(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Memorial and family history of Erie County, New York"






'L,*.>^:;v 



..'*.■;•* 
?^^>^" 







CORNELL 

UNIVERSITY 

LIBRARY 




BOUGHT WITH THE INCOME 

OF THE sag:^ endowment 

FUND GIVEN IN 1 89 1 BY 
HENRY WILLIAMS SAGE 



CORNELL UNIVERSITY LIBRARY 



3 1924 092 228 422 




1=^' 



Cornell University 
Library 



The original of this book is in 
the Cornell University Library. 

There are no known copyright restrictions in 
the United States on the use of the text. 



http://www.archive.org/details/cu31924092228422 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY 
HISTORY 

OF 

ERIE COUNTY 

NEW YORK 



VOLUME I 

BIOGRAPHICAL AND GENEALOGICAL 

ILLUSTRATED 



NEW YORK- BUFFALO 

THE GENEALOGICAL PUBLISHING COMPANY 

1906-8 



THE WINTHEOP PEESS 

419-421 LAFAYETTE STREET 

NEW YORK 



PKEFACE 

History, as the word was once understood, applied almost 
exclusively to the transactions of nations. Historical narrative 
was a panorama, wherein the details were lost in the general 
effect. As history has become less of an art and more of a 
science, there is an increasing tendency to dwell on local 
environment, and to amplify the intimate, personal relation of 
men to events. This is a significant truth. It shows that the 
advanced intelligence of mankind cannot rest content with the 
worn-out notion that any existent condition of affairs, any 
given state of civilization, is due to a few great men, and to a 
small number of important episodes. Just as the victories of 
war are won by the rank and file, rather than by the generals, 
so the triumphs of progress are gained by the many. As the 
family is the unit of the town, so the individual is the unit of 
the family. So widely are these considerations accepted, and 
so firmly have they become established, that a large share of 
the most careful current historic research is devoted to locali- 
ties. Specialization of this character logically leads to 
emphasis on the influence of persons. Thus the boundary line 
between history and biography disappears, and the dry bones 
of facts are vitalized by human interest. 

The purpose of the Memokial and Family History of Erie 
County, New York, is concisely expressed by its title. In 
the scheme of narration, the publishers have not circumscribed 
the plan of the work by any sharply defined limits. While 
the sketches of individuals are, it is hoped, terse enough 
to preserve the quality of readability, they are more than a 
mere statement of facts and dates. Living characterization 
has been kept in view, and it has been sought, in each instance, 
to grasp the salient traits of the subject and to show, in a clear 
light, the chief points of his career. 

A special feature of these volumes, is the genealogical 
department, giving condensed accounts of ancestries, which 
have the uses but not the cumbersomeness, of works purely 
devoted to genealogy, and may serve as a basis for genealogical 
research. It is believed that, apart from the natural interest 



individuals have in preserving some reliable history of their 
families, these volumes may often be profitably consulted by 
the lawyer, the conserver of public records, the examiner of 
titles, the editor and the general business man. 

Exceptional pains have . been taken to ensure accuracy. 
Data have been compiled from original sources, by personal 
interviews, from manuscripts, correspondence and other 
authoritative records. In many instances broken links in the 
chain of ancestral descent have been supplied, and current 
errors rectified. 

In its memorial feature the work embraces a more or less 
distinct department devoted to memorial sketches of men of 
the past. In commemorating the virtues of the departed who 
have lived honorable and useful lives, and in rendering honor 
to whom honor is due, we believe we are performing a public 
service and inculcating the most valuable lessons of veneration 
and good citizenship. 

The illustrative feature not only comprises one of the most 
interesting and attractive departments of the work, but helps 
to a quicker and better comprehension of the history and per- 
sonality of the subject portrayed. No similar work ever issued 
probably was more representative or possessed a higher artistic 
merit in its portrait feature. Such a collection of pictures, a 
large proportion of which are steel engravings, of the repre- 
sentative men of the locality, cannot help but prove of much 
interest and enduring value to the present and succeeding 
generations. 

THE PUBLISHERS. 



BIOGRAPHICAL INDEX OF VOLUME I 



PAGE 

Afcbott, Frank A 373 

Adam, Robert Borthwick 151 

Babst, Frank L 385 

Bardol, Frank V 256 

Bartlett, Eugene M 182 

Beals, Edward Preble 43 

Beals, John Wilkenson 43 

Beals, Paseall Pratt 48 

Bennett, Lewis J 216 

Benson, Morris 161 

Biden, John D 341 

Birge, George Kingsley 126 

Birge, Martin Howland 124 

Bissell, Amos A 331 

Bissell, Herbert P 331 

Borzilleri, Charles R 366 

Brendel, Henry W 181 

Butler, Edward H 113 

Chapin Family, The 51 

Chapin, Cyrenius . . . . ; 51 

Chapin, Louise Marie 53 

Chpate, Isaac W 155 

Choate, Rufus Mortimer 154 

Cleveland, Grover 156 

Clinton Family, The 16 

Clinton, Charles 17 

Clinton, DeWitt 18 

Clinton, George 24 

Clinton, George W 22 

Clinton, James 18 

Clinton, Marshall O 26 

Clinton, Spencer 23 

Coatsworth, Caleb 185 

Coatsworth, Edward E 185 

Colton, Charles Henry 338 

Conners, William J 297 

Connery, Michael Patrick 345 

Cooke, Walter P 351 

Cuddeback, William H 173 

Daujf orth, Frederick L 290 

Danser, Earl George . . . 273 

Dark, Samuel John 324 

Dark, Thomas Jr 324 

Dark, Thomas, Sr 322 

Desbecker, Louis Eugene 288 



Dodge, Leonard 231 

Dolson, Charles Augustus 368 

Douglas, William A 2?8 

EUicott, Joseph 15 

Emery, Edward K 278 

Esenwein, Carl Augustus 196 

Parrar, Chillion M 223 

Falk, Eugene Lawrence 313 

Falk, Sansom 311 

Feqhter, Loui? 380 

Pilmore, Millard 49 

Fleischmann, Simon 254 

Pox, George C 263 

Getz, Reuben Joseph 306 

Gibson, Thomas Morton 159 

Gopdyear Family, The 97 

Gqpdyear, Bradley 98 

Goodyear, Charles W 98 

Goodyear, Frank Henry 102 

Greene Family, The 82 

Greene, DeWitt Clinton 85 

Greene, Joseph C 83 

Greene, Walter D 84 

Haffa, George Jacob 300 

Hammond Family, The 205 

Hammond, Cltarlgs 207 

Hamniond, Clark Hurd 209 

Hammond, William W 207 

Hefford, Robert Rodman 326 

Hingston, Edward J 362 

Hodson, Devoe Pell 212 

Hotchkiss, William Horace 334 

Houck, William Charles 355 

Howard, George 56 

Howard, George R 56 

Howland, John David 292 

Hubbell, Mark Sibley 251 

Huntley, Charles Russell 198 

Hutchinson, Henry Howard 220 

Hutchinson, John M 220 

Hynes, John Joseph 320 

Jewett Family, The 68 

Jewett, Edgar B 72 

Jewett, Frederick A 74 

Jewett, John Cotton 72 



BIOGRAPHICAL INDEX OF VOLUME I 



PAGE 

Jewett, Sherman S 69 

Kirkover, Henry Donly 214 

Keating, Robert 195 

Kenefick, Daniel 389 

Kingsley, Silas 275 

Kingsley, Speneer Silas 275 

Kraft, Harry Nelson 249 

Larkin, John D 79 

Larkin, Levi H 80 

Laveraek, George Edward 193 

Laverack, William 191 

Letohworth, George Jedediah 187 

Letchworth, Ogden Pearl 189 

Lewis, Loran L 107 

Mack, Norman E 308 

Marshall, Charles De Angelis 33 

Marshall, John Ellis 32 

Marshall, Orsamus Holmes 32 

Matthews, George Edward.' 77 

Matthews, James N 75 

Mayer, Joseph B 241 

Meldrum, Alexander 242 

Meldrum, Herbert Alexander 243 

McNaughton, Pliny Barton 304 

MeWillialns, John J 165 

Mc Williams, S. N 167 

Montgomery, Ezekiel 245 

Montgomery, George B 247 

Montgomery, Henry 245 

Moot, Adelbert 210 

Morey, Norris 170 

Morse, Charles Miller 379 

Morse, David R 376 

Noble, Horace A 365 

Norton, Charles Davis 66 

Norton, Nathaniel Willis 282 

Norton, Porter 56 

Patch, Maurice Byron 314 

Persons, Henry Hamilton 317 

Persons, Henry Ziba 318 

Pierce, Henry J 218 

Pomeroy, Robert W. 375 

Pooley, Charles A 280 

Porter Family, The 37 

Porter, Peter Augustus 40 

Porter, Peter Augustus 41 

Porter, Peter Buell 37 

Pratt Family, The 1 

Pratt, Pascal Paoli 6 

Pratt, Samuel 2 



Pratt, Samuel Jr 3 

Pratt, Samuel Fetcher 5 

Rich, Andrew Jackson 29 

Rich, Gains Barrett 27 

Rich, Gaius Barrett 28 

Rich, Gaius Barrett 31 

Ricker, George Alfred 234 

Sawyer Family, The 117 

Sawyer, George Pliny 119 

Sawyer, James Dennison 118 

Sangster Family, The 370 

Sangster, Amos W. 371 

Sangster, Arthur J 372 

Sangster, James 370 

Scatcherd, James Newton 201 

Seatcherd, John Newton 200 

Sehaefer, Philip G 294 

Schreiber, A 259 

Schwartz, John Leo 352 

Schoellkopf, Arthur 134 

Schoellkopf, Alfred 138 

Schoellkopf, C. P. Hugo 140 

Schoellkopf, Henry 131 

Schoellkopf, Jacob F 127 

Schoellkopf, Jacob F 136 

Schoellkopf, Louis 132 

Seibert, Simon 302 

Sidway Family, The 142 

Sidway, Franklin 142 

Sidway, Frank St. John 144 

Sidway, James 142 

Sidway, Jonathan 142 

Sigman, Albert J 269 

Sill, Henry Seymour 249 

Sill, Seth Ely 248 

Smith, T. Guilford 89 

Snyder, Ole Lynn 265 

Sprague Family, The 109 

Sprague, Carlton 112 

Sprague, Eben Carlton 110 

Spratt, Maurice 271 

Steul, Henry Christian 328 

Stoddart, Thomas 286 

Strangmann, Carl Augustus 168 

Taylor, Harry L 358 

Timon, John 64 

Tindle, Thomas 229 

Towusend, Charles 10 

Townsend, Charles H 

Trefts, George Martin 285 



BIOGRAPHICAL INDEX OF VOLUME I 



PAGE 

Trefts, John 284 

Turgeon, Newton Ernest 261 

Urban, George 120 

Urban, George Jr 120 

Urban, William Charles 123 

Walbridge, Charles B 86 

Walbridge, George Brush 86 

Walker, William H 145 

Wallenmeier, John George 178 

Waltz, Hiram 204 

Warren, James D 147 

Warren, William C 149 

Weber, John B 162 

Webster Family, The 382 

Webster, George Buell 383 

Weed Family, The 53 

Weed, Hobart 54 

Weed, Thaddeus 54 

Weimert, Orson J. . . 360 

Wendt, Henry William 347 

Wendt, William Franz 349 



PAGE 

Wheeler, Albert J 225 

Wheeler, Charles Barker 175 

White, James Penfield 62 

White, James Piatt 60 

White, James Piatt 63 

White, Seymour Penfield 63 

Wickser, John George 236 

Wilkeson Family, The 12 

Wilkeson, John 13 

Wilkeson, Samuel 12 

Wilkeson, Samuel 14 

Wilkeson, Maria Louise 14 

Williams, Charles Edwin 257 

Wilson, Guilford R 35 

Wilson, Thomas William 295 

Wilson, Walter T 35 

Worthington, Charles Gadd 227 

Worthington, Dan L ; 227 

Zimmerman, George Michael 356 

Zipp, Henry 387 



BIOGRAPHICAL AND GENEALOGICAL 

THE PEATT FAMILY. For more than a century the Pratt 
family with which this slietch is concerned has held a place 
of central prominence in the annals of Buffalo. In that 
community the distinctions attaching to the name of Pratt 
are multifold, and include the honors which belong to pioneer 
hardihood, soldierly courage, industrial enterprise, civic 
service and social leadership. • 

The name Pratt is derived from the Latin Pratum, a 
meadow, its etymology being referred to in the motto "Rident 
Florentia Prata" — -"The flourishing meadows smile" — found 
in the emblazonry of Pratt of Ryston Hall, Norfolk, England. 
With changes due to the difference of languages the name 
appears as that of several persons in France and the south of 
Europe, notably of one possessing the barony of Pratella, near 
Rouen, France, whose lord, in 1066, is found on the Roll of 
Battle Abbey as accompanying William the Conqueror at the 
battle of Hastings. In 1096 Le Sire De Preaux, whose arms 
were gules, an eagle d'or, followed Duke Robert Compte Hare 
of Normandy in the First Crusade, and John and William De 
Pratelles, brothers, were companions of Richard Coeur de 
Lion. The records of the Pratt family appear in almost every 
county in England, but are particularly identified with those 
of Hertford and Norfolk. In the former, about 1538, lived 
Thomas Pratt of Baldock. His son Andrew was the father of 
the Rev. William Pratt, whose son John was the founder of 
the Pratt family in America. The date when John Pratt came 
to the Puritan Colonies is not settled, but he was in this country 



2 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

as early as 1639. He was one of the original proprietors 
of Hartford, Conn.; his sons were John and Daniel. John 
Pratt (2d), eldest son of John and Elizabeth Pratt, was born 
about 1638. He was several times chosen for public office. 
He was twice married, his first wife having been Hannah 
Boosey, and his second Hepzibah Wyatt. Jonathan Pratt, son 
of John Pratt (2d) and Hepzibah Wyatt, was born in Hartford, 
Conn., in 1683, and died there in 1755. Aaron Pratt, son of 
Jonathan and Mary (Benton) Pratt, settled in Westminster, 
Vt. In 1757 he married Mary Clark, Of East Hartford, by 
whom he had six children. Aaron Pratt died in Buffalo, Feb- 
ruary 9, 1807, and his widow died in the same city, November 
20, 1809. 

CAPT. SAMUEL PRATT, fourth child of Aaron and Mary 
Pratt, was an important figure in the pioneer epoch of Buffalo, 
having been one of the founders of the city. Capt. Pratt had 
an interesting and eventful career. He was a typical fron- 
tiersman, a gallant soldier of the Revolutionary War, an able 
business man. 

Capt. Pratt was born in East Hartford, Conn., and was still 
a child when his parents removed to Westminster, Vt. At the 
outbreak of the Revolutionary War he responded to the call to 
arms and on July 10, 1775, enlisted in the 3d Company, 8th 
Regiment, Huntington's brigade. Originally stationed on Long 
Island Sound, the brigade was ordered by General Washington 
to Boston Camps, where Capt. Pratt accompanied his com- 
mand, taking post at Roxbury, Mass., with Gen. Spencer's 
brigade. Here he remained until the expiration of his term 
of service, being honorably discharged December 14, 1775. 
Capt. Pratt again enlisted July 2, 1777, in Capt. John Har- 
mon's Company, 4th Regiment, Connecticut Line, and went 
into camp at Peekskill. In September the command was 
ordered to join Washington's army in Pennsylvania. The regi- 
ment marched in the Connecticut brigade under Gen. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY, 3 

McDougal, and Oapt. Pratt participated in the battle of 
Grermantown, and tooli part in the defense of Fort Mifflin. 

In 1801 Capt. Pratt went to Montreal, and as the head of an 
expedition there organized made his Way through the Cana- 
dian forests to Buffalo. With rare foresight he immediately 
became convinced of the future greatness of this Western 
town. In 1804 he journeyed to his former home in New Eng- 
land in a coach which was the first carriage ever seen in Erie 
County. Capt. Pratt brought his family to Buffalo and threw 
himself heartily into the life and interests of the place. He 
was a man of boundless energy and business enterprise, and 
he established a store, built extensively and took a leading 
part in all matters of public improvement. For many 
years his store was the principal rendezvous of the 
Indians, and there they did a large share of their 
trading. From them Capt. Pratt received two significant 
titles, " Aegurrigu " — " honest dealer," and " Hohamdoah " 
— " merciful man." 

About the year 1785 Capt. Pratt married Esther Wells, who 
was born in Hatfield, Mass., April 20, 1766, and was the 
daughter of Samuel and Lucy (Evans) Wells. Mrs. Pratt came 
of one of the oldest and best families in New England. After 
the burning of Buffalo in 1813, Mrs. Pratt, who was then a 
widow, returned to Westminster, Vt., with her children and 
lived in the old homestead, later, returning to Buffalo, where 
she died in 1830. The death of Capt. Pratt occurred August 
31, 1812. He was beloved and respected by all and his name 
stands high in the roll of those who laid the foundations of 
civic life in Western New York. He was one of the first to 
introduce public worship in Buffalo and was among the pio- 
neers in the cause of education. 

SAMUEL PRATT, JR., eldest son of Ckpt. Samuel Pratt, 
invites comparison with his father by his high ideals of citizen- 
ship, his military service and business pursuits and his close 



4 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

identification with the material welfare and. the mental and 
moral interests of Buffalo. 

Samuel Pratt, Jr., was born at Hartford, Conn., in 1787. 
Early in life he went to Westminster, Vt., where he engaged 
in commerce, and when his parents removed to Buffalo he did 
not accompany the family, being at that time occupied in mer- 
cantile pursuits at Townsend, Vt. In August, 1807, he came 
to Buffalo with his wife and child, where with his father he 
engaged in business. However, the son soon retired from 
commerce that he might be able more satisfactorily to dis- 
charge his duties as Sheriff of Niagara County, to which oface 
he was appointed in 1810. Later he formed a partnership with 
Elijah Leech, his brother-in-law, the firm name being Pratt & 
Leech. 

Upon the outbreak of the War of 1812, Mr. Pratt joined the 
army and was appointed Adjutant to Gen. Porter. December 
13, 1813, when Buffalo was attacked by the British and Indi- 
ans, Adjutant Pratt removed his family to a place of safety 
and then went to assist so far as possible in the defence of the 
town. At the risk of their lives he and Judge Wilson extin- 
guished the fires which had been lighted by the savage foe in 
many buildings, but only to see them rekindled. Mr. Pratt's 
watch in the neighborhood of the village lasted for several 
days and nights, and some exciting incidents of that perilous 
time have come down to us. One night during the season of 
burning and pillage, as Mr. Pratt was going to his mother's 
farm on horseback, with a Mr. Tredwell, he caught sight of 
two Indians skulking behind trees. Mr. Pratt shouted to his 
companion to run for his life, but before he could obey the 
Indians fired and Tredwell fell dead. Before the savage 
marksmen could reload Mr. Pratt made his escape. 

In 1806, Samuel Pratt, Jr., married Sophia Fletcher, daugh- 
• ter of Gen. Samuel Fletcher, who was one of the most distin- 
guished of the early residents of Vermont, a veteran of the 
French and Indian War and the War of the Revolution. He 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 5 

fought at the battle of Bunker Hill, in 1777 marched to the 
relief of Ticonderoga, participated in the battle of Bennington, 
and continued to serve in the army till the defeat of Bur- 
goyne. From Orderly Sergeant he rose to the rank of Major- 
General, also serving in many civil offices. The children of 
Samuel Pratt, Jr., were Samuel Fletcher, born May 27, 1807; 
Lucius Hubbard, born January 6, 1809; Sophia Charlotte, born 
January 1, 1811, and Pascal Paoli, born September 15, 1819. 

The death of Samuel Pratt, Jr., occurred in Buffalo in 1822. 
Mrs. Pratt died March 19, 1862. 

Samuel Pratt, Jr., vras a man of rather delicate appearance, 
and polished address. He was of a retiring disposition, yet 
had abundance of the spirit of enterprise. He was greatly 
esteemed for his integrity, and was a man of marked benevo- 
lence and public spirit. 

SAMUEL FLETCHER PRATT was one of the representa- 
tive members of his family, and for more than forty years his 
name was among the most notable in the business life of 
Buffalo. He was born in Townsend, Vt., May 28, 1807, being a 
son of Samuel Pratt, Jr., and Sophia Fletcher. Soon after his 
birth, he came with his parents to Buffalo, where his early life 
and education were typical of the conditions of a frontier 
town. When he was twelve years old, he went to Canada as a 
clerk in a store, where he continued for the next three years. 
Returning to Buffalo, in 1822, he entered the hardware store 
of George and Thaddeus Weed. In 1828 Mr. Pratt, George 
Weed and Lucius Storrs formed a partnership as George Weed 
& Company. Mr. Weed died in 1828 and in 1829 his brother 
Thaddeus succeeded him in the business, which was continued 
as Weed & Pratt. In 1836 Mr. Pratt purchased the Weed 
interest and conducted the business till 1842, when with his 
brother Pascal P. Pratt, he established the well-known hard- 
ware house of S. F. Pratt & Company, with which he was for so 
many years identified. In 1845 Mr. Pratt and Mr. William P. 



6- MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Letchworth founded the firm of Pratt & Letchworth, manu- 
facturers of saddlery hardware. In 1848 Mr. Pratt was a 
leading factor in the organization of the Buffalo Gas Light Com- 
pany, and he served as its President to the time of his death. 

Mr. Pratt shunned public office and though often urged to be- 
gome a candidate for Mayor, always declined. However he 
accepted the ofiflce of Alderman in 1844 and served the city 
faithfully. Throughout his career his influence was strongly, 
felt in civic affairs. During the War of the Rebellion he was 
Treasurer of the Citizens' Committee of Three, and rendered 
valuable assistance to the Union cause. In 1851 he was one 
of the founders of the Buffalo Female Academy, was elected 
its first President and for many years served as one of its 
Trustees. Mr. Pratt preserved a devout faith in the truths of 
religion, and when eighteen years old joined the First Presby- 
terian Church. He was a man of musical culture, and for 
many years was a member of the church choir. 

In 1835 Mr. Pratt married Mary Jane Strong, of Paterson, 
N. J. Their children were two daughters, Jeannie (Mrs. Wil- 
liam J. King, Jr.), who died September 24, 1872, and Helen 
(Mrs. Frank Hamlin), whose death occurred January 27, 1873. 

In 1866, Mr. Pratt made an extended European tour, and in 
1868 he again went abroad. 

ii Mr. Pratt died April 27, 1872. In him the community lost 
one of its pillars. He was typical of those solid elements of 
citizenship which go to the upbuilding of commerce, morals 
and patriotism. 

PASCAL PAOLI PRATT, who died June 18, 1905, was one 
of Buffalo's a,blest business men and foremost citizens. As a 
banlcer he was a tower of financial strength in the community; 
as a manufacturer he stood in the front rank of those whose 
strong initiative has made Buffalo a manufacturing center, 
and in mercantile enterprise his name was known and 
i^espected throughout the country. In civic interests he was a 





/^^6o6 (y , 




MEMORIAL AND I'AMILY HISTORY. 7' 

leading factor, and his well-directed munificence made him a 
central figure in the furtherance of religion, culture and moral 
progress. 

Mr. Pratt was the youngest son of Samuel Pratt, Jr., and. 
Sophia Fletcher, and was born in Buffalo, September 15, 1819.: 
He was educated in the Buffalo piiblic schools, at Hamilton, 
Academy, now Colgate University, Madison, N. Y., and at 
Amherst Academy. In 1836 Mr. Pratt began his business 
career by entering the hardware store of his brother, Samuel 
F. Pratt, in Buffalo. After six years' experience as clerk he 
was admitted partner in the business, the concern assuming 
the firm style of S. F. Pratt & Co., which in 1846 became Pratt 
& Co. The business, originally retail, widened its scope as the 
years went on, and from modest beginnings developed into a 
large and prosperous wholesale hardware enterprise whose 
trade extended to various sections of the country and beyond 
the Mississippi Elver. In 1848 Mr. Pratt became a member of 
the firm of Pratt & Letchworth, which was founded by Kim 
and his brother Samuel F. Pratt and William P. Letchworth 
and grew to be one of the principal iron and steel industries of 
Western New York. The Buffalo Iron & Nail Company was 
founded by Pascal P. Pratt in 1857, and the same year he 
established the Fletcher Furnace Company at Black Rock and 
the Tonawanda Furnace Company, both of which concerns he" 
successfully operated till 1885, when he leased the former and' 
exchanged the latter for other manufacturing properties. 

Mr. Pratt was a signally progressive and public-spirited 
manufacturer, and his different enterprises gave employment 
to large numbers of men, and were the means of causing many 
families to settle in Buffalo. They also drew attention to the 
advantages presented by Buffalo as a location for manufac- 
tures, and the sentiment thus created was sedulously fostered 
by Mr. Pratt. He had faith in the future of Buffalo, and not 
only unhesitatingly ventured his own capital there, but 
encouraged his friends to make similar investments. He 



8 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

became a powerful force in the industrial advancement of the 
city, and many of Buffalo's successful manufacturing, concerns 
owe their inception to his example, advice and substantial 
assistance. Mr. Pratt believed that the employment of labor 
at fair and remunerative wages was both business good sense 
and the capitalist's duty, and without any sentimentality or 
affectation — without ever posing as a champion of labor inter- 
ests — nobody was more truly a friend of the workingman than 
Pascal P. Pratt. His employes were well paid, justly treated 
and contented, and as an employer he made a splendid record. 

In 1856 Mr. Pratt founded the Manufacturers' & Traders' 
Bank, now the Manufacturers' & Traders' National Bank, one 
of the strongest financial institutions in the country. When 
the bank was incorporated, Mr. Pratt was made a director and 
its Vice-President, and in 1885 he was elected its President, 
an office which he held until 1901, when he retired on account 
of advancing years, being succeeded by his son-in-law, Robert 
L. Fryer. He was also one of the founders of the Bank of 
Buffalo and a director of the Bank of Attica. He was among 
the original trustees of the Fidelity Trust & Guaranty Com- 
pany, now the Fidelity Trust Company, and for some years a 
director of the Buffalo Street Railway Company. He was a 
director of the Buffalo Gas Company, and a director and stock- 
holder of the Western New York & Pennsylvania Railroad 
Company. 

In politics Mr. Pratt was originally a Whig, but allied him- 
self with the Republican party as soon as the latter was organ- 
ized, and continued to be its loyal adherent for the rest of his 
life. During the Civil War he was a strong Union man, gave 
liberally of his money to the National cause, and was active in 
movements for the relief of sick and wounded soldiers. In 
1869 he was chosen a member of the Park Commission of 
Buffalo, and was the first President of that body, serving till 
1879. He took an intense interest in the park system, and 
under his administration the plans for the Buffalo parks were 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 9 

prepared, the land bought and a great proportion of the work of 
embellishment carried on. He was repeatedly tendered nomi- 
nations for high oflicial places, but refused them, consenting, 
however, to allow his name to be placed upon the Republican 
electoral ticket in the Presidential campaign of 1872, and 
casting his vote in the Electoral College for President Grant. 
In 1883 Mr. Pratt, Luther R. Marsh of New York and Matthew 
Hale of Albany were appointed Commissioners to appraise the 
land taken by the State for the Niagara Falls Reservation. 
Mr. Pratt's expert judgment of real estate values and his 
unassailable integrity enabled him to render services of great 
worth to the commonwealth, and awards amounting to about 
11,500,000 were made by the Commission, whose findings were 
approved by the Supreme Court, the Legislature and the State 
Executive, and were most favorably received by the public. 

Mr. Pratt was one of the strongest friends of the Buffalo 
Young Men's Christian Association, serving as the first Presi- 
dent of the organization and President of its Board of Trus- 
tees. He was the largest contributor toward the erection of 
the old Y. M. C. A. structure at No. 19 Mohawk street, built at 
a cost of |120,000, and also gave generously toward the Asso- 
ciation's present home. For twenty years he was President of 
the Buffalo Seminary, and in 1862 he was one of the founders 
and became a life member of the Buffalo Fine Arts Academy. 
He was a connoisseur of art and a liberal patron of artists, his 
walls being hung with many fine canvases. He served as 
trustee of the Buffalo Orphan Asylum, trustee of Forest Lawn 
Cemetery, and Vice-President of the Civil Service Reform 
Association, was President of the Board of Trustees of the 
North Presbyterian Church, and Vice-President of the Presby- 
terian Union of Buffalo. He was one of the charter members 
of the Buffalo Club, and was also connected with the Bllicott, 
Country and Falconwood Clubs. In his early days he belonged 
to the old Eagle Engine Company No. 2, later became one of the 
original members of the Volunteer Firemen's Benevolent Asso- 



10 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

ciation, and was a member of the Buffalo Exempt Volunteer 
Firemen's Association. Always a man of strong patriotism 
Mr. Pratt was an active member of the Sons of the American 
Revolution, and his solicitude for the well being of its sister 
organization, the Daughters of the American Revolution, 
found expression in many generous acts. He was a member 
of the Bankers' Association and for many years served as 
President of the Buffalo Clearing House Association. 

September 1, 1845, Mr. Pratt married Phebe Lorenz, daugh- 
ter of Frederick Lorenz, a prominent iron and glass manufac- 
turer of Pittsburg. The children of the union are Katherine 
Lorenz, now Mrs. John Miller Horton, of Buffalo; Frederick 
Lorenz, married to Jeannie Williams; Annie Lorenz, wife of 
John S. Chittenden; Melissa Dodge, wife of Robert Livingston 
Fryer; Samuel Fletcher Pratt, of Buft'alo; Emma, wife of Dr. 
Charles Sumner Jones, a well-known Buffalo physician, and 
Edward Pascal Pratt, of Kansas City, married to Annette 
Perrine. 

Pascal Paoli Pratt was of that rare type of individuality 
which stamps a lasting impress on the events and conditions 
with which it is brought in contact. No man did more for 
Buffalo than he, and his name is permanently enshrined in the 
annals of that city's progress. 

HON. CHARLES TOWNSEND, son of Nathaniel Townsend, 
was born in Norwich, Conn., January 22, 1786, and came to 
Buffalo in 1811. In 1814, with his partner, George Coit, he 
engaged in ship-building and lake transportation, the firm of 
Townsend & Coit being until 1821 the only Buffalo house fol- 
lowing these lines of business. In 1813 Mr. Townsend was 
appointed Judge of Niagara County, an office which he held 
|;ill 1826. As a jurist he showed an impartiality and good sense 
which went far to supply the place of a technical training in 
the law, and were amply sufficient for the needs of the com- 
munity. Judge Townsend took a leading part in securing a 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 11 

harbor for Buffalo. In 1821 lie with his partner, Mr. Coit, and 
other citizens mortgaged their private property to the State 
and obtained a loan of |12,000 for the purpose of building the 
harbor. The work was accomplished, and on its success the 
project was taken up by the State and later by the Federal 
Government, the outcome being the rebuilding of the harbor 
in its present form. In the courageous and disinterested act of 
Judge Townsend and his coadjutors in pledging their own prop- 
erty for the benefit of the public, was the germ of the greatness 
of the port of Buffalo. The Townsend name is also identified 
with the origin of tha,t standard financial institution, the Buf- 
falo Savings Bank. The bank was organized May 9, 1846, 
Judge Townsend being elected its first President, an office 
which he continued to hold until his death. 

Judge Townsend married Jane Corning at Albany, N. Y., 
June 5, 1819. Their children were Anna M. (Stone), born April 
23, 1820; George C, born September 25, 1821, died January 30, 
1852; Jane C. (Wilson), born November 30, 1823; Mary W. 
(Kich), born December 5, 1826, died February 11, 1896; Charles, 
born April 12, 1831; Frances H. (Rosseel), born July 25, 1835. 
The death of Judge Townsend occurred in Buffalo, September 
14, 1847. He survived his wife by six years. 

CHARLES TOWNSEND, son of Judge Townsend, was born 
in Buffalo, April 12, 1831, and was educated at Andover, Mass., 
and Yale College, graduating from the latter in 1853. Return- 
ing to Buffalo he became cashier of the Bank of Attica, and 
continued in this capacity till 1872, when failing health obliged 
him to resign. After this he made several trips to Europe, in 
the hope of regaining his health by travel. His life was pro- 
longed several years, but he died September 1, 1877, at Has- 
lach, Germany. Mr. Townsend was a man of brilliant literary 
attainments and enjoyed the friendship of many scholars and 
artists. His religious convictions were deep and he was a 
devout member and a ruling elder of the North Presbyterian 



12 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Church. Of pure life and kindly nature, genial and possessing 
a keen vein of wit, he was a charming companion and was 
beloved by a large circle of friends. 

June 10, 1856, Mr. Towilsend married Martha S. Eich, daugh- 
ter of Gains Barrett Rich. Their children were Charles, Har- 
riet, Edward Corning and Cora. 

THE WILKESON FAMILY. The founder of the American 
branch of the Wilkeson family was John Wilkeson, who, with 
his wife, Mary Eobinson, came to this country in 1760, and 
settled in Delaware. Upon the outbreak of the Eevolutionary 
War, John Wilkeson entered the Patriot army with the com- 
mission of Lieutenant, and served until the end of the war. 

SAMUEL WILKESON, son of John and Mary Eobinson 
Wilkeson, was born in 1781, at Carlisle, Pa., and in his infancy 
he accompanied his parents to Washington County, Pa., where 
his education was obtained in a log school-house. After his 
father's death, Samuel Wilkeson settled in Southeastern Ohio. 
Later he removed his family to Chautauqua, N. Y., and engaged 
in boat building. During the War of 1812 he built a fleet of 
transports for the Government, and took part in the defense 
of Buffalo. At the close of the War of 1812 he removed to 
Buffalo, where social and civic conditions had become unsettled 
to a degree that threatened the total disruption of law 
and order. It was to Samuel Wilkeson that the people turned 
to defend the rights of honest citizenship in this crisis, and in 
1815 he was , induced to accept the then important office of 
justice of the peace. Up to the time he was elected a magis- 
trate he had probably never opened a law-book, yet he rose to 
the situation in a manner which made his record as a justice, 
and later as a judge, memorable in the annals of jurisprudence 
in Buffalo. In February, 1821, he was appointed First Judge 
of the Court of Common Pleas of Erie County. In 1824 Judge 
Wilkeson was elected to the State Senate, and in 1836 he was 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 13 

elected Mayor of Buffalo. He was among the leading advocates 
of the Erie Canal, and in 1822 he successfully argued before the 
Canal Commissioners the claim of Buffalo to be chosen as the 
canal's western terminus in preference to Black Eock. Among 
the many episodes of Judge Wilkeson's eventful life, his con- 
nection with the building of Buffalo Harbor has won for him 
the most accurately defined place in local history. While 
Judge Wilkeson was occupied with public services, his business 
activity was undiminished. He was a merchant, warehouse- 
man, vessel owner and lake forwarder. He built the first iron 
foundry ever erected in Buffalo, and a section of the Erie 
Canal. The death of Judge Wilkeson occurred in July, 1848, in 
his 67th year. 

Judge Wilkeson was married three times. His first wife 
was Jean Oram, daughter of James Oram, who was of Scotch- 
Irish extraction and served through the War of the Revolu- 
tion. The second wife of Judge Wilkeson was Sarah St. John, 
of Buffalo. His third wife was Mary Peters, who was famous 
as an educator of girls. Judge Wilkeson was the father of six 
children, all issue of his first marriage. They were Elizabeth, 
John, Eli, William, Louise and Samuel. 

JOHN WILKESON, eldest son of Judge Samuel Wilkeson, 
was born October 28, 1806. When a young man he went to 
Central America, and on returning to the United States in 
1840, he became secretary to his father. Two years afterward, 
President Tyler appointed him United States Consul to Turk's 
Island, in the West Indies. After he resigned from his con- 
sulship, Mr. Wilkeson spent many years in iron manufacture. 
In 1858 he built one of the first elevators on the Buffalo lake 
front. He was a strong Republican and a personal friend of 
Millard Fillmore, with whom he made a trip to Europe in 1866. 

In 1832, Mr. Wilkeson married Maria Louise Wilkes, of 
Portsmouth, England, a daughter of ' William David Wilkes 
and Elizabeth Pry. Mr. Wilkeson was the father of three chil- 



14 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

« 

dren, John Wilkes, Col. Samuel H. and Maria Louise Wilkeson. 
The death of John Wilkeson occurred on the 4th of April, 
1894. 

COL. SAMUEL H. WILKESON, second son of John Wilkeson, 
was born in 1836. With the outbreak of the Civil War he en- 
listed in the 21st New York Volunteer Infantry, as First Lieu- 
tenant of Company H. On February 22, 1862, Col. Wilkeson 
was mustered into the 11th N. Y. Cavalry (Scott's 900) as 
Captain of Company C. He was promoted to Major June 
24, 1862, Lieut. Colonel December 24, 1862, and Colonel March 
15, 1865, and was discharged March 27, 1865, at Memphis, Tenn. 
In the Davidson raid in the far South, he was Inspector General 
in the field, and was the commanding Lieutenant-Colonel in the 
Ripley raid. In addition to his services in Maryland and Vir- 
ginia, he served in Louisiana, Mississippi, and West Tennessee. 
His official stay in the Gulf Department lasted eighteen months. 
In August, 1864, he participated in the Mobile expeditiouj 
as an officer on the staff of Gen. Gordon Granger. His total 
time of active service lasted about four years. 

In 1868, Col. Willieson married Matilda Gertrude Franks. 
Mrs. Wilkeson was born on Mackinac Island, November 4, 
1849, and died in Buffalo, February 24, 1903. She was promi- 
nent in the affairs of the Protestant Episcopal Church, for 
many year^ was a member of the managing board of the Church 
Charities Foundation, and was actively interested in the chari- 
ties of her own church, St. Mary's on the Hill. Mrs. Wilkeson 
is survived by her husband and six children, John, born Sept. 
11, 1869; Edward Samuel, born in August, 1871; Marv Juana. ^ 
Elizabeth Wilkes, now the wife of John K. Freeman; William, 
born in 1885, and Margaret Livingston. 

MISS MARIA LOUISE WILKESON, sister of Col. Wilkeson, 
was a lifelong resident of Buffalo, where her death took place 
on the 24th of March, 1903, in the 66th year of her age. Miss 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 15 

Wilkeson was one of the representative women of Buffalo, 
being noted for her wealth, culture, benevolence and social 
distinction. For many years she occupied a brilliant and 
distinctive position in the social world of Buffalo. Miss 
Wilkeson was keenly interested in the fine arts, of which she 
was a liberal patron. Her collection of paintings, bric-a-brac 
and other articles of vertu was a notable one. The patriotic 
spirit so conspicuous in her family was also a marked charac- 
teristic of Miss Wilkeson. She was an honorary member of 
Bidwell-Wilkeson Post, G. A. K., which, after her death, paid 
her memory an honor said to be unprecedented in the history 
of the G. A. E., the Post attending her funeral in a body. In 
her will. Miss Wilkeson left generous endowments to the 
Children's Hospital and the Buffalo Fine Arts Academy. 

JOSEPH ELLICOTT was the founder of the city of Buffalo. 
He selected its site, designed its plan, prevailed upon the 
Indians to surrender their title and, upon the Holland Company 
to secure possession, and used his resources and influence to 
induce immigration and settlement. He was the central figure 
of early Buffalo, a pioneer of pioneers. 

Born in Bucks County, Pa., Nov. 1, 1760, Joseph Ellicott 
gained the rudiments of knowledge in the common schools, 
but he was practically self-educated. The son of a farmer and 
miller, in earlv life he worked on his father's farm and assisted 
him in his milling business. Meantime he began the study of 
surveying and mastered that profession. His elder brother 
was also a surveyor and young Ellicott became his assistant. 
He was chosen to survey the disputed line between South Caro, 
lina and Georgia, and later became the chief surveyor of the 
Holland Purchase. 

In the fall of 1797, Mr. Ellicott came to Western New York, 
being accompanied by several assistants. To determine the 
number of acres in the Holland Purchase a preliminary survey 
was made, but the real surveying campaign began in 1798. 



16 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Besides Mr. Ellicott eleven surveyors were employed, each 
having a corps of assistants, the whole force being under his 
direction. He himself surveyed the east line of the purchase, 
usually called the East Transit, and the others worked at dif- 
ferent points. It was a task of toil and critical negotiation to 
preserve the site of Buffalo, there being reason to apprehend 
that the State and Buffalo Creek Keservations would be so 
bounded as to interfere with the future city's building and 
growth. The danger was obviated by Mr. Ellicott's skill as a 
surveyor and diplomat, and through his efforts the Indians 
were persuaded to leave the city site out of the reservation. 
In the spring of 1798 Mr. Ellicott opened the first wagon track 
in Erie County by improving the Indian trail from East Tran- 
sit to Buffalo. The first map of Buffalo was made by Mr. 
Ellicott in 1804, the place being then called the village of New 
Amsterdam. For many years and throughout the rest of his 
active career Mr. Ellicott continued to be the local agent of the 
Holland Company. He energetically furthered the settlement 
of Buffalo and the building up of the place along broad lines 
of commercial advancement. He was also an earnest pro- 
moter of the Erie Canal and one of the first Canal Commis- 
sioners appointed by the Legislature. About 1824 Mr. F^Uicott's 
health failed, his mind being seriously affected, and at last he 
became a hypochondriac. He entered the Bloomingdale Asy- 
lum at New York, but his malady was hopeless, and August 
19, 1826, he died by his own hand. Mr. Ellicott never married. 

THE CLINTON FAMILY in America is descended from one 
of the most ancient families of Great Britain. Geoffrey de 
Clinton, the founder of the house, was Lord High Chamberlain 
and Treasurer to King Henry I., who reigned from 1100 to 1135, 
and received from that monarch immense grants of land. 
Geoffrey de Clinton built Kenilworth Castle, whose ruins are 
still to be seen near Warwick, and which became famous, not 
only through its historic association, but because it was chosen 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTOEY. 17 

by Sir Walter Scott as the scene of one of his most celebrated 
romances. 

From Osbert, the brother of Geoffrey de Clinton, descended 
Edward Clinton, first Earl of Lincoln, who became Lord High 
Admiral of England. His son Henry, second Earl of Lincoln, 
was the father of Sir Henry Clinton, who was born in 1587 and 
whose death occurred in 1641. Sir Henry's son was William 
Clinton, who in the struggle between King and Parliament 
espoused the Cavalier side and became an officer in Charles 
the First's army. His son, James Clinton, married Elizabeth 
Smith, a daughter of one of Cromwell's officers. 

Charles Clinton, son of James, was the founder of the 
American branch of the family. He was born in the county of 
Longford, Ireland, in 1690. In May, 1729, he sailed from Dub' 
lin in a ship called the George and Anne, himself paying the 
passages of ninety-four persons, and settled in the Massachu- 
setts Colony. Mr. Clinton remained in that colony till 1731, 
when he removed to Little Britain, Ulster County, New York. 
He took an active part in the wars with the Indians and the 
French, and in 1758 was Colonel of a regiment of provincial 
troops, and was present at the capture of Fort Frontenac. Col. 
Clinton was a man of mathematical attainments, and his ser- 
vices were much in demand in land surveys. He was judge of 
the Court of Common Pleas in Ulster County. Col. Clinton died 
November 19, 1773. At that time the Revolutionary conflict 
was distinctly foreshadowed, and Col. Clinton in his last 
moments told his sons to espouse the cause of liberty. Col. 
Clinton's wife, Elizabeth Denniston, whom he married in 
Ireland, was an accomplished woman who earnestly shared 
the patriotic spirit of her husband. She died December 25, 
1779, being then in her 75th year. Of the four sons of this 
marriage, Alexander, Charles, James and George, all attained 
distinction. The two first-named were prominent physicians. 
George Clinton, the youngest, participated in the French and 
Indian War and the Kevolution, was the first Governor of 



J. 8 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTOEY. 

the State of New York and was continued in that office for 
twenty-one years. At the time of his death he was Vice- 
President of the United States. 

James Clinton, son of Col. Charles Clinton, was an ensign, 
first lieutenant, and captain in the provincial army. After the 
war he became Lieutenant Colonel of an Orange County regi- 
ment. Upon the outbreak of the Revolution he entered the 
Patriot service, in 1775 being appointed Colonel of the Third 
New York Regiment. In 1776 he was made Brigadier General 
and took part in the attack on Quebec. The next year he was 
stationed at Fort Montgomery, on the Hudson, and bravely 
resisted the British advance under Sir Henry Clinton. In 1778 
Gen. Clinton was stationed at West Point. After the discovery 
of Arnold's treason, Washington ordered Gen. Clinton to 
assume command at Albany, at. which important post he con- 
tinued until August, 1781. 

After the close of the Revolution, Gen. Clinton was a member 
of the convention called to ratify the Federal Constitution. 
He also served in the convention to revise the Constitution of 
New York, was chosen a commissioner to determine the New 
York and Pennsvlvania boundarv, and was elected State 
Senator. 

The wife of Gen. Clinton was Mary De Witt. She was a 
daughter of Egbert De Witt, and came from an excellent 
family of Holland extraction. Four sons — Alexander, Charles, 
De Witt and George — ^were the issue of this marriage. Gen. 
Clinton died at Little Britain in 1812. 

DE WITT CLINTON, third son of Gen. James Clinton and 
grandfather of Spencer and George Clinton of Buffalo, was 
born March 2d, 1769, at the family home in Little Britain, 
Orange County. His early education was gained at the gram- 
mar-school in Little Britain and at the Kingston Academy. 
His studies were rudely interrupted by the Revolutionary War, 
but in the spring of 1784 he entered the junior class of Colum- 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 19 

bia College. An address delivered by him in later years to the 
Columbia alumni contains a vivid description of the college 
building as it was at the close of the war. Young Clinton was 
one of the most systematic and careful of students. His cus- 
tom was to read pen in hand, and he continued the practice to 
the end of his life. In 1786 he was graduated at the head of 
his class. Shortly after his graduation he began reading law 
with Samuel Jones, a noted lawyer of New York City. At this 
time an event occurred which marked an epoch in the life of 
De Witt Clinton, and had much to do with determining his 
career. This was the assembling of the convention which 
formulated the Constitution of the United States. The youth- 
ful law student assiduously read the publications relative to 
the proposed Constitution, and his attention to Constitutional 
subjects was intensified by his attendance, in 1788, at the 
New York convention which met at Poughkeepsie to ratify the 
United States Constitution. 

About 1789, on the death of his brother Alexander, De Witt 
Clinton succeeded him as private secretary to Governor George 
Clinton, his uncle, and he held this situation till 1795. In 1797 
he was elected Member of Assembly, and in 1798 became State 
Senator, becoming very prominent in the political controver- 
sies and legislative measures of the day. 

In 1802 Mr. Clinton was elected to the United States Senate. 
At this time he was only thirty-three years of age. In Febru- 
ary, 1803, Mr. Clinton took a leading part in the Senate debate 
on Mr. Ross's resolutions authorizing the President to take 
possession of New Orleans. The summer of the same year Mr. 
Clinton succeeded Edward Livingston as Mayor of New York, 
and with the exception of a year or two, continued in that 
office till 1815. By his acceptance of the mayoralty, Mr. Clin- 
ton was obliged to resign his place in the United States Senate, 
but he was elected to the State Senate and served as State 
Senator for several years of his mayorality, his name becoming- 
identified with a large amount of State legislation. 



20 .. MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

In 1810 Mr. Clinton took tJie first step in the enterprise which 
was destined to link his fame with the greatest artificial 
waterway of the continent and to give him for all time the 
popular appellation of "Father of the Erie Canal." In the 
summer of that year he and the first Canal Commissioners, his 
associates, made a journey through the Mohawk Valley and 
Western New York in order to ascertain the practicability of 
constructing a canal from the Hudson to the Lakes. The fol- 
lowing year Mr. Clinton was elected Lieutenant-Governor of 
New York. In 1811 he received the nomination for President 
of the United States. His opponent was Mr. Madison, who was 
elected, obtaining 128 electoral votes, the number received by 
Mr. Clinton being 89. In December, 1811, Mr. Clinton read be- 
fore the New York Historical Society his discourse on the 
Iroquois Indians. This dissertation is a notable example of 
deep research and eloquent style. 

The period immediately after the War of 1812 was marked 
by a revival of public interest in the project of a canal from 
the Hudson Eiver to the Great Lakes. Mr. Clinton was insist- 
ent in bringing the subject before the people and the Legisla- 
ture. He prepared on behalf of canal construction a most able 
memorial, which was adopted at a meeting held by representa- 
tive citizens of New York, in 1816. April 15th, 1817, the Canal 
Bill was passed, the work of construction being begun on the 
4th of July. In the fall of the same year Mr. Clinton was 
elected Governor of New York by a nearly unanimous vote. 
This triumph was all the more signal because of the fact that 
two years before, Mr. Clinton's political adversaries had suc- 
ceeded in depriving him of the Mayorality of New Yoi'k City. 
In 1820 he was re-elected Governor. During both of these 
terms the canal enterprise was pushed with energy. 

In 1822, the year of the new Constitutional Convention, 
Joseph C. Yates was elected Governor, but in 1824 Mr. Clinton 
was again elected to that office, in which he was continued, by 
successive re-elections, to the day of his death. In October 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 21 

1825, the Erie Canal was completed. Mr. Clinton made a tri- 
umphal journey from Lake Erie to the Hudson, and in his 
message o.f January, 1826, he referred in characteristic and 
appropriate terms to the consummation of the canal enter- 
prise. Governor Clinton's last message to the Legislature was 
delivered Jan. 1st, 1828. Its opening sentences were strikingly 
expressive of gratitude to the Providence which had guarded 
the destinies of the young State and nation, and it may be 
observed in this connection that Mr. Clinton was the first Gov- 
ernor who -recommended the observance of days of public 
thanksgiving by the people of the State. 

De Witt Clinton died February 11th, 1828. 

Maria Franklin, the wife of De Witt Clinton, was a daughter 
of Walter Franklin, of New York. Through her mother, Mary 
Bowne of Flushing, she was a direct descendant of Adam 
Winthrop, founder of the Winthrop family. 

GEOEGE WILLIAM CLINTON, son of De Witt Clinton and 
founder of the Buffalo branch of the family, was born in 1807. 
He adopted the profession of the law, first practicing in Canan- 
daigua, N. Y., where he lived for several years, his law partner 
at the time being John C. Spencer, son of Chief -Justice Ambrose 
Spencer, of Albany, Laura Catherine Spencer, John C. Spen- 
cer's daughter, becoming about this time Mr. Clinton's wife. 

Shortly after his marriage, in 1836, George W. Clinton 
removed to Buffalo, where he spent most of the active portion of 
his life. Mr. Clinton was soon recognized as one of the leaders 
of the Western New York bar. When thirty-five years old he 
was elected Mayor of Buffalo, serving in that capacity during 
the year 1842. He served as Judge of the Superior Court of 
the City of Buffalo, from the time of its organization in 1846 
until he arrived at the age limit in 1877. He was also for some 
years Collector of Customs and for many years was a Eegent 
of the University of the State of New York, furthermore acting 
as Vice-Chancelloi' of that body. 



22: MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

During the Civil War, Mr. Clinton was an ardent supporter 
of the Union cause. Being one of the leading Democrats of 
the State, his speeches had a powerful influence in holding the 
State Democratic party loyal to the support of President 
Lincoln and the prosecution of the war. 

Mr. Clinton was an accomplished naturalist, devoting him- 
self more particularly to botany, in which science he had a 
national reputation. He was the leading spirit among the 
founders of the Buffalo Society of Natural Sciences, being 
chosen its first President and continuing in that office for many 
years until he voluntarily declined to serve longer. 

The death of Mr. Clinton took place in Albany in 1885. He 
was considered one of the most illustrious citizens Buffalo ever 
had. 

The children of George W. Clinton were four sons, De Witt 
Clinton and Charles Clinton, now deceased, and Spencer Clin- 
ton and George Clinton, of Buffalo; also three daughters, 
Elizabeth Spencer, now Mrs. Henry S. Clinton of New York 
City; Catherine, afterwards Mrs. Albert J. Wheeler, now de- 
ceased, and Mrs. Abram H. Baldwin of Albany. 

SPENCER CLINTON, the elder surviving son of George 
William Clinton, and the brother of George Clinton, was born 
in Buffalo June 29th, 1839. He was educated in public and 
private schools in Buffalo, Albany and Brockport. Early in- 
clined toward the legal profession, Mr. Clinton began reading 
law in the office of Solomon G. Haven, afterward pursuing his 
studies with William Dorsheimer. In October, 1860, Mr. Clin- 
ton was admitted to the bar, he then being twenty-one years 
of age. For the next two years he practiced law in New York 
City, in partnership with his brother-in-law, Henry L. Clinton. 
A few years after his adniission to practice, Mr. Clinton was 
appointed Assistant United States District Attorney under 
his former instructor Mr. Dorsheimer. In this office the young 
lawyer served with marked ability from 1866 to 1868. In the 




^-^^ ^/ 



^^^^uy 




e.e/- 



''Z^-. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 23 

latter year Mr. Clinton formed a law partnership with Charles 
D. Marshall, the firm being styled Marshall & Clinton. Later 
Eobert P. Wilson was admitted, the firm becoming Marshall, 
Clinton & Wilson. It continued to be so designated till 1893, 
when Adolph Rebadow was made a junior partner and the firm 
name was changed to Marshall, Clinton & Rebadow. Both in 
its. original personnel and as subsequently enlarged, the asso- 
ciation attained a distinguished success, being held one 
of the strongest combinations of legal talent in Western New 
York. 

The well-known connection of Mr. Clinton with the Buffalo 
Savings Bank began in 1866. September 6, 1892, he was elected 
a director of the bank. In 1898 he became its president, a post 
he still holds. Upon his election Mr. Clinton retired from the 
active practice of law. Three years previous to his election as 
president of the bank, Mr. Clinton was appointed chairman of 
the building committee for the new bank. The old structure, 
occupied many years, was at Broadway and Washington 
street. The new building was begun in 1898 and was finished 
and occupied March 11, 1901. It is a superb edifice, made of 
granite, and admirably lighted and equipped. Its cost was 
1583,000. It is one of the finest bank buildings in the world. 
Financier and lawyer, Mr. Clinton's business relations are very 
extensive. He is a director of the Third National Bank. As 
executor of two large estates, he represents the Bennett and 
C. J. Wells elevators in the Western Elevating Association, 

Mr. Clinton's absorption in business has caused him to avoid 
public office. But he has, from time to time, been active in 
Democratic politics. In 1887 he was the Democratic nominee 
for State Senator, and the National Democratic State conven- 
tion held in Brooklyn in 1896 nominated him by acclaim for 
Associate Judge of the Court of Appeals. The only civil office 
Mr. Clinton has ever held is his present one of attorney for the 
Grade Crossing Commission. Before the Grade Crossing Com- 
mission was constituted, Mr. Clinton, in association with the 



24 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

late B. B. Adam, worked Jiard to get the bill constituting it 
througli the Legislature. The first Act, of 1888, did not give the 
commissioners power enough to compel the abolition of grade 
crossings, and Mr. Clinton was of great service in bringing about 
the Acts of 1890 and 1892, which were passed to invest the 
commission with authority to carry out its plans. Mr. Clinton 
was chosen attorney for the commission on its organization in 
1888, and has ever since continued to conduct for it a vast 
amount of difficult work, including the drawing of contracts, 
the furnishing of legal advice and the management of critical 
and delicate negotiations with the railroads. To the commis- 
sion and the public, these services are of very great value. 

Mr. Clinton enjoys a high social position. He is a leading 
member of the Buffalo Club, and in 1885 was its president. 
He is a member of St. Paxil's Episcopal Church. 

In 1870 Mr. Clinton married 'Sarah Riley, daughter of Wil- 
liam A. Riley and Frances A. Stillman of Berlin, Conn., mem- 
bers of old New England families. The children of this union 
are De Witt Clinton, Dr. Marshall Clinton, Anne, who is Mrs. 
Urquhart Wilcox, of Buffalo, and Nathalie, who is married to 
Dr. Thew Wright, and Ethel, who is the wife of Dr. N. G. 
Russell. "In 1895 Mr. Clinton married again, his bride being 
Cora Caldwell of North East, Pa. The children are Spencer 
Clinton, and Catherine Clinton. 

GEORGE CLINTON, son of George W. Clinton, was born in 
Buffalo, September 7, 1846. He spent his boyhood, and gained 
his earlier education in this city, graduating from the Buf- 
falo Central High School in 1865. In 1866 he entered the 
Columbia College Law School, graduating two years later with 
the degree of LL.B. He practiced for about a year in New 
York City. He then removed to Hudson, Wis., where he fol- 
lowed his profession for five years. In 1874 he returned to 
Buffalo, "whei'e he has since resided, continuing the practice 
of his profession. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



25 



Mr. Clinton was early recognized as a strong personality 
in politics and public affairs. In 1883 he was elected to 
the Assembly on the Eepublican ticket, and served with high 
credit, being characterized for independence and conscien- 
tious care for the interests of the people. He was chosen 
chairman of the Assembly Canal Committee, and through- 
out his civic career has been noted for his attention to 
the subject of canals and for the Aveighty responsibilities he has 
borne in connection with both 
State and national waterway 
questions. As a leading mem- 
ber and second president of the 
Union for the Improvement of 
the Canals, Mr. Clinton has been 
instrumental in bringing about 
the extensive improvements 
made in recent years on the Erie 
Canal. In 1898 he was made 
chairman of the Commission ap- 
pointed by Governor Black, pur- 
suant to an Act of the Legisla- 
ture, to investigate and report 
on the expenditure of the |9,- 
000,000 appropriated for the im- 
provement of the Erie and other 
Canals. The same year the 

Commission made its investigation and submitted its report, the 
result being the purification of the State Engineer's Department 
and the adoption of a much better system of administration in 
that Department and the State Department of Public Works. 
In 1902 President Eoosevelt appointed Mr. Clinton a member of 
the American section of the International Waterways Com- 
mission for the purpose of settling various questions arising 
relative to the water boundaries between the United States and 
Canada and to consider and report on the advisability of con- 




GE0E6E CLINTON. 



26 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

structing a dam at the oastern end of Lake Erie for the purpose 
of regulating the lalie level. On this commission he is still 
serving. Mr. Clinton enjoys an international reputation as an 
authority on admiralty law and is retained in cases of the 
greatest importance. 

Mr. Clinton shov^^s a practical interest in all matters relating 
to the welfare of Buffalo. He helped prepare the present City 
Charter, and worked hard to secure its adoption. He has been 
Park Commissioner, and was a member of the trunk-sewer 
commission during the building of the Genesee and Bird Ave- 
nue branches of the sewer system. He helped establish the 
Buffalo Law School, and for several years was its professor of 
admiralty law. He is a firm friend of the public schools, and 
has been active in the endeavors to raise their standard and 
remove them from political influences. He is an active mem- 
ber of the Chamber of Commerce, was for many years a 
member of its predecessor, the Merchants' Exchange, and in 
1893 was the president of that organization. 

Mr. Clinton belongs to the Episcopal Church, and is a mem- 
ber of the Masonic order. He is connected with the Buffalo 
Society of Natural Sciences, the Buffalo Historical Society, the 
Ellicott Club and other social and charitable organizations. 

The marriage of Mr. Clinton took place in Trinity Church, 
Buffalo, on the 17th of January, 1872. The maiden name of 
Mrs. Clinton was Alice Thornton. Her parents were Thomas 
F. and Jane Parker Thornton. The children of the marriage 
are George Clinton, Jr., born Jan. 18, 1877, Laura Catherine 
and Elizabeth Spencer. The daughter last named was married 
June 5, 1901, to Chester D. Richmond. George Clinton, Jr., is his 
father's partner in the practice of law, the firm name being 
Clinton & Clinton. January 25, 1908, he married Sophie Klein. 

DR. MARSHALL CLINTON, one of Buffalo's leading physi- 
cians and surgeons, has practiced his profession in this city 
since 1895. Born in Buffalo July 22, 1873, he was educated in 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 27 

the public schools, Heathcote School, and graduated from the 
Medical College of the University of Buffalo in 1895. 

He spent a year as resident physician at the Erie County 
Hospital, and for the succeeding two years was house surgeon 
at the Pitch Accident Hospital, of Buffalo. 

In June, 1898, he was appointed Assistant Surgeon of the 
202d Regiment, United States Volunteers, for service during 
the Spanish- American War. In this capacity he accompanied 
the command through the campaign, being stationed with the 
regiment at Camp Black, N. Y., at Camp Meade, and in Cuba 
until the troops returned to the United States. In April, 1899, 
he was mustered out with the regiment at Savannah, Georgia. 

Upon returning from the war Dr. Clinton began the private 
practice of his profession in Buffalo as a general surgeon. 

He is attending surgeon at the Buffalo Hospital and the 
Sisters of Charity and Erie County hospitals, the Buffalo Chil- 
dren's Hospital and the Fresh Air Mission Hospital at Athol 
Springs. He is Instructor in Surgery at the University of 
Buffalo, is Assistant Surgeon of the 65th Regiment, N. G. 
N. Y., with the rank of Captain, and is surgeon for the Pennsyl- 
vania Railroad Company. 

Dr. Clinton is a member of the Erie County Medical Society, 
the Buffalo Academy of Medicine, the State Medical Associa- 
tion, the American Medical Association, and the American 
Association of Military Surgeons, and the Saturn Club. 

December 12, 1900, Dr. Clinton married Miss Alethe Evans, 
daughter of Edwin T. Evans and Josephine (Hewes) Evans, of 
Buffalo. The children of the union are three sons, De Witt, 
born October 29, 1901; Karl, born May 10, 1903, and Geoffrey, 
born July 13, 1906. 

GEN. GAIUS BARRETT RICH, former President of the 
Buffalo Commercial Bank, and for many years President of the 
Bank of Attica, has long occupied a leading place among the 
financiers of Western New York. 



28 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

The Rich family, long numbered among the leaders in Buf- 
falo's business and social circles, are purely English in origin. 
Among their ancestors are counted Richard Rich, Lord Chan- 
cellor of England in the reign of Henry the Eighth, Robert 
Rich, Earl of Warwick, and Robert and Henry Rich, Earls of 
Holland, all sprung from one common stock. 

The American branch of the family traces its lineage back 
to Massachusetts, where the name first appears in 1625, this 
being the year of the earliest settlement of the family, on Cape 
Cod, in the town of Eastham. Here lived Thomas Rich, who 
married Mary Taylor at Springfield, Mass., March 29, 1696. 
They resided in Brookfield, Mass., where were born to them 
four children, of whom the eldest, Thomas, married Ruth 
Nichols in that part of the town now called Warren but in- 
corporated as Western. This Thomas Rich, the second of the 
name, was a deacon in the Congregational Church and a man 
of substance in the .community. To this day the legal title to 
the village common of Brookfield belongs by descent to his 
heirs, barring the possibility that the claim may be outlawed 
by lapse of time., Thomas Rich was the father of six children, 
of whom the second son was Solomon, born August 2, 1726, 
and whose house in Brookfield still stands as an interesting 
memorial of Colonial days. At Western, in September, 1753, 
Solomon Rich married Phoebe Weeks. There were eight chil- 
dren of this marriage, of whom the fifth child and the second 
son was Solomon, born November 23, 1766. This Solomon Rich 
married Sophronia Barrett, thus bringing into the family a 
name which has been handed down to the present generation. 
About 1800 Solomon Rich removed to the northern part of the 
State of New York, and settled at De Kalb, St. Lawrence Co. 
His children were three. Gains Barrett, born September 26, 
1790; George H., born in 1802, and Sophronia, born in 1816. 

GAIUS BARRETT RICH, grandfather of Gen. Rich, about 
the year 1806 removed from Richville, near De Kalb, N. Y., 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 29 

to Rome in this State. Thence he went to Rochester, where he 
built the first frame house in that city. Later he removed to 
Attica, and in 1842 to Buffalo. Gains Barrett Rich was 
the founder of the Bank of Attica, in both its Attica and 
Buffalo branches. October 14, 1816, he married Alphia Salis- 
bury at Western, Oneida County, N. Y. He died in Buffalo, 
October 25, 1861. His wife survived him several years, dying 
Feb. 15, 1868. The children of their marriage were seven: Jane 
Antoinette, Sarah Randolph, Andrew Jackson, Harriett Rock- 
well, Frances, Edward Salisbury and Martha Sophronia. 
Andrew Jackson Rich, the eldest son, was the father of Gen. 
G. Barrett Rich. 

ANDREW JACKSON RICH was born in Attica, N. Y., Sep- 
tember 21, 1823. In the spring of 1841 he came to Buffalo, 
entering the dry goods store of Marvin & Bennett. The follow- 
ing year he left their employ and entered the Bank of Attica. 
Here he served first as clerk, later as cashier, and on the death 
of his father succeeded the latter as President, an office which 
he administered with signal ability till his death, which took 
place in New York City, December 15, 1870. Mr. Rich was 
married in Buffalo, August 12, 1846, to Mary Winslow Town- 
send. The children of this marriage were Charles Townsend, 
born November 23, 1847; Gains Barrett, born May 5, 1849; 
Alfred Stone, born December 10, 1851, and Andrew Jerome, 
born July 26, 1854. Alfred Stone died September 12, 1853. 
Charles Townsend died May 1, 1878. 

Gains Barrett Rich, the second of the name, was the second 
son of Andrew J. Rich, and was born in Buffalo, May 5, 
1849. His early education was gained in this city, where he 
graduated^ June 28, 1867, from the old Buffalo Classical School. 
The years 1863 and 1867 were spent in foreign tours and study, 
Mr. Rich's journeyings including not only Europe but Egypt 
and the Holy Land. 

On his return from his second European tour, the young 



30 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTOEY. 

man resolved to obtain a knowledge of banking in all its de- 
tails and entered the Bank of Attica as a messenger. 
He exhibited great natural aptitude for the business 
and during several years successively filled different 
offices in the institution. At the annual meeting of 
the Board of Directors in July, 1879, Mr. Kich was 
elected President, thus becoming the head of the old- 
est bank in Western New York. In this capacity he succeeded, 
with a few years' interregnum, his father, Andrew J. Rich. 
Thenceforward for many years, Gen. Rich's business career 
was identified with the prosperity of the Bank of Attica, and 
of its Buffalo successor, the Commercial Bank, as well as with 
other important banking enterprises. He was one of the in- 
corporators of the Commonwealth Trust Company, of which 
he has ever since been a director, and is also a prominent trus- 
tee of the Erie County Savings Bank. In 1892, when the Bank 
of Attica was succeeded by the Buffalo Commercial Bank, Gen. 
Rich was elected President of the latter, and continued in that 
office till his retirement in 1896. Since that date he has found 
ample occupation in attending to his numerous and extensive 
banking and investment interests. 

On the 1st of November, 1871, began Gen. Rich's connection 
with the National Guard of the State of New York, he at that 
time entering the Thirty-first Brigade as First Lieutenant and 
Aide-de-Camp. June 15, 1872, he was commissioned Captain 
and Quartermaster, and Marcli 21, 1873, was made Major and 
Engineer, August 4, 1875, he was promoted Lieutenant Col- 
onel and Ordnance Officer of the Eighth Division, being made 
an officer of the staff of General Rogers; and on the 1st of 
January, 1883, was appointed by Governor Cleveland, Brigadier 
General and Paymaster General, which important and respon- 
sible commission he continued to hold till January 1st, 1886, 
serving on the staffs of both Governor Cleveland and Governor 
Hill. 

For many years Gen. Rich was a member of the Executive 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 31 

Committee of the Buffalo Public Library, and has held numer- 
ous positions of trust and responsibility on the various com- 
mittees. He is also a life member of the Y. M. C. A., and a 
trustee of the North Presbyterian Church. Since 1871 he has 
been a member of the Masonic fraternity, in which order he 
has held many high positions. He is a Mason of the 32d 
Degree, and is connected with Ancient Landmarks Lodge, 441. 
Gen. Rich is also a member of the Society of Colonial 
Wars, the Sons of the American Revolution, and of the 
Buffalo Club, of which organization he was President 
during the Pan-American year, which was a notable epoch in 
the club's history. 

On the 1st of October, 1873, Gen. Rich married Cornelia 
Perrine, daughter of the late Henry E. Perrine, a prominent 
Buffalonian who died in 1901. Their children were Gains Bar- 
rett and Harold Perrine, the latter of whom died in 1894, at 
the age of 16. 

GAIUS BARRETT RICH, the only surviving son of Gen. 
Rich, was born August 11th, 1875. He received a thorough 
education, graduating from Yale University in the Class of 
'97. Mr. Rich's business interests are identified with the Fron- 
tier Telephone Company. He has served five years in the 
Sixty-Fifth Regiment, National Guard, rising to the rank of 
First Lieutenant of Company A, with which he served in the 
Spanish-American War, being for six months in the United 
States service at Camp Alger, Va. 

October 1st, 1900, Mr. Rich married Grace E. Danforth, 
daughter of the late Frederick L. Danforth, the well-known 
President of the Commercial Bank, and a sketch of whose life 
appears elsewhere in this volume. The children of Mr. and 
Mrs. Rich are Gains Barrett, fourth of the name, Danforth 
Rich and Harold Perrine. 

Mr. Rich belongs to the United Spanish War Veterans, and 
is a member of the University Club, and the Buffalo Canoe 



32 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Club. He is also a Mason, being connected with Ancient Land- 
marks Lodge 441, F. & A. M. 

JOHN ELLIS MAESHALL was born at Norwich, Conn., 
March 18, 1785. He began the study of medicine with Dr. 
Philemon Tracy, of Norwich, being licensed to practice in 1808. 
Soon afterward he opened an office in Oxford, N. Y., and the 
following year removed to Mayville, Chautauqua County. He 
was Clerk of Chautauqua County in 1811, and in 1812, and 
Surgeon to the Second Eegiment of the New York State 
Militia. He served five months with the army defending the 
Niagara Frontier, and later served through, the campaign of 
1814. In 1815, he removed to Buffalo. He was corresponding 
Fellow of the Medical and Philosophical Society of New York 
City, a member of the Medical Society of Geneva College, and 
President and Treasurer of the Erie County Medical Society. 
During the cholera epidemic of 1832, he was Health Physician. 
He was Clerk of Niagara County from 1819 until 1821. He was 
a prominent Mason and a ruling elder of the First Presbyterian 
Church, of Buffalo. 

September 12, 1810, Dr. Marshall married Ruth Holmes, 
daughter of Orsamus Holmes, of Sheridan, N. Y. The issue of 
this union was one son, Orsamus Holmes Marshall. Dr. Mar- 
shall died in Buffalo, December 27, 1838. 

ORSAMUS HOLMES MARSHALL M^as born in Franklin, 
Conn., February 1, 1813, and came with his parents to Buffalo 
in 1815. He was educated in Buffalo schools, at the Polytech- 
nic School at Chittenango, N. Y., at Col. McKay's Military 
Academy and at Union College, whence he graduated in 1831. 
On his return to Buffalo, Mr. Marshall entered the law office 
of Austin & Barker, with whom he remained till 1833, when 
he went to Yale College for a course of law lectures. In 1834 
he was admitted to practice as an attorney, and soon after- 
ward was admitted solicitor in Chancery. His first law part- 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 33 

nership was with William A. Moseley, and later lie was suc- 
cessively associated with the Hon. Horatio J. Stow, and the 
Hon. N. K. Ball, and after 1841 practiced by himself for 
several years, then becoming the partner of Alexander W. 
Harvey till 1863, when he admitted his son, Charles D. Mar- 
shall, to partnership. He retired from active practice in 
1867. 

Mr. Marshall was a distinguished writer on historical sub- 
jects. He was President of the Buffalo Historical Society, of 
which he was one of the founders; trustee and one of the or- 
ganizers of the Buffalo Cemetery Association; member and 
President of the Board of Trustees of the Grosvenor Library, 
and member and President of the Board of Trustees of the 
University of Buffalo, of which he was elected Chancellor in 
1882. He was a trustee of the Buffalo Society of Natural 
Sciences, President of the Thomas Orphan Asylum for Indian 
Children, and a member of the First Presbyterian Church, of 
Buffalo. In the early 50's he was offered the post of Commis- 
sioner to China, and was tendered the appointment of Assist- 
ant Postmaster-General, but declined both offices. In 1868 he 
was appointed United States Commissioner for the Northern 
District of New York, which position he held for many years. 

February 20, 1838, Mr. Marshall married Millicent Ann De 
Angelis, daughter of Judge Pascal Charles Joseph De Angelis, 
of Holland Patent, N. Y. Their children were : John Ellis Mar- 
shall, born August 5, 1839, graduated from Yale College in 
1861, and in 1862 was First Lieutenant of U. S. Volunteers, also 
serving as Aide-de-Camp to Brigadier-General William F. 
Barry; Charles De Angelis Marshall, born November 14, 1841; 
and Elizabeth Coe Marshall, born June 4, 1847. 

Orsamus H. Marshall died July 9, 1884. 

CHARLES DE ANGELIS MARSHALL is a leading lawyer 
of Buffalo. He was born in Buffalo and was educated in the 
local public schools, at Springside Academy, near Auburn, 



34 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

N. Y., and at the Hopkins Grammar School, of New Haven, 
Conn. He then entered the Albany Law School, from which 
institution he graduated, being admitted to the bar in 1864. 
He then entered into partnership with his father, under the 
firm style of 0. H. & C. D. Marshall. In 1868 he formed a co- 
partnership with Spencer Clinton, the firm name being Mar- 
shall & Clinton. In 1873 Robert P. Wilson was associated with 
Messrs. Marshall & Clinton, the style being changed to Mar- 
shall, Clinton & Wilson. In 1892 this partnership was dis- 
solved, Mr. Marshall and Mr. Clinton for some time practicing 
together as before. In 1893 Adolph Rebadow was admitted, 
the firm becoming Marshall, Clinton & Rebadow. Mr. Clinton 
retiring in 1899, the firm was styled Marshall & Rebadow, and 
in 1905, Ulysses S. Thomas was admitted a partner, with the 
firm style of Marshall, Rebadow & Thomas, an association 
which still continues, and has a large and valuable practice. 
During his long experience at the bar, Mr. Marshall has at- 
tained a sterling legal reputation, notably in connection with 
the law of real property and the management of trust estates. 
From 1878 to July, 1906, he was the attorney of the Buffalo 
Savings Bank. 

Mr. Marshall was one of the founders of the Buffalo Society 
of Natural Sciences, and is Treasurer of its permanent fund. 
He has served as Trustee, Vice-President and Treasurer of the 
Thomas Orphan Asylum for Indian Children, and holds life 
memberships in the Buffalo Historical Society, the Fine Arts 
Academy and the Young Men's Association. He has served as 
a director of the Buffalo Library, the Buffalo Society of 
Artists, the Buffalo City Cemetery and the Third National 
Bank, and is a member of the Buffalo, Beaver Island, Falcon- 
wood, Saturn, Launch and Canoe Clubs. In 1885 he was 
adopted into the Seneca Indian nation in recognition of his 
interest in the study of Indian antiquities. He is a member 
and trustee of the First Presbyterian Church, of Buffalo. In 
politics he is an independent Republican. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 35 

WALTER T. WILSON. In tlie life of Walter T. Wilson is 
presented a career consistent in its devotion to large business 
interests and notable for the ability displayed in the conduct 
of important enterprises. Mr. Wilson is not only a superior 
man of affairs but a strong and valuable type of citizen. 

The Wilson family is of English origin. Walter Wilson, the 
great grandfather of Walter T. Wilson, at an early period 
came from England to America and settled in Baltimore, 
Maryland. He was the father of Walter Wilson, the second of 
the name, who vpas born in Baltimore and who in 1846 became 
a resident of Burlington, New Jersey. By occupation he was a 
West India trader. He died in 1846. He was the father of 
Guilford Eeed Wilson, who was born in Burlington, N. J., 
October 19th, 1813, and was the father of the subject of this 
sketch. While yet a youth, Guilford R. Wilson went to Penn- 
sylvania and afterward to Corning, N. Y., engaging in the 
lumber business and also becoming interested in the Bless- 
burg coal mines. In 1842 he removed to Buffalo and embarked 
in the coal and iron business in which, under the firm style of 
G. R. Wilson & Co., he continued on an extensive scale until 
his death in 1877. He was a director in several banks and a 
member of the Board of Trade and the Buffalo Coal Exchange. 

Mr. Wilson was originally a Whig, and later a Republican. 
He was a member of the Episcopal Church, but attended Pres- 
byterian worship, and during the last years of his life was 
President of the Board of Trustees of the First Presbyterian 
Church of Buffalo. He was among the early members of the 
Buffalo Club. 

March 31, 1846, Mr. Wilson married Jane Corning Townsend, 
daughter of the late Judge Charles Townsend. Their children 
were: Walter T.; Gertrude Corning, who married William C. 
Francis of Buffalo; Jennie Clifton, who died in youth, un- 
married; Guilford Reed, who was engaged in the planing mill 
business and who died in 1898 as the result of illness contracted 
while serving during the Spanish-American War in the Com- 



36 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

missary Department, with the rank of Captain in the 65th 
Eegiment; Charles T., who married Stella Granger; Arthur W., 
who died in youth; Clarence W., now deceased; and Edward 
E., also deceased. 

Guilford E. Wilson died in Buffalo, February 18, 1877. His 
widow's death occured in 1898. 

Walter Townsend Wilson was born in Buffalo, March 28th, 
1847. He attended the public schools of that city and finished 
his education at the school of Prof. Briggs. Leaving school 
at the age of eighteen, Mr. Wilson became a clerk in his 
father's office. Subsequently he engaged in the coal and iron 
business, and in 1868 was admitted partner in the firm of G. E. 
Wilson & Co., located at the corner of Ohio and Elk Streets. 
In this association he continued to the time of the death of his 
father, Guilford E. Wilson, when he closed up the affairs of the 
firm, and since then has been engaged in the leather belting 
business, being one of the proprietors of the well-known enter- 
prise known as the Bickford & Francis Belting Company. This 
firm is one of the leading houses of its kind in the United 
States. 

Mr. Wilson is a director of the Commonwealth Trust Com- 
pany, secretary and manager of the Buffalo Planing Mill Com- 
pany, and is identified with various other industrial and finan- 
cial undertakings of importance. 

In politics he is a Eepublican. In 1886 he was elected Alder- 
man from the 16th W^ard. 

He is a member of the First Presbyterian Church, belongs to 
the Historical Society, the Saturn Club, and other organiza- 
tions of a social or scientific character. 

In January, 1875, Mr. Wilson married Miss Jennie Morse, 
daughter of David E. Morse. Their children are Walter 
Morse, who is associated with his father in the belting business 
and who is a 1st Lieutenant in the 65th Eegiment N. G. N. Y. 
and served in the Spanish-American War; Gertrude, wife of 
the Eev. John Stockton Littell, pastor of St. Luke's Episcopal 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 37 

Church at Brockport and whose children are John, Margaret 
and Gertrude; and Margaret. 

THE PORTER FAMILY. Illustrious in the annals of the 
Niagara Frontier the name Porter has also a distinguished 
place in Colonial history and in that of the Revolutionary 
epoch. The well-known Porter family of Western New York 
is of Norman-English ancestry. Its descent is traced from 
William de la (Jrande, a Norman knight, who acquired land at 
the time of the Conquest, near Kenilworth, England. His son 
Roger (or Ralph) was "Grand Porteur" to Henry I., and from 
that ofiflce the name of Porter is derived. 

John Porter, sixteenth in descent from William de la Grande, 
was the founder of the Porter family in America. He came to 
this country from England in 1637 and settled in Windsor, 
Conn. His son Samuel, was a merchant and lived in Hartford; 
Conn., and afterward in Hadley, Mass. Nathaniel Porter, son 
of Samuel, joined the army in the expedition against Canada 
in 1708-9. He was the father of Nathaniel Buell Porter, who 
was a merchant in Lebanon, Conn. Col. Joshua Porter, son of 
Nathaniel Buell Porter, graduated from Yale College in 1754. 
Early in life he settled in Salisbury, Litchfield County, Conn. He 
served for more than forty sessions as a member of the State 
Legislature, was Judge of Common Pleas thirteen years, and 
Probate Judge thirty-seven years. As Colonel of the 14th Con- 
necticut Regiment, he participated in the battles of Long 
Island, White Plains, Saratoga, Monmouth and other engage- 
ments in the Revolution. 

GEN. PETER BUELL PORTER, son of Col. Joshua Porter, 
was one of the greatest military leaders of the War of 1812. 
He was as eminent in civil affairs as in soldiership and in the 
perspective of history, stands forth as the central figure of the 
memorable military and civic dramas enacted on the Niagara 
iFrontier during the first three decades of the last century. 



38 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY, 

Among the dauntless, indefatigable toilers of that formative 
epoch none left a deeper impress on this section of the State 
than Peter Buell Porter, soldier and statesman. 

Gen. Porter was born in Salisbury, Conn., August 14th, 1773. 
He was educated at Yale, College, graduating in 1791, and 
studied law with Judge Keeves in Litchfield, Conn. In 1795 he 
removed to Canandaigua, N. Y., and the same year was ad- 
mitted to the bar. In 1797, he was elected Clerk of Ontario 
County, and in 1802, was chosen a member of the State Legis- 
lature. When later elected to Congress he was Chairman of 
the Committee on Foreign Relations, and in this capacity he 
advocated with great force and eloquence the necessity of war 
with Great Britain, also presenting a report in favor of a 
declaration of war. In 1810 Jie removed to Black Rock, and 
the same year he was a member of the committee to investi- 
gate the route of the proposed Euie Canal, of which project he 
was always an able and earnest supporter. 

Upon war being declart^d, Mr. Porter left Congress and re- 
cruited a brigade of New York and Pennsylvania troops. In 
1812 he was appointed Quartermaster-General of the New York 
State Militia, and upon the election of Governor Tompkins he 
was commissioned by the latter Major-General of New York 
State troops. General Porter's part in the campaign of 1813 
began with the occupation of Fort George, when he acted as 
volunteer Aide-de-Camp to the American commander. Gen. 
Lewis, later being placed in command of the troops and Seneca 
warriors gathered at Buffalo. Afterward in several engage- 
ments he led the Indians to victory. He was known among the 
red men as "Conashustah," and they had a current saying, 
"Where Conashtustah leads we follow." Gen. Porter was one 
pf the principal officers of the American army which, after the 
btyning of Buffalo by the British and Indians in 1813, reoccu-' 
pied the place and in 1814 prepared for the invasion of Canada. 
When the march on Canada began. Gen. Porter was in com- 
niand of a volunteer brigade, reconnoitered Fort Erie and 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 39 

assisted in concerting the i^lan wliicli resulted in its surrender. 
The battle of Chippewa was the first, during the War of 1812, 
in which a large force of British regulars was defeated in the 
open field, and was one of the most decisive engagements of the 
war. The next act of the great drama of the Niagara Frontier 
was the siege of Fort Erie, and to General Porter was com- 
mitted the formidable task of relieving the fortress. He ac- 
complished it, and the achievement was the crowning one' of 
his military career, there being no other case in history where 
a besieging army had been routed by one sortie. The raising of 
the siege of Fort Erie practically closed the war on the Niagara 
Frontier. To Gen. Porter's skill and valor high honors were 
accorded. In 1814 Congress voted him a gold medal, and the 
State of New York presented him a sword. The Governor of 
New York brevetted him Major-General, and in 1813, Presi- 
dent Madison commissioned him Major-General of the United 
States Army, also appointing him (3ommander-in-Chief, but the 
latter position he declined. 

In 1815 Gen. Porter was made Secretary of State, but de- 
clined the place, desiring to serve out the rest of his term in 
Congress. In 1816 he was appointed one of the Commissioners, 
under the treaty of Ghent, to determine the boundary line be- 
tween the United States and Canada. In 1824 he was< chosen 
one of the Eegeuts of the University of the State of New York. 
In 1828 he became Secretary of War in President John Quincy 
Adams' Cabinet^ his administration of the affairs of the War 
Department being marked by the strong practical efficiency 
characteristic of the man. Besides his military and public 
life, Gen. Porter has an important share in the business devel- 
opment of Western New York. He was senior member of the 
firm of Porter, Barton & Company, of Black Eock. 

In 1818 Gen. Porter married Laetitia Preston Breckenridge, 
who was of Scotch and English ancestry, being a daughter of 
John Breckenridge, a descendant of Alexander Breckenridge, 
who was among the early settlers of the Blue Eidge Eegioh of 



40 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Virginia. The children of Gen. Porter were Elizabeth L., who 
was born April 19, 1823, and died January 28, 1876, and Peter 
A. Porter. 

Gen. Porter removed to Niagara Falls in 1839, and lived 
there during the rest of his life, his death occurring March 10, 
1844, 

OOL. PETER AUGUSTUS PORTER, son of Gen. Peter Buell 
Porter, in a brief but heroic career nobly maintained the tra- 
ditions of patriotism and valor which were his by inheritance, 
and sealed with his life his devotion to his country. 

Col. Porter was born in 1827 at Black Rock, Erie County, 
N. Y. After a careful preparatory education he graduated 
from Harvard College in 1845, later going to Germany where 
he studied at the universities of Heidelberg and Breslau till 
1849. On his return to the United States until the beginning 
of the Civil War, he took an active part in the business and 
social life of Niagara Falls. In 1861 he was elected a member 
of the New York Legislature, and the same year, after he had 
joined the army, was tendered the nomination of his party for 
Secretary of State. A brilliant political career was opening 
before him, but the national crisis was with him a consideration 
paramount to all others, and he declined the civic honors with- 
in his grasp. 

The military career of Col. Porter began in 1861, when he 
raised a regiment which was organized as the 129th New York 
Volunteer Infantry. In 1863 it became the 8th New York 
Heavy Artillery, of which he was commissioned Colonel. At 
his earnest solicitation he was sent with his troops to the front 
in 1864, the regiment being incorporated with the Army of the 
Potomac, under General Grant, and took part in all the battles 
of the Wilderness campaign, and Cold Harbor. In this terrible 
battle Col. Porter met his death. He fell pierced by six bullets, 
while gallantly leading his regiment up to the rebel entrench- 
ments. For two days Col. Porter's body lay in front of the 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 41 

•enemy's works, and could not be recovered. On the second 
night five brave soldiers of his command bore back his remains 
to the Union lines. 

Col. Porter was married March 30, 1852, to Mary Cabell 
Preston Breckenridge, daughter of Rev. John Breckenridge, 
and Margaret Miller. The issue of the marriage was one son, 
Peter A. Porter, born, October 10, 1853. Mrs. Porter died 
August 4, 1854, and on November 9, 1859, Col. Porter married 
for his second wife Josepliine M. Morris, daughter of George 
Morris, of Charleston, S. C. Their children were Laetitia H. 
Porter, born February 16, 1861, died October 17, 1864, and 
George M. Porter, born on the 7th of July, 1863. 

HON. PETER AUGUSTUS PORTER, son of Col. Peter A. 
Porter, is one of the leading men of the State, and has long 
been a central figure in the political, industrial and civic affairs 
of Western New York. Mr. Porter has the incentives to 
achievement which are the natural possession of the descend- 
ants of so illustrious a line, and has worthily maintained the 
prestige of the distinguished name he bears. Public spirit is 
one of his salient characteristics, and he is signally identified, 
both as a legislator and a citizen, with the development of the 
power resources of Niagara Palls. 

Mr. Porter was born at Niagara Falls, N. Y., October 10, 
1853. He was educated at St. Paul's School, Concord, N. H., 
and at Yale College, graduating from the latter in 1874., His 
college course was followed by extensive foreign travel. On 
returning from abroad Mr. Porter actively identified himself 
with the business and municipal interests of Niagara Palls, 
his enterprise and initiative soon making themselves manifest 
as factors in the upbuilding of that city. 

In 1886 Mr. Porter was elected a member of the Legislature, 
and the following year was reelected. As Assemblyman- he 
introduced and brought al^out the passage of the celebrated 
Niagara Tunnel Bill, which gave the sanction of the State to 



42 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

the utilization of the cataract for the development of electric 
power. The effect of this legislation has been far-reaching, 
the law and its outcome marking a memorable epoch in the 
industrial world. In the fall of 1906, Mr. Portej* was nomi- 
nated for Congress in the 34th District on an independent Re- 
publican ticket, being indorsed by the Democrats and the Inde- 
pendence League. His adversary was James W. Wads worth, 
who for many successive terms had been returned to Congress 
from the distict, and the normal majority w^hich Mr. Porter 
would be obliged to overcome was estimated at from 7,000 to 
13,000. Mr. Porter was elected by heavy pluralities, the result 
being a significant tribute to him as a leader and a decisive in- 
dorsement of his policy. 

Mr. Porter has always taken a deep interest in the wonder- 
ful conquest of nature at Niagara Falls. He was a prime 
mover in the negotiations incident to the establishment of 
power plants at the Falls, and his tact and counsel materially 
aided to reconcile conflicting interests. As an author he did 
much to place the project in a correct light, to enlist capital 
and to supply the public with accurate information. Mr. 
Porter has been a lifelong student of the antiquities of the 
Niagara Frontier, and is a distinguished contributor to the 
literature of that topic. His library relating to the subject is 
the most extensive of its kind in the country. 

Mr. Porter is a prominent member of the Buffalo Historical 
Society and belongs to many other organizations. 

February 3, 1877, Mr. Porter married Alice Adele Taylor, 
daughter of Virgil Corydon Taylor and Harriett C. (Dunlap). 
Mrs. Porter is of an ancient family of English and 
Puritan lineage, being descended from Richard Taylor, 
who came from England to Massachusetts Colony in 1648. 
The children of the marriage are Peter A. Porter Jr. 
born November 16, 1877; Cabell Breckenridge Porter, 
born April 8, 1881, and Preston Buell Porter, born 
March 13, 1891. 





-^c. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 43 

EDWARD PREBLE REALS, wlio died on the 9th of April, 
1903, was a pioneer of the iron manufacturing and hardware 
business in Buffalo and one of its most representative citizens. 
Mr. Beals was connected with a wide sphere of xiseful activi- 
ties outside of business lines. He was a citizen of sterling 
patriotism, deeply mindful of civic obligations, earnest in the 
furtherance of municipal progress and a zealous supporter of 
religion and charity. 

The Beals family originally came from the County of Devon, 
England. In the seventeenth century members of the race 
emigrated to the American Colonies, settling in Boston, Massa- 
chusetts. 

