(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Cumberland County history"






(1.13 



lie-C^l .>f{J^^.-^- - / ■? 71. -/ 'l Ti= 










H 

















■C^^t^ yv^JZ-' 







CUMBERLAND 
COUNTY HISTORY 



Compiled by 

THE CUMBERLAND COUNTY 

HISTORICAL & GENEALOGICAL 

SOCIETIES OF ILLINOIS 



The Cumberland County Historical 

and Genealogical Societies of Illinois 

Greenup, Illinois 

Printed in the United States by 
Taylor Print Shop, Olney, 111. 62450 



PREFACE 



As a part of our celebration of the Sesquicentennial Year 
of the State of Illinois, the Cumberland County Historical and 
Genealogical Society of Illinois voted to produce a history of 
our county since 1884. In that year the Battey volume of the 
history of Cumberland, Jasper, and Richland was published. 
In 1885 our courthouse burned and practically all county re- 
cords were lost. 

Since the 1884 book had so ably presented the early his- 
tory of our county, we decided to go on from 1884, trying to 
bring our story up to date. We beg your forbearance for not 
producing a complete history of all organizations and individ- 
uals. From the time of the first meeting held in the county 
giving instructions regarding the writing of the family stories, 
we have been begging for someone in each family represented 
in the 1884 story, to bring their family up to 1968, Many have 
responded, many have not. As a result, since our workers 
are all volunteers, we have only a partial history which is "the 
result of arduous, unremitting, and conscientious labor" onthe 
part of the contributors. 

Our sincere thanks go to the people who contributed their 
information, and to those who typed, indexed, and assembled 
the material to be printed. We hope that it will prove to be of 
interest and value to future generations. With our best wishes 
we present this treasured information of the past. 



III 



Contents 

Towns and Townships 1 

Business • • 67 

Churches 90 

Schools 125 

Organizations 147 

Military - 164 

Bits 196 

Biographies 213 

Pictures ^^^ 



IV 



TOWNS AND TOWNSHIPS 

THE HISTOBY OF HAZEL DELL 

The village of Hazel Dell, as noted in an earlier History 
of Cumberland County, was platted in 1866, having been a 
small settlement of pioneers for more than twenty years pre- 
viously. In the late Forties and early Fifties, mail was being 
brought in by horseback over a route from Neoga to Oblong, 
and delivered at the cabin home of John Duvall, one and one 
quarter miles south of the present town site. 

Back East in Boston, a young music teacher, George F. 
Foot, began writing songs and ballads, and soon people in 
Illinois were singing his latest, "Hazel Dell". Now when the 
need for a post office in the conamunity became urgent, and 
the charter was being prepared in Washington, D. C. and they 
required a name, what was better than Hazel Dell. In this way, 
says the local legend, the new town got its name. The first 
Post Master, John Duvall, was succeeded by P. B. Meeker, 
pioneer school teacher and father of a well known family in 
earlier days. Mr. Meeker lived in a three room cabin on the 
south west corner of the crossroads north, and the Post Office 
was moved to that location, the present site of Hazel Dell. 

As with thousands of towns all over our country, hope for 
growth and future prosperity rested in the railroads. In 1882 
the Danville, Olney and Ohio Biver Railroad completed laying 
its rails in this part of Illinois, as far south as Olney, and 
trains carrying passengers, express, inail, and freight of all 
sorts hummed through the village. In the Nineties and the first 
decade of the twentieth century two passenger trains and a 
freight whistled in and out daily. Merchandise for the various 
establishments was brought in by rail, while hay, grain, live- 
stock, eggs, poultry, and cans of cream, the products of the 
neighboring farms, were shipped out to the city markets. 

Business was lively enough that soon the community re- 
quested that a rural mail route be set up, out of Hazel Dell. 
This request was granted, by the postal authorities, and oper- 
ated for many years. 

The village of Hazel Dell reached its peak of activity from 
1890 to 1916, At that time, the business section consisted of 
three general stores, a hardware store, a millinery store, a 
furniture store, a bank, two restaurants, a hotel, a barber 
shop, a harness shop, a shoe repair shop, a blacksmith, 
an undertaking establishment, at one time a coffin shop, a 
doctor's office with sometimes two doctors, a veterinarian, a 

-1- 



feed store with a n:iill, a depot>and a livery stable. This say- 
ing held true for the little village that "you could be born, live, 
and die without leaving your own community. " 

Around 1864 a Union Church was built in Hazel Dell. Var- 
ious church denominations held their services here. The 
Church of God people left the Union Church in 1890 and put up 
a new building across the street. At a later date the Christian 
denomination became the owners of the Union Church. Today, 
this church is known as the Church of Christ, Now in 1968, 
both churches have new modern buildings with active congre- 
gations. 

The first school building in Hazel Dell was, supposedly, a 
log one. In 1877 a one room brick building was put up; this 
served the community until 1949. At that time ten rural schools 
consolidated and put up a five room building. Now this building 
has the four lower grades and is a part of the Casey Unit, 

At an early date charters were granted to three lodges, 
namely, Odd-Fellows, Modern Woodman and the Masonic Order 
with their auxiliaries. Around 1912, the Odd-Fellows and Mo- 
dern Woodman discontinued their lodges. The Masonic Lodge 
was moved to Yale, Illinois in 1946, but it still bears the name 
of Hazel Dell Lodge, and in October of 1968 it will be one hun- 
dred years old. 

These memories of various happenings of the little village, 
in the old days of its activity, are still very vivid in the minds 
of the older citizens yet today. Some of these memories are 
recalled in the following paragraphs. 

Both old and young residents enjoyed the band concerts of 
the Hazel Dell Band. These concerts were given from the 
band stand which stood just back of the bank building. Others 
recall the Fourth of July fireworks that were given from this 
band stand; one particular one, in which one man was severe- 
ly burned by the fireworks going off unexpectedly. 

The arrival of the salesmen, called drummers then, with 
their trunks of goods. At this time the patrons of the stores 
could look over the display of goods and have their merchant 
place orders for his selection of goods. 

The old hitch rack also played an important part in the 
village. Here on a busy Saturday, you would find many horses^ 
hitched to many types of conveyances, tied at the rack. 

In early spring the roads would become extremely muddy. 
One very wet season, a deep mud hole appeared in the center 
of town. People liked to place the blame on the road commis- 
sioner, so one night, some of the citizens placed an effigy of 

-2- 



the commissioner in the miud hole, to the effect, that some- 
thing be done about the roads. 

The young people never lacked entertainment, for the win- 
ter months brought sleigh rides, ice skating on the creek or 
the ponds, square dancing, box supper and spelling bees in 
various schools, and street parties and picnics at the rivers in 
the summer months. 

Other people like to recall the pleasant peal of the bells over 
the country side. On a Sunday it was always a joy to hear the 
two church bells and to be able to distinguish the sound of your 
own church bell. Throughout the week, on a still morning, you 
could hear as many as five school bells ringing out over the 
country side. Now the modern buildings have no bells so this 
is just a sweet memory of sounds that linger on. 

Fires swept through the little village in 1925 and in 1937 
taking out two sides of the business section; these buildings 
were never replaced. The coming of better roads caused peo- 
ple to be attracted to other trading centers, so today, all that 
remains of the once active little trading center is one general 
store, a blacksmith and welding shop and the Post Office. 
Around a hundred people reside in Hazel Dell where you will 
find a good school and two active churches. Though the towns 
may have passed on to memories, you will still find the same 
warmth and friendliness among the people, as in the days of 
old, and readiness to give a helping hand in a time of misfor- 
tune. 

Business people and the type of business they were in. 



Harve Sanford 
Guy Card 
Bert Taggart 
Dupree Bros. 
Waldo Vickery 
O. H. Mohler 
Joe Ault 

Marvin Huddlestun 
Shadley Company 
Nelson Luke 
Victor Burnett 
Charles Barkley 
John Gore 
Joe Richardson 
Michael Kelly 



General Mdse, 



Mort P oan Blacksmith 

Pete Jackson (colored) " 

Jesse Finney 

Farl Huddlestun 

Williami Hawker 

Edward Cline 

Howard Hawker 

John Gore Barber 

Edwin Dunn 

Tom Kelly 

Myron Snyder 

William Douglas 

Paul Inskeep 

Paul Luke 

John Sample Banker 



Alva Mitchell General Mdse, 

John N. Kelly 
Jim Chapman 

Early B. Meeker 
B obert Finney 
Audrey Finney 
Charley Bowman 
Ira B agon 
Carl Ragon 
Russell Glidewell 
Herman Duvall 

Link Flint Restaurant 

Roche Applegate 

Alva Carlin 

Charles Kilborn 

James Lansbery 

Hulah Barr 

Garrett Ragon 

Grant Whitmore 

Harold Matteson 

Ray Chapman 

Wiley Decker 

RoUa Duvall 

Louise Bradford 

Isaac Timmons 

Clarence Durham 

Win Shadley Hotel 

George Sullivan 

Jim Chapman 

John Underwood Shoe Repair 

J. Bartley Cook 

Win Harrison Depot Agent 

Mort Sturts Furniture &c 

Undertaking 
Peyton Barkley Coffin Shop 
William Henry 



Frank Geffs Banker 
Perry Fouty " 

William Taggart Harness 

Shop 
Alva Jones Hardware 

Dade Clem " 

John Sample " 

Dave Kelly " 

Gas Dillman " 

Powhatan Quinn Drugstore 
Wallace Young " 

Oil Groves Groc, & Soda- 
fountain 
JohnB. Kelly Grist Mill 
Arch Applegate " 

Jim Prentiss " 

Olive Gore Millinery 

John Duvall Post Master 

R. B. Meeker 
Alva Mithell 
John Gore 
Pansy Bowman 
Aleen Welker 
Tom Kelly 
Ira Ragon 
Victor Burnett 
Nelle Barkley 
Cora Glidewell 
Esther Timmons 
Bruce Kelly Rural Mail 

Carrier 
B. F. Little Doctor 
Charles Cochran " 

J. F. Adams " 

W. E. Harris " 

George Thomas " 

Frank Reeds Veterinary 



Written by Lois Burnett and Robertine Keller 



-4- 



THE HISTORY OF CROOKED CREEK TOWNSHIP 

Crooked Creek Township is located in the southeast corner 
of Cumberland County. The township is bounded by the Clark 
County line on the east, Jasper County line on the south, Green- 
up Township on the west, and Union Township on the north. The 
township was officially organized as a township on January 22, 
1861. This township was originally a part of Greenup precinct, 
being one of the last portions of the county to be settled. 

Flowing through the township, we have Crooked Creek, 
which becomes larger as it enters the Embarrass River just 
east of Newton. 

As the settlers moved into this portion of Cumberland Coun- 
ty, they found the country covered with timber land, hazel brush, 
and a dense growth of prairie grass. This prairie grass often 
grew to be six or eight feet high and would sometimes require 
four teams of oxen to break the sod. Around the timber, you 
would find an abundance of crab apples, plums, wild grapes, 
and berries. Wild game was also plentiful. 

The township has always been considered an agricultur,al 
community. Many saw mills sprang up around the timber land 
so in a few years much of it was cleared and became farm land. 
Corn, wheat, oats, and hay became the leading crops. Due to 
the abundance of grass, stock raising became one of the impor- 
tant sources of income. As time went on, the oxen's place at 
the plow was filled by horses and mules. The flour mills, in 
the larger towns, soon took the place of the grist mills which 
had been a necessity in the early days. 

When a farmer wished to sell his livestock, it was neces- 
sary to drive them to a near-by shipping center where they 
were sent on by river or rail. All the products needed in the 
homes, that were not raised on the farms, had to be hauled in 
by wagons; usually, in this area it was from Terre Haute or 
Vincennes since most the settlers were from Ohio, Indiana, 
Tennessee, and Kentucky. 

The old Palestine trail crossed Crooked Creek Township 
from the southeast to the northwest. This trail was used by 
most early settlers, for the land office was located in Pales- 
tine; there they were able to secure their deeds for their land 
purchases in this area. Along this trail was a* store, where 
the post riders left the mail for the various families living in 
the southeast part of the township. At this location is where 
the old settlers claim the first Hazel Dell post office was 



The village of Hazel Dell was platted in 1866, at its present 
location, two miles west of the Clark County line and two miles 
north of the Jasper County line. This village is the only town 
in the township. (The history of the town will be given in anoth- 
er write up. ). 

The Danville, Olney and Ohio Biver Railroad came through 
the township, having a station in Hazel Dell. (The history of 
the railroad will follow in another story. ) 

From 1861 to 1865 Crooked Creek township furnished its 
share of soldiers for the Civil "War. Our quota has equally been 
filled in all of the later wars. Each Memorial Day over one hun- 
dred heroes graves are decorated in the two cemeteries in Hazel 
Dell. 

In 1864 a union church was built in Hazel Dell. Previo^^s to 
that time church services had been held in vario>^s school houses 
including the Washington School. The Church of God in Hazel 
Dell was built in 1890, then the union church was turned over to 
the Christian denomination, later to be known as the Church of 
Christ. 

When the school system was laid out for the township, por- 
tions of land was set aside for the schools. Eleven schools were 
finally built in the township. These schools served the area for 
many, many years. The attendance in some of the schools be- 
came so low that it was necessary to combine some attendance 
centers. In 1949 ten rural schools consolidated to form the 
Hazel Dell Unit, but before a new building was put into use, they 
became a part of the Casey Unit. All of the rural schools were 
sold, but a few of the buildings still reinain on their original 
sites. 

The roads laid out in the township were dirt roads for many, 
many years. Each year when the spring thaws came they be- 
came almost impassable. People often cut poles putting them 
across the mud holes, thus when you rode across you had an ex- 
tremely rough ride, which led to the name of "corduroy roads. " 
During Gov. Len Small's term of office, two bond issue gravel 
roads were built through Hazel Dell, Later, Eoute 49 came thr- 
ough the eastern portion of the township. 

By 1900 many changes began to take place in farming, al- 
most all the farms had a small strip of sorghum cane, in order, 
to cut down on the expense of buying sugar. Many sorghuin 
mills sprang up through out the township. Tractors came into 
use around 1914 this gave the farmer a chance to farm more 
acreage. Later the farmers began to experiment with lime to 
fertilize the soil and this let to more production per acre. 

-6- 



Some of the crops that have yielded well in the township are broom 
corn, soybeans, alfalfa, red clover, wheat, sweet clover, and now 
hybrid corn. We have seen the old horse drawn machinery and 
the steam threshing machine become antiques as the new modern 
machinery brings forth a new world for a new generation. 




r-^^a**!;^' 



r 



CARNEGIE LIBRARY, GREENUP 
The Museum is located in the basement 



-7 



UNION TOWNSHIP 

Union township is situated in the northeast corner of Cum- 
berland County, consisting of about fifty-three square miles. 
It is bounded on the north by the Coles County line, on the east 
by the Clark County line, on the south by the Crooked Creek 
Township line, and on the west by Greenup and Cottonwood town- 
ship lines. The west boundary is very irregular and in some 
places the Einbarrass Biver is the boundary. 

The surface is mostly level, fertile, farm land with hills 
and woodland along the river and streams. When the early set- 
tlers came they found prairie grassland and woodland. Believ- 
ing that the grass land would not grow crops they settled along 
the river and streams. Another reason for settling along streams 
was the need of wood for building their homes and for firewood. 
The Embarrass River on the west side of the township cuts its 
way in and out of Union and Cottonwood Townships in different 
places and comes well into Union at Sconce Bend, the only place 
where the river flows to the north. Clear Creek empties into 
the Embarrass farther south. Opossum empties into Hurricane, 
Knight Branch into Range Creek, and Ruffner Creek flows south 
into Crooked Township where it empties into Birch Creek. These 
streams furnished the early settlers fish for food and now more 
than one hundred years later many people still enjoy fishing in 
them. 

Union township is principally an agricultural region. The 
agriculture of the area has changed much in the last 100 years. 
This area produced lots of timothy and redtop which was one 
of the best horse and mule feed available. At that time horses 
were raised and sold. Red clover was included in the meadows 
for cattle feed. The hay was cut and stacked in June or July, 
then baled with a horse baler, (later gasloine engines were used 
on balers) and stored in barns. Some hay was stored in the barn 
loose using a hay fork attached to a rope running through pulleys 
in the hayn^ow. A horse on the other side of the barn walked 
the distance it took to pull the hay up into the mow where it was 
released from the fork. Much of the baled hay was hauled to 
railroad cars in the fall and shipped to other parts of the country. 
Casey, just across the line in Clark was once the largest hay 
shipping center in the United States and much of the hay came 
from Union Township. Hay was also shipped from Vevey Park 
and a crossroads station in Crooked Creek Township. The first 
settlers broke some of the prairie with crude plows and oxen. 



The main crops were oats, wheat, and corn. Oats and wheat 
were cut with binders and shocked then threshed. Some men- 
tion should be made of the threshing rings. After the wheat, 
oats, and timothy had cured in the shock the threshing machine 
would come through the area to thresh the grain or seed. There 
were regular rings or groups of farmers that worked together 
year after year. Steam engines were used for running the thresh- 
ing machine. The machine men, one for the engine, one for the 
separator, and the water man, who hauled water for the steam 
engine, stayed over night where they were threshing. They had 
to get up early and start a fire in order to get up steam in time 
to start the day's threshing. It took a crew of ZO or 30 men to do 
the threshing. The bundles of grain had to be brought in from 
the field. This required six to ten bundle wagons depending on 
how far they had to haul it. Then there were four or five pitchers 
to load the bundle wagons. Three to five box wagons were needed 
to catch the grain from the machine and take it to the granary. 
Often there was an extra man or two to help unload the wagons 
for the grain had to be scooped by hand. 

Things were just as busy around the house because this 
hungry crew would have to eat. They didn't go to town and eat 
the restaurant. When someone worked for you.he ate with you. 
The neighbor women would assist in getting the dinner. Each 
lady usually tried to set a better table than her neighbor. Each 
group ate in shifts. When the table was filled that was the first 
table; then others ate at the second table, third table and so on 
until all had eaten. The women ate last and then ti took hours 
to get the dishes washed and the kitchen cleaned. The threshing 
in one community might take two or three weeks and was quite a 
social affair. The man running the threshing machine usually 
called the schedule as the ladies needed to know when to have 
dinner ready. Unless something broke or vv'ent wrong allwent 
well as predicted. The man would say "early dinner at one place 
or late dinner at another place. " He knew who fed light and who 
set the best table. Sometimes two ladies would be preparing 
dinner the same time as they didn't always know just when the 
crew would arrive. The coming of the combine makes the thresh- 
ing ring just a memory. 

This Township is in the area of Illinois that produced lots of 
broom corn. This required hand work in the harvesting and pre- 
paration for market. With the scarcity of labor and more mech- 
anization the growing of broom corn has been discontinued. The 
cutting of hay and hauling it away reduced the fertility of the 
ground very much. Corn yields got down to 15 to 25 bushels per 



acre and wheat made 12 to 15 bushels per acre. Limestone, Phos- 
phate, and potash was added and now corn makes 150 to 200 bushel 
per acre and wheat has made 60 bushels or better in good years. 
Commercial fertilizers and modern farm machinery make Union 
Township farming a big business today as in other parts of the 
state. In the last 25 or 30 years soybeans has been added as one 
of the main crops and today with certified seeds and the fertilized 
soil thousands of bushels of soybeans, wheat, and corn and hauled 
to the elevators in nearby towns each year. Since the R.E.A. 
brought us electricity in the 1940's most of the farm homes of 
Union Township have been remodeled and made modern and many 
new homes built. The homes throughout the township today would 
be quite a contrast to those of fifty or seventy-five years ago. 
In addition to the grain farming in the township many hogs and 
cattle are raised with modern facilities for feeding and watering. 
V^ry few farmers raise poultry today. 

When the settlers began coming into this area as in all others 
there were no roads; only Indian and animal trails. These they 
used and soon other trails were made from one home to another 
usually across the prairie. After the county was divided into town- 
ships in January 1861 and a township government was set up. Union 
had a board of three "Commissioners of Highways. " The township 
was divided into twelve districts with an "Overseer of Highways" 
for each district. Each overseer was responsible for a few miles 
of roads. According to the to"wn records, "Each able bodied man 
above the age of 21 years and under 50 years old is to work on 
the highways within their respective district two days and all Real 
Estate is to be taxed 10 cents on each 100 dollars worth as valued 
on the assessors book of last year, " New roads were laid out by 
an application describing the proposed road signed by twelve legal 
voters living within three miles of the road. This petition was 
posted a number of days before acted upon by the Commissioners 
of Highways who personally examined the road proposed and 
granted the petitioners permission to lay it out. The roads were 
good only when dry then they were very dusty. Everything was 
hauled by team and wagon. A man with a small family had a buggy. 
Others had a carriage or surrey, which had two seats. The buggy 
and carriage were equipped with side curtains and a storm front for 
use in cold or rainy weather. Some had a sleigh for use when 
there was ample snow. The bobsled was used for the family and 
for hauling things. Bobsled parties were great fun when a group 
went together in one sled to a church meeting or to a party or a 
social gathering of some sort. The wagon and buggy wheels made 
deep ruts when the roads were muddy. Sometimes the wheels 

-10- 



went into a hole hub deep. At the turn of the century (1900) very- 
few roads were improved. They were merely graded and the 
holes filled with dirt using a team and a scraper. The roads 
were dragged by horse power. Then men could work on the road 
with a team and apply this to his taxes. 

When cars began to appear they were no good in mud. Some 
of the main roads were graveled. Union Township was fortunate 
in having large deposits of gravel. This was hauled out pit run 
for use on the roads. The gravel was hauled with horses and 
wagons equipped with a gravel bed. The gravel bed was made 
in pieces so it could be taken apart to unload the gravel. Many 
of the farmers had gravel wagons and spent several weeks haul- 
ing gravel between the time their crops were laid by and time 
for har\est. Gravel was found in large deposits near the creeks, 
The farmer who owned the land received pay from the township 
road fund for the gravel. It was paid for by the "yard". Gravel 
wagons were made to hold 11/2 or 1 1/3 yards. When the gravel 
was wet that was about as much as a team of horses could pull out 
of the pit. Sometimes the men had to help each other by putting 
two teams together to pull out a heavy load. Gravel pits were 
found on farms of William Short, Marvin Lawyer, Sanford Fitz- 
patrick, Jake Walters, and others. While hauling gravel from 
the Walters pit skeletons were found in the bank or ridge run- 
ning out from the eastern hills of Hurricane Creek. They were 
hurried about four feet below the surface. They were believed 
to be Indian skeletons, or people of a prehistoric age. 

It was several years before washed gravel was produced. 
Today there are 3 gravel pits in Union Township producing washed 
and graded gravel for roads, building purposes, concrete mix, 
and sand for building purposes. The A, B.C. Gravel Pit east of 
Route 130 on the Union Center road operated by A. B. Cutright, 
TheGreenup Gravel Pit west of Route 130 at the Jones corner 
operated by the Casey Stone Co., and Urban Sand & Gravel Co. 
managed by Darrell Owen located just across the road from 
the Greeni p Gravel Pit. 

Oil was discovered in Union Township m 1905. J. W. Siggins 
had come into this area in 1904 and leased some land and this 
field is known as the Siggins Pool, The production was from two 
breaks in the Pennsylvania Sand series, usually referred to as 
the upper and lower Siggins Sand. Shallow wells were drilled to 
this upper sand found at an average depth of 290 feet and an aver- 
age thickness of 30 feet. The oil produced is a dark green color. 
Power stations were set up to pump the wells in small areas. 
Shackle rods ran out in all directions from powerhouse to the wells 

-11- 



This was a rather haphazard pattern of 9 wells to each 40 acres 
or 440 feet between wells. Some of the wells were pumped while 
others rested. By alternating this way it didn't require as big an 
engine for power. When the wells were drilled everything was 
hauled and moved by horse power. This oil production helped 
the economy of the area very much. It was difficult to farm a- 
round the shackle rods and these fields remained in grass when 
possible and were used for hay and pasture. In 1942, a water 
flood was undertaken by the Forest Oil Corporation in the Siggins 
Pool. This was the first attempt of flooding in the state. Water 
wells were drilled between the oil wells and water was placed in 
the ground to force the oil out. Today electric lines are run to 
the wells for power. The shackle rods and old power houses are 
gone, another thing of the past. 

Union Township has never had a village big enough to really 
be called a town as we think of a town today but there have been 
four small villages or trading centers for the farmers of the sur- 
rounding areas. 

Diona is located on the Coles and Cumberland County line one- 
fourth mile west of Ro.te 130, part of it being in Coles County 
and part of it in Cumberland County. In the days of the Star Poute 
the Post Office was located here and cared for by M. P. Neal and 
his daughter Mamie Neal Haddock. They performed the duties of 
Post Master in conjunction with their grocery and general store. 
There was an Undertakers establishment here run by Mr. Haddock, 
However in those days a business of this kind was just a place 
where you could go and buy a coffin. The body was cared for in 
the home by friends and neighbors and services were held in the 
home. Gustie GTl operated a millinery store, along with other 
wearing apparel for women, beads, ear rings, and jewelery for 
the well-dressed ladies. There are at least eight sites where 
stores were built and operated, though not all at the same time. 
Fire destroyed two of these buildings and the contents; the first 
belonging to StuU Brothers and the other belonging to Ernest 
Stanberry. A furniture sliop was also located in this fair city 
and furniture was made and sold to many of the older residents. 
Diona was a place where you could sell turkeys, geese, ducks, 
chickens, eggs, cream , and butter providing the butter was put 
up in one pound molds. These products could be exchanged for 
almost any household article including boots, shoes, men's 
shirts and overalls, along with groceries and bolt goods where 
a woman could buy herself a dress for 35 cents. Calico sold 
for 5 cents a yard and 7 yards would make most women a dress. 
A little distance south of Diona was a grist mill where the farmers 

-12- 



could take their wheat and exchange it for flour and their corn 
and have it ground into meal. You could also buy bran and shorts 
for livestock. These two items were about the only commercial 
feeds sold then. Near the grist mill was a large saw mill. Here 
much of the timber that grew on the surrounding farms was made 
into lumber. Many of the logs were hauled by ox teams. At the 
north edge of town a pair of scales and pens were located where 
the farmers drove their hogs and cattle to be weighed and deliv- 
ered to the stock buyers who invaded the territory around Diona 
now and then. The buyer went from farm to farm and purchased 
directly from the farmer; then the farmer delivered it to these 
pens at a specified time. At one time Diona had three doctors' 
offices here; Dr. Franklin, Dr. Btler, and Dr. O'Conner. 
Other doctors came here and practice a while and moved on. 
For years Diona was never without the blacksmith shop. One 
day the road was filled with dogs near the blacksmith shop and a 
fight broke out aiTiong them. This sent dog ow^ners scurrying to 
the scene to break _ip the disturbance and, when quiet had been 
restored, Uncle Johnnie Stallings stepped up in the door of John 
Muncie's Blacksmith Shop and shouted. "Hurrah for Dogtown. " 
This legend claims this was the way this burg got its name "Dog- 
town. " The government never did change the name of its Post- 
office, but the town was "Dogtown" from then on. At the south 
edge of Dogtown a switchboard was installed in the home of 
John and Alice Haddock and this became the main office of the 
Diona Mutual Telephone Company; the exchange being operated 
by Mrs. Haddock, while Mr. Haddock operated a watch and 
clock repair shop in their home. Diona was also the scene of 
more than one Pole Raising and Political Speaking in campaign 
years. No medicine show or colored minstrel show ever missed 
Dogtown. Today all that is left to mark the place of this once 
busy burg are two old store buildings. One houses an Antique 
Shop (open only part time) and the other, an old brick building, 
probably one of the earlier buildings here, with the Masonic 
Lodge Hall above it that houses Hutton Lodge #698. The lodge 
still meets regularly. This brick structure was probably built 
by P. H. Smith who operated a store here in the building and 
later moved to Toledo the County Seat of Cumberland County^ 
where he became one of the leading merchants of the County. 
Others who have operated stores here are; Lee Rodebaugh, Mr. 
Ault, Mr. McCuUom, Jim Phillips, Oscar Haddock, John C. 
Tipsword, John W. Tipsword, Harry Tipsword, Mark Neal, L. D. 
Rothrock, Mr. Abernathy, Frnest Stanberry, Robert Outright, 
Herman Reed, F:gene Lawyer, and Wayne Henderson. There 

-13- 



niay have been others. 

Maple Point is located on the Union Center road east of 
Route 130 about 11/2 miles or about half way between Route 
130 and Union Center. Peter Kahn came to this place from 
Ohio in 1883 and bought a farm from John A. Stull. Soon after 
he started a grist mill to serve the people in this locality. He 
also had a molasses mill where people could bring cane to have 
made into molasses and most farmers raised a small patch of 
cane m those days to have for their own use. Henry K^^hn, a 
son of Peter worked in Jennings' store at Union Center; then 
deciding he'd like a store of his own sold a cow and started a 
store in Maple Point in 1909. While he had the store he ran a 
huckster wagon. On certain days he loaded the wagon with 
merchandise from the store, hitched the horses to the wagon 
and started out stopping at the homes in the neighborhood. The 
hov sewife knew which day the huckster woJd be by her house 
and she had her eggs and butter ready to trade for groceries, 
household articles and other things she might want from the 
wagon. She might even sell the huckster some chickens. It has 
been told that Mr. Kuhn carried a large tub in his wagon to put 
eggs into. When the housewife brought the eggs out in a bucket 
he could pour the eggs from the bucket into the tub without break- 
ing an egg. After about eight years m the store business Mr. 
Kuhn closed his store and began another occupation. In the 
early 1900 's George Kuhn, a brother of Henry, and David 
Darling had a sawraill just north of the store. Later George 
and another brother, Tom, operated a grist mill. Not too 
long after Henry closed the store, he rented the building to Al 
Darling who operated a store. Later George operated the store 
paying his brother Henry $4 a month rent for the building. He 
kept the store here until he built a building of his own on a dif- 
ferent location. Maple Point, too, has a nickname, "Kuhntown, " 
getting this nan::ie from the family who came here and started 
the businesses that have been here. George's son Clifford and his 
wife Merl still have a general store at "Kuhntown. " John C. 
Tipsword once operated the store here, too. 

Union Center is located near the center of the township where 
the Greenup Mail Route running north and south crosses the Casey 
Mail Route running east and west. Some of the residents here 
have received mail on both routes. Union Center is the polling 
place for the township and election day is always a big day here. 
In the horse and buggy days many people came and stayed all day 
on election day. Usually a Ladies A d from one of the churches 
near by prepared dinner to serve hoping to make a good profit. 

-14- 



With the electioneering, visiting and excitement it was almost 
like a picnic. We have not been able to find the exact beginning 
of Union Center. Oliver Cutright says his father had the first 
store here. Others tell us that they have heard that Union Cen- 
ter is as old as Chicago, As in Diona the early store bought 
chickens, turkeys, eggs and cream from the farmers and sold 
them feed, kerosene, groceries, hardware and clothing. All 
the produce purchased from the farmer had to be hauled to town 
in a wagon where it was put on a railroad car to go to the market. 
When the wagon returned it brought merchandise to the store 
which had come by train from Terre Haute, St. Louis or a whole- 
sale house in some other town. The wagon had to go all the way 
to Casey or Greenup, which took a long day and many times into 
the night getting there and back. The roads were either muddy 
or dusty. When the roads were bad it sometimes took four horses 
to pull the load. There have been many stores in Union Center 
in many different locations. Several have burned. There have 
been as many as three here at one time, a blacksmith shop, a 
barber shop, a millinery store, and during one summer an ice 
cream parlor. In the 1880's the first store we find on record was 
that of P. W. Edwards which he started in 1876 although we know 
there were stores before that time. Mr. Edwards was appointed 
Post Master in 1881. The mail was hauled from Charleston in a 
wagon by Mr. Hall. From here he v/ent on to Greenup with mailj 
returning the next day with mail from Greenup, then on to Charle- 
ston. Later Lee Jenkins made a trip to Greenup daily by wagon 
and brought the mail to the post office in Union Center. After 
Mr. Edwards died his wife sold the store to Frank Jennings, who 
moved it across the road and a little south on the northeast corner 
of the cross roads. Mr. Jennings was also the post master. This 
store and post office burned. Other who have had stores here are; 
John Kuhn, John White, Ora Jobe, Jim Grissom, (the Jobe and 
Grissom stores both burned) Roy Lacey, Amos Redman, Alia 
Posecrans, Royal and Nelson Luke, (this store burned) Tom Yana- 
way, James McMillan, then Luke brothers again. This time it was 
Nelson and Allen. At this store you could buy everything froni 
needles and pins to rocking chairs and washing machines . We 
always bought our footwear here. In the spring you had your choice 
of white canvas or black patent leather, "baby doll" or plain 
strap with buckle or bow on the toe. In the fall for school it was 
ankle top shoes in black or brown, button or lace. Yanaways and 
McQueen had a store at this time too and about 1920 Luke's sold 
out to them. Allen retired and Nelson went to Hazel Dell and 
started a store. In 1921 this store burned. That same year 

-15- 



Anson Carver and his niece Effie Roberts started a small store. 
Then Robert and Daisy Cutright came to the other building and 
there were two stores once more. After Effie married, she and 
her husband Vern McMillan ran the store. Later Herman Reed 
and Amos Cutright ran this store, whil^ the McMillans were 
gone, for three years. Amos and Thelma Cutright had another 
store; then Ira and Marion Kuhn had one. The McMillans 
stayed until 1963 when they retired. Today there is no store. 
Soine of the inen who had a blacksmith shop were: Rob Wright, 
Mr. Ewell, Mr, Murphy, and John Bland. Doctors were: Dr. 
Duncan, Dr. Parks, Dr. Jones, Dr. Roberts, Dr. Paxton and 
Dr. Hokum. There may have been others. Mrs. Parks had a 
millinery store in her house and also sold sewing machines. 
Mrs. John Bland had a millinery store in this same house la- 
ter; this is the house where Mr. and Mrs. Vern McMillan now 
live. Later Mrs. Docia Hill had a millinery store in herhouse 
farther west. After the coraing of the automobile, the black- 
smith shop was no longer needed and Al Darling started a garage. 
Only a few years ago Ralph Handley had a welding shop. Accord- 
ing to the old record book of town records the town meetings 
were held m "Union Schoolhouse" from 1861 to 1869, which 
leads us to believe that there might have been a schoolhouse 
here at one time. No one knows for sure. The present town- 
house was b -ilt during the 1890s. It has been used for many 
purposes besides town meetings and a polling place. Reli- 
gious groups of different faiths have held many meetings here. 
In the first part of 1900 Sunday School was held here on Sunday 
afternoon. Being Non-denominational was held in the afternoon 
so people from the other churches around c:oald coine after their 
own services in the forenoon. Children Services were held many 
summers. Sometimes they were inside the building and some- 
times a platform was built on the outside and the program held 
outside. Farm meetings, club meetings, and various kinds of 
entertainment have been held here. In campaign years two or 
three meetings were always held when the township, county, 
and state candidates came to speak. There was always a 
crowd when there was a meeting at the townhouse. The grove 
behind the townhouse has also been the scene of picnics, fami- 
ly reunions, and various social meetings. E\-ery year we 
looked forward to the coming of the "Big Tent" medicine show 
which stayed a week and drew a crowd with the "Most Popular 
Girl Contest. " The Woodmen' had a lodge hall just east and 
north of the townhouse and there was another lodge hall up by 
the stores. In early days Union Center was a typical rough 

-16- 



frontier trading center with its share of drunken brawls and 
fights. In fact there was so much "Slapping Around" that years 
ago it got the nickname of "Slap" which some people call it yet 
today. Six or seven families still reside here (none w^ith small 
children) but as far as business is concerned Union Center is a 
"Ghost Town" with two einpty store buildings and some other 
empty houses. It still comes to life on election day when the 
citizens of the township come to \'ote. The voters don't linger 
quite as long as they used to since there are no stores where 
they can loaf and visit. 

Vevay Park is located in the southeastern corner of the 
township on the Old National B oad, now Route 40, just three 
miles west of Casey. It is also situated beside the Pennsyl- 
\ania Railroad which iTiakes it soine different from the other 
trading centers. This branch of the railroad known as the Van- 
dalia Line was completed in 1869. They built a grade for the 
bridge over the creek and formed a pond for water as the old 
steam engines had to stop to fill the boiler with water in many 
places along the line, A water tank and pumping station was 
put up. Later the railroad built a dwelling for their section 
hand. Conel Hendrickson came from St. Jacobs to run the 
steam p..mp at the station. It was called Long Point Station 
and Long Point Creek. East from the station on the south side 
of the road A. L. Ruffner had a General Store in a frame build- 
ing and recei\-ed the appointment of postmaster. Finding there 
was another Long Point the post office had to have another name. 
Mr. Hendrickson had died and Mrs. Hendricks on 's sev^enteen 
year old brother had come from Vevay, Indiana, to help her run 
the pump station. He suggested they name the place Vevay. 
Someone else added Park and the place became Vevay Park and 
at one time 92 families received their mail at this post office. 
This man who gave this place its name was Grant Pickett. He 
became the pumper here and stayed until he was promoted to 
superintendent of the water system for the railroad along this 
route and then moved to Terre Haute, Indiana. Mr. O. E. 
Shuey then became the pumper and remained until the coming 
of the Diesel engine and the water tank was no longer needed. 
The water tank and station has been torn down, but at one time 
hay and livestock was shipped from here and passengers could 
board the train and get off the train here. In 1895 A. L. Ruff- 
ner put up a new brick building on the north side of the road. 
The bricks were made and fired on his own place as he had a 
large brick kiln. The brick were made by William and Thurman 
Cutright with the Mercers helping some. This building contained 

-17- 



living quarters and an upstairs room used by the Odd Fellows 
for a lodge hall. In 1908 the Odd Fellows built a new frame 
building east of the brick building with the lodge hall on the 
upper floor and the lower floor was rented for a store. The 
Odd Fellows and the Rebekahs were very active here for many 
years. About 1930 the Rebekahs consolidated with the Rebe- 
kahs in Casey and attended there. The Odd Fellows continued 
to have lodge in the hall until about 1950 when they consolidated 
with the Odd Fellows in Greenup. The hall was used for many 
other events during the time the Odd Fellows were using it. A 
few years ago they sold the building to Lloyd Stone who lives 
east of it. Mr. Ruffner moved into his new store building and 
continued in General Merchandise, much like the stores at 
Union Center and Diona, until 1907. In 1906 he was elected 
County Judge which necessitated his moving. He sold his 
stock of goods to John Gardner who became the merchant at 
Vevay Park. In 1913 Glen Ruffner, the son of A. L. Ruffner 
came back to Vevay Park and operated a store in the brick 
building. He lived in the living quarters at the back and had a 
garage back of the store. He stayed until 1920 when he sold 
out to George Garrett. Sometime during this time another store 
building had been put up on the south side of the road and west of 
the brick building. This store was run by Pearl Sweet, and later 
by Allen Lake, and by Marion Rhue. In the late twenties or early 
thirties Bob Funkhouser had a store in the brick building and 
Frank Diltz in the frame building. Later Fverett Short was in 
the brick building and Pete Henry in the other building, Charlie 
and Lillie Schick also had a store here. After Route 40 was 
paved, a filling station was put up on the south side of the road 
and operated several years by Roy Stewart. After the rural 
schools were abandoned Everett Short bought the school house 
and converted it into a store and moved his stock of goods there. 
Today it is owned and operated by Pete and Marion Barnett. In 
1966 the old brick building burned. Mr. Herring had had an an- 
tique shop there a few years. At one time there was a church in 
Vevay Park but several years ago it was moved into Casey where 
it was remodeled and is now the Southern Baptist Church. The 
school building across from the church burned and the present 
building was put up. Today Barnett's Grocery at Vevay Park 
and Kuhn's Store at Maple Point are the only two stores oper- 
ating in Union Township. 

Union Township has had at least thirteen churches: Clear 
Creek and Bethabera near Diona (Bethabera has been torn 
down); Jack Oak and Antioch on Union Center Road near Route 130; 

-18- 



Mt. Zion (Nebo) and Union, north of Union Center; Macedonia 
in the northeast corner; Union Center just south of the town; 
Long Point on the Timothy Boad; Pleasant Grove on Route 40, 
half way between Greenup and Casey, This church has been 
closed for a few years, but has been bought now to replace 
Pleasant Valley which was lost to Boute 70. Fairview was 
moved to Union Center and Good Hope, once by the Yanaway 
School, was moved to Casey many years ago and was used 
for a church. It has now been made into a house, and Vevay 
Park was moved to Casey. Eight of these churches still hold 
services regularly. 

There are also thirteen cemeteries in Union Township, 
although they are not all located where the churches are. 
Bell is near the Clear Creek Church, Johnson near Union 
Church, Mt, Zion at church, Macedonia at church. Long 
Point at church, Garrett near Vevay Park, Ruffner west of 
Vevay Park, Decker south of Maple Point, Herr or (Cutright) 
south and east of Union Center and four abandoned cemeteries: 
Hill, Neal, Kirkling, and (Davidson ? ), 

Before the unit districts were formed in 1948 Union Town- 
ship had fourteen rural schools: Neal, Haddock, Lockwain, 
McMillan, Tadpole Yanaway, Fairview, Hogback, Plum 
Grove, Reed, Lacey, Jack Oak, Vevay Park and LaFever, 
Neal and Jack Oak are now used for Community Centers, Tad- 
pole has been torn down, Fairview and LaFever stand idle, 
Vevay Park is a store, and the other eight have all been made 
into homes. Lockwain burned and no one is living in the Had- 
dock building now. 

The citizens of Union Township are energetic and patrio- 
tic. They are always ready to do their part and give their 
share in politics. Red Cross, Heart fund, Cancer fund. Crop, 
etc. Being largely democratic, many candidates running for 
office have depended on Union Township to carry them to vic- 
tory. Union Township has produced many professional people: 
ministers, lawyers, teachers, and others. At one time there 
were more teachers residing in the township than there were 
schools. Union Township has offered recreation to many. Not 
many years ago people came from Terre Haute, Chicago, and 
other places to hunt for rabbits and quail. Local people still 
fish in the streams and privately owned ponds, Stifal's Gun 
Club near Casey draws crowds from all over the United States, 
They have a big Shoot each spring and fall besides several oth- 
ers during the year. Another attraction worth seeing is "Ca- 
sey Thoroughbred Farm" owned by C. D. Cochonour where 

-19- 



horses are raised and trained to race there on their own track. 
We think Union Township is a good place to live. 

Material submitted by: Clint Walters (Diona), Wayne Sidwell 
'(Farming), Julia Luke, Allen Cutright, Oliver Outright, Olif- 
ford and Ira Kuhn, Vern and Effie McMillan, Jake Tutewiler, 
Glen Ruffner, and Forest Oil Company (Facts and Personali- 
ties). Compiled by Ellen Decker. 

SKETCH OF GREENUP IN THE OLD DAYS 

This thriving little town is located forty-five miles west of 
Terre Haute on the old Cumberland (or National Poad) one mile 
east of where it crosses the EiTibarrass river, eighteen miles 
due South of Charleston and five miles southeast of Prairie 
City, the geographical center of Cumberland county. It is sur- 
rounded by a splendid variety of farming country, consisting of 
rich bottom land, fertile up land and exuberant prairies. The 
small amount of hilly country near Greenup, that lies between 
the upland, and the river, will ere long compose the richest 
blue-grass pastures in southeastern Illinois. Therefore, so 
far as the surrounding country is concerned, Greenup is a 
success . 

Greenup is the oldest town in Cumberland county, and looks 
backward to the laying of its corner stone, in a wild wilderness, 
a half a century ago. In 1828, just about where the west line of 
the present corporate limits cross the National Road, was es- 
tablished a village under the title of Rossville. This village, on 
account of its location, was after called "Natchez under the hill, " 
by the early settlers. In 1830 it assumed the name "Embarrass," 
which name it carried up to the 5th day of March, 1834. Up to 
this date no town had been legally laid out. On that day Thoinas 
Sconce, then the county Surveyor of Coles county, surveyed off 
and made out a plat of the original town of Greenup. The land 
included in this survey then belonged to a man by the name of 
Greenup, and he being in fact the original legal founder, the 
town very naturally assumed his name. The original town con- 
tains 102 lots. Since that survey many additions have been 
made, among which may be mentioned that of Ewart and Austin, 
Greenup and Barbour, Austin and Cook, Boales, and one by 
Matteson. The town is not square with the world, but built to 
suit the direction of the National Road, which in a distance of 
five miles west runs one south. 



