- 
cer, Secretary. Dr. J. P. Rader, D. Seaton and H. K. Spencer were 
appointed to draft resolutions. These stated as the sense of the meeting 
that the administration of Mr. Lincoln must be supported, that no State 
was justified in seceding, and that an amendment to the constitution pro- 
hibiting slavery should not be adopted. A large meeting of a similar 
character was held about the same time in Mooresville, in Morgantown 
and at several other places in the county. 

It should be remembered that there were representatives in the county 
of all shades of political opinion, from the most ardent Abolitionist to the 
one who believed in the right of the States to secede, and in the divine 
origin of slavery. The excitement continued to increase as the winter 
wore away, and as the Southern States, one after another, seceded. 
Large quantities of Government stores and forts and important strategic 
points were seized ; and soon grave apprehension was felt by strong Union 
people, owing to the apparent apathy of President Lincoln after his in- 
auguration, that nothing would be done to check the dissolution of the 
Government. Continued and extensive preparations for war were made 
in the South, long after the North ceased to believe that the differences 
which divided the two factions of the country might be amicably adjusted. 
Neither the North nor the South knew the strength or the spirit of the 
other. The former believed that if war was begun the South would be 
forced into submission within three months, and the latter believed that 



52 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

the North would never have the courage to attempt to coerce the rebellious 
States back into the Union. Many throughout the North believed that 
the administration had no right to resort to coercion. On the contrary, 
the great majority were urgent in their demands upon President Lincoln 
to strangle the hydra of secession in its infancy, and, if necessary, forcibly 
maintain intact the union of the States. 

THE FALL OF FORT SUMTER 

At last the news was received that Fort Sumter had surrendered to 
the rebels. On the evening of Monday, April 15, 1861, this startling 
news reached Martinsville, and kindled a degree of angry excitement un- 
known before in the history of the county. The great majority forgot 
party, and came loyally forward to the support of the Government. Ev- 
ery business pursuit was dropped, and the citizens gathered at towns and 
cross roads to review the ominous situation, and encourage one another 
with hopeful words. The prompt call of the President for 75,000 volun- 
teers to put down the rebellion sent a wave of relief throughout the 
anxiou-5 North, and double the numbers called for immediately tendered 
their services. America had never before witnessed such a universal and 
popular uprising. Mr. Callis, editor of the Gazette, came out on Wednes- 
day, April 17, with long, loyal editorials, urging an immediate response 
to the call of the President, and declaring that the Union must be pre- 
served. The following short article also appeared in the issue of the 17th : 

HOME TRAITOKS. 

On Monday night last, when the news of the reduction of Fort Sumter reached 
this town, several of our citizens openly rejoiced at the event. We are sorry to re- 
cord this lamentable fact. We are grieved to confess that we have men in our com- 
munity who are so destitute of patriotism and love of country as to laugh over its 
downfall. Shame! Shame! 

Such men were very few, and were speedily borne down by the in- 
tense loyalty which blazed forth at the county seat and at almost every 
other place in the county. A mass meeting of the citizens was called to 
beheld at the court house on Saturday, April 20, to consider what should 
be done by the county to meet the emergency. Apparently the citizens 
were unable to wait until Saturday, the 20th of April, before holding 
their meeting at the court house, for on the evening of the 18th, pursuant 
to a few hours' notice, a large assemblage gathered at the court house. 
P. S. Parks was made Chairman. Upon taking the chair, he made a 
rousing speech, declaring that it was the duty of all but traitors to stand 
by the old flag — that all party prejudice should be renounced, and that 
the Constitution and Union must be maintained. His remarks had a 
wonderful effect upon his audience, and were greeted with tumultuous 
cheers. P. M. Blankenship was called out, and spoke encouragingly 
to those who desired to volunteer in the impending crisis, and hoped that 
a general war might be averted. Rev. W. C. Smith was next called to 
the stand, and electrified his audience with his brilliant eulogy of the 
" stars and stripes," and his eloquent utterances in favor of unfaltering 
loyalty. He denounced the traitors with the keenest invective and most 
searching analysis and logic. 0. R. Daugherty was then called out. 
He said he did not support the administration, nor the causes that brought 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 53 

on the war. He was for his country, right or wrong, and knew no other 
flag than the stars and stripes. The committee that had been appointed 
to draft a series of resolutions expressive of the sense of the meeting (W. 
J. Manker, J. K. Scott, J. W. Ferguson, John Williams and John H. 
Thornburg), then reported as follows : 

Whereas, We have learned with sorrow and regret that a rebellious faction in 
South Carolina has wantonly, insultingly and traitorously destroyed American prop- 
erty, killed American soldiers, and outraged the American flag, and all this, too, 
upon soil belonging to the Federal Government; therefore 

Resolved, That we, the people of Morgan County, Ind., in mass convention as- 
sembled, hereby denounce such action as the rankest treason, and such actors as the 
vilest traitors, in comparison with whom Benedict Arnold and Aaron Burr sink into 
utter insignificance. 

Resolved, That in this crisis, forced upon us by Southern traitors, we forget and 
bury amid the relics of the past, all political feeling and prejudices, and, rallying 
around our own time-honored and blood-stained banner, we know but one watch- 
word — "Our country, right or wrong." 

Resolved, That we deeply sympathize with the President of the United States 
and the Governor of the State, and their coadjutors in this trying crisis, and hereby 
pledge them not only the sympathy, but all the material aid that we can extend in 
every effort they may make to maintain the honor of our flag and the integrity of 
our Government. 

On motion each resolution was submitted separately to the assemblage 
for adoption or rejection. A motion was made to strike out from the 
second resolution the words, "forced upon us by Southern traitors," but 
his motion was earnestly opposed by Messrs. Parks, Manker and Smith, 
and supported by himself and Mr. Cunning. A stranger present spoke 
eloquently in favor of rejecting the motion to strike out. He said there 
were but two flags — the stars and stripes and the palmetto — and that one 
or the other must be chosen. The motion to strike out was finally lost, 
but It incited considerable ill-feeling at the time. The resolutions were 
then severally adopted. The meeting was well attended, and an unwaver- 
ing loyalty prevailed. The meeting then adjourned, to meet again on 
Saturday night, as had been advertised. 

A very large crowd assembled, and J. J. Johnston was called to the 
chair. He delivered a loyal and eloquent speech. He said it had been 
remarked by the enemies of the country at home that Morgan County 
would not respond to the call of the Governor for troops, but that the 
present demonstration and the volunteers before him proved the assertion 
false. He announced that the volunteer company numbered eighty-four, 
and that additional names were constantly being added to the enlistment 
roll. He was followed by W. J. Manker and Rev. J. S. Woods, both of 
whom delivered eloquent speeches of great power and loyalty. A plan 
for a home guard was then presented, providing for the support of the 
families of volunteers, for the organization of home militia to be in readi- 
ness for any peril to the county, State or nation, and calling upon all the 
townships for co-operation and assistance. The plan or resolution was 
unanimously adopted, and a subscription of $72 for the volunteers was 
taken from the citizens of Martinsville, and $23 from the citizens of 
Morgantown. W. J, Manker and W. C. Smith, of Martinsville, were 
appointed a committee to procure blankets for the company, and Jacob 
Adams and William Fesler were appointed to do the same at Morgai;i- 
town. At this juncture of the meeting, J. K. Scott, Captain of the com- 
pany, arrived from Indianapolis and announced that the company had 



54 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

been accepted by the Governor, and would march at 6 o'clock on Monday 
morning for Camp Morton, Indianapolis. The enthusiasm immediately 
became intense, many more volunteered, and more than twenty farmers 
volunteered wagons to haul the boys to the capital. The meeting ad- 
journed, to meet again the following Wednesday night. 

OTHER LOYAL MEETINGS. 

The citizens of Monrovia, soon after the receipt of the news of the 
fall of Fort Sumter, organized a military company and elected Mr. Fos- 
ter Captain ; but, learning that the company would probably not be re- 
ceived by the Governor, soon disbanded. On the 19th of April, at 1 
o'clock P. M., a big war meeting was held at Morgantown. J. R. Cul- 
bertson was chosen Chairman, and J. M. Ragsdale, Secretary. Eloquent 
speeches were made by P. S. Parks, Judge Griggs and Col. John 
Vawter. The meeting was very enthusiastic, and the speakers were 
constantly interrupted by tremendous cheers. The following resolution 
was adopted : 

Besolved, That we are devotedly attached to our flag and Government, and that 
we heartily respond to the requisition of tlie President of the United States and the 
Governor of this State for troops for the maintenance of the honor of our flag and 
the integrity of our Government. 

A rousing meeting was also held at Mooresville, and great loyalty 
was manifested by the members of all parties. The first men to leave 
the county to enter the service, so far as known, went from the neighbor- 
hood south of Mooresville. These men were W. H. Dryden, John T. 
Harvey, Nathan Summers, Thomas Brady, Thomas F. Dryden and Rob- 
ert B. Gilbert. They reached Indianapolis on the forenoon of the 17th, 
and in the afternoon were joined by many others from Morgan County 
anxious for a position in some regiment. The men mentioned were as- 
signed to the Fifteenth Regiment, three years' service, and were credited 
to Montgomery County. They were not the first in the service from 
the county. Who were is difficult to state. 

The issue of the Gazette of April 24 contained the following : 

OUK VOLUNTEERS. 

A company of volunteers over 130 strong left this place on Monday morning 
last for Camp Morton, Indianapolis. They were commanded by J. K. Scott, Cap- 
tain; Charles Day, First Lieutenant, and T. F. Orner, Second Lieutenant. Previous 
to their departure, a patriotic and affecting address was made to them by Rev. W. 
C. Smith. Among the vast throng assembled to see the volunteers depart, we do 
not believe that a single dry eye could have been found during the delivery of that 
speech. We can say this much for the Morgan County boys: A braver and more 
determined set of men never went forth to face an enemy. We feel confident that 
in whatever position they may be placed Capt. Scott and his command will give a 
creditable account of themselves. 

The same issue contained the following : 

The Union feeling is on the increase. With but few exceptions, Morgan County 
is sound for the Union. For a week past our town has been profuselj^ decorated 
with the stars and stripes, and our streets enlivened by the sound of fife and drum. 
A large volunteer force has been raised, and we have plenty of material to form 
another should it be needed. Men who were open disunionists a week ago, are now 
ready to defend the Union. 

Also the following in the same issue : 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 55 

On Sunday last, over $100 was made up in this town, for the purpose of uni- 
forming and equipping the officers of the Morgan County Volunteers. This was 
due to the energy and perseverance of one or two of our citizens. 

In this issue, also, was a lengthy editorial, reviewing the position 
taken by the Morgan County Clarion. It seems that the latter had 
asserted that "any State has the right to secede from the Union," that 
it (the Clarion) would " not raise a hand in hostility against its Southern 
brethren," that the pending crisis was a "sectional war," and that the 
volunteers were " disseminators of abolitionism trying to destroy the 
country." The G-azette proceeded to administer a severe rebuke to the 
Clarion for its alleged treasonable and disloyal utterances. The article 
was long' and bitter. 

CONTINUED PUBLIC DEMONSTRATION. 

Another immense war meeting was held at the court house on the 
evening of the 24th of April, to make arrangements to provide Capt. 
Scott's company with uniforms, and to raise funds for the support of the 
families of volunteers. Rev. W. C. Smith was called to the chair, and 
P. M. Parks was appointed Secretary. A resolution was presented by 
Jackson Record, and adopted, asking the County Commissioners to do- 
nate means from the county treasury to uniform the volunteers and pro- 
vide soldiers' families with necessaries. Arrangements were made to 
secure a loan from the citizens with the above mentioned objects in view, 
until the County Board could be prevailed upon to appropriate the needed 
amount from the county treasury. The meeting was very enthusiastic, 
and $165 was raised, $100 of which was sent to Capt. Scott's company, 
and the balance retained for volunteers' families. 

On the same evening of this meeting, a rousing one was held at 
Morgantown by the citizens of that vicinity, and many from Brown and 
Johnson Counties. William Fesler was Chairman, and J. M. Ragsdale, 
Secretary. A long series of patriotic resolutions was adopted. Speeches 
were made by T. D. Calvin, of Brown County, and S. 0. W. Garret, of 
Johnson County. A company of seventy-five men was enrolled amid 
the music of fife and drum, and the cheers of the vast audience. The 
company was named the "Morgantown Military Home Guard." The 
greatest loyalty was manifested at this meeting. Patriotic war meetings 
were held about this time at Mooresville and in Gregg, Adams and other 
townships, but as the details were not recorded they cannot be given here. 
A second company began to form at Martinsville about this time, and in 
other portions of the county, Home Guards were organized. Loyal 
meetings were held everywhere. Schoolhouses and churches were thus 
occupied, and ministers stepped aside from their high calling to denounce 
the course of the South and encourage the enlistment of volunteers. 

HOME GUARDS. 

Early in May, the company of Home Guards at Martinsville was fully 
organized, and the necessary officers were elected. A small company 
was formed at Howell's Schoolhouse on the 4th of May, and the follow- 
ing officers were elected : Madison Avery, Captain ; Hugh McElravy. 
First Lieutenant. John W. Payne was President of the meeting, and 
G. W. Hall, Secretary. 



56 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

On the 1st of May, a big war meeting was held in Indian Creek 
Bottom at the schoolhouse near Widow Long's. The presiding officers 
were John Buckner, Chairman, and James Maxwell, Jr., Secretary. A 
long series of loyal resolutions was adopted. Early in May, an attempt 
was made to hang a citizen of the county for boldly and publicly express- 
ing decided disloyal sentiments. He had come to the county seat to 
trade, but left town very hurriedly when threats of lynching seemed 
likely to ]^e carried into execution. 

The G-azette of June 5 said : 

MILITARY SPIRIT. 

We are emphatically a war-like people. The rolling of the drum and the notes 
of the fife are heard every day. A large number of our citizeus congregate at 
Military Hall almost every night and go through the exercise of drilling. Even the 
little girls and boys have caught the fever and may frequently be seen marching and 
counter-marching, drumming upon tin pans and old stove-pipes, whistling and sing- 
ing national airs, floiuishing wooden swords, guns, etc. Vive les enfans ! 

It seems that the company of Home Guards at Martinsville had a 
second and more satisfactory election of officers, as will be seen from the 
following, which appeared in the G-azette of June 12 : 

MARTINSVILLE RIFLES. 

This company, organized under the new militia law, was sworn into the service 
of the State on Saturday afternoon last. The oath was administered by Capt. Ben- 
jamin Hayward, in front of Military Hall, and furnished quite an impressive and 
solemn scene. The following persons were elected officers of the company: Ebenezer 
Henderson, Sr., Captain; Thomas Morrison, First Lieutenant ; W. A. S. Mitchell, 
Second Lieutenant ; William Harrison, Orderly. 

The Gazette of June 19 said: 

THE MILITIA. 

Four companies of militia have been organized in Morgan County under the 
militia law at the following places : Martinsville, Morgantown, Eminence and Cen- 
terton. For an out of the way county, destitute of railroad and telegraphic facili- 
ties, that will do pretty well. 

It should be remembered that these companies were militia, but early 
in June the Gazette joyously stated that Ambrose Cunning had been 
commissioned to raise a company for the war. P. S. Parks had been 
commissioned for the same purpose a short time before, but meeting with 
an accident whereby his leg was broken, he was forced to give it up. 
The officers of the Centerton militia company were Jacob Hess, Captain ; 
Thomas Grinstead, First Lieutenant: Clayton Cox, Second Lieutenant. 
There were sixty men in the company about the 8th of June, and the 
company drilled every Saturday on the Fair Ground. The men were 
sworn into State service June 8, The Morgantown militia company was 
officered as follows : J. J. Johnston, Captain ; J. R. Culbertson, First 
Lieutenant; John R. Fesler, Second Lieutenant; J. K. Coffman, Orderly. 
Col. John Vawter sAvore the company, numbering fifty-two men, into the 
State service before June 18. On Saturday, June 22, the beautiful cer- 
emony of presenting the company a flag, by the ladies. of Morgantown, 
was enjoyed by that portion of the county. 

On the last day of July, it was stated that four companies were being 
organized in the county for the war, to wit : The one at Martinsville, 
under Capt. A. D. Cunning ; one in Baker Township, commanded by 



HISTORY OF xMORGAN COUNTY. 57 

Capt. James E. Burton ; the one at Morgantown, under Capt. J. J. 
Johnston, and the militia company at Martinsville, under Capt. A. S. 
Griggs, -which had not yet decided to enter the United States service. 

CAPT. SCOTT'S company. 

This company was the only one from the county in the three months' 
service. It was assigned to the Seventh Regiment, and became Company 
K, and on the 29th of May was ordered into Western Virginia with its 
regiment, which was commanded by Col. Ebenezer Dumont, who had 
served in the Mexican war. The company participated in the action at 
Phillippi, being in the advance, and about six weeks later in the skirmish 
at Bealington, and in all the marches, reconnoissances, pursuits, etc., in- 
cluding the charge at Carrick's Ford, and the subsequent pursuit of the 
enemy. The latter part of July the regiment was ordered to Indianap- 
olis for muster out. On the 27th, the company of Capt. Scott reached 
Martinsville. On their way, they had stopped at Mooresville, where a 
splendid reception was given them, and where they were feasted and 
toasted with all the pomp and ceremony of war. As they neared Mar- 
tinsville, they were met by the entire town, led by the band, and such a 
joyous time was never before witnessed at the county seat. How noble 
the boys looked in their bright blue uniforms, and with what wonderful 
precision they moved along to the stirring sound of fife and drum. And 
what a glorious time they all had at the Thomas House, where an elegant 
and sumptuous supper had been prepared for them. Triumphal arches 
had been spanned over the streets, on which were the names of engage- 
ments participated in by the company, and over and around which were 
hung garlands of evergreen and summer flowers, and many a banner of 
red, white and blue. An eloquent welcoming address was delivered by 
Rev. Smith, and responded to by numerous members of the company, 
who gave an account of the wild scenes of active Avar in Virginia, and 
exhibited numerous trophies of their victories. But one of the company 
had died in the service, John McDaniel, who had died a natural death in 
Virginia. The festivities were carried far into the night, and were greatly 
enjoyed. 

OTHER COMPANIES FOR THE WAR. 

Almost all the early regiments contained men from Morgan County. 
The second company to enter the service was commanded by Capt. Jacob 
Hess, and was raised and organized at Centerton and vicinity. They 
were mustered into the service July 24, and were given a public farewell 
meeting by their friends just before their departure for Indianapolis. A 
committee, consisting of Misses Jennie Major, Mary McCracken, Eliza 
Manker and others had been appointed to secure donations of money to 
procure a flag for the company. They reported that $55.66 had been 
received, of which all but $15.66 had been used in purchasing material, 
etc. The magnificent silk flag, which had been made by the fair hands 
of the committee, was presented to the company with appropriate cere- 
mony. The men became Company K, of the Twenty-first Regiment, three 
years' service. Company B of the same regiment, which was organized 
at Gosport, contained about twenty men from the county. July and 
August saw lively times in the county. Lieut. T. F. Orner and W. J 



58 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

Manker began to recruit men to fill up the old company of Capt. Scott 
for the three years' service. Capt. Griggs was steadily enlisting men at 
Martinsville, and Capt. Burton was doing likewise in Baker Township 
and vicinity. Capt. Wellman was raising a company in the northern 
part of the county, Capt. Cunning was also at work at Martinsville 
and vicinity. War meetings were held everywhere as a stimulus to obtain 
volunteers. Eloquent speakers and thrilling martial bands would stir up 
the blood, and beautiful ladies with bewitching smiles would pass round 
the fatal enlistment roll. The whole county was alive with military prep- 
arations. Late in July, the citizens of Gregg Township and vicinity or- 
ganized a company of home guards, consisting wholly of old men exempt 
from military service, being over forty-five years of age. The company 
numbered forty-two. One-half of Company E, Twenty-sixth Regiment, 
was raised in the northern part of the county, and finally mustered into 
the service August 30. It was raised largely by Capt. Lewis Manker. 
On the 19th of August, Capt. J. J. Johnston's company left for Indian- 
apolis, but was not mustered in until September 12. It became Com- 
pany G of the Twenty-seventh Regiment, three years' service. On the 
7th of September, Capt. Johnston was commissioned Surgeon of the regi- 
ment, and John R. Fesler succeeded him in command of Company G. 
The men raised in the northern part of the county by Capt. Wellman and 
others became Company A, of the Thirty-third Regiment. They were 
mustered into the service at Indianapolis September 16. In the latter 
part of August, when they left the county, a number of disloyal citizens 
in the vicinity of Hall felled trees across the road over which they would 
have to march, built fences across the same, tore up bridges, etc., to ob- 
struct their march and testify of the ill-will of such citizens. Company 
C of this regiment was wholly from the county. This was the successor 
of Capt. Scott's old company. It was thought that W. J. Manker would 
be Captain, but as he was appointed Major of the same regiment, Charles 
Day succeeded him as commander of Company C. About half of Com- 
pany E, of the Thirty-third, was raised in the county by W. A. Whitson, 
Dr. Whitaker and others. The greater portion of Company H, of the 
Thirty-third, was also from Morgan County, the remainder being from 
Gosport. This was the company of Capt. Burton. Company C was 
mustered in on the 16th of September, Company E on the 21st of Sep- 
tember, and Company H on the 16th of September. There were thus 
in the Thirty-third Regiment at the time of muster-in about three and a 
half companies from Morgan County. Several had left the county and 
joined other regiments. 

ENTHUSIASTIC WAR MEETINGS. 

On the 24th of August, a very large Union war meeting was held at 
Martinsville to raise volunteers for the war. A large crowd assembled 
to listen to the speeches and to participate in the event. The orators 
were S. H. Buskirk, Rev. Harned, Rev. Lester, P. M. Blankenship, J. 
E. Burton, W. J. Manker, P. S. Parks and others. The greatest mili- 
tary fervor and loyalty prevailed. Many volunteers were secured for the 
companies then being organized. This was but a sample of the meetings 
held throughout the county. When the company raised largely by W. 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 59 

J. Manker and commanded by Capt. Charles Day left Martinsville, the 
ceremony of presenting the boys with the same silk banner which Capt. 
Scott's company in the three months' service had carried through the 
campaign in Western Virginia, was enjoyed amid imposing ceremonies. 
The banner had been bought by Capt. Scott for that purpose, and the 
presentation speech was delivered by 0. R. Daugherty, and responded to 
by Capt. Day. Both speeches were loyal, eloquent, and a credit to the 
citizens and the company. No sooner was the company ready than the 
boys were loaded into twenty or more wagons, and conveyed amid the 
rattle of drums and the cheers of the populace to the State capital. This 
was true of all the companies and recruits, as the county had no railroad 
then running. It was the most stirring time the county ever saw, before 
or since, as the patriotic impulse was fresh then in the breasts of all, and 
extreme partisan bitterness had not yet crept in with its disloyal madness 
and delirium. The G-azette of September 18 said : 

Morgan County has raised and sent out eight companies to aid in putting down 
the rebellion. The Captains and the regiments to which they belong are as follows: 
Capt. Hess, of the Twenty-first; Capt. Lewis Manker, of the Twenty-sixth; Capt. 
Johnston, of the Twenty-seventh ; and Capts. T. J. Wellman, Charles Day, J. E. 
Burton and Whitson, of the Thirty-third; also Capt. Scott, of the Seventh, in the 
three months' service. In addition to this, our county has a large number of men 
distributed in the various Indiana regiments, some in the zouaves, others in artillery 
companies, etc. Two of our companies are in active service, that of Capt. Hess in 
Maryland, and that of Capt. Louis Manker in Missouri. The remaining companies, 
except that of Capt. Scott, are in camp at Indianapolis. 

It should be remembered that two of these companies had been only 
partly raised in Morgan County, but enough had left for the war in other 
regiments to raise the number up to about the figures of the editor. 
This was certainly an excellent showing, for which the county may be 
justly proud. But the work was scarcely over with the above companies 
before Capts. Scott and Cunning and Lieut. Orner began raising more 
volunteers to form a new company. They were assisted by P. S. Parks, 
Capt. Hayward and others. Owing to a political controversy in the 
county, Mr. Parks, about the middle of October, challenged A, B. Con- 
duitt, J. C. Henderson, 0. R. Daugherty and H. T. Craig to stump the 
county for volunteers, each man to pay his own expenses. For some 
reason the challenge was not accepted. Thirty-five men had been secured 
by the middle of November. This company was designed for the Fifty- 
ninth Regiment which was being rendezvoused at Gosport. The enlist- 
ment of the regiment continued slowly during the winter months. In 
February, 1862, various public meetings were held in the county, indors- 
ing the action of the United States Senate in expelling Jesse D. Bright 
from that body for disloyalty, etc. On the 11th of February, 1862, the 
Fifty-ninth Regiment was mustered into the service. About half of Com- 
pany B was from Morgan County, and nearly as many more men were 
scattered through other companies, notably Company I. 

But little effort was made during the first half of the year 1862 to 
raise volunteers for the war. The county had filled her quota under all 
calls, and had a surplus to her credit. During these months, the county 
in order to systematize future enlistments of men, elected the following 
County Military Committee : W. B. Taylor, Washington Township ; 
James Pratt, Jackson ; John Williams, Green ; Cyrus Whetzell, Harri- 

4 



60 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

son ; Allen Hecklin, Madison ; V. Butterfield, Clay ; John Thornburg, 
Brown ; Uriah Ballard, Monroe ; Isaac Ratliff, Adams ; G. W. Wellman, 
Gregg ; Philip Hodges, Ray ; Jeiferson Farr, Baker. 

THE FOURTH OF JULY, 1862. 

Extensive preparations had been made to celebrate Independence Day, 
and early in the morning the crowd began to arrive. Long processions 
of wagons, carriages and dust-begrimed pedestrians came trooping in 
under the command of a Marshal, led by one or more bands of martial 
music, and gaily decorated with bright flowers and national colors, and 
ornamented with the beautiful holiday apparel of summer. By 9 o'clock 
in the morning, the streets of the county seat were surging with the rest- 
less waves of patriotic humanity, while above the Babel of tongues arose 
the shrill sound of many fifes and the deep roll of many drums. The 
omnipresent small boy was out en masse, with all his torturing sounds and 
doleful cries, filling the bright morning with din and smoke. A huge 
flag pole had been erected near the square, from which a magnificent 
banner waved proudly in the sunny sky. Several wagons drawn by 
four horses came in from the country, loaded with young ladies dressed 
in white and decorated with red and blue, and ornamented with wreaths 
of roses and sweet smiles. At 10 o'clock all the fragments were united 
into one grand procession, more than a mile in length, and were marched 
out to Mitchell's Grove, where the ceremonies of the day were to be 
observed. Prayer was ofiered by Benjamin Sweet, and the Declaration 
of Independence read by A. S. Griggs. A chosen chorus of singers 
rendered selections of patriotic music for the occasion. 0. R. Daugherty, 
the orator of the forenoon, delivered an eloquent address forty minutes 
in length. His closing words were : " The war is not being waged upon 
the part of the Government for the purpose of conquest or subjugation, 
or the overthrow of or interference with the established institutions of 
any of the States, but to suppress and put down a wicked and causeless 
rebellion, defend and maintain the supremacy of the Constitution, and 
preserve the Union as established by our patriot fathers, with all the 
dignity, equality and rights of the several States unimpaired, and that 
when these objects are fully accomplished, and not before, the war 
should cease." A bounteous picnic dinner was then spread out under the 
green foliage, and partaken of by all present. Soldiers were present in 
military dress, at home on furlough from the field of war, and were lion- 
ized by young and old, and toasted in many a glass of lemonade or bev- 
erage of greater strength. In the afternoon the assemblage was addressed 
by Dr. J. J. Wright and P. S. Parks, both of whom delivered speeches 
of unusual loyalty and power. At their conclusion the audience dispersed 
to their homes, except the young people, who remained to dance the hours 
of the night away. The day was long remembered. 

RENEWED ENLISTMENT OF VOLUNTEERS. 

On the 2d of July, 1862, came the call for 300,000 men, and the 
county made immediate preparations to fill her quota. Ezra Olleman, 
A. D. Cunning and Samuel Harryman were commissioned to procure 
volunteers under the call, and immediately began active work. On one 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 61 

occasion in the Gazette office, in order to induce married men to volunteer, a 
subscription of $235 was raised in one evening for the wives and families of 
such men. By the last days of July, A. D. Cunning reported that he had 
secured fifty volunteers. These men were designed for the Seventieth 
Regiment, and were paid $10 each of county bounty by the Board of 
Commissioners. Lewis Manker began enlisting men for the Seventy- 
ninth Regiment. War meetings were again held in all portions'of the 
county. On the 4th of August came another call for 300,000 men, and 
the efforts to raise volunteers multiplied. About forty men from 'Adams 
Township entered a company that was raised at Stilesville. The men 
recruited by OUeman entered the Seventieth Regiment. A small squad of 
men (about thirty), raised by Lieut. Sylvanus Barnard, entered the Fourth 
Cavalry (Seventy-seventh Regiment.) About thirty-five men were raised 
by John E. Greer, in the northern part of the county mostly, and were 
assigned to the Fifth Cavalry. About one-third of Company B, of the 
Seventy-ninth Regiment was raised by Capt. Lewis Manker, and all, or 
nearly so, of Company H of the same regiment, was from Morgan 
County, the Captain being Sanford C. Pruitt. These men were largely 
secured by Judge Griggs and Justice Killian. Great pressure was brought to 
bear upon the county by threats of the approaching draft, and the interest 
equaled that of July and August, 1861. Capt. Samuel F. Rooker raised 
an entire company at Mooresville, which entered the Twelfth Infantry, 
one year's service. They were presented a beautiful flag upon their de- 
parture. 

THE WAR MEETING OF AUGUST 2. 

On this day one of the largest crowds ever in Martinsville, assembled 
to listen to the speech of Judge Hughs. Early in the morning the 
ciiizens of the town had erected a tall flag-pole from which a magnificent 
banner thirty feet in length was suspended by Mrs. Col. Scott, Miss An- 
na Deitz, Miss Maria Mitchell, Miss Lou Gwinn, Mrs. Kennedy and 
Miss Anna Barnard. As this beautiful banner caught the breeze and 
unfurled its rich colors in the morning sun, the assembled crowd burst 
into a chorus of tumultuous cheers at the grand spectacle. Perry Blan- 
kenship mounted a dry goods box and eulogized the banner as an emblem 
of the national life and honor. He was followed by AVilliamson Terrell 
and others. Several thousand people were present. At 10 o'clock, the 
procession was marched gayly to Mitchell's Grove, where stands and seats 
had been prepared. As Judge Hughs had not appeared, the crowd was 
addressed by 0. R. Daugherty and Rev. Smith. Both speakers were 
listened to with close attention. About B o'clock in the afternoon Judge 
Hughs appeared, and delivered a fiery speech of one hour's duration, that 
was listened to by the large crowd and applauded to the echo. The en- 
thusiasm during the day ran to fever heat. All were filled with the mili- 
tary spirit of the hour, and enjoyed all features of the occasion with the 
keenest relish. The issue of the Gazette August 9, said: 

The military fever never ran so high in this county as it does at the present 
time. 

The Gazette of August 16, said: 

War meetings are all the rage now, and Morgan County is not behind 
the times. We defy any other county in this or any other State to get up 



62 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

more war meetings, or larger or more enthusiastic meetings, tlian we can 
in Old Morgan. The county is in one blaze of excitement, meetings are held 
in almost every neighborhood, and here in INIartinsville for the last two weeks 
it has been almost one continual meeting. It had been rather quiet for a day 
or two, when on Friday morning Perry Blankenship came marching into town at 
the head of a procession consisting of about thirty wagons and about fifty horse- 
men. Mr. Blankenship made a stirring and eloquent speech to a large crowd in the 
afternoon, and obtained several recruits for his company. 

The same issue contained the following : 

Since the new call for 300,000 volunteers, this county has sent to camp three 
full companies, which are officered as follows: First— Barclay Johnson, Captain; W. 
E. Tansey, First Lieutenant; S K. Harryman, Second Lieutenant. Second— A. D. 
Cunning, Captain; William Hardenbrook, First Lieutenant; Willis Record, Second 
Lieutenant. Third — S. M. Rooker, Captain; T.N. Peoples, First Lieutenant; Caleb 
Day, Second Lieutenant. Two companies more are organizing, and will be ready 
to go into camp next week. In addition to this, the county has furnished forty re- 
cruits for the cavalry regiment, and seventy-five for the infantry companies in ad- 
jacent counties, making an aggregate of over 600 men under the late volunteer levy. 
Morgan more than fills the bill. Her actual quota is about 150 men. For the three 
months' service, the county furnished about two companies, and'for the three years' 
service seven companies. Add to this those who have enlisted singly and in squads 
in various regiments, and we can safely say that Morgan County has furnished 1,500 
men for the suppression of the rebellion. Our voting population is 3,000. If any 
county can beat us, " trot it out." 

THE DRAFT OF OCTOBER 6, 1862. 

This draft took place, not because the State was behind with her 
quotas, or because the counties were behind, but was designed to compel 
disloyal or indolent townships to do their share in furnishing men for the 
war. Morgan County had furnished more than her quota, but as three 
townships — Jackson, Green and Madison — were behind, the draft oc- 
curred on the date above given. This draft was based upon the following 
statement, which was made out on the 19th of September, 1862 : Total 
militia, 2,224; total volunteers, 1,232; total exempts, 435; total con- 
scientiously opposed to bearing arms, 93 ; total volunteers in the service, 
1,188; total subject. to draft, 1,696. The draft, or conscript officers, of 
the county were as follows : W. R. Harrison (who was himself drafted 
in 1864), Commissioner; James Maxwell, Jr., Marshal; Benjamin D. 
Blackstone, Surgeon. The draft took place on the date stated in the 
court house, and was quiet and uneventful. In Jackson, twelve were 
drafted ; in Green seven, and in Madison six. All the drafted reported, 
and were taken to Indianapolis and assigned to some regiment. Just 
before this draft, the following table was published in the Grazette, though 
whether it h official cannot be stated : 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 



63 



TOWNSHIPS. 



Number 


Number 


Subject 


Number 


Number 


between 




to 


of 




18 and 45. 


Exempted. 


Draft. 


Volunteers. 


Discharged. 


51 


12 


39 


58 


3 


330 


44 


291 


180 


15 


217 


38 


179 


68 


2 


215 


50 


168 


72 




66 


15 


54 


26 


1 


158 


24 


134 , 


55 


2 


142 


23 


119 


115 


7 


182 


41 


138 


110 


4 


271 


53 


217 


118 


5 


127 


40 


87 


87 


1 


93 


21 


70 


81 


2 


165 


29 


136 


150 


1 


208 


50 


157 


103 


1 


2225 


436 . 


1789 


1223 


44 



In the 

Service and 

Dead. 



Baker 

Washington 
Jackson. . . . 

Green 

Harrison . . 
Madison . . . 

Clay 

Brown 

Monroe 

Gregg 

Jefferson . . . 

Ray 

Adams 

Total. . 



55 
165 
66 

72 

25 

53 

108 

106 

113 

86 

79 

149 

102 



1179 



This table must not be regarded as free from errors, though it illus- 
trates about the situation of the county. 

ENLISTMENTS DURING THE WINTER OF 1862-63. 

During the winter of 1862-63 but little was done to raise volunteers. 
William Gurley recruited a small squad for Rabb's Battery (the Second) 
in February and March, 1863. In May and June, Capts. Burton and 
Seaton and Lieut. Day recruited thirty or forty men for the Thirty-third 
Regiment. On the 15th of June came the call for 100,000 men for six 
months, and an entire company was raised in the northwestern part of 
the county and assigned to the One Hundred and Seventeenth Regiment. 
The men became Company C, with A. T. Wellman, Captain; James 
Pugh, First Lieutenant ; William McGinnis, Second Lieutenant. At an 
immense war meeting, held at Martinsville May ?1, quite a number of 
recruits was raised for various regiments. About the same time, meet- 
ings of a similar character were held at Mooresville, Monrovia, Eminence, 
Morgantown, Paragon and elsewhere, large crowds being present. Capt. 
Johnston, Dr. Wright and other speakers entertained the audiences. Much 
disloyalty was manifested in the county at this time, an account of which 
will be found elsewhere. In July, J. G. Mitchell recruited a squad for 
the Seventh Cavalry. Several other recruiting officers were at work 
about the same time, among them being Capts. Wellman (mentioned 
above) and Goodhue, who obtained men for the six months' service. 

GEN. morgan's raid. 

At no time during the progress of the war were the people in the 
southern half of Indiana so thoroughly roused as they were when John 
Morgan invaded the State in July, 1863, and the excitement in Morgan 
County was fully up to the fever of the hour. Men who were opposed to 
the continuance of the war were no sooner apprised of the invasion than 
they immediately tendered their services to repel or capture the daring 
enemy. Seven full companies were organized in an incredibly short space 
of time, and four of them — one of cavalry and three of infantry — marched 
rapidly to the State Capital and offered their services to the Governor. 



64 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

One of the companies raised at Martinsville, was commanded by Capt. 
Sylvanus Barnard. The company raised in JeiFerson Township was com- 
manded by Capt. William Nicholson, and the one in Ray by Capt. Joseph 
Bradley. Capt. Joel Matthews, who raised a company in Brown, did not 
leave the county with his company. None of the companies saw any ac- 
tive service in pursuit of Morgan, and all soon returned, Morgan's raid 
did much to quiet the partisan asperities which had been troubling the 
county in no small degree. About this time a company of old men, called 
the " Silver Grays," was organized at the coiuity seat as a home guard. 

THE FOURTH OF JULY, 1863. 
The day was ushered in by the ringing of bells and the firing of guns 
and anvils. Soon after sunrise, gay processions of country people began 
to arrive, and at 9 o'clock the county seat was alive with a swarming, 
noisy multitude. It was stated that there were 3,000 people in town on 
this eventful day. At about 10 o'clock, Capt. Hay ward and Henry Sims, 
Marshals of the Day, formed the crowd into a procession around the pub- 
lic square, and the march to Mitchell's Grove was commenced. Prayer was 
oflfered by Rev. S. B, Sutton, and the Declaration of Independence was 
read by Dr. Tarleton. Choice patriotic music was furnished by Mrs. H. B. 
Johnson, Mrs. T. B. Mitchell, Miss Lou Gwinn, Miss Nannie Litten, Mrs. P. 
S. Parks, Mrs. J. C. Sampson, T. J. Sloan, How Parks, George Townsend 
and W. R. Shepard. A small squad of soldiers was present in military 
dress. The first speaker was C. F. McNutt, who was followed by Dr. J. J. 
Wright. A beautiful ode, written for the occasion by Mrs. Paul Dumer, 
was read by W. R. Shepard, and was greatly admired by the assemblage. 
A magnificent dinner was spread out in the grove, and eaten with epicu- 
rean appetite. The event of the day was the parade of a company of about 
forty " Raging Tads." They appeared about 3 o'clock in the afternoon, 
dressed in the most frightful attire which their imaginations and means 
could suggest and procure, and ornamented in a manner to ''make the 
angels weep." They marched around like a war party of Comanches, ut- 
tering direful yells which curdled the blood, and cutting capers of sufficient 
apishness to put to shame a modern Congressman or a professional politi- 
cian. A troop of the young scions of the town followed them in high 
glee, counterfeiting their diabolical buffoonery in an ecstasy of childish 
bliss. The parade was enjoyed by all. In the evening a brilliant social 
was held at ]?ark & Hites' Hall, and at Military Hall on the west side of 
the public square. Both halls were beautifully decorated with flowers and 
sprays of evergreen. In Military Hall, a large steel engraving of Wash- 
ington was suspended, around and over which bright garlands and loyal 
colors were wreathed. The evening was one of the most enjoyable and 
brilliant ever witnessed in the county seat. Celebrations of the day were 
held elsewhere in the county, but as no account was published the rec- 
ord cannot be given in these pages. 

ADDITIONAL CALLS AND ENLISTMENTS. 

On the 17th of October, 1863, came the call for 300,000 men for two 
years, and the task of securing volunteers was renewed. Lieuts. Willis 
Record and McCracken and others secured about sixty men for the 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 65 

Seventieth Regiment in December, 1863, and January, 1864. In Jan- 
uary and February, thirty-three colored men were hired at $100 each 
to represent Washington Township in the army. They were assigned to 
Company E, Twenty-eighth Regiment United States Colored Troops. 
Four or five of these men only were from Morgan County ; the others 
were partly contrabands from the South. The colored men were turned 
over to Lieut. Richard Curry. A few recruits entered the Twelfth Regi- 
ment, and a few more the Twenty-first. Lieut. J. C. Farr recruited a 
squad for the Thirty-third, and Clark Graves secured a few for his regi- 
ment. Nearly all of the regiments containing men from the county re- 
ceived from few to many recruits. Lieut. Rundle recruited for the Twen- 
ty-seventh. By the 9th of January, 1864, only Brown and Madison 
Townships had furnished their quotas under the October call of 1863. 
Washington cleared her quota with colored men, as did also Clay, the lat- 
ter paying' $1,800 for nine colored men. The other townships slowly 
raised their men during the early part of 1864, sending them as recruits 
into the older regiments. 

RECEPTION OF THE VETERANS. 

On Saturday, April 9, 1864, a large assemblage of the citizens 
gathered at the county seat, pursuant to call, to formally receive the vet- 
erans who had come home on furlough. The citizens came from all 
quarters on foot, horseback and in carriages and wagons, until the town 
was filled. Capt. Day, at 11 o'clock, formed the veterans into rank and 
marched them to the commons southwest of town, where they were put 
through musket and bayonet practice and military evolutions for the 
benefit of the crowd. Then all marched back to the court house, from 
the door of which Maj. Manker delivered the eloquent welcoming speech. 
Col. Coburn responded in behalf of the Thirty-third Regiment. Several 
hundred soldiers were present, and as they marched around in rank with 
the wonderful precision of veterans the wildest enthusiasm was kindled 
in the breasts of the spectators. An enormous table on the south side of 
the square, extending the whole length of the yard east and west, was 
loaded to the verge of breaking down with the choicest viands the county 
could produce. Over 1,500 persons dined at this gigantic table, and at 
the conclusion of the feast the large store still remaining untouched was 
distributed to soldiers' families. At 2 o'clock P. M., Judge Gooding 
spoke to "the largest crowd ever in the town." His speech was nearly 
three hours in length, and was a splendid specimen of American loyalty, 
oratory and eloquence. The reception did not conclude with this meet- 
ing, but continued in an informal character until the furloughs of the 
veterans ended. They were feasted and toasted in public and in private ; 
and fetes, soirees, socials, picnics, parties and balls were given in their 
honor and for their express enjoyment. Ah, how the boys enjoyed the 
short thirty days, after the hardships, marches, fatigues, battles and 
starvations in the South ! Everything which love and loyalty could 
suggest was done for their comfort and happiness. Many of the veterans 
were from the Eleventh and other regiments containing Morgan County 
men. Before this reception, the ladies had given the veterans from Mar- 



66 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

tinsvillea formal welcome home at Temperance Hall. The gathering was 
gay and brilliant. 

CONTINUED ENLISTMENTS IN 1864, 

Under the calls of February and March, 1864, a few recruits were 
secured, but the enlistment was slow and unattended with noteworthy 
events. On the 23d of April came the call for 85,000 men for the 100 
days' service. About thirty men were raised in the county by Capt. W. 
J. blanker and Lieut. J. E. Goodhue. They were assigned to the One 
Hundred and Thirty-second Regiment, and by a mistake credited to 
Marion County. A few small squads entered the older regiments. In 
July came the call for 500,000 men for one, two and three years, and 
the county was again stimulated into activity. War meetings were again 
held everywhere, and large offers of local bounty were made. The 
county quota was large, but the citizens went resolutely to work to fill 
the call. No effort seems to have been made to organize a company 
wholly in the county, but nearly all the men secured went as recruits to 
the older regiments. The county made great exertion, all the leading 
men traversing the county, speaking to scores of audiences and stirring 
up those liable to be drafted. By the 20th of August, Gregg was the 
only township which had filled her quota ; she had a surplus of seven. 
The others were behind in the following figures: Washington, 20; 
Jackson, 25; Greene, 49; Harrison, 13; Madison, 27; Clay, 11; 
Brown, 33 ; Monroe, 26 ; Adams, 7 ; Jefferson, 7 ; Baker, 12 ; and 
Ray, 36. It will be seen that up to that time some of the townships had 
done little better than nothing. At a big political meeting held at 
Waverly about the middle of September, Gov. Morton addressed the 
citizens on the Presidential issues and the state of the war. 

THE DRAFT OF SEPTEMBER 21, 1864. 

As the time passed, it was seen that the county could not escape the 
draft. Indeed, some townships waited its appearance with charming 
composure. The numbers drafted cannot be given, but it is likely that 
all the townships except Gregg were levied upon. A. S. Griggs was 
Provost Marshal for Morgan County. The draft took place at Indian- 
apolis. After the draft, the townships were given an opportunity of 
clearing their quotas by volunteers or substitutes, which several succeeded 
in doing. The Gazette of October 29 said : 

All the townships in this county, except "Washington, Clay, Monroe and Baker, 
have filled their quotas under the draft, by volunteers. In this township (Washing- 
ton), after exhausting the 100 per cent drawn, the quota lacks two of being full. 
Unless those two are furnished by volunteers, another draw will be made. 

Some trouble arose in Brown Township over the draft. After the drafted men, 
had been mustered into the service, thej' no longer had the power to fill quotas 
under the draft with volunteers. Quite a number did not know this until after be- 
ing mustered in; then it was too late. 

The drafted men were taken to Indianapolis October 26, and assigned 
to various old regiments. Thus was the county quota filled. 

THE PRESIDENTIAL AND GUBERNATORIAL CAMPAIGNS OF 1864. 

This campaign was very spirited, and was conducted with all the 
strength of the two parties. The real issue was upon the further con- 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 67 

tinuance of the war. Gov. Morton, as noticed above, and other dis- 
tinguished speakers, addressed Morgan County audiences. On the Sat- 
urday preceding the October election, a large crowd of Republicans 
assembled at Martinsville to stir up the Union sentiment. A fine dinner 
and eloquent speeches were enjoyed on the fair ground. The town was 
treated to a brilliant torch-light procession in the evening. On the day 
of the election, sixty soldiers went to the polls in a body and polled their 
votes for Gov. Morton. The Democrats also had large meetings at Mar- 
tinsville and throughout the county. Scarcely a night passed without 
brilliant gatherings and speeches. At last the returns came in, when it 
was found that Gov. Morton's majority was 544, a Republican gain of 
412 votes in two years. The successful party was jubilant. On Wednes- 
day after the election, a jubilee was held at the county seat, at Moores- 
ville, at Morgantown, and at other places. A tall flag-pole was erected 
in front of Mitchell's store in ISIartinsville, and a fine flag was soon flying 
from the top. The Republican Glee Club sang many National airs, and 
the streets were filled with happy Republicans. As the news came in 
from the State, 150 "rounds of anvils" were fired. The excitement 
continued until the November election. On the 22d of October, an im- 
mense Union meeting was held in the court yard. A new banner thirty 
feet long was run up a tall flag-pole on the square by the ladies, and 
speeches were delivered by Preston, Hall and others. The Democrats 
with hopeful words were almost as active in all parts of the county. At 
the county election, the Lincoln electors received 1,793 votes, and the 
McClellan electors 1,283. The results were followed by long-continued 
public rejoicings from one party, and absolute silence from the other. 

THE LAST CALL FOR VOLUNTEERS. 

On the 19th of December, 1864. came the last call of the war for 
volunteers — 300,000 men for one, two and three years. But the county 
was slow to begin the work of filling her quota. On the 6th of January, 
1865, the Gazette said : " Some effort ought to be made to fill the quota 
of the county under the late call for 300,000 men." This implied that 
up to that period nothing had been done. People felt that the rebellion 
was in the "last ditch," however, and soon after this began work. The 
number liable to do military duty under the first enrollment of the war 
was 2,048 ; under the new enrollment of the autumn of 1864, the num- 
ber was 1,500. The Gazette of January 21 said: 

Come in out of the Draft. — An effort is being made to fill the quota of the 
county, and relieve it of the draft. A special session of the County Board has been 
called for Tuesday next. Petitions are in circulation, asking the board to make an 
appropriation of |500 for each volunteer credited to this county under Father 
Abraham's last polite and entertaining request. Subscription papers are being cir- 
culated among the people, and it is expected that with the county appropriation, 
should one be given, at least $700 will be raised for Morgan County volunteers. 
We understand that some of our young men are enlisting in other counties, unaware 
that any inducements will be held out at home. Hold on boys! Home inducements 
may turn out to be the best. 

The quota of the county under this call was 202. Active work was 
begun about the middle of January, About fifty men were recruited for 
the Eleventh Regiment. About eighty men were raised for Companies 
E and H, One Hundred and Forty-eighth Regiment, one year's service. 



68 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

A few small squads joined other regiments. These men left about the 
middle of February. The Q-azette of February 18 said : 

The quota of Washington Township has been filled. A bounty of $400 was 
paid to each recruit. Thirty-nine of the volunteers were citizens of this township, 
and one was recruited at Indianapolis. Several of the volunteers failed to come to 
time. 

But the county could not wholly escape the draft which came on the 
last week in February with the following result : Green, 40 ; Ray, 30 ; 
Brown, 20 ; Jackson, 20 ; and Baker, 6. Immediately after the draft, 
all the above townships except Baker filled their quotas by volunteers, 
which privilege was accorded them. A few men failed to appear. The 
drafted men were assigned to the older regiments. 

THE FALL OF RICHMOND. 

The G-azette of April 8 exclaimed : 

Glory! Glory!! Glory!!! Let the people shout glory! "Let rocks and 
hills their lasting silence break." This is the people's jubilee ! Let all the people 
sing ! Richmond has fallen ! and great was the fall thereof ! Petersburg fell at the 
same time! When the news was received here the people fairly went wild with joy; 
flags were flung to the breeze; songs were sung. The anvils were brought out and 
made to tell the tale of joy The Home Guards fired volley after volley of mus- 
ketry. The jollification was kept up until a late hour of the night. 

A few days later the news of the surrender of Gen. Lee reached the 
county, and created everywhere the most intense joy. People in all parts 
of the county gathered in the nearest towns intuitively to mingle rejoic- 
ings over the glorious news. Glee clubs sang themselves hoarse ; speakers 
voiced the general ecstacy in notes of eloquence ; hastily improvised pro- 
cessions paraded the streets with martial bands and tumultuous shouts ; 
banners and loyal emblems were flung to the breeze, and the citizens as a 
mass gave themselves up to every species of joyous demonstration. The 
night of the 11th of April was rainy and muddy, but Martinsville was 
decorated and illuminated as it had never been before. The court house 
from belfry to foundation was a glittering galaxy of light and color. 
Stores and private residences vied with each other, without regard to labor 
or expense, in creating the most gorgeous display. 

THE DEATH OF PRESIDENT LINCOLN. 

The county was yet in the midst of public rejoicings when the painful 
news was received that Lincoln had been assassinated. The revulsion in 
public feeling was sickening. Many a man and woman had learned to 
love the name of Abraham Lincoln. He had led them through four long 
years of darkness and death — had been the cloud by day and pillar of 
fire by night through all the starless gloom of war, and now, when the 
sunlight of victory had lighted the national heart with boundless joy, and 
every knee was bent, and every eye dim with grateful thanksgiving, to 
have the beloved Lincoln cut down so untimely was indeed bitter and 
hard to bear. Scores burst into tears as if they had lost their nearest 
friend. People spoke in subdued voices of the awful calamity, and moved 
around with troubled faces and heavy steps. The G-azette of April 22 
said : 

On Tuesday last a meeting of the citizens was held at the Auditor's office to 
arrange for solemnizing Wednesday as a day of humility and prayer on account of 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 69 

the great national bereavement. It was resolved that the court house should be 
draped in mourning, and services held at 13 M. therein. It was also resolved that 
all the business houses should remain closed during the entire day, and that all the 
houses should have crape on the doors. Though but a short time was allowed for 
the work, the court room was tastefully decorated with emblems of mourning. 
Long before the hour appointed for the meeting, the room was densely packed. 
The funeral discourse was preached by Rev. W. C. Smith from the text, "Abel 
being dead yet speaketh." He spoke with deep feeling and earnestness of the life and 
character of our murdered President. There were but few dry eyes in the vast 
audience during his discourse. He was followed by O. R. Daugherty, F. P. A. 
Phelps, C. F. McNutt and O. J. Glessner, in short and appropriate addresses. The 
audience listened to all with deep attention. The most intense sorrow was depicted 
on every countenance. Deep sadness and gloom pervaded the entire audience. 
All hearts were sad and all voices hushed. At night a union prayer meeting was 
held at the same place. The following are the resolutions unanimously adopted by 
a rising vote at the day meeting: 

Resolved, 1st. That in the death of Abraham Lincoln, one of the purest and 
most elevated statesmen of earth has fallen; that, as in the death of Washington 
the Nation mourned the Father of our Country, so in the death of our beloved 
Chief Magistrate we mourn him who under God was the savior of our country. 

2d. That, though the greatest, wisest and best men may fall in our country's 
cause, our confidence that divine Providence will save the life of the Nation, and 
make it the light of the world, is full and undiminished. 

3d. That, trusting as we have in that Providence, and in the patriotism, virtue 
and intelligence of the people, and trusting as we do in the ability and statesman- 
ship of Andrew Johnson, we do solemnly before God and good men re-pledge our- 
selves that the Republic shall live and treason shall die. 

4th. That we humbly and devotedly pray the Father of all mercies to spare 
the life of Secretary Seward to this already deeply afflicted Nation. 

The same issue of the paper containing an account of this meeting also 
published the following: 

Wednesday last was the most remarkable day ever witnessed in Martinsville. 
Never was such universal quiet known to our citizens. It was more like a Sabbath 
should be than any Sunday that ever passed over our town. It was a sad day. 
Sucli general and genuine sorrow as was exhibited here is seldom witnessed. The 
great beauty of the veneration and respect shown Mr. Lincoln consists in the fact 
that it did not proceed from any one party or creed. All the people mourned. 

Public meetings in honor of the distinguished dead were also held at 
Morgantown, Mooresville, Eminence, Paragon, Centerton, and in numer- 
ous churches and schoolhouses in other portions of the county. The 
speakers at Eminence were Rev. John Hancock and J. W. Rhea. Reso- 
lutions of sorrow and hope were adopted in all the meetings. Unfortu- 
nately, a fuller account cannot be given. A few residents of the county 
unwisely asserted their joy at the death of Lincoln ; but in every instance 
they were assaulted and terribly beaten. The public heart did not fully 
revive the shock until the surrender of Gen. Johnston's army on the 26th 
of April. Then again, the capture of Jeff Davis in petticoats on the 10th 
of May added to the gratification. 

SUMMARY OF TROOPS FURNISHED. 

It is impossible to give the exact number of men furnished by the 
county to suppress the rebellion ; but an attempt will be made to give the 
approximate number. On the 19th of September, 1862, the county was 
officially credited with having furnished 1,232 men, of whom 1,188 were 
then in the service. But this does not include the men who entered the 
companies raised outside of the county, notably at Indianapolis. It is 
safe to say that over 1,300 men had been furnished by this time. Under 
the two calls of 1863, the county quota was not less than 250 men. Dur- 



70 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

ing the year 1864, not including the men required under the call of 
December, the aggregate quotas under the various other calls were 917 
men, all of whom were secured and sent into the field. Under the Decem- 
ber call, 202 men were required and raised, together with a surplus of 
22 men. Taking into consideration the men who were credited to other 
counties, and the men of other counties who were credited to Morgan, 
and taking the sum total of the above estimates and official statements, 
it will be seen that the county furnished about 2,700 men to put down 
the rebellion. This is a magnificent showing. It should be borne in 
mind, however, that in this estimate each man has been counted as often 
as he enlisted. Many served under two, three and perhaps four calls. 
But making all necessary allowances, it is safe to say that the county sent 
2,000 different men into the field. These estimates do not include the 
seven companies raised to repel Gen. Morgan, nor the Home Guards, nor 
the eleven companies of the Indiana Legion, commanded respectively by 
the following Captains : A. S. Griggs, Jacob Hess, Jarvis J. Johnson, 
Maryfield Walters, James E. Burton, Andrew T. Wellman, William 
Nicholson, Sylvanus Barnard, William W. Wilson and Joel Matthews. 
During the war, however, nearly all the companies of the Legion enlisted, 
and saw active service. 

BOUNTY AND RELIEF. 

About the middle of May, 1861, the County Board appropriated 
$3,000 for the care of soldiers' families, and appointed P. S. Parks, J. S. 
Kelley, Jacob Adams, Philip Hodge and W. J. Manker to expend the 
same. A great deal was done in the same direction by the townships 
and by individuals, of which no record was kept. During the autumn of 
1861, soldiers' aid societies were organized at several central places in 
the county. During the first week in November, a large box of blankets, 
gloves, mittens, shirts, drawers, socks, etc., was sent to Indianapolis from 
the county seat. Other localities sent similar boxes. The supplies went 
to the boys in Kentucky. Several citizens took a large quantity of goods 
and provisions to the boys there. Mrs. Manker, Mrs. Scott and many 
other worthy ladies were active in soliciting donations. Mrs. J. M. Hub- 
bell and Mrs. E. W. Callis were active in obtaining cash donations for 
the hospitals. In April, 1862, a new soldiers' relief society was organ- 
ized at Martinsville, with the following officers : W. H. Craig, President ; 
A. H. Crayton, Secretary ; J. W. Paul, Treasurer ; A. H. Crayton, W. 
J. Sparks, S. J. Hastings, A. J. Major, D. G. Stotts, Jesse Barker, 
James R. Best, Mrs. J. K. Scott, Mrs. J. W. Paul and Mrs. J. R. Elli- 
ott, Soliciting Committee. Others elsewhere in the county were organ- 
ized. These societies, however, were not active In June, 1863, in re- 
sponse to a call from Gov. Morton, the County Board loaned $5,000 of 
the county funds to the State for the benefit of helpless soldiers. The 
appropriation was opposed by a strong disloyal element, but without avail. 
In December, 1863, the aid societies were re-organized, and during the 
winter did good Avork. On Thanksgiving Day, $39.70 was raised at 
Martinsville. At another meeting in Martinsville, $47 cash was received. 
Under the October call of 1863, the County Board ordered each volun- 
teer paid $100 bounty. The townships began to offer bounties also. 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 



71 



Brown offered $100 for each man, and Madison $200. During the win- 
ter, the " Murdock Institute" gave amateur dramatic entertainments at 
Martinsville for the benefit of the County Sanitary Commission. The 
details in other localities cannot be given. The dramatic society played 
" The Double Ghost," " Kiss in the Dark," " Rough Diamond," " Love 
at Sight," etc., and was greeted by immense audiences. A large amount 
of money was thus secured for the soldiers. Large quantities of wood 
and provisions were furnished the families of soldiers gratuitously. G. 
W. Cramer, John Braughton, Calvin Brelleford, Jesse Avery, David 
Carter, Isaac Hastings, Patrick Bradley, Lafayette Townsend, J. J. 
Wright, D. D. Cramer, Madison Avery, Thomas* Williams, W. W. Wil- 
son, Ellis Hastings at Martinsville, and scores of others throughout the 
county were active in furnishing wood and supplies. The " Bethesda 
Soldier's Aid Society," organized at Mooresville in August, 1864, sent 
the following supplies to Indianapolis in December : Twelve dozen band- 
ages, six dozen arm slings, ten pounds of lint, two dozen towels, one doz- 
en pillow cases, one dozen packs of envelopes, one pack of letter paper, 
ninety-five pounds cotton rags, twenty pounds lint rags, one dozen dish 
cloths, thirteen shirts, one dozen pairs drawers, one and one-half dozen 
sheets, six pounds mustard seed, three pounds sage, three pounds hops, 
two bushels of onions, fifty pounds dried apples, twelve pounds dried 
peaches, fourteen cans of fruit and one-half barrel of pickles ; also $69.85 
cash. A large number of hogs (200) were purchased by the County 
Board for the consumption of soldiers' families during the winter. In 
January, 1865, a Ladies' Aid Society was organized at the county seat, 
among the members being Mrs. L. Messenger, Mrs. W. W. Wilson, Mrs. 
S. A. Tilford, Mrs. Sallie Smith, Mrs. E. W. Callis and others. But 
little was done by this society, as the war soon closed. On the 26th of 
January, 1865, the County Board appropriated $300 for each volunteer 
or drafted man under the last call for troops, but this met such strong 
objection from the fact that soldiers' property would have to sustain the 
tax to send "stay-at-homes " to the army, that the order was rescinded. 
The following statement is taken from the Adjutant General's report: 



COUNTY, TOWNSHIPS, ETC. 



Morgan County 

Washington Township. 

Jackson Township 

Green Township 

Harrison Township 

Madison Township 

Clay Township 

Brown Township 

Monroe Township 

Adams Township 

Gregg Township 

Jefferson Township 

Ray Township 

Baker Township 

Miscellaneous Relief... . 



Total 

Grand total bounty and relief. 



22,800 
14,950 
12,500 
48,000 

5,100 
19,800 
13,725 
15,000 

1,500 
10,700 

5,000 

12,000 

17,450 

450 



$70,802 43 

1,250 00 

1,050 00 

275 00 

350 00 

520 00 

2,150 00 

1,025 00 

1,215 00 

970 50 

1,050 25 

1,125 00 

750 00 

375 00 

1.150 00 



$198,975 



f 84, 058 17 
t,033 17 



72 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

DISLOYALTY MANIFESTED DURING THE WAR. 

The least said on this subject the better. All mention of the more 
prominent events, however, cannot be escaped. It is scarcely necessary 
to state that many prominent people in Morgan County and throughout 
the North were sincerely and conscientiously opposed to the prosecution of 
the war to quell the rebellion. Many honestly believed in the right of 
the Southern States to secede, and in the Divine origin of the institution 
of slavery. This is not to be wondered at, in view of the herculean 
efforts of Southern statesmen, through a long period of years, to instil 
the heresy into the hearts of both North and South. In view of human 
fallibility, it is useless to recriminate for errors of judgment. People 
both North and South, who were sincere in their opinions, should be re- 
garded with charity, and the nation, after its baptism of blood, should 
foster a nobler humanity by the universal education of mind and heart. 

The first disloyality manifested was the declaration of joy at the fall 
of Sumter, but this sentiment seems to have become dormant during the 
early summer of 18(51. In July and August it cropped out again. One 
man hoped there would be a big battle, and that many would be killed on 
both sides. Another thought Lincoln ought to be killed — that some one 
should cut his throat; and another said "every volunteer who goes to the 
South is a murderer." During the fall, a soldier who had enlisted in 
Capt. Cunning's company was persuaded to stay at home by a disloyal 
friend. It was during the fall elections that an effort was made to organ- 
ize a distinctive Union party from the antagonistic elements, but the 
attempt proved largely abortive. At a certain mass meeting in Green 
Township, one of the speakers said : " The volunteers in the present war 
are a set of thieves and robbers." In the summer of 1862, a lady in 
Martinsville said she wished every Union woman of the town could be 
compelled to sleep with a negro. Another, whose brother had just enlisted, 
declared she was "disgraced forever." In January, lb63, a detachment 
of volunteers from Indianapolis entered Green Township to arrest several 
deserters who were reported to have been concealed there. The men were 
found and arrested, but as they were being taken away the troops were 
fired upon by a large body of disloyal citizens, though no one was injured. 
When the report of this proceeding reached Indianapolis, Col. Carrington 
sent a strong detachment of troops to arrest the prominent leaders of the 
"guerrillas." Some six or eight were arrested, taken to Indianapolis, 
tried, convicted, and each sentenced to pay a fine of $500. Early in 
March, Lieut. Hayward and a squad of troops arrested five deserters in 
Martinsville. Several murders occurred in the county, supposed to have 
been caused by questions growing out of the war. In 1863, the Knights 
of the Golden Circle instituted several organizations in the county. Let- 
ters from men in the county to boys in the service, urging them to desert, 
were captured and published in the Gazette. Union Leagues were organ- 
ized to counteract the disloyal tendencies. A few houses and barns owned 
by prominent loyal men, were burned. Threatening letters were sent 
out. Butternut breast-pins were worn. At a church on Sand Creek, a 
lady wearing one was assaulted by another lady, who tore the disloyal 
emblem from her bosom and carried it off in triumph. A division in the 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 73 

church was the result. These are samples of what occurred in the county 
while the war lasted. Nothing very serious occurred except the murders. 

On the 8th of April, 1865, the Gazette said : 

When the news of the evacuation of Richmond and Petersburg reached here, 
not a Butternut smiled! Not a Butternut assisted in raising the flag! Not a Butter- 
nut participated in the jubilee at night! They all looked sad and gloomy, as if just 
invited to attend the funeral of their nearest and deafest friends. Comment is 
altogether unnecessary. 

A few publicly rejoiced over the death of Lincoln, but they were 
pounded out of shape by indignant soldiers and others. Much of the 
disloyalty manifested was from the lowest and most ignorant class. 

RETURN OF THE MORGAN COUNTY BOYS. 

During the summer months of 1865, the soldiers returned from the 
war and were welcomed with throbbing hearts by loved ones and friends. 
They were usually received with formal ceremony by crowds of grateful 
people. The flag they had carried through so many bloody campaigns 
was returned to the citizens who had presented it to the brave boys before 
they went away so proud and valiant four years before. Fine swords or 
other elegant memorials were given to those who had done some specially 
distinguished service. Many a boy who had gone away so bright and 
brave, followed by a mother's love and blessing, was left in a patriot's 
grave far down in the Sunny South. Others came home with empty 
sleeves and frightful scars, or shattered minds and broken constitutions. 
The sacred dust of some was brought home and buried by loving friends. 
The county cemeteries contain all that is mortal of the heroes. The 
silent mounds of sod are lovingly decked with sweet blossoms, and the 
summer mantle of green velvet is patiently watched by faithful hearts. 
Sprigs of holly and evergreen, bright clusters of rich flowers and eloquent 
tributes in eulogy of the noble dead, are the offerings of a grateful people 
on Decoration Day. The loyal dead must not be forgotten. 

CALLS OF THE GOVERNMENT FOR VOLUNTEERS. 

April 15, 1861, 75,000 men for three months. 

May 3, 1861, 82,748 men for three years. 

July 22 and 25, 1861, 500,000 men for three years. 

May and June, 1862, about 18,000 men for three months. 

July 2, 1862, 300,000 men for three years. 

August 4, 1862, 300.000 men for nine months. 

June 15, 1863, 100,000 men for six months. 

October 17, 1863, 300,000 men for two years. 

February 1, 1864, 200,000 men for two years. 

March 14, 1864, 200,000 men for three years. 

April 23, 1864, 85,000 men for 100 days. 

July 18, 1864, 500,000 men for one, two and three years. 

December 19, 1864, 300,000 men for one, two and three years. 

MORGAN COUNTY ROLL OF HONOR.* 

Seventh Regiment, three months service. — John McDaniel, died at 
Phillippi, Ya., June, 1861. 

* This record is imperfect, but is the best that can be given. 



74 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

Eleventh Regiment, three years service. — James OUeman, killed at 
Champion Hills May, 1863. 

Twelfth Regiment, three years service. — Eli Bray, Jr., died at Grand 
Junction, Tenn., February, 1863 ; Asa G. Ballard, killed at Richmond, 
Ky., August, 1862; A. H. Ballard, died at Snyder's Bluff, Miss., June, 
1863; Henry H. Bailiff, killed at Atlanta, Ga., August, 1864; Richard 
Berge, died of wounds September, 1862 ; Harmon B. Cox, killed at 
Richmond, Ky., August, 1862 ; William Curnutt, died near Atlanta, 
Ga., August, 1864 ; Thomas F. Carter, died of wounds at Chattanooga 
May, 1863 ; John Curnutt, died at Nashville, Tenn., July, 1864; Elisha 
Deering, died of wounds at Chattanooga December, 1863 ; Evan Day, 
died at luka. Miss., October, 1863 ; Wiley Estis, died at Holly Springs, 
Miss., January, 18 63; William H. Ely, killed at Kenesaw, Ga., June, 
1864 ; Harvey Evans, died in Libby Prison April, 1864 ; Jacob Gruson, 
died at Memphis April, 1863 ; William Hutchinson, killed at Richmond, 
Ky., August, 1862 ; David Hadley, died at Memphis June, 1863 ; James 
A. Hudson, died in Libby Prison November, 1863 ; James Johnson, died 
in Indiana October, 1862; Reuben Marshall, died at Snyder's Bluff, 
Miss., July, 1863 ; Gustavus McCrary, died at Scottsboro, Ala., March, 
1864; James E. McNabb, died at Camp Sherman, Miss., September, 
1863 ; Milton V. Pettitt, killed at Richmond, Ky., August, 1862 ; Peter 
Patram, died at Memphis October, 1863 ; Joseph Pointer, killed at Rich- 
mond, Ky., August, 1862 ; Hiram Patram, died at Camp Loomis, Tenn., 
April, 1863; Thomas Parker, died in Libby Prison December, 1863 ; 
Jefferson Rains, died at Chattanooga October, 1864 ; Robert Stafford, 
died at Camp Sherman, Miss., September, 1863 ; Daniel Thompson, died 
at Camp Loomis, Tenn., April, 1863 ; John Thompson, died at Grand 
Junction February, 1863 ; John C. Thornburg, died at Mooresville, Ind., 
October, 1862; Hiram Wood, died at Anderson Station, Tenn., Novem- 
ber, 1863 ; John D. Williams, killed at Richmond, Ky., August, 1862 ; 
William Weare, died at Grand Junction, Tenn., May, 1863. 

Twenty-first Regiment. — First Lieut. Thomas Grimstead, died at 
New Orleans of wounds received at Baton Rouge ; William Fishback, 
died at Baton Rouge June, 1862 ; William H. Ruth, died at Baton Rouge 
June, 1864; Enos Bailey, died at Mobile June, 1865 ; David Bailey, died 
at New Orleans March, 1865 ; John Bryant, died at Baton Rouge July, 
1862 ; Zachariah Hall, died at New Orleans July, 1864 ; John R. Hast- 
ings, died at Baton Rouge August, 1862 ; Isaac Kiphart, died in August, 
1862, of wounds received at Baton Rouge ; George W. Fry, died of 
wounds received at Baton Rouge in 1862 ; A. H. Vanvalkenburgh, died 
at Ship Island April, 1862 ; William Pitcher, killed at Baton Rouge 
August, 1862 ; John W. Blackburn, died at New Orleans March, 1864; 
Daniel Colvin, died at New Orleans May, 1864 ; Caleb S. Collier, died 
at New Orleans December, 1864 ; James Gooch, died at Indianapolis 
October, 1864 ; F. M. Gooch, died at New Orleans March, 1864 ; James 
0. Gamble, died at New Orleans March, 1864 ; William C. Hobbs, died 
at New Orleans April, 1864 ; George R. Northern, died at New Orleans 
March, 1864 ; William A. Rooker, died at Baton Rouge May, 1864 ; 
Andrew Stines, died at New Orleans April, 1864, 

Twenty-sixth Regiment. — John Boyd, died on steamer "J. J. Roe " 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 75 

August, 1863; Thomas A. Bunch, died at Springfield, Mo., September, 
1862; William Cassady, died January, 1863, of wounds received at 
Prairie Grove ; Peter Coble, died December, 1862, of wounds received at 
Prairie Grove; Isaac Corder, killed in a skirmish near Glasgow, Mo., 
September, 1861 ; Hiram Hand, died at Camp Hunter, Mo., November, 
1861 ; Philip Harrold, died at New Orleans July, 1864 ; William M. 
Harrold, died May, 1864, while prisoner at Shreveport, La.; William 
Mackey, died at Camp Hunter, Mo., November, 1861 ; David W. Pool, 
died at St. Louis, Mo., October, 1861 ; Sergt. Jeremiah W. Shepler, 
died at Tipton, Mo., January, 1862 ; Isaac W. Tacket, died at Otterville, 
Mo., February, 1862; Richmond Boaz, died at New Orleans September, 
1863 ; Isaac Carder, died March, 1864 ; Jacob B. Duke, died at Carroll- 
ton, La., October, 1863 ; Elijah T. Harriman, killed at Prairie Grove 
December, 1862. 

Twenty-seventh Regiment. — The list of dead in this regiment cannot 
be given. 

Thirty-third Regiment. — Thomas M. Rhea, killed at Altoona May, 
1864; Francis Dane, killed at Peach Tree Creek July, 1864; Daniel 
Page, died at Chattanooga August, 1864, of wounds received at Kene- 
saw ; Jesse T. Shipley, died of disease in Tennessee ; Alexander C. Boyd, 
died of disease in Kentucky ; James M. Carpenter, died July, 1864, of 
wounds received at Peach Tree Creek ; Enos C. Hadley, died in Tennes- 
see ; Noah Hadley, died in Libby Prison, 1863 ; Talburt G. Hale, died 
in Kentucky ; Simon H. Lasley, died at Crab Orchard, Ky.; Henry H. 
Mathews, died near Crab Orchard ; Alfred Mathews, died of wounds at 
Nashville; Henry H. Major, died at Crab Orchard ; David N. Marshall, 
died in Georgia ; Martin V. McKinley, died in Kentucky ; James A. 
Medaris, died at Nashville August, 1864, of wounds; Isaac N. Park, 
died of wounds while a prisoner at Pulaski, Tenn.; John Turner, died in 
the service ; George W. Whetstine, committed suicide while insane at 
Raleigh, N. C, April, 1865 ; Wiley B. Baker, missing in action in Ten- 
nessee ; Dillian Asher, died in the service ; John R. Burkhart, killed at 
Resaca May, 1864 ; Samuel P. Knight, killed in battle February, 1865 ; 
James H. Brewer, killed at Peach Tree Ci'eek July, 1864 ; Caleb 
Fletcher, killed in battle February, 1865 ; Prettyman H. Long, killed in 
battle February, 1865. 

Fifty-ninth Regiment. — Maryfield Walters, killed in action at Vicks- 
burg May, 1863 ; William T. Baldwin, died at Gosport, Ind., January, 
1862; Warren Baldwin, died before muster; Peter Demott, died at 
Huntsville, Ala., April, 1864; James R. Mannon, died at Gosport Feb- 
ruary, 1862; William Ogles, died at Paducah, Ky., January, 1863; 
Levi Watson, died at Jacinto, Miss., August, 1862. 

Seventieth Regiment. — Calvin Johnson, died at Gallatin, Tenn., 
March, 1863; Benjamin F. Ballard, died at Gallatin March, 1863; 
Samuel Ballentine, died at Nashville, Tenn., June, 1864; Henry W. 
Costin, died at Gallatin February, 1863 ; Jacob Farmer, died at Nash- 
ville of wounds June, 1864; David Fugate, died at Resaca of wounds 
May, 1864; Alonzo B. Greeson, died at Resaca of wounds May, 1864; 
Alfred Greeson, died at home July, 1864 ; Andrew Jordan, died at Gal- 
latin March, 1863 ; Daniel Lockwood, died at Jeffersonville, Ind., June, 



76 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

1864; Peter White, died at Bowling Green, Ky., January, 1863; Calvin 
Ward, died of wounds at Resaca May, 1864 ; John H. Poe, died at 
Chattanooga August, 1864, of accidental wounds ; George W. Flake, 
died of wounds at Nashville June, 1864 ; William H. Gibbs, killed at 
Resaca May, 1864 ; William Olds, killed at Kenesaw June, 1864 ; Abra- 
ham G. Butterfield, died at Bowling Green November, 1862 ; William 
W. Weaver, killed at Resaca May, 1864 ; Henley Albertson, died at 
Bowling Green October, 1862 ; Milton Boyd, killed at Dallas, Ga., May, 
1864; Marshall Dane, died at Scottsville, Ky., February, 1863; James 
E. De Coursey, died at Scottsville, Ky., December, 1862; Elias L. Ray, 
died May, 1864, of wounds received at Resaca ; Charles W. Roberts, 
died at Gallatin May, 1863 ; Jacob Reedy, died at Washington, D. C, 
May, 1865; James Singleton, killed at Peach Tree Creek July, 1864; 
James W. Tout, died at Gallatin May, 1863; Hiram Voyles, died of 
wounds at Resaca May, 1874 ; Mason Warner, died August, 1864, of 
wounds received near Atlanta ; Joseph Whitson, died at Nashville, Feb- 
ruary, 1864 ; Isaac Benge, died at Lookout Valley May, 1864 ; James 
Hatley, died at Lookout Mountain August, 1864 ; Joshua Hammond, 
died at Atlanta October, 1864 ; Alexander Long, died at Chattanooga 
August, 1864. 

Fifth Qavalry [Nineteenth Regiment). — James F. Roberts, died in 
prison at Florence, S. C, February, 1865 ; David R. Badgley, supposed 
to have died in Andersonville Prison ; Dutton Loveall, died of wounds at 
Knoxville, Tenn., January, 1864 ; John Underwood, died at Covington, 
Ky., September, 1863. 

One Hundred and Seventeenth Regiment. — William B. Harryman, 
died at Camp Nelson, Ky., January, 1864 ; William H. H. Little, died 
at Knoxville, Tenn., November, 1863 ; Joseph H. McGinnis, died at 
Knoxville November, 1863 ; Stephen Ogden, died at Knoxville Novem- 
ber, 1863; Paris Pearce, died at Tazewell, Tenn., January, 1864; 
George W. Toutt, died at Knoxville November, 1863 ; Isaac Wilcox, 
died at Cumberland Gap October, 1863. 

One Hundred and Forty -eighth Regiment. — Isaac Kennedy, died at 
home in March, 1865 ; Francis J. Perry, died at home in March, 1865 ; 
David Grifl&n, died at Nashville in April ,1865 ; James S. Teague, died at 
Pulaski in January, 1865. 

Second Battery Light Artillery. — William H. Gurley, killed by 
guerrillas in May, 1864. 

Twenty-eighth Regiment United States Colored Troops. — Andrew 
Evans, died at Alexandria, Va. ,in October, 1864; Edward Findley, died 
of wounds in the field in Virginia in September, 1864 ; James Goss, died 
at 4-^6xandria, Va., in January, 1865 ; Zachariah T. Langford, died at 
Alexandria, Va., in October, 1864 ; Dempsey Porter, died at Indianap- 
olis in March, 1864 ; Thomas Riley, died of wounds in the field in Vir- 
ginia in August, 1 864 ; George W. Richey, died at Indianapolis in Feb- 
ruary, 1864. -^ 

Fifteenth Regiment. — Robert B. Gilbert, killed in the charge on Mis- 
sion Ridge. 

Twenty-ninth Regiment. — James B. Russell, died of disease in Febru- 
ary, 1865. 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 77 

MORGAN county's PENSIONERS. 

The following is a complete list of the pensioners of Morgan County 
prepared by order of the United States Senate on the 1st day of January. 
1883 : ' 

Allen, Thomas J., rheumatism $ 6 00 

Black, William, rheumatism .*.'..'.'.'..'." 8 00 

Kitchen, David, eyes ........[.... 4 OO 

Woods, Andrew J., hand '.'.'.'.'.'.'.*.'.".'..'. 4 oO 

Pointer, Benjamin, hands 1 « no 

Welty, Walter W., finger o no 

Greeson, William C. H., leg '.■.■■.■.■. ■.".■.■. ".■.■.■. g JJq 

Roe, Milton, diarrhoea 4 qa 

Beem, Phebe, widow .' ' ' " qq 

Ware, Mary J., widow "....".' qa 

Lang, Polly, widow "'.'.' qq 

Laughliu, Thomas J., minor of ' .'. 12 00 

Campbell. William A., diarrhoea 8 00 

Campbell, Lewis E., diarrhcea ...."......'.'. 8 00 

Baber, Levi, rheumatism o aa 

Taylor, John H., hip 5 aa 

?^^!^^^i^e^^^!?/p?^^^y^'^ ::" ■;;•.•.:;:::::: 18 00 



Allen, Samuel, minor of. 

Miller, William P. T., varicose veins. 

Mills, Thomas, side. 



10 00 
12 00 
8 00 



Laposey, Joseph, diarrhoea ." 4 aa 

Kennedy, James C, varicose veins o 00 

Knoy, Ephraim R., diarrhcea 6 00 

McGinnis, John C, diarrhoea " 8 00 

Shumaker, Jesse, heart disease .' 8 00 

White, James J., diarrhoea 4 aa 

Phea, John L., diseased liver .". " 4 aa 

Patrick, Noah A., diseased eyes '..'.".".". 4 oO 

Watson, John, diarrhoea ',"_ g aa 

Holton, Rebecca, mother .'.'.'..".,' 8 00 

Spain, Maria E., widow ,,\ o aa 

Donaldson, Elizabeth K, widow, 1812. %()?) 

Tincher, John D., diarrhcEa 2 aa 

McQuistion, Hugh, leg ".'.".",".'.*. 10 00 

Dooley, Jloses, varicose vein I a aa 

McNaught, Robert W., injured eyes. o aa 

Seaton, George W., legs r aa 

Fletcher, Vardeman, finger " o a a 

Brown, Andrew C, arm . i« nn 

Kivett, Daniel, insane in nn 

Lee, John c.. , ankle '.■ ;;;; ;;;; ;;;; 4 aa 

Hawthorne, James, paralysis HO no 

Young, Hannibal, bronchitis P a a 

Elmore, Mary F., widow ' o ^j; 

Williams, Levi, minor of ^ oo 

Sturgeon, Ellen, widow ".'.*." '.". ^ a^ 

Holmes, Mary J., widow o n a 

Pearce, Elijah J., arm .' ^ aX 

Johnson, Thomas W., hand ? aa 

Creed, John M., heart ." is aa 

Miller, Henry R., diarrhoea « XX 

Vooheis, Simon L., leg J aX 

Rouey, Peter, minor of ," ja qJ; 

Collier, James, disease of abdomen , . c aa 

Collier, Jeremiah, diseased ear ^ aa 

Bright, William H., foot X "" 

Burton, Joseph, diarrhoea -4 00 

Burns, John, disease of heart o Xa 

Blana, Jesse, injury to back ".'. T ^ X|J 

Johnson, Jarvis J., disease of abdomen. . . .'. on nn 

Farr, Uriah H., rheumatism '■■.■.■.■.■.■.■.■;.■.■.■ 6 00 

'..'.".".'.'.V.V." 6 00 



Fisher, Nathaniel, bronchitis. 



78 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

Evans, Thomas D., neck $4 00 

McGowen. James N., arm 6 00 

McNair, Francis M., diarrhoea 8 00 

Goble, Lewis, abdomen 4 00 

Mass, William A., diarrhoea 4 00 

Miller, Jolin, elbow 6 00 

Dilley, William A., leg 4 00 

Crider, Lewis, abdomen 4 00 

Burton, James E., thigh 15 00 

Rodgers. Anderson N., hip 2 00 

Carroll, Francis M., heart disease 8 00 

Crone, Henry, thigh 4 00 

Warner, George W., abdomen 8 00 

Sturgeon, Thomas R.. lungs 2 00 

Singleton, Thomas, diarrhoea 8 00 

Shields, Abel P., rheumatism 4 00 

Ribison, William, rheumatism 12 00 

Kimble, Elijah, eyes 8 00 

Maher, William, hand 8 00 

Faulker, Squire, abdomen 6 00 

Fulcher, Erasmus D., lungs 4 00 

Harvey, Mary, widow 12 00 

Bonner, Ann, widow 10 00 

Haywood, Louisa, widow 8 00 

Simons, Malinda, widow 8 00 

Harryman, Emily, widow 8 00 

Taylor, Martha, widow 8 00 

Jones, Elizabeth M. , widow 8 00 

Gritfin, David C, survivor 1812 10 00 

Bowlin, Elizabeth A. , widow 8 00 

Ryan, Elizabeth A. , widow 8 00 

Rigg, Sarah, widow 8 00 

Roberts, Rachel, widow. 8 00 

Naughton, Margaret, widow 8 00 

Garrison, William T., minor of 14 00 

Basker, Delilah, mother 8 00 

Groves, Jane, mother 8 00 

Rouey, Ellen, widow 12 00 

Persinger, Barbary, widow, 1812 8 00 

McConn, Mourning, widow, 1812 8 00 

King. Eliza, widow, 1812 8 00 

Hensley, John, diarrhoea 2 00 

Laf aver, Samuel, lungs 2 00 

Kunkle, William, kidneys 4 00 

Townsend, Thomas J., leg 2 00 

Kennedy, Thomas A., head 8 00 

Kennedy, Daniel P., pharyngitis 8 00 

Hocker, Malclon, lungs 8 00 

Hatleg, Leroy T.. shoulder 6 00 

John.son, William C. W., leg 18 00 

Payton, Harrison, foot 6 00 

Payne, James M., abdomen 6 00 

Ruder, Wesley, both eyes 72 00 

Northern, Lewis G., side '. 4 00 

Troxel, Jacob, rheumatism 18 00 

Toner, James E., thigh 12 00 

O'Neal, Willis, diarrhoea 50 00 

Olds, Henry H., varicose veins 14 00 

Hammans, John T., face 18 00 

Ferrin, Isaac, disease of abdomen 12 00 

Harper, John, heel 6 00 

Graves, Charles M., heart 8 00 

Harrigan, William, cheek 4 00 

Hardwick, John, disease of abdomen 8 00 

Baker, Levi, arm 8 00 

Burpo, Jesse B., enlargement of heart 8 00 

Farr, James B., neck 18 00 

Hammond, William, arm 8 00 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 79 

Jordon, James H., hip |8 00 

McKinley, George W., thigh 4 00 

Harper, Isaac N., thigh 8 00 

Mosier, James R. , hip 13 00 

Walker, George M., leg 4 00 

Stiles, Jesse L. R., diarrhoea 13 00 

Smith, Elijah, liver 4 00 

Tacket, Thomas, injmy to back 6 00 

Tiiompson, Jesse, neuralgia 8 00 

Bailey, David, ophthalmia 18 00 

Bennett, William M., part deafness 13 00 

Anderson, William H. H., shoulder 14 00 

Brick, James A. , sunstroke 24 00 

McCracker, William, abdomen 11 25 

Lindley, Jeptha, diarrhoea 8 00 

Lewallen, Alonzo, lungs •••. 4 00 

Hayden, John W., left hand 13 00 

Wilhite, William W., shoulder 4 00 

Statzell, Isaac, leg 4 00 

Jester, Rebecca, widow 8 00 

Brown, Lucy M., widow 8 00 

Ruth, Jemima, mother 8 00 

Jordan, Jane R., mother 8 00 

Thomas, Lydia J., widow 12 00 

Greeson, Tibby, mother 8 00 

Bly. William G., disease of heart 8 00 

Franc, James jST., neck 5 00 

Hornaday, Thomas R., neuralgia 8 00 

Mitchell, Bloomtield, abdomen 4 00 

Hinson, John W.. loss of leg 18 00 

Richardson. Robert M., thigh 4 00 

Wise. Jacob R., disease of abdomen 4 00 

Hensley, Benjamin F., rheumatism 4 00 

Farmer, Peter C, arm 18 00 

Mitchell, George W., lumbago 14 00 

Hinson, James A., impure vaccine 8 00 

Sellars, Peter, disease of heart 8 00 

Vansant, Joel D., leg 6 00 

Rhodes, Mary A., mother 8 00 

Bates, William H., minor of 10 00 

Greeson, Rebecca, widow 8 00 

Wood, Nancy, widow 8 00 

Ferguson, Mary C, widow 8 00 

Painter, Lutitia, widow 8 00 

Thornberry, Francis, survivor 1813 8 00 

Hatfield, Allen A., diseased eyes 18 00 

Fester, William H., side 12 75 

Jacobs, James, thigh 4 00 

Prosser, George, thigh 24 00 

Runde, Francis F., thigh 2 00 

Monroe, Calvin, diarrhoea 10 00 

Deaver, James, diseased lungs 18 00 

Steel, James W., thigh 2 00 

Rushton, William, diarrhoea 4 00 

Power, Jacob B., diarrhoea 4 00 

Varble, Philip, rheumatism 8 00 

Knight, Deucv M., jaw 14 00 

Kelso, James P., hand 5 33 

Lake, Sarah, widow 10 00 

Whitstine, Catherine, widow 8 00 

Melton, Martha, widow 8 00 

Basker, Elizabeth, widow 8 00 

Neidigh, Adella, widow 8 00 

Morris, Eleanor, widow 8 00 

Prosser, Elizabeth, widow 8 00 

Glidden, Margaret, widow 8 00 

Long, Nancy, widow 8 00 

Barnes, Elizabeth, widow, 1812 8 00 



80 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

Coleman, Elizabeth, widow $8 00 

Lake, Elizabeth, widow 8 00 

Baker, Andrew J.,, leg 4 00 

Brown, George M., diarrhoea 6 00 

Hodges, Thomas T., eyes 4 00 

Knight, James H., disease of abdomen 8 00 

Tandy, John A., diarrhoea 2 00 

Bastian, Jonathan H., hand 4 00 

Barion, William H., lung 18 00 

Robinson, Joseph C, diarrhoea 12 00 

Breeden, John N., ankle 8 00 

Warthen, Rhoda, widow, 1812 8 00 

Hone, Benjamin F., abdomen 6 00 

Keplinger, John E., catarrh 6 00 

Kidwell, Jasper N., thigh 3 00 

Taylor, Henry B., leg 8 00 

Taylor, John, survivor 1812 8 00 

Medsker, John, chest 14 00 

Briant, George R., loss left arm 24 00 

Singleton, Rachel, widow 8 00 

Pearce, Austice, widow ■. 8 00 

McDaniel, Mary, widow 8 00 



WASHINaTON TOWNSHIP AND MARTINSVILLE. 



THE FIRST SETTLEMENT. 

"TTTASHINGTON TOWNSHIP is the largest civil division of the 
VV county, being composed, as nearly as can be estimated, of sixty 
square miles of valley and upland. There are several very beautiful 
views, one being from the bluffs near the county seat down the river val- 
ley until sky and timber meet at Gosport, fifteen miles away. The up- 
land is not good for agriculture, but there is no richer or more productive 
soil in the State than in the river valley and along the smaller streams. 
The first settlement in the township was made by the Cutlers, who 
located their land in the fall of 1819, and in the early spring of 1820 
brought their families out for permanent residence. It is uncertain who 
came next, but within a few months several other families arrived, among 
them being those of Joel Ferguson, John Gray, Samuel Scott, John 
Case, Joshua Taylor, Joseph Townsend, George Matthews, Benjamin 
Freeland, Benjamin Hoffman, Joshua Gray, Thomas Jenkins, John 
Sims, Chester Holbrook, Alexander Rowand, Norman Reed, Issac Hol- 
landsworth, Pressley Buckner, Samuel Elliott, Jonathan Williams, James 
Reynolds, James and Charles Clark, and a little later George and Morris 
Baker, Christopher Parker, Simon Bishop, Philip Burns, Moses Voyles, 
Philip Bass, William Seals, James Burk, William Townsend and many 
others whose names cannot be learned. After the county seat had been 
located in 1822, the settlement in the vicinity was rapid. The southern 
part of the township did not settle up until in the thirties, at which time 
almost all the land there was entered, a portion of it by capitalists at 
Martinsville or elsewhere. Almost the whole township was covered with 
a heavy growth of the choicest native forestry, through which many wild 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP AND MARTINSVILLE. 81 

animals roamed. It is stated by William Taylor that a man named Perry 
Jones, who lived a short distance north of the county seat, in one day 
killed five bears, two of them being cubs. The last one was wounded, 
and attacked the hunter, who killed it with his gun barrel. This occurred 
just south of town. It is told of Pressley Buckner that he saw several 
animals lying in the leaves in the woods one day, and at first thought 
they were wolves. He fired and killed one, whereupon the others ran. 
The hunter was astonished to find that his wolf was a big panther. This 
also occurred near Martinsville. 

MARTINSVILLE. 

The town of Martinsville had its origin in the act of the State Legis- 
lature, which brought the county of Morgan into existence. This act 
was approved by the Governor on the 31st of December, 1821, and 
provided that James Borland, of Monroe County ; Thomas Beazley, of 
Lawrence County ; Phillip Hart, of Owen County ; John Milroy, of 
Washington County, and John Martin, of Washington County, should 
meet at the house of John Gray on the 1st day of March, 1822, 
to locate and permanently " set the stake " of the new county seat. 
It is not certain that all the Commissioners appointed convened as 
provided in the act, though, if not, a majority met on the day specified 
at Mr. Gray's residence. There were two or more rival locations in 
the county for the county seat, one being at Martinsville, another 
near Centerton, and another, it is stated, at Waverly. The latter's 
pretensions were easily evaded, owing to its location in the extreme 
eastern portion of the county. Centerton had every advantage of loca- 
tion ; but sufficient influence could not be brought to bear upon the 
locating Commissioners, owing to the fact that there was scarcely a settler 
in that vicinity. On the contrary, while Martinsville was south of the 
center of the county, there were four or five intelligent and prominent 
men living in that vicinity who ofi'ered valuable donations of land, and 
perhaps other property, to secure the prize. Accordingly, after viewing 
the various rival locations and other portions of the central part of the 
county, and after weighing all the tendered donations, the locating Com- 
missioners permanently fixed the seat of justice at Martinsville. 

It must be noticed, however, that up to this period, there was no sign 
of a town at what is now Martinsville. The land was covered with a 
rich growth of native forestry, and numerous pits or holes dotted the 
surface. An old Delaware trail ran across the town site from northeast 
to southwest, passing near the southeast corner of the public square, and 
also near the large spring of water in the hills northeast of the town. 

It is not positively known how the town came to be called Martins- 
ville. The most reasonable among several ways mentioned is that it was 
named from John Martin, of Washington County, the oldest of the 
locating Commissioners. But this origin of the name must not be regarded 
as positively established. The location was completed the first week in 
March, 1822. The site selected was upon the line dividing Townships 
11 and 12 north, Range 1 east, of the Second Principal Meridian, the 
township line passing across the public square. The site was also upon 



82 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 



Section 4 of the former township, and Section 33 of the latter, 
following entries on these sections had been made : 



The 



NAMES. 


TO^VN- 
SHIP. 


KANGE. 


SEC- 
TION. 


ACRES. 


DATE. 


LOCATION. 


John Gray 

John Gray 

Joshua Taylor. 
Samuel Scott . . 
Joel Ferguson . 
Joel Ferguson . 
Jacob Cutler. . . 
Jacob Cutler. . . 


11 
11 
11 
11 

12 
12 
12 
12 




4 

4 

4 

4 

33 

33 

33 

33 


75.85 

75.85 

76.27 

76.27 

80 

80 

80 

80 


September 4, 1820. . 
September, 4, 1820.. 
September 4, 1820. . 
January 9, 1821.... 
September 5, 1820.. 
September 5, 1820. . 
September 5, 1820.. 
September 5, 1820. . 


E. i N. E. i. 
W. i N. E. i. 
E. i N. W. i. 
W. i N. W. i. 
E. i S. E. i. 
W. i S. E. i. 
E. i S. W. i. 
W. i S. W. i. 



In the immediate vicinity of these sections, the following men had 
also entered land : 

John Connor, Larkin Reynolds, Thomas Jenkins, Jacob Cose, Reuben 
Mast, Alexander Rowand, Allen Gray, Jacob Lafaver and others, as will 
be seen from another chapter of this volume. 

DONATIONS AND SALES OF TOWN LOTS. 

As a consideration for the location of the county seat thereon, the 
following donations of land were made to Morgan County: By Joel Fer- 
guson, thirty-seven and one-half acres on the west half of the southeast 
quarter of Section 33, Township 12, Range 1 east ; by Jacob Cutler, 
thirty-seven and one-half acres on the west half of the southwest quarter 
of the same section ; by John Gray, forty acres on the west half of the 
northeast quarter of Section 4, Township 11, Range 1 east; by Joshua 
Taylor and Samuel Scott, forty acres on the east half of the northwest 
quarter ; in all, 155 acres of good land. 

So far as can be learned, this land was the only donation, except the 
large spring northeast of town, which was forever granted to the use of 
the town of Martinsville by Joel Ferguson in April, 1822. The locating 
Commissioners did not lay off the town ; they fixed the county seat, se- 
cured the donations, and then transferred all further action to George W. 
Preston, County Agent. During the latter part of May, the new town 
was surveyed and platted under the supervision of the County Agent, by 
James Gattelly, County Surveyor, assisted by Benjamin Hoffman, Larkin 
Reynolds, Jonathan Williams and others. A total of forty-two blocks 
was laid off on the donated land, seven blocks east and west, and six 
north and south, together with a row of undivided out-blocks or lots, 
extending entirely around the town proper. The forty-two blocks were 
subdivided into lots, except Block 18, which was reserved for the public 
square. The old plat shows Water, Sycamore, Jefferson, Main, Mulberry, 
Marion and Cherry streets extending east and west, beginning on the 
south, and Highland, Harrison, Pike, Morgan, Washington, Jackson, 
Columbus and Walnut streets extending north and south, beginning on 
the east. 

The first public sale of lots occurred in June, 1822, and unfortunately 
a full account of this sale cannot be given. Another took place in 
August, and still another in November, the total receipts of the sale 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP AND MARTINSVILLE. 83 

footing up to $364.02. Several public sales took place in 1823, and 
several during subsequent years, until all the lots were disposed of, which 
did not occur until about thirty years. The names of the buyers can 
not be stated. 

THE FIRST AND SUBSEQUENT BUILDINGS. 

The log house of Jacob Cutler, erected a short distance north of the 
northeast corner of the public square, was the first on the town site, and 
was built in 1820. It was the first county court house, and was the office 
of George H. Beeler, the first Clerk and Recorder of the county, Mr. 
Beeler being a son-in-law, it is stated, of Mr. Cutler. Among the early 
buyers of lots were G. H. Beeler, Jared Olds, John Morrison, Jacob 
Cutler, Joel Ferguson, John Gray, Samuel Scott, Joshua Taylor and 
James Clark. About six families located in town in 1822. In the fall, 
Joshua Taylor opened the first tavern a short distance south of town. 
John Sims was the first store keeper, so far as known, and began selling 
from a small stock of notions in the spring of 1823. His stock of mer- 
chandise was probably worth less than $100. He obtained his license 
to sell liquor and a few goods and notions and keep tavern the following 
fall, and paid $10 for it for one year. Joshua Taylor's tavern paid a 
license of $10 per annum. Taverns in those days almost invariably 
contained a bar, at which excellent whisky and other liquor could be ob- 
tained — for the money. The early taverns at Martinsville were no excep- 
tion to the rule. 

In the spring of 1824, G. W. Preston became tavern keeper, and a 
little later in the same year John Sims renewed his license for the same 
occupation. In the autumn of 1824, Noah Allison brought to the town 
a small stock of general merchandise, probably about $600 worth, and 
was no doubt the first genuine store keeper of the place. At this time, 
the town contained about sixteen families, and was quite a thriving little 
place. Carpenters, coopers, blacksmiths, and other useful artisans and 
mechanics were present plying their crafts. Mails were received daily, 
the route lying from Indianapolis, via Bloomington to Madison. Jona- 
than Williams was the carrier about this time and later. It is likely that 
Christopher Ladd kept tavern in Martinsville at an early day, though 
this is somewhat uncertain. It is positively known that he was a resident 
of Port Royal early in the twenties. A school had been started, preachers 
had come in to expound the faith as they understood it, and a county 
court house and a county jail had just been erected. Altogether, Mar- 
tinsville was a thrifty town. 

In 1825, John Sims, Benjamin Cutler, Jacob Cutler and John Mc- 
Kinney sold liquor. The Cutlers had erected a distillery at the big spring, 
and were furnishing quite extensively for that day an excellent article of 
corn whisky. It is said they rectified no small amount of the liquor, and 
it is also said with a significant smile and shake of the head that no such 
whisky is seen in these days of degenerate drinks. Noah Allison re- 
newed his store license in 1825, and increased his stock in size and qual- 
ity, as is proved by the higher license paid by him. Larkin Reynolds sold 
liquor in 1826, as did also James Clark, the Cutlers, Samuel Wick and 
perhaps others. The number of liquor sellers was the result of the uni- 



84 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

versa! custom of drinking. Men, women and children took their potations 
regularly, and it is asserted by old settlers, who ought to know, that there 
was less drunkenness then, than now. In 1826, Jacob Cutler opened with 
over $1,000 worth of general merchandise. He also began to buy and 
pack a few hogs, and buy wheat and corn for shipment, and the latter 
largely for manufacture into whisky at his distillery. It is stated that he 
sent the first boat load of pork from Martinsville down the river to New 
Orleans. He obtained groceries at that point,buthis dry goods were obtained 
largely from the southern part of the State. In November, 1826, G. H. 
Beeler also opened a small store of general merchandise. A tannery had 
been started as early as 1824, by John Sims who, it is said, conducted 
it continuously until his death, in about 1842. This tannery in early 
years was one of the important industrial features of the town. The big 
distillery at the spring was another. It is said that Abraham Kiddy was 
the first blacksmith in town. Mr. Anderson succeeded him. Benjamin 
Bull was the first resident attorney. Larkin Reynolds also had a strong 
passion for the calling of Blackstone. A man named Samuel Drake, was 
connected in business with Mr. Sims in 1829 and later. The latter 
gentleman, Dr. John Sims, was a man of good brain and education, and 
was the first resident physician. He practiced over a circuit of sixty 
miles, being occasionally called to see a patient thirty miles away. He 
had several fine horses of the St. Charles breed, the great race-horse stock 
of that day, and in his long and rapid rides was always accompanied by 
an old pair of leather saddle-bags which contained his medicine cases. He 
knew well how to bleed and purge and dose with herbs and quinine and 
snakeroot and ipecac, as was the custom in those days. 

Noah Allison, John Sims and G. H. Beeler were the merchants in 
1827, and Jacob Cutler, John Cutler and several others the liquor sellers. 
Chris Ladd was tavern keeper about this time, if reports are reliable. 
The town remained about the same in 1828. In 1829, Sims & Drake, 
G. H. Beeler and Washburn & Co. were the merchants, and John Hurst 
and John Craig the liquor sellers. In 1830, the merchants were the 
same, except that G. A. Phelps had taken the place of Mr. Beeler. 
Robert Worthington and John Hurst sold liquor. In 1831, the mer- 
chants were Phelps & Co., Washburn & Co., James Cunningham and 
John Sims. In 1832, John Sims, Phelps & Co., James Cunningham 
and James M. Mitchell, the latter having been formerly connected with 
the firm of Washburn & Co. in the capacity of clerk. James Dickens, 
R. D. Worthington, J. J. Graham and others were selling liquor. In 
1833, John Sims, J. & L. D. Cunningham and J. M. Mitchell were the 
merchants. In 1834, John Sims, James Cunningham, J. M. Mitchell, 
William Scott and William Sheerer sold goods. Giles Mitchell kept 
tavern where the Mason House now stands, beginning in 1834 or 1835. 
In 1831, a caravan of wild animals exhibited at the county seat for $5 
license. Benedict & Eldred's circus exhibited there in 1833, and J. T. 
& J. P. Bailey's circus and menagerie in 1835, and Frost, Husted & Co.'s 
circus in 1836. In 1835, the merchants were Hite & Parks, William 
Scott, James Cunningham, J. M. Mitchell, William Sheerer and John 
Sims; in 1836, Cunningham, Mitchell, W. H. Craig, Joseph Dawson, 
P. M. & N. Parks, Mitchell. At this time, the population of the town 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP AND MARTINSVILLE. 85 

was about 200. From the foundation of the town up to 1837, among 
the residents had been the families of John Sims, P. M. Blankenship, 
G. H. Beeler, Isaac D. Sheppard, J. M. Mitchell (single), James Lank- 
ford (colored), Benjamin Sweet (a carpenter), Dr. H. R. Stevens, Joshua 
Taylor, P. M. Parks, P. B. McCoy, Jacob Cutler, Benjamin Cutler, 
Jonathan Hunt, Benjamin Bull, G. A. Phelps, James Gallatly, James Ray 
(carpenter), John Eckles, Dr. Matheny, James Jackson, Dr. Huif, W. 11. 
Craig, James Crawford, Edward Talbert, James Epperson, Jacob Crum- 
back, J. J. Graham, Ed Warren, Joshua Taylor, Allen Gray, John 
Gray, Sr. and Jr., John Moran (a cooper), Jacob Vansickle, Mr. Gard- 
ner, Andrew Rose, Hewitt Nutter (hotel keeper), John Glessner (a shoe- 
maker), Robert Worthington, William Sheerer, Giles Mitchell, James 
Cunningham, William Cox, Noah Allison, Joseph Dawson, William 
Story, George Mahoney (a blacksmith who was killed by lightning), B. 
F. Barnard, Thomas McClure (a blacksmith), W. J. Brag (same), Jacob 
Ellis (cabinet-maker), A. T. Whiteman, and many others, including 
those mentioned a few pages back. 