The great-grandfather of Edward Preble Beals was Dr. Laz- 
arus Beals, who was born in Cohasset, Mass., in 1725. He was 
the father of Samuel Beals, who in 1778 married Rebecca Wil- 
kerson, of Newton, Mass. 

JOHN WILKENSON BEALS, son of Samuel Beals, was 
born in Boston, Mass., in 1795. Prior to 1820 he settled in Can- 
andaigua. New York. In 1826 he came to Buffalo. Here he 
was a partner of Judge Samuel Wilkinson and Jonathan May- 
hew, in the copper and tinsmith trade, till 1840. In that year 
he engaged in the insurance business, with which he remained 
identified till his death, in 1857. Mr. Beals was one of the most 
prominent of the early residents of Buffalo. He was a zealous 
Unitarian and one of the seven founders of the Unitarian 
Church in this city. He was the owner of the large brick dwell- 
ing at Washington and South Division streets, where he lived 
until he built a house in Swan street, where he resided during 
the rest of his life. 

In 1815 John Wilkenson Beals married Julia Romney, of 
Boston, Mass., daughter of Edward Romney, a veteran of the 
Revolution, who rendered distinguished services in that war as 
Lieutenant in Captain Popkin's company of a Massachusetts 
regiment of the line. Edward Romney's ancestor Robert, the 



44 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

founder of the family, came to England with William the Con- 
queror. He received from that king's half-brother, Otto, large 
grants of land in Kent, including the town of Eomney, and was 
knighted as Sir Eobert de Eomney. His descendant was John 
Eomney of Sutton- Valence, whose wife Amy is supposed to 
have emigrated to America in 1702, and whose son, Edward, 
was the founder of the Eomney (or Eumney) family in this 
country. 

Beginning with the early part of the 18th century the gene- 
alogy of the Eumney family is as follows. Edward Eumney, 
who was born in Great Britain, married Elizabeth Vaughan, 
February 12, 1718. Their children were: Edward, born in Bos- 
ton, Mass., August 19, 1720, married Abigail Pierson, Septem- 
ber 27, 1744, died in Boston; Elizabeth, born in Boston, Mass., 
February 24, 1721; David, born in Boston, Mass., November 
14, 1723; John, born in Boston, Mass., July 21, 1725; Samuel, 
born in Boston, Mass., August 21, 1727; Joseph, born in Boston, 
Mass., December 26, 1729; Mary, born in Boston, Mass., May 
28, 1732; George, born in Boston, Mass., February 24, 1733, 
married Eliza Williams, April 3, 1755; Benjamin, born in Bos- 
ton, Mass., September S, 1735, married Lucy Burnham, Decem- 
ber 10, 1767; Lydia, born in Boston, Mass., March 20, 1736. The 
children of Edward and Abigail (Pierson) Eumney were: Ed- 
ward, born in Boston, Mass., August 22, 1745, married Seeth 
Beath, May 13, 1771, died April 6, 1808; and Joseph, who died 
in South Carolina. The children of Edward and Seeth (Beath) 
Eumney were: Betsey, born in Boston, Mass., April 25, 1772, 
married John H. Belcher, July 25, 1793, died in Wilmington, 
N. C, September 27, 1808; Sallie, born in Boston, Mass., Jan- 
uary 24, 1774, married Luther Cole, died in Canandaigua, 
N. Y., May 15, 1827; Abigail, born in Boston, Mass., Feb. 19, 
1776, died July 22, 1777; Nabbie, born in Boston, Mass., June 1, 
1778, married John B. Hammatt, January 29, 1805, died in 
Boston, May 24, 1856; Joseph, born in Boston, Mass., March 0, 
1781, married Amy Griswold Downs, July* 8, 1801, died at 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 45 

Jamaica, W. I., July 8, 1801; Mary, born in Boston, Mass., April 
6, 1783, died in Hanover, Mass., March 25, 1866; Susan, born in 
Boston, Mass., May 19, 1785; Edward, born in Boston, Mass., 
June 3, 1786, married Eliza Wilson in 1816, died in 1823; John, 
born in Boston, Mass., July 22, 1787, married Lydia H. Barrett, 
February 18, 1814, and Martha B. McKnight, February 8, 1824, 
died at Alexandria, Va., April 29, 1836; Sophia, born at Boston, 
Mass., March 22, 1789, married Benjamin Wells, September 
18, 1808; and Julia, born at Boston, Mass., August 28, 1791, 
married John W. Beals, February 5, 1815, died at Buffalo, 
N. Y., April 8, 1857. The children of John B. and Nabbie 
(Rumney) Hammatt were: John B., born in Boston, Mass., 
June 4, 1807, married Mary Mclntyre, May 7, 1829, died Sep- 
tember 4, 1838; Abigail E., born in Boston, Mass., April 8, 1809, 
married Nathaniel Barstow, July 20, 1837; Benjamin H., born 
in Boston, Mass., July 19, 1811, married Martha Ferris, June, 
1833, died December 23, 1838; Edward R., born in Boston, 
Mass., August 18, 1814, married Marietta P. Worth, August 29, 
1843, and later Elizabeth Phelps; Sarah, born at Alexandria, 
Va., December 22, 1817, married Lewis G. Richardson, March 
17, 1842; and Andrew S., born at Alexandria, Va., January 4, 
1821, died August 27, 1823. The children of Edward and Eliza 
(Wilson) Romney were: Mary Eliza, born in 1820, married 
Horatio Bevan in 1844; and Adele, born in 1822. The children 
of John and Lydia H. (Barrett) Rumney were: Elizabeth R., 
born at Alexandria, Va., November 22, 1814, married Joseph 
Snelling, January 15, 1852; Lydia R., born at Alexandria, Va., 
August 22, 1816; John E., born at Alexandria, Va., March 22, 
1818, died August 1, 1819; John, born at Salem, Mass., January 
16, 1820; and Sarah, born at Salem, Mass., March 3, 1822, died 
November 6, 1822. The children of John and Martha B. (Mc- 
Knight) Romney were: Martha B., born at Alexandria, Va,, 
January 15, 1825, married Nathaniel Hooper, August 15, 1853; 
Mary, born at Alexandria, Va., May 14, 1826, died July 8, 1827; 
Catherine P., born at Alexandria, Va., December 25, 1827, 



46 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

married Edward S. Hall, October 24, 1850; Charles B. Mc- 
Knight, born at Alexandria, Va., December 25, 1829, died June 
12, 1833; Joseph E., born at Alexandria, Va., November 9, 1831, 
died November 12, 1837; and Charles W., born at Alexandria, 
Va., September 8, 1835. The children of Benjamin and Sophia 
(Eumney) Wells vi^ere: Catherine, born March 19, 1810, married 
Samuel Hastings, October 10, 1830; Francis, born November 

15, 1812, and Sophia K., born in 1814, married John Man, Octo- 
ber 26, 1837. The children of John W. and Julia (Rumney) 
Beals were: John Wells, born at Canandaigua, N. Y., November 

16, 1815, died September 13, 1853; Joseph R., born at Canan- 
daigua, N. Y., February 24, 1817; Susan E., born at Canandai- 
gua, N. Y., February 22, 1819, married on April 21, 1844; Ed- 
ward Preble, born at Canandaigua, N. Y., March 16, 1821, mar- 
ried Mary Lorenz, January 11, 1848; Samuel, born at Canan- 
daigua, N. Y., July 4, 1823; George, born at Canandaigua, N. Y., 
August 10, 1825, married Jane M. Cook, January 21, 1851 ; Julia, 
born at Buffalo, N. Y., September 24, 1827, died March 27, 1833; 
Sarah Cole, born January 19, 1830, died August 15, 1831; Sarah 
Cole (2d), born May 21, 1832, married Calvin H. Allen, February 
11, 1862; and Julia Rebecca, born October 31, 1835. As indi- 
cated above, the name Rumney is spelled Romney in certain 
branches of the family. 

Edward Preble Beals was born at Canandaigua, N. Y., on the 
16th of March, 1821. Five years afterward he came with his 
parents to Buffalo. He was educated at the Buffalo Military 
Academy and the Academy of Canandaigua. 

On leaving school, young Beals became a clerk in the hard- 
ware store of Samuel F. Pratt. Here he remained as an em- 
ploye ten years between 1836 and 1846, his talents, industry 
and fidelity winning for him a place of constantly increasing 
importance in the concern. In 1846 was foimded the firm of 
Pratt & Co., in which Mr. Beals was a partner. Under this 
name, widely known throughout the Middle and Western 
States, the business continued to be conducted for forty years. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 47 

Mr. Pratt died in 1872, and in 1886 the firm of Beals & Brown 
was organized. This association lasted until the death of Mr. 
Brown in 1892, and was marked by notable prosperity and a 
large extension of the trade, which was of both wholesale and 
retail character. In 1893 Edward P. Beals, his son Pascal P. 
Beals and W. E. Gass established the great and representative 
business of Beals & Company, wholesale dealers in hardware, 
iron and steel,, and under the style then assumed the house 
exists at the present time, being the oldest and largest enter- 
prise in its line in Buffalo. The business, founded in 1818, has 
had upwards of seventy-eight years of continuous success, and 
stands an enduring monument of the sagacity, foresight, reso- 
lution and persistence of those identified with it. 

About 1857 the firm of Pratt & Co., consisting of Mr. Beals, 
Mr. Pascal P. Pratt and Samuel F. Pratt embarked in the iron 
manufacturing industry. Purchasing the iron rolling mills at 
Black Rock, some years later they developed the Fletcher blast 
furnace. The enterprise thus originated developed into one of 
the largest manufacturing firms of Western New York, giving 
employment to thousands of men and sending forth an immense 
output of iron products. 

Toward the close of his life Mr. Beals disposed of his inter- 
ests in the iron industry and devoted himself to his wholesale 
hardware concern. He also became prominently connected 
with banking, serving as a Director of the Buffalo Savings 
Bank and exhibiting as signal ability in finance as he had in 
commerce and manufactures. His intellect and, energies were 
proof against advancing years, and living to the age of eighty- 
two he was to the last a leading factor in the community and 
the business world. 

In 1848 Mr. Beals married Mary Lorenz, daughter of Fred- 
erick Lorenz, a prominent manufacturer and banker of Pitts- 
burg, Pa. The surviving children are Col. Pascal Pratt Beals, 
Catherine Lorenz Beals, Mary Lorenz Beals, Julia Lorenz 
Beals and Grace Komney Beals, all residents of Buffalo. Two 



48 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

other children, Edward P. Beals and Ii"'rederick L. Beals died 
in infancy. 

Mr. Beals was a strong Presbyterian and for many years a 
member of the old North Presbyterian Church. In his church 
relationships as in those of his secular life, he was an example 
of noble consistency and unfaltering uprightness of opinion, 
speech and conduct. Endowed with a fine intellect, he was a 
great reader, kept intelligently in touch with current events 
and had a wide fund of useful information. His disposition 
was profoundly benevolent, his deeds of generosity were many, 
and his modesty, unaffectedness and sunny nature endeared 
him to all who knew him. The life of Edward P. Beals exem- 
plified in pre-eminent degree the sterling qualities of the man, 
the Christian and the citizen, and his rewards were peace of 
conscience, serenity and length of days and the approval and 
love of his fellow-men. 

COL. PASCAL PRATT BEALS. Among men conspicuously 
connected with the business life of Buffalo, one of the fore- 
most is Col. Pascal P. Beals, who as head of the leading hard- 
ware, iron and steel house of Beals & Company holds a place of 
distinctive prominence in the commercial affairs of Western 
New York. He is a man of liberal instincts, progressive 
ideas, and is actively interested in social, educational and 
benevolent institutions. 

Pascal Pratt Beals is a son of the late Edward P. Beals and 
was born in Buffalo July 31st, 1850. After preparing for col- 
lege in the Buffalo Classical School, he entered Yale University 
in 1868 and was graduated with honors in 1872. 

Shortly after his graduation, Mr. Beals engaged in business, 
becoming connected with the firm of Pratt & Company, in 
Buffalo. He remained with the firm until its dissolution in 
1886. When the house of Pratt & Co. was succeeded by Beals 
& Co., of which Edward P. Beals was the head, Pascal P. Beals 
became a partner in the new firm, and from 1893 to the present 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTOEY. 49 

time has been a leading factor in it, after the death of his 
father becoming the senior partner. The duration of the business 
has given it the prestige which peculiarly attaches to mercan- 
tile houses of long standing, and the management, throughout 
all its changes of personnel, has never swerved from the prin- 
ciples of high commercial honor and the practical illustration 
of progressiveness. 

Ool. Beals joined the National Guard of the State of New 
York in 1879 and served till 1892. In this connection his rec- 
ord is one of meritorious services which received recognition 
by successive promotions. Commissioned Captain and Aide, 
Eighth Division, he was later made Major both in the Eighth 
and Fourteenth Brigades. This was followed by promotion to 
the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel of the Fourth Division and 
Colonel in Staff, Department of the Commander-in-Chief. 
With the latter rank, Col. Beals was retired at his own request 
in 1892. 

Col. Beals is a life member and Director of the Buffalo So- 
ciety of Natural Sciences, a member of the Fine Arts Academy, 
holds a life membership in the Young Men's Association, now 
the Buffalo Library, of which he was also a Director, and was a 
Director of the Young Men's Christian Association. He was 
for many years a member of the City, Saturn and Ellicott 
Clubs, of Buffalo, and is a member of the United Service Club, 
of New York City. 

MILLARD FILLMORE. Buffalo has given the United 
States two Presidents. The first of these illustrious citizens 
to attain the office was Millard Fillmore. 

Mr. Fillmore was born in Locke, Cayuga County, N. Y., 
January 7, 1800, being the second child and eldest son of 
Nathaniel Fillmore and Phoebe Millard. His father was born 
in Bennington, Vt., and his mother was a native of Pittsfield, 
Mass. His parents were among the pioneer settlers of the 
so-called Military Tract, and removed from Locke to Sempro- 



50 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

nius, Cayuga County. Nathaniel Fillmore was a farmer who 
cleared his land and built his own home, and like not a few 
other distinguished Americans, Millard Fillmore was reared 
in a log house. Till he was fifteen years old young Fillmore 
worked on his father's farm and attended the district schools. 
As a lad he was apprenticed to Benjamin Hungerford, a carder 
and cloth-dresser of Sparta, N. Y., and in 1815 was re-appren- 
ticed to the same business with Zaccheus Cheney and Alviu 
Kellogg of Newhope, N. Y. While in their employ Mr. P^'illmore 
began a system of self -education, reading every st-andard work 
to which he had access. When eighteen years old he taught 
school for a term in the town of Scott. In 1818 he visited West- 
ern New York and later attended school at Canandaigua. 
Meantime he had become ambitious to study law, and returning 
to Cayuga County, he entered the law-office of Judge Walter 
Wood, at Martville. In 1821 he went to Aurora, Erie County, 
taught a winter school at East Aurora and obtained some 
practice in justice's courts. In the spring of 1822 he came to 
Buffalo and taught a district school, and the same year became 
a student in the law office of Asa Eice and Joseph Clary. In 
the spring of 1823 he was admitted to practice in the Court of 
Common Pleas, and opening an office at East Aurora he prac- 
ticed there till 1830. In 1827 he was admitted attorney of the 
Supreme Court, and became counselor in 1829. In May, 1830, 
he removed to Buffalo where he formed a law partnership with 
Joseph Clary. He acquired a large and successful practice, 
which was continued till 1848, when his duties in public life 
obliged him to relinquish his professional pursuits. 

Mr. Fillmore was elected to the Assembly in 1828 and was 
twice re-elected. In 1832 he was elected to Congress and was 
re-elected for three successive terms, declining a fifth nomina- 
tion. In 1843 the Whig National Convention at Philadelphia 
nominated Mr. Fillmore for Vice-President. He was elected, 
and by the death of General Taylor, July 9, 1850, succeeded him 
as President of the United States. He attained the presidency 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 51. 

at a critical period in national affairs, and administered its 
duties with great ability and unswerving conscientiousness. 
However others might differ from him in matters of party- 
principle or governmental policy, no fair-minded man ques- 
tioned his purity of motive or his sterling patriotism. 

In 1856, Mr. Fillmore was nominated for the Presidency by 
the National American Convention, but the party which chose 
him for its leader was in the decline of its power and the 
Democrats carried the country. At the close of the campaign 
Mr. Mllmore retired from public life. The rest of his days he 
passed in Buffalo in the pursuits of a scholar and the activities 
of the citizen. He died March 8, 1874. 

Mr. Fillmore was married twice, his first wife being Abigail 
Power, of Moravia, N. Y., whom he wedded February 5, 1826. 
She died in 185-3, and February 10, 1858, Mr. Fillmore married 
Mrs. Caroline C. Mcintosh. 

THE CHAPIN FAMILY. The Chapin lineage is Puritan. 
Samuel Chapin of IVtassacliusetts Colony took the freeman's 
oath in Boston in 1641 and removed to Springfield, Mass. 
Japhet Chapin, son of Samuel, was in the great Indian fight at 
Twiner's Falls on the 19th of May, 1676. Samuel Chapin (2d), 
son of Japhet, had a son, Caleb Chapin, who was killed in the 
French War. Caleb Chapin {2d), son of Caleb, was an ofilcer 
in the Eevolutionary War. 

DK. CYRENIUS CHAPIN, son of Capt. Caleb Chapin, was a 
man whose career fills a memorable chapter in the pioneer 
history of Buffalo. Physician, soldier and frontiersman. Dr. 
Chapin was a typical American of that stern epoch when hard- 
ship and peril developed the latent resources of character. 

Cyrenius Chapin was born in Bernardston, Massachusetts, on 
the 7th of February, 1769. He studied medicine with his 
brother, Dr. Caleb Chapin. He practiced for several years at 
Windhall, Vermont, later removing to Sangerfield, Oneida 



52 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

County, N. Y. In 1801 he came to Buffalo. In 1803 he went to 
Fort Erie, but later returned with his family to Buffalo. Dr. 
Chapin's life was full of the hardships of the frontier physician, 
and he went on horseback to his patients, making hundreds of 
perilous journeys through the wilderness. He founded the 
first drug store in Buffalo, and often supplied gratuitously not 
only medicine but food to his needy patients. He wielded a 
great influence, and was highly esteemed by the Indians, who 
were accustomed to speak of him as "The Great Medicine 
Man." 

When the War of 1812 broke out, Dr. Chapin raised a com- 
pany of volunteers and offered his services, both as officer and 
surgeon. He was successively commissioned Captain, Major 
and Lieutenant-Colonel. He served with the American van- 
guard in the occupation of Fort George in May, 1813. In June 
he organized a body of mounted riflemen which he commanded 
in the fight at Beaver Dams, Canada, on the 24th of June, 1813, 
under Lieutenant-Colonel Boerstler, whose force was compelled 
'to surrender. On July 12 Col. Chapin and his men were sent as 
prisoners toward Kingston, in two boats, under a heavy British 
guard. Col. Chapin had laid a carefully concerted plan of 
escape, and when the boats were a few miles from their 
destination, the Americans, at a signal, rose, overpowered the 
guards, steered for Fort Niagara, and after a night of rowing 
delivered their erstwhile captors to the commander of the fort 
as prisoners of war. When the British attacked Buffalo in 
December, 1813, Col. Chapin made a daring stand at Black Eock 
and defended the place till he had only five men left. He then 
retreated to Buffalo, where he found a dismounted six-pounder 
cannon. Hastily mounting it on wagon-wheels, he gathered 
a few men and boys whom he drew up at Niagara street, where 
he i^ught the British till his cannon was disabled. When fur- 
ther resistance was useless, he mounted a horse, tied a white 
handkerchief to his sword, and riding to the enemy held them 
by parleying till the inhabitants of Buffalo had time to escape. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISXOKY. 53 

He also obtained from the British officer in command advan- 
tageous terms, for the surrender of the village, but the plighted 
word of the foe was shamefully violated. Col. Chapin was made 
a prisoner and taken to Montreal, where he was held nine 
months. On his return to Buffalo he was appointed surgeon 
of the military hospital. When he retired from this office he 
removed to Geneva, N. Y., but returned to Buffalo in 1818, and 
here he continued to reside, practice his profession and take an 
active part in public affairs till the close of his life. On the 
organization of the Erie County Medical Society in 1821, Dr. 
Chapin was made its first President. In 1836 the citizens of 
Buffalo presented him a service of silver plate as a testimonial 
of their admiration of him as a citizen and soldier. 

In 1793 Dr. Chapin married Sylvia Burnham, of Bernardston, 
Mass. He died on the 20th of February, 1838, and was buried 
with military honors. The cemetery where his remains were 
laid to rest is now the site of the City and County Hall. 

LOUISE MAEIE CHAPIN (Mrs,. Thaddeus Weed), third 
daughter of Dr. Cyrenius Chapin, united intellectuality of a high 
order with rare loveliness of womanly character. Mrs. Weed 
held a distinguished place in the social circles of Buffalo and 
was one of the most interesting of those persons who through 
length of days and remarkable powers of observation and mem- 
ory form a bond between the present and the past. Mrs. Weed 
was born at Port Erie, Canada, on the 19th of March, 1803. As 
a child she came with her parents to Buffalo, which was the 
city of her residence during the rest of her life. On the 9th of 
October, 1823, she was united in marriage to Thaddeus Weed. 
The lamented death of Mrs. Weed occurred on the 20th of July, 
1894. 

THE WEED FAMILY. The Weeds are of English and 
Puritan ancestry. Jonas Weed emigrated from England to 
Massachusetts in 1630. Jonas Weed (2d), son of the foregoing. 



54 MEMORIAIi AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

had a son, Benjamin, who had a son, Benjamin, who married 
Sarah Hait. Ananias Weed, son of Benjamin Weed (2d) and 
Sarah Hait, was born in Stamford, Connecticut, in 1752. At 
the outbreak of the Eevolution he joined the Continental army, 
and served through the war. He fought at the battle of White 
Plains, crossed the Delaware with Washington and took part 
in the famous surprise of the Hessians at Trenton. From 1779 
till the peace of 1783 he was in the Commissary Department, 
and participated in expeditions against the British in New 
York and New Jersey. 

THADDEUS WEED, son of Ananias Weed, was born in 
Stamford, Connecticut, in 1791. He was for some time a resi- 
dent of Troy, N. Y. He came to Buffalo September 23, 1818, 
where he and George T. Weed opened a hardware store under 
the firm style of G. & T. Weed. The business prospered, 
becoming one of the leading mercantile houses of Buffalo. 
Thaddeus Weed married Louise Marie Chapin, daughter of Dr. 
Cyrenius Chapin. Their children were three sons, De Witt 
Chapin, George Thaddeus and Hobart Weed, and a daughter, 
Mrs. Sylvia Louise Stevens. Louise Marie (Chapin) Weed sur- 
vived her husband by many years, dying on the 20th of July, 
1894, being then in her ninety-second year. 

After an honorable and successful career Thaddeus Weed 
died in 1846. No Buffalonian of his day was held in higher 
estimation. Eminently public-spirited, he was one of the 
founders of Buffalo's first regular fire company. He was also a 
vestryman of St. Paul's Episcopal Church, of which he was one 
of the most active supporters. A man of sterling ability and 
probity, he left a deep impress on the life and institutions of 
the city. 

HOBAET WEED, son of Thaddeus Weed, head of the great 
wholesale and retail hardware house of Weed & Co., stands in 
the front rank of Western New York merchants. He was born 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 55 

in Buffalo, and received a thorough education at schools in 
Buffalo and Toronto, and the Percival Classical School in Fre- 
donia, N. Y., and Kev. H. D. Noble's School at Brookfield, Conn. 
After finishing his studies, Mr. Weed returned to Buffalo, where 
he gained his first experience in business in the store founded 
by his father, then being conducted by his brother, De Witt C. 
Weed. After he had learned the business Mr. Weed with his 
brother formed the copartnership of De Witt C. Weed & Co. 
On the death of Mr. De Witt C. Wefed, in 1880, the firm became 
Weed & Co., with Mr. Hobart Weed as principal owner. In 
1903 the house was incorporated as Weed & Company, with 
Mr. Hobart Weed as President. The concern is one of the fore- 
most wholesale and retail hardware houses between New York 
City and Chicago. It celebrated its seventy-fifth anniversary 
in, 1893. One of Mr. Weed's most noteworthy activities has 
been in advancing musical culture. The musical career of Mr. 
Weed began in his youth. While a student at school he 
organized and trained a chpir. When he was only seventeen 
years old, the vestry of St. Paul's Episcopal Church placed the 
entire direction of the churcli music in Mr. Weed's hands, and 
he has had charge of it ever since. He sang in the choir of St. 
Paul's as early as 1870, was made member of the Music Com- 
mittee in 1873, and was chosen Chairman of that body in 1881. 
From early in life he has been interested in procuring for the 
Buffalo public the best vocal and instrumental talent for con- 
certs, and has had an important part in, educating the popular 
taste in music in the Queen City. Among the more notable 
musical organizations and artists brought to Buffalo by Mr. 
Weed and his associates were the Theodore Thomas Orchestra, 
the Boston Symphony and New York Symphony Orchestras, 
the Pittsburg Orchestra and the Damrosch Opera Company; 
Melba, Nordica, Sfembrich, Gadski, Christine Neilson and the 
great artists of the last generation. Connected with St. Paul's 
Episcopal Church all his life, Mr. Weed is a vestryman and 
one of its most prominent members. He is an active member 



56 MEMOEIAL AND FAMILY HISTOEY. 

of the Buffalo Chamber of Commerce, holds life memberships 
in the Fine Arts Academy and the Young Men's Association, 
and is a member of the Buffalo, Bllicott and Country Clubs, and 
of the Hardware Club of New York City. In 1870 Mr. Weed 
married Miss Harriett Monteath, daughter of William and 
Rhoda Monteath of Buffalo. Mr. and Mrs. Weed have three 
children, Emily M., Shelton and Walter Irving Weed. 

GEOEGE E. HOWARD is one of Buffalo's leading capital- 
ists, who aside from his connection with financial affairs and 
his management of numerous and important vested interests, is 
prominent in the social and philanthropic life of the city and 
supports notable responsibilities relating to organized benevo- 
lence and to other institutions having the public well-being for 
their aim. Mr. Howiard's father, George Howard, was born in 
Charlotte, Chittenden County, Vermont, June 25, 1810, and was 
a descendant of English parents who came to America in the 
17th century. His father, John Howard, was a tanner, and 
also carried on the business of farming. The wife of John 
Howard was Electa Penfield. 

In boyhood George Howard attended school in winter and 
worked on the farm and in his father's tannery summers. His 
schooling ended when he was thirteen years old. When young 
Howard was eighteen, his father met with business disaster 
that resulted in the loss of nearly all his property, and caused 
him to decide to leave Vermont. John Howard obtained an 
"article" entitling him to 115 acres of forest land, a few miles 
from Westfield, in Chautauqua County, N. Y. With one son he 
came to Western New York in 1828, and settled on the pur- 
chase. In two or three years the father and his sons cleared 
about 100 acres and began to cultivate the farm. In 1831 
George Howard came to Buffalo and shipped before the mast at 
$12 per month. The next year he agreed to work at Westfield 
in the tannery of Aaron Rumsey for 15 months, for flOO. Six 
months later he came to Buffalo as foreman in Mr. Rumsey's 





(k^^iTlfJ^X, 




MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 57 

Buffalo tannery at a salary of |280 a year with board. By the 
closest economy he lived for two years on |80 a year, thus 
saving |200 annually, and the third year his salary was 
increased, his savings for the whole time amounting to |700. 
At that period this was a considerable cash capital, and it was 
the corner stone of the large financial structure he afterward 
reared. After the failure of Mr. Rumsey, Mr. Howard leased 
the tannery, which he managed for six months. In 1837 he 
formed a partnership with his former employer, under the 
firm name of Rumsey & Howard. Four years later, Aaron 
Rumsey was succeeded by Payette Rumsey, with whom Mr. 
Howard continued two years. In 1844 Mr. Howard and Myron 
P. Bush entered into partnership in the tannery business, the 
firm style being Bush & Howard. A tannery was built in 
Chicago street, the concern doing a business of from |20,000 to 
130,000 a year, which increased to from |700,000 to |800,000 
annually. Messrs. Bush & Howard continued in partnership 
for thirty-five years. In time their sons succeeded to the busi- 
ness, which was carried on in the old firm name, Besides his 
tannery enterprise, Mr. Howard engaged in other lines of 
business and was a trustee of the Buffalo Gaslight Company, 
and the Buffalo Savings Bank. 

In politics Mr. Howard was originally a Jackson Democrat. 
Later he became a Whig, and then a Republican. Mr. Howard 
was President of the Buffalo Cemetery Association, and served 
as a trustee of that body to the time of his death. The impos- 
ing and attractive features of Forest Lawn Cemetery are 
largely due to his fine taste and sound judgment. In the 
Buffalo General Hospital and the Buffalo Orphan Asylum he 
was actively interested, serving as the president of the execu- 
tive boards of both institutions. To these charities he con- 
tributed liberally, on one occasion giving |5,000 to each. He 
was also a trustee of the State Insane Asylum. He was a 
member and trustee of Westminster Presbyterian Church, 
President of the Falconwood Club and a member of the Young 



58 MEMOEIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Men's Association, tlie Fine Arts Academy, the Buffalo Histori- 
cal Society, and the Society of Natural Sciences. Among his 
many gifts to the cause of education should be mentioned his 
contribution of |5,000 to Hamilton College. He was one of the 
chief supporters of the Young Men's Association, in one 
instance contributing |5,000 in its aid. 

In 1835 Mr. Howard married Miss Ellen Martin, of Warsaw, 
N. Y. The issue of this marriage was one daughter, who died 
in infancy. Mrs. Howard died in 1846. In November, 1848, 
Mr. Howard married Louise Corley, of Ithaca, N. Y., who died 
March 28, 1851. On the 9th of November, 1852, Mr. Howard 
married Amelia Flagler, of Lockport, N. Y. The children of 
this union were Frank King Howard, born April 21, 1854; 
Anna Maria Howard, born February 6, 1856, died August 26, 
1879; Nellie Louise Howard, born Seiitember 20, 1859, and died 
in infancy, and George Eumsey Howard. Though a business 
man of strenuous activity, Mr. Howard knew how to enjoy 
recreation. At one period of his life he made an extended 
foreign tour, visiting all important points in England and on 
the Continent. Among his favorite (Jiversions were yachting 
and lake fishing. He was a noted yachtsman, being the owner 
of the famous steam yacht "Orizaba," which after Mr. 
Howard's death was purchased by the late Dexter P. 
Rumsey. 

The death of Mr. Howard occurred on the 30th of August, 
1888, and was the occasion of widespread and deep regret, both 
of friends and the public. His death came closely home to the 
people because he was in an unusual degree a representative 
American — a type of the man who begins life under disad- 
vantages, who struggles with courage and resourcefulness 
against grave handicaps, who wins success by his own abilities, 
but who preserves his warmth of heart and his charity for those 
less fortunate than himself. Mr. Howard had the respect and 
admiration of the entire community. He was a generous giver, 
a true friend, a considerate employer whose subordinates knew 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 59 

that he kept their interests in constant view, a devoted husband 
and father, and a lover of right and justice. 

GEOEGE EUMSEY HOWARD, the second son of Geqrge 
Howard, was born in Buffalo May 27th, 1861. After completing 
his education at the Buffalo Classical School, he gained his 
first business experience as a clerk in the tannery firm of Bush 
& Howard, later becoming a partner in that enterprise and 
continuing in this connection for four years after his father's 
death. In 1890 Mr. Howard disposed of his share in the 
concern and since then has been engaged in the field of finance 
and in the management of various large vested interests, hav- 
ing his office in the Erie County Bank Building. Mr. Howard is 
a trustee of the Erie County Savings Bank and a director of 
the Cary Safe Company. He is. a capitalist of solid and 
extensive resources. Distinctively a strong man of affairs, Mr, 
Howard has the advantage of wide experience and the prestige 
which attaches to a business career unmarred by errors of 
judgment and signalized by the prosperous outcome of a great 
variety of undertakings. The social and other connections of 
Mr. Howard are many and important. He is a member of the 
Country, Ellicott and Park Clubs, and has served for many 
years as a director of the Y. M. C. A., and a trustee of the ' 
Westminster Presbyterian Church and the Buffalo General 
Hospital. He is also a director of the Provident Loan Associ- 
ation, trustee of the Christian Homestead, and trustee of 
Forest Lawn. 

October 3, 1882, Mr. Howard married Miss Griffin, a daughter 
of the late John B. Griffin. They have three daughters. 

Mr. Howard is an accomplished man of the world, practical, 
thoroughly in accord with the spirit of the times, and having a 
keen appreciation of the refinements and amenities of life. He 
resides in a pa,latial home on Delaware avenue, and in the 
domestic circle finds needed relief from the urgencies of busi- 
ness duties. As financier and citizen his standing leaves 



60 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTOKY. 



nothing to be wished, and he may be appropriately character: 
ized as one of those deserving men who, in the prime of their 
days, have attained tlie consummated results Avhich are, as a 
rule, only to be looked for with advanced years. 



JAMBS PLATT WHITE, M.D., was born in Austerlitz, 
Columbia County, N. Y., March 14, 1811. He was a direct 

descendant of Peregrine 
White, the first male 
child born in Plymoutli 
Colony. His grandfather 
was a soldier of the Eevo- 
lution, and his father, 
David Pierson White, 
served in the War of 1812. 
In 1816 the parents of 
James Piatt White set- 
tled in East Hamburg, 
Erie County, N. Y. The 
son acquired an English 
and classical education 
and began the study of 
law, but soon abandoned 
it for medicine. He at- 
tended medical lectures 
at Fairfield, N. Y., and 
later Jefferson Medical 
College, graduating in 1834. During the cholera epidemic 
of 1832, Dr. White, then a medical student, came into 
notice by his creditable services at Black Eock. In 
1835 he began practice in Buffalo, and for the next 
ten, years devoted himself largely to surgery. Later he 
abandoned general surgery and made a specialty of 
gynaecology, in which he was an expert. Dr. White was one of 
the founders of Buffalo Medical College, being appointed to the 




DK. JAMES PLATT WHITE. 



MBMOKIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 61 

chair of Obstetrics and Gynaecology in 1846. A man of 
inventive genius, he added to the scientific resources of his 
profession, and had to endure persecution on this account. His 
reputation far exceeded local limits, and many patients came 
from great distances to avail themselves of his skill. He was 
a voluminous contributor to medical and surgical literature, 
and assisted in the establishment of the Buffalo Medical 
Journal. 

Dr. White was President, Secretary and Librarian of the 
Erie County Medical Society, President and Vice-President of 
the New York State Medical Society, President and one of the 
founders of the Buffalo Medical Association, and corresponding 
secretary and later honorary Fellow of the New York Academy 
of Medicine. He was one of the chief factors in bringing the 
Buffalo State Hospital to Buffalo, served as manager and 
President of that institution, was one of the founders of the 
Buffalo General Hospital, and was the coadjutor of Bishop 
Timon in establishing the Buffalo Hospital of the Sisters of 
Charity, the Maternity and Foundling Hospital and the Provi- 
dence Insane Asylum. During the Civil War he was Govern- 
ment Medical Inspector of Military Hospitals in the West and 
Southwest. In 1876 he was one of the Vice-Presidents of the 
Medical Congress at Philadelphia, and in 1877 was elected First 
Vice-President of the National Medical Association. He was a 
member of the Protestant Episcopal Church, President of the 
Board of Managers of the Church Charity Foundation and one 
of the founders of the Buffalo Historical Society, the Young 
Men's Association and the Academy of Fine Arts. He was 
active in the development of Buffalo's park system, and toward 
the close of his life he erected the White Building, in that city. 

In 1836 Dr. White married Mary Elizabeth Penfield, daughter 
of Henry F. Penfield, of Penfield, N. Y. The death of Dr. White 
occurred September 28, 1881. His widow survived him less 
than four months. 



62 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTOEY. 



JAMES PENFIELD WHITE was born in Hamburg, Erie 
County, N. Y., July 6, 1844, being tlie son of James and Mary 
(White) Bo wen. The father of James Penfleld White dying 
before the latter's birth, the boy was adopted by the maternal 
uncle, Dr. James P. White, and was educated at Walnut Hill 
School. His foster father intended him to study medicine, but 
partial failure of the young man's eyes compelled the abandon- 
ment of this plan. Dur- 
ing his early manhood 
Mr. White engaged for 
ten years in the litho- 
graphing business in 
Buffalo, later having the 
care of Dr. White's estate, 
whose management con- 
tinued to devolve upon 
him for the rest of his life, 
and the White Block was 
built under his direction. 
Mr. White was a promi- 
nent member of the 
National Guard, and for 
several years served on 
the staff of Gen. Howard. 
In politics, he was an in- 
dependent Democrat. 
He was a member of 
Trinity Church, was for some years its Treasurer, and served 
on- the Board of Managers of the Church Home. He was a 
leading member of the Buffalo Club, and enjoyed an enviable 
social position. 

September 24, 1872, Mr. White married Mary Anna Dobbins, 
daughter of Capt. DaAid P. and Mary (Richards) Dobbins of 
Buffalo. He died August 10, 1894, being survived by his widoAV 
and two sons, Seymour Penfleld and James Piatt White. 




JAMES PENITELD WHITE. 



MEMOKIAL AND FAMILY HISTOEY. 63 

Mr. White was a man of distinguished appearance, being one 
of those men whose presence commands respect. Of courteous 
manners and kindly disposition, he won friends without effort 
and retained them by the influence of a character in which 
amiability and trustworthiness were happily blended. 

SEYMOUR PENB^IELD WHITE, elder of the sons of James 
Penfield White, was born in Buffalo August 2, 1873. He 
received a good education and had just taken his final 
examination for Yale when he was compelled by the death of 
his father to forego a full University course. Leaving his 
studies, he assumed full charge of the affairs of the White 
estate, taking personal control of the erection of the White 
Building. He is a trustee of the Buffalo Savings Bank and is a 
man of strong executive ability and sound business principles. 

As a National Guardsman, Mr. White has a highly creditable 
record. Entering the 65th Regiment as Second Lieutenant, he 
rose to the rank of Captain, and was a member of Governor 
Odell's staff. During the Spanish-American War he partici- 
pated in active service with his regiment at Camp Alger. In 
1905 Mr. White, on account of pressure of business, resigned 
from his regiment. During his period of service with the 65th, 
he was for a number of years Inspector of Rifle Practice, being 
himself an expert marksman. He is also a lover of sports and 
a well-known clubman, being a member and Treasurer of the 
Saturn Club, a member of the Country Club and President of 
the Buffalo Automobile Club. 

May 26, 1898, Mr. White married Annie Dunbar, daughter of 
George H. Dunbar, of Buffalo. They have two children, Marion 
and Emily. i 

JAMES PLATT WHITEj second son of James Penfield 
White, was born in Buffalo December 22, 1878. He was 
educated at Harvard and was one of the editors of the Harvard 
Monthly, winning for himself a high place in college jourualism. 



64 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTOKY. 

Mr. White is a man of brilliant qualities, of intellectual tastes, 
and a linguist of unusual acquirements. He is devoting himself 
to a literary career, being well-known in the field of dramatic 
literature. 

RT. REV. JOHN TIMON, D.D. That brilliant intellectual 
gifts may be dedicated to the highest and holiest uses is a truth 
which has been exemplified within the memory of many living 
BufEalonians by the career of the late Rt. Rev. John Timon, 
D.D., first Bishop of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Buffalo. 

Bishop Timon was the son of James and Margaret (Leddy) 
Timon, natives of Ireland, who came to this country and 
settled at Conevago, Adams County, Pa., where John Timon, 
afterward Bishop Timon, was born February 12, 1797. In 1802 
the family removed to Baltimore, Md., where the father opened 
a dry-goods store in which the son served as clerk. In 1818 the 
senior Timon removed with his family to Louisville, Ky., where 
for a short time he resumed business, in 1819 going to St. Louis, 
where he conducted a dry-goods establishment till 1823. In 1823. 
the subject of this sketch joined the community of Lazarists, and 
the next two years he spent in study at the seminary of St. 
Mary's, at Barrens, Mo. In 1824 he was ordained sub-deacon, 
and in 1825 was ordained to the priesthood. For a number of 
years he was professor at the Barrens seminary and served as 
a missionary in the neighboring counties. Meantime he joined 
the order of St. Vincent de Paul. 

In 1835 Father Timon was appointed Visitor by the General 
Assembly of the Congregation of Missions at Paris. He served 
in this capacity till 1840, when he was appointed Prefect 
Apostolic of Texas, which of&ce he filled for seven years. Sep- 
tember 5, 1847, he received his bulls as Bishop of the new 
Diocese of Buffalo, and on October 17 of the same year was 
consecrated in that office. He assumed the duties of his new 
position October 22, 1847. Bishop Timon's field of labors 
comprised all of the State of New York west of Cayuga, Tomp- 



MEMOUIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 65 

kins and Tioga counties. The December after his installation 
he consecrated St. Louis' Church, and this event was the 
precursor of others of kindred character, so numerous that 
they can here be indicated only in outline. Throughout his 
large field Bishop Timon founded churches, missions and 
educational and benevolent institutions. It was he who intro- 
duced into Buffalo Diocese the Franciscan Fathers, the 
Brothers of the Holy Infancy of Jesus, the Christian Brothers, 
the Sisters of Charity, the Sisters of St. Joseph and the Nuns 
of the Society of the Good Shepherd. ' 

Bishop Timon was characterized by great fervor, power and 
effectiveness as a preacher. He was the spiritual father of his 
flock, profound in his knowledge of human nature, charitable in 
his judgments, broad in his beneficence and tender in his 
sympathy. A scholar and a man abreast of the best thought 
and culture of his day, Bishop Timon's intellectual powers 
were broadened by wide knowledge of men and affairs. He 
traveled extensively and several times visited Kome. 

The death of Bishop Timon occurred on April 16, 1867. 

POKTER NORTON. This distinguished lawyer and citizen 
has all his life been a resident of Buffalo and for more than 
thirty years has practiced his profession in this city. 

Mr. Norton comes of an ancestry prominent in Colonial 
affairs and in the Eevolutionary period. In the records of the 
New York State Society, Sons of the American Revolution, his 
descent is given as follows : " Son of Charles D. Norton and 
Jeanette Phelps; grandson of Joseph E. Norton and Lucretia 
Huntington; great-grandson of Joseph Huntington and 
Elizabeth Hale; great-grandson (2d) of Capt. Jonathan Hale, 
great (3) grandson of Jonathan Hale and Sarah Talcott, great- 
grandson (4) of Samuel Hale and Mary Wells, great-grandson 
(5) of Samuel Hale (1st), who came to Watertown, Mass., in 
1852 and moved to Connecticut. The Samuels were both 
soldiers and honored civil officers of their day." 



66 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

CHARLES DAVIS ISIORTON, father of the subject of this 
sketch, was identified with the highest wallis of the legal pro- 
fession of Western New York. Notable as an example of the 
scholarly type of lawyer, the elder Norton was also an eminent 
advocate and a powerful orator both in forensic and other 
fields. Few men of his time were of similar prominence in the 
civil administration and the social life of Erie County. 

Charles Davis Norton was born at Hartford, Connecticut, 
November 20th, 1820. He was the son of Joseph G. Norton, a 
well-known shipping merchant of Hartford. The mother of 
Charles D. Norton was Lucretia (Huntington) Norton, daughter 
of Dr. Joseph Huntington, a Congregationalist minister of 
Coventry, Conn., and niece of Samuel Huntington, Governor of 
Connecticut and one of the signers of the Declaration of Inde- 
pendence. A brother of Mrs. Norton was Samuel Huntington, 
who became second Governor of Ohio and afterward Chief 
Justice of that State. In 1827 Charles D. Norton accompanied 
his family to Black Rock, where his father engaged in the dry- 
goods business with Judah Bliss. Three years afterward the 
family removed to Buffalo, where Joseph G. Norton died in 
1844. Charles D. Norton was prepared for college under 
private tutors and schools, and graduated from Union College 
with honors in 1840. In 1839 he entered the law office of 
Horatio Shumway, with whom he continued his legal studies 
until 1841. In October, 1842, he sailed for B'lorida, seeking 
rest and a mild«r climate. He returned to Buffalo in 1843, and 
resuming his law studies was admitted to .the bar that year. 

Mr. Norton was an ardent Whig. He earnestly espoused the 
Presidential candidacy of Clay. His power and eloquence on 
the rostrum were among the noteworthy facts of his time and 
continue to be living traditions in our day. 

I© 1849 Mr. Norton was elected City Attorney of Buffalo. In 
1851 he was elected Surrogate of Erie County. In 1865 Presi- 
dent Johnson appointed Mr. Norton Collector of Customs for 
the port of Buffalo, an honor which fell to him without solici- 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 67 

tation and wholly in recognition of Ms fitness for the place, 
and he continued to fill the position until his death, April 11, 
1867. 

Mr. Norton was one of the most active members of the Young 
Men's Association, and in 1851 was chosen its President. 
Among its founders, he was also the first Recording Secretary 
of the Buffalo Historical Society. 

The wife of Mr. Norton was Jeanette Phelps, whom he 
married in October, 1851, and who was a daughter of Oliver 
Phelps, of Canandaigua, N. •¥. Two sons. Porter and Charles, 
were the issue of the union. 

Porter Norton was born in Buffalo, on the 9th of July, 1854. 
His elementary education was received in private schools. 
Later he graduated from Prof. Briggs' Classical School. After 
leaving school he entered the employment of Martin Taylor, a 
well-known book dealer. At the age of seventeen he became a 
law student in the oifice of E. Carlton Sprague and George 
Gorham. In 1875 Mr. Norton was admitted to the bar, shortly 
after he assumed the position of managing clerk in the offices 
of the Hon. Loran L. Lewis and William H. Gurney. With the 
firm of Lewis & Gurney he remained from two to three years, 
and then began practicing alone. Early in 1880 he formed ao 
association with Henry W. Box, under the firm style of Box 
& Norton. With changes in the personnel, this connection 
continued until 1891, the successors of the firm of Box & Norton 
being Box, Hatch & Norton, and Box, Norton & Bushnell. In 
the summer of 1891 Mr, Norton formed with Thomas Penney 
and Charles B. Sears the still existing copartnership of Norton, 
Penney & Sears. 

As a lawyer Mr. Norton is at once erudite and practical. 
Since 1901 he has acted as counsel for the Bell Telephone 
Company of Buffalo. His present firm and its predecessors 
have for more than twenty-five years been counsel for the Inter- 
national Railway Company, Mr. Norton being the only lawyer 
who has served continuously as the Company's counsel during 



68 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

that period. Messrs. Norton, Penney & Sears are also local 
counsel for various leading corporations, industrial and 
otherwise. 

Mr. Norton is a director of the Crosstown Street Railway, the 
Bell Telephone Company of Buffalo and the Niagara Falls 
Electric Railway. He is a director of the Fresh Air Mission, a 
Trustee of De Veaux College of Niagara Falls, a member of 
New York State Chapter, Sons of the American Revolution, and 
of the Society of Colonial Wars. He also belongs to the Buffalo, 
Ellicott and Country Clubs, and » is a vestryman of Trinity 
Church. 

On the 9th of July, 1878, Mr. Norton married Miss Jennie H. 
Watson, a daughter of the late S. V. R. Watson and Charlotte 
A. (Sherman) Watson of Buffalo. The children are: Porter 
Huntington Norton and Gertrude V. D. Norton. 

THE JEWETT FAMILY, for many years one of the 
representative families of Buffalo, belong to a race which traces 
its lineage to the days of the Puritan settlement of Massachu- 
setts, and to the latter years of the reign of Queen Elizabeth. 
Patriotism has been a marked characteristic of the family, and 
from the period of the Colonial Wars, down through the 
Revolution to the present time, bearers of the name have, by 
reason of military ser^dces, deserved well of their country. 
William Jewett, eldest son of Edward of Bradford, England, 
was the father of Joseph Jewett, who, with his uncles, 
Maximilian and Joseph, came to America from Rowley in 
Yorkshire, England, landing in Boston on the 1st day of 
December, 1638. They settled in Massachusetts Colony and 
were the founders of Rowley, Mass. Joseph, son of Joseph, had 
a son, Capt. Nathan Jewett, who had a son, Capt. Joseph 
Jewett, who was a hero of the Revolution. After the siege of 
Boston, Capt. Jewett and his troops accompanied Gen. Wash- 
ington to New York, where he took part in the battle of Long 
Island. During the engagement. Col. Huntington's force was 



MEMOEIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 69 

surrounded by the British, and Capt. Jewett received bayonet 
wounds which he survived only two days, his death occurring 
on the 29th of August, 1776. 

Josiah Jewett, son of Capt. Joseph, was born in Lyme, Conn., 
and removed to Moravia, Cayuga County, N. Y., in 1814. 

The first wife of Deacon Jewett was Elizabeth Smith, of 
Durham, Middlesex County, Conn. Their children were: David 
Parsons, George Washington, David Parsons, Eliza Smith, 
Martha, Josiah Parsons, Samuel Parsons, Clarissa, and 
Guernsey. The second wife of Deacon Josiah Jewett was 
Sophia Skinner, daughter of Cotton and Prudence Skinner of 
Moravia, N. Y., formerly of East Hartford, Conn. The children 
were: Sherman Skinner, John Cotton, Joseph, Caroline Matilda, 
Charles Carroll, and James Harvey. 

SHERMAN S. JEWETT was born at Moravia, N. Y., January 
17, 1818. His early life was passed on his father's farm, 
attending district school in the winters-. In 1834 he came to 
Buffalo, where his uncle, Isaac Watts Skinner, owned a small 
foundry, and with him Mr. Jewett learned the moulder's trade, 
also attending Silas Kingsley's High School one term. 

In 1836 Mr. Jewett formed a co-partnership in the foundry 
business with Franklin Day and Francis H. Root, under the 
name of Day, Root & Co., and a few years later a new firm was 
organized, composed of Thomas J. Dudley and S. S. Jewett. 
After two years Mr. Dudley withdrew and the business was 
continued by Mr. Jewett alone until 1843, when Mr. Jewett and 
Francis H. Root formed the firm of Jewett & Root, which con- 
tinued for thirty-five years. In 1878 the widely known house 
of Sherman S. Jewett & Co. was formed, composed of Sherman 
S., Henry C, and Josiah Jewett. The Bank of Buffalo owes its 
origin to Mr. Jewett and his friends, and he was President of 
that institution from its beginning until 1892. He was one of 
the originators of the Manufacturers' and Traders' Bank, a 
director of it for over thirty years and of the Marine Bank for 



70 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

more than twenty years. He was a director of the Columbia 
National Bank from the time of its foundation until his death 
and was also a director of the Bank of Niagara Falls. Mr. 
Jewett was one of the earliest promoters of the Buffalo, New 
York & Philadelphia Kailroad, and a director from 1867 to 1881. 
In 1867 he was called to the presidency. His management of 
this property was so skillful that the stockholders were repaid 
every dollar of capital and the $700,000 of bonds held by the 
city of Buffalo were sold at par. Mr. Jewett was an, originator 
of the Buffalo Mutual Insurance Co., which had a most success- 
ful career, until it was compelled to retire, owing to losses 
sustained in the Chicago fire of 1871. Then the three principal 
insurance companies of Buffalo, the Western, the Buffalo City 
and the Buffalo Fire and Marine, were forced into bankruptcy 
and Mr. Jewett was appointed assignee of all. This was one 
of the most important works of his life, and he discharged it 
with admirable fidelity and success. 

Mr. Jewett's liberality was notably seen in his relations with 
the Young Men's Association, the Public Library and the 
Iroquois Hotel properties. In 1863 a meeting of nine gentlemen 
was held to discuss the project of buying St. James Hall and 
St. James Hotel to improve the facilities of the Association, and 
Mr. Jewett subscribed |3,000. He headed the list of subscrip- 
tions for the erection of the present fireproof Library building 
and was one of the founders of the Buffalo Fine Arts Academy, 
which he endowed with a permanent fund of fl0,000, now 
known as the Jewett I"'und. Mr. Jewett served as Curator of 
the Academy for eight years and. was its President in 1865. 
Rochester University profited by his benevolence, and he did 
his full share toward the establishment and development of 
Forest Lawn Cemetery. 

Mt. Jewett was one of the original members of the Republican 
party and a stanch supporter of President Lincoln and the 
Union cause. He was elected to the Buffalo Common Council 
in 1845 and served during that year, 1846 and 1849, being also 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTOEY. 71 

several times chosen Mayor pro tern. During his term of office 
occurred the fight between the advocates of the Ohio Basin and 
the Erie Basin. Mr. Jev^^ett took the position that the city 
needed both, and through his influence this course was 
a;d6pted;to the vast benefit of the city of BufEalo. In 1878 Mr. 
Jewett received the Eepublican nomination for Representative 
in Congress, but owing to poor health he declined this 
unsolicited and unanimous honor. In 1880 he was elected 
Eepublican Presidential Elector. 

Mr. Jewett was one of the founders and a director of the 
Buffalo Club, served as its President in 1874, and was also one 
of the organizers and the first President of the Falconwood 
Club. He was appointed a Park Commissioner in 1871, was 
President of the Board from 1879 until a few years ago. He 
was a strong believer in and supporter of the Christian religion, 
and among the Biiffalo churches which benefited by his helping 
hand were the Washington street Baptist Church, the Prospect 
avenue Baptist Church, the Delaware avenue Baptist Church, 
and some churches of other denominations. . 

August 14, 1839 Mr. Jewett married Deborah Dusenbury of 
Buffalo. Their surviving children are Henry Clay Jewett, 
Josiah Jewett, Emma Alice Jewett (Mrs. Charles H. Williams) 
and Jennie Matilda Jewett (Mrs. Henry C. Howard). 

The death of Sherman S. Jewett occurred February 28, 1897. 

JOHN COTTON JEWETT, who died at Los Angeles, Cali- 
fornia, on the 18th of February, 1904, was one of the most 
distinguished of the pioneers of. industrial Buffalo. 

He was born in Moravia, Cayuga County, N. Y., February 
2nd, 1820., In his boyhood John C. Jewett led the life of a 
typical, farmer's lad.. When about seventeen years old, he went 
to Ann Arbor, Mich., where his. brother Samuel was engaged 
in mercantile business. Entering his brother's store, young 
Jewett showed such talent for his occupation that he was soon 
made a partner. 



72 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

February 2, 1843, Mr. Jewett married Priscilla Boardman of 
Ann Arbor. At the time of her marriage Miss Boardman was 
only in her seventeenth year. Her strong, womanly character 
was, however, clearly manifest. She was a woman of noble 
Christian attributes and of unusual mental powers. The chil- 
dren of this marriage were: Edgar Boardman, Carrie Amelia, 
Matilda Caroline, Ella, Frederick Arthur, and Mabel. 

Mr. Jewett later removed from Ann Arbor to Albion, Mich., 
where he conducted a mercantile business. In 1849 he came to 
Buffalo, beginning with a small manufacturing concern, which 
steadily grew to be one of the great manufacturing industries 
of the land. Today the John C. Jewett Manufacturing Com- 
pany sends refrigerators to every section of the United States 
and to many foreign countries; For forty years, dating from 
the inauguration of his first factory in Buffalo, the history of 
John C. Jewett was the history of the immense industry he had 
reared. His efforts were ably seconded by his sons, Edgar B. 
and Frederick A. Jewett, and by his son-in-law, Eisley Tucker. 

GEN. EDGAR B. JEWETT, ex-Mayor and ex-Police Commis- 
sioner of Buffalo and head of the John C. Jewett Manufacturing 
Company, enjoys the triple distinction of military, civic and 
business achievements of a very high order. As a soldier. Gen. 
Jewett has a brilliant record of service and promotion. Elected 
Mayor of Buffalo by the largest majority up to that time ever 
given a candidate for the office, he proved the power of a strong 
personality in municipal affairs. His administration was char- 
acterized by the large number of difficult and important ques- 
tions that arose and by the able way they were met. 

Edgar Boardman Jewett was born at Ann Arbor, Mich., 
December 14, 1843. While still a child he came to Buffalo with 
his parents and was educated in the public schools of that city. 
In 1860 he entered the John C. Jewett establishment. A year 
later the Civil W^ar broke out, and he enlisted as a private in 
Company C, 74th Regiment N. G. S. N. Y. In May, 1863, he 




G^^ajyA.-^<d^<C^UAJ- 




MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 73 

was elected Sergeant, and held that rank during the period, 
following Lee's invasion of Pennsylvania, from June to August 
of the same year. In the campaign immediately succeeding the 
Confederate leader's famous attempt to gain a foothold on 
Northern soil, Sergeant Jewett participated, his services being 
highly creditable. Returning to Buffalo as First Sergeant 
June 29th, 1865, he was commissioned First Lieutenant; April 
3d, 1866, Captain; October 9th, 1870, Inspector of the 14th 
Brigade; April 11th, 1877, Major; and was also appointed 
Inspector of Eifle Practice of the 31st Brigade. October 25, 
1880, he was appointed Lieutenant Colonel and Chief of Staff 
of the 14th Brigade. March 29th, 1884, he was elected 
Brigadier General of the 8tli Brigade, serving until December 
7th, 1885, when he resigned to accept the position of President 
and General Manager of the John C. Jewett Manufacturing 
Company. 

March 1st, 1894, Mayor Bishop appointed him one of the 
Police Commissioners of Buffalo. In this capacity Gen. Jewett 
proved an able, interested and very popular oflftcial, and his 
record as Commissioner was one of the chief factors in his 
nomination by the Republicans of Buffalo for Mayor, an office 
to which he was elected in November, 1894, by nearly 10,000 
majority, the largest till then ever received by a candidate. 

By his very first veto Mayor Jewett prevented the awarding 
of the street-cleaning contracts to a few hitherto favored 
bidders, and in the Street Department alone saved the city 
over |24,000 by his insistence that contracts should be let to the 
lowest bidders. It was Mayor Jewett who introduced the plan 
of utilizing vacant land in Buffalo for the benefit of the poor. 
He carried the project through with signal success. Five hun- 
dred and seventy-eight families were thereby made self-sup- 
porting, and the municipality was relieved of the burden of 
their maintenance. Immediately after his accession to office, 
Mayor Jewett began the erection of school buildings, twelve 
of which were completed during his term, including the hand- 
some new Masten Park High School. A firm believer in Civil 



74 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

.Service Reform, Mayor Jewett, early in 1896, made a new classi- 
fication of all the city offices, a leading feature of the plan 
being a wide extension of the merit system. 

October 3, 1865, Gen. Jewett was married at Ann Arbor, 
Mich., to Elizabeth Poster Danforth of that city. Their children 
were: Maude, born January 8, 1868, died June 5, of the same 
year; George Danforth, born May 21, 1869, died August 21 of 
that year; John Edgar, born September 2, 1871; and Mabel, 
born February 19, 1877. 

PEEDEEICK A. JEWETT, who died on the 3d of April, 
1906, was Treasurer of the John C. Jewett Manufacturing 
Company. He was a man of high social position, of popular 
qualities, and one who made many friends. His views were 
enlarged by culture and travel, and he was an example of the 
best type of business man and citizen. 

Prederidk Arthur Jewett was the youngest son of John C. 
and Priscilla Boardman Jewett, and was born in Buffalo on 
the 10th of November, 1859. He was educated in the public 
schools of Buffalo and at De Veaux College, Niagara Falls. 
After completing his education, early in 1878, he entered the 
office of John C. Jewett & Son, the predecessors of the John C. 
Jewett Manufacturing Company. Three years later he became 
the Treasurer of the latter concern, and from that time onward 
continued to be prominently connected with the management 
of the business, filling the office of Treasurer to the time of his 
death. 

After five years of exceptionally close application to business, 
Mr. Jewett went abroad, traveling for nine months. This 
foreign journey was succeeded by others, Mr. Jewett becoming 
a tourist of unusual experience. 

June 30, 1891, Mr. Jewett married Anna Louisa James, 
daughter of Eobert W. James of Lockport, N. Y. He is sur- 
vived by his widow, and by two children, Robert and Catherine. 
He was a man of strong family affections, of genial and 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTOEY. 



75 



kindly social instincts and of lovable character. He was a 
member of tlie First Presbyterian Church, and the Buffalo and 
Country Clubs. 



JAMES N. MATTHEWS is a historic name in Buffalo 
journalism. Mr. Matthews was the founder of the modern 
, Buffalo Express. The word "founder" is used advisedly. It is 
true that the Express 
had been in existence be- 
fore Mr. Matthews 
became its head, but he 
did more than remodel the 
paper — he re-created it. 
He changed both policy 
and methods, tore down 
theold structure, built up 
anew from the founda- 
tions, and developed the 
great work of his life 
along original and pro- 
gressive lines. 

James Newton 
Matthews was born at 
Bungay, in the county of 
Suffolk, England, Novem- 
ber 21, 1828. At an early 
age he was apprenticed 
to the printing and book-binding business. Mr. Matthews 
came to this country and to Buffalo in 1846. Entering 
the employ of Jewett, Thomas & Co., publishers of 
the Buffalo Commercial Advertiser, he was made foreman of 
the office. In 184849 he was foreman of the Buffalo Repub- 
lican. He then established a printing office, and in 1850 was 
made foreman of the job printing office connected with the 
Buffalo Express. At the end of a year he was admitted to 




JAMES N". MATTHEWS. 



76 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

partnership, and under his progressive management Clapp, 
Matthews & Co. became known as the foremost railroad print- 
ing firm in the country. In 1860 Mr. Wheeler withdrew from 
the Express, and induced Mr. Matthews to leave the paper 
also, and in partnership with Mr. Wheeler and Mr. James D. 
Warren, to form the firm of Wheeler, Matthews & Warren, 
publishers of the Commercial Advertiser. In a short time Mr. 
Wheeler retired and the business was conducted under the style 
of Matthews & Warren, Mr. Matthews taking charge of the 
editorial management of the paper. ' Mr. Matthews made the 
Commercial a power in the community, and from the business 
standpoint the venture was also a brilliant success. 

In 1872 Messrs. Matthews & Warren bought a controlling 
interest in the Express. After a few months they sold the 
paper, but conducted both it and the Advertiser during the 
Presidential campaign of 1872 and the first year of Grant's 
second term. Mr. Matthews was identified with the Commercial 
Advertiser for fourteen years, retiring from that paper in 1877. 
At this time the Buffalo Express was at the ebb-tide of its 
fortunes, and it was clear that only by a master hand was 
retrieval possible. Mr. Matthews was persuaded to undertake 
the task. He acquired the ownership of the Express, and its 
first issue, under the new management, appeared on the 7th of 
January, 1878. The circulation and influence of the Express 
increased from the day it came into Mr. Matthews' hands, and 
his ability soon won for it a place in the front rank of the best 
daily newspapers of the State. A Sunday edition of the paper 
was first issued September 30, 1883, and this branch of the 
enterprise has become a brilliant example of illustrated jour- 
nalism. To the newspaper plant of the Express Mr. Matthews 
added an up-to-date job office, including the finest modern 
app'liances for designing, engraving, electrotyping and stereo- 
typing. The remainder of Mr. Matthews' career was princi- 
pally devoted to the upbuilding of the enterprise which he had 
initiated. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 77 

Botli in his editorial eajjacity and otherwise, Mr. Matthews 
was active in the affairs of the Republican party, and he served 
as a delegate to the Republican National Conventions of 1872 
and 1876. 

Mr. Matthews was a member of the Buffalo Historical 
Society, the Fine Arts Academy, the Society of Natural 
Sciences, the Young Men's Association, the Buffalo Club and 
other organizations. In religious faith he was an Episcopalian, 
and was a member of St. John's Church. 

July 24, 1851, Mr. Matthews married Harriet Wells, of West- 
field, N. Y. The children of the union were: George E. 
Matthews and Frances Amy Matthews, now Mrs. E. G. Boone, 
of Alassio, Italy. 

The death of James N. Matthews occurred December 20, 1888. 
Admired and loved as a man, valued as a citizen, his decease 
was an irreparable loss to the newspaper world and a severe 
blow to the community. 

GEORGE EDWARD MATTHEWS, editor of the Buffalo 
Express and head of the Matthews-Northrup Works, is one of 
the foremost newspaper men and publishers of the State. Mr. 
Matthews is possessed in eminent degree of the liberal-minded- 
ness belonging as a rule to men of his profession. He has seen 
much of life, is a keen judge of men and events, and from the 
spirit of the age has gained a philosophy of optimism. 

Mr. Matthews is a son of the late James N. Matthews, editor 
of the Buffalo Commercial Advertiser and later of the Buffalo 
Express, and was born in Westfield, Chautauqua County, N. Y., 
March 17, 1855. He attended private schools in Buffalo, and 
between the ages of sixteen and eighteen, divided his time be- 
tween travel and mastering the elements of the printing 
business. In the fall of 1873 he entered Yale College, from 
which he was graduated in 1877 with the degree of Bachelor of 
Arts. 

The year after Mr. Matthews left college his father became 



78 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



the editor and proprietor of the Buffalo Express, and George 
E. Matthews began his connection with that paper as a clerk 
in the business office. He rose by regular grades of promotion 
to places of increased responsibility, and for several years was 
business manager of the establishment. Meantime he served 
as telegraph and city editor, and for three years held the 
position of literary editor. He also acted as correspondence 

clerk for the firm of 
Matthews Brothers & 
Bryant, besides having 
charge of different de- 
partments of the house of 
Matthews, Northrup & 
Company, and serving as 
Treasurer of the latter 
concern. Prom 1888 until 
the present time he has 
been editor-in-chief of the 
Express and President of 
the Matthews-Northrup 
Comijany. As an editor 
Mr. Matthews is noted for 
fearlessness, independ- 
ence and opposition to 
rnachine politics. He is 
an active Republican, a 
strong supporter of his 
party, and wields a strong influence in public affairs. As a 
member of the McKinley Monument Commission he was among 
the foremost men in the promotion of the project which resulted 
in the erection of the memorial shaft to McKinley. 

Mr. Matthews served for several years as the President of 
the Buffalo Newspaper Publishers' Association, and of the 
Buffalo Typothetae. He is a member of the Buffalo, Country, 
University and EUicott Clubs, the Historical Society, Pine Arts 
Academy and many other societies. 




GE0E6E E. MATTHEWS. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 79. 

July 12, 188-7, Mr. Matthews married Mary Elizabeth 
Burrows of Buffalo. Their children are : George Matthews, Jr., 
born in 1888, Harriet Wills Matthews, born in 1889, and 
Burrows Matthews, born in 1893. 

JOHN DURE ANT LAEKIN. John D. Larkin is one of 
Buffalo's foremost business men. As President and founder 
of the Larkin Company, he has identified his. name with an 
industry of the first magnitude. It is an instance of what can 
be done by sagacity, persistence and pluck. It also exemplifies 
the value of integrity and honor in the business world. 
Throughout his career Mr. Larkin has been characterized by 
conscientiousness, and square dealing. Sound methods, 
superior products and honest prices are his watchwords as a 
manufacturer. As a producer and seller of staples of com- 
merce he has been thrown into close relations with the public. 
He knows the popular needs and the demands of the market, 
and has won his success by supplying them in the right way. 
Appreciating the economic worth of sales direct from the 
factory to the family, he has always fostered that idea. The 
great enterprise which he directs is an important factor in 
household savings and personal thrift, by furnishing daily 
living necessities of high standard quality at one-half of retail 
prices. Understanding this, the people have rewarded him by 
immense patronage and gratifying confidence. The Larkin 
concern is not only of representative standing in industrial 
circles, but has a popular character distinctly its own. By 
knowing what Mr. Larkin has accomplished, one may form a 
very fair idea of the man himself. He is a typical American 
of the enterprising and forceful kind, broad in his views and 
gifted with a keen eye for o])portunities. As the years have 
gone by he has extended his undertakings and is now connected 
with many large undertakings besides the business with which 
he was originally identified. He is a progressive citizen, well- 



80 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

known in the social world and active in general movements 
tending to the betterment of Buffalo. 

Mr. Larkin is of English descent. His father, Levi Henry 
Larkin, was the son of Henry Larkin, and was born in Eye, 
County of Sussex, in the South of Englaiid about 1816. When 
sixteen years old he came to America. In 1833 he settled in 
Buffalo. Here he entered the iron works operated by Deacon 
George H. Jones, learned the iron-working business, and later 
founded the Clinton Iron Works in Clinton street, on a site in 
the rear of the present Hotel Lafayette. There he continued 
to carry on an extensive business to the time of his death, 
making fancy iron staircases, fences, shutters and other 
articles. The works which he established are still in existence 
and are operated under the same name. 

Levi H. Larkin was a Whig in politics. He was a member of 
the old Volunteer Fire Department, belonging to Eagle Hose 
Company. When the old Eagle Tavern was burnt in 1849 he 
performed a notable act of courage, ascending the slippery roof 
to the belfry of the old Court-House in Washington street and 
smothering the fire that threatened to destroy the building. 

Mr. Larkin married Mary Ann Durrant, who was of English 
birth, though of French extraction. They had seven children, 
of whom John D. is the only survivor. Levi H. Larkin died in 
Buffalo in June, 1852. He was a successful man of affairs and a 
pioneer of the iron industry in Buffalo, and an esteemed 
citizen, universally respected for his sterling qualities of man- 
hood and public spirit. 

John Durrant Larkin was born in Buffalo on the 29th of 
September, 1845, in a dwelling which occupied a part of the 
present site of the Lafayette Hotel. He was educated at Public 
School No. 15, later taking a course in Bryant & Stratton's 
Business College. Left an orphan at the age of six years by the 
death of his father, both circumstances and early training 
inculcated in young Larkin the principle of relying on himself. 
When twelve years old he became a messenger and general 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 81 

utility boy in the employ of William H. Woodward, owner of a 
wholesale millinery store in Buffalo. Some years afterward he 
entered the establishment of his brother-in-law, Justus Weller, 
who was engaged in the soap business at 960 Seneca street. 
With him in 1870 he went to Chicago, where the two formed a 
partnership which continued until the spring of 1875, when Mr. 
Larkin sold out his interest and returned to Buffalo, where the 
same year he founded his present business, beginning the manu- 
facture of soap in a small factory in Chicago street. 

At the time he established his Buffalo enterprise, Mr. Larkin 
had had twelve years of experience in the business, of which he 
had gained a comprehensive knowledge. His ideas were 
advanced, and his coming to the Buffalo field marked a new 
departure in his branch of industry. The business grew 
rapidly, and in 1876 he bought a site on Seneca street and built 
a factory. In 1878 the firm of J. D. Larkin & Co. was organized. 
In December, 1899, the Larkin Company was incorporated, with 
a capital of |1,000,000, Mr. Larkin being President. The 
original plant has been continually modified by extensive 
additions and improvements, and today consists of many build- 
ings all connected with each other, containing fifty acres of 
floor space, and constitutes the largest fireproof manufactory 
in the world. The lighting plant would be capable of lighting 
thirty miles of Buffalo streets, or a city of 25,000 inhabitants. 
More than 100 tons of coal are consumed every 24 hours in 
generating this electricity for lighting the buildings, for heat- 
ing and manufacturing purposes. Two of the twelve great soap 
kettles used are the largest in the world, being thirty feet in 
diameter and forty feet deep,, with a capacity of a million and 
a half pounds each. A boiling from one of these kettles makes 
thirty car-loads of soap. Besides the manufacture of the 
famous Larkin Soaps, an important feature of the concern is 
the refining of glycerine and the making of superior toilet 
preparations and perfumes. Its laboratories for these special 
manufactures are among the largest and most noted in the 



82 MEMOEIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

world. A leading principle of the business is the "Larkin 
Idea"; namely, direct sale of soaps and food products from 
factory to family. The concern has an enormous household 
patronage, based on its sales to housewives of all goods they 
offer at a trifle more than maniifacturer's cost. The premiums 
offered in this connection are among the best ever put within 
the reach of the buying public. The Office Building enjoys the 
distinction of being the largest and most complete in the world. 
It will accommodate 1,800 employees. The furniture through- 
out is of steel, which is an absolute guarantee against Are. 
Besides being President of the Larkin Company, Mr. Larkin is 
President of the Buffalo Pottery,- Director in the Columbia and 
Central National Banks, and Trustee of the Commonwealth 
Trust Company. 

In politics Mr. Larkin is a Republican, but holds liberal 
views on local issues. Active in the charitable as well as the 
social life of the city, he is connected with several philanthropic 
institutions. He is a member of the Ellicott Club, the Country 
Club, the Manufacturers' Club, of which association he was 
elected the first President, serving for two terms, being re- 
elected unanimously. He belongs to the Prospect Avenue 
Baptist Church. He is notably a friend and helper of young 
men. Eising ability always finds in him a prompt and sympa- 
thetic appreciation. 

May 10, 1874, Mr. Larkin married, in Hudson, Illinois, Miss 
Frances H. Hubbard, daughter of Dr. Silas Hubbard, formerly 
of Buffalo, and a prominent physician and citizen. Mr. and 
Mrs. Larkin have five children: Charles H., Mrs. Prances L. 
Estey, John D., Jr., Harry H. and Euth E. Larkin. All the sons 
were educated at Lafayette College. 

THE GrEEENE FAMILY in America may be traced to the 
early Puritan settlement of Massachusetts. The first of the 
Greenes in this country was Samuel Greene, a native of Eng- 
land, who emigrated to America in 1632, settled in Boston, 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 83 

Mass., and died in 1702. One of Liis descendants was Isaiah 
Greene, a Quaker who settled in Kensington, N. H., and in 1768 
removed to Weare Center, N. H. Jeremiah, son of Isaiah, died 
in 1855. His son, Simon, was born in 1781, and died in 1860. 
Stephen S. Greene, son of Simon, was born April 20, 1807. In 
1827 he removed to Starksboro, Vt., and in 1828 married Lydia 
Chase. JOSEPH C. GEEENE, M.D., eldest son of Stephen S. 
Greene, was born in Lincoln, Vt., July 31, 1829, and was 
educated at a boarding school at Nine Partners, Dutchess 
County, N. Y., and Barre, Vt., Academy. He studied medicine 
under Dr. Hugh Taggart, at Hinesburg, Vt., attended Wood- 
stock and Castleton Medical Colleges, and in 1855 graduated 
from the Albany Medical College, later taking a polyclinic 
course in New York. Returning to Vermont in 1856, he prac- 
ticed for seven years at Charlotte, later coming to Buffalo, 
where he built up a large practice. In 1873 and 1874 he was 
District Physician to the Buffalo Board of Health, and in 1885 
he was elected to the Board of Aldermen. His interest in the 
cause of education led to his appointment as Chairman of the 
Committee on Schools, whereby he became ex-offlcio the head 
of the Buffalo School Department. His course as a municipal 
legislator was marked by soundness of judgment and close 
attention to duty. 

Dr. Greene was President of the fourth branch of the New 
York State Medical Association; President of the Erie County 
Medical Society; permanent member of the New York State 
Medical Society; President of the Buffalo Medical Union; 
President of the Buffalo Historical Society, and a member of 
the American Medical Association, the American Microscopical 
Society, the American Society for the Advancement of Science 
and the Buffalo Microscopical Club. He was a Knight Templar, 
a Mason of the 32d degree, Scottish Rite, and a member of the 
Acacia Club. He was deeply interested in the Young Men's 
Association and was a member of its Building Committee. 

In 1888-89 Dr. Greene made a tour of the world, and on his 



84 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

return presented a valuable collection of Oriental antiquities 
to the Buifalo Historical Society. 

Dr. Greene married September 21, 1856, Juliette Taggert, 
daughter of William and Ann Taggert of Vermont. Mrs. 
Greene died in Buffalo October 15, 1882. Their children were: 
Dewitt C. Greene, M.D., Anna Adelaide, who married Edward 
Andrews, and Julia Delphine, who married Frederick Bush 
Willard, M.D. November 26, 1891, Dr. Greene married his 
second wife, Mary Burrows Smith of Albion, N. Y. 

Dr. Greene was an able physician, possessed of remarkable 
skill in diagnosis, and was also a man of broad views, scholarly 
tastes and liberal culture. 

WALTEE D. GREENE, M.D., is the seventh son of Stephen 
S. and Lydia Chase Greene, and was born in Starksboro, Vt., 
April 20, 1853. The rudimentary education of Dr. Greene was 
gained in the district school of his native village. Later he 
had the advantages of a classical and scientific course in the 
Union Springs, N. Y., Seminary. His academic education being 
finished, he removed to Buffalo, where he entered the Medical 
Department of the University of Buffalo, graduating in 1876. 

For two years after his graduation. Dr. Greene was connected 
with the staff of the Rochester City Hospital as Junior 
Assistant Physician and House Physician. In 1878 he went to 
Mendon, Monroe County, where he practiced till 1880. In the 
fall of that year he returned to Buffalo, and opened an office, 
presently obtaining an extensive practice. In 1882 Dr. Greene 
became District Physician of the Buffalo Health Department. 
In December, 1896, he was appointed Deputy Health Officer. 
His efficient services won the favorable recognition of the 
public and the authorities, and on the 1st of January, 1902, he 
was appointed by Mayor Knight head of the city Health 
Department, serving unjtil 1907. 

Dr. Greene is a 33d degree Scottish Rite Mason. He is a 
member of the Acacia Club, the New York State Medical 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTOEY. 85 

Society, the Erie County Medical Society, the American Public 
Health Association, and the American Medical Association. 
He also belongs to the Buffalo Historical Society, the Buffalo 
Club, and the Whig Hall, the last named organization being 
connected with Princeton University, and being the second 
oldest literary body in the United States. 

November 28, 1878, Dr. Greene married Mary Pursel. The 
children of the union are: Frank S., who was born December 
17, 1880, and died in infancy, and Clayton W., who was born 
March 14, 1884. 

DEWITT CLINTON GREENE, M.D., son of Dr. Joseph C. 
and Juliette E. Taggert Greene, was born in Charlotte, Vt., 
July 30, 1857. In childhood he accompanied his family to 
Buffalo, where he has since resided. ' His education was 
obtained in the Buffalo Normal School and the Genesee 
Wesleyan Seminary at Lima, N. Y., and later he spent some 
time teaching school in his native town in Vermont. 

In 1883 Dr. Greene entered the Medical Departmient of the 
University of Buffalo, from which he was graduated on the 27th 
of February, 1883. Since that time he has supplemented his 
.medical and surgical training by devoting special attention to 
clinics at Vienna and Berlin. After obtaining his diploma as 
a physician, Dr. Greene began practicing his profession in 
Buffalo, being associated with his father till his death. Dr. 
Greene is a physician of superior training and accomplish- 
ments. He is representative of the present generation of 
medical men in that he is thoroughly abreast of the progress of 
modern science and of the developments of his profession in 
'recent years. He enjoys a large practice. 

Dr. Greene's politics -are Republican. He is a member of the 
New York State Medical Society, the Erie County Medical 
Society, of which, he is Treasurer, and several medical asso- 
ciations of Buffalo, also a member of the Buffalo Historical 
Society, and of the Delaware AA^enue Methodist Episcopal 
Church. 



86 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

June 10, 1885, Dr. Greene married Julia M. Gates of Medina, 
New York. 

Dr. Greene is very loyal to the traditions of his New England 
ancestry, and cherishes a warm affection for his native State of 
Vermont. In his personal characteristics he preserves many of 
the traits typical of New England, which find expression in his 
professional conscientiousness, the sound quality of his citizen- 
ship and his sterling ideas of rectitude. 

COL. CHAKLES E. WALBETDGE, founder of the well- 
known house of Walbridge & Co., represents a high type of 
American business character, citizenship and patriotism. 

The ancestors of Col. Walbridge were among the settlers of 
New England. Henry Walbridge lived in Norwich, Conn. In 
1760 he removed to Bennington, Vt. He was a member of the 
Committee of Public Safety, and with his three sons was 
engaged in the battle of Bennington. His wife, Anna Safford, 
was a granddaughter of Captain Samuel Robinson, the founder 
of Bennington. David, son of Henry and Anna Safford Wal- 
bridge, married Ruth Brush. About 1819 or 1820 the family 
removed to Byron, Genesee County, N. Y. Shortly afterward 
they came to Buffalo. Finally the family removed to Erie, Pa., 
where, in 1829, David Walbridge died. 

GEORGE BRUSH WALBRIDGE, son of David Walbridge, 
was born in Bennington, Vermont, September 14, 1814. About 
1830 he came to Buffalo and became a clerk in the wholesale 
grocery of Augustus Colson. In 1835 Col. Ira A. Blossom 
established him in the grocery business, himself becoming a 
special partner. Later Mr. Walbridge became the senior mem- 
ber of the firm of Walbridge & Haydeu. In 1849 Mr. Hayden 
retij-ed, and a new firm was organized under the style of George 
B. Walbridge & Company. In 1847 the store was destroyed by 
fire, but was rebuilt the next spring. Shortly afterward Mr. 
Walbridge sold his interest and retired. In the meantime 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTOKY. 87 

Mr. Walbridge had become interested in lake transportation. 
He built several sailing vessels and later purchased the 
steamers Tecumseh, Diamond and Fashion, forming, a regular 
line between Buffalo and Cleveland. Afterward Mr. Walbridge 
established a line of propellers between Buffalo and Grand 
Haven, Michigan, and also ran boats to Chicago, Milwaukee 
and other ports. 

In politics he was a Whig. In 1849 he was President of the 
Board of Trade, and was one of the original trustees of the 
Buffalo Female Academy. 

In January, 1836, Mr. Walbridge married Miss Wilhelmina 
C. L. Colson, daughter of the Rev. Karl Colson of Meadville, Pa. 
Of the children the following survive: Charles E., and Harry 
Walbridge of Buffalo; Mrs. Charles Warren Butler of Plain- 
field, N. J.; Mrs. Henry Woodley Musson of Kansas City; Mrs. 
Edward Potter Bowen of La Salle, N. Y. The second son, 
George B. Walbridge, Jr., died in March, 1880, at Plainfleld, 
N.J. 

Charles Eliphalet Walbridge was born in Buffalo July 24th, 
1841. He attended the public and old Central High School. At 
15 years of age he became a clerk with Pratt and Company, 
hardware dealers, until the breaking out of the Civil War; 

In September, 1861, at the organization of the 100th Regi- 
ment New York Volunteers, he was commissioned Second 
Lieutenant of Company H. The 100th bore a gallant part in 
the Peninsular Campaign under McClellan, in 1862 and 1863, 
took part in the operations on Folly and Morris Islands, and 
the siege of Fort Wagner. He was rapidly promoted to First 
Lieutenant, and then to Captain. He was assigned to staff 
duty and at different periods was detailed as regimental 
brigade, and division quai-termaster, and United States 
Quartermaster of Volunteers. For several months he was 
Chief Quartermaster of the district of Florida. In 1864 he was 
sent to Virginia, being made Dfepot Quartermaster for the 
Army of the James. At the close of 1864 he directed the ship- 



88 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

ment of the two famous expeditions against Fort Fisher. At 
the request of Gen. Terry, Major Walbridge, as he had been 
brevetted, was assigned to the former's stafE as Chief Quarter- 
master of the Tenth Army Corps, with the rank of Lieutenant- 
Colonel. His new position took him to North Carolina, where 
he remained on duty until he resigned from the service, October, 
1865. 

Returning to Buffalo in 1866 he re-entered the employ of 
Pratt & Co., this time as buyer. Here he remained until 
February, 1869, when he went into business on his own 
account, through the purchase of the old hardware concern of 
Hadley & Nichols, dealers in hardware and house furnishings. 
Under Mr. Walbridge's direction the business was improved 
and extended until, in 1873, a removal to the Sherman block on 
Washington street was justified. More extended business 
developments made another removal necessary, this time to a 
fine structure on the corner of Washington and South Division 
streets. In 1886 the long established business of Pratt & Com- 
pany was absorbed. 

In 1900, a change in commercial conditions made a corre- 
sponding change in the enterprise conducted by Mr. Walbridge 
desirable. Accordingly the fine and commodious structure now 
occupied at 392 to 394 Main Street was erected. Constituting 
the present firm of Walbridge & Co. with Col. Walbridge are 
his brother Harry, and the latter's son, Newman. 

From childhood Col. Walbridge has been connected with the 
North Presbyterian Church, and for many years a member and 
President of its Board of Trustees. He is President of the 
Buffalo Seminary, a trustee of the Buffalo Savings Bank, a 
Companion of the Military Order of the Loyal Legion, and a 
member of Bidwell-Wilkeson Post, No. 9, G. A. R. 

Col. Walbridge married in Brooklyn, N. Y., on September 3, 
1868, Annie F. Noble, daughter of Capt. James and Anne 
(Watson) Noble. Capt. Noble commanded a vessel in the 
British navy and was lost in the wreck of his ship in the China 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 89 

Sea. Five children were born of the union: Wilhelmina Von 
Colson (Mrs. Wilder S. Buffum) of Dobbs Ferry, N. Y.; Isabel E. 
and Louise H. Walbridge, both of Buffalo, and two sons who 
died in infancy. 

HON. T. GUILFORD SMITH. In the life of the Hon. T. 
Guilford Smith one finds the ideal American citizen realized to 
a large extent. He is indeed a man whose knowledge is broad, 
deep, and varied, and above all things so sensible that he is 
fitted to lead in whatever profession he could have chosen. 
His mind is one of that clearness which enables him to discern 
beyond the present, and it is this gift, combined with a keen and 
philosophical observation of men and events, which makes 
him the successful man of affairs. 

Of impressive appearance, scholarly bearing and with the 
breadth of culture born of extensive travel, together with his 
love of the beautiful in life, and a warm human interest in his 
fellow men, all unite in making him an example of the high 
type of development to be found in our commonwealth. He 
might be said to be in harmony with every desirable phase of 
life, and while possessing high ideals, he is no idle dreamer of 
dreams. System is the keynote of his existence, and it is largely 
due to this notable characteristic that he has been able to 
accomplish so much in so many different fields of work. In the 
advancement of the Arts and Sciences he has been a forceful 
mover, while his practical efforts for the betterment of the 
conditions of his fellow men have been such as to bear result 
in lasting benefits. He is a born organizer, and an able 
promoter for good. 

Family records and modern research, which have been 
exhaustively carried out, have established the fact that Dr. 
Smith can look back upon a most varied and cosmopolitan 
ancestry, and one that embraces not only the rigid Puritan, 
and the Roundhead, the Pilgrim sympathizer and the Cavalier, 
but the just-minded Quaker, the hardy, determined Welshman 



90 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

and the hearty resourceful native of the banks of the Ehine. 
On the paternal side, the direct Smith line of descent is from 
Ealph Smith of Norfolk, England, who settled on the shore of 
Massachusetts Bay in 1635 and whose grandson, also named 
Ealph, found the banks of the Delaware at Burlington, N. J., a 
more congenial place of residence about 1698. A generation 
later the family appeared in Philadelphia, in the person of the 
latter's son, Ealph, who married Margery Allen in Christ Church, 
Philadelphia, April 22, 1749, and who engaged in the transpor- 
tation, by water, of passengers and goods between Burlington, 
and Philadelphia. Thomas Smith, the son of Ealph, became a 
lumber merchant, and his son, Charles Eastwick Smith, was 
the grand-parent of Dr. Smith. It is interesting to note that 
through the marriages made by the Smiths of the several gener- 
ations a magnificent retrospect is apparent as the collateral 
lines are seen branched out upon the chart of the descents, 
some of which are carried back, by official evidence, to the 
period of the Norman conquest of England. Most of these 
branches have been revealed through Dr. Smith's interest in 
historic genealogical studies, and through his persistence in 
obtaining and directing, over many years, the most far-reaching 
and expert investigations. The results of these inquiries have 
already formed. several volumes of intense and graphic narra- 
tives. It can only be said on this page that among the 
American founders from whom descent has been proved on 
the paternal side, are Nathaniel Sylvester, 1652, Lord of the 
Manor of Shelter Island, whose wife was the daughter of the 
Honorable Thomas Brinley, Auditor of the Eevenues to Kings 
Charles I and II; James Lloyd at Boston, 1673, Lord of the 
Manor of Queen's Village, Long Island, the son of Sir John 
Lloyd of Bristol, England, and great-grandson of Dr. Lloyd, a 
physician to Queen Elizabeth; George Allen of Somersetshire, 
at Lynn, 1633, and legislator in the Bay Colony, 1641-2, through, 
his son, Ealph Allen, persecuted as a Cape Cod Quaker, 1676, 
and grand-son of Jedidiah Allen, who defied Lord Cornbury in 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 91 

the N. J. Colonial Legislature, 1703, and through the latter's 
son, Nathan, the founder of Allentown, N. J., 17-05. Also may 
be mentioned Walter Newbury, a Friend, at Newport, K.' I., 
1673, who served as Councillor for R. I. in the Council of Sir 
Edmond Andros, Governor of all English Colonies in America, 
in 1689; and John Eastwick from London, 1700, an Alderman 
of Boston, Mass., 1736; also fully as worthy, Henry Howland 
from London, 1633, to Duxbury, Mass., brother of the Mayflower 
Pilgrim, John Howland; and in Pennsylvania from David 
Ogden, passenger in the "Welcome,"' 1682, with Wm. Penn, and 
also from William Bullock, keeper of the celebrated "Three 
Crowns" Tavern in^ Philadelphia, 1728. 

Upon the maternal side Dr. Smith descends from notable 
Germantown and Merion founders of Pennsylvania, both Welsh 
and German, such as Abraham Tunes, 1685, part owner of the 
first paper mill (Rittenhouse's) in America, 1714; and from 
Arent Klincken, participant in the meeting at Germantown, 
1688, at which was brought forth the first formal written 
protest against slavery made in America; from John Christo- 
pher Meng, a builder of Mannheim, Germany, who settled at 
Germantown, 1728, and built the Germantown Academy and 
other stone structures there, and whose son, Col. Christopher 
Meng, received the stores surrendered by Lord Cornwallis at 
the Battle of Yorktown; from Wigard Levering of Mulheim, 
Germany, at Germantown, 1683. Of the Merion settlers may 
be named Daniel Jones, the Welshman; John Williams from 
the Palatinate, and John Zell, who built up the fine estate of 
Walnut Grove, Merion Station, Pennsylvania Railroad, the son 
of Jacob Zell from Germany, 1740, where the Zells have been 
found to be a family of great distinction with royal connections. 