20- 



For many years after the organization of Greenup, the 
country now composing Cumberland county belonged to and 
was part of Coles county, and Greenup was a mere post vil- 
lage, stage station, and voting point. But when Cumberland 
was struck from Coles in 1843 Greenup became the county 
seat and continued to be until the first Tuesday of April, 1855, 
on which day a vote of the people was taken as to whether the 
county seat should remain at Greenup or be located at Prairie 
City. Prairie City was victorious by a majority of 90. The 
golden days of Greenup lurked in the background then, until 
the completion of the St, L. , V. and T. H. Railroad, when 
it immediately changed from an inactive post village to a 
thriving railroad town and became an incorporated town on 
the 30th day of January, 1869. The first code of ordinances 
was passed February 5th, 1869. A. Cook was the first Police 
Magistrate, whose resignation occasioned the election of the 
present worthy incumbent, Luther B. McConaha. The first 
Fair that was ever held in Cumberland county, was on that 
beautifully elevated tract of land in the north part of Greenup, 
now occupied by the respective residences of Dr. Lekrone, 
M. ShuU, Mrs. Long, and others, in the months of October 
in 1858-59. This tract of land is the highest point on the Van- 
dalia line between St. Louis and Terre Haute, according to 
the report of the engineers who surveyed the road, and before 
it was cleared up was beautifully designed for a Fair ground. 
And although fenced in with a brush fence when these Fairs 
were held, the people (among whom were E. S. Meeker, 
Uncle Peter Shade and Charles Conzet, Jr. ) took an active 
part to make them a success, and their efforts in that early 
day to advance the interests and improvement of Agriculture 
were well rewarded and merit the highest esteem. 

The population of Greenup including School District is 
about 1, 200. Greenup has two drug stores, one kept by 
Dr. N. G. James, the other by Dr. John W. Goodwin, six 
dry goods and grocery stores, viz: one kept by G, Monohon, 
one by A. J. Fwart, one by Wm. McFlwee, one by John Ship- 
lor and Son, one by Charles Conzet, Jr. , and one by Joe Bat- 
ty; one clothing and grocery store, kept by Josh W. Arthur; an 
agricultural store by James Owings; a hardv/are and tin store 
by Chas. Peters; a confectionery and billiard hall by Julius C, 
Conzet; a restaurant and eating house by David Mumford; a 
billiard hall by Wm. Mumford; a barber shop and confection- 
ery by Luther B. McConaha; a barber shop by Ed S. Meeker; 
two harness and saddleshops, one by Wm, Morgan, the other 

-21- 



by Sam T. Moore; three boot and shoe shops, one by T. L. 
Norman, one by Alex Norman, the other by David Kester and 
Son, Jesse; a woolen factory by Robert Arthur; three milliner 
shops, one kept by Mrs. Lou Conzet, one by Mrs. Amanda 
Robinson and her daughter, AUie, and the other by Mrs. Ed S. 
Meeker and Mrs. Sarah Morgan. There are two hotels in 
Greenup, one kept by Mrs. Mary Conzet, the other by Fred 
Welsheimer; two livery and feed stables, one kept by Ray and 
Vandyke, the other by John Kellum, Jr. One Singer Sewing 
machine depot, kept by R. M. Smith and John Hankins. Smith 
is also General Agent for the Phoenix Insurance Co. There 
is but one lumber yard and it is kept by James B. Cook. 
Three blacksmith shops, one by Clint Young, in connection 
with which is a splendid wagon shop, another blacksmith shop 
owned by Frank Sapp, and run by Miles Cook, David Pearman, 
and others, the other is run by Matt McConaha, near the depot. 
One tailor shop by Wm. Patterson, and an excellent paint shop 
run by Frank P. Taylor; an art gallery, by a Mr. Sneidaker. 

Physicians--N. G. James, S. W. Qumn, W, L. Leckrone, 
W. Frank Witty, J. W. Goodwin, Anthony Goodwin, and La- 
fayette Minter, who is the proprietor of the Mineral Springs. 

One professional gardener, Charles Conzet, Jr. ; one sil- 
versmith and jeweler, John Conzet. 

Carpenters--S, W. Huffcut and Henry Coulter. Ministers 
of the gospel- -Rev. Mr. Rhoads, Rev. John Shiplor and Rev. 
Geo. Bliss. One cabinet maker and joiner- -Benj . McGooslin. 
Plasterers- -Benj. and James Peters, and the Button Bros. 
James Peters also runs a meat shop. The Talbott Gristmills 
is now run by Jacob Jenuine, Maj. Jno. W. Day is a general 
agent for tombstones and monuments, used to peddle clocks, 
and it might be said that he is from tiine to eternity, rather 
a lengthy Day, also clerk for N. G. James in his drug store. 
J. D. Borden is a general poultry, egg and butter vendor, the 
only man who makes his trade a specialty m Greenup. Green- 
up has one school house and a district containing about 230 
pupils. It has but two church houses, one of which was built 
by the Methodist Society, the other by the Presbyterian soci- 
ety. The Universalists and Seventh Day Adventists hold their 
meetings in the school house. 

Greenup has a Police Magistrate and two Justices of the 
Peace, the latter being H. F. Sperry and David Kester. Gar- 
rett Wall, constable, and John T. CoviU, policeman. Two 
attorneys, James L. Ryan and Pete A. Brady, who are part- 
ners. G. Monohon also is an extensive grain merchant and 



2Z- 



keeps a good warehouse, near his store house. Greenup has 
one string band by L. McConaha and Sons and one cornet band 
by Dug Meeker, Charles and Frank Bosworth, David and John 
Carson, and others. There is a Lodge of Masons and of Odd 
Fellows, both of which meet in the same hall. The great even- 
ing resort of Greenup in warm weather, is the celebrated Min- 
eral Springs of Dr. Minter, which were opened in the summer 
of 1868 by a joint stock company, and are located a quarter of 
a mile northeast of the Public Square, Greenup at present has 
no saloons. 

Among the old and almost lifelong citizens of Greenup and 
vicinity, who are yet living may be mentioned Uncle Chas, 
Nicewanger and wife, who were for nearly twenty years in the 
mercantile business here, and it is a great pleasure to visit 
their beautiful flower and fruit garden and hear them tell of 
old times, Samuel W. Quinn, an old and respected physician, 
George Lewis, Sr., who was a fifer in the war of '12, as we 
are informed. Joe Batty, a native of Fngland, but for many 
years a citizen of Greenup township, Charlotte Fwart, widow^ 
of the well known and lamented Dr. Fwart. Uncle Charles 
Conzet, Sr., a native of Germany, but for nearly 30 years a 
citizen of Greenup and the well known proprietor of the Green- 
up Hotel, as well as the kind motherly Mary Conzet, his wife. 
Capt. Fd Talbott, soldier in the Mexican war, and captain in 
the rebellion. John Shiplor, Peter Shade, David Kester, G, 
Monohon, Robert Arthur, James B. Cook, Wm. Wilson, Thos, 
Tutewiler, Flizabeth Davee, Susan Ward. A. K. Bosworth, 
for many years county clerk and a merchant in Greenup, 
George Titus, F. Mattoon and a host of others. 

The above sketch was taken from an old premium list of 
the Cumberland County Fair in 1875. 

Reprint - In Greenup Press 



BIG CROWD HFRF FOR CFLFBRATION 

CROWDS JAM GRFENUP ON 100th BIRTHDAY 

1933 

The weather man did more than his part, as hundreds of 
people flocked to Greenup last Monday to pay tribute to the 

little City on its 100th birthday. 

-23- 



Underneath a bright sun and a cloudless sky, we watched 
one of the finest parades ever presented in Greenup, extend- 
ing up and down the street for more than a mile, floats of 
every description together with bands and drum corps. The 
girls from the Ettlebrick Shoe factory garbed in styles of 
long ago presented a very striking appearance. The Greenup 
Juvenile Band arrayed in their new Blue and White uniforms, 
played as they have never played before, but what's the use, 
I could go on for hours and hours just describing this won- 
derful parade, which contained a float from practically every 
place of business in town. And I can truthfully say if you 
missed this parade you missed the time of your life, with 
flags flying and red, white and blue colors gently waving in 
the breeze, crowds jammed the highway to watch this gor- 
geous spectable. 

A loud speaker system carried all of the activities to the 
large crowd. Mr. Harold Bright, very efficiently carried 
out his duties of chairman and his address of welcomie made 
us proud to live m Greenup. 

One of the finest array of speakers ever presented in the 
Old Village were paraded before the microphone last Monday. 
This list included August C. Caylor, Greenup; John M, Connor, 
Greenup; Lincoln Bancroft, Taylorville; Wilton A. Carr, To- 
ledo; Chas. M. Connor, Toledo; John W. Fribley, Pana; Theo- 
dore O. Outright, Toledo; C. F. Easterday, Vandalia; Clarence 
Hall, impersonator of Lincoln, from Janesville, 111. The ad- 
dresses of the above mentioned were well received by the crowd 
and I think enjoyed by everyone, 

Mr. Schomer of Terre Haute, Ind, presented his tap 
dancing students from Greenup and Toledo, who gave a marve- 
lous exhibition of soft shoe and waltz clog dances. A novel 
feature of the afternoon program was the tumbling class from 
the Greenup High School, which kept the crowd in howls of 
laughter. The antique exhibit gave the younger generation of 
Greenup and surrounding community an opportunity to see just 
how things were done years ago. 

The Indians and covered wagons presented a pleasing scene 
showing modes of transportation years ago. The free barbeque 
was enthusiastically welcomed by the tremendous crowd. Of 
course we cannot recall all that took place on the platform but 
we can say each and every presentation was fully appreciated 
and all m all it was a successful day. 

The committees for the various things should be highly con- 
gratulated for their splendid work on behalf of this celebration, 

-Z4- 



and the people of Greenup wish to thank the surrounding towns 
for their wonderful cooperation in helping to make the day the 
success it was. 

The trial of Zig Luter defended by Abe Lincoln in Greenup 
was re-enacted on the stage by a group of Greenup people and 
was very well received. The free street dance from 11:00 P.M. 
to 1:00 A.M. was well attended and everyone went home tired 
but happy after a busy day. Now if anyone has been left out we 
are niore than sorry but it is impossible to mention everything 
that took place as the day was just crammed with entertainment, 
but we want you to know* that everyone appreciated your efforts 
on this occasion and the people of Greenup extend their thanks 
for your aid in paying this appropriate tribute to the Old Village 
on its 100th anniversary. 



ABOUT JEWETT--ACONCISE WPITE-UPOFOUR SISTER CITY 

The Press being ever on the alert to give its patrons of 
Cuinberland County the benefit of everything that will further 
their interests, has decided to give a series of write-ups of 
surrounding towns, which will appear in our paper from time 
to time. This innovation, if such it might be called, we intro- 
duce this week by devoting considerable space to the social and 
business interests of Jewett, Situated as it is, in the south part 
of the county, the town has not only the advantage of the trade of 
the immediate country, but also a goodly share of that in the 
north part of Jasper county. The bottoms surrounding Jewett 
have been cleared and the land enhances in value each year. 
Neat farm houses are everywhere springing up where a few 
years ago stood log cabins occupied by shiftless Micawber- 
like citizens who were "waiting for something to turn up, " In 
keeping wdth this change in farming interests there has been 
like-wise noted a substantial improvement in the business inter- 
ests of Jewett. Her business houses have increased, the popu- 
lation has increased, both in number and in the charactfer of its 
citizens and public improvements go steadily on. She has a mile 
of graveled streets, which cannot be said of any other small 
town in southern Illinois. Jewett's citizens show a progressive 
spirit and work together for mutual good. Morally the town ranks 
favorably with any town its size. That the people do not lose 
sight of their spiritual welfare is evidenced by the number of the 
skyward pointing church spires, A brief resume of some of the 
business firms will serve as a criterion by which the town as a 

-25- 



whole may be judged, 

Greenup Press-- January 13, 1898-- The Jewett Dedication 

Definite arrangements have been made for the dedication of the 
new U. B, Church at Jcwolt. Presiding Elder J. B. Connett will 
preach at the new church next Saturday P. M, at 2 o'clock, the 
quarterly conference to be held immediately after the sermon. 
E ev, Connett will also preach Saturday night. The dedicatory ser- 
vices will be held at 10:30, the sermon to be delivered by Prof. 
Philippi of Westfield College. A protracted meeting will follow 
these services. 

F. F. Vanderhoof 

The gentleman whose name heads this paragraph has occu- 
pied a place in the front in mercantile life in Jewett for the past 
twenty years. By dint of hard work, business economy, and 
fair and honest dealings he has built up a very lucrative business. 
He now occupies the largest and most comnnodious store building 
in the county. His long experience and cash purchases enable 
him to give his customers many advantages. His line of dry goods, 
groceries, boots and shoes, ready-made clothing, hardware, etc. 
is complete. He strives to please his customers and keeps his 
stock and goods of a quality and price that does not fail to satisfy his 
customers. Mr. Vanderhoof believes that all business should be 
done on as nearly a cash basis as possible; n-ierchants would be en- 
abled thereby to give their customers the benefit of a profitable dis- 
count. People in:genrral should be made to understand the logic of 
this. 

C. B. Fry 

Mr, Fry has shared public patronage m Jewett at different 
times for a number of years. His special line of business at 
present is hardware and undertaking. His line of caskets, cof- 
fins, shrouds, etc. would do credit to a much larger town. He 
is able to furnish a first-class funeral turnout with hearse free • 
His hardware stock is complete. As an annex to other busi- 
ness Mr. Fry deals in furniture, harness , buggies and wag- 
ons, on any of which he can offer bargains that will save the 
purchaser money. Mr. Fry is a man of much business exper- 
ience and knows what will best suit his customers. His square 
dealings and business-like methods make him very popular 

-26- 



and put him in touch with the people. 

S. H. Moudy 

The popular postmaster and druggist, merits a word of 
attention. Mr. Moudy is a genial and accommodating gentle- 
man. He gives his customers the benefit of the lowest prices 
on drugs, patent medicines, stationery, paints, oils, etc. 
His stock is full and complete. Mr. Moudy enjoys the dis- 
tinction of a democrat being appointed postmaster the present 
administration. His commis sion was received a few days ago, 
and on May 1st he assumed full control of the office. His re- 
cent election to the office of supervisor without opposition is 
also evidence of his popularity, 

Willis Jones 

A mention of Jewett's prominent businessmen would not 
be complete without reference to this popular merchant. 
Mr. Jones buys where he can buy the cheapest and sells at 
a small margin. His stock of dry goods, groceries, hats, 
boots and shoes, etc. is full and up-to-date. Mr. Jones is 
obliging and pleasant and enjoys the good will of everybody 
who knows him. His trade is extensive and still increasing. 
He is prepared this spring to save money to his customers, 
especially those paying cash. Call and see for yourself. 

Rus sell Hotel 

First class accommodations may here be found at regu- 
lar rates. Mr, Russell's long experience in the hotel busi- 
ness enables him to cater to the wants of the public--no pains 
or expense will be spared to satisfy their patr ons - - stop and 
be convinced. 

Jewett Flouring Mill 

O. C. Vanderhoof has had considerable experience in the 
milling business, C. B, Fry recently assumed a partnership 
interest in the mill. The mill is new with all the latest im- 
provements and the grade of flour put out cannot be excelled 
by any mill in southern Illinois. Their flour is meeting with 
success wherever it has been used and the mill is gaining fa- 
vorable comment all over the country. The proprietors are 

-27- 



straightforward gentlemen and will strive in every way to 
satisfy their customers. Their custom grinding patronage 
is increasing. If the present promising wheat crop is real- 
ized, Messrs. Vanderhoof and Fry expect a very large out- 
put of flour this fall. They merit a liberal patronage and 
their successful management and fair dealing will win both 
friends and money. 

Schools 



Jewett's handsome brick schoolhouse of four rooms always 
attracts the attention of strangers in town. Competent teach- 
ers are always employed. As principal this year, Prof, Bon- 
ham has done much to enthuse pupils and parents to work for 
higher attainments, along educational lines. There is quite a 
popular sentiment in favor of retaining him for another year, 

Jewett Cornet Band 



This deserves passing notice, although not long organized 
plays well and is prepared for any and all engagements. Any 
occasion with which good music is desired should invite their 
service s. 

Jewett I,0.0,F. 



The lodge is in a flourishing condition. Following are the 
officers: Win. Matheney, N, G, ; O.P. Vanderhoof, V, G, ; 
T, H. Garrett, p. sec. ; Milt Epperson, r. sec, ; Lide Cox, treas. 

Zara No. 86, Daughters Rebekah 

Mrs, M. J, Vanderhoof, N,G.:Mrs. Nellie Hubbard, 
V.G.; Miss Lizzie Jay, sec,; Mrs. Mae Ingle, warden; Miss 
Dora Ward, chaplain; Mrs, Addie Fogle, conductor; Mrs. Mae 
Frvin, inside guard. 



JEWETT HISTORY 

A quiet little town just seemed to develop and grow on high 
ground between Cottonwood Creek, Muddy Creek and Embarras 
River in Woodbury Township, There have been times during 
very high waters when this town was cut off from those about it. 

-28- 



It is located on the old National Trail, which was traveled 
by the covered wagons and stage coaches on their way west, 

A log house stood just west of the village limits and was a 
stage coach stop. Also an old house still standing in town was 
prepared with all accomodations for travelers. Benny Sheplor, 
grandfather of Estella Greeson was a stage coach driver and 
made regular runs and stops at Jewett, 

The west half of Jewett was built up first and called Plea- 
santville. Mr, Jewett traveled west from Ohio and had four 
towns named after him in as many states. The village limits 
were laid out one mile square in 1870 or there abouts. 

The Vandalia railroad was built through here m 1868-1869 
with a single track. Later, Pennsylvania P. R, bought it and 
about 1926 built another track through here. Then in April 
1968, with the consolidation of the Pennsylvania and New York 
Central R. R. 's, this is known as Penn. Central R. R. 

A sinall residence on the south side of the tracks known as 
the Dan Beals home was the stop for the trains passengers and 
crews to eat. About 1895 a depot was built one block east of 
here. It was bought and moved west of Jewett by Frank Kingery 
in 1968. A little later the telegraph office was built, one block 
west of the Beals home. Telegraph operators were, Jimmy 
Brow^n, Claude Hutchison, and others. 

On east of the depot and across the road on the Sullivan 
place were tracks for siding, on which engines received needed 
repair and cords of wood were ricked to be picked up for use in 
firing the engines. About 1945 diesel engines began to replace 
the coal fired steam engines. 

For many years the town had three active churches. The 
United Brethern built the first in the west part of town. The 
Christian Church used to be west and south of the present one 
m the corner of the block. J. D, Morgan set a grass fire, which 
got out of hand, and the church burned. Then he donated the 
ground for the present site, and built the church, which is active 
now with Wilfred Cunningham, a lay minister, holding services 
since 1951. In the early 1900's a dispute over doctrine caused 
the church to split, and under the leadership of Rev, Hayden 
Cuppy, bought the U. B. Church (which was no longer active) 
and started the Church of Christ. It was sold to be used as a 
residence about 1951, and burned in 1967 when it was the home 
of Bill and Barbara Bauguss. 

The Methodist Church had the largest attendance- -one year 
with an enrollment of 240, with standing room only. This con- 
gregation also dwindled. The building was sold to the school to 

-29- 



be used for a P. T.A, center, drama, etc. The Baptist Chapel 
started in Jewett in 1966, under the leadership of Rev. Harold 
Pyle, with the help of Casey, Effingham and Mattoon Baptist 
Churches. 

The previous small school was located two blocks west of 
the last one. The last one was built in 1881, with the help of 
Alfred Williams, grandfather of Bess Laughter. It was built of 
red brick. Later a basement and furnace were added. In 1920 
the inside burned, and was rebuilt. A one, then two years of 
high school work was added, A front hall was added to the en- 
trance in 1926. A frame room was added to the north side and 
three year high school work made available. In 1928 an out- 
side stairway was added to the basement to meet state fire 
codes. Later a small two story gymnasium was built of block 
construction. The school is now completely modernized, and a 
cafeteria is set up in the basement of the gym, and hot lunches 
are served. With progress, the three year high school was dis- 
continued about 1949, with the consolidation of Jewett, Toledo, 
and Greenup. This left four rooms with two grades in each and 
a room for music, films, and such. There were four teachers 
namely, W. J. Jones, Mrs. Edna Clark, Mrs. Rosalie Chance- 
lor and Miss Olive Holsapple, Mrs, Verna Gentry, cook, and 
Richard Niccum, janitor, who were with the school the last 
term which ended May 26, 1967. 

The fall term of 1967 started in the new and scarcely finished 
consolidated elementary school, which included kindergarten 
thru eighth grade. It is a beautiful mi-llion dollar building which 
is adjacent to the high school. 

The Jewett building was sold to be used as a Civic Center, 
and polling place for the Village of Jewett and for Woodbury 
township. Following is a list of a few of the teachers: Mr. Wel- 
sher, Nath Carey, Dick Tremble, Bill Brewer, Alburn Rhodes, 
Rev, Milnot Miller, Chloe Ratcliff, Lizzie Jay Glasener, Maude 
Cox, Oliver Starwalt, John Mock, Belva Reiner, Bessie Haz- 
lett, Carrie Ray, Russell Anderson, E, D, Cornwell, Stella 
Beals, A, J, Van Tassel, C. A. Stickler, Wm. Birdzell, Maude 
Ray, Maurice Connor, Lela G. Funk, Norinan Goldsmith, Roy 
Hutchison, Lucille Grissom, Mrs. Wibking. 

Jewett also had a bank for many years. It had two locations, 
and was robbed twice. John Mock, Holly Prather, Virgil Armer, 
Golden Vanderhoof are names to be remembered. 

In the early 1830's Jewett had saloons - -again in the early 
1930's taverns became popular. The village found them to be a 
liability in every respect. 

-30- 



The laying of the pipe lines through the village by oil com- 
panies started in early 1900. At one time there were five. 
Electricity was obtained for the village about 1929 from Central 
Illinois Public Service Company. The minimum rate being $1.00, 
and the customer scarcely ever went over the minimum. With 
this utility carae easier living and modern homes. 

City water was voted in and in 1963 produced from deepwells. 

In 1931 the side streets were graveled. The gravel was 
hauled from the river on the Huisinga place with horses and wa- 
gons loaded by hand. 

For awhile a small settlement of Negroes was located 1 mile 
south of the cemetery and 1/2 mile west. They had their own 
tiny church and cemetery. The latter is being pastured now. 
The grave stones were very large rocks. 

In 1921 with the completion of the hard road (as we called it 
then) the village boomed. Here is a list of some of the business 
people over the years: Lyons Hotel and Livery Stable, also he 
was a stage coach driver from Terre Haute west; Wade's Hotel and 
and Livery Stable; Hogan's Hall; Bud Oakley and Otis Vanderhoof, 
grist mill; Hiram Scranton, Attorney; Les Scranton, saloon; Cad 
Fry, Coleman Bay and Francis (Soaket) Ingram, undertakers; 
Pollen Bennett, pharmaay; Mr. Bennett also drove a huckster 
wagon; Jake and Em Hoover, photo gallery; Fannie Vanderhoof, 
Mrs. Judy, and Hannah, and Sarah Brown, milliners; Bett Downs, 
seamstress; Albert Fogle and Doug Garrett, blacksmiths; Cas 
and Phoebe Prather, restaurant; The Prathers also had a grain 
elevator; Fred Elms, Bill Bowman and Jim Parse, garages; 
Cricket Goldsmith had a hardware store on the first floor of his b 
building and skating rink on the second floor, which burned 
Feb. 13, 1912; Over the years Chas. Bersig had a tavern, hotel, 
meat market, and ice house; some who had general stores and 
bought eggs, butter, poultry and cream were; Frank Vanderhoof, 
Harve Glasener, Willis Jones, Herbert Morgan and Mont Mc- 
Connell, Han Bean, Hugh Beals, Kenneth Connell, Clifford 
Glosser, Louis Vanatta, John Snedeker, Tom Callahan, Lance 
Van Tassel, J. R, Kuhn and P oy Barnes, Jr., Cal and Sissie 
Carter had a cafe and filling station, as did Joe and Sarah Mc- 
Elravy and Mrs, F. E. Anderson. 

Al Hickman had a shoe repair shop, Clarence Glasener, 
second hand store; Saramy Mondy, pharmacy; P. C. Burlington 
(father of Otis) was a justice of peace; About 1880 Richard (Dick) 
Carrico, grandfather of Frank Kingery, lived just west of the 
cemetery and was a shoemaker. One of his most noted custom- 
ers was Ben McKeen, president of Vandalia P, P. 

-31- 



About 1915 the Red Men Lodge was active here. Names of 
a few of the members that come to mind are; Otis Burlington; 
Cas Prather; A, J. VanTassel; C. L, Ray; A. M, Shoot; Frank 
Jay; Cricket Goldsmith; Everett Darling; Arch Feltner, and 
other attended from Greenup. The Odd Fellows Lodge also was 
known here . 

Otis and Guy Ray w^ere barbers here for many years, 

A track for horse racing was located here when the fair 
ground was at Toledo. 

Many have left Jewett to serve in the armed forces. The 
last Civil War Veteran was William (Uncle Bill) LaMasters. 
This good man was a pillar in the M. E, Church, 

In early 1950 route 40 was routed around Jewett, as it was 
about all other cities and towns. 

The Jewett Elevator is now operated by the .Siemer Milling 
Co. of Teutopolis, 111., with Sylvester Preumer as raanager 
and Rex Walker as full tinie employee. Past operators were: 
Leslie Vanderhoof; Mr. Schmidt; Paul Kuhn, and Max Winnett. 

About 1932-33, Jewett had its last doctor. Dr. L. Downs 
who had practiced medicine here as a young man and again 
after retiring being past 80 years of age. Other physicians and 
surgeons were: Dr, Raw-lins and son Dr. John Rawlins; Dr. 
James; Dr. Myers; Dr. Mondy; Dr. Frisbie; and Dr. Zobrist. 

The last duel in this area was on July 13, 1917 between 
Marcus Morgan and Charlie Hoover, each killing the other. 

The post office has had many locations and some of the 
postmasters were: Mr. Booth, grandfather of Ella Cox; Fred 
B. Cox; Herbert Morgan; Lydia Alumbaugh; Oren Jay and 
Lance VanTassel. Recent rural carriers were: Frank Jay; 
Clark Ray; and Fred Cox, Alfrieda Kingery has been post- 
mistress for several years. 

Some of the village officers of later years were: Norris 
Ray; Les Vanderhoof; Raymond Kuhn; A, M. Shoot; G. N. 
Vanderhoof; Duel Darling; Joe Ray; John Ingram; John Brewer; 
Bert Stirewalt; Lloyd Powell; Roy Barnes, Jr. ; Jim Powell, 
Bill Adamson; Roscoe Trostle; George Trostle, Jr.; Robert 
O. Shafer; Evelyn Ray and Guy Ray. 

The town, as all other small towns, has dwindled to a 
quiet, friendly, off the route town. Present businesses are: 
Robert O. Shafer, service station; Marj and Ed Roark, general 
store; Frank and Grace Kingery, antiques; Bob and Fern Yaw, 
new and used furniture; Wayne Watts, used furniture; and Lee 
Myers, electirician. Alfrieda Kingery, postmistress and John 
Snedeker, rural carrier. 

-32- 



Cemetery stones are dated to early 1800s. A few gypsy 
"Xbabies are buried in the Jewett cemetery. 

We must not omit the Jewett Band, which was active in the 
1920s, and furnished a concert each Saturday night, under the 
band master, Otis Ray. 

By Linda K. Trostle 



LONG POINT AND LONG POINT CEMETERY 

Long F\)int and Bear Creek were settlements with post 
offices in the early 1800's long before Neoga (1856) and many 
other Cumberland County towns that survived had any distinc- 
tion. But with the coming of railroads Neoga grew and Long 
Point and its dreams of becoming a city faded away. 

The hub of Long Point was Turner's store containing the 
post office, a blacksmith shop, house and barn. A half mile 
south and about 100 yards southwest of the corner was a log 
school house with slab and peg leg seats, Mr, Turner one 
day while walking through the woods east of his store with his 
son stopped on a point of land, looked up a nice white oak tree 
and told his son "Top it and when I die, bury me at its foot, " 
And so he was. By 1885 Turner's corner was no more. The 
buildings were gone. The log school had been replaced by one 
of frame and weather boarding. The school continued until the 
Pioneer Consolidated School on Rt, 12 1 took away all its pupils. 
It was torn down about I960, 

One of Long Point's early settlers was Hamilton Curtis 
line (1832- ''189^ <) who in 1857 left his wife Elizabeth Frances 
(Bishop) Cline (1832-1897) and little daughter, Alfarata (1856- 
1867) behind in Stilesville, Indiana to go west and find a new 
homestead. He looked at land near where Mattoon now is 
that was for sale at $1.25 per acre. It appeared too flat and 
swampy and had little timber. He had to have timber for a 
log house, firewood and fences so he turned southward. He 
selected a patch of land near the breaks of Long Point Creek 
just south of Long Point and paid $3,00 per acre for it. He 
built a log cabin just .south of the present Long Point Cemetery. 
His wife and daughter then came there. His father-in-law, 
Joseph P, Bishop (1809-1862), his wife Susan and their re- 
maining family of five sons also came and settled near by to 
the south. Joseph P. Bishop was a Methodist Preacher and 
carpenter. Up to that time the settlers had been having church 



^oi 



-33- 



in each other's homes. But then he, H, C. Cline and the 
neighbors got together and built a small frame church on the 
corner of H.C. Cline's land just east of the north entrance of 
the present Long Point Cemetery. In those days the road 
angled through woods from the school house past John Mor- 
rison's log house to the church then just past it, it turned fol- 
lowing the present cemetery drive. The church had^ two doors 
on the west side, one for the men and one for the women, for 
in those days the men and the boys sat separately from the women anc 
^nd girls. Joseph P. Bishop was the li - r s-t preacher at Salem 
i ' Church south east of Toledo , and at Oakland. When he died 
^^ Dec, 21, 1862, his family and neighbors thought it appropriate 
^ ^ to bury him near the church. So H. C, Cline gave permission to 
bury him east of the church and soon deeded that patch of his 
ground for the start of a cemetery. The original Long Point 
> ^ burying ground was in the woods down the road east of the school, 
] ^ Soon people started moving the remains to the new cemetery and 
^ ^now the only known graves left there are of the Gilpin family. 
5 i Although Joseph P, Bishop was first to be buried in the present 
^V Long Point Cemetery in 1862, older markers can be found there 
for that reason. In 1906 the old church was torn down and a new 
church was built west of the north cemetery entrance on ground 
donated by the Kingman family for that purpose additional 
cemetery space and a picnic grove. The cemetery has since 
expanded west over the original church and churchyard site and 
into the new part. The second church stood until it was torn 
down in 1966. The official name of the cemetery is Kingman- 
Cline Cemetery so as not to conflict with a Long Point Cemetery 
near Casey, 111. , but nearly everyone calls it Long Point. 

H.C. Cline was a good steam engine and woolen mill tech- 
nician. During the Civil War a new woolen mill came to Effing- 
ham, and his services were in demand to help set it up and train 
operators. He sold his farm and they moved there. After the 
war he bought another farm in the Long Point area, and they 
moved back. It is said he bought and sold or helped meinbers of 
his family obtain as many as eight different farms in the area and 
at one time or other had owned nearly all the land touching the 
east side of Long Point road from Neoga road south past Long 
Point Cemetery, He also had owned some south of Rte, 121, 
nine miles west of Toledo, 111, Family records show he also 
helped start Drummond Cemetery, North Buck Branch School, 
and West Union School, donating land for some if not all of them. 
The last of his land remaining in the family is owned and occu- 
pied by his granddaughter, Goldca» Cline, and great-granddaughter 

-34- 



Verda Diel. Three generations of his children had attended 
Long Point school and his mother-in-law, Susan Bishop, had 
taught there. 



NEOGA 

Among the first industries in Neoga was the Hooppole indus- 
try. The settlers on Mule Creek and along the Little Wabash 
cut white oak and hickory poles eight feet long, two inches in 
diameter at the butt, and one-half inch at the tip. Mr, John 
Husband bought these for shipment to barrel factories. These 
poles were used to encircle barrels of pickled fish, flour, salt, 
pickles, kraut etc., but many were sold for baling hay or cotton. 
Tin hoops and baling wire ended this industry. 

In the 1880's and 1890's, F.D. Voris helped to make Neoga 
the hay center of the United States and became president of the 
Hay Growers' Association of the United States. In Neoga's "hay- 
day", the Kingman family owned and "operated" about 1600 acres 
of timothy hay. 

In the IBGO's H.A. Aldrich, F.D. Voris, and Ed Kraft were 
pioneers in apple production. In 1897 at about thirty cents per 
bushel, there were 50, 000 bushels of apples shipped from Neoga. 
A 120 acre plot west of Neoga was for years the experimental 
station of the University of Illinois and was rated the finest or- 
chard in Illinois, Other names connected with the apple and peach 
industry are: Newton Capps, Clarence Wallace, Elmer Coen, 
Everett Garrett, Ben Uran, Clark Young, Charles Allen, Charles 
Wolke, Ivimby Soliday, Russell Loveall, Norbert Moran, Frank 
Grewel, and Gray Gatlin. 

Besides these there have been a tile industry, grist mills, 
broom corn buying and shipping, a glove factory, and three fac- 
tories which produce articles of wearing apparel for women and 
men. 

This was taken from October 4„ 1900, Greenup Press: "F.D, 
Voris received notice that his apples had taken several sec- 
ond premiums at the World's Fair at Paris, France, and they 
would have taken first had they not been pulled a little green. 
The French people have a big advantage because they can leave 
their fruit on the trees two weeks that it takes to ship them from 
here. He also got eight or ten premiums at the State Fair at 
Springfield this week. " 

Powell's (Neoga Steam Bakery) 1902-1932 served towns with- 
in a_50-mile radius, the output at one time being 500, 000 leaves of 

-35- 



bread a year. 

Neoga's first native born baby was L. G. Morris, 

The first merchant, Dudley Keen Johnson, came to Neoga 

in 1854. 

The Martin Walk family, originally from Germany, came 

to Neoga in 1864. 



THE SALEM NEIGHBORHOOD (1934-1968) 

Travel old route 40 west out of Greenup past the fairground 
entrance, cross the Embarras River, and up the hill. There in 
the first house on the south side of the road live Doyle Dillier, 
his wife Adah, and three daughters, all workers in the Salem 
church. This property was formerly owned by Thomas Lyons, 
whose family have long been associated with the Salem church. In 
1934 it was occupied by the son, Roy and his family. Roy suf- 
fered ill health, but his wife, Clara was very active in the church 
affairs. 

The house across the road on the north side is the Branden- 
burg home. Golda and her nine children were faithful attendants 
at church. Golda was active in the Ladies' Aid Society, and her 
sons donated many hours of labor to church projects. 

North through the woods is the home of Etta Scales. She and 
her husband, Herschal (now deceased), were active members. 
Mrs. Scales took an active part in the work projects for raising 
funds, and was also helpful in obtaining much of the work for the 
Ladies^ Aid. 

Back to the highway on the south side of the road was a house 
(destroyed by fire) occupied by the elderly Mr, & Mrs. Thomas 
Lyons. Mrs. Lyons was a faithful church worker, and was noted 
for her beautiful quilting. 

Across the road slightly to the west was the home of Blaine 
and Edna Holsapple (now deceased). While both contributed la- 
bor to the church, Mrs. Holsapple also gave it her love and de- 
votion. 

On the south side of the road lived the W. O. Shofner family. 
All were loyal church workers. This house has since been moved 
across the new highway 40, Mr, &: Mrs, Shofner are both de- 
ceased; the children are married and scattered. 

Farther west on the corner is the Carson Jersey Farm. Mrs. 
Carrie Carson was among the charter members of the Ladies' 
Aid Society, and helped with the work of the Society, 

Following the side road north is located the home of Luke 

-36- 



and Ruby Holsapple, also members who have contributed time 
and service to the church's welfare. North across the railroad 
dwells the Yocum family. This farm, formerly owned by Lewis 
and Riegel was operated by James McCammon, wife Claudia, 
and sons. This family, although not members, were ready and 
willing to help with any projects started by the church. Then 
west to the Beasley Dairy farm. Here too, were once active 
members who now hav^e forsaken the little church in the wild- 
wood. 

West and then north on the west side of the road stands a 
two story building, the home of Mr. and Mrs, Ivan Shupe. This 
family has been and still is one of the standbys of the church. 
Paralee has served as church treasurer for thirty-one years, 
and as pianist for the past twenty years. She has spent hours 
of labor in cleaning, painting, and even carpentering. Ivanhad 
also donated his services as an electrician (wiring the building 
for light), a carpenter, or whatever kind needed, Paralee and 
Ivan have two children, Doyle and Mildred. Doyle married 
Catherine Patterson and lives in Toledo. Mildred married 
Robert Carlin; they also reside in Toledo but are active in the 
church at Salem. 

South again to the first crossroad where, on the northeast 
corner once stood the Christian Run schoolhouse, then look 
west to view the home of Clifford Sherwood. He and his wife 
Laura are among those interested in the Salem church. The 
former tenants of this farm, Charles Smith and family were 
quite active in the church, especially the youth group. 

South across the railroad in a pretty new house live "Bud" 
(Rayniond, Jr. ) and Teresa Houser. Bud, a schoolteacher, is 
the present Church Superintendent. His parents, Ray and Leona 
Houser, live south on the same (west) side of the road on the 
farm with the round barn. Both are active church members and 
regular in attendance. Mrs. Houser is the adult class teacher. 

On the northeast corner of the crossroad was the home (now 
gone) of Hadley and Mary E, Mock, Mr. Mock, a cemetery 
trustee for years, did a great deal of work around the church 
and on the cemetery located just west of his home. His son, 
Oscar and family, lived just east on the south side of the road 
in the house nov/ ov/ned by Rex Brandenburg, Mrs. Eva Mock 
(deceased) and four of their children were members of the 
church. One daughter, Madge St. John, her husband, Eugene 
and son Johnnie live south of Toledo on the Jewett road attend 
church occasionally. The son's family, John H. Mock and wife 
Dorsa, live in Toledo but take an active part in the church. 

-37- 



The next house east, now occupied by the Southard family 
whose children attend church, was the home of Miss Jennie 
Bean who was pianist for several years, and took an active 
part in organizing church services at Salem, Although still 
a member, she now resides in Toledo, 

Back to the crossroad and south to the first house on the 
west side is the old Stevenson place now occupied by Joe Gentry 
(an auctioneer) and family. Once the Oscar Mack house was 
the home of the Fogleman family. Mrs, Fogleman and her 
younger children were faithful in attendance. Guy Fogleman 
and his wife, the former Eileen Wood, reside on their farm 
south of Toledo, He, his wife, and daughters have contributed 
time, labor, and talents to their church. 

The next house south of Gentry's was once the home of 
the Ranee Brewer family. These people also contributed their 
part to the life of the church. However, Mrs. Vesta Brewer 
left the church to join the Pentecost Church at Toledo, taking 
with her Fern Ward and children who lived in the big brick 
building just east of the Hamilton school on Route 40. 

West of the Midget (the site of the former Ross Keller 
home, whose family was connected with the church) to the first 
road south and just across the railroad was the home of Miss 
Lulu Cox, a member of the Ladies' Aid Society. 

Farther south at the foot of the hill are two more houses. 
The one on the west side now owned by Vance Chancellor was 
the home of Joe Heath, wife Yolanda, daughter Maida, and 
young son Joe Bill, names frequently found in the church books. 
On the other side of the road lived the Forest Wood family. Mr, 
Wood and his two daughters Eileen and Marjorie, v/ere among 
the first members of the revived Salem Church. Mrs. Iva Wood, 
although not a member, was an active church worker. It was in 
this home that tragedy occurred in the year of 1943. Mrs. Bea- 
trice Wright, while visiting the Wood family to help care for her 
ailing mother also at the Wood home, was slain by the neighbor 
boy Joe Bill Heath with his gun; just because, as the boy later 
stated, he had an "urge to kill. " Soon after this tragedy the 
Heath family sold out and left the county. The Wood family 
moved to another farm south of Greenup. This family had to 
face another tragedy when the father, Forest, met sudden death 
when his tractor was struck by a truck while traveling on High- 
way 40, 

A brother, Harry Wood, moved to the vacated farm which he 
later purchased. Mr. Wood, his v/ife Jessie, and twin daughters 
still live there. For years Jessie has been in charge of the 

-38- 



Nursery class of the Salem Sunday school. However, recently 
her husband's ill health and work out side the home has pre- 
vented her regular attendance. 

Back up to the highway, then east to the next road south. 
The house on top of the hill was the home of the Golden Holsap- 
ple family; and later it became the home of the Edsel Brown fam- 
ily; both families were members or constituent members of the 
church, but finally the Brown family joined the Penecostal 
Church at Toledo. Edsel and Alberta Brown are beautiful singers 
and frequently sing at revivals or other special bccasions. 
Kenneth Holsapple lived in his father's house at the foot of the 
hill, but when his family moved to a new home, the house 
was occupied by a brother Hugh, who with his family helped 
contribute to the welfare of the church. 

Up the hill again to the highway, east to a lane leading 
south across the railroad to a deserted house on the hill, once 
the home of WilliaiTi and Ethel Curtner, church members who 
seemed to enjoy people. Their home like others was open to 
the social gatherings of the church. 

Other families associated with the church were the Ivan 
Michaels family; Ivan and his son Dale (both deceased) fur- 
nished labor for the church repairs. Dale for a time was quite 
punctual in attendance. Mrs. Ruth Michaels, who also worked 
with the Ladies' Aid, now resides in Toledo. Mr. and Mrs, 
Ray Letner who transferred from the Morton Chapel church, 
were also associated with the church. Mr. Letner was suddenly 
called to his home beyond one year ago when his tractor turned 
over with him. The James Dryden family have contributed both 
to the church services and fund raising projects. Their son, 
Dennis, serving in the U.S. Army, has just returned from Viet 
Nam. Among others formerly connected with the church were 
the Joe Croy family, the Calvin Mills family, the John Sla- 
ton family, and the Brown family. 

^. 
By Olive Holsapple 



SPRINGPOINT HISTORY---THE HOLKENBRINK FARM 

Frank Holkenbrink Sr, was born in Winkelsetten, Germany, 
and came to America when he was twenty years old, in the year 
1868. He worked in the Teutopolis, Greencreek, Effingham 
areas and in 1873 took out Naturalization Papers at Effingham, 
which were signed by W.C. LeCrone. At that time the rules 

-39- 




The Frank Holkenbrink Sr. Family in 1898. 
Standing L-R Tony-Frank Jr- Katherine- John- Henry 
Seated Frank Sr- Mrs. Anna- Elizabeth. 
Purchased Farm in Spring Point townsnip in 1874 
now operated by Leo Holkenbrink Family a Grand Son. 




The present owners of 
the Holkenbrink farm. 

Leo Holkenbrink is the 
grandson of the^ first 
owner . 

Leo's Family: 
Front row 1-r, Lois, 
Carol, Rose, Verginia, 
Wanda, Floyd; 
Back row, Steve, Ileen, 
Mrs. Wilma, Leo, Den- 
nis . 



39a 




c 
< 

o 

, — I 






O 



>> o o 
2 i^ 



oa 



GC 



cti 



-I M 
(fl 3 -1 



Oj 



m 



o 

• - S ^ 

^ ^ Cd, 

(U in 

> S-, "5 

^ ^ ^ 



39b 



stated that only citizens could own property. 

Looking around for a farm to buy, he found several, but 
money was very scarce. In January, 1874, he bought a farm in 
Springpoint Township, in section 28, from Frances Debendener. 
At the present time this farm with some additions is owned by 
Leo Holkenbrink, a grandson, and his family, Debendener 
lived on the place part of the time but never entered a plow or 
cut any brush. He kept good saddle horses and had many visi- 
tors that came mostly after dark. No one around there knew 
much about him and sometimes he was gone for weeks at a time. 
In the last few years it has been established that he was a ring- 
leader of a gang of outlaws operating from the Springpoint area. 
Debendener could not read or write, but he knew how to make 
money and do it without working. 

In June 1874, Holkenbrink married Anna Funnemann, a 
daughter of a pioneer family that lived at Salt Creek, north of 
Teutopolis. They soon moved out to the new farm with a few 
things on a farm wagon. A couple of chickens, a cow, and a team 
of horses; and they were in business. They also drove the farm 
wagon to church on Sundays, to Teutopolis as Lilyville,was not 
yet begun. The congregation and church at Lilyville, two miles 
west, was started in 1877, and it sure made things easier on 
Sundays . 

