(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of Shawnee County, Kansas, and representative citizens"

r 



CORNELL 

UNIVERSITY 

LIBRARY 




GIFT OF 
Dept, Of American History 



DATE DUE 1 


JtO-- 


-^"Tias 






t.', .?.,- ^- ■' 


■ -^.- -riT' '■ jP:'- 






- - • 


• ,■■-:■*?' Tf 


"M 




OECiJ-5 


^81 Nf^V 


5 




















































































































GAYLORD 






PRINTEDIN U.S.A. 




olin 



3 1924 028 875 636 



Overs 



Cornell University 
Library 



The original of this book is in 
the Cornell University Library. 

There are no known copyright restrictions in 
the United States on the use of the text. 



http://www.archive.org/details/cu31924028875636 




< 

W 
o 

H 
O 

> 
u 

s 

<! 
K 
O 
Z 



HISTORY 



or 



Shawnee Covnty, Kansas 

AND 

REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 

EDITED AND COMPILED BY 

JAMES L. KING 

TOPEKA. KANSAS 

"History is Philosophy Teaching by Examples" 



PUBLISHED BY 

RICHMOND & ARNOLD, 

GBORGE RICHMOND; C. R. ARNOLD. 

CHICAGO, ILLINOIS, 

1905. 



? 

(o8>7 



P\1X1S(P 



fbrefacc 



The aim of the pubHshers of this volume has been to secure for the his- 
torical portion thereof full and accurate information respecting all subjects 
therein treated, and to present the data thus gathered in a clear and impartial 
manner. If, as is their hope, they have succeeded in this endeavor, the credit 
is mainly due to the diligent and exhaustive research of the editor of the his- 
torical statement, James L. King, of Topeka. In collecting and arranging 
the material which has entered into this history, it has been his aim to secure 
facts and to present them in an interesting form. His patient and conscien- 
tious labor in the compilation and presentation of the data is shown in the 
historical portion of this volume. The record gives an interesting description 
of the aboriginal inhabitants, the natural features and the early society of this 
section, the story of its settlement and a comprehensive account of the organi- 
sation of Shawnee County and the city of Topeka, giving the leading events 
in the stages of their development and the growth of their industries to the 
present time, as set forth in the table of contents. All topics and occurrences 
are included that are essential to the usefulness of the history. Although the 
original purpose of the author was to limit the narrative to the close of 1904, 
he has deemed it proper to touch on many matters relating to the current year. 

The reviews of re.splute and strenuous lives, which make up the biographi- 
cal department of the volume, and whose authorship is wholly independent of 
that of the history, are admirably adapted to foster local ties, to inculcate 
patriotism and to emphasize the rewards of industry, dominated by intelligent 
purpose. They constitute a most appropriate medium of perpetuating personal 
annals and will be of incalculable value to the descendants of those commemo- 
rated. They bring into bold relief careers of enterprise and thrift and make 
manifest valid claims to honorable distinction. If "Biography is the only true 



6 PREFACE. 

History," it is obviously the duty of men of the present time to preserve in this. 
enduring form the story of their Hves in order that their posterity may dwell 
on the successful struggles thus recorded, and profit by their example. These 
sketches, replete with stirring incidents and intense experiences, will naturally 
prove to most of the readers of this book its most attractive feature. 

In the aggregate of personal memoirs thus collated will be found a vivid 
epitome of the growth of Shawnee County, which will fitly supplement the 
historical statement; for the development of the county is identified with that 
of the men and women to whom it is attributable. The publishers have endeav- 
ored in the preparation of the work to pass over no feature of it slightingly, 
but to give heed to the minutest details, and thus to invest it with a substantial 
accuracy which no other treatment viould afford. The result has amply justified 
the care thus exercised, for in ovn^ belief no more reliable production, under 
the circumstances, could be laid before its readers. 

We have given special prominence to the portraits of representative citi- 
zens, which appear throughout this ^•olume, and believe they will prove a most 
interesting feature of the work. We have sought to illustrate the different 
spheres of industrial and professional achievements as conspicuously as possi- 
ble. To those who have kindly interested themselves in the successful prepara- 
tion of this work, and who have voluntarily contributed most useful informa- 
tion and data, we herewith tender our grateful acknowledgement. 

THE PUBLISHERS. 
Chicago, III., July, 1905. 



mote 

All the biographical sketches published in this volume were submitted to^- 
their respective subjects or to the subscribers, from whom the facts were pri- 
marily obtained, for their approval or correction before going to press ; and a 
reasonable time was allowed in each case for the return of the typewritten 
copies. Most of them were returned to us within the time allotted, or before 
the work was printed, after being corrected or revised; and these may, there-- 
fore, be regarded as reasonably accurate. 

A few, however, were not returned to us ; and, as we have no means of 
knowing whether they contain errors or not, we can not vouch for their accu- 
racy. In justice to our readers, and to render this work more valuable for- 
reference purposes, we have indicated these uncorrected sketches by a small 
asterisk (*), placed immediately after the name of the subject. They will all. 
be found on the last pages of the book. 

RICHMOND & ARNOLD. 



Contents 



CHAPTER I. 

The Shawnee Indians in Kansas — Various Treaties with the Tribe — Indian Villages 
in the County — Kaw and Pottawatomie Reservations — The Kaw Half-Breeds 
and Their Descendants — Scenes and Incidents of the Early Settlements 19-27 

CHAPTER II. 

Organization of the County — Township Divisions — Physical Aspects of the County — 
Rivers and Streams — First Efforts in Agriculture — Topeka and Tecumseh Contest 
for the County-Seat — Territorial Elections, Judicial System, Roster of Senators, 
Representatives and County Officers — First Land Transactions — Bridging the 
Kansas River — County Buildings — Growth in Population — Assessed Valuation, 
Live Stock and Farm Statistics — Nursery and Creamery Industries — Post Offices 
and Rural Delivery Routes — A Prominent Landmark 28-43 

CHAPTER III. 

-History of the County by Townships — The Pioneer Settlers — Organization and Names 
of Townships — Hardships of Frontier Life — Historic Towns and Villages — Dis- 
possessing the Indians — Missionary Labors — Incidents of Home-Making and Agri- 
cultural Development 44-53 

CHAPTER IV. 

Continuation of Township History — Sketches of Soldier, Tecumseh and Topeka Town- 
ships — Names of the Early Settlers — General Sherman's Pioneer Experience — 
Rival Towns and Their Promoters — Famous Farms and Their Owners — Present 
Day Conditions S4-62 

CHAPTER V. 

-A Glance at the History of Kansas — Early Expeditions Across the Plains — The Slavery 
Contest — The Struggle for Statehood — Roster of Governors and United States 
Senators — Population, Resources and Institutions of the State — Business and 
Educational Statistics 63-72 

CHAPTER VI. 

Shawnee County in the Border Troubles — John Brown and His Followers — The Siege 
of Lawrence — Foraging Upon the Enemy — Gen. James H. Lane and the Free-State 



CONTENTS. 9 

Cause— John Ritchie's Arrest— The Kansas Emigrant Route— Enlistments in the 
Civil War— Campaigns Against the Indians 73-83 

CHAPTER VII. 

"Repelling the Price Raid— Second Kansas State Militia— Preparations for War in 
Topeka— The Home Guards— The Battle of the Blue— Colonel Veale's Regiment 
in the Conflict — Capt. Ross Burns and His Famous Battery — The Gage Mon- 
ument 84-91 

CHAPTER VIII. 

-Shawnee County and the War With Spain — The Famous 20th Kansas Regiment — 
Its Battles and Glory — List of Dead and Wounded — Enlistments and Service in 
Other Regiments — Their Record in Cuba and Elsewhere — Praise from President 
McKinley and Secretary of War — The Colored Troops 92-100 

CHAPTER IX. 

"State Officials from Shawnee County — Record of Their Appointment, Election and 
Service — United States Senators and Congressmen — Federal Positions Filled — 
Prominent Railroad Men — The Press of Shawnee County — Newspapers of Early 
Days — List of Papers now Published — The Mortality Sheet 101-116 

CHAPTER X. 

The Beginning of the City of Topeka — A Farm Changed to a Town-Site — Names of the 
Pioneers and Their Followers — The Chase Cabin — Organization of the Town Com- 
pany — Reminiscences of the Early Settlers — The First Fire — Description of the 
Country — Marking the Site of the First Building 117-126 

CHAPTER XI. 

Dividing the Town-Site — The First Survey — Transactions in December, 1854 — Title 
Acquired by Means of an Indian Warrant — Claim Jumping, and Rival Town 
Organizations — How Topeka Was Named, and Its Significance — The Street and 
Avenue Plan — Early Buildings and Schools 127-136 

CHAPTER XII. 

'County-Seat Location — Movements for the State Capital — Locations at Fort Leaven- 
worth, Shawnee Mission, Pawnee, Lecompton, Lawrence, Minneola and Topeka 
— The Several Constitutional Conventions — Free-State and Pro-Slavery Contests — 
First State Legislature — History and Description of the Finished Capitol 137-145 

CHAPTER Xni. 

Drought of i860 — Depression Resulting from the War — How the City Appeared in 
1862— Prominent Business Firms and Professional Men — The Growth from 1865 
to 1870— Renewed Activity in Real Estate Transactions— The Railroad Situation 
—Wagon Routes from Topeka— Association of Old Settlers 146-150 

CHAPTER XIV. 

The Railway System— Four Trunk Lines at Topeka— Mills and Factories— Commercial 
and Banking Institutions— Public Utilities— Finances of the City— Parks and 



lo CONTENTS. 

Resorts— Assessed Valuation, Bonded Debt and Financial Resources— Present City 
Officers and List of Former Mayors — The Commercial Club 151-164. 

CHAPTER XV. 

The Decade from 1880 to 1890— Results of the Boom— Territory Added to the City- 
Population for Fifty Years — Immigration from the South — Prohibitory Liquor 
Laws and Their Enforcement — Early Work in Behalf of Temperance — Activity of 
Women in Civic Affairs 165-173^ 

CHAPTER XVL 

Public Institutions and Buildings, Federal State and Municipal — PoSt Office Locations 
and Postmasters — City Hall and Auditorium — Free Public Jt-ibrary — Charitable 
Associations and Hospitals — Halls and Opera Houses>— Pfbminent Hotels and 
Their History — Political and Social Incidents — The Topeka Cemeteries 174-188^ 

CHAPTER XVII. 

Topeka's Educational Facilities — Public Schools, Colleges and Other Institutions — High 
School and Manual Training Departments — The City's Churches and Their His- 
tory — Early Pastors and Those of the Present Time — Religious Societies, Fra- 
ternal Orders and Club Organizations '[Sg-2o6<f 

CHAPTER XVIII. 

The Disastrous Flood of 1903 — Principal Events in North Topeka — How the Sufferers 
Were Rescued — Boats and Cables in Service — Loss of Life and Damage to Property 
— Systematic Relief Afforded — Strange Experiences and Odd Incidents — Major 
Harvey and His Salvage Corps — North Topeka Restored 207-221-. 

CHAPTER XIX. 

Brief Historical Notes of City and County^ — Some of the First Happenings in Topeka— 
Social, Literary and Musical Events — Native Kansans in Shawnee County — Com- 
mercial Features of Fifty Years Ago — Accounts of an Early Flood — Col. Richard 
J. Hinton's Reminiscences — Two Morning Scenes in Topeka 222-237- 



3BtograpbicaI 

Sketches of Representative Men of Shawnee County 243-62&. 




NINTH STREET, LOOKING EAST 




STATE CAPITOL 



ITufeex 



Bioarapbtcal 



PAGE 

. Alkire, H. L., M. D 614 

Allen, Henry S • • • 395 

-Allen, Samuel 345 

..Allen, Stephen H., Hon 367 

Allen, William J 337 

Arnold, Andrew J 424 

-Aye, Charles J 526 

Baker, Floyd P., Hon 594 

Barnes, Ida C, M. D., (P) 423 

Bates, Walter L 398 

Bedwell, Stephen A., Jr 509 

Bergundthal, William S 290 

"Berry, J. Albert., M. D 588 

Betts, Joseph Benjamin Burton, Hon., 

(P) 363 

Biddle, Thomas C, M. D 497 

Binns, Richard 4^7 

Bird, Winfield Austin Scott, Hon. (P) 393 

Blakemore, James F 550 

Bonebrake, Parkinson I., Hon 248 

Bowman, Christian 346 

Bowman, Thomas Elliott 488 

Bradshaw, Royal C 566 

Bromich, Joseph (P) 373 

■Brown, Milton, Hon 355 

Bruce, William M 340 

Bjurgess, James, Col 425 

Burke, DeLou, Rev 564 

Campbell, Matthew Thompson, Hon. . . 519 
-Campdoras, Marie Antonin Eugene 

Jaques, M. D 364 

Clark, Julius Taylor 604 

"Clemens, Gasper Christopher 626 

Clugston, John McNulty 470 

■Colburn, Foster Dwight, (P) 257 



PAGE 

Cofran, Roswell L., (P) 583 

Coldren, Elza V., M. D 530 

Conant, Ernest B 254 

Coney, Patrick H., Capt 280 

Cook, Perry Ellis 512 

Corning,. Cyrus 444 

Cowgill, Elias Branson 263 

Crane, David O., (P) 403 

Crane, George W 358 

Crosby, Roller Milling Company 338 

Curry, William S 419 

Curtis, Charles, Hon 279 

Cuthbert, James 472 

Dana, Alston W., Hon 291 

•Dawson, Benjamin Franklin 517 

Dean, John S 615 

Dean, Martin Guy, Rev 531 

Decker, Levi ' M 353 

Dickey, John 481 

Dickinson, Ansel E 390 

Disney, Richard 508 

Downing, Charles S 379 

Duck, Daniel 460 

Dudley, Guilford 490 

Entsminger, Augustus L 297 

Fagan, Walter E., Hon., (P) 475 

Farnsworth, Russell U 428 

Farrell, Joseph S., Hon 439 

Faxon, Thomas J 486 

Firestone, P. D 418 

First- National Bank, The, Topeka.... 405 

Fish, William R 522 

Forbes, W. M .565 

Foster, Cassius G., Hon 253 



M 



INDEX. 



PAGjr 

Foster, Perry T., (P)...- 455 

Frost, John E 3I7 

Gage, Guilford G 349 

Gemmell, Robert Brown, (P) 515 

Giles, Frye W 292 

Glenn, Henry H 479 

Green, John, (P) 413 

Guibor, C. H., M. D 246 

Guild, Edward B 609 

Guthrie, John Hon., (P) 323 

Hackney, Herbert 456 

Hagan, Eugene 260 

Hammatt, Abram 286 

Hayden, Francis M., Very Rev 579 

Hayden, Richard F., Hon 335 

Hayes, James 624 

Hawley, Charles E 407 

Heath, Hubert A 598 

Hibbard William S 617 

Hickey, James A 597 

Higgins, Elbridge 329 

Hindman, Samuel 336 

Hoch, Edward Wallis, Hon 528 

Holcomb, Myron 627 

Holcomb, O. A 318 

Horton, Albert Howell, Hon., (P) 301 

Horton, Nathan P 368 

Howard, David Millington, Hon 489 

Howe, Samuel T., Hon., (P) 311 

Hughes, James W. F., Gen 414 

Humphreys, Dugarde Thomas 314 

Hungate, Otis E 482 

Huron, George A., Hon., (P) 333 

Jewell, Charles E 617 

Jewell, Charles W 616 

Johnson, Alexander Soule, Col., (P).. 449 

Johnson, J. B., Hon 245 

Johnson, Timothy R 461 

Jordan, John S 44° 

Keck, Philip, (P) 525 

Keith, Henry H., M. D.. 492 

Kellam, E. P 360 

Kellam, Thomas Jameson 400 

Kimball, Frederick Marius, Capt. (P) 383 

King, James L., (P) 555 

Kingman, Samuel A,, Hon 501 

Knowles, Edwin 610 

Knox, John D., Rev 302 

Koger, Daniel H 430 

Kreipe, Theodore F 409 



PAGE . 

Lakin, David Long 261 

Leavitt, Sylvanus Lorenzo 268 

Lewis, J. P., M. D., (P) 613 

Lovewell, Joseph T ; 348 . 

Lucas, Albertus T., (P) 573 

Lydic, James R 320 

Mackey, William H., Jr 340- 

Mac Vicar, Peter, Rev 549 

Madden, John 529 

;\Iagaw, Charles A 313 

Magill, J. W 510- 

Mallory, Frank E., Rev 258 . 

Martin, Clarence H 338 - 

Martin, George W., Hon., (P) 553 

Martin, John, Hon 267 

Maunsell, Charles R 377 

McAfee, Josiah B., Rev., (P) 273 

McClurkin, Hugh Park, D. D 420 

JiIcFarland, James M 325 

McFarland, Noah C, Hon., (P) 324 

McKeever, Archibald 568 

McLellan, C. T 505 

McQuiston, Alexander 251 

Menninger, C. F., I\I. D 521 

Metcalf, Wilder Stevens, Col 608 

Miller, Bradford 416^ 

Mills, Henry Hobert 285 

Mills, John, (P) 603 

Millspaugh, Frank Rosebrook, D. D., 

Rt. Rev 468 

Mitchell, Matthew R., M. D., Hon 446 

Moeser, Edward Henry 259.. 

Mohler, Martin, Hon 354 

Moore, Samuel (P) 485 , 

Moore, Samuel P., Mrs., (P) 484^ 

Neese, Albert 580. 

Neiswanger, William A 328 

Neiswender, Adam 506 

Nellis, Dewitt C, Hon 584 

Newman, Albert 4S0. 

Noble, George M., Capt 305, 

Norton, Willis 250 . 

Osborn, Thomas A., Hon 574 

Parker, Albert 459 ■ 

Penwell, LeRoy McLellan 477 

Plass, Norman, D. D 576^ 

Poindexter, Early Whittin 380- 

Popenoe, E. A., A. M 620 > 

Powell, L. M., A. B., M. D 567 

Quinton, Alfred B., Hon 270. 



INDEX. 



15- 



PAGE 

Ream, William M 476 

Reed, Joseph, Hon 623 

Reid, Turner Albert 619 

Roberts, Byron 378 

Sardou, Freeman 374 

Sheldon, Charles M., Rev 330 

Sheldon, Silas E., M. D., Hon., (P).. 443 

Sherer, A. W 577 

Shimer, James C, (P) 49S 

Shull, Elias 599 

Sims, William, Maj 396 

Skinner, Joseph H Si9 

Snyder, Cary 408 

Snyder, William P 389 

Spencer, Charles F 284 

Stanton, John Frederick 357 

Stewart, Samuel G., A. M., M. D 467 

Stinson, Thomas N., Col 557 

Stormont, David Wasson, M. D. (P.)- 243 

Sutherin, John S07 

Swan, James, (?) 593 

Sweet, T. B 498 



PAGE- 

Taylor, William L 433 

Tomson, Alraon L 500 - 

Tomson, Thomas K., (P) 563 

Trapp, William C, (P) 465 

Valentine, Daniel Mulford, Hon., (P) 289 

Van Vleck, Joseph 312 

Voigt, Brothers 369' 

Walker, O. E 347 

Washburn, Avery, (P) 295 - 

Washburn College, (P) 535 

Wayne, Joseph, Rev., (P) 343 

Webb, W. C, Hon 244 

Wellhouse, Frederick, Hon 307 

Wikidal, Louis Philip 590 

Williams, Archibald F., Hon 436- 

Williamson, Charles R 560 

Wilson, A. P. Tone, Jr 466 

Wils»n, Joseph C 296 

Wilmarth, George 622 

Wood, Charles L 558 ■ 

Yager, Samuel J 452 



Ne 



miuetrations 



PAGE 

Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway 

General Offices 106 

Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway 

Hospital 106 

Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway 

Shops 36 

Baptist Church, First 226 

Barnes, Ida C, M. D 422 

Betts, Hon. Joseph Benjamin Burton, 362 

Bird, Hon. Winfield Austin Scott.... 392 

Bromich, Joseph 372 

Calhoun Bluffs, Road Scene 78 

Catholic Churches^ 

Church of the Assumption 202 

St. Joseph's German 202 

Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Pas- 
senger Station 53 

Christ's Hospital 178 

City Hall and Auditorium 170 

Coburn, Foster Dwight 256 

Cofran, Roswell L 582 



PAGE 

College of the Sisters of Bethany.... 78. 

Columbian Building 88 

Congregational Church, First 194 

Copeland Hotel 186 

Crane, David 402 

Crane, David O., Residence of 68 

Crosby Roller Milling Company, Mills 

of 154 

Curtis, Hon. Charles 278 

Decker, Levi M 352 

Fagan, Hon. Walter E 474 

Fassler, Armin, Residence of 186 

Federal Building 24 . 

First Frame Building in Topeka 24 

First Log Cabin Built in Topeka 27 

Flood of 1903, The — 

General View of the Flood 218 

Looking South on Kansas Avenue. . 210 
Looking Southeast from Lukens' 

Opera House 210 

Looking Southeast from Norris 
Street 21O' 



.i6 



INDEX. 



PAGE 

Melan Arch Bridge, after Water had 

Fallen 6 Feet 218 

One Way of Bringing Over Refugees 

From North Side 218 

Foster, Perry T 454 

Free Public Library 170 

Frost, John E 316 

Frost, John E., Residence of 234 

' Gemmell, Robert Brown 514 

Governor's Residence, The 68 

Grace Cathedral 202 

Grand Opera House 122 

Green, John 412 

Guthrie, Hon. John 322 

•Gyrator Mills 154 

Horton, Hon. Albert Hovifell 300 

Hotel Throop 186 

Howe, Hon. Samuel T 310 

Huron, Hon. George A 332 

Ingleside Home 178 

Inter-Ocean Mills 154 

_ Johnson, Col. Alexander Soule 448 

Kansas Avenue, Looking South from 

Fifth Avenue 132 

Keck, Philip 524 

Kimball, Capt. Frederick ^Marius 382 

King, James L 18 

Lewis, J. P., M D 612 

Lucas, Albertus T 572 

McAfee, Rev. Josiah B 272 

McLellan, C. T 504 

Martin, Hon. George W 552 

Martin, Hon. John 266 

Masonic Block 122 

Melan Arch Bridge, Looking South... 36 

^lethodist Episcopal Church, First 226 

Mid-Continent Mills 154 

]Mills, John 602 

Moore, Mr. and :\Irs. Samuel 484 

National Hotel 186 

Ninth Street, Looking East 12 

Noble, Capt. George M., Residence of. . 234 

Office Block 88 

Pipe Organ in the City Auditorium. . . . 170 

Popenoe, Fred O., Residence of 78 

Public Schools — 

Grant 1 14 



PA ;e 

High 1 14 

Lincoln 24 

Manual Training 114 

New Quincy 114 

Presbyterian Church, First 194 

Railroad Y. M. C. A Building 178 

Shawnee County Court House 24 

Shawnee County Jail 96 

Sheldon, Hon. Silas E., M. D 442 

Shimer, James C 494 

State Capitol 12 

State Hospital for the Insane — 

Building for Incurables 142 

East End Main Building 142 

State Industrial . School for Boys, 

Main Building 96 

Stormont, David Wasson, M. D 240 

Stormont, Mrs. Jane C 241 

Stormont Hospital, The Jane C 178 

Street Views in 1876— 

Corner of Kansas and Sixth Ave- 
nues Looking South 48 

East Side of Kansas Avenue, Look- 
ing South from Sixth Avenue.... 58 

East Side of Kansas Avenue, Look- 
ing North from Sixth Avenue .... 48 

Kansas Avenue, Looking North 
from Seventh Street $8 

North Side of Sixth Avenue, Look- 
ing East from Kansas Avenue.... 48 
Swan James 592 

Taylor, William L 432 

Tomson, Thomas K 562 

Topeka Club, The 122 

Topeka in 1876, Bird's Eye View of. . 43 
Topeka, Panoramic View of. .Frontispiece 

Topeka Woolen Mills 160 

Trapp, William C 464 

Valentine, Hon. Daniel Mulford 288 

Van Buren Street, Looking South 

from Court House 132 

Veale and Thompson Block 160 

Vinewood Park, Scene in 78 

Washburn, Avery 294 

Washburn College — 

Boswell Memorial 534 

The Chapel 534 

View of a portion of the College.... 
Campus 534 

Wayne, Rev. Joseph 342 



/ / 

/ 

/ 



l)i$tory of Sbawnee County 



CHAPTER I. 



The Shawnee Indians in Kansas — Various Treaties with the Tribe — Indian 
Villages in the County — Kaw and Pottawatomie Reservations — The 
Kaw Half-Breeds and Their Descendants — Scenes and Incidents of the 
Early Settlements. 

The Shawnee Indians, whose name was appropriately given to one of 
the counties of Kansas, comprised one of the tribes with which WilHam Penn 
made his celebrated treaty in the year 1682. Penn described them at that 
time as being generally tall, straight, well-built, and of splendid proportions. 
They were graceful in their movements, walking erect and strong, and with a 
lofty chin. * Their eyes were small and black, and their skins swarthy from 
exposure to sun and weather. In all respects they were typical Indians. 

Before the treaty of 1682 it is believed that the Shawnees, whose lan- 
guage is almost identical with that of the Sac and Fox tribes, occupied the 
country southwest of the Missouri, from Green Bay and the Fox River, to 
the Mississippi, and hunted over the land between the Wisconsin and the 
upper branches of the Illinois. In April, 1701, a further treaty was formed, 
the Shawnees, one of the signatory tribes, being represented by Wa-pa-tha, 
king of the Shawnees. In 1706 a band of Shawnee Indians was encountered 
by traders at Conestoga, near the Susquehanna. At a council held in Phil- 
adelphia, June 14, 1715, one of the participants was Opes-sah, another Shaw- 
nee king. 

The basin of the Cumberland River, in Kentucky, is marked by the 
earliest geographers as being the habitat of the Shawnees. A portion after- 
ward lived near Winchester, Virginia. From Kentucky their principal band 
removed to the head-waters of one of the great rivers of South Carolina. 
From South Carolina many of them removed to Pennsylvania and settled on 



20 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

the Susquehanna, where they were soon followed by others of the tribe. Of 
the Indian fighting men in Pennsylvania in 1732 more than half were Shaw- 
nees from the South, and they were said to be the most restless of all the 
Indians. The small Virginia band was traced in 1745 from Winchester to 
the Allegheny, near Fort Duquesne, where Pittsburg now stands. In 1755 
the same band, with other tribes, joined the French forces in the war between 
France and England, and later a number of the Indian warriors were impris- 
oned in North Carolina. 

A council fire was held at Huron, on the Detroit River, in December, 1 786, 
at which an address to the Congress of the United States was adopted, signed 
by the Five Nations, and the Hurons, Shawnees, Ottawas, Chippewas, Pot- 
tawatomies, Twitchwees, Cherokees, and Wabash Indians. The subject of 
the address related to methods for establishing a lasting reconciliation with 
the 13 States. 

BEGINNING OF THE SHAWNEE NATION. 

The first treaty of record between the United States and the Shawnees, 
in which the latter acted as a separate nation, was held January 31, 1786, at 
the mouth of the Great Miami, on the northwest bank of the Ohio. This 
treaty gave the Shawnees certain lands in the territory then occupied by them 
"to live and hunt on," but the grant was contested by the Wyandottes, who 
claimed priority. Trouble followed, not only between the government and 
the Shawnees, but between the Shawnees and the Wyandottes, resulting in the 
removal of many of the Shawnees to New Orleans in 1792, from whence 
they were sent into the Creek Nation of what was then known as New Spain. 
These Indians declared that they had been deceived, driven from their homes, 
and otherwise imposed upon, and that they would be at war with America as 
long as any of them should live. 

This was preliminary to a somewhat general uprising of the Indians 
in 1793, in which a number of the Northern tribes participated, the Indians 
claiming that the Americans had mistreated them and disregarded the trea- 
ties of their own nation. For this demonstration the Shawnees had gathered 
from various sources their greatest warriors, — Black Wolf, Blue Jacket and 
Ke-hia-pe-la-thy (Toma-Hawk). On the 13th of August, 1794, Gen. Anthony 
Wayne sent a letter to the hostile tribes asking for a peace conference and 
promising protection to all. The Indians rejected the offer and gave battle 
to the Americans, sustaining a bad defeat and losing much of their property. 

About this time a Spanish Nobleman, Baron De Carondelet, donated to 
the Shawnees and Delawares a tract of land, 25 miles square, between the 
river St. Comb and Cape Girardeau, bounded on the east by the Mississippi 



AND REPRESExNTATIVE CITIZENS. 21 

River, and on the west by the Whitewater River. The Delawares abandoned 
the tract in 18 15, leaving the entire right to the Shawnees. They remained 
here in peace as long as the territory remained under Spanish rule. In 
the year 1825, the lands of the Carondelet grant were exchanged with Gov- 
ernor Clark for a larger tract on the Kansas River, the Indians accepting 
$14,000 for their improvements. The treaty provided that this tract of 50 
miles square should belong to the Shawnees of Missouri, and to those of the 
same tribe in Ohio, who might wish to emigrate to that country. 

' OTHER SHAWNEE TREATIES. 

The Shawnees were parties to other treaties between the government 
and the Indians relating to valuable lands in Ohio, Indiana and the country 
west of those States. They joined the Delawares and other tribes in a treaty 
at St. Louis in 18 15, the government being represented by William Clark, 
Ninean Edwards and Augustus Choteau. The first clear title to land re- 
ceived by the Shawnees was the result of a treaty in 181 7 at the foot of the 
rapids of the Miami of Lake Erie. Lewis Cass and Duncan McArthur were 
the commissioners on the part of the United States. Blackhoof, Pi-ach-ta, 
Way-we-lea-py and Qua-ta-wapee were the principal Shawnee chiefs. The 
treaty gave the Indians a large tract of land at Wa-paugh-konn-et-ta (Ohio) 
and an annuity of $2,000, one of the considerations being "the faithful serv- 
ices of the Shawnees in the late war with England." Wapakoneta (short- 
ened from the Indian name) is the present county-seat of Auglaize County, 
Ohio. 

In the year 183 1, after the death of Blackhoof, the Indians in the vicinity 
of Wa-paugh-konn-et-ta were led to believe that the State of Ohio would 
soon pass laws which would compel them to pay taxes for the benefit of the 
white people, and that other obligations would be imposed upon them, unless 
they would consent to sell their lands and take up new homes in the distant 
West. They were offered 100,000 acres of land adjoining the tract of 50 
miles square which had already been ceded to the Carondelet band on the 
Kansas River, a proposition to which the Shawnees reluctantly agreed. The 
terms of the agreement were very unfair to the Indians in respect to the 
matter of providing funds for the payment of their debts and to reimburse 
them for improvements made upon their lands, and the money unjustly with- 
held from the tribe was subsequently refunded by congress. 

The Shawnees were the first of the Eastern tribes to be located in Kan- 
sas. In the various treaties they acquired 1,600,000 acres of land, which 
was subsequently exchanged by law and treaty negotiations for land in the 
Indian Territory proper. 



22 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Although the Shawnee Indians gave their name to Shawnee County, 
they were not so closely identified with its history as some of the other tribes. 
The Pottawatomies had a reservation of about three townships in the north- 
west corner of the county, and the Kaws owned an extensive tract of land in 
the northeastern part of the county. Many evidences remain of these early 
Indian settlements, and some of the descendants of the Pottawatomies and 
Kaws still reside in the county. 

KANSAS INDIAN VILLAGES. 

In the year 1830 the Kaws established three villages at the mouth of 
Mission Creek, 16 miles west of Topeka. Fool Chief's village was north of 
the river near Silver Lake, and contained about 800 persons. Hard Chief's 
village was located on the bluffs south of the river, with about 600 inhabi- 
tants. American Chief's village, two miles up Mission Creek, numbered 
about 100 persons. The ground where Hard Chief's village stood being un- 
broken prairie, the lodge sites may still be seen. In 1880 Secretary F. G. 
Adams, of the Kansas State Historical Society, visited this loc'aHty and counted 
85 lodge sites. In 1901 the place was visited by J. V. Brower, of St. Paul, 
Minnesota, who found 70 or more of the old earthen huts. They are now 
rapidly going into decay or being obliterated by the plow. At the time the 
treaty of 1825 was made with the Indians, these lands were said to be worth 
seven cents an acre; later they were estimated to be worth $1.25 per acre, 
and afterwards the Indians were permitted to dispose of them at $3 per acre. 
An average of $100 an acre would not be too much for the same lands to-day. 

In a recent contribution to the collections of the Kansas State Historical 
Society, Miss Fannie E. Cole gives an account of the Kansas Indians in 
Shawnee County a?fter 1855. The Cole family settled in the county in May 
of that year, locating on a farm near the little town of Indianola, a trading 
post, five miles northwest from Topeka. Miss Cole says : 

THE TRIBE IN SHAWNEE COUNTY. 

"We took possession of our new home June 6, 1855. It was situated 
on what was known as the 'Delaware Trust Land.' I suppose that when 
Kansas formed part of the Indian Territory this tract was a portion of the 
Delaware reserve, which, upon the organization of Kansas into a Territory, 
was relinquished by them to the United States government, to be sold to 
settlers for their benefit. Our farm lay just north of the third mile of the 
Kaw half-breed reserve. The Kaws, being a Western tribe of Indians, I 
think that they once claimed all the area of Kansas, and perhaps more, as 





THE FIRST FRAME BUILDING IN TOPEKA 



FEDERAL BUILDING 





SHAWNEE COUNTY COURT HOUSE 



LINCOLN SCHOOL 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 25 

their hunting grounds, and when the government made a treaty with them, 
for the purpose of removing various tribes of Indians from the East to these 
lands — the Kaws having 23 half-breeds in their tribe — reserved 23 tracts, 
each containing one square mile, all lying contiguous to each other on the 
north bank of the river, extending from the east line of the Pottawatomie 
reserve, about three or four miles west of Topeka, down to the vicinity of 
Lecompton. As these tracts followed the course of the river, as a natural 
consequence some of the miles extended further north than others, and when 
the government surveys were made there were many fractional "quarters," 
as they were called, between the northern lines of the tracts and the sectional 
lines. 

"Our farm consisted of one of these fractional quarters, containing 
something over 90 acres, and 46 acres of the regular quarter section, the re- 
mainder of which formed part of the Indianola town site. The tract of half- 
breed land just south of us was occupied by Moses Bellemere, a Canadian 
Frenchman, whose wife was Adele La Sert, one of the original half-breeds. 
She was a daughter of Clement La Sert, a Canadian Frenchman, whom I 
had supposed was a trader among the Kaws. While he lived among them he 
married a blanketed squaw, and they had two or three children. When he 
left the Kaws he abandoned the squaw, but took the surviving children, a 
boy and a girl, with him. Clement La Sert took for his second wife a woman 
of the Osage tribe. She was nearly white, having but very little Indian 
blood in her veins, and she trained his Indian daughter (Mrs. Bellemere) in 
the ways of the white people. 

"The Indian relatives and friends of the Kaw half-breeds came every 
summer from their own reservation, at Council Grove, in Morris County, 
and encamped in the dooryards and around the premises of the Bellemeres, 
the Papans, the DeAubries, and others. Among them was the chief. 
La Soupe. He was the tallest Indian I ever saw, and must have been six 
and a half feet tall. Mrs. Bellemere lived on her allotment for many years. 
When her Indian mother died, Mrs. Bellemere refused to allow any Indian 
ceremonies, but had her attired in neat burial clothes, and buried like white 
people. Mrs. Bellemere herself died about 1870, and is buried in Rochester 
cemetery. Her husband and three children survived her. The latter were 
Joseph, aged about 16, Julia, 14, and Leonard, 7. After Mrs. Bellemere's 
death, Mr. Bellemere married a white woman named Hetty Garmire, whose 
sister, Margaret, married Garland Cummins, an old Indianola saloon-keeper 
and ex-Kickapoo ranger. 

"On some of the farms just north of Menoken could be seen, within 
recent years, and, perhaps, are still visible, large circles in the soil. Many 
years ago a large village of Kaws was established there. It was probably 



26 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

the village of a chief called Fool Chief, and, judging from the little I have 
heard of him, I imagine that he was well named. Some years ago I taught 
the Menoken School. In the early springtime these circles showed very 
plainly all over the level, freshly-plowed fields." 

THE KAW INDIANS. 

The exact beginning of the Kaw Indian settlements in Kansas has never 
been determined. It is certain that they were here as early as 1673, for in 
that year they were found by Father Jacques Marquette on his expedition to 
discover the Upper Mississippi. They were then known as the Canzas 
Indians, occupying a wide area of country on both sides of the Kansas River, 
from the Missouri to the eastern base of the Rocky Mountains. The first 
treaty made with them by the United States government was that of Octo- 
ber 28, 1815. By a second treaty, June 3, 1825, the Indians ceded a tract 
United States all the lands to which they had title or claim, except a tract 
"to begin twenty leagues up the Kansas River, and to include their village 
on that river; extending west thirty miles in width through the land ceded." 
It was also provided that 23 sections should be located and set apart on the 
north side of the river for certain half-breeds. 

For the remainder of their domain, embracing upwards of 10,000,000 
acres, the tribe was to receive an annuity of $3,500 per annum for 20 con- 
secutive years. By a treaty concluded January 14, 1846, the same tribe 
ceded to the United States 2,000,000 acres of its land on the east part of 
their country, the United States agreeing to pay the Indians $202,000, of 
which $200,000 was to be funded at five per cent., the interest to be paid for 
30 years, and thereafter to be diminished and paid pro rata, should their 
numbers decrease, but not otherwise. 

The same treaty provided that there should be set apart for the use 
of the Kansas Indians a suitable country near the western boundary of the 
2,000,000 acres ceded to the government. This reservation contained 
255,854 acres, which, together with the $200,000 held in trust, and upon 
which they received $10,000 per annum as interest, made them a wealthy 
people. They lived on this reservation for man)^ years, and until the changed 
conditions brought about the treaty of 1859,' by which the reservation was 
divided into two parts, known as the "Trust Lands" and "Diminished Re- 
serve;" and these were subsequently disposed of under a treaty ratified in 
1863. Much litigation resulted, but in all the transactions the Indians were 
compelled to accept whatever was offered them and to yield before the 
onward march of civilization. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



27 



THE KAW HALF-BREEDS. 

The principal part of the special reservation of one mile square for each 
of 23 Kaw half-breeds was located in Shawnee County. The first seven 
half-breeds to receive allotments in this reservation were Adele and Clement, 
children of Clement La Sert; Josette, Julia, Pelagic and Victoire, children 
of Louis Gonvil; and Marie, daughter of Baptiste Golvin. An interesting 
account of these families appears in Cone's "Historical Sketch of Shawnee 
County," printed in 1877. The father of the first two children named was a 
Frenchman, an interpreter and trader among the Kaws. He died at the old 
Kaw village near Silver Lake in 1835. The daughter, Adele, married a 
Frenchman, Moses Bellemere, previously referred to in Miss Cole's article. 
Louis Gonvil, the father of the four half-breed girls above referred to, was 
also a trader for many years among the Kaws. At an early age Josette 
Gonvil went to live with the family of Frank G. Choteau, an Indian inter- 
preter at Kansas City, Missouri. She was married there in 1839 to Joseph 
Papan. Julia Gonvil was married soon after to Ahcan Papan. In 1840 the 
two families moved on to their Shawnee County farms, living near each 
other for a number of years. A Frenchman named Franceur de Aubrie 
married Pelagic Gonvil, in 1842, and in 1843 Louis Papan married Julia 
Gonvil. The name Papan appears frequently in the public records of the 
State and countv. 




FIRST LOG CABIN BUILT IN TOPEKA, 1854. 



CHAPTER II. 

Organisation of the County — Township Divisions — Physical Aspects of the 
County — Rivers and Streams — First Efforts in Agriculture — Topeka 
and Tecumseh Contest for the County-Seat — Territorial Elections, Judi- 
cial System, Roster of Senators, Representatives and County Officers — 
First Land Transactions — Bridging the Kansas River — County Build- 
ings — Growth in Population — Assessed Valuation, Live Stock and 
Farm Statistics — Nursery and Creamery Industries — Post Offices and 
Rural Delivery Routes — A Prominent Landmark. 

Kansas was admitted into the Union as a Territory in 1854. On the 
Sth of November of that year the Territory was divided into 17 election 
districts, the third one of which comprised what was afterwards known as 
Shawnee County. The first Territorial Legislature, held in 1855, established 
33 counties. Shawnee was one of the original 33 and ranked i ith in the list. 
The original boundary was : "Beginning at the south-east corner of Doug- 
las County; thence west twenty-four (24) miles; thence north to the main 
•channel of the Kaw or Kansas River; thence down said channel to the north- 
west corner of Douglas County; thence south to the place of beginning." 
All of the tract thus described was south of the Kansas River. The boun- 
dary lines were changed in 1857, and again in i860. Under the latter change 
six government townships on the south were detached and became a part of 
Osage County, and the northern boundary of Shawnee County was extended 
to include all of the territory formerly belonging to Jackson County lying 
south of the second standard parallel. This gave Shawnee County two 
congressional townships north of the Kansas River. In 1868 four other con- 
gressional townships were added on the north. 

BOUNDARIES AND TOWNSHIPS. 

Shawnee is in the third tier of counties west of the Missouri River and 
embraces 357,120 acres of land, forming a square of 24 miles, with the 
exception that the tract lying north of the river extends five miles further 
west than that lying south of the river. The north and south lines are par- 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 29 

allel, 24 miles in length and the same distance apart, running due east and 
west. The adjacent counties are Jackson on the north, Jefferson and Douglas 
on the east, Osage on the south, and Wabaunsee and Pottawatomie on 
the west. 

The first subdivision of Shawnee County into municipal townships was 
made September 14, 1855. Two townships were formed, Tecumseh and 
Yocum, the dividing line being the Wakarusa River. In 1857 the county- 
was subdivided into the townships of Tecumseh, Topeka, Brownsville, Bur- 
lingame and Wakarusa. In i860 there was a consolidation into three town- 
ships : Tecumseh, comprising all of the eastern portion of the county lying 
south of the Kansas River; Topeka, the territory north of the river, and the 
northwestern portion lying south of the river; and Auburn, comprising the 
southwestern part of the county. Later in the same year there was another 
subdivision into six townships, Monmouth being cut off from Tecumseh on 
the south; Williamsport, from Auburn, on the east; and the new territory 
acquired on the north of the river erected into the township of Soldier. The 
change of county lines in 1868 made necessary another division into town- 
ships, Silver Lake being detached from Soldier. By another change, in 
1871, Rossville was set off from Silver Lake, on the west. In 1879 Men- 
oken township was set off from Silver Lake, on the east. The permanent 
arrangement of townships is : Rossville, Silver Lake, Menoken and Soldier, 
on the north side of the river; Dover, Mission, Topeka, Topeka City, Tecum- 
seh, Auburn, Williamsport and Monmouth, on the south. 

DESCRIPTION OF THE COUNTY. 

Most of the territory in Shawnee is prairie land, 69 per cent, being de- 
scribed as upland, and 31 per cent, bottom. The forest area is less than 10 
per cent., the timbered portion being confined to the water-courses, and con- 
sisting of elm, Cottonwood, walnut, oak, sycamore, box-elder, hickory and 
ash, with elm and cottonwood predominating. All the land is of good 
quality and valuable for farming, stock-raising and orcharding. The prin- 
cipal stream, the Kansas River, flows directly east through the county, and the 
principal towns are located on its northern and southern banks. Other 
streams are the Wakarusa River, and Shunganunga, Soldier, Indian, Cross, 
Muddy, Mission, Half Day, Deer and Blacksmith creeks. Wakarusa signifies 
"river of weeds," and Shunganunga "the race course." Mission Creek 
derived its name from the old Kaw Mission; Soldier Creek was so called 
because the soldiers passing from Fort Leavenworth to Fort Riley camped 
upon its banks. Half Day Creek was named for a Pottawatomie chief, and 



30 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Blacksmith Creek took its name from the old Kaw blacksmith shop. There 
are several minor creeks, — Stinson, Ward, Martin, Thompson, Colby, Linn 
and Vesper, — which derive their names from early settlers in the locality. 
There is an abundance of limestone in the county, suitable for building pur- 
poses, and a fine article of brick clay. Some coal has been found but not in 
continuous or extensive quantities. 

In the early '50's the belief obtained that the Kansas River was navi- 
gable. The material used in the construction of Fort Riley, 135 miles west 
of Kansas City, was transported by steamboats in 1853. A boat ascended 
to Manhattan in 1855. The first shipment of corn from Shawnee County 
was by water in 1857. Two companies were incorporated in 1857 for build- 
ing and operating boats upon the Kansas River, and there are numerous 
accounts of travel and freight shipments by the steamers "Calona," "Emma 
Harmon," "Gus Linn" and "Kansas Valley," the last named being the last 
to ascend for a distance of 70 miles from the mouth of the river. This was 
in April, 1861. In the early treaties with the Indians the government inva- 
riably reserved the right of navigation upon this stream. The river event- 
ually became congested with snags and sand-bars, and in 1864 the State 
Legislature declared it to be non-navigable, thus opening the way for the 
construction of dams, and limiting the transportation facilities of Eastern 
Kansas to wagons and railroads. 

FIRST WHITE SETTLEMENT. 

The actual settlement of Shawnee County by white men was in 1854, 
although there is abundant evidence of the presence of white men in the 
locality long prior to that date. Frederick Choteau conducted a trading post 
on Mission Creek as early as 1830. In the same year Rev. William Johnson 
commenced his missionary labors among the Kaws. In 1835 a government 
farm for the benefit of the Indians was established in the valley of Mission 
Creek, with ]\Iaj. Daniel Boone (a grandson of the famous Kentuckian), 
as instructor in farming. It is believed that this was the first plowing done 
within the limits of the county, although the Indians had previously per- 
formed farm work in a primitive way. The Papan brothers, Joseph, Ahcan 
and Louis, heretofore referred to, came in 1840, and another brother, Euberie, 
came in 1841. They were natives of St. Louis, their father, Louis Papan, 
having moved there from Alontreal, Canada, about the year 1780. The 
Papan brothers started the first ferry across the Kansas River in 1842, to 
meet the demands of travel between Fort Leavenworth and the Southwest, 
and later the Oregon and California travel. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 31 

COUNTY SEAT CONTEST. 

The Territorial Legislature of 1855 designated Tecumseh as the county- 
seat of Shawnee County, and appointed a Board of County Commissioners 
with power to proceed with the erection of the necessary buildings. A site 
for the Court House was donated by the Tecumseh Town Association, and a 
substantial brick building was erected in the fall of 1855 and the spring of 
1856. Its dimensions were 40 by 50 feet, two stories in height, with a lofty 
portico in front on pillars of brick, the whole costing $8,500, in payment of 
which an issue of bonds was resorted to, in the absence of other funds. There 
were other obligations outstanding against the county and great dissatisfac- 
tion was expressed at the character and extent of the expenditures. A protest 
was also made against the action of the Territorial, or "bogus," Legislature, 
in respect to the location of the county-seat and the appointment of officers, 
and, in 1857, when the Free-State element came into power, the Legislature 
provided for submitting the county-seat question to a popular vote. The 
election was held October 4, 1858, the contesting towns being Tecumseh, 
Topeka, Auburn and Burlingame — the last named town subsequently became a 
part of Osage County. The election resulted in favor of Topeka, which 
became the permanent county-seat. The hopes of Auburn and Tecumseh 
took sudden flight, and instead of developing into cities of pi^ominence and 
distinction they lapsed into mere hamlets of purely local renown. A slight 
change in the vote might have made Auburn or Tecumseh the county-seat 
and a future great city — perhaps the capital of the State. But — 

The owl upon Afraisiab's tower hath sung her watch-song, 
And round the imperial throne the spider weaves his web. 

The contest between Tecumseh and Topeka for the county-seat honors 
was really a struggle between the Pro-Slavery faction and the Free-State 
men. The latter were largely in the majority at Topeka, and the former in 
control in Tecumseh. The Pro-Slavery party elected Gen. J. W Whitfreld 
as delegate to Congress at the election held in November, 1854, the Free- 
State party declining to vote. At the legislative election of March 30, 1855, 
the Free State faction voted for Jesse D. Wood for member of the Council, 
and C. K. Holliday for representative, the Pro-Slavery candidates being H. J. 
Strickler for councilman and D. L. Croysdale for representative. Owing to 
protests and dissatisfaction. Governor Reeder ordered a new election to be 
held at Tecumseh, May 22, 1855, at which Wood and Holliday again received 
the support of the Free-State voters, but the election was contested, and the 



32 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

seats awarded to Strickler and Croysdale by the Legislature which met July 
2, 1855, at Pawnee. 

MEMBERS OF THE LEGISLATURE. 

The first election for members of the Territorial Legislature was held 
March 30, 1855. Shawnee County was not then in existence, but the terri- 
tory it covered was included in the Third Council District. At this election 
H. J. Strickler was chosen (Senator) Councilman. Under the apportion- 
ment of 1857 Shawnee was included in a district of 17 counties, and in the 
election of that year Oscar E.Learnard of Coffey and C. K. Holliday of Shaw- 
nee were elected to the Council. In 1859 Shawnee was included in a district 
with Osage and Breckenridge (now Lyon) counties, and Chester Thomas 
was chosen to represent it in the Council. On the 6th of December, 1859, 
the first election of members of the State Legislature was held, Shawnee 
being in a district with Jackson and Jefiferson counties. H. W. Farnsworth 
was Shawnee's Senator. C. K. Holliday was elected November 5, 1861, to 
fill a vancancy caused by the resignation of H. W. Farnsworth. Since that 
date the Senators from Shawnee County have been : David Brockway, 1 863 ; 
Daniel H. Home, 1865; George W. Veale, 1867; W. H. Fitzpatrick, 1869- 
71; N. C. McFarland, 1873; William Sims, 1875; D. C. Metsker, 1877-81; 
Silas E. Sheldon, 1885; Thomas A. Osborne, 1889; William E. Sterne, 1893; 
Thomas J. Anderson, 1897; John T. Chaney, 1901 ; Joseph B. Betts, 1905. 

At the election held March 30, 1855, Shawnee being then included in 
the Fourth Representative District, D. L. Croysdale was chosen as the first 
representative in the Teritorial Legislature. Croysdale was followed by 
M. W. McGee, James A. Delong and Charles S. McKinney. George B. 
Holmes was elected in 1858. In 1859 Shawnee was given two representa- 
tives, and elected W. H. Fitzpatrick and S. R. Caniff. In i860 W. H. 
Fitzpatrick and William E. Bowker were elected. Under the State constitu- 
tion, Shawnee, Jackson and Jefferson counties composed the Sixth District, 
and elected eight representatives. Those from Shawnee were S. R. Caniff, 
H. H. Heberling, H. W. Curtis and William E. Bowker. John P. Greer and 
William E. Bowker served as representatives in the last Territorial Legisla- 
ture. In 1861 H. W. Martin and C. H. Welch were the Shawnee represen- 
tatives. The Legislature of 1862 divided Shawnee into two districts, and 
the representati\'es chosen were W. P. Douthitt and John T. Ward. The fol- 
lowing were subsequently chosen in the same districts : J. F. Cummings and 
Henry Fox, 1863; S. D. Macdonald and James Fletcher, 1864; C. K. HolHday 
and W. W. Lawrence, 1865; James M. Spencer and S. E. A. Palmer, 1866; 
John Guthrie and James Fletcher, 1867; John Guthrie and Perry Tice, 1868; 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 33 

John Guthrie and John W. Brown, 1869; George W. Veale and Jacob Has- 
kell, 1870; S. C. Gregg, C. K. Holliday and H. E. Bush (three districts), 
1871 ; Daniel M. Adams, George W. Veale and Wesley Gregg, 1872 ; Ira 
C. Johnson, John Martin and Jacob Welchans, 1873; James Burgess, John 
Martin and F. R. Foster, 1874; Daniel M. Adams, P. I. Bonebrake and F. R. 
Foster, 1875; Golden Silvers, P. I. Bonebrake and F. R. Foster, 1876; M. T. 
Campbell, George W. Veale and Thomas Buckman, 1877; Thomas M. James, 
Thomas J. Anderson and W. D. Alexander, 1879; J. H. Foucht, T. J. Ander- 
son and J. B. Johnson, 1881 ; Thomas M. James, George W. Veale and J. 

B. McAfee, 1883; David Overmyer, A. H. Vance and J. B. Johnson, 1885; 

C. P. Bolmar, George W. Veale and J. B. McAfee, 1887; H. C. Safiford, 
George W. Veale and J. B. McAfee, 1889; D. M. Howard, William C. 
Webb and F. M. Stahl, 1891 ; A. C. Sherman, William B. Swan and James 
A. Troutman, 1893; A. C. Sherman, George W. Veale and S. M. Garden- 
hire, 1895; A. L. Brooke, Edwin D. McKeever and Harry G. Larimer, 1897; 
A. L. Brooke, Edwin D- McKeever and W. C. Stephenson, 1899; J. B. Sims, 
J. B. Betts and Edwin D. McKeever, 1901 ; J. B. Betts, A. F. Williams and 
John B. Sims, 1903; Robert Stone, W. A. S. Bird and John Howerton, 
1905- 

JUDICIAL OFFICERS. 

Shawnee County's judicial system had its beginning in 1855, when the 
Territory of Kansas was divided into three judicial districts. Shawnee was 
in the southwestern district, and Rush Elmore was appointed judge. There 
were two justices of the peace appointed, — John Horner at Tecumseh, and C. 
K. Holliday at Topeka. Daniel H. Home was one of the constables. The 
other district judges, in the order of their service have been : Jacob Safford, 
1859-63; C. K. Gilchrist, 1864-68; John T. Morton, 1868-83; John Martin, 
1883-86; John Guthrie, 1887-92; Z. T. Hazen, 1893- 1904; A. W. Dana, 
1905—. 

The Superior Court of Shawnee County was created in 1885 ^^d ex- 
pired by limitation in 1887. W. C. Webb was judge of this court during its 
existence. 

In 1 89 1 the Legislature created the Circuit Court of Shawnee county. 
J. B. Johnson was judge of this tribunal until it was abolished in 1895. 

The Court of Topeka was established in 1899. Arthur J. McCabe was 
appointed judge of this court in March, 1899, and was elected for three 
successive terms to succeed himself. He is still filling the position. The 
clerks of this court have been: E. L. Good, 1899; M. F. Laycock, 1895; E. 
L. O'Neil, 1895, present incumbent. 



34 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

COUNTY COMMISSIONERS. 

The first. Board of County Commissioners was elected in 1855 by the 
Territorial Legislature and consisted of W. O. Yeager, chairman; Edward 
Hoagland and William Yocum. The second board was composed of Harvey 
W. Curtis and Hiram Shields, with Probate Judge Edward Hoagland as 
ex-ofUcio chairman. The third board consisted of John Martin and C. B. 
Clements. They served until 1858, when the Legislature provided for one 
commissioner from each township. The first board under this plan con- 
sisted of : Jeremiah Murphy, Topeka township ; Eli Hopkins, Tecumseh ; 
P. T. Hupp, Wakarusa; A. H. Hale, Brownsville; George Bratton, Bur- 
lingame. In i860 the county was given three commissioners, those elected 
being William E. Bowker, George W. Spencer and J. M. Haywood. The 
commissioners thereafter were Hiram C. Coville, chairman, George W. Spen- 
cer and Francis Grasmund, 1861 ; Hiram C. Coville, chairman, Samuel 
Kozier and Henry K. Winans, 1862 ; B. F. Kistler, |Chairman, Samuel 
Benham and Jacob Haskell, 1865; B. F. Kistler, chairman, Samuel Kozier 
and H. L. Shumway, 1865 (Shumway resigned in 1867 and was succeeded 
by Reuben Struse) ; A. G. Miller, chairman, George W. Spencer and E. Car- 
riger, 1867; William Wellhouse, chairman. Golden Silvers and Harvey D. 
Rice, 1869; E. Carriger, chairman. Golden Silvers and B. J. Ricker, 1871 ; 
Golden Silvers, chairman, Harvey D. Rice and Bradford Miller, 1873 '> Brad- 
ford Miller, chairman, E. T. James and John Grice, 1875; David Brockway, 
chairman, M. M. Hale and Avery Washburn, 1877. 

After 1877 one commissioner was elected annually for a term of three 
years, and those who served in this position were: A. C. Sherman, 1878; 
John S. Branner, 1879; Avery Washburn, 1880; J. Q. A. Peyton, 1881 ; 
H. C. Lindsey, 1882; Thomas Buckman, 1883; John M. Wilkerson, 1884; 
H. C. Lindsey, 1885; Bradford Miller, 1886; John M. Wilkerson, 1887; 
J. Lee Knight, 1888; Samuel Kerr and J. L. Campbell, 1889; Samuel Kerr, 
1890; J. Lee Knight, 1891 ; J. L. Campbell, 1892; D. A. Williams, 1893; 
T. P. Rodgers, 1894; Scott Kelsey, 1895; D. A. Williams, 1896; T. P. 
Rodgers, 1897; Scott Kelsey, 1898; S. H. Haynes, 1899; Silas Rain, 1900; 
Frank W. Harrison, 1901 ; S. H. Haynes, 1902; W. E. Sterne, 1903; Frank 
W. Harrison, 1904. 

ROSTER OF COUNTY OFFICERS. 

Sheriffs. — The first sheriff was George W. Berry, elected by the Legis- 
lature in 1855, but he declined to serve, and John Horner was appointed in 
his stead. The other sheriffs in succession have been : Benjamin D. Castle- 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 37 

man, 1856; Jehial Tyler, 1857; Thomas W. Maires, 1858; Alonzo H. Hale, 
1859; Charles C. Whitmg, 1863; Sherman Bodwell, 1867; Chester Thomas, 
Jr., 1869; Spencer P. Wade, 1873; W. D. Disbrow, 1877; H. E. Bush, 1881; 
Chester Thomas, Jr., 1883; A. M. Fuller, 1885; J. M. Wilkerson, 1889; 
D. N. Burdge, 1893; R. B. Kepley, 1895; Porter S. Cook, 1897; A. T. 
Lucas, 1903 — . 

Probate Judges. — William O. Yeager, 1855; Philip C. Schuyler, 1857; 
Edward Hoagland, 1858; S. A. Fairchild, i860; Alfred L. Winans, 1863; 
John T. Morton, 1867; Louis Hanback, 1869; D. C. Metsker, 1872; G. W. 
Carey, 1876 ;'D. A. Harvey, 1880; A. B. Ouinton, 1886; G. N. Elliott, 1890; 
J. G. Wood, 1894; L. S. Dolman, 1896; Walter E. Fagan, 1900; R. F. Hay- 
den, 1903 — . 

Treasurers. — Thomas N. Stinson, 1855; A. PoUey, 1857; Loring W. 
Famsworth, 1859; L. G. Cleveland, i860; Jacob Smith, 1861 ; William E. 
Bowker, 1863; Hiram T. Beman, 1867; W. E. Bowker, 1868; Hiram T. 
Beman, 1869; Thomas M. James, 1871 ; Avery Washburn, 1876; Chester 
Thomas, Jr., 1876; Bradford Miller, 1879; A. J. Huntoon, 1883; Byron 
Roberts, 1887; A. K. Rodgers, 1889; Francis M. Stahl, 1893; H. M. Philips, 
1897; F. C. Bowen, 1903 — . 

a^r/fe.f.— John Martin, 1855; Fry W. Giles, 1858; G. W. Sapp, i860 
Hiram McArthur, 1862; P. I. Bonebrake, 1865; J. Lee Knight, 1875 
George T. Gilmore, 1881; Charles F. Spencer, 1883; D. N. Burdge, 1885 
John M. Brown, 1889; Charles T. McCabe, 1893; John M. Wright, 1897 

A. Newman, 1903 — . 

Recorders and Registers of Deeds. — John Martin, 1855; Fry W. Giles, 
1857; Loring W. Farnsworth, 1860-62; George B. Holme's, 1863; William 
P. Thompson, 1865; James M. Harr, 1873; S. M. Wood, 1879; Albert 
Parker, 1883; James Burgess, 1885; S. J. Bear, 1889;. Frank Brooks, 1893; 
Frank L. Stevens, 1897; John B. Marshall, 1902 — . 

County Attorneys. — John Martin, 1857; John P. Greer, 1858; Justus 
Brockway, 1859; E. E. Chesney, 1864; John G. Otis, 1865; A. L. Williams, 
1866; Thomas Ryan, 1867; A. H. Vance, 1875; Charles Curtis, 1885; R. 

B. Welch, 1887; B. M. Curtis, 1892; H. C. Safford, 1893; A. P. Jetmore, 
1897; Galen Nichols, 1901 ; Otis E. Hungate, 1903 — . 

Superintendents of Public Instruction. — R. M. Fish, 1859; Peter Mac- 
Vicar, 1861; J. S. Grififing, 1862; Peter MacVicar, 1864; John D. Knox, 
1866; W. H. Butteriield, 1868; D. G. Evans, 1869: Eunice Hebron, 1875; 
John MacDonald, 1876; L. T. Gage, 1880; John MacDonald, 1882; Josiah 
Jordan, 1888; W. H. Wright, 1892; J. W. Stout, 1895 ; S. F. Wright, 1901 ; 
John C. Carter, 1905 — . 

Coroners.— G. W. Spencer, i860; E. Tefft, 1862; Americus Ashbaugh, 



38 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

1866; Silas E. Sheldon, 1869; A. M. Eidson, 1872; Silas E. Sheldon, 1873; 
W. B. Gibson, 1879; J. B. Hibben, 1883; F. W. Bailey, 1889; J. M. Wester- 
field, 1895; H. B. Hogeboom, 1899; H. H. Keith, 1905 — . 

Clerks of the District Court. — E. B. Smith, 1859; L. McArthur, i860; 
James Fletcher, 1861 ; Hiram McArthur, 1863; Arthur B. McCabe, 1874; 
R. E. Heller, 1878; B. M. Curtis, 1883; W. E. Sterne, 1887; S. M. Garden- 
hire, 1891 ; E. M. Cockrell, 1895; A. M. Callahan, 1899; I. S. Curtis^ 1902 — . 

Surveyors. — Joel Huntoon, 1858; J. B. Whitaker, 1861 ; W. Tweed- 
dale, 1870; D. A. Harvey, 1871 ; Jacob Welchans, 1875; C. H. Barton, 1879; 
Frank J. Baker, 1883; Robert Giles, 1885; A. H. Wetherbee, 1886; B. A. 
Bailey, 1889; John P. Rogers, 1897 — . 

Auditors. — Howel Jones, 1881; J. G. Wood, 1885; Walter E. Fagan, 
1895; Clad Hamilton, 1900; C. D. Welch, 1901 ; R. H. Gaw, 1904 — . 

THE FIRST REAL ESTATE TRANSFERS. 

According to the public records the first transfer of real estate in the 
county of Shawnee was for "one seventh of 320 acres of land situated in the 
forks of the Tecumseh and California roads, including the Big Springs." 
This deed was recorded February 9, 1856, the consideration being $100. The 
California road referred to was the main highway west from Lawrence. 
"The forks" was the junction of the California and Tecumseh roads, the 
former continuing west to the Kansas River, and the latter leading to Te- 
cumseh, thence west to Topeka, connecting with the Kansas River ferry and 
the military road from Fort Leavenworth to Fort Riley. "Big Springs" 
became a small town in Douglas County, near Lecompton. It was so named 
because of the ever-flowing springs in the locality. The deed to this prop- 
erty was recorded by John Martin, first county clerk and recorder of deeds. 
The parties to the transaction were R. W. Custard and William Carter, the 
former conveying to the latter. 

While this was the first transfer to be regularly recorded, there were 
other real estate transactions in the county which antedated it. Fry W. 
Giles of Topeka had provided a set of records at his own expense, and carried 
on the business for nearly a year before the regular record books were opened, 
his acts being legalized by the Legislature at a later date. The first transfer 
appearing in the Giles record was the conveyance, April 7, 1855, by W. C. 
Linaker to J. T. Jones, of lot No. 8, block 54, O. S., city of Topeka. The 
consideration was $30, and the transaction was witnessed by Thomas G. 
Thornton. The lot described is now the northeast corner of Harrison street 
and Sixth avenue, Topeka, for many years the home of the Topeka Club. 
It was recently sold to B.M. Davies for $9,500. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 39 

OLD AND NEW BRIDGES. 

Shawnee County had the first bridge that spanned the Kansas River. 
It was constructed by a company organized in Topeka, under a charter issued 
in 1857 to F. L. Crane, Thomas G. Thornton, Milton C. Dickey, S. F. 
Walkley and Loring G. Cleveland. F. L. Crane was president. Fry W. 
Giles, treasurer, and J. Fin Hill, secretary. Jones, Kidney & Company were 
the contractors, the contract price being $10,000. The location was from 
near the foot of Kansas avenue, in the city of Topeka, to the north bank of 
the river, 925 feet in distance. The bridge was completed May i, 1858. It 
was built on oak piling braced with cottonwood planks, with heavy oak caps 
spiked to the piles, then cottonwood stringers running from pier to pier, and 
floored with loose cottonwood boards. A draw, 100 feet in length, was 
provided, in the event of the use of the stream by boats. The structure was 
16 feet wide, and would accommodate 20 emigrant teams, or 250 head of 
cattle, at one time. It was a very busy and popular crossing while it stood, 
but the entire structure was washed away July 17, 1858, by the heavy rains 
of that year. 

Seven years later, at the same point, a pontoon bridge was constructed. 
This restea upon 13 flat-boats, each 15 by 25 feet, placed 50 feet apart, and 
held in position by a wire cable. It cost $15,000, and was completed Oc- 
tober 12, 1865. The pontoon crossing lasted until 1870, when a toll bridge 
of iron was built by Mortimer Cook. This was purchased jointly by the city 
and county in 1871, and made a free bridge, the purchase price being 
$100,000. 

In 1895 the county voted bonds to the amount of $150,000 for the con- 
struction of a larger and more substantial bridge, made necessary by the 
increase of population and the great growth of business and travel between 
Topeka and the northern part of the county. The plans adopted by the com- 
missioners provided for a Melan arch bridge, of Portland concrete and steel, 
consisting of five spans varying in length from 97 to 125 feet each, and of 
a total length of 540 feet. The extreme length of the bridge, including 
embankment approaches, is 900 feet; width of roadway, 40 feet, with walks 
on either side six feet in width. No handsomer or better bridge can be found 
in the whole country, and at the time of its construction it was the largest 
Melan arch bridge in the world. The bridge stood the severest test in the 
great flood of 1903, and while numerous other bridges up and down the 
river were swept away, the Melan structure defied the storm and drift, sus- 
taining no other damage than the washing out of the approaches. These 
were promptly restored, and, to avoid future damage, another span was 
2 



40 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

added to the bridge in 1905, making it a complete, harmonious, enduring 
and magnificent highway. 

COURT HOUSES AND JAILS. 

Following the settlement of the county-seat controversy, the records of 
the county were removed to Topeka. Sessions of the District and Probate 
courts, were held in the Ritchie Block, the Gale Block, and a business building 
at No. 104 Sixth avenue east. The county offices were scattered about town, 
wherever suitable accommodations could be obtained. A Court House was 
built in 1868, the county having voted bonds for that purpose to the amount 
of $65,000. The bonds drew 10 per cent, interest and were sold for 82 1^ 
cents on the dollar of their par value. The proceeds, with $15,000 added 
from other funds of the county, were sufficient to erect the largest and best 
building to be found in the State of Kansas at that date. It was built of 
stone and brick, two stories in height, with a basement jail. The court room 
occupied most of the second floor, and the various county offices the main 
floor. In addition to providing amply for the county business, the building 
for many years accommodated the United States District Court, and the jail 
was utilized for United States prisoners from Kansas and Indian Territory. 
In 1886 a separate jail building and sheriff's residence was erected at the 
northeast corner of VanBuren and Fifth streets, at a total cost of $40,000. 
On the opposite side of Van Buren street, directly west of the jail, the county 
commissioners in 1884 purchased six lots as a site for a new Court House, 
which was completed in 1895, the cost of the site and building being 
$180,000. It is a fine stone edifice, three stories in height, with basement, 
all splendidly fitted up, and spacious enough to accommodate the business 
of the county for many years to come. 

TABLES OF POPULATION. 

Nothing can better illustrate the growth of Shawnee County than the 
following table of population, covering the years 1855 to 1904: 

Year. Population. Year. Population. 

185s 252 1885 40,579 

i860 3,513 1890 49,018 

i86s 3,458 1895 47,968 

1870 13,121 1900 55,372 

1875 15,417 1904 57,036 

1880 29,092 

It will be observed that each five years' period shows a substantial in- 
crease with the exception of that between the years 1890 and 1895, when 
there was a small decrease, caused by the opening of Indian lands to settle- 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 41 

ment in Oklahoma, a movement which drew heavily upon the citizenship of 
the whole State of Kansas. 

The population of the county by townships for the year 1904, according 
to the latest available report, was as follows : 

Township. Population. 

Auburn 1,028 

Dover 1,148 

Menoken 824 

Mission 1,092 

Monmouth 1,300 

Rossville city 502 

Rossville township 941 

1,443 

Silver Lake city 267 

Silver Lake township 716 

983 

Soldier 2,710 

Tecumseh 1,041 

Topeka township S,46s 

Williamsport 853 

Topeka City — 

1st ward 7,525 

2d ward 10,193 

3d ward 7,278 

4th ward 6,987 

Sth ward 4,194 

6th ward 2,972 

39,149 

Total 57,036 

PROPERTY VALUATIONS. 

The assessed valuation for the several townships and the city of Topeka, 
for the year 1904, is given in the following table: 

Townships. Land. Personal. City Lots. Railroad. Total. 

Auburn $252,770 $65,540 $9,065 $327,375 

Dover 255,820 73.940 6,530 $85,421 401,711 

Menoken 315.550 69,325 49,720 434.595 

Mission 299,285 84,990 27,205 58,300 469,780 

Monmouth . . . 295,480 78,540 7,875 30,321 412,216 

Rossville 357,335 76,715 58,675 81,367 574.092 

Silver Lake .. 351.365 76,7So 27,350 56,027 511.492 

Soldier 643,085 94,920 56,322 231,873 1,026,200 

Tecumseh ... 291,350 46,820 830 115,602 454,602 

Topeka twp... 622,95s 154.580 467,945 167.875 1,413.355 

Williamsport 227,285 66,000 4,920 88,233 386,438 

Topeka City 2,309,390 8,413,688 501,834 11,224,912 

Totals .$3,912,280 $3,197,510 $9,080,405 $1,446,573 $17,636,768 



42 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Of live stock, the county had in 1904 the following: Horses, 10,379, 
valued at $778,425; mules and asses, 1,292, value $113,050; milch cows, 
10,100, value $252,500; other cattle, 23,728, value $467,442; sheep, 816, 
value, $2,448; swine, 26,130, value $195,975; total value, $1,809,840. 

INDUSTRIAL STATISTICS. 

The value of the farm products of the county for the year 1904 was 
$4,002,982.45; value of live stock for the same period, $1,809,840. The 
principal field crops are winter wheat, corn, oats, potatoes, hay and sorghum. 
The garden products marketed in 1903 amounted to $66,883 ! ^"^ the horti- 
cultural products, $79,748. 

Shawnee is one of the heaviest fruit producing counties in Kansas. The 
number of fruit trees in bearing in 1904 was 318,279, of which 214,628 were 
apple; 5,345 pear; 91,565 peach; 6,741 plum; and 16,058 cherry; number 
of fruit trees not in bearing, 92,604. More than 1,000 acres are devoted to 
the raising of nursery stock, much of which is shipped to the older States of 
the Union, where it is considered superior to the native stock. The princi- 
pal nurseries are conducted by L. R. Taylor & Sons, F. W. Watson, Oliver 
Brothers and D. F. Wickman. 

One of the greatest industries of the county is the manufacture of 
butter, many farmers having gone into dairying within the last ten years. 
The Continental Creamery Company, which controls the dairy products of 
the State to a considerable extent, has its headquarters in Topeka, and the 
bulk of the business is transacted from this point. Its product is shipped 
to all parts of the State, the United States and many foreign countries. It 
has also filled many large government contracts, especially in supplying the 
American Army in the Philippines. In the year 1904 the dairy products of 
Shawnee County were: Cheese, 1,014,556 pounds, valued at $101,455.60; 
butter, 8,541,560 pounds, valued at $1,683,018.40; value of milk sold, 
$98,914; total value, $1,883,388. The creamery butter manufactured in 
Shawnee County by the Continental Creamery Company received the gold 
medal award at the Louisiana Purchase Exposition at St. Louis in 1904. 

POST OFFICES AND RURAL ROUTES. 

The present post offices of Shawnee County are: Auburn, Berryton, 
Dover, Elmont, Kingsville, Menoken, Oakland, Pauline, Richland, Ross- 
ville, Shorey, Silver Lake, Tecumseh, Tevis, Topeka, Valencia, Wakarusa, 
Wanamaker and Willard. No county in the State is better served in the 
matter of rural free delivery. There are 25 routes, averaging 24 miles each, 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



43 



so located that every section of the county is reached with a daily mail. Routes 
I to 8, inclusive, start from Topeka and Stations A, B and C ; routes 9 and 
10 start from Elmont; routes 11 and 12 from Silver Lake; routes 13 and 14 
from Rossville; routes 15 and 16 from Tecumseh; routes 17, 18 and 19 
from Richland; route 20 from Berryton; routes 21 and 22 from Wakarusa; 
routes 23 and 24 from Auburn and route 25 from Valencia. 

One of the interesting as well as the most conspicuous landmarks of 
the county is known as Burnett's mound, a conical peak two miles southwest 
from Topeka, which took its name from Governor Abraham Burnett, a cele- 
brated chief of the Pottawatomie Indians, and the last to rule over his scat- 
tered tribe. In early territorial days he made his home at the base of the 
peak, and continued to live in the county for many years after the land had 
been wrested from the Indians. The peak was at one time called Webster 
mound, in honor of Daniel Webster, but custom finally settled upon the 
Indian name given to it by early travelers. It is the highest point of land in. 
Eastern Kansas. 




BIRD'S-EYE VIEW OF THE CITY OF TOPEKA, 1876. 



CHAPTER III. 

History of the County by Townships — The Pioneer Settlers — Organisation 
and Names of Townships — Hardships of Frontier Life — Historic 
Towns and Villages — Dispossessing the Indians — Missionary Labors — 
Incidents of Home-Making and Agricultural Development. 

In the year 1876, the occasion of the Centennial celebration, a short 
historical sketch of Shawnee County was prepared by Fry W. Giles; and in 
1877 William W. Cone wrote a history of the several townships in the 
county. From these publications, and others in the files of the Kansas State 
Library and the Kansas State Historical Society, the following facts and 
incidents bearing upon the early history of the dififerent townships, and the 
work of the pioneer settlers, have been conde;nsed. 

Auburn Township — Located in the southwestern corner of the county. 
It was originally known as Brownsville township, so called in honor of John 
W. Brown, the first white settler, but the name was changed in i860 to 
Auburn. The Wakarusa River flows through the township, and at a point 
where the three branches of the river come together the Catholics estab- 
lished an Indian mission in 1847, foi" the benefit of the Pottawatomie tribe. 
The land was subsequently relinquished to the Shawnees, who occupied the 
20 log cabins built for their Indian brothers, remaining there about six 
years. Some of the cabins and a portion of the land were bought from the 
Shawnees August 10, 1854, by John W. Brown. On the following day a 
party of seven men, from Jackson County, Missouri, took up claims in the 
same locality. The new-comers were : E. Carriger, W. F. Johnston, M. A- 
Reed, J. J. Webb, B. B. Jones, Eli Snyder and L. T. Cook. Other settlers, 
and the dates of their arrival, were: James Moran, October 20, 1854; James 
Turner, December 2, 1854; Rev. James Gilpatrick, George Holt, Henry Fox, 
Milton C. Dickey, Loring Farnsworth, C. Gilpatrick and Samuel Cavender, 
in 185s; John Price, W. S. Hibbard, Daniel Haney and A. H. Hale, 1856; 
L. J. Atwood, B. Ingrund, P. S. Spangler, Barney Williams, W. A. Simmer- 
well and John E. Moore, 1857. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 45 

THE VILLAGE OF AUBURN. 

One of the oldest towns in the State was estabHshed here in 1856, under 
the name of Brownsville, which was changed to Auburn in 1857, for the 
reason that a Brownsville post office already existed in another part of the 
Territory. At one time there were 400 people living in Auburn. Many 
good buildings were erectel, including a three-story hotel, a brick church 
and numerous brick residences of the old Dutch pattern, with walls rising- 
above the gables, and roofs sloping to the street. A weekly newspaper called 
the Auburn Docket was started in i860 by David B. Emmert, later of Fort 
Scott. The paper existed nearly a year. It was the ambition of Auburn to 
become the county-seat, but a change of county lines, and the projection of a 
railroad seven miles east of town, frustrated this plan. John W. Brown, the 
original settler, continued to occupy his farm until 1896, when he disposed of, 
the land and moved to Topeka, where he still resides. He was born in Bel- 
mont County, Ohio, May 9, 1829. 

Dover Township — Established in 1867, located immediately north of 
Auburn township, on the Wabaunsee County line, and extending north to 
the Kansas River. The first actual settlers were Alfred and John Sage, who 
opened farms within the boundaries of the township July 18, 1856. In the 
fall of the same year they were joined by Thomas and Albert Haskell, and 
John Rust. In the early part of 1859 the colony was augmented by the 
arrival of John and Noah Gibbs, William Collins and Jacob Orcutt; and in 
the fall of the same year by T. D. Parks, Daniel Sayres and Jacob Haskell. 
From 1857 to 1867 Dover was a part of Auburn township. 

TRADING POSTS AND TRADERS. 

The history of the township really dates from the year 1848, when a 
trading post was established on its northern boundary. A small settlement 
gathered there, to which the name of Uniontown was given. It became well 
known throughout the country, as the old California trail of 1849 crossed 
the river at this point — said to be the only rocky ford on the river. The 
first settlers, most of them Indian traders, were : P. E. Sarple, R. A. Kissey, 
O. H. P. Polk, T. D. S. McDonald, Thomas N. Stinson and W. W. Cleg- 
horn, in 1848; and J. R. Whitehead, J. D. Leslie and William Dyer in 1849. 
John W. Brown and Anthony A. Ward lived in Uniontown in 1851, the 
former going to Auburn, and the latter to Topeka in a later year. Large 
sums oi^ money were disbursed at the trading post, which was abandoned 



46 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

in 1855. The 50 or more buildings comprising the town of Uniontown 
passed away with the post, and the site reverted to farm land. 

In the year 1870 the village of Dover was established, in the south- 
western corner of the township. The name Dover came from Dover, New 
Hampshire, the former residence of the Haskell family above referred to. 
The first officers of Dover township, elected in 1868, were: E. M. Hewins, 
trustee; James Bassett, treasurer; Henry A. Kellam, clerk; Jacob Haskell 
and George Harden, justices; M. M. St. John and W. O. Harris, constables. 
Albert Sage was the first postmaster at Dover, appointed in 1862. Valencia 
and Willard are two other small towns in the township, with populations of 
100 and 120 respectively. They are located on the Chicago, Rock Island 
& Pacific Railway, running west from Topeka. 

Menoken Township — This is the youngest township in the county, 
having been established July 18, 1879. It is located in the center of the 
northern half of the county, and was formerly a part of Silver Lake town- 
-ship. Robert Forbes lived on one of the Menoken farms in 1868, and the 
new settlers in 1869 were B. T. Payne, W. K. Elliott and H. E. Close. E. T. 
Matthews bought the Payne farm in 1870, and in the same year property was 
bought and improvements made by S. M. Allen, Frank Workman, E. B. 
Robinson, F. A. Diffenbacher, R. Wells, M. Kiernan, Priddy brothers and 
P. Madden. Later in the same year homes were established by W. D. 
McCormick, G. P. Mitchell, H. Sharper, J. Blackler, J. P. Bowser, J. P. 
Cole, J. R. Insley, H. Ausherman, and G. W. R. Ward. In 1871 other 
farms were opened and homes built by W. T. Pence, W. T. Prewitt, W. Can- 
field and D. B. Groshong. The first settlers endured many hardships, as the 
only crop they could raise the first year was corn on newly-broken sod. Many 
additional farms were occupied in 1872 and 1873, and considerable trouble 
resulted from contests with squatters. 

A CATTLE GROWING DISTRICT. 

The increased population and development of the district in the next 
five years induced the formation of the separate township. The two branches 
of Soldier Creek, called Big and Little Soldier, supply the township with 
water. There are several large cattle ranches, and the farming and stock 
operations are extensive. Good schools and church buildings are to be found 
in all parts of the township. On the Union Pacific Railroad, five miles north- 
west from Topeka, the station of Menoken is located. It is a small village, 
with a few of the customary stores and shops, and affords a central point for 
trading and shipping. 




EAST SIDE OF KANSAS AVENUE— LOOKING NORTH FROM SIXTH AVENUE 




CORNER OF KANSAS AND SIXTH AVENUES— LOOKING SOUTH 




AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 49 

Mission Township — Located in the center of the county, and extend- 
ing north of the Kansas River, with Topeka township on the east, Dover on 
the westj and Auburn and Williamsport on the south. It was until 1871 a 
part of Dover and Topeka townships, and belonged originally to the Potta- 
watomie Indian reservation. Jonas Lykins was the first white settler, com- 
ing from Osawatomie in 1847. He built the first Baptist mission in the 
county, a double log structure which is still standing on what is known as the 
/Robert I. Lee farm, a few miles west from Topeka. The Catholics estab- 
ilished a mission in 1848, north of the Baptists, in charge of Father J. B. 
Hoeken. At that time Chief Burnett of the Pottawatomies lived in the same 
locality. Of the later residents, Sidney W. Smith came in March, 1852; 
Dr. D. L. Croysdale in 1853; Hiram C. Coville in 1854; John Doty and J. C. 
Young in 1855; Amos Trott, Guilford G. Gage, W. D. Paul, J. C. French, 
W. W. Lewis and Thomas Scudder in 1856; James Brewer and James Swan 
in 1857 — Mr. Brewer is still a citizen of the county, having made his home 
an Topeka for nearly half a century; John McComb and Rev. J. G. Miller 
arrived in 1859. 

PIONEER CITIZENS. 

Most of these men played important parts in the history and upbuilding 
of Shawnee County, and all are well remembered. Dr. Croysdale was a gov- 
ernment physician in the Indian service. Hiram C. Coville was killed in the 
Price raid of 1864. Guilford G. Gage became a prosperous and substantial 
citizen of Topeka. In later years the township had such well-known citizens 
as Thomas Buckman, William Sims, Peter Heil^ Jr., Thomas White, D. R. 
Youngs and A. M. Coville, the last named a son of Hiram C. Coville. 

Mission is wholly an agricultural township. There are no towns within 
its borders, and the only neighborhood settlement of any pretension to popu- 
lation is Mission Center, a rural post office. The town of Wanamaker, five 
miles west of Topeka, was started in 1888, but accumulated only a few 
houses and a post office. 

Monmouth Township — Originally this township belonged to the ter- 
ritory forming Tecumseh township, from which it was set off in i860. It 
lies directly south of Tecumseh, in the southwestern corner of the county. 
Charles Matney was the first settler. He came from Tazewell County, Vir- 
ginia, and settled at Westport, Missouri, where he carried on the business of 
a freighter. On one of his trips across the plains he decided to change his 
occupation to that of a farmer and selected a quarter section of land in what is 
now Monmouth township, to which he moved August 17, 1854, bringing with 



50 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

him 66 head of oxen, which were used in breaking the virgin prairie. His 
brother, Harry Matney, soon joined him, and in the same year other settlers 
arrived, including G. W. Berry, C. H. Buzzard, James Linn, Samuel E. 
Thompson, Dr. N. W. Moore and L. Wentworth. 

EARLY MONMOUTH SETTLERS. 

) 
) 

The township enjoyed a good growth in 1855, some of the new settlers 
being W. M. Jordan, William McCutcheon, John Morris, Hiram Shields, 
William and Richard Disney, J. S. Freeland, Frank Helton, R. O. Johnson, 
Aaron Coberly, Charles Allen, Harris Lyons, Silas Lyons, Isaiah Cox, N. L. 
Williams, William Linn, John Helton, J. W. Riggs, T. D. Kemp and Joseph 
Coberly. Most of the settlers were from Ohio, Indiana and Illinois. In later 
years some of the best known citizens of the township were Maj. L. J. Beam, 
C. A. Thresher, Jacob Coblentz, Alfred A. Disney, Emmor England, Joseph 
P. Heil, Dr. H. M. Howard, Horace G. Lyons, Alexander McQuiston, Dr. 
Isaiah M. Tevis, H. M. Zirkle and William A. Zirkle. 

The Missouri Pacific Railroad crosses the southwestern part of the town- 
ship. Richland, the principal station, was established as a post office in 1856, 
with W. C. Murray as postmaster. The town has a population of 250. 
Albert Neese conducts a bank and general store. E. L. Truesdale publishes 
the Richland Observer. Another station is Tevis, a small farm settlement. 
In 1857 the town of Carthage was born in the township, but it never reached 
maturity. 

RossviLLE Township — This township lies in the extreme northwest 
corner of the county, and was carved out of Silver Lake township in 1871. 
The Kansas River forms the southern boundary of the township, and Cross 
Creek runs through the township north and south. The creek was first known 
as "Metsepa," the Indian name for Cross, the idea being suggested to the 
Indians by the cross formation where the creek makes a junction with the 
river. Rossville township was named for W. W. Ross, a Pottawatomie In- 
dian agent in 1862. 

There were white people in the boundaries of the present township in 
1847-48, the records showing the names of John Barsho, Stephen McPher- 
son, William Martell, Alexander Rodd, Francis Bargeron, Anthony Tacier, 
Joseph Lawton and William Nassecau. James Baldan came in 1855, and 
George James, George Stackhouse and Cyrus Higginbotham in 1858. Dr. 
R. S. Gabbey was also one of the early settlers. A river ferry was operated 
in 1849 by Charles Beaubien and Louis Ogee. There were hundreds of In- 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 51 

dians (Pottawatomies) in the vicinity of Cross Creek from 1847 to 1870. 
Some of the principal chiefs were Half-Day, La-Fromboise, Mazha and 
Wee-wee-sa. 

GROWTH OF ROSSVILLE. 

The Union Pacific Railroad runs across the southwestern corner of the 
township, and the town of Rossville is located thereon. The town was 
established in 1871, originally known as Edna, but early changed to corre- 
spond with the name of the township. The town company was composed of 
A. C. Sherman, George W. Veale, H. H. Wilcox and Fielding Johnson, all 
residents of Topeka. The town-site, 100 acres, was purchased of Anthony 
Navarre, a Mormon preacher, and his Indian wife, So-na-ne-qua. A. C. 
Sherman moved to the new town in 1871, built the first hotel, engaged in 
the hardware and grain business, became postmaster, and was closely identi- 
fied with the business of the town for many years. He subsequently removed 
to Topeka, where he still resides. Other prominent business men of Ross- 
ville were: W. C. Sherman, Thomas L. Ross, S. J. Oliver, O. Leroy Sedg- 
wick, George E. Allen, Samuel Kerr, Samuel B. Maxwell, Dr. Henry H. 
Miller and Dr. E. R. Mclntire. Rossville was made a city of the third class 
in June, 1881. 

Silver Lake Township — Located north of the Kansas River, directly 
east of Rossville township, and extending north to the Jackson County line. 
Soldier Creek runs through the township from the northwest to the southeast 
corner. The Union Pacific Railroad and the Kansas River are along its 
southern boundary. The township was detached from Soldier township 
March 16, 1868. The first white settlers were men employed as instructors 
for the Kaw Indians. Maj. Robert W. Cummings and Thomas Hufifaker 
were on the ground as early as 1835, but there was no settlement of conse- 
quence until 1847, when the following names appeared upon the records: 
E. B. Kennedy, Charles Rodd, Joseph G. Kennedy, Lucius Darling, Stephen 
McPherson, J. Frap, William Martell, William Johnson, John Hard-en, Allen 
Harden, W. H. Wells, William Alley, John D. Scroggins, George Mullen, P. 
Malosh, Fred H. Counterman, John and Joseph Ogee and F. Trombley. The 
following came in 1848; James A. Gray, Wesley Hopkins, C. B. Riandall, H. 
McDowell, J. C. Vanderpool, and Messrs. VanHorne and Browne. Charles 
Dean and E. M. Sloan came in 1849; Samuel Cummings, L. B. M. Kennedy, 
Joseph Wellfelt and Joseph La Frame in 1850; Hiram Wells, J. C. Freeman, 
Enoch Stevens and Joseph Layton in 1852. The Pottawatomie Indians 
owned much of the land, and descendants of the tribe still reside in the town- 
ship. 



52 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

TOWN OF SILVER LAKE. 

s 
Silver Lake, the principal town in the township, was platted in February, 

1868, the proprietors being M. B. Beaubien and A. S. Thomas. It is located 
on the railroad at a point where a bend in the river forms a beautiful sheet of 
water, from which the name is derived. Beaubien was one of the head-men of 
the Pottawatomies. A. S. Thomas is still living on his Silver Lake farm. He 
was for many years clerk of the United States courts in Topeka. J. B. Oliver 
was the first postmaster in 1868. Cyrus Corning published the Silver Lake 
Nezi's in 1882, but the paper had a short life. H. D. McMeekin had a store 
in this locality in 1853, ^^'^ afterwai-ds became a well-known hotel man in 
Kansas. Some of the names familiarly connected with Silver Lake are 
Samuel Beal, C. D. Ward, Dr. A. G. McGill, Thomas Neiswender, C. W. Ed- 
son, B. F. Vanorsdal, Dr. H. D. Tuttle, George W. Vanorsdal, J. E. Guild, 
L. H. Neiswender, J. S. Kelly and O. N. Wilson. 

Kingsville is another railroad station in the township, the site of the 
H. M. Holden stock ranch, formerly operated by Andrew Wilson. Kingsville 
is 13 miles northwest from Topeka and does a considerable amount of ship- 
ping, principally of cattle. 

WiLLiAMSPORT TowNSHiP — This towuship lies in the southern part of 
the county, with Monmouth on the east and Auburn on the west, the southern 
limit extending to the Osage County line. It is watered by the Wakarusa 
River and Six Mile Creek. The Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway runs 
through the township, north and south, and the Missouri Pacific cuts across 
the northeastern corner. Williamsport became a separate township April 20, 
i860, being detached from Auburn. Rev. Robert Simmerville, a missionary 
in charge of the Baptist mission, was the first known settler. For the benefit 
of the Pottawatomie Indians he made a translation of the New Testament 
into their language. He built a cabin and a blacksmith shop in the township 
in 1854. His arrival was on the 13th of August of that year, and the second 
settler, Joseph Drenan, arrived August 14th. 

WILLIAMSPORT ACCESSIONS. 

On the 26th of the same month and year, two cousins of the name of 
William Matney arrived. William Coker, Dr. Jesse D. Woods, Joseph Her- 
ald and Dr. C. Lykins came in the same year. In 1855 the accessions were: 
William Yocum, J. Babcock, J. Carroll, H. M. Sharp, Isaac Baxter, Samuel 
Allen, Joseph Lykins, Robert Gault, Robert Todd, William Armstrong and 
J. G. Zimmerman. James Young and H. K. Winans arrived in 1856, and in 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



53 



the following year came Seth Todd, Edgar Winans, R. Buttles, D. Kilby, Ches- 
ter Thomas, Sr., Daniel, Fred, and Cyrus Fultz, Rev. Monfort, Dr. A. J. 
Huntoon, Joel Huntoon, J. Nelson, L. Buttles, J. M. Waugh, T. U. Thomp- 
son, John Cunningham, T. H. Lescher, Simon Hawk and Mr. Curtis. 

Wakarusa and Pauline are the only towns, both on the railroad, the 
former having 90 and the latter 50 inhabitants. Wakarusa was platted in 
1868 by Mills & Smith, of Topeka. It was first called Kingston, in honor of 
ZJenas King of Topeka, who was one of the original promoters. His asso- 
ciates were I. T. Lockhard, J. P. Ennis, A. J. Huntoon, Joel Huntoon and 
T. U. Thompson. Some of the settlers around Wakarusa, and in other parts 
of the township, were: W. H. Mills, A. F. Barker, S. D. Conwell, R. U. 
Farnsworth, William S. Hibbard, John MacDonald, Rev. John McQuiston, 
Walter Matney, W. H. Moffitt, J. E. Pratt, Perry Tice, James Robb, J. D. 
Vawter, John H. Young and John N. Young. Williamsport township de- 
rived its name from Williamsport in Pennsylvania. 




CHICAGO, ROCK ISLAND & PACIFIC PASSENGER STATION. 



CHAPTER IV. 

Continuation of Township History — Sketches of Soldier, Tecumseh and 
Topeka Townships — Names of the Early Settlers — General Sherman's 
Pioneer Experience — Rival Toums and Their Promoters — Famous 
Farms and Their Owners — Present Day Conditions. 

The location of Soldier, Tecumseh and Topeka townships, and their 
relation to the city of Topeka, make it desirable that their history should 
be given in a special group, and a separate chapter. These townships are 
the most populous in the county, much of their history is confluent, and many 
of the persons whose names make up the early record were identified to some 
extent with all of the townships named. For convenience the same form will 
be preserved as in the preceding chapter. 

Soldier Township — This township was erected April 20, i860, from 
territory added to Shawnee County on the north side of the river. One 
purpose of the addition was to preserve Topeka as the county-seat by making 
it a more central point in the county. The new territory was taken from 
Calhoun (now Jackson) County. Most of it was Kaw Indian land and was 
occupied only by the Indians and half-breeds down to 1848, except that there 
was a small band of French settlers in the locality as early as 1840. Among 
these were the Papan brothers, Joseph, Ahcan and Louis. Louis Catalon, a 
nephew of the Papans, joined them in 1848, and James McPherson came the 
same year. Fred Swice and George L. Young, both farmers, arrived in 1850. 

ARRIVALS IN THE '50's. 

New settlers in 1854 were James Kuykendall, John Cunningham, R. J. 
Fulton, H. D. McMeekin, Perry Fleshman, W. S. Kuykendall, John B. Chap- 
man, D. Milne, James A. Gray, G. P. Dorris, J. M. Hand and Charles Tip- 
ton. These early settlers assisted in organizing Calhoun County, and some 
of them were the promoters of the town of Calhoun, the first county-seat. 
Calhoun County was originally named for John Calhoun, first Surveyor Gen- 
eral of Kansas, but was changed to Jackson in 1858, in honor of Andrew 
Jackson, and the county-seat changed to Holton. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 55 

In 1855 Soldier township gained the following settlers: Vincent Cohe, 
Samuel Lockhart, J. F. Gallioz, E. BoUotte, T. Bruno, A. Colomb, E. Cham- 
bourniere, H. Roberti, Alme Malespine, J. Seal, H. Seal, J. E. Thompson 
and Thomas Jenner. In 1856 the new-comers were Jacob Johnson, G. Cum- 
mings, J. M. Harding, Joseph Neiddaugh, J. W. Price, Ezekiel Marple and 
William Owen. 

William Tecumseh Sherman, afterwards Lieutenant General of the 
United States Army, was a settler in the township in 1859. At the instance 
of Hon. Thomas Ewing, of Ohio, he undertook the opening and management 
of a farm of 1,000 acres on Indian Creek, for the benefit of his grand-nephew, 
Henry Clark, and his grand-niece, Mrs. Walker, who joined him on the farm 
in the spring of that year. He fenced 100 acres and built a small frame 
house and a barn. He returned to Leavenworth in the fall of 1859 to resume 
his law business. Some of the Sherman farm buildings have been preserved 
as historic landmarks. 

Some of the persons identified with the county in later years were Rev. 
David Bartram, F. W. Fleischer, George W. Kistler, J. H. Miller, J. Q. A. 
Peyton, A. W. Pliley, W. W. Reed, Edward Sipes, John M. Wilkerson, 
Thomas M. James and Samuel J. Reader. 

A DESERTED CITY. 

The town of Indianola was started in the township in November, 1854, 
by H. D. McMeekin, who bought the site from Louis View, a half-breed In- 
dian. The name of the town was borrowed from an Indianola in Texas. A 
rival town, called Delaware City, was started about the same time by J. 
Butler Chapman. During its brief existence. Chapman's town was known 
as Delaware City, Whitfield' City, Kansopolis and Rochester, the last being 
the name finally settled upon it. One of the first school houses in the county 
was built at this point, and near it was one of the depots of John Brown's 
famous "Underground Railroad." The so-called depot was built in 1857 
by William Owen, and was occupied for many years by Dr. Morrow. Ro- 
chester was too close to Indianola to thrive, and Indianola was killed by the 
building of the railroad three miles away. 

The Union Pacific Railroad runs along the southern boundary of the 
township ; the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe crosses the southeastern corner ; 
and the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific extends across the western part of the 
township, north from Topeka. On the latter line are the towns of Shorey 
and Elmont. Shorey has a population of 400 and Elmont 50. Kilmer is a 
small station on the Atchison road. 



56 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Tecumseh Township — This township formerly comprised all the 
territory in Shawnee County lying north of the Wakarusa River, this divis- 
ion being made September 14, 1855. By subsequent subdivisions it was re- 
duced to a tract about six miles square, with Topeka on the west and Mon- 
mouth on the south, its northern boundary being the Kansas River, and its 
eastern boundary the county line of Douglas County. As an agricultural 
and fruit growing section, it is not surpassed in the whole State. 

BIRTH OF TECUMSEH. 

I 

Col. Thomas N. Stinson was the first white man to settle in the township. 
He opened the first farm in 1852^ although he did not occupy it until March 
20, 1853. From 1848 he lived in another part of the county, where he was 
engaged as a trader among the Indians. He was married in 1850 to Miss 
Julia Bushman, and resided at Uniontown, later moving to the Burnett farm 
near Topeka, and thence to Tecumseh. Stinson had but few neighbors i)rior 
to 1854, when a party of men moved in from Missouri. Among them were 
J. K. Waysman, A. D. M. Hand, H. Walker, Albert Byler, Joshua Sartain 
and Nathaniel Hedrick, all on May 5, 1854. Another party came on June 
1st of that year, including David Copeland, James Herron, Reuben Low, 
John Homer, Rev. J. B. Stateler, Thornton B. Hays and Francis Grassmuck. 

At different periods in the fall of the same year the following arrived: 
Robert Edwards, J. C. Niccum, Jehiel Tyler, D. Updegraff, John Morris, 
James W. Small, William Vaughn, B. Sublette, Dr. D. W. Hunter, Osburn 
Naylor, Rev. Charles Gordon, Jesse W. Stevenson, Judge Rush Elmore, 
Charles Stevenson and H. J. Strickler. Arriving in 1855 were: Eli Hop- 
kins, W. Y. Roberts, W. A. Stewart, William Hook, S. Ripple, Joseph 
Weaver, Benjamin Newsom, Capt, E. Allen, J. Reed, Joseph Molton, Wil- 
liam Riley, T. Strother, Jesse Rumsey, Joseph Allen, A. Lovelace, Adam 
Bowers, John Bowers, Gus Vaughn, Samuel Ackland, Isaac Roberts, H. 
Carmichael, C. C. Antrim, John Martin, W. O. Yeager, B. Fogle, Kenzie 
Stofield, V. Rush, Edward Hoagland, Eli Stofield, Rev. Edward Piper, 
Dr. Snow, J. W. Lacy, N. Shadley, William Shadley, Benjamin Castleman, 
A. Delap, A. Imes, Erastus Moffitt, Bennett A. Murphy, William Frost, 
R. Carmichael, Rev. Paul Shepard, A. D. Reed, John T. Lawrence, O. 
Moffitt, Thomas Campbell, James Ellis, William Ireland, John Scott, Wil- 
liam Jones and Henry Caulfield. 

Mention should also be made of some of the later settlers in the town- 
ship : Dr. William B. Brown, Peter Bunce, Joseph Burgess, John A. Camp- 
bell, J. P. Campbell, James H. Dunn, Joseph England, Thomas J. Faxon, 
John S. Griffing, E. H. Harrop, Dwight Jarvis, Harvey Lieurance, Isaac H. 




H 

M 
M 

« 

to 
h 

z 
u 
> 



« 
o 
z 

o 
z 

o 
o 




7, 


M 


X 


^ 


O 


U 




J 


> 




h 


3 
-^ 


Id 


H 


b; 




h 




M 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 59 

Milliken, Isaac Morris, W. A. Rankin, Alfred S. Roberts, Thomas D. Strong, 
Ralph Voorhees, Samuel B. Wade, William B. Wade, James Wottman, 
Luther Woodford and J. L. Wood. 

tecumseh's bright prospect. 

The town of Tecumseh is the oldest in the county, once the seat of the 
county government, the scene of many important events in the State's history 
and a strong candidate for the State capital. The name perpetuates that of 
the noted Shawnee Indian chief, who led his braves in the battle of Tippeca- 
noe, and met death in the battle of the Thames. The Tecumseh townsite 
covered 80 acres taken from the Stinson farm and 240 acres pre-empted for 
town purposes. The survey was made August 15, 1854, by C. C. Spalding. 
Most of the men interested in the town, whose names follow, were from the 
south : Thomas N. Stinson, J. M. Hunter, Samuel H. Woodson, and Abram 
Comings, 'from Missouri ; Rush Elmore and Albert Elmore, from Alabama ; 
J. W. Whitfield, from Tennessee; S. W. Johnson, from Ohio; A. H. Reeder, 
Territorial Governor, from Pennsylvania; and Andrew J. Isaacks, Territorial 
Attorney General, from Louisiana. 

Governor Reeder was a frequent visitor at Colonel Stinson's home dur- 
ing his business trips up and down the valley. He was greatly impressed 
by the picturesque location and splendid surroundings of Tecumseh and took 
personal interest in advancing its claims as a business and residence point. 
It was supposed that the first Legislature would hold its session there, but 
Governor Reeder became so indignant over the criticisms passed upon his 
official acts by the people of Missouri that he decided to call the Legislature 
to meet in Pawnee, a point remote from sectional influences, where he was 
also interested in another town enterprise. His change of plan was a serious 
blow to Tecumseh in the matter of becoming the State capital. The Pro- 
Slavery men adjourned the Legislature to the Shawnee Manual Labor School 
and succeeded in locating the Territorial seat of government at Lecompton, 
midway between Lawrence and Topeka, the avowed purpose being to cripple 
the last named towns on account of their abolition proclivities. 

decay of the town. 

For her future progress Tecumseh was forced to rely upon the tempo- 
rary advantage of being the county-seat, and this soon precipitated a clash 
with Topeka, the Pro-Slavery faction supporting Tecumseh and the Free- 
State men standing by Topeka. Tecumseh was at the height of her prosperity 
in 1858, and stood a lusty rival of Topeka in all the arts of politics and trade. 



6o HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

But Kansas and dl her institutions were destined to be free, and this senti- 
ment, coupled with the jealousy of other towns in the neighborhood, finally- 
located the county-seat at Topeka. 

Tecumseh is now a gazetteer town of 150 inhabitants — a station on the 
Atchison, Topeka & Stanta Fe Railway. There is no other settlement of 
consequence in the township. In 1855 the town of Mairsville was started 
by Thomas Mairs. In the same year the town of Washington was laid out 
by a company consisting of W. Y. Roberts,. William Frost, William Riley, 
Joseph Molton and Capt. E. Allen. In 1856 Joseph Allen started the town 
of Kenamo. All three of them were close to Tecumseh, and none of them 
attained to a dignified size. 

Topeka Township — The territory comprising Topeka township be- 
longed in 1855 to Yocum township, which then included all the territory in 
the country lying south of the Wakarusa River. The name Yocum was 
dropped February 23, 1857, when the county was subdivided into five town- 
ships, Topeka being one of them. Additional territory and later subdivisions 
gave it its present boundaries, from the Kansas River south to Williamsport, 
with Tecumseh on the east and Mission on the west — Soldier being the oppo- 
site township on the north side of the river. 

Clement Shattio, a Frenchman, was the first white settler in the town- 
ship, coming from Uniontown, November 15, 1852. He purchased a farm 
on the south bank of the river one mile west of the present city of Topeka. 
The farm formerly belonged to Alexander Bushman, a half-breed Shawnee 
Indian. Shattio was born in St. Louis in the year 1800, and moved to Union- 
town in June, 1848, In 1850 he married Ann Davis, a colored woman, who 
was born in Palestine, Illinois, in 181 7. Ten years later she was stolen from 
her parents and carried to Missouri, where she was several times sold as a 
slave. She bought her freedom in 1859, after taking up her residence in 
Kansas. 

SETTLERS IN TOPEKA TOWNSHIP. 

Later settlers arrived in the following order : Horatio Cox, May 5, 
1854; Anthony Ward, June i; Robert Matthews, July 15; J. Jondron, A. 
Berringer, Isaac Edwards, L. Bivard and D. Chilson, about July 25 ; Gilbert 
Billard, Charles Sardou and Fred Vascalders, August 28; John Long, 
Thomas Warren, J. R. Warren, H. McConnell and James McConnell, Octo- 
ber 10. The Warrens, father and son, were from Kentucky. Thomas War- 
ren, the elder, became 100 years of age in 1870, and visited the Kansas Leg- 
islature on his centennial birthday anniversary, receiving a special welcome 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 6i 

at the hands of the Speaker pro tern, Hon. John Guthrie. Warren died in 
1874, at the remarkable age of 104 years. 

Wilh'am R. Boggs moved into the township August 14, 1854, and pur- 
chased the farm wliich is now the site of the Kansas State Hospital for the 
Insane. Following him came William PickereU, October 17; Philip Briggs, 
October 20; John Parkinson, October 18; William Griff enstein, November i ; 
John T. Adams, Rev. Michael Hummer and Dr. Noble Barron, about No- 
vember 15; John Armstrong, November 20; Enoch Chase, Jacob B. Chase, 
Milton C. Dickey and George Davis, November 29 — this party settled on the 
farm land upon which the city of Topeka is located; Daniel H. Home, Fry 
W. Giles, Loring G. Cleveland, S. A. Clark, W. C. Linaker, Thomas G. 
Thornton, Jonas E. Greenwood, Cyrus K. Holliday and Timothy Mclntire, 
December 4; James F. Merriam, December 7; James A. Hickey, December 
12; L. S. Long, December 15; Freeman R. Foster and Robert L. Mitchell, 
December 20; Dr. S. E. Martin, December 25. S. J. Case, H. F. Root, C. 
N. Gray and G. F. Crowe also came in December. 

LATER ARRIVALS. 

Those who settled in the township in the year 1855, as nearly as can be 
determined, were the following: John Ritchie, J. C. Miller, W. W. Ross, 
J. C. Jordan, H. W. Curtis, Charles Farnsworth, L. W. Home, R. A. Rand- 
lett, O. C. Nichols, S. D. Conwell, B. F. Dawson, C. A. Sexton, Henry 
Cowles, John Perrin, Rev. Henry Burgess, Charles Frazier, C. A. Dexter, 
W. H. Weymouth, Daniel Sayres, Ephraim Herriott, Horatio Fletcher, 
Samuel Herriott, Daniel Banta, H. Higgins, Johnston Thomas, King Smith, 
Antoine Bernier, H. Tyrrell, A. H. Barnard, Robert Todd, Dr. M. A. E. J. 
Campdoras, Henry Griffin, C. Durupt, Isaac Renfrew, J. Willetts, J. W. 
Jones, C. D. Howard, L. H. Wentworth, Robert Gilbert, D. Sheridan, James 
Goodrich, E. C. K. Garvey, F L. Crane, James Chadwick, Dean Chadwick, 
C. C. Leonard, C. L. Terrill, Moses Dudley, J. Orcutt, ■ William Scales, 
H. P. Waters, James G. Bunker, James McNamee, J. F. Cummins, Isaac 
Zimmerman, Loring Farnsworth, E. Seagraves, Abner Doane, A. M. Lewis, 
Guilford Dudley, John R. Lewis, George F. Boyd, D. Mintum, J. D. Clark- 
son, James Taggart, L. C. Wilmarth, A. G. Thompson, Gabriel Wright, J. 
C. Gordon, Asaph Allen, James Disney, Moses Hubbard, P. R. Hubbard, 
Eugene Dumez, P. O. O'Connor, E. S. Parker, Jesse Stone, O. H. Drink- 
water, Samuel Hall, Leonard Wendell, A. F. Whiting, W. E. Bowker, S. N. 
Frasier, M. C. Martin, William P Thompson, David H. Moore, W. W. 
Henderson, William Gibbons, M. K. Smith, A. F. Hartwell, David Smith, 
Charles L. Wilbur, G. B. French, E. Trask, August Roberts, H. C. Young, 



62 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Nelson Young, James Cowles, R. M. Luce, F. T. Tucker, Richard Gustine, 
Henry P. Waters, Gerard C. Hooft, S. Lyford and W. W. Phillips. 

RIVAL TOWNS. 

Topeka, the county-seat and capital city, is located in Topeka township. 
No other city or town has ever been erected in the township, every attempt 
in that direction having proved a failure, or resulted in adding a suburb to 
the big city, as in the cases of Oakland, Seabrook, Auburndale and Potwin. 
Of the towns projected near Topeka at different periods, the following 
names are given as a matter of record, the places having long since faded 
from sight — almost from memory: Fremont, Paris, Washington, Council 
City, Glendale, Carthage, Kenamo and Mairsville. 



CHAPTER V. 

A Glance at the History of Kansas — Early Expeditions Across the Plains — 
The Slavery Contest — The Struggle for Statehood — Roster of Gover- 
nors and United States Senators — Population, Resources and Institu- 
tions of the State — Business and Educational Statistics. 

The preceding chapters have been mainly devoted to the early settlement 
of Shawnee County. Before attempting a record of the subsequent events 
relative to the upbuilding of the county, and of the city of Topeka, a brief 
reference to the contemporary history of the Territory and State of Kansas 
will serve as a useful link in the local chronicle. Kansas has been making his- 
tory for 50 years. Many volumes might be written about this comparatively 
young commonwealth, but the limits of this work permit only a cursory glance 
at the more important facts connected with the birth and evolution of a 
State, which George Bancroft characterized as "the miracle of the age." 

VARIOUS NAMES FOR THE STATE. 

The name Kansas is derived from the Indian word Kanza, having the 
dual significance of "wind" and "swift." Its popular title is "the Sunflower 
State," its heroic title "Bleeding Kansas," and its opprobrious title "the Jay- 
hawker State." Its State motto is : "Ad Astra per Aspera — "through diffi- 
culties to the stars." Exclusive of Alaska and- the islands acquired in 1898, it 
is the geographical center of the United States, being situated in latitude 37 
degrees to 40 degrees north, longitude 94 degrees, 40 minutes to 102 degrees 
west; bounded on the north by Nebraska, on the northeast and east by Mis- 
souri, on the south by Oklahoma and Indian Territories, and on the west by 
Colorado. It was the 34th State to be admitted into the Union. 

EARLY HISTORY. 

The territory forming the present State of Kansas was a part of the 
Louisiana Purchase of 1803, except a fraction in the southwest corner ac- 
quired from Texas in 1850. It is claimed that Coronado visited the country 



64 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

as early as 1541, and there are evidences of French and Spanish expeditions 
to this terra incognita in later years. The Lewis and Clark expedition, 
planned by President Jefferson^ reached Kansas in June, 1804, and, two years 
later, in 1806, the expedition commanded by Zebulon Montgomery Pike, who 
gave his name to "Pike's Peak," crossed the territory from the Missouri 
River to the Rocky Mountains. The expedition of Maj. Stephen H. Long 
was made in 1819, and in 1824 was established the "Santa Fe Trail," the fa- 
mous highway of Kansas, extending 400 miles directly across the territory, 
and from Independence, Missouri, to Santa Fe, New Mexico, a total distance 
of 780 miles. Col. John C. Freemont made his first expedition across the 
plains in the summer of 1842, blazing the way for a heavy overland travel 
to Oregon, California and Mexico. 

DEVELOPMENT AND GROWTH. 

This was the beginning of the development and growth of Kansas. The 
outposts of civilization were being extended Westward from the Mississippi 
River. The Indians of Missouri and other Mississippi Valley States were 
concentrated with the tribes already occupying the country west of the Mis- 
souri River. These included the Osage, Shawnee, Pawnee, Delaware, Kicka- 
poo, and Kansas tribes, to which were added the Cherokee and other tribes 
from the States of the South, and the Ottawas, Pottawatomies, Wyandottes 
and others from Ohio, Michigan and Indiana. Kansas became Indian Terri- 
tory, and remained such from 1830 to 1854. Occupation of the country by 
white settlers was fraught with peril and hardship, and only accomplished by 
marvelous heroism, perseverance and endurance. To aid in the work of civil- 
ization, missions were established on the frontier, and military posts located at 
Fort Leavenworth, Fort Scott and Fort Riley. 

TERRITORIAL DAYS. 

The admission of Kansas as an organized Territory dates from May 30, 
1854, when President Pierce signed the "Kansas-Nebraska Act." This brought 
on what may be termed the political troubles of Kansas, and later, a result of 
the slavery agitation, precipitated the great armed conflict between the North 
and the South in 1861-65. 

I 

HOSTILE FACTIONS. 

It was on Kansas soil that the first battle was fought for the freedom of 
the negro. It was Kansas that developed the commanding figure of John 
Brown. From the time Congress took the first step for the admission of 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 65 

Kansas, with or without slavery, the Territory became the scene of conten- 
tion, pillage and bloodshed. The Pro-Slavery men of Missouri endeavored to 
gain control of the Territory in 1854, and established the first city, Leaven- 
worth. Soon afterwards an Anti-Slavery colony from Massachusetts settled 
at Lawrence. No more hostile factions ever struggled for supremacy in any 
part of the continent. 

Andrew H. Reeder, of Pennsylvania was appointed to be the first Gov- 
ernor of the Territory. At the first contest for Territorial delegate to Con- 
gress, the slavery men of Missouri crossed the river and participated in the 
election, the candidate of the Pro-Slavery party being successful by reason of 
these illegal votes. The Free-Soilers protested and held indignation meet- 
ings at Lawrence and other points. The Missourians repeated the same tactics 
at the election in the spring of 1855 for Representatives to the Legislature. 
When the Legislature met at Pawnee, the Pro-Slavery members were in the 
majority, and controllefl the proceedings, even to the extent of driving out the 
Free-Soil members and changing the seat of government. 

CHANGE OF OFFICERS. 

The Free-Soil party repudiated the acts of the Legislature, and refused to 
abide by them. Governor Reeder was removed from office, being succeeded 
by Wilson Shannon, of Ohio. John W. Whitfield was elected delegate to 
Congress by the Pro-Slavery party, and ex-Governor Reeder chosen to the 
same position by the opposition, but Congress refused to give either delegate 
a seat. A Free-Soil constitution was adopted in December, 1855, under 
which Charles Robinson was elected Governor, but the election was repudi- 
ated by President Pierce, who had recognized the "bogus" Legislature. The 
Free-Soil Legislature ignored the action of President Pierce, and, to meet this 
and other menacing circumstances, the military forces of the United States 
government were placed in command of Governor Shannon. Governor-elect 
Robinson and Congressman-elect Reeder were indicted for high treason. The 
Pro-Slavery party received large accessions from Georgia, Alabama and 
South Carolina in the troubles resulting from this conflict of authority, the 
Emigrant Aid Society Hotel and the Herald of Freedom and Kansas Free 
State printing offifces at Lawrence were destroyed, and the town of Osawa- 
tomie — the home of John Brown — was sacked and burned. 

THE STRUGGLE FOR STATEHOOD. 

A bill for the admission of Kansas as a State was passed by the lower 
house of Congress in June, 1856, but was defeated in the Senate on account 
of the recognition it gave to the Free-Soil constitution. A meeting of the 



66 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Free-Soil Legislature in Topeka was dispersed by United States troops acting 
under orders from President Pierce. By this time the interest in the Kansas 
struggle became general throughout the United States. The suppression of 
slavery became a national instead of a State issue. While Congress debated 
and legislated, the Pro-Slavery and Free-State factions continued to virar 
against each other for possession of the Territory and control of the law-mak- 
ing machinery. Conflicting constitutions were adopted, rival Legislatures 
elected, and civil government overthrown. Public meetings were held in all 
parts of the North to lend encouragement to the movement for making 
Kansas a Free State. Similar sympathy and help came to the Pro-Slavery 
party from the States of the South. Horace Greeley and Abraham Lincoln 
visited the Territory, and made speeches in opposition to the further exten- 
sion of slavery on American soil. Governor Shannon was removed from 
office, and the several Governors appointed to succeed him found the duties of 
the position so onerous that they resigned in rapid succession. 

STATE CONSTITUTION ADOPTED. 

After numerous battles, elections and vicissitudes, a constitutional con- 
vention was called to meet at Wyandotte, July 5, 1859. It was composed of 
35 Free-State and 17 Pro-Slavery delegates, who were now known as Repub- 
licans and Democrats, respectively. Under the constitution adopted by this 
convention, slavery was prohibited and Kansas admitted as a State, January 
29, 1861. The seat of government was located at Topeka. At the election 
held in December, 1859, under the Wyandotte constitution, Charles Robinson 
was chosen to be the first Governor of the State, and Martin F. Conway the 
first Representative in Congress. When the first State Legislature assembled 
at Topeka in March, 1861, James H. Lane and Samuel C. Pomeroy were 
elected the first two United States Senators from the new State. 

In the Civil War which followed the inauguration of President Lincoln 
in 1 86 1, Kansas showed its loyalty to the Union by furnishing 20,000 trained 
soldiers out of a total population of but little more than 100,000 — a number 
greatly in excess of her quota, none of them drafted, and in proportion ex- 
ceeding the enlistments from any other State. A large part of this force was 
employed in defending the borders of the State from invasion by Southern 
troops, Indians and guerillas. During one of these border raids a force of 
400 men, under the command of the notorious Quantrell, invaded Lawrence, 
burning and pillaging the town and killing 150 defenseless citizens. The 
war and the troubles with the Indians, together with a visitation of drought in 
i860, greatly retarded the growth of Kansas, but when these obstacles were 
passed an era of progress and development set in which has never since 




THE GOVERNOR'S RESIDENCE 




RESIDENCE OF DAVID O. CRANE 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 69 

abated. The splendid soil and auspicious climate and the general adaptability 
of the State to farming and stock-raising purposes have attracted thousands 
of settlers to Kansas, and the advancement in all lines has been rapid, sub- 
stantial and permanent. 

ROSTER OF GOVERNORS AND UNITED STATES SENATORS. 