The Ralph Smith of Burlington, referred to in the pedigree, 
married Olive Clark of Burlington. He died there about 1718, 
and both were communicants of St. Mary's Church, were buried 
in the churchyard adjacent, and in memory of his parents is a 
memorial window of stained glass in the church, presented by 
Dr. Smith. 



92 MEMOEIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

The great-grandfather of T. Guilford Smith, Thomas Smith, 
the lumber merchant of Philadelphia, was born in that city 
August 23, 1761, and died in 1810. He married Grizzel East- 
wick September 26, 1782, at the North Meeting, Philadelphia. 
She was a daughter of Captain Thomas Eastwick, master of 
various passenger and merchandise vessels to the West Indies. 

Charles Eastwick Smith, son of Thomas Smith, and grand- 
father of the subject of this sketch, was also a Philadelphian. 
He died in 1828, at the age of forty-five. His wife, Mary Ogden, 
was a descendant of David Ogden, one of the company of a 
hundred who accompanied William Penn to Pennsylvania in 
the ship "Welcome," in 1682. She died in 1838. Their son, 
Pemberton Smith, the father of T. Guilford Smith, was born 
in 1816 and died in 1873. His monument is in Laurel Hill 
Cemetery, Philadelphia. The maiden name of his wife, Dr. 
Smith's mother, was Margaretta E. Zell. 

Thomas Guilford Smith was born in Philadelphia on the 27th 
of August, 1839. He attended both the public and private 
schools of his native city, finally entering the Central High 
School of Philadelphia, from which he graduated in 1858 with 
the degree of A.B. He then entered the Rensselaer Polytechnic 
Institute, at Troy, N. Y., from which in 1861, he graduated with 
the degree of Civil Engineer, also being elected to Delta 
Chapter, Theta Delta Chi Fraternity. Two years afterward, 
in 1863, his Philadelphia alma mater conferred upon him the 
degree of Master of Arts. 

Dr. Smith's first entry into the world of active business was 
in connection with the engineering department of the Phila- 
delphia & Reading Railroad, attaining the position of Resident 
Engineer in the Mahanoy Mining District. Subsequently, he 
resigned this place to become manager of the Philadelphia 
Sugar Refinery. After the termination of this connection, he 
again entered actively into engineering work, this time as 
Consulting Engineer for different companies, and in 1872 their 
interests necessitated his visiting Europe. A notable event of 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 93 

this trip was his attendance at the International Prison 
Congress in London, to which body he held credentials as a 
delegate. Dr. Smith at this Congress met many eminent men 
interested in the reform of prison methods and the amelioration 
of the condition of convicts. 

Dr. Smith came to Bnffalo in 1873, and from that year to 1889 
was engaged here in business in connection with a number of 
industries. In 1889 he became Sales Agent for Carnegie, 
Phipps & Co., of Pittsburg, and later of the Carnegie Steel 
Company, the nucleus of the United States Steel Corporation. 
The relations of Dr. Smith with this business have continued 
to the present time, and he is also identified with the Illinois 
Steel Co. and the U. S. Steel Products Export Co. 

He has been able to take an active part in many movements 
relating to science, humanity and general progress, to main- 
tain genuine and living affiliations with a large number of 
societies organized for the furtherance of literature, science and 
fine arts and other branches of knowledge, to become a potent 
factor in educational matters, to achieve distinction as an 
exponent of the doctrine of the American protective tariff and 
to make his opinions felt and his course followed in affairs 
connected with the vital subjects of the time. 

In 1887 Dr. Smith was made a member of the Council of the 
University of Buffalo. In 1890 Dr. Smith was elected a 
Eegent of the University of the State of New York. The office 
of Kegent is justly considered one of the highest within the 
gift of the State, to the Board of Regents being committed the 
official supervision of all educational institutions within the 
State. 

Dr. Smith's labors as a Regent have been marked by initiative 
earnestness and effective results. He is Chairman of the Museum 
Committee of the Board, which has charge of all tlie scientific 
work under the Regents' supervision, including geology, botany, 
entomology, palaeontology and other branches. Dr. Smith is 
himself a man of scientific training and has always been a 



94 MEMOEIAIi AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

student of natural history. To Mm is due much of the study 
in recent years of the economic geology of the State, a subject 
of great practical importance in its relations to road-making, 
agriculture and mining. 

In 1899 Hobart College, in recognition of Dr. Smith's long 
and valuable services in behalf of education, conferred upon 
him the degree of Doctor of Laws. Five years before, Hobart 
Chapter had honored his attainments as a scholar by electing 
him to the Phi Beta Kappa Society. In 1900 Alfred University, 
Alfred, N. Y., conferred the degree of Doctor of Law^s in recog- 
nition of his efforts in establishing at Alfred the N. Y. State 
School of Ceramics. 

A survey of Dr. Smith's work in the province of education — 
using the word in its strict sense — leads naturally to some 
examination of the relations held by him to general culture and 
to organizations having for their aim intellectual improvement 
in different special fields. In 1896 he was elected President of 
the Buffalo Library. He took the ground that the Library 
should be made free to the public, succeeded in bringing about 
this result, and aided in obtaining from the city an annual 
appropriation of |80,000 for that institution. Serving first as 
Treasurer, then as Vice-President, and finally as President of 
the Buffalo Fine Arts Academy, he showed the same spirit 
which had characterized him in the case of the Library. The 
outcome was that the Academy was opened to the public every 
day in the week. He is now President of the Buffalo Society of 
Natural Sciences and has been for the past three years. In 
1894 he was chosen a Director of the American Society of Civil 
Engineers, and the same year he was the delegate of that body 
to the 11th International Congress of Medicine and Surgery, 
at Eome. In the years 1866-67 he was elected a member of the 
Academy of Natural Sciences, the Franklin Institute and the 
Union League, all of Philadelphia. He is a member of the 
American Economic Association, the American Academy of 
Political and Social Science, the New York State Historical 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 91 

Society, the Buffalo Historical Society, the American Institute 
of Mining Engineers and also the Historical Society of Pennsyl- 
vania. In 1889 he was elected President of the Alumni Asso- 
ciation of Eensselaer Polytechnic Institute, and he is a member 
of the Alumni Association of the Philadelphia Central High 
School. In 1892 he joined the Society of the Sons of the 
Eevolution, representing Col. Christopher Meng, Assistant 
Deputy Quartermaster-General of the Continental army, 
subsequently being elected Vice-President and still later 
President of the Buffalo branch of that order, and he is a 
member of the Colonial Society of Pennsylvania, the Society of 
Colonial Wars in the State of New York, and is also a member 
of the Welcome Society of Pennsylvania, being a descendant of 
David Ogden, who came to this country in the ship Welcome. 

Col. T. Ellwood Zell, a Quaker of Philadelphia, at the close 
of the Civil War, in which he had served with honor and 
distinction in the 121st Pennsylvania Volunteers, organized 
with two others the Military order of the Loyal Legion of the 
United States. He officially appointed his nephew, T. Guilford 
Smith, to be his successor, and at a meeting of the N. Y. 
Commandery held December 13, 1905, Hon. T. Guilford Smith 
was elected a Companion of the First Class Heredity of the 
Order. 

A Eepublican in politics, the connection of Dr. Smith with 
the American Protective Tariff League deserves special 
mention. His views of the tariff question are a matter of 
inheritance as well as conviction, for when the party of 
Alexander Hamilton was in existence Dr. Smith's ancestors 
were Federalists, and at a later epoch his father and grand- 
father were Whigs. He has been a member of the Tariff League 
from the time it was established, and has worked with persist- 
ent energy for the cause of protection to our national industries, 
being convinced that American prosperity is vitally involved in 
the tariff issue. 

Dr. Smith is identified with many clubs and organizations for 



96 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

social purposes, being a member of the Buffalo and University- 
clubs of Buffalo. 

Prominent among the philanthropic institutions to which Dr. 
Smith has lent his influence and aid, is the Charity Organization 
Society of Buffalo, of which he was elected President in 1888, 
thereafter continuing in that office. This is the pioneer society 
in the United States. It is an important example of organized 
benevolence, and since its inauguration over one hundred 
charitable associations have been formed along similar lines in 
other cities. 

Dr. Smith had a share in the Pan-American project. He was 
Chairman of the Exposition Committee on Fine Arts, and the 
choice was admittedly a felicitous one. The collection of 
paintings, sculpture and other works of art was remarkable 
both for diversity and merit, and the outcome was that the 
Exposition gave a strong and lasting impetus to esthetic culture 
in Buffalo. In addition to his activities in the art department 
of the Pan-American, Dr. Smith was a member of the Committee 
on State and Foreign Eelations, a field for which he was fitted 
by cosmopolitan spirit and extensive travel, and in which he 
did important service. 

To fail to allude to Dr. Smith's foreign journey would be to 
omit an interesting phase of his life, and one which has had a 
marked influence on his career. Dr. Smith has many of the 
characteristics of the typical "citizen of the world," and this 
is largely to be attributed to the exceptional opportunities he 
has had to visit distant lands and observe dissimilar customs 
and new habits of thought. Fojiir times he has made compre- 
hensive tours of Europe, and he has also traveled in the Orient. 
As a man who in a singular degree unites sterling qualities 
with polished address, and whose scope and variety of experi- 
ence assures ready adaptation to circumstances, Dr. Smith is 
much sought on those occasions where social amenities are 
combined with larger interests. A noteworthy instance of this 
character was the visit of the members of the Iron and Steel 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 97 

Institute to the United States in 1904, as Dr. Smith was a 
member of the Eeception Committee. . 

July 14, 1864, Dr. Smith was married in St. Marks' Church, 
Grand Eapids, Mich., to Miss Mary Stewart Ives, a daughter of 
Chauncey -Pelton and Charlotte Brownell (Stewart) Ives of 
Lansingburgh, N. Y., where Mrs. Smith was born. They have 
two sons, Pemberton Smith, who was born June 3, 1865, 
graduated with the degree of C.E. from the Rensselaer Poly- 
technic Institute in 1888, and who is a civil engineer by 
profession, and now represents the U. S. Steel Products Export 
Co. in South America; and Chauncey Pelton Smith, born 
October 27, 1869, graduated as M.D. from the medical depart- 
ment of the University of Pennsylvania, later taking a post- 
graduate course of Johns Hopkins Hospital, and who is now a 
physician and surgeon practicing in Buffalo. 

THE GOODYEAR FAMILY. The ancient home of the Eng- 
lish Goodyears was the Parish of Monken Hadley, in the County 
of Middlesex. The American Goodyears trace their lineage to 
Stephen Goodyear, Governor of New Haven Colony from 1643 
to 1658, who was one of the merchants who, on June 26, 1637, 
came from London to this country with the Rev. John Daven- 
port in the ship Hector. In 1638 most of these immigrants made 
their way to the site of New Haven, Conn. Gov. Stephen 
Goodyear of the New Haven Colony stood high among the 
English Colonial governors of his time. His judgment 
determined the location of the colony and the plan of the town 
of New Haven. He took a leading part in the development of 
the infant state and is, historic9,lly, the most conspicuous 
personage in its early annals. Long before Yale College was 
founded he was one of the first to advocate such an institution. 
John Goodyear, son of Governor Stephen Goodyear, was a 
lieutenant in the Colonial militia. He had a son, Andrew, who 
married Jane Gilbert,, daughter of Deputy Governor Matthew 
Gilbert. Their son, Titus, had a son, John Goodyear, who 



98 MEMO^JAL AND FAMIPY HISTORY^ 

remoTed to Geneva, N. Y., and died in Barre, Orleans County^ 
in 1826. BRADLEY GOODYEAR, son.of Jolin Goodyear, was 
born in Sempronius, N. Y., December 6, 1816. He studied 
medicine with Dr. Miles Goodyear, practiced in Cortland, N. Y., 
and later in Western New York, and spent the last years of his 
life in Buffalo, where he died May 16, 1889. November 26, 1845, 
Dr. Goodyear married Esther P. Kinne, daughter of Moses and 
Polly (Forbes) Kinne, and granddaughter of Ira and Miriam 
(Goodell) Kinne of Connecticut, and of Alexander Forbes, a 
native of Scotland. The children of Dr. Goodyear were: 
Charleis W. Goodyear and Prank H. Goodyear. 

Dr. Goodyear was. to a notable degree identified with the 
practice and progress of the medical profession in Western 
New York, being a well-read, experienced and successful 
medical practitioner. 

The wife of Dr. Goodyear was womanly, helpful and devoted 
— an ideal wife and mother. Possessed of a remarkable amount 
of energy and vitality, slie long survived her husband, her 
death occurring in 1907. 

CHARLES W. GOODYEAR. It is seldom that a man wins 
great and genuiije success in two distinct fields. To Charles W. 
Goodyear Jjelongs the honor of such an achievement. Mr. 
Goodyear is one of the ablest lawyers in Western New York. 
He is among the foremost lumbermen of the coimtry. 

Charles Waterhouse Goodyear was born in Cortland, Cortland 
County, N. Y., October 15, 1846. 

Mr. Goodyear's early education was gained at the academies 
of Cortland, Wyoming and East Aurora, N. Y. In 1868 he 
came to Buffalo, entering the offices of Lanning & Miller, and 
later continuing his studies with John C. Strong in 1871. Iq 
1875 he formed a partnership with Major John Tyler, which 
continued two years, and after 5 years he formed a co-partner- 
ship with Henry F. Allen, with the firm style of Goodyear & 
Allen. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 99 

In 1883 Mr.. Goodyear became the junior member of the firm 
of Bissell, Sieard & Goodyear, which for foiir years thereafter 
and up to the time of Mr. Goodyear's retirement from active 
practice, was one of the leading law partnerships in Western 
New York. 

Prom January 1st, 1875, to October 1st, 1877, he served as 
Assistant District Attorney of Erie County, and later as 
District Attorney, by appointment to serve an unexpired term. 

Mr. Goodyear was intimately concerned in the election of 
Grover Cleveland as Mayor of Buffalo, as Governor of New 
York, and in his nomination to the Presidency in 1884. Mr. 
Goodyear's admiration for Mr. Cleveland as a statesman has 
been confirmed by intimate acquaintance with the former 
President, and their friendship exists to this day. 

Since his retirement from the law Mr. Goodyear has not 
taken an active part in politics, yet one of the most noteworthy 
episodes of his later years was of a political character, namely 
the movement to bring about his nomination as the Democratic 
candidate for Governor in 1904. 

Mr. Cleveland expressed in emphatic terms his satisfaction 
at the hope that Mr. Goodyear would be nominated and hi^. 
appreciation of the Buffalonian as a man and a citizen. The 
tribute of Mr. Cleveland was a memorable one. 

In January, 1887, Mr. Goodyear became a member of the firm 
of F. H. & C. W. Goodyear. Ever since the partnership was 
formed, it has continued to buy vast acreages of timber lands 
in Northern Pennsylvania. 

It is part of a comprehensive plan of the Goodyears to create 
transportation where it is lacking. In the furtherance of this 
design the brothers became pioneers in standard built and 
equipped railroads for logging operations. The forests have 
been traversed and opened up to trade by main lines of well- 
built railways, while minor lines have been improved and 
merged with the trunk system and connected with the roads 
that pass on either side of the Goodyear holdings. Ultimately 



100 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

the partners extended their railway system, now known as the 
Buffalo & Susquehanna, south to the Pennsylvania coal fields 
and northward direct to the city of Buffalo. All this has been 
developed from a logging railroad. At the present time the 
Buffalo & Susquehanna E. E. gives every augury of becoming 
a permanent and profitable property as a coal and passenger 
road, even when the whole region through which it passes 
shall have been stripped of its timber. The railway in question, 
of which Mr. Goodyear is Vice-President and a principal stock- 
holder, includes more than 300 miles of first-class standard 
gauge track, and when the plans now approved shall have been 
carried out, the system will contain 400 miles of road. 

Within a comparatively recent period Mr. Goodyear, with 
his brother and other financiers, reorganized the original firm 
of P. H. & C. W. Goodyear, the present style being the Good- 
year Lumber Company. For many years the concern has 
manufactured 200,000,000 feet of hemlock lumber annually. 

Mr. Goodyear is also Vice-President of the Great Southern 
Lumber Company, the Pearl Eiver Lumber Company, and other 
lumber companies in Louisiana and Mississippi which have 
extensive holdings of long leaf yellow pine in those states. The 
Great Southern Lumber Company has recently completed what 
is probably the largest saw and planing mill plant in the world. 
The saw mill, planing mill and docks connected therewith being 
constructed entirely of steel and concrete. The capacity of 
these mills is 300,000,000 feet of lumber per annum. 

Mr. Goodyear is also Vice-President of the New Orleans and 
Great Northern Eailroad Company, which acquired what was 
formerly known as the East Louisiana Eailroad. The New 
Orleans and Great Northern Eailroad Company has constructed 
a line of railroad from Slidell, a point on the New Orleans 
North Eastern Eailroad to Jackson, Mississippi, a distance of 
151 miles. This road traverses the extensive yellow pine 
forests of Louisiana and Mississippi and extends through the 
valley of the Pearl Eiver. This company has entered into 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 101 

contract with the New Orleans North Eastern Eailroad for 
trackage rights from Slidell to New Orleans, and terminal 
facilities in New Orleans. Thus an outlet is provided for the 
products of the forest to tide water, to the great West and, in 
short, to the markets of the world. 

During the lumber tariff controversy several years ago, Mr. 
Goodyear was Chairman of the convention of lumbermen which 
urged the imposition of a tariff on Canadian lumber. He 
appeared before the Ways and Means Committee of Congress 
in behalf of the measure, and it is largely on account of his 
efforts that the present tariff law contains a provision for a 
protective duty on Canadian lumber of |2 a thousand. 

Aside from his lumber and railroad interests, Mr. Goodyear 
is identified with the Buffalo & Susquehanna Coal & Coke 
Company, the Buffalo & Susquehanna Iron Company, and the 
Lackawanna Steel Company. 

He is a member of the Buffalo, Saturn, Ellicott, Country, 
Falcohwood, Liberal and Acacia clubs. He is a Mason, a life 
member of the Buffalo Library and a trustee of the State 
Normal School of this city. 

He attends the First Presbyterian Church, is prominent in 
philanthropy, and takes an interest in all municipal projects 
tending to the betterment of local conditions. 

March 23d, 1876, Mr. Goodyear married Miss Ella Portia 
Conger, of Collins Center, N. Y. The children of the union are 
four: Anson Conger, Esther, Charles W., Jr., and Bradley. 
Anson Conger Goodyear, the eldest son, is associated with his 
father in business. The other sons, Charles W., Jr., and Bradley, 
are students in Yale University. 

Viewing his personality by the aid of his career, one feels 
justified in saying of Mr. Goodyear that he is a man to whom 
it is difficult to assign limitations. Mentally and physically 
he is of large mold, and he gives a constant impression of 
reserve power. He has the gift of popularity, and the still 
better one of inspiring public trust. Had he chosen to continue 



102 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

in politics, it is hard to draw any line cii'cumscribing the honors 
he might have received. A keen observer of manners and 
customs, he is fond of travel, and spends from two to four 
months every year in this manner, his journeys including tours 
in the United States and abroad." His success in the world has 
been conspicuous, but it has not awakened envy, for it is known 
to be the outcome of industry and square dealing and has 
benefited not only Mr. Goodyear but the community in which 
he lives and notably a great section of a neighboring state. 

FRANK HENRY GOODYEAR, who died May 13, 1907, was 
the foremost figure in the lumber interests of the East, a 
leading factor in railroad affairs and a dominant force in the 
commercial, industrial and financial world. Railroad presi- 
dent, lumber and coal operator, iron manufacturer and 
financier, his responsibilities probably exceeded in extent and 
variety those of any other citizen of Buffalo. The great enter- 
prises which he controlled were the results of his own energy 
and foresight, and every phase of his career is marked with 
the impress of unerring sagacity, indomitable resolution and 
sterling integrity. 

Mr. Goodyear was born at Groton, Tompkins County, New 
York, March 17th, 1849. He was the son of Dr. Bradley 
Goodyear and Esther P. Goodyear and came of Scotch and 
English ancestry. He received his education in the public 
schools, at East Aurora Academy and from private tutors. 
After some time spent in teaching in district schools he 
became bookkeeper for Robert Looney, who operated sawmills 
at Looneyville, N. Y. In 1871 he came to Buffalo, where he 
engaged in the coal and lumber trade. Beginning on a small 
scale he soon extended his operations, making extensive 
purchases of timber tracts in McKean, Potter, Elk and 
Cameron Counties, Pa. The course thus pursued by Mr. 
Goodyear was characteristic of his remarkable acumen. Many 
years before he began to acquire holdings in Pennsylvania, men 




1 



MEMORIAE' - 1A.ND/ ' FAMILY' /-mSfOEY. 103 

were saying that the lumber ' supply of. i that state would soon 
become exljausted. Mr. Goodyear had the foresight to grasp 
the situation. In the deserted and' . so-called inaccessible 
districts Mr. Goodyear saw the possibilities of a fortune. As 
fast as he could acquire or enlist capital he bought large areas 
of hemlock and hardwood timber lands, and his purchases in 
northwestern Pennsylvania were the nucleus of his later 
operations. Before Mr. Goodyear's daly the only way of getting 
timber to milling points was by means of watercourses. He 
made the innovation of building railroad lines for the especial 
purpose of furnishing transportation for lumber. His railways 
were not the ordinary type of logging road, but of standard 
gauge and permanent construction. He built sawmills in 
immediate proximity to the forests and was the pioneer of the 
steam log loader. 

In 1887 Mr. Goodyear became associated in business with 
his brother, Charles W. Goodyear, and the Arm of F. H. & 
C. W. Goodyear was established. In 1902 it was reorganized 
as the Goodyear Lumber Oompanj'^, with Prank H. Goodyear as 
President. To facilitate his lumber shipments, Mr. Goodyear 
had in 1885 built at his own expense a small railroad, the 
Sinnemahoning Valley, and later the Goodyear brothers incor- 
porated the Buffalo & Susquehanna Railroad, into which the 
earlier lines were merged. The road now embraces main lines 
nearly 400 miles in length, including an ex,tension to Buffalo 
completed in 1906, and traverses a large; agricultural, timber 
and bituminous coal district. It will have permanency in its 
operation far beyond the life Of the great forests that lie along 
its path, its future as a coal-carrying road being assured, to 
say nothing of its passenger and general freight possibilities. 
Mr. Goodyear waS counted the head of the hemlock industry in 
the United States, the total Goodyear holdings in Pennsylvania 
having an annual output of 200,000,000 feet of hemlock and 
nearly as much more in hardwoods, all of which is shipped over 
the Buffalo & Susquehanna Railroad. In 1902 Mr. Goodyear 



104 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

and some of his associates made an initial purciiase of 90,000 
acres of yellow pine timber in the Southern States, additional 
tracts being taken until 600,000 acres were acquired, all being 
properties of various companies, the most important being the 
Great Southern Lumber Company, of which Mr. Goodyear 
was President. 

Mr. Goodyear was the owner of large bituminous coal inter- 
ests in the Keynoldsville (Pa.) district, and was President of the 
Buffalo and Susquehanna Coal and Coke Company, an 
important adjunct of the Goodyear enterprises. He was 
President of the Buffalo and Susquehanna Railway Company, 
the Buffalo & Susquehanna Steamship Company and Vice-. 
President of the Buffalo and Susquehanna Iron Company, the 
latter being one of Buffalo's foremost industries. The 
Company operates two large furnaces at South Buffalo, both 
of the most modern type. The plant cost over |4,000,000, and 
has a capacity of 225,000 tons of pig iron annually. Besides 
its South Buffalo plant, the Company is the owner of immense 
ore properties in the Lake Superior region. An important 
enterprise of Mr. Goodyear's later years was the New Orleans 
Great Northern Railroad Company, of which he was President, 
and which, under his able and progressive management, was 
so developed that it will soon have 250 miles of main line. Mr. 
Goodyear was a Director of the United States Leather Com- 
pany and also of the Marine National Bank of Buffalo, and was 
a potent factor in many Buffalo industries. The account above 
given is simply an outline narrative of his chief activities as 
an industrialist, organizer and financier, and in arriving at a 
just estimate of his life work the fact must be borne in mind 
that Mr. Goodyear's principal enterprises carried others in 
their wake, and that in addition to the projects which filled 
the Jargest place in the public eye, he was a potent factor of 
many others, either accessory or awaiting development in the 
future. 

In his relations to Buffalo and the community at large, Mr. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 105 

Goodyear was a broad-minded, public-spirited citizen. Elective 
offices were often tendered him, but he always declined such 
honors. However, he rendered the City of Buffalo eflScient 
service as a member of the Board of Park Commissioners, and 
when^ in 1886, President Cleveland appointed him a Commis- 
sioner to examine a section of the line of the Northern Pacific 
Eailroad, on behalf of the Government, he discharged the duties 
of the place with characteristic ability and zeal. One of Mr. 
Goodyear's most notable efforts in a civic direction was his 
offer to contribute |100,000 for the erection of a Zoological 
Garden for Buffalo and the purchase of an exhibit, the project 
being planned upon the liberal lines typical of whatever Mr. 
Goodyear undertook. It was proposed to buy 1,400 animals to 
be installed on a site to be furnished by the city and to make 
the projected Zoological Gardens one of the foremost institu- 
tions of its kind in the world. To this idea Mr. Goodyear 
devoted great energy and much time and money, even taking 
one hundred of Buffalo's prominent citizens to Cincinnati to 
see the Zoo in that city. When the matter was brought before 
the Legislature, so many amendments affecting and changing 
the original idea were attached to the bill that the project 
became impracticable, and thus Buffalo lost the opportunity 
to secure a really great Zoological Garden. To charitable insti- 
tutions Mr. Goodyear contributed liberally and he was 
especially generous to the Buffalo General Hospital. Many 
Buffalo charities were remembered by large bequests in his 
will. He was a leader in all movements having in view the 
advancement of the City of Buffalo, was a leading member of 
the Chamber of Commerce and belonged to the Buffalo, Ellicott 
and Country Clubs. , 

September 13, 1871, Mr. Goodyear married Josephine Looney, 
daughter of Kobert and Josephine (Kidder) Looney of Buffalo. 
Their children are: Mrs. Grace Goodyear Depew, wife of Ganson 
Depew; Mrs. Florence Goodyear Wagner, wife of George O. 
Wagner, and Frank H. Goodyear, Jr., all of whom reside in 



106 meMDeial and family history. 

Buffalo. Anotlier daughter, Mrs. JosepMne Goodyear Sicard, 
wife of George M. Sicard, died in Buffalo September 6, 1904. 

There is a pathetic significance in the fact that when his life 
was drawing near its close, much of Mr. Goodyear's thought 
in a dual sense characteristic of the man, for it represented 
both his practical ability and the family devotion — the deep 
regard for the ties of kindred and domestic life — which was 
one of the strongest elements in his nature. Mr. Goodyear's 
last illness came upon him while he was absent on a journey to 
Yellowstone Park with his wife and son, in the fall of 1906. 
When the family returned they went to live for a time in their 
new home, later spending the winter at their residence at 
Jekyl Island. While there Mr.. Goodyear's illness gave serious 
grounds for apprehension, and he returned to Buffalo to seek 
medical attention and the benefit of a cooler climate. Mr. 
Goodyear had long been suffering from overwork and all active 
duties were forbidden him, but the energy of his mind was 
unaffected by X)hysical illness and he spent much of his time in 
laying plans for the extension of his enterprises and for the 
inauguration of new ones. To this end he remained the firm, 
well-poised, self-contained man of his prime, a source of 
strength and encouragement to those about him, an example of 
devotion to duty. When it became evident that his death was 
near, he met the common destiny of man with a resignation 
and courage worthy of one whom all his life his fellow-men had 
looked up to as a leader. 

In Frank H. Goodyear the country lost one of the strongest 
and ablest of its executive men of affairs, Buffalo a high- 
minded and loyal citizen, his friends a sincere, modest and 
genial personality, his family a kind and devoted husband and 
father. Beginning life as a poor boy, by ability and integrity 
Mr. Goodyear rose to the highest honors in the business world; 
the great enterprises he founded will live after him and per- 
petuate his name; but of more import than any material result, 
however brilliant, of his career, is the example he presented of 
a resolution undaunted by any obstacle, of an honor without 
spot or blemish. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 107 

HON. LOR AN L. LEWIS, President of the Third National 
Bank and former Justice of the Supreme Court, was for many 
years one of the foremost advocates in the State. Of Welsh 
lineage, his ancestors were among the early settlers of Central 
New York. His grandfather, Joshua Lewis, was a pioneer 
in Mentz township, near the city of Auburn, Cayuga County. 
His son, John C. Lewis, the father of Loran L. Lewis, became 
one of the most successful and substantial farmers of the 
locality. 

Judge Lewis's maternal grandfather was Friend Barbour, 
a farmer of Cayuga County. His mother was a woman of 
remarkable endowments and fine educational attainments. In 
her early womanhood she was noted for her accomplishments, 
and became a well recognized oracle in the neighborhood. 

Loran Lodowick Lewis was born at Mentz, Cayuga County, 
N. Y., May 9, 1825. He attended the public school and a 
private school in Auburn. While still a stripling he supported 
himself by teaching school. When twenty-one years old, and 
already well embarked on his course in law reading, he main- 
tained himself by selling law books. When able to enter the 
regular study of the law, he became a clerk in the law office 
of William H. Seward, at Auburn. July 4th, 1848, he was 
admitted to the bar and came to Buffalo and opened an office. 
The progress of Judge Lewis in his profession was steady and 
rapid. In a surprisingly short time he advanced to the front 
rank. He formed several successive associations. The firm 
best known to the latter day generation was that of Lewis, 
Moot & Lewis. 

Judge Lewis had a genius for the trial of cases, and ranked 
as an advocate of the highest order. He had a reserve of 
sarcasm which made him dangerous to attempt to trifle with, 
and as a forensic orator he was brilliant, eloquent and 
convincing. He was regarded as almost unequaled in powers 
of persuasion, and it was currently remarked, and still is said 
today, that no advocate ever practiced at the Erie County bar 



108 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

who won SO great a propoiiioa of jury cases as did Loran L. 
Lewis. 

Politically Judge Lewis has always been a strong Eepub- 
lican. He served in the State Senate from 1870 to 1874. In 
1882 he was nominated for Justice of the Supreme Court. It 
was the year of the political tidal wave which swept Mr. 
Cleveland into the office of Governor by 200,000 majority. Yet 
Mr. Lewis was elected by about 3,000 majority, being the only 
candidate elected on the Republican ticket in Erie County. He 
presided as a Judge at circuit till 1890, when he was designated 
by the Governor a Justice of the General Term, now called the 
Appellate Division, serving till January, 1896, when he reached 
the 70-year age limit. The judicial career of Judge Lewis was 
distinguished by learning, dignity and impartiality. 

Judge Lewis has been for many years a director in the 
German American Bank of Buffalo, and when that bank was in 
serious trouble caused by its unfortunate connection with 
some of the officials who wrecked the German Bank, and during 
the time that an active run upon the bank was pending, he 
received a remarkable tribute of confidence of men who stand 
in the front ranks of Buffalo's esteem, by his election to the 
presidency of that bank. He continued in that position until 
complete confidence was restored to the bank. He has been a 
director of the Third National Bank of Buffalo for many years, 
holding the position of Vice-President for several years, and is 
now President. He is also a trustee of the Fidelity Trust 
Company. 

June 1, 1852, Judge Lewis was married to Charlotte E. 
Pierson, daughter of Gordon Pierson, of East Aurora, N. Y. 
Their children are: George Lester Lewis, Louise Lewis, Kahle 
Elizabeth Lewis, Preston and Loran Lodowick Lewis, Jr. Both 
of the sons of Judge Lewis are lawyers, practicing under the 
firm name of Lewis & Lewis. Judge Lewis, though not in active 
practice, is advisory counsel of the firm. 

He is one of the staunchest supporters of the Buffalo Law 
School, and for years gave it the benefit of his lectures. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 109 

Throughout his life Judge Lewis has been a man of simple 
tastes. He is the owner of a fine farm in Lewiston, Canada, and 
there he spends much of his time. Now past the age of eighty- 
two, he enjoys firm health and the resources of a mind whose 
vigor is equal to the best days of his prime. His is a career in 
which youth may find emulation, manhood, courage and hope. 

THE SPRAGUE FAMILY is of English origin, and, in its 
American branch, of Puritan antecedents. Francis Sprague 
arrived -at Massachusetts in the ship "Anne," in July, 1623. 
He was the first Secretary of Plymouth Colony and a man of 
influence in the Puritan commonAvealth. John Sprague, son 
of Francis, married Ruth Bassett. Samuel Sprague, son of 
John, married Ruth Alden in 1669. She was the daughter of 
David Alden and Maria Southworth, of whom the former was 
the son of John Alden, and Priscilla Mullins. Noah Sprague, • 
son of Lieutenant Samuel Sprague, married Sarah Hammond. 
They had a son, Noah Sprague, who married Mercy Dexter. 
Aldn, son of Noah Sprague, married Eunice Stoddard. 

NOAH PAUL SPRAGUE, son of Alden, was born November 
6, 1798. He lived in Bath, New Hampshire, in his early man- 
hood. In 1825 he removed to Buffalo, where he died August 21, 
1879. He married for his first wife Abiah Carleton. The first of 
the American Carletons was Edward, who was appointed Judge 
at Rowley, Mass., in 1647. Edward Carleton (2d), son of 
Edward, removed from Rowley to Haverhill, Mass. Edward 
Carleton (3d), son of Edward (2d), had a son, Edward Carleton 
(4th), who had a son, Peter, who was a Revolutionary soldier, 
a member of the convention for revising the Federal Constitu- 
tion in 1791, and a Rejjresentative in Congress in 1807 and 
1808. Ebenezer Carleton, son of Peter Carleton, married Mary 
Heath. They had a daughter, Abiah, who married Noah P. 
Sprague, and who was the mother of the late Hon. Eben 
Carleton Sprague of Buffalo. The second wife of Noah P. 
Sprague was Mary Bach. His death occurred on the 21st of 
August, 1879. 



110 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

EBBN CARLETON SPRAGUE, son of Noah Paul Sprague 
and Abiah (Carleton) Sprague, was born in Bath, N. H., 
November 26, 1822. He was brought by his family to Buffalo 
in 1826, wjiere he attended the public schools. He was 
prepared for college at Phillips Exeter Academy, and gradu- 
ated from Harvard College in 1843. An authoritative descrip- 
tion of him at the close of his college career says that "He had 
a manly beauty, a scholarly bearing and a charm of manner 
which at once gave him distinction in every circle. He had 
high ideas of culture and character, and entered upon the study 
of his profession richly equipped for large success." 

He read law in the offices of Fillmore, Hall and Haven, and 
in October, 1846, was admitted to the bar. For almost half a 
century thereafter Mr. Sprague practiced his profession in 
Buffalo, attaining a high reputation as a lawyer. Among his 
clients were The Great Western Railway Company, the New 
York, Lake Erie & Western Railway Company, the Erie County 
Savings Bank, and the International Bridge Company. 

He was successively senior member of the leading law part- 
nerships of Sprague & Fillmore; Sprague & Gorham; Sprague, 
Gorham & Bacon; Sprague, Milburn & Sprague; Sprague, 
Morley & Sprague; Sprague, Morley, Sprague & Brownell, and 
Sprague, Moot, Sprague & Brownell. 

Mr. Sprague was repeatedly urged to become a candidate 
for office, but almost invariably refused. He did, however, 
consent in 1875 to fill a vacancy in the State Senate for a single 
session. He also served for a few months as Register in 
Bankruptcy. Mr. Sprague was to a notable extent identified 
with professional educational, social and benevolent organiza- 
tions. He was a member of the American Bar Association, the 
New York and Erie County Bar Association, Buffalo Historical 
Society, Fine Arts Academy, Society of Natural Sciences, and 
was an active member of the Civil Service Reform Association. 
He was Chancellor of the University of Buffalo, served as 
President of the Young Men's Association, Director of the 



MEMOEIAL AND FAMILY SISTQRY. 1.11 

Ch^dre^'s Aid Society, Secretary of the Buffalo Orphan 
Asylum and Vice-President of the American Unitarian Asso- 
ciation. He was the founder and President of the Liberal 
Club, President of the Harvard Club of Western New York, 
member and at one time President of the Buffalo Club, and a 
member of the Saturn Club. 

In June, 1892, Mr. Sprague received the degree of LL.D., 
from his alma-mater, Harvard University. 

Mr. Sprague delivered a large number of notable public 
addresses. On July 3, 1882, he delivered a brilliant address at 
the semi-centennial celebration of the incorporation of the 
city. Another the same year on "The Functions, Duties and 
Claims of Political Parties." At the dedication of the 
Merchants' Exchange in 1884, on " The Uses and Abuses of 
Wealth." To the Buffalo Humane Society on "Philanthropy as 
a Force in the Solution of Social Problems." To the Civil 
Service Eeform Association on "The Benefits of Civil Service 
Reform to Workingmen." And to the Buffalo Law League upon 
"The Constitution of the United States Considered as a Product 
of Judicial Construction." His last address, one of the most 
characteristic of his life, was delivered before the Liberal Club. 
Its subject was, "Liberalism," and it was a noble plea for the 
rights of the individual. Mr. Sprague also wrote a treatise 
entitled "Lessons from the Life of Benjamin Franklin," 
published in 1891. 

Notvs^ithstanding his arduous professional pursuits, Mr. 
Sprague always managed to find time for the cultivation of art, 
music and literature. He pursued a wide diversity of reading. 
His alertness of mind was remarkable and equally so the living 
interest he took both in current literature and the revival of 
old studies. Shortly before his death he took up the ^neid. 
All that was most noteworthy in belles-lettres, history, 
philosophy and religious thought he studied. The writers for 
all time — St. Paul, Plato, Homer, Virgil, Dante, Goethe, Milton, 
were the friends of his heart and mind. He was a great lover 



112 MBMOKIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

of Shelley, and the evening before he died was reading aloud 
from that poet. 

On the 25th of June, 1849, Mr. Sprague was married to 
Elizabeth H. Williams, a daughter of John R. Williams of 
Buffalo. He is survived by his widow and four children: Henry 
W. and Carleton of Buffalo, and Mrs. Edward M. Cook and Mrs. 
Walter Cook, both of New York City. 

, The death of Mr. Sprague took place on the 14th of February, 
1895. The honors paid to his memory were worthy of his ability 
and character. The press, his brethren of the bar, and the 
public vied in heartfelt expressions of sorrow and esteem. 

CARLETON SPRAGUE, son of E. Carleton Sprague, was 
born in Buffalo on the 24th of December, 1858. He attended the 
public schools. Prof. Briggs' Classical School, and graduated 
from Phillips Exeter Academy in 1877, and Harvard College in 
the class of 1881. In college he was editor of the "Harvard 
Lampoon" and President of the Harvard Advocate, another 
well-known college paper, and upon graduation was chosen Ivy 
Orator of his class. Leaving college, Mr. Sprague began reading 
law with his father, but after a short time entered the employ 
of the Buffalo Pitts Company. In 1883 he became Vice- 
President of the Company; was elected President in 1891, and 
later filled also the office of Treasurer, resigning tne latter office 
a. few years ago. At present he is chairman of the board of 
-trustees, having resigned his active duties as President. 

Mr. Sprague was one of the founders of the Saturn Club, 
which was organized at his residence, and of which he was 
elected the first Dean, serving three years and later serving 
two terms in the same office. He is a member of the Buffalo, 
Country, Thursday, and University clubs of Buffalo, and 
'Century Club of New York City. He is Vice-President of the 
Harvard Club of Buffalo, and in 1906 was nominated for Over- 
seer of Harvard College. He is President of the Buffalo Fine 
Arts Academy, Vice-President of the Society of Artists and 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 113 

trustee of the Charity Organization Society. He is also, a 
member of the council of the University of Buffalo. Mr. 
Sprague was a member of the Pan-American Exposition's Board 
of Directors, as well as the Executive, Pine Arts, Building and 
Grounds Committees. 

Mr. Sprague has delivered many addresses on literary sub- 
jects, and in 1905 published a poem entitled "The Mission of 
Beauty." 

April 17, 1883, Mr. Sprague married Alice L. Brayley, a 
daughter of James and Mary A. (Pitts) Brayley, of the Brayley 
family originally of Exeter, England, but later and at the time 
of their deaths both being residents of Buffalo. The father of 
Mrs. Brayley was John A. Pitts, one of the founders of the 
Buffalo Pitts Company. 

EDWARD H. BUTLER is editor and proprietor of the 
Buffalo Evening News and the Buffalo Sunday News. The 
News has the largest circulation of any daily paper between 
New York and Chicago, and is recognized as one of the best 
newspaper properties in the country outside of two or three 
of the greatest cities. The Sunday News was established by 
Mr. Butler in 1873 and was the first successful Sunday paper 
published in Buffalo. 

Mr. Butler's newspaper career is closely identified with his 
activities in every direction, both commercial and political. He 
is a staunch Republican and personal friend of Presidents and 
Governors, and intimately associated with the politics of the 
day. His success as a journalist is due to his business capacity, 
his intellectual force and his habit of being in touch with the 
people. His sympathies are warm, his friendships very 
numerous and his zeal for causes that are sound and worthy is 
no less remarkable than his ability in their advocacy. 

In his capacity as an editor and as a citizen Mr. Butler has 
always promoted causes for the welfare of humanity and that 
make for good government. He is a firm believer in the value 



114 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



of sound culture; he is connected with many clubs and institu- 
tions exemplifying good citizenship, and he takes an active 
interest in everything that makes for the welfare of Buffalo. 

Edward Hubert Bxitler was born in LeRoy, Genesee County, 
New York, September 5, 1850. He was educated in the public 
schools of LeRoy and also in private schools; on the completion 
of his academic education he entered the offices of the LeRoy 

Gazette and after a short 
experience there he be- 
came a member of the 
staff of the Scranton 
Times and later was 
interested in the Scran- 
ton Press. Mr. Butler 
had, all the time of his 
work in Scranton, the 
idea in mind of establish- 
ing a paper in Buffalo, 
near his old home, which 
he regarded as a most 
favorable field for a 
modern high-class news- 
paper. In his 23d year 
he realized that dream, 
and coming to Buffalo 
established the Buffalo 
Sunday News. The 
venture was a bold one, yet not without precedent, for other- 
papers had been unsuccessfully tried. His paper, however, 
prospered from the beginning. It represented independent 
journalism of the popular kind with an appeal to the people that 
was notable for its fair and straightforward character, its 
freedom from offensive matter and its purity of motive. He at 
once struck a chord of public approval which has never since 
ceased to vibrate actively. The circulation increased rapidly, 




EDWAED H. BUTLEB. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 115 

the leading merchants became patrons of the paper and its 
advertising business became great and profitable. The Sunday 
News grew and was enlarged from time to time to meet the 
exigencies of the times and the demands of the business. It gave 
a striking demonstration of its strength in 1875 when it 
advocated the People's Ticket, and 14 of its candidates were 
elected. 

In 1879 Mr. Butler established the Bradford Sunday News 
and conducted it for several years until it had become an 
important paper, requiring so much personal attention that 
rather than yield his Buifalo interests he disposed of his Brad- 
ford enterprise. While publishing a Sunday paper several years, 
Mr. Butler carefully worked out the project of establishing an 
afternoon paper at the price of one cent. On the 11th of 
October, 1880, the first issue of the Evening News, a 24 column 
quarto daily, appeared. On the first day of publication more 
than 7,000 copies were sold on the streets alone and the circula- 
tion at once jumped to more than 20,000 copies a day. The 
record of the News from that time to the present has been one 
of very great popularity. It is regarded as one of the finest 
newspaper properties in the United States. Its circulation is 
greater than that of any other paper between New York and 
Chicago, and it is believed to be the most widely circulated 
straight Eepublican newspaper in the United States, with a 
single exception. Its advertising patronage is known through- 
out the newspaper world as probably the most enviable 
possessed by any newspaper in the country, for it has much 
more than one-half the business of the City of Buffalo and 
vicinity. In editorial influence it stands easily at the head of 
all dailies in Western New York. Although a strong party 
newspaper, the News opens its columns to all discussions and 
expresses its own opinions on all questions wholly without 
waiting for directions or orders or intimations frOm any other 
source than the mind of its proprietor. 

It stands always for sound maxims in business policies, and 



116 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

fearlessly applies them to both local and general interests. In 
municipal affairs it is insistent for practical administration; 
it advocates reform when it thinks reform is needed and it is a 
safe and conscientious guide in the choice of candidates and 
political policies. It is an exponent of doctrines of economy in 
government, but believes in liberal investment of public money 
in enterprises of improvement, which cannot be had on the basis 
of economy that goes to the length of absolute parsimony. 

Mr. Butler has been identifled with many movements in 
furtherance of large aims of reform and benevolence, and 
perhaps the News came to the front most conspicuously in that 
respect in the warfare which it waged for many years for a 
better means of discipline at the Elmira Reformatory, then 
under the superintendency of the famous Z. K. Brockway. In 
the commercial field the most conspicuous and illustrative 
triumph of the News was the campaign of the Barge Canal 
enterprise. The project of Canal improvement had been 
defeated in the Legislature of 1902 and was supposed to be dead. 
The following summer Mr. Butler took it up and in his paper 
advocated the enterprise on the largest scale and forced it into 
the Republican State platform. The Democrats had no alterna- 
tive but to follow siiit, both parties adopted the idea and 
pledged themselves to carry it out, but the great battle really 
occurred the following winter in the Legislature and afterwards 
by referendum to the people, so that the campaign was contin- 
ued for 16 months continuously from the time the News took up 
the project and advocated it in the way that was finally adopted. 
Incidentally the News made a permanent gain of circulation to 
the extent of more than 20,000 during that campaign and 
entered the class of papers that are on the 100,000 mark. 

In political warfare no more remarkable campaigns were 
ever conducted by a newspaper in this State that the campaign 
of the News for Governor Higgins in 1904, and that resulted 
in the re-election of Chauncey M. Depew to the United States 
Senate. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 117 

Mr. Butler has the distinction of being the most successful 
newspaper publisher in the United States, who is the founder, 
developer, sole proprietor and editor of his paper, and has 
retained these relations .from the beginning. No other man 
has built up so splendid a newspaper jjroperty all by himself. 
He has made his magnificent score entirely off his own back. 

In 1896 Mr. Butler was Eepublican Presidential Elector at 
Large for New York State, in 1900 he was an elector and served 
as chairman of the Board of Electors. He is an active member 
of the Grade Crossing Commission of Buffalo, and is the only 
survivor of the original commission, after 18 years of service. 
He is president of the Buffalo Publishers' Association and 
Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Grosvenor Library 
and of the Board of Trustees of the State Normal School at 
Buffalo; a director of the Buffalo Automobile Club, the largest 
resident membership of any club in the United States, and of 
the American Savings Bank and other financial institutions, 
both in Buffalo and in other cities. He was Vice-President of 
the United Press, and has been a director of the Associated " 
Press. He has served as President of the State Editorial Asso- 
ciation and of the Eepublican State Editorial Association. He 
is prominent in the social life of Buffalo and in LeRoy, where 
he has established a handsome country home. He belongs to 
the leading Buffalo clubs, to the Clover Club of Philadelphia, the 
Lotus Club and the Automobile Club of America in New York, 
and other leading clubs. 

Mr. Butler married Mary E. Barber, deceased, of West 
Pittston, Pa. They were the parents of three children, of whom 
two, a daughter and son, survive. 

Mr. Butler is as well known for his generosities as for his 
success in business and he is in every respect one of the most 
esteemed and respected citizens of Buffalo. 

THE SAWYER P'AMTLY. The Sawyer family came to 
America from England during the Colonial period and settled 



118 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

in Vermont. James Sawyer was a soldier of the Revolution, 
and fought as a Lieutenant at the battle of Bunker Hill. His 
son, Dan Sawyer, removed to Windham, Connecticut, after the 
Revolution. He married Miss Deni^on. Their son, James 
Denison Sawyer, was born at Windham, Conn., in 1813. In 
1840 he removed to Buffalo and the same year married Miss 
Charlotte Olivia Field, a daughter of Pliny A. Field and Olivia 
Babcock. Miss Field's elder brother, George Pliny Field, 
was an infant at the time of the burning of Black Rock by the 
British and Indians in 1813. Escaping from the catastrophe 
with her child, Mrs. E^ield fled from Black Rock to Batavia by 
the way of Williamsville, taking with her her household goods, 
which she had loaded on a cart. Her home was burned, but 
after the invasion was over she returned to Black Rock and 
built a house. 

Pliny A. Field served with the Patriot army in the defense 
of the Niagara Frontier. George Pliny Field, the son of Pliny 
A. and Olivia Field was educated at West Point. He served in 
the Mexican War and was killed at the Battle of Monterey. 

JAMES DENISON SAWYER, father of George P. Sawyer, 
was one of the founders of the industrial and commercial 
Buffalo of today. He served with ability in the Common 
Council, was among the original organizers of some of Buffalo's 
most important institutions of education and benevolence, and 
took an active part in the church and social interests of his day. 

Mr. Sawyer's earlier prominence was attained as a grain 
merchant. In this capacity he became intimately connected 
with the storage and transportation interests of the community. 
He was a trustee and one of the founders of the National 
Savings Bank, in 1867, President of White's Bank, Vice- 
President of the Mutual Gas Light Company, and Vice-Presi- 
dent of the Western Insurance Company. He was one of the 
founders of the Buffalo Historical Society, one of the organizers 
of the Young Men's Association, President of the Buffalo 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTOKY. 119 

General Hospital, and trustee of Forest Lawn Cemetery. He 
was a member of the First Presbyterian Church up to 1868, when 
he became a member of the Westminster Presbyterian Church. 
Of the latter church Mr, Sawyer was an elder till the time of 
his death. 

In 1864-5 Mr. Sawyer was a member of the Common Council 
from the Ninth Ward. 

Mr. Sawyer died in 1881. His surviving children are: 
Elizabeth Field Sawyer, who married George W. Parkhurst 
(deceased) of Buffalo; George Pliny Sawyer; James, who died 
in infancy; Ida O., who died in 1888, and William Babcock 
Sawyer, who died in 1880. 

James Denison Sawyer was a man of the highest character. 
Upright in all his relations, business and social, no one in the 
history of Buffalo ever enjoyed in a greater degree the confi- 
dence of the community. 

GEOEGE PLINY SAWYER, son of James Denison Sawyer, 
was born in Buffalo, attended Prof. Briggs' Classical School, 
subsequently graduating from Yale University in 1872. He 
then engaged in the lumber business in Buffalo until 1905. He 
was a director of the Mutual Gas Light Company until that 
concern was absorbed by the Buffalo Gas Company, and also 
served as a director of White's Bank, which later became the 
American Exchange Bank. Mr. Sawyer was among the 
organizers of the movement, which resulted in the erection of 
the Ellicott Square Building, and is at the present time a 
director of the Ellicott Square Company. 

Mr. Sawyer is a trustee and one of the founders of the Charity 
Organization Society, a director of the Fine Arts Academy, a 
member of the Buffalo, Country, University and Ellicott clubs, 
and of the University Club of New York City, and Graduates' 
Club in New Haven. 

In 1874 Mr. Sawyer married Ida Maria Wilcox, a daughter of 
Daniel Hand Wilcox and Frances Ansley of New Haven, Conn. 



120 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

The children of the xmion are: James Denison, Margaret Field 
and Ansley Wilcox. A daughter, Chloe, died in 1880. 

James Denison Sawyer, the second of the name, was gradu- 
ated from Yale University in 1896. He resides in New York 
City, where he is sales manager of the American Locomotive 
Company. In 1904 he married Sallie Shannon Walsh of St. 
Louis. They have one son, James Denison Sawyer, who was 
born in 1905. 

Margaret Field Sawyer resides at the family home in Buffalo. 
Ansley Wilcox Sawyer is a student at Yale University, 
belonging to the Class of 1907. 

GEORGE URBAN, JR., is universally recognized as one of 
the strongest men in the fields of Buffalo industrialism, finance 
and corporate enterprise. Mr. Urban's business connections 
are remarkable for extent and diversity. He stands in the front 
rank of those far-sighted, brainy men who are developing to 
the utmost the powers of electrical science and are applying it 
to the uses of transportation, manufacture and commerce. He 
is also very prominently identified with the management of 
several important banking institutions. He is a director of 
two insurance companies. He has large land interests and is 
a potent factor in the commercial problems relating to the great 
grain and produce staples of the country. He has found time 
to take a high and responsible role in Republican politics, to 
show a citizen-like earnestness and a practical capability in 
municipal affairs, and to give a share of his attention to the 
amenities and obligations of social life. 

GEORGE URBAN, father of George Urban, Jr., founder of 
the company which bears his name, was a man of singular 
executive ability and force of character. The elder Urban was 
a native of France, where the Urban family lived for many 
generations in the vicinity of the city of Woerth, in Lower 
Alsace, then a French province, but now a part of Germany. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 121 

For the most part, the Urbans followed the occupation of 
farming. George Urban, Sr., was born Angust 14th, 1820. At 
the age of fifteen, he came to this country with his parents, 
Philip Jacob Urban and Katherine Gass Urban, from Mors- 
brunn, near Woerth, in Alsace, where they both were born. 
In 1835 the Urbans came to Buffalo, having been preceded, 1828, 
by George Gass, Mrs. Philip J. Urban's father. The family 
purchased lands in the northeastern part of Buffalo, extending 
from what is now Fillmore avenue to Moselle street, south of 
Ferry. At the present time Woodlawn and Glenwood avenues 
run through the tract. 

George Urban attended the public schools of Buffalo, and 
when he became of age assumed a position with Manly Colton, 
who carried on a general merchandise business at the corner of 
Main and Genesee streets, and witli whom Mr. Urban remained 
until 1846. In that year he purchased the northeast corner of 
Genesee and Oak streets, where the Urban blocli now stands, 
and set up in the wholesale flour business for himself. In 1870 
his son, George Urban, Jr., was taken into the concern as 
partner, and in 1881 the first roller fiour mill in Buffalo was 
built by them on the lot opposite the original store. The senior 
George Urban was a member of the Buffalo Board of Trade 
from its beginning. He was Vice-President of the Western 
Savings Bank until his death, and for many years served as 
Park Commissioner. 

During the more than half a century of his residence Mr. 
Urban became one of the foremost German-Americans in 
Buffalo, and, indeed, one of the leading citizens of the munici- 
pality. The East Side Park system, including Humboldt 
Parkway and the Parade, owe their existence to his energetic 
and persistent efforts at the time the Buffalo park system was 
planned. He was a man of few words but very determined 
character. He paid strict attention to business and built up a 
valuable property. He was one of the leading millers of 
Western New York. Mr. Urban's chief relaxation from business 



122 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

was floriculture and horticulture, Ms gardens and orchards 
being the finest in Buffalo or its vicinity at that time. 

In 1846 Mr. Urban married Marie Kern, who, like himself, 
was a native of Alsace, where she was born in June, 1828. 
Their children, were George, Caroline and William 0. Urban. 
Mrs. Urban died January 30, 1879. Mr. Urban died October 13, 
1887, at the age of sixty-seven. They are survived by George 
Urban, Jr., and Caroline, widow of the late Tobias Witmer, Jr. 
William C. Urban, now deceased, married Louisa W. Burgard, 
daughter of Peter Burgard. William C. Urban is survived by 
his widow and six children. 

George Urban, Jr., was born in Buffalo July 12, 1850. His 
education was gained at the public schools. At the age of 16 he 
entered his father's wholesale flour business. He showed great 
natural aptitude for the business, and in 1870 became a 
partner, the firm name being Urban «& Co. In 1885, on the 
retirement of the senior Urban from active business, George 
Urban, Jr., became head of the co-partnership, which then 
consisted of George Urban, Jr., E. G. S. Miller and W. C. Urban. 
At the present time Mr. Urban is President of the George Urban 
Milling Company, a vast establishment whose brands of flour 
have become household words and whose output is distributed 
and sold in all sections of the country. In 1903 Mr. Urban 
completed his new mill in Urban street, adjacent to the New 
York Central Belt Line tracks. This mill is one of the most 
complete in existence, and is the first mill in Buffalo to be run 
wholly by electrical motive power, brought from Niagara Falls. 

Mr. Urban is also First Vice-President of the Buffalo General 
Electric Company; First Vice-President of the Cataract Power 
and Conduit Company, and President of the Buffalo and Niagara 
Falls Electric Light and Power Company. He is President of 
the Buffalo Loan, Trust and Safe Deposit Company; Director 
of the Market Bank, and of the Bank of Buffalo, and Director 
of the Buffalo German Insurance Company and of the Buffalo 
Commercial Insurance Company; also a Director of the Buffalo 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 123 

Elevating Company, and a Director of the Ellicott Square 
Company. He was an organizer of the Thomson-Houston 
Electric Light Company, and served as its President until its 
consolidation with other companies as the Buffalo General 
Electric Company, of which he became Vice-President. He was 
an organizer and Director of the Bellevue Land and Improve- " 
ment Company. 

Mr. Urban's politics are Republican. During the eventful 
years 1892-1895, Mr. Urban was Chairman of the Erie County 
Republican General Committee. In 1896 and 1900 Mr. Urban 
was Republican Presidential Elector from Erie County, and in 
1904 Republican Presidential Elector at Large for the State. 
In October, 1875, Mr. Urban married Ada E. Winspear, 
daughter of Pennock Winspear of Cheektowaga. Their 
children are George Pennock Urban, Emma M. Urban, Ada 
Jeannette Urban and Clara Winspear Urban. George P. Urban 
is the Secretary and Treasurer of the Urban Milling Company. 
Mr. Urban is a member of the Buffalo Chamber of Commerce 
and of the ISTew York Produce Exchange. He belongs to the 
Buffalo, Ellicott, Country, Saturn and Park clubs, and is a 
member of the New York Club and the Republican Club of New 
York City, and the Whist Club of Rochester. 

WILLIAM CHARLES URBAN, who died May 17, 1902, 
exemplified a life devoted to useful aims, and measurable only 
by the highest standards of business, social duty and citizen- 
ship. During his connection of many years with that great 
industrial enterprise, the Urban Milling Company, Mr. Urban 
acquired a deserved reputation for superior practical ability. 

Mr. Urban was born in Buffalo July 28, 1861,. the youngest of 
three children, received a public and High School education, and 
on leaving school entered his father's establishment as a book- 
keeper. He showed strong natural aptitude for business, and 
was presently admitted a member of the firm, the other 
partners being his father, his brother, George Urban, Jr., and 



124 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

E. G. S. Miller. April 1, 1897, tlie Urban Milling Company was 
incorporated. William C. Urban's connection with the 
company continued until two years before his death, when ill 
health made it impossible for him actively to participate in the 
business, from which he accordingly retired. After illness 
• compelled him to sever his relationship with the enterprise to 
which he had devoted so great a share of his life, he lived quietly 
at his residence at Pine Eidge. 

June 30, 1886, Mr. Urban married Louisa W. Burgard, 
daughter of Peter and Sarah (Einck) Burgard of Buffalo. He 
is survived by his wife and six children: Grace E., William P., 
Eaymond G., Ada M., Edward B., and Louise C. Urban. 

Mr. Urban was one of those able, sagacious and unpretending 
men who accomplish important results by unobtrusive methods. 
Though of high social standing he belonged to no clubs or 
societies. His tastes were domestic to an unusual degree, and 
he was devoted to his home and family. A man of strong 
religious feeling, he was a devout and consistent member of 
the English Lutheran Church. His circle of friends was wide, 
and his estimable personal qualities contributed to make his 
friendships enduring. 

MAETIN HOWLAND BIEGE, who died October 3, 1900, was 
for over half a century one of the most prominent business men 
of Buffalo, and no resident of that community ever stood more 
deservedly high in the general esteem. 

The Birge family is of English origin. Eichard Birge came 
from England to this country in 1630, in the ship "Mary and 
John," and settled in Dorchester, Mass. His son, Joseph, was 
the father of Joseph, one of the first settlers of Litchfield, Conn. 
Elijah, son of Joseph Birge (2d), was the father of David Birge, 
who. was a soldier of the Eevolution and served under Wash- 
ington at the battles of Long Island, Harlem Heights, White 
Plains, Trenton and Princeton. ; fought in Gen. Stark's army at 
the battle of Bennington; took part in the campaigns of Gates 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 125 

and Schuyler in 1777, and was present at the surrender of 
Burgoyne. He married Abigail Howland, a descendant of 
John Howland, who came over in the Mayflower. Their son, 
Elijah Birge (2d), was born in Lenox, Mass., March 2, 1782, and 
died at Underhill, Vt., April 11, 1854. November 18, 1805, he 
married Mary Olds. During the War of 1812 Elijah Birge (2d) 
was Captain of a company of militia. 

Martin Howland Birge, son of Elijah and Mary Olds Birge, 
was born at Underhill, Chittenden County, Vt., July 30, 1806. 
He attended the district school and the village academy. When 
twenty years old he became clerk in a general store in Middle- 
bury, Vt. After three years he engaged in business for himself, 
and for several years successfully conducted a dry-goods and 
general store in Middlebury. Here he joined the first Total 
Abstinence Society in the State, and though stores then always 
carried a stock of liquors he absolutely refused to sell spirits. 

In 1834 Mr. Birge disposed of his business and journeyed to 
Western New York, intending ultimately to settle in Chicago. 
He was, however, induced to remain in Buffalo, where he 
opened a store for the sale of dry-goods and paper hangings. 
The business prospered for about three years, and then came 
the financial panic of 1837, in which Mr. Birge suffered with 
others. Hundreds of men were going into bankruptcy, but he 
firmly refused to take advantage of the Bankruptcy Act. What 
cash he could raise he turned over to his creditors; his splendid 
reputation for honor and capability enabled him to continue in 
business and he resolutely set to work to pay his indebtedness 
in full. By 1846 he had paid every dollar of his obligations. 
The same year he sold his dry-goods business, thereafter 
devoting himself to paper hangings exclusively, building up the 
largest trade in that line in this section of the State. In 1878 
Mr. Birge organized the firm of M. H. Birge & Sons and founded 
the first paper hangings factory west of New York City. The 
enterprise was enlarged until the manufactory became the best 
equipped of its kind in the United States. In 1892 Mr. Birge 



126 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

disposed of Ms interests to his sons and retired from business 
after an active career of sixty-six years. 

October 21, 1836, Mr. Birge married Elizabeth Ann Kingsley, 
daughter of the Kev. Phineas Kingsley and Parnel (Keith) of 
Sheldon, Vt. Mrs. Birge was born in Rutland, Vt., August 15, 
1812. The children of the marriage were: Julia Elizabeth, Mary 
Olds, George Kingsley, and Henry Martin Birge. 

GEORGE KINGSLEY BIRGE, President of M. H. Birge & 
Sons Company, is a life-long resident of Buffalo, one of the 
industrial leaders of that city, and head of one of the largest 
wall-paper manufacturing concerns in the United States. In 
addition to his business pursuits Mr. Birge is a prominent 
factor in Buffalo's general interests. 

Mr. Birge was born in Buffalo December 19, 1849, and was 
educated in the public schools, Buffalo Academy and Cornell 
University. Upon leaving the university he entered the wall- 
paper establishment of his father, the late Martin H. Birge, and 
was soon admitted partner, the firm style being M. H. Birge & 
Company. Later Henry M. Birge became a member of the 
house, which became M. H. Birge & Sons. This partnership 
continued until 1890, when it sold out to the National Wall 
Paper Company. In 1900 the original proprietors bought back 
the business, establishing the corporation since widely known as 
the M. H. Birge & Sons Company, of which George K. Birge is 
President. The house maintains branch offices in Chicago, New 
York, San Francisco, St. Louis, Boston, and London, England, 
and its products are sold throughout the United States, Europe, 
South America, South Africa and Australia. The designing of 
wall paper has been raised by the Birge Company from the 
status of mere trade work to that of artistic decoration. In 
1896, Mr. Birge reorganized the George N. Pierce Company, 
which was then engaged in the manufacture of bicycles, but is 
now one of the foremost automobile concerns in the country. 

When the Pan-American Exposition was organized, Mr. 



MEIVIOBIAL AND FAMILY HIS^OEY. 127 

Birge was elected a directoi' and a member of the Executive 
Committee. But one of the most difficult functions of the enter- 
prise rested with the Building Committee, of which Mr. Birge 
was also a member, his associates being J. N. Scratcherd, Col. 
T. W. Symons, Carlton Sprague, and Harry Hamlin. The work 
was so divided that upon Messrs. Scratcherd, Birge and Sprague 
devolved the task of erecting the numerous and beautiful 
buildings of the Exposition. 

Mr. Birge is a trustee of the Pine Arts Academy, and a 
member of the Historical Society. He belongs to the Arts Club 
of New York City, and for several years was one of its Vice- 
Presidents. He is also a member of the Buifalo, Saturn and 
Country clubs. 

Mr. Birge married Carrie Humphrey, a daughter of the Hon. 
James M. Humphrey, who represented Buffalo in Congress 
during the Civil War period and later received the honors of 
the bench. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Birge are Humphrey, 
Marion and Allithea Birge. 

JACOB P. SCHOELLKOPP. America suffers many wrongs 
through undesirable immigration from' Europe; America also 
enjoys the precious privilege of being sought as the future home 
of many of Europe's sons who come prepared and equipped 
for sharing in full measure in the boundless opportunities which 
constitute the priceless offering of America to humanity. From 
no other foreign land has there come a people so richly endowed 
with characteristics so eminently qualifying them for intelli- 
gent and loyal citizenship as from Germany. Jacob F. Schoell- 
kopf was a splendid type of that powerful race. A Prince of 
Industry, he was the peer if not the leading citizen of his gen- 
eration and time in the development of the city of Buffalo. 

Jacob P. Schoellkopf was born in Kirchheim-unter-Teck, a 
small town in the Kingdom of Wurtemberg, Germany, 
November 15, 1819. He attended the schools of his native place, 
and was at fourteen years of age apprenticed for five years to 



128 MEMOEIAL AND FAMILY HISTOEY. 

the trade of tanner under his father; his grandfather also 
having been a tanner. Completing his work he clerked in a 
mercantile house for two years. The United States had just 
begun to attract large numbers of German emigrants to her 
shores and ambitious young Schoellkopf, with characteristic 
courage and foresight, determined to try the fortunes of the 
less economic conditions returning messages brought of the 
opportunities this country offered. 

He landed in New York City in December, 1841, when twenty- 
two years of age. Totally ignorant of the English language, he 
accepted the readiest employment that offered, and naturally 
reverted to his old trade. He quickly acquired the language, 
and after spending two years in New York and the West, he was 
attracted to Buffalo in 1844, when with |800 capital advanced 
him as a loan by his father, he launched his independent 
business career, by establishing a small leather store on 
Mohawk street. The same year he purchased a small tannery at 
White's Corners (now Hamburg), which he contracted to pay 
for in six years. In 1846 he started a sheepskin tannery in 
Buffalo; two years later he built a tannery in Milwaukee, the 
firm being G. Pfister & Co. Two years later he became 
interested in another in Chicago, the firm being C. T. Grey & 
Co., remaining in that firm until 1856. 

Both the Milwaukee and Chicago tanneries have been in 
continuous and successful operation up to the present time, 
though Mr. Schoellkopf disposed of his interests soon after 
they were established. In 1853 he started another tannery at 
Fort Wayne, Indiana, and in 1854 another at North Evans, New 
York, the latter of which he operated with unusual success for 
twenty years. In 1857 Mr. Schoellkopf made his first departure 
from the tanning industry, by erecting the North Buffalo 
Flouring Mills. His great business ability won him unparalleled 
success in this new field and he ultimately became one of the 
largest operators of flouring mills in the Empire State. He 
bought the Frontier Mills of Buffalo in 1870 and later erected 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 129 

extensive flouring mills and a large brewery at Niagara Falls, 
utilizing the immense water power at this point by means of a 
system of canals connecting with the rapids in the Niagara 
Eiver, an enterprise now under the control of the Niagara Falls 
Hydraulic Power and Manufacturing Company, of which Mr. 
Schoellkopf was President. He was senior partner in one of 
the largest sheepskin tanneries in the United States, located on 
Mississippi street. At the time of his death he was senior 
member of the famous milling firm of Schoellkopf and 
Mathews. 

Having displayed such signal ability in the handling of his 
own great business interests he became much sought to serve 
upon the directorates of several large corporate enterprises in 
which he had become interested by way of investment. He was 
Vice-President of the Buffalo, New York and Philadelphia 
Kailroad , prior to its sale to the Western New York and 
Pennsylvania Company. lEe was many years Vice-President of 
the Third National Bank of Buffalo, was a Director in White's 
Bank and the Merchants' and German banks of Buffalo, and 
was at the time of his death a Director in several other banks in 
Buffalo and Niagara Falls. He was a Director and President 
of the Citizens' Gas Company, and a trustee of the Buffalo 
General Hospital until his death. 

In 1877 he purchased the Hydraulic Canal at Niagara Falls, 
N. Y., where he subsequently established large manufacturing 
enterprises. This Canal has since been continuously enlarged 
and improved by the Niagara Falls Hydraulic Power and 
Manufacturing Company, Mr. Schoellkopf being President of 
this company at the time of his death. 

Sueh is but a brief review of some of the salient features in 
a busy life well spent. Of one who with no fortuitous advan- 
tages, began at the bottom rung of the industrial ladder and by 
industry and ability won a high position among his fellow men- 
by deserving it. The story of his eventful life reveals a many- 
sided man. Pre-eminently a business man of great ability and 
capacity for large undertakings, he ranked among the great 



130 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

men of his day; as a banker and financier he displayed the same 
unerring judgment, and keen foresight, that ranked him 
among the leading financiers of the city. As a public-spirited 
citizen, he placed at the disposal of the city and its institutions 
his best talents and gave much of his time and means to further 
the interests of both. A man of deep and abiding religious 
sentiment, the one predominant attribute of his nature was his 
devotion to the Church and its institutions, and he was ever a 
liberal contributor to their material needs. A man of generous 
impulses his charities were many and widely distributed. 

Personally he was the kindest hearted of men. His gospel 
work was annotated by a large measure of human interest in 
everything that concerned the physical, moral or spiritual 
welfare of the community. Mr. Schoellkopf left a fragrant 
memory that will long be cherished in the hearts of a wide circle 
of friends and acquaintances and all who knew his sterling 
worth. Mr. Schoellkopf passed away September the 15th, 1899. 

In 1848 Mr. Schoellkopf married Miss Christiana Duerr, an 
estimable lady who was born in Germany and who came to this 
country soon after her future husband's arrival. She proved a 
helpmeet indeed, and to her encouragement and faithful 
companionship may no doubt be very justly credited a large 
measure of the success achieved by her illustrious husband. 
She survived her husband, passing away October 13, 1903. 
Their children were: Henry Schoellkopf, born December 22, 
1848, died February 20, 1880, was married to Emily Vogel of 
Milwaukee, Wis.; Louis Schoellkopf, born March 28, 1855, died 
July 21, 1901, was married to Myra Lee Horton of Sheffield, Pa. ; 
Arthur Schoellkopf, born June 13, 1856, married Jessie Gluck 
of Niagara Falls, N. Y.; J. F. Schoellkopf, born February 27, 
1858, married Wilma Spring of Stuttgart, Germany? Alfred 
Schoellkopf, born July 1st, 1860, died October 12, 1901, married 
Emily Graeby of Niagara Falls, N. Y. ; Hugo Schoellkopf, born 
July 6, 1862, married Emmie Annette of Fort Lee, N. J., and 
Helena Schoellkopf, born April 14, 1870, married Hans Schmidt 
of Hanover, Germany. Tour children died in infancy. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



131 



HENRY SCHOELLKOPP, whose death occurred on the 27th 
of February, 1880, was a man of strong personality and great 
force of character, and one who achieved for himself an 
acknowledged place in the industrial world. A son of Jacob F. 
Schoellkopf, Sr., whose large manufacturing enterprises occupy 
so important a page in the industrial annals of Western New 
York, Henry Schoellkopf was both by inherited inclination and 
by natural environment 
attracted toward the 
manufacturing field. His 
abilities and his fidelity 
to duty were such as to 
command the implicit 
confidence of those with 
whom he was thrown into 
business relations, and 
onlj^ a year or two after 
obtaining his majority he 
became his father's part- 
ner. The period when 
this association began 
was one in which the un- 
dertakings of the elder 
Schoellkopf were, com- 
paratively speaking, at 
an initiative stage of 
progress. 

Henry Schoellkopf was born in Buffalo December 22, 1848. 
He was the eldest of the children of Jacob F. Schoellkopf, Sr., 
and his father did not feel in a position to give him the educa- 
tional advantages he was able later to provide for the other 
children, ail of whom received thorough classical educations in 
Germany. Henry Schoellkopf also studied in Germany, but 
early left school and went to work, soon becoming closely asso- 
ciated with his father in the latter's great business interests. 




HENKY SCHOELLKOPF. 



132 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

In 1870 was formed the firm of J. P. Schoellkopf & Son, in 
which Henry Schoellkopf was the junior partner, and which was 
engaged on an extensive scale in the tanning business, the 
manufacture of sole leather, dealing in sheepskins, and allied 
branches of trade. Subsequently, by the admission of the 
other sons into the business, the firm became known as J. F. 
Schoellkopf & Sons. 

In 1874 Henry Schoellkopf married Emily Vogel of Milwau- 
kee, Wisconsin. Their children are: Two daughters, Elsie and 
Paula, and a son, Henry. Miss Elsie Schoellkopf married Kai 
Von Rumohr', an officer in the German Army, stationed at 
Schwerin, wliere he and his family reside. Miss Paula married 
Gustav Reuss, a Banker in Milwaukee. Henry Schoellkopf, 
Jr., son of Henry Schoellkopf and Emily Vogel, was educated at 
Cornell University and at Harvard. He is now a practicing 
lawyer at Milwaukee, Wisconsin. 

LOUIS SCHOELLKOPF, who died on the 7th day of July, 
1901, was well known in the business life of Buffalo and Niagara 
Falls, and was an example of a strong, persistent, self-contained 
man, who pursued his aims with resolution, acted with uniform 
consistency of judgment and attained successful results. Mr. 
Schoellkopf was prominent, not only in commerce and manu- 
facture but in social aff'airs. Though neither a holder nor a 
seeker of public office, he was a man of defined political 
convictions and had a citizen-like conception of duty. A native 
of Buffalo, his character and his career were chiefly identified 
with this city, and he always had an active concern for its 
welfare. As an individual who commanded esteem, he 
possessed a wide circle of friends, and as a man of culture and 
experience, his opinions were universally respected. Mr. 
Schoellkopf occupied a noteworthy sphere of usefulness and 
belonged to that class of men whose abilities and fidelity to 
obligation have constituted the best elements in the business 
and social life of our city. 

Mr. Schoellkopf was born in Buffalo March 25th, 1855. He 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 133 

was son of the late Jacob F. Schoellkopf, whose reputation as a 
builder up of industries at once great and permanent has 
survived its possessor. Belief in education and willingness to 
spend time and take pains in gaining it is a characteristic of the 
Schoellkopf family, and Louis Schoellkopf was no exception to 
the rule. In his childhood and youth his tuition was unusually 
careful and sound. Until he was ten years old he attended 
private schools. His father having a high opinion of German 
thoroughness in educational matters, the lad was soon sent to 
Germany, where he studied for four years. Upon his return 
to Buffalo the knowledge he had acquired was supplemented 
by further instruction by private teachers, by a course of study 
in St. Joseph's College, and by a system of practical training in 
Bryant & Stratton's Business College. 

At the age of eighteen Mr. Schoellkopf resolved to master 
the details of the tannery business, and accordingly went to 
work in his father's tannery. He rai)idly acquired a compre- 
hensive knowledge of the industry, and in 1877 began business 
on his own account, forming with his brother Henry a partner- 
ship under the firm name of J. F. Schoellkopf's Sons. The 
venture was successful, and the co-partnership continued until 
the death of Henry Schoellkopf in 1880. The same year a new 
firm was organized, its members being Louis and Alfred P. 
Schoellkopf and John Russ. This also proved a profitable 
enterprise, the concern being ably managed and acquiring a 
durable prosperity. 

Aside from his tannery business, Mr. Schoellkopf was 
engaged in many other undertakings. Much of his time was 
devoted to his affairs in Niagara Falls, where he was interested 
in the Power City Bank, the Niagara Falls Hydraulic Power & 
Manufacturing Company, the International Hotel and the Cliff 
Paper Company. 

In politics Mr. Schoellkopf was a Eepublican, and was a 
member of the Buffalo Republican League. He was faithful 
to his political principles, but had no aspirations toward office 
or leadership, and was not what is called an active politician. 



134 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

In social life he was highly regarded. He was a member of the 
Ellicott Club, the Orpheus Singing Society and the Westminster 
Club. He also belonged to the Merchants' Exchange and the 
Charity Organization Society. He attended the Westminster 
Presbyterian Church. 

On the 18th of May, 1881, Mr. Schoellkopf was united in mar- 
riage to Myra Lee Horton, of Sheffield, Pennsylvania. Their 
children are Walter Horton and Genevieve. 

ARTHUE SCHOELLKOPF, one of the ablest of the strong 
group of industrial leaders who have developed the resources 
of Niagara Falls, though his business enterprises chiefly belong 
to the Cataract City, is nevertheless by birth, family connec- 
tions and social ties so much identified with Buffalo that the 
latter city may well lay a claim to him. Mr. Schoellkopf is a 
member of the family whose name is synonymous with 
industrial progress in Western New York. His father, Jacob 
F. Schoellkopf, was not only one of the greatest manufacturers, 
financiers and directors of corporate interests in Buffalo, but 
was a pioneer in the utilization of the hydraulic power of 
Niagara Falls, and the sons of the elder Schoellkopf have 
worthily maintained and greatly amplified the immense 
industries committed to their charge. A bare list of the enter- 
prises in which he is a leading factor would show a surprisingly 
varied field of activities, and in whatever he has undertaken 
he has been successful. He is pre-eminently an able, broad- 
minded and public-spirited man, and holds an undisputed place 
among the foremost citizens of Western New York. 

Arthur Schoellkopf was born in Buffalo on the 13th of June, 
1856. The rudimentary education of Arthur Schoellkopf was 
received in private schools in his native city. As a youth, he 
was sent to Germany, where for four years he pursued his 
studies at the Academy at Kirchheim, in the province of 
Wuertemberg. In 1869 he returned to Buffalo, where he became 
a student at St. Joseph's College, later taking a course at 
Bryant & Stratton's Business College. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



135 



His education being completed, in 1873 Mr. Schoellkopf 
entered the North Buffalo and Frontier Mills, operated by 
Thornton & Chester, and afterward by Schoellkopf & Matthews. 
Here he remained for the next four years, gaining a compre- 
hensive knowledge of the milling business, and in 1877 becoming 
part owner of the Niagara Flouring Mill at Niagara Falls. This 
mill having a daily capacity of 2,000 barrels, is among the most 
important in this section 
of the State. Mr. Schoell- 
kopf is now President of 
the Niagara Falls Milling 
Co., which includes the 
Central Mill Avith the 
Niagara Flouring Mill, 
with a combined output 
of 4,000 barrels daily. 

In 1878 Mr. Schoellkopf 
and his father organized 
the Niagara Falls 
Hydraulic Power and 
Manufacturing Company, 
of which Jacob F. Schoell- 
kopf was made President 
and Arthur Schoellkopf 
Secretary, Treasurer and 
General Manager. 
Formed to develop the 

Hydraulic Canal and to furnish water power for other mills in 
the locality, the establishment of this company marked an era 
in the industrial progress of Niagara Falls. 

A striking illustration of Mr. Schoellkopf's enterprise and 
initiative is found in the fact that he built the first street 
railway at Niagara Falls, personally managed it for seven 
years and put it on a paying basis. The road, known as the 
Niagara Falls and Suspension Bridge Street Railway, was 




ARTHUR SCHOELLKOPF. 



136 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTOBX. 

finished July 4, 1883, and Mr. Schoellkopf continued its manager 
till 1890, when he disposed of his interest. 

Arthur Schoellkopf and his father were the founders of the 
Brush Electric Light Company of Niagara Palls, and the former 
is prominently connected with many enterprises aside from 
those of a strictly industrial character. He is President of the 
Power City Bank, a Director of the Bank of Niagara, President 
of the Cliff Paper Company, stockholder. Director and President 
of the International Hotel Company, which owns the hand- 
some International Hotel and Theatre near Prospect Park. 

In politics Mr. Schoellkopf is a Kepublican. He has repeat- 
edly been called to responsible official positions and in public 
life is characterized by sound common sense and sterling 
citizenship rather than by close adherence to political lines of 
conduct. When the municipality was a village he was one of 
its first Sewer Commissioners. In March, 1896, he was elected 
Mayor. 

Mr. Schoellkopf is a member of Niagara Frontier Lodge No. 
132, P. & A. M., Knights Templar and of Ismailia Temple, 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine of Buffalo. He was also exalted 
Euler of Lodge No. 346, Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks. He belongs to the Niagara Palls Chamber of Commerce, 
the Ellicott Club of Buffalo, and a member and Trustee of the 
First Presbyterian Church of Niagara Palls. 

October 13th, 1880, Mr. Schoellkopf was united in marriage 
to Miss Jessie Gluck, a daughter of Alva Gluck of Niagara 
Palls. 

JACOB P. SCHOELLKOPF, founder of the Schoellkopf 
Aniline and Chemical Works of this city, is one of Buffalo's 
principal manufacturers and financiers and is a leading factor 
in many industrial and other enterprises, the respective fields 
of Mr. Schoellkopf's activities being found in several sections 
of the Eastern and Middle States. Mr. Schoellkopf is not only 
an eminent man of business, but in his particular province is a 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 137 

technical expert of a high ordei', having all his life made a 
special study of chemistry and having in his early youth and 
earlier maturity enjoyed the advantages of the most advanced 
and comprehensive training which Germany affords in that 
science. Mr. Schoellkopf is also a man of thorough general 
education. His extensive acquirements have been applied to 
practical uses, and he is connected in high official capacities 
with a large number of manufacturing and financial 
corporations. 

Mr. Schoellkopf was born in Buffalo February 27th, 1858. 
His father was the late Jacob F. Schoellkopf, well-known as 
the founder of many of the leading industries of Buffalo and 
Niagara Falls. In his boyhood the son attended the local 
public schools and later studied at St. Joseph's College. After 
leaving that institution he went to Germany, where, during 
the seven years from 1873 to 1880 he pursued a severe course 
of study at Munich and at Stuttgart. At the latter place he 
made a specialty of chemistry, graduating from the Polytechnic 
College in Stuttgart in 1880. 

At the close of his university career in Germany, Mr. Schoell- 
kopf retui'ned to Buffalo and engaged in business. His chemical 
studies had directed his attention to the subject of coal tar 
dyes, and he had arrived at the conclusion that the American 
market offered a great field for these products. The outcome 
was the establishment of the Schoellkopf Aniline and Chemical 
Works, which were founded by Mr. Schoellkopf shortly after 
his return to Buffalo and -which constitute the most extensive 
plant of the kind on the continent, the business being operated 
by the Schoellkopf, Hartford & Hanna Company, of which Mr. 
Schoellkopf is President. The enterprise has $3,000,000 capital, 
employs 350 men and pays |15,000 monthly in wages. The 
plant embraces about thirty-six acres of land, including thirty 
brick buildings. It has superb shipping facilities and possesses 
unequaled special equipments. 

Mr. Schoellkopf is President of the American Magnesia and 



138 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Covering Company, located at Plymouth Meeting, near 
Philadelphia; Vice-President of the Commonwealth Trust 
Company and of the Central National Bank; and a Director of 
the Columbia National Bank and of the Security, Safe Deposit 
Company. He is also a Director of the Niagara Palls Hydraulic 
Power and Manufacturing Company; a Director of the National 
Aniline and Chemical Company of New York; also of the Cliff 
Paper Company of Niagara Falls and of the International Hotel 
Company of the same place. He is also interested in the New 
York State Steel Company. 

Though as has been indicated, Mr. Schoellkopf is a man of 
diverse occupations and one whose duties are arduous in an 
unusual degree, yet he does not permit himself to be absorbed 
in business to the exclusion of all other pursuits. His connec- 
tions with organizations other than those of a financial or 
industrial character are noticeably with bodies dealing with 
serious or scientific subjects. He is a member of the Buffalo 
Historical Society, of the National Geographical Society of 
Washington, D. C, and of the American Society for Political 
and Social Science. He is also a trustee of the Buffalo General 
Hospital. 

In 1882 Mr. Schoellkopf married Wilma Spring of Stuttgart, 
Germany. Their children are: Jacob F., born May 3, 1883, who 
is a graduate of Cornell University, Class of 1905, and who is 
now at Strasburg University, Germany; and Ruth Wilma, born 
May 30th, 1899, and Esther Spring, born June 27, 1901, who 
resides at the family home in Buffalo. 

ALFRED SCHOELLKOPF. By the death of Alfred Schoell- 
kopf, who departed this life on the 12th of October, 1901, was 
lost to the community a man of superior business ability and 
of strict integrity, a manufacturer and financier who in each 
of these departments of enterprise proved himself thoroughly 
qualified for the direction of important undertakings, and a 
citizen who in all relationships, civil, social or domestic, 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 139 

commanded and deserved esteem. Mr. Sclioellkopf was cut off 
in his prime, at the time of his decease being in his forty-first 
year. His death was the more deeply deplored because it 
destroyed a bright future. Mr. Schoellkopf had a wide circle of 
friends, and the large interests with which he was connected 
made him well known in the business world. His amiable 
nature endeared him to many, and in his home and family 
relations he was an ideal character. 

Alfred Schoellkopf was born in Buffalo on the 1st of July, 
1860. Business talents and the spirit of enterprise were his by 
inheritance, for he was one of the sons of the late Jacob F. 
Schoellkopf, who was among the most celebrated captains of 
industry Buffalo has ever known, and whose immense enter- 
prises in the tannery, milling, hydraulic power and general 
manufacturing fields made his name famous throughout the 
State. Alfred Schoellkopf obtained his preparatory education 
in the public schools and later pursued a course of study at 
St. Joseph's College. After finishing his career as a student 
he became associated with his father in the latter's great 
tannery establishment in Mississippi Street, the specialty of 
the concern being the tanning of sheepskins. Alfred Schoell- 
kopf exhibited unusual business capability and excellent 
executive powers, ' and in all respects acquitted himself 
admirably of the important responsibilities committed to him. 

The elder Schoellkopf 's canal and hydraulic projects at 
Niagara Falls offered brilliant opportunities for a young 
business man of energy and grasp of affairs, and soon Alfred 
Schoellkopf became identified with the Niagara Falls Hydraulic 
Power and Manufacturing Company, of which at the time of 
his death he was a Director. Mr. Schoellkopf's connection with 
Niagara Falls interests led to his entering the sphere of pure 
finance as a Director of the Power City Bank. 

The biography of Mr. Schoellkopf from the period of his early 
manhood when he made his first entry into business to the 
time of his decease is a continuous record of earnest and 



140 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

successful endeavor. Mr. Sclioellkopf was an example of the 
man of affairs whose increase of capability steadily keeps pace 
with the accumulation of experience. He was, in a word, what 
is popularly characterized ■ as "a growing man." Naturally of 
fine abilities, as he progressed in the business world he con- 
stantly developed new resources, and was a large and valuable 
factor in the great undertakings with which he was concerned. 
Liberal in his views, he instinctively grasped the spirit of 
American industrialism. He believed in the future of Buffalo 
and in that of the Niagara Frontier, and in the two munici- 
palities wherein his interests lay and where his life labors were 
performed he was invariably in line with advancement, and 
was recognized as belonging to the class of citizens who form 
the progressive elements of the community. 

The lamented death of Mr. Schoellkopf occurred on the 12th 
of October, 1901. At the time when he was called from this 
life he had reached the stage of his career when, still retaining 
the energy of youth and having combined with it the advantages 
of extensive experience, he was better prepared than ever for 
important achievements. His decease was a deplorable loss to 
the industrialism and the citizenship of Western New York. 

Mr. Schoellkopf was married, the maiden name of his wife 
having been Emily Graebe. At the time of her marriage she 
was a resident of Niagara Falls. Mr. Schoellkopf is survived 
by his widow and three children, Lucia, William Graebe, and 
Emily. 

C. P. HUGO SCHOELLKOPF, who is officially and financially 
identified with several of the chief manufacturing industries of 
Buffalo, is widely and favorably known as a business man, a 
citizen and an individual of high educational attainments and 
distinguished family and social connections. Mr. Schoellkopf 
is an instance of a scion of a notable stock worthily maintaining 
the traditions of his house. 

Mr. Schoellkopf is a native of Buffalo, having been born in 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 141 

this city on the 6th of July, 1862. Until he was past sixteen, 
Hugo Schoellkopf pursued his education in the Buffalo public 
schools. In 1877 he went to Germany, there entering the 
Oberrealschule in Stuttgart and subsequently becoming a 
student at the Polytechnic College of the same city. Later he 
took a course in chemistry at the Polytechnic College in Berlin. 

Having completed his studies, in 1885 Mr. Schoellkopf 
returned to Buffalo and immediately entered the Schoellkopf 
Aniline and Chemical Works, with which he has since been 
connected. 

A man of thorough scientific training and possessing a sound 
knowledge of chemistry, Mr. Schoellkopf soon found himself 
very much in demand. Besides his many years of connection 
with the Schoellkopf Aniline and Chemical Works, Mr. Schoell- 
kopf occupies a leading place in relation to other manufacturing 
concerns of importance. He is Treasurer of the Schoellkopf, 
Hartford & Hanna Company, the firm which operates the 
Schoellkopf, Analine and Chemical Works, a director of the 
National Aniline and Chemical Company, Vice-President of the 
Contact Process Company, a corporation closely allied to the 
Schoellkopf, Hartford & Hanna Company above referred to. 
Treasurer of the Shafer Fruit and Cold Storage Company, 
President of the Canandaigua Brewing Company, a Director of 
the Central National Bank, and interested largely in the 
American Magnesia a^d Covering Company. 

In social life, Mr. Schoellkopf is connected with several 
leading organizations. He has a keen interest in musical 
culture and is a life member of the Orpheus Society of Buffalo. 
He is a 32d degree Mason, is affiliated with Ancient Landmarks 
Lodge No. 441, P. and A. M. and the Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, 
the Order of Elks and the EUicott and Launch Clubs. 

