(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of Middlesex County, New Jersey, 1664-1920"

■! ff.r': rn. 



•I..' -i 






■L 




m 

1 





'] 



CORNELL 

UNIVERSITY 

LIBRARY 




FROM 



Date Due 











^■^a 


PR 53 '59 






Hkrzs 


-^eMm; 


il 




■vi^" 


















IM)04 






















































































PRINTED IN 


Sit." 


cgr 


NO. 23233 







Cornell University 
Library 



The original of this book is in 
the Cornell University Library. 

There are no known copyright restrictions in 
the United States on the use of the text. 



http://www.archive.org/details/cu31924092227648 



HISTORY 

OF 

MIDDLESEX COUNTY 

NEW JERSEY 
1664—1920 

UNDER THE ASSOCIATE EDITORSHIP 

OF 

JOHN P. WALL AND HAROLD E. PICKERSGILL 

ASSISTED BY AN 

Able Corps of Local Historians 
HISTORICAL—BIOGRAPHICAL 

Volume II 



1921 
LEWIS HISTORICAL PUBLISHING COMPANY, INC. 

NEW YORK AND CHICAGO 

!• ('I; i>'t II 

UKUVI la-l'i Y 

II,- l;AI;V 



HISTORICAL— BIOGRAPHICAL 




JOHN WELLS MEMORIAL HOSPITAL. NEW BRUNSWICK 




BUCCLEUCH MANSION, NEW BRUNSWICK 



CHAPTER XXVI. 

NEW BRUNSWICK— Concluded. 

The New Brunswick of the present day is preeminently one of the 
enterprising and progressive cities of the State. The markets of the 
world are open to her commercial interests and manufacturing indus- 
tries, located as she is in direct communication and connection with the 
two populous seaports of the eastern portion of the Nation. The traveler 
from the East, reclining in his comfortable seat in a Pullman of today, 
as he approaches the east bank of the Raritan river, sees spread before 
him the smoke rising towards the heavens from the large brick chimneys 
of her thriving manufactories, and in the distance the campus and classic 
college buildings. In his overhead passage, the highways and byways 
of the city attract his attention, glimpses are caught of twirling trolley 
cars, and a busy class of people engaged in the various vocations of life. 
If he is a student of history, he cannot fail to call to his mind the 
description of Kalm, the great Swedish traveler, and the autocratic 
New Englander, the second President of the United States, who in 
voluminous notes more than a century and a half ago recorded their 
impressions of New Brunswick, then in her infancy. 

In closing the history of the city we append mention of some of her 
native born sons and residents who in their chosen professions have 
gained not only a local but a national reputation. 

A naval career appealed to Charles Stuart Boggs. His mother was 
a sister of Captain James Lawrence, who is notable in American history 
as the commander of the "Chesapeake," and who, when mortally 
wounded in the engagement with the British frigate "Shannon," gave 
the famous command, "Don't give up the ship." The future rear- 
admiral of the United States was born at New Brunswick, New Jersey, 
January 28, 181 1. When quite young he became a cadet at Captain 
Patridge's celebrated military academy at Middletown, Connecticut. 
But the navy was his chosen profession, and on November 26, 1826, he 
received the appointment of midshipman from the State of New Jersey 
and was ordered to the Mediterranean squadron, which was engaged in 
protecting American commerce from Greek pirates. Here three years 
were passed, the next two years being spent with the West India 
squadron. Having been appointed passed-midshipman, he was for four 
years, one year excepted, on land service on board a receiving ship at 
New York. He joined the ship-of-the-line "North Carolina" in 1836 
as master, and on September 6, 1837, was appointed lieutenant. He 
returned to this country in 1839, when the "North Carolina" was made 
a school ship in New York harbor. As lieutenant in charge of the 



348 MIDDLESEX 

apprentices, Lieutenant Boggs displayed his fine capacity for command, 
combining mildness and courtesy of manner with absolute strictness in 
the enforcement of discipline. The decade between 1840 and 1850 was 
spent by Lieutenant Boggs on the sloop "Saratoga," on the coast of 
Africa, bombarding and destroying slave ports. Later, on the steamer 
"Princeton," in the Mexican War, he took part in the bombardment of 
San Juan de Ulloa and Tampico. With a boat crew he successfully 
destroyed the U. S. brig "Truxton," which had surrendered to the 
Mexicans; this was a mission requiring tact and courage on the part 
of the commander to prevent the capture of the attacking party. The 
"Princeton" was ordered to the Mediterranean, and was the first pro- 
peller to navigate those waters. Lieutenant Boggs, as executive officer 
of the frigate "St. Lawrence," carried the American contributions to the 
World's Fair held in London, England, in 1851. His next assignment 
was as inspector of clothing and provisions at the New York Navy 
Yard. Here he remained until 1854, and the following year was placed 
in command of the mail steamer "Illinois," in the service of the Califor- 
nia Steamship Company. 

At the outbreak of the War of the Rebellion he requested to be 
placed in active service, and was given command of the "Varuna," 
which was ordered to join Farragut's fleet below New Orleans. The 
"Varuna" was the first ship to force its way past the rebel batteries, 
but was demolished by the ironclad "Stonewall Jackson." Following 
the notable command of his famous uncle, Boggs ran the "Varuna" 
ashore, firing her guns until they were under water. For his gallantry 
in this unparalleled naval combat, his native city and State each pre- 
sented him with a sword. 

Having been commissioned a captain July 16, 1862, he was placed 
in command of the "Sacramento," of the blockading squadron off Cape 
Fear river. Here his health failed him and he was obliged to resign. 
During the last years of the war, he was on shore duty at New York, 
engaged in superintending the building and fitting out of a fleet of 
steam picket-boats planned by himself. One of these was the torpedo- 
boat with which Lieutenant Cushing sank the Confederate ram "Albe- 
marle." After the close of the war. Captain Boggs cruised in the West 
Indies, attached to the North Atlantic squadron. He was promoted to 
the rank of rear-admiral July i, 1870, and g^ven duty as lighthouse 
inspector of the Third District. He was placed on the retired list in 
1873, and died April 22, 1888. 

A resident of New Brunswick for nearly thirty years was Theodore 
Sanford Doolittle. His boyhood days were spent in his native town of 
Ovid, Seneca county. New York, where he was born November 30, 
1834. He became a student at Rutgers College in 1855, was one of the 
editors of the "Rutgers Quarterly," and in his senior year gained the 



CITY OF NEW BRUNSWICK 349 

Suydam prize for the best English composition. As a collegian, he 
familiarized himself with the works of essayists, historians, and poets, 
was a proficient student in the classics, and became especially versed 
in the German language. His mastery of this language enabled him to 
preach to German speaking congregations. Dr. Doolittle entered the 
Theological Seminary at New Brunswick in 1861, and after his gradua- 
tion became pastor of a church at Flatlands, Long Island. His pastorate 
was of short duration, as in 1864 he accepted the chair of rhetoric, logic 
and metaphysics in Rutgers College. He remained a member of the 
faculty of the college during his life, was elected vice-president in 1891, 
and from August, 1890, to February, 1891, acted as president. He was 
a contributor to magazines, reviewer of important works, a keen critic, 
and a brilliant writer. An extensive traveler, he twice visited Europe, 
and also toured the Bahamas, Canada, and the Pacific coast. He died at 
New Brunswick, April 18, 1893. 

For nearly a score of years president of Rutgers College, the Rev. 
William Henry Campbell was a familiar figure to the citizens of New 
Brunswick. He was born in Baltimore, Maryland, September 14, 1808, 
a son of a merchant of that city. Young Campbell became a student at 
Dickinson College at the age of sixteen ; after his graduation a year was 
spent at the Theological Seminary at Princeton. Mr. Campbell's first 
settlement was as assistant to the Rev. Dr. Andrew Yates, at Chit- 
tenango. New York. This pastorate included a large number of depen- 
dent churches, and in the performance of his duties Mr. Campbell con- 
tracted a throat malady that interrupted his career as a preacher, and 
from 1834 to 1839 he became principal of Erasmus Hall, Brooklyn, 
New York. During the next decade he established a church in East 
New York, and was pastor of the Third Reformed Church at Albany, 
New York. Returning to educational pursuits in 1848, he accepted 
the principalship of the Albany Academy, and three years later was 
called to the professorship of Oriental literature in the Theological 
Seminary at New Brunswick. Here he also occupied the chair of 
belles-lettres under the trustees of Rutgers College for twelve years. On 
the death of Dr. Frelinghuysen, in 1862, after much persuasion on the 
part of the trustees. Dr. Campbell consented to become his successor 
as president of the college, and entered with exceptional enthusiasm 
and ability into the work both of teaching and securing a large endow- 
ment fund for the institution. During his administration over $300,000 
was raised, six new professorships were established, the number of 
students was doubled, a large geological hall was erected, also a beauti- 
ful chapel and library under one roof ; an astronomical observatory was 
erected and thoroughly equipped; an addition made to the grammar 
school, doubling its accommodations ; and useful buildings were erected 
on the experimental farm. At the age of seventy-three years. Dr. Camp- 



350 



MIDDLESEX 



bell resigned the presidency of the college, and a new professorship was 
created, "The Chair of Evidences of Christianity," his services being 
thus retained by the college until his death, September 7, 1890. Of his 
twenty years' service as president, the inscription on Sir Christophec 
Wren's tomb in St. Paul's Cathedral, London, may stand for the whole 
story : Sirequiris monumentum circumspice. 

In the Navy of the United States, another son of New Brunswick 
was, in the opinion of Attorney-General Jeremiah S. Black, the victim 
of more governmental blunders than any one man in the history of 
the American Navy. Philip Falkerson Voorhees was born in New 
Brunswick in 1792. He entered the navy as midshipman, November 
15, 1809, and was engaged in the second war with Great Britain, taking 
part in the capture of the "Macedonian" by the "United States," and 
of the "Epervier" by the "Peacock," for which he received a medal 
from Congress. He was promoted to commander April 24, 1828, and 
to captain February 28, 1838, and three years later was assigned to 
the frigate "Congress" on her first cruise. He assisted in rescuing the 
stranded British ship "Gorgon" in the La Plata river, and in 1844 
captured an armed Argentine squadron and allied cruiser which had fired 
into his convoy, a Boston bark, on which some fishermen chased by the 
cruiser had taken refuge. Captain Voorhees released the squadron, 
but detained the cruiser, which had aggravated the assault by firing 
from under a false flag. The cruiser was subsequently released, but 
Captain Voorhees' action was justified, and he was highly praised by 
the United States diplomatic and consular representatives and foreign 
naval officers in South America. Yet this capture was made the occa- 
sion for a series of charges on which he was tried by court-martial. The 
sentence of the court was not approved by President Polk, who restored 
Captain Voorhees to his full rank and gave him the command of the 
East India squadron, and the proceedings of the court-martial were by 
the attorney-general declared null and void. Returning to this country 
in 185 1 on his flag-ship "Plymouth," he was placed four years later on 
the reserved list; this he deemed an injustice, and he appealed to Con- 
gress for reinstatement, but a court of inquiry reaffirmed the decision. 
A second appeal was made to President Buchanan, who referred the 
whole matter to Attorney-General Jeremiah S. Black, whose opinion is 
stated at the commencement of this paragraph. Having been restored 
to the leave pay-list, at the opening of the Civil War Captain Voorhees 
urged his assignment to active duty, but his death took place at 
Annapolis, Maryland, February 26, 1862. 

The Terhune family was of Huguenot origin, as early as 1651 the 
emigrant ancestor, Albert Terhune, settling at Gravesend, Long Island. 
A descendant of this emigrant, John Stafford Terhune, served with the 
New Jersey troops during the Revolution. His son John, born at 



CITY OF NEW BRUNSWICK 351 

Blawenburg, Somerset county, New Jersey, May 4, 1793, became a 
resident of New Brunswick in 1812. He engaged in the trade of printer 
and bookbinder, and also became a publisher and stationer, which 
business he conducted until his death, January 9, 1886. He was printer 
of the celebrated Webster's "Elementary Spelling Book," and was the 
father of Rev. Edward Payson Terhune, the noted divine, whose wife 
was well known to the literary world under the nom-de plume of 
Marion Harland. A son by this marriage was Albert Payson Terhune, 
whose short stories and novelettes, besides miscellaneous articles, have 
appeared in popular magazines of the present day. 

In the world of arts and sciences. New Brunswick's claim to recogni- 
tion is that it was the birthplace of Johnson Marchant Mundy, the 
sculptor. His paternal ancestor, Nicholas Mundy, emigrated from 
England in 1680 and settled in Middlesex county. The sculptor was 
the son of Frederick and Mary (Marchant) Mundy, and was born at 
New Brunswick, May 13, 1832. When Johnson was only three years 
of age, his parents removed to Geneva, New York, and with the western 
part of that State the family were ever afterwards identified. The boy 
was educated, making rapid progress with his studies, particularly in 
the languages, and early displayed remarkable taste for art, especially 
in drawing, carving, and the study of music. His school studies, how- 
ever, terminated when he was fourteen years of age on account of a 
disease of the eyes; though his sight was not impaired in the daytime, 
he was subject to what was called "night-blindness." A maternal uncle 
was a distinguished surgeon in North Carolina, and young Mundy was 
sent in 1847 to him for treatment, but, receiving no benefit, he returned 
North and was placed under charge of different medical men in Phila- 
delphia and New York. 

A sea voyage was undertaken in the summer of 1849 to t^^ Azores, 
and he lived several months at Fayal. He became skilled in cameo and 
ivory carving. In 1851-52 he determined to study sculpture, and accord- 
ingly went to New York City, procuring employment in a marble yard. 
From this primary practice he went to the studio of J. K. Brown in 
Brooklyn, New York, and began modeling in clay, at the same time 
giving attention to drawing. Here he remained eight years, acquiring 
the art of the bronze-worker and the principles and processes of sculp- 
ture. He also familiarized himself with anatomy, and modeled a number 
of busts. During this period his financial resources became exhausted, 
and he was obliged to depend on his art to enable him to carry on his 
studies, and accordingly made portraits and drawings from the antique, 
which he sold. After spending two years at Watertown, New York, 
he settled in 1863 in Rochester, New York, where he opened a studio. 
He was first known as a crayon artist, working also in pastels, and 
made a large number of medallion portraits and portrait busts of promi- 



352 MIDDLESEX 

nent people in Rochester and its neighborhood ; he executed also several 
ideal heads. 

The disease of his eyes had been steadily developing; in 1879-80 
he was obliged to abandon his art work; his condition improving, he 
opened the Rochester Art School, where he taught drawing and model- 
ing. His power of vision was extremely limited and feeble, and most 
of his work had to be accomplished by the sense of touch. It was in 
this condition that he performed his two masterpieces, — the Soldiers' 
Monument in Sleepy Hollow Cemetery at Tarrytown-on-Hudson, which 
represents a vidette in the volunteer service, and is adjudged as the 
most graceful and spirited statue of a soldier in the country; the other 
heroic statue was that of Washington Irving, the work upon which 
proved a severe strain upon the artist's nerves, and marked diminution 
of sight. Materials for the statue were gathered and compared and 
studied by the aid of magnifying glasses. After eighteen months of 
arduous labor, in which the actual work was performed by the sense 
of touch, the statue was completed and received encomiums from all 
visitors. The statue was intended for a bronze casting to be placed 
on a granite pedestal in an open air location. The gifted author is 
represented sitting in an appropriate armchair, in his habitual easy 
manner while in conversation, the body well settled in an ample cushion, 
the limbs crossed in a natural and easy manner, the arms rest upon 
those of the chair, the head is slightly inclined to one side, and the 
countenance is illumined by a most genial and tender feeling. As a 
whole, the figure is marked by a natural and easy posturing, and pre- 
sents that happy combination of qualities so characteristic of Mr. Irving 
— modesty, dignity, and benevolence. Among Mr. Mundy's other works 
mention might be made of the statuettes of "The Reaper," '" The Pilgrim" 
and "Columbia." His life came to a peaceful close at Geneva. New York, 
August 16, 1897. 

A familiar figure in the streets of New Brunswick in the middle of 
the past century, was Gustavius Fischer, a member of the faculty of 
Rutgers College. He was born at Berlin, Germany, in June. 1815, re- 
ceiving his education at the Universities* of Berlin and Gottingen, and 
making a specialty of the study of law, philology and music. Becoming 
involved in the revolution that swept over Germany in 1848, he became 
a member of Parliament, and on the overthrow of that rump body he 
fled to Switzerland and from thence came to America in 1S50. He 
became professor of modern languages at Rutgers College in 1858, and 
also taught French and German in a private seminary for young ladies 
in New Brunswick. He held his chair in the college until 1869, when 
he resigned, spending the remainder of his life in musical study. He 
ended an eventful life at New Brunswick, September 16, 1893. 

One of the noted benefactors and philanthropists of New Brunswick 



CITY OF NEW BRUNSWICK 353 

was Simon Van Wickle. A native of Middlesex county, he was born 
at Jamesburg in March, 1820. After attaining his majority, he removed 
to New Brunswick, where he became a marine captain, obtaining wide 
notoriety as the commander of the steamer "Antelope," which operated 
in opposition to Commodore Vanderbilt's boats. He afterwards engaged 
in the coal business and became interested in the firm of Van Wickle 
& Stout, of New York City. A prominent member of the Baptist 
church, he held official positions in the New Jersey Central Baptist 
Association and the State Baptist Convention. He was also a member 
of the board of managers of the Peddie Institute. To this institution 
he gave $15,000; he also erected a church in New Brunswick for the 
colored Baptists, and gave various sums to struggling congregations of 
that denomination throughout the State, his gifts aggregating more 
than $100,000. His death occurred at New Brunswick, May 15, 1888. 

Two sons of James and Mary Faugeres (Ellis) Bishop, both natives 
of New Brunswick, gained a wide reputation in their chosen profession. 
The eldest, James Remsen Bishop, born September 17, i860, prepared 
for college in the schools of Germany and at the famous St. Paul's 
School at Concord, New Hampshire, where having received the highest 
honors, he entered in 1880 the sophomore class of Yale University. 
Throughout his collegiate course he was distinguished for proficiency 
in the classics, also for skill in athletic sports. Leaving Yale in 1881 
he was, in consequence of the favorable reports of his instructors, 
admitted to the senior class of Harvard College. Here he devoted him- 
self almost exclusively to classic philology based upon the study of 
Sanscrit. After graduation at Harvard, for a year he taught Greek and 
English at his old school in Concord, New Hampshire. President Mc- 
Cosh, of Princeton University, invited him to the difficult task of building 
up the decayed preparatory school founded by Henry E. Marquard, as 
a feeder to the University. Mr. Bishop possessed novel methods of 
school government and instruction, in which he advocated the cultiva- 
tion of self-activity in the moral and mental nature of the young as the 
chief end of education. Adopting this principle, he succeeded in arousing 
a rare enthusiasm in the boys of the school, and in 1887, the future of 
the Princeton Preparatory School, having been assured and the prac- 
ticability of his educational ideas established, Mr. Bishop removed to 
Cincinnati, Ohio, to accept a position in the Hughes High School in 
that city. He was connected with educational institutions in Cincinnati 
until 1904, when he removed to Detroit, Michigan, to take charge of 
the Eastern High School, in which labors he was engaged at the time 
of his death. A younger brother, Louis Faugeres Bishop, born March 
14, 1864. after graduating from Rutgers College and the College of Phy- 
sicians and Surgeons of Columbia College, became resident physician of 
St. Luke's Hospital, New York City, and professor of diseases of the 

Mid-23 



354 MIDDLESEX 

heart and circulation at Fordham University Medical School. He is 
also a member of the medical staffs of Lincoln Hospital, and Mercy- 
Hospital at Hempstead, Long Island. Dr. Bishop was secretary of the 
New York Academy of Medicine from 1889 to 1892, and is engaged 
in the practice of his chosen profession in New York City. 

Thomas Hill, the twenty-first president of Harvard College, was 
born at New Brunswick, January 6, 1818, the son of Thomas Hill, a 
Unitarian in religious belief, who left his native country of England 
to enjoy a larger freedom of thought, speech and action in America. 
The future president of Harvard College was left an orphan at an 
early age, and was educated by his sisters. When old enough to be 
placed at work he was apprenticed to a printer,, and on completing his 
term of apprenticeship in 1833 he attended school at the Lower Dublin 
Academy, near Philadelphia, of which his oldest brother was principal. 
After a year at this school, he was apprenticed to an apothecary in 
New Brunswick. He commenced his preparation for college in 1838, 
and in August of the following year was matriculated at Harvard Col- 
lege for the class of 1843. After his graduation, high standing in 
mathematics and physical science secured him the offer of a position 
in the National Observatory in Washington, but he could not be dis- 
suaded from studying the ministry. He attended the Divinity School, 
graduated in 1845, and was for fourteen years settled as minister of 
the Unitarian church at Waltham, Massachusetts. In 1859 he suc- 
ceeded Horace Mann as president of Antioch College, of Yellow Springs, 
Ohio, and during his incumbency of this office served as pastor of the 
Church of the Redeemer at Cincinnati. He resigned from the presidency 
of Antioch College in 1862, and the same year succeeded President 
Cornelius Conway Felton as president of Harvard College. The faculty 
welcomed his presidency, as he had their entire respect and confidence, 
and the science teachers recognized in him their rightful head. The 
academic council was started at his suggestion, and the university 
lectures were first opened to the public. He held the office until 1868, 
when he was compelled by ill health and domestic afflictions to resign, 
and was succeeded by Charles William Eliot. He had married a niece 
of an eminent Unitarian minister. 

After his retirement from the presidency, he returned to Waltham, 
Massachusetts, and later accompanied Professor Louis Agassiz to South 
America on his well known epedition. Upon his return he accepted 
the pastorate of the First Parish Church of Portland, Maine. He was 
devoted to the study of mathematical problems, became a foremost 
investigator in natural science, an accomplished classical scholar, and 
was especially conversant with Hebrew and cognate Oriental languages. 
He made in May, 1891, his annual visit to the Divinity School at Mead- 
ville, Pennsylvania, to deliver a course of lectures before the students. 



CITY OF NEW BRUNSWICK 355 

and upon his return homeward, while at his daughter's home in Wal- 
tham, Massachusetts, died on November 21, 1891. 

Among those whose inventive brains have aided in the safety of 
ocean travel may be numbered Lawrence Fisher Frazee, born in New 
Brunswick, May 22, 1813. In his early life he was apprenticed to learn 
the jewelry trade, and finally carried on that business in his native 
city. At the time of the great tornado of June 19, 1835, his store was 
completely demolished, which ruined him financially. He then entered 
the employ of the New Brunswick Steamboat and Transportation Com- 
pany, remaining with its successors, the Camden & Amboy Railroad 
and the Pennsylvania Railroad, until his death, except during the 
period of the Civil War, when he commanded the government trans- 
port "Massachusetts," which ran between Fortress Monroe and points 
on the James river. During his marine career, he invented and per- 
fected appliances of much value, including a stern paddle-wheel for 
canal boats, a life-boat, a life-raft, that was adopted by the United 
States government; a safety gang plank, the life boat davits used on 
ocean steamers and ferryboats, and the safety gates on the latter. He 
died at New Brunswick, October 10, 1896. 

In the banking circles of New Jersey in the latter part of the past 
century there were two sons of New Brunswick who gained prominence 
in the financial interests of neighboring cities. Augustus A. Harden- 
bergh was a son of Cornelius L. Hardenbergh, one of the most eminent 
members of the bar of the State, a grandson of Rev. John R. Harden- 
bergh, the founder of Queen's College, afterwards Rutgers College, and 
its first president. The younger Hardenbergh was born in New 
Brunswick, May 18, 1830, and became a student at Rutgers College in 
1844. He, however, was obliged to relinquish his studies before the end 
of the course on account of the sudden blindness of his father, to act 
as his amanuensis. His banking career commenced in 1846, when he 
became connected with a banking firm in New York City, and from 
this time he became a resident of Jersey City. He became connected 
in 1852 with the Hudson County Bank in that city in the capacity of 
a teller, and four years later was made cashier. Being an eloquent 
.speaker, he soon attracted political attention, and although a Democrat, 
he was elected in a strong Whig district in 1853 to the State Legisla- 
ture, and though the youngest member of that body, he became one 
of the most prominent by his services in securing the passage of the 
General Banking Act, and in opposition to granting further powers 
to the Camden & Amboy Railroad Company, which at that time was 
a gigantic monopoly. He was nominated in 1874, without solicitation 
on his part, for the Forty-fourth Congress, and was elected by a large 
majority. He was reelected in 1876, but having been elected president 
of the Hudson County National Bank in 1878, he declined to serve. Two 



356 MIDDLESEX 

years later, on the imperative demand of the leaders of his party, he 
again became a candidate and was elected to the Forty-seventh Con- 
gress, five thousand majority. During his first term of Congress he 
was a member of the military, centennial and District of Columbia 
committees, and during his second and third terms he was on the 
banking and currency committee. Mr. Hardenbergh's six years of 
congressional life were full of activity and energy; he discharged his 
duties with all the thoroughness and fidelity which characterized his 
action in his private business, and during his term of service he did 
not miss a single vote in the House of Representatives. His death 
occurred at Jersey City, October 3, 1889. 

The active career of Edward Stelle Campbell was distinguished by 
exceptional business ability and sagacity. He was born in New Bruns- 
wick, January 8, 1854. He attended the public schools of that city, 
graduating in 1868, and two years later found employment in the 
National Bank of New Jersey, where he spent fourteen years, during 
ten of which he was cashier. In January, 1894, he became vice-president 
of the National Newark Banking Company, the oldest banking organiza- 
tion in the State, and on its merging with the Newark City National 
Bank in 1902, when the capital stock was made $1,000,000, Mr. Campbell 
became president, which position he- held at the time of his death at 
Lake George, New York, July 2, 1905. 

In the army circles of the present day, New Brunswick is represented 
by William Weigel, who was born in the city, August 25, 1863, a son 
or Philip and Anna (Slizer) Weigel. A graduate of West Point in 1887, 
his first military duties were in Indian warfare in the West. At the 
breaking out of the Spanish-American War he was assistant to the 
chief-quartermaster of the Division of Cuba. He was transferred in 
1901 and became chief-quartermaster in the Philippine Islands and 
participated in the campaign against the Ladrones. In the insurrection 
in the Island of Samar, he held Samar with forty-eight men for sixteen 
days against the insurgents. He returned to the Uunited States in 1903, 
but was again assigned for duty in the Philippines from 1907 to 1909. 
General Weigel was on duty on the Mexican border in 1913 and 1914. 
At the time of the entrance of the United States in the World's War, 
after serving as commander of the Seventy-sixth Division and Canton- 
ment at Camp Devens, Ayer, Massachusetts, he sailed for France, and 
from May 5, 1918, to the demobilization, June 14, 1919, for the greater 
part of the time was commander of the Eighty-eighth division. He 
participated in the Champagne-Marne defensive, the Aisne-Marne 
offensive, Oise-Aisne offensive, and the Meuse-Argonne offensive. He 
was awarded two croix-de-guerre by France, was made a commander 
in the Legion of Honor, and "for exceptionally meritorious and distin- 
guished services" was awarded the Distinguished Service Medal. 



CITY OF NEW BRUNSWICK 357 

Brigadier-General Joseph C. Castner, who commanded the Ninth 
Infantry Brigade in all its operations as a part of the Fifth Division, 
American Expeditionary Forces, was born in New Brunswick, New 
Jersey, November 18, 1869, son of Cornelius W. Castner, who was 
captain of one of New Brunswick's first companies in 'the Civil War. 
Joseph C. Castner in 1891 was graduated from Rutgers College with the 
degree of Civil Engineer. On August i, 1891, he was commissioned 
second lieutenant in the United States Army and assigned to the Fourth 
Infantry for duty. He has since been promoted as follows: First lieu- 
tenant, Fourth Infantry, April 28, 1898; captain, Squadron Philippine 
Cavalry, April 23, 1900; captain. Fourth Infantry, February 2, 1901 ; 
major. Twenty-first Infantry, August 27, 191 3; lieutenant-colonel. Sixth 
Infantry, May 13, igii7; colonel. Thirty-eighth Infantry, August 5, 1917; 
brigadier-general. Ninth Brigade, April 12, 1918. He attended the 
Infantry and Cavalry School in 1895, and was in the War College in 

1915- 

Prior to the World War, General Castner had already distinguished 

himself. While a lieutenant he rendered great service to the American 
government as an explorer in Alaska. In the Philippines, for his serv- 
ices with the Tagalog scouts, he was promoted to a captaincy in the 
Philippine squadron of cavalry, which commission he held until receiving 
a captaincy in the regular army. Later he served as constructing quar- 
termaster in both Honolulu and in Yellowstone National Park. While 
yet a captain, he commanded the Second Battalion, Fourteenth Infantry, 
and under his training that battalion made an unequaled record in 
known distance firing. While a major he was adjutant-general of the 
National Guard of the District of Columbia, which he developed to a 
high state of efficiency. As colonel of the Thirty-eighth Infantry he 
instilled that fighting spirit which won for that regiment its fame as 
the "Rock of the Marne." 

As brigadier-general he took command of the Ninth Infantry Bri- 
gade. In the quiet Anould and St. Die sectors he gave the units of the 
brigade effective training for the big operations that were to follow. In 
the St. Mihiel offensive. General Castner's brigade was at first in 
reserve with the Tenth v Brigade in line. When passage of lines was 
made he pushed his outpost lines up near to the Hindenburg Line. In 
the first phase of the Meuse-Argonne offensive his brigade captured 
Cunel, and drove the enemy from the Bois-de-la-Pultiere and the north- 
western Bois-de-Foret. In the second phase of the Meuse-Argonne 
offensive. General Castner's brigade captured Aincreville, Clery-le- 
Grand, Clery-le-Petit, Bois de Babiemont, the Punchbowl and Doulcon. 
Then the brigade forced the difficult crossing of the river Meuse, and 
fighting northward captured in succession Dun-sur-Meuse, Milly-devant- 
Dun, Lion-devant-Dun, Cote St. Germain, Charmois Chateau, Mouzay. 
and the Foret-de-Woevre. 



358 MIDDLESEX 

In appreciation for his services in the Meuse-Argonne operation, 
General Castner was awarded the Distinguished Service Medal. He 
has been cited in Fifth Division Orders. General Castner is a man's 
man, a soldier and a leader. In mental and physical alertness, in devo- 
tion to duty, in zeal and energy, he is an example, alike to men and 
officers. There is no man in his brigade who will not gladly join him 
at any time for any duty. While his brigade formed part of the Army 
of Occupation, General Castner took the course of instruction at the 
Army Center of Artillery Studies at Trier, Germany. 

It was on April 2, 1917, that President Wilson appeared before 
Congress, advising a declaration of war against Germany. On the 
same date Edward F. Farrington, mayor of New Brunswick issued a 
proclamation, which was printed in six different languages — English, 
German, Hungarian, Polish, Italian and Greek^n which he assured the 
foreign born residents every protection as long as they remained loyal. 
There was not, however, during the entire period of the war, the least 
sign of disloyalty shown by any of the inhabitants. Every precaution 
was taken to insure public safety ; a Home Defense League was formed, 
and the water plant, bridges, factories and public buildings were placed 
under guard. The Pennsylvania railroad bridge was carefully watched ; 
the first real sign of threatening war was the placing of guards and the 
building of guard houses at each end of the bridge, on the tow path 
and on the bridge proper. 

It was on April 6, 1917, that Company H of the Second Regiment of 
New Jersey, sixty-eight men strong, under command of Captain J. 
Bayard Kirkpatrick, left New Brunswick for Trenton, thence to Cam- 
den, and were detailed to points to be guarded. Events followed in 
quick succession. June 5, 1917, was registration day; the total for the 
city was 2,423 whites, 162 blacks, 1,713 aliens; totalling to 4,298. Ex- 
emption was demanded by a very small percentage of native-born Ameri- 
cans. Statistics show that of the 2,701 men first called for examination, 
240 failed to appear, while 71 had previously enlisted; rejected for 
physical disabilities and other causes, 1,380. The registration for young 
men reaching twenty-one years of age since June 5, 1917, added 256 to 
the list of draft registrants. The registration of September 12, 1918, 
for between the ages of eighteen and forty-five years, enrolled for the 
New National army was 5,545 in New Brunswick proper, and in Mid- 
dlesex county, outside of Perth Amboy, 20,223 men. Of the men 
legistered in New Brunswick, 2,574 were native-born citizens, 573f 
naturalized citizens, 133 citizens by father's naturalization, making a 
total of 3,280 citizens eligible for military service. Of the other men 
registered, 766 had taken out first papers, and 1,389 were non-declarant 
aliens, 5,204 were white, 216 black, 15 were Chinamen. The aliens 
were mainly Austrians and Hungarians, 578 of these being non-declarant, 



CITY OF NEW BRUNSWICK 



359 



while 338 had taken out first papers; 118 declarants and 184 non-declar- 
ants were Italians; 115 declarants and 143 non-declarants claimed 
Russia as the country of their nativity; the Greeks were represented 
by 23 declarants and 169 non-declarants; Turkey by 18 declarants and 
134 non-declarants; while the German Imperial Government was rep- 
resented by 31 declarants and 15 non-declarants. The remainder were 
divided between France, Portugal, China, Japan, Denmark, Netherlands, 
Roumania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Mexico, Central and South 
America and Bulgaria. The new recruits left for the training camps as 
they were called, where they were organized into regiments, eventually 
becoming a part of the United States forces in France. 

The statement of New Brunswick's World War activities — con- 
tributions of men and means — will be found in the Appendix, on con- 
cluding pages of this History. 

John P. Wall. 




FOOT OF STATE STREET, PERTH AMBOY 




WATER FRONT, PERTH AMBOY 



CHAPTER XXVII. 
PERTH AMBOY. 

The early settlement of Perth Amboy, the hopes of its progenitors 
and the way in which the prospects of the carefully planned settlement at 
the mouth of the Raritan river were not realized, suggest the life of the 
average human being. Born to fond parents, what dreams there are of 
future greatness and of wonderful accomplishments, and how seldom 
do subsequent developments agree with the plans and predictions of 
those who were interested in our advent into the world. The settlement 
of Perth Amboy, its location, the planning of its institutions and its 
thoroughfares, were in no way a matter of accident. Wise heads in Scot- 
land and England planned the new home for their settlers, and figured 
that they were founding a city which was to rival London as a commer- 
cial port and as one of the great cities of the world. Men and women 
were sent here of the sturdy Scotch stock ; the infant Amboy was given 
the impetus of official approval, and funds were not lacking for all neces- 
sities ; but for two centuries it proved a laggard, and only within the last 
three decades has Perth Amboy given any intimation that the hopes of 
those who thought and planned for a great city may ever be realized. In 
early writings reference to the country at the mouth of the Raritan river 
is found, and more than thirty years before the first shipload of settlers 
crossed the Atlantic for the new home in America, the region was char- 
ted and an estimate of its advantages and its , resources sent back to 
London for the edification of the royal owners of the land and their 
retainers. 

What is now the land within the corporate limits of Perth Amboy 
was set aside as the particular property of the Lords Proprietors as early 
as 1669, so reserved in the charter granted to Woodbridge in that year. 
The reservation of this tract of land, accessible from tide water, high and 
dry, without an equal anywhere in the entire State, is credited to the fore- 
sight and judgment of Governor Carteret. Its position, as early histor- 
ians have pointed out, presented facilities for almost every pursuit that 
an enterprising people might adopt ; and the failure to make it a place of 
more extensive trade than it has yet become, takes nothing from the 
credit due the first Governor for selecting so eligible a situation for a 
town. The thoroughness with which the royal proprietors of the prov- 
ince planned the settlement of Amboy, or Amboy Point, as it was first 
called, may be realized by reading the following "proposals" for building 
and settling the town : 



362 MIDDLESEX 

Forasmuch as Ambo Point is a sweet, wholesome and delightful 
place, proper for trade, by reason of its commodious situation, upon a 
safe harbor, being likewise accommodated with a navigable river, and 
fresh water, and bath, by many persons of the greatest experience and 
best judgment, been approved for the goodness of the air, soil and situ- 
ation. 

We, the proprietors, purpose by the help of Almighty God, with all 
convenient speed, to build a convenient town, for merchandise, trade and 
fishery, on Ambo Point ; and because persons that hath a desire to plant 
there, may not be disappointed for want of proposals, we, the proprietors, 
offer these following : 

First ; We intend to divide fifteen hundred acres of land upon Ambo 
Point into one hundred and fifty lots; which lots shall consist of ten 
acres the lot, one hundred of the lots we are willing to sell here, and 
fifty we reserve for such as are in America, and have long desired to 
settle there. 

Secondly; The price of each lot shall be fifteen pounds sterling, to 
such who purchase before the twenty-fifth of December, 1682; and to 
such who purchase afterwards, before the twenty-iifth of December, 
1683, twenty pounds sterling. 

Thirdly; Every lot is to be divided equally as the goodness of the 
place doth require, and the situation can admit. 

Fourthly; The most convenient spot of ground for a town, shall be 
divided into one hundred and fifty equal shares, and set out into streets, 
according to rules of art; and no persons shall be preferred before 
another in choice, whether purchaser or proprietor. 

Fifthly; We reserve four acres for a market place, townhouse, etc., 
and three acres for public wharfage. 

Sixthly; Each purchaser is obliged to build a dwelling house in the 
place designed for the town, and to clear three acres of upland, in three 
years, or else the proprietors to be reinstated in such lots wherein default 
is made, repaying the purchase money. 

Seventhly; We, the proprietors, do within a year hope, by God's 
assistance, to build for each of us one house upon Ambo Point; which 
we intend shall stand in an orderly manner, according to the best and 
most convenient model; and in pursuance of the design of the proposi- 
tion abovesaid. 

Eighthly; And for the encouragement of carpenters, joiners, brick 
and tile makers, bricklayers, masons, sawyers and laborers of all sorts, 
who are willing to go and employ themselves and servants, in helping to 
clear ground, and build houses upon the general acount of and for the 
proprietors. 

The said proprietors will engage to find them work, and current pay 
for the same, in money or clothes and provision of which there is plenty 
(as beef, pork, corn, etc.) according to the market price at New York, 
during the space of one year at least, next after the twenty-fifth of 
December 1682; in which time (in God's blessing and through their 
industry) they may have got wherewith to buy cows, horses, hogs and 
other goods, to stock that land, which they in the meantime may take up, 
according to the concessions; neither shall such persons pay rent for 
their said land, so long as they are employed in the proprietor's work; 
and their wages shall at all times be so much as other such artificers and 



PERTH AMBOY 363 

laborers, in the said province usually have, nor shall they be obliged to 
work for the proprietors longer than they find encouragement so to do. 

Ninthly ; And for the more ready and certain employing those work- 
men and laborers that shall transport themselves to East Jersey, this is 
to let all laborers and persons that shall transport themselves know, they 
must upon their arrival upon that place, repair to the register of the 
above said province, and enter themselves according to their respective 
qualities and designs and thereupon they shall be entered into the 
service and pay of the proprietors. 

So slowly were the hopes of the owners of the land realized, that it 
was not until the census of 1840, a century and a half after the original 
settlement, that the population reached 1,000, the figures at the end of 
that decade being 1,303. An even half dozen of the royal governors, 
whose line began with Carteret and ended with the gifted Franklin, made 
Perth Amboy their home during at least a part of their terms. The first 
was Robert Hunter, prominent as a soldier and as a writer, besides being 
of high rank as a statesman. William Burnet, polished and accomplished 
son of the great bishop of that name, honored the people whom he gov- 
erned by living among them for a time. Then came John Hamilton, 
Francis Bernard and Thomas Boone, the latter followed by Franklin, 
who, like most of those who came to the Jerseys at all, lived part of the 
time in Burlington. 

As a city, Perth Amboy came into corporate existence in the year 
1718, when, under date of August 24th a royal charter was granted upon 
the recommendation of Governor Hunter. The seal adopted was that in 
use at the present time, and on which the name of Perth Amboy is used. 
Perth was taken as a compliment to the Earl of Perth, who was one of 
the original owners of the land by royal grant. The attempt was appar- 
ently made to call the settlement by that name alone, but the designation 
"Ambo" or "Amboy Point" had become so fixed by constant usage that 
Perth Amboy was easily agreed upon as the title to be used in the char- 
ter. The right to select the mayor was reserved to the royal governor, 
and it was not until all the prerogatives of the crown were abrogated 
that the people of the city were allowed to select by ballot their chief 
magistrate. The governor also named the sherifif and the water bailiff. 
The recorder and the clerk were also designated by the governor, but the 
people were allowed to choose the aldermen, assistant aldermen, cham- 
berlain, coroner, overseers of the poor and constables, but none was 
allowed to vote except he be a freeholder. 

The device on the city seal is thus described : "On the dexter a hunt- 
ing horn, and over it Arte non impetu; on the sinister a ship riding at 
anchor in the harbor, under it Partus Optimus." The connection between 
the hunting horn and its motto and the past history or future destinies 
of the city might afford matter for discussion for a whole college of 



364 MIDDLESEX 

heraldry, were not the clue presented in Governor Hunter's own escutch- 
eon. The petitioners for the charter for the city missed no chance to 
win the favor of His Excellency, and placed upon the seal of the cor- 
poration the arms of the governor's family. 

The careless handling of public affairs, which is a curse of American 
municipalities, manifested itself throughout the history of Perth Amboy. 
Documents pertaining to the establishment of the city and its institutions 
are wholly in private hands, if they remain at all. A comparatively few 
are preserved in the New Jersey Historical Society's vaults in Newark, 
but even in recent years important papers that should never have been 
outside the City Hall of Perth Amboy have turned up at auctions and in 
book stores in various parts of the country, even now to become the 
property of private collectors, rather than of the municipality to which 
they belong by a right and title which cannot be set aside. There are 
practically no records of the city before 1880, and many since that date 
are incomplete. This is deeply regretted by every student of local his- 
tory. Were it not for the records of the State, none too faithfully kept as 
to detail, and the writings of William Dunlap and later of Whitehead, 
scarcely anything would be known of the first century and a half of Perth 
Amboy. Both of these writers gave us reminiscent sketches rather than 
detailed or consecutive historical record, but those interested in the sub- 
ject are deeply grateful for the morsels that have been transmitted to this 
generation by these two gifted writers. 

The real industrial life of Perth Amboy began with the decision of 
the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company to make the city its tidewater 
terminus. Coal wharves were erected, and in 1876 the shipment of 
anthracite coal to eastern and foreign ports was commenced. After a 
few years the shipments of coal aggregated more than two million tons 
annually, and for a long time the total amount handled has been in 
excess of that total. The coming and going of coal carriers brought 
other industries to the awakened city. A shipbuilder, Hugh Ramsay, 
came here and built barges for the railroad company and then 
for other concerns, private parties and foreign governments. Dry docks 
were brought here, others were constructed, and for thirty years Perth 
Amboy has been a center of much activity in this important line of 
industry. 

There came the tremendous Guggenheim interests and established 
the gold, silver, copper and lead plant of the American Smelting Com- 
pany, with the United Lead Company, which closed twenty-six refineries 
when it opened its Perth Amboy plant. The Lewisohn Brothers estab- 
lished the Raritan Copper Works, which almost at once became the 
largest electrolytic copper refinery in the world. The Barber Asphalt 
Paving Company erected huge refineries and subsidiary plants, refined all 











2iir 




^"^ 


'" 


l\ 






^.p.::- - 1 




^^;^<|||HHl[ld| 




jpHWaHlfj 


sfflii^^f f?'^ '4i 


«« 


W^^^A 




,^pK 


^^P^^ki^ II 


wdpHf^l^ ^Vi^||i 


M^^ 


\-thi^ 


^^^S^^^^^plkjwj 


1^ ... ,,Tm 


''Miipoiii 


, -— ■ '-itS^ 








^„-.X'^"-:f\ ,- -• 


■~ ••■' .^- ■"■-r-l..'_^' - ■ 



'1 HE HEART OF PERTH AMBOY 




SMITH STREET, PERTH AMBOY 



PERTH AMBOY 365 

ihe asphalt it uses east of the Mississippi here, and turned out thousands 
of rolls of roofing paper annually. The United States Cartridge Company 
naturally followed the United Lead Company, and the Cheesebrough 
Manufacturing Company secured a site on the Raritan river, within the 
limits of the city, where the vaseline preparations used by the world are 
produced. Attracted by the transportation facilities and the large pro- 
duction of copper in Perth Amboy, came the Standard Underground 
Cable Company, with its parent plant at Pittsburgh and a branch at Oak- 
land, California, to manufacture tens of thousands of miles of wire of all 
sorts and employ hundreds of men and women in its various departments. 

More than thirty years ago the Roessler-Hasslacher Chemical Com- 
pany came to America and erected a small plant in Perth Amboy, in 
which a variety of chemicals were produced by methods in use in Ger- 
many. To-day the company operates three large plants which turn out 
coloring materials, cyanides and other equally important chemical com- 
modities, to supply the American market, in addition to fathering the 
General Bakelite Company, which has its large and important plant here. 

From the beginning, clay products have played a large part in the 
industrial development of Perth Amboy. Beds of clay in and about the 
city produce that quality of mother earth best adapted for fine brick, 
conduits, building blocks of all sorts and for all uses, and terra cotta. 
The terra cotta products of Perth Amboy adorn the buildings of this and 
other lands erected when that was a popular form of architectural orna- 
mentation. To-day the skyscrapers of the great cities of America are 
being constructed of blocks and tile made in and about Perth Amboy. 
Calvin Pardee, of the prominent Pennsylvania family of that name so 
long identified with the mining and shipment of coal, established a tile 
manufactory and later a steel rod mill, both of which are now in other 
hands. 

Old as Perth Amboy is, and prominent as it was in the early history 
of the province of East Jersey, there is little to-day to remind us of the 
early days of the infant city. Writing nearly three-quarters of a century 
ago, William A. Whitehead, preeminently the historian of Perth Amboy, 
said that Perth Amboy had then no crumbling castles, no time-worn bat- 
tlemented walls, nor monuments of fallen greatness, such as excite the 
veneration and sympathies of the traveler among the dilapidated cities of 
the Eastern hemi^here. Since Whitehead's day, the old British barracks, 
erected midway in the eighteenth century to shelter the royal troops 
returning from Cuba, have been removed. The ground they occupied is 
now the site of the grammar school, a magnificent monument to the 
efforts of Perth Amboy to educate the children who came to bless the 
homes of her citizens, to many of whom the public school is a wonderful 
agency for the Americanization of those of foreign birth or parentage. 



366 MIDDLESEX 

At the same time there is a growing number who regret that the bar- 
racks were not preserved and the grammar school erected elsewhere. 
Until the destruction of the old buildings, the walls of which were con- 
structed of brick brought from England, the old rifle-pit remained almost 
as it was when first dug — in summer a pond in which tiny ships were 
sailed and miniature navies fought their battles; and in winter a safe 
place for those who sought the pleasures of ice skating. 

The old mansion, built as the home of the colonial . governor of the 
Jerseys when one capital was maintained in Amboy and the other in 
Burlington, stands on Kearny avenue. William Franklin, son of the 
great philosopher and statesman, was the last royal governor of the 
colony to occupy the mansion. Shortly after the Revolution, the prop- 
erty, comprising a magnificent estate, passed into private hands. Later 
a destructive fire visited it, but the building was restored and until the 
Civil War wrecked southern fortunes, it was a favorite summer resort 
for prominent families from south of the Mason and Dixon line. It was 
then known as the Brighton House, with checkered career as a public 
house of entertainment. After the war was ended, Matthias Bruen pre- 
sented the entire property to the Presbyterian church to be maintained 
as a home for infirm clergy, their wives, widows and orphans. Thus it 
continued for more than a score of years, when the church decided that 
it could not afford to longer keep it, and returned it to the Bruen family, 
and it is now in use as an apartment house, occupied by schoolteachers, 
lawyers, and other professional people. Many people who otherwise 
know nothing of Perth Amboy's history are familiar with the Parker 
Castle, so-called because of the older part of it, built with heavy stone 
walls in the time when Indians were numerous in these parts and the 
peaceful citizen sought to protect his sleep at night and his family by day. 
The frame part of the old castle, which sheltered generation after genera- 
tion of the Parker family for nearly two centuries, was old when the 
colonies fought the mother country, although erected long after the stone 
portion had been in use. The building extends from Water street to 
Front, and years ago the half block bounded by Water street and Wil- 
locks lane was Mrs. Parker's garden. 

On the corner of Smith and Water streets is the old Parker law office, 
originally a one-story frame structure which now is two stories high 
because the Smith street grade was lowered at that point about ten feet. 
There before the Revolution the Parkers gave legal advice to their towns- 
men, and were consiHted by men of prominence through New Jersey and 
New York who were glad to have the benefit of their knowledge and 
advice. There, at the outbreak of the Revolution, Cortlandt Skinner, the 
royal attorney general, had his office. Two of his students at the time 
were Andrew Bell and Joseph Bloomfield. Skinner and Bell remained 




POST OFFICE, PERTH AMBOY. 





L*A.Aai 


L^ 


.Mt^^Hk-^ ^mKSM/^ 




*"'■ ■*■■ ** .faj. Ml jmI 


^W? 







HIGH SCHOOL, PERTH AMBOY. 




GREEN BROOK, NEAR DUNELLEN. 



PERTH AMBOY 367 

loyal to the British Crown, the former becoming a major-general in his 
Majesty's forces, and Bell served throughout the conflict as private sec- 
retary to Sir Henry Clinton. Bloomfield led American troops as a major- 
general, and later was twice governor of New Jersey, besides serving the 
State well as attorney-general. Bell's old mansion still stands on Kearny 
avenue, occupied by Miss Emily Paterson, a great granddaughter of Wil- 
liam Paterson, one of the infant State's first two United States Senators, 
and who graced the Federal Supreme Court, after serving as Governor. 

There is not much left of the original building in which the Provincial 
Assembly met immediately after the settlement of Ambo Point. It was 
the capital of East Jersey, and then passed through various degrees of 
usefulness of a public or semi-public nature for several decades. It 
was built and rebuilt and enlarged in various directions until for some 
years it has served as city hall and police headquarters. For many years 
the upper floor was a lodge room, and the only approach to a place of 
theatrical entertainment of which the city could boast for many years 
was the room on the second floor now used for the sessions of the city 
council and the district court. • 

Several buildings used privately, survived from early colonial days. 
The home of the East Jersey Club on High street was one of the first 
built in the city. It was saved from demolition by Dr. Francis W. 
Kitchel, and occupied by him for more than a quarter of a century. On 
some old maps of the city it is shown as the residence of Neil Campbell, 
one of the most prominent immigrants from Scotland to the infant 
metropolis. John Watson, the first portrait painter in the American 
colonies, came from Scotland in 1715 and lived here until his death. 

The point at the mouth of the Raritan river is first mentioned in an Indian 
deed given to Augustine Hermann, a resident of New Amsterdam, Decem- 
ber 8, 1651. In this deed the point was called Ompoge, but in a subsequent 
one recorded in 1665 by which John Bailes or Baily, one of the patentees 
of the Elizabethtown tract, deeded to Governor Carteret, the country is 
called Arthur Cull, or Emboyle, which a year later was written Amboyle. 
From these names Ambo was conferred upon the point for some time 
after its settlement. In granting the charter to the town of Woodbridge, 
June 10, 1669, Ambo Point was reserved by the lord proprietors in lieu 
of the seventh part mentioned in the concessions. This reservation con- 
sisted of nine hundred acres of upland and a hundred acres of meadow. 
Little was accomplished for the next decade towards the settlement of 
the point. Samuel Groom, who accompanied Governor Rudyard, who 
succeeded Carteret, to the province in his official capacity of surveyor- 
general, surveyed the harbor and sounded the channel from Amboy, as 
it now began to be called, to Sandy Hook. In his report made Aug^ust 11, 



368 MIDDLESEX 

1683, the surveyor-general says that there were three houses at the 
Point, and three others were ready to be set up. They were thirty feet 
long, sixteen or eighteen feet wide, ten feet between joints, with a double 
chimney made of lumber and clay. Groom laid out the town into one 
hundred and fifty lots, and under instructions of the proprietors allowed 
for wide streets, also each house lot to have yard and garden. 

The arrival of Gawen Lawrie to supersede Rudyard as deputy- 
governor gave a new impetus to affairs at Amboy. He, following the 
instructions of the proprietors, gave the name of Perth to their new town 
in honor of James, Earl of Perth, one of their associates, and the title of 
Amboy was dropped for some time except when applied to the Point. In 
the governor's report, he states that he has finally settled on a place 
where a ship of three hundred tons can ride safely at anchor and be 
connected at low tide by plank with the shore ; that he had laid out sixty 
lots of an acre each on the river and forty backward between these and 
the river, the backward lots being on a highway one hundred feet broad, 
including a place for a market, with cross streets from the river to the 
nferket. The governor also laid out four hundred acres divided into 
forty-eight parts ; sixteen of these were taken up by the Scottish proprie- 
tors, eight by proprietors residing in the province, twenty were taken 
by other people, while four acres were to lie until the proprietors agreed 
to divide it, as people came over; the highways and wharfs were one 
hundred feet broad, and a row of trees along the river was left for shade. 
The purchasers of the town lots were to pay £20, and agreed to build a 
house therein thirty feet long, eighteen feet broad, and eighteen feet 
high, to be finished within a year. Between forty and fifty acres were 
reserved for the governor's house, as the proprietors had determined to 
make Perth the capital of the province. 

The quantity of land laid out, including the governor's house and pub- 
lic highways, was estimated at two hundred acres; about the same 
number of acres three miles up the Raritan river was retained in common 
to furnish grass for the settlers. It is to be regretted that these plans 
were not fully carried out ; they had to yield to the sordid consideration 
of the value of the land, and were ignored to facilitate the commercial 
operations of the new provincial capital. Under strong pressure of the 
proprietors, the deputy-governor in 1684 carried their wishes into effect 
and the seat of government was moved from Elizabethtown. Necessary 
steps were taken to procure the rights and privileges of a port of entry 
to advance the prosperity of the new town of Perth, and facilitate its 
commercial intercourse with the other provinces and the mother country. 
The actual residence in Amboy of the chief officers of the province is 
uncertain; Rudyard and Lawrie, while they held lands in the town, 



PERTH AMBOY 369 

never gained a permanent residence. Hamilton and Campbell may have 
been permanently established, the former prior to 1689 and again from 
1692 to 1698 ; the latter probably during his brief term. After the sur- 
render of the government of the province to the Crown in 1701, while 
New York participated in the honor flowing from the joint possession 
of a governor, Richard Ingoldsby was lieutenant-governor under Lords 
Cornbury and Lovelace, Jihere is no trace of a residence in Amboy of him 
or any of the presidents of the council who succeeded him down to 1736. 
Governor Hunter was the first of the royal governors who regarded the 
province with sufficient favor to secure upon its soil anything like a per- 
manent home. His house was located on a knoll south of St. Peter's 
Church, commanding a fine view of the harbor, the bay and ocean 
beyond. This was his official residence while on his tours of duty in 
New Jersey, here he retired for recreation from the weighty cares of the 
administration of affairs of the province of New York. His successor. 
Governor Burnet, purchased the Hunter residence, which he occupied 
during his term of eight years. There is no evidence that Governors 
Montgomerie and Cosby ever had a fixed residence in Amboy. The next 
governor, John Hamilton, built what afterwards became known as the 
"Lewis Place," overlooking the broad bay formed by the junction of the 
Raritan and the Sound with Sandy Hook inlet. His successor, Lewis 
Morris, resided most of his time near Trenton ; his successor, Jonathan 
Belcher, was more pleased with the attractions of Elizabethtown as a 
home during the ten years of his holding the office of governor. Gov- 
ernor Bernard resided in what was known as the Johnstone Mansion, 
which stood halfway between the "Long Ferry" and "Sandy Point." 
During the short period of the administration of affairs by Governors 
Boone and Hardy, there is no evidence to the contrary of their being 
permanent residents of Perth Amboy. The last of the royal governors, 
William Franklin, became the occupant of the Proprietors' House in 
October, 1774; it was afterwards enlarged and improved and became the 
residence of Matthias Bruen. It was in this mansion that Governor 
Franklin was arrested June 17, 1776, by a detachment of militia under 
Colonel (afterwards. General) Heard, by order of the Provincial Con- 
vention or Congress. A fuller detailed account of the royal governors 
will be found in another chapter of this work. 

Among the early settlers of the new town of Perth was Samuel 
Groom, one of the twenty-four proprietaries, sometimes styled Mariner 
of Stepney; he was dispossessed as surveyor-general and receiver-gen- 
eral by Governor Rudyard, though afterwards reinstated by the proprie- 
tors; he died in 1683, leaving on the stocks unfinished the first vessel 
built in East Jersey. His successor, William Haige, a son-in-law of 

Mid-24 



370 MIDDLESEX 

Governor Lawrie, was a man much respected by the earliest settlers. 
He continued to perform the duties of the two offices until 1686, when he 
was succeeded by George Keith as surveyor-general. The latter has 
received several mentions in this work, as also has his deputy and suc- 
cessor, John Reid. The prosperity of the town was materially advanced 
by what was known as "William Dockwra's people." While this gentle- 
man owned several town lots and the valley of the Millstone river was 
his property, he was never a resident of the province. On the death 
of William Haige he was appointed receiver-general and treasurer; in 
consideration of his services as their agent in London the proprietors 
gave him a grant of one thousand acres of land. "The people" men- 
tioned were laborers sent over to America, so as to obtain grants for 
headlands in accordance with "the Concessions" — Dockwra receiving a 
portion of their earnings. The Scottish proprietors as well as Dockwra 
sent over servants and poor families, to whom they gave stock, and for 
a number of years they received half of the increase excepting milk, 
which the tenant had to himself. These arrivals of laborers amounted to 
over fifty at different times. The arrival of Benjamin Clarke and his son 
Benjamin in 1683 supplied the young town of Perth with a good sta- 
tioner's shop, which included a library of books. Clarke received grants 
for eight headlands for eight others besides himself and son. It is the 
presumption that his house stood on the south side of Market street, near 
its junction with Water street. 

The unfortunate termination in Scotland of the Earl of Argyle's expe- 
dition caused a large number of the natives of that country to seek refuge 
in the New World. Prominent among these were the Campbells, rela- 
tions of the Earl of Argyle, a family obnoxious to the government for 
their political sentiments and affinities. There were a number of indi- 
viduals of the name of Campbell, more or less intimately related to the 
deputy-governor who arrived in the province during the years 1684-85, 
but John and Archibald, sons of Lord Neil, were both identified with the 
settlement of Perth. John arrived in 1684, bringing his wife, three chil- 
dren and eleven servants, to swell the population of the province. He 
died in December, 1689, leaving two daughters and a son John. Archi- 
bald arrived at the settlement with his father, but there is no record of 
any wife or children. These brothers held lots in a ravine north of the 
town, which was known at one time as "Campbell GuUey." There is no 
"authentic list of the Scotch settlers who arrived with Lord Campbell. 

An arrival of more than ordinary interest to the new settlement was 
the vessel "Henry and Francis," freighted with Scots; they were men 
upon whom persecution had wrought its work of purification, whose 
souls had been tempered for patient endurance by sore trials and mis- 





GREGORY'S GRAVEYARD, PERTH AMBOY 



PERTH AMBOY 371 

fortunes. Among those who suffered for conscience sake in submitting 
to the authority of Cromwell, was Sir John Scot of Scotstarbet in Edin- 
burghshire, upon whom the lord-commissioner inflicted a fine of £6,000. 
His son, George Scot, of Pitlochie, with others, scorned to secure their 
liberty by taking the oath of supremacy. After suffering numerous 
arrests and fines for attending conventicles and for non-conformity, his 
petition for a release from prison was granted, on his agreeing to emi- 
grate to the new plantations and take with him Archibald Riddle, a 
cousin of his wife, one of the obnoxious preachers. The Laird of Pit- 
lochie's position in society and connection with many of the first families 
of the kingdom, the persecutions he had been subjected to, increased his 
notoriety and secured for him for the work he contemplated the consider- 
ation of his countrymen. His intention was to embark with his family and 
associate with him a number of the oppressed, for the purpose of finding 
an asylum in America. The Council on Februtry 11, 1685, authorized 
Scot to transport to the plantations "a hundred of prisoners confined at 
Glasgow, Edinburgh and Sterling, if they were willing to go," excluding 
those who were "heritors above one hundred pounds of rent," and such 
persons as were under bonds to appear before them vvere to have those 
bonds returned to them if they should join him. Thus being authorized, 
the Laird of Pitlochie proceeded to assemble his company; he further 
requested the council to transfer to him a large number of persons who 
had been banished to Jamaica, but only twelve were granted to him. 
Between August 17 and 25, one hundred persons who had refused the 
oath of allegiance to the King or had been perviously banished, were 
delivered to Scot to be transported to East Jersey, he agreeing and giving 
security to land them there prior to September, 1686, or suffer a penalty 
of five hundred marks in case of failure in any instance. Other persons 
were afterwards assigned to him in like manner, and some were pro- 
hibited from embarking. 

Scot early in May had chartered the "Henry and Francis," a ship 
of three hundred and fifty tonnage, equipped with twenty great guns, 
commanded by Richard Hutton. The vessel sailed from the harbor of 
Leith, September 5, 1685, the whole number on board being nearly two 
hundred. The charge for transportation was £5 sterling for each adult, 
and to each of those who were unable to pay for their passage was 
promised twenty-five acres of land and a new suit of clothes on the 
completion of four years of service, to those who advanced the requisite 
amount. Many of the passengers afterwards became known in Ameri- 
can history as "Redemptioners." The voyage was beset with difficul- 
ties; many deaths occurred during the voyage owing to a malignant 
fever on board and to the provisions laid in by the captain, the meat, 
owing probably to the length of time which had elapsed since the vessel 



372 MIDDLESEX 

was chartered, becoming offensive and uneatable. The deaths numbered 
over seventy, among them the Laird of Pitlochie, his wife, his sister- 
in-law Lady Arthernie, and her two children. It is impossible to give 
a complete list of all those that arrived at Perth on the "Henry and 
Francis." but from various records we submit the following: 

Robert Adam, John Arbuckle, John Black, George Brown, Robert 
Campbell, David Campbell, William Campbell, John Campbell, Chris- 
tian Carie, John Crichton, John Corbet, Andrew Corbet, John Corsan 
(Casson), Barbara Cowan, Marjory Cowan, Patrick Cunningham, Wil- 
liam Douglass, Charles Douglass, Isabel Durie, John Frazer, Elspeth 
Ferguson, Janet Fergueson, Margaret Ferret (Forrest), John Foord, 
James Forsyth, John Forman, John Gray, Grisel Gemble, Fergus 
Grier, James Grier (Grierson), Robert Gilchrist, John GilfiUan, 
Bessie Gordon, Annabel Gordon, Katherine Govan, John Hanie, John 
Henderson, Adam Hood, Charles Horagall, William Jackson, 
Annabel Jackson, George Johnson, John Johnstone, James Junk, 
John King, John Kincaid, James Kirkwood, John Kellie, John 
Kennie, Margaret Leslie, Janet Lintron, Gawen Lockhart, Michael 
Marshall, John Marshall, John Martin, Margaret Miller, George Moor 
(Muir), Jean Moffat, John Muirhead, James Muirhead, William Mc- 
Calmont, John McEwen, Walter McEwen (Mclgne), Robert McEwen, 
John McQueen (McEwen), Robert McLellan, Margaret McLellan, 

McLellan, John McGhie, William Niven, William Oliphant, 

Andrew Paterson, John Pollock, Rev. Archibald Riddle, Marion Rennie, 
James Reston, Peter Russel, Christopher Strang (McAgnes Stevens 
Tannis), William Spreul, Thomas Shelston, John Sinton (Seton), Janet 
Symington, John Targat, John Turpnie, William Turnbull, Patrick Urie, 
John Watt, Patrick Walker, Elizabeth Whitelaw, Grizel Wotherspoon, 
William Wilson, Robert Young. 

Besides those banished persons who were given in charge of Scot, 
the following were delivered to Robert Barclay, governor of the prov- 
ince, under date of August 7, 1685, o"^ condition they should be trans^ 
ported to East New Jersey: George Young, John Campbell, John 
Swan, James Oliver, James Stuart, John Jackson, John Gibb, Gilbert 
Ferguson, Colin Campbell, John Gilliland, Thomas Richard, William 
Drennan, William Mcllroy, Archibald Jamieson, John McKello, Alex- 
ander Graham, Ducan McEwen, Malcolm Black, John McAulin, Donald 
Moor and John Nicol. There is little doubt that all of these were 
among the passengers on the "Henry and Francis." It is difficult to 
tell how many of those who came on the vessel became permanent 
settlers in the vicinity of Perth. A few settled in Woodbridge, others 
removed to New England, others returned to Scotland. John Frazer, 
a candidate for the ministry, did not long remain in New Jersey; he 
removed to Connecticut, but on the accession of William and Mary to 
the throne of England, returned to Scotland. William Jackson, a cord- 
wainer. removed to New York ; William Niven subsequently returned 
to Scotland. Of Christopher Strang and Rev. David Simson there is 



PERTH AMBOY 373 

little known. John Doby, Robert Hardie, John Forbes, and John Cock- 
burn became residents of the settlement in 1684. Cockburn was a ma- 
son; Forbes settled on a plantation on Cedar brook now in Raritan 
township. John Emott came to the province before the purchase by 
the twenty-four proprietaries. He was landlord of the Long Ferry 
Tavern, the first public house in Amboy, in 1685, secretary of the 
province in that year, a lieutenant in the Amboy militia, also clerk of 
the county court and court of sessions. John Gibb and David Jamison 
were especially noted for being leaders in Scotland of a society entitled 
"Sweet Singers." The fate of the former is not known ; the latter served 
as clerk to the council, and Governor Hunter selected him to be Chief 
Justice of New Jersey on account of his legal abilities. Although a 
resident of New York, he continued to fill the office of Chief Justice 
until 1723, when on the ground of inconvenience attendant on his non- 
residence, he was superseded in the office by William Trent. 

John Barclay, a brother of the governor, became a resident of Amboy 
about 1688. He held many public offices, and was for many years clerk 
of St. Peter's Church. His residence was an old brick building, on what 
is now High street, near the square. David, another brother of the gov- 
ernor, died at sea in August, 1685, on his return to East Jersey from 
Aberdeen, Scotland. Among the other residents of Amboy at this time 
were : John Loofborrow, a miller ; Benjamin Griffith, afterwards a com- 
missioner in the minor courts; John Watson, a merchant; Peter Wat- 
son, a planter ; Thomas Knowles, a stationer ; and Robert Bridgeman, a 
merchant. Two brothers, Stephen and Thomas Wame, came in 1683; 
the latter was a carpenter and eventually settled in Monmouth county. 
Thomas and Robert Fullerton, brothers of the Laird of Kennaber, located 
on Cedar brook, eight miles west of Amboy. John Reid, who became 
surveyor of the province, came in 1683, residing at Amboy for some years 
but finally removed to Monmouth county. Miles Forster's name appears 
in the Provincial records in 1684; he owned several lots in Amboy, and 
resided there for many years before his death in 1710. He received from 
the Board of Proprietors in December, 1702, a town lot on consideration 
of his having built the first sloop launched at Amboy. Among the most 
valued residents of Amboy for some years was David Mudie, who arrived 
in East Jersey with four children and thirteen servants in November, 
1684. This was, however, only a portion of his family, as he left a wife 
and several children in Scotland. He was styled "Merchant of Perth," 
and was judge of the Court of Common Right. He revisited his native 
land in 1686, but soon after returned to the province and continued a 
resident of Amboy until his death in March, 1696. John Johnstone, a 
druggist in Edinburgh, and one of the company of the ill-fated "Henry 
and Francis," arrived in East Jersey in December, 1685. The responsi- 



374 MIDDLESEX 

bility of the ship's company after the death of Scot fell upon his shoul- 
ders, as he was recognized as the son-in-law of the promoter of the 
enterprise. He was known as Doctor Johnstone; after a residence in 
New York he removed before 1707 to Amboy. He resided in a double 
two-story brick house with large barn and other outhouses, to which was 
attached a spacious garden and a fine orchard; later this house was 
refitted and became known as Edinborough Castle. In his profession 
Dr. Johnstone was considered skillful ; he was well known for his 
charity and estimable character. George Willocks, inheriting property 
in East Jersey from his brother James Willocks, a doctor of medicine 
in Kenny, Scotland, arrived in the province in 1684; he returned to 
Scotland and in 1698 became a resident of Amboy, and was deputy 
surveyor of the province under John Reid. After a residence in various 
other localities, he returned in 1726 to Amboy, where he died in January 
or February, 1729. His house was on the present site of St. Peter's 
Church and cemetery, and after his death it was used for many years as 
a parsonage. 

David Lyell, a goldsmith by trade, became a proprietor in April, 
1697, and came to New Jersey at the beginning of the eighteenth cen- 
tury. He resided part of his life in New York and Monmouth county, 
but had a permanent residence in Amboy, his house standing directly 
upon the shore of the harbor, a short distance north of the Episcopal 
church. It was in 1716 that Michael Kearny purchased a lot of ground 
in Amboy on the hill south of St. Peter's Church. He was originally 
from Ireland, and married a daughter of Governor Lewis Morris. His 
son, Philip Kearny., became eminent as a lawyer, and was great-grand- 
father of General Philip Kearny, of Civil War fame. Thomas Farmar 
removed from Richmond county, Staten Island, to Amboy in 171 1 ; 
he filled many judicial positions. Among the most influential families 
of ancient Amboy were the descendants of Rev. William Skinner, a 
member of the clan of MacGregor. He became rector of St. Peter's 
Church in 1724, and continued to discharge his duties faithfully until 
his death in 1758. Cortlandt, his eldest son, became a noted lawyer, 
and was a pronounced royalist during the Revolutionary War, receiv- 
ing a commission as brigadier-general from General Howe, of the British 
forces. His house of stone and brick stood on the southwest corner of 
South and Water streets, the gardens extending along Smith street to 
what is now Rector street. After the Revolution he went to England, 
where he died March 15, 1799. The other sons of the Rev. William 
Skinner namely, Stephen, William and John, were all royalists; the 
firstnamed resided in a mansion on the north side of Smith street, which 
was entirely destroyed by fire on December 28, 1776. The youngest son, 
John, returned to Perth Amboy after the Revolutionary War and en- 
gaged in mercantile business, and died in December, 1797. Samuel 



PERTH AMBOY 375 

Neville, a lawyer by profession, established himself in Perth Amboy in 
May, 1736. He was a man of education and literary attainments ; had been 
editor of the "London Morning Post." He soon gained eminence in his 
new home, became judge of the Court of Common Pleas, mayor of 
Perth Amboy, and second judge of the Supreme Court of the province. 
He died October 27, 1764, leaving a name unsullied by the slightest 
stain. He resided on a farm at the termination of Market street. The 
name of Barberie first appears on the records of Amboy in 1702; its 
representative was one of the many thousands of Protestants who left 
France to escape the evils imposed upon them by Louis XIV. John 
Barberie, a descendant of the original settler, was Collector of Customs 
for the port of Perth Amboy at the time of his death in 1770. John 
Watson and the Parker family have already received notice in this work. 

There seems to be no special local government established in the 
early days of Perth Amboy, for its simple appellation of Perth was 
soon lost from joining with it the name of the point Ambo. The officers 
of the county and courts preserved order and regulated its police. Its 
existence as a town, however, was soon recognized, as one or more 
representatives were admitted to the General Assembly, which held 
its first session in 1686 at Amboy. The number was finally fixed at 
two members and that number continued to be its quota until the 
Revolution. 

The first charter of incorporation was obtained from Governor Hun- 
ter, August 24, 1718; the title adopted was "The Mayor, Recorder, 
Aldermen and Commonalty of the City of Perth Amboy." The names 
of John Johnstone, Thomas Gordon, John Hamilton, George Willocks, 
John Barclay, William Eier, John Stevens, William Hodgson, William 
Frost, Henry Berry, John Sharp, Thomas Turnhill, Andrew Redford 
and Alexander Walker appear in its preamble as petitioners. The 
common council, of which the mayor and three aldermen constituted a 
quorum, were to hold their meetings in the court house or city hall ; their 
laws and ordinances were to be submitted to the governor for his 
approval, and if they did not receive his approbation, their operation 
was limited to six months. The appointment and election of the offi- 
cials have been already mentioned; the recorder and town clerk held 
office indefinitely, as no particular term was specified. The assistant 
aldermen, however, were not chosen until it was known who were to 
be aldermen. The sergeant, whose particular duty was to carry a mace 
before the mayor, was appointed by the chief magistrate, with the 
approval of the common council. If the overseers of the poor and the 
constables refused to take the oath of office and perform their respec- 
tive duties, they were to be fined five pounds. The mayor, recorder and 
aldermen constituted the city court; a term was held once a month for 
actions of debt. This is a brief sketch of the municipal machinery that 



376 MIDDLESEX 

was intended and expected to work a great revolution in the circum- 
stances of the city, to add to its population, increase its dimensions and 
improve its commerce. 

The following were instructed and named in the charter to perform 
the first official stations: William Eier, mayor and clerk of market; 
James Alexander, recorder; John Parker, John Rudyard, Samuel Leon- 
ard, William Hodgson, aldermen; John Brown, Andrew Redford, 
Michael Henry, Jacob Isleton, assistants; John Stevens, chamberlain 
and treasurer; John Barclay, town clerk; John Harrison, sheriff and 
water bailiff; William Harrison, coroner; William Frost, marshal or 
sergeant of the mace ; John Ireland, Henry Berry, overseers of the poor ; 
John Herriott, Fred Buckaloo, Alexander Cairns, constables. There are 
no records of the city extant from which a list could be made of those 
who subsequently held these offices. Notwithstanding these efforts to 
boom the city, no perceptible growth was obtained. It is described in 
1759 as having about one hundred houses, and being in appearance, 
though the capital of the province, a small and unpretentious village. 
Smith, in his "History of New Jersey" in 1765, though he speaks of its 
pleasant situation, the commodiousness of its harbor, states that the 
attempts to make it a place of extensive trade had not materialized. 
The city was at its pinnacle of fame at the time of the commencement 
of the Revolution ; though its foreign commerce and domestic trade had 
perhaps been greater in previous years, it doubtlessly had a larger 
population than at any time before; as the seat of government, its 
importance and rank was greater than it was again to possess for 
over a century. The struggle for independence caused many of its 
inhabitants to move, and the operation of other systems of government 
affected its commerce. The only record we have of those who filled the 
mayoralty chair before the Revolution were Samuel Neville in 1758, and 
James Parker, the elder, in 1771. 

In the pre-Revolutionary days, the question of travelling facilities 
was an important matter. The proprietaries, ever solicitous for the 
growth of the capital, expressed a wish to their representative, Deputy- 
Governor Lawrie, in July, 1693, that a convenient road should be 
established between Perth town and Burlington. This was done by 
Lawrie the following year, and in connection with the road he operated 
a ferry boat between Amboy and New York. This line of travel was 
in opposition to the old Dutch road, which crossed the Raritan river 
at the present site of New Brunswick. The latter route was preferred 
by travelers, but as late as 1698 there was no public conveyance for 
the transportation of either goods or passengers on either route. The 
ferry boat which Lawrie established takes precedence in the records of 
all but one established under the proprietary government. In 1669 there 
was established a ferry at Communipaw for the accommodation of the 



PERTH AMBOY 377 

people of Bergen and Communipaw in communicating with New Amster- 
dam. The proprietaries in December, 1700, granted for fifteen years 
to Arthur Simson a ferry right between Amboy and Navesink. These 
three ferries, with the one across the Raritan river granted to John 
Inian and his wife in 1697, are all that are mentioned in the proprietary 
records. The Provincial Assembly in 1716 seems to have paid more 
attention to the condition of public roads. An act was passed con- 
firming all highways that were six and four rods wide, laid out in 
pursuance of previous laws, and annulling all others. Rates of ferriage 
were established by public ordinance; about this time there were in 
existence a ferry from Amboy to Staten Island, and one known as 
Redford's ferry from Perth to South Amboy. Passengers and produce 
were also transported direct from South Amboy to Staten Island. The 
ferries from Perth Amboy across the Raritan and the Sound were 
granted in 1719 to George Willocks and his wife. In 1728 Gabriel Stelle 
received a patent for a ferry from South Amboy to Staten Island, 
touching at Perth Amboy; these ferries continued to be of essential 
service until the introduction of steamboats plying between New Bruns- 
wick or Amboy to New York. 

The first advertisement of a stage route between Amboy and Bur- 
lington appeared in March, 1732-3, in which Solomon Smith and James 
Moore of Burlington were to keep two stage wagons on the route, 
making trips once a week for the transportation of passengers and 
freight. There seems to be no opposition to this line of stages until 
October, 1750, when a new line was established by Daniel O'Brien, a 
resident of Perth Amboy. His stage boat was to leave New York every 
Wednesday for Amboy, where on Friday a stage wagon would proceed 
to Bordentown, where another stage boat would convey the passengers 
to Philadelphia. The success of this line led to an opposition in 1751, 
originating in Philadelphia. A boat left once a week for Burlington, 
whence a stage conveyed the passengers to Amboy Ferry, where a boat 
commanded by Matthew Iseltine received the passengers for New 
York. This boat is described as having a commodious cabin, fitted 
up with a tea table and other conveniences ; they promised to make the . 
journey in twenty-four or thirty hours, less time than the competing line ; 
it, however, required the same number of days as O'Brien's line. In 
June, 1753, Abraham Webb made his appearance with a boat "exceed- 
ingly well fitted with a handsome cabin and all necessary accommoda- 
tions." He probably took the place of O'Brien on the line ; for the next 
year the latter had two boats leaving New York for Amboy on Mondays 
and Thursdays, unconnected with any special through routes, as he 
offered to forward merchandise via Burlington or Bordentown as parties 
might choose, both lines meeting at Amboy. John Butler in November, 
1756, instituted a New York stage via Perth Amboy and Trenton, to 



378 MIDDLESEX 

make the journey in three days to Philadelphia. The establishment of 
rival stage routes from New York by the way of New Brunswick to 
Philadelphia in 1765-66 put an end to the traveling by way of Amboy; 
the packets, however, continued to run for the transportation of way 
passengers and merchandise, but less numerous until about i775> when 
there was "but one sailing between Amboy and New York, commanded 
by Captain John Thompson. 

A post office was established at Amboy in 1793, John Thompson 
■ receiving the first appointment as postmaster. The mail was brought 
three times a week from Woodbridge, that town being on the main 
route between New York and Philadelphia. This arrangement con- 
tinued until 1825. when the mail arrived daily with the exception , of 
Sunday during the summer, and three times a week in the winter season ; 
in 1830 another change was made, mails being received and departing 
daily. Among the early postmasters were Edward John Ball, Joseph 
Golding, George Wright, Robert Rattone, Simeon Drake, Robert Arnold, 
Lewis Golding, James Harriott, Benjamin F. Arnold, W. S. Russ, John 
Manning, R. P. Barton, John F. Ten Broeck, John Tomlinson, Elam 
Sanford, John Fothergill, George H. Tice, Cornelius Convery, George 
H. Tice, William Pfeifier and Richard F. White. The present post 
office was erected on the corner of Maple and Jefferson streets by 
the United States Government (1909), with accommodation for the 
Post Office Department, and the Collector of the Port. The estimated 
cost was about $30,000. About the same time rural delivery routes 
were established, and are still maintained on the roads leading to Fords 
and Metuchen. Free delivery went into operation in 1901. 

The advantages of obtaining an education under the proprietary 
government were very limited. It is true that under legislation passed 
in 1693 the inhabitants of any town could choose three men to make a 
taxable rate and fix the salary of a schoolmaster; and ten years later 
three men were to be elected annually, and appoint places where schools 
should be kept. There is, however, no information extant concerning 
the character of instruction meted out to the young of Amboy and its 
vicinity. The period under the royal governors seems not to have been 
favorable either for education or a general diffusion of intelligence 
among the people. 

The records show of the existence of a school in connection with 
St. Peter's Church in July, 1765. The Rev. Mr. McKean, the rector, 
informed the vestry that the school could not be longer held in the 
barracks without paying rent. Subscriptions were immediately obtained ; 
in April, 1768, a house was hired for a school, which was commenced by 
Mr. McNaughton. The schoolteacher was an Irishman of dark com- 
plexion. The building was located near the gully that divided the 
church green from the building. This school was discontinued in May, 



PERTH AMBOY 379 

1770, and three years later a school fund was gbtained by subscription. 
In July, 1774, Thomas Johnston was secured as master, and a school 
was opened in the court house. After the Revolution, matters were in 
much the same condition until the adoption of the improved system of 
State education. 

The seat of government of the province and residence of the principal 
royal officers made Perth Amboy at the commencement of the War of 
Independence a place of interest to both of the conflicting parties. Men- 
tion has already been made in the chapter on the Revolutionary period, 
of the British troops that formed the garrison at Perth Amboy before 
the opening of hostilities. The organization of two New Jersey pro- 
vincial regiments in December, 1775, aroused in the early part of the 
following year the patriotic spirit of the boys of the ancient capital. 
They formed a company of volunteers under the name of '"The Gov- 
ernor's Guard." The captain of this redoubtable company was Lambert 
Barberrie; the lieutenant, John Skinner; the ensign, Andrew Smyth. 
The company proved at a later period a serviceable auxiliary to the 
American officers by watching sentinels and guards, reporting any 
observed failure in duty or discipline. 

Towards the end of June, 1776, Sir William Howe arrived at Staten 
Island with a large body of troops for the purpose of preventing inter- 
course between the Eastern and Middle States. This movement led 
General Washington to form a camp at Amboy, which he placed under 
the command of General Hugh Mercer. It was about this time that a 
British brig-of-war entered the harbor and anchored off St. Peter's 
Church. The Americans obtaining an eighteen pounder gun, placed it 
behind breastworks near the church, and opened fire on the vessel. The 
British ship promptly replied, but soon heaved anchor and sailed away. 
There were in August, 1776, fifteen hundred American troops stationed 
at Amboy. General Mercer, on the night of October 16, 1776, passed 
over with a body of troops to Staten Island with the object of capturing 
a force of British soldiers stationed in the vicinity of Richmond, but 
little was accomplished. Washington's retreat through New Jersey 
commenced in November, 1776, and the British concentrated their forces 
upon New Brunswick and Amboy, relinquishing all the advantages they 
had gained, excepting the retention of these two places. Washington, 
having wintered his army at Morristown, towards the end of May, 
1777, advanced upon New Brunswick, from which place General Howe 
marched on the 14th of June to take the field against him. The British 
commander gained no advantage over the American army, and retired 
again to New Brunswick. A general retreat was commenced June 22, 
1777, the British forces leaving New Brunswick for Amboy. The 
harbor was filled with British vessels on which troops were embarked, 
the transports sailing to Chesapeake Bay. The Americans remained 



38o MIDDLESEX 

in undisturbed possession of Amboy during the remainder of the war. 
After this period of activity, the revolutionary history of the city pre- 
sents little interest and nothing of importance. 

At the opening of the last century, Perth Amboy's civil government 
wras conducted under a second charter, which passed the legislature 
December 21, 1784, and remained the law of the land unimpaired by 
amendment until 1844. From minutes of a meeting of the citizens, 
November 12, 1785, at the court house, it appears that James Parker 
was mayor, but, under the impression that he would not be eligible for 
reappointment, the name of Thomas Farmar was presented to the 
legislature then in session at Trenton for the office, as the appointment 
of mayor came from that body. There is no record of the city officers 
existing from which a perfect list can be obtained. According to census 
returns of 1810, the first which gave the enumerations by cities and 
towns, Perth Amboy had 358 white males, 372 white females, all free 
persons 36, slaves 49, a total of 815; it was not, however, until the 
census of 1840 that the item of slaves disappeared in the enumeration. 
In that year there were 587 white males, 678 white females, 38 free 
colored, a total of 1,303. 

There are some fragmentary memoranda of the city records in 
existence since 1831. They are, however, and unfortunately, very incom- 
plete. The council met February 28, 1831, at the house of Martin 
Chandler; the mayor at this time was James Parker. At this meeting 
a book of minutes was procured and some semblance of a record was 
commenced. The following year, James Parker still occupied the 
mayoralty chair. The danger of cholera then prevailing in the States 
caused the appointment of Dr. Charles McKnight Smith as health 
officer. At a subsequent meeting this officer reported that all necessary 
precautions had been taken and that all cases of the disease had been 
confined to the localities where they originated. James Marsh became 
mayor in 1834, and at a council meeting held May 20, 1835, a resolution 
was adopted to lay a single row of flagstones in the center of Smith and 
High streets. This was the first effort towards walk improvements, 
but unfortunately the resolution was rescinded by the council the fol- 
lowing year. On application of sundry citizens, October 18, 1835, the 
names of a number of the streets were changed. There seems to be 
a hiatus in the records until 1844, when a new charter was granted to 
the city by the legislature, February 27th of that year. James Harriot 
was elected mayor in 1844 and was succeeded the following year by 
Francis W. Brinley. The mayor for 1846 was William Paterson, who 
after holding the office one year, gave way to the reelection of Francis 
W. Brinley. His successor was Commodore Lawrence Kearny in 1848; 
the following year Dr. Solomon Andrews was occupant of the chair, 
and recorded in the minutes are several ordinances for street improve- 




CITY HOSPITAL, PERTH AMBOV 



PERTH AMBOY 381 

ment. The next mayor (in 1850) was the influential citizen, James 
Parker, who was succeeded the following year by Lewis Compton. The 
council, December 17, 1851, granted a lease of the slip at the foot of 
Commerce street for eighteen years to David Crowell and son. Theo- 
dore F. King was elected mayor in 1852, and at an annual election the 
following year, Dr. Solomon Andrews was elected to the ofifice. There 
were four special town meetings held during his term of ofifice, one to 
consider the charter for improvements of streets and sidewalks, another 
to raise $S,ooo to facilitate these improvements ; the others were to 
consider the law granting ferry privileges, which on being referred to 
a committee advised a repeal of the law. The ordinance for the sup- 
pression of vice and immorality stands on the minute book as a monu- 
ment to the city council of 1854, Joseph D. Forbes being the occupant 
of the mayoralty chair. Dr. Solomon Andrews was for the third time 
elected mayor in 1855 ; a number of ordinances for improvements were 
passed. His successor was William Paterson; the year is noted for 
granting of licenses, this being the issue for which the council was 
elected. In the year 1857 considerable business was transacted by the 
council ; the mayor was Edward J. Hall. The slip at the foot of Fayette 
street was leased for ten years to Peter R. Hawley. For the third time 
William Peterson was elected mayor in 1858, and reelected for the fol- 
• lowing two years. The sewer on Smith street was commenced in 1859, 
at a cost of $2,795. The second term of Edward J. Hall was in 1861 ; 
general business of importance was transacted. In the election of 1862, 
Joseph L. Crowell was chosen mayor ; he resigned in October of that year, 
enlisted, and went to the war. The recorder, John R. Watson, acted 
as mayor until the election in 1863 which resulted in placing in the 
mayoralty chair Alfred Hall, who continued by reelection until 1869. 
In this period were the busy times of the Civil War. The city was 
bonded for $4,800 to pay for volunteers ; a tax of $10 was imposed on all 
those liable to a draft; the council was authorized to pay a bounty 
of $300 to every man credited on the call for three hundred thou- 
sand men, the quota of Perth Amboy being thirty-five. The tax was 
payable May i, 1865, and an act was passed by the legislature authoriz- 
ing the borrowing of $10,500. The slip at the foot of Smith street was 
leased in 1863 to Messrs. Drake for a ferry. The charter was revised 
in 1865, fifteen sections being added, principally relating to street im- 
provements. Streets were extended to the suburbs. Prospect street to 
Market street, also High street, from Washington street to Crane 
creek. Smith street was laid out to the township line to run parallel 
with Market street ; King street was opened from Smith to Market 
streets ; bulkheads built at foot of Gordon and other streets. The ferry 
slip in 1867 was leased to the Staten Island Railroad Company for 
twenty years A contract was awarded July 15th that year for the 



382 MIDDLESEX 

erection of twenty-five street lamps to- be lighted with oil. The council 
of 1867 deemed it necessary that the city should be supplied with a 
clock; on March 16, 1869, a contract was awarded to A. S. Hotchkiss 
& Company at an expense not to exceed seven hundred dollars. For the 
safety of the city's funds, a safe was purchased in 1867 at the cost of 
two hundred and seventy-five dollars. 

The mayor in 1869 was James M. Chapman; in this year Water 
street was graded and shade trees set out from Smith street to Fayette 
street. The city park fence and chains were reset. The council by 
resolution adopted a memorial to the memory of Lewis Golding, late 
treasurer of the city, who had for thirty-nine years been connected with 
the city government. The charter was revised March 17, 1870, and the 
council started out anew under its workings; Joseph L. Crowell was 
the mayor elected for two years. The board of education Was organized, 
the school enlarged, a lot purchased for the erection of a new school 
house, for which bonds were issued. Sixteen additional street lamps 
were erected, and a contract awarded for the building of a jail at an 
expense not to exceed $1,150. A map commission was appointed to 
survey the city and make a map with street and sidewalk improvements. 
The expediency of building an almshouse was agitated at council 
meetings in 1871. On being referred to a committee, they reported 
that the matter should be deferred only a short time. The police force 
was increased to two, and a committee was appointed to examine plans 
for the rebuilding of the city hall. This improvement was completed 
and the new city hall dedicated October 15, 1872, the city being bonded 
for $16,000 for building and furniture. At the dedication ceremonies, 
John G. Garretson, having been elected mayor in 1872 for two years, 
presided. 

The following have filled the mayoralty chair since: John G. Gar- 
retson, 1882-86; James* Growney, acting-mayor, 1887-88; Thomas Arm- 
strong, 1888-90; E. R. Pierce, 1890-93 ; Edward W. Barnes, 1894-95; Ira 
B. Tice, 1896-98; James L. Compton, 1898-1900; Adam Eckert, acting 
mayor, 1901 ; Charles K. Seaman, 1902-1903 ; H. Martyn Brace, 1904- 
1905; John Pfeiffer, acting mayor, 1906; Albert Bollschweiler, 1906-10; 
Wm. D. Voorhees, acting mayor, 191 1; Ferd. Garretson, 1912-16; John 
F. Ten Broeck, 1917-18; Frank Dorsey, 1918-19; William C. Wilson, 
1920. 

The city in 191 5 acquired several pieces of real estate which they 
are gradually converting into attractive parks. The largest of these 
is Washington Park, fronting on New Brunswick avenue, comprising 
several acres. Caledonian Park, named in honor of the first settlers of 
the town, lies at the foot of High street, overlooking the Bay. Bay 
View, foot of Market street, is also on the Bay, opposite Staten Island. 

The Perth Amboy Water Company was organized in January, 1881, 
and a reservoir was built at Eagleyvood Park from which water was 



PERTH AM BOY 383 

dispensed throughout the city, the fire pressure being over forty-two 
pounds. The capital stock was $100,000, and among the first officers 
were William Hall, president; C. C. Hommann, secretary; William 
Stiger, treasurer. The water works of the city are now under the 
control of a Board of Water Commissioners. The Perth Amboy Gas 
Company was incorporated March 8, 1861, with a capital of $65,000, 
which was all paid in at that time. A contract was obtained for lighting 
the streets, and pipes were laid to supply the city and private demands. 
The corporation is now known by the title of Perth Amboy Gas Light 
Company, its officers being Patrick Convery, president ; Albert F. Reite- 
meyer, secretary and treasurer. 

, The city has nine Fire Companies, which are said to be as efficient 
as any in the State. The quickness with which they answer the fire 
alarm, and the promptness with which they reach the scene of action 
are matters of public knowledge. The names and dates of organization 
of these companies, which are all volunteer bodies, are as follows :' 
Lincoln Hose, December 28, 1881 ; Protection Hook and Ladder, Janu- 
ary, 1882; Washington Hose, December, 1882; McClellan Engine, No. 
3, February, 1892 ; Eagle Hose, No. 4, 1904 ; Garfield Engine, No. 5, 1908 ; 
Liberty Hook and Ladder, No. 2, December 2, 1909; Humane H. and L. 
Chemical, 1913. Joseph Conard, the first chief, was elected in 1883. 
The following are present officers : Chief, George Nixon ; first assistant, 
Harry Tooker ; second assistant, Andrew Anderson. 

The Free Public Library was established in 1892, and was formerly 
located in High street. In 1902 a donation of $20,000 was received from 
the Carnegie Foundation, and the present building on Jefferson street 
was erected; in 1914 a further gift of $30,000, from the same source, 
provided for a substantial enlargement of the building. The library 
hours are daily (legal holidays excepted) from 9 a. m. to 9 p. m., Sun- 
days (October to June), 2 to 6 p. m., for readers only. According to 
the last report there were 14,496 volumes, and a large number of peri- 
odicals, magazines, etc. A branch library is conducted in Brace avenue, 
which is also open daily. There is a separate reading room for the 
children, in which there is an average daily attendance of about 125. 
A large auditorium in the basement is a well lighted, and attractive room, 
and used for club meetings, lectures, plays and other gatherings. Miss 
Alice Goddard, who was the efficient librarian, was granted an extended 
leave of absence in June, 1918, to engage in war work in France, and 
was succeeded by Miss Helen M. Grannis, who is still in charge, with 
an excellent staff of assistants. The board of trustees is as follows: 
F. L. Antisell, president; Tracy D. Waring, vice-president; John H. 
Miller, secretary; Albert Leon, treasurer; J. L. Clevenger, William C. 
Wilson, mayor, ex-officio; and S. E. Shull, superintendent of schools, 
ex-officio. . 



384 MIDDLESEX 

Some fifteen or twenty citizens in 191 5 organized the East Jersey- 
Club, the first meetings being held at the Packer House. A year or 
two afterward the club leased the property of Dr. F. W. Kitchel, on 
High street, and subsequently purchased it. The membership increased 
from year to year, and at present numbers one hundred and thirty resi- 
dent, and sixty non-resident members. The members have always taken 
an active and effective interest in social and city affairs, many of them 
being connected officially and otherwise with a number of the leading 
business enterprises. The officers and directors are: L. H. McHose, 
president; Franz Roessler, vice-president; John M. O'Toole, treasurer; 
Jean DuBois, Dr. Wm. E. Ramsay, C. C. Baldwin, A. Clayton Clark, 
Abel Hansen, R. A. McDowell, H. W. Fisher, Dr. J. L. McDowall, and 
J. F. McGuire. The clubhouse was originally erected in 1667, and was 
thoroughly renovated and partially rebuilt by the late owner. 

The financial history of Perth Amboy dates back to 1872, when 
a number of business men met for the purpose of arranging for estab- 
lishment of a banking institution for the purpose of handling mercantile 
paper. This was deemed a matter of great importance, as heretofore 
much of the moneyed interest of the city was withdrawn into other chan- 
nels, and difficulty had arisen in obtaining discount of business paper 
without resorting to banking institutions of New Brunswick or Rahway. 

The Middlesex County State Bank was incorporated March 14, 1872, 
with a capital of $35,000. The first board of directors were William 
Hall, president; William King, Uriah B. Watson, Noah Furman, R. N. 
Valentine and Eber B. Hall. The bank for a number of years did a 
successful business, but was obliged to close its doors, and went into 
liquidation in 1899 

The Perth Amboy Savings Institution was incorporated under the 
laws of the State, July i, 1869. The deposits the first year amounted 
to $1,969.32; they have grown steadily and under good management 
represent a total savings of $2,700,000. The institution built a few years 
ago their present fireproof banking building on Smith street. The pres- 
ent assets of the bank are invested in first mortgages on real estate, 
United States bonds and certificates, county, municipal and railroad 
bonds. The present officers are: Adrian Lyon, president; Victor W. 
Main, vice-president ; J. Lawrence Boggs, secretary ; Charles Keen Sea- 
man, treasurer. 

The oldest institution and in fact the first organized under the Na- 
tional Banking Law in the city is the First National Bank, located on 
Smith street. It was organized July 25, 1899, with a capital stock of 
$100,000, the incorporators being Amos T. French, John A. Waterbury, 
R. B. Van Cortlandt, A. F. Reitemeyer, John W. Whelan, John Kean, 
Hamilton F. Kean, Edward Nugent, Benjamin F. Howell and Robert 
Carson. In the financial statement issued by the bank February 21, 1921, 



PERTH AMBOY 385 

the surplus earnings are stated to be $277,845-60, while the individual 
deposits aggregated $3,021,536.62. The present oflScers are: Hamilton 
F. Kean, president; Robert Carson and Charles D. Snedeker, vice- 
presidents ; John M. O'Toole, cashier. 

The City National Bank, a comparatively young institution, was 
incorporated and commenced business September 22, 19 19, with a 
capital stock of $100,000. By the last financial statement the surplus 
amounted to $25,000, besides undivided profits of $8,731.95; the individ- 
ual deposits amounted to $717,479.51. The officers in 1921 were Joseph 
E. Strieker, president ; John Pfeiffer, vice-president ; E. C. Axtell, cashier. 

There are besides these financial institutions in Perth Amboy, two 
trust companies. The Perth Amboy Trust Company is situated on the 
corner of Smith and Hobart streets. The officers are Isaac Alpern, 
president; Frank Dorsey and Peter C. Olsen, vice-presidents; William 
M. Weiant, secretary and treasurer. The history of the Raritan Trust 
Company, of Perth Amboy, New Jersey, dates from June 6, 1916, when 
the institution was incorporated under the laws of the State of New 
Jersey with a capital stock of $100,000. The company is owned and con- 
trolled by residents of Perth Amboy and vicinity, and the degree to 
which the public confidence is held is shown by a gratifying annual 
increase in the business of all its departments. The Raritan Trust Com- 
pany performs all the service of the modern trust company, and, in addi- 
tion to its banking business, has come into that intimate touch with the 
community that such an institution, through the very nature of its organ- 
ization, can best attain. 

There have been only a few minor changes in the official personnel 
of the company during the four years of its life, and its place of business 
(1920) continues on the comer of State and Fayette streets. The state- 
ment prepared at the close of business, December 31, 1920, showed 
deposits of well over a million and a half dollars, and all its items indicate 
a healthy growth and vigorous condition. The officers of the Raritan 
Trust Company are: Sidney Riddlestorffer, president; A. Greenbaum, 
vice-president; Abel Hansen, vice-president; A. Clayton Qark, vice- 
president; W. Parker Runyon, vice-president; Harry E. Comings, sec- 
retary-treasurer ; and I. R. Solt, assistant secretary-treasurer. The direc- 
tors are : A. Clayton Clark, manager of the Raritan Copper Works ; Leo 
Goldberger, city attorney ; M. S. Goldberger, merchant ; A. Greenbaum, 
president of the Metuchen Realty and Improvement Company; Abel 
Hansen, proprietor of Ford's Porcelain Works; M. M. McHose, treas- 
urer of L. H. McHose, Inc. ; Anton Massopust, real estate and insur- 
ance operator; S. Riddlestorffer, president of the company; I. R. Rob- 
bins, dealer in lumber and building materials ; L. M. Rossi, works man- 
ager of the General Bakelite Company ; W. Parker Runyon, president of 

Mid— 25 



386 MIDDLESEX 

the P. A. Dry Dock Company; Dr. C. I. Silk, physician; Frank Stas, 
treasurer of the Slovak League of America ; and Max Wurtzel, wholesale 
merchant. The company has found a wide local sphere of influence, and 
has taken a responsible place among the financial institutions of the 
county. 

The subscriptions to the several Liberty Loans throughout the city, 
including the banks and individual subscriptions, were as follows : First 
loan, $1,027,000; Second, $1,505,250; Third, $1,401,450; Fourth, 
$1,798,300; Fifth, $1,340,750; Total, $7,072,750. 

A Board of Trade was organized and duly incorporated in 1913. The 
association continued its labors with considerable success until Sep- 
tember 13, 1920, at which time the members organized themselves into 
a Chamber of Commerce, after a vigorous campaign conducted in their 
behalf by the "American Board for Cities." The Chamber now has 
commodious offices on the corner of Smith and Maple streets. The offi- 
cers are as follows : President, Isaac Alpern ; vice-presidents, Fred A. 
Briegs and P. C. Olsen; treasurer, John Pfeiffer; secretary, John F. 
Bergen ; directors — Charles C. Hommann, Ira R. Crouse, John Pfeiffer, 
Isaac Alpem, Fred A. Briegs, George F. Reynolds, Frank Dorsey, I. T. 
Madsen, Jean Du Bois and Barney Streiff. There is a membership 
of 450, and much active and successful work has been done and is now 
prosecuted for the growth and benefit of the city. Many inducements 
are being offered to corporations and companies to locate here, and 
the personnel of the Chamber is such as to warrant the expectation that 
the organization will be productive of lasting benefit to the city in every 
respect. 

A large number of the early inhabitants of Perth Amboy were 
Quakers and Anabaptists, and many belonged to the Scotch Kirk, while 
in the adjacent county Congregationalists or Independents were numer- 
ous. This diversity of sects necessarily rendered it difficult to procure 
a clergyman who would be generally acceptable, and fifteen years 
elapsed after the settlement without any regular religious services. 
Several of the East Jersey proprietors applied in 1695 to Bishop Compton 
of London for a minister of the Established Church. In compliance with 
this request, at the close of 1698 Rev. Edward Perthuck was sept to 
the province. Arriving at Perth Amboy, the board of proprietors 
ordered, February 21, 1698-99, that one of the houses which had been 
built at the expense of the general proprietaries should be given for a 
church for the use of the town. This house stood near the ferry over 
the Raritan; this was the foundation in Amboy of the congregation of 
Protestant Episcopalians. 

It is not known how long Mr. Perthuck. remained, but prior to the 
incorporation of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in For- 
eign Parts in 1701, .clergymen occasionally visited Amboy. The follow- 



PERTH AMBOY 387 

ing year Rev. George Keith was sent by the society as a missionary to 
the colonies, having as his assistant Rev. John Talbot. The pulpit was 
occupied occasionally in 1704 by Rev. Mr. Brook, a missionary at Eliza- 
bethtown. He was an active, energetic and efficient servant of the Cross, 
performing divine service in a territory covering fifty miles in extent 
at Elizabethtown, Rahway, Amboy, Cheesequakes, Piscataway, Rocky 
Hill, and a congregation near Freehold. This diligence raised a zealous 
spirit amongst the people, but unfortunately- his services were terminated 
in the autumn of 1707 by his being lost at sea on his way to England. 
The Rev. Edward Vaughan succeeded Mr. Brook in 1709, and gave 
Amboy as much attention as possible, having Elizabethtown and other 
missions to visit frequently. The growth of the Elizabethtown con- 
gregation required more and more of Mr. Vaughan's attention, and 
Amboy was obliged to procure a separate minister; the Rev. Thomas 
Halliday commenced his labors there in the summer of 1711, the con- 
gregation of Piscataway being also under his charge. Mr. Halliday 
became involved with the political factions which were causing unhappy 
dissensions in New Jersey; his course was obnoxious to his congrega- 
tion, and he was finally refused access to the church by his parishioners. 
This was in the summer of 1713 ; the following year, Mr. Vaughan having 
taken up his residence in Amboy, officiated as rector of the church one 
Sunday in every four. 

A charter was granted to the congregation by Governor Hunter, 
July 30, 1718 ; upon the receipt of that document the parish was regularly 
established, a new church was built and dedicated in 1722, and named 
St. Peter's. The church was merely an oblong building of the most 
simple architecture, forty-eight feet long and thirty feet broad, crown- 
ing a knoll overlooking the waters of the bay. The completion of the 
church rendering the congregation more anxious for regular and fre- 
quent services, the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel appointed 
Rev. William Skinner to be their missionary. He commenced his labors 
in Amboy in the autumn of 1722, and April 7, 1724, received a call to 
become the regular incumbent of the rectorship of the church. When 
Mr. Skinner commenced upon his duties there were about twenty com- 
municants, two years later seventy families belonging to the congrega- 
tion. During his rectorship, which terminated with his death in 1758, 
there were fluctuating changes in the attendance upon divine service, 
but the years previous to his death shows the number of communicants 
increased and the church became too small to accommodate the con- 
gregation. The successor of Rev. William Skinner was the Rev. Mr. 
Palmer, who resigned in 1762 and removed to New Haven, Connecticut. 

It was in February, 1763, that the Rev. Robert McKean arrived at 
Perth Amboy to take charge of the congregation. His report to the 
Society for the Propagation of the Gospel states that there were from 



388 MIDDLESEX 

forty to fifty families that professed to belonging to the Church of Eng- 
land, and there were twelve to fifteen more who attended upon his serv- 
ices in preference to any other; these included nearly two-thirds of the 
inhabitants, the remainder being chiefly Presbyterians and a few 
Quakers. His communicants numbered thirty-four. Improvements 
were made in the church in 1764, about twelve feet being added to its 
length, a plain spire built on top of the steeple ; the cost of these additions 
was defrayed by means of a lottery. Mr. McKean died October 17, 1767 ; 
during his four years of rectorship he also practiced medicine. Imme- 
diately after his death, measures were taken to secure a successor, but in 
the meantime the Rev. John Preston, chaplain of the 26th British Regi- 
ment, officiated, and by a vote of the vestry in December, 1768, he became 
the regular incumbent. Mr. Preston remained at Amboy until 1774, act- 
ing as chaplain, also as missionary until the tide of war caused his 
removal. 

From January 3, 1774, to November 11, 1782, there are no records 
of the vestry's proceedings, and it is doubtful if any meetings were held. 
The Revolutionary War caused the congregation to scatter abroad, many 
to seek homes in foreign lands, while others were obliged to attend else- 
where the calls of their own or their country's interests. The sacred 
edifice was laid open to the injuries of the weather; the works inside 
were torn to pieces ; the floor, cleared of pews, was occupied as a stable 
for horses. In the churchyard, the graves and monuments were exposed 
to injury by the destruction of the fences; against the headstones fires 
were lighted by soldiers to prepare their food, and the tombstones were 
used to serve their meals on. The church bravely stood these demoli- 
tions and weathered the storm; at the close of the Revolution, services 
were again held, the Rev. Abraham Beach having charge of the congrega- 
tion for two or three years, when he removed to Nova Scotia. The 
church was still in a dilapidated condition; a loan of £150 was obtained, 
the windows and floors were repaired, and from the sale of a grant of 
one hundred acres, besides private contributions of the inhabitants, a 
sufficient fund was raised to warrant the completion of the interior. The 
pulpit was changed from between the two north windows to the east 
end, the pews rearranged, leaving a single aisle to run the length of the 
church. 

Mr. Rowland's labors ceased about August, 1786; in that month Mr. 
Joseph I. Bend, a candidate for orders, a schoolmaster in the city, was 
engaged as lay reader. On being ordained, Mr. Bend removed south, 
and was succeeded in his school and in his clerical duties by George 
Hartwell Spiesen. This gentleman was called by the congregation as 
soon as he was ordained, July 9, 1788, which took place at Perth Amboy ; 
thus the first ordination in New Jersey according to the forms of the 
Protestant Episcopal church took place within the walls of old St. 



PERTH AMBOY 389 

Peter's. Mr. Spiesen was an Irishman, profoundly versed in the lan- 
guages of Greece and Rome, not unconversant with the delicacies of the 
English, and a powerful preacher. During his rectorship a bell was 
presented to the congregation by Captain Philip Lytheby, a Scotchman, 
which was inscribed with this quaint inscription : "In Perth Amboy my 
sound enjoy, 1789." The previous lottery having proved advantageous 
for the church, in June, 1790, another was attempted to raise the sum 
of £350. This amount was secured, and an additional sum was obtained 
by private subscription. Mr. Spiesen's precise time of leaving is not 
known, but in 1791 the vestry, in conjunction with that of Christ Church, 
New Brunswick, invited Rev. Henry Van Dyke to become rector of the 
two churches. Having accepted the invitation, he arrived at Perth 
Amboy, April 19, 1791, and officiated alternately until June or July, 

1793- 

The church being now left vacant, the vestry thought it advisable 

until they could offer greater inducements to a permanently settled min- 
ister, to obtain one of the neighboring clergymen to supply the pulpit 
occasionally or for a stipulated time. The congregation on November 
25, 1793, engaged the Rev. Richard C. Moore, of Staten Island, to offi- 
ciate once a fortnight. Mr. Moore for several years performed his duties 
in the parish and was afterwards appointed Bishop of Virginia. The 
growth and welfare of the congregation, however, required the services 
of a permanently settled pastor, though at that time there was a scarcity 
of unengaged clergymen; finally in 1804 they called the Rev. Jasper D. 
Jones to the rectorship, who continued in charge until the spring of 
1809, when he resigned. The Rev. James Chapman was chosen rector 
September 9, 1809, and continued until his resignation in 1844. 

After the rectorship of Mr. Chapman closed, the church was supplied 
by various clergymen for some months, but in the following year Rev. 
Hamble J. Leacock was called, and served as rector until 1848, when 
he resigned. The vacancy was not filled until the summer of 1849, 
by the calling of the Rev. H. E. E. Pratt. The new church erected on 
the site of the old one was first used for public service June 19, 1853. Mr. 
Pratt removed to California in 1854, and Rev. Alexander Jones was 
invited to the rectorship January i, 1855. His successor was Rev. Alex- 
ander R. Walker, who had charge from 1871 to 1877, and gave way for 
one year to the Rev. James O. Drumm. The Rev. Everard P. Miller 
commenced his rectorship in 1879. 

St. Peter's, after standing in simple majesty as an honored repre- 
sentative of the past two centuries, on the bluff overlooking Prince's Bay. 
is now being improved and beautified to an extent highly gratifying to 
the parish. The walls and other portions of the building were so much 
damaged by the explosion at the Morgan munition plant in October. 
1917, that extensive repairs were needed, and it was decided to make a 



390 MIDDLESEX 

thorough renovation. The walls were resurfaced, the ceiling was 
changed, leaving the oaken beams exposed to view, a new altar and 
lighting system installed, a baptistry and chantry built, and other im- 
provements made. A number of memorial windows are soon expected 
from Europe, and the old temple in its new dress will doubtless be 
doubly attractive to those who have so long worshipped within its 
walls. The rectors succeeding Rev. Everard P. Miller have been Rev 
James Leach Lancaster, 1893-1914, and the present incumbent. Rev. W. 
Northey Jones, who was installed in 1914. 

In the rear a few feet from the church are the graves of Thomas 
Gordon and Helen, his wife. He and John Willocks donated the ground 
where the church stands, together with the cemetery around it. The 
inscription on the monument is in Latin, of which the following is a 
literal translation: 

In Hope of a Happy Resurrection here is Deposited what in Thomas 
Gordon was found Mortal, who being descended from an Ancient Fam- 
ily, of Pitlochie, in Scotland, could have glorified, had that been proper, 
in his extraction; yet in him was not wanting that of which he might 
justly boast, for as the Secretary of the Province he exerted his best 
abilities in behalf of the Councils of the State acceptably to all. Dear to 
his relations, a sincere worshiper of the eternal Deity, he enjoyed life, 
and died with resignation on the twenty-eighth day of April, in the year 
of our Lord, 1722, in the seventieth year of his age. 

"His . mourning consort, who also desires to be interred here, has 
caused this monument, such as it is, to be set. He lived as long as he 
desired, as along as the Fates appointed; thus neither was life burden- 
some, nor death bitter." 

In the summer of 1878, former members of the St. Peter's Episcopal 
Church erected an edifice and established a church on the corner of 
State and Washington streets. The name of Church of the Holy Cross 
was given to this new mission, and opening services were held on St. 
Bartholomew's Day, August 24, 1878. Shortly after, it was recognized 
by the bishop of the diocese as an independent parish, thus the founda- 
tion of the church dates from December 4, 1878. The Rev. J. O. Drumm, 
former rector of St. Peter's, officiated temporarily, and the building 
was removed to the east side of High street, near Commerce street. 
The first permanent rector was Rev. A. B. Conger, who served from 
October, 1879, to Easter, 1880, and on June 20th of that year Rev. Wil- 
liam S. Boardman was installed as his successor. At the present time 
there is no settled rector. 

As to the formation of a Presbyterian congregation in Amboy in the 
early part of the eighteenth century, for the lack of authentic records 
we are unable to give a definite history. In the record of a meeting held 
by the East Jersey Proprietors, July 22, 1731, John Matthie, John 
Gaschrie, William Thompson, Thomas Ingles, Thomas Loggans, John 




FIRST PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH, PERTH AMBOY 



PERTH AMBOY 391 

Leigh, John Moore, John Harriott, John Thompson, Samuel Moores, 
and Alexander Carnes petitioned the honorable council to lease them 
for a term of one thousand years a lot of land on which they would have 
the liberty to erect a building. The lot designated was situated on what 
is now State street, formerly known as Back street, and was known for 
many years as the Presbyterian burial ground. Between 1731 and 1735, 
the privilege accorded by the proprietors was secured by the erection 
of a small building which was for a long time used by the Presbyterians 
as their house of worship. There is no evidence, however, of any settled 
minister, and information as to who from time to time administered to 
the flock is very limited. The edifice was demolished during the Revolu- 
tion. After the war, meetings were held in the court house and private 
residences. 

Captain John Angus, who had been a resident of Perth Amboy for 
a few years, in 1801 commenced persevering efforts towards building a 
new church, and in the following year the foundation for a new edifice 
was laid. The new church was opened for divine service January 9, 
1803, with a sermon by Dr. Samuel Stanhope Smith, president of the 
College of New Jersey. The Rev. Elias Riggs, a licentiate of the Pres- 
bytery of New York, became the regular pastor March 7, 1802, and was 
ordained in the new meeting house August 2, 1803. He remained about 
four years, and for a short time after his retirement a Mr. Keys officiated 
as minister, but was not settled as pastor, and continued only about a 
year. The Rev. Peter Stryker was called and was installed November 28, 
1809. His stay was short, as he resigned in August, 1810, to accept 
a call from congregations of the Reformed Dutch church. For four 
years the congregation was dependent upon occasional supplies. The 
Rev. Joshua Young commenced his labors for the congregation Decem- 
ber 17, 1814. His ministerial character, however, soon became sus- 
picious, and he was discharged. The next pastor was Rev. Josiah B. 
Andrews, who commenced his labors June 6, 1816. After being pastor 
seven or eight years, a disturbance arose between him and the congre- 
gation which resulted in his removal. The congregation was without 
a stated minister until 1828, when Mr. Nicholas A. Wilson, a licentiate, 
became their supply; he was shortly afterwards ordained, remained as 
pastor two or three years, and then removed to Philadelphia. The next 
to assume charge was Rev. Peter H. Shaw, who came in 183 1. He con- 
tinued only about sixteen or eighteen months, when he was -succeeded 
by Rev. David R. Gillmer, who left after a term of eleven months. The 
Rev. Benjamin Cory succeeded Mr. Gillmer, and was ordained as pastor 
May 6, 1835. During his ministry both the temporal and spiritual 
interests of the congregation were improved. At the end of his pastorate 
of twenty-five years, there were one hundred and forty-four members, 
and fifty-nine pewholders belonging to the congregation. The Rev. 



392 MIDDLESEX 

Charles C. Wallace was installed pastor October 29, i860, and remained 
a little over three years, when Rev. James A. Little became a stated 
supply and was installed as pastor April 27, 1865. During his pastorate 
of three years, the church was repaired at the expense of $10,000. A 
call was extended in July, 1869, to Rev. Aaron Peck, who accepted and 
was installed January 19, 1870. During his ministry the church was 
cleared of debt; he remained until 1877, and was succeeded in the fall 
of that year by Rev. N. W. Cary, who continued with other supplies 
until July 13, 1880, when Rev. David Stevenson received a call and was 
installed on October 13th of that year. 

Rev. James H. Owens, of Bushnell, Illinois, the successor of Rev. 
David Stevenson, was installed August 12, 1886, and a manse was 
built on High street in the following year. In 1891 a new chapel was 
erected in the rear of the church, and in 1894 Mr. Owens resigned and 
became the pastor of the East Side Church, of Paterson. Rev. George 
B. Van Dyke, of Watertown, New York, was installed, and after serv- 
ing for four years resigned to accept a call from the Presbyterian church 
at Hammonton, New Jersey. The pulpit was filled for one year by Rev. 
Henry Ketcham, of Westfield, at the end of which time Rev. Dr. Harlan 
G. Mendenhall became the pastor. The increase in membership and the 
rapid growth of the city demanded increased accommodations, and 
the corner-stone of the present church was laid April 12, 1902. The 
services were very interesting, many visiting clergymen and others 
being present. Mayor Charles K. Seaman, the pastors of the Methodist, 
Baptist, and other churches, delivered addresses, and the clergy of 
Elizabeth, Woodbridge and Metuchen participated in the exercises. 
The church, on the corner of High and Market streets and facing the 
City Hall park, is of old English Gothic style, built of peach blossom 
granite, with one large and two smaller towers, is a handsome structure, 
and beautifully and tastefully furnished. Revs. James H. Northrup and 
William A. Littell succeeded Dr. Mendenhall, and the present pastor, 
Rev. Frederick D. Niedermeyer, was installed in 1920. 

The first date on record of Methodist preaching in Amboy is fur- 
nished by the journal of Bishop Francis Asbury, who states that on 
Tl-.ursday, February 27, 1772, he preached in a large upper room at 
Mr. T.'s, in Amboy. The entry also shows that he was entertained at 
the Long Ferry House, which was operated in connection with a ferry 
connecting the stages between New York and Philadelphia. The regu- 
lar services of the Methodist preacher dates from about 1813, when 
Amboy was included in the Elizabethtown circuit, and Revs. Thomas 
Morrell, Robert Cloud, John McCloskey, Joseph Totten and David 
Bartine were among the first circuit preachers and were instrumental in 
the formation of a church in the city. A regular organization was 
formed in 1818, but it was not until 1837 that a church edifice was 



PERTH AMBOY 393 

built, mainly through the exertions of the Rev. Isaac Cross, who became 
the first settled minister. He remained two years, according to the 
itinerant rules of the Methodist church. When the church was organ- 
ized there were but twelve members; this had increased in 1882 to 
a membership of two hundred and twenty. The present church, known 
as the "Simpson Methodist Episcopal Church," on the corner of High 
and Jefferson streets, was erected in 1866, with a seating capacity of 
six hundred. The Rev. Wilbert Westcott was pastor in 1919. 

The First Danish Methodist Episcopal Church, on the corner of 
Jefferson street and Madison avenue, was organized in 1868 by a number 
of immigrants from Denmark who had settled in the city and attended 
services in the Methodist church. Prominent among these immigrants 
were Mr. Buck and his sons, who resided in an antiquated stone build- 
ing on the southwest corner of Fayette street and Maiden Lane. The 
Bucks were gifted in vocal music, and their home became a Danish 
rendezvous, the exercises soon partaking of a religious character, result- 
ing in the conversion of a number of persons, thus forming the nucleus 
of a society that worshipped for two or three years in a building on the 
east side of State street between Fayette and Jefferson streets. A plain 
neat structure was built and dedicated in 1876, seating two hundred 
persons, and the Rev. F. W. Erickson became the regular pastor. The 
congregation at the present time is in charge of Rev. Ole Neilsen. 

The first organization of a church of the Baptist denomination in 
Perth Amboy took place August 26, 1818. The Rev. Thomas Winters 
received a unanimous call to become pastor of a small congregation, 
which he accepted, remaining in charge until 1823, when he was suc- 
ceeded by the Rev Jabez C. Goble. Services were held in the old court 
house, and sometimes at the residence of some of the members, but in 
1824 the erection of a church was commenced. It was not completed for 
several years, and in 1855 extensive repairs were necessitated by changes 
in the grade of the street. The pulpit since the retirement of Rev. Jabez 
C. Goble was filled for the next half a century by no less than a score 
of ministers who remained in charge of the congregation for two or 
three years each. 

The First Baptist Church has been worshipping for a number of 
years past in their church on Madison avenue, near Market street, the 
previous church on Fayette street having been sold. The congregation 
has recently purchased the residence and property of the late Dr. Charles 
McKnight Smith, corner of High and Market streets, and propose in the 
near future to erect a church thereon. The present pastor is Rev. William 
H. Bawden. Some of the natives of Hungary, residents of the city, are 
members of the congregation of the Hungarian Baptist Church on the 
corner of Keene and Francis streets. The present pastor is the Rev. 
Andrew Toth. Other citizens of this nativity are members of the con- 



394 MIDDLESEX 

gregation of the Magyar Reformed Church on Kirkland street, the Rev. 
Louis Nanassy being the present pastor. 

The first services held in Perth Amboy under the rites of the Roman 
Catholic religion were prior to the year 1842, in the house of James 
Tuite, on every alternate Sunday. It was in 1846, through the endeav- 
ors of the Rev. Thomas Quin that a neat brick church was erected on 
Centre street at a cost of about $3,000. Since the founding of this church, 
St. Mary's, the following pastors have been in charge: The Rev. Ber- 
nard McArdle : Father Madrana, who was the parish priest at the Quar- 
antine Station on Staten Island ; Revs. John Rodgers, Stephen Sheridan, 
Patrick McCarthy, John Cornell. The latter was succeeded by Rev. 
Peter L. Connolly, who retired September 3, 1898, and the Rev. Bernard 
T. O'Connell, of Bound Brook, New Jersey, was assigned to St. Mary's. 
Father O'Connell, on taking charge of the parish, commenced the erec- 
tion of the present rectory adjoining the church ; he removed the convent 
to the opposite corner from the church. In 1903, the reverend father 
built one of the most attractive and artistic religious edifices in the 
State, on the corner of Centre and Mechanic streets. The internal 
arrangements are fully equal to the exterior, and will always be a 
lasting monument to the zeal and enterprise of the faithful and beloved 
pastor under whose direction it was constructed. Father O'Connell's 
health failed gradually, and in 1915 he was succeeded by Rev. Dr. Wil- 
liam P. Cantwell, the present incumbent. 

