(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of Warren County, New Jersey"






^"^^'^••'^^"" 





¥2 



Cornell University 
Library 



The original of this book is in 
the Cornell University Library. 

There are no known copyright restrictions in 
the United States on the use of the text. 



http://www.archive.org/details/cu31924010411118 



OLIhl 
F 

m 

\A/2 

cm 



CORNELL university: 

LIBRARIES 

ITHACA, N. Y. 14583 




JOHN M. OLlN» 
LIBRARY 






DATE DUE 


£=:?^^ 


































































































































' 
















GAYLOBD 






PRINTED IN U.SA | 



HISTORY 



OF 



WARREN COUNTY 

NEW JERSEY 



BY 



GEORGE WYCKOFF CUMMINS, Ph. D.. M. D. 

Formerly Instructor in Mathematics in Yale University; Fellow of the Americap 
Association for the Advancement of Science; Member of the American Medical 
Association, Medical Society of New Jersey, etc., etc.; Ex-President of the 
Warren County Medical Society; Author of Genealogical Articles in Snell's 
"History of Sussex and Warren Counties," and Chamber's "Early Germans of 
New Jersey," "Indian Relics Around Belvidere," ''A Four Thousand Year 
Calendar," "The Annealing of Copper," and many other Scientific Papers. 



ILLUSTRATED 



NEW YORK 

LEWIS HISTORICAL PUBLISHING COMPANY 

1911 



Copyright, ■-' 
Lewis Historical Publishing Company. 
igii. 



PREFACE 

The aim of this work is to give such a description of important 
events relating to the region now known as Warren County, New 
Jersey, as will enable us to understand the development of conditions as 
we know them to-day. 

Written history is a narrative of the deeds of men and of the 
motives that actuate them. The reader will pardon, therefore, if 
much of this History of Warren County is narrated as a part of the 
lives of men whose deeds are the history proper. 

It is purposed to give only as much of the State and National his- 
tories as will render clear the part that Warren County and her sons 
have played in them. Official records have been examined at Trenton, 
Burlington, Newton, Morristown and Belvidere, as well as every 
known historical work bearing on the subject, a list of which may be 
seen in the Bibliography. A previously published work has given 
important material in our history between 1800 and 1880. 

In this work will be found published for the first time a great deal 

of material dealing with the early history of our county. It has been a 

real pleasure to look up much that was not clear in our history before 

1750. The author is much indebted to Miss Mary Clark, of Belvidere; 

Dr. John H. Griffith, of Phillipsburg; ex-Mayor Nicholas Harris, of 

Belvidere; and to many others, for valuable aid in collecting material 

for this work. 

THE AUTHOR. 



ADDENDA AND ERRATA 



p. i6i, next to last parag. : The Joseph Kirkbride tract was bought in 1778 by Captain 
Joseph Mackey. 

P. 164: The D. A. R. have erected a tablet on the site of the Brainerd cabin. 

P. 176: Josiah Ketcham, ancestor of that family in this country, was born in East 
Jersey in 1673, and settled near Karrsville about 1800. Here he raised a large fam- 
ily, the eldest son of whom was Andrew, born 1791, died 1868, at Townsbury, 
where he had lived since 1815. His son, Joseph Ketcham, was for many years 
editor of the Belvidere Apollo. 

P. 197 : In paragraph relating to Mansfield Baptist Church ; the present pastor is Rev. 
William V. Allen. 

P. 204: The iron interests at Oxford were owned by the Robesons until about 1770. 

P. 207 : View of Stone Bridge at Bridgeville : This bridge was built in 1857, not 1836. 

P. 210, parag. i : Where appears name, Mrs. Kiefer, read Mrs. George Kiefer. 

P. 215, 2nd parag.: Joseph McMurtrie bought the Alford tract in 1750, not 1746. 



CONTENTS 



Page 
CHAPTER I— From the Earliest Times to the End qf Proprietary Govern- 
ment, 1609-1702 — Explorations by Verrazano and Hudson — The New Neth- 
erlands — Covenant of Corlear — -The Old Wime Road — Conquest by English 
— Grant to Berkeley and Carteret — Temporary Reoccupation by the Dutch 
— The Twenty-four Proprietors— New Jersey a Part of New England — New 
Charter Given by Queen Anne ] 

CHAPTER II — From End of Proprietary Government to the First Settlement, 
1702-1725 — Purchase of Indians' Possessory Rights — The Delaware, Indians 
— John Reading Jr.'s Journal — Early Surveys 9 

CHAPTER III — From Earliest Settlements to the Formation of Sussex County, 
1725-1753 — Early Visitors — First Settlers — Early Counties of New Jersey — 
The Log Jail 22 

CHAPTER IV — From the Formation of Sussex County to the End. of the 
French and Indian War, 1753-1763 — Rapid Growth in Population — The Indian 
Walk — Indian Hostilities — Tom Quick — Block Houses 27 

CHAPTER V — From the French and Indian War to the End of the Revolution, 
1763-1783 — Map Published in 1777 — The Stamp Act — Resolutions on Closing 
of Boston Harbor — John Cleves Symmes — Committees of Safety — Articles of 
Association — Tory Association — Battles of Lexington and Concord — Battle 
of Bunker Hill, and Death of General Warren — New Jersey Militia — New 
Jersey's Declaration of Independence — Confirmation of Constitution — Max- 
well's Brigade — The Indian Campaign — Tories — Jane McCrea 32 

CHAPTER VI— From the End of the Revolution to the Formation of Warren 
County — Money — Post Roads and Stage Routes — Progress of a Century — Dur- 
ham Boats — War of 1812 — Merino Sheep Fever — Coal — ^Division of Sussex 
County 56 

CHAPTER VII— The People of Warren County— Hollanders, English, Scotch- 
Irish, German — Eflfect of French and Indian War on Population — Recent 
Immigration 72 

CHAPTER VIII — From the Forination of Warren County to the End of the 
Civil War, 1824-1865 — Militia — Morris Canal — Slavery — Benjamin Lundy, the 
Original Abolitionist — The Civil War 76 

CHAPTER IX— From the End of the Civil War to the Present Time, 1865-1911 
— Development of Towns-^Organs — Railroads, Trolleys and Macadamized 
Roads — Telephones^ Bicycles and Automobiles — Newspapers 87 



vi. CONTENTS 

CHAPTER X— History of the Development of the Physical Features of War- 
ren County — Geology, Coastal Plain, Elevation, Erosion, Great Glacier, 
Lakes, Meadows — Minisink 9" 

CHAPTER XI— Civil List of Warren County— Members of Congress, Gov- 
ernors, State Senators, Assemblymen, Surrogates, County Clerks, Judges, 
Sheriffs, Prosecutors '"" 

CHAPTER XII— Civil Divisions of Warren*County m^^ 

CHAPTER Xirr—Allamuchy— Quaker Settlement— Lundy—Wiretown— Mead- 
ville io« 

CHAPTER XlV—Belvidere— William Penn Tract— Colonel Alford Tract- 
Early Settlers — Water Power — The Alfred Thomas Industries — Banks- 
Churches — Schools — Park 1 12 

CHAPTER XV— Blairstown— Early Surveys— Blair— Titman—Wildrick— Blair 

Hall — Churches— Banks 124 

CHAPTER XVI — Frelinghuysen — Green — Lanning — Armstrong — Johnsonburg 
— Old Log Jail — Marksboro — Shiloh — Southtown^-Kerr's Corners — Paulina 
— Yellow Frame — Dark Moon i.^o 

CHAPTER XVII— Franklin — New Village — Cline—Asbury— McCullough— 
Cummins — Richey — Shipman — Woolever — Broadway — Warne — McKinney — 
Lomerson — Cole '. . . . 136 

CHAPTER XVIII — Greenwich — Straw Church — Kennedyville — Bloomsbury — 
Stewartsville — Hulshizer — Cline 14,? 

CHAPTER XIX— Hackettstown— Helms— Hackett—Ayers— Churches, Schools 
and Hotels — Industries — Centenary Collegiate Institute — Sully's Grove 148 

CHAPTER XX— Hardwick— Bernhardt— Shafer— Schools— Lakes — Industries 

— Hankinson 155 

CHAPTER XXI — Harmony — Montana — Churches — Rush — Shipman — Upper 
Harmony, Lower Harmony — DeWitt — Vanatta — Rocksburg — Martin's Creek 
— Brainerd — Totamy — Hutchisons 159 

CHAPTER XXII — Hope— Green— Howell — Moravians— Green's Pond — Silver 
Lake — Mount Hermon — Honeywell — Beatty — Albertson — Swayze — Free 
Union — Kispaugh Mine — Townsbury — Vliet 167 

CHAPTER XXII I — Independence — Wiggins — Cumminstown — Vienna — Fleming 
—Great Meadows — Vliet— Barker's Mill— Petersburg 177 

CHAPTER XXIV — Knowlton — Schools — Ramsaysburg — Delaware — Cummins 
— Adams — Harris — Columbia — Hainesburg — Most Beautiful Bridge in Amer- 
ica — Zion Chapel— Brands — Centerville — Warrington— Polkville — Slate In- 
dustry 184 



CONTENTS vii. 

CHAPTER XXV — Lopatcong—Phillipsburg— Low's Hollow — Delaware Park 
— Peach Orchards — Soapstone 193 

CHAPTER XXVI— Mansfield — Schools— Beattystown—Labar—Karrsville— 
— Timberswamp — Jackson Valley — Oxford Tunnel — Port Murray — Anderson 
— Rockport — Mount Bethel— Egbert's — Penwell — Oxford— County House.. 194 

CHAPTER XXVII— Oxford— Green— Axford— Scott's Mountain— Mount No 
More — Jenny Jump — Oxford Furnace — Shippen — Scranton — Buttzville — 
Bridgeville — Titman — Banghart — Boyer — Hixson — Hope Station — Sarepta — 
Manunka Chunk — Hazen — Foul Rift — Lommasson — Butler — McMurtrie — 
White — Mackey — Prall 201 

CHAPTER XXVIII— Pahaquarry— Mount Tammany— Mount Minsi— Water 
Gap — Blockade Mountain — Kittatinny — Buckwood Park — Dupui — Manwala- 
raink — Old Mine Holes — Old Mine Road — Van Campen — Minisink 218 

CHAPTER XXIX— Phillipsburg—Chintewink—Coxe—Feit—Roseberry— Mar- 
tin's Ferry — Bridges — Churches — Schools — Industries — Hotels — Banks — ^Trol- 
leys 226 

CHAPTER XXX— Pohatcong— Railroads— Schools— Industries— Riegelsville— 
Laubach — Carpentersville — Alpha — Warren Paper Mills — Hughesville— ^Fines- 
ville — Siegletown — Springtown — Straw Church 240 

CHAPTER XXXI— Washington Township— Port Colden—Changewater— Car- 
ter and Parks — Jackson Valley — Wyckoff — Roaring Rock — Wandling — Bow- 
er's Foundry — Fitts — Pleasant Valley — Weller 245 

CHAPTER XXXII— Washington Borough— Mansfield Wood House— Col. Mc- 
CuUough — Early Land Owners — Churches — Schools — Industries — Banks... 251 

CHAPTER XXXIII — Organizations— Meeting Houses— Presbyterians, Luth- 
erans, German Reformed, Friends, Baptists, Episcopalians, Methodist Epis- 
copal, Christian, Catholic — Warren County Bible Society — Sunday School 
Association — Masons, Odd Fellows, Knights of Pythias, Red Men, American 
Mechanics, Junior American Mechanics, Maccabees, Grand Army of the Re- 
public, Daughters of Liberty, Sons of Veterans^ — Medical Society — County 
Fair — Farmers' Picnic 259 

CHAPTER XXXI V— Bibliography 268 



CHAPTER I. 



From the Earliest Times to the End of Proprietary Govern- 
ment. 



1609 — 1702. 



Warren county, named in honor of the gallant General Joseph 
Warren, who died at Bunker Hill, came into existence on November 
20, 1824, by an act of the legislature of the State of New Jersey. But 
before we can speak of the region as Warren county, there are two 
centuries of American history to consider, which is sadly interwoven 
with that of Europe. Although Verrazano doubtless visited the Bay 
of New York in 1523, that does not detract in any way from the honor 
due to Henry Hudson, who anchored his ship, the "Half Moon," on 
the 3rd of September, 1609, within Sandy Hook, having previously 
entered Delaware Bay on August 28th, for from this visit resulted the 
first settlements on the soil of New Jersey and New York. He spent 
a week examining the neighboring shores, during which one of his 
men, named John Coleman, was killed by an arrow shot through his . 
throat during an attack on a ship's boat by twenty-six Indians In two 
canoes. On this visit, white men for the first time set foot on the soil 
of New Jersey. 

Hudson continued his explorations up the river that bears his 
name, which he called the North River to distinguish it from the 
Delaware, which he called the South River. 

The (United) Netherlands claimed all the land between Cape 
Cod and Virginia by virtue of Hudson's discovery, as he was at that 
time in the employ of the Dutch East India Company. They called 



2 Warren County. 

the territory The New Netherlands^ and lost no time to profit by the 
discovery. 

The next year, 1610, a vessel was sent to trade with the Indians, 
and made so much profit that other private- ventures followed. In 
1 6 13 some buildings were erected ^or trading purposes on Manhattan 
Island. In 161 5, Fort Nassau was erected on Castle Island, which 
was abandoned in 161 8. 

In 16 17 the Dutch made a settlement at Bergen. In 1621 a char- 
ter was granted to the West India Company which made the first real 
efforts to colonize the New Netherlands. Cornelius Jacobse Mey, the 
first director of New Netherlands, with thirty families, arrived at Man- 
hattan In May, 1622. He erected Fort Amsterdam, on the site of 
New York, and a new trading post called Fort Orange on the present 
site of Albany where, a year earlier, the Covenant of Corlear had been 
made, which was a formal treaty between the Dutch and the Five 
Nations of the Iroquois, a treaty which was never broken. The 
English made a similar treaty with the Iroquois in 1664, at Fort 
Orange, which was confirmed In 1688 and again In 1689, ^"d remained 
unbroken. 

William Verhulst succeeded Mey as director In 1624, and Peter 
Minuet became director-general in 1826 and brought over a colony of 
Walloons who settled on the site of Brooklyn. A form of feudal gov- 
ernment was provided for under patroons. Each colony was to be six- 
teen miles in length along a river, and to reach as far back into the 
country as the colonists could settle, and to consist of at least fifty 
adults. This system persisted for more than two hundred years, and 
did not entirely disappear until 1850, when the owners of the original 
land grants sold their rights to the tenants. 

Wouter van TwIUer was made Director-general to succeed Minuet 
In 1633, and. In 1638, Willlarh Kleft succeeded him. The colony had 
hitherto prospered, but now arose trouble with the English settlements 
to the east, and with Swedish settlers to the south, and the mistake was 



Warren County. 3 

made of putting fire-arms into the hands of the Iroquois Indians, who 
were friendly to the Dutch. This caused other tribes to be unfriendly, 
and brought about a war which lasted for five years and drove the set- 
tlers away, so that scarcely one hundred men were left in Manhattan, 
while the river settlements were nearly deserted by 1643. 

It is highly improbable that there were any settlements in the 
Minisink at this time, as has been alleged. Esopus, where the Old 
Mine Road began, was not settled until 1652. Doubtless shortly there- 
after, Dutch pioneers penetrated to Pahaquarry, and, while searching 
for copper, dug the several mine holes which are still to be seen. Speci- 
mens of copper ore from the Minisinks were exhibited in Amsterdam, 
Holland, in 1659, which fact suggests that the discovery of copper 
was a novelty at that time. 

The Old Mine Road led for a hundred miles into the wilderness 
from Esopus to Port Jervis and down the east bank of the Delaware 
river to the old mine holes in Pahaquarry. This was the longest 
stretch of good road for many years in America, and as late as 1800 
was a preferred route for travel between New England and the South 
and West. The ore mined in Pahaquarry was hauled to Esopus, and 
thence shipped to Holland. The workings were abandoned at or 
before the English occupation of the country in 1664, and would have 
been entirely forgotten had not the Old Mine Road kept their memory 
green. 

The sad condition of affairs brought about during Kieft's admin- 
istration was ended in May, 1647, by the arrival of Peter Stuyvesant 
as governor, who destroyed the hostile Indian tribes, settled the bound- 
ary disputes with the English colonies to the east by the treaty of Hart- 
ford in 1650, and brought about such a condition of prosperity that by 
1664 New Amsterdam had a population of 1,500 souls, and 10,000 
people in all dwelt in the New Netherlands. 

This was the condition of affairs when, on August 29, 1664, an 
English squadron under Colonel Richard Nicolls appeared in the 



4 Warren County. 

harbor of New Amsterdam. The New Netherlands, were surrendered 
by Stuyvesant on September 8, and New Amsterdam became New 
York. Charles II, King of England, had already on March 20, 1664, 
granted all this territory to his brother, the Duke of York, who later 
became James II. of England. 

For one year Colonel Nicolls governed all of what had been New 
Netherlands as New York, not knowing that the Duke of York had 
granted to Lord John Berkeley and Sir George Carteret a "Tract of 
land to be called Nova Caesarea, or New Jersey," until in August, 
1665, the first governor of New Jersey, Philip Carteret, a brother of 
Sir George arrived and with some followers settled at Elizabethtown, 
so named after the wife of Sir George Carteret. By the royal grant, 
the government of New Jersey was to be proprietary, that is, the grant 
carried with it not only ownership of the land, but also the right to 
govern and to make laws "Provided they were not contrary to, but as 
near as conveniently might be, agreeable to the laws, statutes and gov- 
ernment of the realm of England." 

New Jersey was named in honor of Sir George Carteret, who had 
held the island of Jersey during the civil war in England. 

The proprietors chose a governor, and he appointed a council, 
the two forming the. executive branch of government. Freeholders in 
New Jersey elected representatives who, with the council and governor, 
composed the general assembly, the first meeting of which was held 
at Elizabethtown, May 26, 1668. 

During a second war with Holland, begun in 1672, the Dutch 
again came into possession of their previous territory, and the New 
Netherlands once more existed. This lasted until a treaty of peace, 
February 28, 1674, at London, restored New York and New Jersey to 
the British. New charters were granted by the Crown to the Duke of 
York and by him to Berkeley and Carteret, to make valid any titles that 
may have been clouded by the Dutch conquest. 

The new grant, however, gave to Carteret that part of New Jer- 



Warren County. 5 

sey to the east of a line drawn north from Barnegat, thereafter known 
as East New Jersey, and to Berkeley that part to the west of the line, 
known as West New Jersey. For many years the exact position of this 
line was in dispute, and several different lines were surveyed, but the. 
land of Warren County was always in West Jersey. 

By the royal charter, all the rights given were assignable. Ac- 
cordingly, we find that Berkeley, on March 18, 1673, sold his interest in 
West Jersey for £1000 to John Fenwicke as trustee for Edward Byl- 
linge, who were both Quakers. Fenwicke sailed for West Jersey in 
the ship "Griffith," in 1675, which was the first English vessel to arrive 
in New Jersey with immigrants, and landed at Salem. Byllinge was 
soon forced to assign his property to William Penn, Gawn Lawrie and 
Nicholas Lucas, also Quakers, who sold some of their interest in the 
property to their friends. 

A government for West Jersey was established with Byllinge as 
governor, who ruled by a deputy. The first assembly of West Jersey 
met at Burlington, in 1681, and drew up a document guaranteeing lib- 
erty of conscience for all, and an assembly to be chosen by the people, • 
which should make laws and levy taxes, and which could not be dis- 
solved or adjourned without its own consent. 

The deputy-governors of West Jersey from 1681 to 1702 were 
Samuel Jennings, Thomas Olive, John Skeine, William Welsh, Daniel 
Coxe and Andrew Hamilton. 

Sir George Carteret, the sole proprietary of East Jersey, died in 
1679, and his heirs in February, 1682, sold to William Penn and eleven 
other Quakers all their rights to the province, which then contained 
5,000 inhabitants, mostly Quakers. These twelve became associated 
with twelve prominent men of various beliefs, and secured from the 
Duke of York a third grant for East Jersey on March 14, 1682. The 
names of the twenty-four proprietors of East Jersey are: 

James, Earl of Perth, John Drummond, Robert Barclay, David 
Barclay, Robert Gordon, Arent Sonmans. William Penn. Robert West, 



6 Warren County. 

Thomas Rudyard, Samuel Groom, Thomas Hart, Richard Mew, 
Ambrose Rigg, John Heywood, Hugh Hartshorne, Clement Plum- 
stead, Thomas Cooper, Gawen Lawrie, Edward Byllinge, James Brain, 
William Gibson, Thomas Barker, Robert Turner and Thomas Wame. 

This purchase put all of New. Jersey decidedly under Quaker 
influence. 

When the Duke of York, a Roman Catholic, became James II. 
of England, in 1685, he attempted to recall all the charters that had 
been given to New York, New Jersey and New England, and to unite 
these colonies under one governor as governor of New England. This 
was partly successful, and New York and New Jersey were nominally 
a part of New England under Governor Andros from 1688 to 1689, 
when the British revolution raised William and Mary to the throne and 
put an end to this design to govern New Jersey as part of New Eng- 
land, but left East and West Jersey with no charter and no government 
from 1689 to 1692, excepting such local governments as the county and 
town officers might give. 

The proprietaries appointed, in 1 690, John Latham as governor, 
and, in 1691, Col. Joseph Dudley, but the people would obey neither 
one, possibly because, the charters having been revoked and surren- 
dered, the proprietaries would have no right to appoint a governor. 
Then, in 1692, Andrew Hamilton was appointed, but he had to be 
recalled (in 1697) as no Scotchman could at that time occupy a place 
of public trust and profit. In 1698 Jeremiah Basse was appointed 
governor, but not securing royal approbation, was not obeyed. Again 
Andrew Hamilton was appointed, but his appointment did not receive 
royal sanction. 

The proprietors having given up their charter, finding themselves 
practically unable to govern the provinces, and, above all, fearing for 
their own proprietary rights in the soil, decided to give up the govern- 
ment to the Crown, unconditionally, in the confidence that the Crown 
would "grant and confirm to them their lands and quit-rents, with 



Warren County. 7 

such other liberties, franchises and privileges as were granted to them 
by the late King James, when Duke of York, or have been granted by 
His Majesty to other proprietors of provinces in America, except the 
powers of government." 

This was all done by Queen Anne in 1702, when East and West 
Jersey were united under one government, and Lord Cornbury was 
made governor of New Jersey as well as of New York, the commission 
and instructions which Cornbury received formed the constitution and 
government of New Jersey until its declaration of independence. 

The new government was composed of the governor and twelve 
counsellors, nominated by the Crown, and an assembly, of twenty-four 
members, to be elected by the people, and whose sessions were to be held 
alternately at Perth Amboy and Burlington. "The Assembly was con- 
stituted of two members from Amboy, two from Burlington, two from 
Salem, and two from each of the nine counties." No person was eli- 
gible to the Assembly who did not possess a freehold of one thousand 
acres of land within the division for which he was chosen, or personal 
estate to the value of five hundred pounds sterling; and the qualification 
of an elector was a freehold estate in one hundred acres of land, or per- 
sonal estate to the value of fifty pounds sterling. The house was to 
be prorogued and dissolved at the governor's pleasure. Laws enacted 
by the Council and Assembly were subject to veto by the governor, and 
were to be confirmed or disallowed by the Crown. The governor, 
with the consent of the Council was empowered to constitute courts of 
law, appoint all civil and military officers, and to conduct hostilities 
against public enemies. The Church of England was established. Cath- 
olics were barred from office, and no printing press was permitted, nor 
anything allowed to be printed without the license of the governor. 

The new constitution gave the proprietaries and the people fewer 
privileges by far than they had enjoyed before under the concession of 
the original proprietors, which had granted "absolute religious free- 
dom; exemption from every species of imposition not levied by their 



8 Warren County. 

assemblies; the establishment of the judiciary by the governor, council 

and assembly; exemption from military duty of those conscientiously 

against bearing arms * * * and the right of the assembly alone 

to enact laws provided they were agreeable to the fundamental laws of 

England and not repugnant to the concessions" of the proprietaries. 

In 1702 the population of New "Jersey, numbering about 10,000, 

consisted largely of Quakers, Presbyterians, and Anabaptists, who had 

been forced to flee from England and Scotland before active religious 

persecution ceased with the British revolution in 1689, together with a 

few Swedes and Dutch. 

The militia of New Jersey numbered fourteen hundred men at 
this time. 



CHAPTER II. 



From End of Proprietary Government to the First Settle- 
ment. 



1702 — 1725. 



Until 1702, New Jersey was a proprietary government. The 
Duke of York received from his brother, Charles the Second, not only 
the ownership of the soil but also the right of government. "In like 
manner the title to the soil and the right of government passed from 
the Duke of York to Sir George Carteret and Lord John Berkeley, and 
from them to their grantees in East and West Jersey respectively." 
After all the proprietary rights were surrendered to the Crown in 1702, 
the new grant from Queen Anne to the proprietors gave only a title to 
the soil so far as undisposed of — the Crown retaining the power to 
govern. 

From the first, the proprietors deemed it the best policy to buy 
from the Indians their rights to the various tracts of land before grant- 
ing any one a right to survey lands in those tracts, and it has never been 
said that the government of New Jersey has, in any case, taken any of 
the rights from the Indians without full and satisfactory compensation. 

In 1677, commissioners were sent by the proprietors of West 
Jersey with power to buy land of the natives. On September 10, 1677, 
they received a deed for the land between Rankokas creek and Timber 
creek; on September 27, 1677, for that between Oldman's creek and 
Timber creek; and on October 10, 1677, for that between Rankokus 
creek and Assunpink. In the year 1703 another purchase was made 
by the council of proprietors of West Jersey, of land lying above the 
falls of the Delaware (Trenton), which included 150,000 acres of 
land in Hunterdon county. 



10 Warren County. 

The land of Warren county was obtained from the Indians by 
what is known as "The last purchase made by the Council of Propri- 
etors above the branches of Rarington between the River Delaware and 
the bounds of the Eastern Division of the said Province." 

For this purpose, Governor Robert Hunter, on December 5, 17 12, 

"Lycensed and authorized . . Daniel Coxe, Thomas Gard- 
ner, Joseph Kirkbride, Thomas Stevenson, Peter Fretwell and John 
Wills, to call togeather the Indians or native inhabitants that profess 
to be or call themselves owners of any tract or tracts of Land in the 
Western Division of the said province and to treet with, bye, purchase 
and accept of a deed or deeds of sale from said Indians or natives in 
behalf of themselves and of such others of the proprietors of the said 
western division as they shall associate to themselves before the making 
of such purchase eranging of such deed or deeds such quantity or num- 
ber of ackers of land or lands yet unpurchased as they by virtue of 
those proprietyes are entitled to take up or to make further purchase 
of, provided the said purchase be made and entered in the proprietors' 
office of this province within two years after the date hereof and for 
soedoing this shall be a sufficient warrant." 

In accordance with this warrant, the Commissioners called .together 
the Indians of what is now Warren and part of Sussex counties, and on 
August 18, 1 7 13, secured four deeds from the Indian owners of that 
territory. The deeds were recorded on December 4, 17 14, on the last 
day allowable by the commission from Governor Hunter. The follow- 
ing is an abstract from the Indian deed for the Southern part of War- 
ren County. It Is recorded In book BBB of deeds, page 144, in the 
office of the Secretary of State at Trenton: 

"On August 18, 1713, Sasakamon, Wowapekoshot and Wenacci- 
koman, Indian Sachemas and owners of land in the western division 
of New Jersey sold to Daniel Coxe, Matthew Gardner, Thomas Stev- 
enson, Joseph Kirkbride, John Budd, John Wills, and .Peter Fretwell 
all of them proprietors and commissioners empowered by his excellency. 
Col. Robert Hunter, Governor of the province of New Jersey to pur- 
chase-lands of the Indians, for and In consideration of ten guns, fiveteen 
blankets, fiveteen kettles, twenty matchcoats, twenty shirts, eight 



Warren County. i i 

strouds, ten paire of stockings, three paire of shoes and buckles, ten 
pound of powder, twenty-five barrs of lead, ten hatchets, twenty knives, 
rive pounds in silver money, three coates, ten hilling hoes, ten pounds of 
red lead, ten looking glasses, fivety awles, one hundred botls, fiveteen 
paire of tobacco tongs, five gallons of rum, ten tobacco boxes, and one 
hundred needles, all that tract of land bounded with the River Dela- 
ware on the south and southwestwardly sides on the north with the land 
late Matamyska's now sold to the proprietors, on the eastward by the 
land purchased of the Indians by Col. Loursmans and the last purchase 
made by the proprietors on the lower side of the Musconetcong river. 
"In witness whereof we the above named Sasakamon, Wowa- 
pekoshot, and Wenaccikomaii have hereunto Set our Hand and Seales 
the eighteenth day of August in the yeare of our Lord one Thousand 
Seven Hundred & thirteen and in the twelfth yeare of the Reigne of our 
Sovereign Lady Anne Queen over Great Britain, France and Ireland, 
etc." 

The Indian possessory rights to the northern portion of Warren 
County were transferred to the proprietors by a deed recorded in book 
BBB of deeds, page 140, in the oflice of the Secretary of State at Tren- 
ton. It is, in part, as follows : 

"On Aug. 18, 1 7 13, Menakahikkon, Mattamiska, Lappawinza 
and Ungoon, Indian Sachemas, for and in consideration of sixteen 
strouds, twenty duffles, one and twenty blankets, thirteen guns, three 
large kettles, fourteen small kettles, three coates, twenty shirts, twenty 
paire of stockings, five pounds in silver money, six caines, fourty pounds 
of gunpowder, fourty barrs of lead, six hatts, twenty hatchets, twenty 
hoes, six drawing knives, six hand saws, twenty paire of tobacco tongs, 
three hundred tobacco pipes, one hundred knives, one hundred paire of 
sissers, six frying pans, fourteen pounds of red lead, twelve looking 
glasses, five paire of spectacles, twenty tobacco boxes, five pewter por- 
ringers, fourty jews harps, two hundred awles, one hundred neadles, 
two hundred fishhooks, twenty-one gallons of rum, one barrell of cyder, 
ten gallons of molasses, five gallons of wine, twenty-four glass bottles, 
one hundred small botls, and three pounds in black and white wampum 
sold land bounded northwards with the land of Queneemaka, eastward 
with the river Musconetcong or the lands of Taphow and his relations 
southwards with the lands of Sasakeman, Wowapekoshot, and Wanka- 
nicoman, and westward with the River Delaware." 



12 Warren County. 

The land of Queneemaka referred to was "about four miles 
higher upon the river than Pahaqualong, unto or neare the upper part 
of the Minnisinks." 

A "stroud," mentioned in the consideration, was a kind of coarse 
blanket; a duffle was a kind of coarse m>olen cloth having a thick nap, 
and is a name still applied to a square of soft woolen cloth which is 
folded around the ankle and foot instead of a stocking. 

On October 26, 1758, at Easton, Pennsylvania, at a great confer- 
ence of 507 Indians with Governor Bernard, of New Jersey, Sheriff 
Orndt, of Northampton County, and the New Jersey Commissioners 
for Indian affairs, the Indians acknowledged and delivered deeds that 
gave up all their claims to land in New Jersey. One of these deeds 
was dated September 12, 1758, for "All the lands lying in New Jersey 
south of a line from Paoqualin mountains at Delaware River, to the 
falls of Alamatung on the north branch of Raritan TRiver thence down 
that river to Sandy Hook." This deed was acknowledged by Teedyus- 
cung, Unwallacon and Tespascawen, and witnessed by three chiefs of 
the Six Nations. The other deed was dated October 23, 1758, and 
was for all land in New Jersey north of the same line, which ran from 
the Water Gap to Sandy Hook, and was given by sixteen chiefs of the 
Munsies, Wopings, and Opings or Pomptons, endorsed by Ninham 
and approved by the Six Nations. Although this gave up the last of 
the Indians' title to the lands of New Jersey, yet in 1832 the legislature 
made a payment of $2,000 to the Delaware Indians, who were then 
living in Wisconsin, for any remaining rights they might have to or in 
New Jersey. 

The Indians living in New Jersey and Eastern Pennsylvania called 
themselves the Lenni-Lenape, but are more commonly referred to as 
the Delawares, from one of the rivers upon which they dwelt, and 
which they called the Lenape-Wihittuck. In New Jersey they num- 
bered in all less than two thousand, but, since they moved frequently 
from place to place, these few were able to occupy the whole State. 



Warren County. 13 

The Lennl-Lenapes were acknowledged as ancestors by forty 
mighty tribes inhabiting the country from Labrador to Hudson's Bay, 
and from the Atlantic to the Mississippi as far south as Roanoke, Vir- 
ginia. The only Indian tribes in the northeast that did not acknowledge 
them as ancestors were the Mengwe, better known as the Iroquois, of 
Central New York, who had formed a powerful confederation known 
as the Five Nations, just before Hudson made his great discovery. 
The Mengwe and the Lenni-Lenapes were hereditary enemies, which 
fact explains why, in time of war, some Indians were hostile and others 
friendly to £he white settlers. 

The Iroquois were always faithful to the treaty they had made 
with the Dutch in 161 7, called the treaty of Corlear, and to the one 
made with the English in 1664. 

The Delawares in a similar way made a treaty with William Penn 
at Philadelphia, on November 4, 1682, and, since William Penn and 
his Quaker friends had acquired the greater part of the proprietary 
rights to New Jersey, this treaty had its effect also in that State. 

The Delaware Indians were subdivided into numerous tribes, 
which were commonly distinguished by the names of creeks, plains, or 
mountains of the district they frequented. Those along the upper 
Delaware were the "Minsi," having the name of Mount Minsi at the 
Water Gap. Those further south were the "Unami," or Tortoise. 
Samuel Smith, in his "History of New Jersey," published in 1765, 
discusses the Indians, saying : 

"Their houses or wigwams were sometimes together in towns, but 
mostly moveable, and occasionally fixed near a spring or other water, 
according to the conveniences for hunting, fishing, basket making or 
other business of that sort and built with poles laid on forked sticks in 
the ground with bark, flags or bushes on top and sides, with an opening 
to the south, their fire in the middle ; at night they slept on the ground 
with their feet towards it; their clothing was a coarse blanket or skin 
thrown over the shoulder, which covered to the knee and a piece of the 
same tied around their legs, with part of a deer skin sewed around their 
feet for shoes;" 



14 Warren County. 

"In person they were upright and straight in their limbs * * * 
the color of their skin a tawny reddish brown ; the whole fashion of their 
lives of a piece ; hardy, poor and squalid. * * * They got fire by 
rubbing wood of particular sorts (as the antients did out of ivy and 
bays) by turning the end of a hard piece upon one that was soft and 
dry; to forward the heat they put dry rotten wood and leaves; with the 
help of fire and their stone axes, they wbuld fell large trees, and after- 
wards scoop them into bowls, etc." 

After the possessory rights of the Indians had been bought, ex- 
plorations and surveys were made on behalf of the proprietors. We 
are fortunate in having a diary recording the experiences of a survey- 
ing party in Warren County in 17 1 5. It was written by John Reading, 
Jr., son of John Reading, a deputy surveyor for West Jersey, and is in 
possession of the New Jersey Historical Society, to whom it was pre- 
sented by Mr. John Rutherford. That part of the diary referring to 
Warren County is as follows : 

"1715 May 15th. We designed for Pahackqualong but at our 
departure father and several others came; we set out, thirteen in com- 
pany, and lodged that night in an Indian town * * on Joseph 
Kirkbride's land. 

"i6th we passed over Suckasunning where some gathered iron 
stone; we crossed the head of both branches of Rarington, and over 
Musknetkong river, being part of the Delaware river; when we had 
crossed this river we met with limestone, being the first we saw. We 
arrived at Allamuch Ahokkingen in the afternoon being an Indian 
plantation * .* * Just before we came to said plantation we had 
sight of Pahackqualong and of the cleft where the river Delaware 
passes through the same * * * 

"May 17. Samuel Green, Joshua Wright and I set out for 
Pahauckqualong. On our way we crossed the main branch of Paquas- 
sing [Pequest] and about three miles on the other side in Pahuckqua- 
path [Johnsonsburg] we met with John Cramer and Marmaduke Wat- 
son who went into the woods the night before to seek lands and now 
returning Marmaduke went back with us * * We went as high as 
Tohockonetcong River [Paulins Kill] being a branch of the Delaware 
a considerable big stream. Marmaduke pitched a lott there. I would 
have surveyed It but was obstructed by the Indians. We viewed the 
land and lodged th^re that night. 



Warren County. 15 

"May 1 8th. Marmaduke on the morning returned homewards 
and we set forwards for Pahiick [Indian village in Pahaquarry]. We 
crossed the above said Tohockonetcong kept the path for the cleft in 
the hill where Minnisinks path goeth through. We ascended the hill 
up the same which is caused by a considerable brook which issueth 
from the top of the same and with difficulty got to the top thereof 
where we had a prospect of the Indian Plantations below us at the foot 
of the northwesterly side of the said hill. We descended the same and 
took view of the land with an intention to survey it. The Shawwenoe 
Indians came from their towns across the river to us. We went near the 
river side down to the low end of the lowerland of which about 100 ac. 
is very rich but the rest indifferent. All the plantations upon the same 
by the Shawwenoe Indians. We went still down the river along a 
narrow piece of lowland about one and one-half miles till we came to 
one of our Indian Plantations where the owner of the same opposed our 
surveying and would not let us proceed on the same. After some dis- 
course concerning the purchass of the land we departed and set forward 
for Penungauchongh (Manunka Chunk). We got an Indian to put 
us into the path which crosseth the aforesaid mountains. We then re- 
turned back again and ascended the said mountain in the said path. 
The hill riseth by steps which are in some places very steep and rocky. 
We judged the hill to be about three-fourths of a mile high, the top of 
which is very rocky and not above 2 rods across the very ridge of the 
same before it descended the other way. We took the course of the 
river having a fair view of the same upwards and it seems to run N. E. 
The hill itself runs E. N. E. We likewise took the course of the 
Penungauchongh lying upon the Delaware river about a mile above 
Pophanunk river [Pequest] and it bore S. W. 70° from us. We went 
on the top of the mountain towards the river about one-half of a mile 
where in our way we killed a rattle and a green snake. We had the 
sight of a piece of low land lying down the river but it seemed to belong 
to Pensilvania and an Island. From the top of the mountain we had 
a view of both provinces viz. Pensylvania and Jersey. Pensilvania 
seems very montainy and barren very thin of timber and most of that 
pine. After this respite we descended the mountain and followed the 
path to the foot of the same but then left it and went near the said 
mountain. We went down to Tohockonetcong river where we lodged 
that night. 

"May 19. We set forward in the morning for the cleft in the 
aforesaid mountain where the river passes through. In our way we 
could not find any good land. We arrived at the same about ten of 
the clock — the passage of the river here is narrow but it runneth deep. 
S[amuel] G[reen] and I went up the same to a rock which shoots 



i6 Warren County. 

from the hill to the river and deneys a passage for a path any further, 
which is about 20 foot high, against which we set an Indian ladder; 
[a tree with limbs cut short for steps]. We ascended the same and at 
the top thereof left those letters R. S. 17 15 and descended. We kept 
the river side * * * (.g (j^g aforesaid hill where we got our din- 
ner and took up our quarters it raining very fast part of the afternoon 
and lodged there all night. ^ 

"May 20. We surveyed a tract of land for father at the head of 
which we met Thomas Stevenson [another surveyor] including the 
above said hill called Penungauchong which hill gathers itself out of a 
piece of low land, very handsomely proportioning in shape the high 
roof of a house and in height 700 foot'. We also surveyed a lott for 
Robert Field adjoining to the above said tract and fronting upon the 
river Delaware. At our return to the aforesaid hill we met father and 
R. Bull, Z. Wetherill and John Chapman who were gathering slate 
at the foot of the same. We all went to the [quarters] we had made 
the night before and there slept, father relating the discoveries made 
by them viz, of a large lake called Huppachong [Hopatcong] and of a 
rock at the end of the other branch. 

"May 21. In the morning a dissention arose among the people. 
* * * * We parted near Penunqueachong, [Manunka Chunk] 
father and I making our way for Allamuchahokking the rest going 
down the river * * * "S^q went up a river called Pophanunk 
[Pequest] a considerable big stream about 2 or 5 rood over and is the 
same which above is called Paquassing. We kept up the same river 
until we came to the path which comes from Rarington and goeth to 
Pahukqualong * * * 

"May 22. Taking a path which leads to Pepeck we crossed Mus- 
conetcong which divides the purchases and kept the path which lead us 
to a very pleasant pond [Budds Lake] lying upon the head of a 
branch of Rarington * * * * We kept the path about two 
miles farther to an Indian plantation called Chanongong were we slept 
that night. 

"May 23. We went back in the morning to the aforesaid pond 
where we laid out a tract, having got an Indian to help us, and lay 
there by the pond all night. 

"May 25. Father set forward to go home * * * ^nd I 
went back for AUamucha where I arrived two hours before night and 
whither after awhile came Joseph Wright, Thomas Weatherill and 
John Chapman who had been surveying a lot for William Penn. All 
lodged there that night. 

"May 26. Wright set forward for home. I and the rest having 
an Indian for our guide called Nomalughalen went upon the discovery. 



Warren County. 17 

le. took the path toward Tohockonetcong river crossing Paquessing 
fiver). Then the Indian seemed very unwilling to go any further 
lat way saying that the Tohockhonetcong Indians would be angry with 
m for showing their land; he went home again * * we returned 
I Allamucha. 

"May 29. We had a design to leave these parts. We took the 
ith to Paquessing where Samuel Green had promised to leave a note 
ith information of their proceedings at an Indian Wickwam, but 
e found none. We baited our horses and refreshed ourselves 
vhile, and then set forward. Arrived at Muskonetkong about half 
1 hour after sunset, went a little below the path and lodged there 
1 night. 

"May 30. Explored down the Muskonetkong * * * ^g 
lund an Indian called Nopuck and his son a fishing; they had two 
h ready roasted, one they gave us and told us if we would stay till 
s sons caught more (who then went out with their bows and arrows 
shoot the same) he would give us some * * * \Ye still kept 
ong the river side running in a pleasant stream until we came to an 
idian path which leads to Monsaloquaks [in Hunterdon County] at 
I old Indian plantation called Pelouesse. Here we refreshed our- 
Ives * * * -^g jg^y along the side of the river all night, by 
mputation from our night's lodging before about twelve miles. 

"May 31. Surveyed along said Muskonetkong river. June i 
e traversed the river still higher with intention to lay out a lot for 
[ahlon Stacy, and completed the same, when after our arrival at our 
)rses Thomas Stevenson and Samuel Green came up the river in quest 
' us and told us that our labors there bestowed upon the river was all 
vain, for they had surveyed the land before us. * * * After a 
tie refreshment we set homeward. * * * 

"The reasons for our return so soon, our provisions were spent our 
)rses had cast their shoes and our own shoes were worn out and our 
iparel gone to decay, so that we wanted to recruit. 

"June 2. We arrived home in health and safety a little after noon, 
lus Deo." 

Reading between the lines of this journal, we see that in all of 
e present Warren county there was no trace of a white settlement in 
'1 5. There were Indians in every valley, probably a little more 
imerous than formerly, because they had just been crowded out of 
unterdon county and were soon to be crowded out of Warren, for 



1 8 Warren County. 

after the purchase of the possessory rights from the Indians in 17 13, 
surveys were made of the best lands very rapidly. 
Smith said in 1765, in his history: 

"The proprietors of West Jersey, soon after their arrival, divided 
among them * * * ^-^g fjj-sj- dividend * * * ^j^j fo^j. other 
dividends * * * amounting in the whole, with allowance of five 
percent for roads, to 2,625,000 acres conjectured by many to be full as 
much land as the division contains; of this the greater part is already 
surveyed." 

Since all of Warren County was not settled in any way when 
Queen Anne in 1702, April 17, affirmed to the twenty-four proprietors 
by name their title to the lands in New Jersey after they had in April, 
1688, and again in April 15, 1702, surrendered to the Crown all of 
their rights, it would seem vain to go back of that grant for a basis for 
titles to lands in Warren county. To this grant may be added the pur- 
chases from the Indians of their possessory right, by the proprietors in 
1703, 1713 and 1758. 

Francis J. Swayze, in his Sesqui-centennlal address, describes the 
method adopted by the proprietors in dividing the territory of the 
State among -them: 

"West Jersey was sold in hundredths * * * Upon exhibit- 
ing to the register of the Board of Proprietors a title to unlocated 
rights, a warrant was issued to survey and locate the same. A survey 
was then made by the Surveyor General or one of his deputies of any 
land that had not already been located or taken up. This survey was 
returned to the Council of Proprietors, inspected by them, and, if 
approved, ordered to be recorded. This made a title to the lands." 
"All titles are founded first upon rights derived through the proprietors 
to locate land; second a warrant to survey the land;. third the actual 
survey; the return duly inspected and recorded by the Board of Propri- 
etors." 

One of the very earhest grants to an actual settler in Warren 
county was given to George Green, after a survey made November 17, 
1725, as shown in the following copy: 



Warren County. 19 

By Virtue of a Warrant from the Council of Proprietors to me 
directed bearing date the tenth day of March one Thousand Seven 
Hundred and fourteen Requiring me to Survey to the Heirs of Ben- 
jamin Field the quantity of Eighteen Hundred forty and five Acres and 
a half of Land in the Western Division of New Jersey and by Virtue 
of an assignment of Six Hundred and Ten acres Thereof to Geofge 
Green by Nathan Allen Executor of the said Field I have caused the 
Said Six Hundred and ten acres of Land to be surveyed to the Said 
George Green by my Lawful Deputy Samuel Green as by return of the 
survey to me bearing date the Seventeent day of November one 
Thousand Seven Hundred and Twenty-five in the County of Hunter- 
don in the last Indian Purchase made by the Council of Proprietors 
Above the branches of Rarington Between the river Delaware and the 
bounds of the Eastern Division of the Said Province and is bounded as 
follows 

Beginning at a black birch tree marked for a corner and runs 
thence South thirty-four chains and a half to a White Oak marked for 
a corner Standing by the foot of a great Hill then South Westerly thirty 
one degrees fifty six chains to a black oak corner tree then South West- 
erly nineteen Degrees thirty two chains to a White Oak marked for a 
corner then West forty eight chains to a chestnut Tree marked for a 
corner Standing near to a branch of Pohanunk River which said Small 
Branch Runs out of a large Pond, Thence North Thirty nine chains to 
a White Oak marked for a corner then North Easterly Twenty Seven 
Degrees and Sixty nine chains to a great Rock Lying near the afore- 
said Pond of water then East fifty nine chains across the said Pond of 
Water to the first Station. 

Containing Six hundred and ten acres of Land and Water With 
allowance for highways. 

Witness my hand this Twenty-fourth day of January One Thou- 
sand Seven Hundred Twenty and five. 

Jas. Alexander, Sur. General. 

Burlington y 2nd: 12 mo. 1725-6. 

Inspected and approved y above Survey by the Council of Pro- 
prietors and ordered to be recorded. Test. 

John Burr, Clerk. 

A true copy taken from Lib. 1 1 in the Sur. Generals office at Bur- 
lington, Page 57. Examined on behalf of Robt. Smith, Dept. of ye 
Surveyor General. 

Z. Daniel Smith, Jr. 

Allowant of 1846^ acres by the heirs of Benjamin Field; 810 
acres to George Green. 



20 Warren County. 

The date y 2nd 12 mo. 1725-6, means February 2, 1726, as at 
that time they were beginning to consider January as the first month of 
the year, while previously the new year began with the month of March 
as the first month, so that for many years between January and April 
it was necessary to put down both years t^ avoid uncertainty. 

The Pohanunk river is the Pequest, the upper part of which was 
Icnown as Paquesslng. The Samuel Green mentioned as deputy sur- 
veyor later lived at Johnsonsburg, and gave the land for the old log 
jail. John Anderson, a lineal descendant of George Green, owns the 
original farm. The "Large Pond" is, of course, Green's Pond, or, if 
you choose, Mountain Lake. 

From the archives of New. Jersey, Vol. IX, we learn that the early 
official records were originally kept by the Secretary of the Colony of 
New Jersey at Elizabethtown, the first seat of government. When the 
Colony was divided into East and West Jersey, the records of the two 
divisions were preserved in their respective capitals, Perth Amboy and 
Burlington, and there they remained for upwards of a century. By an 
act passed by the legislature, November 25, 1790, the seat of govern- 
ment of the State of New Jersey was located at Trenton, and it was 
provided that the records of conveyances and wills pertaining to gov- 
ernment should be transferred from Perth Amboy and Burlington as 
soon as proper quarters should be provided for them at the 
New Capital. The^records of warrants and surveys were retained 
in the offices of the registers of East and West Jersey respectively, at 
Perth Amboy and Burllngfon, where they are still to be found in charge 
of the Surveyor General. The record of wills continued to be kept In 
the office of the Secretary of State at Trenton until 1804, after which 
they were kept in the Surrogate's offices of the various counties. So 
that wills of people who died within the limits of the present Warren 
county are recorded at Trenton till 1804, at Newton from 1804 till 
1824, and at Belvidere since 1824. 

The deeds for land in Warren County are recorded In the office of 



Warren County. 21 

the Secretary of State at Trenton till about 1780 and after that in the 
office of the County Clerk, that is, at Newton, till 1824, and at Belvi- 
dere since 1824. By far the greater number of old parchment deeds 
were never put on record. 

Since the point has been raised as to the ownership of land in the 
Delaware river the following will be of interest : 

On May 17, 1722, in a report to His Majesty by the Lords of a 
Committee appointed to act on a petition wherein the ownership of the 
Delaware river and islands in it was in question, we find that they "have 
taken the opinion of Mr. Attorney and Mr. SoUicitor Generall whereby 
it appears that no part of Delaware River or the islands lying therein 
are comprised within the aforementioned grants but that the right to 
the same still remains in the crown and that his Majty. may grant all or 
any of the said islands if his Majty. shall so think fitt," and again 
"That as to the islands in the River Delaware it did plainly appear that 
they were not comprehended within the boundaries of either of the 
two provinces of Pensilvania or New Jersey but that the same remain in 
the Crown." 

The writer has not yet discovered any grant from the Crown for 
the Delaware river and its jslands, but such a grant may have been 
given. 

When the Federal government was formed, it consisted of a con- 
federacy of States, each of which retained its proprietary rights and 
proper sovereignty, so that the United States acquired by the Union no 
property in the soil. Uninhabited lands, riot as yet clearly defined by 
established boundaries, were claimed by the adjacent States. 



CHAPTER III. 



From Earliest Settlements to ti*e Formation of Sussex 

County. 



1725— 1753. 



The first record we. have of any visitors to this region dates back 
to 1 6 14, when three Hollanders, on exploration bent, "left Fort Nassau, 
now Albany, and wandered into the interior along the Mohawk river 
and crossed the dividing watershed to Otsego Lake, the source of the 
Susquehanna river, and by the Lackawanna and Lehigh passed over to 
the Delaware river where, below Trenton Falls, they were rescued from 
the Indians, who had them in captivity,, by Captain Hendrickson, who 
happened to be there exploring." 

They gave the first European account of the geography of the 
region, and are doubtless responsible for the old maps which show the 
Delaware and Hudson rivers connected. 

The next visitors to this region were the copper miners in Paha- 
quarry, who at some time before 1659 built the Old Mine Road to 
within six miles of the Water Gap. "In the 'Documentary History of 
New York' we find that Claaus de Ruyter exhibited in Amsterdam, 
Holland, in 1659, specimens of copper ore taken from the Minisinks in 
America." 

Thomas Budd, in an Account of Pennsylvania and New Jersey, 
published in 1684, says that the Indians go up the Delaware from the 
falls (at Trenton) in canoes to the Indian town called Minisinks. 

On August 18, 1 7 13, the commissioners appointed by Governor 

Hunter to buy lands of the Indians secured their signatures to deeds for 

■ all the land in Warren county. This must have been at a great Indian 



Warren County. 23 

council, but we find no record of it. In 1714-15-16 and thereafter, 
deputy surveyors and proprietors were busy locating all the best land in 
the county, b.ut, so far as can be learned, none was located for settlers 
before 1725. 

The earliest deed that Francis J. Swayze could find recorded in the 
clerk's office at Newton, is dated September 10 "in the. tenth year of 
our sovereign Lord King George," or 1723. "By this deed Joseph 
Kirkbride, of Pennsylvania, conveys to John Hutchinson, of Pennsyl- 
vania, 1250 acres surveyed by virtue of a warrant dated March 10, 
1715." There is no evidence that this was to a settler. 

In 1725, George Green and John Axford surveyed their tracts of 
land, the one at Green's Pond, of 600 acres, the other at Oxford Fur- 
nace, of 1600 acres. 

In 1725, Nicolaes Dupui came down the Old Mine Road and, 
crossing the river to Shawnee, made peace with the Indians, from two 
of whom he secured a deed for land in 1727. Here he and his four 
sons settled. They were visited by Nicolas Scull, who was sent in 1729 
by the government of Pennsylvania to drive away any settlers who had 
not bought land of the proprietors of Pennsylvania. He was given 
deeds in 1730 and 1733. 

By 1730, nearly all of the most fertile land in our county was 
taken up by the proprietors, a good deal of which they held for many 
years before selling it to settlers. 

William Penn laid out a tract of 11,000 acres in the vicinity of 
Waterloo that reached well over into Warren county; 12,000 acres in 
the vicinity of Newton; 5,000 acres between Blairstown and Silver 
Lake; 1,250 acres at Belvidere; a large tract in Allamuchy; 1,735 
acres in Harmony. 

As early as 1732, advertisements appeared in the Philadelphia 
papers offering land for sale along Paulin's Kill and the Pequest, for 
the use of settlers, most of whom entered the country by way of Phila- 
delphia. 



24 Warren County. 

In 1732, Abram Van Campen bought 1,666 acres, comprising all 
the upper half of Pahaquarry, from the heirs of George Hutcheson, one 
of the proprietors of New Jersey. 

In 1737, Lodewick Titman came from Saxony and purchased 
several hundred acres at the foot of th| Blue Mountains, six miles 
from the. Water Gap. 

By this time there must have been a considerable number of set- 
tlers in the county whose names we may never know. In 1737 the total 
population of what is now Hunterdon, Morris, Sussex and Warren 
counties was 5,570, which increased to 8,080 by 1745. 

In the Pole of freeholders of the County of Hunterdon for repre- 
sentatives to serve in General Assembly of the Province of New Jersey 
for the County of Hunterdon taken per Christopher Search, one of the 
clerks, October 9, 1738, before David Martin, Esq., high sheriff, we 
find the names of Samuel Green, Henry Stewart, John Anderson, and 
Thomas Anderson, all of Greenwich. 

In 1739 the first call for preaching went forth from the county to 
the Presbytery of New Brunswick for supplies to Mr. Barber's neigh- 
borhood near Musconnekunk. In 1740 Jacobus Vanetta and his 
brothers settled at Foul Rift. 

In 1 74 1, Aaron Dupui opened the first store in the county at 
Oxford, and in the same year Jonathan Robeson started to build the 
old iron furnace, which was completed and delivered its first iron 
March 9, 1743. The original stack is still standing, and produced 
iron as late as 1882. 

In 1742, John Casper Freyenmuth took charge of four Dutch 
churches along the Delaware above the Water Gap, but so far as can 
be learned, none of these was in Warren county. One was at Smith- 
field, and the others along the Old Mine Road. He received seventy 
pounds a year, one-fourth of which was paid by each church. 

Before 1744 there was a Presbyterian church built at Greenwich, 



Warren County. 25 

another at Mansfield Wood House, and services were held at Axford's, 
or Oxford. 

On May 13, 1744, David Bralnerd, the missionary, began his 
labors among the Indians and the Irish and Dutch people, about twelve 
miles above the Forks of the Delaware, in Pennsylvania, where he 
labored for three years, occasionally preaching in New Jersey. His 
cabin was on the banks of Martin's creek. 

Prior to 1693, West Jersey had been divided Into Burlington, 
Salem and Falls counties. Until 17 14 this part of New Jersey was 
nominally in Burlington county. But since at that time there was not a 
single white settler in what is now Warren county, it does not concern 
us materially. 

On March 1 1, 17 14, an act of the General Assembly erected "the 
upper parts of the western division of New Jersey into a county" 
called Hunterdon, which included all of Warren, Sussex, Morris, Hun- 
terdon and Mercer counties, with the county seat at Trenton. 

On March 15, 1739, Morris county was set off from Hunterdon, 
and comprised the present counties of Morris, Sussex and Warren, 
with Morrlstown as the county seat. 

The Inconvenience of going so far to court caused further divi- 
sions to be made, and on^ June 8, 1753, Sussex county was erected, 
including Warren. For seventy-one years, or during most of our early 
history, "our county" was Sussex, and did not become Warren until an 
Act of the Legislature, on November 20, 1824, formed a new county 
called Warren, from the southwestern part of Sussex. 

Sussex County, when first formed, contained four townships — 
New Town, Walpack, Hardwick and Greenwich. Of these, Green- 
wich, nearly all of Hardwick, and one-half of Walpack, were within 
the present limits of Warren county. 

The county courts of Sussex were established by an ordinance 
emanating from the governor of New Jersey and his council, and exe- 
cuted in the name of King George the Second. The first Court of 



26 Warren County. 

General Sessions of the Peace and of Common Pleas for Sussex County 
was opened on November 20, 1753, at what Is now Johnsonburg, at 
the public house of Jonathan Pettit. The first judges were Jonathan 
Robeson, Abram Van Campen, John Anderson, Jonathan Pettit and 
Thomas Wolverton. Joseph Perry was sworn in as constable. Some 
licenses to taverns were granted, rates established for entertainment 
thereat, and'then the first court adjourned. 

In April, 1754, all the qualified voters of the county were asked 
to meet at the house of Samuel Green to select a place to build a jail 
and courthouse. A jail of logs was ordered built on the lands of 
Samuel Green, at what is now Johnsonburg, but no provision was made 
for building a courthouse there. The courts were held at Pettit's or 
Wolverton's tavern, near the Log Jail, which gave its name to the 
place. 

After nine years the General Assembly of New Jersey ordered a 
courthouse built on Hairlocker's plantation, now Newton. The court- 
house and a new jail were completed, and courts for the May term of 
1765 were held at the new site. During the nine years that the Log 
Jail was the county seat, no important cases were tried, although there 
is a tradition that a negro wench was hanged there, presumably for 
theft. 



CHAPTER IV. 



From the Formation of Sussex County to the End of the 
French and Indian War. 



1753—1763- 



The most rapid period of growth of our county was for ten years 
after 1753. It was difficult to get enough bread corn (wheat or rye) 
for the people to eat, so that the county advanced money to buy bread 
corn for them, and they were to pay the loan back In two years. Michi- 
gan, a hundred years later, was in the same predicament when settlers 
were coming in so fast, and many of them were from Warren County. 

In 1755 Lewis Evans published in London a Map of the Middle 
British Colonies in America, in which are found the names of Sussex, 
Walpack, Philipsburg, Changewater and Easton. 

Francis J. Swayze says : 

"The eleven years between 1753 and 1764 were filled with great 
events. The hostility of the house of Austria to Frederick the Great 
culminated at last in what is known as the Seven Years' War, and this 
conflict between two European powers involved all of western Europe 
in war, and let loose upon the colonists in America, thousands of miles 
distant, and entirely unconcerned in the struggle, the Indian tribes. 
Sussex county (which included Warren) was then upon the frontier. 
An almost unbroken wilderness occupied only by Indians stretched 
between the Delaware and the French settlements on the Ohio. Up to 
this time the Indians whom the citizens of New Jersey had met, had 
been peaceable and well disposed. No Indian wars or massacres stain 
our earlier annals, * * * * ^^^ pacific disposition which the 
colonists adopted from the Quakers had been aided by the policy of 
peaceful trade which they inherited from the Dutch." 

The French and Indian war had a peculiar significance for War- 



2 8 Warren County. 

ren county, owing to Its near vicinity to the land In the Forks of the 
Delaware and to the Pennsylvania MInlsink, which the Indians claimed 
had been unfairly taken from them by "the Indian Walk" in 1737. 
This "walk" was made by Edward Marshall, for the. purpose of meas- 
uring the extent of a purchase of land ma4e by Governor Penn from 
the Indians. Marshall walked (or the Indians said ran) all the way to 
the Pocono mountains, while the Indians had understood a day and a 
half's walk to mean only as far as the Kittatinny mountains. This lost 
to them their favorite hunting and camping grounds on the MInisink, 
and caused the Delaware Indians for the first time to be hostile. 

To be sure, they had no fault to find with their treatment by New 
Jersey, but many of the settlers In Pennsylvania fled across the river, 
and Warren county suffered to some extent. 

The dissatisfaction of the Delaware Indians with "the Indian 
Walk" made It easy for the French in Canada to secure .them as allies 
when France and England came to war. The Delawires were heredi- 
tary enemies of the Iroquois in New York, who already had an alliance 
with the English, which alliance later was to cost them so dearly in 
the Revolution. 

Indian hostilities began in this section on November 24, 1755, by 
an attack on Gnadenhutten, a Moravian settlement on the Lehigh, 
twenty-eight miles from Bethlehem, where eleven persons were killed. 
So vigorously did they prosecute the war In Northampton county that 
by September, 1757, from a list made out by Captain Jacob Orndt, one 
hundred and fourteen persons were killed and fifty-two taken prisoners, 
of whom only seven afterwards returned." Within four weeks in 1755, 
more than fifty persons had been killed and forty-one houses burned. 

A letter from Easton, dated December 25, 1755, states that "the 
country all above this town for fifty miles is mostly evacuated and 
ruined, excepting only the neighborhood of Dupue's five families, which 
stand their ground. The people have chiefly fled Into Jersey. Many 
of them have threshed out their corn and carried it off with their cattle 



Warren County. 29 

and best household goods, but a vast deal is left to the enemy. Many 
offered half their corn, horses, cows, goods, etc., to save the rest, but. 
could not obtain assistance enough to remove them in time. The enemy 
made but few prisoners, murdering almost all that fell into their hands, 
of all ages and both sexes. AH business is at an end, and the few 
remaining starving inhabitants in this town are quite dejected and dis- 
pirited. Captains Ashton and Trump march up to Dupue's this day 
and are to build two block houses for defence of the -country between 
that settlement and Gnadenhutten, which, when finished, the inhabitants 
that are fled say they will return." 

Another writer, under date of December 31, 1755, says that 
"Indians known to be principally from Susquehanna have during this 
month been making incursions into the county of Northampton, where 
they have already burned fifty houses, murdered above one hundred 
persons and are still continuing their ravages, murders and devasta- 
tions, and have actually overrun and laid waste a great part of the 
country even as far as within twenty miles of Easton, its chief town." 
"This state of things actually continued with but little intermission until 
into 1764, a period of over eight years, during which time scenes of 
the most atrocious character were enacted, as if each side endeavored 
to excel the other in cruelty, it appearing on the part of the Delaware 
and Shawanese Indians as their last and most determined efforts to 
secure the lands out of which they believed they had been unjustly 
defrauded by the proprietaries and which records establish were con- 
veyed unto William Allen as early as November 16, 1727, and from 
which they were afterwards forcibly dispossessed through connivance 
with the powerful Iroquois." 

The Indians had an especial animosity against Edward Marshall, 
who had made "the walk," and tried in every way to capture him. He 
moved his family over into New Jersey until 1757, when he returned 
to his home below Jacobus creek, near Portland, Pennsylvania. On 
May 23, when he was away from home, sixteen Indians attacked the 



30 Warren County. 

house. One of them threw his coat on a hive of bees, which caused 
sufficient diversion to enable five of the children to hide in the bushes. 
One daughter was shot, but not killed. They made a prisoner of Mrs. 
Marshall, and proceeded northwards. Six months later her body was 
found on the Blue mountain, with tomahawk marks on her skull and 
breast, and with her the remains of twins. In August Marshall's eldest 
son was shot while at work. 

In the presence of such occurrences it is not surprising that repri- 
sals were thought of. Seven hundred dollars were. subscribed to pay 
bounties for Indian scalps at forty dollars apiece, and several companies 
were formed of men used to deer hunting for hunting the Indians. 
Governor Morris in 1756 offered 138 Spanish dollars for every Indian 
scalp. 

It was at this time that took place the occurrences that are the 
basis of the stories concerning Tom Quick, the Indian Slayer. His 
father, also called Thomas Quick, resided near Milford, Pennsylvania, 
and in 1738 was a voter from Walpack. One day, when the father 
and two of his sons were after hoop poles, they were fired upon by the 
Indians, and the father was killed, but the two sons escaped, although 
young Tom was wounded, and he swore that he would never be at 
peace with the Indians as long as one could be found on the banks of 
the Delaware. He killed many Indians and had many close escapes 
from capture, but finally died at a good old age, and is buried near his 
old home at Milford, Pennsylvania, where a fine monument has been 
erected to his memory. 

Stories similar to those filling, the life of Tom Quick are also told 
of LaBar, Houser, Tom Casper and' Edward Marshall himself, who 
admits killing some Indians, but feared to let it be known on account of 
reprisals on his family. A great granddaughter of Marshall's, Mrs. 
Mary Myers, died in Bfclvidere in 19 10. 

At the beginning of the French and Indian War, Abraham Van 
Campen was appointed colonel of a regiment of militia, and assigned 



Warren County. 31 

to the protection of the frontier, and Colonel John Anderson, with four 
hundred men, secured the upper part of the State. All the mllltia of 
our county was kept In readiness to repel attacks, and a proclamation 
was Issued on June 2, 1756, offering a reward of one hundred and thirty 
Spanish dollars for destroying any hostile male Indian above fifteen 
years of age. This was In effect only one month, or till July 11, when 
a treaty of peace between New Jersey and the Delawares and Shawa- 
nees was made. 

But this did not end the war, or the danger. In 1758 the legisla- 
ture by special act gave a reward of money and silver medals to Ser- 
geant John Vantile and a lad named TItsort, to the latter for killing an 
Indian In Sussex county. 

To protect the frontier from attacks by the Indians, block houses 
were erected and garrisoned. One was at the mouth of the Pequest, 
near the end of the present bridge; one at the mouth of the Paulln's 
Kill ; one at the house of Dupul at Shawnee ; and plans were made for 
the erection of several-more as occasional outbreaks occurred. 

In 1756, when a number of cavalry horses were pasturing on a 
meadow known as the Marsh, near the mouth of the Paullns Kill, a 
cloud-burst caused such a flood as to drown the horses. 

Among those from this county who served in the French and 
Indian war were William Maxwell, of Greenwich, who "was with 
General Braddock at the battle of Fort Duquesne, July 9, 1755, ^"d 
with General Abercrombie on his expedition of July, 1759, against 
TIconderoga, and is reported to have been with General Wolfe at the 
fall of Quebec, 1759. He was subsequently attached to the commissary 
department of the British army at Mackinaw, Michigan, with the rank 
of colonel." 

In this way he learned the principles of war that made him the 
most prominent of New Jersey's officers in the Revolution. 

The French and Indian war was brought to a close by the Treaty 
of Paris, made on the eighteenth of February, 1763. 



CHAPTER V 



From the French and Indian War to the End of the Revo- 
lution. 



1763— 1783. 



Smith, in his history printed in 1765, says of Sussex County, which 
then included Warren : 

"It being the newest county and a frontier (Pennsylvania and 
New York both meet against it, but have few settlements) is not much 
improved, and has but few inhabitants. It lies toward the head of the 
Delaware; about fifteen miles was exposed to the Indians in the late 
wars, and fortified by a frontier guard, and several block houses at 
provincial expense. The courts for the county are held at Hairlocker's 
plantation, where a new courthouse is lately built. Near the river lies 
the noted Paoqualin hill, being part of the Continental Chain or Ridge, 
called the Blue Mountains, supposed to contain valuable ore. Between 
that and the river is low intervale excellent land, containing a few 
plantations. This county raises some wheat, pork and cattle for New 
York and Philadelphia markets, and cuts lumber. It contains of low 
Dutch Presbyterian meeting houses five. Baptists two, German Luth- 
erans one, Quakers one." 

Our county increased rapidly in population in the years following 
the French and Indian war. By 1771 the population of Sussex, which 
included Warren, was 8,944, and there were 1,469 dwellings. In 1768 
Sussex was authorized to elect two representatives to the Assembly. 

The first bridge recorded as having been erected by the board of 
freeholders was one across the Musconetcong, built in 1770, while in 
1773, 150 pounds were appropriated for bridges. 

In a map published by William Faden, at Charing Cross, London, 
in 1777, from surveys made in 1769, we find the names Water Gap, 



Warren County. 



33 



Wi 




34 Warren County. 

Foul Rift, Philippsburg, Easton, Bloomsburg, Greenwich, Change- 
water, Halketstown, Oxford and Andover, and the various streams of 
the county as at present. 

In the government of New Jersey the governor and his council 
represented the interests of the Crown, while the Assembly represented 
the people. Our Colonial political history was one continuous strug- 
gle, which' had its counterpart in the other colonies, between these two 
opposed elements, the one seeking to restrict the rights and powers of 
the people, the other to extend them. Before the outbreak of the Revo- 
lution, the people of New Jersey had been educated for a century in 
the principles of self-government, the love of which became greater as 
they saw it slipping from them. 

In 1763, Mr. Grenville, first Commissioner of the Treasury of 
Great Britain, rhade public his intention to draw a revenue from Amer- 
ica by means of a stamp duty. This was objected to by the people of 
New Jersey as a violation of the concessions of the proprietors, which 
provided that no tax whatsoever should be imposed upon the inhabi- 
tants without their own consent. 

The colonies offered to raise, by taxing themselves, more revenue 
than a stamp tax could produce. Nevertheless the stamp act was passed 
in March, 1765, and stamp officers appointed to carry it out. William 
Coxe, Esq., was appointed for New Jersey, but resigned in September, 
1765. The act provided that no writing could have a legal value unless 
on stamped paper. The act aroused such bitter opposition in the Colo- 
nies that it was repealed in 1766, but the repeal was accompanied by a 
declaration that parliament had a right to tax the Colonies without con- 
sulting their assemblies. 

This was followed by an act imposing duties on tea, glass, paper 
and pigments. But this was still a tax without representation, and was 
bitterly opposed by the Colonies, who agreed to import nothing from 
Great Britain that was taxed. 

As a protest against the right of the British government to levy 



Warren County. 35 

taxes directly, the "Boston Tea Party" was held on December 16, 1773, 
at which three hundred and forty-three chests of tea on which the gov- 
ernment had hoped to collect three pence a pound, were thrown into 
Boston harbor. This caused Parliament to close the port of Boston to 
all shipping, and later to subvert the constitution and charter of Massa- 
chusetts, vesting all power in the Crown. Great indignation was 
aroused, and meetings were held in all the Colonies. The following 
minutes show the sentiment in this county : 

"At a meeting of a number of Freeholders and Inhabitants of the 
County of Sussex, in the Province of New Jersey, at the Court House in 
Newtown, in the said county, on Saturday, the i6th of July, A. D. 
1774, Hugh Hughes, esquire, chairman. 

"ist. Resolved: That it is our duty to render true and faithful 
allegiance to George the Third, King of Great Britain, and to support 
and maintain the just dependence of his Colonies upon the Crown of 
Great Britain under the enjoyment of our constitutional rights and 
privileges. 

"2nd. Resolved: That it is undoubtedly our right to be taxed 
only by our own consent, given by ourselves or our Representatives ; and 
that the late acts of Parliament for imposing taxes for the purpose of 
raising a revenue in America and the Act of Parliament for shutting 
up the Port of Boston, are oppressive, unconstitutional and injurious in 
their principles to American freedom, and that the Bostonians are con- 
sidered by us as suffering in the general cause of America. 

"3rd. Resolved: That it is the opinion of this meeting that 
firmness and unanimity in the Colonies and an agreement not to use any 
articles imported from Great Britain or the East Indies (under such 
restrictions as may be agreed upon by the General Congress hereafter 
to be appointed by the Colonies) may be the most effectual means of 
averting the dangers that are justly apprehended, and securing the 
invaded rights and privileges of America. 

"4th. Resolved: That we will join, with the greatest cheerful- 
ness, the other counties of this Province, in sending a Committee to 
meet with those from the other counties at such time and place as they 
shall appoint, in order to choose proper persons to represent this Prov- 
ince in a General Congress of Deputies sent from each of the Colonies. 

"5th. Resolved: That we will faithfully and strictly adhere to 
such regulations and restrictions as shall be agreed upon by the Mem- 
bers of said Congress, and that shall by them be judged expedient and 
beneficial to the good of the Colonies. 



36 Warren County. 

"6th. Resolved: That the Committee hereafter named do cor- 
respond and consult with the committees of the other counties in this 
Province and meet with them in order to appoint Deputies to represent 
this Province in General Congress. 

"7th. Resolved: We. do appoint the following gentlemen our 
Committee for the purpose above mentioned : Hugh Hughes, Nathan- 
iel Pettit, Thomas Van Horne, Thomas Anderson, Archibald Stewart, 
Abia Brown, John B. Scott, Esquires, Messrs. E. Dunlap, Mark 
Thompson, W. Maxwell. 

These resolutions had been drawn up by John Cleves Symmes, 
who became later an officer in the Revolution, a member of Congress 
and a justice of the supreme court. After the war he received a gov- 
ernment grant of 2,000,000 acres of land in Ohio, and went there with 
several hundred colonists from Sussex county. "He became a judge of 
the Northwest Territory, and lived to see his daughter, a native of Sus- 
sex, married to William Henry Harrison, afterward President of the 
United States." 

A general meeting of Committees, similarly appointed, was held 
at New Brunswick on July 21, 1774, and appointed delegates to a 
General Continental Congress, at Philadelphia, to determine measures 
for obtaining "relief for an oppressed people and the redress of our 
general grievances." Thus originated the Continental Congress, which 
was conceived in Virginia and held its first meeting on S«ptember 5, 
1774, in Carpenter's Hall, Philadelphia. Seventy-five delegates repre- 
sented all the Colonies but Georgia, and Peyton Randolph, of Virginia, 
was President. 

This congress recommended the appointment of a "committee of 
superintendence and correspondence" for each township and county, 
known later as "Committees of Safety," which did much to aid the 
progress of the revolution. Every township in Sussex County had its 
Committee of Safety that regularly reported to the County Committee. 
It was a part of their duty to see that every citizen signed The Articles 
of Association approved by the Provincial Congress May 31, 177 c 
which were as follows : 



Warren County. 37 

"We, the subscribers, freeholders and inhabitants of the township 

of in the County of and Province of New Jersey, 

having long viewed with concern the avowed design of the Ministry of 
Great Britain to raise a revenue in America ; being deeply affected with 
the cruel hostilities already commenced in Massachusetts Bay for carry- 
ing that arbitrary design into execution; convinced that the preserva- 
tion of the rights and privileges of America depends, under God, on the 
firm union of its inhabitants, do, with hearts abhorring slavery, and 
ardently wishing for a reconciliation with our parent state on consti- 
tutional principles, solemnly associate and resolve, under the sacred ties 
of virtue, honor and love to our Country, that we will personally, and as 
far as our Influence extends, endeavor to support and carry into execu- 
tion whatever measures may be recommended by the Continental and 
Provincial Congresses, for defending our Constitution and preserving 
the same inviolate. 

"We do also further associate and agree, as far as shall be con- 
sistent with the measures adopted for the preservation of American 
freedom, to support the magistrates and other civil ofEcers in the exe- 
cution of their duty, agreeable to the laws of this Colony; and to 
observe the directions of bur Committee, acting according to the Reso- 
lutions of the aforesaid Continental and Provincial Congresses ; firmly 
determined, by all means in our power, to guard against those disorders 
and confusion to which the peculiar circumstances of the times may 
expose us." 

At a meeting of the Sussex County Committee of Safety in August, 
1775, whose minutes were fortunately rescued from oblivion by B. B. 
Edsall, Esq., representatives from every township committee were 
present but one. From Greenwich came William Maxwell, Benjamin 
McCollough and James Stewart; from Mansfield Wood-House came 
Edward Demont, Samuel Hazlet, and William Debman; from Oxford, 
John Lowry, John McMurtry, and William White; from Knowlton, 
Abraham Besherrer, Nathaniel Drake and Andrew Waggoner; from 
Hardwick, Casper Shafer; from Walpack, Abraham Van Campen, 
Daniel Depue, Jr., Moses Van Campen, Joseph Montague, Emanuel 
Hover, John C. Symmes and John Rosenkraus; and others from the 
present Sussex county. 

Only a few citizens refused to sign the Articles, for example, in 



38 Warren County. 

Greenwich, seven; in Mansfield, two; and probably in this proportion 
for the rest of the county. Sentiment was not unanimous, however, and 
those who favored the Crown were beginning to be called Tories and 
the others Whigs. When the time came later for a separation from 
the mother country, there were even more Tories than at this time. 

The Tories, too, entered into an association resolving not to pay 
taxes levied by the Provincial Congress nor to purchase goods sold for 
taxes, nor to pay for non-attendance at musters. On a charge of enter- 
ing into this association, two magistrates of Sussex county were taken 
before the Committee of Safety of the Province of New Jersey at 
Princeton, fined, and made to give bonds for good behavior. They 
were also removed from office. 

Meanwhile, conditions In Massachusetts were becoming serious. 
The members of the Assembly met without authority of the governor, 
appointed a Committee of Safety, and asked help from the neighboring 
colonies. The people voluntarily enrolled into companies called 
"minute men," as they might be called out at any minute. Provisions 
were collected, particularly at Concord. In an attempt to destroy these 
stores, on April 19, 1775, 800 men sent by General Gage were routed 
by the minute men at the Battles of Lexington and Concord, and fled 
to Boston with a loss of 273 men. This first awoke a desire in America 
for independence. Under instructions from the Committee of Safety, 
Fort Ticonderoga was captured "In the name of Jehovah and the Con- 
tinental Congress," and Crown Point soon followed. On the very day 
that Ticonderoga fell. May 10, 1775, the Sussex county board of free- 
holders passed a resolution that "Henceforth no judges' expenses shall 
be paid by this county," as a protest against the appointment of judges 
by any other power than the New Jersey Assembly. 

On the seventeenth of June, 1775, occurred the battle of Bunker 
Hill, in which the Americans lost 449 in all, and the British 1,500. 



Warren County. 39 

Here the brave General Warren fell, after whom our county was to be 
named forty-nine years later. 

General Joseph Warren was born at Roxbury, Massachusetts, on 
June II, 1 74 1, graduated at Harvard In 1759, began practice as a 
physician in 1762, and acquired a high reputation by his treatment of 
smallpox in 1764. Twice he delivered the anniversary oration com- 
memorating the Boston Massacre. In 1772 he became a member of 
the Boston Committee of Correspondence, and later, as one of the Suf- 
folk County Convention, he wrote two papers to Governor Gage which 
were communicated to the Continental Congress and formed the basis 
of the early important action of that body. 

Dr. Warren was made president of the Massachusetts Provincial 
Congress, and chairman of the Committee of Safety for Massachusetts. 
The successful results of the affair at Lexington and Concord were 
largely due to his vigilance, and he was commissioned a major-general 
on June 14, 1775, three days before he was killed at the battle of 
Bunker Hill, while fighting as a volunteer in the ranks under General 
Putnam. A Masonic lodge in Charlestown erected a monument to his 
memory, on the spot where he fell in 1794, which was replaced by the 
present Bunker's Hill Monument begun in 1825 and finished in 1857. 
Our county does well to keep alive the memory of so valiant a patriot as 
General Joseph Warren. 

On June 3, 1775, the Provincial Congress ordered that one com- 
pany of militia be raised in each township. But our county had already 
been active in this regard, for on the same date the Congress thanks 
Morris, Sussex and Somerset for their spirited exertions in raising min- 
ute-men. 

General Washington was given command of the Continental 
armies by Congress on June 15, and proceeded at once to Boston to take 
command of the 14,000 troops gathered there, and organize them into 
an army. 



40 Warren County. 

On August 1 6, 1775, the Provincial Congress planned to have the 
New Jersey militia consist of nineteen regiments and eight battalions, of 
which Sussex should furnish two regiments and one battalion, and that 
the minute-men should number four thousand, of which Sussex should 
furnish five companies of sixty-four men each, making one battalion. 

Owing to the advice of John Hancock, president of the Continen- 
tal Congress, New Jersey did not put into constant pay as many troops 
as she had intended. The Continental Congress asked from New Jer- 
sey only two battalions. These were quickly raised and officered, the 
Eastern battalion, under Lord Stirling, of Somerset County, the West- 
ern battalion, under Colonel William Maxwell, of Greenwich town- 
ship, in our own county. All men between sixteen and fifty who refused" 
to enroll into the militia had to pay to the township committee four 
shillings proclamation money per month. 

The first volunteers from Warren county to join the Continental 
troops as Boston were Captain John McMurtrie and Lieutenant Will- 
iam White, of Oxford township. 

The New Jersey Congress also made arrangements for issuing 
scrip, raising money by taxation, and in fact assumed all the powers 
of government. The regular legislature, called by the governor, met 
for the last time on November 15, 1775. It was prorogued by Gov- 
ernor William Franklin till January 3, 1776, but it never reassembled. 

Of the men from our county, prominent in the Revolutionary war, 
Brigadier-General William Maxwell easily stands at the head. First, 
as colonel he commanded one-half of the Jersey troops, and later as 
brigadier-general he commanded them all, so that to follow "Maxwell's 
Brigade" through the Revolution is to learn the experience of the New 
Jersey regular troops in the greater part of the war, or till July, 1780, 
when he resigned. 

The Eastern and Western battalions" were mustered into the Con- 



Warren County. 41 

tinental army In December, 1775, and were the first troops from New 
Jersey to actually take the field. 

The Western battalion, under Colonel Maxwell, was ordered to 
the vicinity of the Hudson river, while yet Insufficiently equipped, and 
was supplied with arms in part by the Colony of New York, after 
"All the arms fit for service that could be obtained in this province" 
had been collected. After the repulse of Montgomery at Quebec on 
December 31, 1775, Colonel Maxwell's battalion was ordered at once 
to Canada. He started at the end of February, 1776, with four com- 
panies, to march to Quebec, leaving the rest of his command to follow 
under Lieutenant Colonel Shreve. They marched by way of Lakes 
George and Champlain, crossing them on the ice, and reached Quebec 
not sooner than April 1 1, 1776. Here they found the army so disabled 
by smallpox, which had been communicated by a woman sent out of 
Quebec, "that of 3,000 men only 900 were fit for duty." Doubtless 
many of the boys from our county contracted the disease with the rest. 
The whole army retired from Quebec on May 4, leaving their stores 
and many sick behind. General Thomas, chief in command, died of 
smallpox during the retreat, and Benedict Arnold came in command, 
and later General Sullivan. 

Our Jersey troops took part m the unsuccessful attack on Trois 
Rivieres, on June 8, and the whole army reached Crown Point on July 
I, 1776. "They were ordered Into barracks at Tlcondcroga, and on 
November 5, 1776, were ordered to return to New Jersey and be dis- 
charged." 

Although these men had undergone great hardships, all of the 
Jersey troops being destitute of shoes, stockings and many articles of 
dress, yet most of the officers and many of the men reenlisted. 

A third battalion was raised in February, 1776, under command 
of Ellas Dayton, which after a year's experience "In Indian warfare at 



42 Warren County. 

Johnstown, German Flats, Fort Dayton, Fort Schuyler, Ticonderoga 
*and Mount Independence," wtte discharged on March 23, 1777. 

On June 3, 1776, the Continental Congress called for 13,800 
militia to be employed to reinforce the army at New York, of which 
New Jersey's quota was 3,300 men. These were raised by voluntary 
enlistment, four companies coming from Sussex county. On August 11, 
1776, an order was given that all the able-bodied men in the State 
between the ages of sixteen and fifty should immediately be enrolled 
in the militia, one-half of which should be immediately equipped and 
march to the flying camp. For the militia of our own county the 
colonels were Mark Thompson, Ephraim Martin, and John Cleves 
Symmes. 

New Jersey was one of the first of the colonies to declare for Inde- 
pendence. On June 14, 1776, the New Jersey Congress resolved, 
"That In the opinion of this Congress the Proclamation of William 
Franklin, Esquire, late Governor of New Jersey, bearing date on the 
thirtieth day of May last, in the name of the King of Great Britain, 
appointing a meeting of the General Assembly to be held on the twen- 
tieth day of June, ought not to be obeyed," and "That In the opinion of 
this Congress, the said William Franklin, Esquire, has discovered him- 
self to be an enemy to the liberties of this country; and that measures 
ought to be immediately taken for securing the person of the said Will- 
lam Franklin, Esquire." He would not sign a parole, and on the 
twenty-fifth of June was sent under guard to Governor Trumbull, of 
Connecticut. 

On June 22, 1776, the Provincial Congress of New Jersey elected 
delegates, to serve for one year, to the Continental Congress, with the 
following instructions : 

"To Richard Stockton, Abraham Clark, John Hart, Francis Hop- 
klnson, Esquires, and the Rev. Dr. WItherspoon, Delegates, etc. : 

"The Congress empower and direct you, in the name of this Col- 
ony, to join with the Delegates of the other Colonies In Continental 



Warren County. 43 

Congress, in the most vigorous measures for supporting the just rights 
and liberties of America.^ And, if you shall judge it necessary and 
expedient for this purpose, we empower you, to join with them in declar- 
ing the United Colonies independent of Great Britain, entering into a 
confederacy for Union and common defense, making treaties with for- 
eign nations for commerce, and assistance, and to take such other 
measures as to them and you may appear necessary for these great ends, 
promising to support them with the whole force of this Province; 
always observing that, whatever plan of confederacy you enter into, the 
regulating the internal police of this Province is to be reserved to the 
Colony Legislature." 

On July 2, 1776, two days before the Declaration of Independ- 
ence was made public, the Constitution of New Jersey was confirmed. 
It begins as follows : 

"Whereas, All the Constitutional authority ever possessed by the 
Kings of .Great Britain over these Colonies, or their other dominions, 
was, by compact, derived from the people and held by them for the 
common interest of the whole society; allegiance and protection are, 
in the nature of things, reciprocal ties each equally depending upon the 
other, and liable to be dissolved by the others being refused or with- 
drawn ; 

"And Whereas, George the Third, King of Great Britain, has 
refused protection to the good people of these Colonies ; and by assent- 
ing to sundry acts of the British Parliament, attempted to subject them 
to the absolute dominion of that body; and has also made war upon 
them in the most cruel and unnatural manner, for no other cause than 
asserting their just rights; all civil authority under him is necessarily 
at an end, and a dissolution of government in each Colony has con- 
sequently taken place. 

"And Whereas, In the present deplorable situation * * * 
some form of government is absolutely necessary * * * we the 
Representatives of the. Colony of New Jersey, having been elected by 
all the counties in the freeest manner, and in Congress assembled, have, 
after mature deliberation agreed upon a set of charter rights and the 
form of a Constitution in the manner following." 

On July 1 7 the Provincial Congress of New Jersey resolved that, 

"Whereas, The Honourable Continental Congress have declared 
the United States, Free and Independent States; we the Deputies of 
New Jersey, in Provincial Congress assembled do resolve and declare 



44 ' Warren County. 

That we will support the freedom and independence of the said States 
with our lives and fortunes and with the w^ole force of New Jersey. 

The State of New Jersey was born July i8, 1776, by virtue of the 
following resolution : 

''Resolved, That this House from henceforth, instead of the style 
and title of the Provincial Congress of New Jersey, do adopt and 
assume the style and title of the Convention of the State of New Jer- 
sey." 

Late in November of 1776 the organization was effected of four 
battalions from New Jersey for the Continental Army, constituting a 
second establishment of troops. The battalions were commanded by 
Colonels Silas Newcomb, Isaac Shreve, Elias Dayton and Ephraim 
Martin. They formed "Maxwell's Brigade," under the command of 
Brigadier General William Maxwell, of Greenwich township, in our 
county, who was promoted to that rank on October 23, 1776. 

A new arrangement of the Jersey troops was made in 1778, under 
which they were in three battalions which served through the campaign 
of 1779. 

In 1780 three regiments of Jersey troops were raised, for which 
volunteers were called, the muster master for our county being Major 
John Van Vleet. Bounties of money and one hundred acres of land 
were given to each private, and more to the officers. The three regi- 
ments were under Colonels Ogden, Shreve and Dayton, and the whole 
under command of General Maxwell till July, 1780, when he was suc- 
ceeded by Elias Dayton, who commanded until the end of the war. 
According to Judge Swayze : 

"The ladies also did their part, and a committee was formed to 
receive contributions for the relief and encouragement of the soldiers 
in the Continental Army. The members from the County of Sussex 
were Mrs. Robert Ogden, Jr., of Hardyston; Mrs. Mark Thompson, 
of Hardwick; Mrs. Robert Hoops, of Oxford, and Mrs. Thomas 
Anderson, of Newton. I can only add to the account which I have 
derived from Mr. Edsall's address, a reference in an old newspaper 
published at New York, February 3, 1777, during the British occu- 
pancy of that city. The newspaper says : 'An epidemic disorder pre- 



Warren County. 45 

vails in the County of Sussex, New Jersey, which was brought hither 
by the rebels who formed the Northern Army under Gates; and many 
have been carried off with it. In short, the rebels as a just punishment 
from Heaven, begin to feel the triple scourge of pestilence, famine and 
sword; and, if they persist in their delusion, will probably soon receive 
those dreadful calamities in extreme degree." 

After the defeat at Harlem Heights, Washington retreated across 
New Jersey and did not stop until safe on the Pennsylvania side of the 
Delaware, near Trenton. The advance of Cornwallis made it necessary 
to remove the General Hospital from Morristown, New Jersey, to 
some point better protected. Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, was chosen as 
a suitable place and so the wounded, sick and well nigh famished men 
were taken as speedily as possible in December, 1776, across our county 
to Bethlehem, where the Moravian brethren vacated some of their 
largest buildings that they might be used as hospitals. Surgeons-Gen- 
eral John Warren and William Shippen were in charge. Again, after 
the defeat at Brandywine on September 11, 1777, it ■was necessary to 
remove the sick and wounded to the number of 2,000 to Bethlehem and 
Easton. 

At this time, too, there were at least sixteen delegates to the Con- 
tinental Congress at Bethlehem, besides Baron DeKalb and Marquis 
de Lafayette and his suite. All the military stores were moved to 
Northampton county, filling seven hundred wagons. 

It was only the admirably conducted battle of Germantown on 
October 4, 1777, a defeat though it was, that prevented the seat of 
war from being transferred to Northampton county, as was fully antic- 
ipated by Washington and his staff. 

The care the Moravians gave the sick soldiers should remove any 
doubts of their loyalty. For they and the Quakers were suspected by 
many as Tories, because the dictates of their conscience forbade them 
to bear arms. This suspicion produced for them much persecution. 
On July 15, 1776, when a number of Moravians were passing through 
Easton, with their wagons laden with flour obtained at the Moravian 



46 Warren County. 

settlement at Hope, New Jersey, they were pursued by the Associators 
of Easton and searched for munitions of war, but nothing suspicious 
was found. 

The Jersey troops were stationed at Morristown in the winter of 
1776-77, and "continued to chase andVorry the British at Newark, 
Elizabethtown and Spanktown with great success" and "in May, 1777, 
were a part of the division encamped at Elizabethtown, Bound Brook 
and Spanktown, under command of General Stephen." This division 
■ through the summer marched through Pennsylvania, and on September 
II, 1777, a portion of the "Jersey Line opened the battle of Brandy- 
wine and continued all day." The brigade had a skirmish at White 
Horse tavern, aiid then encamped at Germantown. "Maxwell's bri- 
gade, with some North Carolina troops, formed the reserve corps and 
left wing of the army at the battle of Germantown under the command 
of Major-General Lord Stirling," and "spent most of the winter with 
the army at Valley Forge, and June 18, 1778, was detached from the 
main army and with some militia was ordered to harass General Clinton 
and impede his force. June 28, 1778, the Jersey troops joined the left 
wing of the army and took part in the battle of Monmouth." 

In the Indian Campaign, under General Sullivan, all of the New 
Jersey Continental line were under Brigadier-General Maxwell, with 
Colonels Ogden, Shreve, Dayton and Spencer in command of the four 
regiments. The Jersey troops had undergone great hardships in the 
winter of 1778-79, when they occupied the advance post at Elizabeth. 
They numbered 1,294 men, of whom one company under Captain 
Helms was from our county. The total of Sullivan's army was 4,100 
men. 

On May 29, 1779, the regiment under Colonel Shreve, which 
contained the troops from our county, left Elizabeth under the escort 
of many citizens of that place and Newark, by whom the officers had 
been handsomely entertained. They reached Easton on June 5, where 
they were reviewed by General Maxwell, and where they had the 



Warren County. 47 

pleasure of seeing Lady Washington pass through. She was escorted 
to the Sun Inn at Bethlehem by General Maxwell. S^he was on her way 
from headquarters at Morristown to her home in Mount Vernon. 
Custis says that "At the close of each campaign, an aide-de-camp 
repaired to Mount Vernon to escort the lady to headquarters. The 
arrival of the aide-de-camp escorting the plain chariot with the neat 
postillions in their scarlet and white liveries, was deemed an epoch in 
the army, and served to diffuse a cheering influence amid the gloom 
which hung over our destinies at Valley Forge, Morristown and West 
Point. Lady Washington always remained at headquarters till the 
opening of the campaign, and she often remarked in after life, that it 
had been her fortune to hear the first cannon at the opening and the last 
at the closing of all the campaigns of the Revolutionary war." 

On June i-8th, at 8.00 o'clock in the morning, the army started 
on its march from Easton by way of the Wind Gap to Wyoming, 
arriving on June 23rd, where twelve hundred homes had been ruined 
by the merciless savages. Here the whole army witnessed the exe- 
cution of a citizen of Phillipsburg, who had been found guilty by 
court martial of enticing soldiers to desert from the army. After 
six weeks of preparation, the army started on its long campaign 
on July 31, with 1,200 horses bearing supplies and 700 cattle for 
food. The whole army forded the Susquehanna river and camped 
at Tioga, from which, leaving supplies behind, expeditions were 
sent to destroy the Indian village. Colonel Shreve's regiment, under 
fire, destroyed more than 1,000 bushels 'of growing corn at the vil- 
lage of New Chemung, consisting of fifty huts which were burned. 
Colonel Shreve and 250 of his men were left at Fort Sullivan, at Tioga, 
to protect baggage, stores and invalids." 

The instructions given by Washington to General Sullivan were 
to accomplish "The total destruction and devastation of the settlements 
of the hostile Indians of the Six Nations who, true to their ancient com- 
pact with the English, sided with the Crown. The country must not 



48 Warren County. 

merely be overrun but destroyed. * * * You will listen to no 
overture of peace before the total ruin of their settlements is effected." 

The fighting strength of the enemy was 1,200 warriors, assisted 
by two companies of the "Royal Greens" of the British army, under 
Colonel John Johnson, and some Torf militia led by Joseph Brant and 
Colonel John Butler. These had committed many outrages, notably 
that of Wyoming. 

It took brave men to go thus to the very centre of the strongest 
Indian nation then known and attempt to destroy it utterly. The 
revenge of the Indians on any unfortunate captive was dreadful, for 
example: "The bodies of Lieutenant Boyd and Corporal Parker were 
found, showing that they had been tied and whipped, their nails torn 
out, tongues and noses cut off, eyes plucked out, part of their bodies 
skinned, pierced with darts, and beheaded." 

The army marched as far as Genessee Castle, the most beautiful 
town of all, destroyed it and devastated 15,000 acres. On the return 
journey, every village of the Five Nations (except of some friendly 
Oneidas) was destroyed, and the army reached Fort Sullivan at Tioga 
on September 30. The troops arrived at Easton on October 15, having 
destroyed forever the strength of the Six Nations. They had burned 
forty towns and destroyed more than "one hundred and sixty thousand 
bushels of corn." 

On the approach of the army to Easton, prices were marked up to 
such an extent that the "Jersey brigade, with solemn resolve, deter- 
mined not to buy a single article in the town." The Jersey troops 
crossed to Phillipsburg on October 26, 1779, camped at Oxford, one 
mile from Belvidere, that night, and marched thence past Hope and 
Johnsonsburg to Sussex Courthouse at Newton, to Warwick, Pompton, 
Morristown and Springfield, arriving at Scotch Plains on November 5, 
where Washington joined them on December 7 with the main body of 
his army. 

The troops from the Indian Campaign received the thanks of Con- 



Warren County. 49 

gress, which appointed a special day of thanksgiving, and Washington 
congratulated them on their success. They lost forty-two men, but only 
300 of the 1,400 horses returned. "The terrible winter of 1779-80 
followed, and the Jersey troops ended the year of toil and distress with 
intense suffering from the cold of that fearful winter." 

Besides the regular Continental troops, the militia of New Jersey 
frequently performed invaluable service during the war, the greater 
part of which was fought on New Jersey soil. When in service they 
were called State troops, to distinguish them from the regular line. 

In 1775 Colonel Ephraim Martin commanded the Susses militia. 
A second regiment of Sussex militia was commanded from 1777 to the 
end of the war by Colonel Aaron Hankinson, who after the war 
became brigadier-general of militia. The militia did good service 
against the Tories and Indians, notably at Minisink, and assisted the 
Continental army in many of its operations in New Jersey and Penn- 
sylvania. The New Jersey troops were discharged November 31, 1783. 

For lists of men of our county who served in the Revolution the 
reader is referred to Adjutant-General Stryker's lists, from which a list 
was made for Snell's "History of Sussex and Warren." But, at the 
best, it is impossible to mention all the names, as many were in regi- 
ments from other states or counties, and have been, entirely overlooked 
as coming from this county. 

Throughout the State of New Jersey, it is estimated that about 
one-third of the population were Tory sympathizers who, however, 
staid well in the background with their sentiments except at times when 
it seemed that the patriot cause was about to be lost. 

"The Tories in New York, protected by the English forces, were 
numerous, wealthy and active; they had many friends, relatives and 
dependents in East Jersey, over whom they exercised a dangerous influ- 
ence. During the whole interval from the commencement of hostili- 
ties until the treaty of peace. New Jersey was a frontier State and 
exposed to all the miseries of border warfare; at one time the enemy 
lay upon her northern and southern boundaries and her losses, in pro- 



50 Warren County. 

portion to her wealth and population were probably greater than those 
of any other State save South Carolina." — GoMon. 

While our county had its Tories, yet the prevailing sentiment was 
strong for independence. The Comr^ittees of Safety in each township 
reported but a few who did not sign the Articles of Association, and 
many of these were Quakers who desired to take no part in the strug- 
gle on either side. All those who would not sign were disarmed and 
watched by the committee. 

When Lord Cornwallis entered New Jersey in November, 1777, 
he issued a proclamation offering, protection to all who would take 
the oath of allegiance within sixty days, and pardon to "all but the 
principal instigators and abettors of the rebellion," and gave orders 
"to dissolve the provincial congresses and committees of safety, to 
restore the administration of justice, and to arrest the persons and 
destroy the property of all who should refuse to give satisfactory tests 
of their obedience." 

There were but few Tories In our county who took an active part in the 
war. The localities where Tory sympathy was strongest were on Scott's 
Mountain, in Knowlton, and at the Quaker Settlement. For public acts, 
Tories were severely dealt with. For speaking "very contemptuously and 
disrespectful of the Continental and Provincial Congresses," at least one 
citizen was advertized in the public prints as a public enemy, and forced 
to retract. One citizen of Phllllpsburg was executed at the beginning 
of the Indian campaign for urging soldiers to desert. Two magistrates 
of Sussex county were deposed from office, disarmed, fined, and forced 
to give bonds for good behavior, for "signing and promoting" a Tory 
association. The property of Tories known to be active was confis- 
cated, and commissioners were appointed to sell It to pay expenses of 
the war. Thus were confiscated the iron works at Waterloo, at High 
Bridge, and the Coxe interests at Oxford. These sales often amounted 
to the payment of heavy fines, as the property was bought by agents of 



Warren County. 51 

the owners, who after the war are found again in possession of their 
property. 

Full pardon, however, was offered in 1778 to nearly all who 
"have levied war against any of these States or adhered to, or aided or 
abetted the enemy and shall surrender * * * and return to the 
State to which they may belong before the tenth day of June next." 

Gorton says: "The Quakers were severely exercised by the pecu- 
liar duties required of them by the committee of safety and the mili- 
tary associations. They were required either to take up arms, which 
they would not do, or contribute to the support of those who did. The 
latter they would probably have cheerfully done, in some indirect man- 
ner, if left to do it voluntarily; but an attempt to coerce them had the 
effect of alienating many of the sect and attaching them to the royal 
side. There were distinguished men, however, of that sect among the 
patriots of the revolution; and many more favored the cause." 

The Shippen family, who at the time of the war came into pos- 
session of Oxford Furnace, is connected with at least one important 
event in American history. The Shippens were strong Tories, and 
resided in Philadelphia. Benedict Arnold was appointed commander 
at Philadelphia when the British evacuated it in 1778, and while there 
fell in love with and married Peggy (or Margaret), the beautiful 
daughter of Edward Shippen. Doubtless this connection with a Tory 
family had something to do with his treason later, as well as the bribe 
of $50,000 in gold and a commission in the British Army that were 
offered to him. 

The most prominent Tory in this region was Lieutenant James 
Moody, born in 1744. In 1777 he joined the loyal troops of New 
Jersey, was made ensign of First Battalion in 1779, and lieutenant in 
August, 178 1. In May, 1780, he led an expedition to capture Gov- 
ernor Livingstone, for whom a reward of 2,000 guineas ($10,000) 
had been offered, dead or alive, and another expedition to burn the 
Sussex county courthouse and set free the prisoners, many of whom 



52 Warren County. 

were Tories. He sucteeded only in setting free the prisoners. Accord- 
ing to Snell, "Moody spent much of his time in hunting up unprotected 
patriots and making them swear allegiance to the Crown. Moody 
would call on Philip Cummins at regular Intervals and make him take 
the oath, although it was well known among his relatives that his sym- 
pathies were with the colonies. These visits would generally occur in 
the night, and Moody was often accompanied by some of his Tory 
associates, one of whom, on one occasion, discharged his gun at Philip, 
but Moody struck up the barrel arid saved his Hfe." 

Lieutenant John Moody, a brother to James, was also an active 
Tory, and Was executed as a spy in 1781. He was captured in an 
attempt to rob the archives of the Continental Congress. 

Prominent among the many bravfe men from our county who 
served their country so vahantly in the Revolution, may be mentioned 
Brigadier-General William Maxwell, Colonels John Cleve Symmes, 
Ephraim Martin, Mark Thompson, William Bond, Matthias Ship- 
man; Majors Cornelius Carhart, Samuel Meeker, John Van Vleet; 
Surgeons Robert Cummins and James Holmes; and Captains Benjamin 
McCullough, Joseph Mackey, John Maxwell, John McMurtrie and 
William Helms. 

Brigadier-General Daniel Morgan, too, was born in "Our County," 
in 1736; for at that date our county was a part of Hunterdon. He was 
born at Hampton, New Jersey, just over the line from Warren county. 

Captain John Maxwell, a brother of the general, was lieutenant in 
the first company raised in Sussex county, and later at the head of one 
hundred men recruited mainly in Greenwich township, offered his serv- 
ices to Washington In the darkest hour of the war. He and his men 
from our county were engaged in the battles of Trenton, Princeton, 
Brandywine, .Germantown, Monmouth, and Springfield. 

Cornelius Carhart, the ancestor of those of that name in Warren 
county, was second major in the Second regiment of Hunterdon county 
militia. 



Warren CouNxy. 



53 



While no battles were fought on Warren county soil in the strug- 
gle for independence, yet we were so near the seat of hostilities for the 
greater part of the war as to produce a state of disquiet until the war 
was ended. We furnished promptly our men and officers ; our farmers' 
teams were busy hauling provisions to the armies at Morristown and 
elsewhere in the State; our mills ground the flour to feed the soldiers; 
our forges and furnaces provided the cannon balls, the cannons and 
other iron needed; our hills fed the cattle that the soldiers needed for 
food and the horses they used for transport; our quiet and safe roads 
offered the best means of communication between Philadelphia and the 
Hudson River and New England and no less a person than Lady 
Washington herself traveled from Morristown to the South through 







^^^S^Bn 


HI^^H^I^^H 


^^ 


jIESkS^K!:' 


jhIs 


^^9IH 




^^^Sp^^ 


k^^^B^XSfl 


IR^n 


'^rfSf^Sa 


BKsttl^rXwSKS^fiS^lf^ 


wSm 


i^^^b^bb^^^nf^^H 


aaS^SSia 


^^^1 


w^m 


pIm 




m 


H^^^^^Hh "^ 


1 


9H 


^^^m 


m 


H 



Historic Tree Between Hope and Bridgeville. 
"Washington's Tree." 



54 AJ^ARREN County. 

our county in June, 1799. General Washington traveled by way of 
Bethlehem, Easton, Belvidere, Hope, Johnsonsburg and Newton on 
July 26, 1782, attended only by two aides, and the Rev. Mr. Etwein 
on his way from Philadelphia to Newburg. It is said General Lafay- 
ette also passed through our county.* 

Two of the early Presbyterian ministers of the county suffered 
from the Revolutionary war. One of the supplies sent by the Presby- 
tery of New Brunswick to the churches at Greenwich, Washington and 
Oxford, from 1739 till 1755, was the Rev. James McCrea, father of 
Miss Jane McCrea, a beautiful young girl who was visiting friends at 
Fort Edward, and who was engaged to a young Tory serving in Bur- 
goyne's army when it was near that place. Some prowling Indians 
captured Miss McCrea and carried her a prisoner on horseback toward 
Burgoyne's army. They were followed, and a shot meant for the 
Indians killed her. The Indians took her scalp and escaped to Bur- 
goyne's army, where her lover recognized her hair. Many versions of 
the affair were scattered broadcast over the country, causing thousands 
of young men to enlist, and no doubt the boys from this county who 
went with General Sullivan to wipe out the Six Nations of Indians in 
1779, felt that they were avenging a personal injury. 

The first settled Presbyterian minister in the county served the 
three churches at Greenwich, Washington and Oxford from 1755 until 
1768, when he was transferred to churches at Mt. Bethel and Craig's 
Settlement. In the darkest hour of the Revolution, just before the 
battle of Trenton, he presented himself to General Washington at the 
head of a battalion, requesting that some competent man be put in com- 
mand while he remained as chaplain. They helped make possible the 
most glorious victory of the war at Trenton. A few days after the 
battle, he was surprised at a farm house near Pennington by a British 
scouting party. They bayonetted him "in cold blood, and he died a 
martyr to the cause of American liberty." His name was John Rose- 
brough. 



Warren County. 55 

In July, 1782, Parliament passed a bill to enable the King to 
acknowledge the independence of the United States, and on November 
30 a preliminary treaty of peace was signed which recognized the inde- 
pendence of the Thirteen United States. The final treaty of peace was 
signed at Paris on September 3, 1783, and so ended the Revolutionary 
War. 



CHAPTER VI. 



From the End of the Revolution to the Formation of War- 
ren County. 



1783— 1824. 



The peaceful period after the Revolution was one of great internal 
growth for our county into which the affairs of the outside world scarcely 
penetrated. The new generation settled and cleared the farms, built 
substantial stone houses in many cases to replace the original log cabin, 
developed the water powers, and inside of fifty years had developed the 
strictly country part of the county to a degree not found to-day. 

One of the participants in the war with the Barbary States was 
Lieutenant Thomas Oakley Anderson, of Newton, who helped destroy 
the frigate "Philadelphia" at Tripoli, February 16, 1804. 

One of the great difficulties of the colonists was to secure ready 
money. Most of that brought with them soon found its way back to 
Europe for the purchase of supplies. In 1682 half-pence, originally 
coined by Mark Newbie for use in Ireland, were made current coin of 
our province. The value of a beaver was fixed by the government at 
eight guilders. , 

The current money of the Indians was wampum, the name of 
which is derived from the Indian word for mussel. The wampum con- 
sisted of cylindrical or flat perforated pieces of mussel shell which were 
strung on leather thongs. Owing to a scarcity of small change, wam- 
pum passed current among the white, six beads being valued at a stiver, 
of which twenty made a guilder. 

The first paper currency of New Jersey was authorized by the 
legislature in 1709, when paper bills of credit to the value of £3,000 



Warren County; 57 

were authorized for financing an expedition to Canada. Again, in 
1723, an issue of £40,000 was authorized, and in 1730 an issue of 
£20,000 was added. This money passed at par in Pennsylvania, and 
at seven shillings for six in New York. 

The circulating medium in the Colonies before 1800 was largely 
Spanish silver in the shape of pieces of eight reals, a real being a Mexi- 
can or Spanish shilling. ' From this we get the value of our local "shil- 
ling" of twelve and one-half cents, or one-eighth of a dollar. These 
pieces of eight were about the size of our silver dollar, and some of 
them were called dollars more than two hundred years ago. Many of 
these old Spanish silver dollars are to be found among the treasured 
relics in old Warren county families to this day. 

In order to secure a uniformity of money values throughout all 
the Colonies, Queen Anne, on June 18, 1704, published her proclama- 
tion determining the value of "Sevill, pillar, or Mexico pieces of eight" 
to be no more than "six shillings per piece, current money." This 
made the value of the pound equal to three and one-third of these silver 
dollars. Values thus calculated were known as proclamation money, or 
Proc money. In New Jersey and Pennsylvania this legal valuation of 
the piece of eight was not always observed. For a number of years 
before 1775 it passed for seven shillings six pence, and at this valuation 
was known as Yorke money. This valuation, or ninety pence to the 
dollar, was recognized by Congress for some years before our currency 
reached its present basis of one hundred cents to the dollar. 

During the Revolution the bills of credit issued by Congress depre- 
ciated rapidly. In September, 1777, the Continental dollar passed for 
seven shillings and six penc«; in January, 1778, for five shillings; in 
June, 1778, for two shillings and ten pence; in September, 1778, for 
one shilling ten and one-half pence; in January, 1779, for one shilling; 
in July, 1779, for six pence; in January, 1780, for three pence, and 
shortly would not pass at all. Many were the fortunes lost by people 
who took Continental money for their farms and had it depreciate on 



58 Warren County. 

their hands. An idea of the' depreciation of the currency may be gained 
from the taxes levied in the county. Before the war in 1774 the total 
levy was £1,185; i" 1781 the amount was £441,009, which fell to 
£2,343 in 1789. 

Between 1786 and 1788 a special New Jersey penny was issued, 
some of which have even lately been plowed up. It shows a horse's 
head above a plow, and the legend "Nova Caesarea," on one side, and 
"E Pluribus Unum" above a shield on the other. These pennies were 
coined to the value of £10,000. 

In the earliest days mail routes and post-offices were unknown, and 
letters were delivered by special messenger or by favor of some chance 
traveller. The first regular mounted post between New York and 
Boston started January i, 1673. In 1739 and for many years there- 
after there was but one mail a week between New York and Philadel- 
phia. 

On February 20, 1792, the Congress of the United States passed 
an "Act to establish the post-office and post roads within the United 
States." The act went into effect June i, 1792. The route established 
ran from Wiscasset, Maine, to Savannah, Georgia. To this main line a 
few cross routes were established, among them being one from Philadel- 
phia to Bethlehem, another from Bethlehem to Easton and Sussex 
Court House in 1793, and yet another from Sussex Court House, to 
Elizabethtown, where it met the post road again. The Easton and 
Goshen mail stage was in operation across Warren county as early as 
1803. 

In 181 1 the only post-offices within the present county limits were 
at Belvidere, with John Kinney, Jr., as postmaster; Hackettstown, with 
Benajah Gustin; and Johnsonsburg, with Thomas Stinson. 

The earliest postal rates for a letter weighing one-quarter of an 
ounce were six cents for distances up to thirty miles; eight cents up to 
sixty miles; ten cents for a hundred miles; twelve and one-half cents 
for one hundred and fifty miles and over four hundred and fifty miles 



Warren Couniy. 59 

twenty-five cents. Newspapers were carried one hundred miles for one 
cent, and two hundred miles for a cent and a half. 

The postage stamp came into use in 1845, ^^^ f°^ several years 
after that date it was not commonly used. Before that time the amount 
of the postage, for example, twelve cents for a letter from New York 
to Morristown, was marked on the envelope, and this was paid at 
either end of the route to the postmaster, who paid it in turn, less his 
commission, to a government collector. 

As early as 1777 and until after 1800 the road from Easton and 
Phillipsburg to Belvidere, Hope, Johnsonburg and Newton, and from 
there by way of Goshen to Newburg, was acknowledged as the best 
line of travel between New England and Philadelphia. On this route 
have travelled General Washington, President Adams, General du 
Chastellux, and many others. 

A good idea of the public travelling accommodations in the days of 
the stage coach is given by an advertisement in the Belvidere Apollo 
for June 1,1830. It describes a new line of mail coaches : 

"The stage leaves Trenton every Tuesday, Thursday and Satur- 
day at 6.00 o'clock a. m., arrives at Belvidere at 5.00 p. m. the same 
days. Leaves Belvidere at half past four a. m. on Mondays, Wednes- 
days and Fridays, and arrives at Trenton by 4.00 p. m. This line 
passes through Pennington, Woodsville, Rockton, Ringoes, Fleming- 
ton, Clinton, New Hampton, Washington and Oxford Furnace. It 
intersects the Easton and New York lines at Washington, N. J., so 
that passengers from Easton can arrive at Trenton the same day, and 
those from New York at Belvidere the same evening. It also inter- 
sects the stage from Easton to Newton at Belvidere, by which line 
passengers will arrive in Easton on the evening of the same days, where 
it intersects the several regular lines of stages to every direction of the 
country. Persons travelling from Philadelphia to Mauch Chunk will 
find this the most desirable route they can take. Fare Through $2.75." 

In 1827 we gain from an advertisement in the Apollo that: 

"By this line of coaches passengers can be accommodated with a 
passage from Easton to the following places, viz., by the mail stage 



6o Warren County. 

which leaves Easton every Monday, Wednesday and Friday for New- 
ton, where it intersects the daily line from New York to Buffalo by way 
of Milford, Montrose, Ithaca and Geneva, at which last mentioned 
place it intersects several daily lines for Rochester, Buffalo, Lewistown, 
etc. 

"The following mail stages als% run regularly from Easton for 
Wilkes-Barre every Monday, Wednesday and Friday; for New^York 
via Schooley's Mountain Springs every Monday, Wednesday and Fri- 
day; for New Brunswick every Wednesday; for Berwick via Mauch- 
Chunk every Friday; for Lancaster via Reading every Monday; for 
Milford through Stroudsburg every Friday." 

After three-quarters of a century of relative disuse for long dis- 
tance travel, we find our county's roads again filled with travelers, who 
now go in automobiles as many miles in an hour as the stage coach used 
to go in a day. 

Two long distance routes run through our county. One is from 
New York to the Water Gap, Pocono and Scranton, by way of Hack- 
ettstown, Vienna, Great Meadows, Townsbury, Belvidere, and either 
Myers' or Boardman's ferry. The other is from the east to Easton by 
way of Hackettstown, Washington and Phillipsburg, over what was 
once called the Great Western Turnpike. Both of these routes are 
nearly all macadamized or tarviated, and offer great temptations to 
violation of the speed laws. 

During the past one hundred years the world has made greater 
progress in some respects than in all its previous history, and greater 
progress than any succeeding century can reasonably hope to equal. 

This is especially true with respect to the application of mechan- 
ical power; to the development of transportation and means of commu- 
nication ; to the advancement of technical knowledge in adding to the 
creature comforts of life; to the development of those great sociological 
aggregations, our cities ; and to the Invention of machines for the most 
varied purposes. 

The beginning of the end of the old conditions in our county was 
marked by the completion of the Morris canal and of the Pennsylvania 



Warren Coun'I'y. . 6i 

canal, which offered cheap transportation for freight, and finally the 
completion of the railroads In the fifties ushered In the modern era. 
The change from that which was old to that which was new was made 
gradually, and Its full effect was not reached until the causative factors 
had been In operation for many years. The end of conditions as they 
were was caused by Increased facilities of communication, so that each 
little community was no longer self-centered, but was a part of the 
world, as a whole. 

Most of the things we use now are made so far away that we never 
know the people who produce them, and each Is produced by a specialist 
In his line. A hundred years ago we knew the history of every piece of 
cloth from the sheep or flax-field to the finished garment; of every piece 
of leather from the cow that furnished the hide to the top boots made 
by the village shoemaker; and of every piece of furniture from the 
tree in the forest to the finest specimen of work turned out by the local 
cabinet maker. 

The steam engine made an important change in the development 
of Warren county towns. In the early days a water power was the 
most valuable asset that a community could have. Without it no im- 
portant Industry could thrive, nor any considerable town develop. 
Water courses, too, were invaluable in the transportation of freight. 
With the advent of steam and cheap coal to produce it, sites with water 
power lost some of their prestige, and it was possible for Industries to 
thrive and towns to develop at any place to which coal could be shipped. 
But water powers are coming into their own again, and as coal becomes 
progressively dearer, as it surely will, we shall have to look to our 
water powers for our future prosperity. They now lend themselves to 
present conditions because electricity produced by water power will dis- 
tribute its energy economically wherever it is needed, even miles away. 

The carrying of heavy freight to and from Warren county was 
almost entirely by water before 1 800. The necessities of travel on the 
Delaware early developed a special type of boat called, from its designer, 



62 Warren County. 

the Durham boat. The first Durham boat was built by Robert Dur- 
ham, at Durham Furnace, about 1740. The boats were flat-bottomed, 
sharp at both ends, sixty-six feet long, six feet wide, three feet deep,- 
and of fifteen tons burden. The crew of six men propelled and steered 
them by oars or by poles. At their hSght there were several hundred 
of these boats on the river, employing over two thousand men. The 
opening of the Morris Canal in 1831 and of the Delaware canal in 
1832, caused the Durham boats gradually to fall into disuse. 

The Durham boat and its boat horn and song inspired Dr. John 
Watson to produce his "Ode to Spring," written in 1777 and published 
in Asher Miner's Correspondent in 1805. A part of it is given below: 

" The jolly boatman down the ebbing stream, 
By the clear moonlight, plies his easy way. 
With prosp'rous fortune to inspire his theme. 
Sings a sweet farewell to the parting day. 

" His rustic music measures even time. 

As in the crystal wave he dips his oar. 
And echo pleas'd, returns the tuneful chime. 

Mixed with soft murmurs from the listening shore." 