In 1890 Mr. Schoellkopf was united in marriage to Miss 
Emily Annette, of Fort Lee, New Jersey. They have one son, 
Alfred H. Schoellkopf. 



142 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

SIDWAY FAMILY. The Sidway family of Buffalo is of 
English origin. James Sidway of Dudley Woodside, England, 
came to America about the time of the Revolutionary War. 
Entering the Continental army as a drummer-boy in Capt. 
Henry Godwin's company of Col. Wessenfel's New York Regi- 
ment, he served until the regiment was mustered out. He died 
in Buffalo March 18, 1836. llis grave in Forest Lawn Cemetery 
was the first one marked by Buffalo Chapter, Daughters of the 
American Revolution. 

James Sidway married Rebecca Milks August 14, 1781. They 
had two sons, Williiam and Jonathan. The pioneer history of 
navigation interests on the Great Lakes is woven with the life 
of Jonathan Sidway. Jonathan Sidway was born in Goshen, 
N. Y., on the 1st of April, 1784. He came to Buffalo about 
1812. Here he was at first engaged in the shipping business. 
Jonathan Sidway married I'arnell St. John, daughter of 
Gamaliel C. and Margaret K. St. John of Buffalo, January 1, 
1826. Mrs. Sidway was born June 6th, 1801, at Aurelius, near 
Auburn, Cayuga County, N. Y., and died April 29, 1879. She 
was in her thirteenth year when the town was burned by the 
British and Indians in 1813. It is an interesting fact that the 
St. John house, which was located on the Avest side of Main 
street about midway between Court and Mohawk streets, was 
the only house left standing. Of the nine children, the following 
grew to maturity: Katherine (Mrs. Asaph S. Bemis) of Buffalo; 
Jonathan, who married Caroline B. Taunt of Buffalo; Franklin 
and James Henry Sidway. 

The death of Jonathan Sidway, senior, occurred on July 21, 
1847. 

Franklin Sidway, son of Jonathan Sidway, is one of Buffalo's 
leading citizens. Mr. SidAvay's business activities have covered 
a period of many years and have represented commercial pur- 
suits, banking, land and many other interests. In addition to 
his business enterprises, Mr. Sidway has always borne a 
prominent part in the social life and general citizenship of 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 143 

Buffalo. He was born in Buffalo July 23, 1834, educated in 
private schools, Canandaigua Academy, George W. Francis's 
school at Yonkers, and other institutions. He made a trip to 
Europe in 1853. On his return to Buffalo he organized the 
firm of Sidway, Skinner & Moore, general ship chandlers and 
grocers, and the partnership continued to exist to the time of 
the Civil War. 

About the middle period of the war Mr. Sidway was com- 
missioned Colonel of Volunteers, with authority to raise a 
regiment. He recruited several companies, but owing to the 
fact that the payment of bounties was stopped about the time 
he began to organize the regiment, the organization was not 
completed, and the men were afterward transferred to another 
regiment. 

Later he became Cashier and afterwards Vice-President of 
the Farmers' & Mechanics' National Bank, and continued until 
the affairs of the institution were wound up in 1898. 

Mr. Sidway has served as Trustee of the Buffalo Savings 
Bank and the Buffalo City Cemetery (Forest Lawn). He is at 
the present timie identified with many business interests. He is 
a life member of the Buffalo Library, a member of the Historical 
Society and former Treasurer and a trustee of the Buffalo 
General Hospital. He has all his life preserved a keen interest 
in athletics and out-door sports. He was a member of the old 
Forester Gun Club, was one of the first four-oared crews ever 
organized in Buffalo, and was President of the Buffalo Toxo- 
philiter, the Archery Club of Buffalo. He is a member and 
Ex-President of the Buffalo Club, was for a number of years 
President of the Falcon wood Club; and at the present time 
belongs to the Country and Ellicott clubs. 

In 1866 Mr. Sidway married Miss Charlotte Spaulding, 
daughter of the late Hon. Elbridge Gerry Spaulding. The 
surviving children are: Harold Spaulding, a resident of Pitts- 
field, Massachusetts, married Mary Chase of Buffalo. They have 
two children, James and Franklin; Frank St. John; Edith, who 



144 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



married William Allan Gardner, have two children, William 
Hamilton, and Nancy Strong Gardner; Clarence Spaulding, 
married Genevieve C. Kingston, daughter of Edward J. 
Hingston of Buffalo. They have two children, Elbridge 
Spaulding and Charlotte. 

A life rich in promise, but cut short ere its fruition, was that 
of James H. Sidway, brother of Franklin Sidway. James H. 
Sidway, who was Assistant Foreman of Taylor Hose No. 1, of 
the old Volunteer Fire Department, suffered death by a deplor- 
able fatality at the early age of twenty-five, being instantly 
killed January 25, 1865, at the American Hotel fire, in Buffalo. 



FRANK ST. JOHN SIDWAY, lawyer and business man, is a 

representative example of 
Buffalo's best class of 
citizenship. Mr. Sidway 
is a grandson of E. G. 
Spaulding, the illustrious 
financier who devised the 
Government's currency 
measures during the Civil 
War. The subject of this 
sketch was born in 
Buffalo December 5, 1869. 
He was educated at 
Phillips-Exeter Academy 
and Harvard University, 
later entering the Buffalo 
Law School, from which 
he Avas graduated in 1894. 
The same year he was ad- 
mitted to the bar from 
the law offices of Lewis, 
Moot & Lewis, and began the practice of his profession in 
Buffalo, where he has built up a large and valuable business. 




FBANK ST. JOHN SIDWAY. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 145 

He devotes himself chiefly to office practice and to the manage- 
ment of estates. 

Early in his career, Mr. Sidway became identified with the 
National Guard. In March, 1894, he entered the service as 
Second Lieutenant of Company B, 74th Kegiment; a year later 
was commissioned First Lieutenant, and in the fall of 1897 
was elected Captain. When war was declared against Spain 
he organized Company C, 202d Regiment, and was chosen its 
Captain, being one of the first four captains to be mustered in. 
He went to Cuba, served through the campaign, and his regi- 
ment was the first body of United States troops to enter 
Havana. April 15, 1899, Captain Sidway was mustered out, 
and on his return to Buffalo was chosen Captain of Company 
B, 74th Regiment, which rank he held until his resignation, 
October 1, 1902. 

Mr. Sidway is a member of the Buffalo and Saturn Clubs, the 
Buffalo Historical Society, the United Spanish War Veterans 
and the Naval and Military Order of the Spanish American 
War, and a life member of the Buffalo Library and the Buffalo 
Fine Arts Academy. 

Mr. Sidway married Amelia Roberts, daughter of the Hon. 
James A. Roberts, former Conii)troller of the State of New 
York, on April 16, 1903. They have one daughter, Margaret 
St. John. 

WILLIAM H. WALKER. By the death of William H. 
Walker Buffalo lost one of her foremost citizens. A repre- 
sentative man of business, his pursuits were directed along the 
kindred lines of commerce and finance and he won success in 
both. He was one of Buffalo's staunch, conservative men of 
affairs. He was a practical philanthropist, a friend of educa- 
tion and culture and a pillar of religion and charity. 

William Henry Walker was born in Utica, N. Y., August 20, 
1826, and was a son of Stephen Walker, a well-known builder 
in that city. The elder Walker came with his family to Buffalo 



146 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



in 1832. He was educated In the public schools, Buffalo 
Academy, and the Albany Law School. When eighteen years 
old he entered the employ of Orrin P. Kamsdell, one of the 
pioneer wholesale shoe dealers of Buffalo, as a clerk, and was 
admitted to partnership in 1856. In 1876 the firm was dissolved 
and Mr. Walker continued the business alone. Under his 
management the enterprise prospered greatly, and the house 

which he established has 
become one of the largest 
and most reliable in 
Western New York, its 
trade extending through- 
out New York, Pennsyl- 
vania and Ohio, and into 
the far Western States. 
He was also First Vice- 
President of the Fidelity 
Trust Company. He was 
active in religious, philan- 
thropic and educational 
matters and aided such 
causes in a substantial 
way by gifts and ener- 
getic support. He was a 

« 

deeply religious man, and 
a member of St. Paul's 
Church. He served as 
Warden and member of the Junior Vestry of St. Paul's, and 
when the church was destroyed by fire in 1888 he was among 
the foremost in furthering the restoration of the edifice. He 
was a member of the Standing Committee of the Diocese of 
Western New York, from 1866 to the time of his death. He was 
a Trustee of Hobart College; an active member of the Mer- 
chants' Exchange, of which lie also served as Vice-President; 
a member and former President of the Buffalo Clearing House 




WILLIAM H. WALKEB. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 147 

Association; a Director and a leading supporter of the Young 
Men's Christian Association; Vice-President of the Buffalo 
General Hospital, of which at the time of his death he was 
Acting President; a life member of the Buffalo Historical 
Society, and a member of the Buffalo Club. 

October 21, 1869, Mr. Walker married Miss Edith Kimberley, 
a daughter of the late John L. Kimberley of Buffalo. Mrs. 
Walker was a woman of noble qualities of mind and heart. 
The death of Mrs. Walker occurred on the 6th of December, 
1893. The children of the marriage are: John Kimberley and 
William H. Walker, and a daughter, Evelyn Walker. 

JAMES D. WARREN was a representative figure in Buffalo 
journalism. As editor and proprietor of the Buffalo Commer- 
cial Advertiser, now the Commercial, Mr. Warren was widel^^ 
known in the newspaper world and he was equally prominent in 
public life. 

Mr. Warren was born in Bennington, Wyoming County, 
N. Y., January 19th, 1823. His father, Orsamus Warren, was 
a farmer and one of the pioneers of Western New York. From 
Bennington the family removed to Wales, Erie County, and 
later to Clarence, where Orsamus Warren bought a farm and 
carried on a store. When his father came to Erie County 
James D. Warren was about two years old. As a boy he 
attended school, worked on the farm and assisted his father in 
his business. When twenty years old he made a tour of the 
South, spending a year in Natchez, Miss. Returning North, for 
a number of years he engaged in mercantile and farming pur- 
suits in Clarence. Meantime he became active in politics and 
served several terms as Supervisor. In 1854 he was elected 
County Treasurer for a teria of three years. Subsequently he 
held for two or three terms the office of Clerk of the Board of 
Supervisors. 

In 1861 Mr. Warren began his life work as editor and 
publisher. In April of that year, with Rufus Wheeler and 



148 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Joseph Candee, he became joint purchaser of the Buffalo 
Commercial Advertiser, with which newspaper he continued to . 
be identified till his death. The history of this paper began in 
1811, when it was founded as the Buffalo Gazette. It passed 
into the hands of a succession of owners, from a weekly became 
a daily, and was issued as the Daily Commercial Advertiser on 
the 1st of January, 1835. In May, 1839, the Buffalo Journal 
was merged with the Commercial Advertiser. In 1862 Mr. 
Candee withdrew from the business, his interest being 
purchased by Messrs. Warren and Wheeler. Immediately 
afterward Mr. James N. Matthews was admitted to partnership, 
the firm becoming Wheeler, Matthews & Warren. Two years 
later Mr. Wheeler retired and the firm was styled Matthews & 
Warren. In 1877 Mr. Warren purchased the interest of Mr. 
Matthews and from that time was the sole proprietor and 
publisher of the Commercial Advertiser. Under his manage- 
ment the paper became the leading Republican newspaper of 
Western New York. As an editor Mr. Warreu won and retained 
a distinctive place as a stalwart exponent of Republican 
principles and as a broad-minded representative of the best 
interests of the community. His conception of journalism was 
high and he maintained his ideals with unfaltering constancy. 
Originally in Main street, the plant of the Commercial 
Advertiser was removed in 1868 to the Adams Block in 
Washington street. In September of the same year the building- 
was destroyed by fire. It was promptly rebuilt and the 
establishment continued to occupy it till April 10, 1882, when 
the business was removed to its present new building at 
Washington and North Division streets. 

In addition to his newspaper interests, Mr. Warren was 
President of White's Bank, then one of the well-known financial 
institutions of Buffalo. 

Mr. Warren had an active share in Republican party manage- 
ment, was Chairman and for many years a member of the State 
Committee, and on numerous occasiohs served as a delegate to, 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 149 

State and national conventions. He was wliat was linown as a 
stalwart Eepublican, and was the recognized leader of that 
branch of the party in Western New York. 

Mr. Warren was married twice. His first wife, to whom he 
was married October 31, 1845, was Miss Laura Love, daughter 
of George Love of Buffalo. She died in 1849, leaving one son, 
Orsamus G. Warren. In 1851 Mr. Warren married for his 
second wife Miss Mary Mills, daughter of Judge Mills of 
Clarence, N. Y. The children of this union were one son, 
William C. Warren, and two daughters, Miss Kate and Miss 
Mary Warren of Buffalo. 

The death of James D. Warren occurred on the 16th of 
December, 1885. 

WILLIAM C. WAREBN, editor and publisher of the Buffalo 
Commercial, is one of the foremost newspaper men of Western 
New York, a leading Republican and a citizen prominent in the 
business, political and social life of Buffalo. Mr. Warren is in 
the prime of yea,rs and vigor and is probably the youngest of 
Buffalo's newspaper proprietors. His ability as a journalist 
may be characterized as a natural result of inheritance and 
environment. The name of Warren is one of the oldest in the 
history of Buffalo newspaper enterprise, and the subject of 
this sketch was brought up in an atmosphere of journalism and 
became familiarized in early life with the duties of editor and 
publisher. In both capacities he has won decisive success, and 
his newspaper pursuits have run parallel with a current of 
equally notable activities in politics and public affairs. 

Mr. Warren was born in Buffalo on the 4th of August, 1859, 
and has always made the Queen City his home. His father 
was James D. Warren, for many years editor and proprietor of 
the Commercial Advertiser. William C. Warren received his 
early education in the Buffalo public schools, attended Briggs' 
Classical School, and graduated from-the scientific department 
of Yale University in 1880. He then became associated in the 



150 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



management of the Commercial Advertiser, which after the 
death of the senior Warren in 1886 was continued by his sons 
under the firm style of James D. Warren's Sons. In 1890 the 
word "Advertiser" was dropped and the paper has since been 
known as the Commercial. Since the death of Orsamus G. 
Warren, William C. Warren has been managing proprietor. 
As an editor and publisher Mr. Warren is the vigorous, 

modern type of newspaper 
man. He has mantained 
the sterling traditions ol! 
his paper and has given it 
the distinctive impress of 
his personality. The 
staunch Eepublicanism of 
the Commercial Adver- 
tiser is perpetuated and 
emphasized in its suc- 
cessor, the Commercial, 
which has for many years 
been the representative 
newspaper of its party in 
this section of the State. 
Viewed as to its general 
policy the Commercial is 
characterized by progres- 
siveness tempered by 
sound conservatism. The 
public spirit of its proprietor is reflected in his paper whose 
championship of the interests of Buffalo and Erie County is 
zealous, efficient, and unswerving in its constancy. The influ- 
ence of the Commercial in politics has long been one of the 
important and well-recognized factors of existing conditions. 
A man of clear-cut views and definite political convictions the 
editorial opinions of Mr. Warren carry the weight which 
attaches to utterances which deal frankly with issues 




WILLIAM C. WABBEN. 



152 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

typical Scotch boy. When only ten years old he left school and 
went to work in Edinburgh, where he lived until 1857. In 1855 
he married Grace Harriet Michie. 

In 1857 Mr. Adam left Scotland for the United States. He 
first settled in Boston, where he remained ten years. In 1867 
he removed to Buffalo, and the same year organized in that 
city the great dry-goods and mercantile house of Adam, 
Meldrum & Anderson, a firm with which his name 
was thenceforth identified. To this memorable com- 
mercial enterprise he brought a business intellect unsur- 
passed for clearness and scope, a calmness incapable 
of being shaken from its poise by any exigency, and the 
Scottish pluck and distinctively Scottish devotion to duty which 
enabled him against every obstacle to make his way in a strange 
land. 

Unusual as were Mr. Adam's abilities as a merchant, his 
philanthropic and municipal activities are perhaps his truest 
titles to fame. Of the many interests with which he came in 
contact, it is probable that the welfare of the Young Men's 
Christian Association in Buffalo was the most deeply grounded 
in his solicitude. It was in 1879 that he first became a Director 
of the Association, serving in that capacity until 1886, when 
he was chosen Trustee. In 1891 he was again elected Director 
and in 1897, President, continuing in all these positions till his 
death. He was Chairman of the Building Committee, which in 
1883 erected the first Association building, and in 1903 was 
Chairman of the Building Committee which erected the present 
Central Building. Mr. Adam's connection with the Y. M. C. A. 
may best be characterized by saying that he was the emergency 
man of the movement. Freely, unsparingly, he laid his munifi- 
cent money gifts, his admirable business talents, his time, 
strength and experience on the altar of the cause. He was 
pre-eminently the friend of young men. He saw in the Y. M. 
C. A. a practical project for offering to young men safe compan- 
ionships, cheerful surroundings, education, religious instructi'on 
and honest enjoyments. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 153 

As President of the Merchants' Exchange, Mr. Adam had the 
honor of inaugurating in 1888 the project of abolishing the 
deadly grade crossings. Tlie same year the Legislature passed 
an. Act creating the Grade Crossings Commission. Mr. Adam 
was Chairman of this Commission from the time it became an 
organized body till the day of his death, and until he was 
stricken with Ms last illness he was energetically engaged in 
its work. In his capacity of leader of the movement to do away 
with the grade crossings, Mr. Adam's attitude has been aptly 
described as that of an aggressive compromiser. He was 
always determined, ever insistent, never hot-headed or borne 
away by feeling. The public trusted him and the corporations 
recognized his justice. The occasion demanded tact, and he 
displayed that quality in full measure. His urbanity soothed 
impetuous tempers and his approachableness made discussion 
easy. When occupying the chair of the Commission, his rulings 
were notable for their fairness and good sense. In giving 
opinions he exhibited one of his most marked characteristics — 
that of committing himself to no views till he had made a 
searching inquiry into the facts. It was observed of him by 
one of his fellow commissioners that his suggestions were based 
on such thorough examination and study that the mere state- 
ment carried conviction. 

Mr. Adam's work as a student of literature, connoisseur and 
collector would have been noteworthy even had his activities 
been confined to these fields. He corresponded with many men 
of learning on both sides of the Atlantic, and this pursuit was 
among his chief enjoyments. An ardent admirer of Dr. 
Johnson, he was the possessor of the finest known collection of 
Johnsoniana, and was never weary of searching for memorials 
of that great scholar, author and philosopher. His array of 
rare editions of Robert Burns and of the poet's original manu- 
scripts was deservedly famous. That art had a place in Mr. 
Adam's life was proved not only by his patronage of noted 
artists, but by the fact of some of his most highly prized 



154 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

manuscripts were written by the hand of Ruskin. Mr. Adam 
also had other manuscript collections of men of literary fame. 
His library was extensive and unique. It covered the choicest 
realms of literature and was known to the literati of two conti- 
nents. He was a large contributor to educational and 
charitable institutions, was a trustee of the Buffalo General 
Hospital, and an active member of many benevolent organiza- 
tions. He was President of the Chamber of Commerce, and a 
trustee of Cornell University. He was a prominent member of 
St. Andrew's Scottish Society, and preserved the tender remem- 
brance of the Scotch town in which he Avas born and especially 
of the church in which his father officiated as a minister. 

Mr. Adam was a member of the First Presbyterian Church 
on the Circle. He was a man of deep religious convictions, and 
one who carried the precepts of his faith into the practice of 
daily life. He was a gentle, conscientious and just employer. 
Toward those who were in his service he felt a genuine friendly 
solicitude, and they in turn regarded him as one who had their 
best interests at heart. It was felt that the passing from this 
life of Robert B. Adam, June 30, 1904, left a void impossible to 
fill. The undertakings which bore witness to his disinterested 
devotion seemed stricken and helpless, and it was realized that 
the community had lost a citizen who was, in the truest and 
best sense of the words, a leader of men. 

RUFUS MORTIMER CHOATE. The Choate family in 
America is descended from John Choate, who with his brother, 
William, came from Essex, England, to America, In 1643, and 
settled at Ipswich, Mass. From John Choate descended in 
direct line Thomas, Francis, Isaac, Joshua, Isaac W., and 
Rufus M. Choate. From Francis Choate, son of Thomas, 
descended also William, George and Joseph H. Choate of New 
York City, the last named of international fame as a lawyer, 
and late ambassador at the Court of St. James. William 
Choate, son of Francis Choate, was the ancestor of David and 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 155 

Rufus Choate, the latter the celebrated lawyer of Boston. 
Isaac and William Choate, the sons of Francis, were officers in 
the Patriot army during the Eevolutionary War. David and 
Eli Choate, other descendants of Francis Choate, served in the 
War of 1812, being stationed in Buffalo. 

ISAAC W. CHOATE came from Massachusetts to Erie 
County about 1810. He was accompanied by David and Eli 
Choate, his, brothers, and their two sisters. The same year he 
settled at Hunt's Corners, in the town of Clarence, David and 
Eli settling on farms in the town of Lancaster, near Clarence 
Hollow. Later Isaac W. Choate bought a large flouring mill 
in Rochester, N. Y., afterward selling this mill and building 
another at Castile, N. Y. Subsequently he removed to Clarence 
Hollow, Erie County, where he bought a farm, and lived till 
his death in 1852. Isaac W. Choate married Mehitabel Blanch- 
ard of Pawnal, Vt. The Blanchards were a prominent New 
England family. Mr. Choate was one of the leading Masons 
of Erie County, holding very high rank in the order. 

RUFUS MORTIMER CHOATE, son of Isaac W. Choate, was 
born Oct. 4, 1840, at Clarence, Erie County, N. Y. The first 
twenty years of his life were spent on his father's farm. He 
attended district school in Clarence, Clarence {classical 
Academy, and graduated from Bryant & Stratton's Business 
College. After spending a year in Wisconsin, he returned in 
1861 for the purpose of enlisting, with eight other Clarence 
young men, under the first call for volunteei's at the outbreak 
of the Civil War. But after drilling for a month the little band 
were notified that they would not be required, as enough three- 
months' men had been secured. Thereujjon Mr. Choate obtained 
employment on the Buffalo docks as clerk in a ticket office, and 
later became teacher of the district school at Clarence. The 
following summer he worked as a clerk on the docks and in the 
winter obtained a place in the Buffalo Custom House. Mr. 
Choate was passenger agent at Buffalo of the People's Line 
from 1866 to 1872, when he was m.ade general passenger agent 



156 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

of all the lake lines, including the People's, the Western Trans- 
portation Company, the Union Steamboat Company, and the 
Lake Superior Transit Company. In 1888 Mr. Choate resigned 
his position to take up the real estate investment business, in 
which he is now engaged. He has operated almost exclusively 
in South Buffalo, and has had more to do with the building up 
of that part of the city than any other man in local history. 
In 1888 he organized the South Buffalo Business Men's Asso- 
ciation, of which he later served four years as President. Two 
objects of the Association, the abolition of toll gates and grade 
crossings, have been accomplished, and the third, flood abate- 
ment, will soon be attained. In addition, he was mainly instru- 
mental in the creation of Cazenovia Park and the Eed Jacket 
and South Side Parkways, personally giving over 12 acres of 
land to the city, and heljiing to secure the rest. Mr. Choate was 
a resident of South Buffalo for twenty-five years. 

Politically Mr. Choate has always been a Republican, but in 
1906 he joined the Independence League movement, serving as 
member of the Executive Committee for Erie County. 

In April, 1866, Mr. Choate married Ellen Strickler, daughter 
of Daniel Strickler of Clarence. Their surviving children are: 
Allen E., Lulu M. (Mrs. B. B. Daggett of Buffalo); Nellie C. 
(Mrs. E. W. Sanborn of Dunkirk, N. Y.), and Eda E., and Chester 
C. Choate of Buffalo. 

GROVER CLEVELAND. This illustrious former citizen of 
Buffalo, twice President of the United States, has had a career 
which belongs to history proper and stands broadly differen- 
tiated from the limits usually assigned to individual achieve- 
ments. 

Mr. Cleveland is descended from Moses Cleveland, who came 
to Massachusetts in 1635 from Ipswich, Norfolk County, 
England. The name was originally spelled "Cleaveland," the 
present orthography having later been adopted. Many of the 
early Clevelands were clergymen, and since the second genera- 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 157 

tion of the family in this country there has never been a time 
when one or more of- the name was not a minister, usually of 
the Presbyterian or Congregational Church. William Cleve- 
land, the grandfather of Grover Cleveland, settled at Norwich, 
Conn., where on June 19, 1805, the Eev. Kichard Falley Cleve- 
land, Grover Cleveland's father, was born. After receiving his 
education at Yale College, the Rev. Mr. Cleveland was ordained 
a minister of the Presbyterian Church, and removed to 
Baltimore, Md. He afterwards accepted a call to Caldwell, 
N. J., and in ISil had charge of a church at Fayetteville, N. Y., 
later removing to Clinton, Oneida County. In 1853 he was 
called to Holland Patent, Oneida County, where he died October 
1, of that year. While residing in Baltimore Mr. Cleveland 
married Ann Neal, daughter of a well-known book publisher of 
that city. 

Grrover Cleveland was born in Caldwell, Essex County, N. J., 
March 18, 1837. He was educated in the public schools and at 
the Academy in Clinton, N. Y., and later became teacher and 
assistant in the Institution for the Blind, New York City. In 
1855 he removed to Buifalo, where he became a student in the 
law office of Bowen & Rogers, being admitted to the bar in 1859. 
For the next four years he remained with his preceptors as 
clerk, and in 1863 was appointed Assistant District Attorney, 
which office he held till 1866. In 1870 he was elected Sheriff 
of Erie County, serving till 1874, when he returned to the 
practice of law, becoming a member of the firm of Bass, Cleve- 
land & Bissell. He rose to high rank in his profession, being a 
trial advocate of unusual skill and a learned and able office 
counselor. 

In 1881 Mr. Cleveland was elected Mayor of Buffalo by the 
largest majority ever given a candidate for the office up to that 
time. While Mayor his famous vetoes of extravagant appro- 
priations made him one of the leading political figures of 
the State and led to his nomination for Grovernor, to which 
office he was elected in 1882, defeating Charles J. Folger by 



158 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

nearly 193,000 majority. While Governor, retrenchment, 
economy and integrity were his guiding principles and reform 
was the watchword of his administration. 

When the Democratic National Convention met in Chicago 
in July, 1884, Mr. Cleveland developed a strength which gave 
him 683 votes out of 820, Avhereupon his nomination for the 
Presidency was made unanimous, and he was elected over 
James G. Blaine, Republican, by a majority of 37 electoral 
votes. In 1888 he was nominated against Benjamin Harrison, 
but was defeated, whereupon he returned to the practice of 
law, locating in New York City. In 1892 he was again the. 
national standard bearer of the Democracy and was elected, 
defeating Mr. Harrison. During President Cleveland's terms 
of office the many matters. of grave importance which came 
before him were dealt with from the standpoint of sound states- 
manship and sterling patriotism. Since the expiration of his 
second term the popular confidence in him has been confirmed 
and strengthened and continues undiminished to the present 
day. 

In 1896, the Democratic party having declared for the free 
coinage of silver, Mr. Cleveland withheld his support from the 
platform and ticket. After his second retirement from the 
White House he made his home in Princeton, N. J., where he 
has ever since resided. In 1897 Princeton University conferred 
upon him the degree of L.L.D., and soon thereafter he was 
elected one of its trustees. In 1905 he was selected as one of the 
trustees holding a majority of the stock of the Equitable Life 
Assurance Society of the United States. In 1907 he accepted 
the additional duties of chairman and counsel of the Associa- 
tion of Life Insurance Presidents. 

June 2, 1886, Mr. Cleveland married Frances Folsom of 
Buffalo. Their union has been blessed with five children, Ruth, 
Esther, Marion, Richard F., and Frances G. The four last 
named still survive. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



159 



THOMAS MORTON GIBSON. To Thomas Morton Gibson, 
Vice-President and managing executive of that representative 
mercantile house, the Adam, Meldrum & Anderson Company, 
belongs by universal consent a place in the foremost ranks of 
Buffalo business men. Distinctively a merchant and financier, 
he is none the less a citizen. 

Mr. Gibson is of Scottish birth. He comes of the Gibsons of 
Kilmarnock, an Ayrshire family prominent in the West of 
Scotland, his father being John Gibson and his mother's maiden 
name SarahFraser. 
Thomas M. Gibson was 
the youngest of a family 
of eleven children. John 
Gibson, the father of 
Thomas M. Gibson, was 
the manager of a large 
carpet factory in Kilmar- 
nock. 

Thomas Morton Gibson 
was born at Kilmarnock 
July 11th, 1845. He re- 
ceived his education at a 
private school kept by 
William Eraser in East 
Shaw street, Kilmarnock. 
After leaving school 
young Gibson served a 
regular apprenticeship in 
the dry-goods business. 

Mr. Gibson recalls that for four years' work he received only 
40 pounds, or about |200 of our money. 

Thomas M. Gibson early conceived the idea of going to 
America. Taking ship on a sailing vessel bound out of Liver- 
pool, in 1864, he arrived at St. John, New Brunswick, the voyage 
consuming 42 days. 




THOMAS M. GIBSON. 



160 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Mr. Gibson there obtained employment with Ennis & 
Gardner, a dry-goods firm, with wbom he remained two years. 
In 1867 he went to Chicago, where he remained until 1869, 
during which time he was connected with the dry-goods estab- 
lishment of Ross & Gossage. In the fall of 1869 he made a visit 
to his birthplace. Upon coming back to America, Mr. Gibson 
settled in Buffalo in 1870, entering the store of Adam & 
Meldrum as a clerk in the linen department, the salary being 
$15 a week. 

Mr. Gibson's rise was steady. After a few years as clerk he 
was promoted to the position of floor manager and later 
manager of the retail department. Upon the death of Mr. 
Meldrum, a corporation was formed, under the name of the 
Adam, Meldrum & Anderson Company, and Mr. Gibson became 
owner of part of the stock of the concern. After the death of 
Mr. William Anderson, Mr. Gibson was elected to fill his place 
as managing partner and director, the other members of the 
board being R. B. Adam, Sr., and R. B. Adam, Jr. Upon the 
death of Mr. R. B. Adam in 1904, Mr. Gibson was elected Vice- 
President of the company. 

On January 6th, 1876, Mr. Gibson married Lavancha T. 
Stannard of Buffalo, a daughter of the late W. W. Stannard, 
who was for many years associated with the firm of Jewett & 
Root, and who served the city as Assessor and Alderman, and 
the State as Assemblyman. The children of this marriage are: 
Lieut. Walter Fraser Gibson, who is connected with the Adam, 
Meldrum & Anderson establishment, and Edla S. Gibson. 

For many years Mr. Gibson has been a communicant of St. 
Mary's Episcopal Church, of which he is also a warden. He is a 
Mason of long standing, is a member of the Buffalo and Ellicott 
clubs and of the Chamber of Commerce, besides being actively 
interested in many Scottish societies. 

Among the most striking characteristics of Mr. Gibson is 
his loyal devotion to the memories of his native land. He pays 
frequent visits to Scotland, and side by side with his sterling 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



161 



patriotic sentiment for the country of his adoption, cherishes 
grateful remembrance of the land of his birth, 



Including his 



MORRIS BENSON Vice-President of the Adam, Meldrum & 
Anderson Company, has had a mercantile career which, when 
considered as regards length of duration, extensiveness of the 
interests involved and uniform success, places him among the 
representative commercial men of the State, 
connection with the firm 
of Adam & Meldrum, its 
predecessor, Mr. Benson 
has for about thirty-seven 
years been identified with 
the large establishment 
which he now serves as 
one of the managers and 
official executive, has 
taken a leading share in 
the upbuilding of its busi- 
ness, and has borne an 
equally significant part in 
the development of those 
modern and progressive 
methods which have in 
the last few decades 
worked such important 
changes in the commer- 
cial life of Buffalo. 

Mr. Benson was born in Buffalo January 18, 1845, being the 
son of Silas Benson, who for many years was a prominent 
merchant of Buffalo, where he died in 1875. Silas Benson 
married Cynthia Schuyler Van Tyne, a daughter of Joseph Van 
Tyne of Troy, N. Y., who was of Holland Dutch extraction. The 
children of the marriage were two sons and one daughter, all of 
whom are deceased, except the subject of this sketch. 




MORKIS BENSON. 



162 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Morris Benson was educated in his native city, where he was 
graduated from the Central High School in 1860. During the 
Civil War he enlisted in the United States Navy, serving on the 
gunboat St. Clair, which was engaged in scout and transporta- 
tion duty on the Mississippi, Cumberland and Tennessee rivers. 
Mr. Benson was present at the battles of Fort Donelson and 
Fort Henry, and continued in the naval service from August, 
1861, to 1863, when he was honorably discharged, with the rank 
of Signal Quartermaster. 

On his return to Buffalo Mr. Benson became connected with 
the carpet business of E. J. & R. D. Sherman, but after a year 
he went to Erie, Pa., where for five years he had charge of the 
carpet department of W. G. Gardner & Co. In 1871 he came 
back to Buffalo to assume the management of the carpet 
department of Adam & Meldrum. The present firm was incor- 
porated in 1893, and ever since that time Mr. Benson has been 
one of its managers, actively concerned in the direction of the 
business, to whose success his large experience and sound 
conservatism have in a great degree contributed. Mr. Benson 
is a member of Chapin Post G. A. E., a 33d degree Mason. He 
is affiliated with and past master of Ancient Landmarks Lodge, 
No. 441; Hugh De Payens Commandery, No. 30, Knights Temp- 
lar; Past Grand Master, Palmona Lodge of Perfection, and 
Noble of the Mystic Shrine. Socially he is a member of the 
Buffalo and Westminster clubs. In politics he is a Eepublican 
and religiously he is a member and trustee of Westminster 
Presbyterian Church. 

August 31, 1867, Mr. Benson married Miss Percie Bennett, a 
daughter of Gates A. Bennett of Erie, Pa. They have two 
daughters, Carrie Cynthia (Mrs. Myron P. Bush), and Agnes 
Percie. 

COL. JOHN B. WEBEE has lived a life of singularly varied 
usefulness. He has been soldier, politician and business man, 
and in every one of these spheres has gained distinction. He 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 163 

was born in Buffalo September 21, 1842, the son of Philip J. 
and Mary Anna (Young) Weber, who came to this country from 
Alsace in 1834. He Avas educated in the public schools and in 
Central High School of Buffalo. He was still under nineteen 
when, on August 7, 1861, he enlisted in the Ellsworth 
"Avengers," the famous 44th Eegiment organized after Col. 
Ellsworth's assassination. Soon after enlisting Mr. Weber 
was made a Corporal, and was presently advanced to the ranks 
of Sergeant, Sergeant-Major, and Second Lieutenant of Com- 
pany F. This was just before the great Seven Days' Fight, in 
which Lieutenant Weber bore a gallant part, commanding his 
company from Mechanicsville to Malvern Hill. The company 
came out of that terrible battle with only five men left. At 
Gaines' Mills, Lieutenant Weber received special mention for 
gallant conduct. He had been placed in command of a detach- 
ment sent out to do skirmish duty. While thus occupied, he 
and his troops were attacked by a whole rebel regiment, from 
which Lieutenant Weber and his little band escaped after 
inflicting upon the enemy a heavy loss. At Harrison's Landing 
Lieutenant Weber was offered the adjutancy of the 116th New 
York Eegiment and an adjutancy or Captaincy in the Avengers, 
but declined both offers. He returned for a short time to 
Buffalo, and the people of that city testified to their apprecia- 
tion of his services by presenting him a handsome cavalry steed 
with full equipment. Tlie second departure of Lieutenant 
Weber for the front was with the 116th New York Kegiment. 
When that regiment became attached to the Gulf Department, 
Lieutenant Weber was made Acting Assistant Adjutant Gen- 
eral, and held that commission until the death of Col. Chapin 
at Port Hudson. Prior to this event he had been offered the 
Lieutenant-Colonelcy of either a Massachusetts or a colored 
regiment, but had declined on account of his wish to continue 
to serve under Colonel Chapin. But now he organized the 89th 
U. S. Colored Infantry, of which he was made Colonel Septem- 
ber 19, 1863. 



164 MBMOKIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

At the close of the Kebellion, Col. Weber returned to Buffalo, 
and went into business as a grain commission merchant. 
During 1881-1884 he was a member of the wholesale grocery 
house of Smith & Weber, and later became cashier of the 
American Exchange Bailk of Buffalo, which position he held 
from 1894 to 1897. 

In 1870 Col. Weber ran for Sheriff of Erie County, but was 
defeated by Grover Cleveland by a very small majority. Col. 
Weber running far ahead of his ticket. In 1873 he was nomi- 
nated for the same office and was elected by over two thousand 
plurality. He had also been appointed Deputy Postmaster, 
serving in that capacity three years prior to his election as 
Sheriff. The year of Cleveland's first election to the Presidency, 
Col. Weber was elected to represent the 33d New York District 
in Congress, and in 1888 was again elected Representative. He 
energetically took part in the movement for canal improvement 
by Federal aid, and was a member of the sub-committee 
charged with drafting the bill to settle the Pacific Railroad 
indebtedness. The year after his retirement from Congress, 
Col. Weber was appointed by President Harrison Commissioner 
of Immigration at the port of New York, and while filling this 
office, was put at the head of a commission sent to Europe to 
investigate the sources and causes of immigration. His 
inquiries were embodied in a report so searching in its grasp of 
facts and forceful in style that it was widely discussed and 
was translated into French for circulation throughout Europe. 
In recent years Col. Weber has been prominently before the 
public as Secretary of the Grade Crossings^Commission. 

Col. Weber is the author of many reports and special articles 
dealing principally with canal and immigration questions. He 
is a member of the G. A. R. and the Loyal Legion. He is a 
Mason, member and former President and Treasurer of the 
Ellicott Club, and a life member of the Young Men's 
Association. 

January 7, 1864, Col. Weber married Elizabeth J. Farthing, 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 165 

daughter of James and Christina Farthing of Buffalo. The 
surviving children of the union are: Mary F. (Mrs. Howard O. 
Cobb); Elizabeth H. (Mrs. G. L. Carden); Jean B. (Mrs. F. M. 
Brinker); Miss Laura C. Weber and Ethel G. (Mrs. Edward 
Meinel). Mrs. Weber died in 1900. 

JOHN J. McWILLIAMS is one of the most substantial busi- 
ness men of Buffalo. He is, moreover, a citizen deserving of 
distinguished credit for his useful services in many matters of 
high public importance, the range of his activities including 
municipal, benevolent and social concerns. 

The McWilliams family is of Scotch origin. The founder of 
its American branch was John McWilliams, who was born in 
Scotland, came to this country at a period near the Revolution, 
and settled in Long Island, afterward removing to Scotchtown, 
N. Y. The wife of John McWilliams was Sally Haffee. Their 
son, Andrew, the grandfather of John J. McWilliams of Buffalo, 
was born at Scotchtown, March 5, 1778, and died March 8, 1839. 
His wife was Mary Jagger, who was born September 20, 1779, 
and died April 9, 1845. Their children were: Sarah Haffee, 
David Jagger, Mary Millington, John, James, Henry, Andrew 
S., Isabella, Ann Atwater, Nancy Jane, and Elizabeth. 

John McWilliams, the father of John J. McWilliams, was 
born in Orange County, N. Y. He was a railroad man by occu- 
pation, and at the time of his death, November 14, 1881, was a 
resident of Buffalo. He married Susan Ann Wilkin,- a daughter 
of Daniel and Marion Elizabeth (Rose) Wilkin. The family of 
Susan Ann Wilkin came from Montgomery County, N. Y., and 
several of its members participated in the Revolution. Her 
ancestry may be traced back to the time of Cromwell. 

John James McWilliams was born at Cornwall on the Hudson 
June 16, 1842. He was educated in Elmira, N. Y., and at the 
State Normal School at Albany. For some time after finishing 
his studies Mr. McWilliams taught school in Elmira. In 1869 
he came to Buffalo and obtained employment in the coal depart- 



166 MEMOKIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

ment of the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad 
Company. This was the beginning of a long business connec- 
tion, notable on one side for efficient and reliable service, and 
on the other for satisfaction with Mr. Mc Williams' capability 
and with the results achieved by him. After continuing for a 
considerable period in the coal department of the Delaware & 
Lackawanna, Mr. McWilliams became Western sales agent for 
the company, in which responsible position he remained until 
his voluntary retirement in 1903, since which event he has 
devoted himself to his large invested and manufacturing 
interests. Besides his functions as President of the Niagara 
Cordage Company and President of the Niagara Lithograph 
Company, Mr. McWilliams is President of the Provident Loan 
Company, President of the Christian Homestead Association, 
and a trustee of the Erie County Savings Bank. 

In politics Mr. McWilliams is a Republican. In 1905 he served 
as Chairman of the Civil Service Board, and has given much 
valuable time and effort to the cause. 

Mr. McWilliams is among the foremost officials and workers 
of the Buffalo Y. M. C. A. He has been a trustee of the organiza- 
tion for years, and he is at present also its Treasurer. The 
philanthropic activities of Mr. McWilliams are of wide scope. 
He is a willing giver, both of money and work. Much of his 
time is spent in dealing with the needs of the charities which 
demand his attention, and Buffalo benevolences owe much to 
his munificence and to his sound advice in practical questions. 
Among the social and other organizations with which Mr. 
McWilliams is connected may be mentioned the Buffalo, 
Bllicott and Republican clubs. He is a member of the Buffalo 
Historical Society, and is one of its managers. He has for 
many years been a trustee of the B'irst Congregational Church, 
atfd is Vice-President of the Buffalo Orphan Asylum. 

Mr. McWilliams married Esther Keeler, daughter of 
Philander Norton of Elmira, N. Y. Mrs. McWilliams is a 
descendant of William Norton, whose family settled in Salem, 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 167 

Connecticut, in 1628, several members of a later generation 
serving in the Kevolutionary War. Mrs. McWilliams is in 
sympathetic and earnest accord with her husband in his philan- 
thropic work. She is officially identified with several- benevolent 
organizations and is unwearied in her devotion to their 
interests. The children of Mr. and Mrs. McWilliams are two, 
S. N., and Mary. Mary, the daughter, is the wife of Horace 
Keed, who is Treasurer and General Manager of the Niagara 
Lithograph Company. They have three children, John 
McWilliams, Horace Wasson and Carl Norton. 

S. N. McWILLIAMS, son of John J. McWilliams, was born in 
Buffalo March 17th, 1871. He was educated at the Buffalo 
High School and at Princeton University, graduating from the 
latter in the class of '94. 

After leaving college Mr. McWilliams became connected with 
the coal department of the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western 
Railroad. He then became Treasurer of the Niagara Cordage 
Company,' a thriving enterprise established in 1903, and he has 
since continued to hold that position. The company was organ- 
ized to supply the needs and obtain the advantages of a manif es fc 
opportunity in the field of local manufactures. The venture has 
been amply justified by results. The concern at present employs 
forty people; its output is large and its patronage steadily 
increasing. 

September 29, 1896, Mr. McWilliams married Miss Mabel L. 
Johnson, a daughter of Walter L. and Susan Elizabeth Whit- 
comb Johnson, the bride belonging to a very old and distin- 
guished New England family. The children of the marriage 
are: Esther Elizabeth, Mabel Leetta, Georgiana, and John 
James McWilliams. 

Mr. McWilliams is prominent in club life. He is a member 
of the University Club, the Oakfield Club, the Princeton Club of 
New York, and the Tiger Inn Club at Princeton University. 



168 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



GAEL AUGUSTUS STRANGMANN, President of the 
German-American Brewing Company, and well-known in busi- 
ness circles in Buffalo and throughout the State, is a man who 
has been able to combine success in life with those pursuits 
which mark the individual of culture. Mr. Strangmann is thor- 
oughly practical, but with him enterprise has always gone hand 
in hand with love of learning. In a busy career he has found 

time to lay up a store of 
knowledge which enrolls 
him in the ranks of 
scholars. He is an ardent 
student of literature and 
social and economic ques- 
tions, and he possesses 
one of the finest private 
libraries in Buffalo. 

Mr. Strangmann comes 
of one of the oldest Ger- 
man families, his ances- 
tors having lived for at 
least three hundred years 
in North Germany. Henry 
Strangmann, the great- 
grandfather of Carl A. 
Strangmann, resided at 
Wagenfeld in Hanover 

CABL A. STEANGMANN. '^ 

and was by occupation a 
farmer. Henry Strangmann's son, Henry C, and the latter's 
son, Carl A., father of the subject of this sketch, were both born 
on the same estate at Wagenfeld. 

On the mother's side Mr. Strangmann is descended from the 
Portner family, who live at Eahden, in Westphalia, not far 
from Wagenfeld in Hanover. Col. Hermann Portner, Mr. 
Strangmann's maternal grandfather, was an officer in the 
Prussian army, and served under Marshal Blucher in the last 
campaign against Napoleon. Col. Portner distinguished himself 




MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 169 

at the battle of Waterloo, and as a reward the King of Prussia 
decreed that all of his sons should be educated at the expense 
of the Government. In addition the King decorated him with a 
military order of high grade. After the war, Col. Portner occu- 
pied a judicial position in the Prussian kingdom. He died in 
1850. 

The senior Carl A. Strangmann was born in Wagenfeld, Han- 
over, in 1817. In his youth he came to America, settling in New 
York City in 1835. Here he remained ten years, returning in 
1845 to the old country. While in New York he was a manu- 
facturer of furniture, and was also one of the pioneer sugar 
refiners of New York City. Upon his return to Saxony he mar- 
ried Augusta Portner, daughter of Col. Hermann Portner. Mrs. 
Strangmann was unwilling to cross the Atlantic, and so the 
couple remained in Kahden. 

Their son, Carl A. Strangmann, Jr., was born in Bahden in 
May, 1860. Until he was twelve years old he attended elemen- 
tary schools, and later studied at a college preparatory school. 
Coming to this country in 1875 the youth first worked for a 
year as a grocery clerk in New York City. He then went to 
Alexandria, Va., where his uncle, Robert Portner, owned a 
brewery. Here the young man learned the brewing business, 
and in 1883 he was made manager of the concern, a position 
which he filled until 1895. He then went to Cleveland, where 
he engaged in brewing, having Mr. John M. Leicht for his 
partner. In 1899 the industry was absorbed by a syndicate, 
and in 1900 Mr. Strangmann removed to Buffalo, where he 
purchased a controlling interest in the German-American 
Brewing Company. Under his guidance the company was 
quickly established on a firm foundation, and today has one 
of the finest plants in the State. Mr. Strangmann's position in 
the brewing industry is well recognized. He has served as an 
officer of the United States Brewers' Association, is a trustee 
of the New York State Brewers' Association, and a member of 
the Brewers' Exchange in Buffalo. 

Mr. Strangmann is one of the best read men in Buffalo. For 



170 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



many years he has been an enthusiastic collector of books. 
His library contains hundreds of volumes comprising the stand- 
ard productions of German and English literature, as well as 
works on social and political economy, of which subjects he is 
an earnest student. Mr. Strangmann is a great lover of music, 
and an exponent of sound musical culture. He at one time 
organized and successfully conducted an orchestra. 

Mr. Strangmann is a member of the Orpheus and Saenger- 
bund singing societies, and of the German-American Alliance. 
He is also a Mason, being a member of the Alexandria-Wash- 
ington Lodge No. 22, of Alexandria, Virginia. 



NORRIS MOREY, senior member of the law firm of Morey, 
Bosley & Morey, is an eminent lawyer and citizen of Buffalo, 

where he has practiced his 
profession for forty years. 
Records of the Morey 
family appear at an early 
period in the Colonial his- 
tory of New England. The 
spelling of the name ex- 
hibits the diversity which 
is common to that time, 
but finally assumes two 
distinct and generally per- 
manent forms, Morey and 
Mowry, the former pre- 
vailing among the repre- 
sentatives of the family in 
Plymouth, Mass., and in 
Southern Rhode Island, 
the latter in Boston. 

Roger Morey of Ply- 
mouth, Salem and Provi- 
dence, was the founder, in America, of the branch of the family 

He was a follower of Roger 




MORRIS MOEEY. 



dealt with in the present sketch. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 171 

Williams, and the evidence goes to show that they both sailed 
• from England in the ship " Lion," which left Bristol December 
1, 1630, and arrived at Boston February 5, 1631. Roger Morey's 
wife was Mary, daughter of John and Margery Johnson. Roger 
Morey became a landholder of Salem, and in 1643 removed to 
Providence, R. I. 

Jonathan Morey, son of Roger, was born in 1637. He married 
in 1659 Mary, widow of Richard Foster, and after her death 
married his second wife, Hannah, whose maiden surname is 
unknown. 

Jonathan Morey (2), son of the preceding, married Hannah 
Bourne in Plymouth. They were the parents of nine children. 
Their fifth child was Jonathan Morey (3), born in 1699, married 
Elizabeth Swift in 1725. Thomas Morey, second son of 
Jonathan Morey (3), and Elizabeth Swift, was born in 1732. He 
emigrated from Rhode Island to New York State at the begin- 
ning of the Revolutionary period. In the Calendar of the New 
York Historical MSS. his name is given as one of the signers of 
. the "Association," June, 1775. Prior to 1778 he was a resident 
of Albany County, and a member of the Thirteenth Albany 
County Regiment, under Col. Van Vechten. Later he bought 
one hundred acres of land in Milton, Saratoga County, and 
established himself as a farmer. He married three times, but 
the maiden names of his first two wives are unknown. In his 
will, drawn in 1798 and proved in 1810, he mentions his wife, 
Sarah, and five children. 

Samuel Morey, third son of Thomas, was born June 14, 1770, 
and lived in Greenfield, N. Y. He married October 8, 1794, 
Mary Freeman, who died April 30, 1813, and he married in 1814 
Mrs. Ruth Elmes. Samuel Morey was for some years a miller 
and farmer in Greenfield. Thence he removed to Fabius, N. Y., 
where he owned a farm and was justice of the peace. In 1832-3 
he removed to Cazenovia, N. Y., where he died March 10, 1852. 

Joseph Morey, eldest son of Samuel Morey and Mary 
Freeman, was born January 24, 1796. He married October 16, 



172 MBMOEIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

1823, Anna C. Kinney. Their children were: Emily, born August 
22, 1824, died September 14, 1824; Edwin, born October 19, 
1825; Reuben, born March 22, 1828, died September 10, 1828; 
Samuel, born August 1, 1829; William F., born September 20, 
1831; Ellen, born November 20, 1833, died January 1, 1834; 
Elias W., born January 7, 1886; Norris, born July 20, 1838; 
Horace, born December 1, 1840; Ann Maria, born February 25, 
1843, and Eliza Jane, born October 20, 1846. 

Norris Morey of Buffalo, son of Joseph Morey and Anna C. 
Kinney, is seventh in the line of descent from Roger Morey, the 
immigrant ancestor. 

Mr. Morey was born in Brant, Erie County, N. Y., July 20, 
1838, being the son of Joseph Morey, a farmer and well-known 
resident of that place. He received his education in the public 
schools, and at Oberlin College, O., from which institution he 
was graduated in 1863. His college career was interrupted by 
the Civil War, and he served in the Union army in 1861 and 
1862, later re-enlisting and continuing in 1864-65. Deciding to 
enter the law, he pursued a course in the Albany Law School, 
and in 1866 was admitted to the bar. The same year he removed 
to Buffalo. 

In 1870-71 Mr. Morey was Assistant City Attorney of Buffalo, 
and from 1872 to 1874 Assistant District Attorney of Erie 
County. In 1882 the Republican City Convention nominated 
him for Mayor, but for professional reasons he declined the 
proffered honor. 

Mr. Morey was in 1885 and 1886 chairman of a committee of 
nine who framed new rules for the guidance of Republican 
caucuses and conventions in Erie County, these regulations 
being designed for the protection of the rights of the voters at 
primaries and to secure proper representation of the people at 
Republican conventions. The rules were adopted by the 
Republican County Convention of 1886, and proved very 
effective in securing the objects for which they were intended. 
In the winter of 1892-93 Mr. Morey, representing various com- 



MBMOEIAIi AND FAMILY HISTORY. 173 

mittees on cities, at Albany, in behalf of the repeal of certain 
bills, popularly known as "sneak legislation," which had been 
hastily passed by the Legislature, and which had changed, in 
an extraordinary and unjustifiable manner the political control 
of the Buffalo Police Board. The outcome was a remarkable 
uprising of public opinion, which registered itself by a great 
political change at the next city election. 

In recent years Mr. Morey's activities have been mainly 
devoted to his law practice. June 3rd, 1868, Mr. Morey was 
united in marriage to Annette Williams of Avon, Ohio, who was 
deceased January 12th, 1899. To this union were born the 
following children: Isabel E., the wife of Edward A. Eames of 
Buffalo, who have one child, Edward W. Eames II. ; Joseph H., 
an attorney-at-law of the firm of Morey, Bosley & Morey of 
Buffalo; Arthur N., and Howard W. Joseph H. Morey married 
Katrina Van Tassel Williams, and they, have one son, William 
Irving Morey. 

WILLIAM H. OUDDEBACK, the well-known lawyer and 
former corporation counsel of Buffalo, is a man of diverse 
activities and has made his mark both in professional and 
political fields. 

Mr. Cuddeback is of French and Dutch ancestry. The founder 
of the family was Jacques Caudebac, a Huguenot, who in 1686 
fled from Caudebac, in Normandy, Prance, at the time of the 
repeal of the Edict of Nantes. Jacques Caudebac landed in 
Maryland and afterward went to New York City, where he 
married Margareta Provost, who was of Holland Dutch descent. 
From them the Cuddebacks of America are descended. Though 
the first head of the family was Norman French, through inter- 
marriage the stock became almost wholly Dutch. 

Jacques Caudeback engaged in mercantile pursuits. Later 
he obtained in Deer Park, Orange County, a grant of land which 
is to this day owned by his descendants. Jacques had ten chil- 
dren, six sons and four daughters. The fifth son was William. 



174 - MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

He and his five brothers served as officers in the Revolutionary 
War, as did their sons. William Cuddeback at one time had 
command of a fortification at West Point. 

William Cuddeback had six children, of whom the fourth, 
Benjamin, was a soldier in the company of New York militia 
commanded by his brother, Capt. Abraham Cuddeback, in the 
Revolutionary War. Benjamin Cuddeback had a son, William 
Cuddeback, who lived at Deer Park, N. Y., and was survived by 
thirteen children, among them Lewis Cuddeback, the father of 
William H. Cuddeback of Buffalo. 

Lewis Cuddeback resided at Deer Park, Orange County. His 
wife was Caroline Thompson, daughter of the Rev. Andrew 
Thompson, a Presbyterian minister of Nyack, Rockland County, 
N. Y. Lewis Cuddeback was by occupation a merchant. He 
was prominent in the Democratic politics of fifty years ago, 
and served as Assemblyman, Member of the State Constitu- 
tional Convention of 1843, County Clerk of Orange County, and 
in other political capacities. He died in 1889. His surviving 
children are: Augustus T. Cuddeback of Passaic, N. J.; William 
Herman Cuddeback of Buffalo; Mary T., now Mrs. Joseph 
Merrit of Goshen, Orange County, N. Y., and Catherine C, now 
Mrs. Aaron V. D. Wallace also of Goshen. 

William Herman Cuddeback was born in Deer Park, N. Y., 
March 25, 1854. His earlier education was obtained at the 
academy in Goshen, later entering Cornell University, where 
he spent four years. In May, 1877, he was admitted to practice, 
at Poughkeepsie, N. Y., first practicing for a short time at 
Goshen, where he became a justice of the peace. For the suc- 
ceeding seven years he was a law partner of Henry A. Wads- 
worth of Orange County. In 1885 Mr. Cuddeback removed to 
Buffalo, where he became successively associated with Hon. 
« Daniel J. Kenefick, Joseph V. Seaver and Eugene P. Ouchie. 
Mr. Cuddeback soon rose to a high position at the bar of Erie 
County. 

Meantime Mr. Cuddeback became active in Democratic 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 175 

politics and for the last ten years has been an acknowledged 
leader of the Western New York Democracy. In 1895 he was 
chosen Chairman of the Democratic General Committee, which 
office he held for three years. During this time the party was 
successful in electing a Democratic Mayor and other city 
officials. In 1897 Mr. Cuddeback was elected Corporation 
Counsel, which office he held until January 1, 1902. He is con- 
ceded to have been one of the best officials that ever served 
Buffalo in that office. Mr. Cuddeback was chosen manager of 
the Craig Colony for epileptics at Sonyea, N. Y., by Governor 
Flower, and in spite of his being a strong Democrat was twice 
reappointed by the Republican Governor Morton. In 1906 he 
became interested in the Independence League movement, 
serving as Chairman of the Executive Committee in Erie 
County. 

Mr. Cuddeback is unmarried. He is prominent in club circles, 
being a member of the Ellicott, Saturn and Acacia clubs. He 
his elevation to the bench had won high reputation as a lawyer , 
of erudite attainments and superior capability. 

HON. CHAELES BARKER WHEELER, Justice of the 
Supreme Court, is one of Buffalo's ablest jurists, and prior to 
his elevation to the bench had won high reputation as a lawyer 
of erudite attainments and superior capability. 

Mr. Wheeler is of New England descent and Puritan stock. 
The first ancestors of the American branch of his family were 
John Wheeler and Ann, his wife, who in 1634 came to Massa- 
chusetts Colony in the ship "Mary and John." Henry Wheeler, 
son of John Wheeler, had a son, James, who had a son, James, 
who had a son, Jeremiah, who had a son, Jeremiah, whose son, 
Cyrenus Wheeler, Sr., was the grandfather of Hon. Charles B. 
Wheeler. For generations the family were farmers and culti- 
vated the same farm at Rehoboth, Mass. The New England 
Wheelers were a patriotic family. Several of the name appear 
in the records as Revolutionary soldiers. To this day the 



176 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

ancient homes of the family show traces of British ravage. 
Cyrenus Wheeler, Sr., married Thirza Dillingham Evans, a 
daughter of Robert Evans of Bristol, a veteran of the Eevolu- 
tionary War. Cyrenus Wheeler, Jr., was born near Eehoboth 
March 21st, 1817. When twelve years old the lad went to work 
in the cotton mills, and became master of the cotton weaving 
industry. Upon the removal of his father to New York State, 
young Cyrenus Wheeler began to learn farming. In the 
intervals he busied himself inventiHg hay-forks, hay-cutters and 
other farm implements. Soon after reaching his majority 
Cyrenus Wheeler, Jr., became the owner of a farm, and for 
many years he was a skilful farmer, having a scientific concep- 
tion of agriculture altogether remarkable for that day. But he 
was always more of a mechanic tlian a farmer. In the summer 
of 1852 there was held at Geneva, N. Y., a trial of a mower 
which proved unsatisfactory. Mr. Wheeler thereupon set about 
making a successful horse mower and reaper, and for practically 
the rest of his life devoted himself to the invention, manufacture 
and improvement of reapers and mowers. 

Mr. Wheeler was four times elected Mayor of Auburn, 
serving from 1880 to 1890. For years he also served as Chair- 
man of the Auburn Board of Water Commissioners. While 
Mayor he became convinced that the city should own its own 
water works, and when he left office he began and carried to 
success a struggle to this end, being made President of the 
Water Commission, which office he held for the rest of his life. 
For many years Cyrenus Wheeler, Jr., was one of the most 
prominent and useful citizens of Auburn. As a financier he 
held relations with many of the Auburn banks. He strongly 
encouraged the National Guard movement, and the Wheeler 
Rifles of Auburn are named after him. For a long period he 
was a trustee of the Auburn Central Presbyterian Church, to 
which he was a liberal contributor. 

In 1838, Mr. Wheeler married Susan Kendall, daughter of 
Charles Kendall of Cayuga County. Their children were Lucy 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY, 177 

M., and Dexter Wheeler. In 1842 Mrs. Wheeler died, and a few 
years later Mr. Wheeler married Susan Frary of Bethany, 
N. Y. Their issue was one daughter, Harriet. After a few 
years of wedded life Mr. Wheeler's second wife died, and on 
the 26th of December, 1850, he married Jane Barker, daughter 
of John A. Barker and Phoebe Ogden of Ledyard, Cayuga 
County. Mrs. Jane (Barker) Wheeler, was a sister of the late 
Judge Barker, Justice of the Supreme Court of New York. Of 
the children of Cyrenus Wheeler, Jr., only Charles B. Wheeler 
of Buffalo survives. 

Charles Barker Wheeler was born at Poplar Eidge, Cayuga 
County, N. Y., December 27th, 1851. He enjoyed superior 
educational advantages, studying at Williams College, from 
which he graduated with the class of '73. Aftei" his gradu- 
ation, Mr. Wheeler came to Buffalo and entered the office of 
Sprague & Gorham, with whom he read law for three years. 
In 1876 he was admitted to the bar; immediately thereafter 
beginning the practice of his profession in Buffalo. The early 
maturity of Mr. Wheeler's legal talents and his exceptional 
thoroughness and industry attracted the notice of elder lawyers 
and led to his connection with those eminent practitioners, 
Sherman S. Eogers and Franklin D. Locke, by whom he was 
admitted to partnership in 1882, the association lasting three 
years. In. 1885 Mr. Wheeler began practice alone, and con- 
tinued until his elevation to the bench, by appointment to suc- 
ceed Hon. Daniel Kenefick, who resigned, assuming office 
December 1st, 1906. Mr. Wheeler was appointed a member of 
the Civil Service Commission, by Mayor Becker, and he served 
so acceptably that he was reappointed by Mayor Bishop. 
During the administration of Mayor Jewett he again served 
two years, and being reappointed by Mayor Diehl he served 
another two years, resigning on the expiration of his tenth year 
in office. Again appointed a member of the Civil Service Com- 
mission, by Mayor Knight, he served three years more, making 



178 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

a total of thirteen years. For 'ten years Mr. Wheeler acted as 
Chairman of the Board. Ever since the organization of the 
Civil Service Eeform Association in 1883, Judge Wheeler has 
been a member of that body. He has been extremely active and 
influential in securing legislative measures for the advance- 
ment of Civil Service and has effectually blocked many bills 
tending to destroy the merit system. In 1906 Governor Higgins 
appointed Mr. Wheeler a member of the State Tax Commission 
authorized to revise the tax laws of the State. 

Judge Wheeler is a Director of the J. N. Matthews Company, 
and President of the New York and Buffalo Title Insurance 
Company. He is a life member of the Young Men's Association, 
and has served several terms as its Director. He has been con- 
nected with the University of Buffalo ever since its organiza- 
tion, and is Professor of Corporation Law in the Buffalo Law 
School. He is a member of the University Club, has served 
two terms as a member of its faculty and one term as its Vice- 
President. He belongs to Buffalo Chapter Sons of the Revolu- 
tion, and for two terms was its President. He is connected 
with the Historical Society and the Society of Natural 
Sciences. Judge Wheeler attends Trinity Church. 

June 28, 1883, Judge Wheeler married Frances Munro 
Rochester, daughter of Dr. Thomas F. Rochester and Margaret 
De Lancey Rochester of Buffalo. Dr. Rochester was for many 
years one of the most prominent physicians of Western New 
York. Mrs. Rochester was a daughter of the late Bishop 
William H. De Lancey of the diocese of Western New York. 
Judge and Mrs. Wheeler have two children, Thomas Rochester 
Wheeler, born April 29th, 1885, and Jane Barker Wheeler, born 
April 3d, 1887. 

'HON. JOHN GEORGE WALLENMEIER, former State 
Treasurer and one of the foremost Republicans of Western 
New York, comes of sturdy German stock. Mr. Wallenmeier is 
the son of John G. and Caroline Wallenmeier, his father coming 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY^ 



179 



originally from Wittenberg, and Ms mother from Stuttgart. 
They were the parents of twelve children, of whom only three 
survive, the subject of this sketch, Elizabeth W. Wallenmeier, 
and Lena, now Mrs. Albert Uti>atel of Lansing, Mich. The elder 
Wallenmeier came to Buffalo in 1853 and settled in Black Rock. 
Mr. Wallenmeier was a baker in Germany and followed the same 
business in this country. In 18(>5 he removed to Tonawanda 
and there continued in the bakery business until 1875. He died 
on March 24, 1904. His wife died Dec. 20, 1879. 

John G. Wallenmeier, Jr., was born in Buifalo October 10, 
1862, but at the age of three was taken to Tonawanda, when 
the family removed there, and has always made that city his 
home. He received his 
education in the public 
schools, and at the age of 
fourteen became a driver 
on the Erie Canal. It 
was not long before he 
and a brother owned a 
canal boat of their own, 
but when eighteen years 
old Mr. Wallenmeier sold 
out his interest and went 
to work at the black- 
smith's trade. May, 1883, 
found him in the grocery 
business, to which he sub- 
sequently added a meat 
market and conducted 
both until the spring of 
1894, when he disposed of 
his interests. He has 
been active in other business enterprises in Tonawanda, promi- 
nent among them being the Niagara Savings and Loan Asso- 
ciation, of which he was one of the founders in 1890. He served 




JOHN Q. WALLEKMEIBE. 



180 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTOKY. 

as its President for several years, retiring in 1896, and the same 
year became its Treasurer, wMch office he holds at the present 
time. Since the organization under the laws of the State of 
New York of the Buffalo Burial Park Association in 1901, which 
founded the Elmlawn Cemetery in the town of Tonawanda, Mr. 
Wallenmeier has been actively interested in it, having been one 
of the founders and ever since one of the Directors, and at the 
present time its Secretary and General Manager. 

Mr. Wallenmeier is recognized as the Republican leader in 
the Northern part of Erie County. lie was a delegate to the 
Republican National Convention at St. Louis in 1896, which 
nominated McKinley for President, and in 1904 at Chicago that 
nominated Roosevelt, and since 1895 has been a delegate to all 
the State Conventions. At the Saratoga Convention in the fall 
of 1904 he received the nomination for State Treasurer.. His 
election followed, and he filled the duties of this important 
office with signal ability and success. Renominated in the fall 
of 1906, he was defeated with all the other candidates on the 
state ticket excej^t the 'Governor. Prior to his election as 
State Treasurer, Mr. Wallenmeier had long been active in 
Republican politics and had more than once been honored with 
local offices. In 1894, when the office of police justice was 
created in Tonawanda, Mr,, Wallenmeier was appointed to that 
office by the Tonawanda Council. The following year he was 
regularly elected to the Police-Justiceship, for a four year 
terin. In 1898 he was appointed Postmaster of Tonawanda 
and held the office for six years. Both city and town of Tona- 
wanda were formerly Democratic by large majorities, but of 
late years, largely through Mr. Wallenmeier's activities and 
popularity, the figures have been reversed. 

November 14, 1883, Mr. Wallenmeier married Hattie May 
Koch, daughter of Robert L. and Elizabeth (Kibler) Koch of 
Tonawanda. 

Mr. Wallenmeier is a member of Tonawanda Lodge, No. 247, 
F. & A. M., and served as its Master for three years. He also 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 181 

is a member of Tonawanda Chapter, No. 278, Royal Arch 
Masons, of which he served as High Priest for two years, and 
of Lake Erie Commandery, No. 20, Knights Templar, which in 
1908 chose him its Generalissimo. He also is a member of 
Ismailia Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, and of Zuleika 
Grotto. From 1878 until 1880 he served as a Volunteer Fire- 
man, and in April, 1897, he was elected a member of the Tona- 
wanda Firemen's Benevolent Association and by unanimous 
vote was made the Secretary of that body. From his youth Mr. 
Wallenmeier has been a member of the German Evangelical 
Church. 

CAPTAIN HENRY W. BRENDEL, former Collector of 
United States Customs of the Port of Buffalo, is also an able 
lawyer. Of German extraction, his father, Peter Brendel, was 
born in Bavaria in 1835. Peter Brendel came to Buffalo in the 
50's, where he learned the cooper trade, which he followed for a 
number of years, later engaging in farming. 

Henry W. Brendel was born in Buffalo December 10, 1857, 
and was educated in the public schools. He then entered the 
law office of Hawkins & Fischer, remaining one year, when he 
became a clerk in the office of Delavan F. Clark. He was 
admitted to the bar in January, 1879, and the same year he 
formed a law partnership with Gen. James C. Strong. When 
later this copartnership was dissolved, Mr. Brendel practiced 
alone until he became associated with ex^Assemblyman Frank 
W. Standart. After his retirement from the Collectorship in 
the spring of 1906, Mr. Brendel resumed the practice of law, 
entering into partnership with his former associate, Mr. Stan- 
dart, and with Francis Bagot, under the present firm name of 
Brendel, Standart & Bagot. April 1st, 1878, he enlisted as a 
private in Company D, of the Seventy-Fourth Regiment, in the 
N. G. N. Y. Subsequently he was transferred to the Sixty- 
Fifth Regiment, being commissioned Second Lieutenant in 
Company I, and later as Captain. He saw active service during 



182 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

the railroad strike in East Buffalo in 1893, in the Tonawanda 
lumber strike of '93, and in the Spanish- American War. In 
August, 1895, he received a gold medal for twenty-five years of 
continuous service in the National Guard. 

When the Spanish- American War broke out. Captain 
Brendel, then in command of Company I, C5th Eegiment, volun- 
teered and accompanied his regiment during the campaign, 
serving from May 1, 1898, until mustered out November 19th of 
the same year. 

During the decade from 1885 to 1896 he vpas one of the recog- 
nized Republican leaders in Erie Coimty, and is at the present 
time among the most prominent members of the party. For a 
number of years he served as a member of the Republican 
Excutive Committee, and Treasurer for three years. 

October 7th, 1897, Mr. Brendel was appointed by President 
McKinley Collector of Customs for the port of Buffalo. Mr. 
Brendel is interested dn several leading Buffalo business enter- 
prises. He is a Mason of the 32d degree. Ancient and Accepted 
Scottish Rite, a member of Modestia Lodge of Masons and of 
Lake Erie Commandery, Knights Templar. He is a Director 
of the Buffalo Orpheus, and a member of the Saengerbund, the 
Teutonia Maennerchor, and other singing societies. On the 
occasion of the Saengerfest of the North American Saenger- 
bund, in 1901, Mr. Brendel was a member of the Board of 
Directors, served on the Finance Committee, and was Treasurer 
of the organization. He belongs to the Harugari, the Buffalo 
Society of Natural Sciences, Treasurer of the German Society 
of Buffalo, Treasurer of the German Alliance of Buffalo, and St. 
Stephen's Evangelical Church. 

December 6, 1891, Mr. Brendel married Augusta Haupt, 
daughter of Frederick and Henrietta (Fuchs) Haupt. They 
have two daughters, Freda H. and Elsa Brendel. 

EUGENE M. BARTLETT, one of the leading lawyers of 
Buffalo and Western New York, comes from a long line of 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 183 

distinguislaed English ancestors, who trace their descent back 
to one of the sturdy warriors who followed William the 
Conqueror from Normandy to England in the Eleventh Century, 
since which time, in the more peaceful, but equally stirring- 
world of politics and pxiblic affairs, the family has been promi- 
nent in England and later in America. Curiously enough one 
of the descendants of a lieutenant of William the Conqueror of 
England, signed the American Declaration of Independence. 

The family from which Mr. Bartlett is directly descended 
traces its lineage back to Adam Bartlett, who accompanied 
William the Conqueror from Normandy and fought under his 
banner at the decisive battles at Hastings in 1066. When the 
Norman Chieftain rewarded his victorious followers with tracts 
of English land, Adam Bartlett was given five thousand acres 
in Sussex, which have been held by the family from that day 
to this. The family mansion, still standing, was built in the 
thirteenth century. Another ancient edifice on the estate is a 
Norman stone church, built in 1309, and which is still in use. 
The present owner of the estate, which in accordance with the 
English law descends to the eldest male descendant, is Sir 
Walter G. Bartlett, 24th in the line from Adam Bartlett. 

The first Bartlett to come to America was Kichard Bartlett, 
who came from Sussex and settled at Newbury, Mass., in 1636. 
His descendants have played stirring roles in the history of 
the nation they helped to found. Among these, the most dis- 
tinguished was Josiah Bartlett, whose elder brother, Stephen, 
was the great-great-great-grandfather of the subject of this 
sketch. Josiah Bartlett headed the New Hampshire delegation 
to the Congress of 1776, and as such signed the Declaration of 
Independence, his name following immediately after that of 
John Hancock, President of the Congress. In later years Josiah 
served New Hampshire as Governor and also as United States 
Senator. 

Mr. Bartlett's father is Hon. Myron E. Bartlett, whose father 
removed from Vermont to Wyoming County, N. Y., in 1824; 



184 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

There Myron E. Bartlett was born seven years later. He 
married Cordelia Elvira McFarlan of Twinsburg, Ohio, where 
he completed his education in the Twinsburg Institution. 
Through this union Eugene M. Bartlett was born at Warsaw 
on March 11th, 1855. In early life, recognizing its educational 
value, he learned the printer's trade in the office of the Western 
New Yorker, of which William H. Merrill, later the managing 
editor of the New York World, was then the proprietor. In 
after years Mr. Bartlett frequently contributed articles to 
papers and magazines. He received his education in the 
Warsaw and Geneseo Academies, and finished in Cornell 
University, and following his father in the study of law, was 
admitted to the bar in 1880. In the following year he formed a 
partnership with his father, under the name of M. E. & B. M. 
Bartlett, which continued until 1896. During its existence the 
firm was engaged upon one side or the other in nearly every 
important case in the county. The senior member of the firm 
was appointed County Judge by Governor Black in 1896. 

Eugene M. Bartlett early took a prominent place at the 
Wyoming County Bar, and also became an active worker in the 
ranks of the Republican party; the combination of Republican- 
ism and legal ability resulting in his election of District 
Attorney of the County in 1887. This office he filled with 
ability and success, until 1889, declining a re-nomination. 

On January 23rd, 1895, Mr. Bartlett married Grace M. 
Sheldon of Hornellsville, and on June 1st of the following year 
removed to Buffalo, in order that he might enter upon a wider 
field in the practice of law. Since his removal to Buffalo, Mr. 
Bartlett has taken a prominent place at the Erie County Bar^ 
and has been engaged in the trial of some of the most important 
civil and criminal actions arising in that section of the State. 

Mr. Bartlett has been connected with many business enter- 
prises; he is a member of the New York State Bar Association, 
of the Erie County Bar Association, the Lawyers' Club, the 
Buffalo Historical Society, CorneH Alumni Association, Batavia 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 185 

Commandery, Knights Templar; Adytum Chapter, F. & A. M.; 
Lodge of the Ancient Landmarks, No. 441; Batavia Club, the 
Buffalo Club, Park Club of Buffalo, and the Empire State 
Society of the Sons of the American Eevolution. 

EDWARD EMERSON COATSWORTH, former District 
Attorney of Erie County, and a noted practitioner at the 
Buffalo bar, is a lawyer of wide experience and excellent record, 
and in civic, political and social connections commands the 
esteem of all who know him. 

Mr. Coatsworth is of English ancestry, being a grandson of 
Thomas Coatsworth, who with his wife, Jane Graham, and 
other members of the family, came to Buffalo in 1817. In 1830 
he purchased thirty acres of land in the South Side of Buffalo, 
thus becoming one of the principal land-owners of the city. 
Upon his death this property descended intact to his sons, 
Caleb and John. 

CALEB COATSWORTH, son of Thomas, was born in 
England in 1811. When six years old he came with his 
parents to Buffalo, and was educated in the public schools of 
that city. In his youth he learned the hatter's trade, later 
engaging in that business for himself. After the death of their 
father, Caleb Coatsworth and his brother, John, erected build- 
ings on the real estate which became theirs by inheritance, and 
otherwise developed the property. During the later years of his 
life Caleb Coatsworth retired from mercantile business and 
devoted himself to the care of his extensive land interests in 
Buffalo. In politics he was a Democrat, but supported Lincobi 
during the Civil War. 

In 1846 Mr. Coatsworth married Jane Coatsworth, his cousin, 

who died in 1850. Their only child was a daughter. Prances A., 

who died in 1883. In 1862 Mr. Coatsworth married again, his 

wife being Jane Webb, a native of England. The children of 

. the marriage were Reuben H. and Edward E. Coatsworth. The 



186 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

death of Caleb Coatsworth occurred August 10, 1870. Mrs. 
Coatsworth died January 19, 1899. 

Edward Emerson Coatsworth was born in Buffalo IS'ovember 
5, 1866, and was educated in the public schools. Immediately 
after his graduation he entered upon a course of legal study, 
beginning as a student and clerk in the law office of Tabor & 
Sheehan in 1884. Jamiary 6, 1888, he was admitted to the bar, 
and the same year became junior partner in the law firm of 
Tabor, Sheehan & Coatsworth. In 1890, wlien John Cunneen 
became a partner, the firm name being Tabor, Sheehan, 
Cunneen & Coatsworth, an association which lasted until Mr. 
Sheehan removed to New York, when the firm of Cunneen & 
Coatswortli was formed, continuing until October, 1897. In 
1898, the firm of Fisher, Coatsworth & Wende was organized 
and existed till the death of Mr. Theodore Wende in 1902, when 
the firm became Fisher, Coatsworth & Wende, being composed 
of Messrs. Fisher and Coatsworth, Charles Diebold, Jr., Harry 
N. Kraft and Frederick Wende. This partnership continued 
until 1903, when the firm of Fisher, Coatswortli, Diebold & 
Kraft was organized. Mr. Fisher retiring April 5, 1905, the 
firm became Coatsworth, Diebold & Kraft. Mr. Coatsworth is 
attorney for the Western Savings Bank, and the Lackawanna 
National Bank, and his firm is counsel for the receiver of the 
German Bank. The firm has a large general practice, is widely 
known and as widely respected. 

Mr. Coatsworth has always been a Democrat, and his interest 
in politics is active. In the fall of 1902 he received the Demo- 
cratic nomination for District Attorney and was elected by a 
plurality of 3,600, a very large vote for the Democracy to poll 
in Erie County. He served as District Attorney for three years, 
retiring January, 1906. He administered the affairs of the 
office with ability, fidelity and zeal, and made an admirable 
record. In January, 1906, Mr. Coatsworth accepted the office 
of Chairman of the Democratic General Committee to which 
position he had been elected by an unanimous vote, having the 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 187 

support of all factions in the party. He was re-elected to that 
position in 1907. 

Mr. Coatsworth is well known as a lover of aquatic sport. 
He is a member of the Buffalo Canoe Club, having served, as 
Commodore from 1899 to 1902 and again in 1906, and belongs 
to the Buffalo Yacht Club. He is also a member of the Buffalo 
and Ellicott Clubs, a 32d degree Mason, a Noble of the Mystic 
Shrine, a member of Hugh de Payens Commandery, Knights 
Templar; also a member of Buffalo Consistory, Zuleika Grotto, 
and of the Acacia Club. He is an Episcopalian, and was 
christened and confirmed in old St. James Church. 

June 25th, 1891, Mr. Coatsworth married Emma M. Blacking 
of Buffalo, daughter of Charles B. and Ella Thomas. The chil- 
dren of the marriage are: Helen, born April 24, 1892, and 
Emerson E., born February 15, 1894. 

GEORGE JEDIAH LETCHWOKTH. In George J. Letch- 
worth, who passed from this life on the 24th of May, 1887, were 
blended in equal degree the qualities of the strong, capable 
man of affairs and the broad-minded philanthropist. Gifted 
with rare practical abilities, Mr. Letchworth was a man of 
exceptional power and initiative. From an early period of his 
life he was identified with large manufacturing enterprises, and 
he won a distinguished name in the business world. But amid 
all the activities of his busy career he was ever mindful of the 
higher meaning of existence. Few men have so well exempli- 
fied the principles of honor and Christian benevolence. His 
character was singularly gentle, frank and sincere. 

The Letchworth family is of English descent, and the 
ancestors of the subject of this sketch were well-known resi- 
dents of Philadelphia and its vicinity, being prominent mem- 
bers of the Society of Friends. Later representatives of the 
family removed to Central New York. The parents of George 
J. Letchworth were Josiah and Ann (Hance) Letchworth, who 
in the early part of their married life resided at Burlington, 
N. J. Thence in 1820 they removed to the Black River region 



188 MEMOKIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

of Northern New York, settling first at Chaumont, afterward 
at Brownville. In 1828 Mr. Letchwortli removed to Moravia, 
Cayuga County, and later settled at Sherwood, where he 
became established in the saddlery business for many years. 
He finally removed to Auburn, N. Y., where he lived until his 
death in 1857. 

Guided in his principles and conduct by the teachings of the 
Society of Friends, Josiah Letchworth was a man of consistent 
Christian life. He was prominent in the anti-slavery move- 
ment, a leading advocate of temperance reform, and took a 
keen interest in political affairs so far as they bore on vital 
necessities of morality and justice. 

George Jediah Letchworth was the third son of Josiah 
Letchworth and was born in Brownville, Jefferson County, 
N. Y., on the 14th of August, 1827. As a youth he displayed 
remarkable ingenuity and mechanical skill in the success with 
which he constructed an apparatus for developing electricity. 

When seventeen years of age he left home to enter the service 
of Messrs. Hayden & Holmes at Auburn, N. Y., and in 1849 was 
admitted to partnership, the firm style becoming Hayden, 
Holmes & Co., and later, Hayden & Letchworth, of which con- 
cern he continued to be the managing partner for about twenty- 
two years and up to 1872. 

Mr. Letchworth became closely identified with the public life 
of Auburn. He was among the foremost in all good works, 
civic, benevolent or religious. During the Civil War he was a 
prominent member of the Sanitary Commission. 

Mr. Letchworth removed to Buffalo in 1876. He came here 
at the suggestion of his brother, Mr. Josiah Letchworth, with 
which Mr. George J. Letchworth afterwards became associated 
as a partner. The firm, widely known as proprietors of the 
Buffalo Malleable Iron & Steel Works, were also extensively 
engaged in the manufacture of saddlery hardware. The 
connection of Mr. Letchworth with the house of Pratt & 
Letchworth lasted till the close of his life. 

The engrossing cares of the great enterprise which he had in 





^clj^yy 




^JJ(s/u^V^^/T 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 189 

charge absorbed Mr. Letchworth's time and strength, yet he 
took a keen interest in the advancement of Buffalo. His 
benevolent nature found a still larger sphere than before, and 
he became notably identified with the charities of the City. He 
was a particularly active member of the Society for the Preven- 
tion of Cruelty to Children, and was elected its President, an 
office which he continued to hold till his death in the month of 
May, 1887, at Manchester, England. His remains rest in the 
beautiful cemetery of Auburn, the city which he so loved and 
where he so long resided. 

Mr. Letchworth was married on the 21st of August, 1850, at 
Sherwood, N. Y., to Charlotte Pearl, only daughter of Dr. 
Denison and Maria (Ogden) Pearl, of Scipio. The children of 
the union were Ogden P., and Anna M. Letchworth, the latter 
of whom is since deceased. 

OGDEN PEARL LETCHWORTH. One of Buffalo's leading 
citizens, and a man who stands in the front rank of industrial 
leaders in this State, is Ogden P. Letchworth. As head of the 
Pratt & Letchworth Company and other enterprises of national 
reputation, Mr. Letchworth is widely known as an executive of 
first-class ability and as a large-minded, sagacious business man 
who exemplifies the principles of progress and is in the van- 
guard of the march of modern improvement. Mr. Letchworth 
is as eminent in citizenship as in the business world. 

Ogden Pearl Letchworth was born in Auburn, N. Y., on the 
23d of August, 1851. As a boy he attended the public and- high 
schools of his native city, later entering the Williston Seminary 
at Easthampton, Mass., from which institution he graduated. 
In the later '60's Mr. Letchworth began his business career, 
becoming office assistant in his father's saddlery manufac- 
turing establishment at Auburn, finally being admitted to part- 
nership in the firm of Hayden, Letchworth & Smith. 

In 1876 Mr. Letchworth removed to Buffalo, where he became 
connected with the well-known firm of Pratt & Letchworth, 
manufacturers of steel and malleable castings. While in this 



190 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

employ he was at different times salesman, stock-keeper, cor- 
responding clerk, purchasing agent, and general manager, 
which position he continued to hold till 1886, when, on the death 
of his father, he became a partner. The copartnership existed 
till the 1st of January, 1896. The firm was then incorporated 
under the laws of New York State as the Pratt & Letchworth 
Company, with a paid-up capital of |300,000, Ogden P. Letch- 
worth being chosen President and Josiah Letchworth Secretary 
and Treasurer. The Pratt & Letchworth Company has the 
prestige of long standing, for its foundation dates from the 
establishment of the firm of Pratt & Letchworth in 1848. 
Originally the concern manufactured saddlery and carriage 
hardware. Later was added the production of malleable iron 
and steel castings. The concern controls the Buffalo Malleable 
Iron Works, the Buffalo Steel Eoundry, the Malleable Iron 
Works at Brantford, Ont., and the United Hame Company, of 
which Mr. Ogden P. Letchworth is also President. The plant 
at Black Rock covers twenty acres, twelve acres being under 
roof, and includes about fifty buildings. Some 1,400 persons are 
employed. 

Mr. Letchworth is a loyal citizen of Buffalo, to whose inter- 
ests he is greatly devoted. Not a holder or seeker of public 
office, he is so closely identified with the vital interests of the 
community and the general cause of progress that he is in the 
genuine meaning of the term a public man. His infiuence and 
his substantial support are thrown into the scale of right, 
liberality and justice in all movements having for their objects 
the civil, social or intellectual welfare of the city. Generous 
by nature and with a keen sentiment of sympathy for those less 
organized charities and is equally noted for private benevo- 
lence. In politics Mr. Letchworth is a Republican. His 
ambitions do not lead him to become what is commonly called 
active along |)olitical lines, but he is a firm believer in good 
government and in the doctrine that public office is a public 
trust. He has served his party as a member of the Republican 
League, and is rigidly observant of his duty as a voter and his 
obligations as an American citizen. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 191 

Mr. Letchworth is a member and former president of the 
National Founders' Association, trustee of the Gowanda State 
Homeopathic Hospital, appointed by Governor Black in 1898, 
trustee of the Queen City Society for the Prevention of Cruelty 
to Children, the Buffalo Historical Society, and the American 
Scenic and Historic Prevention Society of New York, and 
belongs to the Buffalo, Park, Ellicott, Country, Buffalo Yacht, 
and Liberal clubs of this city, the Transportation Club of New- 
York, and the Koyal Canadian Yacht Club of Toronto. 

On the 18th of June, 1878, Mr. Letchworth was united in 
marriage to Miss Laura C. Strong of Buffalo. 

WILLIAM LAVERACK, whose death occurred in 1888, was 
a pioneer merchant of Buffalo and one of the most widely 
known and successful of our city's representative men in his 
day. To his memory belongs an honorable page in the annals 
of those men of enterprise and capability to whose labors are 
due the development of Buffalo from a provincial town to a 
large commercial city. 

The family from which Mr. Laverack was descended was of 
Scotch origin, having removed from Scotland to Yorkshire, 
England, many generations ago. Edward Laverack, the father 
of William Lavei'ack, was a ship owner and timber merchant 
of Hull, who imported ship and building timber from the 
Baltic region. 

William Laverack was born in Hull, England, in 1815. He 
followed his father's business until he was eighteen years old, 
when he came to this country, landing in New York City. He 
soon went to Pittsfleld, Massachusetts, where he entered the 
employ of Theodore Pomeroy, a manufacturer of carpets and 
woolens. Mr. Laverack came to Buffalo in the spring of 1833, 
entering the drug store of Eobert Hollister, which was located 
at the Southeast corner of Seneca and Main streets. He 
formed a partnership with Mr. Hollister under the firm name 
of Hollister & Laverack. The association, which was very 
prosperous, existed till 1864, when Mr. Hollister retired and 



192 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTOEY. 

Mr. Laverack admitted as partners his two sons, William A. 
and George E. Laverack, under the style of Wm. Laverack & 
Co. This firm continued until. 1877, when William A. Laverack 
died. In 1884 Joseph L. Hunsicker became connected with the 
business. Upon the death of William Laverack in 1888, the 
firm was dissolved, Mr. Hunsicker withdrawing. 

In the early days of the firm its business was almost wholly 
in the West, and some reminiscences of the time give an inter- 
esting picture of how commerce was carried on in the '40*s. 
On the 2d of January in each year Mr. Laverack would start on 
a horseback tour, settling up accounts of the previous year and 
journeying as far West as Chicago, the trip occupying three 
months. These horseback journeys continued till 1850. In 
1854 the store at Main and Seneca streets was rebuilt, and Mr. 
Hollister established there the Hollister Bank. The drug and 
grocery business being removed to No. 230 Washington street, 
where it has been conducted for half a century. 

A man of quiet habits and domestic tastes, as a general rule 
he divided his time between his store and his home. But when 
it was proposed to erect the first headquarters of the recently 
organized Buffalo Club at No. 210 Delaware avenue, next to his 
residence, he became a charter member of the Club. He also 
was actively concerned in various institutions for the further- 
ance of education, culture and benevolence, and held life 
memberships in the Buffalo Historical Society, the Fine Arts 
Academy and the Society of Natural Sciences. He was also a 
zealous member and a liberal supporter of the Young Men's 
Association. 

William Laverack was a man of high principle and strong 
religious belief. He was one of the organizers of Trinity Parish 
in 1836, and served as Vestryman and Warden of the church 
for a great many years. 

In 1840 Mr. Laverack married Mary Eadcliffe, daughter of 
Jerry Radcliffe and Ariadne Webster, and was the sister of 
Mrs. Robert Hollister and Mrs. Walter Jay. Mrs. Laverack 
died in 1877. The children of the union now surviving are 



MEMOKIAL AND B^AMILY HISTORY. 



19S 



George E. Laverack and Mary A., now the wife of Dr. H. C. 
Frost. 

Few lives have so well exemplified as did that of William 
Laverack the qualities of the capable business man, the con- 
scientious citizen and the consistent Christian. A man without 
pretense or display, his existence moved in a current which, 
though serene, was strong and steady and which brought 
abundant benefits to his fellow-men. His was a well-rounded 
character, true to itself and to principle. His life was one of 
pre-eminent usefulness and his death was felt as a severe loss 
to the community with whose growth and prosperity his career 
had been so closely identified. 