Among the Catholic population of Perth Amboy prominently identi- 
fied with its business interests are Hungarians, Slavs, Italians and 
Polish, whp have established places of worship that have grown from 
a humble commencement to large, influential and prosperous parishes. 
Among these are the Church of Our Lady of Hungary, on Cortlandt 
street, under the pastoral charge of- Rev. Francis Gross ; the Church 
of Our Lady of the Most Holy Rosary, on Barclay street, the priest in 
charge being the Rev. Colombino Galassi; the Holy Trinity Roman 
Catholic Slovak Church, on the corner of Penn and Neville streets, in 
charge of the Rev. Joseph Szuchy; the St. Stephen's Polish Catholic 
Church, corner of State and Buckingham avenue, the spiritual welfare 
of the congregation being in charge of the Rev. Joseph Urban. Under 
the generic name Roman Catholics are comprised all those Christians 
who acknowledge the supremacy of the Roman Pontiff, even though 
they be not of the Roman or Latin rite, therefore churches of other rites 
are included under this designation and are permitted to retain their own 
national liturgy and language, and for the most part their established 
discipline and usages. There are in Perth Amboy the following churches 
where services are conducted under these provisions : The Hungarian 
Slavish Greek Catholic Church of St. John the Baptist, under Rev. 
Peter Kustan, on the corner of Broad and Division streets ; the Ruthen- 




ST. MARY'S ROMAN CATHOLIC CHURCH, PERTH AMBOY 




GREEK CATHOLIC CHURCH, PERTH AMBOY 



PERTH AMBOY 395 

ian Greek Catholic Assumption Church, on Easton avenue, of which the 
present priest is Rev. Joseph Czaplinski ; St. Michael's Catholic Magyar 
Church of the Greek Rite, on the corner of Hall and Amboy avenues, 
is under the supervision of Rev. Victor Kovaliczky; the St. Spiridoin 
Russian Orthodox Greek Catholic Church is located on Elizabeth street, 
the priest in charge being the Rev. Dimitrius Jarema. 

Grace Evangelical Lutheran (English speaking) Church was organ- 
ized and the church and manse erected on Jefferson street in 1903. Rev. 
Emil Keuling was pastor until 1905, when Rev. Robert Schlotter suc- 
ceeded him. During the latter period the church building was raised and 
the basement fitted up as a Sabbath school room. The membership of the 
church is 400, and that of the Sabbath school 350. 

The congregation of the St. Paul's Deutsche Evangelische Church 
on First street is composed of residents of the city of German nativity and 
their descendants. The services are held in their mother language 
under the pastorage of the Rev. Jacob Ganss. 

Some of the natives of Denmark in the city with their families, 
constitute a congregation known as St. Stefan's Danish Evangelical 
Lutheran Church. Their place of worship is located on Broad street, 
and services are held regularly, the present pastor being Rev. Hans 
Hansen. Other Danish families attend the services of the Our Saviour's 
Danish Lutheran Church on State street, conducted by Rev. Villads B. 
Skov. 

The first Hebrew synagogue was erected on Hobart street and it was 
given the name Beth Mordecai in honor of Mr. and Mrs. Henry Wolff, of 
South Amboy, and their son. Max. The second synagogue was erected 
on Madison avenue, near Jefferson street, and known as Sherai Tefiloh 
Temple. It is a large and imposing structure, and has a membership of 
200. The Young Men's and Young Women's Hebrew Associations will 
soon erect a handsome building adjoining the synagogue. Rabbi S. Rab- 
binowitz has been located here for five years. There is also a temple on 
Hall avenue. 

The Salvation Army became an established institution in the city 
in 1888. The headquarters were located in a number of places until 
about four years ago, when the present building, on Madison avenue, 
near Jefferson street, was erected. A hotel for men is operated in con- 
nection with the Army work. Captain G. Kliphouse is the efficient officer 
in charge. 

There are in the city besides the churches already mentioned, the 
Danish Seventh Day Adventists, who have a house of worship on Neville 
street, and the First Swedish Congregation, who hold services in a 
church located on Gordon street. 

The Perth Amboy Honor Roll on the World War is given in the 
Appendix. 

Harold E. Pickersgill. 




SOUTH AMBOY— BI:0.\DWAY, NORTH FROM HENRY STREET. 




SOUTH AMBOY— MAIN STREET, LOOKING WEST. 



CHAPTER XXVIII 
CITY OF SOUTH AMBOY. 

South Amboy, situated on the extreme eastern border of Middlesex 
county, is separated from Perth Amboy and Staten Island by Raritan 
Bay, which forms its northern and northeastern boundary. On the 
south it is bounded by Madison, and west by Sayreville township. 
Wljen formed, it was one of the oldest and largest of the townships; 
but, by the reduction of its area, in the formation of other townships, 
it is now the smallest, territorially, of the townships; yet the portion 
which remains is commercially very important, and in the past extended 
its improving influence far inland in every direction. Beds of valuable 
clay and sand extend in all directions inland, and have always been 
important factors in its commerce and manufactures. The Camden 
& Amboy division of the Pennsylvania railroad, and the New York & 
Long Branch division of the New Jersey Central railroad, afford excel- 
lent facilities for travel and freight, the former causing the growth of 
the town and supplying employment on its railroad tracks and coal 
docks, and in its offices, shops and freighting industry, to a large pro- 
portion of the population. The different trolley lines connect it with 
many points in Middlesex and Monmouth counties. 

In 1683 the Proprietors of East Jersey made strenuous exertions 
to open a road from Perth Amboy to Burlington, to divert the travel 
that was then taking the route from Elizabethtown Point to the Dela- 
ware, via New Brunswick, and in 1684 Deputy-Governor Laurie suc- 
ceeded in opening a road, which is still used, connecting it by a ferry- 
boat to Staten Island. Notwithstanding all these efforts, the old Dutch 
road, via New Brunswick, continued to be the more popular. 

One of the first settlers was Lazarus Wilmurt, who located very 
early on the property afterward owned by the late Richard S. Conover. 
His son Daniel became very prominent as a hotel keeper and the owner 
of lines of boats and stages. Timothy Rose located on the Kearney 
tract, west of the village, and left a large family. John Disbrow, the 
earliest known representative of the family in this locality, owned a 
large tract of land in the eastern part of the settlement, and extending 
to the Bay ; he sold the property to Samuel Gordon in 1808, and removed 
to Roundabout, now Sayreville. Early in 1800, several families resided 
along the bay-shore, among them the Morgans, Rolfes, Brookfields, 
Bloodgoods, Johnsons, Kearneys, Hansels, and Hanks. The Rattoone 
House, an old hostelry, the date of its erection being unknown, stood 
at the end of the old Bordentown road during the Revolution. It was 
a large, low and rambling structure, and kept by John Rattoone, of 



398 MIDDLESEX 

Perth Amboy, a justice of the peace in 1791 ; it was destroyed by fire 
in 1849. 

In 1833 the Camden & Amboy railroad ran its first train to Borden- 
town, drawn by a locomotive which had been made in England for this 
road. It was on exhibition at the Centennial Exposition in Philadelphia 
in 1876, and always known as the "Johnny Bull." Samuel Gordon 
opened the first store in 1808. John Perrine, known as Judge, father of 
Orlando and Harry C, started a store in 1831 on the east side of Main 
street, and had many successors. Other merchants have been John E. 
Montgomery, Benjamin F. Howell, James Gordon, Orlando and Ward 
C. Perrine, John Hillman, William Thorn, Jacob Goodman, Isaiah 
E)isbrow and others. About this time the establishment of several 
building and loan associations were great factors in the growth of the 
town. In 187s, the New York & Long Branch division of the New 
jersey Central railroad was put in operation and afforded a much needed 
means of transportation to the metropolis. 

The first resident lawyer was Charles Morgan, son of the General, 
and the first physician was Dr. L. D. Morse, who came in 1832. The 
postoffice was established in 1844, with Charles Perrine as postmaster. 
Among his successors have been Abraham S. Everett, Albert Roll, 
Henry C. and Mrs. Cadmus, Bernard Roddy and Frank Degraw. James 
Rea is the present postmaster. Samuel Gordon was the pioneer clay 
miner, commencing in 1807 and continuing until his death in 1834. 
Maxfield, Parisen, Everett, Perrine, Disbrow and the Furmans, also 
mined clay and fire-sand. A factory known as the Congress Hill Pottery 
was built at an early date near the shore, at the foot of Bordentown 
turnpike, by William Hancock, from England, who made a superior 
quality of chinaware. In 1849, Abraham Cadmus purchased the plant 
and manufactured Rockingham and yellow-ware. The Bergen Iron 
Works, originally built in 1832 in Monmouth county by Joseph W. 
Brick, was removed in 1880 by his son, R. A. Brick, to South Amboy, 
who made pipes for water and gas. A large foundry, machine shop and 
other buildings were erected, and an extensive business was done for 
years. 

The Swan Hill Pottery, on Raritan Bay shore, was built by Sparks 
& Moore in 1849 ^°^ the manufacture of Rockingham and yellow-ware. 
After a great number of changes of proprietors it became the property 
of the late Henry C. Perrine, who conducted it for a number of years. 
It is now devoted to the manufacture of terra-cotta. The Providence 
Pottery, near the above, was erected by James Wooton in 1876, and 
Rockingham, yellow and white majolica ware, and white and colored 
vases and plaques, were manufactured. The business was removed to 
Old Bridge a number of years ago. In 1872, the Camden & Amboy 
railroad was leased by the Pennsylvania railroad, which soon began to 



CITY OF SOUTH AMBOY 399 

build car-noats to transport loaded freight cars across the Hudson 
river from Jersey City to New York. This caused a great loss of busi- 
ness to South Amboy, and labor sought employment to a greater extent 
than before on the co'al docks. The Pennsylvania railroad continued to 
increase the shipment of coal and to build wharves for that purpose, until 
now the city is one of the most important coal ports in the country. 

South Amboy was erected as a township soon after the organization 
of Middlesex county in 1685. Originally it was eighteen miles long and 
six miles wide, and had an area of 64,000 acres. In 1838, Monroe was 
taken from its territory ; in 1869, Madison ; and in 1876, Sayreville. An 
act passed by the Council and Assembly, February 23, 1838, erecting 
Monroe township out of that portion of South Amboy lying west of the 
Matchaponix and South rivers, also provided that the inhabitants of that 
part of South Amboy township that lies east of the said Matchaponix 
and South rivers "be constituted a body politic and corporate, by the 
name of the Inhabitants of the Township of South Amboy, in the County 
of Middlesex," and appointing the first town meeting to be held on the 
second Monday of April, 1838, at the public-house of Clarkson Brown. 
None of the records of South Amboy prior to 1838 can be found, and in 
many of the years the minutes are totally missing. Among former 
chosen freeholders were Noah Furman, Ward C. Perrine, John Scully, 
Benjamin F. Howell, Cornelius McGonigle, Leonard and Andrew H. 
Furman and Michael Welsh. 

St. Mary's (R. C.) Church is the oldest house of worship in the 
city. Previous to 1849, Rev. John Rogers, of New Brunswick, con- 
ducted services in a small building. In that year Rev. Michael A. 
Madden was made resident pastor and a church was built. Rev. John 
A. Kelley came in 1854, and for over twenty-five years was the zealous 
and beloved pastor of his people. The present church, a large and hand- 
some edifice, was dedicated September 17, 1876; the old church is now 
used as a parochial school and lecture hall. Rev. Dr. Edward C. Griffin 
is the pastor. 

Methodist services were first held in private houses in 1832 by Rev. 
L. W. Johnson, who remained in the town for five years, and was 
assisted during the latter part of that term by Rev. John Stockton, who 
remained after Mr Johnson's departure, and who, it is supposed, effected 
the organization of the church. The church on Broadway, near the 
centre of the city, was built in 1854 and enlarged in 1880. Rev. George 
W. Abel is the pastor. 

Christ (P. E.) Church, formeriy St. Stephen's Church, had its begin- 
ning in religious services conducted by Rev. Joseph F. Phillips, of St. 
Peter's Church, Spotswood, in a small building, in 1850. In 1852, Mrs. 
Esther B. Stevens erected the present large stone church on Main street, 
at the head of Broadway, and presented it to the parish. In 1862, by 



400 MIDDLESEX 

act of the Legislature, the name of the church was changed to that of 
Christ Church. Rev. H. C. Mitchell is the rector. The Doane Memorial 
Chapel was erected in 1866 by Mrs. Richard S. Conover, in memory of 
George Washington Doane, formerly bishop of the Diocese of New 
Jersey. It is on the road from South Amboy to Matawan, and about 
a mile from the city. 

The First Presbyterian Church was organized in 1864 and the church 
erected in 1868 on Broadway." Rev. Herbert J. AUsup is the pastor. 
The Methodist Protestant Church was organized January 17, 1866, and 
two years later a church was erected. The pastor is Rev. Thomas H. 
Slater. On February 11, 1873, the First Baptist Church was organized 
and a church built in 1878. Rev. George W. McCombe is the pastor. 

The first school teachers of whom there is any record were John F. 
Hunter, Charles H. Knickerbocker and Oliver Cox. About 1850 Mrs. 
John C. Stevens erected a school house at the intersection of Broadway 
and Main street, and presented it to the town. It was in use until two 
districts were established and new buildings erected. The city now has 
a large high school, and two other schools, employing thirty-three 
teachers, and attended by 800 pupils. Prof. Oscar M. Barr is the city 
superintendent. 

The First National Bank was organized in 1888. Officers : Harry C. 
Perrine, president; Daniel C. Chase, vice-president; R. C. Stephenson, 
cashier ; T. Francis Perrine, assistant cashier and trust officer. Directors 
— The above officers, and Henry Wolff, J. Baird Perrine, George V. 
Bogart and Charles Safran. 

The borough of South Amboy was established in 1888, with Cornelius 
McGonigle as the first mayor. The charter of the city of Perth Amboy 
was granted June 12, 1908, and Dr. Ambrose Treganowan, a well-known 
physician, was chosen as the first mayor. The present officials are as 
follows: Mayor, Francis H. Gordon; aldermen — Michael J. Stanton, 
president ; Daniel J. Delaney, alderman-at-large ; George A. Kress, James 
W. Hackett and Jacob A. Schuey; clerk, Peter J. Coakley; collector, 
A. V. Vandusen ; recorder, Francis H. Gordon (acting) ; solicitor, Francis 
P. Coan ; physician, Dr. Eugene M. Meachem ; Board of Education — 
Richard M. Mack, president; Daniel J. Delaney, Richard U. Rue, Wil- 
liam Woodward and Francis P. Coan; clerk, James Halton; Board of 
Health — B. J. Monaghan, Thomas Lovely, Stanley Witowski, Dr. S. 
Kenny ; and Thomas Tomazewski, clerk ; inspector, Nicholas Howley. 

The city has numerous lodges, societies and beneficial organizations : 
General Morgan Lodge, Odd Fellows; St. Stephen's Lodge, No. 63, 
Free and Accepted Masons ; Good Samaritan Lodge, Knights of Pythias ; 
St. Mary's Temperance and Benevolent Society ; St. Patrick's Benevolent 
Society; Ancient Order of Hibernians, and Seneca Tribe, Independent 
Order of Red Men. Harold E. Picker.sgill. 



CHAPTER XXIX. 
WOODBRIDGE AND PISCATAWAY TOWNSHIPS. 

Woodbridge Township was so called in honor of Rev. John Wood- 
bridge, who, with a number of associates and their families, came from 
Newbury, Massachusetts, in the latter part of the summer of 1665, and 
settled in Woodbridge, at the solicitation of Captain Philip Carteret, 
Governor of the Province of New Jersey and cousin of Sir George Car- 
teret, who with. Lord John Berkeley were joint Lords Proprietors of 
the Province. 

Mr. Woodbridge was born in Wiltshire, England, in 1613. In the 
old manuscript, "Records of Deeds and Surveys in Woodbridge," in 
the Historical Society's Library, his name is attached to the acknowl 
edgement of a deed given by Richard Dole to John Rolf, dated April 
27, 1685. From the manner in which his name is signed it is probable 
that he was an assistant justice, such as were annually elected to the 
township court in the early days of Woodbridge. These original settlers, 
about thirty families in all, were mainly from England and Scotland. 
The following, copied from the East Jersey Records, volume i, page 2, 
in the Secretary of State's office at Trenton, will give an idea of the 
original ownership of the land upon which the township was founded : 

A contract made by Capt. Philip Carteret, Governor of the Province 
of New Jersey, John Ogden and Luke Watson, of Elizabethtown, of the 
first part ; and Daniel Pearce, of Newbury, Massachusetts, and his asso- 
ciates, of the second part, dated Dec. 11, 1666. Daniel Pearce paid to 
party of the first part the sum of four score pounds sterling, being in 
full for said tract of land known by the name of Arthur Cull, or Amboyle, 
or any other name it may be called by. This land was purchased from 
the natives, or Indians, by John Bayly, Daniel Denton and the said 
Luke Watson, as the said Bill of Sale from the natives, bearing date 
Oct. 28, 1664, will more fully at large appear; which John Bayly and 
Daniel Denton have made over to the said Philip Carteret, and John 
Ogden, as will appear by the bill of sale. 

Daniel Pearce made choice of the following associates: Joshua 
Pearce, John Pike, John Bishop, Henry Jaques and Hugh March, of 
Newbury, Mass.; Stephen Kent, of Haverhill; Robert Dennis, of Yar- 
mouth ; and John Smith, of Barnstable, all in New England. These writ- 
ings were signed, sealed and delivered by Daniel Pearce in Elizabeth- 
town, and ordered to be recorded by Philip Carteret, Governor of the 
Province of New Jersey, Dec. 3, 1767. 

Daniel Pearce and his associates immediately took possession, and 
through the efforts of Gov. Carteret a number of other families during 
the following year came from New England to the new settlement. On 

Mid— 26 



402 MIDDLESEX 

December 3, 1667, it was ordered that the proposed township be sur- 
veyed, plots assigned to each settler, and roads marked out. On June 
I, 1669, Woodbridge township was created, and on the i6th the charter 
was granted, giving the general boundaries thus : "On the east side by 
the Arthur Cull river, otherwise called the Sound that parts Staten 
Island from the mainland; on the north side by the bounds belonging 
to Elizabethtpwn ; on the west side by the bounds belonging to New 
Piscataway; and on the south side by the aforesaid Raritan river." 
The township was to contain six miles square, "which amounts to 23,040 
acres, English measure." The charter provided that sixty families, at 
least, should be comprised within the township limits, among whom the 
land should be equally divided by lot, or in such other manner as they 
themselves might decide. An official record of each man's allotment 
was to be made, which was to be filed in the secretary's office at Eliza- 
bethtown, the capital of the Province. 

Although the charter went into effect immediately after it was 
granted, it was not confirmed by the Lords Proprietors, Carteret and 
Berkeley, until December 7, 1672. The following is the list of free- 
holders, supposed to be actual settlers, to whom patents were granted 
in 1670, for different amounts of land, varying from 15 to 512 acres: 

Daniel Pearce, Joshua Pearce, John Pike, John Pike, Jr., Robert Den- 
nis, John Bishop, Henry Jaques, Stephen Kent, Hugh March, and John 
Smith, millwright (the original associates of Daniel Pearce, who were 
each granted 240 acres of upland and 40 acres of (salt) meadow, in addi- 
tion to the regular allotment) ; John Adams, Ephraim Andrews, Thomas 
Auger, or Alger; Obadiah Ayres, Samuel Baker, or Bacon; Joseph 
Bradley, John Bishop, Jr., Matthew Bunn, mariner ; Thomas Bloomfield, 
Thos. Bloomfield, Jr., John Bloomfield, John Conger, John Cromwell, 
William Compton, John and Samuel Dennis, John Dilly, Hugh Dun, 
Jonathan Dunham, John French, mason; Rehoboth Gannit, Daniel 
Grasie, Samuel Haynes, Elisha Ilsley, or Inslee; Henry Jaques, Jr., Ste- 
phen Kent, Jr., Henry Lessenby, George Little, David Makany, Samuel 
and Matthew Moore, Benjamin Parker, joiner; Elisha Parker, Daniel 
Robins, Robert Rogers, Samuel Smith, John Smith, "Scotchman ;" Isaac 
and Abraham Tappen, John Taylor, blacksmith; Israel Thorne, Robert 
Vauquellin, or "La Prairie;" John Watkins, Nathan Webster, John 
Whitaker and Richard Worth. The following names are also found in 
the Town Book, but without date : Thomas Adams, John Allen, minister ; 
John Averill, William Bingley, Jonathan Bishop, James Clawson, or 
Clarkson ; Jonathan Dennis, Hopewell Hull, John Ilsley, John Martin, 
Thomas Pike and John Trewman. 

In July, 1673, a fleet of Dutch vessels captured New York and New 
Jersey; but by a treaty of peace between England and Holland in the 
following year the provinces were restored to England, and Philip 
Carteret was re-appointed Governor. 

In 1677, Governor Carteret bought from the Indians all the lands 
they owned between Woodbridge and Piscataway townships. It is to 



WOODBRIDGE TOWNSHIP 403 

the credit of New Jersey. that not a rod of its territory was wrested from 
the Indian owners by fraud or violence, a fact of which no other State, 
not even that of William Penn, can boast. The Indians in and around 
Woodbridge were chiefly of the Raritan tribe, and Metuchen, of which 
we first find a record in 1701, is supposed to have derived its name from 
"Metucheon" (signifying "chief of the Rolling Land"), a Raritan 
sachem, who is said to have been buried on a farm near that borough. 

The first Legislature of the Province met at Elizabethtown (so 
named in honor of Elizabeth, wife of Sir George Carteret), on May 26, 
1668, and was composed of two delegates from each town, Woodbridge 
being represented by Samuel Moore and Robert Dennis. The second 
session was held on November 3rd of the same year, and attended by 
delegates from Newark, Elizabeth, Woodbridge, Bergen, Shrewsbury 
and Middletown. The latter session was not at all harmonious, and the 
next meeting did not occur until eight years later. At the first town 
meeting, January i, 1669, Samuel was elected town clerk, and filled 
that office for nearly twenty years. 

The General Assembly of the Province met in Woodbridge October 
5, 1676, lasting four days, when it was decided that the Governor's 
salary should be paid in "peas, wheat, or tobacco." A general Thanks- 
giving Day was ordered, to occur on the second Wednesday of November 
in each year. Each delegate was allowed three shillings per day. Among 
the laws passed was one providing that "rowdies be put in the stocks 
for two hours for swearing, quarrelling, drinking liquor, or singing 
vain songs, or tunes, on the Sabbath." The fixed charges for "ordinar- 
ies," or taverns, to furnish a meal was eight pence, and for pasturing a 
horse six pence a day. The next session of the Assembly was held 
October loth, beginning at Woodbridge on that day, and concluding on 
19th at Elizabethtown. 

The Township Court was established October 19, 1669, with the 
following officers : President, Lieut. John Pike ; Assistant, John Bishop, 
Sr. In the following March, Thomas Bloomfield and John Martin were 
appointed grand jurymen "to take notice, enquire into and make due 
presentment of all, or any kind of misdemeanor in this corporation, and 
have an oath administered to them for that end." The Court was held 
in a building on the site where Mrs. F. G. Tisdall's handsome residence 
now stands, on Rahway avenue. The same house, many years after, 
became the Presbyterian parsonage, and still later was used as a young 
ladies' seminary, conducted by the Misses Stevens. The jail was a 
separate building in the rear. In the year 1675 a stockade of logs was 
built around the latter, partly as a fortification and also as a place of 
refuge for the women and children in case of a threatened attack by 
the Indians. The attack never took place ; and, in fact, except for some 
petty thieving, the red men never seriously annoyed their white neigh- 



404 MIDDLESEX 

bors. On June 6, 167 1, the town meeting appointed "two Way Wardens" 
to attend to the mending of the roads. John Smith, "Scotchman," here- 
tofore alluded to, was a man of such remarkable integrity that the July 
town meeting directed that his half-bushel measure should be the stand- 
ard by which all the freeholders should be governed in buying and 
selling ; "and all those who buy, or sell, by any other measure, until law 
makes other provision, shall be accounted villainous to buy, or sell by 
unjust measures." A great tribute to the man's honesty. May his tribe 
increase ! 

In 1675 the General Assembly, which must have been imbued with 
the prejudice of their English forebears, passed an ordinance providing 
that if any person, male or female, shall be found to be a witch, he or 
she shall be put to death. We do not believe that any one was ever 
executed in our good old commonwealth on such a charge! A great 
change was made in the government of the Province in July, 1676. Pre- 
viously Governor Carteret's jurisdiction extended from Staten Island 
Sound to the Delaware river, and from Cape May to the hills of Bergen. 
By agreement between the Proprietors, the Province was divided, form- 
ing the provinces of East and West Jersey. The partition began at 
Little Egg Harbor (now Ocean county), and was drawn straight across 
in a northwest direction until it reached the Delaware river. Wood- 
bridge fell on the east side of the boundary and remained in Carteret's 
jurisdiction. 

In September, 1680, Rev. John Allen, of England, was selected as 
pastor of the town church, which was built five years before on what 
was known as the "Kirk Green," near the spot now occupied by the 
Presbyterian church. He was succeeded in 1686 by Rev. Archibald 
Riddell, a Scotchman, who ministered until 1689, and was followed by 
Rev. Samuel Shepard, who was pastor until 1706. In 1707 Rev. Nathan- 
iel Wade became pastor and acted as such until 1712, when he was 
authoritatively dismissed from the charge by the Presbytery of Phila- 
delphia, with which the church had affiliated in 1710. Rev. John Pierson, 
son of Rev. Abraham Pierson, of Killingworth, Conn., the first president 
of Yale College, succeeded to the pastorate in 1714, and continued as 
such until 1754. He died at Hanover, New Jersey, in 1770, in his 
eighty-first year, having preached the gospel for fifty-six years. The 
evidence that the church became Presbyterian in 1710 is sustained by 
the following entry in the Church Book, in which the officers of a 
Presbyterian form of government are mentioned for the first time: 
"March 28, 1710. At a church meeting was chosen John Foard, John 
Pike and Thomas Pike for Ruling Elders in the Church of Christ in 
Woodbridge." Rev. Nathaniel Whitaker, of New York, was pastor for 
five years, and was succeeded by Rev. Dr. Azel Roe, of Setauket, Long 
Island, in the autumn of 1763, who continued in the pastorate until his 
death in 181 5, a period of fifty-two years. 



WOODBRIDGE TOWNSHIP 405 

Dr. Roe was the most prominent personality in Presbyterianism of 
his time in this region, a faithful pastor, and much beloved by the 
entire community. An excellent portrait and a handsome memorial 
tablet of him adorn the walls of the present church. The succeeding 
pastors and their respective terms of service are as follows: Rev. Dr. 
Henry Mills, 1816-21 ; Rev. William B. Barton, 1821-52; Rev. William M. 
Martin, 1852-63 ; Rev. George C. Lucas, 1863-73 ; Rev. Dr. J. M. McNulty, 
1874-1906; Rev. R. W. Mark, 1907-18; and the present incumbent. Rev. 
Leonard V. Buschman, who came to the church in 1918. The present 
Session is as follows : Elders — James P. Prall, J. Edgar Brown, Howard 
A. Tappen, John E. Breckenridge, Wm. H. Gardner, Benj. B. Walling 
and Asher F. Randolph. Trustees— J. E. Breckenridge, president ; H. A. 
Tappen, treasurer; Benj. B. Walling, parish clerk; S. Barron Brewster, 
Sherman B. Demarest, Hampton Cutter and Theodore Leber. Deacons 
— C. Roscoe Chase, William Rowe and Charles Mesick. 

The charter was granted by King George H., of England, on Septem- 
ber 8, 1756, and signed also by Jonathan Belcher, Governor of the Prov- 
ince, and recorded in the office of the Secretary at Perth Amboy, in 
Book C of Commission Charters, page 5. The original document is in 
the possession of the trustees of the church. The present edifice was 
erected in 1803, and no change has since been made in its outward 
appearance, except that a large Sabbath school room has been added in 
the rear. The cemetery is one of the oldest and most interesting in 
the State. In the great congregation which lie buried there are the 
remains of many distinguished men and heroic women. The Revolu- 
tionary heroes, Generals Nathaniel Heard and Clarkson Edgar ; Colonels 
Samuel Crow and Benjamin Brown ; Major Reuben Potter ; Captains 
Nathaniel Fitz Randolph, David Edgar, Matthew Sayers, Ellis Barron 
and Abraham Tappan ; Lieutenant James Pa ton, and a great host of the 
"rank and file," are awaiting in the quiet resting place the sound of 
the great reveille. Judge Adam Hude, Major Richard Cutter, Captain 
John Pike, James Parker, the first printer; Drs. John G. Wall and 
Moses Bloomfield, Justice Henry Freeman, Robert Coddington and 
David Harriot, are names that appear on the ancient tombstones. There, 
too, is the grave of Mary, wife of Caleb Campbell, and daughter of Wil- 
liam and Mary Compton, who died February 15, 1735, the first white 
child born in Woodbridge. 

In 1686, Captain John Pike, Nathaniel Fitz Randolph, Samuel Moore, 
Jonathan Dunham, and Robert McCleland were appointed a vigilance 
committee, a proceeding for which we can imagine only two reasons : 
Either the Piscataway men contemplating another raid on the boundary 
line between the townships; or disorder was so prevalent that such a 
measure was necessary for the public safety. Many highways were laid 
out about this time, notably to Perth Amboy, Rahway, New Brunswick, 



4o6 MIDDLESEX 

Metuchen and Piscataway. Samuel Moore- was licensed by the Cor- 
poration Court to keep an "ordinary," or inn, in June, 1683, which was 
probably kept in the old building on the corner of Rahway avenue and 
Green street. Mr. Moore must have been versatile and active, as we 
find him filling the following offices at the same time : High sheriff of 
the county, deputy to the General Assembly, messenger to the House of 
Deputies, town clerk and collector of the township, and hotel keeper. 

Provision for a free public school was made in the early days of the 
settlement, and was named in the charter in 1669 as an object for the 
appropriation of public land. The property consisted of one hundred 
acres, a short distance from Iselin, on the Pennsylvania railroad, and is 
better known as the "Poor House Farm;" the township have hired the 
house and land from the trustees of the free school land, and use it as an 
almshouse. James FuUerton, who came to the township in 1684, taught 
the first school, located on Cedar brook. John Brown and George 
Eubanks taught successively for ten years. In 1793 the Woodbridge 
Academy was built by private subscription, on Rahway avenue, and was 
removed in 1851 to give place to a public school. The old building is 
still standing on Main street, near Rahway avenue, and has been con- 
verted into a tenement. 

The first town committee was chosen March 30, 1705, and consisted 
of Captain John Bishop, Captain Elisha Parker, John Ilsley (Inslee), 
Nathaniel Fitz Randolph, John Pike, Joseph Rolph and Thomas Pike. 
They were elected for one year, and to act for the town in all matters 
except the disposition of land and the raising of money. At this meet- 
ing permission was given to Elisha Parker to build a grist mill on 
Papiack (Woodbridge) creek. This was the second mill, the first having 
been established by Jonathan Dunham in 1670. The old Trinity par- 
sonage, built of brick brought from Holland, was the residence of Dun- 
ham and considered at that time the finest house in the settlement. 

A great change in the size of Papiack creek has taken place since 
colonial times. Vessels once rode at anchor in the stream near the 
site of the former Salamander works, on Rahway avenue. Two hundred 
years, with the continual deposit of sand from the neighboring clay 
mines, have choked up the channel and narrowed its width until now 
it is only a miniature of what it once was. A number of landings for 
boats were established in 1700 and succeeding years, the principal ones 
being Pierce's, at the mouth of Papiack creek, where the C. W. Boynton 
dock is; the "Corn Field" (now Cutter's dock); Cortland, supposed to 
have been on Smith's creek ; Vouquillen's, nearly opposite Pierce's ; and 
Bloomfield's, on the west side of the creek, near the upland. It is 
uncertain whether negro slaves were brought here by the first settlers ; 
but the traffic in slaves began at a very early period. In 1680 there 
were 120 slaves in the Province, which in 1737 had increased to 3,071-; 



WOODBRIDGE TOWNSHIP 407 

the Province then including East and West Jersey. From 1700 to 1800, 
Woodbridge was greatly interested in the traffic, and records of the 
sales of Africans are frequently found in manuscripts relating to the 
town. In Gordon's "Gazetteer of New Jersey," page 29, we find a bill of 
whereby J. Shoball Smith, of Woodbridge, in consideration of the sum 
of £50 conveyed to Samuel Smith, of the same place, one negro woman 
named Phebe. The general law abolishing slavery was passed in the 
Province in 1804, and thoroughly enforced in 1846. 

From 1738 to 1864 very little progress was made in the township, 
largely owing to the fact that during that time two wars had been 
waged between England and France. 

A distinguished figure in the township about 1750 was James Parker, 
a grandson of Elisha Parker, who removed from Staten Island to Wood- 
bridge about 1675. James was born in 1714, and was an apprentice to 
William Bradford, the first printer in New York. In 1751 he established 
an office in Woodbridge — the first printing office in the Province. It is 
believed that the building stood near the corner of Perth Amboy avenue 
and Grove street, where the late Dr. S. P. Harned's former residence was 
located. Parker printed the "Legislative Proceedings" and many other 
public documents, and in 1758 began to publish the "New American 
Magazine," the first periodical published in the State. It was published 
monthly until 1760. In 1755, with John Holt, of New York, he estab- 
lished a press at New Haven and printed the "Connecticut Gazette," 
the first newspaper in the State. In 1761 Parker printed Nevill's "I-aws 
of New Jersey," and in 1764 a "Conductor Generalis," intended as a guide 
to justices of the peace. In 1765 he transported his press to Burlington 
and printed Samuel Smith's "History of New Jersey." The manuscript 
of this valuable work is preserved in the library of the Historical Society 
at Newark, a volume of 574 pages printed in excellent style. Mr. Parker 
was postmaster of New York for several years, and at the time of his 
death, July 2, 1770, was comptroller and secretary for the Postal De- 
partment of the Northern District of the British Colonies. He died at 
Burlington, and was buried in the Presbyterian cemetery at Woodbridge. 
The printing office was burned to the ground by a band of Tories during 
the Revolution. 

As early as 1702, George Keith, a disafifected Quaker, was sent out 
as a missionary by the English Episcopalians. He came to Woodbridge, 
and in his journal he speaks of his visit thus: "Dec. 30, 1702, preached at 
Woodbridge in the Independent meeting house, at the desire of Rev. 
Mr. Shepard and others. After sermon, Mr. Shepard kindly entertained 
us at his house." Mr. Shepard must have been very liberal-minded, as 
he was the town preacher, and therefore liable to the jealousy which 
existed to some extent in that time in every denomination. The town 
had no other Episcopal missionary until 171 1, when Rev. Edward 



4o8 MIDDLESEX 

Vaughan, responding to the invitation from several men who were dis- 
satisfied with Rev. Nathaniel Wade, the town preacher, began to visit 
and minister in the town, preaching in private houses; and finally a 
congregation of Episcopalians was formed in the above year. From that 
time until 1716, services were held in private houses, and sometimes in 
a new church which had been built upon the Green, not far from tfie 
Presbyterian church, but which was never finished. Occasional services 
were held by different clergymen until 1754, when a new church was 
built, supposed to be on the site of the first, which remained for over 
one hundred years and was destroyed by fire in 1858. Rev. Robert Mc- 
Kean took charge of the church in 1764, and was succeeded by Rev. 
John Preston. 

On December 6, 1769, a charter was granted to Trinity Church by 
King George III., of England, and signed by William Franklin, Governor 
of the Province, the wardens being Samuel Jaques and Samuel Tingley, 
and the following vestrymen: David Alston, Thomas Hadden, Joseph 
Dunham and Ebenezer Forster. During the Revolution the services 
were abandoned, and in 1777 the church was occasionally used as a 
soldiers' barracks. Little was done to restore the services until 1810. 
From that time until 1830 Rev. James M. Chapman occasionally offi- 
ciated. The following were the succeeding rectors : Rev. William Doug- 
las, 1830-38; Rev. Frederick Ogilby, 1838-42; Rev. Hamble J. Leacock, 
1842; Rev. James M. Chapman (missionary service), 1843-57; ^^v. E. A. 
Hoffman, 1858-62; Rev. P. L. Jaques, 1862-69; Rev. R. C. Mcllvaine, 
1869-72 ; Rev. J. A. Penniman, 1872 ; Rev. T. Lewis Banister, 1872. The 
corner-stone of the present church, the third on the same site, was laid 
July 7, i860, and consecrated May 20, 1861, by Rt. Rev. Bishop Oden- 
heimer, of the Diocese of New Jersey. Among those who served as 
rectors, succeeding Rev. T. Lewis Banister, were Revs. Julian Ingle, 
Howard E. Thompson, Lewis H. Lighthipe, R. H. Brestell, J. A. Spring- 
sted. Rev. Scott B. Rathbun and Rev. H. H. Gifford. In the roll of 
wardens and vestrymen we find the names of Jotham Coddington, George 
A. HoUister, Lorraine Freeman, Alanson Newton, Thomas Barron, 
Captain Forbes, William H. Mawbey, Henry W. Holton, James Blood- 
good, William E. Fink, John B. Osbourne, George C. Hance, William 
H. Benton, George Lasslett and many others. The present vestrymen 
are: John H. Love, senior warden; James McKeown, junior warden; 
vestrymen — Ivins I. Browne, secretary-treasurer ; James Peoples, Daniel 
Demarest, Robert Dunn and Mr. Moran; acting rector. Rev. Walter H. 
Stowe. 

For several years previous to 1669 there was trouble between the 
Lords Proprietors and the people of the townships. The latter denied 
that the former had any right to rule, and desired to be brought directly 
under the Crown. The authority of the Proprietors was set at naught 




SEWAREN LAND AND WATER CLUB 




CLIFF ROAD, SEWAREN 



WOODBRIDGE TOWNSHIP 409 

and their officers were openly defied; prisoners in their charge were 
rescued, jails were broken open to effect the release of criminals, and 
chaos reigned over the Province. The disorder reached its culmina- 
tion in 1701 to such an extent that the Lords Proprietors wearied of the 
struggle and in the following year surrendered the government to Queen 
Anne, who accepted it on April 17, 1702, and henceforth East and West 
Jersey became one Province and known as New Jersey, Sir Edward 
Hyde, Lord Cornbury, being the first Governor, his dominion extending 
also over New York. The last English governor was Sir William Frank- 
lin, a son of the great Benjamin Franklin, and had his residence at what 
is now known as the Westminster Hotel on Kearney avenue, Perth 
Amboy. On June 17, 1776, Gen. Na-thaniel Heard, of Woodbridge, 
under orders from Samuel Tucker, president of the Provincial Congress, 
arrested the Governor and, owing to his refusal to give his parole, com- 
mitted him to the custody of Governor Trumbull, of Connecticut, by 
whom he was held as a prisoner for two years and four months, when 
he was exchanged, and ultimately returned to England. 

In 1824, when our great Revolutionary ally. Marquis de Lafayette, 
visited the United States, he was given a public reception, with elaborate 
ceremonies, on the Green near the residence of Ernest H. Boynton. 
Professor Stryker made an address, and a large choir, composed of 
school children and others, sang patriotic songs. The distinguished guest 
seemed much impressed and pleased with the enthusiastic demonstra- 
tion, testifying, as it did, to the gratitude and affection of the descendants 
of those whose independence he had bravely fought to achieve. 

Thomas Barron, a native of Woodbridge, and a retired merchant, 
made a bequest in his will leaving $50,000 to build and maintain a public 
library in his native town. In 1875 the handsome brownstone building 
on the corner of Rahway and Carteret avenues, near the Presbyterian 
church, was completed and dedicated with proper ceremonies. It con- 
tains a large number of volumes, with newspapers, magazines, and other 
periodicals, and is altogether an ornament and a great addition to the 
town. The first trustees werer Dr. John C. Barron (the founder's 
nephew). Rev. George C. Lucas, pastor of the Presbyterian church, and 
Dr. Ellis B. Freeman. Succeeding members of the board were: Judge 
Albert D. Brown, Howard Valentine, William Edgar and Thomas and 
Ellis Barron. The present board consists of Hampton Cutter, president ; 
John H. Love, secretary; James E. Berry, treasurer; Everitt C. Ensign 
and S. Barron Brewster, vice-presidents ; librarian, Mrs. Percival Logan. 

Prior to 1865 the only communication Woodbridge had with the 
outside world was by walking, riding, driving, and the steamboat that 
plied between New Brunswick and New York, stopping at points on 
the Raritan river and Staten Island Sound ; but in the above mentioned 
year the Pennsylvania railroad built a branch road from Rahway to 



4IO MIDDLESEX 

Perth Amboy, with stations at Woodbridge, Avenel and Spa Spring. 
Before that time the mail was carried from Rahway to Perth Amboy via 
Woodbridge, by wagon, sleigh or horseback ; and the writer remembers 
seeing the genial face of former Sheriff Convery, of Perth Amboy, who 
for several years was the mail carrier, appearing in the Woodbridge 
postofifice, his coat covered with snow, or drenched with rain, after a 
three and a half mile drive. The postoffice was successively located 
in the old building on the corner of Rahway avenue and Green street; 
in Alexander A. Edgar's store, nearly opposite ; in M. A. Brown's drug 
store, on Main street ; in Masonic Hall ; and again on Main street. For- 
mer postmasters were: John E. Barron, H. Barcalow, Alex. A. Edgar, 
Jeremiah Ten Eyck, Dr. Samuel E. Freeman, Marcus A. Brown, David 
P. Carpenter, James V. Freeman, Daniel W. Brown, John M. Sutton, 
Samuel Coddington and John F. Ryan. 

In colonial days the "Elm Tree Inn" was the best known hotel in 
Woodbridge. It was located on Rahway avenue, adjoining Mrs. F. G. 
Tisdall's residence, and took its name from a giant elm tree whose 
branches extended half way across the avenue, which at that point is 
quite wide. The building was later occupied as Prof. Stryker's select 
school, and still later as the college preparatory school of Professor 
Thomas Harvey Morris, a graduate of Princeton College, an excellent 
teacher and a Christian gentleman. In common with many others who had 
the advantage of sitting under his teachings, we reverently and lovingly 
say : "May he rest in peace." Another prominent hostelry was the "Cross 
Keys Tavern," on the northwest corner of Main street and Perth Amboy 
avenue, where Mr. Frank Elias' residence now stands. It was there that 
Gen. Washington passed the night when on the way from Philadelphia 
to New York, on the occasion of his first inauguration as President. 
The old house, changed and remodeled out of all resemblance to its 
former appearance and converted into a tenement, is still standing on 
Rahway avenue, in the rear of its former site. The Woodbridge Hotel, 
at the junction of Rahway avenue and Green street, is the remodeled 
old "Pike House," in front of which for many years hung a swinging 
sign bearing a picture of General Zebulon Montgomery Pike, the dis- 
coverer of Pike's Peak, Colorado, who was killed by the explosion of 
a magazine at the battle of York (Toronto), Canada, in the War of 1812. 
In the early days the elections, the township committee, and all public 
meetings were held there. 

Woodbridge produced one Governor of the State, Hon. Joseph 
Bloomfield, a great friend of Thomas Jefferson, an efificient chief magis- 
trate and a man of fine executive ability, who served from 1803 to 1812. 
He was the son of Dr. Moses Bloomfield, who it is thought resided on 
Freeman street, in the house owned and occupied for many years by 
the late George C. Hance. The following inscription upon the Doctor's 



WOODBRIDGE TOWNSHIP 411 

monument in the Presbyterian cemetery will give an idea of his promi- 
nence in and usefulness to the community and the country : "Dr. Moses 
Bloomfield, 40 years a Physician and Surgeon in this Town; Senior 
Physician and Surgeon in the Hospitals of the United States; Repre- 
sentative in the Provincial Congress and the General Assembly; an 
upright Magistrate, and an elder in the Presbyterian church." 

The township has been represented in the State Senate by Adam 
Lee, Edward Y. Rogers and Amos Robins ; and in the General Assembly 
by William Edgar, Samuel Edgar, John M. Tufts, Ralph M. Crowell, 
William C. Alexander, Thompson Edgar, Warren Brown, Joel B. Laing, 
Simeon W. Phillips, Josephus Shann, Dr. Ellis B. Freeman, Alfred W. 
Jones, Charles A. Campbell, Edward S. Savge, Ephraim Cutter and J. H. 
Thayer Martin. 

The clays of Woodbridge township have been long and favorably 
known to manufacturers throughout the country. The prominent fac- 
tories now engaged in the manufacture of clay products in the township 
are the following: M. D. Valentine & Brother Company, fire brick; 
Mutton Hollow Company, fire brick; Anness & Potter Company, fire 
brick and fire-proofing material ; National Fire-Proofing Company (two 
plants), and the Didier-March Company, both at Keasbey; all owning 
and operating their own clay mines; also, the Federal Terra Cotta 
Company, at Spa Spring; Abel Hansen's Porcelain Works, at Fords; 
the Woodbridge Ceramic Company, on the road from Woodbridge to 
Iselin ; and the C. W. Boynton Sewer and Drain Tile Works, at Sewaren ; 
these last named obtain their clay from the local mines. Thousands 
of tons of clay and fire-sand are annually shipped to New York, Phila- 
delphia, Boston; Akron, Ohio; and other points, the principal miners 
being Hampton Cutter, James P. Prall and John H. Leisen. All these 
industries furnish employment to a large number of skilled and unskilled 
workmen, and add materially to the growth and prosperity of the town- 
ship. The Steel Works at Avenel is a new and thriving industry, and 
is steadily increasing its output. 

On May 14, 1832, Rev. William Granville, pastor of the Rahway 
Methodist Episcopal Church, called a meeting of the Methodists of 
Woodbridge in the Strawberry Hill school-house, just below James P. 
Prall's residence, when a society was formed, with the following trus- 
tees: Nathan Harned, president; John Valentine, Peter Moore, Thomas 
Eddy, Samuel Gage and William Noe. Oh September 8 of the same 
year, a frame building 35x50 feet was erected on the site of the present 
parsonage, the circuit of the new church embracing Perth Amboy, 
Metuchen and New Dover, the pastor being Rev. Isaac N. Felsh. The 
membership was 30, which in the following year was increased to loi ; 
and the membership of the entire territory in the jurisdiction of the 
parish was 537. Rev. Wm. Hanley succeeded Mr. Felsh and in 1842, 



412 MIDDLESEX 

during the pastorate of Rev. Curtis Talley, a parsonage was built on 
a lot donated by the late James Valentine, and which is now the resi- 
dence of J. Wilbur Drake. The corner-stone of the present church was 
laid on June 2, 1870, and the building dedicated free of debt on May 
25th of the following yea:r, at a cost of $30,000. The old church was 
burned October 3, 1876. In 1882 the present parsonage was erected, 
and the handsome Sunday school building was added to the church 
in 1889, at a combined cost of $13,000. Among the earlier pastors were 
Rev. Dr. Henry A. Buttz, afterward president of Drew Theological 
Seminary ; Revs. J. H. Dailey, S. B. Rooney, J. H. Runyon, E. M. Grif- 
fiths, J. D. Dickenson, Enoch Meacham, P. G. Blight, M. L. Gates and 
others. Among the most prominent men of the church in bygone days 
and who aided largely in its growth and development, were Samuel 
Dally, James Valentine, William H. Berry, James Commoss, Samuel 
E. Ensign, Lewis C. Potter, Josiah D. Drake, Thomas G. Alward, Syl- 
vester Frazee, William Harned and many others. The present pastor 
is Rev. Levi B. McMickle. Trustees — Samuel E. Potter, Edward W. 
Valentine, James J. Livingood, John MacAuslin, Alexander H. Sutton, 
Edgar Kreutzberg and Dr. I. T. Spencer. 

In i860 Rev. Thomas Quinn, parish priest of Rahway, began to 
hold religious services in the homes of Patrick Masterson, John Dunn, 
and in other houses in Woodbridge. Later on. Father Quinn purchased 
a lot on Main street, and after many difficulties erected thereon a frame 
building which did duty as a church until the present handsome edifice 
was built in 1887. The former church has been used continuously as a 
parish school since that time. Father Quinn was relieved of the Wood- 
bridge mission in 1863, and it was attached to the Perth Amboy parish 
and ministered to by Father Cornell until 1865, when the latter left 
Perth Amboy and Father Quinn was again placed in charge of Perth 
Amboy and Woodbridge; he also established the Catholic cemetery 
in the township. In 1871 Rev. Peter L. Connolly, parish priest of Perth 
Amboy, took charge of the Woodbridge mission until succeeded by Rev. 
Stephen Bettoni, who became the first resident pastor and remained 
as such until 1882, when he was succeeded by Rev. James F. Devine, 
who in turn was succeeded in the year following by Rev. James Walsh, 
of Long Branch, who built the first rectory. Owing to some difficulties 
with the people. Father Walsh was removed, and Father Devine, who 
was very popular, returned to Woodbridge, secured the present rectory, 
built the new church and a convent for the Sisters in 1887. In 1893 
Father Devine was promoted to the more important parish of the Sacred 
Heart, in New Brunswick, where he died several years ago. He was 
succeeded in Woodbridge by Rev. Joseph Flanagan, who, after a short 
pastorate, died here, and was followed by Rev. John J. Griffin, who 
remained here until his death in 1918. Rev. R. J. O'Farrell, the present 





TYPICAL CLAY BANK (ABOVR), AND WELL KNOWN FIRE BRICK FACTORY' 
(BELOW), NEAR WOODBRIDGB 



WOODBRIDGE TOWNSHIP 413 

incumbent, was placed in charge November 6, 1918. When Father 
Devine announced his intended removal to New Brunswick, nine-tenths 
of the representative people of the township, irrespective of creed, signed 
a petition to the Bishop requesting the retention of the reverend gentle- 
man. During Father Griffin's pastorate the twenty-fifth anniversary of 
his admission to the priesthood occurred, and the citizens generally 
commemorated the occasion by tendering him a complimentary recep- 
tion and banquet in the Woodbridge Athletic Association's club room. 

A company of ladies and gentlemen consisting mainly of former 
members of the Presbyterian church, assembled at the residence of 
John White, on Green street, September 30, 1874, and organized a 
Congregational church and society. The meeting was presided over 
by James P. Edgar, with George W. Dally acting as secretary, the fol- 
lowing officers being elected: Deacons — James P. Edgar, Lewis D. 
Kelly and Daniel S. Voorhees, Jr.; trustees — Edward J. Thompson, 
C. A. Campbell, John White, G. Frederick Fink, Matthias Vanderveer, 
Wm. W. Selleck and J. Mattison Melick, treasurer; George W. Dally, 
clerk. A certificate of incorporation was filed in the county clerk's office 
in the name of "The First Congregational Church of Woodbridge." The 
first religious services were held in Masonic Hall, October 11, 1874, and 
continued to be held in that place until the church was built. A con- 
stitution for the church and society and a confession of faith was 
adopted October 28, 1874, and a council of Congregational churches 
formally recognized the new church on November 17th. Rev. S. Lee 
Hillyer was installed as pastor on June 3, 1875, ^"^ served as such until 
his death, November 22, 1877. The church, on the comer of Barron 
and Grove avenues, was completed and dedicated June 29, 1876, Rev. Dr. 
George H. Hepworth, of New York, preaching the sermon. A memorial 
bell was presented to the church by Francis A. Ostrander, of Troy, 
New York, in memory of his father. In October, 1876, the church was 
relieved from debt by a bequest of the late Mrs. Jane Doremus, a sister 
of Thomas Barron, founder of the Public Library. The membership 
increased from 41 in 1874 to 99 in 1877. R^v. A. R. Shaw was pastor 
from June 27, 1878, until August i, 1880, when he was succeeded by 
Rev. Charles Noble, who resigned in August, 1888, to accept a college 
professorship in Charles City, Iowa. The following pastors served the 
church during succeeding years: William H. Hopkins, November 7, 
1889-February, 1892 ; Charles H. McDonald, June 9, 1892-June 30, 1894 ; 
and Thomas C. Miller, November 6, i894-April i, 1901, all graduates of 
Union Theological Seminary, of New York. Rev. Wm. H. Jackson 
served from 1901 to 1907, and was succeeded by Rev. Maurice J. Kain, 
who remained about one year and was followed by his father, Rev. Dr. P. 
J. Kain, who was pastor until his death in 191 3. In the last mentioned 
year the new parsonage adjoining the church was erected. On Febru- 



414 



MIDDLESEX 



ary 14, 1914, Rev. Henry M. Prentiss was installed and served until 
1918, when he resigned to take up Y. M. C. A. work. Rev. William 
V. D. Strong succeeded him on June 10, 1918, and is still in charge. The 
following are the principal officers: Elders — Daniel S. Voorhees, 
Ephraim Cutter, Nils Johnson and William H. Voorhees. Trustees — 
Ernest H. Boynton, C. A. Campbell, Leonard M. Campbell, William H. 
Voorhees, J. C. Williams, Frank J. Lawson and Henry D. Brewster. 

■ The beautiful High School on Barron avenue was built in 191 1. 
There are, in addition, seven excellent public schools, located as follows : 
No. I, Central avenue, Woodbridge; Keasbey, Port Reading, Fords, 
Avenel, Hope Lawn and Iselin, each conducted by an excellent corps 
of teachers. Prof. John H. Love came here in 1895 as the principal of 
No. I School, and for the past seventeen years has been the efficient 
supervising principal of all the schools in the township. There are 83 
teachers and 3,000 pupils in the township. Among the chairmen of the 
Board of Education have been William H. Berry, Howard Valentine, 
Joseph H. T. Martin, Victor W. Main, Wilson Waring and William 
Edgar. The present board is as follows : Howard A. Tappen, president ; 
Melvin H. Clum, vice-president; Everett C. Ensign, secretary; Charles 
S. Farrell, Howard R. Valentine, Maurice P. Dunigan, Benjamin B. 
Walling, Frederick Bohlen and Louis E. Meyer; attendance officer, 
John Thompson. 

The township committee is composed of the following : At large, and 
president of the board, Howard R. Valentine; First Ward — Arthur A. 
Deter and John E. Finn; Second Ward — William D. Hoy and Albert 
Larsen ; Third Ward — Benjamin C. Baldwin and George S. Lufbarry ; 
clerk, Andrew J. Keyes ; counsel, J. H. Thayer Martin ; treasurer of the 
township, T. Wesley Liddle; collector, Arthur E. Berry; assessor, B. 
Joseph Dunigan ; recorder, Martin J. Ashley ; chief of police, Patrick W. 
Murphy : road supervisor, William Coffey ; building inspector, John F. 
Dooley ; trustees of Free School Land — Jonas H. Coddington, president ; 
William Cutter, vice-president ; William A. Gilham, secretary ; Everett 
C. Ensign, Peter Greiner and Albert Hirner; overseer of the poor, 
William A. Gilham; township physician, Dr. Ira T. Spencer; board of 
health, the assessor, town physician and the members of the township 
committee; inspector, Lewis E. Potter. 

The following fraternal and benevolent societies have a large mem- 
bership and hold regular meetings in the town: Americus Lodge, No. 
83, Free and Accepted Masons, instituted in 1868; Hobart Lodge, No. 
270, Independent Order of Odd Fellows; Euclid Lodge, No. 153, Krtights 
of Pythias; Woodbridge Council, Knights of Columbus; Woodbridge 
Council, No. 1743, Royal Arcanum; Woodbridge Council, No. 12, and 
Bavaria Council, No. 352, Catholic Benevolent Legion ; Anchor Council, 
No. 40, Junior Order of United American Mechanics; Ancient Order 



WOODBRIDGE TOWNSHIP 415 

of Hibernians; Foresters of America and Union German Benevolent 
Association. 

In 1919, owing to there being but one member surviving, Past Com- 
mander John M. Sutton, William C. Berry Post, Grand Army of the 
Republic, was disbanded, Mr. Sutton affiliating with Major Dandy Post, 
of Perth Amboy. Papiack Tribe, Improved Order of Red Men, was also 
disbanded in the same year. 

The First National Bank of Woodbridge was incorporated June 12, 
1906, and commenced business August nth of the same year, in the 
handsome building erected on the northwest corner of Main and Fulton 
streets, with a capital stock of $25,000, and the following board of direc- 
tors : William T. Ames, president ; William L. Harned, cashier ; C. W. 
Boynton, David A. Brown, C. A. Campbell, Thomas F. Dunigan, H. R. 
Groves, B. W. Hoagland, Charles S. Farrell, M. Irving Demarest, R. M. 
Kellogg, Albert W. King, J. H. Thayer Martin, Clarence M. Liddle 
and H. N. Randall. The present officers and directors are : William T. 
Ames, president; Thomas F. Dunigan and David A. Brown, vice-presi- 
dents; William L. Harned, cashier; and W. Leon Harned, assistant 
cashier; the directors are: William T. Ames, Edwin A. Ames, Arthur 
G. Brown, D. A. Brown, S. Barron Brewster, C. A. Campbell, M. I. 
Demarest, Thomas F. Dunigan, B. W. Hoagland, W. L. Harned and 
J. H. Thayer Martin. The bank has a Savings Department, 3 per cent, 
interest being paid ; travelers' checks, payable in all parts of the world, 
are issued; and safe deposit boxes are rented for $3 per year. Banking 
hours, 9 a. m. to 3 p. m. ; Friday evenings, 7 to 8 o'clock ; Saturdays, 9 
a. m. to 12 noon. 

The Woodbridge Building and Loan Association was organized 
May 31, 1910, and is in a very prosperous condition. The officers are: 
President, James E. Berry ; vice-president, John F. Ryan ; secretary, 
Maurice P. Dunigan; treasurer, Gustave Blaum; directors — Paul P. 
Olbrick, J. Edward Harned, Leonard M. Campbell, George F. Brewster, 
Gorham L. Boynton, Frank Elias, James P. Gerity, J. K. Jensen and 
James Utassy. Counsel, J. H. Thayer Martin. The office is in the 
Bank building, corner of Main and Fulton streets. 

In 1838, when Mercer county was created, a considerable portion 
of this township, on a part of which Princeton is situated, was set off 
as a part of the new county ; and again, in 1857, another portion of the 
land was allotted to the new county of Union. In 1870 Raritan township 
was formed, the territory being taken in equal parts from Woodbridge 
and Piscataway townships. Prior to this, all of Lower Rahway (the 
part lying south of the Rahway river), belonged to Woodbridge, and 
the people of that locality, and also of Metuchen, Bonhamtown and 
neighboring localities, came to the old "Pike House," in Woodbridge, 
to cast their vote at the elections. In 1906 the borough of Roosevelt 



4i6 MIDDLESEX 

was formed, which took another portion of the township, six square 
miles ; and yet, with all the cutting and carving that has been done for 
the past eighty-two years, Woodbridge is still a large and prosperous 
township. 

The military rolls and war activities of Woodbridge township are 
epitomized in the Appendix Chapter. 

Piscataway Township — Piscataway and Woodbridge townships were 
settled about the same time — 1665 ; but the latter was incorporated in 
1669, and the former not until 1798. The township is about eight miles 
long and six wide, and is bounded north by the city of Plainfield, Union 
county, east by Raritan township, south by Raritan river and west by 
North Plainfield, Somerset county. A small portion of the township 
was taken for the formation of Raritan township in 1870, and of Plain- 
field township in 1847. Piscataway was the name of an Indian tribe in 
Maine, and also of a river on the boundary line of Maine and New Hamp- 
shire. It is recorded that Hugh Dunn, Hopewell and Benjamin Hull, 
Charles and John Oilman, Robert Dennis, John Smith and John Martin, 
who came from Piscataqua, were granted Dec. 18, 1666, the right as 
Associates, and they conferred upon the township the name of the 
place whence they came ; and it was known as Piscataqua for a consider- 
able period after its settlement. 

The earliest authentic history, gathered from the public records, 
states that the large tract of land on the east side of the Raritan river, 
which comprises the townships of Woodbridge, Piscataway and Eliza- 
bethtown, was bought from the Indians in 1664, the purchasers being 
John Bailey, Daniel Denton, Luke Watson and others, who obtained 
a patent from Governor Nicolls, who acted under the Duke of York, 
afterward James II., of England. The names of the first settlers on 
record, commencing in 1665 and continuing to 1689, were the Gilmans, 
Blackwells, Blackfords, Dunns, Drakes, Titsworths, Hulls, Martins, 
Langstafifs, Dennis, Dunhams, Fitz Randolphs, Fields, Mannings, 
Coriells, Boices, Runyons, Giles, Garretsons, Wilsons, Daytons, Cod- 
dingtons, Smalleys, Clarkes, Dotys (Doughty), La Flowers (Laforges), 
Higgins, Fords, Suttons, Mownes, Smiths, Brinleys, Davis', Grubbs, 
Slaters (Slaughter), Chandlers, Pridmores, Hands, Hendricks, Wolfs, 
Hansworths, Pounds, Mollesons, Bonhams, McDaniels, and others. 
Some of these remained but for a short time. The earliest records of the 
township are dated June 25, 1675. 

Many of the original purchasers of land are still represented by their 
descendants. The annals of the Field family in this country date back 
to 1638, when the original ancester came from England with Roger 
Williams and settled in Newport, R. I. John Field came to New Jersey 
and located on a tract of 1,055 acres, lying between Bound Brook and 
New Brunswick, along the Raritan river, in Piscataway township. In 



PISCATAWAY TOWNSHIP 417 

1774 Michael Field was a delegate to the convention at New Brunswick 
to consult concerning the points of difference between Great Britain 
and the Colonies. One of the family was a lieutenant in the First Regi- 
ment of Middlesex county, and another lost his life at the battle of 
Monmouth. Michael left a legacy, before 1800, to establish a free 
school at Bound Brook. Hopewell and Benjamin Hull were prominent 
residents in 1682, holding township offices and owners of large tracts 
of land. The former died in 1693. Henry, or Hendrick, Garretson, 
was of Dutch descent and came to this country in 1658 on the vessel, 
the "Gilded Beaver." The first of the Mannings in the records is 
Jeffrey in 1683. His granddaughter married Robert Blackwell, one of 
the early settlers in East Jersey. In 1874 Alexander Manning was a 
chosen freeholder and held other responsible offices. John Smalley is 
named as a freeholder and owner of herds of horses and cattle in 1691 ; 
the family came from Newport, R. I., about 1668, and are mentioned 
as among the first organizers of the Seventh Day Baptist church in 
1720. John Martin was one of the founders of the township and came 
from Dover, N. H. The family is still well represented in this vicinity. 
The Gilman family owned land near where the Landing Bridge crosses 
the Raritan river. Daniel, David, Luke, Edmund, Nehemiah and Jere- 
miah are the first names of the Dunham family, who came from Piscatn- 
qua, Maine, or Dover, N. H., where they landed from the ship "James," 
in 1630 or 1632. Edmund was the first pastor of the Seventh Day Bap- 
tist church, a sketch of which will be found further on. John Fitz 
Randolph is first recorded as a freeholder in 1683, owning a large amount 
of land. The family was prominent in civil and military affairs in this 
and other townships. In 1749 David was chosen freeholder and Joseph 
held the same office for four years. Capt. Samuel was a town officer 
and served in the militia in 1780. Malachi was town clerk in 1765. 
Edward Slater was a freeholder in 1683, and the first clerk of the county 
courts. Vincent Rugnion (Runyon) was a French Huguenot and is 
mentioned in 1683, when he had allotted to him 154 acres on the Raritan 
river. Mather Giles was among the first settlers, and owned farms near 
Ambrose brook in 1699. Benjamin Clarke and Daniel McDaniel are 
spoken of in 1683 as owning lands at Samptown, near South Plainfield, 
and operated a sawmill. Hezekiah Bonham was located near the Green 
brook. William Clawson was a freeholder in 1690. The family came 
from Staten Island, and Capt. John was in the Jersey brigade at Albany, 
New York, in May, 1776. The Boice family were of French extraction, 
and probably settled in this township about 1720, on land near the River 
road; John and George are recorded as soldiers in the Revolutionary 
War. The Koriells (Coriells) were among the earliest settlers, 'i he 
Daytons came from Southampton, Long Island, in 1686. 

The first land granted by the township was to Jodiah Higgins, two 

Hid-27 



4i8 MIDDLESEX 

acres, laid out by John Langstaflf, Benjamin Hull and Godfrey Manning, 
dated January i, 1682, and signed by Lieut. Edward Slater, town clerk, 
A book, over 250 years old, is filled with the "ear marks" of cattle. At 
that day there were no inclosures for stock, and horses, cattle and swine 
fed at will upon hundreds of acres, and each owner's name and ear marks 
were recorded to prevent mistakes that might arise in identifying the 
stock. 

A committee was appointed in 1689 to confer with Hopewell Hull 
concerning the completion of the Town House, and if he refused to 
finish it that the committee be empowered to employ help' to do the 
work. In 1693 Capt. Francis Drake, Thomas F. Randolph, Benjamin 
Hull, Isaac Smalley and Edward Slater were elected Select Men to man- 
age the town affairs. In 1786, March 14, the first record appears of the 
appointment of a committee of accounts, which in three or four years 
after was styled the Town Committee. The first three were Dr. Free- 
man, William Tinbrook (Ten Broeck), and Jacob Martin. The first 
additional officers were: Edward Slater, town clerk; John Oilman and 
Edward Slater, assessors; George Drake, collector; James Manning 
and William Hodgson, chosen freeholders; John Royce, justice of the 
peace ; Hopewell Hull and John Gilman, deputies to the General Assem- 
bly. In 1732 fifteen pounds sterling were ordered to be raised for the 
relief of the poor. A pair of stocks were ordered, to be kept in the 
usual place, from which it is to be inferred that they had previously 
been in use. There was an excise tax on tavern-keepers in 1742, and 
the following landlords paid the license fee : John Hull, Joseph Michiel, 
Elijah Dunham, George Vroom, Aaron Boorum, James Gilman, Hugh 
and John Dunn, Joseph Drake, Samuel Moores, Joseph Wood, John 
Pound and Thomas Fitz Randolph. 

The inhabitants were very patriotic during the Revolution. In 
the roster of Continental troops we find the names of Micajah Dunn, 
lieutenant-colonel; John Dunn and Samuel Randolph, majors; Thomp- 
son Stelle, Hugh Dunn and Jacob Van Deventer, captains ; Jere. Field, 
lieutenant, and Benjamin and Richard Field, William French, David, 
Benjamin and Nathaniel Martin ; James Bishop, John Langstaff, Robert 
Kip ; Daniel, Benjamin and Jere. Dunn ; Hendrick Smock, John Shippey. 
Peter Schenck, Henry Fouratt, Andrew and David Manning, Charles 
Suydam, Richard Merrill, John Smalley, Joseph Stelle, Henry Sutton, 
Jonathan Sharp, Simon Van Nortwick, James Woodin, Samuel Walker, 
Thomas Webster and Samuel Whitehead. The British troops occupied 
Piscataway, Woodbridge, Bonhamtown, Six Mile and Middlebush from 
December 2, 1776, till June 22nd of the following year. On the last 
named day they retreated, by way of Piscataway, to Perth Amboy, 
burning many houses and barns, and robbing the people in the course 
of their march. 



PISCATAWAY TOWNSHIP 419 

Many farms, in early days, had plots of ground set apart as a family 
burial ground. The Runyons, Dunns, Tingleys and Boices burial 
grounds date back to the first settlement. The Waterville Cemetery, at 
old Samptown, is one of the oldest cemeteries, and kept in excellent 
condition. 

John Dunn was a member of the Provincial Congress in 1775-6. 
In 1844 the title of the Upper House of the Legislature was changed to 
the Senate. Samuel Fitz Randolph, Benjamin Manning, Ephraim Mar- 
tin and James T. Dunn were members of that body. Among the mem- 
bers of the General Assembly have been: Alexander and David Dunn, 
George Boice, James and Lewis Randolph, David Vail, Elias and Albert 
L. Runyon, George Molleson, John D. Field, Samuel Stelle, Abram and 
Israel Coriell and Joseph C. Letson. 

One of the oldest schools in the township occupied the site of what 
is now known as the Whittier school in Dunellen. The earliest record 
of it is 1800, when Ransom Downs, a New England peddler, was the 
teacher. The school house was rebuilt in 1841, and in 1875 a fine brick 
building, of two stories, was erected. The New Brooklyn (South Plain- 
field) school was among the first established, and James Fullerton, 
who lived in the Short Hills, near piainfield, is said to have taught here, 
and in other portions of the county. Neil Campbell, who is buried in the 
old Presbyterian cemetery at Metuchen, was also one of the teachers. 
There was an old school in what was known as Fieldville, on the road 
from New Market to the Raritan Landing, and among the teachers 
appear the names of Field, Coriell, Brokaw, Smith and others, familiar 
in the olden days throughout the township. 

The first Seventh Day Baptist church in this country originated 
at Newport, Rhode Island, and the first Sabbath keeper was Stephen 
Mumford, who came from England as a missionary forty-four years after 
the landing of the Pilgrim Fathers. He contended that the Ten Com- 
mandments, as they were delivered from Mt. Sinai, were moral and im- 
mutable, and that it was the anti-Christian power, which thought to 
change times and laws, that changed the Sabbath from the seventh to 
the first day of the week. About 1700, Edmund Dunham, one of the 
first settlers of the township, reproved a person for laboring on Sunday. 
On being asked for his authority from the Scriptures, he became 
satisfied; while searching for such authority, that the seventh day is 
the only Sabbath in the Bible, and he began so to observe it. Soon 
others followed his example and in 1707 a Seventh Day Baptist church 
was organized in the township, with about seventeen members. Edmund 
Dunham was chosen Elder. Previous to that, we learn from the first 
record on the church book, Mr. Dunham had been sent by the church 
to Westerly, Rhode Island, for ordination, which he received from 
Elder William Gibson, September 8, 1705. Benjamin Martin was 



420 MIDDLESEX 

chosen Deacon in the following December. It is impossible, at this 
date, to tell how many members this church had, from the manner in 
which the records were kept. The following family names appear en 
the records, members of which were connected with the church prior to 
1722: 

Martin, Doty, Dunn, Cummins, Fitz Randolph, Dunham, Davis, 
Krith, Smalley, Hull, Lennox, Chandler, Pyatt, Noble, Woodin, Lee, 
Alger, Sutton and Drake. Edmund Dunham died in March 1734. in his 
seventy-third year, and is supposed to have been buried in the old 
burying ground, adjoining the church, but no monument marks the 
spot. During his lifetime the services were held in private houses; 
but in 1736 the first house of worship was built, about a mile from the 
village of New Market. On March 10, 1777, the pastor. Elder Jonathan 
Dunham, son of Edmund, died, aged 83 years. The second meeting 
house was built on the site of the former one in 1802, by JonatVian Len- 
nox, and the old building given to Elder McLaferty to use as a barn. 
In 1836 the present church was built near New Market, and about a 
mile and one-half from the original location. It is 38x51 feet, with large 
galleries, cost about $3,600 and was dedicated in February, 1837. In the 
following year 56 members were dismissed to a Plainfield church, reduc- 
ing the church to a membership of about 140. The church has, at the 
present writing, fifty active members. The pastors, as far as we have 
been able to secure their names, in addition to the Dunhams, father and 
son, are: Elders, Nathan Rogers, Henry McLaferty, Gideon Woodin, 
William B. Maxon, Walter B. Gillette, Halsey H. Baker, Lester C. 
Rogers, Lewis A. Piatt, L. E. Livermore, Henry Jordan, Herbert Po'an 
and Willard D. Burdick, who came to the parish about two years ago. 

The Baptist church was constituted in 1852 by a number of members 
from the Stelton, Plainfield and South Plainfield churches. It is a large 
and solid frame building on the main street from Dunellen to New 
Market. The following have been the pastors : Revs. William D. Hires, 
George W. Clark, Isaac N. Hill, Everett Jones, Revs. Levi, Osborn and 
Grinnell, and the present incumbent. Rev. D. Heyliger. 

The Protestant Episcopal Church af the Holy Innocents purchased 
the building they now occupy, near the Baptist church, from the Metho- 
dists in 1872, and it was consecrated by Bishop Odenheimer in 1881. 
Rev. Arthur Phelps, the acting rector, resides in Bound Brook. The 
membership is quite small. 

The village of New Market, in its early settlement, was known as 
"Quibbletown," and in Gordon's "Gazetteer of New Jersey," he speaks 
of it by that name, and also of its being called New Market in 1834. It 
is about seven miles north of New Brunswick, on the left bank of Cedar 
creek, as it was formerly called, and has a postoflice, school, store, grist 
mill, hotel, and about 125 dwellings. The Lehigh Valley railroad passes 
through the centre of the village. 



PISCATAWAY TOWNSHIP 



421 



South Plainfield, a hamlet formerly known as New Brooklyn, is on 
the Lehigh Valley railroad, and about two miles from Plainfield. It 
has a school house, postoffice, store, and about 25 or 30 dwellings. 

The following are the township officials : George W. Coriell, assessor ; 
William Hamilton, collector; Abram J. Nelson, president; Henry J. 
Manning and Walter G. Dunn, town committee ; Charles S. Day. clerk ; 
Dr. W. J. Nelson, physician ; Rene P. V. Von Minden, counsel ; Cornelius 
J. McCarthy, chief of police. 




CHAPTER XXX. 

NORTH BRUNSWICK, EAST BRUNSWICK AND SOUTH 
BRUNSWICK TOWNSHIPS. 

North Brunswick was among the first townships organized after the 
formation of Middlesex county and the permanent estabHshment of 
the local government of the same. The township was formerly em- 
braced within the borders of the older township of Piscataway, and 
early in the nineteenth century was referred to in township records of 
North Brunswick as the "North Ward of New Brunswick;" but since 
1803 it has universally been mentioned by its present title. Until i860, 
New Brunswick was within the township limits of North Brunswick, 
and the town meetings were generally held there. By an act of the 
Assembly approved February 28, i860, New Brunswick was separated 
from North Brunswick, and a large portion of. the township set ofT to 
form a part of East Brunswick township, then erected. North Bruns- 
wick, as originally surveyed, contained 23,000 acres; but by the land 
set off, as above mentioned, its dimensions were reduced to 8,256 acres. 
It is bounded north by New Brunswick, east by East Brunswick, south 
by South Brunswick, and west by Franklin township, Somerset county. 
The surface is level, and much of it under a good state of cultivation, 
Lawrence brook and its tributaries, and One-Mile run providing excel- 
lent drainage. The first named stream is very important, having its 
source in South Brunswick township, flowing northeasterly, separating 
North from East Brunswick, and empties into the Raritan at the eastern 
extremity of New Brunswick. The Pennsylvania railroad crosses tiie 
township from near its northern to its southern border. 

One of the oldest families is that of Voorhees (originally known as 
Van Voorhees), emigrating from Holland in 1660, settling first in Long 
Island and coming to New Brunswick at a very early date. Jaques V.an 
Liew, Nicholas Bodine (from whom Bodine's Corners takes its name), 
and Frederick Oucalt were early residents. Jeromous and Cornelius 
Vanderbilt lived near Milltown at first, and then removed to New 
Brunswick. John Ryder lived along Lawrence brook, in the north- 
western part of the township. He bought 144 acres from Cornelius 
Longfield, once owned by Thomas Lawrence, and it passed to his heirs. 
Christian and Simeon Van Nortwick also lived along Lawrence brook. 
Martin Stevenson, Cornelius Tunison and James Bennit were settlers 
considerably earlier than 1800. Cornelius De Hart purchased 210 acres 
from the Indians, which he was afterward compelled to repurchase from 
the Proprietors. Rev. Dr. Ira Condict, fourth pastor of the New Bruns- 
wick First Reformed church, removed to a farm near Milltown in 1798. 



424 



MIDDLESEX 



The names of Harle Farmer, Thomas Letson, Jacob I. Bergen, Enos 
Ayres, Peter Gordon, Nicholas Booraem, James Connet, Isaac J. Wil- 
liamson, Peter O. Buckalew, Thomas Vanderveer, Richard Snedeker, 
David P. Messeroll and others figure in the early records of the town- 
ship. 

The first records of the township are contained in a book devoted 
to the preservation of the minutes of the successive town meetings, the 
first entry being dated December 23-24, 1800, and is a record of the elec- 
tion of five men as Representatives in Congress for the State of New 
Jersey, in the North Ward of New Brunswick, the successful candidates 
being Franklin Davenport, Aaron Ogden, James H. Imlay, Peter D. 
Vroom and William Cox, who received an average majority of 300 
votes over their competitors, John Condit, William Helms, Henry 
Southard, Ebenezer Elmer and James Mott. The earliest town meeting 
recorded occurred on the second Monday in April, 1801, when the fol- 
lowing principal officers were chosen: Abraham Schuyler, president; 
Jacob Dunham, town clerk; Elijah Phillips, assessor; Wm. Tenbrook, 
collector and overseer of the poor ; Abraham Schuyler, James Schure- 
man, James Bennit, Abraham Blauvelt and William* Lawson, town com- 
mittee; John Neilson and Benjamin Taylor, chosen freeholders. The 
first formal provision for the poor was made in 1802, when it was 
ordered that $200 be raised "for the use of the poor," and that a house 
be rented and the poor of the township be maintained in said house 
and employed in such useful labor as might be deemed advantageous. 
In 1817 a farm of 139 acres on George's road was purchased from Jacob 
Klady for $6,992, a building erected, fences and other improvements 
made on "the poprhouse farm," and provision made for the employ- 
ment of a suitable superintendent for the institution. In the settlement 
of the accounts between North and East Brunswick townships and 
the city of New Brunswick, after the division of North Brunswick 
in i860, the poor-house farm, which had been established and main- 
tained at the expense of the taxpayers of the whole township of North 
Brunswick, as previously bounded, were allotted to New Brunswick, 
and have since been managed at the expense and for the benefit of 
that city. 

The early schoolhouses were built by subscription, and the teachers 
paid by those who were able to do so. The first reference in the town- 
ship records relative to the provision for the education of those who 
were unable to pay for the same was made in 1827, when it was ordered 
that $500 be raised for the education of the poor children of the town- 
ship. In 1829 the first school committee was elected, consisting of 
Staats Van Deursen, Lewis D. Hardenbergh, Peter Dayton, James Gable 
and Isaac Brower. The only time the names of school trustees appear 
in the minutes was in 1843, when the following were serving : Peter P. 



NORTH BRUNSWICK TOWNSHIP 425 

Runyon, George G. Nevius, J. Whitnach, John Christopher, Richard 
De Mott, J. H. Outcalt, H. Cock, Benjamin L. Smith, H. H. Booraem, 
J. Vandeventer, Peter L. Buckalew, Matthew Gilliland, J. Combs, Abra- 
ham Rappleyea, R. D. Applegate, F. Stults, Stephen Smith, J. L. Pierson 
and Cornelius W. Tunison. School committeemen were not elected 
until after 1846. In 1847, Dr. Henry B. Poal was appointed the first 
township superintendent of schools. The "free school" system was 
adopted in 185 1. There are two schools in the township; at Red Lion, 
Miss Alice D. Cox, teacher ; and at Livingston Park, Miss Mamie Tracey, 
teacher. Miss Bessie M. Schoenly is the supervising principal. 

A grist mill was built at a very early day where Milltown is now 
situated, on the North Brunswick side of Lawrence brook, and about 
three-quarters of a mile from the borough. Early in 1800 it was owned 
by Jacob I. Bergen, and the place was known as Bergen's Mills. The 
water power was first utilized as early as 1750 to operate a saw mill 
and grist mill, which stood within the area afterward occupied by 
Parson's Brookford Snuff Mills. A fulling mill was also erected, and 
when the domestic carding of wool ceased the building was converted 
into a snuff mill and as such was operated by Matthew Edgerton from 
1839 to 1856. In 1851 the whole plant was destroyed by fire and the 
old saw mill and grist mill forever disappeared. The snuflf mill was 
rebuilt in 1852 and the manufacture of snufif continued by Mr. Edgerton 
until 1856, when he sold the mill to William G. Parsons, who enlarged 
and improved the property from time to time, and manufactured a num- 
ber of varieties of snuff, mainly Scotch, Maccaboy, Lundy Foot and 
French rappee. After Mr. Parson's death, his son, James M., continued 
the business, until he, too, passed away. 

During the latter part of 1700 a tannery was operated near what 
was known as Voorhees Station, on the branch railway to Millstone. 
It afterward became the property of J. V. D. Christopher, and contained 
twenty-eight vats, where harness, shoe and upper leather were manu- 
factured. Nursery stock is propagated to a considerable extent, and 
a number of wheelwright, blacksmith and mechanics shops are to be 
found in various localities. The farms are in a thrifty condition, the 
roads well kept and the houses of a substantial character. 

The George's Road Baptist Church was the first religious edifice in 
this locality. Before any church organization was formed, Rev. John 
B. Case labored there as a missionary. Revs. G. S. Webb, Randolph 
Martin and Robert Lyle frequently preached, and those who were bap- 
tized were received into that church. At a meeting held at the house 
of John Bennett, January 30, 1843, articles of faith, a church covenant 
and the name of the church, were agreed upon, which, three days later, 
were recognized by a council from the following churches: First New 
Brunswick, Independent Bethel, at Washington (South River), Hights- 



426 MIDDLESEX 

town, Penn's Neck, Nottingham Square, Piscataway, and Jacksonville, 
South Amboy. Thirty-three members were enrolled, the following 
families being represented: Messeroll, De Hart, Provost, Suydam, 
Buckelew, Creamer, Drake, Thompson, Bound, Sperling, Bennett and 
Hendricks. The first church was dedicated March 17, 1847, the pastor 
being Rev. David P. Perdun, who succeeded Rev. Mr. Case, resigned. 
Subsequent pastors were Revs. B. Stelle, Morgan Cox, Charles Cordo, 
Christian Brinckerhoff and Louis Silleck. 

The earliest interments were made in the old graveyard now in- 
cluded in Van Liew cemetery, and in the ancient burying ground at 
Three-Mile run. The earliest legible inscription in the old portion of 
Van Liew cemetery is in Holland Dutch and reads as follows : "Johannes 
Martinus Van Harlingen was born January ri, 1684, at West Brook in 
Holland, and died October 23, 1728, at Lawrence Brook." The Van 
Liew Cemetery Association was incorporated in 1861, with Dennis 
Vanderbilt, Henry H. Booraem, Philip Kuhlthau, Ross Drake and Peter 
Stevenson as officers. It contains about five acres, and in it are buried 
many members of the Van Liew, Van Harlingen, Voorhees, Bodine, 
Buckelew, Vanderbilt, Meseroll and other old families of the township. 
Elmwood is the largest and most beautiful cemetery in this locality, 
containing about forty acres, and situated in the northern border of the 
township, not far from the other cemetery. It is the property of an 
association and nominally succeeded the Cedar Lawn Association, incor- 
porated in 1868, with Dr. Henry R. Baldwin, Dr. A. D. Newell, Henry L. 
Janeway, Johnson Letson, Levi D. Jarrard, Simon Van Wickle, Lucius 
P. Porter and others as stockholders. 

The Red Lion Tavern on George's road, and about in the centre of 
the township, was built more than a century and a half ago, and was 
the scene of many public meetings and celebrations. The Black Horse 
Inn, also on George's road and near the southeastern boundary of the 
township, was about 1800 a well-known hostelry. Bodine's Corners is 
a neighborhood, in the northern part of the township, and named from 
pioneers who settled there. Three-Mile run designates a hamlet near 
Franklin township, Somerset county, and owes its name to a stream at 
that place. Six-Mile Run is another neighborhood, on the county line 
farther south. 

The following are the principal township oificials: E. Irving Mes- 
eroll, assessor; Isaac V. Williamson, collector and treasurer; Alfred 
Yorston, chairman; Frank G. Hart and Isaiah Vandewater, town com- 
mittee; Louis E. Phillips, clerk; Edward W. Suydam, James H. and 
Thomas W. Buckelew, James Pulda, Alfred Yorston, Isaiah Vande- 
water, Peter R. Van Sickle, Prof. Henry Miller, and Isaac V. William- 
son, custodian. Board of Education ; Irving Hoagland, counsel ; and Dr. 
Ferd. E. Riva, physician. 



EAST BRUNSWICK TOWNSHIP 427 

East Brunswick Township — This township was created in i860, from 
a portion of North Brunswick and Monroe townships, and is situated 
nearly in the centre of the county. The boundaries are: On the north 
by New Brunswick and the Raritan river; on the east by South river 
and the borough of South River; on the southeast by South river and 
the boroughs of Spotswood and Helmetta ; on the south by Monroe and 
South Brunswick townships; and on west and northwest by South 
Brunswick township and Lawrence Brook. The township, as may be 
seen, is very irregular in form, and has, including the boroughs of 
South River and Spotswood, 13,130 acres. At the present writing the 
village of Old Bridge has applied to the Legislature for a borough 
charter. 

In 1720, Hartshorne Willett, grandson of Sir Thomas Willett, baro- 
. net, of England, settled on the west bank of South river, directly in front 
of where the borough of South River is located, and the place was 
known as Willettstown until about 1784, when Abraham Barkelew, a 
pioneer and great admirer of General Washington, renamed the settle- 
ment in his honor. The postoffice was first established under the name of 
Washington, and was so called until it became necessary to change the 
name on account of a postoffice of the same title in Warren county, 
and then the present name of South River was adopted by authority of 
the Postoffice Department. In the list of those who first came to the 
settlement appear the names of Messier, Obert, Norman, Kleine, Vree- 
land. Van Dcventer, Serviss, Ackerman, Booraem, Ogden, Letts, Tuni- 
son, Van Arsdalen, Combs, Bissett, Martin, Conover, Whitehead, Dun- 
ham and Hardenbrook; also Peterson, Stults, Gordon, Hager, Ricketts, 
King, Walker, Manahan, De Vo e^ Frazer, Sheppard, Price and many 
others. Shortly before the Revolutionary War, John Bissett and James 
and Leonard Appleby, of Monmouth county, located in the little colony. 
John Crommelin lived on the creek that bears his name. 

In 1800 Washington did not contain more than six houses. Reden 
Wood and Elias Doughty had a store and dock during the War of 
1812, and carried government goods to New York, via South river. 
Owing to the embargo at that time, quantities of goods were brought 
overland to the village, and carried thence to New York by water In 
1823 Vincent Barkelew opened a store on Main street, near the river. 
In the same year Samuel Gorden, of South Amboy, a prominent boat- 
man, located in the town and constructed a canal, authorized by the 
Legislature, from South river to the Raritan, to improve the navigation 
to New York. He also opened a road from the town to Cranbury 
village. His son Samuel built the first brick house in the town in 1825. 
About this time the postoffice was established by Frederick A. Kleine 
in a small building near the place where Theodore Willett's brick yard 
was afterward located. From 1825 to 1855 the peach trade was an 



428 MIDDLESEX 

important industry, and it was not unusual to see six or more sloops 
and schooners leaving daily for New York, laden with the fruit. Later 
on steamboats were used for transportation, until the trade began to 
decline owing to failing crops. Jonathan Booraem began building 
sloops and schooners in 1824 for river navigation, and later on, large 
coasting vessels. The yard continued in operation, conducted by his 
descendants for over fifty years. These industries caused an increase 
in population, and in 1834 the town had forty dwellings, three stores, 
six docks and two taverns. Before the railways came, the village 
occupied an excellent position on the most direct route from New York 
to Philadelphia. In 1823 a steamboat route was established between 
New York and the village, whence a regular line of stages, with facilities 
for freight, conveyed passengers to the Delaware river, at Bordentown. 
This line was superseded by the Camden & Amboy railroad, then com- 
pleted as far as Hightstown, about 1830. 

The Old School Baptist Church of Washington (on Main street. 
South River borough), is the oldest place of worship in the township, 
the deed conveying the ground upon which it stands being dated 1805, 
and it is believed that the church was erected previous to that year. 
It is a plain frame building, the porch supported by square pillars, and 
with no attempt at exterior ornamentation. The list of "constituent 
members" in the record book of 1805 contains the following names: 
Samuel, Martha and Sarah Willett ; Abraham, Stephen, Ruth and Sarah 
Barkelew; Peter and Mary Obert; Jacob and John Stults; Catharine 
and Sarah Dunham ; Joseph and Phebe Cheeseman ; Ephraim and Sarah 
Roff; Anthony and Linda Collins; James Hommann, Martha Mager, 
Martha Hooper, Charles Gilmore, Mary Van Sykle, L. M. Bowman, 
Catharine Craven, Mary Cotrall, Martha Davis, Anna Johnson, Samuel 
Pitney, Catharine Prooste, Linda Brown, Rebecca Owens, Ann Dean, 
Francis Letts, Jennie Van Cart, Rebecca James, and "Oliver, a man of 
color." As usual in such cases, the women are in the majority. Rev. 
Peter Wilson was the first pastor. Rev. James C. Goble ministered in 
1824, 1839 and 185 1. "Elder" Wilson Housel served for over thirty 
years, and is well remembered by many at the present time. Rev. John 
M. Fenton, of Philadelphia, preaches there monthly ; but there has been 
no settled pastor for many years. 

By an Act of the Legislature approved February 28, i860, all those 
parts of the townships of North Brunswick and Monroe hereinafter 
described are hereby set off and established as East Brunswick town- 
ship, viz: 

Beginning at the mouth of Lawrence brook, where it falls into the 
Raritan river; thence southwesterly up the said Lawrence brook to 
where Ireland's brook falls into the said Lawrence brook and the line 
of South Brunswick township; thence southeasterly up said Ireland's 
brook and line of South Brunswick to the line of Monroe township; 



EAST BRUNSWICK TOWNSHIP 429 

thence southwesterly along the township line of South Brunswick and 
Monroe to the line known as Bass' patent line; thence southerly and 
easterly along said Bass' patent to Manalapan river ; thence northeasterly 
down said river to the mouth of the stream that drains the Burnt Mead- 
ows; thence up the stream aforesaid to Slab Bridge; thence a due east 
course to Matchaponix river, and the line of South Amboy ; thence north- 
erly down Matchaponix and South rivers to the mouth of latter at 
Raritan river; and thence northwesterly up Raritan river to the mouth 
of Lawrence brook, the place of beginning. 

The first town meeting was held April 9, i860, at the hotel of Mrs. 
Van Cleef, in Spotswood village, with Stephen Martin as moderator, 
and Henry Gordon, clerk. The following township officers were elected : 

B. Frank Lloyd, judge of election; Stephen Smith, assessor; S. H. 
Barkelew, collector ; Henry Gordon, clerk ; Andrew Snowhill and James 

C. Stout, chosen freeholders; A. Vandeventer, school superintendent; 
Leonard Appleby, R. S. Herbert, Garret I. Snedeker, Furman Smith 
and John Griggs, township committee; Richard Serviss, overseer of 
poor ; Lewis W. Spencer and Jere. Rappelyea, surveyors of highways ; 
James Appleby, James Bissett and George Lane, commissioners of 
appeal. Among former chosen freeholders have been General L. L. F. 
Appleby, J. Biddle Herbert, Daniel B. Martin, James Bissett (director 
for many years), Charles P. and Isaac N. Blew and Abial Price. 

The first tavern in the township is supposed to have occupied the 
site where Samuel Gordon, Jr., built his brick house in the village of 
Washington, allusion to which has heretofore been made, and was 
kept for many years by Peter Obert. The next inn was the East Bruns- 
wick House, on Main street, and conducted for many years by the late 
Benjamin B. Walker. Abraham Barkelew and Joseph Gulick built the 
Washington Hotel, also on Main street, and it was for a long time 
under the management of the genial J. Cyrus Voorhees. Capt. Samuel 
Martin was the landlord in 1823. He was a noted pilot and took several 
steamers to California through Magellan's Straits. 

Samuel Whitehead, a native of England, came to this county about 
1820, purchased a large tract of land about four miles from Washington, 
engaged in peach culture, and accumulated a fortune. Retiring from 
that business about 1850, he commenced the mining and selling of 
fire clays, fire and moulding sands and kaolin, which has ever since 
been one of the most important industries in this locality. He found 
upon the lands of this, and adjoining townships, adjacent to river navi- 
gation, the above mentioned materials, which in a few years became 
the only source of supply of those articles to New York and other cities. 
The business is most successfully carried on by the third generation of 
the family. Whitehead, Jacob Eaton and Samuel Stout were actively 
engaged in the manufacture of white and stoneware between 1840-1860. 
Other miners and manufacturers of clay have been James Bissett, Wil- 



430 MIDDLESEX 

lett & Yates, and Pettit & Miller, the last named being the ultimate 
successors to John Griggs, who established the first yard. At Old 
Bridge, between 1835-1840, Leonard Appleby, James C. Stout and a Van 
Wickle manufactured fanning mills; and Stout also was engaged in 
distilling apple brandy and whiskey until 1878. John Dill operated a 
snuff mill about i860, and his son William conducted the business until 

1875- 

The Washington Monumental Cemetery, established December 6, 

1856, is located on an elevation just outside South River borough. It 

is well shaded by cedar trees and kept in excellent order. In the centre 

stands a monument about twenty-five feet high, on which are cut the 

names of the contributors to its erection in 1857. The Chestnut Hill 

Cemetery is situated on land purchased from James Bissett in 1861, 

northwest from and overlooking Old Bridge village. 

On February 28, 1870, the Legislature passed an act providing that 
the town of Washington should be governed by a board of commission- 
ers, elected annually, and defining the limits of the town as follows: 
"Beginning at South river, in a line of lands between Randolph Low 
and John Culver, and running thence, first, up said line, and on the same 
course, to the centre of the road leading from Old Bridge to New 
Brunswick, near (former) Sheriff Bissett's house; second, following 
the centre of said road, the different courses thereof, to a line of lands 
between Charles Vandeventer's and Messrs. Messler's; third, down the 
said line, and a line of Garline and Abraham Vandeventer to South 
River aforesaid; and fourth, up said river, the courses thereof, to the 
place of beginning." Among the commissioners have been Garret I. 
Snedeker, James Bissett, Charles Whitehead, W. C. Barkelew, Daniel 
Morgan, Fred Stults, George E. Brown, Thomas Booraem, Jonathan 
H. Peterson, Isaac N. Blew and Charles SerViss. 

Captain Thomas McDowell, who succeeded the firm of Gulick & 
McDowell, merchants, of Washington village, had an active and pic- 
turesque career. In 1836 he built a sloop for the river trade, in 1838 
a vessel for the coasting trade, and in 1848 a steamer for the Southern 
trade. In 1849 he became a pioneer merchant and business man, and 
an official at Sacramento City, California, and is said to have been mayor 
of that city. He revisited California in 1852 and 1858, was in business in 
Melbourne, Australia, in 1853-55, and was United States consul at the 
Cape of Good Hope, 1862-1864. He was fine looking, a good talker, and 
possessed of considerable ability. 

It is almost impossible to get a correct list of the Revolutionary 
soldiers from this vicinity; but, after consulting the paper written by 
the late Dr. Charles D. Deshler, of New Brunswick, in 1882, and other 
authorities, we are inclined to believe that the following were from this 
part of the county : Captain Thomas Combs, Lieut. Andrew McDowell. 



EAST BRUNSWICK TOWNSHIP 431 

Sergeants Simon Messier and James Griggs; Andrew Bissett, James 
Chambers, Jonathan, Samuel, Stephen and William Combs, William 
Davison, Peter Obert, Benjamin Ogden, Frederick Outgelt, Isaac 
Snediker, Peter Stults, Samuel and Hartshorn Willett and Samuel 
Whitehead. 

Old Bridge is a thriving village of about 2,000 population, located 
at the head of navigation on South river and is on the former Camden 
& Amboy railroad, about nine miles from Perth Amboy. It derives 
its name from the fact that the first bridge over the South river was 
built there, and as other bridges were placed across the stream, the 
first one became the "Old Bridge." It early became a point from which 
large quantities of produce, wood, and other merchandise, some of 
which was brought from miles beyond the limits of the county, were 
shipped, by way of South river, to New York. Soon after the close of 
the Revolutionary War, Gen. James Morgan and Jacob Van Wickle 
operated a pottery until 1828, and a second venture of a similar char- 
acter was started by one of the Bissetts about 1815 and continued until 
1830. General Obadiah Herbert settled in the village in 1810, becoming 
a large property owner. He opened a store, built a dock and ware- 
houses, and engaged largely in shipping wood and other merchantable 
property to New York. He had several vessels for the trade built 
in the village, and a ship yard was operated there for several years. 
A distillery established by James C. Stout in 1835, Van Wickle's fanning 
mill factory from 1835-1840, and that of Stout & Appleby from 1840- 
1850, and the snuff mill operated successively by John and William Dill, 
1860-75, were prominent enterprises of the past. A sawmill, clothing 
factory, and a blacksmith and wheelwright shop were also in operation. 

There are two churches, the Simpson Methodist Episcopal and the 
Independent Bethel Baptist. The public school is a handsome brick 
building, and is attended by about 125 scholars. Many of the older 
pupils attend high schools in New Brunswick and Jamesburg. Judge 
Andrew J. Disbrow, once sheriff, was postmaster for over forty-five 
years. There are two hotels and an excellent store. 

The following are the principal officials of East Brunswick township : 
Russell B. Herbert, assessor; George D. Rue, collector and treasurer; 
William L. Green, Alexander S. Conover and Henry Warnsdorfer, town- 
ship committee ; and Asher B. Rue, clerk. 

South Brunswick Township — The township is situated in the extreme 
southwestern part of the county, and bounded as follows: North by 
North and East Brunswick townships ; east by East Brunswick, Monroe 
and Cranbury townships; south by Cranbury township and Mercer 
county; and west by Somerset county. Its greatest length north and 
south was slightly more than eight miles, and from its extreme eastern 
to its extreme western part it measured eleven miles. The most exten- 



432 MIDDLESEX 

sive township of the county at the time" of its organization, and one of 
the earliest formed, it has long been historically one of the most inter- 
esting of those south of the Raritan. Its area was considerably reduced 
in 1872 by the formation from its territory of a portion of Cranbury 
township. 

The township was organized about 1685. In 1841 the Legislature 
authorized the township to vote by ballot at town meetings. Previous 
to that, the voters appointed a moderator, who conducted the elections 
by standing a candidate for office in a conspicuous place, and directing 
that such voters as were in favor of his election should place themselves 
on a given side of the road, and those opposed upon the opposite side. 
The count of votes was made by the moderator and the result declared. 

The nearness of the township to Princeton and Trenton caused it 
to be early occupied, and the passage through it of the Trenton turn- 
pike, and the more winding George's road, known later as the New 
Brunswick and Cranbury turnpike, have rendered it long familiar to 
travelers from New Brunswick southward. The old Friendship and 
Ridge roads were much traveled thoroughfares in the southern part, 
and the "great ditch," as it was called, in the northeastern part, is evi- 
dence of the time and money expended in the drainage of Pigeon Swamp, 
an extensive tract of marshland, long unreclaimed. The "Indian Fields," 
near the southeastern extremity, mark the location of an encampment 
when settlement began. 

The land is drained by Lawrence brook, which rises in the northern 
part of the township; by Devil's brook, in the southwestern; and by 
Heathcote's brook in the western part, the two last-named emptying 
into Millstone river, which flows for a considerable distance along the 
southern and western boundary of the township. The soil is fair 
tillable land and, like the greater part of the county south of the 
Raritan, abounds in gravel and contains much sandy and clayey loam. 
The New York division of the Pennsylvania railroad traverses the 
township north and south, and at Monmouth Junction unites with the 
Rocky Hill railroad and western extension of the Freehold & James- 
burg railroad. The Delaware and Raritan canal has its course in a 
northerly and southerly direction across the township's western part, 
parallel with the Millstone river, which it crosses by an acqueduct near 
Gray's Mills. 

Along the stage routes, taverns were established at an early date 
at Rhode Hall, Dayton and Kingston, and about these inns settlements 
gradually formed until the locality became generally populated. The 
pioneer landlord at Rhode Hall was David Williamson, from Scotland, 
who be.stowed upon the little settlement the name by which it has 
since been known. He came about 1730, purchased a large tract of 
land, and gathered about him a number of families, the majority of 



SOUTH BRUNSWICK TOWNSHIP 433 

which were Scotch by birth, or descent. Thomas McDowell located 
there in 1774, purchased Williamson's estate and engaged in farming 
and innkeeping. The Terhune family lived at Dayton, it is believed, as 
early as 1700, and there is a record of the birth of Garret Terhune, at 
South Brunswick, in 1737. Simmons and John Pierson, farmers, set- 
tled in the neighborhood about 1760. About 1774, Farrington Barkelew 
became an extensive landowner. John Probasco, carpenter, came about 
1775. The Van Dyke family located here before the Revolution, and 
left many descendants. Reuben Van Pelt and Benjamin Petty, farmers, 
located here between 1775 and 1780. William and John Rue, farmers, 
were early settlers, the latter living in the township during the Revo- 
lution. 

As early as 1700, Jediah Higgins purchased 1,000 acres near Kingston, 
from the Indians, the price being "a sow and a litter of pigs." This 
will doubtless seem strange to many, who do npt know of the love of 
the redmen for fresh pork. The Claytons have been and still are an 
influential family in the township. It is thought the first of the name 
was John, who located here soon after the Revolution. Samuel Combs 
settled at Fresh Ponds about 1780, bought much larid and established 
the first distillery in the township. Isaac and Daniel Slover, Hollanders, 
came about 1785. In a list of residents of the township who claimed 
to have sustained loss or damage to property during the Revolution 
appear the names of Armstrong, Bayles, Britton, Cruser, De Witt, 
Griggs, Groendyke, Longstreet, Skillman, Stothoff, Van Tine, Wagner 
and Wetherell. The settlement at Kingston, which is partly in South 
Brunswick, Somerset and Mercer counties, began at a very early date. 
Van Tilburgh and Withington were the pioneer landlords, the former's 
house being honored by frequent visits from Gen. Washington and the 
early Governors of the Province. Withington's was a great stage depot 
and one of the most famous hostelries in East Jersey. 

It was at Kingston that Washington's army eluded the British on 
the day of the battle of Princeton, by filing off to the left at the church, 
down a narrow road leading to Rocky Hill, while the enemy, supposing 
he had gone to New Brunswick to destroy their winter stores, kept on 
the main road. 

Dayton, a village southeast of the center of the township, and on 
the line of the New York division of the Pennsylvania railroad, was 
named in honor of William L. Dayton, of Trenton. On October 16, 1869, 
a Presbyterian church with fifty-eight members, principally from the 
First and Second Churches of Cranbury, was organized. The church 
was dedicated in 1870, the first pastor being Rev. J. W. Hubbard. The 
Baptist church was erected in 1848, and the first service was conducted 
by Rev. Jacob Gessner. No records of the church are known to exist, 
but a legal organization is maintained. A church was built at Monmouth 

Mid-28 



434 MIDDLESEX 

Junction in 1879, and was devoted to use of all Christian denominations. 
An old frame church was built many years ago, and served as a mis- 
sion church under the auspices of the Methodist Protestant denomina- 
tion. 

It is very probable that the first school house built was near Kingston. 
It is known that a church existed there in 1723 and that shortly after a 
school was connected with it. The first school house of which any 
information has been obtained was built in 1776. In 1831 another was 
erected in the southern portion of the township. There were early 
schools at Dayton (once called Cross Roads), and Rhode Hall. The 
present public schools are located at the following points: Sand Hills, 
Deans, Fresh Ponds, Ridge, Dayton, Rhode Hall, Pleasant Hill, King- 
ston and Monmouth Junction. 

Gray's Mill, Gray's grist mill, on the Millstone river, in the south- 
western part of the township, is the successor of a mill which stood 
there many years before the Revolution and was first known as the 
Aqueduct Mill, the earliest proprietor being one Cooley. During the 
Revolution it was burned, rebuilt and finally became the property of 
Alexander Gray, from whom the locality gained its present name. 
About 1810 Abraham built a sawmill at what is now known as Deans 
Station, on the Pennsylvania railroad. Aaron, Abraham's son, built a 
grist mill adjacent to the sawmill. In 1845 John H. Martin built several 
houses and opened a store there, and from that time until after the rail- 
road station was established the hamlet was known as Martinsville. In 
1852 Mr. Martin and J. C. Powers operated distilleries at and near Deans. 
Hay presses were established at Deans and Dayton in 1873 and 1875. 
North of Mapleton, on the Millstone river are quarries of gray freestone, 
which were used in the construction of locks on the Delaware and 
Raritan canal. 

The first public house in Dayton was kept by James Whitlock in 
1750. Thomas Wetherel built and conducted an inn there until about 
1818. Abraham Terhune erected the Exchange Hotel in i860. The 
first store was kept by Mrs. Abigail Van Pelt, who retailed all kinds of 
dry, and a considerable amount of "wet goods." Thomas W. Schenck 
conducted a remunerative store for about thirty years. Andrew Ely, 
a prominent citizen and formerly a chosen freeholder, has conducted an 
excellent general store for many years. 

Fresh Ponds, a hamlet, is located at a cross roads in the northeastern 
part of the township. It was so-called because of its proximity to several 
marshy ponds, known collectively as Pigeon Swamp, some years ago 
partially drained by the improvement heretofore alluded to as "the 
great ditch." 

Mapleton, taking its name from a family formerly located there, is 
a hamlet on the turnpike from Trenton to New Brunswick, and fifteen 
miles from the latter city. 



SOUTH BRUNSWICK TOWNSHIP 



435 



Among former chosen freeholders have been Aaron Dean, John 
Smock, Frederick Farr, Thomas W. Schenck, Gabriel Ten Broeck, 
Clarence M. Slack (afterward county clerk), David D. Applegate, John 
L. Suydam and Andrew Ely. 

The present township officials are : N. H. Vreeland, assessor ; Ferd. 
S. Rule, collector and treasurer; William Oberman, chairman; Reuney 
D. Petty and W. W. Emmons, township committee; George Walter; 
Walter Suydam, counsel; Dr. Edward Carroll, physician; William R. 
Perkins, pi-esident; Frank R. Stout, clerk; Reuney D. Petty, Harvey R. 
Dey, Salter Slover, C. B. Garretson, John Terhune, Noah Golden and 
William Van Dyke, Board of Education; Floyd L. Evans, supervising 
principal; Board of Health — Township committee, assessor and town- 
ship physician. 




CHAPTER XXXI. 

TOWNSHIPS OF MONROE, MADISON, RARITAN AND 

CRANBURY. 

Monroe is the most southern township in the county, and is bounded 
on the north by East Brunswick township, on the east by Madison 
township and Monmouth county, on the south by Monmouth and Mercer 
counties, and on the west by Cranbury and South Brunswick township. 
It was named in honor of James Monroe, the fifth President of the 
United States. It is watered centrally by the Manalapan river, and along 
its eastern border by Matchaponix creek, which, uniting at its northern 
extremity, form the South river. These two streams were so named 
by the Indians as descriptive of the country through which they flow, 
as it was regarded by them, "manalapan" signifying a good country, 
producing good bread, and "matchaponix" not producing anything out 
of which good bread might be made. The surface of the township is 
rolling, and the soil quite productive, containing clayey and sandy loam 
to a considerable extent. 

In 1684 the Proprietors of East Jersey offered to grant fifty acres of 
land to each head of a family settling in the Province, and twenty-five 
acres to each member of the family. Acting upon this offer James 
Johnstone came from Edinburgh, Scotland, in 1685, and settled on the 
southern bank of Manalapan river, near Spotswood, and within the 
present borders of Monroe township. He soon purchased additional 
land, extending toward Matchaponix creek, and was probably the first 
person to reclaim land in the township. William Davison, another 
Scotsman, located on a tract, part of which is now within the limits of 
Jamesburg borough. He had many descendants, who did much in 
improving the land and promoting the agricultural interests in that 
vicinity. Other early settlers were Tice and Peter Mount, Englishmen, 
at Matchaponix, known locally afterward as "Texas," in the north- 
eastern part of the township ; also, at Matchaponix, Joseph Perrine, of 
French extraction, his ancestors having fled from France after the 
revocation of the Edict of Nantes in 1685, and came to Perth Amboy on 
the "Caledonia." Peter Vanderhoof, James Gulick, farmer and black- 
smith, and Thomas McDowell, all settled at Rhode Hall, now in East 
Brunswick township. James Snediker, of Dutch nativity, located near 
the South Brunswick line, and lived to the age of one hundred. Cornelius 
Van Dome and Henry Stults settled in the vicinity of Prospect Plains. 

About 1745, Rev. David Brainerd, a Scotsman, who as a missionary 
had first preached to the Indians in the woods near Albany, New York, 
turned his attention to the Indians at the forks of the Delaware and at 



438 MIDDLESEX 

Crossweeksung, and his labors met with remarkable success in the fol- 
lowing year. When Alexander Redmond purchased the property in 
1 841, many cellars showing the location of the Brainerd settlement were 
visible, and Mr. Redmond long retained stones that had been used 
as hearths and many relics of the Indians were exhumed there. The 
brook from which Wigwam Grove took its name has its source in 
springs located in the former settlement. An old deed was in possession 
of Mr. Redmond dated July 12, 1754, whereby Rev. John Brainerd, 
brother of David, conveyed to Peter Deremer the land adjacent to 
Wigwam brook, including lands afterward owned by the Redmond 
family, Edmund Rue and the James Buckelew estate. The historic 
character of this locality is also interesting from the fact that Rev. 
William Tennent, at that time the remarkable pastor of the Tennent 
Church, at Englishtown, Monmouth county, was colaborer of Brainerd 
in his work. On the Monroe side of the Manalapan river were found 
remnants of a dam said to have been used by the Forge. Company (Perry, 
Corne and Hays), before the Revolution. 

The old burying ground on the farm of the State Home for Boys, 
near Jamesburg, is undoubtedly the oldest graveyard in the township. 
An old building that stood there for many years, it is said, was built 
during the French war of 1754-56, and was used for the confinement 
of French prisoners. In the graveyard are headstones bearing date 
previous to that time. In 1778, when the British army evacuated Phila- 
delphia, and the American soldiers pursued from June 26th to the 28th, 
the patriot army was almost within hailing distance of Jamesburg, and 
the inhabitants were very much in evidence, and gave all the aid in 
their power to their brothers in arms. William Lyon, a Continental 
soldier, served throughout the war, and was in almost all the battles 
in which the Jersey troops were engaged. He died in the township in 
1841. 

The history of the early schools at Matchaponix are shrouded in 
the mists of antiquity. They were of the kind known as "pay" schools, 
supported by popular subscription, and do not appear to have been 
kept in regular school houses. The first remembered were log cabins 
of a primitive character, and the teachers were men who came to the 
settlement without any regular employment and opened schools, depend- 
ing upon the voluntary support of the inhabitants. A desire on the part 
of many citizens for more educational advantages than were afforded 
by the public schools induced Mr. James Buckelew and others in 1873 
to erect a building for the use of an academic school, and to be known 
as the Jamesburg Institute. It was completed and opened that year 
by Mr. M. Oakey, and proved a decided success. The district public 
schools throughout the townships are now known as follows: Half- 
Acre, Matchaponix, Monroe, Grove, Old Church and Gravel Hill. 



MONROE TOWNSHIP 439 

Monroe township was created by act of the Council (Senate) and 
General Assembly of the State on February 23, 1838, and included 
all that portion o£ South Amboy township lying west of Matchaponix 
creek and Soiith river, consisting of about 22,000 acres. A portion of 
East Brunswick township was taken from Monroe in i860, and a por- 
tion of Cranbury township in 1872. The first town meeting was held 
at the house of Jacob Van Cleef, inn-keeper, April 2, 1838. Robert R. 
Vanderberg was town clerk continuously for thirty-two years. The 
first town committee consisted of Aaron Gulick, Peter W. Dey, John 
Applegate, Lewis Riggs and Thomas Potts. Among the Chosen Free- 
holders have been Joseph C. Magee, David M. and George Perrine, 
Anthony and John B. Applegate, Samuel D. Vanderberg, Peter Voor- 
hees, William Perrine, Frank Pownall and Robert R. Vanderberg. 

In 1845 James Buckelew and Nathaniel Rue established a stage 
route between Jamesburg and Freehold, connecting with the railroad to 
New York, carrying in the second year 5,000 through passengers. 
Afterward they operated a through line from Philadelphia to Long 
Branch, which gave way to the Freehold & Jamesburg Agricultural 
railroad, which began to run trains daily from Freehold July 18, 1853. 

The State Home for Boys (formerly known as the New Jersey 
Reform School), providing for a reform farm school for boys between 
the ages of eight and sixteen, was founded by the Legislature in 1865. 
A farm of 490 acres was purchased near Jamesburg, buildings erected, 
and the school opened July 6, 1867. The boys are taught the elementary 
branches of learning and are accustomed to farming. When regarded 
as fit for removal (in not less than a year after admission to the school), 
homes are sought for them, the trustees continuing their guardianship 
over them during their minority. The first board of control consisted 
of Governor Ludlow, Chancellor Runyon and Chief Justice Beasley, 
with six others, among whom were Moses S. Higbie, of South Amboy, 
and George W. Helme, of Jersey City. 

The Soldiers' Monument in the First Presbyterian Church Cemetery, 
at Cranbury, bears the names of the heroes of Monroe who gave their 
lives in their country's service during the Civil War. It is to the honor 
and credit of the township that in response to the demand of the President 
for the township quota of soldiers in 1864, a subscription was raised to 
defray the expense of placing the requisite number of men in the field, 
and so generous was the response that only half the money subscribed 
was required, and the balance was returned to the subscribers pro rata. 

The Jamesburg Sunday School Convention Association was organ- 
ized in 1866, and continued to hold annual assemblages in Wigwam 
Grove on the fourth Wednesday of August until about 1900. The origi- 
nators were John Dunn Buckelew, T. Wilton Hill, John D. and Wm. 
H. Courter, Rev. Dr. Benjamin S. Everitt, Alfred Davison, Joseph C. 



440 MIDDLESEX 

Magee, J. B. Tallman, F. L. Buckelew, William H. Mount, L. E. Riddle, 
A. I. Richardson, Franklin and Alfred W. Dey, C. W. Johnson, J. B. 
Thompson and others. It is estimated that as many as 12,000 persons 
attended some of these gatherings. 

Half-Acre is a small village, about two and one-half miles from 
Jamesburg. There are several curious stories as to how it gained its 
name, the most probable one being that in ancient times there were 
two roads passing the hostelry, one in front and the other in the rear. 
The latter was fenced in by the proprietor, Daniel Lott, said to have 
been the first occupant. This left an inclosure behind the tavern of 
half an acre, which caused the name of Half-Acre to be applied to the 
inn and later to the immediate vicinity. Prospect Plains is a station 
and a little village on the old Camden & Amboy railroad, on the western 
border of the township. Other small villages and hamlets are Red 
Tavern, Union Valley and Old Church. 

The following are the principal officials of the township: Assessor, 
Robert R. Vanderbergh ; collector, Ernest A. Mount ; treasurer, Harvey 
H. Dey ; clerk, Fred A. Clayton ; Board of Education — James F. Tilton, 
president; Frank M. Denton, A. G. Farr, G. Duer Piatt, Abijah Apple- 
gate, Raymond Croshaw, John R. and Harry M. Dey; and George 
Mount, clerk; town committee — ^John H. Butcher, Howard P. Jemison 
and Peter F. Dey; counsel, John V. B. Wyckoff ; and physician. Dr. J. C. 
Shinn, Jamesburg. 

Madison Township — ^This township is on the eastern border of the 
county, slightly south of the centre, and is a little more than eight miles 
in length, with an average width of about four miles. Its boundaries 
are.- North, South Amboy and Raritan Bay; southeast, Monmouth 
county; southwest, Monroe township; and northwest, East Brunswick 
township and South Amboy. The area is 19,560 acres, and much of it 
was formerly heavily wooded. The surface is rolling, and watered by 
several creeks and streams, the largest being Cheesequake creek, rising 
in the northern part and emptying into the Raritan river in the north- 
west corner of the township, forming for a short distance the boundary 
line between South Amboy and Madison. It is navigable nearly tj its 
headwaters. Deep run, a mill stream of some importance, furnishes 
good water power in the western portion of the township, and empties 
into South river a little northwest of the Madison line. Tenant's creek 
and Iresick's brook both flow into South river, the former near the 
township boundary line, and the latter near the Bloomfield Mills. 

South river and Matchaponix creek wash nearly two-thirds of the 
western border, and have been a source of material prosperity to the 
territory adjacent to them. The portion bordering on Monmouth is 
considerably higher than the remainder of the township, and more 
valuable for agricultural purposes. The soil is red shale and sandy 



MADISON TOWNSHIP 441 

loam; and west of Cheesequake creek are extensive and valuable beds 
of fire and potter's clays, which are a leading article of commerce. The 
native timber is pine, cedar, maple, ash and various varieties of oak, 
some of it having been found well adapted for ship-building and com- 
manding a ready and profitable sale. The Camden & Amboy branch of 
the Pennsylvania railroad runs along the northwestern border of the 
township for some distance. Old Bridge and Spotswood being conven- 
ient stations. 

It is probable that settlement began at Cheesequake, near the head 
of navigation on Cheesequake creek, and that there, and in the Brown- 
town neighborhood, the majority of the pioneers located. The first 
of the recorded land owners did not become residents; but purchasjcd 
the property with a view to its future value. On a map of the Raritan 
and South rivers, and the country bordering them for some distance 
inland, which was made between 1683 and 1686, by John Reid, deputy 
surveyor under George Keith (spoken of as a "disaffected Quaker," 
sent out by an English Episcopal organization, as a missionary) , several 
tracts of land at the mouth of Cheesequake creek are shown as belonging 
to T. L. and S. Winder, 1,000 acres; the Scots Proprietors and William 
Dockwra, 2,000 acres; and T. Warne, 1,000, portions of which must 
have been in the township as at present bounded. No connection 
between the Warne above mentioned and the present family of that 
name in Madison has been traced. 

David Owens settled near Cheesequake about 1730. One of his 
descendants owned a farm on the road to South Amboy, a portion of 
which contained one of the clay mines of Whitehead Brothers, of 
South River. David Hall at an early date located on the road from 
Cheesequake to Matawan, Monmouth county, and died there in the 
early part of 1800, leaving several descendants. David Bound came 
from Monmouth county about 1800, and owned a large tract of land along 
Raritan Bay shore. Members of the family are still residents of the 
township. Gen. James Morgan's father was an early settler in Cheese- 
quake, was largely interested in land extending along the Cheesequake 
creek to its mouth, and was a manufacturer of pottery before the Revo- 
lution. The general removed to South Amboy, and a number of his 
descendants continued to reside there for many years. Thomas Warne 
settled on the Mount Pleasant and Old Bridge turnpike previous to 
1800 and purchased a tract of 1,000 acres, a considerable portion of 
which is now owned by numerous descendants. 

Wynant Wood came to the township about 1800, and spent the 
remainder of his life there, leaving a large family. Edward Furman, 
grandfather of the late Noah Furman, of South Amboy, was an early 
settler on South river, near Old Bridge. He was a large shipper of 
wood from Old Bridge and South Amboy, and bought and sold much 



442 MIDDLESEX 

woodland. Josiah Burlew, whose fathef emigrated from Bokoluh, Han- 
over, Germany, was in the Revolutionary War, and lived on the main 
road from Qieesequake to South Amboy. His descendants still reside 
in the township. Mulford Martin was an early resident of Piscataway, 
and lived for a time in South Amboy before locating in Madison. His 
son, Mulford, was for many years a blacksmith in Cheesequake. Among 
other old residents were the Buckelews, Gordons, Hilliers, Wrights, 
Clarks, Seamans, Provosts, Bennetts and Bloodgoods. 

At a date probably considerably before the Revolution, a paper mill 
was established on the site afterward occupied by the Tecumseh Snuff 
Mills and, it is stated on good authority, in it was manufactured the 
paper upon which the Continental money was printed. In 1854 the 
Tecumseh Snuff Mills were built by Phineas Skinner, the firm eventu- 
ally becoming Skinner & Co., and for many years doing an immense 
and profitable business. On the site of the Bloomfield Mills, about 
midway between Old Bridge and Spotswood, on South river, Embley 
& Keyser began the manufacture of powder in 1805, and continued the 
business until 1833, when the plant was destroyed by an explosion. 

Otto Ernst has valuable clay mines near the head of Cheesequake 
creek. Other clay miners have been Noah Furman, Theodore Smith, 
Charles B. Reynolds, the Morgans and others. The Bloomfield Mill 
Company was organized in 1872 by R. Atkinson, Richard S. and F. C. 
Conover for the manufacture of licorice from the licorice root imported 
from Spain and Asia Minor. John Dill erected a snuff mill in 1830 
on Deep run, near the Mount Pleasant and Oldbridge turnpike, and was 
succeeded in the business by his son, William. Peter Jernee's grist mill, 
on Tenant's creek, was built at a very early date. 

The only village in the township is Cheesequake, on the South 
Amboy and Mount Pleasant road, at the head of Cheesequake creek, 
lying chiefly in the fork of two brooks which flow together to form that 
stream. We have never heard the origin of the name. One theory is 
that the marshy ground thereabout suggests the "quaking bogs" that 
exist in Ireland. An effort was made years ago to rename the village 
Jacksonville, in honor of President Andrew Jackson; but the laudable 
design failed, and Cheesequake it remains to this day. Before the 
advent of railroads the traffic along South river and Cheesequake 
creek was large, great quantities of produce and commerce, designed 
for shipment to New York, being brought to the various landings from 
far inland by teams for transfer to vessels. Ship yards were numerous, 
and potteries were in operation throughout the whole section for many 
years. The pioneer tavern was the old Morgan House, established by 
General Morgan's father in 1750. Other hostelries were conducted by 
Col. Nathaniel Hillier, Stephen Hall and James Lamberson. The 
earliest merchant was Stephen Hall, who had a grocery store in 1830. 



MADISON TOWNSHIP 443 

For many years former Sheriff Andrew J. Disbrow was a leading mer- 
chant and business man. Courtney Hall also had a store in 1830 and for 
a number of years later. 