Smith, in 1765, speaks of "the long flat boats," "some carrying 
500 or 600 bushels of wheat." "These boats seldom come down but 
with freshets, especially from the Minisink; the freight thence to Phila- 
delphia is eight pence a bushel for wheat and three shillings a barrel 
for flour. From the forks and other places below, twenty shillings a 
ton for pig iron, seven pence a bushel for wheat, and six pence a barrel 
for flour." The Apollo, on March 8, 1825, said: "There are gen- 
erally three freshets a year, each of which continues from two to three 
weeks and sometimes three months; during which time the river is 
navigable for full loads; and in very high water a boat goes from 
Belvidere to Philadelphia in one day; during all the rest of the year 
part of a load can be taken, but it is not necessary ever to go with part 



Warren County. 63 

of a load, as there is high water enough every year to take off three 
times as much produce as- is raised in both Sussex and Warren." 

Matthias Cummins told Rev. Mr. Young that before the railroad 
came here (in 1855) "we shipped our grain to Philadelphia by the 
Durham boats, which were made here in Delaware at the Hartung saw 
mill. The boats we tried to sell at Philadelphia, but if we could not we 
poled them back, getting them through foul rift by the help of rings 
in the rocks (which are still there). If the boats came back they 
brought sugar and molasses mainly. Our pigs, turkeys, chickens, etc., 
we took overland to Newark or New York. Our first stop for the 
night was at Morristown. In the city we sold our produce and bought 
salt, molasses, sugar and the like for our return trip." 

The advances in artificial illumination have been no less marked 
than those in mechanical locomotion. During the first hundred years 
or more of Warren County's history, the almost universal illuminant 
was the tallow dip. This was a tallow candle made by dipping a 
cotton wick a number of times into melted tallow until it was large 
enough to suit one's fancy. They usually measured about eight inches 
long by three-quarters of an inch in diameter. Sometimes, if candles 
were not forthcoming, the most primitive lamp was used, and this in 
Belvidere in the eighteen thirties! It consisted of a flat earthern dish 
containing lard, and reaching from this to the edge of the dish was a 
bit of twisted cotton cloth for a wick. This was lighted, and gave 
about as much light as a tallow dip. Connoisseurs will recognize in 
this the Eskimo lamp of today, which has to do duty also as a cook 
stove. 

Something like the modern oil lamp was used here as early as 
1825. It burned sperm oil, and had three round wicks that gave at 
least as much light as three candles burning at once. Later, a number 
of burning fluids, mostly highly explosive, were used in a lamp of the 
same style. One of these was camphene, which was replaced by kero- 



64 Warren County. 

sene in the sixties. The kerosene of those days was often highly 
explosive. 

Matches were invented within the memory of people' now living. 
Before their advent every effort was made to keep a live coal in the 
fireplace at all times. If that fire went out my mother, for instance, had 
to go to the nearest neighbors, the Axfords, a quarter mile away to get 
a redhot piece of charcoal, which she brought back, covered with ashes, 
to start the fire again. Others would strike a spark with flint and steel 
with which to ignite a bit of punk and so start a fire. Mr. Samuel J. 
Hixson remembers gathering punk for this purpose, which was the dry 
rotten center of a hickory knot. This was always watched for in cutting 
up hickory, as it was highly prized. Others would use dry tow in place 
of punk, and yet others would use a flintlock gun with plenty of powder 
in the pan, whose flash would set fire to some tow. 

The Indians used still another method of starting a fire. This 
was by the rapid revolution of a hard-wood stick, weighted down 
and resting on a piece of softer wood. The stick was often made to 
revolve by a bow string. The friction produced enough heat to fire 
some punk placed around the bottom of the revolving stick. This 
method is still in use among the Alaskan Indians. 

A forerunner of the match was a fire kindler of wood somewhat 
larger than a match, tipped with sulphur. Many of them were on one 
piece of wood, the whole looking like a comb. They were ignited by 
touching the sulphur end to a live coal. The writer does not hear of 
the use of the Dobereiner self-lighting lamp or of the sun glass to 
produce fire in our county. 

The great feature of all the diversions of a century ago was their 
utility. The community was dependent in its amusements, as in every- 
thing else, entirely on itself. It lost no opportunity, therefore, to gain 
entertainment from the commonest affairs of life, so that every gather- 
ing, for any purpose, was distinctly a social event. 

One of these was a quilting party, at which the ladies worked all 



Warren County. 65 

day quilting one of those matchless creations containing thousands of 
pieces, while the men appeared in time for supper, which was followed 
by a social evening. 

A "Stone Frolic" gathered all the men of the neighborhood to pick- 
ing the loose stones from a new-ground while the ladies were preparing 
a feast for them at the house. A "Raising" socially was about the same 
thing, but the work consisted in raising the frame of a new building. 
Husking bees, plowing frolics, and the like were usually to aid some 
neighbor who, owing to sickness, was behind with his work. Apple 
cuts were a form of useful diversion at which apples were peeled, cored 
and quartered in preparation for drying on scaffolds erected for the 
purpose. After eleven o'clock the apple paring gave way to games, 
such as "Steal the partners," "Candid," "Top," in most of which kiss- 
ing entered somewhere, or to dancing to the music of a violin, which was 
the common musical instrument before 1850. 

The first piano mentioned in the county was played by Mrs. Rober- 
deau, in the Shippen mansion, at Oxford, in 1804. 

"The first lady who kept her carriage" in this part of New Jersey 
was Mrs. Benjamin McCullough, of Greenwich Township. 

The first organ the writer finds mentioned in Warren County was 
the one in the Moravian Church, at Hope, which General du Chastel- 
lux, of General La Fayette's staff, visited in 1778, and of which he 
says in his journal, it "resembles the Presbyterian meeting houses, with 
the difference that there is an organ and some religious pictures." 

A hundred years ago everybody went barefoot from April until 
the snow flew in November. The men often made their feet stand 
the hard wear better by applying tar to their soles, and then stepping on 
sand. Elijah Lanning made shoes for the people in Buttzville. He 
would come and take the measure of all the family once a year, and 
make for each member one pair of shoes for the women, or of boots 
for the men. 

One clock was the only time piece in a whole family, and a tin 



66 



Warren County. 



dinner horn summoned the men from the fields. Women rarely worked 
in the fields In the early days, as they had so many duties around the 
house to attend to. 

Before broom corn came into use, about 1840, brooms were made 
of a hickory stick cut into splints. ♦ 




Raising a Barrack Roof. 

One new suit a year was all that could be obtained for each person 
of a family, and this was all made in the neighborhood. For instance, 
as late as 1847, Cornelius Carhart would take his wool to a Mr. Ross, 
at Buttzville, who carded it and made it into rolls. It was then spun 
by Sally Ann Shafer, at the Carhart home, after which it was taken to 
Effie Axford to be woven into blankets or linsey-woolsey for men's 
winter trousers, and the finest of it into cloth for the women's 
dresses, some of which was dyed blue, some left tow color, and some 
with the warp undyed and the woof dyed blue.- Or he raised flax and, 
let it lie in the field until rotten, then broke it and hetcheled it. The 
fine flax was spun by Sally Ann Shafer into sewing thread, and the 
coarser tow into thread for trousers, the cloth for which was made just 
wide enough to allow a selvage at the bottom and top of the garment. 
The linen was dyed with indigo by dipping three times and laying in 
the sun for a day eath time. 



Warren County. 67 

The following advertisement appears in the Belvidere Apollo for 
October 23, 1827 : 

OXFORD FULLING MILLS. 

Fulling, dressmg and dying of cloth. The subscriber begs leave 
to Inform the public that he has in operation the Fulling Mills formerly 
conducted by Zachariah Flumerfelt on the Pequest Creek, about one 
mile above Benjamin T. Hunt's Tavern, where he conducts the business 
in all its various branches. His prices are as follows : 

On men's wear i shilling 6 pence per yard for Common Bottle 
Greens, Blacks, all shades of Brown, all shades of Snuff, Patent Blue, 
Crow's Blue and Navy Blue, all other dark colors and drab. 

For fulling, shearing and pressing, a shilling and six pence, and 
for fulling and pressing, six pence a yard. 

On women's wear, a shilling and six pence per yard for Madder 
Red; a shilling two pence for other reds; a shiUing three pence for 
greens of all shades; a shilling for all other dark colors and browns of 
all shades; four pence for scouring and eight pence for scouring and 
napping for blankets. JACOB DODDER. 

Crude as seem to us the accommodations and conveniences that 
the early settlers enjoyed, we must not forget that they were fully as 
good as they were accustomed to in their fornier homes, and became 
shortly very much better for the average citizen. For instance, in 
Scotland and the North of Ireland, from whence so many settlers came 
to our country, there was not a single wagon in 1720, and it was not 
till 1749 that the first coach ran between Edinburgh and Glasgow. In 
1783 Loudon McAdam went from America to England and there 
built macadamized roads. The best road builders in the world follow 
the general principles laid down by McAdam. Before his arrival in 
England roads were scarcely better than the American ones. 

"Scotch inns were as bad as the roads, mean hovels with dirty 
rooms, dirty food, dirty attendants, servants without shoes and stock- 
ings, greasy tables with no cloths, butter thick with cow's hairs, no 
knives and forks, a single drinking cup for all at the table, filthy smells 
and sights were universal; and this when English inns were the pleas- 
antest places on earth." 



68 Warren County. 

The education of the young people a hundred years ago was 
usually restricted to what could be gained in a term at a private school 
each year, between November and April. The School houses were log 
buildings about sixteen feet square, built by subscrlptjon. Here a school 
master, often a minister, was suppSrted by small payments made by 
his patrons, while usually poor children received no schooling whatever. 

The first act authorizing the raising of money for school purposes 
was passed in 1829. In that year the first State aid, amounting to 
$20,000, was distributed among the counties, which was increased by 
1838 to $30,000, and by 1867 to $100,000. In 1837 our county 
received her share of a fund from the Federal government arising from 
the sale of public lands, to be used in support of schools. The present 
public school law was passed in 1867, and amended in 1871, so as to 
make the schools entirely free. 

There are at present In the county 115 school houses, most of them 
. of fine construction. Mr. Frank T. Atwood has been superintendent 
of public instruction in the county for many years. 

According to Judge Swayze, "the war with England, which began 
In 1 8 12, had little effect In this county. Troops were not readily 
obtained. In 18 14 the board of freeholders appointed a committee to 
make terms with the United States recruiting officer fon the enlistment 
of two prisoners confined In the jail, thus at the same time attempting 
to discharge their obligation to the National government and to save 
the county the expense of maintaining the prisoners. It had become 
so difficult to secure soldiers that a draft was necessary, and In Septem- 
berj 1 8 14, the drafted men began their march to Paulus Hook, now 
Jersey City." 

Dr. Samuel W. Fell, of Johnsonsburg, was an officer In command 
of the "Washington Greens" at Sandy Hook, In the war of 18 12. 
Among those from this county who served in this war were Christopher 
FItts and Samuel Carhart, of Washington ; Isaac Little, James Fisher, 



Warren County. 69 

David Robertson, William Andrews, Jacob Andrews and Jacob Hazen, 
of Mansfield; Dr. Samuel W. Fell and Dr. Hampton. 

One effect of the war of 1 8 1 2 was a considerable advance in the 
price of commodities. Brown sugar cost thirty-five cents a pound, and 
coffee forty cents. But, in compensation, wheat brought three dollars 
a bushel, corn a dollar and a half, and oats eighty cents. Since our 
county produced nearly everything It needed excepting salt, tea, coffee, 
sugar and molasses, we did not feel the distress resulting from the war 
so much as the cities, in which there were many mercantile failures. 
The inflation of prices extended until the great financial crisis in 18 17 
came, and brought ruin to many. 

A speculation known as the "Merino sheep fever" reached New 
Jersey, In common with the neighboring States. It raged for a few 
years before 18 14, and during its progress hundreds of dollars were 
paid for a single sheep which sold for a few dollars after the fever 
died out. . ; 1 I ' 1 ' 

The first boatload of anthracite coal to go down the Delaware 
was a cargo of 250 bushels taken by, William TurnbuU in 1806, down 
the Lehigh to Easton, and thence, to Philadelphia. But it was not 
until 1820 that permanent traffic In coal began with the shipment of 
365 tons of Lehigh coal by White & Hazard. 

In 1820 Sussex County was the most populous In the State. 
Warren County reached. In the country districts, its greatest population 
within twenty years of that time, and since then the agricultural districts 
have been steadily losing to the towns their natural growth of popu- 
lation. 

Agitation for the division of Sussex County began as early as 
1800. In 1 8 13 a proposition was made to divide the county by the 
East and West Jersey line, which would. have made Warren County 
somewhat larger than at present. In 1818 and 18 19 it was sought to 
have the courts held alternately in Newton and either Oxford or Mans- 
field (now Washington). Finally, on November 20, 1824, the Legis- 



70 



Warren County. 



lature passed an act establishing Warren and Sussex counties with their 
present boundaries. The boundary was a straight line running from the 
mouth of Flatbrook to the northeast corner of the Yellow Frame 
Church, and on to the Musconetcong. The line divided the Hardwicic 
or Yellow Frame Church, so that the pastor stood in Sussex and 
preached to his congregation in Warren. 

An act was passed by the Legislature in 1856 to form a new 
county from the southern part of Warren, to be called Musconetcong 
County, but Major Sitgreaves, of Phillipsburg, then in the Senate, find- 
ing that Phillipsburg was not to be the county seat, as he had expected, 
caused the act to be repealed. 

The question of the location of the county seat was decided by a 
vote taken on April 19 and 20, 1825. Belvidere received 1,320 votes 
out of a total of 2,561, Hope being second, and Washington third: 
General G. D. Wall, of Trenton, gave the land for the county buildings 
and the park adjoining the latter, "for the use of the citizens and the 
health and beauty of the town forever." The Court House was erected 
in 1826, being built of brick, forty by sixty feet, and, as then erected, 
is a part of the building as it now stands. 



' 


"^8 




^ ^S^IB^^^^^^HH 




^B 


^CT 


H|^ 




'^^'^SR^w^Ib 


^^^^^s^^^SR^ 






kvf^^H 


j^Kr^ f 






Hwii^;a:*igjv^|iyim 




IS {y^K^P'*''"'^^ 


Ib^.^lf'] 


IKiSiiji 


jj9B.aBjU 


^f^t i 


B 


Smi^ 




': 91 



Warren County Court House, Belvidere. 



Warren County. 71 

The clerk's office and surrogate's office are models of their kind, 
containing records easy of reference, kept in fireproof vaults. 

An energetic effort made in 19 10 to change the county seat to 
Phillipsburg failed, owing to irregularities in the petition for that 
purpose. 



CHAPTER VII. 



The People of Warren County. 

Warren County was settled by four distinct races of people, which, 
named in the order of their coming, were the Hollanders, the English, 
mostly Quakers; the Scotch-Irish, always Presbyterians, and the Ger- 
man Lutherans, or Reformed. To these might be added a few from 
Wales, usually Baptists. 

The first to arrive were Hollanders, who operated the mines in 
Pahaquarry and left before 1664. Others came before 1730 and set- 
tled in the Minnisink, and at about the same time the English Quakers 
began to come in from Hunterdon and Bucks counties. 

The next race to arrive were the Scotch-Irish, as they are called. 
They are really Scotch, who emigrated to the north of Ireland and did 
not remain long enough to become intermarried with the Irish. They 
were exclusively Presbyterians. They came to Philadelphia about 
1729, and thereafter in surprising numbers, as many as twelve thousand 
a year, some of whom found their way after a time up the Delaware 
to Warren and Northampton counties. They were the founders of all 
the early Presbyterian churches in the county. "There was no class of 
immigrants that excelled them in energy, enterprise and intelligence." 
They had fled from Scotland to Ireland between 161 3 and 1689, to 
avoid the established Church of England, and later, when English 
persecution followed them to Ireland, they again fled, this time to 
America. For many years a Scotchman and Presbyterian could not 
hold any office under the British crown, either in Great Britain or 
America. Is it any wonder that the Scotch-Irish element was foremost 
in our country in the war for independence ? 

The last race to arrive were the Germans, who settled along the 



Warren County. 73 

Delaware and In the valleys of the Musconetcong and Paulins Kill, be- 
tween 1735 and 1770, In such numbers as to cause preaching to be given 
In the German tongue, even in the Presbyterian churches at Knowlton 
and Stillwater. The Germans who came to America before 1 800 were 
mainly from the southern part of the country. "The most of them 
came to the shores of the New World as refugees from a bitter and 
remorseless persecution. The Palatines and Salzburgers stand high 
on the pages of history as confessors of Christ who were driven from 
country, home and friends, because they would not renounce their 
faith." — Chambers. 

Many of the Germans proved to be Tory sympathizers in the 
Revolution. This Is better understood when we read the oath of 
allegiance they had to sign on their arrival at Philadelphia not many 
years before that great struggle. It was as follows : 

"We subscribers, natives and late inhabitants of the Palatinate 
upon the Rhine and places adjacent, having transported ourselves, and 
families Into this Province of Pennsylvania, a colony subject to the 
crown of Great Britain, in hopes and expectation of finding a retreat 
and peaceable settlement therein, do solemnly promise and engage that 
we will be faithful and bear true allegiance to his present MAJESTY 
KING GEORGE THE SECOND and His successors Kings of Great 
Britain, and will be faithful to the proprietor of this province, and that 
we will demean ourselves peaceably to all His said Majesty's subjects 
and strictly observe and conform to the laws of England and this 
province to the utmost of our power and the best of our understanding." 

The French and Indian war had an Important effect on the charac- 
ter of the population of Warren and Northampton counties. The 
population of Northampton up to that time was prevailingly Irish. 
Mt. Bethel was known preferably as Hunter's Settlement, and Allen 
Township was known as Craig's Settlement, — both mainly Irish. When 
the Indians drove out nearly all the inhabitants from the country above 
Easton, these fled mostly to Warren County, and many stayed here 
permanently. This served to Increase the English speaking element in 



74 Warren County. 

Warren County, which till then had been overshadowed by the German. 
After the French and Indian war, the tide of immigration to this 
country was mainly German, and so it happened that there was not 
enough of an English element in Northampton County for many years 
to prevent "Pennsylvania Dutch" irofh developing at its own sweet will. 
Besides this, a strong antipathy grew up in Pennsylvania between the 
German and the Irish races, so that any Irish who went back soon 
moved to more congenial fields. 

Of the language known as "Pennsylvania Dutch," Davis says: 

"In so far as this is a language at all, it is mosaic in its character, 
and the result of circumstances. The early immigrants from the Ger- 
man principalities and Switzerland became welded into one mass by 
intermarriage and similarily of religion, customs and language. This, 
with subsequent admixture with the English-speaking portion of the 
population, gradually gave rise to a newly-spoken, and to some extent, 
a newly-written dialect known as 'Pennsylvania Dutch,' which is used 
to a considerable extent throughout eastern Pennsylvania." 

In a general way we may say that Pahaquarry was settled by Hol- 
landers; the Paulins Kill valley, comprising Knowlton, Blairstown, 
Hardwick, part of Frelinghuysen and Stillwater, by Germans; the 
Pequest Valley, including Oxford, Belvidere, Hope, Independence, 
Allamuchy and part of Frelinghuysen, by English and Scotch-Irish; 
the upper Musconetcong Valley, including Hackettstown, Mansfield and 
Washington, also by English and Scotch-Irish, while in Harmony and 
the lower Musconetcong Valley, including Franklin, Greenwich, Pohat- 
cong, Lopatcong and Phillipsburg, the Scotch-Irish who came first were 
followed and soon outnumbered by the Germans. In two or three 
generations there was a complete mingling of the four races In Warren 
County; in which the German strain predominated. 

After the terrible .famine years in Ireland immigration from the 
south of that country set in about 1850, and then, for the first time, 
Warren County had a Catholic population. 



Warren County. 75 

A few Italians after 1875 remained here as permanent residents, 
separating from the throngs of that nationality who for twenty years 
formed the great body of laborers employed in building railroads, and 
in quarries and about furnaces. Hungarians have been coming in great 
numbers since 1885, mainly employed as laborers, and some will doubt- 
less become permanent residents. But few Jews, Spaniards, Russians 
and Turks have ever become permanent residents of this county. Of 
late years a considerable number of Swedes, Finns, Poles and Hol- 
landers have been added to our permanent population. From the 
earliest times, Africans have formed a small percentage of our popu- 
lation. 



CHAPTER VIII. 



From the Formation of Warre^t County to the End of 

THE Civil War. 



1824 — 1865. 



From 1793 until the outbreak of the Civil War the militia formed 
an important part of the defenses of our country. Every able-bodied 
male citizen between the ages of eighteen and forty-five was to be en- 
rolled in the militia, and was to arm and equip himself and appear for 
exercise when called, which was usually once a year. A company of 
militia consisted of sixty-four men; a battalion contained five com- 
panies ; two battalions made a regiment, and four regiments constituted 
a brigade. The commander of a regiment ranked as lieutenant-colonel. 
The officers of the militia were commissioned by the Legislature on 
recommendation of the companies. Among them may be mentioned 
Captain John Howell, Captain Peter Young, Captain Edward Hunt, 
General Samuel Wilson, Major George Creveling, Captain E. Hunt. 

In 1828 the Warren Brigade consisted of three regiments command- 
ed by Colonels James Davison, George Bowlsby and Charles F. Line- 
bach, and an independent uniform battalion commanded by Major 
Charles Sitgreaves, all under Brigadier-General Williamson. The 
Belvidere Apollo mentionsthe following militia : 

"Washington Troop of Horse, of which Lefford H. Persell was 
captain in 1827, and Mark Thompson O. S. 

"Uniform Independent Battalion of Warren Brigade, E. Hunt, 
captain Com., in 1827. 

"Union Blues, James Hiles, captain. 

"The several regiments of Warren Brigade to be reviewed by 
Brigadier-General Williamson." 



Warren County. 77 

The annual reviews finally became very unpopular and degenerat- 
ed into a mere farce and, in Warren County at least, were for many 
years dispensed with altogether. 

The most important event in the thirties for our county was the 
opening of the Morris Canal, in 1831. This gave freight connection 
with the rest of the world, and brought about a readjustment in the 
development of villages in the county, and ultimately led to the extinc- 
tion of some not favorably situated. 

The Morris Canal and Banking Company was chartered in 1824, 
to construct a public waterway from Phillipsburg to Newark, connect- 
ing the Delaware and Lehigh rivers with the Passaic. At that time 
canals were considered the best known method of overland freight 
transportation. It was a difficult engineering feat. The boats had to 
be lifted by locks and inclined planes to a total height of 900 feet, and 
lowered again to sea level. It was the first use of inclined planes for 
such a purpose. 

The canal was opened for business in 1831, but its income was 
so small that it failed in 1841, but was reorganized in 1844. It cost 
$5,000,000, and had a possible carrying capacity of 1,000,000 tons 
annually in each direction. Its greatest tonnage was carried in 1866, 
when it amounted to 889,220 tons. From that time on its tonnage 
rapidly fell off, owing to competition by the railroads, until in 1877 it 
failed to pay expenses, and since then it has been operated at a total 
loss of $5,000,000. 

The canal has a total length of 107 miles. In our county it passes 
through Phillipsburg, Stewartsville, New Village, Broadway, Wash- 
ington, Port Colden, Port Murray, Rockport and Hackettstown to the 
Guard Lock. In 1871 the canal was leased perpetually to the Lehigh 
Valley Railroad Company. At present it is practically abandoned as 
a public waterway. 

Judge Swayze says: "The exhibition of an elephant in 1823 
attracted attention then, but would be unnoticed now. Soon the circuses 



78 Warren County. 

began to come regularly every year. Baseball is first mentioned in 
1865, croquet in 1867, velocipedes in 1869; in 1871 occurred the first 
excursion to the sea shore and Rockaway Beach." 

Grass was cut by the scythe until the advent, of the mowing machine 
in 1853. • 

The first mention of slate for roofing in this region was in 1847. 

The first musical instrument maker in the county was John A. 
Smith, who, about 1850, began the manufacture of melodeons at Wash- 
ington. 

At the time of the famine in Ireland in 1847 contributions of 
money and corn meal were forwarded from Warren County. 

"The Mexican war caused but little concern in this region." But 
several men from our county joined troops from other States and passed 
through the conflict. 

In 1 820 it was with difficulty that 365 tons of anthracite coal were 
sold in the United States. In 1850 3,000,000 tons were mined and 
sold. In 1839 anthracite was first used on steamboats, but it did not 
come into general use until 1844, and by 1850 manufacturing by steam 
power was becoming as common as by water power. 

In January, 1 85 1, the following post offices were listed in Warren 
County, the absence of Washington and Phillipsburg being noteworthy : 
Allamuchy, Anderson, Asbury, Beatyestown, Belvidere, Blairstown, 
Bloomsbury, Broadway, Brotzmanville, Calno, Columbia, Danville, 
Hackettstown, Hainesburg, Harmony, Hope, Johnsonburg, Mansfield, 
Marksboro, Mill Brook, New Village, Oxford Furnace, Paulina, Polk- 
ville, Ramsaysburg, Rocksburgh, Serepta, Stewartsville, Still Valley, 
Townsbury and Walnut Valley. 

Slavery was popular with large land owners in this county from 
its first settlement. Colonel Abram Van Campen's will, made in 1766, 
mentions eleven that he owned. In Sussex (including Warren) there 
were 439 slaves in 1790, and 514 in 1800. Their numbers decreased 
under the operation of laws unfavorable to slavery to 478 in 18 10, and 



Warren County. 79 

to 338 in 1820. At Warren's first census In 1830 there were only 47 
slaves in a total population of 18,627. One of the last slaves in the 
county is buried in the new cemetery at Hazen, and on her tombstone 
is inscribed: "Lizzie, slave of Jacob Tltman, died Aug. 6th, 1858, 
aged 57 years." She was the daughter of a slave couple that had been 
owned by the Titman family for many years. 

Many families in the county manumitted or set free their slaves 
voluntarily under the influence of popular sentiment. Many of the 
manumission papers are on file in the county clerk's offices at Newton 
and Belvidere. The following Is a copy of one of these interesting 
documents : 

"To All Whom It May Concern, Know ye that I, Thomas Paul, 
of Belvedere, in the Township of .Oxford, County of Sussex and State 
of New Jersey, have the ninth day of June in the year of our Lord 
Eighteen Hundred, manumitted and hereby do manumit and set free 
my negro wench slave called Cate, wife of Thomas Gardner, aged 
about twenty-three years, who is sound of mind and bodily capacity to 
the best of my knowledge. In witness whereof I have hereunto set my 
hand and seal the day and year aforesaid. * THOMAS PAUL. 
"Witnesses present: 

"Benj'n Sexton, 

"Joshua Sweaze." [l. s.J 

Professor Armstrong says : 

"The Quaker settlement was a station on the Underground Rail- 
road. Slaves fleeing from bondage would pass through Philadelphia to 
Burlington, N. J., and then traveling northward by way of Quaker- 
town or Plainfield would reach Quaker Settlement. Here they ob- 
tained rest and food and were concealed in barns and cellars. Witnesses 
to these scenes are still living; they remember hearing voices of prayer 
from fugitives hidden in the cellar and they remember seeing a black 
mother start like a wild bird as she sat behind the stove feeding her 
two children when she heard a horse and carriage drive up to the door. 

"These fugitives came In the night and went away In the night. 
They were always carefully directed to the next station, and some times 
taken part of the way concealed In the bottom of a wagon. The next 
station in their long flight to Canada was among the families of some 



8o Warren. County. 

Friends who lived on the Drowned Lands in the valley of the 
Wallkill River, Sussex County, near the New York State line." 

One may gain an idea of the life work of Benjamin Lundy, the 
founder of American Abolitionism, from the following account con- 
densed from a lecture given by William Clinton Armstrong, also a 
Warren County boy, before the Historical Club of Rutgers College 
in 1897 : 

"After the close of the Revolutionary War anti-slavery views were 
quite popular in this country, but activity along that line soon ceased. 
This early anti-slavery sentiment seems to have been a mere corollary 
to the discussion that had raged concerning the rights of man as set 
forth in the Declaration of Independence. It never called forth much 
self-sacrifice, but it did lead to the extinction of slavery in the northern 
States." 

"No greater conflict has ever rocked this continent than that which 
grew out of the agitation commenced by Benjamin Lundy, the 'Aboli- 
tionist,' who was born and nutured to manhood at the Quaker settle- 
ment in Warren County, New Jersey. 

"Horace Greely, a man well qualified to speak, says of Lundy: 
'He was the first of our countrymen who devoted his life and all his 
■powers to the cause of slaves * * * j^jg courage, perseverence 
and devotion were unsurpassed.' 

"Benjamin Lundy, son of Joseph and Elizabeth (Shotwell) 
Lundy, was born on the fourth day of first month, 1789, at the Quaker 
Settlement, and lived there for nineteen years. Benjamin was brought 
up In the religious faith of the Society of Friends and was trained to 
their plain way of living, and in this faith and way he lived and died. 

"The doctrine of the Society of FViends against human slavery was 
clear and strong; the Quakers have been the boldest and most aggres- 
sive advocates of personal freedom. Benjamin Lundy went to Wheel- 
ing, West Virginia. 

"Perhaps in no part of the United Std,tes did the system of Afri- 
can slavery exhibit its repulsive features in so open a form unrelieved by 
any redeeming trait as It did at this very time at the city of Wheeling, 
the western terminus of the National Turnpike that had been built by 
Congress, to which the slaves bought in Maryland and Virginia were 
brought chained together In long gangs. Here they were kept In slave 
pens awaiting transportation. He formed the Union Humane Society 



Warren County. 8i 

in 1815, which soon enrolled 500 members. He published articles 
against slavery in a local newspaper, and in 1821 published No. i, Vol. 
I of The Genius of Universal Emancipation, the first newspaper in 
America, perhaps in the world, devoted exclusively to abolition. In 
1824, in North Carolina, he gave the first public lecture ever delivered 
in America in favor of the aboltion of slavery. 

"He delivered over two hundred lectures before 1829. General 
Lafayette encouraged him to go on and expressed his regret at finding 
so many slaves still in the country. 

"On a lecture trip through the East, when in Boston, he converted 
William Lloyd Garrison, the editor of the National Philanthropist, 
to his way of thinking, and for six months they were partners in the 
publication of Lundy's paper, the Genius. 

"Remember that Lundy never dreamed of an emancipation backed 
by the sword; he was opposed to violence and war; his appeal was solely 
to the reason and the conscience. He planned colonies of emancipated 
slaves in Africa and Mexico. He obtained from the Governor of 
Tamaulipas, in Mexico, a grant of 138,000 acres of land for his 
colonization scheme in 1835, but the plan had to be abandoned, owing 
to the Declaration of Independence of Texas and the resulting unsettled 
state of affairs." 

In a pamphlet published in 1836 he says: 

"Our countrymen, in fighting for the union of Texas with the 
United States, will be fighting for that which at no distant period will 
inevitably dissolve the Union. The slave States, having the eligible 
addition to their land of bondage, will ere long cut asunder the federal 
tie, and confederate a new and distinct slave-holding republic in opposi- 
tion to the whole free republic of the North." 

He continued to sow the seeds of abolition, despite mob violence, 
personal assault and financial ruin, until his death, in 1839. 

In 1850 the slave owners became so great a power politically with 
both the Whigs and Democrats that they were able to secure the pas- 
sage by Congress of the Fugitive Slave Law, to the support of which 
evert the great Webster sold himself in hopes of furthering his chances 
of being elected President. This law was so unjust and so tyrannous 
that it acted as a boomerang to the slave interests, and the Presidential 



82 Warren County. 

election of 1852 showed plainly that a new political party had arisen 
in spirit if not in name — a party founded on stronger opposition to the 
slave holders' aggressiveness. In 1 856 this new party became a reality, 
and, as the Republican party, presented John C. Fremont as its candi- 
date for president. 

Two years after the Fugitive Slave Law was passed, Harriet 
Beecher Stowe gave to the world "Uncle Tom's Cabin," the perusal of 
which convinced many that slavery was essentially immoral. This work 
proved a powerful weapon for the Abolitionists. 

In 1857 the slave interests were so powerful as to secure from the 
United States Supreme Court the Dred Scott decision, in which Judge 
Taney said, "The black man has no rights that the white man is bound 
to respect." This phrase was used with telling effect by the Abolitionists 
all over the country. 

The civil war in Kansas, following the passage of the Kansas- 
Nebraska bill and the repeal of the Missouri compromise, aroused 
thousands of Free Soil champions. In the conflict in Kansas, John 
Brown took part against the slave holders, and there conceived the 
idea of becoming the liberator of all the slaves, which idea resulted 
in his seizing the United States armory at Harper's Ferry in, October, 
1859, and arming a few negroes. While John Brown's raid was a 
total failure, it helped to bring about the result he so much desired, 
and many a soldier marched to the song, "John Brown's body lies 
moldering in the grave, his soul goes marching on." 

On April 15, 1861, three days after the first gun wa;s fired at Fort 
Sumter, President Lincoln issued his call for three months' men. On 
April 18th, Captain Edward Campbell, at Belvidere, had replied to 
this call by raising a company of seven officers and fifty privates. On 
the 19th the company was complete, and arrived at Trenton before the 
authorities were ready to muster them in ! These were the earliest 
troops raised in the State in answer to Lincoln's call, outside of existing 



Warren County. 83 

military organizations. Thus New Jersey was the first of the States, 
and Warren the first of Jersey's counties, to furnish volunteers for the 
rebellion! • These troops became part of the Third Regiment on May 
18, and served for three years. 

Captain DeWitt Clinton Blair, then as now of Belvidere, raised 
and equipped a company. But so rapid had been the response all over 
our State that its full quota was raised before he and his. company 
arrived at Trenton ! 

Captain Joseph J. Henry, of Oxford, then in Washington, D. C, 
was the first volunteer from that township, and was the first officer from 
New Jersey to fall in battle. Captain Henry Post, G. A. R., of Belvi- 
dere, is named in his honor. 

Colonel Charles Scranton said in his address at Belvidere, July 4, 
1876: 

"What memories cluster around those days of April and May, 
1 86 1, and all through the terrible war! And later, as further calls for 
troops came, how nobly did our county of Warren respond! You 
knew these noble, brave young men. I knew them by the thousand in 
the State. I loved them and cherish their memories. Thousands and 
thousands fell with their face to the foe ! Henry, Brewster, Lawrence, 
Hilton, Hicks, Armstrong and scores of other noble heroes from old 
Warren fell. I shrink from the calling of the roll of those honored 
dead. Our county furnished one thousands four hundred and thirty- 
seven men, besides those from her to other counties and States, of whom 
one hundred and seventy-six fell in battle or died of disease contracted 
in the army, or from inhuman treatment in prisons. Of these brave 
men who thus died, some lie in our own cemeteries, some on the field 
where they fell, in graves unknown, and though no 'storied urn or 
animated bust,' or marble shaft or granite pile marks their last resting 
place here on earth, yet their memories will live in story and history, 
and annually as their loved ones gather flowers to strew on their tombs 
or bedew them with their tears, will there grow an increasing love for 
their memories. 

Company D, First Regiment New Jersey Infantry, was recruited 
at Phillipsburg, New Jersey, and its regiment was mustered into service 



84 Warren County. 

on May i8, 1861, for three years' service. It was officered by Captain 
(later Major) Valentine Mutchler, Lieutenant (later Captain) Charles 
Sitgreaves, Jr., Lieutenant H. A. McLaughlin and Sergeant (later 
Lieutenant) Charles W. Mutchler. The First Regiment took part in 
all the principal battles in Virginia, Maryland and Pennsylvania, and 
was present when Lee surrendered at Appomattox, April 9, 1865. 

The original Lieutenant-Colonel of the First Regiment was 
Robert McAllister, of Oxford. He later became colonel of the 
Eleventh Regiment and was breveted Brigadier-General for "gallant 
and distinguished services at Boydton Plank. Road," and Major-Gen- 
eral "for meritorious services during the war." "He shared the first 
battle of the war, and participated in the last." He lies buried beneath 
a handsome monument in the Belvidere Cemetary. 

Lieutenant-Colonel William Henry, Jr., of Oxford commanded the 
First Regiment during a great part of the war, and between May 21 
and June 4, 1864, in the Wilderness, all but three of the twenty-seven 
line officers of this regiment were killed or wounded. 

The second Regiment, Company B, was commanded for a time 
by Captain (later Colonel) John A. Wildrick. 

The Third Regiment, Company D, contained nine men from War- 
ren County who were at Bull Run and Gaines' Farm. 

The Seventh Regiment, Company E, was successively officered by 
Captain Henry C. Cooper, Captain Joseph Abbott, Jr., Captain Daniel 
Hart, Captain David H. Ayres, and Lieutenants Edward Gephart, 
Charles C. Dally, Frederick Koch, Merritt Bruen, Alfred H. Austin, 
William H. Clark and James T. Odem. The regiment took part in 
the battle of Williamsburg, May 5, 1862; Chancellorsville, May, 
1863; Gettysburg, July, 1863; Spottsylvania Court House, and at the 
Tucker House. Here the Seventh formed part of General McAllister's 
brigade, which kept at bay three full rebel divisions. The Seventh 
Regiment participated in nearly all the movements and battles of the 
Army of the Potomac. 



Warren County. 85 

The Ninth Regiment, Company H, was commanded by Captain 
Joseph J. Henry, who was the first officer of New Jersey to fall in 
battle, it was also officered successively by Captains James Stuart, Jr., 
Joseph B. Lawrence, Edward S. Pullen, and Lieutenants Jacob L. 
Hawk, Edward S. Carrell and Lucius C. Bonham. Lieutenant-Colonel 
Heckman, of Phillipsburg, assumed command of the Ninth Regiment 
before the battle of Roanoke Island, when Captain Henry was killed, 
on February 8, 1862. The regiment performed nobly in the battles 
of Newberne, Young's Cross-Roads, at Tarborough, Kinston, before 
Petersburg, and, in all the achievements of the army in Virginia and 
North Carolina, in which it participated, fully sustained the honor of 
their State. 

Colonel Heckman, of the Ninth, was promoted to the rank of 
Brigadier-General and finally received a Major-General brevet. He 
was one of the few Warren County men in the Mexican war. Colonel 
James Stewart, Jr., of the Ninth, was breveted Brigadier-General, "and 
come home at the close of the war at the head of the regiment, with 
merited honors and hearty applause." The Ninth Regiment had partici- 
pated in forty-two battles or engagements. Eight officers lost their 
lives and twenty-three were wounded; sixty-one men were killed and 
four hundred wounded, of whom forty-three died of their wounds. 
Their total loss was one thousand six hundred and forty-six. 

Two companies of the Fifteenth Regiment were recruited in War- 
ren County. The regiment was under command of Colonel Samuel 
Fowler and was a part of the famous Sixth Corps, which took part in 
the battles of Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville, Salem Heights, Frank- 
lin's Crossing, Gettysburg, Fairfield, Funktown, Rappahannock Sta- 
tion, Mine Run, Wilderness, Spottsylvania, Spottsylvania Court House, 
Hanover Court House, Cold Harbor, Petersburg, Winchester, Cedar 
Creek and Appomattox. 

Company D of the Thirtieth Regiment contained thirty men 



86 Warren County. 

from Warren County, who, with Lieutenant Edward S. Barnes, of 
Pahaquarry, were unable to enter the Thirty-first. 

Warren County furnished six companies of the Thirty-first Regi- 
ment, and officers Colonel Alexander P. Berthand, Lieutenant-Colonel 
William Hold and Adjutant Martfti Wyckoff, in all 694 men. Com- 
pany B was officered by Captain Joseph W. Johnson and Lieutenants 
John C. Felver and Frank P. Weymouth; Company C by Captain 
Andrew J. Raub and Lieutenants Thomas T. Stewart and Silas Hul- 
sizer; Company E by Captain Woodbury D. Holt and Lieutenants 
William L. Rodenburgh and John Alpaugh; Company G by Captain 
Benjamin F. Howey and Lieutenants William C. Larzelier and James 
F. Green; Company H by Captain David M. Trimmer and Lieutenants 
John N. Givens and Henry Hance, and Company I by Captain Calvin 
T. James and Lieutenants Richard T. Drake and James Prall. 

The Thirty-first Regiment took part in the spring campaign of 
1863, which included the disastrous battle of Chancellorsville and the 
engagement at Fredericksburg on April 30 and May 2. The Thirty- 
first was mustered out just before the battle of Gettysburg. 

Colonel John A. Wildrick was commissioned First Lieutenant of 
the Sussex Rifles, and served under General Kearney. He was made 
Colonel of the Twenty-eighth New Jersey Regiment before the battle 
of Chancellorsville. He and Colonel Schoonover are the only two sur- 
vivors of those who commanded regiments from this vicinity. 



CHAPTER IX. 



From the End of the Civil War to the Present Time. 



1865 — 1911. 



The period since the Civil War has been preeminently the period 
of the development of the towns at the expense of the country. In 1865 
the most pretentious of our towns were merely villages, while the whole 
country was dotted with villages, each with its own industries. In the 
years that have intervened most of the industries in the scattered 
villages have disappeared or have merely a local character, the popula- 
tion of the country districts has dwindled, while the few larger towns 
have taken to themselves all the increase of population and wealth. 

The period since the war has seen the change in farming opera- 
tions from the time when everything was done laboriously by hand, to 
the performance of nearly every farming operation by specialized ma- 
chinery. Then, the cradle, scythe, plow, flail and wind mill were in 
evidence on every farm. Now, mowing machines, binders, cultivators, 
threshers, gasoline engines, potato diggers and grain drills are the rule 
and have rendered smaller the number of laborers needed on a farm, 
and so brought about a decrease in the country population. 

The decline in value of farming lands from their highest point in 
1873, when they were valued as high as $250 an acre, to the lowest 
point in 1900, when nearly any farm in the county could have been 
bought for the value of the improvements on it, has happily given way 
to a steady increase in values which bids fair to continue until our land 
will be worth as much as similar land in the West, namely from $100 
to $200 per acre. 

In the years following the Civil War, the cabinet organ flourished. 



88 Warren County. 

During the seventies and eighties these instruments were made by the 
thousands in our county and shipped to all parts of the world. They 
are still made, but their popularity has given way to the piano, the 
manufacture of which has made this part of New Jersey known in a 
way that nothing else has equale^ not excepting our world-famed 
Delaware Water Gap, which is mentioned by foreign guide books along 
with Niagara, the Yosemite and the National Park, as a sight not to be 
missed. 

Before the days of the automobile the manufacture of wagons was 
an important industry in several of our towns, notably Hackettstown 
and Belvidere. The great development of nearly all that we consider 
distinctively modern has taken place in the past fifty years, such as rail- 
roads, trolleys, telephone lines, electric lighting plants, bicycles, automo- 
biles and the application of machinery to every department of human 
activity. 

Warren County is crossed by more railway lines than any county in 
the State, namely, by the New Jersey Central, the Lehigh Valley, the 
Pennsylvania, the: Lehigh and Hudson River, the New York, Susque- 
hanna and Western, the Lehigh and New England, and three times by 
the Delaware, Lackawanna and Western, making nine lines of railroad. 

The pioneer railroad of this region was the Somerville and Easton 
railroad, which changed its name to the New Jersey Central in 1849. 
The road reached the White House in Hunterdon County in 1848, and 
the last rail was laid at Phillipsburg on July i, 1852. The New Jersey 
Central railroad was opened on July 2, 1852. On that date the first 
train of eight cars arrived at Phillipsburg, at 2 o'clock, having traveled 
from Elizabeth in five hours, bringing five hundred passengers, who 
were met by a brass band and reception committee. After a stay of 
three hours the passengers returned by train to their homes. 

On February 3, 1854, the Belvidere-Delaware railroad was opened 
to traffic as far as Phillipsburg. On that date a train of fifteen coaches, 
bearing nearly a thousand excursionists, arrived from Philadelphia, and 



Warren County. 89 

received a royal reception. The Belvidere-Delaware railroad was com- 
pleted in 1854. It was leased to the United New Jersey Railroad and 
Canal Company in 1876, and assigned to the Pennsylvania Railroad 
Company the same year. It connects at Manunka Chunk with the Dela- 
ware, Lackawanna and Western, and runs its passenger trains over the 
tracks of that road as far as Stroudsburg. 

The Warren railroad was chartered in 185 1, to connect with the 
New Jersey Central at Hampton Junction, and with the Delaware, 
Lackawanna and Western, then under construction, between Scranton- 
and Warren County. The active spirit in the building of this road was 
John I. Blair, who, with this as a beginning, laid the foundation of one 
of the largest fortunes in America, made largely in the development of 
railroads. 

The Delaware, Lackawanna and Western railroad and the War- 
ren railroad were opened in May, 1856, from Hampton Junction to 
Binghampton, New York. The Morris and Essex railroad had been an 
active competitor of the Warren railroad in an effort to connect with 
the Lackawanna, but Its promoters were outgeneraled by John I. Blair, 
so that the Morris and Essex was built to Easton. The Morris and 
Essex railroad was eventually leased by the Delaware, Lackawanna and 
Western, and made a part of the latter's main line. 

The Delaware, Lackawanna and Western in 1 909-1 1 built twenty- 
eight miles of road from Slateford, two miles below the Water Gap, to 
Lake Hopatcong, at an expense of eleven million dollars. This im- 
provement is known as the "Cut Off," and shortens the main line by 
eleven miles, and avoids the Manunka Chunk and Oxford tunnels, so 
that a gain in time of half an hour will be made between New York and 
the West. This is considered the most expensive railroad construction 
in the East. Two beautiful reinforced concrete bridges are a part of 
the line. One crosses the Delaware, the other the Paulins Kill. 

The Blairstown railway was constructed in 1876 by John I. Blair. 



90 Warren County. 

It extends from Delaware Station to Blairstown. It is now a part of 
the New York, Susquehanna and Western railroad. 

An unsuccessful effort was made in 1873 to extend the New Jersey 
Midland railroad from Sussex County by way of Johnsonsburg and 
Hope to Belvidere, and also to build the Pequest and Walkill Valley 
railroad from Belvidere to Warwick. 

The construction of the Boston and South Mountain railroad was 
begun at Blairstown on August 26, 1873, and after various changes of 
name, through Pennsylvania, Poughkeepsie and Boston, Pennsylvania 
and New England, to Lehigh and New England, a road was finally 
built from the coal fields to Poughkeepsie Bridge. 

The Lehigh Valley Railroad Company began the construction of 
a line through New Jersey in 1872, as at that time its only route 
through the State was by way of the Morris Canal, which it had leased 
in 1 87 1. The line across the State was called the Easton and Amboy 
railroad. It crosses the lower end of the county, and gives excellent 
service. 

The Lehigh and Hudson River railway was constructed in 1881, 
mainly owing to the energy of Grinnell Burt, who was for many years 
its president. It followed in Warren County the line of the proposed 
Pequest and Walkill Valley railroad, which was chartered in 1869. 
The interests of the line are now closely connected with those of the 
New Jersey Central, the Pennsylvania, and the Delaware, Lackawanna 
and Western. It is becoming an important route for all New England 
freight. It crosses the Hudson river by way of the Poughkeepsie 
bridge, which is largely due to the enterprise of a Warren County boy, 
Mr. W. W. Gibbs. 

One trolley line crosses our county from Phillipsburg through 
Stewartsville, New Village, Broadway, Washington, Port Colden, Port 
Murray and Beattystown to Hackettstown. When this is completed a 
line is to be built connecting Belvidere, Buttzville and Oxford with it at 
Washington. The Warren County lines were consolidated in 19 10 



Warren County. 91 

with the trolley system of Phillipsburg and Easton. Mr. Robert Petty 
has been the moving spirit in the trolley enterprise, and it is due to his 
energy that the county has this accommodation. 

Electric lighting plants have been established at Phillipsburg, 
Washington, Hackettstown, Belvldere, Blairstown and Oxford, besides 
many private installations. From Columbia the Eastern Pennsylvania 
Power Company distributes electricity to Stroudsburg, Bangor, and 
even as far as Dover. Efforts are being made to develop the magnifi- 
cent water power of the Delaware in the vicinity of Belvidere as a source 
of electricity. 

Since 1892 Warren County has built fifty-five miles of macada- 
mized roads with State aid. In addition, many miles of gravel or 
crushed stone roads have been built by the various towns and townships. 
There is now nearly a complete macadam road from Phillipsburg 
through Stewartsville, New Village, Washington, Beattystown and 
Hackettstown, to Allamuchy, and from Hackettstown through Vienna, 
Great Meadows, Buttzville, Belvidere and Harmony to Phillipsburg. 
A new road is building from Washington to Asbury. These fine roads 
have served as models for the other county roads, and a great improve- 
ment is to be seen in the method of building our country roads. 

The first telephone that we find mentioned in the county connected 
the organ factory of Daniel F. Beatty with his office in 1880. Shortly 
thereafter the Pennsylvania Telephone Company covered the lower 
part of the county with its lines, which were a part of the Bell System. 
The main line of the American Telegraph and Telephone Company 
passes through the Musconetcong Valley from Hackettstown to 
Phillipsburg. The West Jersey Toll Line now l^s'''4^Kt>':>f -nearly aiL 
the telephone lines in the county outside of the exchanges at Washing- 
ton and Hackettstown. Phillipsburg is connected with the Easton ex- 
change. The West Jersey Toll Line was built in 1 896, mainly through 
the iniative of Dr. G. W. Cummins. 

The first thing looking like a bicycle in the county was a two- 



92 Warren County. 

wheeled "velocipede," as it was called, built by Benjamin Hall, at 
Vienna, about 1873. It was propelled by the toes touching on the 
grpund. About 1881 the "ordinary" bicycle appeared, with its high 
wheel in front, and a very small one behind. This was the ordinary 
bicycle during the eighties. The "safety" bicycle, about like the present 
form, but with cushion tires, appeared shortly after that, but made no 
great headway until the pneumatic tire, by its adaptability to this form, 
forced the "ordinary," about 1891, entirely into the background. With- 
in a few years everyone had the craze to ride a bicycle. In 1895 there 
were 300 bicycles owned in Belvidere alone, where now there are not 
a score of riders. The gentler sex began to ride them, too, in 1 892, and 
not a few donned bloomers that they might enjoy the sport the better. 

An important industrial development of the last thirty years has 
been the truck farming on the Great Meadows and elsewhere. The 
crops raised are onions, celery and lettuce, which. In the rich soil, make 
a quick luxuriant growth. 

Two plants on the meadows dry the muck for use as a drier and 
filler for fertilizers. The product analyzes as high as three per cent, of 
nitrogen. 

Within the last few years the farm fences, as they are rebuilt, are 
made most frequently of wire. Now but rarely Is a new Virginia rail 
fence built, owing to the labor involved and the growing scarcity of 
timber. 

Gone, too, within the last twenty years, is the boot and the Inevit- 
able boot-jack. The shoe has completely taken the place of the high 
top boot. 

■aj. i 4 rr» i»«i4uint^j^ development of the past dozen years is the cement 
industry. The cement deposit, of which that in Warren County forms 
a part, furnishes one-sixth of all the cement manufactured in America. 
Three large cement mills now give employment to hundreds of men at 
Alpha and New Village. 

The first newspaper published in this vicinity was the Northampton 



Warren County. 93 

County Correspondent, a German journal started in 1800 by Colonel 
Christian J. Hutter, at Easton. 

The Easton Sentinel was established in July, 1 8 17, and the Easton 
Argus in 1826. 

The oldest published newspaper in the county is The Belvidere 
Apollo. The first issue was published January 1 1, 1 825, by George G. 
Sickles, whose son. General Daniel E. Sickles, is more widely known. 
In 1827 Sickles sold out the paper to Edmund P. Banks. He was fol- 
lowed by Sitgreaves & Browne, who called the paper the Belvidere 
Apollo and Warren Patriot, and later The Belvidere Apollo and New 
Jersey Weekly Advertiser. The paper remained non-partisan until the 
publication of The Warren Journal, in 1832. The latter being a Jack- 
son paper, the Apollo became strongly anti-Jackson, and has kept up its 
antagonism to Jacksonian Democracy to this day. The editor of the 
Warren Journal was James T. Browne, one of the previous owners of 
the Apollo, who had sold that paper. A succession of owners and 
editors followed, among them Hon. J. P. B. Maxwell and Judge W. P. 
Robeson. From 1849 ^^ 1869 the paper was known as The Intelli- 
gencer, when it became The Apollo again. Joshua Ketcham became 
editor and proprietor in 1871, and remained such until his death in 
1904. His estate in 1907 sold it to the present proprietor, J. Madison 
Drake, Jr., son of General J. Madison Drake, of Elizabeth. 

The Warren Journal was first pubhshed October 30, 1832, being 
edited by James T. Browne, a former owner of the Apollo. It came 
out for Andrew Jackson, and has been strongly Democratic ever since. 
John Simerson became its editor in 1859, and remained as assistant 
editor even after the paper was sold to Adam Bellis in 1867. Bellis 
owned the paper for about thirty years, when it was taken by his grand- 
son, Martin Simerson, who, with William O'Neil, conducted it success- 
fully until 1899, when it came into the possession of Smith Brothers, 
one of whom, Elmer Smith, is still its editor and proprietor. 



94 Warren County. 

The largest and most representative paper published in the county 
is the Washington Star, first issued by E. W. Osmun, on January 2, 
1868. After a succession of owners it came into the possession of its 
present able editor and proprietor, Charles Stryker. 

The Warren Tidings is pifblished at Washington by the Tidings 
Publishing Company, and is Republican in its affiliations. 

The Hackettstown Gazette was first issued by M. F. Stillwell in 
1853. Between 1854 and 1861 it was published by Eben Winton, who 
sold it to Godley & Able. Eli W. Osmun or his father, Ziba Osmun, 
published the paper for many years, beginning with 1 866. The present 
publisher is Charles Rittenhouse. 

The Warren Republican is published by Curtis Brothers, at Hack- 
ettstown and is the successor of the Herald, which was established dur- 
ing the Greeley campaign in 1872. 

For many years, beginning with 1866, the Warren Democrat was 
published at Phillipsburg. It was established by Thaddeus G. Price, - 
and later owned by C. F. Fitch. At present the only paper published 
in Phillipsburg is the Post, published every evening except Sunday, by 
Michael T. Lynch. 

TheBlairstown Press was established in 1877 by J. Z. Bunnell. 
It is the only paper published in the northern part of the county. De- 
witt C. Carter is its present editor and proprietor. 

Warren County has three large cement mills in active operation, 
namely : The Vulcanite, the Alpha, and the Edison, and two more at 
Martin's Creek are so close to her border as to affect substantially her 
material prosperity. The Edison company also has an extensive deposit 
of limestone in Oxford Township, which it is working partly for use 
in the manufacture of cement and partly as a fertilizer. The Edison 
Cement Company began to build its extensive plant at New Village in 
1 90 1, and began the manufacture of cement commercially in 1904. It 
has a capacity of 200,000 barrels a month, employs 600 hands, and 
owns 1,200 acres of land. 



Warren County. 95 

The automobile industry has not invaded the county as yet, but 
every one of our large towns has one or more garages, all of which have 
been among the developments of the last ten years. 

At present the only iron deposits worked commercially in Warren 
County are the magnetic ores in the vicinity of Oxford, which have 
been nearly a continuous source of wealth since their first working by 
Jonathan Robeson in 1741, and the hematite mines near Belvidere, 
which have been operated for several years by the Hudson Iron Com- 
pany. 



CHAPTER X. 



History of the Development of the Physical Features of 

Warren County. 

Geologists tell us that there are no older rocks in the United States 
than the Archaean rocks forming the ridges which we know as Jenny 
Jump, Marble Mountain, Scott's Mountain, Pohatcong Mountain, 
Schooley's Mountain and Musconetcong Mountain. From its earliest 
history, the most valued mineral wealth of our county has been its great 
deposits of magnetic iron ore, which are found exclusively in the 
Archaean rocks. Hematite ore is found in the Archaean and in the 
later Silurian formations. 

Next in age to the Archaean are the Cambrian conglomerates and 
sandstones, situated usually close to the Archaean. The next oldest 
rocks in our county are the Magnesian Blue limestone or Kittatinny 
limestone, which is present in every valley of the county. 

The pure limestone known as the Trenton limestone is of more 
recent formation than the Magnesian Blue limestone. The cement rock, 
which may be considered as a cross between pure limestone and slate, 
is of about the same age as the Trenton limestone. It occurs in various 
places in the county, notably at Alpha, New Village, Belvidere, Carpen- 
terville, Hope and elsewhere and may be looked for at any place where 
limestone and slate occur near together. The slate of Warren and ad- 
jacent counties is known as the Hudson River slate, and forms nearly 
the whole bulk of the two well defined ridges, one on either side of the 
Paulins Kill Valley, and of a lesser ridge In the Musconetcong Valley, 
especially noticeable between Hackettstown and Washington. 

The rocks of the Kittatinny range are Oneida conglomerate and 
Medina sandstone, and are of more recent formation than any other 



Warren County. 97 

rocks in the county, and even these were made in the Silurian period, 
or ages before the greater part of the rocks of New Jersey to the south 
were laid down. 

For thousands of years the mountains of northern New Jersey 
were subject to erosion, and furnished the great bulk of material out of 
which New Jersey south of Warren County was formed. This, con- 
tinued until finally the great hills were worn down nearly level with the 
ocean, and formed a part of a great coastal plain, remnants of which 
are to be seen in the level line of the summit of the Blue Mountains, and 
In the great plateau of Schooley's Mountain. This is called by geolo- 
gists the Schooley Pene-plain. 

In the Tertiary period the whole northern part of New Jersey was 
gradually raised about 600 feet, and with the first elevation there began 
the erosion that changed the prairie-like plain to the rugged region of 
hills and valleys that we know to-day. As the land rose, the rivers cut 
deeper and deeper channels for themselves, until they had cut a great 
part of the country down to new levels with ridges of the harder rocks 
in between. After ages in this condition, another uplift occurred, rais- 
ing our mountain tops to their present level, or about 900 feet above 
their previous height. The gaps in the mountains were begun with the 
first rise of the coastal plain. The waters gathered together and sought 
the easiest way out, and, as the land continued to rise, the streams cut 
deeper and deeper channels through the rocks. The so-called wind gaps 
in the mountains were all formed by streams which have since found 
other ways to the sea. There is evidence that the Delaware River 
found a weak spot in the mountain at the Water Gap, as a careful com- 
parison of the strata on the two sides shows a lack of conformity. In 
other words, a fault or break had occurred here and rendered this the 
vulnerable spot and determined the location of the Water Gap. 

The main physical features of our county, the mountains, the val- 
leys and the streams, were, except superficially, in nea,rly their present 
condition at the beginning of the quaternary or present era. Then came 



98 Warren County. 

the great ice age, which lasted for many centuries and covered all the 
northern part of our continent with a coating of ice, in some places 
several thousand feet thick, and the ice traveled slowly from north to 
south as a mighty glacier, filling the valleys and going over the tops of 
our highest mountains as easily as the Delaware goes over a rift. In 
its resistless course it caught up rocks, some of which it ground to sand 
and clay, while others were worn round and smooth and transported 
many miles from their parent ledge. The glacier extended as far south 
as a mile below Belvidere, and there the Sun's rays melted the ice as 
fast as it came down, and there the ice left its burden of sand, gravel, 
rocks and clay, as a terminal moraine, which extends across the county 
from Belvidere, past Hazen, Bridgeville, Buttzville, Townsbury, Great 
Meadows and Vienna to Hackettstown. The edge of the great ice 
field must have wavered for many, many years along this line to have 
deposited the morainic material that we find in the Pequest Valley, be- 
fore the ice finally receded, under milder climatic conditions, to the far 
north, depositing all the way more or less material such as we find in 
the great terminal moraine. 

The changes produced by the great glacier in our topography are 
mainly superficial. The general contour of physical features was ren- 
dered rounder, less rugged and more pleasing to the eye. In many 
places the valleys were dammed up and lakes were produced, which 
later became fertile meadows. Vast beds of sand suitable for building 
and gravel for making roads and concrete were deposited in profusion 
over the northern half of the county. 

The thousands of years that have elapsed since the ice disappeared 
have made no great change in the general physical aspect of our hills 
and valleys. Some of the lakes have been filled up or have been drained 
by the cutting away of the dam that produced them, and the rivers and 
streams have redistributed the gravel left in their old beds, and as they 
deepened their channels down through the gravel, they have left river 



Warren County. 99 

terraces paralleling their course. At Belvidere there are three well 
marked terrace levels. 

The most pronounced effect of the great glacier was the damming 
up of valleys by the glacial debris, thus producing our meadows, swamps 
and lakes. Above Townsbury the valley of the Pequest was dammed 
by the moraine to such a height as to produce a lake reaching up into 
Sussex County. Since then the Pequest has been cutting its channel 
deeper and deeper through the mass of clay and gravel, until we have 
now the Great Meadows instead of a lake. Similarly, Green's Pond 
was formed, and at one time this covered all the low land of the adja- 
cent swamps and meadows. The swamp was produced partly by the 
filling in of the lower part of the lake, and partly by the washing away 
of the glacial dam. 

At the Water Gap a mass of glacial debris filled the old river 
channel to a height sufficient to dam the river and make a lake reaching 
for many miles to the north. The red men had a legend of the existence 
of this lake, and their name, "Minisink," applied to the level lands 
along the river between the Water Gap and Port Jervis, meant "The 
water is gone." The lake finally disappeared when the river had 
cleared its channel to its previous condition. 



CHAPTER XI. 



Civil List of Warren County. 

Our county has furnished her share of men prominent In the State 
and Nation. A partial list Is given of those who, at some time have 
been connected with this county and have held Important civil positions. 

Peter D. Vroom was Governor of New Jersey from 1829 to 1832. 
George T. Werts, who was born in Hackettstown, was Governor from 
1893 to 1896. 

The following residents of Warren County have represented this 
district In the National Congress: 1837-39, 1841-43, John P. B. Max- 
well; 1849-53, Isaac Wildrlck; 1865-69, Charles Sitgreaves; 1881-83, 
Henry S. Harris; 1883-85, Benjamin F. Howey; 1893-95, Johnston 
Cornish; and when this was a part of Sussex County the following were 
in Congress : 1 795-99, Mark Thompson, and 1 801-1 1 William Helms. 

In 1900 David A. Depue was appointed Chief Justice of the State 
of New Jersey. George W. Robeson was attorney-general of the State 
of New Jersey from 1867 to 1870, and Secretary of the Navy In the 
cabinet of President Grant. 

Garret D. Wall was a clerk of the Supreme Court of New Jersey 
from 1 812 to 1 8 17, and George B. Swain was State treasurer of New 
Jersey from 1894 to 1902. 

Hon. Joseph B. Cornish was secretary of the Senate in 1868-69, 
and the Hon. Samuel C. Thompson filled the same office In 1893. 

In 1 8 14-15, William Kennedy, and In 1835 Charles Sitgreaves, 
served as vice-presidents of Council of New Jersey. In 1810-1 1 Will- 
iam Kennedy was speaker of the House of Assembly, and In 1887 Will- 
iam M. Baird filled that oflice. 



Warren County. 



lOI 



The following were members of Council of New Jersey: 



1825, Jacob Thompson; 
1826-28, Jeremy Mackey; 
1829-30, Jonathan Robbins; 
1 83 1 , Samuel Wilson ; 
1832-33, Charles Carter; 



1834-35, Charles Sitgreaves; 
1836-39, Robert H. Kennedy; 

1840, Caleb H. Valentine; 

1 841, Henry J. Van Ness ; 
1842-44, Charles J. Ihrie. 



The following were State Senators of New Jersey : 



1845, Charles J. Ihrie; 1876-78, 

1846-48, Jeremy Mackey; 1879-81, 

1849-51, George W. Taylor; 1882-84, 

1852-54, Charles Sitgreaves; 1885-87, 

1855-57, William Rea; 1888-90, 

1858-60, Philip Mowry; 1891-93, 

1861-63, James K. Swayze; 1894-96, 

1864-66, Henry R. Kennedy; 1897-99, 

1867-69, Abram Wildrick; 1900-02, 

1870-72, Edward H. Bird; 1903-05, 

1873-75, Joseph B. Cornish; 1906-12, 



William Silverthorn; 
Peter Crarner; 
George H. Beatty; 
James E. Moon; 
Martin Wyckoff; 
Johnston Cornish; 
Christopher F. Staats; 
Isaac Barber; 
Johnston Cornish; 
Isaac Barber; 
Johnston Cornish. 



The following were members of Assembly of New Jersey: 



182 
182 
182 
182 
182 
182 
182 
183 
183 

183 
183 
183 



5, James Egbert; 

5, Daniel Swayze; 

6, Archibald Robertson; 
6-27, Jacob Armstrong ; 
7-28, Jonathan Robbins; 
8-29, Daniel Vliet; 

9, Jacob Summers; 
o, Samuel Wilson; 
0-32, 35-36, Caleb H. Val- 
entine ; 

1-33, Charles Sitgreaves; 
2-33' John Blair; 
2-33, Isaac Shipman; 



1834, Jacob Brotzman; 

1834-37, Georee Flummerfelt; 
1834, Henry Hankinson; 

1835-36, John Young; 

1837-38, William Larrison; 

1837-38, Henry Van Nest ; 

1838-39, Samuel Shoemaker; 

1839-41, George W. Smyth; 

1839-41, John Moore; 

1840-42, Jacob H. Winter; 

1 842-44, Stephen Warne ; 

1842-44, Abram Wildrick; 

1843-44, Robert C. Caskey. 



The following were Assemblymen of New Jersey : 



1845, Abram Wildrick; 1846-48, 

1845, Stephen Warne; 1847-49, 

1845-46, Robert C. Caskey; 1849-51, 

1846-48, Jonathan Shotwell; 1849-51, 



Amos H. Drake; 
Samuel Mayberry; 
Andrew Ribble; 
Benjamin Fritts; 



I02 



Warren County. 



1850-53, John Loller; 
1852, John Cline; 
1852-54, John Sherrer; 
1852-54, David V. C. Crate; 
1854-56, George H. Beatty ; 
1855-57, Archibald Osbom; 
1855-57, John White; 
1857-59, Isaac Leida; 
1858, Abram S. Van Horn; 
1858-59, WilHam Feit; 
1859-61, Robert RusHng; 
i860, Philip Shoemaker; 
1860-62, John C. Bennett; 
1861-63, David Smith; 
1862-64, William W. Strader; 
1863-65, Elijah Allen; 
1864-66, Charles G. Hoagland; 
1865-66, Silas Young; 
1866-68, Andrew J. Fulmer; 
1867-68, John N. Givens; 
1867-69, Nelson Vhet; 
1869-71, Absalom B. Pursell; 
1869-71, Caleb H. Valentine; 
1870-72, WilHam Silverthorn; 
1872-74, Valentine Mutchler; 
1873-75, Joseph Anderson; 
1875, - ■ " 



John M. Wyckoff; 



1876, William Carpenter; 
1876-78, Elias J. Mackey; 
1877-79, S-'las W. DeWitt; 
1879-81, Coursen H. Albertson ; 
1880-82, William Fritts; 
1882, Robert Bond; 
1883-85, Stephen C. Larison; 
1883-85, Isaac Wildrick; 
1886, Thomas L. Titus; 
1886-87, William M. Baird; 
1887-89, Samuel B. Mutchler; 
1888-91, Eliphalet Hoover; 
1890-92, Daniel W. Hagerty; 
1892-94, L. Milton. Wilson; 
1893, Richard H.-Sheppard; 
1894-95, Samuel V. Davis; 
1895,- George W. Smith; 
1896-98, Alfred L. Fluramer- 

felt; 
1896-98, William K. Bowers; 
1 899-1901, Hiram D. White; 
1 899- 1 90 1, Jacob B. Smith; 
1902, William R. Laire; 
1903-05, John A. Wildrick; 
1906-08, Joseph H. Firth; 
1909, Harry B. Moon; 
1910-11, George B. Cole; 



SURROGATES. 



1825-30, 
1830-34, 
1834-39, 
1839-44, 
1844-49, 
1849-54, 
1854-59, 
1859-64, 
1864-69, 



John M. Sherrer d; 
Jeremy Mackey; 
George W. Ribble ; 
Aaron Robertson; 
Joseph Norton; 
Lewis C. Reese; 
Philip H. Hann; 
William Allshouse; 
WiUiam L. Hoagland; 



1869-74, Wm M. Mayberry; 
1874-79, .George Lommasson; 
1879-84, Martin C. Swartswel- 

ler; 
1884-94, William O'Neil; 
1894-99, George L. Shillinger; 
1 899-1904, Charles B. Sharp; 
1904-1909, James A. Allen; 
1909-1913, Jonas E. Bair; 



COUNTY CLERKS. 



1825-31, Matthias O.Halstead; 
1831-41, Phineas B. Kennedy; 



1841-46, David M. Stiger; 
1846-50, James L Browne; 



Warren County. 



103 



1850-50, John F. Randolph; 
1850-55, Simeon Cook; 
1855-60, Jehiel T. Kern; 
1860-65, William F. Wire; 
1865-70, William Winter; 
1870-70, Henry Winter; 
1870-75, John Simerson; 
1875-80, James E. Moon; 



1880-85, William L.Hoagland; 
1885-90, Theodore Hopler; 
1890-95, John A. Wildrick; 
1 895-1900, Charles A. Harris; 
1900-05, Rowland Firth; 
1905-10, Charles Hoagland; 
19 10-15, G. Howell Mutchler. 



The following have served as Judges of the Court of Common 



Pleas: 

1825 — John Kinney, Robert C. 
Thomson, William Ken- 
nedy, Jabez Gwinnup, Job 
Johnson, Charles Carter; 

1826 — ^John Armstrong, Garret 
Lacy; 

1828 — John Stinson, Daniel 
Vliet, William McCullough, 
Henry M. Winter; 

1829 — ^John Kinney, Jabez Gwin- 
nup, William P. Robeson, 
William Kennedy, William 
Hankinson ; 

1830 — Robert H. Kennedy, 
Charles Carter; 

1 83 1 — John Moore, Garret 
Lacey, Abraham Warne, 
Peter W. Blair; 

1832 — Garret Vliet, Daniel 
Vliet; 

1833 — John Stinson, William 
McCullough, James Davi- 
son; 

1834- — Abraham Van Campen, 
John Kinney; 

1835 — Henry Van Nest, Caleb 
H. Valentine, Charles J. 
Ihrie, Robert H. Kennedy; 

1836 — John Moore, Caleb H. 
Valentine, Daniel Axford, 
Peter W. Blair; 



1837 — Daniel Vliet, William P. 
Robeson, Robert S. Ken- 
nedy; 

1838 — Elias Mushback, John 
Stinson, Job Johnson, Dan- 
iel Axford, William M. 
Warne; 

1839 — Abraham Van Campen, 
Benjamin Shackleton, Jer- 
emy Mackey, James Egbert, 
Isaac Wildrick; 

1 84 1 — David M. Stiger; 

1842— Robert S. Kennedy, Will- 
iam P. Robeson; 

1843 — Elias Mushback, Peter 
W. Blair, Caleb H. Valen- 
tine, John Stinson, Philip 
Fine, John Moore; 

1 844 — John G. Johnston, Henry 
M. Winter, Jacob H. Win- 
ter, Spencer C. Smith, Thos. 
Scureman, Samuel Hibler, 
Simon F. Wyckoff, Samuel 
Shoemaker, Jeremy Mac- 
key, Charles J. Ihrie; 

1845 — Benjamin Shackleton, 
Henry D. Swayze, Daniel 
Vanbuskirk ; 

1846 — James I. Browne, John 
Dill; 

1847 — Robert S. Kennedy; 



I04 



Warren County. 



1848 — ^James Boyd; 

1849 — William P. Robeson; 

1850 — Benjamin Shackleton, 

Simeon Cooke; 
1 85 1 — Andrew Ribble; 
1852 — ^John Moore; 
1853 — James Davison, William* 

R. Sharp; 
1854 — James Fisher; 
1856 — Wesley Banghart; 
1857 — James Davison; 
1858 — William R. Sharp; 
1859 — John Moore; 
i860 — Jacob Sharp; 
1862 — Lewis C. Reese; 
1 8 63 — Jacob Sharp ; 
1864 — Philip H. Hann; 
1867 — -Jesse Stewart, Jr.; 
1868— Jehiel T. Kern; 



1869 — Philip H. Hann; 

1872 — ^James M. Robeson; 

1873 — Jesse Stewart, Jr.; 

1874 — Samuel Sherrerd, Robert 
Rusling ; 

1877 — Joseph Vliet; 

1878— Jehiel T. Kern; 

1879 — James Somerville, Will- 
iam H. Morrow; 

1883-89 — Silas W. Dewitt, Geo. 
H. Beatty, Uzal Canfield; 

1 889-92 — Irwin W. Shultz, Wil- 
liam H. Dawes, Hiram D." 
White; 

1892 — O. P. Chamberlin; 

1893-98 — William H. Morrow; 

1 898-19 13 — George M. Ship- 
man. 



SHERIFFS. 



1825 

182$- 

1830- 

1833- 

1839 

1842 

1845, 

1 846-. 

1848 

1851 

1854- 

1857- 

1860- 

1863- 

1866 

1869- 

1872 



28, 
30. 
33. 

39. 

42, 

45 



George Mushback; 

Isaac Shipman; 

Henry M. Winter; 

Abram Freese; 

Isaac Wildrick; 

Daniel F. Winter; 
William Winter; 
48, Daniel Van Buskirk; 
51, George Titman; 
54, John J. Van Kirk; 
57, Jacob Sharp; 
60, William Sweeney; 
63, William Armstrong; 
66, Joseph Anderson ; 
69, Albert K. Metz; 
72, Samuel H. Lanterman; 
75, Henry Winter; 



1875-78, 
1878-81, 
1881-84, 
1884-87, 
pen; 
1887-90, 
1890-93, 

1893-95. 

1895-96, 

1896-99, 

1899-1902, 

1902-1905 



John Gardner; 
Benjamin F. Howey; 
Wiliam K. Bowers; 
George H. Van Cam- 



ker; 
1905-1908, 
1908-1911, 

der. 



George Lommasson; 
Michael Weller; 
Benjamin Swarts; 
William A. Morrow; 
Elias J. Mackey; 

George Cole; 

Wm. Judson Bar- 



Andrew Merrick; 
Theophilus H. Wie- 



Warren County. 105 

PROSECUTORS OF THE PLEAS. 

1829-1850, William C. Morris; 1881-91, Sylvester C. Smith; 

1850-55, Phineas B. Kennedy; 1891-1901, William A. Stryker; 

1855-60, Joseph Vliet; 1901-06, George A. Angle; 

1860-65, James M. Robeson; 1906-11, John I. B. Reilly; 

1865-77, JosephVliet; 1911-16, William A. Stryker. 
1877-81, Henry S. Harris; 



CHAPTER XII. 



Civil Divisions of Warren County. 

The present civil divisions of Warren and Sussex counties have 
all been formed from the four townships into which Sussex County 
was divided at the time of its erection. They were Newtown, which 
formed nearly all of the present Sussex County east of the Blue Moun- 
tains; Walpack, which included all the territory between the Blue 
Mountains and the Delaware River, extending from the Water Gap 
to Port Jervis; Hardwick, from which have been taken Independence, 
Hackettstown, Allamuchy, Frelinghuysen, Stillwater and Green; while 
all the rest formed the large township called Greenwich, that reached 
from the Blue Mountains to the extreme southern part of the county. 
Pahaquarry is that part of Walpack lying in Warren County and dates 
from November 20, 1 8 24. Hardwick and Greenwich townships were 
defined at some unknown time before 1738. In 1782 Hardwick was 
divided into Hardwick (including Frelinghuysen and Stillwater), and 
Independence. These two parts had been known for some time before 
1782 as Upper and Lower Hardwick. In 1824 Independence lost 
Green Township to Sussex County; in 1853 Hackettstown was erected, 
from Independence, and in 1872 Allamuchy was formed, leaving Inde- 
pendence with its present boundaries. When the county was formed in 
1824 Hardwick lost that part over the Sussex County line known as 
Stillwater and the remainder was divided in 1848, the Paulins Kill 
being the dividing line between the present Hardwick and the new 
township called Frelinghuysen. A small portion of both Hardwick and 
Frelinghuysen was added to BlairstoWn later. 

In 1754 Greenwich was divided into three parts, called Green- 
wich, Oxford and Mansfield Woodhouse. From Oxford in 1764 was 



Warren County. 107 

taken Knowlton, and from Knowlton was taken Blairstown in 1845. 
Hope was erected out of parts of Oxford and Knowlton In 1839, and 
Harmony from parts of Greenwich and Oxford in the same year. 
Mansfield Woodhoiase became Mansfield in the new county and from it 
was taken Washington in 1849. Washington Borough was erected in 
the center of the township in 1868. Greenwich in 1839 ^o^* Franklin 
and in 1851 a part of Phillipsburg, the other part. coming from 
Harmony. In 1861 Lopatcong was taken from Phillipsburg, which 
then became a borough and received an addition from Lopatcong 
in 1903. 

In March 24, 1881, what was left of Greenwich was divided into 
two parts called Greenwich and Pohatcong. 



CHAPTER XIII. 



Alla^uchy. 

Allamuchy Township, named from its principal town, was formed 
from a part of Independence, in 1872. Allamuchy has the proud dis- 
tinction of bearing its name longer than any other town in Warren 
County. Here from time immemorial was an Indian village called 
Allamuchahokkingen, or Allamucha, which is mentioned by the earliest 
surveys of this region, made in 17 15. The earliest white settlers were 
Quakers. Among the early merchants were James Shotwell, Stephen 
Kennedy and Paul Angle. In 1834 if had a grist mill, a saw mill, a 
grain distillery, a store, a tavern and a dozen dwellings. It is a station 
on the Lehigh and Hudson River railroad, is situated near a beautiful 
lake bearing its name, and has in its vicinity two of the finest country 
seats in America. 

John Rutherford, a grandson of James Alexander, surveyor-gen- 
eral, and one of the proprietors of New Jersey, settled on the estate at 
Tranquility and Allamuchy, still occupied by his descendants. He be- 
came a member of the Legislature in 1788, and in 1790 and again in 
1796 was elected to the Senate of the United States. Mr. Rutherford 
Stuyvesant, a descendant of Peter Stuyvesant and of John Rutherford, 
added hundreds of acres to the ancestral estate and called the whole 
Tranquility Farms. His kennels won many prizes, and his sheep could 
not be equalled in America. His game preserve first made the English 
pheasant known in our county. A deer park of hundreds of acres is 
part of the estate. 

In 17 1 5 John Reading, a deputy surveyor, on a warrant dated 
March 10, 17 15, laid out for William Penn a tract of land described 
as follows : "On both sides of the Paquaessing River upon an Indian 



Warren County. 



109 




Residence of Winthrop Rutherford, Allamuchy, N. J. 

path which leads from Allamuchahokin to Pahackqualong," which, 
when modernized, becomes "On both sides of the Pequest River upon 
an Indian path which leads from Allamuchy to Pahaquarry." The 
Quaker meeting house and burying ground are a part of this tract, and 
are at the point where the Indian trail crossed the Pequest on its way 
from the Delaware across the Kittatinny Mountain through Marks- 
boro, Johnsonsburg, Allamuchy, Hackettstown, Budds Lake and on to 
the sea. 

The Quaker Settlement has been the name of the locality at the 
northeastern end of the Great Meadows since 1745. As early as July 
of that year public meetings were held for the worship of God. On 
July 8, 1745, Samuel Willson, Jr., was appointed by the Kingwood 
meeting of Hunterdon County to serve as an overseer at the Hardwick 
particular meeting. In 1752 Richard Penn, also a Quaker, and grand- 
son of William Penn, gave a deed for land "for a Friends' meeting 
house forever." A log meeting house was soon built, which was suc- 
ceeded in 1764 by a substantial stone structure, which stood for more 



no Warren County. 

than a century, or till 1866, when it was torn down, and on its founda- 
tions were built the Quaker public school house. 

In this locality settled many families of the Hardwick Society of 
Friends, who came mostly from Kingwood, New Jersey, and Bucks 
County, Pa. Their names were Lundy, Dyer, Willson, Schooley, 
Willetts, Schmuck, Shotwell, Brotherton and Laing, and later Adams, 
Buckley and Hoey, some of which names are still well known in the 
vicinity, but since the dissolution of the society in 1855 the families have 
scattered all over the continent, and only a few of those that remain 
are of their ancient belief. 

The Quaker Settlement was a station on "the Underground Rail- 
road" between Quakertown, Hunterdon County and the Drowned 
Lands of Sussex County, that was used by many fugitive slaves on their 
way to freedom in Canada. 

The Lundy family — Sylvester Lundy, of Axminster County of 
Devon, England, has a son, Richard Lundy, who was born in England, 
emigrated to New England in 1676, settled, 1682, in Bucks County, 
Pennsylvania,' and was a Quaker elder. His son, Richard Lundy, was 
born in 1692, moved to AUamuchy in 1747, and died there in 1772. 
He was an elder in the Society of Friends, and was active in establish- 
ing three new meetings or churches, viz : — the Buckingham, the Plum- 
stead and the Hardwick. He has many descendants in America. 
Richard Lundy was a justice of the peace in 1749. At his death he 
gave to his son, Samuel, all his real estate. He had five sons and four 
daughters, all of whom settled and lived their lives in the vicinity. 

Warrenville, or Wiretown, was formerly a town doing consider- 
able business. It had a carriage factory, a foundry, a store and a hotel. 
Long Bridge is a station on the L. & H. railroad, and has a creamery. 
The old stone house nearby was built by Captain Daniel Vliet. 

There are four schools in the township, named Meadville, Saxton 
Falls, AUamuchy and Quaker. The township has at present no 
churches. 



Warren County. i i i 

Meadville, called also Arnoldtown and Alphano, has a muck 
drying plant capable of preparing thirty tons of muck a day, which is 
used as a filler for fertilizers. Many acres of celery, lettuce and onions 
are cultivated here on the rich meadow land. 

Note : The author has received valuable aid from the genealogical 
publications of William Clinton Armstrong, A. M., who was born at 
Johnsonsburg, educated at Princeton, and is now Superintendent of 
Schools of New Brunswick, New Jersey. 



CHAPTER XIV. 



Belvidere. 



Belvidere was a part of Oxford Township until 1845, when it 
was organized as a borough. Before 1754 it was a part of Greenwich, 
and the vicinity of Belvidere as far as the Oxford Meeting House was 
frequently spoken of as Upper Greenwich, or Greenwich on the Dela- 
ware. 

On October 8th and 9th, 17 16, there were surveyed by John Read- 
ing two tracts of land on the site of Belvidere. These were separated 
by a line beginning at the mouth of the Pequest and running along what 
was later Independence Street, which leads now to the farm of Mr. 
E. H. Carhart. The tract to the north of that line was for 1,250 
acres or more, and was surveyed for William Penn. The tract to the 
south was of the same size, and was surveyed to Colonel John Alford, 
of Charleston, Massachusetts. The McMurtries came into possession 
of the Alford tract in 1750, and Robert Patterson, the first settler in 
Belvidere, bought the Penn tract in 1759. Robert Patterson was a 
tinsmith, and built a double log house on the site of the Warren House. 
He sold a great deal of his property in the seventeen sixties, and seems 
to have left by 1769, when Major Robert Hoops came and purchased 
the land on both sides of the Pequest. He retained the property on 
the north side of the creek until about 1800, but sold all south of the 
Pequest, including the water powers, to Robert Morris, the financier of 
the Revolution, who built the house on Greenwich Street (now owned 
by Dr. Lefferts) in 1780, for his daughter, Mrs. Croxall, to whom he 
conveyed it in 1793 by a deed containing an entail, which delayed the 
development of that part of the town for many years, or until a special 



Warren County. 113 

act of the Legislature in 1 8 1 8 gave the ownership to four heirs in fee 
simple. 

Major Hoops was a very active business man. He had a saw mill 
and a grist mill. He dealt in grain, and shipped flour and produce to 
Philadelphia by Durham boats. He did much to make the present 
channel through Foul Rift. During the Revolution he had a slaughter 
house on the site of D. C. Blair's barn, from which many wagonldads 
of beef and pork were hauled to Morristown for Washington's hungry 
army. He laid out all of the northern half of the town into streets and 
lots as they are at present, and called the town Mercer. Before 1800 
he had parted with his holdings, mainly to Thomas Paul and Mr. 
Hyndshaw, and retired to Virginia. 

We find the name Belvidere first used in 1791 by Major Hoops in 
a letter now in possession of Miss Mary Clark. It was written to 
Richard Backhouse, Esquire, Durham, and reads as follows : 

Dear Sir : 

The day you left me in the afternoon with seven hands I made a 
beginning and compleated Passage through the little foul Rift fit for 
a Boat to pass with 100 or 150 Bushels without touching; and was it 
not for the three points where the Hatchet was raised against me I 
should be perfectly easy — but industry and perseverance will, I hope, 
overcome all difficulties. I have desired the Bearer, my Negro Boy 
Jack, to return to me as speedily as you can dismis Him, as no time 
must be lost. I shall get some hands at work tomorrow before I set 
out for your House and wish as little detention as possible, as I am 
determined to return again on the same evening, having engaged some 
more hands for Tuesday Morning. I am with best Wishes, Dear Sir, 
your Most obdt.. 

Humble Servt., 

ROBT. HOOPS. 
Belvidere, Sunday, 

8th August, 1 79 1. 

The Robert Morris tract, south of the Pequest, comprising 
614 acres, was bought in 1825 by Garret D. Wall, who was elected 
Governor of New Jersey in 1829. He sold the Croxall mansion to 



114 Warren County. 

John M. Sherrerd, Esq., our first county clerk, in 1827, and the rest 
of the tract he laid out in building lots, as it is at present. The town 
was boomed, and vacant lots brought extravagant prices, one corner 
lot bringing $3,600. Mr. Wall gave the sites for the park. Court 
House and the Methodist and Pi^sbyterian churches. 

The first roads in Belvidere all ran from the ford,- about one hun- 
dred feet below the new concrete bridge. One skirted the foot of the 
hill by the depot and then followed the straight line of Independence 
Street, past Carhart's farm, to Phlllipsburg. Another we recognize 
as Market Street, and yet another as Water Street, at the western end 
of which was operated a ferry across the Delaware River. The ferry- 
man in 1800 was Daniel McCain, who also followed his trade of 
making nails on the anvil for ten or twelve cents a pound. 

The oldest building site in Belvidere is occupied by the Warren 
House. Here Robert Patterson built his double log house, which lasted 
until 1838, when it was torn down by Benjamin Depue in order to 
make way for the more modern structure which is known today as the 
Warren House. This was slightly remodeled about ten years ago, after 
a fire. When it was a double log house it was known as the Mansion 
House, and was conducted as a tavern by William Craig, and later 
by Joseph Norton. Major Benjamin Depue kept the Warren House 
for many years, and was succeeded by Vincent Smith, and he by John P. 
Ribble. At present it is owned by George I. Gardner, and the landlord 
is William Johnson. 

One of the earliest building sites in Belvidere is occupied by the 
residence of Mr. Henry Deshler. This was built by Dr. George Green 
in 1830, taking the place of a double log house occupied successively 
by the Rev. Mr. Treat, pastor of the old Oxford Church; by the Cott- 
mans, by Major Robert Hoops, who came here in 1769 ; by Dr. Larra-' 
bee before 1794, and by Dr. Jabez Gwinnup, who practiced here from 
1794 until 1 817. Mr. Thomas Paul, his son. Dr. J. Marshall Paul, 
Sr., and grandson. Dr. J. Marshall Paul, Jr., owned this place for many 



Warren County. 



115 



years, together with several hundred acres of surrounding property, 
much of which is still owned by the Paul estate. 

A historic dwelling was built at the corner of the park in 1833 
by John P. B. Maxwell for his bride, who did not live to enter it. It 
was later owned by his sister, Mrs. William P. Robeson, the mother 
of the Hon. George M. Robeson, Secretary of the Navy under Presi- 
dent Grant. It was regarded as the homestead of the Robeson family, 
which was so long identified with the history of the State. Martin Van 
Buren was entertained at this house when a candidate for the presidency, 
and was driven by Judge Robeson in his carriage drawn by four white 
horses to Schooley's Mountain. Bishop Doane, the author of several 
familiar hymns, was a frequent visitor here. One of his hymns begins : 
"The morning light is breaking, the darkness disappears." The prop- 
erty was bought by Dr. G. W. Cummins in 1 90 1 . . 




Residence of Dr. G. W. Cummins, Belvidere. 



Among the very earliest settlers in the neighboring Northampton 
County were the Craigs, some of whom later came to Warren County. 
James Craig came with several other Scotch-Irish families to "Craig's 
Settlement," which was at what is now called Weaversville, Pennsyl- 



ii6 Warren County. 

vania, and vinicity. In 1743 he purchased 250 acres of land of William 
Allen. His three sons were named William, Thomas and Robert. 
William Craig was the first Sheriff of Northampton County. Thomas 
Craig bought 500 acres of land in 1739. His sons were General 
Thomas Craig and Captain Jolin Craig. Thomas served in the 
Revolutionary army as colonel of the Third Pennsylvania Regiment 
and as brigadier-general. He took part in the battles of Quebec, 
Brandywine, Germantown and Monmouth. John Craig was captain 
of the Fourth Regiment Pennsylvania Light Dragoons, and was pro- 
nounced by General Washington as "the best horseman in the army." 
He was Sheriff of Northampton County from 1793 to 1796 and spent 
his last years in Belvidere as proprietor of what is now known as the 
American House. A fire which partially destroyed the American 
House in 1906 brought to light some papers of historic interest, among 
them some militia muster rolls of Northampton County in 1796, and 
a great number of "Way-bills from Belvidere to Trenton," in which 
are mentioned by name and destination all those who traveled by stage 
coach between those points, numbering in all not more than a dozen in 
a week! The American House was conducted for forty years by 
Augustus Laubach, and is now owned by Mr. Baylor and conducted by 
William A. Rasener. 

The business activity of Belvidere has always depended in a great 
measure on the presence of the Deliaware River, which offers possibilities 
of power and communication, and the Pequest Creek, which furnishes 
power to run nearly all of Belvidere's industries. With respect to the 
possible development of water, Belvidere is the second city in the State, 
and before long it hopes to utilize all of its possibilities in this direction. 

For many years Belvidere was the shipping point to Philadelphia 
and Trenton for Oxford Furnace, which began to ship iron down 
the river as early as 1 744. The iron was carried on the famous Durham 
boats. These were flat-bottomed affairs with a prow at either end. 



Warren County. i i 7 

They floated with their load ddwn stream, and were poled all the way 
back, lightly loaded, largely with sugar and molasses. 

A disastrous effort was made by Belvidere interests in i860 to 
run a line of steamers on the river, but when the first steamer, the 
"Alfred Thomas," on its maiden trip blew up after travelling less than 
one mile from Easton, where it was built, the project was dropped, 
never to be renewed. The explosion killed twelve persons, among them 
two of the three owners, — ^Judge William R. Sharp and Richard Hol- 
comb. 

The only real use ever made of the magnificent water power of the 
Delaware was to run a mill built a mile south of Belvidere in 18 14 by 
William Sherlock, and rebuilt by Sherrerd & Company in 1836. The 
mill was finally destroyed by fire in 1856. 

The Pequest has proved more useful, as it has furnished power 
without stint for 140 years, and has really made the town all that it is. 
The site of Ira B. Keener's mill at the south end of the lower bridge 
is the oldest in this vicinity, a mill having been there ever since Major 
Hoops erected his first log mill in 1770; He also built a saw mill at 
the north end of the bridge, whose site has been occupied by a variety 
of industries, and finally by the Warren Wood Working Company, 
which conducts the most important industry in Belvidere. This com- 
pany furnishes electric light to the borough, and at one time heated 
many dwellings by its exhaust steam. 

McMurtrie's saw mill, conducted by Gardner & Company, is the 
third one to occupy that site, and gets its power from the lower dam, 
which also supplies power for the Belvidere Roller Mill Company's 
plant, erected by A. B. Searles in 1863 on the site of a saw mill built 
by Major Depue in 1S39. 

Several industries receive their power from water diverted from 
the Pequest a half mile east of Belvidere, and conducted to "McMur- 
trie's Mill Pond" by a race built in 1836 by the Belvidere Water Com- 
pany, and later qwned by the Belvidere Manufacturing Company. The 



ii8 Warren County. 

excellent head of water thus obtained operates the flouring mill built 
in 1877 by Abram McMurtrie, and conducted at present under the firm 
name of G. K. & O. H. McMurtrie. For many years Belvidere has 
been the chief market for grain for many miles around, due to its pros- 
perous mills and excellent shipping facilities. 

The Crane Felt Company's works, situated on both sides of the 
Pequest, also receive their power from this source, as does the silk mill 
of Bamford- Brothers, which was established before 1900 in the brick 
building erected in 1870 and known as the Agricultural Works. In 
this building a paper pail factory was successfully conducted for several 
years in the nineties. 

A flourishing industry established in recent years is J. Frank 
Haye's welting factory. A garage is owned by Roseberry Brothers, 
and another by Frank Bair, who also conducts a moving picture estab- 
lishment. • 

Belvidere has connection with the Pennsylvania Railroad, the Le- 
high & Hudson railroad, and by auto-stage with the Delaware, Lacka- 
wanna & Western railroad, giving unequalled traveling facilities, and 
it is planning to build a trolley line connecting with the county system 
at Washington. 

Two wagon bridges cross the Pequest at Belvidere. The lower 
bridge, built of concrete and iron in 19 10, replaced an iron bridge that 
had done service for fifty-two years. A stone arch bridge which stood 
here from 1838 till 1858 followed a succession of wooden bridges, 
whose erection rendered useless the ford a hundred feet down stream, 
which was used in early times. The upper or iron bridge was erected 
in 1870, replacing a wooden frame bridge that had served for many 
years. The present Delaware River bridge was built in 1904 by the 
Delaware Bridge Company, after the great flood of October, 1903, had 
washed away all but the foundations of the old wooden arch bridge 
which was built in 1834-36, after the pattern of the present bridge at 
Columbia. Before 1836 a ferry was operated just below the bridge. 



Warren County. 119 

The Town Hall on Water Street was built in 1855. The Good 
Will Volunteer Fire Company keeps its hose carriage and hook and 
ladder wagon in the building, and has a fine billiard room for the enter- 
tainment of its members. The Mayor and Common Council meet 
once a month in a special room, and all elections are held in the 
building. 

The Opera House was built by Widenor Brothers, in 1895, on the 
property long the residence of Theodore Paul, at the corner of Water 
and Market Streets. A brick store was on the corner for many years 
after 1826. 

The Belvidere House was built in 1831 for use as a store. As a 
hotel it has been kept by William Butler, William Craig, John P. Kib- 
ble, William Brocaw and several of the Fisher family. At present it 
is owned by George Givens, and kept by Otto Kaiser. The Pequest 
House, early known as the Washington House, was built before 1800, 
and burned and rebuilt in 1833. It was kept before 1840 by Sheriff 
Daniel Winters. It was again burned in 1877 and rebuilt in 1881. It 
is at present owned by Charles Cole. 

Belvidere is supplied with two excellent water systems, the oldest 
being the Belvidere Water Company, which was incorporated in 1877, 
and furnishes water either from the Delaware or from artesian wells. 
The second, established in 1908, is the Buckhorn Springs Water Com- 
pany, which furnishes water from the Buckhorn,' which has its rise in 
springs on Scott's Mountain, two miles south of Belvidere. 

Butler's Grove, now owned by Mrs. A. Massenat, has been a 
favorite picnic ground for time beyond the memory of man. Seventy 
years ago the woods began with the last houses in town, and in the 
grove every year for many years before 1840 camp meetings were 
held, lasting for several weeks. Here the great Methodist preachers, 
such as Banghart, Fort and others, preached to great numbers of people. 
When the woods. grew smaller the meetings were held in Axford's 
grove, at Pequest. 



120 Warren County. 

The old stone foundation near the saw mill on the river bank is 
all that is left of the "Eagle Foundry," which Browne & Titus con- 
ducted seventy years ago, according to an advertisement in the Family 
Register, Vol. i, No. 34. The foundry was owned by General Wall, 
and occupied by Peter Ketchum When it burned down on March 22, 
1849. 

An early resident of Belvidere was Lawrence Lomerson, a mill- 
wright, who, during the spring freshets, ran Durham boats and acted 
as steersman of rafts on the Delaware. He was born in 1770, and 
died in 1864. 

Belvidere has possessed one of the solidest financial institutions 
in the State of New Jersey ever since John I. Blair established, in 
1829, the house now known as the Belvidere National Bank, which at 
one time had a capital of $500,000 in active use. From it developed 
the great financial house of John I. Blair & Co., of New York, than 
which few In the world can claim to be more important. Mr. Blair 
was president or vice-president of the Belvidere National Bank till his 
death In 1899, at the age of ninety-seven years, since which time his 
son, DeWitt Clinton Blair, who inherited the greater part of his im- 
mense fortune, has been its president. C. Ledyard Blair was elected 
president In 191 1. Mr. D. C. Blair still holds his legal residence in 
Belvidere, having his mansion on The Park. 

The Warren County National Bank was established by the efforts 
of Its energetic cashier and vice-president, Mr. George P. Young, In 
1 894, and has a capital of $50,000 and an equal amount as surplus. 

Belvidere lacks something that many towns possess in abundance. 
It has no debt ! 

The Methodist Episcopal Church of Belvidere was organized in 
1826, and a brick house of worship was erected on Market Street, 
where an old grave yard marks the spot. The present structure was 
built in 1855, on a desirable site east of the Park, presented by G. D. 
Wall, who was once elected Governor of New Jersey. A commodious 



Warren County. 121 

brick parsonage was erected in 1859. The present pastor is the Rev. 
Dr. William Hampton. A two-manual Jardine pipe organ was In- 
stalled in the church in 1904. 

The First Presbyterian Church of Belvidere is a daughter of the 
Old Oxford Church, founded before 1744. A church was built in 
Belvidere in 1834 on a splendid site west of the Park, presented by 
G. D. Wall. The parsonage, on a lot adjacent, was bought in 1848. 
The present substantial stone structure was erected after a fire had 
destroyed the original building in 1859. Eight pastors have ministered 
to the congregation, including the present pastor, the Rev. J. de 
Hart Bruen, who has served for more than a quarter of a century. A 
two-manual Jardine pipe organ replaced one of simpler design a dozen 
years ago. 

The Second Presbyterian Church was organized in 1 849, to repre- 
sent the "New School," and the present church was built at once. In 
1 870 Dr. J. Marshall Paul presented the parsonage, which he had built 
in 1855 for a public reading room and library, under the name of 
Stadleman Institute. A fine new Haskell electric organ was installed 
in 19 10, the gift, in part, of Mr. Andrew Carnegie. Rev. J. B. 
Edmondson has been the pastor for many years. 

Zion Episcopal Church was founded in 1833, and a building was 
erected on the south side of the Park before 1836, which was rebuilt 
after a fire occuring on May 5, 1900. The first missionary services 
were held here in 18 16, by the Rev. Dr. Bayard. The Rt. Rev. G. W. 
Doane held his first visitation here in 1832. Rev. George H. Young 
ministers to the congregations at Belvidere, Hope and Delaware. 

The cornerstone of Saint Patrick's Catholic Church was laid in 
August, 1 89 1, by Rt. Rev. M. T. O'Farrell. The first mass cele- 
brated In Belvidere was in the house of Michael O'Neil, in 185 1, by 
Father Reardon, of Easton, and after this services were held in the 
old academy, and for twenty-two years in a frame church on Hardwick 
Street. During the pastorate of Father McConnell this church estab- 



122 Warren County. 

lished stations at Harker's Hollow and Delaware Water Gap. Father 
Peter Kelley ministers to the wants of this place and of Oxford. 

A Baptist church led a precarious existence here from 1859 to 1903, 
when the building was demolished and on its site was erected the hand- 
some residence of George P. Young* 

Besides the physicians already mentioned, the following have 
served many years in Belvidere : Philip F. Brakeley, S. S. Clark, Will- 
iam H. Magee, F. P. Lefferts, William J.' Burd, William C. Albertson 
and G. W. Cummins. The last four are still practicing. 

The first school house of which we have any record was a building 
fourteen by twenty feet, on the Croxall property. Hyman McMiller 
taught in it from 1815 to 1820. In 1822 a stone school house, twenty- 
four by twenty-six feet, was erected on Water Street. In i860 this 
structure was torn down, and a larger frame building erected on the 
plot. This served all purposes of the growing population until, in 
1892, a handsome brick school was erected at the intersection of Mans- 
field and Fourth Streets. An extensive addition was made to this in 
1904. The old wooden school building burned down in March, 191 1. 
Professor C. H. Reagle is the present efficient principal. 

Belvidere takes considerable pride in the Park, which was present- 
ed by Garret D.- Wall, to be "always kept and continued open as a 
Public Square, walk or promenade, for the free common and uninter- 
rupted use of the citizens of the County of Warren forever." It con- 
tains three and six-tenths acres, and is bounded by Second Street, Hard- 
wick Street, Third Street and Mansfield Street. Around it are the 
Court House, the Presbyterian, Episcopal and Methodist churches, and 
many fine residences. It is pleasantly shaded by native forest trees, set 
out about 1840. 

In 1909 the Captain Henry Post, G. A. R., unveiled, on Decora- 
tion Day, a cannon presented to them by the Government. The cannon 
previously formed a part of the defenses at Sandy Hook. 



Warren County. 123 

In 1 9 1 o a drinking fountain was set up opposite the Court House 
by the Women's Christian Temperance Union. 

In the early days several public hangings were held in the Park, 
the most famous of which was that of Carter and Parks. The last 
hanging in Warren County was that of George Andrews, colored, for 
the murder of his wife. This hanging took place in the jail yard, with 
none but the necessary witnesses present. 

The present Belvidere Cemetery had its origin in the donation of 
a plot of ground by John P. B. Maxwell and William P. Robeson, in 
1834. The first interment was that of Mrs. Maxwell, the five-weeks' 
bride of one of the donors. The cemetery has been enlarged at various 
times, and at present it is all owned by the Belvidere Cemetery Asso- 
ciation, which has made provisions for its perpetual care. 



CHAPTER XV. 



Blairstown. 



Blairstown is named in honor of John I. Blair, its most prominent 
citizen, and was erected from Knowlton in 1845. ^ small portion of 
Hardwick and Frelinghuysen was added later. 

A tract of 1,100 acres was surveyed to John Hyndshaw in 1729, 
lying on both sides of the Paulins Kill, below Walnut Valley Creek, and 
partly in Knowlton Township. Hyndshaw still owned the tract in 
1762. 

Alexander Adams early took up 1,700 acres of land now partly in 
Knowlton and partly in Blairstown and Hope, reaching from the Union 
brick school house to near the Delaware River. His home is said to 
have been at about where the three townships come together. The 
history of his family is found under Knowlton Township. 

A tract of 5,000 acres lying in Blairstown, Hope and Freling- 
huysen was surveyed to William Penn before 17 18. This was sold by 
his heirs to Jonathan Hampton, and after his death commissioners 
divided the tract into fifty farms, which were owned later by the Wild- 
ricks, Shipmans and Cressmans and others. 

One of the earliest settlers in this township was Lodewick Ditman, 
or Ludwig Titman, who in 1737 bought 400 acres of land at the foot 
of the Blue Mountains, six miles from the Water Gap. Here he, his 
son, George, grandson, Baltus, or family, lived until 1844, when the 
homestead farm came into the possession of Walter Wilson, a great- 
great-grandson, whose family owned it until recently. 

Ludwig Titman had three sons, — George, Philip and John, and a 
daughter, Christina. His will in 1772 mentions his wife, Mary, neigh- 
bors, John Van Etten, and John Van Nest and witnesses, Christopher 
Krop, John Fite and James Moody. Ludwig Titman's son, George, 



Warren County. 125 

was born in 1726, and died in 1792. He lived on the homestead, and 
had two sons, George, born 1750, died 1796, and Baltus, born 175 1; 
and a daughter, Mary, who married, about 1780, the Rev. Ludwig 
Chitara, who preached to the German Reformed congregations at 
Knowlton and Newton. George Titman (2nd.) moved to Oxford 
Township. Baltus Titman and his family lived on the old homestead 
at the foot of the mountain. He had : ( i ) John, father of Jacob, 
Catherine, Jeremiah, John, Marie and Charles; (2) William, father 
of Baltus, George and William; (3) Abraham; (4) Catherine; (5) 
Elizabeth; (6) Margaret; (7) Anna; (8) Lanah, and (9) George, 
father of Catherine, Elias, Baltis, John, George, Philip, William, 
Abraham, Isaac, Mary Ann and Jacob. Many of the Titman family 
are in the township to this day. 

The ancestor of the Wildrick family in Warren County settled 
in Hardwick Township, not far from Blairstown, long before the 
Revolution. Several of the family have become prominent in the State 
and Nation. 

Hon. Abram Wildrick was a member of the Assembly and a State 
Senator. His daughter, Isabella, married Hon. George B. Swain, 
recently State treasurer of New Jersey. Hon. Isaac Wildrick, a twin 
brother to Abram, was an inveterate politician. He is said to have 
filled every elective office in the State except that of Governor. He 
married Nancy Cummins. Their daughter, Huldah, is the wife of 
Major Carl Lentz, of Newark. A son, Abram C. Wildrick, graduated 
from West Point in 1857 and has a brilliant war record, receiving the 
brevet of brigadier-general. Another son is Colonel John A. Wildrick, 
who was commissioned first lieutenant of the Sussex Rifles in 1861, and 
later of Company B, Second Regiment New Jersey Volunteers. In 
General Kearney's First New Jersey Brigade he went through many 
campaigns, and was promoted to the command of the Twenty-eighth 
New Jersey Regiment before the battle of Chancellorsville. He was in 
Libby Prison for thirty-two days. He served as clerk of the County of 



126 Warren County. 

Warren from 1890 to 1895. Two of his nephews are at present in the 
United States army. 

The first grist mill built here "long before the Revolution," gave 
to the place the name of "Smith's Mills." Later, when Michael Butts, 
and after him, his grandson, JacolJ Butts, owned most of the land on 
the site of the town, we find it called Butts' Bridge. The post-office, 
of which William Hankinson was first postmaster, bore this name from 
1820 to 1825, when John I. Blair was made postmaster of the place, 
with "Gravel Hill" as its new name. This name it bore until the citi- 
zens, at a public meeting on January 23, 1839, changed it to Blairs- 
town. 

On March 8, 1821, Joseph R. Ogden and M. Robert Butts (rep- 
resenting Jacob Butts, deceased) conveyed to William Hankinson, 
Amos Ogden, Joseph R. Ogden, Peter Lanterman and Wilson Hunt, 
trustees of the Gravel Hill School House, a tract of land on the road 
from Butts' Bridge to Hope, and 242 yards from said bridge over 
Paulins Kill. This later became the public school. 

Blairstown is the trading center for a large portion of northern 
Warren County. It soon will have three railway stations, as the Lehigh 
and New England, the New York, Susquehanna and Western, and the 
Delaware, Lackawanna and Western, all pass through the place. 

The most important event in the history of this place was the 
arrival of John L Blair, in 18 19. The Hon. John I. Blair is noted as 
being the wealthiest native Jerseyman. He was born at Foul Rift, in 
1802, and early developed marked ability as a merchant at Hope and 
at Gravel Hill, which was christened Blairstown in his honor in 1839. 
His great fortune was made mainly in building railroads, and his great 
business opportunities were offered freely to his friends, many of whom 
were also made wealthy thereby. 

He founded the Belvidere National Bank in 1830, which institu- 
tion became the parent of the great banking house of John L Blair & 
Co., of Wall Street, New York. His home was maintained at Blairs- 



Warren County. 127 

town all his long life. He died December 5, 1899. His great-grand- 
father, Samuel Blair, came to America from Scotland about 1 730, and 
married into the family of Dr. Shippen, of Philadelphia, who owned 
large tracts of land in Oxford Township, on Scott's Mountain. Here 
on Scott's Mountain Samuel Blair passed the remainder of his days, and 
here were born his son, John, and grandson, James, who was the father 
of John I. Blair. Mr. Blair left his great fortune mainly to his son, the 
Hon. D. C. Blair, of Belvidere and New York, and to his grandson, 
C. Ledyard Blair. 

Blair Presbyterial Academy," or, as it is more familiarly known, 
Blair Hall, is the most important institution in Blairstown. 

"In 1848 Mr. John I. Blair donated the grounds and provided 
the means for the erection of a stone edifice in Blairstown, to be used 
as a private school or academy that should uniformly uphold the New 
Testament ideal of character. This is the nucleus, both as to the inward 
and the outward character of the academy as it is today. The only 
deviation from the original design was the change from a day to a 
boarding school." 

In 1883, by a timely and generous gift, a new era was brought to 
the school. "The campus consists of one hundred acres, and is picturesque 
in its diversity. Including beautiful Blair Walk and the lake, it makes 
a delightful place of recreation." The lake is five acres in extent, with 
an average depth of seven feet, and provides a noisy cascade at the dam 
seventeen feet in height and forty-five in width." The buildings 
excel in beauty of design and attractiveness of location those of other 
American preparatory schools. 

Especially beautiful are Locke Hall and Insley Hall, named in 
honor of Mr. Blair's wife and mother. The institution is generously 
endowed. 

Blairstown owes to the generosity of Mr. Blair an electric light 
plapt and a water system, designed particularly for the convenience of 
Blair Hall, but whose advantages were extended to the whole town. 



128 Warren County. 

A noted figure in Blairstown was Dr. John C. Johnson, who 
located there in 1850, and for more than half a century served the 
population faithfully for many miles around. He was president and, for 
many years, secretary of the County Medical Society, and was presi- 
dent of the Medical Society of New Jersey in 1867. Dr. H. O. Car- 
hart has practiced his profession in Blairstown since 1887, and has been 
for several years collector of the County of Warren. Dr. William 
Allen and Dr. F. S. Gorden have been more recently established here. 

The Methodist Episcopal Church was the first one to be erected in 
Blairstown. It was not built until 1838, although the Methodists had 
stated preaching appointments in this place as early asi8ii. In 1873 
the original stone structure was torn down, and the present frame 
church was erected on nearly the same site. This church was connected 
with the Harmony circuit from 1838 until 1862, when it became a 
separate charge. Soon thereafter a commodious parsonage was erected. 
An excellent Jardine pipe organ was installed in 1902. The present 
pastor is Rev. D. H. Gridley. 

The Blairstown Presbyterian Church was erected in 1839-40. "It 
was furnished with a 2 1 8-pound bell, for many years the only church- 
going bell to be heard by the citizens of the beautiful valley In whose 
midst the church was planted." The first structure was built of stone, 
and, although in good repair, was demolished in 1870 to make way for 
the present building. The Presbyterians in this vicinity early went to 
the Knowlton church or to the Yellow Frame Church, a few miles 
away. In 1848 a parsonage was erected. Dr. John C. Johnson was 
organist for many years on the well built Jardine pipe organ. The 
present pastor is the Rev. J. N. Armstrong. 

De Witt C. Carter is the editor and publisher of the Blairstown 
Press, the only newspaper published in the northern part of Warren 
County. 

The First National Bank of Blairstown was established in 1900. 
Theodore B. Dawes has been its cashier for ten years, and William C. 



Warren County. 129 

Howell its president. The People's National Bank was opened for 
business in August, 19 10. John A. Messier is president, and E. J. 
Divers cashier. 

The farming in the neighborhood of Blairstown takes mainly the 
form of dairying. The Empire State Dairy Company has creameries at 
Hainesburg, Vails, Marksboro and Blairstown, which serve as a market 
for most of the milk produced in the Paulins Kill Valley. 



CHAPTER XVI. 



Frelinghuysen. 

Frellnghuysen is named In honor of the. Hon. Theodore Freling- 
huysen, attorney-general of New Jersey, a United States Senator, and 
president of Rutger's College. The township was created from a part 
of Hardwick in 1848. 

I quote from Judge Swayze's address : 

"In 1760, Jonathan Hampton advertised for sale 6,000 acres of 
land at Hardwick, in the County of Sussex, about two miles from the old 
jail, on both sides of the Pawling's Kill, within half a mile of Samuel 
Green's mill. He describes it as well stored with white oak timber, of 
which quantities of staves and headings are made and transported down 
Pawling's Kill and Delaware to Philadelphia." 

parly settlers in Frelinghuysen were the Shafer, Wintermute, Arm- 
strong, Van Horn, Thompson, Lanning, Hazen, Lundy, Dyer, Edger- 
ton. Green, Luse, Rice and other families, some of whom were English 
Quakers, some Scotch-Irish Presbyterians, some German, and others 
Dutch. 

Samuel Green, who chose to make this township his home, had 
been a deputy surveyor of West Jersey for many years, and as such 
located for himself and his family some valuable tracts in Hope, Ox- 
ford and Frelinghuysen. He was the first white man to tread the soil 
of this township, and later settle on it. On May 17, 1715, he was one 
of a party of three surveyors to go along the old Indian path leading 
from Allamucha to "the cleft in the hill where the Minnisink path 
goeth through," taking him past Pahuckquapath, which was the name 



Warren County. 131 

of the region about Johnsonburg, and on to Marksboro, where the 
Tohockonetcong Indians would not let them survey any land. 

Samuel Green was a voter in Hunterdon County in 1738, and died 
in Frelinghuysen in 1760. One of his sons was Samuel Green, Jr., who 
settled at Hope, and sold one thousand acres of land to the Moravians 
in 1768. 

Richard Lanning settled near the Yellow Frame Church before 
the Revolution. His sons were Richard, fldward and John. Edward 
bought three hundred acres of land, from which he cleared the original 
forest. He was born in 1764, and died in 1841. His children were: 
Richard, born 1793; Jeremiah, 1794; David, 1795; Isaac, 1797; Levi, 
1799; Peggy, 1801; Sarah (Dodder), 1803; Huldah (Teal), 1805;" 
Edward, 1806, and Hannah (Hart), 1810. 

Nathan Armstrong, a Scotch-Irishman, came from Londonderry 
about 1740, and settled in 1748 on the farm bought of Samuel Green 
and others, which is one mile northwest of Johnsonburg, and was held 
by three generations of the family till 1880. All of the Armstrong 
families of this region are descended from his twin sons, George and 
John, between whom the homestead was divided. George Armstrong 
(1749-1829) was town clerk, assessor, county collector, clerk of the 
board of freeholders, a member of the Legislature, and an elder in the 
Yellow Frame Presbyterian Church. One son, John, was father of 
William Armstrong, Sheriff of Warren County, and of Richard T. 
Armstrong, whose son, William Clinton Armstrong, A. M., was edu- 
cated at Princeton, is Superintendent of Schools at New Brunswick, and 
is the author of the Armstrong and Lundy genealogies. 

Johnsonburg first came into prominence in 1753, when it became 
the county seat of Sussex, under the name of "The Log Jail." The first 
courts were held in the log hotel of Jonathan Pettit, who, to accommo- 
date his increasing trade, built a row of log houses as annexes to his 
hotel. The log jail, which gave its name to the place for many years, 
was the first county building erected for Sussex County. 



132 Warren County. 

On March 21, 1754, an election was ordered to be held at the 
house of Samuel Green, on the i6th, 17th and i8fh of April, "to elect 
a place to build a jail and Court House." A jail was ordered built near 
Pettit's tavern, on lands of Samuel Green. Jonathan Pettit and Richard 
Lundy were to superintend its con'struction, but no Court House was 
ever built here, the courts being held in the tavern of Pettit or of 
Wolverton. The log jail cost thirty-seven pounds two shillings and ten 
pence, but soon had to be n^de stronger at an expense of forty-one 
pounds three shillings one penny. This building was used for nine 
years, and had a watchman night and day to watch prisoners, most of 
whom were in for debt. Many escaped and rendered the county liable 
for their debts to the amount of six hundred pounds. The log jail 
continued in use until 1763, when a new one was completed on the pres- 
ent site of the Sussex County Court House, on Hairlocker's plantation, 
that being on lands owned by Jonathan Hampton. It is said that only 
one execution ever took place at the log jail, that being the hanging of a 
negro wench. 

The first store was a log structure built by William Armstrong, 
who was succeeded by a Carr, and he by a Johnson, from whom the 
town received its present name. This store was. on the site of the one 
now kept by Elbridge Hardin. It was kept for many years by Robert 
Blair, brother of John I. Blair. He purchased the farm on which most 
of the village now stands, of William Armstrong. 

Johnsonburg is at present the seat of much activity, owing to work 
on the D., L. & W. R. R., whose new main line will have a depot here. 
There are four stores, one owned by George Van Horn, others by 
Elbridge Hardin and Frank Garrison; a hotel, whose landlord is Mr. 
Kice ; a grist mill, run by Edward Hardin, and build originally by Will- 
iam Armstrong before 1774; two wheelwright shops, and two black- 
smith shops. 

The Christian Church at Johnsonburg was organized on July 15, 
1826, as the result of the labors of Mrs. Abigail Roberts, a missionary, 



Warren County. 133 

who had been here for two years. It is the mother church of those in 
Hope, Vienna and of some in Sussex County. The building was begun 
in 1838 and finished ten years later. The parsonage was built in 1878. 
The present pastor is the Rev. Joseph McManniman. One of the 
evangelists of the Christian connection came here in 1838 and died of 
smallpox, after preaching one sermon. He was known as "the white 
pilgrim," who rode a white horse and dressed all in white, even to 
his shoes. 

The Methodist Episcopal Church of Johnsonburg resulted from 
meetings held at the house of Amos Mann and qf B. S. Kennedy. The 
Rev. George Banghart and others who rode on long circuits came here 
frequently and preached in the groves in summer and in barns or large 
houses in winter. This continued until the Episcopal Church was built, 
in which the Methodists were allowed to hold services. The present 
church was built in 1850, on a lot given by Isaac Dennis. The present 
pastor is the Rev. J. L. Brooks. An Episcopal church was here before 
the Revolution. 

Marksboro is named from Colonel Mark Thompson, who at one 
time owned the site and built a grist mill here before 1760. A fulling 
mill had previously been erected on the other side of the Kill. A son 
of Mark Thompson, named Jacob, later had charge of the mill, and 
in 1787 we find Mark in charge of a forge at Changewater, where he 
made pig iron into bar iron. 

William Shafer kept the first store here. He was a descendant of 
Caspar Shafer, who came to this region with his father-in-law, Bern- 
hardt, in 1742. 

An academy was built here, but not being a success, the building 
was used as a hotel as early as 18 10 by a Mr. Shepherd, who was fol- 
lowed by Crockett Hunt, Wildrick, and Ball. 

The Marksboro Presbyterian Church was organized November i, 
18 14, as the Second Congregational Church of Hardwick. . The ser- 
vices were held in the barn of Frederick Snover for one year, by which 



134 Warren County. 

time a brick church had been built. It was dedicated in 1 822, the pres- 
ent building replacing it in 1859, under the pastorate of Rev. William 
C. McGee. 

Shiloh is the name applied to a locality about two miles east of 
Hope, and in the extreme southwestern corner of Frelinghuysen. A 
saw mill and a grist mill formerly flourished here. 

Southtown is a locality a mile and a half southwest of Johnsonburg. 

Kerr's Corners is at a cross roads a mile or more southwest of 
Marksboro. The new line of the D., L. & W. railroad passes 
through it. 