Breaking the wild prairie, little by little, was done by bor- 
rov/ing an extra plow and using three horses on the prairie 
breaker plow. The roots from brush and heavy weeds and the 
prairie grass that had not been disturbed for a thousand years 
was hard to turn over and sometimes had to be cut loose with 
an ax. The first year not much grew on the new sod but the 
next year it had started to decay and things looked better. 

Neighbors v/ere few then and far between, and I recall be- 
ing told about the fire going out in the stove. They went through 
the field a half mile north and got some hot coals on the scoop 
shovel from Kummero, a neighbor, to get the fire going as 
they had no matches. 

Each year a little more ground was worked up and finally 
the prairie was tamed. Money was scarce and sometimes for 
a month not a dollar changed hands. Butter and eggs were the 
trading stock when going to town to get some groceries. Later 
he also acquired some timber land along Spring Creek so he 
would have fire wood and fence rails and logs. 

When they decided to build a new house, a sixteen year old 
boy called Cecil Plummer was hired to help pull the cross cut 
saw cutting down trees. Mother said this boy worked hard and 

-40- 



was a good eater. She always had a large plate of fresh butter 
on the table and he just could not get enough of that. When 
asked about that he said this was the first butter he had ever 
eaten, "Yankee cows don't give butter, " 

Early neighbors were Joe Luckner, Frank Willenborg and 
the Wente family on the west, Kummero and Duro on the north 
Frederick Reineke and Joe Shafer and John Hamilton on the east. 

Mother told me many times when she was a girl that during 
the Civil War many things could not be had and one of them was 
coffee. Her mother would take a bread pan and put in a thin 
layer of rye and slowly roast it in the bake oven, keeping it 
stirred all the time. This was ground when ready, in a hand 
coffee grinder. This was known as Lincoln Coffee. During 
WoUd War 11 it would have been called ersatz kaffee. In later 
years when out of coffee beans it was repeated many times. 

Slowly, during the years, the ground north of the house was 
worked up and crops v/ere planted, A half mile north of the 
homestead was a patch of ground of a few acres traversed by a 
ravine. This was known as Rattle Snake Swamp. For a thousand 
years the snakes had lived there and many thousand snakes used 
it for their home. It was thick with prairie grass, briers, and 
small brush. Any small animal or rabbit that entered there did 
not come out. Any time of day, walking around the outside, a 
large number of snakes could be seen. It was unsafe for man or 
horse to enter. 

Grandpa learned that the only animal that could compete with 
the snakes was a half grown hog in good condition. The snakes 
would bite the hogs but the poison would not affect them. A 
horse that got bit by a rattler on the leg or nose would immedi- 
ately swell and in twenty minutes be dead. Grandpa hauled a 
number of loads of fence rails and fenced off a small patch and 
put in a few hogs. They were fed and watered in there, daily. 
From time to time the fence ring was moved further in. The 
hogs killed many snakes and some were driven deeper under- 
ground. The nice part of it was that the hogs enjoyed the battle. 
As soon as convenient, plowing was started where the hogs had 
been. To make it safe for the man behind the walking plow he 
put on leather boots, Leggins were made for the horses by cut- 
ting up old leather boots and strapping them around the horses 
feet above the hooves. My father told me that one time when he 
was plowing he counted 11 snakes under the team at one time. 
The best cure for the plowed up snakes was a heavy green elm 
or hickory club about three feet long that was always kept ready 
when needed. 

-41- 



The snakes have been gone about a hundred years and the land 
produces fine crops. If grandpa would come and take a look 
now he would be surprised to see his grandson with his tractors 
do as much work in one day as it took him, in the early days, 
tv/o weeks to do. 

By Frank Holkenbrink Jr. 



CENTENNIAL NOTES - - PRAIRIE CITY DOCTORS 

The site selected on which to build the County Capitol and 
the Village of Prairie City was about the most favorable that 
could have been found to contract the two most common ailments 
of that period, usually referred to as the shakes, ague, chills, 
fever, malaria and also milk sickness. 

The prevailing family remedy or cure-all for these and oth- 
er ailments was roots, barks, berries and whiskey and most all 
families would have a jug under the bed containing this concoc- 
tion and all members of the family were given a swig each morn- 
ing, the old man usually partaking of a double swig. No doubt 
the only benefit received was the stimulation the whiskey pro- 
vided. Nevertheless, it was the home remedy. 

Fortunately along with the first settlers came the old time 
doctor, with his quinine, divers powders, squills, paragoric, 
castor oil, blue mass pills and a variety of poultices. There 
were also in all coinmunities one or inore women who practiced 
as mid-wives at child-birth and usually without receiving any 
pay for their services. One of these was a Mrs. Hardwick, 
■who lived a short distance west of Hickory Corner. 

The first doctor coming to Prairie City was Dr. Lewis Brook- 
hart, who came in 1855. A native of Kentucky, he erected a 
building for his office and family on the lot now occupied by Dr, 
Gresen's office, and continued to practice until his death in 
1882. He was elected to the Illinois Senate in 1868, serving 
two terms. Next came Dr, John W. Lee in 1859 and built an 
office and residence which is now a part of the Toin Wickham 
hoine. He continued to practice until his death in 1876. 

Dr. J. H. Yanaway came in 1864 and established a drugstore 
and office on the lot now occupied by W. A. Carr's office. In 
1867 came Dr. John Chapman and Dr, Mintor, Mintor remained 
only a few years. Chapman continued until he retired. Dr. 
John Miles came in 1870 and later inoved to Missouri. Dr, John 
Goodwin came in 1877 from Greenup, remaining only while 

-42- 



serving as County Treasurer, but did not practice medicine in 
the village. Dr. Joseph Eskridge grew up in the community, 
attended Rush Medical College in Chicago and returned to prac- 
tice here in 1875, later returning to Chicago. Dr. John Cham- 
bers and Dr. A, J, Reeves both came in 1882 from Indiana. 
Chambers remained only a few years, Reeves continued until he 
retired and then operated a drug store for a number of years, 
then returned to Indiana, 

Dr. W. W. Park came in 1880 and established his office in 
the building which recently stood adjoining the American Legion 
Hall, Mrs. Parks operated a millinery store in the same build- 
ing. Dr. Park moved to Union Center in 1892, and Dr. A, G. 
Megath came in 1892 and occupied the building vacated by Dr. 
Park. He later retired. 

Others who practiced in the village were Dr. Robert Bloom- 
field, who grew up in the community and after graduating from 
Rush Medical College in Chicago established an office and con- 
tinued to practice in the community for several years, later 
moving to Oklahoma. 

Then came Dr. Carter from Indiana who after a few years 
returned to his home state. Dr. Walter R, Rhodes, a native 
son, after graduating from Rush Medical College established an 
office in Toledo, and later on, a hospital and is still practicing 
as a senior member of the Rhodes Clinic. Others who prac- 
ticed medicine for various periods of time were Dr. McCarthy, 
Dr. Hershel Donivan, Charles R. Bird, R. F. Stephens, George 
Lyons, Dr. Will Smith, who was also a native son, F, M. Bray- 
shaw and M. M, Brayshaw, Dr. Massie and Dr. Supple. 

The first dentist to establish an office in the village was a 
Dr. Brown, then another Dr. Brown, but no relation, then Dr. 
Sherman, S. E, Miller, and Gerald Jones for a short time and 
then our present dentist, Dr. Henry L, Gresens, 

Dr, C, J. Supple left the Rhodes Clinic in 1959 to go into 
private practice in Danville, Illinois. Later he joined a Group 
Practice in California. In July, 1959, Dr. Leland E, McNeill 
from Erie, Illinois joined the Clinic. He was graduated from 
State University of Iowa College of Medicine in June, 1958, and 
interned at Riverside County Hospital, in California. 

Dr. David C. Boyce came to the Clinic in July, I960, from 
Murphysboro, Illinois . He graduated from the University of 
Illinois College of Medicine in 1959, and interned at Fresno, 
California. In September, 1967, he was drafted into the United 
States Army. 



■43- 



HISTORY OF TOLEDO, ILLINOIS 

The area which we now know as Cuinberland County was a 
swamp land covered by prairie grass ten to twelve feet high. 
American Indians, principally the Kickapoos, were roaming 
over the area when the first white men came to this area. The 
Indians gradually grew less numerous and the Blackhawk War 
in 1832 took the remaining ones away. 

In 1842 Coles County included the territory now embraced 
by Douglas, Coles and Cumberland Counties, and as this area 
was much too large for the convenience of the citizens the area 
was broken up into the three counties as of May 1, 1843. The 
act of the legislature provided that Greenup shall, for the pre- 
sent, be the County Seat, and that the County Seat shall, here- 
after, be permanently located by an election to be held on the 
1st Monday of August, 1843. This election resulted in Sconce's 
Bend (platted as De Kalb for election purposed) on the Embar- 
rass River, in Cottonwood twp. , receiving a majority of a bare 
seven votes out of 431 polled. Hov/ever, a question as to whether 
the county had good title to the property, resulted in the County 
Commissioners once again submitting the matter to the people. 
In Feb. 1849, an act of legislature authorized another election 
and a site of forty acres offered by Nelson Berry, being part 
of the land on which Toledo is located, was selected over Green- 
up, Pleasantville (now Jewett), Jerome, BucksKnoU and "Bill 
Dad" at the mouth of Bear Creek. Nothing came of this election 
either and the seat of justice remained at its temporary location. 

On June 10, 1854, the Original Town of Prairie City, was 
platted by Nelson Berry, John Berry, Lewis Harvey and William 
P, Rush, They established sixteen blocks and a public square 
and named it Prairie City. Its site covers the geographical 
center of Cumberland County and was originated for the purpose 
of accomodating the Seat of Justice for the County, 

In 1885 a third election was held and the result was 608 votes 
for Prairie City and 518 for Greenup, Neoga had sprung up al- 
most overnight as a result of activity in building the Illinois 
Central Railroad and the citizens on the west side of the County 
desired a central location. In 1855 a contract was let to Wiley 
Ross and Bennet Beals for the erection of a Court House at a 
cost of $10, 500. 00 . The site of the public square was very un- 
promising as a pond of water covered most of it and much work 
was done in filling in the area. A jail did not seem a vital ne- 
cessity to the County at an early date and no attempt was made 

-44- 



to build one until 1859 when a contract was made with Reuben 
Bloomfield and Willian-i Jones to construct a jail. This was a 
one- story brick building divided into two parts one the jail- 
er's quarters and the other divided into four small cells. 
This building was condemned and in 1890, the present structure, 
two blocks southeast of the square, was erected. 

The Village began to grow and in 1866, a meeting was held to 
incorporate. At an election held on August 8, 1866, Joel Smith, 
D.B. Green, J. E. Mumford, M.B. Ross, and A, G. Caldwell 
were elected as the first Village Trustees. In 1874 the Toledo 
Democrat listed twenty business houses, six physicians, ten 
lawyers, and four preachers. At this time the Democrat listed 
the eighty-two families residing at Prairie City as follows: Wil- 
liam Shaw, H.B. Decius, L, L, Logan, J.H, Yanaway, Thomas 
White, Rev. J. M. Scher, Charles Selby, Wiley Ross, Harris 
Orr, Josiah White, Lewis Brookhart, Alfred Payne, Andrew Car- 
son, W,H. McDonald, R. Bloomfield, Joseph Morgan, C. Woods, 
H.T. Woolen, Henry Rhoads, J. & E, Ellis, M. Hurst, G. E. 
Mason, W.D. Mumford, A, J. Lee, A. G. Caldwell, Amos Stead, 
R. Long, Wm. Brown, Wm. Peters, M. Barrett, Mary B radshaw, 
Chas. Hanker, E.B. Jones, D. H. Wohlers, Levi Ross, D. Bru- 
ster, Polly White, N, L« Scranton, John Prather, A, A. Lovins, 
Mary Bright, John Lee, C.B. Green, J. E. McCartney, Sam- 
uel Harvey, Al Rosencrans, Henry Green, D. Corderman, Joel 
Smith, W. Humphrey, Simony Lee, Wm. Logan, Flavius Tossey, 
Ed. Miles, Vol Clark, Chas. Akins, John Berry, T, Baichley, 
W.M. ShuU, Anna Hannah, Bob Ray, Mary Croy, M.S. Ross, 
W.L.Bruster, SamMcMahan, R.E. Mumford, M. L. Mumford, 
Elias Armer, Wiley Shaw, Rev, Scholosser, Tom Brewer, Tom 
Shipler, Coleman Ray, Lewis Harvey, D.B. Green, Wm. Rich- 
ardson, Geo. Starger, Hays, Perry Cox, Wm. Cotting- 
ham, and Levi Brewer. 

The railroad that passes through Toledo was built in 1877 
and was known as the-Mattoon and Grayville, later became the 
Peoria, Decatur, and Evansville, and is now part of the Illinois 
Central System. The first train came to Prairie City on June 23, 
1877, and stopped across the Main street running East from the 
Court House, The citizens came in droves and brought a wag- 
on-load of refreshments. The band played several numbers 
and Judge H, E. Decius made a speech. The engineer offered to take ti 
take the crowd to Greenup, and jollier, happier company never 
boarded a train than the one that went to Greenup on the first 
train ever running into Prairie City. 



-45- 



The name "Prairie City" was found to conflict at the Post 
Office department with another village in the state, and for sev- 
eral years the name "Majority Point" was used by the post office 
department. The citizens remedied this situation by the selection 
of the name "Toledo. " An ordinance was presented and adopted 
on Aug, 27, 1881, changing the name of the Village of Prairie 
City to that of Toledo, Illinois. 

On the night of Nov, 4, 1885, the Court House was razed by 
fire. All of the County records and files were destroyed in this 
conflagration. Following another election relative to the location 
of the County Seat, a new Court House, the present structure, was 
built in 1887. 

The first schoolhouse in Toledo was a small one- story, frame 
building that was also used for church services. Li 1862, a two- 
story, frame building was erected and used for twenty years 
at which time the present brick structure was erected, to which, 
of course, several additions have now been added. Although many 
students had completed their studies, no graduation exercises 
were held under 1890 when five girls. Bertha Hanker, Ivy Con- 
nor, Nora Bloomfield, Ura Chapman and Mary ShuU became the 
first graduating class. 

The first church was a frame building erected by the Metho-' 
dists on the site where their present edifice stands. The Chris- 
tian denomination for a number of years held services in a two- 
story frame building which is now known as the John Kelly gro- 
cery, which was then on the lot where their present brick building 
stands. The Presbyterian church on South Meridian Street was 
built in 1891. The United B rethren structure was built in 1908, 
and the Pentecostal people have in the last fifteen years built a 
neat frame church in the southwest part of Toledo. 

The Baptists built a brick building on the Southeast corner 
of the public square, but their denoniination shrank in size, 
their services were abandoned, and the building was purchased 
by the citizens for our Public Library. This building, still in 
use has been added to and is now the home of one of the finest 
public libraries to be found in any town of comparable size. 

In I860 a ten acre plot of ground west of the Village was se- 
cured for holding a fair. Following the failure of this asso- 
ciation, a ten acre tract was purchased north of town. Fairs 
were held here from 1866 to 1874, when this venture also failed. 
Another re- or ganization followed and forty acres southeast of 
the village was purchased and fairs held for several years. In 
1883 another re- organization took place and ten acres added 
and a race track built. The officers of the Association in 1883 

-46- 



were C. G, Jones, Greenup, President; L. L. Logan, Vice 
Pres.; Wm. L. Bruster, Secretary and W. S. Everhart, Treas- 
urer. This organization also disbanded and the Cumberland 
County Fair has since been held at the fine fairgrounds at 
Greenup. 

y^The first grist mill was owned by Wm Richardson and John 
Riddle, and in 1872, an expert miller, George Starger, built 
a two- story frame building, added more equipment, and milled 
all kinds of grain. In 1884 Mr. Starger built a three story brick 
building in Harvey's 2nd Addition and had an up-to-date mill. 
Following Mr. Starger 's death, the mill was operated by a Mr. 
Singer from Neoga and by the Mallinson's. At the present time 
this building has been remodeled and is owned and used by Ed- 
gar A. Neal(has since died ) and Burnham E. Neal as an oil 
and gas bulk plant, /^ 

Alec Caldwell was our first postmaster and Wiley Ross 
hauled the inail to and from Pleasantville, now Jewett, and Tom 
White carried the mail by horseback from Neoga. This of course, 
was in the days before the Railroad was built. 

The Toledo Democrat, first known as the Cumberland Demo- 
crat, has had continuous publication since 1857, and is the oldest 
business institution in our County. Other papers published in 
Toledo include "The Republican Mail" which was brought to Prai- 
rie City from Greenup in 1874, by Edward Hitchcock. H. T. 
Woolen succeeded Hitchcock as editor, and J. A. Caldwell later 
purchased the plant. In 1879 the name was changed to "Toledo 
Express" during which time J. T. Connor was the editor. In 
1889, Chas. M. Connor became the manager for his father, and 
in 1901 the plant was sold to R. P. Barr and the name again 
changed, this time to "Toledo Argus. " '^he Democrat was ed- 
ited at various times by J. E. Mumford, Flavius Tossey, G. E. 
Mason, W. D, Mumford, Adolph and Leon Summerlin, Barton 
and Wood, Wm. Niccum and Minor L. Smith, and James M, 
Drakeford, the present owner, who has published the paper for 
twenty-five years with the exception of a period in 1949 and 1950 
when the plant was sold to the publishers of the Mattoon Journal 
Co, who sold back to Mr. Drakeford. 

The first lumberyard was owned by Frank Anderson who la- 
ter sold to T. P. Prather, other lumber dealers of later years 
were Henry Tippett, Kelly and Wisley, Neola Elevator Coinpany, 
and the Builder's Supply Company, of present times, under the 
ownership of Elmer B, Cutts and his sons. The luiTiberyard is 
now operated by Bob Scott, 

In 1890 R. C. Willis moved with his family from Enfield, 

-47- 



Illinois, and started the first bank known as the Willis Banking 
Co, This bank was the forerunner of our present First National 
Bank in Toledo, and a complete history of the institution is set 
out elsewhere in this publication. Other banks have been the 
State Bank of Toledo, which was formed by J, B, Cartmill. This 
bank was sold to Joel McAnally and was housed in the building 
now occupied by the Rhodes Furniture Mart. In the 1920's the 
bank became insolvent and was liquidated. Mr. Cartmill organ- 
ized the Farmer's State Bank and it was operated successfully 
on the South side of the square until it was liquidated in 1948, 
with the First National Bank in Toledo taking over all of the 
assets and liabilities of the Farmer State. 

Samuel McMahan was one of the early citizens and ran the 
first meat market, followed by his sons, Ira and William, Oth- 
er early meat retailers were Philip Lawrence and Link Morgan. 
Alex Hughes established a tin shop in 1875 and his nephew J. K. 
Hughes carried on the business. 

Livery stables were kept by John Peter s, the first keeper and 
by Lewis Fields, Daniel Shubert, Carson Rodgers, Harap Rod- 
gers, John Tracy, Elias Armer, Woolbery B ros. , Jasper Bean 
and Grant Young, 

In the early days tiiTiothy hay was one of the main crops and 
large hay barns were erected and the community was quite a 
hay center. Those prominent in the hay business included Levi 
Ross, Wilson Turner, James Elder, John Schooley and Richard 
Richardson, 

Charles Hanker was the first furniture dealer and undertaker, 
and after the early years when his frame building became inade- 
quate, he erected a three story brick building which had living 
quarters on the second floor and a large hall with stage, on the 
third floor. This building burned while occupied by Riley Ice- 
nogle and James Connell as a grocery store, and was purchased 
and rebuilt and now owned by J. M, Connell (who has deceased) 
and Blanche Icenogle. Also, F. G. Robertson and O. C. Miller 
and Son, engaged in furniture and undertaking in years gone past, 

Sam Harvey was the first restaurant keeper. Other early 
restaurant men include G. D. Bloomfield, W. S. Moore, Logan 
and Bates, Adkins and Zike. 

Western Humphrey and C. E. Perry were early day drug- 
gists. Bakers were Richard Beany, A. A, Lovins, Link Morgan 
and Baichley and Harper, 

In general merchandising we have had John Tossey, G. E, 
Mason, Wm, Richardson, May & Anderson, May Bros., F. M. 
Snyder, R, J, Smith, Robert Bean, Owen Decius, Richardson 

-48- 



Bros,, Charles Humphrey, H. H. Croy, Gertie Yanaway, Con- 
nor &; Sinith, Wiley King and of course the later day merchants. 

Barbers include a Mr. Gordon, our first barber, and C, W. 
Croy, Colonel Young, J. D. White, Charles Wiley, Willis Pat- 
tison and others. Present day barbers are Dewey Roberts and 
Wilbur Evans. 

D, H. Wohlers was one of the first businessmen and made 
boot and shoes. An early shoe store was run by G. I. Romin- 
ger and another by George Meriwether; old time milliners were 
Mrs, W. W. Park, Cynthia Orr Keeran, Mrs. A, Armer and 
Mrs, Zetta Lovins. Some of the early brick business houses 
were made of brick and burned in kilns near Toledo owned and 
operated by Lewis Duensing and another by Jack Wolf, 

In early years Fred Baichley and Andrew Brewer operated 
small broom factories in Toledo. In 1926 Dewey S. Quinn 
started a broom factory in the abandoned creamery building and 
as his business grew moved to the old light plant where the busi- 
ness is carried on by his widow, Frona Quinn, and his son, Ken- 
neth E. Quinn. Since this centennial history was written, Ken- 
neth has built a new broom factory betw^een Toledo and Greenup 
and at present is also building a nev/ home nearby. 

The first physician was Lewis Brookhart and the second was 
John Lee, Both came in 1855. It is reported that they thought 
this a fine location because of the "chills and ager, " Other early 
day doctors were J. H. Yanaway, Dr. F. Chapman, Edward Miles. 
Joseph Eskridge, W. W. Park, A. J, Reeves, D, C, Chambers, 
Robert Bloomfield, G, E, Lyons, Virgil Carter, C, R. Bird, 
R, F, Stephens, William Smith, and W, R. Rhodes, At present 
The Rhodes Clinic has two doctors, Dr, Lowell E, Massie and 
Dr. L. E. McNeill, Dr. David Boyce was inducted into the serv- 
ice in the fall of 1967, 

Early day lawyers include H. B. Decius, L, L. Logan, N. 
L. Scranton, W. H. McDonald, C. Wodds, W. C. Prather, D. 
B, Green, Flavious Tossey, Thomas Brewer, Levi Brewer, 
W. S, Everhart, J. B. Atchison, Lewis Decius, Clint Brewer, 
A, F. Bussard, Walter Greathouse, Walter Brewer, and C. M. 
Connor (who had completed over 55 years of practice in 1954 
and is now deceased). Present day lawyers are Theodore and 
John Cutright, Glen Neal, W, A, Carr, 

Perry Cox was the first hotel keeper. Other early day ho- 
tel keepers were Wm, Brown, I. J, Pugh, Mrs. Thoinas Gris- 
amore and Eva Vandyke, 

George Eskridge, A, Armer, John Hughes, Pinkard & Mc- 
Perhson add Joe Hughes ran hardware stores during the first 

-49- 



fifty years of Toledo's existence. 

Additions to the Original Town of Prairie City, now Village 
of Toledo, were laid off and platted as Wm P. Rush's Addition, 
Nelson Berry's Addition, George Titus' Addition, Lewis Har- 
vey's 1st Addition, and Lewis Harvey's 2nd Addition, Kern's 
Addition, Warner's Addition, Kelly & Wisley's Addition, Cona- 
roe & Willis' Addition, and W. S. Everhart's Addition. The 
Village is now composed of the original town, these additions 
and also a large unplatted area, particularly in the North and 
West sides, is built up and is within the corporate limits. 

The Democrat of September 15, 1881, reports that a splen- 
did sidewalk wide enough for two persons to walk on without 
crowding each other, had been completed from the depot to the 
public square. This apparently was a reference to the first 
board sidewalks. In the first years of the twentieth century 
brick and concrete sidewalks replaced the old wooden walks 
throughout the Village. 

The reservoir was dug about the turn of the century and was 
intended for water supply but was never used as such. In 1901 
the electric light plant was installed and water from the reser- 
voir was used to run the light plant. Charles Pfister was the 
first village electrician and was assisted by Leonard Rhodes 
who later took over when Pfister moved from Toledo. The plant, 
badly in need of repairs, was sold to the Central Illinois Public 
Service Company in 1928, 

Histories of the professional and business people of Toledo 
are printed elsewhere in this book. 

Sumpter Township Public Library 

In 1920 a group of civic minded citizens under the direction 
of Mr. Mussett, fornier principal of Toledo School, started the 
plans for the Public Library. The library was maintained by 
donations of mioney, books and the help of Boy Scouts and Parent 
Teacher Association. The first site of the library was in two 
rooms above what is now the St. John Store and operated at that 
time by Joe Wis ley. 

The Library was under the management of Mrs, Lura Park- 
er as first librarian. Miss Delores Miller and Jezza Deppen 
donated their services as librarian when money was not avail- 
able for salary. 

In the spring of 192 3 a tax was voted by the people to main- 
tain the library and the present site was purchased from Mr. 
and Mrs. A. Armer who operated a millinery store. The 

-50- 



building was formerly the Missionary Baptist Church and was 
erected in 1890. The first Library Board elected Mr, Florence 
Miller as president, Mrs. Nannie Rhodes as secretary, and Mrs, 
Edna Smith, Ben Willis and B. C. Birdzell directors. 

In the year of 19^3 Mrs. Lura Parker, librarian, passed 
away and was succeeded by Miss Marian Sligar, who resigned 
and was succeeded in 1936 by Mrs. Eva Lacy, who resigned in 
1941 in favor of Mrs. Bessie Johnson, the present librarian. 

In the year 1953 a large reading room was added to the build- 
ing and more books and better facilities were inade possible. 

"The Toledo Story" contains many more historical events 
and also a genealogy on some local people. 



THE COURT HOUSE FIRE 

In the early days of old Prairie City and Toledo there was no 
organized fire fighter group. A volunteer bucket brigade to the 
nearest well, suiniTioned by the cry of "Fire, Fire" and the ring- 
ing of the old court house bell- -which was rung to announce any 
unusual event or fire or toll the years of some prominent citizen 
as his funeral procession proceeded to the cemetery, as well as 
to announce the opening at 9:00 a.m. and 1:00 p,m, of the session 
of Circuit Court, which was held only twice each year. 

On the morning of November 4, 1885, there was no Court 
House bell to awaken the citizens to the most disastrous fire that 
ever happened in the county, because the Court House itself was 
on fire, and so far advanced before it was discovered that nothing 
could be done except watch it burn. 

The old Court House was a two- story brick building with a 
Court Room located on the ground floor and all the offices and 
county records located on the second floor, reached by a winding 
stair from an entrance on the south side. It was rumored that 
county funds had been squandered or misappropriated by parties 
unknown and the records of the shortage juggled in the books un- 
til the time arrived when the shortage could no longer be covered 
up unless the records were completely destroyed. Whether or 
not there was any foundation for this rumor will never be known, 
but there was sufficient circumstantial evidence to convince many 
that the rumor was true and the building set on fire to destroy the 
records. Another incident which took place soon after added more 
or less to this rumor. 

A prominent attorney, it developed, had for several years been 
forging notes on substantial citizens, payable to himself, which he 

-51- 



sold to other citizens of considerable means at a discount. Be- 
fore these notes became due his practice was to forge other notes 
to replace them. However, one of the parties who had purchased 
one of these notes needed the money and a few days before it was 
due met the man whose name had been forged to the note and 
inquired if he would be able to pay it when it was due. This par- 
ty denied having given any note to the attorney, and it was soon 
discovered that a number of forged notes were held by other 
parties. The attorney learned that his forgeries had been dis- 
covered in time to leave within two days for parts unknown, but 
was soon located and returned to Toledo for prosecution. How- 
ever, he readily secured sufficient bond without going to jail 
until the next session of the Grand Jury. In the meantime rumor 
had it that he had suggested if he had to go to prison others who 
knew about the Court House fire would go with him. Whether 
or not there is any truth in this rumor, the attorney did secure 
funds to redeem all the forged notes and sufficient to move his 
family to another state. He was never tried for the forgery 
and never again seen in Toledo, 



Springpoint History German Lutheran Congregation 

In the east end of Lillyville, Springpoint Twp. , Cumberland 
County, Frederick Reiniche came from Germany and settled. 
First he settled west of Chicago, He came to the Springpoint 
area and bought land in 1869. This was the farm known as the 
Chas, Reinholz place that is now owned by Leo Holkenbrink. 
He built a house and barn there and part of them are still stand- 
ing. He also assisted in bringing a large number of his friends 
here and formed a Lutheran settlement. He was a Lutheran 
minister and although they had no church they held worship 
meetings in their homes on Sunday and changed around each 
week. 

Some of the names I have secured are Kummero, Duro, 
Durdel, Dubrock, Voigt, Behrens, Luckener, Weisbrod. 

Around that time crops were poor and times were hard 
and one by one the farmers slipped away to other areas. Dur- 
dels sold to Clem Wente and moved north east of Sigel. Beh- 
rens moved to Dorens , Duro Went back to Chicago, and 
Luckener moved to Walla Walla, Washington* 

Inl880 Reineche sold to Wm, Reinholz who moved here 
from the Chicago area with a large family. Reineche lost 
one good horse, and then to Keep going, he bought a team of 

-52- 



mules from Fritz Finke, who lived just north of Sigel. When, the 
time came to pay and no money, Finke came and took his mules 
back. 

When Reiniche wanted to move, he had no transportation. My 
Father that lived next door to the west agreed to haul his furniture 
and things to Sigel for him. Reiniche had a Welsh Clock that he 
gave to my father for his work. It must not have been very old 
then. The Pendulum Clock stood on a shelf on the south wall 
when Mother died in 1915 and was still there when Father died 
in 1929. When brother took over the place the clock was stored. 
Around 1945 ray brother Henry in Arizona wanted the clock and 
it was sent there. 

By Frank Holkenbrink 



A SPRING POINT STORY BY FRANK HOLKENBRINK 

Murder or Suicide? 

Between 1890' and 1900 a family was living one fourth mile west 
of the Clell Kingery place now owned by Lowel McClellan. This 
is a three fourth mile of the Frank Hemmen place north on the east 
side of the Spring Creek. On this place lived Dick Lohman, It 
was just a few hundred feet north of my Father's Timber land. The 
house and barn are gone now but the well is still there. I have been 
there many times years ago as we w^orked the ground just south of 
it. My father told me that one Monday morning in the winter, while 
he was cutting wood a little before noon in his timber, he heard a 
lot of noise and going on. The home was just a few hundred feet 
north; he heard a woman scream and keep it up so he went to see 
what was wrong. As he got there, there were other men at the 
barn and they found the woman's son hanged in the barn. He helped 
take him down and soon more people came. Pa went back to his 
job of cutting wood. The entire area around there was all heavy 
timber. My Father said the boy looked like he might be about 8 
years old. 

Granville Kingery, age 75, told me his part of the story, as 
his father told it to him. Granville said his father Clefel Kingery and 
Lewis Brewster were cutting railroad ties in the area and heard 
the commotion and hurried there. Clell Kingery cut the boy down 
from the beam. He thought the boy might have been thirteen and 
small foi" his age. Whether the boy did it on purpose or had some 
help was never learned, 

Clell Kingery acquired this land where the homestead was, and 

-53- 



when he built his home and farm buildings along tlie road, he 
dismantled the barn, beam by beain and set it up, just as it was, 
on his new place. The barn had a frame of 6x6 beams with 
tennons on the ends and a wood peg to hold it together, Gran- 
ville said his father showed him the beam, still in the barn, 
where the rope was tied and he could take you there today and 
show you the exact spot. 

The Lohmans were related to the Kingerys. 

The dead boys name I have learned was Oscar Lohman. The 
writer spent several years in piecing the above story together. 

Fred McClain informed me that Mrs. Dick Lohman was mur- 
dered south of Roslyn on Turkey Creek over a love affair. 

Roslyn 

In 1872 the Methodists built a brick church at a place later to 
be known as Roslyn, The location was 17 miles south of Mattoon 
and four miles north of Montrose. In the early 1880's, Henry 
Snider, a merchant of Ru s sian- Jewish descent, was traveling 
through the country on horseback S-i^d decided that the corner across 
from the church would be a good location for a country store. 

Snider started his store in a very smiall building. The busi- 
ness soon outgrew these quarters and he built a larger place with 
living quarters included. He transported his merchandi se from 
the nearest railroads, Sigel or Montrose. Needing help in his 
store, he emiployed Sarah Frederick. Later they were married 
and continued to operate the store until about 1895 when they 
moved their iner chandise to towns farther north in the state. 
Prospering in true Jewish fashion, their last store was in Danville, 
Illinois, where both died. 

Soon after Snider left Roslyn (1895), Bean and Prather from 
Toledo moved part of their merchandi se to the Snider building. 
Staying through the year of 1896 or 97. They were succeeded by 
Horace Conkrite and after a short interval by John Olmstead and 
son Emiory. Wishing to enlarge their business, they built a lar- 
ger store building which included living quarters about a block 
north of the Snider building. This store was known for years as 
Olmstead and Son. 

In the 1890's Roslyn was granted a Post Office, It continued 
in operation until a rural route from Sigel was started m 1903. 
The Post Office was located in the Olmstead Building. 

In addition to handling the mail, the Ohnstead's business con- 
sisted of a wide variety of merchandise- barrels of coffee beans 
and crackers, dry goods and patent medicine, buggies and farm 

-54- 



implements as well as iron bridges for Spring Point Township, 
All the merchandise was hauled by wagon from Sigel and Mont- 
rose, sometimes requiring four horses when the roads were 
muddy. Emory Olmstead bought the first car in the vicinity in 
about 1907, Soon after he moved to Mattoon. Later operators 
of the store were Winters and Brooks, and Zeno Gould. 

The Snider store had, in the meantime, been taken over by 
Charles Cope in the late 1890's and continued in this family for 
many years. Later occupants were the McElhiney Brothers 
(Henry and Oscar), Charles Niccum family. Oscar Effner was 
the last to operate the store in 1940, 

In the year of 1900, a new frame Methodist Church was 
built to replace the original brick building which, because of 
faulty construction, had cracked during a crowded church service 
causing quite a panic. The same year, 1900, an Adventist 
church across the road to the west was built. 

The year 1900 found the town of Roslyn at its peak- two 
churches, two stores, two blacksmith shops operated by Frank 
Wilson and Sid Cronk, five or six dwellings and a two-story 
town hall. The first floor was used for machine storage and a 
blacksmith shop and the upper floor was for the Woodman's lodge 
meeting and also for an occasional dance. 

Leon Easton's nearby sawmill provided lumber for buildings 
and slabs for the town's sidewalks. Hitch racks were built along 
the walks and each Saturday they were full of horses and buggies 
when the people in the surrounding countryside came to trade and 
visit. 

A baseball team was organized and played on the nearby farm 
of Alex Stewart. Crowds from far and near attended. 

The first rural telephone line in this area connected Teutopolis 
to Roslyn and several miles east about the turn of the century. 
It was built by Dr. Huffman and about 1904 it was organized as the 
Roslyn Mutual Telephone Co. In a short time many people saw 
the need of this modern convenience, and a central office was set 
up in Roslyn and was operated for years by Maggie McClain. 
Maggie was patient and efficient in answering calls night and day 
for doctors, fire alarms and emergencies as well as neighborly 
visits. About I960 the line was taken over by a larger company 
and converted to a dial system. 

Now in 1968 all that remains of Roslyn is the Methodist Church 
which has continued to have services for almost a century. With 
better roads and transportation there was no longer a need for the 
country store. 

By Mrs. Cyrus (Esther )Tolch 

-55- 



THE ROSLYN STORY BY Frank Holkenbrink Jr. 

The best story that we have been able to assemble regarding 
the town of Roslyn, begins with a man named Henry Schneider, a 
Jew from Jerusalem. He must have been a real go-getter and 
organizer and merchant. At first he had a store and stock of goods 
at Jim Town, a country place just north or east of the present 
town of Montrose, This was before the present Montrose got 
started. He decided to move in with the Irish settlement and 
started a store at Roslyn. He married a sister of the wife of 
Chas. McElheny, McElheny lived in later years west of RoSlyn. 
The place is now owned by Claude Thompson, 

Schneider was known as a pack peddler who would go out in 
the country on foot, carrying light merchandise like Irish Linen 
tablecloths, fancy watches, rings and other light goods. When 
the writer was a boyaround the 1900's some came around there 
each year and if they got there around evening they would ask to 
stay overnight and the next morning they would get out their mer- 
chandise and mother bought what she liked. 

Schneider, the storekeeper, also had in his store, all kinds of 
home remedies as real doctors were few and hard to get to the 
sick when the roads were poor. A Dr, Robey that lived west of 
Sigel on the Roby road, four miles away was a good country doc- 
tor. I have heard it said that when the roads were bad when called 
on a baby case, the new baby was generally three or four days 
old before he got there. Some of the remedies in the store were, 
Pain King Liniment, Lydia Pinkhams Compound , Dr, Kilmers 
Swamp Root Bitters, Foley's Honey and Tar for that Cough-all 
for the grownups and Mrs. Winslows Soothing Syrup for the babies. 

In later years Schneider had a team and top buggy and before 
starting out on his route would put in a sewing machine, sausage 
grinder and medicine bottles and start out on the country roads 
to sell and take orders. He had a Post Office in his store and the 
mail and newspapers were brought from Toledo twice a week by 
Sam McElhenny, as the mail carrier, and came through a town 
named Croake before he got to Roslyn, Croake was a store 
and Post Office about three miles east of High Point Tavern. 
That Tavern was not there then. 

In 1893 we find John Olmsted there in the store but did not 
find out when he moved in. His son Emory Olmsted operated it 
later and must have built up a vast empire. He bought hay all 
around and shipped it from Sigel. Also he bought turkeys and 
geese , in. season, and they were dressed in Roslyn and shipped 
from Sigel' One man that lived south of Roslyn, about six miles, 
said he hauled a load of geese there and got a better price than 



56- 



he could get in Sigel. Emery had one of the early automobiles 
around there and I have a picture of it. It looks like a 1910 
two cylinder Maxwell. The high point of his career must have 
been around 1912. Later Emery Olmstead was in partnership 
with A. W. BigLer and Henry Gehl on Western Ave, in Mattoon, 
known as Mattoon Implement and Buggy Co, 

Sorae of the Irish names were McKinney, McElhenny, Mc - 
Ginnis, McClain, McDurmit and many others, Wm, McKinney, 
the father of Jim McKinney first owned and lived on the place 
bought by John Sehi, the first of all the Sehis and also known as 
the Frank Lustig place. East and south of the present Frank 
Meyer place lived the Sanders, Buck and Wiley, Buck later 
lived in the Sehi area and was a trapper and hermit. He had some 
dogs and hunted and trapped and ate regular when he had some- 
thing to eat. His father was a school teacher and a learned man 
but somehow not much rubbed off on his sons, William Sehi 
told me when he was a boy he was at the cabin many times and 
one time he was there he was dressing rabbits, then hang them up 
in the chimney of the fire place. He burned wood and had a slow 
lire ana smoKed the meat till it was real hard. Then he would 
take them down, wrap them in a newspaper and put them in a 
lire and smoked the meat in a newspaper and put them in a 
wooden box. No flies would bother them in the summer. When 
he needed he "would saw a piece off with a hand saw and soak it 
in water before using. Buck Sander also had a wood stove with 
a fire door in line with his v/indow. Have been told that one day 
he had a long piece of wood, one end burning in the stove and 
the other in the open window, as it was quite long. When it 
burned off he would push it up again. It would have been much 
warmer if he had thrown out the wood and shut the window. 

Fred McClain, a middle aged man of 85, said his father was 
born in Philadelphia, and he came here with his folks when 12 
years old. The home where Maggie McClain lived and had the 
telephone office, in Roslyn, was first built up by a man named 
Pierson, He had a saw mill, a big pond, a stone burr mill and 
ground the finest corn meal. Those days every family baked corn 
bread and the best ears of white corn -was used. He sold the out- 
fit to Leander Easton who operated it a long time. Easton moved 
his mill along Spring Creek and sawed the timbers for the house and 
and barn built on the Holkenbrink place where my father lived. 
The buildings were built in the 1880's. 

The telephone system north of Montrose, was organized by 
Dr. Hoffman in 1902-03. It was operated by Maggie McClain 
from her home in Roslyn and called the Roslyn Exchange, There 
were many German people who were subscribers. Sometimes 



57 



when they were trying to get Central they would say, "Hello, iss 
dis de middle?" Some people of Roslyn thought that a very large 
word would not get through such a small wire but in time every- 
thing was worked out in fine shape. 

According to Fred McClain the forty acres containing Roslyn 
belonged to Perkins in 1864. Around 1900 a Mrs. Perkins lived 
there with her son, Arnold. Chas. Tolsch and Fred McClain 
were visiting them one evening when Arnold was making Gun Pow- 
der. He put some in a long box stove that was burning, to test it 
and it exploded, blew the stove all apart and set fire to the house. 
They got his niother out in the yard and then v/ent back and put out 
the fire. The experiment was a success. He used Salt Peter, 
charcoal and coal oil. 

In 1893 Dr. Bannerman came to Roslyn to go into practice. 
He was drowned in Mule Creek when engaged with John Olmsted 
in getting lumber to put up his new office building. 

The following news taken from the first issue of SIGEL ADVO- 
CATE printed June 9th, 1893. 

Doctor Bannerman Drowned 

Dr. John Bannerman met with a tragic death on Thursday 
afternoon of last week. He and John Olmsted, a merchant of 
Roslyn, started to cross Mule Creek south of Croake, on the 
running gears of a wagon. The creek was bank full and the team 
had not proceded far when they vv'ere swimming, and the swift 
current was carrying them away below the landing on the opposite 
side. In some manner the horses heads u'ere turned up stream 
and the wagon became upcoupled, and the rear part, upon which 
Dr. Bannerman was seated, floated down stream. The last seen 
of Dr. Bannerman, he was clinging to one wheel, sometimes 
above and sometimes beneath the water. Neither of the men 
could swim and it is said the water could be waded where the 
Doctor sank to rise no more. Ivlr. Olmsted and the horses came 
near drowning before they got out of the stream. The body of Dr. 
Bannerman was recovered the following day some 40 rods below 
where he was drowned. The remains were interred in a cemetery 
near Johnstown. 

More news on Dr. Bannerman. 1893. Dr. Bannerman, who 
drowned last week was shipwrecked coming to this country from 
England. He was picked out of the ocean after four days and nights 
He saved himself by clinging to part of the wreck. 

Nick Faber, Age 96, of Montrose, told me that at the time he 
had a livery barn there and that he hauled people to the doctor's 
inquest, which w^as held in Greenup. 

By F. Holkenbrink 



News of World War I, just 50 years ago. by F, Holkenbrink 

War was declared early in 1917 and all men between 2 1-31 
inust register. The writer also registered in the Springpoint 
Town House in June, In August the first call came to report to 
Toledo to be examined. Any man who had two hands and one eye 
could easily pass. Dr. Rhodes was the examiner. The Doc said 
you close one eye anyway when you shoot. We left Toledo in a 
group in August, from the depot, in the morning, after staying 
in town the night before. Half the tow^n was there to see us off. 
It must have been something new. We went from there to Louis- 
ville, Ky. to Camp Taylor. 

Every so often a new batch was called up. In Feb. 1918 a 
large crew was assembled at Toledo to go to cannip. In this group 
were men that decided, 'let's have one more party here as it 
may be the last. ' Fortified with pocket flasks and bottles of 
whiskey, as they had learned there were no taverns in Toledo, 
they were put up for the night on the southw^est corner of the 
square, upstairs over a funeral parlor, and locked up. 

The undertaker had stored three new coffins upstairs, also. 
After a short confab and a few more drinks they marched around 
the coffins Indian fashion singing songs and then a rest period. 
After more rounds and a few hours later one of the crew passed 
out. He was solemnly laid out on his cot. After a few more rounds 
they decided to lay him in a coffin and see how he would look. 
This was done. This thing had a glass lid so it was lowered to 
make it look real. After a time they took another look at their 
departed corarade and saw he was sweating and clawing on the 
glass. This lid had a snap catch that no one could open. One 
of them was acquainted wdth a helper of the undertaker that lived 
in town. He got out somehow and got the man. It was high time 
to get him out, Grundy Roberts was the undertaker, Clint 
Bradshaw the man in the coffin. Some of the men in the above 
crew were Walter Redfern, Louis Willenborg, Frank Czerwonka, 
Fred Callahan, George Meyers. They wound up in France and 
fought in some of the hottest battles in Belguim and France. 
They became some of the best machine gunners Gen, Pershing 
had on his payroll. 