GEORGE EDWARD LAVERACK. Among Buffalonians 
of our day who have attained a prominent place in the world 
of business and the sphere 
of citizenship, one of 
the most noteworthy is 
George E. Laverack. Mr. 
Laverack was for many 
years identified with the 
wholesale drug and gro- 
cery business. During his 
active career Mr. Lave- 
rack was connected with 
other extensive interests, 
notably in transportation 
and banking affairs. He 
is well known in social 
life, and is an earnest 
supporter of movements 
in aid of civic and general 
improvement. 

Mr. Laverack was born 
in Buffalo on the 10th of 
October, 1845, and is a son of the late William Laverack. In 




GEORGE LAVERACK. 



194 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTOEY. 

1864, when only nineteen, he became his father's partner in the 
wholesale drug and grocery trade. He remained continuously 
with his father until the latter's death, and for several years 
previous had practically the entire charge of the business^. On 
the death of the elder Mr. Laverack in 1888, George E. Laverack 
bought the interest of J. L. Hunsicker as well as that of the 
Laverack estate, and became sole proprietor, and conducted 
the business- until 1900. During the years of his control he 
developed the business greatly, making it one of the largest 
houses in its line between New York and Chicago, being known 
throughout New York State, the Middle West and Penn- 
sylvania. 

Meantime Mr. Laverack became identified with transporta- 
tion affairs. In 1877 he was elected a Director of the Western 
Transportation Company and served until that corporation 
passed over to the New York Central Railroad in 1883. He was 
also a Director in the old American Exchange Bank. 

Mr. Laverack has been for many years an active member of 
the Chamber of Commerce and its predecessor, the Merchants' 
Exchange. He is a life member of the Buffalo Historical 
Society, the Fine Arts Academy and the Society of Natural 
Sciences. He is well-known in the Masonic fraternity, being- 
affiliated with Ancient Landmarks Lodge of Masons and Hugh 
de Payens Commandery, Knights Templar. He is a member of 
the Buffalo Club, and was one of the founders of the Country 
Club, of which he served as President during the first three 
years of its existence. Like his father, Mr. Laverack was a 
Volunteer Fireman, serving with Taylor Hose Company for 
eight years. Since childhood he has been a member of Trinity 
Church. 

On the 5th of September, 1871, Mr. Laverack married Miss 
Mary Rumrill, daughter of Levi H. Eumrill and Frances 
(T^weedy) Rumrill. The children of the union are Belle Rad- 
cliffe Laverack; Gertrude, now the wife of Andrew N. Winslow 
of Boston; Howard Cowing Laverack; William Harold 
Laverack, and Miss Jean Laverack. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 195 

EGBERT KEATING. To that representative business man 
and citizen, Robert Keating, two provinces of enterprise have 
afforded the opportunities of success. In the earlier part of 
Mr. Keating's long residence in Buffalo he won distinction and 
acquired wealth in manufactures. At the present time he 
devotes himself to his important banking interests. 

Robert Keating is a native of Ireland. The family to which 
he belongs lived for generations in County Carlow, near Dublin, 
and later in the County of Wexford. Tradition says that the 
Keatings originally came to Ireland from France. 

Robert Keating, the father of Robert Keating of Buffalo, 
was a resident of the County of Wexford, where he was well- 
known as a land-owner and as the agent of a large estate. In 
1827 he married Eleanor Langford, who, like her husband, was 
a member of the Church of England, and belonged to a very old 
Irish family. 

Robert Keating, the subject of the present sketch, was born 
in County Wexford on the 30th of September, 1834. He was 
educated at public and private schools. In 1854 he came to 
America to visit his brother, George Keating, of Brooklyn, 
N. y. Mr. Keating liked this country so well that he decided to 
remain here. In less than a year after his arrival he came to 
Buffalo and entered the employ of Jewett & Root, stove manu- 
facturers. W^ith that firm he remained about eleven years. 
He rose to the positions of cashier and buyer, and in 1866 
formed a partnership with Henry C. Jewett, son of S. S. Jewett, 
in the tannery business. The enterprise was very successful, 
having plants in Glean, N. Y., and in Port Allegany, Pa. With 
this industry Mr. Keating was connected until 1892, when the 
business was sold to the leather trust. Thereafter Mr. Keating 
retired from manufacturing, and has since devoted his time to 
banking, being identified with some of the most important 
financial institutions in Buffalo. Since 1866 he has served as a 
Director of the Third National Bank; is Secretary of the 
Standard Savings & Loan Association, and has been Vice- 



196 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

President and trustee of the Buffalo Savings Banli since 1894. 

He is a trustee of tlie Buffalo Orphan Asylum and for 
twenty-five years served as a trustee of the Buffalo General 
Hospital. He is a life member of the Young Men's Association, 
and the P^ine Arts Academy, and belongs to the Historical 
Society. He is President of the Board of Trustees of the Dela- 
ware Avenue Methodist Episcopal Church, and has been a 
member of the board ever since its organization thirty-five 
years ago. 

In 1858 Mr. Keating married Caroline W. Root, daughter of 
Francis H. Root. The only surviving child of the union is 
Robert Keating Root, who was adopted by Francis H. Root, 
who wished an heir to perpetuate the family name. Mrs. 
Keating died in 1866. In 1868 Mr. Keating married a second 
time, his wife being Anna J. Putnam, a daughter of the late 
Hon. James O. Putnam. The children of the marriage are: 
George P. Keating; Jeannette P. Keating, now Mrs. Roger C. 
Adams, and Harriett Keating. 

AUGUST CARL ESENWEIN, senior member of the firm 
of Esenwein & Johnson, as an architect and designer stands in 
the front rank of his profession. 

Mr. Esenwein comes of a German house of great antiquity, 
the Esenwein family-, which belonged to the knightly order, 
having lived for more than 500 years on its ancestral estates 
called Esenwein-Yirnsberg, in the Kingdom of Wuertemburg, 
South Germany. The last of the race to use the antique von 
Esenwein- Virnsberg name was Carl August Esenwein- Virns- 
berg, grandfather of August Carl Esenwein of Buffalo. His 
only son was August Carl Esenwein, the father of the subject 
of this sketch. He was born in 1819, and as a young man lived 
on rthe family estate. In 1861 he came to America, and after 
spending ten years in this country, returned to Germany, where 
he died in 1869. He married Caroline Glessing of Weinsberg, 
who died in Vienna in 1884. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 197 

August Carl Esenwein was born November 7, 1856, at Eseu-^ 
wein-Virnsberg, near Weinsberg, in Wuertemburg, Germany. 
His rudimentary education was obtained at private schools, and 
later he entered the Gymnasium at Stuttgart, and was there 
prepared for the University of Stuttgart. In 1874 he became 
a student in the Stuttgart Polytechnic University, where he 
remained for five years, also serving a year in the German 
army. While at Stuttgart he pursued courses in architecture 
and engineering, graduating in 1879. He then went to Paris, 
where for two years he worked in an architect's studio as a 
draughtsman. 

In 1880 Mr. Esenwein came to America, and settled in 
Buffalo, where he first found employment as a draughtsman, 
afterward spending two years in the engineering office of the 
Delaware & Lackawanna Railroad. While there he won the 
first prize for a design for the iirst Music Hall, which was built 
under his supervision. On leaving the employ of the railroad 
he began the practice of his profession for himself, and seven 
years ago formed a partnership with John Addison Johnson, 
with whom he has ever since been associated. Among the 
buildings designed by Mr. Esenwein are the Buffalo Public 
Library, the Gowanda State Hospital, the Iroquois Hotel, as 
remodeled, the Tower Hotel at Niagara Falls, the Gluck office 
building and the German-American Brewery and Hall. The 
firm of Esenwein & Johnson designed the Temple of Music, 
the Administration Building and Alt Nurnberg at the Pan- 
American, the Providence Retreat, the West Side and Lafayette 
High Schools, the Statler and Tourajne Hotels, six Buffalo 
grammar-schools, some of the Buffalo State Hospital buildings, 
the Saturn Club, the Teck Theater and Cafe, St. Agnes Church 
in East Buffalo, and many fine residences. In the erection of 
the fireproof store building at Main and Mohawk streets, 
Buffalo, in 120 days, the firm made a world's record for a 
building of this size and construction. 

Mr. Esenwein is a member of the American Institute of 



198 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Architects, the Buffalo Chapter of Architects, and the Buffalo 
Society of Artists. He belongs to the Historical Society, the 
German Young Men's Association; is a life member of the Turn 
Verein and of the Buffalo Library, and a member of the Buffalo 
Orpheus, and is also a member of the Buffalo, Ellicott, Park 
and Country clubs. He is a 32d degree Mason, and belongs to 
Ancient Landmarks Lodge, F. & A. M., and to Buffalo 
Consistory. 

In May, 1892, Mr. Esenwein married Katherine Haberstro, 
daughter of Philip L. Haberstro and Barbara Scheu of Buffalo. 
The issue of the union is one child, August Carl, born July 
28, 1906. 

CHAELES RUSSELL HUNTLEY, President of the Buffalo 
General Electric Company, is one of Buffalo's leading business 
men and in the field of electricity applied to industrial and 
commercial uses, ranks among the foremost men of the time. 

Mr. Huntley is of English and Puritan lineage. The immi- 
grant ancestor came from England to the Colonies during the 
Puritan emigration and settled in New Bedford, Massachusetts. 
His eldest son was James Huntley, who settled in Exeter, 
Otsego County, N. Y. His eldest son was Phineas Huntley, 
who was a farmer in Exeter, and whose sons were James, 
Charles, Elisha, Lester, Orrin, Porter, and Loren. 

James Huntley, son of Phineas, was, like his father, a farmer. 
In 1850 he retired from farming and removed to the town of 
West Winfield, Herkimer County, N. Y., where he died in 
March, 1879. He was a Major in the State militia and a Justice 
of the Peace of the town of Exeter. He was survived by his 
sons, Russell, James, Alonzo, George, Porter, and Carlos. 

Russell Huntley, son of James Huntley and father of Charles 
R. 'Huntley of Buffalo, was born in West Exeter, N. Y. 
January 10th, 1818. He began life as a farm boy, taught school' 
and later became a merchant in Durhamville, Oneida County' 
Afterward he removed to West Winfield, Herkimer County, 



MEMOEIAL AND FAMILY HISTOEY. 199 

where for many years he kept a general store. Later he 
removed to Ilion, N. Y., a year afterward going to Utica, N. Y., 
where he engaged in a mercantile business. At the close of the 
Civil War he went to Newberne, North Carolina, where he 
carried on business until 1867, when he returned to Ilion and 
engaged in the hardware trade. He died January 4, 1901. The 
wife of Eussell Huntley was Clorinda Talbot, who was born in 
Manlius, Onondaga County, in this State, and who died in 1898. 
Charles Russell Huntley was born in West Winfield, 
Herkimer County, N. Y., October 12th, 1854. Until fifteen years 
old he attended public schools. He assisted his father in 
business until twenty years of age. He then entered the 
employment of the Remington Arms Company of Ilion, N. Y., 
for three years, when he entered the employ of the Standard 
Oil Company, at Bradford, Pa., afterward becoming the 
company's agent in that city, until 1883, when he resigned and 
went into the brokerage business in Bradford, remaining there 
till 1888. In that year he came to Buffalo as Secretary and 
General Manager of the Brush Electric Light Company, which 
positions he held until 1903, when the Brush and other com- 
panies were merged into the Buffalo General Electric Company, 
of which Mr. Huntley became Vice-President, and General 
Manager, and later President and General Manager, ofQ.ces 
which he now holds. He is also Vice-President and General 
Manager of the Cataract Power and Conduit Company; Presi- 
dent of the Cataract Electric Supply Company, and President 
of the Niagara Tachometer Company and of the Ramapo Iron 
Works. He is a Director of the Western New York Water 
Company and of the International Acheson Graphite Company; 
Treasurer of the Niagara Falls Electric Light & Power Com- 
pany, and a Director of the George Urban Milling Company. He 
is Vice-President of the People's Bank, a Director of the Ger- 
man-American Bank, and is interested in the Mexico & Orient 
Railroad. 
In politics Mr. Huntley was formerly a Democrat, but in 



200 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTOKY. 

1896, when the Democratic party advocated the free coinage of 
silver, he became a Republican. While in Bradford, Mr. 
Huntley served one term as Select Councilman. He was twice 
elected a member of the Bradford Board of School Control, 
serving two years. He was api)ointed Park Commissioner of 
Buffalo by Mayor Jewett, serving three years. 

When the late John M. Brinker first projected the Pan- 
American Exposition, Mr. Huntley was made one of the original 
Board of Directors and later served as a Director and a 
member of the Executive Committee. In 1905 he was Commis- 
sioner of the State of New York to the Lewis & Clark Expo- 
sition at Poi'tland, Oregon. In 1890 Mr. Huntley was elected 
President of the National Electric Light Association, a body 
composed of 800 members and representing vast electrical 
interests throughout the United States. A sequel to this event 
was the assembling of the Association's Annual Convention in 
Buffalo in 1892. Mr. Huntley is a member of the American 
Institute of Electrical Engineers, and frequently contributes 
to electrical Journals. He is a member of the Chamber of Com- 
merce, and belongs to the Buffalo, Ellicott and Country clubs, 
in all of which he has served as Director. He is also connected 
with the Republican Club of New York City. He is a 32d degree 
Mason, and a member of Ancient Landmarks Lodge. In religion 
he is of the Episcopal faith, and attends the Church of the 
Ascension. 

In June, 1878, Mr. Huntley married Miss Ida Richardson, a 
daughter of William and Ann (O'Day) Richardson. The chil- 
dren of this union are : William Russell, now Assistant General 
Manager of the Buffalo General Electric Company; Walter 
Wood, who is engaged in the electrical business in Buffalo; 
Mary, now Mrs. Robert W. Chapin, and Robert Richardson. 

JOHN NEWTON SCATCHERD. No man is more strongly 
identified than John N. Scatcherd with the business, civic, and 
social life of Buffalo. The English family of Scatcherds, from 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 201 

whom John IST. Scatcherd is descended, is of Yorkshire stock, 
the lineage dating back to feudal times. Thomas Scatcherd, the 
great-grandfather of John N. Scatcherd, was born in Beverly, 
near Hull, England, in 1750. He was one of the great 
merchants of Hull, and a leading supporter of the famous 
English philanthropist and reformer, William Wilberforce. 
John Scatcherd, son of Thomas Scatcherd, was born at Beverly, 
Yorlishire, in 1800. In 1821 he sailed for America. After 
arriving in Canada he went to Little Yorli, now Toronto; later 
he removed to Nissouri, the site of the present city of London. 
He became a leading citizen of that section and served in the 
Canadian Parliament many years. 

JAMES IS^EWTON SCATCHERD, son of John Scatcherd, 
was born at Wyton, Ont, December 4, 1824, and passed his 
youth upon his father's farm. His education was gained at the 
common schools. Lumbering was an important industry of the 
neighborhood, and the young man soon entered that business. 
In the spring of 1S52 he located in Buffalo, as the agent of 
Farmer, de Blaquiere & Deeds, lumber manufacturers, dealers 
and shippers at Woodstock and other points in Upper Canada. 
In 1857 he succeeded to the Buffalo branch of the business, 
which he continued with signal siiccess, being up to the time of 
his death one of the principal lumber dealers of the United 
States. In 1879, his son, John N. Scatcherd, was admitted to 
partnership, the firm being thenceforth known as Scatcherd & 
Son. The specialty of the business was the expensive hard 
woods. 

Mr. Scatcherd was connected with various Buffalo business 
organizations and projects. In the autumn of 1884 he was 
elected Vice-President of the Third National Bank, and was 
also a stockholder in several of the local banks. 

The only public offtce ever held by Mr. Scatcherd was that of 
Chairman of the Board of Water Commissioners for four years. 

Mr. Scatcherd married November 7, 1855, Miss Annie Belton 



202 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



of Tairfield, Canada. lie died January 18, 1885. He is survived 
by Ms son, John N. Scatcherd, and by a daughter, Mrs. Seward 
Gary. 

Mr. Scatcherd was one of the founders and a trustee of the 
Delaware avenue M. E. Church. He was a liberal contributor to 
charity; and the Buffalo General Hospital especially profited 
exceedingly by his benevolence. 

John Newton Scatchherd, son of James Newton Scatcherd, 
was born in Buffalo September 12th, 1857. His education 
was obtained in the public schools, Prof. Briggs' Classical 
School, and Hellmuth College in London, Ontario, graduating 
in 1872. After leaving college Mr. Scatcherd became con- 
nected with Scatcherd & 
Belton, remaining until 
1879, when he was taken 
into partnership, the firm 
becoming Scatcherd & 
Son. 

The firm is one of the 
largest hardwood lumber 
concerns in the country. 
Mr. Scatcherd is Presi- 
dent of the Batavia-New 
York Woodworking Com- 
pany, whose plant is at 
Batavia, N. Y. From 1892 
to 1896 he was President 
of the Bank of Buffalo, 
and is yet a Director. He 
is also Director of the 
Third National Bank, the 
Buffalo Loan & Trust & 
Safety Deposit Company. He was one of the projectors of the 
Ellicott Square Company, and acted as its President from 1894 
to 1906, being now its Vice-President, and one of its Directors. 




JOHN tq". SCATOUEED. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 203 

He was formerly a Director of tlie Buffalo Eailway Company, 
and has since served as a Director of the International Railway 
Company. He is also a Director of the Buffalo, Lake Erie and 
Niagara Railroad, and is a Director and one of the promoters 
of the proposed Buffalo, Rochester & Eastern Railroad. 

From 1886 to 1888 Mr. Scatcherd was President of the Buffalo 
Lumber Exchange, and for two years was President of the 
Merchants' Exchange. When the Pan-American Exposition 
Company was organized in 1899 Mr. Scatcherd was elected a 
member of the Board of Directors and Chairman of its Execu- 
tive Committee; The committee was given the entire manage- 
ment of the Pan-American enterprise, except in the question of 
finance. For the two years, 1900-1901, Mr.- Scatcherd gave prac- 
tically all his time to the work. The task was enormous, and 
was ably and successfully performed. 

Mr. Scatcherd is one of the most prominent Republicans of 
Erie County. Elected President of the Buffalo Republican 
League, he held the ofl&ce two years, afterward serving another 
year. He also served seven years as member of the Republican 
State Committee for Erie County. During this period Mr. 
Scatcherd was the offtcial leader of the Republican party in Erie 
County, a position which he filled with rare tact and ability. In 
1897 he received the Republican nomination for Mayor, but that 
year the whole Democratic ticket was elected. 

Mr. Scatcherd occupies a distinguished social position. He is 
a member of the Buffalo, Country, Ellicott, and Park clubs, and 
belongs to the Tennessee Club of Memphis, and the New York 
and Republican clubs of New York City. He is a member of the 
Delaware Avenue Methodist Episcopal Church, and has also 
served as its trustee. For some years Mr. Scatcherd was a 
trustee of the Buffalo General Hospital. He is a member of the 
Fine Arts Academy. 

September 9th, 1879, Mr. Scatcherd married Mary Eunice 
Wood, granddaughter of the late O. G. Steele of Buffalo. Their 
children are a daughter, Madeline Steele Scatcherd, and a son, 
James Newton Scatcherd. 



204 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



HIRAM WALTZ, of the live-stock commission firm of Swope, 
Hughes, Waltz & Benstead, is known throughout the country 
as the controller of immense live stock interests in East Buffalo 
and Cleveland, and not only stands in the foremost rank of 
Buffalo business men, but is one of the leading business men of 
the United States. Mr. Waltz is of Swiss ancestry, being 
descended from an ancient family. In the twelfth century the 

name Waltzer was ap- 
plied to a small com- 
munity of farmers who 
sought refuge from Gothic 
dominion in a mountain 
valley of the Alpine 
range, near the Rhine 
Glacier. These people 
have a well defined place 
in the annals of Switzer- 
land, being referred to by 
at least three Swiss his- 
torians. 

Born at Bluflton, O., in 
1850, he early became en- 
gaged in the dry-goods, 
and grain and live stock 
business, continuing for 
twelve years. In 1881 
Mr. Waltz removed to 
Buffalo, there becoming connected with the live stock commis- 
sion business, with which he has remained identified to the 
present time. The importance and the general relationships to 
the community of the great live stock commission house of 
ST%ope, Hughes, Waltz & Bens,tead, in which the subject of this 
sketch is a partner and a leading factor, are matters too well 
known to require extended comment. The transactions of this 
firm are on a vast scale, including interests co-extensive with 




HIRAM WALTZ. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 205 

the United States, and whose ramifications include foreign 
trade in many countries. The firm controls great capital and 
has unbounded banking credit. The position held by Mr. Waltz 
in relation to the live stock commission interests which center 
at East Buffalo is due to his mastery of the details of the busi- 
ness and to his possession of executive ability and grasp of 
general affairs. 

The growing importance of East Buffalo as a business center 
and the financial requirements of the enterprises in that 
locality, led to the organization of the Union Stock Yard Bank 
of Buffalo, November 10, 1904. Of this bank Mr. Waltz was one 
of the founders, and he is also its President. This, the latest 
addition to the banking institutions of Buffalo, is also among 
the strongest. 

Mr. Waltz is a Democrat and once received the Democratic 
nomination for City Con)ptroller, but declined to become a 
candidate. 

As a citizen of Buffalo, the standing of Mr. Waltz is as high 
as is his rank in the business world. He is the most prominent 
man connected with the interests of East Buffalo and wields 
a strong influence in all movements relating to the develop- 
ment of that section. 

THE HAMMOND FAMILY is of origin so ancient that the 
name may be traced to the conquest of England by William 
the Conqueror in 1066, and to France of a period indefinitely 
preceding that epoch. Burke's " Landed Gentry " says that the 
race was probably derived from a branch of the Norman house 
of St. Amand, far more ancient and of Norman origin, granted 
to the "Sirname of Hammond," with the motto: "Tentanda 
Via Est "— " A Way Must be Tried." 

In America the Hammonds date to a period nearly contempo- 
raneous with the earliest Puritan settlement of Massachusetts. 
The branch of the Hammonds with which this sketch is con- 
cerned consists of descendants of William Hammond of 



206 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

London, County Kent, England, who in 1620 married Elizabeth 
Penn, sister of Admiral Sir William Penn, and aunt of William 
Penn. 

The children of William Hammond were: Benjamin, Eliza- 
beth, Martha, and Eachel. After her husband's death the 
widow of William Hammond, with her children, left a good 
estate in London, and in 1634 came to New England. Mrs. 
Hammond lived in Boston and in Watertown, Mass., till 1638, 
when she removed to Scituate, becoming a member of the Eev. 
John Lothrope's church. She died in Boston in 1640. 

Benjamin Hammond, son of William and Elizabeth, w^ent to 
Sandwich, Mass., and in 1650 married Mary Vincent. 

Samuel Hammond, eldest son of Benjamin Hammond (1st), 
was born at Sandwich in 1655. About 1680 he came with his 
brother, John, to Eochester, Mass., -where he lived to an 
advanced age. He was a large landholder, and a leading 
member of the First Congregational Church. He married Mary 
Hathaway. 

Thomas Hammond, fourth son of the preceding, was born 
September 16, 1687. He lived at New Bedford, Mass. In 1721 
he married Sarah Spooner. 

William Hammond, second son of Thomas Hammond of New 
Bedford, was born at that place on the 17th of August, 1724. 
From Wales, Hampden County, Mass., he removed to Northern 
New York, settling in or near Pittstown, Rensselaer County, 
In 1745 he married Elizabeth Sheperd. 

Paul Hammond, son of William, was born December 27th, 
1757, probably at Wales, Hampden County, Mass. In 1780, at 
Pittstown, Rensselaer County, N. Y., he married Mary, also 
called Polly, Fuller. He was a soldier of the Revolution, was 
crippled in the Patriot service, and received a pension from the 
Gq,vernment. He was a farmer. In 1785 he moved to North- 
ampton (Northville), Fulton Co., N. Y. Between 1815 and 1820 
he removed to Penfield, afterward Webster, Monroe County,' 
N. Y., where he died in 1838. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 207 

Benoni G. Btammond, son of Paul Hammond, Sr., was born 
February 16, 1784. He was a farmer, surveyor and school 
teacher. He lived at Brant, Erie County, N. Y., where he 
resided till his death in 1866. May 1, 1803, he married Euth 
Lobdell. 

CHAELES HAMMOND, third son of Benoni G. Hammond, 
born 1807, was the first of the family to settle in Erie County, 
arriving here in 1823. When he came to Erie County, Charles 
Hammond was still a boy. When sixteen years old he took up 
a piece of land in Hamburg, where he followed farming, later 
pursuing the same occupation in Brant, where most of his life 
was spent. He was an extensive land-owner, possessing several 
farms. He was also a contractor on public works, and had 
charge of the building of a section of the Erie Canal. He died 
in 1875. 

Charles Hammond's first wife was Clarissa Clark, whom he 
married August 19, 1830. She was born December 4, 1807, and 
died at Brant February 12, 1844. Their children were: William 
W., George W., Marthaline and Sarah Ann Hammond. June 
12, 1844, Mr. Hammond married Emeline Eice. Their children 
were Philip Harvey, and Anna Maria Hammond. 

WILLIAM W. HAMMOND, eldest son of Charles Hammond, 
was born at Hamburg, Erie County, N. Y;, on the 4th of Novem- 
ber, 1831. He was brought up on his father's farm and 
attended the district schools at Brant and a select school at 
Irving, Chautauqua County. In order to go to school at Irving, 
young Hammond was obliged every day to walk six miles 
through the forest tract known as the " Indian Woods." He 
supplemented his rudimentary training by a course in the 
Fredonia Academy, and at sixteen began teaching school at 
Columbus, Pa., after which he went to Kentucky, where he 
taught school, and went from there to Jefferson County, Miss., 
a few miles from Louisville. Ill health obliged him to return 



208 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY ftt^— ORY. 

County. Mrs. Hammond died in 1860, leaving one daughter, 
to his native State, where he again toolc up his residence in 
Brant, and Hamburg. While teaching school he began to read 
law. In 1856 he opened a general store at Brant, and also 
began to practice in Justices' Courts. When twenty-nine years 
old he came to Buffalo, entering the law office of Albert Swain 
and Judge Stephen Lockwood. Here he read law a short time, 
and was admitted to the bar May 16, 1861. Shortly afterward 
he opened an office in Angola, N. Y. In 1863 he was ordered 
with his regiment, the 67th National Guards, to Harrisburg, 
Pa., where he was stationed when the battle of Gettysburg was 
fought. He was for fourteen years a member of Company G, 
67th Regiment, rising to the rank of Captain. 

In 1864 Mr. Hammond removed to Farnham. Here he 
engaged in farming and the lumber business and conducted a 
general store. He also served one term as Justice of the Peace, 
and was a member of the Board of Supervisors for ten out of 
the twelve years he spent there. In 1877 Mr. Hammond was 
elected County Judge of Erie County, and was twice reelected, 
serving from January 1, 1878, to January 1, 1890. Since 1878 
Judge Hammond has resided in Buffalo. Since retiring from the 
bench, he has engaged in the practice of law here, the name of 
his present firm being Hammond & Hinkley. Judge Hammond 
ranks as a lawyer of large experience, excellent abilities and 
scrupulous integrity. ~ He is a safe and trusted legal adviser, 
and enjoys a large practice. 

Judge Hammond was one of the incorporators of the Angola 
Congregational Church, and one of the original members and 
trustees of the first Congregational church organized in 
Buffalo. For the past twenty years he has been Chairman of 
the Board of Trustees of the Niagara Square Congregational 
Chjirch. 

In 1854 Judge Hammond married Amy Ann Hurd of Evans, 
the bride's parents being among the oldest settlers of Erie 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY. HISTORY. 209 

Kosa Belle, now Mrs. Charles Koepka of Angola, Erie County. 
Later Judge Hammond married Louisa A. Hurd. Their children 
are: Lillie M., now Mrs. Edward J. Newell of Buffalo, and Clark 
Hurd, now one of the Municipal Court judges of this city. 

CLARK HURD HAMMOND was born in the town of Brant, 
Erie County, February 23, 1875. When three years old he came 
with the family to Buffalo, where he attended the public schools 
and Angola Academy, graduating in 1895. 

He had in the meantime become one of the managers of the 
Buffalo Rubber Type Foundry, of whose financial department 
he had charge for a year. In the fall of 1895 he registered as a 
student in the University of Buffalo, devoting his attention to 
law. While pursuing his studies he became a clerk in the office 
of Hammond, Hatch & Ackerson, with whom he continued until 
he was graduated from the Buffalo Law School in 1897. After 
his admission to the bar he was for a year managing clerk in 
the offices of Hammond & Brown, and later he formed a part- 
nership with his father, under the firm name of Hammond & 
Hammond, the connection continuing until the younger 
Hammond became Judge of the Municipal Court. 

In the fall of 1903 Clark H. Hammond, who was then only 
twenty-eight years old, received the Republican nomination for 
Judge of the Municipal Court for the term of six years, and 
was elected by about 3,000 plurality. In January, 1904, Judge 
Hammond entered upon the duties of his office, being the 
youngest man who ever held the position of Municipal Court 
Judge in the City of Buffalo. Judge Hammond has done 
excellent work on the bench, presiding with justice and fairness 
and bringing to his judicial task a thorough knowledge of the 
law. He is now the senior Judge of his Court. In 1906, when 
the Law Department of the University of Buffalo added 
municipal court practice to its regular course, Judge Hammond 
was asked to deliver the lectures, and gave such satisfaction 
that he has been asked to regularly fill that chair. 



210 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Always a Kepublican, Judge Hammond prior to his elevation 
to the bench was actively interested in the affairs of his party, 
serving for two years as District Committeeman of the Second 
District of the old Twentieth Ward, and in 1902 and 1903 repre- 
senting the same ward on the Republican General Committee. 
The latter position he relinquished after taking the bench. 

Before receiving judicial honors. Judge Hammond was 
attorney for the Master Plumbers' Association, and the 
Business Men's Protective Association of East Buffalo, connec- 
tions from which he resigned when he became Judge, in accord- 
ance with his pledge made during the campaign to give his 
entire time to the office. He has for many years been Grand 
Attorney of the Gamma Sigma ■ fraternity, a High School 
organization, and is also a member of the Delta Chi legal 
fraternity. He is a Mason, being affiliated with De Molay 
Lodge, No. 498, F. & A. M., with Keystone Chapter Eoyal Arch 
Masons; Hugh de Pay ens Commandery, Knights Templar; and 
Ismailia Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, and he is Past 
Monarch of Zuleika Grotto, No. 10. Judge Hammond also 
belongs to the Red Men, Fraternal Order Eagles, I. O. O. F., 
the Acacia Club, Sons of Veterans, and several other fraternal 
and social bodies. He is also a member and trustee of the First 
Congregational Church of Buffalo. 

June 6, 1899, Judge Hammond married Susan E. Valentine, 
a daughter of James and Phebe A. Valentine of Buffalo. 

ADELBERT MOOT is one of the leading lawyers of the 
Buffalo bar, and occupies a recognized place among the ablest 
lawyers of the State. 

Mr. Moot has all his life been an independent Republican. 
He is actively identified with the Civil Service cause and was 
one of the earliest supporters of the Good Government Club 
movement. When a Citizens' Association was formed to prose- 
cute the perpetrators of the election frauds of 1892, Mr. Moot 
was one of the principal counsel for the Association. He has 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 211 

always been a potent influence for honest politics, sound citizen- 
ship and high standards in the legal profession. 

Adelbert Moot was born in Allen, Allegany County, N. Y., 
November 22, 1854. His father was Charles D., and his mother 
Mary Eutherford Moot. He attended the district schools, the 
village school at Belmont, Nunda Academy, and the State 
Normal School at Genesee. 

Mr. Moot read law with the Hon. D. P. Richardson of 
Angelica, Hon. Wilkes Angell of Belmont, and with Isaac 
Edwards, the author of several standard legal works. He then 
entered Albany Law School, from which he received the degree 
of L.L.B., and on November 22, 1876, was admitted to the bar. 
In 1877 Mr. Moot began active practice in Nunda, N. Y., forming 
a partnership with George M. Osgoodby, with the firm style of 
Osgoodby & Moot. In 1879 Mr. Moot removed to Buffalo. Soon 
afterward he entered into partnership with Mr. Osgoodby and 
Judge Titus, under the firm name of Osgoodby, Titus & Moot. 
This association continued till January, 1882, when Mr. Moot 
withdrew to become a member of the firm of Lewis, Moot & 
Lewis. This copartnership lasted twelve years, being dissolved 
when Hon. Loran L. Lewis, the senior partner, was elected to 
the Supreme Court bench. On Judge Lewis's withdrawal the 
new firm of Moot & Lewis was formed. In 1894 this connection 
was dissolved, and Mr. Moot became a member of the firm of 
Sprague, Moot, Sprague & Brownell, which, in June, 1897, was 
changed to the present style of Moot, Sprague, Brownell & 
Marcy. Mr. Moot has been connected with many important 
cases to which great legal interest attached. As an all around 
lawyer he is often counsel against corporations, although he is 
more frequently found defending important corporate interests 
of his clients. Since 1904, he has been associated with Messrs. 
A. J. Rodenbeck, William B. Hornblower and John G. Milburn, 
in consolidating the statutes of New York, a great task that 
has been completed. 



212 MEMORIAL AND ITAMILY HISTORY. ■ 

July 22, 1882, Mr. Moot married Miss Carrie A. Van ISTess of 
Cuba, Allegany County, N. Y. They have three children, Rich- 
mond D., Welles V., and Seward A. Moot. 

Mr. Moot finds time to do much reading and study outside of 
professional fields. His pursuits are clearly indicated by 
certain of his club affiliations. He belongs to the Liberal and 
Thursday clubs, the Society of Natural Sciences and the Buffalo 
Historical Society, and the Saturn Club. He is a member of 
the American and New York State Bar associations, and is one 
of the Faculty of the Buffalo Law School, an institution in 
which he takes a strong interest. In religious belief Mr. Moot 
is a Unitarian, being a member of the Church of Our Father. 
He is among the most prominent members of the Civil Service 
Reform Association. 

DEVOE PELL HODSON, one of the two judges of the 
Municipal Court of Buffalo, has won high legal and civic honors, 
and prior to his elevation to the bench was known throughout 
Western New York as an able practitioner of the law, an 
effective forensic and platform speaker, and a man of great 
popularity, political and social. 

Judge Hodson is of English and French descent. His grand- 
father, Joseph Hodson, was a gentleman of Upwell, England, 
who married Mary Wiseman. Early in the last century Joseph 
Hodson, with his wife and six sons, came to the United States, 
and about 1820 settled in Chenango County, N. Y., later 
removing to Ithaca. Horatio Hodson, father of Devoe P. Hod- 
son, was born May 12, 1818. He still survives and resides in 
Ithaca, where he was for many years a prominent landscape 
gardener. He married Harriet Ward Pell, daughter of Fred- 
erick Devoe Pell, who was of French ancestry. They had seven 
sons and two daughters, of whom the survivors are: Dr. J. P. 
Pell Hodson of New York City, Mary Hodson Berry, AvidoAV of 
James W. Berry, late of Ithaca, and Devoe P. Hodson. 

Devoe Pell Hodson was born at Ithaca, N. Y., March 23, 1856. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 213 

He was educated in the public schools of Ithaca, in the academy 
at the same place, and in Cornell University. He began reading 
law in the office of Samuel D. Halliday and that of Judge 
Marcus Lyon, both of Ithaca, and in September, 1879, at Sara- 
toga Springs, was admitted to the bar. He began the practice 
of law in Ithaca, where he successfully followed his profession 
for the next eight years. In 1887 Mr. Hodson bought a half 
interest in the Ithaca Eepublican, a paper then published by 
Walter G. Smith. The partners decided to engage in a publish- 
ing enterprise in Southern California, and in San Diego they 
established a large printing office, and also published the 
Morning Telegram. After some months Mr. Hodson sold his 
share in the business, and returning to Ithaca, resumed the 
practice of law. In February, 1889, Mr. Hodson left Ithaca and 
opened a law office in Buffalo, where he practiced alone four 
years. In 1893, with George B. Webster, he formed the law 
partnership of Hodson & Webster. Mr. Hodson made his 
special work the contested cases of the firm, and was very 
successful as a trial lawyer. 

Judge Hodson has held several official positions. In 1882-83 
he was Clerk of the Tompkins County Board of Supervisors. 
In 1885-86 he was Corporation Counsel of Ithaca. Soon after 
coming to Buffalo the authorities of Niagara Falls elected him 
non-resident Corporation Counsel of that municipality, which 
office he held two terms. Some years after he was tendered 
the place of City Attorney of Buffalo, but declined. In 1893 
the State Comptroller appointt>d him a commissioner to report 
on the accounts of New York State surrogates in matters rela- 
tive to the collateral inheritance law, and in the same year was 
nominated by the Democrats for delegate to the Constitutional 
Convention. May 16, 1900, Mayor Diehl appointed Mr. Hodson 
a member of the Buffalo Board of School Examiners for the 
term of three years. He declined a further appointment 
at the hands of the Eepublican Mayor Erastus C. Knight. In 
the fall of 1905 Mr. Hodson received the Democratic nomination 



214 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

for Judge of the Municipal Court, and was elected. At the time 
he took his seat on the bench he was the only Democratic Judge 
of a civil court in Western New York. 

Judge Hodson is a member of Ancient Landmarks Lodge, No. 
441, F. & A. M., and several other fraternal societies. 

December 23, 1888, Judge Hodson married Mariette Wood, 
daughter of Barry C. Wood of Painted Post, Steuben County. 
Mrs. Hodson is very much interested in every thing pertaining 
to the American Revolution, and looks back with justifiable 
pride to the fact that her great-great-grandfather, Jedediah 
Wood fought at the battles of Lexington and Concord. 

HENEY DONLY KIKKOVER, one of Buffalo's most exten- 
sive real estate owners, and a leading member of the Grade 
Crossing Commission, is a man who throughout his career has 
borne weighty responsibilities, both personal and public, and 
has in every instance acquitted himeself with signal credit. 

Mr. Kirkover's father, Oliver Kirkover, was born in Baden- 
Baden, Germany, in 1797. In 1833 he came to America with his 
wife, whose maiden name was Maria Prambach, and five chil- 
dren, Mary, Katherine, Louis, August and Oliver. Settling in 
Buffalo, the elder Kirkover became a lumberman, operating in 
New York and Pennsylvania. To his lumber business he added 
the manufacture of brick and the quarrying of stone. He lived 
in Buffalo till his death, which took place in 1876. Four chil- 
dren — ^William, John, Henry D., and Louise— were born to him 
in this country. His children now surviving are: Henry D., 
Louis, August, and William. 

Henry Donly Kirkover was born in Buffalo Februai^y 16, 1838. 
In his boyhood he attended the public schools. When about 
sixteen years old he went to work, assisting his father in the 
brick and lumber business. Later he engaged in the contracting 
business, furnishing brick, stone and other materials for 
building purposes. About this period Mr. Kirkover began to 
deal extensively in real estate, investing mostly in what were 
then the outlying properties in Buffalo. As the city's popula- 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 215 

tion expanded, these lands advanced in value and Mr. Kirkover's 
wealth grew greater in proportion. Of later years he has 
devoted his attention almost exclusively to his real estate 
properties. 

Mr. Kirkover was an early advocate of the extension of the 
Buffalo street railway system. In 1891-2 he drew up a plan for 
the extension of the lines in all directions, and the system, first 
conceived and projected by Mr. Kirkover, is in operation today. 
When the agitation for the improvement of the local telephone 
service was begun, Mr. Kirkover led the movement which 
resulted in the building of the Frontier Telephone system. He 
was a director of the Frontier Company until the consolidation 
of the independent companies. Mr. Kirliover was actively and 
efficiently concerned in securing the appropriations for the 
Stony Point breakwater and the North breakwater, of Buffalo 
harbor. 

For a few years Mr. Kirkover lived in West Seneca, and was 
four times elected to represent that township in the Board of 
Supervisors of Erie County, and rendered valuable service. 
While Mr. Kirkover was a member of the Board of Supervisors, 
several important reforms were instituted, in all of which he 
was active, notably in that whereby homes were found for 
thousands of orphans, the county expenses were reduced 
$25,000 a year. Another reform was the inauguration of 
competitive bidding for the public printing. Another field of 
energetic and conscientious work in the public behalf was 
afforded Mr. Kirkover by his connection with the State Lunacy 
Commission, to which he was appointed by Governor Hill, and 
subsequently reappointed by Governor Tlower, serving seven 

years in all. 

With no cause has Mr. Kirkover been more prominently 
identified than with the abolition of railroad grade crossings. 
Since 1892 he has served as a member of the Grade Crossings 
Commission, without compensation, for upward of fourteen 
years. 



216 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

September 26, 1871, Mr. Kirkover married Emma J. Barnard, 
daughter of Eobert Barnard of Buffalo. The one child of this 
union is Harry D. Kirkover. 

For the last twenty years Mr. Kirkover has been a member of 
the Chamber of Commerce, and is a trustee of the Fidelity Trust 
Company. 

LEWIS J. BENNETT, President of the Buffalo Cement 
Company, is one of Buffalo's representative men and a potent 
factor in the welfare and progress of that city, of which he has 
been a prominent resident for more than forty years. 

Mr. Bennett comes from a long line of sturdy Scotch-English 
ancestry, his descent being traceable from John Bennett, 
Sheriff of Wiltshire, England, in 1266, who was the ancestor of 
John Bennett, Bailiff of Leicester in 1433 and 1435 and Mayor of 
that city in 1446. In 1599 Henry, one of the English Bennetts, 
removed to Scotland, and in 1695 his descendant, James 
Bennett, a captain in Lord Jedburgh's troop, was made burgess 
of Dunfermline. Ebenezer Bennett, son of James Bennett (2d) 
and great-great-grandfather of T-ewis J. Bennett of Buffalo, was 
born in 1700 and died in 1775, and was a land-owner of Fife- 
shire, Scotland. His son, Amos, born March 26, 1739, and five 
brothers, came to America in 1770 and took an active part in 
the Revolutionary War. Amos Bennett settled in Rensselaer 
County, N. Y., and later at Scotch Bush, in the Mohawk Valley, 
where he was burned out by the Tories and Indians. He served 
through the Revolution as a private in the 14th Albany County 
Regiment, one of the most thrilling incidents of his military 
career being his capture of John Parker, the famous Tory spy. 
After the war Amos Bennett was commissioned First Lieu- 
tenant in Col. Frederick Fisher's regiment of light infantry, 
four years later being promoted Captain in Col. Abram Vedder's 
regiment. In 1797 Capt. Bennett removed to Herkimer County, 
N. Y., and subsequently settled in the town of Locke, Cayuga 
County, where he died in 1834. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY , HISTORY. 217 

Amos Bennett, Jr., son of Capt. Amos Bennett, was born June 
2,1, 1770, and died August 8, 1840. He lived in the town of 
Duanesburg, Schenectady County, and was a farmer. In the 
War of 1812 he was a Captain in Lieut.-Col. Lawrence School- 
craft's regiment, and in 1821 was commissioned Major in the 
188th Regiment of Infantry. His son, William Bennett, father 
of Lewis J. Bennett, was born May 26, 1794, and died October 
12, 1873, in the town of Mohawk, Montgomery County, N. Y. 
Throughout his life he was a prominent farmer. He married 
Elma Strong, daughter of Solomon Strong and Lois Prisbee. 

Lewis J. Bennett was born in the town of Duanesburg, 
Schenectady Countj^, N. Y., July 7, 1833. When he was four 
years old his parents removed to Glen, Montgomery County, 
where he received a public and High School education. When 
sixteen years of age young Bennett became a clerk in the 
general grocery store of Chapman & Smith, in Fultonville, 
N. Y., and two years later he was admitted to partnership in 
the firm of Chapman, Peek & Co. In 1856 he became a partner 
of William R. Chapman and William W. Kline, under the firm 
style of L. J. Bennett & Co., which association existed till 1866, 
when Mr. Bennett sold out his interest and removed to Buffalo. 
There he engaged in general contracting in city. State and 
Government work, including the building of iron bridges, his 
partners being Andrew Spalding and John Hand. In 1877 Mr. 
Bennett organized the Buffalo Cement Company, of which he 
has ever since been President, and which has for many years 
been a leading concern in the manufacture of hydraulic cement. 

Nowhere in Buffalo will Mr. Bennett be better known or 
longer remembered than in the Central Park district. He is 
the founder of this important section of the city, whose develop- 
ment he began in 1889, the work taking nearly four years and 
costing nearly |300,000 in improvements alone. Only a man 
with clear business judgment added to strong faith in the future 
of Buffalo could have carried such a comprehensive project to 
successful completion. 



218 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Mr. Bennett has been a steadfast Republican since the days 
of Fremont, for whom he voted for President. He was Canal 
Collector at Fultonville, N. Y., in 1861-62, and in 1865 he repre- 
sented the town of Glen in the Montgomery County Board of 
Supervisors. In his religious faith Mr. Bennett is a Univer- 
salist, and he has long been a Mason, being affiliated with 
Fultonville Lodge, No. 531, F. & A. M., Johnstown Chapter, No. 
78 and Apollo Commandery, No. 15, Knights Templar of Troy. 
He is a member of the Buffalo Historical Society and the Buffalo 
Society of Natural Sciences, serves on the managing boards of 
both those bodies, and belongs to Buffalo Chapter, Empire State 
Society, Sons of the American Revolution. 

October 6, 1857, Mr. Bennett married Mary F. Spalding, 
daughter of Andrew Sjtalding of Johnstown, N. Y. Their sur- 
viving children are: Leslie J. Bennett, Vice-President, Secretary 
and Assistant Treasurer of the Buffalo Cement Company, and 
Louisa A., widow of the late James P. Wood, who was identified 
with the same company as Vice-President and Treasurer. 

Mr. Bennett has ever lived an active life, devoted to business, 
to his family and to the welfare of the community. His busi- 
ness career has been varied by only one vacation of any note, 
this being taken in 1894-95, when he made a tour of the world, 
chronicling his impressions in a series of letters, which have 
been published. 

HENRY J. PIERCE, President of the International Railway 
Company, is identified with electric railroad enterprises in 
Buffalo and elsewhere, and is besides connected with important 
undertakings in the fields of finance, manufacture and general 
business. In electric transportation matters Mr. Pierce is fav- 
orably known both as an organizer and executive head. In 
other phases of business he has been equally successful in 
initiative and management. He has always taken an active 
interest in the advancement of Buffalo, and has borne a leading 
part in many projects having for their aim the municipal 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 219 

■vvelfare and especially the coiiimercial and industrial progress 
of the city. 

Mr. Pierce was born in Bath, Maine, August 29th, 1857. In 
1876 he came to Buffalo and in 1882 established the Wood 
Products Company, refiners of wood alcohol, whose plant is 
situated at the foot of Pennsylvania street. Mr. Pierce is 
President of the company, which is one of the largest enter- 
prises in Buffalo, refining about 80 per cent, of the entire wood 
alcohol product of the United States. The enterprise has 
branch concerns in different parts of the country, but its prin- 
cipal plant and offices are located in this city. Mr. Pierce was 
one of the organizers of the Buffalo & Niagara Falls and of the 
Buffalo & Lockport electric railroads, and served as a Director 
of the International Eailway Companvjrom the time the latter 
corporation was formed, and in 19ft5ibecame its President. The 
International Railway Company was organized under the laws 
of this State in February, 1902, for the object of acquiring and 
combining the street railway lines in Buffalo with the lines 
extending to and into Niagara Falls, Lockport, Olcott and 
Onawanda, including the lines on the Canadian side of the 
Niagara Eiver at Niagara Falls, and the bridges connecting the 
trolley lines. Numerous and valuable properties were included 
in this consolidation. The united length of the lines of the 
International Railway Company is about 360 miles. The 
company has three power houses, about 970 cars, and a com- 
plete modern equipment in all departments. It gives employ- 
ment to over 2,000 persons. The contract between the com- 
pany and the City of Buffalo provides that when the gross 
receipts of the electric railway corporation reach |2,000,000 it 
shall pay 3 per cent, of the amount to the city — a provision 
which has been the means of realizing heavy sums to the 
municipality of Buffalo. A foreign electric railroad company 
of which Mr. Pierce is also President, is the Netherlands Tram- 
ways Corporation, which owns a system of electric railways in 
Holland. Mr. Pierce is a Director of the Marine National Bank 



220 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

and of the Security Safe Deposit Company of Buffalo; also a 
Director of the Lumber Insurance Company of New York City, 
and of J. C White & Company, New York City. He was one 
of the Directors of the Pan-American Exposition, also serving 
on the Executive Committee and as Chairman of the Conces- 
sions Committee. He is a member of the Chamber of Commerce 
and in 1905 was elected President of that body. During Mr. 
Pierce's term of office, work on the new Chamber of Commerce 
Building was begun. 

In the club life of Buffalo Mr. Pierce is well-known. He 
belongs to the Buffalo, Saturn, Ellicott and Country clubs, and 
in 1900 was elected President of the Buffalo Club. 

EDWAKD HOWARD HUTCHINSON, real estate man and 
capitalist, occupies a prominent place among Buffalo's business 
men. 

Mr. Hutchinson comes of the New England family of that 
name Avhose descent is derived from Bernard Hutchinson of 
Cowland, Yorkshire, England, a knight in the time of King 
Edward I., later representatives of the family being Col. John 
Hutchinson, the Lieutenant of Oliver Cromwell, and Lord 
Hutchinson, who in 1801 defeated the French army in Egypt. 
William Hutchinson, who caifie to Massachusetts in 1634, was 
one of the founders of Portsmouth and Newport. The Buffalo 
branch of the family traces its descent from Daniel, son of 
Elisha and Eunice Hutchinson, who was born in Lebanon, 
Conn., November 22, 1767, and who married Susannah Treep. 
John Hutchinson, son of Daniel, was born October 28, 1792, 
came in 1815 to Williams ville, Erie County, Avhere he engaged 
in the tannery business, and died August 28, 1865. In 1818 he 
married Harriett Martin, their children being John M. and 
Helen. 

JOHN M. HUTCHINSON was born in Williamsville, Erie 
County, N. Y.,- March 25, 1820. In 1838 he came to Buffalo, 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 221' 

where he engaged in the leather business till 1867, from then 
until his death devoting himself to his real estate investments 
and other interests. He vras a Director of the Marine Bank, the 
Suspension Bridge Co., at Niagara Falls, and the Lake Shore 
and Michigan Southern Railroad. Mr. Hutchinson was a strong 
Democrat, and was frequently chosen for offices of trust. In 
1881, Mayor Brush appointed him one of the Fire Commission- 
ers, and in 1885 he was reappointed by Mayor Scoville. He was 
one of the trustees of the City and County Hall, a member of 
the Board of Managers of the State Asylum for the Insane, and 
a trustee of Buffalo City Cemetery. He was formerly President 
of the Young Men's Association, and one of its real estate com- 
missioners. He was also a promoter of the Buffalo Driving 
Park Association. November 13, 1850, he became a charter 
member of Taylor Hose Company, No. 1, and served with that 
company until 1857. 

In January, 1851, Mr. Hutchinson married Eunice A. Howard, 
sister of Gen. R. L. Howard. Mrs. Hutchinson died in 1852. 
The only child of the marriage was Edward Howard 
Hutchinson. 

John Martin Hutchinson died August 17, 1886. He was a 
man who left a permanent and beneficial impress on the 
business and civic life of Buffalo. He was charitable and a 
generous giver. 

Edward Howard Hutchinson was born in Buffalo March 7, 
1852. He received his education in Public School No. 10, and in 
Central High School of that city. While preparing to enter 
Harvard University, his studies were interrupted by failing 
eyesight. In 1870 Mr. Hutchinson became a partner in the firm 
of L. W. Drake & Co., wholesale and retail provision dealers in 
Elk street market. In 1875 the firm's packing house in East 
Buffalo was burned, and the partnership dissolved. In the fall 
of 1875 Mr. Hutchinson founded the first newspaper advertising 
agency ever established in Buffalo. In 1877 a printing depart- 
ment was added and the business was continued successfully 



222 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

for eighteen years. In the meantime Mr. Hutchinson had 
invested largely in Buffalo real estate, which he improved by 
the erection of some of the most important structures in 
Buffalo. In 1887 he built the well-known business block called 
"The Hutchinson," consisting of four stores and twelve flats. 
In 1889 he erected "The Strathmere " at Main and Carleton 
streets. Mr. Hutchinson is a Director of the Marine National 
Bank, is President of the Board of Trustees of the Buffalo City 
Cemetery (Forest Lawn), and Chairman of the Finance Com- 
mittee of the Vestry of St. Paul's Episcopal Church. He was 
formerly a member of the Board of Managers of the Church 
Charity Foundation of the Protestant Episcopal Church in 
Buffalo, and in 1895,- in memory of his parents, he erected and 
presented to the Church Charity Foundation the Hutchinson 
Memorial Chapel. 

Mr. Hutchinson is a Democrat, and in 1887 his party nomi- 
nated him for Alderman in the former Tenth Ward. This was 
then the strongest Repu.blican Ward in Buffalo, yet Mr. 
Hutchinson was elected, running nearly 1,000 votes ahead of 
his ticket. Mayor Charles F. Bishop appointed him a Fire 
Commissioner in 1891, and in 1900 he was appointed by Mayor 
Diehl a member of the first Union Station Commission, serving 
two years, and after his reappointment by Mayor Knight, still 
another year. 

September 25, 1872, Mr. Hutchinson married Jeanie Blanche 
Ganson of Buffalo. 

Mr. Hutchinson is an honorary member of the Exempt and 
Veteran Volunteer Firemen's Associations; a life member of 
the Buffalo Historical Society, the Buffalo Library and the 
Buffalo Orphan Asylum, and a member of the Church Home 
League and the Y. M. C. A. He is a life member of Ancient 
Landmarks Lodge, No. 441, F. & A. M.; Adytum Chapter, No. 
235, R. A. M.; Keystone Council, No. 20, E. & S. M.; Hugh de 
Payens Commandery, No. 30, K. T.; Ismailia Temple, A. A. O. 
N. M. S., and of the Associate Society of Chapin Post, No. 2, 
G. A. E. 




<^.^. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 223 

Personally Mr. Hutchinson is of a retiring disposition, but 
exceedingly energetic and very positive in Ms opinions. He has 
legions of friends, and is at all times ready to assist in 
advancing the interests of Buffalo. 

CHILION M. FAKRAK, who died on the 17th of April, 1907, 
was one of Buffalo's most highly esteemed citizens. During the 
more than fifty years of his residence in Buffalo, Mr. Parrar 
was prominently identified with the iron industry, and as head 
of the firm of Parrar, Trefts & Knight, and later that of Farrar 
& Trefts, he was one of the recognized industrial leaders of the 
community. Mr. Farrar was a fine type of the American 
business man, characterized by vigor and concentration of pur- 
pose, strong practical acumen, and rugged integrity. 

Mr. Parrar was born in Detroit, Mich., in 1829. He was 
educated in his native city and there he sijent his youth and a 
portion of his early manhood. When seventeen years old he 
came to Buffalo and entered the old Shepard Iron Works, now 
known as the King Iron Works, and gained a thorough tech- 
nical training as a machinist. He was soon advanced to the 
position of Superintendent, which he held for several years. 

In 1870, in association with the late John Trefts and Theodore 
C. Knight, father of ex-Mayor Erastus C. Knight, Mr. Farrar 
founded the firm of Farrar, Trefts & Knight. Shortly after- 
ward Mr. Knight retired from the business, and the concern 
was thereafter known as Farrar & Trefts. Mr. Trefts died 
about six years ago, his son, George M. Trefts, succeeding to 
his interest in the business. The firm of Farrar & Trefts 
prospered from the outset, and in the progress of time became 
one of the representative iron manufacturing industries of 
Buffalo, occupying the foremost place in its special field, that 
of the manufacture of steam engines, boilers and machinery. 
Mr. Parrar was the patentee of an engine which proved of great 
value to those engaged in the oil business, and Farrar & Trefts 
constructed nearly all the engines used in the development of 



224 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

the Pennsylvania oil fields twenty yeal's ago. Within the few 
years preceding his death, Mr. Farrar advanced the firm to a 
place which has been aptly described as "one of the highest 
positions possible in the iron industry in this country," and his 
far-sighted and progressive management showed its fruits in 
the steady extension of the enterprise and the development of a 
very large domestic and foreign trade. 

Mr. Farrar was a prominent Mason, and at the time of his 
death was Treasurer of Hiram Lodge, F. & A. M., an office he 
held for twenty-five years; he was also a Past-Master of the 
lodge, and filled other positions of trust and responsibility in 
the Masonic order. He was a member of the Buffalo Club, and 
took an active interest in that organization. 

In 1845 Mr. Farrar was married to Almira Siver of Buffalo. 
He is survived by his wife and one daughter. 

Mr. Farrar was in eminent degree a man of practical philan- 
thropy. He made no boast of his generosity, and even those 
who were close in his confidence did not know the number and 
value of his benefactions. But his gifts were many and liberal, 
and were inspired by a genuine sentiment of love for his fellow- 
men, a spirit of helpfulness for all worthy causes, and a true 
sympathy with the needy and unfortunate. Devoted to his 
family, a loving husband and father, his domestic life was 
happy and he found his deepest joys in the home circle. His 
death was an inestimable loss to the community, and his virtues 
elicited many tributes from which we quote the following 
editorial utterance from a leading Buffalo paper: 

" Mr. Farrar was an industrial leader, never a seeker for 
public honors, always on the side of honesty and justice in 
civic affairs, a good citizen, a kindly, estimable man. ' You 
could not put your finger on an act of his life that would not 
bear inspection,' said one who knew him. An honorable, well- 
ordered life like this is an answer to much current pessimism. 
Death reveals what is overlooked in life. Such men as Mr. 
Farrar exert an influence for good that lives after them, and 
the world is better for their living in it." 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 225 

ALBERT JOEL WHEELER, President of the Western 
Savings Bank, is one of the leading business men of Buffalo, 
and has for many years been prominent in elevator and malting 
industries. 

The Wheeler family came from England during the early 
Colonial period, first settling in Connecticut, and later at 
Smithtown, L. I. Wickham Wheeler, great-grandfather of 
Albert J. Wheeler, was born at Smithtown in 1740, and was a 
farmer. His son, Ebenezer, was born at Smithtown in 1776. 
and spent the last twenty years of his life in Buffalo, where he 
died in 1857. He married Susan Gehrard, who was born in 
France and who died in Buffalo in 1853. Joel Wheeler, the 
father of Albert Joel Wheeler, was born in Smithtown, L. I., 
in 1814, and died May 7, 1892. Coming to Buffalo in 1832, he 
engaged in the provision trade, and also in the manufacture of 
soap. Afterward he carried on a grain commission business, 
and later became connected with the elevating and malting 
business, taking his son into partnership. For fourteen years 
prior to his death, Joel Wheeler was President of the Western 
Savings Bank. During the early '60's he served several terms 
as Alderman from the old Second Ward. In 1840 he married 
Mary Jane McElvaney, who was born in Orange County, N. Y., 
in 1821, and was a daughter of Charles and Catharine 
McElvaney. The McElvaney family came to this country from 
the north Of Ireland about 1800. Mrs. Wheeler died in Buffalo 
June 22, 1905. The children of Joel Wheeler were twin brother 
and sister, Albert J. and Mary Frances. 

Albert Joel Wheeler was born in Buffalo August 3, 1841. 
He received his early education at the public schools, afterward 
graduating from W. S. Smith's Military High School. When 
nineteen years old he entered his father's oifice on the old 
Central Wharf, and in 18G4, in partnership with his father, 
embarked in tli'e elevating business. Purchasing the old Wells 
Elevator on the " Island," the firm built an extension, 
re-christened the elevator "The Wheeler," and did a general 



226 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

grain elevating business. When the elevator was destroyed 
by fire in 1888, a new one was erected on the same site. This 
too was burned, in 1906. The Ontario Elevator on the Evans 
Ship Canal was built by the Wheelers in 1888. It was burned 
in October, 1904, and was replaced by the Monarch Elevator, a 
splendid structure made of concrete and steel, and having a 
capacity of 600,000 bushels. In 1870 Messrs. Wheeler estab- 
lished a malting business, in Perry street, Buffalo, where they 
built a plant which has ever since been in operation. Both the 
grain elevating and the malting enterprises were attended with 
great success. After the death of his father, Albert J. Wheeled 
continued to conduct the business which they had controlled 
m common, upon the same lines which their joint experience 
had tried and approved. In 1892 Mr. Wheeler was elected a 
trustee of the Western Savings Bank, in 1896 was chosen its 
President, and has ever since remained the head of the insti- 
tution, which is one of the oldest and most reliable of its kind 
in Western New York. When the German Bank failed in 
December, 1904, Mr. Wheeler was selected by the Attorney 
General as the Eeceiver of the defunct bank. He closed up its 
affairs in such a skillful and careful manner that the depositors 
received a much greater proportion of their money than was at 
first thought possible. 

Mr. Wheeler is a member of the Buffalo Chamber of Com- 
merce, and has served as one of its trustees. He has been a 
member of Ancient Landmarks Lodge, P. & A. M., for the last 
forty years. He is a member of the Delaware Avenue Metho- 
dist Episcopal Church, the Young Men's Association, and the 
Buffalo Club. 

In September, 1864, Mr. Wheeler married Catharine Clinton, 
a daughter of Judge George W. Clinton, and sister of George 
and Spencer Clinton. Mrs. Wheeler died in January, 1881, 
leaving three children, George Clinton, Joel Howard, who died 
in 1893, and Mabel. June 3, 1888, Mr. Wheeler married his 
second wife, Kate K. Barton, daughter of Peter Porter Barton 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 227 

and Mary C. Whitney of Lewiston, N. Y. The children of the 
union are two daughters, Mary and Catharine Barton. 

CHARLES GAD WOETHINGTON, senior member of the 
insurance firm of Worthington & Sill, is one of the best-known 
men in Western New York in his field, having been for forty 
years prominently connected with fire and marine insurance 
interests in Buffalo. 

The Worthington family is of ancient English lineage. The 
founder of its American branch was Nicholas Worthington, a 
landowner who lived near Liverpool, England, and fought in 
the Cromwellian wars. Later he came to New England, 
settling at Saybrook, Conn., in 1649, and afterward removing 
to Hartford. He died September 6, 1683. His son, William, 
was born in 1670, lived in Hartford, Conn., and about 1717 
removed to Colchester, Conn., where he died in 1753. He was 
the father of Elijah Worthington, who was born in Hartford 
in 1710, lived in Colchester, Conn., where he married Mary 
Welles, and died in 1764. His son, Capt. Dan Worthington, 
was born June 11, 1749. He resided in Colchester, Conn., and 
afterward in Lenox, Mass., where he died October 24, 1821. He 
married in 1771 Lois Foote. Gad Worthington, son of Capt. 
Dan Worthington, was born in Lenox, Mass., May 28, 1786. In 
early life he was a merchant in Lenox, whence he removed as a 
"young man to Batavia, Genesee County, N. Y., where he con- 
tinued to follow mercantile pursuits until his death, March 10, 
1861. In 1812 he married Fannie Belden of Lenox, Mass. Their 
children were: Dan Leander, Gad Belden, Samuel K., John, 
Robert, Fannie, and Mary Ann. 

DAN L. WORTHINGTON, father of Charles Gad Worthing- ' 
ton, was born at Lenox, Mass., August 14, 1813, and was 
educated in the public schools. In early manhood he removed 
to East Bethany, Genesee County, N. Y., where he established 
a general mercantile business, which he conducted for sixty 



228 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

years. He was a prominent Republican, was one of the 
Supervisors of Genesee County, and was Postmaster at East 
Bethany for over thirty years. Ijike the rest of the Worthing- 
tons in America, Dan L. Worthington was a staunch Episco- 
palian, being one of the pillars of that church in Genesee 
County. Mr. Worthington Avas one of the best known men of 
Genesee County, and was as widely respected as he was 
known. He was of kind and charitable nature, and found 
pleasure in doing good for good's sake. 

June 26, 1836, Mr. Worthington married Indiana Louisa 
Pearson, daughter of Richard and Indiana Pearson of East 
Bethany, N. Y. Their children were: Charles Gad, Richard P., 
Robert Cone, George, and Dan. 

Charles Gad Worthington was born at East Bethany, 
Genesee County, N. Y., November 6, 1841. He was educated 
in the public schools at Batavia, N. Y., and at a private school 
in that village. At the age of sixteen he began work as a clerk 
in his father's store in East Bethany. When he was twenty- 
two years old he removed to Buffalo, where he entered the 
employ of the Buffalo Mutual Insurance Company, continuing 
four years. In 1868 the firm of Worthington & Sill was 
formed, the partners being Charles G. Worthington and Henry 
S. Sill. The firm engaged in the fire and marine insurance 
business, and has existed continuously with the same partners 
up to the present time. It is the oldest agency for fire and 
marine insurance in Buffalo, having been in existence for four 
decades. From small beginnings the volume of business has 
grown until now a vast amount of insurance is written up by 
the firm annually. Worthington & Sill is one of the best-known 
insurance concerns in Western New York. 

Mr. Worthington has always been a Republican, but has 
nev,er desired to hold public office. He has confined his atten- 
tion to his insurance business, making it a rule not to engage 
in outside enterprises, the only exceptions being his connection 
with the Western Savings Bank, of which he has been a trustee 




oZhJ^ iZ^^j^^i-c^Z.^^^ 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 229 

since 1901, and with the Frontier Elevator Company, in which 
he has served as a trustee since 1900. 

Mr. Worthington is a member of Washington Lodge, F. & 
A. M.; of Keystone Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; Hugh de 
Payens Commandery, Knights Templar, and the Consistory. 
He belongs to the Ellicott and Acacia Clubs, and has been a 
member of the Trinity Episcopalian Church ever since he came 
to Buffalo. 

July 19, 1869, Mr. Worthington married Ella Maria Whitaker, 
daughter of Chauncey G., and Delia W. (Stafford) Whitaker of 
Buffalo. Their children are: Fannie B., born January 5, 1873, 
who is now Mrs. F. B. Ailing of Buffalo, and Mabel S., born 
January 5, 1873, who is the wife of E. R. Davis of Buffalo. Mr. 
and Mrs. Ailing have two children, Worthington P., and Cath- 
erine L. Ailing. 

THOMAS TINDLE. To no citizen of Buffalo can the appel- 
lation of industrial captain be applied with more propriety 
than to Thomas Tindle, of the firm of Tindle & Jackson, who 
are believed to be the largest operators of their kind in the 
world. In the vast enterprises built uj) by Mr. Tindle, Buffalo 
is utilized as a distributing center and an executive point from 
which to direct the commercial end of the industry. 

Mr. Tindle comes of a family well known in Yorkshire, 
England, where his ancestors were farmers for several genera- 
tions. William Tindle, his grandfather, was the father of eight 
children: Thomas, John, William, Francis, Eleanor, Elizabeth, 
George, and Robert. Thomas Tindle, Sr., the father of Thomas 
Tindle of Buffalo, was a farmer. He married Mary Scutt, a 
daughter of Jonathan and Ann Scutt, of whom the latter was 
of Holland ancestry on her father's side. The children of 
Thomas Tindle, Sr., were: Frances, William, George, Thomas, 
Ann, and Marmaduke. 

Thomas Tindle was born at Broomfleet, Yorkshire, England, 
April 7, 1836, and was educated in the common schools. When 



230 MEMOEIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

fourteen years old he began working on his father's farm, where 
he remained until he was nineteen. In 1855 he came to this 
country, settling in St. Lawrence County, N. Y., and later going 
to Western Canada, where he was engaged in farming from 
1856 to 1859. On returning to New York, he bought a farm in 
St. Lawrence County, N. Y., where he resided till 1865, when he 
removed to Oswego, N. Y., where he engaged in the forwarding 
business. On the removal of the firm to Buffalo, Mr. Tindle 
became its manager. Two years later the concern was dis- 
solved, and Mr. Tindle obtained employment with Toles & 
Sweet, canal forwarders, who were also among the largest deal- 
ers in cooperage stock in this section of the State. With this 
firm Mr. Tindle remained twelve years, as purchasing agent 
and salesman, the connection terminating January 1, 1880. 

In the winter of 1880 Mr. Tindle began business for himself, 
as a jobber, a few months afterward purchasing a stave mill in 
Canada, and beginning the manufacture of cooperage stock, 
but having the headquarters in Buffalo. Soon he extended his 
interests to other Canadian mills. His enterprises prospered, 
and he continued to conduct them till 1886, thereafter for some 
years devoting himself wholly to the jobbing industry. In 1888 
he associated with him as partner his son-in-law, Willis K. 
Jackson, under the firm style of Thomas Tindle & Co. This 
period was an important era in Mr. Tindle's affairs, the busi- 
ness growing so rapidly that it became necessary again to 
engage in the manufacture of the stock dealt in by the concern. 
The steps taken to meet this necessity formed the beginnings 
of the great mill system now controlled by the firm of Tindle & 
Jackson in Michigan. To utilize the timber supply, the part- 
ners erected stave and saw-mills in several towns of that State, 
including Saginaw, Bellaire, Thompsonville, Gaylord, Nessen 
City, Freeland, Pellston, and Munissing. The firm have their 
own railroad to convey timber from the forests to the mills, 
and cut the greater part of the lumber sent to the saw-mills to 
be made into lumber, staves, heads, and other stock. Waste is 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 231 

avoided by every device known to the modern economics of 
manufacture. The combined industries furnish employment to 
about 1,000 hands, and the annual trade amounts approximately 
to 11,500,000. Aside from its central office at Buffalo, the firm 
has a branch office for marketing purposes at Minneapolis. 

Mr. Tindle is a member and trustee of the Asbury Methodist 
Episcopal Church, and a member of the Executive Committee 
of the Methodist Union. For over thirty years he belonged to 
the A. O. U. W. 

April 5, 1856, Mr. Tindle married Harriet Braithwaite of 
Ogdensburg, N. Y. Mrs. Tindle was born at Broomfleet, York- 
shire, England, which was also Mr. Tindle's birthplace. The 
surviving children are: Annette, now Mrs. Willis K. Jackson, 
who was born in 1861, and Prank T., born December 16, 1869. 
Mr. Frank T. Tindle is connected with his father's firm. In 
1893 he married Clara M. Boyce, daughter of C. W. Boyce of 
Buffalo. Their children are: Harriet M., Mildred A., Clara F., 
and Frank W. 

LEONARD DODGE occupies a distinctive place among 
Buffalo men of business. Local history can show few citizens 
who in equal degree with Mr. Dodge have united the care of 
large personal interests with the maintenance of a high stand- 
ard of public spirit. 

The ancestors of the Americaji branch of the Dodge fainily 
were among the early settlers of Rhode Island and Connecticut. 
John Dodge was born in 1644, in Northern England. In 1667, 
with his brothers, Israel and Truxton, he emigrated to this 
country, and settled in Rhode Island. He died in 1729. His 
children were: John, Jr., and David Britain, of whom the latter 
was born in 1691 and died in 1764. Jonathan Dodge, son of 
David Britain, was born at Block Island, R. I., in 1721, and died 
in 1794. Jonathan Dodge, Jr., son of the preceding, was 'born 
in 1747, in Colchester, Conn., and died in 1794. Alvan Dodge, 
son of Jonathan Dodge, Jr., was born in Colchester, Conn., May 



232 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

8, 1782. He removed to Warren, Herkimer County, N. Y. He 
married Mary Blount, by whom lie had six children: Sarah, 
Cemantha, Alma, Alvin Leonard, Jonathan Wayne, and Mary 
Eliza. The family became residents of Lowville, Lewis County, 
N. Y.,,and from there in 1810, Mr. Dodge removed to Buffalo. 
He prospered in farming, and became an extensive land owner. 
He held many civic offices in Buffalo and Black Rock, and was 
appointed Magistrate of the County of Niagara. He died in 
January, 1846. 

Jonathan Wayne Dodge, son of Alvan Dodge, was born 
November 9, 1812. He was educated in the schools of Buffalo, 
and as a young man was a teacher in one of the first high 
schools in that section. He inherited a part of his father's land 
holdings, and was a farmer in Lancaster and Clarence. In 1864 
he purchased a grist mill in Williamsville, where he settled in 
1870, and where he died in November, 1889. Mr. Dodge was a 
Democrat and held many offices in the town of Clarence. In 
1846 he was Supervisor of Lancaster. 

March 29, 1838, Mr. Dodge married Charlotte Hull of Tona- 
wanda, who was born in Canada October 3, 1817. Their 
children were: Alma, born March 8, 1839; Alvan, born June 1, 
1840; Leonard, born May 18, 1844; Henry Wright, born Novem- 
ber 30, 1850, and Martha Eliza, born March 13, 1855. While 
the family were living in Clarence, Mrs. Dodge died. February 
26, 1865, Mr. Dodge married his second wife, Marie A. Strickler, 
daughter of Jacob and Catherine H. (Correll) Strickler of 
Clarence. The issue of this union was one son, J. Arthur C. 
Dodge, who was born April 2, 1871. 

Leonard Dodge was educated in the public schools, at 
Clarence Academy and the Genesee Wesleyan Seminary at 
Lima, N. Y. After leaving school he learned the milling busi- 
ness in the old Erie Mills at Black Rock, where he remained 
four years. In 1864 he went to Williamsville and engaged in 
milling, continuing until his mill was burned in 1894. In 1872 
Mr. Dodge removed to Buffalo, where he engaged in the whole- 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 233 

sale provision trade, carrying on this business and his Williams- 
ville milling enterprise. In 1885 he relinquished his provision 
business to devote himself to grain and elevating interests. In 
1886 the Frontier Elevator was built by a stock company of 
which Mr. Dodge became Secretary, Treasurer and General 
Manager, offices which he has held continuously ever since, and 
in 1907 he was elected President of the Western Elevating 
Association. Since 1896 he has served as trustee of the 
Western Elevating Association. Since 1896 he has served as 
trustee of the Western Savings Bank, and has been its Vice- 
President since 1901. He is one of the charter members of the 
Commonwealth Trust Company, of which he was for several 
years a trustee. 

Mr. Dodge's connection with the Buffalo Board of Trade 
began in 1864. As a member of the old Merchants' Exchange 
he did such valuable Avork that when, in 1903, that body became 
the Chamber of Commerce, he was elected its first President. 
In the movement for improving the canals he was one of the 
most efficient workers, and it was during Mr. Dodge's term of 
office that the act for the improvement of the canal system was 
passed. As a member of the Charter Revision Commission, he 
gave many months of gratuitous service for the benefit of the 
City of Buffalo. 

A life-long Democrat, Mr. Dodge has with one exception 
never accepted any political office. In 1869 he was elected 
Supervisor of the town of Amherst, and served four years, being 
Chairman of the Board of Supervisors in 1871. 

Mr. Dodge is a 32d degree Mason. Since 1865 he has been a 
member of Hiram Lodge, and he is also affiliated with Buffalo 
Chapter, No. 71, Royal Arch Masons; Buffalo Council, R. & 
S. M.; Lake Erie Commandery, Knights Templar; Buffalo 
Consistory, and Ismailia Temple. For many years he has been 
a member of the Young Men's Association. 

May 5th, 1869, Mr. Dodge married Emily P. Hotchkiss, 
daughter of Hiram Hotchkiss of Buffalo. Mrs. Dodge died 



234 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

December 31, 1872, leaving one daughter, Mamre E., who 
married Charles H. Bailey of Buffalo, and whose children are: 
Leonard H., and Mamre. September 20, 1876, Mr. Dodge again 
married, his second wife being Emilie P., daughter of the late 
Col. Richard Flach of Buffalo. 

GEORGE ALFRED RICKER is of New England ancestry. 
George and Maturin Ricker, brothers, came from England to 
Denver, New Hampshire, in 1670, and in 1672 respectively. 
Both were killed by Indians on June 4, 1706, at Garrison Hill in 
Dover, N. H. George Ricker married Eleanor Evans. Ephraim, 
son of George, was a soldier in the Colonial and French wars, 
taking part in the Crown Point expedition in 1748. Moses 
Ricker, son of Ephraim, was a soldier, serving in the French 
and Indian War, and also in the Revolution. Henry Ricker, 
son of Moses, had a son, Charles, grandfather of our subject, 
and who served in the navy in the War of 1812. He had a son, 
Charles Clement Ricker, father of George A. Ricker, who at an 
early age entered the United States Navy, and served with 
distinction throughout the Civil War, and for several years 
thereafter, as Acting Master's Mate and Acting Ensign on the 
U. S. frigate, Santee; Acting Master on the U. S. ironclad, 
Nahant, during which time he took part in all the fights in 
which the ironclads of the South Atlantic Squadron were 
engaged. He later served on the ironclad, Passaic, and di,d 
special duty off Charleston. After its evacuation he com- 
manded the U. S. ship, F. A. Ward, and the same year was 
promoted Acting Volunteer Lieutenant. He later served on the 
U. S. ship. Supply, in the East India Squadron in the China 
and Japan seas, and received from President Andrew Johnson 
a commission as Acting Volunteer Lieutenant. The succeeding 
year, returning to the United States, on August 30, 1868, he 
received his honorable discharge from the service. For many 
years after leaving the Navy, Lieutenant Ricker continued to 
follow the sea as a profession. In 1880 he retired and came to 
Buffalo, becoming Superintendent of the Erie Elevator. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 235 

Charles Clement Kicker married Sarah M. Joy of Ports- 
mouth, N. H. The children were: George A., and Charles 
William. 

George Alfred Joy Ricker was born in Portsmouth, New 
Hampshire, June 30, 1863. When seven years old he began to 
go to sea with his father, and continued a sea-faring life until 
he was fifteen years of age, during which period he made thir- 
teen voyages across the Atlantic and lived for two years in 
Liverpool, England. In the eight years which he spent mostly 
in following the sea, young Ricker studied at Vernon Academy, 
Liverpool, and with some instructors at Portsmouth. In 1880 
he came to Buffalo. In February, 1881, at the age of sixteen, 
he joined the engineer corps of the Erie Railroad. In 1882 he 
entered the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, taking a 
special civil engineering coxirse for three years. 

In 1885 he became Division Engineer of the Erie. In 188G 
he went to Montana as a member of the engineer corps of the 
Northern Pacific Railroad. Returning to Buffalo in 1887, he 
opened offices for private practice. Since that time Mr. Ricker 
has attained high standing in his profession. Among the 
positions held by him may be mentioned that of Second Assist- 
ant to Roadmaster, Buffalo & Rochester Division of the Erie 
R. R. (1885-1S86); Assistant Engineer, Helena & Red Mountain 
Railroad (1886); First Assistant to Roadmaster, Buffalo 
Division of the Erie R. R. (1886-1887), and Engineer of the 
Buffalo Creek Railroad. In 1890 he located and surveyed the 
line of the Niagara Gorge Railroad, which was built under his 
direction; of this road he is Chief Engineer. He built the lines 
of the Buffalo Traction Company, the Buffalo and Depew Rail- 
road, and projected its extension to Rochester; and is Chief 
Engineer and a member of the Board of Directors of the Buffalo 
& Rochester Traction Company. At the time of the agitation 
of the grade crossings issue, Mr. Ricker was employed by the 
Lumber Exchange to examine the engineering questions 
involved. He was Chief Engineer of the first Pan-American 



236 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Exposition Company, and accompanied President McKinley 
and Gen. Alger, then Secretary of War, on the occasion when 
Mr. McKinley drove the first stake on Cayuga Island, which 
was originally intended for the site of the Exposition. He is 
also President and General Manager of the Buffalo Testing 
Laboratory. 

In politics Mr. Ricker is a Democrat. He has three times 
served the city as a member of the Civil Service Commission, 
and for twenty years has been a member of the Civil Service 
Reform Association. 

Mr. Ricker was one of the organizers and second President 
of the Engineers' Society of Western New York, is a member 
of the American Society of Civil Engineers, a member of the 
Institute of Engineers of the Republic of Chile, the Historical 
Society, trustee of the Charity Organization Society, and for 
six years trustee of the Unitarian Church. He is a member of 
the Buffalo, Ellicott and Technology clubs, and President of 
the last named. 

November 24, 1887, Mr. Ricker married Bessie H. Turner, 
daughter of Frederick M. Turner and Agnes Cutler of Buffalo. 

JOHN GEORGE WICKSER, former State Treasurer, 
Republican State Committeeman, and President of the Buffalo 
German Insurance Company, is a typical example of a man who 
owes his rise in life to his own abilities. Mr. Wickser is one 
of Buffalo's leading business men, and has also enjoyed high 
political honors. 

Mr. Wickser is the only son of John Jacob Wickser, who was 
born in the Canton of Glarus, Switzerland, in 1828, came to 
Buffalo in 1850, and died in 1888. He was in mercantile busi- 
ness in Buffalo for many years, and served three years in the 
army during the Civil War. In 1855 he married Eva Catherine 
Becker, daughter of Frederick Becker, and sister of Philip 
Becker, formerly Mayor of Buffalo. Mrs. Wickser was born 
in Germany in 1834 and died in 1905. John George Wickser 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 237 

was born in Buffalo October 17, 1856. He attended Public 
School No. 1, and Central High School, and when sixteen years 
old went to work for the Forest Lawn Cemetery- Association, 
and afterward for Smith & Mixer, lumber merchants. Later he 
entered the employ of the Buffalo German Insurance Company 
in a clerical capacity. After three years with this corporation, 
he began business for himself, at the age of 20 becoming a 
partner in the firm of Becker & Wickser, the senior member 
being Henry Becker. The firm was engaged in the saddlery 
business at No. 555 Main street, remaining there until 1880, 
when the business was removed to No. 9 Court street, where it 
now is conducted. In 1896 Mr. Wickser became a member of 
the firm of Philip Becker & Co., which was afterward 
changed to a corporation of which he became Vice-President, 
which oflce he now holds. The company conducts an extensive 
wholesale grocery business at Nos. 266-271 Pearl street. Mr. 
Wickser has also dealt in real estate to a large extent, and is 
President of the Buffalo German Insurance Company. Mr. 
Wickser's first service as a public man was in 1903 and 1904, 
when he was State Treasurer, to which office he had been 
elected in the fall of 1902, running far ahead of his ticket in 
Erie County. Owing to his numerous business interests, he was 
not a candidate for reelection. Early in 1905 he was appointed 
by Governor Higgins President of the State Prison Commission 
for a term of four years. Both as State Treasurer and as head 
of the Prison Commission, Mr. Wickser displayed administra- 
tive ability of a very high order, and brought to his work the 
same fidelity and care which he bestows on his private business. 
The result has been a notably creditable public record. In the 
fall of 1905 the substantially unanimous wish of the Repub- 
lican party in Buffalo was that Mr. Wickser should take the 
nomination for Mayor, and great pressure was brought to bear 
to induce him to do so. But personal reasons made it impossible 
for him to accept the proffered honor. 

April 13, 1886, Mr. Wickser married Katherine A. Houck, 
deceased 1907, daughter of the late Philip Houck of Buffalo. 



238 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



The children of this union are: Phjlip J. Wickser, a graduate of 
Cornell University, class of 1908, and Ruth Houck Wickser. 

WILLIAM ALEXANDER DOUGLAS is of Scottish 
ancestry, belonging to one of the most ancient and honorable 
houses in Scotland, and one which is connected with many of 

the most interesting 
events in Caledonian his- 
tory. His grandfather, 
Alexander Douglas, was 
born in the Parish of Foss 
on Loch Tummel, Scot- 
land, in 1781, and came to 
America about 1800. He 
first settled near Johns- 
town, Fulton County, 
N. Y., and there married 
Elizabeth Macbeth. They 
removed to the town of 
Fenner, Madison County, 
where they lived till 
1830, when they removed 
to Covington, Wyoming 
County, N. Y., where Mr. 
Douglas resided till his 
death. His children were: 
John A.; Susan, who married Daniel Cameron and afterward 
lived in Mt. Vernon, O. ; Isabella, who married Duncan Stewart, 
and was a resident of York, N. Y.; Ellen, who married Charles 
Stewart, and lived in Stewartville, Minn., and Alexander, who 
married first Isabelle Stewart of York, N. Y., and after her 
decease married Margaret Campbell of Wheatland, Monroe 
County, N. Y. , 

John A. Douglas, son of Alexander Douglas and. father of 
William A. Douglas of Buffalo, was an esteemed and influential 
resident of York, Livingston County, N. Y. He was a farmer 




WILLIAM A. DOUQLAS. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 239 

all his life, and in 1824 purchased an interest in the 300-acre 
tract taken up in the town of York in 1812 by the brothers, 
Daniel, John and James McNab. Mr. Douglas was a man of 
quiet life who devoted himself to his family, his church and his 
farm. He was of strict religious ideas, a Presbyterian of 
the old school, being connected with the United Presbyterian 
branch of that denomination, and for many years was a deacon 
of the church. His standards of morals and conduct were of the 
highest, and he exemplified them in his own career. 

October 27, 1842, he married Christia McNab, born May 2, 
1818, a daughter of Daniel and Isabella Armstrong McNab. 
The Armstrongs and the McNabs came as a part of an emigra- 
tion movement, about the beginning of the last century, toward 
the land West of the Genesee River. Christia McNab Douglas 
was a woman of noble character. Mr. and Mrs. Douglas were 
the parents of six children: Watson, born February 1, 1844, 
died 1875; Isabella, born in December, 1850, died 1851; Eliza- 
beth, born March 7, 1854, died 1858; William A., born April 4, 
1859; John F., born June 9, 1861, and Annabel, born January 
30, 1863. Of the above children, John A. Douglas died Decem- 
ber 7, 1881. Christia M. Douglas died in 1884. 

William A. Douglas was born at York, Livingston County, 
N. Y., April 4, 1859. He received his education in the common 
schools, and the State Normal School at Geneseo, N. Y., gradu- 
ating in 1882. He then went to Des Moines, Iowa, and for the 
succeeding three or four years was principal of schools in that 
locality. 

In 1886 he entered the University of Columbia Law School 
and School of Political Science, in the City of New York. At 
the end of two years he graduated with distinguished honors, 
receiving the degree of Bachelor of Laws, cum laude. While 
attending law school he studied in the ofiflce of Wetmore & 
Jenner, in New York City. 

After his graduation in 1888 Mr. Douglas came to Buffalo, 
where he held clerkships in various law offices for a time. 

In 1889 Mr. Douglas was admitted to the bar, and the fol- 



240 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

lowing year began practice by himself in Buffalo. Many 
important interests are entrusted to his care, and he is a 
prominent figure in various industrial enterprises in Buffalo, 
Chicago and elsewhere. In 1896 he was appointed Receiver of 
the Springville National Bank. 

In politics Mr. Douglas has always been a Democrat. In 
November, 1894, he was appointed a member of the Board of 
School Examiners by Mayor Bishop, serving two years. 

In the early '90's Mr. Douglas became actively interested in 
the examination of tenement house conditions in Buffalo, and 
with others succeeded in having passed stringent ordinances 
regulating tenement conditions. The rules proposed by Mr. 
Douglas and his associates are those which exist today as modi- 
fied by the Tenement House Act of 1901, and were the model 
followed by the Tenement House Commission, of which Mr. 
Douglas was a member, appointed by Governor Roosevelt, and 
which framed laws for Greater New York and Buffalo. 

Mr. Douglas was also a powerful factor in causing the 
Common Council of Buffalo to adopt an ordinance providing for 
the licensing of employment agencies. Before the present State 
law on the subject was enacted, Mr. Douglas, with Dr. Wende, 
Dr. Pryor, and Mr. Williams Lansing, induced the Common 
Council to make an appropriation of |6,000 for a free bath- 
house on the Terrace, which was built. 

In recognition of his many services in the cause of public 
health. Governor Higgins appointed Mr. Douglas a member of 
the New York State Tuberculosis Hospital in the Adirondacks. 
This ofiice he resigned in 1905. In 1908 he was appointed one 
of the Board of Managers of the Craig Colony for Epileptics at 
Sonyea, N. Y. He is a member of the Charity Organization 
Society, and for many years a trustee. He belongs to the Civil 
S^vice Reform Association, a charter member of the Municipal 
League, a member of the Chamber of Commerce, the Historical 
Society, the Natural History Society, the National Geographical 
Society, and the State Bar Association; belongs to the Buffalo, 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 241 

Saturn, EUicott and Country clubs and a charter member of the 
Liberal Club. 

October 3, 1892, Mr. Douglas married Alice Charlotte 
Hedstrom, daughter of Eric L. and Anna M. (Klampfer) 
Hedstrom of Buffalo. They have two children, Anne, born 
October 5,, 1893, and Eric, born April 16th, 1895. 

JOSEPH B. MAYER is one of the foremost men in the 
country in traction interests and electric development, and to 
give an account of his career is to tell the story of signal 
achievements in the business world. 

Mr. Mayer was born in Freiburg, Baden, Germany, January 
4, 1850, graduated from the Freiburg Gymnasium in 1866. In 
1868 he came to the United States and settled in Buffalo, where 
for four years he was employed as a bookkeeper. In 1872 he 
began importing diamonds, forming with Louis Weill a part- 
nership which lasted till 1876. Thereafter up to 1892 Mr. 
Mayer carried on the business alone. 

From 1892 to 1895 he devoted himself to real property inter- 
ests, becoming the organizer and manager of syndicates which 
purchased large tracts of land in Buffalo and vicinity, made 
improvements and put the property on the market. In 1895 he 
organized the Buffalo Traction Company, of which he was Vice- 
President, Treasurer and General Manager until the corpora- 
tion was absorbed by the Buffalo Street Railway Company in 
1899. Throughout the mergers, whose outcome was the Inter- 
national Railway Company, Mr. Mayer continued to hold his 
interests in Buffalo traction enterprises, and he retains his 
stock in the present company. 

At Lima, O., he organized the Lima Railway Company and 
the Lima Electric Light and Heating Companies; at Louisville, 
Ky., he established the Louisville Lighting Company, and in 
Indiana was organizer of the Fort Wayne Lighting Company. 
Meanwhile in co-operation with the Widener-Elkins Philadel- 
phia syndicate Mr. Mayer was concerned in a gigantic consoli- 



242 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

dation of properties controlling 600 miles of railroad in Ohio. 
Another great merger engineered by Mr. Mayer was the 
consolidation known as the Western New York & Pennsylvania 
Traction Company. 