The Ebenezer Methodist Episcopal Church, on the road from 
Hope to Marksboro, was built in 1859, on an acre given by Thomas 
West. Meetings had been held in the White Stone school house for six 
years previous to this. 

The town of Paulina dates from the building of the first grist 
mill there by William Armstrong, about 1768. There was a grist mill 
on the site for more than a century, or until the water power was utilized 
by Blair Hall for the generation of electricity and for a laundry. 

The Yellow Frame Presbyterian Church was until 1904 situated 
on the border line between Sussex and Warren counties. In such a way 
that the pastor was in one county and the congregation in the other. It 
was organized about 1763, and was known as the Upper Hardwick 
Presbyterian Church until 1782, when it became the Hardwick Pres- 
byterian Church. In 1859 Its name was changed to what it had always 
been called locally, and which name refers' to the. fact that it v,"as one 
of the earliest frame buildings in the county, and was painted yellow. 
The original log church was replaced by the frame structure in 1784-86, 
which was remodeled in 1841, and finally torn down In 1904 to be re- 
placed by the presentbeautiful structure, visible with its parsonage and 
cemetery for miles around. At present the church and parsonage are in 
Sussex County, and the cemetery in Warren. The first stated pastor of 
the church was Rev. Francis Peppard, who was Installed pastor of this 



Warren County. 135 

church and of the one at Hackettstown in 1 773, and served for ten years. 
Rev. B. I. Lowe was pastor for thirteen years after 1824. Rev. Will- 
iam C. McGee was installed pastor of this and the Marksboro Church 
in 1 841, and served until his death in 1867. He was the father of 
Dr. William H. McGee, of Belvidere, and of Flavel McGee. Levi 
Lanning, in 1871, gave a parsonage and land to the church. 

The Dark Moon Tavern was many years a place of ill repute, 
situated one and one-half miles east of Johnsonburg. It gave its name 
to the neighborhood. A cemetery is near the spot, and known by the 
same name, and also as the Dyer Burying Ground, which contains a 
great many dead of a nearly forgotten generation. Here was once a 
log meeting house before Yellow Frame was built. 

The earliest physician in what is now Warren county was Samuel 
Kennedy, who was born about 1740, spent all his professional life at 
Johnsonsburg, whither he came before the revolution and died in 1804. 
Dr. William P. Vail came to this vicinity in 1828 and followed his pro- 
fession at Johnsonsburg, Paulina and Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania. He 
married Miss Sarah Locke, a sister of Mrs. John L Blair, and was the 
father of Dr. William Vail and John Vail. 



CHAPTER XVII 



Frai»klin. 



Franklin Township was named in honor of Benjamin Franklin, 
when it was erected as a township in 1 839 from a part of Greenwich. 

New Village is situated on the Morris Canal, and the D. L, & W. rail- 
road and the new trolley line from Phillipsburg passes through it. ' 'The 
first settlers were John Andrews and John Wooster," the one a hatter, 
the other a blacksmith. James Bell, a weaver, Abner Parks, and John 
MacElroy, came soon after. Landlord McEntire kept the first tavern. 
Melick and Hulshizer operated a foundry here sixty years ago. New 
Village grew but slowly until a dozen years ago, when it was found that 
a valuable deposit of cement rock underlay the valley, which induced 
Thomas A. Edison to locate his cement mill here. 

John Cline came to New Village in 1824 from Greenwich, and 
bought altogether five hundred acres of land. His father and grand- 
father were each named Lewis, and lived two miles west of Stewartsville, 
where some member of the family has resided ever since the first arrival 
in 1740. John Cline served one term in- the legislature, and was the 
father of Holloway H., John W., and Garner A. Cline. Jacob and 
Philip Weller, two brothers, came with their father from Germany 
about 1740 and, investing in land, owned finally 2,000 acres in the 
vicinity of New Village. Jacob was a soldier in the Revolutionary 
army, and was the father of thirteen children of whom, three — Jacob, 
Samuel and John — lived in Franklin. None of them have left 
descendants bearing the name in this township. 

Asbury is a village owing its origin to the water power of the 
Musconetcong, on which a grist mill was built long before the Revo- 
lution. The place was then called Hall's Mills. South Asbury is a 



Warren County. 137 

name sometimes applied to that part of the village south of the Mus- 
conetcong, now having a population of about two hundred. 

On the Hon. Martin Wyckoff's land in Asbury, on the road to 
Washington, is an elevation called "Church Hill," where in the for- 
gotten long-ago was a log church and, around it, a cemetery which 
would have given us the key to much of the ancient history of this 
vicinity had not irreverent hands more than fifty years ago hauled the 
gravestones away by the wagon load and thrown them into the Mus- 
conetcong. It was owned by the Richeys at that time. We have abso- 
lutely no written records of this church, but it was probably one of the 
churches at which services were held by riders of a circuit, with no estab- 
lished pastor. Might this not have been the church "in Mr. Barber's 
neighborhood, near Musconnekunk," which the members of both the 
Mansfield Presbyterian and the Greenwich Presbyterian churches feel 
equally positive is their church ? Since both claim it, it possibly belongs 
to neither. 

The First Presbyterian Church of Asbury was organized in i860, 
when twenty-eight members of the Musconetcong Valley church desired 
to have a separate organization. The latter church in turn came from 
the old Mansfield church in 1837. The Rev. E. B. England has been 
the efficient pastor for a number of years. 

There are two stores in Asbury — one owned by Edgar H. Smith, 
and the other by James Riddle, the son of Elijah G. Riddle. The only 
manufacturing industry in the place is the Asbury Graphite Mills, oper- 
ated, in what were two grist mills, by H. M. Riddle, the son of James 
Riddle and son-in-law of the Hon. Martin Wyckoff, both of very old 
New Jersey families. A woolen mill was operated here successfully 
until it burned down about 1880. 

The first physician to settle at Asbury was Dr. James Holrhes, who 
came about 1790 after serving as a surgeon in the Continental army. 
Dr. John Ball practiced here for forty years beginning in 1794. He 
was succeeded by Drs. Southard, Darling, McCullough and Brown. 



138 Warren County. 

Dr. S. A. Welch was located here from 1869 till his death in 1890, and 
Dr. Gale from 1834 until after 1890, so that Dr. Holmes arid Dr. Gale 
together more than rounded out a century of practice at this place. 
Dr. E. H. Moore has been at Asbury for several years. 

Christeon Cummins arrived at Philadelphia in 1741, and in 1755 
bought 150 acres of land east of Asbury. This is the original seat of 
this branch of the Cummins family in Warren county, and the property 
remained in possession of some member of the family for a century and 
a quarter, or until Wesley Cummins sold it about 1880. Christeon's 
brother Jacob settled at about the same time at Delaware, New Jersey, 
but none of his family in the county have kept the name, although many 
of his descendants by female branches are in Warren County. Christeon 
Cummins lived on his farm at Asbury until his death at the age of 65, 
in 178 1, by which time he was possessed of 625 acres of land. Four of 
his children — Christeon, Philip, John F. and Mrs. George Beatty — 
settled at Cumminstown, now Vienna. Daniel and Michael went west. 
Another daughter, Annie, wife of Joseph Groff, is ancestor of many of 
that name in Warren County, and owned the Cummins homestead here 
for many years. 

For more than half a century the most prominent name in this 
locality was McCullough. William McCuUough came to Hall's Mills, 
now Asbury, in 1784, at the age of twenty-five. In July, 1776, when 
seventeen years of age, he enlisted in the Revolutionary army in Cap- 
tain Mellick's company, of which his father, Benjamin McCullough, 
was a lieutenant, in Colonel Mark Thompson's First Regiment Sussex 
militia, and served from 1777 till 178 1 as brigade quartermaster. On 
June 5, 1793, he became lieutenant-colonel. Lower Regiment, Sussex 
militia, and was ever after known as Colonel McCullough. William 
McCullough was a member of the Assembly, of Council of New Jersey, 
and a county judge from 1803 until 1838. "He built a noble mansion 
at Asbury, on a bluff overlooking the Musconetcong, and dispensed a 
gracious hospitality there for many years." 



Warren County. 139 

In 1786 the McCulloughs became Methodists, and Bishop Asbury, 
Rev. George Banghart and others, used to come and preach at their 
house on their circuits. In 1800 the old Methodist church was com- 
pleted, and the church and town was christened Asbury, in honor of 
Bishop Asbury, who laid the corner stone on August 9, 1796. Bishop 
Asbury says in his journal : 

"Tuesday Aug. 9, 1796, we made our way 25 miles to Brother 
McCullough's near Schooley's Mountain probably a remnant of the 
Blue Ridge. After a good meeting at Brother MC's we went to lay 
the foundation of the new Meeting House. We sang a part of Dr. 
Watt's hymn on the 'corner-stone' and prayed. I then had to lend a 
hand to lay the mighty corner-stone of the house." 

Of another visit he records : 

"Thursday May 9, 181 1, we came to Asbury and I preached and 
added a special exhortation. Were it not for the brewing and drinking 
of miserable whiskey Asburytown would be a pleasant place." 

The present church building in 1842 replaced the original /struc- 
ture. Rev. Lewis Gordon is the present pastor. 

The McCulloughs owned a good deal of property between here 
and Washington, and In 1 8 1 1 William McCullough built the Washing- 
ton House, a brick hotel, and moved to that place, then called Mans- 
field. 

Members of the Richey family were formerly residents in the 
vicinity of Asbury. John and Daniel were the first comers. John's 
sons, William, John and George, passed their lives in this vicinity. 

Abraham Shipman came from Harmony township in 1807, after 
the death of his father Harmon, and bought 380. acres of land near 
Asbury. His son William settled on a part of this farm, and was 
father of Abraham, WiUiam W., Charles, and James H. 

Peter Woollever, one of the earliest settlers in Franklin, is regis- 
tered as a voter in Amwell, Hunterdon County, in 1 738. Shortly after 



I40 Warren County. 

that he settled here, and in 1755 he transferred some property to 
Christeon Cummins. Peter Is the ancestor of all of the name Willever 
in this part of the county. 

The site of Broadway was originally owned by a family named 
Probasco, and later by William McCullough. A log school house was 
located as early as 1820 near the present depot. The first store was 
owned by William Warne, who also managed a plaster mill, a grist 
mill, and a woolen factory, to which people brought their wool for miles 
to have it carded, etc. 

With the advent of the trolley from Phillipsburg, Broadway has 
taken on a new lease of life. An appeal to the railroad commission 
recently forced the D. L. & W. railroad to re-establish its station at this 
point for the accommodation of the public. The Morris canal passes 
through Broadway, and was formerly a great benefit to the place. 

The first physician at Broadway was Mrs. Margaret Warne, 
known as iVunt Peggy, who was a sister of General Garret Vliet, of the 
Revolutionary army. She rode on horseback for miles to attend ob- 
stetric cases, and was a very able woman in her day. The Peggy Warne 
Chapter, D. A. R., was named In her honor. Years later Dr. Weller 
practiced here, from 1840 to 1843. He was followed by Dr. Glenn, 
and he by Dr. Creveling, who settled here In 1858, married Elizabeth 
Lomerson, daughter of James Lomerson, and practiced here until 188 1, 
when he removed to Oxford, and later to Washington and Phillips- 
burg. He returned to the site of his first practice here in 19 10, where 
he continues practice with his son-in-law. Dr. S. D. Crispin, who prac- 
ticed here from 1881 until 1897, and after several years' practice at 
Bloomsbury and Phillipsburg returned to Broadway in 19 10. 

The Methodist Episcopal Church at Broadway was built in 1842, 
and for twenty years was connected with the Harmony charge. Rev. 
C. D. Whitman is at present the supply. 

Benjamin Warne, a grandson of Thomas Warne, who was one of 
the twenty-four proprietors of New Jersey, came about 1753 from 



Warren County. 141 

Monmouth County with his cousins, Cornelius, Jacob and Richard Car- 
hart, and settled near Broadway, on the place known ever since as the 
Warne Farm. Cornelius Carhart settled on land now partially the site 
of Washington, New Jersey, some of which is still owned by his 
descendants, while Richard and Jacob Carhart came no farther than 
Hunterdon County. Benjamin Warne built a log house and later a 
substantial stone one. He also built a grist mill, and his widow, a sec- 
ond one. He died in 1 8 10, having had seven children : Thomas, born 
in 1796; Stephen, 1798; William, 1800; Elizabeth (Warner), 1802; 
Richard, 1804; Nicodemus, 1806, and John, 1809. Richard Warne 
operated the mill and also a tannery until his death in 1834. Stephen 
married his brother's widow, and conducted the mill and tannery. He 
was the father of Nicodemus Warne, who was born in 1841 and came 
into possession of the property of his father. He has one daughter, 
Mrs. Keziah Brill, of Stewartsville. 

William McKinney was born in Ireland in 1723, and, when a 
young man, bought about 500 acres of land west of Broadway and 
lived on it until his death in 1777. One of his sons, John, born in 
1757, succeeded to the homestead and in 1805 built substantial stone 
farm buildings thereon. He had a distillery, which was operated after 
his death in 1838 by his son, William. William McKinney built a 
second stone house on the farm in 1835, and a frame dwelling in 1865. 
His sons were John, George W., Henry and James. The old stone 
dwelling is now occupied by William McKinney. 

The Lomerson family so long identified with the history of War- 
ren County is descended from one Lambertson, who settled at an early 
date on Scott's Mountain. Lawrence Lomerson, one of his grand- 
children, who was bom in 1770, bought in 1799 the farm near Broad- 
way where his son James and grandson William lived before the recent 
removal of the latter to Phillipsburg. Lawrence Lomerson was father 
of Jane (Weller), William, Robert, Elizabeth (Weller), Margaret, 
who married Cornelius Carhart; Julia Ann (Carhart and Weller), 



142 Warren County. 

James, Rebecca (Weller), Mary (Wandling), Caroline, Sarah (Will- 
iam McCuUough) , and Lawrence, Of these the only one to leave 
children bearing the name was James Lomerson, who lived at Broad- 
way until his death in 1890. 

James Lomerson was a man very prominent in the community in 
which he lived. He was for many years president of the board of' 
trustees of the Presbyterian Church at Washington, and was one of the 
founders of the Washington Cemetery Association and president of its 
board. His only son, William Lomerson, lived at Phillipsburg until 
his death in August, 19 10, as does his son, James, who is cashier of the 
Phillipsburg National Bank. Thomas Lommasson, another grandson 
of the original Lambertson, is the ancestor of those of that name near 
Belvidere. 

The Cole family of Franklin, Washington and Oxford comes 
from the family of Christian Cole, who came from Germany and set- 
tled on Scott's Mountain, in the extreme northeast corner of Franklin. 
He had one daughter and three sons. One of the sons, Christian, lived 
on the homestead all his life and had six sons: John, Stauffle (Chris- 
topher) , William, Samuel, James and Jacob. Of all these sons, Samuel 
alone remained in Franklin, and he lived at the old homestead. 



CHAPTER XVIII. 



Greenwich. 



Greenwich is one of the oldest townships of the county, and at 
its earliest and greatest extent included all of the western and central 
part of the county from the Kittatinny Mountains to the Musconetcong. 
It was formed before 1738. At that date Samuel Green, Henry 
Stewart and John Anderson, of Greenwich, voted in Hunterdon County 
(which then included Warren) for representatives to the General As- 
sembly. In 1754, by the formation of Oxford and Mansfield Wood- 
house, Greenwich was cut down to the limits of Pohatcong, Lopatcong, 
Phillipsburg, Franklin, and a part of Harmony. Of these, Franklin 
was set off in 1839, and Phillipsburg, including Lopatcong, in 1851. 
Harmony was formed the same year from parts of Greenwich and 
Oxford. Finally, in 1 8 8 1 , Greenwich was cut down to its present size 
by the formation of Pohatcong. Greenwich seems to have been named 
in honor of a Mr. Green, a settler here before 1738, for the locality is 
referred to in early records as Mr. Green's, or Green's Ridge, Green- 
ridge, Greenage, Greenidge, and finally Greenwich. 

The fattest person ever known was born in Greenwich Township, 
in 1 8 16, the daughter of Anthony and Catherine Learch. When nine- 
teen she married William Schooley, also of Greenwich, and they moved 
to Ohio. She weighed 764 pounds, and had a waist measure of nine 
feet six inches, and an arm that was three feet two inches in circum- 
ference. 

Two very old burial grounds in this township are that of the 
Lutheran or Straw Church and that of the old Greenwich Presbyterian 
Church, which is one mile down the Pohatcong from the present church 



144 Warren County. 

and burying ground. In both of these cemeteries interments were made 
one hundred and fifty years ago. 

The three schools in the township are at Kennedyville, Still Valley 
and Stewartsville, and employ five teachers. At Bloomsbury the school 
is in Hunterdon County. ♦ 

Kennedyville is chiefly noted for being the site of one of the three 
oldest Presbyterian churches in the county, the others being Oxford and 
Mansfield-Wood-House. The first Presbyterian Church of Greenwich 
built its first meeting house between 1739 and 1744 — between the time 
when a call was first made to the Presbytery of New Brunswick for a 
supply and the time when David Brainerd records in his journal that he 
"preached in Greenwich twice on Sabbath, December 9, 1744." The 
first church was a log structure, and stood on the south bank of the 
Pohatcong, near where the Central railroad crosses the stream a mile 
from the present structure. It stood upon land formerly owned by 
John Riley, and more recently by Henry R. Kennedy. 

Among the supplies of the three earliest churches are Rev. Robert 
Cross, Rev. John Cross, Rev. James Campbell, Rev. Daniel Lawrence, 
Rev. Azariah Horton, and later Mr. Boyd, Mr. John Clark and James 
McCrea. "The Rev. John Roseborough was, previous to 1770, pastor 
of Greenwich, Oxford and Mansfield Woodhouse." He served till 
1769. The churches were vacant until 1775, when Rev. Joseph Treat 
preached every other Sabbath in Greenwich Church. He remained until 
his death in 1797 or 1798. Rev. Francis Peppard and Rev. John 
Hanna also occasionally preached in the three churches. 

The second church, a substantial one built of stone, was erected 
in 1775 on the present site, near where the New Brunswick turnpike 
crosses the Pohatcong. The present church was built in 1835 from 
material in the second church, under the pastorate of Rev. D. X. Jun- 
kin, to whose centennial discourse we are indebted for much of the 
history of the church. He served the church from 1835 to 185 1. 

William Kennedy, who was born in Londenderry, Ireland, of 



Warren County. 145 

Scotch ancestors, in 1695, and emigrated to America in 1730, was the 
founder of the Kennedy family in the United States. He married 
Mary Henderson, in Ireland, and lived in Bucks County, Pennsylvania. 
Their son, Robert, married Elizabeth Henrie, and settled in Green- 
wich Township. During the Revolution he was active in furnishing 
supplies to the army of Washington at Morristown, and for that pur- 
pose gained control of most of the mills in our county and Hunterdon. 
He was born in 1733 and died in 18 13. His son, Robert, and grand- 
son, Henry Robert, followed in his footsteps and amassed comfortable 
fortunes. The latter was president of the Bloomsbury National Bank, 
and thrice a member of the Legislature. His wife was a daughter of 
General John Frelinghuysen, and their sons are John F., Robert H. 
and Theodore F. Robert H. Kennedy is the father of Charles 
E. W. and Frederick F. Kennedy. 

Besides Robert, there came to GreeiAvich Township In 1771, 
Thomas and William Kennedy, and their father, from Tinnicum, Bucks 
County, Pennsylvania. Thomas had six children, of whom one was 
the Hon. Robert S. Kennedy, who was born in 1 802 and became very 
prominent in the county and State. He was a lay judge of Warren 
County and judge of the Court of Errors and Appeals. He died in 
1879. His children are Thomas, Mary, Mrs. James McWIlliams, 
Mrs. Charles T. Kellogg, John S., Henry M., Mrs. S. D. Carpenter, 
James M. and Robert S. 

Bloomsbury is situated mainly south of the Musconetcong, and 
is named for the Bloom family, who were formerly influential here. It 
was early known as Johnson's Iron Works, which were carried on as 
early as 1750 by Robert Johnson, on the north side of the Musconet- 
cong. The name appears as Bloomsburg on a map in 1769, and even 
at that early date the main road from Phillipsburg to the southeast 
passed through the place. Captain Benjamin McCullough owned the 
mill and several farms in this vicinity, most of which he obtained by 
marrying the widow of their former owner, William Henry, in 1758. 



146 Warren County. 

He was a member of the committee of safety and of the New Jersey As- 
sembly, and was father of Colonel William McCullough, of Asbury 
and Washington. Mrs. Benjamin McCullough was "the first lady 
who kept her carriage" in this part of New Jersey. 

Stewartsville is the largett town in Greenwich. It is pleasantly 
situated on Merritt's Brook, is a station on the Morris and Essex divi- 
sion of the D., L. & W. railroad, and has the Morris Canal and the 
Phillipsburg to Washington trolley line passing thrqugh it. That por- 
tion of the town north of the railroad was formerly called Cooksville. 
.Here Dr. Silas Condict Cook practiced medicine from 18 14 till 1842, 
and then went to Easton. He was the father of Dr. Lewis C. Cook 
and Dr. John S. Cook, of Hackettstown. Here also one of the name 
ran a grist mill in 1850. Dr. James C. Kennedy practiced in Stewarts- 
ville from 1829 to 1851, Dr. P. F. Hulshizer from 185 1 to 1894, Dr. 
S. S. Kennedy from i859*to 1888, and for a short time Drs. McCosh, 
Knecht, Beatty, Bartholomew and Warrington. Dr. Frank W. Curtis 
is the present efficient physician, who has been here since 1895. 

Stewartsville is named after two brothers, Thomas and Robert 
Stewart, who came from Tinnicum, Bucks County, Pennsylvania, to 
Greenwich, in 1793, and who have left many descendants in Warren 
County. Thomas was judge of the Court of Common Pleas of the 
county (then Sussex). His children were Robert, Samuel, William, 
Thomas, Mrs. Joseph Carpenter, Jesse, John and James. Jesse Stewart 
married Mary Roseberry, and was the father of Thomas, Michael, 
Jesse D., Mrs. Richard Wilson, of Belvidere; Mrs. Peter Pursel, of 
Ohio; Mrs. William Carter, Mrs. Andrew Lommason, of Belvidere; 
John, and Mrs. George Lance, of this township. 

The First Lutheran Church of Stewartsville is a daughter of St. 
James Lutheran, known better as "the Straw Church." The corner- 
stone was laid in 1851 for the splendid brick structure. Its pastors 
have been Revs. Pitt, Henkel, Barclay, Sheeleigh, Sikes, Sizer, Kelly 
and others. 



Warren County. 147 

Martin Hulshizer, the ancestor of those of that name in Warren 
County, came from Germany to Phillipsburg shortly after 1750. His 
four sons were Christopher, Jacob, Valentine and John M. The 
latter was born in 1747, and owned several hundred acres of land in 
this township, living himself at Bloomsbury. He died about 181 1, 
leaving three daughters and seven sons — Godfrey, Martin, William, 
John, Daniel, Andrew' and James. Of these, Daniel Hulshizer moved 
to Stewartsville and became possessed of much property. His children 
were Andrew, George, Abram C, Dr. Philip F., Theodore, Henry F., 
Mrs. Abram Baker, of Martin's Creek, and Mrs. Nicodemus Warne, 
of Broadway. 

Jacob Creveling was the first of thename in this county. He lived 
on a farm near Bloomsbury before 1800. One of his children was 
George Creveling, who moved to Washington in 18 12. 

Lewis Cline came from Germany and in 1 740 bought two hundred 
acres of land west of Stewartsville. One of his sons was also named 
Lewis, and another Michael. Lewis was born in 1766, and was the 
father of Jacob, of Lopatcong; John, of Franklin; Lewis, William and 
Michael. The latter resided on a part of the ancestral acres all his 
long life. 



CHAPTER XIX. 



Hack^ttstown. 

Hackettstown is one of the few towns in the«United States that has 
no duplicate in name. Before its incorporation in 1853 it formed a part 
of Independence. It is delightfully situated in the Musconetcong val- 
ley, and is nearly surrounded by Schooley's Mountain on the one side, 
and on the other a range of which Buck's Hill forms a part. It is 
skirted on its northwestern border by the Morris canal, and on its south- 
eastern border by the Musconetcong, whose excellent water power 
determined the location of a town at this point. The main line of the 
D. L. & W. railroad passes through the valley, and trolley connection 
both east and west is expected in the near future. 

Hackettstown is named from Samuel Hackett, the earliest and 
largest landowner of this region, who is said to have contributed liber- 
ally to the liquid refreshments on the christening of a new hotel, in 
order to secure the name which, before this, had been Helms' Mills, or 
Musconetcong. The name is Halketstown on a map of 1769. On the 
same map is the name Helms, placed two miles further up the Musco- 
netcong. This is the name of a family that came from County Tyrone, 
Ireland, whose head was Thomas Helms, father of General Helms, of 
the Revolutionary army, and grandfather of Major Thomas Helms, 
of the War of 1812. The Helms' mill on the Musconetcong was on 
the site Youngblood's mill, and was the first mill in this vicinity, being 
built before 1764. 

Other early settlers were named Hazen, London and Ayers. Oba- 
diah Ayers was one of three brothers who came to this country from 
Aberdeen, Scotland, and whose descendants are numerous in New 
Jersey and Pennsylvania. Obadiah Ayers gave the land for the old 



Warren County. 149 

Presbyterian Church and burying ground in 1764, and years later the 
first Methodist sermon delivered in this vicinity was preached in his 
house. The Ayers family operated mills at this place or at White Hall, 
a mile away, for more than a century. Peter Caskey operated a fulling 
mill here in 1778. 

Other families in or near Hackettstown before the Revolution 
were named Thompson, Fleming, Little, Osmun, Sharpe, Groff, 
Cummins, Swayze, Todd, Day, Davis, Bell, Groff and MacLean, 
nearly all of whom have representatives living in Warren county today. 
Silas Leonard was an innkeeper in Hackettstown in 1791, when a 
sheriff's sale of all that was left of Samuel R. Hackett's real estate, 
amounting to 686 acres, was held at his house. 

Hackettstown is the station for the famous Schooley's Mountain 
Springs, which was for half a century the most fashionalile watering 
place in America. Here the wealth and fashion of New York and 
Philadelphia were attracted every summer by the healthful mountain 
air, the mineral waters, and the comparative ease of access. The 
mountain is named in honor of Thomas Schooley, one of four brothers 
who came to New Jersey from Yorkshire, England. He is the ancestor 
of all of the name that early came to Warren county or vicinity. 

Hackettstown is fortunate in owning its water supply. In 1853 
the Hackettstown Aqueduct Company was incorporated, and for nearly 
twenty years supplied the citizens with water. In 1870 the company 
conveyed all its property to the town for $21,000, and a new reservoir 
on Schooley's Mountain was added to the one on Malvern Hill. Since 
then a third reservoir has been constructed, giving an abundant supply 
of water. The income from the water supply will have wiped out all 
of the town's indebtedness by 19 12, and thereafter the net income from 
the water supply will be sufficient to meet all the expenses of municipal 
government. 

The Cataract Hose Company is a volunteer fire department that 



150 , Warren County. 

was organized in 1877. It has done excellent work in the several 

important fires that have visited the place. 

For more than 140 years there has been a hotel on the site of the 

Warren House. The first one was doubtless built of logs. A frame 

structure succeeded this and w%s rebuilt in 1840, since which time 

it has been known by Its present name. The American House was kept 

by Jacob Sharpe as early as 1823. The present proprietors are 

McCracken & Guerin, whose catering attracts many automobile parties. 

« 
The Hotel Clarendon was built about thirty-five years ago. Its present 

proprietor is A. B. Mathias. 

Beginning in 1 8 1 5 with Jacob Day's factory, the carriage Industry 
was for many years one of the most important in the county. Now 
relatively few carriages are made here by Ed. Hayward & Son. 

A blast furnace was erected in the seventies, but was never 
operated successfully, and was finally bought by Joseph Wharton. It 
has not been in blast for thirty years. A car wheel works was another 
unsuccessful venture of the Hackettstown Land Improvement Company. 

The present manufacturing enterprises are the Lackawanna 
Leather Company, the American Saw Mill Machinery Company, the 
Torrid Steam Heating Works, the W. H. Ashley Silk Company, the 
Ellor & Company hat factory, and the Brown underwear factory. 
These are all prosperous, and give employment to hundreds of hands. 

The Hackettstown National Bank was organized in 1855 with 
a capital of $100,000, which was increased to $150,000 In 1865. Its 
president is Seymour R. Smith, and its cashier Is Henry W. Whipple. 
The People's National Bank was organized six years ago with R. A. 
Cole as president, and M. T. Welsh as cashier, both of whom were 
connected with the Hackettstown National Bank for many years. 

The earliest physician known to have located at Hackettstown 
was Dr. Stockton, who arrived before 1790. Drs. Fowler and Hoag- 
land soon followed, and later came Drs. Hampton, Beach, Stewart 
and Rea. Dr. Silas Cook practiced here from 1828 until 1841 and 



Warren ■ County. 



151 



from 1857 until 1873, ^"'^ t^" o^ ^i^ sons, Lewis and John S., also 
were in active practice here- for more than a third of a century. Other 
physicians who have been identified with this place are Drs. Blackwell, 
Crane, Dalrymple, Van Syckle, Martin, Osmun, Woodruff, Miller, 
Cline and Miss Allen. The last six are still in active practice. 

The early schools of Hackettstown were private, and the price 
per pupil of five dollars a quarter was such as to exclude the poorer 
children from their advantages. The present commodious brick school 
building was erected in 1874, at a cost of $39,000. The Centenary 
Collegiate Institute, or, as it is familiarly known, the Seminary, was 
erected by the Newark M. E. Conference, at a cost of $200,000, in 
the years between 1869 and 1874. Rev. George H. Whitney, D. D., 




Centenary Collegiate Institute, 1874-1899. 

was elected its president, and served from 1869 until 1895. A disastrous 
fire October 31, 1899, destroyed the entire property, but inside of two 
years the conference was able, in 1901, to rebuilt it at a cost of 
$300,000. Until 19 10 it was a college preparatory school for both 
sexes, but now it is a school for girls only. Rev. Jonathan M. Meeker, 
Ph. D., D. D., is its efficient president. A farm has been added to the 
property, through -Which runs a stream that adds much to its beauty 
and Usefulness. 




> 

■4-1 

s 

"a 

'S 
a 

Ah 

3 






Warren County. 



15.1 



The First Presbyterian Church of Independence was built at 
Hackettstown In 1764, but for several years before that date services 
had been held in a log meeting house. The early preaching was by 
supplies from the New Brunswick Presbytery. In 1786 a call was 
made to Rev. Peter Wilson, who also preached In the church at Mans- 
field Woodhouse, now Washington. Obadlah Ayers In 1764 presented 
the ground on which the church was built, and again in 1792, for a 
nominal consideration, gave the burying ground, the stone wall 
surrounding which was built In 1812. The frame church was torn 
down in 1819 and a new building was erected the same year. Dr. 
Campbell acted as pastor for this congregation from 1809 until 1838. 
He delivered forceful sermons, which were afterwards published. He 
was succeeded by Revs. Dr. Schenck, John H. Townley, Dr. Wilson, 
F. R. Harbaugh, G. C. Bush, Thomas McCauley, Alexander Proudfit, 
John Lowrey, J. C. Chapman and the present pastor. Rev. Dr. Martyn. 

The present Presbyterian Church edifice was begun in i860 and 




Entrance to Union Cemetery, Hackettstown, N. J. 



154 Warren County. 

dedicated in 1861. The fiftieth anniversary of its dedication was 
celebrated in May, 191 1. In 1906-7 the building was remodelled, 
redecorated and refurnished, and a new heating plant and a new organ 
installed at a total cost of '$19,000. 

The Trinity Methodist Episcopal Church of Hackettstown was 
organized in 1832. A church was erected in 1833, in which "circuit 
riders" preached until 1849, when Hackettstown was made a separate 
charge. A new edifice was erected in 1858, which was replaced with 
the present handsome structure, one of the finest in the county. 

St. James Episcopal Church erected its present edifice in 1859, 
The church prospered when Schooley's Mountain was the noted summer 
resort of fifty years ago. In 1887 It was sold to Sheriff Van Campen, 
and for ten years was an amusement hall. In 1897 Rev. W. M. 
Mitcham came here, and in three years bought back the church 
property. The church has now eighty-six enrolled communicants. 

St. Mary's Church was erected in 1864, by Rev. Edward 
McCosker. Rev. William H. Orem served the parish from 1872 to 
1889, since which time it has been a mission of St. Joseph's, at 
Washington. 

The first burying ground was the old Presbyterian Churchyard, 
In which interments were made in 1770. The plot of ground presented 
by Obadiah Ayers in 1792 was used as a union cemetery until i860, 
when the new Union Cemetery was bought across the Musconetcong. 
It has a fine entrance and Is well kept. There is also a fund for the 
perpetual care of the old burying ground in the hands of the treasurer 
of the Presbyterian Church. 

"Sully Grove is a beautiful sylvan retreat along the Musconetcong 
river, just out of the borough limits, and is owned by the town and 
maintained as a recreation park open to all. This pleasure park was 
named In honor of Mr. Alfred Sully, whose summer home is on the 
crest of the mountain overlooking the town. It was his generosity 
that made public ownership possible." 



CHAPTER XX. 



Hardwick. 



Hardwick is one of the two oldest township names in the county. 
At its greatest extent it included all Frelinghuysen Allamuchy, Hacketts- 
town, Independence, Stillwater and Green. In 1782 Independence was 
formed from it, including Allamuchy, Hackettstown and Green. On 
the separation of Sussex and Warren In 1824, Stillwater remained in 
Sussex, and finally Frelinghuysen, in 1848, took away all south of 
Paulins Kill and left Hardwick with its present boundaries. 

Among the first to settle in this vicinlay were John Peter Bern- 
hardt and his son-in-law, Caspar Shafer, who in 1742 came up the 
Delaware and Paulins Kill from Philadelphia and settled in that part 
of the old Hardwick that is now Stillwater. On Bernhardt's tombstone 
is inscribed "Geboren zu Kerzenheim, Grafschaft Bolanden, mit Frau 
and Kindern Komen en Amerika 1731, und starb Aug. 28, 1748." 

At the time of the French and Indian war, Shafer built a stockade 
around his home, into which all the people of the neighborhood would 
come in time of danger. Once "he found himself hotly pursued by an 
Indian and likely to be overtaken ; whereupon he turned upon his pur- 
suer, and, being an athletic man, he seized, threw, and with his garters 
bound him hand and foot, leaving him prostrate, while he went on his 
way and procured assistance." He was born in 17 12 and died in 1784. 
He arrived in Philadelphia in 1738. He very soon built a rude grist 
mill, a saw mill and an oil mill, and in 1776 built a larger grist mill, 
which could serve the large population that was here by that time, 
Some of the product of his mill he shipped as far as Philadelphia by 
flat-bottomed boats. Caspar Shafer was collector of funds, authorized 
by the County Committee of Safety in the Revolution, and a member 



156 Warren County. 

of the Legislature. Peter B. Shafer, a member of his family, built the 
first grist mill strictly within this township, at Paulina, in 1783, later 
used as a saw mill and axe-helve factory. Another son-in-law of Bern- 
hardt was John George Wintermute, who is the ancestor of those of 
that name in Warren County. He built a fulling mill on the Paulins 
Kill about 1770 — the first to be built in Sussex or Warren County — 
about on the line between the two counties. He was born May 11, 
171 1, in Punestadt, Germany; came to America in 1736, married Mary 
Elizabeth Bernhardt, and settled on the Paulins Kill. His children 
were John, father of Catherine, Bernhard and Jacob ; Peter, father of 
John George, Peter, Joseph, William, Charles and Thomas, and John 
George, father of Johannes and Peter. 

An Indian trail known as the "Minisinks' Path" ran across this 
township from the gap in the mountains above Sand Pond to Marks- 
boro, and on past Allamuchy and Budd's Lake to Elizabeth. It was 
wide enough for men to travel in on horseback when first visited by 
white men in 1715. It was along this path over the mountains that 
the early settlers in Hardwick had to take their grain to mill on horse- 
back to the earlier settlement in Pahaquarry. 

The settlers of the Paulins Kill Valley in this township were nearly 
all Germans, as evidenced by the family names of Shafer, Wintermute, 
Vass, Snover, Konkle, Kishpaugh, Shuster, Lambert, Wildrick, Vought, 
Hetzel, Crissman. The first settlers came about 1740, among them 
Frederick and Jacob Snover. "John Teel and John Mingle both 
located here about 1755." "Jacob Armstrong was at one time owner 
of the larger part of what is now Hardwick Township." 

Lists of officers of the original Hardwick Township from 1744 
are given by Snell, but they give but little information as to who lived 
in the present township, as it included about one-third of Warren 
Couiity originally. 

Hardwick has two schools, one at Hardwick Centre, and one at 
Franklin Grove. With the exception of a church, now abandoned, 



Warren County. 157 

which once was used by the Christians, there are no churches within the 
township as at present defined, but the inhabitants have been connected 
with the old Stillwater church for 140 years, and with the churches at 
Marksboro, Blairstown and Paulina. In 1771 a church was built at Still- 
water, then in Hardwick, for the use of the German Lutheran and Ger- 
man Calvinist congregations, who worshipped on alternate Sundays. 
The congregations had no regularly appointed preachers until 18 16, 
when application was made by the Dutch Reformed element for admis- 
sion to the Classis of New Brunswick. From that time until 1823 sup- 
plies preached regularly. On June 13, 1823, the congregation was 
organized as the Stillwater Presbyterian Church, and services were 
held in the old stone church until 1837. The present church was built 
in 1838, and the Rev. T. B. Condit served it faithfully for forty-two 
years. 

There are several small lakes in this township, the largest of which 
is White Pond, near Marksboro, the bottom and shores of which con- 
sist of the shells of a mollusk that make a marl that has been used as a 
fertilizer both as it is and burned into lime. An effort has been made 
to construct a cement mill to use the marl and clay for making Portland 
cement. At present the only use of the pond is to furnish ice, and plans 
. are under way to build ice houses with a capacity of 40,000 tons. 
Other ponds in the township are called Shuster Pond, Mud Pond and 
Sand Pond. 

The industries of this region have always centered along the 
Paulins Kill, which in this township offers 550 available horsepower, 
about half of which has been utilized. There are several fine mill sites 
also along Blair Creek. Industries that once flourished in this town- 
ship were a tannery owned by James Hill ; a cotton mill built by Mark 
Thomson, and in operation till 1835 ; a sash and blind factory operated 
by Heltermeyer and Snyder, at Paulina; a forge built in 1790 by Judge 
Armstrong, for making bar iron from pig. iron, and operated for a few 
years ; a tannery near Sand Pond, run by V. Hill. 



158 



Warren County. 



Aaron Hanklnson moved to Hardwick from Amwell, Hunterdon 
County, in 1765. In the Revolution he was captain of Upper Hard- 
wick company under Colonel Ephraim Martin; second major, Second 
Regiment Sussex Militia, and later colonel of the same.. In 1793 he 
became brigadier-general of the Sussex Brigade. The Hanklnson farm 
is not far from Stillwater 

An interesting feature of the landscape at Hardwick, New Jersey, 
is the log cabin home of Mrs. Emmallne Blackford. This old house 
is a survival of the time, still within the memory of living men, when 
nearly every farm house was a log cabin. 




A Log Cabin House in 1911. 



CHAPTER XXI. 



Harmony. 



Harmony was formed in 1839 from parts of Greenwich and 
Oxford, but lost a portion of its territory on the formation of Phillips- 
burg (now Lopatcong) in 1851. It takes its name from a town of the 
same name, which hovered between the choice of Concord or Harmony 
as the proper title. 

Harmony is about equally divided between the fertile low land 
of the Delaware Valley and a mountainous portion consisting of Marble 
Mountain and Ragged Ridge, which are separated by the peaceful 
valley of the Lopatcong Creek, the upper part of which is called 
Harker's Hollow, from the main body of Scott's Mountain, which rises 
.at Montana to a height of 1,259 feet, 

Montana is a village in the extreme eastern part of Harmony, 
and is also a name applied indefinitely to a region several miles in area 
and extending into Oxford, Washington and Franklin. It is situated 
twelve hundred feet above sea level, and is thus more elevated than any 
other town in the county. The village was called Springtown until 
about i860, when it became Springville, to distinguish it from another 
Springtown. It has been called Montana for forty years and before . 
the days of rural delivery it had a post office. 

During the Revolution all of this region was filled with Tory 
sympathizers, who depended on the inaccessibility of the region for 
their safety. 

Early settlers in this vicinity were named Blair, Inslee, Beers, 
Rush,' Prall, Burd and Lambertson. 

A Baptist church was built here as early as 1827 by a Mr. Cham- 
berlain. An old burying ground yet marks the spot. A new church 



i6o Warren County. 

was later erected in the village, but it has been without a pastor for 
many years. 

The Scott's Mountain Presbyterian Church was organized at this 
place in 1815, and a building was erected the same year. The first 
pastor was the Rev. Garner A. Hunt. It was later known as the Pres- 
byterian Church of Montana. A new building was erected in 1870, 
but it had no pastor for many years and was finally torn down. 

The Methodist Episcopal Church has been more successful, owing 
to the vicinity of Summerfield, and a church building was erected in 
1887, at which services are regularly held by supplies. 

All bearing the name Rush in Warren County are descended 
from Jacob Rush, who settled on the farm now occupied by Catherine 
Rush, which was formerly the homestead of the Blairs. Jacob Rush 
had a son, Jacob, who was father of Jacob, William, Henry, John and 
Isaac, and another son, Peter, who was father of Hiram Rush, who had 
five boys, named Peter, John, Hartley, of Montana ; Hiram, who was 
killed at the battle of Bull Run, and Abraham. 

Three miles from Montana, on the road to New Village, is an 
old forgotten grave yard, said to be that of a Quaker settlement at 
this point. The tombstones are of sandstone, with no lettering visible. 

One of the first settleris of Harmony Township was Harmon 
Shipman, who came from Germany about 1 740. He owned 200 acres 
of land, which came in possession of his son, Harmon, while another 
son, Abraham, in 1 807 bought a farm near Asbury, where his descend- 
ants have lived since. 

Harmony is a name applied to two villages a mile apart, on the 
macadamized road running through the township between Belvidere 
and Phillipsburg. The earliest remembered resident of Upper Har- 
mony was Adam Ramsay. Other early settlers were Morgan Hineline 
and Charles Carhart. 

The Presbyterian Church at Upper Harmony was formed from 
members in part from the Greenwich church, and in part from the old 



Warren County. i6i 

Oxford church. Supplies preached here as early as 1807 and even 
before this services were held in various houses. The present building 
was erected in 1840, taking the place of a stone edifice erected in 1807, 
on land presented by William Gardner. 

Lower Harmony's earliest settler was Godfrey Person, who erected 
a clover mill and owned a tavern. Dr. A. O. Stiles located here in 
1828 as a practicing physician. Later Dr. James DeWitt practiced here 
for many years. 

The first of the name DeWitt in Warren County were three 
brothers — Peter, Abram and Isaac — who settled not far from each 
other, along the Delaware River, in Harmony and Lopatcong. Peter 
and Isaac DeWitt settled in Harmony, and Abram in Lopatcong. Sev- 
eral of the family were in the Continental army, among them Peter's 
son, Barnett, who was in charge of prisoners confined in the old forge 
at Bloomsbury. Peter DeWitt was the father of Levi, Peter, Isaac, 
John P., Alexander, Paul, and four daughters, descendants of most of 
whom are now in the county. 

The first church edifice in Lower Harmony was known as "the 
Old Red Church," and in it both Lutherans and Methodists worshipped 
for many years. The Methodists erected their present structure 
in 1856. 

On October 11, 17 16, there were surveyed to Joseph Kirkbride a 
tract of land amounting with allowances to more than 1,300 acres, 
situated in the heart of the township and extending from the river to the 
mountain. This was sold by his heirs in 175 1 to Thomas Shipley, who 
transferred 768 acres of it in 1762 to William Phillips, who was the 
first local owner. He sold it in 1763 to John Van Nest, and he to 
John Hendershott in 1772. 

A tract of 1,735 acres was surveyed to William Penn, extending 
from the foot of Foul Rift to Hutchison's. This was sold by Penn's 
heirs December 30, 1740, to Jacobus Vanetta, who divided it with 



1 62 Warren County. 

his five brothers. It comprised all the fertile valley farms in the town- 
ship north of Hutchison's. 

On August 8, 1759, 600 acres of land in the valley were surveyed 
to Joseph HoUingshead, who sold parts of it in 1775 to Andrew Sheep, 
and in 1777 to John Hendershot. 

The Vannattas of Warren County are descended from a family 
that came from Holland to Raritan and from there to this township, 
where they bought 1,735 acres from William Penn's heirs. Five of the 
brothers were named Jacobus, Johannes, Benjamin, Thomas and Peter. 
The name is also spelled in old deeds Van Etten, Vanatto and Vanetta. 
It is believed that all the Vannattas in this township are descended from 
.John, while Hamilton Vannatta, formerly of Jackson Valley, is from 
one of the other brothers. Johannes Vanatto owned the farm at the 
foot of Foul Rift, by the large spring, and gave a deed for one acre in 
1744 to Jonathan Robeson for use as a wharf. John Vannatta was a 
soldier in the Revolution, and late in life moved from Harmony to 
Ohio. Some of his sons seem to have been named Samuel, William, 
Isaac and George W. 

Samuel Vannatta, a son of John was born about 1785, and died 
in 1855. In 1803 he purchased 160 acres of land at Brainard's, includ- 
ing the Snyder ferry, which he and his son, Silas, after him ran success- 
fully for many years. It is now operated by Stewart Fry, for a com- 
pany that owns it. The children of Samuel Vannatta were John, 
Henry, of Wisconsin; Aaron, of Wisconsin; Moses, of Wisconsin; 
Samuel, Silas, and six daughters. 

John Vannatta, a son of Samuel, was born in 1801, and purchased 
a farm in Jackson Valley in 1832, on which he built a substantial stone 
house in 1837, and lived to be over eighty years of age. His children 
were John R. Vanatta, a step-father to J. Wesley Scott, of Belvidere; 
Samuel, of Pennville; Joseph, of Hackettstown ; Moses, of Anderson; 
Lemuel, of Washington; Morris, of Martin's Creek, Pennsylvania; 
Mrs. Mary Ann Gardner, of Jackson Valley, and Elias, of Philadel- 



Warren County. 163 

phla. The children of Samuel Vannatta, of Rocksburg, the son of 
Samuel, are: Kennedy Vannatta, station agent at Madison; Mrs. 
John H. Young, of Roxburg; Mrs. Robert Petty, of Washington; Mrs. 
Ed. Hill, of Easton; Mrs. Josephine Young, of Rocksburg; Roderick 
Vannatta, and James Vannatta, of Rocksburg. 

Rocksburg was settled by John Young, and was known as Youngs- 
ville for many years. He conducted a foundry for forty years., in 
which he manufactured plows, etc. 

The excellent water power on a brook early caused a grist mill 
to be built, which is now operated by Leo Lomasson, who recently 
bought it of Bowlby. 

The site of Rocksburg was part of the Vannata tract, this par- 
ticular part being owned by Peter Vannetta, who sold the 200 acres to 
Jacob Sigler in 1793. 

The railway station on the Pennsylvania Railroad is one mile from 
the village near the Delaware River, where some cottages and tents 
accommodate many nature lovers on both sides of the river. 

Martin's Creek is a name applied to a locality partly in Pennsyl- 
vania and partly in New Jersey, at the mouth of a stream of the same 
name. In Pennsylvania it is also known as the Three Churches, from 
the Presbyterian, Lutheran and Reformed churches that have been 
there so long; or as Howells, from David Howell, for many years the 
main property holder there. In New Jersey the railway station is 
Martin's Creek, and the post office is Brainards' in honor of the mis- 
sionary brothers, David and John Brainerd, who had their cabin within 
half a mile of this point, across the river. 

David Brainerd was born at Haddam, Connecticut, in 1718. He 
was educated at Yale, licensed to preach in 1742, and was appointed 
missionary to the Indians within the Forks of the Delaware by the 
"Society for Propagating Christian Knowledge." He began his mis- 
sionary labors among the Indians in the Forks of the Delaware early 
in the summer of 1744. On the 13th of May, 1744, he came to Sakhau- 



164 Warren County. 

wotung (Martin's Creek) within the forks, and was respectfully re- 
ceived by the Indian king, who permitted him to preach most of the 
summer at his house. This was near the settlements of Hunter, at 
Mt. Bethel. Brainerd built his own house in the Forks of the Dela- 
ware. According to Junkin : "That house was a wide cabin, and stood 
about one half a mile south by west of where the church of Lower Mt. 
Bethel now stands, near the banks of Martin's Creek — the Indian name 
of which was Sakhauwoturig." In Brainerd's diary we read, "Lord's 
Day, Dec. 9. — Preached both parts of the day in a place called Green- 
wich, in New Jersey, about ten miles from my own house," and for 
Lord's Day, February 17, 1745, the following record is found: 
"Preached in the wilderness on the sunny side of a hill to a considerable 
number of white people, many of whom came near twenty miles, from 
Kreidersville to Martin's Creek." 

Totamy was Brainerd's interpreter when preaching to the Indians, 
and with his aid he translated into the Lenape language some simple 
prayers. Brainerd spent about three years preaching to the "Irish, 
High Dutch and Low Dutch" and Indians in the wilderness, when his 
health failed and he went back to New England and died in 1747. He 
was succeeded by his brother, John, who arrived in 1749, made the 
cabin his home, and labored here among the whites and Indians for 
several years. He was a chaplain in the army in 1759, and had charge 
of Indian schools here and at Brotherton, New Jersey. He died in 
1781. 

There is a tradition that Moses Totamy, the Delaware sachem, 
father of William Totamy, who was Brainerd's interpreter, lived at 
"Totamy Plantation," at Marble Mountain, three and a half miles 
from Phillipsburg. Totamy Falls in the Delaware are near the place. 
Moses Totamy was present at the great Indian council at Easton in 
1758, where he was one of the interpreters and represented the moun- 
tain Indians. 

Martin's Creek is the junction point of the Pennsylvania railroad 



Warren County. 165 

with the Bangor and Portland railroad, and with the Lehigh and New 
England railroad. Martin's Creek, or Brainards, owes its present im- 
portance entirely to the presence of mills Nos. 3 and '4 of the Alpha 
Cement Company, which are located one on either side of the mouth 
of Martin's Creek, in Pennsylvania. Twelve years ago there was no 
town here. There are several old stone houses in the vicinity, built 
about one hundred years ago. One at the station was owned by Silas 
Vannatta until recently, when it was sold, and on the lot adjoining it 
have been built several concrete houses and the store of the Alpha Sup- 
ply Company, of which John Wilson is the manager. 

The stone house one-eighth of a mile south of the station was 
owned by Hampton Teel until about 1 850, when George Depue bought 
it and owned it until his death in 1897. His widow still owns it. Some 
of the Alpha company's houses are on property formerly a part of this 
lot. Still further south is a third stone house, owned for many years by 
John Oberly, and by his son, Anthony, and now by his grand-daughter, 
Mrs. George Vannatta. 

At Martin's Creek occurred the worst disaster in the history of the 
county, on April 29, 191 1, when an excursion train of teachers from 
Utica, New York, jumped the track and was completely destroyed by 
fire, causing the death of thirteen of those on the train, eight of whom 
were burned to ashes. 

Silas Vannatta and later George. Vannatta were station agents here 
from the completion of the railroad until 1900. The Hotel Warren 
is conducted by Melville W. Smith; Karabinus BrQthers have a meat 
market, and Szlaboczny and Pordan sell drygoods and groceries. 

For many years the village across the river was called Howell's 
Mills, or Howells, as the main property owner there was David Howell, 
who recently died. It is now called Martin's Creek, from the stream 
of that name, which is so called from David Martin, who, in 1739, 
owned the ferry privileges along the river between this point and 
Phillipsburg. A tannery was early operated at Howells and a grist mill. 



1 66 Warren County. 

The railroad bridge across the river, which also accommodates pedes- 
trians, was built on the completion of the Bangor and Portland railroad, 
and rebuilt in 1907. 

The vicinity across the river was known as early as 1734 as 
Hunter's Settlement. It was conjposed of Scotch-Irish immigrants, who 
in 1738 sent to the New Brunswick Presbytery a request for supplies, 
and the Rev. Gilbert Tennent was directed to go there the same year. 

The Belvidere division of the Pennsylvania railroad parallels the 
Delaware River In this township, having stations that accommodate 
Harmony, Martin's Creek, Hutchisons and Roxburg. 

At a point a mile or so north of Hutchisons, on the Pennsylvania 
side of the river, was born Mrs. William J. Bryan, of Nebraska. 

An early settler between Harmony and the Delaware River was 
Barney Raub, who is buried in the Presbyterian church-yard. He had 
several children, of whom Philip settled in Oxford Township and was 
the father of Dr. Joseph M., George, Jacob, James and Samuel J. 



CHAPTER XXII. 



Hope. 



Hope Township derives Its name from Its principal town, which 
was christened by the Moravians. The township was formed In 1839 
out of parts of Knowlton and Oxford. 

The earliest settlers In Hope Township were named Green and 
Howell. George Green In 1726 took up 600 acres of land at the lower 
end of Green's Pond, now partly In the Anderson and Parks farms. 
George Green was freeholder In Amwell, Hunterdon County, in 1723. 
Samuel Green, Jr., the eldest son of Samuel Green, the deputy surveyor 
who later settled at Johnsonburg, came as the first settler of what Is now 
Hope from Amwell, Hunterdon County, In 1738, when he was thirty- 
three years of age. He built a log house, at which he entertained the 
Moravian missionaries Bruce Shaw, Joseph Powell and others on their 
way from Bethlehem to the Minnlsink. Samuel Green and his wife, 
Abigail, stayed at Bethlehem during the French and Indian war for 
safety, having been warned thereto by friendly Indians. They had 
already become Moravians. In 1768 he sold to the Moravians 1,000 
acres of land for £1,000, on the present site of Hope. This tract ex- 
tended as far as the Beatty and Cook farms. Chambers says : 

"In 1769 Peter Warbas and family, the first settlers from Bethle- 
hem, removed to the new settlement in Sussex County and were enter- 
tained by Mr. and Mrs. Green until their house, a log building, was 
erected. The next year, 1770, a flouring mill was built. In May of 
that year the place was visited by the brethren Christian Gregor, John 
Loretz and Hans Christian von Schwelnltz, members of the Provincial 
Helpers Conference, residing at Bethlehem, who gave the name Green- 
land to the new place. In 1771 Frederick Leinbach became manager 
and opened a store for the accommodation of the new settlement. 



1 68 Warren County. 

Daniel Hauser had charge of the mill and Frederick Rauchenberger 
was Leinbach's assistant on the farm. In 1773 Frederick Blum com- 
menced a tannery; in 1780 a saw mill was erected; in 1783 a pottery, 
and in 1791 an oil mill on the premises of the settlement." 




Old Moravian Mill, Hope, N. J. 

The church edifice, a large stone building which is now a hotel, 
was erected in 178 1, the cornerstone being laid on April 2, by Bishop 
Relchel. 

In 1774 the site of the settlement at Greenland was surveyed and 
a town laid out, which on the 8th of February, 1775, it was decided by 
lot to call by the name of Hope. 

In June, 1777, two signers of the Declaration of Independence, 
William Ellery and William Whipple, passed through the place and 
wrote in their diary: 

"In our way to the next stage we stop'd at a little Moravian settle- 
ment called Hope, consisting of five or six private houses, some 
mechanics' shops, a merchant's store and one of the finest and most 
curious mills in America. All the Moravian buildings are strong, neat 
and compact, and very generally made of stone." 



Warren County. 169 

These buildings bid fair to stand for centuries, and still testify to 
the excellent workmanship and artistic taste of the Moravian workers 
in stone. 

General Washington passed at least once over the route through 
Hope. In describing this trip Chambers says : 

"On July 25, 1782, General Washington and two aides without 
escort rode from Philadelphia to Bethlehem, where he passed the night. 
The next morning, escorted by the Moravian clergyman, John Etwein, 
he left Bethlehem, passing by way of Easton and Belvidere to Hope." 

He is said to have halted under General Washington's tree, a button- 
wood, still standing about a mile and a half south of Hope. Possibly this 
was while "Etwein rode on ahead to notify the Moravians of the General's 
coming, so that they might prepare suitable entertainment." At Hope 
Etwein parted from the General, who continued on his journey to his 
headquarters at Newberg, doubtless by way of Johnsonsburg, Newton 
and Goshen, as that was the way the early stage route ran. 

"In 1790 the number belonging to the congregation at Hope was 
147, of whom sixty-six were communicants; 100 lived in town, and 
forty-seven in the vicinity. From this time the membership steadily 
decreased. On Easter Sunday, April 17, 1808, the last sermon was 
preached and, with the evening sermon of that day, the existence of 
the congregation terminated." 

The property of the Moravians was bought by Messrs. Kraemer 
and Horn, of Pennsylvania, who disposed of it to ancestors, in many 
cases, of the present owners. 

The Christian Church at Hope is on the site of the old Moravian 
tavern, where were entertained many notables on their way between 
the Hudson and Delaware rivers. The tavern was destroyed by fire 
and on its site was erected in 1844 the present Christian Church. A 
fine parsonage was built in 1861. For many years this church was 



lyo Warren County. 

served by the pastor at Vienna, but of late has had a resident pastor, 
who at present is the Rev. L. C. Mackay. 

In 1828 William Hibler bought what had been the old Moravian 
church and turned it into the Union Hotel. The second story only had 
been used as a church, the lower %tory being divided into rooms, as at 
present, for the use of the pastor's family. In this building, which had 
a fine assembly room, were held the first courts of Warren County, in 
1824. Hibler was succeeded as landlord by George H. Beatty, and 
he by H. W. Rundle. In 19 10 Joseph Andress, proprietor of the 
American House, the other hotel in Hope, bought the historic building. 
He intends to turn it into an apartment house. 

The American Hotel was in part a Moravian house, but has been 
much enlarged. 

A tavern used to be kept in the stone building used as a store for 
many years by Peter W. Blair, by George D. Turner, by his son, 
Fletcher Turner, and now by Alva S. Howell. Other merchants in 
Hope are Alvin A. Van Horn and Theodore S. Seals. A foundry for 
miscellaneous castings has been operated for forty years by Henry 
Aten. This was formerly owned by S. W. Buckley. 

Among the early storekeepers were Adam Hibler, who in 1790 
had a store north of the grist mill, and John Blair, who in 1800 started 
in the business which others of his family later carried on with such 
great success in neighboring towns. 

A creamery is operated at Hope for the making of butter and 
cheese by the Hope Co-operative Creamery Association. Jacob Angle 
owned the old Moravian mill for many years. It is now owned by 
heirs of the late John Copk, and operated by Edward Winters. 

Samson Howell was the next settler after the Greens to come to 
Hope Township. He was the son of Hugh Howell, who came from 
Wales with two brothers about 1699. It is a tradition of the family 
that their ship was captured by pirates, and the three brothers saved 
their lives by acting as sailors on the pirate ship. The gravestone of 




Moravian Stone Bridge, Hope, N. J. 



Warrkn County. 171 

Hugh Howell is in the old burying ground at Baptistown, New Jersey, 
recording that he died September 14, 1745, aged eighty-six. Samson 
Howell built his first log cabin on Jenny Jump Mountain about 17^8, 
and a second log house in 1760, about two miles further east, on a large 
tract of land he had bought. He built his third house in 1778. This 
was a large two-story stone structure, still inhabited, and on the farm of 
Jonah Howell. In 1767 he was operating a saw mill at the foot of 
Jenny Jump, on this farm. This saw mill furnished the Moravians the 
lumber for building their houses when they came a few years later. 
Samson Howell was born in 1719, and died in 1803, and lies buried 
in the old Union Church ground beside his wife, Jane Vanderbilt, who 
died in 1805, in her eighty-third year. They had five sons and one 
daughter. They were Levi Howell, father of George, Samuel and 
Mrs. Harris; Jonah Howell, father of Lydia (Whitesell) , of Abram S. 
and others; William Howell, who went to Jerseyville, Canada; Garret 
Howell, who also went to Canada, and had sixteen children ; and Sam- 
son Howell, Jr., father of Levi, Nathan, Garret, Isaac, James, Lavina 
(Van Horn) , Achsa, Uzal Ogden, John, Aaron and Letitia (Buckley) . 
Samson Howell, Jr., was born at Hope in 1753, and died in 1810. 
He married Elizabeth Richards, born 1759, died 1818. Of their chil- 
dren, Levi Howell was father of Aaron, Susan (Mrs. Dr. Roe, of 
Vienna), Nelson and Garret; Nathan Howell went to Canada; Garret 
Howell was father of Euphemia, Letitia (Miller), and Gideon L. ; 
Isaac Howell was father of Philip S., Daniel K., Elizabeth and Susan; 
James Howell has many descendants near Nichols, New York; Lavina 
Howell married George Van Horn, and was mother of William, 
Isaac, Green, Shaver and George Van Horn; Achsah Howell married 
David Kinney and lived at Livonia, N. Y. ; Uzal Ogden Howell ( 1797- 
1834) married Mariah Matilda Cummins (1801-1889) and was the 
father of Alexander C, Christeon G., Uzal H., Isaac and Samson; 
John Howell's descendants are mainly near Blairstown, one of them 
being Mrs. Dr. Johnson, and Aaron Howell lived in southern New 



172 Warren County. 

Jersey. Much of the history of this family has been gathered by the 
.late Uzal Hampton Howell, and Frank J. Howell, of Corning, New 
York, son of Christeon G. Howell. 

The Union Methodist Episcopal Church was organized about 
1785, and a log building erected ifl 18 10 on the present site, two miles 
northeast of Hope. The present structure was completed in 1856 and 
dedicated by Bishop Janes. Early members were named Howell, 
Albertson, Newman, Harris, Cook, McMurtrie, Merrill and Flummer- 
•felt. This is the mother church of many Methodist churches in the 
center of the county, among them being Johnsonburg, Ebenezer, Blairs- 
town and Hope. Its centenary was celebrated on August 19, 19 10. 

The Methodist Episcopal Church at Hope was erected 1832, to 
accommodate members of the Union Methodist Episcopal Church who 
lived here. In 1876'the present church was erected on the site of the 
previous one. The present pastor is Rev. Andrew Sunderland, who 
also has charge of the Ebenezer and Union Methodist Episcopal 
churches. 

Saint Luke's Protestant Episcopal Church-: — Occasional services, 
according to the worship of the Protestant Episcopal Church, were held 
as early as 18 17 at Hope. A church building was begun in 1832 and 
completed in 1839, when it was dedicated by Bishop Doane. The 
parish is under charge of Rev. George H. Young, of Belvidere. 

The Hope Presbyterian Church was organized in 1854, and a 
building erected the following year. It led a rathe.r feeble existence 
and at present is abandoned. 

Kostenbader's mill is two miles southwest of Hope, on the road to 
Delaware. 

Green's Pond is the name which for nearly two hundred years has 
been applied to a beautiful sheet of water lying low between two hills 
which are a part of Jenny Jump Mountain. The little lake is one mile 
long and one-half mile widd, and affords excellent fishing. Contrary to 
common belief, the lake is not up in the mountains, but lies lower than 




Episcopal Church, Hope, N. J. 



Warren County. 173 

the D., L. & W. railroad track at Buttzville. At one time an effort was 
made to call the locality Tylervllle, but the name has not been used 
for years. The vicinity used to boast of an active saw mill, a£ distillery, 
a plaster mill and other activities. A hotel has recently been erected 
on the western shore by Mr. Buckmeyer, and many cottages and tents 
are occupied in the summer by lovers of nature, mainly from Oxford 
and Washington, some of whom call the sheet of water Mountain Lake. 
Silver Lake, formerly known as Rice's Pond, is at the extreme 
northern part of Hope, near the road to Blairstown. 

Mount Hermon was known for nearly a century as Green's 
Chapel, from a Methodist Episcopal Church founded here in 1798 and 
named after Thomas Green, .who owned a tract of 1,200 acres that 
later formed the farms of Lanning, Hildebrand, Smith, Brugler, Hoag- 
land, Kishpaugh and West. 

Other family names long identified with the locality are Flummer- 
felt. Read, McCain, Letson, Titman and Tinsman. 

In 1849 ^^^ name was changed from Green's Chapel to Mount 
Hermon. The first store was opened in 1878 by Jefferson LoUer, who 
was for a long time postmaster. The post office was opened in 1875, 
and discontinued when a rural delivery route made it unnecessary. 

Green's Chapel, or the Mount Hermon Methodist Episcopal 
Church, was organized in 1 8 1 1 , and the same year a church was built 
on land donated by Thomas Green. This was rebuilt in 1848 and 
remodeled in 1876. The present pastor of this and of Zion Chapel 
is Rev. H. D. Eifert. 

The Honeywell Academy at Mount Hermon was founded with 
money left by John Honeywell, who died here in 1780 and left the in- 
come from the proceeds of the sale of his real estate, amounting to 
£1,000, to be used for the establishment and support of a school of 
which the master "rhay be a man of civil conduct and able to teach the 
boys to read, write, cipher, etc. ; and the mistress likewise to be of chaste 
behavior, able to teach the small girls to read and the biggeir to knit and 



174 



Warren County. 



sew and the like, so as to be a help to owners and children." This was 
conducted for many years by the trustees of the Philadelphia Baptist 
Association, to whom the money was left, but it is now conducted as a 
part of the public school system. Many school teachers of Warren 
County owe their success to the exftllent training received at this school. 
The present building was erected in 1858, replacing the first one, which 
was built in 1798, and enlarged in 1832. 




Faifview School House. 

The Beatty family of Hope Township is descended from George 
Beatty, who was born at Trenton, New Jersey. Seven of his brothers 
served in the Revolutionary army. He married Elizabeth, daughter of 
Christeon Cummins, and settled at Cumminstown, now Vienna, about 
1780. His children were Charles, Nancy and Catherine. Charles 



Warren County. 175 

Beatty, born in 1779, was the father of Stewart, who moved to Michi- 
gan; of Pernlna, and of George H. Beatty, who was born at Vienna in 
1 81 1 and went with his father to Hope in 18 14, where his father 
bought, in 1829, one of the Moravian farms, later owned by George 
and by his son, Lewis C. Beatty, now collector of Hope Township. 
George W. Beatty, another son of George, lives in Pittsburg. George 
H. Beatty owned the Union Hotel, once the Moravian church, for six 
years, and was a member of the Legislature, 1 853-56. 

The Albertson family of Hope, Independence and Knowlton, is 
one of the oldest in the county. Cornelius Albertson settled at Dela- 
ware Station. Garret Albertson, probably a son, settled near Hope, 
and had a son, Nicholas, and a grandson, Samson H. The latter is 
father of Hon. Coursen H. Albertson, of Vienna, and grandfather of 
Dr. W. C. Albertson, of Belvidere. 

Feebletown is the name formerly applied to a locality near Silver 
Lake, on the road from Hope to Blairstown. It boasted a grist mill, a 
school and a physician, Dr. Gibbs. It is now referred to as Reed's Rest. 

Free Union has a school and a Methodist Episcopal Church con- 
nected with the Buttzville charge. It used to be called by the irreverent 
Sin Corner. Early residents in this vicinity were named Albert, Hender- 
shot, Wildrick and Raub. 

The Kishpaugh mine gave its name to the village that grew up in 
its neighborhood. The vicinity is also called Marble Quarry, from 
the deposit of pink crystalline limestone having the appearance of 
Scotch granite that was formerly quarried here. The school house is 
now called Hoagland. The school houses in this township are at 
Hope, Hoaglands, Free Union, Townsbury, Hazen and Mt. Hermon. 

The Swayze family, once one of the most prominent in the town- 
ship, is descended from two brothers, Barnabas and Israel, who came 
from Morris County in 1743 and settled on 800 acres of land south- 
west of Hope. Israel Swayze had four sons — Joshua, Caleb, Jacob 
and James'. Caleb Swayze had five sons — Henry, Jacob, James K., 



176 Warren County. 

Israel and Caleb. James K. Swayze was the father of Marshall, James 
A., and Aurelius J. 

Townsbury is on land originally surveyed to Coxe, from whom 
John Meng bought the site of the town . He developed the water 
power and built the old stone gr^t mill, so that the place for many years 
was known as Meng's Mill. John Town and Benjamin Town owned 
the property for a few years in the seventeen-eighties, and from them 
the town is named. 

Nelson Vliet came here in 1854, and with his family was active 
for many years. He had a distillery, a store, a mill and other interests. 
In 1850 Van Why operated the saw mill and grist mill. Adam, and 
Andrew Stiff had them later, as also Frome, Henry' and Anderson. 
John Green for many years ran the saw mill. Samuel Wildrick owned- 
the grist mill until 1 9 1 o, when he sold it to G. C. Ehman, who installed 
new machinery. 

James Hay, son of John Hay, of Zion Chapel, and grandson of 
John Hay, of Ramseysburg, was for many years one of the best known 
men in Warren County. He resided at Townsbury, and was an 
auctioneer. His brothers were Isaac, Theodore and George. 



CHAPTER XXIII. 



Independence. 

Independence was named in 1782, the year In which a preliminary 
treaty of peace was signed giving us our independence from Great 
Britain and this accounts for the name. It had for several years before this 
been called Lower Hardwick, but was not erected into a township until 
Hardwick was divided in 1782. From Independence came Green, of 
Sussex County, in 1824; Hackettstown, in 1853, and Allamuchy, in 
1872. 

Captain William Helms, of Hackettstown, was captain of the 
Ninth Company of the Second Regiment of the New Jersey Continental 
Line in the Revolution, and served in the Indian campaign of 1779 
with his company, largely recruited from Independence Township, in 
which we find such familiar family names as those of John Fleming, 
Jonathan Hickson, Wilham Morgan, John Poole, Jesse Saxton, Jacob 
Shaver, William Sutton and Hendrick Van Wye. 

An early resident of Independence was Walter Wiggins, who 
owned the land where Mrs. Mary Cummins now lives, later owned by 
the Larison family. Walter Wiggins left it to his grandchildren, Will- 
iam, Joseph and Thomas Wiggins. A graveyard on their farm, on the 
knoll by the Methodist parsonage barn, has one tombstone inscribed 
"G. W., Oct. I, 1745." which is the earliest date on any tombstone in 
the county. The Larison home, near Bulgin's Bridge, was in its time 
one of the finest and gayest of the township, and many were the suitors 
of Miss Charity Larison, who was finally won by the Hon. Abram 
Wildrick, a member of the Legislature in 1843, ^"d State Senator in 
1867. Their daughter, Isabella, is the wife of the Hon; George B. 
Swain, recently treasurer of New Jersey. 

Vienna is a beautiful country town, whose two streets are lined 



178 Warren County. 

■ with sugar maples, planted many years ago by Hampton Howell and 
others, with an eye to their future beauty. A macadamized road ex- 
tends the length of the town, and is part of the best route from New 
York to the Water Gap. ^ 

The first settlers at Vienna were the brothers Philip, Christeon and 
John Cummins, who settled on land purchased by their father, Chris- 
teon, who lived at what is now Asbury. Philip and Christeon Cum- 
mins came here about 1770, and John shortly thereafter. Philip lived 
where his grandson, A. J. Cummins, now resides; John built his log 
house on the opposite side of the road, and Christeon built his on the 
site of Lewis Merrell's fine residence. Philip Cummins' son, Jacob, 
inherited the homestead in 1828. The stone part of the house on the 
homestead was built in 1794, previous to whith a log house near by 
was the only dwelling. 

During the Revolution the notorious Tory leader, James Moody, 
frequently visited this vicinity for the purpose of making the unpro- 
tected patriots swear allegiance to the crown. "Moody would call on 
Philip Cummins at regular intervals to make him take the oath, 
although it was well known among his relations that his sympathies 
were with the colonies. These visits would generally occur in the night, 
and Moody was often accompanied by some of his Tory associates, one 
of whom, on one occasion, discharged his gun at Philip, but Moody 
struck up the barrel and saved his life." 

It is many years since Vienna has had a hotel. John P. Merrell, 
and later Philip Hopler, kept the only one ever built here, and from its 
frame has recently been erected a residence. 

The Vienna foundry was built by Fleming and Carr before i860, 
and sold to Simon A. Cumrriins in 1866, who manufactured here the 
double corn plows that were widely known. He sold it to John Green 
in 1875, and he to Morris Parks. Daniel Wolfe at present does mis- 
cellaneous casting In the old foundry. David and John Hoffman have 
been blacksmiths here for many years. 



Warren County. 179 

Among the industries that once thrived here was a saw mill on the 
Pequest, a half mile above the bridge. It was rebuilt in 1839 by Sted- 
man, Vreeland and Vanness, and destroyed by fire in 1865. Fisher 
Stedman was the inventor of much of the wood-turning machinery that 
is in use throughout the world today. Benjamin Hall had a steam saw 
mill whose ruins still are seen in the rear of the foundry. It furnished 
material for wagon wheels. After it burned in the eighties, the busi- 
ness was carried on at Hackettstown. The Bulgin Brothers had a chair 
factory that prospered before it burned down in 1870. 

The first of the Fleming family to come to what is now Warren 
County was Andrew Fleming, who bought 220 acres of land in the 
Pequest Valley in 1768, and settled on it before 1771. We believe 
that noneof hisdescqadants in the county have borne the name Fleming 
since 1824. All of the Fleming family at present in Warren County 
are descended from Thomas Fleming, a brother to Andrew. Thomas 
Fleming was born in County Tyrone, Ireland, about 1720, and came to 
Bethlehem, Hunterdon County, with his brothers in 1751 and moved 
to Cumminstown, now Vienna, in 1783, with his three children, Thomas, 
James and Margaret, and settled on a tract of 1,400 acres of land, 
which was a part of the tract formerly belonging to Samuel Hackett, 
from whom a neighboring town was named. 

Thomas Fleming (2nd.) was born in 1753 and died in 1829. 
On his tombstone in the Presbyterian churchyard at Great Meadows is 
inscribed : "Here lies the remains of a soldier of the Revolution, one of 
the heroic band who with Washington crossed the Delaware on the 
25th of December, 1776, and- conquered the British and Hessians at 
Trenton." His sons were David, Alexander, Thomas (3rd.), Josiah, 
John, Aaron, Moses and James. 

James Fleming, the son of Thomas (ist), died at Vienna in 
1840, aged eighty-five. He married the granddaughter of the original 
owner of Coryell's Ferry, at Lambertville, and was the father of. John 
C, Harvey and William. Mrs. Amelia Fleming Albertson, a daughter 



i8o Warren County. 

of Harvey Fleming, owns the old homestead farm, on which is still 
standing the stone house built by her grandfather. 

The Pequest Methodist Episcopal Church had its origin in ser- 
vices held by itinerant preachers in the stone house of Philip Cummins. 
Here Bishop Francis Asbury, Re^. George Banghart and others occa- 
sionally preached. In 1810 a church was built on land purchased of 
John Cummins. It was not completed until 1824. The original name 
of the church was New Jerusalem. In 1854 the old church was torn 
down and the present structure was erected on its site and dedicated by 
Rev. John L. Lenhart, who was later chaplain of the United States 
Senate, and of the United States ship "Cumberland" when she was 
sunk by the "Merrimac" on March 8, 1862. He refused to leave the 
ship and sank with her. ^ 

In 1867 the present parsonage was erected. The present pastor 
is Rev. R. Lake. The centennial of the church was celebrated on 
August 7, 1 9 10, when the Rev. Dr. Buttz took part, here, where years 
ago he preached his first sermon. 

Half way between Vienna and Hackettstown is a meadow which 
has of late years been used for raising onions, of which as many as 
15,000 bushels are produced. At the end of the meadow is a cider mill 
operated by Philip Bell. This Was for many years known as the Martin 
tannery. A mile down the little stream is another tannery, operated 
until thirty years ago by Charles Titus, at the place called White Hall, 
where for a hundred years a grist mill was operated, mostly by mem- 
bers of the Ayers family. A woolen mill was also run here many 
years ago. 

There is only one pond in the township, and this is called Mas- 
tondon Pond, from the discovery of a splendidly preserved skeleton of a 
mastodon by a Mr. Ayers, while engaged in hauling muck from the 
pond for use as a fertilizer. The skeleton is now in Boston. 

Great Meadows, which bore the name of Danville for seventy- 
five years, is situated at the southeastern extremity of the fertile tract 



Warren County.. i8i 

of land of the same name. For many years most of its prosperity was 
due to activities connected with the Kishpaugh mine. Here was the 
company store, and here niany teamsters hved who hauled the ore to» 
Oxford. Now all interests center in the meadows, from which are 
shipped as much as $200,000 worth of celery and onions in a single sea- 
son, one-half of which is shipped from Great Meadows Station. The 
largest individual shipper is J. S. Mu'ndy, who has 1,500 acres of the 
meadow land under cultivation. 

The first postmaster of Danville was Sheriff Daniel VanBuskirk, 
who built the hotel later owned by Lewis Martenis and Aaron B. 
Leigh, and now kept by John Reed. 

The Crane Iron Company's store building was built about 1875. 
It was later kept by Martenis & Hance, and now by E. W. Aimer, who, 
as an undertaker, was succeeded by Lyman Hiles. Another store is 
owned by Albert Snyder. The Woodbridge Manufacturing Company 
operates a plant on the meadows for drying muck used as a filler in 
fertilizer. They employ about fifty men. George Williams and Will- 
iam Bird have saw mills near the station. A coal and lumber yard is 
owned by George Williams, son of Lewis Williams, who kept them 
for many years. 

The Presbyterian Church at this place was built in 1824 and re- 
modeled in 1863 to its present condition. Until 1831, when it was 
regularly organized, it was connected with the Hackettstown church. 
The Rev. Ephraim Simanton between 1851 and 1867 built the church 
up to a membership of 124. A parsonage was added to the church 
property in 1868. The present pastor is Rev. O. R. W. Klose. 

The name Great Meadows is used as early as 1764 in records of the 
Quaker church. From the earliest times the possibilities of the meadows 
were recognized, but the difficulties connected with subjugating the luxu- 
rious wild growth seemed almost insuperable. The first active movement 
in this direction was made by Dr. J. Marshall Paul, of Belvidere, who 
in 1850 reclaimed 200 acres of bog land in the vicinity of Schmuck's 



I»2 



Warren County. 



saw mill. He burned the bogs and used the ashes as fertilizer, and dug 
ditches to, drain the land. He bought of Fisher Stedman the water 
power at Vienna for' the purpose of destroying the dam that caused the 
waters to flood the meadows. But the task, seemed too great for in- 
dividual owners to accomplish. In 1872, in consequence of a petition 
of many land owners, the Supreme Court appointed commissioners 
for the purpose of draining the Great Meadows. They were Amos 
Hoagland, James Boyd and William L. Johnson; with Abram R. Day 
as their engineer. After spending much money in fruitless efforts to 
enlarge and deepen the Pequest Creek by hand, the task was finally 
accomplished by using a steam dredge, which, operated by contractors 
Stephens and Fagan, opened a channel from Long Bridge to a mile 
below Vienna. To meet the unnecessarily large cost it was necessary to 
assess the 6,000 acres affected as high as twenty-eight dollars per acre. 
Most of the land owners did not care to meet this payment, and the 
commissioners sold the land for terms of n|inety-nine or 999 years to 
new owners. From that time those connected with the meadows have 
met with alternate failure and success. A J. Swayze and E. G. Bulgin, 
Pegg and Davis and others, spent large sums of money In developing 
the new enterprise of raising celery and onions, which now are estab- 
lished on a finely paying basis. Many Hollanders came in from the 
celery lands of Kalamazoo, Michigan, and find here that they can com- 
pete successfully with growers In their old home and have the advantage 
of near markets. 

The Vllet family of Warren County is descended from John 
Van Vllet, who had four sons, named John, Benjamin, Daniel and 
William, The homestead was at Post's Island. The son John lived in 
the stone house at the entrance to Post's Island, and was the father of 
Benjamin Vllet, who was very active for many years at Townsbury. 
A daughter of John Vllet married John Bird, the father of Norman 
Bird, Vllet Bird, Stewart Bird and E. Fowler Bird, who now lives at 
Post's Island. 



Warren County. 183 

Daniel Vliet was a soldier in the Revolution, and both he and his 
brother, William, were called captain from their connection with the 
militia, in which Daniel was major. Daniel owned Post's Island, which 
is still in possession of Mrs. Docia Hoagland, one of his descendants. 
Captain Daniel Vliet was the father of Daniel, William, John and 
another son, who went to California. As a soldier he was entitled to 
a land bounty, and he also purchased the last 600 acres of land remain- 
ing to Samuel Hackett at his death, making him a large property holder. 
He built five substantial stone houses along the Meadows : one near 
Post's Island; two at Long Bridge, one owned by "Doc" Runyon, and 
another by Mrs. Ford Hibler; one near Allamuchy, lately owned by 
Arch Ayers; and one owned by the late Polhemus Cummins. A 
daughter, Sarah, married David Vreeland, the father of Daniel and 
Elizabeth. The latter married E. J. Post, whose estate till 19 10 
owned the original Vliet homestead. William Vliet settled on the 
farm one mile east of Vienna, now owned by Mrs. Carrie Bounds. 

Trimmer's Island, or Roe's Island, and Young's Island, are farms 
of upland In the center of the Great Meadows. 

The only mill in the township was built about 18 15, and was 
long known as Barker's or Gibb's Mill. 

Petersburg, once familiarly known as Catswamp or Caddlngton, 
is a hamlet two miles from Hackettstown. Its public school building 
was once a Christian church. From it grew the Christian Church at 
Vienna, which was built on land given by Jacob Cummins, who also 
gave the parsonage. This church was organized April 14, 1 839, at the 
house of Matthias Cummins, and the house of worship was erected at 
Petersburg at once. In 1858 the new church building was erected at 
Vienna, after which time only occasional services were held at Peters- 
burg. Among the pastors who have served the church may be men- 
tioned the Revs. Nicholas Summerbell, C. A. Beck, John McGlauflIn, 
William D. Lane, and the present pastor. Rev. Mr. Brands. 



CHAPTER XXIV. 



Kmowlton. 



Knowlton Township Is supposed to have derived its name from 
the prevalence of knolls and hills within Its borders. It was set off 
from Oxford in 1764, and originally included also Blalrstown, which 
was erected In 1845, ^"d ^ P^^t of Hope, which was formed in 1839. 
The pioneer families of the southern part of this township are Albert- 
son, Adams, Cummins, Ribble, Engle, Robeson, Allison and Appleman ; 
and of the northern part, Leida, Snyder, Cool, Barnes, Craig, Brands, 
Bartow, Beck and Brugler. 

The schools in this township are at Hainesburg, Mount Pleasant, 
Walnut Corner or Brandsville, Columbia, Chapel Hill and Delaware. 
The pupils at the Water Gap are transported. 

Ramsaysburg is named from James and Adam Ramsay, who 
came from Ireland and settled on land now owned by Mary Van Kirk 
In 1795. It had formerly a post office, three saw mills, two blacksmith 
shops, a Baptist church, an Episcopal church, a hotel, conducted by 
L. Albertson ; a wheelwright shop, a clover mill, a school house and a 
physician. Dr. L. C. Osmun, who was here from 1861 to 1873. I^ 
now has none of these, the name being limited to a small group of 
houses one mile south of Delaware. Joseph Kimenour conducts here 
the Spring Brook Place. 

ABaptist church was built at Ramsaysburg in 1835. the remains of 
which are seen in the large brick building near Hartung's saw mill. It 
flourished until 1 867, when the vicinity of the railroad made It desirable 
to close it as a place of worship. 

The Ramsaysburg Cemetery is on land given for the purpose by 
Robert Allison. There Is also a smaller and older cemetery given by 



Warren County. 185 

him at the site of the old Episcopal church; across the river, too, is a 
cemetery that was early used. 

Delaware, for many years called Delaware Station, has over- 
shadowed Ramsaysburg and taken the growth that would have come 
to the latter owing to the possession of the railway station. It is built 
on a fertile level tract of land between the mouAtain and the river, that 
once formed the farms of Dr. Jabez Gwinnup, who moved here from 
Belvidere in 18 16; and of Cornelius Albertson, whose farmhouse is 
now the Presbyterian parsonage. John I. Blair purchased the farms at 
Delaware in order to secure the right of way for the Warren railroad. 
In 1856 he surveyed the town into streets and lots, and built in i860 
the brick storehouse successively occupied by James R. Dye, James 
Prall & Company, and at present by Charles Quig. The store owned 
by the late Theodore McCollum was built In 1871 by Charles Hartung. 
The Delaware House, built In 1858 by Charles Cool, is now used as a 
residence by Mrs. Ayers, whose family has owned it since 1867. In 
i860 George G. Flummerfelt built the restaurant now owned by Will- 
iam V. Lundy, and called the Lackawanna House. 

Lieutenant James Prall was an active business man here for many 
years. In 1863 he was appointed postmaster, the office being in his 
brick store, where he conducted a business of a hundred thousand dollars 
each year. In 1863 he built the, bending works conducted for several 
years by C. T. James. When he retired he bought the handsome prop- 
erty now occupied by Joseph Kimenour, which he afterwards exchanged 
for the latter's house In Belvidere. Mr. George Prall has long been 
in business here. He now has a large feed store, and ships large quan- 
tities of sand from the farms which he bought of the John I. Blair 
estate. He was the purchaser of the rights of way for the Lackawanna 
cut-off from the Water Gap to Lake Hoptacong. The blacksmith shop 
of Ward Ammerman was started by his father, Albert, In 1866. John 
Hoyt conducts a large factory for making bent hickory shafts, succeed- 
ing Mr. Troxell. 



1 86 Warren County. 

Delaware is the junction point of the New York, Susquehanna and 
Western railroad with the Delaware, Lackawanna and Western. There 
are at present two iron railroad bridges across the Delaware. The first 
was built in 1855, and was abandoned when the new one was erected 
a few years ago. « 

James Hutchinson operates a grist mill built by his father, Will- 
iam F. Hutchinson, in 1850. It took the place of a saw mill that had 
been there for more than half a century. Henry Hartung built the 
saw mill known by his name in 1840. It was rebuilt in 1862 by 
Charles Hartung. 

The St. James Protestant Episcopal Church was originally built 
one-half mile south of its present location, in 1784, on land given by 
Robert Allison for a church, school and cemetery. It was rebuilt of 
stone in 1841, and dedicated by Bishop Doane in 1842. It was burned 
in 1866. Its location is still marked by the headstones near the rail- 
road culvert. The present edifice was built and dedicated by Bishop 
Odenheimer in 1869. The parish is under the care of Rev. George H. 
Young, of Belvidere, who succeeded the Rev. Charles Douglas. 

The Presbyterian Church of Delaware is a branch from the 
Knowlton church, which held its services in the Union Stone Church 
here, along the Delaware, from its organization until 1802, when the 
present Knowlton church was built. In 1871 the new congregation was 
organized, and the church in Ddaware completed in 1875, the Hon. 
John I. Blair giving one-third of the cost of the church and parsonage. 

The first physician in this vicinity was Dr. Gwinnup, who came 
from Belvidere in 18 16 and built the house now owned by Mr. Smith. 
He died in 1843, ^"d is buried at Ramsaysburg, where also lie Drs. 
Larrabee and Leeds, practitioners of long ago at Belvidere and Hope. 
Dr. Gwinnup was a judge of the Court of Common Pleas for Warren 
County. 

Other doctors at Delaware were J. S. Stiger, A. A. Van Horn, 
S. H. Johnson, L. C. Osmun and William C. Allen, now of Blairs- 



Warren County. 187 

town. Jacob Cummins, who was a brother to Christeon Cummins, of 
Asbury, New Jersey, was one of the pioneers of this township. He 
settled on a farm at Ramsaysburg, sold it to Coursen, and he to Henry 
Hartung, and he to Charles Hartung. Jacob, Sr., and Jacob, Jr., 
signed a certificate of organization of the Episcopal Church in 1789. 
The sons of Jacob Cummins were: Matthias, Ijorn 1762, died 1831, 
the father of fourteen children; Dr. Peter, born 1761, died 1856 at 
Hope, New Jersey; Jacob, Jr., Mary, and a Mrs. Cox. Jacob Cum- 
mins, Jr., was the father of George and Shipman, and of four girls. 
He moved from here to Green Township, Sussex County, in 1794. The 
last of the name in the township was Matthias Cummins, who recently 
died. 

Robeson, one of the pioneer settlers, owned the land, later Hutchi- 
son's, at Robeson's Rift, which name commemorates an occurrence 
ending in the death of Elam Robeson, a son of the pioneer, in 1777. 
He and a hired man were cultivating some fields over in Pennsylvania, 
when they were surprised by some Indians, who secured the guns they 
had taken along. The hired man swam the river. Young Robeson 
ran to the rift, and when half way across was shot by the Indians. 

Alexander Adams was one of the pioneer settlers of Knbwlton 
Township. He came from Hunterdon County, married Ann Bellls, 
of another pioneer family, took up 1,700 acres of land, and had seven- 
teen children, to each of whom he gave a farm. One of these was 
Alexander Adams, who was born 1780 and died 18 11. He married 
Phoebe Lundy, of the Quaker family at the Settlement, In 1801. One 
of their three children was Daniel Curlis Adams, who was born In 
1807 and died In 1891. He married Catherine Snyder in 1833, and 
resided two miles from Delaware. Three of his sons were George 
Crockett Adams, who was born in 1834 and died In 1902 ; William S. 
Adams, who was born In 1837 and died In 1864, and John Adams, 
born April 30, 1842 and who married Miss Bair, of Philadelphia. 
George Adams left two children : Katherine Mary and Amy Elizabeth, 



1 88 Warren County. 

of Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania. None of the Adams name are now 
residents of the township. 

The Harris family of Warren County came originally from 
Somersetshire, England. The ancestor of one branch of the family 
was William Harris, who located about 1760 on the farm where Albert 
Silverthorn lives, one mile from Delaware. Thomas, a son of his, was 
a shoemaker who lived near the mountain in Blairstpwn. Thomas 
Harris's son, Nicholas, settled on the George Hartung farm, above 
Ramsaysburg, and was the father of George Harris, a veteran of the 
Civil War, of Belvidere; and of James R. Harris, who was a farmer 
living near Knowlton Church, and was the father of Nicholas Harris, 
Esq., ex-Mayor of Belvidere. Another son of Thomas Harris was 
James, who lived at Swartswood Lake, and was the father of the Rev. 
Abram M. Harris and the Rev. Sylvanus D. Harris. 

Columbia is situated on the Delaware River, at the mouth of the 
Paulins Kill, opposite Portland, Pennsylvania, with which it is con- 
nected by a substantial wooden bridge, which was the only one of its 
kind to withstand the great flood of 1906. The bridge was built by 
the Columbia and Delaware Bridge Company in 1869. It is 796 feet 
long, having four spans of about 200 feet each, and has a passageway 
eighteen feet wide. The place was for a long time known as Kirk- 
bride's, from the fact that Joseph Kirkbride located a large tract of 
land here. He was not a settler. It was also known as Dill's Ferry, 
from a ferry operated for many years a few rods above the site of the 
bridge. The others who operated the ferry were named Decker, Lamb, 
Weller and Ott. 

Columbia has service on the D., L. & W. railroad, the Bangor 
and Portland railroad and the Lehigh and New England railroad, by 
stations in Portland, where also a trolley line begins that connects with 
the Northampton County system of trolleys. The New York, Susque- 
hanna and Western railroad has a station at Columbia. The Lehigh 
and New England railroad crosses the Delaware over a newly con- 



Warren Coun'iy. 189 

structed iron bridge. A mile above the town the Lackawanna Cut-off, 
which will be the main line of the D., L. & W. railroad when com- 
pleted, crosses the Delaware on a reinforced concrete arch bridge of 
the very best design and at a cost of one million dollars. It is one of 
the most beautiful bridges in America. 

Ex-Sheriff Michael Weller has a fine residence along the river. 
Lester Brands and Mr. Weidman conduct the two stores of the place. 

The Paulins Kill offers a fine water power, which is being 
developed by the Eastern Pennsylvania Power Company. A fine dam 
has been built to replace one built a few years ago by another company. 

The Methodist Episcopal Church in this place was built in 1840 
as the result of efforts by two evangelists, Hevenor and Colbert. The 
present pastor is the Rev. Mr. Fowler. 

A block house was built at the mouth of the Paulins Kill at the 
time of the French and Indian war, to guard what was then the 
frontier from attacks by the savages. A number of cavalry horses that 
were pasturing in "the marsh" were overwhelmed by a flood due to a 
cloudburst in 1756. Twenty-five men formed the garrison of a block 
house, who had dogs to go along with the sentries to scent out any 
Indians that might be in ambush and to follow up their track as they 
ran away. 

In 18 12 a German named Francis Myerhoff and thirty of his 
countrymen built a glass factory here, and ran it until 1825, after 
which it changed hands several times and was finally abandoned. 

Across the Delaware River from Columbia is situated the town 
of Portland, Pennsylvania. The site of Portland was early owned by 
Adam Ott as a farm. He sold it in 18 16 to Michael R. Buttz, who 
built a saw mill and apple and rye distillery and a grist mill. He sold 
it all in 1831 to George and John Troxall. 

In Northampton County the first to settle between the Lehigh 
River and the Water Gap were three brothers named Peter, Charles 



190 Warren County. 

and Abram LaBar, who settled at Slateford and made friends with the 
Indians before "the Indian Walk" was made in 1737. 

The Slate quarries at Slateford were opened in 1805 by Hon. 
James M. Porter. 

Hainesburg, on the Padins Kill, four miles from the Delaware 
River, is a station on the N. Y., S. and W. railroad, and will soon have 
the main line of the D., L. & W. railroad passing through it. As a 
town it dates back to 1843, when the Beck brothers acquired the site 
which Andrew Smith had owned for thirty years, and cut it up into 
lots. Hainesburg was early known as Sodom, but the first post office 
was given its present name "In honor of John Haines, who made a 
liberal donation to the school." 

The water power of the Paulins Kill was utilized before the 
Revolution, to run the old stone grist mill, which was destroyed by fire 
in 1908, when owned by Wolf Brothers. In 1840 Jacob Hibler built 
a tannery, which Aaron Keyser owned at the time the Civil War broke 
out, and made a fortune In the rise In leather which occurred during Its 
months-long treatment in vats. Later Levi Albertson owned it. A saw 
mill was built on the site by George Adams in 1881. 

The Mansion House was built by Andrew Smith in 1828, and 
conducted by a Mr. RIdgway. 

The Methodist Episcopal Church was built In 1842 on land 
donated by Andrew Smith, and the parsonage in 1849. The church 
is connected with the Columbia charge, and Is now served by Rev. 
Mr. Fowler. 

The land on both sides of the Paulins Kill, beginning about two 
miles from the Delaware and extending to Walnut Valley, formed a 
tract of 1,100 acres surveyed to John Hyndshaw In 1729. The Beck, 
Brugler, Smith, Bartow, Cowell, Angle, Brands and other families 
settled on this tract, which Hyndshaw owned in part till 1762. 

What is claimed to be the most beautiful reinforced concrete bridge 
in America crosses the Paulins Kill at this point, at a height of one 



Warren County. 191 

hundred and thirty-five feet. It was completed in 191 1 by the 
D., L. & W. railroad for the use of its new main line. 

Zion Chapel is the name of the church, and Chapel Hill the name 
of the school, built near what was once Wolftown, several houses of 
which were on the farm now owned by Mrs. G. W. Cummins. Religious 
services were held at the house of Zenos Everitt until the building of 
the school house in 1836, which was used until a small church was 
built in 1 85 1, which was replaced by the present one in 1875. 

Abram Brands built a fine residence near Zion Chapel, where his 
son-in-law, John Albertson, now resides. The Brands family of War- 
ren County is descended from Jacob Brands, who came from Bucks 
County, Pennsylvania, about 1775, and settled on a farm two miles 
from the Delaware River, owned by his brother-in-law, Aaron Feistler. 
Jacob Brands had one daughter and three sons, namely: David, the 
father of Jacob D., David, James, John B., Mrs. WilHam Blair, Mrs. 
D. Silverthorn and Mrs. D. Brown; Jacob, the father of Daniel B., 
David I., and of three daughters; and James, the father of William, 
John, David, Jacob, and of Mrs. James Lisk. 

Centerville, or Knowlton, is mainly noted for possessing the old 
Knowlton Presbyterian Church, which was built in 1802. The Knowl- 
ton Presbyterian Church was originally organized as the "First English 
and German Congregation in Knowlton," the first records of which are 
of the year 1766. The church came under the care of the New Bruns- 
wick Presbytery in 1775. The following is part of a report made in 
1803 to the Presbytery: 

"The Presbyterians, who were the most numerous, and a consider- 
able number of High Dutch Calvinists, together with a small body of 
Episcopalians, all worshipped in a stone church which had been erected 
many years since, near the banks of the Delaware River, into which 
the clergy and people of all denominations were reciprocally admitted. 
But this house being situated on one side of the township, rendered it 
inconvenient for the great body of the people to attend public worship, 
and that therefore the three congregations before mentioned had sub- 
scribed liberally towards erecting a large and convenient building for 



192 Warren County. 

public worship in a pleasant spot and nearly in the center of the town- 
ship." 

This, the first building on the present site of Knowlton Church, 
was erected in 1802. It is just on the border line between Blairstown 
and Knowlton. A log meeting house occupied a site across the road 
from the present church in the early days. 

Warrington, or Kill Mills, or Knowlton Mills, was once a thriving 
little place one mile from the Delaware River, on the Paulins Kill. 
Here were a mill run by John Titman, and later by H. H. Stires; a 
blacksmith shop, a public house, known as Foster's Hotel, or as Leida's 
Hotel, and a slate mill. None of these are now there. The Titman 
mill was moved by Mr. Stires to Cedar Grove, where it took the place 
of Mackey's mill, that had been destroyed by fire. The water power 
at Warrington was bought by the Eastern Pennsylvania Power Com- 
pany, with the intention of utilizing it for producing electricity. The 
new line of the D., L. & W. railroad passes through the place. 

Polkville is two and a half miles from Columbia, and was named 
for President Polk. It has a store long known as Flummer felt's. Drs. 
Wilson and Bond once practiced here. 

Some years ago an important industry near the Water Gap was 
carried on by the Delaware Water Gap Slate Company, of which the 
moving spirit was Captain Benjamin F. Howey, late Sheriff and mem- 
ber of Congress, who came to Warren County in 1855. The first man 
to carry on successfully a slate business in Warren County was Owen 
Evans, who came from Wales in 1825. A Mr. Schofield started the 
industry in 1820. 

The most conspicuous work of man in this region is the new route 
for the D., L. & W. railroad from Slateford, Pennsylvania, to Lake 
Hopatcong, New Jersey. It is twenty-eight miles long, and will shorten 
the time to New Yorkjby a half hour or more. In Knowlton are the 
bridge over the Delaware River and the viaduct over Paulins Kill Val- 
ley, at Hainesburg, both of reinforced concrete. 



CHAPTER XXV. 



LOPATCONG. 



The territory that is now known as Lopatcong and Phillipsburg 
was organized as Phillipsburg Township in 1851. It retained this 
name until 1862, when Phillipsburg was incorporated as a town, and 
the remainder of the township was called Lopatcong, which included, 
until 1903, that portion of Phillipsburg known as Ingersoll Heights, 
which was then taken from the township and added to the town. 

Low's Hollow is the name of a locality in the eastern end of the 
township, where was built in 1903 a reservoir as a water supply for 
Phillipsburg, but especially for the Ingersoll-Rand Drill Company, 
which was at that time building its splendid plant, which furnishes com- 
pressed air drills wherever man seeks nature's treasures in the ground. 

Delaware Park is a suburb of Phillipsburg, on the macadamized 
road leading to Belvidere. It is only a half mile from the trolley at 
Phillipsburg, and recently organized a fire company with a modern, 
chemical fire extinguisher. 

The largest peach orchards in Warren County are those of Joseph 
Crater's sons, near Uniontown. They contain forty thousand trees. 

The only industry besides the pursuit of agriculture in this town- 
ship is the quarrying of a fine quality of soapstone by Mr. Allen, who 
employs a dozen men. 

Among the early settlers in this township were Matthias Shipman, 
Matthias Brakeley, George Boyer, John Roseberry and Abram DeWitt. 
DeWitt's brothers, Peter and Isaac, settled in Harmony, not far away. 
All of these families have been closely connected with the history of 
Warren County to this day. 



CHAPTER XXV I. 



Mansfield. 



Mansfield Township derives its name from the Presbyterian log 
church built in the old burying ground at the fork in the roads, below 
the new Washington Cemetery. The church was called the Mansfield 
Wood House, and this was the name given to the township when it 
was formed from Greenwich in 1754. The name became Mansfield 
when Warren County was separated from Sussex in 1824. Washing- 
ton was formed from the western part of the township in 1 849, leaving 
Mansfield with its present boundaries. 

A splendid macadamized road runs from east to west through the 
township, from Hackettstown past Newburg, Beattystown, Penwell, 
Stephensburg and Anderson to Washington. It was completed in 1 9 1 1 . 

The Morris and Essex division of the Delaware, Lackawanna 
and Western railroad runs east and west through the township and 
closely paralleling it are the Morris Canal and a trolley line. 

The Musconetcong Creek supplies excellent water powers at 
Beattystown, Stephensburg and Penwell. 

The school houses In Mansfield are at Karrsville, Port Murray, 
Anderson, Egberts, Rockport and Beattystown. 

Beattystown was long known as Beatty's Mills, from the owner 
of the first mill built here, and run by the excellent water power 
furnished by the Musconetcong. The mill was later owned for many 
years by J. B. Fisher, later by Judge White, and is now owned by 
L. T. Labar. 

Stewart Martin was tavern keeper here at the time of the Revolu- 
tion, and fed some' of the captured soldiers of General Burgoyne's 
army, who were on their way from Saratoga to the South. 



Warren County. 195 

The turnpike running through Beattystown was built in 18 12, and 
on it three hundred men, drafted for the war of 18 12, were led by 
Captain Jacob Henry after being fed at the public house then kept by 
Benjamin Leek. The road is now finely macadamized. 

Ziba Osmun, Sr., built in Beattystown the first distillery in Mans- 
field, which distilled only pure apple jack. A grain distillery was 
operated before 1825 by Elisha and Edward Bird. 

James Fisher was the first postmaster of the office established in 
1835, which is now in charge of Jacob Skinner. 

Mr. Williamson gave the land for the first school house. In which 
religious services were held on alternate Sabbaths by Presbyterian and 
Methodist preachers. The Beattystown Presbyterian Church was built 
In 1893, and a fine manse added in 19 10. Rev. Dr. Richardson Gray 
is the pastor of this and of the church at Rockport. Dr. Gray served ten 
years as a medical missionary in India, and in this county was pastor 
at Broadway and at Port Murray before being called to his present 
charge. 

The ancestors of the Marlatt family In Warren County were 
two brothers-, John and William. The latter had a blacksmith shop 
at Beattystown, and had nine sons and five daughters. Their descend- 
ants are scattered widely over the county. 

The Shield's hematite mines near Beattystown have produced 
some very valuable ore, but are not worked at present. They were 
opened in 1870 by Thomas Shields, John C. Miller and John Fisher. 
They are now owned by L. T. Labar and Mrs. Rittner. The Shields 
homestead is owned and occupied by L. T. Labar, who married a 
daughter of Thomas Shields. Mr. Labar Is the most extensive prop- 
erty holder in the vicinity, owning the grist mill with its fine water 
power ; a limestone quarry, at which Reed & Son burn a fine quality of 
lime, and a wood working plant employing a dozen hands. Mr. Labar 
supplies the town with excellent soft water from a spring on the hillside. 

L. T. Labar is a member of the family of that name', three 



196 Warren County. 

brothers of which, Peter, Charles and Abraham, came from France to 
Philadelphia before 1730, and shortly afterward made their way to 
within two miles of the Water Gap, where they settled and were the 
first to clear land between the Lehigh River and the W^ter Gap. 
Peter's son, George, died in 1^874, aged over one hundred and eleven 
years. 

Karrsville is situated near the center of Mansfield, on the Pohat- 
'cong. It is named from the Karrs, who were early settlers here. 

Industries that have flourished here were McCrea's tannery, 
Ketchum's saw mill, William Johnson's saw mill and factory, E. G. 
Barber's distillery and Mitchell's distillery. A half mile down the 
Pohatcong from Karrsville was a grist mill known for many years as 
Larison's Mill. It was previously owned by G. H. Taylor. It was 
destroyed by fire a few years ago and was not rebuilt. 

Timberswamp is a name applied to the Pohatcong Valley between 
Mt. Bethel and Karrsville. It is noted for being the stoniest place in 
the county. The valley is paved with large bowlders, deposited here 
by the great glacier, the icy streams from which washed away the finer 
sand and gravel. 

Jacksonvalley is the name of the Pohatcong Valley between Karrs- 
ville and Washington. Early settlers in it were the Wyckoffs, Gard- 
ners, Wellers, Winters and Vanattas. Vannest's Gap, in the extreme 
northwest corner of Mansfield, allowed passage to the D., L. & W. rail- 
road for some years while the Oxford tunnel was building. The 
Oxford tunnel is a single opening 3,500 feet long for a double track, 
but through it only one train is allowed to pass at a time. The engineer 
in charge of its construction was James Archibald. General Robert 
McAllister was one of the contractors, and it was finished in 1862. 

Port Murray is situated on the Morris Canal and D., L. & W. 
railroad, and until 1911 was the terminus of the trolley line from 
Phillipsburg. It has the only railroad station in the township. The 
town dates from the completion of the canal in 1834. Aaron Bryant 



Warren County. 



197 




An Inclined Plane on the Morris Canal. 



built the first house, Moore Furman the first store, and William Morton 
the first hotel. The principal industry is the terra cotta tile works 
operated by the National Fire Proofing Company, on a deposit of 
clay that is unexcelled for quality and inexhaustible in extent. Mr. J. 
Ford Henry is the manager. It is now manufacturing mainly bricks. 

The Mansfield Baptist Church was organized in 1842. The 
present pastor is the Rev. Robert Chew. 

The Methodist Episcopal Church has as its present pastor the 
Rev. W. L. Hadsell, who also serves the Mt. Bethel church. 

Dr. H. M. Cox was for many years the only physician in the 
township. He later practiced in Washington. Dr. J. H. Smith was 
here for a time and, now Dr. Funk, at Port Murray, is the only prac- 
ticing physician in Mansfield. 

One of the first settlers in the vicinity of Port Murray was Samuel 
Ramsay, who came here before 1800 from Hunterdon County. His 
children were Thomas, John, Samuel, Betsey, Mary and Robert. His 



198 Warren County. 

son, Samuel, and grandson, William, followed him in possession of 
the old homestead. 

Anderson, formerly called Andersontown, is so called from its 
first settler, Joseph Anderson, who came here in 1787. In 1790 he 
built the hotel which he, James Anderson and son, Joseph, conducted 
for many years. They were succeeded by Jonathan Pidcock, and he by 
Mr. Hann. Joseph Anderson built here a distillery that was operated 
from 1 8 10 to 1852. 

Peter Weller, son of Peter and grandson of George Weller, all 
of Washington Township, came to Anderson in 1812 and purchased 
the land ever since known as the Weller farm. His son, Abraham 
W. G. Weller, was born in 18 14, and lived there until his death. The 
Morris Canal, the D., L. & W. railroad and the trolley line pass 
through the farm. 

The Methodist Episcopal Church at Anderson was built in 1859. At 
present it is connected with Mt. Lebanon, and J. L. Brooks is the supply. 

William Little built a grist mill here in 1798. Dr. Beavers began 
practice in Anderson in 1790, and Dr. John Ball practiced here for a 
year before his death in 1838. 

Rockport is on the Morris .Canal, and, while the D., L. & W. rail- 
road passes through the town, it never had a station here. The trolley 
line from Phillipsburg to Hackettstown is expected to reach here 
shortly. The Davis, White, Husselton, Osmun and Stewart families 
have long been identified with this locality, which is mainly agricultural. 
At present there are ten houses in the village. Twenty years ago many 
fine peach orchards could be seen in this vicinity, but they have all dis- 
appeared. 

The Rockport, or Second Mansfield Presbyterian Church, was 
built in 1845, o" l^"d given by David C. Davis. Rev. Mr. Hunt, of 
Schooley's Mountain, was the first pastor. Rev. Richardson Gray is 
the present pastor of this church and also. of the Beattystown Presby- 
terian Church. 



Warren County. 199 

Mount Bethel is so named from the Methodist Episcopal Church 
of that name. The first settler that we know of at this place was Dr. 
Robert Cummins, a surgeon in the Continental army in 1776, who set- 
tled here right after the war. He and Dr. Kennedy, of Johnsonsburg, 
were the only two physicians in the county at that time, and they fre- 
quently traveled twenty or thirty miles making professional calls. They 
traveled, as did every one else, on horseback, with their crude drugs in 
saddlebags. Dr. Cummins was a member of the Scotch-Irish family 
of that name in Montour County, Pennsylvania. He owned large 
tracts of land in this neighborhood. He died leaving no children, and 
is buried in the Mt. Bethel churchyard. 

Residents in Mt. Bethel before 1800 were Andrew Bray, Martin 
Ryerson and Richard Gardner, who had the land at this place surveyed 
to him on a warrant from the proprietors of West Jersey. 

Dr. Cummins induced James Egbert to come to Mount Bethel in 
1790 from Staten Island. He was a tanner by trade, and built a tan- 
nery here and bought a great deal of land. He built the handsome 
stone church and owned it personally, but finally gave it to the Metho- 
dist Episcopal Conference. Hence it was known for many years as 
Egbert's Church, and the name Egberts has about supplanted the earlier 
name of Mount Bethel for the place. James Egbert died in Morris- 
town in 1 846. 

A Baptist church was built here at some time before 18 10, when 
it was bought by Mr. Egbert and used for Methodist Episcopal ser- 
vices until the stone church was built. Bishop Asbury says in his 
journal on May 11, 1 8 1 1 : "Friday to James Egbert's. Bethel Chapel 
has been bought and refitted for the Methodists. I preached in it." 

Penwell, or Pennville, is largely south of the Musconetcong, and 
hence out of Warren County. 

Andrew Miller was the first of the Miller family to settle in War- 
ren County. He came from Newton, New Jersey, and settled on 1,000 
acres of land near Penwell, where he kept an inn before the Revolution. 



200' Warren County. 

It is said that General Washington and his army encamped on this farm 
for a night. The children of Andrew Miller were Daniel, Polly, Susan, 
Philip and Henry. One of Henry's children was Jacob H. Miller, 
father of Sarah Ann, Henry, Mary, Jacob, William H., Emeline, 
Stewart B. and Maude Alice. Another son of Henry Miller was John 
C. Miller, father of Edwin Miller. 

One of the first directors of the County House was Daniel Axford, 
who had a fine farm In the vicinity of the Poor Farm. The Axford 
family is one of the very oldest in Warren County, and the first of the 
family, John Axford, located i,6oo acres of land In the valley between 
the County House and Oxford. Daniel Axford was a great-grandson 
of the first settler, and always took an active interest in the affairs of 
the county. He was twice elected, to the Legislature, and as Sheriff 
from 1836 to 1839 he Inflicted the last penalty of a public whipping In 
the county. He was one of the founders of the Belvidere Bank, and of 
the Farmers' Mutual Fire Insurance Company. His children were 
Mrs. William Drake, Margaret, wife of Rev. R. Van Home, and 
Mrs. Isaac S. Dill. 

The County House, or Poor Farm, of Warren County was pur- 
chased in 1830 of Nathan Sutton for $8,950. It contains 396 acres of 
the finest land in the county. Large buildings, steam heated, give every* 
comfort to the inmates. It Is supplied with water piped from a reservoir 
fed by springs In the neighboring mountains. The stewards of the County 
House have been William McDonald, Samuel Lowder, T. H. Tunison, 
L. H. Martenis, J. R. Teal, Samuel Frome, H. R. Tunison, Mr. Rais- 
ley and Goodward Leida. 

Among the earliest settlers In this part of the township was 
James Bird, the father of Elisha and Edward Bird. A daughter of 
Ellsha Bird married James Fisher, who came here from Virginia in 
1809, and is the father of John B. Fisher, and grandfather of James 
Fisher, Esq., of Hackettstown. 



CHAPTER XXVII. 



Oxford. 



Oxford derives its name from one of the two earliest settlers in 
the township — John Axford, whose name was pronounced Oxford. 
This township was one of the parts into which Greenwich was divided 
in 1754, and from its territory have been formed Knowlton, Blairs- 
town, Hope, Belvidere and a part of Harmony. 

The first settlers in Oxford Township were John Axford, who 
came here in 1726 with George Green, who settled at Green's Pond 
at the same time. They came with a warrant from the proprietors 
authorizing them to locate any unsurveyed land. Tradition has it that 
they climbed a tree on one of the mountains at Oxford, in order to 
better observe the country, and that from this tree Green saw and 
chose the level land at the south end' of the pond, and Axford chose 
1,600 acres of the level land between Oxford and Pequest Furnace, 
his land running from mountain to mountain. Axford built his log 
cabin near the stone spring house, not far from Oxford Depot, since 
known as Charles Scranton's Spring, and George Green built his near 
the pond that has since borne his name, now in Hope Township, but 
for many years in Oxford. These were the first permanent settlers 
that we know of in Warren County. 

Early surveys of land in Oxford were the Colonel John Alford 
tract of 1,250 acres, comprising all of the level farm land from Belvi- 
dere to the foot of Foul Rift, and reaching back to Scott's Mountain, and 
the William Penn tract of 1,250 acres at Belvidere and vicinity, both of 
which were made in October, 17 16. There was also surveyed to Will- 
iam Penn at about the same time 1,735 ^c^^s between the river and 
mountain, and extending from Foul Rift to Hutchison's. A tract 



202 Warrex County. 

including Manunkachunk Mountain and the plain at its foot was sur- 
veyed to John Reading in 17 15. On Scott's Mountain Charles C6xe 
located a tract adjoining the Colonel Alford tract, and extending to the 
tract of John Blair, which included the present Pierson, Becker and 
other farms. 

One of the most conspicuous objects in the topography of Oxford 
is Mount No More, which rises to a height of 1,145 f^^t, standing out 
boldly from the Delaware Valley 800 feet below. It is now owned 
by Mr. Noe Trahan. The highest point of Scott's Mountain is in 
Harmony, just beyond the line of Oxford, where the summit rises to a 
height of 1,259 f^^t- Jsnny Jump Mountain has an elevation of 1,079 
feet, or 680 feet above Green's Pond, in the valley below. 

Oxford, or Oxford Furnace, was for many years the most im- 
portant town in Warren County, for here was the only iron furnace 
for producing the pig iron which the many forges of the early days 
needed in order to make bar iron. After 1809, when the making of 
iron was suspended, Oxford lost its prestige and other towns began to 
excell it. 

The first store in Warren County was started here in 1741 by 
Aaron Depue, long before there were any stores in Easton, Phillips- 
burg or Bethlehem. Mrs. H. A. Croasdale has the old ledger of this 
store, beginning with 1743, and from it we learn that people came 
hither as far as thirty miles to do their trading. Nicolas Dupue sent 
his Indian boys, Mark Anthony and Paxinosa, from Shawnee with 
orders for goods to this store at Oxford. 

The old stone mansion known as the Shippen House was built 
by Jonathan Robeson, about. 1 744, and was transferred to the Shippens 
with the furnace property. In 1804 Major Roberdeau, one of the 
owners of the furnace property, occupied the house, and we read in 
William Johnson's journal that "In the afternoon Mrs. Roberdeau, 
accompanied by Major Roberdeau with the German flute, played on the 



Warren County. 



203 



piano forte and added her vocal powers thereto." This (February, 
1804) is the first mention we find of a piano in Warren County. 

Jonathan Robeson came to Oxford from Quakertown, Hunterdon 
County, and built a charcoal furnace that produced its first iron on 
March 9, 1743. The old furnace still stands, and was actually in 
operation in competition with more modern ones until 1882. At first 
the product was two tons a day, which needed seven hundred bushels of 




Ruin of Old Oxford Furnace. Built by Jonathan Robeson 1741-3. Made Cannon Balls 
for Washington's Army. (By permission of J. Howell, copyright 1909). 

charcoal for its production. By 1800 the furnace was making three 
tons a day, and the use of so much charcoal laid bare all the hills within 
hauling distance, so that the furnace was discontinued between 1809 
and 1 83 1. At the latter date, owing to the completion of the Morris 
Canal, fuel was again obtainable, and the furnace was started up under 
the management of William Henry, Esq., who as early as 1834 used 
the hot blast and obtained a patent for it. The new process enabled the 
old furnace to produce four tons a day, and later, when the stack was 



204 Warren County. 

made higher, the output ran up to ten tons a day. The original output 
of two tons a day was sufficient to supply the forges for miles around 
with pig iron, and allow of shipping some to Philadelphia. For this 
purpose it was carted to the Delaware, at the foot of Foul Rift, and 
carried on Durham boats to TrSnton and Philadelphia. Much of the 
early iron went into chimney backs, which often had a device cast on 
them, such as a lion and unicorn, with the words "Honi, soit.qui mal y 
pense," or "Dieu et Mon Droit." After the Revolution the device 
changed. The earliest date found on a casting made at Oxford is 1755. 
During the Revolution the Tory owners of the New Jersey iron furnaces 
shut down their works, but the iron was needed more than ever for 
cannons and balls, so the new government did not hesitate to take charge 
and operate them by men who were excused from military duty for 
so doing. 

The Iron interests at Oxford were owned by the Robesons until 
about 1780, when Dr. William Shippen, Nicholas Biddle and David 
Roberdeau (afterward surveyor-general of the United States) became 
the owners. It was operated by Conrad Davis from 1806 till 1.809, 
when operations were discontinued until 1831. Before 1831 the 
furnace property had come into possession of Morris Robeson, Esq., 
son of the founder. His widow leased it from 1831 to 1842 to Henry 
Jordan & Company, who manufactured stoves until 1839, when Messrs. 
George W. and Seldon T. Scranton took charge and made mainly car 
wheels. 

Mr. Henry, the inventor of the hot blast for iron furnaces, went 
from Oxford to what is now Scranton, to build, a new furnace in the 
coal fields. His partner dying, he secured assistance from the Scran- 
tons, P. H. Mather, of Easton, and Sanford Grant, of Belvidere, to 
found the great Lackawanna Iron and Coal Company there, and gave 
the city its name, Scranton, which is thus a daughter of Oxford. The 
business at Scranton prospered so that G. W. and S. T. Scranton 
moved to that place, and their brother, Charles, in 1847 took over the 




►-3 

2 



O 



T3 

a 

cs 



o, 
E 
w 

o 
a 



Warren County. 