Information by Walter Redfern-one of the marchers 

Springpoint Pioneers Outlaws 

When the early German settlers came here a hundred years 

-59- 



ago they found a large selection of Yankees already here. The 
Yankees were of two kinds. Most were squatters on the land 
and did not own it. The one variety tried to make an honest 
living and had a shanty for a home, had a small garden, a good 
sharp ax and the men hunted and cut railroad ties and logs for 
hire and split fence rails. Most had a good saddle horse and 
some even had a scrub cow for milk. They used the milk as 
needed and hung the bucket in the open well to keep it cool. None 
made any butter and few young folks knew what it was. The plow 
was unknov/n as the small patch of garden was worked by hand. 
The women combed the woods for blackberries, May apples, mul- 
berries and other fruits in season. A few apple trees were seen 
along the trail, most likely planted by Johnny Appleseed. Wal- 
nuts, hickory nuts, hazel nuts and butter nuts were for the taking. 
Sugar was unknown but who needs that when you can go into the 
woods and find plenty of bee trees, and get all the honey you 
want. Some of the Yankees caught rabbits and small game in the 
winter and hung it high in the fireplace chimney. The smoke 
from hickory and wild cherry wood slowly dried the meat and al- 
so put a fancy flavor in it. 

The other type of Yankee was more highclass. He had a 
shanty for his family, had a fast saddle horse but he never worked. 
He decided it was much simpler to let the other fellow work to 
get the money and then take it away from hina. Springpoint area 
along Spring Point Creek was full of the last class and forever 
gave trouble to the early settlers, mostly German, who worked 
hard all day plowing the ground, getting buildings up and raising 
livestock. 

The area around Teutopolis was settled in 1843 when the 
German Colony came here and brought 10, 000 acres at a clip from 
the State House at Vandalia and paid cash. This included the 
Green Creek, Spring Point, now Lillyville, and south to Bishop. 
The Germans were a hard working class of people and soon moved 
on their land and started to improve it at once. Most had never 
owned land before and journeyed here 4000 miles in a sail boat. The 
women too worked beside the men in the field and also pulled the 
cross cut saw to help fell trees as well as doing the cooking. 

The Yankees rode through the country on their fine saddle 
horses and did some prospecting. They would then go to Teuto- 
polis and of course, the main meeting place for the farmers was 
the Jacob Fuelle Saloon, 

The Yankees always managed to have a lookout there who was 
well known by the people and many a German farmer canie in the 
saloon after he had sold his load of hogs and bragged what he got 

-60- 



for his hogs. A few of the Yankees succeeded in learning part 
of the German language and the farmers trusted them. There 
were no banks at that time so the money was taken home and 
salted away and used as needed, 

Gerhardt Schneider jon, born in Germany in 1800 came to 
America with his family in 1849. The family consisted of his 
wife, 2 boys and 5 girls. Cincinnati was a stop over place and 
from there they found their way to Teutopolis, 111, and bought 
a farm four miles north of town and half mile west of the Chas. 
Hotze farm, whose grandfather lived there at that time. One 
son Herman, served in the Civil War Co. B. 111. 8th Infantry. 
One daughter married Henry Mense Sr. and moved to Sigel. One 
married John Mill bachler of the Sigel area and one married a Mr 
Kemper. One of the girls was the second wife of F, H, Schuma- 
cher this being the grandmother of Ralph Schumacher of Lilly- 
ville. One girl disappeared off the ship, and no record of the 
other son. 

Schneider jon, after farming a while also raised hogs, and 
working hard, soon had a good start. A load of hogs were ready 
to sell and he took them to Teutopolis, After the hogs were de- 
livered he made a short stop at the Tavern and drove home. The 
Scout had seen him get paid and followed him home at a distance 
to make sure where he lived, A few hours after going to bed he 
heard a hammering on the door and he got up, took his lamp to 
see what was wrong. 

As he opened the door a masked man with a revolver stared 
him in the face, "What do you want?'" "I want the money, " 
"What money?" "The money you got for that load of hogs. " 
Schneiderjon stalled but no luck. He went out and got the money. 

Being mad by now, he threw the handful of money at the man 
and most of it fell on the floor. As the robber stooped to pick 
it up his handkerchief slipped o^^ his face. Schneiderjon noticed 
it was the same man he had seen in town. He said nothing after 
recognizing the man. At that time one of the older girls had 
heard the commotion, climbed out of a back window to go to 
the Hotze home for help, but a lookout pushed her back and 
told her to stay there. 

The next morning, early, Schneiderjon drove to Teutopolis 
to see Clem Uptmore and told him what had happened. Uptmore 
asked him if he recognized this man and he said he did. This was 
not the first time someone had been robbed but this time they had 
evidence. 

He sent a rider to Effingham to get the she^-iff, who came soon 
and they went to the farm, looked things over and noted in the 



•61- 



woods across the road where the horses had been parked. By 
the looks of things there could have been four n^ien involved. By 
asking around where this man lived they went there and put him 
in jail. After a hearing in court a date for trial was set and he 
went back to jail. He soon put pressure on his comrads to get 
him out on bond. The court was not interested in his friends as 
bondsman as they owned no property. 

A man named Sinith had a mill not too far north of the present 
Montrose and some of the gang, that knew Smith, persuaded him 
to go bond for the man in jail. Smith got him out with a strong 
promise that he would be available at the time of the trial. 

Between Newton and St. Marie, along the Embarrass River 
is a place called 'the Bend'. This was wild country a hun- 
dred years ago and was the home of c ounterfitter s and robbers 
of all descriptions as it was a perfect hideout. The Springpoint 
outlaws had friends there and when things got too hot from the 
law here they would go to the Bend country. Each time one of 
the crooks here got called into court for stealing a horse or 
robbing someone of the German settlers, one of their friends was 
called from there and he would swear this man was fox hunting 
with him, at that time, in the Bend, and the case was dismissed. 

Smith, the miller, did not trust the outlaws to much this 
time as they had fooled him before. He also knew about the 
hideout at the Bend, 

Several days before the trial was to come off. Smith sent 
his two sons out to look up the suspected man and bring him to 
the mill. The order was completed without the man being able to 
contact his friends and inforin them where he was taken. 

He was kept a prisoner on the third floor of the mill and 
watched day and night. He was permitted to talk to no one to make 
sure he v/ould be there for the trial. He must not see any of his 
friends. His friends did not know where to look for him. About 
the last day he got restless and tried to m.ake a break for it and 
he was shot and killed by the younger Einmet Smith. 

The home where the robber lived was in a building on the 
south side of the road a short distance m the field south of the 
present home of Leo Holkenbrink. 

One of the outlaw scouts had heard the German say when he 
was in a crowd "us Dutchinen must together sticken", but he 
later found out that if he got into trouble with one he was in trou- 
ble with all of them. 

One thing we find in the record later, the settlesr got more 
confident and decided to bait them. One fellow who lived south 
of Montrose, was quite a braggard when partly tanked up. He 

-62- 



had got hold of a large sum of money. After agreeing with his 
friends he went to Teutopolis to the saloon and for the benefit 
of the outlaw scout, showed his nice pile around and said he 
had sold some land in San Lebroy in St. Clair County, The scout 
took the hint and followed him home at a distance, to make sure 
where he lived and then took off to Springpoint to tell his friends 
the great news. 

Later that night, leaving their horses a way down the road 
and a man to watch them, they went to the house and woke the 
farmer and demanded the money. At the proper time his friends, 
about 15 in number, came out of their hiding places and fired 
their guns. One man said he had never seen nien run so fast. 

Some of the names of the Springpoint outlaws were Duckworth, 
Shennels, Reemer and Dave Knowles. 

Duckworth killed the father of Bill Hetzer of near Montrose 
while he was shucking corn in a field. Hetzer knew to much 
about him. 

Knowles was shot in Teutopolis on his 28th birthday. He was 
shot by the city police. An outlaw^ named Collins was a body 
guard for Knowles on the day he was shot. From the best inform- 
ation I have been able to get the name of the policeman who shot 
Knowles was named Adams. 

The Roslyn Story- - Murder s south of Roslyn 

Jim Lewis, a young man and his wife lived in a log cabin in 
the timber east of the Frank Meyer place and was engaged as a 
railroad tie cutter. As work was very scarce, one day a stran- 
ger came to the cabin asking for a handout and also inquired 
about possible work. After a short interview Lewis learned 
that his name was Round Hoagland. Lewis told him that he could 
help him cut ties for a time till something better turned up. 

Hoagland was not too good at wood chopping but was more 
interested in becoming extra friendly with Mrs. Lewis, 

Lewis soon sized up the situation, going on, but said nothing. 
After a time, one afternoon Hoagland said he would like to quit 
work a little early and went up to the cabin. After a short time 
Lewis decided something strange was in the wind and he too 
went home. As he arrived close to the home he saw Hoagland 
open the door from the inside. He had Lewis's muzzel loading 
rifle in his hands and shot at Lewis. With all the excitement 
the rifle had fired but Lewis was not hit. Lewis immediately 
saw 'red' and got his knife and finished Hoagland. 

Mrs. Lewis had been instructed to go away a distance from 

-63- 



the cabin and when she heard the shot she should come back. 
She got the surprise of her life when she got there, as Hoagland 
lay dead on the ground. 

She told her husband the whole story and that night Lewis 
packed his tools and left the country and was never seen again. 

Just east of the above disaster, on Turkey Creek, lived a 
settler called Sanders. He and his wife had one daughter called 
Mary. She was 14 or 15 years old and a young man about twice 
her age was much interested in her. Her parents told him he 
was too old for her and not to bother her anymore. One day this 
girl was in the fields gathering dandylion greens, alone, when 
this man slipped up on her and killed her with his pocket knife. 
Her murderer was Bill Galimore, who later tried to kill him- 
self. Mary Sanders was about the same age as the mother of 
Granville Kingery and the two were good friends. 

The two above stories from interviews with Granville Kingery. 

By Frank Holkenbrink Jr. -- 
InforiTiation by Ralph Schumacher, 
Frank R^.hoUe, Nick Faber 

Springpoint Township History —Pioneers 

I will begin with my inother and father A. M. Kingery, 
better known as Clell. My mother was a daughter of Robert 
Plummer, a Civil War veteran and my father was born in the 
east end of Lilly ville, known as the Hess place just east of the 
Victor Will home. My father, as a young man worked on ranches 
in Kansas, back in 1885-86. In the winter he made railroad ties 
in the Ozarks, down in Arkansas, as it was called then. 

The neighbors were the Czerwonka brothers, Christ and 
August. They came from Bremen Germany, to Champaign and 
later moved to Springpoint and bought farms where they lived 
until they passed away. An incident that happened to Christ's 
family was when they were coming over here, one of their child- 
ren died, and according to navigation rules the body could not be 
kept on the ship. The child was strapped to a board and slid 
down to a watery grave. How heartbreaking this must have been 
to the family. 

Ausust, better known as Gust, told me that during the Cholera 
Plague, his mother buried his father one evening and the next 
morning his mother was dead. As a boy he took up blacksmithing 
and was a very efficient smith. He said the German Government 
required everyone to learn a trade so as to be self supporting. 

-64- 



The German Government did not believe in W. P. A. 

I might mention something of myself also. I served three 
years in the National Guard, Co. G. of Effingham. I was united 
in marriage to Iva Grissom, daughter of Welsey and Dollie 
Grissom in 1915, Nine children were born to our union, eight 
are now living. A son aged 22 died in 1952, I resided on a 
farm north of Montrose until 1952 when I moved to Effingham and 
took up carpentry. I lost my companion in 1967, which makes 
my life very lonesome. 

The Wm. Lanus Sr. family came from Alsace-Loraine, a 
Province of France during the conflict between Bismark and the 
French. In the war of 1871-72, it was ceded to Germany and the 
German language used in the schools. The early Lanus family 
first settled south of Chicago and later bought land south of Mont- 
rose. Mrs. Lanus was a daughter of Nick Gehl, a German who 
lived then in Sigel. 

The Sehi families also lived in the area in Springpoint Town- 
ship, Louis, Amad, Pete and "William, I donot know what part 
of Germany they came from. They first settled in Indiana. 
Louis Sehi had a threshing outfit that had a rolling kitchen. A 
small house was built on wheels and when the thresher moved 
they hooked on the kitchen and could sleep and eat any place needed, 
John Sehi was the first of the Sehi's and he lived on the Frank 
Lustig Place. A good story about Pete Sehi is told by his daugh- 
ter, Agnes Fearday. The Sehi's were married around 1889 and 
lived near Springpoint Town House. A stranger came to the house 
looking for work. He said he could shuck corn so a deal was on. 
They got the team hitched up to the corn wagon and Pete took him 
into the corn field so he could start. The Sehis went to town and 
returned before evening and saw the horses and wagon wandering 
around in the cornfield. The 'hand' had entered the house and got 
away with Pete's new wedding suit and his shot gun. They later 
found his old clothes in the woods v/here he too had become a 
dressed up gentleman. The man's name was Newberry. 

In the winter of 1918 the flu epidemic struck in the area and 
few people escaped its ravages, Arthur Cerwonka lost his wife and 
and brother and Leonard Lanus passed away, all within a few 
days of each other. 

In 1904 some of the bigwigs in New York City, that owned 
automobiles decided to drive to the World's Fair, in St. Louis, 
over the National Trail, It was all dirt road and went through 
Greenup and Montrose toward Effingham. The wheels on the 
cars were all wood, with spokes, and they would buy three quar- 
ter inch rope and wrap around the tire and rim for traction. It 

-65- 



worked fairly well but not in a deep mud hole. Between Mont- 
rose and the Pumping Station were some fancy mud holes that 
required a good team of horses to pull an old Packard through 
after a wet spell, I have been told that between Montrose and 
Teutopolis was a superior mud hole and many a car was pulled 
out and after it started to dry up the old lady would get the boys 
to carry water in there, after supper, to keep it active, 

I remember once in the early days of the automobile, one 
of the neighbors was driving along and met one of those contj-ap- 
tions, his team became frightened, so the tourist was very ob- 
liging, stopped his car and got out and asked the neighbor if he 
could help him manage his horses. He said, "Never mind, I 
take care of the horses, you just take care of ma, " 

Then came the tractor which began to eliminate poor old 
Dobbin and MoUey and now the days of the work horse is al- 
most a thing of the past. Then came the Combine to elimin- 
ate the good old days of threshing, with twelve or fifteen men 
and the women would have a dinner fixed fit for a king. Now 
one man does the work of 15 with his combine and they wonder 
why our aiemployment is so great. You don^t need much under 
your hat to figure that one out. 

I'll throw in a little joke for good ineasure. I went to see 
my best girl one S nday evening and back in that time they sort 
of reckoned time with the candle. She would light the candle 
and it was supposed to burn until midnight before it went out. 
When it went out it was time to go home. About nine o'clock 
a cat slipped in and ate the tallow candle and beat me out of 
three hours of courtship, I have never liked cats since. Good- 
bye now, see you in church. 

Compliments of Granville Kingery, by F. Holkenbrink 



The writer recalls well, a large sign was placed about a quar 
ter mile west of Montrose for the benefit of tourists coming 

from the west. It read Go slow see our town; Go fast see 

our jail. This is Montrose around 1915. 



By F. Holkenbrink. 



•66- 



BUSINESSES 

Baker Drilling Company 

The Baker Drilling Co., was established in 1895 by Levi 
L, Baker, in Shelby County, Illinois, about 1/3 of a mile West 
of the Shelby - Cumberland County line. His first machine 
was an Austin No. 2 Rock Drill, operated with a tractor steam 
engine. He operated this machine over 15 years in Shelby, 
Effingham and Cumberland Counties. 

The price for drilling was between $. 45 and $, 65 per foot, 
and the daily average was 15 to 30 feet per day. Labor at that 
time was from $.75 cents to $1.00 a day. The people he drilled 
for furnished fuel and water for drilling, and board and room 
for the men. 

E. C. Baker St. started drilling in 1920 on a rebuilt Austin 
machine his father had purchased in 1913. He operated from 
Shelby County until March 1929 when he and his wife and family 
moved into the Rea house Spring Point Twonship, Cumberland 
County. In 1931 he custom built to his own specifications a 
new machine. It was the real beginning of the E. C. Baker & 
Sons Drilling Company. 

In 1934 they moved into a new house across the road from 
the Rea Farm, just inside the Cumberland County line, where 
the Company has been operating from ever since. 

A livestock barn was built in 1935, one of the few round roof 
barns in this area. It has been remodeled, with an office on the 
west side and a pump repair station on the east side, the rest is 
used for storage of parts and equipment. 

1936 - A new^ machine mounted on a new truck. 

1937 - Another new machine mounted on a new truck. 
A machine shop was built in 1940. 

Airplane Airport Hanger 

In January of 1948 a three - place Piper Super Cruser was 
purchased by E. C. Baker and two of his sons, Floyd and Norman. 
This plane was based at the Effingham Airport until the private 
landing field was completed in the latter part of 1948. This air- 
port is about 1 1/2 miles east of Sigel, in Cumberland County. 
It has a North - South and an East - West Runway. 

A hanger was built in 1949 complete with a well and an elect - 
trie door. 

This plane was used for business by the Baker Drilling Com- 
pany and for recreation by the family until it was sold 19 1/2 
years later. The airport is still there. 

-67- 



Floyd and Norman Baker took their pilot training on the G I 
Bill and received their license on January Z, 1948. Lowell and 
Max, brothers of the above, also became pilots. 

Some of the more interesting holes drilled by this Coinpany 
were the Shafts for the Hydraulic Mechanism that operate the 
elevators in the new Illinois State Museum. 

Drilling Company Incorporated 

In June of 1965 E. C, Baker & Sons became a corporation 
with Earl C. Baker Jr. as President, Vernon A. Baker as Sec- 
\ , retary, Hester H. Baker as Treasurer. 

i^y\ Employees and Stockliolder s : Earl C. Baker Jr., Effingham, 
%/ Vernon A. Baker, Sigel, Hester H. Baker, Sigel, Floyd F.Bak- 
I er, Sigel, Arthur L,. Baker, Sigel, J. Curtis Baker, Effingham, 

'f^Lo^Ua M. Baker (Mrs. J. Curtis Baker) Effingham, Loretta 
'^ ''^^ker Tegeler, Effingham, Bonnie E. Baker, Sigel. 



Stockholders: Paul V. Baker, Lodi, California, Sara Baker 

A' N Carpenter, Worth, Illinois, Norman E. Baker, Sigel, and Tho- 

^"^ mas Baker, Effingham, 1968 - The Officers, Stockholders and 

employees remain as they were at the time of incorporation. 

Todays equipmient includes, two well drilling rigs, one test 

drilling rig, one pump pulling rig and three service trucks. 

/* ^Greenup National Bank '7rLrKViJ(^.^.^!^r7''l^^ 

On April 6, 1906, the Greenup National Bank opened for busi- 
ness with Eb Stewart as president and J. A. Campbell as cashier. 
The directors were Eb Stewart, J. A, Campbell, J. D, Green, 
M. M. James, and Lewis Ely, 

During the sixty two years of operation three men have served 
as president, namely: Eb Stewart 1906-1915; J. A, Cainpbell 
1915-1957; Lee Markwell 1957- to the present. 

Cashiers during the years have been J. A. Campbell, C. R. 
Bowman, Ada Brussell, H. O. Ewart, J. C. Hall, R. B. Dettro, 
Lee Markwell, and Don Landsbery. 

The following are some of the employees that have served the 
bank through the years: Ada Brussell, Ina Williams, Lucile Jones, 
Vera Stansbery, Sybil Dettro, Opal Dillier, Lucille Cooley, Lyle 
Markwell, Pat Darling, Loretta Cummins, Kenneth Miller, J, D. 
Green, Wayne Bancroft, Marilyn Wood, Glen Warfel, Lucile Coble, 
Opal Darling. 

Other directors have been William Herr, Ed Hayden, Fred 
Wylde, Agnes Campbell, W. E. Freeman, Rov ShuU, Charles 

-68- 



Aldrich, Nett Hibben, J. W. Wyldc-, A. B. Isley, George Clark, 
and Lee Markwell. 

The bank has grown over the years, and at the present time 
the capital, surplus, and undivided profits account totals more 
than $660, 000, and the deposits are approximately $3, 500, 000. 00. 
The total assets of the bank are more than $4, 200, 000. 00. 

THE NEOGA BANKS 

At the close of the Civil War Neoga was a village of some 
three to four hundred people. The Nickel Plate railroad was as 
yet unbuilt. The highways, although laid out were not completed, 
and as a large portion of the country was unfenced, many of themi 
were mere trails winding through the prairie grass. At that time 
there was no bank of any kind in Cumberland County. 

To W. W, Whitney, a young lawyer who had just settled in 
Neoga, the greatest need of the community was for banking facili- 
ties. He realized that a bank would be of great service to the lo- 
cal business men and farmers, and would help in the advancement 
of Neoga, as the nearest banks were in Mattoon, Effingham, and 
Shelbyville. F. D. Voris came to Neoga from Mattoon soon after 
the Civil War also, and entered the grain business. A short time 
later H. D. Minshall arrived to open a hardware and implement 
store. Mr. Whitney interested these two men in the organization 
of a bank and in 1872 the three formed a partnership under the 
firm name of Voris, Minshall, and Whitney. Each of the three 
partners contributed equally to the $3, 000. 00 capital stock of the 
concern, which was called the Cumberland County Bank. Mr, 
Whitney was the manager and was designated as cashier. The 
building location was on Oak Street, south of the present "bank 
corner", and about on the site of today^s Gingham Inn Cafe, 

Soon after the bank opened additional help was needed and 
William D. Dickey, an eighteen-year-old student of Wabash Col- 
lege and son of the Presbyterian minister, was employed. Mr, 
Dickey remained with the bank 25 years, resigning to accept the 
cashiership of a National bank in Indiana. 

On account of other business interests requiring his time and 
capital, Mr. Voris soon retired from the firm and was succeeded 
by Samuel F. Wilson. The firm then continued for a time under 
the name of Wilson, Minshall, and Whitney. Later the interest of 
Mr, Minshall was taken over by Joseph Wilson, no relation to 
Samuel Wilson. When Mr. Wilson died, his interest was assumed 
by Samuel Wilson and the firm became Wilson and Wilson, Cum- 
berland County Bank, with a capital of $6, 000. 00 and a surplus 

-69- 



In 1900 it became apparent that additional capital was re- 
quired to conduct the business and a more substantial organi- 
zation was desired; hence the organization of the Cumberland 
County National Bank with a capital of $25, 000,00. The stock- 
holders at that time were Samuel Wilson, F, D. Voris, Sylvanus 
Neighbor, Ambler F, Wilson, Frank M. Welshimer, Joseph 
Wilson, Newell H. Stewart and Charles Dudley Kingman. This 
organization continued until 1906, when because of developing 
business a further increase in capital was necessary. The 
capital was accordingly increased to $50, 000. 00 and the board 
of directors from five to seven members. 

When it was organized as a national bank in 1900 the scene 
of operations was moved from the small frame building it had 
occupied for many years to its present location. The small 
brick building it occupied at that time was razed in 1907 and a 
more modern structure of Bedford stone was erected. In 1924 
additional room and equipment was added to meet current needs 
and so the present building was completed. At that time F, M. 
Welshimer was president; A. F. Wilson vice-president; T. W. 
Higgins, cashier; R. I. Strohm, assistant cashier; and Irene 
Dugan, bookkeeper. The directors were J. E. Barrett, Robert 
Burrell, I. T, Hackley, T. W. Higgins, L. K. Voris, A. F. 
Wilson, and F. M. Welshimer, The bank's capital, surplus, and 
undivided profits aniounted to $70, 000.00, Ambler Wilson fol- 
lowed Frank Welshimer as president until his death in November, 
1930. Upon the death of Mr, Wilson, T, W. Higgins was chosen 
president. 

After the banking moratorium in 1933, a new bank was or- 
ganized under the title of Cumberland County National Bank in 
Neoga, to assunie the liquid assets of the old bank. One hundred 
and fifty-one persons subscribed for the new stock. Tracy Hig- 
gins was elected president at that time, holding that office until 
his death in February, 1935. He was succeeded by Frank Hackley. 
Mr. R, E, Strohm followed Mr. Hackley as president in 1945 and 
served until 1963. 

The present bank, which started in 1933 with a capital and 
surplus of $60, 000. 00 and total resources of $178, 000. 00 has 
since grown until the total capital in 1968 is $306, 000. 00 with 
a total recourses amounting to $3, 150,000,00, Clyde E, Drennan 
is now the bank's president; Mrs. Evelyn W. Alexander, cashier- 
Mrs. Dortha Greeson, assistant cashier; Donald L, Scoles, book- 
keeper; and Mrs, Lana L, Brick, bookkeeper. 



70- 



THE FIRST NATIONAL BANK (TOLEDO) 

In 1890 Robert C, Willis and James E. Willis, who operated 
a bank in Enfield, Illinois, established a bank in Toledo, Illinois 
known as the Willis Brothers Bank and erected a two story build- 
ing located on the North-west corner of the square to house their 
bank. R. C. Willis was president who later purchased his bro- 
ther's interest and changed the name to The Toledo Bank, 

In 1900 a charter was granted to organize the First National 
Bank of Toledo (which was the first national bank in Cumberland 
county) with a capital stock of $40, 000. 00. R. C. Willis, B. W, 
McPherson, John W. Miller, Levi Holsapple and Dr. Charles R. 
Bird were directors, R, C. Willis - President, J, W. Miller - 
Vice President, Charles Willis - Cashier and Perry Midkiff - 
B ookkeeper. 

In 1902 the capital was increased to $50, 000. 00 and J. A. 
Campbell, who later became President of the Greenup National 
Bank Greenup, Illinois, replaced Midkiff as Assistant Cashier 
and continued as such for four years. In 1906 the bank building 
was sold and the bank leased a building on the north side of the 
square and in 1933 the building was purchased by the bank. On 
the death of R. C, Willis in 1920, Charles Willis became Presi- 
dent, W. C. Greathouse - Vice President, Ben C. Willis - 
Cashier and in October 1920, Wm, E. Olmstead became an em- 
ployee of the bank. 

In compliance with the bank iTioratorium in 193 3 the bank was 
placed in voluntary liquidation and steps were taken immediately 
to organize a new bank. A Charter was granted to operate as the 
First National Bank in Toledo with 95 stockholders, a capital of 
$25, 000 and surplus of $5, 000. The directors were Ben C. Willis, 
A. F, Bussard, Chas. M. Connor, Edgar A. Neal, Vice President, 
Wm, C, Olmstead, Chasier, and Lucille Cooley, Assistant 
Cashier. 

In I960 Madge Willis became a director succeeding Chas. M. 
Connor, In 1962 Lester D. Taggart was elected as director. 

In 1964 the bank purchased the former Hattie B. Tossey resi- 
dence at 201 N, Meridian for the purpose of erecting a new bank 
building. The ground was cleared and construction was started in 
the spring of 1965 and the building was completed early in 1966. 
The bank moved to it's beautiful new modern banking house in 
Jur of 1966. Open house was held on July 10, 1966. 

In April, 1966 Edgar A, Neal, Vice President and Chairman 
of the Board passed away. He had been very instrumental in 
planning the new building. In May, 1966 W. A. Carr was appointed 

-71- 



Chairnian of the Board and Wn^, E, Olmstead, Vice President 
to fill the vacancy created by the death of Mr, Neal. 

In 1965 John H. Mock became an employee of the bank and 
in January 1967 W. A. Carr -was elected Chairman of the 
Board, Wm. E. Olmstead, Vice President and Cashier, John 
H. Mock, Assistant Cashier and Director, and Burnham E. 
Neal, Director. 

As of January 1, 1968 the total assets of the bank were 
$4, 200, 000. 00 with loans of $2, 200, 000. 00. Capital stock 
$50, 000.00 surplus $350, 000.00, undivided profits and reserve 
$190, 000. do and deposits totaled $3, 600, 000. 00, with the fol- 
lowing directors, officers, and employees: W. A. Carr, Chair- 
inan, J, M. Drakeford, Wm. E. Olmstead, W, M. Lovins, 
Madge Willis, C. S. Rominger, L. D. Taggart, John H, Mock, 
and B, E. Neal, Directors. C. S. Rominger President, Wm. 
E. Olmstead, Vice President, Lucille Cooley, Ass't Cashier, 
Blanche Shoot, Carolyn Swearingen and Connie Kingery, Tellers 
and Bookkeepers. 

SOME BUSINESS HOUSES IN GREENUP 

Mitchell, Doris gives Cumberland County News over W C R A 
Radio, Effingham, 111, The news is given by remote control Mon- 
day through Saturday. She has a wide news coverage, and a 
large listening audience. She began broadcasting in March 1958, 

Mitchell's Heating, Air Conditioning, and Household Appli- 
ances owned by Dale Mitchell, and his wife, Doris. They also 
own the building, having purchased it from Jim and Dan Feeds 
in 1966. The building was erected by William Morris in 1940 
at 122 East Cumberland St. The 1968 employees are Robert 
Haney, Richard Lyons, Kenneth Green, and Roger Dobbs. 

Fred Wylde and Company Insurance and Real Estate was 
originated by William Wylde, who was succeeded by his son Fred 
Wylde, who was in turn succeeded by his sons James E. Wylde 
and John W. Wylde. The building is owned by Fred Wylde and 
Company. It was purchased in 1926 from Harry Jenuine. Loca- 
tion is 109 South Kentucky St., Greenup, There are no einployees, 

Underwoods Shoe Store is owned by Herman Underwood, hav- 
ing been purchased from the VFW. Location is 117 Cumberland 
St, Greenup. This store sells good shoes and boots and Herman 
also does repair work. His father, John, had a repair shop for 
many years. Herman born Oct. 6, 1905 at Greenup, son of John 
and Delia Ragon Underwood, married Bonnie Dillier, They have 
one son, Robert, who is a teacher, married, and has three girls. 



-72- 



Ruffner Chevrolet has sold new and used Chevrolet cars and 
trucks, and had a repair shop operated by Louis and Merle Du- 
vall for many years at 204 West Cumberland St. Glen Ruffner 
owns the building, which was erected in 1917 by Glen, Harry 
Jenuine, John W. Ward, and Henry Barger. They also sell 
parts and accessories. The 1968 employees are Lowell Slater, 
Mary Sherrick, Richard Green, Louis and Merle Duvall. 

Peters Barber Shop is on the south side of West Cumberland 
St, in a building formerly occupied for several years by Ed 
Peters Furniture Store. Don Peters purchased the building from 
Clara Mitchell in 1963. His first practice was in Greenup in 
1935, Charles M. Wade is the only 1968 employee. 

The D. & D. Flower Shop is owned by Donal and Doris Peters, 
next door to the Barber Shop, It was purchased from Clara Mit- 
chell in 1963 also. The 1968employees are Elinor Wolford and 
Mary Sheridan, They have a very attractive shop, the only florist 
shop in our county. 

Marjorie W, Craig now operates a dry goods and clothing 
store. The building was erected in 1903. Marjorie purchased the 
building from Grover Weaver, July 1946. It is located on Cum- 
berland Street. The 1968 employees are as follows; Oneita Kent, 
Marjorie Gabel, Maxine Spencer, and Jo Stewart, 

Hayden's Market 

In 1908, Ed Hayden was employed in a small food store 
owned by Art Snyder and located on the north side of Main Street, 
across from the park, Snyder added to his business by pur- 
chasing the Ben Wilson store and joined the two enterprises in 
the Ed Hibben building, at that time the location of the Wilson 
Store. Within a few months, Snyder decided to devote more 
of his time to a buggy tire shop he operated and on July 10, 1910, 
he sold the stock to Ed and Bertha (Matteson) Hayden who oper- 
ated a family concern for 38 years in the same location. As 
well as the owners, a brother, Elza Hayden and their sons Ernest 
and Richard, continued the operation, constantly advancing and 
modernizing. Cured and fresh meats had been added and their 
own slaughtering house established. The business survived two 
world wars but progressed. 

Ed Hayden died on December 29, 1947 and his widow retained 
ownership for eight years. During that time the Management was 
affiliated with Super Way for three years and in 1949, joined a co- 
operative group. Independent Grocers Alliance. 



73- 



Mrs. Hayden decided to retire from public work and Decem- 
ber 8, 1955, sold out to her son, Ernest and his wife, the former 
Martha Goldsmith of Jewett, 

For a few months the store continued operation in the Hibben 
building which had been remodeled after a fire in 1925. A move 
was made to the Elstun building in July 1956, where the store 
remained for three and a half years. During this time a modern 
food store building was constructed at C mberland and Delaware 
streets and a final move was made on January 28, I960, the 
store bearing the same family naiTie. 

Operational Management was assumed by their son, Jay, in 
April 1966, the third generation to serve the community. 

The fifty- eightyear old food store is the second oldest fam- 
ily owned store in Cl' mberland county. 

Compiled by Martha and Pat (Sowers) Hayden 



Holt's Store 

John Holt, a stone mason, came to Greenup from England 
in 1868. After having farmed one mile south of town for some 
years, he erected a store building on the west side of the town 
square in 1885. This date is verified by a keystone which states: 
"Holt's Block, Dec. 1885." 

His son. Squire, grew to manhood and entered into the busi- 
ness world by starting a furniture store upstairs in the north 
room of the Holt Block building. In order to get his furniture 
upstairs, he had two pulleys attached to the building, one at 
the head of the stairs and the other on a large crane outside the 
upstairs double doors. The large pieces of merchandise were 
pulled to the doorway and then swung into the room. This crane 
and puUy can be seen there today. This was before the porches 
were erected; instead, awnings hung over the plank sidewalks. 

Squire Holt held three certificates from different schools 
of embalming; the Massachusetts College of Embalming, a Col- 
lege of Einbalming in St, Louis, Missouri and the Worsham 
Embalming School of Chicago, It is from this school that Mr. 
Holt's two sons, Lewis and George, graduated and are to this 
date, Illinois State Licensed Embalmers. In March 1899, 
Squire Holt passed the State Health and Embahning examination 
with honors and became the first and only State licensed embalmer 
in Cumberland County. Only those who passed this test were 
permitted to embalni bodies which were to be shipped from the 
state, 

-74- 



Bertha Lois Wilson became the bride of Mr. Holt on Dec. 26, 
1897 and became his helper in the store. 

John Holt completed another building in Greenup, known as 
'The Old Stone Building' on the north side of the town square. 
The keystone bears his name, the date 1901 and the square and 
compass. For some eighty one years this two storey building 
was occupied by Squire Holt's furniture and undertaking busi- 
ness. The rooms in the front, upstairs, were used as an apart- 
ment for John and his wife, Mary, until her death in 1905. 

Dwe to his father's failing health, George Holt and wife, 
Olive, returned to Greenup from Dayton, Ohio in 1930 to help 
in the store, is now it's owner and in the same building where 
his father started the business. Because of his helpfulness, the 
store attracts customers from surroundings towns as far as 
Mattoon, Charleston, Martinsville, Casey, Newton and Montrose, 
The main lines of merchandise at Holt's store now are paint, 
wallpaper and floor covering. Some furniture is sold, but a 
full line cannot be handled due to lack of floor space. 

After thirty seven years in the business, George Holt is 
known as an 'authority' on the merchandise he sells. 

By Bobbie Claire Bowman 

THE OLD GREENUP HOTEL 

Mr. Wni. C. Greenup, it seems was an engineer on the Cum- 
berland road about the time it was laid out, and after the road 
was duly located, he took a job of furnishing the government with 
bridge timbers, and particularly for the bridges across the 
slough and river, west of Greenup. Mr. Henry Barbour put up 
this mill, the primary object of which was to saw out these tim- 
bers. But the mill and its builders, as well as those bridges, 
are known only in the past. 

The greater part of the history of Greenup, up to the time it 
became the county seat of Cumberland is pretty much the same 
old oft-repeated story, of rough western pioneer villages, such 
as is so well known to many of the people of the west. From this 
time forward the village prospered. The National Road brought 
new life with its increasing travel, and it grew to be a noted 
point to travelers far and near. There is no doubt but Greenup 
is well remembered by hundreds of persons who were on their 
way to the golden hills of California, in search of their hidden 
treasures a wearisome journey. Charles Conzet, Sr. is undoubt- 
edly remembered as the landlord of Greenup House. Doubtless 



75 



meals obtained from his well loaded tables by the hungry tra- 
veler, thirty years ago, have helped to establish that reputation as 
a landlord which Uncle Charley so justly deserves. 

He came to this country from Philadelphia, in 1848, and 
located three miles east of Greenup, where he pursued the occu- 
pation of a farmer for about five years. He then bought the Green- 
up House from John Shiplor and entertained the public here for 
years. The building was erected by Captain Ed. Talbott, who 
sold it to John Shiplor. It is located on the southwest corner of 
Cumberland and Franklin Street. 

Closely connected with this house is a rather laughable anec- 
date, for an account of which we are under many, many obliga- 
tions to its hero, J, W. Latta. The incident to which we allude 
occured a short time before Mr. Conzet became proprietor of 
the house, and during the time that Simon Lyons was running it. 
Mr, Lyons, it seems, was entertaining a temporary boarder, 
who was at the time a citizen of Missouri. This boarder was 
projecting a portable photographic office, which was to be car- 
ried on wheels. Some short words passed in a little unpleasant- 
ness in the bar-room between the boarder and Mr. Henry Green, 
who was then driving stage. Whereupon Mr. Latta said "no 
gentleman or Christian will insult me, and a blackguard shall 
not. " At this Mr, Green informed him that he could step out 
upon the porch and say that. Out they went. But when Mr. 
Harvey saw hands placed upon pistols, in casing pockets, per- 
forming a series of back steps, the other the while advancing, 
until Mr. Lyons cried out, "Harvey! Harvey!" Whereupon the 
latter threw up the sponge and said "now you quit and I will, " 
Of course his prudence at this juncture was commended. And 
while joked for his bravery, in apology he said: "I didn't know 
but the d d old flint lock might go off. " Hence the origin of 

"flint lock" in this locality, " 

From May 1900 Greenup Press 

SIMON PETER LYONS ("lbZ6-1900) 

Simon Lyons was born near Urbana, Ohio, April 2, 1826 and 
died at the family residence in Greenup, Illinois Wednesday, May 
23, 1900. 

He came to Cumberland County in 1849 and was a pioneer of 
Cumberland County in 1849, having arrived here six years after 
the county was formed. He was, for a time proprietor of the old 
log hotel that was located at the site of the present Conzet House. 
That was in the "good old times" when the bugle of the stage 

-76- 



coach sounded through the hills along the old National Road. The 
Lyons tavern was a stopping place on the stage line, where the 
stage changed teams and the passengers stopped for meals, like 
the division of a railroad is today. He soon sold the tavern to 
Charles Conzet Sr. and went to farming. 

"My father, Thomas M, Lyons, 1860-1953, son of Simon 
Lyons, has often told me about living in Jewett in the old hotel 
building still standing where his parents kept a hotel. Just west 
of Jewett, our Cumberland County Historical Society made a 
tour stop to visit the site of an old stage coach stop. " 

Mrs. Carrie Carson, Pres. Cumb. Co. Hist. Soc. 1967 
From April 29, 1891, Greenup Press 

Charles Conzet is repairing the old hotel building on Main 
Street. He has taken out the old front and removed it to the rear, 
and will build a new front. The old part was the old original Ho- 
tel ofmorethan fifty years ago when the U. S. Stage line carried 
the passengers and mail across the continent. All the old Stage 
drivers have sheltered under this ancient roof. Abraham Lincoln, 
U, F. Linder, Col. O. B, Ficklin, Alexander Dunbar, Judge Wil- 
son, Judge Harlan, Judge Constable, Dick Oglesby and many more 
of the old timers of note have taken food and shelter within its 
walls. Since the time of Charles Conzet the old hotel has had sev- 
eral different proprietors. Located on lots 6 and 7 of the original 
town of Greenup and owned, in the beginning, by Joseph Barbour, 
lot 6 was sold to W. C. Greenup and lot 7 to Samuel Cissna. La- 
ter bought by Captain Ed Talbott who in 1852 sold to John Sheplor, 
the property came into the hands of Ed.S. and Henrietta Meeker 
and back to Talbott and then in 1854 to Charles Conzet, 

During the time that Ed Talbott owned the hotel, he leased it 
to Mr. and Mrs. Simon Lyons who operated it within the years of 
1849 to 1852. It was during these years that the "flint lock" in- 
cident occurred. 

Many proprietors have come and gone since Charles Conzet 
Sr. The old "Conzet House" or Conzet Hotel" was operated by 
Ross Garrett for 32 years and since that time Mr. and Mrs. Lee 
Winnett have spent 23 years operating it as the Winnett Hotel. 

Within the hotel Mr, Winnett has found much evidence of the 
rebuilding and remodeling of inany years ago. In 1966 the Eff- 
ingham Historical Society ate lunch in the original old log house 
room of the hotel and toured the hotel as the guests of the Cum- 
berland County Historical Society. 

By Mrs, Carrie Carsom 

"The Western Ready to Wear" shop is located in the 
"old Post Office" building, 113 South Kentucky Street, Greenup, 

-77- 



Illinois. It is owned and managed by Albert Lee and Juanita 
Wilson, 

They purchased the building from Lyle Ward, July 1966. 

The small well-groomed woman, who manages the Frank 
Kern Manufacturing Company, and the Neoga Manufacturing Co., 
both of Neoga, Illinois, is Mrs. George Oakley. Mrs. Oakley, 
at the age of 42, has become one of the most widely known and 
successful business women in the area. She manages two plants, 
with a total of 130 employees. The companies manufacture gar- 
ments for the A. Stein Co, in Chicago, who manufacture the nat- 
ionally advertised Perma-Lift garments for women. 

Mrs, Oakley has been with the Company since October, 1933. 
About 1931 two Neoga business men, Trace Higgins and Harry 
Hill, bought the Frank Kern Manufacturing Co. in Mattoon, Uli*. 
nois. In October, 1933, Mrs, Oakley, then Miss Mayhill, re- 
ceived employment at the plant as general office worker and 
bookkeeper. 

She was married November 11, 1933, to George Oakley of 
Neoga, who was employed at Mattoon at the time. They set up 
housekeeping in Mattoon where they lived for the next six months, 
and then returned to make their home in Neoga, when the fac- 
tory transferred to Neoga in April, 1934. 

Soon after Trace Higgins died, the company went into bank- 
ruptcy in 1942. Mrs. Oakley worked as receiver during the bank- 
ruptcy period. The factory was then sold to three local people; 
A. J. Kepp, ; Mrs. Lucille Husband; and W, L. Short. Mrs. Oak- 
ley was retained as manager of the factory. In January, 1943, 
Mrs. Oakley became one of the owners. 

The plantmanufacturedchildren's supporters in Mattoon, and 
continued to produce this product in Neoga. Then in the fall of 
1942, when the metal used in making hose supporters became 
increasingly difficult to get, a representative from George H. 
Reinghberg Co, in Chicago came to the factory to make arrange- 
ments for the plant to use plastic substitute for the metal. This 
representative told Mrs, Oakley that he had a friend employed 
at the A. Stein Co. in Chicago. He asked her if the factory would 
like to do contract work for the A. Stein Co. The factory owners 
decided to sign the contract, so in the fall of 1942, the plant be- 
gan to produce garments for the A. Stein Co, in Chicago. 

The Neoga Manufacturing Co. was star.ted in 1944, for the 
purpose of additional room. It is managed by Mrs. Oakley, al- 
though her brother-in-law, Lloyd Casste'vens, works as sub-man- 
ager, Mrs. Oakley's husband, George Oakley, is in charge of 
maintenance in the two factories. During the years of World War 



11, the two factories had a total of about 250 employees. After 
the leveling off of the work, the number of employees was de- 
creased to 130, 

Mrs, Dorothy Oakley was the second eldest of a family of 10 
children. She has lived all her life in Neoga except for six 
months. She was born on a farm in Cumberland County, east 
of Neoga, January 21, 1908. She is the daughter of Mr, and 
Mrs. William Mayhall, both of whom are still living, and who 
reside in Neoga. 