Governors (Territorial) — Andrew H. Reeder, 1854 to 1855; Wilson 
Shannon, 1855 to 1856; John W. Geary, 1856 to 1857; Robert J. Walker, 
1857; James W. Denver, 1858; Samuel Medary, 1858, to i860. (State) 
Charles Robinson, 1861-63; Thomas Carney, 1863-65; Samuel J. Crawford, 
1865-68; Nehemiah Green, 1868, to fill the unexpired term of Samuel J. 
Crawford, resigned; James M. Harvey, 1869-73; Thomas A. Osborn, 1873- 
yy; George T. Anthony, 1877-79; John P. St. John, 1879-83; George W. 
Glick, 1883-85; John A. Martin, 1885-89; Lyman U. Humphrey, 1889-93; 
Lorenzo D. Lewelling, 1893-95; Edmund N. Morrill, 1895-97; John W. 
Leedy, 1897-99; William R. Stanley, 1899-03; Willis J. Bailey, 1903-05; 
Edward W. Hoch, 1905 — . During the official interruptions incident to the 
Territorial period, the following persons served brief terms as acting Gover- 
nor; Daniel Woodson, Frederick P. Stanton, James W. Denver, Hugh S. 
Walsh and George M. Beebe. 

United States Senators — James H. Lane, 1861-66; Samuel C. Pomeroy, 
1861-73; Edmund G. Ross, 1866-71; Alexander Caldwell, 1871-73; Robert 
Crozier, 1873-74; James M. Harvey, 1874-77; John J. Ingalls, 1873-91; 
Preston B. Plumb, 1877-91 ; William A. Peffer, 1891-97; Bishop W. Perkins, 
1892-93; John Martin, 1893-95; Lucien Baker, 1895-01; William A. Harris, 
1897-03; Joseph R. Burton, 1901, term expires 1907; Chester I. Long, 1903, 
term expires 1909. 

GOVERNMENT. 

The Legislature consists of 40 Senators and 125 Representatives. Ses- 
sions are held biennially, in odd-numbered years. The Legislature of 1905 
was divided politically as follows : Senate, 37 Republicans and 3 Democrats ; 
House, 109 Republicans, 14 Democrats and 2 Independent; Republican ma- 
jority on joint ballot, 127. The elective State officers include Governor, Lieu- 
tenant Governor, Secretary of State, Auchtor, Treasurer, Attorney General, 
State Superintendent of Public Instruction, State Printer, Commissioner of 
Insurance, seven justices of the Supreme Court, and three members of the 
State Board of Railroad Commissioners. Kansas has eight Representatives 
in the lower house of Congress. Women have the right of suffrage at muni- 



70 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

cipal, bond and school elections. In numerous instances women have been 
elected to municipal and school offices, and in some cases to county offices._ 

STATISTICS. 

Population — The local census of 1855 gave Kansas a population of 
8,501; this increased in i860 to 107,206; in 1870 to 364,399; in 1880 to 
396,096; in 1890 to 1,427,096; in 1900 to 1,470,495. The present popula- 
tion of the State, according to the local census of 1904, is 1,535,160. 

There are 119 cities and towns having a population of 1,000 or more. 
The 14 largest cities and their population are: Kansas City, 57,710; Topeka, 
39,149; Wichita, 31,857; Leavenworth, 22,791; Atchison, 16,925; Pittsburg, 
14,368; Fort Scott, 14,081; Coffeyville, 12,306; Lawrence, 11,544; Independ- 
ence, 11,456; Hutchinson, 11,189; 1°^^; 11.069; Parsons, 10,789; Chanute, 
10,116. 

Topography — Although a part of the great plains which form the east- 
ern slope of the Rocky Mountains, the physical character of the Kansas coun- 
try is best described as rolling prairie. There are no mountains, and no 
marshes. The altitude varies from 750 feet in the eastern to 4,000 feet in the 
western part of the State. The bulk of the land is tillable, but crops are un- 
certain in the western third of the State on account of deficient rainfall. 
In this deficient area the vast stretches of prairie are largely used for grazing 
purposes. 

The rivers of Kansas are the Kansas, Arkansas, Republican, Smoky 
Hill, Solomon, Saline, Neosho and Verdigris — none of them navigable. 
There are numerous smaller streams, giving abundant water and drainage in 
the eastern two-thirds of the State. The land area comprises 82,144 square 
miles (52,572,160 acres), extending 408 miles from east to west, and 208 
miles from north to south. 

Climate — The climate is mild, the great proportion of the days being 
fair and sunny. In summer the temperature ranges from 80 to 100 degrees 
with cool nights, and dry, pure air. In winter it rarely falls below zero. The 
violent winds of winter and spring, known to the early settlers, have been 
greatly mitigated by the cultivation of the soil and the planting of trees. 

Agriculture and Stock-Raising — Fully 30 per cent. (25,000,000 acres) 
of the farm land of Kansas is in a high state of cultivation. The cultivated 
farms have an aggregate value of $600,000,000. The acreage in field crops 
in the year 1904 was exceeded by only one State in the Union — Iowa. The 
total value of the farm products of the State for the year 1904 was $208,406,- 
365.61, the leading items being wheat ($51,000,000), corn ($50,000,000), 
and animals sold for slaughter ($52,000,000). 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 71 

The numbers and values of live stock for the same year were : Horses, 
835^580 — $62,668,500; mules and asses, 103,436 — $9,050,650; milch cows, 
792,712 — $19,817,800; other cattle, 2,757,542 — $51,014,527; sheep, 167,721 
— 503,163; swine, 2,127,482 — $15,956,115. Total value of live stock, $159,- 
010,755; total value of farm products and live stock, $367,417,120.61. 

Horticulture — Kansas ranks well in the production of fruit and is sur- 
passed by but few States in the growth of nursery stock. The number of 
apple trees in bearing in 1904 was 7,307,253 ; peach trees, 4,548,642 ; cherry 
trees, 814,114; plum trees, 641,977; pear trees, 245,515; numbers of acres in 
nurseries, small fruits and vineyards, 17,269. 

Manufactures — The natural material for manufacturing is limited. 
There are no timber lands of consequence, and no deposits of iron. Manufac- 
turing, therefore, is confined to the conversion of farm products into market- 
able commodities, such as flour and meat, and these industries are important 
and extensive. Including the large plants at Kansas City, Kansas, the 
slaughtering and meat-packing business of the State for the year 1900 
amounted in value to $77,411,883. The flouring and grist mill products for 
the same year aggregated a value of $21,926,768. Other manufacturing- 
interests for the same year amouted to the following sums : Car construction 
and railroad-shop work, $6,816,816; zinc smelting and refining, $5,790,144; 
foundry and machine-shop products, $3,652,530. The total value of the prod- 
ucts enumerated was $118,402,409, covering the work of 860 establishments 
and 18,288 employees. 

Mineral Resources — These consist principally of coal, zinc, lead, natural 
gas, petroleum, cement and gypsum. With the exception of the three last- 
named products, the mining industry is chiefly located in the southeast corner 
of the State, embracing the counties of Cherokee, Crawford, Labette, Bour- 
bon, Montgomery, Chautaugua, Neosho and Allen. Cherokee leads in coal, 
lead and zinc ; Crawford is second in coal ; Allen is first in natural gas ; and 
Neosha first in petroleum. Extensive mines of coal are also found in Osage 
and Leavenworth counties. Reno and Kingman counties have the principal 
salt mines. Building stone of excellent quality is found in various parts of the 
State. Underlying the surface of Kansas are the three common formations 
known as the Carboniferous, Triassic and Cretaceous systems, running from 
north to south, and dividing the State into three belts of nearly equal extent. 
In the year 1900 the values of the mineral products of Kansas were : Coal, 
$5,516,534; zinc, $3,000,000; salt, $1,675,000; clay, $975,500; stone $714,- 
750; natural gas, $695,000; cement, $669,685; oil, $355,118; lead, $324,- 
859; gypsum, $267,500; total, $14,193,946. 

Railroads — The total mileage of railway tracks operated in Kansas is 
10,483. The prominent lines and systems are: Atchison, Topeka & Santa 



^2 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Fe; Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific; Union Pacific; Missouri Pacific; Mis- 
souri, Kansas & Texas; St. Louis & San Francisco. The gross earnings of 
all Kansas railroads for the year 1902 were $28,000,000. 

Banking — There are 502 State and private banks in Kansas, with a 
total paid capital of $8,156,500, and deposits of $47,690,056.14. The 146 
national banks have a paid capital of $9,936,400, and deposits of $50,973,- 
729; making a total capital of $18,092,900, and total deposits of $98,663,- 
785.14, these figures being for the year 1903. Of the total deposits it is 
estimated that 68 per cent, is owned by farmers and stockmen. 

Education — Kansas spends more than $5,000,000 annually in the support 
of public schools. The school population is 500,000, the enrollment, 390,000, 
and the average attendance, 265,000; number of teachers employed, 11,698. 
The percentage of illiteracy in the State is very low, being less than 3 per cent. 

Colleges — Baker University, Baldwin; Bethany, Lindsborg; Campbell 
University, Holton; Highland University, Highland; Kansas Wesleyan Uni- 
versity, Salina; McPherson, McPherson; Midland, Atchison; Ottawa Uni- 
versity, Ottawa; Southwest Kansas, Winfield; St. Benedict's, Atchison; St. 
John's, Salina; St. Mary's, St. Mary's; State Agricultural, Manhattan; State 
Normal, Emporia; State University, Lawrence; Sisters of Bethany, Topeka; 
Washburn, Topeka. 

Religion — All of the religious denominations are represented, the Meth- 
odist being the largest numerically, followed in order by the Roman Catholic, 
Baptist, Disciples of Christ, Presbyterian, United Brethren, Congregational, 
Lutheran, Friends, African M. E., and Evangelical Association. The moral 
standard of the population is very high, Kansas being one of the few States 
that has adopted an amendment to its constitution prohibiting the manufac- 
ture and sale of liquor. 

Newspapers and Libraries — Kansas has 837 newspapers, including 51 
dailies, 634 weeklies, 4 semi-weeklies, 116 monthlies, 14 semi-monthlies, 2 
bi-monthlies, 11 quarterlies, and 5 occasionals. Of public, college and high 
school libraries, there are 112, with a total of 525,519 volumes. 

Charitable and Penal Institutions — The institutions of this class, and 
the number of inmates of each, are: Insane Asylum, Oswatomie (990); 
Insane Asylum, Topeka (780) ; Insane Asylum, Parsons (430) ; Blind Asy- 
lum, Kansas City (93) ; Imbecile School, Winfield (210) ; Deaf and Dumb 
School, Olathe (263); Soldiers' Orphans' Home, Atchison (150); Soldiers' 
Home, Dodge City (146); State Penitentiary, Lansing (1,020); Industrial 
Reformatory, Hutchinson (260); Industrial School, girls, Beloit (125); 
Reform School, boys, Topeka (209). The Federal government maintains a 
military prison and a branch of the National Soldiers' Home at Leavenworth. 



CHAPTER VI. 

Shawnee County in the Border Troubles — John Brown and His Followers — 
The Siege of Lawrence — Foraging upon the Enemy — Gen. James H. 
Lane and the Free-State Cause — John Ritchie's Arrest — The Kansas 
Emigrant Route — Enlistments in the Civil War — Campaigns Against 
the Indians. 

Free-State meetings at Big Springs and Topeka in the fall of 1855 led 
to a clash of authority in Douglas County which has passed into history as 
"The Wakarusa War.' It was precipitated by a personal encounter between 
Charles W. Dow and Franklin M. Coleman over the occupancy of a piece of 
land at Hickory Point, 10 miles south of Lawrence, Dow being shot and 
killed by Coleman as he was leaving the latter's house, November 21st. Dow 
was a Free-State man, and Coleman a Pro-Slavery immigrant from Missouri. 
The Free-State men threatened to avenge the death of their comrade, and one 
of the friends of Dow, Jacob Branson, was arrested by Sheriff Samuel J. 
Jones, of Douglas County, an appointee of the Pro-Slavery Legislature. The 
Free-State men accomplished the rescue of Branson, and conveyed him to 
Lawrence, where the early-day troubles seemed to concentrate and the Free- 
Soilers were in greatest force. Sheriff Jones appealed to the Governor for as- 
sistance, and Governor Shannon invoked the aid of the militia. Missouri fur- 
nished most of the Pro-Slavery troops, and the Free-State towns of Kansas 
rallied to the defense of Lawrence, in the resultant melee. 

THE SIEGE OF LAWRENCE. 

Lawrence was in a state of siege for two weeks ending December 7, 1855, 
when Governor Shannon disbanded the militia and declared peace. Incidental 
to the war, Thomas W. Barber was killed, December 6th, by a party of 
raiders from the camp at Lecompton. The war produced no other casualties, 
but it was one of the most significant events in early Kansas history, as it 
brought into prominence such well-known characters as Charles Robinson, 
James H. Lane, Samuel C. Pomeroy, Samuel N. Wood, Wilson Shannon and 
John BroAvn. The last named arrived in Lawrence December 7th, from Osa- 



74 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

watomie, with four of his sons. They were ah well armed, and traveled in a 
wagon, from the front of which floated the American flag. 

Shawnee County contributed one of the companies that went to the de- 
fence of Lawrence. It was organized November 27, 1855, with Daniel H. 
Home as captain; Asaph Allen, ist lieutenant; Loring Farnsworth, 2nd lieu- 
tenant ; John Ritchie, 3rd lieutenant ; non-commissioned officers, — Leonard W. 
Home, William F. Creitz, W. W. Henderson, James G. Bunker, Andrew S. 
Waters, Moses Hubbard and Henry B. Cowles; privates, — Augustus H. Bar- 
nard, George F. Boyd, Leroy L. Brown, Philip Briggs, Franklin L. Crane, 
Peter O'Connor, Humphrey Coburn, Jesse H. Crane, J. F. Cummings, 
George Davis, Francis Davis, Abner Doane, Henry Damm, Guilford Dudley, 
James Disney, Moses Dudley, Joseph W. Emerson, Charles Farnsworth, 
Charles N. Gray, Richard Gustin, Benjamin F. Gatchel, George F. Hartwell, 
Paul K. Hubbard, George Hill, Abel F. Hartwell, Cyrus F. Howard, George 
W. Hathaway, George L. King, Robert M. Luce, Christopher C. Leonard, 
David H. Moore, W. G. R. Miles, Joseph C. Miller, McClure C. Martin, Rob- 
ert L. Mitchell, Alonzo W. Moore, John Long, Ozias Judd, John W. Parsons, 
James Pierce, W. W. Ross, James Redpath, David Smith, Charles A. Sex- 
ton, William P. Thompson, Charles L. Tyrrell, Charles H. Thompson, James 
Taggart, Theron Tucker, Peter J. Wendell, Thomas G. Thornton, Henry P. 
Waters, John A. Wirt, William H. Weymouth, Charles L. Wilber, Nelson 
Young, Harvey G. Young, George H. Woods and George F. Warren. 

FORAGING FOR SUPPLIES. 

In 1856 the relations between the Free-State men of Kansas and the Pro- 
Slavery faction in Missouri became so strained that it was impossible to get 
supplies from the Missouri towns, the sale and transportation of provisions 
and merchandise being almost entirely shut off, or accomplished at great loss 
and risk. It was feared that the Missourians would continue their raids into 
the new settlements and that the lives of the Free-State men and their families 
would be in constant jeopardy. Most of the towns fortified against invasion 
and many of them organized military companies for further protection. The 
Shawnee County company was organized as Company B of the 2nd Regiment 
of Kansas Volunteers. Aaron D. Stevens, alias Whipple, was colonel of the 
regiment. L. C. Wilmarth was chief of commissary, and William F. Creitz, 
captain of the Topeka company. Colonel Whipple was in the United States 
Army in the Mexican War. He was imprisoned at Fort Leavenworth for 
attacking an officer who was abusing a soldier. He escaped from prison and 
came to Topeka, hoping to hide his identity under the name of Stevens. He 
was a prominent factor in the early history of Kansas, followed John Brown 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 75 

to Harper's Ferry in 1859, and was executed at Charleston, Virginia, March 
16, i860. 

Captain Creitz' company, aided by Colonel Stevens, Daniel H. Home, 
John Ritchie and others, foraged upon the neighboring towns of Osawkie, 
Lecompton, Indianola and Tecumseh, and took from the Pro-Slavery faction 
a considerable quantity of provisions and ammunition. This continued for 
several weeks, until supplies could be received in a regular and legitimate 
way. The Topeka company marched to Bull Creek, under orders from Gen. 
James H. Lane, to repel a party of Missourians, commanded by Capt. John 
R^id, who was leading the raid on Osawatomie. After coming up to the 
raiders. General Lane decided that an attack would not be wise, and the troops 
fell back to Lawrence. Here the Topeka men learned that Colonel Cooke had 
been ordered by Secretary Woodson to take possession of the town of To- 
peka, and disarm the insurrectionists who were defying the laws enacted by 
the Pro-Slavery Legislature. The company returned at once to Topeka, 
where assurance was given that Colonel Cooke would not execute his orders. 

HELPING A FREE-STATE CHAMPION. 

Many of the same men who were in Captain Creitz' company responded 
to the call for help from General Lane when he attempted to leave the Terri- 
tory in the fall of 1856, by what was known as the "Kansas Emigrant Route," 
between Topeka and Nebraska City, a distance of 140 miles. When Lane 
reached Osawkie, September nth, he feared that he would be intercepted by 
a large force of Pro-Slavery men, known to be in that vicinity. The Topekans 
to the number of 50 went to his assistance, under command of Colonel Whip- 
ple, arriving at Osawkie on the morning of September 12th. About this time 
there was another outbreak at Hickory Point, in which a soldier named New- 
ball was killed, and General Lane repaired to the scene of the conflict, accom- 
panied by some of his men, with Col. John Ritchie as chief of his staff. Find- 
ing no serious trouble, the General returned to Osawkie, and, upon receipt 
of Governor Geary's proclamation ordering all armed forces to disband, gave 
up the idea of further resistance, and sent the Topeka company home. 

On the i8th of September, United States Marshal Donaldson, under 
direction of Governor Geary, arrested several of the members of the Topeka 
company for participating in the fight at Hickory Point, where Newball was 
killed, and for rebellion against the laws of the Territory. Among the per- 
sons arrested were Robert L. Mitchell, John Ritchie, J. E. Rastall, J. H. Kagi 
and Charles A. Sexton. They were imprisoned at Lecompton, some of them 
being afterwards transferred to Tecumseh. Sexton established an alibi and 
was released. The others escaped or were pardoned. Ritchie and Rastall 



76 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

absented themselves from the Territory for a time, to escape prosecution. 
Kagi was released on bond, but continued his efforts in behalf of the Free- 
State cause, and finally followed John Brown to Harper's Ferry, where he 
was shot. Under an amnesty act passed by the Legislature, February ii, 
1859, Ritchie and Rastall returned to Kansas. A deputy U. S. marshal, 
Leonard Arms, attempted to arrest John Ritchie on a charge of mail robbery, 
said to have been committed in 1856. Ritchie resisted, standing in his own 
doorway, and fired upon the officer as he approached, after repeated warnings, 
killing him instantly. This happened April 20, i860. Ritchie surrendered to 
Justice Joseph C. Miller, was tried the next day and acquitted, one of his 
counsel being Gen. James H. Lane. 

THE CIVIL WAR. 

During the Civil War of 1861-65, several companies were organized in 
Shawnee County for the defense of the Union and the further protection of 
the State from invasion by Missouri guerillas, and there were many individ- 
ual enlistments in companies organized elsewhere. A complete record of the 
enlistments can not be given here, but the references which follow give an 
indication of the part taken by Shawnee County in the great war : 

In the First Regiment, Kansas Volunteer Infantry were Assistant Sur- 
geon Charles King, M. McNamara, Capt. Theron Tucker, Lieut. Shubal P. 
Thompson, Simon Atkinson, William H. Stone, Charles W. Harper, Daniel 
Updegraff and Sidney Dudley (killed at Wilson's Creek). 

Second Kansas Regiment, Infantry — Capt. Leonard W. Home; Lieuts. 
Thomas Fulton, Luther H. Wentworth and James C. French; John A. Lee, 
Charles A. Stringham, John Mofifitt, L. Newell, Charles F. Harwood, Sher- 
man Bodwell, Charles Schmidt, Albert, W. Knowles, F. A. McKenna, David 
O. Crane, John H. Banks, W. H. Boutwell, A. A. Blair, R. Biedermann, 
Charles Barger, Amos Boutwell, N. H. Cogn, J. D. Greer, Nathan P. Gregg, 
Noah Gibbs, John Hovender, G. F. Hartwell, Thomas H. Haskell, S. W. 
Higbee, Albert Hubbard, Lewis S. Long, H. S. Mayhall, C. W. Miller, C. S. 
Mills, John Morrissey, E. B. Morley (killed at Wilson's Creek), J. H. 
O'Neill, William P. Phillips, Nicholas Roberti, James Roberti (killed at Wil- 
son's Creek), J. W. Raker, J. F. Simmons, Larkin C. Shields, George B. 
Winans and Josiah A. Everett. 

Second Kansas Regiment, Cavalry — Henry L. Isbell, John Q. C. Searle, 
Samuel K. Cross, John P. Hyde, G. W. L. Johnston, Lieut. William P. Phil- 
lips, David Hubbard, Elias Shaffer, George W. Reese, Henry P. Moore, 
Lucius Kingman, Edwin M. Hewins, James Bassett, Almon Hunter, Samuel 
Horton, Randolph G. Brown, James B. Evans, Frederick E. Jilson, James 



^;'>i^ 




V 




1 ^}K^- M'^^^ 


^m ^YlfSiV^SSHI 


^^^^^^B ^B *^^Ni^ K^^^^^^^^^B ' ^[ '^H^BI 


B t^IHBM 


^B ^^ I^^hH^B 


^^^^^It^^^v lB^'^"^H^^^PiSI^Hv'' '^P^^^l 


^^Bff. 'j^~ ^ '^^^r^ - ' ' sffl^H^^^^^^S^^I 





AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 79 

N. Martin, Charles B. Pearson, William C. Anderson, John W. Boyer, J. S. 
Bryan, John Cummins, J. C. Dennitt, George W. Eddy, Chas. Fowler, Ma- 
rion Lyon, James Longnecker, Samuel McBride, John McMaster, Thomas 
Provost, Robert N. McPherson, T. J. Ragland, Charles Ross, Daniel Shipley, 
A. S. Waters, S. Worcester, W. H. Widener, A. W. Boyce, John W. Hiatt, 
Henry Hirsch (killed at Fort Smith), James T. Reynolds, M. L. Foltz, 
Francis M. Stahl, George Neil, William Beckes, M. E. Cowee, L. B. Stone, 
Carey Walton, T. S. Williams, T. R. Palmer, S. E. A. Palmer, Henry F. 
Drake, Loudon Huntoon, Joseph H. O'Neill and William O'Neill. 

Third Kansas Regiment, Cavalry — Grover Young. 

Fifth Kansas Regiment, Cavalry — Lieut.-Col. John Ritchie, Maj. 
Thomas W. Scudder, Surgeon A. J. Huntoon, Stephen J. Jennings, \'\'. C. 
Gilpatrick, Reuben A. Randlett, Joseph McCarty, C. L. Tyrrell, H. M. Ket- 
chin, L. Housel, M. A. Palmer, Samuel B. Wade, Jacob D. Orcutt, Thomas 
J. Anderson, Nelson M. Johnson, G. M. Blackhart, A. J. Link, Harvey A. 
Miller, Robert Allen, John M. Ashbaugh, N. W. Babcock, John Armstrong, 
Daniel W. Boutwell, J. W. Emmerson, F. R. Fields, H. Fletcher, J. Goodrich, 
Peter Heil, E. Herriott, J. C. Palmer, Earnest Palmer, J. W. Rue, J. M. 
Reno, J. W. Ridgeway, L. E. Ridgeway, J. J. Shields, E. Scranton, W. H. 
Smythe, S. Williams, Thomas Archer, H. B. Anderson, John Furnish (killed 
at Mark's Mills), George E. Flanders, Cyrus Lindsey, John McHale, A. C. 
Hurd, Richard Broad, Henry Blanchard, Charles H. Brown and Miles W. 
Thompson (killed at Mark's Mills). 

Sixth Kansas Regiment, Cavalry — Maj. George W. Veale, Charles W. 
Jewell, Capt. H. S. Greeno, J. M. Clay, James Davis, Benjamin D. Russum, 
Willis D. Disbrow and Lieut. Leonard J. Swingley. 

Seventh Kansas Regiment, Cavalry — Andrew J. Battey, James A. Hun- 
ter, Eber D. Herring, Frank Sharrai, A. A. Blair, Joseph Farrar and Albert 
Hubbard. 

Eighth Kansas Regiment, Infantry — Chaplain John Paulson, E. D. 
Rose, Milton Rose, Leonard A. Heil, V. N. Brown, Cyrus Gi^ant, W. L. 
Wendall, John McNutt, Lewis V. Bryan, J. T. Hiller, Ettina Bullette, Eugene 
Kagi, W. Hindman, W. H. Kemp, R. Russell, A. Rambo, Martin Stamp, 
Thomas Stamp, Napoleon Sharrai, H. Davidson, Joseph Laramie, James Ste- 
wart, A. Stanley and Ferd F. Wendall. 

Ninth Kansas Regiment, Cavalry — Milton R. Moore, Charles H. Ander- 
son, S. M. Cunningham, Theodore J. Dickenson, M. I. Gilpatrick, John L. 
Price, Henry Fitzpatrick, J. W. Fox, G. T. Fitz, Lester F. Buttles, J. F. De- 
long, James B. Thomas, Joseph Emerson, John R. Emerson, William H. H. 
Fox, J. C. Hyde, B. Heintzman, Auletas Leonard, L. R. Vail, M. N. Mc- 
4 



8o HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Ginley, W. S. Bennett, S. Brumfield, W. Brumfield, A. Dixon, A. C. Whit- 
low, A. B. Whitlow, and J. M. Whitlow. 

Tenth Kansas Regiment, Infantry — Alfred J. Lloyd, Albert Clark, 
William H. Jaquith, W. L. Burke, A. Riley, Lieut. Joseph K. Hudson, A. F. 
Birum, Lieut. John F. Hill, George W. Weed and David Whitaker. 

Eleventh Kansas Regiment, Cavalry — Maj. Edmond G. Ross, Adj. 
James E. Greer, Daniel H. Home, W. H. Cowan, A. Ashbaugh, John Albin, 
John James, W. P Woods, Lieut. Nathan P. Gregg, Spencer P. Wade, Lieut. 
Henry C. Lindsey, Rufus T. Conwell, H. E. Close, John F. Carter, C. P. 
Hunger, William Marlatt, George Ross, Richard Alfriend, P. S. Crawford, 
Neut. A. Johnson, W. D. Bartlett, Samuel Blandon, James M. Conwell, 
Franklin L. Crane, S. B. Enderton, J. Farren, R. Frizzle, Nathan Girt, J. D. 
Greer, J. M. Hunter, M. S. Judd, Albert Kees, J. Keatley, J. H. Mills, A. 
O'Neil, J. P. Ogee, George Ross, W. J. Ragland, J. J. St. John, Don A. 
Sweet, H. H. Smith, Perry C. Tuttle, John G. Anderson, B. F. Adams, C. 
D. Correll, Henry H. Cook, J. B. C. Cook, E. W. Davis, A. Delap, C. L. 
Freeman, J. A. Givens, J. W. Gilpin, J. G. Harriott, E. W. Houston, George 
Heberling, C. A. Metcalf, L. J. Mossman, G. W. Morris, John C. Paine, H. 
, A. terry, S. Sage, C. G. Town, E. S. Underwood, J. A. White, E. A. Went- 
worth, N. t). Wentworth, Charles W. Welch, James J. S. Garvey, Capt. Joel 
Huntoon, Lieuts. J. W. Ridgeway and Sherman Bodwell, O. C. Ward, Will- 
iam H. Morris, Daniel Dodge, John Kappil, L. O. Snoddy, Robert McMaster, 
J. Raney, Joseph S. Jordan, Emanuel Crowe, Abner Doane, J. B. Clogston, 
James Mecham, J. H. Weaver, Charles Schmidt, W. H. Ridgeway, Orson 
Howard, W. R. Black, D. J. Moore, J. D. Wood, J. F. Ward, H. P. Streeter, 
J. T. Adams, J. E. Antrim, J. H. Ashlein, Charles Aye, C. L. Bogue, Moses 
Brown, William Brown, F. D. Campbell, J. H. Copeland, G. M. Copeland, 
Isaiah Cox, Samuel Cox, R. Clements, W. T. Dixon, J. G. Dodge, Peter 
Elliott, Jacob Evans, W. T. Goodnight, A. M. Harden, George Heil, W. 
Holzle, A. Hoppe, Nathan P. Horton, O Hooper, Philip John- 
ston, Jesse Long, W. B. Long, W. H. Lynne, A. J. Marshall, Thomas Mc- 
Evoy, J. N. Miller, D. E. Miller, W. H. Moffatt, . Joseph Molton, S. Ogee, 
H. P. Penny, Ferdinand Schaffer, Samuel Sproul, C. L. Stevenson, A. Upde- 
graff, W. Vickers, R. H. Forsythe, James Forsythe, R. A. Hathaway, J. M. 
McCartney, Harrison Nichols, J. T. Penny, S. B. Raney, F. M. Williams, 
Edward Shepard, A. F. Bliss and J. N. Doty. 

Twelfth Kansas Regiment, Infantry— David Anderson, Edward Smith, 
George W. Smith and R. N. P. Treadwell. 

Fourteenth Kansas Regiment, Cavalry— Lieut.-Col. J. Finn Hill, W. J. 
Peak, A. S. Copeland, Francis LaFromboise, Mitchell LaFromboise, H. An- 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 8i 

thony, Joseph Bourassa, J. M. Greenwood, Joseph Latouned, Isaac McCoy 
and Alexander Rodd. 

Fifteenth Kansas Regiment, Cavah-y — Lieut.-Col. Henry C. Haas, Sur- 
geon A. E. Denning, Asst. Surgeon Samuel Ashmore, D. H. Neally, J. F. 
Linville, Lieut. Luther H. Wentvvorth, John M. Bryan, H. H. Kirby, W. 
H. Smith, N. R. Bickle, Taylor Horn, F. R. Ward, M. W. Rock, Jacob Horn, 
O. E. Chapin, Thomas Pickerell, John C. Porter, Eli Miles, M. Burk, S. 
Bonum, J. Bellemere, William Glasscock, P. Hullsapple, Thomas Hall, J. 
W. Hopkins, W. A. Jones, D. Lemmons, Peter Mann, M. Obrey, Lewis 
Papan, Henry Papan, Benjamin Paine, H. Puckett, S. Wilkinson, David 
Zimmerman, J. Cohee, Frank Harmes, R. Newman, J. W. Ridenour, John 
Shipley, Alma Shipley, Capt. C. O. Smith, Lieut. L. Craig Shields, W. A. 
Simmerwell, W. H. Bell, Haney McCaslin, S. E. Thompson, N. A. Clark, 
W. A. Young, Nathan Briles, John H. Young, John Coyne, Alonzo Davis, 
Michael Moriarty, James Rundle, H. Salsbury, John Smith, Eugene Hagar, 
Christopher Columbus, W. J. Wallace, C. H. Brown and Richard Broad. 

Sixteenth Kansas Regiment, Cavalry — J. L. Wightman, Capt. M. M. 
Neely, Capt. S. P. Thompson and D. W. Seagraves. 

Seventeenth Kansas Regiment, Infantry- — ^Lieut. Nelson M. Hovey, 
George A. Dailey, C. F. Kiff, Fletcher Jackson, Charles O. Knowles, G. W. 
Gabriel, R. H. Hyde, J. H. Brownlee, Leverton Clay, W. M. Copeland, Al- 
bert Cowan, J. S. Diimmer, M. Dougherty, J. W. Farrington, J. J. Hoeback, 
H. T. Howell, Abram Marple, Albert McClain, B. Morriarty, W. M. Nichols, 
L. Norbury, J. D. Pogue, Cyrus Reamy, T. P. Reed, Daniel Rundle, Adding- 
ton Sawyer, Levi Snyder, W. K. Thompson, Anthony Vohs, John A. Woods 
and Martin Young. 

First Kansas Colored Regiment, Infantry — ^John Carter, Douglas 
Grimes, Whitfield Ross, H. Crittenden, James Austin, Thomas Brown, David 
Barber, Edward Deane, James Hockley, Adam Hill, Samuel Howard, 
Beardsley Hightower, Lazarus Johnson, Charles Martin, Jackson Perrin, 
William Richardson, David Thompson, John Williams, Monroe Williams, 
T. H. Phillips, John Farrell, Lieutenant W. T. Edgerton, W. L. Lane, Will- 
iam Parker, Ephraim Peererly, Elijah Smith and George Washington. 

Second Kansas Colored Regiment, Infantry — Chaplain Josiah B. Mc- 
Afee and Capt. M. F. Gilpatrick. 

First Kansas Battery — Lieut. John B. Cook, Alfred J. Lloyd, George 
R. Anderson and Scott Greer. 

Third Kansas Battery — Lieut. Oscar F. Dunlap. 

Eighth Regiment United States Volunteers — John M. Ashbaugh, Wesley 
Boyles, N. M. Johnson and J. McCarty. 

Eighteenth Kansas Regiment, Cavalry — Capt. Henry C. Lindsey, Lieut. 



82 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

John H. Wellman, Lyon B. Stone, J. C. Norvell, J. W. Ragland, J. T. Mar- 
shall, G. A. McKinney, W. F. Davidson, Charles D. Carroll, J. A. Wilker- 
son, J. A. Bailey, R. E. Brown, J. J. Bunce, T. S. Bourassa, C. J. Boyles, G. 
W. Dale, E. W. Duncan, J. Everhart, E. A. Green, J. H. Green, John Knee- 
land, George Mitchell, C. S. Metz, F. S. Metz, George Rake, Guy Service, 
Eugene Sharrai, W. M. Sherman, William Tice, George Woolary, Stephen 
Wilmarth, J. W. Wilkerson, Lieut. John W. Price, Lieut. Francis M. Stahl, 
William D. Milne, H. D. Courtney, William Jenner, L. A. Howell, S. P. 
Miller, S. Armstrong, B. J. Butler, J. W. Cook, C. Carey, R. A. Cooper, 
James Cripps, E. J. Davenport, S. W. Emmerson, D. J. Garrison, Joseph H. 
Gordon, Perry Griffith, J. G. Herriott, J. W. Hays, W. Kirkpatrick, B. M. 
Kennedy, Lewis Lafarmer, J. M. Large, T. H. McCune, William Mills, M. 
McDole, W. McNown, Thomas Neill, Charles Norton, G. W. Price, W. T. 
Roberts, W. R. Stewart, D. C. Salladay, A. C. Vangundy, B. Heinzman, 
W. H. Smith and Lieut. Henry Hewger. 

Nineteenth Kansas Regiment, Cavalry — S. J. Crawford, colonel; Horace 
L. Moore, lieutenant-colonel; Charles Dimon, R. W. Jenkins and Milton 
Stewart, majors; Mahlon Bailey, surgeon; E. P. Russell and Robt. Aikman, 
assistant surgeons; James W. Steele, adjutant; L. A. Thresher, quarter- 
master; John Johnston, commissary. Company A. — Capt. A. J. Pliley; 
Lieuts. B. D. Wilson, R. C. Powell and Joseph Beacock ; W. E. Adams, Olof 
Alton, W. G. Andrews, F. M. Brown, F. E. Bryan, H. C. Butler, J. B. Cald- 
well, T. P. Canfield, Charles Carlson, Peter Cart, J. W. Casebier, J. Cohee, 
J. M. Conwell, J. Cooper, W. C. Cooney, Isaiah Creek, O. A. Curtis, F. E. Dau- 
bon, George Davidson, W. Davis, E. B. Davis, C. C. Dollaway, T. W. Duer, A. 
Dunner, J. Eckley, S.' Enoch, C. O. Fowler, P. Ferguson, William Gay, J. 
A. Hadley, J. Hanson, J. M. Hays, L. A. Henson, A. Hilbish, J. Herrington, 
L. Herrmian, L. A. Howell, J. H. Hudson, A. Jacobson, Martin Johnson, 
A. P. Johnson, M. V. James, S. Jordan, C. F. Laiblin, J. Laramie, M. B. La- 
zelle, J. Linton, G. Lundgren, T. H. Maddox, J. P. Maddox, John Maley, A. 
J. Marshall, W. Mason, W. W. Mather, I. B. Moffitt, J. L. Morrison, John 
McBee, Jeremiah McBee, W. A. McClain, J. H. McClain, Reed McCarter, D. 
McCarty, J. P. McDowell, C. McHazard, B. McMahon, C. P. Nelson, Otwain 
Papan, Stephen Papan, J. D. Perkins, S. N. Peterson, S. D. Powell, G. Razer, 
William Rice, T. Riddle, F. M. Rogers, G. W. Rogers, Charles Seavey, 
William Sherman, Charles Shutts, William Smith, Andrew J. Smith, George 
D. Smith, C. Stackhouse, J. Stanley, S. Stumbaugh, J. C. Templeton, A. 
Thompson, J. Turner, A. Updegraff, T. B. Vanderpool, F. M. Vane, L. 
Walker, W. Watkins, F. M. Williams, Henry Williams, J. M. Wilson and 
Robert M. Wright. Company B — Capt. Charles E. Reck; Lieuts. Henry H. 
McColIister and Charles H. Champney. Company C — Capt. Charles P. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 83 

Twiss; Lieuts. Walter J. Dallas and Jesse E. Parsons. Company D — Capt. 
John Q. A. Norton; Lieuts. John S. Edie and Charles H. Hoyt. Company 
E — Capt. Thomas J. Darling, Lieuts. William H. Bidwell and Charles T. 
Brady ; James McMahon and Barnabas Welch. Company F — Capt. George B. 
Jenness ; Lieuts. DeWitt C. Jenness and John Fellows ; Allen F. Baird, Allen 
F. Bund, John P. Chess, J. C. Claypool, David Emerson, Calvin Holmes, 
George L. Miller, J. McCullum, John Tabor and George W. Warner. Com- 
pany G — Capts. Charles Dimon and Richard D. Lender; Lieuts. Myron A. 
Wood and H. C. Litchfield. Company H — Capt. David T. Payne; Lieuts. 
Mount A. Gordon and Robert M. Steele. Company I — Capt. Roger A. Ells- 
worth; Lieuts. J. T. Clancy and J. M. May; J. H. Baker, O. M. Beall, O. W. 
Belt, J. H. Carpenter, Hubert Calkins, John M. Dailey, G. W. Deatly, D. P. 
Faler, E. Finn, J. Fightner, W. M. Fitzgerald, J. R. Guise, T. M. Lowry, 
J. R. Maphet, Norman Mead, A. F. Meats, J. R. Merritt, Isaac McCoy, 
M. Odiorne, J. O'Neil, Henry Pearson, N. Peterson, A. M. Pittman, Chas. 
Roberts, John S. Stone and Thomas Warren. Company K — Capts. Milton 
Stewart and Emmett Ryus; Lieuts. Charles H. Hallett and R. I. Sharp; 
John Cesseviske and Robert Chase. Company L — Capt. Charles H. Finch; 
Lieuts. Henry E. Stoddard and W. S. Tilton. Company M — Capt. Sargent 
Moody; Lieuts. James Graham and J. P. Hurst; Moses Allen, Edward B. 
Baldwin, William Chalender, George Clark, Isaac Colvin, George Dale, J. 
N. Denny, F. Grew, D. K. Hardin, William Hester, M. McCullough, David 
Nocton, John Parker, Charles Phenis, F. N. Snyder and Henry N. Vander- 
case. 

The 1 8th and 19th regiments were volunteer organizations employed in 
the protection of the State from Indian depredations. The i8th was in service 
in 1867, under command of Major Horace L. Moore, and the 19th in 1868-69, 
under Gen. Phil. H. Sheridan. 



CHAPTER VII. 

Repelling the Price Raid — Second Kansas State Militia — Preparations for 
War in Topeka—The Home Guards — The Battle of the Blue — Colonel 
Veale's Regiment in the Conflict — Capt. Ross Burns and His Famous 
Battery — The Gage Monument. 

Martial law was declared in Kansas, October lo, 1864, in anticipation 
of a raid by the Confederates under command of Gen. Sterling Price, and, 
in response to the call of Governor Thomas Carney, the Second Regiment of 
Kansas State Militia was organized in Shawnee County, October 12th. George 
W. Veale was made colonel of the regiment, which contained 561 men. Most 
of the men were mounted, upon their own horses and ponies, and the wagons 
and supplies were largely their own property. Accompanying the regiment 
was a battery of one 24-pounder brass howitzer, and 22 men, commanded by 
Capt. Ross Burns. Its ammunition was carried in a lumber wagon contributed 
by Edward Rape. The artillery team of four horses was furnished by John 
Armstrong and William P. Thompson. The regiment was ordered into im- 
mediate service at Olathe, joining the command of Gen. M. S. Grant. 

TOPEKA HOME DEFENDERS. 

A battalion of home guards was also organized for the special defense 
of the city of Topeka against a threatened calamity similar to the one which 
had befallen Lawrence at the hands of Quantrell. This battalion was in com- 
mand of Maj. Andrew Stark and consisted of six companies, under Capts. 
Fry W. Giles, L. Craig Shields, H. S. Gale, Thomas Archer, Joseph Trew 
and Edward Krappe, and a small battery in charge of Lieut. Tobias Billings. 
Topeka soon assumed a warlike appearance. Trenches were cut at the inter- 
sections of Sixth avenue and Jefferson street, and Eighth and Madison streets, 
to embarrass the enemy's approach. At the intersection of Sixth and Kansas 
avenues, the most central point in the city, a circular stockade was constructed 
of Cottonwood timbers standing 10 feet above the ground. The drilling and 
marching and anxiety continued for two weeks, but the expected attack was 
not made, and the battalion soon disbanded. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 85 

BATTLE OF THE BLUE. 

Ten days after Colonel Veale's regiment had been mustered in, it was 
called upon to engage in battle with a brigade of Price's army, a part of 
General Shelby's division, commanded by General Jackman. This was the 
famous battle of the Big Blue. It was fought on the afternoon of the 22nd 
day of October, 1864, at the Mockabee farm, near a crossing of the Big Blue 
River known as Byrom's Ford. Colonel Veale's command was outnumbered 
six to one by the enemy, and the latter had the additional advantage of sea- 
soned troops and modern equipment. Against fearful odds Colonel Veale's 
men fought desperately for three quarters of an hour, but they were finally 
overcome and driven from the field at great loss. The short engagement and 
the loss inflicted on the enemy by the raw and untrained recruits from Kansas, 
had the effect of checking General Price's advance, and he was ultimately 
repulsed. 

The dominant feature of the battle of the Blue, as it will live in song and 
story, was the wonderful work of the little battery handled by Capt. Ross 
Burns and the gunners. The battery was planted in a lane leading from the 
Mockabee farm to the crossing of the stream. It withstood two charges from 
a sti'ong force of General Jackman's cavalry. The third charge was so power- 
ful, the cavalry riding six abreast and closely massed, that the battery could 
not resist it, although Captain Burns stood by his single field-piece until he 
was taken prisoner and clubbed into insensibility. Eight of his men were 
killed, four wounded, and 10 taken prisoners. 

Colonel Veale's total losses were 24 killed, 20 wounded and 68 taken 
prisoners. He also lost 100 horses and his only piece of artillery. In all the 
official reports the fidelity and courage of the Second Regiment were highly 
commended by the commanding officers. A record of the casualties follows : 
Killed — J. B. Alverson, Samuel Allen, Nicholas Brown, Moses Banks, C. 
H. Budd, Robert Bolls, H. C. Coville, Robert Campbell, Albert Chapman, 
James Eagle, David Fultz, George Ginnold, Daniel Handley, Ben Hughes, 
McClure Martin, Robert McNoun, Dennis Ray, David Rake, D. M. Race, 
Elias Roberts, W. P. Roberts, Lear Selkin, William Mann and Harvey G. 
Young. 

Wounded — Lieut.-Col. H. M. Greene, Capt. Ross Burns, Capt. H. E. 
Bush, Capt. S. B. Miles, Lieut. W. H. Delong, Isaac Bickel, Allen Blandon, 
John S. Branner, Brock Crawford, Martin Dreck, Peter Flick, John P. Greer, 
H. M. Howard, John Keiser, Dr. A. F. Neeley, James Norris, T. F. Prather, 
John Thompson, William P. Thompson and John A. Ward. 

Prisoners — James Anderson, Lieut.-Col. John W. Brown, Isaac Bickel, 
Samuel Blandon, J. J. W. Clark, L. T. Cook, H. Cunningham, Frank Daw- 



86 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

son, H. M. Deming, George Duncan, R. Fitzgerald, George Fix, Henry Fix, 
William Flanders, Perry Fleshman, F. M. Fletcher, J. B. Follansbee, Lieut. 
H. P. Gilland, Guilford G. Gage, J. T. Gage, J. H. Glenn, James R. Greer, 
W. S. Hibbard, R. W. Hoback, J. Holman, C. G. Howard, James Huggins, 
Dr. A. J. Huntoon, Baxter Ingrund, Ephraim Johnson, John Keiser, John 
Kemp, Robert Kemp, Jacob Kline, Samuel Kosier, J. A. Link, Horace Linn, F. 
K. Mackey, John P. Majors, J. S. Markham, William Marx, Oscar McCon- 
nell, G. B. McKee, A. G. Miller, Osburn Naylor, Willard S. Nichols, Edward 
Pape, J. A. Policy, Alfred Quiett, S. J. Reader, John Reed, John Robinson, 
James Russell, Simon Schafifer, Eli Snyder, Jerome Stahl, J. S. Stanfield, 
David Stevens, J. B. Taylor, Wallace True, David Vaughn, Lieut. Hiram 
Ward, James Warren, E. B. Williams, Levi Williams, Granger Wood, G. 
H. Wood and Nelson Young. 

SECOND MILITIA REGIMENT. 

At the time the Second Kansas Regiment of militia was called into 
service, the city of Topeka had less than i,ooo population, and in the entire 
county the population was not more than 3,500. For this reason the roster of 
the regiment is a fairly good index to the farriilies then residing in the county. 
The original muster-roll was not preserved, but the following is a nearly com- 
plete roster of the regiment : 

Field and Staff — George W. Veale, colonel; H. M. Greene, lieutenant- 
colonel; Andrew Stark, major; S. E. Martin, surgeon; S. J. Reader, A. Q. 
M. ; E. P. Kellam, adjutant ; F. R. Foster, sergeant major ; Dan Thompson, 
Q. M. sergeant ; Jacob Smith, commissary sergeant. 

Company A (Topeka) — Daniel H. Home, captain; S. R. Remington 
and George O. Wilmarth, lieutenants; John Martin, ist sergeant; G. Y. 
Arnold, F. P. Baker, H. T. Beman, Edward Bodwell, W. E. Bowker, James 
Brewer, W. R. Brown, Enoch Chase, E. E. Chesney, John F. Cole, James 
Conwell, David Edwards, Peter Fisher, S. H. Fletcher, M. Gabriel, Asbury 
Gordon, Louis Grasmuck, J. H. Holman, W. Marshall, L. H. McArthur, 
Robert McGinnis, S. H. McGowan, Peter MacVicar, A. B. Perine, D. W. 
Ross, W. W. Ross, L W. Shipley, M. K. Smith, Z. D. Smith, D. Thompson, 
Charles Thresher, J. B. Whitaker, A. L. Williams, and D. Zimmerman. 

Company B (Topeka) — Dr. A. J. Huntoon, captain; J. R. Parker and 
S. W. Higbee, lieutenants; J. A. Policy, ist sergeant; A. B. Alverson, W. T. 
Berryman, E. Bradshaw, A. H. Case, J. S. Cook, H. C. Coville, M. B. Craw- 
ford, B. F. Dawson, William Dawson, John Elliott, William Flanders, F. 
M. Fletcher, John Fletcher, G. S. Freeland, J. R. Greer, John P. Greer, John 
Harriott, G. W. Herron, A. S. Hollenberg, C. G. Howard, Paul Hubbard, 




£S 2fliiiJ» ^!fe 



OFFICE BLOCK 




COLUMBIAN BUILDING 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 89 

Fred Huntoon, George M. Kellam, Hugo Kullak, R. M. Luce, Oscar Mc- 
Connell, William McElhaney, J. M. McQuiston, Dr. A. F. Neeley, Willard 
S. Nichols, James O'Neal, John Oyster, L. Palmer, N. Ritchey, S. B. Schaffer, 
H. Stagg, J. S. Stanfield, G. H. Taylor, J. A. Ward, J. A. Warren, E. L. 
Whleeler, C. C. Whiting, George Wolf, G. H. Wood, Harvey G. Young, 
John Young and Nelson Young.. 

Company C (Tecumseh) — ^J. B. Hannum, captain; Ishiel Tyler and Hi- 
ram Ward, lieutenants; J. M. Vaughn, ist sergeant; J. A. Adams, J. K. Bar- 
tleson, F. M. Coppage, A. Chapman, C. B. Chapman, Lewis Clogston, J. J. 
Driver, J. Fletcher, T. H. Gage, J. T. Gage, R. W. Hoback, Joseph F. Hop- 
kins, S. A. Hopkins, William M. Jordan, John Keiser, S. Keiser, William 
Marx, William Massey, G. B. McKee, Albert G. Miller, Osburn Naylor, Mar- 
tin Norris, Alfred Quiett, R. Quiett, Jacob Rankin, John M. Reed, W. T. 
Reynolds, Harvey D. Rice, Elias Roberts, C. H. Sharp, George W. Sharp, 
Henry M. Sharp, Jaques Sheedy, George L. Smith, Jesse W. Stevenson, B. 

F. Stillwell, Hiram J. Strickler, Elias Taylor, James Taylor, C. T. Ward, 
Luther Woodford and Perry T. Woodward. 

Company D (Indianola) — Sterling B. Miles, captain; W. H. Morgan 
and T. H. Miller, Heutenants; John G. Irwin, ist sergeant; O. T. Angel, 
Moses Banks, J. F. Bell, Isaac Bickel, J. H. Brown, A. R. Button, M. 
A. E. J. Campdoras, J. M. Clark, J. J. W. Clark, J. Q. A. 
Cope, Timothy Downey, Everett Eaton, W. K. Elliott, G. P. Fied- 
erling, F. W. Flesher, Perry Fleshman, John Griffith, James Hug- 
gins, J. F. Jenner, Ephraim Johnson, Moses Kellis, John Kemp, 
Robert Kemp, Thomas Kemp, B. F. Kestler, C. M. Kestler, George 
W. Kestler, J. J. Kopp, J. M. Kuykendall, J. P. Majors, Ezekiel Marple, 
Thomas Marple, Robert McNoun, David Mitchell, Isaiah A. Pasley, Austin 
W. Pliley, William Pliley, Edward Plumer, William Prusait, Dennis Ray, 
Roswell Rose, John Stamp, Charles B. Steward, David Vaughn, Thomas J. 
Wallis and S. T. Woodard. 

Company E (Topeka) — ^John H. Banks, captain; William P. Douthitt 
and S. C. Herriott, lieutenants; E. A. Goodell, ist sergeant; E. A. Alward, 

G. F. Boyd, Hugh Campbell, W. W. CHmenson, Lester M. Crawford, 
Thomas J. Crawford, George Doane, S. Dunham, Charles Engler, Charles 
Farnsworth, W. H. Fitzpatrick, H. Kline, Albert Knowles, S. D. McDonald, 
Joseph C. Miller, J. H. Mills, Theodore Mills, John Murray, John Nichols, 
John G. Otis, James Samuels, Charles A. Sexton, John Sharrai, A. H. Slay- 
ton, Geo. W. Spencer, Nathan Warner, John Weir and William H. Wey- 
mouth. 

Company F (Big Springs) — James Thompson, captain; Dennis Mo- 
riarty and H. P. Gilland, lieutenants; John Banning, ist sergeant; Frank 



90 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Brown, Robert Campbell, D. A. Cardwell, T. H. Clark, J. A. Davidson, 
Henry Drummers, George Duncan, William Duncan, James Eagle, George 
Fix, Henry Fix, J. H. Glenn, J. H. Hall, L. H. Hilligoss, J. J. Howell, 
Thomas Johnson, Theo. Kreipe, D. H. Lawrence, J. D. Lemschule, William 
Lemschule, J. B. Miller, T. S. Murray, J. C. Niccum, T. F Prather, A. S. 
Roberts, J. W. Roberts, Oliver Spencer, W. A. Thompson and Wallace True. 

Company G (Auburn) — H. E. Bush, captain; H. L. Shumway and W. 
H. Delong, lieutenants; P. I. Bonebrake, ist sergeant; Samuel Allen, George 
Barker, Isaac Baxter, John Baxter, Allen Blandon, S. Blandon, J. W. Brown, 
W. H. Combs, L. T. Cook, H. Cunningham, H. M. Deming, W. A. Engle, 
Peter Flick, Charles Garrison, P.obert Gault, J. M. Hastings, M. C. Hendrick, 
W. S. Hibbard, W. A. Hogaboom, Ira Hyde, Bartholomew Ingrund, Baxter 
Ingrund, George Johnson, C. C. Lewis, J. S. Alarkham, F. D. Mills, C. C. 
Moore, W. H. Penfield, W. W. Phillips, Henry Pifer, W. P. Roberts, F. 
Richerhauser, John Robinson, James Russell, B. P. Seymour, Eli Snyder, 
Peter Snyder, Peter Spangler, Jerome Stahl, F. M. Stahl, R. Stees, D. 
Stevens, J. Thompson, W. Walker and Granger Wood. 

Company H (Williamsport) — Perry Tice, captain; J. L. Young and 
H. K. Winans, lieutenants; Oliver Selover, ist sergeant; James W. Brown, 
James Carroll, Leviston Clay, William Coker, E. W. Hungerford, J. W. 
Lacey, T. Lawler, T. H. Lescher, H. Matney, J. Matney, J. McDowd, David 
McMaster, J. R. Nelson, Charles Owen, John Porter, D. Randell, Thomas 
Reynolds, E. W. Rudolph, Isaac Seamans, J. C. Thomas, W. Wellhouse, 
J. B. Whitlock, S. H. Wilson, E. W. Winans, M. S. Yarrington, Jesse Yocum 
and W. G. Yocum. 

Company I (^Monmouth) — William Disney, captain; John Helton and 
William Reed, lieutenants; Samuel Kosier, ist sergeant; J. P. Allen, Robert 
Allen, R. J. Bales, Robert Bolls, Adam Bowers, C. D. Bush, J. W. Coberly, 
Edward Davis, A. A. Disney, Richard Disney, Martin Dreck, David Fultz, 
H. D. Healy, J. A. Heberling, E. J. Heil, F. Helton, D. Hopper, S. Hopper, 
William Hotze, H. M. Howard, G. W. Johnson, H. Linn, J. W. Little, S. 
J. Livingston, H. G. Lyons, Silas Lyons, James Norris, J. A. Oliver, S. W. 
Stowall, T. E. Strode, A. M. Thornton, W. G. Toney, William Wann, E. B. 
Williams, S. E. Williams and Harrison Wright. 

Company K (Topeka Battery) — Ross Burns*, captain; Tobias Billings 
and Charles H. Wyckoff,* lieutenants; Charles H. Gibson, ist sergeant; 
James Anderson*, John Armstrong*, John S. Branner*, Justus Brockway, 
Nicholas Brown*, Charles H. Budd*, Daniel Copson, J. F. Cummings, Dan- 
iel Dawson, John Devine, William Farren, R. Fitzgerald, J. E. Follansbee*, 
Guilford G. Gage*, C. K. Gilchrist, George Ginnold*, Daniel Handley*, 
Nathan Harvey, A. Herboldsheimer, J. H. Holman*, Ben Hughes*, A. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 91 

Kingsley, Jacob Kline*, John A. Link*, Jeremiah Logan, Fred K. Mackey*, 
Henry Mackey, Martin McClure*, Thomas McGuire, D. L. Morse, Phihp 
Moeser, WilUam Moeser*, Edward Pape*, Lorenzo Pauley, Morris Pickett, 
Meric D. Race*, John Ryan, Lear Selkin*, John A. Shaffer, William P. 
Thompson*, G. B. Wade, William B. Wade, Levi Williams*, Samuel Wilson 
and John Worth. 

It should be explained that companies A and E of the Second Regiment, 
being unmounted, were attached to an infantry regiment on duty at another 
point on the Missouri border, and did not participate in the battle of the Blue. 
In the list of men in the Topeka Battery only those designated by stars were 
with Captain Burns in the same battle, the others remaining in Topeka to 
guard the city. 

THE GAGE MONUMENT. 

On the 30th of May, 1895, in connection with the memorial exercises of 
the day, a beautiful and imposing monument of granite was dedicated to the 
memory of the soldiers who fell in the battle of the Blue. The monument 
was erected in the cemetery at Topeka, and was the gift of Guilford G. Gage, 
one of the survivors of the historic encounter. He lived to witness the dedi- 
cation, and to recount the story of the event which it so eloquently perpetuates, 
but he has since passed away, as have most of his comrades. Col. George 
W. Veale, who is still living, presided at the dedication, and made an address 
covering the main incidents of the battle. Other addresses were made by 
Gen. John C. Caldwell and Howel Jdnes, that of the latter being devoted to 
a review of the character and services of Capt. Ross Burns. Prayer was 
offered by Rev. Francis S. McCabe, D. D., and the unveiling of the monu- 
ment was gracefully performed by Katie Ost, a little girl whose grandfather 
was killed in the battle. An invitation was extended to Gen. Joseph Shelby, 
whose advance force opposed the Kansas men in the Mockabee lane, to attend 
the dedication of the monument, but he sent a courteous letter or regret filled 
with warm praise for the valor of the Second Regiment and the conspicu- 
ous bravery of Captain Burns and his skillful gunners. 

Upon the suggestion of Mr. Gage, a detailed history of the battle of 
The Blue was written by James W. Steele, and published in 1899. The 
memorial volume is dedicated "To the survivors of the Second Regiment, 
K. S. M., and to the memory of those who died; to their descendants wher- 
ever scattered, and to all who honor the courage that is without glory, and 
the devotion which hopes for no reward." ^ 



CHAPTER VIII. 

Shawnee County and the War with Spain — The Famous 20th Kansas Regi- 
ment — Its Battles and Glory — List of Dead and Wounded — Enlistments 
and Service in Other Regiments — Their Record in Cuba and Elsewhere 
— Praise from President McKinley and Secretary of War — The Colored 
Troops. 

During the progress of the Spanish- American War, in 1897-98, two full 
companies and parts of other companies were organized in Shawnee County 
for service in Cuba and the Philippine Islands. Company A of the 20th Kan- 
sas Volunteer Infantry was almost wholly recruited in Topeka. Its officers 
were: John E. Towers, captain; succeeded by Capt. Clad Hamilton, who 
enlisted as a private and was promoted first to corporal, then sergeant, 2nd 
lieutenant, ist lieutenant and captain in succession; Everett E. Huddlerton 
and John J. Deeming, lieutenants; Joseph W. Morris and Charles A. Wool- 
worth 1st sergeants; Orville S. Taylor and Emory A. Bailey, quartermaster 
sergeants; J. W. Kershner, Butler J. Haskins, Harry Jones, Fred A. Recob, 
Samuel J. White, Robert D. Maxwell, Irenaeus Wisner, Joseph H. Sea- 
graves and Francis M. Pribble, sergeants; Joseph C. Spendlove, Frank A. 
Smith, Charles D. Rouner, Charles Ramsey, Clarence Sharon, John J. 
Haisch, Milo L. Lamont, Terence Montgomery, John J. Johnston, Charles 
A. Waters, Steve S. Kirby, Walter E. French, Edwin Barrett, Ellis 
G. Davis, George W. Lewis, J. H. Redinger, Edwin W. Sheard, 
Percy McCoole, Albert Cotton, Walter C. Swartz and Edward L. Pinkerton, 
corporals; Seth A. Hemmel, Coryell Faulkner, William E. Hungerford and 
John A. Buchanan, hospital stewards; H. E. Wagner and Mitchell Bundy, 
wagoners. Privates — Harry J. Adams, William F. Ayers, Edward E. Banks, 
Frank J. Beaghen, Edward H. Brennan, Harry H. Banks, Etcyl P. Blair, 
John R. Boyd, Harvey Chandler, Walter J. Coleman, James C. Coleman, 
Walter C. Campbell, Chase Cole, Fred Fox, Fred Graft, W. L. Garretson, 
John J. Humbert, Fred Humphries, George H. Helwig, D. S. Hewitt, Charles 
Hetrick, Lester C. Jennings, Earnest E. Kirk, Lewis G. Laws, James D. 
Leahey, Arthur W. Long, Thomas E. Lawrence, George W. Lemley, Guy 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 93 

Ludington, Clarence R. McDowell, Frank M. McFadden, Isaac K. McKin- 
ney, Herbert T. Miller, Henry D. McKinney, Edwin A. Myers, Clark W 
Marsh, Reseil Manahan, Charles Peters, Ira M. Payne, Charles H. Reasoner^ 
E. A. Rethemeyer, John A. Stevens, Margus J. P. Smith, William R. Smith 
Walter L. Sherburne, Raymond Slater, Arthur W. Snapp, Theo. H. Sutton 
Fred Shaufele, Frank Steward, Jerry C. Springstead, William L. Sullivan 
Roy Timmons, Herbert W. Turner, G«orge W. Turner, Losson B. Whitaker^ 
Elmo L. Wilkinson, Henry N. Wingfield, Eugene Willett, Theodore Q, 
Whitted, Wilbur Wilson and John D. Young. 

The Shawnee County men in other companies of the 20th Kansas were : 
Company B — Jacob Guffey, Elmer E. Urie, George Rethemeyer, Edward 
Barrett, William F. Duensing, Edward W. Ellis and Claud S. Phillips ; Com- 
pany C — Clare A. Coe; Company E — James J. Corkill, Norman F. Ramsey 
and Walter D. Vance; Company F — George F. Hedenberg and William E. 
True; Company H — Charles F. Rice; Company I — George W. Mills, Harry 
Pepper and George H. Billings ; Company K — Milton W. Hogaboom, Arthur 
E. Ellison, Frank A. Huling and Arthur C. Snow; Company L — Charles 
A. Hurd, Carl Myers and Noble B. Urie; Company M — Charles Kleinhans 
and Albert Dooley; Regimental Band — Charles E. Gormly, Erve C. Strick- 
land, Carl H. Dreyer, George E. Ellison, James L. Wilcox, Edward A. 
Rethemeyer and Owen Mcintosh. 

A NOTED REGIMENT. 

The 20th Kansas was the most noted regiment that participated in the 
Philippine campaign. Its first colonel was Frederick Funston, who led his 
men in many venturesome engagements and was the captor of General Agui- 
naldo. Upon his promotion to be brigadier-general. Major Wilder S. Metcalf 
was made colonel. Edward C. Little served through the entire campaign as 
lieutenant-colonel and was in command of the regiment at San Francisco. 
In a letter written September 30, 1899, President William McKinley paid 
this tribute to the Kansas soldiers : "The American nation appreciates the 
devotion and valor of its soldiers and sailors. Among its hosts of brave de- 
fenders, the 20th Kansas was fortunate in opportunity and heroic in action, 
and has won a permanent place in the hearts of a grateful people." 

Casualities sustained by Topeka members of the regiment were the fol- 
lowing: Killed in action — Reseil Manahan and William Sullivan; died of 
disease — Etcyl P. Blair, Harry Pepper, Frank M. McFadden, George W. 
Mills and Edward A. Rethemeyer; Wounded — Charles A. Woolworth, Fred 
A. Recob, Charles A. Waters, J. W. Kershner, Ira M. Payne, Frank Steward, 
Losson B. Whitaker, Elmer E. Urie, Daniel S. Hewitt, Frank A. Huling, 



94 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Arthur C. Snow and Albert Dooley. A bronze tablet to the memory of Reseil 
Manahan has been placed in the Topeka High School by his fellow pupils. 

The 20th Kansas Regiment was in camp at Topeka from May ist to 
Tvlay 1 6th, and was then ordered to San Francisco, where it remained for five 
months, before embarking, for the scene of war. Many of the soldiers were 
young men just out of school, farmer boys, mechanics and laborers, and when 
mustered into the government service all of them were able to sign their 
names without the use of a crossmark. During the time of their enlistment 
there were only four desertions. They participated in the following engage- 
ments: Advance on the enemy, February 4, 1899; independent skirmish, 
February 7; Caloocan, February 10; Tulijan, March 25; Malinta, March 26; 
Poli, March 27 ; Marilao, March 28 ; Bigoa, March 29 ; Guiginto, March 29 ; 
advance on Malolos, March 30 and 31 ; defense of Malolos, three weeks; Bag- 
bag River, April 25; Calumpit, April 26; Grand River, April 27; Santo 
Tomas, May 4; San Fernando, May 6; Bacolor, May 13; Santa Rita, May 
15; defense of San Fernando, May 25 

THE WELCOME HOME. 

Governor W. E. Stanley and representative citizens of Kansas met the 
regiment at San Francisco when it returned on the transport "Tartar," Octo- 
ber 10, 1899, and the home-coming at Topeka on November 2nd was in the 
nature of a general reception by the people of the entire State. In response 
to an invitation to attend this reception, Secretary of War Elihu Root sent the 
following letter : 

"The records of the War Department show that the Twentieth Regiment 
of Kansas Volunteers sailed from San Francisco on the steamship 'Indiana' 
on the 27th of October, 1898, and on the steamship 'Newport' on the 9th of 
November, 1898, arriving at Manila on the ist and the 6th days of December 
following; that the regiment was engaged in actual battle sustaining losses 
by death or wounds, on each of the following days, viz : The 4th, 5th, 7th, 
loth, nth, I2th, 17th, 23rd, 24th, 26th and 28th of February, 1899; the nth, 
I2th, 13th, 23rd, 24th, 25th, 26th, 27th, 29th and 31st of March; the 25th and 
26th of April; the 4th and 24th of May, and the i6th and 22d of June. Their 
participation in engagements is specially mentioned in cablegrams from Gen- 
eral Otis on the 8th of February, the 28th of April, and the 25th of May, 
1899. The regiment left the Philippines for home on the 3rd of September, 
1899, just six months after it was entitled to be discharged from service under 
the act of Congress. 

"The greater part of the engagements above mentioned were fought, 
and most of the losses of life were incurred, at a time when there was no obli- 




MAIN- BUILDING, STATE INDUSTRIAL SCHOOL FOR BOYS 




SHAWNEE COUNTY JAIL 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 97 

gation for further service resting upon the members of the regiment, except 
that which was self-imposed upon them by their own love of country and 
their determination to maintain the rightful sovereignty of the United States 
and the honor of its flag. The character of the regiment's services in the field 
is well indicated by the following recommendations for brevet promo- 
tions made by Major-General Arthur MacArthur, commanding the second 
division of the Eighth Army Corps, and- approved by Major-General Elwell 
S. Otis, commanding the Corps. I quote from the official document : 

" 'Frederick Funston, Brigadier-General, U. S. Vols., to be Major-Gen- 
eral, U. S. Vols., by brevet. (For) Gallant and meritorious services through- 
out the campaign against Filipino insurgents from February 4th to July i, 
1899; particularly for daring courage at the passage of the Rio Grande de la 
-Pampanga, May 27, 1899, while Colonel 20th Kansas Vols.' 

" 'Wilder S. Metcalf, Colonel, 20th Kansas Vols., to be Brigadier-Gen- 
eral, by brevet. (For) Gallant and meritorious services throughout the cam- 
paign against Filipino insurgents, from February 4th to July i; 1899, during 
which period he was wounded on two separate occasions.' 

"The officers and enlisted men of the regiment; exhibited the same high 
■quality of bravery and efficiency which characterized their commanders. I 
beg to join with the people of Kansas iir welcoming to their homes these citi- 
zen-soldiers, so worthy of the heroic origin and patriotic history of their 
State." 

TWENTY- FIRST REGIMENT. 

Topeka and Shawnee County enlistments in the 21st Kansas Regiment 
were: Company A — Dolie M. Metcalf; Company C — Harry C. Davis, James 
G. Dick, Edward A. Evans, Albert Goode, Frederick Lane, Walter M. Spear, 
Henry Supple, M. 1. Wagner and Edward Wilkinson; Company D — Clar- 
ence Bush, Charles Boyles and W B. Heinecke ; Company F — Frank P. Bab- 
bett and John E. McBrian; Company G — -Elmer Bratton, Thomas Clark, 
W. W. Gaines, Isett D. Myers, R. S. Montgomery, Albert Morrison, W. F. 
McLaughlin, Louis J. Reed and Henry Schaefer; Company I — George E. 
Boardman ; Company K — Clinton A. McFadden ; Company L — Isaac R. Cur- 
tis, John F. Doane, Joseph W. Godfrey, John W. Jenkins, William Nash, 
Henry Pyetzki and Bert Powers. 

The 2ist Regiment was mustered into service May 12, 1898, and on 
May 17th started for Lyle, Georgia, where it went into training at Camp 
George H. Thomas, remaining there until August 25th, when' it was trans- 
ferred to Camp Hamilton, Kentucky. It remained there until September 
25th, and was then ordered to Fort Leavenworth. The regiment was fur- 



98 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

lough ed for 60 days, and mustered out Dec. 10, 1898, its services being no 
longer required. While in camp at Lysle, Georgia, the regiment lost 20 men 
by death from typhoid fever. 

TWENTY-SECOND REGIMENT. 

In the 22nd Kansas Regiment were the following officers and soldiers 
from Topeka: Col. Henry C. Lindsey, Majors Alexander M. Harvey and 
Chase Doster; Assistant Surgeon Frank H. Martin, Quartermaster Sergeant 
Herbert C. Streeter and Hospital Steward Fred J. Gordon; Company B — 
Edward Boyer, Fred M. Stevenson and Henry T. Shultz; Company C — 
Henry Anderson, Frederick Buechner, Clarence Dudney, Paul Herman, Wil- 
liam McKirahan, William H. Rouner and Frederick Smith; Company D — 
Joseph Anderson, Laban Davis, F. H. Nuzman; Company E — Floyd Mc- 
Pherson; Company G — Danford B. Thrapp, John F. Vandervoort, James W. 
Bennett, Josiah B. Clarke, William B. Heller George F. Hill, Herbert L. 
Stratton and John W. Thomas ; Company H — Frank R. Ritchie, James "M. 
Todd, Samuel Adams, Loren G. Disney, Otto B. Ireland, Frederick T. Ly- 
man, Ralph E. Skinner, Clarence W. Stahl and Lloyd L. Stahl; Company 
I — John L. Benefiel, Charles F. Clark, Clarence Evans, Adolph Gougal, Caleb 
M. C. Holt, William G. Kelly, George H. McGee, Jack A. Mercer, J. C. Wat- 
terson and William B. Wetherholt; Company L — Roland C. Medlicott, 
George A. Elliott, Reuben M. Spivey, Jr., Horace G. Swayze and Louis P. 
Wikidal; Company M — James Kimes, Stirling A. Kimes and Robert B. 
Stewart. 

This regiment saw no field service. It was mustered in at Topeka early 
in May, 1898, and was ordered to Camp Alger, Virginia, where it arrived 
May 28th. After two months' drill and instruction, the regiment marched 
from Camp Alger to Thoroughfare, Virginia, a distance of 50 miles, camping 
en route at Burke's Station, Bull Run, and Bristow, arriving at Thorough- 
fare August 9th. On August 27th it was transferred to Camp Meade, near 
Middletown, Pennsylvania, and on September 9th from thence to Fort Leav- 
enworth, Kansas, where it was mustered out November 3, 1898. 

TWENTY-THIRD REGIMENT. 

Officers and soldiers of the 23d Kansas Regiment (colored) enlisting 
from Topeka and Shawnee County were the following: John M. Brown, 
major; Charles S. Sunday, assistant surgeon; Theophilus T. Jones, sergeant 
major ; James F. White, hospital steward ; George W. Jackson, leader of regi- 
mental band; Charles A. Brown, William A. Brooks, Benjamin Burton, Vir- 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 99 

gil Chatman, Thomas Jackson, Simeon McCarroll, Leander Northington, 
Robert Parks, Hollie E. Searcie and William Vaughn, members of band; 
Company A— Captain William Reynolds, ist Lieuts. Thomas McAdoo and 
Henry Taylor; 2nd Lieutenant Oscar Overr; Quartermaster Sergeants Ar- 
thur C. Harris and Robert Maddox; Sergeants Charles Birdwhistle, M. W. 
J. Brown, Paul L. Caldwell, Benjamin H. Bailey, Benjamin F. Perkins and 
James Harper; Corporals James E. Turner, James Harris, Alfred Lewis, 
Charles W. Ford, William Ellis, Robert H. Todd, Marcus J. Owens, Clar- 
ence Bradshaw, D. L. Wadlington, Thomas Tyler, Henry C. Horton, Presley 
Reynolds, Fred Collins, Robert J. Rector and John W. Johnson. Privates — 
Bert Bell, Isaiah Brown, James Buford, Lewis Butts, James Carvey, Grant 
Crosswy, Abe Ellis, Albert Etherly, Walter Ewing, Zeroha Ewing, Robert 
Garvin, Edward Gentry, Franc D. Glenn, George W. Gayden, William Goff, 
Charles H. Hedge, John M. Hightower, Edgar Holloway, Oscar W. Horton, 
Bedford B. Hunter, James Hooper, Edward I. Henderson, W. W. Jackson, 
George Jones, Thomas Jackson, Charles A. Jackson, Bert King, John Lawson, 
Virdell Link, Isaac A. Long, Robert Marshall, J. R. Martin, Lee A. Martin, 
Lemuel Martin, John McCrow, Allen A. Miller, Sidney Miller, John Moore, 
Robert C. Morgan, Sandy Mothell, Benjamin McCowan, William D. Nixon, 
William G. Northington, John A. Overr, Ellison Owens, Colonel Parker, 
Thomas Parker, Samuel Patten, Alfred J. Payne, Benjamin F. Payne, 
Mitchell Pennington, Edward Pillow, Charles Pillow, Robert Ransom, John 
Rider, Walter Rosson, John B. Radford, Charles Slaughter, John Small, 
Charles Sneed, William Solomon, H. M. Spradley, H. S. Taborn, Frank 
Thomas, J. W. Thompson, Arthur Todd, George Trice, Henry Walker, Rob- 
ert Walters, William Wheatman, William Williams, Edward D. Wilson, 
James C. Wilson, George W. Wheeler, George W. Weddington, Henry Young 
and Manning Youngman. Company B — James King, lieutenant ; John Banks 
and Charles Gooden, sergeants; John A. Gregg, quartermaster sergeant; 
Pearl J. Porter and J. W. Thomas, corporals ; Fred D. Kuykendall, musician ; 
Prdivates — Abraham Thomas, Charles Alexander, Arthur Albriton, George 
Batty, J. G. Bowers, Luther Bryant, William Buchanan, Spotwood Ellis, 
Noah E. Freeman, Bert Hester, Edward Parks, A. W. Porter, Jr., Robert 
Reed and William Thornton. Company D — Van Boyd, William Ewing, 
Ernest Jordan and William Shaw. Company E — John Medina, Joseph Mil- 
ford, George Murphy and Frank West. Company F — Sergeant George E. 
Payne and Charles F. Seals. Company G — Corporal Joseph Crump and Addi- 
son Parker. Company H — Sergeants David E. Overr, Albert W. Link and 
Albert Martin; Corporals David Pierre and William E. Thompson; George 
Anderson, James Brown, O. D. Dupree, William Finley, James Grant, An- 
drew Jamison, George Jordan, Albert Jordan, Albert E. Hordan, Thomas 
5 



lOo HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Jackson, Edward Moss, James Murdock, John North, John S. Stamp, H. M. 
Spradley, Aaron R. Thompson and WilHs White. 

This regiment was a model organization of colored men, and while not 
called upon the firing line its whole duty was promptly and efficiently per- 
formed. After being mustered in at Topeka in July, 1898, it went to New 
York and sailed from there August 25th on the steamer "Vigilancia" for 
Santiago, Cuba, arriving there August 31st. It was in camp at San Luis 
from September i, 1898, to February 28, 1899, and sailed from Santiago 
March ist for Newport News, Virginia, arriving there March 6th. On the 
loth of March it proceeded by rail to Fort Leavenworth and was mustered 
out on April 10, 1899. 

GENERAL HUDSON'S SERVICE. 

In connection with the subject of the war with Spain, mention should 
be made of the service of Joseph K. Hudson, of Topeka, who was commis- 
sioned May 29, 1898, to be brigadier-general of volunteers. General Hudson 
was assigned to the Fourth Army Corps at Tampa, Florida, under Major 
General Coppinger. He was given command of the Second Brigade of the 
Second Division. General Hudson was a soldier and an officer in the Civil 
War and his experience was of vast service in bringing his brigade into 
soldierly trim and military efficiency. After his service at Tampa he was 
transferred to Huntsville, Alabama, and mustered out in November, 1898, 
the shifting of the scene of war rendering it unnecessary to call his command 
into active fighting service. 



CHAPTER IX. 

State Officials from Shawnee County — Record of Their Appointment, Elec- 
tion and Service — United States Senators and Congressmen — Federal 
Positions Filled — Prominent Railroad Men — The Press of Shawnee 
County — Newspapers of Early Days — List of Papers noiv Published — 
The Mortality Sheet. 

Exclusive of membership in the legislative assemblies and constitutional 
conventions, and service on the District Bench, the first citizen of Shawnee 
County to fill a Territorial position was William W. Ross, who was made pub- 
lic printer in 1857. Rush Elmore became an associate justice of the Supreme 
Court by appointment in 1858, and John Ritchie was a member of the Board 
of Penitentiary Commissioners in 1859. That was the full extent of Shaw- 
nee County's officeholding during the Kansas Territorial period. Judge El- 
more served as associate justice from June 29, 1854, to September 13, 1855, 
but at the time of his first appointment he was a citizen of Alabama. 

STATE OFFICERS. 

In looking over the list of State officers, the surprising fact is encountered 
that no citizen of Topeka, or of Shawnee County, has had the honor of being 
elected to the office of Governor. Three of the Governors, Samuel J. Craw- 
ford, Thomas A. Osborn and George T. Anthony, became residents of the 
city after the close of their terms. Only two Topeka men have filled the office 
of Lieutenant Governor: James A. Troutman, 1895-97, ^"d A. M. Harvey, 
1897-99. Jacob Safford is the only Topeka man ever elected to the Supreme 
bench (associate justice), 1865-71. George W. Clark was a judge of the 
Court of Appeals, 1895-97. B. F. Simpson was a Supreme Court commis- 
sioner, 1887-93. Gasper C. Clemens was Supreme Court reporter, 1897-99. 
Topeka has had three of the clerks of the Supreme Court: Andrew Stark, 
1861-67; E. B. Fowler, 1868-70; and John Martin, 1897-99. 

Rufus W. Johnson, of Topeka, was appointed Secretary of State in Au- 
gust, 1862, and served five months. William Higgins was Secretary from 
1889 to 1893. David L. Lakin was Auditor of State in 1862, by appointment. 



I02 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

and P. I. Bonebrake filled the same office from October, 1876, to January, 
1883. Archibald L. Williams was Attorney General for four years, 1871-75, 
and A. A. Godard was elected to the same position, 1889-1903. Maj. William 
Sims was State Treasurer by appointment, March i to December 30, 1890. 
Peter MacVicar was State Superintendent of Public Instruction for four years, 
1867-71. Topeka has furnished five of the State printers: S. S. Prouty, 
1869-73; Chfford C. Baker, 1887-91; Joseph K. Hudson, 1895-97; George 

A. Clark, 1903-05; Thomas McNeal, 1905 — . Capt. J. B. Johnson was 
Speaker of the House of Representatives in 1881-82 and 1885-86. John 
Guthrie was Speaker pro tem in 1870, George W. Veale in 1873, and Edwin 
D. McKeever in 1901-02. Under the system prevailing in early years, A. H. 
Case was district attorney for the Third District (Shawnee and other coun- 
ties), 1861-63. 

SENATORS AND CONGRESSMEN. 

Covering a period of 30 years, except the term from 1889 to 1891, 
Topeka has supplied the Member of Congress from the district in which the 
city is located: Thomas Ryan, 1877-89; John G. Otis, 1891-93; Charles Cur- 
tis, 1893-1907. Two United States Senators have also been elected from 
among her citizens: William A. Peffer, 1891-97, and John Martin, 1893-95. 
It will thus be seen that during the years 1893-95 Topeka had two United 
States Senators and a Congressman in the public service — an unusal circum- 
stance, if not altogether without a parallel in the annals of Congress. 

In the State military department Topeka has furnished seven adjutants 
general, — Guilford Dudley, Cyrus K. Holliday, Thomas J. Anderson, Josiah 

B. McAfee, Hiram T. Beman, Alexander B. Campbell and J. W. F. Hughes ; 
two majors general, — Thomas J. Anderson and J. W. F. Hughes; three brig- 
adiers general, — Robert A. Freidrich, Andrew M. Fuller and J. W. F. 
Hughes ; one inspector general, — Nelson H. Loomis ; six engineers in chief, — 
George T. Robinson, L. C. Wilmarth, James Moore, William P. Wilcox, 
George W. Porter and Pancoast Kidder; one judge advocate general, — W. 
A. S. Bird; two paymasters general, — Frank M. Bonebrake and Charles S. 
Elliott; and three surgeons general, — D. C. Jones, J. B. Hibben and F. H. 
Martin. 

NON-ELECTIVE POSITIONS. 

Other State positions filled by citizens of Topeka and Shawnee County 
have been : President State Board of Agriculture, — Hiram J. Strickler and 
William Sims ; secretary of State Board of Agriculture, — Franklin G. Adams, 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 103 

Hiram J. Strickler, Joseph K. Hudson and William Sims ; President of State 
Board of Health, — Milo B. Ward ; secretary of State Board of Health,— J. W. 
Redden, Michael O'Brien, H. A. Dykes, William B. Swan and Charles Dowry ; 
president of Kansas State Historical Society, — Samuel A. Kingman, Floyd 
P. Baker, Cyrus K. Holliday, Thomas A. Osborn, Eugene F. Ware and John 
Martin; secretary of Kansas State Historical Society, — Floyd P. Baker and 
Franklin G. Adams; State superintendent of insurance, — Harrison Clarkson 
and Orrin T. Welch; State librarian, — Samuel A. Kingman, Annie D. Diggs 
and James L. King; school text book commissioner, — D. O. McCray; State 
architects, — D. M. Wood, George Ropes, Seymour Davis, J. C. Holland, T. 
H. Descher and J. F. Stanton ; president of Academy of Science, — Joseph T. 
Lovewell and A. H. Thompson; secretary of Academy of Science, — George 
P. Grimsley; librarian and curator of Academy of Science, — Francis W. 
Cragin and Bernard B. Smyth; railroad commissioner, — Samuel T. Howe; 
secretary of Board of Railroad Commissioners, — Charles S. Elliott and M. D. 
Henderson. 

FEDERAL POSITIONS. 

Judge United States District Court, — Archibald Williams (1861-63); 
clerks, — John T. Morton (i 861 -63 ),Frankhn G. Adams (1863-65), Adolphus 
S. Thomas (1865-74), Joseph C. Wilson (1874-95); marshals, — J. L. Mc- 
Dowell (1861-64), Charles C. Whiting (1867-69), William E. Sterne (1898- 
1902) ; assistant district attorneys,— -A. H. Case (1865-69) ; A. L. Williams 
(1869-70), Thomas Ryan (1875-77), Lewis Hanback (1877-79), Charles 
Blood Smith (1879-86), Eugene Hagan (1886-89), P. L. Soper (1889-95), 
Rankin Mason (1885-97), H. J. Bone (1897-1901), Edwin D. McKeever 
(1901-05). 

The most important Federal position ever obtained for the county of 
Shawnee or the city of Topeka was that of United States Ambassador to Mex- 
ico, and honor bestowed upon Thomas Ryan by President Harrison 1889-93. 
This is the only diplomatic station of the first-class to which a citizen of Kan- 
sas has ever been appointed. Mr. Ryan was elected to Congress in 1876 and 
re-elected for six successive terms, resigning in 1889 to go to Mexico. In 
1897 Mr. Ryan was appointed by President McKinley to be First Assistant 
Secretary of the Interior, being reappointed in 1901, and again in 1905 by 
President Roosevelt. 

Thomas A. Osborn was appointed United States Minister to Chile in 1879 
by President Garfield, and was subsequently promoted to the Brazilian mission, 
1881-85. James W. Steele received the appointment of United States Consul 
to Mantanzas, Cuba, and served from 1874 to 1879. Charles K. Holliday was 



104 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

charge d'affairs at Caracas, Venezuela, 1888-90, by appointment from Presi- 
dent Cleveland. In 1887-90 Oscar Bischoff was United States Consul at Son- 
neberg, Germany. Gen. John C. Caldwell was appointed to be United States 
Consul at San Jose, Costa Rica, in 1897, and is still in the diplomatic service 
at that post. During the period from 1881 to 1885 Noah C. McFarland 
served as Commissioner General of the Land Office, under the administration 
of President Garfield. Eugene F. Ware was appointed to be Commissioner 
of Pensions in 1902, by President Roosevelt, and served until 1905, when he 
resigned. 

OFFICIALS IN WASHINGTON. 

Ward Burlingame has been clerk and chief clerk in the Dead Letter Office 
at Washington from 1885 to the present time. Prior thereto he had been the 
private secretary of four Governors of Kansas and three United States Sen- 
ators from this State. Alex. R. Banks has been a special examiner of the 
Pensions Office from 1880 to the present date. Robert M. Fulton is an inspec- 
tor of the Post Office Department, appointed in 1897. Everett J. Dallas is 
one of the members of the Board of Pension Appeals, in service since 1901. 
Charles Allen Mills is a special agent of the rural free delivery service, 
1901-05. B. A. Allen is one of the chief clerks in the office of the auditor for 
the Post Office Department, 1892- 1905. T. F. Dennis has been connected 
with the Pension Office for many years, and is now a member of the Board 
of Review of that office. 

THE RAILROAD LIST. 

Former citizens of Topeka now filling important railroad positions out- 
side of the State are the following : A. A. Robinson, president Mexican Cen- 
tral ; H. R. Nickerson, vice-president, Mexican, Central ; H. U. Mudge, vice- 
president, Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific; Samuel T. Fulton, assistant to 
president of Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific ; John Sebastian, passenger traffic 
manager, Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific; George T. Nicholson, passenger 
traffic manager, Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe system ; George R. Peck, solici- 
tor, Chicago, Milwaukee Si St. Paul ; W. H. Brewer, assistant to general man- 
ager, Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe coast lines ; W. F. Evans, general attorney, 
St. Louis, Kansas City & Colorado ; Lewis Kingman, chief engineer, Mexican 
Central; W. B. Biddle, third vice-president, Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific; 
C. F. Jilson, assistant treasurer, Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific; Charles R. 
Hudson, president, San Antonio & Arkansas Pass ; Thomas J. Norton, solicitor, 
Santa Fe, Prescott & Phoenix ; W. B. Jansen, assistant to president, Atchison, 




ATCHISON, TOPEKA & SANTA FE RAILWAY GENERAL OFFICES 




ATCHISON, TOPEKA & SANTA FE RAILWAY HOSPITAL 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 107 

Topeka & Santa Fe ; James Dun, chief engineer, Atchison, Topeka & Santa 
Fe ; Avery Turner, vice-president and general manager, Pecos Valley & North- 
eastern; Don A. Sweet, auditor and secretary, Pecos Valley & Northeastern; 
F. J. Shubert, assistant general freight agent, Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific ; 
H. H. Embry, general freight agent, Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific lines west 
of Missouri River; Robert Dunlap, general attorney, Atchison, Topeka & 
Santa Fe; R. J. Parker and H. W. Sharp, division superintendents, Atchison, 
Topeka & Santa Fe; W. H. Simpson, manager advertising department, Atchi- 
son, Topeka & Santa Fe. Charles S. Gleed and Howel Jones, of Topeka, are 
resident directors of the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe. 

NEWSPAPER HISTORY. 

Shawnee County has from the very beginning been a great field for news- 
papers, and Topeka has for more than half a century maintained its reputation 
as an important news center. The first newspaper venture was the Kansas 
Freeman (weekly), edited and published by E. C. K. Garvey in 1855, at 
Topeka, the first number being dated July 4. Mr. Garvey was from Milwau- 
kee. In aid of his newspaper he received from the Topeka Town Association 
a valuable piece of property at the southeast corner of Kansas and Fifth ave- 
nues, now described as lots numbered 146 to 156, inclusive. The association 
built for him on the corner lot a substantial frame building, the first to be 
erected in Topeka of sawed lumber. It is still standing at the original loca- 
tion, although its appearance has been materially changed. The paper was 
discontinued in the spring of 1856. During the month of October, 1855, it 
was published as a daily, and contained the proceedings of the Topeka consti- 
tutional convention. 

JOHN SPEER's paper. 

The second newspaper was the Kansas Tribune. It was established at 
Lawrence in January, 1855, and renewed at Topeka December 10, 1855, by 
John Speer and William W. Ross. The Tribune appeared first as a weekly. 
A daily edition was printed in March, 1856, while the Legislature was in ses- 
sion, the publishers being W. W. Ross and E. G. Ross — Mr. Speer having 
retired. The Ross brothers continued the weekly publication until September, 
1858, when they sold to Shepherd & Cummings. Later J. F. Cummings 
became the sole proprietor. Andrew Stark bought the paper in 1863, and 
published it until, the spring of 1865. Garvey & Holliday became the proprie- 
tors May 5, 1865, and resold to John P. Greer, October 27, 1866. Mr. Greer 
continued it, part of the time as a daily, until February 23, 1867, when it was 



io8 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

suspended. It reappeared as a daily December 6, 1867, and continued under 
the proprietorship of Greer & Williams until the spring of 1868, through the 
legislative session, when it was finally discontinued. 

A LEADING JOURNAL IN ITS DAY. 

The third newspaper was the Kansas State Record (weekly), published 
at Topeka, October i, 1859, by E. G. and W. W. Ross, the latter retiring in 
1861. E. G. Ross continued it until August 19, 1862, when he sold to S. D. 
McDonald and F. G. Adams. Floyd P. Baker bought the Adams interest 
February i, 1863, and the McDonald interest February 6, 1868. In addition 
to the weekly, a daily edition was started June 3, 1868. Capt. Henry King 
bought a half interest in the paper April 20, 1869, and became the editor-in- 
chief. Baker and King were the proprietors until February 15, 1871, when 
King retired. The daily Record was consolidated with the Commonwealth, 
December 7, 1871. The weekly Record was continued by G. D. Baker and 
S. D. McDonald until May 25, 1875, when it was also transferred to the Com- 
monzvealth. During the time that Captain King was in charge of the Record, 
his associate editor was Noble L. Prentis. 

THE FAMOUS COMMONWEALTH. 

The Topeka daily and weekly Commonwealth was established by S. S. 
Prouty and J. B. Davis May i, 1869, with Ward Burlingame as editor. A. W. 
Edwards and George W. Crane became identified with the paper July i, 1869, 
and a month later the firm became Prouty, Davis & Crane, Edwards retiring. 
Davis and Crane subsequently sold their interest to F. L. Crane and S. D. 
McDonald, and the firm name was changed to S. S. Prouty & Company. 
Upon the consolidation of the Record with the Commonzuealth, December 7, 
1 87 1, the publication was continued by the Commonwealth Company, of 
which S. S. Prouty was president and manager, and Henry King, managing 
editor. W. H. Rossington and James L. King were connected with the paper 
in 1872, and in 1873 Mr. Rossington became the managing - editor. S. S. 
Prouty retired from the company August 17, 1873, and Henry King became 
the publisher and chief editor. The paper was seriously crippled by a fire which 
destroyed its entire plant October 20, 1873. Under the reorganization, George 
W. Veale succeeded to the proprietorship and continued the business until 
January i, 1875, when he sold to Floyd P. Baker. The latter took possession 
March 7, 1875, and engaged Noble L. Prentis as editor. After June i, 1876, 
the paper was continued by F. P. Baker & Sons. May i, 1881, they organized 
the Commonwealth Company, and published the paper under that name for 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 109 

several years, with T. B. Murdock as managing editor. The Commonzvealth 
was discontinued in 1888, the franchise and good will being purchased by the 
publishers of the Capital. 

HISTORY OF THE CAPITAL. 

The Topeka daily Capitol was established April 21, 1879, by J. K. Hudson 
and E. E. Ewing, the latter retiring January 31, 1880. It was an evening 
paper at first, a five-column folio, but grew to metropolitan proportions within 
a year, and was enlarged to eight pages January i, 1881. It was changed to 
a morning paper in that year, and a stock company formed, with J. K. Hudson 
as business manager, and Henry King as editor. Mr. King retired from the 
paper March 26, 1883, and J. K. Hudson assumed the entire editorial and 
business management. A part of the editorial work was afterward done by 
William A. Peffer. The Capital absorbed the Commonwealth November i, 
1888, the principal owners at that time being J. K. Hudson and Dell Keizer. 
In June, 1890, the Topeka Capital Company was formed, with J. K. Hudson 
as president; James L. King, vice-president; Dell Keizer, business manager; 
and Harold T. Chase, associate editor. November 19, 1895, the property of 
the company was transferred to John R. Mulvane, under the operation of 
various mortgages held by him. The paper was continued under the business 
direction of Dell Keizer, and the editorial management of Harold T. Chase, 
until August I, 1899, when a sale was made to the Capital Publishing Com- 
pany, organized by F. O. Popenoe and others, Mr. Keizer remaining as busi- 
ness manager and Mr. Chase as editor. It was during the Popenoe adminis- 
tration that Rev. Charles M. Sheldon was placed in charge of the business 
management and editorial direction of the paper for one week, to demonstrate 
his idea of what a daily newspaper should be in order to conform to the relig- 
ious sentiment of the community in which it is published. Another change 
occurred April i, 1901, when a majority of the stock of the company was 
purchased by Arthur Capper, Richard Thomas, Harold T. Chase and W. B. 
Robey. Mr. Keizer retired from the company at this date. Early in 1905, 
Arthur Capper purchased the interest of his associates, and he is now the sole 
proprietor, Mr. Thomas and Mr. Robey retiring, and Mr. Chase remaining as 
managing editor. Through all its changes and vicissitudes, the Capital has 
for more than 25 years been the leading Republican morning newspaper of 
Kansas. 

The Topeka daily Blade was established as an evening newspaper (inde- 
pendent) August I, 1873, by J. Clarke Swayze. Its publication was suspended 
January 31, 1874, but resumed under the same management January 7, 1875. 
Mr. Swayze continued the Blade until March 27, 1877, when he was shot and 



no HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

killed by John W. Wilson, the homicide resulting from a newspaper contro- 
versy. The Blade was bought Feburary 28, 1878, by George W. R'eed, who 
conducted it as a Republican paper until September, 1879. 

AN INDEPENDENT JOURNAL. 

The Topeka State Journal, daily and weekly, was the successor to the 
Blade, and was founded October i, 1879, by George W. Reed. The political 
policy of the paper was changed in December, 1880, when it became the State 
organ of the Greenback and Labor Reform parties. This change brought 
Rev. D. P. Mitchell to the editorial chair. Mitchell died in September, 1881, 
and Col. S. N. Wood, succeeded him as editor. Both the daily and weekly 
gained a wide circulation throughout the State, and a stock company was 
formed to conduct the business upon an enlarged scale. This proved to be the 
undoing of Colonel Reed, who was the principal owner, and he was obliged 
to dispose of the property. It was purchased October 29, 1885, by Frank P. 
MacLennan, who converted it into an independent newspaper, and has con- 
tinued its publication up to the present time. Mr. MacLennan is the sole 
owner and chief editor, and in 20 years has built up one of the finest newspaper 
properties in the State. The State Journal occupies its own building, equipped 
with every facility for gathering and disseminating the news, and is a splendid 
example of the modern American daily newspaper. Fred H. Collier, now of 
the St. Louis Globe-Democrat, was formerly employed on the State Journal. 
The present associate editor is Llewellyn L. Kiene. 

A NEW VENTURE. 

The daily JJerald, an evening Republican newspaper, was founded by 
Dell Keizer July i, 1901, with J..K. Hudson as editor-in-chief, the business 
being carried on in the name of the Herald Publishing Company, in which 
Mr. Keizer owns a large majority of the stock. The Herald was launched in 
midsummer of a dull year, with limited backing, and against the advice of 
prudent and far-seeing business men. Through his ability, energy and expe- 
lience, Mr. Keizer has obtained a secure foothold for his paper, and has stead- 
ily increased its business and influence. It is now the official paper of the State 
and of the city of Topeka. 

At the present time there are three daily newspapers in Topeka — the 
Capital, State Journal and Herald — and this challenge may be put forth with 
absolute safety : That no other city of 50,000 population in the United States 
can show three daily papers so well printed, so well edited, so well conducted 
from every journalistic standpoint. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. iii 

FORTY YEARS OF THE FARMER. 

One of the oldest newspapers in the State is the Kansas Fanner, an agri- 
cultural and stock journal, founded by the State Agricultural Society May i, 
1863, and managed by F. G. Adams, secretary of the society. It was first 
published as a monthly at Topeka, but on January i, 1865, it was sold to 
J. S. Brown, and removed to Lawrence. George T. Anthony bought the 
paper August 1, 1867, and removed it to Leavenworth, where it was changed 
from a monthly to a semi-monthly, George A. Crawford being the associate 
editor and traveling representative. In January, 1873, M. S. Grant became the 
owner, with Dr. A. G. Chase as editor. J. K. Hudson purchased the paper 
November 15, 1873, ^"d removed it to Topeka January i, 1874, where it has 
ever since been published as a weekly. E. E. Ewing bought a half-interest 
in the business May i, 1878, which was repurchased in a year by Mr. Hudson. 
The firm of DeMotte & Ricks purchased from Mr. Hudson in 1882, and 
organized the Kansas Farmer Company, of which H. C. DeMotte was presi- 
dent; R. R. Brown, treasurer; H. A. Heath, business manager; and W. A. 
Peffer, editor. DeMotte and Ricks subsequently retired from the company. 
The present officers of the company are : E. B. Cowgill, president and editor ; 
J. B. McAfee, vice-president; D. C. Nellis, secretary and treasurer; H. A. 
Heath, business manager; I. D. Graham, associate editor. The Farmer has 
had a continuous existence for more than 40 years. 

The first number of the Topeka Leader appeared December 9, 1865, J. 
F. Cummings and Ward Burlingame, proprietors. Burlingame retired in a 
few weeks and Cummings continued the paper until March 4, 1869, when it 
was absorbed by the Coinmonzvealth. Mr. Cummings undertook to revive 
the Leader in 1876, but the effort was a failure. 

Rev. Peter MacVicar conducted the Kansas Educational Journal 
(monthly) at Topeka, in 1866-67. It was started in 1864 at Leavenworth, 
and its publication continued for 10 years at Leavenworth, Grasshopper Falls, 
Topeka, Emporia, Topeka and Leavenworth, successively. 

KANSAS MAGAZINE. 

The most ambitious literary venture ever undertaken in Kansas was the 
publication of the Kansas Magazine, a monthly periodical, by a stock company 
which included S. S. Prouty, Henry King, D. W. Wilder, Thomas A. Osborn, 
C. W. Babcock, John A. Martin, D. M. Valentine, M. W. Reynolds and W. H. 
Smallwood. The first number was printed January i, 1872, with Henry 
King as editor. Only four volumes were completed, covering the years 1872 



112 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

and 1873. In the latter year James W. Steele succeeded Henry King as 
editor. 

NORTH TOPEKA ENTERPRISES. 

The North Topeka Times (weekly) was started March 16, 1871, by C. 
Maynard. He sold to J. V. Admire May 30, 1872. V. P. Wilson became the 
owner January i, 1874. From March i, 1875, to May 25, 1876, it was pub- 
lished as a daily, having been transferred to Topeka proper, with James L. 
King as editor. It was then sold to N. R. Baker, and six weeks later was 
transferred to the Commonwealth and discontinued. 

A second North Topeka Times appeared June 8, 1876, under the man- 
agement of Frank A. Root, as a weekly Republican paper. September 22, 
1877, George S. Irwin bought a half interest in the concern, and in December, 
1879, he became the sole owner. It was purchased in November, 1881, by 
F. H, Roberts, J. S. Temple and J. A. Carruth, who sold to C. G. Coutant, 
February 15, 1882. F. S. Stambaugh and A. B. Whiting came into posses- 
sion of the Times October 7, 1882. Harry S. Whiting was one of the editors. 
During a part of its career the Times appeared in daily form. Publication 
was discontinued in 1885. 

THE MAIL AND BREEZE. 

The North Topeka Mail was established as a weekly in 1882 by F. H. 
Collier and W. E. Coutant. From that time until 1893 it was published suc- 
cessively by C. G. Coutant and F. H. Collier; F. H. Collier and J. E. Layton; 
J. E. Layton, F. H. Collier and B. F. Seibert; Collier and Layton; the Mail 
Company ; F A. Root & Sons ; and F. A. Root. The paper was purchased by 
Arthur Capper September 29, 1893. It was enlarged and improved by Mr. 
Capper, and subsequently transferred from North Topeka to Topeka, where 
it has since been published. September 19, 1895, it absorbed the Kansas 
Breeze and has since been known as the Mail and Breeze. Arthur Capper is 
the owner and publisher; Thomas A. McNeal editor, and 'George M. Craw- 
ford business manager. The Kansas Breeze was started in 1894 by Thomas 
A. McNeal and Frank C. Montgomery and continued for one year, until 
merged into the Mail. 

LIST OF CURRENT NEWSPAPERS. 

There are 40 newspapers published in Topeka at the present time. The 
classification and names of editors or publishers are shown in the following 
list: Annuitant, monthly- fraternal, W. N. Glass; Ark Light, monthly-fra- 
ternal, Harry C. Wright; Club Member, weekly-social, Mrs. Margaret Hill 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 115 

McCarter; Children's Home Finder, monthly-charitable, Rev. O. S. Morrow; 
Climate and Crop Service, weekly-meterorological, T. B. Jennings; Commer- 
cial and Hotel Register, monthly-trade, Charles H. Trapp; Congregational 
Kansas, quarterly-religious, Home Missionary Society; Farmers' Family 
Journal, monthly-miscellaneous, George H. Gillies; Glada Biidskapet (Glad 
Tidings), monthly-religious. Rev. G. Nyquisf; Household, monthly-literary. 
Household Publishing Company; Inland Investor, monthly-real estate, Leslie 
F. Randolph ; Investors' Guide, monthly-financial, E. W. Poindexter ; Journal 
of the Kansas Medical Society, monthly-medical, Dr. W. E. McVey; Kansas 
Baptist Watchman, weekly-religious, Rev. G. W. Harts; Kansas Farmer, 
weekly-agricultural, Kansas Farmer Company; Kansas Issue, monthly-tem- 
perance, Kansas State Temperance Union; Kansas Kinderfreund, monthly- 
charitable, Rev. A. Schmid; Kansas Messenger, monthly-religious, W. S. 
Lowe; Kansas Telegraph, weekly-Democratic, Leo VonLangen; Kansas 
Worker, weekly-religious, Seventh Day Adventist Conference Association; 
Labor Champion, weekly-labor, J. W. Mitchell; Knights and Ladies of 
Security, monthly-fraternal, George M. Crawford; Mail and Breeze, weekly- 
Republican, Arthur Capper; Memorial Chimes, monthly-religious. Rev. H. 
A. Ott ; Merchants' Journal, weekly-trade, Charles P. Adams ; Missouri Val- 
ley Farmer, monthly-agricultural, Missouri Valley Farmer Publishing Com- 
pany; Modern Mercury, weekly-social, Nanon L. Herron and Mrs. Eugene 
Wolfe; Orient of Kansas, semi-annual-Masonic, T. B. Jennings; Poultry Ga- 
zette, monthly-agricultural, George H. Gillies; State Ledger, weekly-Afro- 
American, Fred L. Jeltz ; State Record, semi-mpnthly-Populist, W. R. Eyster ; 
Sunflower Undertaker, monthly-trade, L. M. Penwell; Topeka Capital, daily 
and semi-weekly-Republican, Arthur Capper; Topeka Herald, daily- Republi- 
can, J. K. Hudson; Topeka Legal News, daily-court calendar, Nanon L. 
Herron; Topeka Plaindealer, weekly-Afro- American, J. Hume Childers and 
Nick Chiles; Topeka State Journal, daily and weekly-independent, Frank P. 
MacLennan ; Washburn Review, weekly-college, John V. VanDeMark ; IVest- 
ern Odd Fellow, monthly-fraternal, H. C. Stevens; Western School Journal, 
monthly-educational, John MacDonald. 

Outside of the city of Topeka there are only two newspapers now being 
published in Shawnee County: The Blade, at Oakland, weekly-Republican, 
by W. S. Anderson; and the Shawnee County Ncivs, at Rossville, weekly-in- 
dependent, by U. S. Stewart. 

SUSPENDED DAILY PAPERS. 

The following is a list of the defunct daily newspapers of Topeka, and 
the period of their publication: Freeman, 1855 ; Tribune, 1856; Tribune 1864; 



ii6 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Leader, 1865; Record, 1868-71; Commonwealth, 1870-88; Blade, 1873-79; 
Democrat, 1874-82; Times, 1875; Argus, 1876; Leader, 1876; Times, 1878; 
Tattler, 1879; Post, 1880; Pantograph, 1881 ; PF/w'm Wham, 1881 ; Argus, 
1881-82; Twnw, 1881-82; Herald, 1882; Republic, 1882; CnYzc, 1884; OV- 
i^^M, 1885-86; Democrat, 1886-98; A/'^it'j, 1888; Courier, 1888; Ma//, 1888; 
Leader, 1888; Suniiower, 1888; Globe, 1889; Topics, 1891-92; Truth, 1892; 
Sentinel, 1892-93; Pr^jj, 1893-96; Populist, 1893; Ca//, 1893; Ledger, 1893; 
Kansan, 1894; Co-operator, 1895-96. 

From 1865 to 1905 more than 300 weekly, monthly and quarterly jour- 
nals of various classes had their birth in Topeka, strutted their brief hour upon 
the stage and were gathered into ponderous tomes in the stack room of the 
State Historical Society, where the remains are marked with the customary 
headstones. 



CHAPTER X. 

The Beginning of the City of Topeka — A Farm Changed to a Town-Site — 
Names of the Pioneers and Their Followers — The Chase Cabin — Organi- 
zation of the Town Company — Reminiscences of the Early Settlers — 
The First Fire — Description of the Country — Marking the Site of the 
First Building. 

The fathers of the city of Topeka were Cyrus K. Holhday, Fry W. Giles, 
Daniel H. Home, Enoch Chase, Jacob B. Chase, George Davis, Milton C. 
Dickey, Charles Robinson and Loring J. Cleveland. Holliday was from Penn- 
sylvania, Giles arid Dickey from New Hampshire, Cleveland from Iowa, and 
the others from Massachusetts. All were attracted by the opening of a new 
country to settlement, and the opportunities thus presented for young men to 
engage in business. In the case of some of them, at least, there was the natural 
American love of adventure, and a patriotic desire to assist in making Kansas 
a free State. Most of them came through the instrumentality of the New 
England Emigrant Aid Company, of which Charles Robinson was the agent, 
with headquarters at Lawrence, Kansas. Mr. Robinson arrived in Kansas early 
in July, 1854; Mr. Holliday in October, 1854; Enoch and Jacob B. Chase, 
George Davis, Fry W. Giles, Milton C. Dickey and Loring G. Cleveland in 
November, 1854; and Daniel H. Home December 2, of that year. 

topeka's inception. 

Enoch Chase, Jacob B. Chase, George Davis and Milton C. Dickey pre- 
ceded the others to the town-site of Topeka, in the latter part of November, 
1854 (about November 29th), although it is probable that Holliday and Robin- 
son had visited the locality prior to that date. Mr. Holliday claims to have 
been on the site November 22nd, with a party of seven men, and that the idea 
of establishing a town originated at that time. The record shows that Fry W. 
Giles, Daniel H. Home and Loring G. Cleveland left St. Louis in the fall of 
1854 on the steamer "Lenora", bound for Kansas City. Accompanying the 
trio were Thomas G. Thornton, Timothy Mclntire, Jonas E. Greenwood, 
George F. Crowe, William C. Linaker and Samuel A. Clark. This party 



ii8 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY , ,' 

walked from Kansas City to Lawrence, arriving there on Saturday evening, 
December 2, 1854. A meeting was held in that city on Sunday evening, 
December 3rd, participated in by the Giles party and Robinson and Holliday, 
at which the organization and location of the town of Topeka were definitely 
determined upon. The town was accordingly established on the 5th day of 
December, 1854. 

There is no controversy as to the date of the founding of the town, but 
there have been so many conflicting statements regarding the circumstances of 
the founding, the selection of the site and the precedence of the original settlers, 
that it is necessary to give here the personal recollections of some of the 
founders in order that complete justice may be done to all concerned. These 
statements are condensed from books, newspaper articles and personal inter- 
views, and while there may be some variation as to dates and incidental circum- 
stances, the general facts are in perfect accord. 

ABOUT ENOCH CHASE. 

/ 

V 

In the year 1854 Enoch Chase was living in Boston, and engaged at his 
trade, that of an upholsterer. A circular issued by the New England Emi- 
grant Aid Company fell into his hands, relating to affairs in Kansas, and he 
determined to make a personal investigation of the conditions in the new 
Territory. He reached the Kansas border in November, 1854. With eight 
companions and a wagon-load of provisions drawn by a team of oxen, he 
set out for Lawrence, arriving there November 24th. The party built a sod 
house for their own accommodation, and lived in it about five days, at the end 
of which time Enoch Chase, Jacob B. Chase, Milton C. Dickey and George 
Davis bought the interest of their associates in the load of provisions, and 
decided to try their fortunes at a point further west on the Kansas River, 
where it was thought a new town might be located. Upon their arrival at 
the point in view, according to Mr. Chase's statement, they selected the section 
of land (section 31), upon which the town was afterwards located. Each 
man took a quarter of the section, and a log house was built near the river, 
at a point now known as the northwest corner of Kansas and First avenues. 
While the house was being built, Mr. Dickey went back to Lawrence for sup- 
plies, and returned a few days later, bringing with him the other parties who 
had become interested in the new town. Mr. Chase and his three associates 
surrendered their section of land for town purposes, and took a quarter section 
each of the adjoining lands. Mr. Chase's quarter was near the present site 
of Washburn College. The section these four men surrendered became the 
property of the Topeka Town Association. Mr. Chase built a house on his 
quarter section, which he occupied with his family in March, 1855. In October, 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 119 

1855, he moved into town, and later conducted a boarding-house. He built 
a large frame house on Sixth avenue, which was used as a hotel, and in 1857 
he opened the Chase House, afterwards converted into the Capitol Hotel, and 
later into a part of the Stormont office building. He also built and resided in 
the stone house at the northwest corner of Sixth avenue, now used as a store 
building. 

COLONEL HORNE's STATEMENT. 

Daniel H. Home, a tanner and furrier by trade, left Massachusetts in 
November, 1854, and reached Kansas December 2nd, of that year, stopping 
at Lawrence. He attended the meeting of 13 men in Lawrence on the evening 
of December. 3rd, at which the Topeka enterprise was suggested. Mr. Home 
says that these men were acting for themselves, and that Cyrus K. Holliday, 
Charles Robinson and Milton C. Dickey were not included in the thirteen. 
The three last named gentlemen came into the meeting after it had been 
organized. Robinson and Holliday, whose business it was to direct the Kansas 
immigrants to places of settlement, spoke of the possibilities of a new town 25 
miles west of Lawrence, and Mr. Dickey stated that the proposed town was 
ready for settlement, and that the necessary land had been obtained by himself, 
George Davis and Enoch and Jacob B. Chase, the last three being then on 
the ground. A committee consisting of Daniel H. Home, Fry W. Giles, Loring 
G. Cleveland and Samuel A. Clark was appointed to inspect the proposed site. 
These four men proceeded at once to the point designated, arriving there 
Monday evening, December 4th, accompanied by Holliday, Robinson and 
Dickey. They found Enoch Chase, Jacob B. Chase and George Davis on the 
ground, and working on the log cabin abyve referred to by Enoch Chase. The 
party of 10 men slept in the cabin that night, or a part of the night, for it 
was partially destroyed by fire before morning. Robinson returned to 
Lawrence on Tuesday, after articles of agreement had been executed for laying 
out the town. Home maintains that Charles Robinson was acting only as a 
guide for the party, and that he did not sign the articles of agreement for the 
organization of the town, but Robinson's name appears on the instrument, 
and Mr. Home is evidently in error. In the negotiations over the site, Enoch 
and J. B. Chase, Milton C. Dickey and George Davis were given their choice 
of 160-acre tracts outside the town limits, for relinquishing the section upon 
which the town was to be erected, and they were likewise to have equal shares 
in the town company. The committee adopted a resolution that no other 
distribution of lots or claims should be made until the men who had been left 
at Lawrence should arrive. After their arrival a distribution was made by 
lottery, Jonas E. Greenwood securing the first choice and selecting a claim east 
of town, where the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe shops are now located. 

6 



I20 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY ; 

■Greenwood immediately sold his claim to Thomas G. Thornton for $15. Daniel 
H. Home obtained second choice, selecting a claim west of town, where he 
resided for many years, and which afterwards was sold for town-lot purposes. 
Of the party that came up from Lawrence to join the Home committee, the 
following names are given : Thomas G. Thornton, George F. Crowe and his 
son, Zenas, aged 15 years; W. C. Linaker, Jonas E. Greenwood, Timothy 
Mclntire, and a man named Williams — the last named disappeared after re- 
maining a short time. After the destruction of the Chase cabin by fire, Daniel 
H. Home and Loring G. Cleveland proceeded to erect a sod hut, which was 
occupied as a residence during the winter. The Chase cabin was also rebuilt 
and retained its prestige as the first building on the town-site. 

THE GILES HISTORY. 

In his book, "Thirty Years in Topeka," published in 1886, Fry W. Giles 
corroborates all that has been said of the transaction on the 5th of December. 
He notes the presence of the nine men whose names are above given, and 
■states that on the morning of that day these men walked over the proposed 
town-site to a point midway between the Kansas River and Shunganunga 
Creek, and then returned to the Chase cabin to conclude the details of organiza- 
tion. Milton C. Dickey called the assemblage to order and moved that "the 
fellow with the white hat" (pointing to Colonel HoUiday) be invited to pre- 
side. This was agreed to, and Mr. Giles was made secretary. Mr. Giles 
further states that Charles Robinson did not remain with the party that day 
or take any active interest in the proceedings. The Chase cabin is thus 
described in the Giles book : 

"Its dimensions were about 12 by 14 feet, and five feet in height at 
the sides. The gables were extended up some three feet above the sides. 
Poles upon these, supported, first a layer of brush, and then a thatch of prairie 
grass. At the west end, just outside of the logs, was piled a parcel of stones 
somewhat in the form of the fire-place of old, without mortar, and extending 
upward just above the roof, the logs of the gable forming the inside wall 
of the chimney. A banking of earth was thrown up against the logs on the 
north, and the interstices between the logs chinked with brush and plastered 
•with mud. The only opening left for light or ingress was to the south, 
and a strip of cotton cloth hung there to keep out the cold. 

THE FIRST FIRE. 

"A few days after the little party had settled down to the necessities 
of the case, and got in a few supplies, it became apparent that the flames 
that roared up the chimney occasionally came in dangerous proximity to the 




MASONIC BLOCK AND GRAND OPERA HOUSE 




THE TOPEKA CLUB 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 123 

thatch of the roof. As they straightened themselves one night upon the 
litter of hay that matted their cabin floor, and sought repose, it was re- 
marked that the cabin would be on fire before morning, but with jesting 
and indifference the subject was dismissed, and in weariness all eyes were 
soon closed. They had not slept long, however, before a flash of light 
brought all eyes open again, and they gazed upon a mass of fire enveloping 
the brush and thatch, and burning straws falling upon the hay on which they 
lay. There was work to be done, and that right quickly. In one corner was 
stored flour, meal, beans, coffee, tea, clothing, arms, a keg of molasses and a 
keg of powder. To remove these was the important work in hand, and 
it was fortunate that the men had gone to rest without removing their hats 
and boots. One caught the keg of powder and hurled it down the declivity 
toward the river, while others seized what they could, and in a twinkling all 
except a few garments and a gun or two was safely strewn upon the prairie. 
The 'city' was in ruins, and the people thereof in anxiety queried how best 
to guard themselves against the cold during the night. They had a small 
tent, which they erected, and in vain attempts to sleep on the naked ground 
with their canvas alone over them, a part suffered through the night, while 
others secured such shelter from the piercing winds as they could in the 
thicket of brush near by." 

It will be observed that Mr. Giles records the fire as occurring 
several days after the arrival of the party from Lawrence, whereas Daniel 
H. Home says it occurred on the night of their arrival, December 4th. 
Colonel HoUiday and others agree that it was on the night of December 4th, 
but there is good reason to believe that the Giles account is the correct one, 
in this instance. 

COLONEL HOLLIDAy'S ACCOUNT. 

Col. Cyrus K. Holliday's story of the founding of Topeka is best told 
in his own words : 

"On November 21, 1854, a party consisting of eight persons left the 
town of Lawrence for a trip up the Kansas River to its head, at the con- 
fluence of the Smoky Hill and Republican rivers. The party consisted of 
Charles Robinson, Rev. S. Y. Lum, Rev. Clough, Franklin Billings, George 
Davis, W. T. A. H. Bolles, John Armstrong and C. K. Holliday. During 
the trip three points were agreed upon as eminently suited for town pur- 
poses: First, the site of the present city of Topeka; second, that of Man- 
hattan ; and third, that of Junction City. Our party stayed at Tecumseh on 
the night of November 21, camping out, and left Tecumseh at 9 o'clock on 
Wednesday morning, November 22, 1854. Having crossed the Shunganunga 



124 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

and emerged from the timber, near what was afterwards known as Khne's 
grove, our whole party were in raptures at the beautiful conformation of 
land spread out before us, and its complete adaptation to the building of a 
city, so far as the new site was concerned. 