THE EARLY PORK AND GRAIN TRADE. 

From 1835 to about 1850, Martinsville did a large business in ship- 
ping pork and grain by boat to New Orleans or other Southern points. 
The principal men engaged in this business during that period were John 
Sims, W. H. Craig, James Cunningham, P. M. Parks and J. M. and S. 
M. Mitchell, nearly all of whom owned separate warehouses or slaughter- 
houses. Mr. Parks and the Mitchells were engaged in the business some- 
what more extensively than the others. It is stated that during some 
seasons in the forties, not less than 9,000 hogs were slaughtered at 
Martinsville, and shipped on flat-boats down the river. The stock was 
purchased over a large section of country, driven to the slaughter houses, 
killed and packed by from five to fifteen men, and the following spring 
loaded on flat-boats sixty or one-hundred feet long and floated down the 
river to market. This extensive business called into existence many 
coopers to make barrels, and brought to town many men of means who 
were attracted by the activity and extent of commercial transactions. 
Much of the pork was not packed in barrels, but was shipped in bulk. 
Upon the arrival at New Orleans, the cargo, which had been consigned to 
some commission house, was delivered and the boats sold for from $50 to 
$150. The return as far as Madison, was made by steamboat, a stock 
of foreign groceries usually being brought up. The remainder of the 
trip was by wagon, until railroads came into use early in the forties, and 
after that the journey by wagon was from Franklin. Experienced pilots. 
men who followed the business, more or less constantly from year to year 
during the shipping seasons, were put in charge of the helm on the flat- 
boats, and four strong men would ply the oars. The pork trade alone 
did much to build up the county seat. The shipments of grain were not 
so extensive. Corn was fed to hogs, and the wheat did not greatly exceed 
the home demand. As high as 15,000 bushels of those two grains and 
oats were shipped some seasons. The business of general merchandising 
was also an important industrial feature of the town late in the thirties, 
and during the forties. For years the leading merchants were the Cun- 



86 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

ninghams, Parks & Hite and the Mitchells. As high as ^25,000 worth 
of goods was often in some of the stores, the annual sales amounting some 
seasons to $40,000. The Cunninghams were then, and have been since, 
among the most enterprising, influential and public-spirited citizens of 
the county seat. It would be pleasant to say the same of certain other 
wealthy citizens of the town, but facts forbid. The sale of goods was 
largely on credit, for men had but little money. Commercial exchanges 
were largely effected by barter. So much butter was worth so much 
sugar ; so many bushels of potatoes were worth so many bushels of salt ; 
so many dozen eggs were worth so many yards of calico. Even balances 
were settled with commodities. Merchants were forced by the fiat of 
events to take every class of farm production for their wares. Goods 
were purchased twice a year usually, and upon the receipt of new stocks a 
rush was made to secure the choice. Years sometimes elapsed ere pay- 
ments and settlements were made. A much greater percentage of sales 
was had than now, and merchants calculated on this when they es- 
tablished their percentage of profit. Swine were the great production of 
Morgan County in early years. They were easily kept during the win- 
ter on the rich mast which covered the forest grounds. Their slaughter 
was one of the leading industries. The conveyance by boat to market, 
though surrounded with perils to the cargo and toil to the boatmen, was 
a rich and varied pleasure. The songs upon the boats at night, the 
sparkling and swiftly moving current, the shifting scenery, the passage of 
rapids, towns and steamboats, and the novelty of the transactions and scenes 
at the Southern markets were akin to the tales of rich romance. The old 
boatmen love to narrate their experiences. William Cox, the present 
Town Marshal, was the pilot for a score of boats, and knew all the bends 
and shoals of the rivers down to New Orleans. William Taylor was an- 
other. 

LATER DEVELOPMENT OF THE TOWN. 

The growth of the town was quite rapid during the forties, the popula- 
tion in 1848 being over 400. At this time almost every department of busi- 
ness was represented. Only the leading or more important features can 
be noticed. Among the merchants in 1848 were the Cunninghams, 
the Mitchels, Parks & Hite, S. D. Ruckle, Hunt & Barnard, W. H. 
Craig, A. S. Griggs, A. Wiggingham, Isaac D. Sheppard and others, 
the latter two having harness, etc. Drug stores were not apart from 
apothecaries or doctors' offices until about this time. W. F. Todd opened 
the first drug store in about 1850. The celebrated drug house of Tarleton 
& Wampler was opened soon afterward. F. P. A. Phelps, one of the 
most eminent attorneys ever at the Morgan County bar, engaged in the drug 
business about the year 1854. William Duncan, Mr. Zuerhurstand J. A, 
Lewis were engaged quiet extensively in the cabinet business late in the 
forties, or early in the fifties. Hay ward & Co. dealt in agricultural im- 
plements in the fifties. In 1855 and 1856, or near those years. Hunt and 
Stafford, the Cunninghams, the Mitchells, Parks & Hite, George F. 
Watton, C. F. Sims,^W. H. Craig, W. J. Sparks, Stafford & Moffatt, 
M. W. Coleman and others were dealing in dry goods, clothing and no- 
tions. J. P. Wilson was the daguerrean artist. A. C. Marine sold boots 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP AND MARTINSVILLE. 87 

and shoes ; J. S. Roff manufactured furniture, including coffins and fancy 
household bric-a-brac. Of course Isaac D. Sheppard was manufact- 
uring harness, saddles, etc. This has been his constant employment in 
the same room, from 1833 until the present — a period of over fifty consecu- 
tive years. The county seat secured its first newspaper, except the little 
sheet started by Richards, early in the fifties, and in 1856 its second. 
Under Mr. Callis, the Gazette was an important factor in the develop- 
ment of Martinsville. Samuel Tucker dealt in furniture in the fifties, as did 
W. W. Tippins ; W. H. Sailors was a saddler. This is only a partial list 
of a large business activity. 

MANUFACTURING INTERESTS. 

The early manufactories included asheries, cooper-shops, distilleries, 
saw mills, wagon shops, batteries, harness and saddle shops, furniture 
shops, woolen factories, etc. J. M. Mitchell soon secured the old Cutler 
distillery, and conducted it profitably for a number of years. It is said 
that at one time early in the thirties, there were eight distilleries in Wash- 
ington Township, the greater number of which did a profitable business. 
A-bout the year 1845, Talbert & Gilpin erected a two-storied frame 
house near the southwest corner of the square, placed therein a set of ma- 
chinery and began carding wool. No spinning or weaving was done. 
A good business was done until early in the fifties, when the establishment 
was destroyed by fire. In 1855, W. J. Sparks obtained possession of 
the old brick County Seminary and transformed the building into a woolen 
factory. A full outfit of machinery, including two looms, one jack of 180 
spindles, a set of 48-inch manufacturing cards, a double roll card, a picker, 
a napper, a dresser, a fuller, a scourer, and an excellent engine, was 
placed in the building at a cost of several thousands of dollars, and a 
large business of carding, spinning, weaving, dressing, fulling and dyeing 
was begun. The manufactures included yarns, flannels, satinets, jeans, 
full-cloths, cassimeres, etc. It is stated that as high as 40,000 pounds 
of wool were manufactured into divers articles during some years. 
About 1860, the factory was removed to High Rocks on White River, 
and after running there for four or five years was totally destroyed by 
fire, entailing a loss of about $30,000 to the owner, and proving his 
financial ruin. Crawford & Gilpin also conducted a woolen factory dur- 
ing these years. A planing mill was started by DeTurk, Lewis & Co. 
about twenty years ago. It is yet operating successfully and is owned 
by Hubbard & TiH^fter. Joseph Gurley erected a carriage factory about 
1863, which he conducted successfully until his death about five years 
later. He manufactured, it is said, as high as fifty carriages and sulkies 
per annum. His family conducted it for a few years after his death. 
George Geyer began the same business about ten years ago, and Nutter 
& Gurley a year or two later, each of the two establishments doing a fair 
business. Stine & Krider began the same business in the old Methodist 
Church about two years ago. John Moffitt took the old Sims tannery 
soon after the death of John Sims. John Shields succeeded him late in 
the fifties, and a few years later the present owners, Schaub & Snyder, 
took possession. This is probably the oldest business establishment of 
the town. Early in the fifties, Fred Axt erected a tannery, which he 



88 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

conducted with profit for about twenty years. In about 1860, Baldwin 
& Olds erected a grist mill at considerable cost, which after operating 
actively for about five years was burned to the ground. About three 
years later, Clapper & Hardrick built and equipped the Branch grist mill 
at a cost of about .^15,000. After a few ;y ears, Mr. Clark bought out 
Clapper, and in about 1877, the Branch Brothers purchased the entire 
property and fitted it with improved machinery. A large business was 
done under their management. In 1883, the entire structure was burned 
down, but the loss was partly sustained by insurance. The destruction 
of the mill was a serious loss to the owners, the town and the community. 
The Branch Brothers are now erecting a grain elevator of 100,000 bushels 
capacity. They will also rebuild the grist mill. About ten years ago, 
Thornburgh & Small erected a large grist mill, the entire cost, including 
machinery, amounting to about $15,000. They are yet the owners, and 
are running night and day. Charles Peabody started a saw mill early in 
the seventies. Mr. Philbrooks owned an interest later. Blair & Hamilton 
are the present owners. Prather Brothers started a saw mill about two 
years ago. These mills are in active operation. Parks, Henderson & 
Harrison erected a large brick pork-packing establishment south of town 
in 1873, at a cost of about $15,000. They have since slaughtered and 
packed on an average during each season since, about 15,000 hogs, em- 
ploying many men in the various departments. This has not been a 
profitable investment, according to reports. Moran & Hunt opened a 
small foundry about a year ago. Ed Meran started a planing mill and 
saw mill on Pike street about a year ago. These have been the leading 
manufacturing establishments. The dates given must be regarded as only 
approximate. 

PRESENT BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL INTERESTS. 

The present business and professional interests of the town may be 
summed up as follows : Dry goods — Cunningham, Bowlinger & Phelps, 
Branch & Huff, Lewis & Guthridge, Kennedy & Co., E. M. Woody, 
Jacob Green, S. M. Mitchell & Son, J. M. Mitchell & Sons. Groceries — 
Elliott & Tilford, S. S. Griffitt, W. H. Webb, L. B. Mathews, Alexander 
Lockhart, William Schneider, Horton & Bishop, Heinbarger & Shireman, 

Frank Lloyd, A. H. Caldwell, A. Wigginton, Thomy. Hardware — 

W. H. Miller & Co., Pierce & Mars, George Branham. Drugs — W. S. 
Hemrick, J. H. Hart, B. W. Tilford, Tarleton & Tarleton, J. P. Bald- 
win, Norman & Brother. Boots and shoes — Ousler & Pruitt. Clothing — 
Dessauer & Brother, L. Hatry & Co. Jewelry — W. H. Crumrine. 
Milliners — Mrs. P. B. Warner, Mrs. Jesse Burgett, Miss M. E. Arm- 
strong. Cigars — George Kelso, Jasper Miller. Barbers — C. W. 
Schreder, J. J. Fertig, Samuel Lewis. Restaurants — C. Harvey, C. 
Hill, Mrs. Givens, Lewis Strondebeck. Harness — I. D. Sheppard, 
Jesse Brandon, Bishop & Horton, — Sthair, W. S. Falkner. Grist mills — 
E. F. Branch & Brother, Thornburgh & Small. Saw mills— Blair & 
Hamilton, Prather. Planing mills and lumber — Hubbard & Tur- 
ner, E. L. Moran. Agricultural implements — S. M. Guthridge & Co., 
Julius Keifer, George S. Geyer, W. S. Cramer. Carriage factory — 
Henry Stine. Tanneries — Schaub & Snyder, Frederick Axt. Saloons — 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP AND MARTINSVILLE. 89 

Max Dessauer, Alexander Lockhart, Padgett & Brother, Kennedy & 
Shields, John Frieze. Hotels — Mason House, Faulkner House, Eureka 
House. Notion stores — George Frieze, Jacob Green, Eugene Shields. 
Livery stables — F. M. Warner, John Fuselman & Son, Mr. Colwell. 
Foundry — Hunt & Moran. Butchers — G. A. Oeftering, John Lewis, 
Sthair & Co. Furniture— H. J. Hinson, Lewis & Guthridge, Mr. 
Schmidt. Marble dealer — W. S. Barnett. Contractors and builders — 
Hubbard & Turner, A. Rogers, Gregory & Son, F. D. Rundell, Mr. Car- 
ver. Pork packing — Parks, Henderson & Co. Grain buyers — Branch 
Brothers, Thornburgh & Small. Bank — First National. Gunsmith — 
K. K- Mann. Photographer — Mr. Collins. Churches — Methodist Epis- 
copal, Rev. Ketchum, pastor; Presbyterian, Rev. Furguson, pastor; 
Christian, Rev. Bowles, pastor; Catholic, Father Stanislaus, priest. 
Tailor — E. Brown. Stave dealers — Vansickle & Co., John Wilcox. 
Spoke dealer — A. B. Walker. Live stock dealers — Cunningham & 
Asher. Lawyers — F. P. A. Phelps, Mitchell & Cox, Davis & Steele, 
Adams k Newby, A. W. Scott, Ferguson, Smock & Renner, Harrison & 
McCord, Grubbs & Parks, J. J. Hilton, Shirley & Ray, A. M. Cunning, 
Jordan & Mathews. Doctors — Daniel P. Kennedy, R. H. Tarleton, S 
A. Tilford, B. E: Tilford, U. H. Farr, H. C. Robinett, B. D. Blackstone' 
J. J. Johnston, C. M. Gravis, E. V. Green, W. E. Hendricks, H. W' 
Cure. 

THE OLD RACE TRACK.* 

Soon after the county seat was established, the sporting characters for 
miles around effected an organization which met every Saturday in the 
town to run horses, drink whisky and have a good time generally. A 
track was established east and west along the north side of the square, the 
starting point being several hundred yards east, and the terminus west. 
Mr. Phelps, then a small boy, remembers distinctly seeing many of these 
races. There was a low place along the north side of the square, which 
in the spring of the year contained considerable water. Mr. Phelps en- 
joyed seeing the horses, whipped down to the race, splash through this 
pond. After a few years, the public safety demanded a cessation of races 
in the town, and the track was removed about a quarter of a mile south, 
where for years the owners of fast horses enjoyed their sports with no 
one to molest or make them afraid. The liquor dealers enjoyed a large 
and lucrative trade at these races. J. M. Mitchell made considerable 
money at the detestable liquor business. In fact he owned the distillery 
near the big spring where the liquid hell was made. 

INCORPORATION OF MARTINSVILLE. 
Attempto were made to incorporate the town during the fifties cer- 
tainly, and possibly during the forties, but without success. The Gazette, 
under Mr. Callis, was an earnest and constant advocate of the measure ; 
but the men of money were sufficiently strong to prevent successful results 
until 1863, when an election held to decide the matter declared a decided 
majority in its favor. The first meeting of the first Board of Trustees 
was held on the 29th of June, 1863. The first year was mainly employed 

*The writer acknowledges his indebtedness to F. P. A. Phelps, John Ray, William Taylor and 
others for much of the material contained in this chapter. A few refused to impart any information 
They seemed to want to be subsidized. They were among the oldest and wealthiest citizens. 



90 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

in drafting suitable ordinances for the town. The first seal was adopted 
at the second meeting. The following were the first metes and bounds 
of the incorporation : 

Beginning 68 poles and 17 links east, and 80 poles and 12 links south 
of the northwest corner of Section 4, Township 11 north, Range 1 east, 
at a stone corner ; thence running north 5 degrees and 20 minutes west 
175 poles ; thence east 6 degrees and 15 minutes north 160 poles ; thence 
south 5 degrees and 20 minutes east 175 poles ; thence west 5 degrees 
south 160 poles to the place of beginning. This territory was divided 
into five wards. The Town Treasurer's report for the first fiscal year 
was as follows : 

RECEIPTS. 

Taxes $365 39 

Theaters 4 00 

Shows and peddlars 6 00 

Fines 3 00 

Total $377 39 

EXPENSES. 

Embezzled $170 88 

Delinquent tax... 133 00 

Error 70 

Total $303 58 

Receipt balance 73 81 

Active work was soon begun on the streets and sidewalks. In 
1866-67, the ordinances were revised and multiplied, strict regulations 
being adopted for the sale of liquor and for public behavior. Street 
lamps — thirty in number — were ordered erected early in 1876, pursuant 
to the prayer of a petition signed by about two hundred citizens. The 
lamps cost about $8.65 each. The number has since been added to as 
the wants demanded. In September, 1879, one hundred and fifteen 
citizens petitioned the board to construct water works for the town from 
the large spring — the property of the town — mentioned at the beginning 
of this chapter. A competent engineer, employed for the purpose, 
reported the following facts : The spring was 88.44 feet above the 
square, and flowed 23,171 gallons of water per day. A reservoir, 80x80 
feet at the surface, 12 feet deep, and 40x40 feet at the bottom, would hold 
about 300,000 gallons. The water pressure at the square would be 38.27 
pounds, and the total estimated cost of the works would be |13,000. One 
hundred and ninety votes were polled for the water works, and 148 against 
the same. The vote was made upon the basis of the above estimated cost. 
Before the contract for the pipes, etc., could be closed, iron rose nearly 
50 per cent in value, largely increasing the cost of the works should 
the enterprise be continued, and rendering the vote null by reason of 
increasing the cost. The project was wholly abandoned, and has remained 
so until the present. In 1881, one hundred rubber fire buckets were 
purchased for about $lo5. The above are the principal events since the 
incorporation of the town. The following is a complete list of tne town 
officers since 1863 : 

OFFICERS OF THE CORPORATION. 

Trustees, First Ward, Oliver J. Glessner ; Second Ward, Abraham 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP AND MARTINSVILLE. 91 

DeTurk ; Third Ward, Abram A. Barrackman ; Fourth Ward, Harvey 
Satterwhite ; Fifth Ward, Henry Sims ; also Marshal and Treasurer, 
Adam Howe ; Clerk and Assessor, Cyrus F. McNutt. Howe was soon 
succeeded by Charles W. Wells, who was removed in January, 1864, for 
malfeasance in office, and P, F. Douglas was appointed. The officers 
elected the following year (1864) were James M. Baldwin, Cyrus F. Mc- 
Nutt, George W. Crawford, Adam Howe and Harvey Satterwhite, Trust- 
ees ; James V. Mitchell, Clerk and Assessor ; Henry Sims, Marshal 
and Treasurer. Mr. Sims did not qualify, and James Davidson was 
appointed, but he soon resigned and Isaac S. Johnson was appointed. Mr. 
Mitchell removed from town in April, 1865, and Samuel S. Griffitt took 
his place. The officers of 1865 were B. D. Blackstone, I. D. Sheppard, 
T. E. Lister, J. H. Mitchell and Charles Day, Trustees ; Harvey Satter- 
white, Treasurer; G. W. Warner, Marshal; S. S. Griffitt, Clerk and 
Assessor; Aquilla Wigginton succeeded Blackstone in June. The officers 
of 1866 were George W. Clapper, Alfred Ennis, James E. Goodhue, 
James V. Mitchell and Charles Day, Trustees ; John R. Elliott, Marshal ; 
Harvey Satterwhite, Treasurer ; S. S. Griffitt, Clerk and Assessor. In 
August 1866, T. B. Mitchell took Goodhue's place as Trustee. The officers 
of 1867 were W. R. Harrison, James A. Lewis, John G. Crawford, 
Joseph Reese and James C. Craig, Trustees ; George W. Warner, Mar- 
shal ; Harvey Satterwhite, Treasurer; Samuel S. Griffitt Clerk and As- 
sessor. ■ In 18b8, the officers were Thomas Morrison, Salem A. Tilford, 
A. R. Chase, P. F. Douglas and Jonathan H. Henry, Trustees ; William 
Killian, Marshal ; Henry Satterwhite, Treasurer ; Gainford F. Ennis, 
Clerk and Assessor. In 1869, the officers were Thomas Morrison, Harvey 
Satterwhite, A. R. Chase, P. F. Douglas and S. S. Griffitt, Trustees ; 
G. W. Warner, Marshal; John K. Mitchell. Treasurer; R. McBride, 
Clerk and Assessor. In 1870, the officers were: N. T. Cunningham. J. 
A. Lewis, H. T. Craig, J. W. Piercy and J. R. Elliott, Trustees ; Cal- 
vin F. Sims, Marshal; John K. Mitchell, Treasurer; J. D. Whitted, 
Clerk and Assessor ; Lafayette Sims, took Craig's place in November. In 
1871, the officers were: William B. Taylor, James A. Lewis, Noble F. 
Davis, Benjamin Hayward and Salem A. Tilford, Trustees ; C. F. Sims, 
Marshal ; T. H. Parks, Treasurer ; A. McCracken, Clerk and Assessor. 
McCraken soon resigned and S. S. Griffitt was appointed. G. W. Pres- 
ton soon took Sims' place, and G. W. Warner soon took Preston's place. 
In 1872, the officers were : W. B. Taylor, James A. Lewis, Noble F. Davis, 
Benjamin Hayward and S. M. Tilford, Trustees ; G. W. Warner, Mar- 
shal ; T. H. Parks, Treasurer; S. S. Griffitt, Clerk and Assessor. In 
1873, the officers were : W. B. Taylor, S. H. Schofield, George Crawford, 
W. P. Clark and John R. Elliott, Trustees; S. S. Griffitt, Clerk and 
Assessor; Stephen McCracken, Treasurer ; Absalom M. Bailey, Mar- 
shal. In 1874, the officers were : John Hardrick, Joshua Davis, George 
A. Danley, Abraham DeTurk and John Forgey, Trustees ; James A. 
Lewis. Treasurer; S. S. Griffitt, Clerk and Assessor; Andrew H. Ellis, 
Marshal. A. B. Douglas took Danley 's place in August. L. S. Hatley 
succeeded Ellis, and G. W. Warner succeeded Hatley. In 1875, the 
officers were : Samuel J. Mandeville. Joshua Davis, T. B. Mitchell, Abra- 
ham DeTurk and Sylvanus Barnard, Trustees ; James A. Lewis, Treasurer; 



92 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

S. S. Griffitt, Clerk and Assessor; G. W. Warner, Marshal. E. F. 
Branch soon took Lewis' place. In 1876, the officers were: S. J. Mande- 
ville, Joshua Davis, T. H. Parks, A. DeTurk and D. D. Cramer, Trust- 
ees ; E. F. Branch, Treasurer ; S. S. Griffitt, Clerk and Assessor ; G. 
W. Warner, Marshal. In 1877, the officers were: S. J. Mandeville, G. 
W. Egbert, T. H. Parks, A. DeTurk and D. D. Cramer, Trustees ; 
Calvin A. McCracken, Treasurer ; S. S. Griffitt, Clerk and Assessor; 
William Cox, Marshal. In 1878, the officers were : James E. Barton, W. 
W. Kennedy, A. B. Douglas, J. M. Blair and J. H. Jones, Trustees ; E. 
E. Riley, Treasurer ; S. S. Griffitt, Clerk and Assessor ; G. W. Warner, 
Marshal. In 1879, the officers were: S. J. Mandeville, J. Williams, E. 
P. Ritchey, A. S. Mitchell and J. H. Henry, Trustees ; E. E. Riley, 
Treasurer ; Preston Graver, Clerk ; William Cox, Marshal. In 1880, 
the officers were: John Stevens, John M. Clark, William M. Crider, Julius 
C. Keifer and John R. Elliott, Trustees ; Preston Graver, Clerk and 
Assessor; E. E. Riley, Treasurer; William Cox, Marshal. In 18'<1, the 
officers were: John Stevens, C. A. McCracken, H. E. Branch, F. M. 
Warner and L. P. DeTurk, Trustees ; Preston Graver, Clerk and Asses- 
sor ; A. S. Mitchell, Treasurer ; William Cox, Marshal. In 1882, the 
officers were John Stevens, J. E. Toner and T. A. Parks (McCracken and 
Warner held over), Trustees; Preston Graver, Clerk and Assessor; A. S. 
Mitchell, Treasurer ; William Cox, Marshal. In 1883, the officers were : 
W. C. Barnett and E. V. Mitchell (Stevens, Toner and Parks held over), 
Trustees ; Preston Graver, Clerk and Asseesor ; A. S. Mitchell, Treas- 
urer ; W'illiam Cox, Marshal. The following is the town Treasurer's re- 
port for the year ending April 16, 1883 : 

RECEIPTS. 

On hand April 17, 1883 $1,764 14 

Taxes 2,111 25 

Fines 28 55 

Liquor license 455 00 

Billiard tables 70 00 

Peddlers 29 00 

Auctioneers 5 00 

Hawking goods 5 00 

Patent medicine venders 2 00 

Throwing balls 6 00 

Shooting gallery 2 00 

Striking machine 8 00 

Shows and theaters 18 00 

Hite& Parks hall 25 00 

Total $4,528 94 



Paid on orders $2,788 41 

Paid on roads 354 50 

Balance on hand 1,386 03 

Total. $4,528 94 

SECRET SOCIETIES. 

Martinsville Lodge, No. 74, was established in June. 1849, but as the 
records were destroyed by fire the details of the organization cannot be 
given. B. F. Barnard was the first Senior Warden and William A. 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP AND MARTINSVILLE. 93 

Rooker, Junior Warden. The lodge yet survives, with a membership of 
about ninety-five. 

In October, 1868, Osceola Encampment, No. 71, was established by 
the following first members : H. T. Craig, 0. O. Thwing, Willis Record, 
Charles Day, Charles Seaton, A. S. Griggs, J. M, Stafford, William 
Hines and Benjamin Hayward. The officers were 0. 0. Thwing, H. P.; 
Benjamin Hayward, K.; H. T. Craig, S. 

In December, 1872, the Order of the Eastern Star, Queen Esther 
Chapter, No. 15, was established with the following membership: Lillie 
Schofield, Josie Richardson, Ann Clark, Manda Acton, Minerva Wig- 
ginton, Mary Richardson, Carrie Tarleton, Ettie Baldwin, Dora Barnard, 
Alice Thomas, Anna B. Craig, Clara Faselman, Dora L. Egbert, Mary 

A. Gilman, Martha Donavan, Cassie Wampler and Ann Tilford. Mrs. 
Ann Tilford was Matron ; Josie Richardson, A. M. 

The order of the Sons of Temperance was first instituted in Indiana 
in 1847, and within two years a lodge was established at Martinsville, of 
which nothing can be said, as the records are missing. 

In March, 1867, Callis Lodge, No. 274, Odd Fellows, was organized 
at Martinsville, with the following probable first membership : E. W. Cal- 
lis, G. W. Busbee, J. S. Piercy, M. W. Coleman, Willis Record, 0. J. 
Kennedy, A. Carver, B. E. Orner, T. H. Parks, T. F. Orner, C. F. 
Sims, T. A. Sloan, C. B. Huxley, J. D. Whitted, W. A. S. Mitchell, A. 

B. Douglas and J. R. McBride. The charter was granted in February, 

1867. The name of the lodge was afterward changed from Callis to Mar- 
tinsville. It had been named in honor of E. W. Callis, the well-known 
and universally respected editor of the Gazette. J. D. Whitted was the 
first Secretary, and J. H. Piercy the first Treasurer. The present offi- 
cers are R. A" Asher, N. G.; John F. Ray, V. G.; W. E. Shawcross, R. 
S.; Samuel Guthridge, P. S.; W. H. Miller, Treasurer. The lodge is 
in excellent condition, numerically and financially, having a fund of over 
$2,000 at interest, besides valuable paraphernalia of the order, and an 
active membership of seventy-two. The rent of their hall in Park & 
Hites' building is |50 per annum. 

Martinsville Encampment, No. 93, was established in November 

1868, with the following membership : E. W. Callis, J. D. Whitted, w! 
Record, J. A. Lewis, A. R. Chase, John Allen, T. H. Parks, J. E. Ken- 
nedy, G. W. Preston, G. W. Busbee, J. H. Piercy. The Encampment 
is prosperous. 

In January, 1873, Loraine Lodge, No. 95, Rebekah Degree, was es- 
tablished with the following membership : J. A. Lewis, F. A. Rein- 
hart, H. W. Cure, A. Carver, A. R. Chase, 0. J. Kennedy, G. A. Dan- 
ley, J. N. Thompson, J. W. Duncan, J. E. Kennedy, Catharine Lewis, 
Harriett E. Kennedy, Ann E. Henderson, Catharine A. Carver and 
Susan Whitted. The lodge is in good working order. 

A Post of. the Grand Army of the Republic was organized at the 
county seat under the old lodge ritual in 1868, but did not survive longer 
than a few months. On the 14th of June, 1882, another was organized 
under the revised ritual, with the following charter membership : W. H. 
Miller, J. G. Bain, W. W. Kennedy, Levi Ferguson, D. P. Kennedv 
W. G. Grubbs, F. E. McNair, John Miller, C. Hill, M. B. Collins j! 



94 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

E. Toner, T. A. Kennedy, H. H. Olds, W. A. Mars, J. S. Sheppard, 
S. V. List, W. H. Dryden, John Hardrick, J. C. Comer, W. G. Garri- 
son, E. M. Woody, J. E. Burton, W. J. Childevs, A. B. Douglas, J. E. 
Brant, J. H. Seaman, G. W. Warner, M. Kinworthy, Thomas Evans, W. 
0. Pool, Charles Stoker, E. G. Cox, Moses Bailey, E. F. Stimpson, 
Absalom Ross, E. M. Baldwin, George Hubbard, U. H. Farr, John 
Kriner, Josiah L. Burton and Ezra Deweese. The first officers were: D. 
P. Kennedy, S. V.; W. H. Miller, J. V.; J. E. Brant, Chaplain ; U. 
H. Farr, Surgeon ; W. H. Dryden, 0. of D.; J. L. Burton, 0. of G.; 
J. E. Toner, Q. M.; J. H. Seaman, Q. M. S. The present officers are 
W. G. Grubbs, P. C; W. H. Miller, S. V.; U. H. Farr, J. V.; D. P. 
Kennedy, Surgeon ; W. H. Dryden, 0. of D.; M. B. Collins, 0. of G.; 
J. E. Toner, Q. M.; J. H. Seaman, Q. M. S.; H. H. Olds, S. M. The 
post was named Perry M. Blankenship, No. 77, in honor of an old set- 
tler and prominent citizen and soldier. The present membership is 
about sixty-five, and the Post meets in the hall of the K. of P. The 
organization is prosperous. 

Anniversary Lodge, No. 89, Knights of Pythias, was instituted Feb- 
ruary li*, 1880, the following persons being the charter members : J. M. 
Blair, A. J. Baldwin, W. G. Bain, B. W. Burns, F. D. Baldwin, E. A. 
Bourn, J. E. Cardell, J. C. Comer, J. M. Coleman, Ben Dessauer, Aaron 
Guthridge, J. T. Gurley, J. M. Headley, John Hutchins, D. W. Hogan, 
Smith Johnson, George Johnson, I. S. Johnson, D. P. Kennedy, J. C. 
Kriner, Adolphus Kaiser, B. F. Kriner, E. E. Kriner, C. W. Kaiser, 
Alexander Lockhart, E. L. Moran, J. V. Mitchell, M. J. Nickum, W. 
R. Nosier, C. W. Olds, A. S. Pearce, W. Y. Pratt, E. A. Piatt, James 
Quinn, F. D. Rundell, Lloyd Rariden, H. A. Smock, J. C. Simpson, 
Samuel Seiders, J. E. Toner, A. B. Walker, W. H. Webb, Jonathan 
Williams and J. A. Yager. The first officers were A. S. Pearce, C. C; 
James Blair, P. C; H. A. Smock, V. C; D. P. Kennedy, Prelate; M. 
J. Nickum, M. F.; J. C. Simpson, M. of E. The lodge is in prosperous 
condition, with a membership of over sixty. Meetings are held in their 
hall in Park & Kite's building on the east side. The hall rent is ^50 
per annum. Two deaths only have occurred since the organization of 
the lodge. The present officers are A. S. Pearce, D. G. C; C. Rose, C. 
C; Eb Henderson, V. C; F. D. Rundell, P. C; E. E. Kriner, K. of 
R. S.; J. J. Hilton, Prelate ; Walter Nutter, M. F.; J. A. Lewis, M. of 
E.; F. D. Baldwin, M. A. 

BANKING ENTERPRISES. 

In 1860, P. M. Parks & Co. founded a private bank at Martinsville, 
under the old State banking law, with a capital of ^50,000. Milton 
Hite was one of the company, and J. J. Deakins was Cashier. The bank 
was in the Parks & Hite building on the east side. In 1865, so pros- 
perous had been the bank during the feverish times of the war, the capi- 
tal had a little more than doubled itself. At the latter date a National 
Bank was organized under Congressional enactment, the following per- 
sons being stockholders: P. M. Parks, Milton Hite, N. T. Cunningham, 
0. R. Daugherty, Henry Sims, J. J. Johnson, Clement Nutter, Jackson 
Record, Cvrus Whetzel, W. R. Harrison, T. H. Parks, Jacob Adams, 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP AND MARTINSVILLE. 95 

H. Satterwhite, Robert Smith, Mrs. Julia Egbert, 0. J. Glessner, Eb 
Henderson and Franklin Landers. The capital was $100,000. P. M. 
Parks was President ; Milton Hite, Vice President, and H. Satterwhite, 
Cashier. P. M. Parks died in 1867, and Milton Hite became President ; 
A. E. Graham, became Assistant Cashier. Mr. Hite died in September, 
1877, and T. H. Parks became President. The bank charter will expire 
in 1885. The following was the statement of the bank on the 22d of 
June, 1883: 

RESOURCES. 

Loans and discounts $147,747 22 

Overdrafts 2,474 43 

U. S. bonds to secure circulation 50,0o0 00 

Due from approved reserve agents 8,589 37 

Due from other National Banks 24,648 47 

Real estate, furniture and fixtures 27,300 00 

Current expenses and taxes paid 1,701 78 

Bills of other banks 5,110 00 

Fractional paper currency, nickles and pennies 56 36 

Specie 20,638 00 

Legal tender notes 3,200 00 

Redemption fund with United States Treasurer (5 per cent 

of circulation) 2,250 00 

Total $293,715 63 

LIABILITIES. 

Capital stock paid in $100,000 00 

Surplus fund 25,000 00 

Undivided profits 21,138 53 

National Bank notes outstanding 45,000 00 

Individual deposits subject to check 51,985 40 

Demand certificates of deposit 50,591 70 

Total $293,715 63 

The Mitchells are doing a limited banking business in the town. 

EDUCATION AT THE COUNTY SEAT. 

But little can be learned of the early schools of Martinsville. No 
school was probably taught until 1823, and might have been as late as 
1824, but at that date there was certainly a school taught during the 
warm months on the porch of an old house on the west side of the 
square, by Dr. John Morrison. The names of all the early teachers 
cannot be stated. After Ihaf date, school was held more or less every 
year, in private dwellings, in houses that had been vacated by the owner, 
and in the old log court house on the southwest corner of the square. 
Some have said that the first school at Martinsville was taught by James 
Cunning, in a barn northeast of town, said to have been the property of 
Samuel Scott. Amy Magee was an early teacher also. In 1827, an 
old vacated log building on the square was used for school purposes. 
All these schools were supported by subscription, the parents paying 
from $1 to $2 for each of their children for the term usually of three 
months. About the year 1833, a small frame schoolhouse was erected 
near the present residence of Mr. Branch, which was used continuously 
until 1839. Two of the teachers in this house were William Lee and a 
Mr. Welch. It is stated that a man named Hiram Lamb taught in the 



96 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

town as early as 1828 or 1829. His name is one of the earliest that can 
be mentioned. He taught reading in the testament, writing on rude pa- 
per with a quill pen, and "ciphering" from Pike's arithmetic. Welch 
taught several terms, and was a man of considerable learning. He was 
a strict disciplinarian, and flogged his pupils on the least provocation 
with a long hickory gad well seasoned in the hot embers of the fire. Mr. 
Lee was club-footed, and also had some peculiar deformity of his hands 
or arms. He knew how to whip. The old "dunce cap " was a favorite 
institution of his, and many a time and oft did it grace the heads of of- 
fending pupils. 

In about 1839, the first school was taught in the county seminary by 
an eccentric Irishman named David Anderson. He was well educated 
for that day, and was an accomplished instructor and disciplinarian. As 
the seminary was an institution of the county, it was well attended from 
the start, not only by the young men and women of the county seat, but 
by others from distant portions of the county, the latter boarding in 
town during each session of school. The smaller children of the town 
were largely excluded, and were provided for in the old frame schoolhouse 
and elsewhere. The educational center, however, was the seminary. 
Excellent schools were held, many of the higher branches being taught 
there from the first, and a thorough preparation for college being fur- 
nished a few years later. The present common school system of to-day 
was unknown then. All the ordinary schools were sustained by private 
means, and by the proceeds from the sale of the sixteenth section in 
Congressional townships. The advocates of popular taxation for the sup- 
port of public schools were regarded as fanatical and wholly unjust in 
their views. Then the burden fell upon the parents of large families, 
who, owing to their poverty, were the least able to educate their children. 
Citizens in good circumstances, but without children, escaped the burden. 
The county seminary scheme was quite popular, as it furnished an educa- 
tion higher than could be secured at the subscription schools. But as 
time passed public sentiment was molded in favor of making property 
the basis of taxation for the support of public schools and not the number 
of children. This led eventually to the adoption of the foundation of the 
present free public school system, first in 1843 and later in 1852. Dur- 
ing the forties, the steady decadence of the seminary system transpired. 
That institution in Morgan County lost favor, and gradually became a 
school for the county seat and vicinity, and not for the whole county. 

The attendance from abroad steadily decreased until in 1846 the 
institution Avas no longer one for the whole county. After 1853, school- 
houses, built and supported by taxation upon property, sprang up in all 
portions of the county, and the seminary was ordered sold, and the pro- 
ceeds became part and parcel of the common school fund. The old sem- 
inary did good service in its day. 

About the time the seminary was sold, two or three small frame school- 
houses were erected in Martinsville, one in the southern part, one in the 
northeastern, and one in the northwestern. They were not built, how- 
ever, at the same time, but at intervals during the fifties. Why one 
large building with two or three rooms was not built is not clear. But 
the novelty of the common school system, and the prevailing ignorance 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP AND MARTINSVILLE. 97 

of its practical working, prevented it for a period of years from exclud- 
ing the old private or subscription schools, which had formerly been the 
universal source of education of the masses from the town, and accord- 
ingly during the fifties numerous private schools were taught, a strong 
demand existing for the higher branches. In 1855, M. L. Johnson 
opened the " Martinsville Female Academy," in the rooms over Mr. 
Crary's store. Several terms were taught, and considerable energy was 
manifested, but the institution did not sustain the hopes of its founder. 
Various other schools of a similar character were conducted for short pe- 
riods about the same time. In about 1860, the old Baptist Church, 
which had stood unused for some time, was transformed into a high school 
building under the private control of Dr. Snoddy, who, if reports are cor- 
rect, conducted a select school of great excellence for about two years. He 
was succeeded in 1862 by Miss M. F. Jones (now Mrs. Wigginton), who 
taught with universal favor for three consecutive years. In 1865, R. V. 
Marshall succeeded Miss Jones, and had as assistants A. M. Cunning 
and Miss Comer. Marshall was a capable man, having been educated 
at the State University at Bloomington. In 1867, the front part of the 
present high school building was constructed at a cost of about $13,500, 
William Orner being the contractor. About one-third of the cost was paid 
by Washington Township. As yet, the town, though incorporated, was one 
of the common school districts of the township. Mr. Marshall, with two as- 
sistants and with a salary of $1,000, was employed to commence theschool 
in the new building, which he did, continuing for about two years. His suc- 
cessor was Prof. Webster, who remained but a short time. In 1870, the 
town became an independent school district, and immediately purchased 
for $4,000 the interest which Washington Township owned in the high 
school building. In 1877, a fine addition to the building was erected 
for $6,000. Mrs. Stanford succeeded Prof. Webster, and was in turn 
succeeded by Prof. French. The present Principal, Prof. Starkey, took 
charge of the school about six years ago. Under his management the 
usefulness of the school has been doubled. He is a man of fine talent and 
culture. The school is one of the best of the kind in the State. In 
July, 1883, the town Trustees purchased an entire block in the south- 
eastern part of town for $2,000, upon which a temporary frame school- 
house is to be erected. This was rendered necessary by the inefficacy of 
the present house to meet the wants of the town. After a few years, the 
frame building to be erected will be converted into a janitor's residence, 
and a fine brick school building will take its place. This is glancing 
ahead, however. 

RELIGION AT THE COUNTY SEAT. 

Circuit riders of various religious denominations came to Martinsville 
early in the twenties, but if any attempt was made to found a class it resulted 
in nothing but failure. Late in the twenties, however, a small class of Meth- 
odists was partially organized, the greater number of the few members 
living outside of the town. This small class of Methodists was organized 
at the old log court house in 1827, among the earliest members being G. 
A. Phelps. James Epperson, John Craig, Edward Talbot, Noah Allison, 
Benjamin Bull, Dr. Francis A. Matheny, Jacob Harryman, Archibald 



98 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

Cramer. Fred Gardner and their families and others. Late in the thirties 
and early in the forties, the class met at the house of Mr. Gardner for wor- 
ship. Ministers of the Presbyterian, Christian, Baptist and other de- 
nominations appeared and preached to motley assemblages of citizens in 
the court house and the schoolhouse. The second permanent class organ- 
ized in the town was that of the Cumberland Presbyterian. . It was fully 
organized in 1841, by Rev. Elam McCord, with the following member- 
ship : Isaac D. and Thurzea Sheppard, John Taggart and wife, William 
Morgan and wife, James Maxwell and wife, Robert Hamilton, Grand- 
mother Bothwell, Polly Ray, Mrs. John Cox, Mrs. Anna Williams, Mrs. 
Franky Wilson. It was organized in the court house. Soon after this, 
Mr. Sheppard circulated a subscription list to raise means to build a 
church. He soon had about ^600 subscribed. The few Methodists and 
Christians in the town about this time discovered what Mr. Sheppard had 
accomplished, whereupon members of those denominations, not to be out- 
done, also circulated subscription lists, but were met with the objection 
that it was out of the question to try to build three churches in the town 
at that time, and the attempts by these denominations were abandoned 
for the time. The Presbyterians were so active that their church, a small 
brick structure yet standing in the town, was constructed by James Craw- 
ford the following year, 1842. The total cost was about $1,500. Addi- 
tions later cost $500. Rev. McCord served the class for seven consecu- 
tive years — from 1840, when he first visited the town, to 1848. James 
Ray, William Orner, Samuel Downing, Benjamin Sweet, carpenters, 
worked out their subscriptions on the building. This old church was 
used until two years ago, when the present fine brick structure was erected 
by the same class at a cost of over $6,000. The class has been prosper- 
ous since the start, and has had a Sunday school the greater portion of 
the time. W. H. Miller, a most excellent man for the place, and a lead- 
er of the church, is the present Superintendent. The missionary work 
done by this class is said to be the largest in the conference. This is 
largely due to Mr. Miller's efi'orts and management. 

The Methodists, as has been stated, had an organization at the coun- 
ty seat as early as 1827. The Grays, Crawfords and Warrens belonged 
later. The church was not built until about 1848-49. It cost about 
$1,000. Among the members at this time were Jacob and Catharine 
Harryman, Charity Gardner, Mr. McCormack's family, A. D. Rose, 
Susan Rose, Thomas Downing, Nancy Downing, William Downing, E. 
T. Harryman, John Edwards, Elizabeth Barrickman, Hester Barrick- 
man, Mathew Whetstine and wife, Mr. Elliott, Martha Orner, W. W. 
Wilson, and those mentioned above, and others to the number of about 
forty. The frame church was used until 1873, when the new brick struct- 
ure was built at a cost of nearly $17,000. Among the ministers have 
been Tinsley, Williams, Dorsey, Clifford, Powell, Dane, Wharton, Lath- 
rop. Smith, Sutton, McCan, Culmer, Grim, Asbury, Thompson, Chap- 
man, Hayes, Binkley, Talbot, Brant, McGinnis, and the present minister, 
J. H. Ketcham. The church has a membership of about 300, and has 
had a prosperous Sunday school for many years. 

The Christian class was organized early in the forties, and a church 
was built about 1846. Among the members were P. M. Parks, Perry 



BROWN TOWNSHIP AND MOORESVILLE. 99 

Blankenship, Benjamin Sweet, James Jackson, John Sims, William Ma- 
jor, Job Hastings, Joel Wilson, W. H. Craig, Samuel Tucker, Thomas 
Hess, Allen Hess, Jackson Warner, W. J. Sparks and others, including 
the families of the above. The class has been one of the most prosperous 
at the county seat. The same building, to which many improvements 
have been added, is yet in use. A Sunday school was organized at an 
early day, and has endured until the present with a large increase in the 
membership. The Tuckers have been prominent in the church since the 
first. 

The Baptists organized at Martinsville as early as 1850. A. B. 
Alsip, the Frinks, and others were members. The brick church was built 
about 1857, but for some reason was not finished. The leading Baptists 
removed from the town, and the building was transformed into a school- 
house, being thus used until after the last war, when it was purchased by 
the Catholics for $700, and has since been used by them. Father Gillig 
was the first priest. Among the members who have belonged are B. Gil- 
lig, George Frisz, Mrs. Magee, Mrs. Singleton, Mrs. Woods, Pat 
King and family, Peter Miller and family, Mrs. Lockhart, Mrs. Max- 
ville, Peter Rooney, Mrs. Gillig, George Estling, Charles Schrader. The 
priests since Father Gillig have been Father Snell, Father Erceneus, 
Father Victor and Father Stanislaus, the present priest, who visits the 
class onoe a month. 

POPULATION. 

In 1823, there were about ten families at Martinsville. In 1830, 
the population was about 175 ; in 1840, about 400 ; in 1850, about 525 ; 
in 1860, about 700; in 1870, about 1,350; in 1880, about 1,943; and in 
1883, about 2,300. 



BROWN TOWNSHIP AND MOORESVILLE. 



THE PIONEERS. 



THERE are many interesting historical items connected with Moores- 
ville and vicinity. The settlement there, after it had begun, was so 
rapid, and the settlers were so intelligent, moral and thrifty, that the 
northern part of the county was not surpassed by any other portion for 
enterprise and general advancement and excellence. It is difficult to give 
with any certainty the name of the first settler in Brown Township, as 
several came in about the same time. If carefully sifted reports are re- 
liable, there was no permanent settler until 1819, at which time a half 
dozen or more arrived. The first man was probably either Hiram Mat- 
thews, Benjamin Cuthbert, Charles Reynolds, Thomas Lee, Samuel Bar- 
low or William Ballard, all of whom entered the township for permanent 
residence in 1819. It is thought that Mr. Ballard was the first, as he 
opened a tavern on the old "Whetzel Trace " early in 1819. Among others 
who came during the next three or four years were John H. Bray, Eli 
Hadley, Harris Bray, Asa Bales, William McPherson, James Hadley, 



100 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

Barclay Burris, Edward Bray, R. G. Burris, John D. Carter, then a boy, 
Joel Dixon, Thomas Ballard, Richard Day, Nathaniel Carter, Charles 
Vertrees, Joshua Carter, Levi Plummer, William Rooker, Samuel 
Jones, William Gregory, I. W. Rooker, Ira Mendenhall, William Reason, 
Henry McCracken, William Bales, Benjamin White, William McCracken, 
Benjamin Thornburg, John Wilson, Thomas McNeff, William McNeff, 
William Matlock, Samuel Barlow, Joseph Moon, Eli Harvey, Samuel 
Moore and many others. The poll-tax payers in 1842 were Gary Bea- 
8on, Edward Brady, William Brady, Caleb Beason, Harris Bray, John 
B. Burt, John Blanton, R. G. Burris, Smith Boyd, W. M. Black, Bar- 
clay Burris, Martin Beason, John Caveness, Alexander Conduitt, John 
Carter, J. H. Combs, Joshua Cox, J. L. Cox, John D. Carter, Perry 
Carpenter, Gabriel Coble, Daniel Cox, Nathaniel Carter, William Day, 
Aiken Daiken, Daniel Day, Thomas Dunegan, Nathan Dixon, Riley 
Dixon, John Day, Samuel Edmundson, Samuel Evans, John E. Fultz, 
Isaac Ferrand (a cooper), William Fogleman, William Fields, Dr. A. V. 
Gray, Daniel Greeson, M. T. Hadley, Eli Harvey, Simon Hadley, Will- 
iam Hadley, Dr. John Hiner, Job Hadley, David Harvey, Robert Har- 
vey, W. B. Harrold, Reuben Harris, Noah Housand, Joseph Hiatt, 
William Hardridge, John Hardrick, Jabez Hunt, Soloman Hunt, William 
Hinson, Thomas Herrold, T. E. Johnson, Hezekiah Jessup, John John- 
son, P. P. Johnson (a tailor), James Johnson, George Kimbro, J. R. 
Kerr (a weaver), J. S. Kelley, Obed King, James Lindley, Aaron Lloyd, 
William Leathers, Joel Landrum, Alfred Moore, Samuel Moore, G- D. 
May, Hiram Matthews, John Matthews, John B. Moon, William Mc- 
Cracken, Henry McCracken, Riley McCrary, William McPherson, 
Thomas McNeff, Ricks Newby, Robert Newby, M. L. Orell, James Pad- 
dock, John J. Pfoff, John Pope, Dixon Pennington, R. E. Preston (a school- 
teacher), Michael Rusee, Jesse S. Rooker, Isaac Reed, Thomas Rariden, 
James Richardson, Allen Robertson, T. H. Rooker, J. W. Richards, 
Jacob Shanafelt, Pleasant Sumner, Henry Shanafelt, J. E. Starr, S. V. 
Scott, B. D, Scott, John W. Thompson. Benjamin Thornburg, William 
Towell, I. W. Rooker, George Rosier, Reuben Rariden and Eli Vestal. 
This list is given to preserve the names of as many old settlers as possible. 

INDUSTRIAL DEVELOPMENT AND INCIDENTS. 

White Lick Creek was the attraction in early years. The land bor- 
dering it was nicely rolling, and was largely alluvial, and almost inexhaust- 
ible in fertility. Log cabins arose in every direction along its banks, and 
in a very short period waving seas of wheat and other grain could be seen. 
Richard Day built a small corn cracker on the creek as early as 1822. 
A small dam was built across the stream, and a short race conveyed water 
to the old " flutter wheel," which propelled a small pair of buhrs made of 
sand stone. The flour that was made at this mill invariably contained 
sand from the old stones. The settlers were accordingly full of sand in 
more respects than one. Their teeth were always sharp and their appe- 
tites good, both being whetted, no doubt, on the sand. It was a cheap 
grindstone. People were not as fastidious then as regards what they ate 
as they are now. Now we have this patent fandangled process that 
turns out flour so fine that you cannot see it with a microscope. Mr. 



BROWN TOWNSHIP AND MOORESVILLE. 101 

Moon erected his ^w mill on the East Fork in 1823. It was a rude 
affair, but furnished considerable native lumber for a few years. Mr. 
Moore says that when he reached the township in 1823, wolves, bears and 
numerous herds of deer were almost every-day sights where Mooresville 
now stands. John H. Bray started the first fulling mill in the central 
part of Indiana. It was located a short distance west of Mooresville, and 
commenced operation a year or two before 1830. It was a rude affair, 
but it served the purposes of the neighborhood. He did not even card. 
The settlers were obliged to do that themselves by hand. They bought 
their cards of Samuel Moore, who purchased them in the East with his 
goods. Mr. Moore also brought in huge bales of cotton, which were pur- 
chased and transformed into cloth by hundreds of wives for miles around. A 
calico dress at 37^ cents per yard (only four yards), was then regarded 
as the most stylish costume in the woods. Mrs. Thornburg brought with 
her her silk wedding dress, but folks would have called her " stuck up " 
if she had dared to wear it. She used it to make winding sheets for the 
children that died in the neighborhood. Soon after the Thornburgs 
reached the township their horses were stolen, and while the men were 
gone for a week or more in pursuit, Mrs. Thornburg was left alone with 
three or four small children. She worked nearly all the time they were 
gone, burning brush and logs, and getting ready for the coming crop. She 
was the daughter of Rev. Peter Monical, a Methodist minister of more 
than ordinary ability and piety. The Thornburgs have since been among 
the most enterprising and respected citizens of the county. John H. 
Bray was a large man, and wielded great influence wherever he moved. 
During the winter of 1821-22, he is said to have killed twenty-eight deer 
without going hunting. That shows how numerous those animals were. 
Their hides were worth about $1, and often their flesh was worth little 
more than nothing. Coons were numerous and their hides were worth 
about a drink of whisky. It is told on the venerable Samuel Moore, that, 
on one occasion, a coon skin was traded him for a drink of whisky. He 
threw the skin up in the loft and resumed his place behind the counter. 
Some thirsty fellow took it down unnoticed by Mr. Moore, and traded it 
to him a second time for a drink. The crowd assembled caught the idea, 
and the cheat was repeated again and again until Mr. Moore imagined he 
had a loft full of fine skins. It is quite likely that the fellow who told 
this story had been reading the life of David Crockett, and had borrowed 
the tale to tell at Mr. Moore's expense. Mr. Moore bought and traded 
for coon skins, however, but he recollects nothing about finding his loft 
full of emptiness. The tale is a myth. How foolishly credulous some 
persons are, and how many will base fact on fiction ! 

CONTINUED REMINISCENCES, 

The old Moon Saw Mill continued to operate for several years. Har- 
ris Bray owned a saw mill about a mile and a half east of town, and also 
conducted a small distillery there for a number of years. When Hiram 
Matthews came to the township in 1820, a heavy fall of snow had just 
fallen. He crossed the tracks of seventeen different bears, all turned 
south except one. Benjamin Thornburg came in 1822. He had no corn, 
and could get none in the settlement, and went up northeast of Indian- 



102 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

apolis to Strawtown, where he obtained a supply which was floated down 
White River to the Bluffs, and then hauled out by wagon. He helped 
his neighbors roll logs thirty days of the first season, and in return had 
his rolled. It was a sight, no doubt, to see thirty or forty men in a big 
field where logs and brush lay in every direction. The men would be 
divided into companies with Captains, and each party would try to outdo 
the others. Four strong, skillful men with handspikes would pick up 
and carry an enormous log. It would take about a score of men nowa- 
days with half a dozen derricks to lift such a log ! You are not required, 
reader, to believe that statement unless you so desire. The women would 
usually gather to do the cooking, and the times in and around the cabins 
were about as lively, and far more attractive than out in the field, for our 
mothers were young then, and strong, and had the bright faces, round 
forms and light jokes and laughter which we so well remember in our 
boyhood days. We cannot be too kind to the old grandfathers and grand- 
mothers whose feet never tired waiting upon us when we were helpless. 

BEAR STORIES. 

One day in September, about the year 1829, Nathaniel Carter went 
to Richmond, Ind., to attend the Quaker annual meeting. While he was 
gone, along during the evening Ira Mendenhall came over to his house to 
get help to haul in a large bear that he had just killed. He said that he 
had gone out to get his cows, and had discovered the bear, whereupon he 
fired and wounded it. He chased it and wounded it with a second shot. 
This so disabled the bear that he was enabled to get close enough to fin- 
ish it, which he did with a shot through the head. It was a very large 
animal, and was hauled to the house with a horse. J. D. Carter, then a 
large boy, walked behind to see that the bear kept on its belly so that its 
hair would not be injured. The hide was taken off and put to soak. 
Mr. Rooker was asked to come over to judge whether the meat would do 
to eat. He pronounced it good, and the neighbors were accordingly re- 
galed with choice bear steak. They also pronounced it good. One day 
J. D. Carter was digging ginseng root near the woods. Upon looking 
up suddenly, he was astonished to see a large bear on a limb not many 
rods distant. He was considerably scared, and ran to the house to get his 
father. Mr. Carter, Sr., hurried out with his gun, and brought Mr. 
Bruin down at the first fire. The animal weighed about 300 pounds. 

A SNAKE STORY. 

In April, 1823, the rattlesnakes were very numerous where Richard 
Day lived, near the toll gate east of Mooresville. There was a den of 
them in the big spring there. The Day boys and Carter boys secured 
several tall sycamore gums and placed them by the springs, and then by 
watching with long poles succeeded in throwing thirty-six of the venomous 
reptiles into the gums, whence they could not get out. On Sunday, sev- 
eral neighbors gathered to see the snakes. Blood was taken from the arm 
of some man present, and held in a cup, while the snakes were maddened 
with a stick, and permitted to strike several times into a small piece of 
cloth, and then the cloth thus poisoned was dipped in the blood. Ac- 
cording to J. D. Carter, who witnessed the experiments, the blood "boiled 



BROWN TOWNSHIP AND MOORESVILLE. 103 

and boiled." After the blood had been thoroughly poisoned, the cele- 
brated rattlesnake root was crushed up and placed in the cup, whereupon 
the boiling instantly ceased. This is a snake story. 

SAMUEL MOORE. 

This well-known man who is yet living in Mooresville, at the age of 
eighty-four years, with recollection not a whit impaired by the ravages of 
time, came to Brown Township in 1823. He had been a resident of 
Salem, Ind., for a short time previously, and had there formed a partner- 
ship with Mr. Newby, of the firm of Booth & Newby, of Paola, by which 
the latter was to furnish $1,500 for three years, and Mr. Moore was to 
furnish $600 and his services for three years, to conduct a general mer- 
cantile business, at some good point in the New Purchase that was then 
rapidly settling up. Mr. Moore came with his $2,000 worth of goods, 
and placed the same in a blacksmith shop, which had previously been 
built and operated by a smith, named Charles Vertrees on the old Indian 
Trace, but which was then vacant. That amount of goods then was in 
bulk, only about one-third as large as at present. Calicoes, 37 J cents per 
yard, and other things in proportion, greatly reduced the bulk from what 
it would be at present. The goods completely filled the little log building 
that stood at the foot of the hill, about a quarter of a mile south of 
Mooresville, and hence was not in Mooresville at all. Here Mr. Moore 
lived for three years, boarding with some of the families near by, and 
enjoying a lucrative trade for that time and place with the white settlers, 
and often with Indians who had furs to dispose of for trinkets and ammu- 
nition. At the end of three years, the partnership between Mr. Newby 
and Mr. Moore was at an end, and as the latter had cleared enough to 
furnish him with a satisfactory capital, without the aid of a partner, he 
concluded to settle with Mr. Newby, and continue the business on his own 
responsibility. The net profits for the three years were $3,000. After 
the business had been settled, Mr. Moore returned with a fresh stock, and 
opened the first store in Mooresville proper, which was then a total wilder- 
ness of heavy trees, in a frame building, which was erected by Joshua 
and Nathaniel Carter, carpenters, and Samuel Harryman, mason. 

MOORESVILLE. 

The first house upon the present site of the town was built by Asa 
Bales in the fall of 1824. About the same time, Charles Wilcox, Samuel 
Moore, William B. Harrold and Dr. Curtis G. Hussey built houses. 
The latter is now a millionaire of Pittsburgh, Penn. Mr. Moore's 
house was a frame structure, the lumber coming from Mr. Moon's saw 
mill. It stood where Mr. Woodward's store now stands. William 
G. Lear, Thomas Harrold, Jacob Combs, Isaac Edwards, Eli Tansey, 
William Cline and others, were other early residents of the little town 
which grew rapidly. Mr. Moore of course had the first store. In 1826, 
Alexander Worth & Co. opened the second store, with a stock worth 
about $4,000. Worth had been interested in the Salem firm of Booth &; 
Newby, the senior member of the firm being the father of Senator Booth, 
of California. He had formerly been a clock peddler in the Carolinas. 



104 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

He afterward moved his business from Salem to Terra Haute, where he 
did a mammoth business and became rich. He is said to be living there 
yet. Mr, Worth was really the agent of this firm, whose goods he was 
intrusted with. W. G. Lear opened the third store in 18i:6, and Silas 
Stapp, the fourth, in the fall of 1827. Pemberton Dickens opened a 
liquor shop in 1828. He afterward went to Danville, where he engaged 
in the grocery business. He could not write, and was in the habit of 
using signs in keeping his book accounts. One day one of his patrons 
went to him to make the semi-annual settlement, and found among other 
articles that he was charged with a whole cheese. He denied having 
purchased such an article of diet, but there on the day book which Mr. 
Dickens proudly exhibited, was the big O, the sign representing the cheese. 
The patron still denied it, and after reflecting a moment, stated that he 
had bought a grindstone. " Oh yes," exclaimed Mr. Dickens, " that's so, 
I forgot to make the hole." Whereupon he completed the entry in his 
day book thus O. 

" In 1830, Worth & Kelley went into partnership in the mercantile 
business. Armstead Jackson was the tavern keeper in 1832. A Mr. 
Worthington went into partnership with Mr. Moore in about 1834 or 
1835. He was related to the latter by marriage. John J. Cox opened a 
tavern and grocery about the same time- It may be said here that 
Samuel Moore sold goods at Mooresville for forty-four consecutive years. 
He was the leading business man of his day in the northern part of the 
county. J. S. Kelley was probably next in business activity. Both 
kept excellent stores during the thirties and forties, often having as high 
as $15,000 worth of goods, which were purchased in Eastern markets twice 
a year. William Yarborough kept a tailor shop in town about 1840. 
Along in the forties, Mr. Worth failed in the pork business and was suc- 
ceeded by Hadley & Worthington. Among the residents and industries 
about 1836-37 were the following: Samuel Moore, J. S. Kelley, Alex- 
ander Worth, merchants; Israel Hunt, Gabriel Coble, W. M. Black, J. 
M. Leathers, John Cox, Jeremiah Blankenship, Joseph Hiatt, A. Jack- 
son, W. C. Cline, Solomon Hunt, Joshua Cox, J. H. Combs (wagon- 
maker), W. H. P. Woodward (a young man just arrived), Fred Lester 
(shoe-maker), B. Wood, Joseph Wood, George D. May, B. B, Ball, Isaac 
Williams, Thomas Murphy (wagon-maker), Samuel Watts, James Richard- 
son, Charles Wilcox, George Crayton, Solomon Dunegan and his three 
sons — Lemuel, Thomas and Frank, all blacksmiths and the father a Bap- 
tist preacher. Cox, Blankenship and Jackson were the liquor sellers and 
tavern keepers. Mr. Bray's saw-mill and distillery, east of town, were 
running. Richardson and Wilcox made hats from lamb's wool; Watts was 
a tailor. Mr. Woodward commenced the business with him in 1835 
and continued the business many years, until his health began to fail him, 
when he abandoned the business, as he says, just about the time sewing 
machines came into use. A Frenchman named Segart was a tailor also. 
Isaac Williams conducted a saddlery and harness shop. J. S. Kelley 
erected a pottery a short distance west, and Ball was his potter. They 
manufactured many excellent crocks, jars, jugs, etc., some of which may 
yet be seen in neighborhood. Several thousand of these useful household 
articles were made annually and found a ready sale for many miles 



BROWN TOWNSHIP AND MOORESVILLE. 106 

around. Alexander Worth's carding mill was another important enter- 
prise. At first nothing but carding was done, but later, in obedience to 
the demand, spinning and weaving machinery was purchased and a Mr. 
Bastian, a practical weaver, was employed. Flannels, jeans and sat- 
inets were woven. At this time (late in the thirties) the village had a 
population of over 300, and business of all descriptions was very active. 

MERCANTILE TRADE, PORK-PACKING, ETC. 

Mr. Moore established branch stores at the Bluffs and at Martins- 
ville, the business at the latter place being conducted by Mr. Worthing- 
ton. He had over |30,000 invested in general merchandise at the three 
places during the forties. His book accounts were enormous, and hie 
trade equally as extensive. He cleared thousands of dollars. He erected 
a big grist mill early in the thirties on White Lick Creek near the town, 
and there was not a larger, better or more active grist mill at the time in 
the central part of the State. That alone added more than any other 
one thing to the rapid development of Mooresville. Large quantities of 
flour, corn meal, wheat and corn were shipped by boat from the mill down 
the creek to the river and thence down to Southern markets. He also 
engaged extensively in the pork-packing business, employing many hands 
in the packing season during the colder months to do the slaughtering. 
He owned a big pork house at the Bluff. He sent off as high as five 
boat loads of pork and produce in one year. John Scott, Reuben Hen- 
derson, Perry Carpenter, Jacob Peyton and others were his pilots. He 
sent a total of nearly thirty boat loads down the river while he was in 
the business. He bought nearly 100 horses in 1833, and drove them to 
Virginia to market. They were taken to the large sugar plantations on 
the island of Cuba. Large numbers of the hogs bought were not 
slaughtered at all here, but were driven into Ohio and sold at the big 
markets there. He took off as high as 3,000 hogs at one time in this 
manner, separating them for convenience in handling into droves of 600 
or 800, and driving the droves a few miles apart. Many men were 
needed to take care of them and feed them on the way. The hogs then 
were not as they are now. They were older, poorer, and, hence, were 
much better travelers. J. S. Kelley also did considerable business in 
pork packing and shipping. Mr. Moore conducted a saw mill in con- 
nection with his big grist mill. 

LATER BUSINESS ENTERPRISES. 

Among the business men during the forties were John W. Thompson, 
Conduitt & Brother, Samuel Moore, J. S. Kelley, Sheets & Brothers, S. 
Hunt, Alfred Moore & Co., Riley Dixon, Hawk & Yarborough, J. W. 
Parker, Holman and D. J. Johnson were the leading merchants. Bur- 
roughs & Manker, cabinet-makers ; S. S. & J. Ellis, saddles and harness ; 
Isaac Williams, same; Black, Wilkins & Co., tanning and currying. 
Mr. Worth's woolen factory was burned not far from 1840, but was then 
commenced in his old pork-packing building which was fitted up for the 
purpose. Here it was that spinning and weaving were done. John 
Carter conducted a linseed oil mill in the northern part of town on a 
small scale. The machinery was operated by cattle on an inclined plane. 



106 



HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 



PLATTING OF THE VILLAGE. 

In the fall of 1824, Mr. Moore, who had purchased the land where 
the town now stands, employed a surveyor and laid out the village, which 
was named in his honor. The plat was as follows : 

North. 



BLOCK £ 
16 Lots. 



BLOCK 4, 
16 Lots. 



"West. 



Main 



Street. 



BLOCK 2, 
16 Lots. 



BLOCK 1, 
16 Lots. 



South. 



East. 



INCORPORATION OF MOORESVILLE. 

The growth of the village during the twenties was so rapid that in 
1831 the population was over 200, and every business industry was full 
of promise. In March, 1831, the question of incorporating the town 
was submitted to the citizens, and carried by a majority of twenty-four 
votes, the total vote being thirty-two. At the same time, a large addition 
of 140 lots was laid out and offered for sale, with many buyers. The 
town was accordingly incorporated, and the following men were the first 
Trustees : Samuel Moore, Asa Bales, W. C. Cline, J. S. Kelley and 
James Bradshaw. After about two years, the municipal government died 
out, but was again revived in 1838, since which time, if reports are cor- 
rect, it has been maintained. A jail was built in the thirties, to accom- 
modate the disorderly. The town ordinances were published in the 
Chronicle, edited at Mooresville in 1846 and until about 1851 by T. J. 
Worth. This paper was an important factor at Mooresville, but was not 
supported to satisfy the owner, who removed it to the county seat. The 
surrounding country, however, could not afford to do much better, as it 
was taken in all families. 

LATER INDUSTRIAL PURSUITS. 

Sheets & Brothers engaged in the mercantile business soon after 1850- 
W. H. P. Woodward began in 1857, his partner being Mr. Fogleman. 
Later came Thornburg & Son, Robert R. Scott, A. B. Gregory, Calvin 
Moore, who owned the first drug store ; Woodward & Hinson, grocers ; 
Joseph Pool, drugs ; G. W. Ross, same ; Frank Hadley, same ; Harvey, 
same ; Clinton Hadley, the present druggist ; Rusie & Richardson, stoves, 
about twenty years ago ; Michael Rusie, hardware, in the fifties, and 
many others. The population of the town in 1850 was about 500. 



BROWN TOWNSHIP AND MOORESVILLE. 107 

PRESENT BUSINESS ENTERPRISES. 

Dry goods, J. H. Thompson & Son, Fred Sheets & Bro., W. H. P. 
Woodward, Parker & Co.; hardware, T. A. Richardson ; grocers, John 
A. Newman, W. H. P. Woodward, Leathers Bros., Peter Farmer ; drugs, 
G. W. Bass, C. C. Hadley, S. M. Hadley ; millinery, Carrie Rusie ; 
restaurants, L. D. Comer ; butchers, T. H. Prather, Chris Egler ; livery, 
Hamilton Jackson & Bro., Charles Wellman ; harness, B. F. Jones ; 
carriages, Leander Shanafelt, W. H. White ; grist mill, Smith & Hiatt ; 
saw mill and planing mill, Mathew Comer; tile factory, A. W. Hadley & 
Bro.; lumber yard, Eli Sumner ; grain buyers. Smith & Hiatt, Mr. Mars- 
ley ; creamery, Jordan & Co.; photographer, I. P. Calvert ; printing 
offices, W. H. Hunt, Larkin Elliott ; hotels, Merrick, Wellman, Mc- 
Cracken ; barbers, William Woods, Solomon Russell ; furniture, J. H. 
Rusie ; boots and shoes, 0. E. Rooker ; brick, Ayres & Dane, P. Fields, 
Cooper, Mr. Dolan ; contractors, Manker & Cooper, Comer & Marine. 

THE EARLY AND SUBSEQUENT SCHOOLS. 

It is said that Grant Stafford taught school near Judge Hiram Mat- 
thews' during the winter of 1821-22. If this is a fact, it was no doubt 
the first in the township. The writer has been unable to get at the facts. 
It is known that school was taught in that vicinity very early. Barclay 
Burris taught about a mile east of Mooresville in 1823, or perhaps 1821. 
Sessions were held almost continuously in these two neighborhoods after 
these first terms. Log schoolhouses were erected in both neighborhoods 
about 1826. A school was started by the Friends a mile or two west of 
town about the same time. This school for many years was the best in 
the township, not even excepting the one at Mooresville. They were 
prominent people, and many of them being in good circumstances could 
afford to have good schools early. Asa Bales, the first resident of Moores- 
ville, with whom Samuel Moore boarded while engaged early in his store, 
was no doubt the first teacher in the town. He taught in a small log 
cabin, and had about ten scholars, including, if reports are correct, sev- 
eral of his own. After this the growth of the town was so rapid that 
schools were taught there continuously. Horatio N. Teacle was an early 
teacher east of town, in the Bray neighborhood. Willis Conduitt, father 
of A. B. Conduitt, of Indianapolis, taught school in the Carter neighbor- 
hood during the very cold winter of 1825-26. When the teacher 
reached the house on Christmas morning, he found that his large scholars 
had barred the door, and he was refused entrance unless he treated. He 
accordingly went to town and bought about a gallon of whisky, which he 
divided out among his pupils, and was then permitted to resume his duties 
in-doors. Some of the boys became too full (fool) for utterance, and were 
sent home in disgrace. J. D. Carter was one of the number. He went 
home swaggering, happy as a lark, loaded to the muzzle with a ceaseless 
fire of talk, but his father quietly took down the big gad and gave the 
boy a dressing that he remembers until the present. The remedy was 
corrective, as that was the first, last and only boozy experience Mr. Car- 
ter ever had. 

By the year 1828, the schools of Mooresville had become so excellent 



108 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

that the citizens organized or established the Mooresville School Society. 
The meeting was held at the house of Samuel Moore, and the following 
oflScers of the society were elected: W. C. Conduitt. President; Asa 
Bales, Secretary ; D. G. Worth, W. C. Conduitt, Alexander Worth, 
Joel Dixon and Asa Bales, Trustees. The President of this educational 
society was an experienced school teacher himself, and a man of consid- 
erable learning. He taught quite early in town. Late in the twenties, a 
brick schoolhouse was built in the village under the direction of the 
society. It was a substantial building containing one room, in which 
good teachers were employed at comfortable wages. The house cost 
about ^600, and was constantly used for religious purposes and as a debat- 
ing and lecturing room. Two teachers in this house were E. H. Waugh 
and R. E. Preston. Late in the forties, it was succeeded by a frame 
building containing two rooms, which cost $800. This house was used 
until the Friends' Schoolhouse was built in 1861 in the western part of 
town, at a cost of $4,500. Much of the fund was raised by donation 
from all the citizens who were to be permitted to send their children 
there, though the Friends were to have control. In about 1870, the town 
became an independent school district, whereupon the schoolhouse was 
purchased of the Quakers for $5,000, and the latter very justly refunded 
the amount with interest, which had been donated by the other citizens 
in 1861. Prof. Stewart was the first teacher in this house, his term being 
the winter of 1861-62. He continued to teach for three years, when he 
was superseded by Joseph Poole. After the independent district was 
formed, the first Principal was Harrison Hubbard. He was paid $3.89 
per diem. His assistants were Isaac Jones, who received $2.75 per day, 
and Emma Clawson, who received $2 per day. Since then the Princi- 
pals have been John H. Beason, William C. Hinson, James Hunt, Mary 
McNabb, William M. Hadley, A. W. Macy, Stephen Hunt, F. J. By era, 
0. C. Charlton, C. P. Eppert, two years ; Elam Harvey, three years. 
The assistants, beginning in 1871, have been Louisa Harvey, Eloise Tay- 
lor, James Hunt, Mary JitHunt, Mattie Pray, Mary McNabb, Edna C. 
Street, Cecilia Hadley, Elam Harvey, Elvira Harnaday, Emma Thomp- 
son, Susan Wilson, Hattie Cox, Mr. and Mrs. Perigo, J. H. Woods, 
Anna Hadley, A. W. Macy, Elvira Perce, Rolena Hadley, Jennie Til- 
ford and Frank Manker. As high as five teachers have been employed 
at one time. A large addition to the schoolhouse is being constructed the 
present year, which will cost about $4,000. 

SECRET SOCIETIES. 

The writer endeavored to get access to the records of the Masonic 
Lodge at Mooresville ; but as the members he talked with seemed to 
care but little whether a sketch of it was written or not, and made no efi"ort 
to furnish the necessary facts, they cannot appear in these pages. The 
lodge is an old one, extending back, if reports are reliable, into the forties. 
Morgan Lodge, No. 211, Odd Fellows, was established in July, 1859, 
with the following charter members : W. G. Cook, John H. Rusie, B. B. 
Wright, T. N. Peoples, A. T. Manker, Reuben Harris and Richard P. 
Johnson. The first officers were W. G. Cook, N. G. ; B. B. Wright, V. 



BROWN TOWNSHIP AND MOORESVILLE. 109 

G. ; T. N. Peoples, Secretary. In 1881, their fine brick building was 
destroyed by fire, and ■vvith it all their personal effects. The building has 
been rebuilt. The lodge is in excellent financial condition, with property, 
including cash, valued at $5,000. In 1866, Mooresville Encampment, 
No. 74, was established. 

THE BANKING BUSINESS. 

The Savings Bank of Mooresville was established in August, 1872, 
the first officers being A. W. Reagan, President ; Allen Hadley, Vice 
President : Alexander Worth, Secretary and Cashier. In 1873, the estab- 
lishment became known as the Farmers' Bank, with a cash capital of 
^30,000, which was afterward increased to $50,000, but later decreased 
to $35,000. The following men were stockholders : Dr. A. W. Reagan, 
Joseph Pool, L. M. Hadley, Eli J. Sumner, Allen Hadley, F. Sheets & 
Bro., Giles B. Mitchell, J. L. Moffitt, Joel Jessup, Alexander Worth, 
Jackson Jessup, Ilolman Johnson, J. F. Hadley, Joseph N. Taylor, 
Aaron Mills, Ira M. Bray, W. B. Thompson and John Sheets. The 
Presidents of the bank have been Giles B. Mitchell, Charles Reeve and 
H. Satterwhite. The Cashiers have been A. Worth, J. A. Taylor, W. F. 
Hadley. The following is the present financial condition of the bank : 

LIABILITIES. 

Capital $35,000 00 

Surplus 4,5:^5 00 

Interest 3,337 65 

Deposit 55,969 02 

Certificate 8,132 79 

Unpaid Dividend 56 00 



Cash 


RESOURCES. 


.. $4 008 47 


Bills Receivable. 




68,558 33 


Real Estate 

Expense 




.. 14,278 45 
1,258 31 


Furniture 

Tax . 




.. 2,513 81 

239 86 


Indianapolis National Bank.. 

Winslow & Co 

Drafts 


.. 20,837 23 

318 83 

7 17 








Total 


..$107,020 46 



Total $107,020 46 



RELIGIOUS DEVELOPMENSv' 

Since the earliest times, the religious sentiment has been stronger in 
Brown Township than perhaps any other portion in the county of equal 
or less extent. The first settlements were no sooner formed than min- 
isters began to appear, and classes began to arm themselves for the good 
fight. The organization of all the classes cannot be given, though many 
of the names of those prominently connected with religious interests have 
been wrested from swift-approaching oblivion. The Methodist class at 
Mooresville was really founded by Eliza Moore, wife of Samuel Moore, 
not far from the year 1828. Indeed, she was about the only member at 
first, but she was soon joined by Eli Tansey and wife, Jesse S. Rooker 
and wife, Joseph Hunt and wife, and William C. Cline and wife. The 
Sunday school for this class was established in 1835, by Rev. John Will- 
iams. In 1839, the members of this church were the families of the 
following persons: Samuel J. Black, James Kelley, Samuel Stevenson, Isaac 
Williams, William Herrold, Daniel Cox, Jacob L. Pfoff, Alexander Worth, 
Daniel May, William McClelland, William Carlisle, Jonathan Hunt, Jacob 
Shanafelt, Joseph L. Cox, David Shanafelt, Daniel Day, Joseph Hiatt, 
William M. Black, J. W. Richards, William C. Cline, Eliza Moore, John 



110 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

Hardrick, Harris Bray, William A. Blair, Gabriel Coble and J. W. 
Thompson. A very large revival had occurred two years before, by which 
the class had been multiplied nearly tenfold. The old brick Methodist 
Episcopal Church was built in 1839, under the direction of James Kelley, 
William McClelland. Daniel Day, W. M. Black and J. W. Richards, 
Trustees. The fund was raised by subscription, the following men head- 
ing the list: James S. Kelley, ^200; Samuel Moore (who was not a 
member), ^200; Alexander Worth, $125 ; Joseph Hiatt, ^50; Daniel 
Day, §50; Joseph Moon, §50. The total subscription was ^1, 713. 82; 
shrinkage, §1^^6.95; expended upon the church, §1, 516. 87. This church 
was dedicated in the fall of 1839 by Bishop Simpson. Isaac Crawford 
and Thomas S. Rucker were the ministers in charge of the class when the 
house was built. This old house was used until the present fine brick 
structure was built in 1882, at a cost of about $6,000. The class has 
ever been strong and prosperous. 

The old Methodist class, about three miles southwest of town, was 
organized about 182^. Among the early members were the families of 
Benjamin Cuthbert. Jeremiah Johnson, Thomas Gripham, Nathan Nich- 
ols, John Cole, Charles Fowler. Mr. Cuthbert furnished about an acre 
of land for the nominal sum of ^1, to be used for church purposes. This 
class was a branch of the old one, near the residence of Benjamin Thorn- 
burgh. It is likely that the latter class was the first Methodist Episcopal 
organization in Morgan County^. The first sermon was preached at the 
house of John Martin, by Rev. Reuben^Claypool, in the year 1821. The 
marriage of Mr. Claypool to Martha Russell is said to have been>the first 
in the county. The ceremony was performed before the county was or- 
ganized. The class was fully organized in 1821, and meetings were mostly 
held that year at the cabin of Mr. Martin, and the following year at that of 
William Rooker. Among the first members were John Maitin, class leader, 
Mary Martin, William Gregory, Thomas Gregory, Daniel Gregory. Levi 
Plummer, Patsey Plummer, George Crutchfield, Anna Crutchfield, Catha- 
rine Crutchfield, Nancy Crutchfield, Thomas Gresham, Sarah Gresham, 
Samuel Jones, Jesse Rooker, Candes Rooker, Mother Monical. William 
Rooker, Nancy Rooker, Rev. Peter Monical, Hannah Monical, Wesley 
Monical. Catharine Monical. Benjamin Thornburg, Susan Thornburg, 
Eli Tansey, Edith Tansey, Hiram Tansey, Able Tansey and many others 
later. By the year 1825, the class was large and prosperous. In 1826, 
Rev. John Strange held a famous revival, which largely increased the 
membership of the church. Several of the early ministers were Peter 
Monical, Samuel Hamilton, James Armstrong, Allen Wiley and E. R. 
Ames. This first church was built late in the twenties, and was the first 
in the county. This class is yet in existence, and has five or six branches. 
•Vll of the early Methodist Churches in that vicinity sprang from this. 
It was called the White Lick Methodist Church. The Quakers fully 
organized their class in 1822, at the house of Asa Bales, where meetings 
were held for some time. In a few years the class was about as strong 
as that of the Methodists ; indeed, these two classes were the strongest 
and most important features in the northern part of the county in early 
years. Under the supervision of the Quakers, the Sulphur Spring School, 
in the western part of Brown Township, became at that time the largest, 



JACKSON TOWNSHIP. Ill 

most prosperous and most important school in Morgan County. Their 
church was called the White Lick Society of Friends. The Quaker 
Church in the eastern part of Monroe Township is a branch of this. 
Their first building was erected late in the twenties. Among the leading 
members w^ere the Doans, the Hadleys, the Harveys, the Tanseys, the 
Baleses, the Bowleses, the Dixons, and many others. Their second 
church was built in Mooresville during the last war. The Christians 
have a class at Mooresville at present. The class was organized in the 
forties, and their church was built soon after 1850. Other classes have 
flourished in the township. 



JACKSOxN TOWNSHIP. 



THE ENTRY OF LAND. 

THE location of Jackson Township, remote from any considerable 
water-course, delayed its settlement for a few years. The valley of 
Indian Creek, however, was too rich a tract of country to remain long in 
its primitive state, and about the middle,.of the twenties the settlers began 
to arrive, but not in considerable numbers until the thirties, at which time 
the greater portion of the land was entered by actual residents. The 
first man, if accounts are correct, to locate permanently in the township 
was John Hamilton. He came to the township in 1825, and the follow- 
ing year entered a tract of land where now stands the thriving little vil- 
lage of Morgantown. He had a family of five or six children. He was 
scarcely in the township before he was joined by Daniel Troxel, Thomas 
Teeter, Samuel Teeter, Robert Bowles, John Shrura, William Williams, 
Sampson Canatsey and a few others, all ot whom located in the vicinity 
of Morgantown on Sections 24 and 25. It cannot be stated with any 
certainty that Mr. Hamilton was the first settler. Indeed there are evi- 
dences that he was not. The first land entered from the Government in 
the township was on Section 1 in July, 1821, by William W. Drew and 
Elisha Herndon, but if reports are reliable neither of these men resided 
in the township. William Harriman entered a tract on Section 26 in 
1824, but it is stated that he did not reside there. He lived in Wash- 
ington Township. William Knox came in 1828, locating on Section 25, 
and Charles Ross in 1827, on Section 26. Henry Adams bought land 
on Section 13 in 1828, and Jesse Daugherty on Section 21 the same year, 
Finney Courtney and Jonathan Hostettei' entered land on Section 26 in 
1826, but no traces of their residence in the township could be found. 
They probably soon sold out to actual residents. Thomas Hudiburgh 
entered a tract on Section 26 in 1828, and another tract on Section 27 
the same time. These were about the only land owners who had entered 
their farms from the Government in the twenties, but there were other 
families in the township who were too poor to purchase land, and then 
again, there were other families who had bought their farms second-hand. 
The names of such cannot be given. 



112 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

The settlement receiveil great aocassioiis early in the thirties. It was 
the custom in that day, and naturally enough, for families to locate near 
each other. Occasionally a man had the hardihood to go out into the 
woods eight or ten miles from any other resident, but circumstances of 
this kind usually only occurred with the very earliest families, who were 
sure to be soon joined by others, and thus a small settlement or colony 
would be formed with the said first settler as the founder thereof. Early 
in the thirties, families began to locate in all parts of the township, and 
the neighborhoods of unijnproved land were soon a thing of the past. 
Among those who bought land and settled in the township were the fol- 
lowing: James Blair. Robert Grant, Elijah VandergriiT, John Gross, 
Benjamin Roberts, Francis Helton, Thomas Barnes, Abraham Cooper, 
John Francis, James Hamilton, James Dillon, Robert Bowles, Edward 
Choat, Jacob Haase, Samuel Kemp, Henry Kephart, James T. Hickman, 
Emery Norman, Alexander B. Kelso, Charles B. Kelso, William Nor- 
man, John Whitington, William Kent, .John Kemp, Jacob Adams, Josiah 
Clendenen, Samuel Troxell, James B. Kelso, Avery Magee, Randolph 
Lawrence, Peter Epperson, Daniel Shireman. David Haase, Daniel 
Avery, Hugh Adams, Milton Hickson, Daniel Adams, Henry Hamilton, 
William Kemp, Wilburn Kemp, Peter Dill, Abraham Kephart, Samuel 
H. Voils, Stephen Howell, William Howell, Thomas Ross, Mitchell Ross, 
James Little, Ctiarles Leonard, Isaac Gross, Benjamin Reynolds, John 
Lake, James Kemp, W. W. Helton, Joshua Bowles, Evan Reynolds, 
Samuel Hudiburgh, Abraham 2vlull, Jacob Sipes, Joseph Reeder, Tal- 
mon Groves, William Williams, William Norman, J. M. Coonfield, Peter 
Reeder, Anthony Bowles, Thomas Owen, Henry Lawrence, John Kenley, 
and many others in the thirties. 

POLL TAX PAYERS OF 1842. 

Jacob Adams, Henry Adams, Hugh Adams, Daniel Avery, William 
Armstrong, Sampson Canatsey, Lewis M. Coffey, Joshua Canady, Will- 
iam Bowles, Alexander Blair, Peter Bandy, Joshua Bowles, Anthony 
Bowles, Benjamin Bowles, Peter Dill, George Downing, Preston Doty, 
William D. Dunn. Peter Epperson, Thomas Edwards, William Fesler, 
John Fesler, John Farley, Jacob Gross, Reuben Griffith, Charles Garri- 
son, M. R. Guthridge, Wesley Gross, John Gerbalt, William Howell. 
John Hackney, John G. Hine, John Haase, William Hamilton, Samuel 
Hamilton, Samuel Hudiburgh, David Haase, W. W. Helton, Charles 
Hess, Christopher Hess, Absalom Haase, David Howell, Noah Haase, 
Ephraim Haase, A. B. Hart, B. Johnson, William Jenkins, John John- 
son, William Kent, John Kenley, Samuel Kemp, John Kelso, John 
Kemp, William Kemp, William Kephart, Harvey Keeney, Andrew. 
Knox, William Keeney, Jackson Keeney, George Kephart, James J. 
King, Charles Landers, Owen Lloyd, Timothy Lake, John Lake, Hiram 
Logston, George Lake, Lewis Lake, Amos Lawrence, Fred Miller, Abe 
Mull, Mordecai Meadows, Christian Miller, James Norman, Emery Nor- 
man, William Norman, Daniel Norman, Thomas Owen, Timothy Open- 
chain, Benjamin Perry, Stephen Perry, William Palmer, Thomas Ross, 
Joseph Reeder, William Roach, Benjamin Roberts, Irvin Reynolds, Will- 
iam Reeder, W. E. Roach, George Troxell, John Trower, John B. 



JACKSON TOWNSHIP. 118 

Thacker, Samuel Voils, Joseph Voils, Samuel VandergrifF, Elijah Van- 
dergriff, Blisha Vandergriff, William Woods, William Wallace, J. F. 
Whetstine, Edward Watson, John Williams, Emanuel Whetstine, Joel 
Williams, Frank Worley, Abijah Watkins and Charles Whitaker. 

REMINISCENCES AND NOTES. 

By the year 1842, the township tvas quite well settled and the citi- 
zens were in better circumstances and more comfortable. The log cabin 
was still the rule, but a few frame houses had made their appearance. 
The wild animals had largely disappeared. Even deer had become some- 
what scarce, though down in Brown County among the precipitous ra- 
vines and almost impenetrable woods, all of the native wild animals could 
still be found, not excepting bears and panthers. These were rare, but 
still they were there for the hunter who had sufficient courage to follow 
them to their lairs. Deer were very numerous there yet, and many in- 
teresting incidents could be told of the hairbreadth escapes of those of 
Jackson Township who went down there on hunting excursions. Deer, 
wolves, catamounts, foxes, wild turkeys, myriads of squirrels, snakes, 
wild cats, etc., etc., were still found in Jackson in greater or less abun- 
dance. The earliest settlers in Jackson had a picnic, so to speak. John 
Hamilton, who lived near Morgantown, tells of shooting wild turkeys and 
deer on the present town site almost every morning, or whenever they 
were required for food or otherwise. He would get up just as the light 
began to break in the East, take his rifle, walk out a few hundred yards 
from his cabin, and in a few minutes the crack of his rifle would announce 
the death of either a deer or a wild turkey. The latter in the fall of the 
year became often very fat. It is stoutly averred by old settlers, that 
sometimes when they were shot from the top of the high trees and fell the 
long distance on the hard ground, the skin upon their backs burst open 
like a ripe pod. This sounds "fishy '' now, but no doubt the old settlers 
state the truth. Take such a bird, pluck it and dress it, and roast it to 
a ripe brown before the fire-place, and then garnish it with rich dressing 
and smother it in delicious gravy and the old settlers had a least fit for 
the gods. It makes the mouth water to think of it. A great sport in 
early times was the hunting of bee trees. It may not be generally known, 
yet it is a fact that wild bees are unknown far out in the wilderness, hun- 
dreds of miles from human habitation. They are like the pioneer hunters, 
and just precede the advance guard of pioneers. It required some experi- 
ence to be able to find bee trees readily. In the summer the flight of the 
bees was watched and the direction taken followed. A close and experi- 
enced observer could thus trace them to their store of sweets. It could 
be told fairly well, also, when a bee was coming from the hive or return- 
ing. An examination of its honey bags would reveal whether it was 
loaded or not. If it was loaded and on the wing, its course was a "bee 
line" for its hive, otherwise it was seeking some flowery pasture. In the 
winter time when the snow was on the ground, bees would venture out of 
their trees on warm days, would be frozen to death and would drop on the 
snow, where their bodies would cause a yellow discoloration of two or 
three inches in diameter. A cluster of these yellow spots could be seen a 
long distance — often twenty or thirty rods, and the location of the bee 



114 HISTORV OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

trees could thus be found. The Hamiltons, on one occasion, discovered a 
fine bee tree on the present site of Morgantown, from which almost a tub- 
ful of the finest candied honey was obtained. The old settlers, many of 
them, did not fare so badly after all. 

INCIDENTS OF THE CHASE. 

One day Mr. Daugherty discovered a half-grown bear near his cabin. 
The details of the encounter which occurred are not fully known, but 
were about as follows : He took his rifle and a big butcher knife and ac- 
companied by his dog cautiously approached the bear, which he fired upon, 
but for some reason only gave it an ugly wound. The shock prostrated 
the animal and Mr. Daugherty, who was near, hurried up to bleed it, but 
when within a few feet of it the savage animal sprang up, and in a 
moment was upon the settler with mouth open and eyes of fire. Mr. 
Daugherty was a man of great physical strength and courage, and when 
he thus found himself in the embrace of the bear, he began to ply his 
butcher knife with all his strength and skill. Ere many blows were 
struck, however, the knife was knocked from his hand. In the meantime, 
the dog had been gnawing industriously at the posterior extremity of the 
bear, but seemed to make scarcely any impression. About the time the 
knife was knocked down, Mrs. Daugherty appeared upon the scene, 
armed with a sharp case-knife, and probably the broom, and Mr. Daugh- 
erty called out to her to hand him the knife, which she quickly did, and 
the bear, which was weakening from the effects of the rifle shot, was soon, 
dispatched. The struggle had been very short, and was within a few 
rods of the cabin. The above is the way the story was told to the writer. 
Another incident is told of one of the Kemps, equally as thrilling. This 
settler, while hunting in the woods with his big dog, saw a catamount, 
which he shot at and wounded in the shoulder. He was so close to the 
animal that as soon as he had fired, enraged with the pain of the shot, it 
turned and bounded for the hunter, but was met by the dog, and in an 
instant the two animals were fiercely locked together. Notwithstanding 
the wound which had been inflicted upon the catamount, the fight had 
scarcely begun ere it became evident that the dog would come out, so to 
speak, at the little end of the horn. The catamount seized it by the neck 
and was furiously shaking it, when Mr. Kemp, who could not bear to see 
his faithful old dog torn in pieces, rushed up, knife in hand, leaped as- 
traddle of the beast and drove his knife into its neck. This stroke seemed 
to settle affairs, as the catamount released its hold on the dog, and was 
soon dead. During the first few years, wolves were very numerous and 
often troublesome. Sometimes in the night, when the weather was very 
cold and snow lay deep upon the ground, they became so hungry and 
fierce that they did not hesitate to attack even man. On one occasion, 
Hugh Adams went probably in the southern part of the township for a 
piece of fresh beef, and upon his return was somewhat belated. He had 
gone but a short distance before the wolves scented the fresh meat and 
were soon stealthily following him. The settler with his meat on his 
shoulders, all he could conveniently carry, first heard the howl of a soli- 
tary wolf. This was repeated, and another was heard and then another 
and another, until the woods behind him were filled with a chorus of the 



JACKSON TOWNSHIP. 115 

terrifying sounds. The traveler, anxious for his own safety as well as for 
that of the beef, hurried on as fast as he could with his load. The wolves 
came closer and closer and then seemed to hesitate, though they still 
kept coming up. On ran the settler and on came his pursuers. In a little 
while, the clearing of home was reached, and soon both meat and settler 
were safe in the cabin. It was a narrow escape, as he would no doubt have 
been attacked. He could have thrown down his beef, which would have 
delayed them, but they would have been all the hungrier and fiercier for 
the morsel. Incidents like these might be multiplied without limit. 

MILLS, DISTILLERIES, ETC. 

About the year 1830, Joshua Whiteley built a small corn-cracker on 
Indian Creek, just east of Morgan town. Of course, water was the 
motor, and the wheel was of the tub or bucket kind. It is said the owner 
would leave it for hours at a time, and, upon returning, would find the 
grist ground. He had an old dog that became very fond of corn meal, 
and sometimes when the master had left the mill to run itself the old dog 
would enter, seat himself on his haunches and lick up the meal as fast as 
it fell from the spout. The manufacture of meal was so slow that it 
would not come down as fast as the canine desired, whereupon he would 
howl dismally until another mite had fallen. The reader may take the 
story for what it is worth. A few years after this corn-cracker was built, 
James Blair erected another on the creek a short distance west of town. 
This was operated until about 1840. when it was abandoned. Joshua 
Bowles also built a grist mill near town late in the thirties, which ran for 
eight or ten years and did good work. The old Vansicke Mill at Maha- 
lasville was built in the forties, and under various owners and with many 
improvements is yet in operation. It was originally built by John Coon- 
field. David Haase owned a small distillery where apple and peach 
brandy and corn and rye whisky were manufactured. Considerable good 
liquor was made here. It was moved across the line into Washington 
Township, and was conducted after the last war. 

MORGANTOWN. 

This town was first laid out in the month of March, 1831, by Robert 
Bowles and Samuel Teeters, owners and proprietors. Fifty-two lots were 
laid out on the east half of the northwest quarter of Section 25, and the 
east half of the southwest quarter of Section 24, Township 11 north. 
Range 2 east. For some reason this plat was not satisfactory, as in 1836 
the lots were laid out anew (on the south side of the main east and west 
street at least). The first resident on the present town site was no doubt 
Samuel Teeters, who located there in 1828. He was afterward joined by 
John Bowles, John Whitington, Avery Magee, Andrew Shell, Thomas 
Hudiburgh, Hugh Adams, Thomas Lockhart, John Fee, Samuel Law- 
rence, William Woods, James Mclntire. John Fesler, William Fesler, 
James Pratt, John Francis, Timothy Obenchain, Henry Hamilton, Robert 
McNaught, Reuben GriSitt, John Hudiburgh, William Fee, Col. John 
Vawter, Samuel Lawrence, Gabriel Givens, Thomas Teeters, D. D. Med- 
del, James Blair, J. J. Kelso, and many others. In 1836, the village had 



116 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

a population of about fifteen families, or seventy persons. Dr. Samuel R. 
Trower was the first resident physician ; James Pratt and William Fesler 
were the first blacksmiths ; John Fee was the first Postmaster ; Lewis 
Lake made the first set of harness in the town ; William Adams began 
selling liquor in 1831, and Thomas Hudiburgh opened a general store in 
1832 ; Henry Hamilton began selling liquor in 1833 ; Samuel and Henry 
Lawrence and Avery Magee opened a liquor store in 1834. At this 
time the sale of liquor was certainly in a flourishing condition. It will 
be remembered that many of the early settlers came from Kentucky — the 
land of good whisky, fast horses and beautiful women. In 1835, Col. 
John Vawter sent a stock of general merchandise, worth about $ 3,000, in 
charge of James Chambers, to Morgantown, but did not go there himself 
until years afterward. John Fee opened the first store of goods, how- 
ever, in 1834. He started, it is said, with about $2,000 worth of goods. 
In 1835, Thomas Lockhart opened a liquor store. Liquor establishments 
in those days were called "groceries." The other term is used here to 
prevent misunderstanding. Mr. Lockhart soon changed his stock to 
general merchandise. John McKinley opened a "grocery" in 1836, 
and James Norman the same soon afterward. James Reville, an old 
bachelor, commenced selling liquor in 1836. Thomas Edwards opened a 
shoe shop in 1837. It was during this year that Martin & Crocker 
brought to the village about $4,000 worth of goods. A few years later, 
the firm became Seaman & Crocker. S. R. Trower & Son became mer- 
chants in 1837, and Preston Doty the same year. Eli Murphy sold mer- 
chandise in 1838. In 1839, H. C. Martin, who had been in with 
Crocker, started a new store on his own account. E. St. John sold liquor 
in 1839. Vawter, Hudiburgh, Trower, Fee, the Lawrences, Hamilton, 
Peter Keeney, and perhaps others, were in business in 1839 and 1840. 
In 1841, Downing & Guthridge opened a store. During the forties, the 
leading merchants were several of the above, also Fesler & Seaman, 
James Baldwin, Fesler & Egbert, Rogers & Coleman, and others. 
Afterward came John W. Knight, Andrew S. and James Hickey, 
John Collett, and on still later, Col. W. A. Adams, Butler, Patter- 
son & Neeley. Col. Vawter continued in business until his death in 
about 1864. He started back in the thirties, but did not live in the 
village until later. He became a prominent citizen. R. M. Dill came 
later. William Fesler was Col. Vawter's partner, and continued the busi- 
ness after the latter's death, and until his own death in 1868. Samuel 
Hamilton was in the mercantile business in the sixties. His successor 
was James Horton. Horton's partner later was Rosengarden. James 
Hickey, J. 0. & J. S. Coleman, hardware ; Freeman & Montgomery, 
Mate Kerlin, drugs, about 1857. The first harness shop of consequence 
was kept by George and Milton McNaught, in the forties. Thomas A. 
Rude, drugs ; A. C. Payn, drugs ; Knox & McPheters, drugs ; Ar- 
nold & Neal, drugs ; J. S. Kephart, livery, in the sixties ; Rude & 
Canatsey, same, burned down ; Israel Egbert, livery ; Lee & Enos, 
same ; Mrs. Eliza Walker, millinery goods, in the sixties. 

MANUFACTORIES. 

Obenchain & Lake owned and conducted quite an extensive cabinet 



JACKSON TOWNSHIP. 117 

shop early in the forties. The Feslers were in the same business, together 
with wagons and buggies, in the thirties. T. J. Lamb conducted a wagon 
shop later. It is said that William Wood manufactured the first wagons 
in town. One of the earliest and most noteworthy industries was the 
linseed oil mill built by John Fee about the year 1835. Much more 
flax was raised in those times, comparatively, than now. Almost every 
farmer owned a flax field. The seed found its way into Fee's mill, where 
it was crushed by iron rollers, heated until the oil had run out and then 
pressed into cakes, and sold for food to stock. Five or six hands were 
constantly employed, and hundreds of gallons of the oil were barreled 
and transported to market. The enterprise continued eight or ten years. 
Early in the fifties, James McAllister built a woolen mill, where for four 
or five years large amounts of wool were carded, but no spinning or 
weaving was done. He also owned a saw mill. Mr. Lang built the big 
grist mill near the depot many years ago. The grinding has run down 
at present. William "Hickey manufactured large quantities of plug 
tobacco about twenty years ago, continuing about three years. He used 
all the tobacco raised for miles around, and brought in considerable from 
outside points. The present population of the town is about 800. 

PRESENT BUSINESS PURSUITS. 

Dry goods, Clarence H. Jones, G. W. Buckner, W. B. Hill, J. H. 
Hickey & Son, Mrs. M. L. Walker. Groceries, I. N. Coonfield, Gibson 
& Son, Moses Wooden. Hardware, George Montgomery. Drugs, W. 
M. Berry & Co., M. T. Hancock. Furniture and undertaking, Peter 
Fesler. Millinery, Mrs. M. L. Walker, Paulina Vandergrifl", Mrs. L. G. 
Karst. Agricultural implements, C. H. Obenchain, J. W. Crawford & 
Son. Barber, A. L, Gross. Hotels, Charles Saltcorn, James Santifer. 
Photographer, James Walker. Butchers, George Overstreet, Harry 
Jackson. Carpenters and builders, Fesler Brothers, Jeremiah Kelso. 
Doctors, R. C. Griffitt, W. H. Butler, Mr. Seifridge, Ira Willen. Saw 
mill and lumber, M. J. Bell. Grist mills, R. M. Dill, W. S. Coleman. 
Harness, J. M. Neeley. Boots and shoes, James Hickey. Liveries, J. 
K. Cofifman, W. H. Fesler. Lawyers, Judge Ramsey, W. L. Rude, J. 
V. King. Common sense bee hives, Sprague & Patterson. High School 
Professor, James Henry, 1882-83. Secret societies, Masons, Odd Fel- 
lows and Knights of Honor. The village was incorporated about 1870, 
but was not continued thus. 

EDUCATION. 