Mrs, Oakley graduated from the Neoga township high school. 
After graduation, she worked six years as bookkeeper in the 
Husband Broom Corn Office, She then became employed by 
the Kern Manufacturing Co, in Mattoon. She was married to 
George Oakley November 11, 1933, in Neoga, at the home of 
Mr. and Mrs, Tom Husband, her former employer. Mr, and 
Mrs, Oakley have two children: Marion, who is 14 years old 
today, and Phyllis, age 13, Marion is an eighth_grade pupil 
and Phyllis is in the seventh grade. 

Mrs. Oakley is an active member of the Christian Church 
and is a deaconin the church. She is also a teacher in the 
primary department of the Bible school. Whenever a church 
project is in the offing, Mrs. Oakley is ready to assist in any- 
way she can. She is also a member of the executive committee 
of the Girl Scouts in Neoga. 

According to Mrs. Oakley, she doesn't have much time for 
activities outside her home. She says that her main interests 
are her home and her children. She has been able to manage 
her business and her home with equal success. Her children, 
Marion and Phyllis are very musically-minded and their friends 
always gather at the Oakley home for parties and so forth. 
Says Mrs, Oakley, "I never know how many persons will be 
eating supper at our house, until I arrive there after work. " 
She said her home and children occupy most of her spare time, 

Mrs, Oakley had five brothers and four sisters. One sis- 
ter, Jessie died when she was nineteen years old, in 1923, 
making Mrs, Oakley the oldest living child of the Mayhall fain- 
ily. Her sister, Mrs, Chesley Holsapple, of Mattoon; 
Mrs, Lloyd Casstevens of Neoga, and Maxine Mayhall, who 
lives with her parents and is employed at the Frank Kern Manu- 
facturing plant. Her brothers are Carroll Mayhall, who works 
in the factory as sewing machine mechanic; Robert Mayhall, 
who manages the cutting plant for the A, Stern Co, ; James 
Mayhill, who is employed in the cutting plant; Francis Mayhall, 
a student at the University of Illinois; and Charles Mayhall of 

-79- 



Chicago, 

The above is taken from a clipping from the Effingham Paper 
in March, 1950. Mrs, Oakley still manages the company in 
1968, Her daughter Marian married Rex Lindley, a teacher at 
Neoga, Phyllis as well as Marian graduated from Eastern Illi- 
nois University. She married Jerry Krueger who taught in 
High School several years but now has an insurance business 
in Neoga, Both girls taught school several years and both 
have two children. Marian is the kindergarten teacher at Neoga 
Elementary school. 

SUMPTER TOWNSHIP LIBRARY 

The Suinpter Township Library was organized June 27, 1923. 
The first Board of Trustees was Mrs. Florence Miller - Presi- 
dent, H. C. Prather-Vice President, Nannie Rhodes -Seer etary- 
Treasurer, and members Mrs, Jennie Cottingham and Bert 
Birdzell. 

Mrs. Laura Parker was the first librarian and began work 
Sept. 1, 1923. Until that time the library was cared for by 
Miss Delores Miller and Miss Jessya Deppen, 

Board members in 1924 were Florence Miller, Edna Smith, 
H. C, Prather, B. C. Willis and Nannie Rhodes, George T, 
Sliger became a member in 1929 in the place of Bert Birdzell, 
the rest of the niembers were the same. Ben Grissom was 
elected in 1935, and William Lacy in 1937. 

Since than the following have been members of the Board of 
Trustees: Ben Willan, first elected in 1943, Freda Strieff, in 
1949, Lora Ann Neal in 1949, Henry Seeley in 1951, Vern Deil 
in 1955, Bernice Hance in 1957, Thomas Freeman in 1959, 
Wilma Miller in 1961, Lawrence Carrell in 1963, Thursa Lyons 
in 1965. 

The present officers are: Henry Seeley- President, Vera Deil 
Vice President, and Wilma Miller -Sec retary- Treasure r. 

The Library B oard purchased its building from the trustees of 
the Free Methodist Church in 1926, and converted the church 
building for library use. Until the building was ready, the lib- 
rary was located upstairs in the building on the north side of 
the square where the M.&: M Garage is now. An additional roora 
was built on the east side in 195 1. 

At first the librarv was open only two afternoons a week. 
In 1925 this was expanded to three afternoons and evenings. At 
present the hours are 2-5 p.m. and 6-9 p.rn. on Tuesday through 
Saturday. 

-80- 



The first librarian was Mrs. Laura H. Parker, who died 
April 4, 1934. Marian Sliger was hired at a salary of $25 per 
month. Eva Lacy became librarian in Nov., 1935 and served 
until 1942 when Bessie Johnson, the present librarian was hired. 

The Sumpter Township Library has grown until it now has 
8, 498 volumes and a circulation last year of 14, 100, The bud- 
get last fiscal year was $4,411. Is affiliated with Rolling Prai- 
ries Library System of Decatur, which sends a bookmobile to 
Toledo monthly, from which books are selected for circulation. 
Any specific requests for library materials can be filled at any 
time by Rolling Prairie System or State Library. 

By Wilma Miller, Secretary 

NEWSPAPERS 

In 1855 Daniel Marks edited the GREENUP TRIBUNE. In 
1856 Templeton and Bloomfield acquired it then moved it to Prai- 
rie City, 

In 1859 Jaines E. Mumford came to Greenup from Ohio and 
determined to found a paper. On December 2, 1859 he published 
the first numbers of the GREENUP EXPOSITOR. James E. and 
H, P. Mumford moved to Prairie City in 1860 and James E, con- 
tinued the paper there until 1867. Then Flavius Tossey continued 
it as the CUMBERLAND DEMOCRAT, Frank Bowen succeeded 
Tossey and published it until 1870, when he sold it to George E, 
Mason. In 1873 W. D, Mumford became a junior partner. In 
1875 Mason sold out to E, Gorrell and the firm became Mumford 
and Gorrell, Gorrell sold to Mumford in 1875. He sold to Adolph 
and Leon Summerlin and, in 1884, Leon was the sole proprietor. 

In 1871, the GREENUP MAIL became the first Republican pa- 
per in the county -- owners Pyle and Davis, 

In 1881 the CUMBERLAND TIMES was operated as a Repub- 
lican paper by Will S. Tobey, 

The NEOGA NEWS began publication in 1874 and is still going 
strong. It started in August 1902 "The GREENUP REPUB LlC AN 
has gone w^here the woodbine twineth. Greenup is too small for 
two papers unless it was a county seat," From the GREENUP 
PRESS of August 28, 1902 we read "Walter Cox of the late Green- 
up Republican left for Chicago Friday where he has a position 
in the ad rooms of the Chicago Inter-Ocean, Also Fred Kasser- 
man who worked on the Greenup Republican return to Newton. 

On display in the Historical Museum, there is a Jan. 15, 1932 
copy of the GREENUP JOURNAL, I. W. Dunning, editor and owner, 

-81- 



The GREENUP FREE LANCE with Gar Borden as editor 
was active in 1910, The Free Lance building was repaired in 
1911 and Carter Bros, the editors, suspended curculation in 1911 

with unfinished subscriptions carried on by the GREENUP PRESS. 

Since 18 the GREENUP PRESS, under the editorship of 

Cunninghams, Bosworth, the Grants, Carruthers and McMorris, 
had been serving hundreds of families of Cumberland County, 

Interesting excerpts from the Jan, 20, 1888 Cumberland 
Times: in the Cumberland County Historical Society Museum. 
Will S. Tobey, Editor and Manager; 
Summary of News from the Cumberland Times of 1887: 

The Board of School Directors of Greenup employed J. W. 
Decker, W. H. Stateler, Samuel Kingan and Miss Emma Boon 
to teach the approaching winter term of school. 
MAY 12 James Ward begins brick making (in the block east 
of the home of Mr. and Mrs, Charles Hiles of 1968), 

Bill Redman was . appointed police. Like Sisney's ghost that 
haunted Greenup f few years ago. Bill has since vanished from 
our tearful midst and departed sayeth not where his henceforth is. 
MAY 19 S. C. Miller ex-Supt, of Schools departs fromi Toledo 
for Kansas. 

MAY 5 Dave Mumford begins the erection of his hotel. Leon 
Summerlin moved the press of the CUMBERLAND DEMOCRAT 
from here to Toledo, leaving a hand press to keep the paper 
going. 

APRIL 21 The foUowingpe r sons were elected to the village 
board of Trustee -Ed. E. Elstun, Charles Peters, and Charles 
Conzet. 

AUG. 5 Joseph Nichols Jr. and Miss Nellie Tucker were mar- 
ried on the 28th ult. 

JULY 14 The supervisor passed a resolution for a new courthouse 
at Toledo. 

Jan. 14 Mrs. Charlotte Ewart died on Monday Jan. 10. She was 
one of the oldest residents of Greenup, having located here in 1836. 
She was born in Ohio, June 7th, 1810. 

MAR, 10 Lewis Decius was Superintendent of Schools, 
JUNE 9 Greenup township vote a tax to build a new town house. In 
precinct No. 1 there were 1147 votes in favor. Precinct No, 2 
cast 268 for 47 against the tax. In No. 1 there were 50 votes a- 
gainst, 

JAN. 20, 1888 A daughter was recently born to Mr, and Mrs. John 
Thomas . 

A daughter was recently added to the family of Mr. and Mrs, Robert 
Shields. 

-82- 



A large force are at work storing ice for the Vandalia at Vevay, 
A. C, Ruffner of Vevay Park paid us a pleasant call on Tues- 
day. 

Abe is doing a "land office business" at Vevay, 

Wm, Hanner is intending to build a handsome residence next spring 
just south of the new Baptist church, having purchased luniber and 
contracted for its construction. 

An exchange says potatoes are so small and weak this year that 
a bushel of them haven't eyes enough to see anything smaller than 
a dollar. 

THE GREENUP PRESS 

Printing and publishing a newspaper, weekly, in Greenup, 
Illinois. The paper was purchased by McMorris and Son, April 
20, 1937. Charter members were W. B. McMorris and William 
J, McMorris. 

The building is owned by W. B. McMorris and was purchased 
in 1940 from Mrs, Bertha Cook. The building was erected by 
Joseph Cook. The address is 107 East Cumberland Street, north 
of the town square on the Old National Road, 

The 1968 employees are the owners W. B, and William J. 
McMorris, Printers and Publishers, 

PERISHO JEWELRY STORE 

Perisho Jewelry Store is owned and operated by Wayne and 
Agnes (Latta) Perisho, both lifetime residents of Greenup, 111. 
Wayne is the son of Sylvester and Ada (Short) Perisho, Agnes, 
the daughter of Robert A. and Lida (Eggers) Latta, 

Wayne served in World War II from 1942 to 1945. After his 
discharge, he entered Kansas City School of Watch Makers in 
Kansas City, Mo, Agnes was employed in the office of the Insur- 
ance Dept, at Lake City Arsenal, Independance, Mo. 

Wayne received his certificate of certified Jewelry and Watch 
making on Oct. 1, 1952, and for a time he worked at Whiteside 
Jewelry Store, owned by Jim Meirowsky of Liberty, Mo,, and 
then the Perishos returned to Greenup, where they opened their 
own store on June 20, 1955, At that time it was located in the 
building west of the Greenup National Bank on the south side of 
Cuinberland St. 

In 1959, after the death of William Reeder, who with his wife, 
Gertrude, had owned and operated a jewelry store in Greenup for 
many years, Wayne and Agnes rented the building and bought the 

-33- 



stock of merchandise from Mrs. Reeder, and moved to their 
new address at 116 W. Cumberland St., where they are located 
at the present time. After moving to the new store, there was 
more space, therefore it was possible to increase the merchan- 
dise. This required extra help, and a full time employee was 
needed, so in 1961, Mary Kay McMorris was employed. In 1966, 
she quit at the store to assist her husband in business for them- 
selves, and in May 1966, Alverta Callahan was employed, and 
is working at the present time. 

Cumberland County Postmasters and Dates of Appointment 

Toledo Post Office moved from Southeast corner of square 
to new quarters on Northwest corner of square owned by Dr. H. 
L. Gresens Aug. 14, 195 1. John T. Connor, 1899- 1904; John 
F. AshwiU, 1904-1913; Benjamin F. Neal, 19 13- 1922 ; John E. 
Hughes, 1922-1934; Edgar A. Neal, 1934- 1935 ; Rufus B . Gris- 
som, 1935-Jan. 16, 1956; Gilbert Redfern, Feb. 21, 1956 to 
Sept. 22, 1956; Hugh H. Holsapple, Sept. 22, 1956. 

Greenup Peter H. Conzet, Jan 22, 193 1; Loren C. Bowman, 
June 22, 1932; Charles W. Sampson, May 24, 1935; Lawrence 
L. McMorris, Dec. 18, 1936; Carl H. Bland, June 16, 1942; 
Rufus A. Carrell, July 16, 1942; Eoren C. Bowman, Apr. 30, 
1958. Hlda^<L yi-0-udo^rv^^3o(]^^ /f 7/ .^ t^7/2^[<^7 f - -'^^-i^^^ 

Hazel Dell Ira Ra'gon, Mar. 1, 1 924 ; Victor Burnett, Feb. 
28, 1933; James Paul Inskeep, Mar. 2, 1933; Mrs. Nelle Bark- 
ley, Apr. 1, 1935; Mrs, Cora Glidewell, Feb. 5, 1942; Helen 
R. Hollensbe, Oct. 1, 1965. Discontinued Mar. 11, 1966- Mail 
to Greenup. 

Janesville Sarah Hardwick, Sept 8, 1919; Ross D. Hill, Jan. 
25, 1934; Harold E. Hardwick, June 8, 1937; Mrs. Hazel L. 
Whitton, May 16, 1942; Mrs. Belle Snodgrass, Mar. 1, 1943; Miss 
Virginia Carwell, May 13, 1948; Mrs. Thelma G. Bevers, Mar. 
5, 1953. 

Jewett Herbert F. Morgan, Dec. 31, 1926; Lancelot Van Tas- 
sel, ^^^7^27, 1934; Mrs. Alfrieda Kmgery, Nov. 17, 1942. 

Neoga Ray W. Birch, Feb. 4, 1931; Arthur T. Ellis, Apr. 19, 
1937; Edward F. Crockett, Feb. 3, 1943; Mrs. Helen C. Meyers, 
Sept. 17, 1944; James V. Worland, Aug. 3 1, 1945; Morris A. 
Mettendorf, Dec. 1, 1961. 

Trilla Transferred to Coles County-date unknown, Mrs. Iva 
Brimbery, Aug. 17, 1914; Mrs, Florence E. Ballinger, Oct. 1, 
1948; Mrs. Mildred H. Burns, Sept, 1, 1949. 

According to the records of the Post Office Department now in 

</ -84- ' 



the National Archives, a post office was established at Greenup, 
Cumberland County (formerly a part of Coles County), on Nov- 
ember 5, 1834 with A. H. Lathrop the first Postmaster others 
follow in their order: James Ewart(1836), Daniel Decius (1845), 
Sylvester W. Huffcut (1849), Allison C. Poorman (1849), Charles 
Niswanger (185 1), Charles McKnight (1852), Charles Niswanger 
(1853), Ruben Bloomfield (1855), Clark Starkweather (1856), 
Gesham Monohan (1859), Mrs. Lucy LaDow (1861), Charles 
Niswanger (1863), Adoniram J. Ewart (1869), Dewill C. Robert- 
son (1881), James M. King (1885), R. F. Coliver (1886), William 
H. McDonald (1887), William O. Denman (1887), Shannon Wilson 
(1888), Dewitt C. Robertson (1889), Misselda M. Robertson (1891), 
Jesse B. Bell (1893), George G. Monohon (1898), Joseph G. Gree- 
son (1904), Jamies M. Nunamaker (1913), William H, Rodebaugh 
(1918), Peter H. Conzet (1923), Loren C. Bowman (acting) (1932), 
Charles W, Sampson (1935), Lawrence L, McMorris (1936), Carl 
H. Bland (acting) (1941), Rufus A. Carrell (1942), Loren C. Bow- 
man (1958). 

In 1893 there was quite a discussion that Greenup had the 
first postmistress in the country. This was proved untrue by in- 
formation received from the Post Office Department stating that 
Maryland had this distinction in 1775. However, Mrs. Lucy La- 
Dow of Greenup was commissioned July 2, 1861 by Montgomery 
Blair, Lincoln's Postmaster General, The post office at that 
time was in the house owned and occupied as a residence by Ben- 
ton Bell, on the National Road in the east part of town. A walk 
ran from the street to the west window on the south side of the 
house where Mrs. LaDow would hand out mail daily to the 
patrons of the office. 

To understand some of the conditions which rural mail car- 
riers had in the 1900^s was quoted by James Travis, "Many times 
when I started out on horseback my horse would be belly deep in 
mud when I got to the town pump". (At that time the pump was one 
block north of the post office building). 

Many years ago post offices were a part of a general store 
or at the residence of the postmaster. The building used in Green- 
up in the 1900's was one block south of the National Bank in the 
Ward property. This building was leased by the government until 
1956. On September 1, 1956 the new building on the northeast cor- 
new of the village square was dedicated. It is 38 x 53 feet, brick 
and tile construction, completely modern, asphalt tile covers the 
concrete. In 1968 (at this writing) a request has been made to en- 
large the present building by approximately 500 square feet, also 
adding a covered loading dock, new heating and air conditioning 

-85- 



system, paved parking area plus more lock boxes. 
JEWETT POST OFFICE 

FroiTi the National Archives for Jewett, Cumberland County, 
111. Post Office, it was established on Jan. 24, 1844 in Coles 
County. Located in Cumberland County on August 22, 1849. 

Name changed to Ogden on Aug. 22, 1849. On May 1, 1850 
the name was changed to Woodbury, and again on Jan. 25, 1871, 
the name was changed to Jewett. 

The postmasters and their date of appointment are as follows: 
David T. Wisner, Jan, 24, 1844; Meredith B. Ross, Aug. 22, 
1849; James W. Wisner, May 1, 1850; David T. Wisner, June 30, 
1853; William L. Trostle, Dec. 3. 1862; William H. Wells, Apr. 
6, 1863; D. T. Wisner, Mar. 8, 1867; Benjamin R. Russell, 
Oct. 29, 1869; Benjamin R. R ssell, Jan. 25, 1871; Fernando 
S. Gray J^^Y 8, 1873; Brazel Brown, Apr. 9, 1875; James W. 
Booth, Feb. 7, 1876; Brasil Brown, May 3 1 1877; Henry A. 
Dodd, Aug. 27, 1879; Frank F. Vanderhoof, April 26, 1880; 
Columbus W, Oliver, Oct. 27, 1885; William W. O. Goldsmith, 
July21, 1897;Samuel H. Mondy, Apr. 11, 1898; Orson C. Mor- 
gan, Feb. 21, 1901; Orin L. Jay, Aug« 10, 1914; Fred B. Cox, 
March 14, 1916; Lyda Alumbaugh, March 10, 1920: Herbert F. 
Morgan, July 22, 1926; Lancelot E. Vantassel, Apr. 10, 1935; 
Alfrieda D. Kmgery, Dec. 18, 1942. 

TOLEDO POST OFFICE 

Alec Caldwell was our first postmaster and Wiley Rose 
hauled the mail to and from Pleasantvillc, now Jewett, 111. 
Tom White carried the mail by horseback from Neoga, This 
was in the days before the railroad was built. Now mail no longer 
comes in to Toledo on the railroad, but it is brought in by mail 
truck. It comes in once in the morning, and in the evening. Our 
post office, with Hugh Holsapple, as postmaster is located on 
the northwest corner of the court house square. 

OLD TRAILS THEATRE FORMERLY EWART THEATRE 

The Ewart Theatre held its grand opening February 11, 1909 
presenting the stage show "Isle of Spice", The theatre was erected 
ted and owned by the late J. P. Ewart, Sr. Later his son John 
"Fess" Jr., assumed management. 

The theatre had a fine stage as large as those in cities like 
Terre Haute, Indiana and Springfield, Illinois, Because of its 

-86- 



central location on the Pennsylvania and Illinois Central railroads, 
it was easy to book show troupes for the theatre. Before night 
programs were staged at the county fair, the stage shows were 
a main feature of Cumberland County fair week. 

Soon after its erection moving picture machines were installed 
in the theatre. The early machines were hand operated. The 
late Jake Goulman assisted in this operation. 

The theatre was used by public organizations. The local 
schools presented plays on the stage. Basketball games and 
commencement exercises w^ere held in the Ewart theatre. 

The Ewart estate sold the theatre to Mr. and Mrs. Harry 
Branch. They sold to Mr, and Mrs, Paul Musser who eventually 
turned the operation to their son. The Mussers changed the name 
to Old Trails Theatre. Upon the death of Mrs. Musser the theatre 
was closed for a few years until Mr. and Mrs. Phil Harlan of 
Charleston reopened it. They have Friday and Saturday night 
shows each week. 

THE POWDER MILL 

Greenup Press, Sept. 18, 1902 

Work is progressing rapidly at the Powder Mill. A. S, Haight 
finished his contract for cutting the grade for the switch Tuesday, 
and the Vandalia commenced to lay the side track on that day. The 
Buildings are scattered around the hill in profusion and it looks al- 
inost like a town there now. The buildings consist of a boiler room 
27x40, in which they are erecting a 90 horse power boiler. There 
is also a room for a twin boiler which will be put in later. 

There is only an 8 horse power stationary engine in this room 
that will be used for running the soda grinder. The larger en- 
gines will be located in other buildings some distance away. Just 
outside of the boiler room is a furnace to dry the soda in, and 
scattered over the grounds are the following buildings: a soda 
house 20x20, a large acid boiler set in masonry, two nitro-gly 
cerine rooms 18 ft, square, two store rooms 20x40 and 20x20, 
a large tank with a capacity of 5000 gallons. 

They have dug two 8 foot wells, one 40 and one 80 feet deep, 
and the grading and trestle work is constructed for the tramway. 

The powder mill will be ready for operation in a few days, and 
will employ about 40 or 50 to begin with. 

Outside of the Railroad shops at Mattoon, no other company in 
this portion of the state will employ as many hands as this concern. 
They expect by spring to eniploy between 100 and 150 people, 

-87- 



Greenup Press, October 9, 1902, 

Thursday afternoon the powder mill plant was operated for 
the first time and the manufacture of high explosives began. There 
are about 40 people employed at present, and they expect that by 
next year from 150 to 200 people wil be employed. 

This is the only conimercial plant in the country not in the 
trust. Superintendent Krantz told a Press reporter that with the 
commencement of operations the company would have to exclude 
all visitors from the plant so as to avoid danger both to the em- 
ployees and visitors. 

Morris Frank, Alf Silverman, A. Levison, officers of the 
Eureka Powder Co. , and a chemist from Cook, Bell, &; Black's 
drug store of Terre Haute came over Sunday and inspected the 
plant. 

October 30, 1902. 

George Trout is working in the shell department of the powder 
mill. He won the prize of $3,00 offered for the first one to make 
2200 shells in 9 hours, besides making $1.29 for his day's work. 

A. Krantz, manager of the Powder Mill, has moved into Will 
Cobel's house. 

Feb. 12, 1903. 

From a letter from Albert Haenig of Nov. 9, 1967, who came over 
from Terre Haute as an experienced worker for the Powder Mill. 

After the dynaiTiite is mixed or made, it has to be packed into 
paper shells or cartridges. Most of the dynaiTiite we made was 
put up in cartridges approximately one inch in diameter and 8 inches: 
long. We did make several car loads of smaller cartridges that 
were shipped to Mexico for silver mines. The explosive part of 
dynamite is nitroglycerine, very highly explosive. That, being a 
liquid and too dangerous to handle in that form, was made up into 
a mixture of nitrate of soda, sawdust, Fuller's earth, lime, sul- 
phur, and some other ingredients at times, all in the proper pro- 
portions, so as to make as nearly as possible a 100% explosion, 
and that was not possible. There was always a residue of gases 
that did not explode -- something like the gasoline that we burn in 
our auto engines, the part that does not burn in the explosion stinks. 

The Eureka Powder Co,, operated 1902-1906 about 2 miles 
west of Greenup, south of the Pennsylvania railroad. Some uses 
of their dynamite- -to blow out stumps, to tear up the earth for 



excavations, to break up rock in quarries, and to use in salt 
and silver mines. 

As dynamite was made for different purposes, so it had to 
be made in different strengths and the grade or strength was 
marked in percentages, so a 40% grade would have 40% of the 
mixture being nitroglycerine and the rest of the mix v/ould be 
the dry part. 

Some of the people who worked at the factory were Norraan 
Rood as part owner and General Supt. , August Kranz as Chem- 
ist and Manager, Albert Haenig as foreman under the manager, 
as time keeper and paymaster, Mr, Wickiser as mill wright and 
general carpenter, Mr. Opie as engineer, Mr. Stevens as night 
engineer, Joe McCalla as foreman, Gar Borden as office worker, 
James Bright as machinist and Isaac T^-rnipseed, Dennis Phelps, 
Ola Reeder (Brooks) and "Micky" , Daisy Patrick, Gertrude Fora- 
ker, and Mr, Sumner besides several more whose names I do 
not remember. Mr. Wickiser's son worked there and married 
Mr. Kranz's sister-in-law." 

The buildings were placed in the ravines so as to lessen the 
danger of the whole thing going up in case one building exploded. 
Albert spoke on the "stink". If you had lived in the neighborhood 
as I did you would still remember the terrible stink and fog every 
evening, especially when the wind came from the southwest. 

No explanation was ever made as to why the plant was closed. 
Albert worked an extra six months or so while the whole business 
was being closed down. 



By Carrie Carson 



89- 



ILLINOIS SESQUICENTENNIAL SABBATH 

The Cumberland County Illinois Sesquicentennial Sabbath 
observance was held at the Greenup Municipal Building Sunday, 
April 2 1, 1968, with the doors opening at 1:30 p.m. and the 
program at 2:00 p.m. 

Before the program began, registration and looking at the 
exhibits of new and old Bibles of all kinds, Sunday School mat- 
erials, humn books, old pictures, displays of memorials, and 
other items of religious and historical value held the attention 
of everyone. 

The program follows: 

Recording of the Presbyterian Church bell. 

Recording of organ and piano duet by Macel Green and Gene 
Car r . 

Song by audience, Hallie Strole as song leader- - "Faith of 
Our Fathers. " i 

Invocation by Rev. Paul McLauglin, Presbyterian Church, j 

Greenup. 

Interviews of early church members over 75 years. 

Special Music-- Youth Group. 

Speaker: Father George E. Nelis, Catholic Church, Greenup. 

Song by Audience-- "Illinois. " 

Interviews of Minutes 

Song-"Blest Be the Tie. " 

Benediction- -Rev. Charles Lamont, Methodist Church, West- 
field and Greenup. 

Recording of Organ and Piano by Joan Easton and Elsie McLauglin. 

Richard Hayden, Chairman of the Greenup Sesquicentennial 
Committee, was the announcer. The Youth Group of the Greenup 
Churches did the ushering and acted as hostesses. 

Mrs. Isa Winnett and Mary Holt made up the committee which 
planned the whole celebration. 

Mr. Hayden interviewed Mrs. Dawn Ormsby, Mrs. Lillie Ro- 
berts, Mrs. Gleetie Carrell about their church memories. Mrs, 
Bernice Starwalt and Mrs. Ed Button (not 75) gave their impress- 
ions also. Of special interest was the report of Mrs. Anna Stewart 
in her 95th year, who with a group of other teenage girls was 
baptized in water from which a hole in the ice had been cut. When 
asked if it made themi sick, she said that they were all able to go 
to church the samie night. 

The whole county was represented and several churches. 

Father Nelis gave a very interesting talk about Abraham Lin 
coin. There were 100 in attendance. 

-90- 



\ 



ANTIOCH CHURCH OF CHRIST 

The Antioch Church of Christ is located on the Union Center road 
about a mile east of Route 130, Caleb Decker sold the ground for the 
church site for $20,00. Jacob Hampsten gave the church the name 
Antioch, He also helped build the building, hewing the sills with an 
ax. Others who helped with the building were William Decker and 
Caleb Decker, John A. Decker and John W, Tharp made the seats 
Burkett Hosney made the desk, still in use. James Madison Tipsword, 
John Andrew Jackson Decker were two of the early preachers. Bill 
Heater taught singing lessons. The church was built in 1890. 

ADVENT CHURCH, ROSLYN 

In 1900 an Advent Church was built across the road west of the 
present Methodist Church, The site was given by Mrs, Sarah Elder. 
Some of the charter members were; Mrs. Sarah Elder and daughters, 
Mrs, Florence Easton Howe and Mrs. Gertie Niccum; Samuel and 
Margret McElhinney; Mrs. Elica McCTloch and the J. W. Olmsted 
family and others. 

The first minister was the Rev. Marshall McColloch. Another 
minister was the Rev, L. P. Olson, 

Services were discontinued and the building removed before 1910. 

This information was given by Mrs. Gertie Niccum who resides 
on the farm where the church was located. 

The Baptist /church of Greenup was organized in 1892 and the 
church built in 1897. James L, Ryan and daughter, Mrs. Myrtle 
Rose were original members. Mr, Ryan was a lawyer who became 
a preacher and soon gave all of his time to that work. Other mem- 
ber families were Carson and Crouch, Sometime about 1920 the 
church ceased to be active. Later it was torn down. 

The present Baptist church became active since World War II. 

There was a strong Universalist Church in Greenup for several 
years between 1880 and 1910, Some of the members were the Ro- 
bertson, Monohon, Ewart, Lyons and Dillon families. Miss Chaney 
was their minister in the 1890's and Rev. J, K. Dillon later. This 
building was empty for some years, but was bought by the Ettel— 
brick Shoe Company and is now used for church education purposes. 

There is at present an active Christian church in Greenup, No 
Data at hand. 



91- 



One of the most attractive churches within miles is the Catholic 
Church in Greenup, No data at hand. 

THE BRUSH CREEK CHURCH 

As nearly as could be determined this church must have been 
built about the year of 1893. A lady who lived in the community at 
that time says that the first funeral held in the church was that of 
Paten A Pearson. The date on his tombstone is May 16, 1894. 

The land was given by Pleasant Baker. The carpenter in charge 
of construction was Corda Wilson of Neoga. Men of the neighbor- 
hood donated their work. The building was built by the people for 
a community church, but it later was dedicated by the Church of 
Christ, 

Charter members of the Church of Christ were; Reason and 
Aletha Mathes; Wm, H. Deney; Eli and Mary Whitaker; John and 
Mary Hunter; Pleasant and Amelia Baker; Charles and Sarah Ste- 
vens ; Sarah Huffman; Elizabeth Strohl; Sarah Baker; Joseph 
Sparks; Ira O, Baker; Elvin W. Hunter; John and Jenneta Peters 
and Henry and Sarah Burton. 

There were long periods of time when there were no services 
in this church so the building became impaired and was taken 
down. About the year of 1948 it was replaced by a small stone 
chapel, paid for by the members, the people of the neighborhood, 
and many people who use the Brush Creek Cemetery. 

MACEDONIA BAPTIST CHURCH 

Macedonia Baptist Church, located four miles northwest of 
Casey, Illinois, in Union Township, Cumberland County, Illinois 
was organized June 3, 1871. They met in the Yanaway School 
until their first building was constructed in the 1870's. The 
present building was built in 1910. In 1947 a basement was built 
under the auditoriuni . Then in 195 1 a full basement was completed. 
They entered the Westfield Baptist Association in 1871. Pastors 
who have served are: T. J. Thorton, A. Hill, A. Jones^ E. 
Stanberry, L. W. Lanman, J, M. Wood, James Turnicliff, Ro- 
bertson, W, L. Jones, J. T. Combs, M. V. Gilbert, Gaylord 
Green, Ray Green, and Loren Lang, 

NEW HAVEN BAPTIST 

In 1899 this church was called Walla Walla Baptist, Ross 
Greeson was elected superintendent of the Sunday School; Henry 

-91- 



Roberts, assistant; Stella Greeson, secretary; and Marion Lyons, 
treasurer. In 1906 the name was changed to New Haven Baptist. 
Clerks of the church were: John Gharst, Elsie Sherrick, Ross 
Greeson, Mary Green, and Lillie Roberts, 

On Christmas night in 1907, Elsie Wade and Frank Sherrick 
were united in marriage in the first and only wedding ceremony 
ever conducted in this church. 

Some of the niembers, besides those already mentioned were: 
Mary, Elizabeth, and Lizzie Lyons; Alfred and Mahala Mullen; 
Sarah, W. J,, Carl, and John W. Roberts; Harriet Jones; Ora 
Rhodes; Vernon, Ross, Evert, and Sarah Roberts; Francis and 
Lily Starwalt; Nora and Irma Green; Hester, Dorsa, Clara, Joe 
Vernie, and Merna Greeson; Everett and Hazel Darling; Herb 
and Lula ShuU; Frank and AUie Edwards; Frank Ruth, Ivan, and 
Leah Reynolds; Arthur and Norma Heddins; and A. R, Loving, 

CALVARY TABERNACLE 

Calvary Tabernacle in Toledo is located two blocks west and 
two blocks south of the court house. It was built in the summer 
of 1939 and dedicated October, 8, of that year. 

Beginning in June 1937, prayer rneetings were conducted in 
the home of Mr, and Mrs, Earl Woollen, in Toledo, with Rev, 
Charles Seeley in charge. At this time those interested attended 
Sunday School and Sunday evening services in the country church, 
White Hall, seven miles west of Toledo, where Rev, Seeley was 
pastoring. 

In August 1937, a Brush Arbor was pitched on the location 
where the church now stands, and Evangelist Ruby Layel of Hill- 
view, 111, was engaged to conduct a revival. This revival con- 
tinued seven weeks, and at its close the congregation moved into 
a building on the south side of the square, owned by Mr, J, B, 
Cartmill. The services continued here two years until the new 
church was built. Daring this time Mrs. Earl Woollen was the 
church secretary and treasurer, and Roscoe VanScyoc was the 
first Sunday School Superintendent, At the time of removing 
into the new church the congregation numbered one hundred twenty 
members, sixty of whom were adults and sixty young people. 

After a few years five Sunday School rooms and a furnace 
room were added to the original auditorium. Later, rest rooms 
were built, and this year, 1967, another addition of Sunday 
School rooms and a baptistry is being completed. 

Calvary Tabernacle is an affiliate of the rapidly growing, 
worldwide organization of the United Pentecostal Church. 

-93- 



Rev, Charles H. Seeley who was ordained in 1939 has been 
the pastor the past thirty years, having observed the thirtieth 
aniversary of the church and his pastorate on October 8, 1967. 

CATHOLIC CHURCH 

The first Catholic church in Cumberland county was built 
in 1871. It was located five and one-half miles east of Sigel 
on what was then the Wm. Meyerfarm, now occupied by Mr, 
and Mrs Leander Tays, It was located across the road from 
■what is now the Albert Overbeck farm, formerly owned by 
Adam Sehi, 

The congregation numbered about 12 or 14 families. Ser- 
vices were discontinued in 1881 and the building taken down in 
1883. 

CHRISTIAN CHURCH 

On May 24, 1846 the Longpoint Christian Church was or- 
ganized at the home of James Eveland by Reuben Matheny and 
James Eveland. Wm. Wade and James Eveland were chosen 
as Deacons and Joseph Eveland was elected Clerk, In 187 1 the 
name of the church was changed from Longpoint to Mt, Zion, 
In 1871 a church was organized by E, A. Slocum at the Scotch 
Chapel school house named Corinth Christian Church, 

In 1875 the Corinth Church consolidated with Mr. Zion re- 
taining the officers of the Mr, Zion Church. Services at that 
time were being held at the Antioch school house. The first 
delegates to the Southern Wabash Christian Conference were 
elected August 2 1, 1875. The present church building was e- 
rected in 1890 and 1891. Dedication ceremonies were held 
the 4th Sunday of September, 1892. In 1941 the Christian Churches 
and the Congregational Churches were merged with this church 
taking the name of Mt. Zion Congregational Christian, The church 
building was remodeled and rededicated in 1943. It celebrated its 
100th anniversary May 27, 1946. 

In 1963 with a lot of strong faith and $96.00 in cash the mem- 
bers of the Mt. Zion Church launched an improvenient project. 
The members needed more space and decided that a basement 
under the frame church building would be the answer. New con- 
crete steps and landing were installed. Meanwhile, contributions 
toward the cost continued to come in. 

The church is located on a big lot at an intersection on the 
Hazel Dell road and a north- south road. Grounds are neatly 

-94- 



mowed, and a cemetery at one side is kept in a neat and attract- 
ive condition. The church is a point of pride with the members 
of the congregation and residents of the surrounding community. 
Four years after moving the church over the new basement the 
members of the church decided to remodel. In January of 1967 
the walls were paneled and a new low ceiling was installed with 
recessed lights. In a few months it was paid for so in May, 1967 
we bought and paid for a new piano. 

The following niinisters have served as pastors of this church: 
1875 W. N. Markwell, John Wade, W. M. Robertson, M. V. 
Hathaway, J. A. Tracy, J. M. Plunkett. Thomas Wade, H. D. 
Catte, G. E. Mitchell, Samuel Price, A. O. Jacobs, J, L,, 
Wright, Rev. Brown, Rev. Shaw, J. J. Biesiegel, Rev, Anderson, 
G, R. Hammond, Chas, Mahan, Walter Fasnacht, Paul L. Pier- 
sail, A. H. Bennett, J. Jenkins, John Thomas, John Spencer, 
Levi J. Carter, Carl Storer, Adrain Gray, Ernest Jordan, Harold 
Lingafelter, Opal Newlin, Rex Sandiford, Raymond Rennels. 

The following ministers began their ministry as members of 
this church: James Eveland, John Wade, William Strodes, D, A. 
Ryan, Arthur Eveland, Ernest Coble, Walter Kitchen, Sam Price, 
William Robertson, William Markwell, Pleasant Wade, Husk 
Markwell, J. L. Wright, William Campbell, W. T. Paul, Alva 
Wade. 

By Ena Snearley 

CHURCH OF CHRIST 

The Church of Christ at Union Center was organized in 1929 
under the leadership of Brother Hayden Cuppy of Kemp, Illinois. 
For the first two years the meetings and Bible Study was held 
in the Townhouse at Union Center. With the help of other congreg- 
ations ministers came from Kenip, Olney, Terre Haute and other 
places to help with Sunday Services, and to hold meetings; and 
the little group began to grow. During this time the old church 
building known as Fairview Church located one mile east of Union 
Center was purchased from the United Brethern Conference and 
inoved to an acre of land purchased from Mrs. Rebecca Jenuine 
of Greenup. The location is now 1/4 mile south of Union Center. 
The building then had to be replastered and painted inside, roofed 
and covered on the outside. Other congregations and many indiv- 
iduals gave monetary assistance and donated labor. At that time 
the Plum Grove Church had been abandoned for many years and 
had returned to Mr. Benton Stewart who had donated the site for 



-95 



the building when it was erected. From Mr. Stewart the seats 
and other church furniture was obtained for the Union Center 
Church. The old church bell from Pluni Grove was also taken 
to Union Center but was never put up. When another group re- 
modeled the old Plum Grove building several years later and 
began holding services there the old bell was given to them and 
it was put back in its old place on the same old building 
where it had rung so many years before when Plum Grove 
was a "Christian" Church. 

Mrs. Martha Cutright and Mrs. Goldie Edwards were the 
leaders who worked so diligently and faithfully establishing 
this new congregation at Union Center. For twenty or twenty- 
five years the group continued to grow. Today they are few in 
number but strong in Faith. 

By Ellen Decker 

CHURCH OF GOD - Jack Oak 

A congregation was organized March 17, 1879 by Rev. Will- 
iam Johnson. They met in the schoolhouse. The first list of 
members numbered 45, Whether they were all Church of God 
or some of the Baptist faith is not recorded but the Separate Bap- 
tists and the Church of God used the same building for years. 
The building site was donated by Williaiii Jenkins. (Father of 
Israel Jenkins). There is no date as to when the church building 
was built. 

Some of the early ministers of both denominations were: 
Rev, Wm, Johnson, J, Lindsey, B. F, Kelly, William Teets, 
and William Stanberry. 

Some of the early members were: James Fort, Sarah Fort 
(She was the last charter member of the Church of God to die 
April 4, 1950), Ellen Teets, Alec and Elizabeth Hanley, Merida 
Tipsword, (These three families were Baptists) Samuel and Mary 
Glines, Thomas Grisson, Stephen and Elizabeth Bensley, David 
and Louisa Black, William and Laura Jennings, Jacob and Eliza- 
beth Bracken, Alfred and Caroline Closson, Samuel Roberts, 
Thomas and Rachel Jenkins, Lou Shafer, Vada, Harvey N, Bau- 
gher and Isaac Tipsword. 

The building has had much improvement. In 1964 a new Sun- 
day School room was added and used for the first time November 
8, 1964. In July 1953 we bought the Jack Oak and it is known as 
Fellowship Hall. We now have about 45 active members, however 
quite a lot more are on our list but do not attend much, 

-96- 



CLEAR CREEK SEPARATE BAPTIST CHURCH 

This church was organized in Union Township, Cumberland 
County at a schoolhouse. The building stood near a building now 
known as Neal Schoolhouse, being used at present time as a com- 
munity center. This religious organization was the result of a 
revival meeting held in this schoolhouse in 1880. Rev. Will Can- 
non was the minister. In a short time a church was erected 40 
rods west and 45 rods north on the west side of the road. The 
records show the following charter members: John Cottingham, 
Betty Anne Higgonbottom, Mary J. Jones, David Alexander King, 
Sarah King, Eliza Neal, Clarence Nunamaker, Elizabeth Penn- 
ington, Lucretia Ryan, Sarepta Stalling, Meranda Stutes, Joe 
Stutes, MoUie Wade, and Catherin Tinsman. 

The written records of this church seem to have been lost 
until April 1899 when it was re- organized. The officers selected 
at this time were; Bros. Woodford Stalling, Ziba Jones, Elmer 
Neal, John Cottingham, and George Bishop, 

This first building was blown away by a tornado November 
11, 1911. Interested people in the community quickly began to 
make plans to build a new church. It was erected 40 rods south 
on the northwest corner on the road which runs west from Route 
130 to the Ryan bridge across the Ambraw River. This bridge 
was also blown away by the 1911 tornado and was rebuilt in 
1912- 13. 

This church has been served continuously for the last 69 
years by ministers of the Separate Baptist Faith, 

The 1968 Sunday School Officers are: Superintendent, Charles 
Walters, Assistant Superintendent, Owen Ryan, Treasurer, War- 
ren Goble, Secretary, Rogene Rennels 

By Nora Lawyer 

HISTORY OF CLEAR CREEK SEPARATE BAPTIST CHURCH 

The former church, which stood a little north of the present 
one, was blown by a cyclone on November 11, 1911. Just a few 
weeks before J. C. Cottingham had had the old church insured, 
so had a nest egg to start on a new church. 

There was a question as to where the church was to be located 
as a group of people who didn't attend the church wanted it put at 
the Bell Cemetery. But a building committee of the pastor, J. W. 
Johns of Toledo and three of the church members, J. C. Cotting- 
ham, C. O. Conrad and Wood Stallings were appointed to decide 

-97- 



on the location. 

Since W. H, (Will) Williams owned the land where the old 
church stood and also where the present one stands he suggested 
it be iTLOved down on the corner to a more convenient place and 
his suggestion was accepted by the committee. It was rebuilt 
and dedicated in 1912. Most of the congregation at that time has 
passed on to their reward. The few remaining are- -Charles Cot- 
tingham, Mrs. Ethel Coleman, Mrs. Ethel Starwalt, Mrs, Grace 
McNeel. J. C. Cottingham and his three sons, Frank, Charlie 
and Plamer, also his son-in-law, Galus McNeel served as jani- 
tor for many years. Later Wood Stallings took over the janitor- 
ship. All served without any pay. It was no easy job as they 
had tw^o wood burning stoves. 

Among former pastors were the Reverends: B. M. Webb and 
Ira Blythe of Windsor, J. W. Johns of Toledo, J. W. Ryan of 
Greenup, Alec Black and Leslie Goulman. Their salary usually 
ran around $75.00 per month. They had preaching services once 
a month and since the pastor lived out of the neighborhood he 
would come on Saturday and stay until Monday morning- - often 
having Saturday night services. Those were the horse and bug- 
gy days, but most everyone went to church and during revivals, 
standing room was often at apremiuixi, as people came from dif- 
ferent churches in the neighborhood. In those days they just 
didn't have protracted meetings, but had revivals with many souls 
being saved. 