205 



business at Oxford, buying in 1849 ^^^ the interests of the Hon. Will- 
lam P. Robeson, who then owned the land. In 1858 G. W. and S. T. 
Scranton bought the Oxford property and came back to Oxford, and in 
1863 incorporated the Oxford Iron Company, which built a new 
furnace with a capacity of 12,000 tons a year, a nail factory with an 
output of 240,000 kegs a year, a foundry, and a rolling mill. The 
company became a wreck after the hard times of 1873, ^"d for over 
twenty years Oxford felt the effect of the blow. The Empire Iron and 
£teel Company bought all the property in the nineties, and have 
cper^ted it SMCcessfully ever since. 




Shipper! Mansion, Oxford, N. J. 



Dr. William Shippen, one of the owners of Oxford Furnace, was 
a descendant of Edward Shippen, a Quaker, who fled from England 
to Boston in 1675, ^^'^ ^°^ merely being a Quaker was publicly whip- 
ped. He went to Philadelphia, and was chosen the first Mayor under 
the city charter of 170 1. He was grandfather of Chief Justice Ship- 



2o6 Warren County. 

pen, of Pennsylvania, and amassed a large fortune. For thirty years 
the furnace, when owned by Dr. Shippen, was under the management 
of his son, Joseph, who was a second cousin of Peggy Shippen, who 
married Benedict Arnold. 

The Second Presbyterian Ohurch of Oxford is one of the daugh- 
ters of the old Oxford church at Hazen. It was organized May 8, 
1864. Previous to this a stone chapel had been erected, and this served 
the new congregation as a place of worship until January, 1866, when 
the present church edifice was erected. 

The Oxford Methodist Episcopal Church was organized in 1867, 
and soon a frame building was dedicated. In 1872 the present edifice 
was dedicated. 

The first Catholic church in Warren County was erected at Oxford 
in 1858, by Father McKay. Previous to this it was served by Rev. 
Father McMahon, from Newton. The mission at Oxford was suc- 
cessively under Hampton Junction, Phillipsburg and Washington until 
1873, when it became a separate charge. The church building was 
burned on Easter Sunday, 1900, but was rebuilt in another location in 
1902. Rev. Peter Kelley is in charge of Oxford and Belvidere. 

Buttzville is on the Request, five miles from its mouth. Here the 
D., L. & W. railroad crosses over the L. & H. railroad and the Request 
Creek by a stone triple arch bridge built in 1855 by Anthony Robeson. 
A new culvert is being made by the railroad company to accommodate; 
the tarvi?ted county road from Belvidere, thus eliminating a dangerous 
crcssinf". 

The town is named from the family of M. Robert Buttz, who 
came here about 1839 from Portland, Pennsylvania, and took charge 
of the hotel, and with Zachariah Jones conducted the store. John R. 
Buttz bought the mill property in 1839, and sold it to Elisha Kirkhuff 
in 1854. It has been owned by Linaberry and Anderson, and now by 
Thomas Craig, who has added a wood working factory, and for many 
years has owned the store and been postmaster. 



Warren County. 



207 



A spur from the L. & H. railroad runs from Buttzville to the 
mines of the Basic Iron Company, who operate mines of iron and 
manganese on the lands of John H. Dahlke, the John Hixson estate 
and others. 

The Buttzville Methodist Episcopal Church was built of stone 
about 1840. Before this time services had been held by the itinerant 
ministers in a house in "The Beech," in which a board on two chairs 
served as a seat. During the dedication "the soul of Brother Blamie, 
assistant pastor, passed to his eternal rest." In 1876 the present struc- 
ture was completed, and greatly improved about 1895. The original 
stone building was partially destroyed by fire in the nineties, and was 
finally taken down. 

Bridgeville bore its present name before 1824, although it was 
better known as Hunt's Tavern for some years later than that. The 
tavern was located just south of the present graceful bridge across the- 
Pequest, which was built in 1857, or the year in which the old stone 



^^t^r j'^^Tt 


/. ■ 


% 


"^■1*. '' 


— 




J^ 


« 




^^^H^X^vSl 


jff" 




^p^ 




h£. 


■ ': . -'^-..4 'vftl.aC 




'il 


W^iM 




Ma 


BLv ^"^^a^ 


flj 




j^^n^ 


n 


|HiM| 


Kj|j 






ImmH^ 


HI 




j^^H| 


! 


^9 


^^^^BbBM 


BK 




wSSm 


^H 






^^■^^^^^^^Bpk^^ 


kd 


' 


^3 


1 


^H 


HP^^ 


T^^ 


W^ 


|f^Ea8Sl 


[^ 




tmSfH^Wi 


H 


HHH 


n 






IB 


^^ 


m 




Hi 


3 



Stone Bridge built in 1836 at Bridgeville. 



2o8 Warren County. 

school hou&e was built. A splendid hotel property was built here in 
the days of the stage coach by Sheriff George Titman, about 1846, 
who also began- the development of a magnificent water power, which 
was never completed, owing to his death. A creamery on the Lehigh 
and Hudson River railroad is tjje only present activity besides farming. 
The station on the D., L. & W. railroad is one-half mile from the old 
village, and now has most of the population. Here are a creamery and 
two coal yards. 

The first settlers in this vicinity were George Titman, John Hixson 
and Michael Banghart, all of whom had lived elsewhere in New Jersey 
before settling here. 

George Titman, Jr., the first of the family to settle in Oxford 
Township, was the son of George Titman, who, at eleven years of age, 
came with his father, Lodewick Titman, from Germany, and settled in 
1737 on 400 acres of land at the very foot of the Kittatinny Moun- 
tains, six miles from the Water Gap. George Titman, Jr., settled on 
266 acres of land at Bridgeville, a part of the great Coxe tract, bought 
by his father in 1775. It is now the Wyckoff, West and Flummerfelt 
farms. To this was added in 1793 two hundred acres more of the 
■ Coxe tract, on the south side of the Request Creek. George Titman, 
Jr., died in 1796, and willed the land north of the creek to his son, 
George (3rd.), who was father of Benjamin Titman, Sheriff George 
Titman and Lanah (Wilson). Sheriff George Titman had two sons, 
who lived a great part of their lives at Bridgeville. One was Marshall 
Titman, father of Dr. George Willis Titman, late of Hackettstown, 
and grandfather of Willis Stevens Titman. The other was Jesse Tit- 
man, father of George B. Titman, of Chicago. George Titman, Jr., 
willed the land south of the creek to his son, Jacob Titman, who died in 
' 1864, leaving the property to his son, Gwinnup, who married Mary 
Ann Blair, a cousin to John I. Blair. Gwinnup Titman died in 1889, 
leaving one child, William Blair Titman, who, at the time of his death 
in 1902, was president of the Washington National Bank. His only 



Warren County. 209 

child is Annie Blair Titman, wife of Dr. G. W. Cummins, of Belvi- 
dere, who still owns the old homestead. 

Michael Banghart was one of a family that came from Rhinebeck, 
Germany, to Hunterdon County in 1740. As a shoemaker he earned 
enough to buy a tract of 500 acres of land at Bridgeville, which is now 
the Bartow, Prall, Willett and other farms. He built his log cabin 
where the Prall barn now stands, at Cedar Grove. He was twice mar- 
ried and had ten children. One of his sons and the most noted of the 
family was the Rev. George Banghart, a Methodist itinerant minister, 
who traveled as far as Philadelphia and Wyoming on his circuits, 
preaching in houses, barns or in the woods, to eager listeners. His 
home was across the creek from Cedar Grove mill, and hither came 
young couples for miles to be married by the one they had known so 
well. The greatest gatherings for any purpose in Warren County in 
the early days were the Methodist Camp Meetings held in Butler's 
Grove, only a mile from the Banghart home, and he was one of the 
ablest and most frequent speakers. 

Another son of Michael Banghart was Michael, Jr., born 1774, 
died 1846, who lived all his life on the ancestral acres, having his home 
where his son, Wesley, lived, on the farm now owned by Edward 
Willet. Michael Banghart, Jr., married Elizabeth, daughter of Philip 
Cummins, and was the father of George, Mary (Plummerfelt), Philip, 
Josiah, Wesley, Catherine (Flummerfelt), Sarah (Misner), Jacob, 
Barnabas, Ann (Van Allen) and Bothia (Davidson). 

The Boyer family of Warren County is descended from Michael 
Boyer, father of George Boyer, who was born at Durham, Pennsyl- 
vania, in 1776, and settled in March, 1800, at the Boyer homestead on 
Lopatcong Creek, two miles from its mouth. This property he bought 
of John Welsh, who obtained it from the original owners, John and 
Allan Turner, in 1769. George Boyer was the father of Catherine 
(Shimer) and of Michael and David W. Boyer. Michael Boyer was 
born in 1804, and in 1840 bought a farm on Beaver Brook, above 



210 Warren County; 

Sarepta. His son, John, remained on the homestead farm in Lopat- 
cong, and was father of John C. and Annie E. Boyer. Another son, 
Thomas Boyer, married Ehzabeth Titman, a niece of John I. Blair, 

and is the father of George Boyer, Mrs. Geo-rge Lantz, Mrs. 

Kiefer, Oscar Boyer and Alice *Boyer. Still another son of Michael 
was George Boyer, born 1833, died 1895. He settled on part of the 
Sarepta farm, and was the father of W. Irving Boyer, of Kansas, and 
John D. Boyer. 

John Hixson came to Bridgeville about 1793, from near Trenton, 
where his father, Noah, was a miller. During the Revolution Tories 
raided the mill and bore away all the selves, thus disabling the mill. 
Of John Hixson's five sons, only one remained on the homestead. He 
was also named John, and was the father of Jasper, Samuel, George 
and Richard. 

Hope Station, just west of Bridgeville, was the junction point of 
the D., L. & W. railroad with a stage hne from the uncompleted Penn- 
sylvania railroad at Belvidere for several years. At the dangerous 
crossing several people have lost their lives, the first being Mrs. Wesley 
Banghart; another, Mr. Kinney; and still others, the Devore family in 
1892. 

Sarepta has a fine water power on Beaver Brook, which runs a 
grist mill owned by the estate of John R. Butt.z, who bought it in 1855 
from David Shannon. In early days it was called Raub's Mill, from 
its owners, whose family burying ground is not far from the school 
house. 

P. P. Campbell conducted an Iron foundry here as early as 1825, 
and here Michael B. Bowers learned the trade that resulted in the 
Bowers Foundries at Hackettstown and Washington. Jacob Bowers, 
his father, was a farmer at Bridgeville, where he lived all of his mar- 
ried life, dying In 18 18. 

The stone quarry near Sarepta was operated till recently by in- 



Warren County. 2 1 1 

terests connected with the D., L. & W. railroad as a source of limestone 
for furnaces in Scranton. 

Manunka Chunk tunnel is a double opening through Manunka 
Chunk Mountain, at the west end of which the D., L. & W. railroad 
connects with the Pennsylvania railroad. Along the river and on 
Thomas Island are many fine camping sites, which are enjoyed to the 
fullest from early spring to late autumn. 

The site of the old Oxford meeting house has been occupied by a 
church longer than any other spot in Warren County. Other churches 
may have been built earlier than this one, but they no longer occupy 
their original sites. Meetings had been held for some years before 
any church was built, and the circuit riding minister would preach now 
at this house and now at that. There was a great rivalry between the 
present site and another at the cemetery near White Hall when the 
time came to choose a location for the church. As early as 1744 the 
Rev. James Campbell preached here and baptized some children, and 
the Rev. David Brainerd, the missionary to the Indians at Mount 
Bethel, only six miles away, also preached in this church. In 1 749 the 
congregation came under care of the New Brunswick Presbytery, and 
supplies occupied the pulpit more or less regularly thereafter. 

The first stated pastor in the county was Rev. John Roseborough, 
who was pastor of the first three Presbyterian churches ; viz. : Green- 
wich, Mansfield Wood House and Oxford, from about 1755 to 1769. 
He then became pastor of the two Scotch-Irish communities known as 
Craig's Settlement and Hunter's Settlement. He served these until 
1777, when, in the darkest hour of the Revolution, he led a battalion 
to Washington's camp near Coryell's Ferry, just before the battle of 
Trenton. A few days after the victory he was surprised by some Hes- 
sians at a farm house near Pennington and stabbed to death. 

Supplies served this church from 1769 to 1787, when Rev. Asa 
Dunham became pastor of this church and Mount Bethel, and served 
for ten years. The Rev. Isaac N. Candee was pastor from 1829 till 



212 Warren County. 

1834, when he and a large part of the congregation formed a new 
congregation at Belvidere. Rev. James McWilliams, pastor from 
1842 until 1853, established a parochial school, which became a great 
success under his successor, the Rev. Frederick Knighton, D. D., who 
served for nineteen years and th?n went to Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, 
where he made a fortune in business after he was seventy years of age. 
Rev. John T. Pollock served the church from 1874 until 1883, when 
Rev. S. Nye Hutchinson succeeded him and was pastor for seventeen 
years. Rev. W. B. Sheddan was pastor for four years, or until 1904. 
when the present pastor, Rev. Robert Robinson, was called. 

From the old Oxford church came the Harmony church in 1807, 
the First Presbyterian Church of Belvidere in 1834, and the Oxford 
Second Presbyterian Church in 1863. At least three edifices have 
occupied the site of the old Oxford church. The first was doubtless of 
logs. The predecessor of the present structure was a substantial build- 
ing, the frame of which is now used as a barn near Zion Chapel. The 
brick church was erected in 1850 and redecorated in 19 10. In the 
cemetery adjoining lie many revered dead, among them the father and 
grandfather of John I. Blair. The new cemetery was purchased in 
1850. 

Foul Rift, on the Delaware, just below Belvidere, has long been 
noted as the most dangerous quarter of a mile in the whole river. In 
a survey of 17 16 it is referred to by John Reading as "A rocky falls 
in the Delaware River." On a map of 1769 it bears its present name. 
William Penn early realized its value as a power site, and had sur- 
veyed, to himself five thousand acres in Pennsylvania and a large tract 
in New Jersey at Foul Rift as early as 17 16. The earliest inhabitant 
was Johannes Vannatto, who in 1744 gave a deed for one acre of land 
to Jonathan Robeson. On this acre was built the wharf at which for a 
hundred years the Durham boats received their loads of pig iron for 
shipment to Philadelphia from the furnace at Oxford. 



Warren County. 



213 




Chimney Rock : a natural formation at Foul Rift. 



214 Warren County. 

Nicholas Dupuy, of Pahaquarry, cleared a channel through the 
Rift before 1787 to enable his boats to take grain to market, and Major 
Hoops, of Belvidere, was enlarging the channel in 1790. A safe chan- 
nel for motor boats could be made for its whole length at a small 
expense. At the foot of Foul Rift is a sandy beach, on which a 
numerous summer colony of campers gather and enjoy nature's charms 
to the fullest extent. The most noted event of the season is a carnival 
on the river, at which remarkably beautiful effects are produced. At a 
recent carnival it was said that "Foul Rift has given rise to more notable 
people than any place of Its size in the United States." Here in a log 
cabin near the big spring was born, August 2, 1802, the Hon. John I. 
Blair, noted as the wealthiest native Jerseyman. Here was born Post- 
master-General Hazen, the father of two-cent postage; here William 
Shippen owned 200 acres of land, which he gave to his daughter, 
Susan Blair, whose husband was president of Princeton College. 

Rifton is another name for the vicinity of Foul Rift, and the 
Rifton Mills were built here in 18 14 by William Sherlock, as the first 
and only attempt to utilize the magnificent. water power at this point. 
The mills were destroyed by fire in 1856, and were never rebuilt. At 
that time they were owned by Sherrerd & Company. 

The Lomasson family of this county is descended from one Lam- 
bertson, who settled before the Revolution on Scott's Mountain. One 
of his grandsons, Lawrence Lomerson, settled at Broadway, and another 
grandson, Thomas Lommasson, near Belvidere. Thomas's son, 
George, lived on the farm at the foot of Foul Rift, where was the 
birth place of John I. Blair. His children are Thomas, of Belvidere; 
William, Jesse, of Bangor; Mrs. Carhart and Mrs. Fry. Andrew 
Lomasson, another son of Thomas, lived on the George Fitts farm, 
near Shoemaker's mine, and was the father of Sheriff George Lomas- 
son, John, James, Andrew and Marshall. 

Two brothers, George and James Butler, came from Scotland and 
early settled in, Oxford Township. James served in the Revolution and 



Warren County. 215 

never came back home. George lived for a time at Foul Rift, where 
he married Isabella McMurtrle, daughter of Abram McMurtrle, who 
was a son of Joseph McMurtrle, one of the earliest land owners of the 
township. In 1828 George Butler bought of Morris Croxall a tract 
of 209 acres extending for a half-mile along the BrldgevIUe road, just 
east of Belvldere. At that time It was all covered with virgin forest, 
which was not all cleared away until i860. A log house was the only 
dwelling on the property. In It Morris Croxall lived with "Old Ike," 
a negro coachman. Johnson Butler tore down the old log structure in 
1 861 and built on Its site the house at the entrance to the Massenat 
property. The stone barn near it was built in 1830. In 1844 most of 
the property was sold to Charles Wurts, who built the mansion shortly 
thereafter. The property came Into the possession of Charles Stewart 
Wurtz and of his brother-in-law, Robert S. Kennedy, from whose heir 
it was purchased In 1900 by Mrs. Morris, now Mrs. Massenat. The 
whole forms one of the finest country estates In Warren County. 

The McMurtrle family was one of the earliest resident land 
owners in the vicinity of Belvldere. Joseph McMurtrle bought the 
Alford tract in 1746. This Included all the farms. to the south of Belvl- 
dere now owned by Lance, Mackey, Titman, Roseberry, McMurtrle, 
Wyckoff, Snyder, FItts, Smith and Shoemaker. This land in part passed 
by direct descent to Joseph's son, Abram McMurtrle, to his son, James, 
and to his son, Abram, the estate of whose sons George K. and Abram 
still own the old homestead. George McMurtrle, Jr., is a son of 
George K. McMurtrle, and is associated with Oscar H. McMurtrle, a 
distant relative, in the flour mills at Belvldere, established by his grand- 
father, Abram. 

The ancestor of the Burd family settled on Scott's Mountain right 
after the Revolution. He had been connected with the British army, 
and chose this strong Tory neighborhood for that reason. His son, 
Elisha, was grandfather of Dr. Burd, of Belvldere. 

One of the earliest to settle In this township was Alexander White, 



2i6 Warren County. 

who, about 1760, donated the land for the cemetery near his hand- 
some stone mansion, which is still standing. He had three sons — Will- 
iam, Alexander and Samuel. Lieutenant William White by primo- 
geniture inherited the family mansion and was, with Captain John 
McMurtrie, the first of Sussex (County to join the Continental army 
at Boston after the battle of Bunker Hill. His younger brother, 
Samuel (a lad under age) accompanied him and lost his life in the 
war, while William wrecked his fortune, and "White Hall" passed into 
the hands of his brother. Colonel Alexander White. 

Oxford Township claims credit for the first two soldiers from our 
county to join the Revolution; — Captain John McMurtrie and Lieu- 
tenant William White, both of whom were on the Sussex Committee of 
Safety, and joined the army at Boston right after the battle of Bunker 
Hill. White was the son of Alexander White, who bought in 1762 a 
part of the Van Etten tract of land, which has ever since been known 
by his name. He built a handsome stone residence, which is still stand- 
ing, called "White Hall." It is on the new macadam road between 
Belvidere and Roxburg. Here General Washington- is said to have 
stopped on his journey from the Sun Inn, at Bethlehem, to his encamp- 
ment at Morristown, and from the balcony William Henry Harrison 
delivered a presidential campaign speech. It will be remembered that 
General Harrison married a daughter of John Cleve Symmes, of 
Sussex County. 

Captain Joseph Mackey was an early settler in the vicinity of 
Roxburg, and was captain in the First Regiment of Sussex County dur- 
ing the Revolution. After the war he became possessed of a great deal 
of real estate mostly in Oxford, which he left to his children, who are 
John, Joseph, William, Jeremiah, Lewis, James, Mrs. Hazel, Mrs. 
Michael Roseberry, Mrs. William Roseberry and Mrs. Lowe Miller. 
Some of his real estate is still owned by his descendants. 

Aaron Prall, the ancestor of the family in Warren County, came 



Warren County. 217 

to Scott's Mountain from Amwell, Hunterdon County. He had six 
children, one of whom was Aaron, Jr., who was father of Thomas 
Prall, who lived at Bridgeville and Hazen. Thomas had nine children. 
These were Mrs. Mary Jones, William Prall, John Clark Prall, Mrs. 
Rebecca Smith, Lieutenant James Prall, Mrs. Margaret Smith, Hartley 
B. Prall and George T. Prall. 



CHAPTER XXVIII. 



Pa%[AQUARRY. 

Pahaquarry derives its name from Pahaqualong the Indian name 
for the mountain which forms its southern boundary. Before the 
formation of Warren "County it was a part of Walpack, which was a 
township before 1738, when we find that Thomas Quick, Tunis Quick, 
Abraham Vanawken and Cornelius Aducher, from Walpack, voted in 
Hunterdon County (of which Warren then formed a part) for repre- 
sentatives to serve in the General Assembly. Pahaquarry as a township 
dates from November 20, 1824, when Warren was separated from 
Sussex. Pahaquarry, with the exception of a narrow strip of land lying 
along the Delaware, is occupied by the Blue Mountains, or Kittatinny 
Mountains, which are here composed of two ranges. One of these is 
Mount Tammany, named after the celebrated Delaware chieftain 
Tamenund, who also has given his name to a number of societies, the 
most famous of which is Tammany Hall, in New York. Mount Tam- 
many is six miles in length a,nd, at its western extremity, guards the 
southern entrance to the Water Gap, together with Mount Minsi, on 
the opposite side. Mount Tammany rises from a height of 1,500 feet 
at the Gap to 1,625 feet two miles further east, and ismore than one 
hundred feet higher than Mount Minsi, whose elevation is 1,500 feet. 
The southern slope of Mount Tammany seems almost perpendicular, 
falling as much as 600 feet to one-eighth of z mile of horizontal 
measurement. 

Blockade Mountain is north of Mount Tammany, and is con- 
tinuous with the main range of the Blue Mountains, which extend north- 
eastward into the State of New York and southwestward through Penn- 
sylvania. 



Warren County. 219 

111 general the Kittatiniig Mounutain slopes precipitately to the 
southeast and more gently to the northwest. 

Buckwood Park is a game preserve of 8,000 acres, comprising 
the western half of Pahaquarry. It covers Blockade Mountain for six 
miles and takes in all of Mount Tammany. It is enclosed by eleven 
miles of fencing eight feet high, containing twenty strands of wire. 
The land for it was purchased by Mr. Worthington in 1890. Several 
hundred deer now roam at will through the many miles of forest- 
covered slopes or graze on the more open plateau. 

A fine residence in the park was occupied by Mr. Worthington 
until he purchased of the estate of Robert Dupui the old stone mansion 
now called Manwalamink, and the hundreds of acres of level land at- 
tached to it, including Manwalamink and Shawnee islands, all in Penn- 
sylvania, opposite to Buckwood Park. As an entertainer, Mr. Charles C. 
Worthington Is a worthy successor to the venerable Dupui, who, in 
1730, entertained so hospitably the Pennsylvania officials sent for the 
purpose of getting evidence to indict him for "forcible entry and de- 
tainer," that, instead, they made a survey of his plantation so that they 
might protect him in the possession of it, and William Allen himself, 
father-in-law of Governor Penn, gave to Nicholas Dupui in 1730 and 
1733 two deeds for the land that Dupui had already bought of the 
Indians in 1727. The Penns have been wrongly blamed for this gen- 
erous action. With this deed as a basis. It was claimed they had sold 
lands in the Minisink before these had been purchased from the Indians. 
It is true that the "Indian Walk," which gave the Minisinks to the 
proprietaries, was not made until 1737, but it Is not true that the Indians 
were wronged in any way by this deed from Allen to Dupui. 

Among the many treasures In Manwalamink are the original 
models of the "Monitor" and of the screw propeller presented to 
Henry B. Worthington by John Ericsson, the inventor. 

All of the mountain in Pahaquarry Is well wooded, and some of 
the trees in Buckwood Park are like those of a virgin forest. One hun- 



2 20 Warren County. 

dred thousand trees, mostly evergreens, have been planted by Mr. 
Worthington, according to the latest ideas of forestry on land that was 
once farmed between Buckwood Park and the river. 

On a level plateau at the summit of the mountain lie two very 
pretty lakes. One, Buckwood l^ake (formerly called Sunfish Pond), 
is a mile long, a half-mile wide, and lies 1,378 feet above sea level; the 
other is Catfish Pond, about half as long and wide, and is 1,181 feet 
above the ocean. 

Across the river from Buckwood Park, and four miles from the 
Water Gap, is the village of Shawnee, most of which forms a part of 
the great estate which Mr. Worthington and his associates own. While 
they intend to leave the Jersey shore in all the glory of its original 
wildness, on the Pennsylvania side, at Shawnee, they are planning 
under the name of the Rossiter Realty Company, to have others also 
enjoy the beauty of location. Here they are erecting a hotel called 
Buckwood Inn, and are building many bungalows of artistic design. 

Manwalamink Island is the upper of two islands at Shawnee, each 
of which lies between the Delaware River and a Binnie Kill, which is a 
local word, meaning, according to Mr. Worthington, Minnow Stream. It 
contains 180 acres of fertile level land, and on it is the stump, six feet 
across, of the old Indian Council Tree, which was killed by lightning 
many years ago. Near it is a very large chestnut tree fully 175 years 
old, which must also have sheltered the Indians in their councils. 
Directly south of this tree was an Indian burying ground, out of which, 
during the flood of 1903, several skulls and some arrowheads were 
washed. Between Manwalamink and Shawnee islands is the original 
crossing place for the Indian paths from the Pocono to the New Jersey 
Minisink. Here for many years the river was forded by Indians and 
by travelers coming down the old mine road. Later Walker's ferry 
was established at this point, and is still operated by Mr. Worthington 
as a private ferry. 

The earliest works of man in the State of New Jersey are the 



Warren County. 221 

old mine holes in Pahaquarry. They are situated in the gully of Mine 
Brook, and within recent years have been reopened and explored. The 
one recently entered was about seven feet high, six -feet wide, and ex- 
tended horizontally into the hill about one hundred feet, then ran to 
the right about fifty feet, and then to the left another fifty feet. There 
are several similar openings, and all seem to be exploratory in character. 
Before any extensive work was done they were abandoned. The only 
record found that may refer to these mines is in the "Documentary 
History of New York," which says that "Claaus De Ruyter exhibited 
in Amsterdam, Holland, specimens of copper ore taken from the Mini- 
sinks in America," in 1659. This record, slight as It is, supports all the 
traditions respecting the old mine road and the mine holes at the end 
of it. These are that, when this region was a part of New Netherlands, 
these mines were worked by a company of Hollanders, who hauled 
their ore to Esopus and shipped it to Holland, but abandoned the whole 
venture when the English conquered the country in 1664. None of the 
miners had been here for years when the first settlers came down the 
mine road, and those settlers were unable in any way to find out who 
had dug the holes, what ore they found, or when they had worked here. 
To reach the mines a road was constructed from Esopus, on the Hudson 
River, up the valley of a small stream and down the valley of another 
stream to Port Jervis, and thence along the Delaware River to the 
mines, about seven miles from the Water Gap. The road probably 
followed an earlier Indian path, and is one hundred miles in length. It 
was the earliest road of like extent to be built in America, and for 
scores of years it was the preferred route from New England to Phila- 
delphia and the South. The old mine road could not well have been 
built before Esopus was settled in 1652, and it was probably built be- 
tween that date and 1659, when "Claaus De Ruyter exhibited his speci- 
mens of copper ore." It was surely built and the mines abandoned 
by 1664, when the English made a conquest of the New Netherlands, 
for after this the Dutch would have no incentive to work the mines, as 



222 Warren County. 

a heavy percentage of the Mutput would be claimed for the English 
crown. 

There is no question that the first settlers to come down the Dela- 
ware as far- as Warren County after the early miners left were the 
family of Nicolaes Dupui, who followed the old mine road to its end, 
and in the vicinity found improvements in the shape of apple orchards 
and cleared land, which they bought of the Indians then in possession 
of them. Two Indians, Waugoanlenneggea and Pennogue, gave a 
deed to Nicolas Dupui in 1727 for land situated four miles above the 
Water Gap. The deed is now in possession of the Pennsylvania His- 
torical Society. Nicolaes Dupui received his title to the islands in the 
Delaware and the land at Shawnee from William Allen by two deeds 
bearing date September 10, 1730, and September 10, 1733. The land 
was originally surveyed by N. Scull in 1730, on a warrant dated No- 
vember 16, 1727, which warrant was transferred by William Penn (the 
grandson of William Penn) to William Allen on August 29, 1728. 

On this land Nicolaes Dupui and his sons, Samuel, Daniel, Aaron 
and Benjamin, lived. In 1753, when eighty-three years of age, Nicolaes 
gave a deed for the Great Shawna Island and forty acres "Where the 
new dwelling house, barns, orchards and grist mill stands," to Daniel 
Dupui. Samuel occupied the homestead, as did his son, Nicolas, 
and his descendants after him, until Robert Dupui, the last of the line, 
died, and the property was bought by the present owner, Mr. C. C. 
Worthington. Aaron Dupui kept the first store in Warren County at 
Oxford Furnace, in 1741. His old account book is still in the posses- 
sion of one of his descendants, Mrs. H. A- Croasdale, of the River 
Farm, at the Delaware Water Gap. 

Nicholas Dupui, who arrived at New Amsterdam in October, 
1662, from Artois, France, is the ancestor of all of the name Dupui, 
Dupuis, Depue or Depew in New York, New Jersey and Pennsylvania, 
including the Hon. Chauncey M. Depew. Nicholas died at New York 



Warren County. 223 

in 1 69 1, leaving five children, who were John, Moses, Aaron, Susannah 
and Nicholas, the last being the settler at Shawnee. 

The Depues of Warren and Northampton counties are descended 
from Moses, who settled on a large tract of land in Ulster County, 
New York, probably before his father's death in 1691, and became the 
most prominent man in that county. Of his children two, Moses and 
Benjamin, settled near Flat Brook. At present there are living in 
Pahaquarry, William Depue, son of Moses, who died at Calno in 1909, 
and Norman and Cloyd Depue, sons of Daniel,' who died at Calno in 
19 10. Moses and Daniel were sons of John Depue, who lived near 
Calno all his life. 

With regard to the Minisinks in general, we have evidence 
furnished by the visit of Arent Schuyler, in 1 694, that at that time no 
white settlers were known in this region. The Governor of New York, 
who thought the Minisinks belonged to that State, learning that the 
French and French Indians from Canada had taken possession of the 
Minisinks, or were about to do so, sent Arent Schuyler to investigate. 
He went to Port Jervis and down the river to the Indian settlement, 
where he met some Indian sachems, who said they had seen no French 
or French Indians, and would let the Governor know at once if any 
appeared. Schuyler does not report meeting any white men in this 
visit to the Minisinks in 1694. In 1697 he patented a tract of 1,000 
acres In the territory he had visited, and as that was the first patent for 
lands in the Minisinks, it Is fair to asume that actual settlers did not 
come until some time later yet than this. In 1704 the Minisink patent 
was issued to a number of people. In 17 18 Joseph KIrkbride located 
1,200 acres at Flatbrook. In 173 1 John Black purchased 600 
acres on the Flat Brook, which were sold to John Cleve Symmes in 
1760. These examples give an accurate idea of the date of the earliest 
locations of land in the Minisink. In John Reading's journal, in pos- 
session of the New Jersey Historical Society, we find that in 17 19 set- 
tlements extended down as far as Minisink, and that in the seven towns 



224 Warren County. 

on the Delaware and Macacamac branch there were twenty-six married 
couples, sixty-one unmarried males, and fifty-six unmarried females. 

The first family to settle permanently in the Minisinks in Warren 
County was that of Colonel Abram Van Campen, who purchased from 
the heirs of George Hutchesoif, of New York, on March 8, 1732, a 
tract of land called by the Indians Pahaqualin, containing by estimation 
1,666 acres, for the sum of 735 pounds. This tract included all the 
level land in the upper part of Pahaquarry for seven miles, its upper 
limit being at a rift in the Delaware called Sombo, one mile south of 
Flatbrookville. Colonel Abram Van Campen had four sons, named 
Benjamin, Moses, Abram and John. Of these, Benjamin and Moses 
had no children. Abram, Jr., the eldest son, had two sons named 
James and Abram (3rd.). James was the father of Abram, Elijah, 
Moses and Henry. Abram (3r,d.) had one son, Moses. 

Three hundred acres of the original 1,666-acre tract are still owned 
by Theron Van Campen and his sister, Mrs. John Lamb, who are chil- 
dren of Benjamin, and grandchildren of Moses Van Campen. 

John Van Campen, son of Colonel Abram, was father of Abram, 
who had no sons. Catherine Van Campen, a daughter of Colonel 
Abram, married Benjamin Depue and, moving to Mt. Bethel Town- 
ship, in Northampton County, became the ancestor of many named De- 
pue in that region and in Warren County. Some members of the Van 
Campen family settled every farm from the old mine holes to the Sussex 
County line, and many have also lived in Sussex County. 

Among the settlers of the Minisink before 1780 were those named 
Depui, Van Campen, Van Auken, Van Etten, Westbrook, Brink, 
Shoemaker, De Witt, Brodhead, Hyndshaw, Stroud, Quick, Cortright, 
Rosenkranz, Transue, Storm, Middaugh, Dingman, Decker, LaBar, 
Detrick and Miller. Shortly after 1800 some families came from 
Bucks County to Pahaquarry. Among them were John Gariss and 
Yost Yetter, who settled at Flatbrookville. The latter's son, Jacob 
Yetter, is father to Andrew Yetter, of Blairstown, whither he moved 



Warren County. 225 

in 1852, and has become one of the most influential men of the region. 
Many descendants of John Gariss are still living in the vicinity of 
Millbrook. 

The schools in this township are at Millbrook, Calno, and Dun- 
field. 

Brotzmansville was once a village opposite Shawnee, but is now 
only a memory. Here is the dwelling of the Fish and Game Warden 
for Warren County, Mr. Harry E. Cudney, who is also overseer of 
Buckwood Park. 

Dimmick's Ferry, near the old mine holes, has been conducted by 
members of the family of that name for many years. 

Dunfield at one time bore the name which has been reserved since 
for the larger town across the river called the Delaware Water Gap. 
The mountain scenery in this vicinity is the finest in the East, and has the 
additional advantage of being very easy of access from our large cities. 
The Water Gap forms a great natural passageway through the moun- 
tains, which is utilized on the western side by the Delaware, Lacka- 
wanna and Western railroad, and on the eastern side by the New York, 
Susquehanna and Western. The latter crosses the Delaware just above 
the Gap, on an iron bridge. The extreme end of Blockade Moun- 
tain, which, with Mount Minsi and Mount Tammany, encloses 
the Water Gap, is a park of several hundred acres, in which is situated 
the Karamac Inn, from which one of the. finest views in America is 
obtained. 



CHAPTER XXIX. 



Phillipsburg. 
(Written with the assistance of Dr. John H. Griffith.) 

Phillipsburg was first organized as a township in 1851, and at 
that time included Lopatcong, which was not set off until March 8, 
1 861, when Phillipsburg was incorporated as a town. An addition 
was made from Lopatcong to Phillipsburg in 1903. 

Phillipsburg is on the site of an Indian village called Chintewink, 
which is still the name of one of its alleys. The present name is vari- 
ously ascribed to an Indian chief Philip, who lived in the village, and to 
a family named Phillips who settled there later. It is one of the five 
towns in the county that had a name in 1769, the others being Oxford, 
Changewater, Halketstown and Bloomsbury. In "Hallesche Nach- 
richten, published in 1787, we read (p. iii) : "Phillipsburg was an 
Indian town as early as 1654. The name Phillipsburg is found on a 
map of 1749." It also appears on a map published by Evans in 1755. 
The burden of evidence seems to favor the derivation of the name from 
that of an extensive land owner here named William Phillips, who 
was located in the neighborhood as early as 1735. His daughter Mar- 
garet married John Roseberry, and a son, William Phillips, was the 
most prominent man in Phillipsburg. 

In 171 5 Daniel Coxe, of Burlington, received a warrant to locate 
1250 acres of land opposite to "The Forks of the Delaware River," 
the Lehigh being considered the west branch of the Delaware. The 
Delaware river frontage in this Daniel Coxe tract ran from just above 
the square in Phillipsburg to the Andover Furnace. In 1769 the heirs 
of Coxe conveyed 500 acres of the southwest part of this tract to John 



Warren County. 



22' 



Feith (Feit), and it is described as adjoining the lands of Peter Ken- 
ney and John Roseberry. In 1772 the Coxe heirs sold 200 acres to 
John Roseberry, and 228 acres to Michael Roseberry, in 1779. This 
tract ran from Hudson Street to the Andover Furnace, then over one 
mile back to John Feit's tract and thence along the Feit, Kinney and 
John Roseberry tracts, and along Hudson Street to the river. On 
Michael Roseberry's death this tract became the property of his 
brother Joseph, who sold it to John Roseberry in 1784. 




Dwelling built in 1785, by John Roseberry, one of the earliest residents of Phillipsburg. 
It is now used as a blacksmith shop. 



The site of the town of Phillipsburg seems to have fallen to the 
lot of John Tabor Kempe, one of the Coxe heirs and a royalist, and it 
was confiscated and sold in '1789 by James Hyndshaw, high sheriff, 
to Jacob Arndt Jr., of Easton. The description says, "Including the 



22 8 Warren County. 

town of Phillipsburg," containing 91 ^ acres. To the east it ran along 
William Phillip's land 40 chains 50 links, to the north along the ferry 
land 14 chains and 50 links, thence down the river 35 chains and 66 
links to John Roseberry's land, and along his land, about where Hud- 
son Street is, for a distance of 40 chains. This tract embraced the 
whole of the ancient town of Phillipsburg as laid out by the Coxes. 
On January 5, 1793, Jacob Arndt Jr. sold the town of Phillipsburg as 
above described for £106 15s. to Philip Seager and Jacob Reese. In 
neither of these deeds is there a single reservation, indicating appar- 
ently no previous purchasers of town lots. Seager and Reese made a , 
division of the town whereby Reese got two tracts in the northern part, 
containing respectively 36^ acres and 13 acres, and Seager took the 
southern portion. Reese sold the 13-acre tract to Thomas BuHman, 
who gave or sold the entrance to the Delaware bridge at the square in 
1800. In 1739 David Martin was given a grant to keep a ferry across 
the Delaware at some point between Lopatcong creek and the Mus- 
conetcong creek. The grant included 105 acres of land above the Coxe 
tract, or Phillipsburg town line. In 1742 the Martin ferry across the 
river was but a canoe to take over people while their horses swam 
alongside. At that time the site of Easton was covered with woods 
and brush, and the only road to Bethlehem was an Indian path. 

From a letter written by William Parsons, ex-surveyor-general of 
Pennsylvania, and a resident of Easton, we learn that in 1752 there 
were eleven families in Easton, and that the Jersey side of the river was 
more settled opposite the Forks than the Pennsylvania side. The letter 
mentions Mr. John Cox's project of laying out a town on his land 
adjoining Mr. Martin's land opposite Easton. By 1755 Easton had 
grown to be a town of forty dwellings, including five taverns. By 1763 
the town had sixty-three dwellings, including six taverns. 

Rev. Mr. Peters bought the Martin tract and ferry rights and sold 
them to Richard Penn, and he sold them to Jacob Arndt Sr., who in 
1794 conveyed the 105 acres to Lewis Goch, and he to Thomas Bull- 



Warren County. 229 

man, in 1798. Richard Peters also bought of Joseph Turner, In 1754, 
41 1 acres of land to the north of the ferry land, which gave him control 
of the river front as far as Marble Mountain. This was not a purchase 
friendly to the interests of Phillipsburg, but was made by Peters at the 
instance of Richard Penn, to whom he conveyed both properties for the 
purpose of holding the town of Phillipsburg in check and favoring the 
growth of the new town they had laid out across the river and called 
Easton. The 41 1 acres came into the possession of the Howell family 
in 1809. 

About 1802 the New Brunswick turnpike was built to Union 
Square. The Washington turnpike, called the Morris turnpike, was 
incorporated in 1806 and built soon thereafter. Both of these turn- 
pikes followed roads that had been established for half a century or 
more. 

The oldest house now standing in Phillipsburg is No. 119 South 
Main street. .It was built by a Mr. Roseberry in 1750. The first house 
built on the hill, in the third ward, was erected by John H. Leida in 
1858, and is now No. 233 Chambers street. Shortly after 1800, 
Thomas Bullman built a tavern on Union Square, and later sold it to 
an Albright, so that it was known for many years as Albright's tavern. 
In 1 8 10 John P. Roseberry built the present Union Square Hotel, 
which is now ably conducted by David W. Smith. The Lee House 
was built in 1 8 1 1 for a store kept by John Mixsell. Its present propri- 
etor is M. O. J. Hile. Other hotels are the Phillipsburg Hotel, owned 
by Harry Smith; Hotel Columbia, by W. H. Carey; and the American 
House, on Jefferson street. 

"On the 1 6th day of December, 1776, a portion of the American 
Army under General John Sullivan passed through Phillipsburg on 
their way to Trenton to join Washington, crossed the Delaware river 
above where the bridge now stands, and encamped over night near 
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. 

"In May, 1779, General Sullivan again came this way, by order of 
General Washington, and rendezvoused in Easton, Pennsylvania, pre- 



230 Warren County. 

paratory to his march to Wyoming Valley to avenge the massacre of the 
year before at that place. General William Maxwell, of Greenwich 
township, with the New Jersey brigade accompanied General Sullivan." 

The first bridge across the Delaware at this point was erected 
about 1 800, and was washed away by a freshet in a few years. In 1 805 
the Easton Delaware Bridge Company raised by a lottery enough 
money to build a wooden arch bridge in the style of the one now at 
Columbia, which served for nearly a century, when it was torn down 
and the present iron one was erected in its place in 1895. 

One hundred years ago, in 181 1, Phillipsburg contained fifteen 
families, named Reese, Roseberry, Ramsey, Mixsell, Myers, Bullman, 
Albright, Seager, Barnes, Beers, Carpenter, Bidleman, Skillman, Phil- 
lips and Shaup. The completion of the Morris Canal in 1832 bene- 
fitted the town somewhat, but not to the extent expected. In 1820 
Phillipsburg contained thirty or more houses, scattered for a mile along 
the Sussex road, now North Main street, and the New Brunswick turn- 
pike, or George street, now partly South Main street. The first brick 
building in town was erected by Garret Cook in 1845. There were no 
more than fifty dwellings here in 1847, and the town had no post- 
office until 1854, while Easton's post-office was established March 
20, 1793. The first important growth began with the building of 
the New Jersey Central railroad, which was completed to Phillips- 
burg on July I, 1852. On July 2d the first passenger train of eight 
cars arrived amid great rejoicing. John Alpaugh, now residing at 
Phillipsburg, and aged eighty-five, .was fireman on this first train. 

The Phillipsburg Land Company, formed in 1853, purchased the 
Roseberry farm, laid it out in lots, and induced many people to settle in 
the town. "In all, they bought three hundred acres, laid out eleven 
hundred and thirty lots, and paid for lands $55,000." Since 1853 the 
growth of Phillipsburg, in population, wealth and diversity of indus- 
tries has been rapid and continuous. Phillipsburg was incorporated as 
a town on March 8, 1861. 



Warren County. 231 

The first election in the newly incorporated town was held in the 
Union Square Hotel, then conducted by Joseph Fisher, on April 8, 
1 86 1, and Charles Sitgreaves was chosen as the first Mayor. 

"The greatest railroad strike in the history of the State took place 
in 1877, with Phillipsburg as provisional headquarters for two or three 
weeks, with General W. J. Sewall in command of the State troops. 

"October 21, 1892, the Columbian parade took place, and was the 
greatest industrial exhibition ever given in this community; 183 large 
and magnificent floats were in line taking three hours to pass a given 
point." 

On May 10, 1906, the Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument was dedi- 
cated and unveiled on the grounds of the'Lovell School building, in 
the presence of Governor Edward C. Stokes, the G. A. R., and the 
Second Regiment of the National Guard of New Jersey. The total 
height of the monument is about 48 feet, and it cost $5,500. 

"The three mortars around the monument and the one on the 
soldiers' plot in the cemetery are the property of Tolmie Post. They 
were a donation made by the War Department through a special act 
of Congress. All of these mortars have a record; two were in the 
siege at Vicksburg, Miss., during the engagements there in 1862 and 
1863 ; one was captured and recaptured three times at Island No. 10; 
one was at the front in the engagement at Fredericksburg, Va. 

"On July 4, 1870, General Theodore Runyon dedicated a Soldiers' 
and Sailors' Monument in the Phillipsburg Cemetery, which was after- 
wards removed under very peculiar conditions which constituted the 
highest grade of vandalism ever permitted by the loyal citizens of an 
enlightened community." 

Phillipsburg celebrated its fiftieth anniversary by an "Old Home 
Week" in the first week of July, 191 1. 

The population increased rapidly from 1,500 in i860 to 5,950 in 
1870, 7,176 in 1881, 9,500 in 1899 and 14,000 in 191 1. There are 
now six wards, and the town is governed by a mayor, eighteen council- 
men, and a police force of eight men. 

The early church records give us some of our first authentic dates 



232 Warren County. 

in the history of this vicinity. The "Hallesche Nachrichten" makes 
mention of Lutheran services at the Forks of the Delaware as early as 
1733. The Presbytery of New Brunswick sent missionaries in 1737 to 
the Forks of the Delaware, or, as the Indians called it, Lechauwitung. 
A log meetinghouse was built on what is now Brainard street, near the 
Morris and Essex freight depot at a very early date and a cemetery is 
remembered as being on the hill between it and the river. This is 
undoubtedly the church referred to in several old surveys, one of which 
reads "May 27, 1762, Surveyed a Lott in Phillipsburg, Whereon is a 
Lutheran Church and Burying Ground." This earliest church became 
but a memory, and "the last vestige of a marked grave was that of Gen- 
eral John Phillips, with a modest tablet or headstone, and that, too, has 
disappeared, but rnay be found in the garret of some distant relative." 
When building the Morris and Essex railroad, the workmen cut through 
this old graveyard in 1867, and again, in 1906, when digging the foun- 
dation for a part of the freight house, many skeletal remains were 
found. Many years ago the site was owned by John Bach, who used 
the foundation stones of the old church in the cellar of a house, and 
made a present of the logs composing the church to Henry Walters. 
No other church was erected in Phillipsburg until 1854, or about a 
century later, than the first one. During this century Phillipsburg 
depended for houses of worship on Easton and on the "Old Straw 
Church," erected by the Lutherans in Greenwich before 1760, and now 
known as St. James' Lutheran Church. The First Presbyterian 
Church of Greenwich, too, served the people of that denomination as 
early as 1739, and in their log meetinghouse the missionary David 
Brainerd preached twice on the Sabbath, December 9, 1744. 

The First Presbyterian Church of Phillipsburg was organized on 
December 13, 1853, at the Academy, on the site now occupied by the 
Sitgreaves school building, A sermon was preached by Rev. George 
C. Bush, and thirty-two became members of the new church. The 
corner stone of a church building was laid in 1854, and the building 



Warren County. 233 

completed at a cost of $20,000, and dedicated September 12, 1858. 
The present pastor is Rev. J. Colclough. For many years this church 
possessed the only pipe organ in the city, having installed one in 1874. 
The Westminster Presbyterian Church was organized on April 27, 
1886. It was formed largely by members of the First Presbyterian 
Church, and was the immediate result of the growth of the second 
Presbyterian Sabbath school, which had been held in Bull's Hall for 
two years. The chapel was completed for use on August 31,1 890, and 
the main building was first used on December 10, 1893. Rev. E. C. 
Cline was pastor until April i, 1903, when the present pastor. Rev. 
James Moore, was installed. A handsome memorial pipe organ was 
given to the church on February 24, 1904, in memory of Mrs. Phoebe 
Harris Dinsmore. The Sunday school connected with the church num- 
bers 247 scholars and teachers. 

The First Methodist Church of Phillipsburg was organized May 
20, 1855, and the corner stone of the church was laid August 13, of the 
same year. The first resident of Phillipsburg to be converted to Meth- 
odism was Philip Reese, who was converted in 1824, while on a visit to 
his sister, who lived on the Susquehanna. The first Methodist sermon 
was preached in his stone house in 1828, by Rev. H. Bartine. The 
first class leader was named Downs, a school teacher of Easton. The 
church was dedicated on October 3, 1858. The value of church and 
parsonage is $35,000. Rev. R. B. Lockwood was the first pastor. 
The present pastor, Rev. F. T. Hubach, follows many other eminent 
predecessors. • The membership is 534, and 670 are connected with the 
Sunday school. A fine pipe organ was installed in 1909. The Wesley 
Methodist Episcopal Church originated from a class meeting held in 
the Fitch school house in 1871. The church was organized in 1872, 
and in October of that year Wesley Chapel was dedicated. The build- 
ing was remodelled in 1886. The church has a membership of 500 
and property valued at $22,500. The present pastor is Rev. O. M. 



234 Warren County. 

West. A fire caused by lightning destroyed the steeple on June 13, 
1 9 1 1 . • , 

St. Luke's Protestant Episcopal Church was organized December 
22, 1856. A handsome stone church was consecrated by Bishop Oden- 
heimer on June 9, 1861. The p*resent edifice was erected in 1885. Rev. 
Mr. Higgins Is the present pastor. A Sunday school connected with it 
has 122 on its rolls. 

The Church of SS. Philip and James is the second one on the same 
site. The corner stone of the first was laid in i860 by Bishop Bayley. 
Father O'Reilly served the parish for twenty-four years. In 1889 the 
present edifice was completed. There are now 3,505 souls in the parish. 
Other church property in Phlllipsburg includes the Parochial Hall, 
built at a cost of $22,000; the Young Men's Catholic Club rooms, and 
a cemetery on Fillmore Street. The present pastor is Rev. Patrick F. 
Connolly. A tower costing $15,000 was erected on the church In 191 1. 
A 1,000-pound bell is a feature of the tower, and also a clock that auto- 
matically rings the Angelus on the big bell. 

Grace Evangelical Lutheran Church was organized in 1869 by 
Rev. M. H. Richards, and the church edifice was dedicated January 9, 
1870. Rev. Joseph Stump Is the present pastor. Two hundred and 
forty-seven are connected with its Sunday school. St. John's German 
Evangelical Lutheran Church was organized February 5, 1875, by 
Rev. R. F. Weidner. Its fifty original members came mainly from 
Zion Church, of Easton, Pennsylvania. Rev. Joseph Orr is pastor; 
1 19 are connected with Its Sunday school. 

The First Baptist Church of Phillipsburg was organized by Rev. 
A. E. Francis in 1880, and a house of worship was later erected on 
Main street. Rev. E. R. Tilton is pastor of this church and of the 
Lincoln Street Baptist chapel. 

PhlUipsburg's first school was held In a log house near BIdleman's. 
Here in 1801 "Old Cohen" taught school. A stone building replaced 
the earlier structure in 1 803, and was destroyed by fire In 1 8 1 2. A new 



Warren County. 235 

stone schoolhouse was then erected near the site of the Andover Fur- 
nace. This building was replaced in 1854 by a new schoolhouse for 
the use of Ihrie District No. 10, which comprised the second and fourth 
wards. The second school to be opened was held in 1833 in a room in 
the stone building near the Pennsylvania depot, which was occupied for 
many years by the Warren Democrat, and now used as a real estate 
office. In 1843 ^ small brick building was erected at a cost of $500 for 
the use of Phillipsburg District No. 11, comprising the first and third 
wards. The Hudson Street School was built in 1852 at a cost of 
$3,500, and took, the place of the smaller building. The town was 
made into one school district in 1869, with three sections, and a third 
building was completed in 1871, on land purchased of Henry Sea- 
graves, at a total cost of $46,131.84. This served for many years as a 
high school and grammar school. This is now called the Freeman 
Building. In 1871 the Howell building was erected in the first ward, 
at a cost of $4,082, and in 1873 the engine-house of the Andover Fire 
Company was converted into a schoolhouse. The High School building 
was completed in 1909 at an expense of $22,000. It has a fine location on 
Main Street, near the older Lovell building, which was erected fifteen 
years ago. The Soldiers' Monument is placed in the immediate vicin- 
ity and presents a fine appearance. The John Firth building was 
erected in 1909 at a cost of $35,000, and the Pursell school building in 
191 1 at a cost of $30,000. There are now ten buildings devoted to the 
use of the public schools, which employ sixty-two teachers, including the 
superintendent, Lewis Osmun Beers. There are 2,159 pupils enrolled. 
Dr. John Cooper, who practiced here from 1791 until 1794 and 
then followed his profession for fifty years in Easton, was the first resi- 
dent practitioner. He had no, successor for fifty years when Dr. South- 
ard came and practiced here for two years. Dr. John H. Griffith has 
practiced here for forty-one years, or since 1870; Dr. Isaac Barber 
since 1880; Dr. J. M. Reese since 1883; Dr. R. A. Stewart and Dr. 



236 . Warren County. 

H. R. West since 1884; Dr. Wm. Kline since 1891; and Dr. F. A. 
Shimer since 1905. 

The Phillipsburg National Bank was a State bank from 1856 until 
1865, when it was chartered as a national bank. It has a capital stock 
of $200,000 and a surplus of $3'oo,ooo. John A. Bachman is its pres- 
ident, and James L. Lomerson its cashier. The Second National Bank 
of Phillipsburg was incorporated in October, 1900, with $100,000 cap- 
ital. It now has $70,000 surplus. S. C. Smith is president, William 
O'Neil vice-president, Aaron McCammon cashier, and John Firth 
assistant cashier. 

In 1 86 1 the Lehigh Water Company of Easton was authorized 
by a special act of the legislature to supply Phillipsburg with water. 
In 1886 the People's Water Company of Phillipsburg was organized 
and within a year had completed its plant, including a reservoir and a 
pumping station along the Delaware river north of the town. Exten- 
sive improvements were made to the plant in 19 1 1 . None of the water 
Is pumped from the river, but it all comes from extensive wells which, 
from their situation in a sandy soil, give an excellent filtered supply 
of soft water. The present officers are G. G. Stryker, president; John 
A. Bachman, treasurer ; and J. O. Carpenter, secretary. 

The predecessor of the present trolley system was the Phillipsburg 
Horse Railway Company. This was chartered in 1867, organized in 
1 87 1, and built its line along South Main Street. The trolley line now 
extends from the Circle in Easton to Alpha and by way of North Main 
Street to Ingersoll Heights. The Easton and Washington Traction 
Company's trolley line extends from Main Street, at the Soldiers' Mon- 
ument, to Port Murray, and will shortly be extended. It was char- 
tered on May 31, 1902. 

Phillipsburg Is at one of our two great gateways to the west, the 
other being at the Water Gap. This accounts for the presence of four 
of the five great railways that centre here and give shipping facilities 
enjoyed by no other city of its size In the east. Naturally therefore, 



Warren County. 237 

Phlllipsburg is essentially a manufacturing city and possesses many 
important industries. Of the three iron railroad bridges crossing the 
Delaware at this point, the one furthest north is owned by the Lehigh 
and Hudson River railroad ; the middle one is owned by the New Jer- 
sey Central railroad, and is also used by the Delaware, Lackawanna and 
Western ; the southernmost one belongs to the Lehigh Valley railroad. 

The near vicinity of Easton, Pennsylvania, gives to Phillipsburg 
many advantages not usually enjoyed by a city of its size. The large 
department stores, the excellent hotels, the hospital, college, schools and 
places of amusement serve Phillipsburg as well as Easton. In fact, the 
two are one city, and in not a few instances the office is on one side 
of the river and the workshop on the other. 

The first important manufacturing industry was the iron and brass 
foundry of J. R. TempHn & Co., which was operated here from 1848 
until July 4, 1855, when the plant was destroyed by fire. 

In 1848 Messrs. Cooper and Hewett, of New York, built a blast 
furnace south of the town and called it the Cooper Iron Works. Two 
other furnaces were soon added, the whole being owned by the Tren- 
ton Iron Company. In 1868 they sold their whole plant to the Andover 
Iron Company, who operated it successfully for many years. It is tem- 
porarily out of blast. 

Between 1849 ^'^^ 1876 A. R. Reese & Co. did an extensive busi- 
ness in the manufacture of agricultural implements. The Warren 
Foundry and Machine Company was chartered March 6, 1856, with a 
capital of $200,000, and it has operated continuously and profitably 
ever since. The extensive buildings are of stone, the machine shop 
being 400 feet long. Its specialty is the manufacture of cast-iron pipes 
and columns. William Runkle is president of the company, and 
J. Walter Ingham its very efficient superintendent. The Phillipsburg 
Rolling Mills were established on the Howell tract along the river in 
i860 and were operated for a few years. The plant after many years 
idleness was rebuilt but was finally destroyed by fire. The boiler works 



238 Warren County. 

of Tippett & Woods began operations in 1868, and have done a pros- 
perous business ever since. They now employ about two hundred men. 
Rowland Firth and Son established a prosperous business here in 1894 
and enlarged it in 191 1. They use $40,000 capital in the manufacture 
of all kinds of steel castings. The American Horse Shoe Company was 
established about 1895, and now employs one hundred and fifty hands. 
It is on the site of the old rolling mill. The Vulcanite Cement Com- 
pany near Phillipsburg gives employment to many of its citizens, as 
does the Alpha Cement Company, established a few years later at 
Alpha. The Ingersoll-Rand Drill Company is a merger of the Inger- 
soll-Sergeant Drill Company and the Rand Drill Company, the two 
largest manufacturers of drills operated by compressed air. The com- 
pany has a capital of $10,000,000, and built its new plant in Phillips- 
burg in 1 904, on a site annexed from Lopatcong in 1903 and called 
Ingersoll Heights. The company employs two thousand hands, and 
their product is used wherever man searches for nature's treasures 
beneath the ground. Recent successful industries are conducted by the 
Baker Chemical Company, established in 1904, the Canister Works, 
the Standard Silk Mill, the Continental Silk Mill, established in 1908, 
and Ryan's Silk Mill. 

The first secret society in the county was Olive Branch Lodge, No. 
16, Free and Accepted Masons, which was instituted at Phillipsburg on 
January 9, 1799. It surrendered its charter in 1842. Phillipsburg has 
no less than forty secret orders and societies, many of which are con- 
sidered in the chapter on organizations. 

The present town officials are: Joseph H. Firth, who has been 
mayor and president of council for several terms ; J. A. S. Stone, vice- 
president; Frank Kneedler, town clerk; J. L. Lomerson, treasurer; 
J. I. B. Reilly, solicitor; Robert P. Howell, surveyor; John Dundas, 
collector; G. L. Yeisley, auditor; George Pfister, chief of the fire 
department ; and Edward Gorgas, chief of police. 

Phillipsburg has a volunteer fire department composed of six hose 




PHILLIPSBURG LODGE, No. 395, B. P. O. E. 



Phillipsburg, N. J., Lodge No. 395, B. P. O. Elks, began in a most 
modest manner and with a small membership. The Lodge was instituted 
in the Masonic rooms, on the evening of November 26, 1897, by J. H. 
Port, District Deputy, Grand Exalted Ruler, of Camden, N. J., assisted by 
members of the Oi'der from Trenton and Camden, N. J., and Stroudsburg, 
Pa. A banquet was served at "Hotel Columbia," 

The first officers, who were installed on the night of the organiza- 
tion, were: John Eilenberg, Exalted Ruler; Hon. Jacob B. Smith, Es- 
teemed Leading Knight; Hon. Jos. H. Pirth, Esteemed Loyal Knight; 
R. B. Carhart, Esteemed Lecturing Knight; S. W. Hunt, Secretary; Adam 
Martin, Treasurer; A. W. Mutchler, Esquire; L. A. Fisher, Tiler; W. P. 
Carty, Chaplain; D. B. Ritter, Inner Guard; Trustees: Hon. Dr. Isaac 
Barber, one year; Chas. B. Sharp, two years; John Kern, three years. 

Charter Members: Geo. R. Johnson, Jos. L. Morgan, Whitfield Barber, 
Jr., W. H. Pisk, W, K. Stone, Harry Cane, B. O. Correll, Ellsworth Smith, 
Wm. J. Leslie, Ployd Smith, C. E. Griflln, B. Prank Pox, Jas. H. Callan, 
B. J, Mackay, Bernard Plynn, Chas. A. Gischel, Frank D. Bishop, Dr. Wm, 
Kline, Y. C. Pilgrim, Eldridge Barber, Hon. Johnston Cornish, G. W. 
Shoeffler, Hon. C. F. Staats, P. P. Hagerty, W, Ployd Mutchler, P. M. 
Duckworth. 

Past Exalted Rulers: John Eilenberg, John Eilenberg, P. M. Duck- 
worth, P. M. Duckworth, Wm. J. Leslie, Stewart P. Stone, P. M. Duck- 
worth, Chas. B. Sharp, E. D. Pursel, Oscar W. Shafer, Thos. L. Murphy, 
Harry E. Stone, Jesse H, Rubert, Jesse H. Rubert, Lewis A. Pisher. 

The present Exalted Ruler Is John B, Sliker, elected April 1, 1911. 



Warren County. 239 

companies, a fire chief and assistants, who respond promptly to every 
alarm. The first fire department was the Warren Fire Company, which 
was organized August 8, 1864, with thirty-seven members. It had at 
first a hand engine and later a steamer and hose carriage, but disbanded 
in the seventies. The Andover Engine Company was organized a few 
years later, and had a large heavy fire engine. It also disbanded before 
the Centennial Fire Company No. i was organized on January 26, 
1876. The Reliance Hose Company dates from February 8, 1887, the 
Jersey Hose Company No. 2, from April 15, 1887; and the Alert Hook 
and Ladder Company, from May 31 of the same year. The Warren 
Chemical Fire Company was organized January 29, 1908, and the Lin- 
coln Engine Company No. 2 on February 12, 1909. 

While Phillipsburg is already the largest town in northwestern 
New Jersey, it is rapidly growing in population, and its active Board of 
Trade, with Dr. J. M. Reese as its president, is continually seeking 
new industries. 



CHAPTER XXX. 



POHATCONG. 



Pohatcong Township was the last of the civil divisions of Warren 
County to be organized. It was formed in 1881 from that part of 
Greenwich lying In the extreme southwestern corner of the county. It 
was named from the creek whose beautiful valley forms so much of its 
territory. 

The New Brunswick turnpike crosses the northern part of the 
township, and a road that it replaced Is shown as early as 1769 on a 
may which also mentions the names Hughes and Roper's Ferry, 
the latter on the site of Carpentersvllle. Three railroads pass through 
the township. The Belvldere division of the Pennsylvania railroad 
was built through this township In 1854, along the Delaware River, 
and has stations at RIegelsville and Carpentersvllle, giving good con- 
nections north and south. The Lehigh Valley railroad and the Central 
Railroad of New Jersey, on their way from Phlllipsburg to New York, 
pass through the northern part of the township and give excellent 
freight accommodations to the great cement Industries there located. 

The six schools in the township employ twelve teachers and are at 
FInesville, Hughesvllle, Carpentersvllle, Springtown, Shimers and 
Alpha, the last with five teachers. 

An important industry in this township is the raising of peaches, 
where the orchards produce a very fine grade of fruit. Among the ex- 
tensive growers are J. S. Hunt, Isaac Laubach, J. M. Crouse and 
Sheriff WIeder. 

The earliest land taken up In this region was by a survey made in 
January, 17 14, and approved November 13, 17 17, of a tract of land to 
1 homas Byerly, containing 9,009 acres on both sides of the Musconet- 



Warren County. 241 

cong, and bordering on the Delaware. This was sold at public sale 
September i, 1749, to William Allen and Joseph Turner, of Philadel- 
phia, for £3,000 proclamation money. There were 1,701 acres of this 
north of the Musconetcong in the present Pohatcong Township. 

Riegelsville is the southernmost town in Warren County, at the 
mouth of the Musconetcong, where is available a fine water power, 
which is used by John W. Riegel for a grist mill, and by the Warren 
Manufacturing Company for the manufacture of manila paper. R. A. 
Shimer has an excellent general store. A large town of the same name 
lies across the river, which is connected by trolley with Easton and 
Philadelphia. The town was settled by the Hunt family before the 
Revolution, who are still residents of the township, but was named 
after Benjamin Riegel, who came from Northampton County in 181 8. 

In 1797 Thomas Pursell built a mill at the mouth of the Mus- 
conetcong. He died at Finesville in 1821. Before 1800 three brothers 
named Shank occupied a log house on the other side of the river and 
operated a ferry. Benjamin Riegel bought their property in 1807. 
The bridge across the Delaware was built in 1838. Mr. G. W. Snyder 
has a wheelwright shop, in which he manufactures delivery wagons and 
the like. 

The Laubach family has lived in the vicinity of Riegelsville since 
1738. The original ancestor of the family in America was Rhinehart 
Laubach, a native of the Palatinate on the Rhine, who came to Phila- 
delphia in 1738, on the ship "Queen Elizabeth." He settled with his 
family in Bucks County, and ever since members of the family have 
been prominent in the history of that and Warren County. 

Carpentersville is named from Jacob Carpenter, who came here 
from Switzerland in 1748. His two sons, Jacob and John, passed 
their lives in this vicinity. Jacob left two sons, Jacob and Charles, and 
John two sons named Isaac and William. The Carpenter family is 
mter-married with the Kennedy, Stewarts and other prominent families 
of this and adjoining townships. Carpentersville is a station on the 



242 Warren County. 

Pennsylvania railroad, which reached this point in 1854. Roper's 
Ferry was operated here as early as 1769. 

Alpha is the newest and most active town in Warren County. 
Here are situated the Great Alpha and Vulcanite cement plants. The 
eastern part of Alpha is a Hungarian settlement, called the Klondike. 
Although Alpha is barely a dozen years old, it has a school with five 
teachers, while a Greek and Hungarian Presbyterian and a Catholic 
church supply the spiritual wants of the population. Dr. William H. 
Albright and Dr. Isaac Borts are located here. Alpha will soon be 
incorporated and enjoy the advantages that its size justifies. 

Warren Paper Mills is a town on the Musconetcong, three and a 
half miles above its mouth. It has about 350 inhabitants, and its 
principal industry is conducted by the Warren Manufacturing Com- 
pany, which has at this point one of its mills for the manufacture of 
mariila paper. It was formerly called "The Forge," and even yet the 
name is often heard, although no forge has been in operation at this 
point for many years. 

Hughesville — Long before the Revolution, a Welshman named 
Hugh Hughes bought a large tract of land and built a forge three miles 
from the mouth of the Musconetcong. In 1769 the town at this place 
was called Greenwich. Hugh Hughes, was a lawyer from Philadelphia. 
He married Miss Mary Beckenridge, and had two daughters and three 
sons: Dr. John S. Hughes, born in 1770; Isaac, and Bracelidge. All 
of the sons passed their long lives in this vicinity. Isaac had seven 
sons, one of whom was Henry G., whose son, Samuel, p- cupied the old 
homestead. The forge long since was turned into a grist mill, which 
burned down. 

Dr. John S. Hughes attended Princeton, studied medicine, and 
practiced medicine here from 1792 until his death in 1825. Two of 
his sons were physicians — Dr. John S. Hughes, practicing at Blooms- 
bury until 1856, and John Beatty Hughes, at Hughesville, until 1858, 
when he died. His children all settled near Finesville. 



Warren County. 243 

P'inesvllle is on the Musconetcong, one mile from its mouth. It is 
named from the Fine family, two members of which, Philip and John, 
came from Germany and settled at this place. Philip and his sons, 
Philip, Christopher and John, ran an oil mill, a grist mill, a saw mill 
and a store', while John Fine built a hotel. At present C. C. Fine has 
a general store here and W. I. Jacoby, a grist mill. The Musconetcong 
at this point furnishes good water power, which as measured by Taylor, 
Stiles & Company, manufacturers of knives, is ten horse-power for each 
foot of fall. The total fall between Bloomsbury and the Delaware 
River is 130 feet, giving a total of 1,300 horse power, nearly all of 
which is in use. The total available water power on the Musconetcong 
in Warren County is more than two thousand horse power. 

The old Chelsea forge was situated at Finesville, and obtained its 
pig iron from Durham Furnace, which made iron as early as 1727, by 
way of Stillwell's or Drinker's ferry, across the river, opposite Durham. 
Messrs. I. F. and W. B. Laubach carry on an extensive business in burn- 
ing lime. 

The Methodist Episcopal Church at Finesville dates from 1835 
or earlier. At that time a Union Church was built for the use of 
Methodists, Presbyterians, Lutherans and Christians. It was bought 
by the Methodists in 1879. Among the preachers who have served 
here are Revs. Carhart, Tuttle, George Banghart, Van Home, Dedrick, 
Haggerty and Decker. The present pastor is Rev. C. B. Hankins. 

The Christian Church at Finesville was erected in 1877, previous 
to which this congregation, which was formed in 1835, worshipped in 
the Union Church, now the Methodist Church. The present pastor 
is Rev. John Blood. 

Siegletown, of Middleville, was formerly the site of a grist mill, 
a clover mill, and a pottery conducted by members of the Siegle family, 
the first one of the name being Benjamin Siegle, who came from Ger- 
many, and had four daughters and three sons — Abram, Thomas and 
William. It is now a part of Finesville. 



244 Warren County. 

Springtown, on the Pohatcong, sixty years ago had two distilleries 
and three grist mills, one of which was run by J. Hixson, whose family 
were the earliest settlers at this place. Dr. William Shipman practiced 
iiere from 1836 till 1885. A Christian church was built here before 
1850. 

The Straw Church, called also Lopatcong, is now really a suburb 
of Phillipsburg. It is named from the fact that the first Lutheran 
church here, built of logs, was thatched with straw. This was about 
1760. A second church, built of stone, replaced the Straw Church in 
1790, and the present St. James Church was built in 1834. The ceme- 
tery is across the road, in Greenwich Township. The old Straw Church 
may be called the mother of the churches at Stewartsville and Riegels- 
ville, and of Grace Chapel at Phillipsburg. 



CHAPTER XXXI. 



Washington. 

Washington Township was a part of Mansfield Wood House, 
later called Mansfield, from 1754, when the latter was formed from 
Greenwich, until 1849, when Washington was erected into a separate 
township. From the central part of it Washington Borough was or- 
ganized in 1868. 

The D., L. & W. railroad traverses this township from east to 
west and from north to south, the two lines crossing at Washington. 
The line from north to south was originally the Warren railroad, and 
connected with the Central Railroad of New Jersey at Hampton Junc- 
tion. The Morris Canal and the trolley line of the Easton and Wash- 
ington Traction Company pass through the township. 

Port Colden is a village that had its beginning at the completion 
of the Morris Canal in 1831, and was named in honor of Cadwallader 
D. Colden, president of the Morris Canal and Banking Company. 
The trolley line from Phillipsburg and the D., L. & W. railroad pass 
through the place. Plane No. 6, with a fifty-foot lift, is near Port 
Colden. 

Simon Nunn for many years before his recent death conducted a very 
extensive business as proprietor of a general store on the banks of the 
canal. Industries that formerly flourished at Port Colden were boat 
building, the manufacture of bricks, and a distillery operated for many 
years by John Opdyke. The large building in which George P. Wyckoff 
spent the last years of his life was originally built as a hotel in 1836, 
under the name of the Colden House. It was advertised as being on the 
Great Western Turnpike, and at the point where the stage lines crossed. 
It was later used as a boarding school. Dr. William Cole was a prac- 



246 



Warren County. 



ticing physician here from 1844 until his death in 1880. For several 
years the trolley company conducted a pleasure park here when this 
was the terminus of their line. 




Formerly the Colden House. 

A Methodist Episcopal Church, was built here about thirty years 
ago. The present pastor is G. M. W. Fulcomer. An Episcopal Chapel 
formerly here was abandoned many years ago. 

Changewater is the oldest town in this township, and one of the 
five towns in the county that had a name in 1769, the others being 
Hackettstown, Phillipsburg, Oxford and Bloomsbury, and all but one 
of these owe their early importance to the iron industry. Changewater 
has an excellent water power on the Musconetcong, which was early 
used to operate a forge or furnace for turning pig iron into bar iron. 
This forge was operated by Colonel Mark Thompson, and later by his 
son, Robert. The Thompson mansion, built of stone and brick, is now 
the property of Mr. Jacob Snyder. 



Warren County. 247 

A variety of industries have been operated for a time at Change- 
water, among them a flouring mill, a picture frame factory, a snuff 
factory, by Bowers Brothers, who were bought out by the Tobacco 
Trust, and a woolen factory. The old Warren railroad, now a part 
of the D., L. & W. system, crosses the Musconetcong at this point on 
its way to Hampton Junction, where it connects with the New Jersey 
Central. 

Changewater is near the site of an Indian village called Pelouesse, 
which was on the Musconetcong in 1715, when John Reading, Jr., was 
surveying there. It was on an Indian path that crossed the Musconet- 
cong, and led to another village in Hunterdon County, called Mon- 
saloquaks. 

Along the road from Port Colden to Changewater is a small en- 
closure, in which are buried Carter and Parks, who were executed in 
1844 for murdering the Castner family at Changewater. Mr. Cast- 
ner, one of the two children who escaped death by being behind a door 
at the time of the tragedy, is still living. 

Jackson Valley is the name of the Pohatcong Valley between 
Washington and Karrsville. The Oxford tunnel of the D., L. & W. 
railroad opens at the south end into this valley. 

Early settlers here were the Wyckoffs, Vannattas and Wellers. 
The Vanattas of Jackson Valley are descended from one of the brothers 
of Jacobus Vanetta, who settled at Foul Rift in 1740, and bought of the 
heirs of William Penn about 1,700 acres of land, on which he and his 
brothers settled. 

One of the oldest families in New Jersey is descended form Claes 
Wyckoff, who came from Holland to New Amsterdam in 1636 and 
settled at Flatbush, Long Island. In 1656 he superintended the farm 
of Director Stuyvesant. His son, Cornelius Preterse Wyckoff, owned 
1,200 acres of land in Hunterdon County, 300 acres of which he gave 
to his son, Simon, near White House, New Jersey, whose son, John 
Wyckoff, moved to Jackson Valley in 1771 with his son, Simon, who 



248 Warren County. 

is the ancestor of all the Wyckoff family in Warren County. Jacob 
Wyckoff, born in 1784, inherited the homestead, as did his son, John K., 
who was the father of George P. Wyckoff and of Jacob Wyckoff. 
Another son of Simon was Caleb, born 1774, who was the father of 
Simon, who settled near Belvidare, and whose son, Caleb, grandson, 
James, and great-grandson, William, have lived there since. George 
P. Wyckoff, after his marriage to Tamzen Carhart, in 1859, settled on 
the farm now owned by his daughter, Mrs. Abram Roseberry, at Port 
Colden. Here, or in the fine stone mansion adjoining, he lived until his 
death. His children are : Jacob Wyckoff, father of Mrs. Elmer Petty, 
Miss Edith Wyckoff, and John Wyckoff; Mrs. Abram Roseberry, of 
Port Colden, and Mrs. Wesley Fleming, of Washington. Jacob 
Wyckoff, brother of George P. Wyckoff, lived on the old Wyckoff 
homestead in Jackson Valley. His children are William and Elmer E. 

At Roaring Rock is situated the reservoir of the Washington 
Water Company, which collects an abundance of water from a water- 
shed of 1,300 acres. In the cascade at Roaring Rock are a number of 
pot holes produced by the whirling action of water and gravel operat- 
ing for centuries. The pot holes here, as elsewhere, are incorrectly 
attributed to Indians, but the Indians never made or used them. The 
roaring rock is in Brass Castle Creek, said to be so named, as is the 
place. Brass Castle, from the log cabin of the earliest settler, Jacob 
Brass. 

Early settlers here were the Wandlings, Wellers and Johnsons. 
Jacob Wandling, the first of the name in Warren County, settled at 
Brass Castle, where he was a blacksmith, and was the father of Jacob, 
John, Henry, Adam and Catherine. All of his family moved to Penn- 
sylvania, excepting Adam Wandling, who was born in 1769, continued 
at blacksmithing in a log shop built by his father until he built a stone 
one in 18 17, in which his industry earned him 500 acres of land. The 
sons of Adam Wandling were John, Jacob, James, Peter, Daniel and 
Adam. Adam, Jr., was born in 18 16, erected a grist mill and saw rnill 



Warren County. 249 

at Brass Castle, and dealt extensively In lumber and grain. He mar- 
ried Elizabeth Lomerson, and was the father of Elizabeth (Wilcox), 
William Clark, and Mary Catherine (Vough), and by a second wife 
of Enoch C, Robert C, Lewis J., and Addie C. 

Bowers Foundry, on the Pohatcong Creek, near Brass Castle has 
been the seat of an important industry conducted by one of the oldest 
families in the township. Jacob Bowers came from Germany and set- 
tled in Warren County. He had several daughters and two sons, Jacob 
and Christopher. Jacob, Jr., was bom in 1770, and settled on a farm 
at Bridgeville, New Jersey, where he married a sister of the Rev. 
George Banghart. The children of Jacob, Jr., were Andrew, Jacob, 
Garner, Michael B., John C, and two daughters. One of these chil- 
dren, Michael B. Bowers, learned to manage an iron foundry at 
Sarepta, New Jersey. He married Hannah Quick, and had two sons, 
Robert Q. and John. For his second wife he married Mary Horn- 
baker, and had Sering, Mary and George. Michael B. Bowers carried 
on a foundry and plow manufactory near Brass Castle from 1829 till 
1869. He was succeeded by his son, Sering, and he by his cousin, 
Robert Q. Bowers, Jr., from Hackettstown. Robert Q. Bowers, a son 
of Michael B., purchased in 1858 the foundry at Hackettstown. His 
sons are Michael B. and Robert Q., Jr. 

The Fitts family of this township is descended from Christopher 
Fitts, a soldier of the war of 1812, who came from his father's farm 
on Scott's Mountain to a farm of his own in this valley. His children 
were Samuel, Jonathan, Jacob, John and Sarah Ann. Of these, John 
is the father of John W., Enoch G., Joseph, Henry and Jesse C. 

Pleasant Valley is a name that clung for many years to the spot 
now a suburb of Washington, where a water power on the Pohatcong 
operates a grist mill long known as Mattison's Mill. 

George Weller, the proprietor of a numerous family in Warren 
County, came from Germany and settled in Washington Township 



250 Warren County. 

about 1750, building the old homestead house in 1769. One of his 
sons was Peter Weller, born 1761, died 1855, and his sons were George 
born 1788; Samuel, born 1795; Joseph, 1797; Elisha, 1800, and Jesse, 
born 1804; the latter lived on the original homestead and died there 
in 1877. ♦ 



CHAPTER XXXII. 



Washington Borough. 

Washington Borough was organized in 1868 from the central and 
most populous part of the township of the same name. It is the most 
recent of the Incorporated towns of Warren County, and the most 
recently settled of all the large towns. The name is taken from the 
"Washington House," which was a brick tavern built by Col. William 
McCullough, in 181 1. One tavern preceded this, and was owned by 
Samuel Carhart. 

Col. William McCullough has the distinction of being considered 
the founder of both Asbury and Washington. He was a large owner 
of land in the valley between the two places. He was born in 1759, and 
lived at Hall's Mill, later Asbury, until 1 8 1 r, when he moved to Mans- 
field. Of his family, William McCullough married Sarah, daughter of 
Lawrence Lomerson ; one of his daughters married William Van Ant- 
werp, another Major Henry Hankinson, whose farm comprised most 
of the land In the town north of Washington avenue. Major Hank- 
inson sold his property to Gershom Rushling about 1830, and In 1837 
Rusling offered for sale "500 town lots In Washington village." 

Col. McCullough died in 1840. On his tombstone we read: 
"He was a member of the Legislative Council for a number of years, 
served upwards of thirty years as one of the Judges of the Court of 
Common Pleas in Sussex and Warren Counties." He was a colonel of 
militia. 

The northwestern part of Washington was once the farm of 
Major Cornelius Carhart, a part of which Is In the possession of his 
descendants to this day. He is the ancestor of all bearing the name In 
Warren County. He came to this vicinity in 1753 with his cousins, the 



252 Warren County. 

Warnes, from Monmouth County. In the Continental army he was 
captain, and later third major in the Third Regiment of Hunterdon 
County. He was often called Colonel. His sons were : Robert, born 
1760; Charles, born 1763; Cornelius, born 1765; Samuel, born 1777; 
and John, born 1779. * 

Major Cornelius Carhart was the son of Robert Carhart, and 
grandson of Thomas Carhart, who married Mary Lord, daughter of 
Rebecca Phillips Lord, and granddaughter of Major William Phillips, 
who came to Boston in 1675. A sister of Rebecca Phillips married 
John Alden, the son of Priscilla and John Alden, made famous in "The 
Courtship of Miles Standish," by Longfellow. 

The southwestern part of Washington was formerly the farm of 
George Creveling, who settled here in 18 12. He was the father of 
Jacob V. Creveling, born in 1809. Johannes Creveling, born in Hol- 
land, in 1706, is the ancestor of all bearing the name in this vicinity. 
He settled in Bethlehem township, Hunterdon County, and had eleven 
children, the sons being William, Henry, Andrew, Johannes, Peter and 
Jacob. Jacob Creveling settled near Bloomsbury, in Warren County, 
and there his son George and grandson Jacob V. were born. Dr. Will- 
iam S. Creveling is also a grandson of Jacob. 

Washington early went by the name of Mansfield- Wood-House, 
after the Presbyterian church of that name. This was later contracted 
to Mansfield, which was the post-office name until after 1851. This 
was not due to any preference for the name of Mansfield, but to the 
fact that there was already one Washington in New Jersey. 

In business importance Mansfield, or Washington, was over- 
shadowed for more than a century by Oxford, whose furnace was 
begun in 1741, and by Changewater, where a forge was operated 
before 1769. Port Colden and Washington were of equal importance 
until the railway station and junction was established at Washington in 
1856. Since then, the growth of the town has been phenomenal, and 
it ranks as the second in the county. 



Warren County. 253 

The Warren railroad crosses the Morris and Essex railroad at 
Washington. Both of these are now a part of the Delaware, Lacka- 
wanna & Western railroad, and give excellent railroad accommoda- 
tions in every direction. The Morris Canal was an important means 
of communication for fifty years, or until railroad competition prac- 
tically ruined its freight business. 

The trolley line connecting Washington with Phillipsburg was 
made a success by the energetic efforts of Robert Petty. It is now con- 
solidated with the lines in Easton, Pennsylvania, and the line will 
shortly be extended to Hackettstown and Waterloo, where a connection 
will be made with lines reaching the great cities in the east. 

The first physician to practice in this vicinity was Margaret (or 
"Peggy") Warne, who lived at Broadway. She was a sister of Gen- 
eral Garrett Vliet, and traveled on horseback with saddle bags, 
as did all the physicians of the early days. Dr. Hugh Hughes 
practiced here between 1816 and 1822; Dr. Cole from 1840 until 
1880; Dr. Mattison from 1850 until his death, forty years later; Dr. 
Glen from 1856 until 1880; Dr. Herrick from 1859 until 1883; Dr. 
William Stites from 1874 until his death in 1900; Dr. Baird (at one 
time speaker of the Senate of New Jersey) from 1877 until 1888. The 
physicians at present practicing in Washington are Dr. C. B. Smith, 
who is also mayor; Dr. C. M. Williams, Dr. F. J. LaRiew, Dr. G. 
Young, Dr. Bergen, Dr. McKinstry, and Dr. T. S. Dedrick, who was 
with Commodore Peary on one of his expeditions in search of the 
North Pole, and had the unique experience of living two years with the 
Eskimos, adopting from necessity their manner of life in every partic- 
ular. 

The Mansfield-Wood-House Presbyterian Church is one of the 
three oldest Presbyterian churches in the county, the other two being 
Greenwich and Oxford. The first settled Presbyterian pastor in the 
county was John Rosbrugh, who was made pastor of all three churches 
about 1755, and served till 1768, when he became pastor of the 



254 Warren County. 

churches in Hunter's Settlement, Pennsylvania, and Craig's Settle- 
ment, Pennsylvania. He became chaplain in the Continental army, 
and was murdered by British troops after the battle of Trenton. 

The original Mansfield- Wood-House, or log church, was built 
about 1 74 1, in the old burying-|l-ound below the present cemetery. A 
stone church was erected on the same spot after 1765, at which date the 
log meetinghouse was gone, but.it still retained the name until 1822, 
when it became the Mansfield Presbyterian Church. The present brick 
church was erected in 1837, and the parsonage added in i860. In 
1877 the name was changed to "The First Presbyterian Church of 
Washington, New Jersey," by a special act of the legislature. The 
present pastor is the Rev. Dr. Johnson, following a long line of very 
able men, among whom are the Revs. William B. Sloan, J. R. Castner, 
Dr. C. D. Nott and Dr. E. B. England. 

The first Methodist Episcopal services in Washington were held 
in the parlor of John P. Ribble's hotel, which had been engaged by 
Gershom Rusling for that purpose. Later services were held in the 
school house, but a change of school trustees resulted in locked doors 
and barred windows when time for services came around. A church was 
begun in February, 1825, by "a frolick to haul brick" and by gifts of 
material and labor the edifice was finished in 1826. Gershom Rusling, 
father of General James F. Rusling, of Trenton, was recording steward 
and class leader of this church for twenty-five years, and an exhorter for 
thirty-five years. This was the first church building erected within the 
corporate limits of Washington. It was replaced in 1856 by a larger 
structure, which was further enlarged in 1864 and dedicated in 1865 
by Bishop Simpson. The present church, than which none in Warren 
county is more beautiful, was erected in 1895. In 1873 ^ number 
of the congregation withdrew to form a new organization at Port 
Colden. Oscar Jeffrey, Esq., has been a member of the official board 
for forty-six years. The present pastor is Rev. F. L. West. 



Warren County. 



'55 




M. E. Church, Washington, N. J. The finest Church in Warren County. 



St. Joseph's Church was built in 1872, by Rev. Patrick E. Smyt^ 
at a cost of $10,000. Rev. Henry Ward, who took charge of the 
parish in 1888, was very active and held services at Schooley's Moun- 
tain, Waterloo, Danville, Vienna, Allamuchy and Harker's Hollow. 
The present pastor is the Rev. John Caulfield. 

The African Methodist Episcopal Church was organized before 
i860, and a church building erected in 1879-1882. Rev. P. Singleton 
is pastor. 

The Protestant Episcopal Church was organized In 1872 as a 
mission of the church at Hackettstown, but has never met with the 
prosperity expected. A chapel was erected on Broad Street In 1886. 

The Baptists erected a church here In 1886. Rev. S. B. Williams 
is the present pastor. 

The earliest burying ground in the vicinity of Washington was 
the churchyard of the old Mansfield Woodhouse Presbyterian Church. 



256 Warren County. 

Interments were doubtless made here as early as 1744, although no 
mscriptions can be found as early as this. The Washington Cemetery 
Association purchased of Simon Youmans in 1870 land for the 
beautiful new cemetery near the old burying ground, and has added to 
it by successive purchases. St. Joseph's Cemetery, just outside of the 
borough limits, was consecrated by Archbishop Carriganin June, 1880. 

The children of early residents of Washington went to school in 
a log school house near the old Mansfield Woodhouse Church, and 
later to one on the site of the Pleasant Valley school house. The first 
school house within the borough limits was built about 181 1, on land 
given by Colonel" McCuIlough, on the site of the Methodist Episcopal 
chapel. This was used until 1862, when a new school house was built 
on the present site, and was rebuilt after a fire in 1874,- at a cost of 
$24,000, and enlarged in 1886 at an additional expense of $4,500. 

The old Washington House, from which the town takes its name, 
was built by Colonel William McCuIlough, on the site of the Hotel 
Windsor, in 181 1. It was destroyed by fire in 1869, and rebuilt by Van 
Doren & Son, under the name of the "Van Doren House." More 
recently it has been known as the New Windsor, or Hotel Windsor, 
and is owned by Robert Petty and conducted by A. A. Cable. The 
St. Cloud was known as the Verandah before 1868, when its name was 
changed to the Union Hotel. Nicholas Martenis and C. F. Staats 
were among the predecessors of the present owner, Cyrus Baker. The 
present Washington House, opposite the railroad station, was opened 
by James Nolan in 1879, and is now conducted by Harry Knowles. 

The First National Bank of Washington was organized Novem- 
ber 10, 1864, with James K. Swayze as its president, and Philip H. 
Hann as cashier. Its Successive presidents have been James A. Swayze, 
Aurelius J: Swayze, Philip H. Hann, Joseph B. Cornish and Johnston 
Cornish. William Rittenhouse has been its eflicient cashier for many 
years. The Washington National Bank was organized by Robert 
Petty, its present president. William B. Titman, of Belvidere, was 



Warren County. 



257 



president from its organization until his death, in 1902. William 
Eilenberger has been its cashier from the first. Its directors at once 
bought the handsome and valuable business block known as the Matti- 
son or Beatty or Opera House Block, giving it a splendid location that 
had been occupied for years by the older bank. 

Washington possesses an excellent privately owned gravity water 
supply coming from a reservoir at Roaring Rock, two miles away. 
The reservoir collects water from a watershed of two square miles, a 
great part of which is owned by the water company, that uses every 
effort to protect the purity of its supply. The water system was 
established in 1881. The good water pressure makes easy the work of 
the volunteer fire department, which has had several disastrous fires 
to deal with, mostly connected with the industries of the town, which 
require a large stock of inflammable material for their successful 
operation. 



WASHINGTON: H 




Typical Washington Homes. 



258 Warren County. 

Washington built in 19 10 a splendid sewer system, at a cost of 
$60,000, consisting of many miles of pipe, the largest of which is 
eight inches, leading down to a mile from town, where, on land bought 
of Michael Meagher, an efficient sewage disposal plant has been con- 
structed. ^ 

Industries that have flourished in Washington were the boatyard, 
a tannery, the wagon factories, a shoe factory, a silk, mill, and several 
piano-back factories. But the industry that has made Washington 
famous is the manufacture of pianos and organs. The first musical 
instrument maker in Washington was John A. Smith, who began 
making melodeons about 1850. Before i860 Robert Hornbaker 
began the manufacture of organs here, and this was the beginning of 
an industry that has made Washington, New Jersey, known to the 
uttermost parts of the earth. Daniel F. Beatty was the first to employ 
extensive advertising to this business, and if a disastrous fire had not 
crippled him financially he would have reaped a great reward. AUeger, 
Bowlby, Plotts and others engaged extensively in the business. At 
present Cornish & Co., who have done a constantly increasing business 
for the past thirty years, have this field to themselves, and they fill it 
admirably. 

A promising new industry is that of the Washington Casket Com- 
pany. It is the outgrowth of an enterprise started by J. P. Dereraer 
in June, 1909. In 19 10 he became associated with P. Frank Haggerty 
and others, and in all a capital of $40,000 was employed. The whole 
plant was destroyed by fire in M*y, 191 1. The Washington Silk Mill 
is prosperous under the ownership of Louis Roessel & Co., of 80 
Greene Street, New York. 

Washington has a very active and energetic Board of Trade, 
which has rendered invaluable service to the town in locating new 
industries- Its efficient secretary is Wesley Fleming. 

Skalla's Park and Amusement Pavilion has become a familiar 
part of the life of the town. 



CHAPTER XXXJ I I. 



Organizations. 

One of the first needs of our early communities was a meeting 
house. By this they did not mean merely a church, for the first 
meeting houses were used for every sort of public meetings and most of 
them never became churches. Our first meeting houses were built of 
logs, like every other structure in the county. Here the town meeting 
was held, and the first local governments established. These meeting 
houses offered the most available places for the preaching of itinerant 
missionaries of various denominations, who were always welcome. As 
time went on, taverns became the meeting places for elections and other 
secular affairs, and the meeting houses were left more and more for 
preaching services. Many a neglected graveyard is the only reminder 
of the former existence of a log meeting house which never became 
a church; that is, it was never taken under the care of any denomination, 
and never had a settled pastor. 

One of the most singular things happened to one of these log 
meeting houses in our county which had been used by three congrega- 
tions for many years. One of these insisted on always having the 
morning service and, on being informed by counsel that they had no 
more right to it than the other two as long as they owned it in common, 
some zealous members gathered one moonlight night and moved the 
log church piece by piece to a neighboring lot that was owned by one 
of their congregation! This happened about 1802, and is the only 
instance in which a church was stolen bodily. 

The Scotch Presbyterians were among the very earliest settlers of 
the county, and they brought their Intense religious zeal with them. 
They Issued the first call from this county for preaching. In 1739 



26o Warren County. 

"there came before the Presbytery a supplication for supplies of preach- 
ing in Mr. Barber's neighborhood, near Musconnekunk," as Dr. 
Junkin finds in the minutes of the Presbytery of New Brunswick. Just 
where this was, we may never know. Some claim it to be Greenwich 
and others are just as sure that it is old Mansfield Woodhouse. These 
locations both fail- to comply with the condition of being "near the 
Musconetcong." Both congregations have had a Barber family in them. 
Is it not possible that people from both of these places may have listened 
to preaching at an intermediate point where there was a meeting house 
on the Musconetcong? Such a place is Asbury, where yet a knoll is 
called "Church Hill," once the site of a log church and of a cemetery. 
If this were the case, then both of these congregations could trace con- 
nection with "Mr. Barber's neighborhood." Else one or the other 
is wrong. 

The Lutheran and German Reformed missionaries were early in 
the field in Warren county, as might be expected from the great number 
of Germans in our early population. They usually worshipped in 
union churches, together with the Presbyterians. The "Old Straw 
Church," now known as St. James Lutheran, dates back to 1760, and 
as early as 1733 Lutherans were living in the county. In 1749 seventy- 
eight names were signed to the call of John Albert Weygand, the 
second regular pastor of the Lutheran churches in this part of the 
State. St. James is really the mother church to all the other Lutheran 
churches now in the county, which are St. John's Lutheran and Grace 
Lutheran, of Phillipsburg and Stewartsville Lutheran. The German 
Reformed churches all became Presbyterian sooner or later. 

The Friends, or Quakers, held public meetings for the worship of 
God as early as 1745 at Quaker Settlement, where was built the only 
Quaker church in the county, on four acres of land presented by 
Richard Penn in 1752. This and the church at Quakertown, Hunter- 
don county, served the Quakers who were scattered over the county, 
mainly in the Pequest Valley, for a hundred years, by which time the 



Warren County. 261 

members of the sect had become scattered or drawn to other denomina- 
tions. 

The Baptists were very active in our early history, and had many 
churches in the county, where now are only three, namely, those at 
Port Murray, Phillipsburg and Washington. 

An Episcopal missionary from Elizabeth, sent by the Society for 
Propagating the Gospel, came to visit the earliest settlers in Knowlton, 
who are said to have come from Orange county, New York. A church 
was established at Knowlton as early as 1750, with regular ministra- 
tions. The present church records of St. James Parish begin with the 
year 1769. The next Episcopal church in this region was "The Parish 
of Christ Church, Newton," which was organized in 1769, at about 
the same time the church was established at Johnsonsburg, which was 
abandoned in 1850. St. Luke's Protestant Episcopal Church, at Hope, 
dates from 1828, and Zion Church, at Belvidere, became a corporate 
parish in 1833. The Episcopal churches at Hackettstown, Washington 
and Phillipsburg were all established about i860. 

Methodism came into the field as a revival of the spiritual life of 
Christiandom. It had no doctrines other than those sanctioned by the 
Episcopal church. The official standard of the Methodist doctrine in 
America is found in the "Articles of Religion," taken by John Wesley, 
from the "Thirty-nine Articles" of the Anglican church, eliminating 
Calvinism. Its main features were its earnestness and the methods it used 
to reach the people. Its itinerant missionaries covered a large territory, 
and wherever they went they organized societies which they left in 
charge of a lay preacher or a class leader. Its first annual conference 
was held at Philadelphia in 1773, and the first general conference at 
Baltimore in 1784, at which Bishop Coke consecrated Francis Asbury 
a bishop over the new church. These were the first Protestant bishops 
in the new hemisphere. 

The development of Methodism was delayed several years by the 
Revolution. The missionaries sent out by Wesley were, in the main. 



262 Warren County. 

loyal Englishmen, and on the outbreak of the war most of them returned 
to their native country. Bishop Francis Asbury, however, remained 
until the end of his life. He was the chief founder of Methodism in 
America. He preached almost daily for half a century. He came to 
America in his twenty-sixth yeSr, was ordained bishop when thirty- 
nine, and guided the church in its growth from 15,000 members to 
211,000, with 700 itinerant preachers. "No one man has done more 
for Christianity in the Western Hemisphere, and his success places him 
unquestionably at the head of the leading characters of American 
ecclesiastical history." 

The principles of the Christian church were first proclaimed in 
this county by Mrs. Abigail Roberts, as a result of whose efforts a 
church was established at Johnsonburg on July 15, 1826, and one at 
Finesville in 1835. A Christian church was erected at Petersburg in 
1839, which became the church at Vienna in 1858. The Hope Chris- 
tian Church was established in 1842. 

Roman Catholics did not have full freedom of conscience in New 
Jersey until 1844, when there was repealed an old law of West 
Jersey concerning it. Consequently we find the early Roman Catholic 
missionaries traveling over the country at times in the disguise of 
a physician, to minister to the spiritual wants of their people. Three of 
these missionaries between 1743 and 1793 were Fathers Schneider, 
Farmer and Groessl. In 1776 Father Farmer records two baptisms 
at Change Water Furnace, and in 1781 a baptism is recorded at Green- 
wich. We read of no further Roman Catholic services in Warren 
county until 1854, when the building of railroads and extension of 
public works brought many of that faith to the county, mainly from 
Ireland, whence they had been driven by the dreadful years of famine. 
The early Roman Catholics before 1854 went for spiritual help to 
Dover or Easton. In that year Bishop Bayley sent Rev. Father 
McMahon here, with all of Sussex, Warren and Hunterdon as his 
parish. In 1859 ^^v- Claude Roland, of New Hampton, was pastor of 



Warren County. 263 

missions at Oxford and West Portal, and held services in private houses 
in Washington as early as 1861. In Phillipsburg, Rev. Father McKee 
held services in a house on Sitgreaves Street before i860. The first 
Roman Catholic church in the county was built at Oxford in 1858. 
The cornerstone for a small church in Phillipsburg was laid in i860. 
The church at Hackettstown was built in 1864, the one at Washington 
in 1 87 1, and the first one in Belvidere at about the same time. 

In the early days it was the custom to have preaching services on 
Sunday in the morning and afternoon. People came for miles to these 
services, bringing along their dinners, which they enjoyed in picnic style 
between the services. Many were the Sunday picnics thus held at the 
Old Oxford Meeting House. In the summer time the people went 
barefoot toward church, to save their one pair of shoes, which they 
carried in their hands and put on when they came in sight of the 
■church. As a matter of fact, that was the only time in the week when 
those shoes were worn. The Sunday picnics at, for instance, the Old 
Oxford Meeting House, formed the main social gatherings of those 
times. From here the latest pieces of news were scattered, here court- 
ships were begun, and here invitations were given to the next corn 
husking frolic to help out some sick neighbor. 

The Warren County Bible Society was organized April 13, 1825, 
at the Presbyterian Church at Danville, and has numbered among its 
members and contributors all the most prominent people of the county. 
The society, besides giving large sums of money to the parent society, 
has placed a Bible in every home in the county that was without one. 
Out of 5,114 families in the county, according to a canvass made in 
1862, only 448 were without a Bible ! 

The Warren County Sunday School Association has more mem- 
bers by far than any other organization in the county. The officers and 
teachers connected with it number 8,447. The association was formed 
June 4, 1 861, and celebrates its fiftieth anniversary in 191 1, in the 
Second Presbyterian Church at Belvidere, where it was founded. Its 



264 Warren County. 

first president was John M. Sherrerd, who was the founder, when a 
student at Trenton, of the first Sunday school established in that 
city. Those who have been president for a number of years are 
Rev. J. DeHart Bruen, William M. Davis, Alonzo Sailer and Dr. 
G. C. Moulsdale. Its first secre*tary was the Rev. Richard Van Home, 
and others who have served a number of years are Nahum Stiger, 
Joseph Johnson, Hon. C. H. Albertson, Rev. J. R. Burtt, A. McCam- 
mon, Mrs. G. W. Cummins and Mrs. M. T. Craig. The two last 
have served seven years each. 

Members of the Masonic order were in our county before the 
Revolution. Olive Branch Lodge, No. 16, F. & A- M., was instituted 
at Greenwich January 9, 1799, and was at that time the only lodge in the 
county. Warren Lodge, No. 13, of Belvidere, received its warrant 
November 14, 1826; it has 115 members. Mansfield Lodge, No. 36, 
of Washington, received its warrant January 9, 1856, and has 134 
members. From 1 8 1 4 until 1 8 24 it held a warrant as No. 3 1 . Temple 
Chapter, No. 12, R. A. M., was instituted at Phillipsburg in i860, 
and removed to Washington in 1865. Washington Council, No. 7, 
R. & S. M., was instituted in 1866. De Molay Commandery, No. 6, 
K. T., was instituted at Washington in 1866. Independence Lodge, No. 
42, F. & A. M., of Hackettstown, received its warrant January 12, 
1859, and has 176 members. Delaware Lodge, No. 52, of Phillips- 
burg, received its warrant January 12, 1859, ^"d has 207 members. 
Eagle Chapter, No. 30, R. A. M., is located at Phillipsburg, as well 
as Delaware Chapter of Eastern Star Lodge, which was instituted 
in January, 191 1, and has forty-five members. Oxford Lodge, No. 
127, F. & A. M., received its warrant January 18, 1872, and has 
forty-seven members. Blairstown Lodge, No. 165, received Its war- 
rant January 25, 1893, and has ninety-two members. All the other 
secret orders entered the county more recently. 

The Independent Order of Odd Fellows has five lodges in the 
county, and three encampments. Covenant Lodge, No. 13, of Belvi- 



Warren County. 265 

dere, has 244 members. Mansfield Lodge, No. 42, of Washington, 
has 274 members, and was instituted In 1846; Musconetcong Lodge, 
No. 81, of Hackettstown, has 122 members; Accho Lodge, No. 124, 
of PhlUipsburg, has 237 members; and Harris Lodge, No. 157, of 
Oxford, has 138 members. Delaware Encampment, No. li, of Belvl- 
dere, has thirty- four members; Zenas Encampment, No. 31, of Phillips- 
burg, has fifty-eight members; and Union Encampment, No. 57, of 
Washington, has 147 members. 

Montana Lodge, No. 23, Knights of Pythias, of Phillipsburg, 
was the first instituted in the county, and has a membership of 171. 
There are also in the county Belvidere Lodge, No. 58, with a member- 
ship of seventy-four; Starlight Lodge, No. 112, of Washington, with 
a membership of ninety-five; Hackettstown Lodge, No. 125, with 141 
members, and Mount No More Lodge, No. 146, at Oxford, with 
fifty-six members. 

Eleven tribes of the Improved Order of Red Men are located in 
Warren county, Teedyuscung Tribe, No. 17, at Phillipsburg, has 340 
members; Ute Tribe, No. 80, of Washington, has 261 members; 
Pequest Tribe, No. 90, of Hackettstown, has 133 members; 
Kittatinny Tribe, No. 126, of Blairstown, has 10 1 members; Tippe- 
canoe Tribe, No. 152, of Hope, has twenty-nine members; Lappa- 
hannock Tribe, No. 191, of Rocksburg, has 126 members; Musconet- 
cOng Tribe, No. 205, at Finesville, has ninety-four members; loka 
Tribe, No. 217, of Stewartsville, has ninety-six members; Atoka Tribe, 
No. 230, has thirty-seven members; Pophandaising Tribe, No. 236, of 
Belvidere, has seventy-nine members, and Onoko Tribe, No. 244, of 
Asbury, has fifty-one members. 

The Order United American Mechanics has two councils in the 
county. Liberty Council, O. U. A. M., 15, was instituted at Washing- 
ton in 1866, and now has 199 members. Pequest Council, No. 5, at 
Belvidere has 103 members. The Junior Order of United American 
Mechanics has ten councils in the county, with a united membership of 



266 Warren County. 

2,269. The councils are: Malaska, of Phillipsburg ; Warren, of 
Washington; Liberty, of Oxford; Monitor, of Hackettstown ; Mans- 
field, of Port Murray; Belvidere and Stewartsville. 

The Knights of the Maccabees of the World have two tents in 
the county: Warren Tent, No! 39, at Belvidere, and Delaware Tent 
at Delaware. At each of these places is also, a hive of Lady Maccabee:?. 

The Grand Army of the Republic is well represented in Warren 
county. Henry Post, No. 30, was organized at Washington in 1870, 
had a life of ten years and was followed by the John F. Reynolds 
Post, No. 66, which was organized in 1882. At Phillipsburg is the 
John G. Tolmie Post, No. 50. Captain Henry Post is at Belvidere, as is 
an organization of the Sons of Veterans. 

The Daughters of Liberty have eight councils in Warren county. 
American Advocate Council, No. 64, of Washington, has 382 mem- 
bers; Good Intent Council, No. 75, of Hackettstown, has 140 members'; 
Pride of Malaska Council, No. 100, of Phillipsburg, has 178 mem- 
bers; Golden Star Council, No. 126, of Oxford, has 141 member?; 
Colonial Council, No. 169, of Belvidere, has fifty-two members; 
Grace and Unity Council, No. 187, of Stewartsville, has forty-nine 
members; Stars of Jenny Jump Council, No. 190, of Hope, has sixty- 
three members, and Liberty of Warren Council, No. 193, of Blairs 
town, has forty-six members. The last three councils were instituted 
in 1 9 10. 

The Patriotic Order Sons of America has nine cdmps in the county 
with a total membership of 1,430. Two camps at Phillipsburg have 
566 and 233 members respectively and there are camps at Belvidere, 
Washington, Asbury, Hackettstown, Blairstown Warren Paper Mills 
and Brainards. 

The Warren County Medical Society was formed in accordance 
with a warrant dated November 8, 1825. Its first members were 
Jabez Gwinnup, Gideon Leeds, John S. Hughes, Revel Hampton, 
George Hopkins, Samuel W. Fell, George Van Nest, Samuel Fowler 



Warren County. 267 

and Elias L'Hommedieu. It has since included most of the prominent 
physicians of the county. Th-e first physicians to practice in the county 
were Samuel Kennedy, of Johnsonburg, and Robert Cummins, of 
Mount Bethel, both of whom were here before the Revolution. 

The Warren County Fair Grounds, as they were familiarly 
known, were leased of Abram McMurtrie, near Belvidere, by the 
Warren County Farmers, Mechanics and Manufacturers' Association. 
The first fair was held October 11-14, 1859, and the fairs continued 
annually for twenty-two years. The great Warren County Farmers' 
Picnic, usually held in the park at Belvidere in August, has, in a 
measure, taken the place of the old Warren County Fair, and brings 
together annually the largest gathering in the county. As many as ten 
thousand people attend, or one-fourth the population of the county. 
It would be quite impossible to enumerate all of the organizations that 
have been in the county at one time or another, as in these days nearly 
everything is organized and many of the organizations are short-lived. 
More than forty secret orders in all are in the county at present. 



CHAPTER XXXIV. 



BlBi^IOGRAPHY. 

A list of the works that have been consulted is appended as a guide 
to those who may care to go more deeply into some of the subjects 
treated of in this work : 

William Clinton Armstrong — "The Lundy Family;" "A Genea- 
logical record of the Descendants of Nathan Armstrong." 

Alden's "New Jersey Register." 

John Atkinson — "Methodism in New Jersey." 

"David Brainerd's Journal." 

Barber & Howe — "Historical Collections of the State of New 
Jersey," 1844. 

Thomas Budd — "A true Account of Pennsylvania and New 
Jersey," 1685. 

Brodhead — "Delaware Water Gap." 

"Biographical Record of Hunterdon and Warren." 

William J. Buck- — "History of the Indian Walk, to which is 
appended a Life of Edward Marshall"; "History of Bucks County, 
Pennsylvania;" "Penn Papers in Possession of Historical Society of 
Penns)-lvania." 

Crantz — "History of Moravians." 

Custis — "Memoirs of Washington." 

"Dr. Joseph Clark's Diary, 1777-78." 

Joseph Campbell, D. D. — Sermons. 

Rev. T. F. Chambers. — "Early Germans of New Jersey." 

Sherman Day — "On Pennsylvania." 

De Vries — "New York Historical Collections." 

Du Chastellux — "Travels in North America, 1780-82." 

Sereno Edwards Dwight — "Memoirs of Rev. David Brainerd." 

William H. Davis, A. M. — "History of Bucks County, 
Pennsylvania." 

Dus^bury — "Carhart Genealogy." 

Ellis— "Life of Penn." 

Lewis Evans — "Map of the Middle British Colonies, 1755." 

Alice Morse Earle — "Stage Coach and Tavern Days." 

Gordon — "History of Pennsylvania;" "History of New Jersey." 



Warrkn County. 269 

T. F. Fitzgerald — "Legislative Manual." 

John Heckewelder— "History of Indian Nations." 

Matthew S. Henry— "The History of the Lehigh Valley." 

"Harbaugh's Harfe Pennsylvania Dutch Poetry." 

John Heckewelder — "Lenni Leitape Geographical Names." 

"The Harris Family." 

"Hallesche Nachrichten." 

Janney — "Life of Penn." 

Dr. D. X. Junkin — "Centennial Discourse, Greenwich, N. J."; 

"Fiftieth Anniversary of Newton Presbytery." 

Eli Keller, D. D.— "History of the Keller Family." 

Rev. Charles F. Kluge^"Settlement of Hope." 

Loskiel — "History of Indian Missions." 

Rev. Walter T. Leahy — "The Catholic Church of the Diocese 

of Trenton." 

P. V. Lawson — "The Fleming Family." 

Francis Bagley Lee — "New Jersey as a Colony and a State." 

Hon. J. P. B. Maxwell — In "Historical Collections." 

George S. Mott, D. D. — "The First Century of Hunterdon 

County." 

"Moravian Historical Society Transactions." 

Morse's "American Geography, 1796." 

"Pennsylvania Records and Archives." 

"Pennsylvania Historical Society Memoirs." 

Proud's "History of Pennsylvania." 

James Porton — "Life of Benjamin Franklin." 

Ponceau and Fisher — "A Memoir On the Celebrated Treaty." 

Dr. J. M. Paul — "Belvidere One Hundred Years Ago." 

Reichel — "Memorials of the Moravian Church." 

Prof. I. D. Rupp — "Collection of 30,000 Names of Immigrants." 

Richards — "Frontier Forts of Pennsylvania." 

Gen. James F. Rusling — "The Rusling Family." 

John Reading's Journal in New Jersey Historical Society Library. 

"Life and Adventures of Tom Quick, the Indian Slayer." 

"Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania — Historical Reminiscenct^." 

Stevens — "Centenary of American Methodism." 

Snell — "History of Sussex and Warren Counties." 

Smith — ■"History of New Jersey." 

Samuel Smith — "History of Pennsylvania." 

Spangenberg — "Life of Count Zinzendorf." 

Col. Charles Scranton — "Centennial Address." 

Nicholas Scull — "Map of Pennsylvania, 1759." 

Abel Stevens — "History of American Methodism." 



270 Warren County. 

Captain Charles Sitgreaves — "Warren County Politics." 
General Stockton's — Lists of Soldiers and Officers. 
Charles Thompson — "Alienation of the Indians." 
Whitehead — "East Jersey Under the Proprietors." 
George Brakeley White — "In the Time of Matthias Brake'ey, of 
Lopatcong." 

John F. Watson— "The Annals of Philadelphia." 
Wickes — "History of Medical Men of New Jersey." 
Howard H. Widener — "The Wideners in America." 



< 



5: H*. s- 



§•£ 

•O 

TO q 

TO 



a* B 
c: 3* 
c*. w 






ST 3 M y re 
— 3 " 



•TO 



Is 

n en 
S^ 3 



^ TO - 

rU " 



~ o 






> 



OOf>00OOO0OOOVJVI QO 



"^ -^J C» OC M 00 VI __ ._ 

OOWVOVO 0OC*i OOOOOO1CJIOJ 



o 



o 






o 

3 



3 
w 

3-_ 
•5" 



"• w (11 re 
2 3* *o '^ '^ 



o' 3^ 



C 



o S S n s 
S 3 o "o o 
= Si e 2 5 



X 5. 



31 S. -1 S 



=> n- £• O '^ 5 



3 ' 



00 



K- D- 



O 

§ 

w 
o 

o 



o 

O 
►^ 

H 

c=! 

2i' 



^ 

r 



o 

w 
w 

"Z 
o 

8 

H 



.-L. .^ >> 

On "^T tji 
(ji O CO 



10 O "M 

C*» 00 00 



00 
ON 



to On U> 
t/i ON •-' 
00 f-n 0_ 



to Ol 
00 b 



jO jO JH J-< M 

6i w \b ON t) 

HH 4^ o o 01 

o O Oj W VI 



4^^ VI ON 

ON i-l "-t 
O 00 tn 



M |0 M JH 

6i On vj Cn vj 

Cri M tJi 0\ bi 

On '-t ui en vj 



vj K> Oi 4i» O 
to VI ON O O 
ON VI (n 01 »-i 



,0° 
Cn 

O 



00 

ft 



Ln 00 VI CiJ vj OJ t/i 
Ui VI 00 00 O cn -^ 
vj w VO to to to »-< 



to \0 Or Cn 
O O ■*=' OJ 
VI 10 to O 



8^ 



8^8= 



to to >-< M 



1^ Ji. \0 o ►-< 
Co O tyi \0 en 
to Cn W vj O 



On 10 Ui i-< On Oj 
_ - . _ Co O 00 ►-I oi VI 
ON to en 00 to VI Oj 01 VO 



to 



en 4^ 

to lo 



VI -t^ *-* ^ ^ ^ j^ ,^ j^ i'^ r* ^ -^ .-*^ 

"^^Cnvieni^ OenCocnenCn Oe/i4^M ON 
OoThVO OVOvi i-h ONCn OOO^-n-t- tOCnVlJi. 
M Qp4^VO t-i OnOO^ OCo t04^ Ig ^ CO QJ 00 



w M ►-< 

OJ 00 4^ 

O Co 00 

-^ 4^ O* 



00 Ji. M W W M W M W W M 

"bNtobcovii».vDOJ i-(tji4^ COOOtO ONVjvj 

X\0 O OnCo ^ OCot/i o .- to VI OOOnOnQi 

^ M 10 to 00 ►H 4^ to to Co VJ en \0 Co 10 00 VQ 



j-« Co JO 

To cn "to 

4^ 00 '-t 

^O O i~n 



o y^ ^ ^ ^ 

"o to b Co >b "10 

en en VO to ON M 

10 VJ en 4^ to O 



t 



"0 Ji i^ 
00 o vr 
o o -&. 



\0 VT to Ln VJ 01 

O >0 00 VI 00 00 
\0 VJ o C^ -^ 00 



o ai 10 

10 o\ o 

Co VI to 



\b toi^N'^^^Q?'"' 

OJonJi OOOnOWIVO 



4i4iVi\o Ouivivt On 
vOO'-'OVIOO^ONJi 
OcnCn4i4iCn 00-C* to 



O 



PART TWO 



GENEALOGICAL AND 
PERSONAL 



The Blair family of New Jersey had its ancestral home for many cen- 
BLAIR turies in the northern part of Perthshire, Scotland, where for six cen- 
turies or more it held an honored place in the annals of that country, 
many of its members winning a worldwide fame. Among these should be mentioned 
Rev. Dr. Hugh Blair, the distinguished rhetorician; Lieutenant Blair, R. N., after 
whom is named one of the best harbors in Asia; and Rev. Robert Blair Jr., the poet. • 
The Blairs were zealous covenanters, and at different times members of various 
branches emigrated to this country and became distinguished in early American 
colonial history as eminent divines and educationists. Among the first of these were 
the two brothers, Rev. Samuel and Rev. John Blair, who emigrated about 1720 and 
became prominently identified with the history of Presbyterian institutions in this 
country. Both were early trustees of the College of New. Jersey, and the Rev. Samuel 
Blair, after teaching a classical school at Neshaminy and preceding Dr. Witherspoon, 
serving for a year as acting president of the college, became vice-president of the 
College of New Jersey, and the first professor of theology of Princeton Theological 
Seminary. His brother declined an election as president of the college in favor of 
Dr. Witherspoon. Elizabeth Blair, sister of these two, married Rev. Robert Smith, 
D. D., for many years the Presbyterian pastor at Pequea, Pennsylvania, and became 
mother of Rev. Samuel Stanhope Smith, seventh president of Princeton College, and 
grandmother of. Mrs. T. W. Pintard, Mrs. Thomas Callender, Mrs. D. C. Salomans, 
and Mrs. Joseph Cabell Breckenridge, the mother of Hon. John C. Breckenridge, of 
Kentucky, vice-president of the United States in 1856, and the defeated opponent of 
Lincoln in the presidential campaign of i860. 

(I) Two cousins of the above-mentioned clergymen, the sons of a Samuel Blair, 
and, curiously enough, bearing the same names, John and Samuel, also emigrated to 
America between 1730 and 1740 and settled in what was then Greenwich township, 
Sussex county. New Jersey. Samuel Blair married a daughter of Dr. Shippen, of 
Philadelphia, and settled on property belonging to his wife at Scott's Mountain. His 
brother, John Blair, was born in 1718, and died May 20, 1798. He was a man of great 
force of character, engaged in local preaching,, taught school, and became the owner 
of much land near Scott's Mountain, and of the Beaver Brook land of about five 
hundred acres between Hope and Belvidere. He married Mary Hazlett, born about 
173s, died January 18, 1819. Children, so far as known: John; Samuel; Robert; 
James, referred to below; William, married Rachel Brands. 

(II) James, son of John and Mary (Hazlett) Blair, was born on Scott's Moun- 
tain, New Jersey, August 5, 1769, and died at Beaver Brook, New Jersey, August 5, 
1816. He married Rachel, daughter of John Insley, of Greenwich township. New 
Jersey, who was born about 1777, and died August 23, 1857, aged eighty years. Chil- 
dren : Samuel; Mary; William; John Insley, referred to below; Robert; James; 
Catharine; D. Bartley; Elizabeth; Jacob M. 