The Baptist church at Cheesequake was erected in 1832, on the site 
formerly occupied by a log cabin, where the Old School Baptists held 
divine services. Twice each year Elder Silas H. Durand came from 
Southampton, Pennsylvania, and held services for two evenings, being 
conveyed thither by former Sherifif- Richard Serviss. On several occa- 
sions the only light in the building was furnished by an oil lamp on the 
pulpit, by which the gray-haired patriarch read his text from the Holy 
Book, closed the volume and preached eloquent sermons to an interested 
and devoted flock. The burying ground attached contains the graves 
of members of the pioneer families about the Cheesequake creek and 
its headwaters. The remains of others who came later were interred 
in the Methodist graveyard. The graves of Martha, daughter of Seth 
Ellison ; Obadiah, Eleanor, Abigail and Susan Burlew, and T. Rose bear 
dates ranging from 1798 to 1825. The grave of Capt. John Bowne, of 
the Continental army, is marked with a brown headstone, brought from 
England, and bears the following inscription, still fairly legible : 

How lov'd, how honored once avails thee not, 
To whom related, or by whom begot. 
A heap of dust is all remains of me; 
'Tis all thou art, and all the proud shall be. 

Occasional funeral services occur, but no regular religious meetings 
are held in the church. 

There are no known records in existence of the Methodist church 
that will give any idea of its early history. After the organization of 
the society, the congregation met in the old Baptist church until the 
erection of the present house of worship, which stands in the centre of 
the village. The oldest grave in the burying ground is that of Thomas 
Clark, bearing date July 30, 1805. Other graves bear the names of 
Mellenney, Mary, William and Joshua Warne, William and John R. 
Hall, Elizabeth Herbert, Francis Bloodgood and Noah Furman. 

Browntown is a small neighborhood, and owes its designation to 
the families of that name who resided in the locality. From an ancient 
document, still in an excellent state of preservation, we learn that John 
and Susannah Brown lived in a log cabin in 1737. One of his grand- 
children, Abram, became a State Senator, sheriff, and was a justice of 
the peace for many years. His son, the late Hendrick H. Brown, was a 
lay judge of the Court of Errors and Appeals and also of the Middlesex 
Court of Common Pleas, a town committeeman, and held several other 
offices. -Clarkson Brown, no relative of the above, was a prominent 
surveyor, and left a number of descendants. 

The public schools are at Morristown, Cheesequake, Cedar Grove, 



444 MIDDLESEX 

Browntown, Brunswick Gardens, Hillsboro and Millbridge. The Super- 
vising Principal is Raymond E. Voorhees. 

The township was organized March 2, 1869, with the following 
officers : Assessor, Courtney H. Warne ; collector, Abram Warne ; town- 
ship committee, Charles Brown, Hendrick H. Brown, A. L. Warne, 
George Dobson and Obadiah Clark; clerk, Martin L. Burlew. The 
present officials are: Assessor, Robert Higgins; collector, Harry W. 
Lambertson; township committee, Ebenezer Bowne, president; Wil- 
liam Oertel and Richard Burlew; clerk, Frederick Schulemeister ; coun- 
sel. Judge Henry Ackerson ; physician. Dr. Ira C. Crandall ; board of edu- 
cation, Arthur W. Brown, president ; Samuel Cosgrove, Walter D. Ben- 
nett, William Miller, Luther H. Quackenbush, Jacob Gaub, Charles 
Eifert, Parkinson, Dill; and William C. Ludi, clerk. Among former 
chosen freeholders have been Lawrence K. Hillier, David H. Brown, 
William R. Dill, Abram, Ira, Courtney and Hezekiah Warne, Joseph 
Driskell and Asbury Fountain, the last named being the director for 
a number of years. 

Raritan Township — This township, formed from portions of Wood- 
bridge and Piscataway townships on March 17, 1870, derives its name 
from the river that constitutes its southern boundary, and which took 
its title from the Indian tribe that dwelled in the hills and vales along 
its banks. The Indian word, Raritan, means "forked river," and refers 
to the two streams that united to form it. The township is generally 
described as equal portions of Woodbridge and Piscataway townships, 
bordering on the Raritan river, and extending back therefrom about 
three miles, the boundaries being: On the north by the Union county 
line, on the east by Woodbridge township, on the south by Raritan river 
and on the west by Piscataway township. This territory has, therefore, 
practically the same history, in its earliest days, as the above-mentioned 
townships. The pioneer settlers were the Stelles, Martins, Campbells, 
Bonhams, Dunns, Dunhams, Edgars, Comptons, Tappens, Thornalls, 
Hamptons, Ackens, Laings, Kellys, Ayres, Freemans, Bloomfields, 
Paynes, Robins, Mundys, Carmans, Rowlands, Laforges and others. 

The village of Piscataway town (formerly a part of that township), 
is the earliest settlement, dating back to 1668, and described as three 
miles from New Brunswick, one mile from the Raritan river and on the 
turnpike road from that city to Woodbridge, and contains an Episcopal 
church, a Baptist chapel, a store and some twelve dwellings. It was 
an old Indian village, and was once the seat of justice for Middlesex 
and Somerset counties, the courts being held alternately at that p'.ace 
and at Woodbridge. Stelton, about four miles from New Brunswick, 
on the Pennsylvania railroad, was settled by the Stelles in 1668. Bon- 
hamtown, five miles northeast from New Brunswick, was named for 
Nicholas Bonham, who was one of the first settlers, having become a 



RARITAN TOWNSHIP 445 

freeholder in 1682, and so recorded as owner of lands by allotment. 
The majority of the above-mentioned came from Newbury, Massachu- 
setts, and the balance were probably passengers on the vessels "Henry 
and Francis" and "Caledonia," both sailing from Scotland and landing 
at Perth Amboy. Many of these were Presbyterian Covenanters. 

It was at Stelton, alluded to above, that the Baptists established 
the first church organization in 1680. In 1748 the first house of worship 
was erected, very near the site of the present church. This was taken 
down in 1824 and in the following year a larger building was erected, 
which was destroyed by fire in 1859, ^"^ the present church was built 
in the same year. The pastor for about fifty years, and up to about 
1739, was John Drake, one of the early settlers. He was succeeded by 
Benjamin Stelle, of Huguenot ancestry, who served for twenty years, 
and was followed by his son, Isaac, who was pastor till 1781. From 
1783 till 1812 Reune Runyon, son of an early settler, was the pastor. 
The chapel in Piscatawaytown was an adjunct of the old church. Rev. 
L. H. Chamberlin is the present pastor. 

St. James' Protestant Episcopal Church was established in 1704 in 
Piscatawaytown, but it was not until twenty years later that the build- 
ing was completed. It was completely destroyed by a tornado in 1835, 
and the present church was erected during the same year. The first 
officiating clergymen were the Messrs. Brooks (who commenced his 
labors in 1704), Vaughan, Halliday and Keith. The parish subsequently 
passed into the charge of the missionaries at New Brunswick, and for 
many years was under the pastoral care of Rev. Dr. Alfred Stubbs, of 
that city. Among the vestrymen we find the names of Hopewell Hull, 
Thomas Wetherell, John T. Martin, Joel Dunham, John Conway and 
Edward Allen. The present rector is Rev. Mr. Gilford. The oldest 
gravestone in the cemetery bears the name of John Borrowe, died April 
9, 1733, aged sixty-six years. 

The first school house, built of logs in 1694, was in Piscatawaytown, 
near the old burying ground, adjoining the church. It was destroyed 
by the tornado in 1835, rebuilt in 1837 and enlarged in 1852. The most 
notable figure in educational affairs during the early part of the last 
century was Bethune Duncan. Born in Boston, June 6, 1786, he came 
to the Oak Tree school as teacher in 1819 and served as such for forty- 
five years, having as pupils the children of three generations. His former 
mercantile training, united to a good English education, and a genuine 
love for books and children, rendered him exceptionally capable as a 
teacher. An excellent penman, thorough in spelling, arithmetic and 
bookkeeping, a disciplinarian and devoted to his work, he proved most 
successful in his chosen work. Full of years, and beloved by young 
and old, he returned to the home of his sister in Waltham, Massachusetts, 
and there passed the remainder of his life. 



446 MIDDLESEX 

During the Revolution five British regiments were stationed at 
Bonhamtown, and robbed and harried the residents for a considerable 
period, burning the houses and barns, and committing other outrages. 
The people were very loyal to the patriot cause. Captain Nathaniel 
Leonard, who served throughout the war, died in 1803, and is buried in 
the old Presbyterian cemetery, near the railroad station, in Metuchen. 
In this ancient "God's Acre" are gravestones with dates ranging from 
1731 to 1836, and bearing the names of Campbell, Compton, Ayres, Car- 
man, Bloomfield, Eddy, Ford, Freeman, Knapp, Hampton, Kelly, Laforg^ 
and many others. The oldest is that of John Campbell, 1731, aged 72 
years. Next to that is the grave of Neil Campbell, who died 1777, aged 
forty-three. Lord Neil Campbell, brother of the Duke of Argyle, and 
like him obnoxious to the English government, was obliged to flee from 
Scotland, and arrived at Perth Amboy, with members of his family 
and retainers, in 1685. The two mentioned above were probably km 
of the famous family. 

The first township election was held April 16, 1870, in the old Me- 
tuchen Academy with the following result: Luther H. Tappen, assessor; 
Charles C. Campbell, collector; Manning Freeman, W. E. Crowell, 
Augustus Blackford, Theodore A. Wood and Augustus Stelle, town 
committee; John T. Martin, clerk; Michael M. Lupardus and Lewis 
Thomas, chosen freeholders ; Israel Thornall, overseer of poor. Among 
other chosen freeholders have been R. Bruce Crowell, Alexander Camp- 
bell, Thomas N. Acken, Manning Freeman, Forman Martin and Luther 
Tappen. Freeman and Tappen were also members of the General 
Assembly. Henry and Thomas N. Acken, Lupardus, Chas. C. Campbell 
and Wm. F. Carman have been sheriffs. 

There are eight excellent schools, viz : At Piscatawaytown, Bon- 
hamtown, Oak Tree, Stelton, Fords, New Durham, Menio Park and 
Lafayette, with 1,200 pupils, and Charles Runyon as supervising princi- 
pal. The board of education is composed of the following: Charles 
Anderson, president; Otto Will clerk; Oliver Kelly, W. T. Woerner, 
Jere. W. Letson, Jacob Becker, William F. Miller, Percival E. Dixon, 
and John O'Connor. William R. Drake, custodian. 

One of principal interests of the township is the mining, shipping 
and manufacturing of fire-clay, fire-sand and kaolin. The M. D. Val- 
entine & Brother Co. has an extensive factory midway between Fords 
and Metuchen, on the line of the Lehigh Valley railroad, where a large 
amount of fire-brick is made. The Raritan Ridge Clay Company, with 
mines and docks on the Raritan, is a large shipper of clay, sand and 
kaolin. The late firm of Robert N. and Howard Valentine, Henry 
Maurer & Sons and Charles Bloomfield, are also miners and shippers. 
The Pennsylvania railroad passes through the township east and west, 
while the Lehigh road, passing through from Easton to the coal fields, 
gives all needed fuel to the factories and dwellings. 



RARITAN TOWNSHIP 447 

The New Dover M. E. Church was built in 1848 by an organized 
congregation, after it became united with the Woodbridge church in the 
preceding year. At the Conference in 1850 it was made a separate 
charge. In 1856 the Metuchen church was united with New Dover ; but 
the latter was again made a separate charge in 1858, and has so con- 
tinued until the present time. The pulpit is filled by supplies from the 
Conference. 

New Durham, near the border between Piscataway and Raritan town- 
ships, is a hamlet composed of a number of families and a school house. 
Menlo Park, on the Pennsylvania railroad, a few miles from Metuchen, 
has a few houses, a postoffice and a school. Thomas A. Edison, the 
noted inventor, made it his home for several years, and built a minia- 
ture electric railway there, before he removed to Orange. 

The present township ofiScers are W. T. Woerner, assessor ; Paul F. 
Randolph, collector; W. R. Woodward, clerk; S. W. Heath, Martin 
Conway and Everett B. Tappen, committee; William R. Drake, treas- 
urer; and Edmund A. Hayes, counsel. 

Cranbury Township — Cranbury, originally containing nine thousand 
one hundred and sixteen acres, is territorially the smallest township 
in the county and was the last organized. In its entirety it is the most 
southern, although the southern extremity of Monroe extends further 
southward. It is bounded north by South Brunswick and Monroe 
townships, east by Monroe, south by Mercer county and west for a 
short distance also by Mercer county. The surface is slightly rolling, 
and the soil well cultivated and generally quite productive. It is 
drained by Cranbury brook, which flows across it from east to west, 
and the Millstone river, which runs along its southern border. The 
Amboy division of the Pennsylvania railroad marks a portion of the 
eastern border and the main line of the same road crosses the township 
near its southern extremity. 

The earliest records are to the effect that after the confirmation of 
the grant of East Jersey to the twenty-four Proprietors by the Duke 
of York (March 14, 1682), John Haywood and Thomas Cooper being 
included in the twenty-four, that Haywood conveyed his share to Robert 
Burnett, who divided his land and sold it in parcels, one of which, 
embracing a tract in Cranbury, bounded east by George's road and south 
by Cranbury brook, was granted in 1703 by Isabella McKenzie to 
Philip French, of New York City. In 1734 French sold this tract to 
Noah Burton, who sold the part on which nearly the whole of the 
northern portion of Cranbury has been built, to Samuel Leonard. From 
him it passed to Peter Wyckoff, and a portion of it is still in the pos- 
session of his descendants. Cooper appears to have retained the land 
embracing that part of the village south of the brook until 1683, when 
he sold one-half nf his tract to Sir John Gordon, whose son, Robert 



448 MIDDLESEX 

Gordon, sold the same to John Rochead in 1720. In 1736, Rochead 
conveyed four and one-half acres along the brook to Thomas Grubbs, 
doubtless as a site for a grist mill, as it is recorded in 1741 that Grubbs 
conveyed the same lot, together with a grist mill, to John Collins. It 
is not known how large a settlement at that time had grown up about 
the mill, which must be regarded as the probable nucleus of the town. 
The settlement received its name from the brook on whose banks it had 
its beginning, and the village transmitted the name to the township. 
When and by whom Cranbury brook was named is not known, and in 
former years it was often erroneously spelled "Cranberry." The name 
of the fruit cranberry is of Scotch origin. It was called "craneberry," 
from a real or fancied resemblance of its stem to the neck of a crane, 
and was modified by dropping the "e." It was the badge of the clan 
Grant. The name was undoubtedly given to the brook from the fact 
that the berries were found upon its meadows. The old British custom, 
which our early fathers followed, was to call a district or town a bor- 
ough, which was contracted into "burg," or "bury." When the village 
began to grow it was called Cranborough, or, contracting it, Cranbury. 
It is possible that a few later settlers located west of the present town, 
toward Plainsboro; but it is not considered probable. In July, 1739, 
James Rochead conveyed to Coert Van Voorhees and Thomas Storey 
a lot adjoining the mill property, "to be for the use of the Elders and 
Deacons of the Presbyterian Church of Cranbury, for erecting a house 
of worship, in consideration of Two Pounds to him in hand duly paid." 

The settlement must by that date have contained a number of 
families, as a church had been formally organized. Voorhees and Storey 
conveyed the lot to Nicholas Stevens and Peter Perrine, elders, and 
John Brown and William Magee, deacons of said church, which is 
thought to have been only recently organized. At the meeting of the 
Presbytery of New Brunswick in 1738, John Chambers came, as a 
commissioner from Cranbury, asking for a supply. Rev. Gilbert Ten- 
nent was appointed to preach there and at Allentown, Monmouth county. 
At a subsequent meeting, in the autumn of the same year, Stephen 
Wagner presented a petition from the people of Cranbury and vicinity, 
asking advice concerning a house of worship. It appears that Presby- 
terians and "people of the Church of England persuasion," as they were 
termed, had united in building a church on the spot afterward occupied 
by the "Old Church" school house, east of Cranbury, in Monroe town- 
ship. When the house was built, and how it was used, it has not been 
possible to ascertain ; but a school was conducted there for many years. 
The Presbytery met at Cranbury and advised that one of the parties 
sell their right. The Presbyterians evidently sold out, for the next year 
they took measures to erect a church near the mill. A number of the 
early settlers have been alluded to, and among others may be mentioned 



CRANBURY TOWNSHIP 449 

Thomas Duncan, John Van Kirk, Matthias Mount, Joseph Clayton, 
Charles Barclay, Matthew Griggs, Reuben Davison, Stephen Pangborn, 
Peter Gulick, William Dey, Peter Bergen, Robert Mershon, Andrew 
Applegate, Henry Stults, Joshua Ely, William Jewell, John Reed, John 
Van Dyke, Jacob Deremer and others. In the journal of Rev. David 
Brainerd, missionary to the Indians, appears this record: "June i8, 
1745. In the afternoon came to a place called Cranbury, and lodged with 
Rev. Charles McKnight." The latter was pastor of the Presbyterian 
church, 1744-1778. In 1746, Brainerd, with some of his Indian con- 
verts and followers, came to this vicinity. At the north end of the town 
stood a lordly elm, under whose branches he preached to his aboriginal 
congregation. The most friendly relations existed between Brainerd 
and McKnight, and it is said they often preached for each other. 

The early growth of the village was very slow, and in 1810 there were 
only fifteen houses. David Chambers appears to have been the first 
storekeeper, doing business near the mill in 1800, and was there for 
years afterward. In 1807, one Halsey had a store near the site of the 
old United States Hotel, and nearby Mershon and Hawley opened a 
store in 1812. Charles Carson was in business from 1815 till 1823. The 
next merchants were Reuben Morris and Benjamin M. Clarke, the latter 
continuing until about 1830. The first hotel, the "United States," stood 
on the Main street, about six hundred feet east of the mill pond, and 
was built by Peter Perrine as a dwelling; but was converted into a 
hotel by Timothy Horner in 1805. The American Hotel was conducted 
by Henry Wagoner at an early date, and in 1868 was owned and kept 
by Mrs. Maria Bowne. It was removed to a side street, near Main, 
renovated, and is now used by the Free Public Library. The first resident 
physician was Dr. Titus, who came prior to 1800, and Dr. Ralph Lott 
and Dr. Van Dyke located here in that year. Dr. Horatio Stansbury 
came in 1816, Dr. John Lott in 1825, Dr. Garret Voorhees in 1830, and 
Dr.- Selah Gulick in 1834. It would seem the locality was not remarkably 
healthful. 

The water power of Cranbury brook was first utilized in 1738. The 
mill of Thomas Grubbs, built in that year, was destroyed by fire in i860, 
but soon rebuilt. The WyckofF mills, in the extreme southeastern part 
of the township, were built in 1871. The grist mill of Joseph H. Grover 
was midway between Cranbury and Plainsboro, and that of George W. 
Thompson was located at the latter place. The following artisans were 
busy in the early days: Isaac De Bow, blacksmith, 1750; Matthew A. 
Rue and John Hagerman, wheelwrights ; William Conover, Aaron Lane, 
Henry Van Deventer, David Chambers, and John and James Clark, 
tanners; Isaac Van Arsdale, hats; M. A. Rue and Nathaniel Britton, 
distillers. Commencing in 1861 Peter Bergen for many years manu- 
factured carriages and light wagons of every description. 

Mid— 29 



450 MIDDLESEX 

The principal business of the town is the American Steam Coffee and 
Spice Mills, established by the late John S. Davison and John S. Silvers 
in 1866, and now known as the J. S. Silvers & Bro. Co., with the fol- 
lowing officers: J. J. Bradley, president; Abram Voorhees, treasurer; 
and C. Raymond Wicoff, secretary. The business has steadily increased 
from the year of its beginning, and it now ranks as one of the largest 
of its kind in the country. The National Musical String Company, of 
New Brunswick, has a branch factory in the south end of the town. 

The first schools in the township were in Cranbury village, and were 
supported by the payment of a stated tuition per scholar, and kept in 
school houses built by subscription. The teachers boarded with the 
different families, staying with each a week or more, or as long as he 
was welcome and liked the fare. The village had two schools previous 
to 1896, one in the north and the other in the south end of the town, the 
former being called "Bunker Hill," and the latter the "Academy." In 
the above year the districts were consolidated and the present fine 
brick building was erected. There are eight rooms, with as many 
teachers, and the pupils are carried through the eighth grade. There is 
an attendance of two hundred. Miss Laura Scudder is the principal. 
The following compose the Board of Education : Le Roy Scott, president ; 
S. H. Perrine, clerk; Howard J. Butcher, E. S. Barclay, George B. 
Mershon, A. C. Grover, Grover Stults, Raymond Griggs ; and W. F. 
Perrine, custodian. Floyd L. Evans is the supervising principal. 

There was a Presbyterian church, more or less organized, in July, 
1739, as has been previously stated. No record can be found of the 
organization, although the date was probably 1738. The new building 
was erected in 1740 and stood for forty-eight years on the highest part 
of the old cemetery. There was no settled pastor until July 18, 1744, 
when Rev. Charles McKnight was installed. Rev. William Tennent, 
of Freehold, preaching the sermon. Mr. McKnight, though unmarried, 
kept house, as is evidenced by the fact that Brainerd, the missionary, 
lodged with him, and it is entered in the minutes of the Presbytery, 
October 5, 1746, "Mr. McKnight could not attend with the committee 
to install Mr. Hunter, because he was absent marrying a wife." For 
forty years there are no records of the church. Mr. McKnight removed 
to Allentown in 1756, and thence to Shrewsbury and Middletown Point, 
Monmouth county, in 1767. It is an indication of his sympathy with the 
colonies that during the Revolutionary War his church was burned, 
and that he was seized by the British. He died in New York, January 
I, 1778, and was buried in Trinity churchyard. 

The church was without a stated pastor for six years, until 1762, 
and during this interval the parsonage property was purchased. Rev. 
Thomas Smith was installed pastor in 1762 and remained a,s such until 
his death, December 23, 1789. During his ministry, in 1788, a new church 



CRANBURY TOWNSHIP 451 

was erected where the present house now stands. It is to be regretted 
that we know nothing of the church during the Revolution, and have 
no list of the officers and soldiers of the army. In 1790 one hundred 
and fifty acres, formerly the property of James Rochead, was conveyed 
to Nathaniel Hunt, Jonathan Combs, Thomas McDowell, Jacob Fisher, 
William Cowenhoven, Samuel Longstreet and Humphrey Mount, trus- 
tees of the church. Rev. Gilbert Tennent, of Philadelphia, was installed 
September 24, 1790, and was a zealous and faithful pastor until February 
20, 1797, when he died from yellow fever, contracted during a visit to 
New York. Rev. George Spofford Woodhull, son of Dr. John Woodhull, 
of Freehold, was pastor for twenty-two years, and accepted a call to 
Princeton in 1820. Rev. Symmes Cleves Henry, son of James Henry, 
of Lamington, colonel in the New Jersey Militia, was made pastor in 
1820, and continued as such until his death, March 22, 1857. His son- 
in-law. Rev. Joseph G. Symmes, then of Madison, Illinois, succeeded him 
and served the church until his death in 1894, and was followed by Rev. 
J. E. Curry, the present pastor. In 1838 a diversity of opinion arose as 
to building a new church, the building then occupied being filled to over- 
flowing. This resulted in the formation of the Second Church. In 
1840 the old church was rebuilt and considerably enlarged. The 
building is handsomely furnished and evidently receives the best of 
care. On the wall hangs the framed charter, granted by King George 
II., of England, dated February 23, 1750, approved by the Royal Council 
assembled at Burlington, and signed by Jonathan Belcher, Governor and 
Captain-General of the Province of New Jersey, to the Presbyterian 
Church of Monmouth county, and naming the first trustees, as follows : 
John Little, Jr., Christopher Longstreet, Jonathan Forman, John Ander- 
son, James Robinson, John Henderson, Stephen Pangborne, Robert 
Imlay, and Tobias Polhemus. Colonies have gone out from this church 
to form the following churches, in whole, or in part : Spotswood Re- 
formed, 1816; Millstone, 1826; Second Cranbury, 1838; Jamesburg, 1854; 
Manalapan, 1856; and Hightstown, 1857. In one hundred and thirty 
years there were but six pastors. How many churches can show such 
a record? 

Those who had withdrawn from the First Church, as above stated, 
built a church, which was dedicated June 26, 1838, and Rev. J. W. 
Blythe was installed as the first pastor of the Second Presbyterian 
Church. The first Ruling Elders were Jacob and Isaac G. Snediker, 
Elias Day, Aaron Lane, Dominicus Mershon and John Covert. A 
new chapel was built in 1869 to replace the former one, which was sold 
and removed. Many members of the church were united with the 
Jamesburg church in 1854, the Manalapan church in 1856, the Hights- 
town church in 1857, and the Dayton church in 1869. A cemetery 
of about three acres adjoins the church, and was established in 1838. 
The present pastor is the Rev. Frederick Schweitzer. 



452 MIDDLESEX 

Previous to 1847 Methodist services were held at the houses of 
members of an organization of that denomination wrhich had then been 
formed. On December 10, 1847, the organization was perfected and the 
following trustees were elected: Matthew A. Rue, Isaac Silvers, Elijah 
Brown, Gilbert S. Day, James Prall and Reuben Sutphen. A church 
was erected and dedicated March 13, 1851, with Rev. John B. Hill, the 
first settled pastor. In 1868 the membership had increased to such 
an extent that the church was enlarged, thoroughly renovated, and pro- 
vided with a spire and bell. Rev. L. E. Lennox is the pastor. 

A number of Baptists located in the village at an early date, and 
established a church in 1749. In 1788 it was removed to Hightstown. A 
burying ground existed during the time it was here ; but was practically 
abandoned after the removal. The last headstones had the dates 1761 
and 1783, and bore the names of John Taylor and John Chamberlain. 
The Mutual Fire Insurance was organized May 31, 1879, with the fol- 
lowing officers: Ezekiel Silvers, president; Richard C. Dey, vice-presi- 
dent ; D. C. Lewis, treasurer ; John G. Groves, secretary ; Alfred Davison, 
Isaac Covert, William S. Dey, John R. Hunt, Martin Cruser, Arnold 
F. Stout, A. J. Duncan and John Wyckoff, directors. The "Cranbury 
News" appeared in 1882, the first journal published in the town. For 
nearly thirty-six years George W. Burroughs has published the "Cran- 
bury Press," furnishing the town with one of the best local papers in 
the State. 

The Brainerd Cemetery, which includes the old burying ground, 
situated at the rear of the first Presbyterian church, is historically a 
most interesting spot. It contains the graves and monuments of six 
pastors of the church, elders and deacons, pioneer settlers, and those 
who have given their lives in the service of the country. The Soldiers' 
Monument contains the names of those who served in the Civil War 
from the townships of Cranbury, Monroe and South Brunswick, as 
follows : Col. Jos. McChesney ; Capts. Symmes Stults and John H. Van 
Dorn; Lieuts. Marcus Stults, Uselma Duncan and James C. Burt; and 
Chas. R. Stout, Winchester S. Bennett, Austin W. Roberts, Perley F. 
Winchester, George W., John and Thomas J. Conover, Wm. Vreeland, 
Wm. Moore, James Rhodes, John T. McDowell, John H. Rue, Isaac S. 
Dey, Isaac V. Blackwell, Alfred and Price P. Blake, Wm. V. P. Davison, 
John Read, Alfred S. and SaflFord Perrine, Wm. H. Silvers, Salter Stults, 
Wm. Clayton, Thomas Dugan, Robert F. Perrine, Lewis D. Hughes; 
Garret, Henry A. and Edward Anderson; Jonathan Hunt, Thomas F. 
and James M. Applegate, Curtis W. and Leonard W. Dunham, Alfred 
Carman, Peter G. Rue, Cornelius Booraem, Elwood Silvers, Joseph and 
Thos. Jolly, Jefferson L. Rogers, James B. Snediker, Jas. Little, John 
Compton, Van Wickle Riggs, R. M. Brown, David Provost, Thos. Van 
Hise, George W. Cathcart, Thomas Smith, Robert C. Voorhees, Richard 



CRANBURY TOWNSHIP 453 

Cox, Wm. H. Craig, Joseph Roth, Richard Baker, George F. Labaw, 
John Thompson, Wm. H. PuUen, Peter N. Abraham, Frank Berkley, 
Patrick Kelly and Wm. H. Soden. 

The following are the surviving veterans of the Civil War in this 
township, at the present writing: Charles Everingham and Charles 
Chamberlain, 28th N. J. Volunteers ; Isaac S. Everett and Samuel Dean, 
22nd N. J. Volunteers; Thomas Perrine, ist N. J. Volunteers; and 
Addison S. Appleget and Wm. J. Walker, 2nd N. J. Cavalry. 

The following is the list of those who were in the service of the 
country during the late World War, as taken from the roster in the 
First and Second Presbyterian churches: 

George, Harold C, William S. and Willard Applegate; Alexander 
S. and Charles H. Butcher, Lieut. William S. Bull, M. D., Rolland S. 
Dey, Clarence R. Ervin, Newell Erickson, J. L. Havens, Warren F. and 
Winfield Johnson, Frederick L. Hoffman, George Seaforth, Nicholas 
Vreeland, Alexander Walton and Henry S. Wilson. 

Carl Belou, John T. Bray, Walter J. Griggs, Raymond Lawrence, 
David C. Lewis, C. Augustus Long, John Martin, John N. Stonaker, 
Frederick Schweitzer, William A. Taylor, Lynn K. Theriault, James A. 
Vreeland and William M. Watson. 

The township was incorporated by Act of the L^islature, March 7, 
1872, and directed to hold the first town meeting at the inn of William 
Stults in Cranbury village. Ezekiel Silvers, Matthew A. Rue and D. 
Chambers Lewis were appointed commissioners to transact the town- 
ship business until their successors should be elected. Edward A. 
Brown was made town clerk, and Ezekiel Silvers and Matthew A. Rue 
were the first chosen freeholders. In later years Abijah Applegate, 
Peter R. Bergen, D. C. Lewis, Gabriel M. Ten Broeck, James H. Good- 
win and others filled the office, and the last named was for two terms a 
member of the General Assembly. 

The Village Improvement Society, under the auspices of the Town 
Committee, maintain a free Public Library, open on Tuesday and Fri- 
day evenings and containing about five hundred volumes. The officers 
are: Mrs. George B. Mershon, president; C. B. Emmons, secretary and 
treasurer; and Miss Hattie Lewis, librarian. 

The building formerly known as Brainerd Institute, and conducted 
for many years as a college preparatory school, has been converted into 
a Home for the Feebleminded, and is managed by Dr. Elsie Gordon. 

The First National Bank was organized in 1884 and occupies a 
substantial brick building on Main street. The following are the officers : 
E. S. Barclay, president; Walter S. Grover, vice-president; George B. 
Mershon, cashier; William J. Rowland, Andrew Ely, H. N. Scott, S. E. 
Bennett, Lewis S. Chamberlin, Daniel W. Clayton, and the above offi- 
cers, directors. 



454 



MIDDLESEX 



The following are the township ofifiicials : C. Raymond Wicoff, asses- 
sor; Wm. F. Perrine, collector; Joseph C. Chamberlin, Le Roy Scott 
and William M. Cox, town committee; Walter H. Havens, clerk; John 
P. Kirkpatrick, counsel ; Dr. B. S. Van Dyke, physician, board of health ; 
E. W. Walker, postmaster. 




HIGH SCHOOL, MBTUCHEN. 




CIVIC CLUB, AIETUCHEN. 




HIGHLAND PARK. 



CHAPTER XXXII. 
THE BOROUGHS OF MIDDLESEX COUNTY. 

Borough of Metuchen — The origin of the name has long been defi- 
nitely settled. The Indians of New Jersey were divided among twenty 
kings, or sachems, of whom the king of the Raritans was the greatest. 
His domain extended all along the valley of the Raritan river, of which 
this locality was a part. It is said that the name Metuchen, variously 
spelled, is appended to a deed of land among the papers of the New 
Jersey Historical Society. The word in the Indian tongue means "the 
rolling land," and refers to the undulating character of the country. 
It is common tradition that a chief called Metuchen had his camp, or 
village, in this vicinity, and is said to have been buried on the farm 
formerly owned by the late Lebbpus Ayres. 

The borough is situated nearly in the centre of Raritan township, 
and is about two miles square, with a population of three thousand. 
It was organized in 1900, with William R. Thornall as the first mayor. 
His successors have been Alexander C. Litterst, Richard H. Wilson, 
Samuel H. Clark, Washington Wilson, Henry B. Johnson, Jesse Jack- 
son, Dr. Alfred L. Ellis, Thorfin Tait, and the present incumbent, who 
has been three times elected. The term is two years. 

It is said that a postoffice was first established in Metuchen in 1832, 
with George B. Stelle as postmaster. Ever since the office was removed 
to the central part of the town the postmasters have been the following : 
R. R. Freeman, Ezekiel Merritt, Freeman Edgar, Thomas Van Siclen, 
John J. Clarkson, J. E. Van Geisen, Albert Acken, R. O. Arnold, Charles 
Ayres, Nathan Robins, Howard Campbell, Edward Burroughs and 
David A. Power, the present incumbent. 

The High School, a handsome brick building, erected in 1908, has 
all the modern appliances and improvements and is efficiently con- 
ducted by the supervising principal. Prof. Thomas G. Van Kirk. The 
Edgar Memorial Public School was built in 1916, from a bequest made 
by the late Charles S. Edgar, a life-long resident; he also gave to the 
borough land for a public park, near the school. The following con- 
stitute the Board of Education: Charles A. Prickitt, president; George 
E. Kelly, vice-president; Stelle Manning, Mrs. Susanna Molineux, Miss 
Harriet Alden, Charles E. Mundy, Bernard Wittnebert, Ralph B. Annis 
and N. A. Roray. District clerk, O. R. Drews. 

The First Presbyterian Church of Metuchen, formerly known as 
the Second Church of Woodbridge, was organized in or before 1767, 
as a paper is on record referring to its union with the Woodbridge 
church on August 5th of that year, proving that it had before that an 



456 MIDDLESEX 

independent existence. Rev. Dr. Azel Roe was settled as pastor of the 
Woodbridge church in 1763, and by the union in 1767 became the co- 
pastor of the two churches, the Session of Woodbridge serving foV both. 
The church was regularly incorporated as the Second Presbyterian 
Church of Woodbridge in 1787 and Benjamin Manning, John Conger, 
Ebenezer Ford, Ellis Ayres, Timothy Bloomfield, and John and Robert 
Ross were chosen its first trustees. It is probable that some place of 
worship existed on a part of the land selected as a graveyard by the 
early inhabitants, and there is an impression that the church standing 
during the Revolution was the second building upon the same spot, 
the former structure having been an old barn. The size of the church 
was about 36x24 feet, had a shingle exclosure, was unpainted and without 
a steeple. In 1792 it was enlarged by an addition of fifteen feet, the 
bids for the work being as follows : By Mr. Jonathan Freeman — "Himself 
6 shillings per day; one hand at 5 shillings, one at 4 shillings and six- 
pence and an apprentice at 3 shillings and sixpence ; and asks no rum, 
or other spirits, and will through (throw) in as much work as any other 
undertaker." By Mr. Johile Freeman — "For himself 6 shillings per day, 
& 3 journeymen at S shillings and sixpence per day, and will through 
(throw) in 10 days for one hand, and asks no spirits, if found with small 
beer." Jonathan secured the contract. 

The union of two churches was dissolved on May 16, 1793, and in 
the following year Rev. Henry Cook became the pastor and served most 
acceptably until his death in 1824, when Rev. Michael Osborn became 
pastor for three years, and was followed by Rev. Holloway W. Hunt, 
of Kingwood, Hunterdon county, who occupied the pulpit for eighteen 
years. In 1829 he married Henrietta, daughter of Ezra Mundy, of 
Metuchen. His son. Dr. Ezra M. Hunt, was one of the most talented 
and useful men of his day. He was a physician and surgeon in the 
Union army during the Civil War, and for many years after a capable 
and influential ofificial of the State Board of Health. In 1870 he wrote 
an accurate and comprehensive history of the town and vicinity. 

A new church was built in 1836 and enlarged to its present dimensions 
in 1856. Rev. Peter H. Burkhardt was pastor from 1847 till 1850, and 
was followed by Rev. Robert J. Finley, who remained until 1857, and 
was succeeded by Rev. Gardner S. Plumley, who resigned in 1876. 
He was followed by Rev. Dr. James Gilbert Mason, who is now serving 
his forty-third year as pastor. In the new cemetery, between the church 
and parsonage, may be found many names recalling the Colonial times, 
viz : Fitz Randolph, Campbell, Manning, Crow, Conger, Freeman, Edgar, 
Hampton, Compton, Martin, Vanderhoven, Tappen, Thornall, Ayres, 
Bloomfield, Crowell, Kelly, Acken, Mundy, Hunt, Thomas, Clarkson, 
Payne and others. 

The First Reformed Church was organized December 27, 1857, by 
about forty persons, who took their letters from the Presbvterian Church. 



BOROUGHS OF MIDDLESEX COUNTY 457 

Smith and David Bloomfield, Albert Edgar and David Thomas were 
chosen as Elders, and Martin Compton, William F. Manning, Henry 
Weston and Charles E. Bloomfield as Deacons. The present church was 
erected on land donated by David Thomas, and dedicated August 5, 
1858. Rev. J. Bodine Thompson was pastor until 1866, and was suc- 
ceeded by Rev. Nicholas Bogert, who resigned on account of his health 
in 1870, and was followed by Rev. E. Lord, who served till 1880. Rev. 
James Cruickshanks and several others have since been pastors. Rev. 
Frederick Zimmerman is the present pastor. 

St. Luke's P. E. Church was erected and the first service held therein 
June 30, 1869. Rev. Dr. Abercrombie, of St. Paul's, Rahway, and others, 
conducted the services for some time, and it was mainly through the 
efforts of the first named that the church was built. The first vestry 
was as follows: Nathan Robins and Daniel Garrison, wardens; Henry 
M. Alden, John R. Cooke, Thomas Smith, J. R. Boyd, Thomas W. 
Strong and George Thome, vestrymen. The following have been the 
rectors: Revs. P. S. Simpson, L. W. Norton, G. H. Edwards, J. P. Fu- 
gette, H. H. P. Roche, H. P. Dyer and C. M. Dunham. The present 
rector. Rev. John F. Fenton, was settled here in 1899. 

The Centenary M. E. Church was founded in 1866, and the building 
completed and dedicated in 1869, the following signing the certificate 
of incorporation : Walter and Robert Pettit, Robert Idell, Isaac M. Whit- 
tier, Henry F. Coon and Rev. M. Daly. Rev. I. L. Gilder was the 
first pastor, and has been followed by Revs. E. G. Thomas, J. J. Reed, 
Edward Wilson, J. H. Manaton, H. M. Simpson, T. H. Oaks, P. G. 
Blight, E. M. Garton, Isaac C. Decker, J. R. Adams and others. In 
191 7 the church was thoroughly remodeled and improved, and presents 
a very attractive appearance. The pastor is Rev. F. J. McClement. 

St. Francis' R. C. Church was erected in 1871, mainly through the 
efforts of Revs. M. C. Duggan and John Rogers, of St. Peter's Church, 
New Brunswick. The building was destroyed by fire in December, 1903, 
and the present edifice was erected and dedicated in the following year. 
The present pastor is Rev. Arthur D. Hassett. 

The National Bank, established 1905, is located in a fine brick build- 
ing on Main street. The officers and directors are : William T. Mc- 
Adams, president ; Robert D. Kent, vice-president ; Alexander C. Litterst, 
vice-president and cashier; R. C. Burr, William T. Campbell, E. J. 
Drake, I. R. Edgar, Edward Kramer, George W. Litterst and the above 
named officers, directors. 

A Chamber of Commerce was organized May 4, 1918, the present 
oflScers being as follows : A. K. Hillpot, president ; James A. Barr and 
Max Friedman, vice-presidents; Edward Kramer, treasurer; Nicholas 
G. Vreeland, secretary; Milton C. Mook, Alfred D. Hyde and the 
above-named officers, directors. 



458 MIDDLESEX 

Charles C. Campbell, Alfred D. Hyde and Frank B. Smith conduct 
a real estate and insurance business. 

The following fraternal organizations hold regular meetings: Mt. 
Zion Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons; Royal Arcanum; Foresters, 
and Junior Order United American Mechanics. 

The present borough officers are as follows: Washington Wilson, 
mayor; Frederick C. Ayers, Frederick W. Clarkson, Phineas Jones, 
Reginald Crowell, Henry A. Rumler and O. R. Drews ; Edward A. 
Burroughs, clerk; Charles C. Weber, recorder; Benjamin D. Ford, 
collector and treasurer ; John W. Breen, assessor ; Rev. John F. Fenton, 
overseer of poor ; William B. Hutchinson, chief of police. 

The Roll of Honor — The following is a list of those who were in 
the United States service during the late War of Nations : 

A. E. Artman, Clifford S. Ayres. 

George A. Baldwin, T. Turner Barr, W. Manning* Barr, Wesley Benner, Armand 
Beverot, Albert J. Birdsall, Edgar Blakeley, William Bonham, Qarence F. Bradstreet, 
Herbert Brant; Edward, James B. and William A. Breen; Robert Brown, EUery L. 
Bullock, James A. Burke, Theodore Campbell, Charles B. Carman, Crosby S. Clarkson, 
Richard F. Chenowith ; Clement A., John H. and Joseph Cbrbalis ; Reginald B. Crowell, 
Stewart Crowell, Francis B. Crowley and William J. Cumming. 

Edward A. Dana, Howard T. and Wesley G. Davis, Anthony De Fillipo, David De 
Lima, John J. DeMott, John Lester Deitche ; Arthur J., Edward, James H. and Manning 
Drake ; Edward Dunham and A. L. Ellis. 

William and John Feller, E[arold J. Fisher, John Forsythe, Enos Fouratt, Jr., Ver- 
non C. Fox, Charles A. Frohm, Edward O. Fugle, Thomas Fullerton, James L. Glover 
and A. Harold Greenwald. 

Foster and George H. Hahm, Jr.,^John G. Hart, Andrew Hillier, C. Arvid Hokan- 
son, James A. Hughes, Harry C. Hulbert, Archibald and Frank Hummer, Theodore B. 
Hunt, Albert M. Keenan and Harry Kramer. 

Edward Lake, Henry C. Lank, Jacob Lane and William Lenz. 

Abbott W. Martin, Gilbert Martin, Howard Madison, William Mahoney, Andrew 
Markanq, August Markano, Sterling Mayo, James and John, Jr.,' Guinness, William B. 
McKenzie, Louis Moglia, E. L. and Walter Molineux, Frank S. and Wilson Morris, 
James A. and George W. Mundy, John E. Nicholas, Jr., Edward Nolan, Sheridan C. 
Ostergaard, Bishop Oxenford. 

Qiarles A. Park, Frederick C. Peck, James Perronne, Alden Pierson, Vincent Pol- 
lacco, Edward C. Potter, Jr., J.' Kingsley Powell and Bryce Quint. 

David Reid, Fred. Richards, Isaiah Rolfe and Edward C. Rowland, Jr. 

Nicholas and Salvatore Scarpiello, Charles Schmidt, Harry Schuh, Conrad Skoqvist ; 
Conklin, George and William A. Smith, Jr.; Edgar B., Holden and Kenneth Spear; 
Richard B. Stanford and Milton D. Swackhammer. 

Eugene and Louis Tagliaboschi, Merrill Thompson, John Teller and George F. Tighe. 

Eugene Vanderpoel and Emmett Vanette. 

John J. Waldron, W. Larmon Wardell, Henry J. Wilbert, S. Wiley and Ray P. 
Wilson. 

Dunellen Borough — The borough, about one and one-half miles square, 
with a population of about 4,200, is situated in what was the extreme 
northwesterly part of Piscataway township, and is bounded on the north 
by the city of Plainfield, on the east and south by the township and on 
the west by the Green Brook. The origin of the name is not definitely 
known, some imagining it to be a transposition of the name of a member 
of one of its oldest families — Ellen Dunn ; but the more probable deriva- 
tion of the name is that it was so-called from a Dr. Dunell, of New York, 
who, in the first settlement of the town, owned some land and built 



BOROUGHS OF MIDDLESEX COUNTY 459 

several houses upon it. It is a neat, progressive town, on the New 
Jersey Central railroad, and in all likelihood will have a rapid growth. 
The principal industries are the Hall Printing Press Co., Levgars, 
Structural Iron Co.^ Ransome Concrete Machine Company, Herzog & 
Kramer, shirt waists, and a candy manufacturing company. 

The Whittier public school, built in 1875, is a beautiful brick building 
that is being enlarged and remodeled. Mr. Glenn W. Harris is the 
principal. The Lincoln school is also a handsome structure. The two 
combined have about 650 pupils, of whom about 100 attend the Plain- 
field high school. Mr. W. Burr Mann is the supervising principal. The 
Board of Education — Augustus F. Todd, president ; A. J. Hamley, clerk, 
Paul Carpenter, Theodore Day, Mahlon R. Dayton, Charles A. Coriell, 
Oscar Runyon, George Cameron and Harvey B. Walters. 

The Methodist Episcopal church was erected between New Market 
and Dunellen in 1866. At that time the church was connected with 
the Plainfield church, Rev. George H. Whitney, pastor, and Rev. Charles 
S. Little, assistant. The succeeding pastors were Revs. Theodore 
Frazee, Henry M. Simpson, Martin Herr, G. W. Gibson and J. A. Kings- 
bury, during whose pastorate the church building was sold to the 
Episcopalians and a new one built in Dunellen in 1872. Other pastors 
have been Revs. James W. Marshall, Charles S. Woodruff, Salmon P. 
Jones, Ambrose Compton and the present incumbent, M. L. Andariese. 

The Presbyterian church, on Dunellen avenue, was completed and 
dedicated January 26, 1872, Rev. Merrill N. Hutchinson being the pastor. 
He resigned the following year and was followed by Rev. Theodore S. 
Brown, who served for seven years. His successors have been Revs. 
Alexander Miller, Mr. Martine, Nathaniel J. Sproul, William W. Cassel- 
berry, and the present pastor, Rev. Ernest R. Brown. The church has 
a membership of over three hundred and is rapidly growing. 

St. John the Evangelist's (R. C.) Church was erected in 1880 upon 
lots donated by Mr. Peter Moore, of Plainfield. The building is of brick 
and neat in architecture. The pastor is Rev. Edward J. Dunphy. 

The First National Bank of Dunellen began business January 15, 
1907. The officers are : Paul Reusch, president ; George W. Harris, 
vice-president ; John P. Fenner, vice-president ; Arthur J. Hamley, cash- 
ier; Louis L. Block, Joseph Kuldoshes and Lewis D. Walker, Jr., with 
the above officers, directors. 

Almost an entire company of the 28th New Jersey Volunteers, Capt. 
Joseph C. Letson, was recruited from Piscataway township. The fol- 
lowing veterans of the Civil War, resident here, are affiliated with Win- 
lield Scott Post, No. "jt^, of Plainfield: Furman H. Gise, Jacob Fisher, 
Thomas Todd, George and Manl'ey Giles, S. Boice, Isaac Hillyard and 
Abraham Dunham. The Honor Roll of the late War of Nations con- 
tained one hundred and fifty names. 



46o MIDDLESEX 

The fraternal organizations are: Junior Order of United American 
Mechanics, Independent Order of Foresters, Maccabees, Patriotic Sons 
of America, Holy Name Society, and Ancient Order of Hibernians. 

The following are the borough officers : A. C. Giddes, mayor ; L. W. 
Treichler, Elwood E. Waller, Oscar Runyon, C. C. Wrage, G. J. Bache 
and B. W. Dodwell, council; Nelson S. Frederick, clerk; Rene V. P. 
Von Minden, counsel; David S. Campbell, recorder; Jos. G. Walton, 
Walter M. Fowler and Enoch H. Hardingham, board of health; John 
Fedderman, street commissioner ; Owen Mohan, chief marshal. Willard 
M. Apgar is the postmaster. 

Borough of South River — This borough, erected in 1898, consisting 
of about two miles square and set off from East Brunswick township, 
is situated on the southwest bank of South River, three miles from its 
junction with the Raritan, five miles from New Brunswick and thirty- 
five miles from New York. It is on the line of the Raritan River rail- 
road and the Public Service electric road, and has a population of 
between nine and ten thousand. It is what was formerly part of the 
village of Washington. The first officers were: James Bissett, mayor, 
and acting recorder; Chas. Anderson, clerk (for 21 years); George All- 
gair, collector and treasurer ; Daniel Selover, Elwood Manahan, Joseph 
Mark, John Sheddan, Edward B. Smith and Elwood Serviss, councilmen ; 
Peter F. Daly (for 21 years), counsel. The borough has a large number 
of important industries, viz : American Enamelled Brick and Tile Com- 
pany; American Clay Products, making hollow brick, conduits, drain 
tile and fire-brick; Pettit & Miller, building brick; South River Brick 
Company, building brick and lumber; Eastern Foundry Company; 
Lignum Products Company; Dunbar Manufacturing Company, rubber 
goods; Eagle Shoe Company; Swiss Embroidery products, 12 factories; 
R. R. Handkerchief factory; South River Spinning Company, silk vel- 
vets, etc. ; and the Noxall and Dorothy Waist companies. 

An active Chamber of Commerce is composed of the following: 
N. W. Clayton, president; Samuel H. Stevens, Asher W. Bissett and 
J. R. Appleby, Jr., vice-presidents; Charles Herrmann, treasurer; John 
A. Piquet, secretary; directors— Maurice Hammerschlag, Raymond 
Funk, Martin Duschock, Frank J. Prentice, Jacob Rubin, Leo Stotter, 
Henry Rothenberg, William Morgan, William T. Armstrong and Samuel 
Greenfield. 

Lloyd Post, No. 79, G. A. R., composed of veterans who reside at 
Old Bridge, Spotswood, Helmetta, and other localities, holds its meet- 
ings in George Allgair's hotel. It was named in honor of B. Frank Lloyd, 
the first captain of Cfimpany H, 28th Regiment^ New JefSej^- Volunteers, 
who died from typhoid fever at his home in"01d Bridge, whiIe"oira~" 
furlough, in 1862. The present and deceased members are: Joseph 
Egan, commander; Herbert Appleby, secretary; William Meisel, John 



BOROUGHS OF MIDDLESEX COUNTY 461 

Bell, Henry Van Hise, Michael Barringer, John Ewing, Augustus 
Myers, Christopher and Theodore Vandeventer, Daniel W. Cozzens and 
William M. Appleby. Camille Bacquett, Isaac and William Letts, 
Phineas Mundy, William L. Conover, Benjamin P. Combs, Samuel 
Yates and Theodore Serviss were also soldiers in the Civil War. 

The Knights of Pythias meet in Mechanics Hall. William A. All- 
gair is chancellor-commander. The Junior Order of United American 
Mechanics meet in the same hall. J. Randolph Appleby, Jr., is chief 
counsellor. « 

The Washington M. E. Church, the congregation of which had 
organized in 1846, was built in 1859 ^ replace one erected about nine 
years before. The constituent members were James Peterson, Henry 
Gordon, George Norman, Peter Smith, Z. Vandeventer, Margaret Nor- 
man and others. The later church cost $S,8oo, of which Mrs. Nancy 
Conklin, a prominent member, contributed about $2,800. The first 
church, remodeled, now serves as a parsonage. The first Methodist 
meetings were held in the old district school-house, near the old Baptist 
church. Rev. Charles Downs acting as pastor in 1846. Revs. Samuel 
Jaquette and Stacy Howland came later, the church being then a mis- 
sionary charge. The first resident pastor was Rev. John H. Stockton. 
The Beacon Light Sunday school, under the auspices of the church, 
was organized in 1848 with 114 members. Among the list of members 
are the old names of Kleine, Barkelew, Peterson, Serviss, Morgan, Gor- 
don, Bowne, French, Irons and others. 

The Tabernacle Baptist Church was completed in 1871, the lot on 
Main street being donated by Samuel Whitehead. The members present, 
who signed the confession of faith on May 3rd, when the dedication 
occurred, were: Mrs. Harriet Willett, Emily and Louise Willett, Jesse 
and Elizabeth Heustis, Ezekiel and Susan Wade, Mrs. E. Simmons, Sarah 
Cox, William H. and Sarah De Voe, Matilda Wilmurt and Mary Rue. 
In 1872 the church was received into the Central Baptist Convention. 
The first settled pastor was Rev. Matthew Johnson. In 1881 extensive 
alterations and improvements were made, rendering it a very attractive 
edifice. The Sunday school is of equal age with the church. 

The Church of the Holy Trinity (Episcopal) was organized in 
Sayreville, opposite Washington village, in 1866. In the summer of 
1876, with the consent of the ecclesiastical authorities and all others 
concerned, the edifice was taken down and removed to Washington 
village, Daniel B. Martin donating a lot upon which to rebuild it, and 
defraying the expense of the removal ; he also had the building enlarged 
and improved, and contributed liberally toward furnishing it. The first 
service in it, after the removal, was the funeral of its generous benefactor. 
Mr. Martin was in many respects a remarkable man. He was born in 
Perth Amboy in 1813, and made his home in Washington village from 



462 MIDDLESEX 

1842 to the time of his death in 1876. In 1846, through the influence 
of Robert L. Stevens, president of the Camden & Amboy Railroad 
Company, he was made chief engineer of the United States steamer 
"Mississippi," and saw active service in the Mexican War. In 1850 he 
was made chief engineer of the "Pacific," of the Collins line of Euro- 
pean steamers, and was highly complimented and rewarded in 185 1 
for aiding materially in achieving for the United States the credit for 
the first passage between Liverpool and New York in less than ten 
days. In the s%me year he was appointed engineer-in-chief of the 
United States Navy, and served four years, during which time he 
patented for the government the "hood" boiler, regarded as the best 
ever invented for steamboat use. During the Civil War he was selected 
by the Secretary of War to visit England, examine the ironclad steamers 
and report upon their merits and adaptability for government use. After 
the war he lived a retired life, but always took a deep interest in 
religious and educational affairs, and rendered valuable service and 
support to both churches and schools. 

The First National Bank, organized in 1902, occupies a handsome 
building, valued at $35,000, on Main street. The officers are: David 
Serviss, president ; Edward Whitehead and Nathan . W. Clayton, vice- 
presidents ; Robert F. Fountain, cashier ; Wm. T. Armstrong, assistant ; 
directors — George L. Burton, Frank L. FuUam, Samuel H. Stevens, M. 
Russell Warne, August Rohde, Wilbur C. Rose, and the first four officers 
above mentioned. The institution acts as executor, administrator, 
trustee and guardian, and in other trust capacity for individuals, or 
corporations. 

The South River Trust Company, organized in 191 5, is located on 
Ferry street; but, before this volume is issued, will undoubtedly be 
occupying its fine new building on Main street. The company pays 2 
per cent, interest on checking accounts of $500 and over, and 3 per cent, 
on savings accounts. The officers are as follows: Marcus S. Wright, 
president; George L. Blew, first vice-president; John Dailey, second 
vice-president; W. A. Allgair, secretary and treasurer; directors — The 
officers as above, and Adolph Greenfield, Bernard Jacquart, Oscar Bohi, 
and Walter Sennhauser. 

The present borough officials are as follows: George L. Burton, 
mayor; Asher W. Bissett, Nathan W. Clapton, Edward Nugent, Alvin 
Peterson, Thomas Pender and John Quinn, council; August Nuss, 
treasurer and collector ; Fred H. Quad, clerk ; John Van Orden, recorder ; 
Charles Hermann, president; Samuel H. Stevens, Samuel Gordon, Otto 
Lindberg, Walter Sennhauser and John Whiteman, board of public 
works, E. B. Hedden, superintendent; Maurice Allen, chief of fire de- 
partment ; Charles Eberwein, chief of police ; board of education, George 
Allgair, president; Wm. C. Horner, vice-president; William J. Kern. 



BOROUGHS OF MIDDLESEX COUNTY 463 

district clerk; George L. Burton, James Black, John Quinn, William 
Roth, James R. Petrie and Christopher Beauregard. There are three 
excellent schools, accommodating 1,271 pupils. Prof. B. Frank Tabor 
is the supervising principal. Mrs. Joseph Mark is the postmistress of the 
borough, succeeding her late husband. 

The Honor Roll, consisting of 300 names, of those who served in the 
late "War of Nations," is appended : 

Peter Aleknovics, Philip Andasjeink, Pincus Anklowics, Austin Antanowics, James 
B. Armstrong, Isadore Babeck, John Bambola, William Banker, Alexander Baranchilli, 
Andrew Barohowich, Propop Bealkowski, Philip Bealing, Louis Benedict, Johan Bre- 
linski, Joseph Blasepeski, Joseph Bohi, Julius Bohi, Louis Bogda, Joseph Bohroonan, 
Antonio Bomen, Walenti Boneanwicr, Waslaw Bozowics, Jacob Braverman, Joseph 
Breitmoser, Kenneth Brown, Wasilik Bushko, Arthur Burke and Karol Amusklewicz. 

Sewell Cathcart. Leo Caval, Roman Cinchanewich, Harry Chinetz, George Chirello, 
Leon ChevalkorHSity Clark. William Golfer, Timonth Commonuski, Earle Gonover, 
Ralph Constant, George Tortelt, Philip Grecko, Jerome ,£u£le^ Max Gynuowics, Gzaj- 
kowski Frank, Josez Gzyrski, Dagriel Adam, Frank Danzsink,'Joseph Dee, Tony Dee, 
Adam De Hart, James De Hart, Guiseppe Delio, Salvadore Delogia, Ralph Deval, Elmer 
Dey, Gypran Dolschum, Frank Dorchunski, Peter Bonbe, Bronislaw Drongowski, An- 
drew Ducek, Anton Dulebsky, William Durovicz, Jacob Durovicz and Michael Dzre- 
warowowski. 

Willard P. Emley, Michael Evin, Joseph Ferman, Victor Frandsen, Frank Frandsen, 
George Freeman, Emil Fntzke, Anton Galasceivski, Gaily Frank, Gaily Fred, Olst Gan, 
Martin Garvel, Antone CaSiSwski, David Gecelak, Adam Gerhard, Gneczko Michal, Pro- 
tas Gnoraneano, Stanislaw Goalewski, Antonio Goalewski, Philip Goldstein, Franz Golin, 
Jacob Gowchu, David Gross and Tony Guzzi. 

Joseph Hage, Peter liaiicki, Harold Hargrave, Hilon Hatkowicz, Stanislaw Helinski, 
Abraham Henderson, George J. Henry, Charles Hippell, Joseph C. Hirschman, Hucke 
John, Joseph Hoflfstetter, Jr., and John Hulko. 

Michael ladevaia, Charles Jacquart, George Jardorski, Joseph^ Jarzendki, George 
Jarucha, George June, Mark Jurewecz, Paul Kalata, John Karam, Michael Karbe, Fedor 
Karmanski, Disnilry Kazin, Benjamin Kearney, John Kepejan, Frank Keseleski, Adam 
Keseleski, Asher Kiefner, James Kirk, Anton JKIisly, Felix Kiveatloski, Alex. Klemersok, 
Frank Klick, Jacob Knowicz, Peter Kolan, Wasye Kopcianck, Steven Koptonck, John 
Kork, Alex. Konapatsky, Michael Kokuczka, Samuel Koralewicz, Julius Koski, Peter 
Kozikak, Joseph Kazatek, Louis Kozalowski, Michael Kozalowski, Stefan Krug, Stanis- 
law Krupa, Adam Kuchovank, John Kulbacka, Anton Kuroski, Peter Kurzzewski, Peter 
Knst, Adolph Kutcha and Nicholas Krengalec. 

Joseph Lach, Peter Lemontamicz, Harold W. Letts, Stephen Levando sky, Nathan 
Levine, Michael Lewicki, Stanislaw Lidlowski, Adoni Linski, John EttenvimfWlCT Wasali 
Lezma, Michael Linski, Michael Lynch, Patrick Lynch, Vasil Lugin, Alex. Lach, Wasali 
Lizura, John Lobacz and Thomas Lyons. 

Joseph Majeszki, John Majnoski, John Maluk, Stanley Mandoker, Anton Markowski, 
Tony ^^aro, Yha Mazowski, Wasali Mazael, George McCutcheon, John McCutcheon, 
ReubenMacDowell, Wilson MacPherson, Michael Minolja, Kesil Miketuik, Metten Wil- 
liam, Darofey Mlinchik, Vincent Moracka, Peter Murcle, Alex. Mackiennocz, Matthew 



Ngilsogj^ Andrew Nested, Ivan J. Nestor, John J. Newmejrer, Michael NicoUotta, Wil- 
1 ]^^orlovwich, Joseph Ompiourk and Henry QfiMiberger. 
Brardo Pastel, Michael Patelouski, Joseph PawIowsH, *Michael Petrolewcz, Harold 



Phair, Edward W. Price, DeWitt Price, Antone Prokopesik, Joseph Przyzaki, Joseph 
Reglesky, Emil Rohil, Stephen Regalskij Stephen Rattica, Voorhees Rogers, Antone 
Roman, Leon Romanaski. Lucas Romer, Carl BsgSiu.^CTace Rudziewicz, Nicholas Rujert, 
Joseph E. Russell, ±'aul Ryskowski, Max Saban^ Jan Labar, Michael Sachkowski, 
Wasyli Sacita, S. Saphonchiek, Joseph Savcesty, Emanuel Scavello, Charles Scherer, 
Henry Schmatter, Willard Scherer, Conrad Schmi^ Ernest Schmitzer. Andrew Schat- 
ter, Louis Sendlo, Anton Senko, Raymond S||fy}§s. Alex Senko, Peter Sezkowicz, Jacob 
Schafer, George Shalry, Theodore ShamursRi, jfeseph Shepsko, Austin Sheshlowsky, 
Henry Schnatter, Shamy Frank, George Sherer, John Sherogency, Andrew Secknick, 
Silner George, Simmons Milton, Frank Skodzenski, Vincent Skupsinonas, Frank Sla- 
winski, Sechnaszak George, John Slinko, Ernest Smalley, Charles Sciith, John Smith, 
Michael Smith, Wladislaw Smolinski, Michael Sokolowski, W. ^dcQloAVskL,Ralph Son- 
stant, Gregory Soren, Ferdas Savchik, W. Splatte, John SporekTTPrank Sraczyk, Frank 



464 MIDDLESEX 

Stankwicz, Linzi Sta^ Michael Stimnowicz, George E. Stout, Tony Stuby, John Sumeyk, 
Walter Sumoske,~Joseph Surman, Samuel Swincicki, Constant Szamkyl, Ignatz Szipict- 
ski, Szita Cyrnopy, Szoban Jan, Frank Szulencki, Szulencki Julian, Szumoski Nathan, 
and Jacob Szydtowski. 

Adam Tarzycks, Frank Traczyk, William Trimble, Paul Truscinch, Alex. Truszew- 
ski, Bronislaw Trysaska, Stephen Turan, Joseph Tyshko, John Urburk, James Urburk, 
Urevich John, Harold Van Blarcom, William Van Wickle, Richard Vogel, Michael 
Volena, Afex. Vosko, Bronislaw Wakolowski, Joseph Wedemeyer, Tony Weiss, Antone 
Weiss, Gerhard Weiss, August Weller, Fred Weller, John Wentstel, Henry Wenzel, 
Stephen Werendosky, Michael Wlogyka, Milton Whitehead, Frank Wilanowski, Bronis- 
law Wonorowski, Wladyslaw Wogna, Joseph Wolf, Douglas Wright, William Wright, 
Stanislaw Wrotlewski, Stephen Yablowsky, Constant Yakiraowicz, John Yeagher, Yoskin 
Justin, Witold Zabrewsky, Zabrodski, Stefan, Frank Zubryska, Zygmony Zeleski, Joseph 
Zerman, Michael Zuplek and Kazimer Zuttis. 

Borough of Milltown — Milltown, situated on Lawrence brook, and 
containing about two miles square, was created a borough in 1897. The 
area composing it was taken almost entirely from North Brunswick 
township, with a small portion of East Brunswick.' It is about three 
miles from New Brunswick, with which it is connected by the trolley 
line of the Public Service Company. The history of the borough is 
brief, and is practically that of North Brunswick. Its nurleus was the 
old grist-mill of Jacob I. Bergen, which he owned in 1800, and vhich 
was torn down in 1843, when the utilization of the water powei; by 
the Meyer Rubber Company was commenced. Mr. Bergen and Chris- 
tian Van Nortwick were the first merchants, and Jephtha Cheeseman, 
John Outcalt, Robert Watts and Daniel Lott, the early inn-keepers. A 
postoffice was established in 1870, with Philip Kuhlthau as postmaster, 
who retained the office for many years. In 1844 a Methodist flpiscopal 
church was organized and a building erected in 1851, which was removed 
in 1872 and the present brick house of worship built at a cost of $i4,i;oo. 
Rev. Thomas S. Hammond is the present pastor. There is also a Ger- 
man Reformed and a Mission (R. C.) church. 

The borough public school is a large and well-equipped brick build- 
ing, built in 1907, to replace a former structure. There are 520 pupils 
and fourteen teachers, with Prof. Stephen F. Weston as supervising 
principal. The eighth grade is taught and the graduates have the privi- 
lege of Attending the New Brunswick High School, if they so desire. 
The following constitute the Board of Education: J. Milton Brindle, 
president; Howard S. Dehart, clerk; Spencer Perry, Albert Skewis, 
John H. Junker, Lester Snedeker, Charles Richter, George Heyland. 
Robert A. Patterson ; John Christ, custodian. 

Milltown no doubt holds the record as the first large promoter of 
the manufacture of rubber boots and shoes in this country, and the 
credit is to be given to the late Christopher Meyer. He was born in 
Hanover, Germany, in i8i8, and came to this country in 1833. He was 
one of the most remarkable men that ever located in this State. In 
addition to the manufacture of rubber goods, which he more thoroughly 
understood than any of his predecessors in this country, he was finan- 



BOROUGHS OF MIDDLESEX COUNTY 465 

cially interested in the building up of railroads, factories and other 
branches of business. In 1853 his company transported machinery to 
Edinburgh, Scotland, and organized the North British Rubber Company, 
of which he was a stockholder at the time of his death. He located 
in New Brunswick in 1839, ^"^ in 1843, i" conjunction with Johnson 
Letson, J. C. Ackerman, John R. Ford and others, of New Brunswick, 
began the manufacture of rubber boots and shoes on the site of Bergen's 
old grist mill at Milltown. The business increased rapidly, large build- 
ings were erected, five or six hundred employees were at work, and 
in 1861 the Meyer Rubber Company, with $250,000 capital stock, was 
established and continued in existence until about 1896, when it passed 
into the control of the Rubber Trust, and from that to the International 
Automobile and Vehicle Tire Company. 

In 1907 the plant was purchased by the Michelin Tire Company, a 
French corporation, with J. Habette-Michelin, of New Brunswick, as 
resident vice-president, and R. B. Meyers as industrial manager. New 
buildings were erected, older ones enlarged and many improvements 
introduced. About 3,000 men, women and young people, are employed 
and the business is rapidly increasing. Other industries in the borough 
are the Hahn Chemical Works, Unbreakable Glass Works, and the 
Russell Playing Card Company. 

The First National Bank was organized January 15, 1917, and is a 
member of the Federal Reserve System. The following are the officers : 
J. V. L. Booraem, president; Christian Kuhlthau and John B. Herbert, 
vice-presidents ; H. J. Booraem, cashier ; Edwin M. Kuhlthau, assistant ; 
and Frederick W. De Voe, solicitor. Directors — President, vice-presi- 
dents, George Kuhlthau, N. Nes Forney, Elmer E. Connolly, Spencer 
Perry and Charles C. Richter. 

The following are the borough officers : Mayor, Christian Kuhlthau ; 
A. Schlosser, C. V. L. Booraem, James Herbert, Christian Jensen, John 
Klotzbach, and J. W. Dorn, councilmen; Robert A. Harkins, clerk; 
Charles Snedeker, assessor ; John Christ, collector and treasurer ; Joseph 
A. Headley, recorder ; Frederick Weigel, counsel ; and Dr. J. N. Forney, 
physician. 

Jamesbung Borough — This town derives its name from James Bucke- 
lew, a descendant of Frederick Buckelew, who, on account of religious 
persecution, emigrated from Scotland in 1715, sailing from Inverness 
on the ship "Caledonia," and landing at Perth Amboy. He soon after 
selected a permanent home near the present borough lines, where a 
large proportion of his descendants have since resided. James was 
born August 13, 1801, and his early education was limited to the ordi- 
nary instruction at a country school. He was engaged in milling, 
farming and other branches of business, amassed a comfortable fortune 
and did more than any one person to promote the growth and pros- 

Mid-30 



466 MIDDLESEX 

perity of his native town and its vicinity. He died May 30, 1869, and 
was buried in Fernwood Cemetery, the land which forms it having been 
donated by him, and which was once owned by his great-great-grand- 
father, the pioneer. 

The borough, erected in 1887, has a population of 2,052, is about two 
miles square, and located on the Manalapan river, in the northeastern 
part of Monroe township. The town is locally alluded to as Upper and 
Lower Jamesburg, to distinguish the two extremities of the borough. 
The grist mill, saw mill and fulling mill were established previous to 
1792. The building of the Camden & Amboy railroad in 1830-33 was 
an epoch in this vicinity, and in 1850 the road was straightened and the 
station built on its present site. When in January, 1872, the railroad, 
with its branches from Bordentown to Trenton and from Jamesburg 
to Monmouth Junction, was leased by the Pennsylvania railroad, it 
was constituted the Amboy division, and Col. Isaac S. Buckelew, son 
of James, was the superintendent until the time of his death. 

In i848_^Spotsv£Bad,^as ihe„nearest postofiiice tojamesburg, and the 
maTTTervice was very inadequate. In "that year "James Redmond was 
appointed postmaster at Jamesburg, and was succeeded in 1853 by 
Joseph' C. Magee, who retained the ofiSce for nearly fifteen years. Mr. 
C. E. Paxton is the present postmaster. The Manalapan river afifords 
an excellent water power, which was first thoroughly utilized in the 
latter part of the nineteenth century. Downs & Finch, of New York, 
did an immense business in sbirtmaking for many years, commencing 
in 1871, which did much to increase the growth and prosperity of the 
town. The Buckelew saw mill, grist mill and fulling mill were also 
operated. The principal industries are now conducted by the following 
proprietors: Perrine & Buckelew, and B. D. Davison, lumber, etc.; 
Stonaker & Harvey, mill, grain, etc. ; Eastern Foundry Company, James- 
burg Waist and Dress Company,, La Rocco & Son, shirt-making, and 
other branches of business. The town is the headquarters of the Amboy 
division of the Pennsylvania railroad, and constitutes an important 
feature of the borough's business. 

The first school house in the Jamesburg district was located about 
a half mile from the old mill on the Manalapan river, on the road to 
Englishtown. It was abandoned in 1847, and a two-story brick building 
was erected by James Buckelew on a lot owned by him, near the site 
of the Presbyterian church, and was used for a number of years by 
the district, free of rent. The present grammar school was erected in 
1886, and has been several times enlarged and improved. An up-to-date 
high school was built near it in 1907. The two schools have now 705 
pupils, of which 104 are in the latter. Prof. Curtis A. Deveney is super- 
vising principal. The Board of Education is composed of the following : 
Dr. J. R. Dare, Jacob E. Hauser, J. M. Hampton, J. A. Thompson, Dr. 



BOROUGHS OF MIDDLESEX COUNTY 467 

H. D. Zandt, John Waddy, H. C. Groves, J. M. Davison, and John P. 
Kirkpatrick. 

After the days of Brainerd, the missionary to the Indians, the first 
religious services in the town were probably held very early in 1800 
in the old school house in Jamesburg, and there were also meetings in 
the Matchaponix neighborhood. The earliest services were generally 
conducted by ministers of the Methodist church, and Rev. Mr. Fountain, 
living near "Texas," occasionally preached in Jamesburg. It was not 
long before Rev. Mr. Rice and Rev. William R. Betts, of Spotswood, the 
Woodhulls, father and son. Rev. Luther Van Doren, of the Tennent 
church, Englishtown, and Revs. Symmes Henry and J. W. Blythe, of 
Cranbury, all Presbyterians, often held services. When the second 
school house was built by James Buckelew in 1847, ^ room was parti- 
tioned off, and provided with a pulpit and seats. Revs. Henry and Blythe 
conducted occasional services until the spring of 1850, when Rev. George 
C. Bush, who was preaching at South Amboy and South River, came 
regularly to preach at Jamesburg every alternate Sabbath evening. He 
served for nine months and was followed by Rev. John Annin, just 
graduated from Princeton Seminary, who only remained for three 
months, after which the meetings were intermittently held. 

The Presbyterian church had its inception in the beginning of 1853, 
when a petition was circulated to raise funds for a church building, and 
on March 3rd a meeting of the subscribers was held and William John- 
son, Alexander Redmond, Aaron Gulick, Edmund Rue, Joseph C. Magee, 
Isaac S. Buckelew and S. R. Treeman were elected trustees. A petition 
was signed by seventeen members of other churches, asking the Presby- 
tery of New Brunswick to organize a church. A committee consisting 
of Revs. Messrs. Symmes Henry, Blythe, Van Doren and S. D. Alex- 
ander met January 6, 1854, and organized the church with the following 
members: John C. and Hannah Vandeveer, Samuel and Ann Maria 
Maryott, James and Mahala Mount, Margaret C. Buckelew, C. J. Apple- 
gate, Sarah Davison, John B. Johnson and David C. Bastedo. Messrs. 
Vandeveer and Johnson were. chosen Elders. A building was erected 
on Church street, to which it gave its name, and dedicated June 26, 1854, 
.with Rev. J. Halstead Carroll as pastor. He was succeeded by Revs. 
William M. Wells, Dr. Benjamin S. Everitt, Joseph C. Ewing, Edgar 
C. Mason and S. J. McGlenaghan. Rev. William J. B. Edgar, for twenty- 
one years pastor of the First United Presbyterian Church of Philadel- 
phia, succeeded the last named in 1914. He is a graduate of Princeton 
University and Seminary, and has proved a most successful and accepta- 
ble pastor. 

The Methodist church was organized in 1874. The church building 
was erected in 1883, and in 1907 was moved to the rear of the lot, con- 
verted into a Sabbath school room, and a handsome new church erected 



468 MIDDLESEX 

in front of it. Rev. C. Rollin Smith was the first pastor. Rev. J. B. Shaw 
is now the efficient pastor. 

The Baptist church is ministered to by Rev. John Ehrenstein, and 
St. James' (R. C.) church by Rev. Thomas A. Kearney. 

In January, 1864, James, Isaac S., John D. and F. Lemuel Buckelew, 
Joseph C. Magee, T. Wilton Hill, John G. Schultz and Nathaniel W. 
Morris (who were the first directors), secured a charter for a national 
bank at Jamesburg, being the two hundred and eighty-eighth institu- 
tion of the kind to be charted by the United States Government. 
The following are the officers and directors: Joseph M. Perrine, presi- 
dent; M. I. Voorhees, vice-president and cashier; William H. Brooks, 
assistant cashier ; Abij ah Applegate, William H. demons, C. M. Davison, 
W. W. Emens and the above officers, directors. 

The following are the officials of the borough : Elmer Patten, mayor ; 
Jacob E. Hauser, George D. Hutchinson, John E. Jennings, William 
R. Dey, Henry R. Rogers and George R. Tomson, councilmen ; William 
H. Brooks, clerk; John P. Kirkpatrick, counsel; William E. Paxton, 
assessor ; collector and treasurer, John Erhart ; Dr. J. L. Suydam, James 
B. Pownall, J. A. Thompson, Condit M. Davison, Thos. H. Dillon and 
Henry L. Emmons, board of health ; G. J. Filhower, chief of police. 

Among those who have been prominent in the affairs of the county 
and town may be mentioned: Col. Isaac S. Buckelew; John Dunn 
Buckelew, sheriff and assemblyman ; Joseph C. Magee, assemblyman, 
chosen freeholder and postmaster ; and Frank Pownall, chosen freeholder 
and director of the board for several years. 

The following is the Honor Roll, containing the names of those who 
were in the service of the United States during the "War of Nations :" 

Addison Applegate, William F. Baker, John Baranowski, Fred Barberi, Arnold Bare- 
more, George Bender, L. Ernest Bennett ; Harold LeRoy and William Bennett ; William 
and Vernon Brown ; Isaac and Charles Burd ; John Casale, Reuben Christie, Daniel M. 
Clark; Jesse and Franklin Clayton, Charles and LeRoy Combs, Joseph Corse, Arthur 
Davison, William Dey, Jr., Joseph Dilornzo, James Dipetro, W. A. Dipiero, Russel S. 
Duncan, Harold J. Duval, Saul Edelmon, Malcolm S. Edgar, W. J. B. Edgar, Jr., War- 
ren Emens, R. V. H. Estill, Henry Firestine, William Gilliland, Fred W. Gimson, Jr., 
Earl Hampton, John Intravatolo, Edward R. Heyman, Joseph Jemison, Frank Jankow- 
ski, William Jaqui, Horace 'and Isaac B. Jennings, Harry and Norman Jobes, Einar 
Jorgenson, Irwin Kietzing, Henry Kilbourn, Andrew Kolbush, Salvador La Duca, 
Joseph La Place, James Lincoln, Edward Linke, Calogero Lipera, Daniel B. Malan, Ken- 
neth Marryott, Ellis and James Martin, Harry and Reuben McDowell, William Mechinik, 
Frank Middleton, James and John Monahan, John Murray, Joseph Nowak, Thomas Pan- 
tano, Warren S. Patten, Charles Paxton, Jr., Angelo and Joseph Perdoni, Joseph Per- 
gola; William, William A. and Fred Perrine; William F. Petty, Charles Richards, Jr., 
Fedale Sabatino, George Schenck, Herman Shostak, C. Alvan and G. Leslie Shultz, Vin- 
cent Silvers, Perry D. Smith, John Smoczynski, Willard Snedeker, Oliver Soden, Joseph 
and Thomas Timberman, Charles Van Anglen, Paul Van Pelt, William Van Pelt, Jr., 
Dominick Vinzano, Emil E. Weisert, William N. Weisert, Charles Whitlock, Carl Wide- 
berg, Eric Wideberg, William Willis, William Windier, Joseph C. Witkowsky and Rob- 
ert Yetman. 

Killed in Battle — Elias S. Bennett, Oliver Delaney and Leroy Mount. 

Died in Camp — Mark Donald Dare and Martin Maikes. 



BOROUGHS OF MIDDLESEX COUNTY 469 

Sayreville Borough — Sayreville, situated in the northeastern part of 
the county, and a little north of the centre, is the last corporate body to 
derive its territory from South Amboy, and is bounded as follows: 
North by Raritan river; east by South Amboy and Madison township; 
south by Madison ; and west by East Brunswick township ; and is very 
irregular in form. South River flows along its entire western border, 
Raritan river washes its northern boundary, Cheesequake creek flows 
along the east side to its junction with the Raritan, Deep run crosses 
the extreme southern part, and Tenant's creek crosses a little farther 
north. The area is 1,240 acres. The surface is generally low and level, 
and covered with a sparse growth of trees, the oak and cedar predomi- 
nating. The soil is sandy, and abounds in excellent clay and sand, 
much of which was early employed in the manufacture of delftware 
in Jersey City, and of china at Philadelphia and Trenton. Large quan- 
tities are now used locally in making fire and common building brick. 
The Camden and Amboy railroad traverses the locality in nearly a 
northerly and southerly course, the nearest stations being South Amboy 
and Old Bridge. 

Land was acquired as early as 1683 to 1686 (the date of John Reid's 
map of Raritan river and the regions north and south of it), by the 
following persons: G. L. (probably Deputy-Governor Gawen Laurie, a 
large land owner), 850 acres; Peter Sonman, 500 acres; T. Rudyard, 
300 acres; A. Galloway and W. Gerard, 300 acres; and Thomas Rob- 
inson, 300 acres. At a point considered to be nearly opposite the site 
of South River borough, D. Violent and G. Gordon took up tracts 
respectively of 100 and 150 acres, and R. Townley three tracts, contain- 
ing about 600 acres. None of these land owners were ever residents, and 
none of their descendants are known to have ever lived in this vicinity. 

It is probable that the first settlement was made about 1770, when 
Elijah Disbrow located about midway between Sayreville and the Wash- 
ington (South River) bridge; and also in the neighborhood known as 
Burt's creek settlement. Ebenezer Price selected a home at what was 
known as Roundabout Landing, on a projecting point of land between 
the Raritan and South rivers. Sayreville was formerly known as Round- 
about, from the fact that it was accessible by water only by a very 
circuitous route by way of the two rivers. In 1872 it was renamed in 
honor of James R. Sayre, of Newark, an extensive land owner and local 
manufacturer. The Disbrow and Price families have many representa- 
tives in this and the adjoining townships. 

The father of Gen. James Morgan was a very early resident near the 
mouth of Cheesequake creek, and many of his descendants continued 
to reside in South Amboy until a comparatively late date. Isaac Van- 
deventer lived near the bridge between Sayreville and South River 
borough, purchased a large farm, became a very prominent man and 



470 MIDDLESEX 

had many descendants. Francis Letts resided near the Elijah Disbrow 
farm, and Benjamin Peterson came from New Egypt, Ocean county, 
and settled near by in 1810. Members of both families are still in this 
county. Other old residents were Thomas James, James Applegate, 
the Bennett brothers, from Long Island, Thomas Roberts and James 
Wood. 

Clay and sand, and the manufacture of the products of the former, 
have always been the chief industries. Clay, from the old Morgan 
mines, one mile south of South Amboy, on the shore of Raritan Bay, 
was used in making stoneware in 1800. The nearness to navigable 
waters, the plentiful supply of clay close at hand, and the small amount 
of waste material to be removed, combine to make the region the greatest 
brick-making locality in the country. The pioneer in this business was 
James Wood, who began the manufacture of common brick in 185 1 on 
his property near Roundabout Landing. 

In the fall of 1851, James R. Sayre, of Newark, and Peter Fisher, of 
Fishkill, New York, formed a copartnership, purchased a tract of land 
on South river, west of James Wood's brick-yard and began making 
common brick. Mr. Sayre was engaged in the business of selling lum- 
ber, common and fire-brick and other building materials, and Mr. Fisher 
had been a brick manufacturer in his native town for several years. 
The local supply of clay having been apparently exhausted he came 
to New Jersey, seeking a new location. In 1861 the firm purchased a 
large tract of land and began the manufacture of fire-brick and other 
clay products. The business rapidly increased, and the company is 
now recognized as the largest plant of the kind in the United States. 
The daily output of manufactured material is as follows: Re-pressed 
common brick, 355,000; fire-brick, 36,000; enamelled brick, 22,000; and 
hollow brick, 60,000. The annual output of common brick is 50,000,000. 
The total area of clay land is three thousand acres. The manufacturing 
plant covers several acres. The company owns five and one-half miles 
frontage on the Raritan and South rivers and the South river canal. 
The number of men annually employed is 1,700. The company was 
incorporated in 1886 as the Sayre & Fisher Company, and has the 
following officers: President, Edward A. Fisher; vice-president and 
treasurer, James S. Higbie; secretary, F. M. Townley; assistant secre- 
tary, D. J. Fisher; assistant treasurer, George L. Blew. The company 
absorbed the former William F. Fisher plant, and the Wood, Kearney, 
Roberts and Coleman properties. 

The Crossman Company, in the Burt's creek section of the borough, 
are the largest miners and shippers of clay and sand in the locality. They 
own and operate an extensive tract, use all the latest machinery and 
appliances, and employ a very large number of men. Whitehead 
Brothers have extensive fire-clay and fire-sand mines along the road 



BOROUGHS OF MIDDLESEX COUNTY 471 

from Burt's creek, and also large mines of moulding and building sand 
and kaolin elsewhere in the vicinity. These materials have a rea'dy and 
profitable sale to manufacturers of brick, founderies and builders. The 
R. J. Such Company and Otto Ernst, the latter at Ernston, mine much 
clay and sand and have large tracts of land. 

The Washington Brick Company, adjoining the Sayre & Fisher 
plant, was established in 1868, and continued in business until the death 
of the president, Henry F. Worthington, in 1879. The property is now 
owned by Edwin Furman, of New Brunswick. Former Sheriff Edward 
F. Roberts mined clay and manufactured common brick on the Kearney 
tract for several years; but abandoned that business to devote his 
attention to the mining of clay and sand. 

One of the most notable industries of the past were the green- 
houses of the late George Such, on the Ridgeway property, near Burt's 
creek. This business originated from a small greenhouse built by 
Mr. Such for his own recreation and enjoyment, and with no idea that 
it would eventually become a business. It became so after several years 
and offered to lovers of the beautiful in floriculture as good a collection 
of rare and fine plants as could be found in the country. The business 
extended to all parts of the Union, and also to foreign lands, many of 
his plants surpassing those of the same variety grown in France and 
England. After Mr. Such's death the business was abandoned. 

The Methodist Episcopal church had its origin in the old Bethel 
circuit in 1842. In 1848 the Sayreville church was organized, and the 
church erected in 1872, being connected with the South River church. 
The union was dissolved in 1874 and Sayreville became a separate sta- 
tion. The present pastor is Rev. J. F. Dolan. There are two other 
churches, the German Presbyterian, Rev. Richard Stier, pastor, and 
Our Lady of Victory (R. C.) church. Rev. William A. GiffiUan, pastor. 
The Holy Trinty chapel (P. E.), was erected in 1861 and, with the con- 
sent of the proper authorities, was taken down and rebuilt in South 
River in the summer of 1876. 

There are two public schools, with twelve teachers and 447 pupils. 
Another school existed at Ernston, which was destroyed by the explo- 
sion at Morgan on October 4, 191 8. Prof. Jesse Selover is the supervis- 
ing principal of the borough. The small settlements within the limits 
of the borough are known as Mechanicsville, bordering on South 
Amboy, Burt's Creek, Ernston, Parlin, where the Dupont powder works 
were located during the late war, and Morgan. At the last 
named place a flourishing settlement has grown up about the 
mouth of Cheesequake creek, where it empties into Raritan Bay, and 
where there is a station of the New Jersey Central railroad. 
To this quiet spot, in years gone by, came jurists, lawyers, artists, 
literary and business men to seek rest and relaxation, and amuse them- 



472 MIDDLESEX 

selves by fishing in the bay, and hunting in the forest of the adjacent 
Morgan estate. The old inn, now called the "Old Spey Inn," was 
presided over by Uncle Charley Applegate, better known as "Dad," 
and many amusing tales are told of his words and ways. Many, sum- 
mer cottages have been built by devotees of the rod and reel, and during 
the season the place presents a bright and lively appearance. An excel- 
lent beach affords much pleasure to the lovers of bathing and swimming. 
Sayreville township was created in 1876 by act of the Legislature. 
The first chosen freeholders were Elias Rose and Richard S. Conover. 
Successors to them have been George Such, James Sweeney, John Hart 
and James Blew. The first town committee was William E. Dayton, 
Isaac Walling, James R. Morgan, Stephen Kelly and George Such. 
The borough of Sayreville was erected on January ist of the present 
year, and comprises the entire territory of the former township. The 
population is estimated at eight thousand. The following constitute 
the borough officers : Mayor and acting recorder, John J. Quaid ; council 
— Francis Hartman, president; William A. Betzler, Charles J. Engle- 
hardt, Edwin F. Lockhart, Carl F. Bossong and Edward E. Meeker; 
Joseph J. Webber, clerk; Abram Feihle, assessor; Joseph J. Kupsch, 
collector and treasurer; Thomas H. Hagerty, counsel; Board of Educa- 
tion — Abram Feihle, president ; Frederick S. Davis, district clerk ; Fran- 
cis Samsel, Francis Hartman, Walter Riddle, Charles Els, Samuel Dis- 
brow, Benjamin Boden and Eben Rush; Michael Craven, overseer of 
the poor ; and Thomas F. Dolan, postmaster. 

Borough of Roosevelt — This borough, formerly situated in the extreme 
northeastern part of the township of Woodbridge, was erected in 1906, 
and contains about five miles square. It is bounded north by the Rah- 
way river ; east and south by Staten Island Sound ; and west by Wood- 
bridge township. Originally it was called Carteret, in honor of the first 
colonial governor of the Province, and was so recognized by the gov- 
ernment when establishing the first postoffice, and the office continues 
to be so designated by the postal authorities. When the borough was 
created, the name of Roosevelt was adopted. In Revolutionary times 
Captain Asher Fitz Randolph, Peter Noe, Eliphalet Moore, Benjamin 
Brown and Robert Burwell (all in the Continental army), resided in this 
locality; and in later years well known residents have been Ralph M. 
Crowell, Capt. John M. Tufts, Capt. David Tappen, John Wyckoff, 
Warren and George Brown, Miles B. Vernon, Daniel C. and William 
H. Turner and James Blair. 

The history of the borough is that of the township of which it was 
a part. Its proximity to navigable waters renders it desirable for trans- 
portation purposes, and the Long Branch division of the New Jersey 
Central railroad, the Public Service trolley line, the Fast Line railway to 
Newark, and the ferry to Linoleumville, Staten Island, afford abundant 




-,.^,t l^'.i^,, 








ROOSEVELT VIEWS 
St. Joseph's Catholic Church and Rectory — Chrome Sli'i-I 
Works — First National Bank — Y. M. ('. 



uks and Detinning 



BOROUGHS OF MIDDLESEX COUNTY 473 

means of communication with the outside world. The growth of the 
borough has been phenomenal, the two sections of the town, locally 
known as Carteret and Chrome, having a population of 11,500. The 
first important industry was established in 1881, when the Williams 
& Clark Company of New York erected a factory on the site of the 
present plant and commenced the manufacture of fertilizers from fish. 
This method was abandoned after one or two years. In 1890 the 
American Agricultural and Chemical Company erected the Liebig 
Works, and ten years later purchased the Williams & Clark factory, 
since which time the two plants have been conducted under the same 
general management. About 400 men are employed in the former, and 
200 in the older plant, the output of the two being annually $175,000 
tons of finished fertilizers. The Armour Company and the Consumers' 
Company (the latter a branch of the Virginia and Carolina Chemical 
Company, of Richmond), also manufacture fertilizers, each producing 
annually about 50,000 tons. 

In 1888, August W. Colwell, of New York, built an iron works which 
he operated for about ten years. It was acquired by the Wheeler 
Condenser and Engineering Company, which has uninterruptedly con- 
tinued business from that time, employing a large number of men. The 
officers of the company are : J. J. Brown, president and manager ; H. H. 
Brown, vice-president; A. W. P. Cramer, secretary; Thomas Bostock, 
treasurer ; and Roland S. Freeman, superintendent. About 1900, Charles 
J. and Ferd. E. Canda, of New York, erected a plant now known as the 
Chrome Steel Works, where an improved and superior quality of steel 
is produced; Morro, son of Ferd. E. Canda, is the manager. The late 
Charles J. Canda bought a large tract of land and erected many dwell- 
ings. Much of the land is still owned by the family. The United States 
Metals and Refining Company is the successor of the De Lamar Copper 
Works, and carries on the same business as its predecessor, with a large 
force of men. Other branches of business are the Warner Chemical 
Company, phosphates and chemicals; Carteret Oil and Refining Com- 
pany, Mexican Petroleum Company, Klipstein Dye Works, and the 
Metal and Thermit Corporation, a detinning plant. The Bethlehem 
Steel Corporation owns a large brick building and a tract of land, and is 
contemplating the establishment of a manufacturing plant soon. 

There are two large and excellently conducted public schools, with 
Miss Barbara V. Hermann as supervising principal, and Miss Catharine 
Hermann, principal of the second school. The two schools employ 
forty-two teachers in the regular grades, with special instructors in 
music, manual training and drawing, domestic science and physical train- 
ing; pupils attending, 1,832. The following are the principal churches 
and their pastors : Presbyterian, Rev. John J. Barsam ; Methodist, Rev. 
George A. Hill; St. Joseph's (R. C), Rev. John O'Connor; and St. 



474 



MIDDLESEX 



Mark's (P. E.), Rev. Edward A. Vogt. Thomas Yorke publishes the 
"Roosevelt News," and has built up a successful printing business. 

The First National Bank was chartered in 1906. The officers are: 
Robert Carson, president ; William E. Volz, vice-president ; and Eugene 
M. Clark, cashier; Nicholas Rizsak, Soren Koed, Herman Shapiro, Wm. 
E. Volz, Jacob Levenson, Robert Carson and Charles D. Snedeker. 

The authorities who selected the names of the avenues and streets 
exhibited patriotic tastes, the following presidents being honored: 
Washington, Adams, Jefferson, Jackson, Van Buren, Harrison, Tyler, 
Taylor, Polk, Filmore, Lincoln, Grant, McKinley and Roosevelt. Our 
great French ally of old. Marquis de Lafayette, also has a street named 
for him. These wise men, in their selection of names, exhibited a liking 
for arboriculture, as witness these names: Ash, willow, spruce, birch, 
holly, locust, maple, hazel, orange and linden. The poets were not 
forgotten: Byron, Longfellow, Tennyson, Bryant, Whittier, Emerson, 
Lowell and Holmes. The "home" folks were remembered: Thornall, 
Colwell, Beverly, Noe, Savage, Edgar, Hermann and Lefferts. Favorite 
children probably suggested the following: Mary, Jessie, Catharine, 
Jeannette, Sarah, Robert, Thomas, Charles, Edwin, Arthur and Chris- 
topher. 

The present officers are: Mayor, Joseph A. Herman, the first and 
only. Council — William J. Lawlor, Edward J. Coughlin, Frank Andres, 
Samuel B. Brown, George T. Harned and Joseph C. Child ; clerk, Walter 
V. Quinn; assessor, William D. Casey; collector, Charles A. Brady; 
Board of Education — Edward J. Heil, president; George W. Morgan, 
district clerk ; Frank Birn, Charles H. Morris, Samuel Shapiro, Matthew 
A. Hermann, Cornelius C. Sheridan, George A. Bradley and Patrick J. 
Coughlin; Miss Barbara V. Hermann, supervising principal; Peter F. 
Daly, counsel; Edward J. Heil, recorder; F. Ferber Simons, engineer; 
Board of Health — Edward J. Heil, president ; R. J. Murphy, clerk ; Frank 
Birn, inspector; Dr. Joseph Wantoch, physician; Thomas Devereux, 
Cornelius C. Sheridan and William J. Coughlin. 

The following is a list of those in the service of the country during 
the late World War : 

John Carney, Frank J. Hopkins, Dr. Joseph L. Mark, Qifford Cutter, Joseph J. 
Alborgini, Henry Carlton, Walgeslaw Rusneak, John B. Nolan, Antonio Kanincky, J. 
Mulvich, William Brown, Michael Cook, George Kimbach, John Murphy, George Elliott, 
Patrick Conlan, Patrick Kelly, Leo Sinnott, William Ivan, Thomas Quinn, John Jomo, 
James Crane, Basil Brower, Stephen Catuse, Rudolph Springer, August Deedal, Michael 
Poll, John Ivan, John Rapp, William Burke, Frank Hlub, H. L. Grant, John Magna, 
Vincert Rutnock, Otto Meyer, Emanuel Johnson, Robert Gunderson, John Taylor, Roy 
Dunn, James Dunn, Peter Drenberg, Leon Frusiak, Wadaw Sak, Alexander Wesnewski, 
Stanislaw Gelszyi, John Javonick, Edward Lyons, Frederick Reidel, Andrew Smith, 
Lawrence Doyle, August Sylvester, Michael Fritz, Qayton and Joseph Young, Edward 
Walsh, Robert Major, Joseph O'Donnell, Howard L. Bider, Peter Michiles, Philip Lynch, 
James A. Gillespie, Harvey Young, Nicholas Romond, Arthur Brown, Leo Brown, 
Harold Dolan, John Jones, J. Alvin Brower, Nathaniel Jacobwicz, Joseph Kovoz, George 
Colby, Benjamin Glass, Edward Casey, August Freeman, Joseph Swartzbacker, Chester 
Young, Dr. J. J.. Reason, Courtney Hillyer, Charles Adams, Jacob Weinstein, Harvey 



BOROUGHS OF MIDDLESEX COUNTY 475 

Rudolph, Stephen A. Czajkowski, Charles McCann, Frank Godlarski, James T. Duffy, 
Louis Shipos, Wladislaw Parzonka, Stanislaw Abrusniak, George Buda, Antonio Siamo, 
Anthony Romanski, Anton Laskiewitz, John Kopil, Samuel Gyuric, George J. Chamra, 
John Medrec, John Barna, Almar Henriksen, Harold Edwards, Louis Fabian, Charles S. 
Hubbard, Michael Ganik, Otto Elko, John Vinyansky, Alex. Mesazares, Man Boettcher, 
Joseph Pickola, Peter Stoma,. Daniel Tierney, Majk Kienmann, Niels Kolbensen, Daniel 
Garbor, Stephen Bok, Edward Rich, Fred. Ruckriegel, Joseph Wilus, George Petty, 
Nicholas Sup, Matej Beibek, Vincent Maloney, Rudolph Wruk, John Kennedy, Michael 
Fallo, Felin Milik, Thomas Devereux, John Parlyuliners, John Sup, Edward Dolan, 
Bernard Quinn, Jacob Ensminger, Joseph Bela, Roy Denlea, Konstant Jarka, Ewald 
Grohman, Christ. Anderson, Joseph Shimmon, James Rockecy, Fred. Boettcher, Stanly 
Mundoker, Michael Schubert, Harold Heim, Louis Heierj Alex. Molner, Joseph Mc- 
Loughlin, William H. Jaeger, Paul B. Garber, Charles Wallmg, Anthony Walsh, Antonio 
Zyebski, Peter Volenski, Joseph Trusak, Boleslaw Pelsik, Peter Schultz, William Nash, 
Joseph Nash, Francis J. Shipmaski, Albert J. Teats, John W. Misdom, John Hansen, 
Maurice Cohen, Florian Gulan, Charles Bleka, Felix Gawrysick, Thomas Kresciski, 
Edward WoUschleger, Adolph Kaetzman, Otto Thorsen, Charles Breske, Harold Lager- 
strom, John Shecora, Frank Trustrum, Hugh Price, Abram Gerson, Nicholas J. Sullivan, 
Benjamin Gotowicki, Walinty Waselcuk, Norton Brown, Patrick Nolan Nazzareno 
Talmenonti, Luigi Cagnaizi, Maurice Garber, John Ziner, Sol Chok, Arthur Brower, 
Francis J. Coughlin, Louis Chicolany, Philip Cohen, Joseph Angelo, Frank Powers, 
William E. Bishop, Thomas Shaughnessy, Frank Hite, William J. Walsh, Alphonsus 
J. Bonner, Morris Hoff, Wladislaw Zarnles, Otto Staubach, Jr., Frank Saroces, Morris 
Abrams, Abraham Juskowitz, Timothy Brandon, Vincent Pado, Louis H. Yorke, Tony 
Hostiewicz, Stanistow Brus, Edward Gabrosky, Guiffo GraufH, John C Nevill, August 
Oechsuer, Antenore Pierrinoni, Timothy O'Neil, George Wharton, John Sokokky, John 
McGrath, Felix McDonaugh, Joseph J. Cook, John Feriorese, Henry C. Staubach, Marco 
Punzi, Abram M. Chodash, John Miller, Peter Taslezeski, Jachin Shands, Philip Crins- 
man, John Donohue, Henry Rossman, Tony Udzelak, George Burns, Ladislow Gromatko, 
John Shultaz, John Burtuski, John Pusleyeski, John Kennedy, Adam_ Harkowitz, John 
Celeshikewche, Frank Scelle, Morris Rothman, Bagrat Ovanoff, Patrick Dooling, John 
Oleshkuvicki, Konstant Olinski, John Sada, Pasquale Daguila, Stanislaw Gryoyowski, 
Artamazea Mannelli, Alexander Marelegetti, Michael Romana, Stanislaw Wisnezski, 
Wladislaw Tomcuk, Sorrusso Vito, Clarence Slugg, John Petty, Tony Carbonsky, An- 
drew Sivon, Thomas McNally, John Chromall, John Jureet, Ralo Gallo, Leonard Wisley, 
John Nemit, Benjamin Mickolsky, John Baker, Harry Gleckner, Thomas Jakeway, 
Donald Wilson, Edward Lloyd, Samuel Dubow, George McLoughlin, Frank Kader, 
Joseph Burke, John Donovan, Adam Winters, Joseph Kedela, Luke Kelly, Fred Heffner, 
Peter Acklorwitz, Bert Olear, Adolph Wollschlager, Louis Zabell, Salvatore Orrotto, 
Patrick Seahill, Michael Fitzpatrick, Rafael Sipole, Benjamin Heimlick, Harry Groener, 
James McKenna, William Colgan, Robert Jefferies, Horace Smith, Milton Farr and John 
Namkselbaum. 

Borotvgh of Spqtswood — This borough, created April 15, 1908, is on 
the southeast border of East Brunswick, near the mouth of Machaponix 
creek, and is a station on the Camden & Amboy branch of the Pennsyl- 
vania railroad, about eleven miles south of Perth Amboy. Among the 
earliest residents, of whom there is any record, were David Carnegie 
(Lord Rosehill), John Lewis Johnston, James Rue, Samue! Neitson, 
David Stout, Richard Lott, James Abrams and James and John Perrine, 
referred to in the charter of St. Peter's Church, granted November 23; 
^77% by William Franklin, the last royal governor of New Jersey, as 
"all freeholders and inhabitants of the town of Spotswood," etc. It is 
the general belief that the Johnston above mentioned, of the ancier 
family of "Spottiswoode in Scotland," conferred the narne~ifrtl5norof 
his ancestors, as he was the owner of much land adjacent to the present 
borough. It is also supposed that the area of the tract known as-SpotS; 
-wppd in 1773 was muchja rger than the bound aries of the for mer village. 
Spotswood owes its existence to the water power there, and was known 



476 MIDDLESEX 

as a manufacturing point since its earliest history. During the Revolu- 
tionary War a paper-mill was in operation, and it is claimed the paper 
was there made on which the Continental notes were printed. 

In addition to the above names, as founders of St. Peter's Church, 
should be those of Frederick Buckley, John Barclay, Thomas Newton 
and John Rue. John Lewis Johnston's father, John, lived in Perth 
Amboy for a time, and was largely interested in property there. Land 
in the township was deeded to James Rue in 1785 by Johannes Van 
Leuwen, of Somerset county, and Jeromus Lott, of Kings county. New 
York. It is supposed that Rue came from Monmouth county at a much 
earlier date. Phineas Mundy was prominent as a property owner and 
business man in the early eighties. John Bissett, progenitor of the large 
family of that name, settled in the town shortly before the Revolution, 
and spent the remainder of his life there. 

In 1759, about thirty residents, mainly settlers from Staten Island, 
built St. Peter's Church, the first service being held by Rev. Mr. Skinner, 
a missionary from Perth Amboy. It is evident that services were held 
before the church was built, as Mr. Skinner wrote a friend in 1847: 
"My circuit is from Amboy to South River, thence to Piscataway, and 
thence to Perth Amboy." In 1802, Rev. John Croes, of New Brunswick, 
afterward bishop, became the rector and remained seven years, when 
failing health induced him to resign. In 1850-1851 the old church was 
^Jals^n down and the present one built. 

For some time between 1800 and 1881, Daniel, Andrew and George 
Snowhill; John, William and Leonard Appleby; Isaac and Augustus 
De Voe; Phineas, William and Lewis Skinner, John and William Dill, 
William Perrine, John Outcalt, John Browne and George W. Helme 
have all been extensively engaged in snuflf manufacture. Shirts, hominy 
and a variety of other articles have also been manufactured. Of late 
years the snuff making business has been transferred to the neighbor- 
ing borough of Helmetta. 

The three churches are St. Peter's Episcopal, Methodist Episcopal 
and Reformed Dutch. The first named is very old, the charter having 
been granted by King George III., of England. In the churchyard are 
gravestones, the death dates on some being as early as 1762. Some of 
the names are Dorset, Mears, Reynolds, Dennis, Kinnan, Herbert, 
Combs, Lott, Culver and Bissett. The church is the second ^xj££jted_ 
upon the same spot, and Rev. William L. Phillips is the rector. The 
other churches have not settled pastors. 

The public school is conducted in a good brick building, and has 
about 185 pupils, with Miss Anna Fitts as principal. 

The population of the borough is about 700. The first officers were : 
Arthur B. Appleby, mayor; George W. Devoe, clerk; John H. Dill, 
collector ; Thomas J. Browne, assessor ; William J. Bissett, Augustus A. 



BOROUGHS OF MIDDLESEX COUNTY 477 

De Voe, Hamilton Hazlehurst, Augustine Cornell, T. Francis Perrine 
and Joseph Hodapp, Jr., councilmen. Succeeding mayors have been: 
Phineas M. Bowne, J. Randolph Appleby and the present incumbent. 
The present officials are : Peter J. Scheikert, mayor ; Phineas M. Bowne, 
clerk; John O. Cozzens, Frank H. Vliet, Theodore Clark, Samuel 
Leagher, Herman Littau and David H. Van Buren, councilmen ; George 
L. Burton, counsel. The only hotel in town is conducted by Frank H. 
Vliet. 

Highland Park Borough — In the extreme southwestern part of what 
was once a part of Raritan township, and directly across the Raritan 
river from New Brunswick, was erected in 1905 the borough of Highland 
Park, which has now a population of over 6,000. It is compactly built, 
the dwellings are of a high class, and there is a general appearance of 
thrift and prosperity. The principal manufactures and industries are: 
Janeway & Carpender, wall-paper factory; John Waldron Company, 
machine works and foundry; the Francke Company, couplings for 
shafts; Long-Landreth & Snyder Company, water heaters, and George 
Snedeker, brass and aluminum castings. 

The borough has three excellent schools — Lafayette, Hamilton, and 
Irving, with 760 pupils, under the care of Prof. F. Willard Furth, super- 
vising principal. The Board of Education is composed of the following : 
B. W. Erickson, president ; A. S. Tindell, vice-president ; A. N. Dunham, 
A. W. Quackenboss, F. B. Merritt, F. M. Kerr, Norman H. Smith and 
W. W. Smith ; C. S. Atkinson, district clerk ; Dr. C. F. Merrill, medical 
inspector; and Benjamin F. Gebhardt, custodian. 

The Highland Park Reformed Church was organized May 22, 1890, 
and the building was erected in 1905. The pastors have been Rev. Dr. 
E. T. Corwin, Revs. F. K. Shield and Alexander S. Van Dyck. The 
present pastor, Rev. Anthony Luidens, was installed March 17, 1919. 
The membership of the church is 275. 

St. Paul's (R. C.) Church was erected in 1913, the services for the 
first three years being conducted by supplies from St. Peter's Church, 
New Brunswick, the pastor and curates of which were largely instru- 
mental in building the church. Rev. Frank A. Quinn was appointed the 
first settled pastor September 5, 1916, and still remains. 

The borough officers are as follows: Robert W. Johnson, mayor; 
Harry Weida, president; R. T. Parker, B. W. Erickson, C. B. McCrelis, 
Jr., Henry F. Miller and Amos Wheatley, councilmen; Frederick 
Gowen, clerk; Edward W. Page, assessor; Benjamin F. Gebhardt, 
collector and treasurer; Russell E. Watson, attorney. 

Helmetta Borough — This borough, erected in 1888, about one and 
one-half miles square, with a population of 900, was named in honor of 
Miss Etta Helme, daughter of the late George W. Helme, and now Mrs. 



478 MIDDLESEX 

John W. Herbert, of New York and Helmetta. It is in the extreme 
northeastern part of Monroe township, on the Amboy division of the 
Pensylvania railroad, and about two miles south of Spotswood. The 
principal industry is the large snufi-making plant of the George W. 
Helme Company, of which C. W. Bumstead, vice-president, is the branch 
manager. There are over 500 employees. 

St. George's (P. E.) Memorial Church, a beautiful stone edifice 
erected in 1894 in memory of the late George W. Helme by his family, 
is architecturally almost perfect and furnished with admirable taste. 
The rectors have been Revs. John A. Trimmer, C. A. Thomas and 
D. T. Weidner, The present rector. Rev. Dr. Geo. W. Phillips was 
installed in the spring of 191 5. There are 125 communicants. The Rev. 
Victor Mlynarski is pastor of the Holy Trinity (Polish) Church. 

The borough officers are as follows : J. D. Albert Kienzle, mayor ; 
Wm. H. demons, S. O. Ericson, president; Wm. H. Franklin, Hugo 
Weideman, R. Van Kirk Richards and Geo. H. James, councilmen; 
Wm. Trundt, clerk; Albert S. Schuyler, assessor; John Rothhar, col- 
lector; Douglas McDermott, recorder; Jas. Deming, president; C. M. 
demons, clerk ; Walter B. Helme, Albert S. Schuyler, Geo. W. Phillips, 
John Linstedt, Wm. Trundt, Robert J. Franklin, and Chester A. Burt, 
board of education; board of health, C. M. demons, president; R. J. 
Franklin, John Linstedt, Cornelius Stonaker and Clarke H. Patrick; 
Carl B. Johnson, clerk ; Dr. J. C. Shinn, physician ; C. O. Ericson, chief 
of police ; Chester A. Burt, postmaster. 

The public school is a fine brick building, erected in 1903. There are 
150 pupils, many of whom will attend the Jamesburg High School after 
completing the home course. 

The following is the Honor Roll of those in the United States service 
during the late war in Europe : 

John B. and Edwin C. Bolin, Loring Qemons, Wm. H. Colbum, G. Leonard Erie- 
son, Wm. H. Franklin, Robert J. and Churchill Franklin, Charles Goletz, Samuel Hoff- 
man, Carl B. and Harry Johnson, Clamans Krygier, Nestor Kozinslqr, Joseph I.itnak, 
Frank Maslanka, Joseph Martin, Jacob Naumovetz, Vinzenno Petracca, Geo. W. 
Phillips, Allen M. O. Phillips, Clarke Patrick, Albert Rosnick, Harry Richards, Her- 
bert and Ralph Richards, Walter Studinski, Andrew J. Smith, David D. Soden, Alex. 
Skok, Andrew H., Andrew L. and John G. Valek, Andrew Vertunoff Fred. Yahnel, 
Frank Witkowski, Wm. D. Kienzle, Harry Day. John Keasead, Stephen Bloschinski 
and Thomas Wooten. 

Killed— Charles Bluming and Richard D. Burt. 

Middlesex Borough — This borough, created in 1913, almost joins its 
neighbor, Dunellen, being directly south of it, is about one and one-half 
miles square, with a very irregular boundary, and a population of about 
2,000. It has, for purposes of convenience, been divided into sections, 
or districts, known as Dewey and Lincoln Parks, Green Brook, Beech- 
wood Heights and East Bound Brook. It has a variety of interests 
and industries, viz: Bound Brook Oilless Bearing Company, American 



BOROUGHS OF MIDDLESEX COUNTY 



479 



Cement Tile Company, Commercial Acetylene Welding Company, Baden- 
hausen Company, machinery ; Causee & Company, candied fruits ; C. F. 
Watson Company, machine shop; Manchester Motors Company, Tide- 
water Corporation, asbestos ; Rota Engraving Company, Standard Stove 
Works, Chipman Engineering Company, Great American Chemical 
Products Company, and William W. McLean, Jr., band irons. There 
are four good public schools, and a fifth will be built the ensuing year. 

The borough officers are as follows : George W. Harris, mayor ; F. E. 
Moritz, president; Louis V. Poulson, John J. Campbell, L. L. Chevan- 
ney, J. E. Judson and Harvey S. Castner, council ; S. A. Dutcher, clerk ; 
William A. Coddington, attorney; F. A. Dunham, engineer; H. J. Oester- 
ling, assessor; Nelson M. Giles, collector; Frank Murray, recorder; 
Clarence M. Wright, overseer of poor. 




APPENDIX 



APPENDIX. 
MILITARY ROLLS. 

Name and rank of citizens of New Brunswick that served in the 
war with Great Britain, 1812-1815, mustered into the service between 
September 3 and 14, and discharged between December 2 and 9, 1814. 

Captain James C. Van Dyke's Company of Horse Artillery, doing 
duty as cavalry with Third Regiment, New Jersey Detailed Militia : 

Captain, James C. Van Dyke; Lieutenants, Nathan Dunn, John Voorhees, Jacob 
Van Derveer. 

Sergeants— Kearney Newell, Ephraim Martin, Thomas Dilkes, Lewis Drake. 

Corporals — Cornelius S. Blauvelt, A. S. Van Deursen. 

Trumpeter — Thomas Hewett. 

Teamsters— Stephen Voorhees, Aaron Stout, David Post, Stephen Martin. 

Privates — Charles Beardsley, Jacob Bergen, William Conover, Cornelius Cornell, 
Davis T. Dunham, Jeptha Dunham, Nahum Dunn, Michael Field, John Forman, Minna 
Hassert, John Herriott, Henry Hoagland, William D. Joline, Abraham Kelsey, John Let- 
son, William Letson, John Messeroll, James Murphy, Richard Qutealt, Jerome Rappleye, 
Robert Ross, James Schureman, William Van Arsdalen, George vanderhoof, Henry Van 
Liew, Ruliflf Voorhees. ' ' ' 

Captain Joseph Warren Scott's Company of Light Infantry, Briga- 
dier-General William Colfax's Brigade, New Jersey Detailed Militia. 
Stationed at Paulus Hoeck, New Jersey : 

Captain, Joseph Warren Scott ; Lieutenant, Abraham Van Arsdalen ; Ensign, Jacob 
Wyckoff. 

Sergeants — Borden M. Voorhees, Nicholas Wyckoff, John Van Nuis, James Fisher. 

Corporals — John Vanderipe, Elijah Harris, James Connett, Richard Taylor. 

Drummer, Alfred Copeland ; Fifer, James Sutphen. 

Privates — John Aitkin, James Boyer, Thomas Brunson, James Conover, William 
Conover, William Cook, Simeon Cortleyou, Joseph Crane, Abraham Dehart, Gilbert 
Dehart, John Dehart, William I. Dehart, Richard De Mott, John Garretson, Henry 
Hagaman, David Halfpenny, William Halfpenny, James Hortwick, Joseph Howell, 
Henry Johnson, John Messerol, John Meyers, Michael Meyers, Garret Nafey, Henry 
Oram, John Plum, Vincent Runyan, John Skillman, John Spader, Jeremiah Stillwell, 
A. P. Van Arsdalen, Cornelius Van Arsdalen, Isaac Van Arsdalen, John Van Arsdalen, 
James Van Nuis, Borden Voorhees, William Voorhees, Samuel Willett, James Wil- 
liams, Peter Wyckoff. 

Captain James Neilson's Company of Volunteer Artillery, Brigadier- 
General William Colfax's Brigade, New Jersey Detailed Militia. Sta- 
tioned at Paulus Hoeck, New Jersey : 

Captain, James Neilson ; Lieutenant, Jacob Richmond. 

Sergeants — William Low, Joseph Dilks, Minna Voorhees, George Jenkins. 

Corporals — Abner S. Neilson, Richard B. Duychinck, Tagues Cortelyou, John W. 
Bray. 

Privates — John 4gnew, Edward Aggleby, Simeon Ayres, Samuel Baker, John Ball, 
Nicholas Sooram, Scot!"trarson, Thomas Cloyd, John P. Cornell, Cornelius De Hart, 
John P. Durin;~7ohn J. Duychinck, Joseph Eastburn, John Fisher, Aaron B. Freeman, 
Israel Freeman, Henry V. Garrison, Aaron S. Golden, John Green, Jacob Hapert, Jona- 
than Hurst, Charles S. Hutchins, Jacob R. H. iatt, Abraham Low, Thomas McDowell, 
David Meeker, Richard Mitchell, Stephen Moore, Gieorge E. Nevius, Henry Plum, Elias 
Price, James Priestly, Ralph Priestly, Joseph Rj;^, Jonathan Rice, Benjamin Runyon, 
Joseph Service, William Stephens, Arthur B. Sullivan, John Sutphin, Benjamin Taylor, 
Jeremiah Ten Eyck, Peter P. Vanderhoof, John Van Horn, Abraham C. Voorhees, Isaac 
Voorhees, Luke Voorhees, Ralph Voorhees. 



484 MIDDLESEX 

Captain Ephraim G. Mackay's Company of Riflemen, Third Regi- 
ment, New Jersey Detailed Militia: 

Captain, Ephraim G. Mackay ; Lieutenants, Nicholas E. Baynor, Isaac Dunham. 

Sergeants— George Van Arsdale, James Taylor, Levi Adams, Jacob Ellison. 

Corporals— Abraham Vantine, Joshua Ayres, Leonard Brinley, Matthew Rhea. 

Privates— Robert Ashmore, David Ayres, William Beardslee, James Burrell, William 
Butler, Henry Cortleyou, Azariah Griffin, Joseph Harrison, Daniel Headman, Simon 
Hilyer, Stephen N. Huit, Thomas A. Hunt, John W. Johnson, John Kelsey, Andrew 
Laning, Andrew Lennet, Charles Lupp, Peter Mackey, John McDonald, Dennis Mc- 
Guire, Joseph Monell, William Morris, John Mundy, David Neives, Samuel P. Outcalt, 
William Outcalt, William Robinson, Richard Rowland, William Smith, William Stines, 
Charles Stout, Henry L. Sutten, Peter Ten Eick, David Thorn, Abraham Van Arsdale, 
Henry Van Arsdale, Ferdinand Van Sickle, Jacob Vantine, Daniel Willett. 

Roster of those serving in the Spanish-American War from New 
Brunswick — Major, Clarence M. Slack, M. D. ; chief musician, Benjamin 
D. Burt. 

Company E, Third Regiment, New Jersey National Guard, Volunteer 
Infantry : 

Captain, Joseph Kay; First Lieutenant, Robert W. Watson; Second Lieutenant, 
Henry Landahl. 

First Sergeant, Frederick J .Orpen ; Quartermaster-Sergeant, William A. F. Wolff ; 
Sergeants, Walter C. Banks, Harry A. Perry, Charles H. Stults, Edward M. Oliver. 

Corporals — Charles Jaclcson, David S. B. Bartholomew, George E. Mills, James R. 
Gladden, James Clelland, William H. Lawson. 

Artificer, John H. Payton; Wagoner, Robert W. Garretson; Musicians, Edward 
Hardy, Walter B. Flavell. 

Privates— Wilkie C. Batterson, George F. Baier, Jr., Hugh D. Britton, Walter B. 
Backofen, Frederick D. Brayton, Edgar R. Bishop, Frederick W. Broomer, Thomas F. 
Brophy, William Bauer, John L. Bottorff, William P. Bromm, Robert Barrett, William 
G. Clelland, John Qelland, Andrew J. Crossley, Robert D. Cuddy, William T. Carrigan, 
George Cochran, Charles W. Dodge, Jr., William Donomore, John R. Doyle, Richard 
W. Evans, John A. Ellison, James H. Ely, Oscar T. Fenton, William P. Freeman, Paul 
P. Ford, Harry F. Garagan, James Gough, Clarence W. Harra, Frank P. Harra, Conrad 
Heimel, Edward B. Herrmann, John A. Horan, James H. Holt, Peter J. Horan, Louis 
N. Johnson, Joseph C. Kay, Charles W. Kneib, Joseph M. Klein, Charles A. Kern, John 
J. Kamuff, William A. Lammertz, John Lins, John Lens, C. Wesley Leighton, Emil 
Lageraann, John Lehr, Patrick Lyons, Joseph H. Miller, Frederick W. Miller, Jr., Fred- 
erick Mosher, Charles H. McGinnis, Jr., Perry H. Moore, James Murray, Alton Mc- 
Clain, John J. O'Donnell, William H. Pennington, Jr., Frank E. Pennington, Edward W. 
Page, Frederick M. PoUey, Alfred H. Puerschner, Alexander F. Quigley, Paul L. E. 
Reinhardt, Elias Ross, Charles Stone, Edward W. Space, Nicholas Stobbe, John H. Suy- 
dam, Jr., Edward H. Stines, William N. Stryker, Ellis Samraons, Frederick C. Strobel, 
Robert Stuart, Jr., Peter J. Smith, Jesse W. Tunison, John H. Taylor, Terence Toole, 
Daniel Hendricks Vliet, Harry Van Sickle, Edward H. Van Sickle, Frank M. Van 
Sickle, Edward J. Volkert, Charles F. Wolff, Henry J. Wolff, Edward Welsh, Charley 
H. Wildgoose, James H. Whitehead. 

Men assigned to other companies of the Third Regiment : 

Company A— Maurice Campbell, Warren Horten. 

Company B — Aldis A. Latham. 

Company C— George A. Hickey, Thomas A. Manley. 

Company E — Second Lieutenant Joseph Kay, Jr., George A. Farron, Nicholas Mar- 
tin, Thomas Mullen, John P. McLaughlin. 

Company F— William Bradford, Joseph Cochrane, Thomas L. Lyons, John J. La 
Bar, Edward J. Meacham, Cyril A. Myers, Thomas J. Murphy, Charles M. Millet, Wil- 
liam C. Robinson, William D. Sommers, Joseph F. Stafford, David V. Van Dyke, Gar- 
rett Van Arsdalen, Augustas Van Tilberg, Ludwig Wieland, Jacob J. Ziegler. 

Company G — James Doyle, Garrett J. Finnigan, Michael Harne, Joseph A. Hayter, 
William Moore, William Latham, Edward Rea. 



APPENDIX 48s 

Company H — Henry E. Austin, Jr., Robert J. Flemming, Alfred J. Buttler. 

Company I — ^Joseph G. Meyers. 

Company K — Edward Hardy. 

Company L — Ernest G. Gardner. 

In Other Regiments — Monroe Berdine, New Jersey First; Arthur J. Brow, New 
York Ninth; Nicholas Carter, New York Second; EUwood Holland, at Santiago; L. 
Kirkpatrick Smith, New York Ninth; Louis Solomon, Third Immune. 

In the United States Navy — Fred Boyd, Ambrose Bradford, J. Baker, Frank J. Daly, 
Richard Hardenbergh ; Fred Jemee, killed in Maine's explosion ; Arthur Lewis ; William 
H. Robinson, killed in Maine's explosion ; George Traux ; John Zeigler, killed in Maine's 
explosion. 

The following is the financial summary for the World War Liberty 
Loans in New Brunswick : 

Quota Subscription Over-Subscribed 

First Loan $ 1,702,000 $ 1,800,000 $ 98,000 

Second Loan 2,553,000 2,900,000 347.o«) 

Third Loan 1,505,800 2,139,050 633,250 

Fourth Loan 3,011,500 3,633,ioo 621,600 

Fifth Loan 2,218,200 2,660,700 442,50° 



Total $10,990,550 $13,132,850 $2,142,350 

CAMPAIGN FUNDS. 