There were hitch racks all around the yard for people to tie 
their horses to as no one had cars in those days. Elmer Neal and 
D, A. King served as choristers for many years and Mrs. Grace 
(Cottingham) McNeel served as organist for twenty or more years. 

When the church was blown down it was reported some of the 
song books were found in Indiana. All that remained of the old 
church was the inourner's bench and it is being used in the present 
church today. 

CONNETT CHAPEL 

Connett Chapel, a pretty, little, rural church existed briefly 
near the start of this century. It was located 3 1/4 miles north- 
east of Toledo, Illinois, being one fourth mile east of the old 
"County Poor Farm." 

In 1889 a group of people living in or near School District 
Number 9, including Rev, and Mrs. John Wesley Holsapple, 
Mrs, Lucretia Chesser, Mr, and Mrs. Hannum Holsapple, Mr, 
and Mrs. B. M, Holsapple, Mrs. MaryHines, Mr. and Mrs, E. 

-98- 



A. Norviel, Mr. and Mrs. John Wesley Stitt, and a few others 
formed a United Brethern Class which held Worship Services 
and Sunday school in the Number 9 schoolhouse, located one 
fourth mile north of the County Honie. 

Under the leadership of Rev. J, B. Connett, the Presiding 
Elder, this group sponsored the building of a church for their 
meeting place. Hannum Holsapple gave a half acre tract of land 
for the building site, and the church was completed and dedi- 
cated in 1904. It became a part of the Toledo United Brethern 
Circuit, -a third charge being the Olive U. B. Church northwest 
of Toledo. 

The church was well planned for its era, having three sections 
of modern pews in golden oak finish, focusing on a corner pul- 
pit. Two well placed, coal burning heating stoves made it com- 
fortable in winter, and ornate brass chandliers, each with a 
quartette of kerosene burning lamps provided adequate lighting. 
Tall frosted windows were on each side. A latticed belfry was 
over the front entrance. The traditional hitchrack outlined 
three sides of the churchyard although many in the congregation 
regularly walked to church. 

Ministers associated with the church or serving on the cir- 
cuit were: Rev. J. W. Holsapple, Rev. D. K. Stevenson, Rev. 

B. F. Farris, Rev. J. L. Stansfield, Rev. C. W. Perkins, Rev. 
F. H. King, Rev. L. E. Miller, Rev, W. R. Seitsinger, and 
Re\-. J. C. Robinette. 

But the church was short-lived. The death of some of its 
staunch supporters, the niove to Toledo of a few families, and 
the advent of the automobile and better roads, made it advisable 
to close the church in 1922. The class roll was transferred to 
the Toledo U, B. Church, and the little white church on the 
prarie was sold at public auction. It was purchased by John 
Norviel and moved intact to Mattoon where it was converted in- 
to a residence for the Norviel family. The church yard reverted 
to Hannum Holsapple. 

Above by Eva Lacey 

Note: Other names not previously mentioned appearing on 
the Connett Class Roll were J. B, Cloud, Etta Cloud, Mr. &; 
Mrs. Blaine Holsapple, Mr, & Mrs. B. M. Holsapple, Minnie 
Hines, C. G. Holsapple, Lizzie and Gladys Stitt, Ada Jones, 
Elsie Young, Jessie and John Norviel, Lelia and Esther Nor- 
viel, Mr. & Mrs, Fred Williams (Mary Williams was Cradle 
Roll Supt. for a number of years), Bettie Shaw, Jessie Taylor, 

-99- 



Gertrude Johnston, Hattie Hutton, Mr. &; Mrs, Luther Spencer, 
Golda Aldrich, Ed Williams, and Eva Stitt. 

Sources: Connett Class Book kept by the pastors 1912-19Z2. 

Historical Society of the Evangeical United Brethern 

Church, Dayton Ohio 

Former members of the Church 

COTTONWOOD CHURCH 1864-1968 

Cottonwood Church is situated in Cottonwood township, 6 miles 
northeast of Toledo, Illinois, Cottonwood Church was started in 
1864, with Rev, Jud Williams as the first pastor. This class must 
have met in the homes. The first members were Uncle Franklin 
Titus and wife, Aunt Sisie Pennington, Aunt Susie Garret, Aunt 
Melcenia Johnston, Mrs, Butler, Mrs. Grub, Uncle Johnny Shoe- 
maker and wife, Mr, and Mrs. Christopher Tippett, and Mrs. Jep- 
tha Owens. 

Between 1864 and 1867, the Holsapples and Rinkers, Aldrichs, 
Elys, Longs, Seamans and Hickles moved here from Ohio and 
Indiana and joined the Class. John and Rebecca ^Rinker) Holsapple, 
and Levi and Eliz. (Cracraft) Rinker and families came from Va. 
Through Ohio to Washington and Morgan Counties in Ind. in the 
early 1800's and on to Cumb. C. in the 1860's, Phoebe and Barlow 
Aldrich came from Decatur Co, Ind. David and Comfort (Kitchell) 
Seaman came from Maryland and Pennsy. and their son David P. 
and wife Frances (CoUum) Seaman were some of the pioneers who 
still have descendants living in Cottonwood twp. There are also 
descendants of the families of Titus, Pennington, Johnston, Butler 
and Tippett still living close to the Cottonwood Church. 

In the fall of 1867, Rev. Aldrich was sent to this work and 
the first chruch was built the next year in 1868. The Deed was 
made July 18, 1868, by Mr, and Mrs. Silas Rinker, Before this 
time the church was east of the present site, across the road from 
the now Jones School House, 1/2 mile east of the Church. 

The church continued to grow and about 1872 the Rev. Bradshaw 
came and held his big revival with eighty conversions. From this 
revival the Friends Grove or Quaker Church was started, and has 
continued to be a blessing to that community. 

In 1880 another revival was held by Rev. Austin. At this time 
the Stallings and Kings came into the church, and from this meet- 
ing was founded the Clear Creek Church, which is still propsering. 

In 1880 the Free Methodist Church was started from the Cot- 
tonwood Class. 

In 1902 the old church was torn down, and the present building 



-100- 



was finished that year, one half mile west of Jones School or 2 
miles east of Bradbury. 

Wm. J. and Melceria (Laslie) Johnston came to Cumberland 
County from Scotland, and lived in and operated a store across 
the road north of the present Cottonwood Church. They later 
ran a store across from the Vernon farm (now Coble) one mile 
north. The Johnston's are the gr. gr, gr. grandparents of 
Suzanne and Ronnie Greeson. 

The present piano was purchased in 1918. Later Enoch But- 
ler was the pianist. 

The present building was made of white pine, and was brought 
to Bradbury from Georgia on flat cars and hauled to the church 
yard by wagon and horses. Mrs, Floyd (Iva Holsapple) Nichols 
remembers her father, John Will Holsapple, helping to haul the 
lumber. The Dedication was on Nov, 9, 1902, 

Following are some of the marriages in the Church: 

Harry Campbell was married to May Seaman (Dau. of Wesley 
and Loretta (Welch) Seaman) by Rev, C. M. Thrall in 1912. Hen- 
ry Tippett was married to Minnie Snyder by Rev. Oscar Stewart 
in 1913, Phillip Barnes was married to Donna McCandlish (dau. 
of Mr. and Mrs, Fred McCandlish) by Rev, James Reynolds in 
1958. Geo, Cutright was married to Dorothy (McCandlish) by 
Rev. C. C. Collier in 1948. David Auger married Carolyn 
McCandlish in 1952 and Rev. C. C, Collier officiated. Ronnie 
Icenogle was married to Evelyn Sue Padrick, dau. of Mr. and 
Mrs, Scott Padrick, at Cottonwood. Other weddings were Ron- 
ald Barnes and Judy Mooday, Larry Bright and Jean Porter, 
The first wedding reception was held in the new basement when 
Stephen Holsapple married Louise Pennington. 

The centennial celebration in 1964 was celebrated by having 
some of the past ministers back as speakers and as many of the 
older members and past members as possible. Plates were 
sold with a picture of the church in black and white or color with 
a short history of the church on the back. They were well re- 
ceived. 

In 1967 Storm windows were installed to protect our beautiful 
stained glass windows. Following is a list of the contributors of 
the windows when they were installed in. 1902: William and Char- 
lotte A, Caseley (Minister at the time the church was built); In 
memory of Father and Mother- -Barlow and Phoebe Aldrich (par- 
ents of Mrs, Levi (Mary Ann) Holsapple: "Holsapple": Wm, J, 
and M, E. Johnston: "In memory of Father Luke Aldrich": 
"Pennington": "In meraoriam of Albertie Holsapple Swickard- 
Harrict Holsapple": "Primary Classes Nos, 1 & 2": D. D. 

-101- 



Judson's S. S. Class": Titus": "Epworth League". Most of 
these families have descendants who are members of the church 
up to this day. 

The Board of Trustees in 190Z were as follows: Levi Holsap- 
ple, F. M. Pennington, W. R. McCandlish, J. W. Tippett, D. D. 
Judson, B. N, Holsapple, and Frank Barger. 

The Board of Trustees in 1968 are as follows: Golden Gree- 
son, Neil Ryan, Wayne Carrell, John Cooley, Floyd Nichols, 
George Outright and Fred McCandlish. 

The present Supt. is Neil Ryan and the pianist is Mrs. George 
(Dorothy) Cutright. 

The following is a list of ministers who have served Cotton- 
■wood Church: 

Rev. Jud Williams, Aldrich, J. L. Ellis, S. S. Johnston, 

C. L. Miller, J. M. Driver, A. Gaskill, J. W. Miller, A. L. 
Plowman, H. E. Brill, C. E. Sale, F. C. Balch, J. A. Stout, A. 
E, Kester, J. M. Karnes, C. C. Digby, M. F. Ault, J. A. Rousey, 
J. S. Tharp, A. L. Casely, H. T. Wilson, A. Warner, J. C. Bell, 

Pierce, G. M. Calhoun, P. L. York, W. H. McClean, C. E. 

Burton, J. Reynolds, C. H. Thrall, O. Stewart, J« T, Carson, C, 
E. Parsons, P. J. Phinehart, T. A. Dowler, F. E. Bracewell, 
H. G, Markley, E. R, Poor, S, M, Spurgeon, R, S. Shaw, A, W. 
Hendrix, G, W. Holmes, C. G. Hall, J. I. Osborn, G, Waters, 
C. C. Collier, R. Wank, R. Yow, D. Riley, J. R. Poe, and our 
present minister, James Whitanack. 

EVANGELICAL UNITED BRETHREN CHURCH 

The Johnstown class of the Church of the United Brethren in 
Christ was organized by Rev, A, Rider of Westfield, Illinois, in 
1887. He was serving as a supply pastor of the Toledo Circuit, 
From the date of its organization, the Johnstown Class was served 
by Rev. Rider as an appointment on the Toledo Circuit. During 
the Annual Conference session held in Westfield in September, 1888, 
Janesville Circuit was formed which consisted of Janesville, Zion, 
Unity Chapel and Johnstown. Rev. F. M. Buckner was appointed 
the first pastor of Janesville Circuit. Johnstown was been a part 
of six different circuits since its organization. 

The Johnstown Class did not have a church building of its own 
in which to worship until 1899. They worshipped in a church be- 
longing to the Christian Church. This building was shared with all 
orthodox denominations in the community. 

From 1887 to 1897, the Johnstown Class grew very little in 
numbers and financial strength. The Conference minutes of 1898 

-102- 



report a very substantial growth in membership and finances. 
Rev. J, Cougill was the pastor and he was assisted by Rev. 
William Furry and Rev. A, J. Olmstead in a gracious revival 
service. Early in Feb., 1898, The Johnstown Class decided to 
build a house in which to v/orship. The following persons were 
named trustees: Charles Connell, C. Laymen, Joseph I, Ozee, 
D. F. Jones and Sidney Greeson, The Building Committee Con- 
sisted of the trustees and James Beals, who was to direct solic- 
itation for money and materials with which to build. Those who 
carried subscription papers were Charles Connell, C. Laymen, 
D. F. Jones, and Clarence Ferguson, These papers made it 
clear that all orthodox denominations were free to worship in 
the church v/hen it was not in use by the United Brethren people. 

The church is built on land purchased from Dr. Johnathan 
ShuU for the sum of fifty dollars. 

The second quarterly Conference of the Janesville Circuit 
was held at Johnstown Dec. 23, 1899. On this date the Board 
of' trustees w^as reduced from five to three members. The fol- 
lowing were elected to serve as Trustees: C, Laymen, James 
Beals, and Sidney Greeson. 

The building was started Feb, 10, 1898, and was completed 
Feb. 1, 1899. It was not dedicated at the time of comipletion. 
The Christian Church held all of its worship services there, and 
continued to do so until the church was dedicated as the United 
Brethren-in Christ, Aug. 7, 1908, As of this day the building is 
in good repair. It has a modern gas heating system, comfortable 
pev/s, a new Sunday School unit 25 feet by 18 feet, beautifully 
finished, a new roof over the entrance platform and numerous 
appointments. 

During its eighty- one years of history, the Johnstown Church 
has had its periods of strength and of weakness, but due to the 
fact that it is a living, growing organization today is a tribute to 
the loyalty and service of the people who have believed in it and 
have stood by the Church these many years. Many of those who 
have contributed to the early success of the Church have gone to 
live in that "House not made with hands". We just have one mem- 
ber whose service reaches back in the history of the struggle and 
sacrifice, namely Mr. Bert Thornton. God in his mercy has not 
forgotten us and we are looking forward to many victories in the 
future. 

Ministers who have served the Johnstown Church: A, Rider, 
F. M. Buckner, A. Rider, D, E. Gray, Z. Pease, J. Cougill, 
W. E. Anderson, A. E. Kosht, W. W. Collins, Z. Pease & J. 
F. Pease, C. O, Myers, W. F. Furry, G. W. Padrick, F. M. 



•103 



Fink, C. W. Perkins, A. J. Olmstead, Mary Mitchell, L. C. 
Maple, R. L. Webber, L. B. Vanetta, E. J. Brown, C. A. 
Curtis, W, R. Seitzinger, J. E. Sibert, C, Barker, R, L. Web- 
ber, G. L. Good, Dolph Bland, G. W. Padrick, F. L. Kinsman, 
G, W. Padrick, Loren Miller, T. A. Hiatt, LaVerle Cook, W. 
M. Robinson, Vivian Threlkeld, Hugh Smith, Curtis Williams, 
C, A. York, Ralph Coleman, B, C. Bassett, Billie Bryan, Har- 
old Fuller, Frank Minton, L. B. Hendrich, L, B, Vanetta, Ger- 
ald Longenbaugh, L. B. Vanetta, K. Koheg, W. Pinson, J. Kauf- 
nian, H. Miller. 

By Rev. Leo B. Vanetta 

FRIENDS GROVE CHURCH (quaker) 

In comipiling this data, we have had to rely a great deal on 
that which has come down to this generation of Friends by w^ord 
of mouth. 

The first mieeting which is thought to have been under Qua- 
ker auspices, was a camp meeting on land now owned by Sattie 
Hillr formerly Sattie Freeman, The people then met at the old 
Still house on land owned by Hiram Bowman, now known as the 
Mumford land. Later, meetings for v/orship v/ere held at the 
Old No. 2 school house, now known as Mumford School and lo- 
cated on land owned by Anderson Fogleman. 

An old study book on the Gospel of St. John which once belonged 
to Anderson Fogleman, bore the date of August 7, 1870, with 
the inscription "East White Oak Sabbath School". From this it 
is assumed that services were held in the old log school bearing 
that name, which was across the road from the present site of 
East White Oak School, one-half mile east of the Friends Grove 
meetinghouse. Friends Grove meetinghouse and cemetery are 
three miles northwest of Greenup, Illinois, Cumberland County. 

The lumber for the meeting house was donated by neighbors 
and members, hauled in its green state to the building site and 
kiln dried by burning it across a little ravine just north of the site, 
on land now owned by Arthur McElravy. Each took their turn 
tending the kiln fire until the lumber was suitable for use. Much 
of the labor on the construction of the building was donated by 
interested persons. 

It was a typical Quaker meeting house with two front doors. 
A railing extended thru the center section of pews, with the men 
sitting on one side and the women on the other. Later, around 
the year 1920, some remodeling was done. A central entrance 

-104- 



was made and both interior and exterior were greatly improved. 
The pews and pulpit, which are still in use, were made from 
one large walnut tree. This tree grew on the Alvin Perry land, 
later William Hubbart land. The pulpit and pews were planned, 
dried and built by Anderson Fogleman, an early member, 

A burying ground for the community, which has now become 
a neat little cemetery, was established on the south half of the 
church lot. The bodies of many of those early members now 
rest there. 

It is now believed that the church was first organized at 
Friends meeting ground the year 1875. Because records were 
not preserved, it is not known just how they were organized or 
when they became a part of Pleasant Grove Quarterly meeting. 

Some of the charter members were William Hubbart and 
wife Mary, John Moses and wife Jane, Elias Light and wife Eli- 
zabeth, Richard V. Freeman and wife Eliza, Anderson Fogleman, 
Wesley Hurst and wife and Joel Williams and wife Catherine. 

A class in vocal music, conducted by Clifford Kennedy, high- 
lighted an early period in the history of Friends Grove meeting 
and greatly improved the quality of the gospel singing for many 
years, Clifford Kennedy is a brother of our beloved Alice Ken- 
nedy of Pleasant Grove meeting, who spent so many years as 
a missionary to Jamaica. 

Among the first Quaker preachers who came with a concern to- 
minister to the Spiritual life of this small group were Thomas 
Kursey, who would come riding on his mule, and would stay for 
a few services and ride on to his next concern. Others who con- 
tributed to the spiritual growth and upbuilding of the church as 
pastors and evangelists were Len Hobson and Elwood Lew^is. 
Miles and Diantha Martin, both consecrated servants of God, 
were pastors for some two years. They lived in the community 
during their stay. They resided on the farm now owned by Henry 
and Pearl Seeley. 

Elwood Lewis returned to the church again, and brought 
with him Ducan Newlin, who later became our pastor. Lewis 
Stout, then yearly meeting Superintendant, made several visits 
to the church. Later he held revival services assisted by James 
Parr. Other ministers and evangelists were Charles High, 
Cyrus Guyer, John Welong, Arthur Hayworth, Coleman Sapping- 
ton, Lee Guyer, Fred Cooper and Pauline Guyer, Clarence 
Ozier, the son of Willis and Ella Ozier was converted at an 
early age in a revival at the home church and later accepted 
God's call to the ministry. Later John Myers, Everett Tivits, 
Daniel Hybrew, and Paul Musgrave were pastors of the church* 



105- 



It was during the ministry of these that the meetings reached 
their highest peak spiritually and in numbers. Then there came 
a decline when niany long-time members passed on or moved 
away, leaving the community largely to tenant farmers. However 
too much cannot be said for two families for faithfulness, Vora 
and Bernice Stierwalt and family and Henry and Pearl Seeley, 
who, despite discouraging circumstances, continued to conduct 
Sabbath School with occasional part-time services. Now their 
patience and perseverence are being rewarded with thriving 
church school and the meeting is able to have regular part-time 
pastor. Lee Guyer of Pleasant Grove meeting continued in this 
capacity until his death in 1967. 

Due to the increased attendance of our young people and child- 
ren, we felt the need for more class-room space, so on July 26, 
1962, work was began putting a basement under the church, which 
made ample room. A gas heating system was installed, and extens- 
ive w^ork was done to the interior. Labor on the basement was done 
by Carl Haga, with much help from the members. 

As of February, 1968, R. S. Jenkins of Decatur is filling-in 
until we can get a permanent pastor. Our prayer, hopes, and eff- 
orts are for the upbuilding of God's Kingdom in this place, that 
Friends Grove Church may be a lighthouse and soul saving station 
to the praise and honor of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, 

The church was rededicated in May of 1963, and has services 
twice a month, the 2nd, and 4th, Sundays, 

By Edith and Thomas Freeman 

HOPEWELL CHURCH 

As a boy of 5, I can remember the building of the Hopewell 
Church. 

The church was located on a half acre of ground deeded to the 
Church by H. J, Hillard, in the extreme eastern edge of Spring- 
point Township, one mile south on the Carl Gordon road on the 
South East corner of forty acres now owned by Don Shoot, 

There being no church within four or five iniles of this neigh- 
borhood there was a great desire and longing for a church in the 
neighborhood. For transportation then was a foot, horseback or 
wagon, 

A petition or paper was circulated asking for labor or money 
to be donated to the building of the church. This paper plainly 
stated it was to built as a Union Church, to be used by any denom- 
ination when not in use by another, 

-106- 



The enthusiasm was great, labor was freely donated and enough 
money was contributed to buy the needed lumber. In the year .1892 
the foundation was laid, consisting of hard boulders of many shapes, 
eight or ten feet of space between each boulder so plenty of fresh 
air could circulate underneath. The lumber was purchased in 
Greenup and wagons were sent over there to h^ul it to the site of 
the new church. Labor came freely and willingly and the church 
was quickly erected and painted. Hitch racks or posts were built 
or placed on two sides of the half acre, one on the north and one 
on the west of this lot. 

Now all things were ready for the Dedication of the new church. 
On the appointed time the Dedication came, but to the sorrow, dis- 
appointment, anger and dismay of the neighborhood, it was dedi- 
cated in the name of the U. B. Church. Three Trustees were ap- 
pointed, the first ones appointed were, Jesse Hillard, David Lin- 
berry and --. The results of this act I will leave for 

you to formulate, I must say the church never flouri shed as itwas 
intended, although there were some good ministers hired and sev- 
eral grand revivals held there. Sunday School was organized and 
Bill Heater headed several singing classes there. The only min- 
ister I remember now is Rev, Bunton. Soon the door was locked 
to all denominations except the U, B, The life of the church was 
short for a church, only eighteen years. 

In 1910 or 1911 the church was sold to Mr. Hillard for a 
dwelling. On October 30, the church was jacked up off it's found- 
ation and on October 3 1, Halloween night, it was standing on. roll- 
ers about 500 feet from it's location. 

I will name some of the old timers that donated money and la- 
bor on the church. Mr. H, J. Hillard; Mr, Jess Hillard; Mr. 
James Hillard; Mr, Joe Hillard; Mr. James Gather; Mr, John 
Seeley; Mr, Tillman Oakley; Mr. Lafe Ray; Mr, Jeff Ray; Mr, 
David Lineberry; Mr, Jasper Starwolt; Mr. Tom Gottonham; Mr. 
Joe Elliott; Mr. EiTianual Starwolt; Mr. Nathan Mayhall; Mr, Steve 
Woods; Mr. Wm, Walker; Mr. Drew Walker. 

By Marion Walker 
HOPEWELL BAPTIST GHURGH 



The church was organized in the Owens schoolhouse 1/2 mile 
south of Janesville, Gumbcrland Gounty, on August 3 1, 1867. In 
May 1873 they voted to hold meetings at Johnstown. In 1875 they 
received 100 members into the church. By 1880 they had received 
230 merabers but had lost many of them, some by death, some by 



107- 



letter, and some by exclusion for conduct unbecoming a Christian. 

In January 1899 they met in their new church building i / 4: 
mile south of Johnstown. This building was used until 1901 when 
in the present building the first service was held in July. This 
building is made of Bedford Stone. 

Ordained ministers of the church have been Elders Wm. Bridg- 
man, F. M, Doty, A. Jones, L. W. Lanman, Wm, Walker, Isaac 
Hays, L. Corey, J, E. Parr, A. H, Olmstead, W. P. Moore, F. 
M. Tate, T, J. Thornton, E. Stanberry, John Neal, Zilman Jones, 
T. J. Morrison, Theo Sharp, R. Strader, B. F. Burnett, Thomas 
Spear, Joe Virden, Edward Grigg, M. V. Gilbert, Ray Green, J. 
F. Pease, E, R. Dugger, Vernon Greeson, J. A. Ward, Walter 
Miller, Rex Brown, Charles Haggard, Wiley Nettleson, Gaylord 
Green, James Whitt, Ray Helpingstine, and High Russell, 

LIBERTY HILL CHURCH (1886-1968) 

November 8, 1886, Liberty Hill decided to build a 24 by 32 
house for church. On April 30, 1887 the work began and by June 
14, temporary seats were put in and the church used for meeting. 
Jonathan Wright, N. Eveland, George Tucker, and P. F. Wright 
were elected for building committee. 

The first funeral was that of a little daughter of J. L. and 
Missouri Wright, February 17 1888 with burial in the church ceme- 
tery. On August 7, 1888 there was the funerals of Missouri 
Wright and a Strader child. 

This building was used until the new building Vv'as erected in 
1966-67 and dedicated October 15, 1967. Active in leadership of 
this construction were Lee Phillips, Wayne Sperry, Cleo Dunn, 
Harold James, and Lyle Markwell. 

This house is owned and controlled by the UNITED BRETHERN 
IN CHRIST. 

LONG POINT CHAPEL 

Long point Chapel has long been a landmark in Casey con^i- 
munity. It was organized about 1843. The meetings for the first 
ten years or so were held in a log school across the road and north 
of the cemetery. The school was turned over to the church and a 
new school house was built about a niile northwest. 

In the U. B. History of 1845-1857 Long Point is not mentioned 
by name, but it is thought to have been a part of the Westfield Cir- 
cuit which was in the Wabash Conference. 

Long Point is one of the oldest churches in Cumberland County, 

-108- 



Illinois, About the year 1849, David Fancher with his family set- 
tled in the east side of the county, a few miles from Casey, It 
was a timbered country with but few inhabitants. Mr. Fancher, 
father of C. C. Fancher, so well known in Illinois Conference, pro- 
posed that a church be built. The neighbors said they had no money, 
but if Mr, Fancher would furnish lumber for the seats, casing, 
titc. , they would hew out logs and put up a church. Under this 
agreement, C. C. Fancher (Uncle Cicero), then a mere boy, was 
sent far west to the timber, skirting the Ambraw River, to haul 
walnut longs with an ox team, to the mill. William Miller and 
Peter Wagner also hauled logs to A. G, Lacey's sawmill located 
on the bank of Long Point Creek, In the meantime others were 
felling and hewing trees, and in a short time a log church was 
built. This was about 1855, and it is not known whether this house, 
or a similiar one built by the Friends north of Greenup, holds the 
priority record. This church was later replaced by a frame 
building. Others mentioned in connection with the church at that 
time were: the John Miller Family, the Barbara Cook Family, 
Sam, Bill, and John Daily, Daddy Hitt, Dan Davison, and Benton 
Cutright, 

About 1920 Rev, W. R. Seitzinger was assigned as j astor of 
Long Point Church and during his stay here many new members 
were added to the church. He began a movement for the erection 
of a new building, but for some cause or other the progress of 
the movement ceased. Under the leadership of his successor, 
Rev. T, H. Decker a new building was erected, which was dedi- 
cated Sunday, June 15, 1923. At the laying of the cornerstone of 
this new building in 1923 two members were present who had been 
present when the old building was dedicated. They were C, C. 
Fancher and Hugh Lacey. 

This building is still in use and is still one of the nicest church 
buildings in Union Township, 

Taken from newspaper clippings and U. B. Conference Reports. 

By Ruth Lacey and Maurine Fancher 

MORTON CHAPEL CHURCH 

The Morton Chapel Methodist Church was formed by the ac- 
quisition of land from Leah and Ara Frazier. Dated August 30, 
1902 for he sum of $25,00. The original members were those 
who had formerly been members of the U. B. Bethel Church which 
had been located just across the road to the East. Among the 
Charter members were: B, B, Carrell, John Gray, Homer Eyans, 

-109- 



Thomas Stirewalt, James Wiley, Jennie Owings, Lizzie (L. A, ) 
Gray, Fred and Lena Brader, and Ellen Stirewalt. 

Among the ministers serving this church were A. L. Casely, 
H. T. Wilson, J. C. Bell, Rev. Pierce, G. M. Calhoun, P. L. 
York, W. H. McClean, J. Reynolds, C. H. Thrall, O. Stewart, 
P. J. Rhinehart, T. A. Dowler, P. E. Bracewell, H. G. Mark- 
let, E, R, Poor, S. M. Spurgeon, R. S. Shaw, A. W. Hendrix, 
G. W. Holmes, C. G. Hall, J. I. Osbourne, G. Waters, and 
C. C. Collier. It was during Rev. Collier's ininistry that Mor- 
ton Chapel ceased to have services. 

The following members were on the church roll at the time 
the church services ceased: Alvis and Minnie Stirewalt, Eugene 
Stirewalt, Frieda Stirewalt, Harve Kingery, Mamie Oakley, James 
and May Fogle, Raymond Fogle, Ray and Beulah Letner, Susie 
Spiker, Otto Evans, Glady Evans, Bertha Lyster, Edith (Gray) 
Oakley, Wilbur and Carl Evans, Harter Oakley, Goldie Adkins 
Eggers, Ralph Evans, Frieda Evans; Clarence, Pearl, Ethel, 
Alex, and Mable Mc . Elravy; Ray and Nellie Fritz, David Shupe, 
Grace Shupe, Lucille Cooley, Dan Seeley; Wallace, Albert, 
Clarence, William, and Mrs. William Wilson. 

Finally in 1959 the site and the old church building was sold 
to Hershel Ariens for the sum of $Z50. 00. 

METHODIST 

The origin of Methodism in this vicinity reaches back to 1839 
and perhaps beyond that date. The story is told of Mr. and Mrs, 
Philip Sheplor, great grandparents of Mrs. Aura French Wyatt 
of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, who moved to the Salem community 
from Fairfield County, Ohio. Being Methodists, it is thought 
that they may have helped to build the Salem Church near Greenup. 

Mrs. Wyatt's parents, Mr. and Mrs. E. A. French, also her 
grandparents, Mr, and Mrs. Henry Sheplor, n^ioved to Greenup 
in 1879. At that time the Methodist people were meeting in an old 
building whose origin and erection is unknown, which was later 
destroyed by fire. Sometiine later, a building which stood on the 
lot where the Lucille Dillier house now stands, was used as a 
place of worship, (The old church was later sold to the Christian 
Church congregation in Greenup). 

The lotion which the present church now stands was purchased 
and the church was built through the tireless efforts of the faithful 
few. Dedicatorial services were held on March 5, 1899 by the 
Presiding Elder, Rev. Whitlock, assisted by Rev. Strevey, Pastor 
of the church, 

-110- 



On October 13, 194 1 with Rev. Howard Kelly, pastor, a base- 
ment was started and completed the next year. Sometime later, 
under the leadership of the Rev. Will Lauher of Kansas, Illinois 
the sanctuary was completely redecorated and new enthusiasm 
generated. 

Then on Sunday morning, January 18, 1948, the church and 
contents were completely destroyed by fire. The loss was great 
and covered by only a small insurance policy of $3, 000. Rev, 
Robert Mc Williams, a student pastor from Garrett Bible School, 
was serving the church as pastor. The following Sunday, he ap- 
pointed committees for the financing and erecting of a new church 
building. In February, a building campaign was started. Various 
comiTiittees were set and solicitations made. Articles of'appeal we re 
made through the Greenup Press and hundreds of dollars were 
sent to the committees. They came from former members of 
the church, non-resident members and old time resident people 
who still remembered the old tiine Greenup Methodist Church, 
its meinbers, friends, and loyal supporters. 

On Monday, July 12, 1948, with Stephen A. Martin as pastor, 
a smallg^°'-^P assembled for the ground-breaking ceremonies for 
the new church building. Mrs, Sarah Rowe, the oldest living 
member, was present and also Mrs, Eva Brussell, a member of 
the Pleasant Grove Methodist church and later a member of the 
Greenup church. The following Wednesday morning, men were 
busy measuring, setting stakes and lines for the building, and in 
a few days excavation for the basement began. 

Sunday, October 24, 1948 was a glorious day. The basement, 
though not completed, was adequate for the morning services 
which were held there. Work went steadily onward. Brick was 
purchased, laborers were secured and put to work. And on Sun- 
day, November 7, 1948, the dedicatorial services for the laying 
of the cornerstone were held, assisted by Rev. Donald Gibbs, 
District Superintendent. Throughout the winter and spring months, 
the work progressed slowly, but the members and friends labored 
diligently to raise money for needed funds. Then in June of 1949, 
Rev, Martin accepted a charge in Iowa, leaving the church without 
a resident pastor. Early in October, 1949, Rev, H, T. Harper of 
Mattoon, Illinois was appointed pastor of the Greenup Methodist 
Church, Since that time the work has gone along slowly but surely 
on account of inadequate funds, lack of material, inflation of 
prices, national production restrictions, loss of confidence) and 
credit, blasted courage and blighted hope. 

But God's plans are never defeated by time or opposition, and 
on June 29, 1952, Bishop J. Ralph Magee, assisted by District 

-HI- 



H. T. Harper, held the opening and consecration services of the 
new sanctuary- The First Methodist Church, in Greenup, Illinois, 
which was the end of a Perfect Day and a long, long dream of the 
Greenup Methodist people. 

Rev. H, T, Harper 
Copied from a copy of the Dedicatory Day Bulletin of the 
church which was preserved by Mrs. Isa Winnett, 

METHODIST CHURCH, Roslyn 

Prior to 1871 the Methodist Society of Springpoint township 
met in the Bluebird schoolhouse. The first record we have of 
this Society was a recording of a meeting in December of 1871. 
This meeting was called to elect trustees for the purpose of 
building a church. Trustees elected were; James B. Smith; A. 
P. Gibbens; B. F. Aleshire; Stephen Smith and John Tays. The 
pastor was G. Smith. 

Ground for the church was given by William McKinney and a 
brick building was erected. This was called the Zion Church and 
belonged to the Methodist Protestant Conference. Trustees who 
were later elected were; Isaac Smith; William McElhinney, Charles 
McElhinney and P. F. Kingery, 

By the year 1900 the old brick building was declared unsafe and 
a frame building was erected. There are no records of this con- 
struction work and no recordings of any business meetings until 
1919. 

We do not know how or why the name of Zion was discontinued 
but when the Methodist Protestant and Methodist EpiscopahChurches 
merged in 1939 the name was recorded as the Roslyn Methodist 
Church. 

This church is still active. The pastor is the Rev. Robert 
Holmes, The present Board of Trustees are; James H. McKinney, 
Fred McClain; James J. McKinney, Walter Brown and Warren 
McKinney. 

MT ZION BAPTIST CHURCH-- 1853-- 1967 

Charter members were Ezra, Catherine, Emily, Samuel, and 
JaneAnn Sparks, Horace, Lloyd, Mary, Elizabeth, and Henry 
Thomas and Arteinery Hodges. 

First church officers were Elder Daniel Horbert as pastor, 
Ezra Spraks as clerk and deacon. First business meeting was 
held August 13, 1853. First ordained deacon was Ed, Moore, 

-112- 



April 9, 1857, First man licensed to preach was Thomas Pra- 
ther on June 13, 1857. He died in 1857. First preacher or- 
dained was Joseph Jeslin October 12, 1861. Other ministers 
ordained were Lon Carey, January 9, 1886, D. F. Chapman, 
April 1, 1887 and P. T. Hayes, April 14, 1898. Brother Hayes 
was the 200th member to be taken into the church. He was 
ordained in 1898 and called as pastor on September 19, 1903. 
After 55 years of service he is now a retired minister and mem- 
ber of the church where he was saved and ordained to the min- 
istry. 

The church members and ministers labored and prayed 
through the years and the "work for the Lord still continues at 
Mt, Zion with S, P. McCuUough as pastor in November 1967," 

This was taken from the report given by Mary Mason to the 
Cumberland County Historical Society in November 1967, 

She also reports that the old part of the Drummond Cemetery 
was given by Benjamin Drummond, grandfather of Jane Peterson 
Ballinger, 

From the May 18,1899 issue of the Greenup Press :-- 

Dedication at Woodbury: 

Bishop N. Castle of Elkliart, Indiana will dedicate the United 
Brethren church at Woodbury, Illinois Sunday, May 28. Preach- 
ing by Reverend O. F. Kirk and others, commencing Friday 

night, May 26. All are invited to attend. 

MT. ZION (NEBO) CHURCH SEPARATE BAPTIST 

We are sorry we cannot report to you a complete history of 
Mt, Zion Church, Due to the fact that the early church book was 
destroyed by fire, the records we have only date back to 1890. 
We know that the old church building was much older, probable 
100 years, I have been told that the church was organized even 
before the building was completed, and that the building was com- 
pleted several years before the dedication. 

Looking through the records I tina quite a few names of the 
faithful members who have long since passed on, I will name a 
few: Bro, James Walling and wife, Bro, A. Black, Bro, Jacob 
Coleman, Bro. John Hodge, Bro. Abraham Rhue and wife, Bro. 
David Walling and wife, Sister Hanah Cook, Sister Catherine 
Hodge, Bro, Leslie Goleman and Bro. Clove Carlcn, also many 
others. 

-113- 



The record tells us that the early church held a business 
meeting each month. 

Bro. James Walling served the church as clerk for many- 
years, also Bro. Jess Hodge and Sister Mattie Carpenter. 

Here are the names of some of the Pastors who served the 
church down through the years: Rev, A, Black, Rev, J. W. 
Johns, Rev, Scott Cooper, Rev. Murry Stone, Rev. J. W, 
Stallings, Rev. Wm, Teets, Rev, Windsor Roberts, Rev. Wm. 
Stanberry, Rev. Ira Blye, Rev. Berry Webb, Rev.. R. O. Black, 
Rev. Riley Ridgeway, Rev. Joe King, Rev. Wm. Richardson, 
Rev. Lewis Eaton, Rev, Russell Peterson, Evangelist from 
Lidiana, Rev, Leslie Coleman, and Rev. Gene Sims, 

MULLEN CHURCH 

No date could be acertained for the organizing of the Meth- 
odist Protestant Church at Mullen but it is knov/n that for some 
time services were conducted in the Mullen Schoolhouse. 

The Rev. Noah Bunton of Newton, Illinois was one of the 
first pastors. He traveled the circuit composed of Mullen, Wood- 
bury, and Roslyn churches for 21 years. 

In one revival meeting there were 120 converts. Since the 
schoolhouse was too small for the growing congregation a new 
church was built in 1902. A half acre of ground was given by 
Mrs. Samuel Shaffer. Commodore Plummer gave the timber 
which was taken to the sawmill operated by John Campbell, John 
Cox, and Ed Jackson on the G s Stuckey farm. 

Some others who helped in the construction work were Wesley 
Grissom; Alpha Grissom; Guy Plummer; Orville, William and 
Louis Dittamore; C. C, Roy and James Baker; I. N. Good; John 
Kingery; Ed Tanner; John Harris; Buernsey Thayer; Joe Shaffer; 
James Hutchison; Andy Hall; John and James Tanner; Pet and Ben 
Willan; Clell Devore; Henry Wolf and others, 

James Brown plastered the church. Joe Shaffer made the 
pulpit desk. Mrs. Janie DeVore and Mrs, Emma Dittamore went 
through the community taking donations for a bell which was 
bought from Sears Roebuck for $30. The bell was first put on 
top of the church building but the ringing of the bell caused the 
plaster on the ceiling to crack, so a vestibule was built on the 
front of the church and the bell was hung in the belfry abovt the 
vestibule. 

In 1939 the Methodist Protestant and the Methodist Episcopal 
Churches merged and Mullen became a Methodist Church. Since 
the church was inactive at that time and had no pastor the build- 

-114- 



ing was sold. Through the efforts of Mrs, Blanche Ryder and 
others the coiTimunity bought the building and grounds. It is 
now controlled by the trustees of Mullen Cemetery and is rented 
to the Baptist Church, who have held services there since 1956. 

By Ethel Brown 

NEW HOPE CHURCH 

Several decades ago residents of the Walla Walla and Hic- 
kory communities began meeting in various homes holding church 
service. A part of the original group branched out to form the 
New Hope Christian Church. 

This organization took place February 12, 1904 with Rev. H. 

D. Catte of Willow Hill, Illinois. The original minutes read as 
follows : 

We whose names are here unto subscribed desiring to organ- 
ize a Christian Church do hereby covenant and agree together to: 
1, Take the Holy Bible as our rule of faith and practice. 2, The 
Lord Jesus Christ head of the Church. 3. Christian the only name 
for His followers. 4, Christian character the test of membership 
and fellowship. 5, Private judgment and interpretation in matter 
of faith the right and duty of all, 6, The union of all God's people. 
The above Christian Church to be named the New Hope Christian 
Church, The following named persons met on the above named 
date and proceeded^to organize with Elder "Plead" Wade in the 
chair. On motion and seconded Bro. S. R. Sherwood was chosen 
deacon and sister Gertie Sherwood was chosen clerk. Bro, S. H. 
Wade was chosen treasurer and H, D. Catte was chosen as pastor 
for the remainder of the conference year. 

H. D. Catte, Pastor 
Gertie Sherwood, Clerk 
The ten Charter Members were: H, S. Wade, Amanda Wade, 

E. A. Hidlebaugh, S. E. Hidlebaugh, S. R. Sherwood, W. F. 
Reynolds, Effie Reynolds, Anna F. Munion, Gertie Sherwood, 
Isadore Sherwood, 

On September 19, 1904 another meeting was held. The min- 
utes of this meeting were as follows: 

Purpose - for transacting business as might properly come be- 
fore the Church. By request of the chairman, H. D, Catte was 
called to chair who stated that the object of the meeting was to 
elect three trustees of the New Hope Christian Church, said 
trustees also to constitute a building committee, Bro. S, R, Sher- 

-115- 



wood, Br, Sk H. Wade, and Bro. Ross Greeson were chosen. 
Being no further business the Church adjourned to meet Octo- 
ber Z4, 1904. 

H. D. Catte, Pastor 
Gertie Sherwood, Clerk 

The present church was built between the time of September 
19, 1904 and July 30, 1905. On July 30, 1905 the church was 
dedicated. The second ministerial Institute of the Southern Wa- 
bash Illinois Christian conference was held with the New Hope 
Christian Church, Walla Walla, Cumberland County, Illinois and 
on the fifth Sunday of the same month the church was dedicated. 

The ministers present were: M. V, Hathaway, J. J, Dou- 
glas, Joe Tracy, -Tommy Wade, Plead Wade, J. M. Plunket, A. 
O, Jacobs, J, L. Wright, H, D, Catte, Jesse Brandenber ry, 
Charles Mahon, Donald G. Vint, J. R. Frederick, W. T. Paul, 
F. E. Lewis, Walter Kitchen, and S. Price. 

The following order of services used in the dedication was: 
Song(by Choir led by D. Vint), Invocation (J, M. Plunkett), 
Scripture Reading (J.J. Douglas), Dedication Offering (Plead 
Wade), Dedication Service (M, V. Hathaway), and Dedicatory 
Prayer (J. A, Tracey written by Donald Vint). 

Several years ago the New Hope Christian Church merged 
with the Congregational Church and now bears the name of New 
Hope Congregational Christian Church. 

The following named persons have served as pastor since 
its organization: Fev. H. D, Catte, Rev. Sam Price, Rev. J. 
M. Carmean, Rev, Brown, "Plead" Wade, Tommy Wade, Bro. 
P. L. Powell, P. O. Anderson, W. T. Paul, G, R, Hammond, 
Bro. J. A, Tracey, Bro. A. H. Bennett, Rev. Charles Mahon, 
Rev. Paul Piersol, Rev. Walter Kitchen, Bro. Frank G. Bell, 
Rev. Thomas, Rev. Donald Poe, Rev. Chapman, Rev. Adrian 
Gray, Rev. Glen Henderson, Bro. Mac Ivies, Rev. Storer, Rev, 
John Spencer, Sis. Opal Newlin, Rev. Gaylord Buss, Rev. Jean 
Bennett, and Rev. Hugh Smith. 

PLEASANT VALLEY CHURCH 

Pleasant Valley Church, located about three miles east of 
Greenup, was started in 1879-1880. It was first on the Greenup 
United Brethren Circuit, then Long Point Circuit, and is pre- 
sently on the Casey Circuit. The church was the result of the 
influence wTiich radiated from a revival in a little log, one-roomed 
schoolhouse located three -fourths mile west of the present church 
house. This revival was conducted by Rev, James Cougill, This 

-116- 



building was used from 9 months to a year. 

In 1880 a piece of land, about a half acre, was given to the 
church by Harlow Park and wife Martha L. Park. The present 
building was erected by Joe Weaver, grandfather of Louis Hend- 
erson, who is a present day member. 