"Immediately after the return of our party to Lawrence, November 
27 or 28, the remnant of the fifth party under the auspices of the New Eng- 
land Emigrant Aid Company arrived at Lawrence. These were the few 
who had the courage to remain — most of the party had started on their 
homeward trip without even entering the Territory. The remnant that re- 
mained consisted of Enoch Chase, Jacob B. Chase, Milton C. Dickey and 
George Davis. These gentlemen were counseled with by Charles Robinson 
and myself, and informed about our trip up the river, and were advised and 
requested to take hold with us and help build a town at the point selected, 
near Papan's Ferry. After a thorough understanding of the whole matter, 
they consented to do so, and were fully instructed precisely where to go and 
what claims to take up ; and to hold the same for a few days until Charles 
Robinson and myself, and such other proper persons as we could influence, 
could join them, when the town organization would be perfected. 

POSSESSING THE LAND. 

"The next day, November 29, 1854 — the day of our first election for 
delegate to Congress — these four gentlemen went exactly as they were ad- 
vised and instructed to do and took possession of the land we had indicated ; 
and on the next day, November 30, 1854, they commenced the erection of 
the first house in Topeka, at the southwest corner of Kansas and First 
avenues, locally known as the Mill Block. A few days after, December i 
or 2, the remnant of the sixth party under the auspices of the New England 
Emigrant Aid Company arrived at Lawrence. The project of a new town 
near Papan's Ferry was also presented to them, and favorably received, and 
on Monday, the 4th day of December, 1854, the following members of that 
party, to-wit : Fry W. Giles, Daniel H. Home, Loring G. Cleveland, and 
Samuel A. Clark, in company with M. C. Dickey, who had returned to 
Lawrence, and Charles Robinson and myself, came up from Lawrence to the 
new town-site, and took quarters at the new, unfinished cabin, with the party 
which had come up the preceding Wednesday. 

"The next day, Tuesday, December 5, 1854, articles of association were 
agreed upon, and duly signed, the limits of the town-site were indicated, 
surveys were arranged for, and the founding of the new city, which had been 
selected and located two weeks before, became an accomplished fact. Those 
present and participating in the founding of the city, as their names appear 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 125 

in the records, were M. C. Dickey, J. B. Chase, George Davis, C. K. Holh- 
day. Fry W. Giles, D. H. Home, L. G. Cleveland and S. A. Clark. Charles 
Robinson ably assisted in the inauguration of the new town, but declined to 
act as a member proper of the town company, deeming it unwise to do so, 
inasmuch as he was representing the interests of the New England Emigrant 
Aid Company. Taking advantage of his absence, however, he was promptly 
voted is as the tenth member of the Topeka association. 

THE COUNTRY 50 YEARS AGO. 

"On our trip of November 21, we took the California or ridge road from 
Lawrence, and passed west over the high prairies, with the valleys of the 
Kansas and Wakarusa to the right and left, skirted in the distance by dark 
fringes of timber. For a distance of six or eight miles there were numerous 
log cabins scattered along the road, but from this on to the few cabins at 
Tecumseh, the country was almost a wilderness. At Tecumseh there were 
probably a dozen log cabins. Leaving there we followed the river for a 
distance of five miles and came to the beautiful rise of ground where Topeka 
was to be located, although the name had not then been determined upon. 
We had other locations in view, as I have stated, at Manhattan and Junction 
City, but for the purposes of a little colony of New Englanders who were to 
be first provided for, Topeka was by far the better location. It was 25 miles 
west of Lawrence, the Kansas River was north with its rich bottoms and 
the Pottawatomie Indian reservation extended for 30 miles westward. The 
site itself was a beautiful one, and it possessed many of the requisites for the 
building of a city, stone, sand and lumber in abundance. In addition Papan's 
Ferry was already a well-known institution, where the two great trails of 
the continent crossed the Kansas River — the one from Fort Leavenworth and 
St. Joseph to Santa Fe and interior military posts, and the other from Inde- 
pendence and Westport, Missouri, to California and the Pacific Coast." 

THE FIRST HOUSE. 

In another part of his account Colonel Holliday speaks of the Chase 
cabin as being constructed of unhev^rn logs and covered with prairie sod, its 
dimensions being 12 by 13 feet, with a door so low that persons entering 
or going out were obliged to stoop. Speaking of the occupancy of the 
cabin by 10 men on the night of December 4th, Colonel Holliday says : "In 
this rude hut the entire party slept for the night, but unfortunately the 
dry grass between the logs caught fire, and a good portion of the first house 
was destroyed. The next two or three huts were built entirely of sod, in 



126 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

which the first settlers of Topeka spent their first winter, which fortunately 
for them was of an extremely mild and pleasant character, perhaps uniformly 
more so than any winter that has succeeded it. After the sod houses, the 
most popular style of tenement was called the 'shake'. These 'shakes' were 
oak logs sawed in lengths of about four feet, riven in a manner similar to 
shingles, and made to look like clapboards." 

October 19, 1901, upon the completion of a large brick business block 
on the site of Topeka's first cabin, a tablet was placed in the wall of the front 
corner to mark the historic incident and locality. The exercises were in 
charge of the Topeka chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution, 
Mrs. A. H. Thompson, regent, presiding. The unveiling of the tablet was 
performed by two young misses, Elizabeth Holliday and Katherine Kellam, 
granddaughters of Cyrus K. Holliday. The inscription upon the tablet is 
in these words : "This building marks the site of the first cabin in Topeka, 
where the town company was organized, December 5, 1854 — Dedicated by 
the Topeka Chapter, D. A. R., September 19, 1901." The exercises of the 
dedication were postponed one month on account of the death of President 
McKinley. The building was erected by Joab Mulvane, and occupied by the 
Parkhurst-Davis Mercantile Company. It was entirely destroyed by fire in 
February, 1903, but was rebuilt in 1904, and the stone tablet restored. 



CHAPTER XI. 

Dividing the Toivn-Site — The First Survey — Transactions in December, 
1854 — Title Acquired by Means of an Indian Warrant — Claim Jump- 
ing, and Rival Tozvn- Organisations — How Topeka Was Named, and 
Its Significance — The Street and Avenue Plan — Early Buildings and 
Schools. 

Although the agreement to erect a town on the section of land 
relinquished by Messrs. Dickey, Davis, and Enoch and Jacob B. Chase was 
entered into on the 5th of December, 1854, the plans were not consummated 
until the 14th day of that month. The agreement first entered into was in 
the following form : 

"We, the undersigned, agree that we will proceed to select and stake 
out claims in the vicinity of the dwelling house erected by M. C. Dickey, 
J. B. Chase, Enoch Chase and George Davis, situated near the Kansas River, 
to be disposed of as follows, namely: One and a half miles square shall be 
surveyed for a town-site. Four claims are to be selected by M. C. Dickey, 
J. B. Chase, Enoch Chase and George Davis, respectively, and the remainder 
to be assigned by lot when fifteen or more persons are on the ground and 
ready for a drawing. The town shall be divided into fifty shares, and the 
lots apportioned among the stockholders by lot, from time to time, as the 
association may direct, reserving, however, one-sixth of the lots of the town, 
to be donated to such persons as will improve them as directed by the asso- 
ciation, and also one-sixth to be donated to the Emigrant Aid Company, 
of Massachusetts, as a consideration for the erection of a mill, a school 
house, receiving house, etc. Moreover, we agree, that the timber and wood 
on 'our claims may be used by any member of the association for his own- 
improvement for one year, provided that no person shall take more than four 
thousand feet of timber, board measure, and six cords of wood, except from 
his own claim. 

"Signed : C. K. Holliday, F. W. Giles, Daniel H. Home, George Davis, 
Enoch Chase, J. B. Chase, M. C. Dickey, C. Robinson, L. G. Cleveland. 
Dated : Kansas Territory, December 5, 1854." 



128 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

OFFICERS OF THE ASSOCIATION. 

Further articles of association were adopted December 14th, and the 
following officers were elected December i8th : President, Cyrus K. Holli- 
day; vice-president, Enoch Chase; secretary, William C. Linaker; treasurer, 
Fry W. Giles; trustees, — Milton C. Dickey, Jacob B. Chase, Thomas G. 
Thornton, Loring G. Cleveland and Daniel H. Home. 

The original four settlers who had camped upon the town-site for preemp- 
tion purposes, and had surrendered the same to the town company, selected 
compensatory claims in the following order : Jacob B. Chase, — the northwest 
quarter of section 6, township 12, range 16; Milton C. Dickey, — the north- 
east quarter of section i, township 12, range 15; Enoch Chase, — the north- 
west quarter of section i, township 12, range 15; and George Davis, — the 
northeast quarter of section 2, township 12, range 15, according to the subse- 
quent government survey. A preliminary survey for lot purposes was made 
by Fry W. Giles, Cyrus K. HoUiday, Daniel H. Home and Enoch Chase. 
They had a cheap compass and two pieces of rope, about four rods each in 
length, which had been used to tie boxes and bales of supplies. Holliday 
and Giles held one of the ropes, and Enoch Chase and Home the other, 
Giles also handling the compass. With these crude implements, and guided 
by the shining sun and a fire on the distant prairie, the pioneer surveying 
party put in an entire day running the lines of the embryo city, which they 
decided should be enlarged to twice its original dimensions. The two pairs 
of amateur engineers were often two miles distant from each other on the 
open prairie, and it is probable that their survey showed a still greater dis- 
crepancy in measurement, but it was the beginning of the first division of 
Topeka into business and residence lots. 

SOME OF THE PIONEERS. 

In addition to the 10 persons forming the original town company, 17 
other men joined the colony on the 17th of December, and selected farm 
claims adjacent to the city of great expectations. It has not been possible 
to obtain an absolutely accurate list of the 17 accessions, but it is known that 
the following persons were on the ground at the date named, and that most 
of them participated in the second farm drawing: Abel F. Hartwell, James 
A. Hickey, Harvey G. Young, Sidney J. Case, Philip Briggs, H. F. Root, 
George F. Crowe, Thomas G. Thornton, Jonas E. Greenwood, Timothy 
Mclntire, L. S. Long, J. F. Merriam, C. N. Gray, Freeman R. Foster, John 
Armstrong, Edwin S. Dexter and Robert L. Mitchell. Including the 10 
original settlers, the 17 who arrived December 17th, and William C. Linaker, 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 129 

who preceded tliem, there were just 28 individuals on the town-site on the 
December date referred to, most of them being connected in some way with 
the town company. Of the entire number only two are known to be Hving 
at this time : John Armstrong and James A. Hickey — both residents of 
Topeka. 

By action of the association on December nth it was decided that the 
limits of the town sliould be diminished from the extravagant survey of 
HoUiday, Giles, et al, and made to cover territory only one and one-half miles 
square. A regular survey was commenced about December 20th by A. D. 
Searle, of Lawrence, who used as a basis the incomplete plat which had 
already been prepared. The Chase cabin was the starting point, the first 
stake being placed near that structure, which was designated as the southwest 
corner of First and Kansas avenues. The lines of Kansas avenue were run 
from that point southward to Sixth avenue, and the lots properly designated, 
fronting 75 feet on Kansas avenue, by 150 feet deep; and from this plat an 
allotment was made on the 28th day of December to each of the 28 persons 
belonging to the Topeka association. As originally agreed upon, the property 
of the association was to have been divided into 50 equal parts by allotment, 
but on the 3rd of January, 1855, the number of shares was increased to 100, 
with the understanding that the first 28 members of the association should 
have, at each general division of lots that might be made, one additional or 
"award" lot. 

Immediately after the allotment on the 28th of December, the surveys 
were extended over other parts of town as detailed by Mr. Giles in his sketch 
of Topeka. All of the tract lying between First and Sixth avenues, west- 
ward to Topeka avenue and eastward to Jefferson street (then known as 
Eastern avenue), was surveyed and platted into streets and avenues as at 
present existing, but the squares formed by the crossings of the streets were 
designated as blocks, and numbered from west to east, beginning with No. 5, 
at the intersection of First and Topeka avenues, and ending with No. 60, at 
the intersection of Sixth avenue and Jefferson street. Each block was divided 
into 12 lots, 75 by -150 feet, and numbered from the northeast corner south- 
ward, one to six, and from the southwest corner northward, seven to 12. 
This plan was abandoned at a subsequent period, after the completion of the 
entire survey, and the lot plan now in use was adopted. The land embraced 
in the original town-site consisted of 684 acres, being the whole of section 31 
and the southeast fractional quarter of section 30, township 11, range 16. 

PURCHASE OF THE INDIAN TITLE. 

For the purpose of acquiring title to the tract of land, the trustees resorted 
to the expedient of purchasing what was known as a "land float" — a govern- 



I30 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

ment warrant authorizing a Pottawatomie Indian or his assigns to locate a 
piece of unoccupied land in any district he might prefer. This right was 
accorded to Isaiah Walker, and 34 other members of the Wyandotte Nation, 
by a treaty made in 1842, and modified in 1854, and under one of its pro- 
visions a patent from the government was thought to be immediately avail- 
able. The Topeka association purchased No. 20 of this series of floats from 
Isaiah Walker for the sum of $1,200. In order to provide funds with which 
to pay for the float, the association sold its surplus land above 640 acres to 
Franklin L. Crane, John Ritchie and Cyrus K. Holliday for $1,300. It was 
not until February 14, 1859, that the patent to Walker was issued, and Walker 
did not deed to the Topeka association until July i, 1859. These delays caused 
confusion and uncertainty in disposing of lots. Rival claims were set up, and 
in one instance a rival town company, called "The Valley Town Company," 
chartered by the Territorial Legislature, undertook to assert its ownership of 
the town-site, a proceeding which the Topeka association resisted vigorously 
and successfully. There was the usual jumping of claims incident to the open- 
ing of a new town and country. One such attempt was made at the corner of 
Eighth and Topeka avenues, where a stranger unloaded material for a log 
house. A vigilance committee drove him away on the night of January 8, 
1855. In the spring of 1855 ^ T^^n named Michael Hummer, a preacher, set 
up a cabin on the homestead of A. A. Ward, having induced Ward to sign a 
paper giving him a color of right. It soon developed that Hummer's purpose 
was to start a rival town under the name of Fremont. He built a cabin on 
First avenue, just east of the present D. L. Lakin home. Ward insisted that 
he had been imposed upon, and upon receiving this explanation his friends pro- 
ceeded to Hummer's cabin and filed a protest. Hummer exhibited a document 
which he claimed was a deed from Ward, and one of the party snatched the 
paper from him and tore it into fragments. In the melee Hummer was 
knocked down by Robert Edwards. Upon his revival, he was placed in a 
wagon with his wife and other belongings and driven across the Shunga- 
nunga, southwest of Topeka, and told to go his way in peace. Most of the 
disputes over titles were settled by conveyances from Cyrus K. Holliday, as 
trustee of the Topeka association, and these titles were subsequently confirmed 
by the District Court of Shawnee County. 

NAMING THE NEW TOWN. 

The important question of bestowing a suitable name upon the city which 
was to be erected around the Chase cabin was not taken up until the evening 
of January i, 1855, at a general meeting held in the cabin. It was discussed 
that night and the following night, the deliberations resulting in the choice 




KANSAS AVENUE, LOOKING SOUTH FROM SIXTH AVENUE 




VAN BUREN STREET, LOOKING SOUTH FROM COURT HOUSE 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 133 

of Topeka. Cyrus K. Holliday wanted to call it Webster, after the great ora- 
tor and satesman, but was overruled. Papan's Ferry was proposed, but 
rejected as being too provincial, and Mid-Continent was too cumbersome. 
The suggestion of Topeka came from Rev. S. Y. Lum, who said it was a new 
word, not to be found in any dictionary, atlas or post office directory. All 
agreed that it was novel, euphonious and appropriate. Its Indian flavor could 
not be questioned, and its equal division of vowels and consonants gave it a 
tripping and cadent sound. Topeka was born on the spot. There was no 
formal ceremony of christening, no festal rites — Bacchus, Gambrinus and the 
goddess of hop tea had not yet penetrated beyond the confines of the Missouri 
River, and the joint-keeper and boot-legger were likewise unknown. 

The significance of the name "Topeka" has engaged the thoughtful atten- 
tion of philologists, linguists and nomenclaturists in all parts of the country. 
Col. William A. Phillips, a Kansas correspondent of the New York Tribune 
in the '50's, claimed that the word was synonymous with "Topheika," found 
in the language of the Pottawatomie Indians, and meaning "mountain potato." 
A similarity to the Indian word "Tohopeka" was traced, until it was found that 
the latter signified "barricade or fortification" — being so used by the Choctaw- 
Muscogee Indians, and not applicable to the conditions in Kansas. Chief 
White Plume, of the Kaw tribe of Indians, claimed that his people applied 
the name "Topeka" to the principal stream of Kansas long before the govern- 
ment designated it as the Kansas River. The name was so applied to the 
stream by the aborigines on account of the vast quantity of wild potatoes 
which grew along its banks, the full significance of the word being "the river 
upon whose banks grew the wild potato plant." Prof. John B. Dunbar, erst- 
while professor of languages at Washburn College, maintains that the Kaw 
Indian name for the river was Kansa, meaning "swift," although the Iowa 
and Omaha tribes may have referred to the stream as Topeka River. Pro- 
fessor Dunbar, who went to the root of the subject, gave the following analysis 
of the derivation and meaning of the word "Topeka :" 

SIGNIFICANCE OF THE WORD. 

"It is made up of three words, common, with a slight dialectic variation, 
with the languages of the Iowa, Omaha and Kansas or Kaw Indians. These 
words are, to, a word meaning potato (the wild kind) pe, an adjective (short- 
ened from pekae) meaning good, and okae, a word meaning to dig. In the 
process of composition the e of pe is dropped, or rather hardened to the conso- 
nant y, making from the three words to-pyo-kac, which means literally, 'a 
good place to dig potatoes.' In the language of the Iowa and Omaha tribes 
the word was applied as a general term to the Kansas or Kaw River, or the 



134 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

valley along its course. The historical origin of the application of the term 
was the fact that not infrecjuently in the spring, when the supply of food fell 
short, the various tribes of Indians resorted to this region, and for some 
weeks secured a scanty sustenance by digging and eating the wild artichoke 
that abounded in certain parts of the area named. The name of the city, 
therefore, very appropriately perpetuates the most important aboriginal asso- 
ciation connected with its immediate vicinity." 

In harmony with these views, it may be added that in later years the 
entire Kansas River Valley became one of the greatest potato producing sec- 
tions in the whole country, thus indicating the judgment and natural acumen 
of the untutored savage. Even as early as the year i860 it is related that 
Cyrus K. Holliday, who farmed a part of the site of Topeka, raised more 
potatoes in a single season than he could gather with men who would consent 
to dig them "on the halves." Potatoes are now shipped from Kansas Valley 
points by car-loads and train-loads to all parts of the country, and the indus- 
try is growing year by year. 

PLAN AND NAMES OF STREETS. 

In designating the streets of Topeka those running east and west were 
given numbers, and those running north and south were named for the Presi- 
dents of the United States, from Washington to Taylor. President Pierce 
was in office at the time of this action, but he was in such disfavor with the 
Abolitionists of Kansas that his name was ignored, and Fremont street sub- 
stituted — Fremont street finally gave way to Fillmore. A street was named 
for John Adams, but when John Quincy Adams was reached in chronological 
order the name Quincy street was substituted. The names of the Presidents 
were employed in regular order except that the principal business street, inter- 
vening between Quincy and Jackson, was called Kansas avenue, and the prin- 
cipal residence street, intervening between Harrison and Tyler, was called 
Topeka avenue. Western avenue also intervened between Taylor and Fill- 
more streets. Some of the wider thoroughfares running east and west were 
designated as avenues instead of streets, notably Sixth and Tenth avenues. 
Practically the same system of numbering and naming the streets was con- 
tinued in later years, with a few variations made necessary by peculiar bounda- 
ries. Henry Clay was honored with a street, immediately preceding Buchanan, 
and Lincoln follows Buchanan. Streets have been named for Grant, Cleveland 
and Garfield, but not in regular order. Rutherford B. Hayes, Andrew John- 
son and Chester A. Arthur have not been recognized, and President Roosevelt 
is on the waiting list. The numbered streets run up to 28, although the 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 135 

original plat of the town stopped at nth street. The total number of lots in 
the original plat was 4,228. In 1905 the lots exceed 30,000 in number. 

NEW ARRIVALS. 

During the winter of 1854-55 the colony of 28 Topekans was increased 
to 64, by the arrival of 36 persons — 30 males and six females. Early in 
the spring of 1855 another party of 42 arrived, known as the Robinson party. 
New cabins and sod houses were built, and a few board shanties erected. 
One of the latter was a boarding house built by A. W. Moore. Sidney J. Case 
built a log residence, with a blacksmith shop in the rear. Another and longer 
cabin was constructed for hotel purposes, with berths one above another, 
and called the Pioneer House. Gradually the character of the buildings im- 
proved, as sawmills and brickyards were established. In April, 1855, J. T. 
Jones built and opened a grocery store. On the 13th of the same month the 
Farnsworth brothers commenced a stone building on the west side of Kansas 
avenue, between Fourth and Fifth streets, which afterwards became known 
as Constitution Hall. The stone for this building was taken from a ravine 
back of the present Throop Hotel. Topeka was made a post office, in March, 
1855, with Fry W. Giles as postmaster. The office was first established in 
a log house belonging to Sidney J. Case, on the east side of Quincy street, 
near Second, but was soon removed to a frame building on the southeast cor- 
ner of Kansas avenue and Fifth street. J. C. Gordon and Asaph Allen started 
a store at No. 103 Kansas avenue in the summer of 1855. J. C. Miller started 
the first brick house on the i8th of April of that year, near the corner of Kan- 
sas and Sixth avenues. A little later Robert L. Mitchell opened a cabinet shop 
at the northwest corner of Sixth and Harrison, afterwards the residence for 
many years of William Marshall, and now the property of the Topeka Club. 
In September, 1855, this was the meeting place of the first delegate convention 
looking to the formation of a constitution and State government. From that 
convention sprang the Topeka constitutional convention. 

PIONEER SCHOOLS. 

The first school was kept in a little house belonging to Dr. F. L. Crane, 
situated on Madison street, just north of the present Lincoln School. The 
teacher was Miss Sarah C. Harlan, niece of United States Senator Harlan, 
of Iowa. Others of the early teachers were Miss Carrie Whiting (afterwards 
Mrs. L. C. Wilmarth) and Miss Jennie Allen (afterwards Mrs. I. E. Perley). 
The first public school building was erected by the New England Emigrant 
Aid Company in the summer of 1857. It was built of brick, on the rear end of 



136 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

lots 145, 147 a.nd 149, Harrison street, fronting on Fifth street, the room 
being 24 by 18 feet in size. On these lots was afterwards built the present 
residences of Jacob Smith and W. A. L. Thompson, and a part of the brick 
from the old school house went into the construction of Mr. Smith's barn. 

Topeka continued to improve in the winter of 1855-56, and there was a 
great change in the character of the buildings. The work of establishing 
roads, ferries and bridges was enthusiastically commenced and vigorously 
prosecuted. In the year 1856 the first three-story building, the Topeka House, 
was erected by Walter Oakley. The Chase House, another three-story build- 
ing, was erected in the same year. Buildings were also constructed by Jere- 
miah Murphy, I. E. Perley, M. K. Smith, E. C. K. Garvey, F. L. Crane and 
John Ritchie — the last named erecting what was known as the Ritchie Block. 
In 1857 and 1858 there was still greater activity in building and real estate 
transactions. There was a gratifying increase of immigration, money became 
plentiful, and property advanced to high figures. These conditions were main- 
tained throughout the years 1859 and i860 except that the city's progress was 
impeded to some extent by the "border ruffian" troubles, Indian uprisings and 
a protracted season of drought, from all of which the State and city emerged 
triumphant. 



CHAPTER XII. 

County-Seat Location — Movements for the State Capitol — Locations at Fort 
Leavenworth, Sliawnee Mission, Pawnee, Lecompton, Lawrence, Min- 
neola and Topeka — The Several Constitutional Conventions — Free-State 
a}id Pro-Slavery Contests — First State Legislature — History and De- 
scription of the Finished Capitol. 

Topeka was made county-seat of Shawnee County by a vote of the people 
on October 4, 1858, her rivals in the election being Tecumseh, Auburn 
(Brownsville) and Burlingame. The electors of Tecumseh refrained from 
voting on the county-seat proposition, although they voted on other questions 
at the same election. When it became known that the majority expression 
was in favor of Topeka, the citizens of Tecumseh contested the results, claiming 
that the election was illegal; and the probate judge, Edward Hoagland, to 
whom the poll-books were returnable, refused to certify the vote until compelled 
to do so by a higher judicial authority. While the controversy was pending, 
a part of the county records were forcibly removed from Tecumseh to Topeka. 
On the 24th of January, 1859, the Legislature legalized this election, and de- 
clared Topeka to be the permanent county-seat. 

THE CAPITAL CITY. 

Under the constitution framed by the Wyandotte convention, July 29, 
1859, Topeka was designated to be the capital of Kansas, and this action was 
ratified by a vote of the people, October 4, 1859. The events leading up to 
this action are so much a part of the general history of the State that it is 
not necessary to do more than epitomize them in this connection. 

By act of Congress, May 30, 1854, the Territory of Kansas was thrown 
open to settlement, a Territorial government provided, and the seat of govern- 
ment located temporarily at Fort Leavenworth. Governor Andrew H. Reeder, 
the first of the Territorial Governors, established his headquarters there Octo- 
ber 4, 1854. The executive office was removed, November 24th, to the Shaw- 
nee Methodist Episcopal Indian Mission, near the Missouri State line, about 
two and one-half miles southwest from Westport, and seven miles from Kan- 



138 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

sas City. On June 27, 1855, the Governor transferred the seat of government 
to Pawnee, on the north side of the Kansas River, at the eastern Hne of the 
Fort Riley Mihtary Reservation. 

FIRST CAPITOL BUILDINGS. 

A stone building was erected at Pawnee for capital purposes. The walls 
of the building are still sanding, and the spot has received its historical mark 
of preservation. The Legislature met in this building July 2, 1855, and 
changed the seat of government back to Shawnee Mission, the Governor re- 
turning there July 12th. On August 8th of the same year the Shawnee Mis- 
sion Legislature, by vote in joint session, located the capital at Lecompton. 
The United States government spent $50,000 in the construction of a capitol 
building at this point, and sessions of the Legislature were held at Lecompton 
in 1855, 1856 and 1857. The Legislature of 1857 adjourned to meet at 
Lawrence, where it assembled January 8, 1858, Lawrence thus becoming the 
temporary capital. An act was immediately passed removing the capital to 
Minneola, but it was vetoed by Governor Denver. Sessions of the Legislature 
were held alternately at Lecompton and Lawrence in 1858, 1859, i860 
and 1861. 

FREE STATE MOVEMENTS. 

The foregoing account relates in most part to the acts and attitude of 
the Pro-Slavery party in Kansas, which had control of the official machinery. 
Of far greater importance to Topeka was the action during the same years 
of the Free-State men, who were trying to wrest the control of the govern- 
ment from the other faction. The proceedings of the Free-State men, in 
their meetings and conventions, are very clearly and concisely set forth in an 
article prepared by th^ late Franklin G. Adams, who was for many years 
secretary of the Kansas State Historical Society. In his paper Secretary 
Adams says : 

"The Free-State party in Kansas named Topeka as the capital of the 
State as early as in 1855. It became the capital under the Free-State constitu- 
tional movement. That was the movement through which the Free- State 
party in Kansas in 1855 framed a constitution, organized a State government, 
and applied to Congress for admission into the Union. This movement began 
by reason of the Shawnee Mission legislative usurpation and the oppressive 
legislation enacted. It was an effort of the body of the actual settlers of Kan- 
sas to free the territory from the thralldom of that usurpation. At a mass 
convention held in Lawrence August 14 and 15, 1855, among other proceed- 
ings, a resolution was passed declaring that the people of the Territory ought 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 139 

to select delegates to a convention to frame a constitution for the State of 
Kansas, with a view to an immediate admission into the American Union. 
This convention also indorsed a call which had been issued for holding a gen- 
eral delegate convention of the Territory at Big Springs on the 5th of Septem- 
ber. Another convention, held at Lawrence on the 15th, appointed a delegate 
convention to be held at Topeka on the 19th of September, to take action to- 
wards the formation of a State constitution and government. The Big Springs 
convention, on the 5th of September, approved the constitutional-convention 
movement, and adopted a resolution to respond to the call made for the Topeka 
convention on the 19th of September. 

THE TOPEKA CONVENTION. 

"The convention at Topeka, September 19th, adopted elaborate resolu- 
tions setting forth the reasons in favor of the constitutional movement. The 
convention appointed an executive committee, with instructions to issue an 
address to the people and to appoint an election to be held in the several dis- 
tricts of the Territory on the 9th of October, for the election of delegates to 
convene at Topeka on the 23rd of October to form a constitution for the State 
of Kansas. Thus was an executive committee, appointed by a spontaneous 
movement of the people and representing the dominant sentiment of the people, 
clothed with the power to organize the machinery of government in the pros- 
pective commonwealth. The force which inspired life and impelled and 
directed the movements for a State government lay in the executive committee. 
It continued to issue its proclamations through its chairman, James H. Lane, 
and to do in the most efficient manner the work of a provisional and semi- 
revolutionary government through the darkest and most disordered and 
dangerous period of the Territorial existence. 

"The constitutional convention elected in pursuance of the call of the 
executive committee met at Topeka October 2^, 1855, continued in session 
until November nth, and framed the celebrated Topeka constitution. The 
constitution was sent by messengers to Washington and for years continued 
to engage the attention of Congress and to agitate the country on the question 
of its ratification. 

"Other constitutional conventions were held in the meantime at Lecomp- 
ton and Leavenworth." 

TOPEKA AND HER RIVALS. 

The location of the capital for the new State was an interesting subject 
in the proceedings of the Topeka constitutional convention, for there were 
many towns or projected towns at this period having capital aspirations, among 
7 



I40 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

them being Council City, Cottonwood, Bloomington, Topeka, Leavenworth, 
Lawrence, Lecompton, Blanton, Prairie City, Manhattan and Wabaunsee. 
On the third day of the sitting of the Topeka convention, Cyrus K. Holhday 
moved that among the standing committees there should be one on the loca- 
tion of the capital. On November 6th the convention voted on the temporary 
location, Topeka being chosen, the final ballot standing 20 for Topeka and 16 
for Lawrence. 

This action was not immediately effective, as the Topeka convention was 
not recognized by the existing government, but in the end it resulted in 
fixing Topeka as the capital of the State. At that time there were but a few 
buildings here. The building which was known as Constitution Hall was the 
most substantial. It was a stone building, erected by Loring Farnsworth on 
Nos. 425 and 427 Kansas avenue (under the new system of numbering), and 
the walls still remain as a part of the present building in the same place. The 
building was so far completed as to be occupied by the constitutional conven- 
tion of October 23rd, and also by the Legislature in its session held under that 
constitution. The Adams statement continues : 

FIRST LEGISLATIVE BUSINESS. 

"Under the Topeka constitution, five meetings of the Legislature were 
had in Constitution Hall. Under the constitution three elections were held 
for the election of State officers or members of the Legislature, or both. The 
constitution became the banner under which the Free-State party rallied in its 
struggle to free the Territory from the clutches of the Pro-Slavery despotism 
under which it was placed through the fraudulent election of March 30, 1855. 
The outrageous laws passed by the Shawnee Mission Legislature made out- 
laws of the members of the Free-State government. The Topeka constitu- 
tional movement became the special object of the hatred of the Pro-Slavery 
party. Their bogus laws contained provisions making it treason for the people 
thus to combine for the object of annulling them. Their packed grand juries 
indicted the Topeka State officers and members of the Legislature. Marshals 
and sheriffs, supported by squads of so-called militia or by United States sol- 
diers, hunted them down like wild beasts. 

"The first Legislature under the constitution met March 4, 1856. It did 
little legislation. It memorialized Congress for the ratification of the Topeka 
constitution. It appointed committees to prepare a code of laws. It adjourned 
to mxet again July 4th. When that memorable 4th of July came, and the mem- 
bers of the legislature gathered for their sepond meeting, through orders from 
Acting Governor Woodson, backed by authority from Washington, Gen. E. 
V. Sumner appeared with a force of United States troops and dispersed them. 




BUILDING FOR INCURABLES, STATE HOSPITAL FOR THE INSANE 




EAST END MAIN BUILDING, STATE HOSPITAL FOR THE INSANE 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 143 

They met again, the third time, January 5, 1857. At this meeting a committee 
was appointed to prepare another memorial to Congress for admission into the 
Union. The second day of the session a large number of the members, includ- 
ing the President of the Senate and Speaker of the House, were arrested by 
a United States marshal and taken under guard to Tecumseh. Then the body 
took a recess to June 9th. On that day the fourth meeting of the Topeka Leg- 
islature convened. A census law was passed, an election ordered in August, 
a State University was located at Lawrence, the State capital was again estab- 
lished at Topeka, and Congress was gain memorialized to admit Kansas into 
the Union under the Topeka constitution. January 5, 1858, the fifth and last 
meeting of the Topeka Free-State Legislature was held. Little was done 
except the reading of Governor Charles Robinson's message, in which he 
advised the keeping up of the State organization. 

THE LEAVENWORTH CONVENTION. 

"But by this time little hope remained of the admission of the State into 
the Union under the Topeka constitution. The population of the Territory 
had become so large and was so overwhelmingly Free-State, that the Free- 
State votete had already seized the lawmaking power by the election of the 
Territorial Legislature, and that body was at this time in session. The Topeka 
constitutional movement had performed its mission. For Topeka it had surely 
paved the way for the permanent capital of Kansas. Mention has been made 
of the Minneola capital and the Leavenworth constitution. The Leavenworth 
constitution served a purpose, that of a foil to the Lecompton constitution, 
steeped in fraud as that was. But there seemed no hope that Congress would 
ratify the Leavenworth constitution. The Territorial Legislature of 1859 
therefore passed a law providing for a fourth constitutional convention. This 
became known as the Wyandotte convention, and it framed the present consti- 
tution of Kansas. This convention was held in Wyandotte, now Kansas City, 
Kansas, in July, 1859. The constitution was adopted by vote of the people, 
October 4th, but it was not until January 29, 1861, that the act of Congress 
ratifying it was approved by President Buchanan." 

THE FINAL CONVENTION. 

The Wyandotte constitutional convention provided that Topeka should 
be the temporary capital, and that the Legislature should submit the question 
of the permanent location to a vote of the people. In the Wyandotte conven- 
tion two votes were had upon the temporary location. There were many can- 
didates, and the first vote resulted as follows: For Mound City, 2 votes; 



144 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Mapleton, i; Minneola, 2; Topeka, 15; Olathe, 2; Lawrence, 6; Burlington, 
I ; Stanton, i ; Atchison, 5 ; Manhattan, 2 ; Le Roy, i ; Emporia, 2 ; Burlin- 
game, i; Louisville, i; Kickapoo, i; Troy, i; Humboldt, i; Palermo, i; 
Paola, I ; Big Springs, i ; Pike's Peak, i ; Superior, i. 

The second ballot resulted in favor of Topeka, the delegates voting as 

follows : 

For Topeka : J. M. Arthur, F. Brown, J. T. Barton, W. P. Button, R. 
C. Foster, John W. Forman, John P. Greer, William R. Griffith, Samuel 
Hippie, E. M. Hubbard, S. D. Houston, J. Lamb, G. H. Lillie, E. Moore, 
W. C. McDowell, A. D. McCune, C. B. McClelland, W. McCullough, H. D. 
Preston, P. S. Parks, R. J. Porter, John Ritchie, E. G. Ross, J. A. Signer, 
John P. Slough, Samuel A. Stinson, J. Stairwalt, J. Wright and B. Wrig- 
ley — 29. 

For Lawrence : J. G. Blunt, J. C. Burnett, John T. Burris, J. Blood, N. 
C. Blood, A. Crocker, William Hutchinson, James Hanway, S. E. Hoffman, 
Edward Stokes, B. F. Simpson, S. O. Thatcher, P. H. Townsend and R. L. 
Williams — 14. 

For Atchison : Robert Graham, John J. Ingalls, Samuel A. Kingman, 
J. A. Middleton, L. R. Palmer and T. S. Wright— 6. 

The location under this action being only temporary, the L^islature of 
1 86 1 authorized a vote of the people on the subject, and at the general election 
in November of that year the capital was definitely located at Topeka by the 
following vote: Topeka, 7,996; Lawrence, 5,291; all others, 1,184. 

FIRST STATE LEGISLATURE. 

The first State Legislature under the Wyandotte constitution met in 
Topeka March 26, 1861, the city at that time having about 800 inhabitants. 
Governor Robinson rented rooms for the executive offices in the Ritchie Block, 
which was afterwards destroyed by fire. The location was at the southeast 
corner of Sixth and Kansas avenues, where Rowley & Snow's drug-store 
now is. The first State Senate met in the third story of this building for three 
years. The first House of Representatives met in the Gale Block, now known 
as Crawford's Opera House, and here the joint convention was held which 
elected James H. Lane and Samuel C. Pomeroy to the United States Senate. 
Later in the session the House adjourned, on account of a leak in the roof, 
to the Congregational Church, on the corner of Seventh and Harrison streets. 
In 1862 the House again met in the Gale Block, and the session of 1863 was 
held in the Methodist Episcopal Church on Quincy street, where Odd Fel- 
lows' Hall is now located. The Legislature of 1864 met in Constitution Hall, 
which was enlarged for the purpose and leased to the State for a period of five 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 145 

years, until the east wing of the permanent State Capitol was ready for occu- 
pancy, in 1869. 

SITE FOR THE CAPITOL. 

The square of 20 acres of ground upon which the State Capitol stands 
was donated for that use by the Topeka association, the reservation being first 
made in 1855. The site, which is equivalent to four city blocks, was accepted 
by the Legislature in 1862, and in 1866 a law was passed to proceed with the 
erection of a State House in accordance with plans prepared by E. Townsend 
Mix. An appropriation of $50,000 was voted, the money to be raised by the 
sale of 10 sections of land which the State had received from the Federal gov- 
ernment. On October 17, 1866, the corner-stone of the Capitol was laid by 
the Grand Lodge, A. F. & A. M., assisted by Topeka Lodge, No. 17. In the 
construction of the first, or east, wing of the building, the contractors used 
a brown sandstone from a quarry near Vinewood Park, but this was found to 
be defective and the wing was completed with Junction City stone. This also 
proved to be unsatisfactory, and the other parts of the structure were built of 
a more durable stone from Cottonwood Falls. 

• DIMENSIONS AND COST. 

Rooms in the new Capitol were first occupied by State officers December 
25, 1869, and the first legislative session in the building was in 1870. The 
west wing was built in 1880, and work commenced on the central portion in 
1883. It was not until March 24, 1903, that the finished structure was turned 
over to the State. The dimensions of the building are as follows : Extreme 
diameter or breadth of the building, including the porches, north and south, 
399 feet; east and west, 386 feet; square of the dome at the base, 80 by 80 
feet; height of dome to balcony at lantern, 258 feet; height of dome to extreme 
top, 304 feet. The total cost of the finished Capitol was $3,200,588.92, of 
which $481,000 was for the east wing, including the remodeling; $314,237 for 
the west wing; $1,289,611.30 for the central portion, including dome; and 
$416,876.19 for decoration and furnishings. Most of the money was ex- 
pended under the supervision of a State House Commission, which had charge 
of the letting of contracts. The following architects have been employed at 
dififerent times on the work: E. Townsend Mix, John G. Haskell, L. M. 
Wood, E. T. Carr, Kenneth McDonald, Van Brunt & Sutton, J. C. Holland, 
E. J. Putnam, Seymour Davis, W. C. Hills, T. H. Lescher and John F. 
Stanton. 



CHAPTER XIII. 

Drought of i860 — Depression Resulting from the War — How the City Ap- 
peared in 1862 — Prominent Business Firms and Professional Men — The 
Growth from 1865 to 1870 — Renewed Activity in Real Estate Transac- 
tions — The Railroad Situation — Wagon Routes from Topeka — Associa- 
tion of Old Settlers. 

Topeka' s growth, as well as that of Shawnee County, was greatly re- 
tarded by the memorable drought of i860. The labors of agriculture at that 
time were entirely confined to the raising of corn and vegetables, of which 
a scant supply matured. It is estimated that the population of the city and 
county decreased fully 20 per cent, in that year and the general stagnation 
was added to by the outbreak of the Civil War. Following the close of the 
war, the tide of immigration again set in, capital sought investment, property 
felt the stimulus of increased value, there was abundant work for the mechanic 
and laborer, and enterprises of great pith and moment were undertaken with 
a confidence inspired by the general firmness, politically and socially, that 
marked the new life in Kansas. 

RETROSPECTIVE. 

In the year 1862 Topeka had a population of less than 700. All that 
portion of the country north of the river was practically uninhabited, there 
being but a few log houses in the valley between Indianola and the river. Dr. 
Franklin L. Crane was farming that portion of the city lying north of Fifth 
street and east of Monroe, including the land where the Atchison, Topeka & 
Santa Fe depot now stands. Col. Cyrus K. Holliday lived on the farm ad- 
joining Dr. Crane's on the south, now the center of a big city where the 
family residence has been maintained for 50 years. South and east of Kan- 
sas and loth avenues was John Ritchie's farm. South and west of the Ritchie 
property were the claims of Col. Joel Huntoon, Milton C. Dickey, J. C. Gor- 
don and Daniel H. Home. Southeast of the city were the farms of W. B. 
Wade, L. C. Conwell and Justus Brockway, and close by were farms belong- 
ing to Dr. S. E. Martin, R. S. Martin, John Long and D. R. Young. Fry 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 147 

W. Giles had a farm on the Shunganunga, and was operating an express and 
stage oifice in town. The Topeka House stood on the present site of the Gov- 
ernment Building, and opposite it was the Garvey House. The Chase House 
stood where the Stormont office building now stands, and on Sixth avenue 
were the Tuttle and Ashbaugh hotels. 

The lawyers of that time were John Martin, A. H. Case and W. P. 
Douthitt. The physicians were S. E. Martin, Deming & Miller and B. F. 
King. The ministers were Revs. Lewis Bodwell, Charles M. Calloway, J. H. 
Defouri, Ira Blackford, John A. Steele and E. Alward. The leading store 
was conducted by Hamilton & Company, Fielding Johnson and George W. 
Veale being the "Company." H. W. Farnsworth and Willis Gordon were 
millers, Jacob Smith was the proprietor of a tin shop, George O. Wilmarth 
owned the post office book-store, Charles C. Kellam was postmaster, William 
Marshall was the only tailor, Thomas Archer was constable and J. C. Miller, 
justice of the peace. In the block on the west side of Kansas avenue, between 
Sixth avenue and Seventh street, there was then only one building, and south 
of that on the avenue was vacant prairie. The young ladies of that period 
were Miss Mary Ward, Miss Belle Chase, Miss Murphy, Miss Miller, Miss 
Allen, Miss Blush and Miss Farnsworth, and the list of young men included 
George, Frank and Orville Crane, T. B. Mills, J. C. French, George Trott, 
David Seagraves, Perry Tuttle and Henry C. Lindsey. The only business 
men of the early '6o's who have continued uninterruptedly from that date 
to this are John W. Farnsworth and Jacob Smith. Mr. Farnsworth changed 
his business from dry goods to queensware, and Mr. Smith's tin-shop became 
the basis of the present W. A. L. Thompson Hardware Company. 

AFTER THE WAR. 

Topeka's activity suffered no abatement between the years 1865 and 
1870. In that period many fine business blocks were erected and handsome 
residences built. It was also the era of bridge building, railroad projection 
and general improvement. School houses and churches were built, sidewalks 
laid and much public work done. The city rapidly outgrew its original dimen- 
sions, and the first farm claims were nearly all converted into town lots. Many 
additions were platted and taken into the city, known as Young's, Home's, 
Crane's, Ritchie's, King's, Holliday's and Huntoon's additions. The Kaw 
Indian land opposite the city, on the north side of the Kansas River, came 
into market through an act of Congress authorizing the Indians to sell their 
property, and reservation No. 4 of the land belonging to the half-breeds was 
bought and platted for town purposes. Eugenia was the name first given to 
the town, but the territory was attached to Topeka in April, 1867, and thence- 



148 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

forth took the name of North Topeka, being the first ward of the main city. 
Some of the buildings erected and new institutions established in the 
period between 1865 and 1870 were the following: The Mortimer Cook 
Building at the southwest corner of Kansas and Sixth avenues; the Baker & 
Tinkham Block, opposite Crawford's Opera House; Grace Episcopal Church, 
at the northwest corner of Jackson and Seventh streets ; the Tefft House, where 
the First National Bank Building now stands ; Charles F. Kendall's dry goods 
store; E. W. Baker & Company's wholesale grocery establishment; an iron 
foundry established on the corner of Second and Jefferson streets; a flouring 
mill erected at the corner of Kansas avenue and Third street, and another 
one in North Topeka, built by L. Laurent; the Topeka Bank, Kansas Valley 
National Bank, Capital Bank, and the Giles & Jewell Bank, opened for busi- 
ness; the Adams Building, North Topeka; and the Union Pacific Hotel and 
Depot, North Topeka. The principal residences built were those of Jesse 
H. Crane, on Madison between Fourth and Fifth streets ; Hugo Kullak, north- 
west corner of Topeka avenue and Seventh street; and Jacob Smith, south- 
west corner of Harrison and Fifth streets. 

BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL MEN. 

In addition to those already named, the well-known business and profes- 
sional men of that period were: Barnum & Company, George C. Kenyon, 
Bates & Company, C. A. Butts, Geiger & McGrath and G. F. Merriam, dry 
goods ; A. J. Arnold, Rowley Brothers, Stringham & Brown and C. C. Kellam, 
druggists; Benjamin Haywood, John Worth and Andrew Seller, furniture; 
Guilford Dudley, private banker ; Crane & Byron, blank books ; A. H. Thomp- 
son, dentist; John P Cole, Whitton & Weiss, E. G. Moon, Rodgers Brothers, 
Craigue & Company and R. E. Randolph, groceries; J. A. McLaughlin, fire- 
arms ; Smith & Hale, J. M. Baird, E. H. Blake & Company and T. H. Whit- 
mer, hardware; Burkhard & Oswald, harness; Hartsock & Gossett, hides; 
Henry Clarkson, Gavitt & Scott, Orrin T. Welch and Stone & Bodine, insur- 
ance; J. & R. Thomas, Shellabarger & Leidigh and C. Reed, lumber; J. Lee 
Knight and J. V. Wintrode, photographers; James Douglass, John Lahmer 
and Fred Ortman, jewelers ; David Brier, Bishop Crumrine, Edgar W. Dennis, 
M. P. Garretson, John Guthrie, N. F. Handy, Lewis Hanback, A. W. Hayes, 
John M. McDonald, Noah C. McFarland, Ross Burns, John Mileham, J. H. 
Moss, J. H. Putnam, B. J. Ricker, Thomas Ryan, John G. Searle, Hugh M. 
Spalding, A. H. Vance, J. G. Wood, J. G. Waters and A. L. Williams, attor- 
neys; W. S. Baker, George Dick, Eli Lewis, John McClintock, M. Bailey, 
L. G. Murphy, M. F. Price, W. W. Rodgers, Silas E. Shelden, E. Tefft, D. W. 
Stormont and George Wyman, physicians. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. I49 

The Episcopal Female Seminary was in operation at the corner of Topeka 
avenue and Ninth street, under the patronage of Bishop Thomas H. Vail. 
Rev. J. N. Lee was principal and Mrs. R. N. Baldwin, vice-principal. Miss 
Minnie Beales, Kansas' most famous vocalist, was one of the teachers. The 
Masons, Odd Fellows and Good Templars were the only secret societies in 
existence. The Union Pacific Railroad had been extended as far west as 
Carson, Colorado, and the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe line was running 
trains to Emporia. The wagon roads leading out of the city were marked 
as follows : To Grasshopper Falls, Kansas avenue due north across Soldier 
Creek; to Tecumseh, Sixth avenue east; to Clinton, loth avenue to Shunga- 
nunga bridge, thence south ; to Burlingame, Jackson street south ; to Auburn, 
loth avenue west to Fillmore street, thence in a southwesterly direction; to 
Mission Creek, on the Auburn road to the crossing of nth street, and then 
branching off to the west ; to Wabaunsee, Sixth avenue west. 

ASSOCIATION OF OLD SETTLERS. 

At various meetings of the Old Settlers' Association of Topeka, the fol- 
lowing persons signed the roll of membership, giving their names and the date 
of their citizenship : 

1854 — ^John Armstrong, Freeman R. Foster, Caroline S. Scales, L. S. 
Long, William C. Gibbons, J. S. Freeland, S. E. Martin, W. W. Phillips, 
Fry W. Giles, George W. Berry, J. S. Freeland, J. W. Miller, E. J. Haynes, 
John Long and Mrs. E. J. Dailey. 

1855 — H. W. Curtis, Mrs. John Long, Mrs. C. A. Giles, Mrs. Augusta 
W. Lescher, Mrs. Mary Herbert, Charles H. Lovejoy, Josiah Jordan, Sarah 
C. Stone, Franklin G. Adams, C. G. Howard, W. H. Moffitt, G. W. Gillis, 
Martha Allen, William P. Thompson, Mrs. C. S. Baker, Mrs. Susanna M. 
Weymouth, Marion E. Thomson, A. H. Slayton, Josiah B. McAfee, Anna R. 
McAfee, T. B. Pitcher, Samuel J. Reader, Susan Howey, Richard Russell, 
Hale Ritchie, William H. Weymouth, Mrs. Celeste M. Forbes, Mrs. Jennie 
M. Nellis, Mrs. Louisa T. Oakley, Sarah E. Doane, Abner Doane and Mrs. 
Sarah Curtis. 

1856 — Joel Huntoon, John S. Firey, John ElHott, W. H. Fitzpatrick, 
George E. Flanders, Thomas H. Haskell, G. S. Gordon, Walter Oakley, John 
P. Greer, Kate Farnsworth Akin, Harvey D. Rice, William Owen, Maria M. 
Martin, Jasper M. Howard, Samuel Dolman, Minda K. Dolman, E. Marple, 
H. K. Winans, Alpheus Palmer, R. A. Randlett, W. D. Paul, William Wal- 
lace, J. B. Miller, James M. Harvey, Mrs. G. S. Gordon, Edward Chapman, 
Mrs. Edward Chapman, Hiram W. Farnsworth, John W. Farnsworth and 
William Chase. 



ISO HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

1857 — Avery Washburn, Mrs. L. P. Huntoon, Rebecca Brittain, E. G. 
Moon, N. J. Moon, Henry W. McAfee, Mrs. Freeman R. Foster, Mrs. J. 
M. Foster, Martha M. James, Mrs. W. H. Fitzpatrick, Miss Rena Fitzpatrick, 
Miss Mary Fitzpatrick, Mrs. Ehzabeth Fisher, Jacob Smith, William P. 
Douthitt, E. M. Chase, Jane T. Randlett, T. H. Lescher, Olive A. Owen, 
Flora C. Harvey, M. J. Freeland, Amanda G. Person, Charles F. Spencer, 
J. S. Stansfield, James Mecham, V. B. Howey, G. W. Packard, J. M. Bryan, 
D. W. Boutwell, Mrs. E. V. Boutwell, Emily R. Douthitt, Christian Bowman, 
Josephine Stafford, A. J. Huntoon, Ellen S. Huntoon, Daniel Thompson, 
Frank A. Root, William S. Bennett, W. W. Climenson, Mrs. C. Crawford, 
L. M. Ayers, Peter Fisher, Henry Taylor, David L. Lakin, Mrs. Ann Spencer, 
Castorn Washburn, Sarah A. Elliott, M. P. Hillyer and Georgiana Packard. 

1858— A. F. Barker, T. A. Barker, Kate Rudolph Wilson, James V. 
Douthitt, H. D. Fisher, E. M. Fisher, Lucius Kingman, E. A. Goodell, Sarah 
Goodell, Mrs. Martha Paine, Mrs. Emma Campbell Hudson, Allen Holcraft, 
George W. Weed, D. O. Crane, Mrs. H. M. Prouty and Mrs. F. A. Root. 

1859 — F. M. Fletcher, R. J. Miller, Amond Benton, Mrs. Ella Phillips, 
Mrs. Mary A. Rice, Emma Bodwell Stagg, Miss Zu Adams, Mary Marple, 
Sophie G. Ashbaugh, John F. Carter, Allan Maxson, Mrs. W. W. Phillips, 
Hattie Fletcher, Emily Thompson and Elizabeth Taylor. 

i860 — Guilford Dudley Baker, Elizabeth Flanders, G. W. Dailey, 
Matilda Steele McFarland, Martha A. Herriott, Floyd P. Baker, Robert B. 
Steele and Marcia G. Gordon. 

1 86 1 — Emma B. Stagg and Josephine E. Ashbaugh. 

1862 — Miss Lou Climenson. 

1863— George D. Butts and Mrs. C. A. Butts. 

1864 — Sarah A. Elliott and C. S. Baker. 

1865 — Robert Robinson and James A. Troutman. 

1866 — Anna Foster, Henry Evans, Mrs. Henry Evans, William J. Stagg 
and Anna S. Crane. 

1867 — Celestine Stoker, George D. Hale, George S. Evarts and Emma 
Evarts. 

1868— Francis S. McCabe, George P Bates, Oresta H. Bates. B. F. 
Golden and Mrs. S. A. Robinson. 

1869 — Joseph Andrews, J, Gandion, A. A. Ripley and Sarah E. Evarts. 



CHAPTER XIV. 

The Railway System — Four Trunk Lines at Topeka — Mills and Factories — 
Commercial and Banking Institutions — Public Utilities — Finances of the 
City — Parks and Resorts — Assessed Valuation, Bonded Debt and Finan- 
cial Resources — Present City Officers and List of Former Mayors — The 
Commercial Club. 

A general railroad convention was held in Topeka, October 7, i860, 
attended by 125 delegates, to consider plans for a State railway system, and 
to inaugurate a movement for securing the same. Five lines of railroad were 
favored by the delegates, as the result of their deliberations, two of which 
were to run to Topeka. One of them was a line from the city of Wyandotte, 
up the Kansas Valley, by way of Lawrence, Lecompton, Tecumseh, Topeka, 
Manhattan and the Fort Riley Military Reservation, to the western boundary 
of the Territory; and the other, a line from Atchison, by way of Topeka, 
through the Territory in the direction of Santa Fe, New Mexico. 

Previous to that, in 1855, the Union Pacific system had received a charter 
from the Legislature under the title of the Leavenworth, Pawnee & Western 
Railroad Company, and in 1857 the Legislature granted a charter to a corpo- 
ration to build the St. Joseph & Topeka Railroad, of which Cyrus K. Holliday, 
Franklin L. Crane, Milton C. Dickey and John W. Forman were the Topeka 
directors. In 1858 th^ Kansas Central Railway was projected by W. Y. 
Roberts and others, proposing to build a line of railroad from Wyandotte, up 
the Kansas Valley, on the north side of the river, by way of Lawrence and 
Topeka, to Fort Riley. 

UNION PACIFIC. 

From these beginnings the present railway facilities of Topeka were 
realized. The Union Pacific, then known as Kansas Pacific, was completed 
to Topeka, January i, 1866. The arrival of the first train at North Topeka 
on that date was an occasion of great rejoicing, the people of Topeka extend- 
ing the hospitality of the city to the mayors and councilmen of Wyandotte 
and Lawrence, and to the president of the road, R. M. Shoemaker. The 



152 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

principal address was delivered by Gen. James H. Lane. North Topeka was 
at that time known as Eugene, and contained more Indian than white inhab- 
itants. The Union Pacific was completed to Denver in 1872.1'^) 

SANTA FE. 

The Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe system was the outgrowth of the 
St. Joseph & Topeka Railroad Company. Work was commenced at Topeka 
in October, 1868, the first section being built to Carbondale, to tap the Osage 
County coal fields. It was opened to Carbondale, 18 miles south from 
Topeka, in July, 1869, and to Emporia in 1870. More than four years 
elapsed before the construction had progressed to the State line on the west. 
The inception of this enterprise was in very great measure due to Col. Cyrus 
K. Holliday, of Topeka, who was the first president of the company, and one 
of its directors up to the date of his death, March 29, 1900. Citizens of 
Topeka subscribed $30,000 to the original St. Joseph & Topeka Railroad, and 
the county voted $250,000 in bonds to aid in the construction of the Atchi- 
son, Topeka & Santa Fe road. A further sum of $100,000 was voted by the 
city for the location of the general offices and shops. The shops were located 
here in 1872, and a general office building erected in 1884. To aid in the 
construction of this road the government made a grant of nearly 3,000,000 
acres of the public lands of Kansas. 

Under the original plan of the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway 
Company the eastern terminus of the road was at Atchison, no provision 
having been made for connecting Topeka with Kansas City on the south side 
of the Kansas River. To meet this oversight the city of Topeka, in April, 
1874, subscribed $160,000 to the capital stock of the Kansas Midland Rail- 
road Company, which had been projected some years before, but left in a 
languishing condition by reason of financial embarrassment and the opposi- 
tion of rival cities. This line was completed in 1874, and in June, 1875, was 
leased to the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe, \Vhich eventually absorbed it. 
The Santa Fe system also operates the Leavenworth, Topeka & Southwestern 
road, which it jointly owns with the Union Pacific. The extent of the Santa 
Fe system, and its importance to Topeka, is shown by the fact that it employs 
more than 2,000 men in its various shops, and 800 in its general offices, at 
this point. The local pay-roll of the road exceeds $1,000,000 a year, and the 
product of its Topeka shops will average in value more than $2,000,000 a 
year. 

ROCK ISLAND. 

Topeka is also the Western headquarters of the great Rock Island rail- 
way system. This road was extended from St. Joseph to Topeka in 1887, 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 155 

and later by three lines across the State, to Oklahoma, Indian Territory and 
Texas ; to Denver, Colorado Springs and Pueblo ; and to the Mexican border 
at El Paso. The Rock Island also maintains a train service between Topeka 
and Kansas City over the Union Pacific tracks. The Rock Island may well 
be called one of the great trunk lines of the West, and Topeka is one of its 
principal business points. A fine passenger station at the intersection of 
Kansas and First avenues is also the headquarters of the division and of the 
local officers of the road. The company employs a force of 100 men at 
Topeka, and the number is being increased from year to year. 

MISSOURI PACIFIC. 

Topeka is connected with the Missouri Pacific system by means of a branch 
line built in 1886 from Fort Scott to Topeka. It opened a rich farming coun- 
try tributary to Topeka and increased the transportation facilities of the 
capital city to a needed and important extent. The stations immediately south 
of Topeka are Berryton, Tevis, Richland, Overbrook, Michigan Valley and 
Lomax. Connection is made at the last named point with the main line of 
the Missouri Pacific extending from the Missouri River to Colorado. 

MANUFACTURING INDUSTRIES. 

Without claiming to be a great manufacturing center, Topeka has a 
number of extensive and well-known manufacturing concerns, of which the 
milling industry is the most important. The principal institutions are the 
Central Mill and Elevator, Crosby Roller Milling Company, Farmers' Ex- 
change Mill, Gyrator Mills, Inter-Ocean Mills, Kansas Valley Cereal Mill, 
Mid-Continent Mills, Shawnee Milling Company and Topeka Milling Com- 
pany. The combined capacity of the several mills is 4,500 barrels of flour a 
day. Topeka's proximity to the great wheat belt of Kansas and the splendid 
shipping facilities make it one of the leading flour markets of the United 
States. The mills employ 175 persons, and the total product of the industry 
in 1904 amounted to $4,000,000. 

The Charles Wolff Packing Company, an independent company em- 
ploying 200 men, did a business in 1904 aggregating nearly $2,000,000. Two 
creamery companies, the Continental Creamery Company and the Topeka 
Pure Milk Company, did a business amounting to $2,773,850 and gave em- 
ployment to 108 men and 64 women. There are three cold storage plants, — 
the Topeka Ice & Cold Storage Company, the Continental Creamery Com- 
pany and Seymour & Company, — which reported a total business of nearly 
$1,000,000 last year. The combined printing and book-binding product for 



156 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

the year 1904 amounted to over $800,000, giving employment to 500 persons, 
who received wages amounting to $350,000. The total value of all manu- 
factured products for the year 1904 was $16,752,540, the number of firms 
engaged in manufacturing, 345; total capital invested, $7,273,129; number 
of employees, — male 5,379, females 1,080; total annual wages paid, $3,224,- 
427; value of material used, $10,000,000. 



COMMERCE AND FINANCE. 

Topeka has 30 wholesale and jobbing houses, whose total business in 
1904 amounted to $17,000,000; the total retail business was $7,000,000. 
There are 22 builders and contractors in the city, value of wor£ last year, 
$924,000, and wages paid, $252,000. The product of the lighting and heat- 
ing plants in 1904 was $431,700, employees, 206, and wages paid, $123,700. 
The six planing mills employed 200 men, paying $100,000 in wages, and 
yielding a product of $300,000. 

The banking institutions of the city are the following : Bank of Topeka, 
capital $210,000; Central National Bank, capital $250,000; Citizens' State 
Bank, capital $25,000; First National Bank, capital $300,000; Merchants' 
National Bank, capital $100,000; Shawnee State Bank, capital $60,000; 
State Savings Bank, capital $25,000. The several banks have a total capital 
of $970,000, a total surplus of $281,518, and total deposits amounting to 
$6,000,000. 

PUBLIC UTILITIES. 

Topeka owns its own water-works system, recently purchased at a cost 
of $620,000, and its own street lighting plant, installed at a cost of $150,000. 
In the year 1900 the city built a public auditorium which cost $100,000, 
seats 4,000 people, and provides offices for the city government and quarters 
for the Fire Department. The building has a frontage of 350 feet, and is 
equipped with a four-manual pipe organ which cost $15,000. 

Two telephone systems, the Independent Telephone Company and the 
Missouri & Kansas Telephone Company, provide the city with 5,000 tele- 
phones, and afford long distance connections with all important points in 
Kansas and the leading cities of other States. There are 38 miles of paved 
streets — granite, asphalt and vitrified brick. The Topeka Railway Company 
operates T,y miles of street railway, reaching all parts of the city, the princi- 
pal suburbs and Vinewood and Garfield parks. Topeka is well provided wnth 
light, heat and power by the Edison Illuminating Company and the Excelsior 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 157 

Coke & Gas Company. A pipe line is now being constructed from the gas 
fields of Southern Kansas, which will provide the city with natural gas before 
the close of the year 1905. 

PLEASURE PLACES. 

The public play-ground and recreation system of Topeka is embraced in 
the following parks : Central, City, Chesney, Gage, Holliday, Huntoon, Gar- 
field and Vinewood, well distributed throughout the city and convenient of 
access by trolley lines. The improvement and promotion of the park interest 
is in charge of a pubhc commission composed of M. A. Low, Edward Wilder, 
M. C. Holman, A. B. Quinton and J. P. Griswold. A new organization under 
the name of the Topeka Country Club, with 200 members and a capital stock 
of $25,000, will in the near future provide ample grounds near the city for 
golf links, tennis courts and other forms of outdoor amusement. The Topeka 
Base Ball Park and Washburn Athletic Park afford excellent facilities for 
athletic sports, and riding and driving exhibitions are well provided for on 
the Shawnee County Fair Grounds. In connection with the subject of parks 
it may be added that the entire residence district of Topeka is an umbrageous 
forest of stately elms and glowing maples, 

— With seats beneath the shade 
For talking age and whispering lovers made. 

The property assessment of the city for 1904, upon a one-third valuation 
was as follows: Real estate, $8,425,450; personal property, $2,348,070; 
railroad property, $501,900; total, $11,275,420. Bonded, indebtedness — city 
at large $525,600; internal improvement, $514,800; sewer and drain bonds, 
$52,388. The general revenue fund of the city for the last year amounted 
to $106,399.63; the general improvement fund, $102,629.56; school tax levy, 
including building, interest and sinking funds, $180,426.72. 

CITY GOVERNMENT. 

The present city government of Topeka is composed of the following 
officers, elective and appointive: Mayor, William H. Davis; president of 
Council, L. A. Ryder; clerk, J. H. Squires; attorney, Frank G. Drenning; 
treasurer, M. M. Hale ; physician, H. B. Hogeboom ; fire marshal. George O. 
Wilmarth; chief of police, A. G. Goodwin; food inspector, W. H. Gilfillan; 
license collector, R. F. Clough; plumbing inspector, E. A. Chaney; superin- 
tendent of water-works, Jesse Shaw; police judge, S. S. Urmy; engineer, 
James F. McCabe; police matron, Laura E. Thorpe; commissioner of elec- 



1=^8 



HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 



tions, Charles H. Titus; street commissioner, James Ramsey; superintendent 
of electric light, H. K. Goodrich; weighmaster, O. A. Peck; councilmen — 
First Ward, L. A. Ryder and F. B. Simms ; Second Ward, Charles K. Holli- 
day and Joseph Griley; Third Ward, William Green and Fred E. Nipps; 
Fourth Ward, S. S. Rice and C. W. Horn; Fifth Ward, Samuel T. Howe 
and J. C. Shimer; Sixth Ward, J. W. F. Hughes and S. A. Swendson. 

Mayors. — Since the organization of the city the following persons have 
been elected to the office of mayor, for the years named : Loring Farnsworth, 
1858-59; Lorenzo Dow, 1859; Cyrus K. Holliday, 1859-60; Hiram W. 
Farnsworth, 1860-61; Harris Foster Otis, 1861-62; Noah W. Cox, 1862-63; 
Joseph F. Cummings, 1863-64; Samuel H. Fletcher, 1864-65; William W. 
Ross, 1865-66; Ross Burns, 1866-67; Cyrus K. Holliday, 1867-68; Orrin T. 
Welch, 1868-69; Cyrus K. Holliday, 1869-70; Josiah B. McAfee, 1870-71; 
Orrin T. Welch, 1871-74; Henry Bartling, 1874-75; Thomas J. Anderson, 
1875-77; Milton H. Case, 1877-81; Joseph C. Wilson, 1881-83; Bradford 
Miller, 1883-85; Roswell L. Cofran, 1885-87; Dkvid C. Metsker, 1887-89; 
Roswell L. Cofran, 1889-93; Thomas W. Harrison, 1893-95; Charles A. 
Fellows, 1895-99; Charles J. Drew, 1899-1901; J. W. F. Hughes, 1901- 
1902; Albert Parker, 1902-03; W. S. Bergundthal, 1903-05; William H. 
Davis, 1905 — . 

COMMERCIAL CLUB. 



A great factor in promoting the business growth and material interests 
of the city is the organization known as the Commercial Club of Topeka, 
of which Charles K. Holliday is president, T. F. Garver, vice-president, L. M. 
Penwell, treasurer, and Thomas J. Anderson, secretary. The membership roll 
of the Commercial Club for 1905 includes the following firms and indi- 
viduals : 



Adams Brothers, Printers and Publishers. 
Auerbach, H. A., Palace Clothing Company. 
American Steam Laundry. 
Austin & Hungate, Attorneys. 
Abrahams, John V., Lawyer. 
Auto Fedan Hay Press Company. 
Arnold, W. J., Architect. 

Bauer, A. D., Printer. 

Baumgartner, John, Merchant Tailor. 

Barns, T. L., Steward Elks Club. 

Black, W. J., General Passenger Agent, 
Santa Fe. 

Blaine, R. D., Real Estate, Loans and Col- 
lections. 

Beal, L. G., Loan Broker. 



Bowman, C. H., Topeka Desiccating Com- 
pany. 
Brigham, R. S., Street Car Advertising. 
Bischoff, Oscar, Capitalist. 
Barnum, S., Co., Dry Goods. 
Bird, W. A. S., Lawyer. 
Blakely, C. G., Insurance. 
Bowman, H. C, Insurance. 
Bates, A. H., Capitalist. 
Bergundthal, W. S., Real Estate. 
Betts, J. B., Contractor. 
Bromich, Joseph, Steam Boiler Works. 
Buffkin, J. A., Manufacturer. 
Brown, Milton, Lawyer. 
Bennett, A. H., Grain Commission. 
Butler, J. N., Signs. 




TOPEKA WOOLEN MILLS 







VEALE AND THOMPSON BLOCK 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



i6i 



Brown, Frank J., Financial Agent. 

Blitz, I. M., Jeweler. 

Bradshaw, George L., Harness and Sad- 
dlery. 

Bailey Brothers, Insurance, Real Estate and 
Steamship Agents. 

Burghart, George, Cigar Manufacturer. 

Crane & Company, Publishers, Printers and 
Binders. 

Crosby Brothers, Dry Goods, Carpets, Fur- 
niture, Shoes. 

Crosby, Warren M., Dry Goods, Shoes, etc. 

Capper, Arthur, Pres. Daily Capital, Prop. 
Mail and Breeze. 

Crane, D. O., Supt Topeka Cemetery Ass'n. 

Cuthbert & Sargent, Contractors. 

Capital City Vitrified Brick and Paving Co. 

Chicago Lumber Co. 

Chase, G. M. & Co., Shoes. 

Central National Bank. 

Coughlin Hardware Company. 

Currie Windmill Co. 

Continental Creamery Co. 

Cooper, John G., Capitalist. 

Combs, W. M., Chief Dispatcher, Santa Fe. 

Council, M., Contractor. 

Calkins, Charles R., Orchestra Director. 

Clemens, G. C, Lawyer. 

Clark, Elon S., Mgr. Mutual Life Ins. Co., 
New York. 

Chappelle, James, Prop., Copeland Hotel. 

Central Sash and Door Company. 

Conklin & Gustafson, Plumbers. 

Crawford, George M., Business Mgr. Mail 
Printing House. 

Crockett, J. E., Dry Goods. 

Grain, Ralph W., Mgr. Remington Type- 
writer Co. 

Colville, J. P., Photographer. 

Campbell, Dr. A. C, Oculist. 

Durell & Cummings, Proprietors Oxford 

Hotel. 
Davis, W. L., Parkhurst-Davis Mercantile 

Company. 
Devlin, Charles J., Pres. Mt. Carmel Coal Co. 
Dudley, John, Ranchman. 
Dun, R. G. & Co., Commercial Agency. 
Dougherty, George E., Shorthand School. 
Dreisbach & Wallace, Groceries and Meats. 

Elliott, Charles S., Shawnee Insurance 
Agency. 

8 



Excelsior Coke & Gas Company. 

Edison Electric Illuminating Co., Heat, 

Power, Light. 
Edson, Frank P., Plumbing and Steam 

Heating. 
Embree, Rev. A. S. 
Eagle, Charles S., Wholesale and Retail 

Cigars. 
Emerson, Z. A., Manager Postal Telegraph 

Company. 
Evans, Clinton J., Attorney. 
Elliott, E. T., Manager Grand Union Tea 

Company. 

Felix & Sons, Clothes Store for Men. 

Fleishman, S. M., Topeka Pants Co. 

First National Bank. 

Fellows, C. A., Contractor. 

Findlay, George W., Special Agent Mass. 

Mut. Life Ins. Co. 
Frost, John E., Real Estate, etc. 
Foster, Frank H., Lawyer. 
Freeman, F. W., Vice-President Merchants' 

National Bank. 
Ferry & Doran, Lawyers. 
Forbes, D. H., Hardware. 
Foote, C. E., Financial Broker. 

Godard, A. A., Attorney, President State 
Savings Bank. 

Greenwald, D. J. 

Green, William & Sons, Groceries and 
Meats. 

Guthrie, John, Postmaster. 

Glenn, H. H., "The Fair." 

Gavitt, W. W., Medical Company, Manu- 
facturing Chemists. 

Guild, Charles W., Marble and Granite 
Works. 

Gleed, Charles S., Attorney. 

Garver & Larimer, Lawyers. 

Griley & Griley, Capital Barber Shop. 

Guild, E. B., Music Co., Pianos, Organs and 
Musical Mdse. 

Garvey, H. O., Manager Massachusetts Mu- 
tual Life Ins. Co. 

Guibor, Charles R., Shirt Manufacturer. 

Grear, Frank, New Era Department Store. 

Goodwin, A. G., Automobiles. 

Garvey, W. C, Freight Agent, Santa Fe. 

Heinz, Peter, Capitalist. 
Hanley & Ritchie, Contractors. 



l62 



HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 



Henderson, M. D., Real Estate. 
Hubbard, C. E., Hardware and Seeds. 
Howe, Samuel T., Manager Missouri & 

Kansas Telephone Co. 
Hall Lithographing Company. 
Heery, Michael, Contractor. 
Holman, M. C, President Western Woolen 

Mill Co. 
Hammel, George M., Merchant Tailor. 
Heil, Peter & Sons, Dairy Supplies. 
Hayden, James B., Jeweler and Oculist. 
Holland & Squires, Architects. 
Howard, H. B., Sporting Goods and Ma- 
chine Shop. 
Horn, E., Planing Mill. 
Holliday, C. K., President Excelsior Coke 

& Gas Company. 
Hankla, T. J., Proprietor Fifth Avenue 

Hotel. • 

Hutton, W. W., General Secretary Railway 

Conductors. 
Horsfield, Thomas, Meat Market. 
Harvey, A. M., Lawyer, 
Hayden, R. F., Probate Judge. 
Hulse, Hiram, Florist. 
Hurley, J. E., General Manager, Santa Fe. 
Herron & Middaugh, Clothing and Shoes. 
Hollcraft, M. E., Florist. 
Hamilton, Charles B., Proprietor Hotel 

Throop. 
Hodgins, Fred H., Sixth Avenue Pharmacy. 
Hagan, Eugene, Lawyer. 

Jones, J. K.J Paints and Glass. 

Jordan, E. P., Electrical Construction and 

Supplies. 
Judd, Dr. C. E. 
Jones, George H., Agent U. S. Express 

Company. 
Jones Dry Goods Company. 

Kuehne, Otto, Proprietor Kuehne Preserv- 
ing Works. 

Kane, A. S., Manager Crawford Opera 
House. 

Kaczynski, Vincent, Wood, Coal and Feed. 

Knights and Ladies of Security, Fraternal 
Insurance. 

Kansas Book Company, School Books. 

Keizer, Dell, General Manager Topeka 
Daily Herald. 

Kistler-Metzler Mercantile Co., Wholesale 
Grocers. 



Kansas Farmer Company, Publishers Kan- 
sas Farmer. 

Klingaman, A. C, Druggist. 

Kelly & Kelly, Bond Attorneys and Brokers. 

Keith, Dr. H. H. 

Koontz, J. R., General Freight Agent, Santa 
Fe. 

King, J. J., Attorney and Real Estate. 

Kohl, Chas. W., Proprietor Kohl's Phar- 
macy. 

Kraushaar, Henry F., Proprietor Royal 
Bakery. 

Kinney, John J., Sec. Coughlin Hardware 
Company. 

Klauer, Herman, Tobacco and Cigars. 

Kellar, N. E., Contractor. 

King, W. E., Assistant City Engineer. 

King, Thomas L., Ticket Agent, Santa Fe. 

Kutz, Charles H., Teacher. 

Klinge, William, Merchant Tailor. 

Lake, W. F., Druggist. 

Leahey, Daniel, Contractor. 

Lewis, F. A., Agent Pacific Express Co. and 

U. P. Ry. 
Longaker, Amos, Contractor. 
Lytle, J. F., Wells Fargo & Co. Express. 
Low, M. A., General Attorney, Rock Island. 
Lindsay, W. S., Physician and Surgeon. 
Loomis, Blair & Scandrett, Attorneys at 

Law. 
Lindsey, H. C, Prop. Fashion Stables. 
Lucas, A. T., Sheriff Shawnee County. 
Lux, Philip, Retired Farmer. 
Lux, Samuel E., Commission Merchant. 
Lee. 'E. S., Druggist. 
Lewis, Charles W., Provident Savings Life 

Insurance Company. 
Lyman & Lyman, Dentists. 
Lord, John E., Mgr. Mutual Benefit Life 

Insurance Company. 

Mulvane, Joab, Pres. Edison Electric Illu- 
minating Co. 

Mulvane, John R,, Pres. Bank of Topeka. 

Mulvane & Gault, Attorneys. 

MacLennan, Frank P., Editor and Prop. 
State Journal. 

Miller, W. I., Lumber. 

Moore, J. E., Mgr. Symns Grocer Company. 

Moore, C. A., Manufacturer. 

Montgomery, E., "Star Grocery." 

Montgomery, H. S., Gen. Watch Inspector, 
Santa Fe. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



163 



McEntire Brothers, Mattress Manufacturers 
and Spring Beds. 

Mid-Continent Mills, Flour and Mill Stuffs. 

Iilerchants' Transfer Company. 

McAfee, Henry W., Stockman. 

McClintock, Dr. J. C, Physician and Sur- 
geon. 

Myers, C. W., Groceries and Meats. 

MacDowell, E. B., Office Supplies. 

Miller, W. S., Prop. Miller's Pharmacy. 

Matthews & Drechsel Shoes. 

McCormick, O., Rug Factory. 

MacDonald, John, Editor and Prop. West- 
ern School Journal. 

McCabe, James F., City Engineer. 

Merriam Mortgage Co., Real Estate Mort- 
gages. 

Massey, Arthur, Horse Shoer. 

Morehouse, R. H., Watch Inspector, Santa 
Fe. 

Morrison, James E., M. D. 

Monroe & Schoch, Attorneys at Law. 

Mills, A. M., Vice-Pres. The Mills Dry 
Goods Co. 

McKeever, J. R., Furniture, Carpets, etc. 

Maxwell, William A., Vinewood Stone Co. 

McManus, John F., Gas Expert. 

Mullin, A. B., Meats. 

Morrison, C. H., Jeweler. 

Maxwell, John, Contractor. 

McCaslin, C. L., Contractor. 

Milligan, William, Loan Agent. 

Mize, L. D., Barber. 

McKnaught, J. F., Transfer. 

Neil, George, Pres. Topeka Woolen Mill 
Co. 

Norton, Jon. D., Sec, and Asst. Treas. Mt. 
Carmel Coal Co. 

Newland, F. M., Groceries and Meat Mar- 
ket. 

Noble, George M. & Co., Fin. Agents, Real 
Estate and Ins. 

Neiswanger, W. A., Mgr. Capital Real Es- 
tate Co. 

Newman, A., County Clerk. 

Nipps, F. E., Agent Missouri Pacific. 

O'Neil, Edward L., Bookkeeper. 

Ott, S. S., Real Estate, 

Osborn, W. L., Mgr. Topeka Desiccating Co. 

Poindexter, E. W., Gen. Agt. Northw. 
Mutual Life Ins. Co. 



Philips & Chaney, Real Estate. 

Parkhurst-Davis Mer. Co., Wholesale Gro- 
cers. 

Prescott, F. M., Real Estate. 

Plass, Dr. Norman, Pres. Washburn Col- 
lege. 

Penny, George B., Dean Fine Arts Dept. 
Washburn College. 

Plank, M. C, Contractor. 

Penwell, L. M., Undertaker. 

Quail, William L., Stockman. 
Quinton & Quinton, Lawyers. 

Roudebush, Emmett E., Real Estate, Loans 

and Insurance. 
Redden, A. L., Lawyer. 
Robinson, Marshall & Co., Clothing and 

Fupiishings. 
Robinson, A. A., Pres. Mexican Central 

Railroad. 
Reinisch, A., Superintendent City Parks. 
Rees, B. L., General Agent International 

Harvester Co. 
Roehr, W. F., Music Co., Pianos, Organs, 

and Musical Instruments. 
Reynolds & Childers, Props. Topeka Pan- 

tatorium. 
Ruff, W. H., Pension Office. 
Roof, C. H.. Grocer. 
Rodman, J. E., Florist. 
Roediger & Son, Dyeing and Cleaning 

Works. 
Radges, Sam, Publisher "Topeka City Di- 
rectory." 
Rinner & Warren, Tin Shop. 
R,obinson, F. A., Manager Fox Typewriter 

Co. 

Sells, Wm., Sells & Forepaugh Shows. 
Sterne, W. E., County Commissioner. 
Switzer, John F., Attorney. 
Strickler, L. H., Principal Topeka Business 

College. 
Schich, William, Mfr. & Jobber, Mattress & 

Iron Beds, Couches. 
Stephenson, W. C, Real Estate, Loans, and 

Fire Insurance. 
Stansfield, George W., Druggist. 
Smith, James C, Hides and Tallow. 
Shawnee Building & Loan Association. 
Standard Oil Company. 
Stewart, Dr. S. G. 
Squires, J. H., City Clerk. 



1 64 



HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 



Strauss Agency, Real Estate, etc. 

Sullivan, James D., Art Store. 

Saxon, Theodore, Farmer. 

Steves, F. M., & Sons, Printers and Pub- 
lishers. 

Scrinopskie, Albert, Prop. Fitwell Shoe 
Company. 

Snyder, C. W. & Son, Bankers. 

Scott, C. L., Cremerie Restaurant. 

Stump, Albert D., Meat Market. 

Sheard & Logan, Western Baseball Asso- 
ciation. 

The Southwestern Fuel Co., Coal. 

Thompson, W. A. L., Wholesale Hardware. 

The Topeka Trunk Factory. 

Topeka Laundry Co. 

Topeka Water Co. 

Topeka Railway Co. 

The Exchange Grocery Co. 

Trapp, C. T., Merchant Tailor. 

The Mills Dry Goods Co. 

The State Savings Bank. 

The Ewart Lumber Co. 

The A. B. Whiting Paint & Glass Co. 

Thomas, J., Lumber Co. 

Topeka Milling Co. 

Troutman & Stone, Lawyers. 

Thurston & Van Kirk, Abstracters. 

Thurston, J. W., Cashier Bank of Topeka. 

Trapp, Charles H., Printer. 

Topeka Pure Milk Co. 

Thompson, E. W., Mgr. National Life Ins. 

Co., Vermont. 
Taylor, W. L., Pres. Taylor Grain Co. 
Topeka Independent Telephone Co. 
The People's Ice & Fuel Co. 
Taylor, R. E., Groceries and Meat Market. 
Topeka City Troop. 
Topeka Bridge & Iron Mfg. Co. 
Topeka Transfer Co. 
Taylor, Dr. W. T. 

Van Ostrand, Byron D., Gen'l Agent, Pru- 
dential Insurance Co. 



Van VIeck & Co., Wall Paper. 

Van Valkenburg, M. W., State Agt. Liver- 
pool, London & Globe. 

Van Dorp, Louis, Cornice and Sheet Metal 
Works. 

Valentine, H. E., Lawyer. 

i 
Wagner, George, Editor Kansas Democrat. 

Wilson, A. P. Tone, Jr., Real Estate and 
Lawyer. 

Wilson, Anthony P., Kansas Collection 
Agency. 

Wilder, E., Treasurer, Santa Fe. 

Wolff, Chas., Packing Co. 

Woolverton, L. S., Druggist. 

Wright, John M., Deputy County Treasurer. 

Warner & Potter, Agric. Implements, Car- 
riages and Wagons. 

White Star Laundry. 

Weber, W. F., Groceries. 

Wood, C. L., Prop. National Hotel. 

Waters, John C, Lawyer. 

Webster-Tulloch Coal Co. 

Willis Norton & Co., Inter-Ocean Mills. 

Webb & Nichols, Real Estate, Insurance 
and Loans. 

Wood, L. M., Architect. 

Western Woolen Mill Co. 

Wilson, Richard, Conductor, Santa Fe. 

Whitcomb, Geo. H., Lawyer. 

Wood, J. G., Receiver U. S. Land Office. 

Wear, Norman S., Wear Coal Co. 

Walker, Fred T., Drugs and Photo Sup- 
plies. 

Wilson, Carey J., Insurance. 

Ware, E. F., Lawyer. 

Williams, A. F., Lawyer. 

Young, Clarence, Drugs. 

Zercher Book & Stationery Co. 
Zanditon Company, Men's and Women's 

Clothing. 
Zahner, A,, Mortgage Loans. 
Zeis, Burg E., Retired Merchant. 



CHAPTER XV. 

The Decade from 1880 to 1890 — Results of the Boom — Territory Added to 
the City — Population for Fifty Years — Immigration from the South — 
Prohibitory Liquor Laws and Their Enforcement — Early Work in Be- 
half of Temperance — Activity of Women in Civic Affairs. 

From 1880 to 1890 was another very prosperous decade in the history 
of Topeka. During that period an era of unexampled activity in real estate 
transactions and all branches of business set in, culminating in the great 
boom of 1886-88. The boom proved to be a splendid thing for Topeka, but 
a very unfortunate one for the private fortunes of most of her citizens. 
Property values soared far beyond reasonable bounds, and the collapse of it 
all at the end not only caused the failure of many enterprising firms and indi- 
viduals but gave the city a temporary setback from which it was slow in 
recovering. In the year 1886 there were 23 new additions platted and thrown 
upon the market, some of them two miles distant from the former extreme 
limits of the city. The real estate transfers averaged $30,000 a day, or 
$600,000 a month, and were more than those of any other Western city. The 
bank clearings averaged more than $1,000,000 a month. This period of 
advancement continued through the years 1887 and 1888, with a steady 
increase. In the year 1888 it is estimated that 3,000 new buildings were 
erected, at a total cost of $3,000,000. One firm, Bartholomew & Norton, 
built 315 residences in the several additions which they laid out. Forty-five 
blocks of street pavement, equivalent to four miles, were laid in that year, 
at an expense of $375,000. Twelve miles of sewers and five miles of brick 
sidewalks were laid, a $35,000 viaduct built, and an electric light plant in- 
stalled, the total expenditure for public improvements being $598,000. The 
bank clearings for the year reached the high figure of $17,000,000 and the 
real estate transfers aggregated $7,879,569. 

Some of the prominent buildings erected in that year were : The Joseph 
Black building (Oxford Hotel), electric power station. Hotel Throop, Para- 
more Block (North Topeka), Crawford's Flats, Clugston's residence block, 
George H. Evans' residence block. Sells Building, Chesterfield Hotel, Edison 



i66 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

electric light plant, Crawford office block, Columbian Building, Episcopal 
Guild Hall, First Presbyterian Manse, Hammatt Building, Thompson Block, 
Thatcher Building, and the private residences of Joseph C. Wilson, M. Snat- 
tinger, David L. Lakin, John Brier, J. W. Davis and John E. Frost. The 
cotton mill and the sugar works were also Topeka enterprises of 1888, and 
the Martin's Hill investment by Boston capitalists was made in the same year. 

I 

A GROWING CITY. 

The number of city additions platted in that year was 69, most of which 
were rapidly settled. It was in that year that the greater part of the lots 
in Potwin Place and Oakland were disposed of. Potwin Place was bought in 
1869 by Charles W. Potwin, of Zanesville, Ohio, for $14,400. It comprised 
a tract of 70 acres northwest from the central part of Topeka. He platted it 
into 80 lots, each 122 feet front by 205 feet deep, laid out beautiful drives 
with circular parks, and planted a large number of shade trees. In selling 
lots he made a condition that no residence should be built costing less than 
$2,000. Most of the lots were disposed of in 1888, and most of the resi- 
dences cost much more than the stipulated figure. It is estimated that Mr. 
Potwin made $140,000 profit on his investment. There are probably 600 
persons living in Potwin Place at this time, and it is a most attractive and 
desirable suburb. 

Oakland is in the northeastern part of the city, in the railroad shop 
district, and contains a population of 500, a majority of them owning their 
own houses, ranging in cost from $1,500 to $5,000. Oakland now has a 
separate municipal organization, having been incorporated as a city of the 
third class in 1903. The present city officers are: Mayor, F. A. Brigham; 
treasurer, F. E. Jordan; clerk, B. W. Steinhour; police judge, B. P. Wil- 
liams; marshal, Egbert B. Wilson; street commissioner, C. G. Sherer; 
assistant marshal, A. W. Sherer; councilmen, — G. H. Ensign, Charles M. 
Stockham, A. J. VanSant, Oscar W. Neil and N. E. Copeland. 

Other additions which were active in the year 1887-88 were: Lowman 
Hill, Highland Park, Quinton Heights, Euclid Park, Ladies' Addition, 
Veal's Addition, Orchard Hill, College Hill, Martin & Dennis' Addition, 
West Side, Washburn Place, Cottage Grove, Auburndale, Knox' Addition, 
Fair View, Wilder's Addition, Boston Heights, Seabrook, Brooklyn Heights, 
Steele's Addition, Franklin Park, Orchard Highlands, Bel! View, Crystal 
Springs, Deer Park, Brentwood, Kaw Reserve, East Hill, South Park and 
Chicago Heights — the last named "heights" being a flat piece of raw 
prairie, nine miles out. Some of these additions eventually came into neigh- 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 167 

borly affinity with the city of Topeka, but many of them lapsed with alacrity 
into aromatic clover beds and fields of forgiving daisies. 

POPULATION BY YEARS. 

Following the experience of boom days, Topeka settled down to legiti- 
mate business, and there has been no reverse or cessation of growth in any 
of the succeeding years. The population of the city is shown in the following 
statement covering a period of 50 years : 

1855 408 1880 15.528 

1856 432 1881 16,240 

1857 507 1882 21,562 

1858 512 1883 22,425 

1859 700 1884 22,693 

i860 759 1885 23,499 

1861 600 1886 25,005 

1862 -. 670 1887 29,973 

1863 86s 1888 34,199 

1864 990 1889 35,622 

1865 1,310 1890 31,809 

1866 2,020 1891 33,247 

1867 2,810 1892 33,685 

1868 ; 3,120 1893 31,422 

1869 3,465 1894 30,724 

1870 5,790 1895 30,151 

1871 7,355 1896 31,612 

1872 9,220 1897 31,842 

1873 8,770 1898 32,651 

1874 6,865 1899 35,365 

1875 7,272 1900 36,782 

1876 7,863 1901 38,067 

1877 8,496 1902 38,809 

1878 9,003 1903 38,952 

1879 1 1,204 1904 39,149 

The effect of the unhealthy boom to which reference has been made is 
shown in the loss of population in the year 1890. A partial recovery of this 
loss was made in the two succeeding years, when the depression of 1893 set 
in, and during the ensuing three years there was another slump in population. 
One of the principal causes of the decrease in the years 1893, 1894 and 1895 
was the removal of several hundred of the citizens of Topeka to the new 
Territory of Oklahoma, then being thrown open to settlement. This new field 
was especially attractive to the colored people, who at that time constituted 
a large factor in the population of Topeka. In the year 1880 it was estimated 



i68 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

that one-third of the population of the city was of the colored race, a propor- 
tion much larger than obtained in most of the leading cities of the South. 

THE EXODUS. 

In explanation of this fact, it should be stated that for many years 
various inducements had been held out to the negro of the South to find 
homes in Kansas. Conventions were held in different sections of the South 
in 1878 and 1879, at which the proposition of removal to the North and West 
was earnestly considered by the blacks. The result was a general hegira to 
Kansas. It started in April, 1879, and by August ist fully 7,000 refugees 
had arrived in this State, many of them stopping at Topeka. It became 
necessary to establish barracks in North Topeka for the purpose of sheltering 
and caring for the refugees. To meet this condition the Kansas Freedmen's 
Relief Association was formed, composed of Governor John P. St. John, 
president; John Francis, P. I. Bonebrake, Albert H. Horton, Cassius G. 
Foster, James Smith, J. C. Hebbard, Willard Davis, Noah C. McFarland, 
Thomas W. Henderson and A. B. Jetmore. Under the direction of this 
organization, colonies were located in Wabaunsee, Graham, Morris and 
Hodgeman counties, but at least 3,000 of the refugees remained in Topeka. 

The exodus movement continued through the years 1879 ^^'^ 1880, 
adding at least 40,000 men, women and children to the population of Kansas. 
During the first year of their residence the sum of $150,000 was contributed 
from different parts of the country for their support. The refugees came from 
Mississippi, Texas, Tennessee, Louisiana, Georgia and Alabama. Those who 
settled in Topeka were principally from Mississippi and Tennessee. Additional 
school buildings were constructed for the accommodation of the children, 
and night schools were established for the benefit of the adults. Most of 
them were field hands, but they adapted themselves to their new condition and 
found employment as mechanics, laborers, teamsters, and in various other 
branches of industry. A settlement was built up in the western part of the 
city called "Tennesseetown," where many of them continue to reside, although 
a considerable number emigrated to Oklahoma at the time of the opening. 

PROHIBITION. 

It is not an extravagant claim to make that there are young men in 
Topeka of voting age who can truthfully declare that they have never seen a 
saloon sign, a public bar or any other evidence of a place where intoxicating 
liquor is sold. There is not at this time, nor has there been since 1885, a 
single open saloon in the city of Topeka. The amendment to the State con- 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 171 

stitution prohibiting the manufacture and sale of liquor was submitted by the 
Legislature of 1879 to a vote of the people, which was had at the general 
election of 1880. It was adopted by a majority of 8,998, the vote for the 
amendment being 93,302, and against, 84,304. The amendment, as adopted, 
was written by a citizen of Topeka, Noah C. McFarland, at the request of a 
mass meeting of temperance workers held on February 7, 1879, in Topeka. 
Upon the adoption of the amendment, the Legislature of 1881 enacted a law 
making it effective May i, 1881. There was considerable difficulty in enforc- 
ing the constitutional provision at first, and succeeding Legislatures enacted 
several laws to carry it into effect, notably the Murray drug-store law, the 
metropolitan police law and the Hurrell search and seizure law. The mietro- 
politan police law was subsequently repealed. It is undeniable that there have 
been many infractions of the law throughout the State, and in some localities 
it is totally ignored, but in Topeka it has been as well enforced as most other 
statutes of restraint. It was not until 1885 that its strict enforcement was 
accomplished in Topeka. At the beginning of that year there were probably 
100 saloons in the city. All were closed within 60 days, and since that time 
no open saloons have existed. The question of prohibition has been a source 
of endless contention and litigation, both in the city and the State, and Several 
attempts have been made to have the amendment submitted, so that the people 
might have an opportunity to express themselves as to its wisdom, but all 
such efforts have thus far proved futile. 

EARLY TEMPERANCE WORK. 

Topeka was the foe of liquor from the very beginning. A majority of 
its founders were strong advocates of temperance. When the Topeka Town 
Association adopted its first code of by-laws, March 12, 1855, the following 
provision was incorporated therein: 

"No member of this association shall be permitted to buy, sell or give 
away, where profit accrues, any intoxicating liquors of whatever kind, nor 
permit them to be bought, sold or given away, where profit accrues, upon his 
premises ; and the full force of this article shall attach in all its particulars to 
the entire shares which any member may sell, exchange, transfer, give away 
or make over by any process, to any other person whatever, and shall be so 
mentioned in any article or deed of sale which may hereafter be made in 
the exchange of city shares or parts of shares ; and further, the full force of 
this article shall attach in all its particulars to the city lots to be donated to 
actual settlers, and also to any interest now held by the Emigrant Aid Company 
in this city property: Provided, That nothing in this article shall be con- 
strued to prevent the sale and use of such liquors for medical, mechanical or 



172 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

sacramental purposes, under penalty of the forfeiture of the premises on 
which such sale, use or gift of liquors may be made, to the Topeka Associa- 
tion." 

In violation of this agreement, and in defiance of the well-known senti- 
ment of the little community, a saloon was opened on lower Kansas avenue 
in the spring of 1857, with all the necessary goods and appurtenances and 
sales were made for several days to Indians and whites without interruption. 
Finally, a mass meeting was called, presided over by Dr. S. E. Martin, at 
which resolutions of protest were passed, and a committee appointed to wait 
upon the offender and request him to discontinue the dramshop. The resolu- 
tions failed to produce the desired result and more rigorous measures were 
resorted to. The committee seized the barrels and kegs of liquors and rolled 
them out into the street, where they were destroyed. Not satisfied with this, 
the committee and their abettors visited other places in the town where it was 
suspected that liquor was kept for sale, and a wholesale destruction of the 
inhibited article ensued. Liquors to the amount of $1,500 in value were 
disposed of in this way. The local paper, the Kansas Trihiine, in commenting 
upon the affair, said : "The liquor spilling was participated in by a large 
number of our most prominent and highly respected citizens, and, what is 
equally important, with the entire approval of the ladies." 

The above incident transpired July 11, 1857. On the occasion of the 
first picnic in Topeka, held May 17, 1855, -when a number of toasts were given 
and responded to, this one is recorded : "The Maine Law — May it be to 
Topeka what the main pillar is to the Temple of Liberty; having its founda- 
tion in the hearts of the people ; may the superstructure be such as shall with- 
stand the shafts of adversity untilits topmost stone shall be laid in triumph, 
crying grace! grace! unto it!" Harking back to 1855 and 1857, it is easy to 
discover the source from which Topeka inherited its intense prohibitory 
proclivities and its zeal for "smashing". 

Regular organizations are now maintained for the enforcement of the 
prohibitory liquor law, and to bring the offenders to punishment. Foremost 
•in this movement is the Kansas State Temperance Union, which has its head- 
quarters in Topeka, and employs lecturers to stimulafe the moral sentiment, 
and attorneys to conduct the militant campaign. The officers of this organiza- 
tion are : President, E. B. Cowgill ; vice-president, A. C. Pearce ; secretary. 
Rev. W L. Dexter; treasurer, William Macferran. 

HELP OF THE WOMEN. 

The women of Topeka play an important part in supporting prohibition 
and advancing the cause of temperance. They have the privilege of voting 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 173 

at municipal and school elections, and in most instances take an active interest 
in the campaigns for municipal officers, their influence often controlling the 
result. The women have always been a power in the governmental affairs 
of Topeka, and many of the local reforms and public improvements are due 
to their efforts. The beautifying and decorating of school rooms, the in- 
auguration of manual training, the preservation of historic landmarks, the 
promotion of the musical and artistic interests of the city, the establishing of 
traveling libraries and traveling art displays, and many kindred movements 
for civic betterment, are due to the wisdom and perseverance of the women 
of Topeka. 



CHAPTER XVI. 

Public Institutions and Buildings, Federal, State and Municipal — Post Office 
Locations and Postmasters — City Hall and Auditorium — Free Public 
Library — Charitable Associations and Hospitals — Halls and Opera 
Houses — Prominent Hotels and Their History — Political and Social 
Incidents — The Topeka Cemeteries. 

Of the public buildings of Topeka, the State Capitol is the most extensive 
and conspicuous. The location is central, the grounds spacious and taste- 
fully adorned with trees, shrubbery and flower gardens, through which are 
wide and well-kept drives and walks. The lofty and graceful dome of the 
building, rising above all other spires and eminences within its radius, can be 
seen for many miles in either direction from the city, and forms an object 
from which local distances and directions are measured. 

HOSPITAL FOR THE INSANE. 

Two miles from the city, near the Kansas River, are the buildings of the 
Kansas Hospital for the Insane. This institution was located here in 1877, 
and the first of the buildings erected in 1878, the citizens of Topeka and 
Shawnee County donating the site of 80 acres, to which the State subse- 
quently added other tracts by direct purchase. The hospital was opened to 
patients in 1879, under the superintendency of Dr. D. B. Eastman. Since 
that time the State has expended more than $800,000 in the erection of build- 
ings and the purchase of additional land. The site now covers 360 acres, 
comprising farm divisions, pastures, orchards and one of the finest lawns in 
the State. More than 1,000 patients are accommodated in the group of brick 
and stone buildings, where every attention and comfort are provided. The 
general management is in the hands of the State Board of Control, appointed 
by the Governor. Dr. T. C. Biddle is the present superintendent, and has 
been unusually successful in managing the institution and maintaining its high 
standard of efficiency. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 175 

REFORM SCHOOL. 

The State Industrial School for Boys is located about three miles north 
from the Capitol, on a tract of 160 acres, purchased for that purpose by the 
city of Topeka and the county of Shawnee, and donated to the State. Build- 
ings were erected in 1880 and 1884, the first at a cost of $35,000 and the 
last at a cost of $43,000. The school was opened in 1881, with accommoda- 
tions for 100 boys. Additional buildings have increased the capacity of the 
institution to 350, the total expenditures being about $200,000. Since the 
school was established more than 2,000 boys have had the benefit of its train- 
ing and discipline. H. W. Charles is the present superintendent. 

THE FEDERAL BUILDING. 

The United States Custom House and Post Office was commenced under 
a contract awarded in January, 1879, for basement and area walls, and was 
completed and occupied March i, 1884, the cost of the construction being 
$286,058.24. The first purchase of land on account of this building was made 
in September, 1878, when 100 feet of ground fronting on Kansas avenue at 
the northeast corner of Fifth avenue was secured for $20,000, one-half of 
which was contributed by the citizens of Topeka. The first appropriation for 
structural work was obtained by Congressman Thomas Ryan. Additional 
land on the north was purchased in 1897 by the government for $25,000. 
Under act of Congress, passed in March, 1899, through the influence of Con- 
gressman Charles Curtis, an enlargement of the building was provided for 
at an expenditure of $85,000. At the same session of Congress another act 
was passed making a further provision for enlargement at a cost of 
$71,394.73. The entire cost of building, grounds, furnishings, elevator, 
tower clock and repairs has been about $550,000. White stone was used in 
the construction, and the building is one of the best in Kansas. It accom- 
modates the Post Office, Pension Office, the United States Circuit and Dis- 
trict courts, the United States Land Office and other Federal offices. 

Postmasters. — Thomas J. Anderson was the first postmaster to occupy 
the new building. Previous to that the office had been located in store build- 
ings in various parts of the city. In 1855 it was on Quincy street near 
Second, and later on the southeast corner of Kansas and Fifth avenues, 
directly across the street from its final location; in 1858 it was on the south- 
east corner of Kansas and Sixth avenues; in 1861-69 it occupied quarters at 
Nos. 147, 131 and 194 Kansas avenue, respectively, and at No. 104 East 
Sixth avenue — where it was burned out; in 1870 it was at No. 129 Kansas 
avenue, and again, in 1871, at No. 104 East Sixth avenue; in 1873 it was 



176 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

moved to the Crawford Opera House Block, in 1878 to No. 117 East Fifth 
avenue, and in 1880 to No. 136 Kansas avenue. The postmasters of Topeka 
and their terms of service are shown in tlie following list : Fry W. Giles, 
1855-57; E. C. K. Garvey, 1857-58; Charles C. Kellam, 1858-61; Samuel 
Fletcher, 1861-69; Hiram W. Earns worth, 1869-73; Henry King, 1873-81; 
Thomas J. Anderson, 1881-85; John Mileham, 1885-89; James L. King, 
1889-93; Frank S. Thomas, 1893; Andrew J. Arnold, 1893-97; John 
Guthrie, 1897-05. 

CITY HALL AND AUDITORIUM. 

A building in which the citizens of Topeka take great pride is the new 
City Hall and Auditorium, built in 1900 at a cost of $102,000. It is located 
on Quincy street, occupying a frontage of 300 feet between Seventh and 
Eighth streets. The City Hall and Fire Department are on the Seventh street 
corner, and the Auditorium connects on the south. In the Auditorium are 
held all the conventions that select Topeka as their meeting place, as well as 
all of the large local gatherings, lectures and concerts. For many years the 
city officers occupied leased quarters, generally the second floor of a store 
building, but in 1878 a City Hall was erected at the southwest corner of 
Kansas avenue and Seventh street, and the city became a landlord instead of 
a lessee, as the City Hall project included two business rooms on the first 
floor, which were readily rented at $1,000 each per annum. The total cost 
of the building and site was $38,000, and it was subsequently disposed of to 
the Knights and Ladies of Security for $40,000. The basement of the build- 
ing was fitted up as a city prison, but this plan was abandoned after three 
years trial and a new prison built at the northeast corner of Fifth and Jackson 
streets. 

CITY LIBRARY. 

In 1 88 1 the Union Pacific and Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe railroad 
companies joined in providing funds for the construction of the Topeka Free 
Public Library Building, stipulating that the location should be upon the 
block of ground known as Capitol Square. Permission was obtained from 
the Legislature to locate the library upon the State grounds, using a space 200 
feet square in the northeast corner of the square. The two railroad com- 
panies contributed $12,500 each for the library, which was built in 1882, the 
total cost being $44,000, the excess above $25,000 being loaned to the 
Library Association by prominent citizens who were friendly to the enter- 
prise. Direct contributions, in various sums and for various purposes, have 
been made by James D. Burr, C. W. Potwin and John R. Mulvane, of 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 179 

Topeka; C. C. Wheeler of Chicago, the late Barney Lantry of Cottonwood 
and others. The negotiations for the railroad donation were conducted by 
Edward Wilder, who has been president of the association since 1875. Mr. 
Wilder has also been a generous contributor to the artistic collections of the 
library, and has given time, money, labor, ability, patience and zeal to the 
upbuilding of all its departments. 

Founders of the Library. — Topeka's Free Public Library was founded 
by the Ladies' Library Association, which was organized November 12, 1878, 
with the following members : Mesdames Daniel M. Adams, Floyd P. Baker, 
W. S. Baker, Marcus Bosworth, E. B. Clarkson, Clara M. Crane, William 
Carpenter, George W. Crane, E. Chrisman, James Douglas, W. P. Douthitt, 
Esther F. Ekin, Hiram W. Farnsworth, John W. Farnsworth, George 
Geiger, Fry W. Giles, A. J. Huntoon, Benjamin Haywood, L. M. Higgins, 
C. H; Hayes, Joel Huntoon, Thomas L. King, Maria L. King, Ella King, 
Charles C. Kellam, S. S. Lawrence, F. A. Lighter, T. F. Leidigh, Thomas 
B. Mills, L. H. Merrill,, S. D. MacDonald, Noah C. Mcparland, Francis S. 
McCabe, H. C. Price, C. Reed, L. A. Rudisill, W. S. Rankin, H. A. Rain, 
Thomas Ryan, Irene A. Safford, Emma Swallow, James M. Spencer, Ann 
Eliza Sheldon, M. V. Snyder, O. P. Smith, Mary C. Todd, J. B. Thompson, 
E. W. Tweeddale, Shipman Thompson, E. O. Taylor, James Veale, Edward 
Wilder, M. E. Whitton, George Work, W. E. Webb, A. P. Wilder, S. 
Walley, Margaret Walker, M. A. Winchip, Orrin T. Welch, and Misses 
Anna Ekin, Mary Johnson, Jennie Kimber, Sarah Webb, Sara Petit, Sarah 
G. Wright, Nancy Smith, Harriet J. Wetmore and Fannie Woodard. 

The library now contains 20,000 volumes, with a circulation of 80,000 
books a year. Mrs. Evelyn S. Lewis is librarian. The board of directors is 
composed of John R. Mulvane, J. L. Shellabarger, J. P. Davis, C. F. Men- 
ninger, Eugene F. Ware, Charles S. Gleed, N. F. Handy, Harold T. Chase, 
M. A. Low, T. F. Garver, E. B. Merriam, Charles J. Devlin and Edvvard 
Wilder. The law under which the library was located provides that the 
Governor of the State, the Chief Justice, the Speaker of the House and the 
mayor of the city shall be ex officio directors. 

PROVIDENT ASSOCIATION. 

The Topeka Provident Association, the leading charitable organization 
of the city, recently came into possession of a permanent home through the 
generosity of Norris L. Gage, of Ashtabula, Ohio, who purchased and deeded 
to the association a two-story brick block at the northwest corner of Fourth 
and Jackson streets. Mr. Gage's contribution was $6,000 and an additional 
;$i,ooo has been spent in improvements. The building contains an ample 



i8o HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

number of rooms to accommodate the many different departments of the 
association. The Provident organization has charge of the systematic 
charitable work of Topeka. The departments include general relief, medical 
aid, employment, the boys' club, the girls' sewing club, mothers' club, nursery 
and kindergarten. Officers of the institution are: J. E. Nissley, president; 
Thomas Page, vice-president; Rev. O. S. Morrow, secretary; William Mac- 
ferran, treasurer; Dr. C. B. Van Horn, general secretary and physician in 
charge. 

orphans' home. 

The Topeka Orphans' Home, an organization chartered in 1889, owns 
a substantial building at the northeast corner of Third and Fillmore streets. 
Beneficiaries of the home are orphans and friendless and destitute children. 
It has cared for 1,500 children, an average of 100 a year, since its organiza- 
tion. It is supported by the city and county, and receives a small annual 
appropriation from the State. The value of the property is $7,000. Mrs. 
J. F. Daniels is president ; Mrs. M. J. Hunter and Mrs. C. E. Hawley, vice- 
presidents; Mrs. L. S. Wolverton, recording secretary; Mrs. M. E. Stewart, 
corresponding secretary; Mrs. William H. Davis, treasurer; and Dr. C. 
Hammond, house physician. 

HOME FOR AGED WOMEN. 

Ingleside, a home for aged women, is located at the corner of Huntoon 
and Tyler streets. It was established in 1886, and a building erected through 
the efforts of the public-spirited women of Topeka. In the year 1902 an addi- 
tional building was constructed, the expense of which was borne by Jonathan 
Thomas. The buildings are of great architectural beauty, and the interior 
appointments of the most cheerful and convenient character. Many of the 
venerable women who make Ingleside their home are contributors to its 
support, and others are cared for from the revenues of the association, to 
which the citizens of Topeka are liberal subscribers. The officers of the asso- 
ciation are: Mrs. Jonathan Thomas, president; Mrs. Joab Mulvane, ist vice- 
president; Mrs. M. A. Low, 2nd vice-president; Mrs. M. C. Hammatt, 
secretary; Mrs. George F. Penfield, treasurer; Mrs. Margaret Dowding, 
matron. 

HOSPITALS. 

There are six hospitals in the city, having a total capacity of 500. The 
largest is the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway Hospital, Sixth avenue 
and Jefferson street, occupying 10 acres of ground. The building cost 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. i8i 

$125,000, and is in charge of Dr. J. P. Raster, chief surgeon. It was built for 
the special care of employees of the railroad company, and accommodates 100 
patients. 

Christ's Hospital occupies a tract of 14 acres of ground in the western 
part of the city, and was founded by the late Bishop Thomas H. Vail, of the 
Kansas Diocese of the Protetstant Episcopal Church, in 1882, although the 
charter provides that the hospital shall be in no sense sectarian. Buildings 
were erected in 1883 and 1884, at a cost of $25,000, of which Bishop Vail 
contributed $7,000, and Mrs. Ellen S. Bowman Vail, $5,000. Bishop and 
Mrs. Vail obtained the additional $13,000 from friends living in Topeka and 
elsewhere. Through their instrumentality, and the help of the church, an 
endowmait fund of $25,000 was also provided. Through donations from 
other sources the hospital was subsequently enlarged, and now accommodates 
100 patients. Bishop Frank R. Millspaugh is the president of the hospital; 
Rev. James P. de Beavers Kaye, vice-president, and J. G. Slonecker, Jona- 
than Thomas, Charles S. Gleed and August Zahner, directors. 

In the year 1895 Mrs. Jane C. Stormont made a contribution for the 
founding of The Jane C. Stormont Hospital and a fine brick building was con- 
structed at No. 332 Greenwood avenue, Potwin Place. It is managed by a 
board of trustees and a staff of physicians: Jonathan Thomas, president; Dr. 
Lewis Y. Grubbs, vice-president; Frank G. Willard, secretary; Dr. Clarence 
A. McGuire, treasurer; Charles J. Devlin, additional trustee. Officers of 
staff: Dr. Lewis Y. Grubbs, president; Dr. George W. Hogeboom, vice- 
president; Dr. L. M. Powell, secretary; Dr. L. H. Munn, treasurer; 
Catherine Strayer, superintendent. In 1889 Mrs. Guilford G. Gage built an 
addition to the hospital, known as the Gage Annex, at a cost of $15,000. 
There are accommodations for 50 patients, and 2,000 have been cared for 
within the past 10 years. In connection with the hospital a training school 
for nurses is conducted. The whole property is valued at $40,000. 

Other hospitals in the city are the Detention Hospital (an annex to the 
city prison), built by Rev. Charles M. Sheldon in 1901 ; Keith's Hospital, a 
private institution, at No. 603 Clay street ; and Bedwell Asylum, a private 
hospital for insane patients, on East Sixth avenue. 

HALLS AND OPERA HOUSES. 

Museum Hall, in the old Ritchie 'Block, on the southeast corner of 
Kansas and Sixth avenues, was the scene of the first public dramatic per- 
formance in Topeka, in 1858, and hence may be taken as the beginning of 
the city's places of amusement. Museum Hall was afterwards known as 
Wilmarth's Hall. Prior to the above date. King Smith's Hall, at No. 104 
9 



i82 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Sixth avenue east, was used for lyceums, conventions and religious meetings, 
but it never aspired to the dignity of a playhouse. The first regular theater, 
with curtain and stage, was known as Union Hall, occupying the second 
-floor of the Shorb, Tinker & Baker Block, built in 1869, at Nos. 619 and 621 
Kansas avenue. A stairway ran almost directly into the main part of the 
auditorium, the opening being railed off from the seats, the stage was aS 
feet wide and 20 feet deep, with wings, flats and sky borders of a crude pat- 
tern. Prof. Henry Worrall painted the drop curtain — a Topeka street scene 
in lurid' colors, with a border filled with advertising cards. Across the top 
of the curtain a Union Pacific train was shown at full speed. In one corner 
was a portrait of Chief Burnett, of the Pottawatomies, and in the opposite 
corner the picture of "Kaw Charley," ringing a bell. "Kaw Charlie" was a 
half-breed Indian, a well-known character of that day. Some of the early 
performances on the stage of Union Hall were given by Charles W. Couldock 
and daughter, Duprez & Benedict's minstrels, the Louise Sylvester company, 
and the "As You Like It" Club of Topeka. 

In 1870 Lorenzo Costa built the first opera house, known as Costa's 
Opera House, at Nos. 612 and 614 Kansas avenue. It was opened January 
12, 1871. In 1880 the property was purchased by Lester M. Crawford 
who reconstructed the interior, and opened it September 3rd of that year, 
as Crawford's Opera House. It has remained under his management since 
that time, being a part of the Crawford circuit of theatrical enterprises, which 
embraces many of the principal theaters in the West, and includes two of 
the leading theaters in St. Louis. Crawford's Opera House was destroyed 
by fire December 2, 1880, and rebuilt in 1881. 

A corporation was organized in 1881 for the construction of the Grand 
Opera House, the most pretentious amusement enterprise ever undertaken in 
Topeka. The Grand was built on lots Nos. 193, 195 and 197, Jackson 
street, at a cost of $40,000, and opened in September, 1882, with the Emma 
Abbott opera company as the attraction. It was operated under various 
managers for a period of 12 years, with a limited financial success, and finally 
passed into the hands of the Crawford syndicate, and has been closed for the 
past five years. When in actual running order it was a model playhouse, 
with a stage 60 by 60 feet, a splendid equipment and a seating capacity of 
1,500. 

HOTELS OF TOPEKA. 

When Horace Greeley visited Kansas in 1859, he wrote a series of 
letters to the Nezv York Tribune, giving his impressions of the country and 
its characteristics. On the subject of hotels his impressions were jotted down 
in this manner: "May 23rd — Leavenworth — Room-bells and baths make 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 183 

their last appearance; May 24th — Topeka — Breakfast and wash-bowls (other 
than tin) last visible — barber ditto; May 26th — Manhattan — Potatoes and 
eggs last recognized among the blessings that brighten as they take their 
flight; May 27th — Junction City — Last visitation of a boot-black, with dis- 
solving views of a broad bed-room — Chairs bid us good-bye; May 28th — 
Pipe Creek — Benches for seats at meals have disappeared, giving place to 
bags and boxes — We write our letters in the express wagon that has borne 
us by day, and must supply us lodgings for the night." 

If the shade of the great journalist could come West at this time, it 
would be rejoiced to find modern hotels and all the comforts of civilization — 
telephones instead of room-bells, marble lavatories instead of tin wash-bowls, 
and every known variety of breakfast food to supplement the matutinal 
potatoes and eggs. 

Topeka's hotels began with the Pioneer House, built of poles and rough 
lumber, in June, 1855, by Mitchell & Zimmerman, on the southeast corner of 
Kansas avenue and Third street. It was conducted by Enoch Chase, and for 
a short time by Guilford Dudley. In 1856 Walter C. Oakley built the Topeka 
House, at the northeast corner of Kansas and Fifth avenues — a two-story, 
frame building with a flat roof, which was subsequently enlarged to three 
stories, with a shingle roof. It stood until 1870, when it was destroyed by 
fire. The building constructed in September, 1855, on the southeast corner 
of Kansas and Fifth avenues, where the first newspaper in Topeka had its 
home, was also used in part as a hotel, under the name of the Garvey House. 
Enoch Chase built the Chase House, in the autumn of 1856, on the south 
side of Sixth avenue, near the corner of Kansas avenue, afterwards known 
as the Capitol House. 

Other early enterprises were the Curtis House, North Topeka; the 
Quincy House, on the east side of Quincy street, between Fifth and Sixth 
avenues; the Ashbaugh House, at No. 205 West Sixth avenue; the Farmers' 
Hotel, at the southeast corner of Kansas and Fifth avenues; the Carney 
House, on the southwest corner of Fifth avenue and Jackson street; and the 
Parks House, opposite the Union Pacific Depot, in North Topeka. 

MR. Gordon's enterprises. 

The Gordon House, on the northeast corner of Kansas avenue and Fifth 
street, built and conducted by J. C. Gordon, was one of the most popular of 
the early Topeka hostelries, and held its position as the leading hotel for 
many years. It was rebuilt in 1877, and sold in 1881 to Dr. J. J. Burtis, of 
Davenport, Iowa. Dr. Burtis sold it to H. P. Throop, who remodeled it 
throughout at an expense of $80,000, and changed its name to the Throop 



I §4 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Hotel, by which it is now known. It is one of the finest buildings on Kansas 
avenue, and its cost seriously impaired the fortune Mr. Throop had accumu- 
lated. The property was sold in 1901 to J. J. O'Rourke, and is now under 
the management of the Hamilton Hotel Company, composed of C. B. Hamil- 
ton, James L. Brooks and Harry H. Hamilton. 

After disposing of the Gordon House, J. C. Gordon built a new hotel 
on the southeast corner of Kansas avenue and Ninth street, called the Cope- 
land Hotel. It is a four-story building, with a spacious annex, and has been 
in successful operation since 1883, the date of its construction. The Copeland 
is located near the State Capitol and has long been a sort of. headquarters for 
politicians, especially those of the Republican faith, and this fact led a news- 
paper correspondent, Ferd L. Vandegrift, to give it the popular designation 
of "Copeland County," by which it is familiarly known. Many of the State 
officers, who are temporarily located in Topeka, make their home at the 
Copeland. James Chappelle is the present proprietor of the hotel. 