(III) John Insley, son of James and Rachel (Insley) Blair, was born near Foul 
Rift, on the Delaware river, about 'three miles below Belvidere, New Jersey, August 
22, 1802, and died December 2, 1899. Until he was eleven years of age he lived on his 
father's farm and attended in winter the neighboring district school. He then entered 
the store of his cousin. Judge Blair, of Hope, New Jersey, where he remained about 
three years learning the mercantile business, until the sudden death of his father called 
him back to the farm to be the mainstay of his mother. Shortly afterwards, still 
continuing to manage the farm, he returned to Hope and entered the store of Squire 
James DeWitt, where he busied himself learning the forms and proceedings of law, 
the method of collecting debts, compromising suits, the drawing of legal papers, and 



274 Warren County. 

familiarizing himself with a practical knowledge of business life. In 1819 he located 
at Gravel Hill (now Blairstown), New Jersey, where, in connection with his cousin, 
Mr. John Blair, he established a general country store. Two years later this partner- 
ship was dissolved and Mr. Blair continued the business by himself. He remained 
here for forty years, attending closely to business and constantly extending his trade, 
establishing branch stores at Marksboro, Paulina, Huntsville, and Johnsonburg, in 
some of which his brothers, James, Jacob M. and Robert, and his brother-in-law, 
Aaron H. Kelsey, as well as Mr. John M. Fair, all of them successful merchants, 
were partners. 

During this long period of mercantile life Mr. Blair was constantly enlarging his 
business connections and unconsciously laying the foundations of his future extensive 
and far-reaching business life. He was largely interested in flour mills, the manu- 
facture of cotton, in the general produce of the country around, and wholesaled a 
great many goods to other stores, and was postmaster at Blairstown for many years. 
It is not surprising that the growing business relations of Mr. Blair to the general 
commercial world should gradually have drawn him into intimate business connection 
with some of the largest enterprises of the country. His acquaintance with Colonel 
George W. Scranton and Seldon T. Scranton commenced as early as 1833 or 1834, 
when he assisted these gentlemen to lease the mines at Oxford Furnace, New Jersey, 
which had been operated before the revolutionary war. Circumstances made it neces- 
sary for both to remove to Slocum's Hollow, (now Scranton), Pennsylvania, where on 
October l, 1846, was organized the Lackawanna Coal & Iron Company, of whose 
mills Mr. Blair was one of the proprietors, the others being the Scranton brothers, 
William E. Dodge, Anson G. Phelps, Roswell Sprague, L,. L. Sturges, Dater and 
Miller, and George Buckley. From that day, when these men of strength laid the 
foundations of Scranton and set in operation the furnaces and the railroad mills 
there, until now, they have continued to be among the largest and most successful 
works of their kind in the country. The same company bought and rebuilt the road 
from Owego to Ithaca, New York, and opened it for business on December 18, 1849. 
In 1850 and 1851 they built the road from Scranton to Great Bend, then called the 
Legget's Gap railroad, which was opened for business in October, 1851, thus securing 
by means of their New York and Erie connection an outlet for their coal and iron. 
In the fall of 1852 Mr. Blair and Colonel Scranton had a conference of several days 
length at Scranton, during the which a plan was formed to separate the Legget's Gap, 
or western division of their road, from the iron company, and consolidate the former 
with a new company to be organized which was to construct a road to the Delaware 
river. The latter was called the Cobb's Gap railroad. At the suggestion of Mr. Blair 
the appropriate and characteristic designation of the "Delaware, Lackawanna, and 
Western railroad" was given to the consolidated road. Mr. Blair located and procured 
the right of way for the road, and the line, including the Warren road, with its Dela- 
ware river bridge, the Voss Gap tunnel, and a temporary track through A''an Ness 
Gap, was opened for business May 16, 1856. The Warren road and the Delaware, 
Lackawanna & Western railroad now own the Morris & Essex railroad, which, having 
been double tracked and improved as to the grades and curves, and almost entirely 
rebuilt by the purchasers, is doing a business such as was never dreamed of by its 
projectors. It is a part of a chain of roads nearly seven hundred miles long, operated 
by one company, reaching from New York City to Lake Ontario, with branches to 
various points in New York and Pennsylvania, the combined capital and cost of which 
is probably one hundred millions of dollars, and which transports nearly four hundred 
millions of tons of coal every year. 

The organization and construction of the Warren railroad in 1853, in the face of 
strong opposition by the Morris & Essex railroad, evinces the great business capacity 



Warren County. 275 

and tact of Mr. Blair as a railroad manager. Books of subscription were opened by 
the commissioners, the requisite amount of stock subscribed for, directors and officers 
chosen, the survey of the route adopted, and the president authorized to file it in the 
office of the secretary of state, full power delegated to the president to construct the road 
and to make contracts or leases for connecting with other roads, and the right of way 
through important gaps secured, all within the space of two hours. Mr. Blair was chosen 
president, and the next day but one found him in Trenton filing the survey about one 
hour in advance of the agents of the Morris & Essex railroad. The succeeding day 
saw him on the Delaware securing the passes. One day later the engineers and 
agents of the Morris & Essex railroad came to the same place on the same errand. 
The former had already secured all the passes below the Water Gap. The latter 
struck for those in and above the Gap on the New Jersey side, and paid exorbitant 
prices for farms, right of way, and two river crossings. Their vigilant competitor, 
however, caused the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western railroad to be constructed 
through the Gap on the Pennsylvania side, and, crossing the river several miles below, 
cut them oflf with their high-priced passes and crossings on their hands. A contest 
in the courts and legislature of New Jersey resulted in sustaining the Warren road. 
It would be beyond the scope and limits of a work of this kind to pursue in further 
detail the various railroad and business enterprises of Mr. Blair, who was one of the 
railroad magnates of America, and the controlling owner in a large number of wealthy 
corporations. He was president of the Warren, the Sussex, and the Blairstown rail- 
roads of New Jersey, and a large stockholder in the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western 
railroad. He was the main stockholder of ten different railroads in Nebraska, Iowa 
and Wisconsin, comprising about two thousand miles in extent, and was the veritable 
railroad king of the west. He obtained two million acres of land from the govern- 
ment for railroads in that section, and became a director of six land and town lot 
companies in the west. He was a member of the first board of directors of the Union 
Pacific railroad, and a member of the executive and finance committees, and con- 
structed the first railroad through the state of Iowa to connect with the Union Pacific 
at Omaha, employing ten thousand men for eight months. He also purchased the 
Green Bay railroad to Winona, some two hundred miles long, for two million dollars. 
He was a director of the Lackawanna Coal & Iron Company; president of the Belvi- 
dere. New Jersey, National Bank, almost since its organization in 1830, and main 
stockholder of the First National Bank of Cedar Rapids, Iowa, and a director in 
the Scranton Savings Institution, besides being interested in different directions in 
silver mining and smaller business ventures. 

In all his business transactions, though comprising millions of dollars, no one ever 
questioned the integrity of Mr. Blair, nor successfully challenged his honesty of 
motive and purpose. He ever manifested great concern for the interests and rights 
of others, and was the donor of large gifts to private and public institutions. His 
personal donations were simply enormous, including the sum of about $70,000 to the 
College of New Jersey at Princeton, of which he was one of the trustees, and $50,000 
to Lafayette College, Easton, Pennsylvania, including the endowment of the chair of 
the president. The Blair Academy of Blairstown, New Jersey, has cost, including 
buildings, grounds and endowment, about $500,000, and was donated by Mr. Blair to 
the presbytery of Newton in trust. The various buildings of modern construction 
and design, are of the handsomest of their kind in the state; are heated throughout by 
steam, and supplied with pure spring and artesian well water, and have every modem 
convenience. Provision is made in the endowment of the institution for the education 
of the sons and daughters of ministers of the presbytery free of charge for board and 
tuition. Mr. Blair's other contributions to the cause of education and religion through- 
out the country have comprised hundreds of thousands of dollars. He ever assisted 



276 Warren County. 

liberally in supporting church institutions of various denominations, and in the eighty 
towns that he laid out in the west more than one hundred churches have been erected 
largely through his liberality. 

In politics Mr. Blair was a staunch supporter of Republican principles, but found 
little leisure to indulge in office-holding, or to mingle in the affairs of political life.. 
His sphere was a higher one, ministering alike to the prosperity of the whole people 
and to the material and commercial growth of the country. He was the candidate of 
the Republican party for governor of*New Jersey in 1868. 

Mr. Blair married, September 20, 1826, Nancy Locke, born November 30, 1804, 
died October 12, 1888. Her grandfather. Captain Locke, was killed at the battle of 
Springfield, during the revolution. Children: Emma Elizabeth, referred to below; 
Marcus Lawrence, born 1830, died 1874, unmarried ; DeWitt Clinton, and Aurelia Ann, 
both referred to below. 

(IV) Emma Elizabeth, daughter of John Insley and Nancy (Locke) Blair, was 
born September 24, 1827, and died February 15, 1869. She married, June 13, 1848, 
Charles Scribner, founder of the distinguished publishing firm of New York City, 
who was born February 21, 1821, and died August 26, 1871. Children: i. John Insley 
Blair (Scribner), died 1879; married Lucy Scidmore. 2. Emma Locke (Scribner), 
married Walter Cranston Lamed. 3. Charles (Scribrer) (2), married Louise Flagg. 
4. Arthur Hawley (Scribner), married Helen Annan. 5. Herbert (Scribner), died 
1864. 6. Ann (Scribner), died 1867. 7. Isabelle (Scribner), married Carter Harrison 
Fitz Hugh. 

(IV) DeWitt Clinton, son of John Insley and Nancy (Locke) Blair, was bom 
September 6, 1833. He married, April 21, 1864, Mary Anna Kimball. Children : i. 
John I., died July 27, 1866. 2. Clinton Ledyard, married Florence Osborne Jennings. 
3. J. Insley. 

(IV) Aurelia Ann, daughter of John Insley and Nancy (Locke) Blair, was born 
September 14, 1838, and died October 7, 1866. She married, October 20, 1864, Clarence 
Green Mitchell, a lawyer of New York City, who died 1893. Only Child: Clarence 
Blair (Mitchell), married Lucy Mildred Matthews. 



George Wyckoff Cummins, Ph. D., M..D., is a representative of a 
CUMMINS family that can be traced back in European history to the middle 
ages. The name is taken from the town in which the family origi- 
nated, called Commines, partly in France and partly in Belgium. Some members 
of the family went to England with William the Conqueror in 1066 and established 
the English, Scotch and Irish branches of the family. Four Scottish earls bore the 
name in the thirteenth century. The most illustrious of the name was Philip de 
Commines, who was born in 1447 and died in 1511. His memoirs concerning the 
events of his times have caused him to be called "The Father of Modern History;" 

The founder of this branch of the family in America was Christton Cummins, 
who arrived at Philadelphia in the good ship "Molly," October 17, 1741. By work- 
ing at his trade of tailor he accumulated enough money in a few years to buy the 
farm at Asbury, New Jersey, that remained in possession of his descendants until 
1878. Jacob Cummins, a brother of his, settled at Delaware, New Jersey. Christeon 
Cummins and his wife Catherine had ten children, one of whom was noted as the 
strongest man in these parts. He could on a running jump clear a team of oxen or 
the cover of a big wagon. He could lift a barrel full of cider and drink from the 
bunghole and, in a wrestle, could throw any one he met. These abilities were highly 
appreciated in those days, when impromptu athletic contests formed an important 
part of the amusements of the period. 

Four of the children of Christeon Cummins settled at what is now Vienna, New 



Warren County. 277 

Jersey, so it is little to be wondered at that the place was called Cumminstown until 
about 1828, when it was changed to Vienna, in honor of the capital of Austria, the 
country from which Christepn Cummins came in 1741. ■ At that time Austria 
extended to the Atlantic Ocean. Christeon's oldest son Philip settled about 1770 on 
the place where now lives his only surviving grandson, A. J. Cummins, at Vienna. 
In 1794 he built the stone house which still forms part of a fine residence. Here 
was born in 1790 his youngest son Jacob, grandfather of our subject. Jacob, in a 
long life that ended in 1873, amassed the largest fortune in his township. 

His son, Simon A. Cummins, was born on the old homestead in 1823, and was 
not only an enterprising farmer but also an inventor and manufacturer of agricul- 
tural implements. As an ardent Democrat ' he held many township and county 
offices. He was for many years an official member of the Christian Church at 
Vienna. He married, in 1849, Mary Carhart, daughter of Cornelius, granddaughter 
of Samuel, and great-granddaughter of Cornelius Carhart, who was captain of the 
Third Regiment of Hunterdon county in 1778 and third major in 1781, in the Con- 
tinental army. Major Carhart was the son of Robert and grandson of Thomas Car- 
hart, who came to America, August 25, 1683, as private secretary to Governor Thomas 
Dongan. Thomas Carhart married Mary Lord, daughter of Robert Lord and Rebecca 
Phillips, whose sister Elizabeth married John Alden, the son of P'riscilla and John 
Alden, made famous by Longfellow in the "Courtship of Miles Standish." Rebecca 
Phillips' father is mentioned by John G. Whittier in his poem of "Mogg Megone." 

George Wyckoff Cummins was born March 2, 1865, entered the Centenary Colle- 
giate Institute at Hackettstown, New Jersey, in 1879, and, graduating in 1881, entered 
the Sheffield Scientific School of Yale College, at which he received the degree of Ph. 
B. in 1884. He remained four years as a post graduate student and instructor in physi- 
ological chemistry and mathematics, receiving the degree of Ph. D. from Yale Univer- 
sity in 1887. He continued his studies at the College of Physicians and Surgeons in 
New York (the medical department of Columbia University) which gave him the 
degree of M. D. in 1890. On June 14, 1890, he married Annie Blair Titman, daughter of 
William Blair Titman, of Bridgeville, New Jersey. 

Mrs. Cummins is very active in church work. She has been secretary and treas- 
urer of the County Sunday School Association for seven years. She is a skillful per- 
former on the piano and pipe-organ, both of which are at her disposal in the stone 
residence on the Park at Belvidere. For seven years she has given her services as 
organist in the Methodist Episcopal Church on the Jardine organ that she was largely 
instrumental in procuring. 

In collaboration with Professor R. H. Chittenden, of Yale University, Dr. Cum- 
mins has done a great deal of original work in physiological chemistry, most of which 
is published in the Transactions of the Connecticut Academy. He is also the author 
of "The Annealing of Copper," "A Four Thousand Year Calendar," and many arti- 
cles on genealogical, historical and scientific subjects. 

Dr. Cummins has made two trips abroad, partly educational and partly in the inter- 
est of some important inventions of his in improved methods of annealing iron and 
copper wire; His method of annealing copper in an atmosphere of steam is the 
accepted method throughout the world to-day, and offered the first practical proof that 
steam can be superheated to a white heat with perfect safety, provided it is done at 
atmospheric pressure. 

In 1891 Dr. Cummins entered upon the practice of medicine at Belvidere, New 
Jersey, where he has resided ever since. In 1897 he was the active spirit in the forma- 
tion of the West Jersey Toll Line Company, which has control of the telephone system 
of Warren county. 

In addition to his private practice, he has served as physician to the town of Belvi- 



278 Warren County, 

dere and county of Warren, secretary of the board of health, and medical inspector of 
Belvidere's public schools. He has been a member of the board of education for 
eighteen years, and has done much to bring the schools to their present high standard. 
He is also examiner for several life insurance companies and several lodges. He is a 
past master of Warren Lodge, No. 13, Free and Accepted Masons, and was the first 
commander of Belvidere Tent, No. 30, Knights of the Maccabees. 



William Blair Titman, deceased, was highly respected during his 
TITMAN useful and busy life, and, though he was summoned to the better land 
nine years ago, his memory is still cherished in the hearts of many 
friends and associates, who held him dear while he was among them. He was a most 
worthy representative of a family that has long been numbered among the best people 
of New Jersey, and whose representatives have owned and improved land generation 
after generation, thus adding materially to the substantial wealth of the several com- 
munities of which they formed a part. 

In tracing the record of the Titmans it is of interest to note that the family orig- 
inated in the province of Saxony, and that Lodewick Titman was the founder of the 
family in America. In 1737 he bought a farm of four hundred acres situated at the 
very base of the Blue Mountains, six miles from the Water Gap. He was thus one 
of the very earliest settlers in the county. His name is attached to the call made in 
1749 to John Albert Weygand, the second regular pastor of the Lutheran churches in 
this part of the State. His will was admitted to probate at Newton on November 23, 
1772. Some of the property willed at that time to his two sons, George and Baltus, was 
in the family from 1737 until about igoo. 

One son of Lodewick Titman, and the lineal ancestor of oui- subject, was George, 
who was born in 1726 and came to America with his father when eleven years of age. 
George's daughter Mary married Rev. Ludwig Chitara, a' converted Swiss Augustinian 
monk, who preached to the German Reformed congregations at Knowlton and Newton. 
George Titman died in 1792, and his son George, born in 1750, bought in 1775 of Will- 
iam Coxe and Mary, his wife, a tract of 266 acres at Bridgeville, and in 1793 added to 
it 200 acres which was also a part of the Coxe tract and has been the homestead of our 
subject's family ever since. One of the children of George and Lanah (Albright") 
Titman was Jacob, who was born April 4, 1781, married Elizabeth Mayberry in 1802, 
and died February 25, 1864. His son, Jabez Gwinnup Titman, born March 22, 1812, 
married Mary Ann Blair and was the father of our subject. 

J. G. Titman was an able business man and a practical agriculturist. He was very 
liberal to all enterprises deserving of support, and was a patriotic citizen. His death 
took place December 14, 1889. 

William Blair Titman's mother, Mary Ann Blair, was a member of the most promi- 
nent family in Northern New Jersey, and was a cousin of the Honorable John I. Blair, 
long noted as the wealthiest man in the State. Her father was William Blair, one of the 
founders of the Lutheran church at Greenwich, New Jersey, and son of John Blair, 
whose father, Samuel Blair, was the founder of the family in America. He came from 
Scotland about 1730, and married into the family of the elder Dr. William Shippen, 
of Philadelphia, who owned the iron furnace at Oxford and 4arge tracts of land on 
Scott's Mountain, and this fact determined the presence of the Blairs in our county. 

William Blair Titman attended the public schools of Bridgeville, and later was a 
student in the Belvidere Academy. From the age of twenty he engaged in farming 
until he retired to enjoy the fruits of many years of toil. After his retirement in 1890 
he resided in a handsome dwelling, which he built at Belvidere, until his death, on July 
21, 1902. On the organization of the Washington National Bank he was elected pres- 
ident of the institution and this position he retained until his decease. 



Warren County, 279 

On November 28, 1865, Mr. Titman married Margaret E. Roseberry. Their only 
child, Annie Blair, married, on June 14, 1890, Dr. G. Wyckofif Cummins, a physician of 
Belvidere, New Jersey, and still owns the home3tead at Bridgeville originally bought 
by her great-great-grandfather. Mrs. Cummins took the course in music at the Cen- 
tenary Collegiate Institute at Hackettstown, New Jersey, and is a skilled performer on 
the piano and pipe organ. She is a member of the National Association of Organists. 

Mrs. Titman is descended through her father, Joseph M. Roseberry, from one of 
the oldest and most prominent families in this section and through her mother, Sally 
Ann Depue, from the old Huguenot family who settled in the Minisink and numbers 
many professional men among its members. 

At the time of his death, Mr. Titman was president of the West Jersey Toll Line 
Company, a director of the Mercer County Insurance Company, a member of the 
board of trustees of the First Presbyterian Church of Belvidere, a member of the 
common council of the town, and vice-president of the Warren County Farmers' Picnic 
Association. 



John Ludwig Klein, as his name is spelt on his gravestone in the cemetery 
CLINE of St. James' Lutheran Church, was a native of Saxony, Germany. In the 

old records the name occurs variously as Ludwig, Lodewijk and Lewis, in 
accordance with the German, Dutch or English nationality of the recorder, and he him- 
self signs his will Lodoway Cline. The date on his tombstone is indecipherable, but he 
died in Greenwich township, Sussex (now Warren) county, New Jersey, between July 
II and August 16, 1796, the dates of the execution and proving of his will. He emi- 
grated first to Perth Amboy, and in 1740 settled on a farm of about two hundred acres 
of land about midway between the present towns of Phillipsburg and Stewartsville. 
He married, December 18, 1752, Catharina Bordelmay, or Borde Imay, who was born 
in Saxony, January 26, 1734, and died in New Jersey, January 29, 1792. Children: 

Michael, removed to Indiana; Mary, married Burke; Elizabeth, married William 

Teal; Catharina, married John Teal; Margaret, married Demond; Lewis, re- 
ferred to below ; Sarah, married Steelsmith ; Elizabeth, married Ritter. 

(II) Lewis Cline, son of John Ludwig and Catharina (Bordelmay) Klein, was born 
about 1766, and died about 1847. He inherited from his father the old two-hundred- 
acre farm where he was born. He added to the property about two hundred acres 
more and became a prominent man in the community. He had a liberal education for 
his time, and he was for many years an elder of the Presbyterian Church at Harmony. 

Lewis Cline married, in 1790, Elizabeth, daughter of Jacob Weller, of Frank- 
lin township, Sussex county, New Jersey, who was born about 1774, and died March 
31, 1857. Her grandfather had emigrated about 1740 to America and settled on a farm 
of about one thousand acres of land near the present town of New Village. She was 
widely known, not only as a most worthy Christian woman, but for her superior knowl- 
edge of disease and its remedies and for her remarkable cures of the sick. Children : 
Jacob, born April 26, 1791, died 1855, a miller and farmer, of Lopatcong township; 
Anna, born November 19, 1792, married Peter Winter, of Greenwich township; Mary, 
born October 14, 1794, married Thomas Reese, of Phillipsburg; John and Lewis, both 
referred to below; Eliza, died aged sixteen years; Christiana, born in June, 1804, mar- 
ried Archibald Davison, of Belvidere; William, born in 1806, lived and died at Cham- 
bersburg, Pennsylvania; Michael, born in 1808, Hved and died on a farm adjoining that 
settled by his grandfather, in Greenwich township. 

(III) John, son of Lewis and Elizabeth (Weller) Cline, was born in Greenwich 
township, Sussex (now Warren) county, New Jersey, January 4, 1797, and died at New 
Village, Warren county, November 30, 1881. His early life was spent on his father's 
farm, and on another that he rented about the time of his marriage. In 1824 he pur- 



2 8o Warren County. 

chased two hundred acres of land at New Village, to which he subsequently added 
about three hundred acres more. He spent the remainder of his life here, and by his 
enterprise, industry, economy and judicious management not only became the possessor 
of a large property but also made himself one of the most successful of the representa- 
tive agriculturists of the county. Soon after his marriage he and his wife became 
members of the Presbyterian church, and until their deaths were among the staunchest 
and most liberal supporters of the congregation. They were also for many years mem- 
bers of the American Bible Society. Uftil the outbreak of the civil war Mr. Cline was 
a Democrat, and served one term in the New Jersey legislature in 1851. Afterwards, 
however, his anti-slavery beliefs led him to join the Republican party. He married, 
September 9, 1819, Ruth, born July 12, 1802, died November 26, 1899, daughter of the 
Rev. Garner A. and Ruth (Page) Hunt. Her grandfather, Major-General Augustine 
Hunt, was an officer in the British army during the revolutionary war, and had later 
settled in New York state, where he died. Two of his children, HoUoway and Garner 
A., became noted Presbyterian pastors and settled in New Jersey. The Rev. HoUoway 
Hunt died January 11, 1858, aged eighty-eight years, near Clinton, Hunterdon county. 
New Jersey, where he had spent his life as pastor of the "Old Stone Church." The 
Rev. Garner A. Hunt went first to Cumberland county, New Jersey, where he married. 
Afterwards he became pastor at Kingwood, Hunterdon county, and at Harmony and 
Oxford, Warren county. He died at Harmony, February 11, 1849, aged eighty-four 
years. He married Ruth, daughter of Captain David Page, of Cumberland county. 
Children: Dr. David Page, of Marksboro, Warren county; Rev. HoUoway, Presby- 
terian minister at Metuchen, Middlesex county, New Jersey; Sarah, married Lewis (2), 
son of Lewis (i) and Elizabeth (Weller) Cline, referred to below; Ruth Page, referred 
to above. Children of John and Ruth Page (Hunt) Cline: HoUoway Hunt, born 
1820, died June 14, 1892; Elizabeth, referred to below; Sarah H., referred to below; 
Caroline, married Andrew Slover, of Blairstown; John W., referred to below; Garner 
A., born September 8, 1833, died September 27, 1870. 

(IV) Elizabeth, daughter of John and Ruth Page (Hunt) Cline, was born in 
Harmony, Sussex (now Warren) county. New Jersey, February 4, 1823, and is now 
living at Stewartsville, Warren county. Her parents moved to New Village when she 
was five years old, and she was educated in a private school in that place. In 1892, 
after her husband's and father's deaths, she removed with her mother and her brother, 
HoUoway Hunt Cline, to Stewartsville. She had always been interested in church 
work and joined the Greenwich Presbyterian Church when she was sixteen years old. 
At present (1910) she is a member of the Stewartsville church. Besides seven large 
farms, she owns a number of valuable properties in Stewartsville, and is a stockholder 
in the national banks of Phillipsburg and Easton. She married, September 22, 1865, 
Martin H., born July 11, 1825, died August 8, 1873, son of Peter Tinsman. He was a 
wealthy farmer of Warren county, a member of St. James' Lutheran Church till his 
marriage, and afterwards of the Presbyterian Church. He possessed a good deal of 
musical talent and was an excellent performer on the violin. Children of Peter and 
Margaret (Cline) Tinsman: Sarah (Tinsman), married George Weller; John (Tins- 
man) ; William. 

• (IV) Sarah H., daughter of John and Ruth Page (Hunt) Cline, was born in 
Warren county. New Jersey, February 24, 1825, and died July 10, 1906. She married, 
February 18, 1847, John Howell, son of Michael and Naomi (Howell) Boyer, referred 
to elsewhere. 

(IV) John W., son of John and Ruth Page (Hunt) Cline, was born in New 
Village, Warren county, New Jersey, July 31, 1830. He received his early education in 
the schools of his birthplace, and has spent his entire life there, engaged in agriculture 
and stock raising. He is regarded as one of the most representative farmers and 
honored citizen of Warren county, where he owns seven farms, aggregating over eight 




Mantin ^. y7in4man 




^iiao/i^etn c/mdman 



Warren County. 281 

hundred acres of the county's most valuable land. Until igo8 he lived in the old farm 
house built by his father, but in that year he erected the present fine residence occupied 
by himself and his son, John B. Cline, who now (1910) manages the place. The dwell- 
ing has every modern convenience, is on the line of the Easton & Washington electric 
railroad, and is situated on one of the most beautiful spots in the county. Besides his 
farms Mr. Cline owns eleven houses in New Village, which he built for and rents to 
the employees of the Edison Portland Cement Company. He has been a member of 
the Presbyterian Church from boyhood, and for the last forty years has been an elder. 
For more than twenty years he was librarian of and teacher in the Sunday school. He 
is an earnest advocate of temperance, and a Democrat in politics. He has served as 
township committeeman, as a member of the board of freeholders, and for ten years a,' 
a member of the board of education. He married (first), March 10, 1857, Savilla, born 
July 19, 1836, died August 6, 1869, daughter of Michael and Naomi (Howell) Boyer. 
He married (second), January 18, 1872, Ellen H. Thatcher. Children, five by first 
wife : Frank, born December 31, 1857, died June 10, 1876, when about to enter college 
to study for the ministry; William, born October 3, 1859, died September 23, 1862; 
George B., born March 2, 1861, died September 30, 1861; Garner A., born April 20, 
1864, married Isabella Peters, children ; Elizabeth C, Frank C. and Ruth ; Edward, 
born, born May 24, 1865, died July 13, 1865; John B., born April 6, 1873, married 
Mercy J., daughter of Frank and Margaret (Lake) Smith, children: Mildred and 
Holloway. 

(III) Lewis (2), son of Lewis (i) and Ehzabeth (Weller) Cline, was born in 
Greenwich township, Sussex (now Warren) county, New Jersey, January 11, 1799. 
He married Sarah, daughter of Rev. Garner A. and Ruth Page (Hunt) Cline. Chil- 
dren: Jacob W., David Page, John, Caleb, referred to below; Ruth, Elizabeth, 
Sarah, Mary. 

(IV) Caleb, son of Lewis (2) and Sarah (Hunt) Cline, died June 22, 1899. He 
married Annie E., daughter of John Howell and Sarah H. (Cline) Boyer, referred to 
elsewhere. 



In the middle of the seventeenth century two brothers, Jan and 
STRYKER Jacobus Van Strijcker, received from the States General of the 

Netherlands a grant of land in the colony of New Amsterdam, on 
condition that they take out with them to America twelve other families at their 
own expense. Eight years later, in 1651, the younger brother, Jacobus, with his 
wife, Ytie Huijbrechts, and his family, emigrated to New Netherlands and founded 
the Knickerbocker family of the name. 

(I) Jan Strijcker, the eldest brother, emigrated in the following year from 
Ruinen, in the province of Dreuthe, with his wife, two sons and four daughters. 
After remaining in New Amsterdam a little over a year he removed in 1654 to Mid- 
wout (now Flatbush), where he was within a year elected schepen, an office which 
he held most of the time during the succeeding twenty years. He was appointed by 
Director General Stuyvesant one of the ambassadors from New Amsterdam and 
the principal Dutch towns of New Netherlands to the lord mayors in Holland, to 
ask for reinforcements from the fatherland on account of their being driven off of 
their lands by the EngHsh and Indians. He was representative from Midwout.to the 
landstag of April, 1664, and also to the Hempstead convention in 1665. October 11, 
1667, he is named as patentee in the Nichols patent, and again, November 12, 1685, 
in the Dongan patent. October 25, 1673, he was elected captain of the military com- 
pany at Midwout, and his brother. Jacobus, was given authority to "administer the 
oaths" and to install him into office. The following March he was one of the 
deputies from Midwout to the conference with Governor Colve at New Orange. He 
married (first), in Holland, Lambertje Seubering, who was the mother of all his 



2 82 Warren County. 

children. He married (second), April 30, 1679, Swantje Jans, widow of Cornelius 
de Potter, who died in 1686. He married (third), March 31, 1687, Teuntje Teunis, 
of Flatbush, widow of Jacob Hellakers, of New Amsterdam, who survived him. 
Children: Altje, married. May 20, 1660, Abraham Jorise Brinckerhoflf; Jannetje, 
married (first) Cornells Jansen Berrien, of Flatbush, (second) Samuel Edsall, of 
Newtown; Garrit Janse, married, December 28, 1683, Stijntje Gerritse Dorland; 
Angenietje, married (first), April s, 1656, Claes Tyssen, (second) Jan Cornelise 
Boomgaert, of Flatlands; Hendrick, 3ied 1689, married, February 11, 1687, Cath- 
arine Huys; Eijtje, married Stoffel Probasco; Pieter, referred to below; Sara, mar- 
■■•ed, August II, 1673, Joris Hansen Bergen. 

(II) Pieter, son of Jan and Larabertje (Seubering) Strijcker, was born in Flat- 
Bush, November i, 1653, and died there, June 11, 1741. He was one of the patentees 
of Flatbush, named in the Dongan patent of November 12, 1685; high sherifif of 
Kings county, November 2, 1683; judge of court, 1720 to 1722; captain of foot 
militia, December 27, 1689. June i, 1710, he purchased from Aert Matthew and 
David Aerson, of Brockland, New York, four thousand acres of land on the Mill- 
stone river, in Somerset county. New Jersey, on which his sons, Jacob and Barent, 
and four sons of his son, Jan, settled. He married. May 29, 1681, Annetje Barends, 
who died June 17, 1717. Children: Lammetje, born March 20, 1682, died April 9, 
1682; Lammetje, born February 16, 1683, died July 26, 1690; Jan, referred to below; 
Barent, born September 3, 1686, died July 3, 1690, of smallpox, as did also his sister, 
Lammetje, above; Jacob, born August 24, 1688, married, probably December 17, 
1710, Annetje Vanderbeek; Barent, born September 14, 1690, died October 27, 1746, 
married, February 16, 1717, Libertje Hegeman; Hendrik, born December 3, 1692, 
died May 17, 1694; Sijntje, born December 17, 1694, married, March 14, 1717, Aert 
Vanderbilt; Pieter, born February 12, 1697, died December 24, 1776, married. May 

18, 1720, Jannetje Martense Adrianse; Hendrik, born February 18, 1699, died August 

19. 1739. married Marijtje ; Lammetje, born December 21, 1700, died Septem- 
ber 14, 1763, married (first), November 4, 1721, Johannes Lott, of Flatlands, (second) 
Christiaen, son of Dominie Gulielmus Lupardus. 

(III) Jan, son of Pieter and Annetje (Barends) Strijcker, was born in. Flatbush, 
August 6, 1684, and died there, August 17, 1770. He resided all his life in Flatbush, 
where he had considerable landed property. He was one of the sachems of the 
Tammany Society, and in 1715 a member of Captain Dorainicus Vandervere's com- 
pany of Kings county militia. He married (first), 1704, Margarita, daughter of 
Johannes Schenck, of Bushwick, Long Island, who died in August, 1721; (second), 
February 17, 1722, Sara, daughter of Michael Hansen and Femmetje (Denyse) 
Bergen, who was baptized June 2, 1678, and died July 15, 1760. Children, nine by 
first marriage: Pieter, born September 14, 1705, died December 28, 1774, married 
(first) Antje Deremer, (second) Catrina Buys, removed to Somerset county. New 
Jersey, about 1730; Johannes, born February 12, 1707, died before February 7, 1785, 
married, 1733, Cornelia Duryea, removed to New Jersey, and settled about three- 
quarters of a mile from Harlingen, and thirteen miles from New Brunswick; 
Annetje, born December 20, 1708, married Roelof Cowenhoven; Magdalena, born 
December 19, 1710, married Aert Middagh, of Brooklyn; Margarita, born March 24, 
1713; Abraham, referred to below; Lammetje, born February 11, 1716, married 
(first), 1739, Garret Stoothof, of Flatlands, (second) Jan Amerman, of Flatlands; 
Jacobus, born September 29, 1718, died before June 13, 1789, married (first) Geertje 

Duryea, (second) Jannetje , removed to Franklin township, Somerset county. 

New Jersey; Margarita, born December 9, 1719, married Jacobus Cornell; Mighiel 
or Michael, born March 4, 1723, died September 26, 1807, married. May 31, 1751, 
Hanna or Joanna, daughter of Cornells and Rebecca (Hubbard) Strijcker, of 
Gravesend, Long Island; Femmetje, born June 19, 1725, married. May 25, 1745, 



Warren County. 283 

Jacobus Vanderveer, of Raritan; Barent, born November 13, 1728, died before 1768, 
unmarried; Sara, born June 15, 1731, died before 1768, unmarried; Isaac, born 1732, 
settled in the West Indies. 

(IV) Abraham, son of Jan and Margarita (Schenck) Strijcker, was born in Flat- 
bush, Long Island, August 4, 1715, and died in Franklin township, Somerset county. 
New Jersey, April 4, 1777. He removed to New Jersey, May 10, 1740, and was dea- 
con in the church at Harlingen, May 23, 1763, and again April 23, 1768. He married 
(first), November 23, 1739, Eitje or Ida Ryder, born November 9, 1719, died Novem- 
ber 12, 1753; (second) Katriena Cornell, died February 16, 1760, (third), October 16, 
1760, Katriena Hogeland, born 1732, survived her husband and married again, July 
28, 1778, probably as second wife, Richard or Dirck Longstreet, whom she also sur- 
vived, he dying December 4, 179s, and she in 1825, at Princeton. Children, six by 
first marriage, and two by second marriage: Margarita, born April 20, 1741, married 

(first) Van Arsdale, (second) Abraham Brown; Aeltje, born January 28, 1743, 

married Philip Van Arsdale; Sara, born August 2S> I74S, died September 18, 1821, 
married, June 8, 1763, John B. Bergen, of Middlesex county. New Jersey; Johannes, 
born October 18, 1747, died November 29, 1776, married Maria Veghte; Abraham, 
born August 8, 1750, died September 24, 1750; Abraham, born January 10, 1752, died 
before December 3, 1827, married (first), December 9, 177s, Cornelia, daughter of 
Gerardus Beekman, (second), October 28, 1811, Ann Terhune, of Long Island; Ida, 
born February 17, 1755; Annetje, born January 28, 1758; Christoffel H. (or Christo- 
pher), born September 28, 1761, died October 18, 1805, married, April 9, 1789, Ruth, 
daughter of Joseph Cowart, of Imlaystown, New Jersey, and niece of Colonel Na- 
thaniel Scudder, the only member of the Continental congress killed during the 
revolution; Peter, referred to below; Kathalyna, born April 21, 1767, died April 2, 
1778; Jacob, born June 27, 1768, died May g, 1814, married (first), December 22, 
1791, Belijtje Monfort, (second), July 23, 1797, Mary, daughter of Thomas Skillman; 
John, died in infancy; Margaret, Althey, or Althea; Sarah, Eidah, or Ida, married 
Abraham Van Dyke; Catharine. 

(V) Peter Stryker, son of Abraham and Katriena (Hogeland) Strijcker, was 
born in Franklin township, Somerset county. New Jersey, December 6, 1762. He 
resided at Millstone, Ralstontown, and above Middle Valley, Somerset county, and 
in 1787 received from his father-in-law eighty-three and one-third acres of land 
there, being one-third of the old Longstreet farm. He married Christiana, daugh- 
ter of Richard Longstreet. Children: John, born 1800, died 1875, married Cath- 
arine, daughter of Conrad Rarick; Peter, referred to below; Sarah, born March 19, 
180S, married William Larison; Anna, born March 19, 1805, twin with Sarah; Aaron, 
born March 21, 1807, married and removed to New York state; Jacob Henry, born 
May 19, 1809; Permelia, born January 21, 1811; Martin, married Ann, daughter of 
John Trimmer; Isaac; William, married and removed to New York state; Henry, 
married Ann,. daughter of Lorenz Schleicher; Elizabeth, married William Hartrum; 
Julia Ann, married Daniel Clausin. 

(VI) Peter (2), son of Peter (i) and Christiana (Longstreet) Stryker, was born 
in Somerset county. New Jersey, June 13, 1804, and died in Middle Valley, Morris 
county. New Jersey, April 22, 1879. He was a carpenter and undertaker. He mar- 
ried (first) Mary, daughter of Isaac and Elizabeth (Trimmer) Rulison, or Roelof- 
son, who was born in 1801, and died January 21, 1867; (second) Mary Gerard. Chil- 
dren, all by first marriage: i. John Vandervoort, born December 25, 1825, 
died December 28, 1903; married Mary, daughter of George Hager, who died 
June 22, 1898, aged about seventy-five years. 2. Elizabeth, died April 27, 1893; 
married Hiram Force, of Spruce Run and Glen Gardner; children: John, an 
implement dealer, living at Glen Gardner; Jacob, a farmer, living at New Hampton, 
New Jersey; James, a telegraph operator in Chicago, Illmois. 3. David, living at 



284 Warren County. 

Ifonia, Morris county, New Jersey, where he is a farmer, merchant and postmaster; 
married Joanna Pickel; children: John, Cora and David Rulison. 4. Henry, re- 
ferred to below. 5. Sarah Ann, died in Elida, Illinois; went to Illinois about 1870, 
married, in New Jersey, John Mitchell; children: Stryker, Mary, Elizabeth and 
John Mitchell. 6. Isaac Rulison, born 1831, died June 3, 1893; junior member of 
building firm of Stryker & Company and Stryker Brothers, Hackettstown; married 
Margaret Mitchell, who was born March 3, 1825, and died September 11, 1904; chil- 
dren, two died in infancy, and Ella, bSrn July 20, 1857, died July 31, i8i86, married 
Dr. Smith, of Glen Gardner, and left two children: Edward and Grace Smith. 

(VII) Henry, son of Peter (2) and Mary (Rulison) Stryker, was born at Middle 
Valley, Morris county. New Jersey, September 11, 1829, and died in Hackettstown, 
Warren county, New Jersey, January 21, 1901. He learned the trade of carpenter, 
and went to Hackettstown in 1851, where he entered the employ of Henry Vanatta, 
being joined there two years later by his brother, Isaac. About four years later, 
when Mr. Vanatta became master carpenter of the Camden & Amboy railroad, 
Henry Stryker and John Marlatt bought up his carpenter business in Hackc ttstbwn, 
and on the outbreak of the civil war, when Mr. Marlatt retired to engagt in the 
butcher business, Mr. Stryker formed a partnership with his younger brothe- , Isaac, 
which lasted until the latter's death, and the firm name was changed from Stryker & 
Company to Stryker Brothers. Henry Stryker was the dominating and aggressive 
leader in the vast and varied enterprises of this firm, which was noted for its probity, 
and as the recognized leader of the building industry in Northern New Jersey. 
Hackettstown, as it stands to-day, was practically built by them, and is a lasting 
monument to the integrity, if not the profit of the two brothers. The Centenary 
Collegiate Institute, destroyed by fire about ten years ago, was the' largest and most 
important contract executed by the firm, and the public school building is another 
monument to the substantial character of their work. Their fidelity to obligations 
and their conscientious regard for the interest of those they served gave them a 
widespread reputation of always building better than they promised. During his 
half century of business activity in Hackettstown, Henry Stryker held the confidence 
and respect of every one in all relations of life. He met and discharged every duty 
of man and citizen, and the great solicitude conccning his physical condition during 
the months of his last illness was an eloquent expioSsion of the esteem in which he 
was held by all. 

He married (first), December 31, 1853, Ann Elizabeth, daughter of William and 
Elizabeth (Allen) Allen, of Hackettstown, who was born May 18, 1825, Blairstown, 
Warren county, New Jersey, and died in Hackettstown, May 21, 1875. He married 
(second), May 29, 1877, Julia Nicholls (Phillips) Fritts, widow, of Washington, 
Warren county. New Jersey, and daughter of Isaac and Grace (Isaacs) Phillips, who 
was born in Clifton, England, September 2, 1829, and survived her second husband. 
Children, all by first marriage: I. William Allen, born January 19, I.8SS; living in 
Washington, New Jersey; married, December 28, 1880, Annie, daughter of William 
and Anna (Hance) Shields, and has one child, Jennie Shields, born August 19, 1889, 
wife of Creed H. Brown, of California. 2. John Vandervoort, born June 26, i860, 
died March 2, 1861. 3. Charles LaRiew, referred to below. 4. Mary, born August 
S, 1870, now living, unmarried, in Hackettstown. 

(VIII) Charles LaRiew, son of Henry and Ann Elizabeth (Allen) Stryker, was 
born in Hackettstown, Warren county. New Jersey, January 10, 1867, and is now 
living in Washington, New Jersey. He received his education in the public schools 
of Hackettstown, and after graduating from the high school accepted a clerkship in 
Hackettstown in July, 1883. He continued doing clerical work in Hackettstown and 
in New York City until January, 1888, when he became of age, and then purchased 
the Star, a weekly newspaper of Washington, New Jersey. Since then, for nearly a 



Warren County. 285 

quarter of a century, he has been editor and publisher of that journal. He has increased 
its circulation from about eight hundred, when he purchased it, to over four thous- 
and two hundred in 1910, and by his genius and able management has so improved it 
that it ranks as the foremost newspaper of Northwestern New Jersey. He is a 
Democrat in politics and a Presbyterian in religion. He has been president and 
secretary of the New Jersey Editors' Association, a member of the Washington 
Athletic Association, of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows of New jersey, ol 
the Junior A. O. U. M., and of the D. of L. He married in Washington, New 
Jersey, May 8, 1898, Mary Elizabeth, daughter of George Banghart and Sarah Alice 
(Baird) Bowers, of Washington, New Jersey, who was born there August 12, 1876. 
Her father is teller of the First National Bank of Washington, New Jersey, and her 
mother was a native of Oxford township, Warren county. Children: Ahce Julia, 
born July 13, 1900; Sue Baird, December 15, 1901; Charles Henry, December 21, 1903. 



Morris Robeson Sherrerd, whose achievements as a civil engineer 
SHERRERD have given him a standing and prestige in his profession second to 

none, was born in Scranton, Pennsylvania, December 16, 1865. He 
is the son of Samuel and Frances Maria (Hamilton) Sherrerd, and a descendant of 
an old and prominent New Jersey family, his ancestors having hved since revolu- 
tionary times in Warren county of that state, where his boyhood days were spent. 
The family is of English origin and the founder of the American branch was John 
Sherrerd, who came to this country from the city of London about the middle of 
the eighteenth century, settling at Pleasant Valley, then Mansfield township, Sussex 
county, and now Washington township, Warren county. There he owned a large 
farm and carried on a store and grist and saw mills, being a man of importance in 
the community. He was twice married and had two sons, Samuel and John. 

'(II) Samuel, son of John Sherrerd, succeeded his father in business, and died in 
1832, being buried with his father, mother and wife in the old Mansfield burying- 
ground, near Washington village. He married, November 28, 1793, Ann, daughter 
of Captain John and Mary Ann (Clifford) Maxwell, who was born November 25, 
1771, and died August 4, 1815. Her father. Captain Maxwell, was an officer in the 
war of the revolution, and she was a niece of General William Maxwell, who com- 
manded the New Jersey troops in the struggle for independence, and. was one of 
General Washington's most trusted generals. 

(Ill) John Maxwell, the eldest of eleven children of Samuel and Ann (Max- 
well) Sherrerd, was born September 6, 1794, in Pleasant Valley, on the Pohatcong 
creek, a short distance below the village of Washington, on the property where his 
grandfather originally settled. He died at Belvidere, New Jersey, May 26, 1871. 
His preparatory education was obtained in Basking Ridge, in Somerset county, at a 
school of some note in those days, of which the Rev. Dr. Finley was master. From 
this school he entered the College of New Jersey, and was graduated from Nassau 
Hall in 1812. He commenced his legal studies with his uncle, the Hon. George Clif- 
ford Maxwell, then a member of congress, reading in Flemington, Hunterdon county, 
but, his uncle dying during his clerkship, he completed his studies there in the office 
of the Hon. Charles Ewing, afterward chief justice of New Jersey. He was admitted 
to the bar as an attorney in November, 1816, and immediately formed a partnership 
in the practice of law with another uncle, William Maxwell, a connection that was 
sustained until 1818, when he returned to Pleasant Valley, where his father had pro- 
vided him with a dwelling and an office for his practice. On the creation of the new 
county of Warren he was appointed as its first surrogate, and in 1826 removed to 
Belvidere, where he resided until his death. While attending carefully to his official 
duties he did not neglect the practice of his profession, but continued to give it close 
attention in the courts other than those of which he was the recording officer. At 



2 86 Warren Countv. 

that time communication with the state capital was not convenient and most of the 
business of the supreme court was transacted by the lawyers resident in Trenton. 
In consequence of this he did not apply for admission as a counselor until 1831, and 
was admitted as such in the February term of that year. He continued active in the 
practice of his profession throughout his entire career and was for a number of 
years recognized as the leading member of the Warren county bar, being engaged 
in almost every case that came up for trial. He was noted for sharpness in examin- 
ing witnesses and for attention to the interests of his clients, often at the cost of 
lively encounters with his adversaries. As he grew older, however, he felt less in- 
clination for the rough and tumble of professional life and devoted his attention 
more to office business. He had early taken a decided stand in religious matters, 
and as he advanced in age he became more and more devoted to benevolent and 
Christian enterprises. He preferred the quiet of his own family and the pleasures 
of social intercourse to the turmoil of politics and he never held office except as sur- 
rogate. For the same reason he never sought or held a judicial appointment. Mr. 
Sherrerd married. May 19, 1818, Sarah Brown, of Philadelphia, who died in 1844. 
Their children were Samuel, John Browne, and Sarah Dutton, who married Dr. 
Philip Fine Brakeley, eminent in his day as a leading physician. 

(IV) Samuel (2), eldest son of John Maxwell and Sarah (Brown) Sherrerd, was 
born April 25, l8ig, in Pleasant Valley, New Jersey, and died in Belvidei:e, June 21, 
1884. He was graduated from Princeton College in 1836, and then studied law with 
Henry Dusenberry Maxwell, in Easton, Pennsylvania, being admitted to the bar of 
Northampton county, Pennsylvania, in 1842. He subsequently engaged in business 
in Scranton, Pennsylvania, and in Botetourt, Virginia, being a pioneer in the iron 
business in Virginia, although he was too early in the field to reap the benefits of 
his labors in that branch of endeavor. He practiced law awhile in Scranton and re- 
turned to Belvidere in 1868. In 1873 he was admitted to the bar of New Jersey as 
an attorney, and in 1874 was appointed president judge of the court of common pleas 
of Warren county, in that state, to fill the unexpired term of the Hon. James M. 
Robeson, who resigned. Judge Shererd married. May 6, 1847, Frances Maria Hamil- 
ton. Their children were: Eliza Hamilton, Alexander Hamilton, Anna Maria 
Robeson, John Maxwell, Mary Robeson and Morris Robeson. 

(V) Morris Robeson, son of Samuel (2) and Frances Maria (Hamilton) Sherrerd 
was born in Scranton, Pennsylvania, December 16, 1865. He is descended through 
his mother from many leading families of Pennsylvania and New Jersey; the Robe- 
sons, Paul and Rockhill, of her mother's line, and Fitz Randolph, Manning, Ross and 
Hamilton, of her father's line. 

The Robesons were of the- Society of Friends, or Quakers, and were of the 
wealthiest and most influential of the early settlers of Pennsylvania and New Jersey; 
Jonathan Robeson, the foimder of the New Jersey branch, was a son of Judge An- 
drew Robeson, chief justice of the province of Pennsylvania, who came to America 
from Scotland in 1676; the son, Jonathan, was born in Gloucester county. New Jer- 
sey, afterward lived in Pennsylvania, from whence he moved to Sussex county 
(now Warren county). New Jersey, in 1741, established the first iron furnace of that 
section in 1842, and founded the town of Oxford; he was one of the first judges of 
Sussex county, and his son, grandson and great-grandson each in turn occupied 
seats on the judicial bench. Maurice, son of Jonathan Robeson, was associated with 
his father in the iron industry; he married Anne Rockhill, of Pittstown, New Jersey, 
whose brother. Dr. John Rockhill, married a sister of Maurice Robeson. Morris, 
son of Maurice Robeson, married Tacy Paul, of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; their 
daughter, Eliza Robeson, married General Samuel Fitz Randolph Hamilton, a prom- 
inent lawyer of Trenton, and for many years quartermaster-general of New Jersey; 
he was a descendant of the noted Massachusetts settler, Edward Fitz-Randolph, who 



Warren County. 287 

settled in America in 1630, and whose youngest son, Benjamin, was the ancestor of 
General Hamilton; Benjamin Fitz Randolph settled in Princeton, New Jersey, 
where he became a prominent citizen; he was a large landowner, the tract where 
Princeton College is located having belonged to his estate; part of this land was 
donated to the college by his son, Nathaniel, and "Old Nassau Hall" was erected 
thereon. General Hamilton and Eliza (Robeson) Hamilton were the parents of 
Frances M. (Hamilton) Sherrerd. 

Morris Robeson Sherrerd was prepared for college in the Blair Presbyterian 
Academy, of Blairstown, afterward attending the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute 
in Troy, New York, from which institution he was graduated in the class of 1886, 
with the degree of civil engineer. After a short experience of railroad work he was 
for two years connected with the Lackawanna Iron & Coal Company, of Scranton, 
Pennsylvania. The next two years were spent on municipal work, under the public 
improvements commission of Troy, New York, as superintendent of construction of 
sewers and pavements, at the end of which time he left that position to accept that 
of assistant city engineer of Peoria, Illinois, where he remained for the two follow- 
ing years. He declined the position of city engineer of Peoria to return to Troy to 
take up a consulting practice there, having charge of the construction of water 
works for Mechanicsville, New York, and designing and constructing several other 
water works and sewer systems in the vicinity of Troy. He was also engaged on sur- 
veys for the -additional water supply of the city of Troy, and in 1893 was appointed city 
engineer for Troy, under the reorganization of the public works department of that 
city, by which the powers of the public improvements commission were transferred 
to the city engineer. He was city engineer of Troy until 1895, when he was ap- 
pointed to the position of engineer and superintendent of the department of water 
of the board of street and water commissioners of Newark, New Jersey, in which 
responsible capacity he served with noteworthy credit and ability for the following 
ten years. 

At the end of that period of service he was made chief engineer of the board 
of street and water commissioners of Newark, being the first incumbent to hold 
that position, which was created in June, 190S, and which he still retains, his services 
in this connection proving of great public value. As engineer and superintendent of 
the water department of Newark, the most important duty performed by Mr. Sher- 
rerd was the supervision of carrying out the contract between the city and the East 
Jersey Water Company, by which the new water supply for the city of Newark was 
acquired, the total cost being $6,000,000; and in the settlement of this contract, in 
1900, the city was successful in establishing its claims, not only for the Canistear 
reservoir, the possession of which was disputed by the company, but in gaining sev- 
eral other concessions in connection with said settlement, the most important of 
which was the transfer of the right to divert the entire flow of the Pequannock in- 
stead of the same being limited to 50,000,000 gallons per day, as contemplated under 
the original contract; in all of this Mr. Sherrerd figured as a potential factor. The 
operation of the entire plant previous to 1900 had been under the control of the East 
Jersey Water Company and since that date the entire operation has been under the 
control of the water department of the board of street and water commissioners, 
and consequently under Mr. Sherrerd's supervision. 

Next in importance to the settlement of the water contract in this branch of the 
city government during Mr. Sherrerd's administration of afTairs was the construc- 
tion, under his supervision, of Cedar Grove reservoir, tunnel and pipe line, which, 
with its great connecting mains to the city reservoirs, cost $1,950,000. The con- 
struction of this reservoir completed the water supply plant of the city of Newark, 
which can now justly claim to possess the best and most* complete plant of any city 
of its size in the country. The auxiliary high pressure fire system was also installed 



288 Warren County. 

during Mr. Sherrerd's incumbency of the position of engineer and superintendent of 
the department of water. This addition to the fire fighting facilities of the city is 
supplied by gravity with water from the new Cedar Grove reservoir, giving an 
adequate fire service pressure on the hydrants. The system, as first installed, includ- 
ed only Broad and Market streets, but it is being gradually extended throughout 
the central part of the city. Since Mr. Sherrerd has been in charge of all the engi- 
neering work of the board of street and water commissioners this division of the 
board's work has been a departmenf'by itself, and all the engineering work of the 
department of water and of streets and sewer construction has been brought into 
harmonious relations. During the past two years nearly twice as much paving and 
sewer work was undertaken as in any similar period of the city's history. 

Mr. Sherrerd has been connected with many of the engineering projects in the 
eastern part of New Jersey since locating in Newark, and, in addition to being con- 
sulting engineer for several private companies at different times during recent 
years, he is consulting engineer to the state water supply commission recently 
created by the legislature, and has charge of the water matters of the entire state of 
New Jersey. He is also giving a good deal of time to the study of the Passaic river 
pollution question, is a member of the committee representing the city of Newark 
in the consideration of the proposed trunk sewer with the city of Paterson, and is 
one of the consulting engineers for the Passaic Valley sewerage commissioners. He 
has been a special consulting engineer in connection with various large projects and 
undertakings, one of which necessitated a trip to Brazil, South America, as repre- 
sentative for some large financial interests relative to the development of the re- 
sources of a portion of that country, making special investigations in regard to water 
supply and harbor improvements for its larger cities. He has also been called as an 
expert in most of the water cases which have engrossed the attention of the New 
Jersey courts during the last few years. Mr. Sherrerd is past president of the 
American Water Works Association, the American Society of Municipal Improve- 
ments, and the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute General Alunjni. He is a past 
director of the board of direction of the American Society of Civil Engineers, and is 
a member of the New England Water Works Association, the American Society 
for the Testing of Materials, the New Jersey State Reclamation and Drainage As- 
sociation, the New Jersey Sanitary Association, the Engineers' Club, and the Theta 
Delta Chi Club, of New York City, the Essex Club, of Newark, and the Union Club, 
of that city. Mr. Sherrerd is a constant student of the problems that confront him 
in his official work, and he has become a recognized authority on all appertaining to 
water works and allied matters. He has reached an eminence in his chosen profes- 
sion that stands as evidence of his high ability and his achievements in the past pre- 
sent a record of which he may well feel proud. 



Lord Symond Fiske, grandson of Daniel Fiske, the first member of this 
FISK family of whom we have definite information, was Lord of the Manor of 

Stadhough, parish of Laxfield, county Suffolk, England. He was born 
prior to 1399, and died in February, 1464. He married (first) Susanna Smyth, and 

(second) Katharine . . His son, William Fiske, died about 1504, married Joan 

Lynrie, of Norfolk. Simon, son of William and Joan (Lynne) Fiske, died in June, 
1538; his wife, Elizabeth, died in Halseworth, in June, 1558. Their son, Simon (2) 
Fiske, died in 1505, leaving a number of young children, among whom was Robert 
Fiske, who was born about 1525, died in 1600, and married Sybil (Gould) Barber. 
His daughter, Elizabeth, was the mother of John Locke, the distinguished English 
philosopher, who wrote the "Essay Concerning Human Understanding." His son, 
William Fiske, born in 1566, in Laxfield, died in Ditchingham, Norfolk, England, in 
1623, married (first) Anna, daughter .of Walter Anstye, and (second) Alice . 



Warren County. 289 

His daughter, Hannah, was the mother of Rev. Mathias Candler, author of the cele- 
brated "Candler Manuscript," now in the British Museum. His son, Nathaniel, 
married Alice (Hend or Henel) Leman. Nathaniel (2), son of Nathaniel (i) and 
Alice (Hend-Leman) Fiske, was born in Weybred, county Suffolk, England, and 
according to the family tradition died during the voyage to America. He married 
Dorothy, daughter of John Symonds, of Wendham. 

(I) Nathan, son of Nathaniel and Dorothy (Symonds) Fiske, was born in Eng- 
land, about 1615, and died in Watertown, Massachusetts, June 21, 1667. He was ad- 
mitted freeman of Watertown, May 10, 1643, and chosen selectman 1673. He mar- 
ried Susanna . Children: Nathan, referred to below; John, born August 25, 

1647; David, April 29, 1650; Nathaniel, July 12, 1653, married Mary (Warren) Child; 
Sarah, 1656, married, September 3, 1673, Abraham Gale. 

(II) Lieutenant Nathan (2), son of Nathan (i) and Susanna Fiske, born in 
Watertown, Massachusetts, October 17, 1642, died there October 11, 1694. He was 
selectman in 1684-88-91. He married Elizabeth Fry, who died May 15, 1696. Chil- 
dren: Nathan, born February 9, 1665, died October 9, 1668; Elizabeth, January 19, 
1667, died 1740, married, January 16, 1693, James Ball; Martha, January 12, 1670, 
married, March 13, 1694, Edward- Park; Nathan, January 3, 1672, died January 26, 
1741, married (first), October 14, 1696, Sarah Coolidge, (second) Hannah (Coolidge) 
Smith; Susanna, April 7, 1674, died April 28, 1752, unmarried; Abigail, February 18, 
167s, married, August 15, 1695, John Mixer; William, December s, 1677, died same 
year; William, referred to below; Anna, died July 13, 1683. 

(III) William, son of Lieutenant Nathan (2) and Elizabeth (Fry) Fiske, was 
born in Watertown, Massachusetts, November 10, 1678, and died in Willington, Con- 
necticut, November 8, 1750. He married Eunice, born 1686, daughter of Stephen 
Jennings, of Fraraingham, Massachusetts. She married again, January 3, 1754, Will- 
iam Johnson, of Willington, Connecticut. Children of William and Eunice (Jen- 
nings) Fiske: William, born April 20, 1709, married (first), January 23, 1729, =- 

, (second), March 6, 1744, Eunice Whitney; Hannah, April 20, 1712, married, 

July 14, 1730, Jeremiah Powers; Stephen, referred to below; Nathan, born February 
13, 1722, married, February 14, 1743, Eleanor Whitney. 

(IV) Stephen, son of William and Eunice (Jennings) Fiske (the first member 
of this Ijranch to drop the final "e" from his surname), was born in Watertown, 
Massachusetts, or Willington, Connecticut, September 14, 1714, and died in Green- 
wich, Massachusetts, October 20, 1764. He was town clerk of Willington, Connecti- 
cut, 1744-53, and town clerk of Greenwich, Massachusetts, 1758-63. He married 
(first), at Willington, Connecticut, August 5, 1742, Prudence Farley, (second), June 
26, 1758, Anna (Bradish) Green, of Hardwick, Massachusetts. Children, four by 
first marriage: Prudence, born September 4, 1745; Olive, August 4, 1747; Mary, 
October 22, 1749; Rufus, referred to below; Stephen, April 7, 1759, died December 
13, 1848, married. May i, 1788, Esther Clark; James, October 4, 1763, died November 
17, 1844, a revolutionary soldier, and member of the United States congress, mar- 
ried, April 27, 1786, Priscilla West; Hannah, born 1764. 

(V) Lieutenant Rufus, son of Stephen and Prudence (Farley) Fisk, was born in 
Willington, Connecticut, March 28, 1752, died in Stafford, Connecticut, December 
2, 1813. He resided in Willington nearly all his life, and was a leading and promi- 
nent citizen of that town. He served in the revolutionary war as a corporal, and 
later was a representative to the general court for some years. He served in the 
Long Island campaign, in the White Plains campaign with Colonel Parsons' regi- 
ment, and with Colonel Latimer's regiment at the battle of Stillwater and at the 
capture of Burgoyne. He was for nine years a member of the Connecticut legisla- 
ture. He married Dorcas Gleason. Children: Stephen, born January 8, 1786, died 



290 Warren County. 

September 29, 1821, married Lucy Chandler; Rufus, referred to below; Dorcas; 
Hannah; Eli, born May 27, 1795, removed to New York state; Polly. 

(VI) Rufus (2), son of Lieutenant Rufus (i) and Dorcas (Gleason) Fisk, was 
born in Stafford, Connecticut, February 10, 1774, died at Willington, Connecticut, Sep- 
tember 22, 1848. He lived at New Bethel, Connecticut, and was a farmer, a freethinker, 
and a Democrat. He married Irene, born March 24, 1779, died August 31, 1861, in Will- 
ington, daughter of Elizier Scripture. Children: John, born February 9, 1799, died 
July 25, 1884, married, March 14, 1829, Anna Osborn Stillman; Rufus, born 1801, 
died by accidental drowning, June 19, 1819; Loving, born 1802, died in 1862; Ark, 
born June, 1804, married a son of Edward Fiske, of Springfield, Massachusetts; 
Leander, born 1806; Ira, born September, 1808, died February, 1877; Marvin, born 
1811, died November, 1841; Lucius Hanks, born June, 1813, died April i, 1874, mar- 
ried, September 25, 1839, Elizabeth Eldridge; James M., born July 15, 1815, died 
December, 1843, married, July 19, 1835, Mary Ann Hinman; Dr. Marcus Lyon, born 
December 16, 1817, died April 2, 1883, married (first), December s, 1845, Frances 
Ann Tinker, (second). May 14, 1856, Emeline Lucretia (Frazier) Frazier; Lodica, 
born August, 1819, died May, 1820; Rufus, referred to below; Horace, born July, 

1826, died November, 1841; Irene, married Converse; Lavinia, married (first) 

Tibballs, (second) Moore. 

(VII) Rufus (3), son of Rufus (2) and Irene (Scripture) Fisk, was born at Staf- 
ford Springs, Connecticut, June, 1824, and died in Easton, Pennsylvania, in 1851. He 
was a farmer and a worker in the woolen mills and iron works of the place in which 
he lived, and at the time of his death was engaged in the book business. Like his 
father, he was a freethinker as to religion, but a regular attendant at the Universalist 
church. In politics he was a Jeflfersonian Democrat. He married, in Willington, Con- 
necticut, in 1843, Julia, born there, July 4, 1820, daughter of John and Catharine (Wil- 
son) Leidy, of Easton, Northampton county, Pennsylvania. Her father was a descend- 
ant of Jacob Leidy, who came from Germany and arrived in Philadelphia on the ship 
Adventure, of Rotterdam, October 2, 1727. Her ancestors were prominent in Bucks 
county, Pennsylvania, and elsewhere, and served in the Revolutionary war. Her mother 
was born in Warren county, New Jersey, and was a descendant of one of the earliest 
of the Scotch-Irish settlers in the Wyoming Valley. She survived her husband and 
married again. Children, the first two born in Stafford Springs, Connecticut : Maryett, 
b;rn 1841 ; Marcus M., born in Willington, Connecticut, 1844; William H., referred to 
below; Rufus L., born in Easton, 1851. 

(VIII) William H., son of Rufus (3) and Julia (Leidy) Fisk, was born in Staf- 
ford Springs, Connecticut, June 6, 1846, and is now living in Phillipsburg, Warren 
county. New Jersey. He received his education in the public schools of Easton, Penn- 
sylvania, and Phillipsburg, New Jersey, and in 1856 began to make his own way in the 
world, working with his brother and stepfather as boatman on the Morris canal. When 
the civil war broke out, his brother, Marcus M. Fisk, enlisted in the Ninth Regiment, 
New Jersey Volunteers, and in 1862 went to Washington, D. C, where he found em- 
ployment until the close of the war in the quartermaster's department. He returned 
heme in July, 1865, and obtained employment as an iron pipe worker with the Warren 
Foundry Company. This position he held until June, 1872, when he opened up 
a book and stationery store in the second ward of Phillipsburg, which he has suc- 
cessfully and prosperously conducted ever since. Mr. Fisk is quite a musical genius, 
and despite the fact that his training is entirely due to his own unaided efforts, he has 
made for himself an enviable reputation in the musical field, having in 1868 organized 
the first orchestra and brass band in Phillipsburg, and in 1873 organized a second band. 
Of all of these he was the leader from their organization until 1894. During the civil 
war Mr. Fisk served about six months in Company E, Second Regiment District of 



Warren County. 291 

Columbia Volunteers, under Captain Tompkins. The regiment, which was composed 
entirely of United States government employees, was actively engaged in repelling the 
attack made on Washington in July, 1864, by General Jubal E. Early. Mr. Fisk has 
been a member of the American Mechanics, of the Odd Fellows, and of the Patriotic 
Order Sons of America. At present he is a member of the Elks. He is not a member 
of any religious denomination, but says, "I belong to God's church, the whole world." 
He is a stockholder of the Second National Bank of Phillipsburg. He married, in 
Phillipsburg, in 1866, Nancy, born in Tinicum, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, in 1847, 
daughter of Patrick and Sarah McBride. Her brothers were John, Jacob, William, 
George, Jacob, Joseph and Christian McBride, she being the only daughter. Children : 
I. Edwin L., bom November 3, 1877, died 1900; married Catharine Sillman; child: 
William H. He graduated from the Phillipsburg high school and at the time of his 
death was a clerk in the office of the Warren Foundry Company. 2. Mariette, born 
1870, died 1877. 3. Ella May, born August, 1870, graduated from the Phillipsburg high 
school, and then became a school teacher. She married Madison L. Elliott, of North 
Carolina; child: Bernice Elliott. 



John Firth, the founder of the family of his name in Phillipsburg, was 
FIRTH born in Attercliff, Yorkshire, England, June 15, 1820, and died in Phil- 
lipsburg, New Jersey, May 21, 1870. He was the son of Rowland and Ann 
(Kay) Firth, and was one of a family of six sons and one daughter. Two of the sons, 
John and Thomas, and the daughter Sophia, emigrated to America. Thomas settled 
in Ohio, August, 1862, and is now living in Akron, where his sister died a short while 
ago. 

John Firth started to tend sheep when five years of age, and two years later became 
a cotton spinner's apprentice. When fourteen years old, he became an apprentice of 
the Woodside Iron Works, where the latter moulded the columns for the Crystal Palace 
in London. Becoming an active Chartist he got into difficulties with the civil authori- 
ties, and after being arrested eleven times and imprisoned three times, he decided to 
come to the United States, and with his wife and three eldest children, he landed at 
Castle Garden, May 27, 1851. 

For a time he worked as a moulder in New York City, and purchasing a lot, built 
himself a home in Fordham. In June, 1857, he removed to Phillipsburg, and took 
charge of the pipe manufacturing plant of the Woodside Machine Company, associating 
with himself, as office manager, Mr. John Ingham. Seven years later the Warren 
Foundry & Machine Company took possession of the plant, and Mr. Firth and Mr. 
Ingham were made joint superintendents, a position the former held until his death. 
He was a strong temperance advocate, an Independent in politics, a promoter of the 
first two building and loan associations in Phillipsburg, and became the owner of con- 
siderable real estate. He was a member of Belvidere Lodge, No. 52, Free and Accepted 
Masons of Delaware, and of Division No. 28, of the Sons of Temperance. He mar- 
ried, about 184s, Mary, daughter of and Fanny (Bloom) Yardley, who was borri 

at Brierly Hill, county Stafford, England, December 10, 1824, and died in Phillipsburg, 
January 10, 1892. She and her husband attended the Methodist church. Children : i. 
Sarah, born May 27, 1847; died August 15, 1885; married James I. Lake. 2. Elizabeth, 
born December 10, 1848; married F. G. D. Holmes. 3. Rowland, referred to below, 4. 
Mary, died in infancy. 5. Rachel A., born July 26, 1854; died in'June, 1893; married 
Walter Myers. 6. John Thomas, born April 2, 1856. 7. Joseph Henry, referred to 
below. 8. Lucy B., died in infancy. 9- Frederick William, born August 8, 1864. 10. 
Alice B., born October 18, 1866, married A. A. Bowhay. 11. George Nelson, born Feb- 
ruary 23, 1868, married, October 10, 1895, at Phillipsburg, Elizabeth M., daughter of 



292 Warren County. 

ex-Senator Moon; children: Dorothy Jane, born January 25, 1897; James Edmond, 
March 13, 1899; Mary Elizabeth, May 10, 1901. 

(11) Rowland, son of John and Mary (Yardley) Firth, was born at Brierly Hill, 
county Stafford, England, September 10, 1850, and is now living in Phillipsburg. For 
his education he was sent to the public schools of Fordham and Phillipsburg, and later, 
after attending a private school at Easton, Pennsylvania, he became a private pupil of 
Professor Edwards. He then took up civil engineering and mechanical drawing, study- 
ing under Mr. Miller, of Upper Harmony. 

April I, 1868, he entered the shops of the Warren Foundry and Machine Company, 
as an apprentice, and having served his three years' time, he went west, working at 
his trade in Pittsburg, Pennsylvania; Cleveland and Columbus, Ohio; Omaha and 
North Plank, Nebraska; Council Bluffs, Iowa; Evanston, Wyoming; Leadville, Colo- 
rado, and Anaconda, Montana. In February, 1887, he returned home and became engi- 
neer for the People's Water Company of Phillipsburg, retaining this position for nine 
years. October 16, 1895, together with John Poulson and C. M. Smith, he started a 
general foundry business, manufacturing principally castings for cement mills. Later, 
Mr. Firth and his son bought up the interests of the other two partners and, changing 
the firm name to Rowland Firth and Sons, entered on the successful and prosperous 
career that has been his ever since. Mr. Firth was one of the incorporators of the 
Mauchline-Firth Silk Company; he is a Democrat in politics and has served as mayor 
of Phillipsburg, 1898-99, and as county clerk for five years from 1900. He married, 
July 20, 1873, in Omaha, Nebraska, Nancy Jane, daughter of James A. and Hannah 
(Sipperly) 'Tooker, who was born in Gloversville, New York, March 28, 1856, died Jan- 
uary 18, 191 1, and is a descendant of Henry Van Dyke and other Revolutionary 
soldiers. Children : i. Charles S., born July 18, 1874; married, November 5, 1896, 
Stella Cuella Willaer; children : Rowland Van Dyke, Charles S., Jr., Frederick Will- 
iam. He is junior partner with his father in the foundry. 2. John Ingham, born No- 
vember I, 1876, married, November 29, 1905, Mary, daughter of Robert and Anna 
(Burns) Bowers, of Oxford, New Jersey. He was deputy county clerk for five years 
under his father and Charles Hoagland, and is now assistant cashier of the Second 
National Bank of Phillipsburg. 3. Rowland, born September 18, 1880; married, July 14, 
1905, Lottie Packenthal ; children : Robert F. and Frances H. 4. Mary A., born No- 
vember 30, 18&2, married John M. Lee, claim agent. 5. Frederick, born March 4, 1887, 
died March 20, 1900. 6. Sarah, born November i, 18&8; married, September 10, 1909, 
Walter C. Smith, chemist United Metals Company, Hammond, Indiana. 7. Jane, bom 
May 26, 1891. 

(II) Joseph Henry, son of John and Mary (Yardley) Firth, was born in Phillips- 
burg, New Jersey, February 22, 1859, and is now living in that place, having been iden- 
tified with the development of the town during his whole life. In this he has played 
quite a prominent part. At one time he was chief of the fire department, and by his 
efforts succeeded in having the Gamewell fire alarm system adopted by the town. He 
took an active part in raising the funds to erect the Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument, 
and at its unveiling, May 10, igo6, was chairman of the executive committee. He was 
educated in the public schools of Phillipsburg, and when eighteen years old started to 
learn the trade of machinist. Shortly afterwards he went to Omaha, Nebraska, where 
he remained for about ten months, and then returned home, and after plying his trade 
for five years became foreman of the Warren Foundry and Machine Company. In 
August, 1895. he resigned his position and embarked in the hotel business, establishing 
the Madison Square Hotel in Phillipsburg. He enjoyed a large patronage from the 
traveling public and the venture was most successful financially, but the business was 
not a congenial one to Mr. Firth, who consequently leased the property and turned his 
attention to farming and the manufacturing of cement. Mr. Firth is considered the 




^^oAeiJi ^. &'mt/i 



Warren County. 293 

most popular man in Warren county, and many tales are told of his labors for the good 
of the city and his acts of kindness and liberality. One of his practices is to visit fre-. 
quently the camps of tramps near the city, in order to inspect and intimidate their 
members and to identify if possible those who are wanted by the authorities as crimi- 
nals. He is devoted to children, and on one occasion, coming upon a little Polish girl, 
crying because the heated pavements burned her feet, he picked her up in his arms and 
carried her all the way home. He is a Democrat in politics, and was elected member 
of the board of freeholders in 1884, but after serving one term moved out of his ward. 
In 1889 he was chosen councilman, served eleven years, and then resigned and moved 
to Greenwich township. The following year he was elected township committeeman, 
but after serving one year returned to Phillipsburg. In 1904 he was elected mayor of 
Phillipsburg, and after two years' service was re-elected in 1906. In 1905 he was elected 
to the New Jersey assembly by a plurality of 632 over the Republican candidate, and 
was re-elected the following year by a plurality of 342. During his first term 'he served 
on the committees on labor and industries, unfinished business, the Soldiers' Home, 
and treasurer's accounts. During his second term he was chairman of the committees 
on appropriations, the sanitorium for tuberculous diseases, and was a member of the 
committees on municipal corporations, the Soldiers' Home and the State hospitals. In 
1907 he was chosen by the Democrats for speaker of the house, but declined to accept 
the honor. After his service in the assembly he was reelected mayor of Phillipsburg 
and a member of the assembly at the same election in 1907, on the Independent ticket, 
and is now serving his fourth term in that office. He married, June 26, 1880, Margaret 
Ann, daughter of John and Ann (Lloyd) Lewis, who was born in Portsmouth, Ohio, 
February 10, i860. Her father, a brother of Albert Lloyd, of Phillipsburg, was a prom- 
inent man in Portsmouth, enlisted and was wounded in the civil war, and died shortly 
afterwards. Child : Elizabeth Alice, referred to below. 

(Ill) Elizabeth Firth, only child of Joseph H. and Margaret A. (Lewis) Firth, 
was born April 11, 1882, in Phillipsburg. If Warren county and Phillipsburg are 
indebted to England for John Firth, that debt has been amply repaid ; in return for the 
industry and good citizenship of John Firth, Warren county and Phillipsburg have 
given London and England one of the most accomplished singers and actresses that 
has appeared on the English stage in recent years. Miss Firth is best known in Phil- 
lipsburg as "Jimmie" Firth, a name her father bestowed upon her at a very early age. 
It is a fitting tribute to the affection existing between father and daughter, that Miss 
Elizabeth, now at the height of her stage success, prefers that nickname, and by that 
name she is known in theatrical circles, especially among her intimate friends. As a 
school girl, Elizabeth Firth stands out vividly in the memories of her fellow-towns- 
men. Having completed the second course of study in the Phillipsburg public schools, 
she graduated from Phillipsburg high school in the class of 1900. While still in school, 
having inherited the vocal ability with which the Firth family is so splendidly endowed, 
and aided and encouraged by her mother, a lady of the most cultivated tastes, Miss 
Firth became the soprano soloist in the choir of the First Presbyterian Church, Phil- 
lipsburg, and later accepted a similar position in an Easton, Pennsylvania, church. At 
that time she became a pupil at the New York Conservatory of Music, under Mrs. 
Henrietta Tarbox Darling. At a concert given in the Waldorf-Astoria her rich voice 
attracted the attention of Madam Belle Cole,'a leading London musical directress, now 
deceased. It was at that time Miss Firth entered upon her first theatrical engagement 
in the company of Miss Viola Allen in "The Eternal City," assuming a small part, but 
having charge of the solo and choir work in Mascagni's music, used behind the scenes. 
Then followed a brief engagement in the musical comedy "The Sultan of Sulu," when 
an ofifer from Madam Cole induced the young singer to undertake an English concert 
tour under her direction in June, 1903. She completed a successful tour and was about 



294 Warren County. 

to cross the ocean home, when Mr. George Edwardes, London's leading dramatic pro- 
ducer, heard her sing, and engaged her dramatic services for a term of three years. 

From that time Miss Firth's success has been phenomenal. She appeared in 
soprano roles in the "Girl from Kay's," in "The Duchess of Dantzic," which had a 
successful American tour, in which Miss Firth frequently sang the leading role of 
"Madam Sans Gene"; in "The Little Michus," and other Gaiety theatre successes, 
until the important role of "Nathalie," in the first London production of "The Merry 
Widow," was given her, June 8, 1907. Engagements followed in "The Dashing Little 
Duke" and other successes at the London theatres. 

In appearance Miss Firth is tall and slender, with a mass of light-colored hair and 
a clear blond complexion. In addition to her beauty and dignified mien which she 
inherits from her mother, and the physical robustness and love of motoring and all 
out-door sports that call to mind her genial father, she enjoys the reputation of being 
one of the best gowned women in London. Up to this time her one regret is that her 
parents have not been with her to enjoy her success and the luxuriant apartments of 
her London home. Just to satisfy that home-sickness for "dear old Phillipsburg" 
Miss Firth takes the trip across the ocean every year, to spend a week with her mother 
and father at their home in Phillipsburg. During the past year she made an extended 
tour of the continent, staying for some time in Germany. Upon her return to London 
she assumed the leading role in "The Dollar Princess," a part she is now (July, 
1910) playing with her usual artistic finish. 



Nicodemus Warne, of Broadway, Warren county. New Jersey, is one 
WARNE of the most respected and well-known men in the county, and ranks 

foremost among the agriculturists and stockholders of the state. His 
family, which is an old one in New Jersey annals, settled early in Middlesex county, 
and for the last four generations has been located in Warren county. Benjamin 
Warne, grandfather of Nicodemus, came from the vicinity of Woodbridge, and locat- 
ed the three hundred and three-acre tract of land on which his descendants have lived 
down to the present day. Here he built himself a log house and afterwards replaced 
it by a stone mansion, long known as the "Warne Homestead," and which is without 
exception one of the most picturesque dwellings in Warren county. He also built a 
gristmill, which after his death was torn down to make room for the present large 
mill, built by his widow, a woman of exceptional energy and business qualifications, 
who conducted the milling business, and with the aid of her children managed the 
farm for many years after her husband's death. Benjamin Warne died March 20, 
1810, aged fifty-seven years; his wife, Hannah McKinney, born September 30, 1769, 
died November 13, 1845. Their children were: I. Thomas, born September 23, 1796, 
died May 22, 1816. 2. Stephen, referred to below. 3. William, born June 20, 1800, 
died May 30, 1869. 4. Elizabeth, born June 4, 1802, died August 23, 1825; married 
Chapman Warner. 5. Richard, born July i, 1804, died August 24, 1834; married, June 
12, 1832, Keziah, daughter of John and Rachel (Larason) Van Syckel. He succeeded 
to his father's milling business and also established a tan-yard. After his death his 
widow married (second) his brother, Stephen. His only child, Hannah McKinney 
Warne, named for her grandmother, was born November 9, 1833, and is now the 
widow of John F. Phillips, of Mercer county. 6 Nicodemus, born September 16, 1806, 
died in December, 1829. 7. John M., bqrn April 9, 1808, died October 8, 1831. 

(II) Stephen, son of Benjamin and Hannah (McKinney) Warne, was born in 
the old homestead, April 3, 1798, and died there, January j,, 1879. He received a 
good common school education, and purchasing the interests of the other heirs, he 
obtained possession of his father's milling business as well as the farm. He was a 
man of strict integrity and strong religious principle, a member of the Presbyterian 





(^/0.a1c£_ 



Warren County. 295 

congregation, first at Washington, later at Stewartsville, and was instrumental in build- 
ing the churches in both places. He was a Democrat in politics, served on the board 
of chosen freeholders for several terms, and in the state legislature, 1843-45. He 
married, in 1835, Keziah (Van Syckel) Warne, born April 4, 1811, died November 10, 
1884, widow of his deceased brother, Richard. She was a member of one of the old 
and prominent Dutch families that settled in New Jersey, and was herself a woman 
remarkable for her sterling worth and Christian excellence of character. Their chil- 
dren were: I. Elizabeth, born October 21, 1836, now deceased. 2. Rachel, born No- 
vember 29, 1839. 3. Nicodemus, referred to below. 

(IK) Nicodemus, son of Stephen and Keziah (Van Syckel) (Warne) Warne, 
was born on the Warne homestead, where he is now living, July 3, 1841. He was 
educated in the public schools of Warren county, and then turned his attention to 
farming and stock raising, making a specialty of the breeding of road driving horses. 
The reputation that has been gained by Warren county horses is directly due to Mr. 
Warne. In 1885 he imported two Percheron stallions from France, and six years 
later two mares, and since then has been employed in the breeding of registered stock. 
The famous horse, Mack, one of the finest looking horses in that part of the state, 
is his property, and his farm of two hundred and fifty acres, exclusive of one hundred 
and seventy-five acres of meadow land, is well stocked with the best of cattle and 
horses. Mr. Warne is a member of the state grange and has served on the executive 
committee for eleven years. He is a Democrat in politics, and a member of the 
Stewartsville Presbyterian congregation, as is also his wife Zerviah, who was born 
January 18, 1844, and whom he married June 6, 1866, daughter of Daniel and Margaret 
(Carpenter) Hulshizer. Their only child is Keziah Warne, wife of Edward C. Brill, 
now living in Stewartsville (see Brill). 



Edward C. Brill, of Stewartsville, the first member of his family to become 
BRILL identified with Warren county, was born near Poughkeepsie, Dutchess 
county. New York, September 22, 1865. He is the son of Charles and 
Elizabeth (Seaman) Brill. After receiving his early education in the public and 
private schools of Poughquag, where he spent his childhood, he took a special business 
course in the Hackettstown Collegiate Institute, from which he graduated in 1884. 
He then established himself as a breeder of thoroughbred horses and Holstein cattle, 
an occupation in which his father had already made a name. In 1885 he bought up 
his father's business, in company with his two brothers, J. S. and Charles, adding to his 
own, and conducting it under the firm name of E. C. Brill & Brothers, breeders of 
blooded stock, which continued until 1899, when our subscriber bought out his brothers' 
interests and continued until 1907, at which time he sold the farms to his brother, J. S. 
Brill, and removed to Broadway, Warren county, New Jerjey, where he continued the 
same business. In 1910 he came to Stewartsville, where he now occupies the old 
Hulshizer homestead. While at Poughquag Mr. Brill made a number of trips to 
Kentucky, where he selected and purchased several of the finest thoroughbred horses 
he could find and brought them back to his farm, in order to improve his stock. He 
has also become one of the leading' men at state and county fairs, and his services are 
in demand from Maine to California, and from Canada to the Gulf, as is witnessed 
by the many letters which he has received asking him to serve as official judge and 
starter of these events. 

In horses he makes a specialty of trotters and Percherons, and some of his stock 
has sold for as much as five thousand dollars and over. In cattle he makes a specialty 
of Holsteins and he has the reputation of having bred some of the finest in the world. 
Among these is the famous Holstein bull. Lord Netherland De Kdl, said to be the 
greatest De Kol bull ever reared. Mr. Brill, although only in the prime of life, has 



296 Warren County. 

performed fifteen years of successful work, and is now an official starting judge of 
the National Trotting Association. Since selling the farm, which is situated about 
twenty miles from Fishkill-on-the-Hudson, and on the highland division of the New 
York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad, to his brother, Mr. Brill has turned consider- 
able of his attention to the work of expert judge and auctioneer, in which he is un- 
excelled, but continues his attention unabated to the production of the finest Holsteins 
to be found in this country, and at the* present time (1911) he has the champion cow. 
for milk' and butter in the state, with the world's record for seventy-five consecutive 
days. The cow was cared for during this test by Mr. Brill's eldest son, Warne H., 
who excels in the breeding and care of Holstein cattle. 

Edward C. Brill is a member of the New York State Breeders' Association, and 
of the National Live Stock Breeders' and Exhibition Association. He is an independ- 
ent in politics, and a Methodist in religion. He married, October 14, 1891, Keziah, 
daughter of Nicodemus and Zerviah (Hulshizer) Warne (see Warne). Children: 
Warne H., born October 13, 1892; Jacob Wilbur, November 5, 1894; Henry Furman, 
January 28, 1898; Elizabeth C, August 25, 1903. 



Jacob LaRiew, the first member of this family of whom we have defi- 
LA RIEW nite information, was born in New Jeisey. The name is a variant of 

LeRoy, LaRioux, LeRoux, LeReu, and many other forms of the name 
have been found in this country, including Koenig and King. The first immigrants 
were among the French Huguenots, who fled from their country in the latter half 
of the seventeenth century, and by about 1680 at least three of this name were living 
in New York or New Jersey: Francis, at or near Albany, where there was a consid- 
erable colony of Huguenots; Jacques, on the Hackensack, in what is now Essex 
county. New Jersey; Abraham, on. Stalen Island. The name has been widely spread 
in New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Kentucky (which has a LaRue county), and Virginia. 
Abraham LaRoe, as he spelled the name, moved from Staten Island to the neighbor- 
hood of Hopewell, Hunterdon county (now Mercer county). New Jersey, and it is 
more probable that Jacob LaRiew was descended from him. Jacob LaRiew married 

Rhoda , who was born in Delaware county, New Jersey. Children : Allison ; 

Almerion, referred to below; Elizabeth. 

(II) Almerion, son of Jacob and Rhoda LaRiew, was born in Trumansburg, 
Seneca county. New York, February 29, 1825, and died at Elmira, New York, March 
2, 1887. He was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In politics he was a 
Republican, and his business was that of contracting house painter and paper hanger. 
He married, in Elmira, New York, June 11, 1854, Elizabeth Harriet, born in Elmira, 
February 20, 1831, daughter of John H. and Lucretia (Van Horn) Johnson. Her 
father was born March 29, 1788, and died May, 1867. He was a soldier in the war of 
1812, and a blacksmith. His parents, Jeremiah Johnson, born in Virginia, and Mar- 
garet (Kline) Johnson, of New York City, were married in 1784, and had seven chil- 
dren. Her mother, Lucretia (Van Horn) Johnson, born November 11, 1795, died 
April 4, 1868, belonged to the old Van Horn family of New York. She was baptized 
"Geesje" and was the daughter of David and Sarah (Van Blarcom) Van Horn. She 
was married in New York, November 14, 1812. Her grandmother, Sarah (Van Blar- 
com) Van Horn, born September 14, 1764, was the daughter of Isaac, born April 16, 
173s. and Sarah (Cairnes) Van Blarcom, born December 16, 1735. Children of Al- 
merion and Elizabeth Harriet (Johnson) LaRiew : Charles, born April i, 1855, now 
deceased; Susan, born January 18, 1857, now deceased; Florence, born November 5, 
1859, now deceased; Frederick Jackson, referred to below. 

(III) Frederick Jackson, son of Almerion and Elizabeth Harriet (Johnson) La- 
Riew, was born in Elmira, New York, October 6, 1867. He graduated from the 



Warren County. 297 

public schools in 1881, and from Baltimore Medical College, Baltimore, Maryland, 
April 1898. He served his time as printer's devil with the Elmira Gazette, and became, 
a journeyman printer in 1887. In 1889 he moved to Washington, New Jersey, and be- 
came a member of the editorial and managerial staff of the Warren Tidings, a weekly 
newspaper owned and edited by Thomas Dedrick. Removing the next year to Dover, 
New Jersey, he became assistant editor and assistant manager of the Morris County 
Journal, a weekly Prohibition newspaper, published by a stock company in that place. 
In 1891 he removed to Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, taking a similar position with the 
Daily and Weekly Times, a newspaper owned, published and edited by George C. 
Hughes. He returned to Washington, New Jersey, 1894, again entering the editorial 
and managerial staff of the Warren Tidings, at this time owned by J. B. R. Smith. 
Dr. LaRiew commenced the study of medicine and entered Baltimore Medical College 
in 1895. During his vacation in the summer of 1896 and 1897 he was a member of 
the editorial staff of the Washington Star, a weekly newspaper owned and published 
by Charles L. Stryker. Having graduated as doctor in April, 1898, he immediately 
commenced the practice of medicine in Asbury, Warren county. New Jersey, where 
he continued until September, 1903. Then he disposed of his practice to Dr. E. H. 
Moore, and moved to Washington, New Jersey, in which place he is still living and 
practicing medicine and surgery. He is an independent Democrat, and was, in 1903, a 
delegate to the Democratic gubernatorial convention. From 1898 to 1903 he was in- 
spector of the board of health of Franklin township, Warren county, and since 1907 
he has been a member of the board of health of Washington. In New York State 
from 1885 to his coming into New Jersey, in 18819, Dr. LaRiew was a member of the 
National Guard, being corporal in the Twenty-sixth Separate Company, N. G. S. 
N. Y. He is a member of Union Encampment, No. S7, of Washington, New Jersey, 
of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and of American Council, No. 64, Daugh- 
ters of Liberty, of Washington, New Jersey. Dr. LaRiew is a member of the New 
Jersey State Medical Society and of the Warren County Medical Society, of which 
he was president in 1902 and 1903; also of the Tri-County Medical Society and of 
the Lehigh Valley MedicE^l Society. He is a member of the New Jersey State Sani- 
tary Association and of the New .Jersey State Society for the Prevention of Tuber- 
culosis; also of the New Jersey State Alumni Society of Baltimore Medical College. 
He is secretary of the Medical Society of Washington, New Jersey. In addition to 
these professional organizations, he is a member of several clubs, being president of 
the Warren County Athletic Club of Washington; of the Washington Athletic Asso- 
ciation ; a member of the American Automobile Association ; the Associated Automo- 
bile Clubs of New Jersey, and the Warren County Automobile Club. He and his 
wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal church of Washington. He married, 
in Washington, New Jersey, June 28, 1894, Helen Gertrude, daughter of William and 
Rebecca Helen (Beisel) Stites, who was born in Erwiiina, Bucks cqunty, Pennsyl- 
vania, December 6, 1870. Her father, William Stites, was born in Phillipsburg, July 
10, 1834, and died March 8, 1901, in Washington, Warren county. New Jersey. He 
graduated as a physician and surgeon from the University of Pennsylvania in 1868, 
and practiced his profession successively at Milford, Perry county; Markelsville, in 
the same county, and Erwinna, Bucks county, all in Pennsylvania, then, from 1874 
until his death, at Washington, New Jersey. He was a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church, and was prominent in Masonic ciicles. Dr. Stites was one of the 
organizers of the Washington board of health, and was for many years its president. 
He was for some time a division surgeon of the Lackawanna railroad, and a member 
of the Warren County Medical Society, being president in 1892 and 1893, and a mem- 
ber of the New Jersey State Medical Society, the Lehigh Valley Medical Society, and 
the Tri-County Medical Society. He married, in Allentown, Lehigh county, Penn- 



298 Warren County. 

sylvania, November 10, 1857, and had three children, Daniel B., M. Anna and Helen 
Gertrude, now the wife of Dr. LaRiew. Mrs. Stites was born in AUentown, October 
9, 1839, and died in Washington, January 18, 1906; she was a daughter of Daniel and 
Mary Magdalena (Keck) Beisel. Her father was a farmer, and she was one of nine 
children: Rebecca Helen, Mary, Jonas, Frank, Hannah, Solomon, Angeline, Henry 
and Sarah. Dr. Stites was one of thirteen children of William Stites, born near 
Newton, in Sussex county, October i^ 1777, died in Phillipsburg in 1865, and Sarah 
(Rush) Stites, daughter of Benjamin "and Sara Rush or Reisch, born near Easton, 
October 15, 1788. Their children were: Margaret, Lewis, Samuel, born June 23, 1816; 
Isaac, born September 4, 1818; George, born September 18, 1820; Rosetta, born Febru- 
ary 18, 1822; Catharine, born August 27, 1825; Anna Maria, born December 29, 1827, 
still living in Phillipsburg; Sarah, born December 15, 1829; Harriet, born June 6, 
1832; William, mentioned above; Ellen, born February 6, 1837, still living in Bridge- 
port, Connecticut, and Valeria, born in 1839. The senior William Stites was a Lutheran, 
his business, that of manufacturing fishing nets and tackle. His father also Mrs. La- 
Riew's great-grandfather, was named William, born in Somerset county. New Jersey, 
in 1750, and died in 1778, his wife's name was Margaret; she afterward married John 
Hursh, by whom she had children : George, Anthony and others, most of them set- 
tled in the West. This William Stites was a Revolutionary soldier. He enlisted in the 
first battalion of Somerset county, New Jersey, and as a private under Captain Moflet; 
was wounded in the battle of Princeton, and died at Paulus Hook, New Jersey. His 
father, again named William, was born in Springfield, New Jersey, in 1 719, and died 

at Mt. Bethel, New Jersey, in 1810; he married (first) Searing, by whom he 

had three sons: John, William and Isaac; and (second) Sarah, widow of Amos But- 
ler, by whom he had no children. The founder of the Stites family was John Stites, 
1595-1717, a man as his long life would indicate, of wonderful physique. He came 
from England in the time of Cromwell, and was a physician and surgeon. He settled 
at Hempstead, Long Island. With him came his son, Richard, 1640-1702, a sculptor 
and painter. Richard had three sons, Henry, Benjamin and William, 1676-1727. The 
last named owned seven hundred acres of land near Springfield, Somerset county. 
He was a slave owner and a prominent man. Of his seven children : John, Richard, 
Hezekiah, Rebecca, William, Elizabeth and Benjamin, the descendant from William 
is given above. Child of Frederick Jackson and Helen Gertrude (Stites) LaRiew: 
William Stites, born March 23, 1900, now a school boy. 



Benjamin Hutchings, the first member of his family to become 
HUTCHINGS identified with Warren county. New Jersey, was born in Boston, 

Massachusetts. He is said to be a descendant of the Ezra 
Hutchings who served during the Revolution. Benjamin Hutchings left Boston 
when he was a young man and settled at first in Hampton, where he married. Later 
he removed to Washington, New Jersey, where he became a successful and promi- 
nent man and a justice of the peace. He was a Republican in politics and a member 
of the Methodist Episcopal church. He died in 1893, and is buried in Washington 
Cemetery. He married Sophia, daughter of Philip Crater, of Hampton, who was 
born in 1818, and died in 1890. Children: Ezra Judson, referred to below; Mary 

Elizabeth, married McNara, of Newark, New Jersey; Sarah, married William 

Hagaman, of Bloomsbury, New Jersey; Margaret, died in igio, married William 
Thatcher, of Raymond, Nebraska; Philip, now deceased, served in the civil war; 
Birchstead, killed as a young man in a railroad accident; William, living in Wash- 
ington, New Jersey; Edith, married Edward Teats, of Brooklyn, New York; Emma, 
died in childhood; Peter, now deceased. 

(II) Ezra Judson, son of Benjamin and Sophia (Crater) Hutchings, was born 



Warren County. 299 

in Washington, Warren county, New Jersey, January i6, 1841, and died there, Janu- 
ary 9, 1905. He was educated in the public schools of Washington, and then took 
up the trade of shoemaker. He enlisted during the civil war, and was enrolled as 
private May 22, 1861, in Company D, First Regiment New Jersey Volunteers, com- 
manded by Captain Charles Sidgraves, Jr., and was discharged June 23, 1864. He 
took part in twenty-one erigagements, and at the battle of Manassas was wounded 
and taken prisoner, but escaped. After his discharge he worked for nine months in 
the employ of the government, rebuilding railroads, and returned home in. May, 
1865. The original order of the war department for his transportation from North 
Carolina to Washington, New Jersey, is now in the possession of his son, Monford 
E. Hutchings, referred to below. Mr. Hutchings then found employment with the 
Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad, working at first in their freight depot 
at Washington and afterwards as trainman on a freight. When the Daniel F. Beatty 
Organ Company was formed he took a position there and remained until the firm 
went out of business, being foreman of the plant for about ten years. He then took 
a position with the Cornish Organ & Piano Company. He was a Republican in 
politics, and at one time served as street commissioner. He was a member of the 
Grand Army of the Republic, and of the Improved Order of Red Men. He mar- 
ried, August 5, 1865, Emma, daughter of James and Hilda (Lance) Harding, who 
was born in Hackettstown, New Jersey, December 12, 1843, and is now living in 
Washington. Children: i. Esther, born May 14, 1866; married John Smith; chil- 
dren: John, Leslie, Woodford and Monford, of whom the last two are deceased. 
2. Monford E., referred to below. 3. Philip, born April 2, 1868; a piano-maker, 
living at Richmond, Long Island; married Caroline Smith; children: Fern. Judson, 
Margaret, Lillian, Mildred, Oscar. 4. Oscar D., born August 8, 1874; living at 
Westfield, Union county. New Jersey, and foreman of the Aeolian Company's plant 
at Garwood, New Jersey; married (first) Arvilla Britton, and (second) Blanche 
Smith; children, one by each marriage: Lenola and Emma, 5. Benjamin, born 
April 8, 1881, a piano-maker, living in Washington, New Jersey. 

(Ill) Monford E., son of Ezra Judson and Emma (Harding) Hutchings, was 
born in Washington, Warren county. New Jersey, August i, 1867, and is now living 
in that town, where he conducts one of the largest and best stocked furniture stores 
in Northern New Jersey. He received his education in the public schools of Wash- 
ington, and then entered the. employ of the Daniel F. Beatty Organ Company, with 
which he remained for twenty years and eight months. For seven years of this time 
he was in the experimental department of the company, his principal work being 
connected with the player attachments to pianos and organs, one of the most im- 
portant parts of the musical instrument business. In 1892 he resigned this position 
and spent tjvo years in the furniture and undertaking establishments of C. S. Amer- 
man, and April, 1904, purchased the business from his employer. In 1902 he pur- 
chased the lot 45 Youmans avenue, Washington, from the Cole Land Company, and 
built on it his present beautiful residence. He has always taken a great interest in 
educational matters and has served for a number of years on the board of education, 
being chairman of the committee on textbooks and supplies, and of that on rules and 
regulations. He has been treasurer of the Baptist church in Washington for ten 
years, and a deacon for eight years. He is a member of Mansfield Lodge, No. 42, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, of Union Encampment, No. 57, of the Knights 
of the Golden Eagel, No. 12, and for eight years has been clerk and treasurer of the 
Modern Woodmen of America. He married, August 7, 1889, Ella G, daughter of 
John T. and Harriet (Williams) Smith, of Bloomsbury, Warren county. New Jersey, 
who was born there June 25, 1864. Children: Marion, born September 7, 1892, died 
July 7, 1895; Ruth S., born January 9, 1905. 



300 Warren County. 

Jan Aertsen van der Bilt, the founder of this family, came to 
VANDERBILT America as early as 1650, and died in Bergen, New Jersey, 

February 2, 1705. It is uncertain whether the words "van der 
Bilt" represented a family name or have reference to the village of de Bilt, near 
Utrecht. If, as some authorities suppose, it is a family name, it is probable that Jan 
Aertsen, was a near relative of Adriaen Theunisz van der Bilt and Arijen Teunisz 
van Luijten, who emigrated to Rensselaerwyck in 1640. Jan Aertsen married (first), 
February 6, 1650, Anneken Hendricks, of Bergen, Norway, (second) Dierber Cor- 
nells, and (third), Decepiber 16, 1681, Magdalena Hanse, widow of Hendrick Jan- 
sen Spier, of Bergen, New Jersey. Children: Aris Janse, died after 171 1, married, 
October 6, 1677, Hillegonde (or Hilletje) Remsen; Geertje (or Gerretje) Janse, 
married (first) Jan Spiegelaer, and (second) Peter Bilyou; Jacob Janse, referred to 
below; Marretje Janse, married Rem Remsen, of New Letts; Jan Jansen, Jr., mar- 
ried about 1733, Helena (or Magdalena) Leflerts, daughter of Lefifert Pieterse, and 
widow of Gerret Martense. 

(II) Jacob Janse, son of Jan Aertse van der Bilt, was born in New Amsterdam 
or Flatbush. He was on the assessment rolls of Flatbush from 1675, 1676 and 1683, 
and took the oath of allegiance to the English crown there in 1687. He married, 
August 13, 1687, Marretje, daughter of Dirck Janse van der Vliet, and widow of 
Andries Onderdonk. Children: Jacob, Jr., referred to below; Dirck, baptized 
April 25, i6g6; Antje, married Isaac Symonse, of Staten Island; Femmetje, married 
Gozen Andriaans, of Staten Island; (probably) John, of Hempstead, died about 

1767, married Margaret . 

(III) Jacob (2), son of Jacob (1) and Marretje (Dirckse-Onderdonk) van 
der Bilt, was born in Flatbush in 1692, and died on Staten Island, December 14, 
1760. He bought a farm on Staten Island in 1718, and was a member of the Morav- 
ian Church there in 1756. He married Neeltje, daughter of Denyse (or Dionys) 
Teunessen and Helena, daughter of Jacques Cortelyou, and widow of Claes (or 
Nicolaas) van Brunt, who was baptized at New Utrecht, September 22, 1689, and 
died on Staten Island, December 9, 1770. Children: Aris, born February 2, 1716; 
Denyse, baptized September 22, 1717, settled on the Raritan; Hilletje, baptized 
March 27, 1720; Jacob, referred to below; Helena or Magdalena, baptized December 
2Si 1725, married Cornelius Ellis, of Staten Island; John, baptized December 25, 
1731; Cornelius, baptized December 25, 1731, married Elenor Van Tile; Ann, bap- 
tized February ^4, 1734; Phebe, born April 27, 1737, married Christopher Gerretsen, 
of Staten Island; Anthea, born January 3, 1739; Neeltje, baptized September 13, 
1742; Adrian. 

(IV) Jacob (3) Van der Bilt, son of Jacob (2) and Neeltje (Denyse) van der 
Bilt, was baptized on Staten Island, February 3, 1723, and died there, October 20, 

1768. He married, by New Jersey license dated October 27, 1746, Mary Spragg, of 
Staten Island. Children: Jacob, referred to below; John, born May 20, 1752, mar- 
ried Elizabeth Taylor; Dorothy, born July 29, 1754, married WiUiam Lake; Oliver, 
born June 16, 1757; Joseph, born September 16, 1761; Cornelius, born August 28, 
1764, died May 20, 1832, married Phoebe Hand, one of their children was Commo- 
dore Cornelius Vanderbilt, of New York City. 

(V) Jacob (4), son of Jacob (3) and Mary (Spragg) Van der Bilt, was born on 
Staten Island, January 17, 1750, and died intestate in Hunterdon county. New Jersey, 

in 1815. He settled in Hunterdon county about 1780. He married Catharine . 

Children: Jacob, born February 4, 1774; Jacob, born September 2, 1776; William; 
probsrbly others. 

(VI) William Vanderbilt, son of Jacob (4) and Catharine Van der Bilt, lived 
in Milford, Hunterdon county. New Jersey. From an uncle who died in New York 
he inherited a large tract of land. He was a Presbyterian and helped to build the 



Warren County. 301 

church in Milford. He married Mary Metier. Children, all are deceased and buried 
in Milford: Mary, Caroline, Elizabeth, George, Okley, Daniel, referred to below; 
Levi. 

(VII) Daniel, son of William and Mary (Metier) Vanderbilt, was born on the 
old homestead in Milford, Hunterdon county, in 1826, and died there, August S, i8g6. 
He received a common school education, and in early life learned the trade of black- 
smith, which he followed for several years. Afterwards he entered the hotel busi- 
ness, keeping hotels at Stewartsville, New Village and Buttzville. He was a resident 
of Phillipsburg for about eleven years, and during that period he served as collector 
of taxes, constable, and a member of the school board. He also owned a livery 
stable at Newark, New Jersey, for a few years of this time. In his later years he 
came to Washington and purchased a farm. Eight years later he retired and moved 
to his late residence at 141 West Washington avenue, where he died. He is buried 
in the Washington cemetery. Mr. Vanderbilt was a Presbyterian in religion and a 
Democrat in politics. He was noted for his devotion to his family. He married, in 
1853, Marian K., daughter of Benjamin and Mary (Sinkler) Holden, who was born 
in Canadaville, Warren county. New Jersey, September 17, 1834. Her father was a 
resident of Stewartsville; like his father before him, he was a miller and followed 
his trade all his life. Mrs. Vanderbilt was one of nine children. She is a member 
of the Presbyterian Church, of a kind and loving disposition and one of Washing- 
ton's most respected and beloved old ladies.- Children: i. Arndt King, born Feb- 
ruary 3, 1854, married Maria Perkins, who recently died, he and his one child, Har- 
riet, lived at Lincoln, Kansas. 2. Bertolet, born October 9, 1855, married Carrie 
Teel, lives at Easton, Pennsylvania. 3. Mary L., born January 17, 1858, married 
Bartley Bolby, and has one son, Harry. 4. Emma V., born June 23, i860, married 
Lewis Creveling, lives in Washington, New Jersey. 5. William B.; referred to below. 

6. John E., born December 21, 1864; married Cora , has one son. King, this 

family resides at Abilene, Kansas. 7. Hattie F., born October 16, 1867, died in May, 
1899; married George Davis, one son survives her, W. E. Davis, who married Kath- 
leen Dean Watson,- and also resides at 141 West Washington avenue. 

(VIII) William B., son of Daniel and Marian K. (Holden) Vanderbilt, was born 
in Harmony township, Warren county, June 3, 1862. His early life was spent in 
Phillipsburg and Washington. He was educated in the public schools. At the age 
of sixteen he went to work in the organ factory of DanielF. Beatty, taking up the 
trade of woodworker. After about two and a half years he left this employ and 
entered that of the Cornish Organ & Piano Company, still as a woodworker. He 
remained with this company two years, resigning to accept a position with the C. 
P. Bowlby Organ & Piano Company. After three months he was made superintend- 
ent of that plant. This position he held for three years, until he purchased the 
tobacco, cigar and billiard business of John Gaston. He conducted a successful 
business for four years, and then engaged in the wholesale beer business, his present 
occupation. He added to this, in 1908, the manufacture of a preparation of his own, 
"Wild Cherry and Pepsin," and has built up a very successful business. He has 
several representatives on the road selling his goods. Mr. Vanderbilt has his main 
ofifice in the Washington National Bank Building. He is a member of the Washing- 
ton Presbyterian Church. He is a leading Democrat and has always taken a very 
active part in both county and national politics, having served for over twelve years 
in the executive committee of Warren county. He is a member of the Improved 
Order of Red Men and of Lodge No. in, of the Fraternal Order of Eagles, of 
Easton, Pertnsylvania. He has never married, but has always stayed with his mother, 
looking out most devotedly for her comfort. They are both among the most re- 
spected and best Hked people of Washington. 



302 Warren County. 

Joseph Mackey Roseberry was born on the third day of Decem- 
ROSEBERRY ber, 1852, near Belvidere, New Jersey, and was graduated from 
Princeton College, New Jersey, in the class of 1877. His pre- 
liminary education before entering college was obtained at private schools at Belvi- 
dere, New Jersey, and at Blairstown Academy, Blairstown, New Jersey. After 
graduation from college he studied law in the office of J. G. Shipman & Son, Belvi- 
dere, New Jersey, and was admitted to practice in the courts of New Jersey as an 
attorney at law in 1880, and later as a counselor-at-Iaw. 

He was for a time a Republican and was chairman of the county committee, 
and later became a Democrat and likewise became chairman of the Democratic 
county committee. He was for several years and is now county attorney and attor- 
ney for several municipalities, and has been engaged in some of the most important 
cases in the State of New Jersey, practicing in various courts. He is impressive as 
a jury lawyer and strong in presenting the legal aspect of a case to the court and 
usually wins his cases, evincing intense energy and thorough preparation. He has 
tried four homicide cases and succeeded in three of them. He has a lucrative prac- 
tice and has been successful in a financial way, owning iron, timber and farm lands, 
besides having considerable personal property. He is president of the Buckhorn 
Springs Water Company. 

His family is composed of himself, his wife Mary (White) Roseberry and son 
Joseph White Roseberry, and all are members of the First Presbyterian Church of 
Belvidere, New Jersey, of which he is a trustee, and he is also a trustee of the ceme- 
tery association. He was married, August 15, 1891, at the home of his wife, at Belvi- 
dere, New Jersey, to Mary White, born near Belvidere, New Jersey, October 20, 
1858. Her father was Thomas White; her mother, Rosetta White. Mr. Roseberry's 
son, Joseph White Roseberry, was born April 29, 1897. 

Mr. Roseberry's father was Joseph Mackey Roseberry, who was bom at Phil- 
lipsburg. New Jersey, October 5, 1804, and his mother was Sarah Ann Depue, born 
at Foul Rift, on the Delaware river, Lower Mt. Bethel township, Northampton 
coiinty, Pennsylvania, January 31, 1815. Children of Joseph Mackey and Sarah Ann 
(Depue) Roseberry: Michael, born October 8, 1832; John, October 10, 1837; 
Abraham Depue, September 13, 1840; Catharine D., July 17, 1842; Margaret R. 
Titman, November 30, 1844; Henrietta Sophia Long, June 29, 1847; Joseph M., De- 
cember 3, 185^; Mercy Isabella Besson, February 14, 1854; Frank, September 19, 
1857. 

Mr. Roseberry's great-grandfather, John Roseberry, settled at Phillipsburg, New 
Jersey, about 1740. He owned about fifteen hundred acres of land, including the land 
upon which Phillipsburg now stands. . Hi's lands extended from Andover Furnace 
and Greensbridge to Marble Mountain and nearly to Uniontown. He married 
Margaret Phillips, a daughter of William Phillips, in whose honor Phillipsburg 
New Jersey, was named. Her original ancestor in America was Rev. George Phil- 
lips, a graduate of Cambridge College, in England, in 1613, who embarked with his 
family for America, April 12, 1630, in the ship Arabella, in company with Governor 
Winthrop, Sir Richard Saltonstall and others, and arrived at Salem, Massachusetts, 
June 12, 1630. He was the founder of the Congregational church in America. His 
son Zerubabel, born at Watertown, Massachusetts, April 5, 1632, settled at South- 
ampton, Long Island. Theophilus, son of Zerubabel Phillips, was born in 1653, and 
settled at Newtown, Long Island, and later settled at Maidenhead, now Lawrence- 
ville, New Jersey, as early as 1694. His son William settled at or near Phillipsburg, 
New Jersey, as early as 1735, and his daughter Margaret married John Roseberry. 
It was a descendant of Rev. George Phillips that founded Phillips Academy at 
Andover, Massachusetts, and another descendant that founded Phillips Academy at 
Exeter, and it was a member of this family that gave financial aid to Princeton 



Warren County. 303 • 

College in the severe time of the Revolution. Wendell Phillips belonged to this 
family; he could at a moment's notice speak with perfection of form and marvelous 
beauty of thought without any preparation, while Webster, Chatham, Clay, Burke, 
Fox and Sheridan prepared with great care the periods that charmed their hearers. 
Wendell Phillips declared that the Phillips family could be traced back to the twelfth 
century. The Phillips family was distinguished for intellectual qualities and social 
position. 

Michael, son of John Roseberry, had a son Joseph, who in turn had a son 
Joseph, the subject of this sketch. The wife of Michael Roseberry was Margaret 
Mackey, daughter of Captain Joseph Mackey, of Company I, First New Jersey Regi- 
ment of Militia in the Revolution. 

The wife of Joseph M. Roseberry, son of Michael Roseberry, was Sarah A. 
Depue, daughter of Abraham Depue and granddaughter of Benjamin Depue. The 
latter was a commissary in the war of the Revolution, and participated in the battles 
of Long Island and Fort Washington, and was judge of the Court of Common Pleas 
of Northampton county, Pennsylvania, and was a delegate to frame rules and 
apportion delegates to a constitutional convention in Pennsylvania. He married 
Catherine, daughter of Colonel Abraham VanCampen, who commanded a regiment 
of New Jersey troops in the French and Indian war and was the first judge of Sus- 
sex county, and was the son of Admiral Jan VanCampen of the Holland navy, who 
commanded the West African squadron. The original Depue (spelled in French 
Dupuis or Dupuy) ancestor in America was a Huguenot, whose Christian name was 
Nicolas, who emigrated from Artois, France, in the ship Purmerland Church, and 
arrived in New York in October, 1662, and bought land in New York City, the site 
of the present Produce Exchange Building, and in 1674 was named in a list of the 
wealthiest citizens. He had a son Moses, who was one of the founders, by the 
charter of Queen Anne, of the city of Rochester, New York, and became the most 
prominent man in Ulster county, New York. His son Benjamin settled at the Dela- 
ware Water Gap, where Abraham was born, and later moved to Lower Mt. Bethel 
township, Northampton county, Pennsylvania. 

The original ancestor in America, as far as known, of Mary (White) Roseberry 
was Alexander White, of Greenwich, now Warren county, New Jersey. His son. 
Lieutenant William White, with his brother Samuel and Captain John McMurtrie, 
after the two had their character and reputation certified to by the board of chosen 
freeholders of Sussex county, joined Washington's army in 1775, then gathering 
around Boston, Massachusetts. Alexander White's son-in-law. Colonel Joseph 
Beavers, was at one time colonel of the Second New Jersey regiment of raihtia in 
the Revolution, a member of the provincial congress at Trenton, New Jersey, and 
also a judge of the Court of Common Pleas of Hunterdon county; a son. Colonel 
Alexander White, the ancestor of Mrs. Roseberry, was said to have participated in 
the Revolutionary war. The great-grandfather of Mrs. Roseberry on her mother's, 
side was Lieutenant Henry Winter Jr., who served in the Revolution in the First 
New Jersey regiment of militia. 

Conrad Lindenberger arrived in Philadelphia from Germany on 

LINDABERRY the ship Two Brothers, September 15, 1752. According to Dr. 

Chambers his children were probably: Henry, referred to 

below; Conrad, married Cool; Caspar, left three children by his wife Anna 

Maria ; John, whose will was dated January 28, and proved July i, 1777. 

(II) Henry Lindabury, son probably of Conrad Lindenberger, came with his 
father to Philadelphia in the ship Ttuo Brothers, and settled in Shamokin, North- 
umberland county, Pennsylvania. He married Elizabeth Denberger, who was prob- 
ably also of German origin, although there is a tradition in the family that she was 



304 Warren County. 

brought by her parents to this country from the Scottish Highlands, and entering 
the employ of Stephen Girard, of Philadelphia, remained there until her marriage. 
Children: Conrad, born in 1785, married Ann Tiger; Jacob, born July 8, 1788, died 
March 29, i860, married Mary Bowman; Harbert, referred to below; Ann, married 
Tunis Updike; Caspar, born March 29, 1795, died May 27, 1897, married Elizabeth 
H. Bird; John, married Elizabeth Rodenbaugh; George H., born July 17, 1799, died 
January 23, 1879, married Mary Hoffman; Eva, married Peter Hockenbury. 

(III) Harbert, son of Henry ana Elizabeth (Denberger) Lindabury, was born in 
Shamokin, Pennsylvania, about 1789, and died in Morris county, New Jersey, in 
1874, aged eighty-four years. Like most of his brothers and sisters he removed 
from Pennsylvania and settled in German Valley. As was his father before him, he 
was a blacksmith, a Democrat and a Methodist. He married Elizabeth Landers. 
Children: Caspar, married Fanny Tiger; Adaline, married George Wise; Amanda, 
married Matthias Apgar; Hiram, married Margaret Seals; Louisa, married John 
Seals; John, died in infancy; Aletta, married Joseph Burris; Mancius S. H., married 
Eleanor Wilson; John Reading, referred to below. 

(IV) John Reading Lindabury or Lindaberry, son of Harbert and Elizabeth 
(Landers) Lindabury, was born in Fairmount, Hunterdon county. New Jersey, April 
6, 1839, and is now living in Washington, Warren county. New Jersey. He received 
his early education at White Hall, now Wood Glen, Hunterdon county, and then 
worked at the trade of blacksmith, until August 5, 1862, when he enlisted in Com- 
pany H, Fifteenth Regiment, New Jersey Volunteer Infantry, at which time, through 
a spirit of fun, he signed his name Lindaberry, which accounts for the change of 
spelling the name; the son, however, spells the name Lindabury; and served until 
the end of the civil war. He then worked as a journeyman blacksmith for four years, 
after which he carried on a carriage and wagon manufacturing business until April 
I, 1891, when he removed to Washington, Warren county, New Jersey, and opened 
his real estate office there. During the civil war Mr. Lindabury was engaged in the 
battles of Fredericksburg, both engagements at Mary's Heights, the battles of Salem 
Church, Franklin's Crossing, Virginia, Gettysburg, Fairfield, Spottsylvania, Funks- 
town, Maryland, and others. He was slightly wounded several times, but never 
taken prisoner. He is a member of Liberty Council, No. 15, Order of United Amer- 
ican Mechanics; of Warren Council, No. 16, Junior Order United American Me- 
chanics; of Washington Camp, No. 26, Patriotic Order Sons of America, and of 
John F. Reynolds Post, No. 66, Grand Army of the Republic. In all of these he has 
held many important offices. He is a Methodist in religion. Mr. Lindaberry is jus- 
tice of the peace, having served seventeen years; commissioner of deeds fifteen 
years, also notary public. He does a general real estate and insurance business. He 
is a stockholder in the West Jersey Telephone Company, also in the Nevada Gold 
Mining Company, in Nevada. He has been recorder of Washington borough for the 
past ten years. He married, at Cokesbury, Hunterdon county. New Jersey, March 
5, 1861, Almira, daughter of Daniel and Sarah Hall, who was born near Stanton, 
Hunterdon county. New Jersey, February 22, 1843. Her brothers and sisters are: 
Margaret, Charity, Anna, Martha, Susan, Jeremiah, Horace, Jane and Peter Hall. 
Child of John Reading and Almira (Hall) Lindabury: Albert Augustus, referred 
to below. 