Schools were started in the vicinity of Morgantown, under the pat- 
ronage of the residents of that neighborhood, about the year 1830. A 
log schoolhouse was built east of town, and was used until about 1834, 
when another was built in town. This was used until 1840, when a 
frame schoolhouse took its place. John Fee donated the lot. The first 
teacher in town cannot be named. Milton Guthridge, John Vitito and 
James Hogeland were early teachers, but not the first. Early in the fifties 
a new frame schoolhouse was built which was used continuously until the 
present brick building was built, about ten years ago, at a cost of $3,700, 
Mr. Demoss being the contractor. Cathcart, Kennedy, Shuck, Morris 



118 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

and others have taught in this house. It is a fine two-story brick build- 
ing, and is a credit to the town and township. It was built by the town- 
ship, and is called the Jackson Township High School. It was during 
the latter part of the decade of the thirties that schools were started in the 
western, southern and northern portions. In 1840, there were four es- 
tablished schools, and in 1850, three more. 

RELIGIOUS CLASSES. 

A class of the Christian denomination was organized at Morgantown 
early in the forties, among the members being the families of John Fesler, 
Albert Roberts, John Trower, George W. McNaught and others. The 
class was small and did not grow rapidly. After a few years they were 
strong enough to build a frame church in the eastern part of the town. 
This house was used until the present brick was erected early in the sev- 
enties, at a cost of about $8,000. The Methodists had the first class in 
Morgantown. It was organized not far from 1836. The early member- 
ship comprised among others the families of Reuben Grifiitt, A. S. 
Hickey, David Howell, James Pratt, John Cochran, Samuel C. Hamilton, 
James A. Coeplin, Daniel H. Warner, Larkin DeHart and others. In 
December, 1844, James Pratt, for |10, deeded to the class a piece of 
land 31x31 feet on Lot 64. upon which the following year a log church 
was built. This house was used until about the beginning of the last 
war, when the present frame structure was erected at a cost of $2,000. 
The class is considerably run down at present, and needs some evangelist 
to stir it up. About 1845, a German Methodist class was organized in 
the northern part. The families of Christian Hess, George Weamer, 
Michael Knipstine, Fred Miller, David Bowling, Conrad Muth, Fred 
Truckess and others belonged. The class divided soon, one branch be- 
coming German Lutherans, at the head being Michael Knipstine, Henry 
Cook, Andrew Gross and others. Their church was built after a few 
years. Late in the forties, the Mount Nebo Methodist Church was organ- 
ized. William Howell, Daniel Moore, Mansfield Moore, Martin L. 
Creed, Ed Ferguson and William H. Jackson were leading members, the 
latter being pastor in 1851. Their church was built after a few years. 
A Baptist Church was built at Morgantown in the fifties, the whole ex- 
pense, or nearly so, being borne by Col. Vawter. It was a brick build- 
ing, and is said to have cost $2,000. This church was succeeded, four or 
five years ago, by the present frame building, which cost $2,100. Later 
churches have been started by the Methodists and Baptists. There are 
now in the township nine churches. This speaks well for the morals of 
the township. 



CLAY TOWNSHIP. 119 



CLAY TOWNSHIP. 

THE BARNES FAMILY. 

IN the month of December, 1819, Benjamin Barnes, a resident of 
Connersville, Ind., packed what little household goods he owned in a 
wagon drawn by a yoke of oxen, and with his wife and family of two sons 
and four daughters started westward for the " White River Country." 
This country, or that portion of it known as the New Purchase, had been 
secured by treaty from the Indians only a little more than a year before, 
and was already attracting the attention of settlers seeking homes. Mr. 
Barnes and family were accompanied by John Butterfield, Sr., and 
Hiatt Butterfield (who was not a relative of John Butterfield's), both of 
whom came out with him to look at the country with a view to future 
settlement. Not a hog, sheep, horse or a head of cattle except the yoke 
of oxen, was brought out. Mr. Barnes was poor, and had not even enough 
money to enter a tract of land had the same been in market, which was 
not yet the case. The family crossed White River, either at the bluffs, or, 
which is more likely, at the Stotts settlement, a few miles farther down 
the river, and soon arrived at a point about two miles southeast of Center- 
ton, where Mr. Barnes decided to make a permanent location. The 
weather was cold, and a temporary camp was prepared for the comfort of 
the family, and the men immediately afterward began to cut logs for a 
cabin. The rude building was completed in two or three days, and the 
family were soon ensconced therein, and made as comfortable as possible. 
The floor was the bare earth, the roof was bark and clap-boards hastily 
cut out, and the door was of the same material. The most important 
feature in the room was a big fire-place, filled with blazing logs which im- 
parted heat, cheerfulness and comfort to the small room. A floor of 
puncheons was afterward added as soon as possible. Mr. Barnes and all 
the members of his family, as soon as their home was made comfortable, 
went to work to clear and deaden a tract of land for a crop for the coming 
season. By April, 1820, they had thirty acres deadened, and partly cleared, 
the greater portion of which was planted with corn and vegetables, the 
former having been brought out the December before, and the latter about 
seeding time. Here the Barnes family lived for several years. Their 
first land was bought on the 5th of September, 1820, the second day of 
the sale. 

OTHER EARLY SETTLERS. 

As soon as the Barnes cabin had been built, John Butterfield went 
back to Connorsville where his family resided. In the following Septem- 
ber, he went to Terre Haute, and bought 160 acres of land on Section 1, 
Township 12 north. Range 1 east, lying about a mile and a half south- 
east of Centerton, and early the following spring (1821) came out with his 
sons Veloriis and John H., and three hired men, named respectively 
Adams, Sanford and Bliven, and in a few weeks cleared about six acres. 



120 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

and erected a cabin. A crop of corn was cultivated during the summer 
by one of the boys, who boarded with the Barnes family. In the fall of 
1821, the Butterfield family, consisting of the father, mother, five sons 
and one daughter, took up their permanent residence in this new 
home. 

Some time after the establishment of the Stotts settlement in Green 
Township in 1819, the date not being known, but certainly prior to the 
1st of March, 1820, Maj. James Stotts and his son Robert C. built a 
cabin, and permanently located on a tract of land about three miles south- 
east of Centerton. It is likely that this occurred during the fall of 1819, 
or the winter of 1819-20. About the same time the family of John 
Hodge located in the same neighborhood. On Tuesday the 3d of April, 
1820, George Matthews and his three sons, John, Alfred and Calvin, ac- 
companied by a man named William Dorman, came in a wagon drawn by 
a yoke of oxen to the cabin of Maj. Stotts. There the rude wagon road 
that had been cut out ended, and the men were obliged to cut their way 
onward. After several hours they reached the present site of Centerton, 
where Mr. Matthews concluded to locate permanently. A log cabin was 
built and the work of clearing and deadening was begun. John Matthews 
says that there were but three families in Clay Township when he 
arrived as above stated, and they lived on the east side of White Lick 
Creek. They were those of Benjamin Barnes, Maj. James Stotts and 
John Hodge. Several other families arrived later in 1820, among them 
being those of Jacob Case, John Clark, Isaiah Drury, Elijah Lang. With- 
in the next three or four years there came John Stipp, George A. Phelps, 
Alexander Cox, Jonathan Lyon, Ezekiel Slaughter, James Lang, David 
Matlock, Benjamin and Enoch McCarty, Francis Brock, Martin McDan- 
iel, William Jones, John McMahon, William Matlock, Hiram Matthews, 
John A. Stipp, Abraham Stipp, David Spencer, Lewis Deaton, William 
Powell, G. W. Bryant, John, David, Samuel and William Scott, Michael 
Stipp, Edward Brady, John McDaniel, Moses Slaughter, Dr. Eli Run- 
nels and many others. Still later came William Morgan, Eli Rinker, 
David Collins, Jesse and Eli Overton, Abraham Griggs, James Noble, J. 
B. Maxwell, Dabney Gooch, John Robb, John Albertson, Adam Spoon, 
Jesse, William and Jeremiah Poe, Jesse Gooch, William Moss, Levi Col- 
lins, William Collins and others. The sons of John Butterfield were 
Velorus, John H. and Merannoe. Those of Alexander Cox were John, 
Paul and William. Those of George Matthews were John, Alfred, Cal- 
vin, James and George. Those of Jonathan Lyon were Harrison and 
Jonathan, Jr. 

The following men were assessed a poll tax in Clay Township in 1842 : 
J. P. Anderson, Samuel Allen. A. Ayres, M. Brody, Cyrus Bowles, 
John Bowles, W. T. Bull, John Boyd, Lorenzo D. Bain, William Boyd, 
J. S. Bryant, Eli Bray, Anderson Brown, Valorus Butterfield, Thomas 
Bryant, Eli Bowles, Archibald Boyd, David Bowles, L. G. Butterfield, 
D. A. Butterfield, Wesley Creed, Charles Cox, William Cox, Paul Cox, 
James Carder, Alexander Clark, W. F. Childs, James Cox, William 
Kennedy, Robert A, Childs, James Cross, John Creed, D. L. Collins, 
W. E. Garter, Joseph Claghorn, David Collins, John Crank, John Cox, 
William Dorman, Brently Deaton, A. J. Deaton, James Deaton, John 



CLAY TOWNSHIP. 121 

Dunegan, White Davidson, James Donavan. David Ely, Reuben Ely, 
Elijah Ervin, John Edwards, Simeon K. Ely, G. W. Fields, Evis Fowler, 
John Fowler, Dabney Gooch, James Griggs, Eli Greeson, Franklin Gar- 
rison, Nathan Goble, Jesse Gooch, A. Hutchinson, Garrison Hubbard, 
S. H. Harcoat, Jesse Hubbard, Beverly Gregory's heirs, William Hard- 
rick, Samuel Jackson, Thomas Kirkendorf, David Kirkendorf, James 
Kitchen, Jonathan Lyon, Jr., Harrison Lyon, Hardin Leggett, William 
Lang, M. T. Lang, James Lowder, James Lang, Emery Lloyd, William 
McNeff, H. R. McPherson, John McDaniel, Simeon McDaniel, Henry 
Myers, Calvin Matthews, George Matthews, James Matthews, Alfred 
Matthews, John Maxwell, Joseph Monical, Thomas Morgan, George 
Monical, John McCracken, Gary Matthews, James Noble, G. W. Olds, 
Ell Overton, Jared Olds, Francis Patram, Anthony Poe, William Poe, 
Jeremiah Poe, Andrew Parsley, Andrew Paul, William Pinter, Noah 
Rinker, Alexander Rich, S. H. Reynolds, William Rinker, Eli Rinker, 
Samuel Ray, Daniel Reeves, John Ramsey, Thomas Ray, Simeon Robb, 
Alfred Robinson, George Sheets, Andrew Stafford, David Spencer, John 
S. Spurdock, John Scott, John Sheets, Nathaniel Simpson, Peter Spoon, 
Adam Spoon, Robert C. Stotts, John C. Stotts, Robert Stewart, David 
Scott, Benjamin Stipp, Joseph Strade, Isaac Strader, Ezekiel Slaughter, 
Moses Slaughter, Young Sellers, W. H. Sailor, Abraham Stipp, Benja- 
min Stafford, John Stuart, Jeremiah Tacket, Jacob Tinkle, William 
Tacket, William Wall, J. W. Wakefield, Solomon Wear, Samuel Wilson, 
David Wear, William Wear, Joshua Wilson, Jr., Jeptha Williams, John 
Wright, Andrew Wright, William Whitrel, Samuel R. Wright and Sam- 
uel Zollinger. The heaviest tax- payers were as follows: John Butter- 
field, $19.58 ; Aiken Daken, $14.02 ; John Hodge, $19.12; Jonathan 
Lyon, Jr., $18.58; Harrison Lyon, $17.16; M. T. Lang, $12.50 ; Calvin 
Matthews, $11.46 ; Robert C. Stotts, $14.93 ; Ezekiel Slaughter, $19.93 ; 
G. A. Worth, $13.53. 

BROOKLYN. 

So far as can be learned, the first improvement made by white men 
in the township of Clay was the corn-cracker erected on the creek at 
Brooklyn, in the summer of 1819, by Benjamin Cuthbert. The struct- 
ure was built of logs, was about 18x18 feet, and was operating when Ben- 
jamin Barnes came to the township in December, 1819. The stones were 
"nigger-heads" which had been made from granite bowlders by Mr. 
Cuthbert, and the dam was built of brush, logs, stones, etc. Mr. Cuth- 
bert lived northward in Brown Township, about two miles above the 
mill. He would go down to his little mill and remain there nearly a 
week without going home, doing in the meantime the most of his own 
cooking in the fire-place in the mill. It is said that he could bake an 
excellent johnny-cake, and was an expert at roasting meat. He no 
doubt lived on the fat of the land. All the settlers throughout the 
northern part of the county went to his mill for their meal, and all 
complained of the 'grit" contained in the corn-bread baked therefrom. 
As this bread was the chief article of diet, the complaints from the 
women, especially, multiplied. Mrs. Barnes was probably the only ex- 
ception to this statement. She had an impediment in her speech which 



122 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

limited her conversation to the merest monosyllables. . Mr. Barnes was 
envied as the luckiest man in his domestic relations in all the surround- 
ing country. 

In 1823, Jonathan Lyon, who had, in 1820, purchased quite a tract 
of land at what is now Brooklyn, came to the township, secured the old 
mill of Mr. Cuthbert, greatly improved it and the dam, built a saw mill 
on the opposite side, and soon afterward built a storehouse, in which he 
placed a stock of goods worth about $2,000. It is likely that the goods 
were not brought on until 1824. Mr. Lyon had several grown sons, who 
managed the mills and the store for him, while he remained the most of 
the time at his home in another portion of the State. In 1825, or pos- 
sibly 1826, Mr. Lyon erected a distillery and a tannery, and paid James 
S. Kelley $600 to conduct them both for a few years, at the end of which 
time they were to be returned to the owner, Mr. Lyon. The profits as 
well as the expenses of the enterprises were to be borne by the owner. 
Mr. Lyon also started a battery soon afterward. The store, the distillery, 
the tannery, the battery, the grist mill and the saw mill were conducted 
successfully by Mr. Kelley, the Lyon boys and considerable hired help 
until about the year 1880, when Mr. Kelly's contract with Mr. Lyon ex- 
pired, and the former went to Mooresville and engaged in the mercantile 
pursuit. The sons of Mr. Lyon continued the enterprises. Early in the 
thirties, in addition to the other pursuits, pork-packing was commenced, 
and was carried on for many years quite extensively. These industries 
served to make the place one of the most important industrial points in 
the county. Of course, no town had yet been started there. Late in 
the forties, the Lyons sold out their interests or abandoned them. Long 
before this, however, or about 1835, they had built a steam distillery, 
which took the place of the one first built, and had a much greater 
capacity. Probably as high as 100 barrels of whisky were manufactured 
annually, a considerable portion of which found a ready sale at home, the 
remainder being shipped to distant points. This distillery was destroyed 
by fire about the year 1843, and thereby hangs a tale which the old set- 
tlers may tell. Ask them. 

The township had all the distilleries necessary in early years. Eli 
Bray owned one ; also William Darman, Thomas Richardson and Ben- 
jamin Barnes. The latter built a small corn cracker, which was propelled 
by horses. It was erected for the purpose of supplying the distillery. 
Rye was also ground there. It is said that at some of these early dis- 
tilleries, pumpkins, potatoes, etc., were manufactured into whisky or 
brandy. All old settlers agree that the liquor of that day was far supe- 
rior to the poisonous stuff of these later degenerate days. They probably 
know what they are talking about. And then, again, people did not get 
drunk as often as they do now. The halcyon days have indeed gone by. 

MODERN BROOKLYN. 

In about 1853, Frank Landers opened a store. He began about 
Christmas, and the following March laid out the town, which began to 
grow as the railroad was being built, that is, the grading had commenced. 
Quite a number of families soon located in the town. Griggs, Cook & 
Scott opened a store about 1859. The merchants since then, in order. 



CLAY TOWNSHIP. I 123 

have been Dill & Griggs, Cox & Landers (near the close of the last war), 
Gregory & Clark, Gregory & Council, Gregory & Robbins, J. N. 
Gregory, P. S. McNeff & Bro. (1872), Silas Rinker, McNeff & Rinker, 
Gregory & Son, Ira McDaniel, P. S. McNeff, Richardson & Morgan, 
William McNeff. The present merchants are P. S. McNeff, Philips & 
Bro., Richard Lash, F. R. Miller, Daniel Thornburg. 

M. 0. & F. M. Pierce started a woolen factory about 1866, in a 
building that had been built by William Sparks. They carded and spun 
for about two years, and then retired from the business. The present 
grist mill was built in 1852 by William and John Paddock. After a few 
years, they were succeeded by John and William Butterfield, and a year 
later by Griggs & Clark. William Sparks bought it during the war. 
The present owner, John McDaniel, bought it late in the sixties. It has 
been an excellent mill. It is now being refitted, iron rolls being inserted 
in the place of stone buhrs. The town has had one or more saw mills 
since the earliest time. J. R. Hardin is the present owner. The popu- 
lation of the town is greater now than ever before, and is about 360. 

CENTERTON. 

This village was laid out in March, 1854, by Calvin Matthews, ad- 
ministrator of the estate of James Matthews, deceased. Hiram T. Craig 
was the surveyor, and is said to have named the town from its location 
in the county. There was a time when Centerton could have secured the 
prize of the county seat. This was in the fifties, just before the present 
court house was built, and later just before the railroad was completed. 
Sufficient influence was not brought to bear upon the points of success. 
Almost every unprejudiced person will readily say that the county seat 
should be located either at Centerton or on the railroad in its immediate 
vicinity. There can be no question of the justice and future public pol- 
icy of this fact. It is well known that pecuniary interests are the only 
considerations which keep it where it is. Might, not right, rules. Of 
course there are parties at Martinsville, who, wise as serpents, will not 
admit these statements, though the heavens fall. The citizens of the 
county should see that the next court house is built at Centerton. 

The first store in Centerton was opened by William Spencer soon after 
the lots were laid out. He became the first agent of Uncle Sam. Thom- 
as Hardrick was the second merchant, and S. S. Cox the third. The 
leading merchants since then have been Silas Rinker, J. T. Piercy, Stipp 
& Green, Alexander Hardrick, William Gooch, D. S. Clements, Allen 
English, Bush Brothers, Miles Matthews and Lewis Campbell. The lat- 
ter and Bush Brothers are yet in business. Among the early families in 
Centerton were those of Calvin Matthews, William Spencer, William 
Cox, Thomas Hardrick, Dr. Skelton, Paul Sims, Joseph Robb, John 
Shields, Mr. Hunt, James Adams and John Butterfield. The present 
population of the village is about 200. The first blacksmith was Hiram 
Cox. W. J. Manker owned and conducted the first saw mill. Saw 
mills have since been owned and operated by Madison Matthews, Dixon 
& Shields, John Butterfield, Washington Patrick, Gamble Brothers. 
Centerton has in its vicinity the best fire brick clay in the State. The 
brick for the new State house are being manufactured about two miles 



12 4 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

* 

^outhwest of the town. Jackson Record, an old settler of the county, 
who located in Washington Township in 1833, has been a resident of 
Clay Township since 1853. The county has had no citizen of greater 
prominence and worth. 

TEACHERS. 

The first schoolhouse built in Clay Township was erected in the But- 
terfield neighborhood in 1823, and during the summer of that year the 
first school in the township was taught therein by Hiram Collins. 
The house was a round-log structure, with a big fire-place, paper windows^ 
puncheon seats and door. Butterfield, Barnes, Case, Hodge, Stotts and 
others helped to erect the building. Collins was a good teacher, but was 
afi'ected with the phthisic, which often made him cross. That was the sig- 
nal for indiscriminate whipping. Hiatt Thomas taught in the same 
house the following winter. He was a jovial fellow, and at noon would 
hunt coons with his larger boys. George A. Phelps was an early teacher 
in this house. After several years, this house was succeeded by a better 
one built a short distance east. Another early teacher in the first house 
was a Mr. Williams. A school was taught in the neighborhood of the 
Matthews at Centerton very early, but the facts could not be learned. 
Several schools started up in the thirties, and additional ones in the for- 
ties. The frame schoolhouse in Brooklyn was built early in the fifties. 
It was destroyed by fire in 1883. The first teacher in Brooklyn is for- 
gotten. A new brick schoolhouse will be built there within the next 
year or two, at a cost of about $5,000. The first schoolhouse in Center- 
ton was built early in the fifties. Thomas Skelton was probably the first 
teacher. A man named Moore was the second. This house was used 
until 1883, when a fine brick structure was constructed at a cost of about 
|5,000. The building is 44x58 feet, is two stories high, has four rooms, 
two above and two below, has a wide hall and stairway on the west side, 
and the cost is borne by the township. The first teacher in this building 
was Prof. Smith. Clay has excellent schools. 

PREACHERS. 

It is said that the first sermon preached in the township was delivered 
by Rev. Proctor, an eminent minister of the Presbyterian Church, who 
was on his way, in 1823, from his home in Indianapolis to Bloomington, 
Ind., where he had an appointment to hold religious services. He stopped 
at the house of John Butterfield, and entertained that family and a few of 
the neighbors who gathered to hear him. The Church of Christ, in the 
southeastern part, was organized in the thirties, and for some time meet- 
ings were held at the houses of Velorus Butterfield, Thomas Morgan and 
family, Abraham Griggs and family, James Noble, Levi Plummer. The 
ground for the church was furnished by Mr. Plummer, and was on Section 
30, Township 13 north. Range 2 east. The log church was erected early 
in the forties. A number of years afterward it was burned down, and a 
frame church was erected in its place. The Methodists had an early 
organization in the Rinker neighborhood, and in the forties a log church 
was erected at what was called Rinker's Corner. After many years a 
frame house took its place. The Methodist Church in Brooklyn was 
erected in 1869, and dedicated in 1870. The membership is now quite 



MONROE TOWNSHIP. 125 

large. The Christian Church in Brooklyn was built three or four years 
after the Methodist Church, and the class is in a prosperous condition . 
The Christian Church at Centerton was moved there about two years ago. 
It formerly stood in the Rinker neighborhood, in the eastern part of the 
township, and then was occupied by the Methodists. 



MONROE TOWNSHIP. 



THE PIONEERS. 



MONROE TOWNSHIP is one of the oldest portions of the county, 
and in some respects the most interesting. It is a fine tract of 
rolling land, well drained, and the greater portion of the soil is a rich 
sandy loam, one of the best kinds for general and inexhaustible cultivation. 
The first tract of land entered in the township was on Section 29, in the 
northeastern part, by William Pounds, in 1820 ; but Mr. Pounds did not 
come to the township for several years, and was therefore not the first 
settler. It cannot be certainly stated who the first was, but the burden 
of evidences is in favor of John H. Bray, who lived to the remarkable 
age of ninety-four years. He located on Section 28, in the northeastern 
part of the township in the year 1822. He was born in North Carolina 
during the Revolutionary war, and lived until seven or eight years ago. 
He was a young man at the beginning of the present century, and was 
middle-aged at the time of the war of 1812-15. He was a man of stal- 
wart frame, and possessed an iron constitution. During his long resi- 
dence in the county, he was one of the most prominent and public-spirited 
of the citizens. Among those who came in soon after him were Jeremiah 
Hadley, Charles Allen, Thomas Rubottom, Zimri Allen, James Hadley, 
John Doan, Robert McCracken, James Demoss, Henry Brewer, Lot M. 
Hadley, T. E. Hadley, Philip Johnson, Samuel Hadley, Jonathan Doan, 
Joseph Hobson, William Bray, Joshua Carter, Oliver Kimberton, David 
Collins, Moses Hougham, Simon B. Hadley, Jesse Overman, Enoch 
Hadley, Jesse Ballard, Elijah Tansey, William Tansey, Abel Thompson, 
John C. Burris, Hiram Tomlinson, Eneas Ward, Ephraim.Doan, William 
Johnson, George Crutchfield, John Hadley, George Seaton, Timothv H, 
Jessup, William Carter, Martin Davenport, Daniel Beals, Job and Jesse 
Johnson, Isaac Hougham, and a little later John P. Lamb, Isaac Hobson, 
David Lindley, John Bryant, Samuel Harper, Alfred Elliott, James 
Reynolds, Jonathan Mendenhall, Elisha Gregory, Jesse Allen, Nicholas 
Johnson, John S. Hubbard, Peter Coble, Aaron Lindley, George Hub- 
bard, Edward Lindley, James Lindley, Joshua Lindley, Owen Lindley, 
Aaron Shaw, Thomas Edwards, James Pruitt, Benjamin K. Williams, 
Woodson Lewallen, Iva Stout, Jesse Baldwin, Eli Vestal, William Wisner, 
James Marley, Daniel Ferree, Amos Marker, Joseph Pray, Thomas 
Nichols and others. A few of these never lived in the township. 



126 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

POLL TAX PAYERS OF 1842. 

Thomas Anderson, Zimri Allen, Charles Allen, Jesse Baldwin, 13. 
Bales, Daniel Carter, William Chambers, Isaac Chew, Samuel Chew, 
David Doan, Joseph Doan, Jesse Doan, Robert Doan, Jonathan Doan, 
William Doan, James Demoss, John Edwards, Samuel Edwards, Nathan 
Edwards, Alfred Elliott, Abe Elliott, Peter Farmer, Jesse Faulkner, 
John Ferree, Daniel Ferree, David Greeson, Peter Greeson, Elias Gregory, 
Daniel Hornaday, T. M. Hadley, Aaron Hadley, S. B. Hadley, William 
Hornaday, James Hadley, Isaac Hobson, Elias Hadley, David Johnson, 
Nicholas Johnson, Gideon Johnson, David Lindley, Edward Lindley, 
Woodson Lewallen, Owen Lindley, J. T. Marlett, Robert McCracken, 
John Marley, James Marley, William McClellan, John McClellan, Nathan 
Nichols, James Pitman, George Rubottom, Aaron Shaw, Iva Stout, 
Alexander Shore, David Shanafelt, Jesse Tansey, Eli Townsend, Elijah 
Tansey, William Wisner, Benjamin Wilson and some others, whose names 
cannot be made out. 

TOWN OF MONROVIA. 

In the month of June, 1834, Gideon Johnson and George Hubbard 
employed a surveyor and laid out forty-five lots on Section 12, Township 
13 north. Range 1 west, and named the village thus founded Monrovia — 
a variation of the name of the township. The first merchants were 
Gideon Johnson and Ira Hadley, each of whom owned a store. If one 
began selling before the other, such fact is not now remembered. In 
1837, Mr. Johnson sold out to Thomas Edwards & Co., for $600, Lots 
1, 2, 13 and 14, Block 3, together with all the appurtenances thereunto 
belonging. This company was composed of Thomas Edwards, I. B. 
Edwards and C. G. Hussey. This company owned about $2,000 worth 
of a general assortment of goods. About the time this sale was effected, 
John Carter laid out an addition of sixteen lots to the town. Mr. Hadley 
still continued his business, taking in a partner in 1838. Mr. Johnson 
must have opened another store soon after his sale, as he took out a 
license in 1839 to sell merchandise. Eli Vestal was an early merchant 
in the village. Henry and Noah York engaged in the same pursuit early 
in the forties. Irvin Caveness was the first tavern keeper. Samuel 
Wilhite and John Valentine were probably the first blacksmiths. A man 
named Halfhill opened a saddle and harness shop, and John Edwards 
began making wagons. The growth of the village, though not rapid, was 
steady and permanent. For several years, beginning about 1842, there 
was no store in town. This is said to have been due to the hard times 
resulting from the crash of 1837. Owen Johnson opened a store about 
1845, and soon afterward Ira Hadley resumed his business, which had 
been temporarily abandoned. Collins, an Irishman, opened a store about 
1850. Milton Lindley was engaged in the same pursuit about the same 
time, or possibly before. Benjamin Young came in with goods a little 
later, and Porter & Breedlove still later. After them came Samuel Had- 
ley, Joseph Fulghman, M. B. Shaw, Butler & Mendenhall, Mendenhall 
& Thompson, W. B. Thompson, Philips & Johnson, R. P. Johnson & Co., 
and several others, whose names are forgotten. A steam grist mill was 
built in the town not far from the vear 1837, and was the first of the 



MONROE TOWNSHIP. 127 

kind in the central part of the State. But the machinery was too rude 
to compete yet with the numerous powerful water mills, and the mill 
proved a failure, and was soon abandoned, and the machinery was removed. 
George Hadley built a wool-carding establishment about 1840, the motor 
being cattle on an inclined plane. It passed to Silas Gregory, who con- 
ducted it until about 1850. No spinning or weaving was done. A man 
named Dunning manufactured saddles quite extensively in the forties. 
Halfhill followed the same occupation. Ira Fowler owned a distillery 
some distance south of town, where lovers of ardent spirits could secure 
their favorite potations. Mershon was a cabinet and coflSn maker, and 
was probably the first undertaker in the town. Mr. Caveness kept a 
shoe shop in connection with his tavern. William Wisner conducted a 
tannery, beginning about 1836. It is said that Joseph Pray started the 
business, but soon sold out to Wisner. A saw mill was conducted in con- 
nection with the steam grist mill. Harris & Goddard built the present 
steam grist mill in 1856. A woolen mill was added to it. John McDaniel 
bought both mills about 1861, but soon sold out to Charles Smith, who> 
made money during the war. Hadley & Taylor succeeded Smith. In 
about 1868, the two mills were separated, each being owned by different 
parties. John Stanton bought the woolen mill, and Hadley & Taylor 
owned the grist mill. Mr. Taylor is the present owner of the grist mill. 
The woolen mill was an important industry. Spinning and weaving was 
done. Flannels, jeans and other cloths were manufactured. Various 
other industries have flourished from time to time, but the above are the- 
more important. 

PRESENT BUSINESS INTERESTS. 

Dry goods, Samuel Philips, Pacely Thompson ; drugs, J. C. Hiatt & 
Co., McCracken Brothers; groceries, Hobbs & Johnson, Wilson Brothers, 
Fish & Son, S. H. Henley ; hardware and agricultural implements, Hobbs 
& Johnson ; milliners, Johnson Sisters, Alma Jeffries, Mattie Hubbard ; 
barber, Henry Book ; grist mill, Albert Taylor ; harness, J. H. Hunt ; 
livery, Daniel Brewer; photographer, Mr. Calvert; tile factory, John M, 
Davis ; carriages and wagons, Henry Binkley ; undertaker, Jerry Wellr 
man. 

A newspaper was started in the town about 1880, by a man named 
Stotzell. After a checkered career of about six months, it became de- 
funct. Late in the sixties, the village became the " incorporated town of 
Monrovia," Ordinances were adopted, streets were drained, sidewalks 
were built, etc., but after a few years the municipal government was 
abandoned. 

SCHOOLS OF MONROE TOWNSHIP. 

It is not positively known where the first school was taught, as several 
years elapsed after the first settlement before an attempt was made to es- 
tablish a school in the township, owing to the fact that within a mile or 
two in Brown Township, good schools had been started some years before, 
and the older children in Monroe could attend there during the winter 
months, and the younger ones during the summer months, which was then 
regarded as sufficient schooling for large and small children for the year. 
It is likely that terms of school were held in private residences before the 



128 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

first established school came into existence. The first school of which 
any distinct remembrance is had was taught in the West Union Church 
east of Monrovia during the winter of 1832-33 by Joshua Lindley. He 
was paid by subscription, and had a full school. David Lindley taught 
in the church after him. At the end of about three years, the Quakers 
built a schoolhouse adjoining the church, and in this building Evan Had- 
ley was the first teacher. After that date the school was one of the best 
in the northern part of the county. A schoolhouse was built west of 
Monrovia about 1836. A school was also started up in the southeastern 
part and another in the northeastern part about the same time. In each 
of these neighborhoods, however, terms of school had been taught in 
private houses for several years before the public schools were firmly es- 
tablished. The first teacher in Monrovia was a well-educated man named 
Butterfield, who taught a three months' term during the winter of 
1837-38, in a schoolhouse that had been erected the summer and autumn 
before. 

Mr. Butterfield was an educator in advance of his time, and was re- 
garded as a "crank" on the subject of his own theories of public instruc- 
tion. Instead of being really "cranky," he simply earnestly favored and 
publicly advocated a system of education, which has since developed into 
the high schools of to-day. The only difference between his theory and 
the present system was the manner of obtaining funds for the support of 
the schools. It is stated that he favored public taxation for the support 
of the schools for the masses, but as his theory in this respect was un- 
popular in his day, or more specifically at Monrovia, he took the next best 
course he could, and urged the support of public schools by systematic 
rate bills and tuition. He was very energetic, and issued a printed cir- 
cular, advertising his school, specifying the branches taught, the tuition 
required and asking for pupils who were promised unusual advantages in 
acquiring a higher education than could be secured at the insignificant 
subscription schools then starting into life throughout the township. But 
there were three serious obstacles in the way of the success of the enter- 
prise of Mr. Butterfield : First — It cost considerable to attend his school. 
Second — There was no demand for advanced education. Third — The 
theories of Mr. Butterfield were regarded as unusual, suspicious, if not un- 
just. The result was that the school was a failure, and Mr. Butterfield 
left in disgust for more promising fields. Within fifteen years after he 
left, the very system he had advocated became the most popular and judi- 
cious plan of public education ever established up to that time. The com- 
mon school system of to-day is the child of this advance. This school of 
Mr. Butterfield's was taught in a portion of the " Monrovia House," yet 
standing and in use. 

The first schoolhouse in Monrovia was erected about 1858, the town 
children before that going east and west to the district schools. The house 
built was an ordinary frame structure, which was used until the two-storied 
brick building was erected about four years ago. The house is 28x64 
feet, has four rooms in which four teachers are necessary to instruct the 
town youth, cost about |4,000, and is a credit to the town, which surpasses 
any other in the county, in proportion to population, in activity in the 
cause of education. The school is thoroughly graded, and competent in- 



MONROE TOWNSHIP. 129 

atructors are employed. Sooa after the last war, the citizens of Monrovia 
and vicinity organized a Teachers' Institute, which is still in existence. 
The citizens subscribed liberally to support the institute, encouraged the 
valuable course of instruction and drill afforded the teachers, and those 
•citizens who were competent lectured to the assembled teachers on ques- 
tions of education and school government. In view of the difficulty 
attending an organization of this character — the great expense, the small- 
ness of the town, and the limited number of teachers likely to attend — 
the enterprise has been remarkably prosperous, the influence much more 
widely felt than was thought possible, and the zeal of teachers and citi- 
zens in the cause of education places the little town head and shoulders 
above every other portion of the county. Not content with this excellent 
showing, the teachers and citizens, in March, 1882, organized the " Mon- 
rovia Normal and High School Association," every public-spirited 
citizen of the vicinity subscribing from $5 to $25 for its support. This 
association is yet in its infancy, yet the future will, no doubt, record its 
important achievements. 

CHRISTIAN ORGANIZATIONS. 

It is likely that the first religious class organized in Monroe Town- 
ship was the one known as the West Union Meeting of Friends, which 
had its origin late in the twenties, from the older or parent class of 
Friends in Brown Township. Among the members were George Ru- 
bottom, William Johnson, Aaron Lindley, Jerry Hadley, William Allen, 
Ashley Johnson, Philip Johnson. Eli Townsend, Jesse Baldwin, Jona- 
than Doan, Sr., Jonathan Doan, Charles Allen, Lot Hadley, Silas Greg- 
ory and others. Their frame church was built in 1832. This class is 
yet in existence. 

The Methodist class at Monrovia was organized soon after 1840, by 
Rev. H. S. Dane, who was the pastor for a number of years. Some of 
the members were Edward Lindley, Walker Caveness, Isaac Johnson, 
William Mull, Joel C. McClellan. C. Marvin, D. C. Doan, James R. 
Williams, William Best, A. M. Dilley, J. K. Best, James Hudson, L. B. 
Lewis and others. The pastor in 1856 was Rev. J. R. Williams. Their 
church was built about 1850. 

The Christian Church at Monrovia was established in the sixties. 
Among the leading members were Jeremiah Wellman, Dr. Reagan, Jo- 
seph Allison and Robert McCracken. 

The Methodist Church in the southeastern part of the township was 
organized about 1835, some of the early members being James Demoss, 
Thomas Grisham, Peter Farmer, Simon Hadley, William Tansey, Able 
Tansey, Jesse Tansey, William Hornaday and others. Meetings were 
•often held at the houses of Thomas Grisham and James Demoss. After 
a number of years, 'their church was built. The Antioch Methodist 
Church east of Monrovia was established at a later date. Their church is 
worth about $700. The township has excellent religious advantages. 

THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD. 

One of the things of which the citizens of Monroe Township boast 
is the position taken by the older residents on the question of slavery. 
The anti-slavery sentiment came to the county with that noble class of 



130 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

Christian people, the Friends, and from the earliest settlement until slav- 
ery was blotted out of the nation, no opportunity was lost to strike it a 
blow. Anti-slavery societies were organized at an early day, and public 
measures were adopted to bring the enormity of the "institution" 
squarely before the public eye. The Friends posted themselves thoroughly 
on the question from a social, moral and Biblical standpoint, and man- 
aged to "worst" those of sufficient courage to meet them in public de- 
bate. The Underground Railroad was an organization to assist runaway 
slaves, escaping from their masters, on their way to Canada. The Friends 
everywhere were prominently connected with this route, or routes, rather, 
as hundreds of different paths extended from the Southern States to the 
dominion of the British Queen. The procedure was a violation of the 
law of the land, but the Friends and Abolitionists knew they were right 
morally, and deliberately disobeyed the law. The routes were called 
" underground " because they were usually only operated at night to 
avoid detection and pursuit. Slaves that were worth from ^600 to $1,200 
each were not permitted to leave their masters without an effort being 
made to capture them. Bloodhounds were used, and every other measure 
to secure their return. The Friends constantly thwarted the slave catch- 
ers. A slave who made up his mind to run away would ascertain about 
the route to be taken, and get the name of the first Friend on the route, 
and just where his residence could be found. Then, under the cover of 
night, vrith his little bundle of clothes on his shoulder, he would resolute- 
ly turn his face northward, and make for the first station on his way. If 
that point was reached about morning, the agent of the railroad would 
feed the tired traveler, and then secrete him in some safe place about the 
premises until night came, when horses would be hitched to carriages or 
wagons, and the runaway would be rapidly driven northward ten or fif- 
teen miles to the next station. If considerable time yet remained before 
morning, the agent of the second station would hitch up as the first agent 
had done, and convey the slave to the third station, and the first agent 
would return home. In this way, after the lapse of many weeks, often 
through the direst dangers of pursuit, the slave would be safely landed 
in Canada, where pursuit would end, and where the hunted man would 
draw his first breath of freedom. Two or three routes extended across 
Morgan County, all of them passing through Monroe or Brown Town- 
ship. All of the Quakers were ready to assist runaway slaves, as were 
many Abolitionists who were not Quakers, but only a few men in the 
county were really members of the organization called " Underground 
Railroad." The leading members in Monroe Township were Jonathan 
Dean and his sons and relatives. They were known to take many a run- 
away to some point in Marion or Hendricks County. On one occasion, 
they conveyed a load of five slaves northward. They no doubt helped off 
scores of them. Eli J. Sumner, of Mooresville, was a prominent Aboli- 
tionist, but he did not belong to the railroad, though he did not hesitate 
an instant if a slave called upon him for assistance. William Bowles was 
the agent at Morgantown ; Mr. Kelso also. Several at Martinsville 
afforded assistance, though none there were members of the organization. 
Many now claim to have been connected with the road who at the time 
were either neutral or inclined to capture the runaways and return them 
to their masters and get the large reward. 



HARRISON TOWNSHIP. 131 



HARRISON TOWNSHIP. 



TREATY WITH THE DELAWARES. 



NO Other portion of Morgan County is surrounded with greater his- 
torical interest than Waverly and vicinity. Here it was that 
the first settlement in the county was made while the Indians were yet 
occupying the soil, and while all the species of wild animals of this 
latitude yet roamed almost wholly unmolested in the trackless forest. The 
"New Purchase," of which Morgan County was a part, was secured from 
the Indians by the treaty of St. Mary's, Ohio, in October, 1818; but by 
the provisions of the treaty, the natives were to have the privilege of re- 
siding upon the soil and of hunting thereon until 1820. The land could 
not be formally thrown upon the market until after the expiration of this 
privilege of occupancy, but the whites could enter the territory, select 
their farms and improve the same, and be in readiness to purchase when 
the land became marketable. This was done in Morgan County to a 
hmited extent. 

THE FIRST SETTLER OF THE COUNTY. 

In the summer of 1818, before the lands of the New Purchase had 
been ceded to the Government by the Indians, Jacob Whetzel, brother 
to the famous Indian fighter, Lewis Whetzel, and an Indian fighter him- 
self, went to the camp of the Delaware chief, Anderson, whose principal 
village was where the city of Anderson now stands, to get permission to 
cut a trace from White Water River in the eastern part of the State to 
the Bluflfs* on White River, the object being to secure a road from such 
eastern point to the Bluffs, the remainder of the way to Vincennes to be 
by the river. Mr. Whetzel had in view then a permanent location at or 
near Vincennes. Permission was granted by Anderson, and the following 
autumn Mr. Whetzel, accompanied by his son Cyrus, and supplied with 
the necessary axes, guns, provisions, etc., blazed this route through to the 
Bluffs. This blazed road through the wilderness was probably the first 
in this part of the State, and became a famous highway for fam- 
ilies seeking homes in the New Purchase. It may yet be 
seen in some places, and is still known as "Whetzel's Trace." 
Mr. Whetzel was so pleased with the Bluffs and the surrounding country 
that he resolved to go no farther toward Vincennes with a view of settle- 
ment, whereupon he selected a piece of land in the valley of White River 
a short distance north of the present residence of his grandson-in-law, 
Mr. McKenzie, and resolved to send out his son, Cyrus, the following 
spring to clear a small tract and raise a crop. Early the next spring 
(March, 1819), Jacob and his son Cyrus, with the necessary seeds, im- 
plements and arms, came via Whetzel's Trace to the Bluffs, estab- 

*A mile and a half northeast of Waverly, where old Port Koyal used to stand, generally called 
"The Bluflfs." 



132 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

lished with stakes the permanent boundary of about sixty acres of land 
just below Waverly, and after erecting a rude log cabin the father went 
back to his family, leaving Cyrus to clear immediately a few acres for a 
crop of corn, wheat and vegetables, and to deaden a larger tract during 
the summer. The second night after the father had gone, a heavy snow 
fell, and Cyrus built a large fire to drive off the wolves and the cold. 
During the night, he felt something creep under the blanket under which 
he was sleeping, but was too unconcerned to make further discoveries 
until the next morning when he was somewhat surprised to learn that 
his sleeping companion was none other than a huge Delaware Indian. 
This discovery was not sufficient to scare very perceptibly a man in whose 
veins ran the distinguished blood of the Whetzels. Cyrus was but 
eighteen years of age, yet he felt no fear in the wilderness, though sur- 
rounded with wild and dangerous animals, and with the scarcely less wild 
and dangerous Indians. 

THE FIRST FARM. 

Cyrus Whetzel, assisted by a young man whose name is no longer 
recollected, and who came out soon after the young man did, cleared off 
a small "truck patch," where corn, vegetables and a small quantity of 
wheat were raised. Ten or fifteen acres of heavy timber were also dead- 
ened. The following autumn the family came out to stay permanently. 
This settlement may justly be dated from the fall of 1818, one year be- 
fore the family came out, as the farm was then selected and the intention 
fully matured to locate thereon permanently. The elder Whetzel, Jacob, 
was a professional hunter, knew but little of farming, and practiced less, 
but he perhaps never had an equal in the county in woodcraft, and in 
experience of the Indian. Much of his time was spent in hunting until 
1827. when he died. He manufactured his own powder, and dressed 
almost altogether in buckskin. He did some coopering. His son Cyrus 
inherited the Whetzel constitution and sagacity, and in his younger years 
gained an extensive acquaintance with the Indian character. He soon 
married and became one of the foremost men of the county. He after- 
ward represented the county in the Legislature. He was brave enough 
and farseeing enough to look beyond the day in which he lived, and to 
take the advanced and nobler, liberal position of to-day on the subject of 
religion. He died in 1876, full of years, respected by all true men, and 
lies buried near the residence of his son-in-law, Mr. McKenzie. 

INCIDENTS. 

At a very early date, a number of Delaware Indians came to the 
cabin of Jacob Whetzel, and a big brave named "Nosey" (part of his 
nose had been cut off, and hence the name) bantered Cyrus to shoot at a 
mark. The challenge was accepted, but Cyrus proved to be the better 
marksman. This threw Nosey, who possessed a violent temper, into a 
furious rage, but his fear of the stalwart and courageous young man pre- 
vented any serious results to the latter. The party soon left, but one of 
them, who dared to taunt the Indian with his defeat, was instantly killed 
by the still enraged savage. The latter was given one year, according to 
custom, to redeem his life by furnishing 100 deer skins to the murdered 



HARRISON TOWNSHIP. 133 

man's relatives. This could easily have been done, but no effort was 
made, and Nosey was accordingly put to death by torture. 

Mr. Whetzel one day loaned a Delaware his "gig" to spear fish, 
and when it was returned one of the prongs was gone, the Indian stating 
that he had broken it off in a log. A few days later, Mr. Whetzel 
came upon the same Indian on the river where he had speared a wagon 
load of the finest fish, with a gig made from the broken prong, which had 
been driven into the end of a tough slender pole. This Indian was en- 
gaged in drying the fish. He was so expert that he could strike a fish 
eight or ten yards away. Many years ago, the Whetzels discovered about 
a half bushel of bullets of all sizes from a shot to a half-ounce ball on 
the bottom near Waverly. They had been scattered out over several 
rods, by the action of the water no doubt, but how they came there is a 
mystery yet to be solved. 

ADDITIONAL EARLY SETTLERS. 

The name of the second settler in Harrison Township is not certain- 
ly known. Among those who came in soon after the Whetzels were 
Christopher Ladd, Jesse Tull, Benjamin Mills, David E. Allen, Henry 
Rout (who remained but a short time), John Paul, John Hamilton, Thomas 
Ingles, George Powell, Joseph Bennett, Thomas Gardner, William Good- 
win, James Burch, Robert C. Stott, Barlow Aldridge, Joseph Frazee, 
William Etter and many others whose date of settlement cannot be cer- 
tainly fixed. The following list of men paid poll tax in Harrison Town- 
ship in 1842, the list being given here to preserve the names of as many 
of the early residents as possible. A few of the men never resided in the 
township: Barlow Aldridge, J. D. Bromwell, J. F. Brenton, James 
Burris, Joseph Brenton, Joseph Baker, James Duke, J. W. Davis, 
Dixon Dee, Daniel Etter, Cornelius Free, J. G. A. Frydinghire, George 
Haslett, Elijah Henderson, John Harrow, Benjamin Harrold, William 
Harrold, Benjamin Holland, Abner Hightour, G. Kershner, Richard 
Dee, J. M. Laughlin, J. A. Laughlin, Lewis Leach, J. S. Leach, Alan- 
son Lewis, Benjamin Mills, Allen McLain, Thomas Mitchell, G. J. Mills, 
Daniel Newkirk, J. H. B. Nowland, J. M. Norton, George Powell, W. 
Prescot, Aaron Prescot, Jason Rust, David Rust, Frederick Swartz, 
George Smith, Robert Smith, John Stephenson, I. W. Tacket, William 
Tull, Drury Trusty, Cyrus Whetzel and Jesse Wharton. 

THE BLUFFS, OR PORT ROYAL. 

The Blufis were known before there was a solitary settler in the county. 
Frenchmen from Vincennes and vicinity had come up the river before the 
war of 1812; and if tradition is correct had established temporary trad- 
ing stations with the Delaware Indians, who then occupied the country. 
Various adventurers and speculators had visited the spot, and it became 
called The Bluffs. It is likely that Christopher Ladd was the first white 
settler at the point. He located there either in 1819 or early in 1820. 
He it was who claimed the location of the capital of the State at the 
Bluffs. Several of the Commissioners appointed by the Legislature to 
permanently fix the capital voted in favor of the Bluffs. Mr. Ladd be- 
gan keeping tavern there before the county was organized, and was the 



134 HISTORr OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

first man in the county to take out the necessary license to keep tavern 
and sell liquor. The corpse of a man was found on the river bottom 
near his house, and Mr. Ladd was arrested and tried for the murder, but 
not a shadow of substantial evidence was found against him. He was 
acquitted, and his lack of means only prevented him from prosecuting his 
defamers, as they no doubt deserved. This was the first noteworthy trial 
of the county. Cyrus Whetzel and Mr. Ladd were intimate friends, and 
the former always insisted on the latter's innocence. Mr. Whetzel always 
suspected an Indian, who, after the murder, was found in possession of a 
horse and saddle, a black silk handkerchief, a red morocco pocket-book, 
etc., of which he failed to give a satisfactory account. No doubt the 
murdered man had come out to buy land, and falling in with the Indian 
was foully murdered for his effects. 

The town was surveyed and platted before the county was organized, 
James Borland being the surveyor. It was laid out about the middle of 
September, 1821, on the north half of the southeast quarter of Sectioa 
13, Township 13 north, Range 2 east, in the Brookville Land District. 
Forty- three lots were laid out on the blufis of White River. Thomas 
Lee was the proprietor. 

The Blufi"s, or Port Royal, as it became called afterward, attracted 
settlers early. Ladd was the first. Robert Bradshaw was probably the 
second. Daniel Allen was about the third. He was the first tailor. He 
sold liquor in 1827 and merchandise in 1828. Bradshaw sold liquor in 
1826. Ladd's tavern was a great rendezvous for those who loved the 
flowing bowl. It was a great pleasure for the early settlers at Port Royal 
to gather round his blazing bar-room fire when the nights were icy cold 
and the bitter wind dashed the falling snow in eddies around the old log 
tavern, to listen to the stories of the travelers who stopped there for rest. 
It became a famous place. The early members of the Legislature from 
the southern part of the State would make Ladd's tavern their last stop- 
ping place before reaching the capital and the first place after leaving it. 
Mrs. Ladd was a genial, hospitable woman, a good conversationalist, and 
a woman who could not be excelled in the manufacture of good tea and 
coffee. Her guests discovered this latter fact, and a word of praise was 
sufficient to insure a beverage rarely found in the backwoods. On one 
occasion, her supply failed so nearly that she was obliged to mix tea and 
coffee as a last desperate resort. A traveler sipped the steaming bever- 
age, raised his eyebrows, curled up the corners of his mouth in a saga- 
cious smile, and speaking to his hostess, said, " Mrs. Ladd, if this is tea 
bring me coffee, and if it's coffee bring me tea." The good lady was 
obliged to explain the situation, which satisfied the polite traveler, who 
resumed his meal. 

The Blairs, the Paytons, the Hollands, the Wheatleys, the Davises, 
the Armstrongs, the Balls, the Beattys and others were among the early 
residents of Port Royal. Ladd sold the first merchandise in about the 
year 1823. His stock was insignificant, but was kept to accommodate a 
few of the residents. Robert Stafford, Peter Hennison, Hugh Endsley, 
William Agness and Henry Riddle were in business early. Bradshaw 
sold calicoes, etc., about 1827. John Wheatley was probably the first 
blacksmith. David Allen had a few hundred dollars' worth of goods late 



HARBISON TOWNSHIP. 1 35 

in the twenties. Luce & Allen opened the first goods store in 1832. 
Their stock was worth more than $1,000. M. C. Rust sold liquor in 
1832 and groceries in 1833. C. H. Hayes & Co. began selling from a 
large general stock late in 1832. Ayres & Pinney were the leading mer- 
chants in 1833 ; they were the successors of Luce & Ayres. About this 
time, the town was at the zenith of its prosperity, and contained a popu- 
lation of about 150. Cyrus Whetzel took out a grocery license in 1834. 
McCarty & Williams, H. Saunders, D. Rust were other merchants late 
in the thirties. The town began to die about 1840. Nothing is left of 
it now. 

VILLAGE OF WAVERLY. 

This little village started up when the canal was being constructed, 
about 1837. J. H. B. Nowland, now a resident of Indianapolis, the 
author of one or more interesting volumes on the early settlement of this 
part of the State, opened the first store of consequence on the " Island," 
in about 1838. A number of " shanties " had been erected before for the 
accommodation of the canal workmen, in one or more of which provisions ■ 
were kept to supply the tables. Mr. McLain was a superintendent. The 
first storehouse was built by Cornelius Free. Brown and Robinson each 
owned a tavern. Various rude dwellings soon went up, and the town 
began to grow. Mr. Brannon really sold the first goods. The canal 
men made it lively of nights at the saloons. Cornelius Free was the 
central figure from the start. He built a large grist mill in 1837, four 
stories and a half high, with four or five runs of buhrs. This mill was 
one of the finest ever in this part of the State, was the life of Waverly, and 
received a patronage over a radius of forty miles. Attached to it was a 
saw mill and a woolen factory, where carding only was done at first, but 
later spinning and weaving. An attachment for kiln-drying corn was soon 
added, and the united enterprises received an enormous patronage. Mrs. 
McKinzie said she had seen more than a hundred teams stand waiting 
their turn to be waited upon. The corn was ground in the mill, then 
kiln-dried, then shipped by boat to Southern markets. Benjamin Sweet, 
of Martinsville, was the leading carpenter who built the big mill. The 
water which operated these industries was from the canal feeder, and was 
purchased of the State by Mr. Free. After a few years, Jacob Corman 
leased the mill, and late in the forties the property was sold to John 
Carlisle. Samuel Moore and J. S. Kelley, of Mooresville, packed a con- 
siderable pork at Waverly, shipping the same by flat-boat down White 
River. Dr. Paris was an early physician. Dr. Overstreet was his part- 
ner. They owned an apothecary's shop, the ancestor of the modern drug 
store. The Breeces, the Kershners, the Swopes, the McLains, the Now- 
lands, the Wishards, the Stevensons and others were among the leading 
residents in the thirties. A Polander named Frydingshire packed pork 
at Waverly. McLain conducted a big saw mill, and shipped consider- 
able lumber down the river. Howe afterward conducted this mill. 
Among the merchants of the forties were McLain, Boles, Jones, Nowland, 
Frank and Washington Landers, John Huntsinger. Abe Breneman. 
Margarum owned a cooper shop ; Harrah and Reese, carpenter shops, 
and John Gleason, a cabinet shop. Dr. White practiced medicine. It is 
said that James Burris opened the first carpenter shop in Waverly, and 



136 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

a man named Robinson the first wagon shop. This was about the year 
1887. Waverly was laid out and recorded in 1841, by M. H. Brown, 
0. G. Kershner and D. W. Howe, owners and proprietors. Fifty-five 
lots were laid out on the southeast side of the Central Canal, and a large 
lot was" left for a public square. The principal street — the one extending 
northeast and southwest — was Main street. 

WAVERLY IN LATER YEARS. 

Merchants since 1850 have been, among others, Landers Brothers, J. 
L. Knox, Peter Baxter, Ezra Allman, James Griggs & Son, John Cook, 
Thomas Hussey, Cannon, Smith & Dunn, A. J. Tarleton, John Graves, 
W. W. Dorman, Howe & Etter, F. M. Fields at present, G. Scroggs, Eli 
Paddock at present, Jacob Duncan & Son at present, and Vincent & 
Dukes at present. The greatest population of Waverly has been about 
250. Carpenters, blacksmiths, coopers, wagon-makers, etc., etc., have 
come and gone like an endless chain. The present population is about 150. 



Several terms of school were taught in Port Royal quite early in the 
twenties in an old log cabin, or rather in several old log cabins. The 
names of the teachers cannot be given. A schoolhouse was built near 
the town about 1829, where the town children attended as long as there 
were town children to go, which was until about 1840. Schools were 
first held in Waverly about 1842. The few children, however, usually 
went south to the country schoolhouse which stood southwest of town on 
Mr. McKenzie's farm. This house was used many years, or until the 
present one was erected, about 1850. This building, though over thirty 
years have elapsed since it was built, is in a fine state of preservation, 
and, owing to the fresh coat of paint, looks like a new house. In Sep- 
tember, 1826, there was formed at Port Royal a " Union Society for the 
Encouragement of Learning and Religion," at the head of which were 
Danial Boaz and Henry Brown, of Johnson County, and David Allen 
and others of Port Royal and vicinity. This society furnished excellent 
schools for that day, employed competent teachers, and the. town soon 
acquired quite a reputation for its advancement in learning and morals. 
The enterprise died out in the thirties. 

CHURCHES. 

No doubt the first class in the township was established at Port Royal. 
Late in the twenties, the Methodists formed a small class there. Scarcely 
anything is known of the class, as it soon died. In 1840, the Methodists 
formed a class on Section 36, Harrison Township, and soon after were the 
owners of a small church. Among the members were the families of John 
Taylor, of Johnson County, Thomas Mitchell, Jacob L. Bromwell, James 
Epperson, Henry Brenton, Gideon Drake and others. Land for the 
church was furnished by Mr. Bromwell. Rev. Zelots S. Clifford was the 
pastor in 1846. This was called the Shiloh Church. The Trustees in 
1846 were James Epperson, Gideon Drake, William Robe, Lewis W. St. 
John and Josiah Drake. This society flourished for many years. Early 
in the forties, the Presbyterians formed a small class at Waverly. They 



RAY TOWNSHIP. 137 

met to worship in residences and in the saw mill of Mr. Free. Here it 
was that Henry Ward Beecher preached several consecutive days. His 
auditors sat on rude plank benches around him, and the since famous 
minister so stirred them up with his eloquence that his sermons are yet 
distinctly remembered by many. The Methodists had a nominal organi- 
zation at Waverly in about 1840, and soon afterward a small class was 
partially organized by Rev. Hammond. About 1857, the class had be- 
come strong enough to build a church, which the members proceeded to 
do, getting a large subscription from other denominations and from out- 
siders, with the understanding that the building should be open to all 
Christian denominations and to all moral public lectures. The building 
was erected, but after a number of years the Methodists took absolute 
possession and control of the house, and refused to allow other denomina- 
tions or lecturers to use it without the arbitrary consent of their Trustees. 
How strange it is that so many Christian denominations, after solemnly 
dedicating a church to the service of God, can piously turn around with 
a prayer on their lips and fraudulently obtain absolute possession of the 
building which is at least partially owned by others. Christians do not 
act thus. Among the early Methodists were John Graves, Barlow Al- 
dridge, Aaron T. Wiley, William J. Knox, George Rinker, Robert P. 
Gray, E. A. Allman, Cyrus Etter, James Griggs and their families. Cy- 
rus Whetzel paid liberally toward the construction of the People's Church. 
M. W. Brenton was pastor in 1856. This church was really a branch 
of the Shiloh and Mount Olive organizations. 



RAY TOWNSHIP. 



THE BUTLER CREEK SETTLEMENT. 

IT is not certainly known who was the first permanent settler in Ray 
Township. Neither is the exact time of the first settlement known. 
A settlement was made in the western part of the township on Butler 
Creek in 1821 certainly, and probably in 1820. The settlement of Owen 
County had an earlier date than that of Morgan County, and Gosport was 
one of the oldest points. Ephraim Goss, Sr.. had located there as early, 
probably, as 1818, and others had selected farms near him. Then down the 
river were several other settlements, especially in the vicinity of Spencer, 
where several scores of families had established themselves. Before there 
was a white family in Morgan County, and even before the purchase of 
the soil from the Indians, the country had been visited by numerous 
home seekers from the older localities down the river and elsewhere. 
Then, as soon as the purchase became known, the territory was invaded 
by prospective pioneers and speculators. As early probably as 1820, and 
certainly as early as 1821, several families established themselves, as 
above stated, on Butler Creek, about a mile north of the river and near 
the western boundary of the county. This, so far as can be learned, was 
the first settlement in Ray Township. There is a tradition to the efi'ect 



138 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

that several years before this colony was formed, a professional hunter 
and his family had lived a year or more on the banks of this creek. One 
thing is certain. After the settlement had been formed, and even after 
several years had elapsed and other portions of the township had per- 
manent families, the remains of an old cabin and other evidences of human 
occupancy were still plainly discernible on the creek. Some have stated 
that the name of this family was Butler, and that the creek received its 
christening from that circumstance ; but the better opinion seems to be 
that the stream took its name from a Mr. Butler who lived thereon across 
the line in Owen County at a very early date. The families of James 
McKinney, Solomon Tucker and Thomas Thompson were, so far as is 
now known, the first to locate permanently in what is now Ray Town- 
ship. The three families, no doubt, moved there in 1820, and the follow- 
ing year, when the land was thrown into market, each entered a tract of 
land where his log cabin had been previously built. The old settler, 
Philip Hodges, thinks these families were the first in the township, but 
which was first, or whether either was first, he does not certainly know. 
He did not move to the township until 1824, but he had passed up the 
river on more than one occasion on a tour of inspection a year or two 
before the land was thrown into market, and possibly before the New 
Purchase had been secured by treaty with the Indians in October, 1818. 
When he first became aware of the presence of these families in the town- 
ship, he no longer recollects. 

The first tract of land entered was the east half of the southwest quarter 
of Section 22, on the 16th of February, 1821, by Abner Alexander. The 
second was the west half of the northwest quarter of Section 27, on the 
29th of May, 1821, by Solomon Tucker. The third was the northeast 
quarter of Section 23, on the 9th of March, 1821, by William Anderson. 
The fourth was the west half of the southwest quarter of Section 22, on 
the 20th of July, 1821, by Daniel Goss. The fifth was the east half of 
the northwest quarter of Section 27, on the 27th of July, 1821, by James 
McKinney. The sixth was the west half of the southwest quarter, on the 
4th of August, 1821, by Thomas Thompson. A few other entries were 
made in 1821, by Wiley Williams, Joseph Ribble, David Fain in the 
eastern part, and Philip Hodges on Section 14. Fred Buckhart bought 
land on Section 8 in 1822, and Ephraim Goss, Jr., on Sections 2 and 35, 
in 1823. Solomon Watson and Scott Young bought land in the north- 
western part in 1823. Joshua Crow bought on Section 27 in 1823. 
Philip Hodges and Charles D. Seaton bought on Section 3 in 1824. Vor- 
daman Fletcher purchased a tract on Section 13 the same year. Jacob 
Johns and Benjamin Freeland bought on Section 34, in 1824, and Fred 
Stigerwalt, Thomas Sandy and William Asher on Section 35 the same 
year. William Thompson, Abraham Lafaver, John Thompson, Lev-i 
Walter, Levi Whitaker, Elijah Bowen, Richard Fletcher, Joseph Rhodes. 
John Vickery, John Berry, Amos Meyers, Elisha Boyd, Henry Ratts 
entered land in the township later in the twenties. Among the entries in 
the thirties were the Whitakers, Jefferson Farr, William Deal, Abe Riley, 
James Johnson, William Voshels, P. Howell, Samuel Fletcher, Presley 
Asher, William Guy, Peter Ester. Joseph Yount, Jacob Beaman, Dabney 
Miller, Joel Eliott, Anderson Poseley, John and William Duckworth, J. 
S. Johnson, Elijah Duckworth, William Adkins and others. 



RAY TOWNSHIP. 139 

The first colony in the township then was on Butler Creek. The 
second was in the northwest corner founded by Ephraim Goss, Jr., who 
entered a tract of land there in January, 1823, and the following spring 
came out and built a log cabin, into which he moved his family. He had 
scarcely become established before he was joined by Solomon Watson, Levi 
Walters, Vordaman Fletcher, Ike Fletcher, Abe Fletcher, Philip Hodges 
and others. Mr. Hodges came to reside in the township in 1824. He 
came up the river with a yoke of oxen, but no wagon, in 1824, to the land 
he had just entered on Section 3. He immediately went to work cutting 
down trees, cutting out logs and hauling them with the oxen to the spot 
selected for his cabin. All this was done in one day. The next day Mr. 
Hodges was assisted by Levi Walters, John Asher, John Matlock and 
others, who helped him erect the hewed-log cabin, his first home in Mor- 
gan County. The building was one of the typical sort, with puncheon 
floor, clapboard roof and door, and the indispensable fire-place. All this 
work was done in one day. Soon after this, the family, then consisting of 
the mother and two children, were moved into this backn^oods home; here 
the family lived for many years. Mr. Hodges bought the first tract of 
land in the New Purchase. It was on the first day of the public sale of 
land at Terre Haute on the 4th of September, 1820. Col. John Vawter 
was the " crier " of the sale. Mr. Hodges bid in at the Government 
price of $1.25 per acre in Township 11 north, Range 1 east, now 
in Washington Township, about two miles east of Martinsville, the west 
half of the northwest quarter of Section 1, and the east half of the north- 
east quarter of Section 2, the two lots aggregating 151.45 acres. Im- 
mediately after the hammer fell, the crier said to Mr. Hodges : " You 
are the first freeholder in the New Purchase." This fact was not 
thought as much of then as it is now. 

POLL TAX PAYERS OF 1842.* 

Hiram Alexander, Tobias Butler, William Deal, Elijah Eaton, James 
Farr, Jefferson Farr, Ephraim Goss, Hezekiah Guy, Isham Guy, Philip 
Hodges, James Johnson, Amos Myers, Enoch Myers, Solomon Mvers, 
James McGinnis, Cyrus Marsh, Thomas McGinnis, James D. Newton, 
Bartholomew Pearson, Caleb Stirewalt, Adam Stirewalt, Elijah Watters, 
John Worthen, William Worthen, Levi Whitaker, Jr., G. B. Whitaker, 
Scott W. Young. This is not a complete list, but is the best that can be 
given. 

INCIDENTS AND IMPROVEMENTS. 

The settlement and improvement of the township was slow but sure. 
A good industrious class of people came in largely from the Southern 
States, many of whom left there, as they did not care to rear their fami- 
lies where slavery was regarded as a "divine institution." The free 
States settling upon the north side of the Ohio River was the point of 
attraction, and the southern half of Indiana and Illinois received large 
ascessions to the pioneers. Many species of wild animals infested the 
forests of Ray Township, even for several years after the first settlement. 
Deer, especially, were very numerous ; scores were often seen in one 

* The list of tax payers for 1842 is given here, in order to preserve, as far as possible, the names of the 
early residents. There is no record of the tax payers earlier than 1842. 

9 



140 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

herd, and almost every cabin had venison steak at all meals. Corn bread, 
venison, fat pork, wild honey or maple sirup or sugar, wild turkeys, 
potatoes, pumpkins and wild fruits constituted the principal pioneer diet. 
Occasionally light wheat bread could be had, but this was a delicacy not 
the commonest. Ephraim Goss, Jr., was one of the most successful hunt- 
ers in the township. His uncle, Ephraim, Sr., who lived in Owen 
County, was a famous hunter, and on more than one occasion killed bears. 
The nephew had learned much of the chase from the uncle, and finally 
became almost as skillful. If he killed any game larger than deer in 
Ray Township, such fact is not now known. Philip Hodges relates the 
following incident of Mr. Goss : One season, during a period of several 
weeks, the wolves had been very troublesome. At times they would vent- 
ure so close to the cabin or the stable as to endanger the swine, fowls, 
calves and sheep, and all these domestic animals had to be carefully 
watched during the day, and penned securely up in high substantial in- 
closures at night. This caused a great deal of trouble, which Mr. Goss 
concluded, if possible, to terminate. He selected a point where the wolves 
would be likely to pass, and there built a high log or pole pen held firmly 
in place by stakes. Fresh meat was placed therein, and the trap was so 
contrived, that when an animal entered the doorway to get the meat the 
trigger would be struck and the gate would fall, closing securely the 
means of egress. When all had been made satisfactory, the trap was 
baited and left to perform its work. Ere many days had elapsed, a large 
wolf was found in the trap. An opening was made, through which the 
animal thrust its head in an effort to escape, when the gate was pushed 
down on its neck, pinning it fast against the log. Here its mouth was 
securely tied up, and a chain was tied tightly aroung its neck, after which 
the gate was opened, and the animal permitted to jump out. Several 
large dogs had been standing about, anxious, no doubt, for a chance at 
the wolf, but they were put off until after the fierce animal had been 
led home. It was then resolved to ham-string the wolf, cut the ropes 
around its mouth, and let it fight the dogs. This was done, and the half 
crippled animal was savagely attacked by the big dogs. But the curs 
soon learned "to go slow." The double row of long white teeth would 
snap together like a steel trap, and cut the skin of the dogs like a knife. 
After the fight had been witnessed for a long time, the wolf was shot. 
This was rather cruel sport, but the spectators, of whom Mr. Hodges was 
one, greatly enjoyed it. 

PARAGON. 

This village started up early in the fifties. J. D. Newton, who had 
been selling goods a few miles northeast, started a store there about 1852. 
His brother Thomas conducted the store, which was continued about fif- 
teen years. Near the close of the war, Scott & McMillan opened a store. 
Lehman & McMillan succeeded them. Newton, Hodges & Co. began 
about 1870. Since then the leading merchants have been Raber & Mc- 
Cord, Samuel Rosengarden, Frank Cunningham, drugs ; J. W. Prater, 
drugs; Clarence H. Jones, drugs, a;nd others. The present merchants are 
Mr. Raber, J. K. Stout, William Brown & Co., Goss & Co. Andrew 
Fletcher was the first blacksmith ; P. M. Blankenship, the first carpenter. 



RAY TOWNSHIP. 141 

The following men have owned saw mills : P. M. Blankenship, George 
and Henry Lincoln, Goulding & Harden, Levi Frederick, T. & H. My- 
ers, J. W. Prater, and at present Philip Blankenship. ^v Ed Robinson 
owned a grist mill in town for two or three years, beginning about 1871, 
at the end of which time it was moved away. Dr. Charles Holman was 
the first physician and J. D. Newton the first Postmaster. The village 
has a population of about 250. It has important lumber interests. 

SCHOOLS AND CHURCHES. 

Where and when the first school was taught in the township cannot 
fully be determined. The first one, so far as known, was taught in the settle- 
ment in the northwestern part in the year 1832, by Levi Johnson. This 
could not have been the first in the township. In all probability, school was 
taught in the southern part as early as 1828, and possibly earlier. In 1840, 
there were four established schools, all, of course, being supported by sub- 
scription. Soon after Paragon started into life, a schoolhouse was built 
there, and Joseph Fletcher became the first teacher. This house was erected 
by Perry M. Blankenship. It was used until about 1866, when a larger 
house was built on the same lot. The present fine brick school building 
was constructed in 1882, at a cost of about $2,500. I. E. Kerlin was 
the first Principal. He had two assistants. The township, as a whole, 
has good schools. 

The first sermon in the township was preached in 1822 by Rev. 
Thomas Thompson, a minister or elder of the Dunkard Church, and one 
of the earliest residents of the township. He preached at his own and at 
his neighbors' cabins quite often, but so far as can be learned no organ- 
ization was efiected. 

A Baptist Church was organized on the northern boundary of the 
township late in the twenties, among the members being Levi Asher, 
William Manon, Elijah Bowen, John Durham, John Burnam and others. 
Perhaps a majority of the members lived in Ashland Township or in 
Owen County. It was called the Samaria Baptist Church. 

A Lutheran Church was organized in Ray Township in the forties, 
Lewis Tucker, Henry Miller, Ambrose Seachrist and others belonging. 

A Christian Church was organized west of Paragon in the forties, and 
for many years used a frame dwelling that had been vacated for a church. 
The class built a church in 1859. Perry M. Blankenship was one of the 
leading members. The Methodists have a class at Paragon of a later 
. origin. 



142 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 



ADAMS TOWNSHIP. 



NATURAL RESOURCES. 

THE northwestern part of the county was not settled as early as 
other portions, for the reason that it contained no navigable streams, 
or was remote from White River, then the great commercial highway. In 
ancient times civilization sought the sea. Almost all of the ancient cities 
of great commercial importance were on some body of water. This was 
due to the fact that water was the chief highway. But when steam was 
harnessed and driven at an amazing rate of speed to the heart of the con- 
tinent, inland towns of great power sprang up, and many on the larger 
water-courses died, yielding their seeds of life to the new. 

The general settlement of Adams Township did not take place until 
the thirties, at which time the greater portion of the land was purchased 
by actual residents. The tardiness of settlement was not the result of 
the poverty of the soil, as the greater portion is rich bottom land, well 
watered by Mill Creek on the west and its tributaries. There is a low, 
wet tract of country extending across the township from east to west, 
usually known as the Lake, which, when fully drained and reclaimed, 
will be the most valuable land in the township. The northwestern part 
is drained by Mud Creek, which finds its outlet in Mill Creek. 

For several years before any permanent settlers lived in the township, 
the woods were thoroughly hunted over by ambitious Nimrods from the 
older localities along White River and White Lick Creek. The game in 
the vicinity of the river had become scarce, but out northwest in the forests 
of Adams, bears and an abundance of less dangerous wild animals could 
be found. Benjamin Cuthbert, who lived in Brown Township, was a 
professional hunter, and only a few of the early settlers could excel him 
with the rifle. He killed hundreds of deer annually (in the thirties, 
largely in Adams Township), and made his living wholly from the sale of 
their skins, at from 75 cents to $1.60 each, and the sale of their "sad- 
dles." Many an old settler living in the northern part of the county 
remembers eating venison of his killing. It is said that he killed two 
bears in Adams Township in the woods on Mud Creek at a very early 
day. He shot the mother bear, and then was obliged to use his knife on 
the cub. He was an experienced deer hunter, and knew enough to keep 
away from a wounded buck or doe. The wolves were very troublesome 
in the township at the time of the first settlement. The Staleys had 
stock killed by them, and no doubt others were served in a similar man- 
ner, as wolves are no respecters of persons. 

THE EARLY SETTLEMENT. 

The name of the first settler is not known. It is likely that the Sta- 
leys, who came in about the year 1825 or 1826, were the first. Several 
families of Treats came in about 1828 or 1829. Thomas Shoemaker was 



ADAMS TOWNSHIP. 143 

one of the first, if not himself the first. He came to the township in 
1826, and entered considerable land, and soon built up a comfortable 
home. Other early residents of the township were James Pruitt, John 
Johnson, B. Pruitt, Terrell Brewer, William Brewer, George Seaton, 
Richard Osborn, Nathaniel Wheeler (who entered nearly 300 acres), John 
Linn, Allen Wheeler, Amaziah McLain, Thomas Barker, George Elliott, 
Thomas Stringer, Garland Gentry, Thomas McCarty, John Tomlinson, 
Daniel Elliott, Eli Pruitt, Richard Wiley, George Erlinger, Thomas 
Hulse, James Broadstreet, Benjamin Freeland, M. A. Miller, Nathan 
Wheeler, John, James, William, Richard and Stephen Treat (who came 
in the twenties), David A. Curtis, Jonathan McCullom, Philip A. Fox- 
worthy, Jeremiah Matthews, Jesse Pritchett, Larkin Parish, John Rat- 
liff, Allen Taylor, James Dorsett, Robert Walters, Miller Howell. John 
Bowman, Gideon Brasier, Logan Gray, John Craven, George Moore, 
G. W. Bowman, John L. Ashbaugh, John and James Taylor, William 
Edwards, William and Edward Bowman, Israel Lewis, Robert Walter^ 
Hiram Brasier, Isaac Brasier, Andrew Thompson, Solomon Watson, 
James Ogles, Joseph, William and Robert Walters, Joseph Donaldson, 
William Wigal,John Burnan, George Shape, Silas Nichols, A.D.Blunk, 
John Reeves and others. All of the above men, however, did not reside 
in Adams. Some were speculators, and some were residents of neighbor- 
ing townships. 

The poll tax payers in 1842 were as follows : William Allen, William ' 
Alexander, Benjamin Alexander, William Aldred, A. J. Bowman, John 
Bennett, Peter Bryant, Simon Bundy, Hardin Bundy, Alfred Bundy, Ter- 
rell Brewer, David D. Blunk, Amos D. Blunk, William Brewer, Samuel 
Beadle, C. B. Bowman, J. M. Bryant, W. T. Boyd, William and Reu- 
ben Bryan, N. B. Chambers, William Clark, Ignatius Clark, David A. 
Curtis, Alfred Delavan, S. A. Duncan, W. S. Drake, John Dunham, 
High Dobbs, Abijah Dorsett, James Dorsett, Duty Dorsett, Charles 
Duncan, Joseph Donaldson, William Estes, Frank Elliott, Peter Elmore, 
S. M. D. Elmore, Jared Elsey, A. J. Franklin, W. A. Franklin, Josiah 
Graves, Aaron Goodwin, Francis Gibbons, Samuel Goodwin, Thomas L. 
Gray, Stephen Grimes, Garland Gentry, William Gumm, George Guy, 
Daniel Goodwin, Asa Hadley, J. T. Hall, George Horner, Johnson 
Hutchinson, Edward Jackson, John Johnson, M. B. Johnson, B. S. John- 
son, Hezekiah Johnson, Moses Kenney, Nathaniel Ludlow, John M. 
Ludlow, Job Lewis, John Moser, William Moser, Bryce Miller, M. D. 
Miller, Jonathan McCollum, Edward Miller, John McGinnis, William 
Norton, W. A. Nunn, Andrew Ogle, Zachariah Ogle, Richard Osborn, 
Benoni Peterson, Bright Pruitt, Lorenzo Padget, John Pritchett, Paul 
Peters, Andrew Pottorff, Larkin Parish, W. H. Parker, Eli Pruitt, Jr., 
John Reeves, James Ruston, John R. Robards, Samuel Rowland, John 
Ratliff, J. G. Russell, Peter Staley, Thomas Shoemaker, James Snoddy, 
Jacob Stitts, Reuben Stringer, William Staley, John Staley, Eli Staley, 
James Stringer, Sampson Staley, Jacob Shake, Joseph Smith, A. S. 
Smith, Aaron Smith, Jacob Surber, David Shields, Joseph Snodgrass, 
James Sallust, Abraham Turner. Richard Treat, William Trammell, J. 
W. Treat, W. W. Treat, Nathan Wood, Nathaniel Wheeler, L. P. Whit- 
taker, Elisha Wood, Gideon Wright, Isaac Wilcox, Payton Wheeler, Eli- 



144 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

jah Wallace, Thomas Wheeler, Enoch Wallace, Edmond Worley, Allen 
Wheeler, Richard Walters, William Wigal. Several of the above men 
never lived in the township. They were non-residents. 

SCHOOLS. 

The early schools were taught first in private dwellings. The early 
teachers were residents who possessed some little education, enough to 
furnish rudimentary instruction in reading, writing and arithmetic, and 
to furnish correction with hickory gads. These old instruments of pun- 
ishment were always present, and usually hung on wooden hooks over the 
old fire-place, so that they became so hardened by seasoning from the 
heat that they resisted the severest exercise of the teacher in an applica- 
tion on some ofi'ending pupil, and even cut the wooden benches as the 
teacher in his fervor pursued, round and round, the howling culprit. The 
big whip was indispensable. A " master " who could successfully teach a 
term of school without using a whip, or could get along perhaps without 
any such corrective, was a rare object, and when one was found he was 
looked upon with suspicion, so prevalent was the belief in the efficacy of 
the rod. The old settlers were firm believers in the oracle of Solomon, 
"spare the rod and spoil the child," and as they did not care to have 
their ofispring spoiled, they usually employed an Irishman who possessed 
both the energy and temper to apply the rod to the unlimited satisfaction 
of parents anxious that their children " should be trained up in the way 
they should go." It is worthy of note that the earliest professional teach- 
ers throughout the West were Irishmen. They were about the only 
class that appeared to find satisfactory emoluments in continuous teaching. 
Coming themselves from an humble stock, and trained in the rough school 
of poverty, they seemed to enjoy the rude fare always obtained by 
"boarding around," and seemed contented with the meager amounts 
doled stingily out by parents of the backwoods. It is stated that the first 
school held in the township was near Eminence, in about the year 1835. 
A rude log cabin that had been occupied a short time by some early fam- 
ily and had then been vacated, was fitted up, and a school was taught by 
some stranger, probably an Irishman, who came along. A school was 
taught soon afterward in the northern part of the township, the Wheelers 
being the principal patrons. It is said that one of them was the teacher. 
This school was taught about the year 1836. Another was taught east 
of it within a year or two afterward. In 1840, there were four estab- 
lished schools, two in the northern part, one near the center, and one near 
Eminence, or near what afterward became Eminence. The real develop- 
ment of the school system of the township began with the passage of the 
common school law of 1852. Frame houses were built, and public funds 
provided better wages for teachers, and thus secured better instructors. 
Now there are eight or nine schools in the township, and the value of the 
school property is about $5,500. 

CHURCHES. 

It is likely that the Baptists at Eminence had the first permanent 
religious organization in the township. The class was established about 
the year 1837 or 1838, at the house of Thomas Shoemaker, or as others 



ADAMS TOWNSHIP. 145 

State, at that of Joseph Donaldson. These men and their families were 
prominent members, and at the organization of the class were about the 
only ones. Joseph Applegate was an early member. Mr. Shoemaker 
donated a small tract of ground for a church and cemetery in 1841. 
This church became widely known, and was called Mount Eden. It had 
a large membership during the forties, and did great good throughout all 
that portion of the county. It is yet in a prosperous condition at Emi- 
nence. The Methodists organized a class west of Mill Creek about 1840, 
which met for worship at the house of William Brick. This is not now 
in Morgan County, but it was then. Among the members were the fam- 
ilies of John Clark, Logan Gray, A. J. Bowman, Josiah Graves, Thomas 
Champion, J. P. Goodwin, Norman Nunn and others. Rev. Isaac Craw- 
ford was the pastor of the class early in the forties. The class often met 
at the residence of John Clark. Another early class was the Lake Valley 
Methodist Church. It was organized in the forties, among the early 
members being the families of William Wilhite, Hezekiah Johnson, Cole- 
man Brown, James Pruitt, James McClellan. In 1852, the pastor was 
Rev. H. S. Talbot. This class is yet in existence. The Oak Grove 
Christian Church, in the northern part, was organized in the forties, 
some of the early members being A. M. Delaven, Richard Treat, Bright 
Pruitt, John Boyd and others. This class is in a flourishing condition at 
present. Other religious organizations have existed in the township. 

EMINENCE. 

This is a thriving village of about 350 people. It was laid out in 
July, 1855, on Section 33, Township 13 north. Range 2 west, by Will- 
iam Wigal, proprietor. Twenty lots were laid out at that time, to which 
no further addition was made until 1865, when Jacob Surber increased 
the town proper by a number of lots. The early owners of lots were Abe 
Hadden, J. S. Holmes, Daniel N. Holmes, Elison Sliger, E. W. Spencer, 
G. L. Wigal, T. A. Adkins, H. R. Flook, Miller Howell, Solomon Wat- 
son. In 1862, George Kirkham, J. M. Reed, Louisa Twiss, McDonald 
Walters, bought lots. Later came C. C. Buchanan, Frank Mathis, J. 

E. Patrick, Isom Ward, Matt Watson, A. C. Modell, J. F. Myrick, John 

F. Ray, J. C. Rhea, B. F. Card, J. W. Alexander, C. E. Nichols, Pre- 
cilla Bowman, Card & Brewer, Andrew Gum, W. H. Greenway, J. H. 
Hulse, John Hulse, J. G. Hamilton, John Hancock and many others 
after 1867. 

It is said that Joseph W. Ray was the first merchant in Eminence. 
Others have been McDonald Walters, Howard Hulse, Eli Watson, Emery 
Nichols, Hulse & Watson, Dossett & Hulse, Enoch Patrick, John Dur- 
mington, Hiram Staley, John Summers, Jacob Arnold and many others. 
About six years ago, the town was almost wholly destroyed by fire. The 
Pierce Brothers built a woolen factory there, several years after the town 
was started. The enterprise started out well at carding, spinning and 
weaving, and numerous hands were required to conduct the divers pieces 
of machinery. After continuing a few years, the enterprise was abandoned. 
The principal feature of the town in early years, and indeed long before a 
town was thought of, was the grist mill owned and conducted by William 
Wigal. The building of the mill soon concentrated other interests there, 



146 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

which demanded the laying out of a town. The growth, however, was 
very slow, and did not progress rapidly until after the war, even if it did 
then. The town has had numerous saw mills, wagon- makers, cabinet- 
makers and artisans, and mechanics of all other crafts almost. There is 
not a livelier town of its size in the county. This is accounted for by 
reason of the location of the village in the center of a rich tract of country, 
and its distance from railroad towns and the enterprise of the citizens. 
The present industries may be summed up as follows : General stores, 
Daniel N. Holmes, C. E. Nichols & Bro., Ray & Watson, Nicholas & 
Rhea, Parker & Son, Rhea & Ryan ; drugs, J. K. Burges, Joel Parker 
and Dr. Pottoff; undertakers, Slage & Rhea; millinery, H. Nicholas, 
Miller Sisters : hotel, Gideon Brasier, Mrs. Gum ; saw mill, M. 
Miller ; grist mill, Summers & Tarleten ; saw mill, Twomey, Pottoflf & 
Co. ; harness, Braisier & Hubbell, C. J. Aren & Son. There are 
three churches — Methodist, Baptist and Christian, 



JEFFERSON TOWNSHIP. 



LAMB S BOTTOM. 

ONE of the earliest settlements in Morgan County was in the small) 
fertile and famous valley in the southern part of Jefferson Town- 
ship, known by the above name. Here it was that, according to some, 
the first permanent settlement in the county was made. It should be 
known that the counties down the river (Owen, Monroe, Greene, etc.) 
were settled from six to ten years before the county of Morgan. Before 
the latter had any permanent white settlers, its territory had been fre- 
quently invaded by prospectors who knew that ere many years, the Gov- 
ernment would secure the soil and open it to settlement, and by adventur- 
ous hunters and trappers who penetrated its natural fastnesses in quest of 
game and a livelihood. The country along the river, especially, was 
hus often inspected, but of course no permanent settlement could be 
made, or at least was made, until after the Indian treaty of St. 
Mary's, Ohio, at which time the fine tract of country called the New Pur- 
chase, of which the county of Morgan formed a part, was ceeded to the 
United States. Settlers in the lower and older counties had waited 
patiently for this event, and the ratification of the treaty was no sooner 
announced than the adventurous home seekers penetrated the New Pur- 
chase for permanent settlement. The survey of the land was ordered, 
undertaken and completed during the years 1819 and 1820, and on the 
4th of September the first sale took place at Terre Haute. 

Early in the spring of 1819, the exact date not being known, but 
probably in the month of March or April, three men in one of the lower 
counties (Jeremiah Lamb, Joseph Munden and Humphrey Harris), loaded 
with provisions and implements, and armed with rifles and knives, 
journeyed up White River until the valley above mentioned was reached, 
when, after examining the country there thoroughly, they concluded to 



JEFFERSON TOWNSHIP. 147 

make a permanent location, and began immediately to erect a rude log 
cabin in which to live while they were clearing a few acres for a crop, 
and until better houses could be reared for the families that were to be 
brought out in the fall. The temporary cabin was hastily built, and the 
three men went resolutely to work to clear a few acres for a crop of corn 
and vegetables. They concluded to farm the first year in common, and 
after clearing about five acres, they planted the same with corn and gar- 
den "truck," and two of them went back whence they came and the 
third remained to care for the crop. The others returned and assisted. 
The three men "bached" during the summer, often joining their families 
for provisions and to care for property there. One or more of them was 
always present at the new home. During the summer, three substantial 
log cabins were built for the three families, and three small tracts were 
cleared and larger tracts deadened. In the fall, the families were brought 
out and domiciled in the cabins. For two or three years, this settlement 
became well known, and was universally known as "Lamb's Bottom," 
called thus for Mr. Lamb, the most prominent of the three settlers. The 
cabins of these men became great resorts for all the hunters, who came up 
the river during the years 1819 and 1820, and for numerous home seek- 
ers. Game was very abundant then, and the cabins were always sup- 
plied with wild turkeys, venison steak and quite probably sometimes with 
bear steak. 

In January, 1820 (or perhaps the following January, 1821), the fam- 
ily of Mr. Munden had been so closely housed for some time by excessive 
cold weather that the supply of meat ran short, and one morning when 
the cold seemed somewhat modified and the approaching day seemed aus- 
picious, Mr. Munden took his rifle aud went out in quest of game. After 
three or four hours had elapsed, it suddenly clouded up, and the snow be- 
gan to fall heavily, and in a comparatively short time lay upon the ground 
twelve or fifteen inches deep. The snow then ceased to fall, the wind 
veered round to the northwest and it became intensely cold. To increase 
the horror of being out, the light snow was raised in clouds by the wind, 
and scarcely a foot could be seen in advance. The day wore away, but 
Mr. Munden did not return. His family became uneasy, but hoped for 
his appearance before night. Inky darkness settled over the earth, the 
storm continued with unabated fury, and still the hunter did not return. 
The night slowly passed, and at daybreak, as Mr. Munden did not 
appear, his family, with direful forebodings, hurried to the cabins of the 
neighbors and told them of the ominous condition of affairs. It was in- 
stantly resolved to go in search of the missing man. The cold was yet 
bitter, but the wind had died, and the snow lay in huge drifts. Five or 
six men, including several who had lately come to the neighborhood, ac- 
cordingly started out in groups of two. After many hours of tiresome 
walking, two of the men came upon human tracks nearly filled with snow. 
These were five or six miles from home, and were followed as rapidly as 
possible. They led in a rambling way toward the settlement, and finally 
struck the old Indian trace. Here it was found that the man had lain 
down in the snow to rest. The half concealed tracks were followed, and 
soon another resting place was found. This was repeated six or seven 
times, the resting places coming nearer and nearer together, until at last 



148 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

the dead body of Mr. Munden was found, frozen stiff, and half covered 
with snow. He was in a half-sitting posture with his gun in his hands, 
and when overtaken by death was no doubt attempting to raise himself 
to his feet with the assistance of his rifle, in another effort for his life. 
Intense was the sorrow of his family when the news became known. The 
corpse was taken home and buried. The family remained in the settle- 
ment a year or more and then left, and their subsequent movements are 
unknown. How long Mr. Lamb and Mr. Harris remained in the settle- 
ment cannot be learned, but it was not to exceed about three years. What 
became of them could not be learned. Their farms, which they did not 
own, were purchased by others, and the names of all except that of Mr. 
Lamb are well-nigh forgotten. 

CONTINUED SETTLEMENT. 

Among those who bought land early in the township were James K. 
Hamilton, John Burnett, Samuel Newell, Hiram Stroud, John Kennedy, 
Abraham Stroud, Jacob Cutler, John Conner, Fred Fry, Abraham Fry, 
William McDaniel, Samuel Ashton, Andrew Waymore, Thomas Clark. 
These men made their purchases prior to 1825, and all located their land 
in Lamb's Bottom. Later entries were made by Alexander McKinney, Fred- 
erick Buckhart, and still later by Solomon Watson, J. W. Powers, George 
Shultz, P. Duckworth, John Hynds, Levi Walters, William Stiles, William 
Riddle, Isaac Fletcher, Amos and Aaron Stout, William Bragg, George 
Malf, Andrew Scott, Craven P. Hester, Solomon Teag, James Newton, 
Emanuel Isenhower, George Elliott, John Burnett, Hiram McKinney, 
William Goodwin, John B. Gibson, Jacob Stierwalt, Christopher Shultz, 
J. M. Worthington, Samuel Fletcher, Henry French, John Taggart, Jo- 
seph Whitson, James Warren, Robert Burge, Nathan Dow, Joel Beam, 
John Fowler, John Smith, Thomas Lockhart, Reuben Robertson, Joseph 
Elder, Martha Townsend, Lawrence Fonts, Ingraham Collins, H. S. 
Cunningham, William Crone, W. H. Allison. Robert Miller, John Plas- 
ters, John O'Neil, John A. Worthen, David Lee, William Shearer, Will- 
iam Watson, Thomas Dixon, Gideon Lewis, Charles B. Butler, John 
Hudson, Fred Bronjon, David Snodgrass, T. Shipley, Allen Smith, Silas 
Bartholomew, Joseph Snodgrass, Gideon Farris, Henry Richardson, 
Gideon Reynold, J. W. Cox, Philip Engle, George Winters, John Nutter, 
R. D. Worthington, Jonathan Powers and Hiram Collins. 

POLL TAX PAYERS OF 1842. 

Lewis Asher, William Bragg, James Browning, Robert Bragg, Mil- 
ton Burpoe, James Ball, Noah Ball, Robert Burge, Walter Best, Joel 
Beam, Daniel Bailiff, Wesley Ballinger, William Cox, J. W. Cox, Will- 
iam N. Cunningham, Pleasant Duckworth, Nathan Dow, Thomas Dixon, 
William Dixon, John Duckworth, Joel Elliott, C. W. Eaton, George 
Elliott, Thomas Fipps, Henry French, Robert Foster, Joseph Fry, Sam- 
uel Fletcher, Jesse Grifiith, D. C. Gladson, Lawson Grunt, David Grunt, 
Henderson Hutton, George Hensley, Thomas Hines, John Hynds, 
Thomas Hynds, Emanuel Isenhower, James Kirby, L. 'C. Kennedy, 
William Kirk, Amos Kirby, Gideon Lewis, Robert Miller, George Miller, 
James McKinney, Peter Miller, John Miller. Henry Miller, Marsh, 



JEFFERSON TOWNSHIP. 149 

William Preston, John O'Neal, Jesse Overton, Robert Pattison, William 
Payton, Henry Richardson, Felix Rinehart, Edward Shipley, Jesse 
Stanton, Talbot Shipley, George Shultz, David Smith, Allen Skelton, 
Amos Stout, Jacob Stierwalt, William Stiles, John Stout, William Stout, 
John Taggart, William Teag, John Wallace, David Woods, William 
Widner, James Warman, Ira Worthen, John Woods, George Winter 
and Richard Weathers. 

RELIGIOUS ORGANIZATIONS. 

The first church organized in the township was the Mt. Gilead Bap- 
tist society, founded soon after 1840. The leading members in early 
years were Luke C. Kennedy, Harvey Sheppard, A. J. Duncan, Alex- 
ander Knox, W. C. Townsend and others. After a few years a church 
was built. The class is yet in existence. Late in the forties, the Chris- 
tian Church in Lamb's Bottom was organized, the leading members be- 
ing Thomas Wilson, James Farr, Alexander Wilson, Hezekiah Guy and 
Ephraim Hodges. The Mt. Olive Methodist class was organized later, 
as was also the Presbyterian. The meeting house at Crone's has been 
well attended at times. The township is well supplied with facilities for 
worship. 

THE SCHOOLS. 

The first schools were taught in Lamb's Bottom. Several had been 
started there before any other portion of the township was thus represent- 
ed. A log cabin about a mile and a half southwest of Hyndsdale was 
transformed into a temple of learning about the year 1834, and a session 
was taught therein by some man whose name is no longer remembered. 
Another school was started southwest of that point, near the township 
line, about the same time. It has been stated that school was taught in 
the twenties in the vicinity of Hyndsdale, but if so the facts could not 
be ascertained. During the forties, several schools were established in 
the central and northern parts of the township. In almost every case, 
log cabins, with huge fire-places, stick and clay chimneys, rude clapboard 
seats and desks, were the first schoolhouses. The books were extremely 
limited, and early teachers were obliged to resort to slates and blackboards 
of the rudest description in order that the scholars might have the re- 
quired advantages. Sometimes one book served a whole class, being 
passed along as it was needed. In 1850, there were six established 
schools. Now there are eight. 

HYNDSDALE. 

This little village was founded soon after the railroad was put in run- 
ning order. It has usually had a store of general merchandise, a post 
office and a blacksmith shop. Considerable timber is shipped during the 
season. The Stouts have been in business there. The village is conven- 
ient for the neighborhood. 



150 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 



ASHLAND TOWNSHIP. 

FORMATION AND BOUNDARY. 

THIS township, as it now is, was formed out of Ray Township 
soon after the close of the rebellion. Some portions are hilly, 
with a predominating clay soil, especially on the ridge; but, on the whole, 
the township is well suited for agriculture. Enormous crops of all the cereals 
are grown annually on the lower lands, which are as rich and fertile as 
any in the Mississippi Valley. The township is made up of Sections 7, 
8, 17, 18, 19, 20, 29 and 30 in Township 12 north. Range 1 west, and 
all of Township 12 north, Range 2 west, except Sections 19, 20, 21. 28, 
29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, the last three being in Ray Township and 
the others in Owen County. 

THE EARLY SETTLEMENT. 

No doubt Joseph Rhodes was the first settler of the township. He 
located on the creek which bears his name in 1822. and built a rude log 
cabin. He had no personal property worth mentioning, but went reso- 
lutely to work to prepare a more comfortable home. George Nicholas 
appeared soon afterward, locating on the same section (16). John Man- 
non also bought land in 1822 on Section 17. Benjamin Dunkin came in 
1825 and located on Section 17. Aaron Blunk established himself on 
Section 17 in 1824, and William Evans on Section 18 in 1825. Sol- 
omon Watson came to Section 18 in 1829, and R. R. Manning in 1832. 
K. S. Whitaker located on Section 22 in 1825, John Matlock in 1826, 
William Asher in 1824, Levi Whitaker in 1829, William Cotter in 1833, 
William Brown 1834, and Elisha Brown in 1834. Jacob Bullen bought 
land on Section 23 in 1828, David Seachrist in 1830, Daniel Seachristin 
1834, William Johns in 1834, Mathias Zink in 1834, and Felix Seachrist 
in 1836. George Knoy bought land on Section 24 in 1829, Henry Hed- 
rick in 1831, John Knoy in 1832, Lewis Tucker in 1834, and James Foster 
in 1838. George Shultz bought land on Section 26 in 1824, William 
Johnson the same year, Hiram Alexander in 1825, Levi Meafieldin 1825, 
Jacob Bullen in 1826, and Jacob Seachrist in 1829. On Section 27, 
Elijah Bowen entered land in 1831, Benjamin Beels in 1834, John Snod- 
grass in 1835, Levi Whitaker in 1829, and Joel Skelton in 1839. On 
Section 25, Ephraim Goss bought land in 1825, David Myers in 1826, 
Street Cox in 1826, and J. S. Harlan in 1837. On Section 17, David 
W. Gray bought land in 1836. On Section 15, Isaac Skelton bought in 
1836, E. B. Chenoweth, 1836, and John Brown in 1837. On Section 14, 
Eli Myers in 1837. On Section 13, Adam Lingle, Sr., in 1829, H. Knox 
1833, Lewis Tucker, 1834, Eli Pomeroy, 1836, John Wingler, 1836, James 
Foster, 1838, and John Fonts, 1839. On Section 12, George Moore, 1835, 

B. G. Edwards, 1835, Daniel Shultz, 1835, Jeremiah Sturgeon, , 

Henry Whitaker, 1836, and William Ball, 1839. On Section 11, S. D. 



ASHLAND TOWNSHIP. 151 

Spain, 1836, Napoleon B. Chambers, 1839, and David Lipps, 1839. On 
Section 9, William Elmore, 1836, William Cotter, 1837, and A. J. Proctor, 
1839. On Section 8, William Baldwin, 1835, and W. R. Mannon, 1837. 
On Section 7, Isaac Wamsley, 1839. On Section 6, Abe Fletcher, 1837, 
J. W. Gladson, 1838, James Ogle, 1838, Richard Bittle, 1839, and Isaac 
Bolden, 1839. On Section 5, William Asher, 1832, Simeon Watson, 
1833, Andrew Ogle, 1835, George Pattorff, 1837, and Solomon Watson, 
1839. On Section 4. G. W. Shake, 1836, Henry Littimore, 1838, and 
K. S. Risinger, 1839. On Section 3, Benjamin Edwards, 1837. On 
Section 2, William Brasier, 1834, Jesse Shoemaker, 1835, John Cart- 
right, 1836, Isaac Carter, 1837, S. D. Spain, 1837, and George Blunk, 
1839. On Section 1, M. M. Taylor, 1835, Tobias Moser, 1835, Jacob 
Moser, 1836, J. L. Ashbough, 1836, and Alexander Moser, 1838. Dur- 
ing the thirties the following men bought land on the six sections in the 
eastern part: John Knoy, Jesse Thacker, Edward Powers, J. T. Mur- 
phey, William Murphey, A. C. Murphey, Alfred Powers, W. H. Bryant, 
Peter Shuler, Daniel Bayliff, William Greenlee, Henry Ratts, George 
Boss, Hezekiah Butler, Henry Hedrick, David Hedrick, Jacob Johns, 
Henry Lee, Elijah Rogers, John Litterman, Dempsey Trowbridge and 
Noah Gallimore. 

PARTIAL LIST OF POLL TAX PAYERS. 

In 1842, the following men among others were assessed poll tax in 
what is now Ashland Township, then a part of Ray Township: James 
Craycroft, Isaac Carter. Lewis Caston, Isaac Caston, Jesse Coffey, W. K. 
Mannon, William Massey, George Elliott, David Hedrick, Henry Hed- 
rick, Joshua Kenoy, George McKinley, Ephraim Ratts, Elijah Rogers, 
John Shuler, Joel Skelron, John Carpenter, Wiat Carpenter, Philip 
Foxworthy, Benjamin Gray, Adam Lingle, Jeremiah Moser, David 
Myers, Eli Pomeroy, Kinner Risinger, Stephen Spain, Jacob Seachrist, 
Jesse Shoemaker, Daniel Seachrist, Felix Seachrist, David Seachrist, 
John Skelton, Lewis Tucker, Daniel Thompson, Simon Watson, John 
Whitaker, K. Whitaker, John Wingler and others whose names cannot 
be given. 

PIONEER INCIDENTS. 

The first thing to be done was to erect a log cabin in which to live, 
and usually these huts were of the rudest description. They were often 
built of small logs or poles, and often the head of a tall man would sweep 
the studding above. Short men and women were fortunate. Their heads 
escaped the bumps not located by phrenologists ; and then again, which 
was perhaps a more important consideration in view of the alarming 
scarcity of victuals, short people did not have so much bony surface over 
which to spread their fleshiness. Tall men and women in the woods were 
always so thin that dogs would follow them, thinking no doubt that they 
were bones. After the house was up, the men (and women, too) worked 
day and night to prepare a "truck patch." Potatoes, garden " sass," 
corn and a few acres of wheat were the first considerations of an agricult- 
ural character. The men would cut down the trees, cut and roll the 
logs, and the women would burn the brush. Ten o'clock at night often 
lound them thus engaged. Deer were everywhere, and venison was in 



152 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

almost every house. Some were not followers of Nimrod and did not 
try to hunt, but they could easily get venison of those who did. Rattle- 
snakes were as thick as pioneer children. A large den of them was dis- 
covered in an opening on Stone Ridge in 1824. The repulsive reptiles 
were forced out and killed by hundreds during the period of several years. 
On Section 16 was an Indian burying ground. It consisted of a mound 
of earth, and when opened in 1837, by John Brown and Isaac Skelton 
(two of the bravest men that could be found), six Indian skeletons were 
disclosed, each reposing in a stone coffin, made by placing flat stones up 
endwise, and then others over the top. The skeletons were left undis- 
turbed, and the mound was rebuilt. The old settlers did not care to 
be haunted like Macbeth by the spirit of some ferocious and revengeful 
old warrior. 

MANUFACTURES. 

The first mill in the township was a small corn-cracker, erected on the 
west bank of Rhodes' Creek, by Benjamin Gray, in 1886. It was 
operated by water-power, and owing to the lack of that propelling ele- 
ment, could run only about three months of the year, during the spring 
months. When a heavy shower came up during any other month, the 
owner would drop all other business, and operate the mill to its fullest 
capacity as long as there was sufficient water to conduct it. It did not 
run many years. After a few years, horse mills were adopted in other 
portions of the township, by Solomon Knoy, George Pottorflf (who had 
served in the war of 1812), Jacob Bullen and others. Many steam saw 
mills have been conducted from time to time in later years in different por- 
tions of the township. 

SCHOOLS AND SCHOOLHOUSES. 