When the Populists came into power in Kansas, their Topeka gathering 
place was at the Button House, a small hotel at No. 407 Kansas avenue, now 
managed by A. T Pigg. The name was recently changed to the Savoy, and 
the building is being added to on the north by the reconstruction of the old 
County Court House. The Savoy no longer claims any special political 
clientele, but appeals to the general public and has a liberal patronage. 

The Fifth Avenue Hotel was constructed in 1870, and was at that time 
the most modern hotel, as well as the handsomest from an architectural stand- 
point, in the city. J. B. Fluno and the firm of Hankla Brothers were among 
the early managers, and T. J. Hankla is the present manager. The most 
noted event connected with the history of the Fifth Avenue Hotel was the 
entertainment on January 22, 1872, of the Grand Duke of Russia and his 
party who were just returning from a buffalo hunt in Western Kansas. The 
party included Grand Duke Alexis, Vice Admiral Poissiett, Lieutenant Tuder 
and Lieutenant Stortdegraff, of the imperial navy ; Chancellor of State W. T. 
Machin, Consul General Brodisco, Count Olsenfieff and Secretary Shuveloff. 
The American wing of the party was made up of Gen. Phil. H. Sheridan, 
Gen. George A. Custer and Colonels G. A. Forsythe, M. V. Sheridan and 
N. B. Sweetzer. The Kansas Legislature gave a reception and banquet at 
the Fifth Avenue Hotel in honor of the visitors. 

A NOTED RESORT. 

The most famous hotel in Topeka was known as the Tefft House, 
situated on the northwest corner of Kansas avenue and Seventh street. It 
was a modest building at first, occupying a single lot on the corner, which 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 187 

was bought in 1859 by Dr. Erasmus Tefft for the sum of $300. It was an 
isolated location, far above the center of business, but is now the most cen- 
tral business corner in Topeka. Dr. Tefift erected the original building in 
i860, — a stone structure, 17 by 25 feet, and two stories in height. In 1865 
he added the lot on the north at an expense of $700, and made the hotel into 
a three-story building, 50 by 60 feet in dimensions. Two years later an addi- 
tion was constructed in the rear of the original buildings, 95 by 35 feet in 
dimensions, four stories in height, with a mansard roof. In 1868 the front 
part was also increased to four stories. The building was leased in 1866 to 
James Harris and John Beasley. Harris sold his interest to J. A. Burr, and 
the firm become Burr & Beasley. It was leased in 1867 to Henry D. Mc- 
Meekin, an old and popular citizen of Kansas, under whose management it 
was again enlarged, and became the political and legislative headquarters of 
the State — a position it retained up to the time of the opening of the Cope- 
land Hotel. 

Some of the most celebrated senatorial elections in Kansas were planned 
and practically consummated in the so-called "dark and fitful recesses 
of the Tefft House." In the period between 1867 and 1880 it entertained 
all of the public men of Kansas and was the scene of many brilliant social 
functions. McMeekin retired from the management in 1871, but returned 
in 1875, with Samuel Hindman as his partner, the business in the meantime 
having been conducted by E. A. Smith and Williams & Babcock. J. W. 
Hartzell became associated with McMeekin in 1876, and in 1878 the build- 
ing was bought from Dr. Tefft by Dr. J. J. Burtis for $24,000. Three years 
later Burtis sold to Allen Sells for $25,000. After undergoing extensive 
repairs, it was leased to Hankla Brothers and opened as the Windsor Hotel. 
In later years the managers were C. M. Hill & Company, Passmore & Wig- 
gin, Odell & Forward and W. W. Smith. The entire property was bought in 
1889 by the First National Bank of Topeka, and the building reconstructed 
into its present form, the bank occupying the corner room on the main floor, 
and the rest of the building being devoted to hotel purposes, under the name 
of the National- Hotel. The National was opened in 1890 by Hankla 
Brothers, and a few years later passed into the hands of Manager Charles L. 
Wood, who is now at the helm. 

THE TOPEKA CEMETERY. 

The beautiful sloping ground directly west from the city was set apart 
in 1859 by Dr. Franklin L. Crane for the purposes of a cemetery, and the 
general arrangement of the grounds remains as he planned it 45 years ago. 
The first burial in the new cemetery was of Mrs. Marcia Gordon, who died 



i88 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

about December 20, 1859. Since that time it has afforded a resting-place 
for nearly 11,000 deceased persons. Soon after coming to Topeka, Dr. 
Crane settled upon this tract of land, and built a small house on the west 
side of the tract. In Topeka's infancy there was considerable difficulty ex- 
perienced in obtaining a proper place for the interment of the dead, and 
interments were first made at the southeast corner of Kansas and loth 
avenues. By an arrangement with the Topeka Town Association, Dr. Crane 
set apart his original claim to meet this contingency, and took up other land 
near the city for his personal homestead. The interments made at Kansas 
and loth avenues were removed to the new cemetery in i860. Officers of the 
Topeka Cemetery Association are: A. B. Quinton, president; George W. 
Crane, secretary, and D. O. Crane, superintendent and treasurer. 

The other cemeteries near Topeka are the following : Catholic Cemetery, 
on loth avenue road, three miles west; Foster Cemetery, on Burlingame 
road, three miles southwest; Jewish Cemetery, on East loth avenue, adjoin- 
ing Topeka Cemetery ; Ritchie Cemetery, directly south from the city ; Mount 
Hope Cemetery, on Sixth avenue, four miles west; and Rochester Cemetery, 
two miles Northwest from North Topeka. 



CHAPTER XVII. 

Topeka's Educational Facilities — Public Schools, Colleges and Other Insti- 
tutions — High School and Manual Training Departments — The City's 
Churches and Their History — Early Pastors and Those of the Present 
Time — Religious Societies, Fraternal Orders and Club Organizations. 

If any one thing more than another can be said to have made Topeka 
famous, it is her magnificent school system, which is hardly surpassed by 
that of any city in the United States. The founders of Topeka were educated 
men, some of them coming here directly from college, and after organizing 
the Topeka Town Association, and reducing the territory to lots, almost 
their first thought was to provide educational facilities in keeping with the 
plans they had formed for establishing a large and important city. Early 
in the month of February, 1856, the association took up a collection for 
building a school house, and levied an assessment upon its shares for the 
same purpose, a suitable site having been donated near the corner of Harri- 
son street and Sixth avenue, where the Harrison School now stands. Before 
the school house could be erected, private schools were opened in convenient 
locations, so that the school system was practically inaugurated in 1856, 
before the new city was three months old. In 1857 the New England Emi- 
grant Aid Company erected the first school building. The first direct tax 
for school purposes was levied in 1862, providing for the running expenses 
of the schools and for a building fund. The old Harrison street school was 
the first school building erected at public expense. The first of the school 
buildings erected in North Topeka was at No. 128 Kansas avenue north, 
the cost being $1,350. Beginning with the year 1868, the city made liberal 
appropriations for educational purposes and for additional buildings, the 
amount for that year being $10,000. In 1869 the sum of $40,000 was appro- 
priated, and buildings commenced at Nos. 50, 52 and 54 Monroe street, and 
at the southeast corner of Monroe and Fifth — the latter being known as the 
Lincoln School. The Lincoln School, when completed, cost $55,000. An- 
other school building was erected in 1871 on the southeast corner of Quincy 
and Gordon streets. North Topeka, at a cost of $28,000. The building 
occupied by Washburn College, at the northeast corner of loth avenue and 



igo HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Jackson street, was also purchased by the city, for $15,000, and a small 
building for school use erected on the corner of Quincy and 13th streets. 
From 1 86 1 to 1871 the sum of $155,000 was spent for buildings and equip- 
ment, providing facilities for 2,000 pupils and 28 teachers. During the 
ensuing 10 years several new buildings were constructed and most of the 
old ones enlarged, the value of the public school property at the close of 
1880 being over $200,000, and the school population, 4,728. 

GROWTH OF SCHOOLS. 

The school idea which possessed the founders of the city has retained 
its hold upon their successors, and at the close of the year 1904 Topeka had 
23 first-class public school buildings, valued at $700,000, a school population 
of 10,665, an enrollment of 6,437, ^^'^ employed 211 teachers. The annual 
cost of conducting the city schools is $150,000. A ' model High School 
building was constructed in 1893 on the northwest corner of Harrison street 
and Eighth avenue, at a cost of $85,000, and in 1904 a Manual Training 
School was completed on the southwest corner of the same streets, at a cost 
of $100,000. These institutions are the culmination of the hopes and 
efforts of Topeka's progressive and far-seeing Board of Education, which 
is composed of the following members : First Ward, — C. C. Nicholson 
and E. E. Miller ; Second Ward,— F. E. Mallory and W. H. Wilson ; Third 
Ward, — J. W. Gleed and Edward Wilder; Fourth Ward, — Jonathan D. 
Norton and T. F. Garver; Fifth Ward, — C. F. Hardy and D. L. Hoatson; 
Sixth Ward, — E. E. Roudebush and L. C. Bailey. F. E. Mallory is presi- 
dent of the board, and T. F. Garver vice-president, and J. E. Stewart, clerk. 

L. D. Whittemore is the present superintendent of the city schools. 
His predecessors in the office have been: W. H. Butterfield, 1867-69; J. 
A. Banfield, 1869-71; A. W. Haines, 1871-72; W. H. Butterfield, 1872-81; 

D. C. Tillotson, 1881-86; John M. Bloss, 1886-92; William M. Davidson, 
1 892- 1 904; L. D. Whittemore, 1904 — . The Board of Education has had 
the following clerks: L. C. Wilmarth, 1867-69; J. A. Banfield, 1869-71; 

E. B. Fowler, 1871-72; R. H. C. Searle, 1872-75; T. H. Church, 1875-76; 
Hiram W. Farnsworth, 1876-99; J. E. Stewart, 1899-1905. 

The following table shows the designation of the several schools, names 
of principals and enrollment of pupils : 

School. Principal. Enrollment. 

High School H. L. Miller 897 

Grant E. A. Simmerwell 455 

Quincy E. F. Stanley 482 

Lincoln W. H. Wright 478 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 191 

School. Principal. Enrollment. 

Branner H. W. Jones 4S2 

Lafayette E. H. Roudebush 35° 

Garfield Carrie Goddard 340 

Van Buren Elizabeth Guy 6l 

Jackson Fenella H. Dana 61 

Polk Elizabeth Tharp ■ • ■ 412 

Euclid Madge E. Moore 290 

Lowman Hill Lola A. Graham IQO 

Clay O. P. M. McClintock 3S0 

Potwin Eliza Nagle 220 

Sumner G. H. Mays 352 

Harrison Eli G. Foster 324 

Lane S. G. Watkins 131 

Madison R. H. Wade 123 

Washington J. L. Harrison 145 

Monroe Fred Roundtree 139 

Douglas Mary E. Langston Si • 

Buchanan C. F. Clinkscale 134 

Manual Training H. L. Miller 

Total 6,437 

WASHBURN COLLEGE. 

In 1858 John Ritchie donated 160 acres of land directly southwest 
from the city as the site for a college, which was proposed to be established 
by the Congregational churches of Kansas. The college was located in 
Topeka in 1858, changed to Lawrence in 1859, and relocated at Topeka in 
i860, under the name of Topeka Institute. When the incorporation was 
efifected in 1865, at the close of the war, the name of Lincoln College was 
substituted. The first building was erected in that year on the northeast 
corner of loth avenue and Jackson street, at a cost of $8,000, and in the 
month of January, 1866, the institution was opened with Rev. Samuel D. 
Bowker as principal, and Professors E. D. Hobart and George H. Collier as 
assistants. The first president was Rev. H. Q. Butterfield, who was suc- 
ceeded in 1 87 1 by Rev. Peter MacVicar. The catalogue issued in 1867 gave 
the number of students as 92, and contained the following names of trustees : 
Lewis Bodwell, S. D. Storrs, J. D. Liggett, Ira H. Smith, Richard Cordley, 
Harrison Hannahs, John Ritchie, Harvey D. Rice, William E. Bowker, 
J. W. Fox and Hiram W. Farnsworth. 

The name of the institution was changed to Washburn College in 1868, 
in honor of one of the benefactors, Ichabod Washburn, of Worcester, Massa- 
chusetts, who contributed $25,000 to the endowment fund. A new building 
was erected on the permanent site in 1870, at a cost of $60,000, and since 
that date 10 other large and substantial buildings have been erected, the last 



192 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

one — a Carnegie Library — in 1905. The buildings represent a cost of $300,- 
000, and the campus of 160 acres is one of the most valuable pieces of prop- 
erty in the suburbs of Topeka. 

Dr. Norman Plass became the president of the college in 1902, after 
the death of Dr. Mac Vicar. The college is conducted under the auspices of 
the Congregational Church, through a board of trustees officered as follows : 
Norman Plass, president; L. H. Greenwood, secretary; James F. Griffin, 
treasurer ; Rev. D. M. Fisk, field secretary ; Norman Plass, L. H. Greenwood, 
Jonathan Thomas, John R. Mulvane, Arthur J. McCabe, Albe B. Whiting, 
Timothy B. Sweet, Francis L. Hayes, Marcus A. Low, John C. McClin- 
tock and William S. Lindsay- executive committee ; D. L. McEachron, dean 
of college ; Dr. H. L. Alkire, dean of medical department ; Ernest B. Conant, 
dean of law department; George B. Penny, dean of fine arts department; 
W. W. Silver, principal of academy; and Dr. A. H. Thompson, dean of 
dentistry department. The college has well-equipped laboratories, a fine 
■library of 12,000 volumes, and employs 25 professors and instructors in the 
various departments. The present enrollment is about 700. 

BETHANY COLLEGE. 

On a large square of 20 acres fronting Capitol Square, west on Ninth 
street from the Capitol, stands the College of the Sisters of Bethany, an 
institution for the education of girls. It was founded as the Episcopal 
Female Seminary of Topeka, under a charter from the Territorial Legisla- 
ture. In 1870 a new charter was granted and in 1872 the name was changed 
to "The College of the Sisters of Bethany," the name not referring to any 
order of Sisters, but to the scriptural model and example of the two sisters 
of Bethany — Martha and Mary. The main building is of the Gothic, rock- 
faced, broken ashlar style. Wolfe Hall and other adjacent buildings are in 
harmony with the main structure, and, together with the large park, present 
a most beautiful appearance. The college is under the general management 
of Bishop Frank R. Millspaugh. The course of study embraces not only 
a primary and preparatory branch, a scientific and classical branch, but also 
departments for thorough instruction in vocal and instrumental music, draw- 
ing and painting. 

The original site was donated by the Topeka Town Association in 
1857, being a tract at the northeast corner of Topeka avenue and Ninth 
street. Rev. Charles M. Callaway, a missionary of the Protestant Episcopal 
Church, conducted the negotiations with the town company, and in addition 
to the original site the association gave the 20-acre tract now known as 
Bethany Square, where the permanent buildings were erected. The incor- 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 195 

porators were Rev. N. O. Preston, Rush Elmore, Wilson Shannon, Cyrus 
K. Holliday, J. P. Bodine, George Fairchild and J. E. Ryan. Wilson Shan- 
non was president until September 14, 1864, when he was succeeded by 
Bishop Thomas H. Vail. The main college building was completed in 1871, 
and is known as Wolfe Hall, named in honor of John D. Wolfe, of New 
York, and his daughter, Catharine L. Wolfe, who gave $32,000 to assist 
the institution. Holmes Hall w-as constructed in 1882 at an expense of 
$16,000, the money being contributed by Miss Jane Holmes, of Baltimore. 
There are five buildings in all, the total value of the property being $450,000. 
Fifteen teachers are employed, and the average attendance is 200. The build- 
ing at the corner of Topeka avenue and Ninth street, first occupied by 
Bethany College, and still belonging to the Episcopal Diocese of Kansas, 
is now used for a theological school, of which Bishop Frank R. Millspaugh 
is president and dean, and Rev. Irving E. Baxter, Rev. James P. deBeavers 
Kaye, Rev. Charles B. Crawford and Rev. DeLou Burke, instructors. 

INDUSTRIAL INSTITUTE. 

The Topeka Industrial and Educational Institute was organized in May, 
1895, following the plan of the Booker T. Washington Institute at Tuske- 
gee. It is located three miles east of the city on a tract of land sufficient in 
extent to afford facilities for instruction in farming. It is non-sectarian 
and its beneficiaries are the colored youth of Kansas, of both sexes. There 
are two brick and stone buildings and one frame shop building, the value 
of the property being $12,000. The enrollment is 140, and 750 pupils have 
been cared for in the past 10 years. The institution has no endowment, but 
receives an annual appropriation of $1,500 from the State, in addition to 
help from other sources. William R. Carter is principal of the school, which 
is managed by a board of trustees comprised of Joab Mulvane, president; 
J. B. Larimer, vice-president; Robert Stone, secretary; and John M. Wright, 
treasurer. 

OTHER SCHOOLS. 

A convent of the Sisters of Charity is maintained at No. 723 Jackson 
street, and in connection therewith is a Catholic parochial school, which has 
an average attendance of 225. The convent is in charge of Sister Alberta, 
superior, and five Sisters of Charity make their home in the institution. The 
German Catholic Church also maintains a school near the corner of Third 
and VanBuren streets, with accommodations for 200 pupils. Alois Nusang 
is principal of the school, and Christine Seitz and Minnie Sonderman, 
teachers. 



196 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

In addition to those named, the following educational institutions are 
conducted in Topeka : Studio of Voice Culture and Piano Instruction, No. 
8i6 Kansas avenue, Gertrude Tracy, teacher; Dougherty's Shorthand School, 
No. ii8 West Eighth avenue, George E. Dougherty, principal; Standard 
School of Shorthand and Typewriting, No. 630 Kansas avenue, Anna E. 
Canan, principal; Topeka Business College, No. 523 Quincy street, L. H. 
Strickler, superintendent; Pond's Business College, No. 521 Kansas avenue, 
M. A. Pond, principal; Homeopathic Night School, No. 704 Kansas avenue, 
Dr. Eva Harding, president; Art Studio, No. 630 Kansas avenue, George 
O. Beardsley, instructor; School of Dramatic Art, No. 816 Kansas avenue, 
Nellie Lincoln, instructor; Music Studio, No. 109 West Sixth avenue, Kate 
B. Whittlesey, instructor; School of Pianoforte Playing, No. 722 Kansas 
avenue, Annie Parry Bundy, principal; Violin Studio, No. 704 Kansas 
avenue, W. C. Stenger, instructor; Reid-Stone School of Art, No. 501 
Jackson street, Albert T. Reid and George M. Stone, directors. 

CONGREGATIONAL CHURCHES. 

There are 80 separate church organizations in Topeka, representing 17 
different denominations. The First Congregational Church is the pioneer, 
its organization dating from October 14, 1855. The first deacons were 
Hiram W. Farnsworth and James Cowles, and the first trustees, Milton C. 
Dickey, John Ritchie and H. P. Waters. Meetings were held in Constitu- 
tion Hall and other places, occasional sermons being preached by Rev. S. 
Y. Luni, Rev. Paul Shepherd and Rev. Jonathan Copeland. The first reg- 
tilar pastor was Rev. Lewis Bodwell, who assumed charge in October, 1856, 
and on Sunday, Noveruber 2nd of that year, the communion of the Lord's 
Supper was celebrated for the first time in Topeka. A donation of lots 
by the Topeka Town Association, and a popular supscription at home and 
in the East, enabled the Congregationalists to begin the first church struct- 
ure in Topeka, at the northwest corner of Harrison and Seventh streets. 
The walls were twice blown down by wind storms, but the building was 
finally completed in 1861, at a cost of $7,000. In the year 1880 a new and 
more substantial church building was erected at a cost of $35,000. Since 
its organization, the church has had the following pastors : Lewis Bodwell, 
Peter MacVicar, James G. Merrill, Linus Blakesley, D. M. Fisk and Francis 
L. Hayes. Rev. Mr. Blakesley was pastor from 1870 to 1899 — nearly 30 
years — the longest continuous service ever performed by any of the Topeka 
pastors. 

The Central Congregational Church, at the corner of Huntoon and 
Buchanan streets, is one of the most famous in the West, by reason of the 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 197 

personality of its pastor, Rev. Charles M. Sheldon, who came to the city 
in 1889, and is best known perhaps, as the author of "In His Steps," a semi- 
religious novel which has had a remarkable circulation. Rev. Mr. Sheldon 
also established a library and kindergarten in what is known as "Tennessee- 
town," a colored settlement in Topeka, and added to his fame in 1900 by 
editing the Topeka Capital for one week as a distinctly Christian daily. 

There are four other Congregational organizations in the city : North 
Congregational, Rev. T. J. Pearson, pastor; Seabrook Congregational, Rev. 
P. B. Lee, pastor; Swedish Congregational, Rev. Peter Persson, pastor; 
and the Mission or Central Congregational Church, B. E. Crane, superin- 
tendent. 

METHODIST CHURCHES. 

The Methodist Episcopal Church had an organization in Topeka in 
1855, but was not regularly estabhshed until a later date. In 1859 the 
Topeka and Tecumseh circuit was formed, and in 1861 Topeka was orga- 
nized as a station, with Rev. J. Paulson as pastor. Religious services were 
conducted prior to that date by Rev. J. S. Griffing. Other pastors of the 
church have been : J. V. Holliday, T. A. Parker, John D. Knox, T. J. Leak, 
Ira Blackford, James E. Gilbert, J. J. Thompson, O. J. Cowles, D. P. 
Mitchell, S. McChesney, D. J. Holmes, W. G. Waters, J. A. Lippincott, 
A. S. Embree and J. T. McFarland. Rev. W. C. Evans is the present pastor. 

A church building was commenced in 1857, on lots numbered 157 to 
169 Quincy street, donated by the Topeka Town Association. The lots so 
donated were at the time covered with stone fortifications, which had been 
erected to defend the town against an invasion of border ruffians. The 
church was built during the period between i860 and 1867. It was en- 
larged in 1870 and continued to be the home of the church until 18^, when 
a new building was erected on the southwest corner of Harrison street and 
Sixth avenue, at a cost of $30,000. 

Other Methodist churches and their pastors at this time are the follow- 
ing: Kansas Avenue, Rev. J. A. Stavely; Oakland, Rev. J. W. Reed; 
Walnut Grove, Rev. F. E. Adell; Parkdale, Rev. J. T. Sawyer; Lowman 
Hill, Rev. J. R. Madison; German, Rev. H. Bruns; Asbury, Rev. J. D. 
Smith; Mount Olive, Rev. J. S. Burton; Brown Chapel, Rev. J. M. Pope; 
Euclid, Rev. J. J. Skinner; St. John's African, Rev. J. F. C. Taylor; 
Wesleyan, Rev. C. F. Carkuff; Second Wesleyan, Rev. William Walters; 
Free Methodist, Rev. C. J. Chaney; St. Mark's, Rev. J. W. Williams; and 
Lane Chapel, Rev. J. W. Jacobs. 



198 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

PRESBYTERIAN CHURCHES. 

Rev. A. T. Rankin organized the First Presbyterian Church, December 
9, 1859, but it made indifferent progress until the following year, when Rev. 
John A. Steele, assumed the direction of its affairs. After his death, in 
1864, Rev. S. T. McClure became the pastor, and he was followed by Rev. 
John Ekin in 1866. Rev. Francis S. McCabe, D. D., became the pastor 
January i, 1869, and his long pastorate of 15 years was the most flourishing 
in the history of the church. He was succeeded in 1883 by Rev. H. W. 
George. Following Rev. Mr. George, the church had the services of Rev. 
Edward C. Ray, Rev. S. B. Alderson, Rev. J. D. Countermine, and the pres- 
ent pastor. Rev. S. S. Estey. In 1864 the Presbyterians built a small brick 
church at No. 230 Kansas avenue, which was afterwards sold to the city 
for a school. In 1868 they built a chapel in the rear of the lots now occu- 
pied by the building of the Topeka Capital, enlarging it and adding a spire 
in 1870. The present church, on Harrison street, was dedicated April 
12, 1885. 

The Second Presbyterian Church is located on Quincy street. North 
Topeka, Rev. John S. Glendenning, pastor; and the Third Presbyterian 
Church on Fourth street, Rev. William M. Cleaveland, pastor. Other Pres- 
byterian churches in the city are: Westminster, Rev. Frank Ward; Oak- 
land, Rev. S. A. Alt; Cumberland, Rev. A. H. Kelso; Second Cumberland, 
Rev. J. E. Gary; First United, Rev. J. A. Renwick, and Second United, 
Rev. J. P. White. A new building for the First United Presbyterian Church 
has just been completed, at the northeast corner of Topeka avenue and 
Eighth street, at a cost of $12,000. 

BAPTIST CHURCHES. 

About March i, 1857, the First Baptist Church was organized by Rev. 
David Seagraves, Joseph C. Miller, Jesse Stone, J. F. Merriam and William 
Jordan, assisted by Rev. J. Gilpatrick, who had charge of an Indian mission 
near Auburn. The first regular pastor was Rev. C. C. Hutchinson, author 
of "Resources of Kansas." Services were held in i860 on the second floor 
of a mercantile building at No. 191 Kansas avenue. A permanent site for the 
church was donated by the Topeka Town Association, being the lots at the 
northeast corner of Jackson and Ninth streets, where a building was erected 
in 1 87 1, at a cost of $15,000. This continued to be the home of the church 
until 1905, when a more commodious structure took its place, upon the 
same site. It is a magnificent edifice, built of bowlders of varying shades, 
and crowned with a stately and symmetrical dome. The cost of the new 
church was $40,000. The several Baptist pastors have been the following: 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 199 

E. Alward, Isaac Sawyer, H. P. Fitch, E. O. Taylor, C. Monjeau, C. C. 
Foote, T. R. Peters, J. B. Thomas, M. L. Thomas, P. W. Crannell and 
Thomas S. Young, the last named being the present pastor. 

Rev. J. Barrett organized the North Topeka Baptist Church, April 4, 
1869, and was its pastor for many years. There are 10 other churches of 
this denomination in the city, the principal ones being: First German, Rev. 
Jacob Albert; Swedish, Rev. Gustaf Nyquist; Second Baptist, Rev. C. H. 
Duvall; Third Baptist, Rev. W. P. Banks; "B" Street, Rev. W. H. Hart; 
Central, Rev. H. W. White; Shiloh, Rev. C. G. Fishback; and Mount Hope, 
Rev. A. B. Stoner. 

CATHOLIC CHURCHES. 

The Church of the Assumption was organized and the first building 
erected in 1862, the first service being held on Christmas Day of that year, 
conducted by Rev. James H. Defouri. The church was dedicated August 

16, 1863, by Rt. Rev. J. B. Miegie. Rev. Elmira Fourmont, Rev. Eugene 
Bonoveini, Rev. Felix Swembergh and Rev. Sebastian Favre were Father 
Defouri's assistants during the early years of the church's history. The 
present church building on Eighth avenue, opposite the Topeka Free Library, 
was erected in 1882 at a cost of $20,000. One of the first workers in behalf 
of the church was Daniel Handley, afterwards killed in the battle of the 
Blue. A relic of the church is a bell presented by E. C. K. Garvey in 1862, 
now used in the Catholic school. Father Defouri continued in charge of 
the church for 14 years, and was succeeded by Rev. J. F. Cunningham, who 
remained until 1882, and was then succeeded by Rev. James O'Reilly. Very 
Rev. Francis M. Hayden became dean and rector of the church in 1887 and 
is still in charge. His sacerdotal silver jubilee was celebrated here May 

17, 1900, and was attended by four bishops and 60 clergymen. 

St. Joseph's German Catholic Church was established in 1889 through 
the instrumentality of Rev. Francis Henry, who has since served continu- 
ously as its pastor. He has not only organized a large congregation but has 
caused to be erected one of the finest church buildings in the city, at the 
northwest corner of VanBuren and Third streets — a massive brick structure, 
with double towers and cathedral chimes. Father Henry has been promi- 
nent in the charitable work of the city, and his general influence in the com- 
munity is as strongly felt as that of any citizen of Topeka. 

GRACE EPISCOPAL CATHEDRAL. 

A mission of the Protestant Episcopal Church was begun by Rev. 
Charles Callaway in 1857, resulting in the organization of Grace Episcopal 



200 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Church, September 9, i860, with Rev. Mr. Callaway as rector, the first 
vestrymen being Charles C. Kellam, James Fletcher, John W. Farnsworth, 
Cyrus K. Holliday and Joseph F. Cummings. Rev. N. O. Preston suc- 
ceeded to the rectorship December 7, i860. From 1864 to the present time 
the church has had the following rectors and deans : R. W. Oliver, John N. 
Lee, John Bakewell, Henry H. Loring, J. F. Walker, Richard Ellerby, 
James W. Colwell, Percival Mclntire; Assistant Bishop E. S. Thomas, 
Henry I. Bodley, John W. Sykes, and James P. deBeavers Kaye, the last 
named being the present dean. Rev. J. F. Walker was the first dean, the 
church having been accepted as a cathedral chapel in 1879. Services were 
first held on the third floor of the Ritchie Block, corner of Kansas and Sixth 
avenues, and then at the old Episcopal Female Seminary, corner of Topeka 
avenue and Ninth street. A building was erected in 1863, at the southwest 
corner of Jackson and Seventh streets, known as Grace Church. The build- 
ing was enlarged in 1874, and while the improvements were in progress 
services were held in Union Hall. The property at the corner of Jackson 
and Seventh streets was subsequently sold and a guild hall and chapel erected 
on Bethany square, where the permanent cathedral is to be built in the near 
future. In connection with the cathedral are the churches of the Good Shep- 
herd, Calvary Mission, and St. Simon the Cyrenian Mission, conducted by 
Rev. DeLou Burke, canon. 

LUTHERAN CHURCHES. 

The English Lutheran Church, now known as the First Lutheran, had 
its beginning April 7, 1867. It was organized by Rev. Morris Officer, and 
had as its original members Rev. Josiah B. McAfee, John Guthrie, C. H. 
Ellison, A. P. Benson, George Rubble, A. S. Halmburg and Hugo Kullak. 
Rev. A. J. Hasson was the first pastor, followed by Rev. B. F. Alleman and 
Rev. T. F. Dornblazer. Services were first held in Germania Hall. A small 
frame church was built in 1871 on lots 163, 165 and 167 Topeka avenue. 
In 1885 a large brick structure was erected at the northeast corner of Harri- 
son and Fifth street, which is the present home of the church, with Rev. 
H. A. Ott as pastor. 

The German Lutheran Church, evangelical, has a building at the corner 
of VanBuren and Second streets. Rev. H. F. Eggert, pastor. The Swedish 
Lutheran Church has its home at the northeast corner of Fourth and Tyler 
streets, with Rev. A. M. L. Herenius as pastor. This church was organized 
in September, 1869, by Rev. A. W. Dahlsten, the succeeding pastors being 
Rev. C. J. Scheleen, Rev. C. V. Vestling and Rev. John Holcomb. Another 
of the Lutheran organizations is the St. Paul's German Evang'elical, corner 




ST. JOSEPH'S GERMAN CATHOLIC CHURCH 



CHURCH OF THE ASSUMPTION 




GRACE CATHEDRAL 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 203 

of Monroe and Fourth streets, of which Rev. Silverman is pastor. Swedish 
Bethel, on Polk street, is conducted by Rev. Mr. Peter Persson. 

CHRISTIAN CHURCHES. 

The First Christian Church is located in a handsome stone building on 
the east side of Topeka avenue, between Sixth avenue and Seventh street, 
the present pastor being Rev. Charles A. Finch. The church was established 
January i, 1881, by Rev. S. T. Dodd, with the following officers: Dr. 
S. T. Dodd, pastor; Willard Davis, clerk; Alfred Ennis and W. D. Stone, 
elders ; J. A. Mullen, W. M. Hess and J. O. Leary, deacons ; Ira Miller, 
David Eckert, William Niccum, E. H. Roudebush and G. W. Fought, trus- 
tees; and Buel Shuler and A. A. Stewart, ushers. There are four other 
Christian churches in the city, known as the North Topeka, Rev. J. T. 
Purvis; Second, Rev. B. C. Duke; Third, Rev. F. E. Mallory; and Oakland, 
Rev. N. Overman. 

UNITARIAN CHURCH. 

The First Unitarian Church had its beginning in June, 1883, when the 
society was organized by the following persons : Mr. and Mrs. George W. 
Wood, Dr. O. B. Morse, Robert Pierce, Mrs. Anna G. Brown, Mr. and 
Mrs. A. P. Wilder, Mr. and Mrs. George R. Peck, Miss Belle Wilder, 
John A. Dailey, F. M. Hayward and Mr. and Mrs. Frank H. Foster. The 
first pastor was Rev. Enoch Powell. The present pastor is Rev. Abram 
Wyman. The church building at Nos. 302, 304 and 306 Topeka avenue 
was erected in 1885 at a cost of $8,200. 

NEW JERUSALEM CHURCH. 

In 1880 the Topeka Society of the New Jerusalem, Swedenborgian, 
was organized, the first meetings being held at the home of Edward Wilder. 
In the following year a chapel and parsonage were erected at the southeast 
corner of Topeka avenue and Harrison street. The first ministers were Rev. 
Howard C. Dunham and Rev. Frank L. Higgins. The church is now with- 
out a pastor and regular services have been discontinued. 

CHURCH OF CHRIST SCIENTIST. 

Topeka has two Christian Science organizations, with a rapidly growing 
affiliation. The First Church of Christ is located at the corner of Huntoon 
10 



204 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

and Polk streets, in its own building, with W. C. Fisk as first reader. The 
Second Church of Christ occupies leased rooms at No. io8 West Ninth 
street, with Willis D. McKinstry as reader. 

MISCELLANEOUS RELIGIOUS ORGANIZATIONS. 

A church of the Evangelical (Albright) German denomination is 
maintained at the corner of Fourth and Monroe streets, with Rev. Peter 
Schuman as pastor, and the Seventh Day Adventists have a church at the 
corner of Fifth street and Western avenue, with Rev. E. T. Russell in 
charge. The Salvation Army conducts a shelter at No. 312 Kansas avenue, 
in charge of Captain and Mrs. E. Stinnett, and its splendid work among the 
poor is cordially cooperated with by the churches. 

CHRISTIAN ASSOCIATIONS. 

The officers of the Young Women's Christian Association are : Mrs. 
C. J. Evans, president; Mrs. J. B. Larimer, vice-president; Mrs. A. Vander- 
pool, recording secretary; Mrs. W. H. Holmes, treasurer; Miss M. E. Reid, 
general secretary; Anna H. Waldron, house secretary; and Miss Ethel 
Estberg, physical director. The organization was formed February 10, 
1887, and has rooms in the Masonic Building. 

Topeka is the Kansas headquarters of the State Executive Committee 
of the Young Men's Christian Association, of which Andrew Baird is state 
secretary and Charles Fenstamacher, office secretary. The Y. M. C. A. 
Central Department of Topeka is located at Nos. iii to 117 East Eighth 
avenue. It is managed by a board of directors consisting of J. B. Larimer, 
Harold T. Chase, H. B. Lautz and H. S. Morgan. The officers are : George 
E. Lerrigo, general secretary; F. G. Mitchell, assistant secretary; J. E. 
Manley, assistant secretary; J. L. Montgomery, office secretary; and J. A. 
Augustus, physical director. The Railroad Branch occupies a fine building 
on Fourth street, near the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Depot, which was 
erected in 1902, the corner-stone being laid by President Roosevelt. Other 
branches are maintained at Washburn College and the Kansas Medical Col- 
lege. Negotiations are in progress for the erection by the Central Depart- 
ment of a new $80,000 building. 

FRATERNAL AND BENEVOLENT SOCIETIES. 

There are 34 Masonic organizations in Topeka, the parent body, Topeka 
Lodge No. 17, having been chartered October 18, 1859. Most of the organi- 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 205 

zations have their headquarters and hold their meetings in the Masonic 
Building at Nos. 619, 621 and 623 Jackson street. The Grand Lodge offices 
are in the Real Estate Building at No. 701 Jackson street. A Masonic library 
and office building is now in process of construction at the northeast corner 
of Eighth avenue and Harrison street, to cost $20,000. 

Lincoln Post, No. i, is the parent organization of the Grand Army of the 
Republic in Kansas. There are five other posts in Topeka, a camp of the Sons 
of Veterans and three women's auxiliaries of the G. A. R. 

Topeka is the headquarters of the National Council of the Knights and 
Ladies of Security, of which W. B. Kirkpatrick is president; C. A. Gower, 
vice-president; J. M. Wallace, secretary; W. M. Forbes, treasurer; and H. 
A. Warner, medical director. The council owns the Security Building at 
the southwest corner of Kansas avenue and Seventh street, representing an 
investment of $50,000. There are five local councils. The total membership 
throughout the country is more than 50,000, and the total insurance in force 
exceeds $60,000,000. 

Topeka Lodge, No. 204, was the first lodge organized in Kansas of the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. It has 450 members and occupies 
the whole of the third floor of the Masonic Building. The officers are: 
Leroy M. Penwell, exalted ruler; Henry Ruff, esteemed leading knight; 
Arthur M. Mills, esteemed loyal knight ; Harry W. Donaldson, esteemed lect- 
uring knight; Joseph E. Morgan, secretary; Clarence S. Bowman, treasurer; 
and H. B. Hogeboom, esquire. 

The Kansas Grand Lodge of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows has 
its headquarters in Topeka, in charge of W. H. Kemper, grand secretary. 
There are 12 subordinate organizations in the city, inclusive of the Rebekah 
lodges. Shawnee Lodge, No. i, the oldest of the Topeka organizations, owns 
a business block at No. 523 Quincy street, in which its hall is located. 

Topeka has six lodges of the Ancient Order of United Workmen, four 
lodges of the Degree of Honor and two of the Select Knights and Ladies. 
The Modern Woodmen of America and the Woodmen of the World have 
seven distinct organizations; the Knights and Ladies of the Maccabees, six; 
Knights of Pythias, six; the Patriotic Legion of America, three; and the 
Independent Order of Red Men, two. Most of the other fraternal and benev- 
olent societies of the country are represented in Topeka by one or more lodges, 
the total list running into the hundreds. The labor organizations and trades 
unions are numerous, covering nearly every vocation and industry. 

The Catholic societies embrace the Ancient Order of Hibernians, Knights 
of Columbus, Catholic Muttial Benefit Association, Ladies' Catholic Benevo- 
lent Association and the Catholic Knights and Ladies of America. 



206 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

CLUB ORGANIZATIONS. 

Of clubs and societies, from the field of athletics to the arena of philsophy 
and politics, there are probably lOO organizations. In addition thereto the 
women of the city have a total of 46 separate organizations, which are 
grouped with the Topeka Federation, with the following general officers : 
Mrs. Clement Smith, president; Mrs. James W. Going, ist vice-president; 
Miss Lucy D. Kingman, 2nd vice-president; Mrs. Eli G. Foster, secretary; 
Mrs. E. D. Robertson, treasurer; and Mrs. George A. Huron, auditor. Had 
the founders of Topeka known what was coming, they might have christened 
the new town "Clubville," instead of delving into aboriginal lore to find a name 
with a purely vegetable significance. 



CHAPTER XVIII. 

The Disastrous Flood or 1903 — Principal Events in North Topeka — Hozv the 
Sufferers Were Rescued — Boats atid Cables in Service — Loss of Life and 
Damage to Property — Systematic Relief Afforded — Strange Experiences 
and Odd Incidents — Major Harvey and His Salvage Corps — North 
Topeka Restored. 

A calamity befell Topeka in 1903 so appalling is its nature that it will 
be recalled in future years, no doubt, as the most famous event in the history 
of the city. For a period of one week, beginning May 30, 1903, the city was 
the scene of an almost unexampled flood, by which the entire northern part 
of the city, and a considerable territory south, east and west from the main 
business district, were inundated by water from the Kaw River and its tribu- 
taries, resulting in the loss of 29 lives by drowning and exposure, the destruc- 
tion of a vast amount of property, and the eviction of 8,000 persons from their 
homes. 

CAUSE OF THE FLOOD. 

In the general district drained by the Kaw River rain had been falling 
almost continuously from May i6th. The waters of the Saline, Blue and 
Smoky Hill rivers, added to that of the Kaw, forced the latter out of its banks 
at Topeka on Friday, May 29th, completely submerging the valley. By Sat- 
urday night, May 30th, that part of Topeka lying north of the river, and 
known as North Topeka, was entirely under water, endangering the lives of 
thousands of citizens who had remained at home to make a valiant effort for 
the protection of their property. At this time 8 inches of water had fallen 
at Topeka. West from Topeka, at Manhattan, the rainfall was 9 inches, and 
at Salina, further west, it amounted to 17 inches. 

SCENE OF THE OVERFLOW. 

North Topeka, which is the First Ward of the city of Topeka, had a 
population of 9,000, and was the seat of some of the larger manufacturing 
industries of the city, such as flouring mills, woolen mills, elevators, planing 



2o8 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

mills, lumber yards and smaller concerns. The Union Pacific Railroad passes 
through the place, and maintains the Union Pacific Hotel and extensive 
freight and passenger depots there. The Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Rail- 
way also has a station on the north side for the accommodation of its line 
to Atchison. All kinds of business were represented in the business district, 
as it was the trading point for a large community of farmers living north, 
east and west. When it became apparent that the flood was about to reach 
the point of danger, many families living close to the river abandoned their 
homes and moved to the south side. Those residing further away felt secure 
in the belief that the water could never reach them. Old settlers, who had 
lived there for 40 years or more, insisted that the water could rise no higher 
than it did in the time of former freshets, through which they had passed in 
safety. By noon of Sunday, May 31st, all traditions of the early days had 
been superseded, and the old settlers found themselves moving to the upper 
floors, or clinging to the roofs of their houses, refuge in some cases being 
sought in the branches of tall trees. 

The flood covered the entire limits of North Topeka. The river, bursting 
from its low banks, cut a new channel across the center of the town, through 
which the water rushed with tremendous force. To add to the distressing 
situation, fire broke out in the Thomas and Gabriel lumber-yards, caused by 
slaking lime, the burning timbers being carried by the current to all parts of 
the beleaguered town, setting fire to numerous frame buildings and increas- 
ing the peril to human life. From a placid stream 200 yards in width, the 
Kaw River became an angry torrent extending for a distance of five miles 
north and south. 

RESCUING THE VICTIMS. 

As soon as the extent of the flood and the danger to life were realized 
the problem of relief and rescue was promptly undertaken by the citizens of 
Topeka. All of the telephone lines were down, the street railway bridge had 
been swept away, the approaches to the Melan passenger and wagon bridge 
had been carried out, and there was no way of communicating with North 
Topeka from the south side of the river except by boat. Even this facility 
was limited. Ordinarily the Kaw River is so shallow that boating is not 
practicable. The entire naval equipment of Topeka at that time comprised 
about 25 light canoes, and there were about that number of men in the city 
who were capable of rowing a skiff. Whatever craft could be found, how- 
ever, was promptly put into commission, and willing hands volunteered to 
row across the river in these frail barks. Freeman Sardou, a fisherman, was 
one of the men who worked persistently at the oars, making a trip every 45 




LOOKING SOUTHEAST FROM LUKENS' OPERA HOUSE. NORTH TOPEKA 




LOOKING SOUTH ON KANSAS AVENUE, SHOWING WRECKAGE ON NORRIS STREET 

THE FLOOD OF J903 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 211 

minutes until he had gathered about 200 persons from tree-tops and isolated 
buildings, and landed them in places of safety. On Sunday a line of boats 
was established at the foot of Western avenue and many of the flood sufferers 
were landed there during the ensuing three days. 

The channel was not only difificult of passage, but the volume of drift- 
wood and timbers from dismantled bridges and wrecked houses made the 
boating exceedingly difficult. The mass of debris lodging against the big 
bridge connecting North Topeka with the south side forced the water around 
the south end of the bridge and backed it up Kansas avenue and other streets 
for a distance of three blocks, doing great damage to the Wolfif packing 
house and several wholesale establishments and commission concerns near 
the Rock Island Depot. Further up the river the City Park and Turner 
garden were covered to a depth of three feet, and the city pumping station 
was inundated, cutting ofif the water supply. The river reached its greatest 
height on Saturday evening, May 31st, when it was 27 feet above low-water 
mark, and began to recede at 9 o'clock that night, but the fall was so slow 
that it seemed to make no impression, and it was not until June 4th that the 
water ceased running in the streets of North Topeka. 

HOW THEY WERE BROUGHT OVER. 

To aid in the work of rescue, a pontoon bridge was constructed, extend- 
ing from Second street to the south end of the Melan bridge. When this had 
been finished, it was discovered that the north approach to the big bridge had 
also been carried out, and that North Kansas avenue and the streets east and 
west of that point were merged into a lake of water extending to Garfield 
Park, Soldier Creek, and two miles beyond. A heavy cable was then 
stretched from the north end of the bridge to the brick buildings along Kan- 
sas avenue as far north as the Skinner ice plant, and by this means strong 
men pulled boats to and from the bridge, hand over hand, carrying food in 
one direction and returning laden with human freight rescued from points of 
shelter. This work continued for several days, supplemented by similar work 
at the Santa Fe bridge, and the Sardou bridge further down the river. Those 
first to be rescued were families living nearest to the river where the water 
was deepest and the exposure most severe. A temporary relief station was 
established in two street-cars, which had been left standing on the north bank 
of the river when the street railway bridge went down. While the situation 
was at its worst, a half dozen of the students of Washburn College run a 
cable across the chasm made at the north end of the big bridge, attached pul- 
leys thereto, and drew a large number of women and children over by means 
of a "breeches buoy." 



212 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

With the downpour of rain on Saturday and Sunday came a chilling 
wind. It was November rather than June weather, and women and children 
shivered with cold in damp rooms, or upon the roofs to which they climbed in 
dripping garments. On Sunday 500 persons were rescued in boats, 250 
more were brought away on Monday, and after that probably 100 a day were 
brought over until the danger was past. The receding water left a deposit of 
mud from six inches to three feet deep in every building in North Topeka. 
In many instances the weight of mud caused the floors to collapse, carrying 
the contents of the rooms into the cellars. The loss in household furniture 
was very large, and 700 pianos were water-soaked and ruined. 

IMPRISONED IN HOUSES. 

The first outside aid came from St. Joseph, Missouri. The Rock Island 
railroad was able to operate trains from the north to the town of Elmont, 
from which point boats could be worked into North Topeka from the direc- 
tion of the State Reform School. The mayor of St. Joseph sent a force of 
60 men equipped with boats and carrying provisions and clothing for the 
needy. These boats took out about 4,000 persons, who were cared for at the 
Reform School or sent to Holton and other towns to which the flood had not 
extended. Without this timely succor many of the flood victims must have 
perished, as they were not only short of food but beyond the reach of the few 
boats in service from Topeka. In some instances men refused to be taken 
away from their houses, stating that they preferred to remain and go down 
with their homes if necessary. Many who abandoned their homes found 
shelter in the larger buildings throughout Topeka which were best calculated 
to withstand the terrible force of the tempest. In the Davis grain elevator 
at one time were 200 persons; in the "B" Street Baptist Church, 150; in the 
First Ward fire station, no; in the woolen mills, 300; in the Grant School, 
200;, and there were a dozen groups of smaller numbers in other protected 
buildings. It was impossible to remove them while the water was rising, but 
by desperate efforts food was conveyed to them in sufficient quantities to 
minimize their distress. Those in the Davis elevator were taken out by the 
St. Joseph boats, and the rest were removed by the local rescue parties. On 
Friday and Saturday nights persons living on the higher ground 10 blocks 
distant from the scene of the flood could hear the cries of victims who were 
perched on the roofs of houses or in the branches of trees, and there were 
occasional reports of revolver shots fired as signals of distress. 

Headquarters for the refugees and relief committees were established in 
the Topeka Auditorium, where the sufferers were fed and clothed, and dis- 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 213 

tributed to other buildings in the city, and to the private residences which 
were thrown open to them. The total registrations at the Auditorium was 
nearly 2,000, but more than that number found shelter with relatives and 
friends elsewhere. Hospitals were established, and physicians and nurses 
exerted every effort in caring for the sick and helpless. The Salvation Army 
fed 500 homeless persons daily for a week or more, and other charitable orga- 
nizations afforded every possible relief. 

PROPERTY DESTROYED. 

An idea of the property loss may be gained from the statement that in 
North Topeka alone the flood extended to 1,500 residences and 300 business 
blocks and public buildings. What was true of North Topeka was equally 
true of the whole district up and down the Kaw River, the richest valley in 
the State, although the destruction in North Topeka was greater, by reason 
of the fact that the land is lower and the population denser. The flood damage 
and suffering extended for a distance of 200 miles in length and six miles in 
width. Farms were laid waste, crops washed out, and much live stock 
drowned. It is not possible to give an accurate statement in detail of the total 
property loss, but the following is believed to be a reasonable and comprehen- 
sive estimate of the losses in the Topeka district, as given by the local news- 
papers at the time : 

Residence property in North Topeka $300,000 

Rock Island, Santa Fe and Union Pacific Railways i7S,ooo 

Topeka City Railway 7S,ooo 

Lumber Yards and Sash Factory 40,000 

Otto Kuehne Preserving Works 10,000 

Mills and Elevators 3S,ooo 

J. Thomas Lumber Company 3S,ooo 

Other Business Concerns in North Topeka 300,000 

Charles Wolf Packing Company 50,000 

Parkhurst & Davis Mercantile Company S.ooo 

Other Wholesale and Commission Houses 50,000 

Potato Growers and Market Gardeners 400,000 

Nursery and Fruit Growers 150,000 

Cattle, Hogs, Poultry and Grain 85,000 

Farm Improvements and Growing Crops 450,000 

Shawnee County Bridges 40,000 

Western Union Telgraph Company 10,000 

Telephone Companies 8,000 

City of Topeka — Pavements, Sewers, Sidewalks, Etc 50,000 

Total $2,268,000 



214 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

THE DEATH LIST. 

The loss of life by reason of the flood was greater at North Topeka than 
at any other point on the river. The known deaths amounted to 29 in num- 
ber, of which the following is a correct list : 

Edward Grafstrom. James Phillips. 

Henry Jordan. Miss Minnie L. Puryear. 

J. W. Houser. Mrs. Nellie Watson. 

Henry Ward. Mrs. Minnie King. 

Raymond Garrett. Theodore Edwards. 

Miss Louise Seahaven. Forest Kutz. 

Murle Story. Girl, unidentified. 

John L. Adams. Mrs. Nancy Shonkweiler. 

Mrs. Alice Bishop. James H. Stout. 

Benjamin McDonald. Mrs. Jessie Stout. 

Mrs. Kirrie Buford. Agnes Stout. 

Simon Taylor. Josephine Stout. 

Mrs. Jerry Mayweather. Lena Stout. 

Mrs. Sallie Halyard. Infant son of Mr. and Mrs. Stout. 

Mrs. Mary Kennedy. 

Edward Grafstrom was a mechanical engineer of the Atchison, Topeka 
& Santa Fe Railway. He was drowned on Tuesday evening, June 2nd, by 
the sinking of a small gasoline launch which he had built for the purpose of 
rescuing those in distress. Forest Kutz was a school teacher who was found 
in a tree, so weakened by cold and exposure that when the rescuers reached 
him he fell into the boat with such force that it was capsized, and he was 
unable to regain it. Henry Jordan lost his life by the sinking of a boat in 
which he was endeavoring to rescue a man from a telegraph pole. J. W. 
Houser fell from the Santa Fe railroad bridge and was drowned. Henry 
Ward, an old soldier living near Oakland, fell into the river from a tree and 
was drowned. Raymond Garrett, the five-year-old son of Fireman G. H. 
Garrett, lost his life by the overturning of a boat. Miss Louise Seahaven, 
an employee of the Western Woolen Mills, was drowned near the Forbes 
elevator, together with Murle Story, the 12-year-old daughter of George M. 
Story. Mrs. Alice Bishop died in Christ's Hospital, after being rescued from 
her home. Mrs. Nancy Shonkweiler, James H. Stout and his wife, Mrs. 
Jessie Stout, and their four children were drowned on Sunday by the col- 
lapse of a house in which they had taken refuge. The others named in the 
death list are colored persons who lost their lives, either through direct flood 
causes or from the overturning of boats which were almost unmanageable 
against the violent current. It is probable that there were other losses of life, 
the full extent of which will never be known. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 215 

SOME OF THE EXPERIENCES. 

Volumes might be written without covering more than a fraction of the 
thrilling experiences and odd incidents of the flood. Parents were separated 
from their children in the storm, boats were capsized on paved streets where 
the water was 12 feet deep, horses and cows were drowned while tied to trees 
in front of their owners' premises, houses were lifted from their foundations 
and moved a block or more away by whirlpools, or carried down stream to 
be dashed to splinters against the railroad bridge. One man pulled lumber 
and tools to the top of a cottonwood tree and built a rude cabin, in which he 
stored supplies enough to last him a month. Another was found upon a roof, 
■ calmly playing a cornet. Another and more desperate fellow stood at the 
upper window of his home with a shotgun in his hand and swore that he 
would kill the first man who tried to rescue him. Women refused to get into 
the boats without their children, and children refused to go without their pet 
dogs and cats. Horses and cows were found in the second stories of houses, 
a pig was found in a brass bed, and a lamb was rescued from an upper porch, 
where its cries of agony had convinced the boatman that it was a young child 
in distress. 

Of personal experiences, that of Robert Anderson is a fair sample of 
what happened in a hundred other instances. Anderson lived at No. iioi 
Madison street. When he returned home from work on Friday evening, the 
streets were waist-high with water. Two blocks from home he fell into an 
open sewer, but saved himself from being drawn into the pipes by clinging to 
a passing log. When he finally reached home, the members of the family were 
found upon the second floor. His mother and younger brother were rescued 
by boat. Anderson, his father, and another brother remained behind. During 
the night the kitchen of their home caught fire. They made ropes of bed 
clothes, by which young Anderson was lowered to the scene of the fire with a 
bucket. He succeeded in extinguishing the flames and was then drawn up- 
stairs. They remained in the house from Friday evening until Sunday 
morning, when they were taken in a boat to the woolen mill. Two girls were 
caught by the flood while trying to save some of their wearing apparel. They 
were driven to the second floor by the rising water, and then to the attic. 
With a pair of scissors they cut a small hole in the roof, and with bed-slats 
pried off the shingles until the opening was large enough to permit them to 
crawl through, and a boat subsequently carried them beyond danger. 

THE RELIEF WORK. 

The citizens of Topeka subscribed $50,000 to aid in caring for the suf- 
ferers, and there were other contributions from outside sources amounting 



2i6 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

to $20,000. In the work of relief Capt. H. M. Philips served as chairman of 
the committee to provide food and shelter; Otis E. Hungate as chairman of 
the rescue committee; A. A. Godard as chairman of the finance committee, 
and Mrs. Charles F. Spencer as chairman of the woman's relief committee. 
Frank H. Foster had charge of the rescuing party at the south end of the 
Melan bridge. Judge A. W. Dana directed the operation of the 
cable line. A. M. Harvey and E. L. Overton were in command at the north 
approach to the bridge. The relief work at the Sardou landing was directed 
by Ralph Brigham, and that at the Western avenue landing by A. M. Fuller 
and Frank Blanch. William Taylor and M. D. Henderson had charge of the 
boat service. The construction of the pontoon bridge and the flatboats was 
performed under the direction of J. B. Betts and George H. Henderson. W. 
J. Stagg was principal assistant to Captain Philips. Congressman Charles 
Curtis and Mayor W. S. Bergundthal, both residents of North Topeka, did 
everything in their power for the relief of their neighbors and friends, and 
efficient help was furnished by Sheriff A. T. Lucas, Chief of Police Carlos A. 
Goff, and by President John E. Frost and Secretary Thomas J. Anderson, 
of the Topeka Commercial Club. Special branches of the relief and rescue 
work enlisted the services of Dr. Norman Plass, James A. Troutman, Charles 
K. Holliday, Alfred B. Quinton, J. B. Larimer, Frank M. Bonebrake, W. W. 
Mills, J. W. Thurston, C. E. Hawley, Jonathan Thomas, Henry Auerbach, 
W. T. Crosby, E. H. Crosby, and of hundreds of others, men and women, 
who were not identified with the various committees. 

HISTORIES OF THE FLOOD. 

Two excellent accounts of the great flood have been written in book 
form : one by Llewellyn L. Kiene, a souvenir pictorial book, and the other 
by Mrs. Margaret Hill McCarter, under the title of "The Overflowing 
Waters." A graphic description of the rescue work was written by Maj. 
Alexander M. Harvey, former Lieutenant Governor of Kansas, in these 
words 

"On Saturday evening. May 30th, of the flood period, accompanied by 
Judge Richard F. Hayden, I made my way across the bridge to the north 
side. We found eight or ten men there, who were doing what they could to 
bring refugees over, and we joined them in the work. Judge Hayden went out 
in a boat with a companion about 9 o'clock, and we saw nothing more of him 
during the night. Dr. Conrad Biorke and two colored men soon same in with 
W. H. Troutman and daughter, whom they had picked up. These colored 
men were perfectly at home in the water and assisted us in landing two other 
parties. The water was then at its highest point, and the currents were run- 




MELAN ARCH BRIDGE, AFTER WATER HAD FALLEN SIX FEET 




GENERAL VIEW OF THE FLOOD,— LOOKING NORTHEAST FROM PARKHURST-DAVIS BUILDING, 
SHOWING NORTH TOPEKA AND SANTA FE BRIDGE 



THE FLOOD OF 1903 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 219 

ning like mill-races all around us. We were stationed in two cars that were 
stranded at the north end of the bridge, and had a telegraph pole swung from 
one of them to the end of the street-car bridge, which yet extended up to 
the Melan bridge. From there we crossed to the Melan bridge on boards. 
Up to 12 o'clock we had sent out several boats and had received a number of 
persons and transferred them to the south side. 

"About midnight Dr. L. M. Powell informed me that Llewellyn L. 
Kiene, of the State Journal, was stranded at the corner of Van Buren and 
Gordon streets, and urged me to send a boat to him as soon as possible. We 
sent four different boats before we succeeded in getting him back to the cars. 
Two of the boats that were compelled to return without him brought back 
other persons that were found in trees. About 4 o'clock on Sunday morning 
we discovered that the portion of the street-car bridge which we were using 
would soon wash out, and although we still had one boat out with a number of 
men in it, we thought it best to cross over to the Melan bridge. Two young 
men named McCauley and Ramsey soon returned with Mr. Kiene. 

CONSTRUCTING THE CABLE. 

"After crossing to the south side, I secured breakfast and some dry 
clothing and then returned to the bridge, where I found that the north ap- 
proach and the street railway bridge which we had used the night before had 
washed out, and a terrific current separated us from the men on the stranded 
cars. As I went through the line on the south end of the bridge, I found Frank 
Ritchie and a number of other Washburn College boys, who were trying to 
get through to the stricken district. The guards informed us that a com- 
mittee was on the bridge at that time to determine whether anything more 
could be done at that point. We waited until the committee came back, and 
they told us that everything would have to be abandoned at the bridge, the 
guards having been instructed to permit no one to go over. We interviewed 
them, and asked permission to cross, in order to undertake the establishment of 
a line to the north side. It was then agreed that such of us as wanted to work 
together might go on to the bridge for that purpose, and so they at once passed 
the Washburn boys and any others that I knew to be good workers, and we 
started some of them over, while others were collecting a supply of cord, rope 
and cable. By the time our second detachment had reached the bridge with 
the material the ones who had gone first had succeeded in establishing com- 
munication with the men in the car, on the north side. 

"This was accomplished by the men on the bridge getting loose a tele- 
graph wire that yet extended across the current, and then signaling the men 
on the car to get hold of the same wire. The men on the car tied a rope 



220 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

around one of their number and let him get into the water and wash across 
the street to a place where the wires were entangled. This being done, he 
broke loose the same wire our boys were holding, and was then hauled back 
through the water to the car, and our communication was established. We 
soon had a half-inch steel cable extended across the chasm, and fearing that 
it might not be strong enough, we sent over an inch-and-a-half rope to be used 
with it. To keep the rope out of the water we fastened it to the cable with 
short pieces of wire about every six or eight feet. Then we put a pulley 
around the wire cable and rope, and Fred Ritchie, who, as well as his brother, 
Frank, has the same sort of courage that old John Ritchie possessed, was 
swung onto the cable and pulled over. He had to stop about every six feet 
to take off the little wires that held the rope and cable together, and this made 
it a slow journey. 

"After the apparatus was in working order, and a number of persons 
had been brought over, the large rope parted at a splice and let R. A. Beyrans, 
who was then on the cable, drop into the swift current as far as the steel 
cable would stretch. The boys dragged him through the water, and over 
timbers and wires, as they would haul in a catfish, and landed him on the 
bridge in safety. A heavier cable was then put up and it worked without 
accident as long as needed. Early on Monday morning I was stationed at the 
north end of the cable, and in addition to sending out boats we organized a 
force to extend a cable north on Kansas avenue. J. E. Wilson had charge of 
this crew, and they worked hard all day in a terrible current, and succeeded 
in running a cable straight up Kansas avenue past the fire station, and as far 
as the Methodist Church. I remained at the car all day Monday. Monday 
night and Tuesday, directing the boats in going after persons who were in 
distress and bringing them to the bridge. The boats also took out a large 
quantity of food to people who could not be removed from the houses. 

MAJOR Harvey's helpers. 

"On Tuesday evening I was relieved by E. L. Overton, who took charge 
and stayed on the north side all of that night. I relieved him Wednesday 
morning and kept up the same work all of that day, he again relieving me on 
Wednesday night. On Thursday morning the water had fallen so that our 
landing had to be established several blocks from the car. Thursday even- 
ing we were relieved by the regular authorities of the city and county. While 
at work we made no attempt to take the names of those who assisted, and the 
list can nefver be given entire, as it embraced many men whose names I never 
learned. I give the following as a partial list of those who worked with me : 
E. L. Overton, Prof. Orwell B. Towne, Frank Ritchie, Fred Ritchie, Hugh 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 221 

McFarland, C. A. Steele, George Anderson, P. Anderson, Hugh Reed, Conrad 
Biorke, Carl Stahl, Harden B. Leechman, J. E. Wilson, Ray Gregg, R. A. 
Beyrans, Ray Gill, Omar Mehl, H. H. Donahue, Samuel Percy, J. Cooper, 
William Haynes, H. W. Banks, Henry Ogee, Dr. Buck, George W. Reed, Jr., 
Luther Nellis, Harvey Parsons, Paul Adams, Harry Nichols, Clifford Cun- 
ningham, Edward McCann, Jerome Stahl, Frank Stahl, A. B. Smith, Ralph 
Stahl, K. W. King, J. A. Zimmerman, Louis Hauck, Lu VanLiew, W. C. 
Goodman, C. O. Fletcher, R. M. Breezy, L. J. Brown, James Faucht, Robert 
Stone, W. M. Cowles, Kay Miles, Merrill Mills and Lewis Strauss." 

In concluding the flood chapter, it is only necessary to add that in the 
two years' lapse of time since the occurrence of the great calamity nearly 
every trace of its damaging effect has disappeared, most of the houses have 
been rebuilt, or new ones erected in their place, a system of dikes has been 
established for protection against future overflows, and both from a business 
and residence point of view North Topeka has been fully restored. 



CHAPTER XIX. 

Brief Historical Notes of City and County — Some of the First Happenings 
in Topeka — Social, Literary and Musical Events — Native Kaiisans in 
Shawnee County — Commercial Features of Fifty Years Ago — Accounts 
of an Early Flood — Col. Richard J. Hinton's Reminiscences — Two 
Morning Scenes in Topeka. 

Topeka's first Christmas was in 1854, and its first Fourth of July in 

1855- 

The Kansas Freeman, Topeka's first newspaper, appeared July 4, 1855, 

published by E. C. K. Garvey. 

Miss Sarah C. Harlan taught the first school in Topeka, in a little shanty 
on lower Madison street, near the river. 

The first death was recorded in 1855 — a case of cholera. The first 
cemetery was at the intersection of Kansas and loth avenues. 

The first liquor-smashing crusade in Topeka occurred July 11, 1855, 
about $1,500 worth of beverages being destroyed in four saloons. 

The first school building was erected by the New England Emigrant Aid 
Company in 1857, on lots 145, 147 and 149 Harrison street, fronting on Fifth 
street. 

Rev. S. Y. Lum, a Congregational minister, preached the first sermon 
heard in Topeka, at the residence of A. A. Ward, in the winter of 1854. 

Coal was found in 1856, in the river bluff, two miles from town — not in 
commercial quantities, but sufficient to keep the blacksmiths' forges going. 

January 28, 1858, was the date of the first city election in Topeka, and 
the first levy of taxes for city purposes was made in that year, Howard Cutts 
being designated as collector. 

Wilson L. Gordon, first city marshal, was directed March 24, 1858, to 
grade the first block south from the river on Kansas avenue, at an expenditure 
not to exceed the sum of $150. 

The first well dug was at the southeast corner of Kansas avenue and 
Third street, water being found at a depth corresponding to the level of the 
river. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 223 

BUILDING OPERATIONS. 

Dr. Franklin L. Crane opened the first lime-kiln, and the first stone 
building was erected at Nos. 133 and 135 Kansas avenue, afterwards known 
as Constitution Hall. 

Guilford G. Gage had charge of the first brick-making plant on the 
town-site, and his product entered largely into the construction of the earlier 
buildings in the town. 

The first sidewalks were laid in the town in 1863, on Kansas avenue 
between Fourth and Seventh streets, and on Sixth avenue between Monroe 
and Van Buren. They were built of oak lumber. 

The first sawmill was located on the river bank at the foot of Madison 
street, an engine being drawn by wagon from Kansas City. The first grist 
mill was at the northwest corner of First and Kansas avenues. 

The first telegraph line reached Topeka November 15, 1865, in con- 
nection with the building of the Union Pacific Railroad. For several years 
thereafter North Topeka was the only telegraph office in Shawnee County. 

On July 4, 1866, the first soldiers' reunion was held in Topeka, orations 
being delivered by, Gen. James G. Blunt, Governor Samuel J. Crawford and 
Judge Samuel A. Kingman. 

Thomas N. Stinson, the founder of Tecumseh, received from his Pro- 
Slavery friends of 1855 a silver pitcher in recognition of his services to the 
cause. It bore an engraved representation of negroes cultivating sugar cane. 

Cyrus K. Holliday was Topeka's first justice of the peace, Daniel H. 
Home the first constable, and T. W. Hayes the first census enumerator. John 
Horner, of Tecumseh, was the first tax assessor in Shawnee County. 

The first hotel in Topeka was built of poles and "shakes," at the south- 
east corner of Kansas avenue and Third street. It was called the "Pioneer 
House," and locally known as a "receiving house." 

J. T. Jones, an immigrant from Missouri, established the first store in 
the town, a grocery, located on lower Kansas avenue — then a river path. The 
first brick store building was erected near the corner of Kansas avenue and 
Fourth street, and occupied by Allen & Gordon. 

During its brief existence as the county-seat of Shawnee County, the 
town of Tecumseh had three local newspapers : the Southerner, the Settler 
and the Note-book. 

CAPITOL SQUARE. 

Col. Cyrus K. Holliday is credited with the suggestion of setting apart 
a square in the center of Topeka for State Capitol purposes, long before his 
11 



224 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

pioneer comrades entertained an idea that the city could win the seat of 
government. 

The popular subscription habit fastened itself upon Topeka in a very early 
day. In 1861 the sum of $500 was raised to assist in the construction of a 
wagon road by the Smoky Hill route to Pike's Peak — the first money donated 
by the city to a public enterprise. 

Topeka's first band was composed of Samuel Hall, L. W. Home, John 
B. Home and D. H. Moore. It consisted of two violins, a tenor drum and a 
fife. The band was a power in all of the Free-State meetings. 

The first application of lynch law in Topeka was in the winter of i860, 
the victim being Isaac Edwards, who had fatally stabbed a Pottawatomie 
Indian. The stabbing was done while both were riding up Kansas avenue 
on the same pony. Edwards was hanged at night from the rafters of the 
jail. 

The first destructive fire in Topeka occurred June 10, 1859, destroying 
a building at No. 146 Kansas avenue, owned by E. C. K. Garvey. Later 
fires of greatest consequence were the burning of the State Record ofiice and 
the Ritchie Block. 

During the last week in May, 1855, the first steamboat arrived at the 
Topeka levee, after a turbulent voyage of six days from Lawrence. The 
sound of the whistle caused greater excitement than the shriek of a calliope in 
after days. 

Anthony A. Ward built the first blacksmith shop on the town-site in 
the fall of 1854. He settled in Shawnee County some time in advance of 
the founders of Topeka, and owned one of the city's most desirable suburban 
farms. 

In the merry month of May, 1855, occurred the first wedding in Topeka, 
the contracting parties being S. J. Thomas and Harriet N. Hurd. The cere- 
mony was performed by Rev. Mr. Poole. 

THE FIRST VOTERS. 

At the first election in Topeka the qualified electors included "every 
white male person, and every civilized Indian who has adopted the customs of 
the white man, of the age of twenty-one years and upwards." 

In the year 1854 Tecumseh was "boomed" as the most desirable resi- 
dence point in Kansas, the attractive claim being made that a number of 
aristocratic families from the South had already settled there with their 
slaves. 

The Papan brothers operated the first ferry across the Kansas River 




u 

« 
p 

K 
u 

<; 
a, 
o 
u 

w 

H 
(/] 

o 
o 

K 
H 
W 







u 
Pi 

o 

f- 
cn 

P 
P- 

<: 
m 

H 
t/5 

Di 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 227 

near Topeka in 1842. Other ferries were established at different points on 
the river in the same year. 

Fry W. Giles established the first banking house in the city in 1864. 
In 1866 the firm was known as F. W. Giles & Company, and in 1872 it be- 
came the Topeka National Bank. 

Daniel Boone, a grandson of the famous Kentuckian, was the first actual 
farmer in Shawnee County, and instructed the Indians in the arts of agri- 
culture. 

Topeka's first city directory appeared in 1870, compiled by Sam Radges, 
who has compiled all of the Topeka directories from that date to 1905, the 
volumes being of increasing size and usefulness. 

Maj. Thomas J. Anderson was president of the first Topeka Base Ball 
Club, in 1869, and William J. Stagg, secretary. Charles N. Rix was captain 
of the field. Topeka now maintains a team in the Western Base Ball Asso- 
ciation. 

Topeka had an earthquake shock April 24, 1867 — its first and only 
seismic disturbance of noteworthy extent. It was felt in all parts of the city, 
and most noticeably at the Methodist Church, where the funeral services of 
H. S. Herr were being conducted by Rev. John D. Knox. 

REAL ESTATE ON THE MOVE. 

The first piece of property transferred in the city, of which record was 
made, covered the lots at the northeast corner of Sixth avenue and Harrison 
street. Date, April 7, 1855; consideration, $30. 

The first $1,000 transaction in Topeka city lots was the sale in 1857 
of the property on the northwest corner of Kansas and Sixth avenues, 80 by 
130 feet, the purchase price being paid in gold. 

The first school building erected at the expense of the city was the Harri- 
son street school, in 1865 — which was afterwards changed into the present 
Harrison School, one of the largest in the city. 

Illuminating gas was first used in Topeka in 1870, and the Brush elec- 
tric light in 1882. One electric street-lighting tower was erected at the inter- 
section of Kansas and loth avenues, but was soon discontinued. Incandescent 
lights came in 1886, and the telephone in 1880. 

On the 8th day of September, 1874, a colony of Menonites to the 
number of 1,100 arrived in Topeka. They subsequently purchased 100,000 
■ acres of land in Southwestern Kansas, on the line of the Atchison, Topeka & 
Santa Fe Railway. 

On February 11, 1856, President Pierce threatened to employ the army 
and navy of the United States in dispersing the Free-State Legislature in 



228 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Topeka. The army executed the threat on July 4th, of that year, without 
the intervention of battleships. 

The first child born in the city was Topeka Zimmerman, son of Mr. 
and Mrs. Israel Zimmerman, whose birth was recorded in the spring of 1855. 
In recognition of the important event, the boy was given a valuable lot by the 
Topeka Town Association. 

Topeka's first Fire Department was organized in 1870, with one engine, 
two carts and 1,500 feet of hose. Tobias Billings was chief of the company, 
and George W. Veale, foreman of the hook and ladder company. 

The public water-works system was introduced in July, 1882, being built 
by a local corporation at an expense of $200,000. Extensive additions were 
made in later years, and in 1905 the city purchased the plant for $620,000. 

In his "Thirty Years in Topeka," Fry W. Giles states that in the year 
1862 he issued a policy of marine insurance upon a cargo of freight to be 
shipped from the city of New York to Topeka, via New Orleans and the 
Mississippi, Missouri and Kansas rivers. 

EARLY RAILWAY FACILITIES. 

Topeka first enjoyed the benefit of a street railway in the month of June, 
1 88 1 — a horse-car line, with five 12-foot cars. It was later changed into a 
steam dummy line, and then to the present very complete electric system. 

The Union Pacific was the first railroad built into Topeka, arriving 
January i, 1866. The Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe road was built from 
Topeka to Burlingame in 1869, and the line from Atchison to Topeka was 
opened May 16, 1872. 

The first real estate office, independent of the Topeka Town Association, 
was operated by Asaph Allen and Harris Stratton, in 1856, with headquarters 
in the Topeka House. 

Topeka's first academy of learning was opened January 2, 1856, by 
James Cowles, A. B., for a term of 12 weeks, offering instruction in the 
elementary grades and in Greek, Latin and French, the tuition ranging from 
$3 to $6 for the term. 

One of the patents to the land covered by the city of Topeka bears the 
date of February 14, 1859, and is signed by President James Buchanan. A 
second patent, issued in 1S61, covering an additional 62 acres on the Kansas 
River bank, is signed by President Abraham Lincoln. 

In 1855 the stage fare from Kansas City to Topeka was $5 for each 
passenger. The freight rates from St. Louis to Kansas City averaged from 
30- cents to $2.50 per hundred pounds, according to the stage of the water, 
being highest in March, October and November, and lowest in May and 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 229 

June. Transportation by wagon from Kansas City to Topeka was very ex- 
pensive. 

The first State Fair in Topeka was held September 9-12, 1871. On the 
last day of the fair an inebriated stranger was riding down Kansas avenue at 
a furious pace and reined his horse against Sheriff Sherman Bodwell, throw- 
ing him to the ground and causing his death. The drunken man rode away 
and was not apprehended. 

ARBOR DAY. 

April 22, 1875, was designated as Arbor Day in Topeka, by Thomas J. 
Anderson, then mayor of the city. In response to the mayor's proclamation, 
business was suspended and the citizens planted 800 trees in the State House 
grounds. Most of the trees were subsequently cut down by a landscape 
gardener in the employ of the State. 

Five of the Presidents of the United States have been entertained in 
Topeka, viz : Grant, Hayes, Harrison, McKinley and Roosevelt. Vice-Presi- 
dent Henry Wilson was here May 19, 1875. He also visited the city May 
25, 1857, and upon his return to Massachusetts raised $2,500 to be expended 
in behalf of the Free-State cause in Kansas. 

The first literary organization in the town was The Kansas Philomathic 
Institute, whose members gave the first dramatic performance, the piece being 
"The Drunkard." The same society collected the first public library in 
Topeka, which was lost in the burning of the Ritchie Block in 1869. 

At an old settlers' meeting held in Topeka in 1904, after some of the 
pioneers of 1854 had signed the roll and boasted of being first on the town- 
site, a colored man named John E. Allen smashed all of their records by 
stating that he crossed the Kansas River near Topeka in 1842 with John C. 
Fremont's expedition, the crossing being made in rubber boats. 

The Methodists erected the first church spire in Topeka, and had the 
first bell of commanding size. The bell weighed 1,068 pounds, and was given 
to the church in 1866 by John Paisley, of Pittsburg, Pennsylvania. It was 
given during the pastorate of Rev. John D. Knox, to commemorate the 
centennial year of American Methodism. 

OUTDOOR CELEBRATION. 

The first Topeka picnic was held May 17, 1855, on the river bank west 
of Kansas avenue and north of First avenue, now known as the City Park. 
A roast pig and a 20-pound catfish graced the table. At this picnic Mrs. 
F. J. Case was toasted as the first woman to grace Topeka with her presence. 



230 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

early in 1855. Miss Harriet Hartwell, of Massachusetts, had the honor of 
being the first unmarried woman on the town-site, also in 1855. She after- 
wards became the wife of James G. Bunker. 

Topeka's first production of grand opera was that of "Martha," at 
Costa's Opera House in 1873, by a small company headed by Mme. Anna 
Bishop. The local critic was esthusiastic over her "trills caught of skylarks, 
and love-notes learnt of robins." The Templeton opera company gave the 
first performance of comic opera in Topeka. 

J. Butler Chapman, of Ohio, who spent the years 1854 and 1855 in 
Shawnee County, was one of the original boomers of Kansas pasteboard 
towns. His wife was one of the original woman suffragists, and visited the 
Territorial Legislature in the interest of that cause. The Chapmans returned 
to Ohio in 1856, and, instead of living happily ever afterwards, were divorced. 

GRASSHOPPER RAIDS. 

The first grasshopper raid in Shawnee County was in i860. The insects 
arrived September 15th of that year, entirely destroying crops and vegeta- 
tion. A second and worse visitation of this plague occurred in the summer 
of 1874, causing another appeal for aid, a general issue of bonds, and a 
special session of the Kansas Legislature in the following winter. The 
Kansas Central Relief Committee was organized in Topeka to distribute aid 
throughout the State, Lieutenant-Governor E. S. Stover being chairman and 
Henry King, secretary. The committee disbursed money and supplies to the 
value of $131,313.65. 

The first school in Topeka for colored children was started in 1865 in 
a small building on the south side of Sixth avenue, between Kansas avenue 
and Quincy street, in charge of Miss Mabee. The following year the school 
was divided, the colored pupils occupying the upper floor, and the white chil- 
dren the lower floor — the white pupils being taught by Miss Gilbert (after- 
wards Mrs. G. C. Foss). 

NATIVE KANSANS. 

Various claims have been put forth to the honor of being the first white 
person born in the territory comprising the State of Kansas, but the pre- 
ponderance of history is in favor of Col. Alexander S. Johnson, who was 
born July 11, 1832, at the Methodist Indian Mission, in Johnson County — 
at that time in charge of his father. Rev. Thomas Johnson. Col. Alexander 
S. Johnson died at Dallas, Texas, in 1904, and was buried in Topeka, which 
for many years had been his home. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 231 

There is abundant evidence showing that Elizabeth Simmerwell was 
the first white female born in the Territory of Kansas, the date of her birth 
being December 24, 1835. Her father, Rev. Robert Simmerwell, was then 
located at the Baptist Shawnee Indian Mission, in Johnson County, and was 
one of the best known of the early missionaries to the several Indian tribes 
in Kansas. Elizabeth Simmerwell married John Carter, of Williamsport 
township, Shawnee County. 

The following excerpt from the Topeka Tribune of April 6, 1856, shows 
that the editor of that day was as enthusiastic as all of his successors have 
constantly been : "The immigration continues to pour into the Territory 
with increased volume. So great is the rush that it is impossible at all times 
to secure suitable accommodations or conveyance to the dififerent parts of the 
country. We had anticipated a very large immigration but the realization is 
beyond all our preconceived ideas. They come like the locusts of Egypt, not 
however to destroy, but to save, and right welcome they are. A large pro- 
portion, too, have come to stay, and will add vastly to our strength, both for 
defense against usurpation, and in developing the resources of the country." 

The cost of breaking prairie in the early years of Topeka's history was 
from $2.50 to $4 per acre. Lumber was worth from $25 to $30 per thousand 
feet. Oxen were worth about $100 per yoke, mules from $100 to $200 per 
head, and horses from $75 to $150 each. Sheep sold for $2 a head, and 
chickens for 25 cents each. Masons and carpenters received from $2 to $3 
per day in wages. Wheat was worth $1.50 per bushel, and flour $4.50 per 
hundred weight. 

AN INDIAN SEAL. 

The original seal of the Probate and County Court of Shawnee County 
bore the words, "Shawnee County Court, Tecumseh, Kansas," and above 
the word "Tecumseh" was the figure of an Indian chief, in hostile attitude, 
about to strike with his tomahawk, his rifle trailing on the ground — ^the 
figure intending to represent Tecumseh, the celebrated Shawnee chief, at the 
battle of the Thames. The county commissioners subsequently ordered the 
removal of the word Tecumseh, and the Indian figure, from the seal. 

The first mail under lock was received at Topeka May i, 1855. A 
regular service was established in that year, by four-horse coaches, between 
Kansas City and Fort Riley, via Topeka. In 1859 Topeka had a daily mail 
from Leavenworth, and from St. Joseph via Lecompton ; a tri-weekly mail 
to Rulo, Nebraska; and a weekly mail to Grasshopper Falls, Burlingame, 
Emporia, Council Grove, Williamsport and Brownsville, Nebraska. 

In September, 1882, when the Grand Army of the Republic held its 
annual encampment in Topeka, many distinguished visitors were present. 



232 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

The local newspapers made record of the assignment of the following visitors 
to Topeka homes : Hon. James G. Blaine and wife, and Col. Clark E. Carr and 
wife, at George W. Wood's; Hon. Walker Blaine, at C. C. Wheeler's; Gen. 
and Mrs. J. Warren Keifer, at Thomas Ryan's; Gen. John Pope at Joab 
Mulvane's; General Bingham, at M. Bosworth's; Hon. William Warner, at 
M. H. Case's; Hon. John A. Anderson, at Dr. Silas E. Sheldon's; Senator 
and Mrs. John J. Ingalls, at Henry King's; Senator and Mrs. Preston B. 
Plumb, at Floyd P. Baker's; and Gen. John S. Marmaduke, at W. G. 
Dickinson's. 

A poet's felicity. 

Upon the occasion of his visit to Topeka in 1881, Robert J. Burdette 
wrote a characteristic letter descriptive of the activity and energy of the 
growing city, introducing his letter with the following paraphrase of Tenny- 
son's "Gate of Camelot :" 

So, when their feet were planted on the plains 

That broaden to the swiftly rolling Kaw, 

Far off they saw the silent misty morn 

Rolling the smoke about the Capitol, 

And piles of stone and brick were in the streets, 

And men were shrieking "Mort" from scaffoldings — 

The mort, perhaps, of Arthur, 

But more liken of Mike. 

Then those who went with Gareth were afraid. 

One crying: "Let us go no further, 

Here is a city of enchanters, built 

By fairy kings." Gareth answered them. 

That it was built more liken by 

Descendants of Irish kings, the hod fellows 

Co-operaten with the Free 

And Expected Masons. 

So he spake, and loffen 

Did enter with his train 

(The eastern bound U. P. Express) 

Topeka, a city of modern palaces. 

AN EARLY FLOOD. 

In the year 1844, where Topeka now stands, there was a flood quite 
similar to that of 1903, although its consequences were less destructive and 
fearful. The river went out of its banks, and the bottom lands were sub- 
merged with eight feet of water. The Indian settlers were terribly frightened, 
many of them loading their tents on ponies and departing hastily for higher 
ground. Most of them returned in the spring of the following year. The 




RESIDENCE OF JOHN E. FROST 




RESIDENCE OF CAPT. GEORGE M. NOBLE 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 235 

cabin home of Louis Gonvil and family, which preceded any of the houses 
erected upon the site of Topeka, was destroyed by the flood. The channel 
of the Kansas River was then some distance south of the present channel, 
aad the river not so wide as in after years. The Gonvil house was built on 
land lying about the middle of the present river channel, and a short distance 
below the present bridge at the Kansas avenue crossing. In commenting upon 
this storm several years prior to the great flood of 1903, Fry W. Giles said: 
"At the site of Topeka the river's breadth was from the line of Third street 
on the south to the bluffs, two miles to the north of its usual channel, the 
water standing to a depth of 20 feet. Such a flood now would destroy many 
million dollars' worth of property." A further reference to this early flood 
is found in W. W. Cone's "Historical Sketch of Shawnee County :" "During 
the flood, Major Cummings, Paymaster of the United States Army, wishing 
to cross from the south to the north side of the Kansas River, near Topeka, 
stepped into a canoe at about the corner of Topeka avenue and Second street, 
and was rowed from there to the bluffs in Soldier township, the water being 
twenty feet deep over the ground where North Topeka now stands. One 
of the Papans lived in a house on the island just above the bridge. This 
house stood the flood until the water came above the eaves, and then was' 
washed away. The island at that time was a part of the main land." 

COtONEL HINTON'S REMINISCENCES. 

Col. Richard J. Hinton, an early friend of Kansas, who died in London, 
December 20, 1901, made his last visit to Topeka in January, 1900, and 
delivered an address, "On the Nationalization of Freedom," before the 
Kansas State Historical Society. Incidental to the address, he gave some 
reminiscences of Topeka which are appropriate in this connection, — "I have 
been strolling about Topeka," he said, "trying to find landmarks. It is forty- 
five years since I crossed the Kansas River and entered Topeka. Certainly 
there is a vast change. I am delighted with the beauty of the location, the 
breadth of your streets and the homelike attractiveness that I see about me. 
When I first crossed the river, the associations and surroundings were cer- 
tainly of a much different character. My party was one of the companies that 
came in from the north to assist the Free-State people against the Southern 
invaders. We formed the rear guard of that column of over one thousand 
men by whose aid the conflicts at Franklin, Washington Creek, Titus Camp 
and Osawatomie were fought and won. There was at that time a little town 
on the north side of the river, known as Indianola, which has no existence 
now. It was then the seat of a border ruffian colony. Approaching within 
a short distance of Indianola, we could see from rising ground a great com- 



236 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

motion in the straggling street. Men were hurriedly riding backward and 
forward with guns across their saddles. Immediately dividing our little com- 
pany, we surrounded the place and captured ten or twelve mounted men, 
who, we afterwards learned, were preparing for a raid upon Topeka. The 
town of Topeka had been left with only its women and children, the men 
having gone to Lawrence to assist their comrades. I remember making a 
personal capture of the man supposed to be the leader, while he was engaged 
in emptying powder and shot into a pair of old boots, swung on either side of 
his saddle-bow. We did them no special harm, but as I rode along with my 
little company I recall that we had ten or twelve more mounted men than 
when we started. 

A WELCOME ARRIVAL. 

"We were ferried across the river early in the afternoon, and as we landed 
here all of the few inhabitants were on the bank to meet us. The intended 
raid from Indianola had been made known to them, but our presence was 
entirely unsuspected, and we were given a cordial welcome. Edmund and 
William Ross, who were publishers of the Free-State paper, had a little stone 
building partly finished. Nearly all of our men were printers from Boston, 
and we made a camping-place for that night of the unfinished printing office, 
remaining there until early the next day, when some of the citizens returned 
from Lawrence. It is a great delight to wander about and travel across 
Kansas — to me at least — seeing as I do the growth of town, village and farm, 
where memory takes me back to days when all was open plain, when the 
buffalo could be found in great herds, when the nearest Eastern railroad 
station was 400 miles from the Missouri River, at Iowa City, and the Southern 
one was 400 miles down the river, at Jefferson City. Being in Topeka recalls 
to me the stirring events of your history and the brave deeds of your pioneers. 
My young manhood was spent here, and now in the mellower days of my 
seventh decade, I have lost none of my good feeling, and very little of my 
interest in the country's welfare, and in the achievements that make or mar the 
same. Kansas is a great State, and, as one who helped to make and mould 
her, I shall remain proud of her progress until I hear Gabriel's call." 

TWO MORNING SCENES. 

In his account of the founding of Topeka, December 5, 1854, Fry W. 
Giles paints a word picture of the first morning in the city's history : "No 
cloud was within the bounding horizon ; the atmosphere clear, cold and highly 
rarefied, revealing to the astonished vision objects far beyond its usual ken. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 237 

and those at hand in strange expanse ; the broad belt of timber emerging past 
the highlands from the unknown west, and stretching far away to the east, 
holding in its dark embraces the river of Kansas, its presence there anon re- 
vealed by vista-views of cyrstal ice, radiant with morning light. The general 
topography — the limitless field of ever-varying, never-tiring undulations, 
symmetrical beauties every one — called forth devout gratulations, alike for 
faculties which find delight in form, and these natural objects to satisfy their 
cravings. The great sun poured its flood in genial rays of red askance the 
plain, dissolving frost to dewdrops on the seared grass, and inviting the per- 
ceptions to the pure and the picturesque. Memory turns to such a morning, 
and amid such surroundings beholds a little group of men standing against 
the sky on yonder plateau, exchanging glances of doubtful recognition, and 
contemplating with eager interest the scene of life's labors before them." 

In closing this volume the writer may speak of another morning in 
Topeka — a morning in June instead of December. The same river threads 
its way in silence to the sea. The same creeks meander through winding vales 
and tufted groves. Fifty years have passed, and what was then an echoless 
plain is now a city of 50,000 people, at the high tide of 20th century prosperity. 
A city in which mills grind unceasingly, and the smoke of many factories 
mottles the clouds. A city with fifty daily railway trains, five thousand 
buzzing telephones, a model street-car line, paved thoroughfares, luxurious 
homes, fine business blocks and every modern utility. It is 1905 instead of 
1854 in Topeka. Colleges and schools are graduating scores of young men 
and women to be doctors, lawyers, teachers, missionaries, artisans, merchants, 
engineers, clerks, and workers in every field of human endeavor. News- 
papers, libraries, churches and other agencies are stimulating the moral and 
intellectual advance of the community, and directing the march of progress 
with a martial hand. It is June instead of December, banks of roses instead 
of drifting snow. The prairies of fifty years ago are green with waving 
corn, golden with ripened wheat, and purple with the first bloom of the alfalfa. 
From school house and dwelling the flag of freedom and happiness floats in 
the Western air — of all airs the blandest ; and above is the arching sky of 
Kansas — of all skies the fairest and truest. It is June in Topeka, the June 
of 1905. 





(^r^A\; 



nx)r 




\<^\ 



Representative Citizens 



DAVID WASSON STORMONT, M. D. 

With the death of Dr. David Wasson Stormont, at his beautiful home in 
Topeka, Kansas, on August i8, 1887, was brought to a close a useful and 
well-rounded life, rich in good deeds and dear to the memory of thousands. 
He was born September 26, 1820, at Princeton, Gibson County, Indiana. 
His father was a substantial man of that locality who was able to give his 
son the advantages of a college education. 

Dr. Stormont received his degree in 1845, ^"d began and continued his 
practice until 1859, in the village of Grand View, Illinois, in the meantime 
adding to his medical knowledge and surgical skill by post-graduate courses 
at the University of Pennsylvania. In 1862 he sought the attractive field 
offered by the rapidly growing city of Topeka, with which city he was identi- 
fied during the succeeding 25 years. He was connected with many medical 
organizations and was a strong supporter of the movement that was organ- 
ized to spread a knowledge of advanced methods and to require a higher 
standard of medical education for the profession. For a number of years he 
was secretary of the State Board of Health. In practice he was all that could 
be desired in a physician, adding to this medical skill the true sympathy of a 
tender-hearted man. The influence Dr. Stormont wielded, both directly and 
by his stimulating example, was not confined in its effects entirely to the 
medical profession, but was apparent in-the promotion of educational and 
philanthropic works. 

On October 30, 1848, Dr. Stormont was married to Jane Cree Smith, 
of Grand View, Illinois. This estimable lady survives and it has been her 
pleasure to not only carry out many philanthropic plans of her late husband 
but to erect at Topeka enduring monuments to his memory. In the Stormont 
Medical Library and in The Jane C. Stormont Hospital and Training School 
for Nurses are public gifts which will bring blessings in their wake for gen- 



244 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

erations. Other public buildings have profited by her generosity while her 
helping hand is continually extended in support of innumerable charities. 
The hospital was established in 1895, at which time Mrs. Stormont gave the 
building lots and the sum of $20,000. This institution has since been en- 
larged and has achieved grand results in the field of charity. Mrs. Stormont 
gave to the Stormont Medical Library books to the value of $5,000 and for 
its maintenance endowed the library with the same amount. She also con- 
tributed the sum of $5,000 to the support of the Topeka Free Public Library. 

The late Dr. Stormont was no politician, but he always took a deep in- 
terest in public matters and was the advisor of many prominent political and 
business organizers, his high character and sterling integrity making his sup- 
port very valuable. During the administration of President Lincoln he was 
appointed receiver of public moneys at Topeka. His remains rest in the 
Topeka Cemetery under a monument of enduring granite, typical of the 
strength of his character and also of the long-continued remembrance of his 
fellow-citizens. 

Mrs. Stormont resides in a handsome home at Ingleside, and is sur- 
rounded by many friends of long years standing. Portraits of Dr. and Mrs. 
Stormont accompany this sketch. 



HON. W. C. WEBB. 

Hon. W. C. Webb, deceased, was for many years a leading political 
factor in the State of Kansas, as well as an honored member of the Shawnee 
County bench. Judge Webb was born in Pennsylvania, coming from a family 
of lawyers, legislators and soldiers. 

The father of Judge Webb and his three brothers were lawyers, two of 
the brothers being district judges and one a circuit judge, and his three sons 
are also lawyers, and six of the eight have been elected to the legislative 
halls of their various States. His grandfather was a private soldier in a 
Connecticut regiment during the Revolutionary War; his father and grand- 
father both served as private soldiers in the second war with Great Britian, 
181 2-1 5, and Judge Webb and his three brothers, his oldest son and his 
sister's two sons, all served in the Union Army during the Civil War. 

After the close of the Civil War, in 1866, Judge Webb came to Kansas. 
His earlier life had been one of industry and activity and he had already 
reaped many laurels. He commenced his career as a practical printer and he 
edited and published a Democratic paper for some years in Pennsylvania, 
but left that political organization on account of its pro-slavery attitude, and 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 245 

in 1854 he assisted in the organization of the Repubhcan party. Shortly- 
after his admission to the bar, he removed to Wisconsin and enlisted from 
that State and after the close of three years of service had won the rank of 
colonel through personal bravery. 

During his residence in Wisconsin, Judge Webb supported Republican 
principles, was there elected several times to the Legislature and was made 
county judge and district attorney. After coming to Kansas he was three 
times elected to the Legislature and held many offices, including county at- 
torney, judge of the District Court, judge of the Superior Court of Shawnee 
County and others. He was, also, the first insurance commissioner of the 
State and was Supreme Court reporter during the time covered from Vol. 6 
to Vol. 20. 

With his experience of more than 40 years as a lawyer, he made a re- 
markable record as a lawyer and a jurist. He was one of the best informed 
men in legal circles, but was not a brilliant orator or a spellbinder. His 
work, however, was so accurate and his conclusions so sound that he was 
widely consulted on intricate points by his brother attorneys, who knew that 
complete confidence could be placed in his conclusions. It was a matter of 
pride with him that the Supreme Court had upheld every bill which he had 
adjudged perfect. He owned one of the best law libraries in the State, and 
was the author of works himself, his last labor of this kind being the compila- 
tion of the "Revised Statutes of Kansas," authorized by the previous Legisla- 
ture. 

In 1 89 1 he released himself from the Republican party and became an 
advocate of the principles of the Populist party, and in 1896 was a candidate 
for the Populist nomination for chief justice of the Supreme Court. 

Judge Webb died April 19, 1898, at his home. No. 827 Quincy street, 
Topeka, which continues to be thet family residence. He was survived by 
his widow and four children, the latter being as follows: Sarah (Mrs. Richard 
L. Walker), of Kansas City, Kansas, whose husband died in February, 1903; 
Linus S., of Parsons, Kansas; Mary W. (Mrs. George L. Walker), of 
Topeka, and Lovell H., of Winfield, Kansas. 



HON. J. B. JOHNSON. 

The death of Judge J. B. Johnson in February, 1899, at his home on 
West Sixth street, Topeka, removed one of Kansas' leading attorneys and 
able men, one who had distinguished himself as signally in peaceful pursuits 
as he had done on the field of battle. Judge Johnson was born in Mc- 
Donough County, Illinois, in 1841. 



246 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

When but a lad of 17 years he took up arms in defense of his country's 
liberties and his valiant services were of such a nature that he was given a 
captain's commission before the close of the war. He then entered upon the 
study of the law, for which his great talents especially fitted him, becoming 
a notable member of the profession and rising to an honorable position on 
the bench. He was judge of the Circuit Court of Shawnee County when 
that court existed and was a candidate for the Republican nomination for 
Governor on several occasions. After serving several terms in the Kansas 
House of Representatives from Jefferson and Shawnee counties, he was 
chosen Speaker of the House in 1881 and four years later was again chosen 
Speaker. His personality was of such a character that, in a city of particularly 
able men, he filled a place which no other has been found to occupy. 

Judge Johnson was an honored and' valued member of the Lincoln Post 
of the Grand Army of the Republic, which had charge of the funeral 
obsequies, which were of a most impressive nature. After a beautiful sermon 
by Dr. Linus Blakesley, of the First Congregational Church, the mortal re- 
mains of one who had been loyal in every relation of life were taken in 
charge by his comrades, who paid them every military honor before leaving 
them in the vault which had been prepared in the Topeka Cemetery. A 
wealth of the most beautiful blossoms to be secured, arranged in every 
artistic design to express love and regret, had been sent in token of the honor, 
affection and respect entertained by his professional brethren, business asso- 
ciates and the general public. The active pall-bearers on this sad occasion 
were: Judge Charles F. Johnson, of Oskaloosa, Kansas; Dr. George W. 
Hogebloom; Charles Blood Smith; Judge W. A. Johnson; Capt. R. M. Spivey 
and George W. Findlay. The honorary pall-bearers, appointed by the Topeka 
Bar Association, were : Judges S. A. Kingman, A. H. Horton, D. M. Valen- 
tine, S. H. Allen, John Martin, John T. Morton, John Guthrie and Z. T. 
Hazen. 



C. H. GUIBOR, M. D. 

Few members of the medical profession in the State of Kansas have 
been more justly entitled to eminence than the late Dr. C. H. Guibor, whose 
death took place at The Jane C. Stormont Hospital, Topeka, on September 
22, 1 90 1, as the result of an operation made necessary by an aggravated 
stomach trouble, which his own great knowledge and skill could not cure. 
Dr. Guibor was born in St. Louis, Missouri, January 4, 1842, and was a 
son of Augustus and Edith (Harrington) Guibor. 

Dr. Guibor's parents removed from St. Louis to Peru, Illinois, when he 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. £47 

was a child, and there his father was extensively interested until i860 in 
the manufacture of plows. When our subject was 18 years old, the family 
removed to Colorado where the father engaged in mining, in which he met 
with considerable success. The youth was at an age when the adventurous 
life of the mines, mountains and changing population attracted him and he 
never lost interest in that section where he subsequently owned vast properties. 
Prior to the location of the family in Denver, in 1873, Dr. Guibor had been 
sent East to begin his medical studies and these he pursued to graduation at 
Rush Medical College, Chicago, subsequently being attached to the St. Luke 
Hospital staff as interne. 

After closing his medical student life in Chicago, Dr. Guibor located 
for practice at Iowa Falls, Iowa, happening to go there just in time to find 
his services needed in a smallpox epidemic. This trying ordeal for a new 
physician was successfully lived through and the experience he gained was 
of the greatest value to him, while his fidelity to his patients marked a notable 
phase of his character, one which made him honored and beloved through his 
entire professional career. In 1875 he moved to Beloit, Kansas, where he 
practiced until 1887-88, when he went back to Chicago to take a post-graduate 
course along the lines of what later became his specialty. One year later, his 
health failing, he came to Topeka, where he opened an office and purchased 
a home at No. 822 Buchanan street. Later he purchased the present handsome 
family residence at No. 1015 Harrison street, where his family still reside. 
Dr. Guibor was known as one of the most thoroughly competent 
specialists in the diseases of the nose, throat and lungs, in Kansas, was a 
member of the staff of physicians of the Santa Fe Hospital Association, and 
he was called all over the State for consultation in the treatment of difficult 
cases. During his residence at Beloit, he was a member of the State Board 
of Medical Examiners and a large portion of his time was then spent in con- 
ducting examinations in the various county-seats in Eastern Kansas. During 
his time of general practice, he held membership in all the medical societies 
of the day and held every office in the Kansas State Medical Society. He had 
read extensively and traveled widely and his culture was as genuine as his 
information was general. He was a man of large means, owning an immense 
lumber camp and sawmill in Arkansas, considerable real and personal prop- 
erty in Kansas, Illinois and Colorado, many mining and banking interests and 
was the largest stockholder in the Little Bay Lumber Company. He enjoyed 
his large income in that it enabled him to carry on various philanthropic 
enterprises. The extent of his private charities will never be known, for the 
hundreds who came with empty hands to profit by his skill were freely treated 
and as carefully tended as were those who had fortunes to offer to regain 
health. 

12 



248 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

On June i6, 1879, at Beloit, Kansas, Dr. Guibor was married to Mrs. 
Fannie Bross, who still survives, with a daughter, Edith, and a son, Charles, 
the latter of whom was at school at Jarvis Hall, Mount Clair, Colorado, at 
the time of his beloved father's death. 

Dr. Guibor was never active in political life. He belonged to no 
fraternal societies but was a member of the Topeka Club. To himself his 
probable death was an accepted fact, but to his family it came as a,n un- 
expected calamity. After two months spent on the shores of Lake Michigan, 
his health had seemingly so much improved to their loving eyes, that they 
awaited the results of the operation with thoughts of a happy future. Dr. 
Guibor was of an exceptionally genial and cordial disposition, generous and 
kind of heart, and devoted to his family, his home, his city and his profession. 



HON. PARKISON I. BONEBRAKE. 

Hon. Parkison I. Bonebrake, banker and prominent and representa- 
tive citizen of Topeka, Kansas, was born September 25, 1836, in Preble 
County, Ohio, and is a son of Rev. George Bonebrake. 

For many years the father of Mr. Bonebrake filled the arduous duties 
of circuit rider in Ohio so faithfully that his health became impaired, 
necessitating his retirement, in middle life, from the ministry of the United 
Brethren Church. During our subject's boyhood, he removed to Iowa and 
embarked in a mercantile business. 

Parkison I. Bonebrake enjoyed excellent educational opportunities, lay- 
ing the foundation in the common schools and subsequently attending Cornell 
College at Mount Vernon, Iowa. His business education was acquired in 
his father's store and this he put to good account when he came to Topeka, 
in the summer of 1859. This was early in the city's life and men of his 
ability and enterprise were welcomed as they were needed. He soon became 
identified with public affairs, in 1866 being elected county clerk by the Re- 
publican party, in which office he subsequently succeeded himself for four 
terms. In the meantime he had so gained the esteem and confidence of his 
fellow-citizens, irrespective of party, that when he became a candidate for the 
Legislature he received every vote cast in his district, a unique condition of 
affairs and a marked testimonial to his sterling character. The financial 
ability which has later made him noted as a financier all over the State was 
very apparent when he drafted the excellent assessment and taxation laws 
which stood on the records for many years. In 1876 he was appoiiited to fill 
a vacancy in the office of State Auditor, to which office he was elected soon 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 249 

after, and Mr. Bonebrake is one of the few men who have served in a State 
office for three consecutive terms. 

In 1882, upon retiring from the auditorship, Mr. Bonebrake decHned 
other pohtical honors, desiring to give his attention more closely to personal 
affairs. He organized the Central Bank of Kansas, and subsequently was 
one of the prime movers in the organization of the Central National Bank of 
Topeka, of which he was elected president, an office he has held for 21 years 
to the present day, his careful, conservative direction of the bank's affairs 
making it one of the soundest institutions of its kind in the State. The other 
officers of .the bank are as follows : Charles S. Downing, vice-president; Edwin 
Knowles, cashier; F. C. Thompson, assistant cashier. The directors include 
the president and the vice-president and the following well-known capitalists 
and business men of Topeka : Charles J. Devlin, V. B. Kistler, H. P. Dillon, 
Charles S. Gleed, A. S. Johnson, Eugene F. Ware and J. D. Norton. The 
latest statement of the bank, as rendered to the Comptroller of the Currency, 
November 10, 1904, is as follows : 

RESOURCES. 

Loans, Discounts and Securities $845,969 SS 

Overdrafts 711 09 

U. S. Bonds and Premium 334,40O 00 

Real Estate 11,50000 

Furniture and Fixtures 2,500 00 

Redemption Fund with U. S. Treasury 12,500 00 

Cash and Sight Exchange 437,825 76 

Total $1,645,406 40 

LIABILITIES. 

Capital Stock Paid In $250,000 00 

Surplus Fund 45,000 00 

Undivided Profits 18,413 93 

Circulation 250,000 oo 

Deposits 1,081,992 47 

Total $1,645,406 40 

In 1859 Mr. Bonebrake was united in marriage with Martha A. Lowe, 
and the two survivors of their family of four children are : Frank M., who is 
cashier of the Merchants' National Bank; and Frederic B., who is vice-presi- 
dent and treasurer of the Osage City Grain & Elevator Company. The family 
belong to the Methodist Episcopal Church, of which Mr. Bonebrake has been 
a member since youth. 

Mr. Bonebrake has never lost his interest in politics, and is now, as he 
has been for many years past, treasurer of the Republican State Central Com- 



250 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

mittee. He has served many years as a member of this committee and much 
of the time as its chairman, and his advice and counsel have long been sought 
by party leaders. He is known to his fellow-citizens as preeminently a man 
of affairs, and the results he has accomplished justify the opinion. His 
ability has not been confined to his own affairs ; in fact, Topeka owes much to 
his public spirit and personal endeavor. He has taken a very prominent 
position in inaugurating and perfecting many of the great business enter- 
prises which have contributed so largely to Topeka's commercial prosperity, 
notably tlae building of the water-works, of which construction company he 
was president and secretary, and the securing of important railroad lines to 
and through this point. He is vice-president of the American Bankers' Asso- 
ciation of Kansas. 

Personally, Mr. Bonebrake is the soul of integrity. Although for many 
years he has held a commanding position in the business world, he is simple 
in his tastes and unassuming in manner. Few of his fellow-citizens know 
the extent of his charities, of the struggling youths he has helped, of the 
benevolent objects he has encouraged or of the religious enterprises he has 
furthered. In Parkison I. Bonebrake, the city of Topeka has a citizen of 
sterling worth. 



WILLIS NORTON. 

During the last decade. Death has many times entered the ranks of 
Topeka's business men, removing from the city's busy activities those who 
had been instrumental in promoting her prosperity, and in no case was the 
loss more deeply felt than in the passing of Willis Norton, late president of 
the Bank of North Topeka, sole proprietor of the Inter-Ocean flour mills, and 
an able, forceful factor in almost every circle. Willis Norton was born July 
22, 1845, ^t London, Ohio, and died at Topeka on April 10, 1895. He was 
a son of Thomas R. Norton, being one of a family of 11 children born to 
his parents, six of whom still survive, namely: John F., of Topeka; Charles 
F., of Canton, Ohio; Mrs. Fassler, of Topeka; Mrs. Kauffman, of Columbus, 
Ohio; Percy; and Mrs. Burnett, of Springfield, Ohio. 

Mr. Norton entered into business life upon the conclusion of his school- 
ing, becoming connected with the dry goods house of his uncle, John Foss, 
at Springfield, Ohio. In 1871 he came to Topeka, where his energies were 
given until his death to founding and fostering her greatest business enter- 
prises. In 1871 the Capital Bank, one of the early financial institutions of 
Topeka, was organized by Mr. Norton, John D. Knox and Mrs. E. Chris- 
man. At a later date, Mr. Norton became connected with the Central 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 251 

National Bank, and in 1883 he bought a half interest in the Bank of North 
Topeka, and continued as its president until the close of his life. 

Mr. Norton was interested in many business undertakings and identified 
with the founding of charitable institutions and the promotion of civic im- 
provements. In the industrial world he is most prominently recalled as the 
head of the great Inter-Ocean flour mills, the largest plant in Topeka. This 
business was established in 1879 by Mr. Norton, Thomas Page and Messrs. 
Shellabarger and Griswold. In 1882 Mr. Norton became the sole owner. In 
this great enterprise as in every other, his ability was a recognized factor 
and his business integrity stood unquestioned. 

Mr. Noron was twice married. His first wife, Lillian Coats, died in 
October, 1890, leaving one daughter, — ^Josephine. On December 5, 1894, 
Mr. Norton married Lizzie Thompson, a daughter of Thomas Thompson. 
Mrs. Norton with one child, survives. They occupy one of Topeka's beauti- 
ful homes at No. 908 Topeka avenue and move in the best circles of the city's 
society. 

Politically, Mr. Norton was identified with the Republican party. In 
religious views he was a Methodist. His fraternal and social connections in 
Topeka were quite extensive. 



ALEXANDER McQUISTON. 

Alexander McQuiston, one of the well-known residents of Mon- 
mouth township, Shawnee County, is also one of the old settlers, having 
preempted 160 acres, — the northeast quarter of section 10, township 13, 
range 16, — as early as 1858. He was born in Venango County, Pennsyl- 
vania, February 7, 1834, and is a son of David and Mary (Davidson) Mc- 
Quiston. 

On the paternal side our subject comes from Scotch ancestry, although the 
family has been American for several generations, his grandfather having 
been born in Westmoreland County, Pennsylvania. In 1800 the grandfather 
worked in Cincinnati and helped to shingle some of the first houses ever built 
there, but his home was in Venango county. Our subject's mother was born 
in Pennsylvania of Irish parentage. Our subject is one of a family of 1 1 sons 
bom to his parents, namely : John, deceased ; William, deceased ; James, who 
died in infancy; David H., deceased; Alexander; Joseph, of Pennsylvania; 
Davidson, deceased, who served in the Civil War ; Ira. of Platte County, Ne- 
braska ; Robert, an old soldier of the Civil War, living at Big Springs ; Cyrus, 
of Pennsylvania; and Hiram, deceased, who served in the Civil War. Three 



252 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

of the sons of this family served in the Civil War. There have been three 
fatal accidents also in the family : the grandfather Davidson was killed while 
doing his duty as sheriff in Pennsylvania; Rev. John McOuiston was killed 
by the cars at Pauline, Kansas ; and Hiram McQuiston was accidentally shot 
after safely passing through the dangers of the Civil War. 

Our subject remained at home with his parents until 21 years of age 
and then went to Bureau County, Illinois, to join his brother John, who had 
settled there in the previous year. After three years of farming there, Mr. 
McQuiston returned to Pennsylvania on a visit. In July, 1858, he came to 
Shawnee County, Kansas, where he preempted his present farm in Monmouth 
township. He lived in a little board shanty until he put in his first crop. 
When everything looked promising, he returned to Illinois and was married 
there in July, 1859. That Mr. McQuiston's first agricultural operations 
were a complete failure was no fault of his, for that was the year of the great 
drought which is a part of the history of the settlement of the State. He 
was one of the hundreds of unfortunate men who saw all their efforts go for 
naught. The fall of i860 found the little family in dire need and on this 
account Mr. McQuiston accepted the invitation of his father-in-law to re- 
turn to Illinois for a season. 

Mr. McQuiston expected to almost immediately return to Kansas, but 
just then the war clouds broke over the land and as two of his wife's brothers 
enlisted, he remained to assist his father-in-law and did not come back to 
his Kansas farm for five years. This has been his home ever since and he has 
a valuable property. The planting of maple and Cottonwood trees proved a 
wise measure and he now has a fine grove. He also set out orchards, apple 
trees alone to the number of 1,000, built a comfortable home and substantial 
barns and has continued to prosper. His farm is devoted to grain, fruit 
and stock. 

Mr. McQuiston was married to Mary A. Winder, a native of Illinois, 
who died in Kansas after 25 years of happy wedded life. They had three 
children, the one survivor being Mrs. Mary Alice Lovell, of Pennsylvania, who 
has nine children. Mr. McQuiston's second union was to Susan A. Newman, 
who was born in Breckenridge County, Kentucky, October 11, 1856, and 
came to Kansas with her parents in 1879. She is a daughter of John J. 
Newman. They have three children. Nora Viola, William A. and 
Frank H. 

Politically, Mr. McQuiston is a Republican. For 14 years he has served 
as justice of the peace, twice being appointed by the Governor. He has been 
a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church for many years. 

The detailed story of Mr. McQuiston's early experiences in Kansas is 
very interesting. It was hard work to place his farm in its present condition. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 253 

but the results show what determination and energy will finally accomplish. 
Every year agricultural operations are becoming more and more the subject 
of scientific study and those who succeed to-day have much less to contend 
with than did those of even a decade ago. 



HON. CASSIUS G. FOSTER. 

The roster of distinguished jurists who have brought honor to the 
bench and bar of Kansas contains many names of deserved eminence, and 
among the great leaders in the legal profession was the late Judge Cassius 
G. Foster. Judge Foster was born at Webster, Monroe County, New York, 
January 22, 1837, and died at his beautiful home in Topeka, on June 21, 
1899. He was a son of Rufus W. and Prudence (Stewart) Foster, members 
of families whose ancestral lines reach back to colonial days. 

Cassius G. Foster's early education was obtained in the common and 
high schools of his native place, and that he was fitted for the law, in Michi- 
gan, was something of an accident. He had become a member of the family 
of a maternal uncle, who lived near Adrian, Michigan ; after a short time spent 
in the Adrian Academy, he became a law student in the office of Hon. 
Fernando C. Bowman, of that city. One year later he went to Rochester, 
New York, continuing his law studies, which he later completed with Bartaw 
& Olmstead, at Leroy, New York, and was admitted to the bar in the spring 
of 1859. In June of the same year, he removed to Kansas, selecting the 
healthy little town of Atchison as the scene of his first legal struggles. There 
he formed a partnership with S. H. Glenn and the firm soon became one of 
importance, handling cases of all kinds with the skill and ability which brought 
in a large income for the young firm and much prominence for its members. 

Judge Foster possessed too ardent a temperament and too much force 
of character to stand aside during those stormy days in the political field, 
and his influence was soon felt. During the Civil War he served with the 
rank of colonel on the staff of Governor Carney until, in 1862, he was 
elected by the Republican party to the State Senate. Upon the close of his 
term, he resumed his law practice and in 1867 he was called to fill the posi- 
tion of ma/or of Atchison, then a city of largely increased importance. In 
March, 1874, he was honored further by appointment as United States dis- 
trict judge, an office he filled with the greatest efficiency until his retirement 
on January 6, 1899, by special act of Congress. 

Judge Foster sat upon the bench for a quarter of a century and during 
this long period of judicial life proved himself to be one of the ablest men 



254 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

that has ever administered justice in the State of Kansas. His opinions 
showed him to be learned, fearless and impartial. Personally, he was a man 
of deep sympathies and wide interests, an appreciative supporter of educa- 
tional, scientific and moral movements. The Topeka Foster Humane Society 
is the outcome of his efforts in one direction, and this benevolence, like many 
others, was supported mainly through his liberality. 

On September 12, 1878, Judge Foster was married to Angle V. Luding- 
ton, who was a daughter of R. W. Ludington, a prominent citizen of 
Lawrence, Kansas. Mrs. Foster still survives, with two daughters, Beatrice 
and Lillian; they reside in a beautiful residence on the corner of nth and 
Harrison streets, and move in the best society of Topeka. During the later 
years of Judge Foster's life, the family traveled in many lands, in a vain 
search for health for the beloved husband and father. Although perfect re- 
covery from his malady was not granted, his days were prolonged. He was 
permitted to pass away surrounded by his family and friends and in the city 
where he had gained so many legal triumphs. 



ERNEST B. CONANT. 

Ernest B. Conant, one of the prominent members of the bar of Shaw- 
nee County, Kansas, who has been a resident of Topeka only since August, 
1903, but whose connection with Washburn College has made him many 
friends among the citizens, was born at Enfield, New Hampshire, and is a 
son of Washington I. and Anna F. (Skinner) Conant. 

The parents of Mr. Conant were both of New England birth and educa- 
tion, the father being a native of New Hampshire and the mother, of Ver- 
mont. Enfield is one of the important mill towns of Grafton County, the 
center of a large manufacturing district, and the father of Mr. Conant was 
superintendent of one of the great woolen mills there. In 1886 he retired 
from active life and his death took place in 1902, at Boston, Massachusetts, 
but his burial was at Enfield. 

Ernest B. Conant completed the common-school course in his native 
State and in September, 1887, he entered Phillips Academy at Exeter, New 
Hampshire, where he remained four years, completing the course in June, 
1 89 1. He then entered Harvard University, where he was graduated in 
1895, with the degree of A. B. In the same year he entered the Harvard Law 
School where he was graduated in law in 1898 and in September of the same 
year was admitted to the Massachusetts bar. 

Mr. Conant entered into the practice of his profession at Boston, where 




FOSTER DWIGHT COBURN 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 257 

he remained until the end of 1902, when he moved to Chicago, having been 
appointed one of the professors in the Ilhnois College of Law. In May 
of the same year he was elected dean of the law department of Washburn 
College, and came to Topeka the following August. Since taking up his 
residence here, he has been engaged in general practice, having become a 
member of the Shawnee County bar in October, 1904. 



FOSTER DWIGHT COBURN. 

Foster Dwight Coburn, whose prolific pen devoted to the agricultural 
interests of Kansas, as well as his distinguished public services in connection 
with the State Board of Agriculture and the State Agricultural College, have 
made him known all over the land, is a native of Wisconsin but Kansas has 
claimed him since 1867. Mr. Coburn was born in Jefferson County, Wis- 
consin, May 7, 1846, and remained there on the parental farm until 13 years 
old and then lived three years at Hannibal, Missouri. 

Mr. Coburn is a graduate of no college or university, his school train- 
ing having been confined to what he could secure in the common schools of 
his native county. When but a youth of 18 years he enlisted for service in 
the Civil War, entering as a private Company F, 135th Reg., Illinois Vol. 
Inf., at Greenville, Illinois. After the close of his first term of service, he 
reenlisted in the 62nd Regiment, Illinois Vet. Vol. Inf., and served until 
March, 1866, when he was mustered out with the rank of sergeant major, at 
Fort Gibson, Indian Territory. 

After the close of the war, Mr. Coburn came to Kansas, more interested 
in agriculture than anything else, being led to this section on account of the 
location here of his former superior officer. Col. L. C. True. Colonel True 
owned a ranch in Franklin County and he engaged Mr. Coburn's services 
and gave him an oportunity to prove his ability. He soon became so inter- 
ested in the various branches of his work that he consented to discuss various 
topics at the farmers' meetings and to contribute articles for the local press upon 
what he considered important subjects, that by 1880 he had attracted enough 
attention to be offered a position in the office of the State Board of Agriculture. 
In the following year he was unanimously elected its secretary. After serv- 
ing for a short period, he located at Wyandotte, now Kansas City, Kansas, 
where he took editorial charge of the Kansas City (Missouri) Live-Stock 
Indicator, a journal he conducted successfully for nearly six years, increasing 
in this time his popularity as an agricultural authority to such a degree that 
in 1882 he was appointed by Governor George W. Glick, a regent of the State 



2S8 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Agricultural College, and made president of the board. Upon the expiration 
of his term he was reappointed, and reelected president. In 1894 he again 
became secretary of the State Board of Agriculture and was reelected on 
five excessive occasions by acclamation. When Governor William E. Stan- 
ley became chief executive of the State, he appointed Mr. Coburn a regent of 
the State Agricultural College, and he was elected vice-president of the board. 