Co. H Reception Fund $ 3,479.25 

Soldiers' Farewell and Welfare Fund 3,677.81 

Permanent Blind Relief S18.50 

War Camp Community 2,650.00 

Armenian and Syrian Relief 1,140.00 

K. of C. War Camp Fund (Members) 1,168.40 

War Library Fund i,i4S-39 

Y. M. C. A. War Fund (Taft meeting) 16,400.00 

Y. M. C. A. War Fund 21,000.00 

Red Cross War Fund 27,071.15 

Salvation Army 809.50 

First Red Cross Membership Drive, May, 1917 4,116.00 

Red Cross Christmas Membership Drive, 1917 9,007.00 

Jewish War Fund 1 1,004.35 

K. of C. War Fund 18,983.63 

Permanent Blind Relief 503.00 

Billiard Players' Ambulance Fund 533-00 

Italian Relief 637.75 

Palestine Restoration Fund 2,165.00 

Smileage Books 1,000.00 

Camp McClellan Fund for Co. H 485.00 

Second Red Cross War Fund 62,271.58 

Jewish War Relief 23,500.00 

South Amboy Relief 4,000.00 

United War Work Campaign 114,169.29 

To equip stage, Y. M. C. A. Hut, Camp Raritan 250.00 

Red Cross Roll Call, Christmas, 1918 iS,572.S4 

Red Cross Roll Call, Christmas 10,101.94 

Welcome Home Reception 10,105.61 

Armenian Relief 10,000.00 

Polish Relief 1,007.00 

Salvation Army 9,744.82 

Permanent Blind Relief 1,025.00 

Home Defense League 23,997.31 

Total $ 413,240.80 

SUMMARY. 

Campaign Funds $ 413,240.80 

Thrift Stamps 321,446.61 

Liberty Loans 13,132,850.00 

Grand Total $13,867,53741 



486 MIDDjlESEX 

The following New Brunswick Honor Roll shows the names of those 
who died in service: 

Michael Brudish, Gustav Bush, Chester J. Brokaw, William F. Beech, Charles 
Blumig, Harold L. Berrue, William J. Beyers, Harry L. Campbell, Vincent J. Can- 
zonier, Arthur Croker, Theodore Cadmus, Lieut. Joseph Corso, Antonio Donofrio, 
Warren De Chard, Charles Donohue, Irving H. Deakyne, Anthony Damiano, Emanuel 
Derraitakis, Theodore Edling, Harry C. Frey, James C. Fitzpatrick, Frank R. Flem- 
ming, William Grant, William W. Griggs, Vivian G. Grady, Arthur L. Gowen, John 
C. Grears, John A. Green, John C. Greaves, Nicholas Gianarakis, James Garifalakis, 
Edward Grunbacher, Angus Guscat, Charles Henry, William C. Hampton, John G. 
Himmler, Daniel R. Hoffman, Edward J. lago, Stephen Jacobinsky, Joyce Kilmer, 
Nicholas Kazel, Louis Kohler, Grover J. Lancaster, Willard J. Leach,_ Thomas Lyons, 
Edward McCourt, George MacGee, Patrick J. McCoel, Antonio Mackim, Maxwell H. 
Marshall, Lieut. Henry Mattern, James I. Meyers, Ernest Peck, Spencer Perry, Lieut. 
Jay Potlins, Athanasseos Paulidges, Anthony Rasickis, J. Ernest Ross, Archie Robbins, 
James R. Reid, Joseph H. Rudnitzky, Otto Schau, George Schork, Frank A. Schrober, 
George H. Stokes, Charles G. Sterling, Peter Troiano, Mike Tarka, Kastos Thohalidis, 
Harry Voorhees, George H. Wood, George Worthge. 

The following is the roster of officers and men who responded to the 
call to the colors : 

Commissioned Officers — Major-General William Weigel; Brigadier-General Joseph 
C. Castner; Chaplain, Rev. Frederick J. Halloran. 

Captains— Edmund W. Billetdoux, William J. Condon, M. D., Floyd E. Chedister, 
Leo M. Daly, Harold S. Flanagan, D. D. S., Alexander Gruessner, M. D., J. Bayard 
Kirkpatrick, Robert A. Lufburrow, Herbert W. Nafey, M. D., Raymond S. Paterson, 
Ralph N. Perlee, Robert W. Pettit, M. D., Charles H. Reed, Vivian C. Ross, Richard 
A. Smith, Charles F. Seibert, William B. Twiss, William P. White, Ralph P. White. 

First Lieutenants—Frank S. Atkinson, Charles S. Appleby, George F. Bullock, 
Harold S. Best, Thomas F. Byrne, Ernest T. Dewald, Wallace T. Eakins, Edwin Flor- 
ance, Charles R. Gildersleeve, Edward S. Hoe, Jr., Walter Jones, P. Klemmer Kal- 
teissen, Roy E. Kitchenmeister, John F. McGovern, Jr., M. D., William H. McCallum, 
Neil McDougal, George W. C. McCarter,. George H. Martin, William H. Martin, C. F. 
Merrill, M. D., Thorlow C. Nelson, Grenville Ward Parkin, Bertram B. Smith, D. D. S., 
James P. Schureman, M. D., Theodore Strong, Leonard S. Webb, Pennington H. Way, 
George H. Whisler. 

Second Lieutenants— Laurtn S. Archibald, Phillip H. Benz, Henry C. Berg, Russell 
J. Bergen, Joseph R. Costa, Joseph Corso, Percy Cunnis, Holms V. M. Dennis, 3rd; 
Harry Edgar, Joseph H. Edgar, Adrian Fisher, Ralph Heidingsfeld, Frederick T. 
Hamer, John H. Hoagland, J. Bertram Howell, Roy R. Hawthorn, Peter Hoe, Edward 
S. Ingham, Everett W. Jackson, George E. Jones, Cornelius V. S. Knox, Warren D. 
McCloskey, Joseph V. McGovern, Henry Mattern, Frank M. Meyerand, Jay Pollins, 
Miles Ross, Franklin M. Ritchie, George H. Roeder, John R. Riker, Ralph Solomon, 
John Schurr, Philip H. Stacy, William H. Stang, Lansing P. Shields, Monroe W. Taylor, 
Rushworth Van Sickle, Paul Walrath, Walter K. Wood, William L. Woelz, Paul H. 
Wayke, Charles L. Walker. 

ATowy— Lieutenant-Commanders : Arthur Carpendar, Frank J. Daly, William Nicho- 
las. Lieutenants : Craig Denman, Cornelius N. Conover, John A. Dunagan. Ensigns : 
Charles H. Englehard, Allen F. Conger, John C. Conger, Lawrence Gillam, William L- 
Strong, Jr., J. Seward Johnson, Nicholas G. Rutgers, Jr., William Carpender. 

Red Cross — Red Cross Commissioner, John H. Logan ; Librarian, George A. Osborn. 

Red Cross Nurses— Katherine Hannan, Sally Parker, Veronica Wahler, Clara 
Sprague, Norma Derr, Ella Kearney, Celia Jacobs, Marion McKinney, Jessie Walker, 
Katherine Maley, Evelyn B. Taylor, Miss McLally. 

Service Men— Willis Ackerman, Henry J. Acker, Oscar B. Ahern, Joseph Anderson, 
Harry L. Applegate, Edward Amon, Charles J. Anderson, Frank Acker, Perry H. 
Atwood, Edward Amon, Hark6 Antoniczuk, H. Vernon Aspinall, Joseph Antonale Gar- 
ret Ayers, Thaddeus A Anzolut, Stephen C. Austin, Oliver Askins, Albert Auten, Jr., 
James R. Alexander, Pasquale Amato, Max Albert, George S. Anton, Paul Adams, 
Carmelo Arcuri, William Allen, Fred Van Arsdale, Steve Artemis, Walter H. Atherley, 
William Albert, Emanuel Apostalakis, Nathan E. Allen, Augustus H. Akerstrom, Clar- 
ence L. Adams, Paul Adams, Jim Adams, Charles E. Anderson. 



APPENDIX 487 

Paul S. Best, Chester R. Barbour, Hulbert J. Bagley^ Alfred Bloodgood, James 
Burke, Irving J. Buttler, Richard J. Burke, Edward T. Boorman, Frederick Bergen, 
Edward A. Brodell, Walter P. Bouscher, Lawrence Butler, Herbert Bernard, John Bas- 
tedo, Joseph Breckley, Frank A. Bradley, Charles F. Brockman, William J. Barbour, 
Augustus P. Barclay, Nathan Benadert, Clifford Baker, Thomas F. Burns, Alexander 
Backey, Carl E. Bahr, Robert Borisonyi, Frank A. Baker, Clifford L. Barbour, George 
H. Burke, Raymond Buzzee, Arthur W. Brooksbank, Lester J. Breece, Richard Barry, 
Louis Bondzsel, John Besto, George Burlioton, Otto W. Boyer, Joseph Opde Beeck, 
Joseph Bernard, Martin J. Burke, Russos Bofilios, Joseph F. Barry, Joseph Birch, Jr., 
John Bobonick, Frank O. Bailey, James G. Buzzell, William B. Brown, Emanuel Breit- 
kopf, Alfred J. Blauvelt, Hugh B. Bradley, Harry E. Bowers, Harry Batch, Alva A. 
Blakeney, Walter L. Barr, Clarence Bailey, William J. Bates, Amil F. Brinker, William 
Boschong, George L. Burt, Edward L. Breen, Edward F. Bull, Roy Brower, William J. 
Beyer, Karl Binko, Bolan Boira, James Breece, Charles D. Brower, Joseph Barry, Philip 
Burg, Thomas F. Baker, Otto J. Beyers, Hugh St. L. Booth, James V. Brady, Robert 
V. Butler, Philip Bass, George L. Broffe, Robert Brown, John V. Breazele, Frederick S. 
Barny, Raymond E. Bennett, Frederick H. Boetcher, Arthur Buckalew, Carl J. Buckelew, 
Chester E. Breece, Frank L. Biekwith, Philip H. Breece, Edward A. Buckelew, James 
A. Bates, Edward T. Booream, Nathan Becker, Fred Bergen, James H. Bruse, Russell 
E. BoUman, Raymond Beaucage, Watson Boudinot, James Baschong, Edward Bull, 
George Burke, Irving D. Buttler, Edwin D. Boyce, George L. Burt, Clarence Bailey, 
Walter Barnes, Clarence E. Buckalew, Frank R. Boudinot, Waseley Baigchuk, Robert 
Bradley, George A. Bowen, William F. Breece, Stephen H. Blaner, Steve Bodner, Rus- 
sell Britton, Edward T. Boorman, Clark A. Butterworth. 

Alexander J. Campbell, Edward J. Crane, Charles Coopley, John Crowley, Joseph 
M. Collins, Tony Chakomsky, John L. Copeland, Christopher Chittick, Tony Consalvo, 
Frank Carter, Karl Christensen, Harry CoroUyk, Edward Caton, Frank A. Cbsgrove, 
Joseph H. Collins, Walter S. Clark, Raymond Cereghino, Innocenzo Cassera, Frank 
Carapola, Rocco Q>nzanto, Hain Cazes, Rfansee Curlmaak, Robert C. Carlson, Samuel 
Cohen, George Collier, Thomas Coleman, Arthur T. Chambers, Frank Clark, Thomas 
Connors, John H. Cathcart, Benjamin Cinquegrani, G. Dewitt Clinton, Harold Cole, 
Charles S. Conover, Edward F. 0)rrigan, Nathan Cammel, Monaheny Cohen, David A. 
Coleman, Louis Chatta, Mike Caprio, Chester C. Seeman, Raymond P. Creamer, James 
Coleman, Frank Carter, Lester Colligan, Charles Conklin, John Carson, Luigi M. Cross- 
man, John Crawford, Joseph F. Cosgrove, Douglas Campbell, Walter Clark, John Crohi, 
Tony Consalvo, George W. Coopey, Harry A. Coyne, Alexander Clark, William J. Carr, 
Fred Curtis, John Cherik, Forest H. T. Clickner, Elwood B. Cronk, Kenneth E. Carroll, 
James J. Curran, James Campbell, Leslie Cramer, Louis S. Crouch, Frank A. Cosgrove, 
Joseph D. Campbell, Frank J. Crane, Thomas F. Coyne, Charles L. Cole, George Cope- 
land, Charles J. Carpender, Jr., Walter L. Carey, Frank P. Castellani, Nelson D. Con- 
ners, George Calamia, Percy Comfort, Leo Coyle, Harold E. Crawford, Walter Curren, 
Schuyler Clark, Warren B. Clark, Peter F. Copeland, Bertram E. Cordo, William W. 
Cathcart, Woodbum T. Covert, Robert E. Casey, Albert E. Carlson, William P. Qel- 
land, John F. Conlon, Joseph A. Chisholm, Francis P. Carlon, Calvin C. Cunnius, Roland 
E. Curtis, Frank M. Casey, Dewitt P. Croxson, Harold F. Courtney, John N. Carson. 

Thomas Dicandia, Harold C. Dunn, Jonas P. Dooley, Frank A. Devine, Jacques F. 
DeKeyser, Frank Denti, Paul Dimeo, Sam Dicare, Willis P. Duruz, Oliver Duval, 
Charles L. Donerly, James A. Donahue, Constantin Draconlis, Elijah Doran, William 
De Angelis, Frank A. Dougherty, Joseph Daquino, Frank Daraga, Ward F. Dayton, 
John A. Delesendro, Clifford Donohue, Mark Donofrio, Arthur Danberry, Mike Da- 
gones, Emanuel Doyantaikies, John Daly, John R. Donnelly, James J. Donnelly, David 
DuBoice, James Donelson, Neilson Dunham, Charles W. Dowd, James P. Dooley, 
Emanuel Dermitakis, Clarence G. Dunham, Charles S. Dixon, LeRoy S. Drake, Anthony 
Damiano, Maurice Demougeot, Lewis DuBois, Oliver Duvall, Elijah Doran, John H. 
Dunham, Jacob M. Deinzer, William Diamanti, John M. Damgaard, J. Walton Donahue, 
Robert Dempsey, Leon H. Draper, Andrew Dudas, John Dalrymple, William G. Deinzer, 
John Delaney, Herbert Daly, Carmine Darago, Frank Dowdell, Coulter Duff, Dominic 
y. A. Delia Volpe, Emanuel Daskalakis, Harry J. Donahue, Vincent J. Donahue, Wil- 
liam Danberry, Edwin H. Dutson, Frank H. Dunham, Frank M. Deiner, Sydney B. 
Dell, F. Wilson DuBois, Charles J. Donahue, Richard Dickhart, Frank H. Dey, Vito 
Domiano, James F. Donahue, Edward F. Duffy, Thomas Dicon, John V. Daly, Simon 
Doyle, Anthony Dolan, Milton T. Doan, Harry Dennison, William R. Devine, Rudolph 
Dupros, William Daniel, James Deegan, Frederick J. Dunham, Everett Dunn, Albert E. 
Davis, Jr., Charles S. Dixon, Voorhees Dean, William E. Dunham, Vincent Daly, Edgar 
V. Dunn, Alexander L. DeLoach, Raphael A. Donahue, Lester Doughty, Clarence G. 
Dunham. 



488 MIDDLESEX 

Carl Edgerton, Thomas W. Emond, Edwin F. Ellison, John Earl, Alex. Enterbeg, 
George C. Edgar, Ben Erb, Warren R. Edch, Henry N. Estgen, James P. Earl, Maurice 
Essman, Isadore Edmison, Avraam Ezratty, Frank Ehas, Frank Eckert, Robert Eden, 
Irving Eden, Irving Eidleman, Glenn M. Eastman, Alador, Erngey, Harold P. Ellison, 
George Erb, Samuel Elfant, LeRoy J. Esler, Frank Eldridge, Thomas A. Eldridge, 
Knute Errickson, Arthur A. Eden, George F. Edmonson, Ernest G. Eden, Edward Ennis, 
Card J. Egerton, Thomas Evanowsky, Frank J. Eckert, LeRoy Ervin, Milton Eden, 
James H. Eynon. 

William Fuhrman, Jacob Flink, Charles I. Frith, John D. Farrell, Harold L. Free- 
man, Edward Ford, Alexander Farkas, Waldemar A. Frederick, Albin J. Foley, Leo 
Fochtmann, Thomas Farris, George Feaster, George Figlo, Frederick P. Feltman, John 

E. Ferren, Eric Fleming, Roy F. Fellers, Thomas E. Finnigan, Martin Fisher, Rosswell 
Fulton, Daniel M. Foster, Joseph Fauthauler, Robert A. Fisher, Walker Flanagan, Ross 
Flanagan, L. Fochman, David A. Ferry, J. Ford Flagg, Russell Flagg, Warren G. Feller, 
Angelo Fiorentino, Charles E. Fulton, William H. Fitzgerald, August Fischlowitz, 
Eugene Fraley, Edward A. Flomerfelt, Charles H. Frith, Joseph Fuchs, George Fitos, 
Jomi Foss, Joseph Fries, Peter Fehey, James Faulkner, John Fusco, Lowell Finnigan, 
James H. Featherson, Stephen V. Foczman, Frederick F. Fasch, Jacob M. Freedman, 
George Warren Feller, Parker Freeman, John C. Frisch,- Benjamin H. Finlaw, Thomas 
A. Fullerton, Stephen Fitzpatrick, John H. Fate, William J. Felton, John J. Ferrin, 
Edward Ford. 

John Gould, Laurance Gilliam, Cammillo Gallatti, Stephen Groch, Lawrence Guadag- 
ninp, Victor Gheleno, Morris J. Goldenberg, George Greger, Luigi M. Grossman, Henry 
Green, Paul P. Groben, James F. Gray, Edward Gates, James Gay, Walter Gilliand, 
Albert Gardner, Martin Gulick, Frank J. Gray, Peter C. Greguson, Howard J. Groben, 
George H. Gordon, Joseph Genzanto, James Gargan, Benny Giaquinto, Frank Geresi, 
Joseph Gallagher, Charles A. Giles, Clarence Giles, Sophy S. Gabriel, Demetrius Georg- 
garakis, John Guthowski, Theodore Gutkowsky, Alfred Gramble, Clifford E. Glines, 
Robert Greene, Leory Gladden, Herman E. Grandell, Charles H. Gaffeney, Edwin Good- 
child, Nicholas Gianarakies, Vivian G. Grady, George I. Garland, Adam Geldert, Willard 
C. Gowen, Herman Grandell, William Groth, Fritz Gebhardt, W. W. Gkjwen, Irving Gor- 
don, Nicholas J. Geanris, Joseph B. Galipo, George Gamble, Austin Greenwood, Harry 
Greenberg, Endro Gubsky, Richard J. Galligan, Johnnie Guise, Abraham Gordon, Harry 
Galloway, Michael Gellery, Thomas Gilliotta, Vincent Genco, Edward Gowen, Louis R. 
Goldberg, Michael Gordon, Michael Godfrey, James A. Gillin, Raymond Gebhart, George 
Gilbert, William Gordon, Charles F. Geiger, Albert Grandell, James P. Gibson, George 
Gamble, Edward T. Garrigan, Myles V. Garrigan, Arthur L. Gowen, William H. Gaub, 
Herman Goldfarb, Andrew Gordon, Francis P. Gonch, Alvise M. Golly, John J. Gavin, 
Elias Goydas, John Gould, Joseph Grossweiler, Richard O. Goines, Paul Gaydos, Wil- 
liam Galipo, John L. Gilligan, Peter A. Gussie, Victor Genco, John Gall, William Green- 
wood, Abraham Gordon, Leo E. Gaffeney, Lester Galloway. 

William Hopkins, James A. Harkins, Russell B. Howell, Harry H. Holman, John 
H. Hewlitt, Raymond F. Hoagland, George H. Hye, Godfrey Hawes, Gerald F. Hayes, 
Michael Hanlon, Christian F. Hansen, Edward J. Hayes, Everett C. Hunt, John N. 
Harkins, Daniel L. Harkins, Stephen A. Hunter, Henry Hefner, Louis Hendler, F. 
Arthur Hall, Christian T. Hansen, Daniel P. Hardy, Feodor Hapanovich, Albert Ham- 
mon, James W. Hickey, Chester R. Holman, Russell B. Henry, George A. Henry, Victor 
Hayar, Frank A. Hayter, John C. Hartnett, Willard F. Heffernan, Alexander Hender- 
son, John L. Harkins, Daniel J. Heitzenroder, Carl A. Hokanson, Abraham Hortz, 
Austin Hagaman, Frederick E. Harned, Louis Hanges, George Harett, Leo F. Hohmann, 
William Henry, Edward J. Hanlon, Amos Horrocks, John Harkins, Jr., Edwin Hage- 
man, Frank A. Harper, Isaac Hayward, William J. Harper, Joseph A. Howard, Thomas 

F. Hannan, Herbert Heckman, Eugene Hefiin, Thomas Hynes, Herbert F. Hoagland, 
William W. Hill, Edward F. Hulse, Robert Hussey, Walter D. Heapy, Albert Helferich, 
John F. Horten, George E. Hardy, Raymond Higgins, John B. Herbert, Robert E. Hen- 
derson, Max Hirsh, John J. Hennessy, Thomas Hinsas, Hyman Hopen, John N. Harding, 
Isaac Hayward, Charles F. Harding, James Hayes, Monroe Harris, C. M. Hanesler, 
Ansel Holmes, William R. Hamer, William Hefner, Charles Herman, Robert L. Henry, 
William Holman, Frank S. Hudson, John Hatzakis, Millard Hobbs, Howard N. Hen- 
nessey, Harold G. Holman, Louis Hartley, Walter T. Hesse, Clarence Humphrey, Samuel 
R. Hoffman, John J. Hoagland, J. M. Holmberg, Paul S. Haney, Tecumseh C. Harding, 
Alfred C. Hobelman, Louis Hatt, Russell Higgins, Samuel S. Higgins, Adelbert J. Heim, 
James J. Hannan, Herbert Hustis, Michael Hammell, William F. Harding, Edmund L. 
Haines, Mack Holmes, Joseph Hirchman, Walter J. Harris, John M. Himter. 

Alfred W. Irdell, Russell W. Irdell, C. W. Ivy, Lester Irons, Arthur H. Inteman, 
Salvatore Inzerme, William F. Intemann, George W. Ingling. 



APPENDIX 489 

George E. Jonas, Henry C. Jonas, Irvin B. Jones, Frederick L. Jernee, Jack Jakiel, 
Albert Johnson, Frank R. Jeffries, Harry Jackson, Alfred B. Johnson, James W. Jeffries, 
Arthur Johnson, George C. Jonas, Fred Jernee, Ernest Johnson, William E. Jackson, 
James Jackson, Chester Jennings, Abe Josephowich, Stephen Jacobinsky, James W. 
Jernee, Floyd E. Johnson, Frank Johnson, Chester Jennings, Leopoldo Jeanette, Herbert 
L. Jackson, Frank Josie, Eugene J. Jandas, George J. Jeremias, James E. Johnson, 
Morris Jalea, William A. Jackson, Eustiatios Jtirjtakakis, Wallace Jernee, Lewis Jonas, 
Guste Jsakalos, J. Jack, William H. Jennings, Harry L. Jennings, Harry L. Janeway, 
James Jordon, Morris Josepowich, Henry C. Jones, Stephen Jacobinsky, John S. Johnson, 
William Johnson. 

Raymond F. Kirby, Joseph Kirby, Francis J. Kinney, George Kane, Joseph Kursey, 
August Kronomeyer, William Keetch, Leo J. Kenny, Edward J. Kelly, John Kelly, 
Daniel K. Kenny, Philip Kampinsky, Philip Kuperak, Alfred Koster, Louis F. Kuhn, 
Clarence Koch, David Kallish, Julius Kosa, Iran Kreidick, George E. Kehoe, David 
Kelly, William V. Kibbe, Joyce Kilmer, Edward F. Kohlepp, George Kourkounakis, 
Edward M. Kempton, James J. Kane, Julius Kalfen, Charles H. Knapp, Evangilos Koro- 
falis, John J. Kolb, Adolph Katz, Herman Kogan, Max Katshan, Frank Koch, James 
Kehoe, Nicholas Kozel, Adam R. Keller, John D. Kenny, Irving Kahn, Thomas R. 
Kenny, Robert F. Kelly, Demetrios Kalimikos, Joseph Kady, Harry Kramer, Francis B. 
Kelly, John D. Kornitas, Timothy Kane, Jr., Henry Katz, Mike Kiskurno, Duncan Ken- 
nedy, Peter Keller, George Kearns, Max J. Kerrowsha, Francis J. Kane, Ernest Kent, 
Joseph Kenny, Charles E. Kulp, Frank Kreyling, Steve Kosuluseka, Charles Kubler, 
Louis Kalmer, John Kuprian. 

Thomas J. Lyons, Casper Leggio, Peter Loto, Sam Lavido, Jacob H. Lacenmayer, 
LeRoy L^ne, Richard M. Latham, Russell E. Long, Russell H. Lewis, Leo J. Ludwig, 
John W. Lynch, Edward Lewis, Joseph Lupo, Samuel Lifschitz, Herman J. Levine, John 

B. Leary, Charles C. Lee, Joseph LaPlace, Edward L. Linke, William H. Lorch, Edward 
Lovering, John B. Lynch, John Lesko, George Leppert, Albert B. Leary, Daniel Lynch, 
Mario Leggre, Vesilios A. Ladikos, Benedict Ludwig, Thomas Lseezola, Stellman 
LaBone, John Lively, Mike Landekas, Vincent Lynch, William H. Leach, Irving Laurie, 
George Lebenberg, Duke S. Leonard, John Lindner, John Lawrynowicz, Russell Leach, 
Theodore Lachenmayer, Howard Louyinger, August T. Landmesser, C. Raymond Lyons, 
Joseph Louth, Willard R. Lowe, Michael Levreo, Harry E. Leach. 

John J. Maliszewski, Ellsworth F. Marble, Joseph Marcario, John G. Meyers, Louis 
Miller, Peter Milicia, Fred J. Martin, Artole Mariano, Walter Marsh, Dady D. Mack, 
Harold A. Miller, Benjamin H. Myers, Charles A. Mason, Peter Memetsis Nicholas 
Magyar, Michael Moundalexis, James Mangino, John B. Mulligan, John C. Mason, 
Frank Mulvy, Augustin Martin, Hyman Margolis, Morris Marcus, John MeseroU, Corey 
Meyers, Jr., Alex. Metes, Robert Marsh, Frank A. Martin, Paul Machuck, William H. 
Meserole, Frederick H. Meyer, Frank R. Molimock, Charles Mason, John C. Mason, 
Remy J. Menard, William Mitchell, Louis J. Moser, D. Mack, Charles Morris, Elston 

C. Mount, Burton Moore, Norman E. Moore, Eugene Murray, James E. Mulvey, John 
A. Manning, Oscar W. Marks, Antonio Marano, Mayne S. Mason, John F. McKeon, 
Leroy H. Morris, William B. Manley, Raymond F. Moran, Joseph Melchskey, Frank W. 
Materson, William H. Moore, Daneal Masterio, Herbert J. Miller, Walter H. Monk, 
Edward T. Mullen, Frank Merrell, Rudolph Mueller, R. Moloneaux, John Martin, John 
Massiah, William A. Merchant, Frederick G. Mesny, Qarence A. Milstead, Arthur V. 
Miller, Charles N. Meyers, Harry Meirose, William T. Meincke, John Morgan Macom, 
Louis Matthies, John H. Merritt, Charles Mayer, Harry Marsh, Wilford H. Marty, 
Leo J. Matthews, Charles W. Miller, Antonios Marlulakis, F. Nayson Manley, Leroy 
Mason, Eugene Murray, Alexander W. Miller, Barooh Marash, Merrill H. Morris, 
Frank Meiner, Charles Morris, George H. Meirose, Russell F. Myers, James A. Mitchell, 
Harry Mallon, George Matthews, Joseph T. Mulligan, Freeman Martin, Joseph Milata, 
Victor Martis, George E. Mills, Robert Mitchell, Steve Mislan, Jacob Mayesh, Eugene 
Masco, Sylvester March, Raymond W. Monk, Edward A. Murray, Harry Marcus, John 
Mourelle, Koszkok Myerrovics, Emanuel Mendelsohn, Behor Meihri, Dan Mastorious, 
Frederick W. Matthies, John MacMullen, Jr„ Roy J. MacGee, George MacDonald, 
Robert H. MacCready, Jr., George S. Myers, Garret A. Myers, Fred C. Myers, Russell 
Myers, James I. Myers, John J. Mildenburger, Antonio Macake, Louis G. Metts, Stephen- 
son Morrowsk, Albert McNichol, George Walter Miller, James A. McCormick, Elmer 
McGinnis, Willard F. McMahon, Lester W. McGinnis, William McDede, Clifford Mc- 
Laughlin, Howard McCauley, Frederick C. McMuUen, Joseph A. Massih, Henry C. Mc- 
Whorter, Nicholas McKinney, John F. McNally, James F. McElroy, Howard N. Mc- 
Cowley, Thomas R. McCarthy, Harold S. McWithey, Matthew McElhaney, William J. 
McDonough, Harry McCauley, Harry McCabe, John C. McCormick, Raynard D. Mc- 
Cormack, Edward H. Magsaman, Clifford J. McCormick, Emil Meyers, William J. 



4yo MIDDLESEX 

McKeon, James A. McElroy, James E. McCourt, William F. McCloskey, James Mc- 
Corraick, John McElhaney, Elmer H. McGinnis, Frank Meserole, William A. Merritt, 
John McCarthy, Clarence McLaughlin, Frank V. McCarthy, Edward M. Gay, William 
McCabe, Harwood McCauley. 

J. Nattress, Arthur E. Nelson, Frank Nagy, Leslie Nelson, John J. Nelson, John A. 
Newman, Gustav Nearling, Francis G. New, Louis Nora, John Nora, Henry Neyranow- 
ski, John F. V. Nolan, Rudolph C. Nordhouse, Matthew F. Norton, John Nicholson, 
Tony Nacuiios, Nickolas Nara'zo, Charles Noble, John A. Nicholson, Edward New, Abra- 
ham Nalbandoff, Alexander Nagy, Joseph R. Neller, Harold M. Neely. 

Joseph A. O'Brien, John Vincent O'Grady, Joseph T. O'Neil, Amet Osman, Lester 
F O'Neil John Orphan, Alfio Orlando, Edward P. O'Conner, Thomas H. O'Conner, 
William J. O'Conner, James A. O'Dornell, Daniel W. O'Connor, Frederick O'Browsky, 
Thomas H. G. O'Connor, Frederick W. Obrowsky, William Owens, Harold E. O'Neill, 
Thomas L. O'Neil, William F. Ochs, Joseph Orlando, John Olesnewicz, Joseph Olah, 
Nelson Orpen, Thomas H. O'Donnell, Thomas O'Donnell, Michael J. O'Shea, Loyal 
Ives Ownes, Nelson T. Oram. 

Robert F. Poole, Charles E. Potts, Michael Potmas, Joseph Pentek, Constanteous 
Panagskis, Donofrio Principato, Gyiiseppe Puglisse, Wallace Parker, William Pennick, 
John E. Pyatt, Jr., Alex Pole, Basili Papaniklondakis, Richard Potter, John Potter, Otto 
Pack, Samuel Perrimo, Lewis F. Potter, Isaac R. Parsell, Raymond Purdy, Joseph 
Pocsai, Frank Pipara, John Pontello, Conrad Prefach, Jacob M. Preger, J. Harold 
Potter, Santo Paladino, Vendel Pari, H. C. Potcaik, Guiseppi Puglisse, Francesco Pre- 
mutico, Ralph S. Payton, Dudley G. Perrine, Harry H. Pratt, Eugene E. Pries, Clyde 
F. Putnan, Charles W. Pierce, William Pitzner, Alanson D. Prentiss, Leno Perotti, Rus- 
sell J. Perry, John Priolo, Malcolm S. Pitt, Milton Pantolis, John C. Phillips, Joseph 
L. Paulda, William R. Ponton, H. Griffiths Parker. 

Luciano Quaranto. 

Raymond N. Reed, Albert H. Rusch, Otto Rauch, Millard F. Ross, Jr., Edward 
Rosenburg, Henry Rosenberg, John D. Reebe, Fred Rusch, Jr., Wlademir Radish, Wil- 
liam Rosenberg, Charles E. Reed, Edward Ranson, Eugene B. Reilly, Jacob Rhoeder, 
Robert Rutherford, Henry B. Rochesky, Abraham L. Rosenberg, George A. Reddells, 
Nunzio Rubino, James R. Reid, John E. Richter, Rudolph C. Richter, John Rosenburg, 
Michael F. Rusciano, Archibald E. Robbins, Adam F. Ramponi, Charles M. Ruck, Mef- 
ford Runyon, Peter A. Runyon, Fred Richardson, James Russo, Anthony Rasickey, Mike 
Robinson, Louis Ramponia, Rudolph Richter, Nicholas Rubet, Harry A. Richardson 
Gerard H. Rittenhouse, John Russell, Albert C. Redshaw, William N. Ramponi, John 
W. Rastall, Harold D. Runyon, Walter Ruck, George Rule, Clarence H. Reed, Paul L. 
Robeson, Joseph Randolph, Richard A. Rice, Benjamin Rozelman, Joseph Russo, Leon A. 
Rowland, George B. Rule, Howard C. Rule, Jr., Jacob Ratner, Garrett Ryan, Thomas 
P. Rawley, Anton A. Raven, Philip Reiley, Elwood H. Richardson, Joseph F. Randolph, 
Jr., Warren L. Rolfe, Alexander Reisfield, Elmer F. Rose, John J. Rogusky, Michael 
Rita, Charles L. Reed, Harry L. Robinson, John E. Ross, William Rampone, Andrew 
Rayhon, William M. Regan, John H. Rowland, Arnold B. Rosenthal, Shivler B. Reed, 
Hilton S. Read, Leo J. Rowe, Frederick F. Richardson, Henry Rice, Charles F. Richter, 
Fred Rosenberg, Arthur J. Rine, Edward Ramson, Archibald Redd. 

Chester C. Seemann, William A. Smith, Jr., William Stuart, James J. Staudt, Wil- 
liam A. Savage, William H. Smickenbecker, Lewis R. Stout, Allen L. Smith, Frank H. 
Seatless, Frank G. Seibel, George H. Schlosser, Harry Speinheimer, Jefferson L. Scanlon, 
Paul Schrader, Robert B. Stone, Joseph A. Sweeney, Carmine Sodano, Charles J. 
Sieverding, Harry Schwartz, Leonard A. Sibley, Robert W. Searle, Walter H. Smith, 
John J. Selesky, John J. Slavin, William V. Smith, William S. Schlosser, Jr., Harry J. 
Schroeder, George D. Simitsis, Alex. Salfity, William S. Samuels, Jacob Scheiner, Vic- 
tor Schuster, Leonard A. Sibley, Frank S. Sheridan, James W. Summers, George A. 
Sproat, John A. Sweeney, Michael Sheer, William Simon, Charles S. Smith, James 
Smith, Charles H. Skidmore, Henry M. Stang, Stephen J. Stevenson, Raymond Schanck, 
Harry Schwartz, Edward Slock, James R. Seymore, Charles E. Seymore, Clark Schuyler, 
Warren Schuyler, Frank Slater, James Stevens, August Smalley, John A. Shea, Otto 
Seimons, Thomas H. Sullivan, Fred W. Schroeder, Edwin F. Smickenbecker, Alen L. 
Smith, Nick Sevido, John A. Schaff, Barton Smith, George Street, Nicholas Sarantos, 
Nicola Sciacca, Orville C. Schultz, Edward A. Spille, Rudolph Seaker, Morton B. Smith, 
Frank A. Sweeney, Henry A. Schilling, Harry Schiffner, Charles Schenck, Benjamin A. 
Salter, John Sullivan, Louis Susen, John Speak, Theo. I. Sarunta, George E. Spille, 
William J. Savage, William A. Scott, John Santalucia, John A. Sofianos, George Schmit, 
Edward Schumacher, Howard Stahlin, Raymond Smith, Edward Stevens, Allen A. 
Sackin, Robert E. Stevens, John Sieverding, Henry Schipman, Jr., Charles Seaker, Abra- 
ham G. Stults, Frederick Skirt, Henry F. Smith, Joseph Seaman, Mike Sabart, Martin 
C. Schulster, Richard Simmons, Pofik Saloone, Harry Simmons, William Schumacher, 



APPENDIX 491 

Alfred Showell, Stephen Surkoski, Sabetay Saltiel, Edward Savage, George D. Schu- 
macher, Charles Shiff, George Silzer, Douglas G. Smith, John P. Smith, A. Stevens, 
Elia Sevy, Robert Stein, Sidney J. Smith, Henry J. Spille, Joseph Spinoski, Owen K. 
Swain, David Servis, Charles H. Skidmore, Lewis F. R. Stout, Albert Stevens, M. 
Byron Sinclair, Alfred Showell, George R. Stryker, Frank H. Searles, Levon Seaboldt, 
Anthony F. Silzer, Joseph A. Schwart, Louis L. Schwart, George H. Stillwell, Harry 
C. W. Smith, Morris Sondon, Joseph J. Saunar, Joseph J. Synott, Edward J. Stilkes, 
Cornelius V. Shine, James T. Shine, James J. Stuart, Daves Schinasi, Meyer Shapiro, 
Charles Smith, Michael Shapiro, Victoriano Sandres, George A. Sirontonaki, Owen J. 
Susan, Harold Scott, Arthur F. Smith, Thomas V. Saults, George Schnorr, Joseph Sha- 
piro, Alex. Smith, John Schralya, Clarence A. Summer, James Sgourakis, Joseph J. 
Saunor, Harry M. Strauss, Tofik Saloom, Samuel S. Spear, James Summer, William 
M. Shine. 

Edward J. Temme, Frank Tolan, John V. Tubek, Morris Tartasky, Peter R. Taylor, 
Albert W. Tradell, Benjamin F. Taylor, James A. Talmadge, Thomas T. Tobin, Benja- 
min H. Tallman, LeRoy E. Tappen, John H. Tunison, Russell Turner, George Trisyack, 
Stephen Toth, George Tollman, A. L. William Thompson, Eugene J. Traves, Clifford C. 
Tappen, Kenneth V. Tappen, William D. Tallman, Jr., Harry Tatarsky, Percy W. Tall- 
man, William Teacham, John L. Thomas, George J. Thomas, Andres Troulinos, Edward 
Temme, Harry A. Thomas, Lawrence O. Taylor, Jacob Tulkowit, Edward A. Tevlin, 
John F. Travers, George D. ToUas, Hugh S. Torbert, Harry Truglis, Lewis Toth, 
George Teasdelle, Lloyd Thomson, Richard D. Thurston, Peter M. Thome, Jacob Tulkp- 
witz, Edward A. Tobin, Frank Tarant, Frank Triplett, James Terwilliger, Russell 
Thomas, Gust Tsakolos, Louis Till, Steve Tolan, Russell E. Thistle, James J. Theron, 
George Talmadge, Jr., Frank Taylor, John Thomson, Melvin K. Trent, George Teasdale, 
David Tamarofif, Abraham Tamaroff, Willard C. Thompson. 

Morris Uchin, Charles J. Ulrich. 

Alfred J. Van Nest, Nicholas Vuthiginakis, Julius Verge, Thomas P. Verleny, Cor- 
nelius Vernooy, Frank J. Voorhees, L. L. Van Nuis, George VanDeveer, John Van- 
Derveer, John S. Voorhees, James Van Pelt, Leon Van Pelt, John Voorhees, Qarence 
R. Voorhees, George H. Voorhees, Sebastian Vitah, Ernest J. Voorhees, Raymond A. 
Voorhees, Christ. C. Valukis, Joseph H. Vanderhoef, Herbert F. R. Van Nuis, Herman 
yetran, Henry Vogt, Mike Visnyei, Carmelo Verducci, Harold Van Liew, Erico Valen- 
tino, Leon Van Pelt, Spencer Vactor, Robert L. Voorhees, Harold W. Van Liew, Merritt 
A. Vining, Robert Van Dyke, Theodore Voorhees, Charlie Varon. 

Milton B. Williams, David A. Whitenack, George H. Wood, Russell B. Walker, 
Robert B. Watson, Marshall H. Watts, Dominick Warn, Willard P. Wilson, Andrew T. 
Weingart, Allen G. Waller, Stanton K. Wylie, Richard A. Whitaker, Charles A. Wissert, 
Charles Wilcox, Andrew R. Williams, Harry F. Wilson, Edward C. White, William H. 
Wallace, Peter N. Warn, Harry N. Westphal, William j; White, Harry W. Winckler, 
Theodore Whittaker, Charles Waelde, James T. Whalen, Leslie B. White, Amilian Wuss, 
Arthur D. Walsh, Louis K. Wilkins, George W. Wilmot, James S. Waker, George B. 
Wright, Lawrence Witt, Jr., Fred Wittkofsky, William E. Wittkofsky, Vincent Walsh, 
Elijah Williams, Adolphus Walker, Harry Weaver, Paul I. Wagner, Morsu Wanukick, 
John P. White, Harry F. Wilson, F. Lamar Watson, Russell B. Walker, Edward White, 
Patsey L. White, George H. Weaver, Joseph Wolsilewski, Edgar L. Whiting, Alonzo F. 
Warren, William Wortwick, Louis K. Wilkins, Robert Wehrfritz, Asher D. Watson, 
Thomas Wozniak, George J. Walshek, William Winter, Lester H. Wolff, Jacob Weill, 
Charles H. Witt, Edward Wittkofsky, John Waelde, John C. Williams, Frederick A. 
Weber, Thomas J. Whalen, Frank Williams, John F. Williams, Leo Witkowski, Otto 
F. Wolff, John Welch, Alfred Walker, Christian J. Weingart, Paul Weiand, Henry 
Wittofsky, Allen ^Volpert, Joseph Witkowsky, Raymond White, Reginald WoUey, 
Morris Weiner, Daniel Webster, Harry A. Woods, Irving Warnsdorfer. 

John A. Young, George Yauck, William R. Yetman, Milton Yetman, George Z. T. 
Young, William H. Yates, Frank Young, Thomas Y. Yohe, Williard G. Yager, Edward 
Young. 

Joseph E. Zaar, James Zonino, Ernest Zogg, Raymond Zdziebtowoski, James F. 
Zonino, John H. Zinser, Frank Zubrytky, Martin Zimmerman, William G. Zuest, Kon- 
stantm Zoricky. 

The following is a summary of men in service: 

COMMISSIONED MEN. 

Major-General i 

Brigadier-General .'.!!!!.'!'.!'.!!!!."!'!.'!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. I 

Chaplain .'.'.""!!!.'!.'!!'!"!!!.'.'!!.'!!.'!!!."... i 



492 



MIDDLESEX 



Captains I9 

First Lieutenants 29 

Second Lieutenants i 42 

NAVY. 

Lieutenant Commanders 3 

Lieutenants 3 

Ensigns 8 

Total .- 107 

SPECIAL WORK. 

Red Cross Commissioner I 

Red Cross Nurses 12 

K. of C. Secretaries 2 

Y. M. C. A. Secretaries 2 

Librarian 1 

Total 18 

Drafted Men 9" 

Enlisted Men 803 

Total Men in Service 1714 

WORLD WAR HONOR ROLL— PERTH AMBOY. 
The following are the names of those who were killed in action, or 
died from the effects of wounds, or from sickness, while in service during 
the World War: 

Frank Arsenault, Louis Balint, Gottfried Bjork, Edward Booz, Vitt Bosco, William 
C. Brandt; Martin, Marinus, James A. and Edward M. Christensen; George A. Chris- 
tianson, Joseph D'Agostino, George Dell, Stanley Debrowolski, Andrew Dworakoski, 
Stanley Dzengelski, John B. Egan, Robert Farren, Paul Forester, Edward Franzblau, 
Leon Gardner, Pasquale Gannucci, Raymond, Gould, Ed Grazkowski, Stephen Haremza, 
Isadore Kaufman, Stephen Kazimer, Michael Knockmallay, Isaac Kramer, John Lewis, 
Edward Lippman, Rudolph Lundburg, Richard T. Martin, William Maher, Fred Maky- 
morsnuk, John Makarazyk, James McKenna, Richard T. Miller, Neil P. Neilson, James 
O'Brien, Nels Peterson, Rudolph Peterson, Andrew P. Peterson, Emilio Pistilli, Thor- 
wald Pless, Tony Pucci, Joseph Resh, Vincent Reidy, Oscar Schroeder, George Shea, 
Daniel Sharkey, Vincent Skarzenski, Michael Smisko, Stephen J. Stephens, Adolph 
Straffi, Thomas Skrzypezak, Thomas F. Toolan, Eugene Tonissi, Paul R. Warchol and 
Charles Yuswiak. 

In the Navy — Henry H. Bachman, John and Joseph McGoldrick (both drowned). 

In the service of the United States during the World War : 

Benjamin Acciani, Andrew Achimovic, John F. Alexander, Francis B. Allen, Eman- 
uel Altman ; Edward, James A., Andrew, Andrew C, Charles, Christian, George P. and 
Christian M. Anderson ; Joseph Adamczyk, Kostyn Aleski, Rufus B. Allen, Jr., Joseph 
Algaier, John W. Alexander, Joseph J. Amaczi, Joseph J. Amrhein, Antonio Russo, 
James E. Applegate, Joseph Arturo, Paul Arway, Stephen B. Arway, Octavius Ailing, 
Joseph B. Andrus, Samuel Asman, Stephen Asosky, Barney Avchen, Frank Adamslqr, 
Harry Afflerbach, Raymond Abildgaard, Lister Abrahamer, George Aaroe ; Albert, Eric, 
John C. and H. C. Anderson; Anthony B. Arsenault. 

Johii J., August H. and Felix A. Bader; Allen and Arthur Bagger; William and 
John Baumlin ; Stephen and Francis P. Bartow ; Alexander and Stephen Balint ; John M. 
and Thaddeus Bartkowiak; Joseph Bardos, Ignatz Barebos, Michael E. Bash, Hector 
Bartelleni, William A. Bachman, Charles J. Banka, Henry R. Barnes, Emil Beck, Leon 
R. Berry, William Bechtel, Theo. A. Benish, Ulysses Bennincasa, Samuel Berkowitz, 
Henry Burman, Michael Belko, Peter Beck, Abraham Berkowitz, George Berich, Vitte 
Billeta, Louis Bloyen, Peter Bilgrev, Jr., William Bowers, Michael Bobal, Peter Boco- 
vich, John Bojzsa, Joseph Bombular, Andrew Borban, James Bosoy, Efstratics Bozardis, 
William Brems; Ambrose and Martin F. Brennan; Benjamin Brietske, John Buhl, An- 
drew Boute, John Brogley ; James H. and J. Leo Burke ; George L. and John Bulwinkel, 



APPENDIX 493 

Jr.; Eugene Bird, Bjorn Bjornsen, Fred A. Bjornsen, John A. Bohacs, Arthur Booth, 
Anton Borawski, Joseph Bosie, Raymond B. Bowers, Charles L. Boyer. James Boylan, 
Joseph Brancati, Samuel Brandwin, James Brennan, Fred A. Briegs, Fred L. Brimann, 
John P. Bruen, John Brun, John Buber, John Budney, Stephen Bulvanowski, Harry 
Buickrood, Amato Bonaventure, Egdis Botti, Frank Bocchelli, Michael A. Bram, Axel 
P. Brems, Theo. Brichske; Andrew and John Broski; James T. Browning, Albert 
Brueckner, Anton Bruck, George Budner, John Budz, Stephen Bukoroski, Joseph M. 
Bartos, George Benyak, George Bitting, Joseph S. Burns, Joseph Bruno, Howard C. 
Black, Herman Blimquist, John C. Boll, Michael Bosie, Charles L. Boyce, Leo Brodniak, 
Jacob Bronerwein, Frank Bruck, Claude Bryan, C. J. Brynes, Andrew Buber, Vmcent 
F. Budzclinski, Leo Burns, Alexander Burke, Edward Bratsak, Walter F. Burke, James 
F. Burke, Isidore Blatt, George E. Boyer ; Morris and Joseph Blum ; Michael Burns, 
Anton Barszczewski, John W. Bambach, John Balinski, Theo. J. Briclize, Arthur Booth. 

John Coapize, Nathan Cohen, Emmitt Coleman, Charles Cohfer, Charles L. Conroy, 
Joseph Cossella, Harry R. Grouse, Harold B. Crowell, James M. Crowell, Louis L. 
Crowell, Charles Crumley, Andrew Clausen, John Clewicz, George B. Coates, Joseph 
Coley, James A. Collins, Joseph Conti, Walter Cominick, John J. Cominick, John Cos- 
tello, William Crowe, Allen Culton, Anton Cusane, Simon Cutler, Frank ^. Crowe, 
Salvator Ceres, Stephen Cooper, James L. Clooney, Maurice Cohen, Santo Colarico, 
Max Colton, Ignatz Comacho, Edward Condon, Albert Conway, Tony Cosentine, Walter 
J. Coughlin, Alexander Czadenzik, John Czapiga, Louis Czerke, Joseph E. Cornaochione, 
Salvatore Corrachio, Julian Cholinowski, John C. Clark, Harry CoUow, Rudolph A. 
Csorba, Philip P. Costello, Joseph B. Costello, Thorstein A. Carlson, Holger C. Carsten- 
sen, Frank H. Cannon, Charles H. Calvin, James J. Casey, Vincent Caracoglio, Ges- 
mante Capozzi, Louis Carasite, Philip Caferra, Domenico Calabre, Thomas J. Callow, 
Luigi Camilla, Charles Cannata, Guisseppe Capozz, Mariano Carel, George H. Carbis, 
Santo Cararice, John A. Clear, Matthew Czarnicki, Stanislaw Chalawa, Stanley Chicho- 
wicz. Constant Chrissafides, Philip Chriogiaues; Alfred, Andrew C, Arnold, Marinus, 
Soren, Thorwald, James A., Edward M. and John C. Christensen ; Carl Christofferson, 
James Christopher, Edward Chorescavich, Gustave Chorescavich, Nathaniel Cornelison, 
Jr., John Cunningham; John and Christian Christensen; James Christensen, Harvey J. 
Christie, William Clemenson, Edward Clinchy, Pietro Cockoros, John Cerbo, Frank J< 
Choso, Louis Chnoch, Charles Cadmus, William Campbell, John M. Carroll, Lisbon A. 
Cash, J. W. Chamberlain, George A. Christiansen, Leo A. Collins, John A. Colson, Wil- 
liam A. Connell, Charles Colwell, Tony Cunha, Theodore Campbell, Samuel B. Cohen, 
George A. Cline, Frank Connor, Theodore Chismar, James Christopher. 

Louis Davidson, Antonio S. Dabusco, Fred Dambeck, Nicholas Dadous, Harry 
Dawe, Joseph Dalton, Michael Donohue, Thomas F. Dorrian, John J. Doyle, James J. 
Duffy, John Dunigan, John P. Desmond, Dennis J. Deverin, Michael Deegan, James A. 
Dempster, James Davidson, Areange De Filicie, Guisseppe De Lounzo, Ignacio Dorasine, 
Julian Dezedzeyko, John De Worth, George De Worth, Joseph De Bockler, Clifford 
De Leon, Giacint De Pasquale, Nicola P. De Vito, Alphonso D'Angelo, John Deliman, 
Michael Deliman, Franceso Denaro, Stephen Demko, John Deskevitch, Anton Desserich, 
William Dexter, George Dell, Emile Degen, Nils Dinisen, Michael Ditskie, Konstant 
Doba, William B. Doe, William Dockwell, Lawrence Dockwell, Gaetano Donnamaria, 
Roserio Dragotta, Roy Dragotta, Michael Drunkowich, August Dressier, Joseph Dimond, 
Paul Dombroski, Frank Doucette, John Dubrauski, Felix Duliba, Walter J. Dreiger, 
James Drannan, Edward T. Drubelbeis, Ignatius Dlabik, John Ditski, Henry Dietz, Louis 
Dolezar, John Dluzueski, Joseph Dyeskowski, George L. Dawson, Victor A. De Fretas, 
Giro De Lisi, Qarence Davenport, Louis Dillman, Samuel Dimond, Daniel Dinnis, 
Joseph Ditski, Anton Debrzyski, Anthony Dusaynski, Max Dzlinski, Walter Dzbenski, 
Michael Dwyer, Louis Dizoniko, Thomas Dyeskowski. 

Irving Edelman, Abram Edelstein, Christopher Edgerton ; Thomas F. and Michael J. 
Egan, Walter L. Eichorn, Louis Eile, Harry S. Eisner, William Elkovics, Walter D. H. 
Eldridge, Alexander Ellis, William and Harold M. Evans, Demetrius Evandi, Joseph D. 
Erickson, Walter Eagle, Harry Eggert, William Emertck, Theodore Ericksen, Solomon 
Efrain. 

Samuel Facuola, William Faber, Walter Fasset, Victor Fabrovics, Leon Feder, 
Hyman Fedul, Sistor Festa, Pietro Ferrara, Carmen Fimiani, James J. Fitzgerald, Wessel 
E. Fitzgerald, Stephen J. Finish, Samuel Fishkin; Benjamin and Thomas J. Fox; Sam- 
uel Forchia, John J. Flaherty, John P. Flaherty; Frank and Walter Frederick; Frederick 
Frey, Aaron Franzblau, William P. Frankel, Angelo Franciscone, Concetto Frasca, Wil- 
ham Fraser, Joseph Francy, George Fedor, Maurice Feldman, Frank Felicetta, Luigi 
Felmbattista, Domenico Fellarico, John Fertig, John Frondera, Patrick Fuery, Peter 
Fugen, William H. Fullerton, John Frank, Russo Filippo, Harry Frederick, Peter Fed- 
derson, John D. Fennessey, George W. Fithian, Morris Fleischman, Thomas Flynn, F. P. 
Fenskove, Vandrize Foster, Alexander Franck, John Fuery, Farkas, E. P. Flowers, 



494 MIDDLESEX 

Harry C. Faucett, Alec Feges, G. W. Fazan, Ras. R. Frederick, Nicholas Fraise, M. J. 
Fettnau, Stephen J. Frinsh, Sebastian Fimiani. 

Samuel GarafFa, William Garrity; Donald C. and William V. Garretson; Joseph 
J. Gadek; Julian and Stephen Gaspar; Thomas C. Gatie, Anton Gawkoski, Bolega 
Gazeba; John and Michael Gerba; Daniel P. Gallagher, Philip Gallant, James Gannon, 
Rocco Gontriano, Nicola Gteronda, Joseph E. Gibbons, Arthur Giesing, Grover Gisborne, 
Isidore Glebman ; Albert and Herman Goldstein ; William Goldberg ; Leo A. and Nathan 
Goldberger; Bernard Goldberger, Anton Goerke, William Gooding, Antonio Grandnito, 
Stephen Grybonski; Ronald B. and Charles H. Gray; John F. Granat, Frank Gregor, 
John Gregory, Arthur Grimley, Charles A. Grove, Louis Greenberg, William Gulzvitch, 
Milton J. Guttman, John J. Gannon, Marcel Gavorski, John Geneski, Constantine Geo- 
goes, Andrew Giles, David Gladstein, Edward Green, Howard Grizankowski, Adolph 
Gucat, Edward Gloff, Abram Gladstein, Claude A. Griswold, Charles Gallos, James D. 
Guare, Isadore Gilman, Anton Grzeskowiak, Manuel Grayer, Gus Geme and Maurice 
Goletfarb. 

Henry Hagerman, Hans M. K. Hanson, Stephen Hagner, Edmund S. Hazel ; Philip 
F. and Samuel H. Halpem; Thomas M., Michael J. and Edward Hanley; Alxel, Eman- 
uel M. T., John and William B. Hanson ; Arnold, Frank and Louis A. Hansen ; Einer C. 
Harmson, Thomas Harmes, John Hallahan; William F. and William Harding; Stanley 
E. Hartshome, Earl H. Harriman, George Hasko; Miles P. and Richard Henderson; 
John Hehlo, Ervin Helivig, Charles B. Heller, William J. Hellyer, Raymond Helwig, 
Neal F. Herron, John W. Hendy, William Heske, Thomas K. Hendrickson, Clarence L. 
Herbert, Michael Hiduk, Edmund Hmieleski, Alexander C. Hoagland, Holger Holmes, 
Mony Hollander, Joseph Honan, Robert P. Holcroft, Hans Holt, Mitro Hliva, William 
L. Harkins, William O. Hosking, John Hospodar, Charles Howe, Charles Hilbert, Charles 
Horvath, William R. Hooker, Arthur A. Huif, Charles W. Hubbs, Joseph Huda, John 
V. Hunt, Henry Hospodar ; Austin and Joseph E. Hornsby ; George Houser, Carl Harm- 
sen, Edward L. Hardiman, Hans S. Hansen, Armes G. Hagman, John J. Halligan, 
Michael Halus ; Andreas, Alfred, Nels E. C. and Rasmus C. Hanson ; Leopold Hendrick- 
son, William F. Hill, _ Charles Hiske, Joseph W. Hodge, Edward Hoffsomer, Stephen 
Holap, Charles Hudgins, E. A. Hulse, John Huminski, Elmore Hurring, William J. 
Hansen, Fred Hardy, Arthur Hanie, William Hlavitz, Louis Hansen, Mathe C. O. Hain, 
Nils H. Hansen, Warren Harrison, Meyer A. Hilton, James Hawk, and Richard S. Hill. 

John Inomorotto, Joseph Inacia, Arthur Iverson, Frederick Iverson and Brawadori 
Ijino. 

Joseph Jablonsky, Stephen Jablowsky, Robert E. Jackson, Stanley Jacob; Ingvard 

and Edward Jacobsen; Isidor Jacobs, Herman Jacobszak, Jankovaski, Andrew 

Janderup, Leo E. Jardot, Paul Jeary; Jens F., Alfred, Christian, Fred C. and Peter C. 
Jensen; Johannes Jessen, Jesse Johnson, Charles Johannson; Peter, William and Wil- 
liam L. Johannson; Charles, Christian, Gottfried, Arthur, Howard, Fayette, Harry and 
Herman Johnson; John M., Lawrence and Rignald Johnson; John F. and Allen N. 
Jones ; R. D. Jordan ; Bennett A. and Peter H. Jorgenson ; Peter Juelson, Joseph Juhas, 
Antonio Juliano, Joseph Jagelski, Andrew R. Jensen, Axel Jensen, Martin Jessen, Ben- 
jamin Jesnak, Lars Johnson, Einer Jorgenson, Otto J. Jorgenson, Alvin R. Jacobsen, 
Thomas H. Jago, Samuel Jambie, Benjamin Janoski, Stanley Jaskolasky; Herbert J. and 
Acier Jansen ; Andrew Jasson, Hans Johndal, Nels E. Jepson, Emil Jobgenson, Andrew 
Jessen, Oscar E. Jensen; Raymond J., Elwood R. J. and Anton C. Johnson; Fred C. 
Jenson, Arthur Jensen, J. P. Jenson, Roland Jensen and Martm Johnson. 

Stanley and Stanislaw Kaczmarek; Joseph Kalkoski, Spiros Kalamsac, Andrew 
Kaluszy, John Kasimer, Louis Karkus, Jacob S. Karkus, Stephen Karowarsky, Felix 
Kanikerves, David Kanonanz, Alexander Karlovich, Joseph Kelly, Edward Kelly, Cor- 
nelius Kelly, Joseph Keig; Henry B. and Owen E. Kidd; William T. Kilmurray, Patrick 
J. Kilmurray, William Keating, Joseph Keller, Thomas J. Kelleher, Sol R. Kelsey, John 
Keller, Stephen Kelpitt; William F., John E., and John Kennedy, James P. Kenny, 
George Kemeny, Stephen Kish, Edward Kilroy, Albert Kistrup, Philip Klivan; Albert 
and Henry Knudson ; John L. and Ronald Kleckner ; Albert, Jacob M., Morris and Wil- 
liam H. Klein; Thomas Kolassa, Harry Koons, Martin Kosinsky, Nicold Kostanglopes, 
Michael Kestos, Thomas Kelasok, John Kotski, Joseph Kewalczyk, John Kezok ; John A. 
and Stephen Kozusko; Howard Koons, Anton Kominski, John Konkosky, William 
Kozub, George Kosh, Oliver Kovaes, Anton Kul, Anton Kubulak, Anton and Stanislaw 
Kuratkowski; John Kurobiewski, Stephen Kuswiesky, John Kuska, Adolph Kutchey, 
John J. Krametz; Irvin S. and Max Kreielsheimer, Stephen M. Krockraally, Joseph 
Kroiecisisky, Frank Kwiatkowski, Andrew Kafton, John Kzicynski, Bernard Karkus, 
Edward Kwiatkowski, Morris Kaufman, Walter Keller, Stephen Kaczmarek, Felix Kali- 
noski, Russell Kemmerer, Ardis Kezoff, Joseph Khotimlasky, Ross S. Kiohl, Alfred 
Kirkland, Adolph Klein, Joaquin G. Koch, Joseph Koncz, Pronip Kramerocwicz, John 
Krempasky, George Krock, Gus Krzemiciechi, Fred M. Kjergaard, Joseph Kobelak, 



APPENDIX 495 

Andrew A. Karnis; John and Paul Kamis; Frank Kozina, Michael Kwiatkowski, 
George Kish, Edward M. Kuchne, Joseph Kofile, John Kronkosky, Anton Keviatkonski, 
Isadore Kaufman, Louis Koplowitz and Edward H. Kinsey. 

John Labuskey, Wacetaw Lada, Joseph Labeleski, Jasper Labruzza, Stephen J. 
Lakomski, Antonio Lalocovi, Charles J. Lamp, Vincent Lambiasi, Ambrose Langan, 
Harold C. Lang ; Andrew C, Johannes, William, William P., Anthony R., Chris, Einer 
and Alfred C. Larson ; Arthur LaRoe, Constant Laschowski, Joseph Lasko, John Laski, 
Frank Laskowski, Julius Laskowski, Stanislaw Lawrinoski, Gerald Loach, Joseph Leahjr, 
Axel Lembcke, William Lebovitz, Konstant Lengerski, Paul Levine, John Levandoski, 
Abram Levenson, Harris Levine, Adolph Levy, Richard Le Suer, Jacob A. Lesslauer, 
Ludwig Lewoc, Philip Libossi, Hyman Lieber, Rubin I. Levine, Einer Liljeroos, William 
Lind, Walter P. Lifgreen, Hans Lindhardt, Charles Lindenmeyer, Walter C. Little, 
Fred M. Kenseth, John Lonogno, Ignatz Lozonsky, Charles Looser, Frank Love, Oscar 
R. Lind, John L. Lund, M. D., David J. Lucas, John Lulenzki, Peter Luxhog, John A. 
Lundberg, Joseph Lynch, William J. Lyons, James J. Lynn, John N. Leitner^ John 
Leonard, Henry K. Lozowski, Abram L. Lowkowitz, Antonio Loiaconi, Joseph Lomas, 
Irving Long, William Lordon, Joseph Lacova, John M. Larapart, Emil C. Larsen, 
Adriano Lawrienti, John Lebed, Peter Letse, Frank Levendosky, George Leisler, Harry 
Lindhart, Stanley Linnick, William H. Lloyd, Ralph T. Long, Walter Loczenski, Elmer 
Lund, Elmer Larson, John Larson, Charles Lembcke, Andrew Lesberg, H. P. Larsen, 
Emil C. Lanser, Joseph Lepech, Wyzcicak Lisnbo, Maxwell Lorin, Paul B. Lenchiski, 
Stephen Lzarejko, Elmer Lorentzen and Emil Larson. 

Joseph Malinowski, Anton Malinowski, Fanajote Manikos, John P. Martin, Paul 
Masek, Shak. Matacoff, Christian Mathiason, Andrew Mato, Albert Mazurk, Francis 
J. McCormick, Edwin McFarland, John McGill, Edward McKelvey, Wilson L. Mc 
Kinley, Paul L. Meredith, David Metzendorf , John Milges ; Christian R. and Harry 
Miller; Theodore Moken, Hugo Montz, George D. Morehouse, Peter Mosko, Michael 
Muraski, James J. Murray, Charles Muszowski, Joseph Mrocek, Frank Myer, August 
Maural, August J. Miller, L. R. Morgan, Richard Mathiasen, Victor H. Main, Walter 
McHose, James McGuirk, Leon M. McHose, Anton Magyar; Frank Maskowich, Aaron 
Mintz, Benjamin V. Moore, William H. McCormick, M. D., Daniel McArthur, James 
McCormick; John J., Charles P. and William L. McCormick; William McFarland, 
Thomas McKeon, Joseph K. McLaughlin; Harold and James A. McMahon; James 
McNally; James H. and John J. McNamara; Harry C. and Orville J. Macan; Fred 
Madsen, Charles Madarasz, Adolph Maffei, Stefano Maffei, Peter J. Magyar, Sigmund 
Mahler, Richard F. Maher, Stephen Makini, Thomas J. Major, Michael Malishka, 
Francis Maloney, Paola Manjanaga, Edward S. Marciniak, Stephen Marciniak, Nathan 
Margaretten, Albert Marteucci, David E. Martin, Samuel Margaretten, William L. 
Marshall, Andrew Marcienski, A. Marsuwich, Wladislaw Materewsky, Joseph Matuszle, 
Roman May, Samuel Mazer, Israel Maze, Albert B. Mehaflfey, James Meelheim, John 
Megelo, Joseph Meglozio, Everitt Mellick, Joseph Meyers, Paul Melke, Joseph Messen- 
ger; Robert J., Armand.and Jacob Meyers; August Menrae, John Momo, Peter Mezinis, 
Stephen Michaels, Frank Mikalionis; Alfred, George J., John P., Edward, Joseph, 
Stephen, Albert A. and Paul Miller; Stephen Mikelajczak, Anton Mikucki, Ignatz F. 
Michalonski, John Michalski, Benjamin Mituick, Edward Miljes, Michael Mokowelski, 
Thomas Mola, Joseph Molchan, George M. Molnar, Andrew Mortensen, Theodore 
Moroz, Matthew Mork, John Moskowich, Otto T. Moser, Armand Motors, Frank Mow- 
rey ; Thomas J., James J., Howard and Joseph H; Mullen ; Cleveland A. Mulligan, Wil- 
liam Munn, James H. Mulligan, Saverio Mucelli, Anton Munizza, Martin Munizz, 
Joseph Murasky, Nels Miller, Michael Midio, George Misak, Ira C. Moore, Jr., Morris 
Margaretten, Karisto Markos, W. R. Miller, Andrew T. Matey, Jacob J. Mann, M. D., 
and Clarence A. Mitchell. 

Martin, William H., Charles, Holger, Jens, John and Louis H. Nelson; Frank 
Nemo, Raymond L. Newman, Frank Nestico, Stephen Nagiewich, John Namovitz, Gus- 
tav Nabel, Julian Namoretz, John E. Natoli, Thomas W. Newton, Einer Nicholson, Kos- 
tanti Niemera, Andrew J. Nipar, Testamento Nezerene, Leo Nomandia, Antony Neto, 
Henry T. Nickenig, John Novak, Yens Nelson, James M. Nolan, Edward Ncyboe, Rob- 
ert Nagle, Frank Nesipasul, Axel Nelson, Einer W. Neilson, Peter Nemetris, Ottilio 
Notoro, C. O. Nielsen and Elmer Nielsen. 

^,„Cp™^''"®' °*"'^^ ^•' J"**" ^- ^"'^ Patrick O'Brien; William J. O'Hara, Walter 
OMalley; Peter and James O'Toole; Joseph S. Odeleska, Elmer Ohlson, Tony Oliva, 
Francis M. Oliver, Walter D. Oliver; Michael and Stephen Ondisko; Stephen Oszckesky, 
Olaf Olsen, Hohan Ojcien, Peter Ostergard, Teofil Ostrowski, Frank Ozimie, John 
Obere, Joseph Ohmer, David Owens, John Olexa, C. L. Oliensis, Cyrus Olivierre, Philip 
Joseph Orzechowski, John O'Hara and Krestian Ostergaard. 

Alfred, Harry A., James, William, Charles, David E., Thorwald, Anthony, John, 
Harold R., Rossi L., William K. and Bird Peterson; Anton Palics, Frank S. Pappot, 



496 MIDDLESEX 

Wladislaw Petroski, Paul Petrblla, Christian Petroneles, Palo Pocororo, Lucis Perion, 
William K. Petty, Joseph A. Pfister, Isider Picanko, Thomas Pico, George P. Phillips, 
Frank Plavin, John Pigmiowy, Wladislaw Plucink, Henry Polkowitz, Charles Policas- 
tro, Joseph Pokalskie, Herman Potyk, Joseph Polkascielny, Battista Pucci, Andrew T. 
Poulson, Edward Prohaska, Henry Pucker, Alex. Ponitowaki, Rosario PoUina, Machan 
Poretti, John Pope, Soren Poulsen, Stanislaw Poteraj, Peter Pretelli, Michael Pre- 
zowniak, Valentine Prewozniak, John M. Pribula, George H. Pribula, John Price, Salva- 
tore Prevenza, Constant Psalidakis, James Pitke, Louis A. Polensky, Domenico Paono, 
Tony Paono, Thomas Palisekiewicz, John Parkes, David Patterson, George Pattile, 
Stephen Pavlowicz; Louis H. and John Pavlovsky, Marcus Papos, George J. Parsons, 
Stanislaw Pawlack, Samuel Payne, Axel Parkstrom, John A. Papp, Victor Peterson, 
Ralph L. R. Poulson, Raymond H. Powers, Apanass Peverotney, James Pribush, James 
Prilvich, Stephen Predich, Howard T. Palmer, John M. Panko, Thomas Pargielo, Ray- 
mond E. Parker, Chester G. Peck, Andrew Poulsen, Chris. Peterson ; Edward, Einer R., 
Oscar W., Albert C. and Peter M. Peterson; Alex. Pietraska, Michael Petren, Harry 
Pintard, Louis Piskorski, Wladislaw Petachi, Henry Paulsen, John Petrometalki and 
Frank A. Plain. 

Leonard Quintillian and Joseph B. Quig. 

George Rabec, Fred A. B^k, Axel Rasmussen ; Thorwald, Wilhelm, Julius and An- 
drew Rasmussen; Carl Rappaport, Jacob Raudenbush, Frank Ramarowski, Samuel W. 
Reed, Robert Reid, Irving J. Reimers; James J., Walter J. and Edward C. Reilly; An- 
drew Repak, Joseph Rezza, Paul A. Richter, Julius Rippenbein, John Rice; Arthur and 
Edward Ritter; William C. Rhodes, John C. Roberts, Andrew A. Roerig, William J. 
Roman, W. C. A. Rosenvinge, Anthony Rossi, Michael H. Roth, Salvatore Rotundo, 
Philip Rometo, James J. Rooney, Michael Rozanski, George V. Runyon, Alfred Romin- 
ger, William C. Reak, Edward W. Roberts, William Robinson, Stanislaw Rokicki, Philip 
Rosner, Henry Rossa, Christian Rasmussen, Clair Reick, George Reick, John F. Reilly, 
Albert P. Rippenbein, Ralph Rotella, John Rotundo, Frank Rubaha, Harry Rudnik, John 
Ruppi, Felici Russo, Charles Russian, Victor Refretas, Stephen Rybakowicz, Martin 
Ryan, Edward Ryan, Martin Roch, Herbert Rankin, John Roboski, Meline Raffado, 
Jacob Rippin, Nicholas Riscice, Carl O. Roessler, Eldward P. Romond, Joseph J. Romond, 
Isidore Rosenwald, Thomas Ryczkowski, Francis E. Randolph, Harry Rodrigues, W. J. 
Ridley and John F. Reddington. 

Stephen Sabel, Demetrius Sakellarides ; Thorkeld, Chris and Martin Samsoe ; Thomas 
Sarbowske, George Sandor, Domenico Savoia, Abrara Sacarney, Louis Salesky, Louis 
Sandler, Floyd Scheurman, Philip Schneeberger, M. D., Nicholas Schulara, Herman 
Schwartz, Joseph Seino, Louis Schacht, Carl Schumann, Ernest G. Schumann, Harry 
H. Schultz, Archibald Scott, E. Schultz, Charles C. Schilling, Charles G. Scholz, Julius 
Seiebenski, John Seal, William A. Semple, Louis Seng, Anton Segnak, John F. Seaman, 
Charles K. Seaman, William F. Seiboth, Morris Seinwell, Joseph Shripecky, Charles W. 
Sheppard, Joseph Silvancy, Felix Sipitkowski, Wladislow Sietzputowski, Basil Simakis, 
Alfred Skirm, Nicholas J. Skalla, Stephen Skezenski, John Skeyinski, Paul Shubak, 
William P. Shumsky, Theodore C. Santoro, Quinn Scarchilli, Philip Schlesinger, Peter 
Schoepfer, William Scott, Joseph L. Seaman, George A. Seaman, William Seel, Leo 
Segar, Edward Segar, Joseph Sikerski, George Slaninka, John Smitkoski, Benjamin F. 
Slobodien, Earl Smith; Frank W., Frank B., Fred P., Harry, Thomas C. and William 
Smith; John H. Sorenson, Gustave Soraco, Michael Sopke, Stanley J. Seporowski, 
Joseph Sobirai, Louis Y. Sosin, Joseph Soyak ; Harry and Jacob Spitzer ; Stephen Spack, 
Martin Sparmont, John Stankiewicz, George Stancievich, James Stathes, Joseph Stephens, 
Arthur H. Stephens, Perry Stanley, Anthony P. Stark, William Stern, Joseph Stillo, 
John Stoak, Ernest Strauss, William Stephano, Paul St. Marie, Massino Straffi, Stephen 
Strombach, Charles Sturm, John D. Stien; George O. and Joseph StefJen, John A. 
Strefkm, Charles Supo, Jacob Susman, Charles Shulbach, Elias Shiptenko ; Stephen A. 
and Louis Smith; Harry Simpson, Robert Spiegel, Stephen G. Suydam, John Surico, 
Vito Surico, Frank Sweal, Stewart D. Swan, Jacob Swenko, Frank Swoboda; Frank 
and Edward Sullivan; Peter Szmania, Michael Slobodien; Joseph and Andrew Smith; 
Frank Sneath, Roman Salieciak, Alesandre Seasserin ; Anthony W. and Robert Silkerski ; 
Chester R. Smink, Raymond Sekelenski ; Albert and Carl Sorenson ; Philip Setos, Rus- 
sell M. Sprague, Thomas Stamatelos, Walter Stamplak, Karapel Standoveski, Andrew 
Steed, Leo C. Steffener, Charles Stehlgens, Emil Stremlau, Jacob Sieczkowski, Michael 
Studua, John Suiangkowski, John Surma, Samuel S. Svizeny, Joseph A. Svizeny, Nicho- 
las Stello, Michael Santsak, Rudolph Schell, Jacob Svensko, Edward H. Simonson, 
Joseph J. Simo, Carl Smith, John Solomon, Nicholas Saunicci, Samuel St. Lifer, and 
Adam Szerejka. 

James and William Tanner, Louis Tanko, Vincent Telanco, Biagio Tenace, William 
Testa, Angelo Terrio, Max Terry, Taris Teleshuk, Carl Therkelson ; John J., David G. 
and William Thomas ; Elmer, Harry G. and William Thompson ; John E. Toolan, Harry 



APPENDIX 497 

W. Tooker, George M. Tooker, Nicholas Tellis; Frank and Ernest Tonghini; James 
Toth, John Tiedge, George Tilekey, William S. Tyrrell; Charles and Henry Tiedgen; 
David Timidaski, Paul Trygar, Andrew Travis, Salvatore Tringle; Michael and Henry 
Tuzik, Michael Tkach, Michael Tolmeo, Andrew Tonneson, Joseph Tracy, Michael 
Truman, Andrew Torrolo, Alfred ThuUison, Clarence Thome, Edward Tangaard, Alfred 
T. Toft, James Tricititis, Charles Trout, Tony Tochia, John A. Thompson, Paul Tony- 
gar, and Howard R. Tappen. 

August Ulmer, John Urbanski, Stephen Unkerich, Louis Ungar and John E. Urdsik. 

George M. Vause, Ralph E. Vining, Walter Verncke, Yens Voetman, Anthanios 
Venglitias, John Vidsik and Frank Valato. 

Earl H. Wade, Henry C. W. Walters, Israel J. Ward, Walter J. Weir, Jacob H. 
Weitzen, Earl M. Wendel, Charles S. Wiewirski, David J. Wilentz, John J. Wilk, How- 
ard S. Williams, Harold A. Williamson, Robert B. Wilson, Arthur Wissing, Alfred 
Wittnebert, Joseph J. Wegrzyn, Edward C. Wierzbicki, John Wrblewski, Fred Wuste- 
feld, Russell Wallace, James H. Ward, John Wallgreen, Terachiock Washo, Michael 
Wawerczak, Nathan Wedeen, Morris Wenig, John K. Weyich, John K. White, Edward 
R. White, Arthur Whitten, Arthur B. Wight; John and Anton Wooder; John Wolsky, 
Frank Wachel, Lawrence Ward, Henry Wedeen, Stephen Weisto, Arthur C. Welker, 
George Weir, Arthur Wickberg, Frank Wilentz, William Wogensen, Leo Wolfe, Hans 
Wuetherich, Harry W. Warren, Emerson White, Luther Wilson, Edward Wolfe, George 
Worth, Austen E. Wolfe, Edward Waff, Peter Walaski, August Waldman, Paul Waliz- 
zowski, Thomas F. Wallace, Morris Weiss, Elmer Williams, William Wilson, John 
Winkler, V. Woldsen, Joseph Wilkanowski, John Widzik, George S. Walker, John 
Witzel, Joseph Wojciechowski, Wallace J. Weir, Joseph J. Welton and Russell Woglom. 

Paul Yackowski, Nicholas Yanek, Stephen Yellen, Michael Yuro, Frank B. Young 
and Jesse P. Yepsen. 

Edward Zuranshi, Alex. Zboyan, John Zanka, Nicholas Zececky, John A. Zoloos, 
A. B. Zooman, Julius Zwoutsky; Ira and Paul Zwoyer; Isidor Zagoreim, Andrew 
Zambi, Stanislaw Zakolski, Benjamin Zamick, Michael Zetkulic, Basil Zidzupelon, Wil- 
liam Zlinsky, Theo. Zisk, Julius Zuretsky and Raymond Zolnick. 

WOODBRIDGE TOWNSHIP. 
The following list of Woodbridge men, who belonged to the Militia 
and Colonial troops during the Revolutionary War is taken from the 
"New Jersey Archives," compiled by Adjutant-General Stryker, and 
from Daily's "History of Woodbridge.'' The probable residence of each 
man is also given, when it has been obtainable: 

Archibald Alger; Captains Ellis Barron, Thomas Hadden, Matthew Freeman, and 
Robert Ross; Richard Skinner, Benjamin Thornall and James Noe, all of the First Mid- 
dlesex Regiment. Skinner, afterward a captain, was killed in a skirmish at the Six Roads, 
July I, 1779. 

Shotwell Bishop, Short Hills. Dugald Campbell and Morris Frazee, Oak Tree. 
Morris De Camp, of Colonel Sheldon's Dragoons. Dr. Melanethon Freeman, surgeon, 
Metuchen. Charles Gilman, in Middlesex Militia. Crowell Evans, Joseph Crowell and 
Merrick Martin, Metuchen. 

Captain Asher Fitz Randolph," of Major Hayes' Battalion, lived at the old Blazing 
Star Landing, now a part of borough of Roosevelt. The following all belonged to his 
company: James, Ezekiel, Jonathan and Nathan Bloomfield; Robert Burwell, Joseph 
Dunham, Samuel Willis, and the following : Malachi, Michael, Barzilla, Ezekiel, James, 
Joseph, Stelle, Phineas, Samuel, Thomas and Zedekiah — all Randolphs. 

Benjamin Brown, grandfather of Judge A. D. Brown, Woodbridge Neck. Thomas 
Bloomfield, Senior and Junior ; Samuel, Stephen, Kelsey and Ford Cutter, near Cutter's 
dock; James Edgar, in Middlesex Militia; William Edgar, Ambrose Elston, a Middle- 
sex county judge; David Freeman, Middlesex Militia; Jonathan Freeman, Second Mid- 
dlesex Regiment; Samuel Force, Middlesex Militia; and Hiram Frazee, Six Roads. 

bamuel Jaquish, John Kinsey, artilleryman; also Shadrach, and James Kinsey, 
ienior and Junior ; John and Joseph Gilman, and Jedediah Freeman, in Captain David 
tdgars Light Horse Troop; Abraham Luf berry, in Hazen's regiment, and Abram Laing, 
both of Lower Rahway; Captain Nathaniel Leonard, Metuchen; and Eliphalet Moore, 
Second Regiment Artillery, Continental Troops. 

Oliver Martin, Second Middlesex Regiment, Lower Rahway; Captain Christopher 
Marsh, Essex Light Horse, Six Roads ; Ralph Marsh, lieutenant First Middlesex Regi- 

Mid-S2 



498 MIDDLESEX 

ment, Six Roads ; Captain Jeremiah Manning, First Regiment of Militia, a judge of the 
county court ; James and Peter Noe, the former in Captain A. F. Randolph's company ; 
John Ross, Bonhamtown; Captain Nathaniel F. Randolph, captain in Middlesex Militia, 
and later made naval officer for the Eastern District of the State. He died June 23, 1780, 
from wounds received at the battle of Springfield, New Jersey. 

Captain David Edgar, of Colonel Sheldon's Dragoons, and previously a lieutenant 
in General Heard's brigade ; General Nathaniel Heard, commanding the brigade named in 
his honor- Thompson Stelle, captain of militia and paymaster; Lieutenant James Paton,of 
Sheldon's Dragoons; Isaac Sears, fifer in First Middlesex Regiment, Lower Rahway; 
David Stewart, Metuchen; Benjamin Thorp, Spencer's regiment of Continentals; Israel 
Thornall, Metuchen ; Samuel Dally and son Jeremiah, First Middlesex Militia. Samuel 
was with General Washington's troops when they crossed the Delaware in midwinter to 
surprise the Hessians and English at Trenton. He also fought in the battle of Mon- 
mouth. 

On Fame's eternal camping ground 

Their busy tents are spread; 
And Glory guards, with solemn round. 

The bivouac of the dead. 

There appear to be no records of those who served in the War of 
1812, nor in the Mexican War. 

The accompanying Hst of those who served in the army and navy, 
from this township, during the Civil War, is taken from the Memorial 
Record of William C. Berry Post, Grand Army of the Republic, of 
Woodbridge, contained in a beautiful book presented to the Post by 
Elizabeth Berry Browning, James E., Albion R. and Arthur E. Berry, 
sister and brothers of Lieut. William C. Berry, in whose honor the Post 
was named, and who was killed at the battle of Williamsburg, Va., May 
5, 1862: 

Alfred Baldwin, William R. Baldwin, John Barton, Charles Bedman, William C. 
Berry, Augustus Barton, Charles W. Bergen, David Blair, Edwin A. Bloomfield, John W. 
Bogart, William Bonnell, Ulrich Brobell, Frederick Brill, William H. H. Bloodgood, 
David Brown, John Bonus, John Bunn, Christopher Burns. 

Dennis Cahill, James Claus, William H. Claus, Asher M. Clayton, Charles Coates, 
John Colhepe, Arthur Collins, Edward ConoUy, William R. Coddington, Samuel Cod- 
dington, Henry Cook, Patrick Connors, Patrick Gushing and Joseph Cutter. 

Charles Clarence Dally, George C. Denning, John C. DeWitt, Charles Diebold, Peter 
Diebold, William Doty, John Dunigan, Michael • Dunigan and James J. Dunn, William 
Farley, Augustine Flood, Dennis Foley, George E. Fouratt, Henry Frazee and John J. 
Freeman. 

Frank Gardner, Albert Garretson, David S. and John H. Giles, Charles D. and J. 
Wilmer Gilman, Thomas Grace, Thomas K. P. Grace, John and Patrick Gregory, 
Richard Hatfield, William Haggerty, Richard F. Hawkshurst, Frederick Hone and David 
H. Harriot. 

Isaac Inslee, John T. Jackson, Mortimer Jaques, James H. Johnson, James J. Kaine, 
Christopher Keller, George V. Kelly, John Kervin, Barnard Krouse, John F. Lee, Rich- 
ard Levi, Sampson A. Ling, Thomas Mannion, Seymour Marsh, Albert Martin, Augustus 
N. Martin, Charles W. Moffett ; Franklin and Ellis F. Moore ; George B. Morris, Samuel 
Mott, John Munn, William F. Mulligan, William McElheny, Thomas McElroy, Patrick 
McCabe, Hugh McDonald, Patrick McGrail, John S. McLaren, Thomas Oliver ; Bethune 
D. and Jeremiah F. Payne; William H. Patterson, Edward Presler, Benjamin A. Robins, 
Andrew J. Reed, Robert Ruddy, Williams Ross, Andrew J. Roxbury, Michael Sheridan, 
William F. Stroud, John M. Sutton, Alfred S. Temple, Crowell M. Toms and Thomas 
Trainor. 

Mulford D. Valentine, Patrick Tucker, John H. Venette, John Webber, David 
Welsh, John Welsh, Michael Wilson, Henry R. Wilson, George N. Wright, Henry and 
Theodore Young. 

In the Spanish-American War, J. C. Williams, Raymond R. R. Moore, 
Albert Wilson, Oscar Harald and Stephen Le Brue were in the army. 



APPENDIX 499 

and Michael Conlon in the navy. The two last named are still in the 
service. 

The appended list includes the names of those from this township 
who were in the United States service, in the army and navy, during 
the "War of Nations" in Europe, and was obtained through the courtesy 
of Sergeant Charles H. Kuhlman, of Company H, 311th Infantry, Amer- 
ican Expeditionary Forces: 

Woodbridge — Charles Anness, Marion C. Anness, Roy Anderson, Thomas Bennett, 
Joseph Bernards, Percy G. Browne, Captain C. A. Campbell, Jr., Thomas A. Cody, 
David Coffey, Commander Michael J. Conlon, Charles Corey, John J. Coughlin, Henry 
Debennerdo, Angus A. Deter, John A. Dobermiller, Joseph Dorosch, Charles W. Drews, 
Henry and Wallace Drews, Stanley E. Drummond, Charles Dunham, George F. Duni- 
gan, Joseph J. Einhorn, John J. Einhorn, Lieutenant Ralph Ensign, Edward J. Everett, 
Joseph Everett, Joseph Farkus, Patrick H. Fenton, Joseph G. Ferraro, Corporal George 
F. Finn, Edward A. Finn, Joseph P. Flanagan, Joseph Flecshuk, Edgar Freeman, George 
Fromme, Kendal Fromme; Raymond J. and Andrew J. Gerity; Wilton Z. Gilman, Ser- 
geant-Major August F. Greiner, Corporal Peter P. Greiner, Charles J. Greiner, Captain 
B. W. Hoagland, Lewis P. Hoagland, William J. Holohan, Joseph Holzheimer, George 
Houser, Howard Huber, John Huerster, Patrick J. Hughes, Martin F. Jaeger, Jr., Leo 
E. Jardot, Edward Kath; Henry L. and Thomas F. Kath; George F., James E. and 
Peter F. Keating; Charles Kellerman, John Kenczal, John A. Kennedy, John F. Killeen, 
William P. Klein, Joseph Kolodish, Walter Koyen, Sergeant Charles H. Kuhlman, 
Michael J .Langan, Sergeant Alfred F. Larkin, Robert L. Larsen, J. Furman Lee, Arthur 
B. Levi, Stanley Lockwood, William Lorch, Gregory W. Love, Victor N. Love, Arthur 
H. Ludwigsen, Sherman W. Lusk, Alexander MacPhee, John Maczarski, Corporal Daniel 
Maider, Louis Maider, Gurov Makarchuk, Lester Martin, Frederick Mawbey, Matthew 
L. McCarter, Hugh McCloskey, Sergeant E. J. McDonald, John J. McDonald, Allen P. 
McDonnell, Leon A. McElroy, Russell McEIroy, Edward J. McLeod, John S. McLeod, 
Major W. H. McNair, Sergeant Edwin W. Melick, Jose Menendez, Gilbert M. Mere- 
dith, Jr., William C. Mesick, Frank Miller, Captain Raymond R. Moore, Arthur J. Mor- 
rissey, Joseph Muka, George Mundy, Benjamin Nathan, Henry Neder, Albert E. Nelson, 
Sidney and Raymond Noe, Peter J. North, John and Henry O'Brien, George L. and John 
Olbrick, Derk J. Oldenbloom, Sergeant Leo Ostraw, Earl E. Overholt, William E. 
Paine (colored), Harold C. Peck; Roy, Arthur T., Abel C. and Seth Peterson; Peter 
Peterson, Lieutenant J. Berry Potter, Corporal L. Runyon Potter, Stanley Potter, Trofin 
Racok, Steven Remais, Henry Ryder; Martin and Winfield Ryder; Charles Roder, Jules 
A. Romond, George Rudovic, Paul Sabo, Stephen Sabo, John Sagady, Angelo Scalzo, 
Louis Schack, Sergeant-Major Barron W. Schoder, Stewart A. Schoder, John Sedlack, 
Louis Silksay, Joseph Silas, Anthony Silkoskie, Michael Slobodien, Frank Stongeski, 
Robert Sullivan, T. J. Sullivan, Herbert Taylor (colored), William D. Taylor, Michael 
J. Trainor, Charles A. and William Treen, Mariona Trobenillo, Homer Vagelos, Lieu- 
tenant Earl Valentine, Louis R. Valentine, Sergeant R. G. Valentine, Joseph Varanai, 
Benjamin W. Vogel, John O. Vollonuth, Cesore Vornali, Walter Walsh, William Walsh, 
Thomas and Alexander Wand, Edward C. and Herman Weber, Major J. C. Williams, 
Charles Woglom, Corporal Henry J. Yusko and Louis Zehrer. 

Port Reading — James E. Anzorino, Thomas Anzisine, Raffaelle Benzullo, Biogio 
Antonelli, Ernest Burrows, Enoch G. Bylecki, Ellis Chapman, David W. Carpenter, Pat- 
rick Cassidy, Pietro Cappolini, Pasquale Casale, Nicholas Cerbus, Matti Cotrigno, Mat- 
teo Ciufiredo, Antonio De Andrea, Sabato Defazio, Carmen De Luca, Biogio De Luca, 
Saverio De Marino, Angelo Dettessio, Angelo Doppolito, Cornelius Doody, Jr., Michael 
and Michele Eonato, Valentine Felice, Michael Fitzpatrick, Martin J. Greisheimer, John 
Hadam, George H. Hoer, John C. Herman, William Hilton, Carl F. and Peter M. Jen- 
sen, Christian P. Larsen, Joseph Maklinsky, Frederick W. Mezier, Jr., Biogio Minicci, 
Natali and Sabatino Minucci, Rocco Minichillo, Frederick and Henry Neibank, Raymond 
Neville, Peter R. Peterson, Clarence O. Redd, Rafak RenzuUo, Salvatore Ricci, George 
Richardson, Guiseppe Rogucci, Anaungio Rosso, Dominae Russo, Luigi and Nicholas 
Russo, Andrea Sasso, Joseph Saposa, Michael Sasso, Charles H. Schaffer, John Sciarpe- 
letti Barardino Scutti, William Seel, Antonio Siano, Giovanni Siano, Guiseppe Simeone, 
Corporal Gorman N. Steel, Joseph P. Steiner, Francesco Teta, Christopher Thompson, 
Peter M. Thompson, Matteo Totarro, Felix Travostino. . 

Pords—'EAvidiTA J. C. Balderston, Jacob Boelhouwer, Andrew H. Clausen; Cyrus, 
Leroy I and Russell H. Dunham; John R. and Thomas R. Egan; E. S. Genge; Cpr- 



50O MIDDLESEX 

porals Alfred Ceiling and Eugene J. Ceiling; Corporal Carl W. Hansen, Rasmus E. 
Hansen, Cenge Jakub, Eli Jensen, Dennis Klomsky, Sol. Klomoseky, Arthur R. Lind, 
Corporal Charles A. Lipka, Carl Marchese, Myers Marchese, Lind R. Osear, Boginskie 
Staduik, William Suart, Jr., Carl Sundquist, John Sundquist, Carl L. Marchere, Salva- 
tore Marino, Harry J. Mundy, Sergeant Raymond W. Mundy, Harry Murdock, Samuel 
J. Olsen, Harry Peterson, Guido S. Plans, Rudolph Rasmussen, Gerald Reynolds, Joseph 
Ward, Harry Wenigar and Edward Zich. 

Sewaren — Herman J. Bauman, Captain Albert Boynton, John Breining, Ensign Rob- 
ert L. and William B. Clarkson, Corporal Joseph Coley, Wallace Christie, Jerome Cup- 
pia, John C. Fowler, Roger Gimbemat, Wesley Hall, Herbert D. Haramett, Oswald 
Higgins, Edward Hunter, Lieutenant Alphonse LaFon, O. W. Marks, Alfred T. Mason, 
Lieutenant J. ,C. Neii; Edward G., Harry W. and Robert M. Pender; Yeppe Peterson, 
Charles Peterson, James R. Quackenbush, Nobel Wyman Sheldon; Andrew, Edward 
and Henry Simonsen, Maurice Smith, Lieutenant Herman Switzer, Howard R. Tappen, 
Harold Whitaker and Walter F. Zettlemoyer. 

Keasbey — Charles J. Blum, Julius Copemacke, Joseph F. Fafrovitch, Francis and 
Michael Fee, George FuUerton, Julius Gloff, William Gloff, John Kimas, Sergeant Dewey 
H. Klein, Jacob Lowenkopf, Andrew P. Lutreas, Michael J. Parsler, George Perhaski, 
John Peterson, Charles Pfeiffer; Charles and James A. Romer; Harry Schilcocks, 
Michael Stark, Joseph Toth, Joseph Vilosky and Joseph J. Wilkanowski. 

Avenel — Harry J. and William F. Baker, John and Philip Denbleyker, John Fox. 
Michael Hopta, Sidney Levi, Robert McCracken, J. Lloyd Schiller, Oscar L.' Schiller and 
Thomas Thompson, Jr. 

Ellendale Terrace — ^John Jaucisko, Michael Kochick, John Malnosky, August and 
Paul Matthews, Stephen Novak, Andrew Samo and Stephen Sutch. 

Iselin — Charles Bonhardt, Frank E. Cooper and Michael Tomaso. 

The following is a list of the deceased : 

Woodbridge — Godfrey Bjork, Ira C. Dunn, Charles S. Farrell, Jr., Hartley Wilbert, 
Edward M. Kelly, Charles Marty and Thomas Terp. 

Port Reading — William Senson and Antonio Cappola. 

Keasbey — ^Joseph Resh. 

Sewaren — Lawrence Ballard and Captain J. G. Hendrie. 




SUPPLEMENTAL 501 

KNIGHTS OF COLUMBUS, WOODBRIDGE.— In the year 1904, there being 
councils of the Knights of Columbus in New Brunswick, Perth Amboy and South 
Amboy, New Jersey, a desire to establish a council in the growing town of Wood- 
bridge was thus inspired. Since that time the following members of Gauncil No. 857 
have filled the chair as Grand Knight: J. F. Ryan, J. P. Gerity, R. P. Grace, M. R. 
Holohan, Jacob Grauson, M. F. Conole, Thomas J. Cody. Middlesex Council, No. 
857, was instituted March 13, 1904, with twenty-nine charter members, as follows: Rev. 
J. J. GrifBn, James F. Dunn, Michael R. Holohan, Michael F. Leahey, M. P. Dunni- 
gan, Richard P. Grace, H. F. McCarthy, James P. Hughes, William A. Grace, E. L. 
Romond, John F. Campion, J. H. Concannon, P. J. Kenna, B. A. Dunnigan, B. J. 
Dunnigan, Joseph A. Howell, Patrick Murtagh, Michael P. Conole, John F. Ryan, 
Louis C. Jelicks, Patrick J. Ryan, Arthur J. Delaney, William A. Ryan, Paul P. 
Olbrick, John A. Dunn, Lawrence C. Ryan, James P. Gerity, Edward J. Mooney, and 
D. F. Pender. The original officers, who were members of the committee of organiza- 
tion, were: John F. Ryan, Grand Knight; J. P. Gerity, Deputy Grand Knight; Rich- 
ard P. Grace, Financial Secretary; D. F. Pender, Recording Secretary; John F. Cam- 
pion, Treasurer; E. L. Romond, Chancellor; Rev. J. J. Griffin, Chaplain. From its 
inception this council began to take a deep interest in social and civic affairs, and its 
members were always in the forefront of any movement that was for the betterment and 
welfare of the community. This organization has increased its membership yearly, 
until at the present time it has a total of about 250, and is increasing rapidly. 

During the World War forty-five members of the council were in the uniform of 
Uncle Sam, thirty of whom saw active service overseas, and one of our brothers, Cor- 
poral Edward M. Kelly, made the supreme sacrifice for his country. The council was 
always active in the Liberty Loan drives and other war work, and during the Morgan 
explosion organized a local Relief Station in their clubroom on Amboy avenue, and 
served 2,500 refugees with sandwiches, coffee and milk. The council also assisted 
materially in the great epidemic of influenza in volunteering their services to the com- 
mittee in charge of the Emergency Hospital, and served nightly in the hospital for 
several weeks until the danger of the epidemic had subsided. 

In 1918 the present club house on Amboy avenue near Main street was purchased 
and fitted up as a modern club. It soon developed that these quarters were inadequate 
for the housing of the club, and a committee was appointed in 1920 to look up larger 
quarters with the result that the spacious home of Frank Elias, at the corner of Main 
street and St. George avenue, was purchased, and the council expects to move into its new 
quarters about October i, 1921. In connection with the purchase of this home it is an 
interesting historical fact to note that the new site was the location of Washington's 
Headquarters during Revolutionary times and was known as the Cross Keys Inn. 

The present officers of the council are as follows: M. J. Coll, Grand Knight; 
Joseph J. Grace, Deputy Grand Knight; Paul P. Olbrick, Financial Secretary; Henry 
A. Romond, Treasurer; Michael R. Holohan, Warden; Albert J. Thompson, Chancel- 
lor; Rev. R. J. O'Farrell, Chaplain. 

Besides the councils above mentioned, there are now (1921) councils in Roosevelt 
and Sayreville, in Middlesex county. 



SEWAREN HISTORY CLUB.— In the year 1908, at Sewaren, Middlesex county, 
New Jersey, a number of women met at the home of Mrs. Frederic Firman Grant (now 
Mrs. William H. Tombs) and fonned the Sewaren History Club. These women, 
about thirty in number, elected Miss Mary C. Stoddart their first president. Mrs. 
Grant (now Mrs. Tombs) being previously inspired with an idea of having a Memorial 
Library in memory of the eminent James H. Stoddart, once noted actor and scholar, 
and a resident for many years at Sewaren, this idea was incorporated in the organiza- 
tion and her fondest hopes were realized. The object of the club is mental and social 
improvement along historical and philanthropic lines, and the general culture of its 
members. 

In these early days, Mrs. Hutchinson as treasurer, Mrs. Grant as secretary, and 
Mrs. Hufcut as historian, gave loyal support to Miss Stoddart, who presided about three 
years, when Mrs. Grant was elected president. In 1913 the Club joined the State Fed- 
eration, and in 1915 became a member of the National Federation. 



502 MIDDLESEX 

In 1918 the members of the Club honored Mrs. Grant by placing her name on the 
"Honor Roll" of the Founders' Book of the New Jersey State Federation; and the 
following year planted a tree in her honor on the "Lincoln Highway." During this 
regime the members of the Club made many pilgrimages to historical points of inter- 
est, visiting many of Washington's Headquarters in New Jersey and New York State, 
and Valley Forge, and the battlefield in Gettysburg. 

Mrs. Grant held office from 1913 to January, 1919, when she resigned, and Miss 
Daisy A. Rush, first vice-president, became acting president. In May, 1919, Miss Rush 
was elected president and held that office until 1921. During the World War under this 
regime the membership increased fifty per cent., and great credit should be given to the 
officers and members for their activities in the Qub which enabled it to support the 
various campaigns and driyes. 

In 1914 a committee was formed for a permanent scholarship at the New Jersey 
College for Women, at New Brunswick, which institution is now fully established. 

The History Club has other affiliations, namely — its unit membership in the 
Women's Branch of the New Jersey Historical Society, also membership in the National 
Security League and the Roosevelt Memorial Association. The Club has a stone in 
the Washington Memorial at Valley Forge and in the National Cathedral at Washing- 
ton. Its Memorial . Library possesses a three-inch bronze medallion of Theodore 
Roosevelt. 

The Club has a department of literature, art, music, civics, scholarship, legislature 
library, drama, and others. 

In May, 1921, Mrs. William H. Tombs again became president. 

The Club's activities have had a general influence on the welfare of the community, 
and have gone hand in hand with every movement since its inception by its moral and 
monetary support whenever a worthy cause presented itself. It has sustained itself in 
all these fields of activity, and it is ranked among the leading women's organizations 
of the State of New Jersey. The social part of its work has meant much for the pro- 
motion of culture in this section. 




INDEX 



INDEX 



Academies, Private Schools, 200. 
Amboy, site of, 53. 
Andros, Sir Edmund, 17. 
Assembly, first, 16; acts of, 35. 

Bench and Bar, 233; first county court, 
233; early day lawyers, 234; present 
court house, 236; leading lawyers to 
present time, 237. 

Boroughs — Metuchen and Dunellen, 458; 
South River, 460; Milltown, 464; James- 
burg, 46s; Sayreville, 469; Roosevelt, 
472; Highland Park, Helmetta, 477; 
Middlesex, 478. 

Brainerd, missionary to Indians, 172. 

Cheesequake, 442. 

Connecticut, settlers from, 13. 

County of Middlesex, organization of, 49; 
bounds and changes, 50; civil divisions, 
si; first court house and jail, 53; New 
Brunswick made county seat, 54. 

Courts, first, 63; crimes and misdemeanors, 
64; later courts, 233. 

Cranbury, township of, 447. 

Dutch, coming of, 7; lineage, 10. 

East Brunswick, township of, 427. 

Elections, first, 92. 

English, coming of, 11; Duke of York, 
Lord Berkeley, Sir George Carteret, 
11; Colonel Nicolls, 14; Sir Edmund 
Andros, 17. 

Governors, Proprietary and Colonial — Sir 
George Carteret, 15; Barclay, Rudyard, 
Lawrie, 39; Lord Campbell, Andrew 
Hamilton, 40 ; Hunter, 41 ; Burnet 42 ; 
Montgomerie, Morris, Cosby, 43; Bel- 
cher, 44; Bernard, Boone, Hardy, 
Franklin, 45. 

"Henry and Francis" ship, arrival of, 24. 
Home life, early, 81. 
Hospitals, 267. 

Indians, Leni-Lenapes, i; other tribes, 2; 

ownership of soil, 3; land sales, 4. 
Inns or Taverns, 64. 
Insurance Company, 322. 

Jersey, East and West, 57; boundary be- 
tween, 58; the Keith line, S9; the quin- 
tipartite division, 61. 

Kearny, Gen. Phil, 131. 

Kidd, the pirate, 171. 

Lafayette, visits Middlesex county, 173. 



Libraries, Teachers', 222; New Bruns- 
wick Public, 310; Perth Amboy, 383; 
Woodbridge, 409. 

Lotteries, 65. 

Madison, township of, 440. 

Manufacturers — In Perth Amboy, 271; 
in New Brunswick, 274. 

Medicine, 243; first physician in Middle- 
sex county, 24s; State Medical Society, 
247; first medical journal, 249; present 
members of County Medical Society, 
252; members of in World War, 252; 
officers of County Society, 253; Socie- 
ties organized by Middlesex county 
physicians, 254; State Medical Society, 
257; prominent deceased physicians, 
261; Hospitals and Clinics, 267. 

Middlesex County, organized, 49; bounds 
and changes, 50; civil divisions. Si; 
first court house and jail, 52; New 
Brunswick made county seat, 54. 

Mineral products, 71. 

Monroe, township of, 437. 

New Brunswick made county seat, S4; 
during the Revolution, 91 ; Rutgers Col- 
lege, 185; Theological Seminary, 19s; 
Public Schools, 204; early annals, 279; 
the Royal Charter, 282; shipbuilding, 
286; early newspapers and merchants, 
288; in the War of 1812, 290; visits of 
President Monroe and Lafayette, 294; 
arrival of first locomotive, 29s ; open- 
ing of railroad bridge, 297; manufac- 
tures, 300; street railways, 306; fire 
companies, 307; great fires, 309: Pub- 
lic Library, 310; Board of Trade, 313; 
Historical Club, 317; Rotary Club, 317; 
Den of Lions, 318; Boat Clubj Reli- 
gious Clubs, Charity Organization, 
Humane Society, 319; Banking and In- 
surance, 319; insurance, 322; Churches, 
323; notable characters, 347; in the 
World War, 3S6; Liberty Loans and 
Campaign Rolls, 485; Honor Rolls, 486. 

Newspapers, early, 229; ephermal publica- 
tions, journals now existing, 231; New 
Brunswick Times, 312. 

North Brunswick, township of, 423. 

Noted Men — James Schureman, 173; Jo- 
seph Bloomfield, 174; Alexander Henry, 
James Manning, 175; Luther Martin, 
176; John Watson, William Dunlap, 
177; Joseph W. Scott, 178; Cortlandt 
Parker, 179; Cornelius Vanderbilt, 
James Neilson, 180; Theo. F. Randolph, 
Zebulon M. Pike, 181; Jona. Dixon, 
Andrew Kirkpatrick, George C. Lud- 



5o6 



MIDDLESEX 



low, 182; Woodbridge Strong, 183; 
other notables, 347. 

Perth Amboy, settlement of, 23, 361 ; ar- 
rival of the "Henry and Francis," 24; 
first court house, 53; receives Royal 
charter, 363; railways and manufac- 
tures, 364; old mansions, 365; famous 
men, 373; development of transporta- 
tion, 376; early schools, 378; in the 
Revolution, 379; civil government, 380; 
public utilities, 382; Public Library, 
383; financial institutions, 384; churches, 
336; in World War, 492. 

Piscataway, township of, 416. 

Political — New Jersey enters the Union, 
116; organization of parties, 118; the 
Parkers as leaders, 120; election of 
President Grant, 165; succeeding elec- 
tions, 167. 

Prohibition, election in 1919, l6g. 

Proprietors, the East Jersey, 27; early 
records of, 29. 

Queens College, 185; name changed to 
Rutgers, 187. 

Raritan, township of, 444. 

Raritan Valley, settlement of, 19; Wood- 
bridge settled, 20; early settlers, 21. 

Reformed Church, Theological Seminary 
of, 195- 

Revolution, beginning of, 83; first obser- 
vation committees, 87; Provincial Con- 
gress at New Brunswick, 88; British 
troops in New Brunswick and Perth 
Amboy, pi; privateering, 96; Middle- 
sex men in military service, 97; Colonel 
Neilson, 98; other officers, 99; roster 
of State troops, 105. 

Rutgers College, founding of, 185; change 
of name from Queens, 187; buildings, 
191; courses of instruction, 192; prop- 
erty and endowment, 193; donors of 
funds, 194. 

Schools, Public, 203; provision for flags 
at, 203; Schools, New Brunswick, 204; 



Perth Amboy, 205; South Amboy, 206; 
Helmetta, 207; Highland Park, 208; 
Jamesburg, 209; Metuchen, Middlesex, 
210; Milltown, 211; Roosevelt, Sayre- 
ville, 212; South River, Spotswood, 
213; Cranbury, 214; East Brunswick, 
Madison, 21S; Monroe, North Bruns- 
wick, 216; Piscataway, 217; Plains- 
boro, Raritan, 218; South Brunsvdck, 
219; Woodbridge, 220; Honor Roll, 
221; Teachers' Library, 222; School 
Board Association, 223; Supervising 
Principals' Association, 223; District 
Teachers' and Parent Teachers' Asso- 
ciations, 224; vocational schools, 225. 

Scottish Covenanters, 24. 

Sewaren, clay mines, 411; History Club, 
S02. 

Slavery, introduction of, 68; its disap- 
pearance, 68. 

Soil and products, 71. 

South Amboy, city of, 397. 

South Brunswick, township of, 431. 

Thanksgiving Day, first, 65. 

Theological Seminary of Reformed 

Church, 19s; buildings, 199. 
Townships — North Brunswick and South 

Brunswick, 51 ; Monroe, Piscataway, 

Woodbridge, 52; East Brunswick, 53. 
Transportation, early, 73; first roads, 74; 

first ferries and stages, 76; packets, 77; 

canals, 78; steamboats, railroads, 79. 

Visitors, distinguished, 171. 

War between the States, 129; New Jersey 
regiments — First, 130; Ninth, 134; Four- 
teenth, 138; Twenty-eighth, 141; Ros- 
ter, 143; First Cavalry, 164. 

War, Spanish-American, 167, 484. 

War, World, 169, 356; Liberty Loans and 
campaigns funds, 485; military rolls, 486, 
498. 

Washington visits Middlesex county, 173. 

Woman Suffrage, 169. 

Woodbridge, settlement of, 20; township 
of, 401; Knights of Columbus, 501. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 




/f»^5 H'-'^t^inr.nl PijJ? Cn 




Sno b'j E G WiUvj^s >^ Bra try 



if^ (ZTo^^^ 



BIOGRAPHICAL 

JOHN P. WALL.— The name Wall is a corruption of De Val, and 
it was introduced into Ireland by the Normans in 1169. The bearers of 
this name settled in the South of Ireland and held estates in Waterford 
and Cork. The family seat was in Coolnamuck, Waterford. The estates 
were sold in 1852 under the Encumbered Estates Act and are now held 
by the Ormond Buttlers. The name is still carried in the original form 
by the Spanish and French descendants of the family. In some cases 
it is written Del Val, notably in that of the Spanish family of Cardinal 
Merry del Val, secretary to the late Pope Pius X., and his brother, 
Senor Alfonso del Val, the present Spanish Ambassador to London. 
They are descended from the Waterford family of Wall, and this 
eventually was Latinized into its present form. The Ambassador's 
father, Don Rafael Merry del Val, was for some years secretary to the 
Spanish Embassy in London. Other notable members of this family 
were: Colonel Joseph Wall, Governor of Goree in Africa, 1779- 1792, 
son of Garrett Wall ; John Wall, a physician, who contributed to the 
establishment of the porcelain manufactory in Worcester, England. 
The Walls of New Jersey are all descendants of this family. 

The name was introduced into Spain by Richard Wall, born in 
Waterford, Ireland, 1693, died in Granada, 1778. He entered the Spanish 
navy while still a youth, and rose to the rank of major-general. He 
served as private agent of Spain in Aix La Chapelle; was Minister to 
the Court of St. James, and later Minister of Foreign Affairs to Ferdi- 
nand VI. and Charles III. It is to his antiquarian zeal that the world 
is indebted for the preservation of the Alhambra. His father was a 
colonel in the army of James II., and had two brothers, one of them 
being the father of Garret Wall, of further mention. 

Garret Wall was born in 1710, and died in 1768. He married 

Cleary, who died in 1779. Their son, James, is of further mention. 

James Wall was born in 1764, and, died in 1806. He was an officer 
of the United Irishmen, and very active in the stirring days of 1798. He 
was somewhat of a political figure in his time, and his services were 
much in demand as an orator. He married, in 1794, Mary Brouders, 
born in 1769, died in 1809. Children : Patrick, of further mention ; Gar- 
ret, born 1799, died 1842; Ellen, bom 1801, died 1851; William, born 
180S, died 1869. 

Patrick Wall was born in 1796. He was a contraictor for army cloth- 
ing in London during the Crimean War. He returned to Ireland, where 
he died in the year 1879, and was buried in the family plot in Glanworth. 
He married, 1825, Hanora Keleher, born 1797, died 1881, daughter o'f 
Michael and Mary (Birmingham) Keleher, who were married in 1796. 
Michael Keleher was born in 1768, and died in 1841 ; his wife was born 
in 1770, and died in 1800. Children of Mr. and Mrs. Wall: i. Mary, 
born 1826, died in New Brunswick, New Jersey, 1904; married, 1853, 



^ MIDDLESEX 

Jeremiah Coleman, London, England. 2. Ellen, born 1828, died 1834. 
3. Margaret, born 1831 ; last heard from in 1854, when she was livmg 
in Brooklyn, New York, where she married John Sattier. 4. James, 
born 1833, died in London, England, 1916; married, 1864, Ellen Courtney. 
5. Michael, of further mention. 6. John, born 1838; went to Italy as 
secretary to one of the British representatives at Rome during the Papal 
War ; a letter received from him stated that he was wounded and after 
that all efiforts to locate him failed. 7. Patrick, born 1840, died in London, 
England, 1913 ; married, 1866, Hanora Greene, sister to Susanna Greene, 
who died in London, England, 1912, leaving among their surviving 
children the Rev. John J. Wall, Rev. William Greene Wall, of London, 
also Sister Mary Abycia of the Assumption Academy, Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania. 

Michael Wall was born December 2, 1836, and died in New Bruns- 
wick, New Jersey, September 7, 191 1. He was educated in London, 
England. On June 12, 1870, he settled in New Brunswick, New Jersey. 
He was engaged in the tailoring business until he retired in 1897. He 
married. May 11, 1866, Susanna Greene, daughter of George and Mary 
(Hennessy) Greene, who were married in 1838. George Greene was 
born in 181 1, and died July 7, 1886; he was postmaster and revenue 
collector in Glanworth for fifty-one years; his wife was born in 1819, 
and died in 1883. Susanna (Greene) Wall received her education in 
the Black Rock Convent and the Dublin University of Teachers, after 
which she became the principal of the Glanworth public schools. Michael 
and Susanna (Greene) Wall were the parents of nine children: i. 
Hanna, born 1869, died aged four months. 2. Susanna, born 1873, died 
aged five months. 3. Annie, born 1876, died aged eleven months. 4. 
Michael, born 1881, died aged six months. 5. John P., of further men- 
tion. 6. Mary T., of New Brunswick, New Jersey. 7. Nora M., of 
New Brunswick, New Jersey; married, December 26, 1912, John F. 
Nevius, of Deans, New Jersey, where he died August 26, 1920. 8. 
James M., of New Brunswick, New Jersey; married, January 7, 1902, 
Emma Wright, daughter of William and Fannie (Breese) Wright ; the 
latter named died in New Brunswick, New Jersey, May 26, 191 1 ; their 
children were: James Clifford, and George Greene. 9. Margaret C. 

John P. Wall, a resident of New Brunswick, New Jersey, is the 
author of the following works: "When the British Held New Bruns- 
wick," "New Brunswick During the War of 1812," "How New Bruns- 
wick Became the County Seat," "Before the Railroad Came to Town," 
"When County Sheriffs Were Hangiren," "New Brunswick's Navy in 
the Revolution," "New Brunswick at the Critical Period of the Revo- 
lution," "The, Floods of the Raritan," "When the Irish Came to Amer- 
ica," "The Settlement and Progress of the Catholic Church at New 
Brunswick, N. J.," "A History of Clerical Garments," "The Boys of '98," 
and several other articles of more or less note. He compiled the history 
of New Brunswick in the World War, and was at one time associate 
editor of the "Sartorial Art Journal" in New York. Mr. Wall is reputed 
to have one of the finest private libraries of Americana in New Jersey, 
and is considered an authority on local history. He was chairman of 




.yiir. a^nd .y^r4. .yVUcAa^ Wu// 




W. H. S. DEMAREST, D. D., LL. D., 
President of Rutgers College 



BIOGRAPHICAL 5 

the committee on arrangements to welcome home the soldiers from the 
Spanish-American -War. It was under his direction that the early- 
records of the Common Council were copied for the New Brunswick 
Historical Society. 

Mr. Wall married, January 15, 1903, Elizabeth Hope Macom, daugh- 
ter of Samuel and Margaret (Harding) Macom, who were married 
August 12, 1866. Samuel Macom was born September 29, 1841, died 
December 9, 1889; his wife was bom August i, 1844. Two children have 
been born to Mr. and Mrs. "Wall : Evelyn Macom and Elizabeth Victoria. 



REV. WILLIAM HENRY STEELE DEMAREST, D. D., was 

born in Hudson, New York, May 12, 1863. He is the son of the Rev. 
David D. Demarest, D. D., LL. D., for thirty-three years Professor of 
Pastoral Theology and Sacret Rhetoric in the New Brunswick Theo- 
logical Seminary. His mother was Catharine L. Demarest, daughter of 
James Schureman Nevius, Justice of the Supreme Court of New Jersey. 
President Demarest is the first alumnus of Rutgers College to become 
its president. Ancestrally, his connection with the college is almost 
co-extensive with its history. He has himself been a trustee since 1899, 
and was secretary of the board from 1904 until 1906. His father was 
a trustee of the college from 1858 until his death, in 1898, and secretary 
of the board from 1866. His maternal grandfather was a trustee from 
1825 until 1858, and secretary from 1825 until 1830. His great-grand- 
father, the Rev. Henry Polhemus, was trustee from 1800 until 1816, 
and his great-great-grandfather, the Hon. John Schureman, was a trustee 
from 1782 until 1795. 

The boyhood and young manhood of William H. S. Demarest were 
spent in New Brunswick. He graduated from the grammar school in 
1879, and from the college as the first honor man of the class of 1883. 
After teaching in the grammar school for two years, he entered the 
Theological Seminary, and graduated in 1888. Being licensed to preach 
by the Classis of New Brunswick and ordained by the Classis of Orange, 
he had successful pastorates in the Reformed churches of Walden, New 
York, ( i888-ii?Q7)," and Catskill, New York, (1897-1901). The General 
Synod of igoi elected him Professor of Ecclesiastical History and 
Church Government in the New Brunswick Theological Seminary. He 
thus returned to the service of the institution to which his father gave 
the best years of his life. Dr. Demarest continued in his professorship 
for five years. During the last of these years he was also acting president 
of Rutgers College. The trustees elected him president of the college, 
February 8, 1906, and he was inaugurated, June 20, 1906, in the presence 
of the largest assembly of alumni and friends which has ever attended 
a college function at New Brunswick. Rutgers conferred upon him the 
degree of Doctor of Divinity in 1901, and the University of New York 
gave the same degree in 1916. He also received the degree of LL. D. 
from Columbia University in 1910, from Union College in 191 1, and from 
the University of Pittsburgh in 1912. In 1909 he served as president 
of the General Synod of the Reformed Church in America. 



6 MIDDLESEX 

The first ten years of President Demarest's administration have been 
marked by a very vigorous life in the old college. The adjustment of 
the relations with the State, accomplished before the. end of Dr. Scott s 
administration, has borne fruit in largely increased appropriations. Ihe 
Neilson Campus which adjoins the Queen's Campus became the property 
of the college through the liberality of Mr. James Neilson, of New 
Brunswick. Upon it two large buildings have been erected, the Engi- 
neering building and the Chemistry building. Several smaller pieces of 
property, including five residences adjoining the Neilson Campus, have 
been acquired by purchase, so that nearly all the property between the 
Queen's Campus and the Theological Seminary is in the hands of the 
college. Upon part of this a new dormitory has been erected at a 
cost of about $125,000, by the late John Howard Ford, of New York 
City, a trustee of the college. A large extension of the Robert F. Bal- 
lantine Gymnasium, which contains a fully-equipped swimming pool, 
costing more than $30,000, has been erected, Mrs. Robert F. Ballantine 
giving $27,000 for this purpose. An Entomology building has also been 
acquired. The college has enlarged its land holdings by an extensive 
tract comprising two blocks on the western side of College avenue, and 
by lots on George street, extending from the Neilson Athletic Field to 
the New Buccleuch Park. Upon the latter four residences have been 
erected, which are occupied as dormitories by the Rutgers Preparatory 
School. The strip of land between George street and the canal, and 
extending westward from a point near Seminary place nearly to the end 
of College avenue, has become college property. The College farm has 
been greatly enlarged so that it now includes nearly .350 acres of land. 
On it has been erected a handsome Agricultural building by a State 
appropriation of $100,000. The Short Course building, the Poultry 
Administration building, greenhouses, dairy barn and other buildings 
have also been added. 

The progress along educational lines in these ten years has not 
fallen behind that along property lines. The faculty has increased 
considerably in numbers. Short courses in agriculture during the winter 
months and a summer session have been established. The number of 
students in the regular courses has doubled. Several industrial fellow- 
ships for graduate students have been founded and new lecture courses 
inaugurated. The loyalty of the Alumni has been strengthened by the 
founding of several new local Alumni associations, and the ancient 
interest of the Reformed church in the college, founded by its ministers 
and elders, has been fostered. The outlook for Rutgers was never before 
50 promising as in the year of its one hundred and fiftieth anniversary. 



AUSTIN SCOTT, PH. D., LL. D., was born in Maumee, near 
Toledo, Ohio, August 10, 1848. He graduated from Yale College with 
the degree of A. B., in 1869. After a year of post-graduate study at the 
University of Michigan, he received the degree of A. M. He then 
studied three years at the universities of Berlin and Leipzig, receiving 
his Ph. D. from the latter university in 1873. During the same years 




AUSTIN SCOTT, Ph.D., LT. D., 
Voorhees Professor of History and Political Science, Rutgers College 



BIOGRAPHICAL 7 

he was engaged with Mr. George Bancroft in the preparation of the 
tenth volume of his "History of the United States." He also carried 
dispatches to General Washington which contained the decision of 
Emperor William, as arbitrator, between Great Britain and the United 
States, in regard to the northwestern boundary. Dr. Scott was instructor 
in German at the University of Michigan (1873-75). He collected and 
arranged materials for Bancroft's "History of the Constitution of the 
United States" (1875-82), at the same time acting as associate in history 
at Johns Hopkins University. He there organized a seminar of American 
History, and conducted it from 1876 until 1882. 