If any term of school was taught in the township prior to 1830, such 
fact is not now known. In that year the first school edifice of the town- 
ship was built by Solomon Watson, John Reeves, Daniel Stevens, Will- 
iam Mannon, Sr., and John Brown, on the line between Sections 16 and 
17. Hickory and ash poles were used in the construction. The roof was 
of rough, hewed planks, held in their place by heavy poles fastened on 
with wooden pins. The fire-place could take in a huge log six or eight 
feet in length, and was built of limestone, and sent its roaring flames and 
smoke up a tall stick-and-mud chimney. Slab seats were fashionable, but 
not soft. The first pedagogue was Stephen F. Hancock. He handled 
his hickory gad like a sword-player. But his system was to educate as 
well as to stimulate. The latter exceeded the former, not because there 
was an abundance of gads, but because there was not an abundance of 
books or even of scholars. The school, despite these drawbacks, was re- 
garded as a surprising success. In the following three or four years, 
other schools of a similar character were established in the southern part 
of the township, in the eastern part, in the northeastern part and in the 
northwestern part. Districts were divided and subdivided as time passed 
and as the center of settlement in neighborhoods shifted. The first 
houses were logs, but after the school law of 1852, which provided a fund 
by tax upon property, frame houses took their place. Several brick 



ASHLAND TOWNSHIP. 153 

houses have been built of late years. Now there are seven or eight estab- 
lished schools. Ashland is above the average in matters of education. 

EARLY CHURCH ORGANIZATIONS. 

The Samaria Baptist Church was organized in 1830, the first mem- 
bers being Street Cox, John Brown and their families only. The first 
meetings were held in the houses of these old settlers, but later in school- 
houses, and still later in their church. The Trustees in 1835 were Levi 
Whitaker, William Mannon, Grafton B. Whitaker and Elijah Baum. 
About this time, David Gibbon donated about an acre of land for a 
church, which was soon erected. The old Liberty Church was built in 
1838, on Section 16, by David Gray, Sr., S. W. Young, Ephraim Goss, 
Daniel Y. Smith, John Brown and others. The carpenters were 
Fred Caveness and Henry York. This was the first frame build- 
ing in the township. So rapid did this congregation grow that 
in 1847 the membership numbered over 200. It was the leading 
church of all that vicinity for years, and is yet in existence, 
though greatly changed. Many of the leading Christian families of the 
township have worshiped in this building. Temporary church organiza- 
tions were established in several portions of the township during the 
thirties, forties and fifties, and indeed up to the present. Schoolhouses 
were the churches. Much good was accomplished by these small classes, 
which gave localities without other churches a place to attend and wor- 
ship. The Salem Lutheran Church was organized in the thirties, among 
the leading families being those of David Seachrist, Adam Lingle, Amos 
Myers, Jacob Seachrist, Felix Seachrist, Enoch Myers, George Lech- 
enbill and John Wingler. This church was large and prosperous for 
many years. At present there are five church organizations in the town- 
ship, which can be said to the credit of the citizens. 



This is a small village near the Owen County line, started up many 
years ago. It was first known as Sheasville, and has usually contained 
about a dozen families. A store and post office have been there the most 
of the time, also a blacksmith shop, wagon shop, cooper shop and milliner 
shop. Several prominent physicians reside there. A church and a res- 
ident pastor adds dignity and piety to the unpretentious little village. 
The name Lewisville was applied a number of years ago to a small collec- 
tion of houses half a mile east of Alaska. The latter town is not as 
frigid as its name would seem to imply. 



154 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 



GREGG TOWNSHIP. 



THE FIRST WHITE MEN. 

THIS fine tract of country was not settled as soon as those portions 
along the river. The real influx of pioneers occurred in the thir- 
ties, but about six or seven families appeared for permanent residence late 
in the twenties. The first families were those of Solomon Dunegan, 
Allen R. Seaton, Charles D. Seaton, Philip A. Foxworthy, Daniel Smith, 
John Williams and others. Solomon Dunegan was perhaps the first per- 
manent settler in the township. He was a Baptist minister, and came 
from South Carolina in 1826, and purchased a tract of land since known 
as the Thomas Wilhite farm. He became a very influential man in the 
township, was strictly moral and did a great deal for the early churches in 
his vicinity. Philip Foxworthy came to the township in 1827 or 1828, 
and entered eighty acres of land upon which he erected a hewed-log cabin. 
This was on the JeS" Wooden farm. He had a rough time clearing his 
first land, worked day and night, and was assisted by his wife, who 
burned brush. His nearest neighbors were Solomon Dunegan, the Ship- 
leys and Joseph Moser. In 1829, he had a few hogs of which he thought 
a great deal. They had cost him hard labor, and he was careful to have 
them properly marked with " an under half crop in the right ear and 
a swallow fork in the left." They ran wild in the woods, requiring no 
feeding other than the rich and abundant mast of nuts, twigs, herbs, etc., 
which covered the forest ground at all seasons of the year, especially 
during the fall. So abundant was this mast that hogs feeding exclusively 
on it often attained a weight of 200 pounds. But they generally were 
poorer, and when designed for the market or for home consumption were 
usually fed corn in addition to the mast. Every few weeks they were 
carefully looked up, especially if they had been missing for a few days. 
The owners usually fed them a little corn in the morning for the purpose 
of keeping them at home or in the neighborhood of home. Sometimes 
the owner did not care to take the trouble either to feed them or watch 
them. They then wandered off" into the depths of the unsettled woods in 
quest of food, and quite often were lost. Some of them became utterly 
wild, especially young animals, littered out in the woods, far from any 
house. They would run like wolves through the brush at the sound of a 
human voice or the sight of a human being, and it was often necessary to 
shoot them like any other wild animal in order to get them. When they 
were looked up to be marked or killed late in the fe,ll, they were often so 
savage that they were managed with great difficulty and danger. They 
were usually enticed into some pen, which was then hastily closed, but 
the process of enticing them was often unaccompanied with favorable re- 
sults only after the lapse of weeks of gradual advances. The males were 
extremely savage, with tushes sometimes six inches in length, and when 
pushed too closely would turn with tigerish ferocity upon man or dog. 



GREGG TOWNSHIP. 155 

Then there would be a scattering. All of the prominent early settlers 
who owned hogs had their individual ear-marks. Solomon Dunegan's 
mark was "a swallow fork in the left ear, and a slit in the right." His 
number was 133, showing that 132 had established before him. Mr. 
Foxworthy, in 1829, had a fine drove of sus scrofa. One night they 
were attacked by one or more bears where Hall now is, and one or more 
of them was killed and partly consumed. A bear did not stop long to 
inquire the name of the owner before falling upon wandering swine and 
making a merry meal of them. It is even doubted whether they cared 
seriously who the owner was. They probably thought that " possession 
was nine points in law," and accordingly took possession without further 
ceremony. They would rush upon a drove of hogs, seize one by the 
back of the neck, and begin to tear with teeth and claws regardless of the 
piercing death cries of the struggling victim. In a few minutes the hog 
would be torn to pieces, and would then furnish a sweet repast for bruin. 
Mr. Dunegan had hogs killed by bears, as did many others of the earliest 
settlers. 

Among the early residents was John Williams, who came to the town- 
ship in 1830. The first winter, his own and two other families lived in a 
log cabin 18x18 feet, and, as is humorously stated by an old settler, "had 
room to spare for another family." The men worked constantly in the 
woods. Mr. Seaton came in 1832; his cabin was built of round logs, had 
a clapboard roof, stick and clay chimney, huge fire-place, dirt hearth and 
a loft communicated with by a pole stairway. Here was where the 
children slept. His first stable was built of rails, and his oxen were as 
proud as could be expected. They were not " stuck up " and aristocratic 
as cattle are nowadays. They chewed the cud of contentment (that was 
often all the cud they had), and were honest in all their dealings with 
their master. The settlers of Gregg (it was Adams Township then) 
obtained their mail at Mooresville. They paid 25 cents for a letter, and 
the envelope and letter were one and the same piece of paper. Letters 
were appreciated in those days, and people when they wrote letters did 
not cut their friends off with a half dozen lines. They wrote half a dozen 
pages, and then carefully folded them with a blank page on the outside, 
upon which the superscription was written. Philip Foxworthy claims to 
have planted the first orchard in the township. The apples were seed- 
lings, that is, they grew from the seed and not from grafts. Daniel 
Smith settled in the township in 1833. During the following winter he 
cut down seven acres of timber and burned the brush. Early in the 
spring he spent four consecutive weeks in rolling logs for his neighbors, 
and in turn had his logs all nicely rolled. While he was away helping 
his neighbors for five or six miles around, his wife finished burning brush 
at home, and when he returned of nights he would work until 10 or 11 
o'clock at night "mending up" the fires which she had started. He 
would also split rails, during the time, to inclose his first little field. 
Hundreds of such incidents might be narrated. 

LATER SETTLEMENT. 

Among the residents of the township in the thirties were the follow- 
ing men: Joshua Wilhite, John Jones, Joseph Rhodes, Eli Staley, Golds- 

10 



156 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

by Blunk, William Hinkle, Nathan Ludlow, Jacob and Isaac Crum, 
William Pruitt, John R. Robards, R. S. Frederick, W. W. Philips, 
Anderson Williams, V. W. H, H. King, Joseph Nicholson, Washington 
Knight, Frederick Brewer, C. Marvin, Harlan Stout, David Shields, 
Simon Moon, Abijah Bray, Samuel Hackett, John Moots, William Har- 
vey, S. D. Dooley, Ezekiel Dooley, William Brewer, Archibald Boyd, 
James W. Ford, Hiram W. Williams, Noah Wilhite, Frank Garrison, 
Jeremiah Sturgeon, S. C. Yager, Maddox, Harper, Craven, Bartholo- 
mew, Russell Wilhite, John Caveness, Joel Kivett, Walker Caveness, 
Iram Hinshaw, James Cummings, Fred Caveness, Benoni Pearce, Zacha- 
riah Ford, Jackson Jordan, Ed Shipley, Wilson Moore, Joseph Moore, 
Aaron Kivett, Tamech Wilhite, Henry Wood, George Brown, John Mur- 
phey, Enoch Myers, Tobias Moser, N. B. Brown, John Brown, Andrew 
Knoy and many others. A few of this list never resided in the township. 
They owned the land which was afterward conveyed to other parties. 

POLL TAX LIST OF 1842. 

Elijah Allison, Joseph Applegate, John Brown, Coleman Brown, 
Rice Brown, William Brown, George Brown, Wiles Bradley, Lawrence 
Bradley, Lancaster Bell, John Baldwin, Frederick Brewer, J. C. Brewer, 
Francis Cummings, Thomas Callahan, James Cummings, William Dune- 
gan, Silas D. Dooley, Thomas Edwards, James Fitzgerald, Tobias Fer- 
guson, William Greenlee, Jonathan Hadley, Jeremiah Hadley, Uriah 
Hadley, Samuel Harper, William Hinshaw, William Halloway, Jackson 
Jordan, Joel Kivett, John Long, Clase Marvin. John T. McPherson, 
Bryson Martin, Daniel McDaniel, William Maddox, John Motto, Hugh 
Nichols, John Nichols, Thomas S. Philips, Milton Philips, Michael 
Pruitt, J. H. Philips, James Philips, G. W. Shake, Allen Seaton, Daniel 
Smith, Harlan Stout, John Scotten, W. M. Wellman, John Whitaker, 
Hiram Williams, John Williams, Joshua Wilhite, John Wilson, Aaron 
Wilhite, Oran Williams, Samuel Wilhite and Russell Wilhite. 

VILLAGES. 

The township of Gregg has three spots that are called villages. 
Wilbur and Herbemont are of a late origin, and consist of one or two 
stores, a blacksmith or two, a carpenter, a saw mill, a post office, and 
from a half dozen to fifteen families. The only village of note is Hall. 
The first residences there were built long before the town was thought of. 
Philip Foxworthy and Michael Pruitt both erected dwellings there soon 
after 1830. The town really started about the year 1851 or 1852. A 
man named Breedlove erected a storehouse, and he and a Mr. Porter, 
under the partnership name of Porter & Breedlove, placed therein about 
$1,500 worth of a general assortment of goods. The store soon at- 
tracted a few families, and soon a blacksmith, a carpenter and other 
tradesmen appeared. Mr. Brewer bad some interest in the store of Por- 
ter & Breedlove. John Whitaker opened a store soon afterward. Jacob 
Stogsdill was connected with him. John Williams and Benjamin Ypung 
began selling goods some time afterward. After them, from time to time, 
in about the order here given, the following merchants were present in the 
village : Brewer & Mattox, Joshua Wilhite, Col. Hendricks, A. J. McCoy, 



GREGG TOWNSHIP. 157 

Sparks & Hendricks, John B. Johnson, Milton Johnson, Frank Philips, 
Philips & Co., Philips & Brown, and Henry Brown at present. Rader 
& Wilhite erected a saw mill at Hall in about the year 1869, which is 
yet in successful operation. The grist mill was built in 1875 by Long & 
Wilhite at a cost of about $3,500. It is yet running, and is doing a fair 
business. Mechanics and artisans have held forth from time to time. 
The village and vicinity has a brass band which took the second premium 
at the county seat on the 4th of July, 1883. The villagers are frequently 
regaled with strains of sweet music. Perhaps, too, the birds of the air, 
the beasts of the field, and even the trees and shrubs gather around to 
listen to the divine melody as they did in mythologic time to the music 
from the harp of Orpheus. Hall was not laid out until the autumn of 
1861, at which time John P. Rader, Noah Wilhite, Michael Pruitt and 
Jefiersori H. Woodsmall employed a surveyor and laid out ten blocks, 
several of them being large and the others small. The village is on Sec- 
tion 21, Township 13 north. Range 1 west, and has had a population as 
high as 200. 

EDUCATION. 

The first school in the township was taught near Hall, but when it 
was or what the teacher's name was cannot be stated. It was not far 
from the year 1834. The children of Solomon Dunegan, Philip Fox- 
worthy, Joseph Moser, John Williams, Daniel Smith, Allen Seaton and 
others attended the school. After a few years, probably about 1838, a 
log schoolhouse was erected in the northern part of the township, which, 
for many years, was the principal seat of learning. Schools were started 
in the eastern and southern portions about 1840, or very soon thereafter. 
In 1840, if reports are reliable, there were only three established schools 
in the township, and one of them was not in a house that had been built 
expressly for school purposes. A dwelling which had been vacated was 
transformed into a temple of learning. During the forties, several new 
houses were erected, and by 1850 there were five or six good schools. 
Now there are seven schoolhouses. 

RELIGION. 

The Mount Pleasant Christian Church at Hall was organized in the 
thirties, and about the year 1841 the first church was erected. Among 
the early members were the families of Richard L. Frederick, Joshua 
Wilhite, Bryson Martin, Noah Wilhite, John Williams and others. The 
class is yet in existence, and has its second building. A Methodist class 
was organized in the schoolhouse near Hall late in the thirties, the lead- 
ing members being Michael Pruitt, Tamech Wilhite, Thomas Callahan, 
Hiram Williams, J. S. Phelps, Daniel McDaniel and Thomas Edwards. 
Their church was built in the forties, on land that had been donated by 
Michael Pruitt. The Harmony Methodist Church was organized late in 
the forties, or early in the fifties, and meetings were held at schoolhouses 
and at the residences of the members. Rev. Dane is said to have organ- 
ized the class. Among the members were Terrell Hinson, Moses Dooley, 
Jesse Griffith, Simon Carsley, Abraham Long, Stephen L. Dane, John 
Faulkner, James Mason, George Kirkham and Marshall E. Dane. The 
church was built at Wilbur late in the fifties. Several other church or- 
ganizations have flourished in the township. 



158 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 



MADISON TOWNSHIP. 



THE FIRST PIONEER. 



IT is certain that Abner Cox was tiie first permanent settler in Madison 
Township. Other families had lived there before his appearance, as, 
when he came, he found rude cabins, or rather bark wigwams, where 
white people had temporarily resided. It is well known that the van- 
guard of civilization was a rude class of hardy white people, who seemed 
capable of leading a comfortable, at least a satisfactory life, remote from 
settled communities. At the first appearance of permanent settlers, the 
country became too densely populated for these hunters and their families, 
whereupon they took up their march twenty or thirty miles out into the 
trackless forest, where their only companions were the Indians and a 
multitude of wild animals. They were the ones who made game scarce 
at the time of the permanent settlement. Bears had almost wholly dis- 
appeared, driven away by the inroads of these experienced hunters. 
Deer were still numerous, but not that superabundance found by the 
squatters, as the temperary residents were called, from the fact of their 
not owning the land upon which they resided. There was scarcely a 
township that did not have these earlier residents. In 1821, Abner Cox, 
with his large family, came to the township, as has been stated, for per- 
manent residence. He entered considerable land in the northern part, 
and built a log cabin about eighteen feet square, without floor of any kind 
except earth, without door or window except the apertures over which 
were hung blankets, and without roof except a leaky one of rude clap- 
boards hastily hewed out with a broadax from some soft wood. A huge 
chimney made of sticks, stones and clay completed this typical pioneer 
dwelling. It is stated that when the Beelers or other families came to 
that neighborhood soon afterward, they were all accommodated at this 
cabin — to the number of about twenty. The beds were given to the 
women and children, and the men deposited themselves on the floor. It 
is humorously told that the floor was so thick with them that when morn- 
ing came, the one nearest the door was obliged to roll out of doors in 
order to give the others a chance to move. After about a dozen had 
rolled out, there was then room enough to breathe. How would you like 
this, dear reader ? 

OTHER EARLY SETTLERS. 

Thomas, George H. and Joseph Beeler came and entered land in 
1821. The former afterward became the first Clerk and Recorder of the 
county. They located in the Cox neighborhood. Joseph Henshaw lo- 
cated in the northeast corner in 1821. The Landers family came in 
1822 and erected cabins near Mr. Cox. James Curl, John Sells, Thomas 
Dee, Joseph Frazier, William McDowell, James Basket, Jesse McCoy, 
David Price, Joseph Sims, John Hamilton, John Barns and others came 



MADISON TOWNSHIP. 159 

in 1821 or 1822. These men, except a few who did not reside in the 
township, located in the northern half, and by 1823 the Cox settlement 
was populous and prosperous. Other early settlers were Robert Furnace, 
Frederick Beeler, Edward R. Watson, Aaron Mendenhall, John and 
Thomas McNabb, Solomon and Francis Edraundson, Stephen McPher- 
son, Solomon Steel, Levi Carpenter, John Spray, Daniel Vort, John and 
Enoch Sumners, Daniel Stephens, Charles Hicklin, Michael and John 
Carpenter, John Moffett, Levi Plummer, Charles Kitchen, Allen Field 
and many others. The poll tax payers in 1842 were William Allen, Hugh 
Boyd, M. P. Bradley, Reuben Burcham, W, A. Blair, John Beasley, 
Martin Burris, William Blackwell, Philip Ballard. Isaac Clark, Philip 
Chubb, Abner Coble, M. W. Carpenter, J. M. Carpenter, Jacob Coble, 
Fielding Carpenter, Levi Carpenter, Larkin Cox, Levi Cassady, Isaac 
Canady, John Canady, William Dorman, James B. Duree, Jesse Evans, 
Evan Evans, A. R. Fowler, Jeremiah Garret, Giles Garret, John Garret, 
Michael Goodposture, Daniel Gregory, John Hasty, Allen Hicklin, 
Henry Hoffman, Murdock Hasty, Robert Henderson, John House, 
Thomas Hicklin, Nelson Howe, Abner Jessup, Henry Knox, William 
Knox, Samuel Knox, Nelson King, George Kitchen, Moses Lear, John 
R. Leathers, Thomas Leathers, Madison Leathers, Abner Lowe, James 
Leathers, Langford Leathers, James Landers, William Landers, Mathias 
Lambert, Martin Long, John Morgan, T. H. Moreland, John Mendenhall, 
Isaac Mendenhall, John McNabb, Thomas McNabb, Thomas Mills, Wil- 
lis Martin, James Morton, James Morgan, William Myers, William Mor- 
gan, Jr., Henry McNabb, Andrew J. McNabb, Andrew McNabb, Aaron 
Mendenhall, William Parker, George Perkypile, David Perkypile, Abner 
Ross, John Roe, James Reynolds, Richard Rivers, Gabriel Stone, John 
Stone, John Scott, Henry and John V. Swearingen, John Simpson, Rob- 
ert Sanders, James Sanders, George Sanders, G. W. Swearingen, James 
Stokesbury, R. T. Steel, Martillus Summers. Daniel Vert, Joseph 
Thompson, Thomas Tinsley, Blufert Tinsley, Jesse Thompson, William 
Woodward. Thomas Woodward, William West, Richard Wilkins and 
Goram Worth. 

INCIDENTS AND PIONEER CUSTOMS. 

It is interesting to draw contrasts between the old times and the pres- 
ent. The farmer was not as well equipped with agricultural implements 
as now. Corn was planted and almost wholly cultivated with the hoe. 
A man who could raise eight or ten acres of corn had a large field. If he 
had three or four boys and as many women, he could manage to cultivate 
successfully about that number of acres. Even the hoes were not as 
bright and hard as now. Often they were wooden. The birds and 
squirrels were so numerous and voracious that the farmer had to guard 
his corn crop constantly. Wheat was sown broadcast and very often har- 
rowed in by hand or by brushes pulled around by horses or oxen. All 
reaping was done with the historic old sickle. Think of it ! Less than 
fifty years ago the old sickle that had been in use from time immemorial, 
had been used in Egypt before the pyramids were built, had been used in 
the fields of Boaz long before the Christian era, in fact had been in use at 
such a remote period in the history of the world, long before authentic 
history began, that the myths and fables of barbarous man reveal its 



160 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

existence. For thousands of years it had been the only reaper. Labor 
had lost dignity, if it ever possessed any, in olden times in the minds of 
man, and invention was not permitted to interfere with implements whose 
use was sanctioned by the Deity. Personal liberty, with wealth and in- 
dependence in view, was limited to the domain of a serfdom constantly 
guarded by the blind and unscrupulous opulent. None but serfs were 
farmers. Children were compelled to conform to caste and follow the 
occupation of their fathers. Personal fitness was undreamed of. For the 
poor to be ambitious, aspiring and intelligent was a disobedience of the 
organic law and a sacrilege beyond the power of repentance. No wonder 
that agriculture made no advance, and that the sickle of barbarous man 
was unimproved by intelligence. It is less than fifty years ago that the 
old cradle came into general use. Farmers considered it a model of use- 
fulness and a Godsend. It is a remarkable fact that as soon as the 
nobility of labor was generally conceded — only fifty or sixty years ago, 
and in the United States — the direction of invention was changed to that 
channel, and the stimulation to rapid and extensive agriculture revived 
every other pursuit, and led to thousands of contrivances to quickly save 
the crop and safely transport it to the consumer. The application of 
steam to a movable engine was due to the demand for quick transporta- 
tion of farm products. Hence came that wonder, the railroad. As soon 
as labor became no longer ignoble, the rapidity of the invention of farm 
machinery became marvelous. Now the farmer can sit as independent 
as a king (he is the only one truly independent when he has a good farm, 
good habits and is out of debt), and almost see his crops sown and har- 
vested by machinery before his eyes. The farmer boy who has a good 
farm is foolish to leave it and rush ofi" to the city to contract vices that will 
kill him and possibly damn him. " Stick to the farm and it will stick 
to you." 

WILD ANIMALS. 

There was scarcely a family that did not habitually have venison. The 
poorest hunter could occasionally kill a deer, but the old hunters, those who 
did little else but hunt, were in the habit of furnishing such families with 
deer meat. The Beelers were quite prominent in their locality. The 
girls were as fearless as the boys. It is said that two of them on one 
occasion saw a bear in the woods, and while one remained to watch the 
animal the other hurried to the men, who were in the woods near by, to 
apprise them of the discovery and hurry them out to kill Mr. Bruin. 
What the outcome was cannot be stated. One day, a transient man 
named Capp, in the western part of the township, was chopping in the 
woods when he discovered a bear near him. He instantly gave the alarm, 
and dogs were put upon the trail. The bear made lively tracks, running 
through the bushes and tumbling over rail fences that were in the way. 
The dogs soon came up with it, and in a few minutes several men also, 
one of whom fired and wounded the animal. On it went, pursued by 
dogs and men, and soon another shot wounded it again. One of the men 
was so excited that when he fired he missed the bear and wounded one of 
the dogs. The third shot killed the bear, which was divided out in 
the neighborhood for consumption. 



MADISON TOWNSHIP. 161 



The first school in the township was taught in 1823. either in the 
dwelling of Abner Cox or in a vacant log dwelling standing near. The 
first teacher was one of the Beeler girls ; she had a school of eight or 
ten scholars. The second school was taught in the northeastern part of 
the township about 1824, and another soon afterward in the northwestern 
corner. The first schoolhouse was built in the Cox neighborhood in 
about 1827. The first teacher in this house is no longer remembered. 
The second schoolhouse was built south of the gravel road in the western 
part not far from 1830, and about the same time one or two more were 
erected in the township. The first old house, above mentioned, had 
greased paper for windows, and a big fire-place of course. The lumber 
for the desks and seats was obtained at Moon's saw mill in Brown. In 
1840, there were five schools in the township. In 1843, the school law 
came into effect, by which public money was raised by taxation to be 
used in the maintenance of schools. All schools before that, or nearly 
all, had been supported by subscription. In 1852, the foundation of our 
present school system was laid, since which Madison Township has had 
good schools. 

CHURCHES. 

ISo other portion of the county, unless it is Brown Township, has bet- 
ter facilities for religious worship than Madison Township. It has six 
or seven church organizations and five buildings. As early as 1830, the 
Baptists had an organization in the northern part, the leading members 
being William Landers, Andrew McNash, Grimes Dryden, John Dun- 
ham, John Burnam, S. B. Parker. Joshua Cox, Jefferson Jones, John 
Bray, William Pope and others. This church was built in the thirties. 

The Mt. Gilead Christian Church was organized about the same time, 
among the members being Enoch Summers, David McCarty, Samuel B. 
Duree, and some of the McNabbs. The ground for the church, which 
was built late in the thirties, was donated by Thomas McNabb. 

The Siloam Methodist Church was organized in the thirties, among 
the early members being Joel Jessup, Reuben Burcham, Samuel Pfoff, 
Hugh Boyd, Charles Allen, John Inman, John Bingham, J. M. Jackson 
and Aaron Thurman. This church was built early in the forties. Later 
members were James Stokesbury, Abner Jessup, Jesse Baker, William 
Allen, and T. G. Beharrell, pastor. The Centenary Methodist Church 
was of a later date, as was the Mt. Olive Methodist Church. 



162 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 



GREEN TOWNSHIP. 

THE FIRST SETTLEMENT. 

THE second settlement of the county was in Green Township. In the 
spring of 1819, James Stotts, William Offield, Hiram T. Craig, Daniel 
Higgins, Nimrod Stone and two others came from Lawrence County, and 
located farms on a small stream which was named in honor of James 
Stotts. As soon as the farms were staked out, all of the settlers except 
Mr. Stotts started back to Lawrence County to bring out loads of seed- 
corn and wheat, vegetables, provisions, household implements, and to 
drive out hogs, sheep and cattle. Of these seven first settlers of Green 
Township. Craig and Stotts were the only two single men of the party. 
The following is quoted from Mr. Craig's reminiscences of the trip back : 
High water prevented our return as soon as we anticipated, but we 
finally concluded to try the plan of loading our baggage on a two-horse 
wagon, considering it easier on our horses than to load them with such 
heavy packs, as much of our route lay through a dense wilderness, it 
being the same old trace we had first traveled, and the road had to be cut 
so as to admit the passage of a wagon, which made our progress very slow, 
so that the noon of the second day found us still on Little Salt Creek. 
Here, in attempting to cross an insignificant little stream, our wagon stuck 
fast in the mud. Our only chance was to unload the wagon, pry 
it up and make our team haul it out. In doing so, we had to make 
a short turn and unfortunately broke an axletree. Here was a fix, twenty 
miles at least from any shop where repairing could be done. The only 
alternative was to make a new axletree from the green timber of the 
forest. All hands went to work on the part assigned them. Mine was 
to prepare some dinner. I will give the bill of fare. I took my gun, 
and in less than an hour, perhaps, had killed nine fat gray squirrels. I 
dressed them as nicely as any lady could desire, and put them to boil with 
a sufficient slice of fat pork and some salt to give them the proper sea- 
soning. While hunting for the squirrels, I had discovered near the creek 
a bountiful crop of wild onions growing ten or twelve inches high, and 
very tender. These I picked and cleaned, cut them up and put them in 
the pot when the squirrels were done, and succeeded in making a first-class 
pot of soup. This was the dinner, and it was a good one. By the usual 
time of starting next morning, our repairing was completed after a fash- 
ion, and we proceeded on our way. But our newly made axletree caused 
our wagon to run so heavily that we had to divide the load. A sack con- 
taining three bushels of corn seed was committed to my charge and about 
the same amount of corn-meal to Mr. Offield, and we were told to push 
on and not wait for the wagon. We were on horseback, and upon reach- 
ing Big Salt Creek we found a settlement and were told to take the road 
for Bloomington. Nothing of note occurred until we reached Big Indian 
Creek, where we found that White River and its tributaries were on a 



GREEN TOWNSHIP. 163 

bender. Offield could not swim, but finally after a long time I succeeded 
in carrying our loads across the stream on my back, crossing on logs and 
a heap of driftwood that had formed across the creek. We took dinner 
on Mr. Cunningham's land northeast of Martinsville, and in the evening 
reached the settlement on Stott's Creek, where we found everything in 
good shape. 

This extract is quoted from Mr. Craig's writings to illustrate the com- 
mon experience of the early settlers in coming to the new country, and 
in going from place to place after they had become established in their 
new homes. After Mr. Craig had been out a short time, Mr. Ladd, of 
Port Royal, was charged with the murder of a stranger whose corpse was 
found half eaten by wolves and buzzards on White River near the bluffs. 
The prosecution was favored by Mr. Stotts, Mr. Craig and several others 
who were prosecuting witnesses ; but Mr. Ladd was acquitted, and so 
slight was the evidence and so bitter had been the prosecution that Mr. 
Ladd commenced action, either for libel or false imprisonment, and seemed 
so likely to succeed that Mr. Craig returned hurriedly to Kentucky, his 
former home, and Mr. Stotts and others effected a compromise with the 
injured man, and thus the matter was forever dropped. The stranger 
had no doubt been killed by an Indian. 

CONTINUED SETTLEMENT. 

Immediately after this first settlement on Stotts Creek, others began 
to appear and locate in the neighborhood and farther up on the same 
stream and its branches. Early settlers in those times always sought the 
streams, which were the great commercial highways as well as the sources 
of water, water-power and fresh springs. Among the earliest settlers 
were James Stotts, Robert Stotts, Andrew Stotts, H. T. Craig, William 
Ofifield, two or three families of Laughlins, Zachariah Davee, James 
Ennis (who had several large sons), Thomas Stockton, Samuel Speaks 
and his sons Thomas and James, William Perry, Andrew Stevens, John 
Pierce (the cooper), John Pierce (the blacksmith), Elisha Hamden, Thomas 
Irons, Jonathan Williams, James Shields, Abe Hammons, Jacob Hammons, 
Jacob Case, John Dyer, John Marker, Edward Jones, Peter King, Aaron 
Holdman, and a little latter H. W. Brazeale, Henry Harper, Benjamin 
Bryan, Washington Duke, James and Bartholomew Carroll, Daniel 
Drake, Erastus Robinson, H. M. Collins, J. B. Maxwell, H. W. Williams, 
J. S. Wilson, William Lane, Nathan Laughlin, Philip Collins, B. Rob- 
bins, James Williams, Gideon C. Drake, J. M. Frazer, Mahlon Snyder, 
Joseph Sanders, Jacob L. Bromwell, H. B. Greenwood, William Duke, 
John and Anthony Brunnemer, Jacob Grosclose and many others. 

THE POLL TAX PAYERS OF 1842. 

The following is the list in full : Benjamin Bryant, Anthony Brunne- 
mer, Tilford Bailey, Amos Bailey, Allison Bailey, Joseph Bailey, Hiram 
Brock, S. W. Bream, Richard Bream, B. F. Badgley, Clark Badgley, 
Francis Badgley, Nehemiah Bailey, William Cumpton, John Clary, 
Philip Collins, John Caldwell, William Carroll, W. H. Carroll, Ishmael 
Carroll, Isaac Caldwell, John Choat, William Cain, W. Creed, Caleb 
Cobb, Samuel Carroll, G. W. Cain, H. M. Collins, H. B. Childs, J. D. 



164 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

Davis, Caleb Day, George Douglass, George Davis, William Day, Wash- 
ington Duke, William Duke, George Drake, Daniel Drake, James 
Egbert, Josiah Eaton, Archibald Ennis, T. Ennis, Michael Ennis, Joseph 
Elkins, Richard Elkins, Walker Ennis, David Elkins, James Ferren, 
Bart Ferren, Adam Flake, William Franklin, Jack Galloway, J. A. 
Grear, James Grear, David Gregory, Daniel Gardner, Abraham Huff, 
Levi Hall, William Harper, William Hughes, Eb Henderson, Jess Hen- 
derson, Henry Harper, Bolin Harper, Joseph Johnson, Peter Kemper, 
Isaac Knox, William King, Rev. Peter Klinger, Ransom King, Elijah 
Koons, William Lewis, J. T. Laughlin, Thomas Laughlin, J. 0. Laugh- 
lin, Samuel Musser, W H. Mallow, Edward Moon, B. C. Moon, Abra- 
ham McGrew, Thomas Miles, B. Mulligan, Eli Musgrove, Elisha and 
John McGrew, John Moffett, J. M. Oliver, Obediah Perry, William 
Perry, Leonard and N. B. Palmer, John and Nathan Perry, John and 
Henry Price, James Prather, Artemas Pringle, Charles Robinson, Erastue 
Robinson, William and James Robe, George Rule, Charles Richards, 
Anderson and R. H. Scroggins, John and J. E. Skaggs, Thomas Shields, 
Josiah Stewart, Samuel Scott, James Speaks, James Tracy, James Thomp- 
son, James and Jackson Trent, Scipio Sedgwick, Simon Taylor, James, 
Lewis, William, Pleasant and John Williams, Isaac Welch, John Watts, 
W. L. Warman, Arnold Westfall and Jacob Yount. 

MILLING INTERESTS. 

Zachariah Davee owned a small grist mill during the twenties. It 
was located on Stotts Creek, contained a small set of nigger-head buhrs, 
and was propelled by water from a small log dam. In about 1830, the 
mill passed to James Ennis, who conducted it for a few years. This was 
probably the first mill in the township. The Hammons owned a saw mill 
for a short time in early years. The old Hawkins Mill was built thirty- 
five or forty years ago by an enterprising German, who soon afterward 
sold it to Mr. Hawkins. It did good work in its day. After 1838, much 
of the flour was obtained at Free's mammoth grist mill at Waverly. Salt 
was obtained at Jackson's Salt Works in Monroe County, or at Martins- 
ville, Waverly, or at other towns, at $2 per bushel. The corn and pork 
were sold to buyers on the river, who shipped them down to Southern mar- 
kets. People dressed in buckskin, or linsey-woolsey or tow. Clothing, 
shoes, hats, etc., were manufactured at home by the good old mothers. 
They knew how to make the spinning-wheels hum. 

The township was quite well settled by 1840. Almost every section 
of land had its log cabin and its small clearing, where wheat, corn and 
vegetables could be seen growing. 

HUNTING EXPLOITS. 

Eight or ten bears were killed in the township in early years. Zach- 
ariah Davee was a successful bear hunter. He killed twelve or fifteen, but 
not all in Green Township. He owned a large, savage dog that was 
thoroughly trained to the uses of its master, and was an ally upon whom 
the hunter could depend in an emergency. The dog had been pretty 
well used up in encounters with bears, while it was yet young and unsophis- 
ticated, in the embraces of those animals or in the sweeping blows from 



GREEN TOWNSHIP. 165 

their paws, and had resorted to canine sagacity to serve its master in sub- 
sequent encounters. On a hunt it would chase a bear to some rough tree 
selected by the latter animal as one easy to climb, and when the bear had 
gone up about four feet, the dog would sieze it behind, and by tugging 
and bracing itself against the tree would dislodge bruin, and both would come 
tumbling to the ground together. The dog would leap up and scamper off. 
closely pursued by bruin for a few rods, when the latter would return and 
again commence to ascend the tree only to be again pulled down by the 
dog. Sometimes this procedure was repeated several times, or until the 
hunter came up and shot the bear. On one occasion, when Mr. Davee 
was out hunting, he came suddenly upon a bear, but owing to the thick- 
ness of the brush, succeeded only in giving it a bad wound as it shambled 
off. The dog followed the wounded animal a long distance, keeping 
up a barking that guided the hunter in the pursuit, but keeping beyond 
the reach of the bleeding Ursus Americanus. At last the bear became so 
weak from loss of blood that it stopped to rest, but could get none owing 
to the persistent and courageous attacks of the dog. Mr. Davee came up 
and ended the fight by a ball through the bear's head. On still another 
occasion, as Mr. Davee was walking through the woods with his gun on 
his shoulder, he came suddenly within four feet of a large bear that was 
lying behind a log. The animal instantly reared up with an angry 
growl, displaying two rows of gleaming teeth, and reaching out with its 
powerful arms to clasp the startled settler in its embrace, but the latter 
leaped back, cocked his rifle, and ere the bear could touch him, sent a 
ball through its throat. In a few minutes the animal was dead. Had the 
rifle missed fire, it would have fared hard with the hunter. On still 
another occasion, Mr. Davee shot and instantly killed a bear which was 
passing near his cabin. The flesh was divided out among the neighbors. 
William Hughes was tardy in his demands and was forced to content him- 
self with a pair of the legs. Bear meat is much like pork. It is said that 
Tilford Bailey killed a bear in early years. He saw it in the woods, and 
though much scared and nervous, fired and killed it. Joseph Doty also 
killed one under about the same circumstances. Several others killed 
bears in the township. 

THE WOUNDED DEER. 

Mr. Davee had his dog so trained that the dumb brute seemed almost 
capable of reason. One day the hunter shot and wounded a deer, which 
ran off through the woods at full speed. Away went the dog in pursuit, 
followed as fast as possible by its master. Drops of blood could be seen 
upon the leaves, showing that the deer had been badly hurt. After some 
time the dog returned, skulking along to its master, which act was so 
unusual that Mr. Davis took his ramrod and gave the animal a sound 
thrashing, and again ordered it on in pursuit of the deer. Away it went 
again, fiercer than ever, as if to make good the loss of its master's confi- 
dence. The hunter, thinking that the dog would not have come back 
unless the deer was so strong as to have gotten entirely away, concluded 
to give up the chase and return to his cabin, which he accordingly did. 
Hours elapsed and the dog did not return. At last the hunter took his 
gun, resumed the trail, and after several hours of rapid walking came 



166 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

upon a sight that made him sick. The tall weeds, grass and bushes over 
a quarter of an acre were torn to pieces and beaten flat, and near the 
center lay the wounded deer, dead, and terribly torn, and near it was the 
old dog, covered with blood and bruised, and torn almost in pieces by the 
sharp hoofs and antlers of the desperate deer. The noble animal could 
scarcely move, yet it wagged its tail at the sound of its master's voice, 
and looked up for praise over the successful issue of the terrible struggle. 
The faithful creature was taken home where its wounds were caretully 
dressed, but the best care could not restore the mutilated limbs and 
broken bones. The dog lived a year or more, but scarcely ever left the 
yard. 

THE DELAWARES. 

Mr. Davee had an extended experience of the Indian character. 
He was not afraid of them and liked to be with them for the sport they 
afforded him. He could beat any of them shooting at a mark, and won 
much of their property in that manner. The Indians, except a few small 
roving bands, had been removed a short time before he came to the town- 
ship. One day five or six of them, including two or three squaws, 
camped on the creek near his cabin, whereupon he went over to make 
their acquaintance. They seemed glad to see him, and, after a short 
time, all shot at a mark, and of course the white man beat them. The 
Indians then proposed to jump, and one of them suggested that they 
should see which could jump farthest over a large log-heap fire that was 
burning near. One or two including Mr. Davee made the jump success- 
fully, and finally a very boastful young fellow with many a flourish 
started to perform the same feat. He made a short dash, but just as he 
was rising on the jump Mr. Davee tripped him, and the half-naked fellow 
pitched heels over head into the log-heap fire. He howled dreadfully, 
and made the fire and ashes fly. and no wonder. He was out in a flash, 
badly burned, exclaiming ! " Heap bad shimokaman ; heap bad ! " The 
reader will probably agree with him, but Mr. Davee and the other Indi- 
ans laughed heartily at his expense. 

A MYSTERIOUS DEATH. 

A few years ago, John Radcliff went out to his barn-yard one morning 
with his little girl to do the milking. The last the girl saw of her father 
he was standing with his back against the barn. At noon, Mrs. Radcliff 
made inquiries for him, and sent a child out to find him at the barn, but 
his whereabouts were not discovered. In the evening he was found near 
the barn, dead, and very much mangled by the hogs. The discovery 
created great excitement in the neighborhood, and led to the arrest of a 
young man who was soon acquitted. On the day of the death, two gen- 
tlemen passing by the house saw Mr. Radcliff talking with a stranger at 
the barn. Who this man was could not be ascertained. Whether Mr. 
Radcliff was murdered or whether he had a fit will probably remain a 
mystery to the end of time. 

EDUCATIONAL INTERESTS. 

The first school in the township was taught on Stotts Creek in 1820, 
by the old settler, Hiram T. Craig. The second and third were taught 



GREEN TOWNSHIP. 167 

in the same neighborhood, all being very rude, and being taught in pri- 
vate cabins. Reading was done mostly out of the Testament ; writing 
was done with a goose quill sharpened or "mended " by the teacher, and 
a little "ciphering" was done on a rude blackboard. Mr. Collins suc- 
ceeded Mr. Craig. Late in the twenties, other schools were started far- 
ther up the creek. The first schoolhouse was built in the Stotts settle- 
ment in about 1827, and was a rough log structure built in one day by a 
few men who were anxious to have their few children educated. In 1880, 
if reports are reliable, there were only three log schoolhouses in the town- 
ship, and one of those was a deserted dwelling. In 1840, there were five 
or six, but the standard of education was yet at a very low ebb. The 
teachers were paid by subscription, which was usually $1.50 for each 
scholar for the term of three months. The teacher would have from eight 
to fifteen scholars, so it is easy to figure what the "master's " compensa- 
tion would be. Whoever saw a wealthy school teacher ? Such a creature 
is an invisible quantity even to this day. Take, then, the pedagogue of 
ye olden time, who was forced by the fiat of events to " board around " at 
the log cabins, where fat bacon and corn bread were considered delicacies 
fit for the gods, and who can imagine a more desolate prospect ? This 
was repeated scores of times in Green Township. In 1852, the common 
school law came into existence, and the progress of education since then 
has been remarkable. Neat frame houses were erected soon after the pas- 
sage of the law, and a permanent fund for the payment of the teacher and 
the support of the school changed the intellectual bill of fare into all the 
higher branches. Now there are ten fine country schoolhouses where 
many of the teachers employed are qualified to instruct in analysis of the 
English sentence, natural philosophy, physical geography, botany, elocu- 
tion, rhetoric, ornamental penmanship, etc., etc. Green Township has 
good schools. 

RELIGIOUS INTERESTS. 

Late in the thirties, a small class of the Church of Christ was organ- 
ized on Section 15, the leading members being Adam Flake, Benjamin 
Bryan, Peter Comper, Eli Musgrove and their families and others. Adam 
Flake agreed to donate one acre of ground for a church and cemetery. 
Whether a building was erected cannot be learned. The class lived many 
years, and numbered as high as forty or fifty members. In about 1840, 
the Methodists, near the residence of Levi Rinker, organized a class, among 
the members being the families of Robert C. Stotts, Levi Rinker, Simeon 
Ely, F. A. Harryman, William Stewart, Daniel Demott, George Rinker, 
John Holsapple, William Cain, James Epperson and James Laughlin. 
The pastor in 1844 was Daniel Demott, and in 1846 Henry S. Dane. 
The class belonged to the Mooresville Circuit. Several early classes were 
organized in schoolhouses. Now there are four churches in the township — 
Mount Olive, Methodist, in the northwestern part ; Union Chapel, Meth- 
odist, two miles east of Cope ; Bethel, Methodist, in the eastern part, and 
Centennial Union Church, a mile northeast of Cope. The township has 
excellent opportunity for Christian worship, and the citizens are sober, 
moral and industrious. 

CLEVELAND. 

In the month of April, 1838, Ezekiel St. John employed a surveyor 



lt)8 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

and laid out a village of thirty-four lots and eight large outlota on the 
northeast quarter of the northeast quarter of Section 8, Township 12 
north, Range 2 east, the same being on the bank of Stotts Creek, and 
within about half a mile of its mouth. A few houses were built, and some 
little improvement was made, but the village soon died, without hope of 
resurrection. 

VILLAGE OF COPE. 

This was started up on Section 28 many years ago. James Crocker 
and Henson Martin opened the first store there in a log cabin. They 
were succeeded by Wesley Knight. Isaac B. Wilson was next, and Lem- 
uel Guthridge next. A post office has been established there in later 
years. Few villages can cope with Cope in limitation and negation. 



BAKER TOWNSHIP. 



THE EVILSIZER FAMILY. 

THE earliest settlement of Baker Township is enshrouded in mystery. 
It is certain that white families lived therein as early as 1820, and 
possibly in 1819. A family named Evilsizer was living there on the old 
Thomas Hodges farm when the first permanent residents arrived, but 
how long they had been there cannot be learned, even if it be known by 
any one now living in the township or county. It is believed by some 
that this family lived there before the cession treaty of 1818, but this 
must be regarded with some grains of doubt. The family consisted of 
the father, mother, two or three sons and a daughter or two. They were 
professional pioneers, and preferred to live in the woods remote from the 
settlements. The father and the boys were skillful hunters and trappers, 
and several times a year visited the older settlements in the southern part 
of the State to sell their furs or exchange them for ammunition, traps, 
weapons, tobacco, or some article of clothing for the women. The men 
dressed almost wholly in deer or raccoon skins, and spent their time in 
hunting and trapping, in which they were very expert. As a matter of 
fact, much that is said of them rests largely on tradition, as they left for 
remote localities about the time the permanent settlers began to arrive. 
They had a garden, consisting of about half or three-quarters of an acre, 
which was cultivated by the women, as the men were above that sort of 
degradation. Accounts vary as to the intelligence of the family. It is 
quite certain, however, that their intellectual attainments were not of the 
highest order. They were guilty of sufficient acuteness to be able to 
hunt and cook, but they would not have cut a remarkably high figure, 
either socially or mentally, in the settled communities of that day. Ac- 
cording to tradition, the men on one occasion had considerable difficulty 
with a band of four or five Indians that stopped at their cabin. The 
trouble arose over a trade of furs on the part of the Indians for ammu- 
nition and trinkets on the part of the whites. Arms were drawn, wounds 
were given, but the difficulty was adjusted before anything serious result- 



BAKER TOWNSHIP. 169 

ed. It is said that this family killed many bears in various portions of 
Morgan County. Within two or three years they left the township, go- 
ing, no one knows whither, but certainly out into the wilderness. 

PERMANENT SETTLERS. 

The first tract of land was purchased on Section 28, on the 8th of 
November, 1820, by Thomas Hodges, who did not reside in the township 
until years afterward. William Burton bought land on Section 32 in 
1823. The Burtons afterward became prominent citizens. George W. 
Baker came in late in the twenties, with a retinue of relatives, that was 
afterward considerably enlarged. Perhaps himself and relatives did more 
for Baker Township than any other family. The township took its name 
from this family. They were among its most prominent and respected 
citizens. 

The Lafavers came in soon after 1830, and soon exerted a wide influ- 
ence in township affairs. The family of John Hodges was also very 
prominent. 

The township was mainly settled in the thirties, although a few fami- 
lies were residents before. Among those who entered land were James 
Kerley, William Teag, George W. Baker, John Buckner, Jonathan Man- 
ley, Frederick Buckhart, W. T. Clark, Page Henslow, John Manley, 
Richard Long, Jackson Long, Elisha Long, Elijah D. Long, John 
Hodges, Jr., Thomas Hodges, Thomas Mitchell, James R. Elston, John 
Burton, Isaac Lafaver, Josiah Goodwin, Robert Finchum, Ivison Ellis, 
David Low, Josiah Vandeventer, John Muncey, Stephen Collier, William 
Burton, Jacob Evans, Presley Johnson, P. Smith, Chris Shultz, J. B. 
Gibson, William Goodwin, Hiram McKinney, John Burnett and others. 

THE POLL TAX PAYERS OF 1842. 

Barnard Arnold, Winard Buskirk, Jesse Belzer, Daniel Beals, Felix 
Belzer, John W. Burton, Benjamin Campbell, Joseph Childers, John 
Campbell, Caleb Collier, Jacob Evans, Robert Finiham, William Gregs- 
ton, James Goodwin, James Gregston, Thomas L. Hicks, Thompson 
Harden, John Hodges, Zachariah Haller, Samuel Harryman, Joseph 
Kenley, Jonathan Kegley, Daniel Lafaver, Jacob Lafaver, Isaac 
Lafaver, Andrew H. Low, John McCollister, John E. Myers, Jacob 
Meyers. James Martin, John G. Manley, John Martin, Joshua Muncey, 
David T. Neal, Dempsey Neal, L. iM. R. Pumphrey, William W. Paul, 
Abraham Stutesman, Phlegman Smith, Daniel Weathers, Amos H. Vande- 
venter. 

The old Pumphrey Grist Mill on White River was an important 
feature in early times. The store which was started there about 1839 
was continued several years. 

EDUCATION. 

Schools were not started in this township until comparatively late. 
The settlement was slow, and the families had something else to think 
about than education. Too many parents in those days thought as the 
Spanish proverb directs : 

" Follow your father, my son, 
And do as your father has done." 



170 HISTORY OF MORGAN COUNTY. 

They reasoned that their children ought to do as well in life as they 
had done, which was to pass from the cradle to the grave with only "'edi- 
cation " enough to read a little, write a little and cipher a little. A man 
who had " larnin' " enough to attack and attempt to analyze an English 
sentence was regarded a prodigy. 

" And still the wonder grew 
That one small head should carry all he knew." 

The first school in the township, so far as can be learned, was 
taught in about the year 1838, on Section 28. The schoolhouse was 
of round logs, a wide fire-place filled the dark room with a ruddy glow, 
and in one end was a rude table, a sacred piece of furniture, belong- 
ing exclusively to the teacher, from which oracles as wise, no doubt, 
as those of Solomon were revealed to the wondering children. The second 
school was started about the same time on Section 31 or 32. These 
were the only established schools for several years, but along in the forties, 
when the good effects of the school law of 1843 began to be felt, other 
terms were taught in the northeast corner and in the southeast corner. 
The township in 1850 had three established schools, and a neighborhood 
or two where terms were taught semi-occasionally in buildings that had 
been built for dwellings and which were fitted up specially for the pur- 
pose. The school system of Baker Township, and the excellence of the 
instruction furnished, are not excelled by any other country township in 
the county. 

FACILITIES FOR WORSHIP. 

Baker Township has been well supplied since the earliest settlement 
with abundant opportunity for Christian worship. The Mount Zion 
Methodist Church, on the line between Sections 31 and 32, was organized 
about 1840 at the residence of Jacob Lafaver. The first class did not 
exceed ten members. Among the earliest families belonging were those 
of Jacob Lafaver, Isaac Lafaver, William D. Payne, Joshua Jones, Alfred 
Abel, John Myers. Isom Guy, Andrew Smith and others. Wesley Dorsey 
organized the class and was the first preacher in charge. Henry S. Dane 
succeeded him. The church was built in the fifties. This class is yet 
in existence. The two other churches — a Methodist and a Baptist — 
were organized later, and are in flourishing condition for country churches. 
The citizens of the township generally are moral and industrious. The 
township is next to the smallest in the county. During the early stages 
of the last war, it furnished more men in proportion to population than 
any other township in the county. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP AND MARTINSVILLE. 

GEORGE A. ADAMS, attorney and Representative, is a native of 
Morgan County, Ind., and was born June 4, 1849. The county which 
gave him birth has made him a home. In his youth, after attending the 
common schools of the county, he went to the State University atBloom- 
ington, Ind., for two years, and from which he graduated in the profes- 
sion of law in 1872. He was Principal of the High Schools of Morgan- 
town one year, after which, in April, 1873, he engaged in the practice of 
his profession, and has continued the same since that time. December 
28, 1876, he married, at Brazil, Clay County, Miss Mattie Bennett, 
which union has given birth to two children — an infant and Roy B. (de- 
ceased). Mr. Adams is a Republican, and was sent to the Legislature, 
as a Representative of Morgan County in November, 1882. He is a mem- 
ber of the venerable Masonic fraternity, and also of the Beta 7'heta Pi 
— a college organization — and of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. 
Adams is the possessor of a line property in Martinsville, and is a much 
esteemed citizen. 

WILLIAM R. ASHER is a native of Johnson County, Ind., and was 
born on the 30th of November, 1861. When he had reached the age of 
eight years, he was removed by his parents to this town, where he was 
reared, attended and graduated from the Martinsville High School, and 
afterward became a student of the State University in September, 1878, 
in a course of four years' study. In the month of March, 1883, he en- 
tered into the oratorical contest, with four contestants, for the privilege 
of representing the University in the State contest, and which privilege 
he won; consequently, he represented the University of Indiana in the 
State oratorical exhibition, which took place at Indianapolis April 17, 
1883, in which effort he was successful, coming out number one from a 
list of six, each representing a college, and also winniog the prize, $50. 
This success at the State capital bestowed upon him the right of contend- 
ing in the inter- State contest of oratory, held at Minneapolis May 2, 
1883, from which engagement he came forth third in honor. 

J. G. BAIN, editor Martinsville Republican, and Postmaster, was 
born in Jefferson Township, Morgan County, on April 29, 1844, and is 
the son of John and Bridget (Gallagher) Bain, early settlers of Jefferson 
Tovraship. Our subject passed his early life on a farm and attending a 
district school until he was seventeen years of age, when he enlisted in 
Company C, Thirty-third Indiana Infantry, in August, 1861, for three 
years and participated in every march, battle and skirmish which the 



172 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

regiment was in. Near the close of the three years' term, the regiment 
"veteranized." During the Atlanta campaign, the regiment elected offi- 
cers, and was under the fire of the enemy while balloting, and one man 
killed. Mr. Bain was elected Second Lieutenant, and remained with his 
command until the close of the war, having been mustered out August 
20, 1865, after four years' service. Some of the battles and skirmishes 
in which the regiment was engaged are as follows: Wildcat, Cumberland 
Gap, Thompson's Station, Tenn. (where the entire brigade was captured 
and confined in Libby Prison two months), Eesaca, Cassville, Burnt 
Hickory, Golgotha Church, Pumpkin Vine, Peach Tree Creek, the Atlanta 
campaign, Sherman's ''march to the sea," and through the Carolinas, 
being in the battles of Averysboro and Benton ville; thence to Raleigh, 
on to Richmond, and in the "grand review" at Washington; thence 
to Louisville, Ky., where the regiment was mustered out. After his 
return home, our subject attended Mooresville Seminary six months, then 
Earlham College, Richmond, Ind., three years, and then the State Uni- 
versity at Bloomington, graduating from that institution in the law 
course in the spring of 1870, after which he came to Martinsville and 
engaged in the practice of law. In August, 1870, he became connected 
with the Republican, which sprang into existence that year, and was 
made its managing editor. In December, 1870, with H. A. Smock, he 
purchased the paper, and continued its publication for four years. Since 
September, 1874, Mr. Bain has been the sole proprietor. He has added 
to and improved the paper, now using a Campbell steam press, with a 
circulation of 1,700. In October, 1872, Mr. Bain was made Postmaster 
of Martinsville, and has held the office ever since. He has always been 
an active, influential politician in the Republican party, and is ranked 
among the energetic and progressive citizens, and as one of the repre- 
sentative men of Southern Indiana. In February, 1876, he was married 
to Sallie Johnson; a native of Morgan County, and daughter of Dr. J. 
J, Johnson. Four children have been born to them — Mary E,, Katie R., 
Jarvis J. and Dora I. Mr. Bain is a consistent member of the Presbyte- 
rian Church, and his wife of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He is 
also a member of the Masonic fraternity, and of the G. A. R. Since 
Mr. Bain has been Postmaster, the office has increased its receipts three- 
fold; and it is at present one of the best appointed and conducted post 
offices of any town of its size in the State. 

JAMES P. BALDWIN, second son in a family of eight children, 
was born March 17, 1849, in Jennings County, Ind. His parents, James 
M. and Sarah (Thomas), natives of Indiana, were married in Jennings 
County, where they settled, remaining until 1861, the father following 
merchandising. Removing thence to Martinsville, he went into the mill- 
ing business, and three years later, his mill being destroyed by fire, he 
retired from business, and is at present one of Martinsville's most influ- 
ential citizens. The subject of this sketch was reared and educated in 
Martinsville. When sixteen years of age, he was employed as brake- 
man on the Y. F. & M. R. R., where he remained for six months, then 
for six months on the I, & V. R. R. as fireman, and afterward on the 
main line of the Indianapolis & St. Louis Railroad as fireman between 
La Fayette, Ind., and Cincinnati, Ohio, for some time. He was then 
given an engine, working in this capacity until 1872, after which he 
worked for one year on the F. F. & M. R. R. again. In 1873, he 
entered the employ of Johnson & Long, druggists, of Martinsville, for a 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP AND MARTINSVILLE. 173 

short time, afterward forming a partnership with J. H. Hart in the same 
business, and at present is so engaged doing a lucrative business. He is 
a member of the I. O. O. F., and is an active member in the Republican 
party. November 13, 1872, he was married to Maryetta K. Johnson, 
daughter of Dr. J J. Johnson, one of the leading citizens of Martins- 
ville. They had four children, none of whom are living. Mr. Baldwin 
and wife are identified with the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

QUINCY A. BLANKENSHIP, attorney at law, is a native of this 
county, born November 15, 1851. He was reared in the locality of his 
birth, attended the schools and high school of Martinsville, also the 
Northwestern at Indianapolis. He began farming in 1874; now owns 
200 acres in Ray Township, and is a partner with his brother in farming 
and stock-dealing; they handle about 100 head of cattle, each year. In 
1879, he went into the County Clerk's office as Deputy, at which he 
served four years. Afterward he began the study of law, was admitted 
to practice February, 1883, and April 17 of that year he married Miss 
Fannie Miller. The father of our subject. Perry M. Blankenship, was 
born in Jennings County, Ind., December 11, 1811. His parents died 
when he was quite young, and he was bound to Mr. John B. New, and 
learned the trade of cabinet-making, at which he worked several yeai-s,and 
while yet a young man removed to this county. 

JOHN BOTH WELL was born in County Moneghan, Ireland, March 
17, 1803, and is a son of Charles and Mary Bothwell, also natives of 
County Moneghan, Ireland. The father of our subject, John Bothwell, 
Sr. , was a native of Ireland, where he married and died, having reared 
five children — James, David, Mary, Margaret and Charles. Charles 
Bothwell, while in Ireland, married Mary Gordon; emigrated in 1809 to 
America, and settled in Pennsylvania, where he closed his life. He was 
the parent of the following: Samuel, William, Ann J. and John. Our 
subject, John Bothwell, married, January 14, 1832, Miss Nancy, daugh- 
ter of John and Elizabeth Loraign, The following spring Mr. Bothwell 
moved to Montgomery County, Penn., and in 1838 to Morgan County, 
Ind., when he settled in this township, which has since been his home. 
Mrs. Bothwell died April, 1856, and some time after Mr. Bothwell 
wedded Mrs. Weathers, widow of Richard Weathers, who died Feb- 
ruary 1, 1883. Mr. Bothwell has been father to the following children: 
Samuel, Anna, Mary, David, John, Hugh, Sarah, James, Ann J., Isabel, 
Martha and Margaret. 

DAVID BOTHWELL is a native of Morgan County, Ind. , was born 
October 12, 1841, and is one of the twelve children composing the fam- 
ily of John and Nancy Bothwell. He obtained the rudiments of an ed- 
ucation from the district schools; afterward fitted himself for the duties 
of a teacher, and has taught thirteen consecutive terms of school suc- 
cessfully in this county. February 28, 1883, he married Mary E., 
daughter of W^illiam M. and Mary C. Duckworth, of this county. Miss 
Duckworth was born in this county March 23, 1857. After marriage, Mr. 
Bothwell occupied and managed the farm on which he now lives. It 
comprises 215 acres, and is well cultivated and improved. Mr. and Mrs. 
Bothwell are highly respected among their neighbors. 

FRANK O. BRAKE, native of Ohio, was born in Licking County Octo- 
ber 10, 1853. His parents, Samuel and Sarah (Moore) Brake, were mar- 
ried in Ohio, their native place, in 1841, where they located, and the 
father was stationed as a United Brethren minister. In 1863, they re- 



174 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

moved thence to Union County, and settled on a farm, where they re- 
mained for two years; then went into the mercantile business in Frank- 
fort. In 1878, he sold his stock of goods, and was then in Shelby 
County for four years. Early in 1883, he embarked in the insurance 
business, and at piesent is so engaged. On December 23, 1877, his 
mother died. Subject is third son and child in a family of four chil- 
dren, and was reared and educated in his native couaty. When seven- 
teen years of age, he began teaching school in Ohio. He continued 
teaching for live years, and in March, 1875, he entered the office of Dr. 
Levi Stuck, a dentist of Bryan, Ohio, remaining with him for one year. 
He then went with Dr. Myers, of Defiance, Ohio, remaining for five years, 
meanwhile attending the Ohio Dental College at Cincinnati, where he 
graduated in March, 1880. In 1881, he came to Martinsville, where he 
has a lucrative practice. Mr. Brake is a member of the A., F. & A. M., 
Martinsville Lodge, No. 74; of the American Legion of Honor, Fort De- 
fiance, Lodge, No. 497. In politics, ho is a Kepublican. On September 
26, 1877, he was married to Josephine Winfield, daughter of John Win- 
field of Ohio. By this union there is one child, Edith Harlan. Both 
himseJf and wife are members ol the Cumberland Presbyterian Church. 

ELLIOTT F. BRANCH, Treasurer of Morgan County, Ind., is a na- 
tive of Johnson County, and was born April 16, 1845. He was reared in 
the county in which he first saw the world's light, with fair facilities for 
education, and in 1866 commenced the grain trade at Martinsville, and 
now continues the same in partnership with his brother, under the firm 
title of Branch & Bro. ; they own the Martinsville FJouring Mills, and 
are doing a large business, over $250,000 annually. Mr. Branch shipped 
the first carload out of the town on the new railroad. He is owner of 
320 acres in Johnson County, the same number three miles east of this 
place, and his wife also has a like quantity near the town. From 1865 
to 1878, he was engaged in merchandising and the stave business, in 
connection with milling and farming. May 13, 1868, he married Miss 
Alice Pai-ks, daughter of P. M. Parks, which union has been graced by 
four children — Olive, Leafy, Emmett Forest and Frank Oak. Mr. Branch 
is a stanch Eepublican, and was elected County Treasurer in 1878. He 
is a member of the Masonic fraternity and of the State committee for this 
Congressional district. 

ROBERT H. BRANCH was born in Johnson County, Ind., on April 
7, 1852. A sketch of parents' life appears elsewhere in this work. He 
was fourth son and ninth child in a family of twelve children, and was 
reared in his native county. When eighteen years of age, he began work- 
ing on his father's farm, which he continued to do for two years. He 
then came to Martinsville, and was employed by his brother, E. F. Branch, 
in the grain business, with whom he continued until January, 1874. At 
this time he became a partner in the firm, and continued so for three 
years, when his brother sold his interest to D. D. Cramer. Three years 
later, the firm was dissolved, R. H. Branch and D. D. Cramer selling their 
interests. Our subject then purchased a half interest in the flouring mills 
and elevator, which was destroyed by fire on June 22, 1883, the loss being 
about $26,000. An elevator, the capacity of which is 125,000 bushels, 
has since been built, in place of the one destroyed, and business was re- 
sumed on December 1, 1883, which most undoubtedly will prove as great 
a success as formerly. Mr. Branch is a member of the A. F. & A. M. 
He is also an active member and worker in the Chi'istian Church. Politi- 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP AND MARTINSVILLE. 175 

cally he is a Kepublican, and quite influential in this party. He is liberal 
as a citizen, and highly respected by all who know him. 

H. E. BRANCH is the eldest son and child in a family of two chil- 
dren, born January 12, 1855, in Franklin, Johnson County, Ind. His 
parents were John W. and Louisa (Alexander) Branch, natives of Ken- 
tucky and Indiana respectively. They were married in Gosport, Ind., 
October 5, 1853, and then settled in Franklin, remaining until 1858, 
when they moved to Gosport, where they I'emained until 1866. He was 
appointed Deputy Collector, and moved to Terre Haute, remaining until 
1878, when they moved to Martinsville and engaged in the stave trade, 
and at present reside in Indianapolis. The subject was reared in Frank- 
lin, Gosport and Terre Haute, in the latter place of which he received 
a good education in the graded schools. In September, 1877, he came 
to Martinsville, and took the position of book-keeper for E. F. Branch & 
Bro., and is so engaged at present. On February 12, 1878, he married 
Sarah A. Comer, daughter of Mathew Comer, a pioneer of Mooresville. 
By this union there were two children. Mr. Branch is a member of the 
K. of P. He is an active member of the Republican party, and highly 
esteemed in the community in which he lives. He is a member of the 
Campbellite Church. During the years 1872, 1873, 1874, 1875, he was 
telegraph operator in Terre Haute. 

MRS. MARTHA A. BROUGHTON (widow of John Broughton), 
is a native of Botetourt County, Va., and was born May 9, 1837, 
the daughter of Jacob and Nancy Echolds, both natives of Virginia, 
where they married. They afterward moved to Kentucky; thence to 
Madison County, Ind. ; thence to Johnson, and thence to Morgan County. 
Their family consisted of Jeremiah, Martha A., Nancy J., William, 
Jennie, Eliza, Anna and Joseph. In Johnson County, Ind., our subject 
married James Childs, and they moved to Effingham County, 111., in 
which locality Mr. Childs died. In 1852, Mrs. Childs returned to John- 
son County, Ind., and was there wedded to Thomas Stout, with whom, 
in 1858, she moved to this county, where he died in 1872; finally she 
wedded John Broughton, who left the world in 1879. Mrs. Broughton 
has been the mother of eight children, as follows: By Mr. Childs, two. 
Roan H. and an infant deceased; and by Mr. Stout, six — Charlie T., 
Albert L., Nancy A., William W., Hattie F. and Joseph H. Mrs. Brough- 
ton is an exemplary and highly esteemed lady. 

COL. JAMES E. BURTON was born in Monroe County, Ind., Septem- 
ber, 23, 1824, is a son of John and Nancy (Wishard) Burton, the former a 
native of Virginia, born 1784; the latter, a native of Delaware, born 
1782, who, after their marriage about 1819, emigrated to Monroe County, 
Ind., where Mr. Burton built a mill and also engaged in farming. He 
was a soldier of the war of 1812, and was the owner of more than 1,000 
acres at his death in 1860; his wife survived him sixteen years. Their 
family was Susan L., Jesse M., Henry W,, Elizabeth J., John W., 
Sytha A., Martha L., Josiah P. and James E. The grandfather of our 
subject, Josiah Burton, was a native of England, who first located near 
Philadelphia, Penn., then moved to Virginia, then to Kentucky, and 
about 1826 to Morgan County, Ind., where he closed his life. He had 
been twice married and the father of ten children. James E. Burton was 
married March 23, 1848, to Miss Cynthia A., daughter of James V. and 
Maria Buskirk, and born in Monroe County January 31, 1830. They 
have had three children — David P., John M. (deceased) and James S. 



176 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

Soon aftftr marriage, Mr. Burton moved to and remained in Morgan 
County. In 1861, he enlisted in Company H, Thirty-third Indiana 
Volunteer Infantry, of which he became Captain and served three 
years. He was wounded in the thigh June 22, 1864, and in Septem- 
ber was promoted Colonel, which he held until mustered out, August, 
1865. Mr. Burton has been Justice of the Peace, and is a member of the 
Masonic order and of the M. E. Church. He resides upon his own farm 
of 249 acres. 

PATKICK CAIN is a native of Ireland; was born January, 7, 1829, 
and is one of the four children born to Thomas and Katie Cain, both of 
whom were natives of Ireland. In 1846, Patrick Cain emigrated from 
Ireland to Kentucky, and in the autumn of that year moved to Clark 
County, Ind., and subsequently to Morgan County, and settled in Wash- 
ington Township, where he has since made a home, and is the owner of 
480 acres of fine land, and also where he married Ellen Murkenroy, which 
union has resulted in the births of seven children — Francis T., Edward 
I., William, Patrick H., Joseph, Mary and Rosie. Mr. and Mrs. Cain 
are highly esteemed members of their community, and are communicants 
of the Catholic Church. 

EDWIN V/. CALLIS was born in Flemington, Hunterdon County, 
N. J., on January 17, 1827. His parents were natives of that State. He 
attended school until he was about thirteen years of age, when he was ap- 
prenticed to the printing business in the office of the Hunterdon (N. J.) 
Democrat. He had a natural inclination and taste for that business, and 
served an apprenticeship of five years. After that he worked in various 
cities and towns, in New Jersey and Pennsylvania, until the year 1847, 
when he purchased a half interest in the Mt. Holly (N. J.) Herald, a 
Democratic paper, and took the editorial control of that paper until 1851, 
when he came to the conclusion that he would like to master the " art 
preservative of all arts " in its various details. Then he sold his interest 
in the Herald, and removed to Philadelphia, Penn., where he worked in 
the leading book, job and newspaper offices, and edited and published a 
literary and pictorial paper called the Family Casket. He remained in 
that city until 1855, when he came West, to Martinsville, Ind., and 
bought the Morgan County Gazette, as the paper was then called. It was 
the first Republican paper published in Morgan County, and continued 
in that faith until 1870, when local differences arose, and the editor and 
paper filed into the Democratic party — the party to which Mr. Callis orig- 
inally belonged. It has been thoroughly Democratic ever since, under 
his editorial control, and has done efficient and faithful service for the 
Democratic cause. Mr. Callis is a natural and thorough newspaper man, 
from editor to pressman, and stands at the head of his profession wherever 
known. He has a wife and six children. The latter, four girls and two 
boys, range in age from fourteen to thirty years, and were all brought up 
at the " case. " 

WILLIAM P. CLARK is a native of Morgan County, Ind. , born 
August 23, 1835, and is the fourth of the seven children of John and 
Isabella (Major) Clark, both born in Indiana and in the same year, 1810. 
Soon after their marriage, they moved to Tippecanoe County, and thence 
to Morgan County, settling in this township, where Mr. Clark died in 
1844. Mrs. Clark subsequently married William H. Craig, and died in 
1881, by the latter marriage becoming the mother of three children. 
William P. Clark married, February 12, 1857, Miss Keziah, daughter of 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP AND MARTINSVILLE. 177 

John and Sarah Eudicel. Mrs. Clark died May 17, 1863, and May 
17, 1S64, he married Alzina H., daughter of Lewis and Hannah War- 
ren. Soon after this marriage, Mr. Clark moved to Martinsville, and in 
1872 purchased the Martinsville Flouring Mills, in which business of 
milling he was engaged for five years. In June, 1883, lie removed to 
the farm on which he now lives. Mr. Clark has been the father of five 
children, two by his first wife, Noah J. (deceased) and Minnie (deceased), 
aud three by his second wife — Lulu, Gettie and John W. 

JOHN N. COBB is a native of Morgan County, Ind., born August 
30, 1860, and is descended from Van B. and Harriet A. (Nutter) Cobb, 
natives respectively of Kentucky and Indiana. They were married, 
September 20, 1859, in this county, where Mrs. Cobb died October 21, 
1860, after which our subject was taken by his grandfather, John Nutter, 
to rear, with whom he remained until 1881. July 30, 1882, he mar- 
ried Annettie, daughter of A. J. and Perlina (Dyer) Lafary, of Martins- 
ville, and born in this county March 20, 1859. Mr. Cobb is a very much 
esteemed and promising young man and a member of the Knights of 
Pythias. He and wife are parents of one son — William A. 

COFFEY & LIVINGSTON. Walter S. Coffey, senior partner of 
this firm, is the fifth child of Wiley and Harriet (McDonald) Coffey, na- 
tives of Indiana. He was born six miles southeast of Spencer, Owen 
County, Ind., May 16, 1858. His parents were married in Owen County, 
and located on a farm in Clay Township in that county, where the father 
died in 1879, leaving his widow with several small children, which she 
has reared. She is now living on the old farm, hale and hearty. 
Walter S. Coffey was reared on the home farm in Owen County, where 
he received an ediication in the district schools of the neighborhood. 
By persistent effort and close application, he attained a proficiency in 
music seldom excelled. When twenty- one years of age, he was employed 
by F. G. White, the well known manager and actor, as leader of his 
orchestra, and for three years traveled with him. In July, 1883, he 
formed a partnership with W. N. Livingston in the grocery business in 
Mai'tinsville, and they are at present doing a large, lucrative business. 
Mr. Coffey is a member of the Christian Church, in good standing, and 
an active and influential one in upholding its principles. In politics, he 
is liberal. 

William N. Livingston was born in Clay Township, Owen Co., 
Ind., August 21, 1860. His parents, Nathan F. and Elizabeth 
(Neill) Livingston, natives of Virginia and Indiana respectively, were 
married in Greene County, Ind., in 1857, and located on a farm, 
where they remained for a number of years, and thence came to Owen 
County. They then settled in White Hall, Clay Township, where they 
sold dry goods for some time. At present they reside nine miles south- 
east of Spencer, on a farm in Clay Township. William N. Livingston 
is the second son and third child in family, and was reared and educated 
in his native township. When nineteen years of age, he was employed 
by F. G. White as a member of his band and orchestra. He traveled 
with him for three years. In July, 1883, Mr. Livingston went into the 
grocery business, in partnership with W. S. Coffey, in Martinsville, where 
at present they are doing a successful business. In October, 1882, he was 
married to Ruth Coffey, daughter of Wiley and Harriet Coffey, natives 
of Indiana, and old pioneers of Owen County. Mr. Livingston is polit- 
ically a Democrat. 



178 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

MATTHIAS B. COLLINS, second child in a family of threo, was 
born Frebruary 18, 1842, in Butler County, Ohio. . His parents, Jacob 
and May A. (Arbuckle) Collins, natives of Pennsylvania and Virginia 
respectively, were married in Ohio, in 1837, and located near Cincinnati, 
where the father followed the cooper's trade and farmed up to the pres- 
ent time. His mother died November 6, 1877. Matthias was reared and 
educated in Clermont County, Ohio, and when nineteen years of age 
came to Indiana and entered the employ of carriage manufacturers, with 
whom he remained until July, 1862. He enlisted in Company I, Thirty- 
third Indiana Volunteers, under Capt. Houser; served three years, and 
participated in the following engagements: Thompson's Station, Resaca, 
Cassville, Kenesaw Mountain, Peach Tree Creek, Bm-nt Hickory and 
Dallas Woods; he then marched with Sherman from Atlanta to the sea, 
and took part in the battles at Savannah, Bentonville and Averysboro; 
near Groldsboro, he was taken prisoner, and first imprisoned at Danville, 
then at Libby. Shortly after, he was paroled, and, going to Camp Chase, 
Ohio, was granted a furlough, and on June 10, 1865, was honorably 
discharged. Returning to Bartholomew County, Ind., he resumed 
work at carriage- making. On March 25, 1866, he was married to 
Minerva L. Rominger, of Bartholomew County. One year later, they 
removed to St. Louis, Ind., where he engaged in wagon-making, 
remaining until 1872; removing thence to Miamiville, Ohio, he engaged 
in photography (which he had learned while in the army), traveling 
with a portable gallery until in 1879, when he came to Martinsville and 
has since been successfully engaged there in the same business. Mr. 
Collins is Senior Warden of the A. F. & A. M., Martinsville Lodge, No. 
74, and Officer of the Guard of Post No. 77, G. A. R. He is a Repub- 
lican, and he and wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 
They have four children— Ella F., Eugene O., Willie A. and Mary E. 

JOHN C. COMER was born December 8, 1842, in Wayne County, 
Ind. His parents, Joseph and Esther (Compton) Comer, were natives of 
South Carolina and Ohio respectively. The former came to Indiana in 
1808, when seven years of age; married in Ohio in 1826, and lived in 
Hendricks and Morgan Counties for ten years, when he again went to 
Wayne County, returning to Morgan County in 1862 and locating in 
Mooresville. He died in February, 1876. The mother died in January, 
1868. John C. Comer is the eighth son and eleventh child, and was 
reared in Wayne and Randolph Counties until eight years of age, when 
he went with his parents to Iowa. In June, 1861, he enlisted in Com- 
pany I, Fourteenth Iowa Volunteers, under Capt. Warren C. Jones. He 
served for three and a half years, and took part in the battles of 
Fort Henry, Fort Donelson, Shiloh, Corinth, Jackson, Tenn. ; Holly 
Springs, Vicksburg, Canton, Miss. He was in the Red River cam- 
paign, and at Pilot Knob. In December, 1864, he was mustered out, 
and came to Morgan County, Ind. ; purchased a flouring mill at Moores- 
ville, ran it for two years, and then purchased a saw mill, which he ran 
until 1870. He next farmed for two years, and then embarked in the 
lumber business, following it for eight years. He was elected Sheriff of 
the county in 1878, and two years later was re-elected. After faithfully 
fulfilling the duties of this office for four years, he bought a farm of 253 
acres in Brown Township, and is at present farming. In April, 1869, 
he was married to Miss Annie Gilbert, of Morgan County. They have 
had six children, four of whom are living — Ella, Robei-t, Mattie and 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP AND MARTINSVILLE. 179 

Dolly. Mr. Comer is a member of the I. O. O. F., K. of H., the K. of 
P., and of the G. A. Jl. He is a Republican, and with his wife is a 
member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

JAMES F. COX, attorney at law, was born in Monroe County, Ind. , 
May 15, 1852, and is a son of Rev. J. Bridgeman and Martha (Mosier) 
Cox. He was reared on a farm, attended the county schools, and when 
fifteen began his own support, and divided his time between labor and 
schooling. At nineteen, he became a teacher, and attended the State 
University for three years, after which he taught during winter and 
studied law during summer. He became an earnest politician before he 
became a voter. He cast his first vote, in pride, for Horace Greeley, and 
came before the Democratic convention as a candidate for Prosecuting 
Attorney of the Fifteenth Circuit. He was defeated meagerly after be- 
ing nominated over three prominent competitors from this county, by a 
coalition of Greene and Owen Counties, the latter receiving the Judge and 
the former the Prosecutor. In 1878, he was made Deputy County 
Prosecuting Attorney, as which he served eighteen months before resign- 
ing to matriculate in the Law Department of the University of Michigan, 
from which he graduated March 24, 1880, and returned to this county 
and resumed practice. August 1, 1877, he married, in Brown County, 
Ind., Miss Mattie E. Armstrong, who died February 14, 1880, leaving one 
child — Leon J. 

WILLIAM COX, a native of Ohio, was born near Dayton October 
5, 1820, and is the eldest son and second child of John and Nancy (Swish- 
ard) Cox, natives of Pennsylvania. They came to Morgan County in 
1820, and built what is known as High Rock Mills in Jefi'erson Town- 
ship, on White River, which they ran until in 1850. The father then 
went to California, where he died in March, 1850. The mother died in 
1843. Subject was reared in Morgan County, where he was educated, 
and remained until 1843, and assisted his father in the mill. He then 
went to Wisconsin, and worked in the lead mines for two years; thence 
returning to his home, he went on a flat-boat to New Orleans, and acted 
as pilot on a flat-boat for twenty years. In 1853, he purchased a farm in 
Jefferson Township, and farmed after his twenty years on the river until 
1877. He then sold his farm, and removed to Martinsville, where in 
May he was appointed City Marshal, and is at present serving in that 
capacity. In 1856, he was elected Township Trustee, and served two 
years. In 1847, he was married to Jane Mills, daughter of Judge Mills, 
a pioneer of Morgan County. By this union there have been six children, 
four of whom are living — Lida, Katie, George W. and Stephen J. Mr. 
Cox is a member of the A. F. & A. M, Martinsville Lodge, No. 74. He is 
politically a Republican. His wife is a member of the Christian Church. 

GEORGE W. CRAMER was born in Morris County, N. J. , October 
27, 1829, and is a son of Archibald and Margaret Cramer, the former 
born July, 1803, the latter in 1802. Ar3hibald Cramer was a son of 
Abram and Rachel (More) Cramer, who were natives of New Jersey, where 
they lived and died, the parents of eleven children. Archibald Cramer 
married Margaret Stephens, and after living in Sussex and Morris Coun- 
ties, emigrated to Moi'gan County, Ind., in 1839, and died May 7, 1883, 
the father of six children — Sarah, George W., Emeline, Dayton D., Will- 
iam S. and Nelson. George W. Cramer, December 22, 1853, in this 
county, married Sarah A., daughter of James and Delilah Crawford, and 
born in this county December 17, 1834. This union brought forth nine 



180 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

children — Mary E., Lenora A., Hannah M., James C, Julia, Charles L., 
Rosa L. , Archie and Delilah M. After marriage, Mr. Cramer located on 
his home farm of 267 acres of well improved and valued land. He is a 
much esteemed citizen, and a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

WILLIAM S. CEAMER, a son of Archibald and TMargaret Cramer, 
was born in this county March 19, 1841. August 2, 1862, he enlisted in 
Company H, Seventieth Indiana Volunteers, and served until the close 
of the war. He was wounded May 15, 1864, at the battle of Resaca, Ga., 
in the left shoulder, by which he was disabled for a time, but has a good 
ai-my record. In 1866, in partnership with his father and a brother, he 
purchased a saw mill and threshing machine, all engaging in said enter- 
prise. This continued until 1871, when the sons bought their father's 
interest, and continued the business until 1876, when William purchased 
the interest of his brother, and has since managed the business alone; he 
is also interested in farming. January 4, 1870, at Indianapolis, he mar- 
ried Miss Patience M., a daughter of Thomas J. Breedlove, who died 
March 19, 1874, having borne three children— Frederick S., Laura L. 
(deceased), and Lillie B. October 18, 1876, Mr. Cramer married a 
second wife, Elizabeth E., daughter of W^iiliam and Mary A. Lockhart, 
with an issue of five children — Arthur V. and a twin (still-born), John N., 
Thomas G. and Nellie. Mr. Cramer has served his township as Assessor. 
He and wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

C. S. CRARY, born in Franklin County, Ind., March 21, 1845, is the 
youngest of seven sons and twelve children, and was reared in Indiana 
and Ohio. Of his father, the Martinsville Republican of August 16, 1883, 
publishes the following: "On the 14th inst., Gen. Willis Crary suddenly 
died at his home, near Olney, 111. Gen. Crary was eighty-one years old 
past. He was a native of Vermont, and moved to Cincinnati in 1813, 
where he resided for thirty years, when he removed to Franklin County, 
Ind. He was in his earlier days a prominent politician of Cincinnati. 
He was well acquainted with Gen. William Henry Harrison, and was a 
schoolmate and chum of his son, Scott Harrison, the father of Senator 
Ben Harrison. Shortly after he attained his majority, he was mai'ried in 
Cincinnati to Miss Almira Spencer, a native of New York State, who died 
in 1863. During the internal improvement furor in this State, he was a 
heavy contractor in the building of the White Water Canal, in which he 
lost over $20,000, which was a liberal fortune in those days. Of late 
years, he had resided in Illinois." In 1859, the subject of this sketch 
went with his parents to McLean County, 111. He received a good En- 
glish education, and in August, 1861, he enlisted in the Fourteenth Indi- 
ana Cavalry, under Col. T. Lyle Dickey, serving for four years. He 
took part in the following engagements: Fort Henry, Fort Donelson 
and Shiloh (at which he was Orderly to Gen. Hurlbut). From exposure, 
he was taken with the typhoid fever, and after lying in the hospital for 
some time he was discharged for disability. In the fall of 1862, he 
assisted in raising a company and returned to the front. On the 19th 
of March, 1863, he was commissioned Second Lieutenant, One Hundred 
and Thirtieth Illinois Infantry, and had the honor of being the youngest 
commissioned officer in Illinois, then being but seventeen years of age. In 
the battle of Fort Gibson, his Captain was wounded, and the First Lieu- 
tenant in the hospital, so he assumed the command of his company 
through the battles of Raymond, the entire siege of Vicksburg, Jackson, 
Miss., and some few others, after which he was promoted to First Lieu- 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP AND MARTINSVILLE. 181 

tenant. His regiment spent the winter of 1868-64 on the coast of Texas, 
after which they returned to New Orleans, and on the organization of the 
Ked River Campaign, he was appointed on the staff of Gen. W. H. Bald- 
win, of the Second Brigade, Fourth Division of the Thirteenth Army 
Corps, and served in that capacity during the entire campaign. In 1865, 
he received an honorable discharge and returned home. He entered the 
State University at Bloomington, Ind., remaining one year. In 1866, 
he began farming in Morgan County, and five years later moved to Mar- 
tinsville, renting his farm of 200 acres in Jefferson Township. He then 
went into the insurance business, and continued in it until 1881, when 
he went into the employ of the Gould Southwest Railroad System, with 
headquarters at Galveston, Tex., as traveling, freight and passenger 
agent, remaining nearly two years. In December, 1882, he resigned his 
position and returned to Martinsville, where he at present resides. He 
is a member of the G. A. R. and a Republican. 

N. T. CUNNINGHAM, of the firm of Cunningham, Bollinger & 
Phelps, dealers in general merchandise, dry goods, groceries, boots and 
shoes, etc., is a representative business man of Morgan County, and was 
born in Martinsville October 1, 1832. He is the son of James and Huldah 
(Lizenby) Cunningham, natives of Kentucky, who were married in that 
State August 15, 1826, and immediately came to this township. The 
father at first engaged in farming, but, being a business man was soon 
occupied in stock trading, hotel -keeping, general merchandising, flat- 
boating, etc. He died in Martinsville July 19, 1856, his widow follow- 
ing May 1, 1861. N. T. Cunningham was reared a farmer until eighteen 
years of age, when he came to Martinsville with his parents and assisted 
his father in his hotel and other business, after which he returned to 
farming for two years. In 1858, he opened a general store in Martins- 
ville under the firm name of Cunningham & Stevens; three years later, he 
purchased the interest of Mr. Stevens, and has continued business to the 
present time, associated with various others, including W. B. Sheppard, 
S. McCracken, James Sheppard and T. Phelps, during the war carrying 
on two stores. The present firm was formed in 1880, the partners being 
James Bollinger and T. Phelps, and the firm is doing a thriving trade. 
Mr. Cunningham has also given much attention to stock raising and 
trading. He owns about 800 acres in Morgan County, mostly improved; 
he has laid out two additions to Martinsville, owns five rooms ia Union 
Block, and has invested much money in building enterprises. He was 
married in 1862 to Miss Nettie C. Sheppard, native of Morgan County, 
and daughter of Isaac D. Sheppard, one of the early settlers. Two 
children have blessed this union — C. Sherman and Julie M.^ Mr. Cun- 
ningham is a Republican and Mrs. Cunningham is a member of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church. 

MARION CUNNINGHAM, one of the most energetic and successful 
young farmers in Morgan County, was born in Jefferson Township Au- 
gust 3, 1850. His parents were William N. and Nancy (Lankford) Cun- 
ningham, natives of Kentucky and Virginia respectively, who were mar- 
ried in Morgan County in an early day, and were well known among the 
earliest and most prominent settlers. Our subject was the second son in 
a family of four children, and was reared in Morgan County, obtaining 
in the district schools the rudiments of a good education. On the 22d 
day of September, 1870, he was married to Miss Nancy Teverbaugh, 
daughter of William Teverbaugh, an influential and respected citizen of 



182 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

Martin County, Ind. For about one year after his marriage, he farmed 
in Morgan County, going thence to Daviess County, Ind., where he 
farmed for two years, at the end of which time he returned to Morgan 
County, and continued farming until early in 1881, when his father gave 
him the splendid, well- improved farm of 297 acres, one mile south of 
Martinsville, where he at present resides. In connection with his farm- 
ing interests, he is also extensively engaged in the stock business, and 
his energy and industry rank him among the successful farmers of the 
county. 

CYRUS E. DAVIS, attorney at law, was born in Washington County, 
Ind., December 17, 1856, and is a son of James and Martha E. Davis. 
Cyrus was reared on a farm; attended school during the winter, and when 
seventeen years old the Salem High School some time, in 1876 the South- 
ern Indiana Normal School, and in the autumn of that year was enrolled 
in the State University at Bloomington; was a student four years, and 
graduated therefrom in June, 1880. In July of that year, he came to 
Martinsville, engaged in reading law under Col. Jordan; became a part- 
ner with Hon. A. M. Cunning in 1881 ; graduated from the Law Department 
of the Michigan University in 1882; returned to Martinsville; continued 
the practice with Mr. Cunning and afterward became associated with E. 
C. Steele, under the fii-m name of Davis & Steele. Mr. Davis is a mem- 
ber of the "Sigma Chi" fraternity. 

BENJAMIN DESSAUER is the fifth son and eighth child in a fam- 
ily of eleven born to Aaron and Fannie (Goldsmith) Dessauer, natives of 
Germany. His parents were married in Baltimore, Md., in 1836, where 
his father followed his vocation as merchant tailor; thence he removed 
to Missouri; remained until in 1842, and then went to Ohio; located in 
Cincinnati, and engaged in the clothing business. In 1852, he embarked 
in the general booking business, and was thus engaged for eight years, 
when he ^'etired from business. He died November 16, 1866; his wife 
on October 29, 1866. Benjamin Dessauer was reared in Cincinnati, ob- 
tained a good education in the graded schools of that city, and when 
eighteen years of age took a complete course in Nelson's Commercial Col- 
lege. When twelve years of age, he began clerking in a general mer- 
chandise store in Thorntown, Ind,; then clerked at various points until 
3875. He then came to Martinsville in September of that year, and 
formed a partnership with his brother David in the clothing, boot and 
shoe business, in which they have been so successfully engaged, their 
business rooms being two of the largest in the town. On June 10, 1879, 
he was married to Rebecca Kronenberger, daughter of Max Kronenber- 
ger, a native of Germany. Mr. Dessauer is a member of the K. of P. 
Lodge, No. 89. 

GEORGE W. EGBERT (deceased) was born in Warren County, 
Ohio, August 25, 1824. He removed with bis parents to Dearborn Coun- 
ty, where they remained fof some time; thence they removed to Green 
Township while George W. was but a lad, in which community he grew up 
to manhood respected and held in high esteem by all who knew him. He 
was married to Miss Mary Williams, February 11, 1847. He survived his 
wife six years. He at one time served as Trustee of Green Township. In 
1870, he was elected Treasurer of Morgan County. Such was the con- 
fidence reposed in him by the people that they committed to his care 
the guardianship and settlement, as administrator, of many estates, all 
of which was honestly and conscientiously performed. He was in the 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP AND MARTINSVILLE. 183 

drug trade as a member of the firm of Tarleton & Egbert, which position 
he occupied until his failing health admonished him that he must with- 
draw from active business, after which he gradually sank, suffering in- 
tolerable pain. He died February 18, 1882, in the fifty-eighth year of 
his age. He was a prominent citizen and highly esteemed. He was ef- 
ficient as an officer, performing all duties devolving upon him with 
fidelity to the county and credit to himself. 

DK. URIAH H. FARE was born in tliis county October 23, 1846, 
and is a son of Daniel C. and Susanna (Teague) Farr. Daniel C. Farr 
was born in Jefferson County, Ky., May 8, 1816, moved with his parents 
to this State in 1822, and was married in this county February 20, 1834. 
to Miss Susanna Teague. He afterward engaged at farming in Ray 
Township with success, and by industry was soon enabled to enter land 
until he owned 300 acres. He was father of three children, and died 
August 14, 1850. August 6, 1862, Dr. U. H. Farr enlisted in Company 
B, Seventieth Indiana Volunteer Infantry, in which he served three 
years, and was in the following battles: Resaca, New Hope Church, 
Kenesaw Mountain, Peach Tree Creek, the Atlanta campaign, the march 
to the sea, Savannah and Bentonville. He was discharged June, 1865, 
and March 16, 1866, maiTied Miss Sarah Blankenship, with a result of 
four children — Anna A., Kate E., Montana E. and Daniel B. Dr. Farr 
continued farming until 1874, when he began the study of medicine and 
attended lectures at the College of Physicians and Surgeons, Indianapo- 
lis, from which he graduated in 1876. After practicing at Paragon until 
1882, he removed to this town. Dr. Farr also took a course of lectures 
at the University of Pennsylvania, and received the ad eundem degree 
therefrom. 

LEVI FERGUSON is a native of Pike County, Ind., and born May 
29, 1841. He was also reared in Pike County, and commenced the study 
of law at the age of fifteen, which he continued four years. August 9, 
1860, he married Miss Mary B. Montgomery, who died February 13, 
1866, leaving one child — Florence. July 1, 1861, Mr. Ferguson en- 
listed in Company A, First Indiana Cavalry, serving in this and in the 
infantry until 1863, at which time he was promoted to a Captaincy and 
assigned to Provost Marshal duty in the Second Division, Army of the 
Shenandoah, after the experience of battle in many sanguinary engage- 
ments and skirmishes. After the war, he engaged in the practice of law 
in Petersburg, Ind., where he continued until 1877, and served two 
terms as County Auditor. In the same year, he removed to Martinsville 
and transferred his law practice hither. In 1868, he married Miss 
Amelia Thomas, which union was honored by two children — Ray and 
Minnie. In 1872, Mr. Ferguson was a delegate to the National Repub- 
lican Convention, and in 1876 a Hayes elector for the Second Congres- 
sional District for this State. 

JOHN J. FERTIG is the elder of two children born to John 
S. and Frances (Sarhmann) I'ertig, natives of Germany, who were mar- 
ried in 1858, in Indiana, where they removed in 1854. His father was a 
carpet weaver, and since his marriage has resided in Madison, Jefferson 
County, Ind. His wife died January 29, 1873. John Fertig was 
born March 1, 1860, in Madison, where he was reared, and received a 
good English and German education. When fifteen years of age, he be- 
gan learning the trade of saddletree making, which he followed for two 
years. He also learned the barber's trade, in Madison, where he fol- 



184 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

lowed it for three years. In the summer of 1880, he came to Martins- 
ville and worked at his trade until in 1882. In March, 1883, he pur- 
chased a barber-shop of T. M. Gillig, which he refitted, and is at pres- 
ent conducting. Mr. Fertig is a member of the Catholic Church, and 
active in its support. In politics, he is a Democrat, and a good citizen, 
always ready to assist in every benevolent undertaking in public enter- 
prise. 

JAMES FISHER was born in Pickaway County, Ohio, June 9, 1840, 
and is a son of William and Nancy (Fitzsimons) Fisher, natives of New 
York and Maryland respectively. The former was killed in 1840, by the 
falling of a tree, and in 1845 his mother moved with her family to this 
county, afterward marrying Barney Donohue, and residing in the county 
until her death in 1874. She was the mother of ten children — nine by 
Mr. Fisher and one by Mr. Donohue. James Fisher is the youngest 
child of his father's family. He came with his mother and has since 
resided in this county. October 17, 1859, he married Miss Elizabeth, 
daughter of Samuel R. and Mary J. Black, and born October 17, 1838. 
After his marriage, Mr. Fisher located in this township, of which he is a 
worthy citizen. Mr. and Mrs. Fisher have nine children — William, Mary 
A., Ellen, Francis, Lawson, Ida E., Alice B., Jennie and Minnie. Mr. 
Fisher was a soldier of the late war, having enlisted in Company H, 
One Hundred and Forty- eighth Indiana Volunteers, and served from 
February, 1864, until the end of the war. 

WILLIAM L. FULKERSON is a native of Scott County, Va. ; was 
born October 13, 1824, and is one of the family of Frederick and Lovina 
(Lawson) Fulkerson, both of whom were natives of Scott County, Va., 
where they were married, and whence, in 1832, they moved to Monroe 
County, Ind., and there closed their labors of life. Their family com- 
prised seven in number — Nancy, Sarah, Elizabeth, Catherine, William 
L., Mary and Abraham. William L., our subject, married in Monroe 
County, Ind., June 22, 1848, Miss Sarah, daughter of Eli and Mary 
Abernathy, and born in Lincoln County, N. C. , May 7, 1825. In the 
spring of 1873, Mr. Fulkerson moved to Morgan County, and eettled on 
the farm which he now occupies as a home, and where he manages a 
dairy and supplies the town of Martinsville with milk, butter and cheese. 
Mr. and Mrs. Fulkerson have no children. 

WILLIAM O. GARRISON, a native of Gregg Township, Morgan 
County, Ind., was born December 25, 1840. His parents, W^illiam and 
Phebe (Norris) Garrison, natives of Kentucky, were married in 1840, in 
Morgan County, Ind., and located in Gregg Township, where they con- 
tinued to live until 1848, when they removed to a farm in Jefferson 
Township. There, in 1852, the mother died. The father is at present 
living in Warren County, Iowa. He came to Indiana in 1825, and is 
one of the earliest and best citizens of Morgan County. William G. 
Garrison is the eldest of five children, and was reared in Gregg and 
Jefferson Townships until April, 1861. He enlisted in Company K, Sev- 
enth Indiana Volunteers, under Capt. Jeff K. Scott, in the three 
months' service. His company immediately went into active service, and 
he took part in the battles of Philippi, Cheat Mountain, Garrick's Ford, 
etc. He was mustered out August 3, 1861, and in July, 1862, he re- 
enlisted in Company H, Seventieth Indiana Volunteers, under Capt. A. 
D. Cunning. He served until June 19, 1865, and took part in the bat- 
tles of Russellville, Resaca, Cassville, New Hope Church, Lost Mount- 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP AND MARTINSVILLE. 185 

ain, Kenesaw, Marietta, Peach Tree Creek, Atlanta, Savannah, 
Averysboro and Bentonville. During Sherman's march to the sea, he wa& 
considered an expert forager, and some of his narrow escapes on various 
expeditions are interesting in the extreme. In March, 1862, he was 
married to Sarah Winter, daughter of George and Mary Winter, pioneers 
of Morgan County. After his return from the war in 1866, he followed! 
his trade as stationary engineer, until July, 1873, when he was severely 
attacked with acute rheumatism in his right leg, which made him incapa- 
ble of labor. In October, 1876, he was elected as Recorder of Morgan 
County, on the Republican ticket, and four years later was re-elected to 
the same office., in the discharge of which duties he is at present en- 
gaged. He is a member of the G. A. R His wife is an active and 
faithful member of the Christian Church. They have had eight children 
— Orestes, Harriet E., Thomas O. (deceased) May, Luther, Dot, Annie 
(deceased) and Perry. 

JOHN GIBBS was born in Wayne County, Ky., April 2, 1823, and 
is a son of James and SfaryGibbs, both natives of Kentucky. The.grand- 
f ather of our subject, John Gibbs, was a native of Ireland, who emigrated 
to America, where he married, lived and died, the parent of six children. 
James Gibbs was born in Wayne County, Ky., July 16, 1800, where he 
married Mary Helton, and in 1830 moved to Morgau County, Ind., 
where both closed their lives, the parents of thirteen children. John 
Gibbs moved with his parents to this State in 1830, and January 27, 
1848, married Miss Sarah, daughter of Ralph and Rosina Cartwright, 
and born in Washington County, Ind., April 27, 1825, a union which 
was followed by ten children — James E., Joseph D., John F., Florence 
A., Alice C, Mary E., Martha J. (deceased), Kizzie B. , Sarah A. and 
Andrew. Mr. Gibbs is a highly respected citizen. 

CHARLES M. GRAVIS is the eldest son and third child born to 
Sebastian and Minerva (Barker) Gravis, natives of Pennsylvania and 
Ohio respectively, and married in Williamsburg, Ohio, in 1839. In 
1863, they removed to Indianapolis, where the father at present resides. 
The mother died in July, 1849. Charles M. Gravis was reared and edu- 
cated in Ohio. When seventeen years of age, he enlisted in Company B, 
Eighty-ninth Ohio Volunteers, under Capt. William A. Townsend. He 
served for three years, during which time he participated in the battles at 
Hoover's Gap and Chickamauga. At the latter, he was captured, and put 
in the prison on Belle Island, but was soon after transferred to " Libby," 
where he remained for about two years. From there he was sent to Dan- 
ville, Va., and incarcerated for five months, when he was transferred to 
Andersonville. He remained there for seven months when he was paroled, 
and soon after exchanged, immediately returning to his company. He 
participated in the battle at Bentonville and a number of skirmishes. At 
the close of the war, he returned to Clermont County, Ohio, soon after 
coming to Indiana, where he learned the brickmason trade with his father. 
He afterward studied medicine with Dr. D. Wiley, for three years. In 
March, 1871, he graduated at the Indiana Medical College, at Indian- 
apolis. In September, 1870, he was married to Sarah C. Smock, a native 
of Indiana. They had six children — Walter, Charles, William, Ursula, 
all of whom are dead; Gracie B. and Frederick L. are living. In 1871, 
he began the practice of his profession in Southport, Ind., and from there, - 
eighteen months later, removed to Indianapolis. He there entered into 
practice, and in the di-ug business, which he continued for three years, 



186 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

returning thence to Southport, where he remained until September, 1880. 
He was in partnership with Dr. George Spees, in Glenn's Valley, 
where he remained eighteen months, when he came to Martinsville, where 
he is at present engaged in the practice .of his profession. He has filled 
all the chairs in the I. O. O. F., Southport Lodge, No. 394, and of the 
Grand Lodge. He is also a member of the G. A. R., and is a Repub- 
lican. Himself and wife are members- of the Baptist Church. 

SAIVTUEL S. GRIFFITT, dealer in groceries and queensware, is car- 
rying a stock of $3,000, with about $15,000 annual sales. The father of 
our subject, Reuben Griffitt, was born in Tennessee in 1797; there mar- 
ried, in 1824, to- Miss Lovina Shell, and in 1834 removed to this county, 
and farmed near Morgantown, where he died November, 1871. Samuel 
S. Grifi&tt was born in this county February 13, 1836; reared on a farm; 
taught school some time; engaged in merchandising at Morgantown from 
1856 to 1859; then served as Deputy County Clerk one term, and in the 
Auditor's office for several years. Februaiy, 1863, he married Miss Re- 
becca M. Drumheller, which union gave issue to two children, Mary and 
Neddie. After 1871, Mr. Griffitt engaged in the hardware trade for five 
years, and served one year as Superintendent. In 1881, he engaged in 
his present business, in which he has been uncommonly successful. Mr. 
Griffitt is in politics a Republican. 