Mr. Coburn has contributed vastly to the agricultural history of Kan- 
sas and his books on general agricultural subjects form of themselves a 
library, which covers many of the most important subjects. Among these 
works may be mentioned as leading ones : "Swine Husbandry," "Alfalfa 
Growing," "The Helpful Hen," "Cow Culture," "The Modern Sheep," "The 
Horse Useful," "Corn and the Sorghums," "Forage and Fodders," "Short- 
horn Cattle," "Hereford Cattle," "Polled Cattle," "Pork Production," "Kan- 
sas Wheat Growing," 'Modern Dairying" and "Potato Production," all of 
these, as will be noted, on such practical subjects as to make them valuable 
as text-books. 

Mr. Coburn was married in 1869 to Lou Jenkines, and they have three 
children, all of whom are graduates of the State Agricultural College. 

Mr. Coburn has always been a consistent Republican and on more than 
one occasion has been urged to accept political offices of the highest character. 
In 1898 he was brought forward as his party's candidate for Governor but 
absolutely declined the honor. He has also been tentatively proffered the 
presidency of the Agricultural College, but, while appreciating the confidence 
of his fellow-citizens, has declined to serve. Mr. Coburn's portrait accom- 
panies this sketch. 



REV. FRANK E. MALLORY. 

Rev. Frank E. Mallory, pastor of the Christian (Disciples) Church 
Topeka, Kansas, was born at Franklin, Pennsylvania, June 4, 1865,- and is a 
son of Russell and Elizabeth (Shearer) Mallory. 

The Mallory family came from Pennsylvania to Jewell County, Kansas, 
about 1879, settling on a tract of 160 acres where the father carried on gen- 
eral farming for some years. He now resides at Jewell City where his wife 
died May 8, 1898. The family consisted of 10 children, the survivors being: 
Jennie, wife of A. J. Wise, of Pennsylvania; David C, of Atchison, Kansas; 
James M., a farmer of Jamestown, Kansas; Elmira, of Jewell City; Frank 
E., of this sketch; George W., of Jewell City; Clayton, of Mankato, Kansas; 
and John C, of Concordia, Kansas. 

Our subject accompanied the family to Kansas and lived in Jewell 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 259 

County until 1883, when he graduated from the High School. In 1893 
he came to Topeka. For one year he served as general secretary of the 
Young Men's Christian Association at Atchison. In September, 1893, the 
Christian (Disciples) Church was organized at Topeka, with a membership 
of 429, and on October ist Mr. Mallory was invited to become its first pastor. 
He has continued in this relation to the present time and the encouraging 
condition in which this little body of earnest men and women find themselves 
is mainly due to his untiring energy and faithful stewardship. In 1894 the 
church edifice, which is situated at Third and Lake streets, was erected to 
seat 1,000 persons, and it is almost entirely paid for. In connection with the 
Christian (Disciples) Church is a Sunday-school of 300 members, the Ladies' 
Auxiliary to the C. W. B. M. and the Ladies' Aid Society, all these organi- 
zations being in a flourishing condition. 

On August 12, 1884, Rev. Mr. Mallory was married to Mary Glad- 
felter, of Nortonville, Kansas, who is a daughter of Wesley and Henrietta 
(Berry) Gladfelter, who are engaged in farming. 

Rev. Mr. Mallory has been a member of the Topeka Board of Educa- 
tion for six years and has been its president for the past three years. He has 
always been identified with educational and religious progress here. His 
fraternal relations are with Topeka Lodge, No. 40, I. O. O. F., and Sun- 
flower Camp, No. 536, Modern Woodmen of America. 



EDWARD HENRY MOESER. 

In the course of human events, the older citizens of a community pass 
off the threshold of life to give place to the new generation pressing on 
behind, and thus the time comes when the pioneers, those who have borne 
the heat and labor of the day that others may enjoy the shade and ease, are 
represented only by memories. In the death of E. H. Moeser, Topeka lost 
a pioneer, an honorable man and a valued citizen. 

Edward Henry Moeser was born April 6, 1849, ^^ Giessen, Hessen- 
Darmstadt, Germany. He came of good, sturdy German stock, his father 
being a farmer by occupation and a respected, industrious man. In 1857 
our subject emigrated to America with his mother and located in Chicago. 
In 1862 he came to Kansas, settling first at Leavenworth; one year later he 
took up his residence at Topeka, which city continued to be his home and 
the scene of his business success. Shortly after settling at Topeka, with 
his brother Philip he became int-erested in the operation of an ice and cold 
storage business which he developed into the large concern at Nos. 200 to 



26o HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

218 Polk street, known as the Moeser Ice & Cold Storage Company. 
Although Mr. Moeser was not officer of the company at the time of his 
death, he was one of its founders and to his early business enterprise and 
fostering care its expansion to its present proportions may be mainly attrib- 
uted. During his active business years his integrity and ability brought him 
many friends who entertained a life-long respect for him and confidence in 
his judgment. 

Mr. Moeser was married at Topeka, July 4, 1871, to Ida Bohne, who 
still survives, with four children : Etta E. ; George E., a well-known engi- 
neer ; Clara I. and Irma R. The three daughters reside with their mother in 
their handsome home at No. 208 Tyler street. This attractive residence was 
erection in 1901 under the supervision of Mr. Moeser. To daily watch the 
completion of this new home was a task he enjoyed, although he was con- 
scious that he could scarcely survive to long enjoy its comforts. 

The death of Mr. Moeser, which occurred on Thursday evening, March 
2, 1905, was not altogether unexpected, as he had been a sufferer from 
Bright's disease for some five months. His remains rest in the Topeka 
Cemetery. 

Mr. Moeser was connected with a number of the early civic organiza- 
tions and was a member of the first city fire company. He was a just man 
in all his dealings and gave to charitable objects that he deemed worthy of 
support. With his family, he attended the Lutheran Church. 



EUGENE HAGAN. 

Eugene Hagan, a prominent figure in almost all the legal controver- 
sies, in the past decade, at Topeka, gaining eminence at the bar while yet in 
middle life, and rich in personal gifts and scholarly attainments, belongs 
to the State's long list of leading men. Mr. Hagan was born July 8, 1859, 
in Monroe County, Missouri, and is a son of Joseph and Mary Hagan, and 
a descendant of Revolutionary stock. 

Mr. Hagan spent the period between the age of 14 and 18 years at school 
in St. Mary's, Kansas, and then went to Louisville, Kentucky, ■ where he was 
graduated from the academic and law departments of the State University 
of Kentucky. After a short season of practice at Chicago, Mr. Hagan turned 
to the West for a less crowded field, coming in 1880 to Topeka, where he 
became associated with the old law firm of Peck, Ryan & Johnson. At a later 
date Mr. Peck became general attorney for the Atchison, Topeka and Santa 
Fe Railway Company, and a new firm was formed, Johnson & Hagan, which 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 261 

continued for three years. He has since practiced alone. He has been 
retained in many notable cases, has assisted in forming the policies of many 
great concerns and the State records are filled with his successes. It was 
Mr. Hagan who brought the action in the Supreme Court which was known 
as the Gunn case, which resulted in the settlement of the legislative struggle 
of 1893. Another notable instance was when he was attorney for Mrs. 
Mary E. Lease and gained a victory over the opposing counsel and over 
Ex-Governor Lewelling. While every phase of law is familiar to him, he 
takes a particularly active interest in criminal cases and has won a justifiable 
reputation in this branch of practice. Mr. Hagan is noted for his faithful 
adherence to his clients and has the manner which immediately inspires 
confidence. Gifted with a retentive memory and quickness of perception, a 
complete comprehension of every legal point and avenue, he is an antagonist 
to be feared and an advocate to be depended upon. 

In political as well as in professional life, Mr. Hagan has become promi- 
nent in Kansas. A consistent Democrat of the old school, in 1882 he was 
elected president of the Young Men's Democratic League of Kansas, a posi- 
tion he held for four years. In 1885 he was appointed assistant United States 
district attorney for the district comprising Kansas and Oklahoma Terri- 
tory, and served as such for five years. In 1888 he was a delegate to the 
Democratic National Convention. Although for 12 years previous to 1896 
he had been a member of the Democratic State Central Committee, he that 
year resigned on account of the Free Silver issue and was instrumental in 
promoting the National Democratic party in Kansas. As chairman of the 
Sound Money Democratic State Committee, he was a member of the Kansas 
delegation at Indianapolis. He is a man of strong convictions and has the 
courage to uphold them. 

On January 5, 1899, Mr. Hagan was united in marriage to Madge 
Johnson, daughter of Hon. J. B. Johnson, a former law partner of Mr. 
Hagan. 



DAVID LONG LAKIN. 

David Long Lakin, deceased, who for 40 years was closely identfied 
with the important agencies which have resulted in the development of Kansas 
into one of the greatest States of the Union, and for almost as long a period 
was an important factor in the building and management of the great 
Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway and its mighty interests, was one of 
Topeka's most honored and valued citizens. The birth of Mr. Lakin oc- 



262 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

curred at Zanesville, Ohio, May 2^, 1830, and his long and useful life closed 
at Topeka, on October 8, 1897. 

Mr. Lakin enjoyed excellent educational advantages, graduating with 
credit from Zanesville College. His natural inclinations and mental equip- 
ment led him to seek a career which would involve mental rather than man- 
ual activity, and he accepted a position as a school teacher in Alabama. At 
that period there were many calls from the South for the services of educa- 
tors from the North, and Mr. Lakin spent many pleasant and profitable years 
in that Southern State. In 1857, after the final settlement of many of the 
public problems which had marred the fame of this beautiful and fruitful 
country, Mr. Lakin came to Kansas, and through his whole subsequent life 
gave his allegiance and most unselfish and earnest efforts to promote the 
State's welfare. As years passed, his sterling character was recognized by 
his community and he was placed in many positions of responsibility which 
increased public confidence. In 1862 he was appointed Auditor of the State. 

Mr. Lakin's connection with the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway 
began early in its organization, and in February, 1864, he was elected to 
membership on its directing board and was made its first treasurer. Until 
the close of his life, Mr. Lakin remained with this great transportation sys- 
tem, one of its most active and influential managers, and much of the credit 
was due him for the general prosperity brought about a decade later, when 
the road was completed to the western border of the State. He was con- 
cerned with everything that has made this road one of the greatest lines in 
the country, and his death brought not only a sense of personal loss to those 
with whom he had been so closely connected and who had learned to depend 
upon his almost unerring judgment, but to the many great interests involved. 

Mr. Lakin was married July 14, 1868, at Topeka, to Mary E. Ward. 
She was born in 1844 at Shawnee Mission, and is a daughter of the late 
Anthony A. and Mary J. (Foster) Ward. There were five children born 
to Mr. and Mrs. Lakin, namely : Burr, Mary, David, Alice and Samuel. 

Politically, Mr. Lakin was identified with the Democratic party, believ- 
ing in its principles and consistently supporting its candidates. His fraternal 
associations were with different branches of Masonry. He was more or 
less interested in various social organizations and was a dependable factor 
in public-spirited enterprises. 

In this too brief sketch of David Long Lakin, a summary of his life 
and character would show that he was a man of force, ability and integrity. 
His fellow-citizens know that he was wise in council and generous and fair 
in spirit; his business associates remember his scrupulous attention to all 
the absorbing duties of his office; and his family recall one, whose constant 
care was for their welfare. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 263 

There are few more delightfully situated homes than that of Mrs. Lakin, 
at No. 100 North Western avenue, Topeka. The large, old-fashioned resi- 
dence, surrounded by noble trees of luxuriant growth, is located on a hill 
that not only overlooks the whole of the beautiful capital city with the great 
dome of the State House showing to the south, but also enables the beholder 
to follow the graceful curves of the Kansas River as it winds away through 
its green banks to the Missouri. It is a home indicative of rest and refinement 
and here Mr. Larkin enjoyed the ease which gave him the physical and 
mental strength necessary for the carrying out of his important duties. 



ELIAS BRANSON COWGILL. 

Elias Branson Cowgill, a veteran newspaper man of Kansas, and a 
member of the Kansas Farmer Publishing Company, of Topeka, has been 
prominent in all matters pertaining to the State's agricultural interests for 
a great many years. Mr. Cowgill was born March 27, 1845, ^t Martin's 
Ferry, Ohio, and is a son of Phineas and Sarah Ann (Branson) Cowgill. 

The Cowgill family came to America with William Penn and settled 
near Philadelphia; a branch moved to Loudoun County, Virginia, and sub- 
sequently, during the infancy of our subject's grandfather, to Belmont 
County, Ohio. The latter was an old and exemplary resident. He was an 
elder in the Society of Friends and presided at the head of the local meeting 
at St. Clairsville for over 30 years. The father of Mr. Cowgill was also born 
in Ohio, where he married and engaged in farming until 1852, when he 
moved to Iowa. 

Elias B. Cowgill was mainly reared and entirely educated in the State 
of Iowa, where he completed his preliminary studies and then entered the 
State University of Iowa, where he was graduated in 1869. His beginning 
in newspaper work was as editor of the university paper, and his second 
effort was at Enterprise, Mississippi, where he also became interested in 
cotton raising. He was later made superintendent of the schools of Clarke 
County, Mississippi. 

In 1871 Mr. Cowgill came to Kansas, locating at Great Bend, Barton 
County. He surveyed the Great Bend town-3:;e in September, 1871. In 
December, 1875, he moved to Sterling, Kansas, where he established the 
Rice County Gazette, a paper wh'ch he continued to issue for the succeeding 
16 years. It was mainly devotvid to the mterests of that part of the State 
and won a place in the front rank of tlae newspapers of the country. In 



264 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

1884 he was appointed by the Commissioner of Agriculture to investigate 
the sugar industry, and in the following year he was elected to the chair 
of physics and engineering in the Kansas State Agricultural College. These 
trusts he accepted although he still retained his ownership of the Gazette, 
which was placed under the management of A. L. McMillan. In 1887, 
however, Mr. Cowgill decided to return to Sterling, resigning his work at 
the college. He was again appointed by the Commissioner of Agriculture 
to look further into the sugar industry, and to ascertain the best kind of 
machinery to use and the best processes to follow. In 1889 Mr. Cowgill 
went into the erection of sugar machinery and became general Western rep- 
resentative of the Kilby Manufacturing Company, of Cleveland, Ohio. He 
built factories for the manufacture of sugar at Medicine Lodge, Conway 
Springs and Ness City, and rebuilt the factory at Topeka, which had been 
burned in 1890. In 1891 he disposed of all his interests in this line and 
bought an interest in the Kansas Farmer Publishing Company. The Kansas 
Farmer was first printed in 1863 by Judge Adams, later by Ex-Governor 
George T. Anthony and still later by Maj. J. K. Hudson. A company was 
then formed which was succeeded by the present company. The publication 
has a circulation of 23,000, which extends all over Kansas, Missouri, Ne- 
braska, Oklahoma and Indian Territory. It supplies the needs of hundreds 
of households in the valleys and plains in these various States and occupies a 
place of prominence on many a cultured library table. Its issue is weekly 
and its aim is to be a strictly home and agricultural paper. 

On September 20, 1869, Mr. Cowgill was married to Helen Prescott, 
who was a daughter of John S. and Mary (Harris) Prescott, the former of 
Massachusetts and the latter of Ohio, Iowa, Mississippi and Kansas. Mrs. 
Cowgill died at Great Bend, Kansas, in 1875, leaving one child, Sadie C, 
the wife of William J. Graves, of Neosho, Missouri, who is in the real 
estate business and is land agent for the Kansas City Southern Railroad 
Company. In May, 1877, Mr. Cowgill was married, second, to Rena Harri- 
man, of Sterling, Kansas, who is a daughter of Dr. Leonard B. and Angeline 
(Kezer) Harriman. Dr. Harriman died at Sterling, but his widow, a native 
of Canada, is a resident of Guthrie, Oklahoma. Mr. and Mrs. Cowgill have 
these children: Ruth — the talented editor of the home departments of the 
Kansas Farmer, and Horace B., who are graduates of Washburn College; 
Ella L. and Harry L., who are students at Washburn College; Clyde P., who 
is attending the Topeka High School; and Clinton H., Paul K. and David 
M., who are still in the graded schools. The family belong to the Congrega- 
tional Church, in which Mr. Cowgill has been a deacon for some time. He 
is president of the State Temperance Union, belongs to the Commercial Club, 
is a member of Oak Grange and of Topeka Lodge No. 17, A. F. & A. M. 




HON. JOHN MARTIN 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 2^7 

His sympathies are with the Democratic party. Mr. Cowgill has a very 
pleasant home at No. 1325 Clay street. The Kansas Farmer headquarters 
are at No. 116 West Sixth street. 



HON. JOHN MARTIN. 

Hon. John Martin^ ex-United States Senator, whose portrait is here- 
with shown, stands as one of the great and strong men of Kansas. Entering 
public life through the avenue of the law, he pursued an upward course until 
he attained the honorable ambition of every American statesman, — a place 
in the United States Senate. Here his great legal abilities made him a valued 
coadjutor, in the handling and solving of some of the most important issues 
ever brought before that body. 

John Martin was born November 12, 1833, ^^ Wilson County, Tennes- 
see, and is a son of Matt and Mary (Penn) Martin. The Martin and Penn 
families were old families of lineage and breeding, but, like many others in 
that locality, possessed of only limited financial resources. Our subject's 
home was an ideal one, its atmosphere being one of family affection and 
gentle refinement, but when the time came for the ambitious youth to push 
out for himself, little but good wishes could be given him. 

Turning his face Westward, in search of a favorable field of operation, 
Mr. Martin reached Tecumseh, Shawnee County, Kansas, on April 8, 1855. 
After casting about a little, he decided that here he could complete his law 
studies, to which he had already given considerable attention in Tennessee, 
and, in the words of a well-known public man, now passed ofif the theater 
of life, "grow up with the country." His ability was almost immediately 
recognized and he was made assistant clerk of the first Territorial Legisla- 
ture. As soon as he was admitted to the bar, he was made county attorney 
of Shawnee County and served as county clerk and register of deeds from 
1857 to 1859. From the latter year up to January, 1861, he was assistant 
United States attorney. 

In 1 861 Mr. Martin opened his office at Topeka, where his legal ability 
continued to more and more bring him into prominence, and in 1883 he was 
appointed judge of the Third Judicial District, to which office he was sub- 
sequently reelected. In 1873 he was sent to the State Legislature to repre- 
sent Shawnee County and again in 1874, and during this period he worked 
hard for the best interests of Topeka, securing many advantages for this 
city, one of these being the location of the Insane Asylum here. His political 
affiliation has always been with the Democratic party and on several occa- 

13 



268 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

■sions it has insisted on making him the standard-bearer in the contests for 
■gubernatorial honors. His foUowing has always been large and influential, 
and in 1893 he was elected to the United States Senate, to fill the unexpired 
term of Senator Plumb. While in Washington his work showed him to be 
a steadfast supporter of the principles of his party and a man of broad, en- 
lightened views and in every sense a true patriot. Judge Martin has served 
also as clerk of the Supreme Court of Kansas. He still continues in the 
practice of his profession at Topeka, where he is justly numbered with the 
eminent members of the bar. 

Judge Martin was married November 12, i860, to Caroline Clements, 
who was a daughter of Judge C. B. Clements, of Tecumseh, and they have 
had three children, viz.: Charles C, deceased; Hon. John E., who is not 
only the mayor of Emporia, Kansas, but is the first Democratic mayor the 
■city has ever elected ; and Carrie, an accomplished lady who is the competent 
stenographer of the Kansas State Historical Society. 



SYLVANUS LORENZO LEAVITT. 

Sylvanus Lorenzo Leavitt, for man years a leading business citizen 
of Topeka, who now lives retired from active affairs, was born September 
14, 1 82 1, at Effingham, New Hampshire, and is a son of John and Ruth 
{Champion) Leavitt. 

The Leavitt family originated in England and its American, founders 
settled in New Hampshire. The great-grandfather reared five children at 
Hampton, namely: John, Herson, Morris, Jeremiah and James. Jeremiah 
Leavitt was the first settler at Effingham (formerly known as Leavitt's Town) 
New Hampshire. Of the 11 children of John and Ruth (Champion) 
Leavitt, but two survive, — our subject and a brother, William H., a retired 
resident of Portland, Maine. 

Sylvanus L. Leavitt lived at home on his father's farm, attending the 
district school of the neighborhood in the winter, until he was 14 years old. 
He was then for one year employed as a clerk in his brother's store. He 
then returned home and worked on his father's farm in the summer and 
attended the Effingham Academy during the fall and spring terms. Li the 
winters of 1839 and 1840 he taught a district school in the town of Eaton, 
New Hampshire. In the spring of 1841 he went to Boston, Massachusetts, 
where he worked in a sash and blind factory until the fall of 1847. He then 
moved to Manchester, New Hampshire, and engaged as a clerk in a clothing 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 269 

store, remaining there until the spring of 1852. He then removed to Laconia, 
New Hampshire, where he was engaged in the dry goods and carpet business 
until January, 1868. While there, besides conducting his mercantile busi- 
ness, he was one of the promoters and president of the first gas company 
established in Laconia and was also a director in the Laconia Savings Bank. 
In January, 1868, he removed his business to Plattsburgh, New York, and 
continued in business there until April, 1872. Wishing for a larger field 
where he could extend his business he removed to Norwich, Connecticut, 
and continued there as a dry goods and carpet merchant until September, 
1875, when, on account of the loss of his voice, caused by a paralytic affec- 
tion of the throat, he decided to give up his business and on the, advice of his 
physician to seek a milder climate, in order to restore his health. Selling 
out his establishment to a Boston firm, he then removed to Southern Cal- 
ifornia. 

In the year 1880 Mr. Leavitt came to Topeka and interested himself in 
business as one of the promoters and stockholders in the A. Prescott Loan 
& Banking Company (incorporated). Soon after this he sold his interest in 
the company and returned to California. In 1882 having in the meantime 
recovered the use of his voice, he returned to Topeka and took a position 
with, the Kansas Investment Company. He remained with this company 
until July, 1889. About this time Mr. Hay, of the firm of Hay, Wiggin & 
Company, died and Mr. Leavitt purchased his interest in the firm, thus 
associating himself in the dry goods business with his two nephews, Fred 
and Charles Wiggin, under the copartnership style of Wiggin Brothers & 
Company. About 18 months later, Fred Wiggin, the elder of the two 
brothers^ died and thereupon Mr. Leavitt took an active part in the business. 
At the end of two years, however, he was again taken sick and as Charles 
Wiggin was too young to assume the cares of so large a concern the firm sold 
out its interest in 1890 to Wiggin, Crosby & Company. Since then Mr. 
Leavitt has not engaged actively in business. 

On October 18, 1846, Mr. Leavitt was married to Emma Hilton, of 
Boston, Massachusetts, a daughter of Hugh Hilton, of Sandwich, New 
Hampshire. The two children of this union were Charles and Harrison H. 
The former was born at Manchester, New Hampshire, and died at Laconia. 
The latter, who is a contractor at Wichita, Kansas, has been twice married; 
the three daughters of his first marriage are: Frances E. (Mrs. Aspey) ; 
Pearl E., of Kansas City, Missouri; and Beulah L., who resides with her 
grandfather, our subject. 

Mr. Leavitt has been a life-long Republican. He is a member of the 
Congregational Church. For six years he was president of the first young 



270 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

men's total abstinence society in Boston's South End, assuming the duties 
upon its organization. He is one of the most highly regarded citizens of 
Topeka. 



HON. ALFRED B. QUINTON. 

Hon. Alfred B. Quinton is the senior member of the prominent law 
firm of Quinton & Quinton, with offices in the Columbian Building, Topeka. 
The firm has been in existence since 1885 and is made up of two brothers, — 
Alfred B. and Eugene S. Quinton. 

Alfred B. Quinton was born in 1855 in Lee County, Iowa, and was 
educated in Denmark Academy, where he was graduated in 1874. He then 
entered the law department of the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, 
where he was graduated in 1876 with the degree of LL. B., and in the same 
year was admitted to the Supreme Court of Michigan. Later he came to 
Topeka, Kansas, and was admitted by courtesy to the Supreme Court here. 
Mr. Quinton entered into general practice and was elected city attorney in 
1 88 1, which office he held for three consecutive years. He practiced alone 
until 1885, when the firm of Quinton & Quinton was formed. In 1887 he 
was brought forward by the Republican party as its candidate for probate 
judge. He was easily elected and continued on the bench until 1891, since 
which year Judge Quinton has declined all office, devoting his attention 
entirely to his large private practice. He has successfully handled some of 
the most important cases in the State and is given high consideration by his 
associates at the bar. Formerly he was very active in politics and served as 
chairman of the Republican Central Committee of Shawnee County for a 
number of years. 

Judge Quinton was married to Georgia H. Hoffman, who was born 
in New York, and they have three daughters and one son, all of whom are 
attending school. 

In all public-spirited enterprises in Topeka, Judge Quinton has been an 
active and interested participant. He has been particularly active in bring- 
ing about park improvements and was mainly instrumental in securing the 
park commission and present park ordinance, which have resulted in so much 
added attractiveness to the city, and he is now one of the park commissioners 
of the city. The placing of the fountain in Hontoon Park was the direct 
result of his efforts. He is, also, a friend of the public schools and advocates 
the securing of the best of talent in the line of teachers, and the paying of 
salaries which will secure instructors of ability. Since its organization, he 
has been a director of the Humane Society and also of the Topeka Orphans' 




REV. JOSIAH B. McAFEE 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 273 

Home. In Masonry he is a Knight Templar and a Scottish Rite Mason. He 
also belongs to the Woodmen of the World. 



REV. JOSIAH B. MCAFEE. 

Rev. Josiah B. McAfee^ whose portrait accompanies this sketch, is 
one of the remarkable men of the State of Kansas, and it is difficult to men- 
tion any line of activity or notable development, from early pioneer days 
down to the present, without giving a full measure of credit to this honored 
and now venerable citizen. All over the expanse of the State may be found 
the material results of his foresight, judgment, unselfish public spirit, and 
many of the established educational and religious institutions have incor- 
porated in their usefulness the work of his brain and heart. 

The birth of Josiah B. McAfee occurred August 6, 1830, at McAfee- 
town, in Juniata County, Pennsylvania. He is a son of James and Sarah 
McAfee, whose parents were old and respected residents of that particular 
section. Our subject's education was a liberal one, early being directed into 
theological channels, and in 1854 he was admitted to the ministry of the 
Lutheran Church by the Maryland Synod. Selecting Kansas as his field of 
labor, Rev. Mr. McAfee, with his family, reached the city of Leavenworth 
on April 15, 1855, since which time he has been a Kansan, heart and soul. 
One month later he founded the Leavenworth Collegiate Institute — the first 
educational institution of prominence in the State — and was the organizer of 
the first Sunday-school in the State. Pupils flocked to his .instruction but he 
did not confine his efforts to general education, for his aims were still higher. 
In those days of lawlessness, many good men suffered for their outspoken 
opinions, but Rev. Mr. McAfee continued without fear or favor to teach and 
preach against slavery and took sides on other questions at issue in the early 
days of the Territory. A man of such decided opinions and of such fearless- 
ness in advocating them, could not be held down by old-time canons of ob- 
servance and in 1856 he took a very active part in the political campaign, 
visiting his old home at this time where he aroused enthusiasm for Gen. John 
C. Fremont, the Republican nominee for President. It was during his ab- 
sence that threats, which formerly had been made, were put into execution 
and he returned to find his home in ruins. He then left Leavenworth and 
established his home at what is now Valley Falls, where he engaged in farm- 
ing and stock-raising, having invested in land. In passing it may be noted 
that from this source has come all of Rev. Mr. McAfee's income, all his services 
in the cause of education, religion and temperance, having been given freely 
for the benefit of his fellowmen. 



274 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Under the caption of "The Muhlenberg of Kansas," there appeared in 
the Lutheran Evangelist, bearing date of November 22, 1901, an article from 
the pen of Rev. D. Earhart, which contains some interesting facts concerning 
our subj ect, and we here reproduce it : 

"We are quite sure a short biographical sketch of Rev. J. B. McAfee 
will be interesting as he was the first Lutheran minister that settled in Kan- 
sas. Besides preaching the Gospel when an opportunity offered, he per- 
formed many noble deeds and lived a very useful life. 

"Rev. J. B. McAfee was born August 8, 1830, in Juniata County, Penn- 
sylvania. He received his primary education in the district school near his 
home and like General Garfield drove a team of horses on the (Pennsyl- 
vania) canal when a boy. He received his further education at Gettysburg, 
Pennsylvania. In 1849, he was received into full membership with the Evan- 
gelical Lutheran Church at Port Royal, in his native county. In 1854 he 
taught a district school for a while, and then took charge of the academy at 
Clear Springs, Maryland. In 1854, he was licensed by the Maryland Synod 
to preach the Gospel and administer the sacraments. 

"April I, 1855, he with his young wife started for Leavenworth, Kan- 
sas, with a view of making Kansas his future home, arriving there safely two 
weeks later. He at once commenced his ministerial work, and work on a 
school house and church building, and also taught school in order to support 
himself and family. During 1855 and 1856, the border ruffian war raged 
in Kansas, and Brother McAfee had several narrow escapes from the border 
ruffian lynchers. In 1856, he visited his native State and in October of that 
year the Maryland Synod, in session in Frederick City, ordained him. As 
his ministerial labors and trials are recorded in 'The History of the Early 
Lutheran Church in Kansas,' I will not repeat them here, but will give some 
historic facts not so well known. 

"September i, 1862, Rev. J. B. McAfee enlisted as a private soldier in 
the Union Army, and on the 15th of the same month he was unanimously 
elected first lieutenant by the company. The Lutheran Osberver of Decem- 
ber 8, 1892, says (of soldier McAfee) : 'that he was in four battles, and 
during 1862-3-4 he served in various capacities as lieutenant, captain and 
superintendent of refugees at Fort Smith. From 1865 to 1867, he was pri- 
vate secretary to Governor Crawford of Kansas, with the rank of colonel, and 
often acted as Governor. During his service as adjutant general, he organ- 
ized two battalions for service against the Indians in Western Kansas. He 
wrote and compiled from reliable data the official "MiHtary History of Kan- 
sas Regiments in the War for the Suppression of the Great Rebellion." He 
was also chaplain of the Second Colored Regiment of Kansas Volunteers 
whilst he was in the army.' 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 275, 

"He was elected mayor of Topeka, for 1870 and 1871. One day he was 
informed that a faro-bank was in operation over the Wehs, Fargo & Com- 
pany express office in the city of Topeka. Armed with a warrant he and sev- 
eral policemen started to raid the building where the nuisance was kept. 
Finding the entrance to the building closed, the mayor ordered a large meat 
axe to be brought, and then instructed the marshal to take the axe and break 
open the door, and the order was promptly obeyed. The faro-bank and 
fixtures were secured, and were valued at $625, and burned in a public street 
in Topeka, by order of the mayor. The pugnacious Col. C. R. Jennison had 
his faro-bank burned in Topeka, in 1871, by order of the mayor. No saloon 
man got a license with which to debauch the citizens of Topeka during Mayor 
McAfee's administration. He was a terror to evil-doers. For four terms 
he was a member of the Kansas Legislature and served on the temperance 
committee. 

"In 1893-94 Rev. J. B. McAfee delivered over 100 lectures and sermons 
in as many Kansas pulpits, in the interest of prohibition, when the anti-pro- 
hibition people tried to elect a Legislature for the purpose of calling a con- 
vention that would annul the prohibition amendment of the constitution of 
Kansas. He labored and traveled in Kansas at his own expense under the 
auspices of the State Temperance Union. He likely did more than any other 
man in Kansas to thwart the plans and hopes of the liquor men of his State. 
Though he was not a party Prohibitionist, yet the party of Prohibitionists were 
more willing to trust him on this subject as chief executive of the State than 
his own party was. 

"The Kansas Prohibitionist^ a party paper, said of R'ev. McAfee : 'He 
is the peer of any man who is named in connection with the offifce of chief 
magistrate. A life-long temperance man, he is without blemish; a fearless 
defender of the right, his integrity is unquestioned. If the people of Kansas 
want a Prohibitionist Governor, there stands J. B. McAfee. Match him.' 

"In 1873, Brother McAfee sufifered a bleeding of the lungs for the third 
time, and was so low that he was speechless. Two of his neighbors were 
very ill at the same time; their doctors gave them brandy as a remedy for 
their disease and affirmed that it helped them much. Rev. Mr. McAfee's 
doctor urged him to take some brandy, and affirmed that if he did not take it, 
he would be in the next world before the next morning. He refused to take 
the brandy, and as he could not speak, he wrote on the slate : 'Well, Doctor, 
I will be sober when I get there.' The doctor missed his guess for the brother 
is alive and well now, twenty-eight years after the event. The two patients 
that took the brandy never recovered, but died in a short time afterwards. 

"The people of Kansas may well congratulate themselves that Kansas 
has furnished a counterpart to the renowned Pennsylvanian, Rev. John Peter 



276 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Gabriel Muhlenberg, son of the patriarch Muhlenberg of the Evangelical 
Lutheran Church of America. The former doffed the clerical robe of the pastor 
and attired himself in the military uniform of a soldier. He was made a colo- 
nel, major general. Member of Congress, United States Senator, and died 
October i, 1807. Had our J. B. McAfee been clothed with the needful 
authority and properly sustained by the people, he would have suppressed the 
rum and beer rebellion in Kansas, in the latter part of the 19th century, as 
Washington suppressed the whiskey rebellion in Western Pennsylvania in 
the latter part of the i8th century. 

"We are glad in concluding this sketch to say that Rev. Mr. McAfee 
is still active in life's affairs, and lives, highly respected in Topeka, Kansas, 
where we hope he may yet be spared many years of usefulness." 

Mr. McAfee is the only survivor in this State of the organizers of the 
Lutheran Synod of Kansas. It was through his labors that the first five 
Lutheran churches of Kansas were organized and they long felt the influence 
of his presence and the assistance of his purse. He is a valued member of 
Lincoln Post, No. i. Grand Army of the Republic. He is a member of the 
Kansas State Historical Society, one of its directors, and it owes much to 
his interest and careful research. 

The following appeared in the Central Christian Advocate of September 
7th, 1904: 

"On his seventy-fourth birthday. Rev. J. B. McAfee, a veteran Lutheran 
clergyman in Kansas, wrote to Dr. D. H. Fisher a letter which deserves 
publicity : ; 

Dear Brother Fisher — I see in the Daily Capital of August 6th that you are in the 
Buena Vista Hospital, Little Orleans, Maryland. I am very sorry that there is any occasion 
for your being in a hospital. I do hope and pray that you may soon be restored to health 
again. I have had the pleasure and honor of knowing you and your good work in Kansas 
for about forty-eight years. You have been the most faithful and untiring worker in the 
Master's vineyard in all these years that I have ever known. Kansas is truly better because 
you have lived in it. You never waited for opportunities to do good ; you made the oppor- 
tunities. You never waited for the enemies of the church and good government to attack 
you; you went forth to meet them in the byways and highways. To you more than to any 
other person are we indebted for constitutional prohibition in Kansas. I well remember, 
thirty-seven years ago, when you offered in the State Temperance Convention the first reso- 
lution looking to constitutional prohibition in Kansas, and after the resolution was voted 
down, you held it high in your left hand, as high as you could, and exclaimed : "Brethren, 
I do believe God will spare my life to see the principles of this resolution embodied in the 
constitution and laws of Kansas." God not only spared you to see it, but to be one of the 
most important factors in securing it. 

During my almost fifty years of residence in Kansas I know of no one who has worked 
so hard and so faithfully and efficiently to secure good laws and good government and to 
advance the cause of Christ in this State. May the Almighty hand of that loving Savior who 
led a sinking disciple from a grave in the waters of Galilee lead you safely, day by day, down 
the pathway of life, safely through the valley of the shadow of death, and in the morning 




HON. CHARLES CURTIS 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 279 

of eternity may you hear the welcome plaudid of "Well and faithfully done." Brother, it 
won't be long until you will rest your weary head within your loving Savior's arms. Soon 
we will meet and greet each other in the land of the blest, in the home of the redeemed. 
God bless you. Most fraternally yours, J. B. McAfee. 

P. S. — I am seventy-four years old today." 

At Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, March 20, 1852, in the parlor of the 
Theological Seminary, Rev. Mr. McAfee married Anna R. Yowler, and they 
have two daughters: Celeste, who was married in 1874 to D. H. Forbes; 
and Emma Virginia, who was married on the same day to Judge D. C. 
Nellis; and one son, Henry W., who married a sister of Judge Nellis of 
Topeka, in 1880. Rev. Mr. McAfee has retired from active life. As he re- 
calls the many stirring incidents he can but feel that, while the path led often 
over rugged heights, he was permitted to place many landmarks on the way 
and it has led into quiet pastures at last. 



HON. CHARLES CURTIS. 

Hon. Charles Curtis, who is serving his seventh term as Representa- 
tive of the First Congressional District of Kansas in the United States 
Congress, stands unique among all the members that Kansas has ever sent to 
that body, in that he is a native of the State. He was born in North Topeka, 
January 25, i860, and is a son of Capt. O. A. and Helen (Papan) Curtis. 
His father was born in Indiana, moved to Kansas in 1856, and with a regi- 
ment of this State saw hard service during the Civil War, being captain of 
Company F, 15th Kansas Vol. Cav. 

Maternally, Mr. Curtis is of French and Indian blood. His maternal 
grandfather, Louis Papan, was a native Canadian Frenchman and was one 
of the representatives of the great Hudson Bay Fur Company. Louis 
Papan's wife, Julie Gonvil, who was named in the treaty between the United 
States and the Kansas or Kaw tribe of Indians in 1825, was a daughter of 
one of the heads of the tribe. 

Charles Curtis received a good education in the schools of Topeka. He 
is a self-made man and can well take pride in his achievements. While work- 
ing his way up, he read law and was admitted to the bar, passing a rigid 
examination in 1881. Almost immediately he entered politics, for which he 
has a natural aptitude, being elected county attorney of Shawnee County in 
1884 and reelected in 1886. He made criminal and corporation law a spec- 
ialty while in the practice, being engaged as counsel in the celebrated Spend- 
love and some 25 other murder cases. In 1892 he ran for Congress on the 



28o HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Republican ticket and was elected by a majority of 2,800 over the Fusion 
candidate in a district that had given the Fusion candidate of the 
campaign before a majority of 5,000. He was reelected in 1894, 
1896, 1898, 1900, 1902 and in 1904. In 1897, the Populist Legisla- 
ture changed the First and Fourth districts of the State so as to throw 
Shawnee County, his home, into the First District with Judge Broderick and 
thus made sure of defeating one or the other for renomination. Mr. Curtis 
is a member of the ways and means committee, the most prominent and im- 
portant committee of the House, his appointment being made on the strength 
of his record without outside indorsements. He is the second member of 
the committee on Indian affairs in the House, and is its acknowledged leader 
on all matters requiring technical knowledge of the subject. He was selected 
as one of the Republicans on the House committee of 11 members, whose 
duty it was to prepare a bill for the settlement of the financial policy of the 
country. The bill reported by this committee was afterwards enacted into 
law. Mr. Curtis had the honor of introducing the bill that provided for the 
carrying out of the administration policy of President Roosevelt and Secre- 
tary of War Taft, in regard to the admission of the products of the Philip- 
pines into this country. He is an ardent friend of the old soldier and proud 
to belong to the Sons of Veterans, of which organization he is a valued 
member. Although dignified in manner, with much of the reserve of his 
Indian parentage, he is easy of approach and always frank and obliging. He 
speaks easily and well, his earnestness commanding the attention of his asso- 
ciates in the House, where the majority merely talk "to the record." As a 
campaign speaker he is primed with good stories. Among his colleagues he 
is often referred to as "John A. Logan II," his resemblence to the "Black 
Eagle" of Illinois being most striking although he is of slighter figure. He 
is a personal friend of President Roosevelt and is a welcome visitor at the 
White House. 

Mr. Curtis was united in marriage November 27, 1884, with Anna E. 
Baird, and the following children were born of their union: Permelia J., 
Harry K. and Leona V. His family are active members of the Baptist 
Church, in the support of which he is most liberal. A portrait of Mr. Curtis 
accompanies this sketch. 



CAPT. PATRICK H. CONEY. 

Capt. Patrick H. Coney, one of Topeka's most successful lawyers, 
is a veteran of the Civil War and during his many years residence in Kansas 
has fought with relentless vigor for the protection of the rights of the old 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 281 

soldier, his widow and orphans. He was born in Newbury, Vermont, March 
10, 1848, and is a son of Luke and Honor Berry (Reddy) Coney. 

The genealogy of this family is traceable back to Laogare, ancestor of 
the Southern Hy Nials, a son of Nial of the Nine Hostages, King of Ire- 
land, in A. D. 379. 

Luke Coney, father of our subject, was born in County Roscommon, 
Ireland, .and emigrated to the United States in 1839, locating in Boston, 
Massachusetts. Thence he removed a few years later to Vermont, where he 
met and married Honor Berry Reddy, at White River Junction in 1844. 
From there they removed to Newbury, Vermont, and in 1850 located in the 
towns of Macedon and Wahvorth, Wayne County, New York. Mr. Coney 
was a hard-working man, and although at times it was difficult for him to 
make prosperous headway he was successful in giving his children a common 
school education. He is now living at the home of his son in Topeka, at the 
advanced age of 92 years. 

Patrick H. Coney worked in boyhood on a farm during the summer 
months and worked for his schooling during the winters. When 15 years 
of age, he enlisted in Company H, iiith Reg., New York Vol. Inf. He 
was detailed as dispatch bearer on the staff of General McDougall, and was 
later promoted to be orderly dispatch bearer on the staff of Gen. Nelson A. 
Miles, and served in that capacity up to Lee's surrender at Appomattox 
Court House. He was transferred June 5, 1865, to Company H. Fourth 
New York Heavy Artillery, and served until October 5, 1865, when he was 
honorably discharged at Hart's Island, New York. He was wounded at 
Peach Orchard in front of Petersburg, Virginia, on June 16, 1864, which 
detained him in hospital for 60 days. In November, 1864, he was absent 
for a period of 15 days to attend the funeral of his mother, who was killed 
in a railroad accident at Palmyra, New York, on returning home after assist- 
ing in the work of caring and providing for the sick and wounded soldiers in 
the Rochester (New York) hospitals. Captain Coney was in the most im- 
portant engagements of his regiment in the great Army of the Potomac, from 
Gettysburg to Appomattox Court House, more than 30 in all, his regiment 
losing in killed and wounded 412 out of a total of 1,103 "^en in the fighting 
line. 

After his discharge he returned to his home in Walworth, Wayne 
County, New York, where he attended the Academy, graduating therefrom 
in April, 1867. Removing to the "Sunflower" State, April 21, 1867, he lived 
at Leavenworth until 1881, attaining prominence as a business man, student, 
writer and publicist. Since that year he has been a resident of Topeka. He 
founded and published the first exclusively soldier and sailor paper in the 
West, — the National Banner, which was subsequently merged into the Knight 



282 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

and Soldier and afterwards the Western Veteran. In 1885 he was admitted 
to the bar at Topeka, and afterwards to the United States District and 
Supreme courts. He has practiced as a lawyer in all the courts, and in all 
the departments of the government since making a specialty of pensions 
and war claims. He has prosecuted and procured the allowance of more 
pensions for comrades and their widows and orphans than any or all of the 
attorneys in the entire West. He has been the special, resistless champion 
of his comrades and their rights, through all trials and tribulations, through 
good and ill report. It is safe to say, no comrade, his widow or orphan, 
however poor or desperate the case, ever asked him for assistance in securing 
his or her just dues and was denied the same. Captain Coney fearlessly and 
ably exposed the perfidious and false "Cleveland-Lx)chren" administration 
and defended his comrades and their widows against the wicked and disloyal 
assaults on all .pension claimants and pensioners. He was first and strongest 
to arraign the administration of H. Clay Evans, ventilating his conduct of 
the Pension Office. He pinioned Evans in the most masterly manner, expos- 
ing him in detail as no other person dared to do, and he did so at the peril 
of his extensive practice before the Pension Office and the Interior Depart- 
ment. He successively and successfully arraigned him before Congress and 
before the national and department G. A. R. encampments, and brought him 
justly before the bar of public opinion and public justice, thereby forcing him 
out of the Pension Office in the face of the strongest forces in the nation that 
were sustaining Evans. Captain Coney and Capt. J. G. Waters brought 
quo zmrranto proceedings against the County Board of Shawnee County to 
compel county boards to technically respect and obey the law for the burial 
of soldiers, which was favorably decided by the court. He also, with David 
Overmyer as assistant, instituted the quo warranto proceedings in the Su- 
preme Court against Mayor Bergunthal and the city of Topeka in behalf of 
H. K. Goodrich to compel compliance with and to test the constitutionality 
of the "Soldiers' Preference Law," which was sustained and held to be 
constitutional for the first time on March 12, 1904. Captain Coney received 
no compesation for services in either of these cases, in fact they resulted 
in considerable financial loss to him. It was a labor of love and duty to him, 
and he fought where others sulked. His voice for over 20 years has been 
heard, respected and heeded in the national encampments, and he is now the 
best known, respected and loved comrade of the West, not alone in Kansas 
but in the national encampment of the Grand Army of the Republic. 

Captain Coney has one of the finest libraries in the city of Topeka, and 
recently received from his close personal friend, Lieut.-Gen. Nelson A. Miles, 
a copy of the latter's recent book, bearing on the fly-leaf the authors auto- 
graph and kind wishes. The library also contains many of the choicest, 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 283 

rarest and costliest publications ; among them are genealogies of Irish families 
and other races. 

Captain Coney has always affiliated most actively and prominently with 
the Republican party and although not an office holder or seeker, he has, 
since attaining the age of citizenship, been one of the party officials, being 
chairman of the City and County Central committees of Leavenworth County 
when only 22 years of age. He was a member of every State convention 
of his party in Kansas for 34 years, and served more or less in the councils 
of the party as an officer, delegate, representative or public speaker without 
compensation or reward during all his public political Hfe. He was president 
of the Republican Silver League of Kansas. 

In the great political campaign of 1884 Captain Coney took a prominent 
part in support of Blaine and Logan, the standard-bearers of the Republican 
party. As Blaine was his ideal statesman, and Logan his ideal representative 
of the volunteer soldier of America, the ticket appealed to him as no other 
had done since the attainment of his majority. Although the ticket went 
down in defeat, his interest in the Republican cause did not wane or waver, 
and in the succeeding campaigns, both national and State, he was active with 
voice and pen in the defense and dissemination of Republican principles. He 
helped to turn the tide of Populism in Kansas, to prevent the overthrow of 
civil government, and to restore the State to the Republican column. In 1888 
he canvassed New York for Harrison and Morton, and received the special 
commendation of the Republican National Committee for his efficient service. 
For some years thereafter he was closely identified with the Topeka Daily 
Capital, the leading Republican organ of the State, and provided funds for its 
operation in every emergency that confronted it, through a period of serious 
business depression, when it had no political patronage to fall back upon, and 
the company's financial resources were inadequate to maintain it. Many other 
instances might be given of his devotion to the interests of his party and 
the welfare of his political associates and personal friends. Responding to 
every call of duty as a citizen, performing much more than the average citi- 
zen's share in public matters, and laboring zealously in every campaign for the 
advancement of the party and its candidates. Captain Coney has neither held 
nor sought official position, preferring his home, his books, his business 
affairs and his private station, to all the fleeting rewards and glories of office. 

Captain Coney joined Custer Post, No. 6, G. A. R., at Leavenworth, in 
1870, and with others reorganized Lincoln Post, No. i, of Topeka, in 1881. 
He organized Rice Post, now Topeka Post, No. 71, G. A. R., and served as 
its commander. He was elected department commander of Kansas G. A. R. 
at Parsons, Kansas, May 24, 1905. He is a member of the Irish National 
Alliance, and has been a stanch advocate and supporter of its movement for 



284 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

an independent government for Ireland. During the World's Columbian 
Exposition at Chicago in 1893, he organized, promoted and successfully 
conducted, as president and general manager, the Lapland Exhibit Company. 
He is a member of Orient Lodge, No. 51, A. F. & A. M., of Topeka; Capital 
City Tent, K. O. T. M. ; Irish American Historical Society ; New England 
Society of Kansas; State Camp, No. 75, W. O. W. ; Capital Lodge, No. i, 
Select Knights and Ladies; and U. S. Grant Command, No. i, U. V. U. All 
Kansas knows and respects him, for he has "stood up" for this State and her 
interests and welfare with eloquent voice and pen for more than 38 years. 



CHARLES F- SPENCER. 

Charles F. Spencer is one of the leading members of the Shawnee 
County bar. He was born in Johnson County, Indiana, June 22, 1854, and 
is a son of George W. and Ann (Brewer) Spencer. His father was a native 
of New York State and after living in Michigan and Indiana for a time came 
to Kansas in 1856 as a Free-State man, and located in Topeka, which con- 
tinued to be his home up to the time of his death, in January, 1881. He was 
one of the most prominent and respected residents of Shawnee County. 

Charles F. Spencer came to Topeka in the spring of 1857 and has lived 
here continuously ever since. He received his education in the common 
schools and Topeka High School, read law in the office of A. H. Case, was 
admitted to the Shawnee County bar in 1878, and has since been engaged 
in the practice of his profession at Topeka. 

In 1883 he was elected county clerk of Shawnee County on the Demo- 
cratic ticket and served one term. He was one of the two Democrats first 
elected to office in Shawnee County. In 1889 he was appointed by Governor 
Humphrey as the Democratic member of the Board of Police Commissioners 
of the city of Topeka, was reappointed by the same Governor in 1891, and 
served four years with Dr. Francis S. McCabe and P. I. Bonebrake as the 
other members of the board. 

Mr. Spencer was a Democrat up to the time his party became fully 
allied with the Populist party, at which time he became a Republican. He 
was elected city attorney of Topeka as a Republican in 1901, reelected in 
1903, and served four years. At the expiration of his service as city attorney, 
he was employed by the mayor and council to compile and revise the ordi- 
nances of the city. 

Mr. Spencer was married in 1884 to Belle Alexander, a daughter of 
Col. W. D. Alexander, who died at Topeka in 1899 and was one of the most 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 285 

honored and esteemed residents of Shawnee County. One son was born 
as the issue of this marriage. Mr. and Mrs. Spencer have a very comfortable 
home in Topeka. 

Mr. Spencer has for many years been a member of the Kansas State Bar 
Association. He has a very high standing for ability and integrity at the 
bar, and the best of records in each of the public positions held by him. 



HENRY HOBART MILLS. 

For many years the late Henry Hobart Mills was a part of the commer- 
cial life of Topeka, Kansas, one of the founders and the active head for 
many years of the well-known dry goods house of H. H. Mills & Sons, now 
known as the Mills Dry Goods Company. Mr. Mills was born at Geneseo, 
Livingston County, New York, November 21, 1827, and after an unusually 
busy and successful life passed away at his home, No. 1105 Polk street, 
Topeka, November 7, 1901. 

Mr. Mills passed his boyhood in Livingston County, New York. When 
he was 15 years old the family moved to Michigan and settled on a farm 
in VanBuren County, in the vicinity of PawPaw, where the youth grew to 
manhood, assisting his father in clearing and operating the pioneer farm. 
He cleared a farm out of the forest for himself, disposed of it in 1857, and 
moved to the village of Howell, Livingston County, Michigan, where he 
engaged in the mercantile business, which he conducted for the following 28 
years. In 1885 the business field presented by the wonderful activity dis- 
played at Topeka led him to cast in his lot with the business-builders here. 
With his son, William W. Mills, as one of the partners, the dry goods firm 
of Mills, McPherson & Company, was established, later becoming H. H. 
Mills & Sons. Upon the reorganization of the business and the change of 
title to that of The Mills Dry Goods Company, the officers were: William 
W. Mills, president; Charles Emery, vice-president; W. H. Whitton, secre- 
tary; and H. H. Mills, treasurer. 

Through all the varying fluctuations in the business and financial world, 
this company kept on its way, under the firm control and wise management 
of its officials, mainly directed by the experience of its founder, and to-day 
it stands as a monument to the ability, energy and recognition of the sound 
business principles of Henry Hobart Mills. 

Mr. Mills was married May 2, 1854, to Isabella McPherson, whom he 
survived. Three of their children died in infancy, and Mr. Mills desiired to 
be laid to rest with them and his wife in the quiet cemetery at Howell, Michi- 



286 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

gan. The three survivors of the family are: Mrs. George J. Grossman, of 
Gleveland, Ohio; and Arthur M. and William W., who are now at the head 
of The Mills Dry Goods Company. 

The late Mr. Mills was a member of the Presbyterian Church for 50 
years. In all that goes to make up a good man, that builds character, that 
leaves a lasting influence to benefit others, Mr. Mills was an exemplification. 
Personally he was a man of gentle dignity, kind and generous, and those who 
found in him an employer found also a benefactor. 



ABRAM HAMMATT. 

Abram Hammatt, deceased, formerly chief clerk of the Supreme Court 
of Kansas, and one of the prominent and highly esteemed citizens of Topeka, 
was born at Howland, Maine, May 19, 1844, and was a son of William C. 
Hammatt. His death took place at Aiken, South Carolina, May 24, 1880. 
Mr. Hammatt belonged to one of the old Puritan families of New 
England, his forebears having come to American shores in the "Mayflower," 
landing at Plymouth Rock. William C. Hammatt was long a prominent 
citizen of Maine, an extensive farmer, a large lumber dealer and still later, 
a government official. 

The late Mr. Hammatt was educated in his native State, where he en- 
joyed academic and collegiate advantages and in 1869 graduated from the 
law department of Yale. Following his graduation, he made a pleasure 
trip abroad and upon his return he located for the practice of the law at 
Ottawa, Kansas. In the latter part of 1870 he settled permanently at Topeka, 
and was appointed chief clerk of the Supreme Court, a position he filled for 
the succeeding 10 years of his life. He was an intimate friend of all the 
judges. Mr. Hammatt was a man of superior education and more than 
usual native ability. When occasion demanded he showed powers as an 
orator and his complete perception of law and jurisprudence made his Su- 
preme Court service one particularly satisfactory. 

Mr. Hammatt married Maria B. Crosby, who is the daughter of John 
Crosby, one of the prominent men of the State of Maine. Mrs. Hammatt 
still survives, with two sons, Theodore D. and Daniel C, both of whom are 
connected with The Crosby Roller Milling Company, which operates the 
largest mills in Shawnee County, located at Topeka, the former as manager 
and the latter as secretary of the company. Both are enterprising and popu- 
lar business men. Mrs. Hammatt continues to reside in her beautiful home 




HON. DANIEL MULFORD VALENTINE 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 289 

at No. 602 West loth avenue, Topeka. Socially, the family has always stood 
very high here. 

While Mr. Hammatt was a stanch Republican, he was in no sense a 
politician. His education and travel made him a man of culture and he was 
deeply interested in the welfare of Topeka, not only in a material sense, but 
in its development into a city of beauty and intellectual prominence. It was 
his Vish that his remains should rest with those of his ancestors, in his native 
State, and the desire was carried out. Personally he was a man of winning 
manner and he left not only his family to mourn his loss, but many friends 
and associates who continue to recall him affectionately. 



HON. DANIEL MULFORD VALENTINE. 

Hon. Daniel Mulford Valentine, ex-justice of the Supreme Court 
of Kansas and one of the State's eminent men, whose portrait accompanies 
this sketch, is a native of Ohio, born in Shelby County, June 18, 1830. He 
is a son of John W. and Rtbecca (Kinkennon) Valentine. 

In his youth the subject of this sketch enjoyed academic schooling and 
when he began to teach school in 185 1 he also began to devote his spare 
time to the study of the law. In 1854 he removed to the West and spent 
five years in Adair County, Iowa, during which time he completed his law 
studies. He served that county in 1855-56 as surveyor and also taught 
school one year. He was admitted to the bar in 1858, and served during that 
year as attorney of Adair County. During his residence there he had made 
many friends and a fair professional and political outlook was offered, but 
he thought a better field was open in Kansas. He spent one year at Leaven- 
worth and then removed to Franklin County, which county he was elected 
to represent in the Legislature in November, 1861. He served during the 
fore part of 1862, and the character of his services to the citizens of the 
county was so highly esteemed by them that he was elected in November, 
1862, to the State Senate, in which he served throughout the year 1863 and 
the fore part of 1864. While residing in Franklin County, he first practiced 
alone ; later he formed a partnership with W. W. H. Lawrence. After a time 
he was again alone but soon associated himself with Joel K. Goodwin, with 
whom he was in partnership at the time of his election as judge of the Fourth 
Judicial District. 

In November, 1864, he was elected judge of the Fourth Judicial Dis- 
trict and filled that office during the following four years. In November, 
1868, he was elected an associate justice of the Supreme Court of Kansas for 

14 



290 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

a term of six years, and was three times reelected, — in 1874, 1880 and 1886, 
— his term of office extending to 1893. He moved to Topeka in March, 
1875, and has Uved ever since in the house in which he then estabhshed his 
home. 

During the 24 years that Judge Valentine was an associate justice of 
the Supreme Court, he prepared and delivered 1,572 opinions, and in the 
amount of work performed, as well as in the number of years of servic^he 
holds the record among Kansas jurists. He has served his State with rare 
fidelity. He has won the approbation of the bar by a work of the greatest 
value to the profession, — a complete digest of the decisions of the Supreme 
Court and Courts of Appeal of Kansas. Since his retirement froni the bench, 
he has continued his legal associations in Topeka and is the senior member 
of the firm of Valentine, Godard & Valentine. 

In 1855, Judge Valentine was married to Martha Root, who is a daugh- 
ter of Judge Azariah Root, formerly of Adair County, Iowa. They have a 
family of five sons and four daughters, namely : D. A., clerk of the Supreme 
Court of Kansas; Eva (Mrs. A. A. Godard), of Topeka; J. W., a lumber 
dealer at Admire, Kansas; Harry E., an attorney at Topeka; Martha, who 
lives at home; Elsie (Mrs. James F. Merrick), of the city of Mexico; Ralph 
E., a land agent at Topeka; Lillian, who has a position in the Kansas State 
House; and Louis F., who is engaged in newspaper work in Clay County, 
Kansas. 

In all his public career Judge Valentine's conduct has been governed 
by principles of equity and justice. He has always upheld the right, has 
never been accused of partiality and has a record that holds out a stimulus 
and example to those, who in turn will be called upon to assume equal re- 
sponsibilities. 



WILLIAM S. BERGUNDTHAL. 

William S. Bergundthal^ mayor of the city of Topeka and one of 
her most distinguished citizens, is the largest real estate dealer in this section 
of the State. Here he has resided since 1884 and during this period has 
always identified himself with the best interests of the city and its people. 

Mr. Bergundthal was one of four children born to Benedict and Sarah 
(Powell) Bergundthal, and was born in Ohio on June 24, 1855. Some years 
after his birth the family moved to Indiana, and he was educated in that 
State at Columbus. He came West to Topeka, Kansas, in November, 1884, 
and embarked in the lumber business as chief clerk for Jonathan Thomas, 
with whom he remained for nearly 16 years. In the year 1900 he succeeded 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 291 

to the real estate and loan business conducted by Mr. Thomas. His activity 
and enterprise at once placed him in the front rank of real estate men in 
Eastern Kansas and there he remains at the present time. He was elected 
mayor of Topeka on the Republican ticket in April, 1903, and has given the 
city an honest business-like administration, the progress made during his 
term being most notable. Prior to his election to that office, he served a term 
of 4:wo years in the Common Council. 

Mr. Bergundthal was married to Leonora Neely, a daughter of Moses 
Neely, by whom he has two children : David C. and Mary W. He and his 
family reside in a handsome home at No. 1134 Jackson street and move in 
the best social circles. Fraternally our subject is a prominent Mason. 



HON. ALSTON W. DANA. 

Hon. Alston W. Dana, presiding judge of the Third Judicial Dis- 
trict and formerly the junior member of the well-known law firm of Bergen 
& Dana, is one of the prominent and representative men of Topeka. Judge 
Dana was born at Mount Holly, Vermont, and is a son of Thomas and Mary 
(Chilson) Dana. 

The parents of Judge Dana were natives of Vermont. The father was 
a farmer in the environs of Mount Holly, a man able to afford his family 
of eight children only the advantages of the common schools. Five of his 
children still survive. 

The future Kansas judge obtained his early education in the common 
schools of his native locality and then entered Goddard Seminary, at Barre, 
Vermont, where he prepared for college, and was graduated at Tufts College, 
Boston, Massachusetts, in 1884, with the degree of Doctor of Philosophy. 
He then became principal of Goddard Seminary where he had previously 
spent four years, and remained there from 1884 until 1887, when he came to 
Topeka. Here he read law in the office of Waters & Chase and was admitted 
to the bar in 1889. For several years he was a member of the law firm of 
Tillotson & Dana, and later formed a law partnership with Judge Abram 
Bergen, which continued until January, 1905, when he took his seat as pre- 
siding judge of the Third Judicial District, to which he was elected in No- 
vember, 1904. This elevation to the bench is considered, by Judge Dana's 
many friends, as a just recognition of his high abilities. 

In 1895 Dudge Dana was united in marriage with Kate J. Whiting, who 
is a daughter of Chauncy C. Whiting, a prominent pioneer of Topeka, and 
one of the city's capitalists, at one time president of two banks and formerly 



292 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

sheriff of Shawnee County and United States marshal. Judge and Mrs. 
Dana have two children,— Grace and Marion. They are members and liberal 
supporters of the Presbyetrian Church. 

Politically Judge Dana has always been identified with the Republican 
party and has taken a prominent part in its deliberations. On many occa- 
sions he has been a delegate to both State and congressional conventions. 
Fraternally Judge Dana is a 32nd degree Mason and is also a member of 
the Elks. 



FRYE W. GILES. 



Frye W. Giles, deceased. Among the cities of Kansas, Topeka, its 
beautiful capital, rears her lofty spires and encourages education, commerce 
and industry to a greater degree than any of her sister municipalities, and 
yet but a few decades cover the span of her existence. When Frye W. Giles 
and six other pioneers laid out what then seemed an impossible city, scarcely 
any one would have had the courage to confess the hope that was in his mind, 
an'd yet, that would scarcely have come up to the present realization. 

Frye W. Giles, one of these original pioneers, was born in Littleton, 
New Hampshire, May 30, 18 19. He was reared and educated in his native 
locality, and on attaining manhood embarked in a mercantile business, which 
absorbed his energies for 20 years. In 1854 he came to Kansas and soon 
became interested in agricultural pursuits. Shortly after Topeka was recog- 
nized by the government, he was made the first postmaster of the place, and 
held that ofiice for a long period. He was one of the progressive men of his 
day, one who naturally dominated in public affairs and subsequently he be- 
came connected with various pioneer business enterprises and then engaged 
in banking. He accumulated a large fortune and lived retired during the last 
years of his life. Mr. Giles died June 9, 1898, and his remains were laid to 
rest in the Topeka Cemetery. He never ceased to be interested in the 
material development of the city which he had assisted to lay out and through 
his long life was ready to promote her welfare in all possible ways. He was 
a stanch Republican and he was equally firm in his devotion to the principles 
of the Masonic fraternity. 

On July 10, 1844, Mr. Giles was married to Caroline A. Fellows, who 
is a daughter of Moses Fellows, of Salisbury, New Hampshire. She was 
born in 1821, and still survives, Time having touched her very gently. She 
still occupies her old homestead at No. 113 West Eighth avenue, where she 
has lived continuously since 1859. This is the oldest residence in Topeka, 
one which, before inevitable decay accomplishes its ruin, should be pictured 




AVERY WASHBURN 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 295 

and preserved as a city landmark. Mr. Giles was a consistent member of the 
Protestant Episcopal Church, to which he liberally contributed. Mrs. Giles 
is also a member and her benefactions in the cause of religion and charity 
proclaim a gentle heart and a true Christian spirit. 



AVERY WASHBURN. 

Avery Washburn^ one of the pioneer citizens of Shawnee County^ 
has resided continuously on his farm in Topeka township, in section 35, town- 
ship II, range 15, since 1857, except 12 years spent in the East, and in ad- 
dition to farming has at times engaged in business in the city of Topeka. He 
was born on a farm in Safford, Connecticut, October 23, 1818, and is a son 
of John Elithorpe and Lovina (Avery) Washburn. 

The Washburn family has been established in the United States for 
many generations. Our subject's great-grandfather, Solomon Washburn, 
was a soldier in the Revolutionary War. He married Mary Warner, who 
died in 18 16, and they reared 11 children, who lived to an average age of 86 
years. One of these children was Nathan, grandfather of our subject, who 
was a soldier in the War of the Revolution. He participated in the battle of 
Bunker Hill, and other notable ones, and with Washington's army endured 
the privations and hardships of wintering at Valley Forge, when the soldiers 
were but half clothed and many were without shoes. He married Annah 
Elithorpe, who lived to reach the age of 92 years, and they were parents of 
six daughters and one son. 

John Elithorpe and Lovina (Avery) Washburn became parents of eight 
children, two of whom are now living, namely : Avery ; and John Randolph, 
who is 84 years of age and lives in Connecticut, in which State he has served 
nine terms in the Legislature. The father, who was born May 19, 1788, in 
Connecticut, died October 2, 1858, and his wife, born August 13, 1787, died 
May 4, 1829. 

Avery Washburn was reared on a farm in Stafford, Connecticut, where 
he attended the common schools, and later attended select school in New 
York State, also taking one term in Middlebury Academy. He left home 
for New York State at the age of 19 years and there worked upon a farm. 
He engaged in the manufacture of woolen goods and continued for a period 
of 25 years, also being identified for a number of years with the First Na- 
tional Bank of Brockport, New York, 17 miles west of Rochester. He came 
West to Topeka, Kansas, in 1857, and pre-empted a quarter-section of land 
in section 35, township 11, range 15, in Topeka township, but returned to 



296 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

New York State in the fall of the following year to look after his extensive 
business interests. He again came to his farm in Shawnee County in 1869, 
and has resided continuously upon it ever since. He has farmed this place 
with a great deal of success, and also served as cashier of the Kansas National 
Bank of Topeka for four years. He is a man of unusual business ability, and 
has achieved a high degree of success. When he first came to this county it 
was in a primitive state, and the east line of the Pottawatomie Indian reser- 
vation was just one mile west of his claim. He has seen the community 
develop into one of the richest in a State which is destined to become one of 
the very foremost in point of wealth and resources. He has served as treas- 
urer of a number of the organizations of his township. Dviring the Civil 
War he served as a provost marshal's officer, and is a member of the G. A. R. 
and the Sons of the American Revokition. He assisted in the construction 
of school buildings in his district, and in the erection of the new Methodist 
Episcopal Church, of which he is a member. 

Mr. Washburn was united in marriage with Castorn Gordon, who was 
born in Vermont, March 10, 1820, and is a daughter of William and Martha 
(Gary) Gordon, and granddaughter of James Gordon. The last named came 
from Scotland with General Burgoyne and served in Washington's army, be- 
coming one of the early pensioners in this country. Three children have 
been born to our subject and wife: Lovina, deceased at the age of three 
years ; Cornelia, who died at the age of six years ; and Frank Monroe, who 
lives adjoining and has four children, — George Avery, born March i, 1889; 
Ellwood Gordon, born July 8, 1893; Frances E., born April 8, 1898; and 
Mary C, born September 11, 1903. A portrait of the subject of this sketch 
appears on a foregoing page. 



JOSEPH C. WILSON. 

Joseph C. Wilson, who was one ot Topeka's most esteemed and valued 
citizens for many years, died at his home here on September 18, 1895. Mr. 
Wilson was born near Richmond, Indiana, October 29, 1845, ^"^d was a son 
of Jonathan and Drusilla (Cox) Wilson. 

Mr. Wilson was reared on his father's farm, one of a family of five 
children. After finishing the common school course, Mr. Wilson was grad- 
uated from the High School at Richmond, where he resided until 1869 when 
he came to Kansas. In 1874 he became a resident of Topeka. In the same 
year he was appointed clerk of the United States District Court, under the 
late Judge C. G. Foster, whose sketch will be found elsewhere in this volume. 
Mr. Wilson continued to faithfully fill the duties of this position until the time 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 297 

of his decease. He was a man of estimable character, trusted by business 
associates, respected by his fellow-citizens and dearly beloved in private life. 

In 1869 Mr. Wilson was united in marriage with Anna J. Morris, who- 
is a daughter of Exum Morris. They had seven children, five of whom are 
residents of Topeka: Eleanor (Mrs. J. B. Furry), Helen, Morris N., Doro- 
thy and Ruth. Joseph C, Jr., is a prominent business man of St. Louis^ 
Missouri, and Mabel (Mrs. C. M. Butlin), is a resident of the city of Mexico. 
The family home is at No. 516 Topeka avenue. Both Mr. and Mrs. Wilson 
came from old and most highly regarded families who belonged to the 
Society of Friends and they reared their children in the same simple faith. 

Politically, Mr. Wilson was a stanch supporter of the Republican party. 
He was a member of the Ancient Order of United Workmen. 



AUGUSTUS L. ENTSIVIINGER. 

Augustus L. Entsminger, proprietor of the "Silver Lake Fruit Farm," 
was born December 25, 1834, in Seneca County, Ohio, and has been a resident 
of Silver Lake township, Shawnee County, since December, 1873. He is 
a son of Joseph L. and Abigail (Randall) Entsminger. 

The father of Mr. Entsminger was born in Pennsylvania and the mother 
in Connecticut. The father was an agriculturist and went from his native 
State first to Virginia and then to Sandusky County, Ohio, where he died 
in 1858. The mother survived until 1866 and both are interred near their 
old home. Of their six children, our subject was the only one to come to 
Kansas. The family record is as follows : Stephen, who served in the 
Third Regiment, Ohio Vol. Cav., in the Civil War as a private until he 
suffered the loss of three fingers, deceased in December, 1902, aged 71 years; 
Augustus L., of this sketch; William, who served as a private in the Third 
Regiment, Ohio Vol. Cav., deceased in 1897; Alice (Mrs. Peter Plantz), 
deceased in 1893; Sarah (Mrs. Stanton Huffman), who resides in Sandusky 
County, Ohio, and has five children; and Martha (Mrs. John Timmons), 
who resides at Kalamazoo, Michigan, and has six children. 

Augustus L. Entsminger obtained his education in the Sandusky County 
schools and spent three years learning the carriage-maker's trade. Then 
with the intention of fitting himself completely as a machinist, he went into 
the blacksmithing department. Here he found that the work was affecting 
his eyes, but he continued, with many interruptions, to follow one or the 
other trade until 1879. In i860 he visited Kansas and bought a preempted 



298 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

claim of 120 acres on Mission Creek. After living on it for two weeks he 
went back to Ohio and in 1861 enlisted in Company E, 49th Reg., Ohio 
Vol. Inf. On account of his training as a machinist, he was soon transferred 
to the car department of the Army of the Cumberland, with headquarters 
at Nashville, Tennessee, where he remained three years and was there mus- 
tered out on August I, 1864. It was then his desire to return at once to 
Kansas, but as affairs were still in a disturbed condition he was not given 
transportation and therefore went to Ohio instead. 

In the following spring Mr. Entsminger settled down on his farm on 
Mission Creek, spent one summer there and then removed to Topeka, where 
he entered the employ of William Boyd as a machinist, receiving wages of 
$5 a day. From the fall of 1865 until the fall of 1866 he was a partner with 
Mr. Boyd, when he returned to farming, locating on what was known as the 
' Dick Clark place, where he remained from May until December. In May 
he paid the sum of $442 for this land and in December he sold the same for 
$1,500. He then bought another quarter section from a man named 
Petapher. From this place, in December, 1874, he removed to his present 
farm, where he purchased 83 acres. He has since devoted his attention to 
raising cattle and to fruit culture, growing every choice kind that the climate 
permits. His early output is sold at Topeka, but the bulk goes to the West. 

Mr. Entsminger has been wonderfully successful in his projects and 
owns a very valuable property. It has a historic interest also. Here might 
be seen until recently the remains of a double log house built in 1847, ^^ which 
M. B. Bobein, a Pottawatomie half-breed Indian, kept tavern in the very early 
days. It was on the stage line and in its day sheltered many distinguished 
g'uests. At one time Mark Twain made it his resting place for a time, and 
it was within its picturesque old kitchen that Horace Greeley wrote one of 
his New York Tribune letters, in praise of Kansas. It remained standing 
until last year and many an interesting tale its walls could have told had 
speech been given them. 

Mr. Entsminger was married, first, August 11, 1859, to Caroline Wark- 
ley, in Seneca County, Ohio, who was a daughter of Peter Warkley. She 
died August 28, 1870, and was buried in Silver Lake Cemetery. The two 
children of this union were : Ambrose H., who is supposed to have been 
lost in the great flood at Galveston, Texas; and Arthur D., of Silver Lake, 
who married Clara Hansford, daughter of Eri Hansford, and has two chil- 
dren, — May and Carl. Our subject was married, second, on June 13, 1871, 
to Mary A. Mills, daughter of William Mills. She died June 28, 1875, leav- 
ing a daughter, — Mary Maud. The latter became Mrs. Wilcox and has 
one son, Augustus, who lives with his grandfather and is a bright, manly 

















^^^^^^Hvr^^'^H^.. 


JH^^^A^^ffH 


1 


^^ 


S.. 


^^ 


K 


1 








^^^^ 


-«^" 




v^ 


■Pp' ~a 



HON. ALBERT HOWELL HORTON 



AND ■ REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 301 

lad of eight years. Mr. Entsminger was married, third, on June 23, 1881, to 
Clara E. Munn, daughter of John and Phoebe (Homan) Munn. 

Mr. Entsminger is the only raiser in Shawnee county, of Red Polled 
cattle, of which he has a herd of 48 head. There are many registered, full- 
blooded animals and present a magnificent appearance. 

Politically, until the last presidential election, Mr. Entsminger was a 
Democrat. He is a justice of the peace and has long been a member of the 
School Board. He has been a member in good standing so long in the Odd 
Fellows that the time has almost arrived for him to be presented with the 
veteran's jewel. He is a member of the Baptist Church. 



HON. ALBERT HOWELL HORTON. 

Hon. Albert Howell Horton, deceased, late chief justice of the 
Supreme Court of Kansas^ and one of the eminent jurists of the State, was 
born March 12, 1837, near Brookfield, New York, and was a son of Dr. Har- 
vey A. and Mary (Bennett) Horton, who were of English ancestry and Pur- 
itan stock. 

Judge Horton, after previous literary preparation, entered the Univer- 
sity of Michigan in 1855, prepared for the law and was admitted in 1858 to 
the bar of the State of New York. In the following year he offered his pro- 
fessional services to -the residents of Atchison, Kansas, where, in the next 
year, he was appointed city attorney, to fill a vacancy, and was elected to the 
office in 1861. That his abilities were far beyond the ordinary must have 
been the case, else he had not been chosen for the bench by Governor Charles 
Robinson, after serving in his previous position only from April to Septem- 
ber. He served through three terms as judge of the Second Judicial District 
and then resigned the honorable position in order to devote his time more 
closely to an increasing private practice. 

Judge Horton was not permitted, however, to remain in private life 
very long, in May, 1869, being appointed by President Grant, United States 
district attorney for Kansas. In 1868 he was one of the Republican presi- 
dential electors and was honored with the commission of carrying the elec- 
toral vote from his State to Washington. His party continued to claim his 
services, electing him to the State Legislature in 1872; to the State Senate 
in 1877 and his supporters were only checked in their efforts to bring him to 
the candidacy of still higher offices by his appointment as chief justice, which 
was made in 1877 ^Y Governor Osborn. He filled out the unexpired term of 
Judge Kingman, and in 1878 was elected to the office and was re-elected in 



302 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

1884 and 1890. After retiring from the bench, he resumed his practice at 
Topeka, and, until the close of his remarkable career, was a member of the 
law firm of Waggener, Horton & Orr. 

While Judge Horton was honored in his profession and in public life, 
he was also regarded with sentiments of esteem and admiration in other 
connections. As president of the alumni of the University of Michigan, he 
received tokens of respect which included the conferring upon him of a highly- 
valued honor, — the degree of LL. D. As a keen, clear, forcible journalist, 
he was known beyond his State, and the influence of his judicial mind was 
frequently apparent in the forming of his party's- political policy. After years 
of honorable, dignified, distinguished service, Judge Horton passed away 
September 2, 1902. 

Judge Horton was twice married, first in 1864 to Anna Amelia Robert- 
son, who died in 1883. Three daughters and one son were born to them, of 
whom one daughter, Carrie, the wife of Frederick K. Brown, a young busi- 
ness man of Topeka, is the only one living in this city. Mary B., Rosamond 
S. and Albert H. reside in Colorado. His second marriage was in 1886 to 
Mrs. Mary A. Prescott, of Topeka, who survives him. By her first marriage, 
Mrs. Horton had three children, namely: Mrs. E. B. MacDowell, whose 
husband is one of the leading business men of Topeka; John A., of Kansas 
City, Missouri fand Alice M., wife of C. L. Brown, of Arkansas City, Kan- 
sas. Mrs. Horton resides at No. 921 Monroe street. A portrait of Judge 
Horton accompanies this sketch. 



REV. JOHN D. KNOX. 

Rev John D. Knox, who has been identified with the Methodist Episco- 
pal Church in Topeka since this city boasted of a population of 1,600 in- 
habitants, has been identified with all that has worked for Topeka's educa- 
tional and moral advancement for the past 40 years. He was born in Bel- 
mont County, Ohio, October 28, 1828, and is a son of John and Mary 
(Davis) Knox, of Scotch-Irish ancestry. 

Rev. Mr. Knox bears a noted historical name, one which has been con- 
nected with religious work and faithful adherence to conscious duty for 
generations and generations. His ancestors as far back as John Wesley were 
Methodists. Before the removal of the family to the North of Ireland, they 
lived in Scotland, about 12 miles south of Glasgow. 

William Knox, the grandfather of our subject, was born in Ireland, in 
June, 1767, and was licensed to preach in 1787. In 1791 he came to America 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 303 

and in 1800 he joined the Baltimore Conference as a probationer, from which 
he passed into the Ohio Conference and in 1825 into the Pittsburg Confer- 
ence, on its organization. He was a faithful and useful servant of the 
church, and died at his home at Cadiz, Ohio, June 14, 1851, when a few days- 
over 80 years of age. One of his sons, Jeremiah Knox, was well known in 
Pittsburg and was a member of his father's conference, and the ministry is 
represented in the third generation by our subject. "Father" Knox, as he 
was affectionately called for many years, is mentioned by one who knew him 
well, as a composite of goodness. In no sense was he a great preacher, but 
he was Methodistic in his doctrines, was Biblical in his teaching and touching 
in his exhortation. His sweetness of spirit and his simple, holy manner of 
life, made him a very useful minister. For a number of the last years of his 
ministry, he was relieved from a settled charge and was placed on a four weeks 
circuit as second preacher, in the vicinity of his home. He was then 75 years 
of age and a remark made to a friend at that time showed his attitude of 
mind. "The conference" said he, "is so kind in placing me with young men, 
who take such good care of me." 

John Knox, father of Rev. John D. Knox, removed from Belmont 
County to Cadiz and later to Freeport, Harrison County, Ohio, while our 
subject was young. He was a chairmaker by trade and -some of the products 
of his skill were disposed of in the Capitol Building at Washington. He 
participated in the War of 181 2, and assisted in keeping the English out of 
Baltimore, in which city he learned his trade. He died at the age of 62 
years. His widow, who was born in 1800, survived until the age of 87 
years. She retained all her faculties and her physical vigor to old age, her 
hair not becoming gray before she was 80 years old. 

Rev. John D. Knox spent the greater part of his youthful days at Free- 
port, Harrison County, Ohio, where he attended the local schools. He also 
was a student at Franklin College and graduated from Duff's Mercantile Col- 
lege at Pittsburg. In his 17th year he united with the Methodist Episcopal 
Church and that his professions were regarded as entirely sincere was shown 
by his appointment, a few months later, as a class leader. It was the desire 
of his parents that he should be educated as a physician and, with this end in 
view, he was sent to Dr. McBain, a well-known practitioner at Cadiz, to 
study the science of medicine. Probably the experienced medical man soon 
discovered that his pupil was only half-hearted in his devotion to the study 
of anatomical charts and the marvelous construction of the human body, and 
when he found him pouring over Horn's "Introduction to the Holy 
Scriptures" instead of a treatise on the circulation of the blood, he advised 
the parents to give up their plans for making a physician of him and to 
send him to Franklin College to study for the ministry, saying : "He will make 



304 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

a better preacher than a doctor." This sensible physician had also under his 
teaching, when a young man, the late distinguished Bishop Simpson, but 
we are not advised as to whether he gave the same advice in that case. 

Thus it was that John D. Knox became a theological instead of a medical 
student. While still at college he was licensed to exhort and a few months 
later was licensed as a local preacher on his home circuit. At the next Quar- 
terly Conference he was recommended to the Pittsburg Annual Conference 
as a suitable person to enter the traveling connection. Accordingly, in June, 
1850, he was admitted on trial, at Canton, Ohio, and was sent to the Wash- 
ington and Cambridge circuit. For 15 years he took work in that conference 
and served three stations in Pittsburg. It was during the fearful ravages of 
cholera in that city, in 1854, that the young minister particularly attracted 
attention by the practical following out of the great truths he loved to preach. 
Regardless of his own safety and comfort, he nursed the sick, comforted the 
dying and cared for the dead until he himself fell a victim to the dread scourge. 
A remarkably strong constitution and a previous abstemious life brought him 
safely through. His experiences during that solemn time when 1,800 peo- 
ple in Pittsburg perished in two months and when at one period there were 
40 dead and unburied persons in the vicinity of his Church, Asbury Chapel, 
can never be forgotten, nor can his services as he bravely labored night and 
day to succor those in need. 

In 1864, Rev. Mr. Knox served the Christian Commission at Fred- 
ericksburg, Bells Plain, Falmouth Station and other points, his time being 
filled with important duties and great responsibilities. He recalls one Sunday 
in Fredericksburg when he waited on sick and wounded soldiers in two 
hospitals until 10 o'clock in the morning (there being at that time 8,000 sick 
and wounded in the city) and then preached seven different sermons up to 
10 o'clock that night. In 1865 he was transferred to the Kansas Conference 
and was stationed at Topeka where he remained three years. Later he was 
twice appointed presiding elder of the Fort Scott district, but work and ex- 
posure, with attacks of fever and ague, had so prostrated him that he requested 
to be relieved from the duties of that position. Since then he has made his 
home at Topeka and has been a witness to the wonderful development of 
this whole section. When he came here, he remembers the fort that then 
stood on the corner of Sixth and Kansas avenues. 

Rev. Mr. Knox, while accepting no charge, has never entirely given up 
preaching the Gospel. Finding that change of scene and climate were needed 
to restore him to health, he so arranged his business affairs that he could be 
absent a long time and for 20 years dd not travel less than 8,000 miles 
annually and sometimes 20,000 miles. He has been twice through Continental 
Europe, Scotland and England, once in Ireland, Egypt and Palestine and has 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 305 

lectured on many subjects in various localities. His lecture, "The Holy 
Land," has been listened to by thousands with pleasure and profit. He has 
been a valued contributor to the Pittsburg Christian Advocate; for four 
years was editor of the Kansas Methodist, and is the author of a widely 
circulated book of 583 pages, entitled "Paths to Wealth." At various times 
he has served as chaplain to a number of organizations like the Masons, Odd 
Fellows and Sons of Temperance, to which he belongs and has never failed 
to raise his voice and use his influence in promoting everything educational, 
reformatory and moral. He has served as superintendent of public instruc- 
tion for Shawnee County, and for some time was treasurer of the Kansas 
Freedmen's Relief Association. As such he was summoned to Washington, 
D. C, to appear before the committee to investigate the causes that led to the 
emigration of the negroes from the Southern to the Northern States. In 1873 
he was honorary commissioner to the Austrian Universal Exposition held at 
Vienna. 

In 1858, Rev. Mr. Knox married Mary Dibert and they had eight chil- 
dren, three daughters and one son being still at home. All the children still 
survive and there are 11 grandchildren. One son, William C, who is now 
located at San Francisco, built what is now known as the Columbian Build- 
ing on West Sixth street, Topeka, formerly known as the Knox Building. 
Mr. Konx's mansion, known as "Belvoir," at Potwin, was about the second 
house erected there. This addition to the city of Topeka is now filled with 
some of the most beautiful mansions in this part of the State. The population 
is several hundred and the locality is considered one of the choicest residential 
sections of the city. 



CAPT. GEORGE M. NOBLE. 

Capt. George M. Noble, senior member of the well-known firm of 
George M. Noble & Company, of Topeka, is known all over the State of 
Kansas, for the firm deals extensively in real property in every county. He 
was born March 7, 1842, in Clermont County, Ohio, and is a son of Rev. 
James H. and Angeline E. (Simmons) Noble. 

The Noble family is of English extraction but has been established in 
America for many years. The father of Captain Noble was a minister of 
tlie Methodist Episcopal Church. 

In 1858 our subject went to Indiana and was educated at Greencastle, 
graduating at Indiana Asbury University. When scarcely out of school, he 
enlisted for service in the Civil War, October 17, 1861, in Company D, 31st 
Reg., Indiana Vol. Inf. This company was organized and mustered into the 



3o6 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

service of the United States, September 20, 1861, at Terre Haute, with 
Charles Cruft as colonel, John Osborne as lieutenant colonel and Frederick 
Arn as major. It proceeded soon afterward to Evansville, Indiana, thence to 
Henderson, Kentucky, encamping at Calhoun, on the Green River. 

On February 11, 1862, the regiment moved with General Grant's forces 
to Fort Donelson and in participating in the assault there lost nine killed, 52 
wounded and one missing. It was then marched to Fort Henry and later to 
Shiloh or Pittsburg Landing, actively taking part in both days of battle 
there, the memorable 6th and 7th of April, 1862. Here the regiment lost 22 
killed, no wounded and 10 missing. The regiment was then assigned to 
the Fourth Division of the Army of the Ohio, under command of General 
Nelson, and took an active part in the siege operations before Corinth, in- 
cluding the battle of Corinth, after which it moved with Buell's army through 
Northern Mississippi and Alabama into Tennessee. In September it reached 
Louisville, Kentucky, and following General Bragg's retreat from that State, 
after the battle of Perryville, Kentucky, it went to Nashville, thence, in De- 
cember, with Crittenden's corps of Rosecrans' army, it marched to Murfrees- 
boro and engaged the enemy for three days at Stone River. The regiment 
remained quietly encamped at Cripple Creek after this vigorous campaign, 
guarding a mountain pass near Murfreesboro, until the forward movement of 
the army to Chattanooga was begun in June, 1863. It took a prominent part 
in the battle of Chicgamauga, after which it went into camp at Bridgeport, 
Alabama, where on January i, 1864, it became a veteran organization, the 
members reenlisting. Our subject was given a veteran furlough and made 
a short visit to Indiana. After his return to the regiment, now an organization 
of considerable reputation on account of its gallantry and loyalty, it saw much 
hard service. The 31st was conspicuous at the battles of Rocky Face Ridge, 
Resaca, Pine Mountain, Bald Knob, Kenesaw Mountain, Marietta, Smyrna 
camp ground on the Chattahoochie River, siege of Atlanta, Jonesboro, Love- 
joy Station, Franklin and Nashville. At the close of the war, the regiment 
moved with General Sheridan's army to Texas, where it was mustered out 
of the service, December 8, 1865. During its long and arduous service, this 
organization of brave men had lost 432 of its members in killed and wounded. 
On January 24, 1863, Captain Noble was honorably discharged by reason of 
promotion from sergeant major of his regiment to regimental adjutant, for 
meritorious services. His former promotion had been for the same reason, in 
April, 1862. On September 13, 1864, he was commissioned captain of Com- 
pany C, and was mustered out as such on November 11, 1864, being breveted 
major by special order. 

After his return from the army. Captain Noble settled in Illinois and 
entered upon the study of the law at Champaign, and was admitted to the 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 307 

Supreme Court of that State in May, 1870. In the same year he came to 
Topeka, where he engaged in the practice of the law until 1873. He then 
became associated with the Kansas Loan & Trust Company as secretary, vice- 
president and one of the general managers until 1893, when this company was 
succeeded by the Trust Company of America, of which he served as vice- 
president until 1898. This company has been one of the large financial organi- 
zations of the State, having made loans to the amount of $20,000,000. Since 
1898 Captain Noble has devoted his time to the business of real estate loans, 
mortgages and insurance. He is the senior member of the firm of George 
M. Noble & Company, the other members being A. D. Washburn and J. H. 
Noble. The firm has the handling of property, including farms, ranches, 
alfalfa lands, wheat lands and pasture lands, in all sections of Kansas and in 
adjoining States. In addition to their extensive operations in realty, they 
handle the leading insurance lines and are the accredited local financial agents 
for Eastern investors. The offices of the firm are at No. 435 Kansas avenue. 
Captain Noble was married at Champaign, Illinois, on January 25, 1872, 
to Eva A. Reed, who was born at Fredericktown, Ohio. They had two sons, 
Walter T. and George M., Jr. The former was a very brilliant young man, 
a Princeton graduate. His death took place in August, 1904, leaving his 
parents, brother, wife and three children. 

Captain Noble is an ideal citizen, ever ready to work hard in the in- 
terests of his community, ready to unselfishly foster and promote enterprises 
that will add to the general welfare and to support public-spirited measures 
for the benefit of all. He is one of the leading members and has been one of 
the directors of the Topeka Commercial Club. He has long been connected 
with the higher branches of Masonry and is a member of Orient Lodge, No. 
51, A. F. & A. M., and of Topeka Chapter, No. 5, R. A. M. He belongs also 
to the Grand Army of the Republic and the Kansas Commandery of the Mili- 
tary Order of the Loyal Legion of the United States. Since 1870 he has 
been a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church and almost continuously 
since has been one of the trustees. 



HON. FREDERICK WELLHOUSE. 

Hon. Frederick Wellhouse, one of the leading horticulturists of 
the State of Kansas, and a prominent and valued citizen of Topeka, was born 
November 16, 1828, in Wayne County, Ohio, and is a son of William and 
Hannah (Yohe) Wellhouse. 

The father of Mr. Wellhouse subsequent to the latter's birth removed to 
Summit County, Ohio, where he purchased a farm of 300 acres. He died 



3o8 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

there in 1843, leaving the management of this large estate and the care of 
several younger children to our subject, then a youth of 15, and his brother, 
who was 18 months older. 

In 1853 Mr. Wellhouse moved to Christian County, Illinois, where he 
engaged in farming and in literary pursuits. In 1858 he located at Indianap- 
olis, Indiana, and entered into the publication of an agricultural journal known 
as the Indiana Farmer. A year later he sold this newspaper to his partner, 
J. N. Ray, and then moved to Kansas, locating in Leavenworth County, in 
1859. Here Mr. Welhouse set out great orchards, the care of which inter- 
ested him for a number of years. While it was something of an experiment, 
Mr. Wellhouse had made horticulture a scientific study and the remarkable 
success which rewarded his care and industry sufficiently demonstrated his 
wisdom as well as his knowledge of horticulture. In the fall of 1880, Mr. 
Wellhouse and his son Walter, who is associated with him, gathered the first 
crop of apples, the yield of 437 acres of orchard being 1,500 bushels. In 
1890, 10 years later, the crop amounted to the vast amount of 79,170 bushels. 
The total yield of this great orchard up to 1905 has been 498,148 bushels, 
which sold for $199,253.20, with net profits amounting to $139,481.44. The 
fruit is shipped both to home markets and foreign ports. The whole extent 
of orchard land includes 1,630 acres, making the Wellhouse orchard the 
largest one in the world under one management. No other orchard in the 
State of Kansas or in the world, conducted by one man and his family, has 
ever equaled its record in annual yield of apples. Between the rows of trees 
in the orchard Mr. Wellhouse has also grown 160,000 bushels of corn. Five 
varieties of apples are grown : Jonathan, Ben Davis, Gano, York Imperial and 
Missouri Pippin; the orchard is noted as much for the quality as for the 
quantity of the product. 

While Mr. Wellhouse has always been an enthusiast in the growing of 
apples, he has also been much interested in the culture of all kinds of fruit. 
He was one of the first horticulturists to call the attention of other States to 
the possibilities of fruit culture in Kansas, the fine exhibits made at Philadel- 
phia, Richmond, Boston and New York attracting universal and favorable 
notice and resulting in attracting capital and good settlers to this section of 
the State. Mr. Wellhouse has continued his active interest in horticultural 
affairs and he was chosen, as eminently fitted, to take full charge of the fruit 
display for Kansas, at the World's Columbian Exposition at Chicago in 
1893 and at the Trans-Mississippi Exposition at Omaha, Nebraska, in 1898. 

Mr. Wellhouse has been an active member of the Kansas State Horti- 
cultural Society almost since its organization, has been its president for the 
past 10 years and for 15 years was its treasurer. He has been vice-president 




HON. SAMUEL T. HOWE 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 311 

of the Kansas State Fair Association in which he has been a director almost 
since its organization. 

During the Civil War, Mr. Wellhouse took an active part in military 
matters and was captain in the 19th Kansas State militia. In 1861 he was 
elected county commissioner and made chairman of the board, and in 1866 
he was elected by the Republican party to the Legislature and was reelected 
in 1888. Other marks of party favor have been shown him at various times 
and for years he was a prominent figure in public life. 

Mr. Wellhouse married Susan Housely, a daughter of Daniel Housely, 
and they reared four children, namely: Walter, who is married and lives 
in Topeka; Mary C; Horace M., deceased; and Cora A., wife of H. S. Bul- 
lard, of Leavenworth County, who is living on one of subject's farms. 



HON. SAMUEL T. HOWE. 

Hon. Samuel T. Howe, district manager of the Bell Telephone Com- 
pany with office at Topeka, has been a resident of Kansas since 1868, and 
during this long period has been identified with business , associations and 
public afifairs. Mr. Howe was born July 23, 1848, at Savannah, Wayne 
County New York, coming from a family which has been particularly dis- 
tinguished in the professions and in the political as well as business circles 
of several States. 

Mr. Howe accompanied his family to Toleda, Ohio, in boyhood and 
there obtained an excellent education, which was scarcely completed at the 
opening of the Civil War. In 1862 he became a member of the State militia, 
and in January, 1864, received an appointment in the military service of the 
United States, connected with the construction of military railroads in Ala- 
bama. In January, 1865, he enlisted as a private in Company B, 189th Reg. 
Ohio Vol. Inf., and served until the close of the war in the 14th Army Corps. 
After his discharge in 1865, he returned to Toledo, and during the inter- 
vening period until 1868 perfected himself in carpenter work. 

Mr. Howe came to Kansas with the great wave of immigration in 1868 
and found abundant need of his skill in his trade in the rapidly growing 
cities of Leavenworth, Topeka, Burlingame and Salina. In those days it was 
a difficult matter for an intelligent, public-spirited citizen of Kansas to keep 
out of politics, and in 1871 Mr. Howe found himself elected sheriff of Marion 
County. He served as sheriff until 1874, when he was elected, and later 
twice reelected, clerk of the District Court. In 1879 he was shown the con- 
fidence of Marion County by being elected its treasurer and was reelected in 

15 



31-2 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

1881 but before he could take his seat, the people of the State, recognizing 
in him a man of the sterling traits of character which they demanded in a 
State Treasurer, elected him in 1882 to this office, m which he served most 
satisfactorily until 1887. 

After his retirement from the duties of the offite of State Treasurer, 
Mr. Howe located his home at Topeka, where for many years he was active 
in business, particularly in land dealing and banking, and was also the 
owner of mining interests. In 1895 he was elected by the executive council 
of the State, consisting of the Governor and other State officers, to the office 
of railroad commissioner, a position he held two years. He is a qualified 
lawyer but has never engaged in general practice, but his undestanding of 
the law has made him a very efficient official and member of various boards. 
He is at present a member of the City Council, and has served as its president ; 
he is now serving as chairman of the ways and means committee. He was 
recently appointed by the Governor on a commission to advise with the Gov- 
ernor in relation to an investigation of the State departments, ordered by the 
last Legislature. He has been the author of numerous articles on public 
subjects, especially in relation to financial matters, and has proved his close 
acquaintance with economic questions of the greatest moment. Since 1904 
Mr. Howe has been the district manager of the Bell Telephone Company 
with office at Topeka. 

In 1876 Mr. Howe was married to Clara B. Frazer, of Portsmouth, 
Ohio, and they became the parents of eight children, of whom five still sur- 
vive, as follows : Bertrice A., Fred L., Samuel T., Jr., William E. and Clare 
E. Mr. Howe's fraternal association is mainly with the Masons and he has 
been treasurer of the Masonic Mutual Benefit Society for a number of years. 
He is a valued member of the Topeka Commercial Club. His portrait is 
shown on a foregoing page. 



JOSEPH VAN VLECK. 

Joseph Van Vleck^ one of the highly respected citizens and substantial 
■farmers of Rossville township, Shawnee County, who resides on his well- 
improved farm of 80 acres in section 16, township 10, range 13, was born in 
182 1 in Madison County, New York, and is a son of Joseph and Hester 
{Francisco) Van Vleck. 

Herman Van Vleck, the paternal grandfather of our subject, was born 
in Holland and came very early to America, settling in the Mohawk Valley, 
NTew York, and removing later to the tract in Madison County, known as the 



: I AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 313 

"Mile Strip." His land was adjacent to that owned by the noted Abolition 
leader, Gerrit Smith, and they together attended the Congregational Church. 
Politically they differed, but personally were good friends and neighbors and 
were men of such character that when they sat together in the little church 
in Peterboro, their religious feelings were so genuine that political sentiments 
were excluded. The family continued to reside in Madison County until the 
death of the father. The mother died in Ontario County, New York. 

Joseph Van Vleck received his educational training in his native locality, 
later moved to Grundy County, Illinois, and in 1878 came to Kansas. He pur- 
chased 320 acres of land in Rossville township from the Atchison, Topeka & 
Santa Fe Railway Company, the land being located in sections 9 and 16, 
township 10, range 13. He has retained 80 acres of this for his own use, 
the remainder having been given to his two sons. 

Mr. Van Vleck was married in the village of Penfield, Monroe County, 
New York, to Mary A. Grain, who was a daughter of Mahlon Grain, a native 
of Vermont. Mrs. Van Vleck died in 1901, in her 79th year. They had eight 
children, the six survivors being : Mahlon, who has been a resident of Chicago 
for many years; T. J., of Topeka; Frank and Eugene, farmers of Rossville 
township; Clara, a resident of McCook, Nebraska; and C. E. who remains 
on the homestead with his father. 

Mr. Van Vleck is identified with the Republican party and takes a 
great deal of interest in its successes. For many years he has been an Odd 
Fellow. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 



CHARLES A. MAGAW. 

Charles A. Magaw, a well-known lawyer and formerly police judge 
of Topeka, was born in Ohio in 1872, and is a son of John B. and Margaret 
Magaw. 

John B. Magaw was a farmer by occupation and lived in Ohio until 
1879, when he came West to Kansas. He removed to Osage County, Kansas, 
in 1895, and lived there until his death on February 2, 1900. He is survived 
by Mrs. Magaw and three children, namely : Rachel, wife of Samuel Har- 
bour, of Osage, Kansas ; William, an instructor in the Topeka High School ; 
and Charles A., subject of this biography. 

Charles A. Magaw was reared on a farm in Jefferson County, Kansas, 
and received a preliminary educational training in the public schools of his 
district. He pursued a literary course of study at Washburn College, but 
left that institution in his junior year to take up the study of the law in the 



314 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

State University at Lawrence. After graduation with the degree of LL. B. 
in 1897, he was admitted to the bar, and has been engaged in practice since 
in the city of Topeka. He has an office in the Crawford Building, and has 
an extensive practice. He served two terms as police judge at Topeka, and is 
held in highest regard by his fellow lawyers and the public in general. 

Mr. Magaw is unmarried and resides at No. 716 Lincoln street. Since 
the death of his father, his mother has made her home with our subject. He 
is a member of the Bar Association of the State of Kansas and of Topeka 
Lodge, No. 204, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. Politically, he is 
a Republican, and has always been one of the most active party workers in 
the city. 



THOMAS DUGARDE HUMPHREYS. 

Thomas DuGarde Humphreys^ who has been prominently engaged 
in the practice of the law in Topeka for many years, is one of this city's best 
known citizens and has been identified with numerous of its most successful 
business enterprises. 

Mr. Humphreys was born in Nottingham, England, February 22, 1858, 
and is a son of Dr. Matthew and Maria Jane (DuGarde) Humphreys. His 
father was a successful physician and surgeon of Nottingham. 

Thomas D. Humphreys attended the Dame Agnes Meller Grammar 
School and upon leaving that institution entered the merchant marine and 
naval reserve, making three complete trips around the globe. Upon leaving 
the service he was serving as third officer of the "Ophelia," carrying emi- 
grants to Queensland, Australia. He then became private secretary to 
Charles Bradlow, a Member of Parliament and a distinguished lawyer, who 
was known as the "English Ingersoll." He read law with that gentleman 
during a period of seven years, then took up the study of science and art at 
the Kensington Science and Art School, upon graduation being awarded 
Queen's prize in acoustics, light and heat, botany, freehand and mechanical 
drawing and chemistry. He next attended the London Science Schools, 
receiving honors in chemistry, botany, acoustics, light and heat. Upon 
coming to the United States, he located at Topeka, Kansas, in 1888, and 
entered upon the practice of the law. He was admitted to practice in the 
Federal courts in 1898, and in the Supreme Court of the United States in 
1901. He built up a large and lucrative practice which has demanded the 
greater part of his attention, but he has found time to devote to various 
enterprises of importance in this city. He is connected with the Jewel Coal 
Company, secretary of the Forceda Coal Company, and has been one of the 




JOHN E. FROST 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 317 

promoters of the Landrus Stove & Foundry Company, manufacturing the 
"Landrus" stove radiator. 

Mr. Humphreys w^as united in marriage with Mrs. Ehzabeth Lydia 
Gilmore, a widow. He has one son, by a former marriage, — Rene DuGarde, 
— who is attending Topeka High and Manual Training School. Fraternally, 
our subject is a member of the Bar Association of the State of Kansas and 
of the Masonic order, having taken all the degrees of the York rite and up to 
the 32nd degree of the Scottish rite. He is a man of broad and liberal mind 
and of striking personality, and has many stanch friends. 



JOHN E. FROST. 



John E. Frost, ex-president of the Commercial Club of Topeka, and 
a citizen who has been prominently identified with public affairs in Kansas 
for very many years, was born April 22, 1849, ^^ Rome, New York, and is a 
son of Hon. Thomas Gold and Elizabeth A. (Bancroft) Frost. 

Mr. Frost comes of distinguished ancestry which extends in both pater- 
nal and maternal lines to old and honoroble English families and early New 
England settlers. The father of Mr. Frost was prominent in politics and in 
the law prior to 1857, when he removed to Illinois, and took up his residence 
at Galesburg. The closing years of his life were spent in Chicago, and in 
both cities he was a representative legal practitioner and the recipient of 
many honors. 

John E. Frost had liberal educational opportunities, including collegiate 
advantages at Knox College at Galesburg, Illinois, and at Hamilton College 
at Clinton, New York. At the latter institution he carried off honors at his 
graduation in 1871. He then read law, not so much for the practice of the 
profession as to thoroughly inform himself upon points which might come 
up in his business transactions later in life. His business career began and 
has been mainly connected with land and immigration interests and prob- 
ably no man in Kansas more thoroughly masters questions relative to these 
lines than does Mr. Frost, after more than 30 years devotion to their study. 
In 1904 he was elected a trustee of Hamilton College, his alma mater. He 
is a member of the Chi Psi college fraternity. 

From 1872 to 1879, Mr. Frost was district agent of the land depart- 
ment of the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway Company, and after his 
removal to Topeka, in 1882, he filled still higher offices with the company un- 
til 1890 when he was appointed general land commissioner for the corpora- 



3i8 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

tion, in which office he continued until his resignation in 1898, when he pur- 
chased the still unsold lands of the company in Kansas. 

Mr. Frost has held many honorable positions and offices with dignity 
and efficiency. As president of the Exhibitors' Association at the Interna- 
tional Cotton Exposition, in 1881, at Atlanta, Georgia; as vice-president in 
1895 of the National Irrigation Congress at Denver and as its president in 
1896, at Albuquerque, New Mexico; and as vice-president and treasurer of 
the Kansas Commission of the Trans-Mississippi and International Exposi- 
tion at Omaha, in 1898, he displayed not only all necessary executive ability, 
but also the courtesy, tact and diplomacy so essential in a public repre- 
sentative. 

Since coming to Topeka he has been interested in many of the city's 
most successful enterprises and has shown a most commendable amount of 
public spirit. As president of the Commercial Club from 1901 to 1804 he 
encouraged and headed many movements looking to the material develop- 
ment of the city and, with the brain of a scholar, the vigor of a worker and 
the heart of a gentleman, enjoys the esteem of all who know him best. 

At the time of the disastrous flood in the Kansas River in 1903, Mr. 
Frost served as chairman of the General Flood Relief Committee. It is 
acknowledged by all that similar work was never better done than was per- 
formed by this organization. Mr. Frost, as chairman, deserves much of the 
credit for the committee's excellent showing. 

In 1 87 1, Mr. Frost was united in marriage with Margaret E. Kitchell, 
who is a daughter of Hon. Alfred Kitchell, of Illinois, and they have six 
children. The family belong to the First Presbyterian Church of Topeka. 
Their beautiful home is situated at the corner of loth and Western avenues 
and it is the scene of much hospitality and many social functions. A por- 
trait of Mr. Frost accompanies this sketch. 



O. A. HOLCOMB. 

O. A. HoLCOMB, general manager of the Topeka Foundry Company, of 
Topeka, and a leading business man of this city, was born in Sangamon 
County, Illinois, in 1855, and is a son of Myron and Dorcas C. (Winchell) 
Holcomb. 

The parents of Mr. Holcomb came to Kansas from Bloomington, Illi- 
nois, in 1869, and now reside in Topeka township, Shawnee County. Our 
subject is the eldest of their four children, the others being: Carrie G., wife 
of Prof. E. A. Popenoe, entomologist at the State Agricultural College; 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 31^ 

Elizabeth, wife of Benjamin Ost, of Los Angeles, California; and Mina E., 
wife of E. G. Miner, who was one of the organizers of the beneficiary sotiety 
of Knights and Ladies of Security and was a member of the executive board 
at Topeka. 

Mr. Holcomb was educated at Topeka and is one of the members of the 
first class to graduate at the High School. After completing his education, 
he taught school and was deeply interested in educational affairs for a num- 
ber of years. He taught the district school east of the cemetery, for one 
year, and the schools at Rochester and Indianola, and for five years was 
principal of the Lincoln School, Topeka, and for three years of the old 
Washburn School on Jackson street. During this time he took up institute 
work every year and was known in educational circles all over the county. 

Since the establishing of the Topeka Foundry Company, in 1885, Mr. 
Holcomb has been connected with it. It began business as Newby & Com- 
pany, at the old Capital Iron Works, the organizers being: A. S. Newby, 
president; George R. Millice, vice-president and O. A. Holcomb, manager. 
They met with success from the start. By 1887 they were obliged to provide 
larger quarters and built on First avenue, opposite the Rock Island Depot 
and did business until 1889 as the Topeka Stove Repair Foundry. Two 
years later they added to their machinery to the amount of $3,000, changing 
the name of the business to that of the Topeka Foundry Company, Mr. 
Newby having dropped out three years before. In 1894 the increase in busi- 
ness made enlargement of space and facilities necessary, and they moved to 
the corner of Second and Jackson streets, where they remained 10 years. 
At this time the property was sold, which made still another change neces- 
sary. They then built their present plant at Nos. 318-20-22 Jackson street, 
a great building 75 by 115 feet in dimensions, equipped it with all kinds of 
modern machinery and now carry on a vast amount of business. They 
manufacture machinery castings, a soil packer for agricultural purposes, a 
line of creamery supplies and do a general repair business in the hne of 
machinery. It is the best equipped foundry in the city and its success reflects 
credit upon Mr. Holcomb, who has continued manager of the business 
through all these years. 

Mr. Holcomb was married January 28, 1879, to Sarah E. Fowkes, who 
is a native of Springfield, Illinois, and they have six children, viz : Berenice, 
who is the capable bookkeeper for the Topeka Foundry Company; Helen, 
who is a teacher in the Euclid School; Myron (who bears his grandfather's 
honored name), who is a senior in the High School; and Inez, Ruth and 
Katherine. The comfortable home is a handsome residence at No. 12 13 
Fillmore street, which Mr. Holcomb built and in which he has resided for 



320 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

the past 25 years. Mr. Holcomb's success demonstrates the value of an 
educated man at the head of any kind of business, the trained facuhies and 
broadened view being of inestimable value. 



JAMES R. LYDIC. 



James R. Lydic, one of the well-known citizens and successful farmers 
of Shawnee County, who owns the northwest quarter of section 4, township 
12, range 17, in Tecumseh township, is also entitled to prominence and 
respect as one of the survivors of the great Civil War. Mr. Lydic was born 
October 14, 1841, in Indiana County, Pennsylvania, and is a son of James 
and Rebecca P. (Johnson) Lydic. 

The Lydic family is an old and honorable one in Indiana County. Our 
subject's parents, whose whole lives were spent there, were prosperous 
farmers. They reared a family of 12 children. 

Our subject attended the schools of his native locality and grew up on 
his father's farm, assisting in its management until the outbreak of the Civil 
War. On November 21, 1861, after the farm work of the year had been 
finished and the crops gathered, he offered his services in defense of his coun- 
try, enlisting for three years in Company K, 84th Reg., Pennsylvania Vol. 
Inf., under Capt. Joseph L. Kirby and Col. William G. Murray. From the very 
first this regiment was placed in active service. After a short season of drill- 
ing at Camp Curtin, Harrisburg, it was sent to Hagerstown, Maryland, in 
time to take part in the battle at Bath, then on to Cumberland and thence into 
Virginia. Then followed the battles of Winchester, Fredericksburg and the 
second battle of Bull Run or Manassas Junction. After considerable skir- 
mishing, the regiment took a prominent part in the battle of Chancellorsville. 
It was in the terrible struggle on the morning of June 3, 1863, at Chancel- 
lorsville, that both our subject and his brother were wounded. The brother's 
injuries resulted in the loss of his right fingers but our subject was so fear- 
fully wounded that his good left hand had to be amputated. For five months 
he suffered in the Satterlee Hospital, Philadelphia, and then returned home, 
honorably discharged and bearing with him the badge of his faithful service 
and proof of his loyal devotion to his country. 

Mr. Lydic resumed farming and continued to live in Indiana County, 
Pennsylvania, until 1890, when he removed to Ellis, Kansas, but he found 
the western part of the State too dry for profitable farming and only re- 
mained there until November of that year. He then brought his family 
to Topeka. In the following spring he removed to a farm and on May i, 




HON. JOHN GUTHRIE 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 323 

1 89 1, purchased his present valuable property. Here he has met with suc- 
cess, carrying on farming and stock-raising. 

In 1873 Mr. Lydic was married to Kate Barr, who was born in Indiana 
County, Pennsylvania, February 17, 1850, and is a daughter of John G. 
and Katherine (Allison) Barr, natives of Pennsylvania. They have reared 
seven children, namely : Vinnie, wife of W. E. Lynch, of Tecumseh town- 
ship; James N., John, Orrin, Murray, Clara and Jeannette. Mr. Lydic and 
family belong to the Christian Church at Meriden. 

Politically, Mr. Lydic is a Republican but he has never cared for public 
office, although his services to his country would seem to entitle him to 
official consideration. He is a valued member of the Grand Army Post, No. 
160, at Meriden. 



HON. JOHN GUTHRIE. 

Hon. John Guthrie^ postmaster of Topeka, whose portrait is shown 
on the foregoing page,, has been a distinguished resident of this city since 
1865. He attained prominence as a lawyer and judge and forced his way to 
the foremost ranks of his profession. Judge Guthrie was born in Switzer- 
land County, Indiana, in 1829, and was one of 14 children born to William 
and Margaret (Japp) Guthrie, who were natives of Scotland. 

The parents of John Guthrie removed from Scotland to New York 
State and thence to Indiana, where he was reared and educated. He grew 
to manhood on the farm and assisted in the work on the home place when 
not attending school. He subsequently engaged in teaching school during 
the winter months for several seasons. He read law under Hon. Lewis 
Chamberlin, of Logansport, Indiana, and was admitted to the bar of that 
State in 1857. He immediately embarked in practice and the following year 
was elected district attorney for Cass and Miami counties, continuing as such 
for one and a half years. He resigned this office on account of the meager 
salary and engaged extensively in private practice until September, 1861, 
when he raised Company D, 46th Reg. Indiana Vol. Inf., for service in the 
Union Army during the Civil War. He was made its first captain by Gov- 
ernor Morton, and served as such until June, 1862, when he was discharged 
because of ill health. He returned to Logansport and resumed practice, con- 
tinuing there with much success until 1865. He then moved West to To- 
peka, Kansas, where he has resided continuously since. He engaged in pri- 
vate practice, soon acquiring a prestige throughout this section of the State. 
He was elected to the State Legislature in 1867, 1868 and 1869, serving in 
the same able, patriotic and statesman-like manner that has characterized his 



324 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

entire career. In 1872 he was presidential elector on the Republican ticket, 
in 1872 and 1874 was a delegate to the State conventions, and twice served 
as chairman of the Republican State Central Committee, in which capacity 
he rendered his party invaluable service. He was Republican candidate for 
Governor of Kansas in 1876 and was defeated by George T. Anthony by the 
small majority of four votes. He was elected judge of the Third Judicial 
District of Kansas in 1884, and from that date until 1892 served in such 
manner as to gain the hearty commendation of the bar and of his fellow-citi- 
zens in general. During the years 1890, 1891 and 1892, he filled the chair 
of medical jurisprudence in the Kansas Medical College. In recognition of 
his services to the party in past years, Judge Guthrie was in 1898 appointed 
postmaster of Topeka by President McKinley, and in 1902 was reappointed 
by President Roosevelt, the present being the seventh year of his service in 
that capacity. He is a member and has served as president of the Bar Asso- 
ciation of the State of Kansas. 

On October 24, 1854, Judge Guthrie was married to Mary C. H. Upde- 
graff, and they reside at No. 921 Clay street. They move in the best social 
circles of the city, and have a host of friends of long years standing. Fra- 
ternally, our subject is a prominent Mason, having joined that order at Lo- 
gansport, Indiana, as early as 1862. He was first master of Orient Lodge, 
No. 51, A. F. & A. M. in 1867, and in 1875 was elected grand master of the 
Grand Lodge of Kansas. He is also past department commander of the 
Grand Army of the Republic in Kansas. Religiously, he and his wife are 
devout members of the Presbyterian Church. 



HON. NOAH C. McFARLAND. 

Hon. Noah C. McFarland, deceased, was one of the distinguished 
men of Kansas, whose name will go down to history with her other states- 
men, jurists and broad-minded, steadfast, useful citizens. Judge McFarland 
was born April 23, 1822, in the State of Pennsylvania, being a member of 
one of the substantial old families of Washington County. 

Completing a collegiate course at Washington College, at the age of 23 
years, Noah C. McFarland turned his attention to the study of the law, and in 
1846, at Bucyrus, Ohio, he entered the law office of Judge Scott, who after- 
ward became a member of the Supreme Court of Ohio. When Judge Scott 
removed to Hamilton, Ohio, Mr. McFarland became his law partner and 
resided there until he removed to Kansas in 1870. Prior to this, Mr. McFar- 
land's ability and capacity had been recognized by his fellow-citizens in Ohio. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 325 

In 1865 he was elected to represent Butler and Warren counties in the Ohio 
State Senate, where he served as chairman of the judiciary committee. He 
was also a member of the Ohio delegation at the Chicago National Republi- 
con Convention, in 1868, which nominated General Grant for the Presidency. 

Within three years of settling in Kansas, Judge McFarland was elected 
to the State Senate from Shawnee County, and also in this body served as 
chairman of the judiciary committee. His eminent qualifications brought 
about his appointment as a member of the Ute Indian Commission, and he 
also served as regent of the Kansas State University. In 1881 he was ap- 
pointed United States Land Office Commissioner at Washington, by Presi- 
dent Garfield, an office to which he was reappointed by President Arthur. 

Politically, Judge McFarland was a stalwart Republican, beginning 
campaign speech-making as early as his i8th year, first in the interests of 
the Whig party and later ardently supporting the principles of the Republican 
party. 

Judge McFarland died April 26, 1897, at the Copeland Hotel, Topeka, 
after an illness of but three weeks duration. He is vividly recalled by his 
business and political associates and by scores of personal friends, his Abra- 
ham Lincoln style of appearance and stature making him a conspicuous figure 
in any assembly, while his personal attributes in a like manner recalled Lin- 
coln's rugged honesty. In all his years of public hfe and his familiar asso- 
ciation with his fellow-men he markedly showed the possession of the clear, 
keen judgment of a thinker, and the sincere and unselfish devotion of a 
patriot. 

The death of Judge McFarland followed that of his cherished wife 
within a year. She was one of the most highly esteemed ladies in Topeka, 
beloved for her personal character and admired for her philanthropies. She 
was one of the founders of Topeka's Free Public Library and of Ingleside 
Home. James M. McFarland, the only son, survives. 



JAMES M. MCFARLAND. 

James M. McFarland was born at Hamilton, Ohio, in 185 1, and was 
educated in the Hamilton public schools and at South Salem Academy prior 
to entering Miami University, where he was graduated. From his alma mater 
he received the degree of M. A. on July 21, 1887. 