In 1883 Dr. Scott was made Professor of History, Political Economy 
and Constitutional Law, at Rutgers. On November 25, 1890, he was 
elected president of the college, and was inaugurated February 4, 1891. 
He conducted its affairs with great ability and devotion for fifteen years, 
until January i, 1906, when his desire to devote a larger part of his 
time and abilities to the work of teaching and writing led him to relin- 
quish the duties of the executive. During his administration, the Col- 
lege Extension Department was organized and successfully carried on, 
the teaching of the English Bible was introduced into the curriculum, 
and in other respects the educational side of the college was enlarged. 
On the property side, the improvement during these years was very 
marked. Two of the handsomest college buildings were erected. Mr. 
Robert F. Ballantine, of Newark, for many years a trustee of the 
college, was the generous donor of a well-equipped gymnasium, and 
Mr. Ralph Voorhees gave the college a new library. The ground for 
both of these buildings was the gift of Mr. James Neilson. Van Nest 
Hall was improved, chiefly by the liberality of Mrs. Ann Bussing, of 
New York. The house adjoining the preparatory school was purchased 
and put into use for the younger scholars. The campus was also greatly 
improved and beautified. By the generosity of Mr. James Neilson, the 
students have the use of the Neilson Athletic Field. 

It was from Dr. Scott's initiative that the Alumni Endowment 
Fund was begun in the first year of his administration, a fund which 
not only promises ever increasing advantage to the college treasury, 
but which binds a large number of loyal alumni to their alma mater. 
Large additions were also made in this period to the general endow- 
ments' of the institution by the liberality of Mr. Robert Schell, Miss 
Helen M. Gould, Mr. Peter Donald, and others. By no means the least 
of Dr. Scott's accomplishments were the adjustment of the long-stand- 
ing account with the State, and the passage of a new law governing the 
State appropriations to the college. 

Since his resignation as president, in 1906, Dr. Scott has continued 
to perform the duties of the Voorhees Professorship of History and 
Political Science with eminent success. The degree of LL. D. was 
bestowed upon him by Princeton in 1891, and by Rutgers in 1914. 



JOHN HOWARD RAVEN, A. M., D. D.— The active work of 
the ministry claimed Dr. Raven, but for twenty-seven years he has 
filled the chair of Old Testament Languages and Exegesis at the Theo- 



8 MIDDLESEX 

logical Seminary of the Reformed Church in America, at New Bruns- 
wick, New Jersey. Dr. Raven ranks high as a theologian and has 
filled and is still filling important engagements. He is a son of Anton 
Adolph and Gertrude (Oatman) Raven, his father bom in Curacao, 
the largest of the Dutch West India Islands, September 30, 1833, 
died in Caldwell, New Jersey, January 15, 1919. Anton A. Raven was 
president of the Atlantic Insurance Company, of New York City, and 
a man of influence in the business world. He married Gertrude Oatman, 
born in Cleveland, Ohio, January 15, 1840, died in Brooklyn, New York, 
March 7, 1914. 

John Howard Raven was born in Brooklyn, New York, October 3, 
1870, and after private school study entered the Brooklyn Polytechnic 
Institute, finishing with the class of 1887. He spent the next four years 
at Rutgers College, whence he was graduated A. B., 1891 ; A. M., 1894. 
Choosing the profession of a minister of the gospel, he prepared at 
the Theological Seminary of the Reformed Church in America, at New 
Brunswick, New Jersey, and there completed his studies in Divinity, 
class of 1894. In 1899 Rutgers College conferred the honorary degree, 
D. D., and in 1902-03 Dr. Raven pursued special courses of study at 
the University of Berlin. He was licensed to preach by the South 
Classis of Long Island of the Reformed Church in America, in 1894, 
and the same year was ordained by the Classis of New Brunswick pastor 
of the Reformed church at Metuchen, New Jersey, a charge he faithfully 
fulfilled for five years. 

During the years 1898-99 he was acting professor of Old Testa- 
ment Languages and and Exegesis, and in 1899 he resigned his pastorate 
and has since most ably filled the same chair as a full faculty member. 
During the years 1910-13 he was lecturer on the English Bible at 
Rutgers College, and he is the author of many works, including the 
following: "Old Testament Introduction, General and Special," 1906; 
"Essentials of Hebrew Grammar," 1908; "Biblical Hermeneutics," 1910. 
He is also the compiler of a "General Catalogue of Rutgers College, 1766- 
1916," having previously, 1909, completed an edition of same ; and "Bio- 
graphical Record of New Brunswick Theological Seminary, 1784-1911." 
He is vice-president of the educational body of the Reformed Church 
in America ; was president of the Zeta Psi fraternity of North America, 
in 1912 ; member of Phi Beta Kappa, and a trustee of Rutgers College. 
He is biographer of the Rutgers Alumni Association, and of the Alumni 
Association of the Seminary, and chairman of the committee on Necrol- 
ogy, of the General Synod of the Reformed Church of America. He 
is a member of the New Jersey Historical Society, the Society of 
Biblical Literature and Exegesis, and the American Geographical 
Society. His clubs are the University, Interchurch Clergy, Zeta Psi of 
New York City, Middlesex Country and the Rutgers of New Bruns- 
wick. His religious affiliation is with the Second Reformed Church 
of New Brunswick. 

Dr. Raven married, in New Brunswick, New Jersey, May 29, 1894, 
Elizabeth Grier Strong, born in West Troy, New York, daughter of 
Rev. Selah W. and Eleanor H. (Van Deurson) Strong. Dr. and Mrs. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 9 

Raven are the parents of a son, Anton Adolph, born October 26, 1895, 
now an instructor in English at Dartmouth College ; he married Winifred 
Storrs Perkins, of Hartford, Connecticut. The Raven home is at No. 
185 College avenue. New Brunswick. 



EMIL STREMLAU.— The brightest minds and the most gifted 
sons of the nations have ever been called into the circle of the law, 
and contact with other minds, equally brilliant, have sharpened the 
naturally keen intellect. The lawyer of ability rises above the ranks of 
the many, and attains a position among the few who achieve professional 
prominence. A position of this kind may be predicted for Emil Stremlau, 
an able young lawyer of Perth Amboy, New Jersey. 

Charles Stremlau, father of Emil Stremlau, was born in Alsace 
Lorraine and died in Meriden, Connecticut, at the age of fifty. He 
came to America with his wife, Pauline (Lange) Stremlau, and settled 
in Meriden. They were the parents of nine children : Hulda, now resid- 
ing in New York City; Edith, wife of Frank Koch, of Arlington, New 
Jersey; Julius, a director of prohibition for the State of Connecticut, 
and a resident of Meriden ; Charles, a cigar manufacturer of Meriden ; 
William, of New Brunswick, New Jersey; Augusta, wife of Henry 
Kreh ; Fred, chief clerk, in the freight department at New London, Con- 
necticut; Emil, the subject of this review; Olga, a resident of New 
Haven, Connecticut. 

Emil Stremlau, son of Charles and Pauline (Lange) Stremlau, was 
born in Meriden, Connecticut, April 3, 1887. He was educated in the 
Meriden grammar schools, the . Concordia Preparatory School from 
which he was graduated in 1901, Yale Law School, and New York Law 
School, from which latter institution he received his degree of Bachelor 
of Laws in 1908. He was admitted to practice law at the State bar of 
New Jersey in 1909, and opened an office in Arlington, New Jersey, in 
1909, two years later establishing himself in the practice of his profes- 
sion at his present location in Perth Amboy, New Jersey. In the pre- 
sentation of a case Mr. Stremlau's manner and language, being quiet and 
yet forceful, are singularly effective. The papers which he prepares are 
exceptionally strong and present the matter under consideration in a 
manner which admits no dispute. He has a comprehensive grasp of 
all questions that come before him, and is particularly fitted for his 
chosen work. 

As a citizen with high ideas of good government, Mr. Stremlau 
stands in the front rank. Always a staunch Republican, he has never 
been conspicuously associated with the affairs of the organization, 
though taking a keen and helpful interest in every project having for 
its end the betterment of conditions in his community. During the 
World War he was secretary of the legal advisory board of Perth 
Amboy, and in August, 1919, he enlisted in the United States army, 
and was stationed at Camp Taylor, Kentucky. He is a member of 
the Free and Accepted Masons, Royal Arch Chapter, the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, and the Fraternal Order of Eagles. Like 



10 MIDDLESEX 

many busy men he has a hobby, which is out-door sports, he being par- 
ticularly . fond of hunting and fishing, and in order to satisfy these 
desires he holds membership in the Raritan Yacht Club and the Perth 
Amboy Gun Club. Mr. Stremlau is also a member of the local Young 
Men's Christian Association, and twice a week he attends the gymnasium 
connected with this organization. In religious belief he is a Lutheran. 

Mr. Stremlau married, January 17, 1912, Violet Margaret Cameron, 
a daughter of John Cameron, chief clerk with the Trageser Steel Com- 
pany, and Margaret Cameron, both residents of Arlington, New Jersey. 
Mr. and Mrs. Stremlau have no children. 

In the comparatively short space of eleven years Mr. Stremlau has 
advanced himself to his present position. That the much longer period 
that is yet to come will be one of still greater achievement there can be 
no reasonable doubt, for the past is a guarantee for the future. 



MULFORD DAY VALENTINE.— The history of the M. D. Val- 
entine & Brother Company is one of successful business management, 
the enterprise, executive ability and strong business acumen of the 
members of the company achieving a wonderful result in placing the 
products of the company in the markets of the United States and at the 
same time establishing a considerable export business. Fire brick and 
drain tile, the company's chief products, were given a new importance 
in the business world, and the name of Valentine became widely known. 
As senior member of the firm, Mulford Day Valentine was brought 
prominently into notice and became known as a capable financier and a 
man of sterling integrity. 

Mulford Day Valentine, son of James and Catherine (Ackerman) 
Valentine, was born in Woodbridge, New Jersey, October 26, 1843, 
and died in Syracuse, New York, July 4, 191 1. He attended school 
until eighteen years of age, then enlisted in the Twenty-eighth Regular 
New Jersey Volunteer Infantry, and went to the front. He enlisted for 
a term of nine months, but he was not mustered out of the service 
until July i; 1863, his record one of soldierly efficiency and hard cam- 
.paigning with the Army of the Potomac. The army service was followed 
by a course of training at Eastman's Business College, Poughkeepsie, 
New York, preparatory to accepting position as bookkeeper with the 
important paper house, L. T. Valentine & Company. Two years, 1864-66, 
were spent with that house then, deeming the time opportune, he formed 
a partnership with his brother, J. R. Valentine, and under the firm 
name, M. D. Valentine & Brother, he established the manufacture of 
clay products. 

The firm at first made a commodity now unheard of — bath brick, used 
for cleaning and scouring purposes. This product later became an 
unprofitable article of manufacture, and in 1867 M: D. Valentine & 
Brother began the manufacture of drain tile, and in 1868 added in a small 
way the manufacture of fire brick, an industry they developed to the 
highest degree of productiveness. The company owned their own clay 
banks and operated two plants, one at Woodbridge, the other at Valen- 



BIOGRAPHICAL n 

tine Station in Raritan township, Middlesex county, on the Lehigh 
Valley Railroad. A large force of men were employed at these plants 
all the year round, and their output was shipped to all parts of the 
United States, to Cuba, South America and to European ports. Year 
by year the business of the company increased and Valentine Brothers 
took rank among the foremost fire brick manufacturers. M. D. Valen- 
tine was considered an authority on clay and clay products, and his 
decisions on matters affecting the clay industry carried great weight. 
The firm bore an unassailable reputation for business integrity and 
reliability, while the business quality and executive ability of both 
partners won them the respect of the commercial world in which they 
moved. M. D. Valentine was of unusually fine business quality, saga- 
cious, energetic, sound of judgment and clear of vision, and the partner- 
ship, M. D. Valentine & Brother, which existed for more than forty 
years was only terminated by the death of the senior partner, Mulford 
Day Valentine. 

A Republican in politics, Mr. Valentine was offered high honors by 
his party, but steadfastly declined, although his voice was a potent 
one in party councils. He repeatedly declined the nomination for State 
senator and congressman, believing he could best serve his people and 
their interests by devoting himself to his business which meant so much 
to a large number of employees, while as a worker in ranks he could 
serve with equal value to his party. Though retired from active par- 
ticipation in the business through failing health for a year prior to his 
passing, he was not confined to his residence, and in the latter part of 
June left his home in Woodbridge to visit his daughter, Mrs. Henry W. 
Duguid, of Syracuse, New York, and at her home he was suddenly 
stricken and passed away. 

Mr. Valentine married, September 3, 1867, Rachel V. Camp, of Ocean 
county. New Jersey, who survives him, her residence at No. 151 Green 
street, Woodbridge, New Jersey. The only daughter of Mulford D. 
and Rachel V. (Camp) Valentine is Grace, who married Henry W. 
Duguid and has a daughter Isabel. An only son, Eugene, died in 1877. 

This brief review of the life of Mr. Valentine reveals a man of strong 
business quality and deep, earnest nature. In disposition he was genial 
and kindly, courteous and considerate, a man who made many friends 
and always retained them. He was buried in Alpine Cemetery, the 
funeral services being held from his home in Woodbridge, the services 
in charge of Rev. W. C. O'Donnell, of the 'Methodist Episcopal church, 
and Rev. George Dougherty, pastor of St. Paul's Church, Newark, a 
former pastor of the Woodbridge church. Thus passed a valuable man, 
well worthy of the high esteem in which he was held. 



GEORGE COOPER INGLING.— Since the inception of his business 
career, George Cooper Ingling has been identified with the newspaper 
business, and as editor of the "New Brunswick Times" since 1915 he 
holds a recognized place among the representative business men of New 
Brunswick. His interest in all that concerns the community's welfare 



12 MIDDLESEX 

is deep and sincere, and wherever substantial aid will further public 
progress it is freely given. 

George Cooper Ingling was born in Freehold, New Jersey, April 
12, 1874, the son of the late William Henry and Elizabeth (Weeks) 
Ingling. His father was manager for Monmouth County Farmers' 
Exchange, which disposed of over $1,000,000 worth of potatoes and 
other produce for Monmouth county farmers in eastern, western and 
southern markets. The boy George attended the Freehold Institute, 
from which he was graduated in 1892, when he immediately became 
engaged in the newspaper business. His first employment was with 
William F. Richardson on the Monmouth County Press Exchange, which 
furnished news to Monmouth county newspapers and to the New York 
and Philadelphia daily papers from Freehold, the county seat of Mon- 
mouth county. In 1896 he secured a position as reporter on the "New 
Brunswick Times," which was being issued as a daily paper at that 
time. In 1916 it became the "Sunday Times." In 191 5, in recognition 
of the ability Mr. Ingling had already shown, he was made editor of the 
paper, and on January 13, 1921, he completed his twenty-fifth year in 
the service of one paper. 

In politics Mr. Ingling is independent of party restriction in casting 
his vote, and although he maintains a deep interest in public issues, he 
keeps strictly aloof from political circles. He affiliates with the Young 
Men's Christian Association, and in religion is a Methodist, attending 
St. James' Methodist Church, New Brunswick, where he has served as 
trustee, president of the Epworth League, and superintendent of the 
Sunday school. Mr. Ingling's hobby is athletics, and until war inter- 
fered he was president of the Inter-Church Quoit League, which was 
conducted for three years and in which teams from ten churches, repre- 
senting men over twenty-five and those under that age, participated in 
indoor quoits. 

On April 16, 1895, Mr. IngHng was united in marriage with Gertrude 
Frelinghuysen Scott, daughter of John Charles and Gertrude (Fisher) 
Scott, both deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Ingling are the parents of three 
children : George Warren, bom February 26, 1896, served in the World 
War with the 311th Machine Gun Battalion, 79th Division, in St. Mihiel 
and the Argonne Forest battles; he received his honorable discharge 
from the service in 1919; Donald Thurston, born March 10, 1898; and 
Elizabeth Cooper, born April 3, 1901. 



WILLIAM STULTS DEY.— Coming to South Amboy with his 
parents when only six months old, William Stults Dey has lived in that 
city all his life. 

Born in Cranbury, New Jersey, July 22, 1869, William Stults Dey is 
the son of Asa and Eliza (Paterson) Dey. Asa Dey was born in Cran- 
bury, New Jersey, in 1837, but in his young manhood he came to South 
Amboy, where he was engaged as foreman of carpenters at the Penn- 
sylvania Railroad docks at South Amboy, being occupied in this work 
during the rest of his life. He died in South Amboy, in 1905, aged 



a 



BIOGRAPHICAL 13 

sixty-eight years. In politics he was a Republican. Mrs. Eliza (Pater- 
son) Dey was also born in Cranbury, but died in South Amboy at the 
age of sixty-five years. She was the mother of four children, only two 
of whom are now living : Lewis, a resident of New York City, connected 
with the New York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad as foreman of 
carpenters; and William Stults, of further mention., 

William Stults Dey obtained his education in the public schools of 
South Amboy, afterward starting upon a business career. When eighteen 
years of age he entered the Pennsylvania Railroad shops at South 
Amboy as a machinist's apprentice, and after learning his trade still 
continued in the employ of the company. After spending five years in 
their service he was transferred to the cold storage department at South 
Amboy, New Jersey, remaining there until 191 1, at which time he became 
master mechanic of the New York & Long Branch Railroad, a position 
he is still filling. 

Connected with various interests in the city, Mr. Dey is much 
interested in its public institutions ; he is a director of the South Amboy 
Trust Company, and director of the present board of freeholders; for 
seven years he was one of the freeholders of Middlesex county. Mr. 
Dey has taken a very active part in the conduct of city affairs, having 
represented his ward in the Common Council for six years and after 
that being elected mayor of the city, holding the office for two terms of 
two years each. 

Equally active in fraternal circles, William Stults Dey is a member 
of the local lodge of Free and Accepted Masons, having been master of 
it for four years; he is also affiliated with the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, the Order 
of Red Men, and the Order of United American Mechanics. He and 
his family are members of the Presbyterian church of South Amboy. 

William Stults Dey married, in South Amboy, Martha Jane Rue, born 
in that place, the daughter of Alfred and Lydia (Reed) Rue. Three 
children have been born of this marriage: i. Leo Alfred, deceased. 2. 
Gerald Paterson, aged twenty-two, a student in the dental college in 
Philadelphia. 3. Marjorie Stevens, sixteen years old. Mr. and Mrs. 
William Stults Dey reside at No. 305 Main street. South Amboy. 



CHARLES CHAUNCEY HOMMANN, judge of the District Court 
of Perth Amboy, lawyer, business man, and one of the prominent citizens 
of Middlesex county. New Jersey, was born at Green Bay, Wisconsin, 
May 25, 1 85 1. He is a member of a family that was founded in the 
United States by John C. Hommann, who came to this country from 
Saxony and settled in Philadelphia, where he followed the profession of 
music teacher for a number of years and eventually died. He married in 
London, Constantia Herbert, and among their children was William 
Hommann, the father of the Mr. Hommann of this sketch. William Hom- 
mann was a clergyman of the Episcopal church and was rector of the 
church at Green Bay, Wisconsin, and later at Newtown, Pennsylvania. 



14 MIDDLESEX 

He married Fidelia Smith, and they were the parents of Charles Chaun- 
cey Hommann. 

Judge Hommann was but four years of age when his parents removed 
to Newtown, Pennsylvania, and it was there that his education was 
received at the local public schools. As he grew to an age to choose 
a career, the young man took up the study of civil engineering, and fol- 
lowed that profession with notable success until 1903. In the mean- 
time, however, he had also made a study of the law and was admitted 
to the bar of New Jersey in November, 1880. For a number of years 
he carried on both professions simultaneously and also took an active 
part in public affairs. Since 1903 he has devoted himself to the prac- 
tice of the law, a profession for which he is especially fitted by his natural 
talents and the character of his mind, his power of close application and 
hard work, no less than his fidelity and unswerving loyalty to every 
trust. Judge Hommann is a Democrat in politics and has participated 
prominently in the life of the city and county where he resides, having 
held a number of responsible offices in the gift of his fellow-citizens. 
He was elected a member of the Board of Freeholders in 1894, and has 
also served as city surveyor, city clerk, superintendent of the public 
schools and as city attorney. It was in the year 1915 that he was 
elected to his present office of judge of the District Court of Perth 
Amboy, a post in which he has added greatly to the reputation already 
gained by him in his legal practice as a learned jurist and as a just and 
impartial man. There is hardly an aspect of the city's life in which 
Judge Hommann is not conspicuous ; he is associated with the manage- 
ment of the Perth Amboy Trust Company, and has served in the Essex 
Troop of Cavalry, New Jersey National Guard, and the New Jersey 
Militia Reserve. He is also a member of a number of fraternal orders 
and clubs, among which should be named, the Phi Kappa Sigma fra- 
ternity; Raritan Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons; Lodge 
No. 6, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks; the New Jersey His- 
torical Society ; the New Jersey Society, Sons of the American Revolu- 
tion ; the Colonial Country Club ; the Suburban Golf Club ; the Seniors 
Golf Association; the East Jersey Club; and the Raritan Yacht Club. 
Judge Hommann is greatly attached to all forms of wholesome outdoor 
sport and is, especially, an enthusiastic golfer, devoting much of his 
leisure time to that delightful game. In his religious belief Judge Hom- 
mann is an Episcopalian and attends with the members of his family the 
church of that denomination at Perth Amboy. 

Judge Hommann has been twice married. His first wife, with whom 
he was united May, 1886, was Bessie A. E. Elliott Higgins, a daughter 
of Gardner Elliott and Ann (Bryant) Higgins, her death occurring in 
November, 1899. He married (second) Alice Paterson Boggs, a daugh- 
ter of John Lawrence and Cornelia (Paterson) Boggs. One son, Charles 
Chauncey Hommann, Jr., born April 17, 1887, is now connected with the 
advertising department of Collier's Magazine. He married, June, 1916, 
Elsie C. Smith, of Lee, Massachusetts, by whom he has had one child, 
a daughter, Constantia, born June 22, 1917. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 15 

JOHN LAWRENCE LUND, M. D— When Dr. Lund faced the 
problem of a profession or a business, heredity and environment were all 
on the side of business, and for a few years his attention was turned in 
the latter direction, but finally deciding upon the profession of medicine 
for his life work, he accordingly made the necessary preparation, and 
as an obstetrician has attained an eminent position in his profession. He 
is one of the successful men in the oldest of professions, and not only 
has he gained the confidence of a large clientele, but he has won the 
regard of his brethren of the profession, who accord him full recognition. 

Niels Lund, father of John Lawrence Lund, was born in Ribe, Den- 
mark, and died there about 1894, at the age of sixty-four years. In 1873 
he came to this country with his wife and children, and settled in Brook- 
lyn, New York, where he remained until 1894, when he returned to his 
native land, where his death occurred. He married Katherine Ihmes, 
and they were the parents of five children: John Lawrence, of further 
mention ; Otto, a violinist, who resides in Chicago ; he is married, but 
has no children ; Harry, deceased ; Axel, died in infancy ; Arnold E., with 
the United States Cartridge Works of Perth Amboy. 

John Lawrence Lund was born in Ribe, Denmark, January 14, 1868, 
the son of Niels and Katherine (Ihmes) Lund. He came with his par- 
ents to this country when he was but five years of age, and settled in 
Brooklyn, New York, where he attended the public schools. After 
graduating from School No. 12, he learned his father's trade of painter and 
decorator, and engaged in this particular line of work for four years, 
at the end of which time, having decided upon the profession of medicine 
for his life work, he entered the Long Island College Hospital, gradu- 
ating with the degree of Doctor of Medicine in 1891, and then for one 
year engaged in general practice in Brooklyn. In 1892, equipped with 
the experience gathered first in hospital work and then in independent 
effort, and also having passed the New Jersey State Regents examina- 
tion, he came to Perth Amboy, where he has since engaged in active 
practice of his profession, with offices at No. 267 High street. 

During the World War, Dr. Lund volunteered his services and was 
commissioned a lieutenant in the medical corps of the United States 
army, being located for a period of three months at the Medical Officers' 
Training Camp at Camp Greenleaf, Georgia. He was later promoted 
to the rank of captain and was at the Base Hospital at Camp Sheridan, 
Alabama, at the signing of the armistice; when he received his honorable 
discharge. In politics Dr. Lund is a Democrat and takes an active inter- 
est in the promotion of everything which he deems is calculated to pro- 
mote the welfare of the community. He has been a director of the Perth 
Amboy Savings Bank for twelve years. He is a member of the Dana 
Society, and affiliates with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and 
the Free and Accepted Masons. 

Dr. Lund married Grace L. Thompson, a native of Perth Amboy. 
They have no children. Dr. Lund's hobby is singing ; he has an excep- 
tionally fine baritone voice and for many years was president of the 
Choral Society of Perth Amboy. 



i6 MIDDLESEX 

Happily gifted in manner, disposition and taste, enterprising and 
original in ideas, personally liked most by those who know him best, and 
as frank in declaring his principles as he is sincere in maintaining them. 
Dr. Lund's career has been rounded with success and marked by the 
appreciation of men whose good opinion is best worth having. 



SAMUEL MONEY CHRISTIE was born in Hamilton, Scotland, 
June 22, 1869, the son of Charles and Martha (Money) Christie. Charles 
Christie was a merchant tailor in his native place for many years, and 
died there in 1895. To Mr. and Mrs. Christie were born ten children, 
seven of whom are still living: Elizabeth, wife of Samuel Forrest, of 
Somerville, New Jersey ; Jessie, a resident of Scotland ; William, a resi- 
dent of New Haven, Connecticut ; Mary, residing in Scotland ; Peter, a 
resident of Scotland; Charles, a resident of Winnipeg, Canada; and 
Samuel Money, of further mention. 

The education of Samuel Money Christie was obtained in the public 
schools of his native place, which he attended until he was thirteen years 
of age, when the business of life began for the young boy and he served 
an apprenticeship to the printer's trade. He worked at his trade for 
many years in various places, and in 1898 became identified with the 
New York "Herald" and the New York "Tribune," writing for these and 
other papers for a period of twelve years, and making quite a reputation 
as a writer of humorous verse. In 1909 he came to New Brunswick to 
take the position of general manager of the "Home News." One year 
later he bought the "Evening Times" and managed this until 1912. In 
1916 he took over the Standard Printing Company, since which time he 
has increased its capacity more than ten fold, changing the name three 
years ago to the Christie Press. In 1919, he started the South River 
"Spokesman," which he edits. Mr. Christie has been highly successful 
in his venture and has risen to a place of prominence among the business 
men of New Brunswick. His success is in every sense of the word 
self-made — the result of his own indefatigable effort and his own unfail- 
ing belief in his right to succeed. He has a genius for politics and for 
public service, being a Democrat in his affiliations. 

Mr. Christie is regarded as the ablest publicity man in political 
affairs in this part of the State, and has never been identified with an 
unsuccessful candidate. Before coming to New Jersey, Mr. Christie 
conducted political campaigns in New York City, and in this State he 
was identified with the original campaigns that made Woodrow Wilson 
first Governor and then President, and also with the campaigns of 
Senator "Billy" Hughes and Congressman Thomas J. Scully. During 
the years 1913-15 he was in the Interior Department of the National 
Government, conducting investigations in the Indian service. In that 
time he uncovered more inefficiency and corruption than all other 
special agents in the service put together, and was responsible for many 
changes in the personnel. When he found, however, that that sort of 
zeal was not appreciated or wanted, he quit the service and returned to 
New Brunswick. The Christie Press does a general printing business. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 17 

newspaper, book and job work, and is located in the Christie building 
at Nos. 11-13-15 Peace street, New Brunswick, New Jersey. 

Mr. Christie is a member of St. Cecile Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons, of New York City, and Corinthian Chapter, also of New York 
City, the original matinee lodge and chapter in the world. He has been 
active in church work and is a member of the Reformed church of High- 
land Park, New Jersey, and of the Young Men's Christian Association. 
Mr. Christie finds his chief recreation in playing bridge and in reading, 
being especially interested in fiction and historical subjects. 

Mr. Christie was united in marriage. May 10, 1898, with Isabella 
Meickle, a daughter of Gavin N. Meickle, born in Hamilton, Scotland, 
now residing in Jersey City, where he is identified with the Singer 
Manufacturing Company, and of Margaret (Durie) Meickle, his wife. 
Mr. and Mrs. Christie are the parents of one child, Lorna B., born April 
29, 1899, who graduated in 1921 from Swarthmore College, Swarthmore, 
Pennsylvania. 



HENRY BREWSTER WILLIS.— Although a minister of the 
Gospel, Rev. Ralph Willis was for nineteen years superintendent of 
public instruction for the county of Middlesex, New Jersey, and when he 
laid down the burdens and responsibilities of that important office, they 
were assumed by his son, Henry Brewster Willis, the present incumbent. 
Five children of Rev. Ralph Willis followed the bend of the paternal 
mind and embraced pedagogy as a profession, three of them yet living 
and prominent educators: Jane V. Willis, of Newark, New Jersey; W. 
Spader Willis, principal of the Newark State Normal School ; and Henry 
B. Willis, superintendent of public, instruction, Middlesex county. In 
addition to ripe scholarship, Mr. Willis brought to the office of county 
superintendent broad experience as teacher in all departments of public 
school education, from the little district school in the county to the pre- 
tentious city high school, and that experience was part of a perfect 
equipment for the head of the county school system. 

Henry Brewster Willis, son of Rev. Ralph Willis, was born in 
Albany, New York, but early in the lad's life his father accepted a 
call to a pastorate in Monmouth county. New Jersey, and in that State 
Henry B. Willis was educated in both public and private schools, and 
later was graduated from the State Normal School at Trenton. He 
taught school for several years, during which time he prepared for the 
practice of law, and in 1881 was admitted to the New Jersey bar 
as an attorney, and in 1884 as a counsellor. He began the practice of law 
in the county in which he has long served as superintendent of public 
schools. While engaged in the practice of law, he was appointed a 
special examiner for the State ; was counsel to the Board of Freeholders 
of Middlesex county for ten years, and became well known throughout 
the State as a specialist in school law, acting as adviser to many boards 
of education. 

After his choice as county superintendent of schools, the rule of the 
State Board of Education went into effect which required the county 

Hid-2 



i8 MIDDLESEX 

superintendents to give their individual time to the office. When that 
ruling was made, Mr. Willis unhesitatingly chose to retain the superin- 
tendency, though his practice as a lawyer was much the more remunera- 
tive of the two professions. Choosing as he did, under the circumstances, 
was indicative of a fine sense of devotion to human service that i.s all 
too rare in our day; and yet just such choosing brings, as in his case, 
the rich reward of universal esteem which far more than compensates for 
the losses of a material nature. Like most of men whose highest ideal 
is that of service. Superintendent Willis has not limited his field of 
activity to the narrow confines of a county. Some measure of his capac- 
ity for work may be taken from a partial list of organizations of which 
he is still a working member, as follows : National Educational Associa- 
tion, of which he was both a director and vice-president ; State Teachers' 
Association, of which he was president ; State Sanitary Association, also 
its president ; State Council of Education ; New York School Masters' 
Association ; and the Summer School Faculty of Rutgers College, holding 
official position in the three last-named. 

As an organizer of forces making for harmony and efficiency in all 
the related agencies tending to the development of the educational 
possibilities within his county, Mr. Willis' record is truly an enviable 
one. The following organizations in Middlesex — all the first of the kind 
in the State — evidence his remarkable talent in this direction : Middlesex 
County Pedagogical Library Association, which was organized in 1895 
— this organization now has over two thousand five hundred up-to-date 
books on pedagogy in its library ; Middlesex County School Board Asso- 
ciation, organized in 1896; District Monthly Conferences in 1900; Super- 
vising Principals' Association in 1902; County Medical Inspectors' 
Association in 1909, and the Middlesex County Vocational School Board 
Work in 1914. At the 1917 commencement of Rutgers College the 
trustees conferred on Mr. Willis the degree of Master of Arts. In con- 
ferring this degree. President Demarest said it was in recognition of 
original school work and in further honor of thirty years of successful 
superintendency of the public schools in Middlesex county. One of the 
unusual and noteworthy facts in connection with the above organizations 
is that all are working as a county unit. The three cities. New Bruns- 
wick, Perth Amboy and South Amboy share in the activities of all these 
bodies, and their educational machinery works in admirable harmony 
with that in operation under Mr. Willis' direct supervision. With all 
these available forces organized, all at work, and intelligently and 
enthusiastically directed, it but naturally follows that the schools under 
the supervision of Mr. Willis are second to none in this or any other 
State. 



JUDGE WOODBRIDGE STRONG.— Could family characteristics 
be attributed to a name, the temptation would be irresistable to credit 
the surname Strong with the strong professional eminence of Wood- 
bridge and his ancestors, from the coming of "Elder" John Strong, the 
first of the name who came from England to New England in 1630. The 
line of descent from "Elder" John Strong and his wife, Rachel Holton, is 




WOODBKIDGB STRONG 



BIOGRAPHICAL 19 

through their son, "Justice" Joseph Strong, and his wife, Sarah Allen; 
their son. Captain Joseph Strong, and his wife, Elizabeth Strong; their 
son. Rev. Joseph Strong, and his wife, Jane Gelston ; their son, Rev. 
Joseph (2) Strong, and his wife, Sophia Woodbridge; their son, Pro- 
fessor Theodore Strong, and his wife, Lucy Dix ; their son, Judge Wood- 
bridge Strong, to whose memory this review is dedicated. 

Professor Theodore Strong was born in South Hadley, Massachu- 
setts, July 26, 1790, died at New Brunswick, New Jersey, February i, 
1869. At graduation from Yale, A. B., 1812, he took the first prize in 
mathematics; was professor of mathematics and natural philosophy at 
Hamilton College, 1816-27, and filled the same chairs at Rutgers College, 
1827-1863, and knew no superior as a mathematician. For thirty-six 
years he served Rutgers College, as a member of the faculty, retiring 
at the age of seventy-three. He married, September 23, 1818, Lucy Dix, 
of Littleton, Massachusetts. 

Woodbridge Strong, son of Professor Theodore and Lucy (Dix) 
Strong, was born in Clinton, Oneida county, New York, (seat of Ham- 
ilton College), February 21, 1827. He was brought by his parents to 
New Brunswick, New Jersey, the same year, and died there, August 
23, 1907. Originally christened Benjamin Ruggles Woodbridge Strong, 
he cut the name in the middle and was always known as Woodbridge 
Strong. He entered Rutgers College in 1847, but turned from classical 
to professional study and read law with his brother-in-law, John Van 
Dyke, of New Brunswick, afterward a justice of the New Jersey Supreme 
Court. He caught the "gold fever" in 184)9, journeyed to California, 
and is credited with being among the pioneers who made gold discov- 
eries in Oregon. He returned to New Brunswick in 1851, resumed the 
study of law, and in 1852 was admitted to the New Jersey bar as an 
attorney and in November, 1872, as a counsellor. From 1874 to 1879, 
and again from 1896 to 1906, he served Middlesex county as judge of the 
Court of Common Pleas. He was an eminent lawyer, a learned, just 
and upright judge, holding as lawyer and as jurist the highest respect 
of his brethren of the profession. 

Judge Strong married Harriet A. Hartwell, who died February 9, 
1909, daughter of Jonathan Hartwell, of Littleton, Massachusetts, a 
lineal descendant of William Hartwell, who settled in Concord, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1636, and of Anthony Dix, who came to Plymouth Colony 
in 1623. Woodbridge and Harriet A. (Hartwell) Strong are the parents 
of the following children: Alan H., a lawyer; Theodore, a lawyer; 
Edward W., a lawyer; and Elizabeth B. The sons studied law under 
their honored father, and all became eminent in the profession. 



THEODORE F. RANDOLPH.— There were important reforms 
inaugurated in New Jersey during the three years following the election 
of Theodore F. Randolph as governor, and his administration has been 
generally commended. He is a native son of Middlesex county. New 
jersey, born in New Brunswick, June 24, 1826, his father, James F. 
Randolph, editor and publisher of the "Fredonian" at New Brunswick 



20 MIDDLESEX 

for thirty-six years, and for eight years a Whig representative in Con- 
gress. 

Theodore F. Randolph was liberally educated, read law, and came to 
the bar in 1848. He had been brought up by his father in the Whig 
political faith, and when quite young was writing editorials for the 
"Fredonian." When a young man he went to Mississippi for a season,' 
and his first vote was cast in Vicksburg, in that State, in 1847. After 
his return to New Jersey, in 1850, he settled in Hudson county, where in 
i860 he was a member of the State Legislature. In 1861 he was 
elected State Senator, an office he held four years. He was a member 
of the special committee on the Peace Conference in 1861, and was the 
author of the measure for the relief of the families of soldiers who should 
serve in the Union army. In 1867 he was elected president of the Morris 
& Essex Railroad. In 1868 he was the candidate of the Democratic party 
for governor of New Jersey, and was successful over his Republican 
opponent, John I. Blair, by four thousand six hundred and eighteen 
votes. He served with highest honor for three years, then, as no gov- 
ernor of New Jersey may succeed himself, he was retired to private life. 
But in 1874, the Democrats having a majority in both houses of the 
New Jersey Legislature, he was chosen United States Senator. He 
served his time with great honor, and after retiring to private life devoted 
himself to mining and farming operations. During his term as State 
Senator he introduced a bill providing fbr a State comptroller. During 
his administration as governor the State Riparian Commission was 
established, the Camden & Amboy monopoly tax was repealed, and the 
Morris Plains lunatic asylum was constructed. On July 12, 1871, the 
anniversary of the battle of the Boyne, he issued a proclamation insuring 
the right of parade to the Orangemen of New Jersey and giving them 
State protection. He was a member of the Democratic National Com- 
mittee, a trustee of Rutgers College, and a founder and president of the 
Washington Headquarters Association, of Morristown, New Jersey. 

Governor Randolph married, in 1851, Fanny F., daughter of N. D. 
Colman, of Kentucky, and a granddaughter of Chief Justice John Mar- 
shall. He resided in Morristown from 1865 until his death, November 
7, 1883. 



REV. WILLIAM WHITE KNOX, D. D.— There is no way by 

which the value of a life to a community can be estimated and especially 
is this true of the life of the minister of the gospel. Since coming to the 
First Presbyterian Church, of New Brunswick, in 1893, all departments 
of this church, of which Rev. Knox is now pastor emeritus, have advanced 
to a large degree, but these are but the tangible evidences of the value 
of his pastorate, and constitute but a part of the real benefit his pure 
life and inspiring leadership have meant to the church which he has 
served so long and devotedly. The spiritual advancement cannot be 
measured or told, and the great record alone will ever reveal what the 
life of this eloquent, devoted divine has meant to his people and to 
the community. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 21 

Rev. John Pray Knox, LL. D., father of Rev. William White Knox, 
was born in Savannah, Georgia, the son of Andrew and Rebecca (Rice) 
Knox. After graduating from Rutgers College, in 1830, he matriculated 
at New Brunswick Theological Seminary, graduating in the class of 1837. 
His services were in Reformed Dutch churches, as follows: Nassau, 
New York, 1838-41; Utica, New York, 1841-44; St. Thomas, West 
Indies, 1847-53, and at the end of this time he was called to the Presby- 
terian church of Newtown (now Elmhurst), Long Island, where he 
filled the pulpit for twenty-seven years. Dr. Knox was also an author 
of considerable note and wrote a history of the Reformed Church of 
Nassau, New York, of the Newtown Presbyterian Church, and also a 
history of St. Thomas, West Indies, with notices of St. Croix and St. 
Johns. Rev. John Pray Knox was united in marriage with Aletta Van 
Doren, of Somerville, New Jersey, June 2, 1838, and the union was 
blessed with seven children. 

William White Knox, the third child, was born December 14, 1842, at 
Utica, New York. At the age of nine, he entered Rev. E. T. Mack's 
School at New Brunswick, where he remained for two years, subsequently 
going to Fairchild's Institute at Flushing, Long Island, for another 
two years, and thence to William Woodhull's School at Freehold, New 
Jersey, thus completing his preparation for Princeton University, whence 
he was graduated in the class of 1862, with the degree of A. B., receiv- 
ing from this same institution the degree of Master of Arts in 1865. 
From 1862 until 1863 he taught at Hamill's School, Lawrenceville, New 
Jersey, and then took the regular three-year course at the Theological 
.Seminary at Princeton, graduating in 1866, and was ordained a clergy- 
man of the Presbyterian church, July 29, 1867, by the Presbytery of 
Nassau at Woodhaven, Long Island, New York, and was at the same 
time installed pastor of Woodhaven Presbyterian Church. He also 
acted as supply of the Presbyterian church at Springfield, Long Island. 
In 1869 he resigned to accept a call to the Presbyterian church of Hun- 
tington, Long Island, where he remained until December 4, 1881. He 
then accepted a call from the First Reformed Church, of Bayonne, New 
Jersey, where he remained until September 17, 1893, when, after a 
happy and successful pastorate, he came to the First Presbyterian 
Church, of New Brunswick, New Jersey, and served until July 29, 1917, 
the fiftieth anniversary of his ordination to the ministry, when he 
resigned the pastorate and was made pastor-emeritus. Upon coming to 
this parish enthusiasm gave way to earnest settled purpose and mature 
judgment which rendered him valuable in counsel and leadership. As 
an eloquent, pleasing orator, greatly in demand, he labored abundantly 
in behalf of the church at large and safely guided his own church to 
great heights of Christian usefulness. Under his guidance and fostering 
care, the Magyar Presbyterian Church of New Brunswick was estab- 
lished and maintained, and the Italian Mission on Throop avenue was 
begun. By his personal influence and suggestion Mr. Anthony Dey 
presented Buccleuch Park to the city. In 1894, he received his degree 
of Doctor of Divinity from Rutgers College; in 1910 was chosen mod- 



22 MIDDLESEX 

erator of the Synod of New Jersey ; and is a trustee of Princeton Theo- 
logical Seminary. 

Outside of his church, Dr. Knox was affiliated with various societies 
and associations, as follows : Phi Beta Kappa Alpha of New Jersey ; 
Scientific Society of New Jersey ; Historical Society of New Jersey ; the 
New Jersey Children's Home Society; the Ministerial Associations of 
New York and New Brunswick; the local branch of the Young Men's 
Christian Association ; and served on the boards of several local charities. 

On November i6, 1870, at St. Bartholomew's Episcopal Church, of 
New York City, Rev. Dr. Knox was united in marriage with Anna 
Maria Van Santvoord, daughter of Cornelius and Susan (Varick) Van 
Santvoord, the former a lawyer of New York City, the latter a resident 
of Jersey City. Dr. and Mrs. Knox are the parents of seven children: 
Susan Varick; William W., deceased; Elizabeth Vroom, who married 
Asher Atkinson, of New Brunswick, New Jersey ; Anna Romeyn ; Kath- 
erine Veghte, deceased; Evelyn Van Santvoord, who married William 
Huntington Russell, of New Haven, Connecticut; Lieutenant Cornelius 
Van Santvoord, who married Gladys Channell, of Haverhill, Massachu- 
setts. Residing at No. 175 Livingston avenue, New Brunswick, New 
Jersey, Dr. and Mrs. Knox are still active in church life and community 
service. On November 16, 1920, it was their pleasure, with family and 
friends, to celebrate their golden wedding. 



CHESTER RIGGS HOLMAN.— That this is the name of one of 
those members of the New Jersey bar who are rapidly coming to the 
front Mr. Holman's fellow-citizens of New Brunswick do not need to 
be told. In addition to his increasing professional reputation, he has 
an honorable record of foreign service during the recent World War. 

Ralph T. Holman, father of Chester Riggs Holman, was born in 
New Brunswick, and is a well known print cutter. He was formerly 
national president of the Print Cutters' Association of America ; served 
New Brunswick as a Republican member of Common Council for a period 
of four years ; is assistant secretary of the State Firemen's Relief Asso- 
ciation, and an officer in a number of local lodges and clubs. Mr. Hol- 
man married Ella Dilts, a native of Quakertown, Hunterdon county. 
New Jersey, and their other children are: Allen P. and Florence ,M., 
both of New Brunswick. 

Chester Riggs Holman, son of Ralph T. and Ella (Dilts) Holman, 
was born May 10, 1892, in New Brunswick, and in 1910 graduated from 
the New Brunswick High School. In 1912 he received from the New 
Jersey Law School the degree of Bachelor of Laws. He studied with 
ex-Judge Edward W. Hicks, -of New Brunswick, and was admitted as 
attorney in 1914, at the June term of the Supreme Court, and as coun- 
sellor at the November term, 1920. Immediately thereafter, Mr. Holman 
began practice in New Brunswick, having his office in the National 
Bank building. During the next few years, by dint of indomitable 
energy, thorough knowledge of the law, and strict attention to the 
interests of his clients, he made for himself an assured standing at the 
bar of his native citv. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 23 

Soon, however, his professional career suffered an interruption. The 
United States entered the great conflict of nations and it was not long 
before Mr. Holman, with many other young men of his generation, 
exchanged the court room for the camp. Enlisting as drafted, February 
25, 1918, he was assigned to Battery B, 307th Field Artillery, stationed 
at Camp Dix, and on May 27, 1918, sailed for France. During the 
period of his service there he participated in the following battles : St. 
Mihiel ofifensive; Meuse-Argonne offensive; Toul sector; Preny Raid 
offensive; and Grand Pre attack. He was made corporal while in the 
Argonne, and had received instructions to report to officers' training 
camp when the armistice was signed. While in France he had charge 
of gas and gas offense work. On May 22, 1919, he was discharged at 
Camp Dix. 

On June 14, 1919, Mr. Holman resumed the active practice of his 
profession and has ever since been continuously engaged in adding to 
the enviable reputation which he had begun to rear on a sure and solid 
foundation. The principles of the Republican party are those to which 
Mr. Holman gives his political allegiance, and he is now serving as a 
member of the Middlesex County Board of Election. He is affiliated 
with Union Lodge, No. 19, Free and Accepted Masons ; New Brunswick 
Forest, No. 12, Tall Cedars of Lebanon; Friendship Lodge, No. 30, 
Knights of Pythias; Goodwill Council, No. 32, Junior Order of United 
American Mechanics ; New Brunswick Camp, No. 40, Sons of Veterans ; 
and Charles Henry Post, No. 29, American Legion. His clubs are the 
Craftsmen's and the New Brunswick Boat. He is a member of the First 
Presbyterian Church. 

Mr. Holman married, April zy, 1918, at Flemington, New Jersey, 
Ruth Cleveland Vogel, daughter of George and Mary Vogel, of that 
place. 

Busy man though he is, Mr. Holman has far too much wisdom to 
believe in "all work and no play." He delights in canoeing and is an 
ardent football fan. He has proved himself a good citizen, a brave 
soldier, and an able lawyer, and everything seems to indicate that the 
years to come hold for him professional advancement. 



JOHN JACOB MORRISON was born in New Brunswick, New 
Jersey, the son of Daniel and Anna (Dale) Morrison, his father a farmer 
and merchant. 

John J. Morrison was educated in the public schools and began mer- 
cantile life as a clerk, later becoming a successful merchant. He is also 
president of the Middlesex Building and Loan Association, and influen- 
tial in his city. 

A Republican in politics, Mr. Morrison has taken an active part 
in public affairs, and gives much time to the public service. He has 
served as alderman, city treasurer, collector of taxes and city commis- 
sioner, and in 1919 was elected mayor of New Brunswick, an office he 
has most capably filled until the present time (1921). 

Mr. Morrison is a member of the Masonic order, the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks, Junior Order of United American Mechanics, 



24 MIDDLESEX 

Royal Arcanum, Improved Order of Red Men, New Brunswick Board 
of Trade, and the Young Men's Christian Association, his clubs the 
Lions, and Craftsmen's, his church affiliation the Protestant Episcopal. 

Mr. Morrison married, in New Brunswick, New Jersey, February 20, 
1895, Mary Hilda Otis, daughter of Charles Ruggles and Mary Catherine 
(Bennett) Otis. 



REV. EDWARD PAYSON JOHNSON, A. M., D. D,— For more 
than forty years Dr. Johnson has been a minister of the gospel, having 
had pastorates in the Presbyterian and Reformed churches, and since 
1906 he has been professor of Old Testament and Church History in 
the New Brunswick Theological Seminary of the Reformed church in 
America. He comes from an ancient Colonial family, and his honored 
father. Rev. Asa Johnson, was a home missionary of the Presbyterian 
church for nearly sixty years, first in Missouri, then in Western New 
York, and later in Indiana and Western Iowa. He married Julia Warner 
Sadd. As a Phi Beta Kappa honor man, he was graduated from Union 
College, Schenectady, New York, and later was graduated from Auburn 
Theological Seminary. 

Edward Payson Johnson was born at Peru, Miami county, Indiana, 
January 26, 1850. He prepared for college at Knox Academy, Galesburg, 
Illinois, going thence (after teaching a year) to Wabash College, Craw- 
fordsville, Indiana, where he pursued the full classical course, and was 
graduated with the usual B. A. degree, class of 1871. Having decided upon 
the gospel ministry, he pursued the regular studies at Auburn Theological 
Seminary, Auburn, New York, whence he was graduated with the class 
of 1875. He was ordained a minister of the Presbyterian church in June 
of that year, and the same day was installed pastor of the Presbyterian 
church, Sandy Hill (now Hudson Falls), New York, remaining there 
from 1875 to 1879. He also served as pastor of the Presbyterian church 
at Marshall, Michigan, 1879-1886, and Woodlawn Park, Chicago, Illinois, 
1886-1890. On January 29, 1891, he was received as a member of the 
classis of Albany, R. C. A., and was installed pastor of the First Reformed 
Church of Albany, New York, where he continued in service till October, 
1906. In June, 1906, he was elected by the General Synod, R. C. A., pro- 
fessor of Church History in the Theological Seminary of the Reformed 
church in America at New Brunswick, removing to that city late in 
October. 

Dr. Johnson is a member of the Phi Kappa Psi Greek college fra- 
ternity; the Phi Beta Kappa of Rutgers College, as well as the New 
York Phi Beta Kappa; the American Society of Church History; the 
American Historical Association ; the New York Society of the Founders 
and Patriots of America; Palestine Lodge, No. in. Free and Accepted 
Masons ; the New York Society of Wabash College Alumni ; the Clergy 
Club of New York City; the United States Seniors' Golf Association; 
and the New Brunswick Country and Golf Club. He and his family are 
members of the Second Reformed Church of New Brunswick. In 1876 
Wabash College gave him the A. M. degree ; Rutgers College, in 1896, 
conferred upon him the honorary degree of Doctor of Divinity. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 25 

Dr. Johnson married, in Troy, New York, January 23, 1878, Clara 
Brownell, of Troy, New York, daughter of the Hon. Edwin and Mrs. 
Katherine (Whitbeck) Brownell. Professor and Mrs. Johnson are the 
parents of two children: Edward Francis, and Marguerite Brownell 
Johnson. The family residence is at No. 7 Seminary place. New Bruns- 
wick, New Jersey. 

BENJAMIN FRANKLIN HOWELL.— The Howell family is a very 
old one in the United States and one that has always been well known 
and highly respected. In nearly every war in which this country has 
been engaged, the family has been represented, some one of them hav- 
ing taken a creditable part in the struggle. They originally came from 
England, settling first on Long. Island, and later on a portion of them 
migrated to New Jersey, where the homestead was built in Cumberland 
county. The line of descent from the founder of the branch herein 
followed is through William Howell, of England; Henry, Edward, 
Major John, John, John, Charles, Charles, Elias, Edmund, Benjamin 
Franklin Howell. 

Benjamin Franklin Howell was born upon his father's farm in 
Cumberland county. New Jersey, January 27, 1844, his parents being 
Edmund and Hannah (Nixon) Howell. Edmund Howell spent his life on 
the homestead farm and there he died at the age of fifty-four, his wife 
surviving him by a few years, dying in Bridgeton, New Jersey, when 
fifty-eight years old. They had a large family, four of whom are now 
living) as follows : Mrs. Ruth N. Cassedy, of Estes Park, Colorado ; 
Benjamin Franklin, of further mention; Mrs. Cornelia B. Simms, also 
a resident of Estes Park, Colorado ; George M., living in Kansas. 

Benjamin Franklin Howell attended the village school at Cedar\'ille, 
New Jersey, later being sent to Fort Edward, New York, to finish his 
education, but before this was accomplished the Civil War broke out and 
he enlisted in Company K, 12th New Jersey Volunteers, and served 
during the entire war, a period of four years, and was mustered out in 
July, 1865. Mr. Howell was engaged in many very serious battles, 
among them being Chancellorsville and Gettysburg, where he was 
wounded, also taking part in many small engagements and numerous 
skirmishes. 

After the close of the Rebellion, Mr. Howell located in South Amboy, 
Middlesex county. New Jersey, where he was appointed to serve on the 
township committee ; at the end of three years he was cho.sen to be one 
of the Board of Freeholders, acting as such for two years, and then 
was made director of the board for one year. In 1882, Mr. Howell was 
elected surrogate of Middlesex county and reelected in 1887, holding that 
office for ten years. In 1894, Mr. Howell was elected to represent his 
district in Congress and was reelected at the end of the term ; for six- 
teen consecutive years Mr. Howell retained his seat in Congress. While 
in Congress, Mr. Howell served on some of the most important com- 
mittees, among which were emigration and naturalization, public 
buildings and grounds. He was appointed one of nine — three by Senate, 



26 MIDDLESEX 

three by House, and three by the president — this commission appointed 
to investigate the emigration question, both in this country and 
in Europe. Mr. Howell was one of the committee to go abroad on 
the investigation, and reported on same. He secured appropriations for 
public buildings in New Brunswick, Perth Amboy, Asbury Park and 
Long Branch. Mr. Howell is connected with two of the banking insti- 
tutions of New Brunswick, being elected president of the People's Bank 
on George street in 1890; he is also vice-president and director of the 
New Brunswick Savings Institution on Church street. In fraternal 
circles, Mr. Howell is equally active; he is a member of St. Stephen's 
Lodge, No. 63, Free and Accepted Masons, South Amboy; and of the 
Knights of Pythias ; and is a member of the Grand Army of the Republic. 
He is also a member of the Society of Colonial Wars, his eligibility com- 
ing through his father's side of the family; tracing his descent from a 
maternal ancestor, Mr. Howell is also a member of the Society of the 
Sons of the American Revolution. Mr. Howell attends the First Pres- 
byterian Church of New Brunswick. He is trustee of the Presbyterian 
church at Spring Lake. 

At South Amboy, New Jersey, January 27, 1869, Benjamin Franklin 
Howell was united in marriage with Amelia Furman, born in Middlesex 
county, New Jersey. They have one child now living, Mary Amelia, the 
wife of Holmes Van Marter Dennis, Jr., a resident of New Brunswick ; 
they have two children: Holmes Van Marter Dennis, 3rd, and Mary 
Amelia Dennis. Mr. and Mrs. Howell have a delightful home at No. 32 
Union street. New Brunswick. 



JOHN VINCENT SMITH, M. D.— The profession of medicine is 
the most ennobling and helpful to mankind, and the members thereof 
should be men of high character and integrity, capable of sacrifice and 
of the utmost devotion to the interests of their fellowmen. These traits 
are very prominent in the character of Dr. John Vincent Smith, whose 
careful preparation, supplemented by close application to his profession, 
has enabled him to gain high rank among his professional brethren. 

John Sheppard Smith, father of Dr. Smith, was born at Fort> Mont- 
gomery, New York, coming to Middlesex county thirty-five years ago. 
He is now with the Lehigh Valley Railroad. He married Anna Eliza- 
beth Owens, whose great-grandfather came to this country from Ireland 
and located at Peekskill, New York. Mr. and Mrs. Smith are both living 
and reside at Perth Amboy, New Jersey; they are the parents of the 
following children: i. Edward, living at Keyport, New Jersey. 2. 
John Vincent, the subject of this review. 3. Thomas, a pharmacist at 
Perth Amboy. 4. Francis, an assayer at Perth Amboy. 5. William, a 
student at Perth Amboy. 6. Eugene, died in infancy. 7. George, 
deceased. 8. Mary, died in infancy. 

John Vincent Smith, son of John Sheppard and Anna Elizabeth 
(Owens) Smith, was born August 3, 1888, in the same house where he 
now lives and has his office, No. 463 State street, Perth Amboy. He was 
educated in St. Mary's Catholic School, and the Perth Amboy High 




^^.^^Vvvv^ ^^ ^^^-e^z-^t-^ 



BIOGRAPHICAL 27 

School, from which he was graduated in 1908. He then matriculated 
at Long Island College Hospital, from which he received the degree of 
Doctor of Medicine in 1912, and after serving his interneship of one 
year at St. Peter's Hospital, Brooklyn, New York, he established himself 
in the practice of his profession at Perth Amboy, New Jersey, where he 
is at present located, and where he has, by his comprehensive knowledge 
of his profession and the interest he has displayed in every case entrusted 
to his care, gained the confidence of the residents of this community, 
together with a liberal patronage which is steadily increasing year by 
year. On March 30, 1920, he received the appointment of health officer 
from Governor Edwards. Professionally, he holds membership in the 
New Jersey State Medical Association, the Middlesex County Medical 
Society, and the Perth Amboy Medical Society. In politics Dr. Smith 
is a Democrat, and in religion, a Roman Catholic, being a member of 
St. Mary's Roman Catholic Church. 

Dr. Smith married, October 3, 1916, Catherine Frances Regan, a 

daughter of Daniel and Mary ( ) Regan. Dr. and Mrs. Smith are 

the parents of one child, Anna, born January 23, 1918. 



JAMES E. BERRY.— The fine clay deposits of Middlesex county 
have brought population, wealth and commercial prestige to many of 
the county towns and villages, Woodbridge having particularly pros- 
pered through the industries growing out of this rich deposit. William 
H. Berry, of Gardiner, Maine, a mariner, after retiring from the sea, 
located in Woodbridge, New Jersey, in 1832, and there, in 1845, he 
began the manufacture of fire brick. He was succeeded by his son, 
James E. Berry, whose family and personal history follows. He is a 
great-great-grandson of Captain Nathaniel Berry, whose son, Nathaniel 
Berry, was born in Maine, December 22, 1755, who served throughout 
the Revolutionary War with bravery and daring, receiving honorable 
discharge in January, 1780. In December, 1777, he became a member of 
General Washington's life guard, a body of fearless men who were 
with General Washington at Valley Forge, and saw service on the 
northern frontier. He was the last member of the Washington life 
guard to pass away, he living to within three years of a full century of 
years, dying at Pittston, Maine, August 20, 1850. He married Lydia 
Berry, born in Maine, August 22, 1765, daughter of Lieutenant Samuel 
Berry, born in Maine, August 10, 1737. She is said to have been the first 
white girl born in either Gardiner or Pittston, Maine. 

John Berry, son of Lieutenant Nathaniel and Lydia (Berry) Berry, 
was born February 17, 1783, and died in Gardiner, Maine, in October, 
t86o. He married Elizabeth Robinson, born in Maine, October 26, 
1784, and there died, August 21, 1867. They were the parents of Wil- 
liam H. Berry, and grandparents of James E. Berry, of Woodbridge, 
New Jersey. 

William H. Berry, son of John and Elizabeth (Robinson) Berry, 
was born in Litchfield, Maine, September 18, 1805 or 1807, died in 
Woodbridge, New Jersey, March 5, 1891. He attended Gardiner schools 



28 MIDDLESEX 

in his youth, and from seventeen to twenty-three years of age followed 
the sea, rising in these six years from seaman to the rank of first mate. 
He was a deep sea sailor, and several times crossed the Atlantic to 
different foreign lands. In 1830 he abandoned the sea, then for two 
years was associated with his brother, Albert Berry, of Jersey City, in 
the baling and shipping of hay. In 1832 they separated, William H. 
Berry locating in Woodbridge, New Jersey, where he continued in the 
hay business until 1845, when he added coal to his line, and in that year 
brought from Rondout, New York, the first anthracite coal ever seen 
in Woodbridge. It came slowly into favor, only forty tons being sold 
in the town during the first two years. In 1845 Mr. Berry began utiliz- 
ing the rich clay deposits he owned on Woodbridge creek and started 
a plant for the manufacture of fire brick. He used his tremendous energy 
in the development of that business, and the firm of William H. Berry 
& Company continued a highly prosperous business until 1896. Two of 
his partners were associated with Mr. Berry for thirty-eight years and 
a third partner for forty years. At the time of his death, in 1891, he 
was the senior fire brick manufacturer of the country, as well as the 
oldest clay miner, his connection covering the period 1845-1891. The 
firm he founded continued under his name until 1896, then was suc- 
ceeded by that of James E. Berry, his son. 

William H. Berry was an official member of the Methodist Episcopal 
church, was superintendent of the Sunday school, and intensely progres- 
sive and public-spirited. It was largely through his efforts that the 
first public school building was erected in Woodbridge, and for many 
years he was president of the board of trustees of the consolidated 
schools. For many years a Democrat, he split with his party on slavery, 
and in 1856 voted for the first candidate of the Republican party, John 
C. Fremont. He held several local offices, and was for a number of 
years chairman of the Township Committee. He was an ardent sup- 
porter of the Union cause during the war, 1861-1865, aiding in raising 
troops and in furnishing needed supplies for the men in the field. His 
eldest son, William C. Berry, lieutenant in Company H, sth Regiment, 
New Jersey Volunteers, was killed in battle. May 5, 1862, and in his 
honor William C. Berry Post, Grand Army of the Republic, of Wood- 
bridge, was organized and named. The Soldiers' Monument, raised in 
Alpine Cemetery, Woodbridge, was an object of Mr. Berry's interest, 
and he was most active in securing funds for its erection. In the 
winter of 1871 he obtained from the Legislature a charter for a Dime 
Savings Bank, and was chosen president of the board of trustees. He 
was for many years a member of the Methodist Episcopal church of 
Woodbridge, a trustee, class leader, and a pillar of strength to his 
pastor. 

William H. Berry married, April 28, 1835, Margaret I. Coddington, 
born in Woodbridge, January 9, 1817, died January 5, 1893, daughter of 
William Inslee and Christian (Crowell) Coddington, the last-named a 
descendant of Edward Crowell, who came to this country on the "Cale- 
donia." Mrs. Berry was a granddaughter of Robert Coddington, who 
served under General Washington for seven years, was twice wounded, 



BIOGRAPHICAL 29 

and crippled for life. He was one of the party of three who captured 
a British vessel ofif Perth Amboy one bitter winter night and brought 
the stores taken from her to the shore on the ice. A cannon was also 
brought from the ship in the same way, that gun after doing local service 
now being one of the exhibits at General Washington's headquarters at 
Morristown, New Jersey, the Woodbridge Town Committee presenting 
it to the custodians of that property. Robert Coddington married Mary 
Inslee, whose family record dates back to 1669. The names Coddington, 
Crowell, and Inslee are of frequent appearance in Revolutionary annals. 
William Inslee Coddington, father of Mrs. William H. Berry, was a 
farmer and also followed the sea. He carried supplies to American 
troops at Sandy Hook during the War of 1812, and otherwise proved 
his patriotism. 

William H. and Margaret I. (Coddington) Berry were the parents 
of ten children, five dying in childhood. The others were: Elizabeth, 
wife of L. F. Browning, of Woodbridge ; William C, killed at the battle 
of Williamsburg, Virginia, May 5, 1862, a lieutenant of Company H, 
5th Regiment, New Jersey Volunteer Infantry; James E., of further 
mention; Albion R., died in 1900; Arthur E., of Woodbridge. 

James E. Berry was born in Woodbridge, New Jersey, September 
4, 1845, and there has spent his life. He was educated in the Woodbridge 
public school, Elm Tree Institute, and Fort Edward Collegiate Institute, 
then taught school for a time prior to conducting the Woodbridge 
"Gazette" for two years. He next was in business in New York for 
four years, after which he entered the employ of his father's firm, William 
H. Berry & Company, manufacturers of fire brick. This was in 1870, 
and later he was admitted to partnership. When the father's health 
began to fail, in 1885, he surrendered the active management to his son, 
who remained at the head from the time of his father's death, in 1891, 
to the passing of William H. Berry & Company, in 1897. In the last- 
named year the business was reorganized under the name of James E. 
Berry, and so continued until Mr. Berry's retirement, about 191 5, through 
ill health. He is now (1921) largely interested in real estate, is president 
of the Woodbridge Building and Loan Association, and is treasurer of 
the Barron Library Association. The business with which the Berrys 
were so long connected comprised an extensive plant covering several 
acres along Woodbridge creek, and in addition to the fire brick kilns 
and furnaces erected thereon, these acres were valuable for their clay 
and sand deposits. The property originally belonged to William H. 
Berry and passed to his heirs. 

James E. Berry for many years was active in public affairs. From 
1873 to 1877 he was town collector of taxes, and for the same period 
township treasurer. From 1889 to 1894 he was school trustee, serving 
as president of the board for two years. He served the Sfate as com- 
missioner to appraise lands for a railroad right of way, being chosen 
for that post by Chief Justice Beasley. Mr. Berry was active in the 
erection of the Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument of Woodbridge. serving 
as chairman of the Site and Design Committee, also as treasurer. He 



30 MIDDLESEX 

is a member of the Sons of the American Revolution; in politics a 
Republican. 

Mr. Berry married Virginia Hancock, of Woodbridge, and they are 
the parents of four children: i. Jennie, who married Lewis E. Potter, 
and they have four children: James Berry Potter, a lieutenant of the 
United States army, who served in the cavalry on the Mexican border 
during the World War, and is now connected with the Lawrence Cement 
Company ; Runyon Potter, who was a sergeant in the American Expedi- 
tionary Force, on duty in France during the World War, formerly con- 
nected with William H. Jackson & Company, of New York City, now 
with Tompkins Brothers, of Newark; Donald Potter, a Pennsylvania 
State College student (1921); and Ruth Potter, a student in Wood- 
bridge. 2. William H. (2), a mechanical engineer with the New Jersey 
Steel Company, of Rahway ; married Maria Drake, and they have three 
children : Clyde, now teller in the Perth Amboy Trust Company : Natalie, 
clerk in the First National Bank of Woodbridge ; and Muriel, a .student 
at Woodbridge. 3. George H., who at the time of his death was 
assistant postmaster of Woodbridge. 4. Mable, who died in infancy. 



THOMAS ELY SCHANCK— All of Mr. Schanck's active career 
has been spent in connection with banking, and his identification with 
the People's National Bank, of New Brunswick, New Jersey, is a proud 
record of thirty-three years of service. Mr. Schanck is a native of New 
Jersey, and a descendant of families old in the State. He is a son of 
Keortenus H. Schanck, born November 7, 1830, died May 26, 1916, and 
Rebecca M. (Ely) Schanck, born May 20, 1838; grandson of Henry 
Schanck, born in 1805, died in 1891, and Mary A. (Mount) Schanck, 
born in 1806, died in 1882; and great-grandson of Peter V. Schanck, 
born in 1775, died in 1857, and Sarah (Shepperd) Schanck, born in 1775. 
Sarah Shepperd was a daughter of Captain Elisha Shepperd, born in 
1750, died in 1834, who gained his rank in the American army in the 
Revolutionary War, and Alette (Smock) Shepperd, his wife. 

Keortenus H. Schanck was a farmer by occupation, and spent his 
entire life in Freehold, New Jersey. His wife survived him, a resident 
of New Brunswick. Their children were : Anna M., deceased ; Thomas 
Ely, of whom further; Henry, a resident of Adelphia, New Jersey; 
Charles B., a resident of Freehold; and Sarah M. Lyle, who lives in New 
York City. 

Thomas Ely Schanck was born in Freehold, New Jersey, in i860, and 
obtained his scholastic education in the Freehold Institution and Rutgers 
College of New Brunswick. After leaving Rutgers College he entered 
the First National Bank of Hightstown, New Jersey, beginning a finan- 
cial career that has extended throughout his entire active business life. 
From Hightstown he went to the Farmers' National Bank of Allentown, 
New Jersey, in the capacity of cashier, and in 1887 accepted the cashier- 
ship of the People's National Bank of New Brunswick, New Jersey. 
He was one of the organizers of this institution, and after thirty-three 
years in the office he entered at the time of its incorporation, he was 



BIOGRAPHICAL 31 

elected in January, 1920, vice-president of the bank. The People's 
National Bank is a member of the Federal Reserve System, is capital- 
ized at $100,000, and has a surplus and undivided profits of $200,000. It is 
a strongly substantial institution, its officiary and board of directors rep- 
resenting the soundest and most progressive element of the city's busi- 
ness, and it has pursued a career of uninterrupted prosperity from the 
time of its formation. Mr. Schanck has made its interests the chief 
concern of his active life, and has served it faithfully and capably 
throughout the entire period of its existence. Mr. Schanck is well knowrn 
in his community, is a member of the Second Reformed Church of New 
Brunswick, and also affiliates with the Young Men's Christian Associa- 
tion. 

Mr. Schanck married (first) in Hightstown, New Jersey, in 1884, 
Elizabeth M. Mason, who died July 12, 1911. They were the parents of 
one child, Alta S. Woodland, born in 1888. He married (second) in 
New Brunswick, New Jersey, in 1913, Sarah G. Stryker, daughter of 
John and Laura (Voorhees) Stryker. 



CONDIT SNIFFEN ATKINSON.— The career of Condit SnifFen 
Atkinson, the present secretary of the Board of Trade, of New Bruns- 
wick, New Jersey, is one of exceptional interest, embracing, as it does, 
many branches of executive work involving the leadership of men, 
rather than the conduct of affairs. In this field of effort his personal 
magnetism, which is so strong a characteristic of the man, has carried 
him far and high. The individual history of a man of this caliber is 
of interest to every observer of the trend of public affairs. 

Condit S. Atkinson is a son of Frank A. and Emma M. Atkinson. 
His father was a merchant, and prominent in the National Guard, having 
served for ten years in the Seventh Ne\V York Regiment. 

Condit S. Atkinson was born in Springfield, Massachusetts, on Sep- 
tember 10, 1867. He received his education in the public and private 
schools, finishing at Rutgers Preparatory School, in New Brunswick, 
New Jersey. As editor of the "Daily Fredonian," of New Brunswick, 
Mr. Atkinson began his business career. He accepted this position in 
1893, and for three years placed the stamp of his individuality on the 
editorial columns of this journal. Next, at the national capitol, Mr. 
Atkinson filled the position of clerk of the Committee on Immigration 
in the House of Representatives. His tenure of this office was long and 
eventful, covering a period in the nation's history when legions of people 
from every corner of the earth poured into the "land of opportunity," 
blindly seeking the fame and fortune which come to but few. Resigning 
in 1912, Mr. Atkinson was sought by the Republican National Committee 
for public activities in the campaign of 1912. Long familiar with the 
affairs of the nation, he was an acquisition to the forces of the party, 
and remained with them until the decision of the people swung in the 
opposite direction. This class of work, however, brought out his latent 
ability as a public worker, and he continued in newspaper and publicity 
work up to 1914. In the course of his activities along this line. Mr. 



32 MIDDLESEX 

Atkinson was thrown more or less closely into association with United 
States Senator Frelinghuysen, who sought his services as secretary and 
State manager of his campaign in 1916. Accepting this arduous task, 
Mr. Atkinson carried the candidate forward to success. 

At this time United States intervention in Europe was the question 
of the hour; Mr. Atkinson was made publicity director for the State 
of New Jersey in the United War Work Campaign in 1917. He threw 
himself into this work with all the force of his nature, and the splendid 
record of the State of New Jersey during this period is ample notation 
upon his work as a leader. In the spring of 1918, Mr. Atkinson was 
made director of the Near East Relief Fund, and again led the people 
to such excellent effect that the aggregation of their benefactions 
mounted to a magnificent total. He continued in publicity work of 
various kinds up to 1920, when he was persuaded to interest himself in 
a local project — the Raritan Terminal and Waterways Association, of 
New Brunswick, New Jersey. In May, of that year, he was elected 
secretary of the Board of Trade of New Brunswick, which position he is 
filling to the marked advancement of the interests of the city and its 
numerous mercantile investors. 

No record of Mr. Atkinson's life would be complete without mention 
of his military record. He served in the National Guard of New Jersey, 
fourteen years as a commissioned officer, seven years as first lieutenant, 
and seven years as captain and regimental commissary. He passed the 
physical examinations for service abroad during the World War, but 
to his great disappointment was unable to obtain a commission. In 
every branch of public activity, Mr. Atkinson has taken a constructive 
part whenever opportunity offered. During his residence in Highland 
, Park, he was for four years secretary of the Board of Education. 

Socially and fraternally Mr. Atkinson is widely connected. He is a 
member of Palestine Lodge, No. iii. Free and Accepted Masons, of New 
Brunswick ; Jersey City Consistory, Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite ; 
the Tall Cedars, of Lebanon, of New Brunswick; also of Mecca Temple, 
Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. He is a prominent 
member of the Republican Club of Highland Park, and is now serving 
that organization in the capacity of treasurer. 

Mr. Atkinson married, September 10, 1889, Mary Jane Morris, 
daughter of William and Rachael Morris, and they are the parents of 
four children: i. Frank S., born May 15, 1893; he served as first lieu- 
tenant of the 318th Infantry, American Expeditionary Force, (luring the 
World War. 2. E. Mildred, now Mrs. Josephson, born February 7, 
1898. 3. Lillian M., born May 23, 1900. 4. Condit S., Jr., born January 
3, 1903. The family are members of the Livingston Avenue Baptist 
Church, of New Brunswick, and prominent in all the social and benevo- 
lent activities of the church. 



WILLIAM CLIFFORD JAQUES for many years has been a prom- 
inent politician in New Brunswick, New Jersey, holding offices in city, 
county and State at different periods. He is very well known, with a 



BIOGRAPHICAL 33 

large circle of friends who rally to support him on election day whenever 
he is a candidate. 

New Brunswick is Mr. Jaques' native city, he having been born 
there March 20, 1857, and it is also the birthplace of his father and 
mother, Samuel and Abbie E. (Timmins) Jaques. Samuel Jaques in his 
early life was a ship carpenter by trade, but after a few years spent in 
that line of work he became a baker and continued as such for the 
remainder of his life, his death occurring in 1887, at the age of fifty-six 
years. Mrs. Abbie E. (Timmins) Jaques lived in New Brunswick all 
her life and died there in 1917, aged eighty-five years. She was the mother 
of ten children, of whom only two are now living : John L., a resident 
of Riverside, New Jersey ; and William Clifford, of further mention. 

Attending the public schools in the city of his birth until he reached 
the age of thirteen years, William C. Jaques then entered the furniture 
store of I. S. Manning & Son on Burnett street. Remaining there for 
three years, he left it to assist his father in the bakery business located 
at the corner of Hazard and John streets. After a few years Mr. Jaques 
gave this up and became a fireman on board a steamboat plying between 
New Brunswick and New York City. For a time he followed this occu- 
pation, but in 1887 engaged in the liquor business on Peace street, after- 
ward moving to Dennis street, and this he carried on until the govern- 
ment prohibited the sale of alcoholic drinks. 

Always active in politics, Mr. Jaques was elected an alderman on 
the Democratic ticket from the Third Ward in New Brunswick, holding 
office for eight years. He was twice elected alderman-at-large, and was 
also a member of the State Assembly for the years 1890 and 1891. At 
another time Mr. Jaques was a member of the Board of Freeholders of 
Middlesex county for a year and a half. In 1886 he was appointed, for 
two years, chief of the city's fire department. In 1919 Mr. Jaques was 
elected to the position of commissioner of public safety, his term of office 
continuing until 1923. In fraternal circles, Mr. Jaques is as active as 
in political affairs; he is a member of Goodwill Council, American 
Mechanics; the Knights of Pythias; the Order of Golden Eagles, and 
the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, all of Ne\y Brunswick. 

In New Brunswick, October 12, 1873, William Clifford Jaques was 
married to Charlotte L. Ryno, a native of that city. She was the 
daughter of John and Rachael (Labone) Ryno, both lifelong residents 
of New Brunswick ; they are now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Jaques had 
eight children, of whom only three are now living ; they are as follows : 
I. Samuel, deceased. 2. John L., living in New Brunswick. 3. Harvey, 
deceased. 4. William C, deceased. 5. Milton R., a resident of New 
Brunswick. 6. Edna, deceased. 7. Sarah, deceased. 8. Florantine, the 
wife of C. N. Myer, of Middlesex county. New Jersey. 



FOUNTAIN BURLEW.— Having enjoyed many advantages in the 
way of education and training, Dr. Fountain Burlew is well equipped for 
the profession he has taken up, that of dentistry; his offices are very 

Mid-3 



34 MIDDLESEX 

conveniently located, being in the South Amboy Trust Company build- 
ing at No. ii6 North Broadway. 

Fountain Burlew was born in Cliff wood, New Jersey, a suburb of 
Matawan, on October i6, 1896, and lived there until nine years of age, 
when his parents, Herbert H. and Louise (Meinzer) Burlew, moved to 
Matawan. The elder Mr. Burlew is a native of Easton, Pennsylvania, 
but is now a resident of Freneau, New Jersey, another suburb of Mata- 
wan. He is engaged in the .wholesale produce commission business in 
New York City. To Mr. and Mrs. Herbert H. Burlew four children 
were born: i. Conover H., a dentist located at 168 Smith street, Perth 
Amboy, New Jersey. 2. Frederick, a lawyer of Matawan. 3. Fountain, 
of whom further. 4. Herbert, who died in infancy. 

Attending the public schools of Matawan, Fountain Burlew graduated 
from the Matawan High School in 1913 and at once became a student 
at Bucknell University in Lewisburg, Pennsylvania, remaining there for 
three years (1913-1916), then entering the dental school of the University 
of Pennsylvania, graduating in the class of 1919. Going to Brooklyn, 
New York, Dr. Burlew started in practice, but after one year spent there 
he came to South Amboy, and October i, 1920, opened his office at the 
present location. 

During the time that our country was engaged in the World War 
with Germany, Dr. Burlew enlisted and was assigned to the Medical 
Enlisted Reserve Corps. While attending college, Dr. Burlew became a 
member of one of the Greek letter fraternities there Xi Psi Phi. In the 
way of recreation his favorite pastime is driving an automobile. Dr. 
Burlew is connected with the Presbyterian church of Matawan, New 
Jersey. 



WILLIAM CHARLES WILSON.— During the thirty years Mayor 
William C. Wilson has resided in Perth Amboy, he has played an im- 
portant part in the development of the city, and has not yet completed 
what he believes to be his civic duty. The advancement and growth of 
Perth Amboy, have always meant much to him, and among his plans 
for municipal improvements may be cited: A new railroad station, the 
abolition of grade crossings, development of the sewer system; water 
front development, including a new city dock and additional ferry lines 
connecting the city with Staten Island ; extension of the present munici- 
pal lighting system, erection of a city ice plant, and development of 
social features as to tend to develop public spirit and increase interest 
in the city of Perth Amboy. This would include concerts in parks during 
the summer months ; provision for skating and other sports during the 
winter ; beautifying the city by planting shade trees, and continuing the 
development of park system as fast as conditions would warrant. This 
is an ambitious program, but entirely feasible, and the mayor is heart and 
soul in the movement for a "better Perth Amboy." 

William Charles Wilson of New Jersey, was born in Port Monmouth, 
Monmouth county. New Jersey, September 17, 1872, son of Thomas and 
Elizabeth Wilson. Thomas Wilson was born in 1850, was a farmer by 



BIOGRAPHICAL 35 

occupation and prominent in the affairs of the community in which he 
resided, serving for a number of years on the Middletown township 
Board of Education, for nine years president of the board. He died in 
1908. His widow still survives him. They were the parents of four 
children: Charlotte; Eunice, deceased; Ethel, and William C. 

William C. Wilson was educated in the public schools of Middletown 
township, Monmouth county, and worked on the home farm until he 
attained the age of seventeen years. He then came to Perth Amboy and 
was employed as a mason in the construction of the C. Pardee works. 
He worked his way up, filling various positions in the building business 
until 191 1, when he became a contractor and builder, forming a partner- 
ship with J. C. Fowler. In 1916 this partnership was dissolved, Mr. 
Wilson continuing the business alone under firm name, W. C. Wilson, 
General Contractor. He has contracted for and erected many buildings 
in Perth Amboy, a number of which are for factory and scTiool purposes. 

Mr. Wilson is a Republican in politics and has always taken an active 
part in local affairs. In 1912 he was elected to the Board of Aldermen 
and served on the board for the next eight years; and in 1920, was 
elected mayor of Perth Amboy by a substantial majority, succeeding 
Frank Dorsey, and taking office January i, 1921. Mayor Wilson has 
always been the friend of the working man and has ever been to the 
fore when the interests of the wage-earner were at stake. During the 
many years he was employed as superintendent for a contracting con- 
cern, and later in that business for himself, he had an opportunity to 
work with, supervise and study men ; this has given him a knowledge of 
conditions that few in the city possess. 

In religion. Mayor Wilson is true to the Swedenborgian faith, in 
which he was baptized in New York City. He married, July 25, 1900, 
Wilhelmina Koster, daughter of William and Wilhelmina Koster, of 
Perth Amboy. Their children are: William, Elliott and Robert. 



LESLIE PHILIP JOHNSON, one of the most prominent and 
influential citizens of New Brunswick, is a native of this city, his birth 
having occurred here February 20, 1871. Mr. Johnson has always been 
active in everything pertaining to the welfare of the community, her 
worthiest and most vital interests being inseparably associated with his 
name and personality. 

Alfred B. Johnson, father of Leslie Philip Johnson, was born Janu- 
ary 16, 1 84 1, in Wales. At the age of nine years he came to Canada with 
his parents, and at the age of sixteen years came to the United States 
and immediately located in New Brunswick, where he has continued to 
reside ever since. For thirty-five years previous to his retirement from 
active business life, he was identified with the Norfolk & New Bruns- 
wick Hosiery Company of New Brunswick. He married Eliza Ann 
Phillhower, of New Jersey, who died June 20, 1908, at the age of sixty- 
nine years; she was a member of one of the old Colonial families, her 
antecedents having fought in the War of the Revolution. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Johnson were born three children : Frederick Robert, a resident of 



36 MIDDLESEX 

New Brunswick; Katharine, who married Elmore DeWitt, residents 
of Jersey City ; Leslie Philip, of further mention. 

The education of Leslie Philip Johnson was obtained in the public 
schools of his native place and at the New Jersey Business College in 
Newark, from which latter institution he was graduated in 1886, sub- 
sequently securing a position with the Ninth National Bank of New) 
York City, where he remained until he resigned in 1901. During this 
time he also conducted a wholesale and retail bicycle and sundry busi- 
ness at No. 113 Albany street, New Brunswick, and was also secretary 
of the Phoenix Art Metal Company here. When he resigned from the 
bank he was made president of the Phoenix Art Metal Company, which 
was later sold to the American Can Company. Mr. Johnson then joined 
the New York Consolidated Stock Exchange and continued for thirteen 
years, and in 1914 sold his seat. In 1903 he was elected president of the 
Perfection Jar Closier Company, of Philadelphia, which office he held 
until 1906. In 1912 Mr. Johnson purchased a farm just outside of New 
Brunswick which he had under cultivation and where he resided for 
two years. During the World War he was identified with the United 
States government, having charge of shipping material from the Wright, 
Martin plant, and in January, 1920, accepted his present position in 
which he has charge of the property records of the International Motor 
Company which is located in New Brunswick. 

Mr. Johnson is also keenly interested and very active in the public life 
of New Brunswick, and is looked upon as a factor of importance in the 
political life of the community. A Republican in politics, he served his 
party as alderman from 1899 until 1902, and was elected a member of 
the City Water Commission, serving from 1905 until 1908. He also 
served on the Board of Education for one term. In the course of his 
busy career he has found time to affiliate himself with some of the promi- 
nent fraternal organizations of the city, among them being the Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks, the Junior Order of United American 
Mechanics; the Free and Accepted Masons, Union Lodge, No. 16; Scott 
Chapter, No. 4; Palestine Commandery, No. 18; Mecca Temple, Ancient 
Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of New York City. He 
attends the Dutch Reformed church of New Brunswick. 

On August 17, 1892, Leslie Philip Johnson was united in marriage 
with Cathaline V. Berdine, a member of one of the old New Brunswick 
families. Mr. and Mrs. Johnson are the parents of two children: i. 
Alfred B., born August 2, 1893; served in the United States army during 
the World War, and now resides in Philadelphia; married, July, 1920, 
Ruth Knapp, of Carbondale, Pennsylvania. 2. George Leslie, born April 
I, 1904 ; member of class of 1923, New Brunswick High School. 

Leslie Philip Johnson may well be called one of the most prominent 
business men of New Brunswick, New Jersey, for such he is in the 
highest sense. He is known and admired for his successes, and is much 
sought for in advisory capacity, his opinions being ever received with 
the careful attention paid those whose judgment has been vindicated by 
the tests of time and whose business record shows nothing but honorable 
achievement. He resides at No. 93 Bayard street. New Brunswick. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 37 

HENRY GRIFFITH PARKER.— In one of the most prominent 
positions of trust in New Brunswick, New Jersey, and closely identified 
with many of the public interests of the city, is Henry Griffith Parker, 
president of the National Bank of New Jersey. 

Mr. Parker was born in New Brunswick, on September 2, 1866, and 
is descended from an English family of manufacturing interests. His 
"father, William Parker, was born in England, and came to this country 
in early life, settling in Connecticut; he was connected throughout the 
greater part of his career with the Norfolk & New Brunswick Hosiery 
Company. His death occurred in 1876. He married Ann G. Griffith, 
who also is now deceased. 

Gaining his early education in the public schools of his native city, 
Henry G. Parker was graduated from the New Brunswick High School, 
and at once plunged into the work in which he was to achieve distinction. 
Beginning in the great banking institutions of New York City, he 
remained there until 1892, then, at twenty-six years of age, he returned 
to New Brunswick, and entered the National Bank of New Jersey, in 
the capacity of paying teller. In January, 1894, less than two years 
later, he was made cashier of this bank, and fourteen years thereafter, 
in 1908, was made president, which office he still holds. During liis 
long tenure of this position, the affairs of the institution have been 
administrated with the most commendable foresight and discretion. Mr. 
Parker now commands the sincere esteem of the people of New Bruns- 
wick, and also of banking circles throughout the State of New Jersey. 

Outside his immediate interests in the National Bank of New Jersey, 
Mr. Parker has been called upon to give to many public and benevolent 
enterprises the benefit of his experience. His response to appeals of 
this character is always more than generous. Besides being identified 
with many of the important manufacturing corporations of the city in 
the capacity of director, he has served continuously on the New Bruns- 
wick Board of Education for the past fifteen years, for five years acting 
as president, but at the end of this period declined re-appointment to 
that office. He is on the executive committee of the New Brunswick 
Savings Institute. He was chairman of the executive committee on the 
First and Second Liberty Loan drives, which carried this city to such 
a high record. Mr. Parker was the first president of the New Brunswick 
Board of Trade. He is an ex-president of the New Jersey Bankers' 
Association, and has for seven years been a member of the executive 
committee of the American Bankers' Association. 

Mr. Parker is a trustee of Rutgers College, which institution con- 
ferred upon him the honorary degree of Master of Arts. He is a 
member of the Union Club of New York City; the New Brunswick 
Country Club ; and a member of the Young Men's Christian Association. 
He is a member of Christ Episcopal Church, of which he has been 
vestryman for years. 

On October 12, 1896, in New Brunswick, Mr. Parker married Alice 
Florence, daughter of John and Julia (Vick) Florence, and they have 
one son, Henry Griffith, Jr., who was born August 8, 1898, and is a 
member of the class of '21 at Rutgers. 



38 MIDDLESEX 

WILLIAM FRANK PARKER, as cashier of the National Bank of 
New Jersey, at New Brunswick, is well known to the business world of 
this city. As an individual, with many personal interests outside the 
responsible position which he is so ably filling, Mr. Parker's history 
forms a part of the hitherto unwritten annals of Middlesex county. 

William F. Parker, son of William and Ann G. (Griffith) Parker 
(q. v.), was born in New Brunswick, September 19, 1873. He was- 
reared in the traditions of this section, and educated in the institutions 
of his native State. He graduated from the New Brunswick High School 
in the class of 1891, and from Rutgers College in 1895. 

Mr. Parker entered upon his career in the manufacturing establish- 
ment of his stepfather, Alfred March, this plant manufacturing a line 
of fine underwear. He remained in this connection for seven years. At 
the end of that time, his ability being recognized by the people of the 
city, he was elected to the responsible office of city collector of New 
Brunswick. This was in 1904, and at the two following elections, in 
.1906 and 1908, was reelected. Following three terms of service in this 
capacity, Mr. Parker entered the National Bank of New Jersey, in New 
Brunswick, as clerk. He was soon promoted to the position of assistant 
cashier, and finally, in 1915, was made cashier of this institution. He 
has since served continuously in this capacity, winning the respect and 
confidence of the banking world. 

Mr. Parker is connected with various public activities. He is a 
trustee of the New Brunswick Board of Trade; trustee and treasurer 
of the Free Public Library, of this city; trustee of the Red Cross, and 
was its treasurer for two years. He is a leader in every public movement 
which has for its object the welfare of the public, and is a prominent 
member of the Young Men's Christian Association. He is a member 
of the Masonic order, and his college fraternity is the Chi Phi, of Rutgers. 

William Frank Parker married, April 27, 191 1, in Plainfield, New 
Jersey, Nelle Garrettson Van Zandt, daughter of Peter and Elizabeth 
Van Zandt, of Somerville, New Jersey. Her father is deceased, and her 
mother is now living in Plainfield. Mr. Parker's personal tastes carry 
him into the great out-doors, and his particular delight is in long cross- 
country hikes. 



JOHN EDWARD TOOLAN, one of the most energetic and suc- 
cessful of the younger generation of lawyers of Perth Amboy, New 
Jersey, where his office is located at No. 174 Smith street, is of Irish 
descent and parentage, his father, John Toolan, having come from that 
country as a young man. The elder Mr. Toolan located in South Amboy, 
New Jersey, where he found employment at the coal docks of the 
Lehigh Valley Railroad Company and worked there for upwards of 
thirty-five years. Mr. Toolan is active today, and at present holds 
the responsible post of bridge tender for the county of Middlesex. John 
Toolan married Elizabeth McGuirk, a native of South Amboy, and they 
benrame the parents of eight children, as follows: John, deceased in 
infancy ; Peter, also deceased ; Thomas, who was killed in action at St. 
Mihiel, France, during the World War; Mary, who resides with her 



BIOGRAPHICAL 39 

parents; Bernard, who resides with his parents; John Edward, with 
whose career we are especially concerned; Theresa, who became the 
wife of Joseph Hammond, of Roselle, New Jersey; and Gertrude, who 
resides with her parents. 

John Edward Toolan was born in Perth Amboy, New Jersey, June 
23, 1894. He attended local public schools, graduating from the high 
school with the class of 1912. He early conceived the ambition to follow 
a professional career, and with this end in view entered the Law School 
connected with Cornell University, from which he graduated in 1916 
with the degree of LL. B. He was admitted to the New Jersey bar 
and immediately afterward began the practice of law in the office of 
Thomas Brown, of Perth Amboy. Shortly afterwards he opened an 
office of his own and since that time has practiced alone. He has already 
made an enviable reputation for himself among his professional col- 
leagues, both on account of his able handling of the litigation entrusted 
to him and because of the high sense of professional ethics and etiquette 
he invariably displays. He also enjoys a wide, general popularity, and 
his practice is rapidly growing in size and importance. Mr. Toolan 
has always been keenly attached to athletics of all kinds and especially 
to track athletics. He has also interested himself in local affairs and 
politics, and in 1919 was a candidate for the General Assembly of the 
State on the Democratic ticket. On January 25, 1921, he was appointed 
assistant prosecutor of Middlesex county. Mr. Toolan was quick to 
respond to his country's call at the time that the United States entered 
the great World War raging in Europe, and for eighteen months served 
with the 74th Regiment, United States Infantry, and won in that time 
his commission as second lieutenant. He was at various camps in the 
United States, the major portion of his time being at Camp Devens, 
Massachusetts. Mr. Toolan is a Roman Catholic in religious faith and 
attends the Church of St. Mary in Perth Amboy. He is a member of 
the Knights of Columbus, and the Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks. 



HUGH BOYD. — A lifetime spent in journalism, during which he 
made his way from an apprenticeship in mechanical capacity to news- 
paper direction and ownership, is the record of business activity of 
Hugh Boyd. New Brunswick has known him for nearly half a century, 
and here he is widely known as president, part owner, and senior editor 
of the daily "Home News" and the Sunday "Times." The "Home 
News," with which he has been identified since 1879, occupies the daily 
field alone, in New Brunswick, having distanced contemporary journals 
(including three daily papers, the "Times," "Fredonian" and "Press"), 
and having increased in circulation and influence until it holds a posi- 
tion of uncontested supremacy. The name of Boyd has been connected 
with it in executive relation during the period that witnessed this sturdy 
development, and Mr. Boyd has constantly made it his chief interest. 

Hugh Boyd was born in Bangor, Ireland, October 31, 1849, and upon 
the completion of his general education in the public schools of his birth- 
place and Belfast he entered the office of the Belfast "News-Letter," 



40 



MIDDLESEX 



where he served a seven-years apprenticeship in the printing trade. As 
a young man of twenty-three years he came to the United States, and 
after three months spent in New York City came to New Brunswick, 
New Jersey, where he has since made his home. This was in 1872, 
and he at once entered the composing room of the New Brunswick 
"Daily Times," remaining with that paper for eight years and in that 
time becoming first foreman and then city editor. One of Mr. Boyd's 
associates in the editorial force of the "Times" was Haley Fiske, now 
president of the Metropolitan Insurance Company of New York. 

In 1879 Mr. Boyd purchased the "Home News," and since that time 
has devoted himself to its upbuilding into a modern, representative 
newspaper. How well he has succeeded with his associates in accom- 
plishing this aim, the facts show, for the "Home News" proved its 
superior right of entry into New Brunswick homes, survived any com- 
petition that arose, and is today a prosperous, vigorous enterprise, an 
accepted institution of the city. Its columns have always been open 
to clean news and to the expression of honest, sincere opinions, and 
it has been a strong factor in support of good government and civic 
morality. 

Mr. Boyd is a believer in Republican principles, but has always 
maintained independence in political action. He has served the Young 
Men's Christian Association of the city as director, and the First Baptist 
Church as trustee. No enterprise of public improvement or progress 
has lacked his support, and in many such endeavors it has been his 
privilege to take a leading part. For many years Mr. Boyd found a 
large share of his exercise and out-of-door recreation in horseback 
riding, in which he indulged regularly at his New Brunswick home in 
summer and in winter in Southern California. More recently he has 
been a convert to automobiling, and his cars provide him with his open- 
air recreation. Several summers have been spent by Mr. Boyd and 
family in traveling in Europe, his last trip being in 1914. 

Mr. Boyd married (first) May 11, 1872, ^lice Hickey, who died in 
New Brunswick, February 6, 1914. Mr. Boyd married (second) in 1918, 
Emily D. Voorhees, who died June 15, 1920. Children, all of the first 
marriage: i. Arthur H., associated with his father; married, in 1918, 
Sophie Felice Belwin. 2. William B., a broker of New York City; 
vice-president of the Home News Publishing Company ; married in 1912, 
Ruth O'Day, and they have three children: Hugh, Kathleen, and Ruth. 
3. Elmer B., assistant editor and treasurer of the "Home News." 4. 
Alice, deceased. 

Regularly at his desk, from which he has seldom been absent except 
at vacation periods, Mr. Boyd today shapes the policy of the journal of 
which he has been so long the head. He has held the confidence and 
regard of his fellow-citizens through observance of the strictest journal- 
istic ethics, and in the conduct of his paper he has been as just as he 
has been fearless, as considerate as he has been fair. The best interests 
of his city he has served faithfully and well, and to his work deserved 
appreciation is given. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 41 

IRVING HOAGLAND.— The name of a man who has been so 
long and so conspicuously before the public as has Mr. Hoagland is 
sure to be greeted with instant recognition by his fellow-citizens of New 
Brunswick and the surrounding country. A career of twenty-seven years 
at the bar and two years' service in the State Legislature have made him 
a factor of importance in both the legal circles and the political life of 
his community. 

Mr. Hoagland's family is Holland Dutch on both the paternal and 
maternal sides. His father, John Calvin Hoagland, was sixth in descent 
from Christofifel Hooglandt, who emigrated from Holland to New 
Amsterdam prior to 1655, and who as merchant and alderman, owned 
and occupied until his death in 1684, the property now southeast corner 
of Broadway and Maiden Lane. In 1727 Christopher, son of Christoffel, 
purchased a tract of land near Griggstown, to which he removed and 
which has never since been out of the Hoagland family. 

His mother, Mary (Voorhees) Hoagland, was daughter of Peter A. 
Voorhees, assemblyman and sheriff of Somerset county, and who was 
eighth in descent from Stephen Coerte Van Voorhees, who emigrated 
from Holland in 1660 and settled at Flatlands, Long Island, and who 
became prominent in the early affairs of New Amsterdam. Peter A. 
Voorhees married Maria Suydam, whose emigrant ancestor, Hendrick 
Riker Suydam, came from Holland to New Amsterdam in 1663. Through 
this branch of the family Mr. Hoagland inherited the family homestead 
at Franklin Park, where he was born July 24, 1869, and now resides, 
and which has been in his family continuously from 1728. 

Until his twelfth year, Irving Hoagland attended the local school 
of his native place and from there passed to Rutgers Grammar School, 
graduating in 1886; he then entered Rutgers College, from which he 
graduated in 1890, and thereafter entered the office of Prosecutor John 
S. Voorhees, and was admitted to the bar in November, 1903. He grad- 
uated with honor from the New York Law School, and has been actively 
engaged in the practice of his profession in New Brunswick since that 
time, having his office in the building of the National Bank of New 
Jersey. He is secretary and director of the Interwoven Stocking Com- 
pany, one of New Jersey's leading industries. 

In the sphere of politics, Mr. Hoagland was active for a number of 
years, and in 1905 and 1906 he occupied a seat in the Assembly as a 
representative of Somerset county. He belongs to the University Club 
of New York, and the Delta Phi fraternity, and is a member of the Dutch 
Reformed Church of Franklin Park. 

During the recent World War, Mr. Hoagland served as chairman of 
the exemption board of Somerset county, subordinating every other 
interest to this patriotic work and devoting to it almost his entire time. 

While making law, and not agriculture, his life work, an inherited 
fondness for rural pursuits and the environment of the countryside 
has led him to find rest and recreation in the management of the 
homestead farm and in the congenial out-of-door life connected there- 
with. Loyal in this particular to his family traditions, Mr. Hoagland has 
also proved his fidelity to them by disinterested public service and 
honorable devotion to his chosen profession. 



42 



MIDDLESEX 



REV. HERBERT PARRISH, B. A., M. A.— Since 1915, Rev. Her- 
bert Parrish came to New Brunswick in response to a call from Christ 
Protestant Episcopal Church, and as rector of that parish, he has become 
well known and appreciated in the city. He is a son of Judge Isaac H. 
and Caroline (Cook) Parrish, his father an eminent jurist and judge of 
the Superior Court of the State of Michigan. 

Herbert Parrish was born at Grand Rapids, Michigan, September 
13, 1868. After completing preparatory study in Grand Rapids and Ann 
Arbor public schools, he entered Trinity College, Hartford, Connecticut, 
whence he was graduated B. A., class of 1891 ; M. A., class of 1894. 
He pursued post-graduate courses at New York University, University 
of Pennsylvania, and Johns Hopkins University, studied divinity, and 
was ordained a priest of the Protestant Episcopal church. Since ordina- 
tion he has served as rector of the Church of the Advent, San Francisco, 
California; rector of St. Luke's, Baltimore, Maryland, and rector of 
Christ Church, New Brunswick, New Jersey, his present parish. 

Rev. Herbert Parrish married, in Baltimore, June 21, 1911, Mary 
Sarah Russell Mayo, daughter of Joseph and Sarah Mayo. 



HARRY SIDNEY MEDINETS, one of the successful lawyers of 
Perth Amboy, New Jersey, holds a prominent place both on account of 
the ability shown by him in his profession and because of the excellent 
reputation he has universally established for fair dealing and a high sense 
of personal honor. Mr. Medinets was born February 22, 1893, in New 
Brunswick, New Jersey, and is a son of Abraham and Esther (Corser) 
Medinets, both natives of Russia, from which country they came to 
the United States about forty years ago, settling first in New York 
City. The elder Mr. Medinets engaged in the wholesale produce business 
and made a notable success, especially in Perth Amboy, where he was 
the pioneer in his line, as he was also one of the earliest Jewish settlers 
in the city. He is now retired from active business life and makes bis 
home in Perth Amboy with his wife. They were the parents of four 
children, as follows : Theresa, who became the wife of Ma.K Semer, and 
is now deceased ; Elizabeth, who became the wife of William J. Cohn, 
3f Perth Amboy; Samuel, who resides in South Amboy, where he is 
engaged in business as a hardware merchant ; Harry Sidney, with whose 
career we are here especially concerned. 

The childhood of Harry Sidney Medinets was principally passed in 
Perth Amboy, to which place his parents removed from New Brunswick 
ivhen he was but one year old, and there he attended the local public 
schools as far as the sixth grade. He then accompanied his parents to 
Tottenville, Staten Island, and continued his schooling at that place, 
graduating from the grammar school and later the high school. He' also 
studied for one year at the high school in South Amboy, where he com- 
pleted his preparation for college. He was ambitious to follow a prc- 
■essional career, and accordingly entered the New York Law Sehool, 
where he pursued his legal studies until his graduation with the class 
)f 1913. Returning to New Jersey he took the bar examinations and was 



BIOGRAPHICAL 43 

admitted to the State bar, July 7, 1914. He at once established himself 
in his profession in Perth Araboy and has remained in practice here 
since that time, being now regarded as one of the leaders of the 
local bar. He was admitted to practice before the higher courts of the 
State, June 14, 1918, with the title of counsellor-at-law and master in 
chancery. Mr. Medinets is the possessor of an unusual literary gift, and 
from his schoolboy days has done considerable writing on various sub- 
jects. He was editor of "The Message," the school paper of the South 
Amboy High School, and has been publisher and editor of the local and 
State Young Men's Hebrew Association magazines. He is a prominent 
figure in social and fraternal circles in Perth Amboy, and is a member 
of a number of important orders and clubs. He is especially well known 
in Masonic circles and is affiliated with Mt. Zion Lodge, No. 135, Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons ; Raritan Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; Tall 
Cedars of Lebanon, No. 216; and Salaam Temple, Ancient Arabic Order 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. Besides these Masonic bodies he is also 
a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, the Foresters 
of America, the Fraternal Order of Eagles, the Westminster Cadets, 
the Young Men's Christian Association, the Young Men's Hebrew 
Association, and the B'Nei Zion Camp, No. 20. As a youth, Mr. Medi- 
nets was a notable athlete, being for two years the holder of the standing 
broad jump of the public schools of Richmond borough. New York, and 
has always been keenly fond of all out-door sports and pastimes. 

Harry Sidney Medinets was united in marriage, December 27, 1914, 
at Bayonne, New Jersey, with Lenore Garsson, a native of New York 
City, born March 10, 1893, a daughter of Morris and Anna (Epstein) 
Garsson, who now make their home in Perth Amboy. Mr. Garsson is 
the local representative of the John Hancock Life Insurance Company, 
and is an authority bn Hebrew literature, and himself an author of note. 
Mr. and Mrs. Medinets are the parents of one child, Adelle Josephine, 
born April 3, 1916. 



INGFRED T. MADSEN.— Perhaps the largest hardware store in 
Middlesex county is that of the Perth Amboy Hardware Company, at 
Perth Amboy, a business founded in 1909 by Ingfred T. Madsen, who 
since 1915 has given it his entire personal attention. Mr. Madsen is a 
native son of Perth Amboy, but he moved to New York for business 
reasons, and in 1915 the same forces impelled his return to the place 
of his birth. 

Mr. Madsen is a son of Laurids Madsen, born in Denmark, in 1844, 
who at the age of twenty came to the United States and located in 
Perth Amboy, where he died, February 14, 1920. He was interested in 
the manufacture of terra cotta. His wife, Helene (Sorenson) Madsen, 
born in Denmark, yet survives him, residing in Perth Amboy. Dr. M. P. 
Madsen, of Hastings, New York, and Ingfred T. Madsen, are the only 
living children, the eldest dying in infancy. 

Ingfred T. Madsen was born in Perth Amboy, New Jersey, July 7, 
1879, and there completed a public school education, with graduation 



44 MIDDLESEX 

from high school, class of 1897. During his last three years in high 
school, he had established a profitable newspaper route, which he con- 
tinued for a time after leaving school. In September, 1897, he accepted 
a position with Peck, Stow & Wilcox, hardware manufacturers, of New 
York City, remaining with that firm until 191 1, beginning as office man 
and becoming manager. In 191 1 he began business for himself as a 
manufacturer's agent, and in that line developed a good business, cov- 
ering the Eastern coast States. He had, in 1909, founded a business 
in Perth Amboy under the name and firm style. The Perth Amboy 
Hardware Company, and in 1915 that company had so increased in 
importance that Mr. Madsen moved to Perth Amboy to give to its affairs 
his entire time. He has devoted his business life to the sale of hardware, 
and is an authority on all questions pertaining thereto. The business 
is large and well managed, consequently is prosperous and profitable. 

In 1917, Mr. Madsen was elected a director of the Perth Amboy 
Chamber of Commerce, and in 1918-19-20 was chosen president. He 
was chairman of the War Savings Committee, and very helpful in all 
war activities. He is a member of the Free and Accepted Masons, 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, Royal Arcanum, East Jersey 
and Raritan Yacht clubs, of Perth Amboy, the Colonia Country Club, 
and the Hardware Club of New York City. His favorite recreation 
is golf. 

Mr. Madsen married, in Rohrsburg, Pennsylvania, September 27, 
1910, Lela M. Shultz, born there, daughter of John H. and Dorothy 
(Henrie) Shultz. Mr. and Mrs. Madsen are the parents of three chil- 
dren : Dorothy H., J. Edward, and Mary Elizabeth. 



GEORGE DUNHAM RUNYON, who for nearly two decades has 
been associated with the "Evening News" of Perth Amboy, New Jersey, 
and is now one of the proprietors of that journal, is a native of the town 
of New Brunswick, and a member of one of the oldest and most widely 
spread families of the State. The Runyon family was founded here in 
1665 by one Vincent Rognion or Runyon, one of the French Huguenots 
who was obliged to flee the persecutions in his native land after the 
Revocation of the Edict of Nantes, and settled in Elizabethport, New 
Jersey. He is buried in Piscataway, New Jersey, and his descendants 
are now resident in many parts of the State, many of them occupying 
positions of prominence and influence in their respective communities. 

George Dunham Runyon was born February 7, 1855, a son of John 
and Amelia (Oram) Runyon, lifelong residents of New Brunswick, 
where the former carried on a business as ship carpenter for many 
years, and died at the age of sixty-seven. His first wife, Amelia (Oram) 
Runyon, died when she was but twenty-six years old, and she and her 
husband were the parents of three children, as follows : George Dunham, 
with whom we are here especially concerned; Cornelia, deceased; and 

John, also deceased. John Runyon married (second) , and they 

were the parents of seven children, as follows : Amelia, who resides in 
New Brunswick ; a child that died in infancy ; W. Parker, mentioned at 




m PERTH AMBOY HARDWARE CO. 




BIOGRAPHICAL 45 

length elsewhere in this work; Frank, who resides in New Brunswick; 
John, also of New Brunswick; Mary Fannie, who died at the age of 
twenty-two years ; and Theodore, of New Brunswick. 

The childhood of George Dunham Runyon was passed at his father's 
home in New Brunswick, and he there received his early education, 
attending local schools for this purpose, and he later entered the Bryant 
& Stratton Business School of Newark, from which he was graduated 
with the class of 1873. Upon completing his studies he entered his 
father's ship repairing yard, and at the age of twenty-two was working 
at this trade there. Eventually, being of an enterprising character, he 
came to Perth Amboy and opened a similar establishment of his own, 
founding with John H. Phillips the Perth Amboy Dry Dock Company, 
and they met with notable success from the outset. For ten years they 
continued to carry on this enterprise, and then Mr. Runyon entered the 
lumber business in Perth Amboy, in which for ten years more he was 
similarly successful. It was in the year 1901 that Mr. Runyon made 
the vital change that took him from the field of industry and launched 
him upon his newspaper career in which he has continued ever since. 
In that year he became associated with the "Evening News," of which 
he eventually became one of the three proprietors and of which he is 
now the treasurer. This paper, under his exceedingly able financial 
management, has thriven greatly and is now one of the most influential 
periodicals of Middlesex county and a potent factor in local politics and 
the field of general thought. Mr. Runyon is a Democrat in politics, 
and has himself played a prominent part in public affairs in Perth Amboy. 
He has held a number of elective offices, has been a member of the 
School Commission, and represented the First Ward on the Board of 
Aldermen. He is also well known in social and fraternal circles in the 
city, and has been a member of the Junior Order of American Mechan- 
ics for forty years, being one of its charter members, and a member of 
the local branch of the Young Men's Christian Association for a long 
period. 

George Dunham Runyon was united in marriage, April 29, 1879, i" 
New Brunswick, with Melvenia Lewis, like himself a native of that 
city, and a daughter of William and Sarah (Voorhees) Lewis, old and 
highly respected residents there for many years and now both deceased. 
Mr. and Mrs. Runyon are the parents of six children, as follows : Lewis 
Parker, who now resides in Buhl, Idaho, where he is engaged in the 
grocery business; Cornelia, who died at the age of four and a half 
years ; Harry H., who makes his home at Boise City, where he is estab- 
lished as a successful merchant ; Helen, a graduate trained nurse at 
Boise City, Idaho; Ruth, wife of Charles B. Oakford, Merchantville, 
New Jersey; and Vincent, who saw active service during the World 
War in France as a member of the 13th Balloon Company. Mr. Runyon 
and the members of his family are Methodists in their religious belief 
and those residing in Perth Amboy attend the Simpson Methodist Epis- 
copal Church of that city, of which he has been the treasurer for above 
thirty-five years. 



46 MIDDLESEX 

OSCAR OGILIVE BARR, M. E., B. S.— Professor Barr, now super- 
intendent of schools of South Amboy, New Jersey, has been connected 
with the public schools of the State of New Jersey for many years, 
probably no man in the State having had so wide and varied a con- 
nection. As a teacher of elementary and high schools, he gained that 
close practical knowledge of school economy which distinguishes him 
and aids him in his work as county superintendent of schools in South 
Jersey, and as city superintendent in the two cities he has served. He 
is still a young man, with many years of professional usefulness before 
him, and if the past be taken as a criterion, he will go far in his pro- 
fession. 

Professor Barr is a son of John William and Louisa (Lombard) 
Barr, both, deceased, his father a veteran of the Civil War. John W. 
Barr served the Union cause as a volunteer under four different enlist- 
ments, covering the four years of war, as follows: First lieutenant of 
Company B, loth Regiment, Pennsylvania Infantry, 1861 ; second lieu- 
tenant of Company K, 127th Regiment, Pennsylvania Infantry, 1862; 
captain of Company H, 39th Regiment, Pennsylvania Infantry, 1863 ; 
private of Company B, i6th Regiment, Pennsylvania Cavalry, 1865. 

Oscar O. Barr was born in the State of Pennsylvania, September 2, 
1875. He is a graduate of Pine Grove High School, West Chester 
Normal School, Lafayette College, class of 1906, and of the Teachers' 
College, Columbia University, receiving the degree M. E. and B. S. 
His life has been devoted to the cause of education, and he has taught 
in all grades of the public schools. He served the county of Cape May, 
New Jersey, as superintendent of public instruction, and performed the 
same service for the county of Salem, New Jersey. He has also been 
city superintendent of schools for the city of Salem, New Jersey, and 
since March 15th has been city superintendent of schools at South 
Amboy, New Jersey. This record of continuous service in high and 
responsible positions determines the value of Professor Barr's services 
to the cause of education, and testifies loudly to the estimation in which 
he is held in these widely separated communities. 

During the Spanish-American War, Professor Barr was a corporal 
of Company G, 4th Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteers, and saw service 
in Porto Rico, West Indies. He is a member of the Council of Educa- 
tion, State of New Jersey; New York Schoolmasters' Club ; National 
Educational Association; New Jersey State Teachers' Association; the 
Protestant Episcopal church ; and Alpha Chi Rho, a college fraternity. 

Mr. Barr married, at Cape May, New Jersey, October 2, 1906, Marie 
Moore, daughter of Charles and Ella N. Moore. Their only child, Ella 
Louise Barr, was born February 24, 1908. 



REV. CORDIE JACOB CULP, PH. D.— For two decades Dr. Gulp 
has been a clergyman of the Presbyterian church, beginning pastoral 
work in Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, in 1900. Although settled over a 
leading church in the neighboring city of New Jersey for many years, 
his connection with the New Brunswick and the First Presbyterian 



BIOGRAPHICAL 47 

Church did not begin until 191 8, when he accepted their call and was 
settled over that church. He is a son of Calvin Beatty and Martha 
Jane (Dance) Culp, who at the time of the birth of their son were 
living in Jefferson county, Ohio, his father engaged in farming. 

Cordie Jacob Culp was born in Wintersville, Jefferson county, Ohio, 
September 8, 1872.. He began his education in the rural public schools, 
and later became a student in Richmond (Ohio) College, whence he wa? 
graduated, class of 1895. He taught in the public schools, 1895-96, 
entered Princeton Seminary in 1897, and was graduated from that insti- 
tution, class of 1900. He pursued post-graduate courses in Princeton 
University in 1902, receiving the degree of M. A. with the class of 
that year. In 1914 he received the degree of Ph. D. from New York 
University, also at the finish of post-graduate courses. After graduation 
from Princeton Seminary in 1900, he was ordained a minister of the 
Presbyterian church, and for four years, 1900-04, was pastor of Fairview 
Presbyterian Church, Glenmoore, Pennsylvania. In 1904 he accepted 
a call from Bound Brook, New Jersey, and until 1918 was pastor of the 
Presbyterian church there. In 1918 he came to the First Presbyterian 
Church of New Brunswick, New Jersey, and there remains (May, 1921). 

During the World War, Dr. Culp was in the service of the Young 
Men's Christian Association, and for six months was director of religious 
work at Wissahickon Barracks, the Naval Reserve Camp at Cape May, 
New Jersey. He is a Republican in politics, a member of the Masonic 
order. New Brunswick County Club, N^w Brunswick Rotary Club, and 
the Rutgers Club. He is also a member of the Phi Beta Kappa fra- 
ternity. 

Dr. Culp married, in Richmond, Ohio, June 27, 1900, Florence M. 
Burns, daughter of John Wesley and Mary Virginia (McElroy) Burns. 



MARTIN STOETZEL MEINZER, M. D.— Any history of the 
medical profession of Middlesex county. New Jersey, would be incom- 
plete without the name of Dr. Martin Stoetzel Meinzer, who for the 
past fourteen years has been engaged in the active practice of his pro- 
fession at Perth Amboy. In devoting himself almost exclusively to 
surgery, he has won the confidence and esteem of his professional 
brethren by the satisfactory results gained in this particular branch of 
the profession. 

Louis Frederick Meinzer, father of Dr. Meinzer, was born in New 
York City, and died in Perth Amboy, New Jersey, in April, 1919, at the 
age of seventy-eight years. For a period of fifty years he was proprietor 
of the general store there, which is still run under his name and con- 
ducted by his son Augustus L. Mr. Meinzer married, in 1861, Amelia 
Stoetzel, and they were the parents of three children : Augustus Louis, 
who lives in the old homestead at South Amboy, and has succeeded his 
father in the proprietorship of the general store; Louis Frederick, a 
dentist of South Amboy ; and Martin Stoetzel, mentioned below. 

Martin Stoetzel Meinzer was born in South Amboy, April 22, 1878, 
and attended the schools there until he was sixteen years old, when he 



48 MIDDLESEX 

entered New Brunswick Preparatory School, from which he was gradu- 
ated in 1897; he then matriculated at Rutgers College, and in 1901 
received the degree of Bachelor of Arts from this institution. Having 
already decided upon making the practice of medicine his life-work, 
he entered the medical department of Columbia University, New York 
City, and in 1905, was graduated with the degree of Doctor of Medicine. 
Rutgers College later conferred the degree of Master of Science. After 
spending a year as interne in the Orange Memorial Hospital, Dr. Meinzer 
began general practice in Perth Amboy, March 19, 1906, and very soon, 
by reason of taste and natural aptitude, directed the greater part of his 
attention to surgery, gradually eliminating the medical element. Suc- 
cess has attended his efforts and he is now in possession of a large and 
ever increasing clientele. In addition to his private practice Dr. Mein- 
zer was city physician from 1907-1916, school physician from 1907-1915, 
and physician for the Board of Health from 1916-1918. He is a member 
of the New Jersey State Medical Association, the Middlesex County 
Medical Society, and the American Medical Society, and has held the 
offices of president and secretary in the county society. 

A good citizen, Dr. Meinzer never refuses to aid and cooperate in 
any cause or movement which in his judgment makes for progress or 
reform in any department of the city's life. With the financial institu- 
tions of the city he is also prominently connected, being a director of 
the Perth Amboy Trust Company, secretary of the Maple Realty Com- 
pany, and president of Perth Amboy Business College. In politics he 
is a Democrat, and in religion an Episcopalian. Dr. Meinzer is also a 
member of the East Jersey Club, and affiliates with the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks. 

On July 6, 1906, Dr. Meinzer was united in marriage with Miss 
Elizabeth Smock, and they are the parents of one child, Helen Susan, 
born June 22, 1912. The family home is at No. 42 Market street, and 
office at No. 284 Madison avenue, Perth Amboy, New Jersey. 



JAMES ALEXANDER EDGAR.— A good example of the successful 
business man and man-of-affairs who has risen through his own efforts 
to a position of prominence in the community is James Alexander Edgar. 
For the past sixteen years he has been engaged in the real estate and 
insurance business in New Brunswick, and during this time has been a 
recognized authority in all that vitally concerns the welfare and progress 
of this city. 

James Alexander Edgar was born in Hoboken, New Jersey, January 
28, 1870, the son of Joseph Edgar and Annie Eliza (McCollum) Edgar. 
Joseph Edgar was born in the north of Ireland, and during his early 
manhood taught school in his native place, after which he emigated to 
this country and for many years was engaged in the wholesale and 
retail meat business. The education of James Alexander Edgar was 
obtained in the public schools of New York City and of Red Bank, New 
Jersey. At the age of sixteen he entered upon his business career, 
engaging in various branches until 1894, when he secured a position as 



BIOGRAPHICAL 49 

agent for the Prudential Life Insurance Company, later becoming assist- 
ant superintendent of the company. In 1902 he was appointed manager 
of the Colonial Insurance Company, and two years later became man- 
ager of the ordinance department for the Prudential Insurance Company, 
remaining with this latter organization until establishing himself in the 
real estate and insurance business in 1904, which stands today a monu- 
ment to his tireless energy, his progressive spirit, tempered with the 
wisdom of conservatism, and his farsighted aggressive methods of 
procedure. 

Mr. Edgar has always been loyal in his support of measures calcu- 
lated to benefit the city and to promote its rapid and substantial devel- 
opment. He was a director in the Young Men's Christian Association 
from 1902 to 1912, and at present, a member of the Board of Trade. In 
1912 he allied himself with the Progressive party, being a warm admirer 
of Theodore Roosevelt. From 191 3 to 1916 he was chairman for the 
Middlesex county organization of the Progressive party. He was elected 
assemblyman on the Republican ticket for Middlesex county in 1916, 
and reelected in 1917. During his first term, he was chairman of the 
ways and means committee, member of committees on claims and pen- 
sions, riparian rights, and joint committee on school for deaf mutes; 
second term, chairman of committee on incidental expenses, member of 
committees on commerce and navigation, education and stationery, and 
joint committees on New Jersey State Reformatory, and School for 
Deaf Mutes. He was active in promoting good legislation, always in 
the interest of his constituents. He had the pleasure of speaking and 
voting for the local option bill placed on the New Jersey statute books 
during the session of 1917, and has always been a strong advocate of 
prohibition. He is a member of the Middlesex County Republican 
Committee. 

Mr. Edgar became a member of the Board of Education of Highland 
Park, New Jersey, in 1913, and served this board as president from 1914 
to 1916. He was one of the organizers of the Highland Park Building 
and Loan Association in 1908, and has served as director and secretary 
of the board ever since. In 1892, Mr. Edgar enlisted in the Second Bri- 
gade Signal Corps of the National Guard of New Jersey, and was 
honorably discharged from the service in 1897, having attained the rank 
of corporal. 

He is a member of Palestine Lodge, No. iii. Free and Accepted 
Masons; Craftsmen's Club; Tall Cedars of Lebanon; New Brunswick's 
Sportsmen's Club; Rotary Club of New Brunswick, as well as being a 
member of the Associated Automobile Clubs of New Jersey and of the 
American Automobile Association. His religious affiliations are with 
the Highland Park Reformed Church, in which he holds the office 
of elder. 

On October 28, 1897, Mr. Edgar was united in marriage with Bertha 
Bodle Hofifman, daughter of Jeremiah King and Margaretta (Ramsey) 
Hoffman, of Clinton, Hunterdon county. New Jersey. Mr. and Mrs. 
Edgar are the parents of a son, Joseph Hoffman, born August 20, 1898, 

Mid-< 



so 



MIDDLESEX 



who is a graduate of Rutgers College, class of 1918, and is now (1921) 
a senior in Yale University Law School, and business manager of 
the "Yale Law Journal." The family home is located at No. 202 Grant 
avenue. Highland Park, New Jersey. 



ADOLPH CLAYTON CLARK, as manager of the Raritan Copper 
Works, holds one of the most important executive positions in the 
State of New Jersey. The field covered by this large corporation includes 
practically all of the United States and many foreign countries, and 
makes it one of the most important concerns in the city of Perth Amboy, 
New Jersey. 