HON. GEORGE W. GRUBBS, attorney, Martinsville, was born in 
Franklin, Johnson County, Ind., September 26, 1842. He was the second 
son of Richard L. and Louisa (Ai-mstrong) Grubbs. His ancestors came 
from Pennsylvania. His Grandfather Armstrong was a soldier in the 
war of 1812. The subject of this sketch graduated from Franklin County 
in 1861, and at once enlisted in Company I, Seventh Indiana Volunteer 
Infantry. From this time until the spring of 1866, he was on active 
duty, and for meritorious conduct he rose successively from private to 
Lieutenant, Brevet Captain, and in the summer of 1864 was commis- 
sioned Major of the Forty-second Regiment Colored Infantry, General 
of the First Brigade, Third Division, Twentieth Army Corps. He was 
in all the important engagements in which his regiment participated, 
and while commanding the Forty- second Regiment was engaged in the 
Nashville campaign. From the close of the war until he was mustered 
out of service, he was stationed as commander at Decatxu', Ala. Im- 
mediately upon his return from the field, he entered the law office of Por- 
ter, Harrison & Fishback, at Indianapolis, and began the study of the 
profession. He was admitted to the bar in 1868, and removed to Mar- 
tinsville the same year. In 1876, he was elected by the Republicans of 
his district to the Legislature, and served with ability, being honored 
with the chairmanship of Judiciaiy Committee. He was elected to the 
State Senate in 1878, and was appointed a member of the same commit- 
tee. As an attorney, the reputation of Mr. Grubbs is high. He was a 
delegate to the National Convention, which nominated Gen. Grant for the 
Presidency in 1868, and the later one which nominated R. B. Hayes in 
1876. He was also a member of the Electoral College in 1872, and as- 
sisted in the re-election of Gen. Grant. He has also been a constant at- 
tendant of the Republican State, district and county conventions. 

SAMUEL M. GUTHRIDGE is the second child in a family of ten, 
and was born on August 30, 1854, in Green Township, Morgan Co., 
Ind. His parents, Lemuel and Elizabeth (Feeters) Guthridge, natives 
of Ohio and Indiana respectively, shortly after marriage located on a 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP AND MARTINSVILLE. 187 

farm in Green Township, Morgan County, where they remained until 
.1865. They removed thence to Cope, Green Township, where the father 
engaged in the mercantile business, and continued there for three years, 
when he was elected County Treasurer on the Democratic ticket. He 
served for two years, and then formed a partnership with J. A. Lewis in 
the general merchandise business, which firm at present is doing a lucra- 
tive trade. Sarauel M. Guthridge was reared and educated in his native 
township. In 1872, he entered the Martinsville High School, which he 
attended for two years; during the winters of 1872-73-74, he taught 
school in Green Township. In February, 1875, he entered the Northern 
Indiana Normal at Valparaiso, remaining until August, when he returned 
to his home and went to work on his father's farm. In 1878, he removed 
with his parents to Martinsville and took a position under his father as 
Deputy County Treasurer. January 1, 1879, he formed a partnership 
with W. H. Miller in the hardware and implement business, under the 
firm name of Miller & Guthridge. He is a member of the A. F. & A. 
M., Martinsville Lodge, No. 74, and of the I. O. O. F., Martinsville 
Lodge, No. 274. He is also a member of the K. of P., Anniversary 
Lodge, No. 89, and politically he is a Democrat. He was married on 
December 25, 1879, to Alice Egbert, daughter of G. W. Egbert, of 
Morgan County. They have had three children, Bernice, George E. 
(deceased) and Nellie. 

WILEY S. HALTON, Sheriff of Morgan County, is a native of Owen 
County, Ind., and was born April 28, 1843; he was reared in the county 
of his birth, where, April 15, 1861, he enlisted in Company H, Four- 
teenth Indiana (three months') Volunteers, after which service he re-en- 
listed, in October of the same year, in Company A, Fifty-ninth Indiana 
Volunteers, and served in the following engagements: New Madrid, 
Corinth, Eaymond, Jackson, Champion Hills, siege of Vicksburg, Mis- 
sionary Ridge and Sherman's campaign through Georgia and to Wash- 
ington. After his discharge — July 25, 1865, — he resumed farming in 
Owen County, at which he continued three years, when he removed to 
this county and farmed until 1882, except four years passed. at Eminence 
and Louisville, in this county. December 7, 1867, he married Catherine 
Munday, with the result of five children — Minnie, Alpha, Daisy, Ethel 
and Clarence (twins). In 1882, Mr. Halton was elected Sheriff by the 
Republicans. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and also of 
the G. A. R. He owns a half interest in a store and has other property 
in Louisville. 

E. R. HAMILTON was born in Vermont, on September 15, 1843. He 
is the youngest of nine children. His parents, James and Sarah (Plum- 
ley) Hamilton, natives of Scotland and Vermont respectively, were married 
in Vermont, and located in Brattleboro, removing thence to Randolph, 
Vt. , where they remained for some time. In 1849, they went to 
Lowell, Mass., where the father died in 1854. The mother at present 
resides in Martinsville, eighty-two years of age. E. R. Hamilton 
was reared in Massachusetts and Vermont until nineteen years 
of age. In 1861, he went to Iowa, remaining for a short time, and 
then went to Tennessee, where he clerked for six months. He then went 
to Memphis, and kept iDooks for the Elmwood Cemetery for one year. 
Returning to Vermont, he took a course at "Eastman Business College," 
and graduated in the fall of 1863. He then returned to Memphis, and 
took a clerkship under Gen. Ornee (Special Agent of the United States 



188 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

Treasury Department), and he remained until 1865, going thence to Ver- 
mont and then to Columbus, Ind, , where he kept books for J. H. Phil- 
brooks, a dry goods merchant. Two years later they formed a partner- 
ship, and in 1872 Mr. Hamilton purchased his partner's interest, and 
carried it on by himself for three years. He then came to Martinsville, 
and went into the "walnut lumber" business, in which he is now engaged. 
In June, 1864, he was married to Cora L. Plumley, of Albany, Vt. 
They had one child which died when young. His wife dying, he next 
married, in 1876, Mary A. McEwen. They have two children, Mary A. 
and Samuel. Mr. Hamilton is a stanch Republican, 

JOHN T. HAMMANS was born in Morgan County, Ind., December 
31, 1830, and is a son of Pry or and Matilda (Burk) Hammans, both of 
whom came to this county in the early days, married and passed the 
larger portion of their lives; Mr. Hammans died in 1866, but Mrs. 
Hammans is yet living in this county. Their children were by name 
Joshua, William, Harvey, Andrew, Mahala, Mary, George, Martin, Elijah, 
Adeline, Hester, Elizabeth, Ehoda, Nancy, Martha and John T. Our 
subject married in this county, August 16, 1857, Delilah, daughter of 
Ivan and Irena Voyles, with an issue of eleven children, Catherine, 
James, Irena, Robert, Mary, John. Maria, Sarah, Clarissa, Burley and 
Margaret. In August, 1862, Mr. Hammans enlisted in Company H, 
Seventieth Indiana Volunteers, and served until September, 1864, on 
July 23 of which year, at Atlanta, he was wounded by a gunshot passing 
through his cheek and cutting his tongue. Mr. Hammans is an honored 
citizen, and he and wife are members of the Baptist Church. 

A. S. HART is the ninth child in the family of A. B. and Sarah A, 
(Chipps) Hart, both natives of Sussex County, N. J., where they married, 
and in 1840 moved to Morgan County, Ind., and made there a home. 
Their family was made up as follows: Mercy, Margaret, Amos S., Mary, 
Aaron R., Mahala, John W., Elizabeth and Emma, A. S, Hart, our sub- 
ject, was born in Morgan County December 12, 1845. November 24, 
1870, he married Miss Emeline, a daughter of Maxville and Sarah Shire- 
man, and a native of this county, born July 10, 1848. This union was 
endeared by the following family: Harry M. (deceased), Ora A., Maggie 
M., Laura A. and Adie, Mr, Hart is a highly esteemed gentleman, a 
member of the order of Odd Fellows, and likewise of the Methodist Epis- 
copal Church, 

J, H. HART, eldest son and eighth child of Henry and Catharine 
(Bricker) Hart, natives of Pennsylvania, was born in Franklin County 
February 14, 1852. His father was a blacksmith, which trade he fol- 
lowed in Mercersburg, Franklin County, from the time of his marriage 
until the fall of 1852, when he removed to Salem, Owen County, Ind. 
Remaining two years, he went to Quincy, Owen County, where he died 
in December, 1880, J, H. Hart was reared in Quincy, Owen County, 
where he received his education. When thirteen years of age, he began 
working with the farmers in the neighborhood; continued for three years, 
and then came to Martinsville; he was employed in a drug store here 
until. 1874, when he went to Indianapolis; returning in a short time, he 
formed a partnership in the drug business with James P. Baldwin. Con- 
tinuing for two years in this, he sold out, and for several months acted 
as Deputy Clerk to Willis Record. In February, 1876, he was married 
to Arra Lindley, daughter of Robert and Cynthia Lindley, of Monrovia, 
He is the father of two children, Lillian E. and Beryl. In the fall of 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP AND MARTINSVILLE. 189 

1876, Mr. Hart opened a drug store in Monrovia, removing his stock 
two years later fco Martinsville, where he is at present doing a lucrative 
business. 

CLARKSON C. HARVEY was born in Brown Township, Morgan 
County, Ind., October 12, 1852, His parents, Robert and Sarah (Hadley) 
Harvey, were natives of Ohio and North Carolina respectively, and of 
Scotch-Irish extraction. They are Quakers, and in 1833 settled in Brown 
Township on a farm of 200 acres, where they have since resided. Clark- 
son C. Harvey is the seventh son and ninth child in a family of twelve 
children, and being raised on the farm, received a very ordinary educa- 
tion in the district schools of his native township, remaining at home 
until in his twenty-first year, when he went into the employ of a grocery 
merchant in the town of Mooresville. About seven months later, he went 
to Illinois, and worked for some time at farming in Ford County. In 
September, 1874, he removed to Martinsville, where he opened a restau- 
rant, and at present enjoys a lucrative business. Mr. Harvey is identified 
with the Republican party. He was married, January 14, 1877, to Annis 
H. Gregory, a daughter of M. W. and O. D. Gregory, pioneers of Mor- 
gan County. He is a member of the Methodist Church in good standing. 
His wife has been attentive to her duties as a member of the Christian 
Church. They have two childien, Harlon and Olivia. 

CHARLES HASTINGS is a native of Franklin County, Ind., was 
born September 2, 1820, and is a son of Job and Keziah Hastings. Job 
Hastings was born near Pittsburgh, Penn., whei'e he married; afterward 
removed to Franklin County, Ind., and thence, in 1835, to Morgan 
County, where he ended his life. His family was as follows: Matilda, 
Mary, Reese, Sarah, Charles, Kelly, Hannah C, Rebecca, Eliza J. and 
Martha A. The grandfather of oar subject, Isaac Hastings, was a native 
of England who settled near Pittsbui'gh, Penn., but died in E'ranklin 
County, Ind., the father of nine children. Charles Hastings married, 
January 1, 1850, Susanna, daughter of John and Sarah Rudicel, and 
soon afterward located at his present home, which comprises a farm of 
475 acres of fruitful and improved land. He is a genial gentleman and 
respected citizen. Mr. and Mrs. Hastings have been parents of four 
children — Louisa I., Mary A. (deceased), Evangeline and William C. 

AUSTIN HAT LEY was born in Chatham County, N. C, September 
15, 1822, and is the eldest of the family of William and Martha (Bow- 
ers) Hatley, natives respectively of North and South Carolina, who 
moved to this State and county in 1832, where they closed their lives — 
he in 1847, and she eight years later. They were parents of ten chil- 
dren — Harriet, Jacob, William, James, Leroy, Minerva, Eliza, Polly, 
Elizabeth A. and Austin. Our subject has remained in this county since 
brought hither by his parents. December 19, 1850, he married Cathe- 
rine, daughter of Harvey and Susan Williams. In 1869, Mr. Hatley 
located on his present farm, previous to which, in 1868, his wife died, 
and afterward he married Sarah Wilson, who died in 1872, whereupon, 
in 1873, he married Frankie E. Martin. Mr. Hatley has been the par- 
ent of fifteen children in all — William H., Martha A. (deceased), Henry 
J., Elizabeth J., George W., Thomas M. (deceased), Lafayette and three 
unnamed, by his first; Sarah C. (deceased) and Harriet M. (deceased), by 
his second, and Mary A., tlichard P. (deceased) and Nancy E., by his 
third wife. 



190 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

LEEOY S. HATLEY, fifth son and sixth child of William and Mar- 
tha (Giles) Hatley, natives of North Carolina, and of Scotch and English 
extraction, was born April 7, 1837, in Washington Township, Morgan 
County, Ind. His parents came to Indiana from North Carolina, where 
they were married, and located in Morgan County, where the father died 
July 3, 1847. The mother died April 15, 1855. The father entered a 
farm of 220 acres, which he farmed during the last few years of his life. 
Leroy S. Hatley, when nineteen years of age, went into the employ of 
J. M. & S. M. Mitchell, worked on their farm for three years, and after- 
ward worked for P. M. Parks until April, 1861. He then enlisted in the 
three months' service, in Company K, Seventh Indiana Infantry, under 
Capt. Jeff K. Scott. He participated in the battles at Philippi, 
Bealington, Laurel Hill and Carrick's Ford, and at the expiration of 
this term of service he returned to his home. On July 7, 1862, he en- 
listed in Company H, Seventieth Indiana Volunteers, under Capt. A. D. 
Cunning, and participated in the following engagements: Russellville, 
Resaca, Marietta and Atlanta. He marched with Sherman to the sea, 
and took an active part at Bentonville, and then on with Sherman to 
Washington. After the battle at Atlanta, he was promoted to Second 
Lieutenant, which position he filled until June 8, 1865, when he re- 
ceived an honorable discharge at Washington. After the war closed, he 
returned home, and for two years farmed, removing then to Illinois, 
where for two years he was again engaged in agricultural pursuits, after 
which he returned to Morgan County, locating in Martinsville shortly 
afterward. He owns 129 acres of excellent farm land in the county, 
the cultivation of which he superintends. He was for two y#ars As- 
sessor of Washington Township, also served the same length of time as 
Township Trustee. He was Deputy Sheriff for one year, and for some time 
City Marshal. March 20, 1872, he married Kate Watkins, daughter of 
John A. Watkins, a pioneer of Morgan County. Mr. Hatley is a mem- 
ber of the K. of P., Anniversary Lodge, No. 89, an active Republican, 
and he and wife are members of the Christian Church. They have had 
three children — Oscar (deceased), Bessie and Maudie. 

EBENEZER HENDERSON (ex-Auditor of State) was born in this 
county June 2, 1833. His duties called him to Indianapolis quite often, 
and he resided there from January, 1875, until 1879. His parents, 
James C. and Mary (Piercy) Henderson, natives of Shelby County, Ky., 
were married in July, 1831. They came to Morgan County the following 
fall, and the father entered eighty acres of land five miles south of Mar- 
tinsville. He built a cabin, and began to clear the wilderness. At his 
death, January 8, 1867, he owned 360 acres of land. The mother died 
in Martinsville, October 25, 1879. Ebenezer Henderson was educated 
in Morgan County in the three-months' winter schools. At the age of 
twenty, he entered the State University at Bloomington, where he re- 
mained for two years. On returning home, he took charge of his father's 
farm and traded in stock, fast accumulating money. He was married, in 
1856, to Ann C. Hunt, daughter of a neigboring farmer, soon after which 
he was appointed Deputy County Treasurer, in which office he served for 
four years. In 1860, he received the nomination, on the Democratic 
ticket, for County Treasurer. In 1868, he was nominated for State Sen- 
ator for the counties of Morgan and Johnson, was elected, and served 
four years. On retiring from this office, he gave his attention to his 
extensive farm, and the erection of a large pork-packing house in Mar- 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP AND MARTINSVILLE. 191 

tinsville, which was run under the firm name of Henderson, Parks & Co. 
until 1880, and now under the firm name of Harrison, Parks & Co. In 1874, 
he was elected Auditor of State, and was re-elected one year later, serv- 
ing for three years. He was chosen by the Democratic party in their 
State Convention a member of the State Central Committee for the In- 
dianapolis District, which position he occupied for two years. At pres- 
ent, he resides in Martinsville, in the full vigor and prime of his man- 
hood. He is the father of six children— Fannie, Ella, Maggie June, 
AVilliam, Howard and Court. 

CORNELIUS HILL, a native of Indiana, was born August 23, 
1836, in Richmond, Wayne County. His parents, Thomas and Elizabeth 
(White) Hill, native of Indiana and North Carolina respectively, were 
married in Indiana in 1833, and locating in Richmond, the father fol- 
lowed the carpenter's trade. In 1838, they removed to Grant County, 
to a farm, where in August, 1843, the father's death occurred. The mother 
died in April, 1865. Cornelius was the eldest son and second child, and 
was reared in Grant County until eight years of age; then with his mother 
he went to Washington County. Shortly after, they removed to Orange 
County, where he obtained a good education. When seventeen years of 
age, he began working on a farm, which he continued until the fall of 
1856, when he came to Morgan County and farmed near Mooresville for 
some time. In 1859, he went into the confectionery business, and about 
one year later, he went to Kentucky, farmed for some time, returning 
thence to Indianapolis. In 1862, he enlisted in Company B, Seven- 
tieth Indiana Volunteers, under Samuel Harriman, and served for nearly 
three years, acting as Corporal. He took part in the battles at Resaca, 
Atlanta, Peach Tree Creek, Averysboro, Cassville, Kenesaw Mountain 
and Bentonville. After the close of the war, he located in Martin County, 
Ind., as stationary engineer. In March, 1869, he was married to Letha 
A. Greeson, of Morgan County. They have one child — Mabel Pearl. In 
1874, he went into the confectionery business again. Iq November of 
1879, he sold a half interest and added a stock of groceries. In August 
of the next year, he went to Wabash and opened a bakery and confec- 
tionery, which he continued to run for one year, when he came back to Mar- 
tinsville, where he is at present engaged in a lucrative business. Mr. 
Hill is a member of the A. F. & A. M. and of the G. A. R., and is 
politically a Republican. His wife is an active member of the Meth- 
odist Church. 

JARVIS J. HILTON, a native of Indiana, was born September 21, 
1855, in Morgantown, Morgan County. He was the second son and 
fourth child of Emsley C. and Sarah A. (Jones) Hilton, natives of Indi- 
ana and Kentucky respectively. His parents were married in Johnson 
County, Ind., where they remained for some time, removing thence to 
Morgan County, where his father followed cabinet-making and carpenter- 
ing until his death, which occurred October 5, 1877. The mother at pres- 
ent resides in Morgantown. In April, 1869, Jarvis J. Hilton was em- 
ployed as clerk in a general merchandise store, where he remained for 
three years. He then went into the employ of the National Publishing 
Company for a short time, after which he was in Franklin, Ind., for some 
time. Returning to Morgantown, he clerked for Samuel Rozengarten, 
a merchant in that place, until in the fall of 1877; afterward for another 
merchant in the town until December, 1878. Meanwhile he had been 
reading law, and in November, 1877, was admitted to the bar in Morgan 



192 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

County. He is at present extensively engaged in the practice of law 
and pension business in Martinsville. In 1881, he was appointed Deputy 
Prosecuting Attorney and served creditably for about two years. In 
April, 1877, he was married to Ida M. Skinner, daughter of George W. 
Skinner, a pioneer of Morgan County. By this union there was one 
child— Fred H., November 19, 1879. His wife dying, he was next mar- 
ried, May 6, 1880, to Flora B. Pervis, daughter of George C. Pervis, a 
citizen of Johnson County. Mr. Hilton is a member of the I. O. O. F., 
and is at present Prelate of the K. of P., Anniversary Lodge, No. 89. 

D. L. HINE was born in Lincoln County, N. C, May 26, 1829, and 
is the youngest child of Philip and Mary M. (Shufford) Hine, the former 
born in Germany in 1774, the latter in Lincoln County, N. C, in 1784 
Philip Hine emigi-ated to America in 1795, and located in Lincoln Coun- 
ty, N. C, where he married in 1803. In 1836, they moved to Morgan 
County, Ind., where they ended their days, he in 1856, she in 1844. 
Their family comprised eleven children — Elizabeth, George J., Barbara, 
Daniel S., Henry, Anna, Philip J., Clara, John W., Sarah and David L. 
Our subject married in this county, July 6, 1856, Miss Sarah, daughter 
of Cutter and Elizabeth Salmon, and born in Morris County, N. J., July 
21, 1824; she died December 25, 1876, having borne one child— Flora B. 
February 19, 1879, Mr. Hine married Miss Jennie, daughter of "William 
and Cynthia Clark, and born in Appanoose County, Iowa, November 11, 
1856. The result of this union was two children — Gentry S. and 
Edna M. 

HIRAM J. HINSON was born in Mooresville, Morgan County, De- 
cember 31, 1850. His parents, William H. and Mary (Butner) Hinson, 
natives of North Carolina, were married in Morgan County, and located 
in Mooresville, where the father has farmed, and they at present reside. 
Hiram J. Hinson is the fourth son and o.hild of a family of nine children. 
He was reared and educated in his native town. When sixteen years of 
age, he began working on a farm in the neighborhood and continued to 
farm for five years. In 1861, he began learning the cabinet-making with 
his uncle in Mooresville. Remaining with him for two and a half years, 
he came to Martinsville. Here he entered the employ of Lewis & Co., 
and in 1873 he opened a shop of his own in Monrovia, Morgan County, 
and after one year in this, he returned to Martinsville. He then en- 
tered the employ of J. A. Lewis, a furniture dealer, with whom he re- 
mained for four years. On December 23, 1878, he became a partner of 
W. W. Kennedy in the same business, having bought his stock of Mr. 
Lewis. Three years later he purchased the other half interest, and has since 
carried on the business by himself, at present being one of Martinsville's 
most successful and enterprising merchants. He has a stock of furniture 
worth $4,000, and is also doing a superior class of undertaking. Mr. 
Hinson is a member of the A. F. & A. M., Martinsville Lodge, No. 74. 
Politically he is a Republican. 

GEORGE HUBBARD, born in Columbus, Bartholomew Co., Ind., 
June 31, 1843, is the fifth of six sons born to John C. and Hannah 
(Brice) Hubbard, natives of Connecticut and Pennsylvania. In August, 
1862, he enlisted in Company A, Ninety-third Indiana Volunteers, under 
Capt. Charles Hubbard. He served for three years, and took part at 
Jackson, Miss., Vicksburg and the Mobile campaign. After the war, he 
resided in Edinbur^ until 1869, and then went to Columbus, Ind. , where 
he remained four years in the general merchandise business. In 1873, 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP AND MARTINSVILLE. 193 

he went into the himber business and ran a saw mill in Bartholomew Coun- 
ty for three years, when he again went into the general merchandise bus- 
iness in Columbus. In the fall of 1878, he removed to Seymour, Ind. ; 
went into the saw mill business again, afterward going to Bartholomew 
County and engaging in the same business for a shoi't time. In 1880, he 
was appointed Deputy Sheriff in that county, serving for two years, when 
he came to Martinsville, where, becoming a partner in the saw and plan- 
ing mills, he manufactures doors and sashes and builders' and general mer- 
chandise. September 11, 1882, he was married to Hannah B. Stevens, 
daughter of John and Mary Stevens, citizens of Ohio. Mr. Hubbard is 
a member of the K. of P., and in politics is a stanch Republican. His 
wife is a member of the Presbyterian Church. 

D. P. KENNEDY, M. D., was born in Morgan County February 19, 
1845> and is the son of Luke C. and Jane (Blockford) Kennedy, who were 
born and married in Kentucky, but were early settlers of Jefferson Town- 
ship, this county, where the father still resides. The mother died in 
1854, leaving seven children, of whom D. P. is the youngest. The 
early days of Dr. Kennedy were passed on the home farm and attending 
the district school. At the age of seventeen, he enlisted in Company H, 
Seventieth Indiana Infantry, in August, 1862, and served three years, 
taking part as private and non-commissioned officer in the fights at Buz- 
zard Roost, Resaca, Golgotha Church and Peach Tree Creek; he was 104 
days under tire in the Atlanta campaign, and went through with Sher- 
man to tixe sea; he saw the surrender of Johnston and was in the grand 
review at Washington. At Golgotha, he was shot through the nose and 
mouth; his muster-out took place in June, 1865. On his return, he 
farmed in Jefferson Township one year; then attended and taught school 
two years; then commenced the study of medicine at Paragon with Dr. 
John Kennedy, with whom he remained nearly three years. He grad- 
uated from the Cincinnati Eclectic Medical College in 1870, returned to 
Paragon, and for seven years was in practice in partnership with his 
brothel'. In March, 1877, he came to Martinsville, where he has ever 
since enjoyed an extensive and lucrative patronage. He is a member of 
the State Eclectic Medical Society, of the G. A. R, and K. of P., and in 
politics is a Republican. In 1871, he married Miss M. Olive Chambers, 
who has borne him two children — Alexander R. and Park W. Mrs. Ken- 
nedy is a native of Hendiicks County, Ind., and is a member of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church. 

THOMAS A. KENNEDY is the sixth son and tenth child of John and 
Mary K. (Alexander) Kennedy, natives of Virginia, and of Scotch-Irish 
descent. He was born, October 18, 1843, in Georgetown, Brown Co., 
Ind. His parents were married in or near Greenville, Tenn. , about 
1825, where they lived for seven years, removing thence to Indiana. They 
located in Johnson County, and in 1838, moved to Brown County. Lo- 
cating in Georgetown, his father followed merchandising for several 
years, and afterward engaged in farming, which he followed until his 
death in 1864; his mother is still living in Brown County at the age of 
seventy- eight. Thomas, when eighteen years of age, enlisted in Com- 
pany C, Twenty-second Indiana Volunteers, under Col. Jeff C. Davis. 
He served for four years, and took part in the fights at Pea Ridge, Stone 
River and Mission Ridge, and in almost every encounter from the last- 
named battle to Peach Tree Creek, where he was made a prisoner of war, 
being placed in Andersonville Prison, and thence removed to Charleston, 



194 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

S. C. ; then to Florence, remaining a prisoner altogether about eight 
months, when he was discharged under a general order. He re-enlisted 
and took part in the Chattanooga campaign. He went to the relief of 
Burnside before Knoxville, and thence returned to Chattanooga. In 
June, 1865, he received an honorable discharge and retm-ned to his home 
in Brown County, where, in January following, he was married to Sa- 
mantha Davis, of Virginia. They have seven children — William D,, 
Eosa, Clement R., Orrin and Odell (twins), Earl and Pearl (twins). 
After his marriage, he farmed in Brown County and then in Illinois for 
three years, after which he removed to Johnson County and became 
agent for the Singer Sewing Machine Company. In February, 1878, he 
came to Martinsville, where he has since resided, representing the same 
company. Mr. Kennedy is a member of the K. of P., and with his wife 
is an active member of the Missionary Baptist Church. Politically he is 
a Democrat. 

JAMES P. KENNEDY was born in Brown County, Ind., on May 
3, 1846. His parents, John and Mary (Alexander) Kennedy, were na- 
tives of Virginia. James P. is the youngest of a family of seven chil- 
dren. He was reared and educated in Brown County. When he was 
nineteen years of age,he entered the employ of William Stafford, a farmer 
in Johnson County, where he remained for one year. He was then em- 
ployed by George W. Ware, of Amity, to work in a saw mill and stave 
factory, with whom he remained for three years. He then began farming 
in Johnson County and continued for eight years, after which, in 1879, 
he sold out and came to Martinsville. He was here employed by the 
Singer Stowing Machine Company. In February, 1882. he formed a 
partnership with A. P. Shields, and purchased the "Red Cloud" saloon, 
where he is at present enjoying a lucrative trade. He was married on 
December 17, 1868, to Addie Mitchell, daughter of James A. Mitchell, 
a citizen of Johnson County. They have four children — Willie E., Wal- 
ter A., Maudie and Cecil C. Mr. and Mrs. Kennedy are identified with 
the Christian Church, and Mr. Kennedy is politically a Democrat. 

DR. CHARLES A.KESSINGERwasborn.February8, 1853, in Athens 
County, Ohio. He is the eldest child, and second son of Joseph L. and 
Mary (Jewett) Kessinger, natives of Ohio, who were married in their na- 
tive place. The father was elected Sheriff of the county in 1852, and 
served for four years. In 1868, he was appointed Internal Revenue Col- 
lector, which office he filled for ten years. He served all through the 
war, and was commissioned Captain of the Fortieth Ohio for meritorious 
conduct. Charles A. Kessinger was reared in Athens County, where he 
received a good collegiate education in the Ohio University. In 1873, 
he began reading medicine with Dr. A. B. Frame, of Athens, and con- 
tinued for three years, during which time he graduated at the Ohio Med- 
ical College at Cincinnati in the spring of 1876. April 8, 1876, he was 
appointed Superintendent of the Ohio Penitentiary Hospital, and served 
five years. In March, 1883, he came to Martinsville and entered the 
regular practice, and is at present so engaged. On September 19, 1883, 
he was married here to Julia D. Blackstone, daughter of Dr. D. B. Black- 
stone. Mr. Kessinger is a member of the A. F. & A. M., Parmacetia 
Lodge, Athens, Ohio. Politically he is a Republican. He is eminent as a 
practitioner and respected as a citizen. 

LINDEN LAUGHLIN is a native of Owen County, Ind., was bom 
May 9, 1832, and is directly descended from William and Nancy (Mac- 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP AND MARTINSVILLE. 195 

kindley) Laughlin, natives respectively of Tennessee and Indiana, and of 
Irish extraction. They were parents of four children, namely: Mary J,, 
John, Matilda and Linden. The subject of this sketch. Linden Laugh- 
lin, married, January 11, 1856, in this county, Miss Mary, daughter of 
William and Sarah Sraver, and a native of this county, born October 25, 
1835. This union was endeared and cemented by the blessing of two 
children— Francis M. and Margaret J., both of whom are deceased. Mr. 
Laughlin is a well-known and much-respected citizen. 

FRANCIS C. LLOYD is the youngest son in a family of eight chil- 
dren, born to Owen and Sarah (Coleman) Lloyd, natives of Ireland and 
Ohio, respectively. He was born in Morgan County, Ind. , September 
10, 1852. His parents were married in Ohio and lived there until 1840, 
when they came to Indiana and located in Morgan County, on a farm of 
320 acres, a part of which he entered, and where, in the full enjoyment of 
excellent health, they at present reside. Francis C. Lloyd was reared 
on the old home farm in Morgan County, where he obtained a good edu- 
cation in the district schools. In 1871, he went to Indianapolis 
and entered the wholesale and retail meat business, where he re- 
mained for two years. He then went to Morgan County and commenced 
farming there. In 1877, he went into the meat business in Morgan- 
town, Morgan County; removing thence to Martinsville, he opened 
a meat market and after two years in this was elected Deputy Sheriff. 
In April, 1883, he entered the grocery business and is at present carrying 
on quite a successful business, one door north of the post office. In Oc- 
tober, 1871, he was married in Paris, 111., to Miss Margaret Norman, a 
daughter of Hiram and Annie Norman, old and respected citizens of 
Morgan County. By this union there were six children — Ira, Bertha, 
Edna, Edgar (deceased) Effie and Harry. Mr. Lloyd and wife are mem- 
bers of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He is a member of the I. O. 
O. F. , Martinsville Lodge, No. 274, and is a Republican. 

CHARLES LONG is a native of Morgan County, Ind. , and was born 
July 24, 1829, his parents being Samuel and Nancy (Smith) Long, both 
of whom were natives of North Carolina, and who at a very early time emi- 
grated to this county, where they lived until overtaken by death. Samuel 
Long was twice married, and was the father of twelve children — James 
R., Charles, Alexander, Minerva, "William, Elijah, Lizah, Erastus, Eras- 
pus and three others. Charles, having remained in the county of his 
birth, married, November, 1849, Elizabeth Asher. They had a family of 
fourteen children — Minerva, Nancy, Alice, George (deceased), Martha 
(deceased), Charles, "William, Alexander, Cosey, Julia, Edwin, and three 
who died in infancy. Mr. Long is a pleasant gentleman and a gi-eatly 
respected citizen. 

HARVEY McDANIEL is a native of Pulaski County, Ky., was bom 
August 29, 1825, and is the fifth of the family of Spencer and Martha 
McDaniel, natives of Virginia and Tennessee respectively. The grand- 
father of our subject was also a native of Virginia, where he married, and 
in the early time emigrated to Pulaski County, Ky. , there continuing to 
reside until his decease. His family consisted of Polly, "William, Eliz- 
abeth, John and Spencer. Spencer McDaniel was born in 1782, and in 
Kentucky married Martha Derosset, with whom, in 1834, he moved to 
Monroe, and the following year to Morgan County, Ind., where he closed 
his life January 21, 1871. He had been a soldier in the war of 1812, 
and the parent of eight children — Mary, Hardin, Elizabeth, Channa, 



196 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

Samantha, Julia, Clarinda and Harvey. Harvey McDaniel, January 10, 
1850, married Rebecca A, Darrell, who died May 25, 1853. He next 
married, March 24, 1880, Martha Owens, widow of Jacob Owens. Mr. 
McDaniel is the father of two children — Elizabeth (deceased) and Martha 
E. (now Mrs. Beattie, residing in Wisconsin). 

JAMES M. McGOWEN is a native of this county, was born January 
3, 1840, and is one of the seven children of John and Malinda (Thomas) 
McGowen, natives respectively of Tennessee and Kentucky. They were 
married in Kentucky, whence at an early day they moved to this county, 
and lived the remainder of their days, having been parents of seven chil- 
dren — Polly A. , Andrew J. , Thomas, Greenberry, Sarah, Elizabeth and 
James M. In August, 1862, our subject enlisted in Company H, 
Seventieth Indiana Volunteers, in which he served until discharged, 
November, 1864. March 15, 1865, in Monroe County, Ind., he married 
Nancy A., daughter of John and Adaline Martin, from which union re- 
sulted seven children — John, Rebecca J., Mary E., Nancy A., James M. 
(deceased), Nora A. and William J. After marriage, Mr. McGowen settled 
here, but four years later purchased a farm in Monroe County, to which 
he removed, and where he remained until 1873, at which period he pur- 
chased and occupied his present home and farm, embracing 490 acres of 
valuable land. Mr. McGowen is much regarded by his neighbors. 

WILLIAM MABEE, Township Trustee, is a native of Sussex 
County, N. J.; was born March 8, 1822; was reared in his native county, 
and there maiTied November 2, 1849, to Miss Catherine Peters. In 
1854, he emigrated to this State, located in this county, and engaged at 
carpentering in this town until 1865, when he purchased ninety acres 
three miles from town, and combined farming labor with his trade. In 
April, 1882, he was elected School Trustee, which office he now fills. 
Mr. Mabee is a Democrat. He enlisted as a volunteer for the Mexican 
war, took active part at Contreras and Churubusco, and in the latter bat- 
tle was wounded. Mr. and Mrs. Mabee are the parents of five children, 
which are thus named: Jacob, Abraham, Elizabeth (Mrs. Thomas), Katie 
J. (Mrs. Bergman), and Sarah H. (Mrs. Dyer). 

SYLVANUS MAJOR is a native of Morgan County, Ind., born April 
26, 1849, and is the second child of Noah J. and Mary E. Major. Noah J. 
Major is a son of William A. Major, born August 14, 1823. In 1844, 
he wedded Hannah Hastings, and after her decease married, in 1846, 
Mary E. Rudicel, to which union were born five children — Isabel, Syl- 
vanus, Amanda (deceased), Mary E. (deceased), and Laura. She also 
died, and he thereafter married in 1875 Mrs. Margaret A. Piercy. Mr. 
Major is a very prominent citizen, having been three times elected to 
the Legislature and for thirty years a member of the Christian Church. 
Sylvanus Major, our subject, married, March 20, 1872, Mary E., daugh- 
ter of Thompson and Mary J. Hendricks, and native of this county, born 
January 6, 1856, which union has produced five children — William H, 
Zora I., Amanda J. (deceased), Otis H. and Mary J. Soon after his 
marriage, Mr. Major settled on his farm and present home of 224 acres of 
valuable land. He is a much respected gentleman. 

HON. JAMES J. MAXWELL was born in Morgan County, Ind., 
February 27, 1839, and is the eldest of the family of John and Cather- 
ine Maxwell, natives of Ireland. The grandfather of our subject was a 
native of England, who emigrated to Ireland, and thence, in 1805, to 
America, where he settled at Germantown, Columbia County, N. Y. 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP AND MARTINSVILLE. 197 

About 1813, he moved to Lebanon, Ohio, thence to Dearborn County, 
Ind., and finally, in 1842, to Morgan County, where death laid claim to 
him. He was by trade a weaver, and that was his life-long business. 
His family comprised seven children — Robert, James, William, Henry, 
Nancy, Ellen and John. John Maxwell was born in County Down, Ire- 
land, July 24, 1805, and was married in Cincinnati, Ohio, 1837, to 
Catherine Graham, born in 1812. After marriage, Mr. Maxwell located 
near Lawrenceburg, Ind., and in 1838 moved to Morgan County, pur- 
chased land and settled in Washington Township, where he died Febru- 
ary, 1872. His family was as follows: Susan (deceased), Jane (deceased), 
Susanna, John (deceased), Robert F., Catherine and James J. James J. 
Maxwell was educated in the district schools in part, but which educa- 
tion he completed at Cincinnati. February 14, 1866, in this county, he 
married Cynthia A., daughter of John and Lucy Hodges, and born Jan- 
uary 18, 1848, a union which gave being to eight children — Josie, Min- 
nie (deceased). Otto (deceased), Franklin R., Howard, Nora (deceased), 
Mittie M. and Don. Mr. Maxwell was elected to the Legislature in 
1874, H position which he filled with honor. He is a highly respected 
citizen and a member of the Christian Church. 

JAMES H. MAXWELL is a native of Morgan County, Ind. ; was 
born February 6, 1855, and is the only son of James and Eleanor Max- 
well, natives of Dearborn County, Ind. The grandfather of our 
subject was a native of Ireland, who at an early day emigrated to Amer- 
ica, and reached Dearborn County, whence, in 1840, he moved to Morgan 
County, where he died in 1849, aged seventy-four years. James Max- 
well, his son, was born in Dearborn County September 26, 1810, and 
there married to Eleanor Paden, with issue of the following children: 
Mary J. (deceased), Martha, Eliza A., Nancy E. (deceased). Prudence M., 
Nancy J. and James H. In 1839, he moved to Morgan County, and died 
October 30, 1865. Mrs. Maxwell is still living. James H. Maxwell, 
since the death of his father, has had charge of the homestead farm, 
which he is managing in addition to forty acres of his own. He is a 
very excellent and intelligent young gentleman, yet unmarried and a 
member of the Christian Church. 

WILLIAM H. MILLER, hardware merchant, is a native of Shelby 
County, Ind., and was born December 10, 1840. He was reared in 
his native county, and there remained until 1873; he attended the high 
school at Shelbyville, took a commercial course in Bryant & Stratton's 
College, and afterward engaged in teaching. April 21, 1861, he enlisted 
for three months and afterward served almost three years in Company D, 
Thirty-third Indiana Regiment; was later transferred to Company E, 
One Hundred and Thirty-second Indiana Volunteer Infantry, and took 
part in the following actions: Philippi, Laurel Hill, Cheat River, Wild 
Cat, Thompson Station, Peach Tree Creek and the Atlanta campaign. 
He was discharged September 7, 1864; returned to Shelby County; was 
elected County Sui'veyor in 1866, and re-elected in 1868. December 21, 
1864, he married Miss Marthena Toner, with a result of five children — 
Laura B., Albert L., Alice, Edgar and Mary B. At this time, Mr. Miller 
engaged in merchandising and dealing in grain, which he continued 
until 1873, when he removed to this town and purchased a hardware 
store. He represents himself in the firm of J^Iiller & Co. ; they also deal 
in agricultural implements, have some $10,000 invested, and do from 
$40,000 to $50,000 per year. Mr. Miller is a Mason and an Odd Fellow; 
and has, besides a good town residence, 160 acres in Jasper County, 111. 



198 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

SAMUEL M. MITCHELL was born in Charlston, Clarke County, 
Ind., July 7, 1814. His parents, Giles and Maiy (Moore) Mitchell, were 
natives of Virginia and Kentucky respectively, and were married in 1807 
in Kentucky. Three years later they came to Indiana, and settled in 
Charleston, where there was but a fort and one block -house. He followed 
his trade as brick-layer until 1820, when he came to Bartholomew County 
and remained until 1833, removing thence to Martinsville, where he built 
the first court house, thus continuing at his trade until his death, which 
occurred July 5, 1865. The mother died August 3, 1828. Samuel M. 
Mitchell is the third son and fourth child in a family of six children. 
He was reared in Clarke County until six years of age; then removed to 
Bartholomew County, where he remained for twelve years. He then came 
to Martinsville, and entered the employ of his brother, a dealer in gen- 
eral merchandise. He remained with him one year; then went to Salem, 
Ind., where he attended school for one year. Thence he went to Madi- 
son, Ind. , and afterward was appointed second clerk of the " Livingston," a 
steamboat between Cincinnati and New Orleans. He returned in one 
year, and going to Martinsville became partner of his brother in the 
general merchandise store, and continued in that until 1867. He then 
sold his interest and formed a partnership with his son William in the 
same business, and is at present so engaged, enjoying a lucrative busi- 
ness. In June, 1867, he opened a private loan and deposit bank in 
Martinsville, which is still flourishing. In 1840, he was married to Jane 
M. Dietz, daughter of David Dietz, a citizen of Columbus, Ind. By this 
union there were two children — William, and Mariah J. (deceased). His 
wife died in January, 1846, and in December, 1849, he married Mrs. 
Annie Eslinger, a daughter of Jeremiah Sandy, a citizen of Gosport. By 
this union there were eight children, six of whom are living — Catharine, 
Dr. Giles S. (now of Cincinnati), Mary E., Eobert B. (at present the 
Cashier of Mitchell's Bank), India and Anna. Mr. IMitchell and wife 
are members of the Christian Church, and he is Republican. 

JAMES V. MITCHELL, attorney at law, is a native of this county, 
born October 15, 1842, and was here reared. After attending the pre- 
liminary schools he became a student of and graduated from the State 
University at Bloomington in 1862, after which he began the study of 
law with Messrs. Barbour & Howland, and later formed a partnership 
with Alfred Ennis, but is now a member of the firm of Mitchell & Cox. 
In 1863, he married, in Monroe County, Ind., Miss Addie Draper, 
daughter of Jesse Draper; she died November 7, 1869, in San Jose, Cal., 
leaving two children — May Pearl and Dick Draper. April 26, 1871, he 
wedded his second wife, Mrs. Sallie F. Lawson. INIr. Mitchell was in 
early life a Douglas Democrat; during the war, he voted with the Repub- 
licans, and after the great struggle he again joined the Democratic ranks. 
In 1868, he was elected to the Legislature from this county by the Re- 
publicans, and was the only member of that party who voted and fought 
against the fifteenth amendment. In 1871, he was elected by the Legis- 
lature Trustee of the Wabash & Erie Canal. Mr. Mitchell is a member 
of the Masonic fraternity, 

JOHN S. NEWBY, attorney at law, of the firm of Adams & Newby, 
is a native of this county, of which he is also a citizen, and was born 
December 20, 1848. After attending the general schools of the county, 
the Mooresville High School and the State University at Bloomington, 
Ind., in which he took a four years' course and from which he graduated 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP AND MARTINSVILLE. 199 

in the literary department as B. S. in 1873, and in the law department 
in 1874, in the autumn of which year he located in Martinsville for the 
practice of his profession, and in 1877 he made a partnership with Mr. 
Adams. January 21, 1880, be married in Martinsville Miss Mary Miller. 
Ml'. Newby is a Kepublican, and takes deep interest in the success of 
that party. He is a member of the Masonic, also of the Phi Gamma 
Delta, college fraternity, and of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He 
has a farm of 120 acres in Section 28, Washiugton Township, one-half 
mile north of Martinsville, and likewise a pleasant residence in the town. 

WILLIAM NICHOLSON was born in Salem County, N. J., July 
20, 1830. His parents, Isaac and Rebecca (Fogg) Nicholson, natives of 
Maryland and New Jersey respectively, were married in Philadelphia, 
and shortly afterward removed to Salem County, N . J. , where the father 
carried on the manufacture of edged tools until a few years prior to his 
death in 1868. The mother died in 1873. William Nicholson is the 
third son and fourth child in family, and was reared in New Jersey, 
where he obtained a good education in the schools of his native town. 
When iifteen years of age, he came to Milton, Wayne County, Ind., 
where he learned the blacksmith's trade with his brother John, with 
whom he remained for three years; returning thence to New Jersey, he 
followed his trade until 1866, when he began the study of dentistry with 
his brother George, and one year later purchased the business of his 
brother. The spring of 1869, he removed to Wilson County, Kan., and 
practiced dentistry until in 1875. He then came to Indiana, and opened 
an office in Xenia, Miami County, where he remained only a short time. 
Removing to Plainfield, he engaged in his practice there, and in 1878, 
came to Morgan County and opened an office in Mooresville, where he 
lived until June, 1882, when he came to Martinsville and is at present 
here engaged very successfully. On March 4, 1852, he was married to 
Emily Sickler, of Salem, N. J. They had five children — William S., 
Albert A., Harriet E., Anna B. (deceased) and an infant. His wife died 
August 20, 1866, an active member of the Baptist Church. On May 15, 
1868, he married to Sallie D. Price, daughter of Jacob and Mary Price, 
of Salem, N. J. They have had four children — Mary D.,Harry, Fannie and 
Frank (deceased). Mr. Nicholson is a member of the K. of .H., Moores- 
ville Lodge, No. 997; in politics, he is a Republican, and he and wife are 
members of the Christian Church. 

JOHN NUTTER was born in Fayette County, Ky., August 29, 1817, 
and is a son of Hewitt and Susan Nutter, also natives of Fayette County, 
Ky. Hewitt Nutter, a son of Thomas Nutter, was born in 1785; married 
in Kentucky, Susan Talbott, removed to Warrick County, Ind., in 1823, 
and thence in 1828 to Morgan County. Mrs. Nutter died in 1837, after 
which Mr. Nutter married Catherine Wilson, and died February 26, 1846, 
the father of seventeen children — thirteen by his first and four by his last 
wife. John Nutter came with his parents to this county, where he has 
since remained. August 26, 1841, he married Sarah Wilson, a native of 
Franklin County, and daughter of Joel Wilson, who emigrated to that 
county in 1811. This union was graced by three children — Harriet A. 
(deceased), Albert H. and an infant unnamed. After his marriage, Mr. 
Nutter located on a farm at Indian Creek, and in 1842 purchased a 
boat and ferried over White River until 1849, when he purchased and 
occupied his present farm. He began life unaided, but now owns over 
2,000 acres, being one of the most extensive farmers and stock dealers in 
the county. 



200 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

CLEMENT H. NUTTER was born in Fayette County, Ky., Decem- 
ber 7, 1820, and is descended from Hewitt and Susan (Talbott) Nutter, 
also natives of Fayette County, Ky., the former born in 1785, the latter 
in 1787. In 1823, they moved to Warrick County, Ind., and thence in 
1828 to this county, where, in 1837, Mrs. Nutter died. Mr. Nutter died 
in 1846, having previously married Catherine Wilson. His family was 
as follows: Ellen, Rebecca, Sarah, John (deceased), Richard, Edwin, 
John, Cassandra, Clement H., Daniel G., David, William, Thomas, Mary 
A., Isaac W., Robert W., and an infant, deceased. Clement H. Nutter 
married in this county, November 13, 1846, Julia A., daughter of Will- 
iam H. and Julia Craig, and born in this county February 15, 1831; 
she died February 13, 1866, having borne a family of six — Sarah E., 
Mary A., Emma (deceased), Walter E., Hattie and William (deceased). 
Mr. Nutter is a greatly esteemed gentleman, and a consistent member of 
the Christian Church. 

ALBERT H. NUTTER first saw the light of this world in Morgan 
County, Ind., on the 2d day of May and of the year 1854. He is a son 
of John and Sarah Nutter, and a young man of uncommon excellence 
and much promise. September 2, 1875, he married Miss Charlotte T., 
daughter of Thompson and Mary J. Hendricks, and a native of this 
county, having been born August 29, 1858. To this happy union have 
been born two children— William C. and Edith E. Mr. Nutter is highly 
respected in his community, and resides on one of the farms belonging 
to his father, in Section 21. 

HENRY H. OLDS, proprietor of the "Eureka House," was born in 
this county June 6, 1840, where he was reared and has made a home. 
George W. Olds, father of our subject, was born in Connecticut Janu- 
ary 11, 1810. He came early to this county, where he married, June 6, 
1834, Miss Eliza A. Wall, who died August 18, 1842, leaving two chil- 
dren — William (deceased) and Henry H. He next married, August 10, 
1843, Miss Louisa Rudicel, which union gave being to five children- 
Harriet E., Francis A. (deceased), Charles W., Lina E. and Eliza Ann 
(deceased). Mr. Olds was a carpenter, and worked many years thereat. 
He built the first steam saw and grist mills in the town — the former in 
1848, the latter in 1858. In July, 1861, Henry H. Olds enlisted in Com- 
pany K, Twenty-first Indiana Volunteer Infantry, which regiment was 
assigned to the Fifteenth Army Corps, marching to Newport News, and 
thence to New Orleans. He was in many skirmishes, and was wounded 
in the battle of Baton Rouge, which wound was severe, shattering a bone 
and making him a cripple. He served three years, was promoted to a 
First Lieutenancy, and resigned on the death of his father. February 20, 
1863, he man-ied Sarah Koons, who died October 8, 1872, the mother of 
three children — Butler (deceased) William A. and Perry. He next mar- 
ried Mrs. Alice Raniez November 23, 1873, and that year he sold his 
farm interest, moved to Martinsville, worked at carpentering, and in 
1880 became landlord of the "Eureka House." Mr. Olds is a Free- 
mason, a member of the G. A. R. and a Republican, by which party he 
was elected, November, 1882, County Recorder. 

WILLARD E. PARKS was born in Martinsville, November 7, 1855. 
He was the youngest of nine children born to Perminter M. Parks, a na- 
tive of North Carolina. He came to Indiana when seven years of age, 
and in twenty-two years was married and living in Martinsville with a 
family growing up around him. He was quite a prominent man in In- 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP AND MARTINSVILLE. 201 

diana; his death occurred on July 24, 1867, in his sixtieth year. The 
subject of this sketch was reared in Martinsville, and educated in the 
public schools. In 1873, he entered Wabash College at Crawfordsville, 
which he attended for one year. In 1875, he entered Washington and 
Lee University at Lexington, Ky., where he stayed for one year. In 
1874, he had attended the Christian University at Indianapolis one year. 
Shortly after he was through college, he began speculating, and is so en- 
gaged at present. On December 4, 1879, he was married to Miss Fannie 
Henderson, daughter of Ebenezer Henderson, of Martinsville. They 
have two children — Myra and Robin. Mr. Parks is a member of the K. 
of P. Anniversary Lodge, and also of the I. O. O. F., Martinsville Lodge, 
No. 274. In politics he is Democratic. 

EATON W. PAXSON was born in Warren County, Ohio, January 
13, 1854. His parents, William and Margaret (Shrack) Paxson, natives of 
Virginia and Pennsylvania respectively, and of Scotch, Irish and Grerman 
extraction, were married in Warren County, Ohio, in 3853. Thence, 
three years later, they removed to Greene Township, Morgan Co., Ind., 
and located on a farm of 160 acres, to which the father added 122 acres 
before his death, which occurred June 26, 1883. The mother is now liv- 
ing on the home farm, seventy-two years of age. Eaton W. Paxson is 
the elder of two sons, and was reared in Green Township, Morgan 
County, where he received a good education. When twenty years of 
age, he began teaching school. His first two years he taught in Green 
Township. He then entered Valparaiso Normal College, and three years 
later graduated. Ho is also a graduate of the commercial course there. 
After this time until June, 1881, he farmed and taught school. He was 
then elected County Superintendent on the Democratic ticket, and in 
1883, having faithf ally served his term of o£&ce, he was re-elected and at 
present is in discharge of the duties devolving upon him. Mr. Paxson is 
a member of the A. F. & A. M., of the I. O. O. F. and also of the En- 
campment. In September, 1875, he was united in marriage to Mary E. 
Koons, a native of Morgan County, and a daughter of James and Rebecca 
Koons, respected pioneei's of Morgan County. 

VAN B. PEARCY was born in Johnson County, Ind., September 
15, 1843, and is one of the thirteen children of Henry and Lovina Pearcy, 
natives of Kentucky and Indiana respectively. The grandfather of our 
subject, Robert Pearcy, was a native of Kentucky, where he married. 
Subsequently he removed to Jennings County, Ind., where he died about 
1852. He was twice married and reared a large family. Henry Pearcy 
was the eldest of his father's family. He was born July 24, 1815, and 
after coming to Jennings County married Miss Lovina Whitsitt, then 
moved to Johnson County, and in the spring of 1847 to Morgan County, 
where he closed his life. His children were by names — Jacob, Robert, 
John, George, Van B., Mary, Martha, Charity, Harriet, William, Joseph, 
Nancy and Hiram T. Van B. Pearcy, our subject, married November 9, 
1865, Miss Caroline, daughter of Charles and Louisa Hess, and a native 
of this county, born August 22, 1844. Shortly after marriage, Mr. Pearcy 
moved to Crawford County, 111., and remained until 1867, when he re- 
moved to this county, and located on a good farm of 139 acres, all well 
improved. Mr. and Mrs. Pearcy have had seven children — George R. 
(deceased), Charles H., John W., Wilford B., Annettie, Robert and an 
infant daughter (deceased). 



202 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

FRANCIS p. A. PHELPS, attorney at law, was bom in Jackson 
County, Ind. , December 4. 1822. His parents, Geoige A. and Rebecca 
Phelps, removed to this county in 1824, shortly after its organization, 
and settled on what was subsequently the site of Brooklyn. In 1826, 
Mr. Phelps was elected Sheriff, the second person who held that office, 
and removed to Martinsville. In 1828, he was elected Clerk of the county, 
the second incumbent of that office, which position he held at his death, 
February 25, 1833, aged thirty-six. He served as Drum Major of a Bal- 
timore regiment in the war of 1812; his wife survived him until 
February 25, 1863, and, strangely true! died on the same day and 
month thirty years afterward. They were the parents of five chil- 
dren, two of whom are living and reside in Martinsville. Francis P. A. 
had but meager facilities for education in boyhood, yet later attended two 
sessions at the county seminary. At the age of twenty-one, he served as 
Deputy Sheriff, with full management of the office. In 1846, he was 
elected Sheriff, re-elected in 1848, and on October 21 of that year mar- 
ried Miss Eleanor E. Tull; they have seven children — Zerilda, Tull, Al- 
len H., Francis P. A., William C, Eleanor E. and Thursa R. After this 
time, Mr. Phelps engaged in the drug business at Martinsville for five 
years, during which he studied law, engaged in its practice in 1857, and 
in February, 1883, was appointed Prosecuting Attorney for this district. 
He was a Whig, is a Republican, and a member of the Presbyterian 
Church. He has a good residence in town, and 220 acres adjacent. 

TULL PHELPS, eldest son and second child of F. P. A. Phelps, 
was born January 26, 1851, in Martinsville, where he was reared and 
educated. When nineteen years of age, he went into the employ of N. 
T. Cunningham, a general merchandise merchant of Martinsville, and re- 
mained with him for about one year. He then attended Bryant & 
Stratton's Commercial College at Indianapolis, where he took a course in 
book-keeping. Returning to Martinsville, he began the study of law with 
his father, which he continued for some time, afterward being again em- 
ployed by the same firm, in which he had formerly been as book-keeper. 
In 1875, he took an intere.st in this business, and it was continued under 
the firm name of N. T. Cunningham & Co. for five years, when a third 
interest was purchased. The business has since then been conducted 
under the firm name of Cunningham, Bollinger & Phelps, and is in 
a flourishing condition. Mr. Phelps was married December 20, 1876, to 
Lina E. Olds, daughter of George Olds, a pioneer of Morgan County, the 
Rev. W. T. Furgeson performing the ceremony. Mr. and Mrs. Phelps 
are identified with the Presbyterian Church, and Mr. Phelps is a prom- 
inent member of the Republican party. 

JAMES PRATHER, Sr. , was born in Fleming County, Ky. , August 
4, 1806, and is the eldest of the family of Basil and Mary (George) 
Prather, natives respectively of Virginia and North Carolina, the former 
born in 1785, the latter in 1784. They were married in Kentucky, and 
remained there until 1817, when they moved to Jackson County, Ind., 
where Mrs. Prather died in 1839. Subsequently, Mr. Prather married a 
Mrs. Dobson, and died in 1874, the father of six children — Susan, Mar- 
garet, Thomas, Elizabeth, Jane and James. February 6, 1824, in Jackson 
County, Ind., James Prather married Josephine Hagard, born January 
1, 1808. In 1834, he moved to Morgan County, where Mrs. Prather died 
August 16, 1846, and March 5, 1847, he married Mrs. Almira Taylor, 
widow of Simeon Taylor, a native of Plymouth County, Mass. Mr. 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP AND MARTINSVILLE. 203 

Prather has been the parent of twelve children — John, Martha, Mary, 
Judith, Basil, Thomas, James, William, Edward, Elizabeth and two that 
died in infancy, 

JOHN FEATHER is a native of Morgan County, Ind., was born 
October 10, 1849, and is a son of James H. and Susan (Townsend) 
Prather, both natives of Indiana, the former born in 1817, the latter in 
1815. They were married in Morgan County, where Mr. Prather died in 
1879, and where Mrs. Prather now resides on the homestead. Their 
family consisted of William E., Hannah, Robert, Julia A. (deceased), 
John, George, Jennie, Amanda and Joseph. Our subject, John Prather, 
married, l^'ebruary 27, 1876, in this county, Mary E., daughter of Henry 
and Jane Remer, and born February 10, 1856. The issue of this union 
was two children — Emma J. and James M. Mr. Prather resides at Ma- 
halasville, where he is proprietor of fifty acres of superior land. He is 
now engaged in the lumber business, and is a reputable citizen. 

WILLIAM Y. PRATT was born in Henry County, Va., June 3, 1834 
His parents, James A. and Leanna (Lake) Pratt, natives of Virginia, and 
of Irish and German descent respectively, were married in Henry County 
in 1832, where the father followed his trade as blacksmith until 1836, 
when he came to Indiana, and located in Morgan County. He worked at 
his trade a number of years and then began farming, which he continued 
until January, 1879, when he died. The mother died in March, 1850. 
William Pratt is the eldest child in a family of six children, and was 
reared in Jackson Township, Morgan County, where he obtained the ru- 
diments of a good education. When twenty-two years of age, he began 
learning the carpenter's trade with E. Hilton, and worked with him for 
four years. He then moved to Martinsville and formed a partnership 
with Alfred Carver, and carried on the carpentering business with him for 
three years. In 1876, he was elected Justice of the Peace of Washington 
Township for four years, at the expiration of which time he was re-elected, 
and at present is in the discharge of the duties of that ofiice. In April, 
1857, he was married in Johnson County, Ind., to Lydia C. Winchester, 
daughter of Jordon Winchester, a citizen of Johnson County. By this 
union there were four children — Meliuda J., George N., James (deceased), 
and Joe. Mr. Pratt is a member of the K. of P. Lodge, No. 89, and he 
and wife are members of the Methodist Church. In politics, he is a Re- 
publican. 

JOHN F. RAY, Justice of the Peace, is a native of Wayne County, 
Ky., was born January 26, 1830, and is a son of James and Polly Ray, 
who in that year removed to Bloomington, Ind., and in 1831 to Washing- 
ton Township. James Ray was a carpenter, and for many years labored 
as such, and died in March, 1875; Mrs. Polly Ray is still living. John F. 
Ray learned the trade of a carpenter under his father, and followed the 
same for a long time. He served as Deputy Clerk of this county from 
1852 to 1856, in which year he went to Kentucky, and on May 29 mar- 
ried Miss Angeline Bogle. He remained there until 1863, when he came 
again to Martinsville. Mr. and Mrs. Ray are parents of five children, 
namely, James D., Delia V., Jennie, John B. and Eddie. In 1872, Mr. 
Ray was appointed Deputy Auditor, as which he served about two years. 
He is politically a Democrat, and was elected in 1880 a Justice of the 
Peace for a four years' term. 

FELIX A. REINHART, Justice of the Peace, is a native of Lincoln 
County, N. C. ; was born August 17, 1815, and is a son of John C. and 



204 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

Elizabeth L. Reinhart. Felix was reared in that county, with the ordinary- 
advantages for education, and there married, October 1, 1835, Miss Mary 
Havner, after which he engaged in farming, and in 1838 emigrated to 
Morgan County, Ind. , where he also engaged in farming, and continued 
the same since, except 1854-55, during which years he acted as hotel- 
keeper. He is a member of the Grand Lodge of Odd Fellows of Indiana. 
He is politically a Republican; was appointed to till a vacancy as Justice 
of the Peace, and was afterward elected to the position; he has also 
served as Deputy Sheriff of the county. Mr. and Mrs. Reinhart have 
had born to them a family of seven children, of which number four are 
yet living — Lewis A., John C, George W. and Felix A. He and wife 
are members of the Christian Church. 

CAPT. FLETCHER D. RUNDELL, born January 5, 1839, in Rich- 
land County, Ohio, is the tifth son and seventh child of Hiram R. and 
Mercy (Wyatt) Rundell, natives of New York, and of English and French 
descent. His parents were married in New York, whence they moved to 
a farm in Richland County, Ohio, and lived until 1842, when they came 
to Indiana. They entered eighty acres of land in Green Township, Mor- 
gan County, which they continued to improve for several years. In 1850, 
they removed to a farm near Morgantown, where, in November of the 
same year, the father's death occurred. The mother still lives in Morgan 
County. Capt. Rundell was reared at home until after his father's deaths 
and he was then employed to help on a farm in the immediate neighbor- 
hood. He kept this situation until in 1860, when he began learning the 
carpenter's trade in Morgantown, continuing until 1861. He enlisted in 
April, 1861, in Company K, Seventh Indiana Volunteers, under Capt. J. 
K. Scott, and on September 12, 1861, he enlisted in the three years^ 
service in Company G, Twenty-seventh Indiana Volunteers, under Capt, 
J. R. Fessler. He served nearly four years, and took part in the follow- 
ing engagements: Philippi, Laurel Hill, Carrick's Ford, Antietam, 
Chancellorsville, Gettysburg, Atlanta, and a large number of smaller 
engagements. After the battle of Antietam, he was promoted to Second 
Lieutenant. April 5, 1863, he was promoted to First Lieutenant for 
meritorious conduct, and soon after to the rank of Captain. He received 
an honorable discharge November 4, 1864, and returning to Morgantown 
was soon afterward married to America A. Holman, daughter of William 
P. Holman, of Morgan County. By this union there was one child, 
Chester Q. His wife died August 12, 1867. On June 17, 1870, he mar- 
ried Mary A. Moran, daughter of John Moran, an old citizen of Martins- 
ville, They have one child, Eunice May, In 1867, the Captain came to 
Martinsville, and has since resided there, engaged in carpentering. He 
is a Past Chancellor of the Knights of Pythias, and is politically a Re- 
publican; and he and wife are members of the Methodist Church. 

ALFRED W. SCOTT is a native of Fayette County, Ind., having 
been born on the 8th of November, 1856. He was reared on a farm near 
Connersville, in this State, and attended the common schools of his 
county, an academy at Spiceland, and later the State University at 
Bloomington, from which he graduated, after a four years' course, in 
1881, Previous to his collegiate course, he had studied law at Indian- 
apolis. In 1881, he came to Martinsville and engaged in the practice of 
the legal profession. Recently, he formed a partnership with Mr. Phelps, 
and is now Deputy Prosecuting Attorney for this judicial district. In 
politics, he is an earnest and active Republican; he is also a member of 
the L O. O. F, 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP AND MARTINSVILLE. 205 

ISAAC D. SHEPPARD was born October 30, 1811, in Cumberland 
County, N. J. His parents, Harvey and Amelia (Davis) Shep- 
pard, natives of New Jersey, came to Indiana in 1818, and located near 
Madison, removing thence, in 1834, to Martinsville, Morgan County, Ind., 
where, in 1852, the father died. The mother died in 1880, in Franklin, 
Ind. Isaac D. Sheppard is the eldest in a family of five children, and was 
reai'ed on a farm near Madison, Ind. He received his education in the- 
district schools in the neighborhood, and when fifteen years of age began 
to learn harness-making in Madison. After five and a half years of serv- 
ice, he worked in various places until 1834, when he came to Martins- 
ville. He here opened a harness shop, and at the present time is doing 
a successful business. Mr. Sheppard is a member of the Republican 
party. He was married, in September, 1836, to Thiirza Tull, of Martins- 
ville, and he and wife are identified with the Methodist Episcopal Church, 
and are active workers in its cause. By their union they have three chil- 
dren — William, James and Letitia. 

JAMES S. SHEPPARD is the second son and child of Isaac D. and 
Thurza (Hess) Sheppard, natives of New Jersey and Kentucky respect- 
ively. He was born November 11, 1839, in Martinsville, Moi-gan 
County, Ind. James Sheppard was reared in Martinsville, where he ob- 
tained a good English education. When thirteen years of age, he en- 
tered his father's harness shop and began learning the trade, at which 
he worked until June 16, 1862, when he enlisted in Company C, Six- 
teenth Indiana Volunteers, under Capt. Paul J. Beachbard. He 
served more than three years, participating in the battles at Richmond, 
Ky., Arkansas Post, siege of Vicksburg (Red River campaign), 
Black River, Sabine Cross Roads, and some few others. After the close 
of the war, he returned to his home, where he resumed his trade, which, 
in 1875, he gave up, becoming a partner of N. T. Cunningham, of Mar- 
tinsville, in the general merchandise business. He continued in the 
business for five years, when, his health failing, he sold his interest and 
retired from business for one year. In January, 1881, he became agent 
for pianos and organs in Martinsville, and at present is so engaged very 
successfully. On September 19, 1867, he was married to Lydia S. Me- 
ginnis, a daughter of the Rev. William Meginnis, ' one of the oldest 
Methodist ministers in the Indiana conference. By this union there are 
two children — Harry A. and Lulie A. Mr. Sheppard is a member of the 
I. O. O. F. Lodge, No. 274, and also of the G. A. R. Politically, he is 
a Republican. 

JOHN SHEERER is a native of Morgan County, Ind., was born 
November 15, 1838, and is the son of Joseph and Phebe Sheerer, both 
natives of Ireland, who were brought to America when very young. 
They were married in W^ashington County, ]\Id., April 30, 1837, and 
the same year moved to Morgan County, Ind. , and settled near Mar- 
tinsville, where Mr. Sheerer was killed by the limb of a tree falling upon 
him March 29, 1842. Mrs. Sheerer subsequently married a Mr. Thomas 
McClure, with whom she moved to Martinsville for a time, and then re- 
turned to her present abode; Mr. McClure died January 11, 1867. Mrs. 
McClure is the mother of eight children, two by her former husband^. 
John, and Robert (deceased), and six by her latter husband — Nancy A. 
(deceased), Lida, Isabel W., Francis, Martha A. and Thomas. John 
Sheerer, our subject, was married in this county, May 17, 1872, to Maria 
J. Morbley, and afterward settled on the old homestead, which is still 



206 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

his home. This wife died October 15, 1872, and March 16, 1879, Mr. 
Sheerer wedded Sarah Stewart. Mr. and Mrs. Sheerer have no family, 
but have a good home of 180 acres of excellent land. 

ABEL P. SHIELDS was born in Bartholomew County, Ind., October 
8, 1842. His parents, Samuel and Elizabeth (Roberts) Shields, natives 
of North Corolina and Indiana respectively, were married in Indiana in 
1838, and located on a farm near Columbus, Ind., where they lived until 
their deaths — the mother's occurring in 1859, the father's in 1875. Abel 
P. is the second son and child in a family of five children, and was reared 
in Bartholomew County until twenty years of age, when he enlisted in 
Company D, Sixty-seventh Indiana Volunteers, under Capt. Abbott. 
He served for two years, and took part at Mun ford vi lie (where he was 
captured, and soon after paroled, then discharged), Yazoo Swamps (near 
Vicksburg), Arkansas Post, Yicksburg, the battle between Alexandria and 
Brashear City (where he with his regiment was captured; after remaining 
in prison for thirteen days he escaped, and finally reached his own line). 
Cross Roads, Plainfield and the entire Red River campaign. In July, 
1864, he received an honorable discharge at Baton Rouge, La., and re- 
turned to his home, where he commenced work on his father's farm, re- 
maining about two years. On February 25, 1865, he was married to 
Margaret Davis, daughter of Enoch Davis, a eitizen of Brown County. 
They have one child — Elizabeth Luella. After his marriage, he farmed 
for eight years, and then went to Edinburg, Ind., where he acted for two 
years as agent for the Singer Sewing Machine Company. He soon after- 
ward came to Martinsville and acted in the same capacity until February, 
1882, when he purchased the Red Cloud Saloon, which he is now running. 
He is a Democrat. 

MAXVILLE SHIREMAN is a son of Michael and Elizabeth (Shuf- 
ford) Shireman, and was born in Lincoln County, N. C, November 2, 
1821. In 1835, his parents removed to Morgan County, Ind., where Max- 
ville grew to manhood. March 6, 1846, he married Miss Sarah, daughter 
of Archibald and Margaret Cramer. After his marriage, he settled on the 
farm which is now his home, and which he has improved to be a good 
property, embracing a territory of 317 acres of superior land. Mr. 
Shireman is an honorable and esteemed citizen, and the parent of thirteen 
children — Emeline, Henry, Archibald, Mahala, Lewis, Andrew, James, 
Margaret, Robert, Edward, Dayton, Harry and one unnamed. 

HENRY SHIREMAN, Sr., is a native of Lincoln County, N. C, 
was born December 18, 1823, and is a son of Michael and Elizabeth 
(Shufford) Shireman, both natives of North Carolina — the former born in 
1783, the latter in 1789. They were married in Lincoln County, and in 
1835 emigrated to Morgan County, Ind., where they made a local habi- 
tation. Mrs. Shireman died March 31, 1846, after which Mr. Shireman 
married Catherine Clodfelter, and died in Washington Township, the 
father of the following family: Polly, Anna, Barbara, Daniel, Elizabeth, 
Rhoda, Maxville, Catherine, Michael, Susan, John S. and Henry. Our 
subject, Henry Shireman, on the 13th of April, 1854, married Miss Maria, 
a daughter of Isaac and Lydia Deturk. After his marriage, Mr. Shire- 
man purchased and located on the farm he yet holds. He is now owner 
of more than 500 acres of land, and is comfortably and independently 
situated. Mr. and Mrs. Shireman have been the parents of ten children 
— Mary E., Louisa A., William A., Ellen A., Isaac (deceased), Charles E., 
Harriet C, Maxville, Flora B. and Eugene C. 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP AND MARTINSVILLE. 207 

HENRY SHIREMAN, Jr., is a native of Morgan County, Ind. ; was 
born November 13, 1849, and is one of the thirteen children born to 
Maxville and Sarah Shireman, of this county. October 28, 1874, he 
married Margaret, daughter of John and Martha Rothwell, and a native 
of this county, horn December 3, 1856. In 1876, Mr. Shireman moved 
to the farm he now occupies. He is a very promising young man, greatly 
esteemed and liberally educated, having taught successfully six succes- 
sive terms of school. Mr. and Mrs. Shireman are the parents of four 
children — Frederick, Martha, Sarah and an infant son, which died before 
receiving a name. Mr. Shireman is a member of the order of Odd 
Fellows. 

ABRAHAM SIMMS is a native of Surrey County, N. C, was born 
April 29, 1820, and was the third of the family of John and Frances 
Simms, both natives of North Carolina, the former born August 8, 1793, 
the latter May 18, 1784. They were married in Surrey County October 
27, 1814; in 1832, moved to Shelby County, Ky., and, in 1833, to Hen- 
dricks County, Ind., and one year later to Morgan County, locating on 
the identical farm now occupied by the subject of this sketch, where 
they both closed their lives, he August 22, 1837, and she September 3, 
1854. They reared a family of five — Cyrus, Elizabeth, Matthew, Nim- 
rod and Abraham. Abraham Simms came with his parents to this county 
in 1834, where he grew to manhood and married, March 29, 1843, Miss 
Ellen, daughter of Daniel and Sophia Graver, who died April 15, 1877, 
having been the mother of five children — Sarah J. (deceased), Catherine, 
Sophia, Susanna and George W. Mr. Simms is sole owner of the home- 
stead created by his father; he is a member of the Baptist Church, an 
excellent man and a respected citizen. 

HENRY A. SMOCK, attorney at law, is a native of Marion County, 
Ind., was born October 11, 1847, and is a son of Abraham V. and Re- 
becca J. (Brenton) Smock, the former a native of Kentucky. Henry was 
reared in Iowa, whither his parents had removed, and where they after- 
ward died. After working on a farm he learned the trade of a printer, 
at which he was employed in several large cities before coming, in 1870, 
to Martinsville, where he worked in the Republican office, then purchased 
a half interest therein, continued until 1874, when he sold said interest 
to considerable advantage after he had raised the paper to be a first-class 
one. November 11, 1873, he married Miss Dora T. Barnard, and they 
have had born to them three children — Thomas B., Mary I. (deceased) 
and Antoinette. In 1875, Mr. Smock began the study of law, and was 
admitted to the bar in 1880, forming a partnership with Mr. Ferguson; 
they are doing a good practice. Mr. Smock also manages the real estate 
of the Northwestern Life Insurance Company. He is an active Repub- 
lican, and has sei'ved as Secretary of the Central Committee of this 
county since 1880. Mr. Smock is a Knight of Pythias, and owner of a 
good farm five miles north of town. 

THOMAS M. SOMERVILLE, a native of Indiana, was born in 
Ripley County March 30, 1841. His parents, Thomas W. and Sarah 
(McCreery) Somerville, natives of Pennsylvania and Ireland respectively, 
were married in Versailles, Ripley County, and shoi'tly afterward settled 
in Pennsylvaniaburg, where the father farmed, and has since resided. 
He is sixty-seven years of age. His wife is sixty-four years old. 
Thomas M. is the eldest son and second child in a family of five. He 
was reared and educated in his native county. When twenty years of 



208 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

age, he enlisted in Company D, Sixteenth Indiana Volunteer Infantry, 
under Capt. J. C. McQuistine. After his return from the war, he entered 
the employ of the I. C. & L. E. R. Company asbrakeman for three months, 
and was then promoted to conductor. He remained in this capacity 
until 1872, when he was put in charge of the yards of the same com- 
pany at Indianapolis. After two years in this, he again took charge of 
a train as conductor. On February 14, 1881, he was appointed General 
Manager of the F. F. & M. R. R., which position he has since filled. He 
was married in Versailles, Ripley County, to Maggie Mathes, daughter of 
Andrew Mathes, a citizen of Dearborn County. By this union there are 
three children — Flora E , Melville D., Elmer W. Mr. Somerville is a 
member of the A., F. & A. M., Lawrenceburg Lodge, No. 21; of the I. 
O. R. M., Red Cloud Tribe, No. 18, at Indianapolis. Is a Republican, 
and he and wife are members of the Baptist Chui'ch. 

JESSE R. STARKEY, second son and third child in a family of 
nine children, was born August 12, 1849, in Madison County, 111. His 
parents, Joel W. and Jane C. (Hagerman) Starkey, natives of Illinois 
and Indiana respectively, were married in Illinois in 1844, and located 
on a farm in Madison County, where they lived until 1869. Removing 
thence to a farm in Logan County, they have since resided there. Jesse 
Starkey was reared and educated in his native county. When he was 
twenty years of age, he entered Lincoln University at Lincoln, 111., from 
which he graduated in 1874 after four years of hard study. During the 
winter following (1874-75), he was Principal of the schools at Broad- 
well, 111.*, and during the two succeeding winters taught select school in 
Boyle County, Ky. In the fail of 1876, he took the Princi])alship of the 
Martinsville Schools, where he at present resides. On December 21, 
1876, he was married to Phibbie H. Caldwell, daughter of R. H. Cald- 
"well, a resident of Boyle County, Ky. By this union there have been 
iour children — Lucy C. (deceased), Ella, Horace L. and Russell I. Mr. 
Starkey is a member of the I. O. O. F., Martinsville Lodge, No. 274, and 
in politics is a Democrat. Mr. and Mrs. Starkey are members of the 
Cumberland Presbvterian Church. 

E. F. STIMSON was born in Iredell County, N. C, December 13, 
1829, and is the fifth of the eighteen children of Henry E. and Annie 
L. (Brandon) Stimson, natives of Halifax County, Va., where they mar- 
ried and afterward moved to Iredell County, N. C. In 1845, they moved 
to Monroe County, Ind., and there remained till death. Their children 
were Robert T., Sarah J., Elizabeth, George, Erasmus F., Mary A., John 
W., Henry A., Lafayette, William, Louisa, Joseph, Wilbur, Edward, 
and others who died in infancy. E. F. Stimson moved with his parents 
to Monroe County, and in 1856 removed to Morgan County, where, June 
10, 1860, he man-ied Mercy A., daughter of Jacob and Mabala Vansickel, 
and a native of Morris County, N. J. To this union were born nine 
children — Jacob, Harry, Louisa (deceased), Dayton C, Anson R., Maha- 
la, Mary, Anson M. (deceased), and Evalina. In 1861, Mr. Stimson en- 
listed in Company G, Twenty-seventh Indiana Volunteer Infantry, and 
served until September, 1864. After his discharge, he moved to his 
present place and engaged in farming. Mr. and Mrs. Stimson are mem- 
bers of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

AUSTIN SWEET is a native of Fleming County, Ky. , was born 
August 16, 1881, and is the youngest of the three children of Benjamin 
and Harriet (Mills) Sweet, natives respectively of Kentucky and Vir- 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP AND MARTINSVILLE. 209 

ginia. Benjamin Sweet was born in 1798, his father, William Sweet, hav- 
ing been one of the earliest pioneers of Fleming County, Ky., and the 
parent of eight sons and two daughters. Benjamin moved to Morgan 
County, Ind., in 1884. where he and wife closed their lives. Our sub- 
ject, Austin Sweet, married in this county, November 22, 1855, Hannah 
K., daughter of John and Isabel Clark, and born March 11, 1838. This 
union gave being to six children — Benjamin F., Halleck (deceased), Ed- 
ward M., Harriet A., Ann (deceased) and Otis A. Mr. Sweet is a worthy 
and genial gentleman, as Avell as a respected citizen. 

ROBERT H. TARLETON, M. D., druggist, was born in Mason 
County, Ky., March 24, 1822, and reared in Brookville, in that State. 
During his boyhood, he attended the schools of the day, and when seven- 
teen one of a higher grade. At the age of twenty- one, he removed to 
Missouri, but soon returned to Kentucky, and engaged in teaching and 
in the study of medicine. In 1846, he located as a practitioner near 
Edinburg, Ind.; in 1847, came to this county, and in 1849 attended lect- 
ures at and in 1850 graduated from the Ohio Medical College, during 
which year he removed to Kentucky and there married Miss Maria Pra- 
ther April 18, 1850. He then located at Patriot, Ind., where he lost his 
wife in 1851, and afterward came to this town, where he has since been 
engaged in the practice of his profession, together with the drug basi- 
ness, which he established in 1852, in which he has now a partner in his 
nephew, W. B. Tarleton, and does a business of from $15,000 to $18,000 
annually. March 2, 1852, he married Miss Elizabeth S. Wampler, with 
an issue of eight children — Carrie, Emma J. B., Harriet S., James W., 
Harry H., Edgar, June and Maurice. In 1867, he laid out the beautiful 
Hillsdale Cemeteiy. In addition to his store building, Dr. Tarleton 
owns a fine residence and other property. He is a member of the Ma- 
sons and a Democrat. In 1879, he was appointed Trustee of the Indiana 
Hospital for the Insane, and re-nominated in 1881. 

WILLIA]^[ B. TAYLOR was born in Lawrence County, Ind., Sep- 
tember 15, 1819. His parents, Joshua and Mary (Armstrong) Taylor, 
natives of Virginia and Kentucky respectively, came to Indiana in 1809, 
and settled on a farm in Washington County, where they remained for 
eight years, removing thence to Lawrence County. In February, 1821, 
they came to Morgan County, locating on a farm one mile from Martins- 
ville. In 1834, the mother died, and ten years later the father, with his 
children, moved to Green Township, where he died in June, 1855. 
AVilliam B. Taylor is the fourth son and seventh child in a family of 
eleven children reared in Morgan County, and when fifteen years of age 
he began learning the blacksmith trade. After one year at this, he 
worked for the neighboring farmers until 1839. He then worked on a 
flat-boat between New Orleans and Martinsville for Mitchell Bros, until 
1842. For some time he worked in lead mines in Wisconsin, and in Au- 
gust, 1845, he was married to Jane Estlinger, a native of Washington 
County, Ind. They have two children — Mary A. and Sarah A. His 
wife died in November, 1854, and one year later he was married to Caro- 
line Hough. By this union there is one child, Lillie. After his first 
marriage, he farmed near Martinsville, in Washington Township, for 
nine years, and then sold his farm and purchased another one in Green 
Township. Here he farmed for thirteen years. In 1869, he began trad- 
ing in stock, and at present resides in Martinsville, engaged in the same 
way. Mr. Taylor is an active member of the Republican party. He 



210 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

was County Commissioner for two years, re-elected, and served six years 
longer. He was Township Trustee for two years. He filled the unex- 
pired term of office for Mr. Perham (deceased) in 1861, and was again 
elected in 1862 and 1863, and again in 1866. Mr. and Mrs. Taylor are 
members of the Cumberland Church. 

JOHN THOMAS is a native of Tennessee, was born January 2, 1817, 
and is the eldest of the ten children of Peter and Sarah Thomas, both of 
whom were natives of North Carolina. John Thomas, the subject of this 
sketch, came with his parents to this State in 1823, who settled in this 
county, and here John has remained. April 1, 1841, he married Miss 
Nancy, a daughter of Thomas and Elizabeth Maxwell, and born in this 
county November 11, 1823. After his marriage Mr. Thomas located in 
this township, where he has since made his home. Mrs. Thomas died 
October 17, 1859, and March 31, 1861, Mr. Thomas married Mrs. Lucy 
J., widow of Joshua King, and a daughter of Henry and Mary Harper. Mr. 
Thomas is the parent of three children — Sarah, Harrison and an infant 
daughter, which died unnamed. Mr.Thomas is a generally respected citizen. 

ELI THOMAS was born in Morgan County, Ind., on the farm on 
which he stil) resides October 15, 1830, and is a son of Peter and Sarah 
Thomas, both natives of Orange County, N. C, the former born Decem- 
ber 15, 1791, the latter May 3, 1795. The grandfather of our subject, 
Abram Thomas, was a native of Wales, who emigrated to America during 
the last century and settled in North Carolina, where he married, reared 
a family of nine children and passed away. Peter Thomas married, in 
1816, Miss Sarah Graves, soon after settled near Knoxville, Tenn. ; in 
1818, moved to Clarke County, Ind., and thence in 1822 to Morgan County, 
where he died December 2, 1868, and his wife December 25, 1878. They 
were parents of ten children — John, Henry, Daniel, Solomon, Lucinda, 
Louisa, Eli, George W., Elizabeth and Nancy A. Eli Thomas married, 
December 2, 1855, Miss Ruth, daughter of Abraham and Nancy A. Huff, 
and a native of Monroe County, Ind., born May 14, 1831. After mar- 
riage, Mr. Thomas settled on a small farm previously purchased, and in 
1869, having purchased the homestead, moved thereon. In 1864, he en- 
listed in Company C, Thirty- third Indiana Volunteers, and served until 
the struggle ended. Mr. and Mrs. Thomas have had six children — Albert 
W., Nancy E. (deceased), Sarah E., Mary E., Francis M. (deceased), and 
an infant (still-born). 

ELI THOMAS, Jr., is a native of Morgan County, Ind. , wa& born 
September 11, 1852, and is a son of Daniel Thomas, also a native of said 
county. Daniel Thomas was twice married, and the parent of nine chil- 
dren, viz. : By the first wife five — Eliza, Elizabeth, Allen, John and Eli, 
all of whom are deceased except the subject of this writing; by the sec- 
ond wife four children — Sarah, David D., Susanna and Charles ^\., all 
of whom are living. Eli Thomas married in this county December 31, 
1874, Miss Anna L., daughter of William and Katie Maybee, and born 
February 2, 1857, » union which was conspicious in the birth of four 
children — Bertha M. (deceased), Charles O., Daisy (deceased), and Ger- 
tie. Mr. Thomas is an energetic and genial gentleman, and much es- 
teemed among his fellow- citizens. 

HARRISON THOMAS is a native of Morgan County, Ind., was born 
April 25, 1852, and is one of the family of three children born to John 
and Nancy Thomas. October 28, 1875, our subject married Miss Martha 
A., daughter of John and Martha Bothwell, and a native of this county,. 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP AND MARTINSVILLE. 211 

born July 4, 1854. This union has been endeared by the birth of two 
children — John and Harry. Mr. Thomas is a most promising and 
greatly regarded gentleman, as well as practical and enterprising farmer. 
His farm comprises 215 acres of rich and cultivated land. 

AMOS THOENBURG, of the firm of Thornburg & Small, dealers in 
grain and proprietors of the Union Mill and Elevator, was born in this 
county February 27, 1827, and likewise reared here. His father, Benja- 
min Thornburg, was born near Harrodsburg, Ky., September 25, 1797; 
reared in Washington County, Ind., and in 1822 removed to this county; 
settled near Brooklyn, and entered in all 160 acres, 100 of which are now 
in cultivation. He was rigidly temperate, and thus set a fair example to 
the pioneers; a life-long member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, also 
an exhorter and class-leader; he was an old-time Whig, and later a Re- 
publican. In 1817, he married a Miss Susan Monical, who died in 1876, 
having borne fourteen children, seven of whom survive — Rachel (Mrs. 
Moon), Hannah (Mrs. Davis), Amanda (Mrs. Hornor), Ada (Mrs. Dryden), 
John H., Peter F. and Amos. Our subject engaged in farming for his 
father several years, and in 1856 purchased sixty acres in Brown Town- 
ship, to which he added forty afterward. He continued farming until 
1877, when he moved to this town and engaged successfully in the mill- 
ing line, having one of the best mills in the country, with buhr and roller 
combined. Their elevator is also very superior, having capacity of 
40,000 bushels; they can, too, load and weigh a car of wheat in eight 
minutes. Mr. Thornburg has been twice married — first, April 10, 1854, 
to Miss Caroline E. Doughty, of Vermont, who died January, 1876, leav- 
ing three living children — James D., Benjamin E. and Albert M. ; second, 
October 3, 1877, to Mrs. Amanda B. Wilson. Mr. Thornburg is an Odd 
Fellow, a Republican and strictly temperate and prudent. 

SALEM A. TILFORD, M. D., was born in Jefferson County, Ind., Feb- 
ruary 2, 1827, with good opportunities for education in the Madison High 
School. In 1845, he took up the study of medicine under Dr. J. H. D. 
Rogers, of Madison; afterward attended lectures at the University of 
Louisville and the Indiana Medical College, at Indianapolis; graduated 
from the latter, and took 'the ad eundem degree in 1879. In 1848, he 
located here and has continued his practice successfully. November 28, 
1849, he married Miss Emeline Major, who died in May, 1853, leaving 
one child — Ella R., now a well-known teacher in this county. April 1, 
1857, he married Miss Ann Wolfe, which union was favored with eleven 
children — Isabel, Benjamin W., Lulie, Jennie, Ann, Alex S., Mary, Jo- 
seph W., Amanda, Harry and Roy E. Dr. Tilford was a Whig, but 
afterward became a Republican; was zealous during the war, but later 
affiliated with the Democrats, by which party he was elected, in 1870, 
Auditor of Morgan County, having served about eighteen months pre- 
viously as said officer. Dr. Tilford is a Chapter Mason. When he came 
first to this town there were only 350 souls therein. 

BENJAMIN W. TILFORD, physician and druggist was born in this 
town November 8, 1859, where he was reared and attended the high 
school. In 1878, he began the study of medicine under his father's in- 
struction; also attended lectures at the Indiana Medical College at In- 
dianapolis in 1879 and 1880; graduated in March, 1881; came home to 
Martinsville, and in the autumn engaged in the drug trade. He has a 
$2,000 stock, and has done a satisfactory business. 



212 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

J. E. TONER, a native of Shelby County, Ind., was born on January 
21, 1841, and is the son of John and Nancy (Parker) Toner, natives of 
Pennsylvania and Kentucky respectively. The father still resides in 
Shelby County, the mother having died in 1856, leaving four children, 
of whom our subject is one. The father subsequently remarried, and has 
four children by his last wife. One subject was engaged in early life on 
the farm and attending school; later entered the Northwestern (now But- 
ler) University, at Indianapolis. From this university he enlisted in 
April, 1861, in Company D, Seventh Indiana Infantry (three months' 
service), went to Virginia and was a participant in the battles of Philippi, 
Laurel Hill and Carrick's Ford. Returning home after his time expired, 
he re-enlisted for three years in Company D, Thirty-third Indiana In- 
fantry, proceeded with his regiment to Kentucky, and participated in the 
battle of Wild Cat, siege of Mill Spring and Cumberland Gap. At the 
latter place he was taken prisoner by Morgan, held for seven weeks, when 
he was paroled and sent to Columbus, Ohio, Parole Camp, where he re- 
mained four weeks, and then decamped and came home. On January 8 
following, he was exchanged, and returned to his regiment at Nashville, 
TenD. He with his command took part in the battle of Thompson's Sta- 
tion, where a large portion of his regiment was captured by the enemy. 
Our subject, with about eighty others, escaped. Returning to Franklin, 
he was discharged for disability, and again returned home. In January 
following he again re-enlisted in Company D, Sixteenth Indiana (mounted) 
Infantry, served sixteen months, and was engaged in the siege of Vicks- 
burg, in the Red River campaign, and at the battle of Sabine Cross 
Roads. After his regiment's term of service expired, he was transferred 
to Company C, 'I hirteenth Indiana Cavalry, and served with it until De- 
cember, 1865, when he was mustered out at Vicksburg, Miss. He was 
wounded at Thibodeaux, La., in the left leg, the enemy's bullet severing 
the main artery near the groin. Upon his return home, he assisted his 
father on the farm until he was twenty-seven years old. On September 
24, 1867, he was married to Sophia Salla, a native of Rush County, Ind. 
Then for seven years he farmed for himself in Shelby County. In 1875, 
he came to Martinsville and embarked in the grocery trade, continuing 
nine years, when he purchased the Mason House, and has since been con- 
ducting it. This is the only first-class hostelry in town. Mr. Toner is a 
Republican, and served as Chairman of the City Council seventeen months. 
He is a member of the A. O. U. W., the K. of P., and of the G. A. R. 
He and wife are both members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. 
and Mrs. Toner have five children living — Ottway C, Edward, John, 
Grace and Annis; an infant deceased. He is one of the liberal and en- 
terprising citizens of Martinsville. 

ERVIN TOWNSEN.D, a son of Silas and Hannah Townsend, was 
born in Washington County, Ind., November 20, 1820. The grand- 
father of our subject, William Townsend, was a native of South Caro- 
lina; moved to Washington County, Ind., in 1810, and to Morgan County 
in 1821, where he died. He was a soldier for seven years in the Revolu- 
tionary war. Silas Townsend married in Washington County, Ind., 
Hannah Nogles, about 1813, who died in 1821. In 1822, Mr. Townsend 
moved to Morgan County, where he married Susan Thacker, after which 
he removed to Louisville, Ky., and ended his days. He was father to 
five children — Robinson, Susan, Huston and Ervin by first wife, and 
Martha by second wife. He was a soldier in the war of 1812. Ervin 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP AND MARTINSVILLE. 213 

Townsend came to Morgan County with his grandparents, with whom he 
remained until December 31, 1840, when he married Mary A., daughter 
of Richard and Rebecca Deakins, and a native of Washington County, 
Tenn., born May 25, 1825. After marriage, Mr. Townsend settled in 
this township, where he has an improved farm of 240 acres. Mrs. 
Townsend died June 5, 1883, having borne twelve children — Sarah J., 
Thomas J., Martha, William, Franklin P., James (deceased), Rebecca, 
Emma ¥., John, Hattie, Maggie and Nora E. Mr. Townsend is an 
esteemed citizen. 

THOMAS J. TOWNSEND, sou of William and Mary Townsend, natives 
of North Carolina, was born May 16, 1840, in this towDship. His par- 
ents were married in South Carolina, and immigrated to Indiana, locating 
in Washington County, whence they shortly afterward removed to Mor- 
gan County, and settled on a farm in Washington Township, where the 
father farmed until 1847. He then removed to Missouri and remained 
until the spring of 1857, when he returned with his family to Morgan 
County. In the fall of 1857, the father died. The mother in November, 
1865. Thomas Townsend was reared in his native county, and educated 
in Missouri. When seventeen years of age, he returned to Morgan 
County with his parents, finally locating on a farm of 130 acres in 
Washington Township, which he inherited upon his father's death. He 
remained there for twenty-three years, when he removed to Martinsville, 
where he at present resides. In 1863-64, he served as Township Assessor. 
He also served several times as Supervisor of Roads in the township. 
On December 13, 1860, he was united in marriage to Melinda J. Cox, 
daughter of John L. Cox, an old and respected citizen of Morgan Coun- 
ty. By this union, there have been eight children — Mary E. (deceased), 
William L., Thomas A., Ruth A. (deceased), Viola (deceased), Maggie, 
Nettie and Lillie. Mr. Townsend is a Republican. 

SAMUEL TUCKER was born in Henry County, Ky., May 26, 1819, 
and is a son of James and Mary (Kitcher) Tucker, natives respectively 
of Ireland and Virginia. James Tucker emigrated from Ireland to 
America and settled in Eeyette County, Ky. , when twenty one years old, 
where he married. In 1836, he moved to Marion County, Ind., located 
near Indianapolis, and shortly after died, his wife surviving him about 
twelve years. Their family consisted of Robert, William. James, Har- 
vey, Margaret, James R., Stephen, Sarah and Samuel. When Samuel 
was eighteen years of age, he became an apprentice to the cabinet-mak- 
ing trade, after completing which, in 1839, he moved to Martinsville, 
worked for a time, and then comrdenced business for himself, which he 
continued a number of years. April 23, 1843, he married Sarah C, 
daughter of Jeremiah and Nancy Vincent, and born in Franklin County, 
Ind., February 2. 1823. To this union were bequeathed a family of 
eight — Nancy A. (deceased), Ledgard R., Clarinda, Rees H., Isaac W., 
Ida A., Palmanora and Lily P. In 1865, Mr. Tucker moved to Indiau- 
apolis and engaged in hotel-keeping one year, then returned to Martins- 
ville and purchased the Mason House, which he managed eighteen 
months, and finally moved to his present home and farm. Mr. and Mrs. 
Tucker are members of the Christian Church. 

REV. AARON TURNER was born in Greene County, Ohio, June 4, 
1835. His parents, Joseph and Mary (Burnsides) Turner, natives of 
Ohio, were married in Ohio in 1830, removing thence, in 1849, to Rush 
County, Ind. His father, a Methodist minister, resides in Pike County, 



214 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

Ind., at the advanced age of seventy-three years. The mother died in 
1849. The subject was the third son and fourth child in a family of 
fourteen children, and was reared in his native county until fourteen 
years of age, removing thence to Eush County, Ind., where he taught 
school for two years. In 1857, he entered the ministry at the Annual 
Conference, held at New Albany, over which Bishop Morris presided. 
His first appointment was on the Poseyville Circuit, where he remained 
for one year, then receiving an appointment to Owensvillo Circuit. At 
the end of his first year at Owensville he was ordained " Deacon " at 
Bloomington, Ind., by Bishop Scott. His third appointment was Sullivan 
Station, where he remained for two years. After his first year at Sullivan, 
he was ordained "Elder" by Bishop Simpson at Rockport. He was at 
Greencastle, during which time he was appointed agent for the Asbury 
University, which position he filled for two years; for the past five months 
has been located in Martinsville. In 1870, the Wesleyan University 
conferred upon him the degree of "A. M.," and in June, 1883, the Asbury 
University conferred upon him the degree of "D. D. " In October, 1858, 
he was married to Mary E. Van Sickle, daughter of Jacob Van Sickle, a 
pioneer of Morgan County. There was one child by this union, Luella 
(deceased). His wife died in 1861. August 21, 1866, he married Lucy 
Bowles, daughter of Henry Bowles, of Evansville, Ind. By this union 
there are two children, Helen and Jessie. Rev. Aaron Turner is a mem- 
ber of the A. F. & A. M. , also of the K. of P. , and is a Republican. 

JOHN A. WAGNER is a native of Germany, was born July 6, 1821, 
and is a son of Adam F. and Wilhelmina Wagner. In 1848, he emigrated 
with his mother to America, his father having died in his native country 
in 1840. January 2, 1849, in Onondaga County, N. Y., our subject 
married Miss Elizabeth, daughter of Adam and Hannah Ditze, and born 
May 6, 1824. Shortly after his marriage, Mr. Wagner moved to the 
State of Ohio, thence to Indianapolis, Ind.. and finally, in 1865, to 
Morgan County, where he has since resided. Mr. Wagner is the owner 
of 183 acres of very excellent land, which is well improved and cultivated. 
Mr. and Mrs. Wagner are the parents of five children — Catherine, Charlie, 
Frank, John and Louisa. Both are highly respected in their community. 

GEORGE M. WALKER is a native of Monroe County, Va., was 
born October 5, 1830, and is a son of Goodlow and Rebecca (Henderson) 
Walker, both natives of Virginia; the former born 1800, the latter 1804. 
Goodlow Walker was a son of George Walker, also a native of Virginia, 
who married a Miss Adams, then moved to Tennessee, and finally to 
Madison County, Ind., where he died. He was twice married and the 
father of ten children. Goodlow Walker moved to Hendricks County, 
Ind., in 1835, and there died in 1864, the father of five children, James 
D., Harriet S., Clarinda J., John E. and George M. Our subject mar- 
ried, October 6, 1853, Mary T. , daughter of John M. and Martha E. 
(Branch) Satterwhite, and born March 27, 1836. In 1851, Mr. Walker 
moved to Montgomery County, Ind., and September, 1862, enlisted in 
Company F, Fifty-fourth Indiana Volunteer Regiment, in which he served 
until December, 1863, during which time his family moved to Martins- 
ville, where our subject made a home after his discharge from the service. 
He is now serving most satisfactorily as Superintendent of the Poor. Mr. 
and Mrs. Walker have a family of seven children — James H., Susan M., 
Ida T., Louisa E., George, Nettie B. and William A. 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP AND MARTINSVILLE. 215 

A. B. WALKER, eldest son of Michael and Mary (Andrews) Walker, 
natives of Maryland and Ohio, respectively, was born in Johnson County, 
Ind., October 20, 1855. His parents located in Milford, Ohio, after 
marriage, where the father followed his trade of cooper for a short time, 
removing thence to Indianapolis, where he began the manufacture of 
barrels. His property there being destroyed by lire, he went to Franklin, 
Ind., his present residence. A. B. Walker was reared in Johnson 
County, Ind. He received a good education in the graded schools at 
Franklin, and at the age of seventeen, was employed by the F. F. & M. 
R. R. in the office of John M. Johnson, at Franklin. Two years later, 
he was appointed agent at Martinsville for the same road, and is at pres- 
ent acting in that capacity. In 1878, he began buying timber and for 
two years past he has also been dealing in coal. In August, 1883, he 
built a factory for the manufacture of hubs, spokes and staves, and has 
thus far been very successful. In February, 1882, he was married to 
Louisa A. Clapper, daughter of W. G. and Martha Clapper, Martins- 
ville. Mr. Walker is a charter member of the K. of P., Anniversary 
Lodge, No. 89, is a Republican, and he and wife are members of the 
Christian Church. 

F. M. WARNER is second of four children born to Andrew J. and 
Judith (Lockhart) Warner, natives of Kentucky. He was born in this 
township August 3, 1842. His parents located on a farm in Morgan 
County after marriage, where they lived for some time, removing thence 
to a farm one mile south of Martinsville. Four years later, they moved 
to Martinsville, where the mother at present resides. F. M. Warner 
remained with his parents until nineteen years of age. He received his 
education in the graded schools at Martinsville. He was refused enlist 
ment in the army in 1861, being under age; he afterward entered his 
father's employ in a livery stable, which he purchased three years later, 
and is now profitably conducting. Mr. W^arner is a Republican, and 
acted as Councilman of the Fourth Ward for two years. In October, 
1878, he was married to Laura F. Bogle, of Putman County, Ind. She 
was a good Christian, and at the time of her death, which occurred 
August 15, 1879, she was a member of the Methodist Church. 

WILLIAM WILLIAMS was born near Paoli, Ind., May 1, 1816, 
a son of Jonathan and Celia (Silcox) Williams, natives respectively of 
Tennessee and North Carolina. Jonathan Williams was a son of tfohn 
R. Williams, of East Tennessee, who married Margaret Reed, and in the 
early time moved to Morgan County, Ind., where he died about 1830, 
the parent of ten children, seven boys — William, Lewis, John R., Isaac, 
Key ton, Robert and Jonathan. He was born in Tennessee February 17, 
1795, came to this territory when young, and in 1820 to Morgan 
County, where he and wife died, the former September 15, 1845, the 
latter July 26, 1868. He was one of the first County Commissioners 
who located the city of Martinsville. He was elected Sheriff in 1834, 
again in 1836, and in 1838 was elected to the Legislature. He was with 
Gen. Jackson in his first battle, was a prominent and respected citizen, 
and the father of the following family: William Pleasant, John, Jona- 
than, David, Jackson, James, Polly and Nancy. William has resided 
here since he came with his parents in 1820. December 3 1, 1846, he 
married Emma, daughter of John King, to which union three children 
followed: Celia A., Howard (deceased) and an infant (deceased). After 
Mrs. Williams' death, February 25, 1849, he wedded Martha J., daughter 



216 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

of William A. Major, with an issue of seven children — Angeline (deceased), 
Franklin, Perry (deceased), Eobert H., Dora E., Jennie (deceased), 
and California. Mr. Williams has served as Sheriff and is now Township 

EDWARD WOODS was born in Morgan County, Ind., July 12, 
1848, and is one of the five children composing the family of Patrick and 
Mary (Dougherty) Woods, natives of Ireland and Ohio respectively. 
Patrick Woods was born in 1811, emigrated to America, and in 1813 to 
the State of Ohio, where he man-ied the same year, and afterward moved 
to Morgan County, lad., and settled on the identical land where our 
subject now resides, which was his home until his death in 1865. Mrs. 
Woods subsequently wedded Thomas Dougherty, and is yet living, her 
family comprising five in number — James, Thomas, Edward, Patrick and 
Catherine. Edward Woods married in this county, October 8, 1873, 
Miss Mary E., daughter of William and Ruth Kemp, and a native of 
Morgan County, born February 13, 1857. Mrs. Woods died April 15, 
1881, having been the mother of six children — Rosie A., Mattie, Alice, 
Thomas, William (deceased) and Mary E. (deceased). Mr. Wood is 
much respected by his fellow-citizens. 

OWEN WOODS is a native of Ireland, and was born June 24, 1814, 
and is the youngest of the family of James and Mary (Welch) Woods, 
both natives of Ireland, where they were married and died. They were 
the parents of four children — Thomas, Patrick, Catherine and Owen. Our 
subject was married while in Ireland, in 1835, to Ellen McCarugh. 
After emigrating to the United States, he settled in Morgan County, Ind., 
in the year 1848, on the farm on which he now lives, and where he is com- 
fortable and independently situated. Mr, and Mrs. Woods are members 
of the Catholic Church, and have been the parents of eight children — 
Mary (deceased), Catherine (deceased), Bridget (deceased), Mary, Ellen 
(deceased), Katie (deceased), Ann and James. Mr. and Mrs. Woods 
are greatly respected in the community. 