(V) Dr. Albert Augustus Lindabury, only child of John Reading and Almira 
(Hall) Lindabury, was born in Hunterdon county. New Jersey, January 15, 1862, 
and is now practicing his profession in Scranton, Pennsylvania. After going to the 
public schools for a while he attended a private school in Flemington, New Jersey, 
where he prepared for Kingston Seminary. Having graduated, he went to the 
Baltimore Medical College and later to the Philadelphia Medical College. He then 
went abroad and spent several years studying in London, Paris, Berlin and Vienna. 



Warren Coun'^y. 305 



He then started in to practice his profession in Scranton. He married Martha Mac- 
pherson. Child: Mary H., married Romaine Houser, of West Pittston, Pennsyl- 
vania. 



John Christine, the first member of this family of whom we have 
CHRISTINE definite information, came to Washington in 1863. Among his 

children were: Emma, married (first) Charles Nixon, (second) 
David Kies; Henry; William W., referred to below; Isabelle, married Charles Bab- 
cock; John; James; Alice, married Whitfield Geary. 

(II) William W., son of John Christine, was born in Riverton, New Jersey, 
August 18, 1850, and died in Washington, New Jersey, September 5, 1910. He was 
for many years a boatman on the Morris canal; then for several years he was em- 
ployed as yardmaster in the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western yards at Washing- 
ton, where, in the spring of 1881, he lost his right hand. He then purchased the 
mercantile business of Joseph A. Beavers in Washington, which he later removed 
to 3 West Washington avenue, where he successfully conducted the business for 
twenty-two years, having, at the time of his death, one of the largest sporting goods 
stores in Warren county. He was a good citizen, and a member of the Episcopal 
Church. For several years he served as commissioner of appeals. He was one of 
the organizers of the Knights of Labor in Washington, and was a charter member 
of Ute Tribe, No. 80, Improved Order of Red Men. He married, November s> 
1870, Lydia V. Wright, of Washington. Children: Harry, referred to below; Fred- 
erick; Samuel; William; Rose, married Charles Weller; Florence, married William 
Main; Theodore; May. 

(III) Harry, son of William W. and Lydia V. (Wright) Christine, was born in 
Washington, September 29, 1871. He received his education in the public schools. 
In his early life he was engaged on the Morris canal with his father, for about six 
years; he then entered the employment of Daniel F. Beatty, carrying the mail for 
several years. His next employment was with the Cornish Organ & Piano Com- 
pany, in their finishing department; after this he was for five years with the Need- 
ham Piano Company, and for six years with the H. W. Alleger Organ Manufactur- 
ing Company. He gave up this line of work to enter the livery business, and pur- 
chased from the estate of this father-in-law, the business which he had owned. Mr. 
Christine has one of the best equipped stables in the borough. He is also engaged 
in the farm and country real estate and fire insurance business, with offices on Belvi- 
dere avenue. He represents the leading insurance companies and has a good patron- 
age in this line. He is an Episcopalian in religion, and an independent in politics. 
He has served four years as borough clerk, and in November, 1908, was elected jus- 
tice of the peace. He is a member of the Junior Order of American Mechanics and 
is State representative of the Daughters of Liberty. He resides at 29 Broad Street, 
having purchased this house in 1902. Mr. Christine married, on Thanksgiving eve, 
1904, Mary E., daughter of Michael Meagher. They have one child, Mary Elizabeth, 
born February 6, 191 1. 

Oscar Jefifery, Esq., of Washington, New Jersey, was born in Lock- 
JEFFERY port. New York, August 31, 1838. His father, Joseph Jefifery, died, 

leaving Oscar and a younger brother, Charles Jeffery, by a second 
marriage. His mother's maiden name was Adeline Brush, and her native place was 
Sussex county, New Jersey, and she was a descendant of the Brush family which 
located, about 1650, on Long Island. Her father came to Sussex county, and was 
engaged in the business of wool carding at the time of his death. Mr. Jefifery's 
mother dying in August, 1849, he and his brother, Charlesj were then taken by an 
uncle, who lived at. Blairstown, Warren county, where he attended school at what 



3o6 Warren County. 

is now called Blair Hall. His uncle removed from Blairstown in 1852 to Sussex 
county, and he attended the public schools there until 1856, when he entered the store 
of Robert Blair, Esq., at Johnsonburg, New Jersey. After he became a clerk in the 
store, in i860, at the suggestion of a friend, he entered the ofifice of David P. Thomp- 
son as a clerk and, began the study of law. In 1864 he gave up the business in the 
store and entered the office of Mr. Thompson, in Newton, New Jersey, where he 
remained until his admission to the ^ew Jersey bar as attorney, in the November 
term of 1864. In January, 1865, he located at Washington, New Jersey, where he 
has since resided. He was admitted as counselor in November, 1867, and has had a 
good degree of success as a lawyer. He has. been appointed to various positions in 
the profession, including special master and supreme court commissioner. Mr. 
Jeflfery is a member of the State Bar Association. He is the author of "Jeffery's 
Law Precedents," a work that was favorably received and enjoyed an extensive sale, 
the first edition having been soon exhausted. 

In politics Mr. Jeflfery has always been a Republican, but only once did he 
actively se^ek an oflfice. He was requested to be a candidate for and was appointed 
postmaster in 1898, holding the office for two terms. This was considered a very 
fine office of the second class. In 1872 he was elected by the people as trustee of the 
school, although he was not a candidate and did not expect the honor of election to 
the office. The following February the schoolhouse burned down and a new school- 
house was erected in 1873. At that time it was considered sufficiently large, but 
additions have been annexed until the building now has more than twice its former 
seating capacity. He was chairman of the Republican county committee in the year 
of 1878, when Warren county, which has always been a Democratic county, unex- 
pectedly elected a Republican senator and a Republican sheriflf. He has long been 
connected with the Warren County Bible Society, and is now president; has been 
one of the board of stewards of the Methodist church of Washington since 1866; a 
member of the official board since 1865; was superintendent of the Sunday school for 
ten years, director of the Washington Gas Company, and a member of the board of . 
trade. 

When Mr. Jefiery moved to Washington in 1865, what is now the borough of 
Washington was then the township. At a meeting of the citizens, called to take 
steps to have the borough incorporated. Judge Vliet, Oscar Jeffery and Peter 
Winter were appointed to draft a charter for the borough, and the legislature, on the 
22nd day of February, 1868, passed an act incorporating the borough. Mr. Jeflfery 
alone remains of those who took part in the incorporation of the borough. It has 
now grown from a village having a population of about twelve hundred to a 
borough' of over three thousand six hundred inhabitants. Since the borough was 
incorporated, many wonderful improvements of modern days, including trolley, elec- 
tric lighting, gas and water, have been inaugurated and are now in common use in 
Washington. 

Oscar Jeflfery married, in 1870, Emma, daughter of John Wild, of Paterson, New 
Jersey. She is a descendant from the Cutler family, of Boston, Massachusetts, which 
figured prominently in the revolution, and she is connected with the chapter of the 
Davighters of the Revolution. They have one son, Oscar W. Jeflfery, a lawyer prac- 
ticing in New York, and living at Englewood, New Jersey. He married Harriet 
Blythe, of Philadelphia, and they have two children. 



John Clark Bowers, the first member of this family of whom we have 
BOWERS definite information, lived in Warren county, New Jersey, and was a 

son of Jacob Bowers, of Oxford, in the same county. He received a 
common school education and then learned the trades of carpentering and cabinet- 
making, which he followed for a number of years, building many of the barns and 



Warren County. 307 

houses of Warren county. He next turned his attention to farming, and settled 
down for that purpose near Broadway, Warren county. New Jersey, where he spent 
the last thirty years of his life. He was a prominent member of the Methodist 
church in Washington. He married Eleanor, daughter of Jacob and Margaret 
(Laycock) Cole. Children, besides three that died in infancy: Margaret C, married 
Robert H. Axford (see Axford I) ; William H., living at Hope, New Jersey; Mich- 
ael B., referred to below; Jacob; Christopher C, living in Washington, New Jersey; 
John Thomas. 

(II) Michael B., son of John Clark and Eleanor (Cole) Bowers, was born in 
Washington township, Warren county, New Jersey, September 6, 1845. He received 
his education in the public schools and began life as a farmer, working at first for 
James Lomerson. Being needed at home, however, he helped his father for ten 
years and then, renting his father-in-law's farm, he conducted for sixteen years a 
general truck farming business, which he made highly successful. In the spring of 
1886 he moved to Broadway, Warren county. New Jersey, where he purchased the 
store and dwelling he now occupies and sixteen acres of land, which formed part of 
the estate of the late William Warman. There Mr. Bowers has a fine store, carry- 
ing an excellent line of general merchandise, and a business which he has built up 
and made very prosperous. He carries a good line of farming implements, gas 
engines and fertilizers. He has also bought a number of other real estate properties 
and to-day has ten tenants on his different farms. He is a Democrat in politics and 
has always taken an active part in the aflfairs of his township, having held the offices 
of supervisor of election boards, overseer of roads, and assessor of the township. 
President Cleveland, during his second -administration, appointed Mr. Bowers post- 
master of Broadway, and he held the office for five years. He is a member of Mans- 
field Lodge, No. 36, Free and Accepted Masons, of Washington; of Temple Chapter, 
No. 12, Royal Arch Masons, of Washington; of Washington Council, Scottish Rite 
Masons; of PeMolay Commandery, . Knights Templar; of Mecca Temple of the 
Mystic Shrine, of New York City; of the Tall Cedars of Lebanon, No. 14, of 
Phillipsburg; of Warren Lodge, No. 152, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, of 
Stewarts ville; of Union Encampment, No. 57, of Washington. For a number of 
years he has been trustee and steward of the Methodist church at Broadway. He 
married Mary Elizabeth, daughter of Conrad Henry and Tamson A. (Beatty) Bryan. 
Children: Henry B. and Walter Edgar, both referred to below. 

(III) Henry B., son of Michael B. and Mary Elizabeth (Bryan) Bowers, now de- 
ceased, spent his whole life with his parents and was considered a most- exemplary 
son. He was a Democrat in politics, and at the time of his death a trustee of the 
Methodist church in Broadway. He was a member of the same Masonic and other 
organizations as his father, and his funeral is said to have been one of the most 
impressive services ever conducted by those bodies. He married Naomi, daughter 
of Joseph Woolever, but left no children. 

(Ill) Walter Edgar, son of Michael B. and Mary Elizabeth (Bryan) Bowers, 
was educated in the public schools of Broadway, and since then has been assisting 
his father. He has the same Masonic affiliations as his father and is a member of 
the Methodist church. He married Edith, daughter of Logan Bowman. Child: 
Henry B. 

Christopher C. Bowers, son of John Clark and Eleanor (Cole) Bow- 
BOWERS ers (q. v.), was born in Franklin township, Warren county. New 

Jersey, May 18, 1853, and is now living in Washington, New Jersey. 
He was educated in the public schools of Broadway and Pleasant Valley, New Jerr 
sey, and in his early life worked- on his -father's farm. Obtaining a position in the 
organ and -piano factory of Daniel F. -Beatty, who was later to become his uncle-in- 



3o8 Warren County. 

law, Mr. Bowers came to Washington, and about four years later, having saved suffi- 
cient capital for a start, embarked in the grocery business for himself, his place of 
business being in the building now occupied by the drug store of Dr. Williams. 
After fourteen years of successful business, Mr. Bowers disposed of his grocery and 
in 1898 opened an oflfice as insurance agent. In 1902 he embarked upon his present 
business of wholesale and retail dealer in patent medicines and extracts. He has 
become one of the most successful merchants of Warren county and' has the highest 
esteem of his fellow citizens. In 1887 he purchased his present residence from Mr. 
Beers. He and his family are members of the Methodist Episcopal church. He is 
a member of Mansfield Lodge, No. 36, Free and Accepted Masons of New Jersey, 
of Mansfield Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fellows; of the Oriental Branch of 
the Junior Order of American Mechanics, and a charter member of Ute Tribe, No. 
80, Improved Order of Red Men. 

He married, September i, 1880, Laura, daughter of Mansfield H. and Mary 
Catharine (Castner) Beatty, who was born March 13, 1861. Her great-grandparents 
were James and Elizabeth (Schleicher) Beatty. Her grandfather was George 
Beatty, who was born January 16, 1815, and died March 9, 1889. He married (first), 
December 3, 1840, Elizabeth L. Fisher, who was born October 22,' 1816, and died 
November 14, 1858. He married (second) Rachel L. Thatcher. Children of George 
Beatty, six by first wife: Mansfield H., referred to below; Hibbard, born Novem- 
ber 13, 1846, died in November, 1909; Daniel Fisher, born April 14, 1848; George 
Lewis, May 14, 1851; Wellington, May 2, 1853; Keziah F., January 24, 1857, married 
Alexander Anderson; Mary A., born August 5, i860, married George B. Hofifman; 
Enos E. B., born January 27, 1862; Ann E. L., March 8, 1868, married John Hocken- 
bury, of Chester, New Jersey. 

Mansfield H., son of George and Elizabeth L. (Fisher) Beatty, and father of 
Laura (Beatty) Bowers, was born November 3, 1841, and died March 24, 1910. 
Leaving the old homestead in Hunterdon county. New Jersey, when he was seven- 
teen years old, he taught school in various places and then became setretary to his 
brother, Daniel F. Beatty. In 1892 he removed to Chicago, Illinois, and became 
traveling salesman for a rubber stamp and stationery firm. He served in the civil 
war; was a Democrat in politics, and a Methodist in religion. He was a member of 
the Free and Accepted Masons, of Washington. He married Mary Catharine, 
daughter of Adam and Mary (Schwartz) Castner, who was born April i, 1842. Chil- 
dren: Laura, referred to above; George W., living in Chicago, Illinois; Watson, 
living in Chicago; Alvin, deceased; Lucy, married Marshall Burd; Daniel, living in 
Chicago, Illinois; Elizabeth, married Horace Dearnburger; Minnie, deceased. Chil- 
dren of Christopher C. and Laura (Beatty) Bowers: Mansfield Bowers, born Au- 
gust 8, 1881, married Mary, daughter of John Britton, of Phillipsburg, New Jersey, 
has one daughter, Leah Jeane; Lena, born December 19, 1886, married John W. 
Lunger, has one child, Clark Bowers; Clark C, born October 6, 1891, a graduate of 
Washington high school and a student of finance, which line of business he expects 
to take up in the near future. 



John Axford, the founder of the family of his name in New Jersey, 
AXFORD emigrated from Oxford, England, and after living for a while near 
Trenton, New Jersey, finally settled in what is now Oxford township, 
Warren county, New Jersey, where he located sixteen hundred acres, which he 
divided at his death among his four sons, Abraham, Samuel, Jonathan and John. He 
and his wife, Anna Beach, were members of the Society of Friends. His descendants 
have become prominent and influential, not only in Warren county, but also in vari- 
ous other portions of the United States, particularly the middle west. 

(I) Robert Hunt Axford. a descendant of John and Anna (Beach) Axford, was 



Warren County. 309 

born in Oxford township, Warren county, New Jersey, May 8, 1836, and died there, 
January 31, 1873. Being deprived of a father's care in infancy, he spent his early 
life with his grandparents and received his education in the pubUc schools of Oxford 
township and under a private tutor. As a young man he went south and purchased 
a farm; but the life there proving uncongenial, he returned to New Jersey and set- 
tled for a while on a farm at Scott's Mountain, belonging to one of his uncles, and 
finally leased the old Carhart farm, which he managed till his death. He married, 
January 8, 1863, Margaret C, born in Oxford township, Warren county. New Jersey, 
July 20, 1838, and died October 10, 1872, daughter of John Clark and Eleanor (Cole) 
Bowers (see Bowers I). Children: John Clark, referred tcf below; Daniel Irwin, 
born December 31, 1865; William H., referred to below; Jacob Bowers, born May 15, 
1869, died September 25, 1870; Michael Bowers, twin with Jacob Bowers, died Au- 
gust 23, 1870; Sarah E., born January 25, 1870, married the Rev. W. S. Newson, of 
Richmond, Staten Island, New York; Minnie, born October 31, 1871, died April 5, 

1873. 

(II) John Clark, son of Robert Hunt and Margaret C. (Bowers) Axford, was 
born in Washington township, Warren county, New Jersey, June 7, 1864, and is now 
living in the town of Washington, where he and his brother, William Henry Axford, 
are two of the most highly esteemed and successful merchants in the place. He 
spent his boyhood on the farm of his uncle, Michael B. Bowers, and received his' 
education in the public schools of Broadway, Warren county, New Jersey. When he was 
twenty-four years old he began clerking in his uncle's store, where he remained 
until after his thirty-first birthday, when he embarked in business for himself. For 
three years he ran a small store at Cole's Corners, and then, in 1897, he purchased 
the ground at 113 Broad street, Washington, where his present store and residence 
are situated, and where he has built himself one of the best and most substantial 
dwellings in the town. Besides this property, Mr. Axford owns a number of other 
highly desirable building sites in the town and also good farming lands in Franklin 
township. He is a Democrat in politics; has served on the executive committee of 
the town for eight years, and is at present (1910) clerk of the board of education. 
He is very active in local politics and has been delegate to many of the county 
conventions of his party. He is a member of the board of stewards of the Methodist 
Episcopal church in Washington. He is also a member of Stewartsville Chapter, 
No. 53, Independent Order of Odd Fellows of New Jersey; of the Patriotic Order 
Sons of America of Washington, New Jersey; of the Knights of the Golden Eagle, 
and he is financial secretary of Lodge No. 7, of the Ladies of the Golden Crown 
Temple. He married, October 17, 1888, Ida, daughter of Peter O. and Mary (Hil- 
liard) Rinehart, of Port Golden, Warren county. New Jersey, who was born there, 
March 31, 1867. No children. 

(II) William Henry, son of Robert Hunt and Margaret C. (Bowers) Axford, 
was born in Washington township, Warren county, New Jersey, January 6, 1867, 
and is now living in the town of Washington. He spent his boyhood days on the 
farm of his grandfather, John Clark Bowers, and received his education in the public 
schools of Franklin township and the borough of Washington. After leaving school 
he began life acting as clerk to his uncle, Christopher C. Bowers, in Washington, 
with whom he remained until 1897, when he embarked in the grocery business for 
himself at the corner of Belvidere and Carlton avenues. Here he built up for him- 
self by his industry and thrift and upright dealing a highly prosperous business 
and he has gained the reputation of carrying the best line of goods to be found in 
the town. He has built himself a fine residence and store property, and he owns besides 
several of the most desirable real estate properties in the town. He is a Democrat 
in politics, a member of the board of education, and he takes a deep and active inter- 
est in the advancement of the public school system and in the improvement of the 



3IO Warren County. 

schools of Washington in particular. He is a member of the board of stewards of 
the Methodist Episcopal church of Washington. He married Nelly, daughter of 
William Kinaman. Child: Jennie; 



The Pursel family is one of the oldest famihes of the township of 
PURSEL Greenwich. The name is found in Pennsylvania in 1677. The Pur- 
sells or Purcells of Pennsylvania and New Jersey are probably de- 
scended from the noble Purcell family of Ireland. Sir Hugh Purcell, who traced his- 
descent from Charlemagne, accompanied William the Conqueror from Normandy 
to England; he is said to have been the first to land on British soil and the first to 
effect a notable deed of arms. The Irish Purcells were faithful adherents of the 
Stuart cause and suffered severely for their loyalty, both in the rebellion and at the 
accession of William of Orange. 

(I) Stewart C. Pursel, the first member of this family of whom we have definite 
information, was a merchant at Phillipsburg. He was a member of the Lutheran 
church, and with his wife took much interest in the affairs of the church. He mar-' 
ried Catharine C. Stone; both are deceased. Children: Daughter, died in infancy; 
Ephraim D., referred to below; William S., a merchant at Easton, Pennsylvania; 
Theodore M., resides in Boston, Massachusetts; John T., a merchant at Phillipsburg. 

(II) Ephraim D., son of Stewart C. and Catharine C. (Stone) Pursel, was born at 
Phillipsburg, New Jersey, July 26, 1867. He attended the public schools at PhilHps- 
burg, including the high school. For several years he was a clerk in his father's 
grocery stores, and from 1892 to 1904 he was in the clothing business in Phillipsburg. 
In the latter year he became a member of the John H. Hagerty Lumber Company. 
He is one of the most prominent business men in Phillipsburg, and his residence on 
Fairview place, which he built in 1906, is among the finest in the county. He is a 
Republican in politics. His secret orders are Delaware Lodge, No. 52, Free and 
Accepted Masons; Eagle Chapter, No. 30, Royal Arch Masons; DeMolay Command- 
ery, and the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, of which he is past exalted 
ruler. Mr. Pursel is one of the trustees of the Presbyterian church. He married, 
at Phillipsburg, November 19, 1890, Anna M., daughter of John H. and Ellen 
(Hazen) Hagerty. John H. Hagerty, now deceased, was one of the most respected 
business men of Phillipsburg. Children of Ephraim D. and Anna M. (Hagerty) 
Pursel: Stewart H., born at Phillipsburg, May 20, 1894, now attending college at 
Mercersburg, Pennsylvania; John H., born at Phillipsburg, April 5, 1896, now 
attending the high school at Phillipsburg. 



Philip Pursel, the first member of this family of whom we have defi- 
PURSEL nite information, died April 24, 1882, and was a brother of Stewart C. 

Pursel, of Phillipsburg. He had a gristmill at Greensbridge, Lopat- 
cong township, Warren county. New Jersey. He married Mary Louisa Stone. 
Among their children was Thomas Stone, referred to below. 

(II) Thomas Stone, son of Philip and Mary Louisa (Stone) Pursel, was born in 
Phillipsburg, New Jersey, July 25, 1857. He lived all his life in Warren county. 
After attending the school at Springtown and school No. 10 at Lopatcong township, 
he entered the Easton, Pennsylvania, high school. At the age of thirteen he set out 
to earn his own living and secured work with a contractor named Collins, who was 
building for the Lehigh Valley railroad. About six months later he was made clerk 
in the general store of Theodore Mellick, in -which position he remained for two 
years. After this he learned the trade of miller in his father's mill at Greensbridge. ' 
Two years later he accepted a position as clerk in the store of his uncle, Stewart 
C. Pursel, remaining there for over five years, and acquiring a fair knowledge of 
1he mercantile business. His father's health then failing, hs took charge of the 



Warren County. 3 1 1 

mill for him, and continued this business for himself for fourteen years after his 
father's death and took care of the family. S. C. Pursel's Sons then bought this 
business. A year later, in 1897, Mr. Pursel began contracting for masonry work. 
The sewers on South Main, Sitgreaves and Chambers streets and the retaining wall 
on Stockton street are among his constructions. Purchasing fifty feet of frontage 
on South Main street, a store and three dwelling houses, Numbers 383, 385 and 387, 
he remodeled these and entered the general merchandise business. His store is 
to-day one of the best equipped in Phillipsburg, with a stock including dry-goods, 
boots and shoes, and groceries. Five fine dwellings on Jersey street, built about 
1896, are owned by Mr. Pursel, and he owns two on South Main street. In 1897 he 
built five dwellings just outside the town, near Greensbridge, in one of the best 
suburbs. One of these houses is Mr. Pursel's own residence. He has also a well- 
stocked farm of one hundred and fifty-five acres at Carpentersville, New Jersey, with 
a man in charge. 

Mr. Pursel is a Democrat in politics and has been active in county afifairs. He 
served for six years on the board of freeholders of Lopatcong township, and was 
director of the board from 1893 to 1898; he also served on the school board of that 
township. He is one of the directors of the Second National Bank of Phillipsburg. 
He is a member of Delaware Lodge, No. 52, Free and Accepted Masons; of Eagle 
Chapter, No. 30, Royal Arch Masons, and of the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows, of Phillipsburg. Mr. Pursel married, at Phillipsburg, November 4, 1881, Ella 
Foering, daughter of William Mott and Susan Bowman (Winter) Patterson, who 
was born in Phillipsburg, December 22, 1859; the Rev. H.. B. Townsend, of the 
Presbyterian church, officiated at the ceremony. Mrs. Pursel is a graduate of the 
Phillipsburg high school, class of 1879, and is a woman of more than ordinary 
attainments. Samuel Patterson, her great-grandfather, the founder of this family, 
was born February 6, 1769, and died at Norristown, Pennsylvania, March 18, 1815. 
He came from Belfast, Ireland, with his brother John, in 1798, and settled at Norris- 
town. In 1807 he applied for naturalization. He became landlord of an inn at 
Norristown in 181 1. The next year he was appointed county commissioner, and in 
1814 was regularly elected to that office. In the war of 1812 he joined the Penn- 
sylvania Volunteers. 

Samuel Dewess Patterson, grandfather of Ella F. (Patterson) Pursel, was a 
man of studious disposition, with strong inclination to composition and versification. 
He was appointed to succeed James Winnard as publisher of the Norristown Register. 
Verses composed by him appear in this paper and in the New England Magazine, pub- 
lished at Boston in 1824. From 1828 to 1834 he was editor of the Register. In 1833 
he was recorder of deeds of Montgomery county. From 1834 to 1837 he edited and 
published the Pennsylvania Register and was state printer by appointment of Gov- 
ernor Wolf. President Van Buren appointed Mr. Patterson in 1837 United States 
marshal for the eastern district of Pennsylvania, which office he held until 1841. In 
1839 Governor David D. Porter made him aide-de-camp on his staff, with the rank 
of colonel. In the years 1843-48 he published the Saturday Evening Post, founded 
by Franklin in 1728, and at that time in the zenith of prosperity as a family news- 
paper. Among its contributors were: Poe, Willis, Hawthorne, Lafayette, Cooper, 
Neal, G. P. R. James, Bayard Taylor, Mrs. Osgood, Mrs. Stephens, Mrs. Sigourney 
and Mary Howitt. It was at this time that Bayard Taylor contributed the account 
of his foreign travels entitled "Views Afoot." Colonel Patterson's financial assist- 
ance had enabled him to make his first trip abroad, of which fact Mr. Taylor made 
pleasant acknowledgement in the first published volume of those letters (1846). Col- 
onel Patterson frequently contributed to the columns of the Post. In 1845 President 
Polk appointed him naval agent at Philadelphia, and he held the office until 1848. 



312 Warren County. 

About this time he was also associated with John W. Torney, Mifflin, Parry, Joseph 
Neal and A. Boyd Hamilton in the publication of the Pennsylvanian, the predecessor 
of the Philadelphia Press. From 1848 to 1850 he published Graham's Magazine, and 
in the decline of this periodical he suffered financial loss. In 1851 he removed to 
Woodbourne, near Schuylkill Haven, where he held a position with the Silver Creek 
Coal Mining Company. He removed again in 1855 or 1856 to Evansburg, where he 
served as justice and contributed to th^local and city newspapers. 

Colonel Patterson's greatest accomplishments were in the field of literature. Be- 
sides the periodicals already mentioned, he contributed to various annuals : to the 
National Gleaner, the Opal, the Family Messenger, the Casket, the Gift, the Pountain, 
Godey's Ladies National Magazine, the Episcopal Recorder, Pennsylvania, the Wash- 
ington Union and others. As a political writer he wielded a pen quiet but forcible 
and bold. Among the best of his poetical writings were "My Mother" (1839), "The 
Little Straw Hat" (1844), and "A Salt River Voyage." Colonel Patterson was an 
intimate friend and correspondent of President Buchanan, who often visited him and 
was godfather to two of his children. He was a very handsome man and conspicuous 
for his scholarly attainments and refinement. Many strugglers for literary recogni- 
tion found in him a friend, and he was generous to a fault. He was a consistent 
Christian and a member of the Episcopal church, which he long served as vestryman. 
He was a Mason, an Odd Fellow, and a member of the Hibernian Society of Phillips- 
burg. 

William Mott, father of Ella F. (Patterson) Pursel, and son of Samuel Dewess 
Patterson, was born in Norristown, April 22, 1830, and died August 25, 1875. His 
large and successful experience as journalist commenced in the position of reporter 
for Torney's Spirit of the Times; in this capacity he interviewed Forrest and Ma- 
cready at the time of the riotous excitement resulting from their quarrel. He was 
connected also with Godey's Magazine. He later served the Eastern Express in sev- 
eral capacities and wrote for that paper a series of letters from this side of the river, 
which were of unusual interest. He contributed to the Phillipsburg Standard and was 
editor of the Evening Mail, the first daily newspaper in this town. He was also on 
the staff of the Paterson Guardian. At the time of his death he was local editor of 
the Easton Free Press, himself furnishing locals to its columns. The Warren Demo- 
crat, of Phillipsburg, owes him much of its success and popularity. He was ready 
and pleasing with his pen, a man of rare humor, an interesting conversationalist and 
a pleasing associate; as an editor he was of notable industry, zeal, fidelity and ability. 
Mr. Patterson had a fine talent for chemistry, evincing a quickness for this science 
which seemed almost instinctive. He was active in the affairs of the town of Phillips- 
burg. At the time of the smallpox epidemic he was at the head of the board of 
health, and his promptness and ability were efficacious instruments in checking this 
plague. He also served as president of the board of education, and held this position 
when the high school was organized. He was a Democrat of the strictest sort and 
prominent in Warren county politics, taking a leading part in the conventions and 
caucuses. Mr. Patterson was a member of the Presbyterian church and actively inter- 
ested in its affairs. His disposition was eminently hospitable and generous. He was 
a kind and obliging neighbor and ever ready to confer a favor. He married, August 
25, 1853, Susan Bowman, daughter of Peter and Susan (Bowman) Winter, of Easton, 
Pennsylvania, who was born August 25, 1829, and died September 2, 1903. Children: 
Mary Matilda, born August 25, 1854; Sarah Ann, born June 12, 1857; Ella Foering, 
referred to above; Clara DaVor, born October 29, 1871; William Comstock, born 
April 21, 1874, now living in Phillipsburg. Children of Thomas Stone and Ella Foer- 
ing (Patterson) Pursel: i. Clara, born at Phillipsburg, April 8, 1883, married George 
B. Winter; they have one child, Ella, Pursel, born August 27, 1905. 2. Ruth, born 



Warren County. 313 

July 13, 1884, died October 22, 1884. 3. Mary Louisa, born June 13, 1885; married 
William E. Pickel; they have one child, Robert Stanley, born July 30, igog; they reside 
at Greensbridge. 4. Helen E., born August 3, 1886, died June 7, igo8; married Will- 
iam C. Winter; they had one child, William Thomas, who died in infancy. 5. Thomas 
Stone Jr., born June 29, 1897. 6- Philip, born August 20, 1900, died April 2, 1901. 7. 
Stanley Bixler, born September 18, 1902. The deceased children are buried in St. 
James' Lutheran cemetery. 



Hon. Charles B. Smith, M. D., is a leading physician of Washington, 
SMITH New Jersey, and has been five times mayor of the borough. He was 

born in Bethlehem, Hunterdon county, New Jersey, in 1867, the only 
son of Alfred G. and Elizabeth (Cornish) Smith. His father .was a native of Warren 
county, of this state, and during his early life operated a mill, till failing health 
forced him to retire from the business and seek employment of a different nature. 
He then purchased and cultivated a farm until the time of his death, accumulating 
a comfortable fortune. His home was near Asbury, Warren county, New Jersey. 
Politically, he was a Democrat, but never held nor desired public office of any kind. 
His father was Jacob Smith, a well-to-do farmer, of Hunterdon county. 

The maternal grandfather of our subject was Joseph Cornish, a prosperous 
merchant of Bethlehem, whose son, Joseph B. Cornish, was the well known manu- 
facturer of organs and pianos of Washington. The only child of his parents, Charles 
B. Smith, was given every advantage that the schools of the county afforded, attend- 
ing both the grammar and high schools of Washington. His early boyhood years 
were passed on his father's farm, near Bethlehem, but from his fourteenth year he 
lived near Washington. He had a natural taste for medicine and, deciding to choose 
it as his profession, he began to study under a competent instructor. For two years 
he carried on his reading in the meantime teaching school, then entered the College 
of Physicians and Surgeons, of Baltimore, Maryland, from which, after a three- 
years' course, he graduated with high honors, in 1891. After graduation, Dr. Smith 
engaged in the practice of medicine in Washington, New Jersey, where he has gain- 
ed an enviable reputation as a reliable and skillful physician and surgeon. His serv- 
ices are in constant demand and his practice extends into the surrounding country. 
The connection of Dr. Smith with civil affairs reflects credit upon his ability and 
proves his interests in the progress of his town. Like all members of the family as 
far back as the record extends, he is a staunch adherent of Democratic principles. 
In 189s he was elected mayor of Washington, and in that position gave such uni- 
versal satisfaction that the following year he was re-elected by almost the entire vote 
of the borough. He again, in 1904, was called to fill the same position, being twice 
re-elected successively, the last time without opposition. It is largely through his 
wise administration of the affairs of his office that Washington has advanced as 
rapidly as it has in the way of improvements of all kinds. He has served also on the 
Washington board of education. 

In fraternal matters he is a member of Mansfield Lodge, No. 36, Free and 
Accepted Masons; Temple Chapter, No. 12; DeMoIay Commandery, No. 6; Mecca 
Temple, Ancient Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of New York City; Junior 
Order United American Mechanics; Royal Arcanum;" Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows; Ute Tribe, No. 80, Improved Order of Red Men; American /Advocate 
Council, No. 64, Daughters of Liberty. He is a member of the New Jersey State 
Medical Society, the American Medical Association, Lehigh Valley Medical Asso- 
ciation, Tri-County Medical Association, of which he has been secretary since its 
organization; Medical Association of the Greater City of New York, and the New 
York and New England Association of Railway Surgeons. He is also director of 
the First National Bank of Washington. 



314 Warren County. 

In 1893 the doctor erected a residence on West Washington avenue, where he 
made his home until 1911, when he removed to his new home on Belvidere avenue. 
This property he recently purchased and remodeled, making it one of the most de- 
sirable and attractive homes in the borough. In 1891 he married Mary S., daugh- 
ter of Robert K. Richey, a retired merchant of Asbury, Warren county, and they 
have one child, Elizabeth. The doctor, with his wife, holds membership in the 
Presbyterian church, which he has served as trustee. 



Josef Pardu, the founder of this family, was a native of Versailles, 
PERDOE France, where he was engaged for many years in the silk business, 
having learned the trade of a silk weaver, and after serving his ap- 
prenticeship going into business for himself. In December, 1799, he decided to emi- 
grate to America, and, with his -wife Polly, reached Castle Garden, February 22, 
1800, and three days later their son was born at what was then called "the Point." 
Later he settled in Milford, Hunterdon county. New Jersey, with Daniel Tinsman 
and made his home in that vicinity the rest of his life, changing his name to Perdoe 
and his religion from the Catholic to Lutheran. 

(II) William, son of Josef and Polly (Pardu or) Perdoe, was .born February 
25, 1800, and died in 1879, at the home of his son, John C. Perdoe. In early life he 
was a farmer in Hunterdon county. New Jersey, but afterwards he came to Warren 
county and settled at Greensbridge, where he obtained employment first in lumber 
yard with Enoch Green for thirty years, later as a section foreman of the Central 
Railroad of New Jersey, having charge of a division between Phillipsburg and 
Springtown. He married Elizabeth Hartzell. Of their eight children, John C, 
referred to below, is the youngest. 

(III) Hon. John C. Perdoe, son of William and Elizabeth (Hartzell) Perdoe, was 
born at Greensbridge, Warren county, New Jersey, August s, 1848. Being obliged in his 
early days to earn his own livelihood, he was denied the opportunity of much school- 
ing In his youth he was employed for about three years by his brother and drove 
mules on the old Morris canal, and he has often stated that his main chance for an 
education lay in the perusal of books and newspapers, while he drove the teams. In 
1867 he entered the employ of the Central Railroad of New Jersey, with which he 
remained for nearly a quarter of a century, rising to the position of conductor. In 
1891 he was appointed to his present position as superintendent of the Phillipsburg 
cemetery. 

Mr. Perdoe is one of the most prominent citizens of Phillipsburg. He is an 
ardent Republican, a man of the best of habits, a leader in his party and in local 
affairs, having been repeatedly nominated unanimously by his party for various offices. 
Although he resides in what is known to be a stronghold of the Democratic party, he 
has been elected to various important offices, always receiving a large number of 
votes from his friends arid neighbors of the opposite party. In 1883 he was elected 
count} freeholder and was re-elected for another term of five years. In 1894 he was 
elected mayor of Phillipsburg, and after serving one term he was renominated by 
the Republican party and endorsed by the other parties. In fact, no other candidate 
appenred in opposition to him. He has been defeated by the Democrats on two occa- 
sions: in 1897, for the state legislature; and in the fall of 1910. Men of all parties 
had solicited him to take the nomination for mayor again, in view of his excellent 
former administration of the office; but the Democratic drift of that year included 
him among the unsuccessful contestants. 

Mr. Perdoe is a member of Delaware Lodge, No. 52, Free and Accepted Masons ; 
Eagle Chapter, No. 30, Royal Arch Masons; Warren County Forest, Tall Cedars of 



Warren County. 315 

LeJDanon; Delaware Chapter, Order of Eastern Star. He and his family are Presby- 
terians. 

Mr. Perdoe married, November 8,-1877, Carrie T., daughter of Israel Baldwin and 
Rebecca (Butler) Condit. Her father was justice of the peace in Hanover township, 
Morris county. New Jersey, for thirty years. Children : i. V. Rae, is the wife of Will- 
iam S. Neigh. 2. William I., a traveling salesman for Seamless Rubber Company, in 
automobile accessory department; married Laura J. Adams. 3. Clarence C, a grad- 
uate of Columbia. College, now a druggist in New York City. 



The Feit family of New Jersey is of French origin, its founder, Jean 
FEIT (John) Feit, having been born in the little village of Deux Ponts (English 
Two Bridges), in the Rhenish province of Alsace-Lorraine, March 16, 1714. 
He died in New Jersey, April 19, 1790. Emigrating to America in 1730, he settled in 
i7-i9 on a tract of seven hundred acres of land in what is now Greenwich township, 
Warren county. New Jersey, of which the greater part is still in the possession of his 
descendants. He married Maria Bender, who was born November 26, 171S, and died 
September 29, 1790. She was probably his second wife and a widow when she married 
him, as John Feit in his will, dated April 27, 1789, and proved May 17, 1790, names his 
stepdaughter Mary, daughter of Jacob Minier. Children: Magdalena, born July 4, 
1742; Daniel, referred to below; Catharine, born December 24, 1750; John, September 
8, 1756; Elizabeth, March 4, 1758. Magdalena, John and Elizabeth probably died 
young or unmarried before 1789, as their father mentions only Daniel and Catharine 
in his will and calls the former "my only son." 

(H) Daniel, son of Jean (John) Feit, was born in thit part of Morris county 
which is now Warren county. New Jersey, January 22, 1745, and died between 1803 and 
1828. He married, March 6, 1770, Mary Kuhl. Children: Rebecca, born January 17, 
1774; John, December 8, 1777; Elizabeth, February 16, 1780; Paul, referred to below; 
Anna, born July 8, 1785; Daniel, October 17, 1787. 

(HI) Paul, son of John and Mary (Kuhl) Feit, was born in what was then Sus- 
sex county, New Jersey, September 4, 1782. He married Catharine Oberly. Children : 
William, referred to below; Anthony, born August 8, 1813, died May 8, 1843, married 
Julia Boyer; Daniel, born September 27, 1815, died February 20, 1894; daughter, twin 
with Daniel, died in infancy; John, referred to below. 

(IV) William, son of Paul and Catharine (Oberly) Feit, was born in Green- 
wich township, Sussex county, New Jersey, August 5, i8og, and died in the same 
place, now Lopatcong township, Warren county, New Jersey, February i, 1875. He 
purchased from his father two hundred acres of the tract of land originally bought 
by his great-grandfather, in 1749, and became a man of much prominence in the com- 
munity. In his father's time the Lutheran congregation of the neighborhood had 
been holding services in the old log house built by Jean Feit, the emigrant. Later, 
priitci.pally through means furnished by Paul Feit, the first church, now known as 
the "Old Straw Church," was built and after Paul Feit's death his son William be- 
came one of the most prominent and influential members of the congregation. He 
was a Whig and a Republican in politics, served in several of the township offices, 
and in the state legislature in 1858-59. At the time of his death he was president of 
the Phillipsburg Savings Bank. He married, March 6, 1834, Eleanor, daughter of 
Joseph J. and Catharine (Butz) Jones, who was born near Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, 
April 3, 1815, and died February 11, 1889. Children: Joseph, born January 21, 1835, 
died April 12, 1880, unmarried; John, born February 13, 1836, died July 19, 1903, mar- 
ried Mary A., daughter of Dr. William Shipman; Mary C, born September 19, 1838, 
living at Pine Grove, Pennsylvania; Sarah A., born January 20, 1841, died February 8, 
1907; Paul W., referred to below; Eleanor H., born February 5, 1845; Henrietta C, 



3i6 



Warren County. 



born December s, 1847; George I., born August 20, 1850, married Edith Roseberry; 
Alice, born April 16, 1853. 

(V) Paul W., son of William and Eleanor (Jones) Feit, was born on the old 
homestead in the house built by his father in 1836, and is now living there with his 
sisters, Eleanor H., Henrietta C. and Alice R. Feit. He has been a gentleman 
jfarmer all his life, and although he has a farmer on the place one of his greatest 
pleasures is to do actual work himself, and he is often to be found in the fields or 
barnyard. Mr. Feit is a very reserved man, a constant reader, and he has spent a 
great deal of time traveling through the west and in other places. He is a trustee 
of St. James' Lutheran Church and he is considered one of the most generous and 
liberal minded men in Warren county. 

(IV) John, son of Paul and Catharine (Oberly) Feit, was born in Greenwich 
township, Sussex county. New Jersey, May 28, 1818, and died there, March 3, 1892. 
He spent his whole life on the homestead, living for the greater part of it in the old 
stone house; but in his later years he built himself a frame house near by and turned 
the homestead over to his son Jacob A. Feit. He is said to have been of a reserved 
disposition and to have found hij greatest pleasures in his home and family. He was 
a trustee of the St. James' Lutheran Church for over fifty years and was noted for his 
devout and practical Christian character. Among other things, he and his brother 
Daniel had the remains of all the family gathered from their original burial places 
and reinterred in St. James churchyard, in order that they might be more reverently 
cared for. Towards the end of his life Mr. Feit purchased as a home for his wife 
and daughters, the beautiful residence at 109 North Second street, Easton, Pennsyl- 
vania, in which his daughters are now living. He married Anna, daughter of Jacob 
and Elizabeth (Hubler) Baker, who was born July 12, 1815, and died March 29, 1896. 
Children: Matilda, born October i, 1845, died December 12, 1850; Jacob Alfred, born 
July 17, 1847, died April 20, 1906; Emma Catharine, born September 30, 1848, died 
February 3, 1895, married Henry D. Richards; Susan Amanda, born November 13, 
1 851; Anna Sophia, referred to below; John William, born November 11, 1857, died 
February 5, 1862. 

(V) Anna Sophia, daughter of John and Anna (Baker) Feit, was born on the 
old homestead, February 5, 1854, and is now living with her sister Susan Amanda in 
the home bought for them by her father, in Easton, Pennsylvania, whither they went 
to live, June 10, 1897, after their mother's death. From their childhood the two sisters 
were always devoted and enthusiastic workers for St. James' Lutheran Church, being 
especially interested in the Sunday school, in which they both taught classes for many 
years. Even now (October, 1909), that they have moved away and have identified 
themselves with St. Paul's Church in Easton, their interest in the old home church 
is still shown by their keeping up the financial aid they had before given to St. James'. 
They have spent much of their time traveling, and they have gathered many beautiful 
and unique souvenirs which decorate their Easton home. They are also the possessors 
of a large number of family papers of historic value, which they prize very highly. 
Among these is the deed for the original grant to their ancestor, Jean Feit. 



Jacob Bryant, the first member of this family of whom we have defi- 
BRYANT nite information, lived in Spruce Run, Hunterdon county. He was a 
farmer and a carpenter. He was a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
church, of which he was a regular attendant. A few years before his death he re- 
moved to Washington, in the cemetery of which place he and his wife are buried. 
Children: Jacob, living in Washington, New Jersey; William R., referred to below; 
Jennie, now deceased, married Victor Haimer, and bad one son, now deceased. 

(H) William R., son of Jacob Bryant, was born near Spruce Run, Hunterdon 



Warren County. 317 

county, New Jersey, May ii, 1841. In early life he lived on a farm, but learned the 
trade of carpenter. In 1868 he came to Washington, his present place of residence, 
and continued the trade of carpentry and soon began contracting, which he has steadily 
followed since. He has built about half of the buildings in Washington, including 
the new Methodist Episcopal Church, The First National Bank and the Skallerpark 
building; besides this he has done much work elsewhere, such as the Roman Catholic 
Church at Stanhope and a church at Mt. Lebanon, New Jersey. He erected his 
present dwelling at 131 West Washington avenue, arjd has built several other buildings 
for himself; he did also the greater part of the work of erecting the building of the 
Cornish Company. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church and has been 
trustee for many years. He is a Democrat but not active in politics. He is a member 
of Ute Tribe, No. 80, of the Red Men. Mr. Bryant married, January 3, 1863, Julia 
A., daughter of Richard and Margaret Farley, who was born at Califon, Hunterdon 
county, March 24, 1847. Children: i. Jacob R., referred to below. 2. Emma, born 
August 20, 1867; married Frank M. Uehlein (see Uehlein I) ; they live in Passaic and 
have three children : Irene, Frank Matthew and William Bird. 3. Allie May, died at 
the age of two years. 

(Ill) Jacob R., son of William R. and Julia A. (Farley) Bryant, was born at 
Hampton, Warren county. New Jersey, April 16, 1865. He was educated in the com- 
mon schools and the high school of Washington, in which place he has resided nearly 
all his life. He was at first a clerk in the general store of A. W. Cleveland & Com- 
pany, remaining with them seventeen years and gaining a thorough knowledge of 
mercantile business. In 1893 he went into partnership with William E. Weller in the 
clothing business; four years later he bought the interest of his partner, and since 
that time he has conducted the business for himself. He has the largest men's fur- 
nishing and clothing store in Washington, and it will stand comparison with most 
of those in the large cities; by careful personal attention he has built up a prosperous 
business. Mr. Bryant is one of the most popular men of the town, yet quite reserved 
in his manner. He is a Republican in politics and has served three years as borough 
treasurer. He is a member of Mansfield Lodge, No. 36, Free and Accepted Masons; 
Temple Chapter, No. 12; DeMolay Commandery, No. 6; Mansfield Lodge, No. 42, In- 
dependent Order of Odd Fellows; Starlight Lodge, No. 112, Knights of Pythias; and 
Warren Council, No. 16, Junior Order of United American Mechanics; all of Wash- 
ington. He is a charter member of the Athletic Club of Washington and is its vice- 
president. He is a director of the First National Bank of Washington; a stockholder 
m the Washington and Easton Traction Company, and holder of the first bond issued 
by that company in this town. He is one of the three sewer commissioners of Wash- 
ington, having charge of the bonds. Mr. Bryant is a Presbyterian, and served on the 
board of trustees of the local church for nine years. 

Mr. Bryant married, September 31, 1887, Lydia A., daughter of James and Rachel 
(Hann) Hance, who was born at Anderson, Warren county, February 18, 1866. Her 
parents are now both deceased, her father at the age of eighty-four, her mother at 
the age of sixty. Mrs. Bryant's father was at one time a farmer, but afterward re- 
moved to Washington and had a butcher business. Mr. Hance was a Democrat, and 
was at one time steward of the almshouse. He and his wife were Presbyterians. 
There were four children: Alfred; John; Mary; and Lydia A., now Mrs. Bryant. 
Child of Jacob R. and Lydia A. (Hance) Bryant: Bessie May, born May S, 189S, 
who is now attending school at Abbott Academy, Andover, Massachusetts. 



3i8 Warren County. 

Frank Matthew Uehlein, the founder of this branch of his name in 
UEHLEIN America, was born in Grosshenbach, near ' Engelberg, Bavaria, Ger- 
many, March 21, 1833, and died in Washington, Warren county, New 
Jersey, July 15, 1910. He was one of a fan>ily of three sons and one daughter. His 
two brothers Alois and Andrew Uehlein remained behind in the old country ; his sister 
. Clara accompanied her uncle to New York City several years before Frank Matthew 
Uehlein emigrated, and afterwards married Charles Decker, of Carbon county, Penn- 
sylvania. Shortly after the death of his p'arents, when he was sixteen years old, Frank 
Matthew Uehlein came to America and settled for a time in New York, City, where 
lie. engaged in the bakery business. Later he became connected with a bakery in Madi- 
son, Morris county, New Jersey ; and while there, the late P. T. B. Van Doren induced 
him to settle in Washington, where he opened a bakery in a small building on the site 
which later became the place of his residence. This was in 1863. He prospered and 
soon built up a large wholesale business which warranted him in eventually erecting 
the large brick building that has since been the home of the Uehlein bakery. Besides 
the bakery Mr. Uehlein established a plant for candy manufacturing in his section of 
New Jersey. For the last fifteen or sixteen years of his life Mr. Uehlein lived in 
retiremnt, having turned his business over to the control of his son George Rowland 
Uehlein, referred to below. He was a director of the First National Bank of Wash- 
ington for thirty years, and he was an original stockholder and director of the Wash- 
ington Water Company. He was one of the oldest Odd Fellows of the Weal Lodge, 
and a devoted member and officer of the Methodist church in Washington for many 
years. At the time of his death the following encomium, signed by the pastor of his 
church, was printed in several of the religious periodicals : 

"Many years ago Brother Uehlein was converted and joined the Methodist Epis- 
copal Church, of which he was one of the most constant and helpful members ever 
enrolled on its records. His knowledge of God's Word was deep, his views of spirit- 
ual things were clear and sane, his prayers uplifting, his talk illuminating and help- 
ful. His last illness was painful and protracted, but here, as in his active life he mag^ 
nified the grace of God. The hymn, 'Jesus, lover of my soul', was often on his lips, and 
he clung fondly and tenderly to that Name. In his wandering moments he repeated it 
over and over again in his native tongue, which he had not used for many years, and 
had apparently forgotten. "(Signed) F. L. West." 

His long, useful life came to an end at a quarter before five o'clock on a Friday 
evening after a protracted illness of ten weeks. The funeral, which was conducted 
by his pastor and the Rev. C. K. Hutchinson, of Bayonne, New Jersey, was on the 
following Monday afternoon, and was attended by all of the representative citizens 
of Washington. The official board of the Methodist church passed resolutions that 
were read at the funeral, and the floral tributes were too numerous to count. He was 
buried in Washington cemetery beside his wife, whom he survived exactly thirty-four 
years and one day. He married, March 10, i860, Lydia Ann, daughter of Edward 
and Margaret (Young) -Bird, who was born May s, 1836, and died July 14, 
1876. Her father, Edward Bird, was born April 10, 181 1, and died May 11, 1872; he 
married, March 27, 183s, Margaret Young,- who was born March 7, 1812, and died 
January 20, 1879. Children of Edward and Margaret (Young) Bird: Lydia Ann, 
referred to above; John H., born April 22, 1838; Lawrence, April 10, 1841; Emeline, 
November 22, 1843; Rebecca Jane, June 4, 1845; Margaret Frances, November 23^ 
1848. 

Children of Frank Matthew and Lydia Ann (Bird) Uehlein: i. Frank Matthew, 
born June 26, 1861; living on Main avenue, Passaic, New Jersey; married Emma 



Warren County. 319 

Bryant (see Bryant II); children; Frank Matthew; Irene; William Bird. 2. John 
Edward, born May 22, 1863 ; living in Washington, New Jersey. 3. George Rowland, 
referred to below. 4. Alois, born March 10, 1867; died March 25, 1872. 5. Jennie 
Irene, born February 20, 1869; married James DeWitt Groff; children: Margaret 
Groff, born April 6, 1896; James DeWitt Groff, April 18, 1901. 6. Robert -Millen, 
born May 8, 1872; living in Spokane, Washington. 7. Henry Augustus, born July 12, 
1876; living in Passaic, New Jersey. 

George Rowland Uehlein, son of Frank Matthew and Lydia Ann (Bird) Uehlein, 
was bom in Washington, Warren county. New Jersey, June 4, 1865, and is now living 
in that town, of which he is considered one of the most successful business men. He 
received his education in the public schools of Washington. When he was seventeen 
years of age he entered his father's bakery in order to learn the business and on his 
father's retirement from active life, in 1887, he and his brother John Edward Uehlein 
succeeded to the management. Later Mr. Uehlein bought up the interest of his 
brother in the business and since then he has been the sole owner and manager. Sev- 
eral years ago he added a most excellent wholesale and retail ice cream department to 
his plant. He is a Democrat in politics, and for the past ten years has been a member 
of the board of education of Washington. He is a member of the Washington Ath- 
letic Club; of Mansfield Lodge, No. 36, Free and Accepted Masons, of New Jersey; 
of Temple Chapter, No. 12, R. A. M. ; DeMolay Commandery, No. 6, K. T.; of 
Salpam Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, and of the Junior 
Order United American Mechanics; Modern Woodmen and Royal Arcanum. He 
married, April 22, 1890, Clara, daughter of Elisha and Martha (Lunger) Wolverton, 
who was born in Warren county. New Jersey, March 12, 1871. Child: Martha, born 
May 31, 1893. 



George Fulper, the first member of this family of whom we have defi- 
FULPER nite information, was the son of Jacob Fulper, of Hunterdon county, 

and one of a family of three sons, Jacob, Abraham and John, and two 
daughters, Mrs. Heath and Mrs. Bowman. George Fulper was born in Alexander 
township, Hunterdon county. New Jersey, about 1815, and died in Phillipsburg, War- 
ren county, about 1881. .After being educated in the public schools, he went to Green- 
wich township and took up farming, which occupied him until a few years before his 
death, when he retired. He married Rebecca Woolverton, who was born in Hunter- 
don county, and died aged about seventy-five years. Children: Joseph Ely, referred 
to below; Elizabeth, married Enos Smith; Daniel; Abraham; Ellen, married Robert 
S. Harrison,, of Indiana; Frank, living in Phillipsburg; Caroline, married a Mr. 
Brotzman, of Phillipsburg; Robert, living in Phillipsburg. 

Joseph Ely Fulper, son of George and Rebecca (Woolverton) Fulper, was born 
in Lopatcong township, Warren county. New Jersey, October 17, 1841, and is now liv- 
ing in Washington, New Jersey. He was educated in the public schools and spent his 
boyhood on his father's farm. At the age of twenty-two years, he obtained a clerk- 
ship in the office of the Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Railroad at Hampton 
Junction, but after remaining there for two years, came to Washington, in 1867, as 
agent for the railroad company, a position he held for the ensuing five years, when he 
gave it up in order to embark in the lumber business. In 1878 he was appointed post- 
master of Washington, and after holding the office for eight years, was chosen secre- 
tary of the water company of the town, a position he has held ever since. In 1907 he 
was again appointed postmaster, and is still serving. He is a Republican in politics, 
a member of Mansfield Lodge, No. 36, Free and Accepted Masons; of Temple Chapter, 
No. 12, Royal Arch Masons; DeMolay Commandery, No. 6, Knights Templar; and of 
the Mystic Shrine. He married, December 30, l86g, Sarah, daughter of John and 



320 Warren County. 

Elizabeth (Youmans)' Carter, who was born near- Washington, New Jersey, and died 
July, 1902, aged fifty-five years. Children: Catharine, died, aged twenty-one years, 
unmarried; Clara. 

John Morgan, the founder of this family, was born in Scotland about 
MORGAN 1833, and died in Slatington, Pennsylvania, in 1906. He came to 

America at about the age of sixteen. In the civil war he enlisted in 
the One Hundred and Forty-sixth Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteers, and served 
until the close of the war as a sergeant. After the war he returned home and work- 
ed for two years in the quarry, and then went ^nto the general merchandise business. 
In 1894 he sold his business to A. P. Steckel & Company and remained with them 
as bookkeeper for five years. He then engaged in the real estate business, which 
engrossed his time until his death. Mr. Morgan was an elder in the Presbyterian 
church for many years. He was a Republican in politics, and served in the town 
council for twelve years and on the school board for sixteen years. He is a Mason 
of high degree and for twenty-three years was treasurer of the lodge at Slatington; 
he was also a member of the commandery at Allentown, Pennsylvania. He married 
Effie J. Long, a native of Easton, Pennsylvania. Children: Andrew, deceased; 
Susan, married William Rupert, now deceased; George, deceased; Jennie; Dr. Lem- 
uel J. Morgan, married Delia Cowell, has two children, Rupert and Louis, and lives 
at East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania; J. Arthur, of Louisville, Kentucky, married 
Lotti'e Semmel; Oliver Preston, referred to below. 

Oliver Pres'ton Morgan, son of John and Eiifie J. (Long) Morgan, was born in 
Slatington, Pennsylvania, July 11, 1884. He was educated in the public schools and 
graduated from the Slatington high school in June, 1900. He then entered the office 
of his brother. Dr. Lemuel J. Morgan, at East Stroudsburg. In the fall of 1901, he 
entered the Pennsylvania College of Dental Surgery at Philadelphia, from which he 
graduated in 1904, with the degree of D. D. S. After practicing a short time with 
his brother he took a post-graduate course at the University of Pennsylvania, which 
he finished in 1906. In October, 1907, he came to Washington, and has practiced 
there ever since. His first office was in the Groff building, and his present offices 
are in the Shields building. Dr. Morgan stands high, both in his profession and 
socially. He is a Republican in politics; a member of Mansfield Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons, No. 36, of Washington; and of the Washington Athletic Associa- 
tion. He married, February 23, 1907, Mary M., daughter of Solomon and Emma 
(Kramer) Snyder, who was born in Aquashicola, Carbon county, Pennsylvania. 
Mrs. Morgan is a graduate of Slatington high school, class of 1903, and of the West 
Chester State Normal School, class of 1906. She taught for two years in the Slating- 
ton high school. 

James Dalrymple, the first member of this family of whom we 
DALRYMPLE have definite information, was the son of James and Elizabeth 
Dalrymple, of Hunterdon county. New Jersey. 'He learned the 
trade of blacksmith and lived for many years at Montana, New Jersey. After this 
he started farming, and after spending ten years at New Village in this employment, 
purchased a farm of forty-eight acres which he cultivated for a number of years, and 
then turned over to his son, John M. Dalrymple. He was a Republican in politics, 
a Methodist in religion, and a member of the Order of American "Mechanics. He 
married Eleanor De Remer. Children: i. Emeline, married Jacob Stecker; one 
child: Elizabeth. 2. John M., referred to below. 3. Henry. 4. George B., of Asbury, 
New Jersey. 5. Benjamin K. 6. Caleb. 7. Amos, of Easton, Pennsylvania. 8. 
Harriet, married John Anderson, of Phillipsburg. 

(II) John M., son of James and Eleanor (De Remer) Dalrymple, was born in 



Warren County. 321 

Harmony, Warren county, New Jersey, November 12, 1842, and is now living in 
Broadway. He was sent to the public schools of Montana for his early education, 
and when twelve years of age, started out to make his own way in the world. His 
first position was on the farm of Ralph D. Rush, where his wages were four dollars 
a month. At the end of eight months he found a better place with William Shipman, 
with whom he remained four years and after this worked, first for Joseph Person, 
then for Rev. Oliver Badgley. During the civil war he enlisted, September 3, 1862, 
in Company I, Thirty-first Regiment, New Jersey Volunteers, serving till the battle 
of Fredericksburg under Captaifi James and after that under Captain Drake. He 
was present, among the reserves, at the battle of Fredericksburg, and after nine 
months service was honorably discharged, June 24, 1863, and returned home. After 
a short stay at home, he went to Giesborough Point, where he found employment 
till the close of the war, spent three years in the huckleberry business, then pur- 
chased several teams of mules and did hauling for four years, after which he sold out 
and went to Montana, New Jersey, where he began dealing in calves and Iambs. 
This business he gave up iri order to come to Broadway, rented a farm, which he 
managed for the next six years, then purchased his father's forty-eight acre farm, 
and remained there from 1880 to 1907, when he embarked in his present general 
merchandise business in Broadway. He is a Methodist in religion and a Republican 
in politics, and has served on several election boards, for five years as executive com- 
mittee member. He married, December 25, 1867, Arabella, daughter of John and 
Naomi (Carter) Holden. Child: Luella, referred to below. 

(Ill) Luella, daughter of John M. and Arabella (Holden) Dalrymple, was born 
in Broadway, Warren county. New Jersey, in 1868. She married Theodore A. Bo- 
dine. Child: John Roy Bodine, born April 16, 1888; married, June 22, 1910, Flor- 
ence C, daughter of Frank and Minnie (Smith) Richey. He graduated from the 
Stewartsville high school in 1904, and after taking a course in Jones' Business Col- 
lege, Easton, Pennsylvania, entered his grandfather's store as clerk. 



Elijah Burd, the founder of this family, was born about 1730, and died in 
BURD . 1822. He came from Scotland about 1770, and settled on Scott's Moun- 
tain, Warren county. New Jersey. It is said that he knew' a large portion 
of the Bible by heart and that he had many fights with the Indians. By occupation 
he was a farmer and a maker of baskets. He was probably a brother of Henry and 
Reuben Burd, who both died intestate in Hunterdon county, in 1815. 

(II) Elisha, son of Elijah Burd, was born on Scott's Mountain, the dates of his 
birth and death are not known. His occupation was that of a farmer; he was a 
Methodist in religion, and a Democrat in politics. He married, about 1820, Mary 
Snyder, of Scott's Mountain. Children: William; Elisha; John I., born in 1823, died 
March 15, 1889, married, October 24, 1846, Jemima Beers, their daughter, Sarah C. 
Burd, married Samuel Forrest Shillinger; Peter; Sarah; Amanda; Mary Ann; Jacob 
J., referred to below; Catharine; Hannah. 

(III) Jacob J., son of Elisha and Mary (Snyder) Burd, was born in Scott's 
Mountain, May 23, 1836. He was a Methodist. During the civil war, he was a 
member of the home guard. He was a Democrat in politics and his occupation was 
that of a farmer. He married (first) at Broadway, New Jersey, in 1857, Mary, daugh- 
ter of Enoch and (Snyder) Slack, who was Dorn on Scott's Mountain, about 

1838, and died February 2, 1858. Her father was of Dutch, her mother of French 
descent. The Rev. Mr. Campfield officiated at the wedding. Mr. Burd is buried in 
Summerfield churchyard. He married (second), 1864, Willempje Cunningham, of 
Scranton, Pennsylvania. Children, all except the first, by second wife: William, re- 
ferred to below; Sarah C; Marshall F.; Arvilla; Finley J.; Ida May; Luella; Lillie. 

(IV) William, son of Jacob J. and Mary (Slack) Burd, was born in Scott's 



322 Warren County. 

Mountain, New Jersey, January 27, 1858. He was educated in the public schools and 
at Blair Academy, Blairstown, Warren county, New Jersey. The first twenty-three 
years of. his life were passed on his father's farm; and twenty-eight years ago he 
went to Washington and purchased his present home, at 116 Broad street, which he 
has since remodeled. For twenty years of his residence in Washington, he was 
bookkeeper for an organ manufacturer. In 1901, he entered into the insurance and 
real estate business, which he has since followed very successfully and now represents 
all the leading insurance companies.% He is a Democrat in politics, and has always 
taken an active interest in the afifairs of the town. For over eight years, he has been 
serving as tax collector and his present term will expire in 1912. He is also treas- 
urer of the borough, custodian of the school funds, and treasurer of the soldiers' and 
sailors' monument fund. He is an exempt fireman. Mr. Burd is a member of Mans- 
field Lodge, No. 42, Independent Order Odd Fellows, and of Liberty Council, No. 
IS, of the Senior Order United American Mechanics, and has he'd office in each of 
these orders. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church of Washington, 
and for fifteen years has been its steward, and he is the treasurer of the Sunday 
school. Besides his residence he owns a dwelling house at 159 South Lincoln avenue, 
and has other real estate interests. He married, at Hackettstown, New Jersey, 
September 7, 1882, Malvina, daughter of George and Rebecca (Pittinger) Bailey, who 
was born near Bridgeville, Warren county. New Jersey, September s, i860. Her 
father was a farmer. She is one of six children, as follows: Mary; Jennie; Mal- 
vina; Joseph; Bertha; John. Child of William and Malvina (Bailey) Burd: How- 
ard J., born January 29, 1884, married Cora Weller. He was educated in the public 
schools; is a wood polisher, and has one child, Charles. 



George Frost, the first member of this family of whom we have definite 
FROST information, and who may well have been the emigrant, lived at Winter 

Harbor, Saco, Maine. His name appears in 1635 as appraised of an 
estate and in 1640 as serving on the grand jury. Goody Frost, ' probably his wife, 
was a pewholder at Winter Harbor in 1666. Children: Rebecca, died in 1668, mar- 
ried Simon Booth; John, married Rose ; William, referred to below. 

(II) William, son of George Frost, died early in l6go, being killed by the In- 
. dians. In 1675 to 1679 he was, on account of Indian dangers in Maine, living in 

Salem, Massachusetts. He afterward returned to Maine and lived at Wells. He 
married Mary, daughter of John and Elizabeth (Littlefield) Wakefield. Children: 

William, died September 23, 1721, married (first) Rachel , and (second), April 

5, 1706, Elizabeth Searle; Nathaniel, captured by the Indians in the same raid in 
which they killed his father; Elizabeth, married, November 8, 1698, Daniel Dill; 
May, born May 31, 1677; Abigail, married, January 14, 1702-03, Samuel Upton; James, 
referred to below. 

(III) James, son of William and Mary (Wakefield) Frost, died about 1748. He 
was a planter, a mill, owner and a member of the Congregational church in South 
Berwick, Maine. He married (first), July i, i6g6, Hannah Woodin, and (second), 
May IS, 1707, Margaret, daughter of William and Deliverance (Taylor) Goodwin. 
Children, all by second marriage: James, born November s, 1707, married Sarah 
Nason; William, referred to below; Nathaniel, born August 14, 1713, married Eliz- 
abeth ; John, baptized October 22, 1716; Stephen, baptized April 12, 1719, 

married Lucy ; Mary, baptized September 29, 1723, married Charles Gerrich; 

Jeremiah, baptized December 24, 172S, married Miriam Harding; Jane, baptized May 
10, 1728, married, March 10, 1747, Caleb Emery; Margaret, baptized July 13, 1730, 
married, June 18, 1752, William Haskell. 

(IV) William (2), son of James and Margaret (Goodwin) Frost, was born Feb- 
ruary IS, 1710- He married Love, daughter of Thomas and Elizabeth (Abbot) But- 





^OAyUU^^.. X'Z ^ C 



Warren County. 323 

ler. Children: William, baptized May 30, 1733; Elizabeth, baptized September 29, 
1734; Moses, referred to below; James, baptized May 6, 1739, died July 22, 1798, mar- 
ried (first), September 24, 1767, Love Wingate, and (second), January, 1778, Eleanor 
Chapman (widow); Love, baptized April 5, 1741, married, December 30, 1766, Bryant 
Morton; Thomas, born July 17, 1744, died May, 1775, married Margaret Warren; 
Eliot, born March 30, 1747, died January 3, 1840, married, July 28, 1774, Sarah Bag- 
ley; Ichabod, baptized Jfuly 14, 1751, married (first) Susanna , and (second) 

Mary ; Abraham, baptized October i, 1753, died in 1836, married, September 

30, 1786, Anna Shorey;' Isaac, married, January 12, 1779, Abigail Clark; Phineas, 
married Margaret Gerrish. 

(V) Moses, son of William (2) and Love (Butler) Frost, was baptized March 

27. 1736-37- He married Sarah . Among their children were the following: 

Moses; William; Nathaniel, married Olive Bartlett; Benjamin; Aaron, born in 1779, 
died October 19, i860, married Susan (Gray) Bennett; Nehemiah; Lydia; Dorainicus, 
referred to below; Betsey; Thomas, married (first) Abigail York, and (second) 
Nancy (Foster) Jackson. 

(VI) Dominicus, son of Moses and Sarah Frost, married Dorcas Abbott, of An- 
dover, Massachusetts. Children: Enoch, married Louisa Long; George; Oliver P., 
referred to below; Joseph, married (first) Mary Carver, and (second) Florentine 
Rose; William, married Sybil Bartlett; Nathan; Sally, married Eliphaz C. Kilgore; 
Dolly, married Erastus Poor; Almira, married John Kilgore; Hannah, married 
Emery Merrill; Harriet G., married Benjamin W. Stevens. 

(VII) Oliver P., son of Dominicus and Dorcas (Abbott) Frost, died in 1863. 
He was a farmer and a blacksmith. He married Esther May, daughter of John and 
Sally (Mourton) Jennings, who died about 1842. Children: Orintha, born June, 
1826, died September 11, 1899, married D. Jennings; Oliver P., born December, 
1827; Deborah, born October 30, 1829, married W. W. Wilson; Bartlett C, referred 
to below. Esther A., born January 8, 1835, married, January 26, 1862, Jeremiah 
Buxton; Evander D., born November, 1836, died November, 1846; Harriet S. 

(VIII) Bartlett C, son of Oliver P. and Esther May (Jennings) Frost, was 
born in. Leeds, Androscoggin county, Maine, March 31, 1832. He attended the 
public schools and for three years the Wesleyan Seminary of Maine. In 1852 he 
taught school; and two years later in the fall he came to New Jersey and taught 
for one winter in Clarksville, Hunterdon county; then for a year in Springtown; 
meanwhile he was privately studying law. He went foi" two years as a pupil to the 
Albany Law School, after which he taught another year at the "Forge," Warren 
county. In 1859 he was admitted to the bar. He came to PhilHpsburg in i860, and 
was admitted, 1864, as counselor at law. He is one of the leading lawyers and is 
the oldest practitioner in Phillipsburg. He has served as corporation attorney of 
PhilHpsburg for two years and as attorney for Lopatcong township for five years. 
Mr. Frost has been a power in the promotion of every enterprise started in Phillips- 
burg for many years. In 1865 he became connected with the Phillipsburg Mutual 
Building and Loan Association, and in 1867 with the Building and Loan Association 
of Phillipsburg. These as'sociations were very useful in the upbuilding and growth 
of the town; he was the secretary of each until it was matured and wound up; when 
their affairs were closed, everything was in good order, and the enterprises had been 
conducted in a manner altogether satisfactory. Mr. Frost has been a director of 
the People's Water Company since its organization, 1886. These are but a few of 
the industries in which he has been concerned. He cast his first presidential vote 
for John C. Fremont, and with the single exception of a vote for Greeley, has steadily 
supported the nominees of the Republican party. Yet he has five times, in 1896-97- 
98, igoo-oi, been elected mayor of the Democratic stronghold of Phillipsburg. He 



324 Warren County. 

belongs to Delaware Lodge, No. 52, Free and Accepted Masons, Eagle Chapter, No. 
30, Royal Arch Masons; and DeMolay Commandery, No. 6, Knights Templar, of 
Washington, New Jersey. Mr. Frost married in Easton, PemT^ylvania, March 17, 
1874, Mary L., daughter of Jacob B. Balliet. Children: Bartlett C. Jr., now de- 
ceased; Evander; Orville, now deceased; Margery. 



George W. Griffin, the first member of this family of whom we have 
GRIFFIN definite information, was born near Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, in 

1828. The bearers of this name, though not numerous, are found to- 
day in many states. He is probably descended from Samuel Griffin, who died in New- 
castle county, Delaware, in December, 1729. In early life Mr. Griffin was a cabinet- 
maker and followed this trade a number of years. Shortly before the civil war he 
moved from Mauch Chunk, Pennsylvania, where he had been living, to Easton and 
there engaged in the business of contracting and building, which he followed after 
the war until about ten years ago, when he retired. He enlisted in the civil war as 
a private in Company H, Sixty-seventh Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteers, served 
for four years and was promoted to the rank of captain; and was at one time con- 
fined in Libby prison. He is a member of the Second Street Methodist Church of 
Easton, and is a Republican in politics. He married Henrietta, daughter, of Simon 
Frantz, whose mother's maiden name was Hawk. Children: Clarence Elmer, re- 
ferred to below; Jennie H., resides at her father's home and is a teacher in the' public 
schools of Easton. 

Clarence Elmer, son of George W. and Henrietta (Frantz) Griffin, was born in 
Mauch Chunk, October 6, 1859. He was educated in the public schools and grad- 
uated in 1877 from the high school at Easton. In the fall of the same year he enter- 
ed Lafayette College, from which he graduated in 1881, and then took a post-grad- 
uate course. After this he taught school at Bloomsbury for a while and then became 
principal of the Leighton school for one year, when he was made principal of the 
Phillipsburg high school. Giving up teaching, he studied pharmacy under Mr. W. G. 
Sutphin, at Hackettstown, New Jersey, remaining with him four years. In Febru- 
ary, 1891, he passed an examination before the state board of pharmacy, and in the 
same year purchased the drug business from the estate of Philip S. Brackley. From 
that time he has conducted the drug store at 29 Union square, Phillipsburg, where 
he is one of the most prominent and respected citizens. Mr. Griffin is a director in 
the Building, and Loan Association No. 5, and in the Atlantic City Heights Realty 
Company. He is a member of Delaware Lodge, No. 52, Free and Accepted Masons; 
of Eagle Chapter, R. A. M.; of DeMolay Commandery, I^. T.; of the Tall Cedars of 
Lebanon, of Phillipsburg; of the Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite, Trenton, New Jersey, 
of Solomon Temple; of Excelsior Council, Junior Order of United American Me- 
chanics, of Easton; of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, of Phillipsburg; 
and of the Montana Lodge, Knights of Pythias, of Phillipsburg. He is a Republican 
and takes an active part in politics. Mr. Griffin married, February 26, 1885, Ella F., 
daughter of William and Ann M. (Sutphin) Schlabach, who was born at Hacketts- 
town, May II, 1858. Mrs. Griffin is a graduate of the Phillipsburg high school and 
taught for several years in the public schools of Phillipsburg. A member of the 
Westminster Presbyterian Church, she has always taken an active part in both 
church and Sunday school work. Children: Wilbur Sutphin, born in January, 1886, 
married Nettie, daughter of M. H. Tinsman, and resides at Salt Lake City, Utah; 
Harold C, born May 4, 1895, now attending the Nazareth Hall Military School. 



Warren County. 325 

The inventive genius of the Drake family has been centered in a con- 
DRAKE trivance for burning fine anthracite coal and preserving an even tem- 
perature from morning till night without especial care or attention. It 
is a new device on a new principle that self-adjusts and keeps up that even tempera- 
ture for steam and hot water heating, being the only boiler that will consume buck- 
wheat coal successfully. The invention is rightly called "The Torrid Fine Coal 
Burner" and was perfected by William H. Drake, a manufacturer, of Hackettstown, 
New Jersey, who discovered the principle upon which it is built. The boiler is manu- 
factured in Hackettstown, New Jersey, with offices in Newark, New Jersey, for its 
sale and distribution over the country, which has become extensive. 

William H. Drake, the inventor of "The Torrid Fine Coal Burner," is a native 
of Warren county, New Jersey, and was born near Townsbury, May 2, 1852. He is 
the son of William and Rachel Morgan (Axford) Drake, who were united in mar- 
riage, January 17, 1839. Their children were: Henrietta Axford, born September 28, 
1839; Adaline, December 31, 1840; Daniel Axford, December 20, 1842; Albert Liv- 
ingston, May 3, 1844; Margaret Morgan, August 17, 1847; Catharine, April 27, 1849; 
Wilham H., May 2, 1852; and Richard Van Horn Drake, March 30, 1857. 

William Drake was a farmer, and a member of the Presbyterian Church. He 
was the son-in-law of Daniel Axford, born July 19, 1794, and Margaret (Morgan) 
Axford, born September 20, 1797. The marriage of this couple took place January 
II, 1817. Their children were: Rachel M., Margaret L. and Nancy. 

William H. Drake was married, October 31, 1876, to Addie Ayers, of Hacketts- 
town, New Jersey. She was the daughter and only child of John and Margaret 
(Hance) Ayers, and was born October 12, 1859. Their son, also an only child, is 
John Ayers Drake, the well-known salesman of "The Torrid Fine Coal Burner." 
He was born May 25, 1878. His wife's name was Mary F. Sandford. 



Adam Cook, of Mannington township, Salem county. New Jersey, is the 

COOK first member of this family of whom we have definite information. He 

was a yeoman or gentleman farmer, and died between April 18, 1795, and 

April 20, 1796, the dates of the execution and proving of his will. In this, besides his 

grandchildren, Mary and Sarah Seagrave, he names his sons William, Adam, Aaron, 

James, Moses, and Benjamin. 

(II) James, son of Adam Cook, was born in Mannington township and died 
there between March i, and May 10, 1796. In his will he names his wife, Margaret, 
and mentions, but does not name his children, some of whom he says are minors 
and to be under the guardianship of their mother, or in event of her death of their 
uncle, Adam. 

(III) James (2), son of James (i) and Margaret Cook, was born in Manning- 
ton township, Salem county. New Jersey. He was a blacksmith by trade and re- 
moved to Warren county. New Jersey, where he died a comparatively young man. 
He married Catharine Case, a descendant of Johann Philip Kaese, who settled in 
Flemington, Hunterdon county, New Jersey, in 1730. Children: Sylvanus, referred 
to below; Moses; Philip; Elizabeth, married Lawrence L. Metzler; Stephen. 

(IV) Sylvanus, son of James (2) and Catharine (Case) Cook, was born in 
Sussex (now Warren) county. New Jersey, about 1810, and died there in 1894, aged 
eighty-four years. He is buried at Asbury, New Jersey. He received his education 
in the common schools and learned the trade of carpenter. He is said to have been 
a man of very kind disposition, and very devoted to his home and his family. He 
was a Democrat in politics, and a Methodist in religion. He married (first) Joanna, 
daughter of Samuel and Dorothea (Hulshizer) Riddle, and (second) Mary Young. 
Children, four by first marriage: William, died in childhood; James, died in child- 
hood; Margaret, born in 1840, died in 1868, unmarried; Philip Case, referred tp 



3^6 Warren County. 

below; Catharine, died in infancy; Matilda; Stephen, living in Kansas City, Mis- 
souri; George B., living in Broadway, Warren county. New Jersey. 

(V) Philip Case, son of Sylvinus and Joanna (Riddle) Cook, was born at New 
Village, Warren (then Sussex) county. New Jersey, October 4, 1843, and is now 
living in Broadway, Warren county. New Jersey. After receiving his education in 
the school at New Village, he was apprenticed to a blacksmith at the age of twenty- 
one. Fourteen years later, he went to Bath, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, 
where he took up farming for a short ttme, but returned to his blacksmith trade, and 
after running a shop for a year in Broadway, he removed to Stewartsville, where he 
plied his trade for two years more. His health, however, broke duwn and he return- 
ed to Broadway, and made his home there, entering the employ of the Delaware, 
Lackawanna and Western railroad, where he remained for eleven years. He is 
a Democrat in politics, and has taken quite an active part in local afifairs. He has 
served at various times in the election boards, has been assessor of the township for 
over ten years, and at present (1910) is serving his sixth year as township clerk, 
and his twenty-sixth year as justice of the peace. He enlisted as private in the 
Eighth Regiment, New Jersey Volunteer Infantry, during the civil war, October 2, 
1862. He was mustered in the following October 20, and received his honorable dis- 
charge July 30, 1865. Most of his time was spent in active service and he was pres- 
ent at the battles of Spottsylvania, Chancellorsville, Fredericksburg, Gettysburg, 
and many other engagements. He was wounded several times, once quite seriously, 
at. the battle of Spottsylvania. At Chancellorsville, he was taken prisoner but was 
discharged six weeks later and returned to his regiment, in which he was the youngest 
man, and was popularly known as "the boy soldier." At Chancellorsville also, when 
the color sergeant of the regiment was killed, Mr. Cook picked up the colors and car- 
ried them for the greater part of the day. He has been a member of Mansfield 
Lodge, No. 36, Free and Accepted Masons, of New Jersey, for over thirty years, and 
for over twenty years he has been a trustee of the Methodist church. He married, 
December 4, 1869, Mary E., daughter of Andrew and Sarah Ann (Kniper) Crutz, of 
Harmony township, Warren county, New Jersey, who was born there, February 2, 
1848. Her father was born February 4, 1820, and died in 1866, and her mother was 
born Febfuary 12, 1829, and died December 4, 1904. Her brothers and sisters are : 
William Crutz, of Philadelphia; Hannah Crutz, of Northampton county, Pennsyl- 
vania; Jessie Crutz, of Red Rock, Oklahoma; and Reuben Crutz, of Broadway, New 
Jersey. Child of Philip Case and Mary E. (Crutz) Cook: George L. Cook, born 
July 23, 1900. 



Conrad Major, the first member of this family, of whom we have definite 
MAJOR information, died about 1850, aged about forty-five years. He was a 

farmer in Montana, New Jersey, having a farm of about one hundred 
acres. He and his wife were members of the Summerfield Methodist Episcopal 
Church, and are buried in the churchyard. He married Elizabeth Miller, who lived 
to the age of about eighty-five. Children : James D., referred to below ; Emma, mar- 
ried Stanford Silverthorn, settled at Rochester, Michigan, where they are farmers. 

(H) James D., son of Conrad and Elizabeth (Miller) Major, was born at Mon- 
tana, New Jersey, February 29, 1845, and died in December, 1890. When he was 
eighteen years old he began teaching and he taught school at Spruce Run, Brass 
Castle, Cornish, Bowers, and Port Colden, which was his last position. His home 
most of his life, was at Cornish, near Oxford, New Jersey. He was one of the 
officials of the Summerfield Methodist Episcopal Church, and took a genuine interest 
in its affairs. A headstone marks his resting place in the churchyard. He was a 
Democrat in politics. He married Louisa, daughter of John and Sophia Biglow, who 



Warren County. 327 

was born in Germany, November 13, 1845. Her parents came to America, when she 
was about three years old and settled at Cornish. Mr. Biglow followed the trade of 
tailor all his life. He died at the age of about eighty years, and his wife at about 
eighty-three. They had three children, Frederick, Christiana and Louisa, Children 
of James D. and Louisa (Biglow) Major: Floyd, referred to below; Clara, died at 
the age of three years; Raymond, married Phebe Mayer, and resides in Washington, 
where Mr. Major has been for some years chief engineer of the electric light plant; 
Delbert, married Ida Burd, and has children, Verna and Raymond, now residing at 
Washington, where Mr. Major is with his brother in the hardware store; Agnes May, 
married in 1910, Walter Pittinger, of Oxford, and resides at Cornish. Mrs. Pittenger 
is a graduate of Oxford high school and has taught for four years in school number 
3, at Oxford and the Bowers school. 

(Ill) Floyd, son of James D. and Louisa (Biglow) Major, was born in Ro- 
chester, Michigan, June 24, 1873. He was but fifteen months old when his parents 
returned to their former home at Oxford, New Jersey. His boyhood days were 
spent on the farm and he attended the public schools at Brass Castle, Bowers and 
Port Colden. Then he became a clerk in the hardware store of James Johnson, at 
Washington, and after twelve years, having acquired a general knowledge of the 
hardware business he was made manager, April i, 1905. He started in the hardware 
business for himself with a new and complete line of goods, in the Weller building, 
and in November, 1909, he moved to his present store at 22 East Washington avenue, 
formerly occupied by A. W. Creveling. In February, 191 1, Mr. Major purchased the 
A. W. Creveling building in which his business is located. This building is the largest 
business block in Washington, two hundred and fifty by thirty-five, and comprises 
three stories, all of which are occupied by Mr. Major in his business. Mr. Major has 
one of the largest and best stocked hardware stores in northern New Jersey; he 
carries a $15,000 stock, and his goods are new, of the highest quality, and up-to-date 
in every respect. Besides hardware, he carries a full line of farming implements, 
cement, plaster, fencing of all kinds, as well as harness supplies. Mr. Major is a 
stockholder and director of the Washington Gas Company; a member of Mansfield 
Lodge, No. 42, Independent Order, Odd Fellows, and of the Senior Order of United 
American Mechanics, Liberty Council, No. 15. He is a member of the Presbyterian 
church of Washington. He married, at Washington, June 23, 1897, Alice, daughter 
of George and Ellen (Beers) Garson. Child: Ila S., born in Washington, November 
28, 1898. 



Edwin M. Hayward, the first member of this family of whom we 
HAYWARD have definite information, was born in Middletown, New York, but 

has now lived over thirty years in Hackettstown, during which time 
he has been engaged in the manufacture of carriages and road wagons. He has built 
up a good business, having at times employed as many as thirty-five m^n. He and 
his family are members of the Methodist Episcopal church, and he is a well-respected 
man. He is a Republican in politics. He married Ella M. Batson. Children : Mar- 
vin D., married Florence Van Atta, and had children, Ruth, Clifford and Helen; 
Frank W., married Mabel Cole ; Lewis B., married Mary Norgarrd, had one daughter, 
Mabel; Theodore Kenny, referred to below; Edna, married Thomas Thunsted, had 
one daughter, Nora; Leila. 

Thjodore Kenny, son of Edwin M. and Ella M. (Batson) Hayward, was born 
at Hackettstown, September 19, 1880. He graduated from the Hackettstown high 
school in the class of 1898 and from the Collegiate and Commercial Institute in 1902. 
After that he studied three years in the University of Pennsylvania, and then took up 
his profession of dentistry, having received the degree of D. D. S. He passed one 



328 Warren County. 

year in the dental parlors of Dr. T. S. Dunning, at Paterson, New Jersey; and in 
1907 he came to Washington, taking the practice of Dr. F. B. Farrow. In 1909 he 
purchased his present residence at No. 15 Broad street, Washington, which he has 
remodeled and in which he has fitted one of the best dental offices in Northern New 
Jersey, and has a large practice. Dr. Hayward is a member of the New Jersey State 
Dental Society and of the Tri-County Dental Society. He is a Republican in politics; 
and a Presbyterian in religion. Dr. Hayward married, October 15, 1907, Elizabeth, 
daughter of Dr. W. H. and Mary (Church) Doty, who was born in Paterson, New 
Jersey. She is a graduate of the Paterson high school. Dr. Doty is a veteran of the 
civil war. He is one of the leading veterinary surgeons of the state and has practiced 
his profession in Paterson for many years. Mrs. Hayward is one of seven children, 
the others being: Emma, married Samuel Thurston; Martha, married Frank Manson; 
Sarah; Mae, married W. S. Giles; Edith, married W. W. Cole; and William. 



George Boyer, who was born in Durham, Pennsylvania, September 26, 
BOYER 1776, and died in Warren county. New Jersey, is the first member of this 
family of whom we have definite information. He was the son of Michael 
Boyer, who emigrated from Germany to Pennsylvania, settled in Durham, and died 
there. Immediately after his marriage George Boyer removed to Warren county and 
settled on two hundred acres in the township of Lopatcong, which he had purchased 
from John Welsh, or his heirs. Here he spent the remainder of his life. He married 
March I, 1800, Anna Maclin, who was born December 23, 1779, and died April 6, 1865. 
Children : Michael, referred to below ; David W. ; Catharine, married Charles Shimer. 

(II) Michael, son of George and Anna (Maclin) Boyer, was born in Lopatcong 
township, Warren county. New Jersey, March 26, 1804, and died in Belvidere, in the 
same county, September 10, 1869. He lived in the homestead with his father until 
1840, when he purchased one hundred and fifty acres for himself in Oxford township, 
on which he made his home for some years, when he removed to Uniontown, thence, 
April I, 1869, to Belvidere, where he died September following. He was a member 

' of the Presbyterian church, and had served as elder in the Oxford church. He was a 
Democrat in politics and served for several years on the township committee. He 
married Naomi, born October I, 1802, and died March 14, 1883, in Belvidere, daughter 
of John and Mary Howell, of Phillipsburg. Children: John H., referred to below; 
Thomas, married Elizabeth Titman; Mary, died aged nineteen years; George, married 
Ellen Anderson; Savilla, born July 19, 1836, married (first), John W. Cline, referred 
to elsewhere; Ann C, married John M. Anderson; Emeline, married Joseph Iliff. 

(III) John Howell, son of Michael and Naomi (Howell) Boyer, was born in 
Lopatcong township, Warren county. New Jersey, January 21, 1827, and died August 
27, 1876. He purchased the homestead in Lopatcong township which his grandfather 
had purchased in 1800, and here he remained until he removed to Stewartsville, where 
he died. He married, February 18, 1847, Sarah Hunt, daughter of John and Ruth 
(Hunt) Cline, who was born February 24, 1825, and died July lo, 1906. Her parents 
are referred to elsewhere. Children : i. Child, died in infancy. 2. John Cline, re- 
ferred to below. 3. Anna E., married Caleb Cline, who died June 22, 1899. She has 
now been living in Stewartsville since April i, 1875. 

(IV) John Cline, son of John Howell and Sarah Hunt (Cline) Boyer, was born 
on the old homestead in Lopatcong township, Warren county. New Jersey, August 
3, 1850, and is now living in Stewartsville. He remained on the farm near Stewarts- 
ville until 1888, when he built his present fine residence in Stewartsville. He has pur- 
chased several large tracts of real estate, one of them being the old Kline-Rosebury 
farm of one hundred and eight acres. He is interested in the Warren Foundry Com- 
pany of Phillipsburg, and in the Thomas Iron Company of Hokendauqua, Lehigh 




/.^^. 



Warren County. 329 

county, Pennsylvania. He is also a stockholder of the Phillipsburg National Bank, 
the First National Bank of Washington, Warren county. New Jersey, the Pennsyl- 
vania Railroad, and the Lehigh Valley Railroad. He is a member of the Bethlehem 
Lodge, No. 140, Free and Accepted Masons, of Bloomsbury, New Jersey, of Warren 
Lodge, No. S3, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and is past master of Lodge No. 
128 of the Junior Order of American Mechanics. He is a member of Stewartsville 
Grange, No. 121, has served as president, and at present is secretary of that body. He 
has been trustee and treasurer of the Presbyterian Church at Stewartsville for over 
thirty-three years and one of its most liberal supporters. In politics he is an inde- 
pendent Republican. He married (first), November 10, 1875, Sarah Ann, daughter 
of John and Catharine (Lake) Fritts, who was born November 29, 1843, and died 
August 19, 1909, and (second), January 22, 1907, Jennie H., daughter of Azariah and 
Anna (Fair) Frey. No children by either marriage. 



Thomas Carhart, the founder of the family of his name in New 
CARHART Jersey, was the son of Anthony Carhart, of Cornwall, England, 

where he was bom about 1650. He died in Woodbridge, New Jersey, 
between March 16 and 26, 1696, the dates of the execution and proving of his will. 
He arrived in New York City from England, August 25, 1683, coming over to this 
country as the private secretary of William Dongan, the English governor-general of 
the provinces of New York and the Jerseys. About the time of his marriage he re- 
moved to Staten Island, New York, where he lived until within a year of his death, 
when he settled in Woodbridge, Middlesex county, New Jersey. He married, in No- 
vember, 1691, Mary, daughter of Robert and Rebecca (Phillips) Lord, who was born 
in Cambridge, Massachusetts, July 13, 1668. Her maternal grandfather was Major 
William Phillips, of Saco, Maine, and Boston, Massachusetts. She married (second) 
after her first husband's death, and probably as his second wife, Thomas Warne, of 
Perth Amboy, who apparently survived her and died May 15, 1722. Children of 
Thomas and Mary (Lord) Carhart: i. John, born about 1692; married, October 23, 

1716, Annie ; removed to Rye, Westchester county. New York, where some of 

his descendants still live. 2.' Robert, referred to below. 3. William, born about 1695 ; 

married Phebe ; removed with his brother, Robert, to Monmouth county. New 

Jersey, where he died and left descendants. 

(II) Robert, son of Thomas and Mary (Lord) Carhart, was born on Staten 
Island, New York, about 1693 or 1694, and died February 12, 1745, at Matawan, 

Monmouth county. New Jersey. He married Mary Catharine , who was bom 

about 1696, and died August 10, 1737, aged forty-one years. Children : Mary, born 
July 24, 1726; Anne, born August 10, 1727; Cornelius, referred to below; Lydia, born 
August 30, 1732; Samuel, born June 22, 1737, died December 26, 1809, married Eliza- 
beth , and has to-day many descendants in Monmouth county and elsewhere. 

(III) Cornelius, son of Robert and Mary Catharine Carhart, was born in Mata- 
wan, Monmouth county. New Jersey, September 6, 1729, and died in what is now 
Warren county, New Jersey, June 3, 1810. He is buried in Mansfield cemetery, near 
Washington, New Jersey. In 1753 he purchased eighty acres of land in what is now 
a part of the town of Washington, Warren county. New Jersey, which remained in 
the possession of his descendants until 1880. He served during the revolutionary war 
in the Third Hunterdon County Regiment, being captain in 1778 and promoted major 
in 1781. He married, in 1754, Willemptje Coleman. Children: Mary, born in Janu- 
ary, 1756, married Robert McShane, of Perryville; Sarah, bom in February, 1758, 
married John Dusenberry, of Sussex county. New Jersey; Robert, referred to below; 
Charles, born January 3, 1763, died in Virginia, married Mary E., daughter of Jacob 
Dunham; Cornelius, born October S, 1765, died December 6, 1818, married Sarah, 



330 Warren County. 

daughter of Jacob Dunham; Lydia, born October 28, 1769, married James Bowlby, 
and removed to Virginia; Willemptje, born April 15, 1771, married Benjamin Lacy, 
of Washington, Warren county. New Jersey; Phebe, born in February, 1774, married 
John Coleman, of Sussex county. New Jersey; Samuel, born January 28, 1777, died 
April 24, 1852, married (first) Annie , and (second) . 

(IV) Robert, son of Cornelius and Willemptje (Coleman) Carhart, was born in 
Mansfield township, Sussex (now Wajfen county), New Jersey, August 17, 1760, and 
died in Hampton, Hunterdon county. New Jersey, May i, 1834. He served during 
the revolutionary war as a private in the Second Hunterdon County Regiment, and 
after peace was declared purchased a farm in Hampton on which he settled. He is 
buried in the Mansfield cemetery, near Washington, New Jersey. The name of his 
wife is unknown. Children: Charles, referred to below; Samuel, born March 31, 
1802, died in 1869, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, married Mary Mond; WiUiam P., 
born in 1799, died July 12, 1863, lived at New Hampton and left three children; Mary, 
married Sigman; Lydia, married Phillips, of Port Murray. 

(V) Charles, son of Robert Carhart, was born at Hampton, New Jersey, July 11, 
1786. He was a cabinet-maker by trade, and after his removal to Harmony he set up 
also an undertaking establishment, which he managed in addition to his farm and 
other work. He was a Presbyterian, and noted for his consistent practice of his 
religion. He married. May 17, 1817, Rebecca Allshouse, who was born February 9, 
1800. Children: John, referred to below; Elizabeth, born in 1820, married Anthony 
Oberly; Jacob, bom in 1823, died unmarried; Thomas F., born in 1828, married Louisa 
Castera; Lydia, born April 11, 1831, married Levi Raub; Caroline, born in 1833, died 
in 1836; Susanna, born May 23, 1837, married Jacob Kline. 

(VI) John, son of Charles and Rebecca (Allshouse) Carhart, was born at Har- 
mony, Warren county. New Jersey, December 11, 1818, and died there, April 12, 1870. 
He learned the trade of carpenter, which he followed till his death, residing on and 
managing also a small farm of sixteen acres, which has now become the property of 
Mrs. Charles Carhart. He was a Presbyterian in religion, and a Democrat in politics. 
He married Elizabeth, daughter of Valentine and Rebecda Metz, who was born in 
Harmony, New Jersey, May 20, 1820. Children: William M., referred to below; 
Charles, of Harmony, New Jersey, now deceased, and Albert, of Greensbridge, Warren 
county, New Jersey. 

(VII) William M., son of John and Elizabeth (Metz) Carhart, was born in 
Harmony, Warren county. New Jersey, August 19, 1844, and died at Phillipsburg, 
New Jersey, in July, 1910. He received his early education in the district school at 
Harmony, after which he graduated from the Hackettstown Seminary and then went 
to the Polytechnic Institute at Brooklyn, New York. Returning home he served his 
apprenticeship as carpenter under his father, and after working with him for several 
years accepted a position in the boat-yards of the Morris Canal Company at Phillips- 
burg, where he was general foreman of the company for over twenty-five years, until 
the works were finally shut down. After this he worked for eight years at his trade 
of carpentering, and in the spring of 1910, when the Morris Canal Company resumed 
operations at their Phillipsburg boat-yards, he went back to his old position of general 
foreman. Mr. Carhart was one of the most esteemed men in Phillipsburg, where he 
lived for more than thirty-seven years before his death. Shortly after going to 
Phillipsburg he purchased the property. at 172 Chambers street, and here he resided 
for nineteen years, at the end of which time he sold the place and purchased the 
property at 79 Lewis street, where he lived for the remainder of his life. He also 
purchased the property at 117 Summit avenue, which is now in the possession of his 
widow, but never lived there. He was a Democrat in politics, and served in the town 
council for twelve years. In religion he was a Presbyterian, and was a member of 



Warren County. 33 1 

the building committee of the Westminster Presbyterian Church of Phillipsburg, on 
Chambers street. In August, 1864, Mr. Carhart enUsted in the United States navy 
and served till the close of the civil war on the "Mohican." He was a member of the 
Knights of Pythias -of Phillipsburg. He had no liking for club life, but found his 
greatest enjoyment in his home among his family, with whom when not working he 
spent the greater part of his time. He was a stockholder in the Phillipsburg Water 
Company. 

He married, August 15, 1864, the ceremony being performed by the Rev. Oliver 
Badgley, pastor of the Methodist Episcopal Church at Roxbury, New Jersey, Mary 
E., daughter of George K. and Joanna (Vliet) Lomasson, who was born at Oxford, 
New Jersey, May 21, 1846. She is a granddaughter of Major Jesse Vliet. Children : 
I. Jennie M., born February 8, 1867; married- Henry Meyers, of Phillipsburg; chil- 
dren: Bessie E.; Bertha, married Oiiver Keiflfer; Myrtle W.; Grace P.; Russel. 2. 
Jessie C, born December 2, 1869; died February 2, 1909; married, February 22, 1793, 
Robert H. Weller, who was. born November 30, 1864, and died April 13, 1900; no 
children; Mrs. Weller, who was a woman of great artistic ability, studied photography 
in the studio of John Lee, at Phillipsburg, and five years later embarked in business for 
herself, opening a portable gallery on Chambers street, where she met with great suc- 
cess, and her business prospered to such an extent that in three years she had pur- 
chased, erected the building herself, and equipped the most modern studio in the 
city. Later she established a branch gallery at Clinton, New Jersey, and another one 
at Ereemansburg, Pennsylvania. After her death, the business was inherited by her 
sister, Alice M., referred to below. 3. Charles F., born March 8, 1875, living with his 
mother and sister, at 79 Lewis street, Phillipsburg; a carpenter, employed by the 
Vulcanite Cement Company. 4. Henry R., born October 9, 1877, living at Phillips- 
burg; married Mary Clymer; children: William C; Helen I.; Mildred R., and 
Henry R. 5. Alice M., referred to below. 

(VIII) Alice M., daughter of William M. and Mary E. (Lomasson) Carhart, 
was born in Phillipsburg, New Jersey, July 7, 1880, and is now living there at 79 Lewis 
street. She is a woman of rema^•kable business ability, which, coupled with her excellent 
education and remarkable artistic temperament, well fitted her to become the heir of her 
sister's photographic business, which she has been managing for the last three years. 
She has built up the largest business of the kind in the county, which is second to 
none, not only in volume of business, but also in the quality of workmanship and the 
artistic merit of her product, and her studio is noted even outside of the state as the 
finest and neatest to be found outside of Philadelphia or New York City. 



Dr. Alma L. Williston, of Phillipsburg, New Jersey, is the daughter 
WILLISTON of Bradford F. Lapham, of St! John, New Brunswick, Canada, and 
the wife of the Rev. Francis S. Williston, of Phillipsburg. 

(I) Calvin Lapham, her grandfather, was born in England, and having emi- 
grated to Duxbury, Massachusetts, he later removed to St. John, New Brunswick, and 
afterwards to Nova Scotia, dying at Granville Ferry in that province, aged about 
forty-five years. By trade he was a ship-builder and connected with the cabinet de- 
partment of that business. He married Jane Cooper Lane, who survived him and 
returned to St. John, New Brunswick, where she died at the age of seventy-six years. 
She was a member of the Methodist Episcopal church. Children: Bradford F., re- 
ferred to below; Calvin; William; Matilda; Mary. 

(II) Bradford F., son of Calvin and Jane Cooper (Lane) Lapham, was born in 
St. John, New Brunswick, March i, 1819, died at Lower Newcastle, New Brunswick, 
in 1888, aged sixty-nine years. He was educated in private schools in the province of 
New Brunswick and was a fish dealer connected with the salmon trade. He married 



332 Warren County. 

Eliza, daughter of John and Margaret (Reynolds) Coates, who was born in Char- 
lotte, Maine, and died in Lower Newcastle, New Brunswick, at the age of seventy- 
eight years. Her mother was born in England, and her father was a farmer in Char- 
lotte, Maine, where he died at the age of seventy-five years. Their children were : 
John R. ; Frank; Adoniram; Sarah; Maria; Sophia; Harriet; Loretta; Mary; Eliza, 
referred to above. Children of Bradford F. and Eliza (Coates) Lapham: Alma, 
referred to below; Eda, married Wallace Troop, of Granville Ferry, Nova Scotia; 
Eva, married Claudius Clarke, of Bi'ooklyn, Long Island; Margaret; Edwin; Mabel; 
Ella. The last four died unmarried. 

(HI) Alma L., daughter of Bradford F. and Eliza (Coates) Lapham, was born in 
St. John, New Brunswick, September 19, 1853, and is now living in Phillipsburg, 
Warren county. New Jersey. Her girlhood was spent in St. John, where she received 
her early education in private schools. In 1881 she graduated from the Women's 
Medical College, Pennsylvania, with the degree of M. D., and since then she has been 
engaged in the practice of her profession, making a specialty of the diseases of women 
and children. She is a member of the Main Street Methodist Episcopal Church, of 
Phillipsburg. For the past six years Dr. Williston has been city physician of Phillips- 
burg, and she is probably the only woman in the state holding such a position. She 
married, December 4, 1882, the Rev. Francis S., son of Judge Edward and Sarah 
(Mignowtz) Williston, who was born in Newcastle, New Brunswick, and is now 
(1911) living in Phillipsburg, Warren county. New Jersey. His father was born in 
Bay du Vin, New Brunswick, and died in Newcastle, New Brunswick, aged seventy- 
eight years. His mother was born in Halifax, Nova Scotia, and died at the same age 
as her husband, seventy-eight years. Their children were: Edward P.; Allan; How- 
ard;. Francis S.; Hedley; Emily; Jane; Elizabeth; Maud and May Williston, and two 
others that died in infancy. The Rev. Francis S. Williston received his early educa- 
tion at a private academy, and then graduated from Mount Allison College and the 
Theological Seminary of Bangor, Maine. He was then ordained minister, and for 
three years pastor of the Congregational church at New Castle, New Hampshire. 
After this he held different charges under the Newark Methodist Episcopal Confer- 
ence, filling various pulpits, and in 1897 came to Phillipsburg as a missionary on the 
Morris and Lehigh canals, working under the auspices of the Sabbath Association of 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. To this work he has devoted himself ever since. Chil- 
dren of the Rev. Francis S. and Dr. Alma (Lapham) Williston : i. Cyrus Hamlin, 
born September i, 1883, graduated from Lafayette College and is now instructor in 
science in the high school at Shamokin, Pennsylvania; married Levina Seitzinger. 2. 
Edward Bradford, born September 15, 1890, educated in the public schools of Phillips- 
burg, and a graduate of the Lerch Preparatory School of Easton, Pennsylvania. 3. 
Elizabeth R., born July 18, 1896, a student in the high school at Phillipsburg. 



George Snyder, grandfather of Irvin S. Snyder, of Phillipsburg, was 
SNYDER a farmer living near Nazareth, Northampton county, Pennsylvania. He 
was a member of the Lutheran church and a Democrat in politics. At 
one time he lived near Harmony, Warren county. New Jersey, and here some of his 
children were born. He married a Miss Henry. Among his children were: Theo- 
dore, of Nazareth, Pennsylvania; Peter, of Easton, Pennsylvania; Sarah; Mary; 
Caroline; William; Nathaniel; Abraham George, referred to below. 

(II) Abraham George, son of George and (Henry) Snyder, was born in 

Warren county. New Jersey, in 1839, died in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, in January, 
1888. He was educated in the public schools and then took to farming, running a 
hundred-acre farm in Northampton county, Pennsylvania. Later he gave this up and 
removed to Bethlehem, where he engaged in the meat business. He was a member 



Warren County. 333 

of the Lutheran church and a Democrat in politics. He married (first) Sarah C. 
Kachline, who died June lo, 1874, aged thirty-four years. He married (second) Sarah 
Krisley, who survived him, and is now living at Plainfield, New Jersey. Children, 
five by first marriage: Newton A., living in Easton, Pennsylvania; Irvin S., referred 
to below; Elizabeth, died aged twelve years; Emma, married Edward Myers, of 
Northampton county, Pennsylvania; Amelia, married James Dunn, now deceased, 
their only child. Myrtle, born September 13, 1901, is now living with her uncle, Irvin 
S. Snyder, referred to below; Harry; Daisy. 

(Ill) Irvin S., sen of Abraham George and Sarah C. (Kachline) Snyder, was 
born in Northampton county, Pennsylvania, June 20, 1864, and is now living in Phillips- 
burg. He received a good public school education, and when eighteen years old went 
to Easton,* Pennsylvania, where he apprenticed himself to learn the carriage painting 
trade. He served his time with the firm of Albright & Company, of that city, and re- 
mained with them for five years. In 1887 he came to Phillipsburg, where he set up 
for himself, and conducted a very prosperous business until July i, 1899, when he 
sold out, in the following November, purchasing the hotel site at 566 South Main 
street, where he has continued ever since to conduct one of the best hostelries in the 
town. He is a Democrat in politics, and in 1905 was elected to the city council, 
where he served for three years with credit to himself and to the office. He has a 
large circle of friends and is most popular with every one who knows him. He and 
his wife are members of the Lutheran church, and are very liberal contributors. 
They were among the first and the largest contributors to the fund for the remodeling 
of the parsonage. Mr. Snyder is a member of Chapter No. iii, of the Fraternal 
Order of Eagles, of Easton, Pennsylvania, and of Teedyescung Tribe, No. 17, of the 
Improved Order of Red Men of America. He married, August 22, 1888, Laura E., 
daughter of Peter and Elizabeth Willever, who was born at Springtown, Warren 
county. New Jersey, February 26, 1865. No children, but they have adopted the daugh- 
ter of Mr. Snyder's sister, Amelia (Snyder) Dunn, referred to above. 



Godfrey Hoffman, the first member of this family of whom we have 
HOFFMAN definite information, was a resident of Monmouth county. New Jer- 
sey. His father was the original emigrant from Germany, and his 
brother, Thomas, was a lawyer in Newark, New Jersey, where he practiced for a long 
time. Godfrey Hoffman married a woman whose surname was Barcroft, Christian 
name unknown. Among their children was William, referred to below. 

(II) William, son of Godfrey Hoffman, was born in Monmouth county. New 
Jersey, and was a carpenter for the Pennsylvania Railroad Company. In politics he 
was a Democrat, and in religion a Methodist. He married Caroline Silverthorn. 
Children: Augustus Cronce; Mary Frances; George Elwood; Ambrose Silverthorn, 
referred to below; Emma Reading. 

(III) Ambrose Silverthorn, son of William and Caroline (Silverthorn) Hoffman, 
was born September 4, 1851, at Rosemont, New Jersey. Like his father, he works for 
the Pennsylvania railroad. He was baggage master on a train that was wrecked at 
Milford, New Jersey, October 4, 1877, and since June 11, 1888, he has been a passenger 
conductor. He is a Methodist in religion, and a Republican in politics. He married, 
December 27, 1877, Ruzilla Jennie, daughter of Daniel and Anna (McCann) Allen, 
who was born at Quakertown, New Jersey, July 31, 1851. Her father's ancestors 
came from Wales, her mother's grandfather from Ireland. Children: William 
Christopher, referred to below; Winfield Scott, born October 19, 1884, died March 
21, 1886. 

(IV) William Christopher, son of Ambrose Silverthorn and Ruzilla (Allen) 
Hoffman, was born at Trenton, New Jersey, March 31, 1883. He attended the public 



334 Warren County. 

schools at Phillipsbarg and graduated from the high school June 27, 1902. May 17, 
1906, he graduated with the degree of doctor in pharmacy and pharmaceutical chetnist 
from the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy. Before taking this course he had been 
employed from July 8, 1902, to October i, 1903, at Weaver's Pharmacy in Easton, and 
resigned in order to enter the College of Pharmacy, but worked there again during his 
first summer vacation. In the summer of 1905 he worked in Trenton, first for W. 
Scott Taylor and afterwards for the .Miller Drug Company. On graduating he im- 
mediately took charge of Miller's drug store in Easton, which position he left in 
September, igo6, when he entered the employment of H. B. Semple & Sons as manu- 
facturing pharmacist and prescriptionist. October 15 following he purchased from 
John D. Hornly the store which he now owns and manages. Mr. Hoffman is a mem- 
ber of Grace Evangelical Lutheran Church. He is a member of the Jumor Order 
United American Mechanics, and of Kappa Psi national medical fraternity, in the 
latter of which he has held a number of offices. 

He married, at Phillipsburg, September 23, 1905, Edna Catherine L., daughter of 
Howard and Sarah (Schmidt) Creveling, who was born in Phillipsburg, July 12, 1884. 
Her father is a shoemaker. She is one of three, children, the others being, Alice B. 
and Ida May. Children of William Christopher and Edna Catherine L. (Creveling) 
Hoffman: Howard Ambrose, born July 6, 1906; Harry Teel, December 16, '1909. 



Peter Winkler, the founder of this family of his name in America, 
WINKLER and the father of Lewis Winkler, of Phillipsburg, was born in Baden, 

Germany, November 8, 1839, and died in New Jersey, January 2, 
1899. After receiving a fair education in the German schools he became a farmer and 
truckman. After hearing and reading a gqod^ deal about the United States he deter- 
mined to emigrate, and in 1870 came over to his country and found his way to 
Phillipsburg, where he obtained employment with the Andover Furnace Company of 
that place, being employed in unloading their boats. Two years later he sent for his 
family, and his wife and three eldest children landed in New York City on April i, 
1872, and four days later came to their new home in Phillipsburg. Mr. Winkler re- 
mained with the Andover Furnace Company for the next three years, but in 1875 ob- 
tained a position as foreman of one of the section gangs of the Delaware, Lackawanna 
& Western railrljad, and retained this position until his death by accident in the per- 
formance of his duty. His gang at the time were employed in clearing the tracks of 
a heavy fall of snow, the drifts in some places being more than five feet deep. Mr. 
Winkler was obliged to cross the track, and owing to the drifts he was struck down 
and run over by a milk train before either he or the engineer was aware of the danger. 
He was an elder in St. John's Lutheran Church, Phillipsburg, for many years, and 
a Democrat in politics, in which he took a deep interest. He was a member of the 
I. O. O. F. of Phillipsburg, and the reputation he left behind him was that of a kind, 
home-loving man, who won the respect and esteem of all with whom he came in con- 
tact. 

He married, in 1865, Elizabeth Waldbauer, who was born in Germany, December 
31, 1842, and died in Phillipsburg, May 13, 1885. Children: i. Lewis, referred to 
below. 2. Peter, born in 1868; died in 1903. 3. Christian, now living at Mt. Holly, 
New Jersey. 4. Mary, married James Mutchler, of Easton, Pennsylvania. 5. Fred- 
erick, died aged thirty-five years. 6. John, now living in Phillipsburg, Pennsylvania. 
7. Rose. 8. Elizabeth, now deceased. And t\yo children that died in infancy. 

(II) Lewis, son of Peter and Elizabeth (Waldbauer) Winkler, was bom in 
Baden, Germany, September i, 1866, and died March i, 191 1, in Phillipsburg. He was 
brought to this country with his two other brothers, Peter and Christian, wljen he 
was only five years old, and received his education in the public schools of Phillips- 



Warren County. 335 

burg. He started early in life to make his own living, working at first for the War- 
ren Foundry Company, but after a few months experience in the machine shops giv- 
ing up his place in order to become a cigar-maker's apprentice. He worked at first 
for August Schultz and afterwards for Peter Ritter, and at the end of seven years 
training under these men he went into business for himself, and opened a cigar store 
at II Union Square, Phiilipsburg, where he did a successful and prosperous business 
until his death. Mr. Winkler was one of the men who advocated the establishment 
of a daily paper in Phiilipsburg, and was one of the few who subscribed to the stock 
of the ill-fated Warren Democrat. He was also a stockholder in the Phiilipsburg 
Water Company. He built his present home, which is on the corner of Davis and 
Mary streets, in 1895. 

He married, August 10, 1890, Sophia, daughter of Christopher and Elizabeth 
Mayer, who was born in Germany, July 8, 1868. Her father, who was born April 8, 
1829, and died August 16, 1877, came to America with his family and, establishing a 
bakery in Phiilipsburg, became one of the town's most prosperous men. He was a 
Lutheran, and a member of the I. O. O. F. By his wife, Elizabeth, he had children : 
George; Elizabeth; Emma; Sophia, referred to above, and two others that died in 
infancy. Children of Lewis and Sophia (Mayer) Winkler: i. John Peter, born 
March 28, 1890. a machinist, living in Phiilipsburg. 2. Elizabeth, born August 6, 1891, 
died September 2, 1891. 3. Lewis,, born August 29, 1892, graduated with honors from 
the Phiilipsburg high school in 1910, now working in the machine shops of the Inger- 
soll-Rand Company. 4. Carl, born November s, 1894. S- James, born April 7, 1899. 
6. Grace, bom January 28, 1907. 



Thomas Shields, of Hackettstown, New Jersey, the first member of 
SHIELDS this family of whom we have definite information, died August 28, 
1827, in his fifty-second year. He was a farmer by occupation, lived 
for a time in Washington township, but spent most of his life in Hackettstown, where 
besides farming he operated a distillery and did a drover's business. He was a Dem- 
ocrat in politics and a Presbyterian in religion, and it was owing to his efforts that 
the Presbyterian church was built. He left a farm to each of his sons, and to each of 
his daughters the equivalent in money. He married Sarah Coleman, who survived him 
many years, dying November 15, 1858, at the age of eighty-two years, eleven months. 
Children: Samuel; Mary, married Isaac Smith; William, referred to below; Sarah, 
married Robert P. Strader; Elizabeth, married Johnson Titus, of Phiilipsburg; John; 
David; Isaac; Thomas, referred to below. 

(II) William, son of Thomas and Sarah (Coleman) Shields, was born in Hack- 
ettstown New Jersey, September 10, 1803, and died December 12, 1882. He was left a 
small farm by his father which he conducted successfully and greatly enlarged, and 
although he started life with comparatively nothing he died a well-to-do and pros- 
perous man. He was a liberal supporter of the Presbyterian church, and a Democrat 
in politics. He served for a number of years as freeholder, and also as a director of 
the First National Bank of Washington. He married, September 29, 1832, Anna, 
daughter of John Hance, who died about 1876. Children : i. Thomas, born October 
S, 1833, died June 28, 1895. 2. Joseph H., born February 22, 1835, died November 4, 
1835. 3. Sarah Elizabeth, born April 16, 1836. 4. John, born November 14, 1838, died 
July 2, 1883. S. William, referred to below. 6. Mary Jane, born June 21, 1843, died 
February 11, 1846. 7. Robert, born September 28, i84S- 8. Jennie, born July 3, 1848. 
9. James L., referred to below. 10. Joseph H., born August 12, 1851, died July 25, 
1873. II. Anna, born May 29, 1853. 12. Calvin, born April 8, 1855, died September 16, 
1885. 13. Frank, born February i, 1859, died August 6, 1859. 

(III) William, son of William and Anna (Hance) Shields, was born in Warren 



336 Warren County. 

county, New Jersey, March 12, 1841, and died there, July 6, 1899. He received his edu- 
cation in the public schools of Warren county and then went to New York City, 
where he took a business course. At the age of nineteen he returned to Washington 
and obtained employment as a bookkeeper for the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western 
Railroad Company. Shortly afterwards he became manager of the railroad's coal- 
yards in Washington, and retained this position all his life. He built the beautiful 
home in which his widow and son nov^ live in 1871. For twenty years he was secre- 
tary of the board of trustees of the Presbyterian church, which he established. In 
politics he was a Republican. He was a member of Mansfield Lodge, No. 36, F. and 
A. M., of New Jersey; of Temple Chapter, R. A. M., and DeMolay Commandery, 
No. 6, K. T. He married, November 16, 1869, Mary, daughter of James and Mary 
(Sharp) Stewart, who was born near Stewartsville, October 15, 1837. She is one of 
the three survivors of the charter members of the Ladies' Aid Society of the Pres- 
byterian church, which was organized in 1878, and it was mainly through her efforts 
that the $15,000 needed for building the chapel was secured. Her great-great-grand- 
father, bom in Scotland March 11, 1691, emigrated to Bucks county, Pennsylvania, 
in 1720, and died there, leaving sons, Charles and George. Charles Stewart, born in 
Scotland, May 9, 1714, died in Doylestown, Pennsylvania, June 11, 1789, leaving a son 
Robert, born January 9, 1733, who removed to Sussex county. New Jersey, where he 
died July 22, 1809, leaving sons, Thomas and Robert, and two daughters, Mary, married 
Thomas Kennedy, and Sarah, married William Kennedy. His son, Thomas, grand- 
father of Mrs. Mary (Stewart) Shields, was born November 19, 1752, and died 
December 31,' 1836. For a time he lived on the property left him by his father in 
Bucks county, Pennsylvania, but in 1793 he bought six hundred and forty acres in 
Greenwich township and settled there, becoming one of the most prominent men in 
the county, justice of the peace, judge of the court of common pleas, president judge 
of the. first inferior county court of Warren county, and judge of the court of oyer 
and terminer. He married, March 19, 1778, Rachel Dewees, and left seven sons and 
two daughters. His son, James Stewart, left the farm given to him by his father, 
turned merchant, and in 1865 settled in Washington, New Jersey, where he became 
postmaster and mayor of the town, and a delegate to the Republican national conven- 
tion in Baltimore. He procured the charter for the Phillipsburg National Bank, and 
was one of its directors. He married Mary, daughter of Peter and Elizabeth Sharp, 
who died in 1872, aged sixty-nine years. Children : i. John. ii. Sarah, iii. Rachel, 
iv. Samuel, v. Martha, married Theodore Hulshizer, and now living with her sister, 
Mrs. Shields, vi. Christian, married Robert Godfrey, of Washington, New Jersey, 
vii. Mary, referred to above, viii. James, living in Phillipsburg. ix. Edward, living 
in Stroudsburg. x. Jane, married Joseph W. Johnson, of Washington. Child of 
William and Mary (Stewart) Shields: William, referred to below. 