The Clark family is an old one of Rindge, New Hampshire, where 
Mr. Clark's father, Adolphus Clark, was born. He manufactured min- 
eral water machinery, and conducted factories in Boston, Massachusetts, 
and in London, England. He died in Chicago, in 1918, in the eighty- 
seventh year of his age. He married Marie Antoinette Jewett, of New- 
port, New Hampshire, who died in Chicago in the eighty-third year of 
her age, within one week of the date of her husband's death. They had 
six children, the eldest having died in infancy. Those now living are: 
Adolph Clayton ; Mabel, wife of Dr. L. K. Beck, of San Antonio, Texas ; 
F. Percy, of East Chicago, Indiana; Florence Louise, wife of W. G. 
Speck, of Sidcup, England; and Cecil J., of Chicago, Illinois. 

Adolph Clayton Clark was born in Boston, Massachusetts, April 
19, 1866. He was taken to England when a baby, as the elder Clark's 
business required his extended residence there, and his little family 
accompanied him. The boy, Adolph C, was eighteen years of age when 
he returned to America. He had enjoyed the best of educational advan- 
tages in England and on the continent, and upon returning to America 
went to Rhode Island and attended i business college in Providence 
for one year. Before becoming identified with the Raritan Copper 
Works, Mr. Clark was with the Pawtucket Hair Cloth Company of 
Pawtucket, Rhode Island, for four years. He then served four years 
with the large shoe manufacturing firm of Thomas White & Sons, of 
Boston, Massachusetts. From there Mr. Clark went with the New 
England Electrolytic Copper Company of Central Falls, Rhode Island, 
where he remained eight years, becoming its assistant superintendent. 
This last position defined Mr. Clark's life work and interests, and when 
the company moved its works from Central Falls to Perth Amboy, 
becoming the Raritan Copper Works, he came with them as assistant 
superintendent. This was in 1901, and in 1905 he became superintendent, 
and in 1918 manager of the plant. The story of such a career might fill 
volumes; the outline is quickly stated; but Mr. Clark's position in the 
business world is thereby clearly revealed. 

Mr. Clark is president of the Middlesex County Vocational schools, 
and vice-president of the Perth Amboy Board of Education. He is also 
an officer or director of the following organizations : The Raritan Trust 
Company, Perth Amboy; City Hospital; Spring Lake Hospital; the 
Young Men's Christian Association; the American Red Cross; and the 



BIOGRAPHICAL 51 

Bathing and Tennis Club of Spring Lake, New Jersey. He is a member 
of the American Society of Mining Engineers; the Whitehall Club of 
New York ; the East Jersey Club ; and the Bathing and Tennis Club of 
Spring Lake, New Jersey. He takes delight in all out-of-door sports, 
and is particularly interested m swimming. 

Mr. Clark married (first) in Pawtucket, May 27, 1896, Mary Edith 
Carpenter, who died in 1904. They had three children : Harold Norman ; 
Dorothy E., and Adolph Clayton (2). On June 27, 1906, Mr. Clark 
married (second) Frances Matthews Bates, of Binghamton, New York, 
daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Miles J. Matthews, who lived for many years 
in that city. The family is Episcopalian, and they are members of St. 
Peter's Episcopal Church, of which Mr. Clark is a vestryman. 



WILLIAM NORTHEY JONES.— The Church of God stands as a 
symbol of human faith, gracing the common pathway. So in the records 
of the community the names of the clergy stand as exponents of the 
higher phases of human history. The Rev. William Northey Jones, 
rector of St. Peter's Protestant Episcopal Church, of Perth Amboy, 
New Jersey, is a representative clergyman of that denomination, whose 
life is filled with beneficent activities. He is a son of John Winslow 
and Adelaide E. (Doldt) Jones, his father being a manufacturer, and 
at one time a member of the General Assembly of the State of Maryland. 

Rev. Mr. Jones was born May 27, 1866, in Portland, Maine. Fol- 
lowing his elementary education, he entered St. Paul's School, Concord, 
New Hampshire, in 1878. He was graduated from that institution in 
1884. He then entered Trinity College, Hartford, Connecticut, from 
which he was graduated in 1888 with the degree of Bachelor of Arts. 
He then entered upon a post-graduate course at the General Theological 
Seminary, from which he was graduated in 1891. In that same year 
Trinity College conferred upon him the degree of Master of Arts. Later 
he took a special course at Keble College, Oxford University, England. 
This splendid preparation for his chosen vocation served to make him 
an unusually forceful speaker. He entered at once upon a field of 
missionary labor in Montana, where he remained for two years. In 
1893 he was called to the pastorate of St. Paul's Church, Evansville, 
Indiana, where he served for four years. In 1898 he became the rector 
of Grace Church, Manchester, New Hampshire, where he remained for 
seven years. He was next rector of Christ Church, Williamsport,. Penn- 
sylvania, for a period of nine years. In 1914 he was called to St. Peter's 
Church, Perth Amboy, which parish is still under his charge. He has 
won the esteem not only of his congregation, but of the public generally, 
and the church has enjoyed a period of uniform prosperity, both spiritual 
and material, during his rectorship. 

Rev. Mr. Jones has repeatedly been called to serve upon ecclesias- 
tical missions and in bodies assembled to consider the problems of the 
church. He was examining chaplain for the Diocese of Indiana from 
1893 to 1897. He was a member of the Board of Missions of New Hamp- 
shire from 1899 to 1904. He has served as deputy to the General Con- 



52 MIDDLESEX 

vention at three different times. In igo8 he was made delegate to the 
Pan Anglican Congress in London, England. From 1908 to 1914 he was 
president of the Board of Religious Education in the Diocese of Harris- 
burg. 

Rev. Mr. Jones has also given generously of his time and energies 
to worthy secular objects. He was for seven years trustee of the Public 
Library of Williamsport, Pennsylvania, and since 191 5 he has been 
president of the board of trustees of the Middlesex County, New Jersey, 
Home for the Aged. His college fraternity is Psi Upsilon; and he is 
a member of the Knights Templar, also a Scottish Rite Mason, the thirty- 
second degree. For many years he was prelate of the Commandery of 
Knights Templar. He is now past most wise master of the Rose Croix 
Knights, and chaplain of the blue lodge. He is a member of the New 
Hampshire Society of the Colonial Wars, a member of the Pennsylvania 
Society of the Sons of the American Revolution, and a member of the 
Colonial Country Club. 

Rev. Mr. Jones married, October 11, 1894, in Brooklyn, New York, 
Carrie Louise Clark, daughter of Edwin Allen and Ann E. (Michaels) 
Clark. Their four children are as follows: i. Allen Northey, who was 
graduated from Trinity College with the degree of Master of Arts; 
valedictorian, class of 1917, and served as a machine gunner for twenty- 
two months in France. 2. Sarah Mildred, who was graduated from 
Wellesley College with the degree of Bachelor of Arts, class of 1921. 3. 
Theodore Winslow. 4. Eleanor Carolyn. 



OLAF JACOB MORGENSON, city comptroller, is one of the rep- 
resentative citizens of Perth Amboy. Since coming to this community 
in 189s he has espoused and given his earnest support to all movements 
calculated to advance the welfare of the city. 

James Morgenson, father of Olaf Jacob Morgenson, was born in 
Denmark, October 24, 1846, and came to this country at the age of 
twenty-four years, settling in Kansas, he being one of the first six farm- 
ers to settle in that locality. He married Christine Olsen, and they are 
both living on the farm in Kansas. To Mr. and Mrs. Morgenson have 
been born six children : Olaf Jacob, mentioned below ; Louis H., a resi- 
dent of Escalon, California; Dora, wife of the Rev. C. M. Olsen, of Den- 
mark, Wisconsin; Julius C, of Lincoln, Kansas; Adolph F., of Vesper, 
Kansas; Helma, deceased. 

Olaf Jacob Morgenson was born in Lincoln county, Kansas, January 
21, 1872. He obtained his education in the public schools of Lincoln 
and the normal department of Elkhorn College, Elkhorn, Iowa. Imme- 
diately after graduating he took the State examinations, and in 1895 
secured his State teacher's certificate, and subsequently became assistant 
principal of the Lincoln public schools, after which he taught three years 
in Elkhorn College, Elkhorn, Iowa, and then came to Perth Amboy, 
New Jersey, where for twelve years he had charge of the accounting 
department in Trainer's Business College, and has specialized in this 
particular occupation of accountancy ever since. In July, 1920, Mr. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 53 

Morgenson, together with a number of other representative business 
men of Perth Amboy, founded the Perth Amboy Business College, Mr. 
Morgenson being made advisory principal. In 1916 he was made 
superintendent of the South Amboy Terra Cotta Company, which 
position he held until the factory was closed on account of the war in 
October, 1918, at which time he entered the employ of the Wright- 
Martin Aircraft Corporation in New Brunswick, first in the cost depart- 
ment and later in the auditing department in winding up the affairs 
of the corporation. On January i, 1917, he was appointed comptroller 
and reappointed, January i, 1920. He is a member of the Perth Amboy 
Chamber of Commerce, and in religion is a Lutheran. 

On June 19, 1895, Mr. Morgenson was united in marriage with Laura 
E. Peterson. Mr. and Mrs. Morgenson are the parents of five children : 
Leland, born June 12, 1896, is production manager of the Underground 
Cable Company; Edgar O., born December 12, 1898, is a student of 
electrical engineering at Pratt Institute, class of 1921 ; Wilson L., born 
June 24, 1909; Margaret E., born August 19, 191 1; Donald R., born 
October 27, 1913. 

CHARLES W. SEDAM was born September 10, 1855, at New 
Brunswick, New Jersey, the son of Ryke R. and Anne Elizabeth 
(Cheeseman) Sedam. The family name was formerly spelled Suydam 
and is found in the ancient Holland records. This branch of the family 
began spelling the name Sedam in 1757. Ryke R. Sedam was born in 
New Brunswick, New Jersey, April 5, 1820, and died here April 20. 
1897. He was a building contractor for many years, and in politics was 
a staunch Republican. Mrs. Sedam was born October 5, 1825, and died 
in New Brunswick, May 15, 1890. 

The education of Charles W. Sedam was obtained in the public 
schools of New Brunswick. For twenty-four years he was connected 
with the Pennsylvania Railroad, and since 1894 has been justice of 
the peace in his native place. In politics Mr. Sedam is a Republican, 
keenly alive to his responsibilities as a citizen, and taking an active 
interest in public affairs. In religion he is a Presbyterian and for ten 
years was librarian of the primary department of the First Presbyterian 
Church, of which he is a devout member. 

Mr. Sedam married, February 3, 1880, Amelia M. Hudnut, who was 
born at Princeton, New Jersey, June 26, 1851, the daughter of Alexander 
M. and Sarah (Davis) Hudnut. Mrs. Sedam passed away at New 
Brunswick, New Jersey, February 27, 1920. To Mr. and Mrs. Sedam 
were born five children: Amelia M., born January i, i88i ; Charles W., 
Jr., born December 17, 1881 ; Fannie P., born January 24, 1884, died in 
infancy ; Walter C, a sketch of whom follows ; Frank B., born February 
9, 1890, died in infancy. 

Mr. Sedam's hobby is automobiling. A man of most engaging per- 
sonality, true to his friendships, honest and impeccable in all the relations 
of life, he is highly respected and honored in the community. He is 
of a reserved nature and avoids ostentation in all things, finding happi- 
ness in the essentials. 



54 



MIDDLESEX 



WALTER COOPER SEDAM.— Advancement in any of the learned 
professions is generally the result of individual merit, application and 
skill. When these are combined with ambition and a fixed determination 
to achieve success, the desired result is inevitable. Walter Cooper 
Sedam, although young in years, has achieved this enviable reputation 
in the legal profession and is numbered among the successful attorneys 
of New Brunswick, New Jersey. 

Walter Cooper Sedam was born October 12, 1887, at New Brunswick, 
New Jersey, the son of Charles W. and Amelia M. (Hudnut) Sedam 
(q. v.). He received the elementary portion of his education in the 
public schools of his native place and then entered Rutgers College, 
from which he was graduated in 1909 with the degree of Bachelor of 
Arts. He had in the meantime determined to adopt the law as a pro- 
fession and, accordingly, matriculated at the New York Law School of 
New York City. After completing the prescribed course, he graduated 
with the class of 191 1 and won the degree of Bachelor of Laws, subse- 
quently entering first the office of Judge Peter F. Daly and later becom- 
ing associated with Senator W. E. Florance. On January i, 1914, he 
opened offices at No. 40 Paterson street, in this city, and this has 
remained his headquarters ever since. He has built up an excellent 
practice, and has handled many important cases up to the present time, 
proving himself to be a most efficient and conscientious attorney. 

Besides his legal practice, Mr. Sedam has interested himself in the 
conduct of public affairs in the community, and has become prominent 
in the local organization of the Republican party. In 1913 he was a 
candidate on the Republican ticket for the General Assembly. He is a 
member of the New Jersey State Bar Association, and secretary of the 
Middlesex County Bar Association for the past four years. He frater- 
nizes with the Chi Phi fraternity of Rutgers College and also with the 
Phi Delta Phi legal fraternity of New York. In religion Mr. Sedam is a 
Presbyterian and attends the First church of that denomination at New 
Brunswick. 

On May 9, 1920, Mr. Sedam was united in marriage with Olga 
Dorothea Venino, daughter of Albert and Emily (Schumacher) Venino. 
Mr. Venino now resides in Orange, New Jersey, at the age of eighty- 
three years, and was the first maker of wax used for wax flowers in the 
United States. He was born at Kaiserslautern, in Rhenish Bavaria. 



EDWARD WALDRON HICKS.— In view of the fact that he has 
been thirty years a member of the New Brunswick bar, and during ten 
of those years occupied a seat on the bench of the District Court, Mr. 
Hicks stands in no need of an introduction to his neighbors and fellow- 
citizens. Two years' service in the Legislature, and a year's tenure of the 
office of city attorney, further combine to render him a "man of mark" 
in his community. 

John Hicks, grandfather of Edward Waldron Hicks, was a repre- 
sentative of an old New Brunswick family, and for many years was 
engaged in business as a butcher in his home town. The old Hicks 



BIOGRAPHICAL 55 

homestead was situated on Burnet street, and was owned by Mr. Hicks, 
having been purchased by him from Commodore Vanderbilt. It is 
still in a good state of preservation. 

Joseph Dunn Hicks, son of John Hicks, was born in New Brunswick, 
and during nearly all of his active life was associated with the Norfolk 
& New Brunswick Hosiery Company. He married Christiana Baisler, 
a native of New York State, and they became the parents of three .sons : 
William Kent, who died at the age of sixteen; Frederick S., died in 
infancy ; and Edward Waldron, mentioned below. Mr. Hicks died May 
25, 1919, at the advanced age of eighty-seven, and his widow is still 
living in New Brunswick. 

Edward Waldron Hicks, son of Joseph Dunn and Christiana (Bais- 
ler) Hicks, was born November 19, 1868, in New Brunswick, and at- 
tended the New Brunswick High School, afterward studying law under 
the preceptorship of John S. Voorhees. In February, 1890, he was 
admitted to the bar, and at first practiced alone. Later Mr. Hicks became 
a partner in the firm of Voorhees, Booraem & Hicks, and the association 
was maintained until the organization of the firm of Florance & Hicks. 
This remained unchanged until 1901, when Mr. Hicks was appointed 
judge of the District Court, an office which he retained until 191 1. Judge 
Hicks proved himself admirably fitted for the discharge of the important 
duties devolving upon him, and the manner in which he met his onerous 
responsibilities and solved the legal problems constantly submitted 
to him received the unqualified approval of all fairminded citizens. Since 
his retirement from the bench, Mr. Hicks has practiced alone, having 
his office in the National Bank building. 

As a young man, Mr. Hicks became active in the political life of 
his community, always on the side of the Republicans. In 1895 and 1896 
he represented his party in the Legislature; proving himself a faithful 
advocate and supporter of the rights of his constituents. In 1906 he 
served most impartially and efficiently as city attorney. He is a special 
Master in Chancery and a Supreme Court Commissioner. 

The professional organizations in which Mr. Hicks is enrolled are 
the County and State Bar associations. He belongs to the Sons of 
the American Revolution, affiliates with the Masonic fraternity, and 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He is the president of the 
New Brunswick Council of Boy Scouts of America. If he has a hobby, 
it is the game of golf, and he belongs to the Golf Club and the Boat 
Club. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church. 

During the recent World War, Mr. Hicks served as chairman of the 
executive committee of the first Red Cross drive. He was also a mem- 
ber of the executive committee on the Liberty Loan campaign, and 
the Home Defense League, and served as an assistant to the Legal 
Advisory Board. 

Mr. Hicks married, October 16, 1901, at Metuchen, Helen A. Mallory, 
born in Ohio, daughter of Robert L. and Ida (Baker) Mallory, who 
then lived in Metuchen, Mr. Mallory an agent and notary. Mrs. Mallory 
is now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Hicks are the parents of two sons: 
Douglas Mallory, born July 28, 1902, a student at Rutgers College, class 



S6 MIDDLESEX 

of 1923; and Malcolm Baisler, born December 15, 1903, in same college, 
class of 1924. One child died in infancy. 

Throughout the twenty-five years and upward during which Mr. 
Hicks has helped to make the legal and political history of his county, 
he has shown himself to be a skillful and sagacious practitioner, a just 
and learned judge, and an able and disinterested political leader, a 
man of complex personality, versatile talents and high-minded ambitions. 



CHARLES L. STEUERWALD, a prominent business man of Perth 
Amboy, New Jersey, where he is engaged in the real estate and insur- 
ance lines, and a citizen influential in well nigh every department of the 
community's life, was born in South Amboy, March i, 1879. He is a 
son of Charles and Emma L. (Herzog) Steuerwald, the former a native 
of Germany, born in the year 1852, came to the United States as a boy 
and located in Keyport, New Jersey. Later he removed to South Amboy, 
engaged in the hotel business and met with notable success and from 
which he retired in 1912. He is now living in South Amboy, a highly 
respected citizen. He has been for many years a member of the fish 
and game commission of New Jersey from Middlesex county, and takes 
an active part in public life. The elder Mrs. Steuerwald was born in 
Matawan, New Jersey, and now resides with her husband in South 
Amboy. They are the parents of four children, as follows: A child 
who died in infancy; Ada Henrietta, who became the wife of Christian 
F. Straub, of South Amboy; Charles L., with whom we are here espe- 
cially concerned; Peter A. J., who is employed by the Pennsylvania 
Railroad, and resides in South Amboy. 

The childhood of Charles L. Steuerwald was passed in South Amboy, 
and he has always remained associated with the affairs of that city, 
although his business headquarters are now located in the larger neigh- 
boring community, where he also takes an active part. He attended 
the South Amboy public schools, and upon completing his general edu- 
cation there entered the Coleman Business College in Newark, New 
Jersey, in order to take a commercial course. He graduated from the 
latter institution with the class of 1895, and immediately afterwards 
secured a position with the great wholesale dry goods house of H. B. 
Claflin Company of New York City. He made himself of great value 
to his employers, and rose to the rank of assistant general salesman 
during the time that he continued in their employ. Upon leaving the 
Claflin Company, Mr. Steuerwald went to Peekskill, New York, and 
engaged in a manufacturing enterprise in which he was successful and 
which he carried on for some time, but was compelled to sell out on 
account of poor health. After regaining his health, two years later, 
he accepted the position of superintendent and manager of the Gas 
Company in South Amboy. This position he held until the company 
was sold to the Public Service Corporation in 1910, when he resigned 
and entered business in Perth Amboy. Four years later he established 
himself in his present line, dealing in real estate, insurance and mort- 
gage loans, with offices in the Savings Bank building at No. 208 Smith 



BIOGRAPHICAL 57 

street. His organization was incorporated in the year 1915 under the 
name of Charles L. Steuerwald, Incorporated, with himself as president 
and treasurer. Since that time he has developed a very large and 
remunerative business, which is one of the most important of its kind 
in the city. Mr. Steuerwald is a man of broad-minded, public spirit, and 
has always been a conspicuous figure in the general life of the com- 
munity. He has established the South Amboy Trust Company, of which 
he is vice-president; the Woodbridge National Bank, of which he is a 
stockholder ; the Investors' and Owners' Building and Loan Association 
of South Amboy; and a New Building and Loan Association of Perth 
Amboy, New Jersey. He is a Republican in politics, and though he 
has never sought public office for himself he is always ready to help 
the right man for the right place. He is a member of the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, Young Men's Christian Association, 
Junior Order of United American Mechanics, the Raritan Yacht Club, 
East Jersey Club, and is devoted to many forms of outdoor sports and 
pastimes. At the present time, in connection with others, he is organ- 
izing a golf club in Woodbridge, New Jersey. In religious belief he is 
an Episcopalian and attends Christ Church of that denomination in 
South Amboy. 

Charles L. Steuerwald was united in marriage, February 18, 1903, 
at the Reformed Church Manse (home of Bertha (Booraem) Lockwood, 
sister of Mrs. Charles L. Steuerwald), East Millstone, New Jersey, 
with Ethel Jeane Booraem, of South River, New Jersey, a daughter of 
Jonathan and Margaret Amelia (Barkelew) Booraem, who now reside 
in South Amboy, the former being at the present time (1921) eighty-four 
years of age. 



REV. WILLIAM FREDERICK BARNY.— In the Province of 
Alsace, now restored to France, Rev. William Frederick Barny, for 
fifteen years the beloved pastor of St. Paul's Reformed Church, Mill- 
town, New Jersey, was born November 15, 1862. He was the son of 
Jacob F. and Wilhelmina (Tschopp) Barny. He spent the first nineteen 
years of his life in Alsace, there obtaining a good education. He came 
to the United States, May 11, 1881, and here completed his education 
with graduation from the German Theological Seminary in Bloomfield, 
New Jersey, and on August 16, 1893, was ordained a clergyman of the 
German Reformed church. His first pastorate was at Naumburg, New 
York, and there he served most acceptably. He was called to St. Paul's 
Reformed Church, Milltown, in April, 1905. For almost sixteen years 
he ministered to the spiritual well being of the Milltown church and 
drew close to the hearts of his people. He was an eloquent pulpit orator, 
sound in his theology, and with a heart filled with love for every 
man. He was greatly beloved by his own church and extremely popular 
with the people of Milltown, regardless of sect or creed. His heart was 
in his work and never was there a truer, more loyal soldier of the Cross 
than Rev. William F. Barny, who died in Milltown, December 27, 1920. 
Rev. William F. Barny married, in Ridgefield Park, Bergen county. 
New Jersey, June 28, 1893, Emelie Rech, born July 6, 1870, daughter 



58 MIDDLESEX 

of John and Caroline (Reinheimer) Rech, her parents coming from 
Germany to the United States in 1871. One child was born to Rev. and 
Mrs. Barny, Gertrude, born April 10, 1896, married Walter R. Smith, 
and resides in Milltown. Mr. and Mrs. Smith are the parents of a son, 
Richard, born in Milltown. Mrs. Barny survives her husband and 
resides with her sister, Mrs. Tukey, in Ridgefield Park, New Jersey. 



IRA CONDIT MOORE. — With a long life of usefulness behind him, 
and still actively engaged in daily business,' Ira Condit Moore is one of 
the interesting figures in the business life of Perth Amboy, New Jersey. 

Edward C. Moore, Mr. Moore's father, was a prominent figure in the 
political history of Newton, Sussex county. New Jersey. A merchant 
in Newton, he served as State Senator, and also at different times held 
such offices as committeeman and freeholder. In early life he was 
postmaster for a considerable length of time. He married Catherine 
Price. 

Ira Condit Moore was born August 27, 1852, in Newton, New Jersey. 
He received his early education in the private schools of that town, then 
took a course in the Newton Collegiate Institute. Planning a business 
career, he supplemented this training with a complete course at the 
Eastman Business College, Poughkeepsie, New York. He began his 
business along the same line that he has always followed, that of boots 
and shoes. He has been in different branches of this business, first as 
retail shoe merchant in Newton, later as treasurer of the Sussex Shoe 
Company, Inc., of the same city, manufacturing largely boys' and girls' 
shoes. This factory was also in Newton. At present Mr. Moore is 
president and treasurer of the I. C. Moore Company, Inc. This is one 
of the principal retail boot and shoe stores in Perth Amboy, and was 
established in 1903 by Mr. Moore. 

Outside of his business interests, Mr. Moore has always actively 
participated in the public responsibilities of the town in which he was 
located. He was a member of the Board of Education of Newton for 
seven years prior to his removal to Perth Amboy. He was president of 
the Perth Amboy Board of Trade for one year, and on retiring from that 
office assisted in the organization of the present Chamber of Commerce. 
He is now an honorary member of that body. He is a member of the 
Presbyterian church ; was a trustee of the Newton Presbyterian Church 
and treasurer for several years. When business and public responsi- 
bilities result in the inevitable weariness attendant upon all concentrated 
effort, Mr. Moore finds delight and recreation in fishing. 

Mr. Moore married (first) September 11, 1879, '" Newton, New 
Jersey, Kittie D. Shepherd, daughter of Levi and Nancy (Decker) Shep- 
herd, who died October 19, 1898. By her he had six children : Helen, 
Frank Shepherd, Catherine Price, Ethel Winfred, now deceased; Ira 
Condit, and Florence. Mr. Moore married (second) Alice C. Henderson, 
daughter of James and Belle (Duryea) Henderson, who died in Febru- 
ary, 191 1. 




^!^c^ 



"tict^ 




BIOGRAPHICAL 59 

HARRY W. WEIDA, vice-president and manager of the India Rub- 
ber Company of New Brunswick, has since the inception of his business 
career, been identified with the rubber industry, and since coming to 
this community in 1914 has become conspicuously identified with the 
development of the most vital interests of New Brunswick. 

Harry W. Weida was born at Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, December 
23. 1880, the son of Francis and Marietta (Walb) Weida. After finishing 
his studies in the grammar school of his native place, he spent two years 
in a business college and then went to Akron, Ohio, where for three 
years he was employed by the American Hard Rubber Company, sub- 
sequently working successively for the next seventeen years for the 
following concerns : The B. F. Goodrich Company, Akron, Ohio ; Amer- 
ican Hard Rubber Company; Diamond Rubber Company; B. F. Good- 
rich Rubber Company, as manager of the hard rubber department, and 
at the end of two years he came to New Brunswick, New Jersey, and 
accepted his present position as vice-president and manager of the India 
Rubber Company, manufacturers of hard rubber goods, this organization 
being a subsidiary of the United States Rubber Company. He has bent 
his energies to administrative direction and executive control, and under 
his guidance the business has rapidly developed along substantial lines, 
constituting an important element in the commercial activity of New 
Brunswick. 

Mr. Weida began his public career as a member of the Borough 
Council of Highland Park, New Jersey, and in 1920 was elected president 
of this body. He is well known in Masonic circles, and is a member 
of Palestine Lodge, No. iii, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons; Scott 
Chapter, No. 4, Royal Arch Masons; Scott Council, No. i, Royal and 
Select Masters; Temple Commandery, No. 18, Knights Templar; and 
Salaam Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. His clubs are the Old 
Colony of New York City, and the Union, Country and Craftsmen's of 
New Brunswick. His religious affiliation was with the Evangelical 
church of Akron, Ohio, during his residence there, but on his arrival in 
New Brunswick he became an attendant of the Reformed church of 
Highland Park. 

Harry W. Weida married, December 3, 1903, Lydia Ellen Yockey, 
daughter of Phillip and Amanda (Bittner) Yockey, of Akron, Ohio. Mr. 
and Mrs. Weida are the parents of two children : Francis, born September 
17, 1904, deceased; Elizabeth M., born May 21, 1909. 



ADRIAN LYON, of Perth Amboy, lawyer, was born in the village 
of Pluckemin, Somerset county. New Jersey, July 25, 1869, a son of 
William L. and Ursula (Sebring) Lyon. The name of Henry Lyon, one 
of his direct forbears, was the eighth on the agreement of the New 
Milford settlers of June 16, 1667, on which Robert Treat was the first, 
and he was the first treasurer of the town of Newark. 

Adrian Lyon was educated in the public schools, and qualified for the 
practice of law in the New York Law School, graduating from there in 
1894 with the degree of LL. B. He was admitted to the New Jersey 



6o MIDDLESEX 

bar in 1892, made a counsellor in 1895, and opened an office in Perth 
Amboy. Mr. Lyon's public activities are almost coincident with his 
professional work. He was superintendent of the schools in Perth 
Amboy in 1894-95, and in the latter named year became city attorney. 
He served in the New Jersey House of Assembly, sessions of 1900-01. 
In the latter named year Governor Voorhees appointed him judge of the 
local District Court, and in 1909 he was appointed by Governor Fort 
law judge of Middlesex county to fill the unexpired term of Theodore 
B. Booraem. Since January, 1913, he has served as referee in bank- 
ruptcy for the District of Middlesex county. He has one of the most 
extensive law and private libraries in the county. Since 1899 he has 
ueen president of the Perth Amboy Savings Institution; since 1893 
registrar, and a member of the Board of East Jersey Proprietors. 

Mr. Lyon has been closely identified with the Progressive movement 
of recent years in the National Republican party. The political contro- 
versies of the day made him a delegate from the Third Congressional 
District to the National Republican Convention in Chicago that renomi- 
nated President Taft, and to the National Progressive Convention, held 
two months later, in Chicago also, that put Theodore Roosevelt in 
nomination against him. Retaining his alliance with the Progressive 
party, he was a delegate also to the National Progressive Convention 
of 1916. He has also been conspicuous in Young Men's Christian Asso- 
ciation circles ; he served as president of the State Young Men's Christian 
Association; he was largely instrumental in the founding, and became 
the first president of the Perth Amboy Young Men's Christian Associa- 
tion. Mr. Lyon is a member and vice-president of the New Jersey 
State Society of the Sons of the American Revolution, admitted because 
his great-great-grandfather, on his father's mother's side. Captain James 
Hill, was of the Sussex county militia in that struggle. He was president 
of the New Jersey Bankers' Association in 1910. He is a member of the 
Masonic order, affiliating with lodge, chapter, commandery, and Salaam 
Temple, Mystic Shrine. He is also a member of the East Jersey Club 
and Raritan Yacht Club of Perth Amboy. For over twenty years Judge 
Lyon has been an elder in the First Presbyterian Church in Perth Amboy. 

Judge Lyon married, in Athenia, New Jersey, May 8, 1895, Cornelia 
Post, daughter of John C. and Catherine E. Post, of Athenia. Child, 
Howard S., born 1896. 



JAY B. FRANKE. — Exacting responsibility requiring the greatest 
skill is that share in the civic welfare which falls to the lot of Jay B. 
Franke. 

The Franke family is of German origin, but this branch of the family 
has been in America for a great many years, Mr. Franke's great-grand- 
father having been born in Perth Amboy, New Jersey. Mr. Franke's 
father, Ludlow G. Franke, was born in New York City, and lived there 
the greater part of his life. He was a boss painter, and followed that 
trade as long as he lived. He married Adelia G. Ford, who was born 
in Perth Amboy, and survives him, living now in the city of her birth. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 6i 

They were the parents of two .children : Jay B., whose name appears at 
the head of this sketch, and Sue G., who is a teacher in the public schools 
of Perth Amboy. Mr. Franke died in Perth Amboy in 1900. 

Jay B. Franke was born in Perth Amboy, August 21, 1886. There 
he received his education in the excellent public schools, acquiring a 
thorough grounding in all the practical branches. At the age of fifteen 
years he entered the employ of the American Smelting and Refining 
Company, working in their electrical department. He remained in their 
employ for four years, during which time he mastered the intricate 
details of electrical construction. After that he constructed two electric 
lighting plants in Monmouth county. New Jersey, of which he subse- 
quently had charge for two years. Returning to Perth Amboy, he was 
appointed by the Board of Aldermen of that city to his present position 
in September, 191 1. This comprises the work of city electrician and the 
superintendency of the Municipal Electric Lighting plant. 

Mr. Frank has a host of friends in this city, and is connected with 
various social organizations. He is a member of the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks, the Raritan Yacht Club, the local Fire Depart- 
ment, a charter member of the Electrical Workers' Union, and is a 
member of the International Association of Municipal Electricians. He 
is an active, genial man, and takes his relaxation in motoring. 

Mr. Franke married, January 7, 1909, in Englishtown, New Jersey, 
Essie Hyers Moore, daughter of John C. and Mary (Hankinson) Moore. 
She was born in Lakewood, New Jersey. Her father died in Freehold, 
New Jersey, in 1918; and her mother is now a resident of Freehold. 



JOHN WYCKOFF METTLER.— Although never a resident of 
Middlesex county, John Wyckoff Mettler has been associated with New 
Brunswick through his school and college days and through the position 
which he now holds as head of the Interwoven Stocking Company. 

The Mettler family came to this country with the early settlers from 
Holland, in 1685, and through marriage the members of this family are 
allied with the Wyckolif and Howell families, the Wyckoffs coming 
from Holland in 1632, the same year that the Howells arrived from 
Wales and settled in Southampton, Long Island. Mr. Mettler is the son 
of William E. Mettler, lumber merchant of New Brunswick, and grand- 
son of Enoch Mettler, who was for many years a prominent grain 
merchant in New York City — an early member of the Produce Exchange 
of that city. His mother, Gertrude Van Pelt (Howell) Mettler, is a 
daughter of Lewis T. Howell, who was born in Middlesex county. New 
Jersey, in 1820, and who died in 1900, and who was for many years one 
of the leading manufacturers of New Brunswick, and later, for twenty 
years, president of the National Bank of New Jersey. Lewis T. Howell 
married Joanna M. Wyckofif, only child of John Van Cleef Wyckoflf, a 
descendant of one of the early Dutch settlers of the Wyckoff family at 
East Millstone, New Jersey, where the family has resided since 1689 
upon the same property which is now the summer home of our subject. 
Mr. and Mrs. Howell had another daughter, Sarah Tittsworth Howell. 



62 MIDDLESEX 

Mr. Mettler graduated from Rutgers Preparatory School in 1895, 
from Rutgers College in 1899, and from the New York Law School in 
1901, and in the same year he was admitted to the New York bar, where 
he practiced law for two years. In 1903 he entered the manufacturing 
business as treasurer of the Kilbourn Knitting Machine Company of 
New Brunswick, New Jersey, and two years later — in 1905 — organized 
the Interwoven Stocking Company, which has since become an industry 
of considerable size and international standing as manufacturers of 
interwoven hosiery. He is a director in the Interwoven Stocking Com- 
pany, the Interwoven Mills, Inc., the Tubize Artificial Silk Company of 
America, the National Bank of New Jersey, and other corporations, and 
is a trustee of Rutgers College. He is a member of the Delta Phi fra- 
ternity of Rutgers College, the University Club and the Riding Club 
of New York City, the Union Club and. Country Club of New Brunswick, 
New Jersey; a member of the Reformed Dutch Church of East Mill- 
stone, New Jersey. He lives at No. 205 West Fifty-seventh street. New 
York City, and at East Millstone, New Jersey. 

On June 5, 1909, Mr. Mettler was married in New York City to 
Helen Fleischmann, of that city, and has two children — a daughter, 
Helen, born September 5, 1910, and a son, John Wyckoff, Jr., born March 
20, 191 5. 

Mr. Mettler is interested in collecting works of art and has a notable 
collection of early English, Italian and American furniture. 



THOMAS HOLCOMBE METTLER, son of William E. and Ger- 
trude Van Pelt (Howell) Mettler, and brother of John W. Mettler, was 
born in East Millstone, New Jersey, March 29, 1886. He attended pri- 
vate schools of Millstone and Rutgers Preparatory School, finishing in 
1904. He then entered Princeton University, receiving his A. B., class 
of 1908. Deciding upon a legal profession, he prepared at the New 
York Law School, whence he was graduated LL. B., class of 191 1. He 
was admitted to the bar the same year, and at once began the practice 
of his profession in the city of Newark, New Jersey, continuing for two 
years. In 1913 he was admitted to the New York State bar, where he 
practiced until 191;', when he withdrew from law practice and entered 
the hosiery business, forming a connection with the Interwoven Stocking 
Company, of New Brunswick, of which he is a director, and is connected 
with the sales department. 

Mr. Mettler, during the period of war between the United States and 
Germany, 1917-18, was food administrator for Middlesex county, and 
while his service in that field was particularly valuable, he was helpful 
in other ways in supporting his country's cause. He is a member of 
the Reformed church of East Millstone, the New Jersey State Bar Asso- 
ciation, the New York Bar Association, the Princeton Club of New York 
City, the Princeton Campus Club, the Holstein-Friesian Association of 
America, member and treasurer of the Holstein-Friesian Cooperative 
Association of New Jersey, and president of the New Brunswick branch 
of the Dairymen's League. Mr. Mettler is unmarried, and resides with 




^^^ "0 Q^.v.A«\$iiLoJ^-«tJO-ULJL_) 



BIOGRAPHICAL 63 

his mother at the East Millstone farm, which he manages. His special 
farm interest is in the breeding of pure-blood cattle, his choice for the 
dairy farm the Holstein breed. 



MAJOR HAROLD VAN BLARCOM, for so young a man, has 
lived a most useful life, with enough adventure and change of scene in 
it to make it far from dull; now he is well established in a congenial 
profession, that of doctor of dental surgery, with offices at No. 419 
George street, New Brunswick, where he has a rapidly growing 
patronage. 

Harold Van Blarcom is the son of Cornelius Henry Van Blarcom, 
who was born in Paterson, New Jersey, in 1845, his death occurring in 
Montgomery, New York, in October, 1908, at the age of sixty-three. In 
his youth, he was a manufacturer in Paterson, New Jersey, and Middle- 
town, New York, but after he was fifty years of age he studied law and 
passed the bar in both New Jersey and New York, being licensed to 
practice in both states, and maintaining an office in Paterson up to 
the time of his death. His wife was Fanny Josephine Ward, a native 
of Montgomery and for many years a resident there. She now lives in 
Paterson. There were five children in the Van Blarcom family: i. 
Katherine, deceased. 2. Wessels, living in Paterson, and cashier of the 
Second National Bank there. 3. Frederick W., a prominent lawyer of 
Paterson and well known as a politician. 4. Mary, the: wife of Henry 
Bonner, of Detroit, Michigan; he is superintendent of the Ford service 
stations of the United States. 5. Harold, of whom further. 

Though born in Montgomery, New York, October 17, 1887, Harold 
Van Blarcom spent his boyhood in Paterson, New Jersey, his family 
going there to reside shortly after his birth. He attended the Paterson 
grammar school and later the high school, graduating from the former 
in 1903, and, after a four years' course, from the latter school in June, 
1907. He immediately became enrolled as a student at the Philadelphia 
Dental College, from which institution he graduated in 1910. The next 
twQ years of his life were spent in Clovis, New Mexico, where he prac- 
ticed his profession, but he returned East in 1912 and locating in South 
River, New Jersey, opened an office there. During Dr. Van Blarcom's 
residence in South River, he took an active part in the affairs of the 
town, being a member of the Board of Health, and a candidate on the 
Republican ticket for the office of councilman. 

At this time, 1917, the United States became involved in the World 
War and Dr. Van Blarcom immediately joined the service. His war 
record is one of which any man may well be proud, for he not only saw 
active service in France, but carries the marks of shrapnel wounds at the 
present time. Dr. Van Blarcom received a commission as first lieutenant 
in June, 1917, during his stay at Camp McClellan, Anniston, Alabama, 
with the 29th Division. Lieutenant Van Blarcom was sent to France, 
taking part in the first Argonne battle, being gassed at this time. At 
the second Argonne battle he received two schrapnel wounds, one in 
the side and another in the leg. After spending six months in France, 



64 MIDDLESEX 

he was returned to the United States in December, 1919, and was sent 
to the United States General Hospital No. 9, at Lakewood, New Jersey, 
where he remained for six months longer. In June, 1918, Lieutenant 
Van Blarcom was promoted to the rank of captain, and in October, 
1919, he received his commission as major. 

Major Van Blarcom is a member of the Society of American Officers 
of the Great War, and also of the American Legion. In addition to 
these he is greatly interested in the work of the Young Men's Christian 
Association, being a member of and a constant worker in that body, 
and also is a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
and the Junior Order of United American Mechanics. He is an attendant 
of the Second Reformed Church of New Brunswick. In Masonry he is 
a member of Union Lodge, No. 19, Free and Accepted Masons. He is a 
member of the National, State and County Dental associations. 

At South River, August 18, 1917, Harold Van Blarcom married 
E. Viola Price, a resident of that place, and she also was born there. 
Her parents are both dead. There are no children of this marriage. 
They reside at No. 261 Powers street, New Brunswick. 

Several centuries ago the Van Blarcom family had its origin in 
Holland, the town where they lived being called Blarkom. In 1620 five 
brothers of that name left the paternal roof and set sail for America. 
After many months and numerous perils they landed at a spot where 
now stands the city of Hoboken ; so was founded by them and several 
other Holland emigrants the Dutch settlement that for. years existed in 
that part of New Jersey, and the names of many of the leading citizens 
are distinctly Dutch to this day, Bergen county being their stronghold. 
As late as the middle of the last century the quaint Dutch customs were 
observed by many of the descendants of these settlers. 



JOHN STROUD TURNER, having arrived at the age of manhood 
in his native land, came to the United States in 1881 hoping to find a 
broader industrial field. Seventeen years later he established the J. S. 
Turner White Metal Company in New Brunswick, of which he is the 
head. 

Born in Liverpool, England, November 18, 1859, John Stroud Turner 
was the son of Henry and Ann (Stroud) Turner, both of whom were 
born and died in Liverpool. Henry Turner was a foundryman there, 
following that trade until his death which occurred in 1895. He and 
his wife had seven children, all of whom are now deceased except one 
son, John Stroud Turner. 

Attending the public schools of Liverpool until he was fourteen 
years old, and Liverpool Institute, John Stroud Turner became an 
apprentice in the foundry business, continuing as such for seven years, 
remaining in the same line after he had learned the trade. He then 
came to this country, arriving here May 24, 1881, locating for a short 
time in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, where he worked at his trade. Then 
Mr. Turner went to Brooklyn, New York, and entered the employ of 
William Taylor, remaining only a short time, then went to New Bruns- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 65 

wick in April, 1882, to take a position in the Consolidated Fruit Jar 
Company, where he remained for sixteen years, fourteen of which he 
served as foreman. At that time Mr. Turner went into the manufacturing 
business in his own name, founding the J. S. Turner White Metal 
Company for the manufacture of collapsible tubes and white metal 
goods. The plant is located at Nos. 220-222 Raritan avenue in the High- 
land Park section of New Brunswick. In 1916 it became an incorporated 
concern, and now their products are shipped abroad in addition to 
finding a market in this country. 

Mr. Turner is a member of the Board of Trade of New Brunswick; 
the New Jersey State Board of Trade ; the Young Men's Christian Asso- 
ciation, in which he is greatly interested; Palestine Lodge, No. iii. Free 
and Accepted Masons ; Scott Chapter, No. 4, Royal Arch Masons ; 
Highland Park Building and Loan Company, of which he is vice-presi- 
dent; the New Brunswick Boat Club, Craftsmen's Club, Old Colony 
Club of New York City, and is a communicant and vestryman of Christ 
Protestant Episcopal Church, New Brunswick. 

In October, 1884, John Stroud Turner was united in marriage with 
Sarah Jane Myers in New Brunswick, that being also her birthplace. 
She is the daughter of C. P. and Jane (Stewart) Myers, residenis of 
New Brunswick, where they were also born and where they died. Mr. 
and Mrs. Turner have four children, all living, namely: i. Henry 
James, residing in Camden, New Jersey; married Ethel M. Lott, of 
Philadelphia; one child, Ethel May. 2. George S., resides at No. 334 
South Third avenue. New Brunswick; married Miss S. B. Austin, and 
they have two children, Ruth and George E. 3. Helen, wife of Henry 
L. Van Mater; they reside at No. 216 South Third avenue. New Bruns- 
wick ; one child, John S. 4. John E. The family residence is at No. 218 
Raritan avenue. Highland Park. 



RUSSELL ELLSWORTH WATSON.— The name we have just 
written will receive, as that of one of the well known members of the 
New Brunswick bar, instant recognition from a majority of his fellow- 
citizens. During the recent conflict of nations, Mr. Watson was at 
the front in war activities, and in the club circles of his home citv he is 
a prominent figure. 

Frank Ellsworth Watson, father of Russell Ellsworth Watson, was 
born in Detroit, Michigan, and is now a resident of New Brunswick, 
and a manufacturer of wallpaper colors and oil paints. He married Sarah 
Elizabeth Painter, born at Glen Gardner, New Jersey, and they are the 
parents of the following children : Russell Ellsworth, mentioned below ; 
Parker L. ; Franklin Lamar, whose biography follows in this work ; and 
A. Dudley, also represented in this work by a biography following. All 
these, with the exception of Parker L., are residents of New Brunswick. 

Russell Ellsworth Watson, son of Frank Ellsworth and Sarah Eliza- 
beth (Painter) Watson, was born October 8, 1885, in New Brunswick, 
and in 1902 graduated from the New Brunswick High School. The same 
year he entered Rutgers College, remaining until 1905. He was fitted 

Mid-5 



66 MIDDLESEX 

for his profession at the New York Law School, receiving, in 1907, the 
degree of Bachelor of Laws. In February, 1909, he was admitted to the 
New Jersey bar as attorney, and in 1912 was admitted as counsellor. 

In entering upon the practice of his profession, Mr. Watson was 
associated with Theodore B. Booraem, the connection remaining un- 
broken until 1912, when it was dissolved by Mr. Booraem's death. Mr. 
Watson then practiced alone, having his offices at Nos. 41-43 Paterson 
street, until September, 1920, when R. E. and A. D, Watson formed a 
partnership, practicing under that heading. Mr. Watson has proved 
himself possessed of the qualifications requisite for success .at the bar, 
his record showing, with the lapse of every year, additional evidence 
of this incontrovertible fact. 

In the political life of his community Mr. Watson has, for many 
years, borne an active part. From 1908 to 191 1 he served as probation 
officer of Middlesex county, and from 191 1 to 1912 he was assistant 
prosecutor for the county. In 1916 his fellow-citizens of Highland 
Park summoned him to serve them in the highest municipal office in 
their gift, retaining him in it, by reelection, until 1920. During the recent 
World War Mr. Watson was patriotically active, serving as fuel admin- 
istrator for both Middlesex and Somerset counties. He is a director 
of the Building and Loan Association. 

The fraternal connections of Mr. Watson include affiliation with 
the Masonic order, being a member of Palestine Lodge, No. iii. Free 
and Accepted Masons; Scott Chapter, No. 4, Royal Arch Masons; and 
Salaam Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. 
He is also a member of the Junior Order of United American Mechanics, 
and the Chi Psi fraternity. He belongs to the Union Club, the East 
Jersey Club of Perth Amboy, and the New Brunswick Country Club. 
He and his family are members of the First Reformed Church. 

Mr. Watson married, March 24, 1909, in Newark, New Jersey, Beulah 
Fraleigh Fingarr, daughter of Montgomery and Helena (Fraleigh) 
Fingarr. Mr. Fingarr served in the Civil War, and his death, which 
occurred in 1883, was the result of injuries received while in service. 
His widow now resides with her daughter and son-in-law. Mr. and 
Mrs. Watson are the parents of the following children: Russell Ells- 
worth, Jr., born September 2, 191 1; Malcolm D., born September 11, 
1913; Jean, born August 9, 1916; and Sarah Elizabeth, born December 
28, 1917. 

By his own unaided efforts, Mr. Watson has achieved marked pro- 
fessional success, and his fellow-citizens have paid him the tribute of 
calling him to serve them in offices of exceptional responsibility. Every- 
thing indicates that the future holds for him greater advancement in. 
his work and a summons to larger and more complicated trusts. 



FRANKLIN LAMAR WATSON.— Among the younger business 
men of New Brunswick, always remarkable for enterprise and aggres- 
siveness, no one could fail to number Mr. Watson, who is now associated 
with the Packard Motor Car Company, one of the best known concem.s 



BIOGRAPHICAL 67 

of its kind to be found in the United States. Mr, Watson has an hon- 
orable record of military service in the recent World War, and is well 
known in the social circles of New Brunswick no less than in the sphere 
of her business activities. 

Franklin Lamar Watson was born November 22, 1891, in New 
Brunswick, and is a son of Frank Ellsworth and Sarah Elizabeth 
(Painter) Watson (q. v.), and a brother of Russell Ellsworth and A. 
Dudley Watson (q. v.). The early education of Franklin Lamar Wat- 
son was received in the public schools of his native city, whence he 
passed to the New Brunswick High School, graduating from that insti- 
tution with the class of 1909. 

Becoming one of the official stenographers of the Essex county 
courts, Mr. Watson held that position until June, 1917, when he resigned, 
having been among the first to respond to the call for volunteers issued 
upon the entrance of the United States into the greatest war in history. 
In May, 1917, Mr. Watson enlisted as sergeant, first-class, in the Quar- 
termasters' Reserve Corps of the army, and in December, 1917, was 
transferred to the air service. After graduating from the School of 
Military Aeronautics at Texas University, he took training in flying 
at Park Field, Tennessee. He was afterward commissioned second 
lieutenant and appointed assistant post adjutant and assistant judge 
advocate. In March, 1919, he was discharged. On returning to New 
Brunswick, Mr. Watson associated himself with the Packard Motor 
Car Company, securing a position in the passenger transportation depart- 
ment. 

The clubs in which Mr. Watson holds membership are the Union 
Club of New Brunswick, the Aero Club of America, and the Air Service 
Clubs Association. He affiliates with the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks. Franklin Lamar Watson has proved his metal, both 
as soldier and business man, for in both capacities he has rendered 
faithful and valuable service. 



ASHER DUDLEY WATSON.— Despite the fact that less than 
four years have elapsed since his admission to the bar, Mr. Watson's 
name, as a member of the profession, has already become favorably famil- 
iar to a large number of his fellow-citizens of New Brunswick. It is also 
familiar as that of one of those who during the late war rendered military 
service in France. 

Asher Dudley Watson was born December 6, 1893, in New Bruns- 
wick, and is a son of Frank Ellsworth and Sarah Elizabeth (Painter) 
Watson (q. v.), and a brother of Russell Ellsworth and Franklin Lamar 
Watson (q. v.). In 191 1 Asher Dudley Watson graduated from the 
New Brunswick High School, and in 1915 he received his degree from 
Rutgers College. His legal studies were pursued under the guidance of 
his brother, Russell Ellsworth Watson, and he also attended the New 
York Law School. In January, 1917, he was admitted to the bar. 

Entering upon the practice of his profession in association with his 
brother, Russell Ellsworth Watson, the young lawyer began his career 



68 MIDDLESEX 

under the most favorable auspices, but, almost at its inception, it suf- 
fered an interruption. The United States, taking her place among the 
contending nations, called her loyal sons to take up arms in her behalf, 
and among the first to respond was Asher Dudley Watson. Entering 
the service in September, 1917, as a member of Headquarters Company, 
311th Infantry, 78th Division, he arrived in France, June i, 1918. On 
May 10, 1919, he left, having participated in the battles of St. Mihiel 
offensive and the Meuse-Argonne offensive. On May 30, 1919, he was 
honorably discharged. 

In politics Mr. Watson is a Republican, and he is a member of the 
County Bar Association, and Rutgers Alumni Association. His religious 
membership is in the First Reformed Church. 

Since his return from overseas, Mr. Watson has resumed the prac- 
tice of his profession and is now steadily engaged in building up a repu- 
tation on the sure foundation of ability, knowledge and devotion to 
duty. In June, 1920, he was made a counsellor, and in the fall of 192(7. 
he and his brother, Russell Ellsworth, formed the legal partnership of 
R. E. & A. D. Watson, counsellors at law, with offices at Nos. 41-43 
Paterson street. 



HENRY WILLIAM SCHRIMPF.— This is the name of a man who 
is not only one of the best known citizens of Perth Amboy, but who has 
built up for himself a reputation far exceeding the limits of his own 
community. It is needless to say that Mr. Schrimpf is the founder of 
the firm of H. W. Schrimpf & Company, engineers, or that he is one 
of the most respected and popular men within the boundaries of the 
community. 

Adam Schrimpf, father of Henry W. Schrimpf, was born in Germany, 
came to this country when a lad, and located in Newark, New Jersey. 
He was a farmer and later became a wine merchant, and died at the 
age of fifty-nine years. He married Mary Bensman, and they were the 
parents of six children: Carrie, wife of Fred Buclhart, of Newark; 
Henry William, mentioned below; Adam, of Perth Amboy, a foreman 
for his brother Henry W. ; Emma, died in infancy ; Emma, wife of Fred 
Geisicker, of Newark, New Jersey ; John, died at the age of five years. 

Henry William Schrimpf was born in Newark, New Jersey, February ' 
3, 1876. His education was begun in the primary department of the 
school adjacent to his home, whence he passed successively to the 
grammar and high schools, terminating his studies at the age of sixteen, 
when he began an apprenticeship to the carpenter's trade, subsequently 
becoming foreman of a building concern there, and later accepting the 
position of foreman of Goller Iron Works, and then being made super- 
intendent of iron construction. In 1909 he came to Perth Amboy and 
established himself in his present business with office and works on 
Lewis street and Second street. Mr. Schrimpf gives the works and 
workmen his personal supervision, and in addition is gifted with 
extraordinary business ability and skill in the management of affairs. 
Among the many contracts for the erection of structural steel work may 




/^V^>*^'''^^^<::2^-^0-^.i»-^-t^^^^ 



BIOGRAPHICAL 69 

be mentioned: The entire steel construction of Greek Catholic church; 
several large factory buildings for Raritan Copper Works; Standard 
Underground Cable Works; Cheeseborough Manufacturing Company; 
R. & H. Chemical Company; also erected the Convery Place Bridge 
and also several bridges for the State, the last being one of the most 
important contracts taken by him. 

An independent in politics, Mr. Schrimpf votes for the man, regard- 
less of party label. He affiliates with Americus Lodge, No. 83, Free and 
Accepted Masons ; Royal Arch Masons, Chapter No. 41 ; the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, Lodge No. 784; and with the Woodmen 
of the World. He is also a member of H. J. Michaels' Pleasure Club, 
Raritan Yacht Club, and the Young Men's Christian Association. In 
religion he is a Presbyterian. 

On May 14, 1899, Henry William Schrimpf was united in marriage 
with Josephine Miller, a daughter of the late Charles and Josephine 
Miller, old residents of Newark. Mr. and Mrs. Schrimpf are the parents 
of four children : Herbert Charles, associated with his father in business ; 
Charles Adam, deceased ; Elsie ; Henry William, Jr. 

The business life of Mr. Schrimpf is one of rugged honesty, and intol- 
erance of shams and makeshifts are among his marked characteristics. 
His innate love of justice and fair dealing have won for him the con- 
fidence and esteem of his associates, and of all with whom he has business 
relations, while by those under his charge he is regarded not only as a 
just and honorable man, but as a personal friend and counsellor. 



ARMAND PIERE DAIRE, at seventy-three years of age, senior 
member of the firm of Daire & Son, No. 20 Bayard street, New Bruns- 
wick, continues active in carriage building, a business with which he 
has been identified in various capacities for the greater part of his life. 
Mr. Daire's life history from boyhood reads like a romance, and from an 
interesting autobiography prepared by him at the urgent requests of 
his family the following facts are taken, though in the transposition the 
intimate personal touch which gives it much of its charm is of necessity 
lost. Beginning with his boyhood in the old New Orleans of before the 
war, carrying through his runaway enlistment in the Union army during 
the Civil War and his army campaigning, depicting his connection with 
the stage and the French theatre in the United States and the provinces, 
outlining his business vicissitudes and successes, and concluding with 
a tribute of appreciation to a dutiful and loving family, it is an absorbing 
narrative, a document which his family will treasure beyond price as 
the years pass. 

Mr. Daire's father, a young lawyer at the time of his marriage, was 
of Spanish-French descent, his parents small plantation owners of 
Baton Rouge, Louisiana. He went to California two years after the 
birth of his son, joining the gold rush of 1849, accumulated a competence 
in his profession and in buying and selling of claims, and met his death 
in the loss of the vessel in which he was making the homeward voyage, 
the "Belle Assise." 



70 MIDDLESEX 

His mother, a native of France, Alexandrine Rose Maison, was the 
daughter of a Napoleonic soldier who was later given the position of 
customs' collector at the Octroi gate of Paris. She was reared by her 
grandparents, gardeners in the nursery of the king during the reign of 
Louis Philip, and was educated in a Sisters' school, graduating when 
fifteen or sixteen years of age, and then completing a two years' course 
in the Conservatory of Music of Paris, where her contralto voice of 
magnificent strength and tone was trained. She entered an opera troupe, 
playing in the provinces of France, and soon afterward was married 
to an actor named Eshevelle, to whom she bore a daughter, Mary. 
The husband and father died in about a year, and the mother continued 
her musical career in France and the United States. Her second mar- 
riage was her last. Armand Piere Daire was born of this marriage, 
and after Mr. Daire's death in shipwreck Mrs. Daire remained on the 
stage until the strain of her profession became too great for her advanc- 
ing years, when she retired, teaching French during her last years. 

Armand Piere Daire was born in New Orleans, Louisiana, April 17, 
1847. His mother's musical engagements made a permanent home an 
impossibility, and he was placed in the care of a Madam Petite, he and 
his sister later entering the home of his godmother, Madame Alfred, 
four or five years being spent between the two places. The mother 
accepting an engagement with the Italian Opera Company of New York, 
the little family made the journey up the Mississippi river, the children 
being left with a family named Sage, old friends, in Cincinnati, Ohio. 
Mr. Sage took Armand P. and his sister Mary on the road in an unsuc- 
cessful juvenile dramatic company, after which they joined'their mother 
in New York. Subsequently, Armand P. Daire was apprenticed to learn 
to make samples for wallpaper and carpets in New York, then to a 
hatter in Philadelphia, later entering the Five Points House of Industry. 
After a trip to Cuba with his mother's opera company, he was for a time 
a student in a school maintained by a French couple, Mr. and Mrs. 
Racheski, and then became indentured to Walter Piotrowski, who had 
recently married his sister Mary, in the carriage painting trade. His 
brother-in-law and his sister were always his true and loyal friends, 
never failing to offer assistance when needed, ever quick with sympathy 
and understanding. Work in the printing office of a French newspaper, 
a tour with an opera company in which he played small parts through 
the French West Indies, and another period in the employ of Walter 
Piotrowski followed. The Civil War had been in progress a year and 
Mr. Daire had made two unsuccessful efforts to enlist, when, without 
informing his sister and her husband of his intention, he presented 
himself as of the required age and enlisted under the name of Eugene 
Dupont, August 11, 1862, as a private in Company H, 145th Regiment, 
New York Volunteer Infantry. An act of Congress legalizing this 
action, which was resorted to by so many patriotic youths unable to 
obtain parental consent to enlistment, causes him to be entered in the 
records of the War Department as "Armand P. Daire, alias Eugene 
Dupont, 145th and 123rd United States Volunteers." The 145th was sent 
to Washington, then crossed to Virginia, where it was attached to the 



BIOGRAPHICAL 71 

1st Brigade, ist Division, 12th Army Corps, commanded by General 
Slocum. He was in much of the important action of the war, partici- 
pating in the battles of Chancellorsville, Gettysburg, Lookout Mountain, 
Missionary Ridge, Resaca, Dallas' Gap, Kenesaw Mountain, Peach Tree 
Creek, the siege of Atlanta, afterward marching with Sherman to the 
sea, in the siege of Savannah. After the three days' fighting at Gettys- 
burg the 145th Regiment was so decimated that General Slocum ordered 
its consolidation with the other New York regiments. Mr. Daire's com- 
pany was joined with Company H, 123rd Regiment, and he was honor- 
ably discharged from the service as a member of that unit in June, 1865. 

After leaving the army he made his home for a time with his sister 
Mary, and, realizing his lack of English education, although he was 
better versed in French, he took a short course in Payne's Writing 
Academy on the Bowery, studying penmanship, spelling, and arithmetic. 
He afterward returned to the stage for a time, playing in eastern cities 
and in Canada, working between theatrical seasons with his brother- 
in-law at the painting trade and always finding work and welcome there 
when a theatrical venture had failed. Finally he decided to give up 
his histrionic ambitions and to sever his connections with the theatre, 
and made arrangements with his brother-in-law to learn every depart- 
ment of the carriage painting trade, a course to which he adhered so 
closely that he became a finished and expert mechanic. He gained addi- 
tional experience in several other New York shops and then purchased a 
carnage painting business in Newton, Sussex county, New Jersey. He 
married while living in Newton. The panic of 1873 wrecked his business 
and brought him into financial difficulties, from which, in the course of 
time, he extricated himself. He followed his trade in New York City, 
Newark, New Jersey, New Haven, Connecticut, Trenton, New Jersey, 
St. Louis, Missouri, finally locating in New Brunswick, New Jersey, 
his present home. 

For several years Mr. Daire had contributed articles on technical 
subjects to "The Hub," a trade journal devoted to the interests of the 
carriage building business, and had been well paid for his writings. 
He had gained a wide reputation and acquaintance in the trade through 
this work, and the many offers of positions tendered, combined with his 
own independence and strong sense of right, explain his numerous busi- 
ness changes. He traveled for a time through New Jersey, New York, 
and Pennsylvania, as the representative of "The Hub," and then for five 
or six years was on the road for the Valentine Varnish Company and 
other leading varnish manufacturing concerns. 

In 1896 Mr. Daire opened a small carriage repair shop on Somerset 
street, New Brunswick, where he was joined by his son, Charles M., upon 
the completion of the younger Daire's schooling. Afterward, for a year, 
both were employed by Mr. Weeks, of Freehold, New Jersey, then with 
A. L. Mundy, of New Brunswick, Mr. Daire serving as manager. When 
Mr. Mundy sold his enterprise to Geer & Demott, Mr. Daire and his 
son undertook the management of the painting department under the 
firm name of Daire & Son, and when, about a year later Geer & Demott 
went into bankruptcy, Mr. Daire, as trustee, settled the affairs of the 



72 MIDDLESEX 

firm. Following this he and his son broadened their operations to 
include all departments of carriage repairing and building, as well as 
auto repairing, and they pursue these lines at the present time, a well- 
known, dependable firm of established reputation. 

Mr. Daire is a Roman Catholic in religious faith, although his religi- 
ous views are broad and tolerant. In politics he is a Democrat in national 
affairs, and in local matters is independent, his judgments based on the 
merits of men rather than of party. In New Brunswick he has been 
justice of the peace, and in the borough of Highland Park councilman, 
member of the Board of Education, and member of the Board of Health, 
of which he has been twice elected president. He holds membership 
in the Grand Army of the Republic. 

Armand Piere Daire married Almira Haffner, and to them six chil- 
dren were born. Two, Raphael and Gertrude, died in infancy, and those 
surviving are: Francis, a graduate of Princeton College, a journalist of 
Newark, New Jersey; Charles M., his father's business partner; Mary, 
married George Tailby ; and Eleanor, who married Walter B. Archibald. 



HAROLD S. FLANAGAN, D. D. S.— As a practicing dentist, Dr. 
Flanagan has located among the friends of a life time, for New Bruns- 
wick is the city of his birth and there his home has always been. He 
is a son of a long time merchant and a well known citizen of New Bruns- 
wick, whose store is a New Brunswick landmark. 

John P. Flanagan was born in Ireland, in 1845, and died December 
24, 1916, son of Martin and Mary (Kavanaugh) Flanagan. He was edu- 
cated in his native Parish of Dover, and at the age of eleven years, in 
1856, came to the United States, finding a home in New York City, 
where he became a bookkeeper. He resided there until July, 1861, when 
he enlisted in the Union army and served throughout the war. After 
receiving an honorable discharge from the army, he located in New 
Brunswick, New Jersey, where he opened a grocery store and continued 
in successful business at the same location for thirty-four years. He 
took a prominent part in public affairs, was a member of the State Board 
of Prisons,i889-r894, and a member of the Middlesex County Board of 
Excise. He married, in 1873, Mary Coine, who died December 10, 1914, 
and they were the parents of eight children : John, Anna, James, Mary, 
deceased; William, Edward, Loretta, and Harold S., of further men- 
tion. The family were members of St. Peter's Roman Catholic Church, 
New Brunswick, New Jersey. 

Harold S. Flanagan, son of John P. and Mary (Coine) Flanagan, was 
born in New Brunswick, New Jersey, February 7, 1892, and in 1909 
was graduated from the New Brunswick High School. He later entered 
the New York College of Dentistry, whence, in 191 5, he was graduated 
D. D. S. He has since been engaged in the practice of his profession 
in New Brunswick, at No. 335 George street, where he is building up 
a good practice. 

During the World War Mr. Flanagan saw service with the 58th 
Infantry, 4th Division, and was commissioned first lieutenant in the 



BIOGRAPHICAL 73 

Dental Corps, in June, 1917. On May 5, 1918, he sailed for the other 
side, and on May i8th his ship was torpedoed and destroyers were com- 
pelled to come to the rescue, landing the troops at Dover, England, the 
same day. Mr. Flanagan was in active service at the Aisne-Marne 
battle from July 16 to August i, in which action he was wounded, July 
19, 1918; he was at St. Mihiel from September 12 to September 16, and 
Meuse-Argonne from September 26 to October 27. He received one 
citation. He was promoted to captain March 15, 1919, and was honorably 
discharged August 23, 1919. 



FREDERICK F. RICHARDSON, one of the younger generation of 
attorneys of Middlesex county, holds a prominent place. He was born 
in New Brunswick, New Jersey, August 28, 1893, the son of William 
and Mary (Flowers) Richardson. William Richardson is assistant 
postmaster at New Brunswick. To Mr. and Mrs. Richardson have been 
born five children : Warren, deceased ; Edith ; Frederick F., the subject 
of this review ; Harry ; and Elizabeth. 

Frederick F. Richardson completed the grammar school courses in 
New Brunswick, then entered high school, finishing with graduation in 
191 1. During the four years at this institution, he was prominent in 
the athletic life, being manager of the football team for two years, 
manager of the baseball team, also holding other oflfices, as follows: 
Editor-in-chief of the "Advocate;" president of his class during his 
sophomore year; and president of the debating society. In September, 
191 1, he entered the New Jersey Law School and was graduated in 
1915, admitted to the bar that same year, and then immediately com- 
menced the practice of his chosen profession in his native place, where 
he still continues. 

Mr. Richardson is a staunch Republican in politics, has given much 
time to the public affairs of this region, holding the position of county 
counsel for the Middlesex County Board of Freeholders, and also presi- 
dent of the New Brunswick Republican Club. He affiliates with the 
Knights of Columbus, and is a member of the New Brunswick Boat Club. 
In religion he is a Roman Catholic and attends the Sacred Heart Church 
of New Brunswick, New Jersey. 

Mr. Richardson married, August 18, 1920, Helen M. Taylor, of 
Hoboken, New Jersey, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Winant Taylor. They 
reside at No. 116 South Third avenue. Highland Park, New Brunswick, 
New Jersey. 



WILLIAM PERRY BRADLEY.— In the executive office of the 
Raritan Copper Works, William Perry Bradley fills a position of broad 
responsibility. The Bradley family is an old and honored one in North- 
umberlandshire, England. As long ago as 1740 the founder of this 
branch of the family in America came, with a company of sturdy pio- 
neers, and settled in Maryland, at Mardela Springs. 

Perry Weatherly Bradley, father, of William P. Bradley, was bom 
m Mardela Springs, Maryland. He was for many years engaged in 



74 MIDDLESEX 

the retail shoe business. He died in Salisbury, Maryland, at the age of 
seventy-six years. He married Mary Deshiell, of Salisbury, and took 
up his residence there. Of their seven children, William Perry is the 
only one now living. 

William Perry Bradley was born in Salisbury, Maryland, March 20, 
1856. He received his early education in the public schools of that 
quiet old town, then took a course at the Salisbury Academy, an institu- 
tion well known for the excellence of its curriculum, from which he 
was graduated at the age of nineteen years. After his graduation he 
accepted a position on the printing force of the local paper, where he 
remained until 1880, when he went to Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. 
There he was associated with the Times Printing House. He was with 
William Mann for a time, but later returned to the Times Company. 
Upon his return he acted as manager and filled that position success- 
fully until 1890, when he went to the Ketterlinus Printing House as 
manager. Here he remained for two years. His next change led him 
into a different line of work, as he became interested in the copper 
business in Rhode Island. There he remained until 1899, when he came 
to Perth Amboy, New Jersey. Here he entered the offices of the Raritan 
Copper Works, first as foreman of the shipping, department, and later 
was promoted to the position of chief clerk and cashier. He has held 
this position ever since, his fine executive ability and capacity for thor- 
oughness making him particularly fitted for work of this nature. 

Mr. Bradley, while never a politician, has always accepted his share 
of public responsibility when sought to that end. He has served as 
trustee of the Public Library here for five years ; was president of the 
Board of Education for two years ; and served on the Harbor Board for 
three years. 

Mr. Bradley holds high offices in several fraternal organizations. He 
is past councilor of the Junior Order of American Mechanics; is a 
member of the Knights of the Golden Eagle ; has been past grand chief 
of the local Eagles, and is at present district grand chief of that order ; 
and is also a member of the Woodmen of the World, in which order he 
is past consul commander; and is now clerk of Perth Amboy Camp, 
No. 19. 

Mr. Bradley married, in Salisbury, Maryland, December 18, 1876, 
Julia Belle Bedell, daughter of James H. and Sarah (Wilson) Bedell. 
Mrs. Bradley was born in Baltimore, Maryland. Her parents both 
died in Perth Amboy, New Jersey. William Perry and Julia Belle 
C Bedell) Bradley are the parents of five children, of whom all are 
living: Bertha Marian, the wife of M. J. Hurley, of Perth Amboy, New 
Jersey; Marie Frances; William Perry, Jr., a resident of Perth Amboy, 
employed as a clerk with the Raritan Copper Works ; Sadie Bedell, the 
wife of John C. Bergen, of New Brunswick, New Jersey ; and Genevieve, 
the wife of E. A. Frost, of Perth Amboy, New Jersey. The family are 
members of the Methodist Episcopal church, and are prominent in the 
social life of the city. 





iuoL 



si.MmjJL 



BIOGRAPHICAL 75 

ALFRED S. MARCH.— For two decades, 1900-1920, Alfred S. March 
has been a member of the New Jersey bar, practicing in New Brunswick, 
Middlesex county. He is a son of Joseph H. March, who was born in 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, December 25, 1844, and was a merchant of 
New Brunswick, New Jersey, dying in 1916. In 1861, at the age of 
sixteen, Joseph H. March volunteered for service in the Union army in 
Connecticut, where he was living, and later enlisted with Battery B, 
1st Regiment, United States Artillery. He was in numerous battles, 
wounded at Olustee, Florida, captured by the enemy at Reams Station, 
Virginia, and for several months confined as a prisoner at Anderson- 
ville. He married Josephine E. Stanley. 

Alfred S. March was born in New Brunswick, New Jersey, March 
4, 1876. He graduated from the New Brunswick High School in 1894, 
and in 1896 began the study of law in the office of Van Cleef, Daly & 
Woodbridge, of the Middlesex bar. After the dissolution of that firm, 
Mr. March continued under the preceptorship of James H. Van Cleef, 
and was admitted to the bar as an attorney in the February term, 1900, 
and later as a counsellor. He began practice in New Brunswick in 
the office of Hon. Robert Adrian, and subsequently in 1907 associated 
with Freeman Woodbridge under the firm name of Woodbridge & 
March. In 191 1 the firm was dissolved, and since that time Mr. March 
has practiced individually. He is a Special Master in Chancery, Supreme 
Court commissioner, a member of the New Jersey State Bar Associa- 
tion, and the Middlesex County Bar Association. 

A Republican in politics, Mr. March is one of the leaders of his 
party in Middlesex county, having been State Committeeman for four 
years, and in 1903 and 1904 he was a member of the New Brunswick 
Board of Aldermen. He was township counsel for Woodbridge; a 
member and secretary of the Advisory Water Commission of New 
Brunswick, and in 1909 declined his election as city attorney. In 7917 
he was appointed a member of the Board of Public Utility Commis- 
sioners by Governor Edge, a position he resigned in March, 1920, after 
having served about three years. He is a trustee of the New Bruns- 
wick Free Library, director of St. Peter's Hospital, and a member of 
the Board of Trade, Public Schools Alumni Association, Union Club, 
Rotary Club, Craftsmen's Club, Young Men's Christian Association, 
First Presbyterian Church and Men's League of that church; Lodge 
No. 324, B. P. O. E.; Palestine Lodge, No. in, F. and A. M.; Scott 
Chapter, No. 4, R. A. M. ; Scott Council, No. i, R. and S. M. ; Temple 
Commandery, No. 18, K. T. ; Salaam Temple, A. A. O. N. M. S. ; New 
Brunswick Lodge, I. O. O. F. ; and New Brunswick Lodge, W. O. W. 

- Mr. March married, November 9, 1905, Anna Elizabeth Parsell, 
daughter of George K. and Imogene B. Parsell. Mrs. March is a 
member of the Jersey Blue Chapter of the Daughters of the American 
Revolution. Mr. and Mrs. March are the parents of two children: 
Robert Parsell, born September 3, 1907; and Jean Stanley, born Febru- 
ary 10, 1910. 



76 MIDDLESEX 

WILLIAM E. RAMSAY, prominent physician and surgeon of Perth 
Amboy, and one of the most widely known citizens in the State of New 
Jersey, is a native of Prince Edward Island, born November ii, 1866. 
His parents, Hugh and Sarah Longworth (Lawson) Ramsay, were also 
natives of that island, where his grandparents were among the early 
settlers, coming from Scotland. His father was engaged in shipbuilding 
on Prince Edward Island, and later in Perth Amboy, New Jersey, where 
he died in 1900. 

After preparing for college in the Boston High School, Dr. Ramsay 
■ engaged in the study of pharmacy and was the youngest registered phar- 
macist in the State of New Jersey, having passed his examination when 
only fifteen years old. Dr. Ramsay matriculated in the College of 
Physicians and Surgeons, the medical department of Columbia College 
in New York, and was graduated in 1888 with the degree of M. D. 
Later, upon the recommendation of Columbia College to Johns Hopkins 
University, he was appointed physician-in-charge of the Baltimore City 
Insane Hospital, during which time the State Lunacy Commission 
reported to the governor of Maryland that never before had the insti- 
tution been found in such a good condition or the patients more hu- 
manely treated. Soon after. Dr. Ramsay came to Perth Amboy, New 
Jersey, where he at once obtained a select and large patronage, along 
the lines of medical legal work, besides an extensive private practice. 
He is the author of a number of valuable scientific works. 

Dr. Ramsay was health officer of the port of Perth Amboy from 
1894 to 1898. During the cholera scare in 1893 he was a special inspector 
of the United States Marine Hospital Service. In 1906 he was visiting 
surgeon of the Perth Amboy City Hospital. Dr. Ramsay served three 
terms in the State Assembly and while a member of that body was 
instrumental in having passed a number of laws tending to better 
sanitation in the State, among which may be cited the law prohibiting 
the common drinking cup. In 1912 he was elected to the State Senate, 
in which he served with distinction for the ensuing three years, holding 
membership on many of the most important committees of the Senate 
and initiating many legislative enactments of profound worth to the 
Commonwealth of New Jersey. 

In 191 5 he resigned from the Senate to accept the position of State 
Water Supply Commissioner. In the same year he was appointed sur- 
geon of the Perth Amboy division of the Lehigh Valley Railroad and 
Pennsylvania Railroad. He is also plant physician for a number of 
large industries in Perth Amboy and vicinity. 

Dr. Ramsay is an enthusiastic supporter of Federal aid for State 
roads, as well as for agricultural protection, and is interested in deeper 
waterways and for the proposed Cross State Ship Canal as a means to 
reduce the cost of living by additional and cheaper transportation. He 
has always been a contender for individual liberty, respect for the law 
and the protection of the home. In 1920 Dr. Ramsay ran for Congress 
on the Democratic ticket, but went down with others on the ticket to 
defeat in the Republican landslide of that year. 



BIOGRAPHICAL ^^ 

Dr. Ramsay is a member of the Middlesex County District Medical 
Society, of which he was president in 1904 ; the New Jersey State Medi- 
cal Society, the American Medical Association, the American Medico- 
Psychological Association, the Medico-Surgical Society of New York, 
being elected president of this society in 1913 ; the Conference Board of 
Physicians in Industry; Raritan Lodge, No. 61, Free and Accepted 
Masons ; and Perth Amboy Lodge, No. 784, Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks. 

In 1899, Dr. Ramsay married Marie E. Scott Hall, daughter of 
William Scott Hall, of Perth Amboy. 



CLIFFORD IRVING VOORHEES.— Among those members of the 
New Jersey bar who during the last decade have come notably to the 
front, Mr. Voorhees, who is a representative of the legal fraternity of 
New Brunswick, must be numbered as one of the leaders. He is also 
actively interested in civic affairs, and is well known in the club circles 
and social life of his home community. New York City, and Princeton, 
New Jersey. 

The Voorhees family, one of the oldest in New Jersey, has been 
prominent in its annals during the Colonial, Revolutionary and Na- 
tional periods of our history. The name, with the prefix Van, is the 
Anglicized form of three Hollandish words, van voor Hees, meaning 
from before the town of Hees, a small community in the Province of 
Drenthe, which was the native home of the family. 

(I) Albert van voor Hees, the first ancestor of record, was of the 
neighborhood of Hees, and was the father of nine children. 

(II) Coerte Alberts van voor Hees, son of Albert von voor Hees, 
lived in Holland, and had a family of seven children. 

(III) Steven Coerte van voor Hees, son of Coerte Alberts van voor 
Hees, was born in or near Hees, and in April, 1660, sailed in the ship 
"Bontekoe" (Spotted Cow), Captain Pieter Lucassen, master, with his 
wife and eight children. Arriving in the Province of New Netherland, 
he settled on Long Island, purchasing land in the town of Amersfoort 
en Bergen, now Flatlands. In 1664 he was one of the magistrates of 
that place, and his name appears in 1667 on a patent, and in 1675 and 
1683 on the assessment rolls. By his first wife, whose name is lost, he 
had five sons and five daughters, all born in Holland. The two who did 
not accompany him to America emigrated subsequently. In 1677 he 
and his second wife were members of the Dutch Reformed church of 
Flatlands. He died in Flatlands, February 16, 1684. 

(IV) Lucas Stevense van voor Hees, son of Steven Coerte van voor 
Hees, was born about 1650, in Holland, and in 1675 his name appears 
on the assessment rolls of Flatlands. In 1680 he was a magistrate. His 
membership in the Dutch Reformed church of Flatlands is recorded in 
1677, and in 171 1 he was one of its elders. He married (first) in Hol- 
land, Catharine Hansen Van Noorstrand, and (second) January 26, 
1689, Jannetje Minnes, daughter of Minne Johannis and Rensie Faddens. 
In 1703, he married (third) Catharine Van Dyck. He had issue by his 



78 MIDDLESEX 

first and second marriages and probably by the third, his children 
numbering sixteen, eight sons and as many daughters. His death 
occurred in 1713. 

(V) Abraham Lucasse van voor Hees, son of Lucas Stevense and 
Jannetje Minnes (Faddens) van voor Hees, v^ras born in Flatlands, and 
removed, soon after his marriage, to South Middlebush, Somerset 
county. New Jersey, where he purchased, in 1726, of Jacques Coftelyou, 
a farm of three hundred acres on which the remainder of his life was 
spent. He married Neeltje, daughter of Jacques Cortelyou, of New 
Utrecht, Long Island, and they were the parents of three sons and four 
daughters. 

(VI) Abraham Voorhees, son of Abraham Lucasse and Neeltje 
(Cortelyou) van voor Hees, lived and died near Six Mile Run, Somerset 
county. New Jersey. He was twice married, the name of his first wife 
being Geertie and that of the second Marie. He was the father of six 
sons and three daughters. 

(VII) Lucas Voorhees, son of Abraham and Geertie Voorhees, was 
born May 2, 1753, near Six Mile Run, New Jersey, and lived at Rocky 
Hill, in the same county. He married, November 16, 1775, Johanna 
Dumont, and they became the parents of four sons and three daughters. 
Lucas Voorhees died August 24, 1812, at his home at Rocky Hill. 

(VIII) Isaac Lucas Voorhees, son of Lucas and Johanna (Dumont) 
Voorhees, was born March 22, 1793, at Rocky Hill, New Jersey, and 
for the greater part of his life resided near Six Mile Run. He married, 
June 5, 1813, Abigail, daughter of Isaac Isaacse Voorhees, and six sons 
and seven daughters were born to him. The death of Mr. Voorhees 
occurred October 26, 1867, near Six Mile Run. 

(IX) Abraham (2) Voorhees, son of Isaac Lucas and Abigail (Voor- 
hees) Voorhees, was born September 18, 1817, near Six Mile Run, New 
Jersey, and in early life went to New Brunswick, where he engaged in 
the jewelry business, which he subsequently abandoned for banking 
and finance. For this sphere of action he was especially fitted and in 
it he soon rose to prominence. He was president of the old State Bank 
of New Brunswick, and his connection with the banking and financial 
interests of the city was productive of lasting results of great benefit 
to the community. Mr. Voorhees was a public-spirited and highly 
esteemed citizen, and was a member of the First Presbyterian church, 
in which he held the office of life elder and for twenty-nine years served 
as suprintendent of the Sunday school. He married (first) September 
19, 1842, Jane, daughter of Jesse and Margaret P. (Russell) Jarvis, and 
two children were born to them: i. Willard Penfield. 2. Laura Vir- 
ginia, died in infancy. Mrs. Voorhees died April 8, 1875, and Mr. 
Voorhees married (second) Martha J., daughter of John and Martha 
(Bell) Van Nostrand. The children of this marriage were: i. Howard 
Crosby, whose biography may be found on another page of this work. 
2. Florence Eliot, died July 16, 1910; married John J. Voorhees, Jr., of 
the Voorhees Rubber Manufacturing Company; they have one child, 
Florence Eliot, born October 17, 1908. 3. Marion R., wife of Edgar J. 
Buttenheim, of Yonkers, New York; they have five children: Martha, 



BIOGRAPHICAL 79 

Barbara, Donald, Curtis, and Constance. 4. Clifford Irving, mentioned 
below. Mr. Voorhees died in New Brunswick, June 9, 1892, and his 
widow passed away in that city, February 9, 1909. 

(X) Cliiford Irving Voorhees, son of Abraham (2) and Martha J. 
(Van Nostrand) Voorhees, was born August 4, 1884, in New Brunswick, 
New Jersey. In 1902 he graduated from the Lawrenceville School, 
Lawrenceville, New Jersey. In June, 1906, he received from Princeton 
University the degree of Bachelor of Arts. He was fitted for his pro- 
fession at the New York Law School, New York City, graduating in 
1909 with the degree of Bachelor of Arts. He also studied in the office 
of his brother, the late Justice Willard P. Voorhees, of the New Jersey 
Supreme Court, and in June, 1909, was admitted to the New Jersey 
bar as an attorney, and, three years later, as a counsellor. Since that 
time Mr. Voorhees has been engaged in the practice of his profession 
in his native city, specializing in corporation law and the settlement 
of estates. He is at the present time counsel for a number of estates 
in New Jersey and for several of the largest industrial plants in Mid- 
dlesex county. 

During the World War, in 1918, he served as associate director of 
and counsel to the Department of Personnel, of the American Red Cross, 
at Washington, D. C. 

In politics Mr. Voorhees is a Republican, and, despite the exacting 
demands of his profession has found time to testify to his public spirit 
by serving on the Board of Education. He is a member of the University 
Club of New York; the Ivy Club of Princeton University; the Nassau 
Club of Princeton ; the Princeton Club of New York ; the Union Club 
of New Brunswick; and the New Brunswick Country Club, of which 
he is a governor. He is a member of the First Presbyterian Church 
of New Brunswick; a director of the New Brunswick Trust Company; 
a trustee of the Francis E. Parker Memorial Home; and a member of 
the Alumni Council of Lawrenceville School. 

On April 5, 191 5, Mr. Voorhees married Adelaide Bailey Parker, 
daughter of Francis Eyre and Henrietta Macaulay Parker (Stromberg), 
of New York and New Brunswick, the former deceased. Mr. and Mrs. 
Voorhees have three children : Frances Macaulay, born January 30, 
1916; Willard Penfield, born January 21, 1918; and Clifford Irving, Jr., 
born February 20, 192 1. The family home, "Rose Bank," is at Landing 
Lane, New Brunswick. 

Both as a lawyer and a citizen Mr. Voorhees has been true to the 
honorable traditions of his ancestry, and his record is worthily incor- 
porated in the history of the family. 



BENJAMIN WILLIAM ERICKSON.— The Erickson family has 
been a part of the social and business life of Middlesex county. New 
Jersey, for so many years that the associations and interests of the 
various members of it are all centered in this, their home section of the 
State. 

Born in Stelton, New Jersey, December 9, 1882, Benjamin William 
Erickson was the son of Charles and Sabina Erickson, the former having 



8o MIDDLESEX 

been a farmer in this locality for many years. Both of his parents are 
now deceased. After finishing the course of study at the Stelton public 
school, young Erickson entered the Highland Park school, graduating 
in June, 1896. He then became a pupil in the Livingston Avenue High 
School of New Brunswick, where he took a course in commercial 
branches, from which he graduated in June, 1897. In September, 1897, 
Benjamin William Erickson started upon his business career by obtain- 
. ing a position as ofifice boy in the Consolidated Fruit Jar Company of 
Brunswick. For twenty-three years Mr. Erickson has been connected 
with this company, having been advanced step by step, being elected 
a director of it, and in May, 1918, was made secretary and treasurer of 
this widely known corporation on Water street. 

Making his home in the Highland Park section, Mr. Erickson has 
been very active in the public work of the borough. In politics he is a 
Republican, and having been elected to the office of councilman on that 
ticket he took his seat, January i, 1917, holding the position until his 
term ended, January i, 1921. Mr. Erickson has been a member of the 
Board of Education of Highland Park since 1913, and has served as 
president of the board from 1916 to 1920. The work of the Young 
Men's Christian Association has greatly interested Mr. Erickson, and in 
addition to being a member of it, he is also on the board of directors. He 
is very enthusiastic upon the subject of fishing and hunting, out-of-doors 
sports appealing particularly to him. He is also affiliated with the 
Junior Order of United American Mechanics. 

At Middlebush, New Jersey, October 30, 1907, Benjamin William 
Erickson was married to Charlotte E. Wilson, daughter of C. Asher and 
Cornelia J. Wilson. Three children have been bom of this union: i. 
Cornelia S., born April 28, 1909. 2. Helen G., born November 7, 191 1. 
3. Margaret, born May 13, 1914. Mr. and Mrs. Erickson with their 
children reside at No. 27 North Seventh avenue, Highland Park. 



FRANK DORSEY, former mayor of Perth Amboy, and for many 
years one of the most conspicuous figures in the public and business 
life of the community over which he presided as chief magistrate, is a 
native of the city, born August 24, 1879. He is a member of a family 
that is prominent in the general life of the place. His grandfather, 
Thomas Dorsey, came from Ireland and settled in Pennsylvania many 
years ago. One of the sons of Thomas Dorsey was Edward Joseph 
Dorsey, who was born in the town of Gordon, Pennsylvania, and came 
as a young man to Perth Amboy, New Jersey, and resided here for 
forty years, up to the time of his death, January 24, 1917. For thirty- 
seven years he was supervisor of the Lehigh Valley Railroad at 
this point and had charge of one hundred and eighty-seven miles of 
the main line of the railroad. He married Isabella Dunham, a member 
of an old Perth Amboy family, where her birth occurred, and who sur- 
vives him. Edward Joseph and Isabella (Dunham) Dorsey were the 
parents of five children, as follows: Thomas Edward, who resides in 
Perth Amboy and is associated with Mayor Dorsey in the large coal 



BIOGRAPHICAL 8i 

and ice interests of the place; Frank, with whose career we are here 
especially concerned; Charles H., general agent of the Lehigh Valley 
Railroad at Perth Amboy; John Walter, who is now engaged in the 
plumbing business in Perth Amboy, married Bessie Bain ; and Isabella, 
a teacher in the Perth Amboy public schools. 

The childhood of Frank Dorsey was passed in his native city, where 
as a boy he attended the local public schools for a time. He was ex- 
tremely ambitious to become established in business, however, and at 
the age of twelve left his studies and became a delivery boy for one of 
the local butchers. His father was connected with the Lehigh Valley 
Railroad at that time, and he next secured a position as messenger 
boy for that corporation and continued to serve in that capacity for 
about three years. At the close of the three years he went to Newark, 
New Jersey, and attended the Newark Business College, where he took 
a four-year commercial course, upon the completion of which he became 
associated with his father and brother in a coal business established by 
the former in Elizabeth, New Jersey. This concern prospered highly 
and is now known as the Dorsey-Knowles Coal Company, Mr. Dorsey 
being its president. Mr. Dorsey has also become associated with a 
number of large commercial concerns in Perth Amboy and elsewhere, 
and is a member of the firm of E. J. Dorsey & Sons, dealers in coal 
and ice in Perth Amboy, and president of the Dorsey-Decker Ice Com- 
pany of Staten Island. He is also president of the E. J. Dorsey & Sons 
Investment Company, prominent dealers in real state; vice-president 
of the Perth Amboy Trust Company, and a director and one of the organ- 
izers of the City National Bank of Perth Amboy. 

Mr. Dorsey has always been keenly interested in public aflfairs, and 
for a number of years has been prominent in the ranks of the Democratic 
party in this section of the State. He was elected mayor of Perth Amboy 
in 1918 on his party's ticket, and gave the city an efficient and business- 
like administration which won the approval of all classes of citizens. 
He is prominent in social, fraternal and club circles in Perth Amboy, 
and is a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, serv- 
ing for a number of years as trustee of the order, and for the past nine 
years has been past master in Townley, New Jersey, and a member of 
the East Jersey Club. He has always been strongly attracted to athletic 
sports and finds particular pleasure in good boxing. 

Frank Dorsey was united in marriage, April 20, 1907, with Ethel 
Gillis, a native of Bryan, Williams county, Ohio, and a daughter of 
Simeon and Myra (Ball) Gillis, old and highly respected residents of 
that place and now both deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Dorsey are the parents 
of one child, Frank Gillis, born December 20, 1908. 



C. RAYMOND LYONS, one of the successful young attorneys of 
New Brunswick, New Jersey, and a man who has already made a name 
for himself in the public life of this region, is a native of this com- 
munity, born December 25, 1894. His entire career has been interwoven 



Mid-6 



82 MIDDLESEX 

with the interests of his birthplace, and to the advancement and mainte- 
nance of those interests he is ever steadfastly loyal. 

James Joseph Lyons, father of C. Raymond Lyons, was born in 
Ireland, near the city of Dublin, and lived there until he was six years 
of age, when he was brought by his parents to this country. Upon 
landing in New York City, they came direct to New Brunswick, where 
James Joseph Lyons has since resided, and it is here that he has carried 
on a successful contracting business for many years. He married 
Catherine Feeney, who died in New Brunswick, in 1916, at the age of 
sixty-one years. To Mr. and Mrs. Lyons have been born eleven children, 
of whom six are still living: Luke J., a member of the New Brunswick 
police force; James A., a contractor of New Brunswick; Mary C, wife 
of John A. Price, of South Amboy ; Ellen M. ; C. Raymond, of further 
mention; and Monica. 

The elementary education of C. Raymond Lyons was obtained in 
the private and parochial schools of his native place. He graduated from 
St. Peter's High School in 1913, and the same year attended summer 
courses at Rutgers College, then entered Fordham, University, New 
York City, from which he was graduated June 14, 1916, with the degree 
of Bachelor of Laws. The following November, he was admitted to 
practice law at the bar of Middlesex county. During the time Mr. 
Lyons was at law school, he studied with Edmund- A. Hayes and Chester 
R. Holman of New Brunswick, and could not have chosen a better 
environment, both men being noted for their maintenance of the pro- 
fession's highest ideals and traditions. Upon being admitted to practice, 
Mr. Lyons formed a partnership with Frederick F. Richardson, men- 
tioned elsewhere in this work, under the firm name of Richardson & 
Lyons, and since beginning practice has built up for himself an enviable 
reputation. 

In 1918 Mr. Lyons enlisted in the United States Marines, and after 
completing the necessary course of training at Paris Island, South 
Carolina, was assigned to the Marine barracks at Dover, New Jersey, 
where he was awaiting overseas orders when the armistice was signed. 
A Republican in politics, he takes a keen interest in the activities of his 
party, and in 1919 was elected to the General Assembly to represent 
Middlesex county, and again in 1920. In 1919 his majority was forty, and 
in 1920 he carried by close to 13,000. He is a member of several fraternal 
organizations, among them being: The Loyal Order of Moose, of which 
he is the New Jersey State secretary; the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks ; the Fraternal Order of Eagles, the Improved Order of 
Red Men; the Knights of Columbus; the Ancient Order of Hibernians; 
the New Brunswick Sportsmen's Club ; and the American Legion. His 
law fraternity in Delta Theta Phi. Mr. Lyons is a member of St. Peter's 
Roman Catholic Church. He is unmarried. 



DAVID COMBS ENGLISH, M. D.— Among the veteran physicians 
of Middlesex county none stands higher than the one whose name we 
have just written and who can now look back upon more than half a 



BIOGRAPHICAL 83 

century of successful practice in New Brunswick. In addition to his 
professional activities, Dr. English has always borne a leading part in 
church work and in educational and philanthropic enterprises. 

David Combs (i) English, father of David Combs (2) English, of 
New Brunswick, was a physician at Middletown Point, New Jersey, and 
later practiced in New Brunswick. The family settled in Monmouth 
county about two hundred years ago, Englishtown having been named 
from the family, and one of the founders of the old Tennent Church. He 
married Henrietta Green. In the latter years of his life. Dr. English 
was the proprietor of a drug store in New Brunswick, relinquishing, to 
a great extent, his practice as a physician. 

Dr. David Combs (2) English, son of David Combs (i) and Henri- 
etta (Green) English, was born March 2, 1842, in New Brunswick, New 
Jersey, and received his education in public schools and in Mack's and 
Hamilton's private schools. After taking a preparatory course at Rut- 
ger's College, he entered the College of Physicians and Surgeons of 
Columbia University, graduating in 1868 with the degree of Doctor of 
Medicine. 

In association with Dr. Clifford Morrogh, Dr. English began prac- 
tice in New Brunswick, but at the end of two or three years opened an 
office for himself in the same place, advancing, as time went on, to the 
position of acknowledged leadership which he has so long occupied. 

Since 1868 Dr. English has been a member of the Medical Society 
of New Jersey and for several years served as chairman of its standing 
committee ; in 1895 he was elected vice-president, and in 1898 became 
president; for the last fourteen years he has been editor of its Monthly 
Journal. Since 1868 he has been a member of the Middlesex County 
Medical Society, having served for forty-five years as its treasurer and 
having at one time held the office of president. Dr. English was elected 
the first honorary member of the Academy of Medicine of Northern 
New Jersey. He represented the State Society twice at the Pan-Amer- 
ican Medical Congress; also at the meeting of the American Medical 
Association frequently. He is president of the Medical Section of the 
Rutgers Club, and a member of the Medical Service Corps, United 
States Army. 

In 1867 ^"d i858 Dr. English occupied a seat on the Board of Alder- 
men, and for several years he was director or manager of the Union 
Building Loan Association. He was one of the founders of the Young 
Men's Christian Association of New Brunswick and for ten years 
served as its president. He was also the .original mover in the organ- 
ization of the executive committee of the State Young Men's Christian 
Association and for twenty years served as one of its members. He 
and his family are members of the First Presbyterian Church of New 
Brunswick, in which, from 1871 to 1873, he served as deacon. Since 
1873 he has held the office of elder, and since 1884 has been clerk of ses- 
sion. He has represented his church often at meetings of the Presbytery 
and three times represented his Presbytery at the General Assembly. 
He is one of the originators of the State Sanitary Association, was 



84 MIDDLESEX 

president of it, and for many years ex-president and honorary member 
of its executive council. 

Dr. English married, September 14, 1870, in New Brunswick, Susan 
Gary Blake, daughter of the Hon. Harrison and Susan Brett (Gary) 
Blake, who were double second cousins and dq,scendant.s of John and 
Priscilla Alden in four direct lines. Dr. and Mrs. English are the parents 
of one son: Grenfell Harrison Blake EngHsh, born December 31, 1872; 
he has been supervisor of the Pennsylvania Railroad, .iifteen years, at 
present of the Lancaster (Pennsylvania) division. 

The career of Dr. English as a physician has been rich in results, 
which were the fruit of his long and ripe experience. Over and above 
this he has aided greatly in the advancement and maintenance of the 
literary and scientific interests of the profession to which he has given 
his lifelong devotion. His name will be inscribed with honor in the 
medical annals of Middlesex county. He has contributed to this History 
the admirable chapter on "The Medical Fraternity." 



HARRY EVERETT COMINGS, secretary and treasurer of the 
Raritan Trust Gompany, holds a prominent place in the younger circles 
of business men of Perth Amboy. He owes his success wholly to his 
own efforts and may thus be considered justified in a certain pride in his 
achievements. 

George Taylor Comings, fathier of Harry Everett Gomings, was born 
in Petersburg, New Jersey, May 23, 1841, and died in Perth Amboy, 
February 12, igoi. He was a farmer for many years, and later estab- 
lished himself in the Hvery business. He served on the Board of Free- 
holders of Middlesex county for several terms, and always took a keen 
interest in politics. He married Sarah Gory, and to them were born 
eight children : Virgil, deceased ; Ella C. ; Worthington G., assistant 
collector of revenue at Perth Amboy; Robert M., a resident of East 
Orange, New Jersey ; Frank G., letter carrier of Perth Amboy ; George 
R., clerk with the B. A. Paving Gompany of Perth Amboy ; Walter W., 
broker in Washington, D. C. ; Harry Everett, of further mention. 

Harry Everett Gomings was born in Perth Amboy, New Jersey. He 
received his elementary education in the public schools of his native 
place, later completing a course in Trainer's Business Gollege. His 
first employment was with the Lehigh Valley Railroad as freight clerk, 
where he remained four years, and then was promoted to ticket agent of 
the passenger department. Three years later he became teller of the Rari- 
tan Trust Gompany, in which capacity he served for two years, when he 
was promoted to the position of assistant treasurer, and on January i, 
1920, was appointed secretary and treasurer of the company, which 
offices he still holds at the present time. Mr. Comings is also secretary 
and director of the Perth Amboy Building and Loan Association. 

During the World War, he took an active part in the Liberty Loan 
drives, and served as auditor for the United War Work Campaign. He 
affiliates with Prudence Lodge, No. 204, Free and Accepted Masons; 
Amboy Chapter, No. 41, Royal Arch Masons; and Valley of Jersey City 
Lodge, Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite of Free Masonry. He is 



BIOGRAPHICAL 85 

also a director of the Young Men's Christian Association, of Perth 
Amboy. He is particularly interested in boys and spends a large por- 
tion of his spare time during the summer at the Young Men's Christian 
Association Jersey Boys' Camp in Wawayanda. In religion he is a 
Presbyterian, and has ever taken an active part in the affairs of the First 
Presbyterian Church, of which he is a member, having been librarian 
and secretary of the Sunday school for many years, and president of the 
Christian Endeavor Society for several terms. He is now a deacon in 
the church. Mr. Comings is unmarried. 



CHARLES EDWARD TINDELL.— Since his admission to the 
New Jersey bar in 1897, Mr. Tindell has been active in both professional 
and public life, his achievement in both having been most satisfactory. 
He has many outside interests, but is first and last the lawyer and 
advocate, a profession to which he gave careful preparation. He is the 
son of Edward and Annie (Dunn) Tindell. Edward Tindell was a 
prominent coal dealer for thirty-six years in New Brunswick and now 
lives there retired. He has always been very active in the affairs of 
the community, having served in the following positions : Secretary 
of the Second People's Building Loan Association ; clerk of the Mid- 
dlesex County Board of Freeholders ; member of the New Brunswick 
Board of Education ; and member of the Board of Health. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Tindell were born four children: Charles Edward, of further men- 
tion ; Minnie A. ; George R., an accountant in Chicago, Illinois ; Alfred 
S., an accountant at Highland Park, New Jersey. 

Charles Edward Tindell was born in New Brunswick, New Jersey, 
December 2, 1872, and completed grammar and high school education 
there, after which he matriculated at Rutgers College, from which he 
was graduated in 1893 with the degree of Bachelor of Arts. Four years 
later, in 1897, he was admitted to the New Jersey State bar as attorney, 
and three years later was made counsellor. He is a member of the Mid- 
dlesex County Bar Association. 

For many years Mr. Tindell has been prominent in the political life 
of the community, having held the following ofifices : Clerk of Middlesex 
County Grand Jury; alderman; member of the Board of Education; 
city attorney; and is now, 1920, serving as city recorder. He affiliates 
with Union Lodge, No. 19, Free and Accepted Masons; Scott Chapter, 
No. 4, Royal Arch Masons ; and with Delta chapter of Chi Phi fraternity. 
His club is the Brunswick. In religion he is a Methodist and attends 
St. James' Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. Tindell is unmarried. 

Charles Edward Tindell has been connected with many important 
cases in his profession, and is both learned in the law and skillful in 
its application to the cause at hand, and is held in the highest regard by 
the brethren of his profession. 



AUGUSTS JACQUES ROSSI, numbered among the practical men 
of Perth Amboy, New Jersey, men who have achieved noteworthy results 
along constructive lines, is the son of James Camille and Caroline A. 



86 MIDDLESEX 

(Frame) Rossi, the former a native of Paris, France, and the latter of 
New York City. James C. Rossi came to the United States in 1859, 
when but sixteen years of age, and located in Kansas where he carried 
on his profession of mining and civil engineer for a number of years. 
In 1881 he came to Perth Amboy, New Jersey, and there made his 
home until his death, January 21, 1914, when about seventy-one years 
of age. He is survived by his wife, who continues to reside in Perth 
Amboy. They were the parents of seven children, as follows: Auguste 
Jacques, of further mention ; Louis Mansfield, a sketch of whom follows ; 
Charles, of Perth Amboy; Mabelle, the wife of William S. Higgins, of 
Chatham, New Jersey; and three children who died in youth. 

Auguste Jacques Rossi was born in Flushing, Long Island,, July 26, 
1875. He lived there until he, attained the age of six years, when his 
parents came to Perth Amboy, New Jersey. He received his early edu- 
cation at Miss Gertrude Smith's private school, then later attended 
the Dr. Pingry school in Elizabeth, New Jersey. His education was 
completed by a thorough technical course in the Columbia College 
School of Mines, from which he was graduated in 1896. He then entered 
upon the work of civil engineering in Perth Amboy. Following a 
period of work in the immediate vicinity, Mr. Rossi did construction 
work all over the East, handling many important projects at different 
points. Later he became associated with the Raritan Hollow and Porus 
Brick Company. Then his work broadened, and he was called to many 
different sections throughout Canada and the Middle West, where 
large construction operations were in progress. On January i, 1920, he 
formed his present business connection with the Chesebrough Manu- 
facturing Company. During the recent World War, Mr. Rossi had 
charge of much special experimental work in connection with the use 
of high explosives and the loading of shells. He has served the city as 
alderman from the First Ward. 

Mr. Rossi married, in Perth Amboy, Mildred L. Allen, daughter of 
Charles L. Allen. She was born in Trenton, New Jersey. Mr. Allen 
died there, and Mrs. S. J. Allen, Mrs. Rossi's mother, now makes her 
home with her daughter's family. Mr. and Mrs. Rossi are the parents 
of six children, four of whom are living. Their children are: Phyllis, 
Fred, Helene, deceased; Auguste Jacques, deceased; Inez and Mildred. 

Personally, Mr. Rossi is preeminently an outdoor man, fond of 
sports and all open air pursuits. He has a keen eye for good sailing 
craft, and takes the greatest delight in an occasional fishing trip. 



LOUIS MANSFIELD ROSSI, one of the successful citizens of 
Perth Amboy, New Jersey, where he is manager of the General Bakelite 
Company, and has long been prominent in business circles as an indus- 
trial chemist, was born August 3, 1877, in Flushing, Long Island. He 
is a son of James Camille and Caroline A. (Frame) Rossi (q. v.). 

Louis Mansfield Rossi passed the greater part of his childhood in 
Perth Amboy, to which place his parents removed when he was but 
four years of age, and as a little boy attended the private school of 



BIOGRAPHICAL 87 

Miss Gertrude Smith, where he gained his elementary education. Later 
he became a pupil at the Pingry School of Elizabeth, New Jersey, and 
there was prepared for college. In early youth he had taken a keen 
interest in chemistry and other scientific studies, and after graduation 
from the latter institution in 1895 entered the School of Mines of Colum- 
bia University and was graduated from there with the class of 1899 as 
a mining engineer. Even before completing his education he had earned 
his first money during vacations acting as a surveyor for C. C. Hom- 
mann, at that time city surveyor of Perth Amboy. After his graduation, 
however, he secured a permanent position with the Perth Amboy Terra 
Cotta Company and remained with that concern one year. His next 
connection was with the National Fireproofing Company, which con- 
tinued for a similar period, when he undertook the task of building the 
plant of the Perth Amboy Chemical Works. Upon the completion of 
the plant he remained with the same concern as manager, his connection 
with it continuing from 1903 to 1908. In the latter year he was employed 
by the Roessler & Hanslacher Chemical Company in research work, and 
continued to be thus occupied for about two years. It was in the year 
1910 that the General Bakelite Company was incorporated in Perth 
Amboy, and Mr. Rossi was asked to become its general manager, a posi- 
tion which he accepted and which he has continuously held ever since. 
This concern has flourished greatly up to the present time, and its 
growth has been due in no small measure to the capable conduct of its 
affairs by Mr. Rossi, who has displayed a remarkable talent for organ- 
ization and executive work and an unusual degree of good business 
judgment. Mr. Rossi has also taken an active part in the development 
of the Raritan Trust Company of Perth Amboy, and is a director of that 
flourishing financial institution. He is a conspicuous figure in the 
general life of the community, and is a member of a large number of 
organizations of both a public and private character. During the five 
years between 1910 and 1915 he was a menjber of the local Board of 
Education, and is now affiliated with the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks, the Knights of Columbus, the American Society for 
Testing Materials, the American Chemical Society, American Institute 
of Chemical Engineers, the American Electro Chemical Society, the 
Society of Chemical Industry, the East Jersey Club, the Colonia Country 
Club, and the Perth Amboy Chamber of Commerce, of which he has 
been a director. In his religious belief he is a Roman Catholic and 
attends .3t. Mary's Church of that denomination in Perth Amboy. Mr. 
Rossi has always been fond of out-door athletic sports, and during his 
youth took particular pleasure in boating. Of recent years this has 
been to a large extent superseded by golf, of which he is at present an 
enthusiastic devotee. 

Louis Mansfield Rossi was united in marriage, June 8, 1907, at 
Perth Amboy, with Agnes Geraldine Langan, a native of that place, 
born April 2, 1879, a daughter of Thomas and Margaret (Archer) Lan- 
gan, both of whom are now deceased. Two children have been born to 
Mr. and Mrs. Rossi, as follows: Margaret Archer, born May 13, 1908, 
and Thomas Langan, born December 11, 1910. 



^ MIDDLESEX 

PETER CHRISTIAN OLSEN. numbered among the citizens of 
rertti Amboy who have reached a position of influence in the business 
oj the community, was born in Copenhagen, Denmark, February 
17, ie»i, the son of Lauritz and Ane Marie Olsen. In 1891 he came 
to this country with his parents and three brothers, the family settling 
in Perth Amboy, New Jersey, where he received a public school educa- 
tion. He has always manifested a keen practical interest in everything 
tending to the civic development and progress of the city of his adop- 
^on. Mr. Olsen is treasurer and general manager of the South Amboy 
Terra Cotta Company since 1904. From the time of his connection 
with this corporation he has been a potent factor in its development into 
a national factor in the terra cotta industry. He is a director and vice- 
president of the Perth Amboy Trust Company, treasurer of the Mathol 
Investment Company, and president of the National Terra Cotta Society. 
Mr. Olsen has served as chairman of the Perth Amboy Harbor Com- 
mission two terms. During the World War he was attached to the 
toluol division, high explosives section, ordnance department, of the 
United States army. At the conclusion of the war he was commissioned 
captain in the United States Army Reserve Corps. Mr. Olsen is a 
member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, American 
Ceramic Society, and the Raritan Yacht Club of Perth Amboy, which 
organization he has served as commodore for two terms. 

On November 3, 191 1, Mr. Olsen was united in marriage with 
Frances Laura Burke, daughter of Charles and Harriet (Reed) Burke, 
of Naples, New York. They have no children. Mr. and Mrs. Olsen 
reside at No. 69 Water street, Perth Amboy, New Jersey. Business 
address is No. 150 Nassau street. New York. 

BERTRAM B. SMITH, numbered among the best known dentists 
of New Brunswick, New Jersey, has made for himself a position of 
prominence in his chosen profession. Though not a native of New 
Brunswick, Dr. Smith has resided here since 1906, and has become thor- 
oughly identified with her leading interests. 

John Christian Smith, father of Bertram B. Smith, was born in Lan- 
caster, Pennsylvania, March 25, 1851, on the old homestead which was 
originally purchased by his grandfather. He spent his entire life on 
the farm, and died there, September 9, 1917. He married Linda M. 
Mellinger, whose Grandfather Galloway served as a colonel in the 
Revolutionary War. Her father, Dr. David Mellinger, was one of the 
most prominent physicians in Columbia, Lancaster county, Pennsyl- 
vania, where he had practiced many years, and died at the age of ninety- 
seven years. He was a Republican in politics, and was active in public 
life. Dr. Mellinger was a friend of Abraham Lincoln, and was invited 
by Mr. Lincoln to accompany him on one of his speaking campaigns. 
Linda M. (Mellinger) Smith died January 27, 1917. 

To John C. and Linda M. (Mellinger) Smith seven children were 
born: Elsie M., wife of Dr. G. C. McBrude, of Newark, New Jersey; 
Bessie C, wife of W. H. Kelly, of East Orange, New Jersey ; Lucy, a 



BIOGRAPHICAL 89 

resident of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; Arthur D., a dentist in East 
Orange, New Jersey ; Bertram B., of further mention ; Jennie M., wife of 
Harrison Nolt, a farmer of Lancaster county, Pennsylvania ; Phoebe M., 
wife of Harry Metcalf, of Newark, New Jersey. 

John Christian Smith's grandfather, also John Christian Smith by 
name, and a German by birth, came to this country and settled in 
Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, while five of his brothers settled in 
Virginia. He was one of the founders of the United Brethren church 
of Eastern Pennsylvania. 

Bertram B. Smith, son of John Christian and Linda M. (Mellinger) 
Smith, was bom on the old homestead in Lancaster county, Pennsyl- 
vania, March 6, 1884. He attended the public schools of his native place, 
after which he worked on his father's farm until he was twenty-two 
years of age, when, having decided to adopt the profession of dentistry 
for his life's career, he studied in Newark, New Jersey, later coming to 
New Brunswick, New Jersey, where he began to practice his profession, 
October 3, 1906. In 1915, having previously matriculated at Maryland 
University, he was graduated with the degree of Doctor of Dental 
Surgery. 

On August 15, 1917, Dr. Smith was commissioned first lieutenant in 
the United States army and spent eleven months in France. He was 
honorably discharged from the service, July 29, 1919. In politics Dr. 
Smith is a Republican, giving to the affairs of this organization the 
interest demanded of every good citizen. He affiliates with the Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks, and the Junior Order of United Amer- 
ican Mechanics. In his religious belief he is an Episcopalian. 

Dr. Smith married, September 2, 191 1, Edythe A. Sevenair, daughter 
of the late Charles and Sarah (Outcault) Sevenair, of Milltown, New 
Jersey. Dr. and Mrs. Smith have no children. They reside at No. 41 
Lincoln avenue, Highland Park. Dr. Smith's offices are located at No. 
115 Albany street. New Brunswick, New Jersey. 



SAMUEL EAKIN SHULL. — Among the representative citizens 
of Perth Amboy, New Jersey, there is none better known than Samuel 
Eakin Shull, the distinguished scholar and educator, who has for a 
quarter of a century served as the efficient superintendent of the schools 
of that city. Mr. Shull comes of a good old Pennsylvania family and 
was born in that State, January 26, 1859, >n the town of Martins Creek. 
He is a son of Elias and Margaret (Eakin) Shull, the former a prosper- 
ous farmer of Martins Creek, where he came to be a prominent figure 
in the local public life and at one time represented his district in the 
State Legislature. 

The childhood of Mr. Shull was spent at his native place, where as 
a lad he attended the local public schools and received his elementary 
education. He later became a student of the State Normal School at 
Kutztown, Pennsylvania, and still later studied in the Blairstown Acad- 
emy, Blairstown, New Jersey. After completing his preparation for 
college at the last named institution, he marticulated at Lafayette Col- 



go MIDDLESEX 

lege, Easton, Pennsylvania, where he took the classical course and was 
graduated in the year 1886 with the degree of Bachelor of Arts. In 
1908 his alma mater conferred upon him the honorary degree of Master 
of Arts in recognition of his eminent services in the cause of education. 
Immediately after graduation from Lafayette College, Mr. ShuU entered 
the profession which has since formed his life's work and for three years 
taught in the country schools of his native State and of Alabama. At the 
end of that time he was appointed superintendent of the schools of 
South Easton, Pennsylvania, and served in that capacity for a period 
of fourteen years. In the meantime Mr. Shull had made an enviable 
reputation both as an educator of talent and ability and a practical 
administrator, and in 1895 was appointed to his present post of super- 
intendent of the Perth Amboy, New Jersey, schools. Since then he 
has devoted himself with the most indefatigable energy and singleness 
of mind to the development and improvement of the institutions under 
his care, and it has been almost entirely due to his good judgment and 
skill that they have increased so greatly in size, efficiency and scope of 
usefulness. His active and effective interest in the welfare of the youth 
of Perth Amboy has never flagged, and his services in their behalf well 
merited the general recognition they have received. Another manner in 
which he has contributed to the same result has been through the influence 
he has exerted upon the city Public Library in the capacity of trustee, 
for this institution has also benefited highly from his learning and good 
judgment and become in the last few years a potent factor in raising the 
educational and cultural standard of the community. Mr. Shull was 
also a member of the board of governors of the Perth Amboy City Hos- 
pital, and there also added materially to the debt which is owed him 
by the community. Mr. Shull is a conspicuous figure in the social and 
fraternal life of Perth Amboy, and is a member of Raritan Lodge, No. 
61, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons; and of Columbia Lodge, No. 
139, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, of Easton, Pennsylvania, and 
has served as noble grand in the latter organization. He and his family 
are Presbyterian in religious belief and attend the First Church of that 
denomination at Perth Amboy. 

Samuel Eakin Shull was united in marriage, August 23, 1884, in 
Easton, Pennsylvania, with Laura Catherine Houck, a daughter of 
Amos and Louisa (Meyers) Houck, highly esteemed residents of that 
city, Mr. and Mrs. Shull are the parents of two children, as follows: 
John Vergil, born September 3, 1885, and Margaret Lucretia, bom 
March 18, 1902. 



JAMES LAWRENCE BRAIDWOOD.— Combining utility and art 
in his attractive Gift and Art Shop on Smith street, Perth Amboy, James 
Lawrence Braidwood turns out many interesting bits of work to beau- 
tify the homes of the city. 

The Braidwood family is of Scottish origin; and Mr. Braidwood's 
father, John Braidwood, was born in Scotland, September 14, 1824. He 
came to America alone in 1849, and located in Philadelphia, Pennsyl- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 91 

vania, obtaining employment as a block cutter. Later, for a period 
of ten years, he lived in Chicago, Illinois. He then changed his place 
of residence to New Jersey and located in New Brunswick, where he 
died, December 12, 1897, having passed his seventy-third year. He 
hiarried Jane Lawrence, who was also born in Scotland. She died in 
Chicago. They were the parents of two children, of whom John D. 
Braidwood, now retired, and living in California, is the elder. He has 
two children. 

James Lawrence Braidwood was born in New Brunswick, New Jer- 
sey, May 18, 1862. Going with his parents to Chicago, in 1869, he 
received the greater portion of his education in the public schools of 
that city. Returning to the East in 1879, the family took up their resi- 
dence in New Brunswick, New Jersey, and the young man went to 
work for Janeway & Company, manufacturers of wall papers. Here he 
remained for sixteen years, becoming thoroughly familiar with the 
business, and incidentally learning considerable about those allied lines 
of business which cover the field of interior decoration. In association 
with his father, Mr. Braidwood started in the block cutting business 
in New Brunswick, in the Home News building, but followed this only 
for three years. He then came to Perth Amboy and opened a picture 
store, making a specialty of framing. Being an excellent craftsman, 
and possessing fine and discriminating taste, he has made a success 
of the business from the first. The modest beginning was made in 1907. 
Now Braidwood's Gift and Art Shop, at No. 54 Smith street, is a 
delightful spot to visit, and specimens of its work are on the walls of 
the finest homes and public buildings in this section. Mr. Braidwood 
has been a member of the Knights of Pythias for a great many years, and 
of the Junior Order of United American Mechanics. 

Mr. Braidwood married, in New Brunswick, New Jersey, Sarah 
A. Wood, daughter of James and Mary (Stevens) Wood. Her father 
was born in Ireland, and her mother in England. Both are now 
deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Braidwood are the parents of three children, 
all living : Chester A., born September 27, 1885 ; Ernest S., born February 
16, 1887; Leslie L., born September 13, 1896. Chester A. and Leslie L. 
are residents of Perth Amboy, and the latter is engaged in the uphol- 
stering business; Ernest S. lives in Somerville, New Jersey. All are 
married. The family are members of the Methodist Episcopal church. 



ANTHONY GRUESSNER, M. D.— Anthony Gruessner is the pos- 
sessor of a combination of racial characteristics ; on his father's side he 
IS of Hungarian ancestry, partaking largely of the Teutonic strain, 
while from his mother's side he inherits Jewish blood, she being of 
Hebrew extraction^ 

Jacob John Gruessner, father of Anthony Gruessner, was born in 
Hungary, in 1849, but in after years he came to America, locating in 
New York City, where he died, in 1905. His wife was Serena Adler, 
born also m Hungary, in 1849. She is still living, and resides in Schenec- 
tady. In this family there were eight children: Armand; Bella; Anna; 



92 MIDDLESEX 

Anthony, of whom further; Albert; Regina; Alexander, a sketch of 
whom follows; and Nicholas. While living in Hungary, Jacob John 
Gruessner had been the proprietor of a wine-producing business and 
continued in the same line after emigrating to the United States. 

Anthony Gruessner, son of Jacob John and Serena (Adler) Gruessner, 
was born October 9, 1880, in Gyongyos, County of Heves, Hungary. 
He attended the public school there for four years, then entered the 
convent school, taking four years' training in the gymnasium attached 
to it. Shortly after this his family migrated to this country, and taking 
up their residence in New York City, the young man had the advantage 
of four years' further tuition in the high school, following that with one 
year at Paine's Business College, in New York City. Mr. Gruessner's 
next step forward was to become a student at the medical school of the 
Long Island College Hospital in Brooklyn, from which, after four years 
of constant application, he graduated as Doctor of Medicine. After 
graduation he spent three years in hospital work as interne. The doctor 
gives special attention to surgery, in which he excels. 

During the World War Dr. Gruessner volunteered for service and 
was made a captain in the medical corps. His term of service was from 
August, 1917, to January, 1919, and was confined to the United States, 
as he did not have the opportunity of going abroad. 

Dr. Gruessner is connected with many organizations in New Bruns- 
wick ; in the way of business, with the People's National Bank, and in 
social relations with New Brunswick Lodge, No. 324, Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks. His connection with military societies is 
quite extensive, being a member of the Association of Military Surgeons 
of the United States of America; the Society of American Officers of 
the World War; and of the American Legion. Dr. Gruessner is also 
a member of the Association for the Advancement of Science, of the 
County and State Medical societies, and of the American Medical Asso- 
ciation. 

Though Dr. Gruessner's father was in religious faith a Roman Catho- 
lic, and his mother of Hebraic origin, he has become affiliated with the 
Magyar Reformed Church of New Brunswick. Dr. Gruessner is un- 
married; he maintains an office at No. 153 Somerset street. 



ALEXANDER GRUESSNER.— Many of the patrons of Walker 
Brothers' Hotel, at No. 4 French street. New Brunswick, have frequently 
commented upon the well equipped drug store which occupies a portion 
of the ground floor of that building. The owner of this pharmacy is 
Alexander Gruessner, and he asserts with pride that it is the best in 
Middlesex county, taking great care to keep it up to a high standard. 

Alexander Gruessner, son of John Jacob and Serena (Adler) Gruess- 
ner (q. v.), is a native of Hungary, though he has never known any other 
country but America as a home, being brought here while still an infant. 
He was born in Hungary, October 9, 1886. He received a good educa- 
tion in the public schools of New York City, and at eighteen years of 
age took a course in business training at a business college. After this 



BIOGRAPHICAL 93 

he entered the employ of the General Electric Company, of Schenectady, 
New York, remaining with them for five years. Mr. Gruessner left this 
concern to accept a position in a drug store in the same city. Finding 
this a congenial occupation, he studied pharmacy, and two years later, 
in 191 1, he obtained a license to conduct business in the State of New 
Jersey. He settled in New Brunswick, opening a store at No. 16 
French street, later removing to No. 143 Albany street. The business 
continued to prosper and he determined to open up a store in a larger 
field, so he secured the present location, at No. 4 French street, in 
August, 1920. The store has a space of 23x120 feet, modern in every 
particular, where everything in the drug line is dispensed. 

Out-door sports and athletics generally are favorite pastimes with 
Mr. Gruessner, but if he has a hobby it is tennis, and when business 
permits he may frequently be found upon the courts. He is also inter- 
ested in fraternal matters, being a member of the local lodge of Free 
Masons, and of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 

In New Brunswick, February 23, 1913, Alexander Gruessner and 
Esther Schwartz were united in matrimony. Miss Schwartz, daughter 
of Herman and Malvina Schwartz, was born in New Brunswick, and has 
always resided there, her father being a cigar manufacturer of that city. 
Mr. and Mrs. Gruessner have one child, Mildred Pauline, born April 15, 
1917. The family residence is at No. 129 Codwise avenue. 