A. R. VANSICKEL was born at Martinsville, this county, February 
27, 1842, and is one of the eight children of Jacob and Mahala (Salmon) 
Vansickel, natives of Sussex County, N.J. Jacob Vansickel was born in 
1814, his wife in 1812, and in 1838 they moved to Henry County Ind., 
and thence to Morgan County, where Mr. Vansickel died in 1860, and 
Mrs. Vansickel twelve years later. Their family was Mercy A., Mary 
E., Sarah S., John D., Andrew R., Alonzo, George W. and Susan R. 
Our subject, August, 1861, enlisted in Company G, Twenty- Seventh 
Indiana Volunteers, and served until September, 1864, with much 
experience in many severe battles. After his discharge and return to 
this county, he married, November 24, 1864, Mary L., daughter of Hemy 
and Phebe Miller, and a native of New Jersey, born February 20, 1840, 
which union was favored with six children — Otis H. (deceased), Sarah 
E., William F., Maggie A., Joseph A. and Mary E. Mr. Vansickel is a 
member of the Masonic order, of the G. A. R., and of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church. 

ALBERT VOYLES was born in Morgan County, Ind., August 20, 
1842, and is a son of Ivan and Irena (Elgin) Voyles, natives of Indiana; 
the former born in 1813. Mrs. Voyles died in 1855, after which Mr. 
Voyles married Catherine Shireman; he died in 1880. The grandfather 
of our subject, Moses Voyles, was one of the earliest settlers of Wash- 
ington County, Ind., whence he moved to Morgan County, and there lived 



BROWN TOWNSHIP AND MOORESVILLE. 217 

out his days; he was a soldier of the war of 1812. Albert Voyles is the 
youngest of the four children of his parents. August 11, 1862, he be- 
caroe a soldier of Company H, Seventieth Indiana Volunteers, in which 
he served until June, 1865. In October, 1868, he married Susan, 
daughter of Joshua and Ehoda Gilpin, and born in this county February 
20, 1849, which union was cemented by two children — Mamie D. and 
James K. Mr. Voyles is a practical man and a respected citizen. 



BROWN TOWNSHIP AND MOORESVILLE. 

GEORGE W. BASS is a native of Johnson County, Ind., and was 
born June 20, 1812. His parents, Josiah H. and Elizabeth (Robinson) 
Bass, natives of Kentucky, had seven children, of which George W. was 
the sixth, and with three older brothers. His youth was spent upon the 
farm, and his education acquired at Greenwood High School in his na- 
tive county. In the summer of 1862, he enrolled at Springfield, Mo., 
in Company I, First Missouri Calvary, and served to the close of the 
war. The first year of his service was spent scouting in Southwestern 
Missouri and Northeastern Texas; and he also participated in the battle 
of Prairie Grove and the Van Buren (Arkansas) raid. He was at the 
siege of Vicksburg as Orderly to Gen. Herron, and afterward saw service 
at the following places in their order: Yazoo, Miss., Baton Rouge, 
CarroUton, Morganza Bend, and New Orleans, La. From Brownsville, 
Tex. , he returned to Baton Rouge, where he had charge of the division 
mail for some time, when he was ordered to his regiment, then at Little 
Rock, Ark., from which place he was honorably discharged from the serv- 
ice. After leaving the army, he clerked awhile in a dry goods house, a 
di'ug store, and finally, in the year 1874, settled down in the drug busi- 
ness at New Augusta, Ind., where he remained four years. In 1878, he 
removed to Mooresville, where he has since been engaged in the drug 
business. On November 8, 1871, he was married at Greenwood, Ind., to 
Mary E., daughter of W. A. Woods, Esq. By this marriage he has had 
born to him three children — Frank R., Charlie W. and Nellie B. The 
mother of these children, died March 30, 1880, and October 27, 1881, 
Mr. Bass was married in Morgan County to Martha T. (Turley) Bysly. 
Both he and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, 
and Mr. Bass belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and 
Knights of Honor, of which latter lodge he is present Financial Re- 
porter. He owns a small farm in Johnson County, and his residence in 
Mooresville, as also the business property in which he carries a lucrative 
drug trade. 

JAMES M. BISHOP, a promising young lawyer of Mooresville, was 
born in Hamilton County, Ind., May 31, 1850. His parents, Joseph and 
Nancy (Chew) Bishop, were natives of Virginia, and of English descent. 
They had eight children, our subject being the seventh, with two older 
brothers. He grew up in Westtield, and finished his education at the 
Mooresville High School. In May, 1873, he began the study of law 
with Ford & Blair in Shelbyville, Ind., and in the year following was 
admitted to the bar in Indianapolis, and from there came soon afterward 



218 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

to Mooresville. As a practitioner, he is successful, and we bespeak for 
him a prominent place in the very front rank of his profession at no dis- 
tant day. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Chm'ch, an active 
Republican, a good debater, and a public speaker of much more than 
average ability. He made his first political speech in 1876, and has 
since taken an effective part in all the election campaigns. The declin- 
ing years of his aged mother and father are made comfortable and happy 
by the generosity and kind attention of an ever dutiful son. 

HARRIS BRAY, a pioneer of Brown Township, Morgan County, Ind. , 
a native of Chatham County, N. C, is the sixth child and fourth son of 
six sons and eight daughters of William and Peggy (Brooks) Bray, na- 
tives of North Carolina, and of English descent, and was born December 
24, 1798; came into Morgan County in the year 1822; entered from the 
Government a tract of land in the year 1823; settled upon it, and here as 
a farmer he has since lived. Until nearly twenty-one years of age, he 
lived with his parents in North Carolina. His education was limited to 
that of reading, and something of penmanship was acquired at the sub- 
scription schools of his native place. In September, 1819, he was mar- 
ried in North Carolina to Rachel Moon, by whom he had born to him ten 
children — Brantley, now in Iowa; Austin, now in Iowa; Nancy, now in 
Iowa; Eli, now in Kansas; Wesley, now in Iowa; Riley, now in Morgan 
County, Ind.; Alfred, now in Kansas; William, died in the army at 
Buford, S. C. ; Ellen, wife of David Sheets, in Morgan County, Ind. ; 
and Younger, died at the age of thirty-eight years. The mother of these 
children died in April, 1876, at the age of seventy-eight years. Mr. 
Bray joined the Methodist Episcopal Church when about forty-five years 
of age, and has since lived the life of a consistent Christian. His de- 
ceased wife was a member of the same church many years of her life, 
and was noted for her purity of life and Christian conduct. Together, 
these two people labored as only pioneers of a new country can appre- 
ciate. Their home was for many years the headquarters for all immi- 
grants to the " new purchase, " and what they had they gave freely. 
They inherited nothing but cheerful hearts and strong arms, and their 
worldly goods were acquired by their united industry. Mr. Bray en- 
tered from the Government from time to time in Indiana about 240 acres 
of land, and has put about 100 acres in cultivation. He owns now a 
fine farm, where he lives, of 108 acres, all in cultivation and well im- 
proved. He has upon this farm a magnificent quarry of blae sandstone 
of much value. About 1831, he erected a still-house on the East Fork of 
White Lick, about one mile from where Mooresville now stands, and for 
twelve years ran it with a capacity of about thirty gallons per day. 
After his conversion, he abandoned the trade in liquor. About the year 
1841, he put into operation a grist mill at the confluence of the East 
Fork and the main White Lick Creeks, and ran it about three years. As 
the mill was run mostly to supply meal for his distillery, he parted with 
it soon after going out of the liquor business. He is a Democrat. He 
has been a liberal giver to both chui'ch and school. 

JAR VIS P. CALVERT was born in New York City June 17, 1842, 
and is the youngest of four children of John T. and Sarah (Reese) Cal- 
vert, of Rhode Island and Pennsylvania respectively, and of English ex- 
traction. WheD he was but an infant, his parents removed to Cincin- 
nati, Ohio, where his mother died in the year 1844, and his father in less 
than a year afterward. Until about ten years of age, Jarvis P. existed a 



BROWN TOWNSHIP AND MOORESVILLE. 2l9 

part of the time in Louisville, Ky., and a longer period at Columbus, 
Ohio. From the age of ten to twenty- one years, he lived on a farm in 
Ohio, and attended the public schools. In the spring of 1863, he came 
to Indiana and stopped a few months at Plainfield, and October 26, 1863, 
he enrolled at Indianapolis in Company I, Sixty-third Indiana Volun- 
teer Infantry. From this command he was transferred to Company H, 
One Hundred and Twenty-eighth Indiana Volunteer Infantry in the spring 
of 1865, and was finally mustered out of the service April 10, 1866. 
While in the Sixty-third Regiment, he saw much hard service, and took 
part in some nine or ten regular battles, and any number of hot skir- 
mishes. With the One Hundred and Twenty-eighth Regiment, his service 
was lighter, having been most of the time on detached duty as clerk 
about headquarters. He returned to Plainfield and there studied photog- 
raphy, and in February, 1867, opened his art gallery in Mooresville, 
where he has since made great progress in his profession. May 19, 1868, 
he married Delia Perce, by whom he has had born to him five children — 
Archie B., Lennetta May (deceased), Gertrude (deceased), Percy H. and 
Bertha Emma. Mr. Calvert is Steward and Chorister of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church. He is a member of the I. O, O. F. and K. oE H. He 
is a Republican in politics, and an advocate of prohibition. 

JOHN D. CARTER was one of the pioneers of " the new purchase," 
a wealthy farmer of Brown Township, a native of Ashe County, N. C, is 
the son of Nathaniel and Ann (Ramsy) Carter, and was born March 1, 
1811. His parents came to Indiana in 1814, and settled in Orange 
County, where they lived eight years, coming to Morgan County in 1822, 
when they located upon a small tract of land entered from the Govern- 
ment, and at once proceeded to erect a log cabin, upon the dirt floor of 
which they stowed away their little family and scant supply of household 
goods. Their stock, consisting of horses, cattle, sheep, hogs, geese and 
ducks, they brought with them from Orange County. From a journal, writ- 
ten by the subject of this sketch, in which it faithfully recounted the many 
experiences of this family, we quote: "We saw hard times the first win- 
ter; we had to cut down green beech and sugar trees for our cattle to eat 
the buds; had to go from twenty to thirty miles for corn to make bread; 
and five to six miles for help to raise the cabin. " But their experiences 
were but repetitions of those of hundreds of brave pioneers whose hard- 
ships and privations are recounted upon the pages of the early history of 
our country. November 26, 1834, Mr. Carter was married to Ruth Pick- 
ett, in the manner and form peculiar to the Friends' Society, of which 
they were both birthright members. This union has been blessed with 
ten children — George, Amos (deceased), Vincent, Sarah Ann (deceased), 
Mary, Ella (deceased), William P., Nathaniel, Benjamin, Harriet B. and 
Emma. Three of his sons, George, Vincent and Nathaniel, are promi- 
nent attorneys at law in the city of Indianapolis, and his son William 
lives in San Antonio, Tex. Mr. Carter has been one of the hardest work- 
ing men of the county. His children have all been thoroughly educated, 
and as they have arrived at the estate of men and women, have received 
bountifully of the world's goods from the munificent hand of an ever gen- 
erous parent. The declining years of his life are being happily spent 
upon his magnificent farm of about 350 acres, one and a half miles south- 
east of Mooresville, where at least once a year he assembles around his 
hearthstone and at his sumptuous table his children and grandchildi-en, 
and where the merry romp and laughter of the little folks are subdued to 



220 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

breathless silence, as they listen to the tales of pioneer life, as they come 
from the lips of one who has been an actor in scenes that seem to their 
young ears fraught with wondrous impossibilities. In politics, Mr. Car- 
ter has always been a Republican of the most pronounced type. He is a 
consistent Christian gentleman, and lives supremely happy in the glori- 
ous anticipation of eternal life in Heaven. 

NATHANIEL CARTER, native of Orange County, Ind., the sixth 
child and third son of Nathaniel and Ann (Ramsey) Carter, natives of 
North Carolina, and of Irish and Scotch extraction respectively, was 
born March 25, 1815. His parents came into Morgan County in 1821, 
and located upon land entered from the Government, and where the two old 
people spent the remainder of their days, and where Nathaniel has since re- 
sided. He attended a little at the subscription schools and learned 
something of reading and writing. November 23, 1837, he was married 
at Plainfield, Ind., to Martha, daughter of Edward Chamness, a native 
of North Carolina. She bore him six children — James R., Hannah, 
Thomas F., Mary B., Nathaniel W. and William Edgar. His son, 
Thomas F., was killed at the battle of Chattanooga, Tenn., on May 31, 
3865. The mother of these children died October 2, 1871, at the age of 
fifty-four years, and February 13, 1873, subject was married at Mon- 
rovia, Ind. , to Louisa Jane (Hubbard) Blair, daughter of George lEub- 
bard, deceased, native of North Carolina. Our subject and wife are 
birthright members of the Friends' Church. He is a Republican in pol- 
itics, and a strong advocate of temperance. He gave the land gratis 
upon which is located public school building No. 1. What Mr. Carter 
possesses he has toiled for, and after giving away considerable land to 
his children, he yet owns a nice farm of ninety seres, all in cultivation 
and well improved. He lived with his parents and took care of them 
till their death. His religious work and charities are mostly among the 
poor of the country, and in such labor he is endeavoring to do the will of 
the Everlasting Father. 

MATTHEW COMER is the second son of Joseph and Hester (Comp- 
ton) Comer, natives of North Carolina and Ohio, and of Irish and English 
extraction respectively. Joseph Comer came to Indiana Territory in 
1804, and located upon the site now occupied by the city of Richmond, 
and Matthew was born Jiily 1, 1825. He lived twenty-one years with 
his parents, learned the habits of a farmer, and attended a few terms at the 
subscription schools. The first twelve years of his majority were devoted 
to the carpenter's trade, an apprenticeship to which he began a short 
time before. He was married in Randolph County, Ind. , in November, 
1846, to Adila J. Harris, who died March 27, 1881, having borne seven 
children — Mary Jane, Jabez S., Sarah A., Levi C, William C, Minnie H. 
and Mattie F., all of whom are living at this writing (December, 1883). The 
Comer and Harris families were of the Quaker faith, but having refused to 
" marry in meeting " young Comer and wife were peremptorily dismissed, 
and the Methodist Episcopal Church immediately gained two new mem- 
bers. August 13, 1862, Mr. Comer enlisted at Richmond, Ind., in Com- 
pany B, Fifth Indiana Cavalry, and served to the close of the war. His 
Company was the first tc> charge upon and occupy the town of Knoxville, 
Tenn. They also took a prominent part in the capture of the famous 
command of John A. Morgan. He came to Mooresville in 1865, and soon 
afterward embarked in the saw mill business, which he has since fol- 
lowed, and at which he has made considerable money. He is a strict 



BROWN TOWNSHIP AND MOORESVILLE. 221 

temperance man, a Republican in politics, and a citizen of unimpeachable 
integrity. 

PAUL COX (deceased) was a native of Pennsylvania, son of Alexan- 
der and Elizabeth Cox; was born November 6, 1808, and died March 15, 
1876. He had four brothers and two sisters, two of the brothers being 
older than himself. He was reared a farmer and followed it all his life, 
though he was a brick -mason by trade, and also did a great deal in that 
line. His parents removed from Pennsylvania to Ohio, and later on to 
Indiana, and settled near Centreton, where they spent most of their after 
lives. Paul received at the neighborhood schools in Indiana such educa- 
tion as was practicable in so new a country. He was first married when 
quite young to Mary Mathews, who bore him seven children — Milton, 
Morgan, Elizabeth Ann, Emily, Harriet (deceased), Margaret and Oeorge. 
The mother of these children died in April, 1846, and in the fall follow- 
ing Mr. Cox was married in Morgan County to Elizabeth Chandler, who 
bore him seven children — Morris, Alfred, Madison, Mariah, Ida, Laura 
and Austin. Mr. Cox was a consistent member of the Christian Church, 
as is also his widow. He inherited a small tract of land from his father, 
but the rest of his property he worked for, leaving his family a handsome 
patrimony which his widow has managed with skill. She was left with four 
minor children, which she reared and cared for, educated and made of 
them honored and respected men and women. Mr. Cox was one of the 
best citizens of Morgan County, strictly honest and upright in all his 
dealings, beloved byhis neighbors, and respected by all who knew him. 

NATHAN DAY is the son of John and Edith (Lowder) Day, who were 
born in North Carolina, where they met, loved and married, and from 
whence, as hopeful young pioneers they came to Indiana in the year 
1820. They located at once upon a tract of land which they entered 
from the Government, and which lies about half a mile southeast from 
the present town of Mooresville, in Morgan County. Here they under- 
went the trials and hardships incident to pioneer life. Here their chil- 
dren were born; here, by their united effort and direction, the primitive 
forests were reduced and replaced by broad and fertile fields, and from 
here, when life was no longer fraught with privations and anxious cares, they 
took their final leave of all earthly things, and, their spirits returning to 
Him who gave them, their bodies were laid away to await the final resur- 
rection morn. They were members of the Friends' Church, and died in 
the sixtieth and fiftieth- fourth years of their ages respectively. Nathan 
is their third son and the only one of the family now living. He was 
born June 29, 1843, and has always lived upon the old homestead which 
he now owns. He was married November 24, 1864, to Candace C, 
daughter of Asbury Kooker, and has had born to him two children — 
Nellie E. and Francis R. Mr. and Mrs. Day are members of the Friends' 
Church, and he belongs to the I. O. O. F. He is a strict temperance 
man, and in politics a Republican. His farm, consisting of 120 acres, is 
one of the best improved and most valuable in the neighborhood. 

JOSEPH H. EDWARDS is the son of Henry J. and Hannah (Davis) 
Edwards, natives of Virginia and North Carolina respectively; was born 
in Grayson County, Va., May 4, 1833, and was brought by his parents to 
Indiana in 1837. They settled first in Wayne County, where they lived 
about twelve years, and where the mother died. The family afterward 
removed to Randolph County, where the father is living at this writing. 
Joseph H. was married in Hendricks County, November 24, 1855, to 



222 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

Sarah Jane Mills, who has borne him seven children — Lucinda A.. Ase- 
nath D. , Martha A., Lima J., EffieM. , Lottie C. and an infant deceased, 
not named. Mr. Edwards was reared upon a farm, and sent to the neigh- 
borhood schools when a boy, whei-e he learned something of the element- 
ary studies. In the spring of 1856, he came into Morgan County, lived 
a few years at Mooresville, and removed to his farm where he has since 
resided. He was taken seriously ill in July, 1882, and has never fully 
recovered. He has sold his farm property with a view to removing into 
Mooresville, where he will make his future home. Mr. Edwards is a 
self-made maa. His mother died when he was but thirteen years of age, 
and his father turned him at once upon the world. He worked four 
years for one man at $50 per year, and two years after at something of 
an increase. Thus he began life, and slowly but surely he has crept up. 
He has given each of his children $2,000, and reserved to himself a 
handsome competency. Both he and wife are members of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church, having come into that organization from the Society 
of Friends. 

GEORGE FARMER is a farmer, a native of Guilford County, N. 
C, is the third of ten children — four sons and six daughters — of Jacob 
and Peoa (Shoffner) Farmer, natives of North Carolina and of German 
descent, and was born April 11, 1821. His parents came to Morgan 
County in 1824, and after about eight years' residence in Brown Town- 
ship removed to Hendricks County, where they lived the remainder of 
their days, the father dying in September, 1861, in the seventy-ninth 
year of his age, and the mother in August, 1865, in the sixty-eighth 
year of her age. George was reared upon a farm, at the subscription 
school learned something of reading, writing and arithmetic, and lived 
with his parents until twenty-eight years of age, when, on December 24, 
1848, he was married in Monroe Township, Morgan County, to Lydia 
Elliott, daughter of Alfred Elliott, also a native of North Carolina, and 
by this marriage he has had born to him eleven children, the first of 
whom died in infancy not named. The others were Jacob (died at the 
age of seven years), Mary, Caroline, Alfred, William, Catharine, John, 
Alvaro (died), George and' Leonard R. Both Mr. and Mrs. F. are mem- 
bers of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and Mr. F. is a member of the 
I. O. O. F. at Mooresville. He removed from Guilford Township, Hen- 
dricks County to Brown Township, Morgan County, in August, 1858, 
where he purchased and settled upon the farm he has since owned and 
occupied. He was one of the incorporators of the Mooresville Monitor. 
He and his wife inherited from their respective parents a small sum of 
money, and the rest of their possessions have been acquired by their 
united industry. He owns at present a splendid farm of 200 acres, 
mostly in cultivation, well improved, stocked and equipped for agricult- 
ural purposes. In politics, he is a Republican. He is an ardent tem- 
perance man and an advocate of prohibition. He is a good, substantial 
citizen, held in high esteem by his neighbors and those who come in 
contact with him. 

ABNER HADLEY, farmer, Brown Township, Morgan Co., Ind., is a 
native of Hendricks County, Ind., and the third of four children of 
Joshua B. and Mary T. (Hadley) Hadley, natives of North Carolina. 
He was bom December 28, 1828; reared upon a farm; at the public 
schools of Indiana acquired a good English education, and in his early 
manhood taught two terms in Hendricks County. His father died in the 



BROWN TOWNSHIP AND MOORESVILLE. 223 

twenty- eighth year of his age when our subject was about three years of 
age. His mother died in Hendricks County November 19, 1880, in the 
seventy-third year of her age. Subject lived with his mother until he 
was about twenty-one years of age, when he set out in the world for him- 
self. On March 21, 1850, he was married, at West Union, Morgan 
County, to Ann, daughter of Uavid and Mary Lindley, natives of North 
Carolina. By this marriage he had born to him four children — Charles 
(farmer in Hardin County, Iowa), Mary E. (wife of Thadeus S. Town- 
send, now at Albany, Oreg.), Franklin M. (in Morgan County), and Flora 
E, (wife of James P. Henley, of Hendricks County, Ind. ). The mother 
of these children died February 1, 1862, in the thirty-third year of her 
age. On April 15, 1863, he was next married to Beulah, daughter of 
William and Ann Hadley, natives of North Carolina. By this marriage 
two children were born, Joshua and Edgar. Mr. Hadley' s second wife 
died February 24, 1867, in the thirty- seventh year of her age, and on 
January 14, 1869, he married for his third wife Sallie A., daughter 
of William B. and Ludah E. Hubbard, natives of North Carolina. Mr. 
and Mrs. Hadley are both birthright members of the Friends' Society, 
and are at present Elders in the White Lick Church of that denomina- 
tion; Mr. H. is also one of the Trustees of this church. He is a liberal giver 
to all churches and schools in his vicinity without regard to sect or creed. 
In politics, he is a Republican; is also an ardent temperance man and ad- 
vocate, and a friend of prohibition at all times. From the estate of his 
father, he inherited a tract of land of small value, The rest of his prop- 
erty he has acquired by his own industry. He owns at present a line 
farm of 285 acres, nearly all in cultivation, well improved and stocked 
with horses, hogs and cattle. The farm and stock receive his personal 
supervision and management. He came into Morgan County in the 
spring of 1863, and located upon the farm since owned and occupied by 
him, about one-half mile north of the town of Mooresville. He is a 
reputable and influential citizen, respected by his neighbors and esteemed 
by his church as one of its most substantial pillars and supporters. His 
wife is a woman of unquestionable merit, and noted for her charities and 
Christian conduct. 

CLINTON C. HADLEY, druggist, Mooresville, Ind., was born in 
Brown Township, Morgan County, Ind., May 11, 1855, and is the young- 
est of four children of Isaiah and Emily (Hadley) Hadley, natives of 
Ohio and Indiana respectively. He was but about two years of age when 
his father died. The first sixteen years were spent by Clinton C. upon 
the farm, and by devoting a portion of the time to his studies at the 
Mooresville school he acquired a good English education. At the age 
of eighteen, he began the drug business as clerk for Joseph Pool, and 
two years afterward, in the fall of 1875, he went to Mt. Carmel, 111., and 
for one year had charge of a drug house belonging to his brother. Re- 
turning to Mooresville he clerked for Hadley & Harvey, druggists, -until 
the summer of 1880, when he bought out the interest of the senior mem- 
ber of the firm, and shortly afterward became the sole owner of the estab- 
lishment. Mr. Hadley is a "birthright" member of the Friends' Church, 
and fills official chairs in the Subordinate Lodge and Encampment of the 
I. O. O. F. He is unmarried, and in consequence very popular with the 
ladies, a wide-awake Republican politically, and possessed of all the es- 
sential requisites to an upright citizen and gentleman. 



224 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

JOHN FRA.NKLIN HADLEY is of the sturdy old Quaker stock, and 
adheres faithfully to the teachings of that unostentatious society. A 
native farmer and stock grower of Brown Township, is the youngest son 
of Aaron and Lydia (Hadley) Hadley, originally of North Carolina, was 
born January 14, 1840, and educated at the Friends White Lick School. 
He was married, March 13, 1860, to Lydia Ann, daughter of William 
Macy (deceased), and has had born to him four childi-en — William A., 
Linnie, Mahlon and Cora. His son William is studying medicine, Mah- 
lon is at Earlbam College, and the accomplishments of his daughters are not 
being neglected. In the fall of 1880, Mr. Hadley was elected County 
Commissioner, and re-elected thereto in 1882. He was one of the organ- 
izers of the Farmers' Bank of Mooresville, and for eight years was one 
of its directors. Though a straight Republican politically, he is not 
radically partisan, and to this fact was due his first nomination for the 
office of County Commissioner. His second nomination and election re- 
sulted naturally from the efficient manner in which the affairs of the 
office were administered during his first incumbency. Mr. Hadley holds 
the office of Assistant Dictator in the order of K. of H. ; he is an unqual- 
ified advocate of prohibition, and was among the very first public men in 
Morgan County to oppose the system of legally licensing the whisky traffic. 
Mr. H. owns and resides upon the farm upon which he was born and 
reared. 

ARNOLD W. HADLEY was born at Mooresville, Ind., May 8, 1846. 
His parents, Jeremiah and Eliza (McCracken) Hadley, had eight chil- 
dren, of whom our subject was third, with two brothers older. He lived 
upon the farm with his parents until he was twenty-one years of age, 
spending about one-third of his " school age" in pursuit of an education. 
In 1867, he went to Kansas, and remained six years — four years in mer- 
cantile business, and two dealing in live stock. Returning to Indiana in 
1873, he for the next succeeding ten years, in company with his brother, 
ran the Mooresville Elevator, handling large quantities of grain, and also 
dealt extensively in coal. September 16, 1873, he was married at Mon- 
rovia to Almeda, daughter of Amos Hunt, deceased, and has had born to 
him two children — Edward d. and Hermon A. In April, 1883, as the 
head and sole manager of the firm of A. W. Hadley & Bro., he began the 
manufacture of drain tile at Mooresville, and at this writing they have 
one of the most extensive works of the kind in Morgan County.. Mr. 
Hadley and wife are members of the Friends' Church, and he is Deputy 
(District) Grand Dictator of the Order of Knights of Honor. Subject is 
a Republican in politics, an active worker in the cause of temperance, 
and prominently identified with the educational interests of Mooresville. 

WILLIAM FOSTER HADLEY was born in Brown Township, 
Morgan County, Ind., August 3, 1855. His parents, Jeremiah and 
Eliza E. (McCracken) Hadley, were North Carolinians, and traced their 
ancestral blood to the persecuted Quakers of the British Isle. They 
accompanied their respective parents into Indiana probably about half a 
century ago, and here they married and reared a family of eight children, 
William F. being the youngest son and seventh child. The subject of 
this sketch spent the first eight years of his life upon the farm, and his 
education, which consisted of a thorough English course, was acquired 
before he was seventeen years of age. At the age of twelve years, he was 
placed in charge of the M. & M. Gravel Road Toll Gate, just west of. 
Mooresville, and at this time his business career commenced. At the age 



BROWN TOWNSHIP AND MOORESVILLE. 225 

of fifteen, he entered the grocery house of R. R. Scott, at Mooresville, as 
clerk, and the following year studied the mysteries of pharmacy in 
the drug store of J. Edwards. It will not be forgotten that up to this 
time his winters had been regularly spent at school. In the fall of 1872, 
he went into the Mooresville office of the Indianapolis & Vincennes Rail- 
road, and there learned the art of telegraphy, which he followed profes- 
sionally for the next nine years. December 29, 1880, he was married in 
Morgan County to Cassie, daughter of George Farmor, and has had born 
to him one child — Everard F. May 16, 1881, he was elected cashier of 
the Farmers' Bank of Mooresville, and has since filled that position. In 
the spring of 1882, the citizens tendered him the office of Treasurer of 
Mooresville, but the trust was declined for reasons of his own. He is a 
member of the firm of A. W. Hadley & Bro. , in the manufacture of drain 
tiles, and up to June, 1883, was largely interested in the grain and coal 
business. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and in 
politics a Republican. He is a thorough business man, a gentleman and 
a scholar. 

S. M. HADLEY, eldest son of John and Elenor (Chambless) Hadley, 
natives of 'North Carolina, was born in Morgan County, Ind., October 12, 
1838. He grew to manhood upon a farm, and during his youth received 
a good English education at the subscription and public schools of his 
native county, supplemented by a coui-se at the Parke County Graded 
School. October 2, 1858, he was married to Samira Ann Kemp, a native 
of Parke County, Ind., and has had born to him two children — Curtis J. 
(dead) and Lizzie E. Mr. and Mrs. Hadley are birthright members of 
the Friends' Church, and Mr. Hadley belongs to the order of Knights of 
Honor. In politics, he is a Republican, and with the anti -temperance 
element he admits of no compromise. He removed from his farm into 
Mooresville about the year ] 872, and engaged at once in the drug business, 
which he has since followed. He owns a nice farm of eighty acres, well 
improved, stocked and cultivated, and in addition to his many other 
duties, he has been for several years past Deputy United States Postmas- 
ter at Mooresville. His worldly acquisitions are the results of his indi- 
vidual effort and management. 

JOHN W. HINSON was born at Mooresville, Ind., on January 2, 1842, 
and is the eldest of eleven children born to his parents, William H. and 
Mary (Putner) Hinson, of North Carolina. His early life was spent upon 
the farm, and his education acquired at the Mouresville High School. On 
August 15, 1861, he enrolled in Company C, Thirty- third Indiana Volun- 
teer Infantry, and served until September, 1865, having veteranized with 
his regiment in 1863. He took part in many hard-fought battles, and at 
Kenesaw Mountain, June 29, 1863, as a result from a shot fired from a 
Mississippi rifle, lost his right leg above the knee. December 27, 1869, 
he was married at Mooresville to Margaret Elliott, who died October 9, 
1881, having borne him three children — Viola, Maude (deceased), and 
Ethel E. Mr. Hinson was elected Assessor of Brown Township in 1866, 
and held the office about five years. In 1869, he was appointed Post- 
master of Mooresville, and has since been the incumbent of that office. 
To his present wife — Flora B. Roseberry — he was married at Cofi"man, 
Mo., August 1, 1883. Mr. Hinson owns both residence and business 
property in Mooresville, and while, with reference to worldly goods, he 
is comfortable generally, nothing has been given him. He is a member of 
the Methodist Episcopal Church, and in politics a Republican. 



226 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

HENRY HOUSE, native of Prince William County, Va., and third 
of eight children of John and Catharine B. (Bless) House, natives of 
Germany, was born March 23, 1823. His parents came to America in 
the year 1800, and into Morgan County in 1836, where they spent the 
remainder of their lives. Our subject was reared upon a farm; remained 
with his parents till twenty-one years of age, and at the neighborhood 
schools, both in Virginia and Indiana, acquired a fair English education. 
His father died in 1874, at the age of eighty-four years, and his mother 
two years earlier, at the age of seventy-seven. On September 5, 1845, 
our subject was married, at Mooresville, to Elizabeth King, a native of 
Indiana, who died September 28, 1848, leaving two children — Sarah Jane 
and Harriet. Sarah Jane died at the age of five years. On October 25, 
1849, he married Sarah E. Fultz, of Tennessee, and by her had born to 
him eleven children — Anna, Virginia, Charlotte (deceased), Nathaniel 
(deceased), Dora, Douglas, John, Otto, Catharine, Gertrude (deceased), 
and Ethel. Mr. H. is a class leader in the Methodist Episcopal Church, 
a Democrat in politics, and a temperance man from principle. He is an 
industrious and successful farmer and stock-grower, and his property ac- 
cumulations are due solely to his own industry. He owns 400 acres of 
fine land in Morgan County, to the management of which he gives his 
personal attention. He is a lover of learning, and a liberal supporter of 
churches and benevolent institutions without reference to sect or creed. 

WILLIAM A. HUNT, editor of the Mooresville Monitor, is a native 
of Martinsville, Ind., and is the only child of Nathan A. and Mary A. (Coble) 
Hunt, natives of the State of North Carolina, and of English and Ger- 
man extraction respectively. ^Villiam A. was born August 5, 1853, and 
his parents removed to Mooresville in the year 1854. where, with the ex- 
ception of two years spent in Danville, Ind., our subject has since resided. 
At the age of fourteen years, he was thrown upon his own resources, and 
his schooling, limited to about eight months in the aggregate, was pro- 
cured after that age. In 1865, he entered the confectionery store of his 
grandfather, at Mooresville, and remained up to 1874. At this time, his 
grandfather having died, he embarked in business on his own account, 
and for two years, though nearly destitute of financial capital, he man- 
aged, young as he was, to support himself, his mother and grandmother, 
both the latter being confirmed invalids. In 1877, he entered the office 
of the Mooresville Herald, as a " printer's devil," where he remained 
three years, learning the trade of a printer in the meantime, and in 1880 
engaged as a compositor on the Mooresville Monitor, and in 1881, upon 
the retirment of A. W. Macy, Mr. Hunt was appointed by the directors, 
editor, which position he has since held, and the duties of which he has 
discharged with credit to himself and to the satisfaction of his patrons. 
Since becoming the editor of the Monitor — which is owned by a joint- 
stock company — he has by industry and economy been able to possess him- 
self of two-thirds of its stock, and is at this writing, December, 1883, the 
owner of a controlling interest. January 9, 1877, he was married, in 
Mooresville, to Mary E. Dickinson, by whom he has had born to him two 
children — Dwite A. and Margaret A. Mr. Hunt is a consistent member 
of the Methodist Episcopal Charch, and is Reporter or Secretary of the 
Lodge of the Knights of Honor. He is also Secretary of the Old Set- 
tlers' Association, of the district comprising the counties of Morgan, 
Hendricks, Johnson and Monroe. He is a writer of more than ordinary 
ability, and the Monitor, under his management, is rapidly increasing in 
popularity. 



BROWN TOWNSHIP AND MOORESVILLE. 227 

GEORGE ANDREW JACKSON was born in Stokes County, N. C, 
June 1, 1842, and is the sixth of the twelve children born to William 
and Celia (Gorden) Jackson. He was reared a farmer, and came to this 
county in February, 1866; he resided for some time in Madison Town- 
ship, and then came to Brown Township and purchased a farm of 100*' 
acres, which he has well stocked and improved. May 21, 1871, he mar- 
ried Lucy J. Perkey, daughter of George and Lucy (Landers) Perkey, 
and to this marriage have been born the following children: Violette J,, 
Laura Etta, AVilliam Sidney, George Amer, Louisa Jane and Allen Hick- 
lin. Mr. Jackson is a member of Mooresville Lodge, No. 78, F. & A. M., 
and Mrs. Jackson is a member of the Christian Church. 

BENJAMIN FRANKLIN JONES, carriage- trimmer and harness- 
maker at Mooresville, Ind., is a native of Warren County, Ohio; is the 
youngest of ten children, four sons and six daughters, of Nathan and 
Margaret (Hawkins) Jones, natives of New Jersey and Ohio, and of 
Welsh and English extraction respectively, and was born INIay 9, 1846, 
He was reared upon a farm, and at the public schools of Ohio acquired a 
good English education. September 2, 1864, he enrolled at Waynesville, 
Ohio, in Company B, One Hundred and Eightieth Ohio Volunteer In- 
fantry, and served to July 25, 1865. when he was honorably discharged 
with the rank of Duty Sergeant on account of cessation of war. While 
in the service, he participated in the battle of Kingston, N. C, and a 
number of skirmishes. Soon after enlistment, he was detached and put 
into garrison duty. Mr. Jonen came to Mooresville in November, 1870, 
and took service with Dorland & Gregory, dealers in hardware and agri- 
cultural implements. In January, 1873, he began the trade of harness- 
maker and carriage-trimmer, and, in 1876, set up in business on his own 
account. April 26, 1876, he was married at New Albany, Ind., to Emma 
Thompson, a native of Indiana, and daughter of Rev. I. N. Thompson, 
and by this marriage he has had born to him one child — Bertram T. 
After returning from the army, he was engaged in the dry goods business 
at Lebanon, Ohio, during the year 1867 and a part of 1868, and, in 
1869-70, he was at Oskaloosa, Iowa, in the grocery business. Aside 
from a small inheritance from the estate of his father, he has worked for 
what he has, and owns a nice residence property and the splendid brick 
building in which he carries on his business. In politics, he is a wide- 
awake Republican, a temperance man and an advocate of prohibition. 
From 1879 to 1882, he carried on the manufacture of carriages and bug- 
gies in addition to his other business, and altogether his industrious 
efforts have proved satisfactorily remunerative. He is a highly respected 
citizen and a reliable business man. In 1876, he was Town Clerk of 
Mooresville, and as such wrote and compiled the town ordinances. The 
father of our subject died in August, 1865, at the age of sixty-eight 
years. His mother yet lives at the age of about seventy-eight years, and 
makes her home with him. 

THOMAS ELWOOD LAWRENCE was born in Grant County, Ind., 
June 19, 1847, and was the eldest of eight children — four sons and four 
daughters — of William and Priscilla (Williams) Lawi'ence, natives re- 
spectively of North Carolina and Indiana. When eighteen years of age, 
our subject accompanied his parents to Morgan Coiinty, where he has 
since lived, and where his father died in 1883, at the age of sixty-four 
years, and his mother eight years before, at the age of fifty-one. Subject 
was educated at the public schools, five terms of which he afterward 



228 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

taught in Morgan County. He married Delphina Harvey April 26, 1871, 
and has two children — lvalue and Gertrude. He is a birthright member 
of the Friends' Church, in which society his mother was for tifteen years 
4 preceding her death a prominent minister. Mr. L. is a prominent Odd 
Fellow, a Republican politically, and an ardent temperance worker, In 
1882, he rented out his farm, and engaged in the lumber business at 
Mooresville, Martinsville and other points, and is to-day one of the most 
extensive hard-wood lumber dealers in the county, dealing extensively in 
walnut lumber. To give an idea of the present value of walnut lumber, 
we will state that Mr. Lawrence has just shipped one car load of five- 
eights walnut, of 14,230 feet, which brought him, loaded on car at 
Mooresville, $825.35. 

JAMES MADISON LEATHERS (deceased), native of Franklin 
County, Ky., was born May 15, 1814, and died July 3, 1880. In 1828, 
he accompanied his l^rother Thomas J. into Indiana, and spent the rest of 
his life in Morgan County. His school advantages were very limited, 
though he learned something of reading, writing and arithmetic by at- 
tendance at the subscription schools when not engaged upon the farm. 
He married Martha Jane McDonald September 15, 1835. and she bore 
him twelve children — William W. (deceased), Charles S., Nancy A., 
Mary, Theodore (deceased), John (deceased), Margaret (deceased), Sam- 
uel (deceased), Sarah M., Harrison, Douglass and Mintie E. From the 
age of fourteen years until the day of his death, subject was a consistent 
member of the Christian Church, and was for many years a Master Ma- 
son. His first wife died March 4, 1871, and November 5, of the same 
year, he was married in Morgan County, Ind., to Phoebe T. Jones, daugh- 
ter of the Rev. H. T. Burge. By this marriage he had born to him 
three children — Florence Mabel, Bessie B. (deceased), and Samuel M. 
Mr. L. left his family a nice property, consisting, among other 
things, of a tine farm of 183 acres, which his widow manages with skill 
and success. He was a great religious worker, educated his children, and 
voted the Democratic ticket with persistent regularity. 

RILEY McCRARY is a native of North Carolina, but the name of 
his father and the date of his birth are unknown. He was left an orphan 
at a very early period of his existence, and bound out until twenty-one 
years of age. He was taught only in manual labor, and has turned his 
accomplishments in that direction to good account. He was about twen- 
ty one years of age when he came into Morgan County, probably about 
1834-35, and for several years carried on the blacksmith business at 
Mooresville, at which he made considerable money. On April 2, 1837, 
he married Oracle Staley, who bore him twelve children — Mary Jane, 
John Wesley, William A., James F. (deceased), Samuel L., Margaret M. 
(deceased), Sarah M. (deceased), Rebecca (deceased), Elizabeth E., 
George T., Joseph W. (deceased), David J. (deceased). The mother of 
these children died in 1870, and January 3, 1873, he married Mary Jane 
Lockwood, who has borne him three S(ms — Franklin (deceased), Charles 
and Frederick. He lives now upon his farm, about one mile north of 
Mooresville, and makes a specialty of breeding thoroughbred hogs. In 
addition to hi a home place of 186 acres, he owns a fine farm in Hendricks 
County. He has done as much hard work as any man of his age in any 
country. He is a consistent member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, 
a Democrat in politics, and has never in his life used tobacco or whisky, 
nor had one dollar given to him. 



BROWN TOWNSHIP AND MOORESVILLE. 229 

PHILIP McNAB, M. D., a native of Morgan County, Ind., only 
son of Henry and Casandra (Evans) McNab, natives of Kentucky, and 
of Scotch and Welsh extraction respectively, was born July 12, 1833. 
Philip was reared upon a farm and educated at the Northwestern Chris- 
tian University at Indianapolis. In the summer of 1859, he entered 
the office of Dr. Ford at Wabash, Ind., and began the study of medicine, 
and the following fall and winter took a full course of lectures at Ann 
Arbor (Mich.) University. Returning to Wabash for the summer, he 
attended the succeeding fall and winter at Ann Arbor, from whence he 
graduatedjin chemistry in the spring of 1863 ,andin May of this year(l861), 
he opened an office at La Gro, Ind., and practiced medicine for the next 
two years. In March, 1863, he entered Long Island Hospital College, 
Brooklyn, and in June, 1863, graduated therefrom with the degree of 
Doctor of Medicine, and after another short stay at La Gro removed to 
Indianapolis, where in the beginning of 1864, he formed a partnership with 
Dr. R. T. Brown, Professor of Natural Sciences in the Northwestern Chris- 
tian University, and for four years following pursued his profession of 
physician and surgeon. In the fall of 1868, he came into Morgan County, 
and the following year opened an office iu West Newton, in Marion 
County, where he remained about three years. In November, 1872, he 
removed to Mooresville, Ind., where he immediately took rank among the 
leading men of his profession. On July 29, 1861, he was married at 
Bethel, Me., to Mary, daughter of Aaron and Ruble Mason, of that State, 
and by this union he has had born to him two children — Solon Mason, 
now a student at Butler University, and Howard Barlow, a resident of 
Arizona Territory. Dr. McNab is respected for the knowledge he has 
gaioed in his profession, in the practice of which he has enjoyed more 
than ordinary experience. Some years since, he was associated with Dr. 
L. D. Waterman, of Indianapolis, as expert in the chemical analysis of 
the stomach of a Mrs. Dr. Beason, who, it was alleged, had been mur- 
dered by her husband at Kokomo, Ind., and was one of the most cele- 
brated cases of the day. Later on, in 1873, he was employed in the 
same capacity in the case of Basil Bailey, another notorious case, at 
Frankfort, Ind., and was the author of the exhaustive synopsis of the 
analysis published in the Mooresville Enterprise, June 19, 1873. Upon 
the analysis m the case first named, he was highly complimented by the 
celebrated Prof. Blainey, of Chicago, who fully indorsed it in every par- 
ticular. The subject of this sketch is a man of versatile ability. His 
lectures on " Medical Sciences " before the society of physicians and sur- 
geons, upon Physiology before the high school, and upon temperance be- 
fore the people, are noted for their purity of diction and originality of 
thought and eloquence of delivery. At this writing (November 1883), 
Dr. McNabb is Secretary of the Mooresville Lodge of Free and Accepted 
Masons; member of both County and State Medical Societies, an active 
Republican in politics, an ardent " Prohibitionist," a consistent member 
of the Christian Church, and in the enjoyment of a lucrative practice iu 
the community where he is best known, and therefore most highly 
esteemed. 

REV. PERRY T. MACY, a wealthy and influential farmer and stock 
grower, was born in Randolph County, Ind., August 19, 1825, and there 
lived upon the farm with his parents, William and Hannah (Hinshaw) 
Macy, until he was twenty-three years old. His parents, who were na- 
tives of North Carolina, and descended from the English and Irish 



230 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

respectivfily, had thirteen children (seven sons and six daughters), of 
whom our subject was the ninth, with five older brothers. The subscrip- 
tion schools supplied the source of his education, which was limited to 
elementary studies. Though he continued to reside in his native county 
until the spring of 1856, he was married in Morgan County September 
14, 1848, to Charity, daughter of Henry Mills. She bore him four 
children, thi-ee of whom, Albert W., Charles L. and Ida Ellen, were liv- 
ing at her death, which occurred December 27, 1863. August 26, 1869, 
he married in Dallas County, Iowa, Rebecca Hadley, daughter of George 
Bowles, and has had born to him two children — Oliver P. and Vernon D. 
Rev. Mr. Macy has been many years regular recorded minister o f the Friends 
Church, and since moving to Morgan County he has owned and occupied 
the farm upon which he now resides, about one mile west of Mooresville. 
From 1860 to 1872, he was superintendent of the business department of 
the Mooresville High School, and for two years, 1873-74, was proprietor 
of the Mooresville Entei^prise, a weekly paper now known as the Moores- 
ville Monitor. His son, Albert, W., is at this writing (December, 1883) 
the talented editor of the Richmond (Ind.) Palladium. Our subject is 
well supplied with this world's goods, nearly all of which have been ac- 
quired by his own industry. 

ALLEN T. MANKER was born in Highland County, Ohio, April 15, 
1827; is the sixth son of nine children (eight sons and one daughter) of 
Jacob and Marion (Jones) Manker, natives of Ohio. His mother died 
when he was five years of age, and the succeeding eleven years of his life 
were spent at different places in the neighborhood of his nativity. He 
acquired something of an education by a few months' attendance at the 
winter schools in his neighborhood, and in 1841, in the town of Hillsboro, 
Ohio, began the trade of carpenter and served an apprenticeship of three 
years. He came into Morgan County in 1845, and has since recognized 
Mooresville as his home. In 1854-55, he ran a grist mill in Montgome- 
ry County, and from 1874 to 1880 had charge of the Magnolia Mills at 
Mooresville two different times, aggregating something over three years. 
Going thence to Brooklyn, Ind. , he closed his mill experience by about 
one year's service. In 1856-57, he was engaged in the livery business at 
Mooresville, and the rest of his life has been devoted to the business of 
contractor and builder. He was married at Darlington, Ind., April 16, 
1857, to Nancy J. Gaskill and has had born to him seven children — Frank 
E., Clinton W., Mary I., James M., John W., Charles and Livingston. 
In 1852, he "bull-whacked" across the plains from Iowa to Portland, 
Oreg., and returned to New York via the Isthmus. The best buildings in 
Mooresville are marks of his handiwork. He superintended the erection 
of the new Methodist Episcopal Church, drew the plans of the Masonic 
building, and erected the Odd Fellows Hall. He is a member of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church, belongs to the Masons and Knights of 
Honor; is a strict temperance man, and in politics an out and-out Demo- 
crat. 

GILES BEFORD MITCHELL, M. D. (deceased), was born in Bar- 
tholomew County, Ind., November 17, 1822. His parents, Giles and 
Mary (Moore) Mitchell, natives of Virginia and Kentucky respectively, 
were married in Kentucky in 1807, and emigrated to Indiana in 1810, 
locating in Charleston, Clarke County, when the only buildings there were 
a block-house and a log fort. In 1820, they removed into Bartholomew 
County, and in 1833 settled in Martinsville, Morgan County, where Giles 



BROWN TOWNSHIP AND MOORESVILLE. 231 

Beford, who was the fourth of a family of nix children, acquired the 
rudiments of an English education. In about 1837, he began the study of 
medicine with Dr. Barnard, of Martinsville, and at the end of one year 
entered the Ohio Medical College at Cincinnati, from which institution 
he subsequently graduated as M. D. He practiced medicine a few years 
in Martinsville, and from 1847 to 1857 in Mooresville, when he returned 
to Martinsville and embarked in the mercantile business. This he fol- 
lowed about three years, but growing dissatisfied sold out and returned 
to Mooresville, where he resumed his practice which he continued up to 
within a few days of his death, which occurred October 6, 1878. He 
was a man of much more than ordinary mental caliber, and his success 
through life was due to his own industry, energy, and indomnitable 
perseverance in the pursuit of knowledge. He was married, November 
30, 1847, at Mooresville, to Sarah Reagan, daughter of Eeason Reagan, 
an early settler of Morgaa County, and had born to him six children — 
Mary E., Laura A. (deceased), John (deceased), Ida E. (deceased), Sarah 
V. (deceased), Emma G., and William L. At his death. Dr. M. had 
been many years a consistent member of the M. E. Church, and a Mason 
in high standing. He was one of the organizers of the Farmers' Bank 
of Mooresville, and for several years its President. In politics, he was 
an unswerving Democrat, and was at one time his party's candidate for 
Representative in the State Legislature. He esteemed his profession 
above all other employments in which he was engaged, and devoted him- 
self to the bank only because the accumulation of his toil required it. 
His aim was to be a successful practitioner, and he allowed nothing to 
conflict with his darling purpose. His perceptions were very keen, and 
in the treatment of acute diseases he was very successful. Much of his 
extensive practice was due to the promptness of his calls. He attended 
strictly to work, and was careful not to neglect any of his patients. He 
took hold with a firm hand, and the result was not doubtful. His suc- 
cessful career is a brilliant example of what can be accomplished by 
earnest devotion to present duty. He started with nothing, having to 
sign a note for borrowed money with which to prosecute his studies in 
the medical college. As a business man, he was exact in his habits and 
prided himself on system in all that belonged to his affairs. When he 
received certain premonition of his approaching death, he arranged to 
settle his business, that future embarrassment might be avoided. He be- 
lieved in applying bank principles to ordinary business affairs, and this 
system, no doubt, had much to do with his success in temporal matters. 
He deserved great credit and reaped a liberal harvest for his painstakings 
in departments of duty. He left his family a handsome patrimony, 
which has been skillfully managed by his surviving widow. 

JOHN NAUGLE, blacksmith and wood worker, Mooresville, Ind., 
second son of Emanuel and Delinda (Reede) Naugle, natives of Pennsylva- 
nia and Virginia, and of German and English extraction respectively; was 
born in Scott County, Ind., October 25, 1832. He was reared upon a 
farm, and at the common schools acquired the rudiments of an English 
education. On January 1, 1854, he was married at Salem, Washington 
County, Ind., to Charlotte A. Hoggett, by whom he has had born to him 
ten children, two of whom died in infancy, not named; the others were 
named as follows: John Albert, Joseph Wilburn, Edward Emanuel, Alice 
Irene, Leonora (deceased), George Elmer (deceased), Ernest Morton (de- 
ceased) and Archibald T. Both Mr. and Mrs. Naugle are members of the 



232 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. Naugle came to Mooresville in Feb- 
ruary, 1864, and for the next five years followed blacksmithing. Having 
patented a garden and field hoe, he for a few months traveled from place 
to place introducing them. He next perfected other patents, and devoted 
his time to them for about three years. In 1871, he removed with his 
family to Center Valley in Hendricks County, and lived there four years. 
He then lived seven years at Valley Mills, in Marion County, and carried 
on a blacksmith and wood working shop. His shops having been con- 
sumed by fire, he returned to Mooresville in August, 1883, and again 
embarked in his old business. He now owns a nice residence property, 
and the handsomest blacksmith and wood working shop combined in the 
county. He employs, aside from his own labor, two skillful workmen 
and is rapidly placing himself at the head of this particular branch of 
business in the town of Mooresville. What he has of this world's goods 
he has worked for. 

EGBERT BARCLAY NEWBY was born at Salem, Washing- 
ton County, Ind., July 21, 1827, and lived there, following farming as an 
occupation, until eighteen years of age. He is the eldest son and third 
child of five boys and three girls born to Micah and Mary (Cofdn) Newby, 
natives of North Carolina and of English descent. Robert B. was 
schooled at the Washington County Seminary, and in the year 1845, 
came to Mooresville, where he has since resided. His first service here 
was with S. Moore, as clerk in a mercantile establishment, going into a 
partnership with him at the end of five years. After being with him three 
years Mr. Newby retired from the mercantile business, but continued a 
partnership with Mr. Moore in farming and stock business for several 
years. June 16, 1850, he mamed his partner's daughter, Jane M., who 
died in August, 1853, after having borne him two children — Samuel M. 
and Frank W. (deceased). Mr. Newby married his second wife, Mary 
Rariden, in Morgan County in April, 1870. Since 1870, he has been 
farming and stock trading. In 1879, he was elected Marshal of Moores- 
ville, and held the ofiice one year, and since 1882, has been Justice of 
the Peace of Brown Township, and in addition to the duties of that ofl&ce, 
is carrying on a general collecting agency. He is a member of the Ma- 
sonic order, and in politics an active Republican. 

WILLIAM D. OVERTON is the third son of James H. and Ann M. 
(Parker) Overton, who spent their lives in North Carolina; he was born 
in Northampton County that State, July 4, 1852; came to Morgan County, 
Ind., in the winter of 1874, and up to the spring of 1882 farmed near 
Monrovia. At this town, after a short trip West, Mr. Overton entered the 
hardware store of Hobbs & Johnson, as clerk. In July, 1883, he bought 
out the Mooresville elevator and has since been engaged in the grain 
business. On November 19, 1878, he was married at Hillsdale, to 
Maggie Lankford, who died March 21, 1881, leaving her husband one 
child— William Henry. In 1860, Northampton County, N. C, cast 14 
votes for Abraham Lincoln for President of the United States and James 
H. Overton was one of the number. On account of his anti- Southern 
principles, he was compelled to leave home during the war, and the 
mother dying in the meantime, the family was completely broken up. 
So it will be readily understood that so far in life William D. Overton 
has "paddled his own canoe." He is a member of the Methodist Epis- 
copal Church, an earnest supporter of the cause of temperance, belongs 
to the Masonic order and votes the Republican ticket. 



BROWN TOWNSHIP AND MOORESVILLE. 233 

BENJAMIN HENRY PERCE, M. D., prominent physician and sur- 
geon of Mooresville, Ind., is eldest of live children of Prosper and 
Mary O. (Robinson) Perce, natives of New York and New Hampshire, 
and of English and Scotch-Irish extraction respectively, was born in St. 
Joseph County, Mich., June 27, 1838. His father having died in 1854. 
leaving the family in somewhat straitened circumstances, the sub- 
ject of this sketch was thrown early in life upon his own resources. He 
had acquired some knowledge of sign writing and ornamental painting, 
and did considerable work in that line, by which he accumulated a 
small sum of money, the most of which he liberally gave to his mother 
and young sister, and with $3 in his pocket and his extra wearing appar- 
rel rolled up in an old silk handkerchief, young Perce left the place of 
his nativity, and took up his march in search of a livelihood. Trudging 
onward, stopping occasionally to saw wood for bread, he arrived finally 
at the crossing of the New Albany & L. S. R. R. Footsore, tired, hun- 
gry and discouraged, he thrust his cane into the sand and allowed its 
failing to decide the course of his further travel. It bent its head to the 
south, and in the year 1857, after sleeping in fence corners and feasting 
ofif dry crackers alone as sable night spread her wings over hill and dale, our 
subject landed at Greencastle, Ind., the sole possessor of but 25 cents. 
He retired without supper and began work before breakfast, so that when 
dinner arrived — a good one to which he was kindly invited — the manner 
in which he attacked the eatables, made the eyes of his generous host 
and hostess stand out from very wonder. He alternated the two succeed- 
ing years between Greencastle and Plainlield in following his trade, and 
in the spring of 1859, came to Mooresville, and a year afterward formed 
a partnership with a Mr. Mitchell in the manufacture of carriages and 
buggies, which enterprise failed in the following year. As "journey- 
man," he followed his old trade at different places up to the summer of 
1862, when he raised a company preparatory to entering the army, and 
drilled it, but declined a commission as its commander in favor of 
Capt. Peoples. In August of this year, he entered as a Corporal in Com- 
pany E, Twelfth Indiana Volunteer Infantry, and served up to June, 
1865. In July, 1864, at Marietta, Ga., he received a sunstroke which 
resulted in the destruction of his right eye. In October, 1864, he was 
placed upon detached duty as Hospital Steward in the provisional divis • 
ion of the Army of the Tennessee, going from there to Washington in 
the same capacity in the Auger General Hospital, and here received his 
final discharge. Dr. Perce is a self-educated man, having attended 
school but about eighteen months of his early life. His first ideas of 
medicine were acquired while in the army, and in the winter of 1872-73 
he took a course of lectures at the Indiana Medical College, where the 
following winter he held the office of Prosector to the Chair of Anatomy. 
At the end of this session he graduated as Doctor of Medicine, and in 
February, 1879, took adeicndem degree at the Medical College of Indiana. 
In the spring of 1873, he began the practice of medicine at Mooresville, 
and, growing rapidly into popularity, he to-day (December, 1883), ranks 
among the foremost in his profession. May 14, 1867, he was married at 
Mooresville to Eunice Ann, daughter of Jacob and Jemima Coombs. 
By this marriage he had born to him two children — Henry (deceased in 
infancy), and Elsie Gertrude. The mother of these children died Sep- 
tember 18, 1874, and in April, 1876, the Doctor married at Plainfield, 
Ind., his present wife, Elvira, daughter of Simon and Martha Hornaday. 



234 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

Two children, Edith (deceased in infancy) and Mary, have crowned this 
union. The Doctor is a consistent member of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church, belongs to the I. O. O. F. , is a Master Mason, a Knight of 
Honor; has filled most all the official chairs in these societies and is at 
present Examiner of the one last named. In Masonry and Odd Fellow- 
ship, he belongs to the Grand Lodges of the State. He is a member of 
both county and State Medical societies, of the first of which he has 
been twice President. He is in the enjoyment of a lucrative position, 
owns a handsome property, is proud of his profession, and justly so of 
his successes; he votes the Kepublican ticket. 

AMOS W. REAGAN M. D. , a prominent physician and surgeon of 
Mooresville, Ind., is the fourth son of Eeason and Diana (Wilson) Rea- 
gan, natives of South Carolina, and probably of Irish and English 
extraction respectively. Amos W. was born in Marion County, Ind., 
April 3, 1826, and the first sixteen years of his life were spent upon a 
farm, alternating, in the usual manner of farmers' sons, the duties thereof 
with occasional attendance at the common schools. In 1845, he entered 
Asbury University, where for three years he assiduously devoted himself 
to study, acquiring a thorough English education and a fair familiarity 
with the classics. January, 1847, in the office of Dr. G. B. Mitchell, 
at Mooresville, he began the study of medicine, and at the end of one 
year entered the Ohio Medical College at Cincinnati, from whence he 
graduated in the spring of 1851 with the degree of M. D. Returning 
to Mooresville, the Doctor formed a partnership with his old preceptor, 
and for the next succeeding twenty -two j'ears, interrupted only by a three 
years' service in the army, carried on the practice of medicine. Dr. Rea- 
gan rose rapidly in the profession, and ere many years was ranked among 
the most successful practitioners in Morgan County. Early in July, 
1862, he entered the service of the United States, and was at once com- 
missioned Surgeon of the Seventieth Indiana Volunteer Infantry. From 
his enrollment to the close of the war, his command was never without 
his services, and the last eighteen months of the time he was Acting Bri- 
gade Surgeon of the First Brigade, Third Division, Twentieth Army 
Corps. The distinguished services of the old Seventieth Indiana are 
immortalized in the already written history of our country, and it is not 
essential to the purposes of this sketch that many bloody engagements 
be here detailed or even referred to. Suffice it to say that in bivouac or in 
battle, its sick, its wounded and its dying were never without the attend- 
ance of one of the most skillful surgeons of the army. While at Bow- 
ling Green, Ky. , in September, 1862, the Doctor contracted chronic 
diarrhoea, resulting in disease of the heart. From the efifects of this, he 
has never recovered; but, on the contrary, the symptoms have grown 
perceptibly worse within the past few years. From 1872 to 1875, our 
subject was associated with Dr. Perce at Mooresville, since the dissolu- 
tion of which partnership he has been alone in the practice. He has 
been thrice married, and is the father of three children, two only of 
whom are living. His first wife was Nancy Rooker, daughter of Jesse 
Rooker, who died in the fall of 1858, after having been married about 
three years. His second wife was Sarah E. , a younger sister of his first 
wife. She lived about five years of married life, and died without issue 
in October, J871. To his present wife, a Mrs. Ella Elliott, who has 
borne him one child, he was married in November, 1882. In 1860, he 
was elected to his third term of Trustee of Brown Township, but entered 



BROWN TOWNSHIP AND MOORESVILLE. 235 

the United States Army before the term of his office expired. At this 
writing (November, 1883), Dr. Keagan is enjoying a lucrative practice; 
is a prominent member of both County and State Medical Societies; be- 
longs t(; the Masonic order, and to the Methodist Episcopal Church; has 
been for the past nine years member of the JMooresville High School 
Board; is a Republican in politics, an upright gentleman, and rightfully 
holds the esteem and confidence of the community in which his life has 
so far been spent. 

THOMAS A. RICHAEDSON was born in Hendricks County, Ind., 
September 8, 1837. His parents, James and Rachel (Little) Richai'dson, 
natives of Virginia, came to Mooresville when Thomas A. was an infant, 
and here the father died in 1882, at the age of seventy-eight years. Up 
to fifteen years of age, our subject lived in town, and the next five years 
he spent upon the farm. His education was limited to such as could be 
had at the public schools, and having learned the tinner's trade at 
Mooresville, he, in 1861, went to Wabash, Ind., at which place and at 
Indianapolis he worked as tinsmith for the next six years. October 5, 
1865, he was married at Mooresville, to Miss Hawk, daughter of Dr. 
Charles Hawk, and has had bora to him three childi-en - an infant (de- 
ceased) not named, Oracle and Florence. Mr. Richardson is one of the 
Stewards of the Methodist Church; Treasurer of the "Morgan" Lodge, 
No. 211, 1. O. O. F., and " Guide " of " Vesty " Lodge, No. 997, K. of H. 
In the spring of 1880, he was elected Trustee of Brown Township, and 
re-elected thereto in the spring of 1882. In the fall of the year last 
named, he was defeated in his candidacy for Clerk of the Circuit Court. 
In politics, he is a Democrat, and his preferment in a township largely 
Republican at once indicates his popularity and his fitness for the office 
to which he has been twice called. In the spring of 1868, in partner- 
ship with J. H. Rusie, he embarked in the stove and tin business at 
Mooresville, and here he has since remained and has been successful. 
He is a self-made man, and the result is an upright and honorable mer- 
chant, conscientious alike in his dealings and his public trusts. 

DR. CLARK ROBBINS is the son of Alford and Isabel (Griggs) 
Bobbins, who were natives of Ohio, and of Irish extraction. They came 
into Indiana about a half a century ago, and settled in Morgan County, 
where on July 10, 1836, their second son, the subject of this sketch, was 
born. Clark alternated the duties of farm life with attendance at the 
public schools. He lost his father when but fourteen years of age, and 
since that time has " paddled his own canoe." At the age of nineteen, he 
began the study of medicine in the office of Dr. Hutchinson at Moores- 
ville, and in the winter of 1856-57 took a full course of lectures at Ann 
Arbor (Mich.) University. The following winter, he spent profitably at 
the Cincinnati (Ohio) Medical College, and in August, 1858, began the 
practice of medicine at Monrovia, Ind. At the end of two years, he re- 
moved to Brooklyn, Ind., where for the ensuing sixteen years he pur- 
sued his profession with flattering success. The superior school advan- 
tages of Martinsville took him to that town in the spring of 1876, and 
from Martinsville he removed to Mooresville in the fall of 1880. Here 
he has since plied his profession with credit to himself and to the satis- 
faction of his patrons. September 29, 1859, he was married in Monro- 
via to Eliza J., daughter of John K. Wilhite, and has had born to him 
one child — John A. Mrs. Bobbins having died, the Doctor was married, 
December 10, 1863, at Centreton, Ind., to Melissa Hardwick, by whom 



236 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

he has had born to him three children — Ella, Minnie and Schuyler. He 
and family are all members of the Methodist Protestant Church, the 
Doctor in fact being one of its most substantial pillars. He is class 
leader, Financial Steward, and Superintendent of the Sabbath school. 
For twenty-three years, he was a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church, but in February, 1881, joined the above body and has since 
been an earnest worker. The only political office the Doctor ever 
aspired to was that of Trustee of Clay Township, and this office he held 
for ten consecutive years. Dr. Bobbins was by education, early training 
and many years' practice, identified with the " allopathic system," but a 
few years since he chose to adopt a more liberal course, so he cut loose 
from " creeds and ethics," and now praftices under the best authorities 
of the allopathic, eclectic and homoeopathic schools. 

ISAAC W. EOOKER was born in Blount County, Tenn., November 
25, 1806, and came to Indiana in 1818, with his parents, who settled in 
Wayne County. I'rom Wayne the family removed into Morgan County 
in 1822, and located upon land entered from the United States Govern- 
ment in Brown Township, and here the father and mother, William and 
Nancy (Saffell) Booker, spent the remainder of their Jives. They were 
natives of England and Old Virginia respectively, and lived to a very old 
age, being each about eighty-four years when they departed this life. 
They were married in Virginia, and lived together as man and wife about 
sixty-five years, rearing a family of eleven children, five sons and six 
daughters, of which number Isaac W. was tenth. He was reared as a 
farmer, and had the benefit of about nine months' schooling in Brown 
Township, but seems, however, to have improved his opportunities for 
learning, for he was employed several months at teaching the young 
children in his neighborhood. April 6, 1826, Mr. Booker was man-ied 
in Morgan County to Polly Ballard, a native of Ohio, by whom he had 
born to him nine children — Elizabeth J., Nancy A. (deceased), Bachael 
E. (deceased), Mary Ann, Calvin F., Rufus B. (deceased), John W., 
William A. (deceased), and Catharine L. William A. died in the United 
States Army, and the mother of these children died October 8, 1883, at 
the age of about seventy-six years. Mr. and Mrs. B. both became mem- 
bers of the Methodist Episcopal Church when young, and Mrs. R. lived 
and died as a Christian should. His property, aside from a small in- 
heritance from the estate of his father, has been acquired by his own in- 
dustry, and like most of the pioneers of a new country, he learned lessons 
of hardship and privation, and has eaten of the bread earned by the sweat 
of the brow. He has always been of a somewhat retiring disposition, 
and to attend strictly to his own business and allow other people to do 
the same, has been the rule of his actions through life. His declining 
years are being spent peacefully upon his old homestead, where his wants 
are administered to by his daughter and her husband, who live with him, 
and who spare no efforts to make his old age comfortable and happy, 

CAPT. SAMUEL M. BOOKEB, citizen of Mooresville, Ind., is the 
third son of Jesse S. and Candace L. (Conduitt) Booker, natives of Ten- 
nessee, and descendants from the German and the French, respectively. 
He was born at Mooresville May 22, 1824. He was trained to farm life, 
and educated at the public schools. His parents came into Morgan 
County in the year 1816, and here spent the remainder of their years, 
his father dying in 1843, at the age of forty- nine years, and his mother 
ten years earlier, at the age of thirty- eight. He was maiTied, February 



BROWN TOWNSHIP AND MOORESVILLE. 237 

24, 1844, to Nancy McNeff,by whomhehad born to him six children — Mary 
Candace (deceased), Marion Howard (deceased), Kansas, Adalide, Otto E. 
and Mattie B. August 13, 1862, he entered the service of the United 
States as Captain of Company E, Twelfth Indiana Volunteer Infantry, 
and five months thereafter was compelled to resign on account of phys- 
ical disability. Though out but a short time, he saw considerable real 
service, having participated in the battle of Richmond, Ky., and any 
number of skirmishes. Returning from the war, he engaged in the mer- 
cantile business at Mooresville, from which he retired in about a year, 
and built the Magnolia Mills, and conducted them twelve or thirteen 
years. He has bought and sold over 4,500 acres of valuable lands in 
Brown Township; dealt extensively in grain, and been an active business 
man generally. The panic of 1875-76 cost him over $20, 000, and in Novem- 
ber, 1881, his residence in Mooresville was completely destroyed by fire. 
So, with all, Capt. Rooker has had his share of theups and downs of life, 
and still rides the waves. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church; high up in the order of Odd Fellows; a Democrat in politics; a 
farmer by occupation, and takes life easy in his new splendid residence, 
into which he has just moved. 

WILLIAM ASBURY ROOKER (deceased) was born in Wayne 
County, Ind., January 6, 1819, and died at Mooresville, Ind., August 
16, 1849. He was the second son of Jesse S. and Candace L. (Conduitt) 
Rooker, and had one brother and six sisters younger than himself. At 
the age of about twelve years, he entered a dry goods house as clerk, and 
remained nine or ten years. On December 26, 1839, he was married to 
Susan Rusie, daughter of Michael and Catharine (House) Rusie, of 
Mooresville, and had born to him four children — Thomas B. D., Candace C, 
Mary C. and Wallace A. (deceased). Soon after the death of his father, 
which occurred in 1843, our subject purchased the old homestead, consist- 
ing of about 200 acres, the title to which descended to his widow, who yet 
owns and manages it with the skill of an adept. His early education was 
limited to such as the neighborhood schools of the day afforded, but lived 
to be a self-taught and self-made man, and at the time of his death was a 
superior scholar. In 1837, he was elected Treasurer of Morgan County, 
and was the incumbent of that office when he died. He was a consistent 
member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and a Master Mason, under 
and by the rites and ceremonies of which order he was buried. In poli- 
tics, he was a Democrat, but his election to the office of Treasurer of Mor- 
gan County was due not alone to his rank and standing in that party, but 
to his true worth and merit as a good citizen as well. His widow was 
left with four small children, whom she has reared and cared for as only 
a Christian mother could. Wallace A. died at the age of twenty-three 
years. Thomas resides at home with his mother, and the two daughters, 
married, and with families of their own, live in the immediate neighbor- 
hood. 

HENRY ROSSIER, a native of Canton Vaud, Switzerland, was born 
December 11, 1839, and came to America in the spring of 1862. He was 
well educated in the French language, and before he was nineteen years 
of age had mastered the trade of watch-maker. His parents, Jacques and 
Margaret (Tetaz) Rossier, had five sons and five daughters, and of the ten 
children our subject was next to the youngest, and the only one who ever 
came to America. From 1862 to 1867, Henry alternated between New 
York, Indianapolis and Terre Haute, the first three years at his trade, and 



238 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

the last two in the grocery business. January 20, 1865, he was married 
in Terre Haute to Emily Drotz, who has borne him five children — William, 
Katie, Emil, Charles and Walter (deceased). By persistent effort and the 
application of a naturally superior mind, Mr. Rossier has possessed him- 
self of a good English education, and is at this writing (December, 1883) 
one of the Trustees of the Mooresville High School. He was brought up 
in the Presbyterian faith, but is now a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church. He belongs to the T. O. O. F., A. F. & A. M. and K. of R at 
Mooresville, where he has been engaged in the jewelry business since the 
year 1867. 

JOHN H. RUSIE, born in Prince William County, Va., December 22, 
1834; came here with his parents, Michael and Catharine (House) Rusie, 
natives of Germany, who settled at Mooresville in 1836, and here spent the 
remainder of Iheir years. In his youth, our subject learned the tinners 
trade, and received a fair English education. In 1855. he engaged in the 
hai'dware and tin business, and followed it for five years; sold out, and 
for the next two years managed the business for his successors. In Sep- 
tember, 1857, he married Mary J. Olleman, daughter of James Olleman, 
of Mooresville, and has had born to him three children — Arameda, James 
H. and Frederick. August 17, 1862, Mr. Rusie entered the service of the 
United States as Fourth Daty Sergeant of Company E, Twelfth Indiana 
Volunteer Infantry, and served to the close of the war, when he was honor- 
ably discharged, having in the meantime been promoted to the rank of 
First Lieutenant. He took an active part in the battles of Richmond, 
Ky. ; Jackson, Miss. ; Missionary Ridge, Atlanta, Gridersville, and 
Savannah, Ga.; Columbia, S. C. ; Bentonville, N. C, and in Sherman's 
celebrated campaign from Atlanta to the s(fa. He returned to Moores- 
ville in 1865, and again embarked in the stove and tin business, to which 
was subsequently added hardware. In the spring of 1882, he sold oat 
to his partner, Mr. T. A. Richardson, and engaged at once in his present 
business — of furniture and undertaking. 'He is a member of the Meth- 
odist Episcopal Church; a prominent Mason and Odd Fellow, and in 
politics an uncompromising, first-class Democrat. 

ROBERT R.^SCOTT was born in Franklin County, Ind., July 16, 
1833, and lived in the State of Wisconsin from 1842 to 1853, since which 
time he has made Brown Township, INForgan County, his home. The first 
seventeen years of his life were spent upon a farm, since when he has 
been in mercantile business as much as twenty-five years. August 13, 
1862, he enrolled in Company E, Twelfth Indiana Volunteers, and 
served three years. He was promoted to Orderly Sergeant almost im- 
mediately upon his entering the service, and was next raised in order to 
the rank of Second Lieutenant, First Lieutenant, and in June, 1863, to 
that of Captain of the company. He was with his command in all the 
deadly battles through which it passed, and the history of Indiana's 
soldiery is augmented no little by the brilliant achievements of the " gal- 
lant Twelfth." Capt. Scott retired from the mercantile business in 1883, 
and has since been upon his farm recuperating his health, which had been 
somewhat depleted by long confinement at indoor labor. He entered the 
directory of the Mooresville Bank in 1880, and was elected its Vice 
President the year following. In addition to his Mooresville property, 
he owns five fine farms in Morgan County. All his property has been ac- 
quired since the late war by his own industry, and in a strictly legitimate 
way. January, 1866, he was married to Mary Hadley, who died in August, 



BROWN TOWNSHIP AND MOORESVILLE. 239 

1869, and in June, 1872, he married Louisa H. Harvey, who has borne 
him five children — Mary, Carie, Jennie, Robert H. and Sallie. Capt. 
Scott is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, belongs to the 
Masonic Order, is a Republican in politics, and is a citizen of whom 
Mooresville may well be proud. 

FREDERICK SHEETS, merchant, farmer and stock grower, was born 
in Prince William County, Va., February 24, 1823. His parents, George 
and. Margaret (House) Sheets, were natives of Germany, and came to 
America in 1814 or 1815, and in 1836 took up their abode at Mooresville, 
and here spent the remainder of their days, the former dying in 1877 at 
the age of ninety-one years, and the latter in the year of 1847 at the 
age of fifty-seven years. Our subject learned the carpenter's trade with 
his father, and followed it about eight years. He was first married, at 
Mooresville, to Charlotte, daughter of Dr. Charles Hawk, and has had 
born to him six children — Laura Alice (deceased), William O., Kate Alma, 
Harry O., Hattie L. and Mertie. The mother of these children having 
died, Mr. Sheets was married, October 20, 1879, to Caroline Peoples, his 
present wife. In 1851, the firm of F. Sheets & Bro. was organized at 
Mooresville, and has since existed. They do a large mercantile business, 
and carry on four extensive farms in Morgan and Hendricks Counties. 
Aside from the firm property, F. Sheets owns some half dozen pieces of 
town property, among them the finest residence in Mooresville. He is a 
member of the Republican County Central Committee, belongs to the 
Masonic order, and is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 
His property has all been acquired by his individual effort and enterprise. 

DANIEL SHEETS, a native of Prince William County, Va., and 
younger brother of Frederick Sheets, was born June 18, 1825, and came 
with his parents into Morgan County in 1836. He remained with his 
parents until he was about twenty-two years of age. His early life was 
spent upon the farm, and at the neighborhood schools he acquired a fair 
English education. Since 1851, he has been an active partner in the 
firm of F. Sheets & Bro. He was one of the organizers, and for two 
years Director of the Farmers' Bank, Mooresville. He is a member of 
the Methodist Episcopal Church, and Treasurer of the Mooresville Lodge 
of A. F. & A. M. He is an enterprising bachelor, a good business man, 
an upright citizen and a Republican. 

REV. HUGH STACKHOUSE, present resident minister of the 
Methodist Protestant Church, Mooresville, lud., was born in Breckinridge 
County, Ky., November 9, 1837. His parents, William and Jane(McNab) 
Stackhouse, natives of England and of North Carolina respectively, 
came to Indiana in the year 1841, settled in Orange County, and there 
ended their days. They had eleven children — eight sons and three 
daughters — and six of the sons and one of the daughters were older than 
the subject of this sketch. Up to eighteen years of age, Hugh Stackhouse 
lived upon a farm, and from his father (who was a superior scholar), and 
through a pretty regular attendance at the public schools, he received a. 
good English education. About this time, he began his theological 
studies, and in the year 1859 was received into conference at Morristown, 
Ind., and two years thereafter regularly ordained Elder of the church. 
After being received into conference in 1859, he was at once assigned to 
Richland Circuit, which embraced twelve places for preaching, and held 
this charge three years. The year following he occupied the Monroe 
Circuit; and on April 29, 1863, he was married at Solsberry, Ind., to 



240 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

Nancy Jane, daughter of William and Mary Hannum, of Ohio, and has 
had born to him four children — Urbine, Charles H. (deceased), Arthur 
and Cora May. Since entering the ministry, the Rev. Mr. Stackhouse 
has been kept constantly on duty, and during the time has held some of 
the most important charges in the United States. He is a thorough 
theologian, and ranks high among the many eloquent ministers of the 
Methodist Protestant Church. In addition to his pastoral duties, he is 
the occasional correspondent for several Church periodicals, and holds 
the position regularly of Corresponding Elder for the Methodist Recorder. 
He has represented his conference in four General Conferences and two 
General Conventions; is a Royal Arch Mason, a Republican in politics 
and a stanch advocate of the cause of temperance. 

ELI J. SUMNER was born in Highland County, Ohio, May 28, 1812. 
His parents, Absalom and Priscilla (Jackson) Sumner, were natives of 
Surrey County, N. C, and of Welsh aud Scotch extraction respectively. 
Eli J. Sumner received a respectable common school and academic edu- 
cation, and subsequently became a teacher in Union Seminary, in his 
native county. In the fall of 1830, he visited Mooresville for the first 
time, spent a few weeks in prospecting, and then returned to Highland 
County, where, June 13, 1833, he married Anna E. Boxley, daughter of 
George Boxley, of Spottsylvania County, Va. May 5, 1834, Mr. Sum- 
ner's wife died. In the fall of the same year, he came on horseback to 
Mooresville, and the following winter taught in the Moon Schoolhouse, 
near by. January 21, 1836, he was married in Morgan County to Jane 
E., daughter of Joshua Carter, and at once settled on a tract of land pre- 
sented to him by his father, about six miles west of Mooresville. In the 
fall of 1849, he purchased a large floui'ing and saw mill near the village, 
and operated it until the spring of 1853, when he removed to Sharpsville, 
Tipton County, and engaged in the manufacturing and shipping of lum- 
ber for a few months, and then returned to his farm near Mooresville, 
where he remained until 1865 (in the meanwhile carrying on a lumber 
trade in the Wabash Valley), when he moved to Wabash. In the spring 
of 1868, he moved to Indianapolis, and in the fall of 1869 returned to 
Mooresville. By his second wife he became father of seven children, all 
born in Morgan County — Thomas C, William C, Caswell B., James O., 
Anna E., Hannah C. and Nancy E. ; of these, the eldest two only are 
living. Mr. Sumner has been identified with several religious denomi- 
nations, but is now, with his wife, a consistent Methodist. In politics, 
he is a Republican, and he has always been an active worker in the cause 
of temperance. 

GEORGE P. THOMPSON, a farmer of Brown Township, was born 
in Chatham County, N. C, September 5, 1814, and came to Indiana in 
1833. After spending a few months in Morgan County, he returned to 
his native State, but before the end of 1834 he was back in Morgan 
County, where he has since lived. His life has been spent upon a farm, 
and his schooling acquired at the Friends' School, White Lick. Decem- 
ber 18, 1836, he was married in Brown Township to Millie, a daughter 
of George A. Schoffner, a native of North Carolina, who came into Mor- 
gan County in 1826, and was one of the four men drowned in 1829 while 
attempting to cross White Lick Creek in a canoe. Mr. Thompson has 
had born to him eleven children — Louisa (dead), Margaret, Mary A., 
Asbury, Sylvester, Anson, Spencer, Malinda (dead), Sarah, Fremont and 
Samuel. Mr. Thompson's parents, Samuel and Sarah (Womble) Thomp- 



BROWN TOWNSHIP AND MOORESVILLE. 241 

son, were natives of North Carolina. The Thompsons came originally 
from England, and the two old people emigrated into Indiana in 1869 
and located in Hamilton County, where the mother died in 1881 at the 
age of eighty-four years. The father, however, died in North Carolina, 
whence he had returned in 1872, at the age of ninety-five years. Our 
subject owns a tine farm of 100 acres, upon which he resides; is a stock- 
holder in the M. & M. Gravel Road Company, and was for fifteen years 
one of the Directors of said company. His property has been acquired 
by the united industry of himself and wife. They are both consistent 
members of the Christian Church, and have been for more than a quarter 
of a century. 

JAMES O. THOMPSON is the son of Jonathan H. and Elizabeth E. 
(Latta) Thompson, who were born and mai'ried in North Carolina, and 
there, in the county of Orange, on August 11, 1839, the subject of this 
sketch first saw the light of day. The family came to Indiana in the 
year 1845, and for the next two years lived about four miles west of 
Mooresville, when they removed to Tipton County, where a change of 
county lines subsequently placed them in Howard County, and here they 
lived up to the year 1867. Returning thence to Morgan County, they 
lived again two years upon their old homestead, when they removed to 
Mooresville, and the firm of J. H. Thompson & Son, dry goods mer- 
chants, first became known to the business world. The father, Jonathan 
H., was a highly respected and enterprising citizen of both the town 
and county. He died February 5, 1884, aged sixty-seven years. Prior 
to 1869, J. O. Thompson lived upon a farm, and his education was the 
best possible to his circumstances and surroundings. December 20, 
1866, he was married, in Howard County, Ind., to Gulic E,, daughter of 
Jonathan Lee, Esq., and by her had born to him five children— William 
L., two infants not named, Gulic and Ella, the four last all dying in in- 
fancy. The mother of these childi'en having died, our subject was mar- 
ried, May 14, 1874, at Irvington, Ind-, to Melissa R. Ritter, who has 
borne him three children — Ralph R., Harry H., and Clyde C. (deceased 
in infancy). Mr. and Mrs. Thompson are members of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church, and he is an Odd Fellow and a Knight of Honor, 
He was elected Trustee of Brown Township in 1876, and held the office 
two terms. As a business man, he is enterprising and successful, and as 
a politician, an active Republican, 

JOHN HARBISON THORNBURGH is the second son of Benjamin 
and Susan (Monical) Thornburgh, and was born in Washington County, 
Ind., November 4, 1821, He was reared upon the farm, and acquired 
the rudiments of an English education at the neighborhood schools. At 
the age of twenty -two years, he left the parental roof, and for the next 
four years taught school during the winter months and farmed during 
the summer. He was married, December 24, 1846, in Mooresville, to 
Eliza Gray, widow of Dr. Gray (deceased) and daughter of Reason Rea- 
gan (also deceased). Their first born, Thomas, died in infancy, and his 
daughters are Elizabeth (wife of A. W. Conduitt), Alice L. (widow of 
Dr. Wharton), and Susie (wife of O. E. Rooker). At the age of 
forty years, our subject gave up farming, and for fifteen years followed 
merchandising in Mooresville, and in the spring of 1881 engaged in 
general insurance, real estate and money brokerage, which he has since 
followed. He has been thrice Trustee of Brown Township, and 
Deputy Revenue Collector for Morgan County under Grant's administra- 



242 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

tion. The late panic came nearly bankrupting him financially, but 
left his energy and business ability unimpaired. He is a prominent 
member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, a Eepublican, an advocate 
of temperance, and a public speaker of merit and a progressive citizen. 

BENJAMIN THORNBUKGH (deceased) was born September 25, 
1797, in Mercer County, Ky. In 1808, his parents moved to Indiana 
Territory, and settle! one mile southwest of Salem, on Blue River, in 
Washington County. He lived with his father on the farm until his 
twentieth year, when he was married to Susan Monical on the 20th day 
of February, 1817, by Rev. James Harbison. During the war of 1812, 
he joined the Territorial army of the frontier under the proclamation of 
Gov. Jennings, and helped to build several block-houses for defense, 
into which the early settlers fled for protection from the Indians. He 
enlisted under Maj. William Hockett, and they sent out pickets who 
passed over the country from where Fredericksburg now stands to Liv- 
onia and Brownstown. They built a fori near Salem, in which his par- 
ents remained about three months before the close of the war. In April, 
1822, he moved to Morgan County and settled on the east side of White 
Lick, near where Brooklyn now stands. He assisted his father-in-law, 
Peter Monical, in building the first permanent dam across White Lick, 
at Brooklyn. In about 1825, he entered the land from Congress, which 
he cultivated and lived upon until his death, which occurred on the 13th of 
November, 1883, at the advanced age of eighty -six. He joined the Meth- 
odist Episcopal Church in August, 1816, and was licensed as 
an exhorter in 1833, by Eli P. Farmer. He was a firm believer in the 
truth of the Bible and in the Christian religion, and tried to follow out 
every day, during his long and eventful life, the principles taught in 
that great Book. He was among the first to speak out against licensed 
saloons in Mooresville. He never had a law suit with any one, but peace 
seemed to crown his pathway, and he closed his life iji full hope of im- 
mortality and eternal life. 

BENJAMIN F. TROGDON, farmer and stock dealer of Brown 
Township, Morgan County, Ind., second of the twelve children of Joel 
J. and Sallie I. (Julian) Trogdon, was born in Randolph County, N. C, 
February 15, 1847. His parents emigrated from Carolina to Missouri, 
and from there came to Indiana in 1865, our subject having at that time 
been in Morgan County about five years. Benjamin grew to manhood 
on a f arnj, and at the common schools acquired the rudiments of an En- 
glish education. On February 9. 1864, he enlisted in Company L, 
Twenty-first Regiment, First Indiana Heavy Artillery, and served until 
January 10, 1866. August 17 following, having laid aside the accou- 
terments of war, he donned those of a true civilian, and forgetting not the 
many pretty promises he had made, and remembering the heart that beat 
most wildly as two tearful eyes glanced over the dispatches that told of 
the booming of the cannon at the siege of Mobile, he led to the altar El- 
mira J. Moon, and there took upon himself the obligation which enrolled 
him again in the service of his country, and though his commission en- 
titles him not to gilt bands and epaulets, he is nevertheless captain of 
the host which to the time of sweetest music engendered by happy hearts 
goes marching on, making the world better for having lived in it. Mr. 
and Mrs. Trogden are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 
They have had born to them four childx-en — Ada B. (deceased), Lena 
D., Glenney V. and Ida May. Mr. T. is a self-made man, and there is 



BROWN TOWNSHIP AND MOORESVILLE. 243 

nothing in his make-up that he need be ashamed of. He belongs to the 
I. O. O. F. and G. A. K. 

EEV. JOHN ANTHONY WAED was born in Eock Island County, 
111. , December 25, 1839, and is the second son and fourth child born 
to Stephen and Adaline (Baxter) Ward, natives respectively of North 
Carolina and Ohio, and of English extraction. The family came into 
Indiana in 1846 and located in Putnam County, where they resided several 
years, coming finally into Morgan County in 1857. John Anthony was 
reared upon a farm, and educated at the public schools, two terms of 
which he afterward taught. On February 16, 1860, he was married in 
Morgan County to Sylvina Farmer, and on August 12, 1862, enrolled 
at Indianapolis in Company D, Seventieth Indiana Volunteer Infantry, 
and served about three years. He was with this regiment in many 
bloody engagements and escaped without injury. At Peach Tree Creek, 
Ga., he contracted chronic dysentery, from which he has never fully 
recovered. He has six children living — Laura L., Charles Gr. , Luella 
Ann, Harry H., John S., Walter E. and Francis Asbury (deceased). He 
united with the Methodist Episcopal Church in 1858, and in the fall of 
1865 was licensed local preacher, and a year afterward entered the 
traveling connection. In 1868, he was ordained Deacon, and in Septem- 
ber, 1870, graduated in the theological course of study, and was 
regularly ordained Elder at Bloomington, Ind. In the fall of 1866, he 
was assigned to Francisco Circuit (Gibson County, Ind.), and has since 
devoted his entire time to the service of the Master. The Eev. Mr. 
Ward is a forcible and argumentative speaker. He has received into 
church membership not less than 1,200 persons. He ook charge of the 
Methodist Episcopal congregation at Mooresville in 1881, and is at this 
time upon the last year of the maximum limit according to the rules of 
the church. He is purely a self-made man; belongs to the Masonic 
order, and ignores politics. 

WILLIAM FLETCHEE WHITE was born in Putnam County, Ind., 
November 1, 1842, and is the second son and fourth child of John and 
Cynthia (Euggles) White, natives of Virginia and Kentucky respectively. 
William F. was twenty-eight years of age before he left the parental 
roof for the purpose of making a home for himself. The vigorous exer- 
cises incident to farm life, and the tutelage of the public schools had 
supplied him with both muscle and a fair English education before he 
arrived at his majority. In the spring of 1861, he enlisted in the three 
months' service as a private in Company H, Tenth Indiana Volunteer 
Infantry, and in the summer of 1862, did the sixty-day service in the 
Seventy-eighth Indiana. At Uniontown, Ky., the enemy " gobbled him 
up" and put a temporary " embargo " upon his soldiering. However, 
being full of patriotism and ' ' fight, " and having been exchanged as 
prisoner of war, he enlisted October, 1863, in Company F, One Hundred 
and Twenty-eighth Indiana Volunteer Infantry: was promoted to a non- 
commissioned office, and stayed with them until August 25, 1865. He 
fought the enemy at Eichmond, Ky., Eesaca, Ga. , and in the Atlanta 
campaign, at Nashville, at Franklin, at Kingston, N. C, and at Kene- 
saw Mountain; and when the war was over, returned to his home as sound 
as a dollar. From 1866 to 1871, he worked at carriage-making in Green- 
castle, and in 1872 canvassed a few months in the picture business. He 
came to Mooresville in October of the latter year, and for five years 
worked as "journeyman" at his trade. In 1877, the firm of White & 



244 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

Shanafelt, carriage manufacturers, was organized, and has proved a suc- 
cess. Mr. White was married, December 25, 1873, to Ladoskey Jenkins, 
and has had born to him two children — Jessie Pearl and Arthur Earl. 
Mr. and Mrs. White are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, 
and the voting one of the family is a Eepublican. 

MICHAEL M. WILSON was born in Guilford County, N. C, on 
July 6, 1838, and was twenty years old when he came to Morgan County. 
His life has been spent upon the farm, and his learning, consisting of a 
fair English education, was not acquired at school. He was married, 
February 10, 1861, atMooresville, to Margaret, daughter of Hiram Staley, 
and has had born to him ten children — William M., John B., Mary C, 
Peter F., Charley O. (deceased), Michael M., Cora (deceased), Thomas 
M. (deceased), Robert R. and India P. His parents, Louis and Mary 
(Coble) Wilson, were natives of North Carolina; came to Indiana in 1865, 
and have since resided in Morgan County, and at this writing are both 
octogenarians. They had five children, four sons and one daughter; the 
eldest being the subject of this sketch. Since July, 1883, M. M. Wilson, 
in addition to his farming and stock growing, has been engaged in the 
buying and shipping of grain at Mooresville. He is well fixed financially, 
every dollar of which has been acquired by his own industry. He be- 
longs to the Methodist Episcopal Church; holds official positions in both 
Masonic and Odd Fellows societies, and in politics is a Democrat. 

WILLIAM HENRY PRESLY WOODWARD is descended from the 
English and Welsh. His parents, William and Lavina (Munsee) Wood- 
ward, spent their | lives in Virginia — the mother, who lived seventeen 
years after the death of the father, having died in 1834. Thev had 
three children; the youngest. W^iHiam H. P., was born in Lee County, 
Va. , September 30, 1816, and came to Mooresville in the spring of 1835, 
having walked all the way. From fourteen to eighteen years of age, he 
learned the tailor's trade, and followed it for several years after coming 
to Mooresville. October 17, 1839, he was married to Keziah Bray, 
daughter of John H. Bray, one of the early settlers of Morgan County. 
She bore him five children, two of whom — Sarah and Ella — were living 
at her death, December 1, 1858. August 25, 1859, our subject married 
Lydia E. Thompson, who has borne him one child — Mattie, wife of W. 
A. Comer, of Martinsville, Ind. In 1853, Mr. Woodward accepted a 
clerkship with Holman Johnson in the mercantile business, and at the 
end of four years, in partnership with D. Fogleman, bought his 
employer out, since which time he has continued in the goods busi- 
ness, Mr. Fogleman having retired from the firm in 1856. July 3, 1881, 
his business house was consumed by fire, as was also much of his stock; 
but by the fall of the same year he had rebuilt, and was again in busi- 
ness at the old stand. He received little schooling. His father was a 
school-teacher, but his step-father took no interest in him. Mr. W. is a 
prominent member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and a Republican. 
He inherited from his father one old book, and from his grandfather $65. 
What else he has has been acquired by his industry, and though some- 
what crippled by the burning of his store and by friends (?), for whom 
he unwisely indorsed, he is yet full of life and euergy, and possessed of 
sufficient property to insure ease and tranquillity to his declining vears. 
HENRY L. WOODWARD is the fourth son of Clark an.d Ann 
(Warren) Woodward, natives of Vermont and Ohio respectively, and 
was born in Jefferson County, Ind. , October 26, 1840. He accompanied 



JACKSON TOWNSHIP AND MORGANTOWN. 245 

his parents to Mooresville in the summer of 1861, and here he has since 
remained. His father, who died at the age of seventy-two years, was 
Postmaster at Mooresville from the year 1861 to 1864-65, and was suc- 
ceeded therein by the subject of this sketch, who held the office for several 
years, carrying on the boot and shoe business at the same time. In 1873, 
he formed a partnership with Reuben Harris in the grocery business. 
In 1875, Mr. Harris sold out to James Hinson, and the business was con- 
tinued under the firm name of Woodward & Hinson until November, 
1879, since which time Mr. Woodward has been alone. In February, 
1873, he was married in Mooresville to Ai-tie, daughter of William Rose, 
of Ohio, and has had born to him four children — Luther, Walter, 
Charles and Sadie. From about the year 1868 to 1880, excepting prob- 
ably one year of the time, Mr. Woodward held the office of Clerk of the 
town of Mooresville. He is a member of the Methodist ^ Episcopal 
Church, a Republican, a good citizen, an honorable merchant, and does 
the leading grocery business of Mooresville. 



JACKSON TOWNSHIP AND MORGANTOWN. 

HUGH ADAMS, pioneer farmer and stock-raiser, was born April 11, 
1808, in Henry County, Ky., and is the eleventh of the fourteen children 
of David and Polly (Kephart) Adams, the former a native of Ireland, the 
latter of Germany, and respectively of Irish and German descent. David 
Adams came to this county about 1830, remained awhile and returned to 
Kentucky, then came back, and here finished his course of hfe. Hugh 
Adams was brought up to farming, and located in this township in 1832, 
which has since been his residence, he living now upon his original entry 
of 1 20 acres, to which he has added 180, making a large farm, well improved 
and stocked. W^hen he was eighteen years old, he became an apprentice 
to the blacksmithing trade, which he set up in Morgantown and continued 
five years. He afterward engaged in farming, working alternately on the 
land and in his shop; but after 1869, he devoted himself entirely to his 
farm and stock-raising. Mr. Adams has been twice married — first, Janu- 
ary 8, 1829, with Miss Ruth Paton. who bore ten children — Charity, David, 
Mary J., Elizabeth, Christina, Ruth (deceased), C. H., Amy, Sarah (de- 
ceased), and an infant deceased. His second marriage was with Mrs. 
Eunice Kephart, August 26, 1875. Mr. Adams is a Democrat, and gave 
his first vote for Gen. Jackson. His career has been honorable and his 
life a useful one. He and wife are members of the Baptist Church. 

JACOB ADAMS, farmer and stock raiser, was born in this township 
July 24, 1829, and is the eldest of the six children of Henry and Amy 
(Kephart) Adams, both natives of Kentucky, and of Irish and German 
descent respectively, who came to and settled in this vicinity in 1828. 
Jacob attended school some time during the winters,and worked on the farm 
in other seasons until he was twenty-five years of age, when he began the 
effort of taking care of himself, as a help to which he received 100 acres 
of rich land as a parental reward. April 13, 1854, he wedded Miss Mary 
Lake, a native of Virginia, which marriage gave being to six children — 
George A,, Rebecca A. (deceased), Henry A., John J. C, Hendricks V. 



246 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

and infant. Mr. Adams is an esteemed member of the Masonic frater- 
nity, of the Knights of Honor, and also of the Democratic party, and has 
served his township seven years as Trustee and four years as Assessor. 
He is an advocate of all good and progressive measures, a well-to-do 
farmer and able manager. Mrs. Adams is a member of the Missionary Bap- 
tist Church. 

SAMUEL T. ADAMS, farmer and stock-raiser, is a native of this 
township, was born May 19, 1848, and is the fourth of the eight children 
of Henry and Nancy (Slusser) Adams. Samuel T, Adams received a 
common school education, and was reared to the venerable business of 
farming. He worked for his parents until he was twenty -five years of 
age, at which period he began life on his own account, his father pre- 
senting him with eighty acres of good land, on which he has erected 
buildings and added other improvements, making a good home and a de- 
sirable property. May 25, 1873, he married Miss Jemima Kephart, a 
native of Owen County, and to which union five children have been be- 
stowed — Nancy O., deceased; William H.; Charity J-, deceased; Ida M., 
deceased; and an infant unnamed. Mr. Adams is an ^aergetic Demo- 
crat, a rational and charitable gentleman, and a prosperous fSrmer and 
stock breeder. Mr. and Mrs. Adams are highly respected members of their 
community. 

JOSEPH ADAMS, stock-raiser and farmer, is a native of this town- 
ship, was born March 22, 1852, and is the eighth of the twelve childi-en 
of Henry and Nancy (Sluser) Adams, the former a native of Kentucky, 
the latter of Virginia, and of English and German extraction respect- 
ively. Joseph Adams was reared to the farming profession, and received 
a fair education. He is the owner of eighty acres of good land; his 
father — who is now residing with him in his age — having given to each 
of his children some assistance. Recently Mr. Adams has added forty 
acres to the paternal gift, making a valuable property and a desirable 
home. He is a Democrat by political preference, and a liberal and re^ 
garded citizen. Thus far he has been successful in the battle for inde- 
pendence, and, with his good management and bright foresight he must 
become one of the prosperous farmers of his section. 

JOHN ADAMS, farmer and stock- raiser, was born December 14, 1834, 
in this township, and is the second of the fourteen children of Jacob and 
Julia A. (Shell) Adams, the former a native of Kentucky, the latter of East 
Tennessee, and of Irish and German descent respectively. Jacob Adams 
came hither about 1830, married, went back to Kentucky for about two 
years, when he returned to this county and reared a family. In 1862, he 
was elected County Treasurer; he is now a resident of Kansas. John 
Adams gave his boyhood to the labor of the farm, during which he ob- 
tained about three months" schooling each year; but he qualified himself 
by self- study, and has taught two terms of school. November 20, 1856, 
he married Miss Ann Lake, a native of this county, which union was fol- 
lowed by ten children, eight of whom were named Leroy, Joseph S., 
Jacob (deceased), Mary A., William K., Amanda C, Elizabeth and George 
H. Mr. Adams has managed his business successfully, now having two 
good farms, and dealing somewhat in stock. In politics, he has always 
been a Democrat, and was elected Township Trustee in 1866, which office 
he held for three terms, Mr. Adams is a liberal citizen, an advocate of 
public education, and a member of the Knights of Honor. Mrs. Adams 
is an esteemed member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 



JACKSON TOWNSHIP AND MORGANTOWN. 247 

GEN. WILL A.. ADAMS (deceased) was born near Greenville, E. 
Tenn. , October 24, 1839, and was the eldest of the family of David B. 
and Desdemona (Orto) Adams, natives of Tennessee, and of Scotch de- 
scent, who moved to Brown County, Ind., in 1849, where our subject was 
educated. During the war — 1861 — he enlisted in Company C, Twenty- 
second Indiana Volunteers, at which time he was Clerk of the Circuit 
Court of Brown County. He was made Second Lieutenant, and, from 
efficiency and valor, promoted again and again, until at the close of the 
war he was Colonel of the One Hundred and Forty-fifth Indiana Regi- 
ment, and, when discharged, a Brigadier General. He was a brave, hon- 
orable, worthy officer, and an affable and respected gentleman. After the 
war, he engaged in merchandising in Brown County, in which, as in all 
his efforts, he was signally successful, and happy in obtaining the confi- 
dence of the community. Mr. Adams married, July 9, 1861, Miss Mary 
K. Butler, of Belmont County, Ohio, with an issue of four children — 
Amanda (born September 19, 1865), Ada L. (born May 1, 1868, died 
January 12, 1869), Edwin B. (born January 19, 1870, died August 6, 
1876) and Emma D. (born August 11, 1872). In the midst of his useful- 
ness', and'in all his well-earned glory, the great ravager, consumption, 
laid untimely hands upon him, and carried him through death to greater 
victory than any earth had given him. He was a true member of the 
Masonic fraternity, and also of the Methodist Episcopal Church. His 
funeral was large, and his body was interred in the peerless ceremony of 
Freemasonry. In politics, he was Eepublican. He left his widow well 
cared for, and provided for his children a fair beginning. 

EZRA H. BRIGGS, stock-raiser and farmer, was born October 8, 
1823, in Franklin County, Mass., and is the ninth of the thirteen chil- 
dren born to Simeon and Elizabeth (Saddler) Briggs, natives of Massa- 
chusetts and of English extraction. Ezra was reared a farmer, and 
remained in his native county until he was twenty six years old, at which 
time he came to this State and settled in Dearborn County, where he was 
engaged at farming for several years. In 1863, he came to Morgan 
County, which has since been his home. Mr. Briggs is a member of the 
Republican party, by which he is very highly regarded, and was elected 
in the spring of 1872 Assessor of this township. He is a man of liberal 
views, of generous character and a prosperous farmer and raiser of stock. 

GEORGE E. BRONSON was born in Summit County, Ohio, Janu- 
ary 25, 1823. He is a deaf mute, in consequence of early inflammation 
of the drums of the ears. He graduated at the Deaf and Dumb Insti- 
tute at Columbus, Ohio, where he remained five years, and later learned 
the printing trade in Cleveland; but, becoming discouraged, he went to 
work for the Recorder of Lenawee County, Mich. ; moved thence to De- 
troit and was in the Auditor's office, where he remained three months; 
thence he went to Milwaukee and thence to Iowa City, where he became 
a legislative clerk, and afterward worked in the Recorder's office at St. 
Louis. He was later appointed Principal of the Deaf and Dumb Insti- 
tute at Nashville, Tenn., where he remained until the war began, after 
which he purchased 200 acres of land, and made a trial of farming. 
July 14, 1852, he married Lucy C. Blacknall, of Tennessee, the result of 
which union was ten children — Josephine Alice, Charles Egbert, Benja- 
min Franklin, Emma Dora, Abraham Lincoln, Fannie Lisslie, Clarence 
Ashley, Silas Ailing, Mildi-ed ISiIaggie and Ida Lucy. After the death of 
his first wife, Mr. Bronson wedded, in Logansport, Ind., Annie Barnes; 



248 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

this marriage took place May 5, 1874, and was followed by five children: 
Effie Nellie, Cassie Mabel, Jessie Edna, Myrtle Maud and George Eg- 
bert, Jr. In 1868, he sold his Tennessee property and moved to Morgan- 
town, Ind. His father bequeathed him $15,000 and his uncle a like 
amount. 