(IV) William (3), son of William (2) and Mary (Stewart) Shields, was born 
in Washington, New Jersey, June 16, 1872, and is now living at Glenridge, Essex 
county. New Jersey. He graduated from the Washington high school, and then took 
a business course in the Poughkeepsie Military College, and when seventeen years of 
age went to New York City, where he obtained employment in the real estate depart- 
ment of the New York Mutual Life Insurance Company, being put in charge of the 
loan desk, and in January, 191 1, was promoted to the office of real estate manager 
of Mutual Life Insurance Company. He is a Presbyterian in religion and a Repub- 
lican in politics. He married, April 22, igo8, Carlotta, daughter of Charles A. Good- 
nough, of Evanston, Illinois, a vice-president of the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul 
railroad. 

(Ill) James Lillie, son of William and Anna (Hance) Shields, was born on his 
father's farm. May 20, 1850, and is now living in Washington, New Jersey. He spent 



Warren County. 337 

his boyhood days on his father's farm, and received his education in the township 
schools of New Hampton, Hunterdon county. New Jersey, and in Pennington Institute. 
After leaving school he went to Washington, New Jersey, where he entered the em- 
ploy of the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western railroad, with which he remained until 
February I, 1893, when he entered the employ of his brother, William, in his coal 
business. When his brother died he succeeded to the business and has been carrying 
it on most successfully ever since. Mr. Shields has dealt largely in real estate. After 
his father's death he bought up the homestead of one hundred and forty-three acres 
from the other heirs, also purchased a farm of one hundred and ninety-seven acres 
in Washington township, Warren county, known as the Samuel Shields farm; and in 
addition purchased of his brother William's heirs, the old Hance homestead near 
Stephensburg, Morris county, which originally belonged to his mother's father. He 
is a great advocate of temperance, and a member of the Presbyterian church. He is 
a member of Mansfield Lodge, No. 36, F. and A. M., of New Jersey; past thrice 
illustrious master of Washington Council, No. 7, R. S. M.; past eminent commander 
of DeMolay Commandery, No. 6, Knights Templar, and a member of Mecca Temple, 
A. A. O. N. M. S, of New York City. He married (first), October s, 1875, Mary 
Alice, daughter of Dr. John V. and Catharine (Winter) Mattison, who was born May 
14, 1854, and died August 19, 1877, without issue. He married (second), October 12, 
1881, Lillie, daughter of John Bunyan and Caroline (Conover) Ramsey, of Clinton, 
Hunterdon county. New Jersey, who was born January 14, 1856. Children: i. Caro- 
line R., born June 5, 1885; graduate of the Hackettstown high school and Boston Uni- 
versity. 2. Joseph Cramer, born July 14, 1886; prepared for college in Washington 
high school, graduated from University of Pennsylvania, 1908; until 1910 with the 
New York Trust Company, New York City, since then with the Title Insurance 
Company, of New York; member of Mansfield Lodge, No. 36, F. and A. M., of New 
Jersey. 

(II) Thomas, son of Thomas and Sarah (Coleman) Shields, was born in Hack- 
ettstown, New Jersey, February 15, 1809, and died in Beatyestown, Warren county. 
New Jersey, September 29, 1880. He was educated in the Hackettstown schools, 
moved to Beatyestown, where he lived all his life, turned his attention to real estate 
and farming, and when he died owned three large farms in Warren county and a 
fourth in Morris county. He also dealt considerably in live stock, buying cattle in 
Warren county and driving it to Newark and New York City. In 1868 he opened a 
hematite ore mine on his farm, and in 1870 opened a second one. Before 1877 he 
had also bought a third farm from the estate of Stewart M. Brown, and opened a 
third mine there. For several years he sold the ore at the mine, and it was taken to 
Hokendauqua, Pennsylvania; later he took it himself to Hackettstown and Stanhope 
to be smelted and turned into iron. He was a Presbyterian and a Democrat. He 
married, February 18, 1830, Fanny, daughter of Abraham and Anna (Gates) Claw- 
son, of Hackettstown, who was born March 3, 1812, and died in 1884, nearly seventy- 
two years of age. Children : i. Almira, married Richard Stephens, of Washington, 
and now living there with her daughter, Mrs. John B. Swazey. 2. Kate M., referred to 
below. 3. Emma J., married L. T. Labar, and now living on the old homestead in 
Beatyestown. 4. Mary, married Jacob Gulick, of Newark, New Jersey. 5. Susan, 
married Andrew Trimmer, of Anita, Iowa. 6. David, now living in Central City, 
New Brunswick. 7. William S., now living in Beatyestown. 8. Margaret B., married 
James P. Hendershort, of Newark, New Jersey. 9. Josephine C, married James M. 
Fitts, of Newark. 10. Sarah A., married Henry Carpenter, of Hackettstown. 

(III) Kate M., daughter of Thomas and Fanny (Clawson) Shields, was born in 
Beatyestown, Warren county. New Jersey, and is now living in Phillipsburg. For 
over twenty-four years she conducted a bakery in Phillipsburg, which proved a most 



338 Warren County. 

successful venture and enabled, her to invest her profits in several of the best business 
properties in the city. In 1891 she retired from business, and since then has traveled 
much for her health, spending the greatest part of her time in Porto Rico. She has 
been a member of the Presbyterian church all her life, was one of the charter members 
of the Ladies' Aid Society, and has been secretary of that body for many years. 
She has been a resident of Phillipsburg since 1866. She married Edward Skinner, 
but is now divorced from him and has resumed her maiden name. 



Stephen Holmes Lamed, of Phillipsburg, belongs to the family which 
LARNED has played so prominent a part in the history of New England from 
colonial days, and Mr. Lamed himself has played no inconspicuous 
part in the industrial history of Massachusetts, before he settled in New Jersey. 

(I) His grandfather, Morris Lamed, was born in Dudley, Massachusetts, May 
23, 1786, and died there November 6, 1878. He served as colonel during the war of 
1812. He was a woolen manufacturer and merchant, a tavern keeper and a farmer. 
He was a Universalist in religion and a Whig in politics. He married, November 25, 
1810, Elizabeth Eaton, who was born January 7, 1790, and died July 26, 1890. Chil- 
dren : I. John Eliot. 2. William. 3. Thomas Morris, referred to below. 4. George 
Borden. 5. Cordelia. 6. Hannah. 7. Harriet. 8. Sarah. 9. Ursula. 

(H) Thomas Morris, son of Morris and Elizabeth (Eaton) Earned, was born in 
Dudley, Massachusetts, December 8, 1814, and died there December 21, 1908. He was 
a farmer, a Universalist, a "Black Republican," and served several times as one of the 
selectmen of the town. He also held a lieutenant's commission in a militia organiza- 
tion known a$ the "Dudley Rifles." He jnarried, in Thompson, Connecticut, Lucy 
Holmes, who was born there June 27, 1816, and died in Dudley, Massachusetts, Sep- 
tember 30, 1904. Her father was a farmer, a 'blacksmith, and a country squire or 
justice, and a Baptist in religion. He lived to be about ninety years old. Mrs. 
Lamed taught a country school until her wedding. Children: i. Lucy Maria, bom 
June 2, 1840. 2. Elizabeth Eaton, bom August 29, 1841. 3. Susan Jane, born Novem- 
ber 8, 1842. 4. Thomas Morris, born May 19, 1845. 5. Stephen Holmes, referred to 
below, 6. Abbie Georgianna, born January 31, 1852. 7. James Edward, bom August 
20, 1854. 

(Ill) Stephen Holmes, son of Thomas Morris and Lucy (Holmes) Earned, was 
born in Dudley, Massachusetts, July 10, 1847, and is now living in Phillipsburg, New 
Jersey. He received his early education in the public schools of Dudley, and after 
preparing for college in Nichols Academy in the same town, graduated from Am- 
herst in 1869. During the fall of 1869 and spring of 1870 he worked for the Slater 
Woolen Company, of Webster, Massachusetts, and then secured a position with N. A. 
Lombard & Company, of Worcester, with whom he remained for three years, resign- 
ing his place in order to accept a much better one with the hardware manufacturing 
firm of Sargent & Company, in the same city. He remained for fifteen years, until 
1887, when he removed to Phillipsburg and began his work as general manager of the 
Standard Silk Company, a position he has now held for nearly a quarter of a century. 
Mr. Lamed has always voted the Republican ticket on national questions, and generally 
in state and local affairs, but he does not care for and has never sought nor held any 
oflice. He was a member of the Pomfret Club of Easton, Pennsylvania, for a few years, 
but club life being distasteful to him he resigned. While living in New England he was 
a Congregationalist, but he has now affiliated himself with the Presbyterian church 
in Phillipsburg. He married (first) in Amherst, Massachusetts, July 20, 1871, Hattie, 
daughter of William and Electa (Stetson) Newhall Boltwood, of Amherst, Massa- 
chusetts, who died May 27, 1872. He married (second) in Worcester, Massachusetts, 
January S, 1876, Susan Maria, daughter of Rev. Joel Sumner Everett, of Montpelier, 



Warren County. 339 

Vermont. Her father, after graduating from Amherst College and Andover Theo- 
logical Seminary, went out as a missionary to Turkey and died there, March 8, 1856. 
Her mother was educated at the Morrison and Abbot academies in Andover, Massa- 
chusetts, and going to Turkey, also as a missionary, died there, December 27, 1854. 
Their children, all born in Constantinople were : i. Mary Seraphina Everett, ii. Elea- 
nor Melvina Everett, iii. Sumner Haynes Everett, iv. Susan Maria Everett, v. 
Elizabeth March Everett. Children of Stephen Holmes and Susan Maria (Everett) 
Earned: i. Margaret, born June 28, 1S84; educated in the Phillipsburg schools until 
1898, graduated from the high school of Worcester, Massachusetts, in 1901, and from 
Mount Holyoke College in 1905, she married, April 7, 1908, Bayard Gelston Eckard, of 
Easton, Pennsylvania; one child: Margaret Bayard, born, July 5, 1909. 2. Helen, 
born September 2, 1887; died August 9, 1888. 3. Ruth, born September 17, 1889; 
graduated from the Phillipsburg high school in 1906, from Blair Hall, Blairstown, 
New Jersey, in 1907, and from Miss Wheelock's Kindergarten Training School in 
1909; since then she has been a teacher at Davenport Home, Bath, New York. 4. 
Amy, twin with Ruth, born September 17, 1889, graduated with her sister from the 
Phillipsburg high school in 1906, and from Blair Hall in 1907; then took a two years' 
course in Mount Holyoke College, and is now teaching at Hope Farm, Verbank, 
Dutchess county, New York. 5. Dorothy Everett, born November 28, 1896; now liv- 
ing at home, under special instruction. 



Bartholomew Brasefield, the great-grandfather of Dr. Edgar 
BRASEFIELD Norman Brasefield, of Phillipsburg, emigrated from England 
with his family to West Virginia, where he was among the first 
of those who engaged in coal mining. He married, in England, Sarah Simpson. 

(II) Emanuel, son of Bartholomew and Sarah (Simpson) Brasefield, was born 
in Burnham, England, and brought over to this country by his father when he was 
eight years old. When he grew up he became a mechanical and locomotive engineer. 
He married Ruth A., daughter of Joel and Elizabeth (Baldwin) Marsh. Children: 
I. William Francis Joel. 2. Bethune James, referred to below. 3. Phebe Ann. 4. 
Sarah Elizabeth. 5. Emma Jane, married Henry Kuebler, Ph. D., of Shamokin, Penn- 
sylvania. 6. Emanuel Marxh. 7. Alfred. 8. Laura. 

(III) Bethune James, son of Emanuel and Ruth A. (Marsh) Brasefield, was 
born at Mill Creek, Schuylkill county, Pennsylvania, October 2, 1844, and is now liv- 
ing in South Easton, Pennsylvania. He was educated for a mechanical engineer, and 
has all his life been in the employ of the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company, having 
been for many years the foreman of their machine shops at Easton. During the civil 
war he served as a corporal in the One Hundred and Fifty-Third Regiment Penn- 
sylvania State Militia. He is a member of the Presbyterian church, and a Republican 
in politics, and at one time was a member of the city council of Easton, where he has 
been living since 1868. He married, January 7, 1869, Augusta Susan, daughter of 
Isaac and Elizabeth (Kantner) Dengler, who was born in Cresson, Schuylkill county, 
Pennsylvania, in 1847. Children: i. Harvey D., born July 15, 1870, now principal 
of the public school at Berkeley, California. 2. Stanley E., born October 2, 1873; 
formerly professor of mathematics at Lafayette College, now at Cornell College, 
Ithaca, New York. 3. Bertram Clifton, born June 24, 1875; died in December, 1893. 
4. Edgar Norman, referred to below. 5. Lister Newton, born April 13, 1884 ; formerly 
secretary of the Y. M. C. A., at Easton, Pennsylvania, now secretary of the same at 
Berkeley, California. 

(IV) Dr. Edgar Norman, son of Bethune James and Augusta Susan (Dengler) 
Brasefield, was born at Easton, Pennsylvania, August 26, 1877, and is now living in 
Phillipsburg. After graduating from the public schools of Easton, in 1894, he entered 



340 Warren County. 

the Ohio Northern University, at Ada, Ohio, taking his degree of Ph. D. and B. S. 
from that institution in 1899. He then took the courses in New York University 
and in the Bellevue Hospital Medical College, Newr York City, and received his M. D. 
degree in 1904. Coming to Phillipsburg immediately after this, he opened his office 
at 203 Chambers street, where he soon built up for himself a good practice which has 
now become the best in the city. He is a member of Columbia Lodge, No. 139, 
1. O. O. F., of Easton, Pennsylvania; of Chapter, No. 1372, Fraternal Order of Eagles, 
of Phillipsburg; of Chapter, No. 39s, B. P. O. E., of Phillipsburg; and of the Warren 
County, New Jersey State, and American medical societies. He is a Republican in 
politics and a member of the Presbyterian church in Easton. He is unmarried. 



John Van Billiard, of Northampton county, Pennsylvania, is 
VAN BILLIARD the first member of this family of whom we have definite in- 
formation. He was the son of Henry Van Billiard, who emi- 
grated from Holland and settled near Seidersville, in Northampton county. His son, 
John, was born in Lower Saucon, Northampton county, and settled in Freemansburg, 
in the same county. He was a Democrat in politics and a member of the Lutheran 

church. He married Hannah . Children : i. Oliver, referred to below; 2. 

Jemima. 3. Jerome. 4. Martin. 5. Monroe. 

(II) Oliver, son of John and Hannah Van Billiard, was born in Butztown, 
Northampton county, ■ Pennsylvania, January 28, 1844, and is now living in Phillips- 
burg, New Jersey. He received a common school education until he was fourteen, 
when he began working in a brickyard for a wage of twelve cents a day. From 1865 
to 1872 he found employment as a day laborer, but in the last-named year he obtained 
a position as school teacher, which he held for fourteen years, when he was chosen 
a justice of the peace for Hunterdon county, New Jersey. In 1895 he removed to 
Phillipsburg, in the following year he was elected one of the justices of the peace 
for that town, and has served in that office ever since. He is a Republican in politics. 
When the civil war broke out he enlisted and served in Company B, Forty-seventh 
Regiment Pennsylvania Volunteers, under General Philip Sheridan, in the Nineteenth 
Army Corps, being present at the battle of the Wilderness, at Cedar Creek, and during 
the raid in the Shenandoah Valley. He is a member of Califon Castle, No. 32, Knights 
of the Golden Eagle, of New Jersey, and has held all the offices. He was district 
grand chief for three years, and during his term organized the castles of Annandale, 
Whitehouse, Lambertville, and Washington, New Jersey. He married, in Easton, 
Pennsylvania, Mary A., daughter of James Anderson, of Lower Valley, New Jersey. 
Children: George, Irena Force, Elizabeth Morrell, Wellington, John and James. 



John A. Fisher, the founder in America of the family at present under 
FISHER consideration, was born at Carlsruhe, Germany, in 1822, and died in 
Phillipsburg, New Jersey, in 1905. About 1851 he settled at Littleyork, 
Hunterdon county. New Jersey, where he purchased a farm of about forty acres, 
which he worked until the beginning of the civil war, when he sold it and removed to 
Phillipsburg, where he enlisted in a company being recruited from Easton, Pennsyl- 
vania. He served for the last three years of the war in the Sixth Pennsylvania Cavalry 
Regiment. After returning home he received employment first in the Warren Foundry 
Company, and later with the Cooper Furnace Company, with the latter of which he 
remained until he retired. He was a Democrat in politics, and served as a justice of 
the peace. He was a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and of the 
Red Men. In religion he was a Lutheran. He married, about 1855, Caroline S., 
daughter of Michael Fredericks, who was born at Carlsruhe, Germany, emigrated to 
this country with her sister about 1855, and died February 11, 1906. Children:' i. 



Warren County. 341 

Lewis Adam, referred to below. 2. William H., living at Phillipsburg. 3. Minnie, 
married Joseph Weiner. 4. John F., living at Phillipsburg. 5. Anna Elizabeth, mar- 
ried Daniel Ziegler. 

(II) Lewis Adam, son of John A. and Caroline S. (Fredericks) Fisher, was 
born in Phillipsburg, New Jersey, June 7, 1861, and is now living in that town. He 
received his education in the Phillipsburg public schools and in a private seminary in 
South Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, and in 1871 went to work in the pipe department of 
the Warren Foundry Company. About four years later he went to Philadelphia as a 
baker's and confectioner's apprentice and worked for ten years for different firms, 
among them being that of Croft & Wilbur. About 1886 he returned to Phillipsburg 
and opened a bakery on Mercer street, which he conducted for ten years, when he 
sold out, buying seventy-five acres of land, and turned his attention to farming, espe- 
cially to fruit growing. Ten years later he returned to Phillipsburg again, and took 
up his present occupation of steward of Lodge No. 395, B. P. O. E. Besides his 
present residence at 76 Summit street, which he built in 1898, Mr. Fisher has erected 
and owns about ten other houses. He was at one time interested in the Phalaux Silk 
Mills of Phillipsburg, and he is at present in charge of the Elks' retreats at Musconet- 
cong and at Lake Hopatcong. He is exalted ruler of the B. P. O. E. of Phillipsburg, 
a member of Lodge No. 124, I. O. O. F. of Phillipsburg, of Erie No. 1372, Fraternal 
Order of Eagles, and of Teedyescung Tribe, No. 17, Improved Order of Red Men of 
America, the exempt firemen. He is a Democrat in politics, has served in several local 
offices, and served in the town council in 1895 and 1896. He is the senior partner of 
the well-known firm of Fisher & Barnes, musical comedians, who have traveled all 
over the United States. He has much musical talent of high order, plays many in- 
struments himself, and has played for many years in the bands of Phillipsburg and 
Easton, besides being the organizer of the Bloomsbury band. His three great amuse- 
ments are hunting, fishing, and music; and his favorite instruments are those of the 
wood-wind class. He married (first), June 22, 1885, Margaret S., daughter of Joseph 
and Martha (Welliver) Coll, of Bloomsbury, New Jersey. He married (second), June 
20, 1907, Mrs. Dorothy Shafer, of Philadelphia. Only one child, which was by the 
first marriage died in infancy. 



Jacob Creveling, the first member of this family of whom we have 
CREVELING definite information, died January 27, 1897. The Creveling family 

is of Dutch origin. Johannas and Catharine Creveling married in 
Holland, and were among the earliest descendants of the Musconetcong valley. The 
family in New Jersey is notable for the number of physicians who' have sprung from 
it. Jacob Creveling grew to manhood in Asbury, New Jersey, where he carried on a 
mill for some years. In 1866 he moved to Phillipsburg, and there managed a flour 
and feed business until his death. He was an earnest Methodist, truly interested in 
the welfare of his church, and a liberal contributor to that end. In the Democratic 
party he held a high place, and filled among other offices those of coroner, assessor, 
overseer of the poor, and school commissioner. He was actively interested in all 
measures which he deemed conducive to the welfare of the community. In both public 
and private life he was a man of integrity, just, kind and charitable; he was a true 
Christian gentleman and a fit example for others. He married Charity, daughter of 
George Lunger, died .^pril 8, 1891. Her father was at one time sheriff of Hunterdon 
county. Children: William E., of Jersey City; George L-, of Phillipsburg; Charles 
F., referred to below. 

(II) Charles F., son of Jacob and Charity (Lunger) Creveling, was born in 
Asbury, New Jersey, September 10, 1862. He attended the common schools and the 
high school, from which he graduated in the classical course in 1882. His study of 



342 Warren County. 

medicine was commenced with Dr. Joseph Flavel Sheppard, of Phillipsburg, and later 
attended Bellevue Hospital Medical College, in New York City, from which he grad- 
uated with the degree of M. D., March 14, 1887. He practiced in Phillipsburg for two 
years, and then moved to Reaville, Hunterdon county. In 1895 a partial breakdown in 
health compelled him to give up his work for a few months. He has been again a 
resident and practicing physician of Phillipsburg since May of the following year, and 
has served as city physician as he had done during 1887 and 1888 also. Dr. Crevel- 
ing's ability and skill are undoubted* he is a constant student, keeping himself in 
touch with the latest methods and discoveries. Besides this, he has those other neces- 
sary qualifications, sympathy and zeal for his profession. He is a Democrat in politics. 
He is a member of the Red Men and of the Junior Order of American Mechanics, 
and in each of these orders he has held various offices and he has been medical exam- 
iner, in 1887 and 1888, for several fraternal organizations. He married, September 7, 
1887, Julia E., daughter of Henry Wagner, of New York. 



Nicholas Yeisley, is the first member of this family of whom we have 
YEISLEY definite information. Among his children are George Adam, referred 
to below. 

(11) George Adam, son of Nicholas Yeisley, was born in Williams township, 
Northampton county, Pennsylvania, near Easton, October 11, 1815. His occupation 
was that of a trucker. He was a Democrat in politics, and a member of the Dutch 
Reformed Church. He married Susanna Hartzell. Children : Jeremiah, referred to 
below; Thomas; Simon; Sarah Christiana; Charles Harris. 

(HI) Jeremiah, son of George Adam and Susanna (Hartzell) Yeisley, was born 
in Williams township, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, September 7, 1843, and died 
in Phillipsburg, October 18, i8go. He began to teach school in Cedarville, Williams 
township, in i860. In 1862 he enlisted in the Pennsylvania militia and went to Harris- 
burg, but did not go into active service. The same year he came to New Jersey and 
took the position of school teacher at Uniontown, and in the fall of 1864 he accepted 
a position as teacher in the public school in Lopatcong township. No. 10 Plane, Greens- 
bridge, New Jersey, which position he held until his death. He was also assessor of 
the township and census enumerator. He was at first a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal church at Harmony, New Jersey, and afterwards' joined the Wesley Meth- 
odist Episcopal Church at Phillipsburg. He was a Democrat in politics. He married, 
February 20, 1864, Mary Ellen, daughter of Lawrence and Anna Maria (Earning) 
Metz, who was born in Phillipsburg, New Jersey, September 29, 1842. Her father was 
the son of Peter and Anna M. Metz, born April 18, 1819, at Speicherz, in the lotal 
government of Brueckenau, kingdom of Bavaria, and died in Phillipsburg, New Jer- 
sey, January 22, 1892. He came to America in 1839 and applied for naturalization 
August 13, 1844. He was a farmer in Lopatcong township for many years, and after- 
ward was engaged in the milk business until about four years of his death. He mar- 
ried, October 4, 1840, a daughter of John George and Catharine Faming, who was 
born July 29, 1817, also in Bavaria, in Vhanuran, local government of Weihers, and 
died in Phillipsburg. October 13, 1899. She came to America in the same year her 
husband came, in 1839. Children of Jeremiah and Mary Ellen (Metz) Yeisley: 
George Lawrence, born August 29, 1864; Albert Metz, referred to below; William 
Henry, born April 7, 1873, died March 20, 1875. 

(IV) Albert Metz, son of Jeremiah and Mary Ellen (Metz) Yeisley, was born 
at Uniontown, Lopatcong township, September 18, 1868. He attended the public 
schools of Uniontown until 1882. Removing to Phillipsburg, he attended the public 
schools there for the next three years, and from 1885 to 188S he attended the Easton 
Academy. In October, 1889, he accepted a position as shipping clerk' with the superin- 




r^^u^^.t.^it/^c^^i^tfc^w' 



Warren County. 343 

tendent of bridges and buildings of the Lehigh Valley railroad at Phillipsburg; and 
July I, 1891, he became a transfer clerk in the freight office at Phillipsburg, of the 
same railroad. In July, 1904, he was promoted to the position of cashier in the same 
office, and a year later to that of chief clerk. October 17, 1905, he was made agent at 
Kennedy, Alphia and Phillipsburg, which is his present position. He favors the 
principles of the Republican party. He is treasurer of Camp No. 64, P. O. S. A., and 
of U. S. Grant Commandery, No. 45; a member of North End Castle, No. 27, Knights 
of the Golden Eagles; and of Camp No. 28, P. O. of A.; captain-general of Clarmont 
Commandery, No. 62, Knights of Malta; and a member of Camp No. 14545, Modern 
Woodmen of America. He is also a member of the New Jersey and L,ehigh Division 
Club of the Lehigh Valley Railroad, at Easton ; of the American Railway Association 
of Freight Agents, which is connected with all railroads in the United States, and 
secretary of the local branch of the Triple City. He is a member of the First Meth- 
odist Episcopal church. Main street, Phillipsburg, and treasurer of R. B. Lockwood 
Chapter, No. 587, of the Methodist Brotherhood. 



Stephen Anewalt, grandfather of Ellsworth Quincy Anewalt, of 
ANEWALT Phillipsburg, was a well-to-do farmer of Northampton county, Penn- 
sylvania. In his later years, after retiring from active life, he re- 
moved 'to West Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. He was a Lutheran in religion, and a Re- 
publican in politics, in the latter of which he took a keen and active interest. He was 
also noted for his horses, especially his drivers of which he is said to have had .some 
of the best in the county. He married Sarah Kleppinger. Children : Peter S., re- 
ferred to below; Anna, married Frank Young; Elizabeth, married Henry Lapp; Ellen, 
married Benjamin Kunz; Eli S., of Allentown, Pennsylvania; Monroe, now living 
in Ohio. 

(II) Peter S., son of Stephen and Sarah (Kleppinger) Anewalt, was born in 
East Allen township, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, where he lived until 1891, 
when he retired from active life and removed to Catasauqua, Lehigh county, Penn- 
sylvania, where he now (1910) resides. He is a very successful farmer, and owns 
two fine farms, one of a hundred and forty acres in Northampton county, and another 
of sixty-seven acres- in Lehigh county. He is a Republican and takes considerable 
interest in political affairs. In religion he is a Lutheran. He married Mary Alice, 
daughter of Thomas E. and Naomi (Brenig) Hartzell. Children: Ellsworth Quincy, 
referred to below; Vincent S., died young; Claude, died young; Quintus P.; Naomi 
S.; Marian, died aged thirteen years; Clarence; Floyd; Alonzo, died aged three years. 

(III) Ellsworth Quincy, son of Peter S. and Mary Alice (Hartzell) Anewalt, 
was bom at Nazareth, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, November i, 1873, and is 
now living in Phillipsburg, New Jersey. He attended the public school at Hecktown, 
Lower Nazareth township, Northampton county, and after this graduated from the 
high school at Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, in 1889. He spent his early life until he was 
sixteen on his father's farm, and then obtained a clerkship in the drug store of 
Walter S. Freeman, with whom he remained for two and a half years. He then went 
to Philadelphia, where after working for one year for the wholesale drug firm of 
Smith, Kline, French & Company, he took the course at the Philadelphia College of 
Pharmacy, from which he graduated in 1895. He next spent four years managing 
the drug store of H. P. R. Llandy, of Madera, Clearfield county, Pennsylvania, and 
then, in September, 1898, he came to Phillipsburg, bought up the business of his old 
employer, Walter S. Freeman, corner Main and Market streets, and has been in busi- 
ness there ever since. He is a Republican in politics, and a Presbyterian in religion. 
He is a member of the Phillipsburg board of trade, of Delaware Lodge, No. 52, Free 
and Accepted Masons, of New Jersey, and of Montana Lodge, No. 23, Knights of 



344 Warren County. 

Pythias. He married, December 14, 1898, Elizabeth Freda, daughter of John and 
Mary (Jones) Maurice. Children: Ellsworth Maurice, born November 8, 1899; 
Donald Jackson, July 20, . 1901 ; Nelson Clifford, November 20, 1904. 



John Griffith, the first member of this family of whom we have defi- 
GRIFFITH nite information, was bom November 19, 1736, died August 23, 1805. 
He was a resident of.,Rahway, in 1776. The Griffith family is of 
Welsh origin. A large number of its American members, including this John and two 
at least of his descendants have been physicians; others have been lawyers. One of 
the American Griffiths was among the signers of the Declaration of Independence. 
John Griffith was one of the incorporators of the Medical Society of New Jersey, 
which is the oldest organization of this kind in the United States. He succeeded to 
the practice of his brother-in-law. Dr. Stephen Camp. Dr. Griffith married Elizabeth, 
daughter of Nathaniel Camp. Children: Thomas, born in 1765, died in December, 
1799; William, referred to below; John; Nathaniel; Lydia, married Abraham Clark; 
another daughter. 

(II) William, son of John arid Elizabeth (Camp) Griffith, was born in 1766, died 
June 7, 1826. He was a lawyer of high eminence and had a large practice, being 
greatly reputed as an advocate. He also wrote a number of excellent legal and his- 
torical works. He was an active opponent of slavery. He was, in 1820, a prominent 
member of the house of assembly, active in the revision of the state laws made in 
that year. Other positions held by him were those of United States circuit court 
judge, and at the very end of his life clerk of the supreme court of the United States. 
It has been said of him that he stood at the head of the bar. Among his children was 
James V., referred to below. 

(III) James V., son of William Griffith, died in 1883. He was a farmer of Mon- 
mouth county. He married Sarah P. WooUey, of English and Dutch descent. Among 
their ten children were: Martha; Sarah; Jacob; Hattie, married Charles Atwood; 
Clara, married Bruce Gordon; William A.; James Percival; John Henry, referred to 
below. 

(IV) John Henry, son of James V. and Sarah P. (WooUey) Griffith, was born 
at Wain's - Mills, Monmouth county. New Jersey, July 3, 1842. Although spending 
much of his time in early life in assisting his father in the management of the farm, 
he attended the common schools, the New Jersey Classical and Scientific Institute, 
Hightstown, and Pennington Seminary. After teaching school successfully for seven 
years, he commenced the study of medicine with Dr. Charles Bartolette, of Milford, 
New Jersey, in 1866; after his death he continued his studies, at the same place, with 
Dr. George T. Ribble. In the winters of 1866-67, 1867-68, he attended lectures at the 
Bellevue Hospital Medical College, New York. March 12, 1870, he graduated at 
Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia. From 1870 he has continuously resided in 
Phillipsburg, where he soon acquired an excellent practice. He succeeded Dr. John- 
son as reporter in the district medical society and has been a delegate to the state 
medical society. Dr. Griffith has kept in touch with the leading men of his profession, 
and was city physician in 1871. Despite his large practice he has been a public-spirited 
citizen in lines outside of his profession. Every local enterprise and every proposed 
new industry enlists his influence and he has devoted much thought and work to 
causes which he has deemed worthy. He was in 1880 one of the committee who wrote 
the history of the medical men of Warren county and devoted considerable efforts 
to preserving the memories of sons of the earlier and later physicians. Local history 
is to him a matter of great interest. He has been for years a member of the New 
Jersey Historical Society, and is an authority on state history. His private library in- 
cludes the records of sixteen out of the twenty-one counties in this state, beside much 



Warren County. 345 

other historical material, local and national. He was secretary of the committee to 
obtain funds for a monument in Phillipsburg in memory of the soldiers and sailors of 
the civil war. Dr. Griffith is also one of the three trustees of the Standard Silk Mills, 
which employs nine hundred persons. He has been mayor of Phillipsburg. In 1897 
he was appointed one of the pension examiners for the fourth congressional district. 
He is past grand master of the Grand Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
of New Jersey, and was elected in 1897 chairman of the judiciary committee of the 
Grand Lodge; past chancellor of the Knights of Pythias and a member of the uni- 
form rank; past regent and medical examiner of the Royal Arcanum. He is president 
of the board of trustees of the Westminster Presbyterian Church. 

Dr. Griffith married, August 28, 1869, Ella K., daughter of William and Susanna 
(Knight) Knowles. One of her Knight ancestors came to this country with William 
Penn. Originally a Quaker, Mrs. Griffith has become a member of the Westminster 
Presbyterian Church. She is very active in religious work, and is president of the 
Women's Christian Temperance Union of Phillipsburg. 



Alexander McCammon, the founder of this family, was born in 
McCAMMON Scotland, and came with his two brothers to this country, after the 

death of their parents. He settled near Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, 
in Northampton county, as a farmer. His brother, John, settled in Bucks county, 
Pennsylvania, and the other brother, Daniel, who spelled the name McAlmond, set- 
tled in New York state, and all his descendants now live in Kansas and Arkansas. 
Alexander married a woman whose surname was Kliandupe. Children : Samuel, 
referred to below; Daniel; Elizabeth; Anna; Susan; Sarah. All are now deceased. 

(II) Samuel, son of Alexander and (Kliandupe) McCammon, was born 

in Monroe county, Pennsylvania, September 30, 1812, died February 6, 1895. He was 
a farmer, owning several farms, one in Mt. Bethel, Northampton county, Pennsyl- 
vania, one near Belvidere, in Warren county. New Jersey, one at Pen Argyle, 
Pennsylvania, one at Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, and another at Stone Church, North- 
ampton county, Pennsylvania, which was his last place of residence. In addition he 
was a carpenter and contractor and a good mechanic. He and his family were mem- 
bers of the Reformed church, and he was for many years deacon and a member of 
the consistory. As long as the Whig party existed he was a Whig; afterward he was 
a Democrat. In Northampton county he served as county commissioner and assessor, 
and at one time he was captain of a military company. He is buried at Three 
Churches, Mt. Bethel township, Northampton county, Pennsylvania. He married 
Susan Muffley, born September 21, 1810, died February 8, 1893. She was connected 
with the Keller family. Children: Aaron, referred to below; Lucy Ann, widow of 
Alexander Hahne; Caroline; John; Elizabeth; Maria. 

(III) Aaron, son of Samuel and Susan (Muffley) McCammon, was bom in 
Northampton county, Pennsylvania, June 22, 1843. He was educated in the public 
schools and Belvidere Academy, and spent his early life on the farm. Having com- 
pleted his education, he taught school for about four years. He next accepted a posi- 
tion as clerk in a leather and shoe finding store at Easton, where he remained one 
year, then going to Belvidere he became a clerk in Loder & Wade's general store, 
which position he kept for three years. In 1869 he went into the hardware business 
for himself, at Belvidere; he left this position in 189S to take part in the organization 
of the Warren County National Bank of Belvidere, of which he was made cashier. 
He was also one of the organizers of the Second National Bank of Phillipsburg. 
Being made cashier of this bank, he resigned the position at Belvidere, but his resig- 
nation was not accepted, and for some time he was the cashier of each of these banks. 
He is still cashier of the Second National Bank of Phillipsburg, having held this posi- 



346 Warren County. 

tion continuously since its organization. Mr. McCammon is a Democrat, rather inde- 
pendent, however, and not strongly partizan. He has served two terms in the town 
council of Belvidere, and at one time was a member of the Knights of Pythias. He 
first joined the Reformed church, at Stone Church, Pennsylvania, and when he came 
to Belvidere united with the First Presbyterian Church, and since 1881 has served as 
an elder, having held this office longer than any other person on the board to-day. 
He married (first), November 24, 1868, Clara Virginia, daughter of Isaac and 
Sarah (Grim) Reich, who was born September 17, 1850, died December 29, 1906. She 
was a descendant of Baron Steuben. She was an earnest member of the First Pres- 
byterian Church, and always actively interested in its .work. She and her son are 
buried at Belvidere. Mr. McCammon married (second), June i, 1910, Bertha, daugh- 
ter of Henry Killiarv They reside on East Water* street, Belvidere. Child of Aaron 
and Clara Virginia (Reich) McCammon, a son, born April 25, 1871, died May 30, 1874. 



The first member of this family of whom we have definite information 
ASHMORE is an Ashmore who married Jane Swangle. Children: Sally; Maria; 
Jane; Nancy; CorneHa; John; William, referred to below; Henry; 
Isaac Snowden; Thomas. 

(II) Captain William Ashmore, son of and Jane (Swangle) Ashmore, was 

born in Trenton, New Jersey, in 1804, died at the age of eighty-five. He was a man 
of considerable prominence and followed the life of a sailor constantly until he retired. 
At one time he was a captain of a sailing vessel plying between New Brunswick and 
New York. During the civil war, he was in the service of the government and trans- 
ported troops by the James river to Richmond, Virginia. In his early days he was a 
Democrat, but he afterward affiliated with the Republican party. He was a member of 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. Captain Ashmore married Frances Dear, 
daughter of Clark and Mary (Guild) Chambers, who was born at Antrim, Ireland, 
died in Trenton in 1747, at the age of seventy. He came to America about 1730, and 
built a mud house on the northeast corner of Second and Quarry streets, now State 
and Willow streets, Trenton. Alexander, one of his sons, born in Ireland in 1716, 
died in Trenton, September 16, 1798, was the father of Colonel David Chambers, who 
was born in 1748, and died in 1842. Colonel David Chambers was in active service 
during almost the entire revolutionary war, first serving as colonel of the Third Hun- 
terdon Regiment, and afterwards as colonel of the Second Regiment. Clark Chambers, 
his son, bom in December, 1782, married Mary, daughter of John and Abigail (Howell) 
Guild, who was born November 17, 1784. When Lafayette revisited the United States, 
in 1824, he was greeted at Trenton by a chorus of twenty-four young women, repre- 
senting the states then in the union, who, marching in front of the great procession, 
strewed flowers in his path and sang patriotic songs. Frances Dear Chambers repre- 
sented in this chorus the state of Maine. Of those who took part in this demonstration, 
she was the last survivor. She recalled vividly, until within a few days of her death, 
the circumstances of Lafayette's visit and often repeated his cheering remarks to the 
members of the chorus. This historic event was recalled in connection with Mrs. 
Ashmore's death by the State Gazette of Trenton, which also reproduced a beautiful 
portrait of Mrs. Ashmore. She was a lifelong member of the Presbyterian church and 
for sixty years consecutively held the same pew. Children of William and Frances 
Dear (Chambers) Ashmore: Henry, now deceased, married Mary Rowley, and lived 
in Easton, Pennsylvania; Mary, now deceased, married John I. Kinsey, of Easton, 
Pennsylvania; Jennie, who resides in Brooklyn, New York; William Alexander, re- 
ferred to below; Fannie C, married John J. Sager, of Brooklyn, New York; Emma F., 
died at the age of ten years. 

(III) William Alexander, son of WiUiam and Frances Dear (Chambers) Ash- 



Warren County. 347 

more, was born in New Brunswick, New Jersey, June 28, 1840. When he was two 
' years old his parents returned to Trenton and he was educated in the public schools 
and academy of that city. At the age of fifteen he began to make his own livelihood, 
working first as a clerk. A few years later he accepted a position as clerk in the state 
house, under Governor Charles S. Olden. Having held this position for three years, 
he enlisted in Company A, National Guard, of Trenton. Lee's invasion of Pennsyl- 
vania had caused the governor of that state to ask assistance from adjoining states. 
Mr. Ashmore, with others, enlisted June 17, 1863, and served to July 16, 1863. The 
company was sent to Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, then was stationed at Peter's Moun- 
tains, near Duncannon, Pennsylvania, for the period of their enlistment. In Novem- 
ber of the same year, Mr. Ashmore went to Easton, Pennsylvania, in the employment 
of the Central Railroad of New Jersey. He was ticket agent at Easton for eight years, 
after which he assumed charge of the freight and transfer department office in Phillips- 
burg. Mr. Ashmore was retired May i, 1910, on a pension by the Central Railroad of 
New Jersey. He is one of the most esteemed citizens of Phillipsburg, and the mem- 
bers of his family have all been a credit to the family which they represent. They are 
Presbyteriaijs and attend the First Presbyterian Church of Phillipsburg. ■ Mr. Ashmore 
now resides at No. 91 South Main street, having purchased this house in 1895 from 
Matilda McCrystal and her husband Michael, of Philadelphia. He is past master of 
Easton Lodge, No. 152, Free and Accepted Masons; past high priest of Easton Chap- 
ter, No. 173; past eminent commander of Hugh de Payen's Commandery, No. 19; and 
a member of John G. Tolmie Post, No. 50, Grand Army of the Republic. 

He married, January 3, 1872, Alice, daughter of Adam and Rachel (Arnold) Reese. 
Children: I. WilHam Reese, born March 17, 1874, lives at home and is a flagman in 
the employ of the Pennsylvania railroad, running between Phillipsburg and Trenton. 
2. Rachel, born December 28, 1880, graduated in 1898 from the high school, and taught 
for eight years in the schools of Phillipsburg; married Samuel O. Kleinhans, and re- 
sides at Easton, Pennsylvania. 



The Herbert family has been identified with New Jersey from the 
HERBERT earliest times of the colony's history. Francis Herbert, the first of 
the family in Monmouth county, is claimed to have been a grandson 
or great-grandson of Philip, fourth earl of Pembroke, England. His mother, Bridget 
Herbert, and himself, and possibly one or more brothers were in Monmouth before 
1671. It is possible that his father's name was Walter Herbert, and that Walter Her- 
bert who was licensed in New York to marry Mary Barnes, August 14, 1678, was his 
older brother. Francis Herbert died in 1719. He married Hannah, daughter of John 
Bowne; children: Thomas, Francis, Samuel, Obadiah, referred to below, Elizabeth, 
Bridget, Mary. 

(II) Obadiah, son of Francis and Hannah (Bowne) Herbert, married, m 1729, 
Hannah, daughter of William Lawrence. Children : Obadiah, married, in 1765, Eliza- 
beth Warne; John, married, in 1749, Elizabeth Smyth; William; Francis; Richard, 
married, in 1767, Mary Seabrook; Felix, married, in 1778, Catharine Carr; Hannah, 
married! in 1769, James Whitlock; Ruth, died in 1795 or 1796, unmarried. 

(IV) John Herbert, probably son of one of the above-mentioned sons of Obadiah 
and Hannah (Lawrence) Herbert, was born about 1765 or 1766, died at the age of 
ninety-three years. He settled in Bound Brook, Somerset county. New Jersey, where 
he became a well-to-do farmer, owning a plantation of one hundred and sixty-three 
acres and twenty slaves, one of whom, named Peggy, was the nurse to three genera- 
tions of his family and was over a century old when she died. He gave the land for 
the first schoolhouse in his locality, and erected a mill which was operated by his son 
for many years after his death. In religion he was a Presbyterian, The name of his 



348 Warren County. 

first wife is unknown, he married (second) Jane , who survived him about three 

years and died aged about ninety years. Children: Julia, married John Vanderveer; 

Phebe, married Vanderbilt ; a daughter, married Post; John, referred to 

below; Sarah, married Burr Tucker. 

(V) John (2), son of John (i) and Jane Herbert, was born in Bound Brook, 
Somerset county. New Jersey, in 1814, died in 1886. He received a common school 
education, inherited the old homestead, and learned the trade of a miller. About 1861 
he purchased two grain mills and a sawtnill at Bloomsbury, which he operated in addi- 
tion to the one bequeathed to him by his father, and although the sawmill was burnt 
down, he ran the grain mills until 1883, when he sold them and retired from active 
business. Mr. Herbert was mainly instrumental in the establishment of the first bank 
at Bound Brook, and for a long time was one of the directors of the Somerset County 
Bank at Somerville, New Jersey. He was a Democrat in politics and a Presbyterian 
in religion. He married (first) Mary Ann Fields, who was born at Raritan, New 
Jersey, and died a comparatively young woman about 1856. He married (second) 
Widow Mary Rippleys, and (third) Anna Hance, who survives him and is now (1910) 
living at Freehold, New Jersey. Children, all by first marriage: i. John, born Feb- 
ruary 13, 1847, living at Dunellen, New Jersey, a conductor, running between Phillips- 
burg and Jersey City, on the Central Railroad of New Jersey. 2. Sarah, married 
William L. Wert, of Bound Brook. 3. William Fields, referred to below. 4. Mary, 
married William Kilpatrick, of Newark, New Jersey. 5. Jane, died in infancy. 6. 
Henry G., living at Bound Brook, and cashier of the National Bank there. 

(VI) William Fields, son of John (2) and Mary Ann (Fields) Herbert, was born 
on the old homestead in Bound Brook, and is now living in Phillipsburg, New Jersey. 
He received his early education in the little school erected on the land given for that 
purpose by his grandfather, and later graduated from the Bound Brook Seminary. 
He learned the trade of miller and for a time operated several mills. In 1881 he gave 
up the milling business in order to learn railroading, and secured a position as fireman 
with the Central Railroad of New Jersey. Two years later he was promoted from a 
freight to a passenger run and after nine years of this work he was promoted again to 
the position of freight and extra passenger engineer. This position he held from 1892 
to 1907, running between Phillipsburg and Jersey City, and then resigned to become 
engineer for one of the locomotives of the Vulcanite Cement Company, at Vulcanite, 
New Jersey. Mr. Herbert's home, which is one of the picturesque sights of Phillips- 
burg, was erected by him ini 1893, on the corner of Chambers and Bennett streets, 
where one can obtain a most magnificent view of the surrounding country with the 
Delaware and Lehigh Valley rivers winding through it like glistening ribbons, and the 
city of Easton nestling in the valley just across the state line. Mr. Herbert is assistant 
secretary of Excelsior Lodge, No. 11, United States Brotherhood of Firemen and Engi- 
neers, a member of Bethlehem Lodge, No. 140, Free and Accepted Masons, of Blooms- 
bury, New Jersey, and being admitted in 1875 is now the oldest member in the lodge. 
He is also a member of Eagle Chapter, No. 30, of Phillipsburg, and of DeMolay Com- 
mandery. No. 6, of Washington, New Jersey. He is a Republican in politics and a 
Presbyterian in religion. He married, February 30, 1869, Maria S., daughter of John 
R. and Mary (Mundy) Parsells, of Asbury Park, New Jersey. Children: i. William, 
referred to below. 2. Mary F., born September 31, 1872. 3. Charles, born March 16, 
1875, married LilHe Bowers, and lives at Hackettstown, a United States railway mail 
clerk on the Lackawanna railroad. 4. Edgar, born August 4, 1876, married Anna, 
daughter of Evan Buckman, living at Easton, Pennsylvania. 5. Frederick, born July 
14, 1881, married Eva Major, living in Phillipsburg, Pennsylvania. 

(VII) WilHam, son of William Fields and Maria S. (Parsells) Herbert, was born 
at Bound Brook, New Jersey, June 29, 1870, and is now living in Phillipsburg, New 



Warren County. 349 

Jersey. He received his education in the public schools, and in May, 1887, entered the 
employ of the Central Railroad of New Jersey, as a wiper in the roundhouse at 
Phillipsburg. Eighteen months later he received his promotion as fireman, his first 
regular run being with Engineer Kelley, on the freight between Phillipsburg and Rock- 
away, New Jersey, and later between Jersey City and Scranton, Pennsylvania. In 
October, 1902, he was promoted engineer, and after running an extra engine for six 
years, he was put on the fast evening freight between Jersey City and Phillipsburg. 
His present run is between Jersey City and Tamanend, Schuylkill county, Pennsyl- 
vania. He is a Democrat in politics but not an active one, and a Presbyterian in relig- 
ion. He is a member of Malaska Council, Junior Order of American Mechanics, and 
Division No. 30, Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers. He married, April 15, 1891, 
Mary, daughter of David and Anna (Hackett) Neighbor. Child: William David, 
born November 2, 1896, a student in the Phillipsburg schools. 



Jacob Shafer, the first member of this family of whom we have definite 

SHAFER information, was a soldier in the war of 1812, and a blacksmith. He 

died in 1848, aged over eighty years. Of his seven children, Solomon died 

young; Frederick is referred to below; John removed to Wisconsin, and Jacob to Ohio. 

(H) Frederick, son of Jacob Shafer, was born in Forks township, Northampton 
county, Pennsylvania, July 5, 1803, died February 3, 1890. He was a farmer, a Demo- 
crat and a member of the Reformed church. He was active in local politics and served 
as a member of the county poor board, and as a school director. He was also a mem- 
ber of the building committee of the Reformed church where he lived. He married 
Elizabeth, daughter of Samuel Paul, of Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, and later 
of Monroe county, Pennsylvania, who was born January 8, 1805, died June 2, 1863. 
Children : i. Mary, married John P. Wilauer. 2. John, born in 1829, died in 1909. 
3. Samuel, born November 30, 1830, died in 1895. 4. Hannah, born in September, 1832, 
died in 1895, married Jackson Snyder, of Forks township. 5. Elizabeth, born in Au- 
gust, 1834, died in 1898; married Hiram Messinger. 6. Sovina, born in September, 
1836, died in January, 1900; married Edmond Engler. 7. Sophia, born November 12, 
1838, died in May, 1904; married Henry Thompson. 8. Frederick, referred to below. 
9. Eliza, born in August, 1846, died in May, 1903; married David Brown. 10. Sarah 
Amanda, married Edmond Bowers. 11. Emma, born in 1848, married Frederick Miller. 

(HI) Frederick (2), son of Frederick (i> and Elizabeth (Paul) Shafer, was born 
September 27, 1840, and is now living in the suburbs of Easton, Pennsylvania. He re- 
ceived his education in the public schools, and after working on the farm for a while 
apprenticed himself at the age of twenty to Nathan Hutters, in order to learn the trade 
of miller. Three years later he and his brother John leased the mill from Mr. Hutters 
and ran it in partnership for two years. Mr. Shafer then went west for a while, but 
soon returned and obtained employment as a miller, with the firm of Armstrong, Baum 
& Company, of Philadelphia. Three years later he became partner in the milling busi- 
ness with Charles Mann, and after seven years of joint prosperity he dissolved the 
partnership in order to take charge of the mill of Jacob Walters, which he managed 
successfully for eighteen years. He then purchased a farm of fifty acres which he oper- 
ated for thirteen years more, selling out in 1909 to Edmond Frazee, and building his 
present home at Bushkill Park, Forks township, just outside the limits of Easton, Penn- 
sylvania. He has been deacon in the Reformed church for three years and an elder for 
six. He is a Democrat in politics, and has served as supervisor of his township. He 
married (first) in November, 1868, Augusta, daughter of Samuel and Elizabeth Flight, 
who was born in 1848, died in 1875. He married (second) Emma E-, daughter of 
George P. and Susan Heller, who was born August 10, 1855. Children, four by first 
marriage: l. Frederick, born in 1870, married Violet Segerfried. 2. Eliza, born in 



350 Warren County. 

1871, married Jacob R. Walter, of Easton, Pennsylvania. 3. Emma, born in May, 
1873, married George I. Davidson. 4. Oscar Wilbur, referred to below. 5. Floyd R., 
born June 20, 1886, a graduate of Lafayette College, the Eastern Theological Seminary, 
and in August, 1910, was called to take charge of the church built by his grandfather. 
6. Mattie Matilda, born September 20, 1887. 7. Stewart Heller, born February 6, 1889. 
8. Norman Glide, born June 12, i8go. 

(IV) Oscar Wilbur, son of Frederick (2) and Augusta (Flight) Shafer, was 
born January 7, 1875, and is now living in Phillipsburg, New Jersey, where he is one 
of the progressive business men of the town, highly spoken of by his fellow citizens as 
a man of integrity and ability. He was educated in the public schools of Easton, and 
while still a young boy served his apprenticeship to the trade of baker, in the shops of 
the Etchman bakery in Nazareth borough and Easton, Pennsylvania. In 1898 he set- 
tled in Phillipsburg, and for ten years conducted for himself a large bakery, enjosring 
a good patronage and being very successful. In the spring of 1910, having sold his 
bakery, he entered into partnership with Charles B. Sharp, to conduct a brokerage 
business in stocks and bonds. Mr. Shafer is always ready to help in any cause that 
will promote the interests of the community in which he lives. He is a Democrat in 
politics and has served on the school board as a representative of the fourth ward of 
the city. In religion he is a member of the Reformed church. He married, July 31, 
1897, Emma Malinda Stipe. Child: Grace Eva, died aged one month. 



Michael Cox, the first member of this family of whom we have definite in- 
COX formation, lives at 214 Mercer street, Phillipsburg. He married Teresa 

Commiskey. Among their children is Edward Joseph, referred to below. 
Edward Joseph, son of Michael and Teresa (Commiskey) Cox, was born March 
14, 1883. He attended the public schools and St. Catharine's Academy, Phillipsburg, 
and at the age of fourteen entered the employment of Rader Brothers, at Easton, and 
was a clerk in their store for about eighteen months. Then he entered the employ- 
ment of the Standard Silk Company, with whom he remained for over nine years, 
being timekeeper and foreman in their factory, and on March i, 1908, he purchased 
the hardware store of M. T. Hagerty, at Phillipsburg, which is one of the largest and 
finest in Warren county, and his business is large. Mr. Cox is a highly respected citi- 
zen and a capable business man. He believes in the principles of the Democratic'party 
but he is not an office-seeker. He is a member of St. Philip's and St. James' Roman 
Catholic Church at Phillipsburg. He is a member of Warren Council, No. 474, Knights 
of Columbus; and a director in the Building and Loan Company, No. 6, of Phillips- 
burg. Mr. Cox married, June 3, 1908, Edith F., daughter of Frank and Eva (Waidner) 
Trunk, who was born in South Easton, Pennsylvania. Child: Frances T., born May 
50, 1909. 

John Reading, the founder of this family, emigrated to New Jersey 
READING with his wife and two children about 1685 or 1687, and settled in what 

was then known as the second or London tenth, because it belonged to 
the London company. When the town and township of Gloucester were laid out Mr. 
Reading became the owner of some fifty lots, besides many acres in the town, and 
about twelve hundred acres in the township. Adjoining him were six hundred acres 
belonging to Daniel Reading, who is supposed to have been his brother. Later on Mr. 
Reading sold much of this land and made purchases of large tracts in Amwell, Hun- 
terdon county. He represented Gloucester county in the council in 1687-88, was ap- 
pointed recorder of deeds and surveys, and was clerk and recorder of Gloucester 
county from 1695 to 1701. Desiring to give his children a better education than it was 
possible for them to obtain in New Jersey at that time, he sent them in charge of his 



Warren County. 351 

wife to England, where they remained for nine years. Shortly after their return the 
family removed to Howell's Ferry or Mount Amwell. In 1707 he again represented 
Gloucester county in the provincial council, and at one time he and two others were 
employed as agents to pay the Indian chiefs, Coponokous and Nemhammoc, the bal- 
ance due on certain purchases of land and to buy additional tracts. He died in 1713 
and is buried in the grounds of the Buckingham Monthly Meeting, Bucks county, 

Pennsylvania. He married Elizabeth . Children: John, referred to below; 

Elsie. 

(II) John (2), son of John (i) and Elizabeth Reading, was bom in England 
about 1685, died in Amwell, Hunterdon county. New Jersey, November 7, 1767. He 
is buried in the yard of the Presbyterian church of Amwell, and about thirty years 
ago, two of his descendants, John G. Reading, of Philadelphia, and Franklin Read- 
ing, of Williamsport, Pennsylvania, erected over his grave a handsome monument of 
Quincy granite. John Reading, Jr., or as he is more generally known. Governor John 
Reading, has very often been confused with his father, the most important error occur- 
ring in the Rev. George Mott's valuable "History of the Flemington Church," in 
which he states that the commissioner to run the state line between New York and 
New Jersey was John Reading Sr. The error in this statement is shown in a letter 
of James Logan to Colonel Daniel Coxe, in which he says, "The commissioners for 
running the line June 27th, 1 719, are Joseph Kirkbride and John Reading Jr.," adding 
in parentheses, "Ye old man is deceased." Governor John Reading made many large 
purchases of land himself, and inheriting most of his father's Amwell property, he 
became one of the largest landed proprietors in that region. Like his father he was a 
surveyor, a distinguished and profitable profession in the early days of the colonies, 
and was a man not only of great influence, largely concerned in the active manage- 
ment of public affairs, but also a man whose piety prompted to deeds of judicious 
beneficence. At the close of the year 1713, after the death of his father, and to supply 
his place he was appointed a member of the governor's council, an office which he 
held until his own death. In 1746, being the senior councillor, he succeeded in the 
management of government affairs. President Hamilton, the successor of Lewis 
Morris, first governor of New Jersey, after the separation of that province from New 
York. Again, by the death of Governor Jonathan Belcher, Mr. Reading, as president 
of the council was a second time called upon to act as governor. He was one of the 
earliest trustees of the College of New Jersey, now Princeton University, and his 
name is first on the list. 

He married, in 1720, Mary, daughter of Joris (i. e. George) and Ann (Schoute) 
Ryerson, of Pequannock, Passaic county. New Jersey, who died April 17, 1774, aged 
seventy-eight years. Children : John, born in 1722, died in 1766, married Isabella 
Montgomery; George, 1725, died in 1792, married and was father of Major Samuel 
Reading of the revolution; Daniel, 1727, died in 1768, married Ephraim Reid, and was 
the ancestor of Brigadier-General William Reading, of the Mexican and civil wars; 
Joseph, referred to below; Richard, 1732, died about 1781, with his wife, Catharine, 
removed to Long Island; Thomas, 1734, died in 1814, married Rebecca Ellis, was a 
captain during the revolution and took part in the operations before Quebec in 1776; 
Ann, married the Rev. Charles Beatty; Mary, married the Rev. William Mills, of 
Jamaica, Long Island; Elizabeth, married John Hackett, of Hackettstown, New Jer- 
sey; Samuel, bom 1741, died in 1749. 

(III) Joseph, son of Governor John (2) and Mary (Ryerson) Reading, was born 
in Amwell, Hunterdon county. New Jersey, in 1728, died before 1806, when his will 
was proven. He was commissioned captain of a company of colonial militia by Gov- 
ernor Belcher, and in 1776 was appointed judge of the court of common pleas. He 
married Amy Pierson. Children: William, referred to below; John, married Mary 



352 Warren County. 

Harrison, of Princeton, was a first lieutenant at the battle of Quebec ; Joseph married 
Lucy Emley and was father of Anna Reading, who married Elisha Reading, referred 
to below; Samuel, married (first) Ellen Anderson and (second) Susan Rittenhouse; 
Pierson, married Mary Gaw; Amy, married Cornelius Harrison; Sarah, married 
Finchen Helens; Elizabeth, married Samuel Boyle; Nancy, died unmarried; Theo- 
docia, died unmarried; Rebecca, married John Anderson; Mary, died unmarried. 

(IV) William, son of Joseph and Amy (Pierson) Reading, was born and died 
in Hunterdon county. New Jersey. He married Nancy Emley. Children : Elisha, 
referred to below; Joseph, married Nancy Doyl; Asher, married Margaret Wolverton; 
William, married Elizabeth Sergeant ; George. 

(V) Elisha, son of William and Nancy (Emley) Reading, was born in Fleming- 
ton, Hunterdon county. New Jersey, died in Rosemont, in the same county, aged be- 
tween seventy and eighty years. He was a farmer in Hunterdon county all his life 
and a Whig in politics. He married his first cousin, Anna, daughter of Joseph and 
Lucy (Emley) Reading, referred to above, who died in Rosemont, Hunterdon county. 
New Jersey, aged about seventy-five years. She was a Methodist in religion. Chil- 
dren: William; Anastasia; Joseph; Lucy E., married Thomas Comly; George Jack- 
son, referred to below. 

(VI) George Jackson, son of Elisha and Anna (Reading) Reading, was born 
in Rosemont, Hunterdon county. New Jersey, September 19, 1815, was killed in an 
accident on a railroad he was helping to build at Raven Rock, New Jersey, November 
IS, 1881. After being educated in the public schools, he took to railroading, working 
at first for the Belvidere and Delaware railroad and later for the Pennsylvania rail- 
road. He .at first assisted in surveying and railroad construction and afterward be- 
came foreman of the Belvidere division of the Pennsylvania railroad system. He was 
a Republican in politics. He married Elizabeth Case, daughter of Benjamin and 
Susan Swallow, of Hunterdon county. New Jersey, who was born in Rosemont and 
died in Stockton, New Jersey, aged ninety-one years. She was of German descent 
and she and her husband attended the Baptist church of which Mr. Reading was for 
many years a deacon. Her father was a farmer of Hunterdon county, and died at 
Rosemont, aged seventy-eight years'. Children of Benjamin and Susan Swallow: 
Charles R. ; John W.; William R.; Elizabeth Case, referred to above; Mary A.; Mar- 
tha R., now living; Tacy M. ; Bartolette. Children of George Jackson and Elizabeth 
Case (Swallow) Reading: Emily G., deceased; Thomas C, deceased; Richard B., 
deceased; Bartolette B., living at Mauch Chunk, Pennsylvania; George Henry, re- 
ferred to below; Horace M., living at Stockton, New Jersey. 

(VII) George Henry, son of George Jackson and Elizabeth Case (Swallow) 
Reading, was born at Raven Rock, Hunterdon county. New Jersey, July 20, 1852, 
and is now living at Phillipsburg, Warren county, New Jersey. He spent his early 
life at Raven Rock and received his early education in the district schools after which 
he took to railroading. He began his career June i, 1869, as water boy to one of the 
section gangs and rose to the position of track foreman, afterward he became a brake- 
man in the passenger service, and August i, 1896, he was promoted to passenger con- 
ductor on the Belvidere & Delaware railroad, a position he has held ever since. He is 
a Republican in politics and a Presbyterian in religion. He is also a member and 
past master of Orpheus Lodge,, No. 137, Free and Accepted Masons, of Stockton, New 
Jersey. He married, April 28, 1878, Mary Ellen, daughter of Cornelius Keys, who 
was born in Baltimore, Maryland, September 27, 1854. She was the only child of her 
father who was a boiler-maker, and died at the age of sixty-eight years. Children of 
George Henry and Mary Ellen (Keys) Reading: i. Thomas C, born January 22, 
1879; living at Darien, Connecticut, and a train dispatcher on the New York, New 
Haven & Hartford railroad; married Adelaide Waterbury; they have one child, Doro- 



Warren County. 353 

thy Waterbury, born April 29, 191 1. 2. Elizabeth May, bom June 29, 1881, unmarried. 
3. Herbert Jackson, born August 24, 1883, chief clerk to the yardmaster of the Penn- 
sylvania railroad at Phillipsburg, New Jersey, and sergeant of Company I, Thirteenth 
Regiment, Pennsylvania National Guard. 4. Bartolette S., of whom further. 5. Helen 
G., born June i, 1893. 

(VIII) Bartolette S., son of George Henry and Mary Ellen (Keyes) Reading, 
was born June 29, 1886. He was one of the organizers of the Easton Knitting Mills 
Company, of which he is treasurer, the other members of the company being: A. J. 
Bowers, president; F. B. McAlee, vice-president, and O. Paul Kaffke, secretary. The 
company was capitalized at $10,000 and later increased to $20,000. A charter was 
granted by the governor, April 15, 1910, and a tract of ground was purchased on 
Packer street. South Easton, where ■> three-story brick factory building was erected 
and equipped with modern machinery. The mill has been in operation a httle over 
a year and has a capacity of about six hundred dozen stockings a day; they manu- 
facture ladies' silk hosiery and the output is handled by a New York concern, ship- 
ments being made to all parts of the country. The plant is equipped with electric 
power, and gives employment to about twenty odd hands. In addition to this enter- 
prise, Mr. Reading is serving in the capacity of paying teller of the Northampton 
National Bank of Easton, Pennsylvania. 



John Seifert, the first member of this family of whom we have definite 
SEIFERT information, was a native of Bucks county, Pennsylvania, where he died 

about 1863. He was the descendant of a family of German origin, which 
had been settled in that county since 1748. His wife's name is unknown. His children 
were: Susan, married WilHam Shimer; Lucy, married Peter Vogel, of Bethlehem, 
Pennsylvania; a daughter, who married Frank Jacoby; Fietta, married William Mills; 
William, of South Bethlehem, Pennsylvania; Samuel, of Phillipsburg, New Jersey; 
David F., referred to below; Charles F., of South Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, the last 
named being the historian of the family. 

(II) David F., son of John Seifert, of Bucks county, Pennsylvania, was born on the 
old homestead, on which he also lived until his death, September 29, 1907. He was a 
farmer and a member of the Lutheran church. He was a Democrat in politics, and 
served as supervisor of his township. He was also a member of the Knights of 
Pythias and held many diff^erent offices in his lodge. He married Elizabeth, daughter 
of Samuel and Sarah Heffler, of Springfield, Pennsylvania, who died June i, 1884. 
Children: Silla, married Joseph Fredericks; Adaline, married Frank H. Wieder; 
Harvey A., referred to below; John, died aged six years; Amanda, died in infancy; 
George, living in Palmer township, Northampton county, Pennsylvania; Edwin, living 
in Palmer township, Northampton county; and Morris, living in Durham township, 
Bucks county, Pennsylvania. 

(III) Harvey A., son of David F. and Elizabeth (HefHer) Seifert, was born at 
Springtown, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, April 29, 1859, and is now living at Alpha, 
Warren county, New Jersey. He received his education in the public schools, and 
spent his boyhood days at Springtown. He was then apprenticed to a harness maker, 
and after serving his time followed the trade as a journeyman for nine years. For the 
next two years he found employment as a clerk in a store, and then taking up the 
carpenter's trade he pursued for fifteen years a successful and profitable occupation, 
working principally in Bucks and Northampton counties, Pennsylvania, and Warren 
county, New Jersey, and rising to the position of a general contractor. In 1898 he 
came to Alpha, at a time when most of the buildings were little more than hastily 
constructed shacks, and since then he has built here over one hundred dwellings, the 
school building, and a number of business blocks, besides different office and store 



354 Warren County. 

buildings. Besides his own residence, he owns ten dwellings, which he rents, and he 
has also other real estate interests in the town. He has always taken an interest in 
everything tending to improve the place, and was the prime mover in securing the 
erection here of the Alpha Silk Company's plant, which has just (1910) been finished, 
and which will give employment to over one hundred hands. July 30, 1901, he moved 
his family to Alpha, and made the place his permanent residence. Mr. Seifert is a 
Democrat in politics, and served for ene year as auditor of Durham township, Bucks 
county, Pennsylvania. Later he was elected justice of the peace for Pohatcong 
township, and has now been serving for more than seven years. He was a delegate to 
the Democratic congressional convention, held at Doylestown, Bucks county, Penn- 
sylvania, which nominated Congressman R. K. Bachman, and also to the convention 
which nominated Congressman James Martin and Mr. Katsenbach, September 20, 
1910, and was a delegate to the convention held at Elizabeth, New Jersey, which nomi- 
nated William E. Tuttle. The town of Alpha was incorporated May 31, 1911, and Mr. 
Seifert was elected its first mayor, June 22, following. He is a member of Prosperity 
Lodge, No. 567, Free and Accepted Masons, of Riegelsville, Pennsylvania; of Eagle 
Chapter, No. 3, Royal Arch Masons, of Phillipsburg, New Jersey, and of the Tall 
Cedars of Lebanon, of Phillipsburg. He is a member of the Lutheran church, in 
Durham, Pennsylvania. 

He married, in Durham, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, October 12, 1878, Mary E., 
daughter of James and Mary (McCuUough) Smith, of Catasauqua, Lehigh county, 
Pennsylvania, who was born there, March 25, 1856. Her father served in the civil war, 
and is now living at Mauch Chunk, Pennsylvania. Her mother is dead, and her 
brothers are John, James and Henry Smith. Children of Harvey A. and Mary E. 
(Smith) Seifert: Franklin Leo, born June 28, 1880, died aged eight months; Carry M., 
born June 7, 1884; Mary E., born July 20, 1890, died aged six years seven months; 
Stewart A., born October 9, 1894, now working in his father's office, in Alpha; and 
Charles A., born October 26, 1899. 



Joseph B. Hawk, the fi^rst member of this family of whom we have definite 
HAWK information, was born in Pohatcong township, Warren county, on the old 

homestead owned by his father, and lived in the county all his life. His 
father had once served as sheriff of the county. Joseph B. Hawk had two brothers, 
Philip and Godfrey; both were ministers of the Christian church. He had only one 
son, Jacob S., referred to below. 

(H) Jacob S., son of Joseph B. Hawk, was born in Pohatcong township, about 
1826, and died there, March 11, 1910. He was a lifelong resident of that place. In early 
life he was fireman in a grain distillery. He became in two years foreman of the plant 
and remained there thirteen years. He then bought back the homestead farm, which 
had been sold, and lived there the rest of his life. Mr. Hawk was greatly interested 
in religious, political and military affairs, and read extensively. He was an earnest 
member of the Christian church. By commission of Governor Olden, he organized a 
military company and was made its captain. As a staunch Democrat he served on the 
board of freeholders and on the school board, and was once township committeeman. 
He was many times sent as a delegate to county, state and national conventions of his 
party. He married (first) Elizabeth, daughter of Herbert Smith, who died at the age 
of about forty, and was the mother of all his children, and (second) late in Ufe, Sophia 
Winters. Children: Matilda, married Samuel D. Carpenter; Joseph H., referred to 
below ; Diana Z., now deceased, married Jacob L. Hawk ; Mary F., now deceased, mar- 
ried William Sherrer; Isaac Newton, now deceased; William S., now deceased; Sarah 
B., now deceased, married George E. Deleree; Mattie, now deceased, married James 
Holden; Minnie, married Samuel S. Warman; Elizabeth, married Herbert S. Painter; 
Flavius J., now deceased. 



Warren County. 355 

(III) Joseph H., son of Jacob S. and Elizabeth (Smith) Hawk, was oorn in 
Springtown, Warren county, New Jersey, October 12, 1848. After attending tf.e public 
schools of his native village, he took a course at Eastman's National Business College, 
at Easton, Pennsylvania, and completed his education at Poughkeepsie, New York. He 
was apprenticed to the carpenter trade with Henry Cooper, of Stewartsville, and, 
serving his time for three years, followed the trade for two years more. In 1878, he 
accepted a position at Springtown as assistant to the agent of the Central Railroad of 
New Jersey. In about three and one-half years he severed his connection with this 
company to take the position of station agent at Kennedy, New Jersey, for the Lehigh 
Valley Railroad, which position he held for the long period of twenty years. The 
station of Alpha was then established, and he was transferred to the same position at 
this new station. He has resided at Alpha since that time, a period of eight years. As 
soon as he became a resident of this place he purchased two dwellings, then being 
erected by the John H. Hagerty Lumber Company, and which he completed. He has 
also acquired other interests in the town. Mr. Hawk is a public-spirited citizen, ever 
ready to assist any movement that will help the town, and was one of the contributors 
to the church fund. He is a Democrat in politics, and has been very active in county, 
state and national affairs. He is a great admirer of William Jennings Bryan, and has 
been a strong supporter both of the late Senator Joseph B. Cornish, and of the present 
Senator Johnston Cornish. As many as fourteen times he has been a delegate to the 
Democratic gubernatorial and congressional conventions. His last service of this kind 
was at the convention in Elizabeth, September 20, 1910, which nominated William E. 
Tuttle for congress. He is a member of Bethlehem Lodge, No. 130, Free and Accepted 
Masons, of Bloomsbury, New Jersey. Formerly a member of the Christian church 
when he came to Alpha, where there is none of that denomination, Mr. Hawk united 
with St. James' Lutheran Church, his wife's congregation. 

Joseph H. Hawk married, in December, 1876, Emma R., daughter of Robert and 
Mary C. (Cox) Stamets, for whose ancestry see Peter M. Winter in index. Children: 
Laura M., married Eugene Weller, of Alpha; Beatrice A. 



Abraham Boyer, the first member of this family of whom we have definite 
BOYER information, is a native of Riegelsville, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, where 

he is at present residing. He is a well-to-do farmer, and the proprietor of 
the Glendon Furnaces, at Glendon, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, which he 
operated himself for many years, although he has now retired from active life. He is 
a member of the Dutch Reformed church, and a Democrat in politics. He married 
(first) Elizabeth Apple, and (second) Catharine Long, Child, by first marriage, Jacob 
Oscar, referred to below. By second marriage : Nevin, now deceased ; Esther, married 
P. H. Seipler; Edith Long, living with her father, unmarried. 

(II) Jacob Oscar, son of Abraham and Elizabeth (Apple) Boyer, was born in 
Riegelsville, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, about 1858, and died there, July 4, 190(3. He 
received his early education in the pubHc schools of Riegelsville, and then graduated 
from Myerstown College. After this he engaged in farming, being the possessor of 
two farms, one of thirty and the other of one hundred and forty acres of land. He 
was a member of the Dutch Reformed church, of Riegelsville, and a Democrat in 
politics, in which he took a great and active interest. He was township assessor for 
sixteen years, justice of the peace for more than twenty years, and was also com- 
missioner of deeds and a notary public. He was a member of the Junior United Order 
of American Mechanics, of Finesville, New Jersey, and of the Patriotic Order Sons of 
America, of Phillipsburg, New Jersey. He married Ida Henrietta, daughter of Adam 
and Lucinda (Miller) Stever, of Hunterdon county. New Jersey. Children: i. Eliza- 
beth May, born March 4, 1883; married Walter Randolph Perigo; children: Clyde B. 
and Cora Belle Perigo. She inherited from her father the thirty-acre farm at Spring- 



356 Warren County. 

ton, Warren county, New Jersey, and the family are now living there. 2. Harry 
Edgar, referred to below. 

(Ill) Harry Edgar, son of Jacob Oscar and Ida Henrietta (Stever) Boyer, was 
born at Hughesville, Hunterdon county, New Jersey, February 26, 1885, and is now 
living at Phillipsburg, New Jersey. He received his early education in the public 
schools of Finesville and Carpentersville, Warren county, New Jersey, and graduated 
from the Easton Business College in igoo. He then worked for about eighteen months 
at the trade of machinist with the IngersoU Rand Drill Company, and then, his father's 
health beginning to fail, he was obliged to return home and take charge of the farm. 
When his father died he inherited this, the hundred and forty-acre farm, mentioned 
above, and for four years longer he continued to manage it. In the spring of 1910 he 
removed to Greensbridge, a suburb of Phillipsburg, and leasing his farm established his 
present milk business. He has built himself a dwelling house which is second to none 
in the place, and besides owning several real estate properties there and in Alpha, he is 
a stockholder in the Easton National Bank. He is a Democrat in politics, and since 
1906 has served as assessor of his township. He is a member of Bethlehem Lodge, No. 
124, Free and Accepted Masons, of Bloomsbury, New Jersey, and of the Patriotic 
Order Sons of America, of Phillipsburg, New Jersey. In religion he was a member 
of the Dutch Reformed church, of Riegelsville, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, and is 
now a member of the Phillipsburg Presbyterian church. 

He married, March 11, 1908, Luella Mae, daughter of Franklin Pierce and Eliza- 
beth (Worman) Myers, of Bloomsbury, Hunterdon county. New Jersey, who was born 
there, April 20, 1885. She was educated in the public schools of Bloomsbury, Good 
Springs and Stewartsville, and then up to the time of her marriage taught school at 
Brotzmansville, Pahaquarry township ; at the Hicks school, Franklin township, and at 
the Asbury school, all in Warren county. Her father, who was born at Good Springs, 
Warren county. New Jersey, is a farmer living about two miles from Stewartsville, on 
a well-stocked farm of ninety acres of land. He is a Republican in politics, and has 
served as committeeman and was trustee of schools for Franklin township. He is a 
Presbyterian in religion, and a member of Bethlehem Lodge, No. 124, Free and 
Accepted Masons, of Bloomsbury, New Jersey. 

He married Elizabeth, daughter of Peter and Elizabeth (Beers) Worman. Chil- 
dren: Charles S. (Myers); Martha Agnes (Myers); Luella Mae (Myers), referred 
to above; J. Edward (Myers); Bessie Kathryn (Myers); Frank Albert (Myers). 

Godfrey Insley, the first member of this family of whom we have definite 
INSLEY information, was born in New Jersey, and died March 5, 1864. He was 

descendant of Christopher Insley, a lieutenant in the British army in the 
revolutionary war, under the Board of Associated Loyalists, of New York. He was 
very wealthy in land, owning a large tract in Warren county. New Jersey, but nearly all 
of it was lost to the family after the war. His wife, Rachel, was a distinguished 
woman of. Warren county, and on an occasion of visiting her husband during the war 
was escorted through the British ranks with great honors. Lieutenant Insley was killed 
March 24, 1781, in an attack on the Whig post at Toms River, New Jersey. One of 
their children, Rachel Insley, was the mother of the late John I. Blair. Godfrey Insley 
was a farmer. In his early days he resided in Franklin township, but afterward in 
Stewartsville, and still later in Lopatcong township. He was a Lutheran in religion, 
and a highly respected citizen. He married Barbara Fine, who died March 26, 1855. 
Children: Philip Fine, born April 7, 1800, died May I, 1878, married (first) Elizabeth 
Barber, and (second) Henrietta Horner; Mary; Catharine; Christopher; John; Jacob; 
Godfrey; Margaret; George, referred to below. 

(II) George, son of Godfrey and Barbara (Fine) Insley, was born in Lopatcong 
township, Warren county, New Jersey, in October, 1814, and died January 7, 1888. He 



Warren County. 357 

is buried in St. James' Lutheran cemetery. He was educated in the public schools of 
New Village. His whole life was that of a farmer, and was passed as a resident of 
Warren county. From his father he inherited a farm of sixty-five acres. At one time 
he was captain of the "Light Horse Cavalry," a company of well-drilled men and 
equipped with beautiful uniforms. Captain Insley was versed in military matters. His 
judgment was much valued by his friends and his education had been enlarged by wide 
reading. He was a member of St. James' Lutheran Church, actively interested, and 
was a man of the best habits. He married, October 14, 1841, Maria, daughter of James 
and Esther (Glendiner) Horner, who was born in Northampton county, Pennsylvania, 
January 17, 1818, and died July 31, igo6. Her family was of Scotch-Irish extraction, 
residing on a farm near Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. T?here were two daughters beside 
Mrs. Insley. Mrs. Insley was an earnest Christian woman, active in the work of St. 
James' Lutheran Church, in whose graveyard she is buried. Children of George and 
Maria (Horner) Insley: James Vliet; Albert Glendiner; Mary Elizabeth, all referred 
to below. 

(Ill) James Vliet, born July 8, 1844, Albert Glendiner, born September 29, 1849, 
and Mary Elizabeth, born in September, 1852, children of George and Maria (Horner) 
Insley, lived with their parents to the end of their days, and continued to reside on the 
farm until 1909. In that year they purchased their present home in a beautiful suburb 
of Phillipsburg, Greensbridge. This place is on the old Morris canal, surrounded by 
beauties of both nature and art, yet is only a ten-minute ride by street car to Phillips- 
burg or Easton. Their home is a modern dwelling, where they live comfortably, 
esteemed and beloved by all their acquaintances, but especially noted for their devotion 
to one another. They are all members of St. James' Lutheran Church. James Vliet 
Insley is a member of Bethlehem Lodge, No. 140, Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Bloomsbury, New Jersey; and Albert Glendiner Insley is a member of Delaware 
Lodge, No. 52, Free and Accepted Masons, and of the Tall Cedars of Lebanon, of 
Phillipsburg. Their political system is "Vote for the man, not the party." 



Henry Anner, of Phillipsburg, is the founder of his family in New Jersey. 

ANNER His father was Henry, son of John Anner, of Canton Zurich, Switzerland, 

and his mother was Susanna (Schlumpf) Anner. He has two brothers, 

Frederick and Johann, and one sister Selina, all of whom are still living in Switzerland, 

where his father is a farmer and cabinet-maker. 

Henry Anner was born in Baerentsweil, Canton Zurich, Switzerland, March 29, 
1862, and received his education in the schools of his native place, spending six years 
in the public schools, and graduating from the high school after taking the prescribed 
three years' course. He then began to learn cabinet-making with his father, but a year 
later became apprenticed to a silk manufacturer in Zurich, with whom he remained 
five years. He then spent one year mastering the practical manufacturing of silk pro- 
ducts, and three years more in learning the business of a manufacturer. Coming to 
America in October, 1886, he entered the employ of R. and H. Simon, the silk manu- 
facturers of Union Hill, New Jersey. He soon rose to the position of assistant super- 
intendent of the factory, but after four years resigned his position to accept a better 
one with Megroz, Pertier, Schlachter & Company, of Jersey City Heights, with whom 
he remained for a year, when he was offered and accepted the superintendency with 
the Poidehard Silk Manufacturing Company, of Jersey City. Four years later he 
became superintendent of the firm of Underbill & Lee, of Watsessing, New Jersey, and 
fifteen years ago was offered his present position of superintendent of the Standard 
Silk Company, of Phillipsburg. Shortly after coming to this country, Mr. Anner pur- 
chased a home in Hoboken, New Jersey, in which he lived for a number of years. In 
1898, however, he sold his property and bought his present beautiful residence, at S3 
Chambers street, Phillipsburg. While in Switzerland, he saw four years of military 



358 Warren County. 

service. He is a member of Delaware Lodge, No. 52, Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Phillipsburg; of Eagle Chapter, No. 30, Royal Arch Masons; of DeMolay Command- 
ery, No. 6, Knights Templar, of Washington, New Jersey, and of Forest, No. 14, Tall 
Cedars of Lebanon, Warren county. New jersey. He is also a member of the Pomfret 
Club, of Easton, Pennsylvania, and of the Warren County Automobile Club. He was 
one of the first possessors of an automobile in Phillipsburg. He is a member of the 
German Lutheran church. His fath* and grandfather belonged to the Zwingli Re- 
formed church. 

He married, in Union Hill, New Jersey, August 20, 1887, Margaretha, daughter 
of the Rev. Jacob and Margaretha (Schuyder) Bodmer, who was born in Zurich, Swit- 
zerland, March 14, 1865. She came to America, August 15, 1887, five days before her 
wedding, and with the exception of her brother Henry, now living in Valley Falls, 
Rhode Island, and her sister, now Mrs. Charles Smith, living in West Hoboken, New 
Jersey, she is the only member of her family in this country. Her brothers, John and 
Jacob, and her sister Louise, are still living in Zurich. Children of Henry and Mar- 
garetha (Bodmer) Anner: i. Margaretha, born July 8, 1888, in Union Hill, New 
Jersey; was educated in the public and high schools here, and then graduated from a 
girl's college in Germany; she married Charles Favre, of Neuveville, Switzerland, and 
has one child, Valentine Margaretha. 2. Henry, born May 10, 1891, in Jersey City 
Heights, New Jersey; graduated from the public and high schools, and after attending 
a business college in St. Gallen, Switzerland, entered the Textile School in Philadelphia. 
3. Walter, born July 27, 1894, in West Hoboken, New Jersey, and has just graduated 
from the Phillipsburg high school. 



There are several distinct families of this name in New Jersey, and it 
BRITTON is not easy to identify the records belonging to each family or to recon- 
cile the conflicting traditions that have come down to the present day. 
The family at present under consideration, however, appears to trace its origin to 
William Britton, who emigrated to Pennsylvania, and settled at "Fox Chase," where 
he died April 16, 1765. His wife Rachel died August 28, 1766. 

(H) William (2), son of William (l) and Rachel Britton, died between 1780 and 
1789. He married (first) Mary Thomas, born about 1714, died October 14, 1780. He 
married (second) Sarah , who survived him, and died December 29, 1789. Chil- 
dren: I. William, born about 1738; died July 22, 1783; married Mary Pierson; removed 
to Lyons Farms, Essex county. New Jersey, and served during the revolution. 2. Jacob, 
born August 18, 1744; died August 18, 1784; married Elizabeth Van Sickle; removed to 
the Passaic Valley, New Jersey, and served in the revolution. 3. Joseph, married Eliza- 
beth Ward; removed first to Morris county. New Jersey, and later to Schenectady, New 
Jersey; served in the revolution. 4. John, referred to below. 

(IH) John, son of William (2) Britton, was born at "Fox Chase,'' near Philadel- 
phia, Pennsylvania, and removed to Sussex county. New Jersey. He served during the 
revolution as sergeant and ensign, in Spencer's Pennsylvania regiment. He married 
(first), June ij, 1772, Phebe, daughter of Benjamin Pettit Jr., she died in 1776; and 
(second) Martha Gray, who died in July, 1841, aged ninety years. Children: Pettit; 
Elizabeth; Thomas; Sarah; Rachel; John; Hannah; Jacob; Isaac G., referred to below. 

(IV) Isaac G., son of John and Martha (Gray) Britton, was born August 12, 
1813; died April 29, 1884. He was a lumberman, a millman, a great student, especially 
of the law, and a man of no little prominence in his community. He married, Febru- 
ary 10, 1849, Elizabeth Crause, born July 27, 1807. Children : Stacy Johnston, referred 
to below ; Lucinda, born February 10, 1853, died June 7, 1881 ; married Samuel Hart. 

(V) Stacy Johnston, son of Isaac G. and Elizabeth (Crause) Britton, was born 
at Milford, Hunterdon county. New Jersey, September 19, 1850; died in Phillipsburg, 
Warren county. New Jersey, May 17, 1905. He received his education in the Phillipsburg 



Warren County. 359 

public schools and high school in Easton, Pennsylvania, and then took a special course 
in a private school in -Belvidere, New Jersey. For a few years he taught school at 
Mount Bethel, Pennsylvania, but when his father moved his family to Belvidere, Mr. 
Britton obtained a position as clerk in the Belvidere postofiice, which he resigned four 
years later in order to enter the office of the Appola newspaper, in the composing 
room, in which he remained for two years, at the same time assisting his father in the 
latter's coal business. He then came to Phillipsburg and took a position in the freight 
office, of the Pennsylvania railroad, where he remained for nearly a quarter of a century, 
until the end of his life. He took great interest in the educational problems of the 
town, and served for nine y«ars on the board of education, being chairman of the 
board at the time of his death. In appreciation of his services here an elaborate and 
beautiful piece of pen work was presented to his widow, by the board. He was a 
Democrat in politics, and a Methodist in religion. He married, June 4, 1875, Susan, 
daughter of John and Catharine (Rasley) Zink, who was born at Martins Creek, 
Northampton county, Pennsylvania, November 22, 1854, whose mother is still living, 
beloved and cherished by all who come in contact with her. Children: i. Hector R., 
referred to below. 2. Catharine Zink, born August 20, 1878; died March 30, 1885, in 
childhood. 3. Genevieve, April 3, 1882 ; living in Lincoln, Nebraska. 4. Harry V., 
March 13, 1884; married Cora Newman ; two children : Thomas and Richard. 5. 
Stacy Johnston, June 18, 1890. 

(VI) Hector R., son of Stacy Johnston and Susan (Zink) Britton, was born in 
Phillipsburg, New Jersey, July 30, 1876, and is now living there. He was educated in 
the public schools of Phillipsburg, and at the age of eighteen years entered the employ 
of the Standard Silk Company, where he learned the trade of a warper. Mr. Britton 
is a Democrat in politics, and in igop was elected to the city council as representative 
from the second ward. He is a Methodist in religion. He is unmarried. 



James Beatty, the first member of this family of whom we have definite 
BEATTY information, was born about 1761, and died in Hunterdon county. New 
Jersey, March 18, 1849. According to Dr. Chambers he was either a son 
or grandson of the James Beatty who died between August 2, 1766, and February 16, 
1767, the dates of the execution and proving of his will, and who with his wife Jane 
emigrated to New Jersey from the North of Ireland, and lived in a log house between 
Anthony and Little Brook schoolhouse, in Lebanon township, Hunterdon county, New 
Jersey. The will names his children : Alexander, Samuel, James, Isabel, Mary, Esther 

and Jane. 

(II) James Beatty, son or grandson of this emigrant, married Elizabeth Schleicher, 
who was born November 25, 1772, and died February 10, 1854. Children : Alexander, 
born February 18, 1792, died in 1874, married Margaret Taylor; Anna, born November 
24, 1794, married Frederick, son of Peter Lance; Mary, born January 2, 1797, married 
Jacob, son of Philip Anthony; John, born in 1799, died in 1834, married Elizabeth Hipp, 
who died in 1872, aged seventy-five years, one of their children being General Samuel 
Beatty, of Ohio; Jacob, referred to below; Elizabeth, born in 1804, married John, son 
of Thomas Waters; James, born in 1807, died in 1878, married (first) Sarah Ann, 
daughter of Captain Benjamin Fritts, by whom he had three children, two of whom 
died young, and married (second) Julia Ann Sine, by whom he had four children; 
George W.', born in 1815, married (first) Elizabeth Fisher, and (second) Rachel 
Thatcher, and was father of Daniel F. Beatty, the organ manufacturer. 

(III) Jacob, son of James and Elizabeth (Sleicher) Beatty, vras born in 1801, and 
died in 1871. He married Eva, daughter of Phillip (2) and Mary (Moore) Anthony, 
who was born in March, 1801, and died in 1888. Her great-grandfather, Paul Anthony, 
who was probably a native of Strasburg, emigrated to this country, in the brigantine 
"Perth Amboy," in 1736. So far as is known his only son was Philip Anthony, who 



36o 



Warren County. 



lived near Newton till after the revolution, and then removed to Penwell, leaving his 
eldest son, Philip (2), in Sussex county. He married Elizabeth Dewitt. His son, 
Philip Anthony (2), was born July 21, 1756, and died May 8, 1850. He married, April 
5, 1779, Mary Moore, who was born May 22, 1756, and died September 22, 1851. Chil- 
dren: Paul, born April 3, 1780, died in 1875, married, February 23, 1803, Catharine, 
daughter of Adam Perry; Elizabeth, married Jacob, son of Daniel Castner; Anna 
Rosina, born June 6, 178s, married William, son of Peter Lance ; Susanna, born May 
17, 1790, died young; Jacob, born May 20, 1794, married Mary, daughter of James 
Beatty, referred to above; and Eva, who married Jacob Beatty, referred to above, and 
had eleven children. 

(IV) Winfield, son of Jacob and Eva (Anthony) Beatty, was born in Sussex 
county. New Jersey, and died in Warren county. New Jersey, aged about forty-four 
years. He received his education in the common schools and then began life assisting 
his father on the farm. Shortly after his marriage he purchased for himself a farm of 
one hundred and six acres of land, in Mansfield township, Warren county, to which he 
removed. He was a member of the Baptist church, and a Republican in politics. He 
married Amanda, daughter of Isaac and Caroline (Munn) Hoppler, who died at the 
age of sixty-six years. She was born in Washington township, Morris county. New 
Jersey, and both her father's and her mother's family were old residents of the state. 
Children: Sarah Emma, married Harvey Stephens, of Asbury, New Jersey; Tamzen 
Amanda, married Thomas W. Apgar, of Brooklyn, New York; William Henry, referred 
to below; Anna L., died aged two years; and Andrew D., of Newark, New Jersey. 

(V) William Henry, son of Winfield and Amanda (Hoppler) Beatty, was born 
in the homestead in Mansfield township, Warren county, New Jersey, October 25, 1862, 
and is now living in Alpha, in the same county, where he is postmaster. He received 
his education in the public schools of Port Murray, New Jersey, and spent his early 
life on his father's farm, which he left in order to work in the slate quarries and mines. 
After this he worked for about eighteen months at the trade of marble cutting, which 
he gave up in order to accept a position with the Warren Paper Mill Company, with 
which firm he remained for over seven years. He then went into the insurance busi- 
ness, securing a position with the United States Industrial Insurance Company, and 
later with the Metropolitan Life Insurance Company, with the latter of whom he 
remained for about four years. About 1900 he came to Alpha and obtained a position 
with the Alpha Cement Company, where he remained for over seven years, and became 
one of their most trusted employees, most of the time being chief engineer and 
inspector at various stations. In igo8 he was appointed postmaster of Alpha, being the 
second incumbent of that office, which owing to the preponderance of the foreign ele- 
ment in the village is a peculiarly arduous post. Mr. Beatty, however, it is conceded by 
every one, fills the office not only to the satisfaction of the government, but with great 
credit to himself. He was elected one of the first councilmen of the newly incorporated 
town of Alpha, June 22, 1911. He has bought himself one of the finest homes in the 
place, and is always interested and active in everything that will improve and promote 
the well-being of the community. He is a Republican in politics, and a member of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church, of Bloomsbury, New Jersey. He is also a member of 
Delaware Lodge, No. 52, Free and Accepted Masons, of Phillipsburg. 

He married. May 29, 1886, Mary Jane, daughter of Isaac and Clara C. (Giay) War- 
man, who was born near Mount Bethel, Warren county. New Jersey, January 11, 1868. 
Both her grandfather, John J. Warman, and his wife, who was a Miss Stamits, belong 
to old Hunterdon county families. Children : Raymond, Isaac Warrman, Amanda, de- 
ceased; Harvey Stephens, Ellsworth W., Clara, Lulu, Hazel, and Lester. 



Warren County. 361 

George B. Winter, the first member of this family of whom we have 
WINTER definite information, married Elizabeth Case. Among their children was 
William C, referred to below. 

(II) William C, son of George B. and Elizabeth (Case) Winter, was born about 
1834; died at Trenton, New Jersey, April ii, 1864. He learned the trade of wheel- 
wright. In 1864 he enlisted in the Ninth New Jersey Volunteers, but was stricken with 
spotted fever and died at Camp Perrine, in Trenton. He was a member of St. James' 
Lutheran Church. He married, October 30, 1858, Sophia, daughter of Peter and Chris- 
tine (Stocker) Myers, now deceased. Her father was a resident of Pohatcong town- 
ship for over sixty-three years. For over fifty years he had a blacksmith shop. He and 
his wife both lived to be over eighty-four years old, and had two children, Sophia and 
Louisa, both deceased. Child of William C. and Sophia (Myers) Winter: Peter M., 
referred to below. 

(III) Peter M., son of William C. and Sophia (Myers) Winter, was born at 
Finesville, New Jersey, March 15, 1862; died February 17, 1911. He attended the 
public schools of Springtown and Carpentersville. At an early age he began farming 
and he followed this for six years, and the next two years he was weighmaster with 
the Crane Iron Company. In the fall of 1881 he entered the employment of the 
Central Railroad of New Jersey, beginning as a wiper in the roundhouse; five years 
later he was promoted to fireman, and in 1893 to engineer. In 1895 he was given a 
steady position, and he has run over all the lines out of Phillipsburg. Inasmuch as 
he was a permanent resident, and had many real estate interests, he did not relish the 
moving from place to place, which is involved in the life of an engineer, preferring to 
be with his family and look after his interests, so he left the railroad and accepted a 
position with the Vulcanite Cement Company, as stationary engineer. Four years 
later he resigned to take a position as engineer for the Alpha Cement Company, in 
which he remained for eleven years; he was an expert in his line. He purchased from 
Charles Scherer his late home in the residential section of Alpha, and made many im- 
provements in the property. His lot consisted of one and one-half acres; he also had 
other interests in Alpha. Purchasing the homestead of his mother's family, he re- 
modeled it, making two fine dwelling houses which he rented. He was a Democrat in 
politics. Mr. Winter was a member of Echo Lodge, No. 124, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, of Phillipsburg; Junior Order of American Mechanics, No. 4, of PhilHps- 
burg; Star Council, No. 155, Royal Arcanum; and the Relief Corps. 

He married, January 21, 1881, Mary C, daughter of Robert and Mary C. (Cox) 
Stamets, who was born at Springtown, New Jersey, now deceased. Henry Stamets, 
father of Robert Stamets, was a native of Springtown, and lived to be ninety-two years 
old, his wife to the age of about seventy-nine. Robert Stamets was born January 18, 
1834; died April 24, 1910. He purchased a farm of seventy-five acres. He was a man 
held in high estimation, kind, very reserved and faithful in his religion, being a mem- 
ber in St. James' Lutheran Church. He was a Democrat in politics, but not an office- 
seeker. Mrs. Robert Stamets was a native of Ireland, who came to this country in 
childhood, crossing the Atlantic in a sailing boat. She was also a good Christian 
woman. She died January 31, igos, at the age of sixty-eight. Mr. and Mrs. Robert 
Stamets had nineteen children, but the only survivor is Mrs. Emma R. Hawk, of Alpha. 
Children of Peter M. and Mary C. (Stamets) Winter: i. George B., born March 19, 
1883; married Clara, daughter of Thomas Stone and Ella Foering (Patterson) Pursel; 
they have one child, Ella Pursel, born August 27, 1905. 2. Louisa M., born January 21, 
1885; married the Rev. J. E. Shewell; they reside at Duluth, Minnesota. 3. William C, 
born January 5, 1889; married Helen E., daughter of Thomas Stone and Ella Foering 
(Patterson) Pursel. 4. Blanche M., born October 24, 1893; living at home. 



362 Warren County. 

Samuel Lockhard Albright, the first member of this family of whom 
ALBRIGHT we have definite information, was born in Northampton county, 

Pennsylvania. The Albright family is of German origin. Samuel L. 
Albright, in early manhood, followed the carpenter's trade; but afterwards turned his 
attention to farming, and still later to mercantile business. He was a Republican voter 
from the organization of the party, but never sought office. He was an active member 
of the Presbyterian church, and held ^he positions of trustee, elder and superintendent 
of the Sunday school. He married Mary Ann, daughter of John Abel. Children : 
John Calvin; George Peter; Morris R., born June 29, 1861, married, October 22, 1892, 
Margaret Nason; Anna Margaret, married George LaRue; William Hervey, referred 
to below; Whitfield K.; Josiah Coleman; Catherine Rachel. 

William Hervey, son of Samuel Lockhard and Mary Ann (Abel) Albright, grad- 
uated from the Medico-Chirurgical College, Philadelphia, in 1899, with the degree of 
M. D., and is practicing his profession at Alpha, New Jersey. 



Jacob Stone, the first member of this family to become identified with 
STONE Warren county, New Jersey, was the descendant of one of the early set- 
tlers in Bucks county, Pennsylvania. He was a stone mason by trade, but 
about 1800 he removed to Warren county, settled on a farm there, and died forty years 
later, aged over sixty years. He is buried in the churchyard of St. James' Lutheran 

Church. He married (first) Elizabeth , who is buried beside him, and (second) 

Mary Hiner. Children, two by first marriage: John, referred to below; Jacob; Cath- 
arine, Ann, Elizabeth. 

(II) John, son of Jacob and Elizabeth Stone, was born in 1812, and died in War- 
ren county, New Jersey, in 1863. He inherited from his father a farm of one hundred 
and ten acres, and he lived in the stone house, still standing, which his father had built. 
He was a Whig in politics, and a member of St. James', better known as the Old 
Straw Lutheran Church, in the yard of which both he and his wife are buried. He 
married Mary, daughter of Jacob and Deborah Young. Children, besides four that 
died in infancy: Elizabeth; Deborah; Jacob J., referred to below; Joseph; David; 
John O.; Charles; Martha. 

(III) Jacob J., son of John and Mary (Young) Stone, was born in Greenwich 
township, Warren county, New Jersey, November 6, 1839, and is now living in Greens- 
bridge, a suburb of Phillipsburg, New Jersey. He was educated in the public schools 
and spent his boyhood days on his father's farm at Springtown. While still young, he 
learned and for a few years followed the trade of carriage maker. He then went to 
Philadelphia and obtained employment with the Pennsylvania Railroad Company, 
working in their car-building shops. He then went into the lime business, and after 
about twenty years spent in this occupation he started in to learn the trade of black- 
smith, about 1880. For ten years he worked at this trade in Still Valley and then re- 
moved to his present home in Greensbridge. In 1892 he erected his fine residence 
there, which commands a view of some of the most picturesque and historic sites of 
the vicinity. Mr. Stone is a Republican in politics and has served as a freeholder for 
ten years. He is a charter member of Bloomsbury Lodge, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, and a member of the Knights of the Golden Eagle, and of the Order of 
American Mechanics. He is a Presbyterian in religion. He married, in 1864, Mary 
E., daughter of Samuel and Elizabeth (Hulshizer) Osmun, who was born in Milford, 
Hunterdon county, New Jersey, January I, 1840. Children: i. Harry E., born Sep- 
tember IS, 1866; a blacksmith at Greensbridge; a Republican, and a member of the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, of Phillipsburg; married Bella Boss. 2. 
Edward C, born November 29, 1873; died December 26, 1903. 3. Edna Arline, born 
May 25, 1874; died November 3, 1902; married Henry Curtis, and left two daughters, 
Elizabeth and Margaret, who are living with their grandparents. 



Warren County. 363 

Peter Robinson, the founder of this family, was the son of Ralph 
ROBINSON Barley Robinson, of Manchester, England, where his son spent his 
early life and married. In 1863 he emigrated with his family to 
America, and settling at Pen Argyl, Pennsylvania, became very prominent in the slate 
quarry industry of that place. For several years he acted as superintendent of one of 
the quarries ; and then in company with John I. Blair and John Brown, he opened a 
new quarry, employing over two hundred men, many of them brought from England 
for the purpose, and conducting a highly prosperous business. At the time of his death 
he had amassed a very comfortable estate, which included besides his quarry interests 
an excellent farm of about two hundred acres. His widow sold the quarry interests 
after his death to Conrad Miller, of Nazareth, Pennsylvania, and is now (1911) Hving, 
aged about seventy-two years, in Smithport, England, Mr. Robinson was a communi- 
cant of the Protestant Episcopal church, and a Democrat in politics. He was a member 
of the Free and Accepted Masons, of Pennsylvania, and a thirty-second degree Mason. 
He married Louisa, daughter of John Hingham, one of the leading brass founders of 
Manchester, England, whose large estate is still in the possession of his descendants. 
Children, all except the first born in America: Frank Herbert, referred to below; 
Albert; Clarence, deceased; Charles; Louisa; Child, died in infancy. Clarence was 
buried in England and the unnamed infant is buried in Greenwood Cemetery, Brook- 
lyn, New York. 

Frank Herbert, son of Peter and Louisa (Hingham) Robinson, was born in Man- 
chester, England, April 3, 1861, and is now living in Washington, Warren county. New 
Jersey. He was brought over to this country by his father when he was two years 
old, and spent his early life in Pen Argyl, Pennsylvania, and received his education 
in the public schools and from private tutors. Later he attended the business college 
at Easton, Pennsylvania. He then became general manager of the company store at 
Pen Argyl, and after holding this position for seven years he returned, in 1890, to 
England, where he was made foreman of one of the departments of his grandfather's 
brass foundry. While there he began the study of veterinary surgery, towards which 
he had a natural bent, and returning to America in 1895 he entered and graduated from 
the College of Veterinary Surgeons, at London, Ontario, Canada, and then took up 
several courses of study. He has kept in touch with the literature and development 
of his science and is considered one of the highest authorities on the subject in Warren, 
Sussex and Hunterdon counties. He is a communicant of the Protestant Episcopal 
church, and a Democrat in politics. He married, April 2, 1884, Anna Z., born October 
29, i860, daughter of Charles and Susan (Arnold) ZuHck, at Easton, Pennsylvania. 
Children: i. Edith M., born April 2, 1888; married Ralph Thomas, a professor in the 
Phillipsburg high school; one son, Edward W. Thomas. 2. Alberta, born October 11, 
1891; married Frank B. Bartholomew, principal instructor of the Young Men's Chris- 
tian Association, at Gloucester, Massachusetts. 3. Ethel Zulick, born December 25, 
1892, in England. 

Frederick A. Schuermann, the founder of this family of his 
SCHUERMANN name, was born in Meller, Germany, April 28, about the year 

1848, and is now living retired in Washington, Warren county. 
New Jersey. When he was sixteen years of age, he and his brother, Henry A. Schuer- 
mann, emigrated to America, and shortly afterwards located in Brooklyn, which place 
his brother soon left in order to establish himself in St. Louis, Missouri, where he now 
lives. He had learned the trade of tailor in Germany, but soon after his removal west, 
gave it up in order to engage in the decorating business, in which he has been very 
successful. Frederick A. Schuermann went into the restaurant business in Brooklyn, 
and for many years conducted a very prosperous trade. In 1900 he established him- 
self in the same business in Jersey City Heights, where he remained until he sold out 



364 Warren County. 

and retired from active business in 1908, and moved to Washington, New Jersey. He 
is a member of the Lutheran church, and a Democrat in politics. He married, about 
1869, Minnie, daughter of Herman Drosselmyer, who was born in Germany, all de- 
ceased, and whose only relative in this country is a brother, Herman Drosselmyer Jr., 
a diamond setter, living in Jersey City Heights, and three sisters, Amelia Jantzen, 
Louisa Lang, Henrietta Sievers, all of Brooklyn. Children: i. Ida, married John 
Smith, of Brooklyn; children: Minniaj James, Ida and another that died in infancy. 
2. Henry A., referred to below. 

Henry A., son of Frederick A. and Minnie (Drosselmyer) Schuermann, was born 
in Brooklyn, New Jersey, October 21, 1870, and is now living in Washington, Warren 
county. New Jersey. He was christened Henry A., after his uncle, who is now living 
in St. Louis, but he is better known to every one by the soubriquet "Harry." He re- 
ceived his education in the Brooklyn public schools, and when he reached the age of 
fifteen years took up the trade of upholstering, which he followed until his removal 
to Washington, New Jersey, in 1891. After coming to Washington he worked for four 
years for James Fitts, and after that with the firm of Spangenburg & Ford for five 
years more. He then obtained a position with Charles Ammerman, working under him 
for two years, and then for a short time carrying on the business himself. In 1905 
he gave up this business and began to work for himself, manufacturing and selling 
piano stools and piano supplies. Starting with but very little capital, and his only 
helpers a woman and a boy, he built up in three years a trade of ten thousand dollars, 
and in the two succeeding years of eighteen thousand dollars, annually. He purchased 
(in 1910) the plant of the R. R. R. Woodworking Company, and is now employing 
about twenty-eight persons, and manufactures and ships goods to England, Germany, 
Australia, and many other foreign countries, besides supplying an excellent market in 
the southern states. A few years ago he purchased for his residence the fine property of 
W. D. Gulick, at 92 West Stewart street, Washington. Mr. Schuermann is a Lutheran 
in religion, and a Democrat in politics. He is a member of Mansfield Lodge, No. 36, 
Free and Accepted Masons, of Washington, New Jersey, and of Pohatcong Lodge, No. 
1 701, Royal Arcanum. 

He married. May 24, 1892, Mary Frances, daughter of William and Mary C. 
(Myers) Trome, who was born in Townsbury, Warren county. New Jersey. Her 
parents are both dead, but among her living brothers and sisters are: Sarah Trome, 
wife of J. F. Dilley; Savilla Trome, wife of John W. Fox; Annie Trome, wife of 
William Fritts, and Cora Trome, wife of William Shipman. Children of Henry A. 
and Mary Frances (Trome) Schuermann : Frederick Trome, born November 28, 
1896; Frances Elizabeth, April 18, 1898. 



John Anderson, of Lebanon, Hunterdon county, New Jersey, is the 
ANDERSON first member of this family of whom we have definite information. 
He is said to have been the son of an emigrant ancestor who came 
from Scotland and purchased several large tracts of land in Hunterdon county, one of 
them being known as the Laniger farm, and another as the Tiger farm. John Ander- 
son was a popular and prominent man in his day, and held the offices of justice of the 
peace and public crier. He married twice, his second wife, by whom he had no chil- 
dren, being Anna Anthony. 

(II) William, son of John Anderson, owned and operated a great mill at Califon 
(now Cole's Mills), Hunterdon county, New Jersey. Sometime after his marriage he 
removed to Indiana, with a part of his family, leaving the older children in New 
Jersey, and settled near the present town of Anderson, which is said to have received 
its name from him. He married Elizabeth Castner. Children, so far as known: 
Daniel C, referred to below; Elizabeth, and Sarah. 

(III) Daniel C, son of William and Elizabeth (Castner) Anderson, was born 



Warren County. 365 

near Califon, Hunterdon county, New Jersey, August 30, 1826; died in Lebanon town- 
ship, Hunterdon count}', New Jersey, in July, 1910. He is buried in Pleasant Grove 
Cemetery, Morris county. New Jersey. He owned two adjoining farms, one of one 
hundred and twenty-six acres, the other of one hundred and thirty acres of land in 
Lebanon township, on which he lived, and became quite a prominent man politically 
in his township, serving for several terms as township committeeman. In his younger 
days he was a Democrat, but later he became a Republican. He was a deacon in the 
Presbyterian church for many years, and he served as a lieutenant in the old state 
militia under Colonel Joseph Bonnell. He married Mary, daughter of Jacob and Mary 
(Beatty) Anthony. Children: Alexander, referred to below; Julia, died aged thirty- 
five years, married Stewart Anthony; Amanda, married Edward Stephens; Kate, 
married Luther Davis; Lucy, married Miller Davis; Mary, married Herman Good- 
liver. 

(IV) Alexander, son of Daniel C. and Mary (Anthony) Anderson, was born on 
the old homestead of one hundred and thirty-seven acres, which had belonged origin- 
ally to his great-grandfather, John Anderson, in Lebanon township, Hunterdon county. 
New Jersey, September 30, 1851, and is now living in Washington, New Jersey. He 
received his early education in the public schools of the township, Schooley's Mountain 
Seminary and the private school kept by Professor Stoutenburg. After this he taught 
school for a number of years in Woodglen, Lower Valley, Cookstown and Sarepta, 
after which he obtained a clerkship in the general store at Woodglen, where he re- 
mained for about three years longer. He then went to California, where he engaged 
in mining for a couple of years. Coming east again he started as a builder and con- 
tractor and among other edifices built the Roman Catholic convent, at Convent, Morris 
county. New Jersey. Several years later he spent twelve years farming. All his life, 
however, he had been actively interested in surveying, into the mysteries of which he 
had been initiated by his grandfather, Jacob Anthony, whom he had helped to lay a 
number of township lines. The knowledge he had thus gained he kept putting to prac- 
tical use and adding to all through his life, and in 1896 he was employed to lay off 
the county line between Hunterdon and Morris counties. During his first six years as 
a farmer he lived on his father's farm, but in 1891 purchased one hundred and fifty 
acres of land in Hunterdon county for himself from George W. Beatty, and here he 
remained until 1904, when he moved to Washington, where he opened his offices as a 
real estate agent, an insurance broker and a surveyor. For the last six years he has 
also served as city engineer. He is a Democrat in politics, and while in Hunterdon 
county served as overseer of the poor. He is a member of Mansfield Lodge, Independ- 
ent Order of Odd Fellows. 

He married, October S, 1875, the ceremony being performed by the Rev. Samuel 
S. Sawyer, the Presbjrterian minister of Schooley's Mountain, Keziah F., daughter of 
George W. and Elizabeth L. (Fisher) Beatty, who was born on the farm her husband 
purchased later from his father-in-law, January 24, 1857. Children: i. Russell S., 
born June 15, 1877; a dairy farmer living near Phillipsburg; married Bertha Fleming; 
children: Elizabeth and Louisa. 2. Daniel B., born January 29, 1882; married Alice 
Castner;- lives in East Orange, New Jersey. 3. Cecil R., born May 12, 1887; a real 
estate and insurance broker in Washington and New York City. 4. A daughter died 
in infancy. 

The first member of this family of whom we have definite infor- 
WOOLVERTON mation was a Woolverton who died at the age of about seventy- 
five years. He was a carpenter and also owned about ten or 
twelve acres of land, and earlier in life had been a miller. He attended tollgate on the 
old turnpike between Washington and Broadway, and he also headed the wagon trains 
from his part of W^arren county to New Brunswick. In his declining years, being 



366 Warren County. 

quite well-to-do, he sold his interests and purchased a home in Broadway, Warren 
county, New Jersey. He was a Methodist in religion, and a Democrat in politics. He 
married Rachel Dickerson. She was an accomplished woman and was at one time 
leader of the church choir. They were among the liberal contributors of the Broadway 
church. Mrs. Woolverton survived her husband a few years. Among their children 
was Richard Green, referred to below. 

(II) Richard Green, son of and Rachel (Dickerson) Woolverton, married 

Mary Matilda Huff, born October 21, 185.? Among their children were : Aaron Huff, 
referred to below; Martha Elizabeth, married David C. Riddle. 

(III) Aaron Huff, son of Richard Green and Mary Matilda (Huff) Woolverton, 
was born at Broadway, October 20, 1858, and is the only living son. He was educated 
in the pubHc schools of Broadway, and learned with his father the trade of harness 
maker, which he followed for about six years, until he was twenty-three years old. 
Then he worked for ten years with the Lehigh Valley railroad, looking after cars 
transferred from one railroad to another. In i8gi he went into the grocery business, 
at the corner of Tintall and Harris streets, Phillipsburg, and carried on the business 
at that place until March 14, 1909, when he moved to Martins Creek, and took charge 
of a store and postoffice for the Schull estate. July 15, 1909, he returned to his old 
business, stocking his store anew. Besides his store he has other building lots. He is a 
member of the Methodist Episcopal church at Broadway, and a Democrat in politics, 
but not an office-seeker. He is a member of Montana Lodge, No. 23, Knights of 
Pythias, and of the uniform rank, of Phillipsburg. 

He married, December 2, 1876, Edith, daughter of Isaiah and Rachel Frost, born 
in New York City, December 8, 1859; died April 9, 1910. She was a member of the 
Phillipsburg Methodist Episcopal church, and is buried in the new cemetery, near 
Tenth street, Easton, Pennsylvania. Children : Florence, born March 30, 1880, mar- 
ried, July 15, 1902, George Keifer, of Phillipsburg, and have one son, John R., born 
November 13, 1903; Olive, May s, 1885, married, June 7, 1905, Lewis O. Stephens, a 
merchant of Phillipsburg. 



The Fleming family, of Scotch-Irish lineage, has been represented in 
FLEMING New Jersey by six generations. Thomas Fleming, the great-great- 
grandfather of Wesley Fleming, was one of four sons of Malcolm 
Fleming, of county Tyrone, Ireland, who came to Bethlehem township, Hunterdon 
county, in 1751, to seek their fortunes in the new world. Thomas Fleming moved to 
Cumminstown, now Vienna, New Jersey, in 1783, and became the owner of much prop- 
erty there, a great deal of which is still in possession of the family. 

His son, Thomas Fleming (second), was born October 24, 1753, at Bethlehem, and 
went with his father to Vienna in 1783. He was ah ardent Presbyterian and an elder 
in the Hackettstown Presbyterian church. He died March 4, 1829, and on his tomb- 
stone at Great Meadows is this inscription : "Here lies the remains of a soldier of the 
Revolution, one of the heroic band who, with Washington, crossed the Delaware on 
the 2Sth of December, 1776, and conquered the British and Hessians at the battle of 
Trenton." He married Mary Hays, who was born in 1759, and died in 1838. One of 
their ten children was Moses H. Fleming, grandfather of Wesley Fleming. 

Moses H. Fleming was born October 30, 1797, and married Mercy S. Smith. He 
was a Democrat, a lif^elong resident of Warren county, and followed agricultural pur- 
suits. His children were: Caroline (Albert), Charles, Irene (Henry), Ellen (Flomer- 
felt), Achsa Jane (Cook), and Joseph W. C. 

Charles Fleming, father of Wesley, was born September 27, 1833, at Danville, New 
Jersey, near where he has spent all his life as a farmer and dealer in live stock. He 
has been a lifelong Democrat, and has served several terms as member of the board 
of chosen freeholders, as assessor, and as town committeeman. He married Margaret 



Warren County. 367 

M. Runyon, daughter of Nelson and Elizabeth (Hayes) Runyon, both descended from 
old Warren county families. Their children are : Wesley, Elizabeth G. and Harvey. 

Wesley Fleming was born September 6, 1866, one mile from Mountain Lake, in 
Hope township, and obtained an excellent public school education at the Free Union 
and Danville schools. At fifteen years of age he entered mercantile life with Jenkins, 
Buck & Company, at Danville, now Great Meadows, New Jersey. Four years later he was 
employed by J. H. Vescelius, dealer in dry goods and fancy goods, at Hackettstown, New 
Jersey, with whom he remained four years, after which he was with W. V. Snyder & 
Company, of Newark, New Jersey, for two years. At Hancock, New York, he spent one 
year in the office of the Erie Blue Stone Association, and at Asbury, New Jersey, he 
served three years as manager of the Musconetcong Grange's general store. This varied 
experience was an excellent preparation for entering into the furniture and carpet 
business at Washington, New Jersey, when in i8g6 he formed a partnership with C. R. 
Ford, as Ford & Fleming, and continued the business long carried on by Spangenburg 
& Ford. In 1903 Mr. Fleming sold out his interest to his partner, and has since been 
connected with the coal and lumber business of W. D. Gulick. 

Mr. Fleming has always been a Democrat, has served four successive terms as a 
member of the board of education of Washington, of which he has been president for 
eight years, is a member of the board of health, and the secretary of the board of trade, 
much of whose efficiency is due to his untiring efforts. He is a member and one of 
the trustees of Warren Council, No. 16, Junior Order of United American Mechanics, 
in which he has passed through all the chairs and served as state council representative 
for two years. He is also a member of Mansfield Lodge, No. 42, Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows, and of the Washington Athletic Association. As could be anticipated 
from his ancestry, he is a member of the First Presbyterian Church, of Washington, 
New Jersey, of which he was a trustee for several years. 

On November 9, 1893, Wesley Fleming married Edith Wyckoff, who was born at 
Port Colden, New Jersey, on March 31, 1868, and was the daughter of George P. 
Wyckoff and Tamzen Carhart, both of whom are descended from the very earliest 
American families in New Jersey. The one is a descendant of Peter Claes Wyckoff, 
who came to New Amsterdam in 1636 and was superintendent of the farm of Peter 
Stuyvesant in 1653 ; the other is descended from Thomas Carhart, who arrived in New 
York, August 25, 1683, as private secretary to the governor of New York, and married 
Mary, the granddaughter of Thomas Lord, who came to America in 1635. Mary Lord's 
mother was Rebecca Phillips, the sister of Elizabeth Phillips, who married John Alden 
Jr., the son of John and Priscilla, celebrated in Longfellow's poem, "The Courtship of 
Miles Standish," as "the loveliest maiden of Plymouth." 

The only child of Wesley and Edith Fleming is George Wyckoff Fleming, born 
October 31, 1895, who is now a student in the Washington high school. 



George Baylor, the first member of this family of whom we have definite 
BAYLOR information, was at one time a resident of Franklin township, Warren 

county. New Jersey, but moved to the state of New York, and there 
spent the rest of his life. Among his children was Peter G., referred to below. 