In addition to his distinguished father, Mr. McFarland has had other 
noted ancestors. The stock is Scotch Presbyterian. His great-greatuncle, 
Major McFarland, was the officer, who, under General Scott, led the attack 



326 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

at Lundy's Lane in the War of 1812. His great-uncle, Hon. Samuel Mc- 
Farland, was nominated for the vice-presidency, on the Abolition ticket, as 
running mate with Gerrit Smith. Up to the time of his death, he continued 
a radical Abolitionist, and he left a part of his estate to the Freedmen's 
Bureau, as an evidence of the earnestness of his convictions. Lieutenant- 
Colonel McFarland, that gallant officer of the 19th Iowa Regiment, who 
fell at the battle of Prairie Grove, during the Civil War, was another uncle. 

James M. McFarland's life has been entirely devoted to literary pursuits 
and he is well known as an essayist and author. He is also a noted 
bibliophilist and owns the largest and by far the most valuable private library 
in the State. This magnificent collection of books, entirely English, includes 
some 6,000 volumes, and he has devoted four rooms in his beautiful home at 
No. 1 192 Fillmore street to their housing. In the arrangement of his books, 
Mr. McFarland has shown artistic taste as well as that almost personal af- 
fection which marks the true lover of such treasures. The works are care- 
fully classified. One room, with several small windows just under the roof, 
with no outside doors, in its exclusiveness invites to the study of history and 
biography, a wealth of works on these subjects lining the shelves. Here, 
with other rare editions, one finds Clarendon's "Rebellion," Burnett's "His- 
tory of the Reformation," a set of Hume, published in 1800, and Rankin's 
"History of France," published in 1801. Another beautiful set is an eight- 
volume publication of Murphy's "Tacitus," bearing the date of 181 1. From 
these the book lover turns to the rare set of 13 volumes in embossed calf, 
published in London, in 1837, containing the dispatches of Field Marshal 
Wellington. 

The section devoted to American history includes all the best works on 
all pertinent subjects, by the best acknowledged writers, and a very interest- 
ing corner is entirely given over to works on the great Napoleon. A smaller 
room on the east adjoins the apartment given to history, and this contains 
about 1,500 volumes of fiction, many of these being in rare and costly bind- 
ings. Even the casual visitor with uneducated taste can appreciate the beauti- 
ful, leather-bound sets of Barbauld's English novels, and the choice bindings 
which add to the value of complete sets of Dickens, Thackeray and Reade. 
A very expensive edition of the original "Arabian Nights," for which he has 
been offered $700, occupies a prominent place. Another apartment is de- 
voted entirely to essays and travels, and here is found the choicest of litera- 
ture. Only a catalogue could enumerate them all, but we may mention a rare 
edition of Montraye's "Travels," in three large octavo volumes, published 
in 1732; Swinburn's "Travels in Spain," published in 1779; Wilson's "Pelew 
Islands," published in 1789; Bruce's "Travels to Discover the Source of the 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 327 

Nile," in five large volumes, published in 1790; Polehapton's "Gallery of 
Art," in six volumes, published in 1818, and also a complete set of Buffon, — 
nine volumes on the natural history of birds, nine on the natural history of 
beasts, and one on the natural history of insects. These are treasures indeed, 
being the original editions published in 1791, 1792 and 1793, and their 
value is beyond price. 

While every volume in the library has intrinsic financial, as well as 
literary, value, there are two little volumes which are held in higher regard by 
their discriminating owner than any other of the rare collection. These, 
bound in tree calf and as perfect as the book-binder's art can achieve, are 
the two volumes of Osborn's "Monumental History of Egypt," published in 
1854. Mr. McFarland has been offered as high as $400 a volume for 
them, but no price can tempt him to part with them. 

The luxuriously appointed room in which Mr. McFarland does his own 
literary work, is also the one which he has devoted to philosophical works 
and to his reference library, this collection including volumes of inestimable 
value to the student and writer. Surrounded by this great aggregation of 
printed thought, and encompassed, as it were, by an inspiring atmosphere, 
Mr. McFarland spends many happy hours, and scarcely could more con- 
genial environment be imagined. In his accomplished wife he finds a com- 
panion whose tastes and aims are in harmony with his own. His literary work 
has been mainly on economic subjects and displays depth of thought and logi- 
cal reasoning. From collegiate days he has been a traveler and has leisurely 
visited almost every part of the United States, on many occasions lecturing 
before educated bodies, his favorite subject being history. Although his 
studious life has made him acquainted with almost every line of thought, his- 
tory has appealed most strongly to his taste and has given him the most en- 
joyment. 

Mr. McFarland was connected with the State Board of Agriculture from 
its inception until 1886, during a part of this time being its assistant secretary, 
and for a long period has been State statistician for the Department of Agri- 
culture. Recently he has become a member of the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks. 

Many of Mr. McFarland's rare and valuabl-e books have been imported, 
some of these by himself from London, and others by a Chicago firm in his 
employ, who exhaust all their resources in his behalf. He keeps in constant 
communication with those who handle choice literature of any time or age, 
the price being no object, the mere possession of a rare volume bringing to 
him its own reward. Essentially a bibliophilist, Mr. McFarland is also a 
connoisseur as to bindings, taking delight in the beautiful enveloping fabrics. 



328 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

combinations of color and intricate designs. These satisfy his artistic sense, 
while still another sense notes the contents and rejoices in the date on the title 
page, which proves the volume's antiquarian worth. 



WILLIAM A. NEISWANGER. 

William A. Neiswanger, one of Topeka's leading business men, mas- 
ager of The Capitol Real Estate Company, was born at Mechanicsburg, 
Pennsylvania, March 23, 1858, and is a son of David and Nancy J. (West- 
fall) Neiswanger. 

David Neiswanger, father of our subject, was born September 3, 1825, 
at Mechanicsburg, coming of Pennsylvania Dutch ancestry. He is one of a 
large family and the only survivor, and now lives retired at Osborne, Kansas. 
The mother was born in 1833 and died March 8, 1905, at Osborne, Kansas, 
where her burial took place. She was a strict member of the German Baptist 
Church, a religious body to which her surviving husband also belongs. Their 
children were : Edgar M., deceased, who married Lizzie Mumma and left 
one daughter, — Anna; William A., of this sketch; H. W. and Laura A., 
residents of Osborne, Kansas; John K., a residest of East Bethlehem, Penn- 
sylvania; and Charles G., of Osborne, Kansas. 

William A. Neiswanger was reared at Mechanicsburg, where his father 
was a substantial citizen, engaged in a mercantile business. His education 
was secured in the public schools and the Cumberland Valley Institute. In 
1879 he came to Kansas and entered into the wool growing busisess in 
Osborne and Russell counties and continued as long as it was profitable, some 
seven years. Previous to coming to Topeka, he was engaged one year in 
a real estate business at Luray, Kansas, and then spent two years in Topeka 
in the office of the State Board of Agriculture. His attention was engaged for 
the 12 succeeding years with the Investment Trust Company, the City Real 
Estate Trust Company and the receivers of the Investment Trust Company. 
He then went into a real estate business at Kansas City, Missouri, remaining 
there two and a half years, and then settled permanently at Topeka. His 
present position as manager of The Capitol Real Estate Company is one of 
importance and prominence. This company is one of the largest handlers 
of farm lands and city property in this part of the State and is also interested 
in realty in Kansas City, Missouri. 

Mr. Neiswanger was married in Osborne County, Kansas, to Margaret 
L. Mohler, who is a daughter of the late Martin Mohler, whose sketch will 
be found in this volume. Our subject and wife have four children, namely : 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 329 

Donald M., David (his grandfather's namesake), Laura and William A., 
Jr. The beautiful family home is situated at No. 1601 Mulvane street. Mr. 
Neiswanger belongs to the Westminster Presbyterian Church in which he 
is one of the deacons. For the past 16 years he has been on the official board 
of the church. He is a member of the Sons and Daughters of Justice. 

Mr. Njeiswanger has always been a good citizen and has taken a deep 
interest in civic improvements. He was a liberal contributor in time to the 
improvement of College Hill. He belongs to the Commercial Club of Topeka 
and is always willing to assist in pushing matters pertaining to the city's 
improvement and commercial development. 



ELBRIDGE HIGGINS. 

Elbridge Higgins, one of the esteemed residents of Topeka, a retired 
farmer, was born in 1831 in Massachusetts, and is a son of Josiah and Han- 
nah (Snow) Higgins. 

The ancestry of Mr. Higgins includes members of the Plymouth colony, 
soldiers of the Revolution and of the War of 1812, and old established resi- 
dents of Cape Cod, many of these having been sea-faring men. The family 
has also been noted as one of unusual longevity. The paternal grandfather, 
Ephraim Higgins, lived to the age of 99 years and his son Josiah was a hale, 
liearty man up to the age of 89 years. The latter followed the sea during 
bis early years and then became a farmer. Of his six children, the two 
survivors are Elbridge and Russell — the latter still resides on the old home 
place in Massachusetts. 

Elbridge Higgins was reared on his father's farm, but, like all coast 
boys, had a fondness for the sea, and by the age of 14 years he had gained 
his family's permission and shipped for a voyage. For 14 successive years 
he followed this life, visiting many strange lands and having many wonder- 
ful experiences. In 1859 he went to the Pacific Coast and engaged in mining 
in Eastern Oregon and in Idaho, remaining in Oregon until 1872. 

Mr. Higgins then came to Kansas and located on a raw prairie farm of 
160 acres, which he purchased from the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Rail- 
way Company. It was located in Mission township, Shawnee County. Mr. 
Higgins developed this into a fine property and later purchased a second 
i6o-acre tract for meadow purposes. He carried on extensive farming and 
handled considerable stock, enough to consume all the corn he raised. About 
1 90 1 he sold his first farm, but still retains the second. He had erected a 
■very handsome modern residence at No. 1509 College avenue, Topeka, and 



330 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

took possession upon retiring from agricultural work. This beautiful home 
is a model of modern building and is appropriately furnished with all to 
please the eye and render comfort and ease to its occupants. 

Mr. Higgins was married at Topeka, in 1872, to Hepsa Holway. They 
adopted a child of five years, Hettie M. Bassett, in whom they centered paren- 
tal affection. She grew to be a beautiful maiden of 16 years, when her inno- 
cent young life ended, leaving Mr. and Mrs. Higgins sorely bereft. 

Mr. Higgins takes no very active interest in politics, merely attending 
to the duties of a good citizen. For 35 years he has been identified with the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 



REV. CHARLES M. SHELDON. 

Rev. Charles M. Sheldon, pastor of the Central Congregational 
Church of Topeka, is a man whose name and fame probably extends around 
the world and one whose manly, consistent Christian character has won for 
him the unbounded esteem and admiration of his fellow-citizens. Rev. Mr. 
Sheldon was born in New York, February 26, 1857, and is one of a family 
of six children born to Rev. Stewart asd Sarah (Ward) Sheldon. 

The venerable father of our subject resides with him in Topeka. For 
many years Rev. Stewart Sheldon was a minister of the Gospel in New York, 
but some years since gave up his last charge and came to this city. 

Charles M. Sheldon was reared in New York through his early boyhood 
and passed the remainder of that impressionable period in South Dakota. 
His education was of a very ample character, pursued is Eastern institutions 
of learning. In 1879 ^^ was graduated from Andover Academy, in Massa- 
chusetts, and then entered Brown University, at Providence, Rhode Island, 
which has been the alma mater of so many illustrious men. He was gradu- 
ated from Brown in 1883 and three years later was graduated from the 
Andover Theological Seminary. 

Rev. Mr. Sheldon's first charge was at Waterbury, Vermont, where he 
served from 1886 to 1888. In January, 1889, he accepted the call to his 
present charge, the Central Congregational Church of Topeka. Here his 
labors have been continued ever since. The great love and high esteem which 
he has inspired, in his congregation of 500 members, tell of fidelity to duty, 
consistent Christian living and the close following of the Master he aims to 
serve. When Rev. Mr. Sheldon took charge, he found many difficulties in 
his path, one of these being the immediate need for a new place of worship. 
The completed church edifice, which tourists come far to see, on account of 




HON. GEORGE A. HURON 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 333 

the reputation pf its noted pastor, is a iiandsome, substantial structure to 
which an addition has recently been made, through the generous gift of 
$4,500 by the widow of the late T. E. Bowman, and is known as the Bowman 
Memorial Annex. A sketch of Mr. Bowman will be found elsewhere in this 
volume. 

In 1 89 1 Rev. Mr. Sheldon was married to Mary Merriam, who is a 
daughter of Everett B. Merriam. They have one son, — Merriam W. Their 
pleasant home is located at No. 1515 West 15th street. 

To speak extensively of either Rev. Mr. Sheldon's spiritual work or of 
his many successes in authorship, would be almost superfluous, in a work 
prepared for circulation in a locality where his name is almost a household 
word. He is the author of a number of very popular books, among these 
being: "His Brother's Keeper," "In His Steps," "Malcolm Kirk," "Ed- 
ward Blake" and "Born to Serve." 

Rev. Mr. Sheldon's influence on public men and measures has been great. 
He is constantly concerned with great philanthropic ideas and is gratified 
many times to find them adopted by those who have the financial resources 
to carry them out. He is a man who has spent the best of his energies, the 
gifts of his intellect and the deepest resources of his nature in aid of his fel- 
low-men. He does not convert the whole world to his way of thinking, but 
abundant success testifies to the sympathy which he has kindled and which 
will perpetuate the work as well as the name of one of the most retiring and 
unostentatious public men of the century. 



HON. GEORGE A. HURON. 

The substantial citizenship of Topeka is largely made up of those wha 
lay claim to other and more Eastern States as to places of birth, and not a 
few of these came upon the arena of life in the noble old State of Indiana. 
Such is the fact concerning one of Topeka's leading professional men, Hon. 
George A. Huron, who was born March 29, 1838, in Hendricks County, 
Indiana, 12 miles west of the beautiful city of Indianapolis. He is a son of 
Benjamin Abbott and Katherine (Harding) Huron. 

The ancestral records of Judge Huron's family are easily obtainable and 
are of unquestionable reliability. The family is of Scotch extraction, and it 
is learned from volume entitled "Littell's Genealogies, First Settlers of the 
Passaic Valley," that our subject's great-grandfather, Seth MacHuron, was 
born November 11, 1729, in New England, married Mary Hazen and in 
1753 removed to Morristown, New Jersey, where all their children were 
la 



334 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

born. The family belonged to the First Presbyterian Church at Morris- 
town, from which city they removed in 1787, to Ulster County, New York. 
After the death of Seth MacHuron, it is chronicled that his four sons, 0th- 
niel, Enos, Eli and Silas, were persuaded to drop the old Scotch prefix and 
be real "American boys," and since that time the family name has been 
written either Hurin or Huron. Othniel MacHuron, who was the grand- 
father of our subject, was born January 10, 1759, married Bethiah St. John 
and later settled in Warren County, Ohio. 

Benjamin Abbott Huron, father of our subject, was born near Lebanon, 
Ohio, December 31, 181 1, and removed to Hendricks County, Indiana, in 
1832. On December 10, 1835, he married Katherine Harding, who was 
born August 4, 181 5, at Campbellsville, Kentucky, and removed to Indiana 
in 1833. After marriage the young couple settled in the Indiana forest, 
where they developed a farm, reared a creditable family and became the 
worthy leaders and promoters of the various agencies and enterprises which 
go to the founding of a happy and stable community. 

George A. Huron grew up under the home roof and his experiences 
were those which naturally came to a boy who was commendably assisting 
his parents in making a productive farm out of the unbroken forest, and 
•while tliey were not notably different from those of many others, the ex- 
perienced man can recognize that each had its value in the development of 
self-reliance and physical endurance. From 18 to 23 years of age, he alter- 
nately attended and taught school, enjoying the advantages afforded by the 
public schools in his locality, supplemented by an academic training at Dan- 
ville, Indiana, where a Methodist academy was supported. His ambitions 
were in the direction of educational work and he proposed making special 
preparation for the position of teacher, but on the breaking out of the Civil 
War he enlisted in the service of his country. 

In August, 1861, Mr. Huron enlisted in Company I, 7th Reg., Indiana 
Vol. Inf., was promoted to the rank of quartermaster sergeant and was 
mustered out with his regiment, September 20, 1864. He saw much hard 
service and with his comrades participated in innumerable skirmishes and in 
these battles : Winchester, Front Royal, Slaughter Mountain, Second Bull 
Run, Antietam, Ashby's Gap, Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville, Gettysburg, 
Mine Run, the Wilderness, Laurel Hill, Spottsylvania, Po River, North Anna 
River, Bethesda Church, Cold Harbor, siege of Petersburg and Yellow 
Tavern. After he was mustered out of a service in which he had made an 
honorable record, Mr. Huron was commissioned by Governor Oliver P. 
Morton as Indiana State sanitary agent for the armies of the Potomac and 
James, with his headquarters at City Point, Virginia, in which duty he re- 
mained until the close of the war. He arrived at the front, at Appomattox 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. '335 

Court House, the day after the surrender, with the first sanitary supphes to 
reach the Union Army. 

In December, 1865, Mr. Huron was appointed clerk in the Third Audi- 
tor's office, United States Treasury Department, Washington, D. C, where 
he remained until June, 1868, when he graduated from the law school of 
Columbian (now George Washington) University. In August, 1868, he re- 
moved to Valley Falls, Kansas, and practiced law in Jefferson County until 
the spring of 1883, when he removed to Topeka, which has remained his home 
ever since and where he has been prominent in his profession. In 1868 he 
was elected probate judge of Jefferson County and held the office two terms. 

Judge Huron was married July 31, 1861, in Hendricks County, Indiana, 
to Mary Frances Freeman, who is a daughter of Blackstone and Sarah J. 
(Bennett) Freeman. The surviving children of this union are: Horace, bom 
May 10, 1862, who resides at Rock Island, Illinois; Mary H. (Hale), of 
Topeka, Kansas; and George B., of Galveston, Texas. 

In politics Judge Huron has always been a Republican and is an able 
advocate of the principles of his party and has done much effective speech- 
making in various campaigns. He has identified himself with all public 
enterprises and in various ways has aided much in the development of the 
State. Since March, 1872, he has been an active Odd Fellow and for several 
years was grand treasurer of the Grand Encampment of that order ; he is also 
a member of the Ancient Order of United Workmen and of the Knights 
and Ladies of Security, of which last-named society he has been the head of 
the law department since its organization. He is also an active member of 
Lincoln Post and a worker in the Grand Army of the Republic. Since his 
1 6th year he has been a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He is 
a popular citizen of Shawnee County and in his profession ranks with its 
leaders. His portrait is shown on a preceding page. 



HON. RICHARD F. HAYDEN. 

Hon. Richard F. Hayden, judge of the Probate Court of Shawnee 
County, has been a well-known citizen of Topeka for some years past. He 
is a native of Kansas, the date of his birth being June 24, 1872, and is one 
of nine children born to Patrick M. and Bridget (Cavanaugh) Hayden. 
His parents were both born and raised in Ireland, coming to this country 
after their marriage. 

Richard F. Hayden was reared in Westmore, Kansas, and there com- 
pleted the prescribed course of study in the High School. He then attended 



336 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Campbell College and subsequently completed the course in the law depart- 
ment of the University of Kansas at Lawrence. After his graduation from 
the latter institution in 1898, he came to Topeka and for several years served 
as United States commissioner in addition to practicing law. He resigned 
this position in 1902 to accept the appointment of probate judge, in which 
capacity he has served continuously since that time, having been elected on 
the Republican ticket November 8, 1904, by the overwhelming majority of 
5,000 votes. He has a clerk and a stenographer, and has so conducted the 
affairs of the office as to gain the respect and good-will of the bar and the 
people regardless of their political affiliation. He has always been enthusi- 
astic in his support of Republican principles and a hardworker for the success 
of his party. 

Fraternally, Judge Hayden is an Elk, a Woodman and a member of the 
Knights of Columbus. He is unmarried and makes his home at the Blower 
House. 



SAMUEL HINDMAN. 

For many years the late Samuel Hindman was prominent in the business 
circles of Topeka, for some 30 years leading in the grocery interests of the 
city. Mr. Hindman was born at Dayton, Ohio, April 29, 1834, and died at 
his home. No. 633 Polk street, Topeka, October 3, 1904. 

Mr. Hindman grew to young manhood in his native city and when the 
Civil War broke out was early in the field to proffer his services. He became 
lieutenant of Company B, 19th Reg., Indiana Vol. Inf., and served with 
fidelity and bravery until the close of the war. 

In 1866 Mr. Hindman removed to Missouri, but did not settle in a per- 
manent business until he came to Topeka. Here he established himself in a 
grocery business at Eighth and Kansas avenues, and the business was ex- 
panded until a company was formed, the Samuel Hindman Grocery Com- 
pany, of which Mr. Hindman's eldest son is manager. 

Through the whole of his long business career, Mr. Hindman was known 
for his business integrity, a reputation which extends to his sons. In the 
early days he was a promoter of many of the enterprises which have con- 
tributed to Topeka's subsequent development. 

Mr. Hindman is survived by his widow, who resides at No. 633 Polk 
street, and three sons : Edmond L., of Topeka, who is manager of the Samuel 
Hindman Grocery Company, and resides at No. 523 Madison street ; William 
C, who is in the grocery business and resides at No. 710 West Seventh 
street; and Claude C, who is also in the grocery business at Topeka, and 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 337 

resides with his mother at No. 633 Polk street. These sons of the late Mr. 
Hindman are all enterprising, progressive, public-spirited men, prominently 
identified with all that concerns the business life of Topeka. 



4 « » 



WILLIAM J. ALLEN. 

William J. Allen, one of the prosperous farmers and highly respected 
citizens of Williamsport township, Shawnee County, was born February 21, 
1858, in this county, and is a son of Samuel and Susanna (Baxter) Allen. 

Both parents of Mr. Allen were born in County Down, Ireland. The 
father came to America in 1852 and the mother in 1853. Both lived at 
Oberlin, Ohio, several years and then came to Shawnee County, Kansas, 
where they were married, on January 20, 1857. The father had followed 
the stone-mason's trade in Ohio, but when he came to -this county in 1855 
he preempted 80 acres of land in section 8, township 13, range 15, in Auburn 
township, which he had much improved at the time of his death. He had 
always been a Free-State man and had taken part in a number of the early 
demonstrations against the Pro-Slavery men that make up so large a part of 
the early history of Kansas. He was loyal to the government and State 
and when the State militia were called out to repel Price's invasion, he was 
one of the brave soldiers of Col. George W. Veale's regiment who perished 
at the battle of the Blue. Of the children in the parental family, our subject 
was the oldest of three. Robert Samuel, born May 12, i860, died October 
14, i860; Anna Elizabeth, who was 14 months old when her father was 
killed, is the wife of W. A. C. Moore, of Auburn township. In 1865 our 
subject's mother married James Whitten, a fellow countryman, who died 
October 30, 1903, at the age of 'j'j years, leaving his widow and three sons. 

Our subject has devoted his whole life to farming. His present farm of 
160 acres in section 9, township 13, range 15, in Williamsport township, was 
but unbroken prairie land when he took possession. Hard work and good 
management have converted it into a valuable farm where Mr. Allen has car- 
ried on general farming and stock-raising for a number of years. He has 
witnessed many changes since he has come to years of discretion, and condi- 
tions no longer exist in his native State which confronted his father and 
caused his early death. 

On January i, 1880, Mr. Allen was married to Mary Mitchell, who 
was born at Cincinnati, Ohio, December 18, 1861 and came to Kansas with 
her parents, Robert and Mary Jane (Boyd) Mitchell, in 1870. They have 
had five children, namely: Rosa Irene Lillian; Jennie Ellen Estella; Nellie 



338 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

R., deceased at the age of seven years; William, deceased in infancy; and 
John, who also died in infancy. 

Like his father, Mr. Allen has always been a strong Republican. He 
is a member of the Presbyterian Church, as was his father, and stands very 
high in the estimation of the community. 



CROSBY ROLLER MILLING COMPANY. 

The State of Kansas is justly celebrated for its immense crops of wheat, 
which have brought wealth and prosperity to all branches of industry within 
the commonwealth's borders. As the most important railroad center in the 
State, and therefore the possessor of splendid transportation facilities, the 
city of Topeka has had much to do with the forwarding of the grain and with 
the manufacture of the cereal into flour. 

Among the important flour milling concerns of this city, the Crosby 
Roller Milling Company occupies one of the leading positions. The com- 
pany was organized in 1883, and for 22 years has transformed many millions 
of bushels of hard wheat into the very best of flour, which has been disposed 
of in both home and foreign markets, and has won for itself a high reputa- 
tion among those that demand the very best of wheat flour. The daily capac- 
ity of the plant is some 1,200 barrels. A view of the mill is shown on an- 
other page of this work. The officers of the company are as follows : Guil- 
ford Dudley, president ; Franklin W. Crosby, vice-president ; D. C. Hammatt, 
secretary; Daniel Crosby, treasurer; and T. D. Hammatt, manager. Since 
the above was written, the president of the company, Guilford Dudley, died 
April 14, 1905. 



CLARENCE H. MARTIN. 

Clarence H. Martin, who for 18 years was one of the leading educa- 
tors of Northeastern Kansas and a favorite Normal School teacher and lect- 
urer, is a well-known resident of Topeka and since January, 1905, has been 
the accredited agent of the Home-Seekers' Land Company, a corporation 
controlling a million acres of Western lands. Mr. Martin was born in 1862 
in Laporte County, Indiana, and is a son of Abraham H. and Mary A. Martin. 

The parents of Mr. Martin were born in the State of New York. His 
father was a college man and in his earlier years taught school. Later he 
removed to Kansas, settling first in the old, historic town of Centropolis, in 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 339 

Franklin County, and removed from there to a virgin farm in Douglas 
County, where he engaged in farming and stock-raising. His family con- 
sisted of seven children, — two sons and five daughters. 

The subject of this sketch was three years old when his parents came to 
Kansas and six years old when they settled in Douglas County. Being the 
eldest son, he was accustomed to farm work from boyhood. His educational 
advantages were those obtainable in the district schools, which he attended 
for 29 months, the nearest school house being located four and a half miles 
from his home. He was a youth of quick perceptions and very ambitious 
and was assisted as far as possible by his father. In his 19th year he entered 
the State Agricultural College and after two years work in this institution 
began teaching. Subsequently, in 1896, he graduated from Ottawa Univer- 
sity and also obtained a State certificate the same year. During his 18 years 
as an instructor, Mr. Martin filled many very important and conspicuous 
positions. Prior to coming as principal to the Richland School in Shawnee 
County, in 1890, he had served elsewhere in the same capacity. He remained 
in charge of the Richland School for two years. His period of teaching in 
Shawnee County, including one year at the State Reform School, and as 
principal of Oakland and Belleview schools, covered seven busy years. His 
work in the normal schools of Shawnee and Osage counties was as instructor 
in physics, physiology and elocution. 

For some time after leaving the educational field, he engaged in con- 
tracting and building, but in January, 1905, he embarked extensively in the 
real estate line, and, as mentioned above, became associated with one of the 
large organizations of the country. He is also the real estate representative 
of the Union Pacific Railroad Company for Shawnee County and has met 
with much success, disposing of over 50 sections of land for the company 
within two months. He has also a large, personal, real estate business, hav- 
ing on his list over 500 choice farms and 400 residences. His home is on 
Topeka township in what is known as Belleview Addition, a pretty suburb of 
Topeka, where he takes great pride in the propagation of all kinds of fruit 
and a large variety of flowers and shrubs. His well-appointed offices, located 
at No. 819 Kansas avenue, Topeka, are shared by his brother, Scott Martin, 
who is a law student, attending Washburn College. 

Mr. Martin was married in 1885, at Centropolis, Franklin County, 
Kansas, to Anna M. Stanton, who was born in West Virginia. They made 
their home at Lyndon, Osage County, for several years. They have three 
children, viz: Walter, a manly youth of 19 years, a member of Battery B, 
Kansas National Guard; Vera, five years old; and Evelyn, a beautiful babe 
of six months. On account of old associations and personal regard for Rev. 
Mr. Hutchinson, the family retain their membership in the North Topeka 



340 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Baptist Church. Fraternally, Mr. Martin belongs to the Knights and Ladies 
of Security. He is a typically self-made man, one who has attained per- 
sonal success through personal endeavor without favor or financial assistance 
from any one. 

Mr. Martin takes quite an interest in literature and belles-lettres, being 
a lover of good books. He has gradually built up a remarkably fine library, 
which now contains upwards of 3,000 volumes. The classics are especially 
well represented. The fields of history, biography and travel are well covered 
as well as those of poetry, essays, the drama and standard works of fiction. 



WILLIAM M. BRUCE. 

William M. Bruce, one of the substantial citizens of Topeka township, 
Shawnee County, who owns 50 acres of well-improved land situated in sections 
21 and 22, township 12, range 16, is also a survivor of the great Civil 
War. Mr. Bruce has been a resident of Kansas for the past 28 years. He 
was born at Chester, Vermont, October 6, 1842, and is a son of Silas and 
Hannah D. (Scott) Bruce. 

Silas Bruce was a native of Vermont and, like many New England 
men, was possessed of Yankee ingenuity which made him able to successfully 
follow many kinds of employment. He became the father of five children, 
viz : Mrs. Hannah Elizabeth Bancroft, of Oneida, Illinois •; Mrs. Mary Jane 
Miles, of Illinois ; Mrs. Lucretia Johnson, who died three years ago ; William 
M., of this sketch ; and Mrs. Abbie Catherine Turney, of Galesburg, Illinois. 

Our subject was three years old when his parents moved to Illinois and 
settled on a farm in Knox County. There he grew into strong young man- 
hood, but still lacked a year of maturity when he enlisted in defense of his 
country. In July, 1862, he became a member of Company E, 83rd Reg., 
Illinois Vol. Inf., under Capt. Gilson and Coloned Harding. His regiment 
was sent to the army of the Tennessee and assisted in the defense of Fort 
Donelson against General Forrest and then was given garrison duty. Mr. 
Bruce became ill from exposure and when the physicians had decided that he 
would not live three months, they sent him home, in the following July. 
Although he continued many months in poor health, he gradually regained his 
strength and began to work at the carpenter's trade. This business he contin- 
ued to follow for 13 years and many of the substantial buildings through his 
section of Illinois testify to his skill. In 1876 he came to his present farm of 
40 acres in section 21 and 10 acres in section 22, all in township 12, range 16. 




REV. JOSEPH WAYNE 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 343 

He has made all the excellent improvements now to be found on the property 
and still works at his trade and operates his fertile farm. 

Mr. Bruce was married September 8, 1870, in Illinois, to Sarah J. Parsell, 
who was born in Illinois, November 11, 1843, and was a daughter of Joseph 
Parsell. She died on the home farm in Topeka township, January 6, 1891. 
She was the mother of three children: Arthur Earl, who died in infancy; 
Dwight P.; and Ethel L., who was born November 5, 1878, and died January 
7, 1886. 

In political sentiment, Mr. Bruce is a Republican. Although he is not 
identified with any particular religious body, he is a moral man and an in- 
terested Bible student. As the result of months of close reading and intelligent 
study, he has made a Bible chart which is not only exceedingly interesting, 
but is very valuable. He is a man of literary tastes and enjoys the treasures 
of an excellent library. His early education was not all that his ambition 
desired, but years of thoughtful reading have left their impress, making him 
not only well informed as to current events but also possessed of a fund of 
general knowledge far beyond that of the ordinary citizen. 



REV. JOSEPH WAYNE. 

The death of Rev. Joseph Wayne, in Christ's Hospital, Topeka, on July 
23, 1902, removed a prominent clergyman and exemplary citizen from the 
ranks of those who were working for the higher interests of mankind. He 
was born December 7, 1835, in Latton, Wiltshire, England, and was one of 
a family of eight children born to John and Maria (Bartlett) Wayne. 

The parents of Rev. Mr. Wayne immigrated to America and settled in 
Central New York. There he was educated, completing his studies at Gene- 
see College, in 1863, and later finishing a theological course at the DeLancey 
Divinity School. In 1877 he was ordained deacon by Bishop A. C. Coxe, 
of the Protestant Episcopal Church, and in 1878 the same bishop ordained 
him to the priesthood. He filled in turn the following parishes in New York : 
Honeoye Falls, Angelica and Addison. In 1882 he removed to Burlington, 
Kansas. In 1887 he accepted a call to Marysville, Kansas, and in 1892 to 
Moberly, Missouri, and in 1894 to Mason City, Illinois, where he remained 
until 1896, when he returned to Kansas. From that date until his death he 
resided at Topeka, being chaplain of Christ's Hospital, and also acting as 
city missionary for the bishop. His last participation in the holy service he 
loved so well was on July 6, 1902, when he celebrated the Holy Communion 
at the hospital and later assisted in the services at Grace Cathedral. His 



344 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

death took place in the Wayne Building, the beautiful hospital annex which 
was built by Mr. and Mrs. Wayne and presented to the diocese in June, 1902. 
His was- the first death to occur in the building. This annex is a fine structure^ 
erected at a cost of $13,450. It had been a source of so much happi- 
ness to him to contribute in this way, his heart overrunning with phi- 
lanthropy and charity. On July 25th, at Grace Cathedral, the bishop and 
other members of the Episcopal clergy, performed the burial services over 
their companion and dearly beloved brother. His remains were laid away 
in the beautiful Topeka Cemetery. 

On June 22, 1865, Rev. Mr. Wayne was married to Ardelia B. Bush, 
who is a daughter of Elias Bush, a prominent farmer in New York, who died 
when Mrs. Wayne was five years old. She resides in a beautiful home at 
No. 1 1 64 Woodward avenue, carrying out many of the benevolent schemes, 
in the completion of which she and her husband were so closely united. Rev. 
Mr. Wayne lived a life that remains an inspiration to other Christian laborers. 
Zealous in the cause of his church, he had a broad mind and was concerned 
both in the material as well as spiritual welfare of those who came to be 
dependent upon his religious guidance. Thus he came to be personally known 
to many who loved him as a man as well as reverenced him as a clergyman. 
His portrait accompanies this sketch. 



WILLIAM H. MACKEY, JR. 

William H. Mackey, Jr., United States marshal for the State of 
Kansas, maintains his headquarters at Topeka, although his residence for 
many years past has been at Junction City, Kansas. Mr. Mackey was born 
in Leavenworth County, Kansas, on July 28, 1856, and is a son of William H. 
and Anna E. (Boher) Mackey. 

William H. Mackey, Sr., was born in Kentucky, where he learned and 
followed the trade of a carriage-maker for some years. He moved West to 
Leavenworth County, Kansas, and thence to Junction City, where he now 
resides. 

William H. Mackey, Jr., was six years of age when in 1862 he accom- 
panied his parents from his native county to Junction City, Kansas, and 
there he has since resided. He received a common-school education and at 
an early day embarked in business. He served as under sheriff a period of 
four years and as sheriff six years, having been elected to the latter office. 
He was serving as postmaster of Junction City at the time of his appoint- 
ment to the office of United States marshal, this appointment being confirmed 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 345 

by the United States Senate on December 18, 1903. Under him are six 
deputy marshals, of whom B. F. Flenkiken is chief office deputy, while two 
clerks are employed in the counting room. William H. Mackey, Jr., suc- 
ceeded L. S. Crum, deceased. Politically, he is unswering in his support of 
the Republican party and its principles. 

Mr. Mackey married Eva S. Seymour and has four children. They are 
members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Fraternally, Mr. Mackey is 
a Mason, a Knight of Pythias and an Odd Fellow. 



SAMUEL ALLEN. 



Samuel Allen, who gave up his life in defense of the Union at the 
battle of the Blue, was one of the best known men of Auburn township, 
Shawnee County, where he settled in 1855. The 80 acres he then preempted 
continued to be his home until his death. Mr. Allen was born May 3, 1826, 
in County Down, Ireland, and was a son of John and Elizabeth (Laughlin) 
Allen. 

The parents of Mr. Allen lived in Ireland during their entire lives. Of 
their six children, Samuel was the youngest and he was the only one to seek 
a home in Kansas. In 1852 he came to America and settled at Oberlin, 
Ohio, where he farmed and followed his trade of stone-mason, which he 
had learned from his father in the old country. He came to Shawnee County 
in 1855 and preempted 80 acres in section 8, township 13, range 15, in 
Auburn township and worked hard to put it under cultivation and to make 
improvements. 

When the State militia were called out, he went under Col. George W. 
Veale and he was one of the brave and fearless men who fell, two weeks 
later, at the battle of the Blue. Samuel Allen was a man sadly missed in his 
neighborhood. He had always been a Free-State man and during the con- 
flict with the border ruffians had been called upon to prove the courage of his 
convictions. He was one of the liberal supporters of the Presbyterian 
Church in Auburn township and one of its first members. In business he 
was successful because he was cautious. He was respected for his honorable 
methods by all who knew him. 

On January 20, 1857, Mr. Allen was united in marriage with Susanna 
Baxter, who was born at Tullinkill, County Down, Ireland, in December, 
1830, and is a daughter of William and Anna (McCully) Baxter. Her 
parents passed their whole lives in Ireland and reared a family of eight sons 
and three daughters. Susanna Baxter came to the United States in 1853, 



346 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

with her brother Isaac, and after Hving three years at Oberlin, Ohio, joined 
this brother in Shawnee County, where she married Mr. Allen. They had 
three children, viz : William J., of Williamsport township, whose sketch 
appears elsewhere in this volume; Robert Samuel, born May 12, i860, de- 
ceased October 14, i860; and Anna Elizabeth, who was but 14 months old 
when her father was killed in battle, — she is the wife of W. A. C. Moore, 
of Auburn township. 

In October, 1865, Mrs. Allen was married to James Whitten, who was 
born in County Armagh, Ireland, and died on the farm in Auburn township, 
on October 30, 1903, aged "j-j years. In young manhood he came to the 
United States, worked at farming for eight years on Long Island and came 
to Topeka in the spring of 1856, securing land from a squatter. He left a 
fine, well-improved farm of a half-section of land in section 8, township 13, 
range 15, in Auburn township, to which he had devoted many years of in- 
dustry. He served as a member of the Ninth Regiment, Kansas Vol. Cav., 
during the last 18 months of the Civil War. In politics he was a Republican 
but he took no very active interest in public matters, being a man much de- 
voted to his home and family. Early in life he was a member of the Presby- 
terian Church, but later became an Episcopalian. 

The three children born to Mr. and Mrs. Whitten were: James, born 
September 18, 1869, and Lewis and Luther, twins, born May i, 1871, both 
residents of Auburn township. Mrs. Whitten has seen many changes since 
she came to Shawnee County. She remembers when Indians frequently came 
to the homes of settlers and tells an amusing story of one occasion when a 
brave came to her door and bargained to exchange wild grapes for a water- 
melon and then made his escape with both the melon and the grapes. 



CHRISTIAN BOWMAN. 

Among the early business men of Topeka, Kansas, for years a very prom- 
inent factor in the city's commercial life, was the late Christian Bowman, who 
was born March 2, 1829, being one of a family of two children born to his 
parents, who were of German descent and natives of Pennsylvania. 

In 1857 Mr. Bowman came to Kansas, from Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, 
taking up a claim in Anderson County. Later he moved to Lawrence and 
subsequently to Topeka, where, in 1866, just prior to the Quantrell raid, he 
organized the clothing and gents' furnishings business at No. 533 Kansas 
avenue, which grew to such large proportions. Mr. Bowman built the hand- 
some block which is now occupied by the Moffitt furniture store and became 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 347 

the owner of much property, having invested largely in real estate in this 
city. In 1894 he retired from business and occupied himself for the suc- 
ceeding eight years of his life in looking after investments, in leisurely travel 
and in the quiet social enjoyments in accordance with his years. The death 
of Mr. Bowman took place at his home at No. 426 Harrison street, Topeka, 
on March 7, 1902. 

In i860, Mr. Bowman was married to Mary Sutlifif, who survives, with 
three children, viz: Clarence S., one of Topeka's leading business men, re- 
siding at No. 911 West loth avenue, who is assistant cashier of the First 
National Bank; Orville S., of Kansas City; and Mrs. W. A. Potter, of St. 
Paul, Minnesota. Politically, Mr. Bowman was a Republican. Fraternally, 
he was a Mason. 



O. E. WALKER. 



O. E. WalkeRj of Mission township, proprietor of "Park View Farm," 
which consists of 124 acres in section 27, township 11, range 15, is one of the 
prominent and substantial citizens of this part of the country. Mr. Walker 
was born in 1847 i" Delaware County, New York, and is a son of Aaron 
Walker. 

Mr. Walker's father died in Warren County, Pennsylvania, at the age 
of 80 years. Four of his sons live at Warren, viz : S. E., a newspaper man, 
editor and proprietor of the Warren Times; E., also in business at Warren 
and E. D., also of Warren, the last named being a half-brother of our 
subject. 

In 1880 O. E. Walker came to Kansas mainly in search of health; he 
brought with him from Jamestown, New York, 350 Shorthorn calves and 
engaged in a stock business some 15 miles from Topeka. Later he removed 
to Topeka and engaged extensively in a real estate business, erecting a num- 
ber of fine buildings in the city, many of which he still owns. Besides 
"Park View Farm" he owns other tracts of land to the extent of 235 acres 
and operates 75 acres additional. 

When the Cherokee Strip in Oklahoma was opened, the government, 
through the Secretary of the Interior, appointed a Board of Township 
Trustees. The duties of this board, which was in existence two years, was 
the allotment of town lots in the district thrown open to settlement. The 
board, which consisted of three members, was constituted as follows : O. E. 
Walker, chairman; Judge Leach, of Sulphur Springs, Texas, secretary; and 
I. V. Ladd, of El Reno, Oklahoma. Their labors were of a very important 



348 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

character and could only have been performed by men of judgment, exper- 
ience and discrimination. 

Mr. Walker was married in Delaware County, New York, to Loretta 
S. Whittaker, who is a daughter of John Ogden Whittaker, formerly an ex- 
tensive lumber operator of Delaware County. Their children did not sur- 
vive infancy. Mr. and Mrs. Walker are members of the Presbyterian 
Church. In his political views he is independent. 



JOSEPH T. LOVEWELL. 

Joseph T. Lovewell, analytical chemist, with laboratories at No. 523 
Kansas avenue, Topeka, and secretary of the Kansas Academy of Science, 
has been a resident of the city since 1878 and is well-known in scientific circles. 
Professor Lovewell was born May i, 1833, at Corinth, Orange County, 
Vermont, and is a son of Nehemiah and Martha (Willis) Lovewell. 

The parents of Professor Lovewell were natives of Vermont. The 
father was an extensive farmer and stock-raiser, owning an estate of some- 
thing like 400 acres of land. They had four children : Elmina, John, Joseph 
T. and Harriet. Elmina married Carlos Bacon of Vermont and they moved 
first to Michigan and later to Wisconsin, where Mr. Bacon became a teacher 
and then an undertaker and furniture dealer; they had one daughter, — Eva 
Belle, — who died at the age of 20. Both Mr. and Mrs. Bacon are deceased — 
the former in 1880 and the latter in 1863 — and are buried in Wisconsin. 
John, a prosperous farmer living near Willow Springs, Missouri, married 
Sarah Cowles. Harriet, who is the widow of Frederick Miller (deceased in 
January, 1882), lives at Meridian, Mississippi, where she has been for 15 
years principal of the Lincoln School. 

Joseph T. Lovewell was educated in the public schools of Orange County 
and at Newberry Seminary. In 1853 he entered Yale College and was 
graduated there in 1857. For the ensuing five years he was an instructor in 
the Wisconsin State Normal School, at Whitewater, Wisconsin, and for the 
same period was principal and superintendent of the schools of Madison, 
Wisconsin. Realizing that this is the day of specializing, Professor Lovewell 
turned his attention particularly to physics and chemistry. For three years 
he took post-graduate work along this line at Yale College and was an in- 
structor in the Sheffield Scientific School at Yale for one year. He spent 
two years at the Pennsylvania State College as professor in these sciences 
and then came to Topeka, in 1878. Here he became a member of the faculty 
of Washburn College, where he filled the chair of physics and chemistry for 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 349 

21 years. He is now occupied as an analytical chemist and is quietly pursuing 
many investigations of his own. This branch of the world's work is, in the 
main, little understood, but how wonderful have been its results. Putting 
aside the late discoveries which come close to the mysteries of being, we have 
■only to recall that it was an analytical chemist that gave the world iodine, in 
181 1, bromine in 1826, iodoform in 1822, chloroform in 1831, chloral in 1832 
and cocaine in i860, all great medical agents, yet not one was discovered 
by a physician. In December, 1904, Professor Lovewell was- appointed 
secretary of the Kansas Academy of Science. 

Professor Lovewell was married September 3, 1863, to Margaret Lois 
Bissell, who was born in Ohio and died in Pennsylvania, leaving two chil- 
dren: Bertha Ellen and Paul A. The daughter is a lady of fine ability and 
Tiigh grade of scholarship. After graduating at Washburn College, she took 
a post-graduate course in English literature at Yale College. She married 
George L. Dickinson, who is business manager of the Hartford Courant. 
Paul A. Lovewell is connected with the Topeka Journal. 

On June 30, 1885, at Topeka, Professor Lovewell was married to his 
present wife, Caroline F. Barnes; they have two daughters, — Margaret B. 
and Caroline E., both students. The family attend the Congregational 
Church. Professor Lovewell takes no very active interest in politics, but 
"votes with the Republican party. 



GUILFORD G. GAGE. 

Topeka, Kansas, can never forget or fail to honor the late Guilford G. 
Gage, capitalist and philanthropist. In years to come citizens will point out 
to their children the granite monument which stands on the crest of a hill 
in Topeka's sacred "God's Acre," and, while telling them that it was erected 
to commemorate the death of comrades in battle, they will also urge them to 
emulate the virtues and profit by the life of the noble man, who in this way 
testified to the love and honor he felt for those who had fallen by his side 
while in the path of duty. 

Guilford G. Gage was born in Ohio and was 21 years of age when he 
-came to Topeka, beginning a life of unusual business success as a workman 
in a brick-kiln. This was hard but honorable work and of this beginning, 
at the bottom of the ladder, Mr. Gage continued to be proud all his life. 
'The thoroughness with which he in after life handled great enterprises was 
no more marked than the carefulness with which he learned all the practical 
■details of this business. Within two years he had a brick-kiln of his own 



350 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

and when the Civil War broke out he was the proprietor of a flourishing busi- 
ness. In 1863 he enhsted for service in the Second Regiment, Kansas Artil- 
lery, under Capt. Ross Burns, and participated in the famous battle of the 
Blue. He remained at his gun with several of his comrades until they were 
captured by the force under General Price. Afterwards he managed to escape 
but not until he had endured terrible suffering from hunger and thirst. In 
a local history the dreadful sufferings endured by these brave Kansans are set 
forth with a vividness which calls for all the control years of peace have 
brought to enable their fellow-citizens to forgive the treatment accorded them 
by the Confederates. The noble monument in the Topeka Cemetery was 
erected by Mr. Gage as a tribute to the men who fell in the battle of the Blue, 
and Mr. Gage himself wrote a history of the event which stands out in Kan- 
sas history to the honor and glory of the citizenship of the State. The cost 
of this monument was $10,000. It was unveiled on Memorial Day, 1896, and 
General Caldwell, now United States consul at Vera Cruz, delivered the prin- 
cipal address. The press all over the country made extended mention of this 
unusual proof of loyalty and brotherly love, but no region could truly appre- 
ciate the gift as did Topeka, where Mr. Gage had been so long known and so 
universally honored and beloved. 

For 15 years Mr. Gage continued in the brick business, during which 
time he acquired much property in the city, which subsequently brought him 
large returns. At the opening of the Pottawatomie reservation, he secured 
a valuable farm of 160 acres, and later another valuable farm on which is 
situated Gage's Lake, both of which he held until his death. The latter 
proved very valuable on account of the discovery of bituminous coal in large 
quantities. He owned several business blocks on Kansas avenue and was the 
largest taxpayer in the county, during his latter years occupying his time mainly 
in looking after his investments. In all his dealings he proved his honorable, 
upright character and a man was never found to question his word. He died 
on May 19, 1899. 

Guilford G. Gage was united in marriage January 9, 1868, with Louisa 
Ives, who was bom in Allegheny County, New York, and is a daughter of 
Henry and Sarah (Nicholas) Ives, her father having been a native of Penn- 
sylvania. One child, a daughter, was born of this union, but died at the 
age of one year. Mrs. Gage resides alone in her handsome home at No. 409 
Van Buren street. 

Mr. Gage was a prominent member of the Masonic order and of Lincoln 
Post, No. I, G. A. R. Topeka and its citizens individually have much reason 
to recall this honorable, estimable and useful citizen. All his life he was 
simple in his tastes and unostentatious in manner. When wealth came to him, 
he soon found avenues for its judicious distribution and civic movements for 





fe..-. 






■v. 




^^^HBr^ ""^^^fl 


^ ' 


1>, 




^^ 


1 








V 


\ 






f 


\ 

1 




L 






^^ 


^' 


^^^|jj^s9^^^^H%%-, ' rf/^tf^^^^^H 


^^^^^1 


■* 




p 


r 



LEVI M. DECKER 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS, 353 

improvement, and charitable and philanthropic enterprises of all kinds felt 
his guiding hand and profited by his benevolent impulses. He was chairman 
of the board of trustees of Christ's Hospital, contributing liberally to its sup- 
port during his life, and at his death willed it the sum of $1,000. He gave to 
the city what is known as Gage Park, covering 80 acres. He had planned to 
give to The Jane C. Stormont Hospital a sum of money to aid it in its great 
work, and after his death Mrs. Gage in 1899 caused to be erected what is 
now known as the Gage annex, at a cost of $15,000. 

Mr. Gage was a self-made man and was proud of the fact, proud of hav- 
ing been able to grasp opportunities and to be indebted to no one but himself 
for his life's success. With his noble battle comrades, this soldier, too, sleeps 
under the granite shaft he built. 



LEVI M. DECKER. 

Levi M. Decker, one of the prominent farmers and well-known, sub- 
stantial citizens of Shawnee County, whose portrait accompanies this sketch, 
resides on his well-improved farm in section 13, township 12, range 16, in 
Tecumseh township. He owns a large amount of land in this county, in 
Tecumseh and Dover townships and in and about Topeka, aggregating 280 
acres. Mr. Decker was born near Paterson, New Jersey, January 5, 1837, 
and is a son of Martin W. and Mary (Bailey) Decker, who lived to the age 
of 85 and 78 years, respectively. 

The Deckers came originally from Holland and were long established 
in Bergen County, New Jersey. By his first marriage Martin W. Decker 
had four children and eight by the second, the latter being: Mrs. Annis 
Maybe, deceased; Mrs. Elizabeth Wichem, deceased; John, deceased; Mrs. 
Rachel Holdrum, of New Jersey ; Levi M., of this sketch ; and Silas, Thomas 
and Mrs. Mary Jackson, of New Jersey. 

Levi M. Decker remained on his father's farm in Passaic County, New 
Jersey, until he was 23 years old and then went to Clinton County, Ohio, 
where he engaged in farming for seven years. During the Civil War he was 
a member of the State militia and assisted in driving the raider, Morgan, 
across the border. In 1866 he came to Kansas and bought his present home 
place, a tract of 160 acres which had been preempted by another party who 
had built a cabin but had done no clearing. The farm was still unbroken 
prairie, in its virgin state. Mr. Decker took possession of the cabin and 
broke the land with oxen and as soon as possible placed it under cultivation. 
He has improved his home place, made it one of the valuable farms of the 

17 



354 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

township and erected a convenient and attractive residence. He has added to 
his possessions until he owns 280 acres, distributed somewhat as follows : 
160 acres in section 13, township 12, range 16, and 40 acres in section 7, 
township 12, range 17, all in Tecumseh township; 80 acres in Dover town- 
ship and more than 70 lots in the city and environs of Topeka. For the last 
10 years he has directed his attention mainly to raising corn, hogs, cattle 
and horses. 

In 1859 Mr. Decker was married to Mary Ann Hook, who was born in 
Ohio and was a daughter of Joseph and Rebecca Hook. She died on the 
home farm in Tecumseh township on May 12, 1885, aged 46 years. The 
eight children of this union are : Emma, who lives at home ; Elvie, wife of 
Edward Reed, of Morris County, Kansas; Melvina, who lives at home; 
Alvin, of Kansas City; Mrs. Viretta Cox, a widow, of Monmouth township; 
and Louis, Nora and Myrtle. By a second marriage Mr. Decker has another 
daughter, Elsie, who also lives at home. Mr. Decker has been a life-long 
Democrat and cast his first presidential vote for James B. Buchanan. 



HON. MARTIN MOHLER. 

Hon. Martin Mohler, formerly secretary of the Kansas State Board 
of Agriculture, was born March 20, 1830, in Cumberland County, Pennsyl- 
vania, and died at Topeka, Kansas, March 20, 1903. 

In his youth Mf. Mohler had more than the usual amount of boyish 
enthusiasm to secure a good education, this seeming to him the goal toward 
which he must direct every effort. Fortunate circumstances gave him an 
opportunity to enter Northwestern University, at Evanston, Illinois, where 
he finally graduated, one of the three members of the second graduating class 
of that institution. His home remained in Pennsylvania, and thither he re- 
turned, with the idea of devoting his future to educational work. 

Time brought changes and other interests came into his life, and lin 
1 87 1 he removed from Pennsylvania to Osborne County, Kansas, where he 
secured a half-section of land. This was early in the settlement of that part 
of the State, conditions were hard and the rewards of toil were only won 
through the greatest effort. The work by which Mr. Mohler transformed his 
wild tract of land into what seemed then a garden spot doubtless aroused the 
deep interest in his mind which later brought him so prominently forward 
and identified him so closely with agricultural matters. 

Mr. Mohler held several positions of trust in Osborne County, and he 
resided there until he was appointed to the State Board of Agriculture in 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 355 

1888. He then moved to Topeka, where he resided until his death, serving 
through two subsequent terms. During his administration as secretary, he 
aroused great pubHc interest in the study of soils, seeds and climate and it is 
undoubtedly due to his efforts that Kansas stands to-day as one of the 
greatest agricultural States of the Union. The sixth biennial report, issued 
under his direction, was awarded a medal and diploma at the paris exposition, 
in 1889, as the best of its kind in the world. 

Mr. Mohler is survived by his widow and by two daughters and two 
sons, namely: Margaret L., wife of W. A. Neiswanger, manager of The 
Capitol Real Estate Company, of Topeka, with offices at No. 116 West 
Sixth avenue; Laura M., wife of Rev. H. C. Buell, of Willmar, Minnesota; 
Jacob C, assistant secretary of the State Board of Agriculture, residing at 
No. 1224 Fillmore street; and Frank M., a student, who resides with his 
mother in the family home at No. 161 1 Warren street. Mrs. Mohler is a 
daughter of Christiana C. Hoover, of Pennsylvania, a farmer by vocation, now 
deceased. 

Mr. Mohler was a member of the Presbyterian Church and one whose 
life was in consonance with his professions.' He was a Mason and had other 
fraternal associations, being a man of social instincts. He was also one 
whose culture, education and refinement impressed his companions as did 
his strong personality and sterling attributes. 



HON. MILTON BROWN. 

Hon. Milton Brown, one of the most prominent members of the bar 
of Kansas, and formerly a member of the State Senate from the 38th Sen- 
atorial District, is a citizen for whom Topeka entertains high regard. Mr. 
Brown was born May 12, 1854, at Raysville, Henry County, Indiana, and is 
a son of Milton and Sally Brown. 

Mr. Brown comes of Scotch-Irish ancestry and of forefathers distin- 
guished for their military prowess. On the paternal side, both grandfather 
and great-grandfather fought in the Revolutionary War, the latter yielding 
up his life in the cause. During the Civil War, not only did his father and 
four brothers serve in the Union Army, but his mother became one of the 
leading spirits in the Sanitary Commission and devoted her personal services 
to the care of sick and wounded soldiers. She was honored by the Governor 
of Indiana with a commission for her invaluable services, but still dearer to 
the heart of this noble woman was the tender regard and esteem accorded 
her by the hundreds of weak and wounded soldiers to whom she ministered 



356 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

as long as life held and whose last messages were whispered into her sympa- 
thetic ear. Old veterans all over the land can be found who show enthusiasm 
when the name of "Aunt Sally Brown" is recalled to their memory. The 
father of Mr. Brown was prominent in Henry County poHtics and at the time 
of his death, May 12, 1876, was county recorder. 

The subject of this sketch was the youngest member of his loyal family. 
During the last years of the war, he took "French leave" and joined a com- 
pany at Camp Morton, where he acted as a drummer-boy and entertained the 
hope of becoming as useful in the Union cause as others of his family. His 
hope was dissipated as soon as his capable and careful mother discovered his 
whereabouts. When his father was elected recorder of Henry County, the 
main duties of the office fell upon Milton, and when the father died, he was 
appointed to fill out the unexpired term and was subsequently appointed dep- 
uty clerk of the Circuit Court and later elected clerk of the same. He had 
been admitted to the bar in 1876 after several years of preparation under 
Hon. Jehu T. Elliott, and soon won deserved recognition in his profession 
and as a political factor. In 1878 he was sent as a delegate to the Republican 
State Convention at Indianapolis and served also as secretary of the Henry 
County Republican Central Committee. 

In 1884 Mr. Brown came to Kansas, locating upon a homestead in what 
is now Gray County, where he remained until the following year, when he 
removed to Garden City and entered upon the practice of his profession. 
From the very first his ability as a lawyer was recognized and he has been 
concerned in some of the most important litigation in the State. In this 
connection mention may be made of the case of Mrs. Lease, whose removal 
from office as a member of the State Board of Charities his pleas secured, and 
of the occasion when he, as attorney for the Great Eastern Irrigation Company, 
won the decision against the Amazon Ditch Company as to the right of 
priority to water from the Arkansas River. Both of these celebrated cases 
are so familiar to residents of Topeka as to scarcely need mentioning. Mr. 
Brown in innumerable cases has proved himself a man of intellectual power 
and is justly ranked with the State's eminent professional men. 

Thus well equipped for a very successful political career, he was elected 
in 1892 by the Republican party to the State Senate from the 38th Senatorial 
District, a district which includes 19 counties. As a statesman his career was 
satisfactory in every way and during his senatorial career he was a leading 
figure both in debate and in the committee room, working strenuously for 
his section and constituents. 

On July 16, 1878, Mr. Brown was married to Emma Cotteral, and three 
children were born to them. In religious connection he is a member of the 
Christian Church. His fraternal associations embrace the leading secret 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 357 

organizations. As a Mason, he is a Knight Templar and a member of Isis 
Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. He is an Odd 
Fellow, a Knight of Pythias and a member of the Modern Woodmen of 
America and the Knights of the Maccabees. 

Since June, 1899, Senator Brown and family have resided at Topeka, 
where he is absorbed in a large law practice. He is a director and general 
counsel of the Kansas Fire Insurance Company. Still in the height of his 
intellectual power, with friends and admirers on every side, he occupies a 
very prominent place among the leading men of Kansas and many political 
and professional possibilities are within his grasp. 



JOHN FREDERICK STANTON. 

John Frederick Stanton, Kansas State architect, one of tlie leaders 
in his profession with years of exacting experience behind him, has been a 
resident of Topeka since 1887. Mr. Stanton was born July 29, 1862, at 
Manchester, New Hampshire, and is a son of John M. and Meribah F. 
(Pike) Stanton. 

Mr. Stanton is a descendant of the early New England settlers, his 
ancestors having come to this country from England in 1636 and located at 
Sahsbury. His father was born at Brookfield, Maine, and his mother at 
Plymouth, New Hampshire. After completing common and high school 
courses at Manchester, he took a special course in civil engineering under 
Joseph B. Sawyer. While interested in this line, before turning his attention 
to the particular field of art in which he has been so successful, he served 
two years as assistant city engineer at Manchester, and later was for some 
time connected with the engineering department of the Stark Corporation in 
the same city. 

With the idea of supplementing his engineering knowledge he took a 
course of study in architecture, combining both the technical and practical 
phases of the profession. Later a partnership was formed with W. M. Butter- 
field and Mr. Stanton began the practice of architecture as a profession; dur- 
ing the following three years they designed some of the best public and 
private buildings in the State. 

In 1887 Mr. Stanton came to Kansas and located at Topeka, taking 
charge of the office work for J. G. Haskell, at that time the leading architect 
in the State. For six years he occupied this position and then became a 
partner. The firm of Haskell & Stanton during the following two years 



358 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

planned many of the best buildings erected, not only in Kansas, but also in 
Nebraska, Oklahoma, Indian Territory and Missouri. 

In 1895 Mr. Stanton was appointed superintendent and assistant State 
House architect, having in charge the work of finishing the rooms on the 
first and second stories of the Capitol Building at Topeka. 

In 1897 when the Populist party came into power, he was removed for 
political reasons and immediately entered upon the independent practice of 
his profession, which he successfully conducted until July, 1899, when the 
Republican party again took control of State affairs and Mr. Stanton was 
appointed State House architect. During the succeeding four years he suc- 
cessfully filled this important position and completed the magnificent State 
Capitol Building. In July, 1903, the State Executive Council appointed him 
State architect, having in. charge the architectural work for all of the various 
State institutions. This work he so satisfactorily conducted that later when 
the Legislature changed the law, vesting the appointive power in the 
Governor, he was, in 1905, again appointed for a term of two years, by 
Governor Hoch, the appointment being one of the most popular made. 

Mr. Stanton was married at St. Joseph, Missouri, on the 24th of Novem- 
ber, 1892, to Julia M. Lamb, a daughter of William P. and Margaret Lamb. 
They have one child, a beautiful little girl named Mildred who with them 
enjoys the comforts of a substantial home at No. 121 1 Western avenue, 
Topeka. Politically, Mr. Stanton is a stanch Republican and served two 
terms as president of the Topeka Republican Flambeau Club. 



GEORGE W. CRANE. 

George W. Crane, president and manager for Crane & Company, one 
of the largest printing houses at Topeka, was born August 25, 1843, ^t Fas- 
ten, Pennsylvania, and is a son of Dr. Franklin L. and Mary Elizabeth 
(Howell) Crane. The Crane family is of Puritan ancestry and Revolutionary 
stock. 

In the spring of 1855, Dr. Franklin L. Crane removed from Easton, 
where he was established in a good dental practice, to Topeka, Kansas, where 
he soon became identified with public affairs. He was made secretary of the 
Topeka Town Association and it was mainly through his good taste and 
artistic ideas that the present beautiful city enjoys its distinction for wide 
streets and boulevards, the work of surveying being under his charge. Dur- 
ing the Civil War he served as a private soldier in Company E, nth Reg., 
Kansas Vol. Inf., and later as hospital steward, his admirable work while he 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 359 

had charge of the smallpox hospital at Hildebran's Mills being still recalled. 

George W. Crane has been a resident of Kansas since March, 1865. 
Because of the death of his mother in his infancy, he was placed in the care of 
Canadian relatives, with whom he remained during the period of his school 
days. His brother, Jesse H. Crane, was operating a store at Fort Earned, 
Kansas, where he was post trader, and George remained with him for one 
year and then came to Topeka. For some three years he engaged at market 
gardening, but in 1868 he embarked in the business which has proved such 
a great success financially and has given him a very prominent place in the 
business world. In partnership with J. Y. Byron, he entered into the busi- 
ness of bookbinding and blank-book manufacturing, and in the following 
year he became owner of a one-third interest in the Daily Commonwealth. 
This journal was issued under the company name of Prouty, Davis & Crane 
and Mr. Crane was its manager. Everything was in a promising condition 
when the firm lost all it possessed by the burning of the Ritchie Block in No- 
vember, 1869. This disaster, so soon after assuming new responsibilities, 
was very serious to the members of the firm, but with courage and energy 
they succeeded in resuming business some months later. The fall of 1873 "wit- 
nessed another disastrous fire in Topeka, during which the Commonwealth 
Building was completely destroyed and a second time was Mr. Crane forced 
to begin at the bottom. 

Only a man of much courage and many resources could so soon have 
recuperated; in a comparatively short time he was again at the head of a 
business which he managed alone until he had expanded it to such proportions 
that outside help was needed. Thus came about the founding of the George 
W. Crane Publishing Company, in 1888. At great expense improved ma- 
chinery was installed and a modern plant for doing all kinds of printing on a 
large scale was placed in operation in the Keith Block, one of the newest 
and best equipped business structures of the city. The building was 50 by 
135 feet in dimensions, four stories high, filled from basement to attic with 
the company's plant. The fire demon for the third time assailed Mr. Crane's 
business, this handsome building being totally destroyed in February, 1889. 
This loss was more serious than any other, the value of the property loss, 
above insurance, being $135,000. 

The word discouragement is not found in Mr. Crane's vocabulary. With 
wonderful philosophy he accepted the facts and with customary enterprise 
set about to again build up his business. A corporation was then formed under 
the name of Crane & Company, Mr. Crane was made manager, and now is at 
the head of one of the largest business houses in his line, including publish- 
ing, book-making and commercial printing, his trade extending all over 
Kansas and through adjacent States. The perfection of the work of this 



36o HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

house secured it the contract for furnishing a large part of the books used 
in the pubHc schools. Tenacity of purpose is a marked characteristic of 
Mr. Crane and this he carries into business, political and social life. He has 
settled convictions to which he firmly adheres and his fellow-citizens know that 
when he is convinced of the justice of a movement, no outside influence can 
move him. 

In June, 1870, Mr. Crane was married to Ella Rain, who was a daughter 
of Silas and Minerva Rain. Mrs. Crane died in April, 1881, survived by two 
children: Frank S., who is cashier and superintendent for Crane & Company; 
and Edna, who married Charles L. Mitchell and died at Morenci, Arizona, 
August 25, 1904. In 1882, Mr. Crane was married at Elkhart, Indiana, to 
Fannie Kiblinger, a cousin of his first wife. 

Politically, Mr. Crane has always taken a lively interest in city and State 
affairs, voting constantly with the Republican party, but he has never con- 
sented to hold office. In 1893 he was nominated by his party in the Legisla- 
ture for the office of State printer, one for which he is eminently qualified; 
he lacked only one vote of election. Mr. Crane has set an example of the 
conquest over misfortune by the exercise of individual energy, and has shown 
in a remarkable degree his capacity to mold circumstances and to grasp 
success out of the ashes of defeat. 



E. P. KELLAM. 



Among the prominent business men of Topeka, who stood at the head 
of commercial life here for some 40 years, was the late E. P. Kellam, who 
died very suddenly on February 5, 1896, of neuralgia of the heart, superin- 
duced by weakness from a former illness and also from grief felt over the 
death of his beloved kinsman, the late T. J. Kellam. The latter, of whom a 
sketch will be found in this work, died on February 4, 1896, and E. P. Kellam 
passed away on the following day. Both were men of importance and sub- 
stance and Topeka was doubly bereaved. 

E. P. Kellam was born at Irasburg, Vermont, February 28, 1832, and 
was a son of Sabin and Lydia Kellam, being one of 10 children born to his 
parents. His boyhood and early youth were spent in his native environment, 
where he received excellent educational advantages; and in young manhood 
he went to Boston to enter upon a business career. In 1857 he came to 
Topeka, and his subsequent life was spent in this city. With his cousin, the 
late T. J. Kellam, our subject was interested in charitable movements of 
various kinds. He is remembered as a man of strict integrity and independent 




HON. JOSEPH BENJAMIN BURTON BETTS 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 363 

views. The services at his funeral were conducted by Rev. Dean Bodley, of 
Topeka, who. preached the sermon. Rev. Percival Mclntire, of Chicago, was 
also present. 

Mr. Kellam was married December 31, 1862, to Orpha Beulah, daughter 
of Pearl De Wolfe. She still survives and makes her home in one of the 
handsomest residences of the city at No. 415 Topeka avenue, where she is 
spending the twilight of her life in comfort and ease. Mr. Kellam's son, 
E. B. Kellam, lives at Cottonwood Falls, where he is connected with a tele- 
phone company. Mr. Kellam was a Mason and was buried with Masonic 
honors. 



♦ '♦ 



HON. JOSEPH BENJAMIN BURTON BEITS. 

.Hon. Joseph Benjamin Burton Betts, an influential member of the 
Kansas State Senate and a well-known business man of Topeka, who is 
reputed one of the largest contractors in the State, was born February 22, 
185 1, in Morgan County, Illinois. He is one of a family of 10 children born 
to his parents, Joseph B. and Susan (Wiemer) Betts. 

The father of Mr. Betts was born at Dover, Delaware. Upon removing 
from the East, he became a resident of Illinois and later came to Kansas. 
He served two terms as sheriff of Piatt County, Illinois. His occupation 
was farming. He died in 1878. 

The subject ot this sketch is a self-made man. He had but meager edu- 
cational opportunities in his boyhood, his father having settled in a somewhat 
remote region. The first school he attended was in a small school house 
erected after he was old enough to assist in hauling the lumber that was used 
in constructing it. Later he enjoyed a course at a commercial college and 
that was about the extent of his schooling. He has been a resident of Kansas 
since he was nine years old, his parents settling in Atchison County in i860. 
In 1861 he came to Jefferson County and to Topeka in 1878, and ever since 
he has been engaged in a general contracting business. This he built up into 
one of the largest and most important in the city, then in the county and finally 
in the State. His superior work enabled him to secure numerous large and 
extensive contracts from the United States government. After completing 
a government contract at Fort Riley, in the fall of 1904, amounting to over 
$260,000,^ he was awarded another at Fort Russell, Wyoming, in March, 
1905, amounting to $136,244. He has built many hotels and school build- 
ings all over the West, one of these recently completed being the beautiful 
High School building at El Reno, Canadian County, Oklahoma. Many of 



364 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

the depots and terminal buildings of the various railroads through this and 
other sections are specimens of his work. 

For many years Mr. Betts has been prominent in Republican politics 
and has been influential in party affairs. He served two years in the City 
Council and from 1901 to 1905 was a member of the State House of Repre- 
sentatives. Approval of his course in this body was shown by his election 
in 1904 to the State Senate. His career as a statesman has been a very cred- 
itable one and he enjoys the confidence of his party. 

Mr. Betts married Lulu Sandmeyer, who is a daughter of the late 
Jacob W. Sandmeyer. Mr. Sandmeyer was a German by birth and for a 
number of years lived in New Orleans, Louisiana, where he built the first 
modern hearse ever made in that city. He died in Mrs. Betts' childhood, 
after having become a well-known wagon manufacturer. His widow sur- 
vived until January 10, 1892. The three children of Mr. and Mrs. Betts are: 
Joseph W., Rebecca Myrtle and Freda Marguerite. The family belong to 
the Methodist Episcopal Church. Their beautiful and artistic home is situ- 
ated at No. 1029 North Quincy street (North Topeka). 

Fraternally, the subject of this sketch is connected with the Masonic 
bodies in the higher branches, the Odd Fellows, Knights of Pythias and the 
Elks. His portrait accompanies this sketch. 



MARIE ANTONIN EUGENE JAQUES CAMPDORAS, M.D. 

The death of Dr. M. A. E. J. Campdoras, on April 6, 1881, removed 
from Topeka a physician and surgeon of remarkable professional skill, and 
a man whose nobility of life and self-sacrificing spirit in the cause of right 
aroused feelings of veneration and admiration which attended him through 
years of a very unusual public career. Dr. Campdoras was born at Thuir, 
Department of the Pyrenees Orientales, France, and was a son of Francois 
Sylvestre and Justine (Joubert) Campdoras. 

Dr. Campdoras was graduated at the college at Perpignan, where he 
received the degree of A. B. and then from the University of France, at Mont- 
pelier, in medicine and surgery, and then was assigned to hospital practice 
at Toulon. He entered the navy as auxiliary surgeon and was at sea six 
years. When Napoleon HI declared himself emperor, Dr. Campdoras was 
surgeon of the "Pengouin" and was the only officer in the French Navy who 
was brave enough to stand firm for freedom and a republic, resulting in his 
desertion of his ship. In the campaign of the Var, when the insurrectionists 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 365 

were beaten, he escaped over the Alps to Italy and subsequently, with others, 
embarked at Genoa for New York. 

In the spring of 1852 the party reached New York after three months 
of stormy voyaging and set foot on free land. During this voyage Dr. Camp- 
doras and the late Charles Sardou, whose life story is related in this volume, 
became acquainted, having the same aims and suffering the same hardships, 
and later both settled near Topeka, friends for life. Dr. Campdoras practiced 
medicine and surgery in New York City for three years and then went South 
to Louisiana where he spent the winter of 1854 teaching Spanish at the 
Louisiana State College at Donaldson ville. In the spring of 1855 he came 
to Kansas and practiced among the very few settlers and the half-breed Kaw 
Indians settled along the bottom lands of the Kaw River, among whom were 
the Papans, the Bellemeres and the De Aubries. Here he took up a claim of 
160 acres but this he later sold to the father of Spencer Wade. For some years 
he made his home with Charles Sardou and continued to practice until 1871, 
when his failing health caused him to discontinue. 

Early in 1862 Dr. Campdoras enlisted as surgeon of the Second Regi- 
ment, Kansas Home Guards, Col. John Ritchie commanding, and served 18 
months but was obliged to resign on account of ill health. He participated in 
the battles of Prairie Grove and Cane Hill, and in the latter fight his horse 
was shot from under him and he was slightly wounded. After being mustered 
out at Fort Smith, in October, 1863, he came back to his home, which was 
then in Indianola and resumed practice. In 1871 he retired to the farm which 
is located just west of the State Reform School for Boys, — a tract of 160 
acres upon which his wife had a squatter right, under the law which then gave 
an unmarried woman a quarter-section of land. His health continued so poor 
that he at last fancied that if he could once more breathe the air of his native 
land, vigor would return to him and in 1880, after so many years of absence, 
he once more trod the soil of France. He met with disappointment and re- 
turned to his Kansas home in the same year. He learned what he had not known 
before, that the French government had condemned him to death on account 
of the part he had taken in the insurrection, but he also learned that he had 
powerful and devoted friends there who met and drafted a special bill asking 
for a pension. His disappointment was in the change that time had wrought 
and in the dififerent way that freedom in his native land was regarded in 
comparison to the ideals for which he had sacrificed almost everything. As 
long as he lived, and his death followed his visit abroad, he placed patriotism 
before every other sentiment. 

In 1858, Dr. Campdoras married Eliza Reader, who was born in Penn- 
sylvania, of English and American parents, respectively. Her mother died 
when she was two years old and she lived with her aunt, Mrs. Eliza Cole, and 



366 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

was reared and educated in Illinois. When she was about 21 years old her 
uncle and aunt and brother Samuel decided to move to Kansas and they left 
LaHarpe, Illinois, on May 10, 1855, in a prairie schooner and reached their 
destination on June 5th of the same year. After her marriage she and 
her husband went to live at Indianola. They became the parents of seven chil- 
dren, as follows : Leon Samuel, Johanna Katherine, Frank Reader, Virginia 
Justine, Grace, Velleda Mathilde and Irene May. Leon Samuel operates the 
home farm of 160 acres which his father bought previous to his death, which 
is located two and a half miles north of North Topeka. The location is fine, 
the residence standing on an elevation among grand old trees, giving a charm- 
ing view of the city of Topeka, the noble dome of the Capitol Building, the 
Kaw River winding through green banks and the wide spread of fertile farms. 
This home was built in 1887, the family having come here from the old farm 
which was situated in the lowlands. The eldest daughter resides with her 
mother as do Velleda Mathilde and Grace. Frank R. lives at Richter Station, 
where he is agent for the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway Company; 
He married Florence Packard and they have two children, Francis P. and 
Cecile C. Virginia Justine is the wife of Albert C. Root, of Kansas City, 
Kansas, and they have two children, — Irving C. and Eugenia J. The youngest 
daughter is the wife of Clarence P. Scott, of Kansas City, Kansas. 

Dr. Campdoras was a member of Golden Rule Lodge, No. 90, A. F. & 
A. M., of Topeka, and he belonged to the Capitol Grange organization, also 
of Topeka. In politics he embraced the principles of the Republican party 
and always voted that ticket except during the candidacy of Peter Cooper, with 
whose sentiments he was so in accord that he cast his vote for the great 
philanthropist. It was always a matter of satisfaction that his early devotion 
to his native country was so valued by his fellow insurgents that he was 
proffered the command of the army, a position he declined on account of his 
youth, realizing that more experienced men would be needed to direct so great 
an undertaking. Neither would he accept political preferment in his chosen 
home, although he could easily have secured it. Joseph M. Cole, an uncle of 
Mrs. Campdoras, was a member of the first Free-State Territorial Legisla- 
ture. 

The following lines appear in Noel Blache's book entitled "Insurrection 
of the Var," December, 185 1, translated from the French by Mrs. Camp- 
doras. 

"At the supreme moment the insurgents wish to show some appreciation 
of one who has always been dear to their hearts and in whom they had every 
confidence. Campdoras was surgeon on the flag ship 'Pengouin,' at that 
time anchored in the roadstead of St. Tropez. A grand garcon, brown and 
robust, born in one of our Pyrenees departments. His black hair and strong 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 36; 

beard, his mobile countenance, slightly irregular, his eyes sparkling with 
intelligence, he looked full of frankness. A fluent speaker with easy jestures, 
all in him denoted the tribune. The virility of his character united with ex- 
treme prompitude of decision predistined him to the important part he played 
in the insurrection of the Var. His republican convictions were ardent and 
enlightened by a profound study of our revolutionary history, brave, generous, 
his love for the people was without limit. His goodness without equal. All 
those that have known him, especially those that have been intimate with him, 
remember how his conversation was witty, sharp and to the point owing to 
its originality and how his repartees were lively and piquant- They also re- 
member what heart of gold beat in his breast, but that which they never forget 
were the flashes of light which sprang from his eyes when speaking on public 
affairs. It was then that he beat into retreat the reasoning of his adversaries, 
carrying conviction into their minds and bringing into light the indignation 
of their souls. When Campdoras learned the news of the Coup d' Etat, he left 
the 'Pengouin' at once and sacrificed to what he considered his duty, his 
future, his position, his well-being, and placed himself resolutely at the head 
of the insurgents of St. Tropez." 



HON. STEPHEN H. ALLEN. 

Hon. Stephen H. Allen, who has been an honored resident of Topeka, 
since 1892, the same year in which he was elected a Supreme Court judge, 
was born March 19, 1849, at Sinclairville, New York, and is a son of Caleb 
J. and Emily (Haley) Allen. 

The Allen family is an old New England one and both parents of our 
distinguished subject were born in Connecticut. The father entered business 
life as a hatter, but later became a merchant at Sinclairville, New York. Of 
the nine children of the family. Judge Allen is the only survivor. 

Like many o'ther eminent men, Judge Allen found no royal road to learn- 
ing. His early education was secured in the public schools under very differ- 
ent conditions from those of the present day, and when his aptitude for mathe- 
matics and later leaning toward the law led him to study civil engineering and 
enter upon the stud of Coke and Blackstone, he first earned the money to 
pursue these studies by teaching school and various other labors. His pre- 
ceptor in the law was Obed Edson, a well-known practitioner of Sinclairville. 
He was admitted to the bar at Buffalo, New York, November 5, 1869, and in 
the same year removed to Missouri as a member of a railroad surveying 
party and reached Pleasanton, Kansas, in 1870, and settled in Linn County, 



368 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

where he still owns a fine farm of 260 acres not far from Mound City, the 
county-seat. From 1875 to 1876 he served as prosecuting attorney of Linn 
County and continued in the practice of his profession there until 1890 when 
he was elected judge of the Sixth Judicial District. Two years later he was 
elected to a seat on the Supreme bench. Judge Allen has always enjoyed a 
large measure of professional success and the universal esteem of both bench 
and bar. 

In 1872 Judge Allen was married to Lucina A. Smith, who is a daughter 
of Capt. Otis H. and Phoebe A. (Thurston) Smith, formerly of Illinois. 
The four children born to Judge and Mrs. Allen are: Otis S., in partnership 
with his father in the practice of the law, who was married October 19, 1904, 
to Flora B. Jones, of Bloomington, Illinois; Emily A., Mrs. Charles H. 
Drew, of Richfield, Morton County, Kansas, who is a graduate of the Kansas 
State University ; Ellen A., who resides at home ; and George S. Judge Allen 
and his family are prominent in the city's social life and he is a valued mem- 
ber of the Authors' Club. 



NATHAN P. HORTON. 

Nathan P. Horton, one of the retired farmers of Soldier township, 
Shawnee County, whose 75 acres of fine land are situated in section 17, town- 
ship II, range 16, is also a survivor of many of the most serious battles and 
thrilling experiences of the Civil War and of the early days of Topeka. Mr. 
Horton was born May 22, 1828, at Eastham, Cape Cod, Massachusetts, and 
is a son of Cushing and Rachel (Higgins) Horton. 

The father of Mr. Horton was a farmer and also kept a general store, 
and, as was customary, was also the local postmaster. Life passed too quietly 
and uneventfully for the sturdy and ambitious son of the family, our subject, 
and when 18 years old he went to work in Boston as a ferryboy on a ferry line 
between East Boston and Boston, owned by the Eastern Railway. Here he 
remained three years and then was employed in a new meat market in Boston 
and remained in the meat business for about eight years. After disposing of 
his meat market interests, he went into the restaurant business for the Eastern 
Railway in partnership with a Mr. Knowles, and prospered for some four 
years. 

In the meantime Mr. Horton had been much impressed with the ad- 
vantages afforded by the West and concluded to try his fortune beyond the 
Mississippi River, but in New York he was dissuaded from his purpose and 
returned to Boston. In 1858, however, he succeeded in his plans and came to 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 369 

Topeka. His first winter was spent in hunting and then he became connected 
with a sawmill and later handled logs and wood and did considerable team- 
ing. The life was one of adventure and often fraught with considerable hard- 
ship. 

Mr. Horton enlisted at Topeka, September i, 1862, in Company H, 
nth Reg., Kansas Vol. Inf., for three years under Capt. Joel Huntoon and 
-was mustered out at Fort Leavenworth, September 13, 1865. In this interim 
he had participated in these battles : Old Fort Wayne, Cane Hill, Boston 
■Mountains, Prairie Grove, Van Buren and Sin Hills, spending the greater 
part of 1863-64 in fighting guerillas and bushwhackers in Western Missouri. 
He took part in the pursuit of General Price and was concerned in the 
battles of Lexington, Little Blue, Independence, Westport, Big Blue, Trading 
Post, Byrom's Ford and in guarding the overland route in the Red Butte 
country. He survived the dangers of this long campaign in which he made 
a grand record for gallantry and efficiency. 

After being mustered out of the army, Mr. Horton then bought some 
horses at Fort Leavenworth and went to teaming in Topeka, including street 
grading and similar work, until 1868, when he bought his present farm. At 
this time he was toll-keeper on the pontoon bridge across the Kansas River 
at Topeka, a position he held for three years. He has been engaged in farm- 
ing from 1869 until recently, when he rented his land. 

Mr. Horton was married January 21, 1891, to Lorena Stebbins, who is 
a daughter of John S. and Annie (Gogan) Stebbins, of Topeka, and they have 
four children : Laura P., John S., Pearl M. and Elmira M. 

Mr. Horton is affiliated with the Republican part, and has been a mem- 
ber of the School Board for many years. He is a valued member of Blue 
Post, No. 250, Grand Army of the Republic. 



VOIGT BROTHERS. 

VoiGT Brothers, promment business men of Topeka, whose large re- 
tail and wholesale baking establishment is located at No. 1121 East Sixth 
avenue, Topeka, are sons of Herbert and Mary Ann (Rupple) Voigt. William 
Albert, the senior member, was born October 28, 1873, ^^ Cowley County, 
Kansas, and John Theodore, the junior member, was born at Topeka, May 19, 
1881. 

Theodore Voigt, the patrenal grandfather, was a very highly educated 
and respected school teacher in Germany. Paul Rupple, the grandfather on 
the maternal side, was also a man held in esteem in Germany and at one time 



370 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

was elected mayor of the city of Darmstadt. Later he came to the United 
States and settled in Pennsylvania. His death took place September 23, 1867. 
Herbert Voigt was born in 1831 in Prussia and came to America a lad of 
14 years, in 1845, settling in Wisconsin, where he followed the trade of 
stone-mason and brick-layer until 1862, when he enlisted in Company D, 
33rd Reg., Wisconsin Vol. Inf., under General Fitch, and was discharged 
August 9, 1865, at Vicksburg. While in the army he had a sunstroke which 
prevented his working at his trade and in 1866 he came to Kansas, from 
Wisconsin, and settled at Topeka. Later he married and went to farming 
on 160 acres in Cowley County. This land he cleared and there he built a 
log house in which four of his oldest children were born. He died June 
4, 1895. 

The mother of our subject was born at Frankfort, Germany, in 1843, 
and came to America in 1850 with her father and to Kansas in 1866, being the 
first people to come to Topeka by train. Mr. and Mrs. Voigt had eight chil- 
dren, namely : Charles, Lizzie, Henry, William Albert, Frances Lena, Edward, 
John Theodore and Alexander. Charles died in infancy. Lizzie is the wife 
of W. T. Landis, of Auburndale, now baker for the Royal Bakery at Topeka, 
and formerly baker for the State Insane Asylum. They have six children. 
Henry and Edward died in infancy. Frances Lena is the widow of Mr. 
McClure, a printer, who died March 9, 1897, and is buried at Topeka. 
Alexander is a stenographer at Topeka and is also learning the electrical 
business. 

On September i, 1892, William A. Voigt, in association with his father, 
purchased the present bakery business from Orvil H. Thompson, and John 
T. Voigt learned the business here and on November 20, 1893, was taken 
into partnership. The business is conducted under the firm name of Voigt 
Brothers and they control a large trade, supplying Bedwell's private insane 
asylum, in addition to the larger part of the residence district in the Second 
Ward. They have a well-equipped plant, deal both wholesale and retail and 
their goods are noted for excellence and variety. Both members of the firm 
are men of exemplary character. 

William A. Voigt was married August 7, 1895, at Topeka, to Annie E. 
Snyder, who is a daughter of James M. and Mary E. (Lazarus) Snyder, 
natives of Pennsylvania, and they have four children: William Robert, 
Howard Murry, Mary Irene and Charles Albert. Mr. Voigt is one of the 
leading Republicans of his ward. 

John T. Voigt was married December 14, 1904, at Topeka, to Lucy 
Emeline Hawkins, who is a daughter of William Deville and Mattie (Routhe) 
Hawkins, natives of Bluffton, Indiana. The father was born in New York 




JOSEPH BROMICH 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 373 

and later came to Kc^nsas where he engaged in work at the carpenter's trade 
for some years. He still survives but his wife died July 3, 1884, and was 
interred at Bluffton. Like his brother, Mr. Voigt is a stanch Republican. 



JOSEPH BROMICH. 

Joseph Bromich, one of Topeka's most successful business men, whose 
portrait is shown on the opposite page, is proprietor of the Topeka Steam 
Boiler Works, one of the largest and best equipped west of the Mississippi 
River. This concern enjoys a very large local trade, and has shipped exten- 
sively to all points in the West. 

Mr. Bromich was born near Birmingham, England, December 25, 1847, 
and is a son of Benjamin and Emma Bromich, both life-long residents of 
England. Joseph was the youngest of four children born to his parents, and 
began working during his boyhood days, his education being such as he 
could procure at night after his hard day's work had ended. He learned 
the trade of a boiler-maker in Birmingham, England, and there followed it 
until he reached his majority in 1868. Then after his marriage, he crossed 
the Atlantic Ocean to seek his fortune in the United States. He located in 
New York City a short time, then went to Florida where he obtained work 
in the railroad shops. After a few months in Florida, he embarked for the 
West Indies. After visiting many seaports and places of interest, he took 
passage on the Peruvian naval ship "Maranon," joining the navy as boiler- 
maker and blacksmith aboard ship. Tiring of the navy, he returned to Liver- 
pool, England, arriving there November 30, 1869. He was employed for a 
time in the phosphorus works of Albright & Wilson at Birmingham, and 
then determined to return to the United States. On February 23, 1870, he 
started on the voyage, his family following in November of the same year. 
Upon arriving in this country he engaged with Lowell & Rose, of Rancocas, 
New Jersey, to build a phosphorous works. After its completion, he jour- 
neyed West to Topeka, Kansas, arriving in July, 1871, and here obtained 
work the first day at the old Kaw Valley (now known as the Western) Foun- 
dry, conducted by Babcock & Cleland. He remained with this concern two 
years; during the latter part of this period it was owned by Andrew Stark. 
He then worked at the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway shops under 
Master Mechanic Faries until in partnership with R. L. Cofran, ex-mayor of 
Topeka, he purchased the Kaw Valley Foundry property, which had been 
destroyed by fire. Although it was the time of the panic and also of the 
disastrous grasshopper visitation, these thrifty gentlemen made a success of 

18 



374 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

their venture and soon found it necessary to enlarge the plant. At the end 
of three years, our subject disposed of his interest in the business to his 
partner and established the Topeka Steam Boiler Works, and success has 
crowned his efforts ever since. He manufactures all kinds of boilers, accord- 
ing to specifications furnished, and conducts the largest and most complete 
plant west of the Mississippi, with the exception of the Union Iron Works 
of San Francisco, but not e:!icluding those of St. Louis. His boiler shop, 
which in dimensions is 140 by 140 feet, has about 32,000 square feet of floor 
space, and includes in its equipment all of the most modern machinery money 
can procure. It has labor-saving machinery of every description, run eco- 
nomically by electric power; 500 volts are required when the plant is in full 
operation. So complete is the equipment that a single man can handle large 
plates of iron, and the plant is so arranged that a boiler can be loaded in two 
minutes time with the aid of cranes. In connection Mr. Bromich carries a 
complete stock of steam and water supplies, handling the very best goods. 
He is one of the most public-spirited men of the city, whose welfare he has 
at heart. 

Mr. Bromich was married in England in 1868 to Mary Ann Allton, a 
native of Birmingham, and of six children born to them, three are living: 
Maria, formerly bookkeeper and stenographer for her father, who is the wife 
of Edward McGinnis; Walter, who attends to mechanical affairs connected 
with his father's business; and Henry, who handles the financial end of the 
business. The family home is north of the plant, and Mr. Bromich also owns 
considerable other city property. 



FREEMAN SARDOU. 

Freeman Sardou, whose handsome brick residence at No. 445 Freeman 
avenue, Topeka, is surrounded by a tract of 20 acres mainly devoted to fruit 
culture, is a well-known citizen of Shawnee County and was one of the first 
residents of Topeka. He was born January 16, 1854, on the Atlantic Ocean 
en route for free America, and is a son of Charles and Josephine (Mere) 
Sardou. 

The life of the father of Mr. Sardou was full enough of striking events 
to furnish foundation for a hundred romances. He was born near Carqueiranne, 
France, in 1813, and for 23 years of his life was a sailor on the sea. He 
was much more than a sailor as his later life demonstrated, possessing cour- 
age and fortitude and the personal bravery which made the revolutionists of 
1848 such a menace to royalty in France. For these qualities he was con- 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 375 

sidered a dangerous person and a price of 20,000 francs was set on his head 
and his faithful wife was exiled. It became a matter of necessity for him 
to escape to a land where each man could enjoy his rights of citizenship and 
be protected in the same, and thus the eyes of the French refugees were turned 
to America. With a party of his mates numbering 17, he seized a vessel at 
one of the ports and headed for the land across the Atlantic which was 
reached after a voyage of 120 days. It was during this period that our sub- 
ject came into the world. The voyagers, being mostly sailors, knew when 
and how to beach the vessel and after leaving her to her fate made their way 
to land and freedom. 

In 1854, with J. B. Billiard, Frederick K. Vesscelda and a Mr. Berrenger, 
Mr. Sardou came to Kansas. Each took up 160 acres of land and they were 
the first white people to locate at Topeka, the date being August 28, 1854. 
Charles Sardou's troubles were by no means ended. His first house, a dugout 
by the side of a bank, was washed away by a sudden flood ; a sod house, which 
took its place, was blown down by a furious wind storm, and the third home, 
a log house, was burned to the ground, on November 23, 1854. Two days 
later a party of white people, led by the well-remembered Daniel H. Home, 
crossed the place where his log cabin had stood, headed for Topeka. The 
flood which covered all this territory about this time washed away many 
landmarks, but fortunately left the sills of his house standing. During the 
flood, the coming of which was sudden, Mr. Sardou crossed the river on the 
ice with his wife and child — Freeman. 

In the succeeding April Charles Sardou went back to his farm and 
found it occupied, a Dr. Martin having "jumped" his claim. There was 
nothing to do but to enter suit for his land and it was not until i860 that 
he was able to oust the usurper. During all this time no work had been done 
on the land, but nevertheless he had to pay Dr. Martin all he possessed in 
order to secure it, a claim being made for improvements. It was mainly owing 
to the sworn testimony of Daniel H. Home that Mr. Sardou obtained his 
rights. That pioneer testified to seeing the door-sills of the log cabin on 
the land when he and his party came to Topeka. 

Until May 1870, Mr. Sardou remained on his farm, quietly cultivating 
it and reaping large returns, but his heart was still in the old country across 
the ocean. The revolution there again stirred old memories and finally he 
decided to take what fortune he had been able to accumulate and to return 
to France and assist in the overthrow of royalty. With $4,000, which the 
French subjects in Kansas had subscribed to the cause he went to New York 
and there he recruited 1,000 men and with them sailed to France to help 
the cause. He took part in the battles of Strasburg, Metz and Sedan, and 



376 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

after seeing the fall of Paris he returned to Kansas in September, 1871, hav- 
ing been absent for nine months. 

It has been stated that Mr. Sardou's friend, Dr. M. A. E. J. Campdoras, 
was offered the first presidency of France in 1848. Mr. Sardou was pen- 
sioned and after his second return to that land was elected to a seat in the 
House of Deputies for life. He survived all of his companions in the ship 
and died within a stone's throw of the house in which he was born, on 
November 2, 1894, aged 81 and a half years. His tomb is in the old sailors' 
and soldiers' cemetery there. 

Our subject, in spite of the adventures of which he was an unconscious 
witness during his early life, grew up at Topeka as a happy earnest school 
boy. He was a pupil in the school located at loth avenue and Jackson street 
when he had to walk two miles to reach the school house, the teacher being 
a Mr. Drake who closed the school in 1862 and entered the army. He then 
became a student in the Harrison and Lincoln schools. In 1869 he was one 
of the first five pupils admitted to the High School, the others being : Emma 
Boyd, now Mrs. F. C. Bowen; Mrs. Emma Woods; W. C. Campbell and 
Lloyd Hope, all still surviving except Mr. Hope. 

After completing his education, Mr. Sardou learned the tinner's trade 
at St. Louis, at which he worked for 13 years. In 1883 when his father 
returned to France, he came back to the farm and has continued to reside 
here ever since. It is a beautiful place, one section of it being shaded with 
stately old oaks of a century's growth perhaps, while his orchards of his 
own planting yield lavishly the most luscious fruits found in the State. 
He has devoted much care to the culture of fruit and has great arbors of 
Concord grapes, four kinds of choice cherries and small fruits in abundance. 

Mr. Sardou was married on September 26, 1878, to Mary A. Morriss, 
who is a daughter of George A. G. and Leddie (Ladd) Morriss, and they 
have two sons, — Charles and George. The former, who is an electrician, 
married Emma Isaacson and lives at Third and Madison streets, Topeka. 
The latter, also an electrician, married Gertie Bradenburg and they reside with 
our subject. 

Although not an active politician, Mr. Sardou takes much interest in 
public affairs and votes with the Democratic party. His fraternal connec- 
tion is with Topeka Lodge, No. 38, Knights of Pythias. 

During the flood of 1903 Mr. Sardou and his sons succeeded in rescuing 
over 300 people who were in peril of their lives, and the citizens of Topeka 
in grateful remembrance presented him and his sons each with a beautiful 
gold medal, appropriately inscribed. Mr. Sardou's medal on the one side 
has in gold type "For Bravery," — below being a representation of a row 
boat filled with a party he had just rescued; on the opposite side is found 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 377 

this inscription: "Presented by citizens of Topeka, Kansas, to Freeman 
Sardou for manly and heroic efforts in behalf of his fellow beings during the 
flood of May 30th, 1903." 

As may be supposed, few men are better informed concerning the early 
days of Topeka when a few indifferent buildings and Indian wigwams repre- 
sented what is now the beautiful capital city of the State. The wildest dream 
of that time would not have pictured, even in illusion, the busy marts of trade, 
the rush and roar of steam and electric roads, the bustle of some of the 
largest industries in the world, and the beautiful Capitol Building looking 
down through streets, avenues and boulevards which are filled with the 
representatives of the commerce, intelligence, beauty and culture of all parts 
of the world. And the time has come when Kansas has, through native 
strength and self-assertion, become really and truly the land the French 
refugee sought — one of freedom. No early mention of Topeka can be com- 
plete without his name. 



CHARLES R. MAUNSELL. 

Charles R. Maunsell, superintendent and manager of the Edison 
Electric Illuminating Company of Topeka, one of the city's largest and most 
important enterprises, was born February 19, 1865, in the city of Dublin, 
Ireland, and is a son of Robert Charles and Isabella (Hanks) Maunsell. 

Mr. Maunsell came to America with his parents in 1869. His educa- 
tion was obtained in the public schools of Chicago and he received his techni- 
cal training at the Chicago Athenaeum where he was graduated in 1886. 
He then entered the employ of the Chicago Edison Company and when the 
capitalists of Topeka wanted an experienced, capable and reliable man to 
manage and superintend the electric system here, Mr. Maunsell was chosen 
for the responsible position. In 1894 he became a resident of Topeka. 

The Edison Electric Illuminating Company of Topeka was organized in 
1887 by some of the city's large capitalists and was one of the first electric 
enterprises in the State. The plant was built when such undertakings had 
many experimental features, but the officers of the company were progressive, 
sensible business men and the Topeka Edison plant is as near perfection as any 
such concern can be and the company is one which has never had any cause 
to complain as to its prosperity. The officers of the company are: Joab 
Mulvane, president; J. R. Mulvane, vice-president; Edward Wilder, secre- 
tary and treasurer; and Charles R. Maunsell, superintendent and manager. 

This plant was built by the Thomas A. Edison Company, in 1887, con- 
sisting of three 150-horsepower boilers, three i2S-horsepower engines and 



378 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

six "Edison" generators. The buildings were so designed that they would 
hold double the equipment, which was soon found necessary. At present the 
plant is equipped with 1,600-horsepower boilers and 1,700-horsepower engines 
and generators. Recently contracts have been let to make the engines and 
generators of 3,700-horsepower, and a new building in course of construction 
will have space for an additional 2,000-horsepower when needed. It is the 
company's intention to furnish power to all manufacturing concerns whether 
they use i or 1,000-horsepower. All the buildings are fire-proof, this insuring 
reliable and permanent service ; the switchboard is of marble ; the boilers are of 
the water-tube, safety type with automatic stokers and coal-handling ma- 
chinery. All the buildings in the central portion of Topeka are supplied with 
steam heat through underground mains from this company's steam heating 
system, this branch of the business having been in operation since 1897. The 
company propose to extend this branch of service as the demands and growth 
of the city require. The plant is located at No. 722 Van Buren street and 
is one of the interesting sights of the capital city. 

Mr. Maunsell was married June i, 1887, to Angeline Curtice, and they 
have three children, Charles J., Burton R. and Bernard S., all attending school. 
Mr. Maunsell and family belong to the Protestant Episcopal Church. His 
fraternal associations are with the Topeka Lodge, No. 204, Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks, and with the Woodmen of the World. 



BYRON ROBERTS. 

Byron Roberts, one of Topeka's most prominent business men, presi- 
dent of the Aetna Building & Loan Association, was born August 22, 1832, 
at New Comerstown, Tuscarawas County, Ohio, and is a son of Lewis and 
Katherine (Neighbor) Roberts. 

The father of Mr. Roberts was born in Pennsylvania and subsequently 
became a resident of Ohio where his active life was spent. The mother 
was born in New Jersey and came from an old family established in America 
in 1700. Of their three sons our subject is the only survivor. The father 
died when his son was but four years old, but the mother survived to the 
unusual age of 102 years, dying in 1896. 

Mr. Roberts was educated in the public schools of his native place and 
later attended Madison College at Antrim, Ohio. For some years follow- 
ing he was interested in a mercantile line, first as a clerk and later as pro- 
prietor. His settlement in Kansas was the result of a visit he made in 1870, 
vhen he was so favorably impressed that he settled at Topeka in 1871, becom- 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 379 

ing cashier of the old Topeka Bank, with which institution he remained asso- 
ciated until the fall of 1886. He was then elected county treasurer and served 
two terms, until 1890, in which year he was appointed receiver for the 
Hudson & Southern Railroad Company, serving in this capacity for two and 
a half years. 

The Aetna Building & Loan Association, of which Mr. Roberts has been 
president since its founding, was organized in October, 1891, and began to 
transact business on January i, 1892. The present officers of the company 
are: Byron Roberts, president; F. M. Kimball, secretary. The board of 
directors include these capitalists: Byron Roberts, A. B. Quinton, H. M. 
Steele, J. F. Carter and F. M. Kimball. 

In 1858 Mr. Roberts was married at New Comerstown, Ohio, to Ger- 
trude Dent, who was born in Guernsey County, Ohio, and they had five chil- 
dren, namely: Lewis Dent, who married a Miss Norton; George S., de- 
ceased; Carrie, who married J. R. Heinkle, one of the proprietors of the 
Broadway Hotel at Los Angeles, California; Mary, who married Clifford 
Heisted, an attorney at Kansas City; and Gertrude, who is the wife of 
George Rust, of Salt Lake City. Mr. Roberts includes seven grandchildren 
in his family circle, which is a particularly united one. 

In political sentiment, Mr. Roberts has always been a Republican and 
cast his first presidential vote for Gen. John C. Fremont. He has always 
been something of a leader in party affairs, although he has seldom consented 
to accept political honors. He has watched the city almost from its infancy 
and has been prominently identified with many of its leading enterprises and 
public-spirited movements. He can recall when the site of his present hand- 
some residence at No. 315 West loth avenue was almost prairie land. In 
all that goes to make up good citizenship, Mr. Roberts is prominent and 
ranks also with the leading capitalists of the city. 



CHARLES S. DOWNING. 

Charles S. Downing, vice-president of the Central National Bank of 
Topeka, and one of the best known business men of this city, was born in 
Iowa in 1868 and is a son of Andrew Downing. 

Andrew Downing was a prominent citizen of Boone, Iowa, and was the 
first postmaster there. He also served as county treasurer. During the Civil 
War he was a captain in the Seventh Kansas Cavalry, making a fine record. 

Charles S. Downing was educated in the common and high schools at 
Kansas City and then engaged with his father in a real estate business there. 



38o HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

In 1 89 1 he entered the office of Dun & Company as a clerk and remained 
four years with the company as manager of the Kansas district. Since Jan- 
uary, 1900, he has been vice-president of the Central National Bank. He is 
also interested in other important business enterprises, being treasurer of the 
American Oil & Gas Company and also treasurer of the Franklin Oil Com- 
pany. His identification with these large corporations indicate his business 
capacity. 

In January, 1902, Mr. Downing was married to Juanita Oldham, who was 
born at Kansas City, Missouri, and they have two children, viz : William, 
born June 6, 1893, and Mignon, born March 8, 1898. 

Fraternally, Mr. Downing is a Mason, and is past master of Siloam 
Lodge, No. 225, A. F. & A. M. He is also one of the directors of the Topeka 
Club. Mr. Downing is one of the city's wide-awake and progressive men, 
active in support of public enterprises, a factor in shaping business and social 
life, and a citizen whose influence is felt on every side. In manner he is 
unostentatious and courteous and he is held in very high esteem. In financial 
circles his careful, conservative attitude is known and it adds strength to the 
bank with which he is so prominently identified. 



EARLY WHITTEN POINDEXTER. 

Early Written Poindexter^ who has control of the general agency 
of the Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance Company of Milwaukee, Wis- 
consin, for Kansas, with offices in the Real Estate Building at Topeka, has 
had many years of experience in the insurance field, both in Indiana and in 
Kansas. Mr. Poindexter was born in Martin County, Indiana, January 8, 
1854, and is a son of Christian and Lourinda Poindexter. The parents of 
Mr. Poindexter were natives of Tennessee, but they settled in Indiana prev- 
ious to the birth of our subject. 

Early W. Poindexter attended the district schools of Martin County 
and for two years enjoyed the advantages offered in the spring terms of 
school at Bedford. He began teaching school at the age of 17 and in this 
way provided the means for several years attendance at the Indiana Univer- 
sity, where he was graduated with the class of 1879. For some succeeding 
years he continued in the educational field, serving one year as superintendent 
of the schools of Shoals, Indiana, then accepting a similar position at Bloom- 
field and subsequently becoming principal of the Bloomfield Normal School. 

In September, 1863, Mr. Poindexter moved to Vincennes, Indiana, and 
entered into the insurance business, taking charge for the New York Life 




CAPT. FREDERICK MARIUS KIMBALL 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 383 

Insurance Company of the district agency of Southwestern Indiana, where 
he met with much success. Two years later he entered into a contract with 
the Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance Company of Milwaukee, Wisconsin, 
for the general agencv of the State of Kansas, and assumed control in March, 
1885. He closed up the old agency at Leavenworth on the first of the fol- 
lowing May and opened his office at Topeka. The Northwestern had been 
regularly represented by a general agent in the State for over 20 years pre- 
viously, and when Mr. Poindexter took charge there was a business upon the 
books of the company representing $23,000 in annual premiums. That by 
1905 the business represented nearly 25 times as much as it did in 1884 tells 
its own story, — a story of enterprise and progression that reflects the greatest 
credit upon Mr. Poindexter. It must be very gratifying for him to note the 
annual receipts growing from $23,000 to $565,000, the amount reached in 
1905. 

Mr. Poindexter was married December 24, 1879, to Mollie Hattfield, of 
Owensburg, Greene County, Indiana, and they have four sons and three 
daughters, viz: Clarence H., Urban H., Marian H., Early W., Jr., Mildred 
H., Helen H. and Mary L. 

For many years Mr. Poindexter has been active in Masonic circles, being 
a Knight Templar, a 33rd degree Mason and a member of the Ancient Arabic 
Order of Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. He is also past grand patron of the 
Order of the Eastern Star. 

Mr. Poindexter is recognized as one of Topeka's most substantial citi- 
zens, one who is progressive in affairs of church and school and also in all 
other organizations promising benefit to the city. 



CAPT. FREDERICK MARIUS KIMBALL. 

Capt. Frederick Marius Kimball, secretary of the Aetna Building & 
Loan Association, of Topeka, and one of the city's valued and esteemed resi- 
dents, whose portrait accompanies this sketch, belongs to one of the old and dis- 
tinguished families of America, and one which has been identified with its mili- 
tary history. 

In tracing the Kimball side of our subject's ancestry, we find that the 
family was founded by two brothers, Richard and Henry Kimball, probably 
living in Ipswich, England, whence they embarked on April 10, 1634, in the 
good ship "Elizabeth," of which William Andrews was master, evidently 
a good seaman as he safely landed his passengers at Boston, Massachusetts. 
Richard Kimball, from whom our subject's line descended, was a Puritan. 



384 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

He settled at Watertown, where, with his family and others of like religious 
sentiments, he assisted in the laying of foundations of a social life which has 
given to other sections, particularly the West, a large majority of their 
notable men. Richard Kimball left England when that country was in the 
throes of revolution, when the conflict between the Established Church and 
the Puritans was at its height, at the time when the principles of civil rights 
and religious liberty were struggling for existence. Richard Kimball was 
evidently a man of affairs. We learn that he was proclaimed a freeman in 
1635 and was a proprietor in 1636-37. 

Soon after this date he was invited to remove to Ipswich where the 
village needed a competent wheelwright, and he accepted the offer and spent 
the remainder of his years at that place. The town granted him a home lot 
on February 23, 1637, and he was also granted 40 acres of land. Among 
the commoners of Ipswich he is mentioned frequently in the records. On 
March i, 1645, he was appointed one of seven selectmen. In January, 1649, 
permission was given him to fell such white oaks as he had need in order to 
follow his trade, and in 1652 he was one of the appraisers of the estate of 
John Cross, one of the earliest settlers of Ipswich. Thus he is seen to have 
been a man of industry and integrity, a worthy progenitor of a long and hon- 
orable line. His birth probably took place at Rattlesden, Suffolk, England, 
and his death at Ipswich, Massachusetts, when full of years. He was twice 
married, his second union being on October 2^, 1661, to Margaret, the 
widow of Henry Dow, of Hampton, New Hampshire. 

II. Benjamin Kimball, of the second generation, son of Richard Kim- 
ball, the founder, was born in 1637 and died June 11, 1695. At Salisbury, 
Massachusetts, in April, 1661, he married Mercy Hazeltine, who was born 
August 16, 1642, and died January 5, 1707 or 1708. 

III. Richard Kimball, son of Benjamin, and of the third generation, 
was born December 30, 1665, and died January 10, 171 1. On September 6, 
1692, he married Mehitable Day, who was born January 26, 1669. 

IV. Benjamin Kimball, son of Richard, of the fourth generation, was 
bom at Bradford, Massachusetts, July 11, 1695, and died in 1752. On Feb- 
ruary 17, 1719, he married Priscilla , who was born at Haverhill, 

Massachusetts, November 25, 1698, and died in November, 1782. 

V. Deacon John Kimball, son of Benjamin, and of the fifth genera- 
tion, was born at Bradford, Massachusetts, February 5, 1738 or 1739, and 
died at Concord, New Hampshire, December 31, 1817. On November 23, 
1765, he married Anna Ayer, daughter of Samuel and Ann (Hazen) Ayer, 
who was born at Haverhill, Massachusetts, October 3, 1740, and died in 
March, 1819. Deacon John Kimball lived on the homestead at Bradford, 
Massachusetts, until his marriage and then moved with his bride to Concord, 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. • 385 

New Hampshire, a great journey in those days. He lived in Concord on the 
place now occupied by Samuel S. Kimball. He united with the church at 
Bradford at the age of 18 and during a period of 30 years was absent but 
once from public worship. Clergymen were always welcomed at his home 
and he was their valued friend. For 29 years he was an officer in the church 
and this was in the days when a churchman's walk and conversation were 
much more closely criticised than in our more liberal days. In his wife he 
found a true and loving companion through 50 years of wedded life. In 
1769 she united with the church at Concord. They both loved the House 
of God and Deacon John Kimball remembered the Concord church in 
his will. 

VI. Judge John Kimball, of the sixth generation, a son of Deacon John 
Kimball and the grandfather of our subject, was born at Concord, New 
Hampshire, October 3, 1769, and died at Barton, Vermont, May 9, 1844. 
He was married December 6, 1792, to Eunice White, who was born at Strat- 
ford, Vermont, September 26, 1770, and died May 24, 1840. When of age 
he settled on wild land in Vershire, Vermont, but returned after the birth 
of his first child to Concord where he remained until 1801, when he went 
to Barton, where our subject was born. He served as town clerk and justice 
continuously from 1803 to 1842 and was frequently a selectman. In 1807- 
8-9 he was a Representative and in 1820 he was elected judge of probate. 
He held the latter office for 10 years, and later was assistant judge in the 
County Court. He was one of the 18 founders of the Congregational Church 
at Barton, in 181 7, of which church he was an influential member and effi- 
cient officer. 

VII. Frederick White Kimball, of the seventh generation, a son of 
Judge John Kimball and the father of our subject, was born at Barton, Ver- 
mont, January 7, 1805, and died at Glover, Vermont, December 2, 1872. He 
was married in 1835 to Mrs. Mary (Hinman) Chadwick, a widow with two 
daughters, — Ann and Martha. She was a kind and loving mother and died 
November 17, 1891. When gold was discovered in California, Mr. Kimball 
left the farm and in 1850 he went, by way of the Isthmus of Panama, to the 
"Golden" State, having comfortably settled his wife and children at Glover. 
During the next four and a half years he suffered many hardships both by 
sea and land, but returned safely home in 1854, having secured a comfortable 
supply of gold but broken in health. Subsequently he took an active part 
in the affairs of town and county and in 1855 he was elected a justice of 
the peace, an office he held for 17 years. He was a trial justice and very 
seldom were any of his decisions reversed by a higher court. In 1870 he was 
a member of the State Constitutional Convention. All through his life he 



386 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

was a shrewd business man, a highly respected citizen and one who held 
the confidence and esteem of his fellow townsmen. 

In the eighth generation we reach the esteemed subjct of this biography, 
Capt. Frederick Marius Kimball, who was born at Barton, Vermont, June 
14, 1840. He was educated at the Orleans Liberal Institute, at Glover, Ver- 
mont, taught school for several winters and then entered upon the study 
of the law. Before finishing his legal course, however, he enlisted for 
service in the Civil War, on October 15, 1861, entering Company D, Sixth 
Reg., Vermont Vol. Inf., at Montpeher, and immediately was hurried with 
his comrades to the seat of war. During the following winter the Sixth 
Regiment was quartered at Camp Griffin, Virginia, and was brigaded with 
four other Vermont regiments, this combination afterward becoming dis- 
tinguished, the "Old Vermont Brigade" making a record second to no other 
organization in the entire army, this reputation being gained through its 
individual gallantry. Captain Kimball participated in 25 battles, and was 
twice wounded. He entered the service as a private and was mustered 
out a captain. He took part in these great engagements : Lee's Mills, Wil- 
liamsburg, Golding's Farm, Savage Station, White Oak Swamp, Malvern 
Hill, Harrison's Landing, Second Bull Run, South Mountain, Antietam, 
both battles at Fredericksburg, Maryus Heights, Bank's Ford, Gettysburg 
and Funktown, besides many minor engagements and skirmishes. From 
early in 1863 he was in command of his company, to which rank personal 
bravery had promoted him, and in all its subsequent movements he was its 
leader. He was wounded at Bank's Ford on May 4, 1863, and again, very 
severely, at Funkstown, Maryland, July 10, 1863, and from the effects of the 
latter injury he has never recovered entirely. 

His experiences on both of these occasions were thrilling in the extreme 
and their recital must afford interest to all those who admire courage and 
valor. At Bank's Ford, when his regiment charged Early's assaulting col- 
umns, the enemy was thrown into great confusion by the unexpected attack, 
broke and ran, hotly pursued by the Sixth Vermont, with fixed bayonets. 
Captain Kimball's belt-plate turned a minnie ball and thus saved his life, but 
in glancing ofif wounded him slightly in the arm. The regiment captured 
over 400 prisoners in this charge, and one Confederate captain surrendered 
his sword and the remnant of his company to Captain Kimball, after having 
been shot through the face. The prisoners threw down their muskets and 
we're left in charge of several privates and ordered to the rear. Captain Kim- 
ball had only turned to go forward when a Confederate, who had surrendered, 
picked up a gun from the ground and was in the very act of shooting him 
when his movement was discovered by Sergeant Cleveland, of Captain Kim- 
ball's company, who was still quicker with his gun and shot the Rebel. After 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 387 

his wound at Funkstown, he continued to direct the movements of his com- 
pany until his boot was full of blood. The wound was a serious one and 
after this he was never able to perform field service, receiving his honorable 
discharge by order of the Secretary of War, October 22, 1863. 

Within a week of his discharge, Captain Kimball was commissioned a 
2nd lieutenant in the Veteran Reserve Corps, by President Lincoln, and from 
this time until the close of the war he performed post and garrison duties at 
various points, a portion of the time at Brattleboro and St. Albans, Vermont. 
For meritorious conduct he received several promotions, again reaching the 
rank of captain. After the close of the war he was assigned to duty in the 
Freedman's Bureau and was stationed in Virginia as superintendent of several 
counties, with headquarters at Lawrenceville. The four years of his service 
in this difficult and trying position make a history of themselves. The men 
who accepted these posts had to bear insult and injury almost beyond belief 
and with courage had also to be equipped with tact, judgment and a thorough 
knowledge of existing conditions. What was hard to bear was the fact that 
his family were also subject to insult and ostracism. His noble wife cheer- 
fully bore it all and not only gave him added courage by her loving sympathy, 
but at least on one occasion saved his life. Captain Kimball had supervision 
of the registrations and elections, a dangerous mission, only less so than 
the organizing and sustaining of the colored schools. Those old days of 
bitter feeling have mainly passed away in the general prosperity and mutual 
aims of the reunited country, but those who were entrusted with official 
duties and faithfully performed them as did Captain Kimball, can scarcely 
forget those strenuous years, nor should their fellow-citizens. The Freed- 
men's Bureau expired by hmitation of law, January i, 1869, and at that time 
Captain Kimball received an honorable discharge after an unbroken service 
of over seven years. 

Captain Kimball was chosen a delegate from the Fourth Congressional 
District of Virginia to the Republican National Convention that met at 
Chicago, May 20, 1868, and assisted in nominating General Grant for the 
presidency. He was a candidate for State Senator and was urged by his 
friends to run for Congress, but this honor he declined on account of his 
youth and want of legislative experience. He accepted other honors, how- 
ever, and served under the appointment of General Stoneman, Provisional 
Governor of Virginia, as clerk of the County and Circuit courts of Bruns- 
wick County, an office he held for six months. As a business opening for him 
appeared in the West, he put aside political aspirations, resigned his offices 
in Virginia, and in September, 1869, removed to Cameron, Missouri. 

For some years after removing to Missouri, Captain Kimball was suc- 
cessfully engaged in mercantile pursuits, but a man of his force of character 



388 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

and enlightenment and progressive spirit could not be hidden in the commercial 
life of the city, and from being elected a member of the City Council he 
became acting mayor and in 1884 was appointed postmaster. He officiated 
in this office until a change of administration caused a change in this office. 
The succeeding four years were spent pleasantly in Colorado, where Captain 
Kimball engaged in dealing in real estate, but in the fall of 1890 he again 
"took up his residence at Cameron. Two years later, in July, 1892, he came to 
Topeka. Since then his whole time has been employed in the interests of the 
Aetna Building & Loan Association, of which he is the secretary. 

The Aetna Building & Loan Association was organized in October, 
1 89 1, with Byron Roberts as president. The first officers were: Byron 
Roberts, president and treasurer; John Guthrie, vice-president; J. W. Hamil- 
ton, chairman; F. M. Kimball, secretary; David Overmyer, counselor; and 
A. B. Quinton, attorney. The present board of directors is composed of 
these capitalists : Byron Roberts, A. B. Quinton, H. M. Steele, J. F. Carter 
and F. M. Kimball. The association began business on January i, 1892, 
and Captain Kimball entered upon his duties as secretary in July, 1892. 