The building was dedicated July 24, 1881, in services per- 
formed by Rev, James Cougill, the pastor, and Rev, Samuel 
Mills, the Presiding Elder, also Bro. McGinness and Rev. J. 
Coffman, The church was built at a cost of about $ 1, 000. A 
little over $400 was raised on the day of the dedication. The 
church was given the name, Pleasant Valley, by Mrs, John J, 
Neeley. Trustees were John Watts, Charles Clark Ormsby, John 
J. Neeley, and F, M. Alumbaugh. Some of the early members at 
the time of the dedication were as follows: John Watts &; wife, the 
John Lukes, Jim Foxes, Charles C. Ormsbys, John J. Neeleys, 
M. S, McGinnesses, Mike Conkels, and the Fancher Families, 
Cicero, Nehemiiah, and Layfayette, also the F, M. Alumbaughs. 

One of the Franchers built the pulpit. Joe Weaver built the 
seats, Nehemiah Fancher donated the bell three years later, at 
the cost of $85. All of these things are being used today. The 
belfry was built in 1885 by John Watts and Mike Conkel, the lum- 
ber for it was donated by, and cut from the farm of Mike Conkel, 
father of John Conkel. A few years later Mike built the rope 
wheel for the bell, the belfry was roofed and repaired and the 
wheel put in place. At this time the trustees were Mike Conkel, 
John Luke, and John Watts. 

During June of 1898, Rev. Samuel Mills, pastor, held a memor- 
ial service for the ex-veterans of the Civil War. Veterans present 
were: J. L. Mattoon, D. T, Phillips, C. C, Ormisby, James Hig- 
gins, J. C. Waldrip, J. R. Duvall, Ezekiel Ander, and M, J. Ruff- 
ner . 

The church at this time always held a Children's Day Service 
during June with a great success. 

During the early days of the church there were many very faith- 
ful teachers. The names available are: Fanny Luke, who taught 
45 to 50 years, Nerva Shuey 10 years, Mike Conkel, men and boys 
classes about 15 years, Mrs. Lev Mattoon 10 to 15 years, Sarah 
Ormsby 10 to 12 years, Charles C. Ormsby, Kate Ormsby, John 
Watts, and Ross Northway, 

The church owned a parsonage, located just across the raod 
from the church and a little north. It was sold to John Watts and 
moved to his farm in 1898. 

In 1902 the church was reroofed. In 1919 the old wood front 
porch was replaced by concrete. Some still remember the steps 

-117- 



on the wood front porch, from which they climbed into their bug- 
gies, also the old hitchrack, and the many stories about the horse 
and buggy trips to church as well as keeping their whips and blan- 
kets from being stolen after getting to church. 

During the pastorate of Rev, Stubblefield, in 1926 the church 
held a five week revival with a great victory. Following this 
revival, a homecoming was held, observing their forty-fifth year. 
Four members who were living at that time and were present on 
that homecoming day were, Mike Conkel, Harve Neeley, Fanny 
Luke, and John Luke. The Washington Class had redecorated the 
church and added other improvements. 

Again during Rev, Wortman's pastorate, about 1940, many 
improvements were made. Interior decoration such as new floors 
refinishing of the seats, and the cupulo above the bell was rebuilt 
by Leo Nees, Frankie Hanners and Alan Doty. Concrete floor re- 
placed the wood floor in the belfry, some new roof, and outside 
paint all costing about $450, 

In 1946 the U, B. Church and Evangelical Church ixierged and 
changed the name to Evangelical United Brethren. 

In 1948, electricity came through and gas lights were replaced 
by electric lights. Again in 1952 the house was redecorated inside 
and new stoves installed. During 1959 the exterior was painted, 
gas stoves replaced the former coal stoves, the floors refinished, 
and the building reroofed. 

Pleasant Valley has participated in Sunday School Conventions 
since the first meeting, September 1893. The church was repre- 
sented by John J. Neeley and John S. Watts. 

Church services are being held in this same building today, 
1968, with Pastor, Rev, Hugh Smith, S, S. Supt. , Frankie Hann- 
ers, and Classleader, Bernard Bland. Prayer meeting is held 
on Wednesday night as they have since the beginning of the church. 

It is to our regret that in the future this building will be taken 
by the new Interstate 70 Highway. 

Following are the pastors that have served this church: Rev. 
Coffman, J. Cougill, J. A. Sinith, H, W. Broadstone, J, G. Hol- 
facre, D, Gray, A. Shidler, S. Bi;zzard, Miss Alva Button, J. W. 
Holsapple, H. M. Tipsord, Samuel Mills, W. R. Muncie, A, E. 
Kosht, F. M. Fmk, H. W. Lashbrook, J. M. Inman, W. C.-Har- 
bert, C. W, Perkins, H. S. Reese, Fred A. Roberts, C. A. Cur- 
tis, Miss Elizabeth ThoiTipson, S, Garrison, Overholt, W. R. 
Seitzinger, T. H. Decker, W, J. Etherton, J. B. Stubblefield, 
J. A. Crowder, H. M. Walker, A. B. Hiatt, T. H. Fouts, Ken- 
neth Hanley, C. A. York, H. W, Workman, Hugh Smith, Virgil 
Miller, Lloyd Davis, Lloyd Howard, Harold, L. Carrell, John 

-118- 



Fyffe, Dale Doolen, Kenneth Rude, C. R. Roberts. W . G. Brenner, 

By Martha Nees - Church Historian 

FIRST PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH OF GREENUP 

The first building used by the Presbyterian church was er — 
rected in 1874, just south of the old manse. It was dedicated 
July 23, 1876. 

The present building was dedicated July 16, 1905. The only 
members of the church in 1965 still living today are Mrs. Ola 
Brooks and Mrs, Dawn Ormsby. 

Improvements have been made both on the inside and the out- 
side of the building since it was dedicated in 1905. Part of these 
were made necessary because of a destructive fire. While re- 
pairs were being made, the city fathers allowed services to be 
held in the Municipal Building. The church was rededicated Sept, 
8, 1963. 

A new manse had been constructed prior to the fire in the 
church. Ground was bought, in 1968, by the church officers on 
which they plan to build an addition to be used for religious ed- 
ucation purposes. 

The present minister is Paul McLaughlin whose wife's name 
is Elsie, 

PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH BELL 

The bell in the belfry of the First Presbyterian Church of 
Greenup was given by John Thomen, father of Anna Thomen and 
Victoria Thomen Fisher. Originally the bell had been given by 
Samuel K. Thomen, a cousin of John Thomen, to the Union Cha- 
pel United Brethren Church, located 11/4 miles southwest of 
Greenup, where the Thomen families were members. The bell 
was recognized for its beautiful tone. The U. B. Church was 
blown down by a heavy wind storm on March 9, 1918. It had 
not been used for about three years previously. 

Mr. Thomen bought the bell and moved it on a big flat wa- 
gon on April 3, 1918, to the Greenup Presbyterian Church, where 
the family had moved their membership. Mr. William B, Shelt, 
pastor of the Presbyterian Church at that time, personally es- 
corted the bell from the Union Chapel Church to its new home. 
On the following Sunday, April 9, 1918, it rang for the first time. 
From that time it was rung every Sunday and on many special oc- 
casions. The last time it rand for Sunday worship service was 

-119- 



on May 27, 1962, On that date, about IP. M. , the church was 
gutted with fire. The bell was rung to notify the parishioners 
of the disaster. 

The church was repaired, but the bell on account of some 
necessary changes, was not made ready for use again until on 
the morning of November 12, 1967. The bell again rang out. 
Since then it continues to ring. 

By Mrs. Victoria Thomen Fisher 

THE SALEM CHURCH 

The Salem church located about three miles west of Greenup 
and three fourths miile north of the proposed Highway 70, boasts 
of the first church building in Cumberland county. In 1841 the 
early settlers erected a schoolhouse, and it was there that they 
organized a Methodist Society with the following charter members; 
Philip and Nellie Shiplor, William E. and Nancy Smith, Joseph 
and Mary Russell, John and Sarah Smith, Mrs. Hamilton, Tho- 
mas and Mary Smith, John Green and his wife, Henry Shiplor, and 
George and Sarah Smith. 

In 1844 a "Meeting House" was built apparently on the same 
site as occupied by the present building. Thomas and Mary Sraith 
donated land for the church and graveyard; merchants from Green- 
up donated nails for the roof, windows, a large box stove, pipe; 
and settlers from far and near gathered to help erect the building. 
It was a log structure three times as high as an ordinary cabin 
with the roof and cracks between the logs covered with clapboards 
fastened by wood pins. The floor and seats were made of punch- 
eons, and the door was hung with wooden hinges. 

The dedication service was oncducted by Rev, H, B. Bas — 
combe of Kentucky, after which regular preaching services were 
held once a month by a circuit rider. On other Sundays class 
iTieetings were conducted by a class leader. 

This building fell down and was removed around 1881, The 
present building was erected about 1885. The church's framie- 
work of hewed timbers and the pulpit, hand made by George Sher- 
wood and Mr, Shiplor, are its link to the past. Shortly after the 
church was completed a controversy arose as to whether it should 
be Methodist or United Brethren, The Methodist won, therefore, 
the church was dedicated August 18, 1895, with Rev. Stevens offi- 
ficiating. 

Until his death in 1908, Harlow O. Sherwood was a pillar of 
the Church, contributing both financial support and services as 

-120- 



superintendent, teacher, and steward. Rev. D. K. Stevenson, 
although a United Brethren, was a faithful worker; he led the sing- 
ing, taught classes, and preached when his services were needed. 
Among other supporters of the church during this era (1885-1912) 
not previously mentioned were the Thomas Lyons, Norviel, Ward, 
Perry, Fogleman, Oakley, Keller, Bowman, Slade, Spiker, Chit- 
tenden, Button, Button, George Holsapple, Jim Bean, Hadley 
Mock, Albert Haenig, White, Frank Sherwood, Green families, 
and Buisey Family. 

Some of the pastors servi^/g the church at this time were Rev, 
Strevey, Rev, S. C. Pierce, and Rev, Frank Roberts, 

There was usually a good attendance at the evangelistic meet- 
ings and many young people were converted. It was customary 
for the young ladies to greet each other with a kiss, while the boys 
hung around in the background. The chief means of transportation 
to these meetings was by horse and buggy, but many walked, es- 
pecially if it was too bad for the horses. The ladies took turn in- 
viting the minister to their homes for food and lodging. 

Finally the attendance dropped and the doors were closed in 
1912. For about twenty years the building was vacant except for 
special evangelistic services or funerals. During this time the 
Methodist Conference tried to sell the building, but fortunately 
some faithful friends (George and Dora Holsapple, John Green, 
Ida Bowman and others), fought against the sale and saved the 
building. 

Ji.ne 11, 1934, Gene Darling, school teacher at Hamilton, 
saw the need and helped the community start Sunday school classes 
which v/ere held at the schoolhouse. Two months later the Sunday 
School services were moved to the old Salem Church building. 

The building was only a shell. The roof was bad, and the 
foundation on the west had given away leaving the dull, gray floors 
badly warped. The plastering was cracked, and the paper was 
sagging. The high wood ceiling was watersoaked, dirty, and scaly. 
There was much to be done. Many shook their heads in doubt, but 
all pitched in with helping hands. The building was given a new 
roof, new foundation, cleaned and papered. There was little money 
available, but with the aid of donations both in and outside the neigh- 
borhood, the work was carried on. The labor, as in the past, was 
mainly donated. 

As funds became available other improvements were gradually 
made as follows: 194 1 -electric lights, 1947-basement, new chim- 
ney, and a furnace, 1949-ceiling lowered, church plastered and 
painted, 1950-new siding, porch, and belfry, 1952-floors refin- 
ished, new pews purchased, and the center aisle carpeted, 1961- 

-121- 



cabinets in the basement, and in 1967-a new piano. 

The first pastor of the revived church was Rev, C. G. Hall, 
who served both the Greenup and Toledo changes inaking six 
churches in all. The circuit was then divided and Salem became 
a part of the Toledo Circuit. Rev. John I.Osborne held services 
every other Sunday for three years. Rev. A. F, Waters, an 
elderly man, came for one year. Then in 1943 came Rev. Clar- 
ence Collier who served the church for fifteen years. After his 
retirenient the pastorate was filled by Rev. Robert E. Wank, 
Rev, Yow, Rev. James Poe, and Rev. James Whitkanack, the 
present ininister, who began holding services every Sunday 
morning. 

For a number of years the Ladies' Aid society, organized May 
2, 1935, v/as the chief finanical support of the church. Money was 
scarce but these women were willincr to work to gain, funds to re- 
decorate and repair the church. People of the surrounding areas 
seemed to respect their efforts for work of various types were of- 
fered to them. They seldom turned down a job no niatter how men- 
ial. Their work included patching overalls, cleaning schoolhous es, 
piecing quilts, tacking comforts, papering, serving at sales, giv- 
ing ice-cream suppers, selling extracts and magazines, and serv- 
ing evening meals for the Lions Club of Greenup and continued to 
do so until 1956. The proceeds received for meals served were 
all profit as the food was donated by the ladies. It was seldom that 
a purchase of food was taken from the proceeds. 

In 1948 the ladies conducted a penny contest which netted a 
profit of one hundred four dollars. Mrs. Etta Scales was the win- 
ner, having collected over twenty dollars worth of 1943 pennies. 

Later the Ladies' Aid became the Woman's Society of Christ- 
ian Service. Finally around 1961 this organization came to an end 
mainly because inany of the old members had passed on or were in 
ill health, and the younger women were too busy in the home or 
were working outside the home. However, the wonien of the church 
still serve an annual church supper. 

The existence of this church today is due to the hard work and 
determination of its members, the neighbors and friends as soc - 
iated with it, the pastors who gave willingly of their services with 
little pay, the contributions of individuals and business people, 
and all those who supplied the means by which the Ladies Aid Soc- 
iety could raise money. 

TOLEDO CHURCHES 

The first church was a frame building erected by the Metho- 

-122- 



dists on the place where their present church stands. Much re- 
modeling has been done to the building. The Reverend Jaines 
Whitkanack is the present minister. He also preaches at Salem 
Methodist and Cottonwood. 

On March 13, 1966, the building was rededicated. The ori- 
gianl structure was properly dedicated in 1890. The additions of 
two classrooms and the kitchen were completed and dedicated in 
1925. The completion and dedication of the addition known as the 
Dewees Educational Unit were in 1957. 

The rededication service conducted in 1966 was for the addi- 
tion of the narthex, the beautiful front with stained glass windows 
from floor to bell tower, an impressive round stained glass win- 
dow in the chancel, replacement of glass in the windows with 
panes of soft tinted blue, carpeting in the sanctuary which blends 
beautifully with the tinted windows, with wood patterned vinyl tile 
covering the remaining floor space. An addition of six new class- 
rooms, three of -which are located on a second floor, and the stuc- 
co finish on the exterior complete the remodeling at a total cost 
of $19, 437.82. 

The church is now known as the United Methodist Church as a 
result of the conference held in Texas in April, 1968, •which united 
United Brethern and Methodist denominations. The present minis- 
ter is James Whitkanack. Other organizations for the good of the 
church community, such as Junior and Senior Methodist Youth 
(MYF), the Methodist Men and the Women's Society for Christian 
Service, are thriving. With yearly preparatory cla'sses offered, 
the church enrollment is being steadily increased. 

The Christians have had two different edifices. The Reverend 
James Wolford served several years as pastor. 

In 1891 the Presbyterian church was built on South Meridian 
Street, The church disbanded a fe-w years ago and the property 
was sold to the Baptist Church. The Reverend Gaylord Green is 
their pastor. 

The United Brethren Church, built in 1908, stands on West 
Main Street, It has Sunday School every Sunday and twice a month 
evening services conducted by the Reverend Whitkanack. 

PLEASANT VIEW CHURCH OF GOD IN CHRIST- 1885 

Some member families were: Elders, Sparks, Keller, Ball- 
inger, Killman, Cooter, Coy, Cook, Hopper, Easton, Aldridge, 
Huffman, Saul, Schooley, Pinkard, Hite, Ingram, Dow, Bean, 
Farr, Gadberry, Morgan, Croy, Cornell, Miller and Floyd. 

We have in our files a three page list of "members of the Plea- 

-1Z3- 



sant View Church, situated in Cumberland County, Illinois, this 
8th. of June A. D. 1885" for research. 

NEOGA GRACE METHODIST CHURCH 

We have on file a four page list of marriages performed in 
this church, which is available for research. 

FAIR VIEW CHURCH 

We have a one-page record of elders and deacons of the Fair- 
view Church and of deaths from 1846. 




GENERAL STORE OF THOMAS H. B. WILSON 
He is second from the left. His daughter. Bertha Lois, 
is the yoand lady in the picture. She married Squire Holt. 



•124- 



SCHOOLS OF CUMBERLAND COUNTY 

In the early settlement of Cumberland County, children were 
taught at home. E. H. Starkweather had school in his cabin for 
many years. The first schoolhouse was built about 1840 in Green- 
up. In 1855 the first brick schoolhouse was erected by Greenup 
and this was replaced by a two story building in 1879. In 1896, 
this burned while school was in session. Prof, O'Dell dismissed 
the school with these words: "You may leave the room and take 
time to secure your books or wraps. One - two - three - four; 
right - left!" 

A few of the early teachers in the county were; E. H. Stark- 
weather, J. F, Holley, L, H, Goodwin, A. K, Bosworth, F. A. 
Cantwell, Thomas Decius, William E. Lake, H. B. Decuis, and 
Carrie Mattoon who came to the county in 1865 and taught many 
years before she left in 1896. Others were Joseph D. Borden, 
Chas Conzet in New York, Mark Sperry in Ohio and Illinois, Her- 
bert Sperry, Edward Talbott, Wm, Wylde, D, C. Underwood, 
Wm. H. DeBord, Jonathan ShuU, Reuben Bloomfield of this county. 

In 1896 the building of eight class rooms, which is now being 
razed, was erected. Two additions were later made with a frame 
building, later used as a cafeteria. After consolidation, the Cum- 
berland High School was erected, on Route 121, the Greenup build- 
ing was used for grade school until 1968-1969. The school bell 
was bought by the village in 1968, and will be preserved as a his- 
torical remembrance of days gone by. 

The first class to graduate from Greenup High School was the 
Class of 1890. 

CUMBERLAND COUNTY SCHOOL SUPERINTENDENTS 

This official originally had principally to do with the school 
lands in the county and the distribution of school funds. Under 
the school law of 1855 and subsequent enactments, the duties of 
the office were enlarged, and the County Superintendent of Schools 
established. The gentlemen who have filled this position in Cum- 
berland County are: D. C. Decius 1843-1845, J. F. Holley 1845 
February 1847, Williain Freeman was appointed to fill vacancy 
caused by the death of Holley, L. H. Goodwin 1847-185 1, A. K. 
Bosworth 1851-1853, H. C. Woodworth 1853-1855, Reuben Beals 
1855-1857, H. B. Decius 1857-1861, L. H. Goodwin 1861-1865, 
William E. Lake 1865-1873, T. C. Kille 1873-1877, Henry J. 
Grosscup 1877-1881, W. E. Lake appointed for 1881, Samuel C. 
Miller, from 1882 and is the present incumbent. The term of 



125- 



office is now four years. Lewis Decius 1886-1890, C. B. Stan- 
Berry 1890-1894, S. S. Frederick 1894-1898, J. F. Grisamore 
1898-1902, H. M. Tipsord 1902-1910, J. W. Castelo 1910-1914, 
L. C. Markwell 1914-1922, Euris E. Greeson 1922-1930, Wm. 
Birdzell 1930-1938, Joe G. Greeson 1938- 1 946 Asst. Supt. Eun- 
ice Carson, J. Leroy Baker 1946-1950 Asst. Supt. Eunice Car- 
son, Wayne Hance 1950-1962 Asst, Supt. Bernice Hance, J. Le- 
roy Baker 1962- 1968 Asst. Supt. Blanche Icenogle. 

With the passing years the duties and responsibilities of the 
County School Superintendents have changed with consolidation 
and the formation of Unit Schools. Assistants to the Superinten- 
dents were added around 1930, 

ALESHIRE SCHOOL, NO, 59 

When Sadie Wisner was teacher in 1913, she had the follow- 
ing pupils: Glee, Fred, and Charlie Aleshire; Florence and 
Ethel Brown; Clara and Vallie Dittamore; Ethel, Iva, and Joe 
Grissom; Sylvia and Harland Gaskill; Earl and Alpha Hite; Sa- 
die, Ros, Kenneth, Chessie, and Clayton Ingram; Marshall 
and Eddie Kingery; Elsie McCall; Myrtle, Aundice, Leander, 
Virgil and Austin Tays ; Beulah and Clotilde Williams; John, 
Harvey, and Mary Walker; Henry and Edna McClain; Leslie 
Guy; and Mable, Charlie, William, and Kenneth Williams. 

JONES SCHOOL 16 CUMBERLAND CO., ILLINOIS 

Attendance Recordsl909- 1929 Also Distri ct Rec ord s 1924-1944. 

The school is located 5 1/2 miles north east of Toledo in 
Cottonwood Twp. or 2 1/2 miles east of Bradbury. 

Families who had children attending Jones School according 
to these records were: Brewer, Neal, Ryan, Titus, Tinsman, 
Ward, Swickard, Greeson, Knupp, Shupe, Walters, Tippett, Hed- 
din, Glosser, Hurst, Hutton, Vernon, Norveil, Carrell, Rhodes, 
Trinary, McElvery, Butler, Thompson, Hildebrand, Sampson, 
Light, Decker, Eggers, Easton, Drum, Justice, Pennington, Hub- 
bart, Sappington, Kirk, Shobe, Holsapple, Tatman, Closson, Rus- 
sell, Florey, Mooday, Morris, Sacco, Goble, Padrick, Grisa- 
more, Stewart, McCandlish. 

Teachers from 1909-1947 were: C. W, McMorris, Ida Nor- 
viel. Alburn Rhodes, E. L. Myers, Willis Wright, Jap B. School- 
ey, Waltf^r Cougill, W, H. Seeley, Ralph W. Greeson, Carl 
Graham, T. Otto Ballinger, Audry M. Tate, Flody Clark, Eva 
Lacy, Mildred Phipps, Ralph McCormick, Leo Shoot, Wm. Scott, 

-126- 



Joe Carrell, Berlin Flake. 

Directors from 1909- 1944 were : O. K. Carrell, O. C. 
Ryan, Ed Carrell, Hewett Stanberry, Chas. Cottingham, Ross 
Carrell, Emmett Pennington, Ben Pennington, Oliver Ryan, 
Clarence Carrell, Joe Titus, Everett Ryan, Fred McCandlish, 
Forrest Carrell. 

The directors of Jones were always highly qualified men, and 
after electric power was put in September 3, 194 1, they installed 
automatic stoker coal heat and an inside drinking fountain. It 
also had hard-wood floors. 

In 1940, Katherine Barkley was Music Teacher and in 1941- 
42 Louis DePres was Music Teacher. 

Jones school was discontinued in September, 1949, when all 
the non-high schools were consolidated into District 77. For at 
least seven years after that the high school valedictorians or sa- 
lutorians came from former Jones students. The building was 
purchased by Dale Pennington and made suitable for family living. 

Compiled by Mrs. Golden Greeson 

LIBERTY HILL SCHOOL 

The Liberty Hill School House is located three miles south 
of Greenup on the old Greenup and Newton Road, 

There was a school called Antioch, one half mile north of 
the Liberty Hill School which was destroyed by fire in 1892. The 
Trustees were Marion Stanberry, H. F. Sperry, and Jack Wel- 
baum. Some of the teachers that taught there were Ella Payne, 
Willard Lawrence, Sarah Hopper, and D, A. Ryan. 

W, M. and Cathern Richardson made a deed to the trustees 
May 4, 1892, for one acre of ground where the new school house 
was built. They called it Liberty Hill as the Liberty Hill Church 
was one fourth mile east. 

There were usually from sixty to seventy five pupils enrolled. 
The school house had double seats; always two and sometimes 
three in a seat. There were long recitation seats in front where 
the pupils went to recite their lessons. In the middle of the rooni 
was a large pot belly stove. In the back was a row of hooks to 
hang coats, and a shelf below on which to set the dinner buckets. 
A few had regular dinner pails, but most of them were syrup 
buckets or anything that had a lid. 

The first bell rang at eight thirty, and the last bell rang when 
school began at nine o'clock. There was a fifteen minute recess 
at ten thirty and another at two thirty, and one hour for lunch. 

-127- 



Some of the games they played were: black mLan, dare base, 
and ante-over. When the teacher rang the bell, every one 
rushed to the pump to get a drink out of about three rusty tin 
cups. 

It was the custom every winter to lock the teacher out and 
make him say "treat". Everyone would get excited, and all the 
older boys would go to school real early some morning to have 
the door wired shut from the inside before the teacher got there. 
Sometimes the teacher would think about that and get there ear- 
ly also. If the teacher happened to leave the schoolroom through 
the day, the door was fastened and there was no more school 
that day. 

Most of the teachers took it as a joke and had fun, while a 
few caused trouble. One teacher gave the older pupils their 
choice of taking a whipping or taking their books and going home. 
Most of them went home, but three took the whipping. Some of 
those that left went and talked to the trustees who then talked to 
the teacher. He wouldn't agree to anything but whipping them or 
expelling all that had left the school. The trustees decided to 
discharge the teacher and hire another one to finish the term. 

The following are names of several teachers that taught from 
1892 to 1948; D. A, Ryan, Emma Robinson, Zelda Goodman, 
Hala Wells, Stella Beals, Harry Welker, Code Carson, Jennie 
Owens, Staley Smith, Alice Sherwood, Willis Wright, W. L. 
Shepherd, L. C, Markwell, Ernest Fisher, Pearl Feltner, Cora 
Denney, Elsie Sherrick, Myrtle Sperry, Scott Sutherland, James 
L. Paden, Lola Shepherd, W. L, Russell, Ivy Sperry, Lala Mil- 
ler, Euris Greeson, W, C. Graham, Lenora Sperry, Elva Carrell, 
Glo Darling, Samuel Strader, Louise Brewer, Lester Ward, Hol- 
lis Wright, Shelby Shepherd, Peter Grubb, the last teacher in the 
years of 1947-48. 

The old custom of getting together and having fun made the 
people of Liberty Hill Community decide to buy the old discarded 
school house which had stood in the vicinity for more than sixty 
years. It saw generation after generation of students step out 
into a world of higher education. 

The building was first put up for auction in the year of 1951, 
but it was voted not to be sold, and by consent of the directors of 
the consolidated districts of the county and the school superinten- 
dent, Wayne Hance, they used it regularly for various gatherings. 

Then again it was put up for auction to be sold on May 26, 
1953. At four o'clock of that day, an interested group of mien and 
women gathered together with determined minds to buy it, if at 
all possible. On the stroke of four the auctioneer, Jake Tutewiler, 

-128- 



called the house to order and a bid was made by R. H. Snearley, 
who had been given the privilege of doing the bidding, of four 
hundred and fifty dollars. A very hushed silence followed await- 
ing that might happen. There was no opposition, and it was sold 
to the directors of the corporation who were Wayne Sperry-Pres- 
ident, Glee Nees -Secretary, Lee Markwell- Treasurer, and Ray- 
mond Snearley and John Strader. Officers were elected each 
year. The first meeting after the property was purchased was 
held by the directors and the organization was given the name 
"Liberty Hill Community Center. " 

The first community meeting was held after the property was 
purchased June 18, 1953. They continued to be held the third 
Friday of each month as they had been since the dissolving of the 
P.T.A., which was organized when HoUis Wright was teaching. 
The community meetings are still held on the third Friday nights 
of each month. The neighbors go with well filled baskets and 
gather around long tables w^here they eat and have fun. Then they 
all sing and usually have a little program. 

The Cominunity Center is a meeting place for the 4-H girls 
and boys, family reunions, chavaris and showers, and many oth- 
er meetings from this and other communities. 

We sincerely hope the old school house will be a land mark 
for many years to come» 

By Lillie Eveland 

NEOGA SCHOOLS 

The first school teacher of Neoga was Miss Mary Ewing who 
taught the first school in 1857 in a one room frame building east 
of the Illinois Central Railroad. This building was used 10 years 
and then a two-story frame building was erected. This burned in 
1896 and was replaced by an eight room brick building, which was 
used until the new elementary building was erected. 

In 1884 the school was re-graded and a 3 year high school 
added. In 1887 Alice Bradman, Elsie Husband, Carrie and Cora 
Hancock, Ada Wright and Minnie Smith graduated from Neoga 
High, In 1909 a building was erected to house the high school at 
the site at the east edge of Neoga which has not been changed. In 
192Z this building burned and was replaced by a larger one, as the 
need has arisen its size has been increased, 

Neoga Unit No. 3 has this high school building, the Pioneer 
grade school, and the new Elementary and Junior High building in 
the west part of Neoga near Jennings Park, 

-129- 



STITT SCHOOL NO. 18 

Taken from District Record Book 

Board members from 1902 to 1912 were: J. W. Stitt, Alf. 
Woodard, J. E. Ward, J. H. Grissom, B. M. Holsapple, E, E, 
Stitt, Sam Snyder, C. B. Ross, Guy Holsapple, Otto Dobbs. 

Teachers from 1902- 1 936 were : L. R. Adkins, W. M. Pugh, 
Lizzie Edwards, L, A. McCandlish, E. E. Stewart, Charles Hill, 
C. O, Young, Sadie M. Hill, Edith Vernon, Edward Myers, Dolly 
Hurst, Chleo Ward, Gladys Stitt Williams, G. E. Letner, R, W. 
Greeson, Leora Stitt, W. R. Birdzell, Martha Titus, Edith Boggs, 
Eva Lacey, Eugene White, Leo Shoot. 

A drinking fountain was purchased for the school, April 20, 
1915 from Linn McCabe Co, In September, 1917, an organ was 
purchased from Alice Hanker for $10.00, 

Salaries ranged from $25.00 to $80,00 during the period 
1902-36 for teachers. 

In June 1953, Stitt School was purchased by Mrs. Rosa E. 
(Seaman) Stitt, great grandmother of Suzanne and Ronnie Greeson 
of R. R. 1, Toledo, who resided north of the school. Mrs . Stitt 
was the widow of E. E. Stitt, director of the school and also clerk 
from 1907-12. It is now owned by Mrs. Leora (Stitt) Greeson. 

The school is located about 3 1/2 miles northeast of Toledo, in 
Sunipter Twp. , just north of the County Farm corner and near the 
County Farm graveyard meinorial stone. 

Families who resided in the comiTiunity and had children in 
Stitt School (1930- 36) were : Greeson, Harris, Oakley, Titus, 
Lacy, Dobbs, Eggers, Rice, Gleek, Morris, Ballinger, Williams, 
Ross, Sexson, Isabel, Burton, and Brewster. 

Average daily attendance 16,6, 

Compiled by Mrs. Golden Greeson 
TOLEDO SCHOOLS 

The first school house in Toledo was a sn-iall frame building 
which was also used for church services. In 1862 a two-story 
frame building was erected and used for 20 years, until the pre- 
sent brick structure was built. 

Although many students had completed their studies, no grad- 
uation exercises were held until 1890, when five girls - -Bertha 
Hanker, Ivy Connor, Nora Bloomfield, Ura Chapman and Mary 
ShuU- -became the first graduating class. Various additions have 
been added to the grade school in the north part of town. For 



130- 



many years it served as Toledo's four-year high school, as well 
as the Toledo Grade School. With the change in school law, Tol- 
edo consolidated with Jewett, three miles south, and Greenup, to 
form Cumberland Unit = 77, In 1952 the new Ctmberland High 

School was opened on Route IZl between Toledo and Greenup, 
Boys and girls were brought by bus from all over the district, 
and there are now 385 students and 23 faculty members. To keep 
up with the times, the people of the district recently voted to abol- 
ish the grade school attendance centers in Jewett, Toledo, and 
Greenup, and on ground west of the high school a new structure is 
rising where the three grade schools w^ill be consolidated. It is 
hoped that this will be ready for occupancy by September, 1967. 

Recently Unit No. 77 joined the Neoga Unit in voting them- 
selves into the Eastern Illinois Junior College district. Dr. L. 
E. McNeal of Toledo and Floyd Curl of Neoga were elected to 
the first junior college board. Soon Toledo citizens will have the 
opportunity of sending their sons and daughters to the new Junior 
college. 

Greenup Press. April 30, 1896 

The Toledo schools will hold their first commencement, Thurs- 
day evening May 14. There are five graduates -- Lelia Sumerlin, 
Mamie Hall, Mary Warner, Katie Connor, and Henry Sparks. 

SCOTCH CHAPEL SCHOOL DISTRICT 
1919 

Scotch Chapel, school district seventy-one, is a school div- 
ision of Cumberland County. It lies near the central part of Green- 
up town and just south of the village of Greenup. It occupies all 
of section fifteen, most of fourteen and twenty-two, and part of 
ten, eleven, sixteen, twenty-one, and tw^enty-thr ee. It contains 
in all sixty four forty-acre fields. These sections are in town 
nine, range nine, east of the third principal meridian. 

The school ground is in the extreme western edge of section 
fourteen. The road east and west on the south side of the grounds 
is the half mile line in the sections. The road north and south on 
the west side is the mile line. The exact location of the ground is 
one-quarter acre in the southwest corner of the southwest quarter 
of the northwest quarter of section fourteen. 

In the early days a large part of this section was covered with 
forest of oak, hickory, walnut and ash. The red men held full 
control until 1825 and until after the Black Hawk War in 1832, very 
little attempt was made at settlement. This particular section of 
the country was occupied by wandering bands of the Prankeshaw 

-131- 



Miamies Indians. No one tribe held full control here but their 
canoes often glided up and down the old Embarras River in their 
journeys to and fro across country. Through here, the warriors 
of the Iroquois from New York came on their surprise raids on 
the lUini Indians, It was just south of here that the brave soldiers 
of George Rogers Clark struggled on their way to Vincennes dur- 
ing the Revolutionary times. But we can read little of the story 
told by the murmuring river, the silent hills, or the whispering 
forest. Those scenes of earlier days are known to us only as things 
that must have happened where only savages dwelt. 

The Great National Highway which crossed Cumberland county, 
was finished about 1840. This opened the way for easier settlement. 
This section already had some permanent settlers but now the land 
was rapidly taken up. The National Road is but one mile north of 
this district and the stage coach so closely connected it with the 
eastern world that it soon changed from a frontier to a well settled, 
progressive locality. 

The first settlers here found wild game plentiful. In the east 
central part of the present district was an old salt lick. Some of 
the older men tell of how they often sat on the limbs of an old Burr 
Oak tree near by and, hidden by the branches, watched for the 
deer as they came to the lick. It was such a favorite place for 
killing deer that soiTie one made a seat in the tree that they might 
rest more comfortably while they waited. That same tree is still 
standing, perhaps more than a hundred years old, though many of 
its branches are dying and it niust go soon. One of the early set- 
tlers Daniel Wickiser, tells that when he first came here, the 
two or three Burr Oaks by the lick were the only large trees for 
quite a distance round; but since then many little groves of Water 
Oak have grown up. They are miostly cleared away now. A well 
was dug by the salt lick and the water had a peculiar salty taste. 
It is much like the other mineral wells that have since been found 
around Greenup, 

Much of the level land was low and flat with no drainage. This 
caused it to be very unhealthful. The first attempt to drainage 
was a ditch began by Denny Nees. It was little more than a plow 
furrow but this allowed the water to flow westward toward the riv- 
er. Gradually the ditch washed wider and deeper until 18- 
was taken up by the road township and made large enough to pre- 
vent the water from flooding the roads, jt would now give excell- 
ent service if the smaller ditches leading into it were kept open, 
but m iTiany cases they are not. 

The first settlers chose their homes in the more broken 
regions because the level land was swampy. Among those who 

-132- 



came first were James Prentice, Martin Thomas, and the Grubb 
family. They camie about 1838 and 39. In 184 1, John W, Owen 
entered land and in 1850 Samuel Layton, Isaac McMasters and 
John Wickiser obtained land from the government. Mr. John Shull 
now owns some of the land entered by Nancy Grubb and has the 
patent signed by Andrew Jackson who was president at that time. 

Others among the early pioneers were David Carson, Solomon 
Ware, John Feltner, Gabe and William Shepherd, Mrs. Fanny 
Brown, A Mr, Spoon, Henry Grafa, John Holt, James Ward, John 
Ward, Mathew Simpson, Robert Shiels, and Husk MarkwelL 

The first road was little more than a trail. It led along the 
river and angled northeastward toward the National Road. Other 
trails led off from this across the country. A few main roads 
were then laid out and some of the old trails abandoned but the 
one along the river developed into a road though its location was 
changed a little. The last road to be put through was the one that 
should have gone north past the school house. Perhaps because 
there were more settlers or because Mr. John Holt was willing to 
give all the land for the road, it w^as made one quarter mile east 
of the school and went north past Mr, Holt's place instead of going 
past Mr, Ware's place on the section line. 

Nancy Grubb, Martin Thomas, and James Prentice were per- 
haps among the first to locate this section. They came in 1838 
and 39. Nancy Grubb and Martin Thomas so far as we can learn 
did not long remain here and have no descendants here now. The 
land obtained by James Prentice was in the eastern part of section 
fourteen. After the discovery of gold in California in 1848, Pren- 
tice, with a team of oxen drove out west. There he came across 
a man lately from his home neighborhood who was much out of 
luck. Just who this man was we are not sure. It was either Mar- 
tin Thomas or the man to whom Thomas had sold his land back 
here. Some think it was a Mr. Holt but no relative to the Holts 
who came here later. To this man Mr. Prentice gave aid. For 
this favor he gave Mr. Prentice the forty acre field that is now- 
owned by Forest Fisher, This was about 1851. 

One of the daughters of James Prentice married Robert Shiels. 
One of their daughters, Lizzie married Marion Lyons. In 1918 
they bought the Coleman place (old Prentice place) and moved 
there. They have several children. The two youngest boys 
are under age but do not attend. 

Mary another daughter of James Prentice, married Phil- 
lips. In 1917, she bought the Tucker place, the north part of the 
old Prentice place and her son Neut moved there. Neut Phillips 
miarried Sophia LaMay in 19--. They have six children. Earl, 

-133- 



Denzil, Johnie, Fred, Woodrow, and Florence. The five boys, 
when they can be induced to attend at all, go to the Scotch Chapel 
School. 

Robert Shiels' first wife died and he married a widow, Hat- 
tie Dooley. They lived on his place in the Eastern part of the 
district. They had three children Carrie, Oliver and Bennie, 
Mr, Shiels raade a will disposing of his property and the home 
place went to his wife during her lifetime. Carrie and Bennie 
now live elsewhere but Oliver and his mother still live on the 
place. The house burned dow^n a few years ago but a new cottage 
was built on the site. 

Another of the pioneers was David Carson. He was born in 
New York City in 1799. As he grew up he learned to be a sailor. 
His vessel traded between cities on the eastern coast. When 
about twenty- one years old he went to Philadelphia and married. 
His wife lived but a short time. He then returned to the sea. 
After the building of the Erie Canal in 1825, the Westward Move- 
ment grevv' stronger. Mr, Carson caught this Westward fever 
and came out to Ohio, there, in Columbus he learned the tanner's 
trade. He met a young girl named Margarette Goe and they were 
married in 1837. Soon afterwards, deciding to penetrate farther 
west, they came to Illinois. They chose to locate just south of 
Greenup which was then little more than a tavern and stopping 
place for the stage coach. Mr. Carson wished in locating to find 
a place with plenty of water suitable for the tanners trade. In 
the Emibarras valley he found such a place already homesteaded 
but was able to buy it. Besides the branch, there was an excell- 
ent spring of water which is still used by the present generation 
of Car sons . 

David and Margarrette Carson had two children, Andrew, 
who grew up and a baby girl who died in infancy. The baby was 
buried in the little orchard just south of the house. The mother, 
too, died in 1840 and was buried beside the little girl. 

Along the river road just west of Mr. Carsons, lived Mr. 
Spoon and his family on what is now the Aldrich farm. There was 
a daughter namied Elizabeth. In 1841 she married David Carson 
and came to live in the Carson home. A better house was built 
about this time. It was indeed well built for now, after having 
weathered the stornis for more than seventy winte rs, it is still in 
good condition and is the home of the present Carson family. 

David and Elizabeth Carson had six children, John, who was 
born in 1853, was the only one who continued to reside in this 
district after he grew up. 



-134- 



About 1869 the Gi'afa family from Kentucky, who history later 
became closely connected with the Carsons came to Illinois. They 
bought land of Sarah Shepherd (daughter of Fannie Brown) and 
moved into the little log cabin on that farni. Henry Grafa was 
born in 1810. He inarried a southern girl, Nancy Lowe. Their 
ancestors were slave holders of the south but at the close of the 
Civil War conditions there were so changed that they decided to 
move northward. 

The farm they bought here consisted of three forty-acre fields 
running north and south and another forty of woods one quarter 
niile west. The three forties were fenced and improved. The 
house was on the northern edge of the north forty. An old trail 
came from the south and turned eastward past the house. This 
land was low and flat witli poor drainage and was therefore very 
unhealthful. The old deer lick and mineral well that have been 
mentioned were on the north side of the middle forty. The doctor 
advised Mr. Grafa to drink this water; so for a while they carried 
their drinking water froin this well. 

Mr, Grafa then decided to sell the north forty and build a 
house near the mineral well. About 187Z he did this and the new 
frame house was among the first of its kind in this neighborhood. 
The old log house on the north forty was used as a shed by the pre- 
sent owner, John Thomen, until the last few years. Mr, Grafa 
was a carpenter and about this same time he built frame houses 
for Rancher Brown and Archibald Feltner. 

Mary Grafa, daughter of Henry and Nancy Grafa, was per- 
haps thirteen years old when her parents came to Illinois. She was 
born in 1856. By her friends she is better known as "MoUie". 
She soon made many friends here but the favored one was young 
John Carson who was then about seventeen. After a year of close 
friendship they were married in 1871 and went to live with his 
father who was then getting old. A few years later David Carson 
died and was buried beside his two wives in the family graveyard. 
In 1876 Henry Grafa sold his farm to Abraham Shepherd and 
went to Texas . 

John and Mary Carson had six children. Henry, David, Vic- 
tor, Norma, Grace, and Frank. Mr. Carson was a farmer but 
also followed the shoemaking trade. Even in late years he made 
boots for a few who preferred them to those they could buy else- 
where. John Carson died in 1818 but as he did not wish to be 
buried in the family graveyard he was placed in the cemetery at 
Greenup. He felt that burying grounds belonged to the pioneer 
days. All the children of John and Mary Carson are married 
except Frank and live elsewhere. He and his mother live on the 



•135- 



old home place. Frank has just received an honorable discharge 
from the Navy. During the past year he was a sailor boy in the 
service of "Uncle Sam" against the Germans. 

The two south forties of the Grafa farm are now owned by Wm, 
Jackson Myers, For more than fifty years the Myers family had 
lived in Jasper County, Illinois, In 1905 Wro, Myers and his wife 
with their family of seven children moved to this farm. For five 
years they lived in the house Henry Grafa had built. Though 
most of his time had been given to farming, he had done some car- 
penter work. In 1910 he began a new house a short distance in 
front of the old one. He did all the work himself and as it was a 
large two story building, it lacked just one day being a year from 
the time he began to build until the day they moved into it. 

This place which was once so swampy is now much improved 
by a reasonably good system of drainage. The south forty is not 
in this district but lies in the Liberty Hill district just south of 
here. 

The older children of the Myers family are married. Raymond 
and Oscar are soldiers in France at present. Gladys, the youngest 
attends school at Greenup. She is a freshman in high school. 
Arnie and Edith are teaching school, Arnie is at Bumgarner, near 
Hazel Dell and Edith is here at Chapel, 

About 1845 Mrs. Fanny Brown, a widow, came to Illinois from 
North Carolina with her family of five boys, Peter, Milton, Ander- 
son, Brant, and Rancher, and her three girls, Hannah, Fanny, and 
Sarah, They first settled in Hickory neighborhood south of here 
but several of the children made their homes in this district. Sar- 
ah Brown married Samuel Layton and after his death in 18-- she 
married William Shepherd, She was the Sarah Shepherd that sold 
land to Henry Grafa. 