W. H. BUTLER, M. D., prominent physician and surgeon of Mor- 
gantown, was born January 15, 1846, in Jennings County, Ind., and 
is the fourth of the six children of George and Eliza (Stott) Butler, na- 
tives of Kentucky, and of Irish and English descent respectively. They 
removed to Bartholomew County, Ind. , where our subject received some 
education, worked on the farm, and grew to manhood, having sufficient 
money to pay for three years' tuition at Hartsville. December 4, 1863, 
he enlisted in Company A, One Hundred and Twentieth Regiment In- 
diana Volunteer Infantry, served at the battles of Dalton, Marietta, Ken 
esaw Mountain, Atlanta, Columbia, Franklin, Nashville and Kingston. 
He was discharged January 8, 1866, after which he prepared himself for 
teaching; taught two terms; became salesman in a drug store, and be- 
gan the study of medicine under Dr. McLeod, of Barnesville, which he 
continued two years, then attended lectures at the Indiana Medical In- 
stitute, at Indianapolis, and graduated in 1879, -having previously prac- 
ticed at Middlebury, where he continued for a time. May 31, 1877, he 
married Miss Jennie Horner, with a result of two children — Chloe A. 
and George J. In 1880, Dr. Butler came to Morgantown, in which 
place he has established a good and growing practice. He is a member 
of the Masonic fraternity, and an active Republican. Mrs. Butler is a 
member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

MOSES T. COFFEY, stock-raiser and farmer, is a native of this 
county, was born May 24, 1831, and is the fifth of the ten children of 
Lewis and Delilah (Turpin) Coffey, natives of Kentucky, and respectively 
of English and Irish descent. Lewis Coffey emigrated to this county in 
1828; entered land, which he afterward cleared and sold, then engaged 
in flat-boating to New Orleans and died in the spring of 1844. Moses 
was reared on the paternal farm, and received the rudiments of an edu- 
cation from subscription schools. After the death of his father, the care 
of the family descended upon him, and to which he gave the wages 
earned by monthly labor; yet now, as a result of his economy and appli- 
cation, he owns a good farm of fifty acres, containing stock, and being' 
generally well improved. March 11, 1852, he married Miss Lucinda 
Renner, a native of Ohio, born March 24, 1834, a union which has been 
prolific in thirteen children, only eight of whom received names — George 
W., Mary J., John D., Philip L., Barbara A., Eliza C, Martha P. and 
William T. Mr. Coffey is a radical and active Democrat, by which party 
he was elected Justice of the Peace in 1874, for a term of four years. 
He is a liberal gentleman and his wife is a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church. 

F. M. COLEMAN, retired farmer, was born April 10, 1823, in the 
State of Ohio, and is the fifth of the eight children of Jacob and Eliza- 
beth (Thomas) Coleman, the former a native of Virginia, the latter of 
Pennsylvania, and respectively of German and English descent. F. M. 
Coleman was reared a farmer, and received but sixteen days' schooling; 
yet he has made himself a fair scholar by application. When he was 
sixteen years old, his parents moved to Johnson County, Ind., where he 
remained until 1880, engaged in farming, at which time he sold his place 



JACKSON TOWNSHIP AND MORGANTOWN. 249 

and retired to Morgantown. He began business when of age; was al- 
ways successful and industrious, and when young worked at wagon-mak- 
ing, coopering and blacksmithing, when not employed on his farm. He 
has also dealt largely in and been a shipper of stock May 14, 1845, he 
married Miss Mary A. Woolard, who died August 6, 1877, having borne 
seven children — Eliza J., Jacob (deceased), Lavica, MarandaH., Ophelia, 
Margaret (deceased) and Marion. His second wife was Miss Ada Wright, 
a graduate of Lebanon College,Ohio,the ceremony taking place December 
24, 1881. This lady died in less than one year. His third wife is Re- 
becca Stephens, a native of Putnam County, Ind., and also a graduate of 
Lebanon College, which ceremony was performed May 17, 1883. Mr. 
Coleman is an active member of the Masonic and Odd Fellow fraterni- 
ties. He is a liberal and respected gentleman, and votes with the Dem- 
ocratic party. 

JAMES S. COLEMAN (deceased), was born in Hartford, Conn., No- 
vember 29, 1848, and was the third of the four children of Jesse O. and 
Salina M. (Gardner) Coleman, both natives of Connecticut, who moved 
to Columbus, Ind., in 1850, and thence to Edinburg. James S. received 
a good school education, and early evinced an aptitude for business, for 
when but twelve years old he bought and sold tax titles on speculation, 
and when thirteen assisted his father in his store. In 1863, he enlisted 
in Compary I, Ninety-third Indiana Volunteers, and served through the 
war, being discharged November 29, 1865. In the following spring, he 
entered into partnership with his father in the stove, tin and hardware 
business. In 1872, he purchased his father's interest, and after- 
ward he sustained several heavy losses, but soon resumed. He was 
also owner of a saw and planing mill, and was one of the most enter- 
prising and successful men of his time. May 10, 1870, he married Miss 
Harriet Lake, with an issue of five children — Jesse, deceased; James O., 
born June 15, 1874; Cora E., born September 8, 1877; Walter Z., born 
October 8, 1879; and Cecil C, born July 5, 1882. Mrs. Coleman was 
born March 17, 1851. Mr. Coleman died January 9, 1883. He was an 
earnest member of the order of Odd Fellows, an active laborer for the 
Republican party, and a lamented citizen. Mr. Coleman left his family 
in comfortable circumstances, with several farms and a good town prop- 
erty. 

ROBERT C. DAVIS, merchant at Mahalasville, was born December 
18, 1833, in Hancock County, W. Va. , and is the eldest of the family of 
Enoch and Nancy (Cunningham) Davis, natives of West Virginia, and 
respectively of Welsh and Irish descent. Robert, in company with his 
parents, moved to Washington County, Penn., where he attended the 
high school and acquired a good education. He early showed a tact 
for business, and when seventeen engaged as traveling salesman, which 
he followed some years, and then peddled on his own account. In 1862, he 
and parents moved to Georgetown, Brown County, where he continued in 
business until 1877; during this trip he lost his goods by the sinking of 
the boat transporting them. January 1, 1856, he married Miss Louisa 
H. Ritchey, of Ohio, with the following issue: John C, William W. and 
James W. (twins), Ella M., Eva E., Nancy J., Robert, Charley C, Edgar 
and Lela. While in Ohio, Mr. Davis served two terms as Trustee. He 
is Postmaster, railroad agent and express agent; carries a large stock of 
goods, and is an upright and efficient business man. He is a member of 
the Masonic fraternity and of the Knights of Honor. Mr. and Mrs. 
Davis are members of the Presbyterian Church. 



250 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

DAVID S. DODSON, blacksmith and wagon-maker at Mahalasville, 
is a native of Hardin County, Ky. ; was born August 2, 1834, and is a 
son of John B. and Catharine (Ament) Dodson, the former a native of 
Kentucky, the latter of Holland, and of English and German extraction 
respectively. The subject of this sketch received a good common -school 
education; was reared a farmer, and remained with his parents until his 
twenty-fifth year, at which age he coramenced learning his trade, which 
he has since almost constantly followed, besides having served nearly 
four years in the regular army. In the fall of 1862, he began business 
for himself at his present location. The spring of 1868, he married Miss 
Sarah E. Helton, a native of Morgan County, Ind. , who died after hav- 
ing borne one child — Judiah K. (deceased). Mrs. Dodson was a member 
of the M. P. Church. Mr. Dodson is a member of the Masonic frater- 
nity, the I. O. O. F. and the United Order of Honor. He is an enthu- 
siastic Democrat, by which party he was elected Justice of the Peace in 
1878, and again in the spring of 1882. 

CAPT. PETER FESLER, Justice of the Peace and cabinet-maker 
at Morgantown, is a native of Botetourt County, Va., was born April 27, 
1836, and is the third of the family of John and Rebecca (Bickner) Fes- 
ler, natives of Virginia and of German extraction, who came to this 
county in 1838, and remained until their deaths. Peter Fesler received 
a plain education, worked on the farfta, and when eighteen years old 
settled to learn carpentering, which he afterward followed. April, 1861, 
he enlisted for three months in Company K, Seventh Indiana Volunteer 
Infantry; was in the first engagement of the war at Philippi, Va. After 
this term he re-enlisted in Company G, Twenty-seventh Indiana Volun- 
teer Infantry; was made First Lieutenant and afterward Captain; served 
three years, and was in all the battles of the Potomac division. After 
his service expired,*he was retained and given command of Company E, 
Seventieth Indiana Regiment, and so served until the end, being dis- 
charged at Washington, D. C. On returning to peace, he resumed his 
trade, and in 1880 began business for himself. December 31, 1869, he 
maiTied Miss Emma Collett, of Johnson County, Ind., to which union 
have followed three children — Leo K., Mayo R. and Luna A. Mr. Fes- 
ler is an ardent Republican, and was made Justice of the Peace in 1882. 
He and wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

WILLIAM THOMAS GIBSON, merchant at Morgantown, was born 
March 8, 1862, in Greene County, Tenn., and is the second of the nine 
children of Charles and Sarah E. (Kelton) Gibson, the former a native 
of Tennessee, the latter of Virginia, and both of English descent, who 
first moved to Franklin, Ind. ; remained two years, and then to Nashville, 
Ind., where they now reside. William Thomas remained at home until 
he was twenty years of age, at which period he came to Morgantown 
and engaged in his present enterprise, first as a grocery trade, to which 
he has added dry goods and notions, of which he has always a full line 
and carries a $3,000 stock. He has a good practical education and is a 
first-clasH business man, having begun business with $10 cash capital. 
September 21, 1881, he married Miss Amanda, daughter of Col. W. S. 
Adams (deceased), a long resident of Morgantown. Mr. Gibson is a 
member of the Masonic fraternity; inclined to the Republican party po- 
litically, and is a promising young merchant. Mrs. Gibson is a member 
of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

REUBEN C. GRIFFITT, M. D., physician and surgeon at Morgan - 
town, was born December 28, 1845, in the identical dwelling in which 



JACKSON TOWNSHIP AND MORGANTOWN. 251 

he now resides, and is the thirteenth of the fourteen children of Keuben 
and Lovina (Shell) Griffitt, natives of Sullivan County, E. Tenn. They 
were early settlers of this township, and here ended their days. Reuben 
C. Griffitt was reared in Morgantown, and went to school and worked on 
the farm until he was eighteen years of age. February, 1864, he became 
a soldier of his country; was in the range of battles from Chattanooga 
to Atlanta; captui'ed at Jonesboro, September 1, 1861; confined at Ander- 
sonville, Florence and Charleston, in all six months, and released February 
26, 1865. On account of disability, he received a furlough, which was 
renewed uutil his discharge, June, 1865. He then attended school until 
1868, when he studied medicine under Dr. Johnson, of Martinsville, for 
two years, and attended lectures and graduated at the University of 
Louisville in 1870, soon after which he opened an office at Morgantown; 
practiced until 1875; then attended lectures in New York, receiving there 
the ad eundem degree. He then resumed his practice, with honor and 
renown. August 14, 1872, he married Miss Minerva D. Prosser (sister of 
the present Auditor), and his union has been favored with three children 
— Harry D., Bessie L. and Delia M. Dr. Griffitt is a member of the Ma- 
sonic fraternity, and his wife of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

JAMES HAMILTON, stock raiser and farmer, is a native of Wayne 
County, Ky., was born January 13, 1815, and is the fourth of the eleven 
children of John and Elender (Collett) Hamilton, the former a native of 
North Carolina, the latter of South Carolina, and of Scotch-Irish and 
English extraction, who came to and settled in this township in 1825. 
John Hamilton was a pioneer, and made the third entry of land. He, 
with the assistance of his family, improved a good farm from these prim- 
itive wilds, and here closed his useful life. James i-eceived a frontier 
education, and was reared to assist his father, with whom he remained 
until his twenty-second year; then receiving from his sire the sum of 
$50, with which to begin his own sustaining; and with this he entered 
forty acres, which has grown to be 200 of choice and valuable land, well 
improved — all the outcome of labor and frugality. October 20, 1836, 
he wedded Miss Teresa Dorothy, of Kentucky birth, and this marriage 
was cemented by five children — Elender, Lucinda, William R., Jesse 
(deceased) and Louisa (deceased). Mr. Hamilton is a stanch Repub- 
lican; a liberal and benevolent gentleman, now rearing the three children 
of bis youngest daughter. He and wife are members of the Meth- 
odist Episcopal Church. 

JOHN F. HAMILTON, farmer aud stock-raiser, was born April 12, 
1833, in this county, and is the fourth of the seven children of James 
H. and Hannah (Francis) Hamilton, natives of Kentucky, and respect- 
ively of Irish and German descent. James H. Hamilton moved to John- 
son County, Ird., in 1829, remained two years, then moved to this town- 
ship, where he died. He was one of the first settlers and, with the aid 
of his son John, made one of the best farms in the township. John F. 
Hamilton was bred a farmer, and afibrded such education as the schools 
could give. After the death of his father, which took place in the win- 
ter of 1861, he took charge of the farm and remained with his mother 
until her death in 1881. He then purchased the homestead, containing 
120 acres, to which he added forty, and has now a good farm, with many 
and valuable improvements. January 28, 1864, he married Miss Matilda 
Ferguson, born October 8, 1841, by which union they have become par- 
ents of nine children — Lucy A., William F. (deceased), Mary B., Al- 
io 



252 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

mira M., James E., Iia W., Minnie, John E. and Clarence U. Mr. 
Hamilton is an able manager of his affairs and a prosperous, liberal gen- 
tleman. He and his wife are communicants of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church. 

ABRAM B. HART, stock-raiser and farmer, is a native of this 
township; was born July 13, 1819, in Sussex County, N. J., and is the 
third of four children born to Nathaniel and Mercy (Rose) Hart, natives 
of New Jersey, and respectively of English and Irish extraction. Abram 
was reared a farmer, and in 1841 came to this county, locating where he 
still resides. With the help of $1,300, he has succeeded in life, and 
owns a farm of 220 acres, 150 of which are under tine cultivation, with 
good orchard and many improvements. February 8, 1840, he married 
Miss Sarah A. Chipps, daughter of Morris and Margaret Chipps, of New 
Jersey, with a result of nine children — Mercy, Margaret A., Amos S. , 
Mary (deceased), Aaron R. (deceased), Mahala E., John W., Sarah E. 
and Emma M. Mr. Hart is a practical and prosperous farmer, and a 
life-long Democrat, having given his first vote for Mr. Van Buren. He 
is a man of progressive ideas, and a model father and husband, and a 
very greatly esteemed citizen. 

MATTHEW T. HANCOCK, druggist at Morgantown, was born May 
1, 1849, in Harrison County, Ind. , and is the third of the seven children 
of Benjamin H and Margaret A. (Senssensney) Hancock, the former a 
native of Tennessee and of Irish, the latter of Virginia and of German 
descent, who now reside in Washington, in this State. Matthew was 
reared a farmer, and continued to labor as such until he was eighteen 
years of age, when he engaged as salesman at Bloomfield, and remained 
in that employment more than two years, afterward at Bowling Green, 
and then began business on his own account in Lancaster, Owen County, 
with a stock of drugs, and continued this two years. After disposing of 
his stock, he became a salesman for Robinson & Co., of Terre Haute, for 
one year. July, 1880, he came to Morgantown and engaged in his pres- 
ent enterprise, in which he has been signally successful. Mr. Hancock 
has always been a diligent student and a close observer. May 3, 1882, 
he married Miss Effie C. Johnson, of Spencer, a member of the Method- 
ist Episcopal Church. Mr. Hancock belongs to the Masonic fraternity. 
He has the promise of becoming a leading business man of his section, 
having begun business with but $50, and being now worth probably 
$5,000. 

W. W. HELTON, farmer and stock-raiser, was bom October 25, 1807, 
in East Tennessee, aud is the fifth of the eight children of Beecher and 
Susan (Winkler) Helton, natives of North Carolina, and respectively of 
English and German extraction. After the death of his father, our sub- 
ject moved with his mother to Kentucky, where he was reared on a farm. 
In 1828, he came to this county and entered the land on which he now 
resides — having once owned 310 acres in the county, and now has 190. 
For several years he followed the Irade of a shoemaker. September 6, 
1827, he married Miss Nancy Hale, of Tennessee, with an issue of ten 
children — James B., Eliza J., Julia A., Harriet L. (deceased), Sarah E. 
(deceased), Mary C, Nancy (deceased), Miranda (deceased), John W. 
and Susan C. Mr. Helton is a strong Democrat, having first voted for 
Gen. Jackson; he also took an active part in the late Grange movement. 
He is a worthy citizen, and has the blessed record of a well-spent life. 
He and wife have been members for fifty years of the Methodist Epis- 
copal Church. 



JACKSON TOWNSHIP AND MORGANTOWN. • 253 

JAMES HICKEY, stock-raiser and farmer, is a native of Sullivan 
County, E. Tenn. ; was born January 5, 1824, and is the eldest of the 
nine in family of John and Catherine (Shell) Hick(?y, the former a na- 
tive of East Tennessee, and of English, the latter of Pennsylvania and of 
German descent, who emigrated to this township in 1843, and lived and 
died here. James Hickey received the rudiments of an education 
from the public schools, in the meantime working on the home farm and 
assisting his father at the trade of brick-laying. He continued to per- 
form these duties until he was twenty-four. In 1854, he commenced 
mercantile business at Morgantown, and was recognized as a successful 
and leading merchant until his retirement, November 1, 1883. He now 
resides on a snug and attractive farm of thirty-five acres, cultivated and 
improved, and still deals largely and only in the purchase and disposi- 
tion of timber. November 23, 1848, he married Miss Hulda Swain, 
which union was blessed by five children — George S. (deceased), John 
H. (deceased), Mary C, Elbert M., and Walter S. (deceased). Mr. Hick- 
ey is an old-time member of the I. O. O. F., an active Republican since 
the rebellion and a liberal and benevolent gentleman. He and wife are 
members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

\ JAMES H. HICKMAN, stock- raiser and farmer, is a native of John- 
son County, Ind. ; was born December 2, 1833, and is the fourth of the 
six children of James T. and Dorothy (Hamilton) Hickman, natives of 
Kentucky, and respectively of English and Irish descent, who came to 
this section of the State in 1832; afterward moved to near Morgantown, 
where he closed his life. James H. Hickman was reared to the business 
of farming. He began for himself on reaching manhood, and, although 
.he received but $600 as an aid in the struggle of life, has accumulated 
350 acres of fine land, in good cultivation and with many improvements. 
March 2, 1854, he married Miss Elender Hamilton, of Morgan County, 
which union has been crowned by six children — Theresa J., deceased; 
Louisa I.; William H., deceased; Joseph P., James N. and Ira E. ; 
they have also adopted a daughter — Louisa I. Donnell. Mr. Hick- 
man is a Republican, and was an active member of the Grange organiza- 
tion. He is a liberal contributor to every good work, and an esteemed 
citizen. He and wife are efficient members of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church. 

JOHN S, HINE, stock-raiser and farmer, was born in Lincoln 
County, N. C, January 3, 1836, and is the second child of John G. and 
Mary M. (Bolinger) Hine, both of whom were born in the " Old North 
State," and of German extraction. Our subject remained at home until 
he was twenty-eight years old; then began efforts for himself, and, with- 
out any assistance, has obtained a good home and farm, embracing sixty- 
seven acres, well situated, drained, stocked, and containing various im- 
provements. He was reared a farmer, working during summer and going 
to school during winter. August 27, 1863, he married Miss Marietta A. 
Prather, born November 10, 1844, in this State. This union gave issue 
to two children — David L., born February 22, 1866, and Jarvis E., de- 
ceased, March 30, 1872. Mr. Hine took an earnest part in the late 
Grange organization, and is an active Democrat, having given his first 
suflfrage for Stephen A. Douglas. He is a genial, generous, enlightened 
and progressive citizen, also an advocate of public education. In 1882, 
he was elected Road Superintendent. Mr. and Mrs. Hine are communi- 
cants of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 



254 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

OLIVER L. HINE, farmer and stock-raiser, is a native of this 
county, was born November 22, 1846, and is the sixth of eleven children 
born to John G. and Mary M. (Bolinger) Hine, both natives of North 
Carolina, who came hither about 1837, at which early period the country 
was a wild, but of which they have made a desirable home and valuable 
property, comprising 302 acres well situated and improved, with full 
amount of stock. He and his wife are members of the Presbyterian 
Church. Oliver L. Hine is now managing his father's farm. He is a 
promising and energetic gentleman, a stanch Democrat and a member of 
the I. O. O. F. Like his father, he is liberal in character and progressive 
in ideas, and is a useful and appreciated member of society. 

HAKRY JACKSON was born May 29, 1843, in Jefferson County, 
Ind., and is the fifth of the eight children of Samuel and Jane (Hillis) 
Jackson, the former a native of North Carolina, the latter of Indiana. 
Harry remained with his parents on the farm until he was sixteen years 
of age, when he began the struggle of life for himself, working by the 
month until August 12, 1862, when he enlisted in Company I, Seventieth 
Indiana Voluntary Infantry, serving in the battles of Dallas, Resaca, 
Marietta, Savannah, New Hope Church, Atlanta, Peach Ti-ee Creek and 
Bentonville^ where he was captured and sent to Libby Prison, being 
made to march 170 miles, and with but one meal in three days. He was 
held captive from February, 1864, until the day before Mr. Lincoln's 
assassination, and was discharged June 30, 1865. After his return, he 
purchased a farm in Johnson County, and September 26, 1867, married 
Miss Ollie F. Miller, who died, leaving four children — Rosa, Guy, Roy 
and Eddie; she was a member of the Christian Church. His second wife 
was Miss Sarah A. Lake, whom he married Febi'uary 27, 1880. Until 
the fall of that year, Mr. Jackson followed farming and buying and sell- 
ing stock, but afterward came to Morgantown and engaged in the keeping 
of a bakery and butcher shop. Mr. Jackson is a Republican, and he and 
wife are members of the Christian Church. 

GEORGE W. KEMP, farmer and stock-raiser, was born December 9, 
1849, in this county, and is the sixth of the nine children of James and 
Christina (McGowan) Kemp, natives of Kentucky, and respectively of 
English and German extraction. James Kemp was a son of John and 
Nancy Kemp, of North Carolina. He came to this county in 1826, where 
our subject was educated to farm work, grew to manhood, and has ever 
remained. He continued at home until he was twenty-three years of 
age, when he began business for himself, with no capital but a bold 
heart and a strong will. February 14, 1872, he married Mrs. Caroline 
(Norman) Hamilton, of this county, born March 3, 1844. This marriage 
was honored by three children — Rebecca J., Andrew J. and Sarah E. Mr. 
Kemp has been reasonably successful in his efforts for independence. 
He has a farm of 165 acres, well located, cultivated and improved. He 
is an ardent Democrat, and socially an honorable and benevolent gentle- 
man. Mrs. Kemp is a member of the Separate Baptist Church. 

SAMUEL KEMP, farmer and stock-raiser, was born February 6, 
1842, in this coimty, and is the eighth of the nine children of Samuel 
and Tabitha (Hicks) Kemp, both natives of Tennessee, and of English 
extraction. The subject of this sketch received a fair education, and was 
reared to the plow by his father, who located in this township about 
1840, and where he died, having acquired 200 acres, which he sold to 
his son Samuel, who now cultivates 150 acres thereof. February 9, 1865, 



JACKSON TOWNSHIP AND MORGANTOWN. 255 

be married Miss Nancy J. Kent, a native of this county, which union has 
been cemented by four children — George (born November 29, 1865), 
Lewis (born May 23, 1868), David (born September 13, 1870), and Corda 
E. (born June 26, 1874). Mr. Kemp takes proper pride in bestowing 
education on his children, and is liberal and progressive in his character. 
He is a shrewd manager and a careful investigator, a good business man 
and a respected citizen. In political matters,Mr. Kemp is a solid Dem- 
ocrat. 

JAMES KEPHAET, stock-raiser and farmer, was born in Henry 
County, Ky., July 17, 1823, and is the second of the family of William 
and Elizabeth (Herrel) Kephart, also natives of Kentucky, and of German 
and English extraction respectively. James was brought to Clark County, 
Ind., by his parents in 1824, where they lived two years; then removed to 
Johnson County and remained thirteen years, after which they came to 
this county, where James received some education and was taught farm- 
ing. March 26, 1846, he married Misg Mary A. Moore, of Kentucky, 
who died a devoted member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and the 
mother of eight children — Serilda, Kobert M., John W., Christina, Clar- 
inda, Mahala (deceased) and two infants (deceased). Mr. Kephart re- 
ceived no assistance in his early struggles for honie and land, but has 
now 160 acres, favorably located and well improved and cultivated, with 
many improvements. He is a stalwart Democrat, a good business man- 
ager and a respected citizen. His son is now managing his farm mechan- 
ically and he overseeing. 

ISAAC KNIGHT, farmer and stock-raiser, was born in Nansemond 
County, Va. , October 16. 1830, and is the sixth of the eighteen children 
of Levin and Emily (Ellis) Knight, both natives of Virginia, and respect- 
ively of English and German extraction, who emigrated to Monroe 
County, Ind., in 1832, remained seven years, thence moved to Brown 
County for twelve years, and thence to Iowa. Isaac Knight was reared 
a farmer, with the rudiments of an education. In 1852, he came to Mor- 
gan Coimty and settled in the village of Cope, where he engaged in busi- 
ness for two years, and afterward took up farming. He has been very suc- 
cessful in his efforts, being the owner of 120 acres of good and improved 
land, together with eight residences, a brick block and a public hall — 
these the result of his ability and energy, he having received but $2,500 
from his father-in-law's estate. May 14, 1854, he married Miss Emily 
Briant, which union has been favored with nine children, eight having 
lived to receive names— Benjamin, John W., William B., Annie M., 
Nettie, Alonzo, Clarence and Lulie. Mr. Knight is a member of the 
Masonic fraternity and an active Kepublican; he cast his first vote for 
Henry Clay. Mr. and Mrs. Knight are members of the Christian Church, 
having been such since they were seventeen years of age. 

JOHN W. KNIGHT, school teacher and merchant at Morgantown, 
was born February 11, 1857, in this county, and is the second of the nine 
children of Isaac and Emily (Briant) Knight, the former a native of 
Virginia, and the latter of this county. Our subject was reared a farmer, 
and obtained a good education, having been a one-year student of Butler 
University. He remained at home until he was twenty-two years of age, 
when he began life for himself as a teacher, and as which he has been 
remarkably successful. September 1, 1883, he purchased the grocery 
stock of Abraham Wootten, and has since managed the business satisfac- 
torily, having a salesman to attend to his store while engaged in teaching. 



256 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

February 27, 1879, he married Miss Lizzie Blackburn, of Brown County, 
Ind. , wliich union has been favored with two children — Omar (born Decem ■ 
ber 20, 1880) and Otto M. (born December 14, 1883). Mr. Knight is a suc- 
cessful man, and is in prospect of a large and increasing trade, being a 
good observer and a shrewd manager. He is a liberal Republican politi- 
cally, and a generous and valued citizen. Mr. and Mrs. Knight are both 
members of the Christian Church. 

JACOB T. LEACH, stock-raiser and farmer, was born September 10, 
1850, in Johnson County, Ind., and is the seventh of the eleven children 
of John A. and Abigail (Miller) Leach, both natives of Kentucky, and 
of Scotch and German extraction respectively. In 1853, these parents 
moved to this county and located in Green Township. Jacob T. Leach 
has made his home in this locality since the coming of his father, for 
whom he labored, except during school periods, for several years. 
When seventeen years old, he began the experiment of life for himself, 
and, being industrious and economical, saved the money to found his 
success. September 22, 1872, he married Miss Sarah I. Adams, a native 
of this township. Five children have crowned this union — John H., 
Joseph B., William B., Nancy B. and Robert T. (deceased). Mr. Leach 
is a practical farmer, an energetic worker, a liberal and respected 
citizen, and an active Democrat. He has made his own way with but 
little aid, although his wife received $2,000 from her parents as a re- 
ward of her fidelity to them. 

OWEN LLOYD, stock-raiser and farmer, is a native of Ireland; was 
born March 21, 1807, and is the seventh of the ten children of Owen 
and Margaret (Murdock) Lloyd, both natives of Ireland. Owen received 
a good ordinary education and was reared a farmer. His grandfather 
and a brother received from Oliver Cromwell a grant of 1,900 acres of 
land, and his father was a large land owner and extensive farmer. In 
1834, our subject emigrated tq, these shores, settled in Cleveland, Ohio, 
for four years, and thereafter, in 1839, came to his present home and 
farm. To his original forty acres he added until he owned at one time 
360 acres, most of which he has bestowed among his children. When 
quite a young man, Mr. Lloyd manifested a predilection for trading, in 
which he was generally successful, and is indebted to no one but himself 
for his progress and prosperity. April 7, 1838, he married Miss Sarah 
Coleman, a native of Ohio. To this union were bestowed nine children 
— Robert C. (deceased), Edwin (deceased), Owen, Davis (deceased), 
Clotilda, Alice, Francis C, Eliza, and an infant unnamed. Mr. Lloyd 
is a Democrat, and was twice elected Trustee of this township; he is 
also a benevolent and worthy citizen. Mr. Lloyd is a member of the 
Episcopal; and Mrs. Llovd of the Missionary Baptist Church. 

JOHN F. MAXWELL, liveryman at Morgantown, is a native of 
Butler County, Ohio; was born August 14, 1849, and is the third of the 
seven children of John K. and Ellen (McElwain) Maxwell, the former 
a native of Pennsylvania, the latter of New Jersey, who moved to 
Johnson County, Ind., in 1860. John F. Maxwell began the way of 
life for himself, when seventeen years of age, by taking charge of a 
woolen factory at Eminence, Ind.. having formerly worked in such a 
place. This he continued for eighteen months, when he moved to 
Brownsburg and had charge of the weaving department for about three 
years; thence he went to Crawfordsville, and there had charge of a 
woolen factory for about six years, and finally came to Morgantown and 



JACKSON TOWNSHIP AND MORGANTOWN. 257 

began his present enterprise — livery and stave-making. In 1883, he 
shipped about 3,500,000 staves. Mr. Maxwell has been twice married 
— first, to Miss Mary J. Gibson, who died after bearing two children — 
both of whom departed before getting names; second, to Miss Minerva 
J. Julian, who is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. 
Maxwell is an energetic business man, an esteemed citizen and an active 
Democrat. 

GEORGE M. MONTGOMERY, hardware merchant at Morgantown, 
is a native of Johnson County, Ind., and is the second child of his par- 
ents, Duncan and Li His (Holman) Montgomery, the former a native of 
Scotland, the latter of Indiana. Mr. Montgomery emigrated to Amer- 
ica in 1832. George M. was born December 15, 1853; was reared a 
farmer, and worked thereat and attended school until he was sixteen 
years old, at which time he became a cripple, and thus incapacitated from 
farm labor, although he is owner of 137 J acres of excellent land, im- 
proved and cultivated. In the summer of 1880, he moved to Morgan - 
town and purchased the hardware business of James S. Comer, which 
he has since managed successfully and satisfactorily. He carries a 
varied stock of about $3, 500, which is increasing. October 17, 1876, he 
married Miss Mary E. Bass, and to them have been born two children — 
Arthur D. and Ivey M. Mr. Montgomery is a Liberal in politics, an 
upright and watchful merchant and a generally esteemed citizen. 

CAPT. WILLIAM MOUNT, farmer and stock-raiser, was born in 
Hamilton County, Ohio, October 25, 1827, and is the eldest of the four 
children of Obadiah B. and Gitty A. (Skillman) Mount, both natives of 
Ohio, who moved to Union County, Ind., about 1837, on the 2d of Feb- 
ruary of which year Mr. Mount departed this life. William Mount re- 
ceived a fair education from the common schools, and learned the ancient 
vocation of farming, which he followed until the summer of 1862-, then, 
together with W. W\ Wingett, raised Company G, of the Sixty ninth 
Regiment Indiana Volunteers, Mr. Mount being made First Lieutenant, 
but was acting Captain most of the time, that officer being on detached 
duty. He was in the following engagements: Richmond (Ky.), Arkansas 
Post, Thompson's Hill, Raymond, Baker's Creek, Black River Bridge, 
and with Gen. Grant at Vicksburg. After his regiment was transferred 
to Texas, he participated at the battle of Mobile, where he received a 
slight wrist wound and was mustered out, but discharged at Indianapolis 
in August, 1865. The war being over, he removed to Columbus, Ind., 
where he engaged in the grocery business for several years, when he sold 
the same, removed to Indianapolis, and was some time on the special 
police force; thence he removed to this county in 1879, where he has 
since resided on a good farm of 100 acres. December 1, 1847, he mar- 
ried Miss Eleanor Dare, with a result of one child — Edward F. (deceased). 
Capt. Mount is an energetic Republican, a liberal, charitable gentleman, 
a shrewd man of business and a valued citizen. His mother resides with 
him, and is a member of the Presbyterian Church since girlhood. 

JOSEPH H. NORMAN, farmer and stock-raiser, was born in this 
township October 8. 1839, and is the sixth of the eight children of James 
and Sarah A. (Harrison) Norman, the former a native of North Carolina, 
the latter of Tennessee, and both of Irish descent. James Norman emi- 
grated to this county in 1831; then returned to Tennessee for three years, 
when he came back to this county and finished his days; he was pos- 
sessed of 320 acres of land. His wife survives him and resides with the 



258 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

subject of this sketch. Joseph H. was reared a farmer, and has a good 
farm, embraciug ninety-six acres, well cultivated and with stock and im- 
provements. March 28, 1861, he married Miss Ruth Kemp, a native of 
this coiinty, which union has been fruitful of five children — George W., 
Robert C, Harriet V., Samuel A. and Edward. Mr. Norman received 
some aid in the beginning of his career, but has succeded by means of 
his will and management. He is a good husband, father and citizen, an 
unchangeable Democrat, and, with his wife, a valued member of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church. 

JOSEPH T. NORMAN, farmer and stock-raiser, is a native of Over- 
ton County, Tenn.; was born October 1, 1823, and is the youngest of the 
twelve children of William and Mary (Kemp) Norman, natives of North 
Carolina and of English extraction. William Norman came to this 
county in the fall of 1830, where he enterM land, and, with the assist- 
ance of his sons, made a very excellent farm, which continued to be his 
home until removed by death. He had been a soldier of the war of 1812. 
Joseph T. Norman was reared a farmer under his father, obtained a pio- 
neer education and remained with his parents until he was about twenty- 
two years of age, engaged in rail-making, log-rolling and clearing land. 
In 1844, he married Miss Betsey E. W^illiams, of North Carolina, who 
lived to bear eleven children — Caroline, Nancy, Sarah, Catherine, Jeffer- 
son, Joseph L., Frank P., George W., William (deceasjed), Rutha J. 
(deceased) and Thomas A. He next married, September 7, 1864, Mrs. 
Nancy R. Thomas, a native of Indiana, to which union were bestowed 
four children — Grant, Sheridan, Daniel W. and Sherman (deceased). Mr. 
Norman has been successful in his efforts toward independence, being 
possessed of 600 acres of land, much of which is improved, cultivated 
and stocked. , He cast his first vote for James K. Polk, but adopted the 
Republican party as soon as born, and has adhered to it. He is a charita- 
ble, liberal citizen, and much esteemed. 

JOHN J. NORMAN, fai^mer and stock-raiser, is a native of this 
county; was born January 17, 1850, and is the fifth of the eleven children 
of Joseph T. and Elizabeth (Williams) Norman, the former a native of 
Tennessee, the latter of North Carolina, and respectively of English and 
German extraction. John J. Norman was reared a farmer, received the 
rudiments of an education, and remained with his parents until he was 
twenty- one years of age, at which time he began life for himself, receiv- 
ing from his parents a horse and cow to begin with. May 26, 1870, he 
married Miss Emeline Lake, a native of this county, by which union suc- 
ceeded two children — Delie (born February 17, 1871) and George W. 
(born April 18, 1874). Mr. Norman is now residing on the farm of his 
father. He is a Republican by political preference, a liberal gentleman 
and an esteemed citizen; he is likewise a practical farmer, whose success 
is due to his energy and wise management. 

W. W. RAPER is a native of this county, was born August 28, 1861, 
and is the second of the family of nine children bestowed on Andrew J. 
and Julia A. (Helton) Raper, the former a native of Monroe County, 
Ind., the latter of this county, and both of English extraction. The 
subject of this sketch was reared to the ancient business of husbandry, 
and acquired some education from the common schools. He is now act- 
ing as overseer of the farm of his grandfather. Mr. Helton is an ener- 
getic, industrious and promising young man, a practical farmer and an 
esteemed gentleman. In political preference, he is a member of the Dem- 
ocratic party. 



JACKSON TOWNSHIP AND MORGANTOWN. 259 

HENRY RENNER, proprietor of a saw mill and grist mill at Maha- 
lasville, also a farmer and stock-raiser, was born January 15, 1828, in 
Wayne County, Ohio, and is the second child of Philip and Mary (Bidle- 
man) Renner; the former a native of Pennsylvania, the latter of Ohio, 
and both of German extraction, who came to this section in 1839. Henry 
Renner was brought up to the farm and the school, thus acquiring some 
education and learning the farming vocation. By industry and frugality, 
he has acquired a good property, having a tine farm of 246 acres, much 
cultivated and variously improved; he is also in enjoyment of a liberal 
patronage in his mills and purchases grain largely. January 15, 1852, 
he married Miss Jane, a daughter of James and Mary A. Gibbs, to which 
union eight in family have been bestowed — Philip, Mary, Eliza E., James 
W., Martha A., Louisa, Retta and Eddie. Mr Renner is a gentleman of 
enterprise and liberality, an uncompromising Democrat and a worthy 
citizen. Mrs. Renner is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

GEORGE W. SKINNER, farmer, was born June 15, 1825, in Bel- 
mont County, Ohio, and is the fifth of the family of Philip and Hannah 
(Coon) Skinner; the former a native of Pennsylvania, the latter of West 
Virginia, and both of German descent. George W. received only a ru- 
dimentary education, but has been a close student, thereby acquiring much 
practical knowledge. In 1844, he located in Morgantown, and after the 
death of his parents he received a small amount of means with which to 
begift life; he first purchased forty-four and then forty acres of the 
homestead, and has dealt also in lumber and timber. June 29, 1846, he 
married Miss Partheny Lake, a native of Virginia, which union gave 
issue to ten children — William (deceasedj, Mary, Elizabeth A. (deceased), 
Emma (deceased), Samuel, Ida (deceased), John A. , Caleb and Barbara 
(twins, the latter deceased) and Burto. Mr. Skinner has been usually 
successful in his undertakings, having a clear perception and much exe- 
cutive capacity. He is a warm adherent of the Republican party, a 
stanch friend to humanity and a good citizen. He and wife belong to 
the Missionary Baptist Church. 

IRA C. WILLAN, M. D., one of the leading physicians and surgeons 
of Morgantown, Ind., was born July 27, 1859, in Hart County, Ky., and 
is the third of the eight children of Dr. Elzy B. and Carrie R. (Murrey) 
Willan, natives of Kentucky, and of English extraction, who moved to 
Trafalgar, Johnson County, Ind., in 1861, where Ira grew to manhood, 
and, in his father's drug store, received an early medical training, having 
served as clerk for eighteen months therein. After receiving a good ed-" 
ucation at the schools, he entered on the study of medicine under his 
father for two years, after which he attended two courses at the Indiana 
Medical College, department of Butler University, from which he gradu- 
ated in the class of 1883, and with great honors. July 26, 1883, he 
opened a medical oflQce at Morgantown, and has even now been success- 
ful in establishing himself with the people as a young practitioner of 
ability and promise. We predict for him a lucrative practice and gen- 
eral renown. 

FREDERIC WILLIAMS (deceased) was born May 3, 1828, in 
North Carolina, and was the fourth of the eleven children of William 
and Catherine (Haase) Williams, also natives of North Carolina, and of 
Irish and German descent respectively. Frederic came to this county 
when quite young, which was his home until his decease — July 21,1882. 
He received his education from the pioneer schools, and was reared on a 



260 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

farm. Tie settled in the forest, and, with some help from his father and 
rigid economy, accumulated sufficient to make his family comfortable. 
March 12, 1858, he married Miss Rutha J. Kemp, a native of this 
county, and to their union were bestowed eleven children, nine of whom 
lived to be named — George W. (born December 8, 1860), Aaron (born 
November 22, 1861), John J. (born May 5, 1863), James W. (deceased), 
Andrew J. (born June 22, 1866), Robert E. L. (January 16, 1869), Fred- 
eric (born April 10, 1870), Nelson (born February 13,1872) and Cordelia 
(born May 1, 1874). Mr. Williams was possessed of about 200 acres of 
farm land, and was a man of energy and endurance toward the end of 
becoming independent. He was liberal, genial and esteemed. In polit- 
ical matters, he was an active Democrat 



CLAY TOWNSHIP. 



WILLIAM BLACK, J. P., Brooklyn, is the second of four children 
of Samuel J. and Mary J. (Lewis) Black, and born in Mooresville, Mor 
gan County, on February 29, 1836. Samuel J. , the father, was born in 
Erie County, Fenn., on June 16, 1812, and came to Indiana in 1824, 
settling near Indianapolis, but coming soon to Mooresville, Morgan County. 
On October 17, 1833, he married Mary J. Lewis. He died on March 19, 
1851; his wife September 5, 1855. Our subject was reared upon a 
farm, and received but a limited education. In 1848, he went to Iowa 
with an uncle, sojourning in that State ten years, when he returned to 
Indiana in October, 1859. On July 6, 1861, he enlisted in Company 
K, Twenty-first Indiana Infantry, served until December 16, 1863, when 
he " veteranized" and continued in the service until the close of the war. 
On the organization of his company he was made Corporal, but was pro- 
moted to First Sergeant before his discharge. He participated in the 
battle of Baton Rouge, sieges of Port Hudson, Fort Morgan, Fort Span- 
ish and Fort Blakely. At the time of his discharge, January 22, 1866, 
he had contracted a disability from which he will probably never recover. 
While at home on a furlough, he was married, on December 7, 1865, to 
Sarah Steele, a native of Morgan County. Mrs. Black's father was in 
the Mexican war, and died in that service. To Mr. and Mrs. Black have 
been born four children. Both are members of the Christian Church, 
as is also their eldest daughter. Mr. Black is a member of the I. 0.0. F., 
and a stanch Republican. He held the office of Trustee of Clay Town- 
ship from 1872 to 1874. He is at present a Justice of the Peace of this 
township. By trade he is a carpenter. 

BARNARD B. BUSH, of the firm of Bush & Brother, dealers in gen- 
eral merchandise, was born in Orange County, N. Y., on September 18, 
1856, and is a son of George B. and Mary (Lyon) Bush, having been the 
second of their four children. The firm of Bush & Brother does a thriv- 
ing business, is carrying a stock of 13,000, and trading annually to the 
amount of $10,000 at Centerton, Ind. Barnard B. was reared on a farm, 
and attended the public schools a sufficient length of time to enable him 
to teach. Mr. Bush, Sr.. and his wife came to Indianapolis from New 
York, and from there moved to Centerton. On the breaking-out of the 



CLAY TOWNSHIP. 261 

war, he went into the service, but never returned to his home. Barnard 
B. began life for himself at nineteen years of age, at farming, and con- 
tinued in that pursuit until 1880, when he engaged in the mercantile 
business, and ever since has been doing a thriving trade in that line at 
Centerton. Mr. Bush was married, on September 30, 1878, to Emma 
Ferguson, a native of Morgan County, Ind. , and by her he has had two 
childi-en— May, born May 2, 1880, and Lee, born September 23, 1883. 
Mrs. Bush is a consistent member of the Christian Church, Mr. Bush is 
a Kepublican and holds the office of Trustee of the township, being now 
in his second term. After his first election, he made a special levy of 35 
cents on the 1100, for the purpose of building a graded schoolhouse of 
four rooms. This became an issue in his second election, and he having 
been successful, the building was completed, and a school is taught there 
which is a credit to any township. Mr. Bush is a self made man, not 
having depended upon any one for help in climbing the ladder to pros- 
perity. 

CALVIN ELY is the fourth of the five children born to David and 
Mary E. (McCracken) Ely, natives of Virginia and North Carolina, and 
of English descent; was born in Clay Township, Morgan County, Ind., 
May 3, 1849, and passed his childhood on his father's farm. He received 
instruction at the public schools sufficient to enable him to become one of 
our county's teachers. Mr. Ely attended the State Normal School at 
Terre Haute during 1874 and 1875, and also graduated from the Inter- 
national Business College of Indianapolis June 1, 1872. As he was 
then fully competent as a teacher, he followed that profession for about 
eight years, at the same time engaging in book-keeping In the mean- 
time, he served as Deputy in the Auditor's, Treasurer's and Clerk's offices 
at Martinsville. On January 10, 1878, Mr. Ely was married to Frances 
A. Staflbrd, a native of Morgan County, and daughter of Wiley and 
Sarah (Slaughter) Stafibrd, natives of Morgan County, Ind., and of Eng- 
lish and German descent. By this union they have had one child born 
to them — Charles, born August 2, 1881. Mr. and Mrs. Ely belong to the 
Christian and to the Methodist Episcopal Churches respectively. Mr. 
Ely is a member of the A. F. & A. M. Since his marriage, he has been 
engaged in farming 192 acres which he owns, and has highly improved. 
On this place is a fine residence, barn, fences, orchard, etc. ; it is stocked 
with hogs, horses, sheep and cattle, and further provided with all neces- 
sary farming implements. In collecting this, Mr. Ely has depended 
upon himself only and has received nothing from any man. 

A. J. ^FIELDS was born in Madison Township, Morgan County, 
August 20, 1830, and is the son of Allen and Elizabeth (Ritcher) Fields, 
natives respectively of North Carolina and Virginia. The parents came 
to Indiana in 1828, and located in Madison Township, where they resid- 
ed until their death. Our subject was reared upon a farm, received a 
rather limited education, and came to Clay Township on January 1, 
1853, and continued farming, being at present located upon a farm of 
138 acres of well-improved land, of which he is the owner. He has been 
twice married. First to Clarissa Butterfield, on December 18, 1853. 
She was a native of Morgan County, and daughter of Veloris and Clarissa 
Butterfield. Seven children were born to them — Omer A., born February 
12, 1856, died July 17, 1870; Francis O., born August 10, 1860, died 
March 30, 1882; Martin A., born November 30, 1868, died May 18, 1882; 
George A., born December 4, 187 J, died November 25, 1874: Ada A., 



262 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

born August 18, 1858; William F., born July 13, 1864; Annetta, born, 
July 15, 1862. The mother of these children died on October 2, 1872, 
a consistent member of the Christian Church. He was next married, on 
March 20, 1874, to Eleanor Butterlield, who was born on January 15, 
1837. She is the daughter of John H. and Eleanor Butterfield. They 
have no children. Both Mr. and Mrs. Fields are members of the Christian 
Church, in which he has been Deacon for the past twenty years. Con- 
sistent in his piety, lavish in his gifts to charity, upright in his dealings 
with his fellow-man, Mr. Fields is respected by all who know him. Mr. 
F.'s father, Allen Fields, was born on March 18, 1789, and died on Oc- 
tober 24, 1877; his mother, Elizabeth Fields, was born on December 2, 
1793, and_died on April 23, 1864. 

W. C. 'GEEESON, harness -maker, Brooklyn, is the youngest of 
fourteen children born to John and Barbara (Spoon) Greeson, natives of 
North Carolina, and respectively of German and English extraction. 
The parents emigrated from their native State to Indiana in about 1840, 
coming to Mooresville, Morgan County, and there lived until their death, 
respectively in 1851 and 1852, both members of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church. W. C. Greeson was born in Mooresville November 18, 1844, 
and grew to manhood upon a farm, receiving a common school education. 
At about eighteen years of age, Mr. Greeson enlisted in Company E, 
Twelfth Indiana Infantry, and served three years. He was promoted to 
Corporal in 1863. He took part in battle of Richmond, Ky. He was 
here captured August 27, 1862; was paroled on the 30th, and in No- 
vember was exchanged. He was sent from Indianapolis to Cairo, 111., 
and thence to Memphis, and finally to winter quarters at Tallahassee 
Bottoms. In the spring the regiment went to Vicksburg, and there took 
part in that severely contested engagement. In September, after the 
evacuation of the city, they went to Memphis, Tenn. Corp. Greeson 
was also engaged in the battles of Jackson, Miss., Missionary Ridge, 
Resaca, Dallas, New Hope Church, Kenesaw Mountain, Nickajack Creek, 
Atlanta, Jonesborc, Savannah, Griswoldville, Columbia, S. C, Benton- 
ville and Raleigh, N. C, and in Sherman's " march to the sea." 
Through exposure, our soldier subject became afflicted with chronic 
diarrhoea, and also received a severe wound with "an ax in his left leg at 
Vicksburg. He was discharged June 20, 1865. He was married Novem- 
ber 9, 1865, to Mary A. Peek, a native of this township, and a member 
of the Christian Church. Mr. Greeson is a Mason; was Junior Warden 
for three and Senior Warden for two years, and was also Trustee of 
Clay Township for five years, and is a Republican. Mr. Greeson owns 
ninety -three acres of land, well improved, six lots, two dwellings, and a 
shop in Brooklyn. In 1876, Mr. Greeson left his farm and came to 
Brooklyn, where he is engaged in harness-making, and has since been do- 
ing a good business. 

JOHN HINER GREGORY (deceased) was born in Morgan County, 
Ind., July 4, 1842, and is the son of Daniel and Mary (Cox) Gregory, of 
English lineage. John H. was reared upon a farm, and was educated at 
the common schools. February 7, 1866, he was married to Amanda J., 
a native of Morgan County, born February 14, 1844, and a daughter of 
William and Eleanor (Clark) Rinker. Three children were given them 
— Oliver L. (deceased), Albert and Melva I. The father died on April 
7, 1882, in the membership of the Methodist Episcopal Church, to which 
his wife belongs. Mrs. Gregory is living upon a farm of 122 acres of 



CLAY TOWNSHIP. 263 

land, well improved and abundantly stocked. Mr. Gregory enlisted 
August 6, 1862, in Company H, Seventieth Indiana Infantry, and served 
three years. He participated in the following battles: Russellville, 
Resaca, Cassville, New Hope Church, Lost Mountain, Kenesaw Mount- 
ain, Marietta, Peach Tree Creek, Atlanta, Savannah, and was also with 
Sherman on his "march to the sea." He was honorably discharged on 
June 8, 1865. He then resumed farming, was always a most devoted 
husband and father, as well as a respected citizen. Being early left an 
orphan, Mr. Gregory lived with an uncle until he had nearly attained 
his majority, when he returned to Morgan County, Ind. Mrs. Gregory 
is residing on the old homestead of Levi Rinker. 

ALEXANDER HARDWICK was born November 10, 1842, in Clay 
Township, Morgan County, Ind. His father, "William Hardwick, was 
born in Tennessee in 1808, and while he was quite young his parents 
moved with him to Kentucky. He then went with them to Mooresville, 
at the age of fifteen, and in 1835 married Elizabeth Cox, who was born 
in Pennsylvania in 1815. She went to Ohio with her parents in early 
youth, and thence to Morgan County. Here she was married to William 
Hardwick, and they have been living in this county ever since. Mr. 
Hardwick was of English-Scotch, and his wife of Irish-Dutch descent. 
Alexander, their son, and our subject, was born and reared near Center- 
ton. His advantages for an education were limited, but he improved 
such opportunities as he had, and thus acquired sufficient learning to be- 
come a successful teacher. This profession he has followed for about 
ten years. He has been for six years engaged in the flouring-mill and 
in the grain business. For about two years he was engaged in the mer- 
cantile business. Mr. Hardwick never aspired to any public ofiice, but 
was elected Trustee of the township in 1874, which position he resigned 
at the expiration of the first year. He has been a member of the I. O. 
O. F., Martinsville Lodge, No. 274, since 1868. In i860, he began to 
do business for himself, and in March, 1868, married Eliza E. , daughter 
of Joel and Elizabeth Matthews. Joel was a son of Hiram, or Judge 
Matthews, as he is commonly known. Elizabeth Rooker is a daughter 
of Wilson and Polly Rooker, all old settlers of Morgan County, and have 
lived and are living near Mooresville. Mr. Hardwick's present occupa- 
tion is teaching, of which he is seemingly fond. 

HON. FRANKLIN LANDERS was born in Morgan County, Ind., 
March 22, 1825. His father, William Landers, was one of the pionbers 
of the New Purchase, and here Franklin was reared a farmer and edu- 
cated at the country schools. After reaching his majority, he followed 
teaching a few terms, and with his earnings therefrom, added to those 
from his farm labors, in company with his brother, Washington, he 
opened a general store at Waverly, Ind. A few years later, he purchased 
a section of land in this township, laid out the town of Brooklyn, 
brought his merchandise here, and for several years sold goodb, farmed, 
reared and dealt in stock, and before he was of middle age, became one 
of the wealthiest men in the country. He accumulated money without 
an apparent effort, and spent it like a prince. Objects of charity and 
benevolent institutions were the recipients of his bounty, and the poor 
and the needy who knew him have every reason to bless him. He has 
established no less than five churches upon his lands, and to their sup- 
port has given liberally. In 1860, he was nominated for State Senator, 
and defeated his opponent, Samuel Oyler, one of the most popular men 



264 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

of Indiana, by a large majority. In the Legislature, he acquitted him- 
self with honor, and to the satisfaction of his constituency. He favored 
a vigorous prosecution of the war for the preservation of the Union; he 
advocated the enforcement of military law wher^ civil law was overthrown, 
and upon all questions tending to establish the supremacy of a united 
government, his voice was in the affirmative. He removed to the city of 
Indianapolis in 1864, where, in company with other well-known gentle- 
men, he engaged in the wholesale dry gootis business, which he has 
since followed. He is also the head of the firm of Landers & Co. , pork 
packers and commission merchants, and is one of the most extensive 
farmers in the State. He owns four fine farms, aggregating 2, 100 acres, 
in Morgan County, one of 250 acres in Marion, and one of 160 acres in 
Hamilton, all of which receive his personal supervision. He was candi- 
date for Presidential elector on the McClellan ticket in 1864 In 1874, 
he was elected to Congress, where he took rank as leader upon all ques- 
tions of finance. In 1875, the Greenback party nominated him for Gov- 
ernor, but the Democratic convention before which his name was pre- 
sented for indorsement, finding the contest between Mr. Landers and the 
Hod. W. S. Holman to be so warm as to preclude the possibility of har- 
mony in the party, both those gentlemen were withdrawn, and a com- 
promise effected upon the Hon. James Williams. Over his protest, Mr. 
Landers' friends nominated him for Congress in 1876, and though de- 
feated, he ran ahead of his ticket over 800, and his candidacy added 
much to the strength of the Democracy, and led to the election of Mr. 
Williams as Governor, and carried the State of Indiana for Tilden and 
Hendricks. In 1880, he led the Democratic hosts as their candidate for 
Governor, the result of which campaign is a part of the history of our 
country. Mr. Landers has been twice married; first to Miss Mary Shuf- 
fleberger, who died in 1864, leaving two children, and next to Mrs. 
Martha Conduitt, by whom he has had born to him four children. 

DR. CHAMBERS M. LINDLEY was born in Crawford County, 111., 
on January 1, 1832. His father came from North Carolina, and settled 
in Orange County, Ind., while the country was yet a wilderness and in- 
habited by the Indians. Shortly afterward, he moved to Crawford Coun- 
ty, near Huntsville, 111., and the country being wild and unsettled, he, 
with all the early settlers, endured many hardships and privations. He 
was a member of the Friends' Church, and his ten children were brought 
up under its influence. He died in 1837. Chambers M. , the subject of 
this sketch, was reared on a farm. At the age of fifteen, he lost an arm 
by a runaway horse. After a season at the pioneer schools, he came to 
Parke County, Ind. , and attended the Bloomingdale School, conducted 
by the Friends. Then he taught for a period of three years. He then 
began the study of medicine, and attended the medical colleges at Ann 
Arbor, Mich., and Cincinnati, Ohio, graduating from the latter institu- 
tion in 1860. He then began the practice of medicine at Waverly, Mor- 
gan County, where he continued in his profession ten years. Failing in 
health, he retired to a farm, where he remained six years; thence came 
to Brooklyn, where for twelve years he has been actively engaged in the 
practice of medicine and snrgery. In May, 1856, he was married to 
Elizabeth J. Province, of Pleasureville, Ky. She has borne him two 
children — Ella and Minnie. The Doctor and wife are members of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church. He is also a member of the Brooklyn 
Lodge, No. 47 1, A. , F. & A. M. As a farmer, he owns 260 acres of 



CLAY TOWNSHIP. 265 

well-improved land. The Doctor has a tine medical library, as well as 
the works of nearly all the standard authors on miscellaneous subjects. 

P. S. McNEFF was born in 1834, near Brooklyn, Morgan County. 
He lived on the farm until the autumn of 1852, when he went to Iowa, 
where he worked on a farm for two years, and then served time at the 
carpenter's trade, and worked at it until the spring of 1856, when he re- 
turned to Indiana, and remained until September of the same year. He 
then returned to Iowa, and in 1858 went to Lawrence, Kan.; thence 
again, in 1859, to Iowa; thence, in September of the same year, to New 
Albany, Ind. ; thence to Salem, Ind. After a short sojourn South, he 
returned to Salem, Ind., where he remained until March, 1861. In the 
meantime, he was married to Catharine, daughter of Jonathan and Eliza- 
beth Winslow. After a trip to Iowa, he returned to Salem, and bought 
a farm near that town, on which he remained until March, 1869, owning 
meantime different farms. He then sold out and moved to French Lick, 
Orange Co., Ind., and engaged in the dry goods business, following it 
several years, when he closed out his stock and returned to Brooklyn, 
Morgan County, having been absent nineteen years. Here he purchased 
a stock of goods, formed a partnership with his brother, W. A. McNeff, 
and remained in the business five years, when our subject retired from 
the firm and moved to Monrovia, Ind., and again engaged in the mer- 
cantile trade. After over two years' experience in the business, he moved 
his stock to Louisville, on the county line between Morgan and Owen. 
In February, 1881, he disposed of his stock, and again returned to 
Brooklyn and purchased another stock of goods. At the end of sixty 
days, he again sold out, and purchased his brother's stock, and is, just 
at this time, engaged in the mercantile business, having a successful 
trade. 

WILLIAM A. McNEFF, farmer, was born in Brown Township, 
Morgan County, Ind., March 25, 1838, and is the seventh of the ten chil- 
dren born to Thomas W. and Sarah (Smith) McNeff, natives of Kentucky 
and Pennsylvania, and respectively of Scotch- Irish and German descent. 
William A. was reared upon the home farm, and attended the subscrip- 
tion schools. His father brought him to Indiana in an early day, coming 
to Harrison Township. There he was married, and afterward came to 
Morgan County. In 1852, William A. went from Indiana to Iowa with 
his father, and there remained until 1862. Mr. McNeff, Sr., died in 

1856. After returning to Indiana, William A. went to Washington 
County, and afterward went to Orange County, and came to Morgan 
County in 1871. Since that time, he has resided in this township. He 
is engaged in cultivating a farm of 120 acres, improved, and having a fine 
residence, besides other appliances necessary to a finished farm. It is also 
stocked with horses, hogs, cattle and sheep. On December 28, 1872, ho 
was married to Mary C. Rinker, a native of Clay Township, Morgan 
County, and a daughter of William and Eleanor Rinker. They have had 
two children — Leslie, born February 8, 1874, and Don Clyde, born Sep- 
tember 13, 1882. Mrs. McNeff is a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and is a Democrat, 
having cast his tirst ballot for James Buchanan. In earning a com- 
petence, he has been aided by no one, having been dependent entirely 
upon himself. 

DR. GRANT MONICAL, resident of Brooklyn, was born February 18, 

1857, and is a native of Morgan County, Ind. He was reared upon a 



266 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

farm, but received a good education, and liually began teaching school, 
which pursuit he followed for five years. On March 1, 1879, Grant be- 
gan studying medicine with Dr. C. M. Lindley, and afterward took a 
course of study at the Medical College of Cincinnati, Ohio, and graduated 
from that institution in 1881. Dr. Monical then located at Brooklyn, 
Ind. , and has a good practice. He is universally regarded as a most 
promising young physician, and one who is rising rapidly in his profes- 
sion. 

■ O. C. MOON, farmer, was born in Brown Township, Morgan County, 
Ind., May 1, 1852, and is the second of three children born to L. D. and 
Rachel (Thornburg) Moon, natives of Warren County, Ohio, and of Mor- 
gan County, Ind., and of English ancestry. O. C. was reared upon a 
farm, and received sufficient instruction to enable him to teach school, 
later, in the schools of this county. He was very successful in this, and 
followed it for ten years. He attended the business college at Indian- 
apolis, and graduated from there in 1877. March 13, 1879, he was mar- 
ried to Jennie Grriggs, a native of this county and township, and daughter 
of Clark and Margaret (Marrow) Griggs. After marriage, Mr. Moon 
engaged in farming, and is now living upon a farm of 360 acres, near 
Brooklyn, and which belongs to his father-in-law, Clark Griggs. Mr. and 
Mrs. Moon belong to the Methodist Episcopal and Christian denomina- 
tions respectively. He is a member of the I. O. O. F., and a Republican. 
PERRY O. PHILLIPS, dealer in groceries and stationery, was born 
in Clay Township, Morgan County, Ind., May 22, 1857, and grew to 
manhood upon a farm. He received some instruction in the common 
branches of study, and after he had attained his majority, began life in- 
dependently, by farming. Mr. Phillips has been married twice. On 
February 2, 1879, he wedded Nancy J. Everling, a native of Johnson 
County, lud. She died on Novembei- 24, 1880, leaving an infant, which 
died soon after. Mrs. Phillips was a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church. Mr. Phillips was next married to Eliza E. (Stafford) Koons, 
who was born June 1, 1855. One child was born to them, on August 28, 
1883. The parents belong to the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. 
Phillips is a Republican and a Mason, and is now holding the office of 
Assessor of Clay Township. 

ELI T. RINKER (deceased) was born in Ohio, May 15, 1812, and, 
while yet a small boy, came with his parents to Washington County, Ind. 
He came to Morgan County some forty years ago. On October 21, 1841, 
Mr. Rinker was married to Charity, daughter of David and Sarah (Clay- 
pool) Ely, Virginians. David Ely emigrated to Indiana, located in 
Hendricks County, and remained there until his death, July 20, 1845. 
Sarah Ely died at the residence of her sons, in Morgan County, October 
25, 1857, in her seventy-fourth year, having been a faithful member of 
the Methodist Episcopal Church for Hf ty-two years. For sixteen or seven- 
teen years, her house was used as a place of holding services, and the 
weary, wandering minister always found a welcome home at " Mother 
Ely's." Mrs. Ely was the mother of twelve children. To Mr. E. T. 
Rinker's marriage have been born two children, one of whom died in in- 
fancy, and the other, Simeon K., at twenty years of age. On March 12, 
1873, Mr. Rinker departed this life. Since 1837, he had been a member 
of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and was a consistent Christian, and 
in losing him the community sustained a bereavement which will long 
be felt. His wife belongs to the Methodist Episcopal Chui'ch, and is 



CLAY TOWNSHIP. 267 

living upon the home place of 140 acres, which her husband had im- 
proved. She is over sixty-four years of age, and dwells there alone, hav- 
ing neither husband, children, father nor mother, and being much lo^ed 
and respected by all her friends. In Morgan County, on January 18, 
1862, Simeon K. Binker departed this life, aged twenty years, and was 
the only child of Eli and Charity Rinker. Simeon K. was trained 
in religious matters by his parents, and at thirteen years of age united 
with the Methodist Episcopal Church. He was a kind, affectionate and 
obedient son, and, although the Master called for him so early, his work 
was done, and as he left his weeping friends in his father's house below, 
it was but to pass to the fellowship of those who had " gone before " to 
his Father's house above 

NOAH R. RINKER was born in Washington County, Ind., March 
22, 1820, and is the son of Levi Rinker, who was born October 5, 1790, 
and died July 24, 1858. Levi Rinker married Elizabeth Cracraft, who 
was born October 13, 1794, and died December 22, 1852. They were 
natives respectively of Virginia and Kentucky, and were married in Ohio, 
in 1815. They came from Ohio to Indiana in an early day, locating 
in Washington County, and from there coming to Morgan County in 
183(*. They were early pioneers, and lived here until their death. Levi 
was a soldier of 1812; Noah was reared upon a farm and received a lim- 
ited education. On September 1, 1842, he was married to Lydia Ann 
Griggs, who was born November 15, 1819, in Clinton County, Ind. By 
her he had born to him seven children, of whom four are living- -Eliza- 
beth (Allen), Margaret (Underwood), Martha E. (Williams) and Christo- 
pher C. The mother died October 7, 1855, a member of the Christian 
Church. On March 27, 1856, Mr. Rinker took for his second wife Lydia 
E. Johnson, a native of North Carolina, who was born August 19, 1823. 
They have had seven children, three of whom are living — A. Dayton, 
Mary A. and Orlando O. Mr. and Mrs. Rinker are members of the Meth- 
odist Episcopal Church. Since bis tenth year, Mr. Rinker has been a 
resident of this county and township. He belongs to the I. O. O. F., 
and is a Democrat. Through his own exertions, he has become inde- 
pendent. 

SILAS RINKER was born September 17, 1835, in Clay Township, 
Morgan Co., Ind., and is the son of Levi and Elizabeth (Cracraft) Rinker. 
Silas was reared upon a farm, received ordinary school advantages, and 
at the age of eighteen started out for himself. Since that time he has 
followed farming, with the exception of fifteen months in the mercantile 
business. He is living now upon fifty-seven acres of land near Brooklyn. 
Mr. Rinker has been twice married. On October 10, 1852, he was mar 
ried to Melissa Jane, of Monroe County, and daughter of Joseph and 
Lucinda (Harper) Hiatt. By this union there were eight children, of 
whom four are living — George W., William E., Louella J. and Silas E. 
The mother died May 26, 1876, a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church. Mr. Rinker was next wedded, on August 12, 1876, to Lu E. 
Reaves, a native of Gibson County, Ind., and a daughter of William and 
Eleanor (Burton) Reaves, Indianians, of Irish and German extraction re- 
spectively. Two children have crowned this union — Levi R. and Burton 
C. Both Mr. Rinker and wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church, and belongs to the I. O. O. F. Mr. Rinker is a politician of 
Democratic proclivities, and through life has risen by his own efforts to 
his present independent position. 



268 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

WILLIAM KINKER (deceased) was born in Washington County, 
Ind., on July 30, 1816, and died in Morgan County on May 6, 1881. 
He came to Morgan County with his parents in ]S30, where he lived un- 
til his death. In 1846, he became a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church, and for thirty-five years testified his faith in the Savior, his joy 
in the Holy Ghost, and his hope of a blessed immortality. His disease 
was erysipelas, and for four long weeks his sufferings were terrible, but 
he endured them with Christian fortitude, and he was never heard to 
murmur or complain. When questioned as to his feelings, he replied 
that he was trusting in the Lord, that all was well with him, and that 
he had not missed praying every day for fifty years. Although he was 
remarkably diffident as to his ability as a useful man, he remained an ac- 
ceptable member of the church until his death. He was truly an affec- 
tionate husband, ever treating his companion kindly and tenderly, and 
ever striving to render her life agreeable and happy. As a father, he 
dearly loved his children, by whom in return he was beloved. His chil- 
dren, some of whom are young men beginning life for themselves, miss 
his wise counsels, his kind advice, his Christian example. In his tem- 
poral affairs he was signally successful, never undertaking anything 
that he considered in the least hazardous, and by his industry and fru- 
gality he accumulated considerable means, which, while it afforded him 
and his family luxury as well as comfort, also enabled him to con- 
tribute liberally to charity, and in being a kind neighbor and useful 
citizen. At his death, he owned a farm of 500 acres of land, well im- 
proved and stocked. In politics, he was a Democrat, being at the time 
of his demise a member of the Board of County Commissioners. On 
January 25, 1844, he was married to Eleanor Clark, a native of Ohio, 
born January 16, 1823, and daughter of John and Rebecca (Matthews) 
Clark. Eleven children were born to them — John M., E. A. (deceased), 
Amanda J., Mary C, Leonidas, Margaret A. (deceased), Rebecca (de- 
ceased), Lewis A. (deceased), Ida E. (deceased), George D. and Oscar B. 
Mrs. Rinker a consistent Christian, a kind mother, yet survives her 
husband. Although she mourns the loss of her husband, father, sister, 
three of her grown childi'en, a son and daughter-in-law — all of whom 
have passed away within the last two years — she still holds fast to her 
faith in the Lord, with a hope of meeting them. 

BARTLEY SELLERS, a prominent farmer and stock-raiser, was 
born in Guilford County, N. C, October 21, 1830, and is the second of 
nine children born to Jordan and Mary (Mason) Sellers, natives of 
Virginia and of English and Irish extraction. Mr. Mason was a soldier 
of the Revolutionary war. Bartley's parents came from North Carolina 
to Indiana in the fall of 1850, and located in Brown Township, in this 
county, where they remained until Mrs. Sellers' death, in 1856. She 
was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. Sellers, Sr., is 
also a member of that church, and he is now residing with his son Peter, 
in Hendricks County. Bartley was reared upon a farm, received limited 
schooling, and at nineteen years of age began life independently in 
North Carolina, and when he had earned money enough for the trip, he 
came to Indiana in 1851, and located in Morgan County with |1 
in his pocket, engaged in farming, and worked at $15 per month. Au 
gust 12, 1855, Mr. Sellers was married to Mary, a daughter of Andrew 
and Elizabeth Wright, and a native of Morgan County, by whom he has 
had three children — Andrew, John and an infant unnamed. Mr. Sellers 



CLAY TOWNSHIP. 269 

and wife belong to the Methodist Episcopal Church. He owns and man- 
ages a farm of 140 acres of well-improved land, all cultivated. His farm 
is supplied with a fine orchard and a commodious residence, and stocked 
with horses, hogs, cattle and sheep. Mr. Sellers is engaged extensively 
in shipping stock to Indianapolis, Cincinnati and Pittsburgh. He belongs 
the A. F. & A, M. Lodge, No. 78, Mooresville, Ind., and has had three 
brothers who were in the late war. Mr. Sellers has built up his own 
fortune, has had no assistance whatever from anybody except his indus- 
trious wife, and the couple are rewarded by tife possession of their com- 
fortable home. 

BENJAMIN STAFFORD, pioneer farmer of this county, was born 
in Highland County, Ohio, May 28, 1810, and is the third of the seven 
children born to Robert and Sarah (Bullick) Stafford, natives of North 
Carolina, and of English ancesti-y. Benjamin accompanied his parents 
from Ohio to Indiana in 1818. They located in Monroe County, and re- 
mained there until March, 1820, at which time the family came to this 
county. The county was then a wilderness, and was not then organized, 
the Indians roaming at their sweet pleasure through the leafy forests. 
Robert Stafford entered land, and made a home in the wilderness, amid 
bears, wolves, panthers and other wild animals, and, with the poorest 
advantages for an education, Benjamin grew to manhood. On February 
15, 1830, he was married to Rutbie Gifford, a native of Indiana, and a 
daughter of Jesse and Sarah (Marshall) Gifford. They had one child^ 
Sarah (deceased), and the mother dying, Mr. Stafford was married to 
Margaret Price on March 17, 1835. Eight children were born to this 
union, of whom six are living — Nancy J. (Woods), John, Marion, Will- 
iam Benjamin, Barnard and Grant. Mrs. Stafford having departed this 
life, Mr. Stafford was again married. He took for his third wife Mrs. 
Susan Fry, by whom he has had seven children, of whom six are living 
— Mary (Passor), James, Priscilla (McKinley), Martha (Myrick), Eme- 
line (Gooch) and Oliver P. M. Mr. Stafford and wife are members of 
the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. Stafford began life by clearing 
out a farm in the wilderness, and enduring great privations. He has 
succeeded, and now owns seventy acres in this township. He alone has 
made from the green woods the home which he now occupies. His only 
help has been a faithful and saving wife, who has been indeed a help- 
meet in all his struggles and adversities. Although Mr. Stafford is 
seventy-three years of age, he has a robust constitution and promises to 
live many years of usefulness in the township which he has helped to 
build up. He is very strong in Christian faith, and faithful in the per- 
formance of his duties, and has read his Bible through nearly fifty times 
during the last twelve years. He could not read a word until he was 
forty years old. Mr. Stafford is much prized as a good neighbor and cit- 
izen, and is fully appreciated in the community in which he has moved 
so long. 



270 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 



MONROE TOWNSHIP. 

JOSEPH H. ALLISON was boru fn Oldham County, Ky., July 22, 
1833, and is the son of Elijah and Margaret (Frederick) Allison, natives 
of Kentucky, who moved to this State in 1834, and settled in Gregg 
Township, where they drew from the wilderness a farm and home, resided 
thereon thirty- two years, and in 1866 removed near by, where they have 
remained. Joseph H. lived with his parents until he was twenty-one 
years old. A.ugust 11, 1855, he married Miss Nancy J. Wellman, a na- 
tive of Kentucky, and to them was born one child — Charles S. In 1868, 
Mr. Allison removed to Monrovia, where lie had charge of the Monrovia 
Flouring Mills, and since then he has driven a hack between Monrovia 
and Mooresville. He is at present Treasurer of Monrovia Lodge, A. F. 
& A. M. He is a Republican, a most exemplary man and citizen, and 
he and wife are members of the Christian Church. 

EDWARD WILLIAM BRAY, pioneer of Orange County, Ind. , was 
born June 5, 1820, and is a son of John H. and Hannah (Shelton) Bray, 
natives respectively of North Carolina and Virginia, who moved to Ken- 
tucky and were there reared; they had four sons and eight daughters, 
and came to this State in 1815, into this coanty in 1823, and finished 
their lives in this township — he in 1875, aged ninety-six, and she in 
1873, aged eighty-four years. Edward W. Bray is well educated, and 
was a teacher, from his twenty-third to his twenty-eighth year, in the pub- 
lic schools. November 5, 1840, he married at Belleville, Ind., Lucy 
Jane Gilmer, to which union were born ten children — Mary E., Hannah 
A., Eunice A., Sarah E., Mildred (deceased), John W., Thomas W., 
Henry, Alexander Gilmer and Shelton. In 1876, Mr. Bray was elected 
Justice of the Peace of this township, and was re-elected four years 
afterward. He is an active Republican and an original thioiker, having 
taken out a patent for an improved shuttle; he is also active in Sabbath- 
school labor. 

DAVID W. BREWER, dealer in groceries, hardware, glass and 
queensware at Monrovia, was born in this county June 16, 1835, and is 
the second child of Henry and Sarah (Hadley) Brewer; the former a na- 
tive of West Virginia, the latter of North Carolina, and both of English 
descent. David was reared to farming, and soon after his majority mar- 
ried Maria L. Rennard, who died August 22, 1876, leaving two children 
— Cynthia and William A. ftlarch 31, 1879, Mr. Brewer married IMattie 
M. Vihman, who died October 6, 1882. In August, 1861, Mr. Brewer 
enlisted in Company A, Thirty-third Regiment Indiana Volunteers, 
served three years, and was taken prisoner at Thompson's Station, and 
confined sixty days in Libby Prison; afterward paroled, and fought in 
many battles, as Buzzard Roost, Resaca, Peach Tree Creek, Kenesaw 
Mountain and others. After his discharge, he engaged in farming near 
Monrovia; was afterward engaged in the produce business, and in 1879 
entered the livery business until 1882, with a branch at Mooresville, and 
in 1883 returned to Monrovia and engaged in his present business. Mr. 
Brewer cast his first vote for Gen. Fremont in 1856. He is a member of 
the I. O. O. F. 



MONROE TOWNSHIP. 271 

JAMES A. BRICK, of Monrovia, was born in this county August 6, 
1845, and is the fifth of eleven childx-en born to William and Sarah 
(Graves) Brick, natives of Ohio. When he was sixteen years of age, he 
left the home farm, and enlisted in Company H, Thirty-third Indiana 
Regiment, in which he served three years, and then became a veteran. 
He was taken prisoner at Thompson's Station, was confined thirty-two 
days in Libby Prison; was then exchanged, returned to active duty, and 
was with Gen. Sherman in his historic march to the sea; then sailed for 
Fortress Monroe, and was discharged at Indianapolis July 18, 1865. Mr. 
Brick was sunstruck at Peach Tree Creek. After coming home, he en- 
gaged in farming, but was compelled to abandon labor on account of im- 
poverished health. August 6, 1865, he married Jane Brewer, which 
union was cemented by five children — Anna Eliza, Mary F., Minnie J., 
Elsie D. and Ella M. Mr. Brick controls a good and well -improved 
farm, is a successful agriculturist, and a worthy citizen. He is a mem- 
ber of the G. A. R., and of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and Mrs. 
Brick of the Friends' Society. 

REV. JOHN BRUNER, A. M., is a son of Elias and Jiney' (Tarrant) 
Bruner, natives respectively of Virginia and North Carolina, and of Ger- 
man and English descent. He was born in Monroe County October 31, 
1828, whither his parents removed in 1820, and settled on a tract of 
Government land, whex'e they remained until 1835, when the mother 
died; the father died in 1871 in Arkansas. Rev. Mr. Bruner was reared 
to farming, and, after some study and preparation, became a teacher, as 
which he served about two years. In 1853, he entered Asbury Univer- 
sity, and graduated therefrom after six years, with the degrees of A. B. 
and A. M., an attainment which he secured unaided. He desired at first 
to become a lawyer, which, however, he gave up for the ministry of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church, receiving for his first year's service the 
sum of $142, and was ordained Deacon in 1862. His first charge was 
Bloomington, in which he was very successful. He has now a record of 
admissions amounting to 1,000 persons. April 5, 1860, he married Re- 
becca S. Mason, which union gave being to nine children — Mary (de- 
ceased), Belle, Mason, Frank, Maggie, Anna L., Burke, Hugh and Maud. 
Rev. Mr. Bruner is a member of the Masonic fraternity. He was as- 
signed to the charge of Monrovia City in 1883. 

JOHN BUND Y was born in Perquimans County, N. C, August, 1805, 
and is a son of Jeremiah and Elizabeth (Lowe) Bundy, natives of North 
Carolina, and of English extraction. John Biindy was i-eared on a farm 
to industry and usefulness. March 10, 1831, he married Mary, daugh- 
ter of Jesse and Mary (Morris) Moore, and this union was productive of 
the following children: William P., Samuel C, Jesse M., Daniel W., 
Martha E., Sarah J., Semirah E., Mary D. and John E. In 1858, Mr. 
Bundy moved to this township, and purchased 120 acres near Monrovia, 
where he yet resides. He is a practical farmer, a Republican, and he 
and family are birthright members of the Friends' Society. J. E. Bun- 
dy, son of John Bundy, is a native of Guilford County, N. C. ; was born 
May 1, 1853, and was reared like his father to the farm and industry. 
In boyhood, he devoted much time to the art of drawing, in which he 
has made much proficiency; he has also painted many model and valu- 
able works in oil, as well as being engaged in giving instruction in this 
divine endowment. 



272 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

JOHN M. DAVIS is a native of Henry County, Ind., and the fourth 
son of John and Lydia (Davis) Davis, natives respectively of North Caro- 
lina and Virginia, and both of Scotch extraction. Our subject first saw 
the light April 4, 1836; spent the first twelve years of his life in Henry 
County, at which period his parents moved to Wabash County, where he 
lived until he was thirty years of age, when his mother died, and where 
his father yet lives, aged ninety-four years. September 16, 1857, our 
subject married Eliza J., daughter of Abraham Nordyke, and with an 
issue of eight children — Alice, Sabinus A., Marietta, Evington E., Albert 
L., Leoto, Ulyssus and Elmer (deceased). In 1865, Mr. Davis moved to 
Hendricks County, was engaged in mercantile business at Plainfield, and 
in 1870 he came Monrovia, where he has been engaged in manufacturing 
drain tile. Mr. Davis has acquired his property and business position 
by his unaided industry and energy. He is a much respected citizen, 
and he and wife and children belong to the Society of Friends. 

JAMES D. HADLEY, farmer and stock-raiser, is a native of Chat- 
ham County, N. C, was born August 30, 1807, and is the eighth of the 
nine children of Jeremiah and Ruth (Maris) Hadley, also natives of North 
Carolina, who moved to this State about 1823, located in this township, 
and entered 720 acres of Government land, on which they lived and died. 
James began the struggle of life on the home farm, and obtained what 
education he could command from the public schools. October 1, 1831, 
he married Matilda Morris, of North Carolina, and to this union were 
granted the following children: Esther (deceased), Ruth, Eli (deceased), 
Martha J. (deceased), Enos (killed in the late war), Eli A., Martha J. 
and Nathan R. Mr. Hadley is the owner of a good farm of 120 acres, 
and has been owner of 600, much of which he has given to his children, 
and all of which he acquired by well-directed industry and frugality. 
He is a Republican in politics, a liberal gentleman, an vipright citizen, 
and, with his wife, one of the adherents of the Society of Friends, 

SAMUEL HADLEY, a pioneer farmer of this township, was born in 
Randolph County, N. C, January 1, 1811, and is the third of the six 
children born to John and Hannah (Allen) Hadley, both natives of North 
Carolina, and respectively of Irish and English extraction. Samuel was 
reared on the farm, and attended the subscription schools, and studied so 
as to be prepared for teaching, which he followed until 1835, when he 
came by horseback and located at Monrovia, Ind., and the following 
winter taught school here. He afterward engaged in mercantile business 
for some twelve years. March 18, 1839, he married Jane Clark, who 
died eleven years thereafter, and after he wedded, in 1852, Eliza W., 
widow of Jesse Reynolds, to which union was born one child — Jesse H. 
Mr. Hadley is a practical farmer, owning 177 acres of well-cultivated and 
improved land, containing good residence, barns, fencing, orchards, etc. 
He is now a Republican, but gave his maiden vote for Henry Clay in 
1832. He has been School Examiner, and has held the office of Postmas- 
ter of Monrovia. Mr. and Mrs. Hadley are members of the Society of 
Friends. 

LOT M. HADLEY, pioneer farmer and stock-raiser, is a native of 
Chatham County, N. C, was born February 15, 1811, and is the young- 
est of the nine children of Jeremiah and Ruth (Maris) Hadley. Lot M. 
came to this State in 1823, whtm the family located on Government land 
near Mooresville. Mr. Hadley lived to be about eighty years of age, and 
Mi's, Hadley to be within four years of one hundred. Lot M. received a 



MONROE TOWNSHIP. 273 

fair education, which he has continually improved by study and reading. 
January 1, 1832, he married, in this township, Eunice HaydocJi, of North 
Carolina, which union produced six children — Nathan, Asenath, Ann 
(deceased), Amy, Julia and Jared C. (deceased). After the death of Mrs. 
Hadley, July 5, 1867, Mr. Hadley wedded, March 4, 1868, Sophia Craw- 
ford, by which marriage he became the father of two children — Arthur 
M. and Estella B. Mr. Hadley is a Republican, and was once a Whig. 
He was one of the founders of the Farmers' Bank at Mooresville, and is 
now a Director and one of the finance committee. He has also a good 
farm of 130 acres, where he resides. He is a member of the Friends' 
Society, as was his first and is his second wife. 

EVAN HADLEY was born in Chatham County, N. C. , September 26, 
1816, bhe year in which Indiana was admitted to the Union. His father, 
James Hadley, died in 1843; his mother, Mary Hadley, died in 1874. 
In 1819, the parents came to Orange County, this State, where a num- 
ber of relatives and acquaintances had settled within a few years, and 
after the harvest of 1820 James Hadley and others made a careful ex- 
amination of a large portion of the " New Purchase," selected land in the 
White Lick country, and bought at the public sale at Terie Haute. The 
settlement of this land is thus described by Evan Hadley: " As father 
had with his brother Eli Hadley been first to leave his native State, he 
was first, with a brother-in-law, John Jones, to move to the newer part 
of the country, where many of their friends and relatives expected to fol- 
low as soon as circumstances permitted. So they loaded the two families 
and provisions for the winter in wagons, and set out for the promised 
land, accompanied, as I have heard my parents say, by seven men. in- 
cluding a hand that father hired, to stay and assist in clearing land for a 
crop the next season. This hand assisted my father seventy days, and 
they cleared and fenced ten acres of ground and raised a cora crop on it 
the next season. The wagons and emigrants arrived on the twentieth day 
of eleventh month, 1820, at the cabin of Thomas Ballard, near where the 
William Macy brick house now stands, and by the kindness of the newly 
formed neighbors, the women and children obtained shelter with them, 
and the men of the party proceeded to camp on my father's land, being 
the quarter section adjoining south of the Macy farm. They entered at 
once on the work of building a cabin for a residence, and iu seven days 
they had a house completed with stick and clay chimney, cracks well 
stopped, door, shutter, floor, and all complete without a nail, pane of glass 
or scrap of sawed lumber; what light there was when the door was closed 
came down the chimney; the family and assistants took possession and 
proceeded to housekeeping in a comfortable manner, and the men all 
joined in the erection of a smaller cabin on an adjoining tract of land, 
for the use of Uncle and Aunt Jones, before mentioned, which was soon 
completed, when those who came to assist returned to Orange County, 
taking the wagons and teams with them. A few families had ' squatted ' 
on some tracts of land the previous spring, and had partially cleared 
some patches of ground, and had raised a small supply of soft corn, 
pumpkins and squashes. I remember two families of Ballards, Mc- 
Crackens, Virtrees, Lockharts, Barlows, Reynolds and perhaps others, all 
of whom have long since disappeared, except Thomas Lockhart, who, 
something over ninety years old, resides in Hendricks County. In the 
spring following, father and his hired hand walked back to Orange Coun- 
ty for the team and wagon and stock, of which there were cattle, sheep 



274 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

and hogs, some assistance coming back with father to help get the stock 
along. An additional supply of provision was also brought out; a cow 
and a young calf had been procured from a neighbor, which had supplied 
a much needed article of diet for some of the children, and I have heard 
my mother say that cow did as well without feeding any as others have 
done since with plenty of food given them. Some of the hogs ' went 
wild;' the old ones being ear-marked, gave a right by law of custom to a 
' wild-hog claim,' and the proprietor of the ' mark' was justified in tak- 
ing what he could capture that herded with those of his mark, as the 
addition was supposed to be the natural descendants of the original 
marked ones, and sometimes by strategy all would be decoyed into a kind 
of trap pen by finding where they bedded in winter, and erecting 
the strong pen near the place, then continuing to place corn around and 
leave it for them to find it until they would follow it into the pen. and by 
interfering with a bait, properly arranged, spring the trap, and find 
themselves confined, when the young would be marked, and thus perpet- 
uate the claim. Wolves were some trouble to the sheep, but as the wool 
was indispensable for winter clothing, much care was taken to protect 
sheep by housing them of nights, and at times wolves howl around the 
sheep house very tumultuously when disappointed by being unable to 
reach their prey. Wolves were sometimes caught in strongly constructed 
pen traps, by baiting with the fresh carcass of sheep which they had re- 
cently killed. Summer clothing, bed cords and plow lines were sometimes 
made from the lint of the native nettle, after the woody portion had be- 
come sufficiently tender to be separated from the lint in the same man- 
ner that flax is prepared for spinning. I recollect a visit from a large 
black bear to our house, or near there, where he stopped when passing, 
sat down on haunches like a dog does, and deliberately viewed the sur- 
roundings for some time, turning his attention toward the house, where 
he could see the persons, though my mother and the children were all 
there were at home at the time. Late in the evening, too, some of the 
children were a good deal alarmed, but mother did what she could to con- 
vince us that there was not likely to be any danger, at any rate when we 
were in the house. After satisfying his curiosity, he deliberately walked 
away in the same direction he was going when he stopped, as though he 
knew where he was going; after he was gone, mother went to my uncle, 
W^illiam Hadley's, about a quarter of a mile, and informed him of our vis- 
itor; he procured some company hastily and attempted to pursue with a 
view of capturing or at least attacking " Bruin," but it soon became so 
dark that the chase was abandoned. Bears frequently in the fall of the 
year, and especially when there was a good crop of mast, came in quite 
plentiful, but were seldom killed, as there were few, if any, expert bear 
hunters amongst the settlers. I remember seeing a few young bears af- 
ter they were killed, but never saw a grown one caught or killed. Deer 
were plentiful, and in winter would come around the clearings and pick 
buds from the green brush, but were very shy of exposing themselves to 
danger, so that it required considerable stratagy to secure them, though 
many were killed and furnished a very agreeable change of diet. Wild 
turkeys were abundant, and I suppose all the families had considerable 
supplies of that luxury in the fall and winter. After corn crops had be- 
come plenty, and some remained in the fields till winter closed in, so as 
to shut off access to the mast in the woods, both turkey and deer would 
congregate in the cornfields, when turkeys could be caught in rail pens, 



MONROE TOWNSHIP. 275 

by building a few rails high, and covering the top with rails, then mak- 
ing a narrow ditch from the outside through under one side to the inside, 
coming up toward the middle; a few rails were placed over it next the 
wall of the pen then bated by sprinkling shelled corn in the ditch clear 
through to the inside, and some was scattered around on the ground out- 
side to first arrest their attention; when they had used up what was scat- 
tered around, they would follow the trail through the ditch to the inside, 
and as soon as they would discover they were inclosed, they would devote 
themselves to active eftbrts to escape through the openings between tbe 
rails of the walls and overhead, and when the proprietor of the pen dis- 
covered them, he would readily capture them by placing a man or boy in- 
side (I have been used for that purpose), who would catch and hand them 
out. A few panthers and wild cats or catamounts infested the country 
and did some damage by destroying young stock, but never, that; I know of, 
attacked any person. During the first year, there was no use for mills, as 
there was nothing to grind; all provision was brought from older settle- 
ments. The first mill was built where McDaniels' Brooklyn Mill now 
is; that served to grind corn; the buh)-s wei-e cut out of native bowlders. 
A mill was early built by Joseph Moon at the present Moon Ford, which 
had a bolt to separate bran from flour; the customer had to do his own 
bolting by turning a crank similar to the operation of turning a grind 
stone. He also had to elevate the ground flour from the flour chest on 
the lower to the third floor, by hand, to the hopper of the bolt. My father 
sowed an acre or two of wheat about the second year, which made a crop 
of very poor grain, on account of the wild, green nature of the soil; he 
had some of it ground as corn, and sifted by a fine hair sieve, and from 
this flour our first native wheat bread was made. The people became 
quite anxious for religious association, and the Friends first met in volun- 
tary meetings for worship in 1822, if I mistake not, at the cabin of Asa 
Bales, on what is now the Moon farm; in 1823, they obtained authority, 
according to their rules, from the organized superior meetings in Wash- 
ington and Orange Counties to organize religions meetings in these parts, 
which was done, and they have from that beginning originated all the 
meetings of that order in Central, Northern and Western Indiana and 
Eastern Illinois. My father and his brother-in-law. Jones, before spoken 
of, with their families, were the first members of the Friends' Church 
who settled in Central Indiana. The Methodists (Episcopal) had some 
religious services in the neighborhood of the present White Lick Church 
of that denomination, perhaps a little earlier than the Friends had. The 
education of the children of the new settlement early claimed attention, 
and a cabin for the purpose of a schoolhouse was built near where R. R. 
Scott's brick dwelling now stands in Mooresville, and Asa Bales was the 
first teacher. This schoolhouse at first was designed to accommodate 
both sides of White Lick, but as the crossing was often difficult then as 
well as now, and as the settlement on the south and west of the creek 
soon increased sufficiently to sustain a school on that side of the creek, in 
1824 the original Sulphur Spring Schoolhouse was built, and school was 
opened in it by my father, who taught several terms of three or six 
months, counting thirteen weeks of five days' school to each week for 
three months; the schools were paid for by the patrons by subscription 
of about $1.50 per scholar for three months. I omitted to mention in 
connection with the introduction of milling another device for preparing 
grain for bread now out of use, called a hominy mortar, made usually by 



276 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

burning out of the top of some solid green stump, a bowl-shaped cavity, 
which was dressed out smooth after burning to a sufficient size; a post 
was then placed at a suitable distance from the mortar, and a spring pole 
placed on the top of the post or fork; a pestle was then fastened to the 
end of the pole over the mortar, then the corn was placed in the cavity, 
and the pestle brought down on it with a sudden jerk, when the elasticity 
of the pole would immediately jerk the pestle up. So, by oft repeating 
this operation, the corn would be mashed into good hominy, and some- 
times could be made into bread. A water-power hominy mill was some- 
times erected by balancing a considerable beam, leaving one end heavier 
than the other. A cavity was made in a substantial block and placed 
solidly under the heavy end of the beam, water was then conveyed by a 
small race across some creek of a branch, and conveyed by some kind of 
spout into a trough prepared in the light end of the beam, till the weight 
became sufficient to lower that end and lift the other up till sufficient 
water ran out to reverse the balance of the beam, when the pestle would 
down on the corn with forcible effect, and thus the operation would con- 
tinue as long as was necessary. * * * In conclusion, I might state I 
have continuously resided within six miles and less of the place where 
my father first located, and I think I have had the longest residence in the 
White Lick part of the county than any now living. My father's family are 
all gone to the next world, except a sister, who has long resided in the 
West. I might further say that my wife, who was Mary Ann Ballard, 
daughter of Jesse and Sarah Ballard, both deceased, was born in Monroe 
Township in 1826, and has continuously resided in the township ever 
since, and is believed to be the oldest native born person in the town- 
ship." 

ALLEN HADLEY (deceased) was born August 14, 1828, and was 
the seventh of thirteen children born to John B. and Elizabeth Hadley, 
the former having died October 12, 1845, in his forty-seventh year; the 
latter December 22, 1858, in her fifty-ninth year. They were natives of 
North Carolina, located in Morgan County, founded a home, and lived 
until their deaths, both members of the Friends' Society. Allen 
Hadley was a native of this township, where he grew to manhood. 
March 20, 1851, he married Nancy T., daughter of Eli and Cecilia 
Townsend, to which union were born three children — Cecilia A., John F. 
and Allen. After his marriage, he followed farming, and continued the 
same until his decease, September 10, 1881. He was owner of 166 acres 
of improved land; a birthright member of the Friends' Society, a Repub- 
lican and a Prohibitionist. Mrs. Hadley resides on the farm owned by 
her husband, near Mooresville. 

DANIEL C. HADLEY, farmer, is a native of this township, was 
born March 1, 1834, and is the eldest of the five children of Hiram and 
Louisa J. (Carter) Hadley, both being natives of the "Old North State." 
Daniel was reared on a farm, working and going to school, and later he 
attended college at Richmond, where he obtained a good education. 
January 23, 1857, he married Sarah J. Ballard, which union gave being 
to three children — Byron, born November 9, 1857; Arthur J., June 18, 
1860; and Lizzie D., May 14, 1863. Mrs. Hadley died October 6, 1869, 
in her thirty-second year. Mr. Hadley afterward married his second 
wife, Sallie W., widow of Clark Hadley. Mr. Hadley is an enterprising 
farmer, and the owner of a home and farm comprising 185 acres, well 
cultivated, and under good improvement. He is a Republican by polit- 



MONROE TOWNSHIP. 277 

ical preference, and he and wife are members of the Society of 
Friends. 

WALTER HADLEY is a native of this county, was born June 10, 
1857, and is the third child comprising the family of Hiram and Juliana 
(Painter) Hadley. Our subject was reared to farming, and obtained a 
good common school education, having been for a time at the high school 
at Jennings, and a student of Earlham College, at Richmond. November 
15, 1878, he married Louisa A., daughter of Silas and Rebecca (Hola- 
way) Portis, and a native of North Carolina, to which union were born 
three children — Julia E., Jacob E. and an infant. JVlr. Hadley is a 
practical farmer, has a good place adjoining Monrovia, which is well cul- 
tivated and handsomely improved, having good fencing, orchards, etc., 
and generally stocked with horses, cattle, sheep and hogs. He is Repub- 
lican as a voter, and a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

NIXON HENLEY, Trustee of Monroe Township, was born in Ran- 
dolph County, N. C, October 30, 1846, and is the second of the eight 
children of John and Asenath (Hadley) Henley, natives of North Caroli- 
na, and of English extraction. Nixon was reared to the farming busi- 
ness, but received a fair education, which he improved until he was com- 
petent to teach, and that duty he followed with satisfaction for thirteen 
years, farming during the summer seasons, but abandoned the same 
after being elected Township Trustee. April 16, 1869, he married Alida 
C, daughter of Evan and Mary Ann Hadley, which union gave issue to 
five children — Lena, Everett Evan, Phebe A., Sibbie and Ruth Angle. 
Mr. and Mrs. Henley are birthright members of the Society of Friends, 
under the rules of which they were married. Mr. Henley is a practical 
farmer, and owns 160 acres, with good improvements, and furnished with 
residence, barns, and containing fencing, orchards and the like; he has 
also a stock of Poland-Chma hogs, shortrhorn cattle, and long-wool sheep, 
some of which are imported from Canada. Mr. Henley is a straightout 
Republican, and has been Township Trustee for two terms. He is like- 
wise a member of the I. O. O. F. 

JOHN S. HUBBARD, farmer and stock-raiser, was born September 
22, 1811, in Stokes County, N. C, and is the third of the nine children 
of George and Nancy (Shields ) Hubbard, natives of North Carolina. He 
was reared on a farm, and in 1826 emigrated to Indiana with his parents, 
who located in Wayne County; moved to Morgan County in 1830, and 
purchased the site of Monrovia, where they remained until their deaths, 
in 1865 and 1866 respectively. After his majority, John S. Hubbard 
worked as a laborer until able to pay for eighty acres; he also entered 
forty, which he prepared for cultivation. February 29, 1836, he mar- 
ried Abigail Henshaw, a union cemented by four children — Jesse, Will- 
iam, John I. and George E. , all soldiers in the late war. Mrs. Hubbard 
died in 1865, and November 15, 1866, Mr. Hubbard married Catharine 
Day. which marriage was crowned by one child — Mary B. Mr. Hubbard 
is the owner of 230 acres, well cultivated, stocked, impi'oved and ap- 
pointed. He is a Republican, and voted first for Henry Clay, in 1832. 
He has served three terms as Justice of the Peace, two as Commissioner, 
five as Notary, and has also been Township Trustee. Mr. and Mrs. Hub- 
bard are members of the Friends' Society, advocates of temperance, work- 
ers in all charities, and highly respected in their community. 

NATHAN E. HUBBARD was born in this township February 24, 
1840, and is the fourth of the nine children of William B. and Ludah 
(Vestal) Hubbard, natives of North Carolina, and of English extraction. 



278 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

William B. Hubbard settled in this county in 1827, where his parents 
had entered land. Here he lived and made a home for his family, and 
at the age of tifty-three laid down his useful, quiet life; his wife sur- 
vived him about six months. Nathan was reared to the life of a farmer, 
but received a fair education; attended the Bloomingdale Academy, be- 
came a teacher, and followed the same about seven years. October 15, 
1863, he married Elizabeth A., daughter of Uriah Ballard, of North Car 
olina, a union which gave being to five children — William B., Ludah E. 
(deceased), Byron C, Homer S. and Edith E. Mr. Hubbard is a Repub- 
lican, and has served as Township Trustee. He gives his time and at- 
tention to stock-raising and farming, and has a magnificent place of 324 
acres, in good and profitable condition. He is a respected and worthy 
citizen, and he ^.nd wife are connected with the Friends' Society. 

PHILIP JOHNSON was a native of Stokes County, N. C, w^s born 
June 21, 1804, and died in this township January 19, 1879. His parents, 
William and Elizabeth Johnson were natives of North Carolina, came to 
this State in 1818, settled at Richmond, remained some years and then 
moved to this county, where they finished their useful lives. Philip was 
brought up to the importance of a farmer's life, with some attendance at the 
subscription schools, and in 1828 settled upon land near Monrovia entered 
by his father. July 25, 1827, he married Martha S. Hubbard, which union 
gave issue to nine children, of which number are living Emeline, Eliza, 
Mahlon and Mahala (twins), and George H, Mr. Johnson was for many 
years of his life an Elder in the Friends' meeting, and for twelve years 
an Overseer. He left his family a full competency for the needs of the 
present life. He was a consistent Christian, a benevolent and liberal 
gentleman, and an honored citizen. 

EDWIN JOHNSON was born in this township April 14, 1833, and 
is the fourth of five children of Ashley and Lydia R. (Rhodes) Johnson; 
the former a native of North Carolina and the latter of Ohio. Ashley 
Johnson emigrated to Indiana when sixteen years old, and located in 
W^ayne County, where he lived, married and entered land for a home. He 
died in 1870, a member of the Friends' Society; his wife survives him 
and resides in Iowa. Edwin Johnson remained on the home farm until 
April 20, 1854, at which time he married Miss Asenath Hadley, of this 
county, of which union four children were the issue — Elizabeth A., 
Eudora, Lydia Alice and Joseph. Mr. Johnson owns and manages an 
excellent farm, comprising 127 acres of improved and well-appointed 
land, having a good residence, barns, orchards, etc., and thoroughly 
stocked with horses, cattle, sheep and hogs. Mr. Johnson is a Repub- 
lican, a Prohibitionist, and he and wife are birthright members of the 
Society of Friends. 

DAVID B. JOHNSON, dealer in hardware, groceries, stoves, glass 
and queensware, is a native of this county, born July 9, 1851, and is a 
son of Thomas A. and Elizabeth (Jessup) Johnson, natives of North Caro- 
lina, and of English extraction, who emigrated to this State in 1830, 
locating in Wayne County until 1831, when they moved to this county 
and entered eighty acres. David B. Johnson was reared a farmer, and 
attended the county schools, by which he obtained a fair education, 
became a teacher in the public schools, and followed the same success- 
fully for three yeai's, when he took up the mercantile business with his 
brother; then he went to Illinois for a time, after which he returned and 
united with Mr. S. Phillips, in Monrovia, which association was contin- 



MONROE TOWNSHIP. 279 

tied for three years; he then became a partner with Hobbs & Johnson, 
and in 1883 succeeded to the business, having successfully continued the 
same onward. November 15, 1867, Mr. Johnson married Hattie Carter, 
with an issue of one child — Howard (born April 20, 1883). He has 
been a successful merchant, a member of the I. O. G. T., is n Republican, 
and first voted for Gen. Grant. He and wife are members of the Friends' 
Society. 

AARON D. LINDLEY was a native of Chatham County, N. C, was 
born March 1, 1827, and died October 18, 1878. His parents were David 
and Mary (Hadley) Lindley, natives of North Carolina, who moved to 
this State and located on a tract about fourteen miles from where is now 
Monrovia, whence, in 1865 they moved to Iowa, where the father died 
in 1877, but his widow is still living. Aaron was reared to farming, 
received some education from the common schools, and afterward 
attended Earlham College for a time. He devoted his life to agricult- 
ure, and died where he had passed his days. September 20, 1849, he 
married Martha Painter, of Ohio, which union gave birth to six children 
— Jacob P., Samuel (deceased), Mary (deceased), Irwin D., Sibyl J. and 
Howard. Mrs. Lindley died April 11, 1864, and on the 11th of Septem- 
ber, 1865, Mr. Lindley wedded Sarah Maxwell, of Wayne County, and 
to this union was born one child — John M. Mr. Lindley was a birth- 
right member of the Friends' Society. He left his family well provided 
for, and his farm has been well managed by his widow. He was a 
worthy and progressive citizen, and made great effort to have the Indian- 
apolis & Sullivan Railroad completed, but did not live to see that enter- 
prise consummated. 