(II) Peter G., son of George Baylor, was born April 16, 1790. He owned a farm 
of one hundred and eighty acres in Warren township, which is now in the possession 
of his grandson, John S. Baylor. Part of this farm had been the home of John Smith, 
and was afterwards owned by Jacob Weller, from whom Mr. Baylor bought it, and 
part belonged to his wife. Here he resided the rest of his life, and erected the house 
which has since been remodeled. He was a Presbyterian in religion. He was a Demo- 
crat in politics. He married (first) Myers. She died at the age of about 

twenty-two, and is buried in St. James' Lutheran churchyard. He married (second) 
Elizabeth Weller. and he and his second wife are buried in Washington cemetery. 



368 Warren County. 

Children, all save the first named by the second marriage: Jacob M., referred to 
below; Samuel, born November i8, 1819; John, born December 17, 1821, buried in 
Ohio; George, born March 5, 1824; William, born March 18, 1826, buried in Luzerne 
county, Pennsylvania; Anna, born July 22, 1828. 

(III) Jacob M., son of Peter G. and (Myers) Baylor, was born near 

Asbury, New Jersey, May 22, 1813, and died March 30, 1886. He had a farm of about 
eighty-four acres, near Asbury. He was,an upright man, and a member of the Meth- 
odist Episcopal church. He is a Democrat in politics. He married Elizabeth D. Rush, 
who was born October 13, 1813, and died October 23, 1886. A curious coincidence is 
that husband and wife were both born and both died in the same year. They are buried 
at Broadway, New Jersey. Children : William R., born November 14, 1832 ; Peter G., 
born September 8, 1834; Rachel R., born January 29, 1837; John S., referred to below; 
Robert L., born March 6, 1841, died September 3, 1850; Lemuel B., born February IS, ' 
1843; George B., born March 22, 1845, died September 22, 1850; Eleanor C, born June 
26, 1847; Jacob P., born August 28, 1849, died September 17, 1850; Ann E., born April 
21, 1852; Hannah H., born October 10, 1853; Mary M., born September 8, 1855; Albert 
M., born June 29, 1859, died October 20, 1866. 

(IV) John S., son of Jacob M. and Elizabeth D. (Rush) Baylor, was born on his 
father's farm, near Asbury, Warren county. New Jersey, April 18, 1839. His early life 
was spent on the farm. He received a good education in the schools of the township, 
and afterwards attended a school near Easton, Pennsylvania. Leaving the firm at the 
age of twenty-two, he entered the employment of the Delaware, Lackawanna & West- 
ern railroad, and was a foreman on a section for this road until he was forty-five years 
old, when he returned to the homestead farm. In 1905 he removed from there to his 
present home. He is one of the progressive farmers and honored citizens of the town- 
ship. He has remodeled the farm dwellings and improved the farm generally; there 
are now large barn accommodations for stock and for grain. The raising of stock has 
always interested Mr. Baylor; several years ago he imported from France some blooded 
Percheron horses. He is a great advocate of good roads and of all other improvements 
which tend to increase the value of farms. He is also a man of large and good ideas, 
always ready to help in all things looking to the betterment of the community. He is a 
Democrat, and has served three terms as township committeeman. He is a member of 
the Methodist Episcopal church of Broadway, and has served as trustee and steward. 
He is a member of Mansfield Lodge, No. 36, Free and Accepted Masons, of Washing- 
ton, New Jersey. Besides the farm on which he resides, he has a seventy-acre farm 
at Stewartsville, and one of eighty acres near Asbury. 

Mr. Baylor married, December 6, 1861, Rebecca D., daughter of Barnabas and 
Sarah C. (Beers) Willever, who was born near Montana, Warren county. New Jersey, 
June 29, 1840. She is descended on both sides from old German families of Warren 
county. Barnabas Willever, her father, was born November 30, 1813, and died April 
4, 1890. He lived on Scott's Mountain, near Montana, and was a blacksmith. He and 
all his family were members of the Methodist Episcopal church. His wife was born 
May 19, 1816, and died September 11, 1904. Her parents were Jacob Beers, died Janu- 
ary 21, 1858, and Amy Beers, died February 24, 1823. Mrs. Baylor was the third of 
seven children, the others being Peter W., born June 6, 1837, died October 22, 1886; 
Amy B., born August 25, 1838, died September 2, 1874; Jacob H., bom February 8, 
1845; John F., born August 30, 1847; Huldah B., born October 23, 1849, died May 28, 
1864; Maria E., born January 25, 185 — . 

Children of John S. and Rebecca D. (Willever) Baylor: i. Sarah E., born Feb- 
ruary IS, 1863; married George T. Simanton; they reside at Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, 
and have two sons', Taylor and John. 2. Barnabas W., born February 21, 1870; mar- 
ried Elizabeth (Richie) Willever; they reside at Broadway, New Jersey, and have three 



Warren County. 369 

children: Sarah R., Elsie and John B. 3. Bertram E., born June 19, 1873; married 
Florence Allhouse ; they reside on the farm, the son assisting his father in farming. 
They have one daughter, Lillian May. 



The Riddle family in America is of Scotch-Irish origin, although it is 
RIDDLE to-day numerous in England and Ireland and Scotland, and scattered all 

over the United States. The various families of the name in this country 
have never been traced to a common ancestor, but it is known that there was at least 
one emigrant ancestor in Philadelphia in colonial days, another if not more in New 
Jersey, at the same time and that their descendants did good service during the revolu- 
tion. 

(I) Samuel Riddle, the first member of the family at present under consideration 
of which we have definite information, was, with his brother Richard, among the early 
settlers of what is now Warren county, New Jersey, where they settled on adjoining 
farms in the present Washington township. Samuel Riddle married Dorothea Hul- 
shizer. Children: i. Eliza, who married and removed to the vicinity of Chicago, 
Illinois. 2. Jacob, who married and lived at West End, Hunterdon county, New Jersey. 
3. Samuel, who married and Hved near Stewartsville, New Jersey. 4. WilHam, referred 
to below, s. Joanna, married Sylvanus, son of James and Catharine (Case) Cook, 
referred to elsewhere. 

(II) WilHam, son of Samuel and Dorothea (Hulshizer) Riddle, was born on the 
old homestead about 1800, and after receiving a common school education went to 
work on the farm. He took a great interest in fruit-growing, and, .purchasing a small 
farm for himself, speciaHzed in that direction. He was a Defnocrat in politics, and served 
in a number of the different tcrwnship offices. He was a member of the Christian or 
Campbellite church. He married Sarah Ann, daughter of David and Anna (Madison) 
Conover, of Hunterdon county. New Jersey, who was born about 1813, and died in 
November, 1904, aged ninety-one years. She is a lineal descendant of old Wolfert 
Gerritse Van Kouwenhoven, who emigrated to Rensselaerswyck, about 1630, and whose 
descendants played such a prominent part in the settlement of New York, Long Island 
and New Jersey, and did such good service during the revolution. Children : i. James 
Glide, married Mercy Warman; children: Mary, Jennie, Annie, George and Charles. 
2. Daniel, married Emily Newell; children: William, Edgar, Anna and Delia, all liv- 
ing at Ithaca, New York. 3. Mary, married George Crevehng; children: Charles, 
and Sarah, who married Charles Hawks. 4. David Conover, referred to below. 5. 
Garret, married (first) Mary M. Smith, and (second) Vietta Saberts; children, one 
by each wife, and both of whom died in infancy. 6. Jacob, died in childhood. 7. Emma, 
died in childhood. 8. William, married Amelia Madison ; one child : Minnie, now living 
in Waterloo, New Y'ork. 9. John H., of Newark, New Jersey; married Jennie Walker; 
one child : Laura. 

(III) David Conover, son of William and Sarah Ann (Conover) Riddle, was 
bom in Franklin township, Warren county, New Jersey, January 15, 1842, and is now 
living in Broadway, where he has spent his entire life, and is not only highly esteemed, 
but is regarded as being perhaps the most reliable authority on the history of the 
village. He was educated in the schools of Franklin township, and spent his early life 
on his father's farm. At the age of nineteen he was apprenticed to the carpenter's 
trade, and served his time under Henry Britton, after which he went back to the farm, 
where he remained for the next four years. He then started working at his trade, 
which has occupied him ever since. He has built most if not all of the houses in 
Broadway, and there are many landmarks in the surrounding country which bear evi- 
dence of his skill and mastery of his craft. Among other buildings should be men- 
tioned the store of Michael B. Bowers, the Presbyterian church, of Montana, New 
Jersey, and the remodeled Methodist Episcopal church at Broadway. He is a Demo- 



370 Warren County. 

crat in politics, and has held quite a number of offices. He was postmaster of Broad- 
way for one term, during the first administration of President Cleveland; he has been 
commissioner of appeals, and is now serving in his thirty-second year as constable. 
For many years he has been a trustee of the Methodist church in Broadway. He is a 
member of Mansfield Lodge, No. 36, Free and Accepted Masons, of New Jersey, and 
le has been a member of the Knights of Pythias, of the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, of the Red Men, and of the Order of American Mechanics. 

He married (first), in September,*i86i, Mary Jane, daughter of Stewart and 
Catharine (Taylor) Nixon, who was born in 1844, and died in 1868. He married 
(second), January i, 1873, Martha Elizabeth, daughter of Richard G. and Mary M. 
(Huff) Woolverton, who was born October 21, 1854. Children, two by first and one 
by second marriage: Edgar, died aged two years; Calvin, referred to below; James 
Arlington, born in October, 1874, died in March, 1875. 

(IV) Calvin, son of David Conover and Mary Jane (Nixon) Riddle, was born in 
Broadway, Warren county. New Jersey, in April, 1865, and died at the age of twenty- 
six, unmarried. He received a good education in the schools of the township, and then 
entered the employ of the New York & Susquehanna Railroad Company, as an engine- 
wiper. He won his promotion to the post of engineer before his health failed him, and 
he was stricken down. He was a member of the Improved Order of Red Men. 



George Shillinger, the founder of the family of his name in 
SHILLINGER Northampton county, Pennsylvania, and Warren county. New Jer- 
sey, was born in Germany, in 1791 ; died in Northampton county, 
Pennsylvania, in 1867. He came to this country as a young man, with his wife and 
eldest children, and became a man of some prominence in the community where he 
dwelt. His principal occupation was farming, but he derived no little income from the 
manufacture of gunstocks for the United States government. He and his wife were 
members of the Lutheran church at Easton, Pennsylvania. He married Catharine 
Eberle, who died in 1872. Children: Andrew; William; John; Jacob, referred to 
below; Son, died in infancy. 

(II) Jacob, son of George and Catharine (F^berle) Shillinger, was born in North- 
ampton county, Pennsylvania, July 27, 1833; died July 12, 1904, in Warren county, New- 
Jersey. During his youth he was for some time a cooper, and afterwards was an em- 
ployee of the Stewart Iron Works, at South Easton. In 1866 he entered into a partner- 
ship with his brother-in-law, Isaac Kitchlin, and they embarked in the milling business, 
purchasing the mills at Cooksville, Greenwich township, Warren county. New Jersey. 
This mill they ran successfully until 1876, when it was destroyed by fire, and they then 
built the large mills that have been running ever since. In 1877 Isaac Kitchlin died, 
and Mr. Shillinger purchased his deceased partner's interests and conducted the busi- 
ness alone until i8g6, when he turned it over to his two sons, Stewart A. and Samuel F, 
He married, August 9, 1856, Louisa, born January 5, 1837, died December 18, 1906, 
daughter of Samuel and Sarah (Eberle) Kitchhn. Children: George L., referred to 
below; Samuel Forest, referred to below; John F., born June 6, 1866, died in infancy; 
Stewart Aaron, referred to below. 

(HI) George L., son of Jacob and Louisa (Kitchlin) Shillinger, was born in 
Shimertown, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, July 10, 1857, and is now living in 
Phillipsburg, Warren county. New Jersey. He received his education in the public 
schools, and then began his successful career as a merchant. For many years he has 
been a member and president of the Phillipsburg board of trade, and he has taken a 
most active and prominent part in organizing several of the building and loan asso- 
ciations of the town. He is a Republican in politics and has served several times on 
the township school committee of Greenwich, as member of the board of freeholders 
for three terms of Lopatcong township, and was the first and only Republican elected as 



Warren County. 371 

surrogate of Warren county. He is a Lutheran in religion, and has been for many 
years a trustee of the Lutheran church in Phillipsburg. He married Mantie, daughter 
of Tunis and Sidney (Lewis) Gardner, of New Village, Warren county. New Jersey, 
the descendant of an old Quaker family of that region. Children : i. Ada M., born 
August IS, 1879; married Lussell Schwab, of Phillipsburg; one child, Erma May. 2. 
Anna L., born October 7, 1883; married Kline Mellick; one child, Jennie. 3. Jennie U., 
born July 20, 1896. 4. George L., born March 11, 1898. 

(Ill) Samuel Forest, son of Jacob and Louisa (Kitchlin) Shillinger, was born 
in South Easton, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, March 9, 1862; died in Stewarts- 
ville, Warren county. New Jersey, February 15, 1910. He received his early education 
in the Stewartsville schools, and spent the last three years of his life as a gentleman 
farner of Stewartsville. His boyhood was spent in his father's mill, and as a young 
man he went into the lime business for three years. He then took up farming for him- 
self, and after spending eleven years in this occupation he entered into partnership with 
his brother, Stewart A. Shillinger, and in 1896 they bought their father's mill property, 
and shortly afterwards purchased from John O. Wagner a farm of one hundred acres. 
In 1906, when the two brothers dissolved partnership, Mr. Shillinger took the farm as 
his share and returned to farming, which occupied him until he built his fine residence 
en the comer of Beacon and Edison avenues, Stewartsville, when he retired from 
active work. He was a Republican in politics and at the time of his death was serving 
on the board of education. He was a Lutheran in religion. He was a member of 
Bethlehem Lodge, No. 140, Free and Accepted Masons, of New Jersey; of DeMolay 
Commandery, No. 6, Knights Templar, of Washington; of Phillipsburg Chapter, No. 
53 ; of Warren Lodge, No. 53, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, of Stewartsville. 

He married, June 14, 1883, Sarah C, born December i, i860, and is now living in 
Stewartsville, daughter of John I. and Jemima (Beers) Burd, of Montana, New 
Jersey. Her father, John I. Burd, born in 1823; died March 15, 1889. He married, 
Octcber 24, 1846, Jemima Beers, born February 22, 1825; died December 5, 1873. Chil- 
dren: i. George Burd, born September 13, 1847; died June 22, 1853, in childhood, ii. 
Mary E. Burd, born November 20, 1849; married Leonard Smith, iii, Jacob C. Burd, 
born October 13, 1851 ; died November 8, 1859, in childhood, iv. Elisha Burd, born 
September 30, 1853; died in Belvidere, New Jersey, March 13, 1908. v. Stewart Burd, 
born May 7, 1858; died August 23, 1861, in infancy, vi. Sarah C. Burd, referred to 
above, vii. William J. Burd, born August 19, 1865; a practicing physician at Belvidere. 
viii. Emma Ida Brrd, born March 27, 1873 ; died March 13, 1874, in infancy. Children 
cf Samuel Forest and Sarah C. (Burd) Shillinger: i. Luella Mina, born March 27, 
1889; died June 17, 1891, in infancy. 2. Ruth Josephine, born October 18, 1891 ; mar- 
ried, June 22, 1910, Abraham R., born September 28, 1885, son of Jacob and Mary A. 
(Roseberry) Stecker; he is assistant foreman of the oil gang at the Edison Cement 
Works, and his wife is a graduate of the Easton Academy, class of 1908. 

(Ill) Stewart Aaron, son of Jacob and Louisa (Kitchlin) Shillinger, was born 
at Cooksville Mills, Greenwich township, Warren county. New Jersey, February 27, 
1870, and is now living in Stewartsville. He received his education in the public schools 
of Stewartsville, where he has resided all his life, and as a young man learned the 
trade of miller, working in his father's mills. In 1896 he entered into partnership with 
his brother, Samuel F. Shillinger, and they bought their father's mil! and purchased a 
large amount of farming land. The two brothers operated the mill together until i8y6. 
when the partnership was dissolved and Mr. Shillinger taking the mill property as his 
share of the capital has conducted the business alone ever since. The mill is run by 
water power and has the most improved machinery, the roller process employed being 
first installed by Mr. Shillinger's father in 1884. It has a capacity of twenty-five barrels 
per day and is one of the largest mills in the county. Mr. Shillinger puts out some of 
the best and most favorable known brands of flour on the market, his specialty being 



372 Warren County. 

the "Choice Family" and the "Morning' Star" brands. He finds a very profitable 
market near home and he does a retail as well as a wholesale business. He lives in 
the house which was built by his father in 1870, when the latter came to Warren county, 
but in 1907 Mr.''Shillinger remodeled it and installed all modern improvements, making 
it one of the most desirable residences in Stewartsville. He is a member of Warren 
Lodge, No. S3> Junior Order of American Mechanics, of Stewartsville; of Bethlehem 
Lodge, No. 140, Free and Accepted Masons, of New Jersey; of Phillipsburg Chapter, 
No. 53; of Washington Commandery, Knights Templai:. He is a Republican in politics, 
and for six years served on the board of trustees of the Lutheran church, of Stewarts- 
ville. 

He married, in Stewartsville, June 25, 1891, Mabel S., daughter of Charles and Etta 
(Stewart) Barber, who is a graduate of the Trenton State Normal School. No chil-^ 
dren. 



Jacob Scheimer, the founder of the family at present under consideration, 
SHIMER was born in Gersheim, Rheinpfalz, Bayern, Germany, about 1679, and 
was buried in the graveyard of the old.Saucon church, Northampton 
county, Pennsylvania, September 17, 1757. He emigrated to Germantown, Pennsyl- 
vania, some time before 1722, but about six years later removed to Bebbers township, 
Philadelphia county, and in 1734 to Skippack, Pennsylvania, where he remained for 
two years, and then finally settled himself on the uplands above Redington, North- 
ampton (then) Bucks county, Pennsylvania. For many years the place, now a part of 
Redington, was known as Shimertown, and is so marked on the old maps of Northamp- 
ton county. He married (first), between 1720 and 1722, Margaret, daughter of Heivert 
and Elizabeth (Rittenhouse) Papen, who died shortly after March 26, 1730, and (sec- 
ond) Elizabeth , who survived him. Children, six by first marriage: Abraham, 

married, 1749, Lena Westbrook; Anthony; Elizabeth, married Vickerson; Mary, 

married Michael Shoemaker; Catharine, married Young; Sarah; Jacob, referred 

to below; Conrad, born about 1736, died in December, 1760, unmarried; Samuel; Ed- 
ward, referred to below; Peter; Isaac, born August 6, 1749, died April lo, 1838, mar- 
ried (first) Gettart, (second) Elizabeth Kichline; John. 

(H) Jacob (2), son of Jacob (i) and Elizabeth Scheimer, was born in Skippack, 
Pennsylvania, June 4, 1734, and died June 6, 1764, at Shimertown. During the Indian 
troubles of 1755-56 he enlisted as a private under Captain Jacob Arndt. He married, 
June 13, 1758, Rosina Seip, who was torn in Michelstadt, Odenwald, Hesse Darmstadt, 
Germany, September 7, 1739, and died about 1822. After her first husband's death she 
married (second) his brother, Edward Scheimer, referred to below. Children: Peter, 
referred to below; Samuel, born December 5, 1762, married, April 24, 1791, Elizabeth 
Schuelpp; John, born April 4, 1764, married Salome Van Buskirk. 

(Ill) Peter, son of Jacob (2) and Rosina (Seip) Scheimer, was born in Shimer- 
town (now Redington), Northampton county, Pennsylvania, Jainuary 13,1760, and died 
October 22, 1828. He purchased for $2,600 a farm of two hundred acres of land, with 
modern improvements, in Greenwich township, near Still Valley, Warren county. New 
Jersey, about five miles from Easton, Pennsylvania, which he gave to his son, John 
Lerch Shimer, referred to below. He married (first) Anna Maria Lerch, and (sec- 
ond) Ehzabeth (Kratzer) Lerch, widow of Philip Lerch. Children: John Lerch, 
referred to below; Abraham, born February 7, 1785, died March lo, 1859, married April 
8, 1810, Margaret Leidy; Mary, born May 26, 1787, died June 2, 1864, married, 1812, 
Jacob Knecht; Susan, born October 19, 1789, died March 9, 1836, married, November 
20, 1808, John Riehl; Elizabeth, born May 12, 1791, died May 15, 1853, married Samuel 
Leidy; Anna, born April 29, 1794, died July 6, 1857, married, March 20, 1812, Tobias 
Weaver; Samuel, born November 14, 1796, died January 18, 1867, married Susan Hein- 




3 



•- o 
-- 1-1 

CO 



« 



u 
o 

e 
u 

'35 



3 



Warren County. 373 

bach; Rosina, born May 13, 1800, died February 23, 1873, married, in 1817, Joseph 
Weber. 

(IV) John Lerch Shimer, son of Peter Scheimer, was born in Redington, North- 
ampton county, Pennsylvania, January 5, 1782, and died in Warren county, New Jersey, 
August 12, 1854. Shortly after his marriage he settled on the farm in Warren county, 
given to him by his father, and by industry and thrift accumulated a large fortune. 
He became the owner of six large farms, situated in that region, four of them adjoining 
each other. The original farm of two hundred acres given to him by his father is still in 
possession of a Shimer, and the house in which he lived is still (in 1910) standing. 
He married, in 1804, Susanna, daughter of John Schwitzer, of Bethlehem township, 
Northampton county, Pennsylvania, who was born there, October 10, 1785. He and 
his wife are both buried in the Old Straw Church graveyard, at Still Valley, Warren 
county. New Jersey. Children : Peter, born March 21, 1805, died August 27, 1855, 
married, 1830, EHzabeth Calvin; John N., born July 30, 181 1, died December 8, 1885, 
married, December 18, 1834, Elizabeth A. Carpenter; Robert K, born September 25, 
1813, died October i, 1889, married, January 28, 1836, Mary A. Carpenter; Isaac, born 
February 21, 1816, died January 10, 1854, married, November 28, 1839, Catharine Baker; 
William B., referred to below; Samuel Leidy, referred to below; Mary Jane, born May 
16, 1824, died February 8, 1854, married John Smith. 

(V) William B., son of John Lerch and Susanna (Schwitzer) Shimer, was born 
near Still Valley, Sussex county, now Warren county, August 28, 1820, aind died Octo- 
ber 7, 1887. The public schools of this locality were poorly managed, and bore little 
resemblance to the finely equipped one of to-day, when the subject of this sketch was 
a boy. He is mainly self-educated. He was a practical and successful farmer, and 
was favorably esteemed throughout the township. He was a director of the First 
National Bank of Phillipsburg, and for many years he was an elder in the Old Straw 
Church. He married, November 7, 1843, Mary Margaret, daughter of Jacob and 
Sophia Shipman Sharp, who was born March 25, 1824; died June 4, 1884. Her father, 
Jacob Sharp, was born September 22, 1798; died April 19, 1843. Sophia Shipman was 
born May 13, 1805; died October 31, 1878. Children of William B. and Mary Margaret 
(Sharp) Shimer: Susanna V., born December 21, 1845, died February 11, i860; 
Frank P., born July i, 1851, died September 8, 1874; William S., of whom further; 
Thomas E., born December I, 1866, died April 27, 1888. 

(VI) William S., son of William B. and Mary Margaret (Sharp) Shimer, was 
born near Phillipsburg, New Jersey, January 17, 1865. He is still living and owns the 
farm that belonged to his grandfather, John Lerch Shimer, "at the forks of the road." 
He married Elizabeth Fine Pursell, who was born October 12, 1868, daughter of Phillip 
Fine and Mary Louisa (Stone) Pursell. They have one child, Isaac Sharp Shimer. 

(V) Samuel Leidy, son of John Lerch and Susanna (Schwitzer) Shimer, was 
born in Still Valley, Sussex (now Warren) county. New Jersey, August 13, 1822, and 
died in Phillipsburg, Warren county. New Jersey, February 3, 1887. He was engaged 
in farming until the outbreak of the civil war, when he obtained a government position 
in Trenton, and acted as captain of a volunteer company of reserve militia, stationed 
in that place. After the war was over Mr. Shimer purchased and operated a grist and 
sawmill. He was a member and one of the organizers of Grace Lutheran Church, 
Phillipsburg. He was a Republican in politics, and held several minor offices in the 
town. He married, March 11, 1847, Elizabeth, daughter of John M. and Sarah (Cline) 
Roseberry, who was born in Phillipsburg, in 1827, and is still living there. Children : 
John McCron Roseberry, referred to below; Flora, born in 1858, married, 1874, Frank 
P. Haggerty. 

(VI) John McCron Roseberry, son of Samuel Leidy and Elizabeth (Roseberry) 
Shinier, was born in Still Valley, Warren county, New Jersey, October 12, 1850, and is 
now living in Phillipsburg, where he has been for many years one of the most success- 



374 Warren County. 

ful business men of the town. He received his early education in the public schools of 
Still Valley and in the Allentown Seminary, and after graduating from the latter took a 
business course in New Haven, Connecticut. After spending a year in the organ and 
piano business, Mr. Shimer bought and operated a sawmill, which, however, he gave up 
after a year's trial, and embarked in the coal and hay business, to which he added the 
labors of a fire insurance agent. In 1868 he opened a general store in Phillipsburg, at 
797 South Main street, which by his industry and ability he has made one of the largest 
and best in the city. His insurance business also has been most prosperous, and for 
many years he has been the representative in the town of all the leading companies. 
April 22, 1889, he was successful in his efforts to establish the fourth class sub post- 
office, known as Shimer's, Lopatcong township, Warren county, New Jersey, and 
President Cleveland, during his first administration, appointed Mr. Shimer postmaster. 
He is a Repubhcan in politics, and has served as delinquent tax collector, and for over 
fifteen years as a justice of the peace. He is now serving as a notary public and a 
commissioner of deeds. He is a Lutheran in religion, and served for a number of 
years on the oflScial board of the church in Easton, Pennsylvania. He is a member of 
Delaware Lodge, No. 52, Free and Accepted Masons, of New Jersey; of Eagle Chap- 
ter, Royal Arch Masons, and of the Charter Society. He married, March 9, 1868, in 
Phillipsburg, Sarah W., daughter of Samuel S. and Rebecca (Young) Stevenson, who 
was born in Phillipsburg, in Septernber, 1852. Child : Elizabeth Roseberry, born Au- 
gust 21, 1871 ; married, February 8, 1906, Rev. William J. Hutchinson. 

(H) Edward, son of Jacob (l) and Elizabeth Scheimer, was born in Bucks (now 
Northampton) county, Pennsylvania, February 28, 1741, and died in Shimertown, in the 
same county, February 16, 1815. He became the possessor of a great part of his 
father's original estate, and to this he added much more himself. He learned the trade 
of saddler, but does not appear to have practiced it very much. He was a zealous Luth- 
eran, a revolutionary patriot, and served as a member of the committee of safety of 
Northampton county, and as captain in the First Battalion, of the same county, under 
Colonel George Hubner, in 1777. He married, in 1765, Rosina (Seip) Scheimer, 
widow of his brother Jacob, referred to above, and the two are buried side by side in 
the burying-ground in their old home orchard, under large slabs, covered with long 
German inscriptions. Children: Jacob, referred to below; Isaac, born May 6, 1769, 
died January i, 1838, married, 1796, Susanna, daughter of John Beyl, sister to his 
brother Jacob's wife; Abraham, born April 7, 1774, died in infancy; Susanna, born 
February 22, 1776, died August 16, 1863, married (first) James Bingham, (second) Dr. 
Peter Von Steuben. 

(III) Jacob Shimer, son of Edward and Rosina (Seip-Scheimer) Scheimer, was 
born in Shimertown, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, January i, 1767, and died 
October S, 1845. He married, in April, 1791, Elizabeth, daughter of John Beyl, of 
Lower Saucon township, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, who was born September 
15, 1772, and died January 31, 1857. Children: John Beyl, born June 7, 1792, died 
July 29, 1878, married, April 7, 1816, Mary Schweitzer; Joseph, born May 2, 1795, died 
August 13, 1878, married, 1818, Catharine Hubler; Edward Beyl, referred to below; 
Isaac, born August 25, 1799, died December 17, 1863, married. May 12, 1824, Kate 
Apple; Jacob, born October 10, 1802, died in October, 1871, married, March 17, 1829, 
Fayetta Kesk; Elizabeth, born April 21, 1805, died 1899, married, October 22, 1822, 
Michael Butz; Samuel, born September 21, 1807, died 1897, married, September 21, 
1852, Anna Kuhns; Abraham, bom March 12, 1809, died January i, 1881, married, May 
23, 1837, Margaretta Johnston. 

(IV) Edward Beyl, son of Jacob and Elizabeth (Beyl) Shimer, was born June 
'^T, 1797. and died in Easton, Pennsylvania, October 10, 1869. He married, March 18, 
1821, Hannah, daughter of Peter Lerch, who was born November 2, 1802, and died 



Warren County. 375 

September 3, 1864. Both she and her husband are buried in the old Forks graveyard, 
Northampton county, Pennsylvania. Children: Elizabeth, born January 31, 1822, died. 
September 11, 1823; Sabina S., born December 17, 1823, stili living, married, December 
17, 1844, Samuel Messinger; Maria, born February 12, 1826, still living, married, No- 
vember 26, 1850, Jacob Schall; Franklin L., referred to below; Reuben L., born Febru- 
ary 16, 1831, still living, married, October 3, 1849, Susan, daughter of Joseph and Cath- 
arine (Hubler) Shimer, his first cousin; Peter A., born July 20, 1833, still living, mar- 
ried, March 15, 1856, Ellen Werkheiser; Anna Elizabeth, born January 28, 1837, still 
living, married. May 28, 1859, William Werkheiser; Mary, born April 16, 1839, still 
living, married. May 4, 1861, Samuel Lerch. 

(V) Franklin L., son of Edward Beyl and Hannah (Lerch) Shimer, was born in 
Easton, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, December 6, 1828, and died June 12, 1901. 
He was a farmer, a Republican in politics, and a Lutheran in religion. He married, 
August 31, 1849, Sabina, daughter of Charles Babp, who was born October 18, 1827, 
and died February 2, i8g8. Both she and her husband are buried in the old Forks 
church burying-ground, Northampton county. Children : Josephine, born December 
2, 1850, still living, married, December 4, 1869, Edward Weaver; Lovene A., born Sep- 
tember 13, 1852, died June 8, 1859; Charles Edward, born June 12, 1854, still living, 
married (first), March 29, 1873, Julia A. Hahn, (second), May 4, 1889, Salina Angle- 
meyer; Hannah, born March 12, 1856, died November 24, 1907, married (first), March 
I, 1884, Martin Ackerman, (second) Abraham Walters; Benjamin Franklin, referred 
to below; Erwin Babp, born November 26, 1870, still living, married, July 20, 1889, 
Caroline Messinger. 

(VI) Benjamin Franklin, son of Franklin L. and Sabina (Babp) Shimer, was 
born in Northampton county, Pennsylvania, May 15. 1861, and is now living in Easton, 
Pennsylvania. Like his father, he is a farmer, a RepubHcan in politics, and a Lutheran 
in religion. He married. May 15, 1880, Jennie, daughter of Aaron and Mary A. Mes- 
singer. Children : Floyd Aaron, referred to below ; Mary Sabina, born June 6, 1885 ; 
Edward F., March 28, 1887; Caroline E.; Anna Maria, October 15, 1893; Lena May, 
October 30, 1896; Benjamin M., November 21, 1899; Emily F., March 4, 1902. 

(VII) Dr. Floyd Aaron, son of Benjamin Franklin and Jennie (Messinger) 
Shimer, was born in Easton, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, December 5, i88o, 
and is now living in Phillipsburg, Warren county. New Jersey. He received his early 
education in the pub'ic schools of Easton and later graduated from Sandt's Academy. 
He then entered the department of pharmacy of the Medico-Chirurgical College of 
Philadelphia, from which he received his Ph. G. degree in 1902, and his M. D. degree 
in 1905. Until he received his medical degree he worked as a clerk in a drug store, and 
then coming to Phillipsburg in the fall of 1905, he opened his present office at 88 Lewis 
street, where he has won for himself a reputation as one of the rising and most able 
of the younger generation of the city's physicians. He is a Republican in politics, and 
a Lutheran in reHgion. He is a member of Accho Chapter, No. 124, Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows; of Delaware Lodge, No. 52, Free and Accepted Masons, of New 
Jersey, and of the Modern Woodmen of America. 

He married, in Phillipsburg, New Jersey, August 21, 1907, Elsie May, daughter 
of James and Catharine O'Brien, who was born in Phillipsburg, May 19, 1878. Her 
father is a wealthy railroad contractor of that city. Her sisters are Rose, Catharine, 
Agnes, and EHzabeth O'Brien. 



The Beesley family of Belvidere is one of the oldest in the state, and 
BEESLEY its present representative in that town, Dr. Maurice Edward Beesley, 

a dentist of high reputation, worthily maintains the traditions of his 
race. The name of Maurice has been many times repeated in the successive generations, 
the first of the line having been the grandfather of Captain Jonathan Beesley, who 



37^ Warren County. 

was killed in the revolutionary war. The pedigree on the maternal side extends back 
to John Hart, one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence, while Sarah Hand, 
wife of Jonathan Hand, a grandfather on the Beesley side, was one of the maidens 
who strewed flowers before General Washington at Trenton, in 1789, while the hero 
was on his way to New York to be inaugurated president of the United States. 

(I) Thomas Beesley, the paternal great-grandfather of Dr. Maurice Edward 
Beesley, was born in December, 1771, in England, and came to this country in 1778, 
settling at Beesley's Point, on the Jersey coast, where his son, Maurice Beesley, men- 
tioned below, was born May 16, 1804. 

(H) Maurice, son of Thomas Beesley, graduated at the University of Pennsyl- 
vania, high in the class of 1828, and for fifty-four years thereafter practiced medicine 
continuously. In 1840 and again in 1841 he served as a member of the New Jersey 
state legislature, and from 1842 to 1844 was one of the governor's council. It was 
largely through his influence that a lunatic asylum was established in the state, and he 
was one of the committee who selected a site for the building. In 1845 he was elected 
a charter member of the New Jersey State Historical Society and became one of its 
active members, collecting information relative to the history of the state. There is 
now in the possession of Dr. Beesley, his grandson, a rare old scrap-book, in which 
are documents of great value, among them a letter of William Penn, written in 1682. 
Dr. Beesley was the author of a history of Cape May county, a work of much interest, 
and a recognized authority on the subject. Dr. Beesley married Sarah, daughter of 
Amos C. Moore, a circuit rider of the Methodist Episcopal church, and four children 
were born to them, among them, Edward M., mentioned below. Dr. Beesley died at 
Dennisville, January 13, 1882, and the death of his widow occurred in June, 1894. 

(III) Edward M., son of Maurice and Sarah (Moore) Beesley, was born June 
22, 1845, in Cape May county. New Jersey, and his education was completed at the 
West Jersey Academy, at Bridgeton. He then entered the Pennsylvania Dental Col- 
lege, Philadelphia, where he graduated in 1867. He first practiced his profession at 
Absecon, Atlantic county, New Jersey, and in 1871 came to Belvidere where he maintain- 
ed to the close of his life a large and lucrative connection, becoming one of the very 
prominent men of Warren county. He was a member of the state board of examiners 
in dentistry. From 1870 to 1873 he served as sergeant-at-arms in the New Jersey 
senate, and in 1882 was engrossing clerk of that body. He affiliated with Warren 
Lodge, No. 13, Free and Accepted Masons. Dr. Beesley married, November 11, 1873, 
Carrie A., daughter of Israel Harris, who was for forty years cashier in the Belvidere 
National Bank. Dr. and Mrs. Beesley were the parents of three children : Eleanor, 
a graduate of Belvidere high school, received the degree of Doctor of Medicine from 
the Woman's Medical College, Philadelphia, in 1896; Mary, wife of Frank Mathews, of 
Brooklyn, New York ; and Maurice Edward, mentioned below. Dr. Beesley died in 1906. 

(IV) Maurice Edward, son of Edward M. and Carrie A. (Harris) Beesley, was 
born October 9, 1882, in Belvidere, and graduated from the high school of his native 
place. Electing to follow the profession of his father, he entered the Pennsylvania 
College of Dental Surgery, and after a full course of study received from that insti- 
tution the degree of Doctor of Dental Surgery in 1907, since which time he has prac- 
ticed his profession in Belvidere. He is a member of the New Jersey State Dental 
Society and prosecutor for that society in Warren county. He belongs to the Tri- 
County Dental Society of Morris, Sussex and Warren counties. He is junior warden 
of Warren Lodge, No. 13, Free and Accepted Masons, and is a member of the Im- 
proved Order of Red Men, and the Greek letter fraternity Xi Psi Phi. Dr. Beesley 
enjoys merited social and professional distinction, not only in his home town, but also 
throughout Warren county. 

He married, June 28, 1911, Lena Bair, daughter of James B. and Elizabeth (How- 
ard) Bair. 



Warren County. 377 

The Shipmans are of Norman descent. The founder of the family 
SHIPMAN was knighted by Henry the Third, of England, in 1258. The Hon. 
George Marshall Shipman, presiding judge of Warren county, is a 
lineal descendant of Edward Shipman, the founder of the American branch, who was 
a refugee from religious persecution in England. In 1663 he cast in his lot with the 
colonists who settled in Saybrook, Connecticut, being one of the founders of that 
place. 

(I) The great-grandfather of Judge Shipman was one of the original settlers of 
Morristown, New Jersey, and two of his sons served with distinction in the war of the 
revolution. 

(II) David Shipman, the grandfather, was a leading citizen of Warren county. 

(III) Jehial G. Shipman, a name well-known in his day throughout the state of 
New Jersey, was a son of David Shipman, and the father of Judge Shipman. He was 
born October 13, 1818, near the town of Hope, and graduated from Union College, 
New York, in the class of 1842. He subsequently studied law under the preceptorship 
of that profound scholar and noted legal authority, William C. Morris, and in 1844 
was admitted to the bar. In a comparatively short time he rose to a place of prominence 
in the ranks of his profession. He married Mary Louisa Morris, whose father was 
for many years prosecutor of Warren county and afterward judge of the court of 
common pleas in Hudson county, and whose mother was the daughter of the 
late General and Dr. Peter Stryker, a distinguished Jerseyman. Miss Morris was 
descended from Major Peter Morris, who was an oificer in the continental army, and 
was wounded at the battle of Chestnut Hill, by being shot in the mouth, Baron Steu- 
ben, on that occasion, sending his own surgeon to attend him. Major Ford Morris, 
another ancestor, was an ensign in the revolutionary army. 

(IV) George Marshall Shipman, son of Jehial G. and Mary Louisa (Morris) 
Shipman, was born April 20, 1850, and was prepared for college under the tutelage of 
the Rev. Frederick Knighton, D. D., principal of the Classical Academy, Belvidere. In 
June, 1870, he took his degree of Bachelor of Arts from Princeton University, and sub- 
sequently received from the same institution the degree of Master of Arts. After a 
three years' course of legal study under the guidance of that eminent lawyer, his 
father, he was admitted to the bar. In June, 1876, he became a counsellor and con- 
tinued in partnership with his father until the latter's death in 1892. In the winter of 
1898 Governor Griggs appointed him presiding judge of Warren county, a position 
which he' still holds, his broad knowledge and familiarity with the principles of law 
having enabled him to discharge its duties to the satisfaction of the bar and of the 
entire community. 

Before Judge Shipraan's advancement to the bench he had won a large patronage, 
his clientele including the most distinguished people in the state. With a mind highly 
cultured and carefully trained, he was a logical and eloquent speaker and became a 
powerful advocate before judge or jury, and as a natural consequence many of the 
most important cases were intrusted to him. He took the place of his father as coun- 
sellor for the following railroads: Delaware, Lackawanna & Western; New York, 
Susquehanna & Western; New Jersey Central; Lehigh Valley, and Lehigh & Hudson. 
He is a director in the East Bangor Slate Company and the Warren Woodworking 
Company, director and attorney for the Belvidere National Bank, vice-president of 
the Belvidere Water Company, and is interested officially in other large concerns. He 
is a member of the Sons of the Revolution, the Easton Pomfret Club and the Prince- 
ton Club of New York. 

Judge Shipman married, June 26, 1878, Anna Louisa, daughter of Richard D. and 
Margaret (Stewart) Wilson, of Belvidere, and they have three children: Margaret, 
Jehial G, George M. The family are identified with the First Presbyterian Church, of 
which Judge Shipman has been a member from his boyhood and in which he has, since 



378 Warren County. 

his father's death, succeeded the latter as ruling elder. At their spring meeting, April 
II, 1911, at Belvidere, the Presbytery of Newton elected Judge Shipnian to the office 
of moderator. This was the first time a lay member had ever been chosen to preside 
over the deliberations of that body. 



Philip Kline, the founder of this family, came from Germany to Sourland 
KLINE Mountain, now called Nesl^nic, in Sussex county. New Jersey, about 1720. 
He was probably a relative of Godfried Kleyn, son of Christian of Ben- 
dorf, Germany, whose name appears in the Readington register. There were several 
early immigrants bearing the nanie Kline, spelled in various ways, and old families of 
this name are found in different places in New Jersey and Pennsylvania. Philip Kline 
bought one hundred and sixty acres of government land at Still Valley, now part of 
Greenwich township, Warren county. New Jersey, and sent two sons and a daughter 
to settle upon it and make a clearing. At a later time he bought six hundred acres in 
what is now Harmony township; this tract he divided equally among these three chil- 
dren. The original purchase deed of this property, given under seal of King George 
HI, has been handed down in the family. PhiUp Kline married Mary Haines, of 
Prussia, who bore him three sons and two daughters : William, Peter, Philip, Mar- 
garet and Elizabeth. 

(II) William, son of Philip and Mary (Haines) Kline, was born in 1776. He 
married Catharine Horn, who was born in 1780. Children : Godfrey, John, Sally, 
Peter, Isaac, Mary, Haines. 

(III) Godfrey, son of William and Catharine (Horn) Kline, was born in 1800. 
He married Mary A. Scudder, by which union the following children were born : 
Elizabeth, Isaac, Rosetta, William, Sarah, Catharine and Mary Frances. 

(IV) William (2), son of Godfrey and Mary A. (Scudder) Kline, was born 
March 3, 1834, at Asbury, New Jersey. In 1858 his father, Godfrey Kline, and family, 
in conjunction with a number of residents in and about his native place, emigrated over- 
land and settled in Prince William county, Virginia, thereby effecting a colony of "New 
Jersey settlers." William, son of Godfrey, returned north in 1863, and married EHza- 
beth (Hubler) Baker, daughter of Jacob Baker, of Northampton county, Pennsyl- 
vania. He first located at Harmony, Warren county. New Jersey, where he followed 
farming until 1882, when he retired from that pursuit and moved to Delaware Park, 
New Jersey. He held continuously for thirteen years the office of township collector. 
He was also an elder of the First Presbyterian Church of Phillipsburg, New Jersey, 
at the time of his death, which occurred September 19, 1902. 

(V) William (3), son of William (2) and Elizabeth (Baker) KHne, was born in 
Harmony, Warren county. New Jersey, September 2, 1865. He was educated in the 
public schools and Easton Academy, graduating from the latter in 1885, and then enter- 
ed Lafayette College for a two years' course, and in the fall of 1888 matriculated in 
the medical department of the University of Pennsylvania, graduating in 1891, with the 
degree of M. D. Having decided to settle in Phillipsburg, he moved there in 1893, «^nd 
ranks to-day as one of the most skilled physicians in Warren county. Both socially 
and as a citizen he is highly esteemed, and has alwaj-s taken an interest in everything 
looking to the welfare of the community and the people. He has always been inclined 
toward the Democratic party, and has many times refused poHtical honors. He has 
held the office of city physician in 1894-95, and served for twelve years in the town 
council. Formerly he was a member of the Improved Order of Red Men; at present 
he is connected with Delaware Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons; Knights of Pythias, 
and with the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. Dr. Kline married, June 20, 
1904, Caroline F. Flumerfelt, a granddaughter of Jesse Flumerfelt, who for many 
years was a private official of the Pennsylvania railroad. By their union. God has 
blessed Dr. and Mrs. Kline with two daughters, Frances Elizabeth and Mildred Lee Kline. 



Warren County. 379 

John Ketcham, the first member of this family of 
SOMERVILLE-KETCHAM whom we have definite information, was born De- 
cember 22, 1791 ; died November 30, 1865. He was 
descended from Edward Ketcham, of Ipswich, Massachusetts. John, son of Edward, 
who died in 1697, moved to Huntington, Long Island. In the middle of the eighteenth 
century, several of this name were living in Hopewell and the adjacent town of 
Amwell. John Ketcham is descended from the Pennington Ketchams, who were of 
English and Scotch extraction. He was a Presbyterian, and an old-time Whig, and 
naturally became a Republican. He was a farmer and a highly esteemed man. He 
married. May 2, 1818, Elizabeth, surname unknown. Children : William, born March 
29, 1819; Eleanor, December 7, 1820; Elizabeth, April 5, 1822; Sarah, May 22, 1825; 
Mary, July 22, 1827; John L., May 15, 1830; Jane, referred to below; Mark, August 
14, 1844, a resident of Port Murry. 

(II) Jane, daughter of John and Elizabeth Ketcham, was born January 4, 1835. 
She married, July 4, 1850, Judge James Somerville, born in Ireland, October 16, 1832; 
died at Port Murry, New Jersey, April 30, 1903. He was one of the three children 
of William and Sarah Somerville, the others being William, and Margaret, who mar- 
ried a Mr. Wallace, and lived in Grass Valley, California. His parents came to this 
country when Judge Somerville was two years old, and made their home in Paterson, 
New Jersey, where they are buried. The future judge, at an early age, drove a mule 
on the old Morris canal in the summer lime, and applied himself to his studies at 
school in the winter. He lived at different times in Paterson, New York City, and in 
Scranton, Pennsylvania, where he worked at harness making. The greater part of the 
years, however, while he was canaling, he lived with William Maines, at Port Murry. 
For about twenty years, between 1840 and i860, he ran a boat of his own and was quite 
successful. About 1855 he abandoned boating and settled at Washington, conducting 
a store near the canal basin, in the northern part of the borough. He presided at the 
first Republican meeting ever held in the borough of Washington. He had been a 
Democrat prior to the organization of the Republican party. On the day that the trains 
first ran over the Lackawanna railroad, in i860, he left Washington and removed to 
Lincoln Park, in Morris county. In partnership with his old employer, he conducted 
a store at that place for about five years, and in 1865 returned to Port Murry, where 
he spent the remainder of his days in retirement from business. He already owned 
property in the village, and after his retirement he purchased a farm near Mt. Bethel. 
He became very prominent in the affairs of the township and was several times honor- 
ed with local offices. In 1879 he was appointed a lay judge of the Warren county 
courts for a term of five years ; this position he filled with honor. He was for many 
years a member of the Port Murry Baptist Church, of which he served five years as 
treasurer. Judge Somerville was a man of very retiring nature, not prone to talk un- 
necessarily, and his remarkable career should be an incentive to all boys and young men 
to industry and integrity. With small early opportunities, he became one of the con- 
spicuous and highly-respected figures of Warren county. About five years before his 
death, he suffered a stroke of paralysis, but after a short time he was out again as be- 
fore and enjoyed good health for one of his age. His funeral was conducted by the 
Rev. J. E. Vasser, assisted by the Rev. W. D. Pimm, each being his former minister. 
Interment was made in the Baptist cemetery at Port Murry. 

(III) Alonzo, son of James and Jane (Ketcham) Somerville, was born at Karrs- 
ville, New Jersey, March 7, 1852; died January 29, 1907. He began his business career 
as a clerk in the Hackettstown National Bank, and in 1870 became teller of the North 
Ward National Bank, in Newark, being made cashier in 1873. In 1879 he started a 
wholesale grocery business in New York. This he sold in 1882 and returned to New- 
ark, taking a position as secretary of the general grocery firm of Wilkinson, Gaddis & 
Company. In 1890 he had to retire on account of his health, and travel. In 1892 he 



380 Warren County. 

was stricken on the street with paralysis. His life was then for a time despaired of, 
but he partially recovered and his death was probably more or less a result of his 
stroke. He lived on Lombardy street, Newark; for several summers he made his home 
at Port Murry. The funeral was held at Newark, interment made at Port Murry. He 
married a Miss Titus, of Newark. Children : James M., William T., Mary R. 



The Suttle family of Warren county is of North of Ireland origin, and 
SUTTIvE springs from Matthew Suttle, who emigrated to this country about the 

middle of the nineteenth century, and settling in Paterson, New Jersey, 
plied his trade of blacksmith with such success that he became quite prosperous and 
well-to-do, and the owner of considerable real estate. He died January 25, 1894, aged 
about seventy-five years. He married Grace Correy. who died about 1896, aged nearly 
eighty years. Children: Matthew, referred to below; William; Margaret; Grace; 
Catharine; Susanna; Robert, died in infancy. 

(II) Matthew (2), son of Matthew (i) and Grace (Correy) Suttle, was born in 
Paterson, New Jersey, about 1844; died there, in 1877. Having learned the trade of 
machinist, he entered the employ of the United States government and for the greater 
part of his life was stationed in the navy-yard at Brooklyn, New York. He married 
Catharine, daughter of Richard and Margaret (Potter) Boothroyd, who was born in 
January, 1846, or 1847. Although she is of English origin, she is a member of the 
Dutch Reformed Church of Paterson. Children! Matthew, referred to below; Mar- 
garet, died in infancy; Frederick W., a banker in Paterson, New Jersey; Richard B., 
an employee of the American Locomotive Works in Paterson; Margaret; Grace. The 
two last-mentioned are teachers in public schools in Paterson. 

(III) Matthew (3), son of Matthew (2) and Catharine (Boothroyd) Suttle, was 
born in Paterson, New Jersey, in 1867, and is now living in Phillipsburg, where he was 
one of that town's most enterprising merchants, and was proprietor of the largest and 
most modern furniture store in the country. He received his early education in the 
public schools of Paterson and then took the course in the Baltimore Business College. 
After this he obtained a position as clerk with the furniture firm of Lockwood 
Brothers in Paterson, and here he remained for seven years, gaining his mastery over 
the business. At the end of this time he decided to embark in business for himself, 
and in November, 1890, purchasing the business of August Moneig, in Phillipsburg, he 
took as a partner, George Hubsmidt, and under the firm name of Suttle and Hubsmidt, 
the two young men conducted a flourishing and prosperous business for twelve years. 
In ig02 Mr. Suttle bought out his partner's interests and then carried on the business 
alone, drawing his trade not only from Warren county, but also from Easton and the 
adjacent parts of Northampton county, Pennsylvania. His store, which was located 
at 340 Main street, PhilUpsburg, was the largest store in the town. Mr. Suttle retired 
from the furniture business about April I, 1911. Mr. Suttle takes great pride in his 
home town, and is ever ready to assist in every effort for its welfare and benefit. He 
is one of the most active members of the Phillipsburg board of trade, and a member 
of the town's committee on manufactures, real estate and industries. He is a Repub- 
lican in politics, and he and his family are communicants of the Protestant Episcopal 
church. He is a member of Moose Lodge, of Easton, Pennsylvania, and in 1895 built 
his fine residence at 37 Chambers street. 

He married, in Paterson, New Jersey, May 2, 1893, Mary I., daughter of Thomas 
and Mary Walsh, a family that is of Scotch and Irish origin. Child: Frederick L., 
born in Phillipsburg, January 28, 1894, and now a student in the Phillipsburg high 
school. 



Warren County. 381 

Stephen W. Bogardus, the first member of this family of whom we 
BOGARDUS have definite information, was a native of New York state, died in 
Phillipsburg, New Jersey, in 1890. This family is of Dutch origin, 
being descendants of Dominie Everardus Bogardus and Anneke Jans. Dr. S. W. 
Bogardus was living in Matawan, Monmouth county. New Jersey, in 1853. He served 
in the civil war as lieutenant of Company E, Fifteenth New Jersey Regiment. The 
sword which he carried is now in the possession of his son. In 1882 he came to Phillips- 
burg and continued in the practice of dentistry until his death. He married Sarah A. 
Rose, who was born in New York state about 1825. They had ten children, among 
whom was Edward, referred to below. 

Dr. Edward Bogardus, son of Stephen W. and Sarah A. (Rose) Bogardus was born 
in Matawan, June 24, 1853. He was educated in the public schools and at Matawan 
Institute. He went to New York and studied in the New York College of Dentistry. 
Having completed his technical course, he returned to his home and commenced prac- 
tice with his father. Dr. Bogardus is qualified to practice both in Pennsylvania and 
New Jersey, having taken the required examinations in each of these states. Dentistry 
has made great progress in recent years, but Dr. Bogardus is a student and keeps pace 
with the new discoveries, taking the leading journals devoted to dentistry. With his 
scientific training, his father's excellent practical instructions from his early years and 
his own subsequent studies, he has won a worthy place in his profession and has long 
been registered as the leading dentist of Phillipsburg. Besides his profession, he is an 
admirer and owner of fine horses. He is a Democrat in politics. 

He married, in November, 1876, Mary, daughter of Jacob Eilenberg, of Strouds- 
burg, Pennsylvania. They had one child, which died in infancy. 



Charles Bowlby, son of Elijah and Margaret (Shafer) Sharp, is one of 
SHARP Phillipsburg's most enterprising men. He was born in the village of 

Asbury, Hunterdon county, New Jersey, May 31, 1859, and received his 
early education in the public schools of Washington, Warren county, and in private 
schools there and elsewhere. When he reached fourteen years of age he began his 
apprenticeship as a telegrapher in the offices of the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western 
railroad, at Hampton Junction. Six months later he was transferred to the offices at 
Port Washington, and eighteen months after this time to Washington, where he re- 
mained as night operator until 1878, when he was sent to Phillipsburg and promoted to 
the office of ticket agent. In 1880 he resigned this position in order to accept another 
in the office of the superintendent of the Central Railroad of New Jersey, where he 
was made wire chief of the railroad and of the Western Union Telegraph Company, 
at Easton, Pennsylvania. Five years later he became manager for both companies, 
and held the office most ably until 1902, when he resigned in order to enter into part- 
nership with Mr. Oscar W. Shouffler, in the brokerage business. For the first four 
years the firm had their offices in Easton, and then removed to Phillipsburg, where they 
operated until April, 1910, when the partnership was dissolved and Mr. Sharp went into 
business for himself in his present offices on Union Square, making a specialty of bonds. 
Mr. Sharp is a Democrat in politics, and has taken quite an active share in local 
affairs. In 1899 he was elected on the Democratic ticket as surrogate of Warren 
county, and after the expiration of his term of five years he served for two years more 
as auditor of the town. He is a member of Delaware Lodge, No. 52, Free and 
Accepted Masons, of New Jersey; of Eagle Chapter, No. 32, Royal Arch Masons; of 
DeMoIay Commandery, No. 6, Knights Templar; of Salaan Temple, of the Mystic 
Shrine; of Montana Lodge, No. 23, Knights of Pythias, being past chancellor of that 
organization. He is also a member of Malaska Council, No. 4, Junior Order of 
American Mechanics; of Chapter No. 395, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 



382 Warren County. 

and of Teedyuscung Tribe, No. 17, Improved Order of Red Men. He is a Methodist 
in religion. 

He married, May 15, 1879, Sophia M., daughter of Lewis and Elizabeth (Harbus) 
Miller, who was born in New York City, July s, 1858. Children: i. Carrie Bessie, 
born March i, 1880. 2. Lillian May, born September 19, 1882. 3. William Hoff, born 
February 3, 1887; graduated from public and high schools of Phillipsburg ; is con- 
nected with the Genuine Bangor Slate Company, of Easton, Pennsylvania. 4. Russell 
Stanley, referred to below. 5. Charles Bowlby, born August 15, 1897. 

(H) Russell Stanley, son of Charles Bowlby and Sophia M. (Miller) Sharp, was 
born in Phillipsburg, New Jersey, June 29, 1890, and is now living in Phillipsburg. He 
graduated from the public and high schools of Phillipsburg, and is now bookkeeper in 
the office cf the furniture firm of Spence & Company. 



Valentine Mutchler, founder of this family, came in 1752 with his 
MUTCHLER brother John from the valley of the Rhine in Germany, and settled 
in Warren county. New Jersey. They took tracts of land in what 
was later the village of Marble Hill, but the place is now known as the Mellick farm. 
Valentine Mutchler was a stonemason and farmer. He was an upright, conscientious 
man, one fitted to contribute to the upbuilding of a nation. He married Caroline Stone- 
bach. Among their children was Valentine, referred to below. 

(H) Valentine (2), son of Valentine (i) and Caroline (Stonebach) Mutchler, 
was bcrn in Warren county. New Jersey. He served an apprenticeship in stonemasonry 
and afterward pursued that trade in connec'ion with farming a large tract of land. 
His wife's name is not known; he married about 1795. Children: i. John, bcrn in 
1798; died October 4, 1844; married Margaret Mellick; two of his descendants, father 
and son, have served in the United States congress from Pennsylvania. 2. Samuel, 
referred to below. 3. Mary. 4. George W. 5. Elizabeth. 

(HI) Samuel, son of Valentine (2) Mutchler, was born in Warren county. New 
Jersey, November i, 1799. He married (first) Elizabeth, surname unknown, who was 
born July 10, I79S, and (second) Sarah, surname unknown, who was born February 6, 
1807. Children, three by first marriage: John, born May 27, 1821; Gecrge, referred to 
below; Mary, November 29, 1826; Valentine, February 9, 1828; Sarah Ann. March 22, 
1829; Elizabeth. November 8, 1830; Isaiah, April 30, 1833; Andrew J., January 16, 
1835; Thorras Jefferson, January 16, 1835; William Walp, September 21, 1837, died 
]\''ay S, 1862; Charles Wesley, April 21, 1842; Samuel Bradford, February 26, 1843; 
Johnson Howell, May 15, 1845; Emma, November 13, 1846; Emmeline, February 14, 
1848. Eight of these children served in the civil war : William Walp was killed in 
action at Williamsburg, Virginia; Valentine reached the rank of major; Andrew J. and 
Charles Wesley that of first lieutenant. 

(IV) George, son of Samuel and Elizabeth Mutchler, was born April 22, 1824. 
He married Cornelia Baker. Among their children was WilHam Newton, referred to 
belcw. 

(V) William Newton, son of George and Cornelia (Baker) Mutchler. was born 
at Unio'ntown. Warren county. New Jersey. He was educated in the public schools, 
and then learned the trade of wheelwright, which he followed twelve years. After 
this he was for sixteen years n farmer in Harmony. In 1899 he removed to Phillios- 
burg and entered the emoloy of the Western Union Telegraph Company, and also 
conducted a news-stand; nine years later he sold' out his business and accepted a position 
in the Phillipsburg National Bank, with which institution he is now connected. At his 
first coming to Phillipsburg, Mr. Mutchler purchased his present home at Delaware 
Park. He is one of the most respec-ed and prominent citizens of Phillipsburg. He is 
a Democrat in politics, and has served two terms as county freeholder. 1888 and 1889; 
he is also a member of the Methodist Episcopal church. He married. May 14, 1874, 



Warren County. 383 

Arabella, daughter of John and Mary (Hemlen) Amey, who was born at Harmony, 
New Jersey, September 20, 1854. Children : Charles W. V., born April 24, 1875, now 
deceased; George Howell, referred to below; William N., September 5, 1879; John J., 
June 22, 1881; Grover Cleveland, November 15, 1884; Bertha S., October 25, 1887; Mar- 
garetta A., May 26, 1890; Joseph B. A., March 13, 1892; Stella May, January 27, 1894; 
Franklin D., May 12, 1896; Nellie Florence, August 30, 1897; Stanley S., May il, 1900; 
Allen, deceased. 

(VI) George Howell, son of William Newton and Arabella (Amey) Mutchler, 
was born at Harmony, Warren county, New Jersey, May 26, 1877. He was educated 
in the public schools. Taking up telegraphy, he had charge for several years of the 
Western Union telegraph office at PhiUipsburg. For twelve years he was a general 
salesman in the employment of James J. Doyle, a cigar manufacturer of Elizabethtown, 
Pennsylvania. He built up a large trade for his employer, both in Pennsylvania and 
in New Jersey, and greatly to the regret of the company, Mr. Mutchler resigned this 
position in the fall of 1910 to fill the office of clerk of Warren county, to which office he- 
had been elected, November 8, by a notable majority. Mr. Mutchler is one of Philhps- 
burg's most honored citizens, but expects shortly to move to Belvidere. He is a Demo- 
crat and an active worker in politics. He is a member of Delaware Lodge, No. 52, 
Free and Accepted Masons, of PhiUipsburg; the Knights of Pythias; the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, of PhiUipsburg, and the Tall Cedars, of PhiUipsburg. 
He married Harriett A. Trexler, of AUentown, Pennsylvania. 



Franklin T. Atwood, superintendent of Warren county schools, came 
ATWOOD to Warren county in 1881, and for three years thereafter was vice- 
principal of Hackettstown schools. From 1884 to 1899 he was principal 
of the Oxford schools. Both these positions he filled with the ability born of natural 
fitness for the work and of long experience, an exceptional equipment, which led him 
ultimately to a wider field of usefulness. In 1899 he entered upon the wcrk of the 
superintendency of county schools, the satisfactory results which he obtains and his 
manner of securing them meeting with merited recognition, and causing him to con- 
tinue his labors to the present time. Mr. Atwood is now the oldest educator in Warren 
county. 



The late George King McMurtrie, a well-known citizen of Belvi- 
McMURTRIE dere, was descended from ancestors who were among the first set- 
tlers of that place. Joseph McMurtrie, the founder of the family, 
was born in DalmeUngton, Ayrshire, Scotland, and his children, James, Hannah, Rob- 
ert, Hervey, Thomas and Joseph, emigrated to the American colonies. They purchased 
of' John Alford a large tract of land on the east side of Request creek, containing 
twelve hundred and fifty acres. This was deeded, May 5, 1753, to Joseph McMurtrie, 
who made his will June 21, 1761, and died in May, 1762. He was the father of the 
following children: John, Abraham, mentioned below; Joseph, James, Agnes, Mary. 
■ (II) Abraham, son of Joseph McMurtrie, was born July 10, 1741; died September 
5, 1819. He married Amelia Barton, born January 18, 1744; died February 11, 1834. 
Their son James is mentioned below. 

(III) James, son of Abraham and Amelia (Barton) McMurtrie, was bcrn March 
10, 1774; died in March, 1836. He married EUzabeth Smith, born February i, 17 — ; 
died August 10, 1843. They were the parents of a son Abraham, mentioned below. 

(IV) Abraham (2), son of James and Elizabeth (Smith) McMurtrie, was born 
March 23, 1806; died March 23, 1882. He married Almira, born March 5, 1812. daugh- 
ter of Isaac and Rachel Smith, who lived two miles and a half this side of Newton. 
Their children were: James; Elizabeth, born August 8, 1848, married WiUiam D. 
Godley; George King, mentioned below; William, born March 15, 1851; Abraham, born 



384 Warren County. 

May 28, 1852, died October 17, 1909. The mother of these children died February 11, 
1876. 

(V) George King, son of Abraham (2) and Almira (Smith) McMurtrie, was 
born March 10, 1850, and was a highly-respected citizen of Belvidere, identified with 
the various interests of the family in that place, including the farm, the flouring mill, 
the sawmill and other sources of revenue. The flouring mill was erected in 1878, and 
yields about one hundred barrels of Hofir daily. 

George King McMurtrie married, July 21, 1872, Delphine Harris, and their chil- 
dren were : Almira, born August 12, 1873, married, in April, 1897, Van Deusen Rick- 
ert, and they have three children : Thomas Henry, Van Deusen and Helen ; Elizabeth 
G., July 4, 1876; George King, June I, 1878; Helen D., November 23, 1884, died May 2, 
1885. Mr. McMurtrie died November 5, 1904. 



Henry W. Faust, of the well-known firm of Faust Brothers, druggists, 
FAUST of Belvidere, is of German descent. His grandfather, John Faust, was a 

farmer of Lehigh county, Pennsylvania. He was the father of two sons 
and one daughter: Alvin D., Owen William, mentioned below; Matilda. 

(H) Owen William, son of John Faust, resided on his farm in Lehigh county, 
Pennsylvania, with the exception of three years, during which he held the office of 
sheriff and lived in Allentown. He married Mary Koch, whose father followed the 
calling of a blacksmith, and their children were : Rosa, married Daniel Wilser ; Emma, 
wife of Griffith Rabenold, died in 1907; Ruth, wife of Milton Rabenold; Frank J., 
married Emeline Werner, had three sons; Clara, wife of Jeremiah Rabenold; Henry 
W., mentioned below; Morris S., of the firm of Faust Brothers, born March 24, 1861, 
married Sarah Cutsler, of Oxford, New Jersey; Tillie, wife of Albert Moyer, a farmer 
of Lehigh county, has one son Howard, a baker in Allentown; Cora, wife of Morris 
Repp, has two children, Raymond and Wayne. Owen William Faust, the father, died 
in July, 1891, in Fogelsville, Pennsylvania, aged about sixty-six years. His widow 
died in 1903, aged seventy-three years. 

(HI) Henry W., son of Owen William and Mary (Koch) Faust, was born March 
23, 1858, and received his education in Allentown, as did his brother, Morris S., grad- 
uating in the high school. They both attended the New York College of Pharmacy, 
Morris S. completing the course in 1887 and Henry W. in i8go. In 1883 they opened a 
store on Water street, the enterprise proving so successful that in the course of fifteen 
or twenty years they felt justified in opening another, at the same time continuing the 
first one. The firm now conducts a flourishing business in both stores. The brothers 
are members of the Masonic fraternity, affiliating with Warren Lodge, No. 13, Free and 
Accepted Masons, of which they are both past masters. They are members also. of 
Covenant Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, of which they are both past 
grands. Henry W. Faust has been for the last fifteen years secretary of this lodge, 
and his brother held the rank of past district deputy in the Masonic fraternity. They 
belong to the Temple Chapter and DeMolay Commandery, Washington, and are also 
members of several other organizations. The brothers are closely associated with the 
religious interests of Belvidere. Henry W. Faust is a member of the Second Presby- 
terian Church, in which he holds the office of ruling elder. Morris S. Faust is a mem- 
ber of the First Presbyterian Church, serving on the board of trustees. Both the 
brothers are useful and respected citizens and as such are excelled by none in the 
community. 

Henry W. Faust married Alice White, and they have one son, Raymond W., who 
graduated in June, 191 1, from Lehigh University, Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, completing 
a course in chemical engineering. 



Warren County. 385 

Le Roy Craig, cferk of the Warren County National Bank, of Belvidere, 
CRAIG is descended from Scotch-Irish ancestry. The family was founded in this 
country at an early period and is a very numerous one, the descendants of 
the immigrant ancestor having greatly multiplied. 

(I) Thomas Craig, grandfather of Le Roy Craig, died at a comparatively early 
age, leaving a widow who became the wife of his brother Robert. The children were : 
Robert, Milton J., Swayzie, Thomas, mentioned below ; John. 

(II) Thomas (2), son of Thomas (i) Craig, is engaged in business in Buttzville. 
He belongs to the Masonic fraternity, being past master of his lodge. In politics he is 
a Republican. He and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal church. He 
married Aminda Swazie, and three children were born to them, of whom the only one 
now living is Le Roy, mentioned below. 

(III) Le Roy, son of Thomas (2) and Aminda (Swazie) Craig, was educated for 
a business career and is now ably filling the position of cashier in the National Bank 
of Belvidere. He is a useful and public-spirited citizen and is highly respected by the 
entire community. 



Whitfield C. Johnston, a well-known citizen of Belvidere, is a repre- 
JOHNSTON sentative of one of the old famiHes of that place. He is a grandson 

of Levi Johnston, whose father emigrated from Holland and settled 
in New Jersey. Levi Johnston m.arried Lena, daughter of Adam Wandling, who was 
the father of a large family and a man of vigorous body and mind. Mr. and Mrs. 
Johnston had five children: Levi, mentioned below; Nelson; Elias; George, and Sam- 
uel. All these sons were among the early residents of Belvidere. Nelson died in 
Washington and Samuel passed his latter days in Hackettstown. 

(II) Levi (2), son of Levi (i) and Lena (Wandling) Johnston, was born Janu- 
ary 7, 1807, and was the proprietor of a store in Belvidere. He was a member of the 
town council and was prominently identified with public affairs. Although a member 
of no church he contributed five hundred dollars to the fund for building the Presby- 
terian house of worship, and was always active in work, having for its object the wel- 
fare of the community. About 1845 he purchased the Johnston farm and built the 
house now owned by his son. At that time land was more valuable than it is now, as 
is shown by the fact that for a single four-acre lot Mr. Johnston paid the sum of one 
thousand dollars. The family subsequently donated part of this old homestead to the 
Cemetery Association. Mr. Nelson Easton had a store next to that of Mr. Johnston 
and Mr. Adrian Lott was also engaged in business in the town at that time. John M. 
Slierrerd, at one time surrogate of the county, Phineas B. Kennedy, a lawyer, and Dr. 
Byington were other prominent men of the place. Mr. Johnston married, October 3, 
1843, Margaret Wandling, born July 19, 1818, and their children were : Caroline, born 
September, 1844; Whitfield C, mentioned below; Margaret W., born September S, 
1847; Mary A., married, August 15, 1876, J. J. Cockrell; Levi; Roderick, who died 
young. 

(III) Whitfield C, son of Levi (2) and Margaret (Wandling) Johnston, was 
born January 28, 1846, and married. May 20, 1869, Mary C. Cole. They had one child, 
Lena, who died at the age of twelve years. Mrs. Johnston has since died and Mr. 
Johnston is now living alone at the old homestead with strangers in charge of the 
house. Notwithstanding his sixty-five years he is in perfect health, having never 
known a day's illness. 



Daniel Meade Perry, born in Tioga county, New York, June 25, 1843, en- 
PERRY listed September 22, 1861, for three years or during the war of the rebel- 
lion. He was promoted to third sergeant, and assigned to Company E, 
Seventy-sixth Regiment New York Volunteers, Second Brigade, First Division, First 



3H6 Warren County. 

Army Corps, Army of the Potomac. He participated in the hattle of Rappahannock 
Station, Virginia, August 22-24, 1862; the battle of Warrenton, Sulphur Springs, Vir- 
ginia, August 26, 1862, and was acting first lieutenant at the battle of Groveton (second 
'lattle of Bull Run) August 28, 1862, where he received a severe gunshot wound in the 
left thigh. He remained on the battlefield, a prisoner, until September Sth, without 
food or medical attention, when he was removed under a flag of truce to Georgetown 
College Hospital, Georgetown, District «f Columbia, from which he was discharged 
on account of total disability, the result of said wound, January 31, 1863. 

He was educated at the Cortland Academy, Cortland, New York, and was grad- 
uated from the Eastman Business College, Poughkeepsie, New York, July 2, 1864, and 
is by profession an accountant. January 28, 1868, he removed to New Jersey. He mar- 
ried, September 12, 1871, Rachel Blair Kelsey, cousin of Henry C. Kelsey, late secre- 
tary of state of New Jersey, and grandniece of the late John I. Blair, of Blairstown. 
New Jersey. He is a member of the following societies : Patriotic Order Sons of 
America; Liberty Council, No. 15, Order United American Mechanics; Pohatcong 
Council, No. 1177, Royal Arcanum, of which he was secretary eleven years; Mans- 
field Lodge, No. 36, A. F. and A. M. ; Temple Chapter, No. 12, Royal Arch 
Masons; DeMolay Commandery, No. 6, Knights Templar; American Automobile 
Association; Associated Automobile Clubs of New Jersey, and the first president of 
the Warren County Automobile Club ; past commander of John F. Reynold's Post, No. 
66, Grand Army of the Republic, and late aide-de-camp on the staff of the commander- 
in-chief of the Grand Army of the Republic. He and his family are members of the 
Presbyterian church. 

Although a lover of harmless sports, he never favors games of chance, believing : 
"Les jeux de hasard, quelque mediocres qu'ils paraissent, sont toujours cheres et 
dangereux.'' Politically he is a Republican, having voted for all the Republican candi- 
dates for president from Abraham Lincoln to William H. Taft; but in local politics 
votes for the best man — the man who will represent the people, regardless of all polit- 
ical cliques and tricks. 

He was a bookkeeper for the Oxford Iron Company, Oxford, New Jersey, from 
1868 to 1887 ; visited England on a tour for his health in the summer of 1886, and after 
a vacation of one year engaged with the Needham Piano & Organ Company, Washing- 
ton, Xew Jersey, and remained in their employ until January 25, 1905, when he retired 
from business. His residence is 128 Belvidere avenue, Washington, New Jersey. He 
has one daughter, Leola Blair. 

He is the tenth generation from the Rev. John Perry, rector of Farnborough, 
England, near the Cathedral of Winchester, died there in 1621. The same year his son 
John was apprenticed to the Guild of Cloth-workers in London, and became free of 
the company and a citizen of London in 1628. His son John, also a cloth-worker, after 
the great fire in London in 1666, came to this country and settled in Watertown, Massa- 
chusetts. He was born in 1613. His son John married, December 13, 1667, Sarah Clay, 
died October 11, 1730, and had children: i. John, born October i, died November 8, 
1668. 2. John, born March 3, 1670; married, July 19, 1693, Sarah Price; she died a 

widow, October 11, 1730; had John, born March 2, 1695-6, married Deborah , in 

Lexington; had children: i. John P., born December 19, 1720; ii. Thomas, December 19, 

1722, married Abigail ; iii. Joseph, October 3, 1^24; iv. Millicent, May 10, 1726: 

v-vi. Ebenezer and Jonathan, twins, born July 17, 1728; vii. Thaddeus, December 26, 
1730; viii. Abigail, August 16, 173S; ix. James, June 30, 1737. 

John Perry (see above), born December 19, 1720, settled in Egremont, Berkshire 
county, Massachusetts, in 1759, as shown by the following taken from the records in 
the recorder's office in Great Barrington, Massachusetts : 



Warren County. 387 

The Record of John Perry's Land, Spetr. ye 2 1st 1764. 
This is John Perry's survey, surveyed April ye 17th day, A. D. 1759, viz. Begin- 
ning at the North-west corner .... bounded North on Highway, and West on 
Highway, South on Samuel Young and East on John Hollenbeck. 
Surveyed by me, John Williams, Surveyor. 

Jonah Westover ] Comm'tee to lay 
Josiah Loomis J out land 

Imployed by John Pop-kne-hon-nuk, etc., Indians and owners of Stockbridge, 
County of Hampshire, and Province of Massachusetts Bay, New England. 

John Perry, of Egremont, married Jerusha — , and had thirteen children, the 

eleventh of whom was Peter, born November 22, 1769, died February 27, 1845. Peter 
married, 179S, Jane Surdam, born January iS, 1774, died June 29, 184.=;, daughter of 
Tunis Surdam, of Salisbury, Connecticut, granddaughter of Lawrence Surdam, born 
June 23, 1703, of Great Barrington, Massachusetts, and great-granddaughter of Teunis 
Pietersz and Margaretta Lawrence, of Dutchess county. New York, who assumed the 
name of Surdam, and were Hollanders. 

Peter Perry removed from Egremont, Massachusetts, to Cincinnatus (now Mara- 
thon), New York, in 1802, and had children: Norman, born October 22, 1800, died 
March 10, 1874; Luther, May 3, 1804, died July i, 1865; Eleanor, July 3, 1807, died June 
3, 1885; Jane, June i, 181 1, died August 7, 1895; Gurdon, January 16, 1817, died Janu- 
ary 13, 1863. Peter Perry removed to Richford, New York, in 1821, where he spent 
liis days. His son Luther married, 1828, Maria Quimby, of Caroline, New York, 
born October l, 1810, daughter of Joseph Quimby and Margaret Creighton Quimby; 
had children: Alonzo, born March 23, 1830; Samuel F., April 18, 1835; Francis G., 
October 13, 1840; Daniel Meade, June 25, 1843; Edwin A., February 20, 1846. All of 
the brothers here named, except Francis G., served in the civil war, 1861-65. 

Rachel Blair Kelsey, born in Blairstown,- New Jersey, November 4, 1846; married, 
September 12, 1871, Daniel Meade Perry, born June 25, 1843. Her childhood was spent 
in Huntsville and on the old farm in Greenville, Sussex county, New Jersey. She was 
educated at the Belvidere Seminary, Belvidere, New Jersey. Her great-grandfather 
was John Kelsey, of Newton township, Sussex county; his will, dated 6th January, 
probated :8th March, 1809, names wife Martha and ten children, one of whom, Henry 
•C, of Sparta, Sussex county, New Jersey, married Hannah Hankinsen; had children: 
Jchn, Mary, Aaron H., Charles (born 1818, died 1854), Martha, Elizabetli, William, 
Ellen. 

Charles Kelsey (above), born 1818; married Mary Ann Titman, of Bridgeville, 
bcrn December 24, 1824; had children: Rachel Blair, born November 4, 1846, married, 
September 12, 1871, Daniel Meade Perry; Sarah B., born August 7, 1852; Charles, born 
May 12, 1854, died September 5, i8S4- 

Charles Kelsey was a merchant. He kept a general store in Blairstown, New 
Jersey, and a few years later one in Huntwell, Sussex county, where, owing to fail- 
ing health, he was compelled to relinquish the mercantile business. He then removed to 
Ms farm in Green township, Sussex county, where he spent his days. His wife's 
(Mary Ann Titman) paternal line: Lodewich Titman, of Bridgeville, died 1772, mar- 
ried, Mary ; child: George, born 1726, married Elizabeth Chilara, child: George, 

born March 4, 1754, died September 4, 1796, married Lena Albright, child: Gecrge, 
born 1777, died October 13, 1813, married, September s, 1798, Agnes Morgan, born 
1772, died July IS, 1842, child: Benjamin, born January 17, 1800, died January 5, i8di, 
married, February 10, 1820, Mary Blair, born October 24, 1798, died July 30, 1840, chil- 
dren : James B., George, John B., Mary Ann, born December 24, 1824, died January 
6, 1907, married Charles Kelsey, mentioned above, born 1818. The maternal line of 
Mary Ann Titman : John Blair, of Scott's Mountain, Harmony township, settled there 



388 Warren County. 

in 1760-65, born 1714, died 1798, married Mary Hazlett, probably a sister of Hon. Will- 
iam Hazlett, of Letjanon township, Hunterdon county, New Jersey; children: John, 
Samuel, William, Robert, James, born August 5, 1769, died 1816, married Rachel 
Insley, daughter of Christopher Insley, died 1782, and Catherine (Kline) Insley, of 
Greenwich township, now Harmony. Catherine (Kline) Insley was the daughter of 
Philip Kline, who purchased six hundred acres in Harmony and settled there about 
1760. James Blair, above mentioned, and Rachel (Insley) Blair had children; Mary, 
born October 24, 1798, died July 30, 1840, married, February 10, 1820, Benjamin Tit- 
man; James; Samuel; John I.; Robert; William; Jacob M. ; Catherine; Elizabeth. 

Rachel Blair Kelsey, granddaughter of Benjamin and Mary (Blair) Titman, was 
named for and by her great-grandmother, Rachel (Insley) Blair. 



Jacob Vosler, the founder of the family at present under consideration, 
VOSLER emigrated from Germany to Schoharie, New York, and afterwards re- 
moved to Somerset county. New Jersey, where he signed the Articles 
of Faith of the New Germantown Church, May 13. 1767. He married Margaret (or 
Teggy), daughter of Lucas and Mary Teeple, of Bedminster. Children, so far as 
known: Luke, married Ann, daughter of John and Mary Smith; Jacob, referred to 
below. 

(II) Jacob (2), son of Jacob (i) and Margaret (Teeple) Vosler, lived in that 
part of Somerset which is now Hunterdon county. New Jersey. He was a soldier in 
the revolutionary war, and subsequently received a pension. He married Sarah Cast- 
ner. Children: Catharine; Jacob, referred to below; Delana; Peter; Catrina; Phebe; 
George; a daughter, married James Duffy. 

(III) Jacob (3), son of Jacob (2) and Sarah (Castner) Vosler, was born about 
1781, and died in January, 1862, aged eighty-one years. He lived at Spruce Run, New- 
Jersey. He married Margaret Oakerman, who was born about 1786, and died in June, 
1858, aged seventy-two years. Children: George, referred to below; Sarah, married 
James Hazlett; Robert; Katharine, married John Barnes; James; Delana, married 
John Moore; Daniel; John. 

(IV) George, son of Jacob (3) and Margaret (Oakerman) Vosler, was born in 
Spruce Run, New Jersey, October 26, 1805. Owing to the straightened circumstances 
of his parents and the long distance between his home and the nearest school, he re- 
ceived but slight educational advantages, and learned at an early age the value of self- 
reHance, industry and economy. For the first four years after his marriage he lived 
on a leased farm, but in 1830 he purchased one hundred and thirty-seven and a half 
acres of land in Bethlehem township, Hunterdon county ; and a few years later, having 
paid off the mortgage on it, he purchased an adjoining farm of the same size. In 1861 
he removed to Washington township, Warren county. New Jersey, and buying a third 
farm of one hundred and thirty-three acres of land near Port Golden, spent the re- 
mainder of his life there. Mr. Vosler joined the Lutheran church of Spruce Run in 
early life, was a member of its building committee, served for thifty-five years as one 
of its trustees, and for many years was treasurer of the congregation. He was a Dem- 
ocrat in politics, cast his first vote for Andrew Jackson, and held a number of town- 
ship offices, besides serving as a judge of elections and township committeeman. He 
married. May 6, 1826, Mary Ann, daughter of John and Ann (Moore) McDonald, who 
was born April 26, 1809, and died before her husband, February 14, 1871. Children : 
Andrew M., born December 17, 1826; Jacob, referred to below; Sylvester, born April 
27, 1833; Elizabeth, born April 23, 1839, married James Anthony; Margaret Ann, born 
January 19, 184S, married (first) Jacob Wyckoff, and (second) Johii H. Weller, of 
Jackson Valley. 

(V) Jacob, son of George and Mary Ann (McDonald) Vosler, was born in Beth- 
lehem township, Hunterdon county. New Jersey, November 10, 1830. He received his 



Warren County. 389 

education in the public schools of Hunterdon county, and removing to Warren county 
with his father, built himself a house on the farm near Port Golden, purchased by his 
father, and lived and died there. He viras a Democrat in politics, and a member of the 
Lutheran church. He married, December i, 1864, Rachel, daughter of Morris and Mary 
Ann (Fitts) Martinus. Children: Edward J., referred to below; Uriah P., born May 
10, 1868, died December 20, 1907; William L., born June 17, 1874, died in infancy; Caro- 
line B., born December 16, 1878, died in infancy. 

(VI) Edward J., son of Jacob and Rachel (Martinus) Vosler, was born near 
Port Colden, Warren county. New Jersey, July 2, 1866, and is now living on the old 
homestead there purchased by his grandfather. He received his education in the 
public schools of Port Colden, and started in life working on his father's farm. He is 
aljemocrat in politics, and has been quite active and prominent in local affairs. He 
served for three years as a member of the Port Colden school board, and in 1905 was 
appointed tax collector of Washington, New Jersey, to fill the unexpired term of Daniel 
Fritts. In 1906 he was elected to fill the office for the full term, and in 1909 he was 
reelected. He has also served one term as commissioner of appeals. He is a Presby- 
terian in religion, and a member of Ute Tribe, No. 180, Improved Order of Red Men, 
of Washington, New Jersey. 

He married, December 26, 1888, Elizabeth, daughter of John and Mary (Dern- 
berger) Hann, of Anderson, Mansfield township, Warren county. New Jersey, who was 
born there, July 5, 1866. No children. 



Jacob Petty, the first member of this family of whorn we have definite 
PETTY information, was born in Hunterdon county, New Jersey. He was among 

the early settlers of the county and was a farmer. He may have been a 
ferandson or great-nephew of the John Petty, of Burlington, New Jersey, "wool 
comber," for the administration of whose estate, William Petty, of Burlington, "brick- 
maker," gave his bond, December 23, 1730. If so, he was undoubtedly related in some 
way to the Anna Petty, who died in 1746, as the widow of Job, son of Richard and Abi- 
gail Stockton, the founders of that family in New Jersey. This Job Stockton was a 
great-uncle of the Hon. Richard Stockton, the signer of the Declaration of Inde- 
pendence. Jacob Petty removed from Warren county. New Jersey, to Michigan, with 
his family, and died there, some time about 1835 or 1840. Among his children was 
John, referred to below. 

(II) John, son of Jacob Petty, was born in Hunterdon county. New Jersey, and 
died in Michigan. Among his children was Aaron, referred to below. 

(III) Aaron, son of John Petty, was born in Hunterdon county. New Jersey, May 
19, 1814, and died in 1887. He was born on a farm near Belvidere, and the greater part 
of his active life was spent in farming, and the grounds of Lafayette College, Easton, 
Pennsylvania, are part of the land included in one of the farms on which he lived in 
early life. He received a common school education at Rocksburg and Belvidere, and 
when he was about thirty years old left the neighborhood and purchased, a farm near 
Washington. He was the owner of four farms, ranging from seventy to one hundred 
and twenty acres in area, and of woodlands in Hunterdon county, the total being about 
five hundred acres of land in all. He was a Democrat in politics. He was an attendant of 
the Presbyterian and Methodist churches. He married Jane Hill, who was born at 
Spruce Run, Hunterdon county, New Jersey, in 1814, and died in February, i8go. 
Children: Edward, born in 1834; John, born in 1836; Sarah, born in 1838; Emeline, 
born in 1840; Hiram, born in 1841 ; Theodore, born in 1843; Jacob M., referred to 
below; Aaron, born May 8, 1847; Mary Jane, born in 1851; Robert M., referred to 
below. 

(IV) Jacob M., son of Aaron and Jane (Hill) Petty, was born on his father's 
farm, near Easton, Pennsylvania, June 2, 1845. He received his education in the public 



39° Warren County. 

schools and business college of Newark. After farming for himself for nine years he 
embarked in the mercantile business, and for seven years kept a general store at 
Townsbury, and another for four years at Rocksburg. In 1891 he settled at Washing- 
ton, where for a number of years he was engaged in the mercantile business and the 
manufacture of piano backs with the Washington Manufacturing Company. He has also 
been a member of the General Manufacturing Company, which manufactured models 
exclusively. Since November, igo8, he has been a manager of the Tidings Publishing 
Company, of Washington. He purchase* his present residence in Washington in 1910. 
He is a Democrat in politics; he and his family are members of the Presbyterian 
church. He married, in November, 1872, Clara, daughter of Nelson and Caroline B. 
(Stinson) Vliet. Children: Carolyn V.; Luella; Raymond V. 

(IV) Robert M., son of Aaron and Jane (Hill) Petty, was born at Changewater, 
Warren county, New Jersey, September 13, 1858. He was educated in the public 
schools of Changewater. Brought up on a farm, he followed that vocation until 1885, 
working for himself after 1880. With his subsequent diversity of business interests, 
he has never ceased to be engaged in agriculture ; he still farms more than four hun- 
dred acres of land. In 1885 he went to Rocksburg, where he erected a store building 
and kept a general store for three years; the building is now being used by the Red 
Men for a hall. He came to Washington in 1892, where he engaged in the raising of 
peaches and conducted a general fruit farm, one of the largest of its kind in New 
Jersey. For a short tirne afterwards he was a butcher and meat dealer in Washington 
and became one of the greatest promoters of enterprise in that town. In the face of 
severe opposition he founded, in 1898, the Washington National Bank, of which he is 
now president, and built the Opera House in the same block. The next project in 
which he was concerned was the building of the trolley line which now runs from 
Phillipsburg to Port Murry. This also met with strong opposition and delays. The 
eighteen miles now in operation form only a portion of the proposed line, and it is 
intended to connect with the lines running to the seaboard cities and to extend the 
tracks both north and south of Washington. Mr. Petty is president of this company 
also. He started the Washington Automobile Company, the Washington Wagon & 
Harness Company, and the Washington Piano Company. He is president of the 
Metropolitan Building and Loan Association, of Newark; the Washington Manufactur- 
ing Company, of Hanover, Pennsylvania; the Oxford Iron & Steel Company, of Ox- 
ford, New Jersey; the Washington Gas Company; and is the leading factor in the 
Washington Tidings PubHshing Company, and is intimately connected with many other 
interests. He is a director in the Northampton, Easton & Washington Traction Com- 
pany of New Jersey; Northampton Traction Company of Pennsylvania; Montgomery 
Traction Company, of Lansdale, Pennsylvania, and the New Jersey Fire Insurance 
Company, of Newark. 

Mr. Petty is an ardent and active Republican, and although Washington is a Dem- 
ocratic stronghold, he has been mayor of the borough and has a strong following. His 
poHtical career began in 1885, when he served as clerk of the board of directors of 
the county almshouse, which position he held for three years. When he first came to 
Washington he served three years in the borough council, and was in the council when 
the streets were improved in the borough, and has always been an active and earnest 
supporter of good roads. It was also during his term in the council that the electric 
lighting franchise for the town was granted, and he was interested in the opening and 
extension of Lincoln avenue. He was for four years mayor of Washington, and during 
this term assisted in the purchase of land for a public park. Another street was opened 
from West Washington avenue, named Wandling avenue. Mr. Petty was appointed 
on the board of registration and served five years. His party nominated him in igo8 
for state senator, and he made a "fine run." His activities in real estate and other 
lines have been highly beneficial to the community. As far back as 1884 he was one 






^:2^ 



Warren County. y)\ 

of the first builders of houses on upper Broad street, which was then farming land and 
is now one of the best residential sections of Washington. He has a large interest in 
the Washington National Bank. The opera house was built by Mr. Petty, who thereby 
doubled the taxable value of that site. He purchased and remodeled the Hotel Wind- 
sor and enhanced the value of that property. Since the passing of the trolley line 
through the town real estate has advanced in value nearly one-third, and a great public 
benefit to the section of which Mr. Petty was the pioneer, was his bank, the first in the 
county to obtain interest for depositors. Mr. Petty is a member of the Presbyterian 
church. He is connected with the following secret societies in Washington : Mans- 
field Lodge, No. 36, Free and Accepted Masons; Independent Order of Odd Fellows; 
Knights of Pythias; Junior and Senior Order of American Mechanics; the Royal 
Arcanum, and the Order of Elks. 

He married, in December, 1879, Mary S., daughter of Samuel and Mary (Feit) 
Vanatta, of Rocksburg, New Jersey. Children: i. Floyd, died in infancy. 2. Arthur, 
born at Changewater, New Jersey, April 12, 1892; he is a graduate of Wenona Military 
Academy, class of 1910, and is at present employed as bookkeeper at the Washington 
National Bank. 



George Whitfield Scranton, founder of the city of Scranton, Penn- 
SCRANTON sylvania, was descended from John Scranton, who settled at Guil- 
ford, Connecticut, in the autumn of 1639. The pastor of the settle- 
ment was the Rev. Henry Whitfield. Most of the planters had emigrated from Sur- 
rey, England, and the records show that they were possessed of considerable property, 
some of them being wealthy. In 1669 and 1670 John Scranton was a member of the 

general court. He was twice married. His first wife was Joanna , whom he 

probably married in England, and his second was Adaline Hill. Only three children 
are mentioned, one of them being a son, John (2), whose son, John (3), was the 
father of Ichabod Scranton, of Madison, who was born February 19, 1717 (O. S.), and 
served with the rank of captain in the French war, participating in the Louisburg cam- 
paign. He also served in the revolutionary war, being present at the taking of Fort 
Ticonderoga. He married Chloe Fowler, born at Guilford, March 3, 1723. 

(V) Theophilus, son of Ichabod and Chloe (Fowler) Scranton, and fifth in de- 
scent from the immigrant ancestor, was born December I, 1751, in Madison, Connecti- 
cut, and was a farmer by occupation, a Whig in politics and a member of the Congre- 
gational church. He married Abigail Lee, born July 11, 1754, and their children were: 
Erastus, Parnel, Jonathan, Charlotte, Chloe, Theophilus, mentioned below; Hubbard, 
Leman, Ichabod Lee, Henry and Abigail Lee. 

(VI) Theophilus (2), son of Theophilus (i) and Abigail (Lee) Scranton, was 
born April 13, 1786, at Madison, Connecticut, and owned a line of stages that carried 
the mail between New Haven and Saybrook, Connecticut. He was a member of the 
Congregational church. He married, July 2, 1810, EHzabeth Warner, born at Guil- 
ford, Connecticut, October 26, 1788, and their children were : George Whitfield, men- 
tion below; Selden Theophilus, born October 13, 1814; Amelia, April 10, 1818; Caroline 
E., February II, 1820; Charles, June 23, 1822; WiUiam Lafayette, April 19, 1824; Sarah 
Warner, April 30, 1830. 

(VII) George Whitfield, son of Theophilus (2) and Elizabeth (Warner) Scran- 
ton, was born May 23, 181 1, in Madison, Connecticut, and attended the schools of his 
native place, whence he passed to the Academy of Madison, then an institution of note, 
presided over by Major Robinson. In 1828 he went to Belvidere, New Jersey, where 
he was employed by his uncle, Chapman Warner. He afterward conducted a store in 
partnership with Judge Kinney and also engaged in agriculture. He then went to 
Oxford Furnace, New Jersey, where he engaged in the manufacture of iron, under the 
firm name of G. W. & S. T. Scranton, the partners being also very extensive land- 



392 Warren County. 

owners. He afterward went to Pennsylvania, where he founded the city of Scranton, 
which was named in his honor. He was the promoter of large rolling mills, coal mines 
and other forms of industry. To him also belongs the honor of the inception as well 
as the completion of a locomotive-engine road from Grant Bend to the Delaware 
Water Gap, now the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western railroad. While a resident 
of New Jersey he served as colonel on the governor's staff, and he was twice elected to 
congress from Luzerne county, Pennsylvania. He was a member of the First Presby- 
terian Church of Scranton, which was organized and held its first services in his house. 

Colonel Scranton married, January 21, 1835, at Belvidere, New Jersey, Jane, born 
in 1811, in that town, daughter of George and Jane (Loder) Hiles. Mr. Hiles was a 
wealthy farmer and landowner of Belvidere, donor of the site of Warren county court- 
house. He was one of the few who voluntarily emancipated their slaves, for which 
reason his name is worthy of being held in great and lasting honor. The Hiles and 
Loder families were of Dutch origin, having emigrated from Rotterdam, Holland. 
Colonel Scranton and his wife were the parents of the following children : I. Eliza- 
beth Warner, born March 17, 1838; married G. A. Fuller; children: George W. Scran- 
ton, Jane Hiles, William Augustus and Lawrence Barnard. 2. William Hervey, June 
13, 1840; married Rosalie Paul. 3. James Selden, November 3, 1841; married Kate 
Laurens Rayner ; children : Kate Rayner, Anna Kimball, Elizabeth Dickson, George 
Whitfield, Grace Florence and William Henry. 4. Ellen, May 19, 1845; died July II, 
1845. The death of Colonel Scranton occurred in 1861. His name is honored as that 
of a pioneer and legislator and also as that of an exemplar of all the civic virtues, a 
promoter of industry, education and religion. 

(Vni) William H., son of George Whitfield and Jane (Hiles) Scranton, was 
born January 13, 1840, and the same year the family removed from Belvidere to Scran- 
ton, where the son was educated, completing his course in i860, after five years' study 
in the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. He then settled at Oxford, New Jersey, as 
civil and mining engineer for the firm of G. W. & S. T. Scranton, which became, in 
1863, the Oxford Iron Company. In 1873 he became general manager for the, company, 
an office which he resigned in 1885. The following year he accepted the position of 
general manager of the Fall River Iron Works, in Massachusetts, but soon returned 
to Oxford, where he practiced as a consulting engineer, also occupying himself with 
professional investigations and engaging in commercial undertakings on his own 
account. One of the latest of these was the introduction into the United States of the 
Wenstrom Magnetic Separator. Mr. Scranton was an accomplished draughtsman, 
designer and architect. A lasting monument of his skill is the large blast furnace at 
Oxford, for which he made the plans and of which he superintended the construction 
in 1872, remodeling and improving the work in 1885. As a manager of workmen his 
success was extraordinary, as the confidence of the eight hundred — sometimes one 
thousand — workmen in his employ constantly testified. The principal contribution made 
by Mr. Scranton to the cause of his profession was connected with the use of the 
magnetic needle in the survey of iron ore deposits, a subject in which he had for a 
long time been deeply interested. Mr. Scranton died June 11, 1889, at Oxford, New 
Jersey. Upon the monument of his father, in the family plot in Dunmore cemetery, at 
Scranton, are engraved these words : 

"Kind-hearted, benevolent, genial and true in his relations with his fellow men; a 
man of noble purposes and high Christian character; he was called to his reward in 
the midst of his usefulness, loved and mourned by all who knew him." 

William H. Scranton married, November 6, 1867, in the Second Presbyterian 
Church, Germantown, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Rosalie Paul, born at "Hazeldene," 
the country home of her parents, near Attleboro, Pennsylvania, now Langhorn, May 3, 
1842, daughter of Thomas and Sara T. Paul. 




WiMio/m i7l, JcnoMtmi 



Warren County. 393 

The late Dr. William Henry McGee, for more than thirty years one of 
McGEE the leading and most successful physicians of Warren county, was a grand- 
son of Patrick McGee, a native of the North of Ireland, who emigrated 
to this country early in the nineteenth century. His occupation was that of a linen- 
weaver and he settled at Paterson, New Jersey, at a time when the weaving industry 
of that place was in its infancy. 

(II) William C, son of Patrick McGee, was born in 1818, and was a graduate of 
Princeton University and a minister of the Presbyterian church. He was for many 
years pastor of the Yellow Frame Church at the place in New Jersey, to which it has 
given its name. In politics he was a Republican. He married, in May, 1841, Anne, 
Sherrerd, born April 15, 1817, daughter of the Rev. John Flavel and Mary (Sherrerd) 
Clark, and granddaughter of the Rev. Joseph Clark, who was a student at Princeton 
at the outbreak of the revolutionary war. When the news came of the fight at Lexing- 
ton he promptly deserted the class-room for the camp and was one of those who served 
under Washington. He has left a full diary of his experiences in the war, giving a 
most interesting account of his life in the army. Mr. and Mrs. McGee had two chil- 
dren : John Flavel, born April 6, 1844, a prominent lawyer of Jersey City; William 
Henry, mentioned below. Mr. McGee died in 186S. 

(III) William Henry, son of William C. and Anne Sherrerd (Clark) McGee, was 
born June i, 1848, at Yellow Frame Church, New Jersey, and in 1869 graduated from 
Blair Hall, Princeton University. He then entered the College of Physicians and 
Surgeons of New York City, and in 1871 received from that institution the degree of 
Doctor of Medicine. From that time until the close of his life he was continuously 
engaged in professional labors in his native state and county. For several years he 
practiced with his uncle. Dr. Samuel S. Clark, whom in the course of time he succeeded, 
building up, in addition to this practice, an extensive one of his own and making for 
himself a high place in the ranks of his profession. He was surgeon for the Pennsyl- 
vania railroad. He was a member of the American Medical Association, New Jersey 
Medical Association, and was president and treasurer of the Warren County Medical 
Society. His political principles were those advocated by the Republican party. He 
was a member of the First Presbyterian Church, of Belvidere, serving on the board of 
trustees. 

Dr. McGee married, May 13, 1875, near Belvidere, Mary Catherine, daughter of 
Merari and Phoebe , (Rosenburg) Gulick, the former a well-to-do farmer of Mount 
Bethel, Pennsylvania, and they became the parents of two daughters : Anne Clark, 
graduated from Blair Hall, in the class of 1898; Helen, graduated from Belvidere high 
school, in the class of 1904, and then attended Blair Hall. The death of Dr. McGee 
occurred June ID, 1904, while he was still in the prime of life and at the zenith of his 
usefulness. He left behind him the name of a broad-minded and skillful physician, a 
noble man and an exemplary citizen. 



Thomas Pursel was born near London, England, and came to America 
PURSEL in 1635, in the ship "Constance," and upon landing bought several large 

tracts of land on Long Island. He was a man of considerable wealth 
when he came to America, and lived the life of a farmer. He married Christana Van 
Houten, and had children : Thomas, John, Henry, Catherine and William. 

(II) Thomas (2). son of Thomas (i) Pursel, came from Long Island and settled 
in Somerset about 1681. This is the first known ancestor of this family in New Jersey. 
Children : Thomas, John, Henry, William and several others. 

(III) John, son of Thomas (2) Pursel, was born in Hunterdon county about 
i6go. He had a large family of children, one of whom, John, was an elder of the 
German Lutheran church, at Readington township, Hunterdon county, New Jersey. 
He also had a son Jonathan, mentioned below. 



394 Warren County. 

(IV) Jonathan, son of John Pursel, was born about 1730. He married (first) 

Ann Moon; (second) Esther . Children, all by second wife: John, Daniel, and 

several others. 

(V) John (2), son of Jonathan and Esther Pursel, was born in Alexandria town- 
ship, 1768, died March 28, 1850. He lived on the homestead. He married Mary, born 
June 26, 1 771, daughter of Peter and Leah Haughawout. They had children: i. Jona- 
than, born August 30, 1788; went to L^ckhaven. 2. Leah, born December 10, 1789; 
married William Carfary. 3. Lefford, born August 19, 1791; married Mary Shipman. 
4. John, born July 29, 1793; mentioned below. 5. Daniel, born March 12, 1795; married 

. 6. Peter, born December 14, 1796; married Ann Wilson. 7. William, 

born November 15, 1798; married (first) Mary Ann Iliff; (second) Mary Stiers. 8. 
Sarah, born January 15, 1800; married John L. Cooley. 9. Esther, born March 15, 
1803. 10. Jacob, born December 21, 1804. 11. Charles, born August i, 1807. 12. Eli, 
born March 5, 1810; married Jane Searfoss. 13. Mary, born April 11, 1813; married 
William Vleit. 14. Rebecca, born January 19, 1815. 

(VI) John (3), fourth child and third son of John (2) and Mary (Haughawout) 
Pursel, was born July 29, 1793, near Milford; died December 14, i860. He settled at 
Carpentersville, New Jersey. He married Elizabeth Fine, born January 27, 1797; died 
November 7, 1876. Children: i. Catherine, born December 8, 1817; married John 
Melick. 2. John. 3. Andrew, born January 8, 1819; married Margaret Lockwood., 4. 
Philip Fine, mentioned below. 5. Sarah, born June 10, 1830; married Isaac Thomas- 
ton, April 10, 1862. 6. Hannah, born 1833; died 1893; married E. C. Dalton, March 28, 
1850. 7. Stewart C, mentioned below. 8. James, married Julia Black. 

(VII) Philip Fine, son of John (3) and Elizabeth (Fine) Pursel, was born near 
Carpentersville, New Jersey, April 6, 1828; died April 24, 1882. He was educated at 
the public schools, and taught school for a number of years at Carpentersville. He 
was later a merchant shipper on the Morris and Lehigh canals, and in i860 sold out 
to his brother, S. C. Pursel, and then went into the milling business at Springtown, 
New Jersey. In 1864 he removed to one mile below Phillipsburg, near Greensbridge, 
and continued the same business until his death, which occurred April 24, 1882, the mill 
being still known as Pursel's mill, and the business was continued long after by his son, 
Thomas Stone Pursel. He married, October 13, 1856, Mary Louisa, daughter of John 
and Margaret (Bougher) Stone. Children: i. Thomas Stone, born July 25, 1857; mar- 
ried Ella F. Patterson, November 4, 1881. 2. Andrew, born October 2, 1864; died De- 
cember, 1906; married Ada Slacker, December 16, 1884. 3. Seth Stewart, born January 
8, 1866; died April i, 1905; married Maria Moore, September 15, 1892. 4. Elizabeth, 
born October 12, 1868; married, December 15, 1887, William S. Shimer; child, Isaac 
Sharp Shimer, born October 2, i8go. 5. James, born August 8, 1872 ; married Georgina 
Skinner, November 27, 1906. 

(VII) Stewart C., son of John (3) and Elizabeth (Fine) Pursel, was born Octo- 
ber IS, 1837; died July 13, 1905. He married, March 27, 1862, Catharine C. Stone, and 
among their children was William S., mentioned below. 

(VIII) William S., son of Stewart C. and Catharine C. (Stone) Pursel, was born 
in Phillipsburg, Warren county. New Jersey, September 26, 1869. He received his 
education in the public schools of Phillipsburg, where he spent his boyhood and youth, 
and then entered on a mercantile career, as assistant in his father's store. When he 
was about twenty years of age he and his brother, John T. Pursel, took entire charge 
of the store and for five years conducted it under the firm name of W. S. & J. T. Pur- 
sel. They then admitted their brother, Theodore M. Pursel, into partnership with 
them and included a milling and coal business in their operations. Six years later the 
firm was dissolved and William S. Pursel engaged in the clothing business in Easton, 
Pennsylvania, where he had one of the best establishments of its kind in that city, at 
401 Northampton street, in that city. He retired from the clothing business, July i. 



Warren County. 395 

1911. Mr. Pursel attends the Lutheran church of Phillipsburg, and is a member of 
Lodge No. 395, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, of Phillipsburg, and of 
Chapter No. 1372, Fraternal Order of Eagles, of Phillipsburg. He married, November 
8, 1901, Caroline, daughter of John D. Thomas, of Glendon, Northampton county, 
Pennsylvania. Children : Donald T., Helen Louise, Elizabeth Edna. 



Joseph Bartels Cornish, the pioneer of the Cornish family in Warren 

CORNISH county. New Jersey, the son of Joseph B. Cornish Sr., and born in 

Bethlehem township, Hunterdon county. New Jersey, April 3, 1834, and 

after a business career of more than half a century, died in the borough of Washington, 

Warren county. New Jersey, January 24, 1910. 

He was educated in the public schools of his native county, after which he enter- 
ed the employ of his father in a country store at West Portal, Hunterdon county, New 
Jersey. In connection with his father he conducted an extensive mercantile business 
for a number of years. In 1865, immediately after the close of the war of the rebel- 
lion, Mr. Cornish removed to Washington, New Jersey, and formed a copartnership 
with his brother-in-law, Henry W. Johnson, and together they conducted a general 
store for a number of years. Their customers came from the remotest section of War- 
ren county, and Mr. Cornish became one of the best known merchants of the county, 
and formed many personal friendships which continued until the end of his life. 

The increasing demand for organs in the homes of the people attracted the atten- 
tion of Mr. Cornish, and he was quick to discover the coming business in their sale and 
manufacture, and began to investigate the subject, which resulted in the opening of an 
office in Washington, the beginning of a retail business. He at first had his organs 
manufactured by Robert Hornbaker, in the first organ factory erected in Washington. 
The capacity of the Hornbaker factory soon proved insufficient to the growing demand 
made upon it by Mr. Cornish, and, after a careful consideration of the situation, Mr. 
Cornish decided to establish a factory under his own management and for his own 
personal use. The firm of Cornish & Company, composed of Joseph B. Cornish and 
Johnston Cornish, his son, was organized, and in 1880 they purchased the brick furni- 
ture factory at the corner of West Washington avenue and South Lincoln avenue, and 
from time to time the same was enlarged until the present extensive and commodious 
Cornish factory was established. In the course of a few years Mr. Cornish began the 
manufacture of pianos also, and that department has equalled and at times surpassed 
the manufacture of organs. In 1901 the Cornish Company was incorporated under the 
laws of the state of New Jersey, and Mr. Cornish was elected president of the com- 
pany, which position he held until his death. 

In addition to his career as a business man, Mr. Cornish took great delight in 
having a hand in political affairs. He was a Democrat of the old school, and his keen 
foresight, shrewd counsel and able leadership advanced him to the position of a recog- 
nized leader of his party in the county as well as in the old fourth congressional 
district and the state. In 1868 and 1869 he served as secretary of the New Jersey 
senate. In 1872 he was nominated by the Democratic party as candidate for senator 
and was elected and served in the New Jersey senate from 1873 to 1875. He was 
a man of very strong characteristics, very forceful, but unassuming and unobtrusive; 
his friendships were exceedingly strong, and he had a faculty of always remembering 
his friends and they were equally loyal to him. His sympathy for the unfortunate was 
known throughout northern New Jersey, and his charity was extended to the worthy 
in every section. Mr. Cornish, although at all times a busy man, never failed to appre- 
ciate his home, and it may be truly said that he was a home-body, for the moment that 
his business engagements were completed he would be found mingling with the mem- 
bers of his family at the old homestead. The attachment existing between Mr. Cornish 
and his son, Johnston, was a matter of much favorable comment. Each had full and 



396 Warren County. 

explicit confidence in the other, and to this fact may be attributed the success of their 
business operations. 

Aside from the piano and organ business, Mr. Cornish was connected with only 
one other institution, the First National Bank of Washington, of which he was vice- 
president for a number of years, and at the death of the late Judge Hann, was chosen 
to succeed him as president of the bank. 

Early in life Mr. Cornish was marri^ to Adeline, daughter of the late Philip John- 
son, and one son, Johnston Cornish, blessed their union. Mrs. Cornish died in 1906. 
After coming to Washington he connected himself with Mansfield Lodge, No. 36, 
Free and Accepted Masons, of Washington, and held his membership in that order unljil 
the time of his death. 

Johnston Cornish, son of Joseph Bartels and Adeline Cornish, was born in Bethle- 
hem township, Hunterdon county. New Jersey, in 1857, and removed with his parents 
to Washington when a small boy. He was educated in the public schools, after which 
he entered the business college at Easton, Pennsylvania, where he received that busi- 
ness education which was of much value to him in after life. After serving a brief 
time as assistant in the office of his father, he was received as a junior member of the 
firm of Cornish & Company, since which time he has been identified with the manage- 
ment of its extensive business. 

At the time of the death of his father he was the secretary and treasurer of Cor- 
nish & Company, but immediately thereafter was elected as president of the company, 
which position he still holds, and it may be said that the business of the company 
has been more profitably and successfully conducted than at any other time. With the 
great competition in the manufacture and sale of musical instruments now prevailing 
throughout the country, Mr. Cornish has been successful in keeping his instruments 
in the front ranks and increasing the yearly sales. At this same time, Johnston Cor- 
nish was elected to succeed his father as president of the First National Bank of 
Washington, which position of trust and honor he still retains. 

It may be said that the love of politics was inherited by him from his father, and 
when a very young man he was induced to accept the nomination for mayor of Wash- 
ington, New Jersey. He was elected, proved to be a successful manager of public 
affairs, and at the close of his first term as mayor was reelected without opposition. He 
was unanimously reelected for another term, thus acting for three consecutive terms. 
At the close of his last term as mayor in 1890, he was elected to the senate of New 
Jersey to represent the county of Warren, and at the expiration of his senatorial term 
was elected as a member of congress from the fourth district of New Jersey. After 
having served the people of his district in congress, he assumed active management of 
the piano and organ business, but in 1899 he was again nominated and elected as the 
representative of Warren county in the state senate and by an increased majority. 
At the close of his term he again became a private in the ranks, giving his entire atten- 
tion to the building up of the piano and organ business. In the fall of 1905 he was 
induced by his friends to again allow his name to be presented as a candidate for the state 
senate, and he was elected. After serving another term of three years he again received 
the Democratic nomination for senator, without a dissenting vote, and was reelected by 
a majority which proved to be the largest ever received in Warren county, and the 
final returns showed that he had carried every voting district in the county with the 
exception of two small districts. Mr. Cornish, by reason of his experience and record 
as a legislator arose to a position that caused him to be recognized as a party leader, 
and for several years he has been one of the most influential men on the Democratic 
state committee. 

Following in the footsteps of his father. Senator Cornish has been a liberal con- 
tributor to all worthy objects, and his hand of charity has been extended in many 
directions. He has formed friendships that are lasting, and to-day has an exceedingly 




Q 



^ 



/JC- ^ * t ■ "' ^ 



■^ 



^>*-«-^ /S</3,, ^.^, 



Warren County. 397 

strong hold on the people of his county. During the trying times of last winter at the 
state capital, Mr. Cornish proved to be a loyal supporter of Governor Wilson, and 
faithfully and fully carried out the pledges of his party and the will of his constituents. 
Mr. Cornish has always taken a great interest in the social affairs of his home town, 
and for a long time has been actively identified with the leading fraternities, including 
the Masons, Odd Fellows,. Knights of Pythias, Red Men and Elks. 

Senator Cornish was married to Margaret Banker, of New York, in i88s, and 
has since resided in the old homestead on Belvidere avenue, Washington. One son, 
Joseph Banker Cornish, blessed their union in 1887, and when he reached the age of 
twenty-one he became interested in the Cornish Company, and is now its secretary, 
representing the third generation in the conduct and establishment of the business. He 
married Ellen Haggerty, of Phillipsburg, New Jersey, and occupies a home on Belvi- 
dere avenue, Washington. 



Ardent love for the study of medicine has made Dr. Clyde Kennedy 
MILLER Miller, of Hackettstown, an eminent physician among the more success- 
ful practitioners of that profession in both county and state. Persistency 
in any calling will bring its rewards, but when efforts to attain success are urged for- 
ward by an inherent or inherited love for any pursuit, technical, professional or other- 
wise, the goal of the aspirant's ambition is generally reached. Such was the case with 
Dr. Miller. Bred to agriculture, he left the plough for a calling more congenial to his 
tastes, and in due time made his way unaided through two colleges, a scholarship 
having been taken from Easton Academy in 1901 ; it was a long course of training, 
but the wisdom of it was justified by the successful practice that followed. 

Clyde Kennedy Miller was born July 7, 1882, in Harmony, New Jersey. He is the 
son of Amzi and Annie E. Miller, the former born September 14, i860, and the latter 
February 19, 1862. Their other children were : Russell Cline, born September 14, 
i8go; Decker, born July 6, 1895; David Park, born January i, 1901. Amzi Miller was 
a farmer, a member of the Presbyterian church and in politics a Republican. His wife, 
who was a native of Harmony, New Jersey, was closely identified with him in all that 
conduces to the prosperity, contentment and religious happiness of a home. 

Dr. Miller studied at Lafayette College, Easton, Pennsylvania, graduating in 1905, 
with the degree of Bachelor of Philosophy. His professional training was obtained in 
the Medico-Chirurgical College of Philadelphia, which conferred upon him, in 1908, the 
degree of Doctor of Medicine. He graduated with honors, being the winner of a hundred 
dollar gold medal, and while still a student he was president of the Ophthalmological 
Society of Philadelphia. It is worthy of note that his practice, which is one of the 
largest in the state, has been built up since 1909, that being the year in which he enter- 
ed upon his professional career in Warren county. 

Dr. Miller married, January 1, 1910, Leah Lockwood, daughter of Charles Lock- 
wood and Margaret (Keenan) Ingraham, of Newark. Dr. and Mrs. Miller are mem- 
bers of the Presbyterian church, and are otherwise identified with the social and relig- 
ious life of the beautiful little city in which they reside. Dr. Miller is a member of the 
Hackettstown Club and holds a directorate in the People's Bank, also in the National 
Bank. His remarkable practice in Hackettstown, however, had its rise in the beginning 
of his professional career and was owing', not to his social standing, but to his very 
successful treatment of a number of cases which had hitherto defied medical skill; 
Most certainly Dr. Miller's professional pathway has been a bright and shining one 
up to the present time. 

Mrs. Miller is a granddaughter of Thomas Keenan, the Evangelist, well-known 
among railroad men, especially those of the Gould system, throughout the south and 
southwest. 

Mr. Keenan is an historic character. He came to this country in his mother's arms 



398 Warren County. 

about seventy-one or seventy-two years ago, and in 1856 entered the service of the Dela- 
ware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad Company, remaining until 1904, when he was 
retired on a pension. All this time he served as an engineer with the exception of one year 
when he had charge of a locomotive on the Central Pacific railroad in California. Mr. 
Keenan married, in 1858, Almira Baldwin, and they became the parents of two children, 
one of them a daughter, Margaret, who became the wife of Charles Lockwood Ingra- 
ham. Mr. and Mrs. Ingraham had thr^e children: Eugene Millington; Cosby Sey- 
mour; Leah Lockwood, born September 19, 1886, in Newark, New Jersey, and is now 
the wife of Dr. Clyde Kennedy Miller, as mentioned above. Mrs. Ingraham died at 
the early age of thirty-four. 

Although born in 1835 Mr. Keenan still possesses the health, strength and appear- 
ance of a man not yet more than fifty years old. His earlier career was a wild one, 
he being "full of carnality and sin," to use his own words. But his transformation 
when converted was most thorough and complete. It was effected suddenly, when on 
his locomotive, going at the rate of forty miles an hour, since which time his work as 
an evangelist has been kept up at about that speed. The change of life, from the old 
to the new, was so radical, and so consistent has been his conduct on the higher spirit- 
ual plane, that "Tom Keenan," as he is familiarly called, enjoys the respect of every- 
one. It is safe to say that no preacher of the gospel in the state of New Jersey is more 
highly regarded as a man than is Thomas Keenan. 



Van Cleve Brugler, vice-principal of the Hackettstown high school and 
BRUGLER instructor in mathematics and sciences, is a representative of a family 

of Dutch origin. The immigrant ancestor was probably the first of the 
name Who settled in Pennsylvania or New Jersey. He came to the latter province early in 
the eighteenth century and made his home near Columbia. 

(II) Henry Brugler, son of the immigrant ancestor, married Martha , and their 

children were: Peter; James, mentioned below; Henry. Henry Brugler, the father, is 
'luried at Hainesburg, New Jersey. 

(III) James, son of Henry and Martha Brugler, was born in 1779, at Columbia, 
New Jersey, and was a farmer by occupation. He married Ann Hagerrnan and their 
sen James is mentioned below. James Brugler died in 1852, at Warrington, New 
Jersey. 

(IV) James (2), son of James (i) and Ann (Hagerman) Brugler, was born 
May 0. 1825, at Warrington, New Jersey. He was a farmer and a member of a church. 
He married, January i, 1848, at Mount Hermon, New Jersey, Susannah Moot Konkle, 
and the following were their children : John Milton, mentioned below ; Anna Mary, 
EmTa Caroline, Charles Edward, Aaron C. and James Orison. 

(V) John Milton, son of James (2) and Susannah Moot (Konkle) Brugler, was 
born October 5, 1848, at Mount Hermon, New Jersey, and was a farmer and breeder 
of thorcrghbred stock. At the time of his death he was superintendent of the large 
stock farm of James Neilson, at New Brunswick, New Jersey. He was a Republican 
in politics and a member of the Methodist Episcopal church. He married, December 
29, 1870, at Hope, New Jersey, Mary Elizabeth, born December i, 1848, at Lebanon, 
New Jersey, daughter of Isaac Janson and Mary (Sutton) Decker. The former was 
born June 22, 1821, an