On September 27, 1863, Captain Kimball was married to Susannah 
Hoyt, who is a daughter of Joseph and Mary Vinal (Perry) Hoyt, the latter 
of whom was a daughter of Anthony and Submit (Wheatley) Perry. Sub- 
mit Wheatley was a daughter of Nathaniel and Vinal (Bliss) Wheatley. 
Nathaniel Wheatley was born at Norwich, Connecticut; May 21, 1752, and 
died at Brookfield, Vermont, July 26, 1824. He was a son of John and Sub- 
mit (Peck) (Cooke) Wheatley. In the Revolutionary War Nathaniel 
Wheatley was a member of a New Hampshire regiment under the command 
of Col Jonathan Chase, and he was at Ticonderoga and Saratoga, in 1776- 
•jj. The family records on Captain Kimball's side date as far back as 1595 
and on Mrs. Kimball's side to 1634, and four great-grandfathers in the 
Revolution establish very completely the claims of Mrs. Kimball and daugh- 
ter to membership in the Daughters of the American Revolution. Captain 
and Mrs. Kimball had four children, viz : Carl Willis, born August 26, 1867, 
a graduate of the Cameron High School and St. James Military Academy at 
Macon, Missouri, who entered into business in 1890 at Pittsburg, Pennsyl- 
vania, and in 1893 connected himself with the Austin Kimball Company, of 
New York; Mary Gertrude, born at Cameron, Missouri, May 9, 1870, de- 
ceased December 11, 1870; Claude Frederick, born at Cameron, Missouri, 
May 27, 1873; and Maude Louise Inez, born at Cameron, Missouri, Decem- 
ber 22, 1877. The family belong to the Congregational Church. 

In addition to being a Son of the American Revolution, Captain Kimball 
is a Knight Templar Mason and enjoys membership in the higher branches 
of the order, and is a member of Lincoln Post, No. i, G. A. R., at Topeka. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 389 

He was commander for three consecutive terms of Joe Hooker Post, G. A. R., 
at Cameron, Missouri. He has become thoroughly identified with Topeka 
and her interests and in him the city recognizes a liberal-minded, progressive 
citizen, who is justly entitled to the universal esteem in which he is held. 



4 1 » 



WILLIAM P. SNYDER. 

William P. Snyder^ deceased, for many years a prominent agricul- 
turist of Shawnee County, had a farm in section 2, township 13, range 13, in 
Dover township. He was a man of high character and stability, and his 
death which occurred on July 27, 1898, in the 70th year of his age, was 
mourned as a loss to the community. 

Mr. Snyder was born at Washington, Fayette County, Ohio, October 
8, 1828, and was a son of John and Malinda (Campbell) Snyder, being one 
■of three children, all now deceased. The father was born in Virginia, 
March 31, 1802, and died May 27, 1840, and the mother, who was a native 
of Kentucky, died in the 84th year of her age. They were pioneer settlers 
in Fayette County, Ohio, where they lived throughout the latter part of 
their lives. 

William P. Snyder lived on the old homestead in Ohio until 1869, in 
which year he came West to Kansas, bringing his wife and four children. 
He preempted the farm in section 2, township 13, range 13, in Dover town- 
ship, where his widow now lives, consisting of 149 52-100 acres, mostly 
xinder cultivation. He made all of the improvements on this place, build- 
ing a good substantial residence and numerous necessary outbuildings. He 
"was a man of public spirit, and took a deep interest in all that concerned the 
prosperity and welfare of his home community. 

In 1855 ^^- Snyder was united in marriage with Matilda Denious, a 
■daughter of Isaac and Harriet (Coffman) Denious. Isaac Denious was born 
in Virginia, where his father was a large slave-owner ; because of his aversion 
to slavery, he was forced to leave home and was disinherited. He moved 
North to- Dublin, Franklin County, Ohio, where he lived the remainder of 
liis life and where he was united in marriage with Harriet Coffman. She 
"was a daughter of Henry Coffman, who was a soldier in the War of 1812. 
Her mother, Margaret (Sells) Coffman, was born in Pennsylvania and 
was related to the noted showmen, the Sells brothers. Mrs. Snyder was but 
"five years of age when her mother died, and two years later her father was 
also called to the unknown beyond, leaving three children, as follows : Ma- 
tilda; Elizabeth, wife of A. P. Herman, of Kansas City; and Henry Clark 



390 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Denious, who served in the First Regiment, Ohio Vol. Cav., during the 
Civil War and is now a resident of Fayette County, Ohio. After the death 
of her parents, Mrs. Snyder lived with her maternal grandparents until her 
marriage in 1855. As a result of her union with Mr. Snyder, four children 
were born in Ohio and one in Kansas, namely : Cary, deceased, who married 
Henrietta E. Beach and had two children, — Ray, deceased, and William P., 
who is attending Washburn College; Earl, living in Colorado, who married 
Lily Smith and has a daughter, Olive, the wife of Henry Billings, of 
Colorado; Harriet married Joseph Flicking, who was born in Ohio and now 
lives in Kansas City, Missouri; Ray, who conducts a farm and grist mill, 
married Sarah Riley of Ohio and has three children, — Christa, Tillie and 
Margaret ; and Jennie,, born in Kansas, who married Floyd Ross. 

Mrs. Snyder still resides on the old homestead in Dover township, 
Shawnee County, and is surrounded by many friends, whom she has known 
during her long residence here. She is possessed of womanly attributes and 
is loved by all who know her. 



ANSEL E. DICKINSON. 

Ansel E. Dickinson, one of the leading citizens of Soldier township, 
Shawnee County, who resides in section 3, township 10, range 16, on his 
fine farm of 340 acres, was born May 21, 1845, in Portage County, Ohio, 
and is a son of Stoddard and Lucy (Hine) Dickinson. 

The father of Mr. Dickinson was born in 1799 in Massachusetts, located 
in Ohio after his marriage and died there in 1873, aged 74 years. The 
mother was born in 1807 in Connecticut and died in 1895, aged. 88 years. 
They reared eight children, of whom four are now living, namely : Truman 
B., who conducts an insurance business at Ravena, Ohio; George W., a 
farmer at Shalersville, Ohio; Adelaide, who is the wife of Luman Colton, a 
retired farmer of Ionia, Michigan; and Ansel E., of this sketch. 

Our subject was educated in the common schools of his native locality, 
at Hiram Academy and spent two years at Hiram College. Then after teach- 
ing school in Ohio for two years he came to Kansas in 1868, when 23 years 
old. Here he bought land and continued to teach school. Mr. Dickinson 
taught 16 years in Kansas, 12 years of these being spent in three different 
schools, four years each, which is considered quite a record for country schools 
of that time. In 1880 he added a second quarter-section to the one he had 
previously purchased and since then has devoted his attention to cultivating 
it and to stock-raising. His land was all wild and uncleared when he pur- 




HON. WINFIELD AUSTIN SCOTT BIRD 



» 9 



, AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 393 

chased it but he has developed it into a very fine ■farm, devoting 200 acres 
to farming and the remainder to pasture and fruit. His annual yield of 
apples averages 1,200 barrels. Mr. Dickinson has a very attractive home, 
its location being on a gentle eminence, reached from the highway by an 
avenue shaded by beautiful trees. He Utilizes modern machinery and has 
his own system of water-works, opetated by air pressure, and thus is able 
to enjoy the luxuries of a city home. 

Mr. Dickinson was married March 3, 1873, to Eleanor C. Arnold, who 
was a daughter of Shailor S. and Elizabeth (Cooley) Arnold, of Jefferson 
County. Mrs. Dickinson died March 23, 1900, aged 51 years. They had 
three children, viz : Eda A., who married Clayton Casler, a clerk in the 
employ of the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway Company, and has two 
children, — Beulah and Louisa; Walter, who married Grace Shaffer, daughter 
of John I. Shaffer and resides with his father; and Josephine A., who also 
lives at home. 

Mr. Dickinson is a Republican. He has served many years in school 
offices and has been a .member of the examining board. His interest has 
always been lively in agricultural affairs and he is a member of Muddy 
Creek Grange, of which he is lecturer and ex-master. He was for two years 
assistant in the right-of-way department of the Santa Fe road. 



HON. WINFIELD AUSTIN SCOTT BIRD. 

Hon. Winfield Austin Scott Bird, member of the Kansas House of 
Representatives from the 38th District, and one of the leading attorneys of 
Topeka, whose portrait is shown on the opposite page, is recognized as one of 
the prominent and useful men of the "Sunflower" State. Mr. Bird was born 
August 31, 1855, in Somerset County, Pennsylvania, and is the seventh mem- 
ber of a family of 13 children born to his parents, Archibald and Elizabeth Ann 
(Heilman) Bird. 

Mr. Bird was reared on a farm in Somerset County and attended the 
public schools until the age of 16 years when he entered a Normal School. 
After completing a course of six months, he began to teach school, first in 
Pennsylvania and later at Fall City, Nebraska. His study of the law was 
prosecuted under many discouraging conditions but he finally was prepared 
for his examinations and was admitted to the bar, at Fall City, September 8, 
1880. On the 28th of the same month he came to Topeka, where he has been 
located ever since, practicing his profession alone, with the exception of one 
year, during which time he was in partnership with L. S. Ferry. He was 
10 



394 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

ambitious and soon entered into politics, making himself felt in this field 
as he had already done in his profession. In 1887 he was appointed city at- 
torney of Topeka, served two years as such and then served six subsequent 
years by election on the Republican ticket. In the fall of 1904 he was elected 
a member of the House of Representatives, leading the ticket by more than 
J, 800 votes. 

Mr. Bird's record in the House of Representatives is a remarkable one 
and shows very conclusively his deep interest in public affairs and his fidelity 
to the people who have placed important trusts in his hands as a legislator. 
He introduced 43 bills, three more than any other member, and 26 of these, 
•either in the original bills or the committee substitutes, or submitted Senate 
bills, passed the Senate and are now laws. The most important may be 
■enumerated : 

Bill authorizing the city of Topeka to lay water mains across the State 
Hospital grounds, by which the city may remove its water mains from all 
■danger from floods of the river. 

Bill appropriating $28,500 for the Boys' Industrial School north of the 
•city. 

Bill appropriating $10,000 for rebuilding the north and south approaches 
and steps to the State Capitol, and $10,000 for paving the walks and drives 
in Capitol Square. 

Bill providing for boards of control of public utilities in cities of the 
:first and second classes. 

Mr. Bird was a member of the conference committee on the part of the 
House that secured the appropriation for the Old Soldiers' Home at Dodge 
•City. As chairman of the committee on cities of the first class, he wrote 
the substitute bill which provides that when a voter registers, he shall not 
~be required to register again so long as he does not move, and continues 
to vote at each subsequent election. As will be seen Mr. Bird's energies 
are directed along practical lines and the bills he has advocated and intro- 
duced are all of a public-spirited nature, showing careful and thoughtful con- 
.sideration of the district's welfare. 

On March 21, 1883, Mr. Bird was united in marriage with a daughter 
•of Sydney Dodge, of Hiawatha, Kansas. Mrs. Bird is a member of the 
Congregational Church, of which he is an attendant. They are prominent 
in the social life of the city, being the dispensers and recipients of much 
"hospitality. 

Since 1883 Mr. Bird has been a member of the Bar Association of the 
State of Kansas and is also a member of the Shawnee County Bar Associa- 
tion. His offices are located at No. 601 Kansas avenue, Topeka. 

Mr. Bird's fraternal connections are numerous and important. He is 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 395 

a 32nd degree Mason, member of the various branches of the Scottish Rite; 
is past exalted ruler of the order of Elks ; past grand chancelor of the Supreme 
Lodge of the Knights of Pythias ; a member of the Shawnee Tribe, No. 14, 
Improved Order of Red Men, of which he is the present great senior sagamore 
of the United States, attending every session of the above order in his State 
since 1890 and every one in the United States since 1895; ^"d for the past 
25 years he has been a member of Shawnee Lodge, No. i, I. O. O. F. 
Socially he is connected with the Lake View Shooting and Fishing Associa- 
tion. 

Although Mr. Bird has met with gratifying success and has attained 
an enviable position, he owes little to outside influence. What he is he has 
made himself, climbing from humble positions — farm boy, lumber worker 
and railroad section hand — to the elevation secured through his own abilities. 
To have thus succeeded, in the face of the fierce competition of modern days, 
is something to induce a measure of justifiable pride. 



HENRY S. ALLEN. 

Henry S. Allen, one of the leading builders and contractors of Topeka, 
which city has been his home since 1869, was born at Zanesville, Ohio, March 
23, 1837, and is a son of George and Marian (Parkman) Allen. 

The father of Mr. Allen was born and reared at Bristol, England, where 
he contracted his first marriage. After coming to America, he married Ma- 
rian Parkman, who was also born at Bristol and came to America in child- 
hood. 

Our subject was reared at Zanesville and was educated in Putnam, 
across the Muskingum River from Zanesville, now the Ninth Ward of that 
city. When 16 years old he was apprenticed to the carpenter's trade, for 
which he had a natural faculty, and was following the same when the Civil 
War descended upon the land. He was one of the first to oi¥er his services 
and was assigned to Company E, Third Reg., Ohio Vol. Inf., in which he 
gallantly served until disabled by a serious wound in the foot at the battle of 
Prairieville. An honorable discharge followed and he returned home, but, 
in 1863, when Morgan was raiding Ohio, Mr. Allen again turned out in his 
country's defense. He reenlisted, entering Company B, 159th Reg., Ohio 
Vol. Inf., recruiting the company and being placed in command. He partici- 
pated in the battles of Rich Mountain, West Virginia, and Frederick, Mary- 
land, and then the iS9th was stationed at Baltimore. Mr. Allen was one of 



396 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

the members of a scouting expedition under command of the late Gen. Lew 
Wallace, for whom he always entertained great regard. After his return 
from the field, he was elected lieutenant-colonel of his regiment, Colonel 
Munson having retired. 

In 1858 Mr. Allen had made a visit to Kansas but took up his residence 
in Missouri and remained there until the fall of i860, when he left Kansas 
City and returned to Ohio to become one of the soldiers in his native State. 
In 1869 he returned to Kansas and in July, 1869, he built a home on the 
corner of Sixth avenue and Fillmore street, Topeka. Later he removed to 
his present beautiful home at No. 336 Woodlawn avenue, Potwin. He has 
been identified with the building development of this beautiful suburb ever 
since, much of its improvement coming directly under his care and superin- 
tendence. He accompanied the engineer in laying out the parks, placing the 
stakes for trees and beautifying the addition of Potwin. He built the first 
house on Woodlawn avenue, opposite his own residence, for Mr. Potwin. 
Four years later another modern residence was built, which was then the 
beginning of something like a "boom." Now 450 voters have delightful 
homes in this jnost aristocratic suburb of Topeka, and many of these Mr. 
Allen has constructed, among these being the palatial residences of W. M. 
Forbes, Mrs. Burlingame and Mr. Kent. His work is to be found in all sec- 
tions of Topeka, particularly in residence districts. He has been delegated 
by the First Baptist Church as superintendent of the construction of their 
new edifice opposite the State House. 

Mr. Allen married Katie Nesbaum. They have no children. Both 
have long been very devoted workers in the religious circles of the city. Mr. 
Allen has been a member of the First Baptist Church for the past 35 years 
and is one of its board of trustees. Fraternally, he is a Mason. He is a mem- 
ber of Lincoln Post, No. i, G. A. R., of Topeka. 



MAJ. WILLIAM SIMS. 

Maj. William Sims, president of the First National Bank, of Topeka, 
financier, capitalist, statesman, soldier and agriculturist, has had a life of 
more than usual interest and occupies a position of prominence and honor 
in the capital city. He was born in Muskingum County, Ohio, May 22, 1831, 
and is a son of Mahlon and Maria Sims. 

Major Sims comes of French-Irish ancestry. His parents were farmers 
of comfortable estate in Ohio and he grew up on a farm, becoming so thor- 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 397 

ouglily interested in agriculture that he has been a farmer to greater or less 
degree all his life. In his native county he attended the common schools 
and at the opening of the Civil War was one of the prosperous young farmers 
of his locality. In March, 1862, he enlisted as a private in Company G, 
32nd Reg., Ohio Vol. Inf., and was promoted to a sergeancy. He was then 
detailed by the Governor as a recruiting officer, and, while so engaged, his 
regiment was captured at Harper's Ferry. He reported to Governor Todd 
that he had 40 men. With these as a nucleus he raised a full company, which 
became Company A, Ninth Reg., Ohio Vol. Cav. Upon the organization of 
the I St battalion of the regiment, he became captain of his company. A 
year later he was promoted to the rank of major and served as such until 
he resigned on account of disability. His military record reflected credit 
upon his loyalty and faithfulness as soldier, both as private and as officer. 
He is a valued member of Lincoln Post, No. i, Grand Army of the Republic, 
of Topeka. 

In the spring of 1868, Major Sims removed with his family to De Witt 
County, Illinois, where he engaged in agricultural pursuits for four years, 
and then, in the spring of 1872, he came to Shawnee County, Kansas. He 
settled on a farm in Mission township, Indian reservation land, where there 
had been scarcely any improvement and where very few settlers had yet 
located. Topeka, seven miles away, seemed much farther on account of the 
unimproved condition of the country, no system of good roads at that time 
having been established. Major Sims converted this into a beautiful rural 
home and a valuable farm, combining fruit-growing with stock-raising, 
always making a feature of the latter industry. 

About 1884 Major Sims became a resident of Topeka, turning his farm- 
ing interests over to his son, John B. Sims. He has always been active in 
political and public life and in 1877 he was elected to the State Senate from 
this district and, by appointment, filled out the unexpired term of State 
Treasurer James Hamilton, who resigned. In January, 1882, he was elected 
secretary of the State Board of Agriculture and served in that office for the 
succeeding six years. He served many years as master of the Kansas State 
Grange, Patrons of Husbandry, and has shown his interest in and sympathy 
with agricultural afifairs all over the State. As president of one of the largest 
and most substantial financial institutions of Kansas, he has also become 
favorably known for his careful, conservative management. 

Major Sims was married in Muskingum County, Ohio, to Hannah A. 
Richey, who is a daughter of Samuel and Hannah (Jackson) Richey, old 
residents of Hopewell township, Muskingum County. They had two chil- 
dren, one of whom is deceased. John B. Sims, our subject's son, resides on 
the homestead and carries on the large operations in progress there. He 



398 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

married Josephine McCracken and they have three children : John B., Jr., 
Eleanor and Dorothy. Politically, Major Sims is a Republican. For 40 
years he has been an Odd Fellow. 



WALTER L. BATES. 

Walter L. Bates, a well-known, representative citizen of Topeka, who 
is known all over the State as the successful breeder of White Plymouth Rock 
and White Wyandotte poultry, has been a resident of this city since 1868. 
He was born at Alliance, Ohio, April 8, 1859, and is a son of George Petti- 
bone and Oresta (Roberts) Bates. 

The late George Pettibone Bates was a leading citizen of Shawnee 
County for a number of years. He was born January 10, 1825, in South- 
ampton, Massachusetts, and was educated in the common schools. His 
father was a manufacturer of woolen goods in Massachusetts, and when the 
family subsequently migrated to Ohio, he was wont to say that the most 
conspicuous part of the wagon loaded with family goods was the great dye 
kettle used in the woolen factory. 

The Bates family settled in Trumbull County, Ohio, and there George 
P. worked for a time at cabinet-making, but the mercantile spirit was strong 
within him and he gave up the trade and started out on the road with a wagon, 
selling Yankee notions through the rural districts. When he had accumu- 
lated enough capital, he opened a store at what was then known as Freedom, 
near Alliance, and later, when the first railroad, the old Pittsburg & Fort 
Wayne, was built through, he removed to Alliance. Here he was engaged 
in a mercantile business for the next 20 years. In 1868 he came to Topeka, 
with the intention of opening a store here, but at the outset was hampered on 
account of lack of store room. The bulk of the business houses were then 
located on Kansas avenue between Fourth and Fifth streets. Finally he 
obtained possession of a room on the west side of Kansas avenue, where he 
remained until he secured the building later occupied by Rogers Brothers, 
but after a season he moved back to the west side of the street and bought 
the property, which is now utilized by W. F. Weber as a grocery. Several 
years later, with Norris L. Gage, he erected a double building between Fifth 
street and Sixth avenue and moved his mercantile stock into it. 

Mr. Bates had almost as much trouble when he came to Topeka in finding 
a suitable place of residence. He settled his family in the Gordon House, on 
Fourth street and Kansas avenue, where they remained until he finally secured 
the second floor of the residence of Guilford G. Gage, at No. 408 VanBuren 
street. He then bought a residence on VanBuren street, and a few years later 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 399 

purchased one on Topeka avenue and still later he erected a handsome resi- 
dence on Topeka avenue, where he passed his declining years. 

Mr. Bates continued in the mercantile business until his health failed and 
he was obliged to change his occupation. For some years he was associated 
with Henry Taylor in a loan business, which was transacted in a building on. 
Kansas and Sixth avenues that they purchased of James M. Spencer. Later 
Mr. Bates bought Mr. Taylor's interest and the property now belongs to the 
Bates estate. Although the years were beginning to weigh heavily on him 
physically, his faculties were vigorous and his judgment was as good as in 
youth. About this time he entered into a large land deal with an old Ohio 
friend, Bradford Miller. They had bought 40 acres east of the Santa Fe 
shops, and Mr. Miller platted the east one-half and Mr. Bates platted the 
west one-half. They retained this land for 20 years. In May, 1887, George 
P. Bates, C. W. Jewell, Noah C. McFarland and H. S. Fairfield, the last 
named of Alma, platted and laid out the town of McFarland, in Wabaunsee 
County, Kansas. Mr. Bates' last business enterprise was the building of the 
structure which now stands on the corner of Sixth avenue and Jackson street, 
known as the Bates Block. During this period his health, already impaired, 
failed rapidly and one year later, on November 17, 1903, he passed away, 
at his home on Topeka avenue, aged 78 years. 

The mother of our subject still survives. She was born December 26, 
1826, and became the mother of three children, two of whom died in infancy. 
After the death of her husband, she removed to the home of her only son, our 
subject, and is a beloved and venerated member of the family. George P. 
Bates was a Master Mason, a member of Orient Lodge, No. 51, A. F. & A. 
M., to which his son also belongs. He was one of the leading members of 
the Congregational Church for years and was one of its deacons. 

Walter L. Bates was educated in the public schools of Topeka, coming 
here with his parents when nine years of age. After completing his education, 
he engaged in mercantile pursuits until 1890, when he closed out his interests 
and entered into business with his father. Always a lover of flowers, he 
engaged in the florist business for some eight years and built several large 
greenhouses at Auburndale. This was very congenial as his tastes have 
always been in the direction of rural occupations, as may be seen in the great 
success which has attended his poultry business. With him this is a recrea- 
tion, carried on with enthusiasm and ambition. In 1904 he erected a commo- 
dious home at No. 1832 Park avenue, one block from the car line, where he 
has five acres; a large part of the ground is given up as an ample range for 
his choice birds. Mr. Bates' beautiful home, known as "Elmwold,' is a very 
interesting place to visit, not only on account of the cordiality of its owner, 
but also because of the fine poultry shown here. 



400 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Mr. Bates has taken so much interest in the fascinating occupation of 
raising and displaying fancy poultry that there is little connected with it 
which has escaped his attention. Some four years since he constructed a 
brooder and has since, on several occasions, improved on it, and this he 
uses in his own yards and has put upon the market. These brooders possess 
every desirable quality to be expected in constructions of this kind; with one 
of these inventions, no poultry raiser is at the mercy of the old-fashioned, 
oft-times recalcitrant mother hen. Mrs. Bates is equally interested with her 
husband and has a distinct department of the business as her own. 

On the i8th of April, 1883, Mr. Bates was married at Milwaukee, Wis- 
consin, to May E. Merritt, who was born at St. Louis, Missouri. They have 
four children: George Merritt, William Mortimer, Henry Pennock and Al- 
bert Jewell. The eldest son bears the name of both paternal and maternal 
grandparents. The second son also bears a family name, as does the third, 
while the youngest was named in honor of an old and beloved friend of the 
Bates family. 

Prior to the death of his father, our subject had the main management 
of the latter's business and at his decease, assumed the business responsibili- 
ties in full. Since 1888 he has been a notary public, but has not been active 
as a politician. The many business interests to which he succeeded and the 
management of his feathered pets at "Elmwold," make up a busy life, one 
which brings adequate enjoyment. 



THOMAS JAMESON KELLAM. 

The death of Thomas Jameson Kellam, at his beautiful home on the 
corner of Western avenue and Huntoon street, Topeka, on February 4, 1896, 
brought added meaning to the trite expression that "death loves a shining 
mark." A man endowed with so many personal attractive traits, successful 
in business, honored by his associates and fellow-citizens and in the enjoy- 
ment of domestic happiness, surely was entitled to more than 44 years of ex- 
istence. Such seems the limited human view. Mr. Kellam was born June 
15, 1852, at Irasburg, Vermont. 

Mr. Kellam accompanied his father's family West and located at Chicago, 
from which city he came to Kansas, in 1870 and engaged with his brother 
in the cattle business. Later he came to Topeka and filled a position in the 
Post Office, which he left to enter into business with Henry King in a book 
and newspaper business. Subsequently he bought Mr. King's interest, and 
conducted the Kellam book-store for some years. In 1888 the Merchants' 




DAVID O. CRANE 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 403 

National Bank was organized, with Mr. Kellam as vice-president, and the 
Kellam Book & Stationery Company was formed, the employees buying a 
minority interest and Mr. Kellam continuing to hold a majority of the stock. 
Mr. Kellam was also a director of the Wichita & Western Railroad Company, 
a director of the Public Library and of the Topeka Club, and was interested 
in all that went to make this city worthy of its name of capital. For some 
14 years he had been a vestryman in Grace Cathedral. 

In 1877 Mr. Kellam married Lillie Holliday, who is a daughter of Colo- 
nel Holliday, of Topeka, and she, with three children, Kurtz, Louise and 
Katherine, still survives. The son, who was formerly the manager of the 
Kellam Book & Stationery Company, now resides in Kansas City. 

The immediate cause of Mr. Kellam's death was from railroad injuries 
received near Victor, Colorado, on January 17, 1896. For some days hopes 
of his recovery were entertained, but they proved false. His passing re- 
moved a man of examplary character, one who took more than a slight 
interest in art and literature and in all that goes to make up a higher life. 
His manly attitude, his generous sympathies and his winning courtesy made 
his personal friends a legion. 



DAVID O. CRANE. 

David O. Crane, a well-known citizen of Topeka, whose portrait 
accompanies this sketch, is superintendent of the Topeka Cemetery, in which 
capacity he has served continuously since 1884. He was bom at Easton, 
Pennsylvania, February 12, 1842, and is a son of Franklin L. and Mary 
Elizabeth (Howell) Crane. 

Franklin L. Crane was born in the town of East Windsor, Connecticut, 
January 10, 1808. He was a veteran of the Civil War, serving in Com- 
pany E, nth Reg., Kansas Vol. Inf., and his son, Franklin L., Jr., served 
in Company G, Second Reg., Kansas Vol. Inf. His father, David Crane, 
grandfather of our subject, was a soldier in the Continental Army in the 
Revolutionary War. 

David O. Crane received his educational training in the public schools 
of Easton, Pennsylvania, and of Dobb's Ferry, New York, being located at 
the last named place a period of four years. In 1858, he came West to 
Topeka, Kansas, where he attended school during the winter of that year, 
then learned the printer's trade under J. F. Cummings, proprietor of the 
Topeka Tribune. On May 14, 1861, he enlisted from Shawnee County for 
the three months' service as musician in Company A, Second Reg., Kansas 
Vol. Inf., under Capt. Leonard W. Home and Col. Robert B. Mitchell. The 



404 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

regiment was recruited during May and was rendezvoused at Lawrence, 
Kansas. It was mustered in at Kansas City, Missouri, June 20, 1861, and 
then joined the brigade commanded by Major Sturgis at CHnton, Missouri, 
which was attached to the division of Brigadier General Lyon near the Osage 
River at St. Clair, Missouri. Camp was established near Springfield and 
drilling commenced. The First and Second Kansas regiments were joined 
under command of General Dietzler, and first underwent fire at Forsythe, 
Missouri, July 22, 1861. They moved south under General Lyon and on 
August 2nd engaged and defeated the enemy at Dug Springs, pursuing him to 
McCulloch's ranch. The enemy fell back to concentrate their columns into 
one, and the Second Kansas retired to Springfield, where a large and heavy 
supply train awaited them, it being so unwieldy as to preclude rapid movement 
without abandoning it. General Lyon determined to attack at daylight on 
August 10, 1 86 1, Colonel Siegel's artillery opening the engagement of 
Wilson's Creek, and the Second Kansas supporting Totten's battery and 
the extreme left. During the first of the battle, which was fought in a corn- 
field, the regular infantry fell back, the Second Kansas covering the retreat 
with the aid of the battery, driving the enemy beyond the field. Colonel 
Mitchell fell wounded, and General Lyon, who had been twice wounded, 
answered Colonel Mitchell's call to lead the regiment. He had just turned to 
fulfill the order with the words, "Come on brave men," when he fell, mortally 
wounded by a bullet in the breast. Lieutenant Colonel Blair assumed com- 
mand and after six hours of severe fighting received orders to withdraw his 
command. Feeling it impossible to retire at that crucial moment, he held 
his ground one hour and a half, when the enemy's fire was utterly silenced 
and they withdrew. The Second Kansas was the only regiment to keep its 
line and organization from first to last, but it was at the cost of one-third of 
its men. At the close of this engagement, the command returned to Spring- 
field, thence by way of Rolla and St. Louis to Leavenworth, Kansas, where 
they were mustered out with orders to reorganize. Mr. Crane was honorably 
discharged October 31, 1861, and reenlisted March 17, 1862, for the three 
years' service as a private in Company A, Fifth Kansas Vol. Cav., under Capt. 
William F. Creitz and Col. Powell Clayton. This regiment participated in 
the engagement at Dry wood, September 2, 1861 ; at Morristown, Missouri, 
September 17, when Col. Hampton P. Johnson fell; at Osceola, where they 
attacked the rear of Price's army, routing them. Lieutenant Colonel Clayton 
assumed command of the regiment in February, 1862, and in May they drove 
the guerilla band of Coleman out of that section of the country. On July 
6th they routed an Arkansas cavalry regiment at Salem, Arkansas, and dur- 
ing the following winter engaged in skirmishes with the Rebel cavalry near 
Helena, Arkansas. On May 7, 1863, they joined the expedition of Colonel 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 405 

Clayton through the country west and south of Helena, destroying supplies, 
and on August 15th joined Colonel Steele's Arkansas expedition. On Sep- 
tember loth they engaged the enemy at Little Rock, and on October 25th 
were attacked at Pine Bluff by General Marmaduke with 3,000 men and 12 
pieces of artillery. Colonel Clayton had opposed to this force but 600 men and 
nine pieces of artillery. After six hours of action, the Rebels were defeated 
at all points, leaving the field to Colonel Clayton and his small force of brave 
men. Mr. Crane was after this battle transferred to Company H, Fifth 
Reg., Kansas Vol. Cav., with which he served throughout the remainder of 
the war. He was honorably discharged at Fort Leavenworth, Kansas, July 
19, 1865, and returned to his home in Topeka. 

David O. Crane had charge of the Topeka Cemetery from 1868 to 1871, 
under direction of his father, who had for some years served as its superin- 
tendent. In the spring of 1871, he moved to Osage, Kansas, where he re- 
sided until the death of his father, November 17, 1884, since which time 
he has lived in Topeka and has had charge of the cemetery. Prior to No- 
vember, 1884, there were 3,857 interments, and at the present time the number 
aggregates 10,898. 

On March 3, 1869, Mr. Crane was joined in wedlock with Anna S. Kay, 
of Topeka, Kansas. Her brother, James T. Kay, served in Company C, 83rd 
Reg., Indiana Vol. Inf., during the Civil War and was killed in battle. To 
this union have been born four children, of whom three are now living, as 
follows: Mary E. (Radcliff) ; Anna S. ; and Franklin L. Fraternally, our 
subject is a Mason and has taken all the degrees up to and including the 
32nd degree ; he is also a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows ; 
Knights of Pythias; Ancient Order of United Workmen; Modern Wood- 
men of America; Fraternal Aid and other societies. He is a member of 
Lincoln Post, No. i. Department of Kansas, G. A. R. Mrs. Crane is an 
active and honorable member of Lincoln Circle, No. i. Ladies of the G. 
A. R., and she and her daughters are members of Naomi Rebekah Lodge, 
No. 95, and of the Order of the Eastern Star. A view of the Crane resi- 
dence is shown on another page of this work. 



THE FIRST NATIONAL BANK, TOPEKA. 

The First National Bank of Topeka, one of the leading financial 
institutions of the State, was organized in 1882, with Thomas Curran as 
president and J. W. Redden as vice-president. D. A. Moulton was cashier 
and the directors were: Maj. William Sims, William Wellhouse, W. A. 



4o6 



HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 



Johnston, T. J. Anderson, W. W. Mansfield, F. L. Stringham, J. D. Burr, 
George W. Wood, Theodore Curran, J. W. Redden and D. A. Moulton. 0£ 
the above officers and directors, the only member of the present board (1905) 
is Maj. William Sims. 

The present officers of The First National Bank are: Maj. William 
Sims, president; W. H. Rossington, vice-president; Charles E. Hawley, 
cashier and C. S. Bowman, assistant cashier. The board of directors is made 
up of these capitalists : A. A. Robinson, president of the Mexican Central 
Railway Company; Charles J. Lantry, of the firm of B. Lantry & Sons, 
contractors; W. H. Rossington, vice-president of the firm of Rossington, 
Smith & Histed, attorneys; Charles J. Devlin, coal operator; John L. Chris- 
topher, vice-president of the T. M. & N. Railway Company; Maj. Wilham 
Sims, president and Charles E. Hawley, cashier. 

The condition of The First National Bank as rendered in 1883, one year 
after its organization, was encouraging. The capital was increased from 
$100,000 to $150,000. In 1888 it climbed to $200,000 and in 1892 it was 
raised to $300,000. According to the report rendered April 24, 1901, the 
standing was as follows : 



RESOURCES. 

Loans and discounts $486,387 09 

Overdrafts 4,496 51 

U. S. and other bonds 129,73s Si 

Real estate 18,000 00 

Banking house furniture and 

fixtures 115,00000 

Cash and sight exchange 243,655 29 

Redemption fund with U. S. 

Treasury 2,500 00 



LIABILITIES. 

Capital stock paid in $300,000 00 

Surplus and profits 6,025 07 

Circulation 50,000 00 

Dividends unpaid 40 00 

Deposits 643,709 33 



Total $999,774 40 



Total $999,774 40 



The present capital of the bank is the largest of any bank in the city. 
The report of the business on March 14, 1905, was as follows : 



RESOURCES. 

Loans and discounts $1,041,45230 

Overdrafts 3,087 06 

U. S. Bonds 314,000 00 

Other bonds 80,000 00 

Real estate 2,741 83 

Banking house fixtures, etc. . . 91,250 00 

Cash and sight exchange 719,232 70 

Redemption fund with U. S. 

Treasury 15,00000 

Total $2,266,763 89 



LIABILITIES. 

Capital stock paid in $300,000 00 

Surplus and profits 99,764 76 

Circulation 300,000 00 

Deposits 1,566,999 13 



Total $2,266,763 89 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 407 

In order to note the increase in the volume of business, a comparison 
made with the statement at the close of business on July 15, 1901, will show 
that at that time the loans and discounts amounted to $557,624.65, and de- 
posits, $822,063.02. Much of the prosperity of the institution must be 
attributed to Cashier Charles E. Hawley, a man of extended business expe- 
rience. The whole make-up of the bank shows the influence of business 
experience and large finances. Maj. William Sims, the president, is a finan- 
cier in whom the public has the greatest confidence. He is a veteran of the 
Civil War, a native of Ohio. After a term of residence in Illinois, he came to 
Topeka in 1872. In 1901 W. A. Stephens, treasurer of the T. M. & N. Rail- 
way Company, was one of the directors but he is not a member of the pres- 
ent board. 



CHARLES E. HAWLEY. 

Charles E. Hawley, cashier of the First National Bank of Topeka, 
and an enterprising and public-spirited citizen, was born in Saratoga County, 
New York, in 1850, and is a son of Isaac H. and Jane (Travis) Hawley. 

The parents of Mr. Hawley were substantial farming people in Saratoga 
County. The family consisted of seven children, three of the sons and three 
of the daughters reaching maturity and three sons and one daughter still 
surviving. 

Mr. Hawley's boyhood and youth was similar to that of other boys 
born on a farm. He attended the district school, commencing at four years 
of age, and a local academy until he was 13 years old and then entered a 
general store in the capacity of clerk. This he did with an eye to preparing 
himself for a business career, but he by no means abandoned his books, his 
evenings and leisure hours being given to improving his mind. The Sara- 
toga County merchant was also the postmaster and Mr. Hawley assisted in 
receiving and distributing the mail according to the methods then in use. 

In 1869 Mr. Hawley came to the great West, locating at Rock Island, 
Illinois. For eight years he was connected with the First National Bank 
of Rock Island, entering as bookkeeper and filling positions of trust and sub- 
sequently becoming teller. After a residence of 17 years in Rock Island, 
he removed to Kansas and in 1886 came to Topeka. For eight years Mr. 
Hawley was associated with Edward Wilder, treasurer of the Atchison, 
Topeka & Santa Fe Railway Company. In April, 1901, Mr. Hawley became 
cashier of the First National Bank of Topeka, a position for which he is 
well equipped on account of his years of thorough business training. Per- 
sonally, he is a man of affable manner and sincere courtesy, qualities which add 



4o8 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

much to the furthering of business and are elements in adding to the high 
regard in which he is held in social and private life. 

Mr. Hawley was married at Rock island, Illinois, to Ella Merrill, who 
was born at Providence, Rhode Island, and is a daughter of M. D. and Sarah 
G. Merrill. They have three children. The family belong to the Fir?t Bap- 
tist Church of Topeka, of which Mr. Hawley is treasurer. He is one of the 
leading members of the Young Men's Christian Association. He belongs to 
the Bankers' Association and in Masonry has taken three degrees. Ever 
since coming to Topeka to make this city his home, he has taken an in- 
terested part in its upbuilding and development, and stands as one of its 
highly considered, representative men. 



GARY SNYDER. 



Cary Snyder, who came of a prominent family of Shawnee County, 
Kansas, was engaged in general merchandising at Dover until his death on 
September 8, 1899. He is a son of William P. and Matilda (Denious) 
Snyder. A sketch of his father appears elsewhere in this work. 

Mr. Snyder was united in the holy bonds of wedlock with Henrietta E. 
Beach, a daughter of Dr. Samuel E. and Jane (McGregor) Beach. Her 
father was born in Ashtabula County, Ohio, February 22, 1822, and was a 
son of William K. Beach, a native of Connecticut. Samuel E. Beach accom- 
panied his parents to Ohio in his early youth, and there received a primary 
education in the schools of Medina County. He was graduated from the 
Cleveland Medical College in 1849, ^^'^ immediately engaged in practice in 
that State. He then located at Appleton, Wisconsin, where he practiced 
with much success for a period of 10 years. Prior to leaving there, Dr. Beach 
made a trip to Kansas in 1856, and located a farm of 160 acres in what is 
now Wabaunsee County, then returned home and continued his practice. 
In 1856, his father also went to Kansas and located a claim. Dr. Beach 
also took up his residence on this place in 1858 and so continued until the 
spring of 1863, when he joined the Union Army as ist assistant surgeon of 
the Eighth Regiment, Kansas Vol. Inf., Colonel Martin commanding. He 
was immediately sent to the front, and in the fall of the same year while 
left in charge of the wounded at Chickamauga was taken prisoner. He was 
one of the three surgeons who were immediately exchanged, but unfortun- 
ately died on his way home, at Officers' Hospital No. 2, Nashville, Tennessee. 
Mrs. Beach was then residing on the old home farm in Kansas, but had his 
remains sent to Appleton, Wisconsin, for interment, as the railroad facilities 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 409 

and connections were very poor in Kansas. Fraternally, he was an Odd 
Fellow. He was a Republican in politics. 

Dr. Samuel E. Beach was united in marriage with Jane McGregor, who 
was born in Scotland and came to America with her parents when four years 
of age. Her parents, John and Isabelle (Brock) McGregor, were both born 
at Hamilton, Lanarkshire, Scotland, where John McGregor engaged in school 
teaching. Upon coming to America, he first taught school in Vermont, then 
in Canton, Wadsworth and Sharon, Ohio, where he died at 52 years of age. 
His wife died 15 years later at Canton, aged 67 years. Some 40 years after 
the death of John McGregor, a number of his early pupils, scattered through- 
out the United States, erected to his memory a statue made of Scotch granite. 
In the presence of ,a large number of his early students the monument was 
unveiled October 21, 1887. John McGregor and his wife reared nine chil- 
dren, three of whom are now living, as follows : Jane, the widow of Dr. 
Samuel E. Beach ; John, who is in the wholesale hardware business at Spring- 
field, Missouri; and Malcolm, who is a lawyer and formerly was a judge at 
Carthage, Missouri. Mr. McGregor was a Mason and a Woodman. He 
was a Democrat in politics. Mr. and Mrs. Beach had three children : Hen- 
rietta E., the wife of our subject; William K. and J. M., the two last named 
living on the home farm established by their father, to which they have largely 
added. Mrs. Beach is now 81 years of age, and is living with her daughter, 
Mrs. Snyder, at Dover, Kansas, in the enjoyment of the best of health. 

Cary Snyder and his worthy wife became the parents of two sons : Ray, 
who died in early life; and William P., who is now in attendance at Wash- 
burn College at Topeka. Mr. Snyder was a man of ability and good business 
judgment and met with a high degree of success. Mrs. Snyder has many 
friends in Dover and vicinity, among whom she has lived many years. 



THEODORE F. KREIPE. 

Theodore F. Kreipe, one of the leading citizens and large farmers of 
Tecumseh township, Shawnee County, who owns a fine farm of 330 acres 
in section 33, township 11, range 17, on the Kaw River, was born December 
8, i860, at Big Spring, Douglas County, Kansas, and is a son of Theodore 
and Gertrude (Deister) (Engelke) Kreipe. 

Theodore Kreipe, father of our subject, was born December 16, 1828, 
in Hildesheim, Hanover, Germany, a son of Conrad and Gertrude (Molle) 
Kreipe. His father died when he was four years old. He attended school 
until 12 years of age and then hired out to farmers for $13 a year and also 



4IO HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

worked one year on the railroad before coming to the United States. In 
1848 he came to America with his mother and his two brothers, Frank and 
Conrad. The family settled in St. Charles County, Missouri, where Mr. 
Kreipe farmed for several years and then engaged in freighting for the gov- 
ernment. From 1854 until 1859 he made many trips across the plains to Salt 
Lake City, Santa Fe and other points. An attack of mountain fever pros- 
trated him in Platte County, Missouri, where he remained until the spring 
of i860, when he removed to Douglas County, Kansas, and settled on a farm 
two miles east of Big Spring. When the State militia were called out to 
withsitand the invasion of General Price, he enlisted under Col. George 
W. Veale. 

Mr. Kreipe remained on his farm of 80 acres in Douglas County until 
the spring of 1865, when he sold his land there and purchased 160 acres 
in section 33, township 11, range 17, in Tecumseh township, where he now 
resides. He owns about 2,000 acres of land, the greater part of which is in 
this township and in Shawnee County, and he has made all the improvements 
on the different farms. His present farm he cleared of timber and in 1868 
erected the substantial, stone residence and later all the necessary barns and 
buildings to carry on extensive farming. Mr. Kreipe's remarkable success 
has been the result of constant industry and good judgment. His business 
has been farming, grain-growing and stock-raising. He raises a great many 
hogs and has 150 head of white-faced cattle. Mr. Kreipe is by far the most 
successful and one of the largest farmers of the county. Politically, he is a 
Democrat. He belongs to the Catholic Church. 

Theodore Kreipe was married to Mrs*. Gertrude (Deister) Engelke, who 
was born in Hanover, January 2, 1826, and died December 9, 1900. The 
children born to this union were: Theodore F., our subject; George and 
Mary (twins), the former of whom farms in Tecumseh township and the 
latter lives at home ; Conrad, of Franklin County, Kansas ; and William, who 
lives on his father's place. 

Theodore F. Kreipe came to his present farm in 1865 with his parents 
and has resided here ever since, following farming. His education was 
secured in the district schools and his agricultural training was obtained 
under the guidance of his father. Like the latter, he has been very successful, 
both in the cultivating of his land and also in the raising of fine stock. He 
has a handsome residence, which he built in 1904. 

Mr. Kreipe was married January 19, 1888, to Nettie Busch, who was 
born March 12, 1868, at Parkville, Missouri, and is a daughter. of John and 
Gertrude (Kollman) Busch, natives of Germany. They have three children: 
Edmund, Bessie and Geraldine. The family belong to the Catholic Church at 
Big Spring. 




JOHN GREEN 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 413 

In politics Mr. Kreipe is a Democrat. For the past 12 years he has been 
one of the township's most efficient school officers and in the fall of 1904 was 
elected township trustee, an office for which he is well qualified. 



JOHN GREEN. 



John Green, whose portrait accompanies this sketch, was one of the 
most prosperous farmers of Mission township, Shawnee County, where he 
resided from 1869 until his death, September 6, 1903, aged 76 years, lacking 
five days. 

Mr. Green was a native of England, having been born in Gloucestershire 
on the iith day of September, 1827. He emigrated to America when 21 
years of age, and for one year was located in Cincinnati, Ohio. He then en- 
gaged in farming in Union County, Indiana, and still later in Cass County, 
Michigan, where he remained until 1869. In that year he came West to 
Shawnee County, Kansas, and homesteaded a claim. He was a man of 
thrifty habits and untiring energy, and succeeded where others failed in 
raising crops on new land. He gradually increased his holdings until at 
the time of his death the home farm consisted of 370 acres, all under cultiva- 
tion. It is a finely improved place, with a two-story, stone house of nine 
rooms, which he erected at a cost of $3,500, and a stone barn, 32 by 40 
feet in dimensions, which he erected in 1875 ^^ a cost of $1,000. The latter 
affords shelter for 36 head of stock, and has capacity for 30 tons of hay and 
considerable grain. In addition to these substantial buildings, Mr. Green 
built wagon sheds and a granary and a large hay barn 70 feet long, which 
was constructed of stone and timber. He raised cattle on a very extensive 
scale and also kept a large number of horses and hogs. The receipts from 
his sales of cattle often amounted to as much as $1,800 in one year. 

John Green was united in marriage in 1849 with Mary Diebolt, a 
daughter of David A. Diebolt, of Union County, Indiana, who was a farmer 
by occupation and lived to reach the remarkable age of 114 years. Mrs. 
Green died in 1868 on giving birth to a child, leaving eight children as 
follows: John A., whose present location is unknown; Perry, an auctioneer 
of Council Grove, Morris County, Kansas, who married Olive Reveal, a 
daughter of M. M. Reveal, a blacksmith of Council Grove, and has three 
children, — Mamie, of Grand Rapids, Edith and Everett Perry; Emma; 
Charles ; Ellen ; Robert ; George ; and Mary Ann, deceased. 

Our subject formed a second marital union with Mrs. Philobia LaPoint, 
widow of Mitchell LaPoint. She was born in Wayne County, Missouri, 
20 



414 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

December 15, 1818, and lived there until 1852, when she accompanied the 
family of Benjamin Franklin to Uniontown. She was adopted as one of the 
Pottawatomie tribe of Indians, and was married to Mitchel La Point, a 
quarter-blood Indian, to whom was alloted the quarter-section on which the 
old town stood. She received an allotment of 80 acres in .Shawnee County. 
She died July 22, 1891, without issue. 

Mr. Green married, as his third wife, Christina Reinhard. They spent 
their wedding trip in touring England, leaving this country in April, 1892, 
and returning home the following August. Mrs. Green died in 1895, leav- 
ing a son, Herbert Reinhard Green. 

On April 7, 1896, occurred the fourth marriage of John Green. He 
was united with Mrs. Augusta Winn, nee Austin, widow of James Winn, of 
Kentucky, and a daughter of William Austin, who was born in London, 
England, and upon coming to this country located in Jefiferson County, 
Missouri, where his daughter Augusta was born. James Winn died at 
Eureka, Missouri, leaving his widow with three children : James Edward, 
who lives with his mother; Mary Jane, wife of Harry Sillett, of Utah; and 
William Silas, who lives on the home farm. Our subject and his wife had one 
son, Ernest Ray Green, born in 1897. Religiously, Mr. Green was a faithful 
member of the Methodist Church. He was for many years a Democrat in 
politics and then joined the Populist party. 



GEN. JAMES W. F. HUGHES. 

Gen. James W. F. Hughes, one of Topeka's most prominent citizens. 
Adjutant General of the State of Kansas by appointment of Governor Hoch, 
formerly mayor and for years a successful business man, is probably as well- 
known as any other citizen of Kansas. General Hughes was born at Colum- 
bia, Tennessee, January 12, i860, and is one of a family of five children 
torn to A. M. and Mattie (Neill) Hughes. 

The forebears of General Hughes were of Southern birth for generations. 
His father was a native of North Carolina and for years was an eminent mem- 
ber of the bar of Tennessee. 

General Hughes enjoyed educational advantages and university training, 
being graduated at the university of his native State in 188 1. In the same 
year he came to Topeka, with a view of practicing engineering, a profession 
■for which he had qualified, and soon became connected with the Atchison, 
Topeka & Santa Fe Railway, remaining with that road until 1895. He then 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 415 

embarked in business for himself, opening a retail and wholesale coal busi- 
ness, in which he has been interested ever since. 

General Hughes has the record of serving as brigadier general of the 
Kansas National Guard under the administration of three executives. During 
this time his career has been filled with responsible and important acts, some 
of these being matters of State history. For 10 years he was colonel of the 
Third Regiment, Kansas National Guard. He was in command at the time 
of the legislative war in 1893 and became a most conspicuous and important 
figure. 

At this time two political parties were contending for the mastery. Two 
bodies had been organized, known as the Douglass (Republican) House, and 
the Dunsmore (Populist) House, both claiming to be the duly constituted 
House of Representatives of the State of Kansas. Both bodies were in 
session in the same hall and endeavoring to transact public business. Governor 
Lewelling, the executive, a Populist, was in sympathy with the Dunsmore 
branch of the dual House, and called out the militia to aid in sustaining it. 

General Hughes was at that time colonel of the Third Regiment, Kansas 
National Guard. When the contest between the two Houses was at its highest. 
Governor Lewelling issued an order directing Colonel Hughes to proceed to 
Representative Hall with the forces at his command and eject the members 
of the so-called Douglass House, using whatever power might be necessary 
to accomplish this result. Colonel Hughes refused to obey the order, claiming 
that it was illegal, indefinite, and exceeding his authority and that it raised 
the question of rightful authority between the legislative and military depart- 
ments of the State government. 

For his refusal to disperse the Douglass House and precipitate riot and 
bloodshed in obedience to the Governor's order, Colonel Hughes was court 
martialed and dismissed from the service, after a prolonged trial in which the 
best legal talent of the State was enlisted. The tribunal before which he was 
tried was created by the Governor, and it must be acknowledged that partisan 
feeling entered largely into its findings, as the Governor was the reviewing 
officer. The Supreme Court subsequently determined that the Douglass 
House, which the Governor sought to disperse, was the regularly constituted 
body, and it continued its sessions during the rest of the legislative period of 
that year. Honor rather than discredit came to General Hughes as the re- 
sult of his contest with Governor Lewelling, Governor Morrill appointing him 
major general, K. N. G. It was to his clear head, cool judgment and knowl- 
edge of his rights and duties as an officer, that a desperate conflict was averted 
and the cause of good government preserved. The subsequent decision of 
the Supreme Court upholding the legality of the Douglass House, was a com- 
plete vindication of the course pursued by General Hughes, and the people of 



4i6 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

the State have commended his action and honored him in various ways for 
his prudence and courage at a trying and critical hour. 

General Hughes served the city of Potwin as mayor during the years 
1897 and 1898, and was a councilman of the city of Topeka in 1899 and 1900. 
In 1901 he was mayor of Topeka and in 1904 and 1905 he served in the 
Topeka City Council. His appointment as Adjutant General was one of the 
first acts of Governor Hoch's administration, the Governor having been 
Speaker pro tern of the Douglass House during the troubles of 1893. During 
recent years, under Governor Bailey, General Hughes had served as brigadier 
general, Kansas National Guard. 

General Hughes married Mary A. Clark, who is a daughter of Julius 
T. Clark, a resident of Wisconsin. They have three children: James C, 
Alice W. and Mary J. General Hughes and family belong to the Presbyterian 
Church. The beautiful family home is situated at No. 305 Greenwood avenue. 

As may be judged. General Hughes is identified with the Republican 
party and in various ways he has contributed to its success. His fraternal 
relations include the Masons, Elks, Ancient Order of United Workmen, 
Modern Woodmen of America and Woodmen of the World. General Hughes 
is known as a man of high character and lofty aims. Devoted to his State 
and her institutions, he has served her with fidelity and with both physical 
and moral courage has done his full duty to the extent of his powers. 



BRADFORD MILLER. 

Bradford Miller, formerly mayor of Topeka, and one of the sub- 
stantial, valued and popular citizens of Shawnee County, was born in Stark 
County, Ohio, in 1840, and is a son of Rev. John B. and Sarah (Shaffer) 
Miller. The Miller family is of Pennsylvania Dutch extraction. 

The father of Mr. Miller was born in Ohio and the mother in Penn- 
sylvania. The former was a Presbyterian minister and also owned farming 
lands in Stark County, his father having been a farmer there. There were 
seven children born to Rev. John B. Miller and wife. One son, H. B. Miller, 
is now a member of the Kansas State Senate, from Osage County. 

Our subject obtained his primary education in the public schools and 
later was a student at Mount Union College and classmate of the noted Bishop 
Hamilton, of the Methodist Episcopal Church. When only 16 years of age 
he began to teach school and continued, more or less continuously, until his 
22nd year, when, in 1862, he enlisted for service in the Civil War, entering the 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 417 

86th Regiment, Ohio Vol. Inf., as a private. At the election of officers he was 
made ist lieutenant and served 100 days in answer to the second call for 
troops. Upon his return he was called into the provost marshal's office and 
served as a deputy and as enrolling officer at Alliance, Ohio, until the close 
of the war. While in Ohio, he was elected first president of Council No. 117, 
known as Knox Union, organized by the National Council of the Union 
League, at North Georgetown, Columbiana County. The charter for this was 
issued June 12, 1863, and at the Grand Council of Ohio he received this honor, 
one which he justly prizes, under the seal of Grand President Sam. Galloway 
and Grand Secretary E. W. Brownell. Associated with him in Council No. 
117, as its first secretary, was John W. Buck. 

In 1868 Mr. Miller left Ohio and settled in Topeka. In 1873 he pur- 
chased a farm of 320 acres, 80 of which he has since sold; the property is 
located in Mission township, and is one of the best equipped and best im- 
proved farms in Shawnee County. Mr. Miller has not resided on the farm 
since 1902 and not continuously prior to that, as many calls to public office 
made it necessary for him frequently to take up his home in Topeka. During 
the greater part of his residence on the farm he devoted special attention to the 
development of clover and alfalfa, concerning which he has contributed a num- 
ber of valuable articles to the secretary of the State Board of Agriculture. He 
makes 12 reports a year to the United States Department of Agriculture. 
The farm is now run as a dairy farm, and in the last three years milk to the 
value of $5,000 has been told in Topeka. Mr. Miller has spent large amounts 
of money in developing this land from its virgin state and has spent a fortune 
in making its valuable improvements. His farm residence is an ideal rural 
home and the great barn which contains 34,000 feet of lumber in its solid tim- 
bers, and the immense granaries and other buildings make the place notable 
all over the county. 

Mr. Miller wisely invested in considerable land in and about Topeka 
at an early day. He laid out the addition in the northeastern part of the 
city known as the Bradford Miller Addition, building several fine residences 
here and selling the whole body of land in city lots. His public offices have 
been ones of responsibility, testifying to the esteem in which he has long been 
held by his fellow-citizens. From 1873 to 1876 and from 1887 to 1890 he 
served as county commissioner; during 1878 he was assessor of Topeka and 
in December, 1883, he was elected mayor of Topeka in which office he served 
until April, 1885. He also served as treasurer of Shawnee County, from 
1880 to 1884. In 1885 he returned to the farm and devoted his attention to his 
great clover fields until failing health brought about his retirement to the 
city, in 1902. He has been one of the leading men of his township for years, 
a justice of the peace, and treasurer and member of the School Board. Mr. 



4i8 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Miller occupies a very pleasant home which he purchased when he first came 
to Topeka, which is situated at No. 626 Clay street, opposite the Clay School. 

Mr. Miller was married in Ohio, in 1864, to Harriet Summers, who was 
born in Columbiana County, Ohio. They have five children, namely : Minnie, 
who married C. C. McPherson, of Rossville, Shawnee County, and has three 
children, — Clarence L., Virgil L. and Helen; Henry O., who is in the lum- 
ber business at Tulsa, Indian Territbry ; Martha, who married John R. Wilt, 
of Rossville, Kansas; Mary, who married A. T. Lucas, sheriff of Shawnee 
County, of whom a sketch appears in this work, — they have one daughter, 
Helen Miller Lucas and B. H., who is auditor of several large lumber com- 
panies at Lawton, Oklahoma, who married Miss Sessions, of Ottawa, Kansas. 

Mr. Miller and wife are members of the Presbyterian Church at Mission 
Center, Kansas, in which he served as elder until failing health made it ad- 
visable for him to curtail his activities. His first religious connection was 
with the First Presbyterian Church, of Alliance, Ohio. He is a citizen who 
has always had the best interests of city and county at heart and on many 
occasions has demonstrated his progressiveness and public spirit. 



P. D. FIRESTONE. 

P. D. Firestone, one of the well-known agriculturists of Auburn town- 
ship, Shawnee County, who owns a fine grain and stock farm of 160 acres 
situated in section 9, township 13, range 14, was born in York County, Penn- 
sylvania, May II, 1828, and is a son of William and Margaret (Better) Fire- 
stone. 

George Firestone, the paternal grandfather, was born in Holland. The 
father of our subject was a prosperous farmer in Pennsylvania, where he 
died when our subject was only two years old, leaving nine children : Daniel, 
Mathias, John, William, Susan, Esther, Polly, Margaret and P. D. 

After the death of the father, the family moved to Cumberland County, 
Pennsylvania, where Mr. Firestone was reared and remained until 1854^ in 
the meantime attending school in various places and securing a superior 
education. His study years were from 16 to 21, during which period he was 
a student at Gettysburg for a time. He then learned the tailoring trade only 
to find that the necessary close confinement would not agree with him and an 
open outdoor life would be more beneficial. In the spring of 1854 he moved 
upon a farm in Wayne County, Ohio, which he operated until 1878 when 
he settled on his present property. He has a valuable farm here, well-improved 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 419 

and finely cultivated, to which he has devoted much attention and from which 
he obtains very satisfactory results. 

Mr. Firestone was married in 1853, in Pennsylvania, to Christiana 
Conn, who was born in York County, Pennsylvania, in 1834, and died on our 
subject's present farm, aged 49 years. Of the 1 1 children born to them, four 
died in infancy, while Margaret died aged six years, Maude died aged three 
years, Clarence died aged 14 years and Samuel died aged two years. The 
survivors are: William L., of Auburn township; Lucy, wife of G. W. Lee, 
of Worcester, Ohio; and Bert, who resides with his father. 

Mr. Firestone has been a Republican all his life but has taken only a good 
citizen's interest in public matters. He is very well known all over Shawnee 
County and is much respected. He has witnessed many changes since coming 
here, has seen all this section developed from a wilderness and has always done 
his part in assisting the wheels of progress. 



WILLIAM S. CURRY. 

Among the pioneer business men of Topeka, who have passed away, 
none stood higher in public esteem than the late William S. Curry. He was 
born in 1823 near White Sulphur Springs, Virginia, and was a son of 
James and Elizabeth (Huston) Curry. 

The parents of Mr. Curry were also of Virginia birth. The father 
owned large plantations there, but in 1830 he removed with his family to 
Rush County, Indiana. Some years later the family moved to Springfield, 
Illinois, and then the mother died. The husband died in Topeka at the home 
of his son, William S. Curry. 

William S. Curry was educated in Rush County, Indiana, and remained 
there until the age of 20 years, when he removed with the family to the 
vicinity of Springfield to Sangamon County Illinois. He remained there 
engaged in farming until 1866, when he moved to Topeka. During his many 
years of residence in the capital city, Mr. Curry was prominently identified 
with real estate interests and was one of the first large shippers of stock. 
He attained fortune and honorable prominence, his name became synonymous 
with honesty and fair dealing, and he left behind a record which reflects only 
credit upon a busy but well spent life. Mr. Curry died at Topeka on August 
14, 1893. 

Mr. Curry was married, first, to Sarah Forden, who died in 1864. In 
1866 he married Cornelia Holcomb, who is a daughter of Alonzo Holcomb, 



420 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

and they had eight children, six of whom survive, viz : William E., a young 
business man of Topeka; Charles E., a large real estate dealer of Topeka; 
Helen F.,who resides w^ith her mother; Mabel C, who is the wife of John 
A. Rosen, patent attorney, whose offices are at No. 418 Kansas avenue; 
Francis H.; George H. and Kenneth H. The family home is situated in 
Highland Park, one of the most attractive suburbs of Topeka. 

Mr. Curry was a leading member of the Methodist Episcopal Church 
and his family attend the same. In politics he was actively identified with 
the Republican party. 



REV. HUGH PARK McCLURKIN, D. D. 

The death of Dr. McClurkin, at his home, No.- 1198 Fillmore street, 
Topeka, on February 18, 1905, removed an able divine, a man of deep spiritual 
character and one of the great expounders of the Presbyterian faith. He was 
born near Rock Creek, Chester County, South Carolina, November 12, 1823, 
and was a son of John and Elizabeth McClurkin. 

The parents of Dr. McClurkin were deeply religious people, who gave up 
all the advantages they enjoyed in a beautiful Southern home, because they 
were conscientiously opposed to slavery. They removed to Illinois in the 
fall of 1833, settling near Sparta. 

Inheriting much from these worthy parents, our subject, was also a youth 
of strong mentality, and during his school days and at Duquesne College 
(now Western University), Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, where he was graduated 
in 1845, he was far in advance of his fellow-students. Upon completing his 
theological course in the Reformed Presbyterian Theological Seminary at 
Cincinnati, he was licensed by the Lakes Presbytery, April 20, 1848, was 
ordained by the Pittsburg Presbytery and on October 15, 1850, was installed 
Pastor of the congregation at Salt Creek (now known as New Concord), 
Ohio. This charge he resigned in October, 1882, after 32 years of work in 
this field. From 1884 to 1891 he was pastor at Wahoo, Nebraska; from 1891 
until 1893, he was pastor of the United Presbyterian Church at Denison, 
Kansas. He then came to Topeka, where he served as pastor of the Reformed 
Presbyterian Church from 1896 until 1902. 

Since the close of this last pastorate Dr. McClurkin was in failing health. 
During his active years no clergyman wielded a more powerful influence, 
which was not confined to the pulpit, but permeated the communities in which 
he lived, bringing about reforms and arousing public sentiment. In repro- 
ducing the resolutions adopted by the Topeka Ministerial Union on this sad 
occasion, an evidence is shown of the high value placed upon his years of 




IDA C. BARNES, M. D. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 423 

fidelity to his calling and of the reverence in which he was held. This paper 
reads as follows: 

Resolved, by the Topeka Ministerial Union, That in the life work and zeal of the late 
Rev. H. P. McClurkin, D. D., we recognize with gratitude to God, the noble man, the 
Christian gentleman, the ripe scholar, the wise teacher, the sound theologian, the loving 
companion, the loyal Christian, and zealous worker and helper in all good causes within 
his reach. His long and useful life was a blessing to the world, and his faithfulness to this 
union for many years gives a fragrancy to his memory which we will cherish through all 
the coming years. (Signed) : 

John D. Knox, 
Stewart Sheldon. 

Dr. McClurkin is survived by his widow and six children, namely : Mary 
E. ; Juliett, who lives at home ; Emma ; Eva ; Albert W. and Carrie. Mary 
E. is the wife of Rev. T. P. Stevenson, D. D., pastor of the First Reformed 
Presbyterian Church of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. They have five chil- 
dren : Waldo, a minister of the Presbyterian Church and missionary to 
Cuba; Clara, wife of Matthew McConnell, of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; 
Helen and Eva, who live at home ; and T. P., Jr., a civil engineer under Queen 
Wilhelmina, of The Netherlands. Emma is the wife of Rev. J. C. Gibney, 
of Newton, Kansas. They have two children, Albert and Harry, who are 
students at Tarkio College, Tarkio, Missouri. Eva is the wife of L. E. 
Gruber, an attorney-at-law at Lincoln, Nebraska. They have two daughters, 
Helen and Alberta. The only son of our subject. Rev. Albert W. McClurkin, 
is a Presbyterian minister of Chicago, Illinois. He married Anna Garland 
of Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, and they have three children : Eleanor, Rachel and 
Jean. Carrie is the wife of W. H. Meyer, a merchant at Enid, Oklahoma. 
They have one daughter, Lois. 



IDA C. BARNES, M. D. 

Ida C. Barnes, M. D., the leading woman physician and surgeon of 
Topeka, whose portrait is herewith shown, is a lady who combines pro- 
fessional skill with the attributes which make her an esteemed and beloved 
member of her sex. Dr. Barnes was born in Kansas and is a daughter of 
Jared and Sarah (Reed) Barnes. The parents of Dr. Barnes were both 
born in New York. They came to Kansas in 1857. The mother died in 
1888, but the father, who is a retired capitalist, still lives, being a resident of 
Topeka. 

Dr. Barnes remained in Kansas until she had completed her collegiate 
course at the Kansas State University, where she was graduated with the 



424 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

degree of B. A. in 1885. From early girlhood her tastes had led her in the 
direction of medical study, and after due preparation she entered the Woman's 
Medical College of Pennsylvania, at Philadelphia, where she was most 
creditably graduated, receiving her diploma in 1890. She remained one 
year in Philadelphia as resident physician in a hospital, working in clinics, 
and absorbing medical and surgical knowledge which could scarcely have 
come to her in any more effective way, and then came to Topeka. She began 
practice in this city in 1891 and has finely appointed offices at No. 726 Kansas 
avenue, where she employs in her practice every pain-alleviating medium of 
modern days, which has received the sanction of the profession. She is a 
constant student and has taken advantage of a number of post-graduate 
courses at Chicago, where she also became experienced in the remedial use o£ 
the X-ray and radium. 

Dr. Barnes is a valued member of the Shawnee County Medical Society ; 
of the Kansas State Medical Society; of the American Medical Association 
and of the Alumnae of the Woman's Medical College, of Philadelphia and 
the Association of College Alumnae. 

She is medical examiner for a number of fraternal associations and for 
the Penn Mutual Life Insurance Company. She is a lady of most enlightened 
views and of great force of character. Possessing in a notable way the 
necessary requisites for a good physician, she finds her field of work con- 
stantly extending. She has filled the position of chairman of the State 
Executive Committee of the Young Women's Christian Association of the 
State of Kansas for the past 13 years. Her beautiful home is located at No. 
1273 Clay street. Like her parents, she is a member of the Baptist Church. 



ANDREW J. ARNOLD. 

Andrew J. Arnold, deceased, at one time postmaster of Topeka, was. 
for many years engaged in the drug business in this city. He was a man of 
considerable prominence and his death, which occurred on March 29, 1899, 
was mourned as a sad loss to the community. 

Mr. Arnold was born in Indiana, January 3, 1845, and was one of seven 
children born to Ephraim and EJdith (Perry) Arnold. Of these children, 
N. B. Arnold, the well-known attorney of Topeka, is the only survivor. The 
father was a man of prominence in his native State and served for many 
years in the Indiana State Legislature. 

Andrew J. Arnold was reared and educated in his native State. When 
a young man he enlisted in Company G, Second Reg., Indiana Vol. Cav.> 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 425 

and served with distinction in the Union Army throughout the remainder of 
the Civil War. Upon his return home he located at Bloomington, Indiana, 
where he attended the State University, graduating therefrom in June, 1868. 
In April, 1870, he located in Topeka and embarked in the drug business, con- 
ducting a store here until his death. During the second administration of 
President Grover Cleveland, he served as postmaster of Topeka, giving the 
people faithful and business like service. 

On October 21, 1869, Mr. Arnold was united in marriage with Louise 
Campbell, a daughter of Prof. M. M. Campbell, who for many years was 
identified with the Indiana State University. She has a brother who is well 
known as a lawyer in Topeka. Edgar Campbell Arnold, the surviving child 
of this union, is one of the largest and most progressive druggists of this 
city and is also a director of the Citizens' Bank of North Topeka, having 
succeeded his father as such. The only other child, Edith, died aged 16 
months. Mr. Arnold was a member of the Masonic order, the Odd Fellows 
and the Knights of Honor. Mrs. Arnold and her son reside in a pleasant home 
at No. 927 North Jackson street, where they are surrounded by many 
friends. 



COL. JAMES BURGESS. 

Col. James Burgess, one of the retired residents of Topeka, has been 
very prominently identified with the development of this city in which he 
located in 1868. He came to Kansas several years after the close of the great 
Civil War, in which he took a distinguished part and gained high rank for 
gallant and faithful services. Colonel Burgess was born at Springfield, Ohio, 
August I, 1826, and is a son of Thomas F. and Elizabeth (Ream) Burgess. 

The parents of Colonel Burgess were born in Virginia, of English extrac- 
tion. His father was a saddler by trade, a business which then included the 
tanning of leather as well as the fashioning of it into articles of utility. Prior 
to the birth of our subject, the family moved to Springfield, Ohio. About 1835 
the Burgess family removed to Indiana, settling first at Richmond, but re- 
moving later to Hendricks County, and there our subject obtained a little more 
instruction in the subscription schools, supplementing that which had been 
afforded him in Ohio, but, in fact amounting to very little. He learned the 
tanning business but not with any view of following it for a livelihood. In 
seekmg a business opening, he entered into a partnership with a resident of 
Belleville, Indiana, for a short time and then for a while engaged in busi- 



426 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

ness, continuing until 1852, when he moved to Danville, Indiana, where he 
was located at the opening of the Civil War. 

His first enlistment was as a private in the three-months call for troops, 
in Company A, Seventh Reg., Indiana Vol. Inf., but he was elected captain 
and served as such until he was discharged. Upon his return home, he was 
selected by Governor Morton as recruiting and organizing officer for his im- 
mediate (Seventh) district. As each such appointed officer had his own 
district, he remained there until he had succeeded in raising three regiments. 
In the meantime the 70th Regiment had been raised, Col. Benjamin Harri- 
son commanding;, and our subject became lieutenant-colonel under him, re- 
signing his position as recruiting and organizing officer and going to the 
front with Colonel Harrison. The intimacy then established continued after 
Colonel Harrison became President of the United States. 

After two years of service under Colonel Harrison, Mr. Burgess was 
ordered back to Indianapolis to report to Governor Morton for recruiting 
service, and the raising of the 124th Regiment was the direct result of his 
efforts. He was appointed colonel of this regiment and served as such 
through all the various army movements and in the campaign before the 
fall of Atlanta, when his regiment was engaged night and day. He was 
honorably discharged in 1865 and returned to Indiana. 

In 1868 Colonel Burgess came to Shawnee County, Kansas, and settled 
on a farm in Soldier township, where he remained 20 years, and then took 
up his residence in Topeka. He built in what was then an unsettled portion 
of the city (now Tyler street, — the heart of the aristocratic section) a beauti- 
ful home, which was erected after plans of his own, combining beauty of 
situation with attractiveness and solid comfort. 

Colonel Burgess has been very prominent in city affairs. For 12 years 
he served in the City Council, during 10 of these years being a member of 
the committee of ways and means, and proved his thorough efficiency in 
promoting the needed public improvements. He also served in the Legisla- 
ture one session from the north side. He was long connected with the mail 
service, having charge of the west side station for two years under Post- 
master Henry King and from 1881 to 1885 he had charge of the north side 
station under Postmaster Thomas Anderson. He was the first superintendent 
of the mail carriers' district appointed on the north side. In 1886 he was 
elected register of deeds of Shawnee County and was reelected in 1888. 
His political affiliation has always been actively Republican. 

Colonel Burgess was married in Clark County, Illinois, August 27, 
1846, to Elizabeth M. Irons, who was born in Hendricks County, Indiana, 
May 12, 1829. They have had five children, the two survivors being mar- 
ried daughters who reside at home. Nannie married John A. Van Vechten 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 427 

and they have three children : Alba, Burgess and Mary. The second daugh- 
ter, Jessie, married S. J. Hodgins. The family is one closely united in af- 
fection. 

For over a half century Colonel Burgess has been a Mason and an Odd 
Fellow; he is a Master Mason in the former organization and past grand of 
his lodge in the latter. While in Indiana he was a representative to the Grand 
Encampment. Although entirely retired from active life, there is no citizen 
of Topeka who takes a deeper interest in her continued prosperity. 



RICHARD BINNS. 



Richard Binns, one of the leading business men of Rossville, Shawnee 
County, and for the past 20 years justice of the peace, was born in 1834 in 
Fayette County, Pennsylvania, and is a son of William and Ruth (Gibson) 
Binns. i 

David Binns, grandfather of our subject, was born in England and 
there followed the brewing business, which he continued after settling in 
Pennsylvania. He was a member of the Society of Friends and thus was 
led to abandon his brewery, it being against the tenets of the Quaker faith 
to manufacture spirituous liquors. William Binns accompanied his parents to 
America when eight years old. He married Ruth Gibson who was born in 
Loudoun County, Virginia, and they both lived to be about 70 years of age. 
In 1844 they moved to Eastern Ohio, settling in Harrison County. 

Our subject lived in Fayette County, Pennsylvania, and then in Harrison 
County, Ohio, until 21 years of age, having attended school in the latter 
county and learned the carpenter's trade. He then went to Richmond, Indiana, 
and there worked at his trade until 1870, when he came to Topeka. In March, 
1 87 1, he settled at Rossville, where he engaged in a hardware business for 
six years, and has continued to follow contracting and building until the 
present time. He has carried out a number of very important contracts, one 
of these being the first government building which was erected on the 
Pottawattomie reservation, which cost $4,000. In his earlier ears he also 
taught school, and for the past 20 years has administered the law as a magis- 
trate at Rossville, to the entire satisfaction of all concerned. 

In 1855, in Indiana, Mr. Binns married Elma H. Hill, who is a daughter 
of Harmon and Mary (Henley) Hill, and they had six children, namely: 
Mary, wife of Elias J. Burton, deceased in 1876; William A., a resident of 
Los Angeles, California, married first to Anna Esson, and second, to Anna 



428 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Higgins; Horace M., deceased, who left four children, — Grace E., Nellie, 
Ethel and Charles, who reside with their mother at Rossville; Frank N., 
residing in Los Angeles, California, who married Anna Mary Wilt and has 
one daughter ; Anna Laura, who married Charles Smiley and died leaving two 
children, — Ruth and Ray; and John B., who died when 27 years of age. 
Politically, Mr. Binns is a stanch Republican. He has been a Mason and an 
Odd Fellow for many years. He is a member of the Presbyterian Church. 
The Hill family is an old established one of Indiana, of English ex- 
traction. Mrs. Binns' grandfather, Benjamin Hill, was born in North Caro- 
lina, June 22, 1770, and married Mary Jessup. In 1802 he moved to Vir- 
ginia and in the fall of 1806 he moved with his family to Indiana, settling 
in the unbroken forest about three miles east of Richmond, entering five 
quarter-sections of land. Pioneer privations and hardships of all kinds were 
endured by the family and his first wife soon succumbed to them. He then 
married Martha Cox, who was born in Randolph County, North Carolina, 
November 28, 1779, and became a resident of Indiana in 1807. They had five 
children : Benjamin, Harmon, Rebecca, Ezra and Enos. Mr. Hill was an 
extensive farmer and he also built the flour and saw mill east of Richmond 
which was known as Hill's Mill. He died February 9, 1829, aged 59 years 
and his widow died January 25, 1867, aged 88 years. 

Harmon Hill was born in Wayne County, Indiana, in 181 1 and died in 
1877. When he was 15 years old he worked in the old mill which remained 
in the Hill family until it was burned down in 1870. Later he became a 
farmer. He married Mary Henley, who was born in 1813 in Indiana, and 
they settled on the old Hill homestead in 1831. They had five children: 
Rebecca, Samuel, Martha Ann, Elma H. and John Henley. 



RUSSELL U. FARNSWORTH. 

Russell U. Farnsworth, deceased, for a period of years was one of 
the representative men of Monmouth township, Shawnee County. He was 
born at Haverhill, New Hampshire, August 12, 1839, and died at Richland, 
Kansas, on January 31, 1897. He was a son of Calvin and Mary Jane 
(Underwood) Farnsworth. 

The parents of Mr. Farnsworth were natives of New Hampshire, repre- 
sentative farming people of their locality. They had five children, of whom 
Russell U. was the eldest, the others being : Silas, who was killed in the army 
during the Civil War, a bullet passing through a Bible which he had bound 
over his heart; Robert, a Methodist preacher, who died in California; Charles, 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 429 

also a Methodist minister, a resident of New Hampshire; and Nellie, wife of 
Rev. Orville Clapp, of New Hampshire. 

The late Russell U. Farnsworth was reared on the home farm until 
young manhood, when he came to Monmouth township, Shawnee County, 
and entered land. He then went back to New England and soon after en- 
listed in Company G, Third Reg., Vermont Vol. Inf., for service in the Civil 
War. His regiment was attached to the Army of the Potomac. From 
the first the life did not agree with him and he was given the position of 
regimental clerk, but finally his health gave way entirely and he was obliged to 
ask for his discharge on account of disability. For a short time he traveled 
through Iowa as a book agent and then decided to return to Kansas. The 
long journey in the open air, driving across the plains with an ox team, 
brought about a better state of health and when he settled on his claim he 
"was able to begin its cultivation. He continued on the farm until he went 
into the implement business at Richland, with E. U. McKee, in which he was 
still interested when attacked by his last illness. 

Mr. Farnsworth was a consistent member of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church and was unusuailly liberal in his support. He took a great deal 
of interest in public matters and was a strong advocate of prohibition, but all 
his life continued to act with the Republican party. He was strictly honest 
and upright, a man who could always be found on the right side of any 
movement and was one who was respected by the whole community. He 
identified himself with the Grange and Farmers' Alliance and he belonged 
also to the Masonic organization of Auburn and to the Richland Post, No. 370, 
Grand Army of the Republic. 

Mr. Farnsworth married, first, Ellen Fairbrother, and they had two chil- 
dren : Josephine, wife of E. L. Hopkins, of Topeka ; and Silas Herbert, who 
was drowned when nearly 10 years old. He married, second, Harriet Isa- 
bella McDowell, who was born in Illinois, December 3, 1852, and is a daugh- 
ter of Jeremiah and Matilda (Foster) McDowell. Both Mr. and Mrs. Mc- 
Dowell were orphans and they met and married in Illinois and reared these 
■children : Harriet Isabella ; James P. ; Edith A., wife of O., C. Kelley of 
St. Louis; Arthur, of Shawnee County; and Noble and Cora, deceased. 
The children of Mr. and Mrs. Farnsworth were: Noble Albert, who died 
aged two years; Jennie A., a graduate of the Emporia Normal School, who 
is a successful teacher in Topeka; and Mabel lone, her mother's assistant, 
who was a student in the Normal School for one year and now devotes her 
spare time to music. 

Mrs. Farnsworth has been the capable postmistress at Richland for the 
-past eight years. She is a lady widely known and much beloved in the com- 



430 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

munity where her late husband was also held in such high esteem. Mrs. 
Farnsworth's uncle, Luther Purley Foster, was prominent as a merchant 
and banker and resided in Parsons, Kansas, at the time of his death. 



4»» 



DANIEL H. KOGER. 

Daniel H. Koger, deceased, one of the large farmers and well-known 
and most highly esteemed citizens of Topeka township, Shawnee County, 
died on his fine farm of 80 acres located in section 35, township 12, range 
15, on April 9, 1899. Mr. Koger was born April 20, 1838, in Powell's Val- 
ley, Tennessee, and was but a few months old when his parents removed to 
Kentucky and settled on a farm near Lexington, which remained his home 
until he was 22 years of age. When about 17 years old he determined to 
secure a good education and managed, by boarding himself, to spend the win- 
ters of some three years at school in Lexington. 

When the trouble between the North and South threatened to result in 
civil war, Mr. Koger determined to remain neutral but different members 
of his family became either Union men or Confederates, and as political 
excitement daily grew higher he decided to change his residence. In i860 
he moved to Fort Leavenworth, Kansas, and during the whole period of the 
war, although not an enlisted man, he worked in some capacity for the gov- 
ernment. He drove a wagon with army supplies, was a government shipping 
clerk, assisted in guarding supply trains and was wagon master on many 
dangerous expeditions. He remained at Fort Leavenworth some 10 years 
and then bought a farm of 160 acres west of Leavenworth. This not turn- 
ing out as well as he had hoped, he returned to Leavenworth and was in the 
employ of the government there as transportation agent and in other capaci- 
ties until 1882, when he came to Topeka. He also spent some three months 
on one of the Indian reservations, in an official capacity and was wont to tell 
many remarkable experiences that came to him during this period. He was 
a man of responsibility and the greatest confidence was placed in his judg- 
ment and ability. 

When Mr. Koger came to Topeka, he engaged with his brother-in-law 
in a livery business, which was continued two years under the firm name of 
Bloomer &. Koger, and then he established a cattle ranch in Sheridan and 
Decatur counties. Western Kansas, in partnership with Jacob W. Thomas, 
of Leavenworth. He continued to reside in Topeka some five years and 
then sold out to his partner and removed to the farm where the remainder 
of his life was spent. He erected here the comfortable family residence and 




WILLIAM L. TAYLOR 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 433 

made many improvements. The farm is now conducted by his son as a dairy 
and fruit farm, and is one of the best in the county. 

In 1872 Mr. Koger married Annie Smith, who was born near Taney- 
town, Carroll County, Maryland, November 29, 1849, ^"^ who moved to 
Leavenworth, Kansas, with her parents in 1856. She is a daughter of David 
and Caroline (Spalding) Smith, the former of whom was at that time a 
well-known buyer and shipper of stock, — ^he now resides with his second wife, 
at Kansas City. Mr. and Mrs. Koger had six children, namely : Walter S., 
operating the farm, who is a 'widower and has one son, — Daniel Hugh ; Mrs. 
Cora Witwer, of Shawnee County; Daniel, of Topeka township; and Mabel, 
David S. and Frank H., who live at home. 

Mr. Koger was a life-long Democrat, but he consented to fill no offices 
except those relating to school affairs in which he took a great interest. He 
was a man who loved to see his friends under his roof and, with his estimable 
wife, proffered a generous hospitality. During his long period of suffering, 
prior to his death, he always had a welcome for all and a genial, pleasant 
manner which brought him many friends. By his family he was deeply 
beloved and by his fellow-citizens, universally esteemed. 



WILLIAM L TAYLOR. 

William L. Taylor, president of The Taylor Grain Company, of 
Topeka, whose portrait accompanies this sketch, is one of the enterprising 
and progressive men who have been attracted to this section of the United 
States because of its apparent wide field of business opportunity. Mr. Taylor 
came to Topeka on April 15, 1902, from Columbus, Ohio, where, although 
still a young man, he had been identified with important grain interests. 

Milling, in these modern . days, is a marvelous industry. From the 
earliest times the grinding of grain has gone on and there still remain a few 
benighted sections where it is carried on under the most primitive conditions. 
In the early settlement of Kansas, one of the most important considerations 
was the possible building of a mill, and many a populous city of the present 
day grew up around the old water-wheel mill. Man's ingenuity has made 
wonderful changes and improvements in all kinds of machinery and methods 
and probably no industry has benefitted more than that of milling. Topeka, 
the great mill city, is the home of one of the finest mills ever constructed 
in any part of the world, one where perfection of plan and equipment has 
resulted in a plant second to none in capacity. Reference is made to the 

21 



434 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Gyrator Mills in North Topeka, dedicated on January 24, 1905, originally 
owned by The Taylor Grain Company, but now owned and operated by The 
Gyrator Milling Company. The establishment of this plant at Topeka and the 
successful completion of all that was proposed at the beginning are due to the 
energy and ability of William L. Taylor, president of The Taylor Grain 
Company and vice-president of The Gyrator Milling Company. 

Coming here in 1902 Mr. Taylor was able, in two years, to see the wide 
field offered for the enterprise he had under consideration. When he an- 
nounced that it was his intention to build here the largest, finest and most 
complete mill in the world, the milling journals made the fact known all over 
the country and he was soon visited by a representative of Wolf & Company, 
of Chambersburg, Pennsylvania, who manufacture the "Gyrator" line of 
machinery. After considering their claim as well as others, Mr. Taylor 
made the agreement with this company that he would construct his mill after 
their latest improved plans and specifications and they were to install the most 
improved milling machinery manufactured. The guarantee was given that 
the mill would produce a better grade of flour, at a less cost for manufactur- 
ing, than any other mill made. 

The mill proper, a view of which is shown on another page of this work, 
is five and a half stories high, made of pressed brick laid in cement through- 
out and the walls are 26 inches thick above the second story. The first and 
second floors are of white maple, the third, fourth and fifth of long leaf yellow 
pine, quarter-sawed. On each floor there is a stand-pipe with fire hose at- 
tached ready for use, two barrels of water and two hand fire-grenades. 
Speaking-tubes run to the office from all floors and electric light is furnished 
all over the building, provided by the company's own motor. The walls, 
ceilings and posts are all painted a pure white with a fire-proof composition 
and every bearing of the machinery is self-oiling. A brief description of 
the manner of treating the wheat, which comes to the consumer so thoroughly 
milled yet retaining all the sustaining qualities of the grain, must be in- 
teresting to every reader of this work who depends for sustenance upon the 
"staff of life." 

In 1903 Mr. Taylor purchased what was known as the Capital Elevator 
at Topeka and changed its name to Elevator A. It has a capacity of 300,000 
bushels. The wheat is brought from this elevator through an underground 
tunnel to the bottom of the mill, having been put in fine condition previously. 
It is then elevated to the top and put on a special milling separator, which 
is composed of four Wolf gyrators, in four compartments, each compart- 
ment having five sieves, making 20 to each gyrator. These remove more 
thoroughly than by any other system every foreign seed such as cockle, rye 
or cheat. From here the grain is elevated to a special scouring machine where 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 435 

every grain has its coat thoroughly scoured and the little fine fuzz, only to 
be detected by the use of a glass, is removed. From here the wheat is dropped 
into a basin where it receives a light soaking in water which causes it to swell 
and loosen the bran. It is then elevated into what is called a brush machine 
which cleans out the little crevice in every grain of wheat so that when it 
strikes the rolls it is absolutely clean and nothing remains but the sustaining 
berry and its coat of bran. 

This wonderful mill has made provision for the rapid handling of the 
grain and has numberless improved machines found in no other plant. On 
the first floor are five packers, three for flour and two for feed ; by the side 
of each packer is a platform scales, on which every package is weighed as 
handled. The flour elevators and chutes are all tin-lined, this precaution pre- 
cluding a possibility of bugs or weevil. On the second floor are found 21 
rolls, 9 by 30 inch double stands, which grind the wheat, taking the place of 
the stones used in former days. On the fourth floor are found four dust 
collectors, six middling purifiers, one brush machine and one scourer. On 
the fifth are located six centrifugal reels, one bran duster, one shorts duster, 
one "Imperial" rolling screen, one separator, two tubular dust collectors, 
one cyclone dust collector and the four mammoth gyrators, which bolt the 
flour, separating the bran, shorts, etc. This mill has a 1,200-barrel capacity. 
A specialty is made of two brands, — "Perfection" and "Invincible." 

In 1904 The Taylor Grain Company was incorporated as a stock com- 
pany with these officers : William L. Taylor, president ; Charles E. French, 
secretary and treasurer ; and Edward A. Austin and M. A. Taylor, directors. 
A very recent organization was The Gyrator Milling Company with these 
officers : W. H. Davis, president ; William L. Taylor, vice-president ; Charles 
E. French, secretary; J. B. B. Betts, treasurer and C. K. Holliday, director. 
This company leased the new mill of The Taylor Grain Company and will do 
a milling and flour business, both domestic and foreign, but the elevator and 
grain business will be carried on by The Taylor Grain Company. 

The Taylor Grain Company has established branch agencies throughout 
Missouri, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana and Ohio and ships thousands of cars of 
grain annually to the East. Mr. Taylor is credited with being one of the 
best posted men on grain freight rates in the United States and can name 
the rate to every place without any reference to the tariff book. He has 
gathered around him a force of able, experienced grain men, all of whom have 
had business experience, although none have reached middle life. Among 
these special mention should be made of A. W. Long, the capable superin- 
tendent, who has had much milling experience in Virginia, in the Northwest 
and in Kansas. Formerly he was one of the stockholders of the Manhattan 
Milling Company, at Manhattan, Kansas, and retired from that company to 



436 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

become one of the stockholders in The Taylor Grain Company. It was 
largely upon his advice that the celebrated "Gyrator" machinery was in- 
stalled here. Charles E. French, secretary of the company, came originally 
to Topeka from Farmer City, Illinois, and became traveling representative of 
what was then W. L. Taylor & Company, and in this capacity he became 
known to almost every shipper in Kansas, Nebraska, Indian Territory and 
Oklahoma. The auditor of the company, R. B. Nelson, was a school teacher 
in Iowa and then a bookkeeper for one of the largest grain firms in that 
State and subsequently manager of the Wheeler Grain & Coal Company of 
Laurens, Iowa. He next accepted a position as chief clerk and then chief 
accountant with one of Pittsburg's steel companies. Upon the incorporation 
of The Taylor Grain Company, Mr. Taylor made him auditor and chief 
accountant, a position for which he is qualified by long experience, added to 
natural ability in this line. The company has representatives at all the lead- 
ing shipping ports and their manager at Galveston, Texas, has been appointed 
Belgian consul at that point. 



HON. ARCHIBALD. F. WILLIAMS. 

Hon. Archibald F. Williams, United States commissioner and a 
prominent attorney-at-law of Topeka, was born at Topeka, October ii, 
1869, and is a son of Archibald L. and Elizabeth C. (Ferguson) Williams 
and a grandson of the late Hon. Archibald Williams, who was the first United 
States District judge of Kansas. 

Judge Archibald Williams was born in 1801 at Mount Sterling, Ken- 
tucky. The name is of Welsh extraction and the founder of the family in 
America came from Wales and settled in Virginia, forming a part of the 
loyalist or cavalier party known by the Puritans of New England as "Rake- 
hellies," which was a derisive name applied to those who did not adopt their 
own austere belief and follow their manner of living. Frequent mention 
may be found of these objectionable people in the writings of Roger Wil- 
liams, who, without doubt came from the same parent stock in Wales. For 
many years the Williams family flourished in Virginia where the name is 
still one well known, but prior to the birth of Judge Williams his parents 
had migrated to Kentucky. A young law practitioner. Judge Williams re- 
moved to Illinois in 1826, locating at Quincy, and he subsequently became an 
intimate personal friend of Abraham Lincoln. Upon many occasions he 
represented his county in the Legislature, and under the administration of 
President Taylor served as United States attorney. When the Kansas- 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 437 

Nebraska troubles were brewing, he was made a nominee for Congress on 
what was known as the "Anti-Nebraska" or "Anti-Slavery" ticket, and at the 
organization of the Republican party he was one of its sponsors. 

When Abraham Lincoln was elected President, one of his first appoint- 
ments, after his selection of his Cabinet, was that of Judge Williams as the 
first United States District judge of Kansas, and in this connection it may 
be noted, that Mr. Lincoln had offered a position of the Supreme Court 
bench of the United States to his trusted friend. This great honor, which 
subsequently fell to Judge David Davis, of Illinois, was declined by Judge 
Williams who modestly declared himself not well enough equipped to accept 
so exalted a position. While this opinion was not shared by his cotempo- 
raries, his decision was accepted by the President and he was sent to Kansas 
in a scarcely less honorable or onerous position. Prior to his decease in 1863, 
he had returned to Quincy, where his life closed. 

Archibald L. Williams, son of Judge Williams, located in Kansas in 
1861, a short time before his father came to the State, and entered upon 
the practice of the law, a profession in which his eminence is only second 
to that of his distinguished father. At different times he served as city 
and county attorney and for four years he was acting United States attorney. 
In 1870 and again in 1872, he was elected by the Republican party, At- 
torney General of Kansas. For years and from its beginning, he was con- 
sulting attorney for the old Kansas Pacific Railroad Company at Topeka 
and continued in office with the different railroad organizations which suc- 
ceeded it. In 1887 he became general attorney for the Union Pacific Railroad 
Company, in Kansas, a position requiring every qualification of an able, ex- 
perienced, tactful and judicious lawyer. 

While Mr. Williams' eminence in the profession is well known in all 
departments of the law, his services to the State, in 1874, in curtailing the 
fraudulent organizing of western counties, added credit to an administration 
of the attorney generalship, which in every feature had been a credit to 
the State. It was through his almost unaided efforts that the practice of or- 
ganizing western counties by fraud was broken up. A short time previously, 
the counties of Barbour (since changed to Barber), Harper and Comanche 
had been organized, and they had issued, between them, about $250,000 in 
bonds. This sum had, to put it mildly, been unloaded partly on the State 
School Fund but more extensively on unsuspecting Eastern investors. In 
the course of time this produced trouble and a public investigation was de- 
manded. The Legislature appointed an investigating committee which was 
composed of one member from each House and the Attorney General, Mr. 
Williams. 

The member of the Senate and the member of the House started out on 



438 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

a tour of investigation as ordered, but certain ones who had reason to fear 
a searching visit of the authorities had devised a scheme by which Justice 
should be turned aside and they should go their way without molestation^ 
Those were days when Indian outrages were not uncommon and as the 
legislators were only human and had families dependent upon them, they gave 
credence to the tales poured in their ears of savage uprisings in the far 
western counties whither their duty led them and prudently turned back. When 
this scheme was tried on Attorney General Williams, the conspirators found 
they had to deal with a man of different mettle. He made his way to 
the lands in question, visiting Barbour, Harper and Comanche counties and 
returned alive and very willing to make a report. He found that Barbour 
County had a few bona fide residents although not numerous enough to 
legalize the organization of the county, but that Harper and Comanche coun- 
ties were not settled at all. 

The meaningless report submitted by the other members of the com- 
mittee, from hearsay, was supplemented by that of the Attorney General and 
it has been preserved not only as a historic paper but as a contribtition to 
humorous literature. We submit an excerpt : 

"There is no population in Comanche County. If Marius sat amid the 
ruins of Carthage and wept, I camped upon the town-site of Smallwood, the 
county-seat, and feasted upon wild turkey, with no white man to molest or 
make me afraid. In Smallwood there are two log cabins, both deserted, 
without doors, windows, sash or blinds. About a mile off is a deserted ranch. 
These compose the houses of the householders of the county. In this county 
there is not an acre of land or a dollar's worth of property subject to tax- 
ation ; its sole inhabitants are the Cheyennes and the coyote, the wolf and the 
Arrapahoes, and its organization is and always has been a fraud. Harper 
and Comanche counties were organized solely for plunder. The vast amount 
of bonds issued has seriously injured our credit abroad. To issue these 
bonds required wholesale perjury and forgery. When these counties are 
properly attached to some other county for judicial purposes, the thieves who 
issued these bonds should be attended to. The State, through its Attorney 
General and the proper county attorneys, should put every engine of the law 
in force ; should pursue, capture, try, convict and lock up these rogues, so that 
our credit may be restored and other incipient rascals of a like character, 
quickened with a similar ambition, may be deterred from the crime through 
a fear of a like fate." 

This vigorous protest had the effect desired and the whole credit rests 
with Mr. Williams. He still continues in the practice of his profession and 
his name still is, as it always has been, held in the highest honor. 

On August 28, 1862, Archibald L. Williams was married in Posey 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 439 

County, Indiana, to Elizabeth (Cloud) Ferguson, and they have six chil- 
dren, all of whom are residents of Topeka. 

Archibald F. Williams, our immediate subject, was educated in the 
common schools of Topeka and at Washburn College, with three years in- 
struction at a military school at Boonville, Missouri. He then read law under 
his eminent father and later took a course in the State University of Michigan 
at Ann Arbor, graduating in 1892. Mr. Williams began to practice as an 
attorney of the Union Pacific Railroad Company, later formed a law part- 
nership with C. K. HoUiday, but since 1895 has been alone. 

Mr. Williams has always been an active member of the Republican 
party and has been frequently honored by election to responsible offices. In 
1903 he was elected to the Legislature, a position he resigned in order to accept 
.the one he now fills, that of United States commissioner. 

Mr. Williams is a member of the Bar Association of the State of Kansas 
and of the Commercial Club of Topeka and belongs also to the Elks. 



HON. JOSEPH S. FARRELL. 

Hon. Joseph S. Farrell, a successful farmer and stock-raiser of Sol- 
dier township, Shawnee County, who owns a half-section, the best part of 
section 29, township 10, range 16, was born December 24, 1849, in Delaware 
County, Iowa, and is a son of Francis and Vin (Ray) Farrell. 

The father of Mr. Farrell was born in Ireland and after he came to 
America spent some years at Philadelphia, where he was employed in the 
construction of public works. In 1848 he moved to Iowa, where he followed 
farming until his death in 1852. His widow survived until 1858. Our 
subject has two brothers : Francis, a resident of Pocahontas County, Iowa, 
who has seven children; and Thomas, of Cherokee County, Iowa, who has 
one child. 

Joseph S. Farrell was reared and educated in Iowa and early devoted 
himself to agricultural pursuits. In 1878 he came to Kansas and settled on a 
farm of 160 acres in Jewell County, which locality remained his home for 
22 years. During this period Mr. Farrell became one of the county's most 
prominent men, serving 18 years on the School Board of the local district 
and taking a very active interest in political affairs. In 1896 he was elected 
to the Legislature on the Populist ticket and served one term and through 
the extra session, during which time he supported the maximum railroad 
rate bill and the school book bill, proving himself a conscientious and faith- 



440 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

ful legislator. He served also as township trustee for some four years and 
dominated party affairs in his township for a number of years. In 1900 he. 
sold his property there and bought his present farm, which he conducts in a 
great measure as a stock and cattle farm. 

Mr. Farrell was married October 6, 1879, to Bridget Sullivan, who is 
a daughter of John and Mary (Cunningham) Sullivan, who came to Kansas 
in 1888 and settled in Jewell County, where Mr. Sullivan died April 18, 
1894. Mr. and Mrs. Farrell have had these children : Mary V., residing at 
home; Katherine (Mrs. Charles Rail), of Kansas City, who has two chil- 
dren, — Charles and Emmet; Francis and James, both at home; Agnes Wini- 
fred, who died February 11, 1894; and Mabel and Marguerite, both at home. 
The family belong to the Catholic Church. 

Mr. Farrell completed the beautiful family residence a year ago. It 
is modern throughout and is situated on a bluff from which can be seen a 
wide stretch of valley and the city of Topeka. It is one of the ideal rural 
homes of the township. 



JOHN S. JORDAN. 

John S. Jordan, proprietor of the "Elmdale Fruit Farm," is one of the 
substantial and representative citizens of Williamsport township, Shawnee 
County, his 240 acres of valuable land being situated in sections 23 and 24, 
township 13, range 15. Mr. Jordon was born near Hudson, Columbia 
County, New York, June 26, 1835, and is a son of Abram J. and Mary 
(Snyder) Jordan. 

The parents of Mr. Jordan spent their whole lives in New York, where 
the father was a prosperous farmer. The family consisted of two daughters 
and four sons: Mrs. Caroline Henry, deceased; Mrs. Ann Palmer, de- 
ceased ; John S., of this sketch ; Benjamin, of Columbia County, New York ; 
George, deceased; William A., who lives on the old homestead; and Niram 
P., of Wilkesbarre, Pennsylvania. Two children were born to a second 
marriage. 

Our subject was reared on his father's farm and obtained his education 
in the schools of Columbia County. When 18 years old he went to Kendall 
County, Illinois, and engaged in farming there until 1873 when he removed 
with his family to his present farm in Shawnee County. It was then well- 
improved and he has continued improving until it now is one of the most 
valuable fruit farms of the county. He has 120 acres in apples of the best 
varieties and ships an immense quantity. He also carries on general farm- 




■^"8 VAi^usms Rooml-''^ 




t^r^^t^-r-^' 



f^^^. ^. ^^4^0^ 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 443 

ing and stock-raising and makes every branch of his work contribute a satis- 
factory income, all his land but 20 acres being under cultivation. 

Mr. Jordan was married in i860, in Illinois, to Helen Jennie Moore, 
who was born at Lisbon, Kendall County, Illinois, and is a daughter of 
Horace and Jane (Cody) Moore, natives of Oneida County, New York. 
They have four children, namely : Edith May, wife of James Stanley Banks, 
of Grantville, Kansas; Clyde H., of Williamsport township; Horace A., liv- 
ing at home ; and Lulu, wife of Bert Schaffer, of Williamsport township. 

Prior to settling in Kansas, Mr. Jordan had crossed the plains in the 
employ of the government as a teamster, and was then impressed with the 
agricultural possibilities of this section. Although he takes only an intelligent 
citizen's interest in public affairs, he never misses an election, affiliating with 
the Republican party. 



HON. SILAS E. SHELDON, M. D. 

During a period of more than 30 years, the late Dr. Silas E. Sheldon, 
whose portrait accompanies this sketch, practiced the profession of medicine 
in the city of Topeka, where his life work ended on April 19, 1900. Dr. 
Sheldon was born in Lorain County, Ohio, and was a son of Elam and Azubah 
(Robinson) Sheldon. 

Silas E. Sheldon was reared on his father's farm and attended the local 
schools until 1854, when the family moved to Berea, Ohio, and the young 
man entered Baldwin University where he enjoyed collegiate advantages for 
two years. In that city he began the study of medicine, in 1856, with Dr. 
Alxander McBride as his preceptor, and in 1858 entered the University of 
Michigan at Ann Arbor. In i860 he was graduated in medicine at the Cleve- 
land Medical College. Until 1862 he practiced in Cleveland but then entered 
the army in the capacity of assistant surgeon of the 32nd Regiment, Ohio 
Vol. Inf., with which he continued until 1864. He remained in the service 
until the close of the war, from the above date being medical inspector on the 
staff of General Coxy who later was elected Governor of Ohio. During a por- 
tion of his army service, he was surgeon of the 104th Regiment, Ohio Vol. 
Inf., with the rank of major, and was mustered out as surgeon. 

Dr. Sheldon's coming to Topeka was probably for the same reason that 
at that time brought professional men, business men and laborers here — a 
search for a wider field of opportunity. He was welcomed by the physicians 
already established who found in him a congenial colaborer, a valuable assist- 
ant and a careful, scientific investigator as well as a skilled practitioner. The 
work he accomplished in the line of medicine in his chosen city fills an import- 



444 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

ant chapter in its history. For a considerable period, he was chief surgeon 
for the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway Company. Dr. Sheldon was 
noted for his earnest and careful private practice and he carried the same quali- 
ties into the various lines of public work which called for his disinterested 
services on many occasions. His death brought to a close a life rich in good 
deeds, high endeavor and notable achievement. 

In politics, Dr. Sheldon was only active so far as he thought the success 
of his party would promote the best interests of his country. He was elected 
and served two sessions in the Kansas State Senate. His first vote was cast 
for Abraham Lincoln, for whose life, character and principles he entertained 
the most profound respect. He was one of the organizers of Lincoln Post, G. 
A. R., and the post's first commander. An enthusiast in Free Masonry, he 
held many of the high offices of the order. In this body he was prominent for 
many years and held high rank, in 1876 being elected grand commander of 
Knights Templar of Kansas. He was a vestryman in the Protestant Episco- 
pas Church for 17 years and devoted to church work. The State and local 
medical societies had in him a useful and learned member. He successfully 
maintained his private hospital in Topeka for many years. Dr. Sheldon is 
buried in a most beautiful spot opposite the Garfield Monument, in Lake View 
Cemetery, at Cleveland, Ohio, the home of his earlier years and successes. 

In 1866, Dr. Sheldon was married to Ann Eliza Ball, a daughter of Cap- 
tain John Ball, one of the leading citizens of Cleveland, Ohio. She still sur- 
vives and occupies a warm place in the hearts of a large circle of friends and 
of those whom her many charities and beneficences have reached. She gave 
to the State Library a collection of 100 valuable books, at the same time pro- 
viding for the maintenance of the collection by a gift of $5,000 as an endow- 
ment fund. She resides in handsome apartments at the Copeland Hotel. 
Like her late husband, she is very liberal in her gifts to worthy objects. 



CYRUS CORNING. 

Cyrus Corning, one of the well-known business men of Topeka, whose 
able and independent political career for a number of years made him widely 
known, was born July 12, 1844, at Stockholm, St. Lawrence County, New 
York, and is a son of Russell and Sarah (White) Corning. 

The father of Mr. Corning was born in New York and his mother in 
Vermont. The father, who was a farmer, moved with his family to Wiscon- 
sin in 1850 and came to Kansas in 1878, settling on a farm in Ness County 
where he died in 1882. His wife died seven years later. Both parents were 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 445 

interred at Plainfield, Wisconsin. They had five children : Henry, a mechanic 
and farmer at Florence, Colorado ; Cyrus, of this sketch ; Sidney A., a lawyer 
at Plainfield, Wisconsin; Lovina (Mrs. James Sharp), of Nebraska; and 
Charles S., a farmer living near Plainfield, Wisconsin. 

Mr. Corning was educated at Allen's Grove Academy, at Allen's 
Grove, Wisconsin, Ripon College, at Ripon, and then attended Lawrence 
University at Appleton, acquitting himself so well that by the time he was 
ly years old he was authorized to take charge of a district school. He con- 
tinued to teach and became principal of the school at DePere, Brown County, 
and subsequently of the Appleton High School, remaining in the former con- 
nection for three and in the latter for two years. Failing health caused him to 
change his occupation and led him to make his first entrance into journalism. 
He started a paper called the Stockbridge Enterprise, which he conducted 
for about eight months, and then, in the spring of 1876, removed to Law- 
rence, Kansas, where he read law with Hon. George J. Barker, now post- 
master there. In that same summer he was admitted to practice and he 
continued in practice for seven years. During this time his health again gave 
him trouble and caused his giving up his practice in the city and his removal 
to Ness County, where he was elected first county attorney. Two years later 
he came to Topeka. 

Soon after, Mr. Corning became deeply interested in the reform move- 
ment and so convinced that his duty lay in the use of his voice and pen in 
furthering the day of its success, that he went to Osage County, which seemed 
a promising field, and started the Kansas Workman. This paper he conducted 
for 12 years in connection with a fair law practice. When the movement in 
which he was so interested became still more one of the issues of the day, 
Mr. Corning entered into the arena as a worker and speaker, but before long 
he found that the excitement and hardship of this work again threatened his 
health and again he was compelled to retire for a time. In 1884, however, 
he entered the field on an independent ticket and defeated the Lewelling party 
ticket by a majority of 35,ocx) votes. Mr. Corning has lived to see many of 
his prophesies come to pass and an encouraging number of the reforms, to 
which he has devoted the best energies of his life, adopted. He is a strong 
believer in State ownership of all trusts and corporations and, in times past, 
he has predicted, while lecturing on socialism, on the corner of Sixth and 
Kansas avenues, such laws as that enacted by the last Legislature giving the 
State the ownership of the oil business. 

In 1904 Mr. Corning started a general job printing office at No. 833 
Kansas avenue and continues interested in it. During the fall of 1901 he 
started a paper at Enterprise, an independent journal called the Enterprise 
Star, its policy leaning toward Populism. Since 1890 he has resided perma- 



446 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

nently at Topeka. Mr. Corning has had four noted public discussions : one 
with Senator Kelly, at McPherson, in 1888; the second with Joseph Ady, 
at Newton, in the same year; the third with Mr. Ady at Burlington; and 
twice in 1890 and 1891, with F. B. Dawes, Attorney General of the State. 



HON. MATTHEW R. MITCHELL. 

Hon. Matthew R. Mitchell, M. D., one of the citizens of Topeka, 
whose distinguished services during the Civil War of themselves justify a 
claim to prominent mention, without considering his political and professional 
eminence, was born Nevember 10, 1835, in Logan County, Ohio, and is a son 
of Matthew and Margaret S. (Speer) Mitchell. 

The parents of Dr. Mitchell belonged to the substantial agricultural 
class of Ohio. Of their 1 1 children, seven still survive, the three who became 
residents of Kansas being our subject and a brother, William S. (a retired 
farmer of Olathe, Johnson County), and a sister Elizabeth (widow of Thomas 
Hutchinson, of the same place). 

Matthew R. Mitchell was educated at the academy at Northwood, Ohio, 
and then entered Jefferson College, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, where he 
was graduated in June, 1862. On the 25th of the following September, he 
enlisted for a term of service in the Civil War, becoming a member of Com- 
pany B, 88th Reg., Ohio Vol. Inf., under command of Colonel Neff. When it 
became public policy to enlist colored troops, Mr. Mitchell was commissioned 
a ist lieutenant and two weeks later was appointed adjutant of the 27th Reg- 
iment, United States Colored Troops, under Colonel Blackman and Lieu- 
tenant Colonel Donaldson. He served as adjutant until August i, 1864, 
when he was wounded before Petersburg, being shot through the face. On 
account of being so seriously injured he was given a furlough of two months. 
When he rejoined his regiment along the Weldon Railroad, he found that 
he had been promoted to the rank of captain during his absence, under Gen- 
eral Butler. This resulted in his participation in the memorable siege of Fort 
Fisher when the colored troops gave such a good account of themselves. In 
June of that year he was commissioned major and with this rank he was 
mustered out at Smithfield, North Carolina, in September, 1865. Major 
Mitchell saw much hard service and took part in all the dangerous fighting in 
front of Richmond and at Petersburg, and endured the four days and four 
nights siege at Fort Fisher. 

After his return from the army, where he had made a brilliant record. 
Major Mitchell began the study of medicine, reading under Dr. Clason, Dr. 



V 




COL. ALEXANDER SOULE JOHNSON 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 449 

Sullivan and Dr. Fulton, and then entered the Cincinnati Medical College, 
where he was graduated in 1868. At this time this institution had a faculty 
of distinguished and able men, including Dr. Blackman, Dr. Wright, Dr. 
Graham, Dr. Parvin, now of Philadelphia, subsequently of Jefferson Medical 
College, and a prominent author, and Dr. Barthelow, the author of "Medical 
Therapeutics," all of whom gained the esteem of Dr. Mitchell and gave him 
great encouragement. 

Dr. Mitchell located at Fairmount, Leavenworth County, Kansas, and 
during his seven years of residence there became one of the leading citizens, 
and was elected to the House of Representatives from the 24th District. In 
1875, after the expiration of his legislative term. Dr. Mitchell located at 
Topeka and this city has been his place of residence ever since. For nine 
years he has been health officer here, a position of grave importance, and has 
filled the duties with complete efficiency. 

He was married on March 10, 1868, to Mary M. Fulton, of Bellefontaine, 
Ohio, who is a daughter of Dr. Abraham and Lucretia (Huntington) Fulton, 
the former of whom was one of Dr. Mitchell's early preceptors. They have 
three children: Porter M., Clara and Stella. 

Politically, Dr. Mitchell votes the Republican ticket. He is a member 
of the Grand Army of the Republic and is ex-commander of Blue Post, No. 
250, Topeka. He is an elder in the United Presbyterian Church. 



COL. ALEXANDER SOULE JOHNSON. 

CoL. Alexander Soule Johnson, whose portrait is shown on the oppo- 
site page, was born in that part of the Indian Territory which is now Wyan- 
dotte County, Kansas, on July 11, 1832, and died at Dallas, Texas, December 
9, 1904. He was born in Topeka, in the State whose first white child he was 
and where he lived 72 eventful and useful years. In his funeral sermon Dr. 
Evans said : "A great and good man has passed away. He was a pioneer. 
He was one of the prophesies come true of her destiny. He was her first son. 
It is unnecessary to review the life of Colonel Johnson with a desire to mag- 
nify his name. But to impress upon those who hear this his manly characteris- 
tics, his unimpeachable honesty, his spirit of fairness and justice, we will go 
back over the span of his life and tell its history from his deeds." 

The story of his life runs parallel with that of his loved State and little 
in connection with its settlement, growth, progress and prosperity can be 
mentioned without reference to him and to his influence. "He was born 
brave," one who knew him said, which was a necessary birthright in a country 



450 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

overrun by savages. His parents were Rev. Thomas and Sarah (Tittle) 
Johnson. All the immediate family of Sarah Tittle, living in a border settle- 
ment of Kentucky less than a hundred years ago, were massacred by Indians 
under their famous chieftain Tecumseh, she alone escaping. It was a strange 
fate that later sent her, wife of the Virginia Methodist preacher, a missionary 
with him to the Shawnee tribe that had bereft her of kindred. With Christian 
fortitude and courage they lived and labored among this people. In 1837 
the Shawnee Methodist Mission was moved to what is now Johnson County, 
Kansas, named in honor of Rev. Thomas Johnson. Under his supervision 
the Shawnee Manual Labor School was established, where the Indians were 
taught helpful and practical knowledge and, by precept and example, the 
ways of peace. He conducted this school more than a quarter of a century 
and here his son Alexander studied much besides books during his earlier 
years, later entering Central College at Lafayette, Missouri, and completing 
its course. 

In 185 1 Alexander S. Johnson became partner in the firm of J. Riddels- 
berger, Westport (now Kansas City), Missouri, then the foremost forwarding 
and commission house in that section of the West. His business success was 
notable but a fortunate circumstance turned him from a counting room career. 
When the Territory of Kansas was organized, he and his father were elected 
members of the Territorial Council, which body chose Rev. Thomas Johnson 
its first presiding officer. In 1886 Colonel Johnson was elected to the State 
Legislature from Johnson County. These were the only offices held by him 
under the State, inclination leading him in other directions. He was superin- 
tendent of Shawnee Mission from 1858 to 1862 when it was abandoned, 
later becoming the home of the family by grant from the United States gov- 
ernment to the estate of Rev. Thomas Johnson. 

\\'hen Civil War was declared, both father and son espoused the 
Union cause which resulted in death of the former, he being killed on New 
Years Day, 1865, while defending his home from Rebel Raiders. The latter 
organized a company of volunteers which became part of the 13th Kansas 
Militia, of which he was appointed lieutenant-colonel, and served his country 
with great bravery and distinction. 

In early manhood young Johnson studied surveying and as United States 
deputy surveyor surveyed the Indian lands of Johnson County. Knowledge 
and experience thus gained proved stepping stones to his appointment in 1866 
as land commissioner to the Fort Scott & Gulf road; in 1870 surveyor and 
appraiser of the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe land grant, and subsequently 
its land and tax commissioner, which positions he held until his resignation 
in 1870. During these years with the Santa Fe, its three million acres were 
opened for settlement and sold under the management of Colonel Johnson. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 451 

As means to an end, he conceived and perfected the road's display at the Cen- 
tennial Exposition, repeating the object lesson at the Atlanta Exposition. 
The land department became famous the world over, its lieutenants every- 
where telHng of "homes for millions" upon the fertile soil of Kansas. Ere 
long the "Great American Desert" became a tale of the past. An army of 
peaceful invaders turned the soil, sowed and planted and lo! what had been 
a desolate waste was converted into teeming fields, attractive homesteads 
and prosperous communities. The successful issue was due to Colonel John- 
son's great business and executive ability, backed by his "unimpeachable 
honesty, his spirit of fairness and justice." To his credit and that of his 
assistants be it said that throughout their handling of the land grant not one 
lawsuit resulted. When the stupendous task was accomplished and the inti- 
mate relationship of 20 years was sundered, his "boys" paid tribute to their 
chief in service of silver and words of gold. The speaker said : "During all 
these years of our association with you in this work, which we have seen 
crowned with triumphant success, we have perhaps succeeded in bringing to 
view almost every phase of your character and I speak for all when I say it 
never has been unfolded to your reproach. If we looked for business industry, 
we found you at your desk. If we looked for friendship, we found kind 
counsel. If we looked for truth, we found you scorned falsehood and misrep- 
resentation. If we looked for charity, we found you considerate of other 
industries. If we looked for honor, we found you unmoved by every bribe 
of interest. If we looked for constancy of friends, we found you defending 
your 'boys.' If we. looked for the broadest manhood, we found in you a 
Christian gentleman." Thus spoke those who had known Colonel Johnson 
day by day through many trying years and their words of commendation and 
affection voiced so long ago are a fitting memorial now to him who is no more. 

Colonel Johnson moved to Topeka in 1870 and immediately became iden- 
tified with the Methodist Church and active in all interests pertaining to the 
city's welfare. He was one of those instrumental in establishing Topeka's 
water service and Edison electric plant, serving on each board of control. 
For 18 years he was vice-president of the Central National Bank and one 
of its directors. He was president of the Topeka Club from its organization 
and a member of the State Historical Society and of the Old Settlers' Asso- 
ciation. He was a Knight Templar from early manhood. Unassuming to a 
degree, he never sought personal aggrandizement; instead he forgot self in 
remembering others. He was a rarely attractive and lovable man, his sweet 
and gentle nature suggesting one familiar only with the amenities and refine- 
ments of a retired and peaceful life, not a son of the border, born among 
Indians and reared amid scenes of strife. 

In 1852 Alexander S. Johnson married Prudence C. Funk, of Maryland. 



452 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Four children were born to them, of whom but one is living — Mrs. Charles 
E. Fargo, of Dallas, Texas. In 1887 he married Zippie A. Scott, of Man- 
chester, New Hampshire, who survives him. 

Colonel Johnson was especially a domestic man, an ideal host and his 
beautiful home in Topeka was an appropriate setting for the genial, courtly 
gentleman whom to know was to love loyally. In his passing Kansas lost 
her oldest and one of her most distinguished sons. 



SAMUEL J. YAGER. 

Samuel J. Yager, who has been a resident of Auburn township, Shaw- 
nee County, since 1866, and owns a well-improved farm of 240 acres, situated 
in section 23, township 13, range 14, was born in Oldham County, Kentucky, 
March 13, 1834, and is a son of Willis and Nancy (Overstreet) Yager. 