GEORGE A. LONG was born in Hendricks County, Ind., July 21, 
1850. and is the second of the fom- children born to Avington F. and 
Esther (Elliott) Long, natives of Indiana. Mr. Long died in this town- 
ship July 1, 1859, a member of the Christian Church, and father of four 
children Mrs. Long is now living at Gasburg, a member of the Meth- 
odist Episcopal Church. George A. Long worked on a farm, and went 
to school during boyhood. He also labored in a saw mill; in 1878 he 
purchased a half interest in said mill, which was destroyed in 1881. 
Soon after the mill was rebuilt, Mr. Long became proprietor in self, and 
is now doing a thriving business. He is also manager of a threshing 
machine. Mr. Long has been solely dependent on his own exertions for 
his success and attainments. He is a Republican, and a member of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church. 

JOEL C. McCLELLAN is a native of Kentucky, was born June 16, 
1822, and is the second of the ten children of William and Elizabeth 
(Cline) McClellan, respectively of Irish and German extraction, who 
emigrated to this county in 3836, and located in Mooresville, where Mr. 
McClellan followed his trade — that of tanner — for considerable time. 
He then moved to Monrovia, and soon after purchased land and cleared 
a farm, on which he resided until his death in 1844, a member of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church, as is Mrs. McClellan, who is yet living at 
Lake Valley. Joel C. was reared in the town, and from the common 
schools obtained a good education. When he was fourteen years old, he 
went as an apprentice to carpentering, at which he served three years, 
and became a journeyman. November 7, 1844, he married Eliza N. John- 
son. No children have followed this union. Mr. McClellan is an up- 
right man and a worthy citizen. He is a member of the Masonic order, 



280 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

a Republican in politics, and, with his wife, a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church, of which he has been many years a class-leader, and 
assisted in organizing the first Sabbath School at Monrovia in 1881. 

JOSEPH M. McCOLLUM, farmer and stock-raiser, was born in 
Randolph County, N. C, April 4, 1828, and is the fifth of the seven chil- 
dren of Joseph and Mary (Kobson) McCollum, natives of North Carolina, 
and respectively of Scotch-Irish and English extraction. Joseph was 
reared to farming in his native State, and attended the subscription 
schools. He remained with his parents until his majority, and with the 
family emigrated to Indiana in 1849, and located in this county, where 
he worked on a farm and in a saw mill. February 26, 1852, he married 
Miss Matilda, daughter of William and Rachael Weesner, to which union 
succeeded six children — Delphna, Elmira, Mary Jane, Louisa, John L. 
and Joseph. Mrs. McCollum is a birthright member of the Friends' 
Church. Mr. McCollum is a practical farmer, and controls 285 acres of 
improved land, having a good residence, fences, orchards, etc., aQd well 
stocked with horses, cattle, sheep and hogs. He is a Republican voter, 
and is a charitable gentleman and a respected citizen, 

P. THOMPSON, dealer in dry goods, groceries and general merchan- 
dise, was born in North Carolina, December 1, 1850, and is the eldest 
of the eight children of Thomas and Margaret J. (Tate) Thompson, na- 
tives of North Carolina, and of English extraction. Our subject grew to 
manhood on the farm, and received some rudimentary instruction from 
the common schools. His parents having moved to this county, they 
purchased a farm, which they afterward sold and removed to Hendricks 
County, there, too, purchasing land. After farming, our subject, in 
1881, engaged in mercantile business, in which he has continued with 
much success. March 17, 1881, he married Julia Kellum, a member of 
the Society of Friends. Mr. Thompson is an efficient and diligent 
business man, a good citizen, and a truly self-made man. 

WILLIAM O. THOMPSON, stock-raiser and farmer, was born in 
Orange County, N. C. , November 17, 1825, and is the twelfth of the 
fifteen children of Abel and Martha (Hadley) Thompson, natives of 
North Carolina. William O. was reared on a farm, and attended the 
subscription schools of the time, wherefrom he received a fair education. 
Shortly after his majority, he emigrated to Indiana, and located in this 
township, where he has continued to reside. He devoted his time to 
farming, and manages a good farm of 400 acres, well improved, stocked 
and appointed — a valuable property and home; he has also considerable 
stock in the Bank of Mooresville, all made by his own application and 
direction. April 29, 1852, he married Mary Ann, daughter of Isaac and 
Rosanna Marshall, to which marriage were allotted six children — Abel, 
Anson H., Atlas M., Martha R., Lydia J., and Sarah E. Mr. Thomp- 
son is Republican in politics, and an esteemed and worthy citizen. He 
and wife are members of the Methodist Protestant Church of Antioch. 

JOHN WEESNER was born in Orange County, N. C.,May 14, 1835, 
and was brought by his father, Josiah Weesner, to this State in 1838; 
he is of German extraction, paternally, and a descendant of Michael 
Weesner, who settled in North Carolina about the middle of the eight- 
eenth century. He was reared a farmer and also learned to be a carpen- 
ter. He acquirecT a fair education at the school in Hopewell, at the Al- 
len Schoolhouse, West Union, and at No. 6, now called the Gasburg 
School, supplemented with one term at the Friends' Manual Labor 



MONROE TOAVNSHIP. 281 

School, and subsequently taught a public school. November 15, 1866. 
he married Jane Allen, daughter of Charles Allen, and shortly afterward 
purchased a few acres ofif the northeast corner of his father's farm, 
erected a carpenter shop, and engaged at his trade — lumber dealing be- 
ing now a part of his business. In 1864, he was commissioned Post- 
master at the new office of Qasburg, a position he has held ever since. 

JEREMIAH L. WELMAN is a native of Oldham County, Ky. ; was 
born June 10, 1831, and is a son of Andrew N. and Elizabeth (Williams) 
Welman, natives respectively of Virginia and Kentucky. His father 
having died, his mother and family moved to this county in 1845, where 
he has since lived, and where his mother died August 1, 1883, in her 
eighty-fifth year. Our subject was reared as a farmer, and followed the 
same until he was thirty-five years of age. March 20, 1856, he married 
Elzina Lewallen, a native of Kentucky. Mr. Welman began the carpen- 
tering business in 1863, and devoted himself thereto for about ten years; 
and then, coming to Monrovia, engaged iu the furniture and undertaking 
line, which he has continued without competition. He owns a comfort- 
able residence and good business property. August, 1861, he enlisted in 
Company A, Thirty-third Indiana Volunteers, served about eleven months, 
and was discharged from physical disability, having contracted typhoid 
fever in the service. Mr. Welman is Tiler of Monrovia Lodge, 261, A., 
F. & A. M. 

DAVID WILSON is a native of North Carolina, and was born De- 
cember 10, 1835. His father resides in Monrovia, Morgan County, 
where our subject grew to manhood. April 19, 1861, David enlisted for 
three months, and afterwai-d joined the Eleventh Indiana Regiment, and 
served three years. He participated at Fort Henry, Fort Donelson, Shi- 
loh, Vicksburg, and with Gen. Banks in the Gulf campaign. The regi- 
ment re-enlisted as veterans in 1864, served under Gen. Sheridan, and 
was afterward assigned to duty at Fort Henry. The regiment was also 
on duty in Georgia when Jeff Davis was captured. He vfas slightly 
wounded at Cedar Creek, and left the service with the rank of Captain 
in August, 1865. August 8, 1867, he married Miss Samantha, daughter 
of Gideon Johnson, one of the founders of Monrovia. Two children 
were born to them, one of whom is living — Otis G. Mr. Wilson has 
given attention to the study of law, and was admitted to practice in 
1870; he now, however, gives all his attention to his farm. He has 
served three terms as School Trustee, and, in 1880, he was nominated on 
the Republican ticket for Representative in the Legislature, being elected 
by 310 votes. He was appointed Chairman of the Committee of Fees 
and Salaries. Mr. Wilson is a highly respected citizen. 

JOHN A. WILSON is a native of Randolph County, N. C. , was born 
December 2, 1830, and when eighteen years of age, came to Indiana 
with his parents, who located in Wayne County, and afterward in this 
township, where his father died in 1883 in his seventy eighth year, his 
mother being yet alive and in her eighty fourth year; is a member of 
the M. P. Church. John A. grew to manhood on a farm, and also 
attended the public schools and acquired a fair education. August, 
1861, he enlisted in the Eleventh Indiana Regiment, served three years, 
and participated in the glorious record of said regiment. Mr. Wilson 
has been twice married, first to Rebecca Pearson November 15, 1866, 
who bore one child now living — Lena E.; the mother died March 13, 
1872, a consistent Christian. December 28, 1876, Mr. Wilson married 



282 ^ BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

Mary A. Allen, who also bore one child, now deceased. Mr. Wilson has 
been located in Monrovia for the past six years, having charge of the 
post office; he also deals in stationery, school books, clocks, watches, etc. 
In 1882, he added a stock of groceries, and is doing a good business. In 
politics, he is a Republican; he is a Freemason, and a Trustee of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church, of which his wife is, too, a member. 



HARRISON TOWNSHIP. 



REUBEN S. ALDRICH, stock- dealer and farmer, was born October 
9, 1824, and is a son of Barlow and Phebe Aldrich. Barlow Aldrich 
was born in Massachusetts in 1799, and his wife in Ohio in 1800, where 
they married in 1821. They came to Decatiir County, Ind. ; located on 
160 acres, whence they moved to this county, and purchased 117 acres. 
Reuben married Miss Susan K., daughter of Joseph and Sarah Wharton, 
who died in 1872, having borne one child — an infant, deceased. October 
7, 1873, he married Mary E., daughter of Samuel and Nancy Province, 
and to them were born three children — Minnie S., infant (deceased) and 
Gracie S. Mr. Aldrich owns 688 acres of land in this township, all of 
wTiich is under cultivation, and contains good residence, buildings and 
other adornments. Mr. Aldrich resides at this time on the homestead 
farm, surrounded by the many necessities and comforts which make life 
desirable. He has served his township as Justice of the Peace and as 
Trustee. In politics he is Republican. Mr. and Mrs. Aldrich are mem- 
bers of the Methodist Episcopal Church, he having joined in 1874. 

FRANCIS M. FIELDS is a son of Allen and Elizabeth (Pitcher) 
Fields, the former a native of North Carolina, born 1789; the latter of 
Virginia, born 1792. They were married in North Carolina, and parents 
of nine children, and in 1826 moved to what is now Mooresville, this 
State, and one year later moved on to eighty acres, on which he remained 
until death, having reared ten children. Francis M. married Miriam 
Shafer, a union smiled upon by six children — -Martin, Mary A., Minnie, 
George (deceased), Anna B. (deceased) and Effie. Mrs. Fields died Sep- 
tember 8, 1874, and on January 8, 1878, he married Mrs. Mary A. Loy. 
After marriage, Mr. Fields purchased, in conjunction with his brother- 
in-law, 160 acres, which they cultivated about seven years, when Mr. 
Fields purchased 130 acres alone, and to this, in 1871, added iifty-six 
acres. Some of this he afterward sold, and engaged in mercantile busi- 
ness at Waverly. His lands will average a value of $50 per acre. Mr. 
Fields is a Democrat, and was elected Township Trustee in 1882. He 
is also a member of the I. O. O. F., and of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church. 

GEORGE PAUL was born July 7, 1812, in West Virginia. He mar- 
ried Miss Eliza A., daughter of Joseph and Sarah (TuU) Wharton, in 
1841, as a result of which union were born eight childi-en — Julia A. 
(deceased), John, Joseph, Farendine, Catherine, Jacob, George D. and 
Frank. After his marriage, Mr. Paul purchased a small corn-mill on 
Crooked Creek, in partnership with his brother-in-law, John Brenton, 
to whom he subsequently sold said mill, and engaged in farming on 160 



RAY TOWNSHIP. 283 

acres, giving some attention to the raising of stock. This farm has 
grown by aggregation to be 812 acres, containing 500 head of stock, 
which feed on blue grass pasture. Mr. Paul is a Republican. He had 
two sons in the war of the rebellion — John, in the Thirty-third Indiana, 
and Joseph in the One Hundred and Forty-eighth Indiana Regiments. 
Mr. Paul is a practical farmer and successful business manager, a fact of 
which the best evidence is given in his prosperity and success. 

PHILIP PAUL was born at West Liberty, W. Va., May 21, 1816, 
and is a son of John and Keziah (Mills) Paul. John Paul moved his 
family to Cincinnati, and thence to Brookville, Ind., in 1821, where he 
soon after purchased 160 acres. He also purchased land on White River 
bluffs, whither he went alone, fell a victim to fever, was brought home 
and died. After this event, Mrs. Paul removed to the land on the bluffs. 
Philip Paul remained with bis mother until her death, after which his 
brother and he lived on the homestead with one sister, both brothers be- 
ing unmarried. The family suffered many privations in that new local- 
ity, which will ever be remembered. Our subject united with the 
Methodist Episcopal Church at a camp-meeting in 1846, and has been a 
consistent adherent of that faith. He is an honored citizen, a genial 
gentleman and a Democrat politically. 



RAY TOWNSHIP. 



ANDREW J. BAKER was born January 31, 1840, in Monroe Coun- 
ty. Ind., and is the sixth of the seven children of James H. and Nancy 
(Kemper) Baker, natives respectively of Tennessee and Kentucky. An- 
drew was reared as a farmer, and received some education from the public 
schools. In August, 1861, he became a soldier of Company H, Thirty- 
third Indiana Volunteers, and served in the following battles: Wild Cat, 
Thompson's Station, where he was wounded in the leg, taken prisoner 
and confined two months in Libby Prison. He was then exchanged and 
fought afterward at Resaca, Keneaaw Mountain, New Hope Church, Mar- 
ietta, Atlanta, Peach Tree Creek, siege of Savannah, Bentonville and 
the famous march to the sea. He was also present in the grand review 
at Washington, and was discharged August 8, 1865. August 17, 1865. 
he married Mrs. Margaret J. Goss, widow of Sims H. Goss, which union 
produced five children, three of whom are living— Alvina H., John and 
Franklin. Mr. Baker has been elected Justice of the Peace of this town- 
ship, as which he is now serving, and is a Republican. 

Henry E. Goss was born December S, 1862, and is one of the two 
children of Sims H. and Margaret J. (Stanger) Goss, the former of Ger- 
man descent. Henry attended the public schools, and was brought up a 
farmer, having inherited 200 acres of excellent land from his father. He 
is an energetic and promising young man, an earnest Republican and a 
good citizen. 

I. C. BAKER is a native of Kentucky, was born June 10, 1828, and 
is the eldest of the family of James H. and Nancy (Kemper) Baker, na- 
tives of Kentucky, and of English and German descent, respectively, 
who removed to Morgan County, Ind., and located in Baker Township 



284 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

until 1839, when they moved to Monroe County and occupied land en- 
tered by Mr. Baker previously. In 1847, they moved to a farm near 
Martinsville, then to Paragon about 1855, and linally to Gosport about 
1865, where Mr. Baker died. I. C. Baker remained on the home farm 
until he was nineteen years old, when he left to learn cabinet-making. 
He worked by day and studied by night, thereby making up for neglect 
of education in boyhood. After finishing his trade, he worked as a 
journeyman — often until 10 o'clock at night — until 1853, being consid- 
ered a master workman. July 1, 1852, he married Cinderella, daughter 
of Isaac and Lodicea (Maskel) Rogers, which union gave issue to nine 
children, of whom five remain — Salem A., Charles F., Jessie B. (now 
Mrs. Pierson), Maggie B. and Anna L. August 15, 1862, Mr. Baker en- 
listed in Company H, Seventy-ninth Indiana Volunteer Infantry, and 
was assigned to the Army of the Cumberland. In 1862, during a grand 
review, he became exhausted, from which e£foct he has never recovered; 
he also suffered from blindness following impure vaccination, and was 
discharged August 11, 1863. Since returning home, being unable to do 
hard labor, he has followed wagon-making. Mr. and Mrs. Baker are 
members of the Christian Chui'ch. 

WILLIAM H. BEACH is a native of Erie County, N. ¥., was born 
March 22, 1830, and is the fourth of the nine children of Asher and 
Mercy (Yaw) Beach, natives of Vermont and of English descent. Will- 
iam secured all the advantages for education which came to his lot, and 
was reared to the business of farming, at which he worked by the month. 
His parents moved to Winnebago County, 111., in 1838, to reach which 
they passed through Chicago, then merely a village, where Mr. Beach 
was offered land, now part of the city, for $2. 50 per acre. When our sub- 
ject became of age, he moved to Wisconsin, where he endured many pri- 
vations of pioneer life. After one year, he moved to Michigan, where, 
March 7, 1852, he married Catherine Brown, of North Carolina. Six 
children followed this union, of whom five are living — Lucy E., Andy 
F., Lora I., Julia E. and Effie L. After leaving Michigan, Mr. Beach 
returned to Illinois, then moved to Wisconsin, where he engaged in farm- 
ing and saw milling. In 1856, he moved to Dunn County, Wis., and 
was some time engaged in milling. In 1874, he moved to Cumberland 
County, 111., where he lost his wife in February, 1875. In 1879, he 
moved to this county, and married a second wife, Mrs. Catherine, widow 
of Franklin Marsh, whose parents, David and Barbara Secrist, were pio- 
neers of Illinois; the former moving thither in 1823, and the latter in 
1825. Mr. and Mrs. Beach have had born to them two children — Kitty 
C. (deceased) and Ray Garfield. Mr. Beach is owner ol: forty acres in 
Illinois, and his wife of 184 acres in this county. 

P. H. BLANKENSHIP, business man and farmer, is a native of this 
township, was born August 22, 1846, and is the second of the nine chil 
dren born to Perry M. and Bethsheba (Hodges) Blankenship. Mr. Blank- 
enship was reared on a farm, and given a good education. September, 
1869, he married Delilah Craig, which union has given birth to four chil- 
dren — Lora, Craig, Claude and Aibin. During the war, Mr. Blanken- 
ship enlisted in the Twenty-first Indiana Volunteer Regiment, First 
Artillery, and was discharged June, 1865. He is possessed of 170 acres, 
which is well-cultivated and improved, in addition to which he is en- 
gaged in the lumber business and in brick-making. Mr. Blankenship 
was formerly largely interested in stock- dealing, but this he has disoon- 



RAY TOWNSHIP. 285 

tinned. He Js a Republican in political faith, and he and wife are 
members of the Christian Church. 

PERRY M. BLANKENSHIP, a leading and enterprising farmer and 
stock-raiser, was born near Paragon, Ind., November 30. 1858, and is 
the sixth of the nine children of Perry M. and Bethsheba (Hodges) Blan- 
kenship, natives respectively of Jenning and Morgan Counties, Ind. , and 
of Dutch and English extraction, being among the earliest settlers of this 
township. Our subject was reared to the plow and the independent vo- 
cation of farming, during which early period, he attended school at times, 
and obtained a rudimentary education. So far, Mr. Blankenship is a 
successful gentleman. He is possessor of 145 acres, eighty-five of which 
amount is cleared and well cultivated, improved, stocked and adorned 
with good dwelling, barns and other outbuildings, a result mainly due 
to the strictest attention to business and the ablest management. Mr. 
Blankenship is a member of the Christian Church, a liberal, benevolent 
gentleman, and an estimable citizen. 

ELIJAH BOW EN, a pioneer and leading farmer of this county, was 
born September 23, 1807, one mile east of Nicholasville, Ky., and is the 
seventh of the elev«^n children of Elijah and Nancy Bowen, natives of 
Virginia. The grandfather of our subject was one of the first settlers in 
old Kentucky. Our subject was reared on a farm near the cave of Daniel 
Boone, where that hero and family lived three months. In 1830, Elijah 
moved to Owen County, Ind., and soon after to Morgan County, where 
he had purchased 120 acres, on which is his present home. August, 1830, 
he married Nancy, daughter of Abner and Polly (Hill) Alexander. This 
union gave being to ten children, five of whom are living. Mr. Bowen, 
being a good manager and industrious man, succeeded in acquiring 063 
acres, and a good home as well. Of this land, which was highly im- 
proved, he has sold 560 acres, and given the proceeds, about $18,000, to 
his children, retaining the residue for himself. Mrs. Bowen died, De- 
cember 1 3, 1882, and Mr. Bowen married a second wife, Mrs. Margaret, 
widow of John Asher. Mr. Bowen is a member of the Christian Church, 
as was his first wife, who left at her death a legacy of about $5,000 and 
eighty acres to her youngest daughter. Mr. Bowen gave his first vote 
for Henry Clay, and has been n^cently Republican. 

JAMES M. BROWN is a native of Kentucky, was born June 6, 1833, 
and is the second of the nine childi'en born to Francis O. and Mary E. 
(Wright) Brown, respectively of Irish and Dutch extraction. James M. 
was brought up a farmer, as which he labored and also attended school 
during his minority. November 7, 1856, he married Sarah Jane, daugh- 
ter of Louis and Elizabeth (Smith) Carroll, to which were born two chil- 
dren — William L. and Mary E. Francis O. Brown entered land soon 
after coming to this State in 1834, near Bloomington, where he and wife 
yet reside. James came to Morgan County when fourteen years of age, 
and commenced the care of himself, so that he began the world under 
rather discouraging circumstances; but he is now possessed of a good 
home and eighty acres in Monroe County, which are improved and culti- 
vated; he has also a good house and store in Paragon, having been en- 
gaged in the mercantile and butchering business for the past six years. 
Mr. Brown and wife are members of the Christian Church, and very 
greatly esteemed by the people of their neighborhood. 

TOBIAS D. BUTLER, stock-raiser and farmer, was born February 
4, 1838, in this township, and is the youngest child of Tobias H. and 



286 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

Sallie (Goss) Butler, natives respectively of Maryland and South Caroli- 
na. Tobias D. was reared on a farm, with but small opportunities for 
education, and when nineteen years old began to work for himself. July 
6, 1861, he enlisted in Company B, Twenty -first Infantry (afterward 
First Heavy Artillery), and ,took part at the battles of Baton Rouge, 
Brashear City. Bayou Teche, and was forty-two days in the siege of Port 
Hudson. He was in three years' active service, and discharged August 
10, 1864 October 20, 1864, he married Mary S., daughter of Allen and 
Sarah Asher. To this union were born nine children — Thomas (deceased), 
Edward, Frank, Blanche, Daisy (deceased), Leota, Richard, Walter and 
Mary S. Mr. Butler has a valuable farm of 238 acres, situated in Owen 
and Morgan Counties, which is in a good state of cultivation, well stocked 
and improved. He has been generally successful in life by great atten- 
tion to business. He ie a Republican in politics, and served as Assessor 
of Harrison TowQship one term. He is a liberal and respected citizen, 
and he and wife are members of the Baptist Church. 

WILLIAM J. GOSS, farmer and stock-raiser, was born November 
10, 1835, in Owen County. Ind., and is fifth of the eleven children of 
Ephraim and Sarah (Goss) Goss, natives of North Carolina and of Dutch 
descent His grandparents emigrated to the West, and settled in what 
is now Washington County in 1810, and in 1817 moved to the present 
site of Gosport. His parents came to this county when he was a child, 
locating about one mile from where he now lives, and where his father 
had entered land. When AVilliam was sixteen years old, his father died, 
whereupon he assumed care of the family. January 11; 1856, he mar- 
ried Sarah C, daughter of Joseph and Delilah (Sandy) Goss, a union 
productive of five children, four of whom yet live — Theodore D., Joseph 
L., Corna L. and Dollie D. By dint of persistent and well-directed labor. 
Mr. Goss has acquired a property of -140 acres of as fine land as the 
commonwealth affords, which is well stocked, improved and cultivated, 
as well as adorned with convenient dwelling, barns, orchard and the like. 
He also owns a store in Paragon, managed by his son. Mr. Goss is a 
Republican in politics, and a good business man and respected citizen. 
Mrs. Goss is a consistent member of tliH Christian Church, 

HENRY C. GOSS, farmer and stock-raiser, was born May 18, 1838, 
on the farm on which he now resides, the land having been entered by 
his father in or about 1823, and is the second of three children now liv- 
ing of Ephraim and Sarah Goss. He was reared to farming as a busi- 
ness, and has resided here continuously, except for a period of three 
years when his mother moved to Gosport. Mr. Goss is possessed of 280 
acres of land, in the highest state of cultivation and improvement, also 
made desirable by the erection of a tine residence, barns, a necessary 
amount of stock, a growing orchard, and other valuable additions. Mr. 
Goss has living with him Elizabeth Myers and Joseph Magers, who take 
care of the place. He is a Republican in the political lit e, and a liberal 
and greatly valued citizen. 

J. H. GOSS, enterprising farmer and stock-raiser, is a native of this 
township, was born September 10, 1845, and is the tenth of a family of 
Ephraim and Sarah Goss, natives of North Carolina. After going to 
school for a time, our subject worked for his parents on the home 
farm. December 3, 1874, he married Amanda, daughter of William 
C. and Mary Welton, which union was favored with one child, Oliver 
P. Morton; they have also one they are rearing, Marian J. Robinson. 



RAY TOWNSHIP. 287 

Mr. Goss owns 450 acres of land on White River bottom, which is a 
well improved and cultivated farm, fairly supplied with stock, and having 
a good orchard. He is an active Republican, and was elected Township 
Trustee in 1876. He has been a successful farmer, and is a much re- 
spected citizen. Mr. and Mrs. Goss are members of the Christian Church. 

REV. GEORGE GOSS is a native of Wayne Township, Owen Co., 
Ind. , was boi'n September 26, 1845, and is the second of the nine chil- 
dren of Ephraim and Margaret M. (Halbert) Goss, the former a native of 
Indiana, the latter of Kentucky, and respectively of Dutch and Scotch 
extraction. His great-grandfather came to this locality about 1810, and 
was the founder of Gosport. George was reared to farm labor, and at- 
tended school some time during the winter seasons. March 10, 1867, he 
married Margaret A., daughter of Thomas and Cynthia A. (Whitaker) 
Applegate, natives of Kentucky. This union was followed by three chil- 
dren — Rosie E., Sarah J. and Alice M. In December, 1874, Mr. Goss 
was licensed to preach by the Baptist Church, and was ordained minister 
April 13, 1876, since which time he has given his attention to religious 
duties. He has twenty-nine acres of well- cultivated and improved land, 
making a desirable home. He is a member of the Masonic and Odd Fel- 
low fraternities, a greatly esteemed minister and citizen, and one of the 
stanchest Republicans of the township. 

THEODORE D. GOSS, an enterprising and promising young busi- 
ness man of Paragon, is a native of Ray Township, Morgan Co. , Ind. , 
was born August 11, 1859, and is a son of AV. J. and Sarah C. Goss, 
both of German descent. Our subject was reared on a farm, and in the 
interim of labor thereon attended the public schools of his district until 
he was eighteen years of age, at which period he became a student of 
Bedford College for three terms. In February, 1883, he engaged in 
mercantile business at Paragon, and in this venture has been prominently 
successful, his whole energy and time being given to his business. Few 
men at his age have had so flattering an assurance of a prosperous and 
useful career. Mr. Goss is an earnest and honorable Republi(5an. 

EPHRAIM L. GOSS, one of Morgan County's youngest and most 
promising farmers and stock-raisers, was born July 21, 1860, and is the 
first child born to Sims H. and Margaret J. (Stanger) Goss, natives re- 
spectively of Morgan and Monroe Counties, Ind. , and of Dutch descent. 
Our subject is a grandchild of Ephraim Goss, one of the oldest settlers 
in Indiana Territory, and founder of Gosport. He was reared to the 
occupation of his predecessors — farming; received what education he 
could from the common schools, and has since been industrious and fru- 
ga). Mr. Goss is well situated for so young a man, being possessed of 
208 acres in good cultivation and much improved by dwelling house and 
barns and other valuable additions; he has also considerable stock. More 
particularly of late he has given much attention to the breeding of Jer- 
sey Red and Poland hogs, and has been successful in that enterprise. 
Mr. Goss has the promise of much usefulness and prominence in the fut- 
ure time, inasmuch as he is greatly respected generally. He is active 
as a member of the Republican partv. 

DR. JOHN J. HARRIS was born in Ellettsville November 15, 
1848, and is the fourth of the twelve children born to James M. and 
Sarah A. (Fletcher) Harris, natives respectively of Kentucky and Indiana. 
James M. Harris is a retired physician. Our subject, after attending the 
graded schools, engaged with his brother in the hardware business, and 



288 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

was later in the drug business with his father, which he has since con- 
tinued. About 1867, he commenced studying medicine with his father, 
afterward attended lectures at Oxford Medical College, Cincinnati, and 
has since practiced medicine at Ellettsville, Stinesville and Paragon. 
He afterward graduated at Rush Medical College, Chicago, and has been 
a successful practitioner since that event. September 22, 1869, he mar- 
ried Rebecca A., daughter of Allen Mills, by which union they had four 
children — Fred C, Clara E., Delia M. and John R. Dr. JEarris has 
served as Town Clerk and Trustee of Ellettsville. He has been and is 
now successful as a physician, and has the confidence of the community. 
He is a Republican in politics. 

PHILIP HODGES, the oldest living settler in Ray Township, was 
born October 31, 1797, in Randolph County, N. C, and is the youngest 
of the seven children of John and Margaret (Lacy) Hodges, of English 
and Irish descent respectively. John Hodges was a native of Herford- 
shire, England, was born in 1749, and hj trade a glover. About the 
beginning of the Revolutionary war, he emigrated to America and served 
three years in that heroic campaign, soon after which he married 
Margaret Lacy. Philip Hodges was reared to farming, with the advan- 
tage of some schooling. When of age, October, 1818, he moved to In- 
diana, or Northwest Territory, and took a lease of land near Grosport, 
and where. May, 1819, he wedded Miss Mary Goss (then but fifteen 
years old), daughter of Ephraim and Anna (Workman) Goss, founders (>f 
the town of Gosport. Ten children were born to them — Ephraim, John 
(deceased), Bethsheba (deceased). Noah, Joseph, Sarah (Mrs. Sims), 
Thomas, Anna (deceased), Harvey (deceased) and Henry 0. In 1820, at 
the Terre Haute land sale, he purchased 160 acres in Sections 1 and 2, 
Range 1 east, 11 north — the first land sold from the Indian pui'chase of 
818. In 1824, he located on eighty acres of land he had entered in 
Ray Township, among the hills, and afterward entered 220 more, 
where he remained until 1833, where he entered and occupied 
160, where he now resides. To this he added 140 acres, all of which he 
constantly improved, thus possessing 810 acres of good and well-culti- 
vated land. In 1837, he built his residence, then one of the finest in that 
section. With but a legacy of $150 he began life, and has succeeded by 
industry and skill. Mr. Hodges is yet hale, and useful and benevolent. 
His present politics is Republican; he was formerly a Whig, and gave 
his first Presidential vote for Mr, Adams. He and wife are members of 
the Christian Church. 

EPHRAIM HODGES, stock-raiser and farmer, was born July 19, 
1820, in Owen County, Ind., where now stands Gosport. He is the 
eldest of the ten children of Philip and Mary (Goss) Hodges, natives of 
North Carolina. Our subject attended the subscription schools of his 
boyhood, and was reared to farming. Afterward he became an instruc- 
tor, and taught many terms of school. September 5, 1845, he married 
Ann, daughter of Daniel T. and Polly (Crums) Smith, with the issue of 
nine children — Noah (deceased), May, John Q., Clarinda, Joseph C, 
Charles S., Maliuda, Philip S. and Cora. Mr. Hodges was a member of 
the fir.3t Board of Trustees held in his township, and served as Commis- 
sioner from 1862 to 1868. He is possessed of about 600 acres of land 
under fair cultivation and with many improvements, good residences, 
barns, outbuildings, oi'chard and the like, all of which possession is the 
outcome of his enerirv and able manairement. Mr. Hodsres is a member 



RAY TOWNSHIP. 289 

of the Masonic order, the Republican party and the Christian Church, a 
generally respected citizen and liberal gentleman. 

DR. JOHN KENNEDY is a native of Lamb's Bottom, this county, 
and was born September 30, 1833. His father was a native of Kentucky, 
and of Irish descent; his mother wai also of Kentucky, and of German 
descent. Both have been residents of this county since 1830. After re- 
ceiving home instruction, Dr. Kennedy attended Belleville Academy, and 
also the Edinburg Grammar School, of which he became an assistant 
teacher in 1855. About this time, he began the study of medicine under 
Dr. Clark, of Edinburg. Soon afterward, he returned to the home farm 
to recover his impaired health, after which he taught school in Sanga- 
mon County, 111., and spent his leisure time in studying medicine, and 
in 1858 became a student of Dr. Osgood, of Gosport. During the win- 
ter of that year, he attended lectures at the Cincinnati Medical Institute, 
and afterward commenced practice near his old home, where he obtained 
a reputation for being one of the ablest practitioners in his neighbor- 
hood, and he is now at Gosport, which is his residence. April, 1862, he 
married Angeline, daughter of Richard Laughlin, of Owen County, with 
an issue of eight children. In 1874, Dr. Kennedy was elected to the 
State Legislature, where he served two years most faithfully. He is a 
Republican, a member of the Christian Church, and active as a Sunday 
school worker. 

CASPER LINGLE, a prominent stock-raiser and farmer, was born in 
Burke County, N. C, March 7, 1823, and is the eighth of the ten chil- 
dren of Adam and Catherine (Tipps) Lingle, of German descent. In 
1829, he came with his parents to what is now this township; was reared 
to farming, and has been an important personage in the development of 
the county. The first township election was held at his father's house, 
and continued so to be for twenty years, when the same were held at 
Salem. June 7, 1845, he wedded Matilda, daughter of Henry and Re- 
becca (Goss) Ratts, who died about three months after his marriage. 
Augiist 9, 1846, he married Catherine, daughter of Thomas and Rebecca 
Sandy, to which union succeeded five children — John S., William A., 
James E., Jeremiah S. and Thomas Lincoln. In 1857, he removed to 
Missouri for three years, after which time he returned home. While there 
he built a Methodist Episcopal Church, the last payment on which he made 
after leaving that State. Mr. Lingle has been a successful man, having 
acquired a possession of 700 acres of land, but now having sold some, 
and given much to his children, retains only 132 acres, which are, how- 
ever, well- cultivated, stocked, improved and adorned. His only ally was 
his faithful wife, who died August 9, 1882, a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church. Mr. Lingle is an enlightened citizen, an advocate of 
public education, an active Republican and a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church. 

WILLIAM A. LINGLE, a successful stock-raiser and farmer, was 
born in Ray (now Ashland) Township, November 16, 1849, and is the 
second in the family of five belonging to Casper and Catherine (Sandy) 
Lingle, respectively of Dutch and Irish descent. William worked on his 
father's farm, and went also to school, when not so engaged, until man- 
hood. May 11, 1871, he wedded Martha J., daughter of Hiram Groun, 
and this marriage was made happy by two children— Newton D. and 
Perry E. (deceased). Mr. Lingle is the possessor of forty acres of land, 
which are in a state of superior cultivation, with good dwelling, barns, 



290 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

stock in variety, a young orchard and every necessary improvement for 
comfort and profit. Mr. Lingle is a leading Republican, and has served 
as Township Assessor one term. He is a liberal-minded man, and a 
promising and enterprising agriculturist. 

JEREMIAH S. LINGLE was born in Ray (now Ashland) Township 
October 10, 1855, and is the fourth of those comprising the family of his 
parents, Casper and Catherine (Sandy) Lingle. Jeremiah, in common 
with the other sons of his father, was reared to the dignified and ancient 
calling of tilling the soil. After atten,ding school for a time in his boy 
hood, he continued to labor at home until he attained his majority, where- 
upon he married Martha E. , daughter of John and Catherine (Haase) 
Shelton. These young people have had born to them four children, of 
which ntmiber three are living— Orville E., Minnie Catherine and Orra 
E. Mr. Lingle has largely assisted his father in developing the home 
place, and is an enterprising, able and promising young farmer. 

FIELDING MARtSH, a leading farmer and stock-raiser, came into 
life December 26, 1826, in Washington County. Ind., and is the fifth of 
the nine children of Cyrus J. and Elizabeth (^Shultz) Marsh, respectively 
of English and Dutch descent. During his minority, Fielding worked 
by the month, with occasional attendance at school. In May, 1847, he 
volunteered for the Mexican war, in the Foui'th Indiana Regiment; was 
landed at Brazos Island, and marched up the Rio Grande to join Gen. 
Taylor. After his discharge in 1848, he resumed farming for a time, 
then followed flat-boating on the Mississippi River, and afterward lo- 
cated his land warrant for 160 acres in Marion County. March 24, 1853, 
he maiTied Rachel, daughter of Benjamin and Rachel (Milton) Mugg, a 
union which produced three children — Amanda E. (Mrs. Smith), Cincin- 
natus and Curtis. February 14, 1865, he enlisted in the One Hundred 
and Forty-eighth Indiana Volunteer Infantry, and was discharged in 
September of that year. Mr. Marsh is possessed of a good home, com- 
prising 157 acres of excellent land, well cultivated, stocked and improved, 
being the homestead of his father; there is also a good orchard. Mr. 
and Mrs. Marsh are members of the Missionary Baptist Church. 

GABRIEL ROBINSON is a native of Anderson County, Ky. ; was 
born January 31, 1828, and is the sixth of the eight children of Gabriel 
and Mary (Rice) Robinson, of Irish and German extraction. Our sub- 
ject was reared on a farm, and secured but one month's schooling during 
his youth. At the age of thirteen, he became a learner of the blacksmith 
trade, at Middletown, Ky., where he remained until 1852; then moved 
to Washington County, and thence to Leesville, Ind., where he worked 
at wagon-making, and also managed a blacksmith and wagon shop until 
1864, when he came to this county, where he carries on the same busi- 
ness. December 25, 1847, he married Mary E. Gwathmey, to which 
union were born two children — Kate M. and Camden. In May, 1846, 
Mr. Robinson enlisted for the Mexican war, in Company I, First Ken- 
tiicky Volunteer Infantry. He served in the battles of Monterey, having 
made a forced march of sixty-nine miles in seventeen hoiirs, and Buena 
Vista, being discharged in May, 1847. Mr. Robinson was also in our 
late war, a recruit of Company K, Sixty-seventh Indiana Regiment, go- 
ing out as private, and being promoted to a Lieutenancy, as which he 
resigned in April, 1863, having served at Munfordville, siege of Vicks- 
burg and other engagements. Mr. Robinson is a member of the L 
O. O. F. 



RAY TOWNSHIP. 291 

JOHN A. SANDY, stock-raiser and farmer, was born in Montgomery 
County, Ind., March 19, 1843, and is the sixth of the eleven children of 
William H. and Lucinda (Thompson) Sandy, natives respectively of Ten- 
nessee and Kentucky, and of English and Irish descent. William H. 
Sandy emigrated to Washington County, Ind.. about 1810, thence moved 
to Owen County about 1812, and after his marriage settled near Gosp(^rt, 
about 1830, and thence moved to Montgomery County, locating near 
Crawfordsville. In 1852, the family moved to Morgan County, where 
Mr. Sandy yet resides. John H. Sandy passed his boyhood on the pa- 
ternal farm, and in going to school. In 1861, he enlisted in Company 
H, Thirty-third Indiana Volunteer Infantry; was assigned to the Fourth 
Corps, Army of the Cumberland; was mostly engaged in skirmishes, and 
was discharged November, 1862, after which, being unable to work, he 
went to school for a time, then farmed until February, 1865, when he 
re-enlisted in Company F.One Hundred and Forty-eighth Regiment, and 
served until Septembei'. August 30, 1866, he married Susanna, daughter 
of Kobert and Nancy W^alters, to which union was born one child — James 
S. Mr. Sandy owns iBighty-two acres of good land, well-cultivated and 
improved, thus being in comfortable circumstances. In 1880, he engaged 
in the drug business for one year with fair success. Mr. Sandy is an 
Odd Fellow, and he and wife are members c>f the Christian Church. 

WILLIAM A. SHARP is a native of Ellettsville, in this State; was 
born April 10, 1855, and is the third of the live children of George W. 
and Agnes (Ashbrook) Sharp, both natives of Indiana. William A. was 
reared on a farm, and obtained some education from the common schools. 
His father died when he was seven years old, after which he lived with 
his grandfather until May 13, 1877, when he married Theresa, daughter 
of Gideon Holiday, by which union were produced two children — Ida and 
Roy C. After his marriage, Mr. Sharp moved to Ellettsville, where he 
labored as a quarryman for thirteen years. In July, 1883, he moved to 
Paragon, to take charge of his mother's farm of ninety-three acres on 
White River bottoms. Mr. Sharp is in comfortable circumstances, hav- 
ing a house and two lots in Ellettsville. He is a member, and was First 
Commander of Sons of Veterans' Camp, No. 2, and is a Republican in 
politics. His father, George W. Sharp, was a soldier of the late war, 
and died in the service. Mrs. Sharp is a member of the Baptist Church. 

JOHN A. STIRWALT, stock-raiser and farmer, was born November 
18, 18-49, in the house in which he now dwells — his father having pur- 
chased the same about 1828— and is the eighth of the nine children of 
Adam and Lucy (Sandy) Stirwalt, natives of North Carolina, and of Dutch- 
English extraction. John was brought up to labor on the home farm, 
and when not so engaged attended the free schools, thus receiving the 
rudiments of an education. November 2, 1872, he married Martha E., 
daughter of Andrew and Elizabeth (Lingle) Knox, natives of North Car- 
olina, a union which produced three children, two of whom are living — 
Jasper E. and Mary Lavina. Mr. Stirwalt is the owner of 100 acres, 
well improved, cultivated and stocked, with good residence, young or- 
chard and the like. He has been largely successful, and is a diligent, 
careful manager. He is a Democrat in politics, a most reputable citizen, 
and a trusted member of the Baptist Church. 

DANIEL H. VOSHELL, pioneer farmer and stock-raiser, was born 
in this township February 8, 1826, about one mile west of his present 
residence, and is the second of the ten children of William H. and Polly 



292 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

(Sandy) Voshell, natives respectively of Delaware and North Carolina, 
and of French and German descent. William H. Voshell emigrated from 
Maryland to Ohio, and thence to Jackson County, Ind., about 1820. He 
also lived in Owen County about 1825, and located land, likewise, in 
this township, making an aggregate of 400 acres. Daniel lived with his 
parents until he was twenty years old, having entered 160 acres. His 
opportunities for education were of the most meager character, having to 
labor almost incessantly. February 17, 1846, he wedded Delilah, the 
widow of Joseph Goss, which union gave issue to six children, three be- 
ing now alive — Mary A. (Mrs. McGinnis), William S. and Thomas S. 
Mr. Voshell is possessor of 307 acres in Morgan, and 180 in Knox Coun- 
ty, Ind., all under the best cultivation, well stocked, improved, and with 
as good a residence as one may find in the township. Mr. Voshell is one 
of the most upright and respected of citizens, a man whose record is duty 
well done. He and wife are members of the Christian Church. 

LEVI J. VOSHELL, farmer and stock-raiser, was born at his pres- 
ent residence — the land having been entered by his father about 1825 — 
passed his boyhood on the farm, and received but little schooling. He 
remained at home until his majority, and October 19, 1859, married Miss 
Sarah, daughter of William R. and Rebecca S. (Chambers) Mannan. na- 
tives respectively of Virginia and North Carolina. To this union were 
born three children, two of whom are living — Manda A. (now Mrs. Whit- 
taker) and Emma R. In September, 1864, Mr. Voshell enlisted in Com- 
pany F, Twenty-fifth Indiana Volunteer Infantry, serving in the Atlanta 
campaign; he was also in Gen. Sherman's famous march to the sea, and 
was engaged in the taking of Savannah and Columbia. After the grand 
review at Washington, he was discharged June, 1865, and returned to 
his home and the duties of his farm, having 588 acres in Morgan, Owen 
and Putnam Counties, which are well improved, cultivated and adorned, 
containing a number of short-horn cattle and other stock. Mr. Voshell, 
aided by his wife, has been more than usually successful. They are 
members of the Baptist Church, and respected members of their commu- 
nity. Mr. Voshell is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and a very 
earnest Democrat. 

JOHN M. VOSHELL, farmer and stock-raiser, was born August 15, 
1848, where he now resides, and is the second of the five children, two of 
whom are yet living, born to Thomas S. and Catherine (Stierwalt) Voshell, 
natives of Owen County, Ind. John was reared on a farm and to the hon- 
ored and independent business of farming. His father died when he was 
but five years of age, so that he acquired only a spare education, having to 
give his services at home. September 3, 1874, he married Miss Mollie, 
daughter of Adam and Annie E. (Miller) Renner. Mr. Voshell has a 
good home and farm of 133 acres, which are well improved, in fine cul- 
tivation, and supplied with stock and all necessary appurtenances. For 
the past few years, he has given most attention to stock trading, in which 
enterprise he has been fairly successful. He is an active young Demo- 
crat, and he and his ^nie and mother are consistent members of the 
Baptist Church. 

ASHBEN W. WA.LTERS was born in this township October 3, 1856, 
and is the sixth child of Robert S. and Nancy A. (Duckworth) Walters, 
the former a native of Owen County, Ind., the latter of Kentucky. 
Our subject was brought up on a farm and remained there until 
he was twenty-two years old, when he engaged in the dry goods bus- 



RAY TOWNSHIP. 293 

iness at Paragon, and also attended two terms at Bedford xicademy in 
1878. He remained in business one year; then returned to the farm for 
two years, after which he engaged with his brother-in-law in the drug 
basiness at Paragon; he afterward went to Colorado, and engaged in 
mining for a short time, when he returned home and resumed farming 
on the land entered by his grandfather. Mr. Walters is a radical Dem- 
ocrat, a member of the Baptist Chui'ch, a liberal gentleman and an es- 
teemed citizen. 

S. G. W. Walters, a young, successful and enterprising farmer, 
was born at his present residence September 11, 18B4 — a farm cleared 
by his father — and is the youngest of the eleven children of Kobert S. 
and Nancy Walters, who were among the earliest settlers of this township, 
both members of the Baptist denomination, and known as liberal and 
benevolent persons; the father died July, 18S1; the latter June, 1877. 
They were possessed of 300 acres of land, acquired by diligence and 
perseverance. Mr. Walters politically is a Democrat. 

DR. E. D. WHITAKER was born in this township November 27, 
1834, and is the fourth of the seven children of Grafton B. and Mar- 
garet (Gregg) Whitaker. During his boyhood, our subject worked at 
farming and attended subscription school, and at the age of twenty-two, 
at an academy in Belleville, Hendricks County. Soon aftei*, he began 
the study of medicine under Dr. Stuckey. of Gosport, and attended 
lectures at Louisville during the sessions of 1858, 1859 and 1860. In 
April. 1862, he entered the service; went to Pittsburg Landing, was 
assigned to the Medical Department as Acting Assistant Surgeon, and, 
after six months, commissioned Assistant Surgeon of the Fifteenth Ken- 
tucky Infantry. After the expiration of this regiment's term of service, 
he was made Surgeon of the Thirty- eighth Indiana, as which he con- 
tinued until the war was closed. Succeeding his discharge, he located 
as a practitioner at Gosport, which, after one year, he gave up for the 
purpose of attending to his farm. December, 1867, he married Martha 
J., daughter of Wiley and Rebecca (Crow) Williams, who died Novem- 
ber, 1874, leaving one child, Wiley W. December, 1877, he wedded 
Amanda A. , daughter of Harman and Elizabeth (Guy) Vickery, to which 
marriage succeeded two children — Eli G. and Margaret Elizabeth. Dr. 
Whitaker has a most excellent, highly cultivated and well-stocked farm 
of 240 acres, a portion of which was entered by his father. He is a 
member of the Masonic fraternity and of the Baptist Church, and is a 
liberal gentleman aad a Democrat; he was once nominated for Repre- 
sentative, but declined the same. 

DR. RALPH B. WILLIAMSON was born near Watford, Ont., March 
4, 1851, and is the ninth of the fourteen children of John and Margaret 
(Calbert) Williamson, the former a native of Ireland, the latter of France. 
Dr. Ralph B. Williamson was reared on a farm, and when fifteen years 
old clerked for his father, and continued so to do for five years. He 
attended the public school, a commercial college at London, and after- 
ward began the study of medicine with Dr. Harvey, and attended lectures 
at Ann Arbor, and at the Cincinnati College of Medicine, from each of 
which he received a diploma. In July, 1876, he located at Vandalia, re- 
mained three years, removed thence to Santa F6, Owen County, and thence 
to Paragon. October 9, 1877, he married Alice E., daughter of William 
and Jane Williams, of Owen County. This union furnished two chil- 
dren — Lionas Listwell Dufferein and Damietta Bell. Dr. Williams was 



294 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

formerly an Odd Fellow, and is in politics a Democrat. He and wife 
are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

JOHN H. YOUNG, farmer and stock-raiser, was born in this county, 
and is the tenth of the eleven children of Scott W. and Polly (Mathews) 
Young, natives respectively of Virginia and Kentucky. John H. was 
reared on a farm, and has had good advantages for education, having 
attended a high school two terms, the Indianapolis Commercial School 
and the Normal School at Terre Haute. He has been some time teacher 
in this State and in Kansas. After his father's death, in 1873, he took 
charge of the home farm, entered by his father, who came to the State 
in 1822. Our subject is owner of 140 acres, well cultivated, stocked and 
improved, with commodioiis residence, built about forty years ago. Mr. 
Young is an active Eepublican, a good citizen, and one of the best in- 
formed men in his township. 



ADAMS TOWNSHIP. 



JOHN W. ALEXANDER, farmer, was born in Putnam County, lud., 
March 4, 1830, and is the fifth child in a family of twelve children born 
to William and Jane (Wallace) Alexander, the former of whom was a 
native of the " Old Dominion," and the latter of East Tennessee. They 
were of English and Irish decent respectively. William Alexander re- 
ceived his early education in his native State. While yet a young man, 
be removed with his parents to East Tennessee, where he was afterward 
married, and engaged in agricultural pursuits for several years. From 
Tennessee, he removed to Kentucky, and from thence, in about 1827, to 
Putnam County, Ind., where he bought a partially improved farm, and 
resided until about 1838. He then removed to that part of Morgan 
County, Ind., which has since become Mill Creek Township, Putnam 
County. Here, he farmed for several years; then opened a small country 
store, and was engaged in merchandising until his death, which occurred 
February 8, 1881, in his eighty-second year. From early life, until his 
first wife's doath, which occurred in 1808, both were members of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church. After that event, he joined the Christian 
Church. He was Justice of Peace in Putnam and Morgan Counties for 
some thirty years. During this time, he was robbed of some $400, which 
he afterward recovered, and sent the thief to penitentiary. John W. 
Alexander, the subject, received only a limited common school education, 
but has acquired a fair practical business education by his own exertions 
since he became a man. He was employed on his father's farm until he 
was twenty-one years old. He then farmed on shares in Putnam County, 
Ind., for several years. In 1860, he bought a farm in Adams Township, 
Morgan County Ind. , and has since been engaged in farming, threshing 
and stock-dealing. He was for two years Trustee of Adams Township, 
and has held various lesser offices. He was married, August 27, 1850, to 
Miss Martha J. Patrick, a native of Putnam County, Ind. Twelve chil- 
dren were the fruit of this union, nine of whom — five sons and four 
daughters — are' yet living. He is a member of Eminence Lodge, No. 440, 
A. F. & A. M., where he has held various official positions. Mrs. Alex- 



ADAMS TOWNSHIP. 295 

ander is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In politics, Mr. 
Alexander is a Democrat. 

WILLIAM ANDERSON, wagon and carriage manufacturer, was born 
in Johnson County, Ind., May 4, 1844, and is the youngest in a family of 
seven children born to James and Mary (Coy) Anderson, both natives of 
Kentucky, and of English descent. James Anderson was educated and 
married in his native State. In 1828, he removed to Bartholomew County, 
Ind., then almost a wilderness. Here he entered land and commenced 
improving a farm, but remained only two years. In 1830, he removed to 
Johnson County, Ind., where he entered 120 acres of land, and improved 
a farm, upon which he resided until his death, which occurred in Sep- 
tember, 1865. Himself and wife were members of the Separate Baptist 
Church. William Anderson, the subject, received a fair common school 
education, and was employed on his father's farm until he was twenty- 
one years old. He then farmed on shares for some four years, after which 
he commenced to learn the carriage and wagon maker's trade, serving an 
apprenticeship of three years, and has followed the trade ever since. In 
the fall of 1881, he removed to Gosport, Owen County, Ind., and in the 
following spring came to Eminence, iVforgan County, Ind., where he 
opened a shop, and has since been doing a good business. He was 
married, December 22, 1865, to Emarine N. Slack, a native of Johnson 
County, Ind. Six children blessed their union, five of whom— two sons 
and three daughters— are yet living. In politics, he is identified with the 
National, or Greenback, party, and is one of the enterprising mechanics 
and business men of the township and county. 

THOMAS S. AREND, harness-maker, was born in Ashland Town- 
ship, Morgan Co., Ind., April 5, 1857, and is a son of Christopher J. and 
Rebecca F. (Russell), Arend, the former a native of Bavaria, Germany, 
and the latter of Johnson County, Ind., but of English descent. Chris- 
topher J. Arend received a good common school education in Bavaria. 
At the age of fifteen, in 1846, he emigrated to the United States, accom- 
plishing the journey alone. He first settled in Monmouth County, N. J., 
where he learned the tanner's trade, serving an apprenticeship of three 
years. He then followed his trade as a journeyman for several years, 
and in ]854 located at Martinsville, Ind., where he took charge of a 
shop, receiving half the profits for conducting the business. Here he 
was married, and resided for a short time. He then removed to Ashland 
Township, same county, where he started a tannery, and is still engaged 
in that business. Mrs. Arend departed this life May 18, 1883. She was 
a member of the Christian Church, to which Mr. Arend also belongs. 
Thomas S. Arend, the subject, received a fair common school education, 
and taught for a time. At the age of twenty- three, he commenced to 
learn the harness -maker's trade, and has followed that business ever 
since, now owning a shop in Eminence, where he has a good trade. He 
was married January 14, 1883, to Amanza J, Modrell, a native of Putnam 
County, Ind. Mr. Arend is a member of Eminence Lodge, No. 317, 
I. O. O. F., of which lodge he is at present N. G. In politics, he is a 
Republican. 

COL. WILLIAM C. BANTA, M. D., was born in Hendricks 
County, Ind., August 31, 1839, and is one of ten children born to Cor- 
nelius and Rebecca (Eckles) Banta; both natives of Kentucky. The an- 
cestors of the former were of Italian and Scotch extraction. Cornelius 
Banta came to Madison County, Ind., at a date prior to the organization 



296 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

of the State. After a few years, he removed to what was known as the 
Brick. Tavern, near Stilesville, Hendricks Co., Ind. His place was a 
regular stopping place for stage-coaches over the old National pike, run- 
ning between St. Louis and Cincinnati. In 1838, he removed to Belle- 
ville, where he remained until 1850, when he removed to Whitley County, 
Ind., where he bought a farm and resided two years; then returned to 
Belleville, where he again engaged in mercantile pursuits and resided un- 
til his death, which occurred in 1857. Mr. Banta and wife were mem- 
bers of the Christian Church. William C. Banta, the subject, received a 
good common school and academic education, and was employed in his 
father's store until the latter's death, after which the support of the fam- 
ily devolved upon him. When in his eighteenth year, he commenced 
teaching school and studying medicine under the instruction of Drs. 
Moor & Kennedy, of Belleville. In April, 1861, he resigned his school, 
went to Indianapolis and enrolled in Company A, Seventh Indiana Vol- 
unteer Infantry, the first Indiana regiment recruited for the three 
months' service. They participated in the battle of Philippi. At the 
close of the three months' service, in August, 1861, Col. Banta re- 
organized and filled up his company, A, from seventy to one hundred 
men, in a day. and night, for the three years' service, and was chosen 
Captain. After about one year, he was promoted to Major, and soon after 
to Lieutenant Colonel. The Colonel of the regiment, I.|,G. Grover, was- 
captured in the battle of the Wilderness, after which Col. Banta com- 
manded until the regiment was mustered out. He also, for a short time, 
commanded the First Brigade, of the First Division, of the First Army 
Corps. Col. Banta participated in all the principal battles in which the 
Armies of West Virginia and the Potomac were engaged to the fall of 
1864. In 1862, at the battle of Port Republic he was severely wounded 
in the right shoulder by a shell, and was mustered out with his regiment 
at Indianapolis, in September, 1864. He then engaged in the drug 
trade at Belleville, Ind., and continued the same some five years; he also 
resumed his medical studies. In the spring of 1870, he graduated from 
"The Indiana Medical College," at Indianapolis, and in June of the 
same year came to Eminence, Morgan Co., Ind., where he has since 
practiced his profession with excellent success. He was married, August 
25, 1861, to Elizabeth May, a native of Montgomery County, Ind. 
Eight children, three sons and five daughters, blessed their union, all of 
whom are yet living. The Doctor and wife are members of the Christiaa 
Church. He is a member of the Masonic and I. O. O. F. fraternities, 
and has been a member of the Grand Lodge of the State in both orders. 
In politics. Col. Banta is a stanch Republican, and is one of the leading 
and representative men of the county. 

JOSEPH BLUNK, stock-raiser and farmer, is the son of Goldsby 
and Elizabeth (Pritchett) Blunk, the former a native of Indiana, the lat- 
ter of Kentucky. The paternal grandfather of our subject was a Virgin- 
ian and a soldier of the Revolution. He was known as Aaron Blount, 
which surname has been since changed to Blunk. Goldsby Blunk was 
a farmer, but labored as a steamboatman on the Lower Mississippi River 
for several years, and in 1827 married and began farming where our sub- 
ject now resides, having entered eighty acres of timber. He cleared his 
land, and was the first settler in that part of this township. He was an 
expert hunter and marksman, a man of strong will, owner of 237^ acres, 
and died February 4, 1857, aged fifty-eight. Mrs. Blunk died in 1871, 



ADAMS TOWNSHIP. 297 

aged sixty- three years. They were parents of five sons and five daugh- 
ters, and members of the Christian Church. Joseph Blunk was born 
February 14, 1841. He received but a fraction of schooling, yet by 
well-directed study he has obtained a fair education. When he was six- 
teen years old, his father died, and he remained with his mother until 
he was of age. April 10, 1862, he married Elizabeth Cown, a native of 
Illinois, born November 9, 1840, which union gave being to nine chil- 
dren, of whom six sons and two daughters are living. After marriage, 
Mr. Blunk located near his present home, to which he removed in 1874. 
This farm comprises fifty-three acres, valued at about |60 per acre, 
is well improved and supplied with good stock, and the yield of his in- 
dustry and care. Mr. Blunk is a progressive citizen, and he and wife 
are members of the Christian Church. 

HENRY BOURN, farmer and stock-raiser, was born in Ray Township, 
Morgan Co., Ind., January 29, 1837, and is the fourth child in a family 
of ten children born to Elijah and Nancy (Alexander) Bourn, the former 
a native of Jessamine County, Ky., and the latter of Owen County, Ind., 
where her father, Abner Alexander, was one of the earliest pioneers. 
Our subject received a fair common school education, and was employed 
on his father's farm until he was twenty-one years old. He then came 
to Adams Township, Morgan Co., Ind., where he bought the farm of 16Q 
acres upon which he stilJ resides, adding to it until he has now some 400 
acres, well improved, making one of the best farms in Adams Township. 
He was married. September 23, 1858, to Miss Milla S. McGinnis, a na- 
tive of Owen County, Ind. Seven children blessed this union, five of 
whom, three sons and two daughters, are yet living. Mr. Bourn and 
wife are consistent members of the Christian Church, in which he is and 
has been for several years a Ruling Elder. Mr. Bourn is a stanch Re- 
publican. 

ELISHA A. BOURN, teacher and farmer, was born June 23, 1859, 
and is a son of Henry Bovirn, of whose family he is the eldest. He was 
reared to the hard but honest labor of a farmer's life, and attended school 
considerably in early life, thus laying the foundation for a life of useful- 
ness as an instructor of youth. Mr. Bourn also attended the State Nor- 
mal School for a time in furtherance of his purpose, and has qualified 
himself thoroughly. He has the happy faculty of imparting knowledge 
to his pupils, and has been very successful, having taught seven school 
years in succession, in alternation with farming, in which he is also en- 
gaged, and also in raising the ordinary grades of stock. March 7, 1882, 
he married Miss Clara E., daughter of James Wallace, and born in this 
township February 27, 1862. To this union has been born one daughter 
— Mamie E. Mr. Bourn is a practical farmer, an energetic and promis- 
ing gentleman, and a Republican in political faith. 

POWEL S. BRASIER, dentist, was born in Owen County, Ind,, 
March 9, 1850, and is one of four living children born to Gideon and 
Sarah (Jones) Brasiei% both natives of Kentucky, and of English, Welsh 
and Irish descent. Oideon Brasier received no education in youth, there 
being no school of any kind on the Indiana frontier at that time. He 
-was employed on the home farm until twenty -one years old, then learned 
the carpenter trade, and has followed the same part of the time ever 
since. In early manhood, he followed flat-boating from Gosport to New 
Orleans, having made nineteen trips. In March, 1865, he enlisted in 
Company F, Eleventh Indiana Volunteer Infantry, and served until the 



298 ■ BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

following August. In the fall of 1865, he came to Eminence, Morgan 
Co.. Ind., where he was engaged in the hotel business until March, 1883, 
when he moved to New Winchester, Hendricks Co., Ind., where he now 
resides. He was married February 3, 1840. Mr. Brasier and wife are 
members of the Baptist Church. In politics, he is a stanch Democrat, 
and is one of the pioneers of Morgan County. Powel S. Brasier, our 
subject, received a fair common school education. At the age of four- 
teen, he went to learn the harness- maker's trade, afterward learning the 
carpenter trade and dentist profession, which latter he is still following 
at Eminen\?e, Ind. He has had some eight years' experience in the fruit 
tree business, and intends to resume that occupation in a short time. He 
also clerked for a time in both a dry goods and drug store. Mr. Brasier 
is yet unmarried; is a member of Eminence Lodge, No. 440, A., F. & A. 
M. In politics, he is a Democrat. 

ATLAS BRAY, fai-mer and stock-raiser, was born in Chatham Coun- 
ty. N. C, July 7, 1826, and, is the second child of seven sons and three 
daughters born to James and Sarah (Edwards) Bray, the former a native 
of North Carolina, born 1796, the latter of the same State, born 1802. 
James Bray was a farmer, who located in Hendricks County, Ind., about 
1834; farmed on rented land; then removed to this county, where he se- 
cured land. This he afterward sold and went to Missouri about 1853, 
and to Kansas in 1869, where he now enjoys a retired life. Mrs. Bray 
is also living, aged eighty-two years. They are long-established mem- 
bers of the Baptist Church. Atlas Bray remained at home until he was 
of age, when he worked at farming in jobs at 37 cents per day. Not- 
withstanding this poor labor, he was enabled after a time to purchase 
forty acres of timber land, which he set about to clear and improve; af- 
terward sold the same and purchased 280 acres in Iowa, and finally ex- 
changed for the farm on which he now resides, combining 153 acres. He 
likewise possesses a good farm in Monroe Township. In July, 1849, he 
maiTied Emily Craven, by which union were born to them seven chil- 
dren — John F. (deceased), Enos, Mary, Sarah, Clara, Oscar and Luther. 
Mr. Bray has been a successful farmer and is a worthy citizen. He and 
family are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

JAINEES K. BURGESS, druggist, was born in Putnam County, Ind., 
October 12. 1844, and is the third child in a family of seven children 
born to Dawson and Catherine (Holbert) Burgess, natives of Kentucky, 
the former of German and the latter of Irish descent. Dawson Burgess 
received his early education in his native State. While yet a young man, 
he removed to Putnam County, Ind. Here he bought 100 acres of wild 
land, and improved a farm, upon which he resided until December, 1868, 
when he removed to Stilesville, Hendricks Co., Ind., where his death 
occurred August 12, 1878, in his sixty- fourth year. James K. Burgess, 
the subject of our sketch, received a fair common school education, and 
was employed on the home farm until he was twenty years old. In Octo- 
ber, 1864, he enlisted in Company H, Forty-third Indiana Volunteer In- 
fantry, and served with that regiment in all its marches and engagements 
until the close of the war. being mustered out at Indianapolis in June, 
1865. After his return from the army, he farmed the home place on 
shares, and ran a threshing machine for three years. He then removed 
to Hendricks County, Ind., near Stilesville, where he remained one year, 
then returned to Putnam County, and engaged in agricultural pursuits 
until March, 1880. He then came to Eminence, Morgan Co., Ind., where 



ADAMS TOWNSHIP. 299 

he has since been engaged in the drag trade. He was married, October 
14, 1869, to Elizabeth Dobbs, a native of Putnam County, Ind. Two 
daughters have blessed their union, viz., Dora and Claudia. In politics, 
Mr. Burgess is a Democrat. 

STEPHEN H. CHENOVVBTH, blacksmith, and Justice of the Peace, 
was born in what is now Ashland Township, Morgan Co., Ind., July 8, 
1837, and is a son of Ephraim B. and Mariah (Risinger) Chenoweth, the 
former a native of the "Old Dominion," and the latter of Kentucky. 
They were both of German descent. When three years old, Ephraim B. 
Chenoweth removed with his parents to Jefferson County, Ky., where his 
early education was received, and where he was afterward married. Here 
he learned the cabinet-maker's trade, and followed the same for several 
years. Later, he engaged in agricultural pui'suits. In 1835, he came 
with his wife and family to what is now Ashland Township, Morgan Co., 
Ind., where he entered 160 acres of wild land, and improved a farm, to 
which he added until he was the owner of a farm of 240 acres. In 
1855, he sold this farm, and bought another in Adams Township, same 
county, where he resided until his death, which occurred May 8, 1875, 
in his seventieth year. He was for several years one of the Township 
Trustees under the old constitution. He was a member of the Christian, 
Mrs. Chenoweth of the Baptist Church. Stephen H. Chenoweth, the 
subject, received a limited education in the primitive schools of the 
Indiana frontier, and was employed on his father's farm until he was 
twenty-one years. Ho then farmed on shares until the spring of 1862, 
when he enlisted in Company B, Fifty-ninth Indiana Volunteer Infantry. 
He served with that regiment until the close of the war, being mustered 
out at Richmond, Va., in May, 1865. He then farmed for two years, 
when he commenced blacksmithing at Eminence, Ind. , and has followed 
that business ever since. He has been three times elected Justice of the 
Peace, but only qualilied once. He is now holding that office. He was 
married, in 1859, to Bena M. Gray, a native of Ashland Township, Mor- 
gan Co. , Ind. Seven children blessed their union, only two of whom, 
one son and one daughter, are now living. Both himself and wife are 
members of the Christian Church. He is also a member of Eminence 
Lodge, No. 440, A., F. & A. M., and of the O. A. R. In the former 
order he is a Past Master. In politics, he is a Democrat, and is one of 
the early settlers of the township and county. 

DAVID A. CURTIS (deceased) was born in Randolph County, N. C, 
September 17, 1§06, and was the eldest of the two sons and one daughter 
of Jesse W. and Judy Curtis, natives of North Carolina and of Eaglish 
extraction. Our subject was reared to farming with but little education. 
He married, after becoming of age, Miss Tabitha Staler, who proved a 
faithful spouse for fifty-six years. In 1837, Mr. Curtis moved to this 
State and located on Government land, where he built a cabin and pro- 
ceeded to found a home, in which, after some years of discouragement 
and toil, he succeeded. On the morning of February 24, 1883, he arose 
well, ate a usual breakfast, and died peacefully soon after, his wife and 
daughter supposing him to be asleep. He was an industrious and suc- 
cessful man, and at one period owned 1,750 acres. He was the father of 
fourteen children, eleven of whom lived to maturity. He was an upright 
man and honored citizen, a Democrat in politics, and a Patron of Hus- 
bandry. Mrs. Curtis yet survives, aged seventy-six. Mr. Curtis was a 



300 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES : 

member of the Christian Church, and Mrs. Curtis now adheres to the 
same denomination. 

Emezire D. Curtis, stock-raiser and farmer, was born in this town- 
ship July 27, 1839, a son of D. A. Curtis. He was practiced in 
industry, and kept at home until he was twenty-one years old, when he 
began the labor of life where he is now living, his father having given 
him eighty acres as a beginning, on which he has built a good residence, 
and also variously improved his farm, as well as adding thereto 140 
acres, now a desirable home and valuable estate. He is now raising the 
better grades of sheep, being well supplied with stock, which he feeds 
from his own grain. In 1867, he married Miss Rachel Mosier, with an 
issue of seven sons. He is a Democrat, and has held several township 
offices. Mr. and Mrs. Curtis are members of the Christian Church. 

CALVIN CURTIS, farmer and stock- raiser, is a native of Randolph 
County, N. C, was born April 26, 1828, and is the eldest of the family. 
He was nine years of age when his father moved to this county, whom 
he assisted to make a home in the wilds of nature. When twenty- four 
years old, he located on eighty acres of timber land, from which he made 
his present home, having lived in a cabin until 1865, at which time he 
built a good house. The farm comprises 220 acres, 160 of which are in 
full cultivation; he also possesses a forty-acre tract in Gregg Township. 
March 24, 1852, he married Miss Rosie York, who died two years later, 
leaving one daughter — Martha. November, 1857, he wedded Miss Eu- 
phemia Johnson, who also left the world, March 22, 1879, leaving four 
children — David A. M., Lieudary A., Daniel andLaurena. Mr. Curtis is a 
practical farmer, an industrious man and good citizen; he raises a high 
breed of geese and turkeys, Plymouth Rocks, Light Brahmas, Cxolden 
Spangle chickens, etc. Mr. Curtis has been a prominent hunter, and is 
an expert rifle-shot. 

WESLEY CURTIS, farmer and stock-raiser, is a native of Randolph 
County, N. C, was born September 26, 1830, and is the second son of 
David A. Curtis. He was reared by his father, a fax'mer; received almost 
no education, and early began to do for himself. As an aid, he received 
eighty acres of timber land, on which he toiled while living at home 
until 1857, at which period he married Miss Elizabeth Jones, of Bar- 
tholomew County, and shortly after located on his own land. He soon 
built a house, which was biu-ned. in 1872, and has now one of the b.est 
two-story brick houses in the township, having as well cleared and estab- 
lished a desirable farm, which comprises 320 acres, besides sixty acres 
in Jasper County, 111., and some town property. He is a practical 
farmer, and has a fair supply of horses, cattle, sheep and hogs. After 
the decease of his wife, who left two sons and one daughter — Margaret 
E., Francis M. and George W. — Mr. Curtis wedded Miss Jane Carman, 
an orphan of this county. Mr. Curtis is a liberal and well-intentioned 
citizen, a Democrat in politics, and he and wife are members of the 
Christian Church. Mr. Curtis has made a property valued at $30,000, 
and has in all a yearly income of $3,000. 

SOLOMON DORSETT, farmer, was born in Chatham County, N. C, 
February 2t, 1832, and is a son of Duty and Rachel (Edwards) Dorsett, 
natives of North Carolina. The former was of German and the latter of 
English descent. Duty Dorsett, was a farmer by occupation, and also 
followed vai'ious mechanical pursuits. In the fall of 1840, he came 
with his family to what is now Mill Creek Township, Putnam County, 



ADAMS TOWNSHIP. 301 

Ind. Here he bought a farm, upon which he resided until his death, 
which occurred in November, 1844. Both himself and wife were mem- 
bers of the Baptist Church. He was a soldier during the war of 1812. 
Solomon Dorsett, the subject, received only a very limited education in 
the schools of the Indiana frontier. After attaining to manhood, how- 
ever, he acquired by his own exertions a good practical education, and 
taught subscription and public schools during the fall and winter for 
seventeen years. He was employed on the home farm until he was 
twenty-one years old. He then farmed on shares for five years, after 
which he bought a partially improved farm of forty acres in Adams 
Township, Morgan County, Ind., to which he afterward added 150 
acres. On this farm he resided until the fall of 1872, when he came to 
Eminence, same township, and engaged in the general mercantile trade, 
continuing in that business some sixteen months. He then bought a resi- 
dence in Eminence and a farm of 130 acres adjoining the village. Here 
he has ever since resided, and has been mainly engaged in agricultural 
pursuits. His dwelling burned in January, 1879, which he replaced by 
one of the best brick residences in the township or county. Mr. Dorsett 
has also been engaged in the local practice of law for the past fifteen 
years, and is now Deputy Prosecuting Attorney for Adams Township. 
He was alpo Trustee of Adams Township for thirteen years, and in 1864 
was a candidate for County Treasurer. He was married, March 8, 1853, 
to Sylvania C. Marley, a native of Kandolph County, N. C. To this 
union were born eight children, only two of whom, both daughters, are 
still living. Mrs. Dorsett died April 21, 1874. She was a member of 
the Christian Church. Mr. Dorsett was next married October 1, 1874, 
to Martha W. Parker, a native of Putnam County, Ind. Four children, 
two sons and two daughters, have blessed their union. Both Mr. Dor- 
sett and wife are members of the Christian Church. He is a member of 
Blue Lodge and Chapter in the Masonic fraternity, being a charter mem- 
ber, and Post Master of Eminence Lodge, No. 440, F. & A. M. In politics, 
he is a Democrat, and is one of the prominent citizens of the township 
and county. 

THOMAS FELKINS, stock-raiser and farmer, is a native of Garrard 
County, Ky. , and is the youngest of the family of eight born to William 
and Jane (Williams) Felkins, natives respectively of Virginia and Ken- 
tucky, and of Irish extraction. The paternal grandfather of our subject, 
John Felkins, was a Revolutionary soldier, and was once taken prisoner 
by the British. William Felkins was a soldier of the war of 1812, after 
which he located in Kentucky, married, and farmed until 1852. when he 
moved to Arkansas and died in 18G9, aged seventy-two. He was a Dem- 
ocrat, and a member of the Christian Church. Thomas Felkins was born 
November, 1825, and left motherless when eight years of age. and 
remained at home until he was nineteen, when he faced the world on his 
own account, and came to this county with $2.50 in cash and one horse. 
He made h's home with his brother, and worked at farming on shares for 
some time. September, 1850, he married Miss Martha Wheeler, of this 
county, but a native of Kentucky, which union gave birth to eight chil- 
dren, of which number three sons and three daughters survive. After 
marriage, Mr. Felkins lived in a log cabiu on land he had previously en- 
tered, and afterward took charge of his father-in-law's farm, where he 
lived until 1858, at which period he purchased 132 acres known as the 
"Old Joe Rhodes" farm. This he has improved and added to until he 



302 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

DOW owns 218 acres under good cultivation and well stocked. Mr. and 
Mrs. Felkins are members of the Christian Church. 

SAMUEL G. GASH, farmer, was born in Lincoln County, Ky., Jan- 
uary 3, 1828, and is the eldest of live children born to Thomas and Eliza 
(Wilson) Gash, natives of Kentucky, and of Scotch and Irish descent re 
spectively. Thomas Gash was educated and married in his native State, 
where in early life he learned the carpenter's trade, and followed the 
same, in connection with farming, all his life. He and his wife were 
members of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church. The death of Mrs. 
Eliza Gash occurred March 6, 1835, and that of Mr. Gash October 5, 
1840. Samuel G. Gash, the subject, received a fair common school edu- 
cation. After his father's death, he made his home with his uncle, David 
R. Wilson, until he attained to his majority, with whom, during that 
time, he learned the blacksmith's trade. After leaving his uncle, he was 
employed as a laborer on a farm for some four years. He then farmed 
on shares in Kentucky for one year, after which, in the fall of 1853, he 
came with his wife and family to Adams Township, Morgan Co., Ind., 
where he bought a partially improved farm of forty acres, upon which 
he still resides and to which he has added another forty acres. In 1846, 
he enlisted for service in the war with Mexico, but was never engaged in 
active service. He was married, August 7, 1852, to Miss Margaret S. 
Reid, a native of Jefferson County, Ky., and a daughter of John and 
Esther (Gilliland) Reid, who were among the early pioneers of Jefferson 
County, Ky. One son has blessed the union of Mr. and Mrs. Gash, viz., 
John T. Mr. Gash was at one time Adjutant in the Kentucky militia, 
and for a time carried the mail from Eminence to Quincy. Himself and 
wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and are earnest 
advocates of the temperance cause. In politics, he is a Democrat. 

ELERSON GENTRY, farmer and stock-raiser, is a native of Hen- 
dricks County, Ind. ; was born January 19, 1833, and is the eldest son of 
Garland and Susan (Stringer) Gentry, natives of Kentucky, and of English 
extraction. The grandparents of our subject were natives of Virginia, 
lived in Kentucky, and removed to and farmed in Indiana. Garland 
Gentry moved from Kentucky to this State about 1831, thence to this 
township, and subsequently to Texas, Arkansas, and again to Indiana, 
where he now lives in retirement, aged seventy-seven years. He is a 
Democrat, a member of the Christian Church. Was twice married, and 
is the father of three children by the first and nine by the second mar- 
riage. Elerson Gentry was reared a farmer by his father, whom he 
accompanied to Texas and Arkansas; resided in Missouri four years; 
returned to Hendricks County, Ind., and thence to this county. When 
twenty-one years of age, he left his father's house to struggle for him- 
self, and worked for three years by the month; then leased land for sev- 
eral years; finally purchased eighty acres of his father-in-law's estate, 
and now owns, in addition, eighty acres west of Mud Creek. December 
29, 1855, he married Miss Mary M. Smith, of this county, born February 
2, 1838. This union produced six childi'en — Theresa A., Franklin A., 
Susan A., William A., Mary Etta and Thomas A. Mr. Gentry is a Free- 
mason and a Democrat, and he and wife are worthy members of the 
Christian Church. 

HARRISON GENTRY, farmer and stock-dealer, was born in Adams 
Township, Morgan County, Ind., September 28, 1846, and is the fourth 
in a family of ten children born to Barry M. and Elizabeth J. (Ludlow) 



ADAMS TOWNSHIP. 303 

Gentry, both of whom were born near Lexington, Ky., and were of 
English and German descent respectively. When but live or six years 
old, in about 1825, Bary M. Gentry came with his parents to what is now 
Hendricks County, Ind., then a part of Morgan County. Here his father 
entered 160 acres of land, and improved a farm, upon which young Barry 
passed his early life. He received such an education as could be 
obtained at the subscription schools of that frontier settlement. He was 
married at the age of eighteen, and soon after commenced for himself, 
and farmed on shares for several years. In about 1850, he came to 
Adams Township, Morgan County, Ind., where he bought eighty acres of 
wild land, and to which he has added, now owning a well-improved 
farm of some 230 acres. In June, 1871, he removed to Stilesville, Hen- 
dricks County, Ind., where he has since been engaged in the dry goods 
trade. He was one of the Commissioners of Morgan County for some 
sixteen years, and has held various township offices. Mr. G. acd wife 
are members of the Christian Church. He cast his first vote for William 
H. Harrison, but, since 1856, has been identified with the Republican 
party. Harrison Gentry, the subject, received a fair common school 
education, and was employed un the old homestead until he was twenty - 
one years old. He then farmed on shares for some ten years, after which 
he bought a farm of sixty acres in Adams Township, Morgan County, 
upon which he still resides. The farm is well improved. He was mar- 
ried, November 10, 1870, to Miss Eliza J. Hubble, a native of Hendricks 
County, Ind. Two children, one son and one daughter, have blessed 
their union — Clara M. and Conard. In politics, Mr. Gentry is a stanch 
Republican. 

DAVID H. GOSS, farmer and stock-raiser, was born in what is now 
Davie County, N. C, May 28, 1819, and is the sixth in a family of nine 
children born to Daniel and Martha (Ingram) Goss, the former of whom 
was a native of Pennsylvania, and the latter of North Carolina. They 
were of German and Welsh descent respectively. When a lad, Daniel 
Goss removed with his parents to North Carolina, where he received a 
fair German education, and where he was afterward married, and en- 
gaged in agricultural pursuits for a time. In the spring of 1821, he 
emigrated with his wife and family to Owen County, Ind., and settled 
near Gosport, where he entered some 700 acres of wild land, erected a 
log house and improved a farm, to which he added some 200 acres, and 
upon which he resided until his death, which occurred February 14, 
1834, in about his fiftieth year. Both himself and wife were members 
of the Christian Church. Mrs. Martha Goss departed this life in Feb- 
ruary, 1835. David H. Goss, the subject, received his education at the 
subscription schools of the Indiana frontier. After the death of his par- 
ents, he lived with his guardian, Abner Alexander, until he was married, 
which was in his twentieth year. He then farmed on shares for one 
year, after which he moved on to 160 acres of the old homestead in Owen 
County, Ind., which had been willed to him by his father. To this he 
afterward added other lands, and here he resided until January, 1880, 
when he sold the old farm and bought another in Adams Township, 
where he now resides. He was first married, August 20, 1838, to Miss 
Marietta Johns, a native of Morgan County, Ind. To this union were 
born three children, two of whom, both sons, are yet living. Mrs. Goss 
died May 17, 1843. She was a member of the Christian Church. Mr. 
Goss was next married, May 3, 1844, to Miss Zerilda E. Littell, a native 



304 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

of Clarke County, Ind. Eight children blessed their union, five of whom, 
three sons and two daughters, are yet living. Both himself and wife are 
members of the Christian Church. He is also a member of Eminence 
Lodge, No. 440, A. F. & A. M. ; Gosport Chapter, R. A. ]M. , and of the 
Council at Gosport of R. & S. M. Mrs. Goss is a member of the Order 
of the Eastern Star, and of the W. C. T. A. In politics, Mr. Goss is 
identified with the National or Greenback party. He is also an earnest 
advocate of the temperance cause, having been fi'om early manhood a 
member of the old Washingtonian society. 

DANIEL N. HOLMES, merchant, was born in Decatur County, Ind., 
June 10, 1831, and is the fourth child in a family of five children born 
to Jacob and Frances (Stogsdale) Holmes, natives of Kentucky and of 
Irish descent. In early life, Jacob Holmes emigrated to Decatur County, 
Ind. , where he was educated and married, and was engaged in agricult- 
ural pursuits until his death, which occurred in 1840. Himself and 
wife were members of the Baptist Church. Daniel N. Holmes, the sub- 
ject, received a limited common school education. He has since, however, 
acquired a fair practical business education by his own exertions. At 
the age of thirteen, he went to learn the blacksmith's trade, and served 
an apprenticeship of some six years in Decatur, Shelby and Johnson 
Counties, Ind. In 1856, he came to Eminence, Ind., where he followed 
his trade for some thirteen or fourteen years. He then bought a farm in 
Adams Township, Morgan County, Ind., and was engaged in agricultural 
pm-suits and the stock trade until the spring of 1879, when he rented the 
farm and returned to Eminence. Here he opened a general store, and 
has been successfully engaged in merchandising ever since. He was 
first married in February, 1857, to Martha A. Fidler, a native of Ken- 
tucky. To this union were born eight children, six of whom, five sons 
and one daughter, are yet living. Mrs. Martha A. died May 27, 1877. 
She was a member of the Baptist Church. Mr. Holmes was next mar- 
ried, July 4, 1878, to Miss Mariah H, Smith, a native of Indiana. In 
politics, Mr. H. is a Republican. 

ELIAS HUBBARD, farmer and stock-raiser, was born in Guilford 
County, N. C, October 23, 1813, and is a son of George and Nancy 
(Shield) Hubbard, natives respectively of Virginia and Maryland. The 
paternal grandfather of our subject was a Revolutionary soldier. George 
Hubbard was a soldier of the war of 1812, and by occupation a farmer. 
In 1822, he moved to Wayne County, Ind., purchasing eighty acres, and 
entering eighty of timber, on which he made a good home for his family 
and endured the privations of a pioneer. He died in 1867, aged 
eighty-one, and his wife one year later, at the same age. They were 
upright and honored people. Elias Hubbard was reared a farmer, and 
in 1828 moved to this county, and after a time began life in earnest. 
October 18, 1839, he married Miss Margaret J. Gray, a native of Indiana, 
whose parents were pioneers of Clarke County. To this union were be- 
stowed, of whom survive, Mary J., Marilda, Malinda, Margaret, Abigail, 
David W., Mahala and Anna. In 1846, Mr. Hubbard purchased forty 
acres of his present home, and after many struggles and hardships has 
succeeded in making a comfortable property. He is a stanch Republican, 
and he and wife are members of the Christian Church. 

WILLIAM H. JOHNSON, merchant aad farmer, is the second son 
in the family of Hezekiah and Eliza (Green) Johnson, natives of North 
Carolina. Hezekiah Johnson was a farmer, married in his native State, 



ADAMS TOWNSHIP. 305 

and emigrated to this county; entered land in this township, erected a 
cabin of logs, and resided until 1867, when he moved to Clayton and 
embarked in mercantile business, in which he continued with his son 
Elhanon until his death, in 1870, at the age of sixty-one. He was once 
a Whig, later a Republican, an honored citizen, and about 1840 was 
licensed to preach in the Methodist Episcopal Church, but later joined 
the Christian Church, and previous to his death held a large revival at 
Mount Tabor. Mrs. Johnson was a Methodist, and died in 1872. Will- 
iam H. Johnson was born in this township November 12, 1835, and 
named after President Harrison. He is a natural mechanic, and when 
but a boy made from seven to nine flour barrels a day. He remained 
under his parents' care until his thirtieth year, looking after the home 
farm. March 29, 1859, he married Mary Shoemaker, with an issue of 
five children — Eliza J., William S., John Edmund, Hezekiah and Miran- 
da F. After marriage, Mr. Johnson managed his father's homestead for 
a time, and afterward purchased a 11,200 stock of merchandise at La- 
Clair, and three years later removed to Lake Valley. He carries a select- 
ed and full stock of goods, and is a very popular dealer. March, 1877, 
he was made Postmaster at Lake Valley. He has invented a grain tally 
and other valuable devices. He is a Kepublican, a Freemason, and he 
and wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

MILO D. LITTELL, farmer, was born in Clarke County, Ind. , June 
29, 1816, and is the fifth child in a family of eleven children born to 
Abraham and Elizabeth (Van Buskirk) Littell, the former a native of 
Fayette County, Penn. , and the latter of Ohio. They were of English- 
Scotch and Holland-English descent respectively. When but a lad thir- 
teen years old, in 1799, Abraham Littell emigrated with his parents to 
the Northwest Territory. In that year, his father, Absalom Littell, who 
was a veteran of the Revolutionary war, settled on Silver Creek, Clarke's 
Grant, in what is now Clarke County, Ind. Here young Abraham 
received his early education, and learned the blacksmith's trade, which 
he followed in connection with farming all his life. He was also married 
in Clarke County, where he owned a farm which he afterward lost in con- 
sequence of a defective title. In 1819, he emigrated to Monroe County, 
Ind., where he entered eighty acres of land and commenced to improve a 
farm. In 1822, he sold this place, and moved to Owen County, Ind., 
where he again entered land and improved a farm, upon which he resided 
until about 1860, when he left the farm and moved to Alaska, where his 
death occurred March 8, 1862. He was Justice of the Peace in Owen 
County for three terms, and Township Trustee for a like period. He en- 
listed during the war of 1812, but was not in active service. Both him- 
self and wife were members of the Christian Church. He was also an 
earnest advocate of the temperance cause, being a member of the old 
Washingtonian Society. Milo D. Littell, the subject, received such an 
education as could be obtained at the rude log schoolhouses of the Hoosier 
frontier settlements, and was employed on his father's farm until he was 
thirty-four years old. During this time, and for some three years after 
he left home, he followed flat-boating down the White, Wabash, Ohio and 
Mississippi Rivers to New Orleans. He was also a successful hunter. 
In 1845, he entered 120 acres of land in Adams and Ashland Townships, 
Morgan County, Ind.. and improved the farm upon which he still resides, 
and to which he added until he was the owner of a well -improved farm 
of 184 acres, a part of which he has since deeded to his children. He 



306 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

was married, September 11, 1853, to Martha Donaldson, a native of Jeffer- 
son County, Ky. Seven children blessed their union, six of whom, five 
sons and one daughter, are yet living. Mr. Littell and wife are mem- 
bers of the Christian Church. In polities, he is independent, but is an 
earnest advocate of the temperance cause. 

W. H. H. McCLOUD, farmer, is a native of Hendricks County, 
Ind., was born February 14, 1841, and is the fourth of the ten children 
born to George W. and Eunice (Bray) McCloud, natives respectively of 
Virginia and North Carolina. Our subject was reared a farmer's boy, 
with but slender opportunities for education, and was thrown on his own 
efforts at the age of sixteen, whereupon he worked as an engineer, and 
also drove cattle for several years. In 1861, he enlisted in Company A., 
Thirty-third Indiana Volunteers, which formed for a time part of the 
Army of the Ohio, and was afterward transferred to the Army of the 
Cumberland. His first experience as a soldier was at the battle of 
"Wild Cat, then at Richmond (when he was detailed in the artillery), 
Thompson's Station, Resaca, Marietta, Kenesaw Mountain, Peach Tree 
Creek, and was discharged September, 1864. March 9, 1865, he married 
Miss Mary Appleby, a union by which they became parents of eight 
children, three daughters and five sons. After marriage, Mr. McCloud 
engaged in farming, and continued until March, 1879, when he moved 
to this county, where he has since resided. Mr. McCloud was one of the 
first to use the thresher, and has continued the same for sixteen years; 
he has also a portable saw-mill, and his whole machine outfit is valued 
at $2,000. He is a Republican, and a member of the G. A. R. 

JOHN W. MAHORNEY, M. D., was born in Hendricks County, 
Ind., January 13, 1857, and is the only living child born to Morgan D. 
and Julia A. S. (Reese) Mahorney, the former a native of Kentucky and 
the latter of Hendricks County, Ind., and both of Irish descent. Mor- 
gan D. Mahorney received his early education in his native State, but 
when a lad of thirteen summers removed with his parents to Hendricks 
County, Ind. At the age of fifteen, he left home and was employed as a 
laborer on a railway for some three years, after which he worked on a 
farm for some three years longer. At the age of twenty-one, he was mar- 
ried, after which he farmed on shares until 1859, when he bought a farm 
in Franklin Township, Hendricks Co., Ind., upon which he still re- 
sides. John W. Mahorney, the subject of our sketch, received a good 
common school education. His mothei- died when he was only five years 
old, after which he made his home with an uncle for four years, 
when his father was again married and he returned home, remain- 
ing until he was twenty-one years old. In the spring of 1878, he com- 
menced the study of medicine with Dr. J. N. Green, of Stilesville, Hen- 
dricks Co., Ind., and graduated from the Medical College of Indiana, at 
Indianapolis, in March, 1883. In the following April, he located at 
Little Point, Morgan Co., Ind., where he now resides, and is rapidly 
building up a lucrative practice, and is regarded as one the rising young 
physicians of the county. He was married, October 24, 1883, to Miss 
Mary E. Smith, a native of Morgan County, Ind. Dr. Mahorney and 
wife are members of the church — he of the Regular Baptist and ahe of the 
Christian. In politics, the Doctor is a liberal Republican. 

JOHN R. MANNAN, general merchant, was born in Owen County, 
Ind., January 16, 1859, and is a son of William C. and Margaret E. 
(Carter) Mannan, the former a native of Morgan and the latter of Owen 



ADAMS TOWNSHIP. 307 

County, Ind. Both were of English, Irish and German descent. William 
C. Mannan received a good education at the common schools of his na- 
tive county, and also attended Asbury University, of Greencastle, Ind., 
for a time. At the age of nineteen, he left home; followed various pur- 
suits for some seven years. He was married in 1856, and soon after 
bought wild land in Ashland Township, Morgan Co., Ind., where he 
improved tlie farm upon which he still resides. He is a member of the 
Baptist Church and of the Patrons of Husbandry. John R. Mannan, 
the subject of our sketch, received a good common school education, and 
was employed on his father's farm until he was twenty cue years old. 
He then taught school during the fall and winter in his native county 
for three years, being employed on a farm during the summer season. 
He clerked in a general store at Eminence for one year. In March, 1883, 
he bought this store in company with Mrs. H. H. Nicholas. Mr. Man- 
nan was married, September 7, 1880, to Laura M. Nicholas, a native of 
Clay County, Ind. Two sons have blessed their union. Mr. Mannan is 
a member of Eminence Lodge, No. 317, I. O. O. F., of which lodge he 
is at present V. G. In politics, he is a Democrat. 

MICHAEL E. MILLER, proprietor of Eureka Flouring Mills, was 
born in Botetourt County, Va., February 10, 1824, and is a son of John 
and Elizabeth (Vinyard] Miller, both natives of the " Old Dominion," 
and of German descent. John Miller was educated aud married in his 
native State, where in early life he learned the tanner's trade, and fol 
lowed the same for several years. In 1830, he came with his wife and 
family to Morgan County, Ind., and opened a tannery near where the 
village of Brooklyn is now situate, and remained some ten years. He 
then removed to Hendricks County, Ind., and started a tannery near 
Belleville, where he resided until his death, which occurred in February, 
1876. Both himself and wife were members of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church. He was a soldier during the war of 1812. In 1822, he came 
to Indianapolis, then only a small village, on a prospecting tour. The 
State was then almost an unbroken wilderness; there being no roads, they 
were obliged to make their way by the blazed lines of the Government 
surveys. Both the grandfathers of our subject were veterans of the 
Revolutionary war. Michael E. Miller, our subject, received such an 
education as could be obtained in the schools of the Indiana frontier. 
He learned the tanner's trade with his father, and followed the same in 
Hendricks County, Ind., for more than twenty years. In 1872, he en- 
gaged in the saw and planing mill business at Eminence, Morgan Co., 
Ind. , which he followed until the fall of 1883, when he bought a half- 
interest in the Eureka Flouring Mills at same place. He still owns, 
however, the saw and planing mill. He was married, August 25, 1849, 
to Jane Cox, a native of Hendricks County, Ind. Six children were 
born to them, five of whom — two sons and three daughters — are yet liv- 
ing. Mr. Miller was for many years a member of the Methodist Episco- 
pal Church, but at present belongs to no church. Mrs. Miller and daugh- 
ters are members of the Christian Church. In politics, Mr. Miller is a 
Democrat, and has been for many years an earnest advocate of the tem- 
perance cause. 

JOHN T. MILES, blacksmith, was born in Orange County, N. C, 
August 13, 1849; is a son of James W. and Nancy N. (Squires) Miles, 
both born in North Carolina, and were of German and Irish descent. 
James W. Miles was educated and married in his native State; he, in 



508 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

-early life, learned the wagon-maker's trade, also followed agricultural 
pursuits and undertaker's business in connection with the same for many 
years. In the fall of 1868, he came with his family to Monroe Town- 
ship, Morgan Co., Ind., where he remained for one year; then moved to 
Orange County, Ind. , and remained some four or five years, after which 
he returned to Gregg Township, Morgan Co., Ind., residing there until 
his death, which occurred in the fall of 1879, in his sixty-seventh year. 
John T. Miles, our' subject, received a fair common school education. 
At the age of seventeen, he came to Hendricks County, Ind., and com- 
menced to learn the blacksmith's trade, following the same in Missouri and 
Indiana ever since. In 1873, he removed to Hall, and in December, 
1881, came to Eminence, Morgan Co., Ind., where he now resides. Mr. 
Miles was married, February 11, 1877, to Martha A. Mannan, a native 
of Owen County, Ind. Four children bless their union, three of whom, 
one son and two daughters, are yet living. Mrs. Miles is a member of 
the Christian Church. Mr. Miles is a member of Eminence Lodge, No. 
440, A. , F. & A. M. , having been a member of that order for the past 
fourteen years. In politics, he is a Democrat. 

THOMAS MILLS, farmer, was born in Carroll County, Ohio, Atril 8, 
1838, and is the sixth in a family of seven children born to William and 
•Catherine (Strawn) Mills, natives of Tuscarawas County, Ohio, and of 
Scotch-English and German descent respectively. William Mills was 
educated and married in his native county. Soon after his marriage, he 
removed to Carroll County, Ohio, where he was engaged in agricultural 
pursuits for several years. In 1841, he removed to Putman County, Ohio, 
where he bought 120 acres of wild land, which he improved and lived 
upon until his death in April, 1846. Mrs. Catherine Mills departed this 
life in March, 1856. She was a member of the Christian Church. 
Thomas Mills, the subject of our sketch, received a fair common school 
education, and was employed on the old homestead in Ohio until he was 
fourteen years old, when the family removed to Gilboa, Putnam County, 
Ohio. In 1856, he removed to Cataract Falls, Owen County, Ind., where 
lie was employed in a floui'ing mill for some four years. In August, 
1862, he enlisted in Company B, Ninety-seventh Indiana Volunteer In- 
fantry, and was mustered out with the same at Washington, D. C, in 
June, 1865. He participated in the battles at Vicksburg and Jackson, 
■campaigns in Mississippi, Missionary Ridge, Resaca, Kenesaw Mount- 
ain, and on return march of Sherman's famous raid to the sea. He 
was three times wounded — first at Jackson, Miss., severely by a cannon 
ball in the right side; second, June 15, 1864, at Kenesaw Mountain, 
slightly in the right hand; third, June 27, 1864, at Kenesaw Mountain, 
severely in the left thigh. From the first and third he has not and 
never will fully recover. After his return from the army he bought a 
small farm in Adams Township, Morgan County, Ind. , where he remained 
about one year; then removed to Putnam County, Ind., where he resided 
another year. In the spring of 1868, he returned to Adams Township, 
Morgan County, Ind., and bought a partially improved farm of some 
200 acres, upon which he still resides. He was married, October 23, 
1860, to Miss Amanda E. Williams, a native of Green Township, Mor- 
gan County, Ind., and a daughter of Louis and Mary (Cultion) Williams, 
who were among the early pioneers of Morgan County. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Mills have been left six children, two sons and four daughters. Mr. 
Mills is a member of Eminence Lodge, No. 440, A., F. & A. M. In 
politics, he is a stanch Republican. 



ADAMS TOWNSHIP. 309 

CYRUS E. NICHOLAS (deceased), was born in Hendricks County, 
Ind., March 5, 1836, and was the third child in a family of eight chil- 
dren born to John and Parmelia (Huff) Nicholas, the former of whom 
wa3 a native of Kentucky, and the latter of New York. They were of 
Scotch-Irish and French descent respectively. When a lad of some sev- 
en or eight summers, the parents of John Nicholas removed to Owen 
County, Ind. Here his father's death soon afterward occurred, in about 
1815. His early education was extremely limited. Afterward, however, 
by his own exertions and the assistance of his wife, he acquired a fair 
practical education. From Owen County, while yet a single man, he 
came to Monroe Township, Morgan County, Ind., where he entered land 
and improved a farm. From thence he removed to Heudricks County, 
and afterward to Pulaski County, Ind. In the spring of 1868, he re- 
turned to Morgan County, Ind., settling at Eminence, where he was en- 
gaged in the general mercantile trade until his death, which occurred in 
March, 1870, in his sixty-third year. Himself and wife were members of 
the Methodist Episcopal Church, in which church he was for some forty 
years a local preacher. Mrs. Parmelia is yet living, and resides at Emi- 
nence, being now in her eighty-first year. Our subject. Cyrus E. Nich- 
olas, received a fair common school education, and was employed on the 
home farm until he was twenty- one years old. He then learned the 
brick-mason's trade, which he followed for a number of years. In 1866, 
he engaged in the general mercantile trade at Eminence, Ind., and con- 
tinued the same until his death, which occurred June 7, 1882. He was a 
member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and of the I. O. O. F. Feb- 
ruary 6, 1859, he was united in marriage with Hester H. Rhea, a native 
of Washington County, Va., and a daughter of George G. and Dorcas 
(Lowrey) Rhea (a sketch of whom will be found in this volume). Hes- 
ter H. received a good common school education. She is and ha sbeen 
through life an extensive and careful reader, being well informed on all 
the current topics of the time, the current literature of the day as well as 
ancient and modern history. Since her husband's death, she has con- 
tinued his business, that of general merchandising, at Eminence, being 
now in partnership with her son-in-law, Mr. John R. Mannan. She is 
a consistent member of the Methodist Episcopal Chui'ch, and has been 
blessed with a family of three children, two of whom, both daughters, 
are yet living. 

LEVI OGLES, farmer and stock-raiser, was born in Adams Town 
ship, Morgan County, Ind., June 17, 1843, and is the youngest of the 
ten children born to James and Hannah (Salliers) Ogles, the former of 
whom was a native of Tennessee, and the latter of the Old Dominion. 
They were of German and English descent respectively. James Ogles 
was educated and first married in his native State, removing from thence 
to Washington County, Va., where he lost his wife, and was again mar- 
ried to the mother of our subject. In 1829, he came to Adams Township, 
Morgan County, Ind., entered eighty acres of land and improved the 
farm upon which he resided until his death, which occurred in February, 
1865, in his seventy-fifth year. To his first purchase he added until he 
was the owner of some 280 acres. In politics, he was a Whig, until 
1856, after which he was identified with the Republican party. Mrs." 
Hannah Ogles is yet living, and resides with her son Ira, in Adams 
Township, being now in her eighty-fourth year. Levi Ogles, the sub- 
ject of our sketch, received only a limited common school education, and 



310 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES: 

« 
was employed on the home farm until he attained his majority, when his 
father deeded him a farm of eighty acres, near the old homestead, to 
which he has added aoother eighty, and upon which he still resides. In 
addition to farming, Mr. Ogles is also quite extensively engaged in stock- 
raising, and gives special attention to the breeding of Norman horses. 
He was married, May -4, 1865, to Miss Margaret E. Summers, a native of 
Jefferson County, Ky. Five sons have blessed their union, viz.: George 
W., James G., John L., Orlando E. and Orie D. In politics, Mr. Ogles 
is a Democrat. 

MARTIN PARKER, merchant, was born in Adams Township, Mor- 
gan County, Ind., October 3, 1834; is the eldest of ten children born to 
William H. and Barthenia P. (Dobbs) Parker, the former a native of 
East Tennessee, and the latter of Kentucky. They were of English and 
Scotch-Irish descent respectively. William H. Parker emigrated with 
his parents from Tennessee to Putnam County, Ind., when only ^fourteen 
years old, in 1827. From thence they came, after about one year, to 
what is now Adams Township, ^Morgan County, Ind. Here the 
father of William H. entered eighty acres of wild land, and with the help 
of his son and only heir improved a farm. This place William H. inher- 
ited at his father's death, and to it he added until he was the owner of 
a well-improved farm of some 400 acres. In this county he was also 
married. In 1846 or 1847, he engaged in the general mercantile trade, 
in connection with farming, and continued the same at Mount Washing- 
ton and Eminence for some twenty-five or twenty-six years. He was one 
of the Township Trustees, under the old constitution, for several terms, 
and was also Postmaster. He was one of the men who helped to grub 
the right of way of the old National Plank Road, through the present vil- 
lage of Stilesville. Himself and wife were members of the Baptist Church. 
His death occurred in September, 1875, and that of Mrs. Parker in Sep- 
tember of the previous year. Martin Parker, the subject, received an 
education in the subscription schools of the Indiana frontier. He re- 
mained on the home farm until he was twenty years old. He then took 
a lease of twenty acres, which he cleared and upon which he remained 
one year. After this he moved onto a partially improved farm of forty 
acres belonging to his wife, where he remained another year. He then 
farmed the home place on shares for one year. After this he farmed on 
shares in Putnam Count