MERRITT JOSEPH McALINDEN, junior member of the firm of 
Kelly & McAlinden, dealers in plumbers' supplies at No. 74 Smith street, 
Perth Amboy, has since coming to this city identified himself with her 
business interests, and as a good citizen as well as an able business man 
he is ever ready to cooperate in the philanthropic enterprises of his 
adopted city. 

Merritt McAlinden, father of Merritt J. McAlinden, was born in 
Perth Amboy, New Jersey, and died in Buffalo, New York, June 30, 1906. 
In 1868 he moved to the latter city and there became the superintendent 
of Hall & Sons' brick factory, which position he was holding at the time 
of his death. He married Bridget Hendrick, who died in Buffalo, New 
York, May 24, 1914. They were the parents of six children: Merritt J., 
of further mention ; John W., Katherine, Evelyn, Ethel, Florence. 

Merritt Joseph McAlinden was born in Buffalo, New York, December 
18, 1880, the son of Merritt and Bridget (Hendrick) McAlinden. After 
graduating from the Buffalo Central High School in 1898, he was 
engaged in the lumber business for a while, and in 1906 came to Perth 
Amboy to succeed his uncle in the firm of Kelly & McAlinden, dealers in 
plumbers' supplies, in which capacity he has since been engaged. Mr. 
McAlinden is a member of St. Mary's Roman Catholic Church of Perth 
Amboy. He is a member of the Knights of Columbus, and of the Raritan 
Yacht Club. His hobby is boating. Merritt Joseph McAlinden might 
well be called one of the prominent business men of Perth Amboy. 
Such he is in the highest sense, for as a business man he has established 



94 



MIDDLESEX 



an unassailable reputation for fair dealing, and his record speaks for 
itself with a distinctness not to be misunderstood. 

Mr. McAlinden married, September i, 1920, Ethel Holman, of Hope- 
well, New Jersey. 

CHARLES SPENCER THOMPSON, D. V. S.— As a veterinary 
surgeon. Dr. Thompson is well established in Perth Amboy, New 
Jersey, and prior to his locating there he had practiced in Rahway, not 
far from his present field of activity. He is a son of Robert and Hen- 
rietta Isabelle (Noble) Thompson, his father born in New York State, 
his mother in Newark, New Jersey. Both parents are deceased, Mr. 
Thompson dying in New Windsor, New York ; Mrs. Thompson in Rah- 
way, New Jersey. They were the parents of one child, Charles S. 

Charles S. Thompson was born in New Windsor, New York, March 
30, 1883, but when he was an infant his family moved their home to 
Newark, New Jersey, where he was educated in the public schools. 
After high school graduation he entered the veterinary department of 
the University of New York, and thence was graduated D. V. S., class 
of 1904. He began professional practice in Newark, but remained for a 
short time only, finding a more desirable location in Rahway, where 
he continued in successful practice for ten years. In 191 5 he located 
in Perth Amboy, his present home and office at No. 82 Market street. 
He is also health officer of the city. He is an Independent in politics, 
and a man highly regarded by his many friends and patrons. He is 
fond of all wholesome out-of-doors sports, hunting and fishing his partic- 
ular pleasures. He is a member of the Masonic order, an honorary 
member of the fire department, and affiliates with the First Presbyterian 
Church. 

Dr. Thompson married, in Rahway, New Jersey, October 20, 1908, 
Harriet Mansfield Crowell, born in Rahway, daughter of Harvey Dayton 
and Emily (Baker) Crowell, both deceased, her mother passing away in 
December. 1918. Dr. and Mrs. Thompson are the parents of two 
children : Virginia, born April 2, 1910 ; and Robert Wallace, born Septem- 
ber 23, 1914. 



RICHARD F. WHITE, a prominent figure in the public life of 
Perth Amboy, is serving in the capacity of postmaster. He was born 
in Newark, New Jersey, November 8, 1872, the son of Patrick and Mary 
White, of Perth Amboy. His father was the founder of a large foundry 
in Perth Amboy, and died here in 1916; the company is now known as 
Patrick White & Sons. 

Richard F. White attended the public schools of Perth Amboy, and 
after attending a business college entered his father's foundry in Perth 
Amboy, during which time he learned every phase of the business. In 
1907 he was appointed collector of revenue of Perth Amboy, New Jersey, 
and in this way was naturally drawn into the field of public life, but 
fulfilled the duties of his incumbency so ably that in 1916 he was ap- 
pointed to his present position of postmaster, and later received a second 





Kl^c^ 



BIOGRAPHICAL 95 

commission from President Wilson. In politics he is a staunch Demo- 
crat, and takes a k^en interest in civic affairs. He is a man of strict 
integrity and great firmness of purpose, and a tireless worker. He 
affiliates with the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, Perth 
Amboy Lodge, No. 784, and is past exalted ruler of the order; San 
Salvador Council, Knights of Columbus, Division No. 229, of which he is 
past grand knight; and with the Ancient Order of Hibernians, Division 
No. 3. He is also a member of the Democratic Club of Perth Amboy, 
the Raritan Yacht Club, and the New Jersey Association of Postmasters. 
In religion he is a Roman Catholic and is a member of St. Mary's Roman 
Catholic Church. 

Mr. White married Mary McClusky, a native of Perth Amboy, and 
resides at No. 18 Market street, Perth Amboy, 

Richard F. White is a public-spirited citizen and keenly interested in 
everything pertaining to the progress of his native city. 



ABEL HANSEN, owner of the great Fords Porcelain Works of 
MetuChen, New Jersey, the largest establishment of its kind in the world, 
and one of the most influential citizens of Middlesex county, is a native 
of Denmark, his birth having occurred in the city of Copenhagen, August 
7, 1863. He is a son of Hans C. and Marie (Thomsen) Hansen, lifelong 
residents of Denmark, where the former was engaged in agricultural 
pursuits and still resides, although he has reached the venerable age of 
eighty-eight years. The elder Mr. and Mrs. Hansen were the parents of 
seven sons as follows: Thomas, Jeppe, Anton, Christian, Abel with 
whose career we are especially concerned ; Marius, and Morris. Of 
this family all the members with the exception of the Mr. Hansen of 
this sketch have remained in their native land and are today residents 
of Denmark. 

The childhood of Abel Hansen was psEsed at his father's home in 
Copenhagen, and it was there that he received his education, attending 
the local public schools for the purpose. He was graduated from the 
Copenhagen High School with the class of 1879, and then served for 
three years in the Danish army, rising in that -time to the rank of ser- 
geant. The. young man then set about learning the manufacture and 
baking of clay, in which he soon became 1 proficient worker. For nine 
years he worked continuously at the trade in Esberg, Denmark, and 
then, having perfected himself in all its details, came to the United 
States and located in Perth Amboy, New Jersey, where he secured 
employment with the Perth Amboy Terra Cotta Company. After two and 
a half years spent with that concern he was offered a better position with 
the Standard Terra Cotta Works of the same city and remained there for 
some sixteen years. In the meantime, by dint of economy and constant 
industry, Mr. Hansen had amassed a sufficient capital to niake it possible 
for him to engage in business on his own account, and accordingly in 
the year 1906 he established the Fords Porcelain Works in Perth Amboy, 
of which he has remained at the head ever since. The new enterprise 
met with notable success from the outset, and f.'-om Ihat time to the 



96 MIDDLESEX 

present the business has grown and prospered, addition after addition 
being added to the original plant until todaj' it is the largest Porcelain 
Washtray Works in the world. The great growth of the concern and 
its present prosperity under the management of Mr. Hansen has been 
due entirely to his expert knowledge of the art of making porcelain and 
to his unusual talent for business affairs and his organizing genius. He 
has never departed from the high standard of business ethics which he 
originally set himself, and today his reputation for fair and honest 
dealing and for the quality of his wares and the service he accords his 
patrons have given him a reputation second to no industrial house of 
the entire region. Mr. Hansen, besides the conduct of his jwn great 
business, has participated most actively in the general business and 
commercial life of the community in which he has elected to make his 
home, and he is at the present time prominently a.^sociated with several 
of the most important financial institution? in Perth Amboy. He is 
president of Fords National Bank, vice-president of the Raritan Trust 
Company, treasurer of the Perth Amboy Building and Loan Association, 
and president of the People's Building and Loan Association, all of 
Perth Amboy. He is president of the New Jersey Clay Workers' Asso- 
ciation, and a member of the local lodges of the Masonic order, the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and of some thirty other organiza- 
tions, fraternal and otherwise. His clubs are the New York Athletic, 
the Raritan Yacht, and the East Jersey. He has also been exceedingly 
active in public affairs, and for a time was a member of the Excise 
Board of Perth Amboy. During the World War he took part in various 
activities necessitated by the great struggle, and served as food admin- 
istrator of this district. ,^y,.. 

Abel Hansen was united in marriage, December 21, 1896, in Perth 
Amboy, with Caroline Broderson, of that city. They are the parents of 
four children, as follows: Harry, a graduate of Rutgers College, who 
met his death while serving his country in the late war; Etna, now a 
student in Smith College ; Lynda, also a student in Smith College ; and 
Irving, now attending the Rutgers Preparatory School. 



FREDERICK HARNETT KILMER, director of the Scientific 
Laboratories of Johnson it Johnson, New Brunswick, was born in Chap- 
inville. Connecticut, December 11, 185 1, the son of Charles and Mary 
Ann (Langdon) Kilmer. Charles Kilmer was a lay preacher of the Meth- 
odist Episcopal church for many years. 

The elementary education of the boy Frederick B. was obtained in 
the public schools of Binghamton, New York, after which he entered 
Wyoming Seminary at Kingston, Pennsylvania, subsequently entering 
the New York College of Pharmacy. He also took special courses in 
chemistry at Columbia, Yale and Rutgers, and also a special course 
under Hoffman. In 1920 the degree of Master jn Pharmacy was con- 
ferred by the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science. His early 
practical experience in the drug business was gained at Binghamton, 
New York; Plymouth, Pennsylvania; and Morristown, New Jersey; 



■0 

■H 




BIOGRAPHICAL 97 

after which he came to New Brunswick and until 1899 owned and man- 
aged a drug store on his own account. That year he severed his private 
business connections and became director of the Scientific Laboratories 
of Johnson & Johnson, where he has since continued. 

Medicinal plant cultivation has been a favorite study with him, and 
his horticultural as well as chemical studies have added materially to 
the knowledge of ginger, kola, papaw, belladonna and other plants. He 
was one of the earliest advocates of the first aid movement, and is the 
author of Johnson's Standard First Aid Manual. In politics he is a 
Republican, and as president of the New Brunswick Board of Health, 
advisor of the New Jersey State Board of Health, and as a member of 
the American Public Health Association, he has been able to put into 
practice many plans for the solution of water and milk supply prob- 
lems. Dr. Kilmer holds membership professionally in many scientific 
associations: British Society of Chemical Industry; Royal Society of 
Arts, London ; North British Academy of Arts ; New Brunswick Histor- 
ical Society; New Brunswick Scientific Society; American Chemical 
Society; American Institute Chemical Engineers; American Public 
Health Association; vice-president of the American Drug Manufactur- 
er's Association; American Pharmaceutical Association; Society of 
Economic Biologists of England ; the Institute Arzenmittelhere of 
Braunschweig; Societe Quimica Agricola of Buenos Ayers; and the 
Institute of Jamaica. His clubs are the Chemists' of New York City 
and the Union of New Brunswick. In religion he affiliates with Christ 
Episcopal Church, of which he is a vestryman, and is also a member 
of the standing committee of the Diocese of New Jersey. 

On December 25, 1871, Frederick Barnett Kilmer was united in 
marriage at Sunbury, Pennsylvania, with Annie E. Kilburn, daughter 
of Anda and Ellen (Smith) Kilburn. To them were born the following 
children: Anda Frederick, January 12, 1873, deceased; Ellen Annie, 
September 12, 1875, deceased; Charles Willoughby, March 17, 1880, 
deceased; Alfred Joyce, December 6, 1886, killed in action during the 
World War, July 30, 1918. 



WILLIAM LONDON, M. D. — Among the younger generation of 
physicians of Middlesex county is William London, who, although hav- 
ing been in private practice but a short time, has already made a name 
for himself as a specialist in children's diseases. Not only has he won 
the regard of his brethren of the profession, but he is also gaining the 
confidence of a large clientele as well. 

William London was born in Newark, New Jersey, December 27, 
1896, the son of Solomon Bernard and Bertha (Featherman) London. 
His father was born in New York City and is now engaged in the whole- 
sale grocery business in Perth Amboy. Dr. London received his pre- 
paratory education in the public schools of Perth Amboy. Then fol- 
lowed one year of pre-medical course at New York University, after 
which he matriculated at the Medical College of the university and 
Bellevue Hospital Medical College, graduating in 1918 with the degree 

Mid-7 



98 MIDDLESEX 

of Doctor of Medicine. After serving one year on the house staff of 
Gouverneur Hospital, New York City, he became resident physician of 
the Pediatric Service of the New York Nursery and Child's Hospital 
until 1920, when equipped with the experience gathered in hospital work, 
he came to his present location, No. 256 State street, Perth Amboy, where 
he has since remained, limiting his practice to the diseases of infants and 
children, and carving out for himself a place in the front rank of the 
county's younger physicians and surgeons. 

On January i, 1920, Dr. London was appointed attending physician 
to the out-patient department, pediatric service, of the Nursery and 
Child's Hospital of New York City, attending physician to the- Perth 
Amboy Baby Keep-Well Station, Department of Child Hygiene of 
State of New Jersey; attending physician to the Perth Amboy Day 
Nursery ; appointed a member of the auxiliary staff of the Perth Amboy 
City Hospital, March, 1921. He is a member of the Zeta Beta Tau 
intercollegiate fraternity, the Medical Society of New Jersey, the Mid- 
dlesex County Medical Society, the American Child Hygiene Associa- 
tion, Middlesex County Professional Guild, and the New York University 
Alumni Association. During the World War he was appointed first 
lieutenant of the Medical Reserve Corps of the United States army. His 
hobby is swimming. Dr. London is unmarried. 



DANIEL W. CLAYTON.— On November 8, 191 1, when the citizens 
of Middlesex county elected Daniel W. Clayton to the office of surrogate 
they chose a man whom all knew to be the right man in the right place. 
Fitted for the position by nine years spent in the surrogate's office as 
deputy under Surrogate Peter F. Daly, Mr. Clayton's record needed 
no exploitation, as nearly every man in Middlesex county could speak, 
from personal experience, of hjs efficient work, courteous manner and 
sympathetic treatment of every case which he was called upon to meet. 

Born September 4, 1858, upon his father's farm, the old Maple Lawn 
homestead of the Clayton family, situated at Prospect Plains in Monroe 
township, Middlesex county, New Jersey, Daniel W. Clayton spent 
all the early years of his life, assisting his father in the work of the 
farm and in acquiring an education in the old Church public school 
during the months between harvest time and the planting season. 

Upon reaching the age of twenty-two years, Mr. Clayton gave up 
farming and started out to seek employment in some other line of 
business. His first position was as salesman in D. C. Perrine's general 
store at Freehold, New Jersey,. later becoming bookkeeper and cashier. 
He next became a salesman in the dress goods department of Edward 
Ridley & Sons, dry goods dealers on Grand street. New York. After 
gaining considerable experience there, Mr. Clayton came back to Mid- 
dlesex county. New Jersey, settling in South Amboy and opening a 
general store in partnership with a Mr. Hulitt, the firm being known as 
Clayton & Hulitt. While engaged in this business the death of the 
elder Mr. Clayton necessitated the return of his son to his birthplace, 
and rather than permit the old Maple Lawn homestead to pass into the 



BIOGRAPHICAL 99 

hands of strangers Daniel W. Clayton gave up his career and again 
became a tiller of the soil. The house was built by the elder Mr. Clayton 
just after his marriage and he lived there all his life. He was borh 
January lo, 1826, and died March i, 1884, at Maple Lawn homestead. 
In his early youth he had learned the carpenter's trade, but abandoned 
it to take up farming. The ancestry of the Clayton family is supposed 
to be Scotch, two brothers of that name having come to this country 
from Scotland on the "Mayflower." 

While residing at Maple Lawn, Mr. Clayton took an active interest 
in political affairs, being a member of the Democratic party. For four- 
teen years he served as clerk on the Board of Education, that being the 
first board chosen in Monroe township, part of that time being also 
clerk of the Board of Freeholders, serving on both boards. He afterward 
became deputy surrogate. In 191 1, when Daniel W. Clayton was a 
candidate on the Democratic ticket for the office of surrogate, he was 
elected by a majority of fifteen hundred, being reelected in November, 
1916, when the Republicans carried the county by two thousand. In 
his official capacity he has always extended to those in search of infor- 
mation such assistance as lay within his power, and from one end of 
the county to the other it is nothing unusual to hear the people say 
"Go to Daniel Clayton and he will tell you." 

Mr. Clayton is a director of the First National Bank of Cranbury, 
New Jersey. He is also a member of the First Presbyterian Church of 
Cranbury, being president of the board of trustees of the church. In 
fraternal affairs, Mr. Clayton is as actively interested as he is in politics. 
He is a past master of Apollo Lodge, No. 156, Free and Accepted 
Masons, of Cranbury, New Jersey, and a past councillor of Cranbury 
Council, No. 60, Junior Order of United American Mechanics ; also past 
deputy State councillor. For many years Mr. Clayton has taken a lead- 
ing part in all educational matters in his section of the State ; he was one 
of the founders of the Middlesex County School Board Association and 
has been the treasurer of it since its organization. Mr. Clayton and 
the various members of his family all reside in and around Cranbury, 
New Jersey. 

On November 17, 1885, Daniel W. Clayton married Katie J. Apple- 
gate, the daughter of Abijah and Sarah J. Applegate, of New York City. 
Two children have been born of this marriage : i. Bertram S., proprietor 
of a hay, grain and produce company at Cranbury. 2. Arthur A., a 
farmer, living at Maple Lawn homestead in Monroe township. 



FREDERICK CONRAD SCHNEIDER.— About forty years ago 
the Schneider family returned to New Brunswick after an absence of a 
few years spent in the State of Kansas. The father of this family, 
George Schneider, and the mother, Babetta (Keidel) Schneider, were 
both natives of Germany. After arriving in this country, they settled 
in New Brunswick, New Jersey, where Mr. Schneider conducted a 
shoe store for some time, but gave it up when the family went to Kansas. 
When he returned, he again entered the shoe business and now has 



loo MIDDLESEX 

a flourishing- trade at No. 52 Easton avenue. Mr. and Mrs. Schneider 
are the parents of nine children, all living at the present time but one, 
a son John. The others are : Charles, Anna, George, Frederick Conrad, 
of whom further ; Edward ; Elizabeth, the wife of Dr. Morris Farkas, of 
Orange, New Jersey ; Laura, who married Garrett Himmler ; and Lillian. 
All but Mrs. Farkas reside in New Brunswick, three of the daughters, 
Anna, Laura and Lillian, being school teachers in that city. 

Frederick Conrad Schneider, fourth child of George and Babetta 
(Keidel) Schneider, was born in Phillipsburg, Phillips county, Kansas, 
December 11, 1879, but his stay there was very short, as he was a mere 
baby when taken to New Brunswick. His education was acquired in 
the public school and in the high school, he graduating from the latter 
in 1899. In the same year Mr. Schneider entered Rutgers College, New 
Brunswick, taking the civil engineering course of four years, he gradu- 
ated from this college in 1903, receiving the degree of B. S. 

At this time the Pennsylvania Railroad was engaged in the work 
of elevating their roadbed running through the city of New Brunswick, 
and Mr. Schneider entered the employ of this company in the engi- 
neering and constructing department; this was in 1903 and the young 
man remained with them until 1905, when he became instructor in 
surveying and mathematics in Trinity College, Durham, North Carolina. 
In the same year Mr. Schneider received the appointment of city engi- 
rieer of. New Brunswick, retaining this position until 1912. 

Having had so much experience in constructional work, and real- 
izing the opportunities for success in that line, Mr. Schneider entered 
into the building and contracting business in 1912, and the result being 
entirely satisfactory, he is still carrying on the enterprise. His principal 
work is the construction of roads, and he has done a large amount of 
road work on the State highways, his largest contract being one which 
amounted to $335,000. He also built the roads at Camp Dix for the 
government, and did considerable work in Delaware for the DuPonts. 
The business is now carried on under the corporate name of the Utility 
Construction Company, Incorporated, in 191 5, successors to Schneider 
& Steele. Mr. Schneider is president of the corporation ; Otto R. Voel- 
ker, vice-president; and Mr. Steele, secretary and treasurer. They give 
employment to some one hundred and seventy-five men, and their con- 
tracts for 1920 totaled about $600,000. 

Meanwhile, Mr. Schneider became interested in politics in his city, 
and in 1917 was elected an assemblyman from his district, his term of 
office expiring in 1918. He was reelected the following year, serving 
as chairman of the highway committee the second year. He served on 
various committees, and was an active factor both terms he served. He 
was then made State committeeman from Middlesex county, being 
reelected in 1919 for a period of three years (1919-22). Mr. Schneider 
is connected with several organizations in New Brunswick, among them 
the local lodge of Free and Accepted Masons, and Lodge No. 324, Benev- 
olent and Protective Order of Elks. His clubs are the Craftsmen's and 
New Brunswick. He and his family are members of the Baptist church 
of New Brunswick. 



V/ 



BIOGRAPHICAL loi 

On February 3, 1908, Frederick Conrad Schneider was married to 
Ethel May Smalley, the ceremony taking place in New Brunswick, 
which was also her birthplace. She is the daughter of William and 
Emily (Lenox) Smalley, both born in New Brunswick, where they have 
lived all their lives and where their home is now located on a farm in 
the outskirts of the city. Mr. and Mrs. Frederick C. Schneider have two 
children, both living: Dorothea Ethel, born December 5, 1909; and 
Frederick C, Jr., born January 12, 1913. 

JOHN JOSEPH CLARK is one of the prominent men in the busi- 
ness and public life of Perth Amboy, New Jersey. His father, John 
Joseph Clark, was born in Ireland. While in that country he engaged 
in farming, but later he removed to Scotland and became an inspector 
in the sanitary department of the city of Dundee, Scotland. He married 
Helen Brady, who was born in Ireland, and they were the parents of 
eight children, of whom Thqmas P., of Short Hills, New Jersey, and 
John Joseph, of Perth Amboy, are the only ones now living. John J. 
Clark, Sr., died in Dundee, Scotland, at the age of forty-five years, and 
his wife survived him for many years, coming to this country and 
residing in Perth Amboy, where she died in 1902, at the age of sixty- 
seven years. 

John Joseph Clark was born in Dundee, Scotland, September t5, 
1864. He received his education in the Board or Government schools 
of that city, leaving school at the age of fourteen to go to work as a 
locksmith and bell hanger. This work he found less congenial than 
might be desired, and when opportunity offered he entered the linen 
industry in Dundee. The dash and spirit which he inherited from his 
Irish ancestry, balanced by the sound common sense of his Scotch 
training, was a factor iii his career, but the young man knew that his 
success in life depended entirely on himself. So he forthwith took it 
into his own hands, and at the age of eighteen came to America. He 
located at once in Perth Amboy, New Jersey, becoming identified with 
the terra cotta industry. He has been continuously engaged along this 
line ever since with the exception of a period about 1890, when he was 
in the service of the United States army, on the Northwestern Frontier. 

Mr. Clark has long since established himself in the confidence of his 
fellow-townsmen, and has been called upon to bear an important share 
in the city government. He is alderman from the Fifth Ward, which 
office he has held since 1913, his business ability and excellent judgment 
making his a sane and forceful influence in the deliberations of the 
board. He is connected with several fraternal orders, being a member 
of the Knights of Columbus^ the Fraternal Order of Eagles, the Army 
and Navy Union, and of the Foresters of America. 

Mr. Clark married (first) September 6, 1891, Anna PuUen, daughter 
of James and Anna (Carroll) PuUen. Mrs. Clark was born in Ireland, 
and came to America at the age of ten years. Her father died in Ire- 
land, and her mother in Glasgow, Scotland. John Joseph and Anna 
(Pullen) Clark were the parents of one child, John Carroll, who is now 



I02 MIDDLESEX 

an insurance adjuster and broker at No. 49 Wall street, New York City. 
The first Mrs. Clark died August 26, 1905. On August 2, 1907, Mr. 
Clark married (second) Rose M. Kilmurray. The family have always 
been members of the Roman Catholic church. 



GROVER TAYLOR APPLEGATE, M. D.— The Applegate family, 
represented in Middlesex county, New Jersey, by Dr. Grover Taylor 
Applegate, of New Brunswick, descends from Bartholomew Applegate, 
who in 1674 applied for permission to purchase land from Indian chiefs 
at MJddletown, near the Navesinks. The patent granted him called for 
land located on Raritan bay, at what is yet known as Applegate's Land- 
ing. The members of the family have always held honored position in 
community life, ranking as substantial agriculturists and business men 
eminent in the professions. 'Grover T. Applegate is a son of Grover T., 
grandson of John, and great-grandson of Richard Applegate, a descend- 
ant of Thomas Applegate, one of the patentees of Flushing, I..ong Island, 
in 1647, who came from Weymouth, Massachusetts, where he settled 
about 1633. 

Grover T. Applegate, father of Grover Taylor Applegate, was born 
at Applegate's Landing, New Jersey, and died at Red Bank, New Jersey, 
January 5, 1890. He married Margaret Herbert, born in Middletown, 
New Jersey, who died in October, 1908, aged seventy-seven. They 
were the parents of six children, as follows: John, now a resident of 
Brooklyn, New York; Daniel, deceased; Emily, residing in Red Bank, 
New Jersey ; Grover Taylor, of further mention ; Herbert, of Brooklyn, 
New York; and Richard, deceased. 

Grover Taylor Applegate, son of Grover T. and Margaret (Herbert) 
Applegate, was born at Red Bank, New Jersey, April 5, 1859, and spent 
the first sixteen years of his life at the home farm and in acquiring an 
education. He then taught school for one year in the home district, then 
was in charge of the public school at Holmdel, New Jersey, for two 
years. He decided upon a profession and entered Hahnemann Medical 
College at Chicago, Illinois, receiving his M. D. from that institution 
with the graduating class of 1883. He practiced in Chicago until Febru- 
ary, 1884, when he came to New Brunswick, where he has since practiced 
continuously until the present, 1920, specializing in chronic diseases. He 
has won high standing in the profession and has gained public confi- 
dence and respect through his professional skill and his manly attributes 
of character. During the World War he was a member of the Medical 
Advisory Board, and for a long time was president of the Provident 
Building and Loan Association. Dr. Applegate belongs to the Masonic 
order, being a member of Palestine Lodge,. No. iii. Free and Accepted 
Masons; Scott Chapter, No. 3, Royal Arch Masons; Temple Cora- 
mandery. No. 18, Knights Templar; Mecca Temple, Ancient Arabic 
Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine of New York City. He is a member 
of the State Medical Society, is State supervising medical examiner of 
the Royal Arcanum, and was supreme councillor of the Loyal Associa- 
tion from 1903 to 1906. He is a member and ex-president of the New 



BIOGRAPHICAL 103 

Jersey State Homoeopathic Medical Society, and a fellow of same ; mem- 
ber of the American Institute of Homoeopathy and of the senate of same ; 
member of the Middlesex Medical Society; member of the New Jersey 
State Medical Society ; and fellow of the American Medical Association. 
He has contributed extensively to the medical journals, etc. Dr. Apple- 
gate is also a member of several social organizations, especially clubs 
devoted to his favorite recreation, whist. He was a charter member 
of the Union Club of New Brunswick, of which he is president. For 
eighteen years he has been an elder of the Suydam Street Reformed 
Church and he has a deep interest in the welfare of that organization. 

As a citizen. Dr. Applegate has taken an active part in public affairs, 
having been twice a candidate for mayor of New Brunswick on the 
Democratic ticket. He was also a member and president of the board 
of water commissioners, having held that office for four years. In 
1887 he was a member of the Board of Education, serving for two years. 
He has given freely of his time and his ability to the cause of the public 
good, and is an ardent apostle of the gospel of prevention of disease by 
sanitary precaution, pure water and right living. His acquaintance is 
large, and to know him well is to admire and esteem him. 

Dr. Applegate married, in New Brunswick, New Jersey, October 25, 
1888, Sarah Mundy, born on Long Island, New York. They have no 
children. 



HAROLD RICHARD SEGOINE, although young in years, has 
already made a name for himself as an executant which might well be 
the envy of a much older man. He was born October 14, 1887, at Point 
Pleasant Beach, New Jersey, the son of William and Frances (Conover) 
Segoine. His father, William Segoine, was a civil engineer and sur- 
veyor, and for several years was county engineer of Ocean county. New 
Jersey. The elder man had also been mayor of Point Pleasant Beach, 
and ever took a keen and active interest in the affairs of the community, 
his relations to the public having always been an influential factor in 
support of advancement and improvement. He died April 5, 1919. He 
was a member of the East Jersey Proprietors, and was deputy surveyor 
of East Jersey; was also engineer for the Riparian Commission, and 
did much work along the east coast of New Jersey. The Conover family 
were of Revolutionary stock, the great-grandfather of Harold R. Segoine, 
Lewis Cowenhoven (later Conover), served under General Washington 
in the battle of Monmouth as sergeant. 

As a boy, Harold Richard Segoine went through the public schools 
of his native place, taking also the full course at the Freehold High 
School, and was graduated in 1904. Having in the meantime decided 
upon civil engineering as a profession, he matriculated in Rutgers Col- 
lege and four years later received from that institution the degree of 
Bachelor of Science, subsequently identifying himself with George E. 
Jenkins, a civil and mining engineer at Dover, New Jersey. Here Mr. 
Segoine remained until 1910, when he secured a position as assistant 
to the president of the Livingston Manor Corporation, realty developers, 



I04 MIDDLESEX 

with which concern he was identified until 1914, when he resigned to 
accept the presidency of the Highland Park Building Company and the 
Highland Park Lumber Company, in which he has continued up to 
the present time, 1921. In 1918, Mr. Segoine was elected president of 
the Cronk Manufacturing Company, woodworkers and box manufactur- 
ers, in which capacity he is still active. As a business man he is held in 
the highest esteem, it being his high sense of honor and his ability, as 
displayed in the conduct of his business affairs, which has given him his 
standing in the city. Mr. Segoine operates the old homestead farm, 
near Freehold, New Jersey, which has been in the possession of the 
family for four generations. 

From 1910 until 1914, he was borough engineer for Highland Park, 
and has ever been highly popular both as an official and a civilian. From 
1917 to 1918, Mr. Segoine served his country with the rank of captain 
of Company B, New Jersey Reserves. He affiliates with the Junior 
Order of United American Mechanics, Rutgers Chapter Delta Upsilon, 
and with the First Reformed Church of New Brunswick. His clubs are 
the Rotary and Rutgers of New Brunswick. 

On April 30, 1912, Harold Richard Segoine was united in marriage 
with Margaret Elizabeth Suydam, daughter of Peter Hoagland and 
Phoebe (Combs) Suydam, of New Brunswick. Mr. and Mrs. Segoine 
are the parents of four children : Margaret Elizabeth, born August 10, 
191 3; Ruth Suydam, born July 11, 1914; Frances C, born March 14, 
1916; Harold Richard, born September 28, 1918. 



J. MILTON PREGER, one of the many bright young lawyers to 
be found in New Brunswick, whose office is located at No. 360 George 
street, has been a resident of the city for five years, but for a portion 
of that time he was absent, serving his country on the battlefields of 
France. He was attached to the 311th Ambulance Company, 303rd Sani- 
tary Train, 78th Division, taking his part in the World War on the 
firing line. Mr. Preger was at the battle of St. Mihiel from September 
J2 to October 2, 1918, and the Meuse-Argonne front from October 5 to 
15, 1918. The best description of his part in the midst of shell fire 
is to quote from the official history of the 311th Ambulance Company: 
'"Milton Preger, lawyer and company clerk, was a good runner while 
at Veiville and was the first man, as a runner, to go to the shell-ridden 
stone quarry — the worst place of them all. He was game all through 
and stuck it out till we got out of the lines. Was worn out so was sent 
to the hospital to recover and never came back." 

Born in Blossburg, Pennsylvania, January 12, 1887, J. Milton Preger 
was the son of Louis and Sarah (Goodman) Preger. Louis Preger is a 
clothing merchant, located at No. 140 West Front street, Plainfield, 
New Jersey, having been in business there for many years. There are 
seven children in the family, all now living. During the early boyhood 
of the son, J. Milton, he attended the public schools of his birthplace, 
but his parents moved to New York City when he was thirteen years 
of age, and the boy continued his education at Public School No. 19 



BIOGRAPHICAL 105 

in New York City. After finishing the prescribed course there, the youth 
entered the De Witt Clinton High School, from which he graduated in 
June, 1907. J. Milton Preger immediately enrolled at the Law School 
of New York University, graduating in 1909 with the degree of Bachelor 
of Laws. In 1910 he was admitted to the bar of the State of New York, 
and five years later, in March, 191 5, he was admitted to the bar of New 
Jersey and has been in practice in New Brunswick ever since, except 
for the period of service in the army. 

Mr. Preger is a Democrat in politics, being a candidate for member 
of the General Assembly from Middlesex county on the Democratic 
ticket at the election of 1920. He is a member of the local lodge. No. 
324, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, the Improved Order of 
Red Men, the Loyal Order of Moose, the Young Men's Hebrew Asso- 
ciation, the Young Men's Christian Association, Charles Henry Post 
of the American Legion, and the Middlesex County Bar Association. 
Mr. Preger is a member of the Masonic order, affiliating with Union 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons. He attends the Jewish Temple of 
New Brunswick. 

In his boyhood days and during his high school career Mr. Preger 
was very fond of all athletic sports, playing on the Midget football team 
at De Witt Clinton High School. He is still enthusiastic in the matter 
of swimming, an exercise in which he frequently indulges. 



EUGENE MASON CLARK.— Emigration to America of members 
of the Clark family began early in the colonization period of our his- 
tory, and from the earliest record of any of the name the various branches 
have produced men of sterling worth, who have rendered service in our 
Republic in the various walks of life, respected and honored citizens. 
The branch to which Eugene Mason Clark belongs have lived for many 
years in Rahway, New Jersey. 

William Terrill Clark, father of Eugene Mason Clark, was born in 
Rahway, and died in Woodbridge. He learned the trade of wheelwright 
and cabinet maker when a young man and followed these occupations 
throughout his entire lifetime. He married Elizabeth Mason, a native 
of Jersey City ; she died in Rahway. To Mr. and Mrs. Clark were born 
three children : William Henry, freight agent for the Pennsylvania Rail- 
road in Philadelphia ; Eugene Mason, mentioned below ; Sarah, widow of 
Vernon Steele. 

Eugene Mason Clark was born in Plainfield, New Jersey, November 
23, 1876. He moved with his parents to Woodbridge when he was very 
young, obtaining his education in the schools of the latter place. At 
the age of sixteen he entered upon his business career, securing a position 
as clerk in the office of the Salamander Brick Works, at the same time 
attending Woods Business College, from which he was graduated, and 
then was made the New York salesman for these works. Later he was 
made assistant superintendent of the Southern Clay Product Company 
at Buena Vista, Virginia, and was with this concern two years when he 
left to take charge of the office of the National Fireproofing Company 



io6 MIDDLESEX 

at Lorillard, New Jersey. One year later he secured a position as book- 
keeper in the First National Bank of Perth Amboy, and in 1906, when 
the First National Bank of Roosevelt was organized at Chrome, Mr. 
Clark accepted his present position as cashier. He is a Republican in 
political belief, and at one time finished an unexpired term as park 
commissioner of Perth Amboy. He fraternizes with the junior Order 
of United American Mechanics, and Raritan Lodge, No. 61, Free and 
Accepted Masons, of Perth Amboy. In 1920 he was elected secretary 
and treasurer of Group No. i, New Jersey Bankers' Association. In 
religious belief Mr. Clark is a Methodist. 

On September 18, 1902, Mr. Clark was united in marriage with 
Matilda Christine Brown, daughter of Rasmus and Christine (Freder- 
icks) Brown, of Perth Amboy. Mr. and Mrs. Clark are the parents of 
one child, Howard Eugene, born May 25, 191 1. 



DAVID JOHN KAUFMANN, widely known among Perth Amboy 
business men, who for the past eighteen years has been actively identi- 
fied with the business life of the city, as president and treasurer of the 
firm of Potts & Kaufmann, Incorporated, wholesale grocers and flour 
merchants, stands today prominently linked with the city's business 
interests. 

Israel Kaufmann, father of David John Kaufmann, was born in Ger- 
many, in 1836, and emigrated to America in 1848, locating in New York, 
where he later became engaged in the wool business on West Forty- 
seventh street, and where he died in 1902 at the age of sixty-six years. 
He married Lena Kaufmann, a native of New York City, and they were 
the parents of four children : David John, of further mention ; Abraham, 
engaged in. the grocery business in Prenso, California, married, and has 
one child, Isabella; Isabella, widow of Henry Litchenstein, who has a 
daughter, Lena ; Aaron, died at birth. Mrs. Kaufmann died in 1869, at 
the age of twenty-one years, when her fourth child was born. 

David John Kaufmann, son of Israel and Lena (Kaufmann) Kauf- 
mann, was born July 21, 1865, in New York City. He was educated in 
the public schools of New York City, and New York College, from which 
he was graduated in 1883. He was first employed by Bissell & Haydock, 
hardware dealers, accepting the position of cashier, and after a year and 
a half became a grocery salesman, travelling from Omaha to San Fran- 
cisco, subsequently accepting the position of salesman for L. F. Hersh 
Brothers, wholesale grocers, of Elizabeth, New Jersey, remaining with 
this latter concern for fifteen years. In 1902, desiring to establish him- 
self in business, he opened a small establishment on the corner of 
State and Fayette streets, Perth Amboy, and the firm of Potts & Kauf- 
mann, Incorporated, wholesale grocers and flour merchants, at Nos. 
224-226 Washington street, Perth Amboy, employing fifty-five people 
and doing an annual business of $2,500,000, is the outgrowth of that 
little enterprise, Mr. Kaufmann being president and treasurer of this 
extensive business. More than to any other one man this enterprise owes 
its magnitude and prestige to its president, whose foresight, breadth of 



BIOGRAPHICAL 107 

view and capacity for prompt decision may be termed the cornerstone 
of this flourishing business. 

Mr. Kaufmann carries with him the suggestion of intense vitality and. 
alertness, and the briefest talk with him reveals his ability and his rare 
gift for managing a large enterprise. He is a man who while great in 
action is no less so in thought. His magnitude in execution is equalled 
by his breadth of outlook. He sees on the horizon the possibilities of 
the future and with all his strength he labors for their realization. In 
politics he is a Republican, but while never consenting to hold office he 
always gives his loyal support to measures calculated to benefit the 
community and promote its rapid and substantial development. Mr. 
Kaufmann's hobby is reading, he being particularly interested in ancient 
history. We have not said that Mr. Kaufmann is a good citizen for that 
fact is self-evident, as he is steadily and efficiently ministering to the 
advancement of his community. 



EDWIN IRVING CRONK, M. D., began the practice of medicine 
in New Brunswick, New Jersey, a city in which he was born and where 
his forty-five years have been spent. He is a son of Lyman and Anna 
Cronk, his father a veteran of the Civil War, 1861-65, and a veteran New 
Brunswick manufacturer of sash, blinds and doors, now retired. 

Edwin Irving Cronk was bom in New Brunswick, New Jersey, No- 
vember 30, 1876. He passed through all grades of the public schools, 
finishing with high school graduation, class of 1895. He prepared for the 
practice of medicine in Hahnemann Medical College and Hospital, Phil- 
adelphia, Pennsylvania, and was graduated M. D., class of 1900, and in 
the same year began the practice of his profession in New Brunswick. 
From 1900 to 1910 he was city physician, 1910 to 1921 health officer, and 
during the same period medical. inspector of public schools. During the 
selective draft period, 1917-18, he was medical director of Draft Board 
No. I for Middlesex county. Dr. Cronk is a member of Union Lodge, 
No. 19, Free and Accepted Masons ; the Fraternal Order of Eagles ; 
Loyal Order of Moose ; and the Royal Arcanum. His clubs are the New 
Brunswick, City and Lion's, all of New Brunswick. In politics he is a 
Republican; in religious faith affiliated with Pitman Methodist Church. 

Dr. Cronk married, in Cincinnati, Ohio, June 7, 1905, Mary L. Ellis. 
Dr. and Mrs. Cronk are the parents of two children : Madeline Clayton, 
bom December 15, 1906; Ellis Irving, born February 9, 1910. 



DAVID THEODORE WILENTZ, one of the large group of pro- 
fessional men in Perth Amboy, New Jersey, is a prominent figure. Still 
a young man, and only recently established in his profession as attomey- 
at-law, he is commanding the attention of the general public as well as 
his colleagues of the bar. 

Mr. Wilentz is a son of Nathan and Bertha (Crane) Wilentz, who 
were both born in Russia. Nathan Wilentz is a well known man in the 
business world of Perth Amboy, having been in the wholesale tobacco 
business here for about thirty-five years. Nathan and Bertha (Crane) 



io8 MIDDLESEX 

Wilentz are the parents of seven children : Jennie, now Mrs. Snaper, of 
Perth Amboy, New Jersey ; Fannie, now Mrs. Miller, of Cleveland, Ohio ; 
Frank, of Perth Amboy, New Jersey; Kate B., now Mrs. Kanter, of New- 
ark, New Jersey; William, of Perth Amboy, New Jersey, a student in 
Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia; Ada, a student in Montclair. 
New Jersey, lives at home ; and David Theodore, of further mention. 

David Theodore Wilentz was born in Russia, December 21, 1894. He 
came with his family to America while yet a child, and received his early 
education in the public and high schools of Perth Amboy, being gradu- 
ated from the latter in 1912. Choosing a legal career, he entered the New 
York Law School and was graduated in 1917. For two periods of one 
year and a half each, Mr. Wilentz was in newspaper work as reporter, 
first on the Perth Amboy "Evening News," then later on the Plainfield, 
New Jersey, "Courier-News." 

During the recent World War, Mr. Wilentz bore his share in the 
service of the United States Army. From October, 1917, to October, 
1918, he served in the Quartermaster's Corps, at Fort DuPont, Delaware, 
and from October, 1918, to December, 1918, in the Officers' Training 
School at Camp Joseph E. Johnston. Since his discharge he has followed 
the practice of law, which was interrupted so soon after his graduation. 
He is a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 

Mr. Wilentz married, February 22, 1920, in Perth Amboy, Lena Gold- 
man, daughter of Barnett and Sarah (Diamond) Goldman. Mr. and Mrs. 
Wilentz are members of the Jewish church. 



HERBERT JAMES LONG. — Progressive in business, and with a 
chorough understanding of his particular line of work, Herbert James 
Long has made the name of the "Kompak Water Heater" well known 
throughout the United States and, because of a large export trade, almost 
equally so in other countries. 

Born in Cleveland, Ohio, September 21, 1878, Herbert James Long 
was the son of Albert and Etta (Wilbur) Long, lifelong residents of 
Cleveland, both having been born there. Albert Long, who was an 
accountant in the city, died in 1879, ^"^ '^'s wife, surviving him for many 
years, died at her home in Cleveland, at the age of fifty-two. They were 
the parents of four children: i. Myron, deceased. 2. William J., who 
resides in New York City. 3. Mabel, the wife of C. S. Beardslee, of 
Cleveland. 4. Herbert James, of whom further. 

The Long family is of English ancestry, the grandfather of Herbert 
James Long coming to the United States from England many years ago 
and going at once to Cleveland, establishing his home there. On the 
maternal side, Mr. Long is a descendant of the well known Wilbur 
family, one of the oldest in Qeveland, the Wilbur homestead being one 
of the show places in the city. 

Having attended the grammer school and graduated from the Cen- 
tral High School in 1896, Herbert James Long took a course in civil engi- 
neering at the Case School of Applied Science. He then received the 
appointment of civil engineer for the city of Cleveland, a position he held 



BIOGRAPHICAL 109 

for four years. Following this he went into the plumbing business, and 
later became secretary and treasurer of the Monarch Water Heater 
Company of Pittsburgh, remaining with this concern for four years. In 
1907 Mr. Long came to New Brunswick to accej)t the position of secre- 
tary and treasurer of the Empire Foundry Company, and at the end of 
two years he left this company to enter into business for himself, start- 
ing in 1909 in the manufacture of water heaters, under the name of H. J. 
Long. Later it became known as the Long, Landreth & Schneider Com- 
pany, manufacturers of water heaters, the factory being located at No. 
226 Cleveland avenue. Highland Park. Eleven years after its founding, 
on January i, 1920, the concern became incorporated under the laws of 
New Jersey, the corporation name being the Kompak Company, this 
being the trade mark of their chief product, the "Kompak Water Heater." 
The business has prospered to an unusual extent, the last year (1920) 
it having tripled the amount of the previous year, in 1919 the business 
amounting to $200,000, and in 1920, $600,000. 

Mr. Long is connected with several of the local organizations, among 
them being: The Rotary Club, the Young Men's Christian Association, 
and the American Gas Association. He and his family are members of 
the Livihgston Avenue Baptist Church of New Brunswick. Mr. Long is 
greatly interested in automobiling, that being his favorite form of amuse- 
ment. 

In Cleveland, Ohio, September i, 1904, Herbert James Long was mar- 
ried to Emilie S. Hessenmueller, a native of Cleveland. She was the 
daughter of Otto Hessenmueller, who is deputy county treasurer, his 
home being in Cleveland. Mr. and Mrs. Long have three children, all 
living: Gertrude E., born August 15, 1905: Karl H., born October 6, 
1907 ; and John W., born October 6, 1909. Their home is at No. 235 Har- 
rison avenue, Highland Park, New Brunswick. 



GEORGE R. MORRISON— Although young in years, George R. 
Morrison, a well known attorney of New Brunswick, New Jersey, has 
already earned a distinction in his professional work, for his efforts have 
been so discerningly directed along well-defined lines that his life already 
may be called a successful one. 

James A. Morrison, father of George R. Morrison, was born in New 
Brunswick, New Jersey, and for a number of years was connected with 
the Morrison & Blue Printing Company, but of late years has given his 
attention to promoting business enterprises. A Republican in politics, 
he has always taken an active interest in the affairs of the organization 
having been city clerk and State committeeman for the party during 
1918. He has also served as president of the New Brunswick Board of 
Education and the Board of Health. Mr. Morrison married Rebecca H. 
J. McCowan, a native of Scotland. To Mr. and Mrs. Morrison have been 
born four children: Lillian L., wife of Raymond P. Wilson, of New 
Brunswick ; Helen J., a school teacher ; Jessie L., a school teacher ; and 
George R., of further mention. 



no MIDDLESEX 

George R. Morrison was born in New Brunswick, New Jersey, June 
27, 1893, and received his elementary education in the public schools of 
his native place, after which he entered Rutgers Preparatory School, from 
which he was graduated in 1910, and then matriculated at Rutgers Col- 
lege, where he spent two years. For the next six months he became 
associated with the New Brunswick Fire Insurance Company and then, 
having decided to enter the legal profession, he studied in the office of 
Judge Woodbridge and subsequently entered the New Jersey Law 
School, graduating from this institution in 1917, and being admitted to 
the bar the following year, he has since been engaged in the active prac- 
tice of his profession in his native city. 

Mr. Morrison is a Republican in politics. He affiliates with the Chi 
Phi fraternity of Rutgers College; the Delta Theta Phi law fraternity; 
Palestine Lodge, No. in. Free and Accepted Masons; and New Bruns- 
wick Lodge, No. 324, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 



DONALD WELLS REED.— From Ashtabula, Ohio, came Donald 
W. Reed, in January, 1910, and, as superintendent of the Eastern Coal 
Dock Company at South Amboy, he has taken a leading place among 
the men of his city. To him is due in large degree the founding and suc- 
cessful reception of the newest of the financial institutions of the county, 
the South Amboy Trust Company. In Ashtabula, Ohio, his birthplace, 
the family is well known through the connection of James Reed, Sr., and 
James Reed, Jr., with the Ashtabula "Telegraph," the elder Reed its 
founder, and the younger Reed its editor and owner all his mature years. 

James (2) Reed was born in Norwalk, Connecticut, in 1852, died in 
Ashtabula, Ohio, in July, 1912. He was of ancient Colonial family, the 
Reeds having settled in and around Norwalk upon the coming of the 
founder from Scotland, in 1626. James (2) Reed married Harriet Cor- 
delia Wells, of distinguished Connecticut family, who survives him, a 
resident of Ashtabula. Five children were born to them : Emma Louise, 
James, Donald Wells, of further mention ; Catherine Elizabeth, and Fran- 
ces Margaret. 

Donald Wells Reed was born in Ashtabula, Ohio, April 23, 1882, and 
until the age of seventeen attended public schools. He began his busi- 
ness career with M. A. Hanna & Company, iron ore and coal shippers, 
and for ten years was in the employ of that company, rising to responsi- 
ble position. In January, 1910, he entered upon the duties of a new office, 
superintendent of the Eastern Coal Dock Company, of South Amboy, 
and there he has spent the past ten years. He ably fills the duties of his 
office and has won the abundant goodwill of those associated with him 
of either higher, lower or equal rank. When the South Amboy Trust 
Company was organized, and on July i, 1919, opened for business, Donald 
W. Reed was made its first president and a director of same. The com- 
pany has had a prosperous first year and shows wise, conservative man- 
agement. 

Mr. Reed is a Republican in politics; a member of the Protestant 
Episcopal church, and a member of the Masonic order, affiliating with 



BIOGRAPHICAL in 

St. Stephen's Lodge, No. 63, of South Amboy, and Amboy Chapter, No. 
4, Royal Arch Masons. His clubs are : The South Amboy Yacht, Mid- 
dlesex Country, and the East Jersey. In 1918 he was enrolled with the 
local military company of reserves and took an active part in the various 
forms of war work during the World War. He is an enthusiastic motor- 
ist and makes that his principal form of recreation. 

Mr. Reed married in Ashtabula, Ohio, September 6, 1905, Helen 
Marie Kelley, born in that city, daughter of Dr. David Edward and 
Nellie (Moore) Kelley, the latter deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Reed are the 
parents of two children: Donald Wells (2), born February 21, 1907; 
and Claire Louise, born November 21, 1910. 



BENJAMIN GUTMANN, M. D.— Any history of the medical pro- 
fession of Middlesex county would be incomplete without the name of 
Dr. Benjamin Gutmann, whose career as a physician has been consist- 
ently devoted to the welfare of his fellow-citizens of New Brunswick, 
New Jersey, with a success achieved by but few. 

Jacob Gutmann, father of Dr. Gutmann, was born in Baden, Ger- 
many. In 1855 he set out from Germany in a small sailing vessel, and 
upon his arrival in this country settled in South Amboy, New Jersey, 
where he established himself in the dry goods business, being a pioneer 
in that particular line of trade. He married Sophia Edwards Thompson, 
a native of Prospect Plains, New Jersey, and to them were born three 
children, Benjamin Gutmann being their only surviving child. Mr. and 
Mrs. Gutmann are both deceased, the former having passfed away in 1881, 
the latter in 1902. 

Dr. Benjamin Gutmann was born in South Amboy, New Jersey, De- 
cember 29, 1877, and received the preliminary portion of his education in 
the schools of his native place. He then entered Glenwood Collegiate 
Institute, Matawan, New Jersey, from which he was graduated in 1893. 
In the meantime, however, his attention was turned forcibly to the pro- 
fession of medicine and he decided to make it his life career. With this 
end in view, he matriculated at Jefferson Medical College, from which he 
received the degree of Doctor of Medicine in 1897, during which time he 
devoted two years to the out-patient surgical service. Immediately after 
graduation, he came to New Brunswick, New Jersey, where he began 
practice and here continued uninterruptedly for thirteen years, when, in 
1913, he took post-graduate study in medicine at Vienna and Berlin, Ger- 
many, later resuming his practice at New Brunswick. In 1919 Dr. Gut- 
mann received a certificate from Harvard Graduate School of Medicine. 
By reason of taste and natural aptitude, he directs his entire attention to 
internal diseases, and is in possession of a large and increasing clientele. 

Dr. Gutmann is a member of the American Medical Association, New 
Jersey State Medical Society, Middlesex County Medical Society, medi- 
cal section of the Rutgers Club, Society of Surgeons, of New Jersey, 
Anglo-American Society of Berlin, American Association of Vienna, and 
the Academy of Medicine of Northern New Jersey. He is a member of 
the Dutch Reformed Church of New Brunswick. 



ii2 MIDDLESEX 

On November 15, 1904, Dr. Gutmann was united in marriage with 
Marie Louise Fisher, daughter of Charles and Ella (De Hart) Fisher. 
Dr. and Mrs. Gutmann are the parents of four children : Margaret, Eliz- 
abeth, Anna, and Jane. Dr. Gutmann combines with his professional 
activities those of a public-spirited citizen, associating himself intimately 
with the leading interests of the community which he has chosen for his 
home. 

DAVID SERVISS. — The name of Serviss has long been an honored 
one in Middlesex county, and is one well known far beyond the home 
township, for a sheriff of the county bore the name, and his son, David 
Serviss, has held county office. South River is the home district in this 
branch, and there David Serviss, president of the First National Bank 
of the borough, has spent his life and there is most highly regarded. 

David Serviss was born in South River, Middlesex county. New Jer- 
sey, June 2, 1851, son of Richard and Esther (Messier) Serviss. Richard 
Serviss was also born in Middlesex county, was a prosperous farmer, and 
gave much time to the public service. He was sheriff of the county, also 
county collector, and held other offices conferred upon him by his towns- 
men. 

David Serviss was educated in the public school of Dunham's Corner, 
a private school in Old Bridge, New Jersey, aiid in Claverack College, 
Claverack, New York. After completing his own studies he began 
teaching, filling positions in the schools in Millbridge, Rahway Neck and 
Deans, Middlesex county. New Jersey. Later he studied surveying, 
mastered conveyancing and the detail of the fire insurance, and was quite 
successful. In 1902 he, with others, organized the First National Bank 
of South River, and has been president of that bank until the present 
(1921). Mr. Serviss is a Democrat in politics, and for twenty-five years 
was clerk of East Brunswick township. For ten years he was county 
collector, member of Board of Sinking Fund Commissioners of the bor- 
ough of South River for several years, and is the present treasurer of the 
commission. He is a member of Union Lodge, No. 19, Free and Accepted 
Masons, New Brunswick; and attends South River Methodist Episcopal 
Church. 

Mr. Serviss married, in Brooklyn, New York, October 6, 1886, Mary- 
Throckmorton, who died October, 1917, daughter of Charles and Rebecca 
(Martin) Throckmorton. To Mr. and Mrs. Serviss were born two chil- 
dren : Charles, deceased ; Esther Rebecca, residing at home. 



HAROLD GILES HOFFMAN.— To be the grandson of an artist, 
and the great-grandson of a sculptor, is a distinction given to very few 
in this world, yet such is the good fortune of Harold Giles Hoffman. His 
maternal grandfather, James Crawford Thom, was a noted American 
artist and a pupil of Edouard Frere. He exhibited his paintings in Lon- 
don at the National Academy of Design and at the International Ex- 
hibit in Paris, at this latter being the winner of the gold medal. His 
mother's grandfather was James Thom, a Scotchman by birth, and a 
noted sandstone sculptor, two of his studies, "Souter Johnny," and "Tarn 




/^^^-^^ yD^ 



j^^i-^irz^iL^^i^y 



BIOGRAPHICAL 113 

O'Shanter," in Edinburgh, being considered the world's best work in 
sandstone sculpture. 

The parents of Harold Giles Hoffman are Frank and Ada Crawford 
(Thorn) Hoffman, the latter being the daughter of James Crawford 
Thom, the artist referred to in the foregoing paragraph. Frank Hoff- 
man is a resident of South Amboy, and was formerly superintendent of 
the Raritan River Railroad, and for some years chief of the county detec- 
tive system. Frank Hoffman is greatly interested in political matters 
and is actively identified with the Republican party in Middlesex county, 
being well known as a successful organizer. 

Harold Giles Hoffman was born in South Amboy, New Jersey, Feb- 
ruary 7, 1896. His education was acquired in the public schools there, 
graduating from the high school in the class of 1913. He also took a 
special course at the University of Dijon, France. Mr. Hoffman's first 
business engagement was with the Perth Amboy "Evening News," he 
being a reporter for it and also the sporting editor. He is now the treas- 
urer of the South Amboy Trust Company, a position he has held since its 
organization on July i, 1919. He is also the secretary of and one of the 
board of directors of this banking institution. It is interesting to note 
that he is one of the youngest cashiers in the State, if not the youngest. 

When the United States entered the World War, Harold Giles Hoff- 
man enlisted in the National Guard of the State of New Jersey as a pri- 
vate in Company H. On May 12, 191 7, he was promoted to the rank of 
sergeant, and in October of the same year he was transferred to Com- 
pany E, One Hundred and Fourteenth Infantry. On April 19, 1918, Mr. 
Hoffman received the commission of second lieutenant, and on June 12, 
1918, sailed overseas with Headquarters Company, One Hundred and 
Fourteenth Infantry, serving in center sector, Alsace, from July 25, 1918, 
to September 23, 1918. Lieutenant Hoffman qualified as 37 mm. and 
trench mortar expert at Fort Plenoy, Langre, France. On September 
28, 1918, he was promoted to the rank of first lieutenant, and while in 
action north of Verdun was raised to the rank of captain, October 28, 
1918, his regiment being cited for its part in this same engagement. Cap- 
tain Hoffman was engaged in a succession of prominent battles ; on Octo- 
ber 8, 1918, at Malbrouck Hill; on October nth, in an attack on 
Bois d'Ormont; October i6th, at the capture of Etraye Ridge; October 
i8th, at the battle of Molleville Farm ; October 26th, Grand Montague ; 
and Belleau Woods, October 28, 1918. Captain Hoffman was in com- 
mand of Headquarters Company, One Hundred and Fourteenth Infan- 
try, up to the time of their discharge at Camp Dix, New Jersey, June 4, 
1919. 

A member of the American Legion, Harold Giles Hoffman is past 
commander of Luke A. Lovely Post, No. 62. He is also a member of 
the Methodist Episcopal Church of South Amboy. On January i, 192 1, 
he took office as city treasurer of South Amboy. 

At Long Branch, New Jersey, September 20, 1919, Harold Giles Hoff- 
man was married to Lillie M. Moss, the daughter of Dr. William P. and 
Ada G. Moss. Mr. and Mrs. Hoffman are the parents of a daughter, 
Ada, born January 24, 1921. 

Mid-8 



114 MIDDLESEX 

JOSEPH BROGNARD WRIGHT.— For a period of two hundred 
years and more the record of the Wright family has been a part of the 
history of New Jersey. The first record of the progenitor of the family 
in Aiperica, Robert Wright, occurs in Wrightstown, which was named 
after the family at the time of William Penn's landing in this country, 
Robert Wright having come over with him. 

Samuel Gardner Wright, son of Sainuel G. Wright, and father of the 
subject of this review, was born on the old farm in Monmouth county, 
October 15, 1815. Samuel G. Wright, Sr., was elected to Congress in 
1843 from Burlington and Monmouth counties, and was a Whig. The 
son, Samuel Gardner Wright, graduated from Princeton College, and 
was a farmer all his life. He served his country in the navy for nine 
years during the Mexican War, and was a master-at-arms. He married 
Margaret Brognard, granddaughter of Dr. Brognard, who came to this 
country with Lafayette. Mrs. Wright was born in Watertown, New 
York, October 12, 1815, and died in Monmouth county at the age of fifty- 
two years. Mr. and Mrs. Wright were the parents of five children : Ed- 
ward, deceased ; Joseph Brognard, of further mention ; Samuel, deceased ; 
Eugene, a resident of Florida ; Ida, wife of Frederick Kervan, of Bayside, 
Long Island, and a large dealer in tropical plants in New York City. 

Joseph Brognard Wright was born on the old farm in Monmouth 
county, which has been in the family for over two hundred years, Janu- 
ary 25, 1852, and attended the public schools of his native place until he 
was eighteen years of age, when he went to work on his father's farm 
and there continued for five years or until he went to Philadelphia, where 
he became a salesman for six years, subsequently coming to New Bruns- 
wick, where in 1900 he established himself in business, first, for three 
years, in insurance only, then added real estate, in which latter he has 
been very active. It was through his efforts that George street was 
widened and he also started the business trend to that thoroughfare, 
which is now the main business artery. 

In politics he is a Republican and has been very active in that party. 
In 1914 he was a candidate for mayor on the Progressive ticket. He is 
president of the Middlesex Auto Club of New Brunswick, and president 
of the Real Estate Board of the city. In religion he is a Baptist and 
attends the church of that denomination in New Brunswick. 

Mr. Wright has always been one of the active factors in the promo- 
tion of anything to advance the best interests of his home city. He is 
regarded as one of the best judges of property, and is often called upon 
to serve as an appraiser for large corporations as well as individuals and 
estates. 

Mr. Wright married (first) Anna M. Duncan, of Hightstown, New 
Jersey, who died in New Brunswick, in 1908. To Mr. and Mrs. Wright 
were born six children : Eliza A., wife of Harry F. Soden, of Freehold, 
New Jersey; Emma J., a resident of Trenton; Lester C, an engineer on 
the Pennsylvania Railroad, married Anna Collins ; Elizabetli D., wife of 
Irving L. Owen, of New Brunswick, New Jersey; Isabella S., wife of 
George S. Gowen, of East Orange, New Jersey; Oneita M., wife of 




L9"^i Hisinncat P"h €q. 



Cmi h'jE'^V/>lhiims i 5ro J^J^ 




^ <^^ C^^^'-j^-^^--^''^^ 



BIOGRAPHICAL 115 

David Succop, of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Mr. Wright married (sec- 
ond) December 5, 1912, Sarah Goodenaugh, daughter of William Good- 
enaugh, of Farmingdale, Monmouth county, Ntw Jersey, a granddaugh- 
ter of Judge Goodenaugh, of Monmouth county, New Jersey. The fam- 
ily home is located at Livingston Manor, New Brunswick. 



FREDERICK F. ANNESS.— In July, 1900, at Woodbridge, New 
Jersey, Frederick F. Anness, a prominent manufacturer and clay miner, 
organized the Anness & Potter Fire Clay Company, taking over the clay 
mining business of Lewis C. Potter. In 1902, in addition to clay mining, 
they built a large plant for the manufacture of hollow tile, and since that 
time the firm of Anness & Potter has enjoyed a large and growing busi- 
ness and now stands in the group of prominent clay miners and manu- 
facturers of Middlesex county. 

Frederick F. Anness was born January 12, i860, at Woodbridge, New 
Jersey, son of Charles and Adaline (Stagg) Anness. Charles Anness 
first became a resident of Woodbridge about 1855, coming here from 
New England. He conducted a clay mining business for a time at 
Woodbridge, and about 1864 became a manufacturer of fire brick at Spa 
Spring, part of Perth Amboy, under the firm name of Charles Anness & 
Sons, the sons, Charles W. and Samuel I. Anness. About 1888 the firm 
name changed and it became known as the Anness & Lyle Manufactur- 
ing Company, with the following officers: Charles Anness, president; 
Robert W. Lyle, vice-president and secretary, and Frederick F. Anness, 
treasurer and general manager. A large business was built up, and their 
line of fire brick, sewer pipe, and other clay products, became well known 
to the trade. In 1892 they sold out to the Staten Island Clay Company. 

Frederick F. Anness was educated in private schools at Woodbridi^e 
and Perth Amboy, and Pennington Seminary, at Penningfton, New Jer- 
sey. At the age of eighteen years, he started in the clajr manufacturing 
business under his father and soon became thoroughly experienced in 
this industry, later becoming superintendent of the plant. At the organi- 
zation of the Anness & Lyle Manufacturing Company, he took active 
part in its inception and continued as its treasurer and general manager 
until the disposal of the business to the Staten Island Clay Company. 
He then retired from the clay business until 1900, when the organiza- 
tion of the Anness & Potter Fire Clay Company took place. The first 
officers of this new company were: L. C. Potter, president; Frederick 
F. Anness, vice-president, treasurer and general manager, and Louis E. 
Potter, secretary. Later the Potter interests were purchased by Mr. 
Anness, and the present officers are: Fredefick F. Anness, president 
and treasurer, and James J. Livingood, Jr., secretary. Mr. Livingood 
has been in the employ of the company since 1909, and is now a stock- 
holder and takes an active part in the management of the manufacturing 
end of the business. Mr. Anness has given his undivided time to his 
business and has not indulged to any extent in fraternal or club circles. 
He is interested in the welfare of the community life of Woodbridge and 
ever ready to further any good movement for public benefit. He is a 



ii6 MIDDLESEX 

staunch Republican and abides by the best interests of his part. During 
the World War he was active in the various war work campaigns in 
which Woodbridge showed itself so well. 

Mr. Anness married, in 1887, Mina D. Potter, daughter of Louis C. 
Potter, of Woodbridge. Mrs. Anness died August 12, 1919. 



FREDERICK LANE BROWN, M. D— Since 19 12 Dr. Brown has 
practiced medicine in New Brunswick, New Jersey, his success being 
most gratifying to his professional ambition and to his many friends. He 
is a son of James (2) Brown, grandson of James (i), and great-grandson 
of Samuel Brown, of Scotch ancestry, all of whom were of Irish birth of 
County Armagh. Samuel Brown was a farmer, and resided about forty 
miles from Belfast, his death occurring in 1862, aged seventy. 

James (i) Brown was born at the homestead in Ireland, August 5, 
1816, died at Pluckemin, Somerset county. New Jersey, February 20, 
1890. He disliked farm labor and engaged in milling and merchandising. 
He married in Ireland, and in June, 185 1, he came to the United States, 
settling at Pluckemin, New Jersey, where he died thirty-nine years later. 
His wife, Margaret Stewart, died at Pluckemin, April 5, 1896, in her 
eighty-fourth year; she was a daughter of Hugh Stewart, of County 
Armagh, Ireland. James and Margaret (Stewart) Brown were the par- 
ents of seven children : Stewart ; Isabella, married James Chambers ; 
Margaret; Samuel, died in infancy; James (2), of further mention; 
Anna; and Josiah, who died at the age of thirteen years. 

James (2) Brown, son of James (i) and Margaret (Stewart) Brown, 
was born in the County Armagh, in the North of Ireland, November 28, 
1849, '^'id in 185 1 was brought to the United States by his parents. He 
was educated in the school of Pluckemin, Somerset county. New Jersey, 
where the family settled, and in April, 1869, began business life in a 
Pluckemin store. In November, 1870, he began business for himself in 
Pluckemin. He also engaged in the manufacture of clothing there until 
1881, when he moved to Somerville, New Jersey, and in a small way 
manufactured clothing. He prospered from the first, and the plant he 
built at the corner of Main street and Doughty avenue, three stories in 
height, soon required an addition almost as large as the original build- 
ing. Steady progress was made and about 1894 the business was incor- 
porated under the name of the Somerville Woolen Mills, of which he was 
made treasurer and general manager. Mr. Brown, during his active 
years, in addition to the upbuilding of such an industry, took deep inter- 
est in political affairs, and was an active member of the Second Re- 
formed Church, an elder and assistant Sunday school superintendent. 
Politically he was a Republican. 

Mr. Brown married (first) May 16, 1878, Gertrude Potter Lane, who 
died March 19, 1890, leaving three children : Nellie Louisa, born July 9, 
1880; Frederick Lane, of further mention ; Jennie C, born August 9, 1886. 
Mr.. Brown married (second) in June, 1892, Ella Lane, sister of his first 
wife, and they were the parents of three children : Gertrude, born June 
19, 1893; Hugh Stewart, born November i, 1896; and James Douglas. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 117 

Frederick Lane Brown, son of James (2) and Gertrude Potter ( Lane) 
Brown, was born in Somerville, New Jersey, January 13, 1883, and until 
1898 attended public school there. He then spent two years at Leal's 
Preparatory School in Plainfield, New Jersey, and in 1901 he attended 
Princeton University, whence he was graduated A. B., class of 1905. He 
spent the years 1905-1906 in the employ of the American Locomotive 
Company, then decided upon the medical profession. He entered the 
College of Physicians and Surgeons (Columbia University) of New York 
City, receiving his M. D. with the graduating class of 1910. He was 
interne at Bellevue Hospital (New York City) until 1912, and then began 
the private practice of his profession in New Brunswick, New Jersey, 
where the eight years which have since intervened have brought him 
professional honor and ample reward. He is a member of the county 
and State medical societies, and holds the esteem of his brethren of the 
profession. He is a member of both St. Peter's and the Middlesex hos- 
pitals. He is also a member of the Young Men's Christian Association, 
and of the First Reformed Church, and his favorite recreation is golf. 

Dr. Brown married, June 15, 1912, in New Brunswick, Esther May 
Suydam, daughter of Peter Hoagland and Phoebe Ann (Coombs) Suy- 
dam, and they are the parents of two children: Phoebe Esther, born 
June 27, 1914; and Frederick Lane (2), born June 7, 1916. The doctor 
resides at No. 67 Livingston avenue. 



LEONARD MORTON RATLIFF.— The Ratliff family, of which 
Leonard Morton Ratliff is a member, is a very old one in America, the 
first of the name coming to this country as early as 1775. They were 
originally Manxmen, having their homes on the Isle of Man, that self- 
governed island in the Irish Sea, just off the coast of Great Britain, a 
sturdy race with strong characteristics. 

Mr. Ratliff's father, John Ratliff, is a retired farmer and now lives 
at Marion, Indiana. He was born in 1848, in Henry county, Indiana, and 
married Isabelle Larison, who was born in 1858, at Amboy, Indiana, and 
died in 1887, at the age of twenty-nine. Their children were: I.Leon- 
ard Morton, of whom further. 2. Ruah May, the wife of William Adams, 
a farmer living near Springfield, Illinois. 3. Myrle, married John McCart- 
ney, a garage owner of Bunkerhill; Indiana. 4. Eurah, wife of Elmer 
Ridenour, a farmer of Lagro, Indiana. 5. Alvah, who died in infancy. 

Leonard Morton Ratliff, son of John and Isabelle (Larison) Ratliff, 
was born February 7, 1880, at Fairmount, Indiana, but when he was two 
years old his family moved to Amboy, Indiana, remaining there until he 
reached the age of seven years when they again changed their place of 
residence, going to Converse, Indiana. Here the boy was educated, pass- 
ing through the various grades of study until he graduated from the Con- 
verse High School at the age of sixteen (1896). The young man then 
obtained a position as clerk in a drug store at Francesville, Indiana, 
where he remained for five years. At this time he determined to take up 
the study of opthalmology and became enrolled as a student at the Illi- 
nois College of Opthalmology, completing a two years' course in that 



ii8 MIDDLESEX 

branch of treatment in 1902. For the next few years Mr. Ratliff prac- 
ticed in Francesville, Indiana, then, deciding to come East, he located in 
New Brunswick, in 1908. On July i, 1917, he established an office at 
No. 361 George street, where he remained until May, 1920, since which 
time he has been located at No. 336 George street, his present address. 

While devoted to his business, Mr. Ratliff finds time to spend in rec- 
reation and to take an active part in the affairs of his city. He is inter- 
ested in all matters pertaining to the schools and is a member of the 
Board of Education of Highland Park, holding office since April i, 1920. 
He is interested in Masonic affairs, being a member of the Metuchen 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons ; Scott Chapter, No. 4, Royal Arch 
Masons ; also of the Craftsmen's Club of New Brunswick, and the New 
Jersey State Optometrical Society. 

On June 17, 1900, the marriage of Leonard Morton Ratliff and Lulu 
Severns was solemnized in Francesville, Indiana. Miss Severns was 
born in Columbus, Ohio, the daughter of Orin Severns, of Francesville, a 
retired farmer, and his wife, Dorothy (Mahoney) Severns. Three chil- 
dren were born of this union : Eva Ruth, born July 17, 1901, died at the 
age of four and a half years ; the next two were twin boys, Herbert Mor- 
ton and Harold Leonard, born May 11, 1907. Mr. and Mrs. Ratliif have a 
very pleasant home on Grant avenue, Highland Park. 



CHARLES DIPPOLT SNEDEKER.— The records of the Holland 
Society of New York, of which Charles D. Snedeker, of Perth Amboy, 
New Jersey, is a member, show that he is a direct descendant in male 
line from Jan Snedeker, who came from Holland to New Amsterdam in 
1642, was a patentee of land in Flatbush, and one of the founders of the 
Flatbush Dutch Church. Cornelius Snedeker, of this branch of the fam- 
ily, was a merchant of New Brunswick, New Jersey, a member of the 
Board of Aldermen of that city, and a man of influence in public, busi- 
ness and private life. He married Mary Stonaker and among their chil- 
dren was a son Charles Dippolt Snedeker, who for more than a quarter 
of a century has been secretary and treasurer of Perth Amboy Dry Dock 
Company. 

Charles Dippolt Snedeker is a native son of Middlesex and, with the 
exception of his early business training in New York City, has devoted 
all his business life to the affairs of the company named. He is a world 
traveler, his journeys having taken him to all parts of his own country, 
to most of the countries of Europe, to Egypt and the Holy land. Public- 
spirited and progressive, he has given time to the public service, and 
during the war period, 1917-18, was a patriotic supporter of all war 
measures and, through his corporation, the Perth Amboy Dry Dock 
Company, did his utmost in keeping ships afloat. He was born July 17, 
1861, in New Brunswick, New Jersey, and there completed public school 
courses with high school graduation, finishing with a course at New 
Jersey Business College, in Newark. He began his business career as a 
clerk in a wholesale house in New York City, there becoming well 
grounded in business principles and in metropolitan methods of manage- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 119 

ment and operation. After a few years in business in New Brunswick, 
completing his New York training, he formed an association with the 
Perth Amboy Dry Dock Company of Perth Amboy, and upon the re- 
organization of that company in 1894, he was elected to the position he 
has ever since held, secretary-treasurer. This company has had a very 
successful and prosperous life, and during the war period was one of the 
active agencies in building, repairing and outfitting American and allied 
vessels. Mr. Snedeker has other business interests of importance, par- 
ticularly in financial institutions, he now being vice-president and direc- 
tor of the First National Bank of Perth Amboy, and director of the First 
National Bank of Roosevelt, New Jersey. 

In political faith Mr. Snedeker is a Democrat, and for two terms served 
the city of Perth Amboy as president of the Board of Water Commis- 
sioners, as member of the Board of Health, and a trustee of the City 
Library. He is a member of the Holland Society of New York, a fellow 
of the American Geographical Society, member of the New Jersey His- 
torical Society, and of the First Presbyterian Church of Perth Amboy. 
During the period devoted to the erection of the present church edifice, 
Mr. Snedeker served as chairman of the building committee. His clubs 
are : The East Jersey, of Perth Amboy ; Union, of New Brunswick ; and 
(Jolf, of Colonia, New Jersey. His favorite recreation or relaxation is 
travel, and he has catered abundantly to that particular form of personal 
enjoyment. During the period of war with Germany, he took a particu- 
larly deep interest in the sale of war savings stamps, and was chairman 
of the $1,000 Club, composed of men who subscribed for the full limit 
allowed by the government in one year. He was engaged with the cor- 
poration he represents in war work in their particular line, and aided in 
the various drives for funds and members. 

Mr. Snedeker married, in New Brunswick, New Jersey, June 23, 
1894, Mary Davison, daughter of John J. Johnson and Sarah (Schenck) 
Davison. Their only child, Charles Dippolt Snedeker, Jr., died in infancy 
in 1896. 



CHARLES VOORHEES HULTS, M. D.— As one of the rising phy- 
sicians of New Brunswick, perhaps none stands higher in the public esti- 
mation than Dr. Charles Voorhees Hults, who though not thirty years of 
age has made for himself a name in this section of the community that 
might well be the envy of many a longer established practitioner. 

Dr. Eugene A. Hults, father of Dr. Charles Voorhees Hults, was born 
in Perth Amboy, New Jersey, August 26, 1861. Deciding to adopt medi- 
cine as his profession, he matriculated at the University of Pennsylvania, 
medical department, and later at Hahnemann Medical College of Phila- 
delphia, from which he was graduated in 1886. He then immediately 
returned to Perth Amboy and established himself in the practice of his 
profession, where he continued until his death, which occurred in 191 1. 
He was health officer for the city and port of Perth Amboy for five years. 
He married Lucy Voorhees, who was born near Newton, New Jersey, 
the daughter of Charles Voorhees, who also was born near Newton, in 



I20 MIDDLESEX 

1813, and whose father in turn fought in the Revolutionary War. Lucy 
Voorhees was the mother of the following children: Eugene Arthur, 
Jr., formerly president of a manufacturing concern in Trenton for drying 
machines for pottery, now general manager for a concern at Saltville, 
Virginia; Sydney E., public accountant in Detroit, Michigan; Willard, 
associated with Merck & Company, chemists at Rahway, New Jersey, and 
Charles Voorhees, of further mention. 

Dr. Charles Voorhees Hults, son of Dr. Eugene A. and Lucy (Voor- 
hees) Hults, was born in Perth Amboy, New Jersey, March 14, 1892. 
After receiving his preliminary education in the public schools of his 
native place, he entered the local high school, from which he was gradu- 
ated in 1910, and then matriculated at the New York Homceopathic Medi- 
cal College, New York City, receiving from that institution the degree of 
Dbctor of Medicine in 1914, the last two years devoting his time to ob- 
stetrics. After graduation, he served two years as interne in the Metro- 
politan Hospital, and for nineteen months was surgeon at the Reception 
Hospital, New York City. At the expiration of this time he came to 
New Brunswick and at once entered upon the general practice of his pro- 
fession, with offices at No. 94 Schureman street. He has continued here 
ever since, building up an extensive and lucrative practice, and steadily 
becoming one of the best known and most highly-respected physicians in 
this locality. 

During the World War, Dr. Hults was a member of the voluntary 
Medical Service Corporation. He is a member of Phi Alpha Gamma col- 
lege fraternity. In religion he is a Presbyterian, being a member and 
trustee of the First Presbyterian Church of New Brunswick. 

On January 5, 1916, Dr. Hults was united in marriage with Marion 
Louise Potter, daughter of Charles H. and Mary (Wells) Potter. Charles 
H. Potter is president of the Potter Steamship Company of New York 
City. In all out-of-door exercises. Dr. Hults is keenly interested, and 
during his school and college days he played on the football teams. It is 
hard to predict the future of an already successful young physician who 
has not yet reached the age of thirty, but his present record gives promise 
of even a more brilliant future. Dr. Hults resides at No. i Stratford 
place. New Brunswick, New Jersey. 



JOHN WALTERMAR OLSEN, one of the most progressive and 
prosperous business men of Perth Amboy, New Jersey, where he is presi- 
dent of the John W. Olsen Company, Incorporated, is well known in this 
section of the State. The enterprise was founded by Mr. Olsen in 1914, 
and its success is due to his untiring effort and executive ability. 

Lauritz Christian Olsen, father of John Waltermar Olsen, was born 
in Copenhagen, Denmark, December .23, 1857. Later in life he came to 
this country and is now custodian of the Middlesex County Vocational 
School in Perth Amboy. He married Anna Peterson, a native of Copen- 
hagen. To Mr. and Mrs. Olsen have been born five children : Peter C, 
treasurer and manager of the South Amboy Terra Cotta Manufacturing 
Company, and president of the Terra Cotta Society of the United States ; 



BIOGRAPHICAL 121 

Fred L., steamfitter in Easton, Pennsylvania; John W., mentioned be- 
low ; Otto, a mason of Perth Amboy ; William, owner and manager of an 
electrical supply store in Perth Amboy. 

John Waltermar Olsen was born in Copenhagen, Denmark, June 17, 
1884, the son of Lauritz C. and Anna (Peterson) Olsen. When five 
years of age he was brought by his mother to this country. Upon land- 
ing in this country they came immediately to Perth Amboy, New Jersey, 
where his father had arrived seven months previously and was then 
employed by the old Perth Amboy Terra Cotta Company. John W. 
Olsen attended the public schools of Perth Amboy until he was fourteen 
years of age, when he entered upon his business career. His first em- 
ployment was with a brick company in Keasbey, where he remained for 
two years, subsequently becoming employed by the C. Pardee Brick 
Works. Two years later he became identified with the Raritan Hollow 
Tile Company, and was with this concern for fourteen years, the last 
seven of which he occupied the position of general superintendent. In 
1914 he established his present coal business which is incorporated under 
the name of the John W. Olsen Company ; Mr. Olsen holding the office 
of president of the organization, which is located at No. 282 Bertram ave- 
nue, Perth Amboy. Not alone is Mr. Olsen identified with this enter- 
prise, for on April i, 1920, he was made a director of the New Jersey 
Coal Dealers' Association. 

In everything pertaining to the welfare and advancement of his 
adopted city, Mr. Olsen takes a prominent part. He is affiliated with the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, Lodge No. 784; the Woodmen 
of the World ; the Royal Arcanum, and the Improved Order of Red Men. 
He also holds membership in the Bohemian Club, the Frem Singing 
Society, the Concordia Singing Society, the Raritan Yacht Club, and the 
Woodcock Association. 

On December 16, 1912, Mr. Olsen was united in marriage with Ma- 
thilda J. Peterson, daughter of John and Johanna (Madsen) Peterson. 
Mr. Peterson was a prominent citizen of Perth Amboy and died here in 
April, 1912. Mr. and Mrs. Olsen are the parents of two children : John 
Martin, born November 8, 1913 ; Cornelia Marie, born February 6, 1917. 



EGBERT S. PECK.— Son of Silliman and Louisa (Adams) Peck, and 
a descendant of the ancient and honorable Peck family of Connecticut, 
Egbert S. Peck came rightfully by his business sagacity, his ancestors 
being successful business men. 

Egbert S. Peck was born near Bethel, Connecticut, May 9, 1840, and 
died at Saratoga Springs, New York, August 3, 1890, after a very suc- 
cessful business career. He received his education in the district schools 
of Connecticut, and when a young man, less than twenty years of age, 
became a carpenter's apprentice and learned the trade. However, he did 
not remain long at this occupation, for having a business trend of mind, 
he came to New Brunswick, New Jersey, about 1868, where he clerked 
for a time in one of the local shoe stores. He managed to accumulate 



122 MIDDLESEX 

a little capital and then embarked in business for himself, opening a retail 
shoe store on Church street, New Brunswick. This enterprise was very- 
successful, as is evidenced by the fact that after a few years he was able 
to organize a company for the purpose of selling boots and shoes at 
wholesale under the firm name of E. S. Peck & Company, their place of 
business being on Duane street. New York City. He continued his retail 
establishment in New Brunswick, dividing his time between the two 
cities. As time went by his business in New York City increased to such 
large proportions that he decided to dispose of his retail store in order to 
devote all of his time to his New York interests ; this was about 1879. 
He remained on Duane street until 1887, then having acquired much 
knowledge of the shoe trade both in a retail and wholesale way, he re- 
turned to New Brunswick and with Fletcher and William S. Felter organ- 
ized the Middlesex Shoe Company, manufacturers of shoes. In 1889 he 
purchased the Felter interests in the firm and ran the business independ- 
ently until the time of his death. 

Mr. Peck was a man of strong character and direct action, realizing 
the value of personal development, for he, himself, was once a poor boy 
without unusual opportunities to assist him. The fine traits of his good 
New England ancestors he inherited, and they were of more value to him 
than worldly goods. By doing well everything he attempted, and striv- 
ing to succeed, he built up a business which was a credit to him. His 
integrity won for him many friends, both inside and outside of his busi- 
ness, and his commonwealth was glad to claim him as one of its front 
rank citizens. He had many friends outside of the State, and in New 
York City and New Brunswick, where most of his activities were, he was 
a leader in the business life. He stood high in Metuchen, where he made 
his home, and his death was a shock and a great loss to all who knew 
him. 

Mr. Peck took a great interest in all things connected with Metuchen. 
His interest as a voter in local political matters was of great importance 
to him, for he started with his vote at home to direct the destinies of the 
State and country. He was a strong and influential Republican, and his 
advice was often sought in political matters. Fraternally he was a mem- 
ber of the Masonic order, and in religious faith a Presbyterian. 

Mr. Peck married, October 22, 1873, in the Presbyterian church at 
Metuchen, New Jersey, Henrietta H. Thomas, born December 18, 1847, 
in Metuchen, daughter of Louis and Rachel (Clarkson) Thomas. Louis 
Thomas was born in Woodbury, Connecticut, and was a farmer and 
dealer in properties; his wife, Rachel (Clarkson) Thomas, was born at 
Oak Tree, Woodbridge township. New Jersey, a daughter of Joseph 
Clarkson, one of the old settlers near Oak Tree. Three sons were born 
to Mr. and Mrs. Peck : Louis Thomas, born May 19, 1875 ; Egbert, born 
September 10, 1878, died May 15, 1905; Frederick Clarkson, born April 
26, 1889. Mrs. Henrietta H. (Thomas) Peck yet survives her husband, 
and resides with her sons in the house in Metuchen, New Jersey, built 
by her father, Louis Thomas, in 1872. '. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 123 

GEORGE BROWN RULE. — The name of Rule is one of the earliest 
of English names in America. The immigrant ancestor of this family 
was sent by the King of England to look after the copper interests in 
this territory, and was invested with military rank, as the mining projects 
here were under the direction of the military authorities of Great Britain. 

Mr. Rule's father, George Rule, was born in New York City. When 
about two years of age, his mother, a widow, removed to Monmouth 
Junction, New Jersey, where he was bound out until he was eighteen 
years of age to a farmer, John Stout, and rebound at eighteen to a man 
by the name of Steadman, of Princeton, New Jersey, to learn the carpen- 
ter's trade. At about twenty-five years of age he came to New Bruns- 
wick, where he established the business which he left in the hands of his 
son upon his death in 1894. The location, No. 71 John street, has always 
been the same. George Rule married Rachel A. Smith, who was born in 
New Brunswick, and died in 1912. They were the parents of four chil- 
dren : George Brown, whose name heads this review ; Howard C, who is 
now secretary of the New Brunswick Savings Institution; John Stout, 
who died at the age of seven years; and Sarah Janet, who makes her 
home with her brother, George B. Rule. 

George Brown Rule was born in New Brunswick, March 26, 1861. 
He received a practical education in the public schools of this city, con- 
tinuing his attendance until he was sixteen years of age. He then began 
as an apprentice in carpenter work, serving for five years, thereafter 
working as a journeyman for his father in the same factory which he 
now owns. Taking over the business upon his father's death, he added 
to the structure which his father erected, and now has the largest plant 
of its kind in Middlesex county. In his mill department he manufactures 
sash, doors, etc., for his own use in connection with his extensive con- 
struction operations. Thus he has been identified all his life with the 
building interests of New Brunswick, and has erected many of the struc- 
tures which line the streets of the city. Mr. Rule is a member of the 
Masonic fraternity, the Junior Order of United American Mechanics, 
the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and the Union Club. He 
has been a director of Middlesex General Hospital for the past twenty-five 
years, member of executive committee and member of house and grounds 
committee, chairman of the latter for some twenty-five years. He spends 
his leisure time largely in motoring, taking an occasional fishing excur- 
sion. 



HARVEY IREDELL, D. D. S., one of the most successful dentists 
of New Brunswick, New Jersey, where he has been active since 1880, is 
a native of Horsham, Pennsylvania, his birth having occurred September 
25, 1856. He is a direct descendant of the emigrant, Thomas Iredell, who 
located at Horsham in the early part of the seventeenth century, having 
come from England. 

Harvey Iredell is the son of John Barnes and Sarah Ann Iredell. 
John Barnes Iredell was born in Horsham, July 16, 1832, and died from 
the result of an accident, in Philadelphia, at the age of sixty-five years. 



124 MIDDLESEX 

For twelve years he was a school teacher, and later became a shoe manu- 
facturer, which latter occupation he followed for the remainder of his life. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Iredell were born two children: Harvey, mentioned 
below ; Mary Ella, wife of Dr. William T. Wyckoff, of Philadelphia. 

The childhood of Harvey Iredell until his twelfth year was passed in 
his native place, after which he moved with his parents to Philadelphia, 
where he continued his studies in the schools of the latter place. He was 
associated with his father in the shoe manufacturingf for three or four 
years. Having a desire for a professional career, he entered the Phila- 
delphia Dental College and was graduated from this institution in 1880. 
He then went to Trenton, New Jersey, where he practiced his profession, 
but remained here for six months only, subsequently coming to New 
Brunswick, where he associated himself with Drs. Hull and Palmer as 
an operative dentist, and filled this position for eight years. Then, having 
purchased Dr. Palmer's interest in the firm, he formed a co-partnership 
with Dr. Henry A. Hull and continued in the same relationship for about 
eight years, when he purchased his partner's interest and continued the 
practice alone for several years at the old location, afterwards remov- 
ing to the National Bank of New Jersey's new building when it was fin- 
ished for occupancy. Dr. Iredell is the successor to the old practice 
which was formed in the fifties by A. D. Newell, who associated with 
him Dr. Edward W. Robbins. Here he has developed a large and high- 
class practice, and is regarded as among the leaders of his profession in 
the county. 

In politics he is a Republican. He is also prominent in the Masonic 
organization, having attained all of the degrees excepting the thirty- 
third, and afiSliated with the Junior Order of United American Mechanics. 
He holds membership in the Gun Club of New Brunswick. As may be 
judged by the nature of this club. Dr. Iredell is exceedingly fond of open- 
air life and to all pastimes associated with out-of-doors. He greatly 
enjoys hunting and fishing, and spen4s much of his spare time thus em- 
ployed, but his chief relaxation is gardening and to this he devotes some 
time each day. 

Dr. Iredell married (first) June 29, 1882, Mary Emma Williams, who 
died in New Brunswick, in 1898, and to them were born three children : 
Alma Hull, wife of Clarence H. Bruce, of New Brunswick ; Russell Wal- 
ton, an artist of New York City ; Albert Williams, a mechanical dentist 
of Boston, Massachusetts. Dr. Iredell married (second) Bessie Young. 
No issue. 



WALTER PARKER RUNYON.— It is the fate of the cities of New 
Jersey, fortunate or otherwise, that the gigantic size and financial impor- 
tance of their great neighbor in the adjacent State inevitably over- 
shadows them and gives to them something of the character of suburbs, 
yet a number of them contain industrial interests equal or superior to 
those that have given a national prominence to other communities some- 
what further removed from the metropolitan giant of the New World. 
Several concerns located in one or the other of these busy and prosper- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 125 

ous cities, have arisen to such size and importance as to emerge from the 
general class of local enterprises into a more individual distinction, and 
have become, either from their mere dimensions or because of their re- 
sponse to the particular needs of the time, the subjects of a wider and 
more univeral attention. More than one such concern is to be found in 
the city of Perth Amboy and of these, perhaps the most notable, is the 
Perth Amboy Dry Dock Company, the present importance of which is 
largely the result of the practical genius of Walter Parker Runyon, whose 
qualities as a business man and citizen have won him the respect and 
admiration of his associates and the community-at-large. 

Walter Parker Runyon is a member of one of the oldest families of 
New Jersey which has played a conspicuous part in its affairs for a num- 
ber of generations, and comes of French Huguenot stock, which has con- 
tributed one of the most substantial and capable elements to the citizen- 
ship of the country. The family was founded in the New World by Vin- 
cent Rognion, who left his native land to search for the religious and 
political freedom denied the Huguenots in France after the Revocation 
of the Edict of Nantes. This Vincent Rognion settled in the vicinity of 
New Brunswick, New Jersey, and from him is sprung the numerous 
family which has made the name in its anglicized form so generally 
known in the State and elsewhere. One of his descendants, another Vin- 
cent Runyon, as the name had then come to be spelled, was the grand- 
father of Walter P. Runyon, and the founder of the business that has 
since grown to such importance. He was assisted in his venture by his 
son, John Runyon, who afterwards carried it on, and who married Anne 
Beck, of New Brunswick. They were the parents of Walter Parker Run- 
yon. 

Walter P. Runyon was born in New Brunswick, New Jersey, Decem- 
ber 3, 1861, and his childhood was passed in his native city. As a lad he 
attended the public schools of New Brunswick, and later the Rutgers 
Preparatory School, from which he was graduated in 1878. During his 
school days he had spent much of his time in the old shipyard founded 
by his grandfather, and as he grew to man's estate became ambitious of 
a business career, so that upon completing his general studies he entered 
the New Jersey Business College in order to prepare himself. He was 
graduated from the lastnamed institution in 1880, and promptly secured 
a clerical position with the firm of Fairbanks, Martin & Company, woolen 
commission merchants, of New York City. Four years were spent by 
him in the employ of this concern, during which time he became thor- 
oughly familiar with general business methods and further fitted himself 
for the part he was to play in the business world. The two years follow- 
ing found him with the Metropolitan Life Insurance Company of New 
York, but his ambition ever urged him to become independent, and 
accordingly he severed his connection with that enormous institution and 
entered into partnership with the firm of Vliet & Dalmer, manufacturing 
clothiers of his native New Brunswick. It was during this time that he 
first became associated with Charles D. Snedeker, who has since con- 
tmued his partner in the great enterprises that he has headed. These 



126 MIDDLESEX 

two gentlemen were instrumental in organizing a new company which 
absorbed the old firm of Vliet & Dalmer soon after his connection with 
it, and which met with a high degree of success from the outset. It thus 
became possible, in 1894, for Mr. Runyon and Mr. Snedeker to purchase 
the interest of the John Runyon estate in the Perth Amboy Dry Dock 
Company, and shortly afterwards a close corporation was formed with 
Mr. Runyon at the head, which took over the entire stock of the old con- 
cern. The Perth Amboy Dry Dock Company was at that time a com- 
paratively small business, but since then it has steadily grown under the 
capable management of Mr. Runyon to its present position of promi- 
nence. The yard and its equipment have been continually increased to 
keep pace with the growing business and now possesses five balance dry 
docks of 10,000, 2,500, 2,000, 1,000 and 500 tons capacity, respectively. 
These are equipped with patent adjustable keel blocks, while a twenty- 
five ton derrick is in operation to lift and transport the heavy steel struc- 
tural work in use in marine construction. All needed supplies are kept 
constantly on hand, and the great water frontage of more than a thou- 
sand feet, extending over four blocks, affords ample pier space for new 
vessels and those seeking repairs. Machine shops of the most modern 
type are maintained, and the large boiler works are in constant operation. 
This great enterprise is still undergoing a steady expansion and is already 
one of the best known of its kind along the Atlantic coast. Mr. Runyon 
is president of the concern, and Mr. Snedeker its treasurer. 

In addition to his own great business, Mr. Runyon is associated with 
many other financial and business interests of this region and is vice- 
president of the Raritan Trust Company and a director of the New Bruns- 
wick Fire Insurance Company, New Brunswick, New Jersey, and the 
Perth Amboy Trust Company, of Perth Amboy. His activities extejid 
into other fields besides business and connect him with many depart- 
ments of the communities affairs, and he is a member of many important 
organizations and clubs here and elsewhere. He is vice-president of the 
Perth Amboy Hospital Association, and a member of the National Secur- 
ity League, the New Jersey Historical Society, the United States Cham- 
ber of Commerce, the Maritime Association of the Port of New York, 
the Manufacturers' Association, the Perth Amboy Chamber of Com- 
merce, the Young Men's Christian Association of Perth Amboy, of which 
he is also a trustee ; vice-president of the Raritan Terminal and Water- 
ways Association, and member of the Society of Naval Architects and 
Marine Engineers. He is prominent in social, club and fraternal circles, 
and is a member of the Royal Arcanum, the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks, the Lake Placid Club, the East Jersey Club, the Raritan 
Yacht Club, and the Union Club of New Brunswick. He is a life mem- 
ber of the National Marine League of the United States of America, and 
a member of its board of trustees. Mr. Runyon has always taken keen 
pleasure in outdoor life of all kinds, and at present spends his leisure 
time at the Lake Placid Club in the Adirondack Mountains and motors 
a great deal through that picturesque region. He is also fond of moun- 
tain climbing and fishing and engages in these sports to a considerable 
extent. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 127 

The participation of Mr. Runyon in public affairs in his home region 
has been notable, and he is one of the most influential members of the 
Democratic party in the State. He has served as a member of the Demo- 
cratic executive committee of New Brunswick and the Democratic execu- 
tive committee of Middlesex county. He was alternate delegate to the 
National Democratic Convention in 1908, and delegate to the party con- 
vention four years later, and has served on numerous State conventions 
during the past. Mr. Runyon has also served the community in several 
official capacities, and as a member of the New Brunswick Water Board 
and the Perth Amboy Water Department Commission was instrumental 
in developing the fine water supply now enjoyed by both cities. In 1913 
he was appointed by Governor Fielder, of New Jersey, a member of the 
New Jersey State Harbor Commission, and the following year, when the 
Board of Commerce and Navigation succeeded to the older body, became 
a member thereof. His services on these bodies was of such value that 
when Governor Edge was elected he reappointed him. Mr. Runyon has 
also represented New Jersey for some years at the annual meetings of the 
Atlantic Deeper Waterways Conventions. In 1916 he was the president 
of the New Jersey Wilson Business Men's League. 

Walter Parker Runyon was united in marriage, January 10, 1895, 
with Katherine Engle Hancock, a daughter of the Rev. Ezekiel Cooper 
and Emma Jean (Githens) Hancock, of Burlington county. New Jersey. 
Mrs. Runyon's death occurred on Christmas Day, December 25, 1919. 
Two children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Runyon, as follows : Cooper 
Hancock, born September 3, 1896, died October 26, 1919; and Walter 
Parker, Jr. 

CARL CHRISTIAN CHRISTENSEN.— The record of a life begun 
on Old World soil bears peculiar interest. Coming to this country when 
a young man, overcoming all the obstacles which meet one unfamiliar 
with the language and customs, Carl Christian Christensen has made a 
place for himself, founded a home for his family, and won a good measure 
of material success through his own unaided efforts. 

Christian Christensen, his father, was an industrious farmer in Den- 
mark, and died when Carl C. was six years old. He married Anna Han- 
sen, who was also born in Denmark and died there. They were the par- 
ents of five children, of whom three are living: John and Mary, who are 
still in Denmark, and Carl Christian, of Perth Amboy, New Jersey, who 
has built some of the representative structures which beautify the streets 
of that city. 

Carl Christian Christensen was born in Denmark, October 21, 1871, 
on his father's farm. There he learned the homely duties about the place 
to help his mother in her struggle with the world, attending school until 
he was fourteen years of agie. He then learned the trade of mason and 
carpenter, working steadily and saving all he could to make his real start 
m Itfe. At eighteen years of age he crossed the sea and came to America. 
He came alone, and located at once in Perth Amboy. Soon he found 
work at his trade and threw himself into the task of establishing his 



128 MIDDLESEX 

future success. He realized the advantage in the hands of the man who 
is working for himself, and at the age of twenty-five cut all his business 
ties and went into business on his own responsibility. The principles of 
industry and thrift which he learned as a lad had become a habit, and he 
was quickly seen to be forging ahead. Thirteen years ago he built for 
himself a fine residence at No. 139 State street, where he still resides. He 
has erected many of the important edifices of Perth Amboy, including 
the Danish Lutheran church, the Penn Street Catholic church, and the 
Danish Methodist church. 

Mr. Christensen has not confined his progressive activities to the 
business world. He has entered with the keenest zest into every public 
interest, ably filling for five years a position on the local Board of Edu- 
cation. He is director of the Perth Amboy Savings Institution, and Citi- 
zens' Building and Loan Association, and vice-president of the Perth 
Amboy Building and Loan Association. He is a member of the Danish 
Lutheran church, and active in all its work. Motoring is his favorite 
recreation at the close of the day's business, and whenever he can find 
time to spare for relaxation. He is a member of the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks, and of the Dana Society. 

Mr. Christensen married, October 21, 1906, in Perth Amboy, Anna 
Hansen, daughter of Nels Hansen. She was born in Perth Amboy, her 
father being a pioneer among the Danish population of this vicinity. Mr. 
and Mrs. Christensen had seven children and have lost two. They are 
as follows: Nels, who is associated with his father in all his building 
operations ; Walter, who holds the position of assistant treasurer of the 
Perth Amboy Savings Bank ; Arnold, manager of the C. & S. Company, 
of Perth Amboy ; Carl, who died at the age of two years ; Annette, who 
died at the age of fourteen years ; Kathryn ; and Eleanor. 



JACOB MORTIMER KLEIN, one of the most successful of the 
younger members of the bar of Middlesex county. New Jersey, and an 
influential citizen of Perth Amboy, was born February i, 1889, in New 
York City, a son of Max and Leah (Berman) Klein, the former a native 
of Bohemia and the latter of London, England. The elder Mr. Klein was 
born December 16, 1864, and came to the United States when but six- 
teen years of age, locating in New York City, where he later was engaged 
in business as a diamond merchant for twelve years. In 1900 he came 
to New Jersey and since that time has made his home in Perth Amboy, 
where he is still engaged in the diamond business. Max Klein and his 
wife became the parents of two children: Jacob Mortimer, of further 
mention ; and William H., who also resides in Perth Amboy, but is en- 
gaged in business as a manufacturer in New York City. 

Jacob Mortimer Klein passed the first eleven years of his life in New 
York City and while there attended the local public schools. He was 
then brought by his parents to live in Perth Amboy, continuing to attend 
the public schools, and graduating from the grammar grades in 1903, and 
from the Perth Amboy High School in 1907, being president of his class. 
In the meantime he had determined upon a professional career, and with 



BIOGRAPHICAL 129 

this end in view matriculated in the New York Law School, from which 
he was graduated with the class of 1910, taking the degree of LL. B., 
later reading law in the office of Joseph E. Tucker, prosecuting attorney 
of Middlesex county. The following year he was admitted to the bar of 
New Jersey, and in 191 2 began his law practice in Perth Amboy. Since 
that time he has continued in active practice there and is to-day generally 
recognized as one of the most able members of the local bar and handles 
much important litigation in and about Perth Amboy. Mr. Klein is a 
Democrat in politics and has interested himself actively in public affairs, 
though his participation in this line was interrupted somewhat by his 
war service. In 1916 he was a candidate for the Democratic nomination 
for the recordership of Perth Amboy. He ran for the recordership in 
1920, but went down to defeat in the Republican landslide with the rest 
of his ticket. On December 13, 1917, he enlisted in the national army at 
Fort Thomas, Kentucky. He was quickly promoted from the ranks to be 
a corporal and from that again to be a sergeant and then sergeant of the 
first class. He won his commission as second lieutenant, July 26, 1918, 
and as first lieutenant three months later. He was an officer in Field 
Remount Squadron, No. 324, located at Camp Johnston, Jacksonville, 
Florida, preparing for overseas service when the armistice was signed. 
He was honorably discharged from the service, March 3, 1918, returning 
immediately to civil life and the practice of his profession. Prominent in 
social and fraternal circles in Perth Amboy, Mr. Klein is a member of a 
number of clubs and other organizations, among which should be men- 
tioned the local lodge of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
the Young Men's Christian Association, the Young Men's Hebrew Asso- 
ciation, the Raritan Yacht Club, the Perth Amboy Gun Club, American 
Legion, Perth Amboy Post, No. 45, Raritan Terminal and Waterways 
Association, and the Perth Amboy Democratic Club. 

Jacob Mortimer Klein was united in marriage, December, 191 7, with 
Agnes Sayler, a native of Huntington, Indiana, and a daughter of John 
M. and Jennie (Wampler) Sayler, highly respected residents of that 
place, where Mr. Sayler is now a prominent attorney. Mr. Sayler's father 
was judge of Huntington County Court for several terms, and was also 
a member of Congress from his district. Mr. and Mrs. Klein are the par- 
ents of two children : Jacob Mortimer, Jr., born October 7, 1918, and 
Jane, born November 8, 1920. 



CHARLES HENRY DUNHAM. D. D. S.-For nearly two decades. 
Dr. Dunham has practiced his profession in New Brunswick, New Jersey, 
locating in that, the chief city of his native county about three years' 
after his graduation from dental college. He is of an old Middlesex 
county family, founded in New England by John Dunham, and in Mid- 
dlesex county, New Jersey, by Benajah Dunham, about 1671. Benajah 
Dunham bom in 1640, married Elizabeth Tilson, and came from East- 
ham, on Cape Cod. He had but one son, Edmund Dunham, but through 
him was founded a very large and influential New Jersey family 



Mld-9 



130 MIDDLESEX 

Edmund Dunham, born July 25, 1661, in Massachusetts, is best known 
as the distinguished founder in New Jersey of the religious sect known 
as "The Seventh Day Baptist Church." Dr. Charles H. Dunham de- 
scends from Benajah and Edmund Dunham in direct line. His father, 
Joseph T. Dunham, died in 1917, his mother, Cornelia A. Dunham, in 
1915- Joseph T. Dunham was a carpenter and farmer of Raritan town- 
ship, Middlesex county. New Jersey, and was township committeeman 
for a number of years. With the exception of a son, Martin, deceased, 
and a son in Montana, his six children reside in Middlesex county, a sec- 
tion which has been the abode of Dunhams for two and one-half cen- 
turies. 

Charles Henry Dunham was born in the village of Piscataway, Rari- 
tan township, Middlesex county. New Jersey, April 15, 1874. He attended 
the public schools of his district and completed the courses so thoroughly 
that he passed the New York State regents examination most creditably, 
receiving a certificate to that eflFect. He became associated with the drug 
business in New Yiork City, but later decided to devote himself to dental 
surgery, and in 1896 entered the Philadelphia College of Dentistry, 
whence he was graduated, class of 1899. He did not locate in New 
Brunswick until 1902, but since then has continuously practiced there. 
He has been very successful, gaining a clientele which taxes him to 
properly care for it. He is modern and skillful, courteous and con- 
siderate, his pleasing personality winning him a host of friends. His 
religious faith is that of the Church of Christ (Scientist). His club is the 
Highland Park Civic, and he is a member of the Middlesex County 
Dental Society. 

Dr. Dunham married, October 29, 1907, Emma Lydall Beekman, bom 
in Highland Park, New Jersey, daughter of John and Emma Beekman, 
of ancient family. Dr. and Mrs. Dtmham are the parents of three chil- 
dren : Olive Beekman, bom August 9, 1908 ; Mildred Minerva, born Sep- 
tember 24, 1909; and Charles Henry, bom January 19, 191 1. The family 
home is at No. 52 North Sixth avenue. Highland Park, New Jersey, 
where Dr. Dunham indulges in his favorite recreation — ^home-gardening 
and the growing of trees, bushes and shrubs. 



WILLIAM T. AMES.— As president of the First National Bank, of 
Woodbridge, New Jersey, Mr. Ames has also to be given credit for 
establishing, in his native village, this institution of which, as a "native 
son," he was glad to be the means of adding to the modern benefits of the 
village. Woodbridge was his birthplace and boyhood home, and he has 
for the venerable town a real affection. 

William T. Ames, of English ancestry, father of the subject of this 
review, was born in New York City, where he was a substantial and suc- 
cessful business man. He married Sarah Ayres, and they were the par- 
ents of William T. Ames, born in Woodbridge, Middlesex county. New 
Jersey, February 12, 1869. 

The son, William T. Ames, was educated in the public schools, finish- 
ing with graduation from Woodbridge High School, class of 1887. He 



BIOGRAPHICAL 131 

began business life as messenger with the National Park Bank of New 
York City, and rose through various promotions to the position of pay- 
ing teller. In 1906 he organized the First National Bank of Wood- 
bridge, of which he was elected the first president. The First National 
Bank has been a successful institution from its beginning, and its found- 
ing and subsequent success reflect great credit upon Mr. Ames as organ- 
izer and executive. He has aided in the development of his town in every 
legitimate way, and has been a strong factor in the advance Woodbridge 
has made in recent years. 

Mr. Ames served for two terms as member of the Board of Educa- 
tion ; was the first president of Sewaren Public Library ; was trustee of 
the Presbyterian church ; two years a member of the Township Commit- 
tee; is secretary of Boynton Real Estate Company; is a director of the 
Masonic Hall Association; is affiliated with Americus Lodge, No. 83, 
Free and Accepted Masons; is a member of the National Republican 
Club of New York ; and of the New York section of the Green Mountain 
Club. His favorite recreations are walking and motoring. Mr. Ames 
married, November 24, 1892, Helen Boynton, daughter of C. W. and 
Eunice Adelia (Harriman) Boynton, both bom in New England. Mr. 
and Mrs. Ames are the parents of a son, Oliver B. Ames, an electrical 
contractor. The family home is in Sewaren. 



SAMUEL BARRON BREWSTER, eldest son of George and Eliza 
Case (Barron) Brewster, was born in Woodbridge, New Jersey, March 
28, 1872, and was educated in the public schools of that town. After 
serving as a mercantile clerk for three years, he entered in June, 1898, 
the grain business, as a member of the firm Cutter & Brewster. About 
1905 he bought his partner's interest and continued alone, under the firm 
name S. B. Brewster, until 1909. He then admitted his brother, George 
Frederick Brewster, to a partnership. The business is wholesale and re- 
tail dealing in grain, feed, poultry supplies, hay, straw, and kindred lines. 
The original warehouse location, opposite the Pennsylvania Railroad 
freight station, was sold to the Woodbridge Lumber Company in 191 6, 
when the Brewster Company moved into the new building which they 
had erected at the intersection of Main street and the Pennsylvania rail- 
road. This new building, forty feet front and one hundred sixty feet 
deep, includes warehouse, office and elevator. 

Samuel Barron Brewster is a director of the First National Bank of 
Woodbridge, a trustee of the First Presbyterian Church, a trustee of the 
Barron Library, member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
Royal Arcanum, and the Junior Order United American Mechanics. 

Mr. Brewster married, November 22, 1899, Ada Louise Wagner, 
daughter of Jacob Wagner, of Plainfield, New Jersey 
™J^.^""^-/f ™" Brewster is descended both on his father's and 
mother s side from old settlers in Woodbridge township. He is the sev- 
enth in descent from Nathaniel Brewster, born at Plymouth about 1620. 
This ancestor was graduated from the first class of Harvard in 1642. For 
over thirty years he was pastor of a church at Brookhaven, Long Island. 



132 MIDDLESEX 

From here, his descendants moved to New Windsor, New York. His 
great-grandson, Timothy Brewster, came to Woodbridge in 1779, and 
bought a farm consisting of a large tract of land bordering on Staten 
Island Sound. This land he bequeathed to his son, George Young 
Brewster. 

George Young Brewster had four sons and two daughters. His son, 
Ezra Mundy Brewster, born in 1823, occupied this property until 
his death in 1896, when his son, Henry D. Brewster, inherited the prop- 
erty. In 1847 he married Letitia V. Brokaw, to whom were born three 
children : Elizabeth, Henry D., and William. Other children of George 
Young Brewster were: Catherine, born in 182 1 ; Walter, born in 1824, 
married Rachel Coddington; Sarah Elizabeth, born in 1826, married 
Henry N. Demarest in 1845, and their children were: William, David, 
Charles, and Walter ; Albert, born in 1830 ; and Greorge. 

George Brewster, son of George Young Brewster, married Eliza Case 
Barron in 1863, and their children are: Sadie Barron; Amy Stewart, 
who married Benjamin Lander McNulty, April 28, 1896, and to whom 
have been born two children: Barron Lander, and Carrell Stewart; 
Louise; Samuel Barron; and George Frederick, who married Lillian 
Schatz, of Newark, September 24, 1914. 

Eliza Case (Barron) Brewster is descended from Ellis Barron, who 
came to Watertown, Massachusetts, in 1640, from the county of Water- 
ford, Ireland, where the family were known as the Barons of Burn- 
church. A grandson of this first Ellis Barron, also named Ellis Barron, 
came to Woodbridge about 1690. Samuel Barron, father of Eliza Case 
Barron, was a great-grandson of this Ellis Barron. 

Samuel Barron was born in 1801 in the Episcopal Rectory in Wood- 
bridge. This old brick house was built by his grandfather, the first 
Samuel Barron, about 1750. It is said to be the first house built of brick 
in New Jersey. Though in business in Mobile for some twenty years, 
Samuel Barron spent most of his life in the old town, Woodbridge, where 
he purchased a farm, and where he died in 1870. The old homestead has 
recently been torn down. Tisdale Terrace and Grove avenue are streets 
which were originally a part of the old farm. He married, in 1839, Eliza 
Ann, daughter of Isaac S. Jaques, of Woodbridge. This lady, born in 
1817, is the oldest resident of the township. The children of this union 
were : Eliza Case, who became the wife of George Brewster, and Sarah 
Romaine, who married, in 1871, William Henry Cutter, son of Hampton 
Cutter, who owned valuable clay mines ; the children of this union were : 
Hampton, and Laura Lucas. Sarah Romaine (Barron) Cutter died No- 
vember I, 191 1. William Henry Cutter died September 27, 1918. 

Other descendants of Ellis Barron : 

Deacon Joseph Barron, a grandson of Ellis Barron, was a deacon and 
pillar of the old Presbyterian church when the present church edifice was 
erected in 1803. In 1800 he erected the old Barron homestead on Rah- 
way avenue, Woodbridge, now occupied by Ernest Boynton. 

Thomas Barron, son of Deacon Joseph Barron, was born in Wood- 
bridge in 1790, and died in New York in 1875, unmarried. He was the 




« 



• «. 



€^'^n 



BIOGRAPHICAL 133 

founder of the Barron Library, completed in 1877. This is a fine memo- 
rial building of Belleville brownstone, which very appropriately stands 
upon a corner of the property which was long known as the Barron home- 
stead. . 

John Barron, another son of Deacon Joseph Barron, was born m 
Woodbridge in 1792. He married Mary Conner, of Staten Island. Chil- 
dren of this union were: i. Frances M., born in 1833, married John 
Henry Campbell. 2. John C, born in 1837, married, in 1869, Harriot 
Williams ; their children were : Thomas, Mary, Carlisle Norris, and John 
Conner. 3. Maria Louise, born in 1839, married, in 1857, Charles D. Fred- 
ericks; their children are: Alfred DeForest; Louise Barron, who mar- 
ried Price Warick; Gertrude Virginia, married William Stewart; parents 
of two children : Katherine, and Gertrude ; and Barron. 

Johanna Barron, born in Woodbridge, in 1802, was a great-grand- 
daughter of the first Ellis Barron. She married Samuel Warner and had 
three children : Joseph ; John ; and Johanna, who married Captain Slad- 
den. 

John Ellis Barron, born in Woodbridge, in 1806, was another great- 
grandson of the first Ellis Barron to settle in Woodbridge. He married 
Mary Potter and their children were : Sarah Ann, who married William 
Finley ; and Julia Potter, now living in Brooklyn. 

CHARLES H. THORN.— The history of the city of Perth Amboy, 
New Jersey, would be incomplete without the name of Charles H. Thorn. 
The Thorn family is a prominent one in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. 
George W. Thorn, Mr. Thorn's father, was born in that city. He was a 
well known and highly skilled physician, a man deeply devoted to duty, 
feeling the greatest sense of responsibility toward his fellowmen. He 
served his country through the entire period of the Civil War, then 
returned to his practice in Philadelphia, and died there at the age of 
seventy years. He married Eliza Dorsey, who was also born in Phila- 
delphia, and now resides in Scranton, Pennsylvania. She was born in 
September, 1844. They were the parents of three children, all of whom 
are now living: George, who is a resident of Scranton, and engaged in 
railroad interests; Charles H., whose name appears at the head of this 
review ; and Amanda, now the wife of Louis Worrick, of Scranton, Penn- 
sylvania. 

Charles H. Thorn was born in Scranton, Pennsylvania, June 18, 1870. 
He attended school in that city until he was eighteen years of age, then 
went to work in the coal mines to learn the coal industry, but remained 
there only three years. He then learned the machinist's trade, and also, 
while still living in Scranton, the trade of mason and bricklayer. Realiz- 
ing that the work nearest at hand is not always the work in which a man 
succeeds best, and feeling confidence in the practical foundation upon 
which he could fall back, Mr. Thorn struck out along the line of sales- 
manship. He traveled for a time, but found the work so much to his lik- 
ing, and his success so gratifying that he came to Perth Amboy, New 
Jersey, and established a real estate business. This was in 1905, and Mr. 



134 MIDDLESEX 

Thorn soon made himself felt in the real estate circles of the rapidly grow- 
ing city, handling some very interesting deals. For four years, and dur- 
ing the period of the World War, Mr. Thorn gave up his business en- 
tirely, and placed his time at the disposal of the United States Govern- 
ment, putting all his energies into the arduous activities on this side 
which so vitally affected the progress of the war. He was all through 
the Morgan explosion, serving with the State militia. Mr. Thorn's place 
of business and residence are at No. 103 Gordon street, Perth Amboy. 
While deeply interested in public affairs, Mr. Thorn is not a party poli- 
tician, and always votes for the best man. He is a member of the Be- 
nevolent and Protective Order of Elks. He is a very busy man, but 
spends his leisure, whenever possible, in the open air. He is fond of all 
outdoor sports, particularly camping and fishing. 

Mr. Thorn married Ada Randolph, daughter of Edgar and Mary E. 
(Cole) Randolph. The Randolph family settled in Perth Amboy in the 
sixteenth century, and have lived in the vicinity ever since. Mr. and 
Mrs. Thorn's only child, Ada Randolph, was born April 14, 1908. The 
family are members of the Methodist Episcopal church, although Mr. 
Thorn was born a Quaker, and his family had been Quakers since old 
Colonial times. 



ELDON LEON LOBLEIN. — Following in the footsteps of his hon- 
ored father. Dr. Loblein is a successful veterinarian of New Brunswick, 
and prominent in its public life. A native son of Middlesex county, he 
has served a term in the county's legislative body, and has represented 
his city in the New Jersey House of Assembly. His father, Eldon Leon 
Loblein, Sr., was born in the Bermudas, West Indies, February 23, 1861, 
and in 1881 came to the United States, locating at New Brunswick, New 
Jersey, which was his home until his passing away, March 24, 1910. He 
was a graduate of the New York Veterinary College (now a department 
of New York University), receiving his degree in June, 1884. He took an 
active part in the public activities of the city, and for twelve years was a 
member of the Board of Education. For two years he was president of 
the Veterinary Medical Association of New Jersey, a member of the 
New Brunswick Club, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. He married Emma Hend- 
ricks, born in New Brunswick, March 10, 1861, where she died, Novem- 
ber 26, 1901, leaving an only child, Eldon Leon (2). 

Eldon Leon Loblein, Jr., was born in New Brunswick, New Jersey, 
January 13, 1888. He was there educated in the public schools, and com- 
pleted high school courses with the graduating class of 1905, then spent 
two years in Rutgers College. In 1910 he was graduated V. M. D. at the 
University of Pennsylvania, and the same year began the practice of 
veterinary medicine and surgery in New Brunswick, his office and resi- 
dence at No. 177 Livingston avenue, and since his entrance into practice 
has been associated with Rutgers College, teaching veterinary science in 
both Rutgers College and Rutgers short courses in agriculture. He has 
been a member of the New Jersey Veterinary Association for the past ten 



BIOGRAPHICAL i35 

years, and during that entire period has been its efficient secretary. Dr. 
Loblein has built up a good practice and is held in high esteem, both 
professionally and as a citizen. 

Dr. Loblein has been active in civic affairs for many years, and was 
chosen in 1914 and 191 5 to represent the New Brunswick district in the 
State Legislature. He served his term with credit, and in. 1917 was 
elected a member of the Middlesex County Board of Freeholders for a 
term which expired in 1920. In this, the county lawmaking body, all 
local questions are considered, and the records show that Mr. Loblein 
has been faithful and efficient in his services. He is a member of Delta 
Kappa Epsilon fraternity, the K. O. K. A. Club, the Young Men's Chris- 
tian Association, the New Brunswick Boat Club, and the Protestant 
Episcopal church. 

Dr. Loblein married, in New Brunswick, September i, 1910, Helen 
Mae Oram, born in New Brunswick, daughter of Elmer E. and Mar- 
garet (Kibbe) Oram, her father a merchant at the corner of New and 
Schuyler streets. Dr. and Mrs. Loblein are the parents of three children : 
Eldon Oram, born May 25, 191 1 ; Margaret Catherine, born February 24, 
1913 ; and Janet, born August 21, 1916. 

FRANK R. VALENTINE.— About the middle of the nineteenth 
century, James Valentine, a Washington market butcher, left his native 
New York and made a home in Woodbridge, New Jersey. In addition 
to founding a home and giving to Woodbridge a new family name he 
founded a business, for he was one of the pioneers in that great Middle- 
sex county industry, the mining of clay and the manufacture of clay 
products. In the fullness of time, James Valentine passed away, but his 
able sons, Mulford D. and James R. Valentine, continued the business 
until they too passed away. But a representative of the third generation 
was trained for the work, and Frank R. Valentine, son of James R. Val- 
entine, and grandson of James Valentine, is the able executive head of 
the business conducted under the corporate name, The M. D. Valentine 
& Brother Company, a name known wherever fire brick are used. The 
gfreat development of the business came after 1870, under Mulford D. 
and James R. Valentine, they trading as M. D. Valentine & Brother, and 
under his honored uncle and father, Frank R. Valentine received the 
training which so well fits him for the important place he fills in the 
manufacturing world. He descends from ancient family, tracing to the 
early Dutch settlement of the valley of the Hudson, and to Revolutionary 
ancestors. 

James Valentine was born in New York City, January 31, 1808, and in 
Woodbridge, New Jersey, died August 4, 1891. For many years he was 
engaged in business in Washington market, New York, a butcher. A 
considerable part of his life was spent in New York, but in 1843 he closed 
his interests and moved to Woodbridge, Middlesex county, New Jersey, 
where he died at the age of eighty-two. In Woodbridge he was a partner 
with William H. Berry and Alexander Brown in the mining and manu- 
facture of clay, and aided his sons to establish in business for themselves. 