But what is probably Mr. Mayer's crowning achievement 
thus far is the organization and financing of the Buffalo & Lake 
Erie Traction Company, which has established a through line 
of electric road communication between Buffalo and Erie, Pa. 

Mr. Mayer is a Democrat, and he has often been urged to 
become a candidate for elective ofl9.ce, but has always declined. 
In 1895 he accepted the appointment of Civil Service Commis- 
sioner, and filled that position with efficiency and credit. 

Mr. Mayer is affiliated with Washington Lodge of Masons, is 
an active member of the Chamber of Commerce, a life member 
of the Gerlnan Young Men's Association, belongs to the Council 
of the Charity Organization Society, and is deeply interested in 
the Free Kindergarten, and many similar societies. He is a 
member of the Buffalo, Country, Ellicott and Liberal clubs, and 
the Manhattan and Lawyers' clubs of New York City; is a 
former President of the Temple Beth-Zion, and a prominent 
member of that organization. He has traveled extensively in 
this country and Europe. 

July 15, 1874, Mr. Mayer married Belle Falck of Buffalo. 

ALEXANDEE MELDRUM. For almost twenty-five years 
Alexander Meldrum was one of Buffalo's leading merchants. 
He was a pioneer of the broader development of the dry-goods 
trade in Western New York. Alexander Meldrum was of 
Scottish birth. He came of an ancient and esteemed Fifeshire 
family. His parents, Thomas and Janet Meldrum, were well- 
known residents of Kenoway, Fifeshire. 

^Alexander Meldrum was born near Kenoway, November 3d, 
1833. He was early apprenticed to a dry-goods house in 
Markinch. When twenty-two j^ears old Mr. Meldurm came to 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTOEY. 243 

the United States, locating in Boston, where he entered the 
employ of Kinmonth's store, afterward Hogg, Brown & Taylor. 
He was soon promoted from salesman to the responsible post 
of buyer, and remained with the firm until 1867, when he came 
to Buffalo, being accompanied by the late Eobert B. Adam, and 
Albert Whiting. Immediately after his arrival in Buffalo, Mr. 
Meldrum and his associates formed the copartnership of Adam, 
Meldrum & Whiting, doing a general dry-goods business. In 
1869 Mr. Whiting retired, and the concern became Adam & 
Melidrum. In 1875 William Anderson was admitted partner, 
the firm style being changed to Adam, Meldrum & Anderson. 
The connection of Mr. Meldrum with the business lasted until 
his death in 1891. He also held a controlling interest in the 
Dayton Drygoods Company of Dayton, Ohio, and was the sole 
owner . of the Queen City Underwear Company of Buffalo. 

Mr. Meldrum was a member of the Lafayette Street Presby- 
terian Church, the Buffalo Club, and of St. Andrew's Scottish 
Society, as well as of other Scottish-American bodies. 

February 27th, 1859, Mr. Meldrum married Ann Elizabeth 
Webster, a daughter of Elizabeth Story Hackett and Benjamiu 
Franklin Webster of Boston, Mass. Mrs. Meldrum came of 
distinguished IsTew England ancestry and was a grand-niece of 
Daniel Webster. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Meldrum are: 
Arthur R.; Alice M., wife of Thomas P. Daniels of New York 
City; Thomas Alfred, who was drowned when twenty years old; 
Herbert A.; Jessie Pollock, now Mrs. F. P. Vandenburg, and 
Florence Jeannette Meldrum. 

The death.of Mr. Meldrum occurred in Buffalo on the 21st of 
October, 1891. 

HERBERT ALEXANDER MELDRUM, President of the 
American Savings Bank, and Secretary and Treasurer of the 
H. A. Meldrum Company, is one of the foremost business men 
of Buffalo, holding a position of equal prominence in commercial 
enterprise and financial affairs. As head of the great Meldrum 



244 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

department store, Mr. Mel drum represents modern mercantile 
development in its broadest and most progressive sense. 

Herbert Alexander Meldrum was born in Buffalo, February 
15, 1870, and educated in the grammar-scliools and Central High 
School. 

When tvi^enty years old Mr. Meldrum entered the employ of 
Adam, Meldrum & Anderson to learn the dry-goods and depart- 
ment store business from the foundation. He remained with 
the Adam, Meldrum & Anderson firm till 1897, when he became 
one of the organizers and the executive head of the H. A. 
Meldrum Company. Though one of the youngest of Buffalo's 
big department houses, the firm stands in the front rank in 
point of business done and in general reputation. 

A notable instance of the initiative and enterprise which 
characterize Mr. Meldrum as a business man was furnished by 
the airship flight, which took place in Buffalo in the 
summer of 1906, under the auspices of the H. A. 
Meldrum Company, by A. Eoy Knabenshue. It was 
one of the most interesting events of the season, 
attracted tens of thousands of spectators and was 
widely commented upon by the press. It was the first and thus 
far the only occasion on which the airship has made its appear- 
ance in Buffalo, and commanded public attention, not only as a 
most original and novel method of advertising, but as an event 
uniting both scientific and spectacular interest. The flight was 
very successful, and Mr. Meldrum later, for the experience, 
made a balloon ascension with Mr. Knabenshue, traveling about 
forty miles, crossing the Niagara River and landing at Silver- 
dale, Ontario. 

Mr. Meldrum is a member of the Chamber of Commerce, 
Manufacturers' Club, Buffalo Historical Society, Buffalo, 
Saturn, Country, Park and Automobile clubs of Buffalo, and the 
Aero Club of America, New York City. He is a member of 
Lafayette Avenue Presbyterain Church. 

September 23, 1895, Mr. Meldrum married Miss Louise 





^^^^-c^ c 





^^^^^^^^i^'^^^^f^li^ /'^ 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 245 

Hingston, a daughter of Edward J. and Mary (Eeese) Hingston 
of Buffalo. They have three children: Herbert Alexander, Jr., 
Alan Hingston, and Esther Louise Meldrum. 

THE MONTGOMERY FAMILY has for upwards of three- 
quarters of a century been well-known in Western N.ew York. 
The family is of Scotch-Irish origin, and the founder of the 
branch of it now under consideration was Ezekiel Montgomery, 
son of John Montgomery. 

EZEKIEL MONTGOMERY was originally a resident of Port 
Edward, Montgomery County, N. Y., and removed with his 
family to Silver Creek, Chautauqua County, N. Y., about 1833. 
He was a millwright, and in 1852 he established in Silver Creek, 
N. Y., the noted Eureka Smut Machine Works, in which his 
sons, Henry and Martin E., were partners. 

HENRY MONTGOMERY, son of Ezekiel Montgomery, was 
born in Fort Edward, Montgomery County, N. Y., February 17, 
1827. When four years old he came with his parents to Silver 
Creek, N. Y. Leaving school at sixteen, he learned the mill- 
wright's trade, and for a few years, in company with W. R. 
Grunleaf, manufactured steam engines. When the Eureka 
Smut Machine Works were founded he was admitted to part- 
nership and soon became the acknowledged head of the firm. 
In 1867 he sold out his interests in Silver Creek, and a year 
later came to Buffalo, entering the firm of Clark, Holland & Co., 
afterward Lee, Holland & Co., the well-known lumber dealers, 
the association thus begun continuing until his death. 

Mr. Montgomery was a strong Republican, and in 1882 and 
1883 he sat in the Common Council as Alderman from the 10th 
Ward. He was one of the most faithful and energetic members 
of the city legislature, and served on many important commit- 
tees, but the most notable feature of his public record was as 
Chairman of the Committee on Schools. He gave close atten- 
tion to the betterment of the School Department, and during his 



246 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

term of office many school buildings were erected and an exten- 
sive system of improvements was inaugurated. 

Mr. Montgomery was a leading member of the Lumber 
Exchange of Buffalo, and was for many years Chairman of its 
Board of Directors and Transpoi'tation Committee. He was a 
member and Chairman of the Transportation Committee of the 
Merchants' Exchange, and a member of the North Presbyterian 
Church of Buffalo. 

In 1858 Mr. Montgomery married Helen Lee, daughter of 
Oliver Lee of Silver Creek, N. Y. He is survived by his widow 
and two sons, George Brewster and Henry Ernest Mont- 
gomery. Another son, Nelson Lee Montgomery, died April 6, 
1881. 

The death of Henry Montgomery occurred October 5, 1887. 
In him Buffalo lost one of her best citizens, and the estimation 
in which he was held cannot be better indicated than in the 
following, taken from the memorial resolutions adopted by his 
associates of the Merchants' Exchange. 

" Henry Montgomery was known and acknowledged among 
his associates as a strong man — a strong man mentally and 
physically — a man of strong will, of strong convictions and of 
unflinching courage in maintaining his convictions— a man of 
quick perception, projnpt decision, energetic action, a strong, 
true man living in and guided by the highest, purest 
principles. 

" In all his relations as a man of business his reputation was 
exactly what should be expected of the man whose character 
has thus been faintly portrayed. 

"Into the more secluded paths of private life we will not here 
intrude, save briefly to honor his memory as a true Christian 
gentleman, a consistent member of a Christian church, a gen- 
erous, open-hearted contributor to many charities and benevo- 
lent institutions — one whose sympathizing help was ever alert 
in responding to the cry of the poor and the distressed; in fine, 
one of those men who, when the summons comes which calls 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 247 

him hence, is missed and mourned far and beyond the circle of 
family and friends wherein his daily life has centered." 

GEORGE B. MONTGOMERY, son of Henry Montgomery, is 
one of Buffalo's success- 
ful business men and ^^^^^^^^^^ 
progressive As .^^^^^Hl^^^^^ 
President of Montgomery ^^^^^^Hl^^k!^^^^^ 
Bros. &■ Company, sue- ^^^^^Bi^^^ ^^^^^^L 
eessors in business of ^^^^^K^^ ^^^^k 
Lee, Holland & Company, ^^^^^^HK^Mb , ^^^^ 
Mr. Montgomery is head ^^^^^^^HH^S| I JWfe. i^^^^^ 
of one of the leading ^^^^B^^MS^^^KL ~~' ^^^^H 
lumber manufacturing ^^^^HH|H^^^r ^; ^^^^^| 
concerns in the country, ^Kii^^^^ - ^KESWH^ ^^^^^^k 
and he is also identified ^H^^V ^ijlj^^Bt '^^^^^^^m 
with extensive outside ^^^^^^^ ^^VIBh^B^Sif^a 
lumber interests, chiefly ^^^^^^^^^^^ I^IHgHiV 

the ^^^^^^^^B^^ w^^^^m 

Mr. Montgomery ^^^^^^^^BIA ^^^^^ 

born at Silver Creek, ^. , ^^^^^^^^^B ^^^r 

Y., on the 2d of Ju^y, ^^^^^^^^H ^r 

18 62. In childhood he ^^^^^ 

accompanied his parents "^"""^^ ^- montgomeet. 

tq Buffalo, where he received a grammar and High School 
education, which was supplemented by a course at the Michigan 
Military Academy. On leaving school Mr. Montgomery became 
a bookkeeper and clerk in the employ of Nelson Holland, and 
later was connected with the firm of Holland, Graves & Mont- 
gomery, at Black Rock, with whom he continued from 1885 to 
1897. The business of which Mr. Montgomery is the head holds 
a position second to none in its field. He has an immense plant 
equipped with the best modern appliances, and gives employ- 
ment to 500 people. The specialties of the concern are doors, 
sash, blinds, mouldings, veneered doors, packing cases, boxes. 



248 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

and a great variety of other articles. Mr. Montgomery is 
Treasurer of the National Lumber Insurance Co. of Buffalo; 
Treasurer of the A. B. Cramer Company, manufacturers of 
Southern pine at Suffolk, Va., and Treasurer of the Mont- 
gomery Lumber Company at Spring Hope, N. C. 

Mr. Montgomery is a member of the Chamber of Commerce, 
the Buffalo, Saturn, EUicott, Westminster, and Buffalo Canoe 
clubs, and of the Westminster Presbyterian Church. 

June 30, 1885, Mr. Montgomery married Mary Frances Jewett, 
daughter of the late James H. Jewett of Buffalo. 

SETH ELY SILL, Justice of the Supreme Court, who died 
September 15, 1851, in his forty-third year, during a relatively 
brief career attained distinguished honors as a lawyer. Judge 
and citizen. 

Judge Sill was born in Moreau, Saratoga County, N. Y., June 
3, 1809. After finishing his lay education he began reading law 
with the Hon. Orville Clark of Sandy Hill, N. Y. Later he came 
to Buffalo and entered the office of Sherwood and Hawley, with 
whom he completed his law studies, being admitted to the bar 
in 1836. Immediately afterward he engaged in practice as a 
member of the firm of Hawley & Sill, to whose personnel was 
afterward added the Hon. George P. Barker, subsequently 
Attorney General and later Justice of the Supreme Court, the 
firm style becoming Barker, Hawley & Sill, and finally Barker 
& Sill. After Mr. Barker was elected Attorney General, Mr. 
Sill continued the practice of law alone, until he himself was 
elected Supreme Court Justice of the Eighth Judicial District, 
in 1849. The death of Judge Sill limited his career on the bench 
to two years, but he gained in this time a notable name as a 
jurist. In erudition he was recognized as ranking with the 
first of New York Judges, and this at an epoch when the bench 
of the Empire State 'was adorned by many illustrious men. 

In 1840 Judge Sill married Harriet E. Allen, daughter of 
Ethan B. Allen and Harriet Seymour of Batavia, N. Y. The 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 249 

children of Judge Sill were: Fanny Sill of Buffalo; Charles B. 
Sill, who died in 1888; Henry S. Sill of Buffalo; Florence, who 
died in infancy, and Mary, who became Mrs. Frank Dorr of 
Buffalo, and who died in 1873. 

HENRY SEYMOUR SILL, son of Judge Sill, was born in 
Buffalo, and educated in the public schools, and Spencertown 
Academy. He studied law two years' in the office of Judge 
N. K. Hall of Buffalo, but di-scontinued his legal studies to 
enter the employ of the Mutual Insurance Company of Buffalo. 
In 1868 he established with Charles G. Worthington the present 
insurance firm of Worthington & Sill. During the thirty-eight 
years of its duration, the copartnership of Messrs. Worthington 
& Sill has grown from small beginnings to the first rank among 
similar agencies between New York, Chicago and Duluth. The 
firm has charge of the general management of several leading 
marine insurance companies, and is one of the largest fire 
insurance agencies in Buffalo, being excelled by none in volume 
of business. He is actively interested in the Gilchrist Trans- 
portation Company, which owns a fleet engaged in lake 
transportation, and one of the Company's finest steel steamers, 
the Henry S. Sill, is named after him. He is also connected 
with the Norton Transportation Company, owner of the new- 
steel steamer, D. Z. Norton. 

In politics Mr. Sill is a Republican. He is a member of the 
Chamber of Commerce, a life member of the Buffalo Public 
Library, and belongs to the Buffalo, Country and Park Clubs. 
He is a member of the Episcopal Church. He was a vestryman 
of old Christ Church before it was merged with Trinity, and 
since that time has been connected with the latter congregation. 

HARRY NELSON KRAFT, who during the last decade has 
been successfully engaged in the practice of law in Buffalo, 
though still a young man, occupies an assured position among 
the leading members of the Erie County bar. Mr. Kraft is the 



250 MEMOKIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

son of Henry Kraft, who was born in Germany in 1831 and came 
to this country at the age of fifteen, settling in Buffalo, where 
he learned the tinsmith's business and later engaged in the 
hardware trade, in which he was very successful. He is still 
living in Buffalo, but has now retired from business. He is 
actively interested in Masonry, and is Past Master of Harmonie 
Lodge. In May, 1856, he married Rosina Holser, whose parents 
came from Switzerland to the United States about 1830, and 
settled in Buffalo. The children of Henry Kraft are: George 
H., Ida (Mrs. Edward A. Dreher); Charles F., Carrie, Edward, 
and Harry N. Kraft. 

Harry Nelson Kraft was born in Buffalo September 12, 1873. 
He was educated in the grammar schools and Central High 
School. When nineteen years old he entered the Buffalo Law 
School, from which he graduated, and in 1896 he was admitted 
to the bar. He then became a clerk in the law oflSce of William 
C. Bryant, and later entered the office of Fisher, Wende & Coats- 
worth. On the death of Theodore Wende, in 1901, Mr. Kraft 
became associated in the business, under the firm style of 
Fisher, Coatsworth, Diebold & Kraft. In 1905 the firm was 
reorganized as Coatsworth, Diebold & Kraft, an association 
which still continues. The firm represents the interests of many 
leading corporations and business concerns, and recently acted 
as attorneys for the receiver in the German Bank case. In 
court practice the firm is one of the foremost in Buffalo, and 
also enjoys a high reputation as counsel. Besides being an 
exceptionally able lawyer, Mr. Kraft is an Up-to-date man of 
affairs, well informed as to the events of the time and the 
conditions of the business world of today. He is identified with 
several industrial and commercial enterprises. 

Mr. Kraft is a member of the Bar Association and of the 
Lawyers' Club. He has many Masonic affiliations, being a mem- 
ber of Washington Lodge; Keystone Chapter, Royal Arch 
Masons; Hugh de Pay ens Commandery, Knights Templar, and 
Zuleika Grotto. He is a member of the Buffalo Orpheus, and 




MARK S. HUBBELL 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 251 

of the Otowega and Canoe clubs. He is a member of the Holy 
Trinity English Lutheran Church. 

November 25, 1905, Mr. Kraft married Jennie Allen, daughter 
of James T. and Mary Allen of Buffalo. 

MAEK SIBLEY HUBBELL, editor and proprietor of 
" Truth," newspaper man, lawyer and litterateur, is a unique 
personality, and has had a varied and most interesting career. 
Many men make a success of journalism. Few men leave on it 
the unmistakable stamp of an individuality. Mark S. Hubbell 
is one of the few. He has been identified in many capacities 
with the newspaper world, but whether he has worked for 
himself or for other people, his work has always borne the 
indubitable mark of an original mind. In some respects it does 
not seem amiss to call Mr. H ubbell the Voltaire of Buffalo. He 
is Voltairean in his wit and incisiveness. He is Voltairean in 
his fearlessness and his hatred of shams. But.he differs from 
Voltaire in being a builder up instead of a puller down. He has 
preserved his faith in men and things. TiiQ superstructure of 
his humor and satire is built on the foundation of a healthy 
optimism. In journalism Mr. Hubbell occupies a field wholly 
his own. His paper is run by nobody but himself. " Truth " is 
an independent newspaper if there ever was one. As its editor, 
Mr. Hubbell has done a monumental work in righting wrongs 
and exposing abuses. He has done a work no less important in 
leavening the intellectual life of the community. He is a man 
who gives zest and sparkle to the dull commonplace of every- 
day. He is also a man who stands for high ideals in morals, 
journalism and literature. 

Mr. Hubbell was born in Buffalo on the 5th of February, 1857. 
His father, John Hubbell, was for many years a prominent 
lawyer and citizen of that community, was for twenty years 
general counsel of the Western Transportation Company, and 
served as City Attorney in 1854 and 1855. Mark S. Hubbell's 
education was begun in the public schools of Buffalo and was 



252 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

completed at tlie military academies at Montrose and Newark, 
N. J. Like his brothers he was destined for the legal profession, 
and when seventeen years old entered the law office of Bangs, 
Sedgwick & North of New York City. In 1878 he was admitted 
to the bar. For about a year he practiced law in Buffalo. But 
his native bent toward literature and journalism was too 
strong to be turned aside by the attractions of his profession. 
He engaged actively in newspaper life, his first work being done 
for the Buffalo Morning Express. He then went to New York, 
where he was employed as a writer for the New York Times,. 
World and Telegram. His experience in metropolitan jour- 
nalism covered a period of four years. In 1881 he made a tour 
of the world, via Australia and the Orient. To Mr, Hubbell 
this was a time fruitful of intellectual enrichment. All that he 
witnessed found lodgment in a keen and receptive mind, and 
much of Mr. Hubbell's cosmopolitanism — the " savoir faire " of 
the true citizen of the world — is due to his extensive travels. 
While abroad he perfected his knowledge of the leading Conti- 
nental languages, particularly of French, of which he is a 
master. 

Eeturning to Buffalo, Mr. Hubbell served for some time in an 
editorial capacity on the Buffalo Courier. Later he was man- 
aging editor of the Buffalo Times for two years, and was for 
six years a member of the staff of the News. This part of his 
career was a period of steady increase of his reputation both as 
a practical newspaper man and a brilliant writer. 

Mr. Hubbell is a Republican. He is a staunch adherent of 
the fundamental principles of his party, but has always reserved 
the right of independent opinion, and as to municipal issues 
regards fitness rather than party lines as the determining 
factor. He was elected City Clerk in 1894, and was reelected 
three times. He was a popular and efficient city official. He 
did much to systematize the workings of his department, per- 
fected the methods of keeping records, and won the hearty 
commendation of the press, the Common Council and the public. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTOEY. 253 

He compiled the best manual of the city government ever pub- 
lished, and prepared a valuable annotated edition of the 
Charter and Ordinances. 

^ On retiring from office Mr. Hubbell engaged again in news- 
paper work. His contributions as a special writer to the Times 
attracted wide attention and were among the leading features 
of that paper. Under the nom de plume of " Jan Schimmel- 
penninck," he conducted a column which was one of the most 
famous that ever appeared in Buffalo journalism, abounding in 
sparkling wit, quaint humor, vivid word-painting and shrewd 
practical suggestions. Later, for a year or two, he furnished a, 
similar column to the editorial page of the Buffalo Enquirer. 

In 1903 Mr. Hubbell established the now well-known weekly 
paper " Truth." Its inauguration marked a new departure in 
Buffalo journalism. " Truth " followed no precedent, was 
patterned after no model, and won its way to the front by sheer 
merit of a unique kind. It went straight to the hearts of the 
people and demonstrated the nature of " independent jour- 
nalism " as a fact instead of a name. A paper for the masses, 
it also had the literary and intellectual tone that appeals to the 
thinking public. From the hour of its first issue " Truth " has 
steadfastly confirmed its original prestige of honor and 
courage. It has nobly justified its bold motto: "The Paper that 
Dares." But its daring has never degenerated to license. 
" Truth " is signally a journal clean-cut, bright and pure. Its 
championship of honesty and a square deal, its contempt for 
the arts of the demagogue and the knave are equally outspoken. 
Mr. Hubbell and his paper are the friends of the weak and the 
oppressed. Through the columns of " Truth " many a private 
wrong has been redressed, many a covert public menace has 
been dragged from its lurking ambush to the light of day. The 
paper is the tangible expression of the individuality which 
controls it, and through its lively and up-to-date columns 
breathes not a little of the aroma of belles lettres — the charm 
of the scholar and literateur. "Truth" has constantly increased 



254 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

in circulation and advertising patronage. It is today, one of the 
assured and brilliant successes of the latter-day journalism of 
Western New York. 

Mr. Hubbell is widely known in social life and is identified 
with many of the societies and institutions of Buffalo. He is a 
Mason, being affiliated with Ancient Landmarks Lodge, No. 441, 
F. & A. M. He belongs to the Buffalo Historical Society, the 
Orpheus Society, the Buffalo Republican League, the Society of 
Natural Sciences, the Press Club, and the Ellicott Club. 

On the 3d of January, 1883, Mr. Hubbell married Mrs. Eliza- 
beth J. Oliver of Buffalo. 

SIMON FLEISCHMANN, an eminent lawyer of Buffalo, has 
also won distinction in public and social life. Emanuel Fleisch- 
mann, son of Ezekiel, and father of Simon Fleischmann, was 
born in Aufsess, Bavaria, August 14, 1825, and educated at Bay- 
reuth, and Bamberg. In 1849 he came to America, and after a 
short stay in New York, went to Col ambus. Miss., and thence 
to Perryville, Mobile, and New Orleans, respectively for short 
periods of time. In 1850 he went to San Francisco, where he 
engaged in the cigar business. In 1855 he married Eliza Des- 
sauer. Their children were: Samuel, who died in infancy; Simon, 
and Bianca. In 1871 he came to Buffalo, where in 1872 he was 
appointed Chief Clerk of the Department of Education. In 1873 
he was appointed teacher of music in the public schools, contin- 
uing till 1876. The death of Mr. Fleischmann occurred April 17, 
1903. His wife died December 25, 1890. Emanuel Fleischmann 
was a man of superior intellect and estimable character. He 
was a prominent Mason, being a member of Alden Lodge, No. 
594; Adytum Chapter, No. 235; Buffalo Council, No. 17, and 
Queen City Council, No. 259. He was Recording Secretary of 
Montefiore Lodge, No. 70, Independent Order B'nai B'rith, and 
a charter member of Eagle Lodge, No. 69, Knights of Pythias. 

Simon Fleischmann was born in Iowa City, la., September 11, 
1859. When three years old he removed with the. family to 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 255 

New York City, and afterward to Meadville, Pa., and later to 
Dunkirk, N. Y. In 1871 he came to Buffalo. He attended the 
public schools of Meadville and Buffalo, and at Grammar School 
No. 13 won the first Jesse Ketchum gold medal. On his gradua- 
tion from Central High School in 1879 he was again awarded 
a Ketchum Medal. He began the study of law in 1899 with 
William C. Bryant. A year later he entered the liaw office of 
William H. Gurney, and in 1881 became connected with the office 
of Cleveland, Bissell & Sicard. In 1882 he was admitted to the 
bar, and during 1883 was Managing Clerk for Cleveland, Bissell 
& Sicard. In 1884 Mr. Fleischmann opened a law office for him- 
self. For several years he was in partnership with the late 
Emory P. Close, and latterly he has had for his associate 
William R. Pooley. The legal practice of Mr. Fleischmann has 
been confined entirely to high-grade civil litigation in the courts 
of this and other States, as well as before the Federal tribunals, 
and he has acted to a considerable extent as counsel for other 
lawyers in the trial of cases and the argument of appeals. 

Mr. Fleischmann is a Republican. In 1897 he was elected 
Supervisor from the old 21st Ward on the Good Government 
ticket, being indorsed, by the Democrats. In 1899 he was elected 
Councilman on the Reijublican ticket by 5,000 majority. He 
served for two years as President of the Board of Councilmen, 
and made an excellent record. 

Mr. Fleischmann possesses great musical talent, and for more 
than twenty years was organist in a number of Buffalo's prin- 
cipal churches, retiring from church organ work in 1898. In 
1904 he was appointed official organist of Buffalo, and in 1905 
inaugurated at Convention Hall a service of free Sunday after- 
noon organ recitals. From 1882 to 1889 he was dramatic and 
musical critic and editor for the Buffalo Courier.^ 

Mr. Fleischmann has been a trustee of the Erie County Bar 
Association, served as its President in 1903, and for some years 
was Chairman of its Laws and Legislation Committee. He is 
a member of the New York State Bar Association, and is on its 



256 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

most important committee, that of Law Keform. He is also a 
member of the American Bar Association. In 1904 he 
was designated by the New York State Bar Asso- 
ciation as a delegate to the Universal Congress of Lawyers and 
Jurists held in St. Louis. He is a member of the Buffalo Club, 
of Temple Beth-Zion, and of the Society of Natural Sciences, 
and a life member of the Buffalo Library. 

June 29, 1898, Mr. Tleischmann married Laura Justice, daugh- 
ter of William G. and Anna (Gillam) Justice of Buffalo. Their 
children are: Edwin, born in August, 1899; Justice, born in 
August, 1902, and Dudley, born in May, 1905. 

PEANK V. E. BARDOL, former Chief Engineer of the City 
of Buffalo, is today one of the leading civil engineers of this 
part of the State. 

He was born in Erie, Pa., June 12, 1869. When he was three 
years old his parents removed to Buffalo and here he attended 
Grammar School No. 31. Later he entered Cornell University 
at the age of sixteen, where he pursued a course in civil engi- 
neering, graduating with the class of 1889. 

After his graduation Mr. Bardol was employed by the Lehigh 
Valley Railroad Company as a draughtsman and on field work. 
He assisted in the Company's engineering enterprises at the 
Tifft farm at South Buffalo, and in terminal work at East 
Buffalo. He continued with the Lehigh Valley Railroad two 
years and a half, at the end of this time being appointed by the 
Board of Public Works Assistant City Engineer of the City of 
Buffalo. For five years he served in this capacity, rendering 
such excellent service to the municipality that on the 1st of 
January, 1898, he was appointed by the Board of Public Works 
Chief Engineer of the Bureau of Engineering. The position 
was one of arduous responsibility, Mr. Bardol having charge of 
all public improvements, such as the laying out of streets, and 
the construction of sewers, bridges, and viaducts, and all 
similar works carried on by the city. During his administra- 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 257 

tion Mr. Bardol was officially and in fact the supervisor of 
engineering undertakings involving an outlay on the part of 
the city of |1,000,000 a year. His official record was among the 
the ablest, most economical and successful of any to be found in 
the history of the city. It reflected credit on the administration 
and did equal honor to himself. 

When Col. Francis G. Ward, the Eepublican Commissioner of 
Public Works, took charge of that department at the beginning 
of 1902, Mr. Bardol resigned, and began the private practice 
of his profession, locating in the D. S. Morgan Building, where 
he has had his offices ever since. Mr. Bardol is also engaged in 
general contracting, in which he has an extensive and valuable 
business. / 

He belongs to a number of engineering and other societies. 
He is a member of the American Society of Civil Engineers and 
the Western l^ew York Association of Civil Engineers, also of 
the Cornell Alumni Association, and the Buffalo Orpheus, and 
a member of Washington Lodge, F. & A. M. 

CHARLES EDWIN WILLIAMS, senior member of the firm 
of Williams, McNaughton & Bapst, and President of the Ger- 
man Rock Asphalt & Cement Company, the Buffalo Expanded 
Metal Company, the Lake Erie Dredging Company, and the 
Continental Engineering & Contracting Company, is one of the 
foremost contractors and industrial executives of Western New 
York. Mr. Williams comes of a family which has been identi- 
fied with Buffalo since the pioneer period of tha,t city. 

William I. Williams, the father of the subject of this sketch, 
was born near Fort Niagara in 1823, being the son of Daniel 
Williams, an army officer stationed at the fort, who later con- 
ducted a hotel at Black Rock and Utica. As a young man he 
learned the tobacconist's trade, and that of carpenter and 
joiner. In 1849 he went to California and accumulated enough 
money to enable him to start in business. Returning to Buffalo 
in 1850, he purchased a lumber yard, and later bought a lumber 



258 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



yard in Main street, conducting a lumber, contracting and 
building business for the next fifteen years, and admitting to 
partnership his son, Charles E. Williams, under the firm style 
of William I. Williams & Son. Mr. Williams erected many 
large buildings, and upwards of 2,000 houses, stores and other 

structures in Buffalo were 
of his construction. He 
retired from business in 
1884, and died November 
7, 1885. In 1845 Mr. Will- 
iams married Eliza C. 
Uamsdell, daughter of 
Capt. Alexander Ramsdell 
of Buffalo. Their children 
were: Charles Edwin, and 
Cora E. (Mrs. Reuben J. 
Getz). 

Charles Edwin Will- 
iams was born in Buffalo 
February 21, 1852, and 
was educated in the pub- 
lic schools and at Heath - 
cote School. On leaving 
school he became his 
father's bookkeeper, con- 
tinuing in that capacity for three years. He then went to 
Germany, and entered Stuttgart Polytechnic Institute, where 
he pursued a two years' course In architecture, engineering and 
similar subjects. Returning to Buffalo, he entered into partner- 
ship with his father, and in 1884 became associated with D. W. 
McConnell. The firm of Williams & McConnell being dissolved 
by the death of the junior partner, Mr. Williams organized the 
fi'rm of Williams, McNaughton & Bapst, which soon .stood in 
the front rank of the general contracting business. 




CI-IAELES E. WILLIAMS. 



MEMOEIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 259 

Mr. Williams is a Eepublican, but has never held office. In 
the military affairs of Buffalo he has a creditable record, having 
served as a member of the old Company D, City Guard, and 
also as Quartermaster of the 74th Regiment, National Guard. 
He is of high, standing in the Masonic order, being a Scottish 
Rite Mason of the 32d degree. He is a member of the EUicott 
and Press clubs, the Chamber of Commerce and the Historical 
Society, and is connected with various other organizations. 

June 6, 1906, Mr. Williams married Jeanette J. Hodges, 
daughter of the late Edw^ard Hodges. 

A. SCHREIBER, President and founder of the A. Schreiber 
Brevping Company, Civil Service Commissioner, and Censor of 
the Polish National Alliance of the United States of America, 
is one of the foremost Polish- American citizens of Buffalo, an 
industrial leader and a man of an exceptionally vpide range of 
activities, including business, civic and social pursuits. 

Mr. Schreiber was boi"n in Poland January 12, 1864. He 
received a High School education in his native country, and then 
came al6ne to the United States, being eighteen years old when 
he arrived in New York City. Mr. Schreiber's early career was 
typically that of a self-made man. For a number of years he 
maintained himself by following various pursuits. He became 
office boy in a large chemical company, and rose by a rapid 
series of promotions. He was successively shipping clerk, city 
salesman, traveling salesman in New England and later general 
salesman, his territory including all of the United States and 
Canada. 

Resigning in 1899, he came to Buffalo, where, with one of his 
employees, Mr. F. Rawolle, he formed a partnership, and the 
same year he established the A. Schreiber Brewery, which in 
1899 was incorporated under the Laws of the State of New 
York as the A. Schreiber Brewing Company, with Mr. 
Schreiber as President and General Manager, the concern 
having a paid-in capital of $100,000. Under Mr. Schreiber's able 



260 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

direction the business was extended with unexampled rapidity, 
and soon built up an immense trade. When running to its full 
limit the establishment has a capacity of 100,000 barrels 
annually. It now produces 70,000 barrels every year, all of 
which is disposed of in the city of Buffalo. The plant originally 
occupied 140 feet front; today it has a frontage of 477 feet on 
Fillmore avenue, extending back to Wilson street in the rear. 
The business is steadily growing and is destined to be one of 
Buffalo's greatest brewing industries. The company has a large 
and increasing family trade, and its delivery wagons are con- 
stantly kept busy. Of commensurate magnitude is its hotel and 
general trade, and for sound policj^, purity of product, improved 
methods of manufacture and financial trustworthiness, the 
house enjoys a reputation unsui'passed in Western New York. 

Though his business pursuits leave little time at his disposal, 
Mr. Schreiber takes an intelligent interest in the civic welfare 
of the community and has rendered excellent service as Civil 
Service Commissioner. 

Staunchly American in his loyalty to his adopted country and 
in his assimilation of its customs and progressiven'ess, Mr. 
Schreiber has never ceased to take a living interest in the 
welfare and history of his native land, and he is a representa- 
tive figure in the movement to bring about unity among Polish- 
Americans and to perpetuate the traditions and sentiments of 
Polish nationality. That his efforts in this field are appreci- 
ated is convincingly shown by the fact that to him has been 
accorded the high honor of being chosen Censor, or Supreme 
Master, of the Polish National Alliance, an organization of over 
100,000 members. 

Mr. Schreiber is also a member of the Elks, the Eoyal 
Arcanum as well as various other societies. He devotes con- 
scientious thought and attention to the welfare of all organiza- 
tions with which he is identified, and in the prosperity of Buf- 
falo and the plans for the furtherance of his home citv's inter- 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 261 

ests, he takes such a part as becomes a loyal citizen and a 
prominent factor in the business world. 

Mr. Schreiber is married and has two daughters. 

A man of genial personality, Mr. Schreiber has the popular 
qualities which belong to a true man of the people. He has 
made his own way in life, and no one is better aware than he 
of the difficulties which are to be overcome before the goal of 
business success is attained. His modesty, courtesy and ster- 
ling qualities of mind and heart have won him many friends, and 
his career is an admirable illustration of what may be accom- 
plished by zeal, honesty and ability. 

NEWTON ERNEST TURGEON, Major of the Seventy-Fourth 
Regiment, is among the best-known of the younger business 
men of Buffalo, and has to his credit a long record of capable 
and frequently distinguished service in the National Guard of 
the State. 

Maj. Turgeon is of French and New England descent. His 
grandfather, Jean Francis Turgeon, came from France early in 
the nineteenth century, settling in the province of Quebec. He 
was a farmer by occupation. His son, Joseph Turgeon, the 
father of the subject of this sketch, was born in Quebec in 1839, 
and when thirteen years old came to Vermont, where he married 
Harriet Atwood Johnson, August 16, 1868. The Johnsons were 
one of the oldest families of Vermont. Members of the family 
served in the Revolutionary army. 

Newton Ernest Turgeon was born at Shrewsbury, Vermont, 
July 3, 1869. Young Turgeon was educated in the public 
schools of his native place. Black River Academy, at Ludlow, 
Vt., and Bryant & Stratton's Business College in Boston, Mass. 

He then entered the employ of the Pope Manufacturing 
Company of Boston January 1, 1889, by whom he was sent to 
Chicago, where he proved himself so efficient that for five years 
he was continued in that field, when he came to Buffalo to take 
charge of its business here for four years longer. He then 



262 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

resigned to represent the interests of tlie George N. Pierce 
Company, whose business he managed for two years, then 
severing the connection in order to engage in insurance. July 
1, 1899, he formed a copartnership with Augustus H. Knoll, 
under the firm style of Knoll & Turgeon, an association which 
still exists, the concern having the agency in the territory of 
Western New York for the accident and liability department of 
the Aetna Life Insurance Company. 

December 30, 1889, Maj. Turgeon joined Company F of the 
First Infantry, Illinois National Guard, as a private. He 
remained with Company F three years, during which time he 
attained the rank of Corporal and Acting Quartermaster Ser- 
geant. He then went into the regimental Signal Corps of the 
First Infantry, serving two years as Corporal. 

Coming to Buffalo he joined the Seventy-Fourth Regiment, 
N. G. N. Y., and on the 20th of December, 1896, was elected 
Second Lieutenant of Company H. A year later he was com- 
missioned, in 1897, First Lieutenant, and in 1898 Captain, 
serving until July 13, 1904, being in command of Company H 
for five years and a half. At that time Maj. Robert M. Harding, 
of the Second Battalion, resigned his commission, and Captain 
Turgeon was chosen Major to succeed him. 

When Governor Odell officially attended the opening of the 
World's Fair at St. Louis, Maj. Turgeon, then Captain of Com- 
pany H, was chosen to select a body of 103 picked men to form 
a part of the provisional regiment detailed from the National 
Guard of the State of New York to act as escort to the 
Governor on that occasion. Out of the many bodies of 
troops available, the same regiment was selected as escort for 
the President of the United States. 

Another notable military affair in which Maj. Turgeon partici- 
pated was the mobilization of the National and State forces at 
Manassas, Va., in September, 1904. On this occasion the Major 
accompanied the 74th Regiment, and during the ensuing maneu- 



MEMORIAL AXD FAMILY HISTORY. 263 

vers and other events of field service, was in personal command 
of his battalion. 

Maj. Turgeon has little leisure, but he nevertheless finds time 
to attend to social obligations and has a large circle of acquaint- 
ances. He attends the Lafayette Avenue Presbyterian Church. 

October 19, 1892, Maj. Turgeon married Gertrude M. Chap- 
man, a daughter of David and Hannah Whitcomb Chapman of 
Ludlow, Vermont. They have one child. Ford Wesley Turgeon, 
born September 5, 1900. 

GEORGE C. FOX, for fifteen years commanding officer of the 
74th Regiment, N. G. N. Y., and for more than a quarter of a 
century a member of the National Guard of the State of New 
York, has a military record which, measured by the standards 
of length of service, promotion and soldierlike efficiency of 
conduct, is excelled by that of no National Guardsman in the 
State. 

Gen. Fox was born in Buffalo June 18, 1860, being the son of 
Christopher G. Fox and Rhoda Potter. He attended Public 
School No. 1 of Buffalo, the private school of H. C. Williams, and 
Central High School. On leaving school he entered the employ 
of Isaac HoUoway, a paving contractor, as office assistant, con- 
tinuing until 1882, when he became connected with the office of 
Fox & HoUoway, a firm consisting of his father, Christopher G. 
Fox, and Charles W. HoUoway, and engaged in dealing in sand, 
gravel and builders' supplies. In 1889 he Avas admitted partner, 
and is still a member of the firm. 

In 1876, Mr. Fox joined the Tifft Zouaves. In 1878-79 he was 
a member of Company D, Buffalo City Guards, serving as a 
private and later as Corporal. In 1879 he was commissioned 
Second Lieutenant of Company D, 65th Regiment. Afterward 
he was transferred to Company I, and in 1881 was promoted to 
First Lieutenant of Company G. In May, 1882, he was com- 
missioned Captain of Company F, of the 74th Regiment, which 
company he commanded until December 9, 1889, when he was 



264 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

commissioned Major. In April, 1891, Col. U. S. Johnson, then 
in command of the Regiment, resigned, and on April 13, of that 
year, Maj. Fox was commissioned Colonel to take his place. 
Prom that time to the present, Gen. Fox has continued to be the 
commanding officer of the Regiment. Col. Fox was brevetted a 
Brigadier General by Governor Odell in December, 1904, the 
honor being conferred as a reward for twenty-five years' service 
in the National Guard. On the same occasion he received a 
solid gold medal awarded by the State for twenty-five years of 
continuous service. Since Gen. Fox has commanded the 74th, 
the Regiment has been greatly strengthened and improved. 
When he was elected Colonel, the Regiment consisted of seven 
companies with an aggregate strength of 370 men. Later the 
organization was increased to eight companies, with 451 men. 
In 1893 the Regiment was divided into two battalions and given 
an additional Major, Adjutant, Quartermaster, and Surgeon 
for each battalion, in 1906 another company was added, 
making nine companies and 670 officers and men, which is the 
present strength of the organization. As Colonel of the 74th 
Regiment, Gen. Fox saw active duty during the switchmen's 
strike of 1892, when the Regiment was called out for fifteen 
days to preserve order. In 1891, 1893, 1895 and 1897 the Regi- 
ment participated in the State Camj) held at Peekskill. In 
September, 1899, it took part in the New York City parade in 
honor of Admiral Dewey, also going on a tour of field service, 
and in 1902 it saw field service at Grand Island. It also partici- 
pated in the mobilization of the Regular Army and the National 
Guard at Manassas, Va., in 1904, and in 1905 visited Toronto 
as guest of the Queen's Own Regiment. The 74th is considered 
one of the finest regimental organizations in the State, and 
under Gen. Fox has received praise wherever it has appeared. 
In, 1894 an agitation was begun for the erection of a new 
armory, and in 1895 the State granted an appropriation of 
125,000 for the foundations of the building. In 1897 another 
appropriation of |375,000 was granted to complete the building. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 265 

On the 4tli of July, 1898, the corner stone of the armory was 
laid by the Grand Lodge of Masons of the State of New York, 
the edifice being finished in the fall of 1899. The first official 
occupation of the building took place January 15, 1900. The 
armory is a superb structure of brown sandstone, and is one of 
the handsomest military buildings in the State. The property 
is valued at |700,000. Gen. Fox was the originator of the plan 
to build the armory, and more than any other individual, he is 
entitled to credit for securing for the 74th Eegiment the splen- 
did edifice which is one of Buffalo's chief architectural adorn- 
ments. Gen. Fox served in 1894 as President of the National 
Guard Association, and ex-ofificio is now a member of that 
organization. 

Gen. Fox is a member of Queen City Lodge of Masons, of 
which he was Master in 1894 and 1895, and District Deputy 
Grand Master in 1900 and 1901. Since 1896 he has served as 
Secretary of Keystone Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, and he is 
a member of Keystone Council, Royal and Select Masters; of 
Hugh de Payens Commandery, Knights Templar, and of the 
Acacia Club, of which he has for two years acted as Secretary. 

November 18, 1891, Gen. Fox married Matilda Inman of 
Buffalo, daughter of Henry Inman and Mary Summerfield. 

OLE LYNN SNYDER is the senior member of the law firm 
of Snyder & Cook, but to the average Buffalonian Mr. 
Snyder is better known for the immense business undertakings 
in which he is a leading factor than in his capacity as an attor- 
ney. He is an able lawyer, a business man of remarkable grasp 
and breadth, and a brilliant orator. 

Mr. Snyder is descended from an ancient French family that 
left France with Bernadotte and settled in Sweden, eventually 
going to Norway, becoming identified with that country and 
ranking among the most prominent residents of the cities of 
Christiania and Bergen. The family name was LaMoe. James 
O. T^aMoe, the great-grandfather of the subject, was field mar- 



266 



MEMOEIAL AND FAMIT.Y HIvSTORY. 



shal on the staflf of Marshall Ney and served Avith Napoleon dur- 
ing his numerous campaigns. When Bernadotte became King- 
of Sweden, James O. LaMoe was appointed by Bernadotte 

Commander - in - Chief of 
the Swedish Army. The 
LaMoe family were mili- 
tary men, and to this 
career Jens LaMoe, father 
of Ole Lynn Snyder, was 
destined. Jens LaMoe 
was educated in the Mili- 
tary University of Nor- 
way, and upon graduation 
was appointed Orderly 
Sergeant and Despatch 
Officer to the King. In 
the War of 1848 between 
Denmark and Germany he 
served as First Lieuten- 
ant. Jens LaMoe was 
married in Norway to 
Sirene Bronken, daughter 
of Samuel Bronken, who 
served as Captain in the War of 1812-14 between Sweden and 
Norway, and was given a gold medal by the Government for 
bravery. 

When Ole Bull, the great violinist, came to America in 1852, 
Mr. LaMoe, the father of the subject of this sketch, his warm 
personal friend, accompanied him. Together they founded a 
Norwegian colony in Potter County, Pennsylvania, and the 
town of Oleona, in that county, was named after Ole Bull. 
When the Civil War broke out, Mr. LaMoe went to the front as 
Lieutenant in the 3d Wisconsin Regiment. He was also 
recruiting officer and Drill Major of the Regiment, and later 
commissioned Captain. He died from wounds received at the 
Battle of Gettysburg at forty-nine years. 




OLE L. SNYDER. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 267 

* 

Mr. LaMoe was married in Norway to Sirene Bronken. They 
had three sons, Peter J. LaMoe, a resident of Springiaeld, Minn., 
who served through the War of the Rebellion in a Minnesota 
Regiment; Seward J. LaMoe, who lives in Minnesota, and who 
served as Postmaster of Jackson, Minn., during Cleveland's 
first administration, and also as Sheriff of Jackson County in 
that Statte; and Ole L. Snyder. The latter's mother dying at 
his birth, the infant was adopted by Mr. and Mrs. Michael 
Snyder of Sweden, Potter County, Pa. He was a prominent 
farmer, and for their devotion and kindness, Mr. Snyder chose 
to retain the surname of his foster-father. 

Ole L. Snyder Avas born in Potter County, Pennsylvania, in 
1852. He graduated from the Pennsylvania Central Normal 
in 1878, and the Law Department of the University of Michi- 
gan in 1880. 

Mr. Snyder first practiced in Pennsylvania for six years, 
when he removed to Buffalo. Here he became a member of the 
firm of Snyder & Stoddard, an association which continued until 
the latter's death. Bot^i legal acquirements and executive 
ability have combined to identify Mr. Snyder with industrial 
enterprises carried on upon a large scale. No Buffalonian is 
better known in big financial circles throughout the country. 

One of the chief enterprises with which Mr. Snyder is con- 
nected is that of the Denver and Salt Lake Railway Tunnel 
Company, which is building a tunnel tlirough the Rocky Moun- 
tains at the base of Mount Kelso, cutting through the Conti- 
nental divide. The tunnel is to be four miles and a half long, 
and its completion means that the traveling distance between 
Denver and Salt Lake City will be shortened by 220 miles. Up 
to the present time the cost of the undertaking has been one 
million. To finish the task will cost two million and the expense 
oi equipping the tunnel for railway use will be two million 
more. The tunnel is cut through the solid rock. It is a labor 
collossal in conception and accomplishment and is destined to 
be one of the classical examples of American engineering. 



268 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Mr. Snyder is also deeply interested in coal and timber lands 
in Wyoming and Logan Counties, West Virginia. He is the 
founder of the Niagara Storage Company and of the Adirondack 
League Club. The admission fee to this celebrated club is 
|1,000. The League owns in fee 86,000 aci^es of land, and the 
properties it holds under lease amount to 25,000 acres more. 
It is said that the Club is the owner of the largest hunting and 
fishing preserves in the United States. Mr. Snyder owns a 
beautiful Swiss chalet situated upon the League's preserves 
on the shore of Hennedager Lake, in the wilderness. 

Always a Democrat, when Cleveland ran for President the 
first time, Mr. Snyder took the platform for him, speaking in 
New York, Pennsylvania and Ohio throughout the campaign. 
In the Bryan campaign of 1896, Mr. Snyder spoke under the 
auspices of the Democratic National Committee, for Mr. Bryan, 
in New York, Pennsylvania, South Dakota and Colorado. 

In the State campaign of 1897 he supported Van Wyck for 
Governor, and spoke throughout the State in his behalf. He 
later received the Democratic nomination for Congress to 
oppose Col. D. S. Alexander in the Western District of Erie 
County. In the ensuing contest Mr. Snyder made a splendid 
showing in this strongly Republican district. Upon the organi- 
zation of the Independence League in Erie County in 1906, Mr. 
Snyder was its first President. Mr. Snyder belongs to High- 
land Lodge of Masons, to Buffalo Consistory and Ismailia 
Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. He is also Past .High 
Priest of Arnold Chapter, No. 254, of Port Allegany, Pa., and 
has been a member of St. John Commandery, Knights Templar, 
of Olean, N. Y. He is a Mason of the 32d degree. 

In 1888 Mr. Snyder married Miss Ora L. Lillibridge of Port 
Allegany, Pa., daughter of Alvah N. Lillibridge, son of Lodwig 
Lillibridge, one of the first settlers of Port Allegany. Mrs. 
Snyder's mother was Leora S. Viner, a daughter of Isaac Viner, 
whose father served in the Revolutionary War. Mr. and Mrs. 
Snyder have one daughter, Olga Leora, who was born in Buffalo 
in 1897. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 269 

ALBERT JAY SIGMAN, a successful lawyer of Buffalo, is 
one of the best known attorneys in Erie County. For thorough- 
ness of preparation of cases and zeal for the interests of his 
clients, Mr. Sigman has no superior at the Buffalo bar. 

The Sigman family is of German origin. The first of the 
stock in America came from Baden, Germany, about 1840. The 
grandparents of Albert Jay Sigman settled at Tobyhanna, Sus- 
quehanna County, Pa. They were survived by three children, 
Martin, Elizabeth, and Catherine. 

Martin Sigman, the father of the subject of this sketch, was 
married to Hannah Elizabeth Beck in the year 1838, Mrs. Beck, 
being then a widow with one child by name Catherine, who was 
married to one William Pfleuger, on July 4th, 1858. There 
were born to Martin and Hannah Elizabeth Sigman, six chil- 
dren, to wit: Martin P. Sigman, who died at Little ^''alley, 
N. Y., on August 24, 1905, and Belinda M. Sigman, who died at 
Cattaraugus, N. Y., on August 20, 1880. The following children 
are still living: Andrew F. Sigman and John J. Sigman, who 
reside at Cattaraugus, N. Y., and Albert J. Sigman and Lewis 
W. Sigman, both of Buffalo, N. Y. 

The present grandchildi^en of the Sigman family are as 
follows, to wit: Irving ¥. Sigman, Euth M. Sigman, Cora B. 
Sigman, and Sylvia Sigman, children of said John H. Sigman, 
and Alberta H. Sigman, now the wife of Philip J. Griffiths of 
Buffalo, N. Y., and Carrie B. Sigman, now the wife of Arthur 
Lee White of San Antonio, Texas, being the children of the 
said Lewis W. Sigman. The only great-grandchild living is 
Catherine Sigman Griffiths, daughter of said Alberta H. 
Griffiths and Philip J. Griffiths. 

Martin Sigman resided the greater part of his life near the 
village of Cattaraugus, Cattaraugus County, New York, where 
he settled over sixty years ago. He was a stone mason by 
trade, but soon took up farming as a business, which occupation 
he followed until his death in 1872. During the construction 
of the Erie R. R. from Hornellsville to Dunkirk, the senior Mr. 



270 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Sigman had the contract for a portion of a section of such work. 

In politics, Martin Sigman was a Democrat, held a number 

of town offices, and was A\idely known in 'Cattaraugus County. 

Albert Jay Sigman was born in Cattaraugus, N. Y., August 
8, 1853. He attended the public schools in his native town 
and village, later completing a classical course at Chamberlain 
Institute, Randolph, N. Y. When seventeen years old he began 
teaching school in Cattaraugus County, teaching ten terms in 
all, ultimately becoming principal of an important school at 
Otto, N. Y. While engaged as a teacher he devoted his spare 
time to reading law. Entering the law offices of Col. E. A. Nash 
and the late Hiram Herrick of Cattaraugus County, he studied 
law for three years, and at Buffalo, in June, 1877, was admitted 
to the bar. January 1st, 1878, he came to Buffalo, where he has 
built up a large clientage and established an excellent reputa- 
tion, both as an office lawyer and as a pleader at the bar. At 
the close of a murder trial some years ago, wherein Mr. Sigman 
represented the defendant and saved the life of his client, Hon. 
Truman C. White, one of the Justices of the Supreme Court, 
remarked: " Mr. Sigman has defended his client with rare skill 
and care; he was persistent in his search for witnesses, and in 
fact, did his work most thoroughly, and I do not believe I ever 
witnessed a similar case where there was less display on the 
Ijart of the counsel for the prisoner and more real, hard work." 
Such an ex cathedra tribute is as rare as it is impressive, and 
might well satisfy the ambition of any lawyer. 

Formerly a Democrat, Mr. Sigman was a charter member of 
the Cleveland Democracy, and belonged to the Executive 
Committee of that organization. Eesigning from the Cleveland 
Democracy, he joined the Buffalo Republican League, and from 
that time cast his lot with the Republican party, and is a 
staunch protectionist. 

For many years Mr. Sigman has been prominent in Masonic 
circles. A member of Hiram Lodge, No. 105, F. & A. M., he is 
also twice Past Master. He is a member of Buffalo Chapter, 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 271 

No. 71, Eoyal Arch Masons, and is also a Mystic Shriner, and a 
Mason of the 32d degree. In Odd Fellowship Mr. Sigman is at 
the present time Grand Master of the State of New York, 
having previously served as Grand Warden and Deputy Grand 
Master. He is a Past Noble Grand of Red Jacket Lodge, No 
238, Independent Order of Odd Fellows; Past Chief Patriarch 
of International Encampment, No. 131; Past District Deputy 
of Erie District, No. 1, for two terms, and Past Priesident of the 
Erie County Memoi'ial Association, I. O. O. F., for three years. 
For three years he has been a Director of the Odd Fellows' 
Home Association at Lockport, N. Y., and is a Trustee of his 
lodge. In 1906 the Grand Lodge met in Buffalo out of compli- 
ment to Grand Master Sigman. 

In the Improved Order of Red Men, Mr. Sigman is Past 
Sachem of Erie Tribe No. 315. 

His opportunities for observation of men and conditions have 
been enlarged by extensive travel, both in this country and iu 
Europe. 

MAURICE C. SPRATT, of the firm of Hoyt & Spratt, is one 
of the ablest lawyers of the New York bar. Mr. Spratt has 
attained special distinction in the field of corporation law, being 
counsel for several of the most important railroad, telegraph 
and other corporations of the country. 

The public records of Somerset and Devonshire Counties, 
England, show that the Spratt family were active in political 
and ecclesiastical affairs as early as 1500. The branch from 
which Maurice C. Spratt descends was established in Southern 
Ireland, 1640, by the Rev. Devereux Spratt, who was a graduate 
of Magdalen College, Oxford University and a clergyman of the 
Church of England. In 1641 he was obliged to leave Ireland 
because of the Rebellion which broke out in that year, and on 
his return passage to England, while in the Irish Channel, thii 
ship that bore him was captured by an Algerine Corsair and 
he was taken to the City of Algiers and sold as a slave. During 



272 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

his captivity he ministered to the English prisoners at Algiers, 
and although ransomed at the end of one year, he preferred to 
remain in bondage and continued for two years his ministra- 
tions to the captives of his own nationality and faith. He was 
then appointed Chaplain of the Channel Squadron and after 
serving one year with the fleet he returned to Ireland, having 
received grants of land in Mitchellstown, County of Cork. 
Many of his descendants have served with conspicuous bravery 
both in the British Army and Navy, and have held and now 
hold high rank in both branches of the service. 

Maurice Charles Spratt was born April 4, 1865, at Rossie, 
St. Lawrence County, N. Y., his father being Patricli Spratt 
and his mother Margaret Vaughan Spratt. He was educated 
in the public schools of his native town, graduated from 
Ogdensburg Academy in 18S4: and from Georgetown University, 
D. C, in 1888, with the degree of Bachelor of Arts. He then 
became a student in the law office of his brother, Hon. Thomas 
Spratt, and Hon. Daniel Magone, in Ogdensburg, and in 1890 
was admitted to the bar. He remained with that firm till 1893, 
when he came to Buffalo, and entered the office of Messrs. 
McMillan, Gluck,. Pooley & Depew, a leading law firm at that 
time. Later Mr. Spratt was admitted a partner of the firm 
which became known as McMillan, Pooley, Depew & Spratt, 
later Pooley, Depew & Spratt, and afterwards Pooley & Spratt, 
an association which continued up to 1907, when Mr. Spratt 
became associated with W. B. Hoyt, in the present firm of 
Hoyt & Spratt. 

Messrs. Hoyt & Spratt are now counsel jn this territory 
for the New York Central Lines, including the Lake Shore, the 
New York Central, the New York, Chicago & St. Louis, the 
West Shore, the Michigan Central, the Rome, Watertown & 
Qgdensburg, the Terminal Railway and other Vanderbilt prop- 
erties. Among the firm's clients are also included the Western 
Union Telegraph Company, the Aetna Life Insurance Company, 
the Western Transit Company and the New York State Realty 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 273 

& Terminal Company, • with siicli extensive Buffalo concerns as 
the George N. Pierce Automobile Company, the Buffalo 
Dredging Company, the German Rock Asphalt Co., the M. H. 
Birge & Sons Company, and the Buffalo Sanitary Company. 

Mr. Spratt is, in the best sense of the phrase, an all-around 
lawyer. His experience is wide, his capacity for research 
marked, and his instincts practical. He is an eifective and suc- 
cessful court advocate, a safe and sound counselor, and strong 
in the presentation of arguments before appellate tribunals. 

Mr. Spratt is independent in politics. For several years he 
has been a prominent member of the Civil Service Reform Asso- 
ciation, and in 1906 was chosen a member of its Executive 
Committee. 

He is a member of the Buffalo Historical Society, the Buffalo, 
Saturn, University and Country Clubs and the Transportation 
Club of New York City. 

DR. -EARL GEORGE DANSER, Medical Examiner for Erie 
County, is a man who has won distinction both as a member of 
the medical profession and as a public official. 

Dr. Danser's ancestry is derived from New England. His 
grandfather, Nathaniel Danser, came thence to Western New 
York early in the last century, and was one of the pioneers of 
Erie County. 

George Danser, the father of Earl G. Danser, was born on 
his father's farm in the town of Clarence in 1824, and died in 
1871. He was a farmer; also owned one of the first threshing 
machines operated in Erie County. 

In 1850 George Danser married Esther Cummings, born 1835, 
a daughter of Simeon R. Cummings of Clarence. The surviving 
children are: Aletha (Mrs. Clark D. Bosworth) of Clarence; 
Anna D. (Mrs. Henry H. Hewitt) of Kenyon, Minn.; and Dr. 
Earl G. Danser. 

Earl George Danser was born at Mansfield's Corners in the 
town of Clarence, Erie County, N. Y., December 18, 1857. He 



274 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. ^ 

attended the public schools and the Parker Union School at 
Clarence, graduating in 1879. Prior to and after his graduation 
he taught school. Later he became a clerk in the Canal Collec- 
tor's office under Charles M. King, for one year. 

In the meantime Mr. Danger took up the study of medicine 
with Dr. Henry Lapp of Clarence. BLe later entered the College 
of Medicine of the University of Buffalo, from which he gradu- 
ated in 1884. He engaged in practice at Wilson, Niagara 
County, until 1885, when he removed to Elba in Genesee County. 
In 1887 he came to Buffalo. 

In 1901 Dr. Danser was elected Coroner of Erie Count}'. After 
he had served three mon-ths and a half, the State Legislature 
passed a bill abolishing the office and creating that of Medical 
Examiner, Dr. Danser being selected for the place. January 1, 
1906, he was again appointed by the Supervisors for the regular 
term of three years. 

Under the provisions of the law there was committed to Dr. 
Danser the organization of the office. The importance of the 
task can hardly be exaggerated when one takes into account 
the fact that so large a city as Buffalo comes under the Medical 
Examiner's jurisdiction, and when it is further considered how 
far-reaching are the relations of that official with questions of 
order, public safety and even of criminal jurisprudence. Dr. 
Danser set about his work with a scientific thoroughness 
worthy of all praise. The law of Massachusetts furnished some 
valuable precedents, and Dr. Danser proceeded to organize his 
own department on a similar basis, with the result that in econ- 
omy, precision of method, and completeness of the records 
preserved, his administration has far excelled anything 
accomplished under the old system. 

Under Dr. Danser's administration the exj)enses of the offiice 
of Medical Examiner are almost precisely one-half of the 
amount incurred under the law providing for Coroners. 

Dr. Danser is among the leading members of the Erie County 
Medical Society. He is prominent both in the Masonic frater- 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



275 



nity and in the ranks of Odd Fellowship. He is affiliated with 
Hiram Lodge of Masons, Buffalo Consistory, Adytum Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons, and Ismailia Temple, Nobles of the Mystic 
Shrine. He belongs to Bailey Lodge, No. 553, I. O. O. F., and 
Lake Erie Encampment, of which he is i'ast Chief Patriarch, 
being also Past District Deputy of District No. 4, and he is 
besides a member of Canton Perch of the uniformed rank of 
Odd Fellows, and attends the Presbyterian Church. 

On the 15th of August, 1894, Dr. Danser married Miss Rose 
Bleiler of Buffalo. 



Kingsley 
country 
settled 
County, 



SPENCER SILAS KINGSLEY is a representative citizen of 
Buffalo. The Kingsley family is of English origin. John 
came to this 
in 1624, and 
in Hampshire 
Mass. Silas 
Kingsley was descended 
from John Kingsley, a 
Baptist clergyman of 
note. His mother was a 
daughter of Dr. Samuel 
White, a descendant of 
Peregrine White, the first 
child born to the Pilgrims 
on this side of the ocean. 
Silas Kingsley was one 
of the pioneers of Buffalo 
and stood in the foremost 
rank of its. citizens. He 
was born May 21, 1800, in 
the town of Peru, Hamp- 
shire County, Mass. His 
early educational advantages were meagre, but were supple- 
mented by self -culture. He taught at Ballston Spa, N. Y., for six 




SPENCEB S. KINGSLEY. 



276 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

years, and in 182G came to Buffalo. The same year he went to 
Michigan, where he was engaged in the laying out of military 
roads and the organization of Washtenaw Countj'. In 1828 
Mr. Kingsley returned to Utica, N. Y., where he resumed 
teaching. In 1833 he again came to Buffalo, where he founded 
the first classical and military school ever organized in Buffalo. 
Eventually he resigned his prihcipalship to accept the offices 
of President and Treasurer of the proposed University of 
Western New York. For two terms he served as Superintend- 
ent of Schools, and was also commissioned by Secretary of 
State Spencer to investigate the public school system. He was 
for three terms Superintendent of the Poor of Erie County, 
and was sole commissioner for locating and building the County 
Almshouse and Insane Asylum. The Almshouse site which he 
selected is now the proposed site of the greater University of 
Buffalo, an outgrowth of the University of Western New York, 
of which Mr. Kingsley was first President. He was one of the 
commission to furnish the Erie County Penitentiary, and 
supervised the discipline of that institution. He was Presi- 
dent of the organization to prevent street begging, and with 
Millard Fillmore and Mrs. John C. Lord, he founded the Buffalo 
Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals, and was its 
first President. He was the first President of the Old Settlers' 
Festival Association, and was a ruling elder and one of the 
oldest members of the First Presbyterian Church. He was a 
trustee of the Buifalo Savings Bank, and was concerned in 
several other financial enterprises. He settled a number of 
estates, on many occasions acted as guardian for heirs and 
orphans, and was widely known for the capability and scrupul- 
ous integrity with which he acquitted himself of fiduciary 
responsibilities. 

In 1833 Mr. Kingsley married Julia Cozzens, daughter of Levi 
Cozzens of Utica, N. Y. Their children were: Spencer S.; 
Edward A., who died in 1881; Mary C, now Mrs. Edward W. 
Ordway, of Brooklyn, and George W., who died in 1890. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 277 

Silas Kingsley died in JBuffalo, April 5, 1886. He is remem- 
bered as a grand exemplar of Christian manliness and sterling 
citizenship. 

Spencer Silas Kingsley, son of Silas Kingsley, was born in 
Buffalo June 21, 1849. His education was obtained in the 
grammar schools of his native city, the Central High School, the 
Buffalo Academy, and the Heathcote private school. When 
sixteen years old he became a clerk in Titus' Tea and Spice 
Store in Buffalo. He attended school for three years more, 
then entering the store of C. E. Walbridge, where he remained 
ten years, and became manager of the wholesale department. 
He then engaged in the book business with Otto Ulbrich, in the 
firm of Ulbrich & Kingsley. In 1888 he engaged in his present 
real estate business. He is a trustee of the recently organized 
American Savings Bank. 

Mr. Kingsley is a member of the Chamber of Commerce, and 
formerly of the Merchants' Exchange. For three years he was 
Chairman of the Real Estate Committee of these organizations, 
and has also served on other committees. Of the Real Estate 
Association Mr. Kingsley is a leading spirit, and was one of 
the chief factors in the erection of the Mutual Life Building by 
the former Real Estate Exchange, of which he was President 
for three years. 

He has been a Director of the Y. M. C. A. for over twenty-five 
years, and for twenty years has served as Chairman of the 
House Committee. Since boyhood he has been connected with 
the First Presbyterian Church, and since 1888, has served as 
deacon and elder. 

June 20, 1876, Mr. Kingsley married A. Xiouisa McWilliams, 
daughter of John A. and Susan A. McWilliams of Elmira, N. Y., 
and sister of John J. and the late Joseph E. McWilliams of 
Buffalo, and of Daniel W. McAVilliams of Brooklyn. Mr. and 
Mrs. Kingsley have two children, Silas Eugene Kingsley, who 
is engaged in the real estate business in Pittsburg, and Louise 
Kingsley of Buffalo. 



278 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

HON. EDWARD K. EMERY, Justice of the Supreme Court, 
has won distinction at the bar, elevation to the bench and 
legislative honors. Of intellectual poise and judicial caliber, 
the moral and civic standards of Justice Emery are of the kind 
vi^hich commend themselves to the sterling elements of a com- 
munity. 

Justice Emery comes of excellent New England stock. John 
and Anthony Emery, sons of John and Agnes Emery of 
Romsey Hants, England, came to America in 1635, and settled 
in Nevs^bury, Massachusetts, the saaie year. Jonathan Emery, 
son of John Emery, Sr., was a soldier in King Phillip's War and 
participated in the great Narragansett battle fought on the 
19th of December, 1675, where he was wounded. He had a son, 
Edward Emery, who was killed by the Indians in 1719. He had 
a son, William, who had a son, Josiah Emery, who had a son, 
Josiah Emery, grandfather of Judge Emery, who was born July 
1st, 1784. He was a man of great enterprise and a representa- 
tive pioneer. In 1808 he was part owner of a store ana saw- 
mill at Barre, Vermont. In January, ISll, he moved his family 
and portable effects in a four-horse sleigh to Western New 
York, settling at Caledonia, and finally at Willink, South of 
Buffalo. In his new home Josiah Emery was a man of influence 
and was held in high estimation. When the War of 1812 broke 
out he entered the army, with the rank of Lieutenant. In the 
conflict on the Niagara Frontier he served gallantly, partici- 
pating in several engagements, including the Battle of Lundy's 
Lane. Later he became a Colonel in the State militia. His 
death took place August 14, 1873. Josiah Emery, son of 
Colonel Josiah Emery and Susannah Little Emery, and the 
father of Judge Edward K. Emery, was born at Aurora, N. Y., 
October 29th, 1819. He was a man of great intellectual power, 
filled an important position in public affairs, and while con- 
diicting the homestead farm at Aurora almost continually held 
County office and was frequently consulted in legal matters. 
July 11th, 1847, Mr. Emery married Miss Elizabeth C. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 279 

Kellogg, a daughter of Alexander and Mary (Ingersoll) 
Kellogg, formerly of Bethlehem, Connecticut. Mrs. Emery died 
December 12, 1884. The children of the union were: Ella 
Frances, Edward Kellogg, Josiah Albert, who became a promi- 
nent lawyer of Buffalo and was connected with the District 
Attorney's office; Mary Elizabeth, and Asher Bates, now a 
well-known legal practitioner of Buffalo. 

Edward Kellogg Emery was born in East Aurora, Erie 
County, N. Y., July 29th, 1851. The self culture which is a 
characteristic fact of Judge Emery's career, began while he 
was still in his boyhood, his education being chiefly due to his 
own efforts. He taught school winters and did farm work in 
summer time, thus acquiring enough means to begin a course 
of legal study. Coming to Buffalo, he read law, his preparatory 
work being marked by rare diligence and research. In 1877 he 
was admitted to the bar, immediately thereafter engaging in 
the practice of his profession in Buffalo. 

Judge Emery's early experience in the active labors of his 
profession was accompanied by struggles and self-denial. He 
soon became known as one of the hard-working and reliable 
young attorneys and steadily grew in the public confidence, 
building up a valuable practice. 

As time passed his position became fully confirmed, and in 
the later years of his active practice he was recognized as one 
of the ablest of Buffalo lawyers. 

Always a Republican, in the fall of 1886 he was elected 
Assemblyman to represent the old Fifth District of Erie 
County and reelected in 1887. 

On retiring from the Legislature, Mr. Emery resumed the 
active duties of his profession. 

He was elected County Judge in 1895 and reelected for a 
second term of six years in 1901. In 1907 he was elected an 
additional Supreme Court Judge from the Eighth Judicial Dis- 
trict, in which position he is serving at the present time. 
An able lawyer and jurist. Judge Emery is also prominent in 



280 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

social life. He is a Mason, a merober of the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows, and of the Royal Arcanum. 

October 7, 1886, Judge Emery married Miss Clara B. Darbee, 
a daughter of Jedediah and Mary A. Darbee of Aurora, N. Y. 
They have one child living, Mary Elizabeth, born July 31, 1888. 

CHARLES A. POOLEY is one of the foremost lawyers of the 
State and has for many years been known as the legal repre- 
sentative of large business interests and as a prominent citizen 
of Buffalo. 

Mr. Pooley is of English ancestry. His father, the late 
William Pooley, was born in Cornwall, England, and was a son 
of Richard Pooley, a considerable land holder in that part of 
the country. William Pooley as a young man came to America 
about 1845 and five years later settled in Buffalo. For a 
number of years he successfully carried on a lumber and planing 
mill industry here. Retiring from that business in 1876, until 
his death in 1902, he devoted himself to the care of his prop- 
erty. He was a man of strong traits of character and sterling- 
citizenship, and was held in high esteem in the community. 

William Pooley married Mary A. Menary, of Scotch-Irish 
parentage. Her family settled in Canada about 1845. The sur- 
viving children of the marriage are: Elizabeth J. (Mrs. Charles 
W. HoUoway), Charles A., and George C. Pooley, and Minnie M. 
(Mrs. George C. Finley), all of whom live in Buffalo. 

Charles A. Pooley was born in Buffalo November 17, 1854. 
He gained his elementary education at Public School No. 1; 
afterAvard attending Central High School, graduating in the 
class of 1873. On leaving school Mr. Pooley engaged in the 
lumber business, which he followed three years. This occupa- 
tion he found not wholly congenial to him and he began the 
study of law on the 1st of January, 1876. His studies were 
completed in the office of the late Senator A. P. Laning, and in 
April, 1879, he was admitted to the bar. He began practice 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 281 

with the firm of Laning, McMillan & Gluck, later becoming a 
member of the firm of McMillan, Gluck & Pooley. Subse- 
quently was formed the well-known law partnership of 
McMillan, Gluck, Pooley & Depew, which was one of the fore- 
most legal firms in the State and handled the business of some 
of our largest corporations. On the death of Mr. Gluck, the 
firm became McMillan, Pooley, Depew & Spratt, and when Mr. 
McMillan retired the association was continued as Pooley, 
Depew & Spratt, later Pooley & Spratt, which firm was dis- 
solved in February, 1907, and Mr. Pooley has continued his 
practice alone. 

Mr. Pooley has for many years been one of the prominent 
legal advisers of the New York Central lines, which he now 
represents in Genesee and Orleans Counties, as well as in 
special proceedings before the Public Service Commission, and 
in other matters in Western New York. It speaks well for the 
esteem in which Mr. Pooley is held by his fellow members of the 
bar that he has been prominently mentioned for judicial honors. 
When by the elevation of Judge Albert Haight to the Court of 
Appeals on the 1st of January, 1895, a vacancy occurred on the 
Supreme Court bench of the Eighth Judicial District, Mr. 
Pooley was strongly endorsed for the appointment, the petition 
to Governor Morton being signed by a great number of repre- 
sentative lawyers without regard to political affiliation. It 
would be hard to conceive a higher compliment to a member of 
the legal profession than to be so emphatically endorsed to 
succeed a jurist of the standing of Judge Haight. In the 
summer of 1895 Mr. Poolej^'s name was again prominently 
brought forward as that of a desirable candidate for the 
Republican nomination to the Supreme Court bench. 

Typically a lawyer, Mr. Pooley has always been closely 
devoted to his profession. He is a progressive citizen, taking a 
keen interest in the welfare and institutions of Buffalo, and 
keeping himself in line with civic advancement and the general 
interests of the community. He is a trustee of the Law 



282 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Library of the Eighth Judicial District and served for three 
years as a Director of the Buffalo Library. He has received 
high Masonic honors, being a Mason of the 32d degree, a mem- 
ber and Past Master of De Molay Lodge, No. 498, F. & A. M.,. 
and a member of Buffalo Chapter, E. A. M. He has also served, 
a term as District Deputy Grand Master of the State of 'New 
York for the 25th Masonic District. 

On the 4th of June, 1884, Mr. Pooley married Carrie Adams,, 
daughter of Hon. S. Cary Adams of Buffalo. Their children 
are: Harriet A., born in 1885, a student at Vassar College; 
Charles W., born in 1886, a student at Harvard University, and 
Margaret H. Pooley, born in 1895. 

NATHANIEL WILLIS KOKTON. The Norton family of 
Buffalo is of New England lineage. Nathaniel Norton, grand- 
father of Nathaniel W. Norton, was born in 1762 near Portland, 
Me., and was descended from the early Puritans of Plymouth 
Colony. He was a farmer, a soldier of the Eevolution, and 
fought at the Battle of Bunker Hill. He died in 1831. He 
married Hannah Sawyer. Their son, Ebenezer Norton, was born 
in 1814 at Limington, Me., and died in 1886. He was educated 
in the public schools and grew up to be a farmer and mechanic. 
When a young man he removed to Oxford County, Me., where 
he cleared a large farm and built a sawmill. He was a Repub- 
lican, an influential citizen, and a man of strict probity of life. 
He married Martha Sargent of Brownfield, Me., whose mother. 
Mothsheba Edwards, was descended from the famous minister, 
Jonathan Edwards. The surviving children of Ebenezer Norton 
are: Harriett Maria (Mrs. Freeman H. Chadbourne of Everett, 
Mass.); Hannah Abbie (Mrs. Charles B. Davis of Hiram, Me.); 
Nathaniel Willis Norton and Rosewell Messenger Norton of 
Bjiffalo; Richard Fremont Norton of Porter, Me.; Sarah Eiliza- 
beth Norton; Mary Alice (Mrs. Frederick W. Sargent of 
Everett, Mass.); Elmer Ellsworth Norton of Norwood, Mass.; 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 283 

Herbert Franz Jean Norton of Buffalo, and Florence Ethel 
Norton of Porter, Me. 

NATHANIEL WILLIS NORTON, a leading lawyer of 
Buffalo, is known not only as a legal practitioner, but for his 
identification with civic, educational and benevolent interests. 
He was born at Porter, Oxford County, Me., on the 3d of 
March, 1853. He attended district schools, worked on his 
father's farm, and as a young man taught school for five years. 
He was prepared for college in the Nichols Latin School at 
Lewiston, Me., and entered Bates College, where he spent his 
Freshman year. In 1875 he joined the Sophomore class of Dart- 
mouth College, and was graduated from the classical course in 
1878. Five years later he received from Dartmouth College 
the degree of Master of Arts. 

After leaving college, Mr. Norton became principal of the 
High School at Ware, Mass., and registered as a law student 
with Henry W. Davis of Ware. He graduated from the Law 
School of Union University in 1880, was immediately afterward 
admitted to the bar, and located in practice at Buffalo. In 
1885 Eosewell M. Norton, and in 1894 another brother, Herbert 
F. J. Norton, became associated with him, the present firm 
style being Norton Brothers. 

Mr. Norton is a Eepublican, and served in 1889 and 1890 as 
Assistant United States District Attorney under Col. D. S. 
Alexander. He also served four years as County Attorney, 
from 1902 to 1906. 

Mr. Norton is a life member of the Young Men's Association, 
has served as one of its trustees, and was President of its 
Executive Board for three years. He is one of the trustees of 
the Buffalo Library, and has been a life member and trustee 
of the Buffalo Orphan Asylum for more, than fifteen years. He 
is a member of the Chamber of Commerce, the Buffalo, Saturn, 
and University olubs, and the Delta Kappa Epsilon college 
fraternity, and is a life member of the Buffalo Historical 
Society. 



284 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

June 30, 1880, Mr. Norton married Mary Estella Miner, 
daughter of Dr. Julius P. Miner of BufPalo. Mrs. Norton died 
in 1889, leaving one child, Martha Miner Norton, who was born 
in 1882. June 17, 1903, Mr. Norton married his second wife, 
Mrs. Mary Louise Cilley, daughter of James P. Golding of 
Buffalo. 

JOHN TREFTS, whose lamented death occurred on the 5th 
of October, 1900, was for more than fifty years one of the fore- 
most men in the iron industry of Buffalo. > 

He was the son of George and Katharine (Frizel) Trefts, and 
was born in Alsace, then a province of Prance. He came to this 
country with his parents about 181 9, the family settling first in 
Pittsburg, Pa. Later the father placed his family and goods 
on one of the " prairie schooners " and began the long journey 
to a farm in Southern Ohio. But he died on the way, and his 
son, John Trefts, turned the team eastward, and drove back to 
Pittsburg. There he gained his first knowledge of the iron 
industry, where he learned the trade of a moulder. 

In 1845 Mr. Trefts came to Buffalo, where he became a fore- 
man in the Buffalo Steam Engine Works. He remained with 
this concern and its successors nearly twenty years, becoming 
a stockholder of the company and a leading factor in the 
business. After the panic of 1857 the firm was reorganized 
under the style of George W. Tifft, Sons & Co. 

In 1859 Mr. Trefts became interested in the oil business in 
Pennsylvania, both as an operator and a manufacturer of 
mechanical appliances for use in oil production. He made the 
castings for the engine used to pump the Drake well^ the first 
one sunk in the oil region, and in operating a well in which he 
was part owner he employed the first engine that ever drilled 
with a rope, as well as the first set of jars ever used in oil 
production. Mr. Trefts was successful in various ventures in 
the oil country, and had an important share in the pioneer oil 
development of Pennsylvania. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 285 

In 1864, with OMUion M. Farrar and Theodore C. Knight, Mr. 
Trefts established in Buffalo the firm of Farrar, Trefts & 
Knight. This was the beginning of the great iron industry of 
Farrar & Trefts, which name was assumed on the retirement 
of Mr. Knight from the concern in 1869. With this firm Mr. 
Trefts was identified up to his death. 

Mr. Trefts was married first to Catherine Potter in 1848. She 
was a daughter of Martin Potter of Gowanda, N. Y., and came 
of the well-known Parkinson family of New England, being a 
descendant of Capt. Parkinson, who served in the Revolution- 
ary War. Mrs. Trefts died in 1850 and Mr. Trefts married for 
his second wife Angeline Siver of Buffalo. George M. Trefts 
was the only child of the first marriage. A daughter, Evadne, 
now Mrs. Clarence E. Rood, was the child of the second imion. 

GEORGE MARTIN TREFTS, son of John Trefts, is one of 
Buffalo's leading business men and citizens. As a proprietor 
and acting head of the firm of Farrar & Trefts, he directs the 
business of a gigantic industry, and has won the reputation of 
being one of the ablest industrial executives in the country. 

Mr. Trefts was born at Collins Center, Erie County, N. Y., on 
September 8, 1850. His boyhood was spent in Buffalo, where 
he received a public school education. He gained his first 
practical experience in business selling papers. Later he 
entered the employ of Mixer & Smith, lumber merchants, on 
the docks. 

After the firm of Farrar & Trefts located on Perry street, 
George M^ Trefts entered the establishment. As a young man 
he mastered every branch of the business, both in its technical 
aspects and its broader bearings. He rapidly grew to be an 
important factor in the industry, and in course of time became 
general manager. Since the death of both the partners, Mr. 
Trefts has carried on the business, which is one of the largest of 
its kind in this section of the country. At the extensive plant 
of Farrar & Trefts are manufactured stationary engines and 



286 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



boilers, and the concern does a general foundry and machine 
works business. The hrm also owns the East Buffalo Iron 
Works, a plant covering seven acres. 

Mr. Trefts is a member 
of Hiram Lodge of 
Masons; Lake Erie Com- 
mandery. Knights Tem- 
plar; B u ff a 1 o Council, 
Eoyal and Select Masons, 
and Ismailia Temple, 
Nobles of the Mystic 
Shrine. He is socially 
prominent, and is a mem- 
ber of the Buffalo and 
Ellicott Clubs. 

Mr. Trefts was married 
to Miss Eva Imogene 
Jones, daughter of Miles 
Jones of Buffalo, and 
Elizabeth Koop. Mrs. 
Trefts died in 1900, leav- 
ing two children, George 
M. Trefts, Jr., and John 
C. Trefts. 




GEORGE M. TBEFTS. 



THOMAS STODDART, of the Arm of Stoddart Bros., pro- 
prietors of the largest drug and surgical instrument store in 
the United States, is one of Buffalo's leading business men,' and 
a public-spirited citizen. 

John Stoddart, grandfather of Thomas Stoddart, was born 
in Dumfriesshire, Scotland, and resided there all his life. His 
son, John Stoddart, was born in Dumfriesshire in 1816, and died 
in 1888. He occupied the Forgreth farm of the Dalswinton 
estate, remaining there nearly tM^enty-five years. He was a 
substantial and very prosperous man. In 1840 he married 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 287 

Elizabeth Waugh, daughter of William Waugh. They had 
«even children, all sons. Of these, live are living, all of vphom 
were born at the Forgreth farm. They are: Dr. A. C. Stod- 
■dart of San Francisco, Cal. ; Maxwell S. Stoddart of Thorndale, 
•Ont. ; Thomas and Charles Stoddart of Buffalo, and Dr. James 
-Stoddart. 

Subsequent to 1864 John Stoddart brought his family to 
America, settling at Thorndale, Ontario, where he purchased a 
farm, and lived till his death in 1888. Mrs. Stoddart, at the 
atge of ninety-eight years, is still living upon the homestead in 
Thorndale. John Stoddart was a true Scotsman, a man of 
•strong character and abundant determination. He was a 
Presbyterian of the " old doctrine," and. one of the leading 
Tnembers of the East Mssouri Presbyterian Church. 

Thomas Stoddart was born September 10, 1856, at the Forg- 
reth farm, Dumfriesshire, Scotland. He attended the Duncow 
school, until he left Scotland in 1864, when he was eight years 
■old. After the family settled in West Nissouri, Ont., young 
Stoddart attended public school until he was fourteen years of 
age, finishing his education at the College Institute at St. 
Mary's, Ontario, from which he graduated at seventeen. He 
then left Canada and came to Buffalo, finding employment as a 
clerk in a drug store. He exhibited a strong natural aptitude 
for the drug business, and in 1877, in partnership with his 
brother, Charles, established a general retail drug, surgical 
Instrument and hospital supplies store, which the brothers have 
•conducted to the present time. The firm maintains the largest 
■drug and surgical instrument store in the country, occupying 
a building four stories high and 200 feet long by 50 feet wide, 
with a clerical force of 65 employees. 

Mr. Stoddart is a member of the Erie Coimty. Pharmaceutical 
Association, of which he was one of the founders, also serving 
a year as President. During his administration, local phar- 
macy took an upward step by the formation of the Erie County 
Board of Pharmacv. Mr. Stoddart is a member of the New 



288 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

York state Pharmaceutical Association, and lias often acted 
as Chairman of the Executive Committee of that body. In 
1901 and 1902 he served as President of the Association. He 
is also a member of the American Pharmaceutical Association. 
Mr. Stoddart was First Vice-President of the Scottish Building 
Association, the first organization of its kind in Buffalo. He 
takes a keen interest in the people and the lore of his native 
land, and for a number of years was President of St. Andrew's 
Scottish Society, of which he is still a member. He also 
belongs to the Buffalo Historical Society, and the Buffalo and 
EUicott clubs. 

Mr. Stoddart is a life-long Republican. In the autumn of 
1901 he received the Republican nomination for Councilman 
and was elected by a handsome majority. He served for four 
years with credit to himself and benefit to the city. In 1905 
he was President of the Board of Councilmen, and during the 
absence of Mayor Knight, Mr. Stoddart served as Acting 
Mayor. 

On the 25th of April, 1881, Mr. Stoddart married Emma B. 
Peterson, daughter of John and Isabelle Carroll Peterson of 
Buffalo. Mr. and Mrs. Stoddart have two children, John 
Thomas, who is a student in Yale University, and Isabelle, who 
is studying at Holy Angels Academy, Buffalo. Mrs. Stoddart 
is socially prominent, and is very active in the leading charities 
of the city. 

LOUIS EUGENE DESBECKER, whose character and legal 
ability received so notable a popular tribute by his election to 
the oface of Corporation Counsel, is one of the very ablest of 
the rising men of the Buffalo bar, and in learning and other 
professional qualifications ranks with the foremost of his 
compeers of the legal fraternity. The high standing Mr. Des- 
becker has attained in his profession may be regarded as a 
logical result of native talent finding expression in arduous 
endeavor. Though still in the early prime of life, Mr. Desbecker 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 289 

is a man of ripe experience and a lawyer of unusual acquire- 
ments, scholastic as well as forensic. 

Mr. Desbecker is the son of Samuel and Marie (Weil) 
Desbecker, and was born in Buffalo on the 2d day of April, 
1871. He received a liberal education in the grammar schools 
of this city, the Central High School, and for a year from a 
private tutor. In 1889 he entered Harvard University, gradu- 
ating in 1892 with the degree of Bachelor of Arts. He then 
entered New York Law School in New York City, from which 
he graduated in 1894, with the degree of LL.B., within a month 
after graduation being admitted to the bar at New York City. 
Immediately returning to Buffalo, he entered the law ofBce of 
Marcy & Close, where he continued until December of the 
following year, when he associated himself with Mr. Simon 
Fleischmann and Mr. William E. Pooley. The association he 
continued for ten years, building up a large and lucrative prac- 
tice of a general nature. 

On the 1st of January, 1906, Mr. Desbecker formed a partner- 
ship with Messrs. Irving L. Fiske and James O. Moore, under 
the firm name of Desbecker, Fiske & Moore. 

Viewed from the professional standpoint, Mr. Desbecker is 
considered a sound, energetic, well-grounded, successful 
lawyer, who keeps close in touch, not only with the work of 
his profession, but with those things in the community of a 
general nature, in which a lawyer, as a good citizen, should be 
interested. 

A Democrat in politics, Mr. Desbecker has always taken an 
active interest in the welfare of his party, but was never a 
candidate for any office until 1903, when ten days before elec- 
tion he accepted the Democratic nomination for Councilman to 
fill a vacancy on the ticket. Out of thirty-four candidates, J. 
N. Adam for Councilman was the only Democratic elected, and 
Mr. Desbecker received the largest vote of any Democratic 
nominee save Mr. Adam. 

In the fall of 1905 Mr. Desbecker was unanimously nomi- 



290 MEMOEIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

nated by the Democratic City Convention for Corporation 
Counsel, and was elected by nearly 5,000 plurality, again 
running next to Mr. Adam, who was elected Mayor. On the 1st 
of January, 1906, Mr. Desbecker began serving his four-year 
term of office as Corporation Counsel, and during the brief time 
he has held the position has made an excellent record. 

Mr. Desbecker is ex-officio a. trustee of the Buffalo Public 
Library and of the Historical Society; is a member of Temple 
Beth-Zion, and is one of the original members of the University 
Club, of which he has served as Director and Secretary. He is 
also a member of the Buffalo Yacht Club, the Buffalo Club, and 
Park Club of Buffalo, and the Harvard Club of New York City. 
He is a Mason, being affiliated with the Ancient Landmarks 
Lodge of this city. 

FEEDERICK L. DANFORTH. When on September 5, 1897, 
there passed away that sterling citizen, Frederick L. Danforth, 
another of a famous coterie of Buffalo's luost capable men of 
the past was removed. Long identified as one of the leading 
financiers of the city, his entire life affords an example of 
dignified yet vigorous effort, crowned with success. 