Jesse Yager, the paternal grandfather, was born in Virginia, of German 
ancestry. He moved to Kentucky, where his son Willis was born. The latter 
died at the age of 35 years. The mother of our subject was a native of Old- 
ham County and died in Shawnee County, aged 65 years. Her father, Sam- 
uel Overstreet, was a soldier in the War of 1812. The father of Samuel J. 
Yager died when the latter was but two years of age, leaving five children, 
viz : John, deceased ; Mrs. Elizabeth Fields ; Willis, deceased ; Samuel J., 
of this sketch; and Mrs. Martha Netherton, deceased. 

After the death of the father, the mother took her little ones to Johnson 
County, Indiana. In 1864 our subject visited Shawnee County for two 
months and was so pleased with the appearance of the land that in 1866 he 
came here and settled permanently, buying 240 acres of land, only 40 of which 
had been fenced and cultivated. Mr. Yager has placed his land under cultiva- 
tion and has made many substantial improvements here, including the build- 
ing of a fine brick dwelling and all necessary barns and outbuildings. He 
devotes his land to growing grain and stock. Two of his sons are located 
in the neighborhood, each owning farms of 80 acres. 

Mr. Yager was married in 1864, in Indiana, to Magdalene M. Terrill, 
who was born near Middleton, Ohio, in 1845, and is a daughter of Hampton 
and Hannah (Aten) Terrill, whom she accompanied in childhood to Indiana, 
which was her father's native State. Mr. and Mrs. Yager have four children : 
Willis H. ; Sybil Maud, wife of Harry Wright of Topeka ; Jesse M. and Gar- 
rett A. 

Politically, Mr. Yager has been identified with the Republican party 
ever since the administration of James Buchanan for whom he cast his first 




PERRY T. FOSTER 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 455 

presidential vote. He has been an elder in the Presbyterian Church at Au- 
burn for many years and ever since settling here has been one of the trustees. 
He has also taken a deep interest in the Sunday-school and has served as 
its superintendent. Mr. Yager is a man of sterling integrity, one who enjoys 
the esteem of his fellow-citizens to a marked degree. 



»»» 



PERRY T. FOSTER. 

Perry T. Foster^ a pioneer citizen of Shawnee County, whose portrait 
accompanies this sketch, has a fine farm of ioo acres four miles southwest 
of Topeka in Topeka township, which his father owned before him. He 
was born on a farm in Crawford County, Pennsylvania, September 11, 1834, 
and is a son of Robert and Nancy (Meyler) Foster. 

George Foster, grandfather of our subject, was born in England, and 
at an early age accompanied his father to the North of Ireland, then in later 
years came to America alone, settling in Pennsylvania. His foot was crip- 
pled by an accident and remained so throughout the remainder of his life. 
He died in Pennsylvania, leaving the following children: Robert, Thomas, 
William, James, George, Mary and Isabelle. 

Robert Foster, father of our subject, was born in Wyoming County, 
Pennsylvania, in 1796, and was a farmer and stock-raiser throughout life. 
He tried three times to enlist in the Union Army during the Civil W-ar, but 
was rejected because of advanced age. In 1864, he accompanied his son 
to Kansas and took up the claim in Topeka township, Shawnee County, on 
which our subject and his son now reside. He lived there the remainder of 
his days, dying at the age of 70 years, one month and one day. He was 
married in Pennsylvania to Nancy Meyler, who was born at Utica, New 
York, and died on the home farm in Shawnee County at the age of 79 years. 
They reared the following children : Mary, deceased ; Jane, deceased ; Lov- 
ina, deceased; Nancy, of California; Lorinda, of Denver, Colorado; Free- 
man R. ; Perry T., whose name heads this sketch; and Merriman, who was 
in the nth Pennsylvania Reg^iment during the Civil War, serving for two 
years until discharged by reason of disability. Freeman R. Foster, who 
served in the same company and regiment as our subject during the Civil 
War, was a member of the Kansas Legislature two terms. He came to 
Shawnee County in 1854 and assisted in laying off the city of Topeka, in 
which he owned some 30 lots. His death resulted from an accident on his 
farm, caused by a team running away. 

Perry T. Foster was reared on the home farm until he was 22 years 
of age, then came West in 1856, to Jefferson City, Missouri, by rail, thence 
22 



456 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

by boat to Leavenworth, Kansas, and by team to the southwest quarter of 
section 24, township 12, range 15, in Topeka township, Shawnee County, 
which adjoins his present home. He built thereon a log house, 11 by 11 feet 
in dimensions, fenced the prairie and began its cultivation. There were still 
buffaloes in this country and he had the pleasure of a hunt in which he killed 
one of a herd. He continued farming and also engaged in the butcher busi- 
ness until the outbreak of the Civil War when he returned to his Eastern 
home, enlisting August 2, 1862, in Company B, 137th Reg., Pennsylvania 
Vol. Inf., under Capt. Dillon Walker and Colonel Bosworth. The regi- 
ment was attached to the Army of the Potomac, and Mr. Foster participated 
in engagements at South Mountain and Antietam. In the latter engage- 
ment while forming in line in double-quick time, he stepped into a dugout 
and injured his foot which has been crippled ever since, an injury very like 
the one sustained by his grandfather. He was sent home and was hon- 
orably discharged in February, 1863. He remained in Pennsylvania until 
1864, and then, accompanied by his wife and his parents, he came West to 
his Kansas home, living in the cabin until the following winter, when he sold 
the property and moved to the claim taken up by his father. This has since 
been his home. He has erected a modern house for himself and one for his 
son, and has made all the improvements on the place. 

In December, i86r, Mr. Foster married Lucinda Thompson, who was 
born in Crawford County, Pennsylvania, July 4, 1841, and is a daughter 
of John and Betsy (Casler) Thompson, the former a native of Crawford 
County and the latter, of Utica, New York. Three children have been born 
to them: Robert J., who has four children, — Francis R., Ina, Estella and 
Marie; Ahce, who married George Robinson, of Wabaunsee County, and 
has a daughter, — Myrtle; and Lena P., who married Paul E. Dallas, of 
Wabaunsee County, and has a daughter, Mabel, and a son not yet named. 
Mr. Foster is one of the substantial men of his community and has many 
friends of many years standing. 



HERBERT HACKNEY. 

Herbert Hackney, president of The Topeka Milling Company, belongs 
to that body of progressive and far-sighted business men who have brought 
the great industries of the United States to almost absolute perfection. Mr. 
Hackney was born in England in 1850 and is a son of George and Martha 
t^Jepson) Hackney. 

George Hackney, father of our subject, was born May 26, 1826, in 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 457 

Cheshire, England, and is a son of John and Hannah (Simm) Hackney. He 
is one of a family of 15 children and, as far as he has been able to trace, is 
the only survivor. He was educated in England as a mechancal engineer 
and was employed on the London, Brighton & South Coast Railway. In 
1852 he came to America in the "Sarah Sands," which was the first screw 
steamer to cross the Atlantic. She was subsequently lost, burned while car- 
rying troops to Australia. 

On April 5, 1848, George Hackney was married to Martha Jepson, who 
was born in Cheshire in 1827, and they had three children, the two survivors 
being Herbert, of this sketch, and Carrie Elizabeth, who is the wife of Clar- 
ence Skinner, of Topeka. Mr. and Mrs. Skinner have one daughter, — Addie. 
After coming to America, George Hackney lived for three years in New 
York City where he followed his trade, in 1855 removing to Milwaukee, and 
continuing to work as a mechanical engineer. From Wisconsin he moved 
to Topeka, Kansas, in 1877 and for 13 years had charge of the mechanical 
department of the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway from Chicago to, 
California. During his residence in Chicago, he was chairman of the com- 
mittee of three members which was appointed by the mayor of that city to 
study the subject of elevated railroad terminals. The committee was composed 
of practical men and they traveled all through the East and studied the sub- 
ject in all lights at different points. As a result, Chicago has one of the best 
elevated railroad terminal systems in the world. Mr. Hackney retired from 
active life in 1893 after years of work and responsibility. 

George Hackney has the distinction of having built the first three loco- 
motives ever constructed in the State. The first one was named for Colonel 
Holliday, who was then president of the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Rail- 
way Company; the second was named for C. C. Wheeler, general manager 
of the road, and the third for W. B. Strong, also at one time president of the 
Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway Company. In association with Levi Z. 
Leiter, P. G. Noel, George Lake and a fifth man, Mr. Hackney built the first 
roller mill in the State, which is now operated by our subject. Mr. Hackney 
is the only survivor of this body of business men. 

During the winter seasons Mr. Hackney resides in Topeka, but his 
summers are spent on his finely improved farm of 1 5 acres in Highland Park. 
In a remarkable degree he retains his faculties and is a most interesting and 
entertaining host. Among the many treasures which his home contains is a 
picture which was painted by his only daughter, of an old church of Cheshire, 
England. It possesses great interest for him as the original dates back to 
the time of Cromwell and in it his father and mother were married and in 
its shadow they lie buried. It is known as Asbury Church. Near it he first 
met his wife and they were, married there and the baptismal rite was there 



458 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

administered to Herbert Hackney, our subject. In 1854 Mr. Hackney was 
admitted to membership in the Masonic fraternity in New York and ever 
since he has performed the duties and Hved up to the obHgations of a Master 
Mason. 

Herbert Hackney attended school in Wisconsin until he was 13 years old 
and was then apprenticed in a machine shop, where he remained until he had 
completed every detail of the work and was a finished machinist. In 1870, 
at the age of 28 years, he was manager of a large iron and steel plant at 
Youngstown, Ohio, of which Brown & Bonnell were proprietors. His prac- 
tical knowledge of iron and steel includes every part of the business from the 
mining of the iron ore to the finished product. At this time he managed 3,500 
men, a fact indicative of the reliance placed in him by his employers. He 
has been connected with iron and steel manufacturing in Ohio, Illinois and 
Oregon and in Wisconsin. His experiences covered so wide a territory and his 
positions were of such responsibility that his knowledge of the business has 
been gained in the best and most complete way. 

In 1887 he became assistant superintendent of the machinery department 
of the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway and continued until 1892, since 
which time he has devoted his time and close attention to his present business. 
This enterprise known as The Topeka Milling Company, is operated by 
Hackney & Company, the officials being: Herbert Hackney, president and 
treasurer and George W. Hackney, his son, secretary and manager. The 
business of the company is the manufacture of the famous "Ralston Health 
Flour," "Ralston Health Pancake Flour," "Ralston Health Buckwheat 
Flour," "Blue Cross Health Breakfast Food" and "H. H." patent flour, pre- 
parations that through excellence of quality have found a market all over 
the world. 

This mill was built in 1882 and it has a daily capacity of 650 barrels 
of flour, 1,000 barrels of corn meal and 18,000 packages of cereals. This 
institution employs eight travelling salesmen and the goods are shipped to all 
parts of the United States. In this line the products of The Topeka Milling 
Company are of the very highest class manufactured in the world, having 
absolutely no superior. Since Mr. Hackney and son have taken charge of 
this business, they have been vigorously pushing to the front as American 
manufacturers. 

Mr. Hackley was married, first, in Milwaukee to May L. Todd, and 
they had two children : George W. and one deceased. Mr. Hackney was mar- 
ried, second, in Chicago to Anna S. Norton. He is a member of the Commer- 
cial Club of Topeka and has always been active in furthering the city's interests 
since he has located here. 

George W. Hackney, junior member of the firm, was born in 1877 at 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 459 

Milwaukee. His education was received in the public schools and at North- 
western University, Evanston, Illinois. After leaving school, he was em- 
ployed by the World's Fair Company and then joined his father at Topeka. 
He is a practical business man, like his father and grandfather, and gives his 
undivided attention to the advancing of the interests of this large enterprise, 
thoroughly believing in the value of modern advertising. The offices of the 
company are situated on Jefferson street, while the mill property is on 
Adams street. It is thoroughly equipped with every kind of modern device 
and improved machinery that will contribute to the purity of the goods pro- 
duced so that they may be just what they are claimed to be — health foods. 



ALBERT PARKER. 

Albert Parker, formerly mayor of Topeka and for many years a very 
prominent business man and political factor here, is now practically retired 
from business activity but still continues interested in all that concerns the 
capital city. Mr. Parker was born at Lisbon, New Hampshire, June 28, 1846, 
and is a son of Levi P. and Sally (Forsaith) Parker. 

The parents of Mr. Parker were farming people of Grafton County, 
New Hampshire, and their lives were spent in that vicinity. Of their five chil- 
dren, our subject and one sister still survive. The mother died in 1872, but 
the father survived until 1891. Many residents of Topeka became acquainted 
with him during several enjoyable visits he made here, finding in him many of 
the admirable characteristics notable in those of New England birth and 
residence. 

Our subject was educated in the common schools of Lisbon. In 1866 
he went to Littleton, New Hampshire, and spent seven years there in the drug 
business. In 1873 he came to Topeka and opened a drug-store at No. 621 
Kansas avenue, where he remained for five years. After selling his store, he 
entered into the real estate and loan business under the firm name of A. Parker 
& Company and continued to be active in this line for about 10 years. To 
this day he still continues a slight interest in real estate and oil lands. 

In 1883 he was elected, on the Democratic ticket, register of deeds, re- 
ceivmg 1,000 more votes than there were Democrats, showing a large meas- 
ure of personal popularity. He served one term in this office. In 1891 his 
party chose him as candidate for mayor, the Republican candidate being 
Col. J. W. F. Hughes, of Topeka. The result of the election was a majority 
of 1 1 votes for Mr. Parker. There was a recount ordered on account of sus- 
pected irregularity and the result was that Colonel Hughes was declared 



46o HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

elected by a majority of nine votes. In order to vindicate his friends, Mr. 
Parker carried tlie contest to the District Court and later to the Superior 
Court, where the latter body, a Republican court with a Republican judge, 
decided that Mr. Parker was mayor by a majority of 17 votes. He served 
the remainder of the term of 15 months and was renominated but declined 
to serve again. While always ready to do a citizen's duty, he has never been 
eager enough for political rewards to ask a man for a vote. Honors have 
come to him but they have been through the work of his friends. In addition 
to the offices mentioned, in 1881 he was appointed city assessor and has served 
two terms as deputy assessor. 

Mr. Parker was married May 24, 1873, to Cyrena Giles, of Topeka, 
who is a daughter of Nelson and Cyrena (Dean) Giles. Mr. Giles was born 
in 181 5 at Bethlehem, New Hampshire, and is spending the evening of life 
with Mr. and Mrs. Parker. The latter have one son, Albert G. Parker. He 
graduated from the Topeka High School and is now a student at Washburn 
College. He is very fond of athletics as the modern, manly American youth 
is apt to be, and has won distinction as a very clever pitcher. Mr. and Mrs. 
Parker reside in a beautiful home at No. 312 West Eighth avenue facing the 
Capitol Building. 



DANIEL DUCK. 



Among the early settlers in Kansas who became men of means and 
prominence was Daniel Duck, who died while on a visit to his old home in 
Illinois, on November 30, 1896. He was born in Center County, Pennsyl- 
vania, August 23, 1826, and "grew up on his brother's farm, his father having 
died when our subject was nine years of age, and was educated in the dis- 
trict schools. 

In 1846 he enlisted for service in the Mexican War, entering Company 
E, Third Ohio Regiment, and was honorably discharged in 1847 o" account 
of disability. He moved to Stephenson County, Illinois, and after his mar- 
riage and the birth of one child came to Kansas in 1857. He settled in Clin- 
ton township, Douglas County, too poor at that time to enter a claim. He 
soon found work as a carpenter and then secured a tract of wild land on 
which there was a log cabin, in which the family lived for a long time. He 
was a man of great energy and industry as well as business judgment. The 
time came when he owned 700 acres of fine land. About 1892 he moved to 
Richland and built a fine home and lived retired from active farming for 
about four years before his death. In the Civil War he took part in the 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 461 

famous battle of the Blue, when the Kansas Home Guards checked Price's 
invasion of the State. 

Mr. Duck was married in Stephenson County, Illinois, October 24, 1850, 
to Polina E. Wells, who was born May 22, 1827, in Ohio, and accompanied 
her parents to Illinois when eight years of age. She is a daughter of Warner 
and Mary (Rimy) Wells, natives of New York. Mr. and Mrs. Duck had 
three daughters, namely: Mary Angeline, who died aged 17 months; the 
eldest daughter, who died unmarried; and Ellen S., who married Curtis 
Lamb and died in Richland in 1895, aged 40 years, leaving six children, — 
Polina E., wife of Joseph Daily, of Richland; Daniel C, of Douglas County; 
William C, of Oklahoma; Eva S., wife of Anthony Coyne of Douglas 
County ; Myrtle E., who lives with her grandmother ; and Frederick O. There 
are 12 great-grandchildren. 

Mr. Duck was a Republican in his early voting days but in the latter 
part of his life was a Populist. He was a member of the Farmers' Alliance. 
He was a devoted husband, a kind and loving father, a true friend as many 
can testify and an upright, honest man. He became possessed of worldly 
goods in large amount but gained them through years of hard work. He 
left a large circle of friends by whom he was much respected as is also his 
widow who continues to live in the comfortable home at Richland. With 
her husband she saw many early hardships but has lived to enjoy rest and ease 
in her declining years. 



TIMOTHY R. JOHNSON. 

Timothy R. Johnson, one of the representative citizens and promi- 
nent farmers of Silver Lake township, Shawnee County, owning 160 acres 
in section 22, township 11, range 14, was born January 28, 1832, in Chau- 
tauqua County, New York, and is a son of John B. and Lucy (Merwin) 
Johnson. 

The father of our subject was born at Keene, New Hampshire, and 
the mother was a native of Connecticut. They removed from New England 
to New York and from there, in 1836, to Washtenaw County, Michigan. 
Mr. Johnson bought a farm of 80 acres which he operated for 10 years and 
then sold. In June, 1846, he removed to Porter County, Indiana, purchasing 
a farm of 80 acres, on which he lived for 45 years. For the last 25 years of 
his life he made his home with our subject, accompanying him to Kansas in 
1891, where he died on December i8th of that year, aged 84 years. Of the 
eight children, three survive, namely: Timothy R., of this sketch; Armena, 



462 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

married James Disbrow, a cooper, a resident of Michigan, and has two chil- 
dren, — Rose and Mary ; and Hiram, of Basin, Montana, whose wife, Martha 
OHnger, died April i, 1901, leaving two daughters, — Elsie, who resides at 
Spokane, Washington, with her husband and two children, and Florence, who 
is the wife of J. B. Felts, of Basin, Montana, and has two children. 

Our subject acquired the greater part of his education in Michigan 
and when his school days were over he learned the carpenter's trade. During 
his two years of apprenticeship, he received $8 a month for the first year and 
$14 a month for the second year and then went into business for himself. For 
the next 10 years he worked at the carpenter's trade and then bought a farm, 
which he subsequently sold when he came to Kansas. On March 2, 1891, he 
bought his present farm in Silver Lake township. A stone house stood on 
the place and about the only other improvement was a very poor fence. These 
conditions did not at all meet with the approval of Mr. Johnson and the stone 
house was soon demolished and a handsome, modern, comfortable residence 
took its place. Mr. Johnson has put all his land under cultivation and he 
raises corn, wheat, potatoes and fruit, while his apple and peach orchards of 
60 acres yield generously. He is a man of practical ideas, one who has been 
accustomed to industry all his life and he has proven himself as good a farmer 
as he was formerly considered a competent craftsman. 

Mr. Johnson has also an honorable army record. He enlisted for service 
in the Civil War, in April, 1864, in Company C, 138th Reg., Indiana Vol. 
Inf., a 100-day regiment, and was mustered in at Indianapolis for garrison 
duty. Upon the expiration of his term he reenlisted in the 151st Regiment, 
Indiana Vol. Inf., for a year, and was honorably discharged September 9, 
1865. He is a member of Silver Lake Post, Grand Army of the Republic. 

Mr. Johnson was married February 2, 1852, to Mary H. Dille, who is a 
daughter of Hiram and Nancy (Reasoner) Dille, natives of Ohio, who re- 
moved to Indiana and there reared a family of 16 children, all of whom 
reached maturity. Mr. and Mrs. Johnson have had these children : Floretta, 
who died October 14, 1855, aged two years, and was buried in Indiana; 
Celestia, who married Eri Hansford, a farmer and sorghum manufacturer, at 
Mencken, and has nine children, — John, of Topeka, Clara, wife of Arthur 
Ensminger, of Silver Lake, Mary," wife of Harry Shetrone, of Menoken, 
Allen, Hiram, Effie, Terry, Eri, Jr., and Lester ; Malinda, deceased, who was 
the wife of J. C. Freer, of Silver Lake township; Minard, residing with his 
father who married Rosa Ritenour and has these children, — Oscar D., Bessie 
M., Floyd T. and Mary H. ; Augusta, who married C. J. McCoid, a farmer 
of Silver Lake township, and has three children, — Ruth and Reuben (twins), 
and Harley; Effie, who married Riley D. Johnson, a farmer of Silver Lake 
township, and has one son. Nelson; and an infant who died aged four days. 



mr 




WILLIAM C. TRAPP 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 465 

Mr. Johnson has been identified with the Republican party since its forma- 
tion, casting his first presidential vote for Gen. John C. Fremont. While he 
resided in Indiana he filled the office of justice of the peace and also served as 
school director. While not accepting office since coming to Kansas, he has 
taken a good citizen's interest in public affairs and his fellow-citizens always 
know just where to find him on any important matter concerning public 
utilities. For many years he has been an Odd Fellow, belonging to the En- 
campment in Indiana, and is a member of Ohio Lodge, No. 136, I. O. O. F., 
of Silver Lake. With his family, he belongs to the Methodist Episcopal 
Church at Silver Lake, and in this body he is a deacon and trustee, and is also 
the leader of the Bible class. He is a man respected and esteemed wherever 
known. 



♦ ■ » 



WILLIAM C. TRAPP. 

William C. Trapp, deceased, was one of the best known merchant 
tailors of Topeka, the establishment founded by him still being conducted 
by his estate. He was a man of prominence in business circles and enjoyed 
a high degree of popularity among his fellow-citizens. 

Mr. Trapp was born in Prussia, Germany, March 3, 1845, and was one 
of a family of nine children born to his parents. His father was born in 
Prussia and in 1859 came to this continent, locating in Waterloo, Canada. 
Our subject was a lad of 14 years when he accompanied his parents across 
the water and settled in Waterloo. There he learned the trade of a tailor 
and worked until he was 17 years old, when he started for himself. Leav- 
ing his Canadian home, he was located at various places until 1867, when 
he came West to Topeka, Kansas. Here he accepted employment at his 
trade, and in 1872 embarked in business for himself. He placed his estab- 
lishment on a firm business basis and became one of the prosperous men 
of the city. He established a reputation as a merchant tailor second to none 
and commanded the highest class of trade. His death occurred July 24, 
1892, and since that time the business has been conducted by his estate, 
being under the management of W. T. Beerbohm at the present time. Mr. 
Trapp was a member of the Topeka Club and had a large circle of intimate 
friends who mourned his death as a personal loss. 

On October 7, 1875, Mr. Trapp was joined in marriage with Christina 
Holmes, a daughter of the late Hon. George B. Holmes, who was a pioneer 
citizen of Topeka, deceased in 1879. Four children were born to this union, 
namely: William H., who married Lavinia Briscoe, has one child, Lillian 



466 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Earnestine, and resides at Miami, Indian Territory; Lillian; Ruth, who died 
at the age of i8 years; and Carl W. Mrs. Trapp and Lillian and Carl W. 
Trapp reside in a comfortable home at No. 215 West nth street, Topeka. 
The family are members of the Presbyterian Church. A portrait of Mr. 
Trapp accompanies this sketch. 



\. P. TONE WILSON, JR. 

A. P. Tone Wilson, Jr., attorney-at-law and real estate specialist, at 
Topeka, with offices at No. 413 Kansas avenue, is one of the city's progres- 
sive, enterprising and successful business men. Mr. Wilson' was born in Ne- 
braska, June 26, 1874, and is a son of Anthony P. and Mary E (Boldon) 
Wilson. 

Anthony P. Wilson, father of our subject, is one of the leading attor- 
neys of Topeka and is largely also interested in farm loans and insurance, 
together with the publishing of a very valuable and important journal known 
as the Kansas Collection Agency Legal Directory. He was born at Kenosha, 
Wisconsin, in 1846, and completed his law studies at Milwaukee. During 
three years of the Civil War he honorably wore the Union blue, serving as 
a member of Company I, 33rd Reg., Wisconsin Vol. Inf. In 1867 he took 
a homestead in Southeastern Nebraska, and in 1904 located at Topeka. His 
beautiful residence is located at No. 1220 Logan street. North Topeka. Mr. 
Wilson married Mary E. Boldon, formerly a school teacher of Alden, Iowa. 
They have a family of five sons and two daughters, all of the sons adopting 
law as their profession. Both Mr. and Mrs. Wilson are associated with the 
Christian Church. 

A. P. Tone Wilson, Jr., completed his early education in the Nebraska 
schools and then graduated from the Western Business College, at Lincoln, 
subsequently entering the Kansas City Law School, at Kansas City, Missouri, 
where he was graduated with the class of 1898 and was admitted to the bar 
in the same year. For the next five years he practiced law at Colby, Kansas, 
removing then to Topeka where he has continued in successful practice, hav- 
ing numerous cases before the Supreme Court. In addition to his large legal 
business, he is extensively interested with his father and three brothers in 
Kansas real estate, this private syndicate owning over 15,000 acres of some of 
the best land in the "Sunflower" State. Mr. Wilson has made so close a 
study of land values and conditions that he has become an expert and is 
known under the modern title of real estate specialist. His personal experi- 
ences have been so many and his means of observation and investigation so 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 467 

perfect, that few are better calculated to advise as to land investments. He 
believes thoroughly in printer's ink and his name confronts the reader in fully 
2,500 different papers, magazines and journals. He is also interested with his 
able father in the publication of the Legal Directory, its aim being to provide 
a medium by which merchants may safely and quickly secure the co-operation 
of reliable attorneys, who will give prompt attention to their wants. The 
Kansas Collection Agency, which publishes this directory, is controlled by 
Anthony P. Wilson and A. P. Tone Wilson, Jr. It was organized for the 
purpose of making collections throughout the United States and supplying 
high-class credit reports. The business of the agency is conducted at No. 
413 Kansas avenue. 

On January 8, 1903, Mr. Wilson was married at Panama, Iowa, to 
Lula Smith. They belong to the First Presbyterian Church. Their beautiful 
home at No. 1535 Topeka avenue is the scene of many delightful social 
functions. 



SAMUEL G. STEWART, A. M., M. D. 

Samuel G. Stewart, A. M., M. D., who for 32 years has been in 
active medical practice, has been a resident of Topeka since 1887. Dr. 
Stewart was born October i, 1845, at Oxford, Butler County, Ohio, and is 
a son of Dr. Robert and Mary Elizabeth (White) Stewart. 

Our subject's ancestors, traced as far back as the great-great-grand- 
parents, were of North of Ireland, Londonderry, stock on the paternal side 
and of Scotch-Irish on the maternal. Dr. Robert Stewart, his father, was 
a graduate of a medical college at Cincinnati, Ohio and practiced in that 
State for many years. 

Samuel G. Stewart obtained his academical training at Xenia, Ohio, and 
graduated at the Miami University at Oxford with the degree of B. S. He 
then entered Starling Medical College at Columbus, Ohio, where he was 
graduated with his medical degree in 1873. Two years later he came to 
Kansas, on horseback, in order to look the country over with the idea in view 
of later locating here. He had an honorable war record, having served from 
1861 until the close of hostilities as a member of Company D, 74th Reg., Ohio 
Vol. Inf., with the 14th Army Corps, under General Thomas, and he was a 
fully equipped physician and surgeon. But at this time the prospects did not 
sufiSciently please Dr. Stewart to induce him to settle at Topeka, and for the 
next 12 years he practiced in Montgomery County, Ohio. 

In 1887 Dr. Stewart settled at Topeka and this city has been the central 



468 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

point of his interests ever since. During his previous years of practice, he 
had added to his professional knowledge by post-graduate work in New York, 
and he subsequently accepted a place on the faculty of the Kansas Medical 
College at Topeka, as professor of the principles and practice of medicine, 
his duties including three lectures a week to the students and one to the 
nurses under training. He is chief of the medical stafif of Christ's Hospital, 
Topeka. 

Dr. Stewart was first married, in 1876, to Margaret Bigger, of Ohio, 
who died in February, 1891, leaving three sons, namely: Robert, now a senior 
in the Kansas Medical College, who will graduate next year; James and 
William. Dr. Stewart married, second, Isabel Gibson, who was born in the 
North of Ireland, and they have three children, namely : Samuel G., Jr., Isabel 
and Margaret. Dr. Stewart is a member of the First United Presbyterian 
Church of Topeka. 

Dr. Stewart is a member of the Shawnee County and Kansas State 
medical societies, American Medical Association and the Clinical Medical 
Society, of New York City. He is also a member of the board of trustees of the 
Young Men's Christian Association at Topeka. His long residence here, 
his eminent professional services and standing, his interest in public measures 
and his unblemished personal character have all served to make him a repre- 
sentative citizen in all the term implies. 



RT. REV. FRANK ROSEBROOK MILLSPAUGH, D. D. 

Rt. Rev. Frank Rosebrook Millspaugh, D. D., Bishop of the Diocese 
of Kansas of the Protestant Episcopal Church, and member of the board of 
trustees and president of the faculty of the Kansas Theological School, is one 
of Topeka's most distinguished citizens. He was born in New York State, 
April 12, 1848, and is one of three children born to Cornelius M. and Elvira 
(Rosebrook) Millspaugh. 

Frank Rosebrook Millspaugh was nine years of age when he moved 
with his parents to Faribault, Minnesota, and there he received his early 
educational training. He attended Shattuck Military School from which he 
graduated in 1870, and in 1873 he was graduated from Seabury Divinity 
School. The first church work he performed was when he was in charge of a 
number of missions in Minnesota, with headquarters at Brainerd. He was 
made dean of Trinity Cathedral, Omaha, Nebraska, in 1876 and thereafter held 
that charge for a period of 10 years. In cooperation with Rev. Robert Clark- 
son, D. D., LL. D., he built a cathedral at a cost of $100,000. In 1886 he 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 469. 

took charge of St. Paul's Church at Minneapolis, Minnesota, and was rector 
there for eight years, the church discharging a large indebtedness under his 
management. In 1894 he took charge of Grace Cathedral at Topeka, Kansas, 
and on September 9, 1895, was consecrated as Bishop of the Diocese of 
Kansas, succeeding Bishop Thomas. Under his care and direction the 
church has had a good growth in numbers and usefulness, making its imprint 
upon affairs of magnitude and working for the betterment of social and 
moral conditions in the State of Kansas. Taking up the work of his pre- 
decessors in connection with the Kansas Theological School, that institution 
has prospered and been of incalculable value in the improvement of the services 
rendered by the representatives of the church. 

The Kansas Theological School was conceived in the mind of Bishop 
Vail as early as 1869, when in his address to the diocesan convention he said : 
"We should provide for our candidates for orders such a theological school as 
shall secure the appropriate ministerial training." In furtherance of this pur- 
pose, he purchased the property occupied by the Diocesan Seminary for Girls, 
paying to the parish of Grace Church $3,000 for its rectoral rights. In 1874 the 
trustees of the College of the Sisters of Bethany gave a warranty deed of this 
property to the trustees of the Kansas Theological School for the considera- 
tion of $30,000, an amount which Bishop Vail had raised and expended in the 
building of the College of the Sisters of Bethany. The original plan of 
Bishop Vail was to have the school under the management of one professor, 
who was himself to do missionary work as well as theological studies. The 
school was opened in 1876 with two students, and Rev. Henry H. Loring, 
rector of Grace Church, was elected professor. In 1879, Rev. Mr. Loring 
removed from the diocese, and the candidates received private instruction 
from Rev. Dr. Beatty, who came at stated times to Topeka and, with other 
clergy who were appointed, held examinations in the building, and thereby 
kept it in use until a change was made in the plan of conducting the school. 
This change was made by Bishop Thomas in 1892, the charter being so 
changed as to give the trustees the power to confer upon graduates the degree 
of Bachelor of Divinity, and a full corps of professors and lecturers were se- 
cured. The working plan was so changed that the students for the most part 
were able to support themselves while attending the institution. The plans 
outlined by Bishop Thomas were carried out successfully until his death, 
and then under the fostering care of Bishop Millspaugh and of Bishop Brooke 
of Oklahoma, the school continued to prosper. The board of trustees of this 
institution is constituted as follows: Rt. Rev. Frank Rosebrook Millspaugh, 
D. D., Topeka, president; Rev. Nathaniel Seymour Thomas, Philadelphia; 
Rev. J. P. de Beavers Kaye, Topeka; Charles Blood Smith, Topeka; John 
W. Farnsworth, Topeka; Hiram C. Root, Topeka; and William Henderson, 



470 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Topeka, secretary. The faculty includes the following: Rt. Rev. Frank 
Rosebrook Millspaugh, president; Rt. Rev. Francis Key Brooke, S. T. D. ; 
Very Rev. J. P. de Beavers Kaye; Rev. DeLou Burke; Rev. Irving E. Bax- 
ter; and Rev. Charles B. Crawford. 

Under Bishop Millspaugh's episcopate of lo years, a debt of about 
$40,000 on the College of the Sisters of Bethany has been paid and $30,000 
added to the endowment fund. To Christ's Hospital, valued at $80,000, 
two large wings of brick have been added at a cost of over $30,000 and five 
acres added to the already large property. For the Kansas Theological 
School he has secured an endowment of $20,000. In the 10 years 30 new 
churches have been built in the diocese, and less than $5,000 will cover all the 
debts of the Diocese of Kansas. 

At Omaha, Nebraska, Bishop Millspaugh was united in marriage with 
Mary McPherson Clarkson, a daughter of Rt. Rev. Robert Clarkson, Bishop 
of Nebraska. They have a very comfortable home in Topeka. 



JOHN McNULTY CLUGSTON. 

John McNulty Clugston^ deceased, for many years one of the most 
prominent business men and citizens of Topeka, was engaged in the insurance 
business. He met with remarkable success in this line and at the time of his 
death was prominently known over the State of Kansas. 

Mr. Clugston was born at Mansfield, Ohio, February 23, 1842, and 
was one of six children born to Matthew and Margaret (McNulty) Clugston. 
He was reared in his native State and there received a good educational train- 
ing, leaving school to enlist in the service of his country. In June, 1861, when 
a young man of 18 years, he enlisted in Company G, 23rd Reg., Ohio Vol. 
Inf., and served throughout the Civil War, being honorably discharged at its 
close. 

In 1870 Mr. Clugston left Ohio for the West and, after making a 
thorough investigation of many counties and cities in Kansas, located perma- 
nently in Topeka in July of that year. On July 28, 1870, there appeared in 
the Times, a paper published at his old home in Ohio, a letter from him 
descriptive of his trip and prophetic of the future greatness of Kansas, the 
adaptability of different localities for different enterprises being shown with 
remarkable foresight. The following extract from his letter reveals Topeka 
as it was at that time : "Leaving Lawrence, well impressed, I took a train 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 471 

for Topeka, located 27 miles west of Lawrence on the Kansas River, and like 
Lawrence is built up on the north and south sides of the river. North 
Topeka claims 800 inhabitants — railroad depots being located there. South 
Topeka lies back from the river on a rise of ground high and dry. Topeka 
has 7,000 inhabitants. Kansas avenue, running south from the river, being 
the main business street of the city, and lighted by gas, presents a fine ap- 
pearance in the evening — fine buildings are being put up this season; the 
Tefft House is undergoing repairs, also an addition of 80 feet is being attached 
and the main building is being raised to its fourth story. An Opera House 
is being built and many large store rooms, ranging from 60 to 125 feet deep. 
Rents are high and business good. The east wing of the State Capitol is com- 
pleted at a cost of half a million dollars and built of Junction City limestone. 
Business buildings here are mostly of limestone and brick fronts. Topeka has 
the State Capitol and is the county-seat of Shawnee County. The city is 
■divided into three wards, and they are now erecting a ward school building at 
a cost of $50,000 ; the city is settled mostly by York State, Ohio and Indiana 
people, society good and attention paid to strangers. Topeka has two rail- 
roads as follows : Kansas Pacific finished west to Kit Carson, about 200 miles 
east of Denver City and some 500 miles west of Kansas City. The other 
Toad is the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe, running south of Topeka to Bur- 
lingame and graded to Emporia, which will be running to that point in July." 

Upon locating in Topeka, Mr. Clugston engaged in the grocery busi- 
ness, which he conducted with success for a few years. He then embarked 
in the insurance business, establishing a very extensive business which he 
•continued until his death on August 10, 1887. He was president of the 
Cook and Clugston Coal Company during its life in Kansas. Having ac- 
•quired much valuable real estate, he zealously strove to beautify the city in 
whose future welfare he manifested always a keen interest. He secured the 
beautiful tract, of six acres, known as "Brooks' Pasture" on the west side of 
Topeka, selecting six of Topeka's representative citizens for neighbors and 
■designed what is now the most beautiful residence block in Topeka and known 
■as "Governor's Square." Then with faith in the beauty of the city he selected 
with patience, securing lot after lot, the corner of loth and Topeka avenues, 
•one block west of Capitol Square, and beautified it with many well chosen 
trees, on which is now the residence called "The Virginia," the home of 
Mrs. Clugston and her only son, John McNulty Clugston, Jr. 

On December 10, 1879, John M. Clugston was united in marriage with 
Alice Colcher, a daughter of Mathias and Martha Jane (Davis) Colcher. 
Mrs. Clugston's father was a native of Ohio and there followed with great 
success the vocation of architect. Being reared in a Presbyterian family. 



472 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Mr. Clugston was loyal to the church of his father and contributed liberally 
to its support. A courteous gentleman, a progressive business man and a loyal 
citizen, he had many friends. 

i 



JAMES CUTHBERT. 

James Cuthbert, one of the leading business men of Topeka, senior 
member of the firm of Cuthbert & Sargent, general contractors and stone 
cutters, was born in 1849 in Nairnshire, Scotland, and is a son of James and 
Jane (Bowie) Cuthbert. 

Mr. Cuthbert's people are all Scotch and his maternal grandmother was 
a member of the noted old Scitch clan of Mcintosh. The father of Mr. 
Cuthbert died on the old estate in Nairnshire, aged 85 years and the mother 
still resides there, having reached the age of 86 years. They had seven 
children, viz: Isabella (Mrs. Duncan McDonald), of Scotland; Elsie, a 
maiden lady residing. with her venerable mother; James, of Topeka; William, 
a sheep farmer in New Zealand; Mrs. Mary Mustard, deceased; Mrs. Jane 
Marwick, of New Zealand; and John, who died aged seven years. 

When Mr. Cuthbert came to America in 1872, he had completed his 
education and had already acquired skill as a stone builder. He was em- 
ployed by the government for three years at the St. Louis Custom House, 
and came to Topeka in 1879. Here he soon entered into a business com- 
bination, the firm of Smith, Sargent & Company being formed to do business 
as general contractors and stone cutters. This partnership continued for 
four years when Mr. Smith retired and the business has since been conducted 
under the firm style of Cuthbert & Sargent. They own a very valuable plant 
and large yards at i8th street and Topeka avenue, where they are well 
equipped for all kinds of masonry, cut stone and brick work. They employ 
a large force of men and their yards are a scene of busy activity. Many of 
the substantial buildings of Topeka have been constructed by this firm from 
foundation to finish. 

In 1877 Mr. Cuthbert was married to Samantha Fitzpatrick, and they 
have had 11 children, namely: Mary Jane, wife of A. C. McKitrick, of 
Denver, Colorado ; Jessie May, wife of N. G. Edleblute, of Baldwin, Kansas ; 
Katie Bell, William F., James R., Mabel and John, who live at home; George, 
Charles and Elsie, who are attending Topeka High School ; and Robert, who 
died in infancy. Mr. Cuthbert is a member of the First Presbyterian Church 
of Topeka, of whose church edifice he was the builder. 

While not active in politics, Mr. Cuthbert performs a citizen's duty on 




HON. WALTER E. FAGAN 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 475 

on every occasion, and is identified with the RepubHcan party. He is a Knight 
Templar Mason and belongs also to the Modern Woodmen of America'. 
Socially he is president of the leading Scottish society in Topeka. Mr. 
Cuthbert is a progressive and enterprising business man and is one whose 
fair dealing and honest work have brought him the confidence and esteem of his 
fellow-citizens. 



HON. WALTER E. PAGAN. 

Hon. Walter E. Fagan^ deceased, formerly judge of probate and 
superintendent of the State Reform School at Topeka, whose portrait ac- 
companies this sketch, was born near Richmond, Indiana, July 14, 1859, 
and died at Topeka May 10, 1903. He was a son of Thomas and Isabel 
(Boyd) Fagan. 

Mr. Fagan was educated in the Richmond, Indiana, schools and at the 
State Normal School at Terre Haute. He came to Topeka in 1880 and first 
engaged in teaching in Shawnee County and later was engaged as a teacher 
in the State Reform School. He continued with this institution in various 
capacities and finally became its superintendent. His administration was 
characterized by many reforms and needed changes in methods of govern- 
ment. He was ably assisted by his estimable wife, who served as matron 
during his incumbency. 

In 1 89 1 Mr. Fagan took up the study of the law and was admitted to the 
bar in 1893, and in 1894 was appointed auditor of Shawnee County by 
Judge Hazen. In 1900 he was first elected judge of probate and was sub- 
sequently re-elected, receiving a magnificent majority. His public services 
were all of such a character as to secure him the confidence and continued 
esteem of his fellow-citizens. 

On February i, 1883, Judge Fagan was married to Lillie A. Buck, of 
Topeka, who is a daughter of John F. and Ada L. (Davis) Buck. The fa- 
ther of Mrs. Fagan was a teacher and also a dental surgeon. He had been 
connected with the Reform School at Lancaster, Ohio, and at Mount Union, 
Ohio, was superintendent of the Children's Home. He came to Topeka in 
1882, to become the first superintendent of the State Reform School which 
had been established in this city six months previously. Dr. Buck lives re- 
tired in North Topeka. Judge Fagan is survived by his widow and one 
daughter. Norma Belle, aged five years. 

Judge Fagan was very active in Republican politics and for a long time 

23 



476 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

was a member of the Republican State Central Committee. He was promi- 
nent in Masonry and was also a member of the Modern Woodmen of Amer- 
ica and the Sons of Herman. 



WILLIAM M. REAM. 

William M. Ream, one of the prominent and substantial citizens of 
Soldier township, Shawnee County, who resides on a fine farm of i6o acres, 
in section 31, township 10, range 16, was born January 27, 1835, in Perry 
County, Ohio, and is a son of William and Eliza (McClure) Ream. 

The father of Mr. Ream was a native of Ohio, and the mother, of 
Pennsylvania. The father owned a large farm in Ohio and raised a great 
deal of stock, his son, our subject, gaining experience there which he put 
into practice later in life. Of the eight children of the family, he was the 
only one whose interests and inclinations led him to establish his home in 
Kansas. 

From his farm in Ohio, Mr. Ream enlisted as a private, May i, 1864, in 
Company C, i6oth Reg., Ohio Vol. Inf., under Colonel Reasoner and General 
Sigel, and soon after was elected ist sergeant. He participated in many 
skirmishes and in the battles of Antietam and Martinburg and was mustered 
out at Zanesville, Ohio, in September, 1864. Returning to the farm, Mr. 
Ream remained there until 1866 when he went to Somerset, Ohio, where 
he engaged in a general mercantile business until 1872, under the firm name 
of Huston & Ream. During this period of his life he formed the acquaintance 
of Gen. Phil. H. Sheridan, the hero of Winchester, with whom he became 
associated in bonds of closest friendship. When the whole country mourned 
the death of that gallant officer, Mr. Ream was one of the chief mourners and 
was a pall-bearer at the funeral of General Sheridan's father. 

After selling his store, Mr. Ream went into a banking business, but in 
1878 went to Texas, where he bought a ranch of 16,000 acres in Kerr County 
and controlled 16,000 more. This great extent of land he utilized in the 
raising of sheep and his first clip paid him 32 cents a pound. The passage of 
the Wilson tariff bill in the next year reduced his clip to eight cents a pound, 
the duty having been taken off wool, and this caused him to sell out. In 
the fall of 1880 he returned to Missouri, bought a farm and went to raising 
stock. In 1887 he came to Kansas and bought 160 acres at Kilmer Station 
where he continued for 16 years, engaged in farming and raising fine stock. 
In 1903 he sold to advantage and bought his present place. He cultivates 
50 acres here and the rest of the 160 is fine grass land. The place is known 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 477 

as the "Tom Stanley" farm at Ream's Corners. Mr. Ream has always been 
interested in business enterprises of importance. For eight years he was 
one of the directing board of the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad Company and 
helped to build 44 miles of the road, — from Newark to Shawnee, Ohio. He 
still holds some of the valuable stock. 

Mr. Ream was married November 22, 1859, to Mary C. Axline, who 
is a daughter of Emanuel and Susannah (Shaffer) Axline, natives of Vir- 
ginia. Mrs. Ream was reared six miles from Harper's Ferry. Two of her 
brothers were in the Civil War; David C, of Louisville, Kentucky, now 84 
years of age, formerly a private in an Indiana regiment and still so patriotic 
as to offer his services during the Spanish- American War and Solomon N., 
of the 31st Ohio, who died while at home on a furlough. Mr. and Mrs. 
Ream had five children, namely: Charlie, who died aged 11 years, December 
23, 1872, and was buried at Somerset, Ohio; George, who died March 8, 
1877, and was also buried at Somerset; Carl, who died August 2, 1874, and 
was buried at Somerset; Maud, who first married Louis Shaffer and by this 
union had one daughter, Nellie Ream, — her second marriage was with James 
R. Peck, of Jefferson County, Kansas, and they have two children, Mary 
Estella and Florence Ethel ; and Ralph K., who assists his father on the 
farm. Politically Mr. Ream is a Republican. He is a member of the Grange 
at Indian Creek. Mr. and Mrs. Ream have living with them a girl who came 
to them in January, 1862, and hence has been living with them for over 
43 years. 



LeROY McLELLAN penwell. 

LeRoy McLellan Penwell^ president of the National Funeral Di- 
rectors' Association, treasurer of the Commercial Club of Topeka, a promi- 
nent Democratic politician and one of the best known fraternity men in this 
section of the country, was born November 25, 1862, at Buchanan, Michi- 
gan, and is a son of Eli W. and Mary L. (Rouse) Penwell. 

On the paternal side Mr. Penwell comes of Welsh ancestry and on the 
maternal the line runs to Ireland. The paternal great-grandparents were 
David and Jerusha (Hyde) Penwell, and John Nelson Penwell was our sub- 
ject's grandfather. In early days in Michigan, Mr. Penwell's father was a 
prosperous lumberman but the panic of 1872 caused him great loss as it did 
hundreds of other honest men. During the last years of his life he followed . 
the carpenter's and cabinet-maker's trades. He died in 1886 and his widow 
survived only until September, 1892. They had six children, four sons and 



478 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

two daughters, the latter of whom died in infancy. The sons still survive 
but our subject is the only one who resides in Kansas. 

Mr. Penwell's education in the public schools closed at the age of 13 
years and since then he has made his own way in the world, reaching posi- 
tions of honor, responsibility and financial ease entirely through his own 
abilities. He began working as a farm hand at $7 a month and kept it up 
for three years, during this period getting up regularly at four o'clock in the 
morning and working until dark. Possibly the discipline was good for him 
but it did not result in his becoming a permanent agriculturist. Later he 
adopted his father's trade and has often found it a valuable aid in his busi- 
ness ventures. 

In 1875 he came to Topeka at the time the Santa Fe shops were located 
here. Although Mr. Penwell is still a comparatively young man, he ex- 
presses it that he feels like a pioneer when he recalls the wonderful changes 
which have taken place in the development of the city in his life here. On 
May I, 1894, he became the junior partner of E. O. De Moss and they 
jointly opened an undertaking establishment at No. 511 Quincy street, at 
first on a small scale. The firm now utilizes eight rooms and are preparing 
larger accommodations. The present equipments are all modern and sanitary 
and in every detail of the business public convenience and private respect is 
shown. Mr. Penwell is a practical embalmer, having received his diploma on 
April 13, 1900. 

Mr. Penwell has become very prominent in political and also in fraternal 
circles. He is chairman of the Democratic County Central Committee and 
treasurer of the Democratic State Central Committee and during the last 
campaign he was a member of the executive committee. He is a member 
of almost every reputable fraternal organization and is an official in many. 
He is past grand of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and has passed 
all the degrees in the order, including the encampment and at present holds the 
office of czar of the Muscovites, which society has practically the same rela- 
tion to Odd Fellowship as the Mystic Shrine has to Masonry. He is past 
chancellor of the Knights of Pythias, past commander of the Select Knights, 
past master of the Ancient Order of United Workmen, past consul of the 
Modern Woodmen of America, a Royal Arch Mason, a member of the Im- 
proved Order of Red Men, of the Fraternal Order of Eagles, of the Knights 
and Ladies of Security and on March 22, 1905, he was elected exalted ruler 
of Topeka Lodge, No. 204, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. He is 
one of the degree team taken from the four Odd Fellow lodges of Topeka 
that won the first prize of the Sovereign Grand Lodge of the World. He 
has also served as lieutenant colonel on General Mitchell's staff in the Modern 
Woodmen of America. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 479 

Mr. Penwell is secretary of the Kansas Funeral Directors' Association, 
organized at Emporia, Kansas, in 1897, and is one of the board of five 
examiners that put through the law to license embalming, which placed this 
matter in the hands of the State Board of Health. He served as ist vice- 
president of the National Funeral Directors' Association one year and was 
elected president at the annual meeting held October 13, 1904, at St. Louis, 
Missouri. 

At Mount Hope, Kansas, August 18, 1888, Mr. Penwell was married to 
Ella Maston, and the have one bright, attractive daughter, Portia W. It 
may not be out of place to remark that she is the light of the beautiful 
home, which is situated at No. 520 Monroe street. The family belong to 
the First Christian Church of Topeka. 



HENRY H. GLENN. 

Henry H. Glenn, one of Topeka's well-known business men and very 
highly esteemed citizens, was born at Philipsburg, Center County, Pennsyl- 
vania, February i, 1833, and is a son of George and Sarah (Hartsock) 
Glenn. 

Mr. Glenn was educated in the common schools of his native locality 
and removed as far West as Illinois in 1857. He was still in that State 
when the Civil War broke out and he enlisted for the three-years service, 
in September, 1861, entering Company C, 34th Reg., Illinois Vol. Inf., under 
Col. E. N. Kirk. Two months later he was appointed quartermaster sergeant. 
After one year of service he was taken ill and was so sick that his life was 
despaired of. His comrades demanded his discharge from their colonel 
without his knowledge and the report was sent on to the headquarters of 
the department. Being delayed by red tape and having been overlooked in 
the various business affairs of the official quarters, the discharge did not arrive 
for three months and by that time he had entirely recovered. It was a unique 
situation. The colonel was aware of his mathematical accuracy and desiring 
his services appointed him civilian clerk in the brigade commissary depart- 
ment. Therefore he continued in the army through the whole of his term of 
service, doing as necessary and as important work as if he had been out on the 
field. When Sherman started on his "March to the Sea," Mr. Glenn, by 
the advice of his superior oiificer, boarded the last train for the North and thus 
arrived unexpectedly. He is a member of Lincoln Post, No. i, Grand Army 
of the Republic, of Topeka. 

In 1888 he came to Kansas and conducted a mercantile business at 



48o HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Leavenworth for three years and then came to Topeka. Here he has been 
in partnership with his son in conducting "The Fair" and has but lately 
disposed of his interest. 

Mr. Glenn was married February 8, 1855, to Elizabeth C. Gorazier, 
who is a daughter of Henry and Mary (Beck) Gorazier, of Huntingdon. 
Pennsylvania. They had the pleasure of celebrating their "Golden Wedding" 
on February 8, 1905. They became the parents of four children, two of 
whom died in infancy, the • survivors being Jessie E. and William C. The 
former married G. R. Bothwell, a mining broker of Salt Lake City, Utah, and 
they have had seven children : Ina G., who is in her second year at Leland 
Stanford, Jr., University, California; Zayda, Charlotte, Roy and Floyd, all 
attending school in Salt Lake City, and two who died in infancy. William 
C. Glenn has been and still is engaged in business enterprises with his father. 
He married Margaret Aument and they have two children : Charlotte M. and 
Harry A. Mr. and Mrs. Glenn are valued members of the Methodist Episco- 
pal Church. 



ALBERT NEAMAN. 

Albert Newman, who is now serving his second term as county clerk 
of Shawnee County, is one of the most efficient officers the county has ever 
had and is exceedingly popular, not only in his own party, but among that 
class of independents who recognize and commend merit wherever they find 
it. He has been a prominent citizen of Topeka during the past decade, and 
has been especially prominent in political circles, being one of the local leaders 
of the Republican party. 

Mr. Newman was born at Falls City, Nebraska, September 3, 1873, 
and is one of a family of five children born to M. J. and Rachel (Marks) 
Newman. He was reared and educated at Omaha, Nebraska, and has been 
a resident of Topeka since 1894. He attained success as manager of both 
opera houses in this city, a position he held for a number of years. During 
the years of 1899 and 1900 he was secretary of the Republican County Central 
Committee, and in 1901 was elected county clerk on the Republican ticket 
by a majority of 3,780 over his opponent, P. H. Miller. His increasing 
popularity was attested in 1904 when he was reelected by a majority of 5,043, 
a silent tribute to his efficiency as a public servant. 

On April 5, 1898, Mr. Newman was joined in marriage with Sadie 
Snadtinger, by whom he has a son, Victor. Fraternally he is a Mason 
of the 32nd degree, a member of the Scottish Rite, and a member of the 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 481 

Modern Woodmen of America. He is also treasurer of the First District 
Congressional Committee. Mr. Newman resides with his family in a pleasant 
home at No. 923 Monroe street. 



JOHN DICKEY. 



John Dickey, an honored survivor of the great Civil War and a pioneer 
in Auburn township, Shawnee County, where he owns a fine farm of 160 
acres known as "Seven Oaks Farm," located in section 30, township 13, 
range 14, was born in Fayette County, Ohio, near Washington Court House, 
September 23, 1842, and is a son of William and Eleanor (Ghormley) 
Dickey. 

The father of our subject was born in South Carolina. He was educated 
for the Presbyterian ministry and preached for 55 years. He organized a 
church at Bloomingburg, Ohio, in which he preached for 40 years to a day. 
His death took place there at the age of 83 years. For military service in 
the War of 18 12, he received a grant of 160 acres of land. He married 
Eleanor Ghormley, who was born in Pennsylvania and died in Ohio, aged 60 
years. They had five children, those who reached maturity being: William 
W., of Johnson County, Kansas, who served three years during the Civil 
War in Company C, 20th Reg., Ohio Vol. Inf. ; Sarah Jane, wife of Tracy 
Down, of Chalk Mound, Kansas; John, of this sketch; and Amanda, wife 
of H. H. Davis, of this county. By a former marriage with Rebecca Ross, 
he had 10 children. 

Our subject remained on his father's farm in Ohio until he was 16 
years old, too young by far to don a soldier's uniform, but this he did on 
August 6, 1861, when he enlisted in Company A, First Reg., Ohio Vol. Cav., 
under Capt. John H. Robinson. Companies A and C of this regiment were 
sent to Virginia and took a prominent part in the battles of Cheat Mountain, 
Green Brier River, Winchester, Port Republic, Mine Run, Fredericksburg, 
Chantilla, Slaughter Mountain, Second Bull Run, Gettysburg, Monterey, 
Falling Water, Brandy Station, Antietam, and the Wilderness. This troop 
of cavalry was then transferred to the Army of the Tennessee, being intended 
for General Kilpatrick's body-guard. 

On Augnst 22, 1862, Mr. Dickey was taken prisoner, with 300 com- 
panions, at the time that General Stuart made a raid on General Pope's 
wagon train. He was confined in Castle Thunder, Libby Prison and Belle 
Isle, but was paroled before long. During his three years of arduous service, 
he participated in 23 regular battles and many minor engagements. At the 



482 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY , 

close of his army life, he returned to Ohio and engaged in farming for four 
years, coming then to Kansas and settling on his present farm in 1868. 

When Mr. Dickey located here, he found a great tract of unimproved 
land in his part of the county. From the very first he took a deep interest 
and genuine pride in his possessions and has given the best years of his life 
to developing his farm, now one of the finest in his locality, devoted to the 
raising of grain and stock. 

In 1879 Mr. Dickey was married to Sadie Reed, who was born in 
Westmoreland County, Pennsylvania, July 7, 1856, and is a daughter of H. H. 
and Eliza (Fisher) Reed. They have two children: Guy Thompson and 
Earl Fisher, both of whom still remain under the parental roof. 

In political sentiment, Mr. Dickey has always been a Republican. He 
has acceptably filled a number of the township offices, being trustee for five 
years and clerk for seven years and is justly looked upon as one of the reliable 
representative men of this section. 



OTIS E. HUNGATE. 

Otis E. Hungate, prosecuting attorney of Shawnee County, is a mem- 
ber of the well-known law firm of Austin & Hungate of Topeka, with offices 
in the Stormont Building. As a public officer, as well as in private practice, 
he has won distinction at the bar and takes rank among the foremost lawyers 
of the capital city. 

Mr. Hungate was born in Topeka, December 8, 1871, and is a son of 
Andrew J. and Sarah L. (Ritchie) Hungate, his mother being a sister of 
Gen. John Ritchie, who attained distinction in the Union Army during the 
Civil War. Andrew J. Hungate, whose death occurred October 30, 1904, 
was one of the pioneer citizens of Shawnee County and was its foremost 
live-stock salesman up to the time of his death. 

Otis E. Hungate was reared and educated in Topeka, attending the 
public and high schools of this city. He read law in the office of Attorney 
Joseph Waters and attended the law department of the University of Michi- 
gan at Ann Arbor, in 1891 and 1892. He was admitted to practice at 
Topeka December 8, 1892, on his 21st birthday. He immediately entered 
practice in his native city and during 1893, 1894 and 1895 served as assistant 
city attorney. He then resumed private practice and attained a high degree 
of success. He formed a partnership with Mr. Austin, under the firm name 
of Austin & Hungate, and this is widely known as one of the strongest com- 




MR. AND MRS. SAMUEL MOORE 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 485 

binations of legal talent in the county. In January, 1901, he was appointed 
assistant prosecuting attorney for the county, serving until August of that 
year when he again returned to private practice. On May 21, 1903, he was 
appointed prosecuting attorney for Shawnee County to fill the unexpired term 
of Galen Nichols, and in November, 1904, was elected to succeed himself by 
the overwhelming majority of 4,800 votes, the largest ever received by a 
candidate for this office. The duties of his office are onerous, requiring two 
assistants and a stenographer. 

On December 23, 1896, Mr. Hungate was married to Alice Kepley, a 
daughter of Eph Kepley, of Bourbon County, Kansas, and a sister of R. B. 
Kepley, who was formery sheriff of Shawnee County. Her father is one of 
Bourbon County's most eminent citizens. This union resulted in the birth of a 
daughter, Augusta. Religiously, he and his family attend Grace Cathedral and 
are liberal contributors to its support. Fraternally, our subject belongs to the 
Masons, Woodmen, Elks and Eagles. He is a man of strong personality 
and has many warm friends throughout this section of the State. 



SAMUEL MOORE. 

Samuel Moore, deceased, was one of the best known and highly es- 
teemed residents of Auburn township, Shawnee County, and was also one 
of the best farmers and largest landowners. He was born in County Down, 
Ireland, March 21, 1845, arid died September 17, 1904, on his home farm 
in Auburn township, in section 17, township 13, range 15. He was a son 
of Andrew and Mary Ann (Douglass) Moore, one of six sons, three of 
whom came to America. 

Mr. Moore was a self-made man, coming to Topeka, July 14, 1869, 
with wife and child, a poor farmer, and leaving a large and valuable estate, 
which he had earned through his own industry and good management. For 
fhree years after coming, he rented land and then moved upon a quarter- 
section of land in Auburn township — located in section 17, township 13, 
range 15 — which he bought several years later and which has continued to 
be the home of his widow and family. To this he subsequently added other 
tracts of unimproved land, until he owned 640 acres in addition to 160 
acres that he gave to his sons. He took a great^ deal of interest in his home 
and family, built a comfortable residence and erected substantial buildings 
of all kinds. His main crop was corn. He was also a large and successful 
stock-raiser. 

In 1866 Mr. Moore was united in marriage with Anna Baxter, the es- 



486 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

timable lady who still survives him. She was born in County Down, Ireland, 
September 23, 1846, and is a daughter of William and Anna (McCully) 
Baxter, the youngest of their 1 1 children. Her two brothers, John and Isaac, 
and her sister, Mrs. Susanna (Allen) Whitten, came to this locality be- 
fore she did, all four being pioneers here. Mr. and Mrs. Moore had 17 
children, the 10 who survived infancy being: Mary, who died aged 11 
years; John, who lives at home; Malcolm, of Auburn township; Maggie, 
who married John Henderson and at her death at the age of 25 years left two 
children; and Mary Ellen, Susie, Maria, George, Hugh and William^, who 
live at home. Samuel Henderson, Mrs. Moore's grandson, also lives with 
her. 

Mr. Moore was a very intelligent, well-informed man. He was very 
fond of reading and often spent long evenings with his books and papers. 
He reared a large family to respect his authority and he provided them 
with all reasonable comforts and gave them many advantages. They were 
reared in the faith of the Presbyterian Church and he was a trustee in the 
Auburn church for many years. Politically he was a Republican. In his 
death Auburn township lost one of its best citizens. Portraits of Mr. and 
Mrs. Moore accompany this sketch. 



THOMAS J. FAXON. 

Thomas J. Faxon, one of the prominent farmers and substantial and 
representative citizens of Shawnee County, residing in section 12, township 
12, range 16, in Tecumseh township and the owner of three fine farms 
aggregating 320 acres, is also a veteran of the great Civil War. Mr. Faxon 
was born August i, 1839, in Raisin township, Lenawee County, Michigan, 
and is a son of Thomas J. and Delia (Faxon) Faxon. 

The parents of Mr. Faxon were distantly related. The father was a 
native of Massachusetts and the mother, of Whitesboro, New York. The 
family is of Scotch-English stock and was established in New England 
at an early day, subsequently branching out into other sections. The parents 
of Mr. Faxon went to Michigan in youth, married there and also died there. 
They had five children, namely: Theodore S., of Adrian, Michigan; Thomas 
J., of this sketch; Mrs. Minerva Emma Worden, of Ypsilanti, Michigan; 
Mrs. Eliza D. Rogers, deceased, formerly of Adrian, Michigan ; and Margaret, 
who died young. 

Thomas J. Faxon remained on his father's farm until 1858, when he 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 487 

went to Davenport, Iowa, and he was working on a farm in that vicinity 
when the Civil War broke out. When the call came for troops to defend 
the flag under which he had been born and which he had grown to love 
with true loyalty, he was one of the first to decide to offer his services and 
as soon as he could adjust his affairs he became a soldier in the Union Army. 
In August, 1861, he entered Company E, Second Reg., Iowa Vol. Cav., under 
Captain Kendrick and Colonel Elliott. The regiment was sent to St. Louis, 
to Cairo and then to New Madrid, then on to Shiloh, Corinth and luka and 
fought their way, with constant skirmishing, to Baton Rouge, Louisiana. 
Mr. Faxon escaped serious injury and was with his regiment all the time 
with the exception of two weeks when he was held as a prisoner of war, 
having been captured at Holly Springs, Mississippi. After a faithful service 
of three years, he was mustered out at Davenport, Iowa, in October, 1864. 
The war still continuing, Mr. Faxon reenlisted in April, 1865, at Detroit, in 
company A, Eighth Reg., United States Vet. Vol., under Capt. John D. 
Parkhurst and Colonel Monk. The closing of the war came soon after and 
Mr. Faxon did not see any more active service. The Eighth Regiment held 
an honorable place in the Grand Review at Washington, D. C. 

Mr. Faxon then returned to Michigan and went into a grocery business 
with his father and brother at Adrian, where he remained for about four 
years and then came, in November, 1869, to Tecumseh township, Shawnee 
County, where he has resided ever since. He brought with him his family 
and household goods and settled on an unimproved tract of 160 acres. This 
land he fenced, broke and put under cultivation himself, later added more 
land and made the excellent improvements now noted, having a comfortable 
attractive home with pleasant surroundings. Formerly he devoted his land 
to the raising of both grain and stock but now gives his attention mainly 
to stock-raising alone. 

Mr. Faxon was married October 9, 1867, to Maria C. Canfield, who 
was born at Kendall, Orleans County, New York, April 27, 1844, and is a 
daughter of Thomas S. and Miranda C. (Barnes) Canfield, natives of Con- 
necticut and Vermont, respectively. Mr. Canfield died in Michigan, but 
Mrs. Canfield died in Shawnee County. To Mr. and Mrs. Faxon were born 
four children: Maggie M., who died aged 11 months; Ralph H., an educated 
young man with three years' experience at Washburn College, who is private 
secretary to Senator Long, — he married Louise Winans, of Hutchinson, 
Kansas, and one child, a son, Wallace W. ; Mira D., wife of Gilbert Griswold; 
and Bessie M., who lives at home. Mr. Griswold a-^sists Mr. Faxon in the 
operation of his farm and he and wife have these children: Charles T., 
Florence I. and Walter F. Mrs. Faxon and daughters belong to Bethel 
Presbyterian Church; Mr. Faxon was a liberal contributor when the church 



488 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

was built. He is a member of Jesse Nelson Post, No. 62, G. A. R., of 
Tecumseh. Formerly he was affiliated with the Republican party but ifl 
later years has felt justified in voting independently, making a choice more 
of the man than the party. Mr. Faxon is a very well-known citizen and 
he and family are held in the highest respect in Tecumseh township. 



THOMAS ELLIOTT BOWMAN. 

Thomas Elliott Bowman, whose death the people of Topeka and 
vicinity were called upon to mourn on the 26th day of May, 1896, was 
one of the most prominent and useful members of the community. He 
had been a leading spirit in the business circles of the city for some 16 years 
prior to his demise, and the life lead by him, characterized at all times by 
honesty and fair dealing and an impulse to assist his unfortunate fellow- 
beings, endeared him to the people. 

Mr. Bowman was born in the "Green Mountain" State, and was one 
of four children born to his parents, who came of substantial New England 
stock. His father was Thomas Bowman. Upon reaching maturity, our sub- 
ject went to Boston, where for many years prior to coming to Kansas he was 
interested in the manufacture of silk as a member of the firm of Seavey, 
Foster & Bowman. He was an energetic and forceful character in busi- 
ness and soon became independent so far as this world's goods are con- 
cerned. Success crowned his efforts, but it was unfortunately at the cost of 
his health, and he found it necessary in middle life to sever family and busi- 
ness ties and take up life anew in a more equable climate. A character like 
that of our subject, however, is never daunted by trials of such a nature, and 
it was with confidence in his ability to succeed in a new line of business 
and in a new country that he took up his residence in Topeka, beginning a 
loan business. Here he became a great force in business circles and during 
the entire period of his residence was a potent factor in the splendid develop- 
ment which came to the capital city. 

In his private life Mr. Bowman was a most exemplary character. He 
was generous and free with his means and no meritorious case of charity 
ever left his door unanswered. His philanthropy was dealt out, however, 
in the true Scriptural manner, so that but few knew its wide extent and 
generous variety. He was ever ready to lend his influence and means to 
advance plans for the educational uplift of the communities in which he re- 
sided, but while he was friendly to all agencies in this line, he became 
particularly interested in the kindergarten idea, firmly believing with the great 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 489 

exponent of that system, Herr Froebel, that our educational system must be 
reconstructed, and that from the foundation. He lived to see the idea become 
immensely popular and no doubt would have succeeded in making it a part 
of the regular school system in Topeka had he been spared. Concerning 
our subject, one of the leading papers of the city on the day following his 
death contained this well-merited paragraph: 

"In the death of Mr. Bowman, Topeka loses a citizen of high character, 
a business man of exemplary habits and a generous giver to all philanthropic 
Work. Although hampered at all times to a considerable extent with a 
delicate constitution, he was a leading spirit in several philanthropic enter- 
prises. He was a member of the First Congregational Church and was 
deeply interested in the work of that organization. He found ways of mak- 
ing the most of life and his temperament has been a most happy and 
cheerful one." 

Mr. Bowman was united in marriage with Mary E. Burleson, a daughter 
of Caleb N. Burleson, of Vermont. She died in December, 1863, leaving a 
son, H. C. Bowman, who is now one of the leading business men oi the 
city, and a daughter, Marion, wife of Fred O. Popenoe, of Topeka. Our 
subject formed a second union in 1865 with Eliza Wilson, a daughter of 
John G. Wilson, of Massachusetts. Mrs. Bowman resides in the fine family 
home at No. 221 West loth avenue. In the year 1897 she built an annex 
to the Central Congregational Church of solid stone at a cost of $4,500. 
This was given in memory of her husband and bears the inscription: "T. E. 
Bowman Memorial." 

It is much to have lived — it is vastly of greater moment to have lived 
well; so well that in death we yet have life in the fragrant memories that 
cluster about the hearts of family and friends. In such manner does the life 
of our deceased subject continue to wield an unctuous and blessed influence 
in the community where he passed his riper days, loved by all who had known 
him intimately and respected by the entire countryside. 



HON. DAVID MILLINGTON HOWARD. 

Hon. David Millington Howard, one of the well-known citizens and 
most extensive stock-raisers and successful farmers of Rossville township, 
Shawnee County, a resident of section 3, township 11, range 13, and the 
owner of 1,600 acres of land, was born in 1843, ^t Shaftsbury, Vermont, 
and is a son of Jared and Mary (Matteson) Howard. 

The Howard family is a very old and honorable one in Vermont, where 



490 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

/I 
it has flourished for generations. Otis Howard, the grandfather of our sub- 
ject, was born there and lived on his own large estate, agriculture and stock- 
raising having been the family occupations up to the present time. His 
children were: Rachel, Jared, Rebecca, Jacob M., Polly and Mercy. Jacob 
M. Howard was a very prominent man in Michigan and served several terms 
as a Representative and for nine years as a member of the State Senate. 

Our subject came to Kansas in 1872, accompanied by his parents, who 
settled in section 3, township 11, range 13, in Rossville township, Shawnee 
County, on a tract of 67 acres. Until 1876 he engaged in general farming 
and then became interested in stock-raising, adding large tracts of land and 
introducing a fine herd of Shorthorn cattle. On his great 1,600-acre farm 
he now keeps some 600 head of these valuable cattle and his stock farm is 
noted all over the State. 

In 1870 Mr. Howard was married, in Shaftsbury, Vermont, to Chettie 
A. Stanley, who was born in Vermont and is a daughter of Joseph and Jane 
(Fuller) Stanley, and a granddaughter of Benajah Stanley, a prominent 
man of his day in Vermont. 

In addition to his extensive business interests, Mr. Howard has been 
closely identified with public affairs since he came to Kansas. In political 
sympathy he is a Populist and by that party was elected to the State Legislature 
in 1890 and approval was shown of his course there by his reelection in 1893. 
He is a fearless, out-spoken man, who having settled- convictions is not afraid 
to live up to them. Fraternally he is a Mason and an Odd Fellow and be- 
longs also to the Knights and Ladies of Security. 



GUILFORD DUDLEY 

Guilford Dudley, formerly adjutant general of Kansas, and for the 
past half century a resident of Topeka, died at his home No. 719 Harrison 
street, April 14, 1905, at the age of 70 years. Mr. Dudley was born at Bath, 
Steuben County, New York, m 1835. 

In many ways the life of the late Mr. Dudley was typical of Western 
energy although his rearing had been along the quiet, conservative lines of 
agricultural environment.^ From the district schools he entered Oberlin Col- 
lege, Ohio, and soon after graduation from that liberal institution he started 
Westward, seeking his fortune. In 1855 he settled for a few months at 
Lawrence, Kansas, but Topeka attracted him on account of more favorable 
business conditions and he located here in a real estate business and also 
opened a hotel. In those stirring days it was almost impossible for a man 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 491 

of spirit to avoid taking part in the momentous events that were here trans- 
piring and Mr. Dudley found himself enrolled with James H. Lane, whose 
career belongs to the history of the State. Personal admiration for the cour- 
age of this leader as well as sympathy with his aims, led Mr. Dudley into 
serving as one of his guards. 

Mr. Dudley had, in the meantime, come into such prominence that in 
1862 he was appointed adjutant general of Kansas, an office for which he 
was eminently qualified, but which he resigned after an incumbency of 18 
months. During his long and active career, Mr. Dudley accepted but two 
other public positions, that of clerk of the Territorial Legislature, in 1859, 
and that of city clerk of Topeka, in 1861. 

While Mr. Dudley's commercial prominence came largely through his 
extensive banking interests, he was concerned in many other lines, all of which 
were made to contribute to his success. Prior to starting his first banking 
business at Topeka, he traveled through Colorado, Nebraska, New Mexico 
and Kansas, as collecting agent for the wholesale grocery firm of Carney 
& Stephens, of Leavenworth. In 1869 he started the bank which for more 
than 30 years continued one of the solid financial institutions of the city, one 
old and trusted like its founder. 

Mr. Dudley was also a farmer and probably took more pleasure in his 
agricultural operations than in all the social life and political concerns of 
Topeka. With him the raising of fine stock was not a fad, for he ,made 
it one of the serious questions of his life, studied the subject from every 
point of view, read literature from every authority and during the time he was 
regent of the State Agricultural College gave lectures to the students of 
such a practical nature that they were of the greatest permanent value. Pos- 
sessing the ample means which such investigations demand, Mr. Dudley ex- 
perimented on food values relating to horses and cattle and invented what 
is now generally used by stock-raisers as a most satisfactory combination, — 
the "balanced ration food." He was also one of the very first to recognize 
the value of alfalfa. He was a frequent contributor to agricultural journals 
and his suggestions were welcomed on account of their practical nature, his 
results having been reached through scientific research instead of through 
chance. Mr. Dudley did not confine his reading to works pertaining to this 
subject in which he was so much interested, but covered a wide range, feeding 
a naturally searching mind. 

Mr. Dudley was a large property owner, his possessions including much 
real property of value on Kansas avenue, his beautiful home on Harrison 
street, a number of fine farms and the tract which is partly used as Associa- 
tion Park by the Topeka Baseball Company. He was president of the great 



492 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Crosby Roller Milling Company, in which he owned a large amount of 
stock. 

Mr. Dudley was married at Topeka, June 5, 1867, to Samantha V. 
Otis, who was born at Rutland, Vermont. She still survives with a son and 
daughter, the former bearing his father's honored name, and the latter being 
the wife of Dr. William Walker, of Philadelphia. 

Although Mr. Dudley was a man of quiet tastes he enjoyed sociability 
and the companionship of congenial friends. He was a member of the Topeka 
Club, and was one of the 50 charter members of the Saint Ananias Club, of 
Topeka, and shortly before his fatal illness he had succeeded in organizing 
what was to be known as the Farmers' Club, its membership to be made up 
of old residents who had been farmers. He was a man who made his in- 
fluence felt wherever he was, not through any ostentation, but quietly and 
wisely. 



HENRY H. KEITH, M. D. 

Henry H. Keith, M. D., senior member of the well-known firm of 
Keith & Rhodes, physicians and surgeons of Topeka, and founder of the 
Keith Hospital and Sanitarium, is now serving in the capacity of coroner of 
Shawnee County. He stands among the foremost in his profession and the 
remarkable success attained by him has come through close application to his 
work and constant study of new and approved methods, which are constantly 
being brought to the fore. 

He was born July i, 1867, and is one of four children born to John 
M. and Mary (Christie) Keith. His father was a native of Indiana, and 
there followed the occupation of a farmer until his death in 1897. 

Henry H. Keith was reared and educated in the State of Illinois, where 
upon reaching man's estate he engaged in the drug business for some years. 
He attended Columbus Medical College at Columbus, Ohio, and was grad- 
uated therefrom in 1892, and since that time has taken two post-graduate 
courses in New York, in 1895 ^"d again in 1898. He was also graduated 
from Ensworth Medical College, of St. Joseph, Missouri, in 1900. His first 
practice of medicine was as chief surgeon of the Missouri, Kansas & Texas 
Railway Company's coal mines, and for a time he resided in Cherokee County, 
Kansas. He came to Topeka in 1898 and here he has since engaged in prac- 
tice. In 1903 he established and now conducts the modern and up-to-date 
hospital, well known^ as the Keith Hospital and Sanitarium, an institution 
with a capacity for the accommodation of 35 patients at a time. He was 
elected county coroner on the Republican ticket in 1904 with a majority 




JAMES C. SHIMER 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 495 

of 4,800 votes, and since January i, 1905, has discharged the duties of that 
office in an eminently satisfactory manner. He resides with his family in a 
comfortable home at No. 17 10 loth avenue, and maintains a fine suite of offices 
at No. 531 Kansas avenue, thoroughly equipped and furnished. 

Dr. Keith married Helen Fitch. Fraternally, he is a member of the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, Knights of Pythias, Ancient Order of 
United Workmen, Knights and Ladies of Security and Fraternal Order of 
Eagles. He is a member of the county and State medical societies and of the 
American Medical Association. 



JAMES C. SHIMER. 

James C. Shimer, one of Topeka's prominent and reputable business 
men, wholesale and retail dealer in coal, feed and flour, was born in Marion 
County, Indiana, on the site of the present suburb of Irvington. The story 
of his life is one full of interest, exemplifying as it does the power of con- 
centrated effort, honest endeavor and persistent industry. 

In all the essentials Mr. Shimer is a self-made man. From the age of 
four years he was reared in the home of a wealthy uncle, under the direct 
care of his paternal grandmother. He assisted on the farm during his boy- 
hood and attended the local schools until he was 16 years old. He was very 
ambitious to obtain higher educational advantages, but his views and those 
of his uncle did not coincide and the result was that he left home and hired 
out to another farmer, for $16 a month. He remained there one year and, 
out of that meager salary, saved enough to clothe him and to pay for a 
course through business college. Feeling that now he was better prepared 
for a life of business usefulness, he returned to his uncle's farm and remained 
there until he was 19 years old. 

In 1887 Mr. Shimer came to Kansas and settled at Topeka where he se- 
cured employment in the bridge and building department of the Atchison, 
Topeka & Santa Fe Railway shops where he remained for five years. By 
this time he had accumulated enough capital to make starting into business 
for himself, on a small scale, a possibility. Selecting staple articles as his 
line, he and his brother-in-law, H. D. McNeely, under the firm name of 
McNeely & Shimer, embarked in the retail coal, flour and feed business, in 
two small rooms 12 by 14 in dimensions, located on the site of his present 
establishment at No. 181 5 Kansas avenue. Mr. McNeely attended to the 
inside work and Mr. Shimer did the hauling. The partnership continued 
only through the first winter and Mr. Shimer has been alone in the business 
ever since. Although now a capitalist and one of the most extensive dealers 

24 



496 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

in his line in Topeka, his early business days were fraught with a great deal 
of anxiety and hardship. He had to contend with long credits, fluctuating 
prices and general commercial depression and but for the public confidence 
he had gained through his honest and upright dealing from the very first, 
he could scarcely have managed, at times, to pull through safely. 

During his second year in business his prospects brightened and he was 
able to see himself firmly established and with business foresight he recog- 
nized the advisability of purchasing his present site, where the business was 
first started. The price asked was $1,200, which he paid in installments. 
In 1889 he erected a fine brick building 20 by 50 feet in dimensions, two 
stories in height, borrowing a part of the money necessary for this venture. 
He now has all his property paid for, has neither debts nor mortgages and 
also owns six lots on Kansas avenue north of his place of business and 
«ight and one-half lots on Van Buren street, including three houses and his 
beautiful home which is situated at No. 181 2 Van Buren street. This 
handsome modern residence cost him $3,200 and is a model of artistic archi- 
tecture, an ornament to the street and a home of comfort and elegance within. 
When he built his place of business he lived first in the rooms above his 
store but later moved into a small house just south of his present fine resi- 
dence, where the family resided until the new home was completed. 

Mr. Shimer has done other building, erecting several substantial barns, 
one of these being for his stock, as he owns eight horses. The other is for 
his hay and he has a convenient arrangement by which he can handle it right 
from the cars without any hauling by teams. 

When Oklahoma Territory was first opened up, Mr. Shimer with a part- 
ner started a mill, the partner's business being to look after the same. He 
was no business man and the mill was closed until Mr. Shimer hired a 
miller to take charge of it. In the meantime a local Topeka mill, known 
as the Farmers' Exchange Mill, situated just west of the Fair Grounds, was 
also in sad straits, having an encumbrance upon it of $1,500. This was 
a business opportunity which appealed to Mr. Shimer and he succeeded in 
closing a deal by which an exchange was made, by which he became the 
owner of the Farmers' Exchange Mill and the other parties of the Okla- 
homa mill. After paying up the mortgage and expending about $1,500 more 
in remodeling his newly acquired property, Mr. Shimer had a very valuable 
adjunct to his flour and feed business, but other changes and plans made it 
an unnecessary feature of his business and he finally disposed of it. He 
carries a full line in flour, feed and coal. His coal warehouses are by the 
side of the railroad tracks, well above ground and he has every facility for 
doing a large business. 

Mr. Shimer can justly be proud of his success. It has been wholly the 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 497 

result of his own endeavor, without the assistance of relatives or friends or 
the doubtful speculation by which immense fortunes have been secured in 
these latter days. Honest dealing, prompt delivery and courteous treatment 
have greatly assisted Mr. Shimer in his business relations and have brought 
him the esteem of his associates. 

Mr. Shimer was married in December, 1889, to Dora McElvain, who was 
born at Lincoln, Illinois. They have seven children, namely: Grace, Rob- 
ert, Merle, Ralph, Ruth, Emery and Kermet, the youngest being named for 
the youngest son of President Roosevelt. Mrs. Shimer and the three young- 
est children have lately paid a visit to the old home in Indiana, where the 
husband and father solved many of life's very serious problems in his boy- 
hood and youth. They returned with a much higher appreciation, if pos- 
sible, of what Mr. Shimer had accomplished in comparatively so short a 
time. 

Mr. Shimer has always been active in his support of all movements 
looking to the business and social development of Topeka. He has been a 
liberal contributor to the city's educational and charitable enterprises and 
can always be counted upon to further laudable public improvements. He 
has been a life-long Republican and, on account of his substantial character, 
has been selected by his party and fellow-citizens for civic offices. His term 
as alderman of the Fifth Ward expired in April, 1905, but his services were 
of so valuable a nature to the city and ward that he was not permitted to re- 
turn to private life, but was re-elected for another term of two years. His 
fraternal connection is with the Knights of Pythias. 

Topeka has, more than many cities, its quota of men who have made 
their lives successful through their own efforts and their life histories are 
calculated to inspire others with emulation. Mr. Shimer is a prominent 
■example of this class and his life teaches a lesson of success and how to at- 
tain the goal that must appeal to every young man who is fighting the battle 
of life under the constant spur of necessity backed by ambition. A portrait 
of the subject of this article appears on a foregoing page in proximity to this. 



THOMAS C. BIDDLE, M. D. 

Thomas C. Biddle, M. D., a distinguished physician and surgeon, is 
superintendent of the State Hospital for the Insane at Topeka, the duties 
of which office he has discharged since April, 1899. He was born on his 
father's farm in Putnam County, Indiana, September 14, 1857, and is one 
of a family of 13 children born to his parents, Richard and Elizabeth (Jones) 
Biddle. His father was a farmer by occupation. 



498 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Dr. Biddle was reared in Putnam County, Indiana, and there attended 
the common schools. He later attended DePauw University, and then took 
up the study of medicine. He attended Rush Medical College, Chicago, grad- 
uating in 1881, then pursued a course in the New York Post-Graduate Medical 
College. Immediately thereafter he located at Reading, Kansas, and practiced 
his profession for a period of six years. Seeking a larger field, he located 
at Emporia, Kansas, where he continued successfully until 1895, when he 
accepted the appointment of superintendent of the State Hospital for the 
Insane at Osawatomie, Kansas. He filled that position most satisfactorily for 
three years, then resigned to answer the call to arms during the Spanish- 
American War. He was commissioned assistant surgeon in the 21st Regi- 
ment, Kansas Infantry, U. S. Volunteers, and served most creditably until 
he was honorably discharged in December, 1898. In April, 1899, ^^ was 
appointed to his present position as superintendent of the State Hospital for 
the Insane at Topeka. The affairs of this institution have been placed upon a 
firm basis and the people of Kansas can well take pride in the manner in 
which it has been managed, free from the stigma of complaint and scandal 
which has characterized the institutions of so many other States. This in- 
stitution was established in the late '70's, the first inmate being taken in on 
June I, 1879, and from that time until the close of the 19th century it cared 
for 4,545 patients. According to the report made at the end of that period, 
1,604 had been discharged as recovered, 698 discharged as improved, 297 as 
unimproved, 7 as not insane, 130 transferred to the Osawatomie asylum, 
44 on visit or eloped, and 903 had died. This is surely a most creditable 
report. Dr. Biddle is ably assisted .in his work by Dr. W. C. Van Nuys and 
Dr. J. C. Bennett. The capacity of the institution is 1,050, and gives em- 
ployment to 145 attendants. 

Our subject was united in marriage with Elva Egbert, a daughter of 
S. W. Egbert. In politics, he is an enthusiastic Republican, and has been 
an active worker for party success. Fraternally, he is a Mason. 



T. B. SWEET. 



T. B. Sweet, one of Topeka's leading capitalists, who is closely identi- 
fied with almost all of her most successful business enterprises, a large land- 
owner in various sections of Kansas and in seven States of the Union, was 
bom April 11, 1841, in Maine, and is a son of Lorella and Mary W. 
(Bailey) Sweet. 

The Sweet family, with its various branches and connections, remains 
to this day a prominent one in New England. Ebenezer Sweet, the great- 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 499 

grandfather, and Col. Ellis Sweet, the grandfather, were men of afifairs in 
their day, the latter also serving with distinction in the War of 1812. The 
father of our subject was a trained mechanic and assisted in the building of 
the great Merrimack mills at Lowell, Massachusetts. He married Mary W. 
Bailey, of Tewksbury, Massachusetts, and they had three children. In 1859 
the family moved to Champaign, Illinois, where the parents spent the rest of 
their lives and where one son still resides, a leading attorney. 

T. B. Sweet was educated in the common schools at Farmington, Maine, 
and then at Farmington Academy, the latter being now the great State Normal 
School, which he left at the age of 14 years. He began his business career 
in the mercantile line and then went into the drug business, following the 
latter for 10 years. Then he became cashier of the First National Bank of 
Champaign. His attention was first attracted to Kansas after the Civil War, 
and he visited the State in 1869 with a view to investing in land. His 
observations convinced him that there was a great future for this section, 
and in October, 1872, he located permanently at Topeka. Shortly after, he 
organized the Kansas Loan & Trust Company and for 25 years or more 
continued as its head. Since September i, 1898, he has given his attention 
exclusively to his personal afifairs, his many enterprises requiring his time 
and close consideration. A few of his business connections are: Director in 
the Bank of Topeka; director in the Edison Electric Light Illuminating Com- 
pany; trustee of Washburn College; one of the original trustees of Christ's 
Hospital; and director in the Missouri & Kansas Telephone Company. He 
is also a trustee and on the directing board of the University of Topeka, a 
Methodist Episcopal organization; a trustee in the Methodist Old Peoples' 
Home; and was for years an official in the State and local Y. M. C. A., and 
chairman of the Methodist Episcopal State Sunday-School organization. For 
16 years he represented Kansas on the International Sunday-School Com- 
mittee. He was the first president of the Brotherhood of St. Paul, connected 
with the First Methodist Episcopal Church and takes a veiy active part in all 
its work, financially furthering its many benevolent enterprises. 

Mr. Sweet was married at Jacksonville, Illinois, to Annie Brown, who 
was a daughter of Judge William and Susan (Finley) Brown, the former 
of whom was born in 18 10, served in the Illinois Legislature when it met 
in Vandalia and died in 1871. Judge Brown's father was born in the South 
and was a slave-holder, but moved to a free State in order to rear his chil- 
dren differently. The maternal grandfather was president of the college at 
Athens, Georgia, for many years. Four members of Judge Brown's family 
s^^mirvive. Mr. and Mrs. Sweet have had five children, viz : Susie Brown, 
an^complished lady, who was educated at the College of the Sisters of 
Bethany, Topeka, and at the Woman's College, Baltimore; William Brown, 



500 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

deceased; Mary Bailey, educated at the College of the Sisters of Bethany, 
the State University at Lawrence and the Woman's College, Baltimore, who 
is a teacher in the Chicago Training School ; Paul Bailey, educated at Wash- 
burn College and at Yale College, who took honors at Yale ; and Annie Brown, 
who is a graduate of Washburn College. The family home at No. 231 
Topeka avenue is one of the finest residences in the city. Aside from his 
business prominence, Mr. Sweet has been so interested in religious and 
philanthropic work that he is known and esteemed over the whole State, 
especially so in all organizations connected with the Methodist Episcopal 
Church. 



ALMON L. TOMSON. 

Almon L. Tomson, whose fine farm of 240 acres of valuable fruit and 
farming land justifies the assumption that he is one of the substantial men 
of Soldier township, Shawnee County, as he is also one of the township's 
most esteemed citizens, was born April 30, 1839, in Shalersville township, 
Portage County, Ohio, and is a son of James and Eliza (Marvin) Tomson. 

The father of Mr. Tomson was born in 181 2 at Williamstown, Vermont, 
while the mother was born at Shalersville, Ohio, in 181 6. The father died 
February 15, 1866, on the farm in Portage County, Ohio, on which he had 
settled at marriage. They reared five children. 

Our subject was educated in the district schools and the village of Shalers- 
ville, and grew up a practical farmer. He owned a farm of 166 acres and 
was one of the leading men of Shalersville township prior to coming to 
Kansas, for nine years being a justice of the peace and also filling the offices 
of trustee and assessor. In 1890 he exchanged his Ohio farm for 160 acres 
of the property he now owns, to which he subsequently added 80 acres. It 
is situated in section 12, township 10, range 15, and is now one of the most 
valuable farms in Soldier township, although when he came upon it he found 
it in poor condition, needing the experienced handling of a good agriculturist. 
He has put out a great deal of small fruit which has proved a sticcessful 
venture and he also raises a large number of Poland-China hogs, and a fine 
strain of cattle. His son Arthur B. is associated with him in the operation 
of the farm. 

Mr. Tomson was married June 6, 1865, to Sarah M. Proctor, who is a 
daughter of Ephraim J. and Mary A. (Middleton) Proctor. Mr. Proctor 
was born in 1812 in Vermont and his wife in the same year, in Ohio, 
moved to Iowa in 1845, where Mr. Proctor farmed and did blacksmith? 
They reared four children. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 501 

Mr. and Mrs. Tomson have had five children, namely: Amy E., v^^hO' 
died March 29, 1878, aged 11 years, and was buried at Shalersville ; James. 
C, who is a successful farmer in Soldier township, owning 160 acres also ia 
Trego County, Kansas, and 30 head of cattle; Annie B., who died March 22,. 
1878, and was buried at Shalersville; Almon L., Jr., born February 6, 1879, 
who owns a wheat farm of 80 acres in Trego County, Kansas ; and Arthur B.,. 
born November 20, 1881, who works with his father on shares. 

Politically, Mr. Tomson is a Democrat, but he has taken no very active 
part in politics since coming to Kansas. He is a member of Muddy Creek 
Grange. He is well known in the township where both he and his family are 
held in great respect. 



HON. SAMUEL A. KINGMAN. 

Almost more honored and beloved than any other of the State's dis- 
tinguished citizens was the late Judge Kingman, who for 14 years served 
on the Supreme Court bench, and for nine years was chief justice. As the 
acknowledged leader in that great historical gathering, the Wyandotte con- 
vention, in 1859, the same which formed the Free-State constitution which 
insured inalienable rights to the citizens of this great commonwealth, he won 
the undying gratitude of his fellow-citizens. Had his life closed then before 
it had been crowned with later honors, he had done enough. As father of 
the homestead exemption law, one which in its every provision is generous 
and satisfactory, he insured justice to the weak and helpless and provided for 
the widow and the fatherless. Kansas loved him; Kansas honored him, and, 
when he passed away, in venerable old age, the State mourned him. 

Judge Kingman was born in the earlier years of the past century, on 
June 26, 1 81 8, a native of Worthitigton, Massachusetts, and was a son of 
Isaiah and Lucy Kingman. His education was pursued first in the common 
schools of his native village and he also passed some time at the local Mountain 
Academy, all of his knowledge gained here, however, being indifferent to 
what he wrought out for himself. Ambitious to enter upon the study of a 
profession, he found it necessary to provide the means for himself and at 
the age of 17 began to teach school. Two years later he secured a school in 
Kentucky and an opportunity to devote some time to the study of the law, 
and subsequently sought his first clients at Carrollton, in that State. Later 
he removed to Livingston County and entered into politics there, was elected 
county clerk and district attorney and also served three years in the State 
Legislature. 

The wider fields opening in the West encouraged him to remove in the 



502 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

spring of 1856 to Iowa, and in the following year to Kansas. After six 
months spent at Leavenworth, he took up a land claim in Brown County, 
near the present site of the town of Horton, but in the summer of 1858 he 
removed to Hiawatha and resumed his law practice. His ability, his gifts 
and high character were almost immediately recognized and when the time 
came for the calling of that notable assemblage, the Wyandotte constitutional 
convention, he was appointed the delegate from Brown County. His great 
work in this convention is State history. When the organization of the 
State of Kansas was completed, he was elected associate justice of the Supreme 
Court, serving as such until 1864 when he was nominated for associate justice 
on the Union Republican ticket, which had Solon O. Thatcher as its nominee 
for Governor. This ticket was defeated. In the following year. Judge King- 
man removed to Atchison and entered into partnership with the late dis- 
tinguished John James Ingalls, in the practice of the law. One year later, in 
1866, he was elected by the Republican party chief justice of the Supreme 
Court, was reelected in 1872 and continued in office until failing health caused 
him to resign these heavy responsibilities in 1877. For over 14 years he had 
occupied this high office and during nine of these had been chief justice. Dur- 
ing this long period, no charge was ever entertained that cast any doubt 
on his personal integrity; he was able, dignified and absolutely impartial. He 
is represented in the first 17 volumes of the State Reports and the roll call 
of those lawyers who came before his court reveals the names of such eminent 
men as John Martin, Stinson, Gamble, McCahon, Brewer, Ingalls, A. L. 
Williams, Waggener, Shannon, Crozier, Foster, Glick, Ruggles, Plumb, 
Stillings, Fenlon, Wheat, Bertram, Burns, Usher, Simpson, Burris, Devin- 
ney, Otis, McClure, Humphrey, Peck, Thatcher, Cobb and Webb. Chief 
Justice Kingman was the writer of 226 model opinions, notable papers not 
only for their sound judgment, perfect comprehension of legal principles, but 
as well for their brevity and conciseness. 

Failing health continued to prevent Judge Kingman from entering con- 
spicuously into either political or legal life after 1877, although he survived, 
in retirement, far beyond the allotted age of man as given by the Psalmist. 
He filled the office of State librarian for a short time, but found the duties 
too confining. He was interested in many representative State and city bodies, 
having resided at Topeka since 1872. He was the first president of the 
State Historical Society, of which he was one of the founders and of which 
he continued a director. At the time of his decease he was still a valued mem- 
ber of the Saint Ananias Club, of Topeka, where he was always welcome ; he 
was its president as long as he lived and was known as its "Perpetual Presi- 
dent." He had served as presiding officer of a number of legal bodies and 
had been president of the Bar Association of the State of Kansas and of the 




C. T. McLELLAN 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 505 

State judges' Association. He was a great reader and a skilled writer of 
verse. 

On October 30, 1844, Judge Kingman was united in marriage with 
Matilda Willets Hartman, of Terre Haute, Indiana, a daughter of Samuel 
and Susan (Mears) Hartman, of Catawissa, Pennsylvania. Samuel Hart- 
man was a native of Pennsylvania. Judge Kingman is survived by his widow 
and two daughters : Mrs. Lillian Butterfield and Lucy D., the latter of whom 
is a prominent member of the Topeka Federation of Women's Clubs. He is 
also survived by two granddaughters, — Mrs. H. T. Cartlidge and Mrs. 
George N. Clarke, — and by one great-grandson, — Richard Kingman Cart- 
lidge. Mrs. Kingman resides at No. 635 Monroe street. 

The death of Judge Kingman occurred on September 9, 1904. It was 
the occasion of innumerable tributes to his worth from those who had known 
him in the sanctity of private life, in the political arena and on the judicial 
bench, all of them breathing esteem, honor and admiration. 



C. T. McLELLAN. 

C. T. McLellan, division superintendent of the Eastern Division of the 
Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway, has been in railroad work since 1868, 
beginning as a brakeman and advancing, step by step, to his present office of 
great responsibility. He is a native of New England, born at Brunswick, 
Maine. 

Mr. McLellan received only a common-school education, and in every 
essential is a self-made man. The year 1868 found him in Iowa and there 
he accepted a position as brakeman in the employ of the Chicago & North- 
Western Railway, since which year he has worked in every branch of the 
operating department of railroad service. He became chief clerk in the di- 
vision superintendent's office at Las Vegas, New Mexico, later was made 
trainmaster, and subsequently served as conductor and trainmaster of the 
International & Great Northern and Texas & Pacific railroads, in Texas, prior 
to coming to the Santa Fe road. In September, 1890, he was appointed 
to his present position, a very important o'ne. He is in charge of the follow- 
ing territory: From Kansas City to Emporia, by way of Topeka, and by 
way of Ottawa ; and from St. Joseph to Topeka, including the branch through 
Leavenworth and branches between Hawthorne and Holliday, Lawrence and 
Ottawa and Osage City and Quenemo. All this territory is under his personal 



5o6 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

supervision as superintendent; he has one trainmaster, two chief dispatchers, 
six trick dispatchers and eight clerks. 

Mr. McLellan was appointed receiver of the Leavenworth, Topeka & 
South- Western Railroad Company in April, 1894, and later, when the road 
was sold, he was elected president, a position he still fills. 

Mr. McClellan was married in Missouri to Mary A. Hadley, who is a 
native of New Hampshire. They have one son and four daughters,, the 
eldest of the latter being a graduate of Washburn College. They live at No. 
421 Woodlawn avenue in the suburb of Potwin. Fraternally Mr. McLellan 
is a Mason, being a member of Siloam Lodge, No. 225, A. F. & A. M. His 
portrait accompanies this sketch. 



ADAM NEISWENDER. 

Adam Neiswender, deceased, was one of the highly respected men and 
representative agriculturists of Silver Lake township, Shawnee County, for 
many years and when his death took place January 16, 1901, he left behind 
a devoted family and many friends to mourn his loss. He was born April 
28, 1828, at Franklin, Pennsylvania, and was a son of Michael and Barbara 
(Beecher) Neiswender. 

The parents of Adam Neiswender were born in Switzerland and came 
to America in order to better their condition. They settled first at Reading, 
Pennsylvania, and then moved to the vicinity of Columbus, Ohio, where 
the father bought a farm of 160 acres and cultivated it until his death, which 
occurred December 14, 1858, when he was 67 years of age. The mother 
died October i, 1879, aged 85 years. Of their 12 children, Michael, David 
and Adam came to Kansas and all are deceased and lie buried in Prairie 
Home Cemetery. 

Our subject went to school at Columbus, Ohio, and then learned the 
trade of carpenter and bridge builder with his brother. In 1872 he came to 
Kansas and in the same year bought 80 acres of his present farm in section 
14, township II, range 14, in Silver Lake township, Shawnee County, to 
which he subsequently added another 80 acres and this land he cultivated 
and improved until the time of his death, being able to leave to his widow- 
a fine home and valuable property. 

Adam Neiswender was married in November, 1861, to Elizabeth Quinn, 
who was a daughter of David and Catherine Quinn. She died July 15, 1871, 
aged 33 years, having had two sons, — Frank, who died February 12, 1863, 
aged three months ; and Harry, who resides at Sunset, Colorado. The latter's 
first wife, Katie Kennett, was a daughter of Bonnie and Maria (Reeser) 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 507 

Kennett; they had one son, Grover, a capable young man of 17 years who 
is now Mrs. Neiswender's right-hand man on the farm. By his second mar- 
riage Harry Neiswender has one son, Harold Pierce. Our subject was mar- 
ried, second, to the estimable lady who survives him, Catherine Naftzger, who 
was born in Lebanon County, Pennsylvania, one of a family of six children, 
Mrs. Neiswender's mother died when she was 15 months old. She has two 
brothers, Benjamin and Adam. The former lives in Florida. He married 
Rebecca Runkle who died in Iowa in 1884. They had four children : Annie 
(who died in 1885), Lizzie, Adam and Carrie (who died in 1902). The 
second brother lives in Lebanon County, Pennsylvania, where he married 
Barbara Eversole; they have six children. 

Mr. Neiswender was a strong Democrat all his life. When he Hved in 
Pennsylvania, he attended the Lutheran Church, but after locating in Silver 
Lake township he found few Lutherans in the neighborhood and as he was a 
liberal-minded man he helped to build and. support the Presbyterian Church 
at Silver Lake, and also assisted the Methodist and Baptist Churches. 



JOHN SUTHERIN. 

John Sutherin^ a prominent business man of Topeka, engaged in the 
coal business at First avenue and Monroe street, was born in 1841 at New- 
castle-on-Tyne, Northumberland County, England, and is a son of Martin 
Sutherin. 

In 1853 Mr. Sutherin accompanied his father to America, locating in 
Beaver County, Pennsylvania. In 1857 the family removed to Preston 
County, West Virginia. The father died at the age of 79 years and the four 
surviving children are: John, our subject; Annie, who is the wife of Robert 
Logan, living near Dover, Shawnee County; Margaret, who is the wife of 
Matthew Hunter, of Chicago, Illinois ; and Bessie, who is the wife of Jeffer- 
son Sumner, of Topeka township, Shawnee County. 

In 1 861 Mr. Sutherin enlisted from Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, in Com- 
pany G, Second Reg., West Virginia Vol. Inf., three Ohio, four Pennsyl- 
vania and three Virginia companies composing the regiment. Later, in 1863, 
his company was transferred to the First West Virginia Horse Artillery, 
which was mainly made use of in raiding expeditions, and here Mr. Sutherin 
saw Very hard service. He was mustered out June 22, 1864, with an honor- 
able and faithful soldier's record. 

Until 1871 Mr. Sutherin resided in Beaver County, his old home, and 
then came to Kansas and engaged in mining and then in farming on the Gage 



5o8 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

tract west of Topeka. He has been identified with coal interests almost since 
his arrival in Shawnee County and is the oldest coal merchant in Topeka 
in continuous business. He settled on the Gage farm 34 years ago and now 
has a farm of 80 acres on which he has spent $7,000 in improvements. Al- 
though in business in the city he still holds his farm. He has always taken 
a lively interest in public affairs and for 27 years has been a member of the 
School Board of Topeka township. 

On September 12, 1864, Mr. Sutherin married Isabel Douglas, who was 
also a native of Northumberland County, England. She died in 1896, leav- 
ing eight children, viz : Isabel, wife of H. E. Shaffer, of the plumbing firm 
of George Sutherin & Company, of Topeka; Mary, wife of William H. 
Hunter of Bloomington, Illinois; George W., a master plumber in business 
at No. 107 East Fifth street, Topeka; Martin; Annie, wife of Cal Zin, of 
Dover, Shawnee County; Sadie, wife of E. W. Pinkerton, of Los Angeles, 
California; John, who conducts the home farm; and Maggie. 

Mr. Sutherin is one of the leading members and a trustee of the Low- 
man Hill Methodist Episcopal Church. Fraternally he is a Master Mason, 
a member of the Ancient Order of United Workmen and for the past 31 
years has been an Odd Fellow. He is a man whose sterling character is gener- 
ally recognized and he may justly be numbered with the representative men of 
Shawnee County. 



RICHARD DISNEY. 

Richard Disney^ who died October 20, 1902, was one of the leading 
farmers and highly respected men of Monmouth township, Shawnee County, 
for many years and was one of the early settlers, coming in 1856. He was 
born June 7, 1824, in Maryland, and was a son of Mordecai and Axium 
Disney. 

The parents of Mr. Disney were farming people. They had a large 
family consisting of eight sons and twd daughters, the only two to come to 
Kansas being our subject and his brother William; all are now deceased, 
Richard, the eldest, being the last to pass away. 

From Maryland, Richard Disney went with his parents to Ohio and 
thence to Henderson County, Illinois, being about 15 years old at this time. 
He lived in Illinois until 1856, when he came to Shawnee County, both he 
and his brother William preempting land here and living together. He 
started with one quarter-section but at the time of his death owned 362 J^ 
acres, in one body and also other tracts. He was a large cattleman and was 
accustomed to winter 100 head. During the Civil War he was a member of 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 509 

the State militia and served 15 days in the campaign against General Price. 
Although he was a stanch member of the Republican party, he never wanted 
political ofifice, consenting only to serve on the School Board. 

Mr. Disney was first married to Lavina Anderson, who died in Illinois 
and left one son, Wesley, who is a resident of Chautauqua County, Kansas. 
On July 19, 1857, he was married, second, to Angeline Gregory, who was 
born in Muskingum County, Ohio, December 21, 1828, and when three years 
old accompanied her parents to Galena, Illinois, and in 1856 came with her 
widowed father and her four brothers to Kansas. Her parents were David 
and Naomi (Walters) Gregory, natives of Virginia and of Ohio. Of Mr. 
and Mrs. Gregory's 10 children, Joel, the eldest, died in the Mexican War. 
Mrs. Disney was next oldest; she has a brother in Illinois and one in Cali- 
fornia. Mr. and Mrs. Disney had eight children, three of whom died in in- 
fancy, the survivors being : Mary Florence, George W., Charles and Clara E. 
Julia died aged 14 years. 

Mr. Disney was in poor health for some years, but he bore his afflictions 
with patience. He had always been careful and industrious and left his 
family a large and valuable property. Mrs. Disney has 178 acres and -her son 
Charles has the remainder of the estate. It is well cultivated and improved 
and would bring a high price in the market. 



STEPHEN A. BEDWELL, JR. 

Stephen A. Bedwell^ Jr., owner and proprietor of the Bedwell Private 
Asylum, which is a beautifully located institution in the eastern limits of 
Topeka, is a gentleman well and favorably known all over the State. Mr. 
Bedwell was born in 1852, in Platte County, Missouri, on his father's farm 
which extended many miles and was bounded by the Buchanan County line. 
He is a son of the late Stephen and Christina (Pennington) Bedwell. 

The parents of Mr. Bedwell were both of German extraction but of 
Tennessee birth. They subsequently moved to Platte County, Missouri, 
where the father successfully engaged in farming for years, but spent his last 
years in honorable retirement at Leavenworth, Kansas, where his death took 
place in 1891. Of the family of six sons and three daughters, four sons 
and two daughters still survive. Francis Bedwell, an older brother of our 
subject, opened a private asylum at Leavenworth, which was the first institu- 
tion of its kind in the State. This he has removed to Kansas City and it is 
the best equipped and most modern asylum there. 

Our subject spent his boyhood in the manner of farmer boys, the sum- 



510 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

mers claiming his time on the farm and his winters being spent in school. 
When eight years old he went to Atchison County, Kansas, and had the ad- 
vantages afforded by the Atchison City schools. When he had reached his 
majority he was employed by his brother who was interested in his early 
asylum projects, and it was through the experience gained there that the 
younger brother was encouraged to open a like institution at another point. 
In 1889 he moved to Shawnee County and settled in North Topeka, opening 
up a small asylum. He received so many applications from patients that in 
1898 he purchased an old family residence, which he remodeled, improved 
and added to until he had spent fully $7,000 in making it what it is, — a de- 
lightful spot for both sick and well. 

The Bedwell Private Asylum is beautifully located on the eastern limits 
of East loth avenue, in the edge of Topeka township. In 1896 Mr. Bedwell 
purchased a tract of 10 acres, then but partly improved, and subsequently 
added 20 acres, which he uses for gardening purposes, the latter tract of land 
being valued at $200 an acre. The asylum proper is modern throughout, is 
heated by furnaces and private water-works insure plenty of hot and cold 
water. There are 25 clean, airy, sanitary rooms at all time ready for patients, 
and Mr. Bedwell has accommodated as many as 52 and, on an emergency, 
100 can be provided for. Beautiful shade trees surround the institution and 
every medical care is provided. It has been so often demonstrated that en- 
vironment has so much to do with cure, that medical men are each year 
insisting more and more on just such conditions as can be found at the Bed- 
well Private Asylum. 

Mr. Bedwell was married in November, 1894 to Ella M. Dibbell, who 
belongs to a very prominent family of Topeka. She was born in New York. 
They have three children, viz : Mrs. Leslie Byers, of Topeka, who has one 
daughter, Oma; and Effa and Selina, young ladies at home. 

In his public attitude, Mr. Bedwell is a "good roads man." He is a 
member of the Fraternal Aid. For a number of years he has been a member 
of the township School Board and is generally recognized as one of the most 
public-spirited as well as substantial men of his locality. 



J. W. MAGILL 



J. W. Magill, engineer and manufacturer, who is closely connected with 
large engineering enterprises south of Galveston, Texas, has maintained his 
beautiful home in Topeka since 1887. He was born in 1838 on the Hudson 
River, at Poughkeepsie, New York, and is a son of John and Sarah Ann 
(Mulcox) Magill. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 511 

On the paternal side the ancestry is Scotch and on the maternal it is 
English and Irish, while on both sides the families have been engaged in 
manufacturing. The Magill family controlled the manufacture of linen at 
Glasgow, Scotland, prior to the Revolutionary War, and the Mulcox name is 
connected with the manufacture of the famous Cheshire cheese of Chester, 
England. 

Our subject received an academic education in New York. He in- 
herited a love of mechanics in which he took four years of training, becoming 
a. skilled engineer, and through experience became possessed of a thorough 
knowledge of wool and cotton manufacturing. For some years he was 
■connected with the largest manufacturing company of the city of New York, 
Garner & Company, which operated factories, in which 7,000 looms were kept 
running. Mr. Magill was manager of a plant for some time and then pur- 
chased it, converting it into a factory for the manufacture of merino and knit 
underwear. He continued the operation of this immense industry until 1887, 
when his wife's failing health caused him to seek a home in another climate. 
Topeka being the advised locality, he came hither, deciding to open up a 
large manufacturing business here which would give employment to a force 
•of 1,000 workmen. He drew up the plans and specifications and subsequently 
erected the building, but just at this time the panic came upon Topeka' s in- 
dustrial life and the great factory, with its 150 looms, was obliged to remain 
idle. 

Although this entailed immense financial loss, Mr. Magill had ideas and 
courage left and turned his attention to other enterprises. He became in- 
terested in Texas land and was assistant under Dr. Savin at San Antonio 
in the Texas land department. Later he associated himself with Col. John 
Willett in the construction of a sea-wall and iron-pier harbor in Southwestern 
Texas, 250 miles south of Galveston, and since the death of Colonel Willett 
has continued the project with the latter's son. They are much interested in 
securing a much needed harbor and have bright prospects. 

Mr. Magill has never sought political honors, although he has been on 
friendly terms with many men in public life, one of these being the present 
honored President of the United States. In 1861 he assisted in raising Com- 
pany B, 57th Reg., New York Vol. Inf., and was made its sergeant but did 
not remain long on the field as he contracted rheumatism. He has always 
been known as a patriotic, outspoken, loyal citizen. 

At Little Falls, New York, in the diocese of Bishop Potter, of the 
Protestant Episcopal Church, Mr. Magill was married by Dr. Rogers to 
Maria Cottam, who was born in England and in childhood accompanied her 
father, Matthew Cottam, to America. He was an English manufacturer and 
later became one of the head managers of Garner & Company, of New York. 



512 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

Six daughters and three sons have been born to this union. Mrs. Magill has 
obtained much benefit from the cHmate of Topeka and enjoys, with her family, 
the comforts of the beautiful home at No. 200 Western avenue. Mr. Magill 
is a Knight Templar Mason. The family belong to the Protestant Episcopal 
Church and are members of the congregation of Grace Cathedral, Topeka. 



PERRY ELLIS COOK. 

Perry Ellis Cook, contractor, is a citizen of Topeka, who has watched 
his city develop from almost a village into a beautiful and well-regulated 
capital city. He was born in Indiana and is a son of Oscar and Charity 
(Wiley) Cook, residents of Brownsburg, Indiana. 

The ancestors of Mr. Cook date back to the early settlers around Seneca, 
New York, from which section his grandfather migrated to Boone County, 
Indiana, when that locality was one vast forest. He was accompanied by his 
son Oscar, who was born at Seneca, in March, 1823, and now resides with a 
daughter within six miles of where his father settled in his boyhood. For 
generations back the family have followed agricultural pursuits. Mr. Cook's 
mother came from an old and distinguished Kentucky family, all of whom 
were land-owners. Of the immediate family, four brothers and one sister 
still survive. They are scattered, living in Indianapolis, Central Iowa, 
Chicago, Jefferson County, Iowa, and Brownsburg, Indiana. 

Perry Ellis Cook was reared on his father's farm and attended the public 
schools of his native county. At the age of 17 years he left home and went 
to Iowa, having previously learned the carpenter's trade, which he has fol- 
lowed more or less ever since. After his marriage, which took place in Iowa, 
he returned home for a visit and remained a year, but in 1884 he decided to 
locate permanently in the West, and accompanied by his wife, came to Topeka. 
Here he found a fine opening in his trade and he continued to follow it until 
1900, when he entered contracting and now has a well-established business 
in that line. He has not only witnessed the erection of all of the important 
buildings here, but he has put up many of them himself, notably the Com- 
mercial Hotel and the annex to the Keith-Rhodes Hospital and Sanitarium. 
The greater bulk of his work has been, however, the erection of fine resi- 
dences, his own being a good example, — a very attractive home situated in 
East Hill Addition. 

Mr. Cook married, when a resident of Iowa, a young lady named Randa 
Conger, who was born in Illinois, but whose home had been in Marshall 




ROBERT BROWN GEMMELL 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 515 

County, Iowa, since she was a year and a half old. A family of four children 
have been added to the happy family circle, namely: Wilbur, aged 19 years; 
Blanche, aged 16; Perry Ellis, Jr., aged 13; and Herbert, aged 11. 

Mr. Cook is a man of social nature and enjoys membership in several 
fraternal organizations, among which are the Odd Fellows, the Eagles and 
the Modern Woodmen of America. He is a self-made man and has met with 
the greater part of his business success since coming to Kansas. He reached 
Topeka, which was then unpaved and even wanted sewerage, with a capital 
of $25. This has been turned over many times and that he is now in the 
enjoyment of ample means is but the natural result of his industry and enter- 
prise. 



ROBERT BROWN GEMMELL 

Robert Brown Gemmell, deceased, whose portrait is herewith shown, 
served for many years as superintendent of telegraph for the Atchison, To- 
peka & Santa Fe Railway Company and was one of the most prominent and 
public-spirited men of Topeka. 

Mr. Gemmell was born in Greensburg, Pennsylvania, April 27, 1839, 
and was a son of James and Nancy (Brown) Gemmell. His father was a 
native of Scotland and there learned the trade of a marble cutter, becoming 
an expert in that line. To James and Nancy (Brown) Gemmell were bom 
seven children, of whom four grew to maturity, namely : Robert Brown, 
our subject; Mrs. John D. Gill, of Greensburg, Pennsylvania; Mrs. Mary 
Aiken, of New Castle, Pennsylvania ; and Anna, of Greensburg, Pennsyl- 
vania. 

Robert B. Gemmell was reared and educated in his native town, and at 
the age of 15 years began his railroad career as an operator on the Penn- 
sylvania Railroad. For five years he worked in this service, then in 1859 
was appointed division operator of the road, in which capacity he served two 
years. He was next appointed chief clerk to the superintendent of the mid- 
dle division of the Pennsylvania road. An example of the confidence im- 
posed in him by his employers was shown when he held this position. He 
was given entire charge of the wire of the special train which conveyed Presi- 
dent Abraham Lincoln from Harrisburg to Philadelphia on the night of 
February 22, 1861, while on his journey to Washington to take his seat as 
President. In 1863 he was appointed trainmaster of the middle division of 
the road with headquarters at Altoona, Pennsylvania. He resigned this 
position in October, 1866, to come to Kansas, where he accepted the position 

25 



5i6 HISTORY OF SHAWNEE COUNTY 

of chief clerk and general superintendent of telegraph of the Kansas Pa- 
cific road, now the Union Pacific. He afterwards became general freight 
and ticket agent of the road. For one year he was superintendent of the 
Lawrence & Southwestern road. In 1875 he became connected with the 
general freight department of the Santa Fe road as chief clerk, a position 
he filled for three years. On July i, 1878, he was appointed superintendent 
of telegraph, serving as such, thereafter, until his death. While acting in 
this capacity his jurisdiction extended over 6,230 miles, including the tele- 
graph lines along the Santa Fe; Gulf, Colorado & Santa Fe; Wichita & 
Western; New Mexico & Arizona; L. T. & S. W., and M. A. & B. roads. 
He was also joint superintendent of the railroad and Western Union tele- 
graph lines, which were owned jointly by the two companies. He had charge 
of the commercial telegraph business and all agents on the railway lines re- 
ported to his office, from which' the proportion of the Western Union business 
was forwarded to the proper officers and managers. 

Aside from his laborious railroad duties, Mr. Gemmell took a great 
interest in local matters, his work being principally in the affairs of the 
church. He was one of the oldest members of the Presbyterian Church, 
in which he held numerous offices, being an elder at the time of death. 
From 1881 to 1891, he was president of the Topeka Y. M. C. A., having 
been one of the most active in its organization. From 1882 to 1887, he was 
chairman of the State committee of the Y. M. C. A., and in January, 1896, 
was elected chairman of the executive committee of the Railroad Y. M. C. A. 

Robert Brown Gemmell died September 14, 1896, after an illness of 
three weeks. He first fell a victim to the ills of malarial fever, which de- 
veloped into typhoid, then into hypostatic pneumonia, dying from a compli- 
cation of these diseases. The following quotation from the Topeka Daily 
Capital is an estimate of his worth in the community and the high regard in 
which he was held :