136 MIDDLESEX 

His chief business in Woodbridge, however, outside of his clay interest, 
was caring for his own investments in real estate, for he prospered both 
in New York and in Woodbridge, his clay interests developing until the 
firm of William H. Berry & Company became the leading company in 
the business, a position they long maintained. 

James Valentine married, April 2, 1829, Catherine Ackerman, born in 
New York, August 8, 1809, died in Woodbridge, New Jersey, April 10, 
1898. Mrs. Valentine was a daughter of James Ackerman, and a grand- 
daughter of Nathan Wilkinson, who enlisted in the Continental army, 
February 13, 1776, and continued in the service until November 8, 1782, 
without asking or receiving any compensation. He was promoted to the 
rank of first lieutenant and faithfully served liberty's cause. Lieutenant 
Nathan Wilkinson's daughter, Esther, married James Ackerman, of New 
York, and their daughter, Catherine, married James Valentine, whose 
ancestry is traced in New York to the year 1632, when two of the Valen- 
tine name came from Holland and settled, one on Long Island, the other 
in Westchester county. New York, James Valentine tracing from the 
Westchester county settler. James and Catherine (Ackerman) Valentine 
were the parents of fourteen children, nine of whom grew to years of 
maturity: i. Maria E., married Josiah Drake. 2. William, married Mar- 
tha Coddington. 3. Benjamin, married Mary Eldridge. 4. Robert M., 
married (first) Deborah Dally, (second) Mary D. Mercer, who still sur- 
vives him. 5. Mulford D., now deceased, a veteran of the Civil War, and 
long identified with his brother, James R., in the firm, M. D. Valentine 
& Brother, manufacturers of fire brick and drain pipe ; he married Rachel 
D. Camp, who yet survives him. 6. James R., of further mention. 7. 
Howard, married Augusta Warner, who yet survives him. 8. Edwin W., 
married Emma Harned, both living in 1921. 9. Oscar G.., married Marie 
D. Coley, both living. This was a remarkable family, eight sons, the only 
daughter, the first born. All of these sons resided in Woodbridge, New 
Jersey, and the daughter married there. In this review the career of the 
fifth son, James R., is traced, Mulford D., the fourth son, being also of 
extended mention in this work. 

James R. Valentine, better known as Ross Valentine, was born in 
New York City, October 11, 1845, and died in Woodbridge, New Jersey, 
June 24, 1919. He was but a child when his parents moved to Wood- 
bridge, New Jersey, the family home at the corner of Perth Amboy ave- 
nue and Main street still standing. He was educated in the public schools 
and Elm Tree Institute, and after school days were over he became asso- 
ciated with his brother, Mulford D. Valentine, they forming the firm, 
M. D. Valentine & Brother. In 1865 they began the manufacture of bath 
brick, in 1867 they added drain pipe, and in 1868 fire brick were first made 
by them. That business they developed to a high degree, the company 
owning their own clay fields, and operating two plants, one at Valentine 
Station and one at Woodbridge. Fire brick became the company's chief 
product and that product M. D. Valentine & Brother shipped to all parts 
of the United States. Year by year the business increased, the firm 
attaining leading rank among the fire brick manufacturers of the coun- 
try. The firm established an unassailable reputation for business integ- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 137 

rity and reliability, and the partnership between the brothers begun in 
1865 continued until 191 1, when it was dissolved by the death of Mulford 
D. Valentine. 

The business was incorporated as The M. D. Valentine & Brother 
Company, and at the time of his death, in 1919, James R. Valentine was 
its honored president. He was a man of public spirit, a friend of every 
forward movement and a good citizen, but averse to holding public office. 
He was a member of the Masonic order, the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks, the Royal Arcanum, and the Methodist Episcopal church. 
He married Sarah A. Anness, who is also deceased, and they were the 
parents of two children; Frank R., of further mention; and Mary A., 
wife of C. R. Brown, of Woodbridge ; they have three children : Victoria 
A. Brown, J. R. Valentine Brown, and Florence May Brown. 

Frank R. Valentine, only son of James R. and Sarah A. (Anness) 
Valentine, was born in Woodbridge, New Jersey, June 8, 1872. He was 
educated in private and public schools. Military Academy and the Pingry 
School of Elizabeth, New Jersey. In September, 1891, he entered the 
office employ of the M. D. Valentine & Brother Company, and later be- 
came secretary, and still later treasurer. Upon the death of James R. 
Valentine, in 1919, he was succeeded by Frank R. Valentine as president 
and general manager. The business has kept steadily on the increase, 
the company one of the oldest in the business and one of the most impor- 
tant. The company gave employment to three hundred men at their 
Woodbridge and Valentine Station plants, but the recent sale of the last 
named plant reduces the number somewhat. 

In addition to the executive management of the M. D. Valentine & 
Brother Company, Frank R. Valentine is a director of the Perth Amboy 
Trust Company, Middlesex Title Guarantee and Trust Company, Perth 
Amboy & Woodbridge Railroad Company, the Seaboard Refractory, 
New Jersey Manufacturers' Casualty Insurance Company ; vice-president 
and director of the Didier-March Company, under the Alien Property 
Custodian ; the New Jersey Clay Miners' Manufacturing Association, of 
which he is vice-president; also member of the Refractory Manufac- 
turers' Association, and of the National Association of Manufacturers. 

His fraternal affiliations are with Americus Lodge, No. 83, Free and 
Accepted Masons; New Jersey Consistory, Ancient Accepted Scottish 
Rite; Salaam Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic 
Shrine ; Woodbridge Council, Royal Arcanum ; and the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks. He is a member of the Sons of the American 
Revolution, Raritan Yacht Club, Men's Club, and in religious preference 
is an Episcopalian. He is intensely public-spirited, a man of action, 
deeply interested in all that concerns the welfare of his town and highly 
esteemed. Genial, courteous, friendly and considerate, he has a host of 
friends, and most worthily bears a name that has long been an honored 
one in Woodbridge and in the business world. 

Mr. Valentine married, November 19, 1901, Grace E. Ellis, daughter 
of Hampton C. and Caroline (Van Name) Ellis. Mr. and Mrs. Valentine 
are the parents of three children : Carolyn, Mildred and Frank R., Jr. 
The family home in is Woodbridge. 



138 MIDDLESEX 

JOHN AUGUSTINE COAN, a native son, has given to South Amboy 
the strength of manhood, and in her avenues of professional and business 
opportunity, he has sought and found success. From the date of his 
admission to the Middlesex county bar, he has practiced law within her 
borders, and with her business institutions he is intimately connected 
both professionally and officially. He is a son of Patrick Joseph Coan, 
born in County Roscommon, Ireland, in October, 1839, and some years 
after his marriage came to the United States with his wife and two chil- 
dren. That was in 1870, and in Bordentown, New Jersey, on the banks 
of the Delaware he found a home. Soon afterward, however, he located 
in South Amboy, where, until his death, April 22, 191 5, he was in the em- 
ploy of the Pennsylvania Railroad. He married Mary Shanagher, born in 
County Roscommon, in November, 1839, who still survives him in her 
eighty-second year. They were the parents of six children : Monsignor 
James J. Coan, rector of Queen of All Saints Roman Catholic Church, 
Brooklyn, New York ; Mary C, widow of William Birmingham, of South 
Amboy ; Elizabeth A., wife of James F. McGuire, of Perth Amboy ; Pat- 
rick J., of South Amboy ; John A., of further mention ; Francis P., a law- 
yer, now city attorney for the city of South Amboy. 

John Augustine Coan was born in South Amboy, New Jersey, Novem- 
ber 29, 1877. He attended the public and parochial schools, finishing 
with graduation from St. Mary's Parochial School in 1894, then passed 
to Seton Hall, South Orange, New Jersey, whence he was graduated A. 
B., class of 1898, A. M., 1900. During the years 1898-1900, he was also 
a student at the New York Law School, and in 1900 he received his LL. 
B. from that institution, that degree and his A. M. from Seton Hall being 
conferred at about the same time. He was admitted to the New Jersey 
bar in June, 1900, and at once began practice in South Amboy. The two 
decades which have since elapsed have brought him the honors and 
emoluments with which his profession rewards her capable sons, and he 
also has the confidence and respect of his fellowmen, who have watched 
his career since boyhood. In addition to his private practice, he was 
assistant prosecutor of the pleas and is now solicitor for the Star Build- 
ing and Loan Association of South Amboy, one of the largest and most 
prosperous associations of its class in the State. 

A Democrat in politics, Mr. Coan served his city on the Board of Edu- 
cation in 1910-1911, and from 1910 to 1914, was also county solicitor of 
Middlesex county. He is a member of the Knights of Columbus; the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks; and a trustee of St. Mary's 
Roman Catholic Church. He has confined himself closely to professional 
duty, but upon the organization of the South Amboy Trust Company, in 
1919, he became a member of the board of directors and first vice-presi- 
dent. During the World War period, 1917-1918, he was very active and 
helpful, serving as local chairman of the Liberty Loan Committee from 
the first to the final Victory Loan. 

Mr. Coan married, in South Amboy, June 27, 1906, Nellie A. Sullivan, 
born there, August 24, 1878, daughter of Daniel and Catherine (Nagle) 
Sullivan, her father deceased, dying at the age of eighty-five, her mother 



BIOGRAPHICAL i39 

yet living, aged eighty. Mr. and Mrs. Coan are the parents of five chil- 
dren : Mary Cecilia, born April 9, 1907 ; Catherine Marita, born April 
14, 1909; Helen Agnes, born March 10, 1911 ; John, born May 27, 1912; 
James, born July 16. 1914. Every man has a hobby, but Mr. Coan has 
two, baseball and automobiling. 

HON. JOHN FEE.— There is now and then a man who after he has 
passed away lives in the minds of many, not only by reason of results 
accomplished, but also in consequence of a singularly forceful person- 
ality. So survives the memory of the late Hon. John Fee, who at the 
time of his death was mayor of South River, New Jersey. 

John Fee was born in Sayreville, New Jersey, March 27, 1861, the son 
of John and Alice (Ranahan) Fee. His education was obtained in the 
schools of his native place. For many years previous to his death he was 
engaged in the wholesale liquor business, which enterprise brought him 
substantial profit. He ever manifested that lively interest in everything 
relating to the public welfare, which was his dominant characteristic, and 
a capacity for friendship was a gift which he possessed in combination 
with fine business abilities. A Democrat in politics, he was always active 
in local public affairs and served his home town in many capacities. He 
was councilman a number of terms, and mayor for six terms, holding this 
office at the time of his death, October 24, 1917. Mr. Fee was also a 
member of the Board of Freeholders for many years. In religion he was 
a Roman Catholic, and his fraternal affiliation was with the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks. 

On October 3, 1892, the Hon. John Fee was united in marriage with 
Cora F. Mackey, daughter of Lewis and Mary E. (Dyckman) Mackey, 
and they had issue : Cora Alice, born June 23, 1893 > Florence Elizabeth, 
born February 3, 1895; Augusta Catherine, born May 5, 1897; John 
Mackey, born December 11, 1899; Helen Mary, born November 13, 1901 ; 
Matthew James, born April 28, 1905. 

From the foregoing outline, brief and imperfect as it necessarily is, it 
is easily understood that John Fee was a man of no ordinary ability as 
an executant, and also that he was endowed with breadth of view and 
liberality of sentiment. He had a rare capacity for friendship, and upon 
his death was mourned by men of every class in the community and fol- 
lowed by the blessings of many to whom he had been a friend in time of 
need. The crowning blessing of his years was his union with a woman 
who was his inspirer and helper and the presiding genius of his fireside. 



FRANZ ROESSLER, a prominent figure among the successful citi- 
zens of Perth Amboy, New Jersey, where he has been engaged in busi- 
ness as a manufacturing chemist for many years, as head of the great 
Roessler and Hasslacher Chemical Company, is a native of Frankfort- 
on-Mam, Germany, born December 6, 1856, a son of Fritz and Maria 
(Andreae) Roessler. His parents were well known in the city of Frank- 
fort, his father holding the responsible post of director of the mint for a 
number of years. 



140 MIDDLESEX 

Franz Roessler was the recipient of an unusually fine education dur- 
ing his childhood and youth. He attended as a boy the volke-schule or 
public schools of his native city, where he was well grounded in general 
education, and upon graduation from these institutions entered the Uni- 
versity of Zurich, Switzerland. Still later he became a student at the 
School of Mines at Freiberg, Saxony, where he specialized in courses 
bearing upon chemistry and its application to the arts and industry. In 
the year 1882 he came to the United States and engaged in business as a 
manufacturing chemist at Perth Amboy, New Jersey. The Roessler & 
Hasslacher Chemical Company of that city is in a large measure his 
work, and its great and rapid development which makes it to-day the 
largest concern of its kind not only in the State but probably also in the 
country, bears testimony to his great skill as a chemist and not less so 
his remarkable organizing and executive ability in the business world. 
Mr. Roessler has always taken a keen interest and an active part in the 
material growth of the city of his adoption, and is to-day associated with 
a number of its most important financial institutions, among which 
should be mentioned the First National Bank of Perth Amboy and the 
Perth Amboy Trust Company. He is also conspicuous in the social cir- 
cles and club life of New Jersey and New York, and is a member of the 
East Jersey Club, the New York Athletic Club, the Chemists' Club, and 
the Drug and Chemical Club, all of New York City. Mr. Roessler is 
to-day in the prime of his mental and physical powers, and as the active 
head of the great concern which he has built up plays an important part 
in the affairs of the community. His unusual abilities make him a leader 
among his associates, and he may claim to his credit the establishment 
of a concern founded upon so broad and firm a basis that it not only to- 
day dominates the chemical industry in this part of the world, but seems 
assured of a similarly important place in the future, guided, as it is surely 
safe to predict, for many years to come by his resourceful and conserva- 
tive intellect. A great past and a great present has already been 
achieved by him for the Roessler & Hasslacher Chemical Company, and 
an even greater future seems not less certain. 

Franz Roessler was united in marriage. May 11, 1890, with Elizabeth 
Kuchler, a daughter of George and Betty (Stein) Kuchler, old and highly 
respected residents of that place. Six children have been born to Mr. 
and Mrs. Roessler, as follows : Maria, born 1892 ; Hans, born 1894 ; Fritz, 
born 1896; Anna, born 1898; Lillie, born 1900; and a child, born 1902. 



JOHN LAZIER MacDOWALL, M. D., a specialist in diseases of the 
eye, ear, nose and throat, and one of the leading members of the medical 
profession in Middlesex county. New Jersey, with offices at the corner 
of Market and State streets, Perth Amboy, is a member of one of the 
oldest American families, an ancestor of his being Mary Chilton, who 
came to the New World on the "Mayflower" to seek religious liberty, and 
the first woman to step from the vessel onto the seemingly inhospitable 
shore. The MacDowalls later removed to Canada and became prominent 
in the life of that country, a great-grandfather of Dr. MacDowall having 




5Fran5 iEloe^sler 



BIOGRAPHICAL 141 

been a united Empire loyalist and one of the founders of Queen's Uni- 
versity at Kingston, Ontario. This Robert James MacDowall was a man 
of strong religious convictions and played a considerable part in the 
affairs of Upper Canada, where he founded the Presbyterian church. 

Dr. MacDowall's father, another Robert James MacDowall, was a 
lifelong resident of Kingston, Ontario, and was there engaged in busi- 
ness as an importer of musical instruments. He married Elda Lucinda 
Lazier, a descendant of Jacobus Lazier, a French Huguenot, who escaped 
from France during the Huguenot massacres, and they were the parents 
of five children, as follows : Ethel, who became the wife of W. L. Mc- 
Farland ; Etta, who became the wife of Dr. J. J. Robertson ; John Lazier, 
with whom we are here concerned ; Robert ; and Elda. 

Dr. John L. MacDowall was born August 29, 1878, in Kingston, On- 
tario, Canada, and as a lad attended the public schools of that city. After 
completing his studies at these institutions, he became a student in the 
Kingston Collegiate Institute and graduated from there in 1896 after 
completing his preparation for a college course. He then matriculated 
in Queen's University, Kingston, of which his great-grandfather had 
been one of the founders, and there took the classical course, graduating 
with the degree of A. B. in 1900. He had determined to follow medicine 
as a profession in the meantime, and at once entered the Medical School 
of the same university and received his medical degree in 1903. He then 
came to New York City and took a post-graduate course in the Man- 
hattan Eye and Ear Hospital in 1904 and 1905. After his graduation 
from the last named institution. Dr. MacDowall came directly to Perth 
Amboy, where he has since practiced. He has been attended with a high 
degree of success from the outset and is now recognized as an authority 
in his chosen branch of medicine. Besides his private practice he holds 
the post of assistant surgeon of the Manhattan Eye and Ear Hospital and 
is opthalmologist in the Perth Amboy City Hospital. Dr. MacDowall 
has always interested himself in the general life of his adopted commu- 
nity, and is affiliated with a number of clubs and other organizations in 
Perth Amboy and elsewhere. He is a member of the Middlesex County 
Medical Society, the New Jersey State Medical Society, the American 
Medical Association, the New York Medico Surgical Society, the Friars 
Club of New York City, the Canadian Club of New York City, the Colo- 
nial Country Club, the East Jersey Club, the Raritan Yacht Club and the 
Phi Sigma Kappa fraternity. He is, like his forbears, a Presbyterian in 
religious belief, and attends the church of that denomination in Perth 
Amboy. He is particularly fond of outdoor pastimes and spends his 
somewhat rare vacations fishing and hunting. He is also a member of 
the local lodges of the Woodmen of the World and the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks. 



RAYMOND DeWITT HOWELL fills a responsible executive posi- 
tion in the business world of Perth Amboy, New Jersey. 

The family is one long resident in the State, and William Nayler 
Howell, Mr. Howell's father, was born in Kinkora, Mercer county. New 



142 MIDDLESEX 

Jersey, April 28, 1849. He is still actively engaged as a calker with the 
Perth Amboy Dry Dock Company. He has lived in this city for thirty- 
two years. He married Mary E. Fowler, who was born in Leipsic, Dela- 
ware, and is still living. They are the parents of three children : Mrs. 
H. Rankin, of Perth Amboy; Captain Charles F. Howell, of the United 
States navy ; and Raymond DeWitt Howell. This is the sixth generation 
in America, the family coming originally from Wales. 

Raymond DeWitt Howell was born in Perth Amboy, September 26, 
1892. He received his education in the public and high schools of the 
city; then at the age of fifteen years he entered an insurance office in 
New York City. He remained for only a short time, however, then re- 
turned to Perth Amboy and secured a position with the Perth Amboy 
Hardware Company as office boy. He quickly gained the confidence of 
his employers and rose steadily. He was first promoted to clerk, and in 
1917 made manager of the retail department. He is now manager of the 
business and assistant secretary of the company. Mr. Howell is a mem- 
ber of the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons; of the Junior Order of 
Mechanics ; of the Royal Arcanum ; and is also a member of the Junior 
Club ; the Metropolitan Club of New York City, of which he is secretary 
and treasurer; and the Twentieth Century Club. He is well known in 
military circles, having held a commission in the Home Guards, New 
Jersey Militia Reserve. He is fond of all outdoor sports, being particu- 
larly interested in baseball. 

Mr. Howell married, March 15, 1914, Petrea J. Stoier, who was born 
in Perth Amboy. Her parents, Hans and Elsie Stoier, both lived and died 
in this city. Mr. and Mrs. Howell have two chirdren : Ruth, born May 
15, 1915; and Janet Petrea, born May 28, 1920. The family are members 
of the Simpson Methodist Episcopal Church, and active in all its work. 



SCHUYLER C. VAN CLEEF.— Following in the footsteps of his 
father, James H. Van Cleef, lawyer, Assemblyman and State Senator, 
Schuyler C. Van Cleef prepared for the profession of law, and since 1898 
has practiced at the Middlesex county bar, as did his father. He has 
also served in the State Legislature, and has advanced far along the road 
to success. He is of excellent and honorable Dutch ancestry, a man 
thoroughly liked and respected. 

The Van Cleefs of Middlesex county descend from Holland ancestors, 
the first to come to this country being Jans Van Cleef, who came over in 
1659, settling at New Utrecht, Long Island. He was born in Holland, 
in 1628, and prior to 1661 married Enjelye Lowerins, the line of descent 
being through the youngest of their eight children, Cornelius Van Cleef, 
and his wife, Frementje Van De Water ; their son, Laurens, who settled 
in New Jersey, married and had a son, Isaac, born in 1742. Isaac Van 
Cleef married, in 1769, Dorcas Prunyea, bom April 13, 1749, died March 
28, 1812. Isaac Van Cleef died June 30, 1804. They were the parents 
of eleven children, including a son, Abraham, great-grandfather of Schuy- 
ler C. Van Cleef, of New Brunswick, of whom further. 

Abraham Van Cleef was born July 3, 1785, died March 7, 1870. His 



BIOGRAPHICAL 143 

son, Peter A. Van Cleef, married Eliza Hutchings, of New Brunswick, 
New Jersey, and died in 1884, his wife dying the same year. They were 
the parents of an only child, James H. Van Cleef, of whom further. 

James H. Van Cleef was born at Branchville, Sussex county, New 
Jersey, July 12, 1841. He was an attorney and counsellor-at-law, prac- 
ticing in Ntew Brunswick. He was prominent in public life, serving his 
county and State as both Assemblyman and State Senator. He mar- 
ried Ellis S. Clark, and they were the parents of Schuyler C. V&n Cleef, 
of whom further. 

Schuyler C. Van Cleef was born in New Brunswick, New Jersey, No- 
vember 13, 1878. He was educated in the public schools, Rutgers Pre- 
paratory School, and Brooklyn Polytechnic Institute. He studied law 
under his eminent father, and on February 21, 1898, was admitted to the 
New Jersey bar as an attorney, and on February 21, 1907, as a coun- 
sellor. He has practiced law in New Brunswick very successfully during 
the years which have since intervened, and ranks high at the Middlesex 
bar. In 1908 he was elected a member of the New Jersey Legislature. 

Mr. Van Cleef married Annie Keeler, and they are the parents of three 
children, as follows : Helena Schuyler, James H., and Ann. 



FORREST LEIGH SMITH, B. S., C. E.— A peculiar interest at- 
taches to the men behind any achievement. The workmen are in evi- 
dence during the constructive period, and the completed work adds to the 
convenience or safety of the public, but who, looking beyond the obvious, 
would not delight in .touching hands with the man in whose brain the 
achievement first had birth, and who planned to the smallest detail the 
successive steps by which the work was accomplished? Forrest Leigh 
Smith, of Mason & Smith, civil engineers, is a man whose career is being 
watched with the keenest interest by his .friends, because he is the man 
behind much of the important construction work in this section. 

Mr. Smith's father, James Augustus Smith, was bom in Flemington, 
New Jersey, and has been a resident of Perth Amboy since 1874. He is a 
prominent merchant in that city. He married Elizabeth Noe, who was 
born in Perth Amboy, and still lives there, at the age of sixty-six. They 
were the parents of six children : Marion, who died in infancy ; Forrest 
Leigh, of this review; Mabel Noe, the wife of William Gicking, of 
Hazleton, Pennsylvania; Ethel, who lives at home; James Earl, who 
also lives at home ; and Pearl, twin of the last named, who died at birth. 

Forrest Leigh Smith was born in Perth Amboy, January 20, 1880. 
He attended the schools of that city, and was graduated from the Perth 
Amboy High School in 1897. He then took a course at Wood's Business 
College, then a year at Rutgers College, 1898-1899, being made an asso- 
ciate member in 1907, and from 191 1 to 1915 took a course at Cooper 
Union, New York, attending night classes and graduating with degrees 
of B. S. and C. E., receiving the former in 191 1 and the latter in 19 15. 
All this time he was carrying on his business in Perth Amboy, having in 
1904 formed a partnership with S. J. Mason, of Perth Amboy, under the 
name of Mason & Smith, civil engineers. For the past seventeen years 



144 MIDDLESEX 

they have continued this association of interests, and have handled some 
of the most interesting work in this region. 

Mr. Smith was city engineer in 1905, 1906 and 1907; and township 
engineer for Woodbridge township for eight years. He is an associate 
member of the American Society of Civil Engineers, and is a member of 
the alumni societies of Rutgers and Cooper Union, and was at one time 
president of the Perth Amboy High School Alumni Association. His 
favorite relaxation is in outdoor sports; he ran on the 'Varsity team at 
Rutgers, and has often played on the local football team. He is a mem- 
ber of the Raritan Yacht Club. He is also a member of the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, and was at one time esteemed loyal knight. 

Mr. Smith married Jeannette Schade, daughter of Nickolas and Anna 
(George) Schade. Mr. Schade, who is now deceased, was a veteran of 
the Civil War, but Mrs. Schade is now living with her daughter. Mr. 
and Mrs. Smith are the parents of three children : Marvin Schade, born 
in 1905; Leonore, born in 1907; and Arnold, born in 1916. The family 
are members of the Presbyterian church. 



JAMES LOGAN CLEVENGER, numbered among the residents 
of Perth Amboy, is vice-president of the Perth Amboy Evening News 
Company, and editor of the Perth Amboy "Evening News." 

John Anthony Clevenger, father of James Logan Clevenger, is a 
direct descendant of the family by this name who came over from 
England and were members of the William Penn Colony in West Jer- 
sey. He was born in Beverly, New Jersey, September lo, 1841, and 
now resides in Hightstown, New Jersey. He was a farmer and later 
entered the railroad mail service, where he served for forty years, having 
been appointed by President Chester A. Arthur. He married Julia 
Gaskill, a native of Mount Holly, and by this marriage became the father 
of two children: Mrs. Grace C. Ashton, of Hightstown, New Jersey; 
James Logan, of further mention. 

James Logan (J. Logan) Clevenger, son of John Anthony and Julia 
(Gaskill) Clevenger, was born on a farm near Mount Holly, Burlington 
county. New Jersey, February 13, 1879. He was brought by his parents 
to the town of South Amboy when he was but five years of age, and 
lived there for nine years and there attended school. In 1891 the family 
moved to Hightstown, where his parents have ever since resided, and 
here he attended the Peddie Institute, from which he was graduated in 
1896, supplementing this with one year at Drexel Institute, Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania, from which he was graduated in the private secretarial 
course, in 1897. He then entered the law office of his uncle, Joseph H. 
Gaskill, at Camden, New Jersey, and at the end of one year was employed 
as a reporter on the Asbury Park "Journal" for the summer season, 
becoming a reporter on the Perth Amboy "Chronicle" in the fall of 1899, 
and in 1901 with the Newark "Evening News." In 1903, with two others, 
he bought the Perth Amboy "Republican," which name was changed to 
the Perth Amboy "Evening News." Mr. Clevenger is director of the 
Perth Amboy Trust Company. In all matters relative to the welfare 



BIOGRAPHICAL 145 

of the community in which he lives he has ever manifested a deep 
interest, aiding always to the utmost of his power any movement which 
tends to further public progress or good government. He afifiliates with 
St. Peter's Episcopal Church and is a member of the vestry. His clubs 
are the East Jersey, Raritan Yacht, and Colonia Country, and his hobby 
is golf. 

Mr. Clevenger married, October 6, 1902, Jane Liddell Farroat, daugh- 
ter of the late Isaac and Martha Adelia Farroat, of Perth Amboy. Mr. 
and Mrs. Clevenger have three children : James Logan, Jr., born June 22, 
1904; Ruth, born July i, 1907; John Burr, born October i, 191 7. 



JOHN FRANCIS WEBER, M. D.— Dr. Weber was one of the 
patriotic physicians of the county who forsook a private professional 
career to serve his country in her need, and in camp and hospital, on 
transport and battlefield, risked contagion and death for the sick and 
dying. The story of what the medical corps of the American army did at 
home and abroad for their own, their allies, and even their enemies, 
may never be told in full, but should it be told even in part, it will form 
the brightest page in all medical history. Nor should the non-pro- 
fessional men of the medical and hospital corps, nor the nurses be over- 
looked when self-sacrifice and devotion are the themes under discussion, 
for they worked, suffered, and went down into every depth of human 
woe that the professionals did. To men like Dr. Weber, America owes 
a huge debt of gratitude, the only payment they ask for their sacrifice. 

John Francis Weber, son of William A. and Emma H. Weber, was 
born at Florence, Burlington county. New Jersey, January 21, 1889, his 
father a merchant. He attended Florence public schools until graduated 
from grammar school in 1903, then was a student in Asbury Park High 
School during the school year 1904-05. He then entered Blight Prepara- 
tory School, finishing with the graduating class of 1908. Choosing the 
profession of medicine, he entered the medical department of the Univer- 
sity of Pennsylvania, whence he was graduated M. D., class of 1913. The 
following year was spent as interne at Howard and Chestnut Hill hos- 
pitals, his private practice beginning at South Amboy, New Jersey, in 
1914, and continuing until January 31, 1918. He then entered the 
military service of the United States in the medical corps, continuing 
until honorably discharged with the rank of captain, July 3, 1919. On 
August I, 1919, he resumed private practice in South Amboy and there, 
where so well known, he is most highly appreciated both as physician and 
citizen. 

Dr. Weber's military career began with his enlistment in the medical 
corps and his appointment to the rank of first lieutenant at the Army 
Medical School at Washington, D. C, which he attended from February 
I to March 15, 1918. From March 16 to May 10, 1918, he was on duty 
at Field No. i, Aviation General Supply Department, Garden City, 
Long Island, going to Camp Dix, New Jersey, where his service covered 
the period from May 11 to May 19, 1918. He was assigned to the 311th 
Regiment of Infantry, 78th Division, and with that organization sailed 
from the Bush Terminal in Brooklyn, May 19, 1918. They landed in 

Mid-10 



146 MIDDLESEX 

Liverpool, England, May 31st, following, and on June ist sailed for 
Folkstone, England, landing in Calais, France, the same day. He served 
with the American Expeditionary Force in France until May 10, 1919, 
when he sailed from Bordeaux, France, arriving in Hoboken, New Jersey, 
May 26, 1919. The command was taken at once to Camp Merritt, leaving 
there June 3rd for Camp DLx, where Dr. Weber received honorable 
discharge, July 3, 1919, having left that camp just one year, one month 
and fourteen days earlier. 

The nature and value of the service Dr. Weber rendered may be 
surmised from the military records. He was promoted to the rank of 
captain, February 14, 1919, and received from his own country the Dis- 
tinguished Service Cross, and from France the Croix de Guerre. 

Dr. Weber is a member of the Protestant Episcopal church, the 
Masonic order, and Phi Alpha Sigma, the latter a medical fraternity. 

Dr. Weber married, October 21, 1916, at Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 
Rebecca Duval, daughter of George and Madeline S. Duval. Dr. and 
Mrs. Weber are the parents of two children : William Duval, born August 
29, 1917 ; and Dorothy Louise, born December 5, 1918. 



JOHN FRANCIS SEAMAN, a native son, when qualified to prac- 
tice law, began in Perth Amboy, and although his war service delayed 
his beginning practice, he has accomplished a great deal and is winning 
his way toward success. He is a son of John Seaman, born in Austria- 
Hungary, as it once existed, and at about seventeen years of age came 
to the United States, settling in Perth Amboy, New Jersey. He now 
owns and conducts a grocery store there, at No. 520 State street, and 
is a substantial citizen, formerly an excise commissioner. John Seaman 
married Anna Kmetz, and they are the parents of five children, all 
living in Perth Amboy : Joseph A., a grocer, in business at No. 475 Penn 
street; Mary E., married George A. Kozusko; John Francis, of further 
mention ; Helen N., residing with her parents ; and William G., a school- 
boy. 

John Francis Seaman was born in Perth Amboy, New Jersey, March 
I, 1895. He finished grammar school courses in the public school in 
1910, then was a student at Seton Hall Preparatory School until 1914, 
going thence to the New York Law School, whence he was graduated 
LL. B., class of 1917. In February, 1918, he entered the United States 
army, and for ten months was on duty at Camp Dix, the first four 
months with Company K, 311th Infantry, 78th Division. He was then 
transferred to Company 9, 3rd Battalion, iS3rd Depot Brigade, for six 
months. He was mustered out with an honorable discharge, December 
3, 1918. He began law practice in Perth Amboy in November, 1920. 
Mr. Seaman is a member of St. Mary's Roman Catholic Church and the 
Knights of Columbus. He is a devotee of all out-of-door athletic sports, 
baseball and football especially, with basketball a favorite indoor sport. 

Mr. Seaman married, at Camp Dix, September 3, 1918, Catherine 
Alice Campbell, born in Perth Amboy, February 22, 1900, daughter of 
James E. and Ellen (Sullivan) Campbell, her father a Lehigh Valley 
Railroad conductor. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 147 

ABEL F. RANDOLPH.— Members of the Randolph family have 
long been located in New Jersey, and in both Union and Middlesex coun- 
ties have been prominent in business, in agriculture and in the profes- 
sions. During the last twenty years of his useful life, Abel F. Randolph 
was a lumber dealer of Metuchen, there conducting a prosperous business 
and acquiring a competence. In 1880 he built a handsome residence in 
Metuchen, and there his widow, Mrs. Margaret E. Randolph, yet resides. 
He was a son of Samuel and Mary (Boyce) Randolph, his father a 
farmer, and at the time of the birth of his son, Abel F., resided at Plain- 
field, Union county. New Jersey. 

Abel F. Randolph was born at Plainfield, New Jersey, February 24, 
1834, and died in Metuchen, New Jersey, in July, 1912. He was edu- 
cated in the public schools, and although the son of a farmer, he did 
not take kindly to farm life and when free to make his own choice of 
an occupation he chose a mercantile life. He was variously engaged with 
different firms, finally becoming so well qualified that he established in 
the lumber business with Manning Freeman. He remained in the lumber 
business until his death, which, as before stated, covered a period of 
twenty years. He was an able business man, a good manager, and one 
whom all respected for his upright life and sterling character. In politics 
he was an Independent; and he attended services at the Methodist 
Episcopal church. 

Mr. Randolph married, in Metuchen, December 20, 1856, Margaret 
E. Guernsey, born July 25, 1836, in Connecticut, daughter of Asa B. 
and Sarah A. (Canfield) Guernsey. Mr. and Mrs. Randolph were the 
parents of twelve children : Juliett, Joseph, Charles, George John, 
Nathan, Edwin, Harry, Jane, Jeannette, Ella, Nellie, and William. Mrs. 
Randolph attends the Methodist Episcopal church, as did her husband. 



GEORGE JULIUS MILLER, numbered among the young profes- 
sional men of Perth Amboy, New Jersey, gives promise of a brilliant 
future. Persuasive as an advocate, clear and forceful in argument, and 
an all-round, whole-hearted American, his friends are watching his rise 
in his profession with the greatest interest. 

He is a son of Julius and Lena Miller, his father being a prominent 
merchant in Perth Amboy, where he, has conducted a furniture business 
for the past twenty years. 

George J. Miller was born in Perth Amboy, on January 15, 1895. 
When five years of age he entered the public schools of the city, and 
was ready for high school at the age of thirteen. Entering high school- 
in 1908, he was graduated in 1912 (a class from which seven graduates 
have entered the legal profession), and that fall began a course at the 
New Jersey Law School; which ended with his graduation in 191 5. He 
was a facile student, and possessed a retentive mind. During all his 
high school and law studies he assisted his father in the store many 
hours while out of school. He entered upon the practice of law in 
1916, only to awaken, in July of the following year, to the great need 
of his country for men to do war service. He enlisted as a private, on 



148 MIDDLESEX 

July 15, 191 7, was promoted to sergeant-major, Coast Artillery Corps, 
on December 16, 1917, and on March 20, 1918, he was made army field 
clerk at the general headquarters of the American Expeditionary Forces, 
with the Chief of Artillery, where he was serving at the time. He 
reentered the practice of law upon his discharge from the army on June 
16, 1919. He became a counsellor at law and master in chancery in 
December, 1919, passing both examinations the first time he took them. 
This is a record in which the young attorney's townspeople take a very 
natural pride. He married Bertha Francis Sarokin on January 15, 1921. 
Mr. Miller acknowledges two hobbies — public speaking, and, in close 
alliance, books. He is a member of the Young Men's Hebrew Associa- 
tion, and of the Zionists. His religious convictions are those of the 
Jewish Orthodox. In political affiliation he is a Republican. 



FRITZ WILLIAM HOYLER, works manager of Plant No. i, of 
the Roessler & Hasslacher Chemical Company of Perth Amboy, New 
Jersey, has been well known in business and industrial circles of the city 
for above two decades, and has always been regarded by his fellow- 
townsmen as an enlightened and public-spirited citizen. He is a native 
of France, born in the city of Paris, May 3, 1869, a son of John Martin 
and Sophie (Jocher) Hoyler, who were then residing in that city. The 
elder Mr. Hoyler was born in Stuttgart, Germany, and his wife in the 
same place. They were the parents of ten children, of whom only one 
is now living, Fritz William. 

When their son, Fritz William Hoyler, was yet a small child the 
elder Mr. Hoyler returned to Germany and settled in the city of Frank- 
fort, and it was there that the lad was reared to manhood and received 
his education. He attended first the local volkschule or public school, 
and upon completing his studies at this institution entered a private 
chemical laboratory and took up the study of chemistry. He eventually 
engaged in the assaying business in Frankfort and continued thus occu- 
pied until November 15, 1889, o" which date he sailed for the United 
States. Upon reaching this country, he at once entered the employ 
of the Roessler & Hasslacher Chemical Company, of Perth Amboy, as 
an analytical chemist and thus established an association that has ever 
since continued. In 1910 he was appointed works manager, the office 
that he holds at the present time, discharging the responsible duties 
of that post with the highest degree of efficiency and making himself 
one of the most valued members of the company's organization. Mr. 
Hoyler is also interested in the general afifairs of the community in 
which he has elected to reside and has taken a conspicuous part in them. 
From 1909 to 1914 he held the office of commissioner of the Perth 
Amboy Library, and has done much to develop that institution and 
-increase its value to the city and extend the scope of its work. Mr. Hoy- 
ler is an Independent in politics, and in this displays his characteristic 
independence of mind, preferring to exercise his own best judgment on 
all matters of public interest with freedom rather than be in any degree 
bound by partisan considerations. He is a well known figure in social 



BIOGRAPHICAL 149 

and fraternal circles in the city, and is a member of the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks and a trustee of that order. From early- 
youth Mr. Hoyler has taken great pleasure in athletics of all kinds, 
especially such sports and pastimes as are carried on out-of-doors. As 
a young man he played football a great deal, but more recently has 
sought his recreation in automobiling, of which he is very fond and 
does considerable motoring in various parts of the country. He also 
takes plenty of exercise in bowling. 

Fritz William Hoyler was united in marriage, March 21, 1900, with 
Lena F. Schopper, a native of New York City, a daughter of Theodore 
and Antoinette (Most) Schopper, of that place, where the former is a 
retired business man of prominence. One child has been born to Mr. 
and Mrs. Hoyler, Helen Louise, born January 26, 1901, who resides 
in Perth Amboy with her parents. 



ELMER HAROLD EULNER, M. D.— Dr. Eulner began his career 
as a private practitioner of medicine in South Amboy, in September, 
1908, and has steadily grown in public estimation as a skilled and hon- 
orable physician. He has also taken an active part in South Amboy's 
business development and in her civic affairs, particularly so in the 
health department, for he preaches prevention of disease and puts the 
doctrine into practical execution through the medium of the city Board 
of Health, of which he was at one time president. He is of an Essex 
county. New Jersey, family, son of Herman Eulner, who was born in 
Newark, December 31, 1854. His mother, Emma Kiesele, was born in 
Newark, February 6, 1856, and their son, Elmer H., was born in that 
city. In 1884, three years after the birth of their son, Herman and 
Emma (Kiesele) Eulner moved to South River, Middlesex county, 
New Jersey, where both are yet living; he retired from business cares 
after a successful career as a merchant. They have three living chil- 
dren: Herman (2), of South River, who succeeded his father in the 
butcher business, and continues at the same location on Washington 
street; Elmer Harold, of further mention; Lillian, wife of John Rice, 
of New Brunswick. 

Dr. Eulner is a grandson of Simon Eulner, who came to the United 
States from Germany and located at Lyons Farms, then on the outskirts 
of Newark, New Jersey, but since incorporated within the city limits. 
There Simon Eulner farmed and operated a distillery. He is credited 
with having conceived and built the first incubator for hatching chickens 
ever put into practical use. It was at the farm in Newark that Herman 
Eulner, father of Dr. Eulner, was born. 

Elmer Harold Eulner was born in Newark, New Jersey, April i, 
1881, and there the first three years of his life were passed. In 1884 
his parents moved to South River, New Jersey, and there the lad 
attended public school and also received private instruction. After 
completing his school years, he taught for five years in the public schools, 
entering Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, at the end of his teach- 
ing experiences. He was graduated M. D. from Jefferson, class of 



150 MIDDLESEX 

1907, then spent a year as interne at St. Barnabas' Hospital, Newark. 
In September, 1908, he located in South Amboy, New Jersey, and there 
he has attained a very satisfactory practice in medicine and surgery. 

Dr. Eulner has other business interests of importance. He is presi- 
dent of the Wessco Realty Company, of South Amboy ; president of the 
Galbourne Land Company, of Middlesex county (a company dealing 
principally in Florida lands) ; and is interested in the Morgan Beach 
Realty Company and other business corporations of South Amboy 
and South River. During the years 1912-14, he was president of the 
South Amboy Board of Health ; is now on the staff of the South Amboy 
Hospital; a member of the New Jersey State and Middlesex County 
Medical societies; the Masonic order; Knights of Pythias; and the 
Junior Order of United American Mechanics. He is a communicant oi 
the Episcopal church. Boating, fishing and hunting are his favorite 
sports, and these he frequently and thoroughly enjoys. 

Dr. Eulner married, at South River, New Jersey, June 30, 1909, 
Katherine French, born there October 12, 1886, daughter of Abial and 
Sarah Maria (Wright) French, her father now living at South River, 
retired, her mother deceased. Dr. and Mrs. Eulner are the parents of 
two children : Elmer Treganowan, born September 18, 1910 ; and Kath- 
erine, born August 6, 1913. 



RICHARD JOSEPH GALVIN.— In both City Council and State 
Legislature, Mr. Galvin has served his city well, and he is one of the men 
whose support has aided all movements for the good of the community in 
which he lives. Richard Joseph Galvin is a son of Richard Joseph Gal- 
vin, who was born in Ireland, and came to the United States with his 
brothers John and William Galvin, and located at Elizabethport, New 
Jersey, where they were employed at the coal shipping docks. Richard 
Joseph, the father of Richard Joseph of this review, married Elizabeth 
Catherine Lyons, who was born in Ireland, and died at the age of 
thirty-five. His widow, yet surviving him (1920), is a resident of Perth 
Amboy. They were the parents of seven children : Johanna, now widow 
of Patrick Hurley ; Catherine, deceased wife of John Kelly ; Abbie, mar- 
ried William Rigby, of Roselle, New Jersey; Mary, married H. C. 
Reilly, of Perth Amboy; Patrick, deceased; John, deceased; Richard 
Joseph (2), of further mention. 

Richard Joseph (2) Galvin, youngest of the children of Richard 
Joseph and Elizabeth Catherine (Lyons) Galvin, was born in Elizabeth- 
port, New Jersey, May 4, 1874, and there the first two years of his 
life were passed. The family moved to Perth Amboy in 1876, and there 
the lad, Richard J., attended Public School No. i, and St. Mary's 
Parochial School, finishing with graduation from St. Mary's, class of 
1886. For fifteen years after leaving school, he was in the employ of 
Kelly & McAlinden, hardware dealers of Perth Amboy, then was with 
the New York Heating and Ventilating Company, of New York City, 
for one year. On March i, 1903, he began the plumbing business at 
his present address. No. 386 State street, Perth Amboy, and has since 



BIOGRAPHICAL 151 

been engaged there in the business. He is also president of the Richard 
J. Galvin Developing Company, with headquarters at No. 215 Broad 
street, Elizabeth, New Jersey. A good business man, Mr. Galvin has 
won success fairly and honorably, and, in the close competition of twen- 
tieth century business life, he has won honorable mention. 

A Democrat in politics, Mr. Galvin has for four terms represented 
the Third Ward of Perth Amboy on the city Board of Aldermen, and 
for one term represented his district in the New Jersey Legislature as 
assemblyman. During the World War, he was enrolled in the State 
Military Reserve. He is a charter member of Perth Amboy Lodge, 
Knights of Columbus ; a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks ; and a communicant of St. Mary's Roman Catholic Church. 

He married, in Perth Amboy, Rose Martin, born there, daughter of 
James and Julia (Gushing) Martin, both deceased, her father an engi- 
neer. Mr. and Mrs. Galvin are the parents of three children: Loretta, 
Rose and Catherine. 



REV. ARTHUR LOUIS KREYLING.— Although he is a com- 
paratively recent comer to Perth Amboy, New Jersey, the Rev. Arthur 
Louis Kreyling has already made an important place for himself in the 
religious life of the community and gained the esteem and affection of 
his congregation as pastor of the Lutheran Church of Our Saviour in 
that city. Mr. Kreyling is a native of St. Louis, Missouri, where his 
birth occurred, July 18, 1889, and a son of Christian and Bertha (Bentel) 
Kreyling, old and highly respected residents of that place, the former 
having been successfully engaged in business there as a caterer for a 
number of years. 

The childhood of Arthur L. Kreyling was passed in the city of his 
birth, and he there attended the parochial school of the Mount Calvary 
English Lutheran Church until his graduation in June, 1902. He had 
been prepared for college at that institution, and in September of the 
same year matriculated at St. John's College. There he took the 
classical course and graduated with the degree of B. A. in 1908. The 
young man had by that time definitely determined upon entering the 
ministry of the Lutheran church, and with this end in view, matricu- 
lated at the Concordia Lutheran Theological Seminary at St. Louis, in 
September, 1908. He pursued his studies in divinity at that institution 
until he was graduated therefrom with the class of 191 1. He was 
regularly ordained into the ministry July 2, 191 1, and was sent to do 
missionary work at Chickasha, Oklahoma, remaining at that post until 
November, 1914. In December of the same year Mr. Kreyling was 
called to the Immanuel Lutheran Church of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, 
and remained in charge of that church until the entrance of the United 
States into the World War. Mr. Kreyling was prompt to offer his 
services to the government, and was shortly after appointed camp pastor 
for the Lutheran church at Camp Meade and for eight camps in the 
Baltimore district. His war services continued from December, 1917, 
until June, 1919, when he received his honorable discharge. It was in 



152 MIDDLESEX 

August, 1919, that Mr. Kreyling came to Perth Amboy, whither he had 
been called to take the pastorate of the Lutheran Church of Our Saviour, 
a post which he continues to occupy. In the brief space of time that he 
has been in charge of his present church, Mr. Kreyling has proven 
himself a most active and devoted clergyman and has done much to 
organize the work of the parish. 

Arthur Louis Kreyling was united in marriage at St. Louis, Missouri, 
with Florence Stephanie Tacke, a daughter of Charles William and 
Emma Kathryn (Schenck) Tacke of that place. Mr. and Mrs. Kreyling 
are the parents of three children, as follows : Dorothy Lillian, born July 
3, 1914; Arthur Ralph, born January 10, 1916; and Ruth Adele, born 
November 14, 1917. 



DR. HARRY WILLARD McDONALD, JR.— As an exceptionally 
able chiropractor. Dr. Henry Willard McDonald, Jr., has attained pres- 
tige in the practice of his profession, his success having come as the 
logical sequence of thorough technical information, as enforced by 
natural predilection and that sympathy and tact which are the enviable 
concomitants of precedence in professional life. 

Harry Willard McDonald, Sr., father of Dr. Harry W. McDonald, 
was born in Edinburgh, Scotland, the son of Andrew McDonald, who 
brought his family to this country when he was a young man. Andrew 
McDonald took an active part in both the Mexican and Civil wars. He 
died in Pittsburgh, at the age of eighty-six years. Harry Willard 
McDonald, Sr., now lives retired in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, where for 
many years he was president of the Pittsburgh Real Estate Exchange. 
He married Margaret Thompson, of Ballyhaise, Ireland, and they are 
the parents of one child, Harry Willard, Jr., mentioned below. 

Harry Willard McDonald, Jr., was born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, 
October 8, 1886. His preliminary education was obtained in the public 
schools of his native place and the Allegheny High School, graduating 
from the latter in 1904. He then went to Fresno, California, where he 
lived on a ranch for three years, after which he traveled through the 
southern part of Mexico and then through Canada on account of ill 
health. In 191 1 he returned to his native city, Pittsburgh, and having 
decided to become a chiropractor, he entered the Central College of 
Chiropractic at Pittsburgh, from which institution he was graduated 
in 1914, later matriculating at the Palmer School at Davenport, Iowa. 
Upon the conclusion of the period spent in the Palmer School, he went 
to New York City and established himself in active practice there, but 
soon, thereafter, opened an office in New Brunswick, New Jersey, con- 
tinuing to practice in New York City, however, until 1917, when he 
discontinued his practice there and since has devoted himself exclusively 
to his ever-increasing clientele in this community, his office at No. 90 
Monument Square. 

Dr. McDonald is a member of New Brunswick Lodge, No. 324, 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and the Improved Order of 
Red Men. In religion he is a Presbyterian, being a member of the 
First United Presbyterian Church of Pittsburgh. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 153 

With a vigorous and luminous intellect, Dr. McDonald combines 
strength of character and a genial disposition. This union of traits 
explains in a large measure his success, and gives promise of even more 
signal achievements in the future. He is a close student, keeping fully 
abreast of modern thought in all matters pertaining to his profession, 
and he possesses the high esteem and implicit confidence of the general 
public. Dr. McDonald has never married. 



AUGUST C. STREITWOLF.— This name is not an introduction, 
it is simply an announcement. To introduce Mr. Streitwolf to the 
readers of this work would be wholly superfluous, for his high standing 
as a representative citizen is common knowledge beyond the limits of 
his home town, New Brunswick, New Jersey. 

August C. Streitwolf was born in New Brunswick, May 19, 1879, 
the son of August and Elizabeth (Landmesser) Streitwolf. He obtained 
his elementary education in the public schools of his native place and 
then entered Peddie Institute at Hightstown, New Jersey, where he 
remained for a while, after which, having determined to adopt the law 
as a profession, he matriculated at the law school of the New York Uni- 
versity, from which he was graduated in 1900 with the degree of Bach- 
elor of Laws, and was admitted to practice as an attorney and counsellor 
in New York State, May 14, 1901, as an attorney in New Jersey, June 10, 
1901, and as a counsellor in this State, June 29, 1904. From 1901 until 
1919 he maintained an office for general practice in both New York City 
and New Brunswick, New Jersey, but when elected to his present 
position as president of the Middlesex Title Guarantee and Trust Com- 
pany at New Brunswick, he retired from active law practice in New 
York City, but continued to maintain a nominal office at No. 59 Wall 
street in connection with his bank duties and the general practice of 
law at New Brunswick. Mr. Streitwolf is general counsel for the New 
Brunswick Fire Insurance Company; also counsel for various corpora- 
tions, and his favorite branch of legal practice is corporation law. 

In politics Mr. Streitwolf is a staunch Democrat, and takes an ardent 
interest in the aflfairs of the organization. He served in the General 
Assembly of New Jersey in 191 1, and again was elected to serve the 
following year. He affiliates with Union Lodge, No. 19, Free and 
Accepted Masons. A Baptist in religion, he has always served the 
Livingston Avenue Baptist Church well by personal interest, and his 
means are ever contributed to it. 

On April 17, 1907, Mr. Streitwolf was united in marriage with Edna 
E. Rose. They have no issue. 

August C. Streitwolf might be called one of the most prominent 
business men in New Brunswick, for such he is in the highest sense. 
Executant, financier, citizen, philanthropist — all these he is to an emi- 
nent degree, but perhaps an attempt to describe him in a single phrase 
would be best accomplished by the simple statement "that he is a true 
man." 



154 MIDDLESEX 

SELDEN TALCOTT KINNEY, M. D.— When Dr. Kinney came 
to South Amboy in 1913, he was not without practical medical experi- 
ence, having been out of college for two years, during which he served 
as hospital interne, and was associated with his father in sanitarium 
practice at Easton. He is now well established in practice in South 
Amboy, and is highly regarded by the brethren of his profession. 

Dr. Kinney is of ancient Colonial family, the Kinneys having come 
from England to New England as early as 1685, descendants serving in 
the Revolutionary War. His grandfather, T. W. Kinney, married a Miss 
Ranney, of Vermont, and they settled in Sufifield, Connecticut, where 
they lived until the death of Mr. Kinney, when Mrs. Kinney made 
her home with her son. Dr. C. Spencer Kinney, at Easton, Pennsylvania. 

Dr. C. Spencer Kinney was born in Suffield, Connecticut, April 13, 
1855, and died at Easton, Pennsylvania, October 26, 1920. He had been 
in active practice in Easton for twenty years prior to his death, was a 
noted alienist, and owner of Easton Sanitarium, an institution widely 
known. He married Jane L. Dill, born in Middletown, New York, 
October 29, 1857, who survives her husband, a resident of Easton, 
Pennsylvania. Dr. and Mrs. Kinney were the parents of two sons: 
Selden T., of further mention; and Harry Dill, a mining engineer and 
assistant mine superintendent, a veteran of the World War, having 
served in France with the engineering section of the American Expedi- 
tionary Force, ranking as first lieutenant. 

Selden Talcott Kinney was born in Middletown, New York, October 
I, 1883, and there attended private and public schools, reaching high 
school. After his parents located in Easton in 1900, he finished his 
preparatory study at Easton Academy. He then entered Hamilton 
College, at Clinton, New York, whence he was graduated A. B., 1906; 
A. M., 1909. He then began the study of medicine at the New York 
Homoeopathic Medical College, receiving his degree M. D., class of 
191 1. He was interne at Flower and Metropolitan hospitals. New York, 
in 191 1 and 1912, then was his father's medical assistant at Easton 
Sanitarium for one year. In 1913 he located in South Amboy, New 
Jersey, where he has spent seven successful years. He has had special 
training in the treatment of mental and nervous diseases, having taken 
courses in three hospitals, including the Middletown State Hospital and 
the Gowanda Hospital. He also studied under his father, a noted 
alienist, and has won an excellent reputation as a specialist in mental 
and nervous diseases. He is medical inspector for the public schools 
of South Amboy, member of the Board of Health for the past four years, 
member of the stafiE of South Amboy Hospital, and does the local medical 
examining for the Metropolitan Life Insurance Company. 

During the World War period, 1917-1918, Dr. Kinney was medical 
examiner of the Sayreville Draft Board until a severe illness incapaci- 
tated him. He is a member of the Middlesex County Medical Society, 
New Jersey State Medical Society, and Theta Delta Chi fraternity. 

Dr. Kinney married, at Hoboken, New Jersey, April 4, 1914, Martha 
E. Frame, of Phillipsburg, New Jersey, who died March 31, 1919. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 155 

CHARLES R. SMITH.— A resident of New Brunswick, New Jer- 
sey, all his life, Charles R. Smith is closely identified with many of the 
institutions in this city. 

Born May 17, 1888, in New Brunswick, the boyhood days of Charles 
R. Smith were spent in the public schools here and Nelson's Business 
College. His business career began with C. H. "Mallory & Company, 
where he remained for two years, then entering the employ of the Mutual 
Alliance Trust Company of New York, Mr. Smith continued with them 
for two years more. His next step forward was when he became con- 
nected with the Guarantee Trust Company of New York, where for 
ten years he was in business, receiving a thorough training in banking. 
He graduated from the American Institute of Banking in 1918. In the 
summer of 1919 he came to New Brunswick to take charge of the newly- 
created banking department of the Middlesex Title Guarantee and Trust 
Company as secretary and treasurer. 

Mr. Smith is very active in Masonic affairs ; he is a member of Union 
Lodge, No. 19, Free and Accepted Masons ; Scott Chapter, No. 4, Royal 
Arch Masons; Temple Commandery, No. 18, Knights Templar, all 
located in New Brunswick. In addition he is a member of Salaam 
Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of Newark, 
New Jersey; also the Tall Cedars of Lebanon; and is a trustee of the 
Board of Trade. 

On July 15, 1912, Charles R. Smith was united in marriage with 
Anna P. Lang, and they have three children : Daniel L., Frances L., and 
Henry F. Mr. and Mrs. Smith attend the First Presbyterian Church 
of New Brunswick. The family home is at No. 395 Livingston avenue. 



ISADORE SIEGEL, M. D.— Although but a few years have elapsed 
since his coming to Perth Amboy, the name of Dr. Isadore Siegel is 
already familiar and most favorably so to a majority of residents of the 
community. Dr. Siegel has during these few years thoroughly identified 
himself both as a physician and a citizen with the progressive element 
of the city. 

Moses Siegel, father of Isadore Siegel, was born in Russia, and for a 
number of years carried on a successful grocery business there. In 1908 
he retired from active business life and came with his wife and family 
to this country, settling in Perth Amboy, New Jersey. Mr. and Mrs. 
Siegel are the parents of six children : Sophia, wife of H. Goldstein, of 
Perth Amboy ; George, a constructing engineer in Russia ; Harry, a dry 
goods merchant with a store at No. 444 Amboy avenue ; Anna, wife of 
N. GalosofI, of Perth Amboy ; Isadore, of further mention ; Constance, a 
resident of Newark, New Jersey. 

Isadore Siegel, son of Moses and Rose Siegel, was born January 5, 
1885, in Russia. After graduating from the Gymnasium in his native 
city, which is equivalent to the high school in this country, he matricu- 
lated in Berlin University, from which he was graduated in 1910 with the 
degree of Doctor of Medicine. He immediately came to this country and 
after serving his interneship of one year in the Lying-in Hospital in New 



156 MIDDLESEX 

York City, and passing his State Board examination, which latter he 
completed July 5, 191 1, he decided to establish himself in the practice of 
his profession in Perth Amboy, New Jersey, where his parents had made 
their home since coming to this country. With an office at No. 121 Mar- 
ket street, Perth Amboy, he is acquiring a large and steadily growing 
clientele and carving out for himself a place in the front rank of the city's 
younger physicians. He is a member of the American Medical Associa- 
tion and the Middlesex Medical Society. Politically, Dtr. Siegel is an In- 
dependent, voting for the candidate he believes best fitted for the office 
sought, regardless of party label. He is a member of the Hebrew Syna- 
gogue, and also affiliates with the Free and Accepted Masons. 

Ur. Siegel married, July 28, 1913, Jeanette Kramer, a daughter of 
Abraham Kramer, a dry goods merchant at No. 313 State street, Perth 
Amboy. Dr. and Mrs. Siegel are the parents of a son, Ralph, born May 
2, 1914, and a daughter, Shirley Eleanor, born April 2, 1920. 

With a vigorous and luminous intellect. Dr. Siegel combines strength 
of character and a genial disposition. This union of traits explains in a 
large measure his success and gives promise of even more signal achieve- 
ments in the future. His hobby is music and he is particularly fond of 
the opera. He is a close student, keeping fully abreast of modem thought 
in all matters pertaining to his profession, and possesses the high esteem 
and explicit confidence of the medical fraternity and the general public. 



LEO J. COAKLEY. — It is a somewhat unusual occurrence for four 
generations of one family to be living in the same city, yet such is the 
case with Leo J. Coakley, he and his little daughter constituting two 
generations, his mother and her father being the other two, all residing 
in South Amboy, New Jersey. 

Born in that city, December 28, 1890, Leo J. Coakley is the son of 
John J. and Anna (Costello) Coakley. The former is in the grocery 
business, at No. 117 Broadway, South Amboy, and was at one time a 
member of the Board of Education of the city, also treasurer of the Star 
Building and Loan Association there. His wife, Anna (Costello) Coak- 
ley, is the daughter of Walter Costello, who came to the United States 
many years ago from Ireland and has lived in South Amboy for more 
than fifty years. He is now eighty-four years old (1921). The Coakley 
family also came from Ireland. 

Attending St. Mary's Parochial School in South Amboy in his boy- 
hood, Leo J. Coakley acquired his education partly in that institution and 
later went to St. Peter's College at Jersey City, New Jersey. After g^radu- 
ating from the latter, Mr. Coakley took up the study of law, becoming a 
student at the New York Law School. He was admitted to practice at 
the New Jersey State bar in February, 1914, and at once opened an office 
in his home town, at No. 118 North Broadway. 

In the public affairs of the city Mr. Coakley has been particularly 
active, both in civic matters and in the field of politics, he being a mem- 
ber of the Democratic party. In 1916 Mr. Coakley was appointed secre- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 157 

tary of the Board of Health of South Amboy, his term being one year. 
From 1917 to 1920 he was city solicitor of South Amboy. 

During the World War Mr. Coakley enlisted in the army and was 
assigned for duty at the medical detachment headquarters, port of em- 
barkation, Newport News, Virginia, remaining there until discharged, 
in January, 1919. After the troops were disbanded and the American 
Legion was formed, Mr. Coakley became a member of it. He is now past 
vice-commander of the county association. 

In addition to the American Legion, Mr. Coakley is a member of the 
Knights of Columbus, being a past grand knight of the order. He is 
also connected with the local lodge of the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks. He is fond of outdoor sports, but his favorite pastime is 
to witness a good baseball game. 

At South Amboy, June 5, 1918, Leo J. Coakley was married to Kath- 
ryn M. Lyons, a daughter of Thomas and Catherine Lyons. They have 
one child, Eileen Coakley, born December 18, 1919. Mr. and Mrs. Coak- 
ley are members of the Roman Catholic church. 



AUGUST K. STAUDT.— Captains and leaders of industry in their 
respective lines almost invariably are self-made men. Their lives blend 
closely with romance, giving an inspiring example of just what energy, 
perseverance and ability can accomplish. Success becomes part of their 
everyday activities, and each year is like a stepping stone to still greater 
and more pronounced achievements. 

August K. Staudt stands prominent among the leading citizens of 
Perth Amboy, New Jersey, and a brief resume of his life reflects well- 
earned rewards in his chosen field. Tireless energy and broad public- 
spirited benevolence have been the keynotes of his success, and his nota- 
ble progress in local circles indicates still more marked distinction in his 
activities in the time to come. His career is an inspiration. 

Mr. Staudt was born in Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany, on December 
6, 1869. He was the second child of Conrad and Rosa Staudt in a family 
of eight children, four boys and four girls. Receiving his education in 
Germany, and satisfactorily fulfilling his military duties in the Bavarian 
army, he left his native land, in 1891, The five years following were 
spent in England, America and France, and in this time Mr. Staudt per- 
fected his training as a correspondent in foreign languages. 

Upon his return to Nuremberg in 1896, Mr. Staudt became connected 
with a large local industry, and a year later, in 1897, married Katherine 
P. Vorgang, of Brooklyn, New York, whom he had met on his visit to 
America, and who, in the year noted, was visiting relatives in Germany. 
Mr. Staudt was soon made superintendent of the Nuremberg factory, but 
relinquished this position in 1901 to take up a residence with Mrs. Staudt 
in America. 

After occupying a number of important positions in banks and com- 
mercial houses, Mr. Staudt associated himself with the Perth Amboy Tile 
Works, and became a resident of this city. The plant at that time was 
practically unknown and quite insignificant, while the company, itself. 



iS8 MIDDLESEX 

had just been reorganized. It was not long before unexpected difficulties 
arose, and in order to safeguard the investment he had made, Mr. Staudt 
was compelled to assume the full management of the small tile factory. 
He was undismayed, however, despite the fact that his working knowl- 
edge of ceramics was quite meager, and with grim determination he re- 
solved to build up the establishment, if possible in any way, and make 
it one of the successful enterprises of the community. He took a hand 
in aifairs immediately, donning his overalls and tackling any job that 
needed to be done. Nothing was too hard, for it was a case of neces- 
sity and resolve — the plant must flourish. Mr. Staudt established a defi- 
nite working policy for the organization. He rebuilt what remained of 
the little defunct plant on the solid foundation of honor and integrity in 
business — the best products at the right price, and the same treatment 
of every customer, whether large or small. These principles live with 
the business now, just as they did in the early days, and they are one of 
the secrets of the remarkable success which the industry has attained. 

Step by step the business thrived, and then came into its own. The 
success has been spectacular, and due to the guiding hand and persever- 
ing energy of Mr. Staudt. The plant was developed and extended from 
year to year, and to-day occupies a position as one of the most modern 
and best equipped ceramic plants in the State of New Jersey. The floor 
space has grown from 6784 square feet to close to 42,000 square feet, 
more than six-fold ; even now, the capacity is taxed to the utmost to 
furnish the demands of customers, and still more expansion will be neces- 
sary in the future. Mr. Staudt can well take pride in this achievement, 
for with the plant he has grown to enjoy an enviable position among the 
leading business men in the State. In his treatment of his employees, he 
has shown that he has at heart their utmost welfare and security ; he has 
assisted them to purchase homes for their families, arranging large yearly 
bonuses for faithfully performed duties. Moreover, he has taken out a 
large block of building and loan stock for operatives at the plant with- 
out their knowledge, and which, when due, will be given to deserving 
employees. 

Mr. Staudt is a member of the American Ceramic Society, and past 
president of the New Jersey Clay Workers' Association and Eastern Sec- 
tion of the American Ceramic Society, and has long occupied a position 
on the board of directors of the latter organization. He is a thirty-third 
degree Mason, a member of the East Jersey Club, Raritan Yacht Club, 
Elks' Club and other well-known organizations. His name will also be 
found in the membership list of many worthy societies, giving them the 
benefit of his support and influence. 

Mr. and Mrs. Staudt have one child, Augusta Johanna, who was bom 
in Newark, New Jersey, August 16, 1906. The family are members of 
the Evangelical Lutheran church. 



EDWARD ALOYSIOUS BRADY, proprietor and manager of the 
New Brunswick Coal, Ice and Lumber Company, which is located at No. 
328 Commercial avenue, New Brunswick, New Jersey, holds a recog- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 159 

nized place among the prominent business men of this community. 
Being a good citizen, as well as an able executant, Mr. Brady is ever 
ready to cooperate in whatever pertains to the advancement of the public 
welfare. 

Patrick Brady, father of Edward Aloysious, was born March 19, 1829, 
and died July 22, 1920, at Stapleton, Staten Island, where for many years 
he had been established in the coal and ice business, being one of the 
largest railroad contractors in this country. He married Annie M. Mc- 
Atamney, a native of Ireland, and now a resident of Stapleton. Mr. and 
Mrs. Brady were the parents of fourteen children, three of whom are 
still living: Edward Aloysious, of further mention; Genevieve, wife of 
Hugh E. Conness ; and Anna Rose, wife of Charles E. McAteer. 

Edward Aloysious Brady, son of Patrick and Annie M. (McAtamney) 
Brady, was born March 12, 1877, at Newark, New Jersey. At the age of 
two years he moved with his parents to Bayonne, New Jersey, and there 
attended the public schools until he was seventeen years of age, when he 
terminated his schooling and began his business career. His first em- 
ployment was with the Consumers' Coal and Ice Company at Bayonne, 
where he remained for three years, resigning at the end of that time to 
visit the various coal sections throughout the country. On March 3, 
1903, he came to New Brunswick and secured a position with the New 
Brunswick Ice Company. During the next four years he made himself 
familiar with it in every detail, and when four years later he bought the 
entire business, he was capable of taking it and managing it most effi- 
ciently, which is proven by the consistent growth of the enterprise. 
The name of the company is now the New Brunswick Coal, Ice and 
Lumber Company. 

Mr. Brady has never held any public office, but has always been 
keenly interested in the welfare of the community, and active in securing 
the choice of the best men available for such posts. He affiliates with 
the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, the Knights of Columbus, 
the Ancient Order of Hibernians, Order of Eagles, Lion Club, and the 
Improved Order of Red Men. In his religious views he is a Roman 
Catholic, and attends the Sacred Heart Church of that denomination at 
New Brunswick. 

On October 17, 1906, Edward Aloysious Brady was united in marriage 
with Mary A. R. Smith, of New Brunswick, daughter of the late Thomas 
and Mary (Lynch) Smith. Mr. and Mrs. Brady are the parents of two 
children : Vincent Patrick, born July 22, 1907 ; Edward, born June 29, 
1918. 



DR. B. W. HOAGLAND, of Woodbridge, was born in Danville, 
New Jersey, December 3, 1866, son of Nathan and Emily E. (Albertson) 
Hoagland, both Hoaglands and Albertsons being among the oldest New 
Jersey families. Nathan Hoagland was a farmer of Danville all his active 
life, and a man highly esteemed in his community. Dr. Hoagland 
attended the public schools of Philadelphia and in 1883 entered the 
Medical Department of the University of Pennsylvania, whence he was 



i6o MIDDLESEX 

graduated in the class of 1886. He began practice in Oxford, New Jer- 
sey, the year of his graduation, there continuing eleven years, until 1897, 
removing in the latter year to Woodbridge, New Jersey, where he has 
now been in practice for twenty-four years, 1897-1921. 

During the war of 1917-18 he served in the Medical Corps of the 
United States army, from August 11, 1917, to December 10, 1918, with 
the rank of captain. After receiving honorable discharge, he returned to 
Woodbridge and resumed private practice. 

Dr. Hoagland is a director of the First National Bank of Woodbridge, 
and of the Port Reading Building and Loan Association ; a member of 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows; Maccabees of the World; and 
the Royal Arcanum. In politics he is an Independent ; his church mem- 
bership is with the Congregational church of Woodbridge. 

Dr. Hoagland married, at Oxford, New Jersey, Alice E. Perry, daugh- 
ter of Oliver N. and Rebecca G. (Van Sickle) Perry, she a descendant 
of the Commodore Oliver H. Perry family, and of the ancient Van Sickle 
family, of Warren county, New Jersey. Dr. and Mrs. Hoagland are the 
parents of four children : Verna L., Edith E., Lewis P., and Alice R. 



JAMES PARKER and his father, also James, two of New Jersey's 
eminent sons, were residents of Middlesex county. James Parker, Sr., 
was an active member of the Board of Proprietors of the colony of New 
Jersey, and a member of the Provincial Council prior to the Revolution. 
He was a man of large landed interests, and very influential. 

The son, James Parker, born in Bethlehem, Hunterdon county. New 
Jersey, March 3, 1776, died in Perth Amboy, New Jersey, April i, 
1868. He was a graduate of Columbia College, class of 1791, and later 
became a merchant of New York City. Upon the death of his father, 
James (2) Parker returned to Perth Amboy and there ever after resided. 
He was a member of the New Jersey Legislature, 1806-28 ; commissioner 
to fix the boundary line between New Jersey and New York in 1827-29 ; 
collector of the port of Amboy, 1829-30; elected to Congress as a Fed- 
eralist in 1832, served two terms, and was a delegate to the State Consti- 
tutional Convention of 1844. 

Always active in public affairs, he was widely known and honored. 
For many years he was a vice-president of the New Jersey Historical 
Society, and from 1864 until his death was its president. He gave to 
Rutgers College the land on which its buildings stand, and was always 
a warm friend of the cause of education. 



ABRAHAM S, KERR— The story of Abraham S. Kerr is a history of 
obstacles overcome and a definite end achieved, not only in an ordinary 
degree, but followed to a highly specialized point. As one of the most 
prominent pharmacists of New Brunswick, New Jersey, he now stands 
in the lead in a profession which demands of every man engaged in it the 
greatest skill and precision, as well as exhaustive technical knowledge. 

Mr. Kerr was born in the State of Vitebsk, Russia, May 10, 1890. He 
attended the schools of that locality until he was fifteen years of age. 





^^V'T'-»--v.»^ 



(^^(^-^jO 



BIOGRAPHICAL i6i 

when he came to America to join his parents, who had theretofore come 
to New York City to found a home for their family. In New York the 
boy went to work in a drug store, but not content with the subordinate 
position which he was able to fill in the beginning, set high his standard 
of achievement, and proceeded to reach it. He attended night school 
faithfully and punctually, and in 191 1 passed his Regent's examination. 
In 191 2, with what assistance his family was able to give him, together 
with his savings, the young man entered Fordham University and was 
graduated in Pharmacy in 1914. Following his graduation he took a 
special post-graduate course in Bacteriology covering the year 191 5. This 
preparation placed Mr. Kerr in line for big work. He accepted a position 
in New York City, in Analytical Bacteriology, continuing along this line 
for one year. Next he became associated with the Liggett Company, 
as manager. His ambition, however, was to place himself at the head of 
an establishment of his own, and to that end he came to New Brunswick, 
June 23, 1917, and purchased his present store on the corner of Church 
and Neilson streets. He greatly enlarged the location, redecorating and 
improving the building, and making it up-to-date in every respect. Al- 
though beginning at so recent a date, comparatively, Mr. Kerr has placed 
himself in the front line in this business in New Brunswick, and com- 
mands a splendid trade. His future looks very bright, and with the 
foundations upon which he has built, success in large measure is only a 
matter of time. Personally, Mr. Kerr is a man of broad interests, keep- 
ing in touch with every phase of public activity and scientific develop- 
ment. He finds his relaxation in outdoor sports. 

Mr. Kerr's people are all connected with the drug business in Greater 
New York. His father, Solomon Kerr, who was born in Russia, now 
lives retired in New York City, and was formerly a glass manufacturer. 
He married Hannah Lockshin, also bom in Russia, and now a resident 
of New York City. Of their children, Abraham S. Kerr, of New Bruns- 
wick, is the second. The oldest, Luba, is now the wife of Saul Goldfarb, 
of Brooklyn, New York. Of the younger sons and daughters Julius re- 
sides in Brooklyn, and Sophie, Joseph and Bertha reside in New York 
City. 

Mr. Kerr married, in New York City, June 4, 1917, Dorothy I. Weiner. 
who was born in Riga, Russia, and is the daughter of Jacob and Mary 
Weiner, now residents of Brooklyn, New York. Mr. and Mrs. Kerr have 
one daughter, Florence, born April 14, 1919. 



CHAUNCEY CLARK BALDWIN, vice-president of the Standard 
Underground Cable Company of Perth Amboy, president of the East 
Jersey Club, and one of the most prominent citizens of Perth Amboy, 
where he enjoys a well-earned reputation for his intelligent and public- 
spirited participation in public affairs, is a native of Ohio, his birth hav- 
ing occurred in the town of Maumee, Lucas county, Ohio, June 26, 1866. 
He is a son of Perry C. and Jane (Starkweather) Baldwin, the former a 
Presbyterian minister in Northern Ohio for more than fifty years. The 
Rev. Mr. Baldwin was born in Ashville, North Carolina, and died in 



Mid— 11 



i62 MIDDLESEX 

Toledo, Ohio, in 1893, at the age of seventy-seven years. His wife was 
a native of North Hampton, Ohio, and died in Waterbury, Connecticut, 
in 1889. They were the parents of five children, as follows : Charles R., 
deceased ; Julia N., who became the wife of Jphn M. Nichols, of Water- 
bury, Connecticut; Sarah T., who became the wife of W. H. Dodge, of 
Jefferson, Ohio, and is now deceased; William H., of Delta, Ohio, now 
deceased ; and Chauncey Clark, with whom we are here concerned. 

Chauncey Clark Baldwin passed the first part of his childhood in his 
native town of Maumee, Ohio, and there attended the local public 
schools, graduating from the high school after being prepared for a col- 
legiate course. He then entered the New Lyme Institute at New Lyme, 
Ashtabula county, Ohio, and was graduated with the class of 1885, taking 
the degree of B. S. Immediately after completing his studies at the lat- 
ter institution, he secured a position with the Waterbury Qock Company 
of Waterbury, Connecticut, but remained with that concern only one 
year. He left this position in order to accept a position as superintendent 
for the firm of Wallace & Sons, dealers in brass and copper at Ansonia, 
Connecticut, in which he continued for ten years. The next two years 
were spent by him as superintendent of the Hendricks Brothers Copper 
Mills at Soho, New Jersey, from which he resigned to become the general 
manager of the Waclark Wire Company of Elizabeth, New Jersey. 
After three years there he became general manager of the National 
Conduit and Cable Company of Hastings-on-Hudson, and two years 
later resigned to become connected with the Standard Underground 
Cable Company of Perth Amboy, an association that has con- 
tinued to the present time. His first position with the Standard 
Company was as manager of its wire mill, but in 1916 he was appointed 
vice-president of the concern and still holds that office. Be- 
sides his association with this company, Mr. Baldwin has taken an active 
interest in the development of the financial interests of Perth Amboy and 
is now a director of the First National Bank of the city. In politics he 
is a Republican, and although not a politician in any sense, has taken 
part in the conduct of public affairs and has held membership on the 
Water Board of the city for some years. He is a prominent figure in 
Masonic circles, having attained the thirty-second degree in Free Ma- 
sonry, and is a member of Lodge No. 61, Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons ; Royal Arch Masons ; Royal and Select Masters ; Knights Tem- 
plar ; Salaam Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine ; 
and Sovereign Princes of the Royal Secret. Besides these Masonic bodies 
he is affiliated with Lodge No. 784, Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks ; the East Jersey Club, of which he is the president ; and the Colo- 
nial Golf Club. He is a devotee of outdoor sports of all kinds and takes 
particular pleasure in golf and automobiling. A Presbyterian in religious 
belief, Mr. Baldwin attends the church of that denomination in Perth 
Amboy. 

Chauncey Clark Baldwin married (first) February i, 1906, at Phila- 
delphia, Pennsylvania, Caroline Stephen, whose death occurred August 
23, 1918. He married (second) September 18, 1919, Matilde W. Hiester, 
in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 163 

FREDERICK WILLIAMS De VOE, prominent in legal circles, and 
in the general life of Middlesex county and the city of New Brunswick, 
whose career as an attorney and as the holder of important public offices 
has already won for him the respect and esteem of the community, and 
made him an influential man in local affairs, is a native of New Jersey.- 

George W. De Voe, father of Frederick W. De Voe, and son of the 
late George W. De Voe, founder and president until his death of the 
People's National Bank, New Brunswick, was a former borough clerk 
and postmaster at Spotswood, New Jersey, and is now in the real estate 
and insurance business there. He married Alice Appleby, daughter of 
Herbert Appleby, former postmaster of Old Bridge. To Mr. and Mrs. 
George W. Devoe was born a son, Frederick Williams, mentioned 
below. 

Frederick Williams De Voe was born in Old Bridge, New Jersey, 
November 15, 1889, and secured the elementary portion of his education 
in the public school at Spotswood. He afterwards attended Peddie In- 
. stitute, at Hightstown, and upon completing a business course at this 
institution he secured a position as reporter on the "Home News" at 
New Brunswick and later on the "Evening News" at Perth Amboy. In 
1912, having chosen the profession of law for his life work, he matricu- 
lated in the New York Law School, and was admitted to practice law in 
New Jersey in 1915. He then opened an office at No. 40 Paterson street, 
and commenced the practice of his profession, attaining a most remark- 
able and gratifying success. He is already recognized as a successful 
member of the bar of Middlesex county, although having been practicing 
but a comparatively short time, and enjoys a large popular reputation. 
In his political life he is a Democrat, and was elected to the General 
Assembly for the year 1919 and reelected for the year 1920. During the 
year 1919 he served as chairman of the towns and townships committee, 
and as a member of the Board of Education, also served as a member of 
the latter for the year 1920, in addition to being a member of the Board of 
Public Health. He was the father of the bill of minimum wages of $700 
for school teachers, in 1919, and in the following year was sponsor for 
the $1,000 wage. He fraternizes with the following organizations : Mid- 
dlesex County Bar Association ; New Jersey State Bar Association ; 
Palestine Lodge, No. iii. Free and Accepted Masons; Scott Chapter, No. 
4, Royal Arch Masons; Charles L. Walters Council, No. 178, Junior 
Order of United American Mechanics ; New Brunswick Lodge, No. 324, 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks ; Wickatunk Tribe, Improved 
Order of Red Men ; Forest No. 13, Tall Cedars of Lebanon. He serves 
as attorney for the Milltown Building and Loan Association, of Mill- 
town ; Middlesex County Building and Loan Association, of New Bruns- 
wick ; and of the First National Bank, of Milltown, New Jersey. 

Mr. De Voe married, July 14, 1915, Marion Behringer, daughter of the 
late Michael and Lydia (Jones) Behringer. Mr. and Mrs. De Voe are 
the parents of two children ; Dorothy Frances, born July 12, 1916; Betty 
Appleby, born July 13, 1919. 



i64 MIDDLESEX 

JAMES ALEXANDER MORRISON, numbered among the pro- 
gressive and prosperous business men of New Brunswick, New Jersey, is 
a man whose years, sixty-one, have been years of fruitful endeavor and 
high attainment. Mr. Morrison is one of those successful men from 
whose biography the young man may learn how to best direct his efiforts 
in order to attain the worthwhile things of life. 

Daniel Morrison, father of James Alexander Morrison, was born in 
County Armagh, Ireland, and when but a lad emigrated by himself to 
this country. Upon landing in New York City he remained there for a 
while, but later removed to New Brunswick, New Jersey, where in 1869 
he established himself in the grocery business at the corner of French 
and James streets and here continued successfully until his death, whicTi 
occurred in December, 1874. He married Anna Miller Dale, a native of 
Ireland, her birth having occurred there in 1832. Mrs. Morrison now 
resides in New Brunswick. To Mr. and Mrs. Morrison were born five 
children : James Alexander, of further mention ; Mary E., deceased ; 
John J., William D., and Daniel L. 

James Alexander Morrison was born February 6, i860, in New Bruns- 
wick, New Jersey, and attended the local public schools until he had 
reached the age of seventeen years. He then entered his father's grocery 
store, which he continued to manage for many years, after which his 
brother became proprietor of the store, and he has since given consider- 
able attention to the publishing business. In October, 1886, he became 
associated with the H. L. Fairchild medical business, manufacturers of 
proprietary medicines, having full control as superintendent of same. 
Mr. Morrison is also a director of the Homestead Building and Loan 
Association and the Second People's Building and Loan Association. 

But it has not been only in the business world that Mr. Morrison's 
time and energies have been expended. On the contrary there has been 
no one more interested than he in community affairs, and as a staunch 
Republican he has taken an active part in politics. From 1906 until 1910 
he was city clerk. For ten years he has been a member of the Board of 
Education and its president two years ; a member of the local Board of 
Health for five years and its president two years ; a member of the New 
Brunswick Public Library Board one year ; in 1920 clerk of the Excise 
Commissioners and a member of the Public Market Committee, and on 
May ID, 1921, was appointed acting postmaster of the post office in New 
Brunswick. Besides these business and political activities, Mr. Morrison 
is affiliated with Palestine Lodge, No. iii. Free and Accepted Masons, 
and the Junior Order of United American Mechanics. He also holds 
membership in the Craftsmen's Club of New Brunswick, and the local 
Young Men's Christian Association. In his religious belief he is a 
Presbyterian and attends the local First Church of that denomination. 

On April 19, 1883, James Alexander Morrison was united in marriage 
with Rebecca H. J. MacCowan, daughter of William and Gene (Tate) 
MacCowan, of New Brunswick, New Jersey. Mr. and Mrs. Morrison 
are the parents of four children: Lillian M., Helen J., Jessie L. and 
George R. 




J\d]AJl^^\^^^ 



BIOGRAPHICAL 165 

The career" of Mr. Morrison from its beginning is characterized by- 
much hard and persistent expenditure of energy, and the substantial posi- 
tion that he has come to occupy in the life of the community is the obvi- 
ous and appropriate reward of application and mental qualifications of 
a high order. 

WILLIAM VAN SICLEN.— The Van Siclens of Middlesex county, 
New Jersey, are of Revolutionary ancestry, and long seated in the county. 
This review deals with William Van Siclen, of this ancient family, who 
was born in Metuchen, August 7, 1839, and there died, March 7, 1907. 

William Van Siclen was educated in the public schools, and upon 
arriving at suitable age became a carpenter's apprentice, learning the 
trade thoroughly and becoming an expert workman. Later he became 
a contractor, and during his active life built many residences and other 
structures in Metuchen and vicinity. He was a man of strong character, 
and always careful in his business dealings to make no promises which 
he felt he could not keep. His reputation for upright, honorable dealing 
was very high, and he never betrayed the confidence his neighbors re- 
posed in him. He was a Democrat in politics, and held many town 
offices, including that of assessor of taxes. He was an honored member 
of the Masonic order, and an earnest attendant of the Methodist Epis- 
copal church. 

Mr. Van Siclen married, in Bonhampton, New Jersey, January 4, 1865, 
Phoebe Elizabeth Acken, born in Perth Amboy, New Jersey, July 17, 
1845, daughter of Jonathan Hatfield and Elizabeth B. (N'oe) Acken. The 
Ackens came to the United States in the ship "Caledonia," which sank 
later in the harbor at Amboy, the wreck being yet visible. Jonathan 
Hatfield Acken was born in Perth Amboy, New Jersey, and was a farmer 
and mason; his wife, Elizabeth B. (Noe) Acken, was born at Oak Tree, 
New Jersey. Mr. and Mrs. Acken were the parents of two sons and two 
daughters: Alonzo, Hannah, Thomas, and Phoebe Elizabeth, the last- 
named the widow of William Van Siclen, who resides in Metuchen and 
is now (1921) in her seventy-sixth year, having been a widow for twelve 
years after a happy married life of forty-two years spent in Metuchen, 
her husband's birthplace. 



ROBERT J. SOLMSON.— The Janeway Button Company of New 
Brunswick, of which Robert J. Solmson is vice-president, was organized 
July 10, 1900, and is the development of a business founded by William 
R. Janeway and conducted under his own name for three years before 
the organization of the present concern. The officers are: William R. 
Janeway, president ; Robert J. Solmson, vice-president ; and John L. Dur- 
yee, treasurer. Their specialty is the making of vegetable ivory buttons, 
beans, etc., and the company occupies a strong position in the trade. 



HOWARD CROSBY VOORHEES, M. D.— As a result of a number 
of years of successful and devoted practice. Dr. Voorhees is too firmly 
intrenched in the confidence and friendship of his fellow-citizens of New 



i66 MIDDLESEX 

Brunswick to require any introduction at the hands of his biographer. 
He is quietly but helpfully identified with the most essential interests of 
his home city and is ever ready to use his influence in behalf of all that 
he deems conducive to the public progress and welfare. 

Howard Crosby Voorhees was born January 4, 1879, in New Bruns- 
wick, and is a son of the late .Abraham and Martha J. (Van Nostrand) 
Voorhees, and a brother of Judge Willard P. Voorhees and Qifford 
Irving Voorhees, both of whom are represented in this work by biogra- 
phies, that of the latter including a full ancestral record. 

The early education of Howard Crosby Voorhees was received at 
Rutgers Preparatory School, from which he graduated in 1898. In 1902 
he received from Princeton University the degree of Bachelor of Arts, 
and in 1906 the College of Physicians and Surgeons conferred upon him 
the degree of Doctor of Medicine. His medical preceptor was Dr. Frank 
M. Donohue, deceased, he being associated with him in practice for five 
years. 

After one year as interne in Bellevue Hospital, Dr. Voorhees, in 1907, 
opened an office in New Brunswick and has since been actively engaged 
in the practice of his profession in that city, building up, at the same time, 
a lucrative and constantly increasing practice and an assured and well 
deserved reputation for skill, knowledge and devotion to duty. 

The principles upheld by the Republican party are those to which Dr. 
Voorhees gives his political allegiance. During the recent World War, 
he served on the examining board, and was also a member of the Volun- 
teer Medical Service Board. He belongs to the Middlesex County and 
New Jersey State Medical societies, and the American Medical Asso- 
ciation. He is a member of the Rutgers Medical Club, and Princeton 
Campus Club. He and his family are members of the Presbyterian 
church. Dr. Voorhees is also a member of the medical staff of St. Peter's 
General Hospital, and the Parker Memorial Home. 

One of Dr. Voorhees's dominant characteristics is an enthusiastic 
devotion to music. He is a pianist of some local note and finds in his art 
refreshment and relaxation from the cares and responsibilities of an 
exacting profession. 

Dr. Voorhees married, January 19, 1918, at Princeton, New Jersey, 
Florence M. Ward, born in England, daughter of Thomas and Annie 
(Cook) Ward, of Newark, Mr. Ward having retired from business. The 
marriage ceremony was performed by President John G. Hibben, of 
Princeton University. Dr. and Mrs. Voorhees are the parents of one 
child : Florence Adelaide, born January 9, 1920, in New York City. 

The professional career of Dr. Voorhees has been filled with activities, 
but he is in the prime of life and his record gives assurance that the com- 
ing years will be still richer in accomplishment. 



ROSCOE GLENN DAVISON.— The Davison name has long been 
associated with the business interests of Middlesex county, particularly 
in Jamesburg, where Benjamin D. Davison in 1892 established a build- 
ing materials business which in later years became the corporation the 



BIOGRAPHICAL 167 

B. D. Davison Lumber Company, of which R. Glenn Davison is vice- 
president and treasurer. 

R. Glenn Davison was born in Jamesburg, Middlesex county. New 
Jersey, September 9, 1889, son of Benjamin D. and Eudora (Worts) 
Diavison, his father a merchant. After courses of study in Jamesburg 
public schools, grade and high, were completed, the young man pursued 
a business course at the Rider, Moore and Stewart School, and then in 
May, 1905, entered his father's employ, the latter then operating a gen- 
eral supply store in Jamesburg, dealing in building materials, coal and 
hardware, furniture, paints, etc. For eleven years he continued in the 
business as an employee, which was a prosperous one. In April, 1916, 
it was incorporated as the B. D. Davison Lumber Company, R. Glenn 
Davison becoming vice-president and treasurer, a position he yet ably 
fills. He is also secretary-treasurer of Davison Estates, a position he has 
filled since August, 1912. 

Mr. Davison is an elder of the First Presbyterian Church of James- 
burg, and superintendent of the Sunday school of that church. He is 
affiliated with the local lodge of the Junior Order of United American 
Mechanics ; in political faith he is a Democrat. 

Mr. Davison married, in Jamesburg, October 15, 191 3, Cora May 
Kirkpatrick, daughter of David L. and Mary (Bowne) Kirkpatrick. Their 
daughter, Jeanette, born October 27, 1915, died January 24, 191 7. The 
family home is in Jamesburg. 



WILLIAM E. MOUNT is recognized as one of the foremost business 
men in Middlesex county, being the oldest and largest authorized Ford 
automobile dealer in the State of New Jersey. In everything pertaining 
to the welfare and advancement of the community he takes an active part, 
and has already done much to promote the prosperity of New Brunswick. 

Mr. Mount was born June 24, 1863, the son of Joseph B. and Mar- 
garet Mount. He obtained his education in the public schools. In 1884 
Mr. Mount moved to the little village of Englishtown* where he pur- 
chased a store, which in a year's time he had turned into a department 
store. In 1889 the store was totally destroyed by fire, but this did not 
discourage Mr. Mount, for a year later he had erected a new store, 
modern in every way, and built of brick and terra cotta tile. In time 
the people found it to their advantage to live in Englishtown, and a gen- 
eral rebuilding of the town took place. By 1895 many of the old build- 
ings were supplanted by modern dwellings, the streets were paved and 
good roads made leading to New Brunswick and other towns near at 
hand. Nine years later, when Henry Ford offered the agency to any 
person willing to sell his motor cars, Mr. Mount took it and received one 
of the first Ford cars that was seen in the southern part of New Jersey. 
Mr. Ford soon noticed that Mr. Mount thought well of his product and 
so decided to appoint him distributor for four counties, in which he 
finally appointed twenty sub-dealers. Mr. Mount's first contract called 
for twenty-five cars ; to-day his contracts covering the four branches he 
owns amount to eleven hundred cars, which only covers the minimum 



i68 MIDDLESEX 

sales he makes. A total number of six thousand cars have been deliv- 
ered by him in the fifteen years that he has been handling them. To-day 
finds Mr. Mount the owner of four modern Ford service stations, vsrhich 
are equipped with all modern Ford repairing tools and machinery. Next 
to Englishtown, William E. Mount takes a keen interest in the affairs 
of New Brunswick, and in consequence built the first modern fireproof 
building on Albany street, foresight again telling him that this street 
would be the real business center. 

Mr. Mount has served two years as Assemblyman, is a director of the 
First National Bank of Englishtown, and belongs to several of the local 
fraternal organizations. 



JOSHUA LIDDLE, now a retired farmer and business man, comes 
from English family, his parents, Joshua and Anna (Buck) Liddle, both 
bom in England, where they were married. Joshua (i) Liddle was an 
English farmer, and in 1825 came to the United States, settling in Perth 
Amboy, New Jersey, where his son, Joshua (2) Liddle, was born, Octo- 
ber 30, 1840. 

Joshua (2) Liddle grew to manhood at Perth Amboy, obtaining a good 
public school education. For many years he was engaged in the retail 
ice business, but finally retired to a good Middlesex county farm, not far 
from Woodbridge, which he purchased. There he lived contented and 
prosperous for a number of years. Later, in 1909, he sold this farm and 
purchased a smaller property near Metuchen, which he occupied until the 
death of his wife, in 1920, then removed to Perth Amboy, where he lives 
retired with his son, Clarence M. Liddle. Mr. Liddle is now an octoge- 
narian, and is remarkably preserved for his years, his faculties being 
especially keen for his years. He is a Republican in politics ; a member 
of the Woodbridge Methodist Episcopal Church; and Woodbridge 
Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fellows. Being a good business man, 
Mr. Liddle has gained a competence through his energy and ability, and 
has spent a life of honorable effort and right living. He is highly re- 
spected by all who know him, and his friends are many. 

Joshua Liddle married, October 23, 1866, in Woodbridge, New Jer- 
sey, Anna L. Mellick, born February 11, 1848, died October 27, 1920, 
daughter of Melancthon F. and Elizabeth (Randolph) Mellick, her 
father bom at Short Hills, New Jersey. Two sons were bom to Joshua 
and Anna L. (Mellick) Liddle: i. Arthur M., born September 8, 1867; 
married Fanny Tyler, and they have a daughter, Florence. 2. Clarence 
M., born November 29, 1871 ; married Clara Pfeiffer, and they have three 
children : Clarence K., William P., and Jean R. This family resides in 
Perth Amboy, New Jersey, at No. 178 Rector street. 



J. MILTON BRINDLE, acting postmaster of Milltown, New Jersey, 
since the resignation of Postmaster Booream, was born November 25, 
1873, in Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania, son of John L. and Anna (Staub) 
Brindle, his father now a retired farmer. John L. Brindle was bom in 




(3? ' ^^' J><^^%--7'ry7,<^-r^£^f<J , 



BIOGRAPHICAL 169 

Virginia, but as a young man located in Pennsylvania where he married 
Mary Staub, born in Mechanicsburg, where they yet reside. 

J. Milton Brindle was educated in the public schools, and grew up on 
the home farm. Later he left his Pennsylvania home, and has since 
served in different capacities in different towns. In 1910 he was ap- 
pointed assistant postmaster in Milltown, New Jersey, and has since held 
that office continuously. When postmaster Booream resigned the office 
of postmaster in 1920, Mr. Brindle was appointed acting postmaster and 
yet serves (April, 1921) no successor yet having been appointed. In 
politics he is a Republican, and in religion, a Lutheran. He is a member 
of the Improved Order of Red Men and the Order of United American 
Mechanics. 

Mr. Brindle married, March 15, 1904, Margaret Schlosser, born May 
15, 1878, died April 8, 1916, daughter of Henry and Catherine (Kuhlthau) 
Schlosser, her father born in Germany, came to the United States in 1870. 
Mr. and Mrs. Brindle are the parents of four children : Milton, born June 
4, 1905 ; Landis, born January 7, 1907 ; Warner, born June 12, 1909 ; Doris, 
born February 29, 191 1. 



JULIUS THEODORE SIMMEN, wholesale baker and a successful 
business man of Perth Amboy, New Jersey, was bom in Cassel, Ger- 
many, February 28, 1873, son of Theodore and Marie (Leckert) Sim- 
men, his father a potter. When eight years of age he was brought to the 
United States by his parents, they settling first in Hoboken, later in 
Perth Amboy, New Jersey. 

Julius T. Simmen attended public schools until thirteen years of age, 
then began his business career by entering the employ of his father, who 
was engaged in the manufacture of pottery. He began at the bottom, 
learning the business and working his way up to a partnership in the 
concern. As the business increased in volume, they added the manu- 
facture of crucibles, fire bricks, slabs, bake ovens and all clay material 
products. He continued in this line of business until he was twenty- 
eight years old, when he gave up the manufacture of pottery and entered 
the wholesale baking business, and now is the head of the largest baking 
establishment in the county of Middlesex, and one of the most success- 
ful business men of Perth Amboy. At the time he gave up the manu- 
facture of pottery he had a number of bake ovens on hand, and conceived 
the idea of using them in his new undertaking. They proved very satis- 
factory from the first and reduced greatly the initial cost of the new busi- 
ness which proved a success from the start. Beginning with one barrel 
of flour per day, he is now consuming seventy-five barrels of flour in 
twenty-four hours, and turning out four hundred thousand loaves of 
bread a month. He is a director of the City National Bank of Perth 
Amboy, and has other business interests of importance. 

Mr. Simmen is a member of Perth Amboy Lodge, No. 784, Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks; the Foresters of America, No. 58; the 
Raritan Yacht Club ; Good Fellowship Club of New York ; several Auto- 
mobile clubs; the Bakers' Club of New Jersey; the National Bakers' 



I70 MIDDLESEX 

Association of America ; is a Republican in politics, and a member of the 
First Presbyterian Qiurch of Perth Amboy. 

Mr. Simmen married, August 4, 1906, in Metuchen, New Jersey, 
Jennie W. Wittnebert, daughter of the late Henry and Anna M. Wittne- 
bert. Mr. and Mrs. Simmen are the parents of four children: Julius 
Theodore (2), born June 14, 1907; Jeannette Marie, born October 26, 
1908; Robert Henry, born April 15, 1910; WiUiam Charles, born March 
7, 1912. 



JOSEPH MAGEE PERRINE.— The Perrine family of New Jersey 
is of French Huguenot blood and trace their lineage to Henri Perrine, 
who was one of that group of French refugees who fled to escape 
religious persecution and were brought over to East Jersey by Sir 
Philip Carteret in 1665, when he came to assume the government of 
that province. From Henri Perrine, the Huguenot, sprang a large and 
influential family, the line to Joseph Magee Perrine, of Jamesburg, 
New Jersey, being traced from Henri Perrine and his wife, Marie Thorel, 
through their third child, Henry Perrine ; his son, John Perrine ; his son, 
John (2) Perrine, and his wife, Mary Rue; their son, John (3) Perrine, 
and his first wife, Ann Stout; their son, Enoch Perrine, and his wife, 
Mary Ely; their son, Thomas Ely Perrine, and his wife, Harriet C. 
Magee; their son, Joseph Magee Perrine, and his wife, Edna Marie 
Dixon, and their children, of the ninth American generation — Marjory 
Dixon ; Phyllis Magee, and Virginia Roberts Perrine. 

(I) Henri Perrine, the ancestor, arrived in New York, on the ship 
"Philip," July 29, 1665. It is said that he was a descendant of Count 
Pierre Perrine, .of La Rochelle, Lower Charente, France, who had fled 
from the persecution which followed the Revocation of the Edict of 
Nantes, in 1685. Count Pierre Perrine and his family, carrying all the 
wealth they could secrete on their persons, embarked at La Rochelle, 
and by way of the Netherlands found their way into England. Henri 
Perrine, the year after his arrival in East Jersey, married Marie Thorel, 
Governor Carteret issuing the license, February 12, 1666. Marie Thorel 
was a French girl, who came over on the ship with Henri Perrine. Their 
marriage is said to have been the first celebrated on the Elizabeth plan- 
tation. After their marriage, they removed to Staten Island. 

(II) Henry Perrine, son of Henri and Marie (Thorel) Perrine, was 
born on Staten Island. On November i, 1711, he bought land on Matcha- 
ponix creek, then in Middlesex county. New Jersey. He married, and 
had a son, John, of whom further. 

(III) John Perrine, son of Henry Perrine, owned land at English- 
town, where he is buried with his wife. 

(IV) John (2) Perrine, son of John (i) Perrine, married Mary Rue, 
who died April 18, 1824, and is buried in Old Tennent Churchyard. He 
died April 26, 1804, and is buried at Hills. 

(V) John (3) Perrine, a major in Middlesex county. New Jersey 
Militia, during the Revolution, was born March 30, 1762, died November 
17, 1848, and was buried at the Old Tennent Churchyard. He was a 



BIOGRAPHICAL 171 

large landowner, his farm later the residence of Louis Ryno. He mar- 
ried (first) August 5, 1785, Ann Stout, born August 12, 1761, died 
December 28, 1822, daughter of David and Catherine (Barclay) Stout. 
She was buried in Old Tennent Churchyard, where later her husband 
was laid beside her. They were the parents of nine children, of whom 
Enoch Perrine was the sixth child. John (3) Perrine married (second) 
Catherine Perrine, who bore him six children. 

(VI) Enoch Perrine, son of John (3) and Ann (Stout) Perrine, was 
born in 1801, died in 1856; married, in 1823, Mary Ely, and among their 
children was a son, Thomas Ely Perrine. 

(VII) Thomas Ely Perrine, son of Enoch and Mary (Ely) Perrine, 
married Harriet C. Magee, December 15, 1871, and they are the parents 
of Joseph Magee Perrine, of whom further. 

(VIII) Joseph Magee Perrine, son of Thomas Ely and Harriet C. 
(Magee) Perrine, was born at Jamesburg, New Jersey, January 22, 
1873. After attending public schools, he became a student at Peddie 
Institute, Hightstown, New Jersey, and later completed his studies at 
Coleman's Business College, Newark, New Jersey. He enlisted in 
business life as an employee of Wilkinson, Gaddis & Company, whole- 
sale grocers of Newark, New Jersey, remaining with that company three 
years. His next position was with J. C. Magee & Son, lumber and coal 
dealers of Jamesburg, New Jersey, with whom he remained three years. 
In 1896, with Frederick L. Buckelew, he bought the business, which 
was reorganized as Perrine & Buckelew, Inc., and is still the head of 
that corporation, dealing in lumber, coal and builders' supplies. Samuel 
E. Perrine, brother of Joseph M., is vice-president of the corporation. 
Daniel B. Malan, treasurer, and Jacob Wyckoff, secretary. 

Mr. Perrine is also president of the First National Bank of James- 
burg, a director of the Perth Amboy Trust Company, and director of 
the Middlesex Title Guarantee and Trust Company. He is also vice- 
president of the Barlow Foundry Company, of Newark, and vice-presi- 
dent of William Dixon, Inc., New York City. Although but in the 
prime of life, he has accomplished much, and is one of the strong, 
influential men of his county. 

Through his patriotic ancestry, Mr. Perrine has gained admission to 
the New Jersey Society, Sons of the American Revolution, and he is 
also affiliated with the Masonic order, the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, and the Junior Order of United American Mechanics. In 
church affiliation he is a Presbyterian, belonging to Jamesburg First 
Church. 

Mr. Perrine married, in Newark, New Jersey, June 16, 1896, Edna 
Marie Dixon, daughter of William and Amelia Dixon. Mr. and Mrs. 
Perrine are the parents of three children : Marjory Dixon, Phyllis Magee, 
and Virginia Roberts. The family home is at Jamesburg, New Jersey. 



EVERETT CLINTON ENSIGN.— When Mr. Ensign retired from 
railroad employ after thirty-five years of faithful service, he continued 
in the office to which he was first appointed a quarter of a century ago 



172 MIDDLESEX 

— secretary to the Board of Education of Woodbridge, Middlesex county, 
New Jersey, a town in which he first saw the light and where he still 
resides. He is a son of Samuel E. and Pamelia (Vining) Ensign, his 
father an old time teacher and later a general merchant of Woodbridge. 
He came to that town from Simsbury, Connecticut, where the Ensign 
family had long been seated. Pamelia (Vining) Ensign was of old 
Massachusetts family, she coming from Southwick. 

The Ensigns of Simsbury, Connecticut, descend from James Ensign, 
born in England, who was among the first settlers of Cambridge, Massa- 
chusetts. The family was located in Kent, England, as early as 1395, 
and in Norfolk, Essex, and other English counties very early. James 
Ensign came to Hartford, Connecticut, with Rev. Thomas Hooker's 
colony, was among the original members of the First Church there, and 
ranks with founders of that city. He was a man of importance in the 
early settlement. Hartford was the family home of this branch until 
the fifth generation, when Moses Ensign, son of Isaac, moved to Sims- 
bury, Connecticut, that town giving him a grant of land as an inducement 
to settle there and ply his blacksmith's trade. He died there, May 12, 
1816, at the age of sixty-nine. He was undoubtedly the great-grand- 
father of Samuel E. Ensign, father of Everett Clinton Ensign, of Wood- 
bridge, New Jersey. 

Everett C. Ensign was born in Woodbridge, New Jersey, February 
27, 1858, and there yet resides, a man most highly esteemed in the town 
of his birth. He was educated in Woodbridge public schools. State 
Normal School at Trenton, and a business college at Newark, New Jer- 
sey. He began business life immediately after school years were over, his 
first position being with the Pennsylvania Railroad Company in their 
Jersey City office. He remained with the Pennsylvania system thirty- 
five years, being connected with the maintenance of equipment depart- 
ment in the accounting division. He won many promotions and increases 
in salary, but finally, in September, 1914, tendered his resignation and 
sundered the associations of thirty-five years. 

In 1899 Mr. Ensign was elected by the members of the Woodbridge 
Board of Education as secretary of that board, a position he has now 
held for twenty-two years. In 191 7 he was appointed by the township 
authorities to rearrange an assessment system, and he has since con- 
tinued that work in addition to his secretarial duties. He is deeply 
interested in civic affairs and public matters generally, and takes an 
active part in all movements that promise to advance the interests of 
Woodbridge. 

Mr. Ensign is a Republican in politics. He is affiliated with the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Royal Arcanum of Wood- 
bridge. In religious affiliation the family is connected with the Metho- 
dist Episcopal church of Woodbridge. 

Mr. Ensign married, in Newark, New Jersey, Ida Ayres, daughter 
of John D. and Maria Ayres, her father a clay miner and dealer of 
Woodbridge, and of an ancient New Jersey family. Mr. and Mrs. Ensign 
are the parents of three children: i. Everett M., who is now editor 



BIOGRAPHICAL 173 

of the Life Insurance "News" of New York City, and secretary of the 
National Association of Life Insurance Underwriters. He married 
Evelyn Stout, of Rahway, New Jersey. 2. Ralph W., who was a mem- 
ber of the famous Seventh Regiment of New York City, and was com- 
missioned captain in the United States army during the World War, 
1917-1918, stationed at Camp Upton, Long Island; he is now manager 
of the Garden City Company, Garden City, Long Island. 3. Helen V., 
who has been a teacher in Woodbridge schools since 1904. 



EDWARD A. PFEIFFER.— A great contributing factor to the 
prosperity of Middlesex county has been the vast deposits of clay of 
superior quality for the manufacture of fire brick, tile, drain pipe, terra 
cotta and other articles of common use. Edward A. Pfeiffer, now passed 
into eternal rest, was one of the men who aided in developing the clay 
products industry. For many years he mixed clay, and was connected 
with Henry Maurer & Son, at Maurer, New Jersey. His service with 
them continued for about thirty-five years, until his death in 1917. He 
was an important man in the business, and was held in high esteem, 
and had many friends in business and social life. 

Edward A. Pfeiffer, son of John and Sophia (Waltz) Pfeiffer was 
born at Fords, New Jersey, July 27, 1865, died there, July 17, 1917. He 
grew up on the home farm and obtained a good public school education, 
finishing in high school. He later became interested in the clay business, 
and was a miner of clay. The business he established, and long success- 
fully conducted, is still managed by his son, who was trained in the 
business under his honored father. 

In politics Mr. Pfeiffer was a Republican, and so interested in the 
welfare of his community that for fifteen years he served upon the Town 
Council. He was a devout church man, and long a member of the 
Presbyterian church of Metuchen. He was a member of the Masonic 
order, the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and the Royal 
Arcanum. He was interested in all of these orders, and in everything 
that was of interest and benefit to the community in which he lived. He 
was a good business man, citizen, a friend and neighbor, and above all 
a good home man. 

Mr. Pfeiffer married, December i, 1892, Mary E. Liddle, born at 
Fords, New Jersey, February 12, 1874, daughter of John and Margaret 
(Emmons) Liddle. Mr. and Mrs. Pfeiffer were the parents of seven 
children: Edward L., born December 11, 1893, died August 14, 1896; 
Russell E., born September 20, 1895, died January 29, 1897; Sophie I., 
born May 9, 1897, married Henry C. Koster, of Perth Amboy; Clifford 
O., born April 19, 1899, married Bess L. Warren, of Perth Amboy; 
J. Spencer, born May 3, 1901 ; Elizabeth M., born January 24, 1904; and 
Robert W., born April 7, 1910. Mrs. Mary E. (Liddle) Pfeiffer survives 
her husband, and continues her residence at the old Pfeiffer home, 
between Fords and Metuchen, near the village of Fords, in which place 
she was born, and where her life has been largely passed. 



174 MIDDLESEX 

JOHN H. LOVE, PH. B.— The career of John H. Love became inter- 
woven with the history of Woodbridge High School in 1895, and since 
that year the history of one is the history of both, so far as is literally 
possible. A quarter of a century has elapsed since a committee from the 
Woodbridge Board of Education, after a personal investigation of Pro- 
fessor Love's work in other fields, reported favorably upon his "appoint- 
ment to the principalship of the Woodbridge High School, and during 
that period the growth and advancement of the school and of the schools 
of the township of Woodbridge have been phenomenal, for since 1901, 
Professor Love has been supervising principal of all schools of the town- 
ship. He has won high position among educators, and is an honor to 
the teaching profession. He is of English birth and parentage, a son 
of William S. and Mary A. (Brindley) Love, who in the year 1887 left 
their English home and came to the United States. 

John H. Love was born in Hanley, Staffordshire, England, December 
7, 1868, and there spent the first twenty years of his life. He was 
educated in the public schools and Teachers' Training classes, winning 
a Queen's Scholarship. He was for two years an assistant master of 
the Cannon Street School for Boys, and received the highest rating 
as a teacher. With this training and record he came to the United States 
in 1889, his first position in this country being as teacher of an ungraded 
school in Salem county, New Jersey. In September, 1890, he began a 
two years' engagement as principal of the North Long Branch 
.School, and in September, 1892, he began his three years' term as 
principal of the public school at Belmar, New Jersey. There he 
inaugurated a high school department, and brought the standard of the 
school to a par with other educational institutions of its class. Then 
came the call to Woodbridge, where a quarter of a century of most suc- 
cessful work stands to his credit. 

In. 1895, when Professor Love came to Woodbridge as principal of 
the high school, there were in the different districts of the township 
school buildings with a capacity mostly of one and two rooms, the only 
exception being School No. i, in Woodbridge, which had twelve rooms. 
The Six Roads School had one room ; Locust Grove, one room ; Rahway 
Neck, one room; Fords, two rooms; Iselin, one room; and at Carteret 
there were four rooms in use. After six years as principal of the high 
school, Professor Love was made supervising principal of township 
schools and at once began a campaign for more, larger and better 
equipped school buildings, and for a wider curriculum, and a larger 
teaching staff. These results have all been attained through his unceas- 
ing, uncompromising efforts, and the benefit of his administration is in 
evidence in every department. 

There are now nine school buildings in the township, with another ih 
course of erection at Sewaren, all being of modern fireproof construction. 
These buildings contain eighty-nine class rooms, exclusive of manual 
training rooms, gymnasiums, auditoriums, and other special rooms. 
These are all modernly furnished and equipped, no better being foiind 
anywhere. Woodbridge has a high school and two primary schools, the 



BIOGRAPHICAL 175 

other schools being in Port Reading, Avenel, Iselin, Fords, xvcasbey, and 
Hope Lawn. About thirty-five hundred children of school age are 
enrolled in the township, and one hundred teachers are employed. Spe- 
cial supervisors, manual training, music and drawing teachers visit all 
the schools at stated intervals, thereby giving equal advantages to the 
children regardless of the school they attend. The members of the 
Board of Education, consisting of Howard A. Tappen, president; E. C. 
Ensign, H. R. Valentine, Fred Bohlen, Charles S. Farrell, Maurice P. 
Dunigan, Melvin Clum, Louis Meyer, and A. B. Walling, have been 
absolutely loyal to the best educational interests of the township, acting 
in perfect harmony with the supervising principal. Professor Love. The 
Woodbridge township school system has no superior in the State. 

Professor Love is a member of Township Professional Circle (presi- 
dent) ; the Supervising Principals' Association, of Middlesex county; the 
State Teachers' Association; State Council of Education, and the Na- 
tional Teachers' Association. He is a member and past master of 
Americus Lodge, No. 831, Free and Accepted Masons, and was formerly 
a member of other fraternal organizations which pressing duties com- 
pelled him to relinquish. He is president of Woodbridge Chapter of the 
American Red Cross ; senior warden of Trinity Episcopal Church, and in 
politics is a Republican, serving on the election board of District No. i. 

During the War of 1917-18, Professor Love was commissioned sec- 
ond lieutenant of Company A, Woodbridge, New Jersey, State Militia 
Reserve, that company rendering notable service at the time of the great 
explosion of munitions at Morgan, near Woodbridge. 

Professor Love married, in 1893, Anna H. Newcomer, of Columbia, 
Pennsylvania, daughter of Emanuel and Christiana (Hornberger) New- 
comer, of an ancient and honorable Pennsylvania family. Six children 
were born to Professor and Mrs. Love: Verna B., married William E. 
Lape, and resides in Evanston, Illinois; Gregory W., who during the 
World War, 1917-18, served in France as gunner's mate with Naval 
Battery, No. 4; Marian B., residing at home; Victor N., who served 
in the United States navy on the submarine chaser "Narada" during the 
World War ; Edgar, and Ruth J., both high school students. 

In 1901 Professor Love received from Illinois Wesleyan University 
the degree of Ph. B., and other honors have been conferred upon him 
for his work as an educator. This brief record of the life of John H. 
Love reveals a man of high ideals and devotion to every duty, pro- 
fessional or civic. He has won a host of friends in his adopted town, 
and is as favorably as he is widely known. 



DANIEL POTTER OLMSTEAD.— In his Vermont home, St. Al- 
bans, Daniel P. Olmstead, president of the Evening News Company, of 
Perth Amboy, spent his youth, finished his school years and learned 
the printer's trade. His experience in the printing shop of the St. Albans 
"Messenger" was supplemented by a period with a large printing house 
in New York City, his residence in Perth Amboy beginning at the close 
of that period, February, 1898. From that date he has been intimately 
connected with the publishing business of Perth Amboy. 



176 MIDDLESEX 

Olmstead is an ancient English name of local significance, meaning 
a place or town by the green oaks; from Holm, an oak, and stead, a 
place. It is found under varied forms of spelling — Olmsted, Olmstead, 
Omsted, Homestead, Holmsted, Homsted, etc., but all of the early New 
England families of the name descend from James Olmsted, born in 
England, who came to Boston in the ship "Lion," September i6, 1632. 
In 1636 he went with the colony from Massachusetts and was one of the 
original settlers and proprietors of Hartford, Connecticut, where he died. 
He was evidently a man of means, as in his will he bequeathed fifty 
pounds to the Hartford church. Descendants settled in all parts of New 
England, this branch settling in Vermont, where Myron B. Olmstead 
was living at the time of the birth of 'his son, Daniel P. Olmstead. 

Daniel Potter Olmstead, only son of Myron B. and Mary (Potter) 
Olmstead, was born in St. Albans, Vermont, May 7, 1871. He completed 
public school study with graduation from high school and soon after- 
ward entered the employ of the St. Albans "Messenger" as printer's 
apprentice, serving a term of four years. The next five years were spent 
with a large printing establishment of New York City, following which 
he located in February, 1898, at Perth Amboy, New Jersey, going there 
to take charge of the job printing department of the old Perth Amboy 
"Republican." He became financially interested in the "Republican," 
and continued with its job printing department for five years, becoming 
president of the newly organized Evening News Company, in 1903. The 
Perth Amboy "Evening News" has become the leading daily newspaper 
of Middlesex county, and since its foundation the company has been 
under the executive management of Mr. Olmstead, a practical printer 
and publisher. 

Mr. Olmstead is a member of the board of directors of the Perth 
Amboy Savings Institution, a director and member of the finance com- 
mittee of the Young Men's Christian Association, and ex-president of 
the old Board of Trade, and interested in all that pertains to the welfare 
of his city. He is a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks, and of the Masonic order, affiliated with Raritan Lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons, and Amboy Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, having 
filled the office of high priest of the chapter. He is a vestryman of St. 
Peter's Episcopal Church, and a member of the Colonia Country, East 
Jersey, and Raritan Yacht clubs. 

Mr. Olmstead married, in Brooklyn, New York, August 31, 1898, 
Frances Charters, born in Brooklyn, daughter of David J. and Alice 
(Stevenson) Charters, her father deceased, her mother a present resident 
of Brooklyn. The Charters family is of English descent. 



RAYMOND R. MOORE.— For forty years prior to his passing, in 
1899, Ellis F. Moore was engaged in business in Woodbridge, New 
Jersey, as a general merchant and hardware dealer of the firm F. & E. F. 
Moore, Hardware, dating from 1871. For thirteen years that firm, 
composed of Franklin and Ellis F. Moore, brothers, continued in busi- 
ness, Franklin Moore then selling his interest and withdrawing. As 



BIOGRAPHICAL 177 

his sons came to suitable years, Ellis F. Moore admitted them to the 
business and when, in 1899, he was called to his reward, those sons, 
Raymond R. and Lawrence Moore, bought the interest of the other 
heirs, and the hardware business, with a Moore at its head, is continued 
in Woodbridge until the present, 1921, the firm name E. F. Moore & 
Sons. 

Ellis F. Moore was a son of Lawrence Moore, who was born on 
Staten Island, New York, January 10, 1801, but at the age of thirteen 
crossed the narrow water that separates the island from New York, and 
henceforth made his home in the latter State. He learned the wheel- 
wright's trade, and in 1837 permanently settled in Woodbridge, Middle- 
sex county. New Jersey, where he died August 15, 1864. He conducted 
a very prosperous business in Woodbridge until his death, when his son 
succeeded him in the management of the business. Lawrence Moore 
married, March 11, 1823, Ann Hutchinson, who long survived him, she 
dying September 29, 1880. They were the parents of six sons and a 
daughter: Daniel, died in early childhood; William Henry, died at the 
age of twenty-three years; Francis, died in early childhood; Lawrence, 
a carriage maker; Franklin, a carriage maker; Martha Ann, married, 
August 7, 1859, Isaac H. Harned ; Ellis F., of further mention. 

Ellis F. Moore, youngest son of Lawrence and Ann (Hutchinson) 
Moore, was born in Woodbridge, New Jersey, September 21, 1846, and 
died in the town of his birth, April 26, 1899. After his school years were 
over, he embarked on a business career, being but thirteen years of age 
when, in 1859, ^^ became a mercantile clerk, becoming later a merchant 
in his own right and head of a general hardware business. He was 
twenty-five years of age when he and his brother, Franklin, founded the 
hardware business of F. and E. F. Moore (previously mentioned), of 
which, in 1884, he became sole owner and head, continuing until his death 
fifteen years later, leaving sons to succeed him and perpetuate the name 
Moore, which was brought to Woodbridge in 1837 by Lawrence Moore, 
his father. Ellis F. Moore married Rose Vennetee, and this review will 
now follow the career of their son, Raymond R. Moore, his father's 
successor in business, and of the third generation of this family in busi- 
ness in Woodbridge. 

Raymond R. Moore was born in Woodbridge, New Jersey, August 
31, 1878, and there completed a public school course, after which he 
pursued a course of study in a New Jersey Business College, Newark, 
New Jersey, finishing with the graduating class of 1896. He was at 
once taken into the hardware store then owned and conducted by his 
honored father, Ellis F. Moore, and for three years he was a bookkeeper 
in that store, but was given every opportunity to become familiar with 
the detail of the business. Ellis F. Moore died in 1899, and in the set- 
tlement of the estate Raymond R. and Lawrence Moore purchased the 
hardware business founded by their father and uncle in 1871, and con- 
tinued it under the firm name of E. F. Moore & Sons. The brothers 
operated the business as a partnership until 1918, when Lawrence Moore 
withdrew his interest, it being purchased by Raymond R. Moore who 

Mid-12 



178 



MIDDLESEX 



now, in the fiftieth anniversary year of its founding, is sole owner of 
the business which in that time has not been out of the Moore name. 
His store is now located at the corner of Main and Fulton streets, Wood- 
bridge, but previous to 1918 was at No. 87 Main street for thirty-two 
years, the original store of F. & E. F. Moore having been on Green 
street (1871), next to the Masonic Hall. That building prior to 1871 
had been in use as a store since 1856 and there, in 1859, Ellis F. Moore 
began his mercantile career as clerk. The business, of which Raymond 
R. Moore is the owner and head, is the only one with which he has 
ever been connected. He came to it in 1896 fresh from business college, 
and enjoyed the years of business training under his honored father 
before being called to its management. He was a youth of eighteen 
when he entered his father's employ, twenty-one when he became a 
partner with his brother Lawrence, forty when he became sole owner, 
and now, at the age of forty-three, has no other business interests. He 
has won the same high standing and business .reputation that his father 
enjoyed, and is one of the representative men of his community. 

When the outbreak of war between the United States and Spain, 
in 1898, called upon the manhood of the nation, Mr. Moore responded 
by enlistment in the Third Regiment, New Jersey Volunteers. He 
enlisted at Elizabeth, New Jersey, and was honorably discharged at 
Pompton Lakes, New Jersey, November 2, 1898. He enlisted as a private 
and rose through successive promotions to the rank of captain of his 
company. When again, in 1917, the president's call went out for men 
to protect American honor and interests, and fight in the cause of justice 
and right. Captain Moore, although exempted by years, responded and 
was commissioned captain of Company C, Second Regiment, New Jer- 
sey Volunteers, and served from March 28, 1917, until February 6, 1919, 
when he was honorably discharged and mustered out at Camp Wads- 
worth, South Carolina, a veteran of two wars. 

Captain Moore is affiliated with Americus Lodge, No