Mr. Danforth was born June IT, 1833, in Middletown, Conn., 
being a son of Josiah and Almira Danforth. His educational 
training was limited to that of the common schools. In 1854, 
then a young man, he came to Buffalo, where he became a clerk 
in the employ of Pratt & Co., at that time the largest mercan- 
tile house in the city. His industry and fidelity so won the 
confidence of his employers that he was advanced by rapid 
promotion to more responsible positions until he was made 
cashier, and later managed the fiscal affairs of the concern for 
several years, and throughout the long period during which the 
business was under the active direction of Mr. Pascal S. Pratt. 
The operations of this house were of great magnitude and the 
responsibilities of Mr. Danforth's position were very important. 
He here laid the foundation for the subsequent high place he 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 291 

occupied in the confidence of leading business men and citizens 
as a careful and painstaking official. On the dissolution of the 
firm of Pratt & Co., in 1879, Mr. Danforth was elected cashier 
and director of the Bank of Attica, continuing in that relation 
up to February 5, 1895, when he was elected to the Presidency 
of the bank. This position he occupied with distinguished 
ability as a financier and with credit and honor to himself and 
the institution up to his death. As head of the Bank of Attica, 
Mr. Danforth gained a wide reputation as one of the most 
cautious, clear-headed and sagacious bankers of Buffalo. 
Devoted to the interests of the bank, he brought to the 
administration of its affairs great business ability, mature 
experience and keen foresight. Among other important offices 
of honor and trust held by Mr. Danforth was that of President 
of the Buffalo Creek Railroad Company, and President of the 
Union Terminal Railroad Company. He also held large vessel 
interests in association with James Ash, and as principal 
owner of the Hand & Johnson tug line. 

A man of deep religious sentiment, Mr. Danforth was a mem- 
ber of the IsTorth Presbyterian Church, which he served for 
many years as elder and President of the Board of Trustees. 
One of the predominant attributes of his fine nature was his 
great devotion to the Church and its institutions. In his rela- 
tions to his church as in every attitude of his beneficent life, 
he was sincere, faithful and generous. His home life was 
singularly attractive. He knew what the joys of a' Christian 
home were, and to swell the sum of domestic happiness brought 
his own affluent contributions of piety, culture, fidelity and 
love. Of broad sympathy and generous impulses, his charities 
were many and widely bestowed, though so quietly that few 
ever knew of the great benevolences of this good man's heart 
save those who were the recipients of his bounty. 

On September 15, 1859, Mr. Danforth married Grace Long 
Francis, a daughter of the late Daniel Francis, a former Buffalo 
citizen, and to them were born the following children: Fred- 



292 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

erick W., Frank L., William E., and Grace L., all of whom 
survive. 

Mrs. Danforth has recently placed in the new North Presby- 
terian Church a handsome window as a memorial to her late 
husband. 

JOHN DAVID ROWLAND, M.D., Deputy Medical Examiner 
for Erie County, is a well-known physician and surgeon of 
Buffalo, and a recognized authority on military surgery. Dr. 
Howland holds the rank of Major in the 65th Eegiment, 
National Guard of the State of New York, and was in active 
service in Cuba during the Spanish-American War. He is a 
leading member of the United Spanish War Veterans, and is 
identified with other organizations, lay and medical. 

John Howland, the first of the American branch of the How- 
land family, came over in the Mayflower. His brother, Henry, 
was a freeman of Plymouth Colony in 1633, and was one of the 
earliest inhabitants of Duxbury, Mass. At the time of the 
Quaker controversy in 1658, Henry Howland and his brother, 
Arthur, were converts to the new faith, and suffered much from 
Puritan persecutions. 

Henry Howland's son, Zoeth, was the father of Nathaniel, 
whose son, James, was the father of Thomas Howland, who 
was born in 1718 and died in 1798. He was the father of John 
W. Howland, whose son, John W., Jr., was the father of George 
William Howland, father of the subject of this sketch. George 
William Howland was born at Westport, Mass., February 9, 
1817, and died October 27, 1901. He was a building contractor, 
and carried on business at New Bedford and Fall River, Mass. 
September 4, 1842, he married Lydia A. James, who was born 
March 24, 1825, and died in 1866. They have had twelve chil- 
dren. 

Dr. John David Howland was born in New Bedford, Mass., 
June 12, 1865. W^hen he was a year old his mother died, and 
he came to Buffalo to be reared by his sister, Mrs. John H. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 293 

Wilkins. He attended the public schools, and pursued a course 
in the Central High School. In 1889 he entered the Medical 
Department of the Niagara University of Buffalo, graduating 
with the degree of M.D., in 1891. After his graduation, Dr. 
Howland entered the United States Marine Hospital service 
in Buffalo, continuing in this connection till January 1, 1898. 
January 1, 1902, he was appointed physician at the Erie County 
Penitentiary, serving until April of that year, when he was 
appointed Deputy Medical Examiner for Erie County, which 
place he has filled with signal capability. In December, 1905, 
he was reappointed for a term of three years. In politics Dr. 
Howland is a Eepublican. 

In 1884 Dr. Howland became a member of the old Cadet 
Corps of the 65th Eegiment, and was later advanced through 
the intermediate grades to the rank of Captain. March 20, 
1889, he was commissioned Second Lieutenant of Company D, 
of the 65th Eegiment. He became First Lieutenant November 
27, 1889, receiving the commission of Captain December 28, 
1892. On November 10, 1902, he attained the rank of Major, 
and the command of the Second Battalion, which office he still 
holds. When the Spanish -American War broke out. Major 
Howland was commissioned Major of the 65th Eegiment U. S. 
Volunteer Infantry, and served with the regiment until it 
returned home. He then became Eegimental Adjutant of the 
202d Eegiment, N. Y. V. I., and served in camp and field in 
Cuba six months, until the command was mustered out at 
Savannah, Ga., in April, 1899. Maj. Ho.wland was for ten years 
President of the Delinquency Court in the State military 
service, and was also the Summary Court Officer in the 
Volunteer United States Service. He is the possessor of a 
fifteen-year medal awarded for " long and faithful service," 
and as a marksman is qualified as " distinguished expert," the 
highest grade of proficiency attainable. Ever since the organi- 
zation of the United Spanish War Veterans, Major Howland 
has been a prominent member of that body, having served as 



294 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY., 

Chaplain, Commander of Seyburn Camp, Surgeon-General of 
the national organization, and senior Vice-Commander-in- 
Chief. 

Dr. Howland is a member of the Erie County Medical Society, 
the Academy of Medicine, the Knights of Pythias, and the 
Heptasophs. He attends the Episcopal Church. 

In 1895, Dr. Howland married Susan Hibeck, daughter of 
Zachariah Hibeck, and Eleaza Steele of Erie, Pa. They have 
one son, Howard H. Howland, born November 21, 1896. 

PHILIP G. SCHAEFER, President of the Lake View 
Brewing Company, is one of the foremost brewers of the State 
and a highly esteemed citizen of Buffalo. Mr. Schaefer is of- 
German extraction, his father, Alois Schaefer, having been 
born in Wurtemburg in 1836. Coming to America as a young 
man, he learned the brewing business, and in 1868 established 
the Schaefer Brewery in Buffalo. The business founded by Alois 
Schaefer was successfully conducted by him till 1885, the year 
of the incorporation of the present company, when lie retired 
from the active management. Alois Schaefer married Mary 
R. Whitman, a daughter of Josey)h Whitman of Buffalo. Their 
children were: Philip G., Mary G, Clara C. (Mrs. Frederick A. 
Heron), and Madelaine, the latter now deceased. 

Philip G. Schaefer was born in Buffalo May 29, 1862. After 
attending the parochial schools he entered Canisius College, 
from which he graduated in 1876, later taking a course at 
Bryant & Stratton's Business College. He first entered busi- 
ness as bookkeeper and collector for the Schaefer Brewery, 
continuing till 1885, when the Lake View Brewing Company 
was incorporated, with Mr. Schaefer as General Manager. The 
company succeeded to the business of the old Schaefer Brewery 
and was conducted with marked success and a great increase 
of patronage. Philip G. Schaefer remained general manager 
and acting executive head of the concern till April 1, 1906, when 
he became President of the Company, which position he now 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 295 

holds. In the different places of trust and responsibility which 
he has filled, Mr. Schaefer has proved himself a large-minded 
and capable business man. The industry of which he is now the 
head is rapidly nearing its half-century anniversary. The out- 
put of the Lake View Brewing Company is estimated at 40,000 
barrels per year. Mr. Schaefer has a thorough practical knowl- 
edge of the details of the business, and he has also a compre- 
hensive understanding of it in its relation to the general trade. 
His management has been signalized by conscientious methods, 
by progressiveness in the matter of equipment and machinery, 
and by insistence that the manufactured product be of the 
best and purest quality attainable by science. 

Mr. Schaefer belongs to the Brewers Association, and is one 
of the trustees of that body. He is also a member of the C. B. L. 
andtheC. M. B. A. 

November 3, 1885, Mr. Schaefer married Hattie C. Eitt of 
Buffalo, daughter of M. Leo Ritt (a former well-known insurance 
man and at one time Lieut. -Colonel of the 65th Regiment) and 
of Mary R. Germann. Mr. and Mrs. Schaefer have one daughter, 
Emma P. Schaefer, born September 3, 1886. 

THOMAS WILLIAM WILSON, General Manager of the 
International Railway Company, is one of the leading transpor- 
tation men of the country, has a high reputation and a record 
of great achievement as an engineer in the field of railway 
construction, and has also won distinction as a military engi- 
neer. 

Mr. Wilson was born in New York City in May, 1872. He is 
a son of David and Frances H. (Crichtou) Wilson, the former a 
well-known merchant of New York City. H:e graduated from 
the Harrisburg High School at Harrisburg, Pa., in 1890, and 
from Lehigh University in 1894, with the degree of C.E. 

While pursuing his university course, Mr. Wilson employed 
the vacations of 1892 and 1893 by working in the drafting room 
of the Pennsylvania Steel Company at Steelton, Pa. He also 



296 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTOKY. 

acted as draftsman for the same company from June, 1894, to 
December, 1896, when he entered the service of the Charleston 
City Railway Company of Charleston, S. C, as Assistant Engi- 
neer of Way, in which capacity he continued till February, 1897, 
when he became Chief Engineer of surveys. He was later con- 
nected with the Street Railway Department of the Pennsylvania 
Steel Company as Computer of special work and Engineer of 
Surveys. 

When the Spanish-American War broke out, Mr. Wilson 
joined the army, in May, 1898, enlisting as a private in the 8th 
Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry. He was soon detailed as 
Assistant to Major Pierce, Chief Engineer of the 1st Division, 
Second Army Corps, and was later appointed Chief Topogra- 
pher of the Second Army Corps. He was mustered out of serv- 
ice in December, 1898. 

After the war, Mr. Wilson resumed his connection with the 
Pennsylvania Steel Company. He remained till May, 1899, when 
he came to Buffalo as Assistant Engineer of Way for the 
Buffalo Railway Company, continuing until February 10, 1902. 
During the summer of 1899 Mr. Wilson handled about one 
thousand men and relaid in concrete more than twenty-nine 
miles of track. When the Buffalo Railway Company was 
merged in the International Railway Company, Mr. Wilson was 
appointed Chief Engineer of the latter corporation, assuming 
the duties of that offtce February 10, 1902. When, March 1, 
1905, Mr. Henry J. Pierce assumed the presidency of the Inter- 
national Railway Company, he appointed Mr. Wilson General 
Manager, his present office. 

Mr. Wilson is First Vice-President of the New York State 
Street Railway Association; is a member of the American 
Society of Civil Engineers, of the Engineering Society of 
Western New York, and of the American Railway Engineering 
and Maintenance of Way Association. He belongs to the 
Buffalo Chamber of Commerce, and to the Buffalo, Ellicott and 
University clubs. He is also a member of the honorary society 




^-I^ji^ ^r^^-^-X^^tiil 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 297 

of the Tau Beta Pi, and of the general fraternity of Beta 
Theta Pi. 

September 19, 1905, Mr. Wilson married Anna Beatrice Levi, 
daughter of Emanuel Levi of Biiffalo. 

WILLIAM JAMBS CONNBRS, Chairman of^the Democratic 
State Committee and proprietor of the Buffalo Courier, the 
Buffalo Sunday Courier and the Buffalo Enquirer, is one of the 
country's most remarkable examples of the self-made man. He 
is a captain of industry, a capitalist and financier, the ovrner of 
three great newspapers, a leader in Democratic politics, and a 
representative citizen. Yet Mr. Conners is comparatively a 
young man, still in the vigor and prime of life, and the results 
above summarized have been achieved in a relatively short 
space of time and solely by his own efforts. 

Mr. Conners was born in Buffalo January 3, 1857. Until he 
was thirteen years old he attended the local public schools. He 
then began work as a porter on a lake steamer, and for several 
years sailed on boats running between Buffalo and. Duluth. 
Though without capital of his own, his ability and energy 
enabled him to obtain means to engage in business in Buffalo, 
and he prospered from the outset. In 1885 he entered into a 
contract with Washington BuUard whereby Mr. Conners agreed 
to handle all the Buffalo freight of the Union Steamboat Com- 
pany. He effected a revolution in the freight handling methods 
at the port of Buffalo, introducing a system which brought order 
out of confusion, and the superiority of his methods was so 
manifest that the managers of other lake lines and carriers 
hastened to make contracts with him. He acquired the virtual 
control of the lake freight business at Buffalo and other ports, 
having contracts for the loading and unloading of cargoes at 
Buffalo, Chicago, Milwaukee and Gladstone, Mich., of all ves- 
sels belonging to the Union Steamboat, Western Transit, Lacka- 
wanna, Lehigh Valley, Union Transit, " Soo," and Northern 
Steamship transportation companies. Mr. Conners is the 



298 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

largest contractor in the world in this business, employs 3,000 
men in the contract branch alone of his enterprises, and his 
payroll is one of the heaviest in Buifalo. In 1889 he was elected 
President of the Vulcanite Asphalt Paving Company and 
carried on the business with great success for a number of 
years. In 1890 he invested heavily in the property of the Roos 
(later the Iroquois) Brewery, and conducted the plant for about 
a year. In 1895 he purchased a lai'ge interest in the Magnus 
Beck Brewing Company, of which he was chosen President, and 
his administrative ability increased the output of the brewery 
one-third. Meantime he acquired a quarter interest in the 
Union Transit Company, operating a line of steamers between 
Buffalo and Duluth. He is a Director or stockholder in several 
banks. He is also a large owner of real estate, and has taken a 
leading part in the purchase and development of South Buffalo 
property. In recent years Mr. Conners has become prominently 
identified with suburban electric railway interests. 

On the 23d of December, 1895, Mr.. Conners bought a control- 
ling interest in the Buffalo Enquirer, and his powerful initiative 
was quickly shown by a threefold inci?ease of the circulation of 
that paper, of which he presently became the sole proprietor. 
In September, 1896, he established a magnificent modern news- 
paper plant with independent light and power engines, linotype 
machines, equipment for photo-engraving, and a superb Hoe 
sextuple press. A year afterward he founded the Record, the 
first one cent morning newspaper ever established in Buffalo. 
Its success was decisive, and in 1897 he bought the Morning 
Courier, which he reorganized, merging it with the Record under 
the name of the Courier-Record. Shortly afterward the paper 
became the Buffalo Courier, its name at the present time. 
Besides the Courier and the Enquirer Mr. Conners publishes 
the Sunday Courier, a splendid example of the modern illus- 
trated newspaper. Both through his newspapers and by per- 
sonal infiueuce and leadership, Mr. Conners is a power in the 
Democracy of Western New York, and a representative figure 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 299 

in the Democratic politics of th.e State. In the gubernatorial 
campaign of 1906, one of the most notable in the history of New 
York State, Mr. Oonners, because of his political ability and 
experience, was elected to direct the Democratic forces as 
Chairman of the State Committee. He established headquar- 
ters at the Victoria Hotel, New York City, and worked night 
and day. The result of his work is well known. Although the 
candidate for Governor was defeated by forces beyond the reach 
of the Chairman, the entire balance of the ticket was elected by 
a splendid majority. 

Mr. Conners' absorbing business pursuits permit him little 
time for diversions, but he is fond of yachting, and in the 
summer of 1896 launched the yacht " Enquirer," one of the 
finest steam yachts ever built. 

Mr. Conners has been married twice. His first wife was 
Catherine Mahany of Buffalo, whom he wedded in November, 
1881, and who died, leaving a son, Peter Newell Conners, since 
deceased. On the 2d of August, 1898, Mr. Conners married his 
second wife, Mary A. Jordan of West Seneca, N. Y. Their chil- 
dren are: Mary M., Katharine A., Alice J., William J., Jr., and 
Euth L. Conners. 

A life of brilliant promise, sadly cut short ere its fruition, 
was that of Peter Newell Conners, eldest son of William J. 
Conners. Young Mr. Conners was eighteen years old at the 
time of his death. He was a youth of fine abilities and rare 
personality, widely known in Buffalo and beloved by all who 
knew him. When assailed by the illness which removed him 
from the world, Peter N. Conners was a student at the Michigan 
Military Academy, Orchard Lake, Mich., where he died Novem- 
ber 20, 1906. He was then in his third year at the Military 
Academy, and would soon have graduated from that institution. 
He was of high standing in his classes, was regarded with 
affectionate esteem, by his teachers and fellow-students, and 
held in the Academy corps the rank of First Lieutenant and 
Signal Officer. A youth of high aims and serious ambitions, it 



300 MEMOKIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

was the intention of Mr. Conners' son to take a course in college 
and then become associated with his father in the newspaper 
business. The death of Peter Newell Conners in the dawn of 
his rich promise of usefulness was one of those myterious dis- 
pensations of Providence to which man can only bow, trusting 
in the Divine Wisdom. 

GEORGE JACOB HAFFA, Superintendent of the Erie 
County Penitentiary, Lieutenant-Colonel of the 65th Regiment, 
N. G. N. Y., and a member of the firm of J. G. Haffa's Sons, is a 
leading citizen of Buffalo and a man well-known in business, 
civic and military affairs. Col. Haffa is of German descent, 
being derived from a family which lived for many ygars in the 
Kingdom of Wurtemburg. 

John George Haffa, father of the subject of this sketch, was 
the son of Elias and Catherine Haller Haffa, and was born in 
Wurtemburg, Germany, in 1828. In the Revolution of 1848 he 
espoused the Republican side, and was obliged to leave the old 
country and seek his fortunes in the United States. On 
reaching America he came to Buffalo, where he worked as a 
journeyman tailor until 1859, when he became cutter for Bogart 
& Doolittle. In 1865 he entered the employ of William H. 
Stuart, and in 1868 was admitted partner. In 1870 he estab- 
lished a tailoring business, which he successfully conducted 
until his death in 1886. He was for many years a member of St. 
John's Lutheran Church. In 1853 Mr. Haffa married Maria 
Elizabeth Biller of Buffalo, who died in 1891. Their children 
are: Barbara K., George Jacob, John George, Elias and Fred- 
erick C. Haffa, all of whom reside in Buffalo. 

George Jacob Haffa was born in Buffalo, February 23, 1858. 
He attended the common schools. High School and Bryant & 
Stratton's Business College. W^hen fourteen years old he 
entered his father's tailoring establishment, and in 1884 was 
admitted partner. On the death of their father, George J. 
Haffa, and his brother, Elias, formed a copartnership as J. G. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. " 301 

Haffa's Sons, which firm continues and is one of the best-known 
and most prosperous in Buffalo, being among the oldest tailor- 
ing concerns of that city. 

Col. Haffa's connection with military affairs began in 1873, 
when he joined the Buffalo City Guard Cadets, being promoted 
Second Lieutenant in 1876. The following year he was com- 
missioned First Lieutenant and served till 1884, when he was 
made Captain. In 1887 he was commissioned Captain in the 
6th Regiment, N. G. N. Y., and placed in command of Company 
A. In 1896 he was promoted Major, and became commanding 
officer of the 2d Battalion. At the outbreak of the Spanish- 
American War, Maj. Haffa volunteered for active service. 
Greatly to his disappointment he was not accepted on account 
of defective eyesight, but he served for th^ee weeks at Camp 
Black. June 13, 1898, Maj. Haffa was commissioned Colonel of 
the 165th Regiment, N. G. N. Y., and assisted in raising a 
volunteer regiment. At the close of the war. Col. Haffa 
resigned his commission as Colonel, and resumed his rank of 
Major in the 65th Regiment. May 18, 1900, he was promoted 
Lieutenant-Colonel, which office he still holds. During the rail- 
road strikes of 1877 Col. Haffa was engaged in active service as 
First Lieutenant in the Buffalo City Guard Cadets. In the 
railroad strike riots of 1892 he served with the 65th Regiment 
as Captain. He has also accompanied his regiment at State 
camps and field service, and on all other occasions when the 
regiment has been engaged in active duty. 

Col. Haffa has always been a Republican, and in 1903 was 
elected Alderman from the 21st Ward of Buffalo, being 
reelected by an increased majority in 1905. He has been a 
faithful and intelligent official, and has served on many 
important committees. In 1907 Major Haffa was elected 
superintendent of the Erie County Penitentiary, a position in 
which he is serving with characteristic ability and fidelity at 
the present time. 

Col. Haffa was a member of Citizen Hook and Ladder Com- 



302 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

pany No. 2, Volunteer Fire Department of Buffalo, from Au- 
gust, 1877, until the department was disbanded in 1880. He is 
■ now a member of the Exempt Fireman's Association, and for 
several years has served as Secretary of both organizations. He 
is a member of Washington Lodge, No. 240, F. & A. M.; Key- 
stone Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; Hugh de Payens Comman- 
dery. Knights Templar, and a charter member of Ismailia 
Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, He is a member of the 
Acacia Club, a life member of the Young Men's Association, and 
a member of the Buffalo and Park clubs, of the Army and Navy 
Club of New York City. Since 1878 he has been a member of 
the North Presbyterian Church. 

January 29, 1880, Col. Haffa married. Hattie Jeanette Gering, 
daughter of George J. and Rebecca Elliott Gering of Buffalo. 
Mrs. Haffa died November 23, 1893. 

SIMON SEIBERT, former Senator and Assemblyman, mem- 
ber of the Buffalo Board of Fire Commissioners, and General 
Manager of the Magnus Beck Brewing Company, is a leading 
Republican, a prominent figure in business and a representative 
public man. The parents of Mr. Seibert came from Germany 
to this country in 1853, and settled in Buffalo, where the elder 
Seibert was for forty-five years one of the foremost German- 
Americans. Simon Seibert was born in Buffalo September 12, 
1857. After attending the public schools and Bryant & 
Stratton's Business College, he entered his father's coal office 
as clerk. Later he opened a men's furnishings store at East 
Buffalo and prosperously carried on the business till 1889, 
when he retired to accept the appointment' as United States 
Ganger at Buffalo, a position which he held until 1893, The 
following year he became connected with the Magnus Beck 
Brewing Company as a traveling salesman and solicitor. He 
exhibited marked capability and soon rose to be General 
Manager, an office which he has ever since retained. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 303 

Always an earnest Republican, Mr. Seibert has for many 
years been prominent in his party and is one of its pillars of 
strength on the Buffalo East Side. For sixteen years he has 
served as Republican Committeeman of the 8th Ward, and for 
a quarter of a century has represented his district in every 
important convention, having been a delegate to every Repub- 
lican State Convention since 1888. In 1893 he was nominated 
for Member of Assembly, and though the normal Democratic 
majority in his district was estimated at 600, Mr. Seibert won 
by a majority of 1,356 votes. In the fall of 1894 he was renomi- 
nated and elected by a still greater majority. At the end of 
his second term he was nominated by acclamation for State 
Senator from the 48th Senatorial District, and was elected by a 
majority of 2,206. Though under the new ballot law he lost 
nearly 1,000 votes, he ran ahead of the record of Grover Cleve- 
land, who in 1892 had carried the same district by a majority of 
2,000. In the Assembly and the Senate Mr. Seibert served on 
many important committees and took an active part in the 
general work of legislation. Throughout his legislative career 
he was always mindful of the interests of Buffalo, furthering 
her welfare in every legitimate way. In 1896 he was chosen 
alternate delegate to the Republican National Convention at 
St. Louis, and in 1900 was delegate to the National Convention 
at Philadelphia. In 1904 he was again honored by his party, 
which made him a Presidential Elector. 

In 1903 Mr. Seibert was appointed by Mayor Knight a mem- 
ber of the Buffalo Board of Fire Commissioners for a term of 
six years. The duties of this office he has performed with signal 
ability, being concerned in many measures for the wellbeing 
of the Fire Department and the protection of the city from 
conflagration. In 1904 he was oJected President of the Board. 

Socially as well as politically, Mr. Seibert is widely, popular. 
He is a 32d degree Mason, a member of Concordia Lodge, a 
Noble of the Mystic Shrine, and a member of the Acacia Club. 
He is a member of Mystic Star Lodge, Independent Order of 



304 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Odd Fellows, Millard Fillmore Lodge, Knights of Pythias, and 
Buffalo Lodge, No. 23, Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks. He is also prominently identified with various social 
bodies, among which may be mentioned the Silver King Fishing 
Club and the Orpheus Singing Society. 

PLINY BARTON McNAUGHTON, Vice-President of the 
German Rock Asphalt & Cement Company, the Buffalo 
Expanded Metal Company and the Continental Engineering 
Company, and General Manager of the Buffalo Dredging Com- 
pany, is one of Buffalo's foremost men in the general con- 
tracting business. 

Mr. McNaughton comes of a family which lived for many gene- 
rations in or near Campbelltown, Scotland, where his father, 
Daniel McNaughton, was born in 1824. In 1834 he emigrated to 
America, where he first went to Detroit, but shortly afterward 
came to Buffalo. There he Avas apprenticed to the ship-smith's 
trade, in the old Vulcan Foundry, afterward forming a part- 
nership with Charles DeJaney in the general forging business. 
In 1855 Mr. McNaughton engaged in business for himself, his 
foundry being located in Prime street, near Evans, where, with 
other forging he made a specialty of iron work for sailing 
vessels. In 1865 he removed his establishment to Lloyd street, 
where he continued in business until his death, which occurred 
January 8, 1902, at Battle Creek, Mich. Daniel McNaughton 
was a very successful business man and accumulated a fortune. 
He was esteemed for his ability and respected for his upright 
life. He was a member of the Unitarian Church. In 1854 he 
married Pemela E., daughter of Pliny F. Barton, who owned the 
Vulcan Foundry, then one of the largest machine shops in 
Buffalo. Their surviving children are: Pliny B. McNaughton of 
Buffalo, and Harriett (Mrs. Joseph H. Defrees) of Chicago. 

Pliny Barton McNaughton was born in Buffalo August 17, 
1855. He attended public and private schools in his native city. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



305 



where he was prepared for college. In 1870 he entered the 
University of Notre Dame, Ind., where he remained three years 
and pursued a liberal arts course. 

On leaving college, Mr. McNaughton entered his father's 
establishment, where he continued three years, and then went 
to work for his uncle, William I. Williams, a prominent contract- 
or and builder. In 1881 Mr. McNaughton went into business on 

his own account, and for 

three years successfully 

engaged in general con- 
tracting. In 1884 he 

formed, with Frank L. 

Bapst, a partnership for 

the purpose of doing gen- 
eral contract work, under 

the style of McNaughton 

& Bapst. This firm was 

largely engaged in laying 

stone pavement and in 

street railroad construc- 
tion, and also did a great 

amount of underground 

work. In 1892 Charles E. 

Williams was admitted 

to the firm which became 

Williams, McNaughton & 

Bapst, an association 

identified with many of the principal engineering and 
general contract enterprises in Buffalo and vicinity. Mr. 
McNaughton is General Manager of the Buffalo Dredging 
Company, an important concern which does much submarine 
work for the Government and State. He is Vice-President of 
the German Rock Asphalt & Cement Company, one of the 
leading asphalt paving companies of Buffalo. He is one of the 




FLINT B. M NAtTGHTON. 



306 MBMOEIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

principal officials of the Buffalo Expanded Metal Company, 
and of the Continental Engineering Company, and a stock- 
holder in the Buffalo Sanitary Company, all of which concerns 
do a large amount of public work. 

Mr. McNaughton is a 32d degree Mason, and is affiliated with 
Ancient Landmarks Lodge and Ismailia Temple. He also 
belongs to tlie Elks, and is a member of the Buffalo and 
Ellicott clubs, and the Fine Arts Academy. He is an exempt 
fireman, having served -nith old Liberty Hose, No. 1. 

In 1893 Mr. McNaughton married Mrs. E^ances (Dambach) 
Iffer, a daughter of John Dambach of Buffalo. Mr. and Mrs. 
McNaughton have one child, Harriet Ruth, who was born 
December 18,. 1894. 

EEUBEN JOSEPH GETZ. The Getz family came from 
Holland to America about 1670, settling in Pennsylvania. 
Joseph Getz, grandfather, migrated to Erie County in 1818. 
He was a miller and lumberman, and a prominent man in the 
early days of the county. His son, Jacob Getz, father of the 
subject of this sketch, after whom Getzville in the town of 
Amherst is named, Avas, like his father, a miller and lumber- 
man. He removed to Buffalo in 1S61. Jacob Getz, though he 
never held public office, took an active interest in the politics 
of his time. He was one of the original members of the Repub- 
lican party, a strong Union man and an ardent supporter of 
Abraham Lincoln. His death occurred in 1880. He married 
Sarah Hoover, who died in 1896. He left three children: 
Reuben J. Getz, Charlotte (Mrs. Wm. E. Porter) of Detroit, 
Mich., and Hattie E. (Mrs. Everett E. Buchanan) of Elmira, 
New York. 

Reuben Joseph Getz Avas born in the town of Amherst, Erie 
County, N. Y., July 13, 1853. Dis elementary education was 
obtained in the public schools of Buffalo, where he graduated 
from grammar school No. 19. He then attended Dr. Reed's 
Walnut Hill school at Geneva, N. Y., later entering Clinton 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



307 



Liberal Institute at Clinton, N. Y., from which he graduated in 
June, 1871-. 

Among the solid business men of Buffalo, a prominent place 
belongs to Eeuben J. Getz. Mr. Getz has, at different times, 
been connected with many kinds of enterprises, including manu- 
facturing, mercantile, the building and contracting industry, 
and the real estate business. Ou the organization of the Lake 
Erie Dredging Company in 1902, Mr. Getz became its Secretary 
and Treasurer, which office he still holds. This company is one 
of the foremost enter- 
prises of its kind in West- 
ern New York, represent- 
ing a strong consolidation 
of capital, and in the per- 
sonnel of its management 
comprising some of the 
best business talent of 
Buffalo. 

Mr. Getz is one of 
Buffalo's leading Republi- 
cans, and though never a 
candidate for office, has 
been for many years a 
potent influence in his 
party, having represented 
the 20th, now the 24th 
Ward, in the Republican 
General Committee from 
1898 to 1901, inclusively, 
and having served as Treasurer of the Buffalo Republican 
League during 1895-96 and '97. 

He is a well-known fraternity man, is connected with various 
representative organizations, and is held in esteem as a pro- 
gressive citizen, thoroughly identified with Buffalo and her 
interests, and actively concerned with aims and movements 




EEUBEN J. GETZ. 



308 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

tending to the general advancement of the community. Mr. 
Getz is an active member of the Masonic order, being affiliated 
with the Ancient Landmarks Lodge, F. & A. M., and with the 
Buffalo Consistory of Scottish Rite Masons. Through his con- 
nection with the latter body, he is a Mason of the 32d degree^ 
He is also an Odd Fellow and an Elk. He is a member of the 
Chamber of Commerce, the Historical Society and the Society 
for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals. He belongs to the 
Buffalo, Ellicott, Press and Park Clubs, and is a member of the 
North Presbyterian Chui'ch. 

June 21, 1882, Mr. Getz married Cora E. Williams, daughter 
of William I. Williams of Buffalo. The only child of the union 
was a daughter, Geraldine, who died at the age of eighteen 
months. '*■ 

NORMAN E. MACK, editor and proprietor of The Buffalo 
Times, and Democratic National Committeeman, is equally 
well-known as a newspaper man and in public life. The success 
Mr. Mack has won is the logical result of ability.' The news- 
paper enterprise of which he is the head was built up by him 
from the foundations. He is so thoroughly identified with The 
Times that a history of that paper is in a sense a history of his 
career. Yet he is a man of wide activities. Prominent in the 
State and National Democracy, he is one of the trusted leaders 
of his party. He is a progressive citizen of Buffalo, aiding its 
institutions and furthering its development. As an editor Mr. 
Mack represents popular principles. His paper has always 
been a powerful champion of reform movements and sound 
municipal government. Mr. Mack is independent in his views 
and has the courage of his convictions. His editorial opinions 
carry weight and are widely quoted. F'rank in his dealings with 
the people, he has been conspicuously rewarded by the public 
trust. His Americanism is of sterling metal. Mr. Mack's per- 
sonal traits correspond with his career. He is direct of speech, 




/:J^V^^^t-t-<.<^2-*t X . .r^^'^^Zt^^ 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 309 

quick of perception and strong in execution. His position is a 
representative one, and he has won his way to it by energy, 
resourcefulness and the practical qualities which mark the able 
man of affairs. Mr. Mack was born on the 24th of July, 1858. 
The beginning of his career in Buffalo, however, dates from 
1879. 

On the 7th of September of that year he issued the 
first number of The Sunday Times. The business was 
located at a small ' office at No. 202 Main street, and was 
the modest beginning of a great and successful enterprise. 
Two years afterwards the headquarters were removed to 
No. 50. Seneca street. Here was set up the first press. 
The next year, during Mr. Mack's absence at New Orleans, 
a fire occurred in the building, necessitating the removal 
of the plant to No. 271 Washington street. In May, 
1883, Mr. Mack bought the mercantile printing concern at No. 
191 Main street. Mr. Mack now resolved to embark in an under- 
taking attended with far greater responsibilities than any he 
had yet attempted. On the 13th of September, 1883, he pub- 
lished the first issue of The Daily Times. From the outset the 
paper made its way. That it was established was due to its 
proprietor's belief that tliere existed a fair field and a public 
demand for such a newspaper, and the event justified his judg- 
ment. The paper was clean, spirited and newsy, and its inde- 
pendence, liberality and manly straightforwardness took a 
strong hold on the popular mind. The Daily Times rapidly 
increased in circulation and advertising. 

In March, 1906, The Times' plant was destroyed by fire. The 
disaster was a severe one, and the manner in which it was 
retrieved is one of Buffalo's most striking instances of indus- 
trial resource and enterprise. The destruction of the plant did 
not interrupt even for a day the publication of the paper. 
Before the ashes had ceased smoking the place of the conflagra- 
tion became a scene of bustling activity, and like magic The 
Times establishment rose from its ruins. New presses and 



310 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

linotype machines were procured and they are now installed 
in a handsome modern building complete in all its mechanical 
appliances, with admirably appointed editorial rooms and a 
palatial business office. Mr. Mack not only rebuilt his plant 
but greatly extended his operations. 

The Times is the people's paper. It is Democratic in policy 
and principles, a steadfast supporter of the candidates of the 
Democracy and an insistent advocate of party unity. It is a 
friend of individual enterprise and a champion of fair play and 
the rights of the citizen. It is active in the furtherance of the 
welfare of Buffalo, believes in honesty in municipal affairs and 
the application of business common sense to administrative 
methods and holds that public office is a public trust. Many 
substantial improvements, many rectifications of wrongs are 
due to the fearless efforts of this progressive paper. It has 
brought about the use of free textbooks in the public schools of 
Buffalo, the enjoyment of free music in the parks, the erection 
of markets, and the privileges of shorter hours and better pay 
for our policemen. It has led successful crusades against over- 
head wires, overcrowding in public schools, and grade crossings. 
One of its recent enterprises was the rescue of the Buffalo 
parks and trees from the menace of the tussock moth, which 
threatened to ruin the natural adornments of our city. As a 
newsgetter The Times is unexcelled, and its swift and accurate 
investigations have, in not a few instances, brought criminials 
to justice and removed the stigma from defenseless innocence. 
When the 13th Regiment went to the Spanish-American War, 
Mr. Mack supplied the soldiers daily with copies of his paper, 
and continued to do so when the regiment was sent to the 
Philippines, the period of field service being more than three 
years. In 1903 the regiment, in token of its appreciation pre- 
sented Mr. Mack with a superb loving cup. The Times has won 
many municipal and i)olitical victories, notable among which 
are its defeat of the Board of Police Commissioners, in 1891, 
in the attempt to superannuate Superintendent Morin, the 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 311 

securing of a just count which resulted in the election of 
Andrew Beasley, Democratic candidate for Assessor, and the 
local campaign of 1897 in which The Times alone of all the 
English papers of the city espoused the cause of the Democratic 
party which proved successful, and was largely the means of 
electing Dr. Conrad Diehl for Mayor. 

Personally as well as in his capacity of journalist, Mr. Mack 
has always been active in politics. In 1884 he was a strong 
supporter of Grover Cleveland. He has many times been a 
delegate to Democratic local and State conventions, was dele- 
gate to the Democratic National Convention of 1892, and 
served that year as New York member of the Notification Com- 
mittee. In 1896 he was a delegate to the Democratic National 
Convention. He vigorously supported Mr. Bryan. For two 
terms he represented, his Congressional district on the Demo- 
cratic State Committee, declining a third term. In 1900, and 
again in 1901 he was chosen National Committeeman, a position 
which he has ever since continued to fill, and wherein he has 
won eminent credit as a party adviser and leader. He has for 
a number of years been regarded as the most prominent Demo- 
crat in Western New York and is today a figure of national 
importance in his party. 

Mr. Mack is identified with a number of representative insti- 
tutions and societies. Ho has served as a member of the Board 
of Park Commissioners and served for years on the executive 
committee of the State Associated Press. He is a member of 
the Buffalo, Ellicott, Country and Press clubs, the Orpheus 
and Liedertafel societies and other organizations, and is promi- 
nent in social life. 

On the 22d of December, 1891, Mr. Mack married Miss 
Harriet B. Taggart of Buffalo. Mr. and Mrs. Mack have two 
daughters. Norma Emily and Harriet Taggart Mack. 

EEV. SAMSON PALK, D.D. Of this late eminent divine, it 
may fitly be said that his life was one which radiated the light 



312 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

of learning and breathed the spirit of beneficence, brotherhood 
and peace. Dr. Falli was born for his vocation. Endowed with 
superior abilities, he might have won success in many secular 
pursuits. Dr. Falk deeply felt the obligations of his sacred 
calling. Gifted with wide scholarship, brilliant eloquence, 
intellectual acumen and practical capability, all these acquire- 
ments and characteristics contributed their share to the com- 
pleteness and consistency of his career. He was a citizen as 
well as a pastor. His friendships included many men of many 
creeds. 

Samson Falk was born in Hochburg in the Kingdom of 
Wuertemburg, Germany, February 7, 1827. He received his 
lay education at the State University of Wuertemburg, and 
afterward studied for the Jewish ministry. 

Kabbi Falk came to America in 1853. Soon after his arrival 
he was chosen to minister to a large congregation in Albany, 
N. Y., his pastorate continuing till 1862. In that year he 
removed to Milwaukee, Wisconsin, where he resided until 1865, 
when he came to Buffalo as pastor of Temple Beth Zion, the 
Reformed Jewish Synagogue of this city. 

The relation of Dr. Falk with Temple Beth Zion forms a 
notable part of local ecclesiastical history. He enjoyed the 
esteem and friendship of local clergymen without regard to 
denomination. On several occasions he exchanged pulpits or 
held union services with a fellow-clergyman of the Unitarian 
Church. 

Dr. Falk joined in all movements for the welfare of his 
fellow-men of whatever race, and his eloquent voice was often 
heard in this behalf upon the public platform. He was actively 
identified with various charities and other institutions, being 
the founder of the Hebrew Orphan Asylum of Western New 
Y'ork, located at Rochester, filling the post of Examiner in the 
Hebrew Union College of Cincinnati, and holding the position 
of Director of the Buffalo Historical Societv. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



313 



EUGENE LAWEENCE FALK is one of the most accom- 
plished and successful members of the Buffalo bar. His rise in 
his profession may deservedly be called brilliant. He commands 
the confidence of the community, stands high in the estimation 
of his brethren of the bar, and' enjoys a large practice. He has 
an enviable reputation for success in the conduct of difficult 
cases. He is eminent alike in the civil and criminal depart- 
ments of the law. 

Mr. Palk is a son of the Kev. Samson Falk, the noted divine, 
and was born in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, November 3, 1866. His 
early education was obtained in the grammar schools and 
Central High School of Buffalo, the University of New York 
and Columbia University Law School, from which he was gradu- 
ated in 1887 with the degree of LL.B. The same year he was 

• 

admitted to the bar, and returning to Buffalo he began the 
practice of his profession in partnership with Charles S. Hatchj 
under the firm style of Hatch & Falk. In 1888 Mr. Falk began 
the practice of the law by himself and he has remained alone 
ever since. He was counsel for the defendant in the famous 
case of Howard Henham, accused of the murder of his wife, 
and who, after his conviction had been confirmed by the Court 
of Appeals, obtained a new trial and was eventually acquitted. 
This forensic contest was one of remarkable character, 
abounding in exciting contingencies and dramatic events, and 
the case ranks among the " causes celebres " of the criminal 
jurisprudence of New York State. 

Mr. Falk is a member of the State and the Erie County Bar 
associations, and the Lawyers' Club. He has taken all the 
Scottish Eite degrees of Masonry up to and including the 32d 
degree, and is a member of Ancient Landmarks Lodge and 
Ismailia Temple, Nobles of the Mj^stic Shrine. He is a member 
of the Board of Management of Temple Beth Zion. He belongs 
to the Ellicott and Apollo clubs, and is a member of private 
clubs. 



314 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



April 11, 1893, Mr. Talk was united in marriage to Miss 
Harriet Pauline Wolf, (laughter of Nathan Wolf and Carrie 
(Eothschild) Wolf of Buffalo. 



Maurice BYRON patch, superintendent of the Buffalo 

Smelting Works, is one of 
the foremost metallur- 
gists of the country and 
also holds a high rank as 
an industrial executive. 
Mr. Patch is by profession 
a mining engineer, but his 
activities have covered 
too wide a range to be 
adequately characterized 
by reference to a single 
pursuit. He has made 
applied science a life 
study, is an expert chem- 
ist, mine surveyor and 
practical operator in min- 
ing and smelting, and is 
particularly well-known 
in the department of 
copper metallurgy, to 
which he has devoted years of special research. He is a 
typical representative of science in the modern and American 
acceptation of the word — namely, science which proceeds 
directly from theory to practice and which finds its province in 
the development of the natural resources of the country and in 
the creation of industries. 

* Maurice B. Patch comes from one of the old and distinguished 
families of New England, being descended from the Patches of 
Salem and Beverly, Mass., the earliest homes of the family, 
who were pioneers of those places, where they were located as 




MAUBICE B. PATCH. 



MEMOKIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 315 

early as 1700. Benjamiu Patch, born 1673, was a descendant 
of the Patches of Salem and Beverly. His son, Jonathan Patch, 
of Concord, served as a Minute Man in the Kevolutionary War 
and was the first settler at Otisfield, Me. Jonathan's son, 
Tarbell, grandfather of Maurice B. Patch of Buffalo, was bOrn 
at Otisfield in 1791 and was a farmer. He married Eliza Shedd, 
a descendant of an old family of Braintree, Mass., by whom he 
had six children. His son, Benjamin, father of the subject of 
this sketch, was born at Otisfield, Me., in 1821, resided in 
Lowell, Mass., and fifteen years ago came to Buffalo, where he 
now resides. He married Harriet Elizabeth Knight, a de- 
scendant of John Knight who came over in the ship "James" in 
1635 and settled in Newbury, Mass. Mark Knight, one of his 
descendants, served in the War of the Eevolution, and Samuel 
Knight, maternal grandfather of Maurice B. Patch, was a 
soldier in the War of 1832. Col. Nathaniel Jordan, one of Mr. 
Patch's ancestors in the direct line, was a Lieutenant-Colonel 
in the Eevolution. The family was distinguished for its piety 
and uprightness of living. 

Mr. Patch was born at Otisfield, Me., June 8, 1852. After 
receiving the elementary part of his education in the public 
schools of Lowell, Mass., he entered the Massachusetts Insti- 
tute of Technology, where he pursued a course in mining and 
engineering, being graduated in 1872 with the degree of 
Bachelor of Sciences. The same year he went to Georgetown, 
Col., where he began the practice of his profession as a mining 
engineer, being engaged there two years in the survey of 
mining properties and in kindred work. He then removed to 
Houghton, Mich., where he became the chemist of the Detroit & 
Lake Superior Copper Smelting Company. This position 
offered Mr. Patch peculiar advantages for making an exhaus- 
tive study of copper metallurgy, a line of research which had 
always been congenial to him. During this period he also won 
a wide reputation as a mine surveyor and chemist, as well as in 
other branches of his profession, with the result that he was 



316 MEMOEIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

presently offered by the Calumet & Hecla Mining Company the 
position of designer and superintendent of its proposed new 
smelting plant at Lake Linden, Mich. He accordingly removed 
to Lake Linden, where he remained for five years, carrying out 
his contracts with the company and occupying himself in gen- 
eral professional work. His successful services for the Calumet 
& Hecla Mining Company led that corporation to offer him the 
place of Superintendent of its works in Buffalo, where he came 
in January, 1891, and he has ever since been the executive head 
of the Buffalo Smelting Works, which were organized under his 
supervision. The enterprise with which Mr. Patch has now 
been for so many years identified, is one of Buffalo's most 
important industries. Its plant is located on the Niagara Elver 
at the foot of Austin street, and is one of the most thoroughly 
equipped of its kind in the world. The copper ore used in the 
works at Buffalo is shipped at Lake Linden on Lake Superior in 
an especially chartered fleet of steamers, and on its arrival at 
Buffalo is unloaded by ingeniously devised machinery at the 
company's docks. The copper produced is shipped to all parts 
of the world. The plant has a capacity of 6,500,000 pounds of 
copper a month. Electricity is largely employed in the manu- 
facturing processes, which require nine furnaces and the labor 
of 250 men. Sound business management and scientific methods 
are apparent in every detail of the industry. 

As a scientist, Mr. Patch has done much original work and 
has made several valuable discovei'ies. For market conditions 
he has the eye of a practical industrialist, and thoiigh Lake 
Superior ore constitutes the raw material which is worked up 
in his plant, he is a keen observer of copper-ore developments in 
the Far West, in Mexico, Central and South America, Australia 
and South Africa. He is interested in sereral mining com- 
panies, and in addition to his mining operations, he has on 
different occasions shown himself a financier of sound ability. 
While in Michigan he assisted in the organization of the First 
National Bank, at Lake Linden, and the Superior Savings Banlf, 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 317 

4 

at Hancock, and was a Director in both institutions so long as 
he continued to reside in the State. 

Mr. Patch is a member of the American Institute of Mining 
Engineers. He is a citizen of marked public spirit, and from 
the time of his arrival in Buffalo has taken an active interest 
in movements for the general welfare of the city. In 1907 he 
was appointed a member of the Grade Crossing Commission. 

July 6, 1875, Mr. Patch married Emily Isabella White, a 
daughter of EoUin White of Lowell, Mass., noted as an inventor 
of firearms, including the celebrated Smith & Wesson revolver. 
The White family were prominent residents of Vermont, and 
furnished many soldiers and officers in the Revolutionary War. 
Mrs. Patch is a descendant of the famous Peregrine White of 
Puritan times. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Patch are as 
follows: Emily H., wife of William Henry Barr, general man- 
ager of the Lumen Bearing Company; Nathaniel Knight Bailey, 
manager of a branch plant of the Lumen Bearing Company at 
Toronto, Canada; Ethel A., wife of Dr. Walter G. Phippen, a 
practicing physician at Salem, Mass., and Maurice B., Jr., and 
Howard R., who are students at Hobart College. 

HON. HENRY HAMILTON PERSONS, former Senator, 
President of the State Water Supply Commission, banker and 
head of extensive business interests, has united important per- 
sonal activities with a distinguished public career. 

Mr. Persons comes of a family well-known in Western New 
York. Many representatives of the Persons name settled in 
Sheldon, Wyoming County, in 1806, and Uriah Persons came 
to Sheldon as early as 1790. He was the father of Robert G. 
Persons, who moved to Aurora, Erie County, about 1815. 
Robert G. Persons was a farmer all his life. He was a promi- 
nent man in Erie County and took an active interest in Demo- 
cratic politics. He married Alta Hamilton. Their children 
were Harry H., Henry Z., Lucy T. (Mrs. Horace Prentice), 
Robert G., and Byron D. Persons. Robert G. Persons died on 
the 31st of August, 1864. 



318 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

HENRY ZIBA PERSONS was born in East Aurora, Erie 
County, N. Y., November 5, 1819. He was educated in the gram- 
mar schools of his native town, and at the Aurora Academy. 
He began his business career at Machias, Cattaraugus County. 
Later he returned to East Aurora, where in 1845 he opened a 
general store. Mr. Persons continued to be engaged in mercan- 
tile pursuits until 1887. In 1882 the Bank of East Aurora was 
organized. Mr. Persons served for a number of years as its 
Vice-President, being later elected President, in whicJi 
capacity he continued till his death. He was an ardent Repub- 
lican and a strong supporter of the Union during the Civil War. 
In 1861 he was appointed Postmaster by Abraham Lincoln, and 
continued to hold that ofQce throughout Lincoln's administra- 
tion and for more than twenty years thereafter. He was sev- 
eral times elected Supervisor, and Loan Commissioner. 

He was a liberal contributor to the Presbyterian and other 
churches, and gave largely to charitable causes. In 1849 Mr. 
Persons married Mary White, daughter of David P. and Betsy 
(Piatt) White of East Hamburg. The children of the union, 
Henry Hamilton Persons and Helen Persons were twins. The 
daughter died in infancy. Mrs. Persons, who was born May 20, 
1822, still lives in East Aurora. Henry Z. Persons died in 
February, 1901. 

Henry Hamilton Persons was born in East Aurora December 
16, 1851. He attended grammar schools and Aurora Academy, 
and studied a year at Cornell University. When twenty-two 
years old, Mr. Persons entered his father's store, and later 
received a half interest in the establishment. He devoted him- 
self to mercantile business till 1882, when he became cashier 
of the Bank of East Aurora, in 1887 he sold his store and there- 
after gave his attention to banking. In 1901 he was elected 
President of the bank to succeed his father, and has since con- 
tinued to hold that office. In 1898 Mr. Persons was elected 
Vice-President of the Buffahi Commercial Bank, and later was 
chosen President, which position he retained until the bank was 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 319 

sold to the Marine National BSink in 1903. Of the latter bank 
Mr. Persons becauae Vice-President, serving till 1904. 

Mr. Persons was among the organizers of the Frontier Tele- 
phone Companv, was chosen its Vice-President in 1903, and was 
later elected President, w^hich office he held until the Consoli- 
dated Telephone interests purchased the stock of the Frontier 
Company in 1905. He is now Vice-President and a Director of 
the Frontier Telephone Company. Mr. Persons is President of 
the Hayes Litliograph Company, and the J. W. Ruger Manufac- 
turing Company of Buif alo, and is a Director of the Union Fire 
Insurance Company. Mr. Persons has always been active in 
Republican politics: After serving as Village Trustee of East 
Aurora, he was elected Supervisor, and held that office from 
1884 to 1894. He served in the State Senate during 1894 and 
1895, was Chairman of the Committee on Canals, and had an 
important part in procuring the |9,000,000 canal appropriation. 
He was also a member of the Committees on Villages and Banks 
as well as of the special committee to investigate the murder of 
Ross by " Bat " Shea in the Troy election riots. 

In June, 1905, Governor Higgins a^ipointed Mr, Persons Presi- 
dent of the State Water Supply Commission, for a term of five 
years. As President of this important body Mr. Persons has 
shown signal abilitj^ and a ijersistent industry and is one of the 
strongest factors in the Commission's usefulness. 

Since 1890 Mr. Persons has been a director of the Queen City 
Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children, and is among 
its most active workers. Since 1890 he has served as trustee 
of the First Presbyterian Church of East Aurora. He is a 
member of the EUicott Club of Buffalo. 

June 30, 1876, Mr. Persons married Rebecca Ellen Sandford, 
a daughter of the Rev. Richard M. Sandford, then pastor of the 
First Presbyterian Church at East Aurora, and Ruth (Hunger- 
ford) Sandford. The children of the marriage are: Richard 
Sandford Persons, who in 1904 married Pearl Williamson, 
daughter of Eli Williamson of Buffalo; James White, Mary 
Hungerford, Albert H., Henry Z., and Robert H. Persons. 



320 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

JOHN JOSEPH HYNES is one of Buffalo's well-known 
lawyers and one of the first fraternal insurance men in the 
country.' He takes a keen interest in civic matters, has held 
responsible official places and is notably identified with the 
cause of education, being at the present time a member of the 
Buffalo Board of School Examiners. 

Mr. Hynes is of Irish ancestry, coming of a family for cen- 
turies prominent in the counties of Clare and Galway, and 
distinguished for patriotism and staunch Catholicity. On the 
maternal side he is derived from the Peeneys of Galway, a stock 
which is one of the oldest and best known in that country. The 
father of John J. Hynes was Michael Hynes and his mother was 
Catherine Feeney, who died in 1875. They came from Galway, 
Ireland, to this country in 1846, and settled in Buffalo. Michael 
Hynes was a ship carpenter and followed the craft until his 
death in 1876. He was one of the pioneer shipwrights of 
Buffalo, and spent practically all his life with the ship-building 
concerns of Bidwell & Banta and Mason & Bidwell, though for 
a few years he was in the employ of Mills & Walsh. He. was a 
strong believer in organized labor and helped form the first 
ship carpenters' and caulkers' union in Buffalo. A devout 
churchman, he was a member of the first Catholic Church 
erected in Buffalo, old St. Patrick's. 

John Joseph Hynes was born in Buffalo May 25, 1854. His 
education was obtained at Public School No. 4 and the Buffalo 
High School. In 1877 he began studying law, while he was 
employed in the County Clerk's office, being afterward entered 
as a law student with 0. F. Barton and later with the Hon. 
Charles F. Tabor. In 1882 he was admitted to the bar. From 
1887 to 1891 he was Deputy City Attorney. After the latter 
year he resumed practice by himself, and has continued alone 
ever since. His specialties are real estate and insurance law, 
but he has a large general practice. He is General Attorney 
for the Grand Lodge of the Switchmen's Union of North 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 321 

America, and has been for many years Attorney for the 
Supreme Council of the C. M. B. A. in New York State. 

Always a Eepublican, Mr. Hynes was a candidate for Super- 
visor in the old First Ward in 1879, and though the ward was 
Democratic, he was elected by 300 majority. In January, 1904, 
Mr. Hynes without solicitation was appointed by Mayor Knight 
a member of the Board of School Examiners for a term of five 
years, and was later chosen Chairman of that body. In the 
public school system of Buffalo Mr. Hynes takes the deepest 
interest, and never misses a meeting, either special or regular, 
of the examining Board. Once a year he visits each school of 
the city. 

When eighteen years old Mr. Hynes enlisted in the 74th 
Eegiment, N. G. N. Y. He rose through successive grades of 
promotion until 1878, when he was commissioned Captain. 

Mr. Hynes is serving his third term as Supreme President of 
the Catholic Mutual Benefit Association, which was organized 
in 1876. Mr. Hynes took a leading part in the establishment of 
the first branch at Buffalo in 1878, the total membership of the 
society being then less than 350. Mr. Hynes was one of the 
earliest men to grasp the possibilities of the work, bringing to 
his task an ardent belief in the objects and purposes of the 
Association. He became a member of New York Grand Council 
in 1881, and served as Chairman of the Law Committee, Trustee, 
Supreme Eepresentative, Grand President and Grand Chan- 
cellor. He was twice unanimously elected Grand President. 
He was on the Committee on Laws of the New York Grand 
Council which in 1881 submitted the report in favor of a graded 
scale of assessments. He became a member of the Supreme 
Council in 1884, has been Chairman of its Committee on Laws 
ever since, and in 1886 was a member of the London, Ont., con- 
vention which enacted the present Eeserve Fund Law. In 
October, 1900, the Supreme Council of the C. M. B. A. met in 
Buffalo, and Mr. Hynes was elected Supreme President for a 
term of three years, being reelected in 1903 and again in 1906. 



322 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

He is thus the head of an organization which has a membership 
of over 60,000, and which carries insurance aggregating 
190,000,000. There is no sounder insurance society in the world, 
and this is largely due to the wisdom, conservatism and firmness 
of Mr. Hynes. 

Mr. Hynes belongs to the Catholic Benevolent Legion, and is 
a former member of its Supreme Council. He was active in the 
inception of the Irish Land League, of which he was elected 
National Secretary in 1882, and with his colleagues collected and 
forwarded $79,000 to Ireland. He was Secretary of the Phila- 
delphia convention in 1883, and was elected Secretary of the 
new Irish National League, but resigned for reasons of resi- 
dence. In 1902 Mr. Hynes was appointed by Gov. Odell one of 
the Board of Managers of the Western House of Kefuge for 
Women, at Albion, N. Y., and later served as Chairman. In 
January, 1905, he was reappointed by Gov. Higgins, but 
resigned owing to other duties. For sixteen years he has been 
a member of the Chapel of the Blessed Sacrament. Mr. Hynes 
has marked ability as a public speaker. In court or on the plat- 
form he is convincing and eloquent. 

January 8, 1879, Mr. Hynes married Anna M. McCarthy, 
daughter of Dennis F. and Ellen (Hallaron) McCarthy of 
Buffalo. The children of the marriage are Mary Gertrude 
Hynes, a teacher in the public schools, and John J. Hynes, Jr., 
a student at the IMassachusetts Institute of Technology. 

i 

THOMAS DAEK, SR., is one of the oldest and most promi- 
nent citizens of Buffalo, and as a builder, contractor and sani- 
tary engineer has a record unsui'passed by any of its kind in 
Western New York. 

Mr. Dark was born at Hanham Mount in the parish of Bitton, 
County of Gloucester, near Bristol, England, December 21, 1814, 
being the son of John Dark, a well-known builder and contrac- 
tor. Thomas Dark received an elementary education, but his 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 323 

schooling ended when he was ten years old. The locality where 
he spent his boyhood was identified with the lives and the work 
of the Wesleys, and he grew np under the influence of 
Methodism. Upon leaving school he began learning the mason's 
trade with his father, and finisTied his apprenticeship at Bristol." 
As a young man he became a building contractor, at first 
erecting dwellings, but presently becoming engaged in munici^ 
pal work. He built the water works in Exeter and Bristol and 
a system of drainage for the city of Wells, and had some large 
contracts in coal mines. He successfully pursued the con- 
tracting business and the mason's trade in England for about 
twenty-four years. 

In 1857 Mr. Dark came to the United States and settled in 
Buffalo, where, shortly after his arrival he was employed as 
foreman in the construction of the Custom House and old Post 
Of3.ce in Seneca street. He established himself as a contractor 
and builder and in this field quickly rose to a position of 
importance, later forming, with his sons, the firm of Thomas 
Dark & Sons. He devoted himself chiefly to public works, 
paved miles of Buffalo's streets, and built many of its sewers, 
bridges and other municipal structures, his operations always 
being carried on with conscientiousness and first-class skill. In 
1869 he won, the $2,000 prize offered by the City of Buffalo for 
the best plans and specifications for a water supply plant and 
system. In 1895 he wrote and published a pamphlet in which 
he contended that the Buffalo water system is radically 
defective. Among Mr. Dark's notable achievements was the 
planning and building of the Titusville, Pa., water works. He 
has invented many tools and appliances, including some of the 
most excellent sewer apparatus yet devised. He retired from 
business in 1900. He is a great reader, has traveled much, and 
has published a narrative of a European trip made in 1893. In 
1833 Mr. Dark married Eliza Willis of Kingswood, England, 
who was born September 2, 1814, and died September 2, 1892. 
Their children were: John, Thomas, Sa^muel, George, Thomas, 



324 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Sarah B., Eliza, Mary and Albert, of whom George and Eliza 
are the only survivors. 

THOMAS DAKK, JK., was deceased June 17, 1905. He was 
born in England, and was educated in private schools. As he 
grew to manhood he became connected in business with his 
father, who in 1857 he accompanied to America, and after the 
family settled in Buffalo, he was associated in partnership with 
his father, and brother, George, under the firm name of Thomas 
Dark & Sons. He ably assisted in carrying on the business until 
the firm was dissolved in 1890, when he retired from active 
pursuits. 

A man of strong, earnest character, Mr. Dark was 
unassuming, and wholly free of pretense or display. His deep 
religious feeling found expression in efficient endeavor in the 
Master's cause. He was for many years one of the leading 
members of Grace Methodist Episcopal Church, where he was 
among the most effective workers and teachers in the Sunday 
School. H^e was a great Bible student, had a wonderfully 
minute and comprehensive knowledge of the Scriptures and 
often met with others for class study. Profoundly conscien- 
tious, serious in his outlook on life and of high moral ideals, he 
was devoted to his business, his family and his church work, 
and cared little for outside diversions. 

Mr. Dark married Julia E. Davies, daughter of Samuel E. 
Davies, of Kochester, !N. Y. Their surviving children are: 
Samuel J., Florence Ella (Mrs. Linus H. Stickles), Maud Mary 
(Mrs. F. C. Jahraus), George Dark, Mabel, Julia and Grace 
Dark. 

SAMUEL JOHN DABK, of Dark & Co., is sole proprietor of 
a, contracting concern which is the largest of its kind in this 
part of the country, and he occupies a place of deserved promi- 
nence among Buffalo's representative business men. 

Mr. Dark was born in Buffalo, July 21, 1866, being the son 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



325 



of Thomas Dark, Jr. As a boy he attended the public schools of 
his native city, and in 1880 entered the employ of Thomas Dark 
& Sons, the firm established by his grandfather. In 1888 he 
was admitted to partnership, the firm continuing as Thomas 
Dark & Sons. Prom 1890 to 1900 Samuel J. Dark was practi- 
cally the manager of the 
business. The firm 
existed till 1900, when he 
bought out the interests 
of the other partners, 
Thomas Dark, Sr., and the 
latter' s sons, George and 
Thomas, and became sole 
proprietor of the concern, 
which is now styled Dark 
& Co. It does a combined 
plumbing, sewer con- 
tracting and underground 
construction business, and 
is the leading enterprise 
in its field in this part of 
the State. Since Samuel 
J. Dark became its pro- 
prietor, the business has 
continued to expand in 
proportions corresponding with the increased demands of the 
latter day development of Buffalo. 

In 1900 Mr. Dark became equally interested with Charles E. 
Williams, Pliny B. McNaughton, Frank L. Bapst, and William 
H. Kinch in the Buffalo Dredging Company, the German Rock 
Asphalt Company, the Buffalo Expanded Metal Company, and 
the Continental Engineering & Contracting Company. Mr. 
Dark is President of the Buffalo Sanitary Company, which has 
the contract for the collection of ashes and garbage in Buffalo, 
and for cleaning the streets. He is also a Director in the 




SAMUEL J. DARK. 



326 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Babcock Electric Carriage Company, tile Buffalo Automobile 
Station, and the Buffalo Crucible Casting Company. 

Mr. Dark is a 32d degree Mason, being affiliated with Ancient 
Landmarks Lodge; Adytum Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, and 
Ismailia Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. He belongs to 
the Historical Society, and is a member of the Buffalo, Country, 
Park, Ellicott and Acacia clubs. 

November 11, 1890, Mr. Dark married Margaret A. Wilson, 
daughter of George H. and Helen C. (Smith) Wilson of Buffalo. 

ROBERT RODMAN HEFFORD. It would be impossible to 
name a more repi"fesentative figure in Buffalo than Robert R. 
Hefford. A native of this city, Mr. Hefford has lived here all his 
life. He is a man of versatile ability and has won equal dis- 
tinction in the business world, in citizenship, and in public 
affairs. From an early period identified with the coal trade, 
Mr. Heffoi^di until his retirement from the business, stood in the 
front rank of that industry. He is one of the leading Republi- 
cans in the State, and has had a notable political career. Mr. 
Hefford is distinctively a man of public spirit, and no 
Buffalonian of bur generation has shown himself more earnest 
and enthusiastic in behalf of the welfare of the city. 

Mr. Hefford is the son of Thomas Hefford, who was born in 
Lilborne, England, March 14, 1807. He settled in Buffalo in 
1835, and married Elizabeth Livingston Lasher on the 12th of 
May, 1844. His death occurred in Buffalo May 6, 1865. 

Robert Rodman Hefford was born in Buffalo February 25, 
1855. He was educated at public and private schools and at 
Bryant & Stratton's Business College. When seventeen years 
old he became a clerk in a wholesale salt and cement concern, 
for two years. During 1864 he held a clerkship in the Canal 
Collector's office. In 1865, with Mr. E. E. Hazard, Mr. Hefford 
engaged in the coal trade. The firm of E. E. Hazard & Company 
prospered greatly, and the copartnership lasted till 1871, when 
Mr. Hefford succeeded to the business, which he conducted until 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTOEY. 327 

his retirement in 1896. Under his able management it was 
developed chiefly along the lines of shipping and forwarding. 
The enterprise assumed very large proportions, and Mr. Hefford 
was a leading factor in gaining for Buffalo its status as one of 
the world's centers of coal distribution. Mr. Hefford was Presi- 
dent of the Bank of Commerce and a Director of the 
Merchants' Bank, both of which institutions are now liquidated. 
He is at present a director in six business corporations. 

From early manhood Mr. Hefford has been actively connected 
with public life. In 1879 he was elected Alderman from the 
Second Ward, and was twice reelected, serving till 1884. 
During two terms he was President of the Common Council. 
Meantime he was chosen President of the City Board of Health, 
serving two terms. In this capacity he established a lasting 
claim to public gratitude by opposing the notorious street- 
cleaning contract which was vetoed by Grover Cleveland, then 
Mayor. In 1883, Mr. Hefford's party paid him the high tribute 
of nominating him for Mayor, to fill the vacancy left by Mr. 
Cleveland, but the local conditions that year were adverse to 
Eepublican success, and, the Democratic candidate was 
elected. Mr. Hefford has^ repeatedly served on the Eepublican 
General Committee, and in 1885-1886 was Chairman of the 
Eepublican County Committee. He had a distinguished share 
in the work of establishing the Eepublican League of the State 
of New York, and in 1887 was elected its first President, being 
reelected the following year. He also held for several years a 
place on the League's Executive Committee. From 1889 to 
1893 he was Vice-President of the National Eepublican League. 
In the duties connected with these political bodies, Mr. Hefford 
has shown himself a party manager of signal ability. In 1895 
Mr. Hefford was appointed by Mayor Jewett Commissioner of 
Public Works. The choice was enthusiastically indorsed by the 
press and people, bu.t Mr. Hefford, for business reasons, felt 
himself obliged to decline, the appointment. 

The canal svstem of the State has no more earnest and 



328 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

efficient champion than Eobert K. Hefford. He has ably sup- 
ported the interests of the Erie Canal, and did notable work 
in aid of the |9,000,000 canal appropriation and the measures 
which resulted in the |101,000,000 barge canal enterprise. He 
served as Chairman of the Executive Canal Committee of the 
State, which in 1894 induced the Constitutional Convention to 
approve the |9,000,000 appropriation, was a principal factor in 
bringing about legislative action in the matter in 1895, and a 
most poAverful influence in effecting the indorsement of the pro- 
ject by the voters. He was also a delegate to all conventions 
called in that interest. 

Mr. Hefford is a leading member and a trustee of the Chamber 
of Commerce, and served four terms as President of the 
Merchants' Exchange. He was Chairman of the Building Com- 
mittee in 1896, when the Board of Trade Building was enlarged, 
and served in the same capacity in 1906 when the new Chamber 
of Commerce Building was built. He has served four terms as 
President of the Board of Trade. He is a life member of the 
Buffalo Society of Natural Sciences, the Public Library and 
the Fine Arts Academy and a meiaber of the Historical Society; 
a trustee of the Buffalo General Hospital and the Y. M. C. A., 
and a member of the Council of the University of Buffalo. He 
is President of the Buffalo Club, a member and former Presi- 
dent of the EUicott and Liberal Clubs, a member of the Country 
Club, and belongs to the Kepublican Club of New York City. 
In 1877 he was a member of the New York State Commission to 
the Tennessee Centennial Exposition. 

January 4, 1870, Mr. Hefford married Harriet Eosalia 
Whitaker of Catskill, N. Y. 

HENRY CHRISTIAN STEUL is one of Buffalo's best known 
citizens. He has enjoyed high civic honors, has a distinguished 
record as a municipal official, is a very prominent fraternity 
man and has an enviable position in the social life of our city. 

A native of Buffalo, Mr. Steul is of German ancestry and 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



329 



parentage. He is a son of Charles Steul and Mary Jacobi, resi- 
dents of Giesen, Hesse Darmstadt, Gerniany, where they were 
married and whence they came to the United States in the '50's. 
Their surviving children are: Mary (Mrs. Adolf Hessling); 
Elizabeth Steul; Caroline (Mrs. William Pohle); Catherine (Mrs. 
Edwin Pohle); and Henry C. Steul. Conrad Steul, another sou, 
died in August, 1888, at 
the age of thirty- two. 
The father, Charles Steul, 
died in 1894, and Mrs. 
Steul in 1901. 

Henry Christian Steul 
was born in Buffalo on the 
25th of January, 1859. 
He was educated in the 
public schools, afterward 
taking a German course 
in Prof. Pesler's private 
school. When thirteen 
years old he was 
apprenticed to the trade 
of cabinet-making. Later 
he worked seven years as 
a journeyman cabinet- 
maker for Hersee & Co., 
subsequently having 
charge of the cabinet sho^) of Bardsky Bros., New York City. 

In 1882 Mr. Steul returned to Buffalo and engaged in business 
with his brother, Conrad, under the firm name of Steul Bros., 
establishing the present concern at No. 278 Johnson street. The 
partnership existed until 1888, when Conrad Steul died. Henry 
C. Steul thereafter continued the business alone for two years, 
when he formed a copartnership with Frank H. Thuman, under 
the firm style of Steul & Thuman. In 1904 the firm was incor- 
porated under the style of the Steul & Thuman Company, Mr. 




HENRY C. STBTJL. 



330 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTOKY. 

Steul being made President and Treasurer. The concern is the 
largest wood mantel manufactory in the United States. The 
plant now covers an area of 150 by 280 feet, employing over 250 
people, and does over |300,000 worth of business annually. In 
June, 1906, Mr. Steul was elected the first President of the Wood 
Mantel Manufacturers Credit Association of the United States. 

Besides his manufacturing enterprise, Mr. Steul is interested 
in real estate and banking, being a Director of the German- 
Americah Bank and President of the Steul Land Company. 

A Eepubiican, Mr. Steul was elected a member of Council in 
1894 by a majority of 12,000, and reelected in 1897. At the end 
of his term he declined a rehomination, but in 1902 Mr. Steul 
was elected by the Common Council to fill a vacancy in the 
Board. In this instance Mr. Steul served two years, making in 
all nine years in which he had held the responsible office of 
Councilman. 

Mr. Steul's career of piiblic service was characterized by 
eminent capability, honesty and openness. During his second 
term of office he was honored with election as Chairman. 

Mr. Steul has taken a keen interest in the German Hospital 
ever since its organization, and in November, 1906, was elected 
a trustee. He is also a trustee of St. Peter's Evangelical 
Church. 

• He is a Mason of the 32d degree, a member of De Molay 
Lodge; of Keystone Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; of Hugh de 
Pay ens Commandery, Knights Templar; Zuleika Grotto, and 
Ismailia Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. He also belongs 
to the Acacia Club, to the Buffalo Orpheus, the Saengerbund, 
the Harugari Maennerchor,. and various fraternal bodies. 

On the 1st of November, 1882, Mr. Steul was united in 
marriage to Miss Helen Koerbel, a daughter of Peter Koerbel 
afld Margaret (Winters) Koerbel. The children of the marriage 
are two sons, Henry C. Steul, Jr., and William M. Steul, and a 
daughter, Miss Eleanora Steul. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 331 

, HERBEET P. BISSELL is a lawyer of distinguished ability, 
a leading citizen of Buffalo and a man prominent in political 
life and public affairs. Considered from the professional 
standpoint, Mr. Bissell represents the sterling traditions of 
learning and integrity which have given so high a prestige to 
the Erie County bar. As a public man Mr. Bissell has a notable 
record as a champion of clean politics and good government. 
He is of liberal views and wide culture, is actively identified 
with the cause of education and with movements in furtherance 
of intellectual and moral progress, and takes a public-spirited 
interest in local improvement and the welfare of Buffalo as a 
community. ' ' 

John Bissel came from England and was one of the settlers 
of Windsor, Connecticut. Noah Bissell, grandfather of Herbert 
P. Bissell, was a resident of Vermont, whence he removed to 
New London, Oneida County, N. Y., in the early part of the last 
century. He was a farmer and a well-known man and influ- 
ential citizen. 

AMOS A. BISSELL, son of Noah Bissell, was a noted resi- 
dent of Western New York. Throughout his career Amos A. 
Bissell was identified with transportation business on the Erie 
Canal, and became a very large canal forwarder, owning as 
many as 100 boats at a time. In 1865 he removed to Lockport, 
N. Y., but from that year till the close of his life Buffalo was his 
place of business, and he became one of the leading members of 
the local Board of Trade. 

In 1874-75 Mr. Bissell represented the First District of 
Niagara County as Member of Assembly. 

In 1852 Mr. Bissell married Amelia S. Wilsey of New London, 
N. Y. The ancestors of Mrs. Bissell came from Holland and 
were among the settlers of the Mohawk Valley. Her father 
was Blenis Wilsey, who died in September, 1906, at the age of 
100 years. His father, James Wilsey, a farmer in Herkimer 
County, was a soldier in the Eevolutionary War under Gen. 
Herkimer. The surviving children of Amos A. Bissell and 



332 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Amelia S. Wilsey are: Angus C. Bissell of New York City; 
Herbert P. Bissell of Buffalo, and Dr. WilligLm G. Bissell, also 
of this city. 

Herbert P. Bissell was born at New London, Oneida County, 
N. Y., on the 30th of August, 1856. When eight years old he 
removed with his parents to Lockport, N. Y., and there he 
attended the public schools during the next four years. At the 
age of twelve he became a student at DeVeaux College, Niagara 
Palls, and in 1873 was graduated. Shortly afterward he went 
to Germany, where he studied two years at the Gymnasium 
Catharinareum, a public school at Braunschweig, where he 
acquired a thorough knowledge of the German language. On 
returning to the United States, Mr. Bissell entered Harvard 
College, from which he graduated in 1880, with the degree of 
A.B. The same year Mr. Bissell came to Buffalo and began 
reading law with the firm of Laning, McMillan & Gluck. In 
1883 he was admitted to the bar. For several months there- 
after he continued with the firm in the capacity of managing 
clerk. 

On the 1st of January, 1885, he began practice by himself, and 
continued till 1886, when he became identified with the firm of 
Brundage, Weaver & Bissell. Six months afterward was 
formed the copartnership of Bissell, Sicard, Brundage & Bissell, 
a firm of which the late Wilson S. Bissell, a former Postmaster- 
General, was the head and Herbert P. Bissell the junior partner. 
This association, which some time later became Bissell, Sicard, 
Bissell & Carey, was a firm of no less historic importance 
in the annals of the Buffalo bar, its origin being traceable as 
far back as 1834. Among those at an early period connected 
with the firm was Nathan K. Hall, Postmaster-General under 
President Fillmore, and Grover Cleveland was the senior part- 
ner when he was elected Governor in 1883. 

In 1896 the firm of Bissell, Sicard, Bissell & Carey was dis- 
solved, and in March, 1897, Mr. Bissell formed a copartnership 
with J. Henry Metcalf, under the style of Bissell & Metcalf. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 333 

Later he established, with George 0. Riley, the present law 
flrm of Bissell & Eiley. 

Mr. Bissell is counsel for a number of leading corporations, 
including the Niagara Gorge Railroad Company, of which he is 
Vice-President; the Buffalo Traction Company; the Buffalo & 
Depew Railway, and the New York Power Securities Company, 
of which he is President and General Counsel. A representative 
Democrat, Mr. Bissell first came into political prominence at the 
time when Grover Cleveland was candidate for Governor. He 
was one of the principal organizers of the Cleveland Democracy 
of Buffalo, serviiig for three terms as its President, and since 
1884 has been a recognized leader in his party. 

In 1885, Mr. Bissell was nominated for State Senator for the 
Erie County District, and though he failed of election he ran 
ahead of his ticket by .1,500 votes. A distinctive feature of the 
campaign was a series of speeches delivered by Mr. Bissell to 
the German residents of the East Side. These addresses were 
not only brilliant from the oratorical viewpoint, but were 
remarkable from the perfect command Mr. Bissell displayed of 
the German language. In 1892 Mr. Bissell received the Demo- 
cratic nomination for District Attorney. It was a Republican 
year in Erie County, but such was Mr. Bissell's popularity that 
an official count was necessary to ascertain the result. He was 
declared successful, but owing to some irregularities and errors 
in the returns, he withdrew his claims. In the fall of 1901 Mr. 
Bissell was made the nominee of the Democratic party for the 
office of Mayor of Buffalo. But at that election the whole 
Republican ticket was elected. 

When the Pan-American Exposition Company was formed, 
Mr. Bissell was chosen a Director of that body and Chairman 
and counsel of the Exposition Law Committee. In these capaci- 
ties he did all the legal work connected with the Pan-American 
enterprise without compensation. In 1904 Mr. Bissell removed 
his home to East Aurora. The following year he was elected a 
member and President of the Board of Education. In the fall 



334 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

of 1906 lie was reelected. Since 1887 Mr. Bissell has been a 
trustee of De Veaiix College, and he has also served as trustee 
of the Gary Collegiate Seminary at Oakfield, N. Y. He is an 
active member of the Niagara I^rontier Landmarks Association, 
has filled the position of Curator and Chairman of the Board 
of Real Estate of the Buffalo Public Library, and belongs to the 
Ellicott and University clubs of this city, and the University 
Club of New York. He is a vestryman of St. Mathias Episcopal 
Church of East Aurora. 

On the 30th of October, 1883, Mr. Bissell married Miss Lucy 
Agnes Coffey of Brooklyn. They have three children, Mary R., 
born October 1, 1884; Harriet A., born September 3, 1888, and 
Lucy A., born July 19, 1894. 

The arduous professional pursuits and the varied public 
activities of Mr. Bissell have not prevented him from gratifying 
his ardent love of culture for its own sake. No man takes a 
keener delight in literature, and his appreciation of its master- 
pieces is the greater because founded on a thorough classical 
training and guided by an intellect disciplined by the severe 
researches of a learned profession. Occasionally Mr. Bissel 
has delivered addresses on literary topics, and the only criti- 
cism to be made relative to his discourses on these fascinating 
themes is that they are not more numerous. A notable example 
of Mr. Bissell's critical discernment and charm as a lecturer 
was an appreciation of the poet Schiller, delivered in Buffalo 
two or three years ago before a German audience and illus- 
trated by readings from Schiller's works. This address, given 
in German of classic purity of diction and admirable both for 
depth of thought and Avealth of expression, will linger long in 
the memory of those who were privileged to hear it. 

WILLIAM HORACE HOTCHKISS is one of Buffalo's fore- 
most lawyers, noted as a publicist, while in the field of bank- 
ruptcy law he has a national rej.>utation. 

The Hotchkiss family during early Colonial times settled in 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 335 

Connecticut, haAang migrated there from England as a part of 
the New Haven Colony. Jason Hotchkiss was a soldier in the 
Revolutionary army, serving in a Connecticut regiment, as did 
his father, also named Jason. Rufus Hotchkiss, son of Jason 
Hotchkiss, Jr., removed from New England to Hampton, 
Washington County, N. Y., where he was a farmer and well- 
known citizen. His son, Horace Hotchkiss, was also a farmer, 
and lived at Hampton, where he died in 1880. He married 
Diadama Pierce, who was descended from a Massachusetts 
family, her grandfather having been one of the Minute Men in 
the Revolution. 

MASON KING HOTCHKISS, son of Horace Hotchkiss, was 
born in 1836. He was reared on a farm and later became part- 
ner in a wholesale grocery in Albany. Afterwards he was 
extensively interested in the hotel business, becoming the pro- 
prietor of hotels at Rutland, Vt., and at Albany, Jamestown, 
Olean, and Hornellsville, N. Y. In 1861 he married Rachael 
Amanda Merriam, daughter of William and Emily (Bartholo- 
mew) Merriam. The children of the union are: William Horace 
Hotchkiss of Buffalo, and Bessie Louise (Mrs. Horace B. Ware) 
of Scranton, Pa. Mason K. Hotchkiss died at Olean, N. Y., in 
1885. 

William Horace Hotchkiss was born at W^hitehall, Wash- 
ington County, N. Y., September 7, 1864. He was educated in 
the public schools of Albany, N. Y., Rutland, Vt., and James- 
town, N. Y., the Albany Military Academy and the Rutland 
Military School, being prepared for college in Glidden's Classi- 
cal School, in Jamestown. Entering Hamilton College in 1882, 
he was graduated in 1886 with the degree of B.A. He received 
honors in Greek, Latin, mathematics, literature, oratory and 
debating, and delivered the Head prize oration and the Latin 
Salutatory of his class, securing also the Phi Beta Kappa key. 
Three years later his alma mater conferred on him the degree 
of M.A. On leaving college Mr. Hotchkiss began reading law 



336 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

with the Hon. John D. Teller of Aixburn, N. Y., also being 
appointed Clerk of the Surrogate's Court of Cayuga County, 
serving from 1887 to 1889. In 1888 he was admitted to the bar, 
and when Judge Teller retired from office he formed with Mr. 
Hotchldss at Auburn a law partnership under the style of 
Teller & Hotchkiss. 

In 1891 Mr. Hotchkiss came to Buffalo and was associated 
with Edward L. Parker until 1900, when Mr. Hotchkiss and the 
late James 0. Templeton formed a copartnership which lasted 
until Mr. Templeton's death in 1903, and since then with Myron 
P. Bush, under the style of Hotchkiss & Bush. 

Mr. Hotchkiss was appointed Keferee in Bankruptcy in 1898 
for the Erie County District and reappointed in 1900, serving 
to the present time. He has delivered numerous addresses on 
bankruptcy law, and has written manj^ articles on the subject. 
He is the author on the Fourth Edition of " Collier on Bank- 
ruptcy," the leading authority on that branch of law in the 
United States. Ever since the foundation of the Natfonal Asso- 
ciation of Keferees in Bankruptcy in 1899, Mr. Hotchkiss has 
served as its President and Chairman of its Executive 
Committee. He took an active part in drafting the Bay, and the 
Palmer amendatory bankruptcy bills, and the practice in bank- 
ruptcy courts throughout the Union has been largely regulated 
by the rules drawn by Referee Hotchkiss, and the practice 
forms prepared by him. He is Lecturer on Bankruptcy'' Law in 
the Law Schools of Buffalo, New York City and Cornell 
University. 

A strong Republican, Mr. Hotchkiss has always taken an 
active interest in politics. He was one of the Buffalo Repub- 
lican Committee to investigate primary election reform, the 
inquiry resulting in a report whose sequel was the first Hill 
^ill. With Elihu Root and Paul D. Cravath, Mr. Hotchkiss 
drew the Primary Election Law of 1899, which is in force today. 
He was for two years a member of the Executive Committee of 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 337 

the Buffalo Republican League, and acted for a year as editor 
of its journal, " The Opinion." He has also rendered valuable 
services to his party as a campaign speaker. Mr. Hotchldss has 
written a pamphlet on "Urban Self Government," has con- 
tributed many articles on this and other subjects to magazines, 
and has discussed municipal questions in a series of lectures. 
For three years he was Secretary of the Law and Legislation 
Committee of the Buffalo Citizens' Association, and assisted in 
exposing the ballot frauds in Buffalo in 1892. In 1907 he was 
appointed by Governor Hughes a commissioner for the promo- 
tion of uniformity of legislation in the U. S. 

Mr. Hotchkiss is much interested in automobiling, and has 
served as President of the American Automobile Association, 
the New York State Automobile Association and the Buffalo 
Automobile Club. He is the author of the Motor Vehicle Law 
of the State of New York, which has been adopted by half a 
dozen other States. 

Mr. Hotchkiss is a member of the American Bar Association, 
the Bar Associations of New York State and Erie County, and 
is a member and ex-President of the Lawyers' Club. He 
belongs to the Sons of the American Revolution and the Buffalo 
Historical Society. He is a 32d degree Mason, being affiliated 
with Ancient Landmarks Lodge, Palmoni Council, Princes of 
Jerusalem (15th and 16th grades Scottish Rite Masonry) of 
which he has served as head, and Zuleika Grotto. He belongs 
to the Liberal, University and Country clubs of Buffalo, and the 
Chi Psi college fraternity, of whose magazine, " Purple and 
Gold," he was editor-in-chief from 1886 to 1890. 

April 25, 1895, Mr. Hotchkiss married Katherine Tremaine 
Bush, daughter of John W. and Kate C. (Tremaine) Bush of 
Ithaca, N. Y. Mrs. Hotchkiss is a descendant of Abner Tre- 
maine, a Revolutionary officer who took part in the storming of 
Stony Point by Gen. Wayne. Mr. and Mrs. Hotchkiss have two 
children, Katherine, born in 1900, and Emily, born in 1903. 



338 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



EIGHT REV. CHARLES HENRY COLTON, D.D., Fourth 
Bishop of the Diocese of Buffalo, before coming to his present 
field of labors was for many years pastor of St. Stephen's 
Church, in New York City. Bishop Colton is an earnest, devoted 
servant of the Church of Christ, centering his powers and pur- 
poses in the fulfillment of the duties of his consecrated of&ce, 
and knowing no ambition apart from the faithful discharge of 
the sacred trust reposed in him. 

Bishop Colton is of Irish lineage, and both on the father's and 
mother's side comes of devout Catholic ancestry distinguished 

by not a few names emi- 
nent in the service of the 
Church. His father, 
Patrick Smith Colton, was 
the son of John Colton 
and Mary Smith, and was 
born about 1818, near 
Omagh, the county seat of 
Tyrone. When eleven 
years old he came to this 
country with his parents, 
the family settling in 
York, Pa. Later he went 
to Baltimore, Md., where 
he was engaged in busi- 
ness for a number of 
years and was an active 
Catholic layman. In 
1845 he removed to New 
York City, where he 
opened a locksmith's shop, which he conducted many years, 
later forming a copartnership in the builders' hardware busi- 
ness, under the firm style of Colton & Mullen. 

February 2, 1846, Mi". Colton married Theresa Augusta 
Mullen, who was the daughter of Thomas and Mary Mullen, and 




ET. BEV. OHAELES H. COLTON. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 339 

was born in Donegal, Ireland, July 25, 1824. The marriage was 
blessed with nine children, of whom six are living. The Rev. 
John Smith Colton, now deceased, eldest brother of Bishop 
Colton, was a priest of sainted life. Thomas J. Colton, the 
younger brother of the Bishop, is a successful business man of 
New York City. Bishop Colton has four sisters, Mary Teresa, 
now Mrs. Pentz of New York; Margaret, now Mrs.' James M. 
Bingham of New York; Josephine, unmarried, and Agnes, now 
the wife of William E. Doherty of Brooklyn. The death of 
Patrick Smith Colton occurred in Augiist, ,1876, and his wife 
died April 6, 1891. Their lives exemplified consistent useful- 
ness chastened and elevated by fervent religious faith. 

Charles Henry Colton was born in New York City, October 
15, 1848. In Bishop Colton's boyhood New York had few 
parish schools, and he began his studies at Public School No. 5. 
Later he attended two other public schools, and became a pupil 
of the Sunday School of St. Stephen's Church. When about 
fourteen years old he leftschool and took a position as cash boy 
with the dry goods firm of Arnold, Constable & Co., where he 
remained eighteen months, then finding a place with the Cen- 
tral Express Company. With this company and the MerchJints' 
Union Exchange, he continued five years. During this period 
he pursued his studies, attending the Latin School of St. 
Stephen's. In 1869 he entered St. Francis Xavier College, 
where he studied three years. In September, 1872, he became 
a student in St. Joseph's Theological Seminary at Troy, N. Y., 
where he was ordained a priest on the 10th of June, 1876. 

After Father Colton's ordination, at the request of the Kev. 
Dr. Edward McGlynn, then rector of St. Stephen's Church, New- 
York, he was appointed assistant pastor of that parish. He 
applied himself to his work with energy, giving his best sup- 
port to Dr. McGlynn's labors, and in the course of ten years was 
advanced to the place of first assistant pastor. Besides the 
regular duties of the church, in all of which he shared, Father 
Colton for thirteen years did chaplain's duty at Bellevue 



340 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Hospital. He continued his ministrations at St. Stephen's 
from June 27, 1876, till the latter part of 1886, when he was 
assigned to the pastorate of the Church of Our Lady of Mercy 
at Port Chester, N. Y. In January, 1887, he was recalled to St. 
Stephen's to assist the Rev. Arthur Donnelly, then temporarily 
in charge. A few days afterward Father Colton was appointed 
administrator, and some months later, by appointment of Arch- 
bishop Corrigan, he became rector, succeeding Dr. McGlynn. 
At the time when leather Colton took charge of St. Stephen's, 
the parish debt was |152,000, and the church had no parish 
school. During his pastorate the debt was lifted from the 
church and the rectory, and a school-house was built at a cost, 
including the site, of |185,000. Two residence buildings were 
bought for the Sisters at a cost of |20,000 each. From $7,000 
to |10,000 annually was expended in maintenance of the school 
and the payment of salaries. The church property was kept 
in repair and improved. At the close of Father Colton's minis- 
trations two-thirds of the cost of the schools and Sisters' home 
had been paid, and all the rest of his debts extinguished. To 
aid in drawing young people into the church work, social fea- 
tures were introduced. Evening classes were established, and 
much good was accomplished by the organization known as 
The Young Men's Club. By 1894 St. Stephen's was free of debt, 
and the church was consecrated on December 30th of that year, 
with all the attendant ceremonies carried out in full. There 
were present. Archbishop Corrigan, five other Bishops, and 150 
Priests. One of the most important institutions of the parish 
is the parochial school, which has 1,200 pupils and 29 instruc- 
tors. A valuable practical charity, the Presentation Day 
Nursery, was also established. Several church sodalities were 
founded. The golden jubilee of St. Stephen's was held in 1899, 
and on June 10, 1901, was observed the twenty-fifth anniversary 
of Father Colton's ordination, by the presentation of an 
address by the parishoners and a purse of |8,000. 

When Archbishop Quigley, then Third Bishop of the Diocese 



MBMOBIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 341 

Of Buffalo, was appointed Metropolitan of Chicago, the usual 
steps were taken for the selection of his successor. The choice 
fell upon Father Colton, the bulls being issued to him May 20, 
1903, and his consecration taking place in St. Patrick's 
Cathedral, New York, on July 25, of the same year. Under 
Bishop Colton's ministrations the spiritual edifice of the 
Diocese of Buffalo has continued to be steadily and firmly 
reared on the broad foundations laid by his predecessors. At 
the present time, 1907, and four years after his coming- to 
Buffalo, 30 new parishes have been opened in the city and 
through the diocese, and the secular clergy have increased by 
40, or 210 in all. Bishop Colton is a hard worker and a man of 
systematic methods. Though not an ascetic, he lives plainly. 
It has fallen to him to disburse large sums, and he is^ a sound 
economist in financial matters. His interest in his flock extends 
to their material concerns, and he encourages thrift. He is a 
man of scholarly tastes and acquirements, studying with a 
view to thoroughness and mastering the books he reads, lu 
the pulpit he is earnest, convincing, not aiming for oratorical 
eloquence, but often attaining it by the force of sincerity and 
directness. In manner he is courteous, kindly and easy of 
approach. He is thoroughly American in his patriotism, 
placing love of country high in the scale of the virtues. 

He is the author of two books, written since his advent to 
Buffalo, namely, " Seedlings," a book of pious thoughts and 
reflections, and " Trip to Rome and the Holy Land," which gives 
his personal experiences of the time he spent in both places 
and along the route when making his visit at ad limina in 
1904. 

THE REV. JOHN D. BIDEN, Rector of St. Joseph's 
Cathedral, has spent the twenty-five years of his priesthood in 
the diocese of Buffalo, and has been in charge of his present 
pastoral field for the past decade. 

He was born in Buffalo on the 30th of September, 1852, his 



342 .MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

parents being Charles and Ellen Nelligan Biden, well-known 
and esteemed residents of that place. 

Mr. Biden, who came to Buffalo from the Eastern States in 
the late forties, was of English ancestry and a convert to the 
Catholic faith, having been received into the Church about a 
year before his marriage. He was baptized in old St. Patrick's 
Church by Father Lennan. Mrs. Biden was a native of County 
Cork, Ireland. 

To his mother's legacy of that ardent faith and lofty spirit- 
uality, which seem to be a Celtic birthright, and to the sturdy, 
practical qualities handed doAvn to him by his Anglo-Saxon 
forebears, students of heredity who have marked Father 
Biden's career, will attribute, no doubt, a large measure of the 
success attending his various undertakings. 

His hands have always been set to difficult tasks, tasks which 
tested to the utmost the reality of his priestly vocation and his 
exceptional administrative ability, and in their outcome in- 
variably and fully justified his superiors' frequent choice of him 
to command in important and trying situations. 

His father died when the future priest was but seven years 
old, and Mrs. Biden went with her children to kinsfolk in 
Ellicottville. There, in the "little red schoolhouse" — of a type 
that has fostered the youthful genius of so many of our greatest 
and best citizens — and subsequently in the village High School, 
Father Biden received his early education. 

At the age of sixteen he went to Oil City, worked for a year 
in a bank in that town, and then returned to Buffalo, where he 
entered as bookkeeper the grape sugar manufacturing establish- 
ment of the late Mr. Jebb. In these positions he acquired the 
knowledge of business which has proved so valuable to him in 
later life. He remained with Mr. Jebb until 1874, when his 
long-cherished project of going to college was carried out and 
he matriculated at Niagara University. After a brilliant course 
in the University, where he took his Bachelor and Master of 
Arts degrees and completed his theological studies. Father 
Biden was ordained on June 3, 1882, by the late Bishop Ryan. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 343 

It may be told just here that, like many another distinguished 
member of the priesthood, leather Biden was for a time strongly 
attracted to the scarcely less holy calling of the physician. He 
studied medicine for a year and then decided that his mission 
was to minister rather to the souls than to the bodies of his 
fellow-men. 

At the request of the pastor his first mass was said in St. 
Brigid's Church in Buffalo. 

Appointed successively to the parishes of Limestone, Ellicott- 
ville, Andover, and Albion, the first fifteen years of Father 
Biden's priesthood may be described as an initiatory period 
wherein while laboring with zeal and eflflciency for the 
upbuilding of the churches at different times under his charge, 
he developed the insight, the knowledge of men and conditions, 
and the breadth of view in matters spiritual and temporal which 
qualified him for a large sphere of effort. In every field where 
he was stationed he won the love and veneration of his people 
as a spiritual guide and their confidence as a man of sound 
practical judgment. In Albion, where he was pastor before 
coming to Buffalo, Father Biden directed the building of one of 
the finest churches in the diocese. In 1897 Bishop Quigley 
appointed him to the rectorship of St. Joseph's Cathedral. The 
growth of Buffalo and consequent encroachment of business 
houses in the neighborhood of the church; the death of many 
old parishioners and removal of others to distant parts of the 
city had made notable changes in the parish, and Father Biden 
found a dwindling congregation, diminished revenues, a church 
sadly in need of repairs, and a debt of |75,000 to be reckoned 
with when he assumed his present charge. He entered upon his 
work however, with characteristic clear-sightedness and vigor, 
and soon persuaded his people that his leadership and their 
co-operation would restore eventually the failing fortunes of 
the parish. Having proved the value of associations, he at once 
founded St. Anthony's Union, and, for seven years, preached 
every Tuesday evening at the devotions in honor of the Wonder- 



344 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

worker of Padua, Ms eloquent, practical sermons attracting 
hearers from all parts of the city. The League of the Sacred 
Heart, the Third Order of St. Francis, the Holy Name Society, 
were in turn organized, and already existing societies stirred to 
new life. To Father Biden is due also the establishment of the 
yearly mission, which has been productive of so much good in 
the congregation. 

By a sound and ably sustained financial policy he has reduced 
the debt of St. Joseph's to a minimum, and this notwithstanding 
the fact that heavy expenses have been incurred by a multitude 
of improvements, including the practical remodeling of the 
interior of the cathedral. The cleaning and redecoration of the 
edifice, began in 1900 and finished during Pan-American year, 
replaced its old-time greyness by color and ornamental details, 
which give an impression of warmth and cheerfulness. Electric 
lighting, new pews, tiled flooring, and stained glass windows 
add still further to the brilliant effect, while the beauty of the 
Chapel of the Blessed Virgin has been enhanced by a fine new 
altar and a remarkably lovely statue of Our Lady. A new altar 
and statue of the Sacred Heart and a marble vestibule are later 
additions to the completeness of architect and decorator's work. 
Many improvements have been made in other portions of the 
church property, particularly in the old parochial school 
building, now known as St. Joseph's Lyceum, used by the 
Cathedral Club and for various entertainments designed to pro- 
mote a healthy social spirit among the members of the parish. 
To this movement Father Biden has given earnest attention, as 
he has also throughout his pastorate encouraged the perform- 
ance of the best music, of a purely ecclesiastical character, and 
strict observance of all liturgical requirements. 

Honors in plenty, as well as responsibilities, have come to the 
l^ector of the Cathedral. While still very young in the ministry 
he was offered promotion usually reserved for the older and 
tried clergy of the diocese; but he asked to be left at his 
humbler post. A year or two ago his university conferred upon 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 345 

him the degree of Doctor of Laws ocmsa Jionores and — most 
notable distinction of all— when Bishop Quigley's elevation to 
the Archbishopric of Chicago left the See of Buffalo vacant, 
Father Biden was the preferred choice of his brother priests 
for the succession, his name going to Eome as "Dignissimus." 

On June 3, 1907, Father Biden celebrated, in St. Joseph's 
Cathedral, the 25th anniversary of his ordination to the priest- 
hood. The Eight Rev. Charles H. Colton, D.D., Bishop of 
Buffalo; Vicar-General Nelson H. Baker, and more than a hun- 
dred priests, including representatives of several religious 
orders, participated in the Jubilee. Solemn High Mass was 
sung by the jubilarian, and the sermon was delivered by the 
Rev. Luke Grace of Niagara University, who twenty-five years 
before had preached at Father ^iden's first mass. 

The occasion was a memorable one and furnished many evi- 
deuces of the love and esteem in which the Rector of St. 
Joseph's is held by his brethren in the priesthood and by the 
different congregations to which he has ministered so long and 
faithfully. 

RT. REV. MGE. MICHAEL PATRICK CONNERY, Rector of 
St. Columba's Church, Buffalo, is one of the most honored and 
distinguished of the many men of consecrated life and superior 
ability who have dignified the annals of the Roman Catholic 
Church in Western New York. 

Mgr. Connery comes of Irish lineage and of a devout Catholic 
ancestry. The Connery family settled in the State of New 
York in the early '30's, and grand-uncles of Mgr. Connery built 
the church at North Bay on the shores of Oneida Lake. 

Michael Patrick Connery was born in Belfast, Ireland, Sep- 
tember 14, 1851, the son of Patrick Connery and Rose Scullin. 
He attended parish school in Belfast, and his parents dying 
when he was a boy, he came to America in his twelfth year in 
company with his brother, the late Rev. Henry Hugh Connery. 
After his arrival in this country, Michael P. Connery first lived 



346 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



in New York City, where lie attended St. Peter's Parochial 
School until September, 1868, when he entered Niagara 
University, whence he was graduated in 1874. He remained a 
year longer at the institution, pursuing a post-graduate course. 
In 1874 he was ordained a priest, the ceremony taking place in 
St. Joseph's Cathedral, Buffalo, Bishop Kyan officiating. 
Shortly after his ordination Father Connery was assigned to 
St. Joseph's Cathedral, Buffalo, where he remained a year and 

seven months. He was 
then designated to take 
charge of the parish of 
Rexville, Steuben County, 
N. Y., whence after a 
little more than two 
years he was recalled to 
St. Joseph's. After - five 
years of efficient service 
in Buffalo he was 
appointed to the parish 
of Akron, Erie County, 
where the new St. 
Teresa's Church and Rec- 
tory was built during his 
pastorate. In 1889 Mgr. 
Connery was appointed 
pastor of St. Columba's 
Church, Buffalo, where he 
has remained nearly a 
score of years, being now the irremovable Rector of the church. 
The pastorate of Mgr. Connery at St. Columba's has been a 
period of rich growth and harvest in the religious work of that 
parish. Under the inspiration of his earnestness and eloquence, 
and guided by his sterling administrative ability, the parish 
has built a fine church, rectory, school and convent 
the total valuation of the property being |200,000. 
Through his ministrations the church has also enjoyed a 




ET. KEV. MICHAEL P. CONNERY. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 347 

great accession of membership. The success of the work 
of St. Columba's received a most gratifying tribute of 
recognition from His Holiness, Pope Pius X., by the pro- 
motion of Father Connery to the dignity of Monseigneur, which 
carries with it the ecclesiastical rank of Prelate of the Pontifi- 
cal Household. In 1897 he was appointed by Bishop James E. 
Quigley a member of the Bishop's Council and ■ also Vicar- 
General of Buffalo Diocese. When Bishop Quigley was elevated 
to the Archbishopric of Chicago in 1903, Mgr. Connery became 
Administrator of the diocese of Buffalo until the appointment 
and arrival of Bishop Colton. When the See of Buffalo became 
vacant Mgr. Connery was second on the list of three men named 
to Rome by the Bishops of the Province of New York as eligible 
and desirable for the office of Bishop of Buffalo. 

In Mgr. Connery the spiritual gifts of the priest of true conse- 
cration and fervent zeal are united with the sterling practical 
qualities of the born leader of men. As a preacher he is terse 
and forceful, speaking with the language which comes home to 
the hearts of his flock. He is the type of man 
in whom one instinctively reposes confidence, and is cognizant 
that the sorrows, faults and failings of human nature may 
under right spiritual direction become the stepping-stones to a 
higher life. These traits — the traits of a rare personality — 
furnish the explanation of the love and veneration with which 
Mgr. Connery is regarded. 

HENRY WILLIAM WENDT, Secretary and Treasurer of 
the Buffalo Forge Company, and Vice-President, Secretary and 
Treasurer of the George L. Squier Company and the Buffalo 
Steam Pump Company, is a well-known manufacturer, inventor 
and mechanical engineer, equally prominent as an expert tech- 
nician and a successful business man. 

Mr. Wendt is a son of William F. Wendt, Sr., and Louise 
Weichman, and was born in Buffalo June 19, 1862. He was 
educated in the public schools, and while still a boy showed a 



348 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

natural aptitude for mechanics. When seventeen years old lie 
became office clerk for J. C. Austin, proprietor of a ship 
chandlery and boat supply house, where Mr. Wendt remained 
two years, then entering the employ of the Buffalo Forge Com- 
pany. Working at the lathe and bench he gained a masterful 
knowledge of the machinist's trade, and was soon appointed 
Superintendent. In 1888 he was admitted to partnership, and 
upon the incorporation of the Buffalo Forge Company he 
became and has ever since been its Secretary and Treasurer. 
Later the company acquired the ownership of the George L. 
Squier Company, manufacturers of plantation machinery, of 
which concern Henry W. Wendt is Vice-President, Secretary 
and Treasurer, also filling similar offices in the Buffalo Steam 
Pump Company, another industry owned by the Buffalo Forge 
Company. Both as an executive and a mechanical expert, Mr. 
Wendt represents the modern spirit of advancement, and the 
reputation his companies enjoy of being always in line with the 
latest and best manufacturing processes is largely due to his 
ability. He is well-known as an inventor, having been granted 
patents for a number of valuable devices. Mr. Wendt has 
traveled extensively, and enjoys a large acquaintance among 
engineers and other men of science, in this country and Europe. 

Mr. Wendt is a Republican, and an active supporter of his 
party. In 1898-1900 he was General Committeeman for the 23d 
Ward of Buffalo, and in this capacity rendered efficient service. 
He is a Mason of the 32d degree in the Consistory, and a mem- 
ber of Washington Lodge, No. 240; Keystone Chapter, No. 163; 
Lake Erie Commandery, Knights Templar, and Ismailia 
Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. He is a member of the 
Buffalo Builders' Exchange, has , served on its Board of 
Trustees, and belongs to the Ellicott Club and the Orpheus 
SQciety. He attends the Church of the Messiah. 

November 25, 1885, M^-. Wendt married ; Edith M. Forsyth, 
daughter of Edgar A. and Amy (Stanton) Forsyth of Buffalo. 
Mr. and Mrs. Wendt have two sons, Edgar F., born in 1887, and 
Henry W., Jr., born in 1891. 



MEMORIAIi AND FAMILY HISTORY. 349 

WILLIAM FRANZ WENDT, President of the Buffalo Forge 
Company, is head of one of the largest manufacturing enter- 
prises of its kind in the world, and is a leading personality in 
the business and industrial life of Buffalo. He is the son of 
William Franz and Louise (Weichman) Wendt, and was born in 
Buffalo July 2, 1858. He was educated at Public School No. 32 
and at the Central High School. His first experience in busi- 
ness was as a bookkeeper for R. W. Bell & Company. In 1878 
Mr. Wendt purchased an interest in the Buffalo Forge Com- 
pany, which was organized by Charles F. Brunke and Charles 
Hammelman in 1877, to manufacture the portable forge 
invented by Mr. Hammelman. At first Mr. Wendt occupied 
himself with the financial management of the concern, and 
acquired a sound knowledge of the technical part of the busi- 
ness. The products of the establishment were originally turned 
out by different machine shops, but in 1880 the company 
obtained a suitable manufacturing plant, purchasing from 
Pratt & Co. a building at Broadway and Mortimer streets. The 
concern became widely known throughout the United States 
and Canada, and the demand for its products grew rapidly. 
In February, 1883, the interest of Charles Hammelman was 
purchased by William F. Wendt, and the business was 
continued as before until 1888, when Henry W. Wendt was 
admitted partner. In 3900 the Buffalo Forge Company was 
incorporated with a capital of |500,000; in 1901 the capital was 
increased to |l,000,000, and in 1906 the concern was capitalized 
at 11,250,000. Ground adjoining the plant was bought, and a 
substantial foundry and pattern shops, a storage building and 
machine shops were constructed. In the early period of the 
enterprise if two portable blacksmith's forges a week were 
made, it was thought a good output. Today the establishment 
turns out two carloads a day and more if necessary. The fan 
principle used in the forges has been successfully applied in the 
heating and ventilating apparatus, draught appliances for 
large boiler plants, and equipments for cleaning gases in blast 



350 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

furnaces. The concern also makes heavy railroad forges, high 
pressure blowers, simple and. compound engines and other 
appliances. Sales agencies are maintained in the chief cities 
of the country, with branch oflSces in London, New York, and 
Paris, and a store in Chicago. In 1902, the George L. Squier 
Manufacturing Company wafe purchased, with a view of devel- 
oping foreign trade, and is engaged in the manufacture and 
exportation of sugar, coffee and rice machinery, promising to 
be one of the most important branches of the business owned 
by the Wendt brothers. The Buffalo Steam Pump Company 
was purchased by the Buffalo Forge Company in 1904. The 
plant is in North Tonawanda, and there has been erected and 
added to it three brick and steel fireproof buildings. The 
concern is engaged in the manufacture of steam and fire 
pumps, water works pumping engines and the latter day cen- 
trifugal turbine multiple pumps for high lifts and high heads. 

Mr. Wendt is OAvner of two important trade journals, " The 
American Blacksmith " and " La Hacienda," the latter publi- 
cation being in Spanish. He is a Director of the Citizens' Bank 
and the Western Savings Bank, and is one of the ten men who 
built the first electric railroad from Buffalo to Tonawanda in 
1888. 

In politics Mr. Wendt is a Republican, and one of the leaders 
of the party in Erie County. He took a prominent part in the 
affairs of the Republican League, in the active days of that 
organization. 

Mr. Wendt is a 32d degree Mason and is affiliated with 
Ancient Landmarks Lodge and the Scottish Rite bodies. He is 
President of the G-erman Lutheran Home, a member of Holy 
Trinity English Lutheran Church and of the Buffalo Orphan 
Asylum, and has served as Real Estate Commissioner of the 
German Young Men's Association. 

November 8, 1882, Mr. Wendt married Mary Gies of Buffalo. 
Their children are two daughters, Gertrude Mary, and 
Margaret Louise. 



MBMOEIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



351 



WALTER P. COOKE, of the law firm of Kenefick, Cooke & 
Mitchell, is an eminent member of 'the Erie County Bar, who 
has for the past twelve years practiced his profession in 
Buffalo. In our day, the rapid extension and increasing com- 
plexity of business have led to the identification of lawyers, to 
a greater degree than ever before, with the enterprises of 
industry and finance, and the career of Mr. Cooke, furnishes an 
example in point. Besides carrying on a general law practice 
he is a Director in a number of banking and other corporations. 
He is an able legal practitioner, of conservative character and 
sound methods, and stands high in the esteem of the 
community. 

Mr. Cooke was born in 
Buffalo April 28, 1869. 
After receiving the ele- 
ments of education in the 
Buffalo public schools, he 
entered Buffalo High 
Schwol, where he was 
prepared for Cornell Uni- 
versity, from which insti- 
tution he was graduated 
in 1891. The following 
year he was admitted to 
the bar, and in 1895 
began the practice of his 
profession, later becom- 
ing a partner in the firm 
of Bissell, Carey & Cooke. 
Its successors are Kene- 
fick, Cooke & Mitchell, 
Mr. Cooke's present firm. 
Messrs. Kenefick, Cooke & Mitchell form one of the best-known 
legal firms in this part of the State. They have an extensive 
general practice, and represent as legal advisers a number of 




WALTER P. COOKE. 



352 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

important corporate interests. Though he has not specialized 
his professional pursuits, Mr. Cooke is prominent in railway 
law, and often acts as counsel for estates, and his protection of 
the interests of his clients is typical of the conscientious lawyer 
who realizes to the full the practical responsibilities and the 
ethical obligations of his profession. 

Mr. Cooke. has never sought the honors or emoluments of 
political life. He finds in his profession ample scope for his 
ambitions, and while some of his pursuits belong rather to 
the general field of business than the strictly professional 
province, yet all are in greater or less degree identified with 
the duties of a lawyer. 

Among the positions of responsibility and trust filled by Mr. 
Cooke at the present time, may be mentioned his directorships 
in the People's Bank of Buffalo, the Buffalo General Electric 
Company, the Western Isew York Water Company, the Buffalo 
Abstract and Title Company, the Security Safe Deposit Com- 
pany, the Buffalo & Susquehanna Kailway Company, and the 
Great Southern Lumber Company. He is also a Trustee of the 
Buffalo Library, and Chamber of Commerce, and has served as 
a member of the Board of Managers of the Buffalo State 
Hospital, as President of the Cornell Alumni Association of 
Buffalo (1906-1907), and as Trustee of the Buffalo Homeopathic 
Hospital. In 1905 he was President of the Erie County Bar 
Association. He is a member of the Buffalo, Saturn, Ellicott, 
Countrjr, Park and Liberal clubs. 

A man of courteous, unaffected manners and of genial dispo- 
sition, Mr. Cooke is popular in social life. He possesses in equal 
degree the confidence of his brethren of the bar and of the 
general public. 

• V 

• JOHN LEO SCHWAETZ, President of the Clinton Co-opera- 
tive Brewing Company, and President of the State Brewers' 
Association, is a leading business man and citizen of Buffalo, 
and one of the best-known brewers in the State. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 353 

Col. Schwartz is of German ancestry, being a grandson of 
John Schwartz, Sr., who came from Kutzenhausen, Alsace, to 
America in 1827. He settled in Buffalo, afterward removing to 
Black Rock, where he engaged in garden farming. Later he 
conducted a quarry business, and was proprietor of an inn, in 
Buffalo. 'He became a large real estate owner and was one of 
the leading citizens of early Buffalo. He was an active church- 
man, and took a prominent part in the building of St. Louis', 
and St. Michael's Churches, and was one of the founders of St. 
Vincent's Church, of whose congregation he. was a member at 
the time of his death, which occurred forty years ago. 
The wife of John Schwartz, Sr., was Anna Maria Kuhnmulich, 
whom he married in Alsace. Their children were : John, Jacob, 
Joseph, Katherine (Mrs. George Diebold), Mary (Mrs. Bakert), 
and Caroline (Mrs. Michael Doll). John Schwartz, Jr., was born 
in Alsace in 1820, and in boyhood came with his parents to 
Buffalo. As a boy he worked during the summer months and 
attended school winters. When he grew to manhood he became 
a carpenter and building contractor. He prospered, and later 
engaged in the planing mill business, under the style of 
Schwartz & Eebmann, the firm becoming John Schwartz & Son 
by the admission of John L. Schwartz. John Schwartz, Jr., was 
an active Republican, but never held public offlce. He was a 
staunch supporter of the Catholic Church, and a liberal con- 
tributor to its charities. He married in 1854 Mary A. Kiefer, 
daughter of Anton and Katherine Kiefer. Their children are: 
John L., Joseph A., and Edward A. Schwartz; Mary, wife of 
John C. Lutz; Rose, widow of Harry Smith, and Clara, wife of 
Edward A. Diebolt. The surviving children of a former mar- 
riage are: Mrs. Louisa Knauber, and Mrs. Johanna Thomas. 
John Schwartz, Jr., died in 1877. 

John Leo Schwartz was born in Buffalo, April 13, 1859. His 
early education was obtained at St. Michael's Parochial School, 
and in 1870 he entered Canisius College, where he continued 
three years. At the age of fourteen he became assistant in his 



354 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

father's office, and before he had attained his majority was 
admitted to partnership. With the firm of John Schwartz & 
Son he continued until the concern was dissolved by the death 
of his father,' when Mr. Schwartz became connected with the 
insurance and coal office of Joseph Berlin, with whom he 
remained about a year. In 1879 he engaged in the coal trade on 
his own account, continuing in it till 1890, when he established 
the Star Brewery, his associates being John S. Kellner, Edward 
A. Diebolt and Joseph Phillips. The enterprise prospered and 
the partnership existed ten years, its continuance being marked 
by a wide patronage and an enviable business reputation. When 
the firm was dissolved the brewery was consolidated with the 
Clinton Co-operative Brewing Company. Of this concern, which 
does an immense business, Col. Schwartz is principal owner, 
President and Treasurer. For the last eight years he has served 
as Vice-President of the Buffalo BreAvers' Exchange. He is a 
trustee and ex- Vice-President of the New York State Brewers' 
Association, was for a year its Vice-President, served as Presi- 
dent of the State Association in 1906, and was reelected in 
1907. 

Col. Schwartz is a very active churchman. A charter member 
of the Knights of St. John, of St. Michael's Church, he was 
Adjutant of the Buffalo Regiment, Knights of St. John, under 
Col. Feist and Col. Lanahan, and in 1889 was elected to the 
Colonelcy, which he has held ever since. In 1903 he was 
Adjutant-General with the rank of Brigadier-General, on the 
staff of Gen. Henry J. Werst, Supreme Commander of the order. 
For the last fifteen years he has served as Grand Treasurer of 
the State of New York of the Catholic Mutual Benefit Associa- 
tion. A member of the Buffalo Catholic Institute, he was for 
many years one of its trustees. He belongs to the Catholic 
benevolent Legion, and was a trustee of St. Michael's Church. 
He is identified with the Elks, the Royal Arcanum, the Buffalo 
Orpheus and many social organizations, and is a former Presi- 
dent of the Alumni of Canisius College. He was for several 





£rt^e.^cy^. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 355 

years a member of the Democratic Advisory Committee and 
has served as one of the directors of the Vollisfreund Printing 
Company. 

Col. Schwartz married October 12, 1887, Elizabeth A. Zege- 
witz, daughter of J. Adam and Elizabeth Zegewitz of 
Rochester, N. Y. The children of the union are: J. Raymond, 
Karl, Marguerite, Rudolph, Lauretta, Ilarold and Elizabeth 
Marie. 

WILLIAM CHARLES HOUCK, Secretary of the Pratt & 
Letchworth Company, holds a prominent place in Buffalo's 
industrial and social life. 

Mr. Houck is of German parentage, his father, John Houck, 
having been born in 1827 in Kirchheim, Wurtemburg, 
Germany, where the family had lived for many generations. 
When twenty-five years old John Houck came to America, 
where he followed the stone mason's trade, working on the Erie 
Canal. Ten years later he entered the emi)loy of Pratt & Com- 
pany of Buffalo, remaining with the firm twenty-two years, 
when he retired from business. He is still living in Buffalo, and 
is one of its best-known German-American residents. In 1854 
he married Christina Schutter, daughter of Conrad Schutter of 
Reading, Pa. Their children are: William C, and Christian P. 
Houck of Buffalo; Frederick J. Houck of Rochester, N. Y.; 
Charles F. Houck; Fredericka (Mrs. Otto Fiscus), and Mary 
(Mrs. John Duscherer), both of Buffalo. 

William Charles Houck was born in Buffalo May 28, 1865. He 
attended the public schools and Bryant & Stratton's Business 
College. When about fourteen years old he began work for 
Pratt & Letchworth, with whom he has continued ever since. 
After spending two years in the shops and acquiring a sound 
knowledge of the technical part of the business, he became a 
clerk in the offtce, where he worked his way up through the 
grades of paymaster, local purchasing agent, sales agent and 
sales manager, until in 1901 he was made Secretary, which 



356 MEMOKIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

place he now occupies. As Secretary of the Pratt & Letch- 
worth Company, and in the various other capacities in which 
Mr. Houck has been connected with it, he has made a most 
creditable record. He is a business man of large experience, is 
well informed as to the general conditions of commerce and 
manufactures, and has a comprehensive knowledge of the great 
industry with which he is connected. 

Mr. Houck has long been an active member of the Black Rock 
Business Men's Association, and has had much to do with 
promoting the commercial and local interests of the Black Rock 
district. He is affiliated with Modestia Lodge of Masons, and 
North Buffalo Lodge of Odd Fellows, and is a member of the 
German Methodist Episcopal Church. 

October 22, 1890, Mr. Houck married Mary A. Limburg, a 
daughter of Christian and Slary (Link) Limburg of Buffalo. 
Mr. and Mrs. Houck have three sons, William Limburg and 
Christian Thompson, twins born in 1893, and John Edward, 
born in 1895. 

GEORGE MICHAEL ZIMMERMAN, Comptroller of the 
City of Buffalo, is a man of representative prominence in 
business and civic life. Ever since his boyhood Mr. Zimmer- 
man has been identified with the lumber business, and he is the 
proprietor of one of the largest retail lumber concerns iu 
Western New York. He is a leading Democrat, a progressive 
citizen and a man held in high esteem in the community. 

Mr. Zimmerman comes of sturdy German stock, his grand- 
father, John Zimmerman, having emigrated to America from 
Kapsweyer, Bavaria, in 1832. He married Magdalena Paul, 
who was also a native of Bavaria, and the family of ten chil- 
dren came to this country with their parents, settling in 
Buffalo. John Zimmerman was a carpenter, woodworker and 
farmer. He was one of the pioneer German residents of 
Buffalo, and was widely known there. He died in 1865. George 
Zimmerman, eldest son of John Zimmerman, was born in 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



357 



Bavaria in 1815. He came to America with Ms family, and 
after Ms arrival in Buffalo took up the carpenter's and builder's 
trade. In 1841 he established a lumber yard at Genesee and 
Michigan streets, afterward removing to Pine street, near 
Broadway, where the plant founded by him is still located. He 
also carried on a grocery, continuing actively engaged in busi- 
ness until his death in 1897. He was a man of sterling traits 
of industry and enter- 
prise, and was among the 
most influential German- 
American citizens of 
Buffalo. George Zimmer- 
man married Katherine 
Fischer of Buffalo, who 
was born in Alsace in 
1837. The only surviving 
child of the marriage is 
George M. Zimmerman. 

George Michael Zim- 
merman was born in 
Buffalo April 29, 1854. 
He attended St. Mary's 
Parochial School, St. 
Joseph's College and 
Prof. B a r r e t t's Night 
School, an institution for 
business training. When 
seventeen years old young Zimmerman began work in his 
father's lumber yard. On the death of the senior Zimmerman, 
the son succeeded' him in the lumber business, which he has from 
that time to the present carried on with constantly increasing 
success, maintaining in addition to the principal yard and offices 
in Pine street, a branch in Cypress street. Mr. Zimmerman was 
long identified with the Volksfreund Printing & Publishing 
Company, of which he was Vice-President for six years, also 




GEOEGE M. ZIMMERMAN 



358 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

serving for one year as President. He is a Director of the 
German-American Bank. 

Mr. Zimmerman has all his life been an active Democrat, but 
never held office until January 1, 1906, when he became Comp- 
troller of the City of Buffalo, having been elected to the place 
as Democratic nominee, by a plurality of nearly 5,000. As 
Comptroller, Mr. Zimmerman has given Buffalo a clean, eco- 
nomical and wholly creditable administration of the financial 
branch of the city government. He has instituted many needed 
reforms and has received wide commendation for the efficiency 
of his methods and the sound business principles he has applied 
to municipal finance. 

Mr. Zimmerman is a trustee of the Buffalo German Koman 
Catholic Orphan Asylum, and has served on the managing board 
of that institution for the last ten years. He is also a trustee 
of the United German and French Cemetery Association. He 
is a member of the Knights of Columbus, the Catholic Benevo- 
lent Legion, the Knights of St. John, and the Catholic Mutual 
Benefit Association. He has all his life been a member of St. 
Mary's Church. 

In 1876 Mr. Zimmerman married Agnes Steinmann, daughter 
of Charles and Elizabeth (Gottschalk) Steinmann of Buffalo. 
The children of the union are : George Joseph Zimmerman, who 
is now manager of his father's business; Katherine (Sister M. 
Gerada), a teacher at St. Ann's Parochial School; Clara (Sister 
M. Agnes), of the Convent of the Good Shepherd of Buffalo; 
Anne; Mary Joseph, a student at North East College, Pa.; 
Gerard, Edward and Dolores. 

HON. HARRY L. TAYLOR, County Judge of Erie County, is 
a jurist whose recently attained judicial honors are the logical 
result of high professional standing. Judge Taylor is in the 
vigorous prime of life and has had a career which, in many 
respects unique, is in its essentials characteristically American. 

Both on the father's and mother's side Judge Taylor comes of 



MEMORIAL AND FAMIIiY HISTORY. 359 

families prominent in the pioneer history of Tioga County, N. Y. 

Judge Taylor's grandfather, Ira Taylor, was originally a resi- 
dent of Connecticut. As a young man he came to Tioga County, 
New York. 

Frederick Taylor, father of Judge Taylor, was a farmer and 
lumber manufacturer. He was an influential citizen of Tioga 
County, a man of high character and an energetic worker. He 
married Hannah C. Sairs, a daughter of Leonard B. and Melinda 
(Munson) Sairs. 

Harry Leonard Taylor was born in Halsey Valley, Tioga 
County, April 14, 1866. He was educated in the common 
schools, Spencer Free Academy, and Ithaca High School, from 
which he was graduated in 1884. In the fall of that year he was 
matriculated at Cornell University, and in 1888 was graduated 
with the degree of Bachelor of Arts. During his senior year at 
the University he was elected President of his class, and was 
chosen a member of the Phi Beta Kappa fraternity for scholar- 
ship. He was also one of the speakers in the Stewart L. 
Woodford prize contest for oratorical honors. While at Cornell 
Mr. Taylor was a prominent ball-player throughout his course, 
and for three years was Captain of the University team. 

After his graduation Mr. Taylor taught for some time at 
Shortledge's Academy, Media, Pa. It had always been his 
ambition to become a lawyer, and he entered professional base- 
ball as a means of earning money to pursue his studies. The 
reputation he had gained on the Cornell team caused him to be 
retained by the New York State League, in which he played in 
1889. In the summer of that year he led the League in batting. 
In 1890 he went to the Louisville team, American Association, 
and that year his team won the pennant. In the fall of 1890 he 
entered the Law School at Cornell, and in the spring of 1891 
rejoined the Louisville team. In the autumn he returned to the 
University, rejoining the team in the spring, of 1892. The fol- 
lowing fall he went Isack to college, where he remained until 
graduation in 1893. In June of the same year he became asso- 



360 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

ciated with the Baltimore team. At this time Charles L. 
Hughes, now Governor, was a teacher in the Cornell Law 
School. He advised Mr. Taylor to begin his law practice in 
Buffalo, and the counsel was followed. The young attorney 
soon built up a successful business and continued up to his 
elevation to the bench. 

After coming to Buffalo, Mr. Taylor continued to be identified 
with baseball matters, though not as a player. In 1905 he was 
President of the Buffalo Baseball Club, and during the season 
of 1906 served as President of the Eastern League. 

Upon the election of the Hon. Edward K. Emery to the 
Supreme Court bench, Mr. Taylor was appointed by Governor 
Higgins, County Judge, to succeed him. In the fall of 1907 he 
was duly elected to that office for a term of six years, by a 
plurality of 13,957, running over 5,000 votes ahead of his ticket. 

Always a Republican, Judge Taylor has been known as an 
earnest supporter of his party and a zealous worker in its 
behalf, but up to the time of his appointment as County Judge 
he had never held any public office. 

Judge Taylor has cherished the ties and associations of his 
University days with the spirit of a true son of Cornell. Four 
years ago the Cornell alumni elected him a Trustee of his alma 
mater. He is a member of the University Club of Buffalo, is 
affiliated with Lodge of the Ancient Landmarks, F. & A. M.; is 
a 32d degree Mason and a Noble of the Mystic Shrine, Ismailia 
Temple. 

HON. ORSON J. WEIMERT, lawyer and Assemblyman from 
the 1st Assembly District of Erie County, is a rising young man 
of distinctive ability and force of character, who has by these 
qualities already won a prominent place in the legal profession 
and in public life. As a lawyer he enjoys a large practice and 
has an enviable reputation for acumen and probity. As a mem-, 
ber of the Legislature he has to his credit a fine record of 
achievement, the more notable in view of the fact that he has 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



361 



been so short a time in office. Mr. Weimert is a loyal son of 
Buffalo, and takes an active interest in the progress and insti- 
tutions of the city. 

Mr. Weimert was born in Buffalo in 1878, and gained his early 
education in the public schools. He studied law at Columbia 
University, New York City, and was graduated from that insti- 
tution in 1900, in which year he was also admitted to the bar. 
After spending an 
additional year at Colum- 
bia, pursuing a course of 
special study, he returned 
to Buffalo and engaged in 
the practice of law, in 
which he has met with 
marked success. Recently 
he became associated in 
partnership with Richard 
H. Templeton, imder the 
firm style of Weimert & 
Templeton, with offices at 
Nos. 909-910 D. S. Morgan 
Building. Messrs. Wei- 
mert &■ Templeton are 
among the best-known 
members of the younger 
bar of Erie County, and 
the firm has a desirable 
clientage and an extensive general practice. As a legal prac- 
titioner Mr. Weimert is painstaking and accurate, preparing his 
cases with care and sparing no honorable effort in behalf of his 
clients. Of conservative tendencies, his instincts and acquire- 
ments are those of a sound lawyer, and he stands high in the 
esteem of his professional brethren and the confidence of the 
community. 




ORSON J. WEIMEET. 



362 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Politically Mr. Weimert is a strong Republican, and ever 
since attaining his majority lie has taken an active part in the 
work of his party. In the fall of 1906 he was nominated for the 
Assembly after a spirited contest in the convention against 
strong opponents, and in November of the same year he was 
elected by a large majority, and reelected in 1907. His course 
at Albany has been that of an energetic, aggressive legislator, 
and has been attended by substantial results, conducive to the 
benefit of Buffalo. Thus far his most notable achievement in the 
Legislature has been his successful effort to have a naval corps 
established at the port of Buffalo. This project has been agi- 
tated for several years, but it remained for Assemblyman 
Weimert to give the plan definite shape and to push it through 
to conclusive results. The methods and the outcome furnish a 
fine example of purposeful and persistent endeavor in the field 
of legislation, and the success attained greatly increased the 
Assemblyman's prestige with his constituents and the general 
public. Since taking his seat in the State legislative body, Mr. 
Weimert has served with credit on several important com- 
mittees. For some time prior to his election to the Assembly 
he had filled the post of Republican Committeeman for the 
Third District of the Twenty-first Ward. 

Mr. Weimart is a man who leaves on all who know him the 
impression of a clean-cut, vigorous personality. He is popular, 
and is one for whom may be confidently predicted a future of 
professional success and public usefulness. 

EDWARD J. KINGSTON has long held a place in the front 
rank of Buffalo's solid citizens and successful men. Mr. 
Kingston is one of the leading general contractors of that city, 
and is especially identified with dredging and excavating enter- 
prises together with the building of water mains and submarine 
structures. He is a master of his business and a man of first- 
class executive ability. 

Mr. Kingston is of English and Danish ancestry and comes 



MBMOEIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 363 

of a family whose records have been preserved for many 
generations. The Hingstons are descended from the Danish 
chief, Hengist, who with Horsa fought King Alfred and finally 
received from that king a grant of land in Kent and Devonshire. 
The family name means "son of Hengist." .The Hengistsons 
or Hingstons were 500 years ago a knightly family in Devon- 
shire. When the Civil War broke out in England the Hingstons 
took the Parliamentary side and served under Cromwell in 
Ireland, receiving for their reward a grant of land in County 
Cork, where the branch of the family from which Edward J. 
Hingston sprang made its home. To this line belongs also Sir 
William Hingston, who was Mayor of Montreal, and was 
knighted by Queen Victoria because of his distinguished attain- 
ments as a surgeon. Edward Hingston, father of Edward J. 
Hingston, was a master ship-builder of Dublin, and built some 
of the finest merchant vessels ever constructed in that port. 
In 1843 he came to this country and engaged in the shipbuilding 
business at Thomaston, now Rockland, Me. In 1844 he died at 
the age of thirty-four. He was a man of exceptional ability and 
by his death a career of great promise was cut short. In 1841 
he married Elizabeth Jenkins of Whitehaven, Cumberland, 
England. 

Edward J. Hingston was born at Thomaston, Me., January 
22, 1844. His boyhood and youth were spent in England, and 
he was educated at the National School in Liverpool, where he 
taught school for some time. When eighteen years old he 
returned to this country and settled in Buffalo, where he learned 
the ship-builder's trade. After five years spent in that business 
he became bookkeeper for a well-known firm of Buffalo 
dredgers, and continued in that capacity for ten years. He then 
engaged in the dredging business for himself, forming a part-, 
nership with Arthur Woods, under the firm style of Hingston 
& Woods. This copartnership prospered from the outset, and 
soon gained a leading reputation in its field, executing dredging 
contracts at the principal ports of the Great Lakes and tribu- 



364 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

tary rivers. Among the enterprises with which Messrs. 
Kingston & Woods were identified may be mentioned the 
building of the inlet pier of the Buffalo Water Works, the 
construction of the Lehigh Valley slips at Buffalo, the building 
of water mains for Rochester, Syracuse, Erie, Dunkirk and 
Tonawanda, and large rock removal contracts at Buffalo, 
Dunkirk, Erie, Oswego, Ashtabula, New Brunswick, N. J., and 
Sault Ste. Marie. The firm of Kingston & Woods was dissolved 
in 1902. Ten years before Mr. Hingston had become a member 
of the firm of Hingston, Rogers & O'Brien, which did a very 
successful business and existed till 1903, and he was also a 
partner in Leh & Co., dock-builders. In 1902 the Lake Erie 
Dredging Company was organized, with Mr. Hingston as its 
general manager. The concern carries on a large general 
dredging business, principally at ports on Lake Erie and Sault 
Ste. Marie River. It has successfully fulfilled a great number 
of contracts of important character, involving many critical 
problems of engineering and practical work. It is today one 
of the representative contracting concerns of the Great Lakes 
region. 

In the diverse enterprises with which he has been connected, 
Mr. Hingston has demonstrated that he possesses a superior 
order of administrative ability and executive skill. His tech- 
nical knowledge has been confirmed and amplified by extensive 
experience. He is sound in methods, fertile in resources, and 
is the kind of man who m_ay be relied on to materialize projects 
into results. Mr. Kingston's business pursuits have never 
obliterated the scholastic tastes of his youth, and his leisure 
time is chiefly spent in literary studies. 

Mr. Kingston is a Mason of long standing, having been 
affiliated since 1866 with Washington Lodge, P. & A. M. He is 
H member of the Buffalo and Oakfield clubs, and was for many 
years connected with the Lafayette Presbyterian Church. 

July 22, 1872, Mr. Hingston married Mary E. Rees, daughter 
of Thomas and Hannah (Roberts) Rees of Buffalo. Mr. and 





,<-^ 



-(.' 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTOEY. 365 

Mrs. Hingston have two daughters, Louise, now Mrs. H. A. 
Meldrum, and Genevieve, now the wife of Mr. Clarence 
Spaulding Sidway. 

HOEACE A. NOBLE, senior member of the well-known firm 
of Frank Williams & Company, is one of Buffalo's most sub- 
stantial and most highly respected citizens. Born in Rome, 
Oneida County, New York, October 8, 1841, he is a son of John 
and Harriet A. Noble. Bis education was obtained in the pub- 
lic schools and the Academy at Rome, graduating from the 
latter at the age of 19 years. In 1862, while yet residing on the 
farm, he enlisted in Company C, Fiftieth Regiment, New York 
Volunteer Engineers, in the Civil War, and after serving in 
that company six months was detailed in the Quartermaster's 
Department of the Engineers' Brigade, serving until the close 
of the war, being mustered out in June, 1865. Iminediately 
upon his return from the service he entered the employ of the 
Merchants' Bank of Syracuse, continuing there until the spring 
of 1867, when he removed to Buffalo, and there entered the 
employ of Mr. Frank Willia^is, then engaged in the forwarding 
business. In 1873 the coal business was added to the transpor- 
tation business, and in 1875 the firm of Frank Williams & Co. 
was organized, which has continued to exist to the present time 
and of which Mr. Noble is the senior member. This firm is not 
only one of the oldest in their line in the city, but one of the 
largest, operating three bituminous coal mines, besides pur- 
chasing large quantities in order to supply their extensive 
trade. 

Mr. Noble is a Republican in politics. The only public office 
he ever consented to accept was that of Park Commissioner in 
1904, by appointment of Mayor Knight. Mr. Noble is one of 
the most prominent Masons in the State, and his record is an 
enviable one. Made a Mason in Roman Lodge, No. 223, F. & 
A. M., at Rome, New York, August 19, 1865; affiliated with 
Queen City Lodge, No. 358, of Buffalo, April 7, 1876; made a 



366 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Eoyal Arch Mason in Buffalo Chapter, No. 71, R. A. M., Decem- 
ber 13, 1876; made a member of Buffalo Council, No. 17, R. & 
S. M., November 8, 1877; made a Knight Templar in Lake Erie 
Commandery, No. 20, K. T., March 5, 1877; received the Scottish 
Rite Degrees in Rochester Consistory, I^ebruary 26, 1880; affili- 
ated and was made a charter member of Buffalo Consistory 
about 1890; created Sovereign Grand Inspector-General, thirty- 
third degree honorary member in Supreme Council, September 
17, 1895. He has held the offices of High Priest of Buffalo 
Chapter, 1881-2; Treasurer of Buffalo Chapter, from 1889 to 
date; served as Eminent Commander of Lake Erie Com- 
mandery, No. 20, in 1881-2-3-4; and served as Grand Commander 
in 1895-6. 

March 19, 1867, Mr. Noble vs^as married to Prances A. Wilcox, 
a daughter of Joseph and Panny Jane Wilcox of Rome, New 
York. Their children are: Alma J., Joseph W., and Mary L. 
Noble. 

CHARLES R. BOEZILLERI, M.D., is a Buffalo physician of 
approved skill and high standing, prominent both as a pro- 
fessional man and in civic and social life. A native of Sicily, 
Dr. Borzilleri came to America in liis boyhood and his active 
career has been identified with Buffalo, where he has built up 
a large practice and enjoys the esteem and confidence of the 
medical fraternity and the general public. One of Buffalo's fore- 
most Italian-Americans, Dr. Borzilleri holds a representative 
place among his own people, of whom he is an acknowledged 
leader, and also favorably known and widely popular among 
all classes. He is a zealous Republican and wields a strong 
influence in his party. 

Dr. Borzilleri is the son of James and Josephine Borzilleri 
and was born in Sicily on the 3d of Pebruary, 1873. When 
twelve years old he came with his parents to the United States, 
and the family settled in Buffalo, where Dr. Borzilleri has ever 
since resided. His early education was obtained in the public 



MBMOEIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



367 



schools. As a boy he exhibited marked aptitude for study, and 
his inclination for scientific research was one of the chief 
reasons for his choice of the medical profession. In 1891 he 
began the study of medicine in the Medical Department of the 
University of Buffalo. After pursuing the regular curriculum 
he was graduated with high honors in 1895. Immediately after 
receiving his diploma as 
a physician he opened an 
ofiftce in Buffalo, and ever 
since has practiced his 
profession there. Dr. 
Borzilleri brings to the 
practice of medicine an 
exceptionally strong 
equipment of native 
ability and professional 
attainments. His prac- 
tice is largely among the 
Italian- American r e s i- 
dents of Buffalo, and his 
services are also much in 
request in the general 
community. He is an 
experienced and able 
physician who consist- 
ently adheres to the 
sound scientific and ethical standards of his profession and 
keeps well abreast of its modern developments. With his pro- 
fessional colleagues and with the public his reputation is of the 
highest. One of the most notable of Dr. Borzilleri's public 
activities were his services as sole founder of the Italian 
Hospital established in 1907. 

A staunch Eepublican, Dr. Boi'zilleri is President of the 
Central Italian Eepublican League and has a powerful influ- 
ence with the Italian Republicans of Buffalo. He organized 




DE. CHABLBS E. BOEZILLEJII. 



368 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

and was President of the Young Men's Military Society, and is 
also identified with the I. C. I., a college fraternity. In matters 
relating to the welfare of Buffalo he has always shown the 
spirit of a progressive citizen. He is a trustee of the American 
Savings Bank, an active member of the Chamber of Commerce, 
takes an especially important part in the movement to ensure 
for Buffalo a better water supply system, and is equally inter- 
ested in the furtherance of harbor improvements. 

Dr. Borzilleri attends the Church of St. Anthony of Padua. 

On April 10, 1902, Dr. Borzilleri married Emily C. Klein, 
daughter of the late John H. Klein and Mary Bletzer Klein of' 
Buffalo. They have two daughters, Eleanor, born March 23, 
1904, and Josephine, born March 16, 1906. 

CHAKLES AUGUSTUS DOLSON, Deputy Attorney-General 
of New York, is one of Buffalo's leading lawyers. Mr. Dolson 
is a sound practitioner, an accomplished advocate, and is 
recognized as one of the foremost trial lawyers in Western 
New York. 

The Dolson family came from Holland, the name being for- 
merly Van Dolson, and is traceable to the early Colonial 
period. The muster rolls of New York State in the Kevolution 
show that at least six members of the Dolson family served as 
soldiers in the War for independence. Dolson town, in Orange 
County, derives its name from them. 

In 1790 Stephen Dolson, the great-great-grandfather of 
Charles and Edwin L. Dolson, removed from Orange to Bath, 
Steuben County, N. Y. Rev. Stephen Augustus Dolson, grand- 
father, was a Methodist clergyman. His son, Dr. Joseph S. 
Dolson, the father of Charles A. Dolson, was a prominent 
physician and an influential citizen of Steuben County. He was 
a Republican, served as Postmaster at Bath, and held other 
political positions. He was a member of the first Board of 
Pension Examiners in Steuben County. When the Civil War 
broke out Dr. Dolson became Assistant Surgeon of the 161st 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 369 

Eegiment, New York Yolunteers, and during the last two years 
of the war served as Surgeon-in-Chief of the Military Hospital 
at Baton Eouge, Louisiana. 

In 1850 Dr. Dolson married Amelia A. Smith. Through her 
mother, Mary Howland, Mrs. Dolson was descended from John 
Howland, one of the Pilgrims who came over in the Mayflower. 
Mrs. Dolson was one of the earliest women physicians in the 
State. She successfully practiced her profession for forty 
years. Her death occurred in April, 1906. Dr. Dolson died on 
the 10th of July, 1893. They are survived by two sons, Charles 
A., and Edwin L. Dolson. 

Charles Augustus Dolson was born in Bath, N. Y. He was 
educated i'n the public schools of Bath, Temple Hill Academy, 
Geneseo, and the University of Michigan. On leaving college 
he went to Albany, N. Y., as clerk to Senator Gabriel nar- 
rower. Meantime he became a student at the Albany Law 
School. When twenty-one years old he was admitted to the 
bar. Immediately he formed a copartnership with former 
Congressman W. P. Kichardson at Angelica, N. Y. In 1879 he 
removed to Elmira, where he practiced for several years, and for 
a time was associated with Charles D'Autremont, afterward 
Mayor of Duluth and Attorney-General. From Elmira Mr. 
Dolson- went to Hornellsville, where he practiced until he came 
to Buffalo and became associated with George N. Orcutt. On 
the admission of Edwin L. Dolson to the bar in 1890, the 
brothers formed the partnership of Dolson & Dolson, which 
has, with the exception of one year, existed ever since. 

To the duties of his profession Mr. Dolson brought a strong 
equipment of legal learning and native ability. He held a con- 
ceded place as one of the foremost lawyers of Steuben County, 
and was for years engaged in almost every case of large impor- 
tance in that locality. 

In the fall of 1906 Mr. Dolson was appointed Deputy 
Attorney-General. Although the designation was to the Court 
of Claims, the Attorney-General has availed himself of Mr. 



370 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Dolson's experience and ability in the direction and trial of 
important litigations outside of thiat department. 

Mr. Dolson is a member of the State Bar Association, the 
Lawyers' Club of Buffah), the Ellicott Club and the Yacht Club. 

Mr. Dolson married Alice Harman of Andover, Allegeny 
County, N. Y. They have two daughters: Grace Neal Dolson, 
who was educated at Cornell University, later pursuing studies 
abroad at the Universities of Leipsic and Jena. From Cornell 
University she received the degree of Doctor of Philosophy, 
and is now a lecturer on philosophy at Wells College. During 
a two years' visit to Europe she completed a text-book on philo- 
sophical subjects. The other daughter, Elizabeth Harman, is 
the wife of Harry Smith, a well-known official of 'the Gould 
railway systems in the South. They reside at Ridgewood, New 
York. 

THE SANGSTER FAMILY. Since the early '40's the 
Sangsters have been among the prominent families of Buffalo, 
one representative of the stock having been a noted sculptor, 
and another a painter of national fame. 

Hugh Sangster was born in Quebec June 27, 1790. He came 
to Buffalo in 1834, where he engaged in the copper and tin 
trade, and the manufacture of lanterns. He later removed to 
Newark, Ohio, returning to Buffalo after 1840. Here Mr. 
gangster resided till his death in 1876. In April, 1827, at 
Kingston, Canada, Hugh. Sangster married Mary Jane Fisher. 
Mrs. Sangster was born in 1813 and died in 1876. Eleven chil- 
dren were the issue of the marriage. They were: James, Amos 
W., Francis, Mary, Christine, William H., Charles H., Rena, 
John Thomas, Frances, and another child that died in infancy. 

. JAMES SANGSTER was born in Kingston, Canada. As a 
child he came with his parents to Buffalo and was educated in 
the public schools. For some years he worked for his father, and 
then went to New York City, where he spent a year under the 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 371 

instruction of an emin(>nt sculptor, Henry K. Brown. On 
returning to Buffalo Mr, Sangster engaged in the pursuit of his 
art and mechanical engineering, being successful in both fields. 
In 1863 he entered the business of securing patents, which he 
followed alone till 1870, Avhen he formed a copartnership with 
Victor H. Becker, under the firm style of Sangster & Becker. 
Mr. Sangster later continued the business alone till 1897, when 
he associated with him his son, Arthur J. Sangster, under the 
firm name of James Sangster & Co. In politics Mr. Sangster 
was a Eepublican, belonged to Buffalo Lodge, No. 37, Indepen- 
dent Order of Odd Fellows, and attended old Grace Methodist 
Church. 

June 1, 1864, Mr. Sangster married Miss Sophronia Moore of 
Buffalo, who died in 1881. The surviving children of the union 
are: Arthur J., of Buffalo, and Cora S., now a teacher in the 
Lafayette High School. 

James Sangster was a good man, a superior type of citizen 
and a man held in high esteem by the community. Largely 
self-educated, he was all his life earnest in the pursuit of cul- 
ture. He possessed a fine talent for sculpture. 

AMOS W. SANGSTER was born at Kingston, Ontario, Feb- 
ruary 5, 1833. In early life he accompanied his parents to 
Buffalo, and was educated in the public schools there. As a 
Touth he assisted his father in the latter's business, but his 
talent for art meantime found exjjression in wood engraving, 
and in which he did much work for the Courier Company. He 
later devoted himself wholly to art. 

It is a remarkable fact that this accomplished painter and 
etcher was wholly self-taught. In his whole artistic career he 
only received one lesson, and was so dissatisfied that he never 
would consent to take another. A man of independent mind 
and keen observation, Mr. Sangster went to Nature for his 
instruction. His pictures were simple in conception, profound 
in sentiment and finished in execution. In oils, water-colors 



372 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

and etchings Mr. gangster attained equal eminence. In 
addition to their consummate art, the worlis of Mr. Sangster 
have a distinct historic value. To him pre-eminently belongs 
the title of "Painter of the Niagara Frontier," whose grand 
and picturesque scenes he devoted a large share of his life to 
reproducing. He was a particularly strong painter of marine 
subjects. He spent many summers with easel and sketch-book 
at Orchard Park, and he loved to sketch along the shores of 
the Niagara River and Lake Erie. There is scarcely a home in 
Buffalo having pretentions to art culture which does not have 
on its walls a picture or etching bearing his familiar signature. 
For many years Mr. Sangster conducted a studio with the late 
A. N. Samuels. There are few Buffalo artists who have not at 
one time or another studied with Mr. Sangster. He was a 
successful instructor. 

Mr. Sangster was a charter member and first President of 
the Buffalo Society of Artists, and a charter member of the 
Young Men's Christian Association. 

October 13, 1853, Mr. Sangster married Miss Eliza B. Eem- 
ington, daughter of Edwin and Eliza (Kilburn) Remington of 
Buffalo. The only child of the union died in infancy. 

The death of Mr. Sangster occurred on the 23d of April, 1904. 
ARTHUR J. SANGSTER, son of James Sangster, was born in 
Buffalo on the 19th of March, 1869. After receiving a common 
and High School education, he studied law in the Buffalo Law 
School. In 1897 he became associated with his father in his 
patent business, under the firm name of James Sangster & Co. 
Since the death of the elder Sangster, Arthur J. Sangster has 
continued to conduct the business alone. Mr. Sangster is a 
man of large experience, of strict integrity, and is an expert in 
his special field. He commands the public confidence and has 
jnaintained and amplified the business of which he is the pro- 
prietor. 

April 3, 1900, Mr. Sangster married Miss Lulu May Billings, 
daughter of James D. and Cornelia (Squire) Billings of Buffalo; 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



373 



FEANK A. ABBOTT, District Attorney of Erie County, has 
won distinguished success at the bar, whether his professional 
achievements be considered with reference to his present 
official position or in connection with the general field of legal 
practice. As District Attorney it has fallen to Mr. Abbott to 
conduct some of the most important cases with which the 
interests of the people of Erie County have ever been identified, 
and with results alike 
creditable to himself and 
satisfactory to the public. 
As a general practitioner 
he has been equally suc- 
cessful, and he ranks as 
an eminently able all- 
around lawyer, familiar 
both with the intricacies 
of office work and the tac- 
tics of the court-room. 

Mr. Abbott comes of 
New England ancestry, 
being descended from 
Timothy Abbott, a lieu- 
tenant in Col. Samuel 
Herrick's regiment of 
Vermont troops, in the 
Revolutionary War. Seth 
and Sophia (Stark- 
weather) Abbott, the great-grandparents of the subject of this 
sketch, were among the pioneers of Erie County, where they 
came in 1808, and from Seth Abbott the hamlet of Abbott's 
Corners in the town of Hamburg, derives its name. His son, 
Chauncey Abbott, who was born in 1802, married Mary Smith, 
and their son, Seth A. Abbott, born in 1832, was an influential 
citizen of the town of Hamburg and held several offices. In 
1857 he married Euth Ann Perrine, who was born in Jackson, 




FRANK A. ABBOTT 



374 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Mich., in 1840. Their children are: George S., William H., 
Frank A., John P. and Mary E. Abbott. 

Frank A. Abbott was born in the town of East Hamburg, 
Erie County, N. Y., April 14, 1865. He received his early educa- 
tion in the public schools, and in 1886 was graduated from the 
Hamburg Academy, thence entering Cornell University, from 
which he was graduated with honors in 1890. He was the vale- 
dictorian of his class, and also won the Stewart L. Woodford 
prize for oratory, the highest prize offered by the University. 
On leaving Cornell, Mr. Abbott returned to Buffalo, where he 
became a law student in the office of FuUerton, Becker & Hazel, 
and in 1892 he was admitted to the bar. He immediately 
engaged in the practice of his profession in Buffalo, and in 1893 
formed a law partnership with the Hon. John E. Hazel, under 
the firm style of Hazel & Abbott, an association which contin- 
ued until Judge Hazel was elevated to the bench. Mr. Abbott 
then formed a partnership with his brother, John P. Abbott, 
under the firm name of Abbott & Abbott, and this connection 
has existed ever since, the firm having offices in the D. S. Mor- 
gan Building. 

Mr. Abbott has always been an earnest advocate of Demo- 
cratic principles, and soon after attaining his majority he 
began to take an active interest in the higher order of politics. 
When Edward E. Coatsworth became District Attorney, on the 
1st of January, 1903, he appointed Mr. Abbott his First Assist- 
ant, a position which he filled efficiently for three years, ably 
seconding Mr. Coatsworth in his official duties and handling 
many difficult criminal cases. Apart from the importance of 
the services performed, the experience of these years was of 
peculiar value to Mr. Abbott as furnishing a discipline for the 
more arduous responsibilities he was ultimately to assume. 
♦ When the Erie County Democratic Convention met in 1905 it 
became clear that Mr. Abbott was the logical candidate for the 
District Attorneyship, and his unanimous nomination was fol- 
lowed by his election by a substantial majority, over a strong 




Rff^vS^zu-Hh^^c^^ 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 375 

opponent. As District Attorney Mr. Abbott has handled the 
momentous interests committed to his charge with dignity 
and vigor, tempered by a strict sense of justice and an accurate 
appreciation of the maxim that impartiality is as important as 
zeal in the fulfillment of the duties of a public prosecutor. He 
has proved as fearless as energetic, and in no instance has per- 
sonal influence or any consideration other than that of conso- 
nance with the obligations of his office and the welfare of the 
public, ever been permitted to become a factor in his course oi 
action. He has conducted his cases with masterly ability, 
which notably manifested itself in his prosecution of the Neff, 
Gibson and Jackson cases, wherein convictions were secured in 
the face of many difficulties. 

Though Mr. Abbott's official and professional duties are 
necessarily of an absorbing character, he is not remiss in the 
social part of life. He is actively interested in the Masonic 
fraternity, being affiliated with Ancient Landmarks Lodge and 
Hugh de Payens Commandery, Knights Templar, and he is a 
member of the University and Independent clubs of Buffalo, the 
Buffalo Yacht Club, the Orpheus Singing Society and the Phi 
Delta Theta college fraternity. 

In 1902 Mr. Abbott married Jane L. Drake, daughter of Capt. 
Marcus M. Drake, deceased, of Buffalo. Their children are: 
Frank Addison, Jr., Elizabeth D., and Alice L. 

EGBERT W. POMEEOY, son of Theodore M. Pomeroy of 
Auburn, N. Y., was born February 24, 1868, educated at the 
public schools of Auburn and Yale University, graduating in 
the class of 1891. Later he entered the Harvard Law School, 
graduating in the class of 1895. 

Upon graduation from the Harvard Law School, Mr. 
Pomeroy married Miss Lucy Bemis of Cambridge, Mass., and 
after a few months of travel located at Buffalo, serving for two 
years as clerk in the law office of Eogers, Locke & Milburn. He 
then opened his own office and has since continued an independ- 



376 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

ent practice of business law, devoting much of his time to 
business enterprises. With the city's commercial and financial 
institutions, he is closely identified, being a trustee of the 
Fidelity Trust Company, a member of the board of directors of 
the Buffalo General Electric Company, the Edward Elsworth 
Company, the Natural Food Company of Niagara Falls, the 
Buffalo Abstract and Title Company, the Eastern Oil Company, 
the Buffalo Mines, Limited, Buffalo Belting and Weaving Com- 
pany, Buffalo Coated Paper Company, Adirondack Fire Insur- 
ance Company and President of the New York and Buffalo 
Audit Company. 

Mr. Pomeroy is active in club life of Buffalo, and identified 
with several charitable institutions. He has served as Presi: 
dent of the Country Club, Vice-Dean of the Saturn Club, Secre- 
tary of the Buffalo Club, and is a member of the University and 
Ellicott clubs, as well as of the Yale Club and University Club 
of New York City. He is Vice-President of the Charity Organi- 
zation Society of Buffalo, a member of the Board of Trustees 
of the Buffalo General Hospital and of the Buffalo Fine Arts 
Academy, which he has served as Secretary. He is also identi- 
fied with church work, being President of the Men's Club of 
the First Presbyterian Church and a Trustee of Mount Hermon 
Boys' School at East Northfield, Mass. Mr. Pomeroy served as 
a member of the New York State Commission of the Jamestown 
Ter-Centennial Exposition by appointment by Governor 
Higgins, and in 1907 Mayor Adam appointed Mr. Pomeroy 
Chairman of the Railroad Terminal Commission of Buffalo, a 
position in which he is now serving. 

DAVID R. MORSE, the veteran financier who passed away 
January 27, 1908, was for more than a quarter of a century 
identified with the Erie County Savings Bank. In his eighty- 
'eighth year, Mr. Morse was the official head and the directing 
spirit of the largest savings institution in the State, outside of 
New York City. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 377 

David R. Morse came of Puritan stock. He was able to trace 
his ancestry eight generations to Samuel Morse, who came to 
this country in 1635. ' John Morse, son of Samuel, had a son, 
John, who had a son, Ezra Morse, who was the father of Deacon 
Seth Morse, a member of the Guilford Volunteers during the 
Eevolution. Among his sons was John Morse, who lived at 
Moody's, Conn., and was the father of David Morsfe, grandfather 
of the subject of this sketch. David Morse was born in Guil- 
ford, Conn. He married Lucy Norton, and settled at Norton 
Hills, Greene County, N. Y., later removing to Greenville, N. Y. 
During the Eevolution he served in Capt. Hand's Company of 
Col. Talcott's Eegiment, and later joined the Coast Guards. 
He was the father of Simeon, Martin, Beulah, Asher, and David 
Morse. Asher Morse, father of David E. Morse, was born in 
Guilford, Conn. In early life he was brought by his parents to 
Norton Hills, N. Y., where he married Anna Eeynolds. Origi- 
nally a currier by trade, he became a farmer, settling after his 
marriage on a farm at South Westerlo, in Albany County. He 
carried on tanning and later built and operated a large saw- 
mill and flour mills. He was a Whig in politics, and a member 
of the Presbyterian Church of Greenville, N. Y. He was the 
father of three sons, George, Charles, and David E., and five 
daughters, Delia, who became the wife of William M. Shepard; 
Mrs. Hulda Savage; and Lucy, who became the wife of Lorenzo 
B. Shepard, of the famous law firm of Parsons & Shepard of 
New York; Mrs. Maria Wyatt, and Mrs. Susan Bobbins. 

David E. Morse was born October 14, 1819, at South 
Westerlo, Albany County, N. Y. He was reared on his father's 
farm, and attended the primitive schools of that day. When 
fourteen years old, he secured a clerkship with George Eeed, 
who besides carrying on a store was engaged in the forwarding 
business at Coxsackie, and operated a line of market sloops 
between that place and New York. Here he remained for three 
or four years, making his home with Mr. Eeed's family. Young 
Morse's environments were very pleasant, the Eeeds being a 



378 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

family of high, standing. Mr. Morse through aJl his long life 
remembered his first employer and his household with 
peculiar pleasure, as the influences of the Eeed home were 
wholesome and inspiring, and undoubtedly their paternal 
training aided much in molding the strength of character and 
the correct habits of living that distinguished Mr. Morse's 
entire career. At the close of his period of employment in 
Coxsackie, Mr. Morse went to New York, where he worked as a 
clerk in a dry-goods store for five years. In 1843 he came to 
Buffalo, bringing with him a stock of dry-goods. He opened a 
store in Main street, where he remained in the dry-goods trade 
till 1850, when he sold out to engage in the ship chandlery 
business. Through this venture he soon became interested in 
the ownership of lake A'^essels. In 1865 Mr. Morse practically 
withdrew from all business except the care of his extensive 
vested interests. In 1879 he was elected a trustee of the Erie 
County Savings Bank, and on May 7, 1884, he was elected Vice- 
President. In 1889 he was chosen President, and was serving 
his eighteenth year in that ofl&ce at the time of his death. 

Essentially a business man, politics played a very minor part 
in Mr. Morse's life. In 1878 he was, however, pursuaded to 
become a candidate for Alderman, chiefly to forward certain 
important public interests. He was elected and served one 
term from the old 10th Ward. Some years later he was elected 
a trustee of Forest Lawn Cemetery, and for several years was 
President of the board, finally resigning of his own choice. 
During this period Mr. Morse did much toward making Forest 
Lawn the beautiful spot it is today. He was also one of the 
founders of the Falconwood Club on Grand Island, incorporated 
in 1879, and he and the late Dexter P. Rumsey became sole 
owners of the property. 

, Mr. Morse was married in 1845 to Elizabeth G. Miller, 
daughter of Capt. William T. Miller, an old settler of Buffalo. 
Mr. and Mrs. Morse celebrated in 1907 their 62d wedding anni- 
versary. Their children were: Jennie, who married Walter T. 



MEMOIUAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 379 

Wilson, and had issue of Walter Morse; Gertrude, the wife of 
Eev. Mr. Littell, and Margaret J.; Charles M., the only son, is 
the well-known efficient city engineer of Buffalo, and Anna, 
deceased in 1908, was the wife of Samuel Ames of New York. 
For many years Mr. Morse had been an influential member and 
a trustee of the First Presbyterian Church. 

David E. Morse was a man of unusual equanimity of tempera- 
ment. His mental alertness to the last was phenomenal. One 
of his striking intellectual qualiflcations was his power of 
accurately estimating real estate values, his judgment therein 
having been infallible, and he was one of the ablest real estate 
experts of Buffalo. Mr. Morse's personal appearance corre- 
sponded with the qualities and career of the man. He was a 
venerable and in some respects picturesque figure. His fresh 
complexion indicated him to be a much younger man than he 
was, but his silver white beard gave a suggestion of the patri- 
archal. His manner was full of quiet dignity and easy charm. 
Everything about him. bespoke the gentleman of the old school. 
He was probably the finest example in Buffalo of an old age at 
once beautiful and beneficial, of length of days crowned with 
honor and of intellectual strength undiminished by the march 
of years. 

CHARLES MILLER MORSE, Engineer, Commissioner of the 
Department of Public Works, of Buffalo, head of the municipal 
Bureau of Engineering, is a man of varied and thorough pro- 
fessional acquirements, and a substantial and representative 
citizen. 

Mr. Morse was born in Buffalo January 11, 1854, and is a son 
of the late David R. Morse. He attended private schools in this 
city, graduated from the Classical School of Prof. Horace Briggs 
and attended the Scientific School of Yale University, where 
for two years he pursued a special course in mechanical engi- 
neering. After leaving the University, Mr. Morse became 
employed on the preliminary survey of the Buffalo & James- 



380 MEMOEIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

town Eailroad. Later he engaged for several years in engi- 
neering field work, being connected with the U. S. survey in 
this locality and along Lakes Erie and Ontario. About 1874 he 
entered the Brooks Locomotive Works at Dunkirk, there 
serving an apprenticeship at the machinist's trade. He then 
entered the employ of the Erie Eailroad Company in the motive 
power department at Susquehanna, Pa. Beginning as a 
journeyman machinist, he became a draughtsman, and later 
locomotive inspector, in charge of repair shop construction 
work. In 1881 he became Superintendent of the Crown Point 
Iron Company, at Crown Point, N. Y., and in 1882 located in 
New York City, where for several years he successfully carried 
on the private practice of engineering. 

Keturning to Buffalo in 1889 he opened offices in the Erie 
County Bank Building, and has since continued. He is also 
senior partner in the Buffalo Engineering. Company, engaged in 
general engineering and contracting. 

January 1, 1902, Mr. Morse was appointed Deputy Engineer 
Commissioner, a position he still holds, having charge of all the 
city engineering. He is a member of the American Society of 
Mechanical Engineers, the American Society of Civil Engineers, 
the Engineers' Club of New York City, a life member of the 
Young Men's Association, a member of the Society of Natural 
Sciences and the Buffalo Yacht Club. 

In December, 1890, Mr. Morse was united in marriage to 
Kathleen Edgar of Easton, Pa. 

HON. LOUIS PECHTEK is a Buffalonian distinguished in 
public life and successful and prominent as a business man. 
As Senator, Mr. Fechter has served the State with signal capa- 
bility and zeal, and in the business world ranks as a man of 
, exceptionally large experience and sound practical sagacity. 
Mr. Fechter is a native of Germany, coming of families which 
for many generations have lived in lower Alsace, on the Rhine, 
where he was born in 1851, a son of Louis Fechter, a farmer. 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



381 



and Madalena Fix. As a boy young B^echter received an excel- 
lent education at private schools in his native village of 
Cherreedern. 

In 1871 he came to 
America. Settling in 
Buffalo, he was connected 
for a number of years 
with the operating de- 
partment of the Lake 
Shore R. E. In 1877 he 
engaged in the flour and 
feed business, and later 
established a rendering 
works in East Buffalo, 
where he built up a large 
and successful business in 
the face of trust oppo- 
sition. He sold out in 
1893, and later became 
connected with the 
Buffalo P"'ertilizing Com- 
pany, with which he has 
ever since been identified. 

He is President of the Fechter-Ellicott Agency, dealing in real 
estate and insurance, is a large owner of valuable real estate 
holdings on the East Side, a section in whose development he 
has borne a prominent part, and President and General 
Manager of the Minnehaha Mining & Smelting Company, which 
owns gold-mining properties in the Canadian Northwest. 

From early manhood Mr. Fechter has taken an active inter- 
est in politics, and fourteen years ago, his political aflaiiations 
being at that time with the Democracy, he opposed the Sheehan 
machine for election as Alderman of the old Eleventh Ward. 
He fairly won the nomination in the Democratic caucus, but 
by fraud and violence was deprived of the Democratic candi- 




LOUIS FECHTER. 



382 MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

dacy. Solicited to run on an independent ticket, he was elected, 
receiving a majority of 132 in a ward which was normally 
Democratic by 800 votes, and served two years. In 1904, when 
he was nominated for State Senator by the Republican Conven- 
tion of the old 48th Senatorial District. To -Mr. Fechter belongs 
the honor of being the only Republican who ever carried that 
district. He was elected by 116 plurality in a district that had 
usually returned pluralities of from 2,500 to 3,000 for the 
Democratic candidates. Mr. Fechter served in the Senate in 
1905 and 1906, and declined a renomination for the office. 
While in the Senate he introduced and was instrumental in the 
passing of the bill doing away with the fee system in the office 
of Superintendent of the Poor, thus saving this county from 
|6,000 to |7,000 a year, and was the means of passing other 
valuable reform measures for Erie County. It was he who 
introduced the bill lowering the price of illuminating gas in 
Buffalo, but this salutary measure was defeated by corporate 
interests. Senator Fechter served on the Committees of Public 
Health, Commerce and Navigation, as well as on other impor- 
tant committees of the Senate. Throughout his Senatorial 
career his record was conspicuously that of an honest and 
efficient legislator, and he left the Senate with the confidence of 
his associates and constituents and the respect of his 
opponents. 

Mr. Fechter is a member of the C. M. B. A., and served for 
several years as its representative in Grand Council and the 
Central Council. He belongs to the Teutonia Liederkranz and 
St. Agnes Parish of the Roman Catholic Church. 

In 1874 Mr. Fechter was married to Mary T. Gehlweiler of 
Buffalo. They have five children: Louis Fechter, Jr., who mar- 
ried Julia Fritz of Alden, N. Y.; Joseph Fechter, who married 
iAnna Heibach of Buffalo; Charles, Frank, and Mary F'echter. 

THE WEBSTER FAMILY, from which several prominent 
families derive their lineage, is descended from John Webster, 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 383 

who with Agnes, his wife, came from Warwickshire, England, 
to Hartford, Conn., via Massachusetts, about the autumn of 
1636. John Webster was one of the most prominent men in 
early New England. He was among the first settlers of Hart- 
ford, was elected Lieutenant-Governor of the colony in 1655, 
and Governor in 1656, and held many other offices. He died at 
Hadley, Mass., April 5, 1661. Among his descendants were 
Daniel Webster, the statesman, and Noah Webster, the lexi- 
cographer. His son, Eobprt, was the father of Jonathan, whose 
son, Stephen, was the father of Timothy Webster, father of 
Eeuben. George B. Webster, son of Eeuben, was born Sep- 
tember 8, 1796. He was married twice, his first wife having 
been Maria Marsh, and his second, Hannah Joy. The children 
of his first marriage were : George Clemm Webster, who married 
Sarah Verplanck of Buffalo, and Julia, who married George L. 
Newman of Buffalo and had one child, Jane Ellen. The chil- 
dren of George B. Webster by his second wife were: Hannah, 
who married John C. Stephenson of Buffalo; Jane, who married 
Edward S. Dann; and Catherine, who married Charles J. Arm- 
strong of Buffalo. The children of George Clemm Webster are : 
George B., Julia, Laura, and Grace. Those of John and 
Hannah (Webster) Stephenson are: George, Thomas, Jennie, 
Helen, John, Webster, Edward, Bessie and Seymour. The chil- 
dren of Edward and Jane (Webster) Dann are: Edward Web- 
ster Dann, Walter Joy Dann, Jesse Chase Dann, and Jennie, 
the wife of the Eev. Thomas Archbald, a clergyman of the 
Presbyterian Church, formerly of Scranton, Pa. 

GEOEGE BUELL WEBSTEE, who for the past twenty years 
has practiced law in Buffalo, is one of the leading lawyers of 
that city. Mr. Webster has a large clientage and represents 
many important corporate and individual interests. 

Mr. Webster was born in Buffalo March 8, 1859, and was edu- 
cated in the public schools, the State Normal School at Buffalo, 
and the Heathcote School. When fourteen years old he entered 



384 MEMOKIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

the Treasurer's office of the Buffalo, New York and Philadel- 
phia Railroad, where he remained four years. He then became 
a student in the law office of Bowen, Rogers & Locke, continuing 
with the firm two years. He then entered as managing clerk 
the office of Bass, Cleveland & Bissell, with whom he remained 
till 1883, being in 1880 admitted to the bar. In 1883 Mr. Web- 
ster was appointed to a position in the Capitol Commissioner's 
Department at Albany, and continued there until October, 1886, 
when he returned to Buffalo, where he opened an office for the 
practice of law. He built up a very successful business and 
continued to practice alone till 1893, when he formed a law 
partnership with Devoe P. Hodson, under the firm style of 
Hodson & Webster. This association was dissolved in 1899, 
and from then to the present time Mr. Webster has practiced 
without a partner. Mr. Webster has, as a general rule, con- 
fined himself to civil business with special reference to real 
estate and corporation law, in which branches he is an author- 
ity. He devotes himself mainly to office practice, and has won 
an enviable reputation as a sound and well-read lawyer, a safe 
adviser, and a practitioner of acumen and skill. 

In 1873 Mr. Webster enlisted in the 74th Regiment, N. G. 
N. Y., and in 1879 he joined the 65th Regiment, of which he 
was later promoted Sergeant-Major, holding that office till he 
went to Albany in 1883, when he resigned. While a member of 
the 74th Regiment, Mr. Webster served with credit during the 
railroad strikes of 1877. 

Mr. Webster is greatly interested in the Society for the Pro- 
tection of Birds, Pish and Game, and is a member of its Board 
of Managers. He is a member of the Erie County Bar Associa- 
tion, the Historical Society, and the Sons of the American 
Revolution. He is active in the Masonic fraternity, being 
affiliated with Ancient Landmarks Lodge of Masons and with 
Buffalo Consistory. He belongs to the Buffalo Club, and is a 
member of Ascension Church of Buffalo. 

June 27, 1883, Mr. Webster married Agnes Jeannette Ovens, 
daughter of Walter S. and Anna M. Ovens. 




WU^^'i /C. 




MEMORIAL AND FA:\riLY HISTORY. 385 

FRANK L. BAPST is a principal factor in several of the 
leading engineering and contracting companies of Western 
New York, is prominently identified with manufacturing enter- 
prises, and ranks as one of Buffalo's ablest civil engineers and 
industrial executives. 

Mr. Bapst was born in Buffalo May 22, 1856, being the son of 
Louis Bapst and Elizabeth Bauragarten. His father was a 
native of Alsace, and his m.other was born at Willi amsville, 
N. Y. Frank L. Bapst attended private and public schools in 
Buffalo, later entering the Ilensselaer Polytechnic Institute at 
Troy, N. Y., from which he was graduated in 1879 with the 
degree of C.E. On returning to Buffalo he engaged in practice 
as a civil engineer. From 1882 to 1883 he was Assistant Engi- 
neer of the City of Buffalo, and in 1883 and 1884 was draughts- 
man in the City Assessor's office. In 1884 he was tendered the 
Democratic nomination for City Engineer, and though not 
elected, he made a splendid run, receiving about 3,400 votes 
more than the head of the ticket. 

In 1885 Mr. Bapst, in association with P. B. McNaughton, 
inaugurated a general contracting enterprise which, after the 
admission of Charles E. Williams to partnership, in 1892, 
assumed the firm style of Williams, McNaughton & Bapst, a 
concern which rapidly attained a leading position, having 
immense interests in paving and other construction, and 
improvement contracts, and being prominently concerned in 
the abolition of grade and the building of overhead crossings at 
the Terrace, in Buffalo, the work involving problems of engi- 
neering and construction as critical as any ever known in this 
section of the State. Ajnong the many contracts which the 
firm of Williams, McNaughton & Bapst has carried through 
with notable credit should be mentioned a large amount of 
underground work, street railroad and Erie Canal construction. 
In 1890 the German Rock Asphalt & Cement Company (Ltd.) 
was established. This concern, of which Mr. Bapst is General 
Manager, has laid about |3,500,000 worth of asphalt pavements. 



386 MEMOKIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

its average business being approximately |1,000,000 per annum. 
The Bul¥alo Dredging Co., of wliicli Mr. Bapst is President, 
was organized in 1895. It ranks with the leading local enter- 
prises of its kind, and has done more than |3,000,000 worth of 
dredging and other submarine work. Another important con- 
cern of a similar character is the Lake Erie Dredging Company, 
in whose management Mr. Bapst is associated with Mr. Charles 
E. Williams. This company does an average business of 
|T00,000 a year and among its noteworthy achievements are 
its improvement work at Sault Ste. Marie, under Government 
auspices, and its deepening of the Niagara Kiver channel 
between Buffalo and Tonawanda, at a cost of f 300,000. This 
concern also did over 14 miles of work under the |9,000,060 Erie 
Canal appropriation. 

Another notable contracting enterprise is the Buffalo 
Expanded Metal Company, which Avas organized in 1898 with 
Mr. Bapst as First Vice-President. Its specialtj^ is fireproof 
construction in expanded metal and concrete work, and the 
concern is doing a business of over half a million dollars yearly. 
The Continental Engineering and Contracting Company, in 
which Mr. Bapst is associated with Charles B. Williams and 
others, has its headquarters at Montreal, Canada, and is 
engaged in elevator and dock work. It has successfully carried 
on much heavy concrete construction for the Canadian Govern- 
ment and has built a large elevator for the Canadian Pacific 
Eailroad at Fort William, Ontario. Mr. Bapst is Vice-Presi- 
dent of the Babcock Electric Carriage Company, a Director in 
the Buffalo Crucible Steel Company; a Director in the German- 
American and the Columbia National Banks, and a member of 
the Chamber of Commerce. 

;Mr. Bapst has always been a thoroughgoing Democrat and 
Iiis valuable services to his party received marked recognition 
when, in January, 1898, he was elected Chairman of the Demo- 
cratic County Committee of Erie County, a position which he 
continued to hold for three terms, and whose duties he per- 



MEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 387 

formed witli rare efficiency and skill. He has often been chosen 
a delegate to State conventions, and was a delegate to the 
Democratic National Convention of July 4, 1900. 

Mr. Bapst is prominent in several fraternal bodies, being a 
32d degree Mason, a member of Ismailia Temple, Nobles of the 
Mystic Shrine, and a member of the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks. He also belongs to the Buffalo, Ellicott, and 
Country clubs. 

In August 1903 Mr. Bapst married Ida M. Mathews of Elmira, 
New York. 

HENEY ZIPP, serving his second term as Councilman, is an 
ex-President of the board, and has held important appointive 
positions. Councilman Zipp is a man of business as well as 
political prominence, and ranks as one of the solid men of the 
community. 

Henry Zipp is a native of Germany, his family having come 
to America from the Duchy of Nassau. Mr. Zipp was born on 
the 4th of September, 1341, his father being Peter Zipp, and his 
mother's maiden name being Elizabeth Hecker. 

Henry Zipp supplemented the excellent schooling he received 
in Germany by attending the public schools of Buffalo for two 
years. He then clerked in grocery stores until he was eighteen 
years old, when he entered D. Clinton Hicks' Commercial Col- 
lege, from which he graduated. During his last year in college 
he acted as assistant to the faculty, and as an expert accountant 
in outside business. 

He later successively became a bookkeeper in the Buffalo 
office of the Salt Company of Onondaga for two years; H. A. 
Frink, for three years, and Wallace Johnson. 

In 1869 Mr. Zipp engaged in the flour and feed business for 
three years, then engaging in the sewing machine business for 
five years. He then established his present coal business, 
located since 1899 at 285 Swan street. Mr. Zipp has been a life- 



3§8 jMemoki.vl and pajmily histoiIy. 

long Democrat. He has always taken a keen interest in the 
success of his party, and in public welfare. In 1892 Mayor 
Bishop appointed Mr. Zipp a member of the Board of Park 
Commissioners. At the second sessioii of the Board he made a 
successful fight against the plan which had been agreed upon 
by the Board to sell the Parade Ground. As the outcome of 
Commissioner Zipp's energetic opposition, the Parade Ground 
instead of being sold was improved, and is now one of the most 
valued parts of the Park system. In all cases Mr. Zipp showed 
the utmost zeal and the best of judgment in the work of 
improving the city's parks. 

In 1895, Mr. Zipj) was nominated for Councilman. Only three 
of the Democratic nominees were elected, Mr. Zipp being one. 

When Mr. Zipp first took his seat he was one of a Democratic 
minority of three, the other six members being Republicans. 
In his third year the Board showed its appreciation of Mr. Zipp 
by unanimously choosing him for President. In the fall of 1899 
Councilman Zipp declined a renomination. In 1905 he was 
again elected for a term of four years, which he is now serving. 

In 1903 Mr. Zipp was appointed by Mayor Knight a member 
of the Board of Civil Service Commissioners, serving one and 
one-half years. 

The public career of Councilman Zipp has been of a distinct- 
ive kind. No official has shown himself more solicitous of the 
people's interests. He is a man who forms his own opinions, 
acts on his best judgment, and holds himself responsible to no 
power but the public Avhose well-being he consults. 

Mr. Zipp is interested in the Evangelical Lutheran St. John's 
Orphan Asylum, at Sulphur Springs, Erie County, and has 
served as its Trustee and Treasurer for a number of years. For 
more than ten years he has been Treasurer and Trustee of St. 
John's Evangelical Lutheran Church. He is now Trustee and 
Treasurer of the German Deaconess' Home and Hospital of 
Buffalo. He is a 32d degree Mason, being connected with 
Harmonic Lodge F. & A. M. He is also a member of the ]\lasonic 



atEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 389 

Hall Association and is Trustee and Treasurer of that body, 
being also a Trustee of the Masonic Life Association of ^^"estern 
New York. He was a Trustee of the Union Bank when that 
institution was in existence, and since 1890 has served as 
Trustee of the Western Savings Bank. He is a member of the 
Saengerbund Singing Society, and is also connected by life 
membership with the German 'i'oung Men's Association. 

June IT, 1869, Mr. Zipp married Miss Emily Haller, a daugh- 
ter of Martin and Katherine Haller of Buffalo. They have two 
sons living, George Zipp, who is a bookkeeper in the 'Western 
Savings Bank, and Albert Zipp, who is associated witli his 
father in business. 

HON. DANIEL JOSEPH KENEFICK, former Justice of the 
Supreme Court, now of the law firm of Kenefick, Cook & 
Mitchell, is eminent in public and professional life and has won 
forensic and judicial honors early in his career. 

Mr. Kenefick was born in Buffalo on the 15th of October, 1863, 
and is a son of Michael and Mary (O'Connell) Kenefick, both of 
whom were born near the city of Cork, Ireland. They came to 
this country in the later '50's and settled in Buffalo, where they 
were married. After attending Public School No. 4 in Buffalo, 
Daniel J. Kenefick entered High School, from which he gradu- 
ated in 1881. He then entered the law office of Crowley & 
Movius, pursuing his legal studies with that firm and their 
successors, Crowley, Movius & Wilcox. October 16, 1884, he was 
admitted to the bar. He engaged in his profession in Buffalo 
and had entered with success upon the initiatory period of 
practice when on the 1st of January^ 1886, he was appointed to 
a clerkship in the Law Department of the city. He held the 
position a year, resigning at the beginning of 1887 to accept the 
appointment of Second Assistant District Attorney under the 
late George T. Quinby. In this office he continued for five years. 
January 1, 1893, he was appointed First Assistant District 
Attorney. When Mr. Quinby resigned the District Attorney- 



390 JIEMORIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

ship in the fall of 1894, Gov. Flower chose Mr. Kenefick to fill 
the unexpired term. The same year he received the Republican 
nomination for District Attorney and was elected by a large 
majority, taking office in 1895. In 1897 he was reelected and 
served until he was appointed to the bench. While District 
Attorney Mr. Kenefick gained a high reputation as a capable 
official and an able trial lawyer. He had served the first year 
of his second term as District Attorney, when, on the 30th of 
December, 1898, he was appointed by Governor Black to fill the 
unexpired term of Supreme Court Justice Hamilton Ward, 
deceased. Judge Kenefick entered upon the duties of the bench 
on the 1st of January, 1899. In the fall of that year he was 
nominated by the Republican Judicial Convention for Justice 
of the Supreme Court, and was elected for a term of fourteen 
years by a plurality of 25,000. During his term of service he 
performed the duties of his office with impartiality and perfect 
probity, and showed excellent judgment as well as sound 
knowledge of the law. 

In June, 1906, Martin Carey, the senior member of the law 
firm of Bissell, Carey & Cooke, removed to New York City. 
Judge Kenefick was invited to fill the vacancy. He consented, 
and on his resignation from the bench the firm became Kene- 
fick, Cooke & Mitchell, its personnel consisting of Daniel J. 
Kenefick, Walter P. Cooke, James McC. Mitchell, and Lyman 
M. Bass. This firm continues the succession of one of the most 
famous law firms of Western New York. Many years ago it 
was Bass, Cleveland & Sicard, the late George J. Sicard 
becoming one of the members. This association was succeeded 
by Bissell, Carey & Cooke, the predecessor of the present firm, 
which is one of the leading law partnerships of Buffalo and 
enjoys a very large general practice, both as counsel for 
important interests and in the trial of civil cases. 

Mr. Kenefick is one of Buffalo's representative Catholic lay- 
men, and is a member of Holy Angels' Parish and of the Knights 



MBMOKIAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 391 

of Columbus. Among social organizatious lie belongs to the 
Buffalo and Saturn clubs. 

June 30, 1891, ]\Ir. Kenefick married jMa.vsie Germain, 
daughter of Victor and Ella Germain of Buffalo. Their chil- 
dren are: Daniel, born in 1892, and Theodore, born in 1898.