Wm, Shepherd was a widower with several children when he 
married Sarah Layton. One of his girls, Jane Shepherd married 
Brant Brown, son of Mrs. Fanny Brown. They were married in 
18-- and bought the south part of the Grubb homestead. Here 
they lived afterwards and the place still belongs to their children. 
They had a large family. There were nine children, Clem, Hale, 
Ade, Dosie. Delia, Frank, Dayton, Lincoln, and Bud. Five of 
the children Dayton, Lincoln, Bud, Delia, and Hale own homes in 
this district, j^ella Brown married George Parker and lived just 
west of the home place a while. She still owns her little home but 
at present lives with her mother east of here on the Newton and 
Greenup road. She is an invalid. Her mother is more than eighty 
years but is still able to do her own work. At present she is suf- 
fering much from a cancer. Brant Brown died in 1874. Mrs. 

-136- 



Brown married a Mr. Wetherholt. He died in 18--. Delia and 
her mother now live alone but one of the boys Frank lives near-by. 

Dayton Brown married Ave Markwell in 1882. They live just 
east of the old home place. They have four children, Josie, Eva, 
Arval, and Ferd . Josie and Eva are married and live away. 
Arval and Ferd are at home. Arval married Ruth Townsend in 
1913. They have always lived with his parents. They have one 
little boy named Dallas. Ferd »is now sixteen and has been in 
school at Chapel this year. 

Hale Brown married Milton Ray. They live on the Gabe Shep- 
herd place in the south part of the district. They have five child- 
ren living, Daisy, Bertha, Jessie, Dossie and Ruth. Ruth is 
thirteen and attends school at Chapel. Bertha is at home and the 
other girls are married. 

Lincoln Brown married Retta Davison in 18--. They own thirty 
acres of land south and west of the Brown homestead. It was pre- 
viously a part of the Feltner place. Lincoln and Retta Brown have 
four children, Owen, Victor, Holly and Alala. Qwrr n married 
Hanna Murray an English girl, in 19--. He went to Iowa to work 
and met her there. Her home had been near Liverpool, England 
and she had been in America but a few months. They will not 
make their home in this district, Alala is ten years old and at- 
tends school in Chapel. Lincoln Brow^n is now clerk on the Board 
of Education in this district. 

Bud Brown married Olive Hampton in 18--. He was the 
youngest child of Brant and Jane Brown so has always lived on 
the home place. They have six children, Emil, who attends high 
school at Greenup, Raymond, Neva, Helen, and Doyle, who at- 
tend a-t Chapel, and Juanita, a baby girl. Bud Brown is also on 
the school board at the present time. 

Rancher Brown, a younger son of Mrs. Fanny Brown, lived 
in the eastern part of this_ district. In 1878 he married Mary Felt- 
ner, daughter of Archibald and Mary Feltner. He was at this 
time forty-five and she was but twenty-five. He had been married 
twice before but none of his first children now live here. He and 
Mary moved to his home in the eastern part of the district and 
have lived on the same place since. The house was built by Henry 
Grafa about 1874 and is still in good condition. One or two rooms 
have been added since. Mrs. Brown had lived in this district all 
her life. She attended school but one year after this district was 
formed. Before, she had gone to school at Hickory. 
Rancher Brown was perhpas twelve years old when his mother 
came here from North Carolina for he was born in 1833. 

Rancher and Mary Brown had eight children, three girls, Ella, 

-137- 



Lillie, Nellie, and five boys, Frank, Lewis, Charlie, Simpson, 
and Golden. All are married and live elsewhere. Charlie and 
Golden are now in France as United States soldiers against Ger- 
many. Rancher Brown died in 1901 at the age of seventy- six 
years. Mrs. Brown still lives on the home place. Charlie's 
little daughter, Maxine, aged five, makes her home with her 
grandmother, Violet Bell, Lillie's daughter stays there too, 
to help her grandmother while the boys are away. 

Mrs. Mary Brown's grandparents were among the early set- 
tlers here. They were John and Harriet Feltner. They came 
here from Virginia about 1840 or 45. They had ten children, four 
boys, Archibald, Phillip, John, and Lewis, and six girls, Hannah, 
Ann, Elizabeth, Mary, Sally, and Jane. Three of the children 
John, Lewis, and Jane were born after they came to Illinois, 

Mr, Feltner entered land in the river bottom. The part on 
which they lived is now the Shepherd farm and is owned by Flor- 
ence and Grover Wood. The house was a little log cabin on the 
river road. Until lately it was used as a milkhouse by the pre- 
sent owners. 

Elizabeth Feltner married Husk Markwell. Archibald Felt- 
ner married Mary Winters about 1850. They bought land of John 
Snearley and moved there, (The place is now owned by John 
Lyons). They lived in old log house until about 1874 when they 
hired Henry Grafa to build a new house. Just before the house 
was ready to move into they made an oyster supper and dancing 
party. It was the night before Christmas and the party was a 
great success for the people came from miles around. 

Archibald and Mary Feltner and seven children, Mary the 
oldest one married Rancher Brow^n. Archibald, one of the boys, 
now lives east of here on the Newton and Greenup road. The rest 
of the family moved out west. 

Ann Feltner, daughter of John and Harriet Feltner, married 
David Spoon, brother of Elizabeth Spoon. For awhile they lived 
where Lincoln Brown now lives. Phillip Feltner, another son of 
John and Harriet Feltner, made his home in this district. He 
married Emeline Ware in 18-- and they lived at the foot of the 
hill on the river road very near his parents place. Here a little 
family graveyard wasimade and several of the older ones of the 
family rest. John and Harriet Feltner are buried here. John 
Feltner died in 18--, and Harriet Feltner died in 18--. Phillip 
and Emeline Feltner soon moved eastward a short distance to 
the top of the hill, and this has been the Feltner home since. 
They had four children, sons named Clark and Elmer and daugh- 
ter Elizy and younger son Ezra. 

-138- 



Clark Feltner married Cora Airhart, a widow in 19--. They 
had three children, Wayne, Noah, and Maxine, They lived with 
his parents, Phillip Feltner died in 19-- and Clark in 19--. Cora 
Feltner then married Ed Payten and since Emeline ' sdeath in 1917, 
they have lived on the old home place. The three Feltner children 
attend Chapel, 

John Wickiser and his family lived in Columbus, Ohio, during 
the time of our Mexican War. A certain soldier named Christo- 
pher Worley returned home from the war with a government grant 
for a land claim in the west. He did not wish to go west so sold 
his claim to Mr. Wickiser for thirty-five dollars. 

In 1849 John Wickiser came to Illinois, The land he home- 
steaded is now the John Lyons farm. Later he sold this place and 
bought land in the northern part of the district -of Hiram Decius 
for a few cents an acre. Later he divided this land among his 
children but most of it has now passed into other hands. One of 
his daughters, Lydia, still lives in this district. She was about 
eighteen when her father came here. She married Charles Will- 
iams, He bought land of David Carson just across the road west 
of her father's place they made their home there and it is still the 
"Williams farm", 

Charles and Lydia Williams had one child Sarah. She was 
born in 18--, She married John Dees and they lived on the Wicki- 
ser place on the land Mr, Wickiser had given his daughter Lydia. 
Charles Williams died and his widow married a Mr, Burgin. Mr, 
Burgin lived but a short time and because of his death so soon 
after their marriage Mrs. Burgin has always been spoken of as 
Mrs, Williams, 

Mr. and Mrs, John Dees had five children, Cora, Oma, Will, 
Anna, and Johnie, During the Civil War, Mr, Dees lived in the 
South and was a Confederate soldier. A few years before his death 
he received a pension from the state of Arkansas, Mr. Dees died 
in 19--. Of the children Anna is the only one now in this district 
and she has but lately moved here from Paris, Illinois, She mar- 
ried Clabe Metcalf in 1912. They have four children, Vivian, Don- 
ald, Mamie and , During the past winter Mrs. Burgin has 

lived with her daughter Mrs. Dees, Mrs. Burgin is now nearing 
the age of ninety but is wonderfully strong and clear minded. 

Other among the early settlers here were the Markwells, They 
came from Indiana and first made their home in Jasper County. 
One of the boys Husk Markwell, married Elizabeth Feltner, daugh- 
ter of John and Harriet Feltner, About 1870 they bought land in 
the southern part of this district and made their home there. They 
had four children Ave, Ane, Lewis and another boy Roww who died 

-139- 



when he was almost grown. Ave, the oldest was about four years 
old when her parents moved here. Ave Markwell married Day- 
ton Brown, son of Brant and Jane Brown. She was sixteen and 
he was twenty-three. 

Ane Markwell married Erastus Ray, a brother of Milton Ray 
in 18--. They lived with Mr. and Mrs. Markwell on the home 
place. Mrs, Markwell died in 1901 and Mr. Markwell in 1902. 
Ane now owns the home place, Ane and Erastus Ray have two 
children living, Edgar and Irene. Edgar married May Hutson 
in 1913. They have always lived with his parents. They have one 
little girl named Elnora. Irene Ray is a school teacher. This 
year she has been at Little Brown School. 

Lewis Markwell married Frankie Freeland in 18--. He was 
the youngest child living but as Ane had always lived with her par- 
ents she got the home place and he built a new home for himself 
across the road. Lewis and Frankie Markwell have two children 
Cleone and Eloise, In 1914 Mr, Markwell was elected County 
Superintendent of Schools of Cumberland County and was re-elect- 
ed in 1918. In 1914 they moved to Toledo and Ane and Erasus 
Ray died in 1916 but Edgar still lives there and runs the farm, 

Tom Markwell, a brother of Husk Markwell, located east 
of here but two of his children Minnie and Eva, live in the dis- 
trict, Eva Markwell married Otto Phelps grandson of Solomon 
Ware. Minnie Markwell married John Ozier, a brother of Mrs. 
Hattie Shiels. They live in the northeastern part of the district 
of a part of the old Wickiser place. They have seven children, 
Irene, Vernon, Johnie, Dale, Arnold, Maxine, and Rogene. 
Dale and Arnold attend school at Chapel, 

Another early settler here w^as Solomon Ware and his wife 
Eliza Jane, They came with their family from Morgan County 
Indiana in 1856. They bought land in the north central part of 
the district and built a little log cabin near the bottom road. It 
was much like that of other early pioneers for the cracks in the 
walls were plastered with mud and the cooking was done over 
a fireplace. The stories they tell of life at that time are very 
interesting. 

It was a very common thing, when going out to husk corn, to 
find a deer and wild turkey feeding there in the fields. At one 
time Mr. Ware was walking through the woods just west of the 
river, and found a dead man lying in the hollow. He has evi- 
dently been murdered as his head was crushed and a large club 
lay near by. No one knew the man so he was buried there. The 
place has since been known as "Dead Man's Hollow", 

Solomon and Eliza Jane Ware^had six children, Emeline, 



-140- 



Anna, Mary, Nelson, Scott, and Mandie. The mother died sev- 
eral years ago but the father lived to be more than ninety years 
old. He died in 19--. 

Several of the children made homes in this district, Eme- 
line married Phillip Feltner. Anna never married but lived with 
her father on the old home place. She died in 1917. Mary Ware 
married Vett Phelps. They have but one son Otto, now living. 
Vett Phelps died and his widow married John Arndolph, They do 
not live here now. Scott Ware married Alice Seers. They owned 
a little farm in the north part of the district and lived there until 
laterly. They had one child, Jennie, She married Dorsey Van 
Dyke and they have two children. Lora, the older boy attended 
his first year of school here at Chapel in 1908. A year or two 
later the two families moved to Greenup. Mary Arndolph now 
owns the place and her son. Otto Phelps, lives there. 

Nelson Ware married Margaret Arndolph in 18 . They live 
just north of the school on a part of the old Ware place, Mr, 
Ware was about twelve years old when his father came here. He 
is now about seventy-five. Nelson and Margaret Ware have three 
children, Clayton, Effie, and Tom, 

Clayton Ware married Nellie Maynard, They have one child, 
Aleen. She is fifteen years old. They live on a part of his fa- 
ther's place. Clayton was married before and had one child, 
George, who has always lived with his grandmother and grand- 
father Ward, 

Effie Ware married John Vaultonburg in 1904. They have 
one child, Harry. They now live on Delia Parker's place, 

Tom Ware married Cvelyn Chowning in 1901. They live 
with his parents. They have two children.,. Rufus and Beulah, 
Rufus began high school work but for some reason gave it up. 
He is planning to begin again next fall, Beulah is in school at 
Chapel. Tom Ware is one of the school directors of the district. 

The Shepherds were among the first people here. Gabe's bro- 
ther Will had been here about ten years before. Gabe Shepherd 
entered land and built a house just south of where Milton Ray now 
lives. Abraham Shepherd was the only one of his children who 
made his home in this district. He was married to Nannie Gree- 
son in 18 . They bought land of Henry Grafa and lived on that 

place quite a while. They had one child, Florence, born in 18 . 

Mrs. Shepherd died in 19 . Florence married Grover Wood, 

and they have lived with her father. Mr. Shepherd died in Decem- 
ber 1918 and was buried on Christmas day. Florence and Grover 
have rented the farm to his brother and are moving to Greenup. 



■141- 



The Ward family were others among our early settlers. 
James Ward entered the land in 1842 which afterwards became the 
Ward homestead, John Ward, a nephew of James Ward, now 
owns the forty acres on which the old house stands. He also owns 
some river bottom land in this district. At one time John Ward 
and his family lived in the northern part of this district, just east 
of the river. This place at the present time belongs to Charlie 
Ward, son of John and Lydia Ward. Charlie Ward married Grace 

Holsapple in 18 . Until the last year they lived on the old home 

place in the district but they now live in Greenup. They have five 
children, Clarence, Iva, Lowell, Bertha, and Ruth. All the 
children attended school at Chapel and are greatly attached to 
their old home school. Clarence married Marie Kirkling in 1918 
and they live on the home place now. 

The Holts were another family who came here early. About 
1870. John and Mary Holt left England and sailed for America 
to find a new home. They had two children Lillie, about four years 
old, and a little boy named Squire, who was only a few weeks old. 
They came from Lancashire in Northern part of England, They 
settled in Massachusetts first but did not stay there long. Sever- 
al changes were made and in 18 they came to this section of 

the country and found a permanent home. Two children, Jim 
Willie and AUie, were born to them after they came to America, 

The home they chose here was east of the Ware place. They 
first lived in a little log house on the forty north of the one on 
which the school ground is located. The house is gone now but 
a part of the orchard still stands. In 18 Mr. Holt built a new 
house on the site of the old log house in which Samuel and Sarah 
Layton once lived. Mr. Holt was a mason and helped to build 
the new brick school house. His daughter Lillie is the only one 
of his children now living here. Squire owns land in the east 
part of the district but lives in Greenup. 

Lillie Holt married John Thomen in 1885. For several 
years they lived where Lincoln Brown now lives. They have two 
children living Victoria and Anna. In 19 Mr. Holt moved to Green- 
up and Mr. Thomen bought and moved on his place. Mrs. Mary 
Holt died in 1904 and Mr. Holt made his home with his daughter 
Lillie until his death in 1917. He was seventy-nine years old 
when he died, Mr. and Mrs, Thomen still own and live on the 
Holt homestead, Victoria married Forrest Fisher in 1912 and 
they live in Urbana Illinois. They have one boy, Lewis Thomen 
Fisher. Anna is at home. 

Several other families have lived here a number of years 
but their ancestors were not among the early settlers. Among 

-142- 



them are the families of John and Gracie Nees, Marshall and 
Bert Gables, John and Alice ShuU, Col and Adie Westall, John 
and Effie Lyons, Elijah and Florence Graham, and Gus and 
Vernie Bancroft. 

Before the district was formed the children attended school 
at Hickory, just south of here. As nearly as we can learn it was 
in 1872 that this district was formed. In 1871 a tornado passed 
through here and destroyed the little school house at Hickory. 
When a new house was to be built the people thought it better to 
divide the district. The Hickory school house was then built 
some distance south of where the old one stood. 

Robert Shiels, who lived here was a teacher and it was 
through his influence that the district was formed. His father- 
in-law, James Prentice, agreed to donate land for the school 
ground. Solomon Ware and Robert Shiels built the house. Mr, 
Shiels was the teacher. He was a Scotchman and so the school 
came to be called the Scotch Chapel for him. It is thought that 
Solomon Ware, James Prentice and Brant Brown were the first 
directors. 

The school house was made of logs and set a little back of 
the site of the present one. The furniture was home-made. 
There were rows of short seats down the sides of the room and 
two rows of longer benches down the center. In the front were 
long benches for the little folks and long recitation seats. Heat 
was furnished by a stove in the center of the room. The black- 
boards were only boards made black and the studies were mainly 
reading writing and arithmetic with perhaps some spelling, lan- 
guage, and geography for the largest pupils. The room was 
crow^ded for there were often more than sixty on the roll. Many 
boys and girls of eighteen and twenty came to school during the 
winter months. 

In 1883 the people felt the educational conditions should be 
improved. There was opposition of course but it was overcome 
and a new brick schoolhouse was built. The old one was sold to 
Nelson Ware, He tore it down and sold the logs to Dayton Brown 
who used them in his house. The old house, after Mr, Brown 
built a new one was used as a buggy shed until the last year or 
two. Now all that is left of the old school house forms part of 
a pit pen (We wonder if the children once sheltered by these logs 
did not look upon them as a pen also. ) 

The new brick house served well for a number of years. 
But there were still too many children for one room. About 1896 
the schoolhouse at Greenup burned down. They were of course 
anxious to get help in building a new one so used their influence 



-143- 



to get the northern part of our district. This would have cut 
down our school funds almost half and left the south half of 
the district to support a school. The petition circulated found 
most of the northern people ready to sign it but there was so 
much opposition that they agreed to stay in the district if another 
room were added to the school house. Mr. John Shull was dir- 
ector at this time and favored building the room. 

In 1897 the room was turned towards the west and a hallway 
and room were added on to the side, {West) This made a fine 
looking building. For awhile two teachers were employed but 
later only one room was needed. The west room was then used 
for school and the east one became the coal room. In this way 
it was greatly damaged. Through the influence of Mamie Lyons, 
who taught here in 1910 it was cleaned up and used as a store- 
room and by the farmer's association in this district. Later a 
new coal shed was built and concrete walks were made. 

The west room is well arranged. There is a library of 
more than a hundred books, also maps, globes, and plenty of 
blackboards. The School has been classed as standard for sever- 
al years, but really needs some improvements before it is 
strictly so. Double seats are still used but single ones will be 
bought soon. A new set of encyclopedia and some classics have 
been added to the library this year. Also two famous paintings, 
LeroUe's "Arrival of the Shepherds" and Watt's "Sir Galahad" 
have been purchased for the walls. 

In 1910 a furnace stove was placed in the northeast corner 
of the room with better methods of ventilation. In 1917 when 
Raymond Nichols was teaching, they gave a pie supper and m.ade 
enough money to buy an organ and to repaint the wells of the room. 

There are a few historical events in connection with the dis- 
trict worthy of mentioning. In 1881 the Church was built west 
of the schoolhouse. The land was donated by Solomon Ware, 
It was a United Brethern organization. The Church was a neat 
little house and gave good service for a number of years. 
There was no bell until in 19-- when Samuel Thomen, cousin of 
John Thoinen gave one to the church. Then a belfry and ballroom 
were added to the building which greatly improved it's appearance, 
But interest in church work had begun to die and could not be re- 
vived. After many unsuccessful attempts to have a regular min- 
ister the work was given up entirely. The organization at head- 
quarters according to one of it's rulings planned to sell the house 
and use the proceeds for the benefit of other places. The people 
here did not wish the church removed so in 1916 they formed an 
organization and bought the house for one-hundred and twenty-five 

-144- 



dollars. Plans were made for repairing, it but this was neglected. 
In March 1918 a strong, windstorm came and blew the house down. 
Nothing could be done for it now so it was sold at auction. The 
money was repaid to those who had bought the church. There is 
yet a small balance in the treasury and the ground is to be disposed 
of. At present it is used as a playground by the school children 
and it is hoped it will be added to the schoolground, as it has the 
only shade trees near and otherwise the playroom would be very 
limited. 

In 1869 the Vandalia railroad was built across the northwestern 
corner of the district. In 1877 land along the eastern edge was 
sold to the Grayville and Mattoon Railroad Company and later they 
built the Illinois Central Railway. These roads pay taxes which 
help quite a lot in the school funds. All of the Vandalia and most 
of the Central road taxes would have been lost if the district had 
been divided in 1897, 

WEBSTER SCHOOL 25 
Record Book of Attendance 1928-32 1935-41 1941-47 

The school is located about 2 miles south of Lincoln Log Ca- 
bin .State Park, 

Directors of the school from 1928-47 were: Guy McCormick, 
Ross Hill, Irva Hildebrand, Glenn Greeson, Ora Jones, C. D. 
Phipps, Owen Clossen, Claude White. 

Teachers from 1928-47 were: Mildred Phipps, L. A. Tippett, 
Ralph McCormick, HoUys Rhodes, Blanche Heath, Kathryn Mer- 
lene Barger, Audrey Tate, Mrs. Fern Hill, Lucy I, Bartlett, 

Besides the names already mentioned, some of the families 
that lived near and had children in Webster school during the years 
1927-47 were: Heath, Hill, Shores, Adams, Hildebrand, Black, 
Tippett, Holsapple, Shoot, Hamilton, Phipps, Kelso, Thompson, 
Craig, VanScyoc, Walker, Nay, Jones, Coleman, Titus, Knupp 
Packer, Hawkins, Morgan, Stanza, Bolin, McCoUough, Anderson, 
and Pennington, 

Ralph Closson purchased the school at auction when it closed. 

By Mrs, Golden Greeson 

WEST UNION SCHOOL BOARD BOOK (1861-1864) 

December 4, 1861- directorsemployed H. G, Ewart to teach 
a three months school which had agreed to teach 65 days for sev- 
enty five dollars and he took up school the 16 of December 1861, 

-145- 



January 10, 1861 F. Simerl visited the school and found it in 
good order. 

February the 22, 1862 Thomas C. Smith and F. Simerl met 
at the school house to finish sealing it overhead. March the 10, 
1862 F. Simerl visited the school and found it in good order, 

August the 20, 1862- Directors met and organized by appoint- 
ing J. R. Jackson Clerk. September 6th Directors met and lev- 
ied a tax for school purposes to the amount of one hundred and 
thirty dollars. October 1862 Directors employed Mrs, Anne 
Harding to teach a three months school at 18 dollars per month. 
School was to commence November 24th, 1862, One broom 15^. 

October 1865 Directors employed Richard Wilbur to teach a 
four month school at 20 dollars per month. 

March 7th, 1864. The directors of School District No, 3 in 
town 9 R. 10 met and elected R. Glenn to fill the place of Llator. 
Paid T. B. Smith $10,30 for getting wood for the winter in 1864, 

Directors of school district No, 3 hired Lisa Consert to 
teach a two months school for the sum of $30. 00. School was to 
commence the 15th of May 1864. 

District No, 3 paid R, Wellbaum the sum of eighty dollars 
for a four month school. 

Paid Jonathen Evelin 90 cents. (Price of wood $1, 00 and 
$1,25 per cord. ) 



>Ve»t Mull) «.! . <.rr«-mi|>. HI 




Greenup before street lights- note hitch racks on south side street, 



146- 



The Cumberland County Historical Society was organized on 
Monday evening, August 10, 1964, at the office of the Home Ad- 
visor in Toledo, Illinois. Mrs, Alfrieda Kingery, Jewett, 111,, 
was elected temporary chairman and Mrs. Mary Louis Walk, 
Neoga, 111., temporary secretary. 

On October 4, 1964, the first meeting was held at the Muni- 
cipal Building in Greenup, Illinois. Officers elected were Mr. 
Frank Adams, History teacher at Cumberland High School, Presi- 
dent; Mrs. Mary Louis ^Walk, Neoga, HI., Vice President; Mr, 
Wilmer Easton, Greenup, 111., Treasurer, Miss Grace B. Cut- 
right, Toledo, 111., Secretary, 

The society was incorporated early in 1965 with Sixty-two 
Charter Members, 

The purpose of this society is to bring together those people 
interested in history, especially that of Cumberland County, Illi- 
nois, and surrounding counties; to discover, collect and preserve 
material to establish the history, development and progress of 
the area and to disseminate this material and to arouse public 
interest in the past history. 

AGRICULTURAL COOPERATIVE EXTENSION IN THE COUNTY 

The University of Illinois organized the County Farm Bureau 
to give support for Extension work in Cumberland County in 1920- 
21, During the period of time following the early organization, 
our county has been served by nine Farm Advisers (known cur- 
rently as Extension Advisers, Agriculture, ) Those advisers, 
with their period of service of each are: Charles B, Price, 1921- 
1924; Edwin A. Whalin, 1924-1928; George O. Standley, 1928- 
1931; Charles Tarble 1931-1950; Robert J. HoUensbe, 

1951-1952; Charles W. Federman, 1953-1955; Fred L. Haegele, 
1956-1957; John C. Slaton, 1957-1967; and Keith D, Romack, 1968- 
pr esent. 

To improve the fertility of the soil and to increase crop yields 
have been priorities for the Cooperative Extension Service from 
the beginning. 

There are 818 farms in the commercial classification: 3 1 in 
economic class I; 106 in class II; 231 in class III; 220 in class IV; 
with part-time farms totaling 164 and partial retirement, 113 farms. 

Agriculture is the leading industry in the county. In 1966 in- 
come was up to a total of $13, 540, 700, or $12, 375 per farm. Live- 
stock and livestock products generate slightly over half the total 
income. 

Corn is the leading crop grown in the county with nearly 55, 000 

-147- 



acres devoted to it in 1966. The three-year average yield is 87 
bushels per acre, slightly below state average. In 1925 corn 
yield was Z8 bushels per acre, compared to 95 bushels per acre 
in 1965. 

Soybean yields are at or near the average of other claypan 
counties. In 1927 the average soybean yield was 9 bushels per 
acre compared to 44 bushels per acre in 1965. 

The four-year average for wheat yields is 42 bushels, which 
is higher than the state average ! In 1967 the county was the 
highest yielding county in the state in wheat production with an 
all-time high average of 45 bushels per acre. In 1925 the wheat 
average yield was 14 bushels per acre. 

4-H membership for the youth of the county is one of the ac- 
tive projects sponsored by Cooperative Extension. In 1967, there 
were 23 adult leaders in 1 1 Ag clubs in the county, with 150 mem- 
bers. Special training clinics in Electricity, photography, live- 
stock judging, tractor care and safety, and automotive are held 
to train the youngsters. 

The first 4-H club chartered in the county was the "Giant Pig" 
on July 16}1924, with Charles Allen, leader. Since that time there 
have been 53 other ag clubs issued charters, with 13 active clubs 
in 1968. The newest clubs to be organized are "Woodbury High 
Flyers" with leaders Don Clark and Lloyd Flood; "Tractor Club" 
with leaders F. H. Sappington, Eugene Baker, Bob Rathe, and 
Brad Lacey; and a new Casey Club with leaders, Mr. and Mrs. 
Kenneth G, Comer and Mr, and Mrs. Lee Ryan, There have 
been 154 adult volunteer leaders of these clubs. 

In 1956 the first Extension Council was appointed to the county, 
namely Stanley Nash, Glen Soliday, Foster Walk, Eugene Lawyer, 
Eugene McElravy, E. G. Brick, Chester Sharp, Warren Goble, 
William Brussel, Jr,, Byron Shields, Warren McKinney, Forrest 
Carrell, and Lloyd Walk. 

The present Agricultural Extension Council is made up of 
Eugene Baker, Olin Burnett, Ken G. Comer, Vernon Diel, Gene 
Easton, Golden Greeson, Gordon Hayton, Ernest Henderson, Paul 
Inskeep, Charles Marshall, Richard L. Peters, and William C. 
Sehi. 

Your Cooperative Extension Office, located in the county seat, 
is your doorway to educational programs of the University of Illin- 
ois, and these programs are available to anyone desiring help, 
either rural or urban. 

Others serving on the Council in the past are Edsel Brown, 
Ralph Ragon, John Young, Berle W. Dalrymple, Wilbur Fearday, 
Leroy Baker, Henry Seeley, Jerry Holsapple, Richard Comer, 

-148- 



Harold Shore, L. M. Gabel, Jr., James R, Deters, Roy Walk, 
Lee Ryan, Don Sidwell, Raymond Gardner, J. Wallace Bingaman, 
Earnest Pitcher, Charles Russell, and Clema Stierwalt. 

AGRICULTURAL 4-H CLUBS 

Cumberland County 4-H Clubs are: Giant Pit, 1924 (Charles 
Allen, Neoga-leader ); Busy Bee Poultry Club, 1927 (Mrs. Douglas 
James and Mildred Cowan, Toledo); Neoga Happy Hustlers, 1929 
(Alvin C. Gordon, Neoga); Sturdy Duroc 4-H Pig Club, 1929; Hic- 
kory 4-H Club 1930 (George C. Hutton, Greenup); Hillcrest 4-H 
Club, 1930 (Mrs. Hattie Titus and Opal L. Seaman, Greenup); 
Lillyville 4-H Holstein Club, 1930 (Peter L. Will, Sigel, and Rev. 
F. S. Mazir, Sigel); Lilly vill Poultry Club, 1930 (Katherine Ker- 
ich, Sigel); Neal 4-H Club, 1930 (Walter CougiU, Greenup); Will- 
ing Workers Corn & Poultry Club, 1930 (Mr. & Mrs. W. O. Shof- 
ner, Toledo and Olive Holsapple, Toledo); Union Center 4-H Club, 

1930 (Evelyn Outright, Greenup; Mrs. Oliver Outright and Elva 
Lacey, Casey); Blue Ribbon 4-H Club, 193 1 (Mrs. Fred St, John, 
Toledo); Booster 4-H Club, 1931, (Henry Dobbs, Toledo); Busy 
Workers, 1931 (T. O. Ballinger, Toledo); Cross Road 4-H Club, 

1931 (Max Young, Neoga) Honest Laborers Club, 1931 (George 
0. Hutton, Greenup); The Workers (The Willing Workers), 1933 
(Isa Winnett, Greenup);Big Muddy, 1936 (J. W. Dryden, Jewett); 
Bix Sixteen, 1937 (Lester Ward, Toledo); Livewire, 1937 ( G. E. 
Shoots, Lerna); Sunshine, 1937 (Clint Ariens ; Chas. Tarble, Tol- 
edo); Ambraw Valley, 1939 (Frank Kingery, Jewett); Top Notchers, 
1941 (William H, Lubben; R. S. Cassetevens, Neoga); Cottonwood, 
1943 (F. R. McCandlish, Toledo; Fred St. John, Forrest Carrell, 
Donald Carrell, Greenup; Scott Padrick, Evelyn Sue Padrick, Bill 
Padrick, Toledo; Fred E. Oakley, Art Childress, Greenup; Don 

J, Carrell, Lerna Tom Reece; F, H. Sappinton); Edgewood, 1947 
(Arnold L. Tatge, Greenup); Work and Play, 1948 (Charles E. 
Barber, Robert McKinney, W. L, Andresw, R. F. Ledbetter, 
Charles Chappalear, Robin Ledbetter, Chester Baker, Wayne 
Andrews, Neoga; Charles Marshall, Trilla Mary Ruth McKinney, 
Neoga); Lost Creek, 1949 (Arthur Bensley, Greenup Max Outright, 
Greenup; Kenneth Comer, Casey); Turkey Creek, 1949^ Wm, J, 
Hill, Sigel); Toledo Strivers, 1950 (Gilbert and Charlotte Nelson; 
Garold Wilson, Toledo); Spring Point Rangers, 1950 (Leo Hilmes; 
Joe Platz); Clemence Hilmes; Mike Walk; Lloyd Walk; Sigel,); Pine 
Ridge, 1950 (Mr. and Mrs. Ira W. Kuhn, Greenup); Hickory Cor- 
ner, 1950 (Fred St. John; Elmer Icenogle; Bob Beaumont; Bob 
Swearingen; Donovan Gardner; Don J. Carrell, Toledo); Diona 

-149- 



Diggers, 1951 (Robert Moody, Charleston; James Rennels; 
Charles Jones; Charles Walters; Robert Long, Greenup; Joe 
Cougill; Leland Shobe, Greenup); Green Leaf, 1951 (Wayne 
Sidwell; Don Sidwell, Greenup); Liberty Hill Ranger s, 1 195 1 
(Kay Glosser; Chester E. Sharp; Pat Easton; Bob Thomas; Glee 
Nees; Burrell ShuU; Larry Sharp, Greenup Gene and June Eas- 
ton, Greenup), Roslyn Ag, 1952 (Warren McKinney; Janice Elliot, 
Toledo; Richard Czerwonka; James Deters; James Hill; Sigel); 
Cumberland-Shelby County Line, 1953 (Mr. and Mrs. George E. 
Bartlett, Neoga); Union Center Pioneers (Cumberlanders), 1953 
(John Reed, Greenup; Amos and Thelma Cutright, Casey); Wood- 
bury Wonder Workers, 1954 (Hugh Clark, Jewett; Roy Starwalt, 

m 

Toledo); Jewett Hy- Flyers, 1956 (Paul and Susie Johnson, Tol- 
edo; Edsel Brown, Montrose; Carroll Ward; Roy Lee Sowers; 
Max Cutright; John C. Slaton; Ed Brummer, Ivan Shafer, Jewett): 
Cloverleaf Ag, 1957 (Roland Rentfrow; Catherine Nichols; Bill 
Hallett, Neoga; Virgil Fearday; Alan Ashbrook, John D. Young, 
Neoga; Chas, Baker): Green Meadows, 1957 Ivan, and Paralee 
Shupe and George Bartlett, Toledo; Phil Slaton, Toledo); Hazel 
Dell Eagles (Hazel Dell Hustlers); 1957 (Wm. Ralph Chapman, 
Ralph AUentharp; Lyle Nash; Marcel Huddlestun; Orville Yelton, 
Casey), Johnstown Ag, 1957 (Mario Speer, Mr. Joyce Morgan, 
Trilla; Mrs. Quintin Morgan, Lerna; Harry and Lois Scritchlow, 
Mrs. Florence Marshall); Lillyville Boosters, I960 (Lloyd Vere- 
yen, Peter Will, Teutopolis; Danand Howard Ordner, Sigel); 
Traction Masters, 1966 (Eugene Baker, Montrose; Lee Penning- 
ton, Toledo); Roslyn Bluebirds, 1955 (James Hill, Sigel); Wood- 
bury Fliers, 1968 (Don Clark, Lloyd Flood, Jewett); Hill Billy 
4-H Club, 1957 (Mario Speer); Eager Beavers, 1964 (B . J. Kirk- 
land, Greenup); East White Oakers, 1961 (Berl O. Holsapple, 
Greenup; Charles Black, Jr. and Golden Greeson, Toledo); Trac- 
tor Club, 1968 (Eugene Baker, Montrose; F. H, Sappington and 
Bob Rathe, Greenup; Brad Lacey, Neoga); Casey 4-H Club, 1968 
(Mr, and Mrs. Kenneth Comer and Mr, and Mrs. Lee Ryan, 
Casey). 

PARTIAL HISTORY OF THE CUMBERLAND COUNTY FAIR 

The week of the Cumberland County Fair has always been a 
very important time for the people of Cumberland County. 

The first attempt for a Fair Association was made in 1858. 
On the second of January in that year, the Cumberland County 
Agriculture Society was formed with Michael Ruffner, as Presi- 
dent; James M. Ward as Treasurer; A. G, Caldwell, Recording 

-150- 



Secretary and James LaDow Corresponding Secretary. This 
Assn. held two Fairs in the month of Oct. in 1858 and 1859 at 
Greenup. The ground selected was an elevated spot in the north 
part of the village, probably where the old show ground was in 
the early 1900's, and where the bowling alley stands (in 1958). 
Lola Havens says "Mr, Havens, her father-in-law, said it was 
where the Peters Shelter home is now. " 

In I860 the exhibitions were moved to the county-seat, then 
called Prairie City, and were held on a ten-acre tract west of 
town until the fall of 1865, Because of financial difficulty the 
Assn, disbanded and a new organization was formed. Under the 
new regime the site of the exhibitions was transferred to a ten 
acre plot, north of the village. Fairs were held annually from 
1866 to 1874, when the mortgage held on the land was foreclosed, 
another reorganization followed. The land was redeeraed, but the 
Assn. held it but a short time when this property was sold and 
40 acres were purchased, about one-half mile south-east of the 
County Seat. Here Fairs were regularly maintained until 1880, 
when another reorganization was effected. Certain wealthy stock- 
men and farmers formed a stock company under the name of Cum- 
berland County District Agricultural Society, The former assoc- 
iation's grounds were purchased and ten more acres added. This 
organization held its first exhibition in October 1883, 

Mrs, Estella Greeson who was ninety in 1967, remembers 
that races were held on the ground south-east of Toledo. There 
was a large covered amphitheater and a good race track. She 
recalls that the ground was so hard that it was considered harm- 
ful to the horses feet. It was thought that the sandy soil of the 
present site, west of Greenup would make a better race track. 

It was in October 1889 that the Cumberland Fair returned to 
Greenup, after the land had been purchased from Elisha Wicki- 
ser in July, Many interested people had worked untiringly to 
have the ground cleared and ready for October. 

Many citizens of Greenup who were young people at this time 
of the first fair have left us bits of the history of that fair, that 
haven't been recorded in books. These people are gone now but 
we have some of their notes on the fair. Harry Jenuine writes 
that he was twelve, at this time and helped show his father's 
horses. John Jenuine's father was the, so called Marshall, 
since there were no telephones on the grounds it was the duty 
of the marshall, to ride horseback to the barns to announce the 
races and call the drivers, 

Willis Ozier and Alex Neal were race drivers at the first 
fair. Ross Greeson remembered the eating stand which his 



•151- 



family operated until 1913. Nett Hibbon remembered the calico 
dres s she wore. 

After the Fair returned to Greenup new officers were elected. 
President; C, G. Jones, Vice President; Samuel Wisley, Secre- 
tary Shannon Wilson, Treasurer Lewis Decius. 

Directors were: J. W. Arthur, E. E. Elstun, W. O. Denman, 
John Freeland, i-i, N, Rosencranse, N. A. Applegate. Officer^ 
were: Superintendent Show Ring, C. G. Jones; Superintendent 
Grounds, C. Stafford; Chief of Police, Ed Ward; Supt. Floral 
Hall, E. A. French and Squire Holt; Agricultural Dept. , Lewis 
Feltner; Poultry Dept., J, W. Van Dyke; Sheep and Swine, Hen- 
son Bright; Horse Dept., Chas. Fritz; Speed Ring, R. T. Coli- 
ver; School Display, Louis Decius. 

From the book published for the Second Annual Fair of the 
Greenup Cumberland County Fair Association we have taken a 
few items which may be of interest to our readers, ^Second An- 
nual) The fair was held October 1, 2, 3, and 4, in 1890. Offi- 
cers were Pres.-D. L. Peters of Greenup, Vice Pres. -Samuel 
Wisley of Toledo, Secretary-Shannon Wilson of Greenup, Treas,- 
J. W. Arthur of Greenup. Directors were: N, A, Applegate of 
Hazel Dell, John Freeland of Hazel Dell, J. P. Ewart of Greenup, 
David Munford of Greenup, E. E. Elstun of Greenup, and John 
Holt of Greenup, 

Superintendents of Departments were: Superintendent Show 
Ring-Samuel Wisley, Grounds-J. p^ Ewart, Floral Hall-E. A, 
French and Squire Holt, Agricultural Dept. - Louis Feltner, Poul- 
try Dept. -John Holt, Sheep and Swine- John Freeland, Horse 
Dept. - Charle s Fritz, Cattle -Nicholas Applegate, Speed Ring- 
R. T. CoUiver, Marshal-Harlow Park, Chief of Police -Edmond 
Ward. Prices of Admission were: Tickets admitting child over 
5 and under 12-- 15^, one person--25^, one person on horseback-- 
40^, Two- horse vehicle and driver--50^, One-horse vehicle and 
driver- -40^. 

Some of the articles on the premium list were: Best 10 Yards 
rag carpet - -$2. 00, Best pair cotton stockings or socks --$ 1. 00, 
Best pair fancy knit mitten- - 50^, Best carriage afghan- -$ 1. 00, 
Best fancy tidy--$l. 00, Best hair work, ornamental- -5 0^, Best 
hair work, useful--50^. Best pair of gent's shoes, sewed- -$ 1, 00, 
Best pair of gent's shoes, pegged- -$ 1, 00, Best parlor furniture-- 
Open to the world. Best glove box,--50^. 

Advertising brings to the minds of the senior citicens of 
Greenup, Toledo, Jewett and Neoga the days of long ago. Some 
of them are: Patty and Morton's Saloon, Greenup, 111,; Bosworth's 
Bakery and Restaurant; E. M. Rose, Jeweler; Denman and James 

-152- 



Bankers; Ryan Bros. Attorneys -at-law; W. H. McDonald, Attor- 
ney and Counselor at Law; Junction House at the Railroad Green- 
up; S. B. Raridan Proprietor; G. Monohon, Dry-Goods and Gro- 
ceries; Decius and Feltner Hardware and Tinware; Snearley and 
Miller Livery, Feed and Sale Stable, in Greenup; Dry goods and 
Clothing-Elstun Bros. ; John Conzet Jeweler. Jos« Grissom, Liv- 
ery and Feed Stable. 

We find no record of the third Fair in Greenup, but the book 
for the Fourth Annual Fair, gives the officers as D. L, Peters 
of Greenup, Pres,, A. A. Neal of Diana, Vice-Pres,, J. R, 
Cook of Greenup, Sec, and Wren Winslow of Greenup as Treas- 
urer. New names added to the directors and superintendents 
are; A. N. Rosencrans, Wni, Patrick and S. B. Rariden. 

Among the advertising we find H. W. Goldsmith, Hardware, 
Furniture, and stoves, buggies and harness, in Jewett, 111. C. 
C. Young Physician and Surgeon, Jewett, 111; May and Hunphrey, 
Dry Goods and Clothing in Toledo, 111. O, Morgan, Groceries, 
Confectionsries, Dried Fruits, Toledo; C, Fuqua and Sons, 
Bankers in Casey; Charles Hanker, Furniture, Wallpaper, Queens- 
ware and Undertaker, Toledo; The Bank of Toledo, Willis Bros. 
Toledo. 

Mrs, H. A. Norman sold Staples and Fancy Groceries, No- 
tions, Etc; for many years and is remembered by the middle- 
aged of today. Mrs. M. A. Ozier, dealer in Notions, Fancy 
Goods, Hosiery, underwear, curtains. Bedspreads, laces of all 
kinds, was the Grandmother of Mrs. Star Mattoon Miller living 
today. (1968) 

Ed Peters; Furniture and Undertaking -- South side of Main 

Winslow (Henry) and James (Mort); Grain, Broomcorn, Coal 
etc. 

S. J. Troxel; Tinware 

The prize page of advertising is the one found on page 12 of 
the Fair Book for the Fourth Annual Fair, and for several years 
after. 

C. C. Harder W. H. James N. Katzengach 

President Treasurer Sec. & Gen, Mang. 

Chicago, 111. Greenup, 111. Greenup, 111. 

CUMBERLAND MINERAL WATER CO. GREENUP, 
CUMBERLAND CO. ILL. 



The Cumberland Mineral Springs are not a recent discovery, 
but have been resorted to by the most substantial citizens of Cen- 
tral 111, for a number of years. The curative properties of the 
Cumberland Mineral Water are far in excess of any medicinal 



-153- 



waters of this country, and only need a trial to convince the 
most skeptical. These famous springs are in a beautiful valley 
in the midst of grand old forest of trees near Greenup, 111. The 
scenery surrounding them is unsurpassed for beauty and fresh- 
ness. Being on the crossing of the Vandalia and P. D, and E, 
railroads, transportation facilities are first class. 



Leading physicians recommend it as it does not 
interfere with any other treatment. 



Diseases for which Cumberland Water is Specific 
Indigestion, Bright's Disease, Pain in the Kidneys 
and Loin, Dropsy, Inflammation of the Neck of Bladder 
and Urethra, Inflammation of Bladder, Burning Sensation 
and Sharp Pains in voiding Urine, Gouty Swellings, 
Dyspepsia, Albuminuria, Inflamation of the Kidneys 
Ropy or Cloudy Urine, Female Weakness, Torpid 
Liver, Hemmorrage of the Kidneys, Diabetes, 
Stoppage of Urine, Brick Dust Deposit, In- 
continence of Urine. 



For bathing purposes this water has no superior, and for 
sore or weak eyes no water has ever been discovered that equals 
it. Many eminent Physicians gladly testify to it's curative pro- 
perities in this respect, A liberal use of Cumberland water is 
a sure prevention of Typhoid and other mallignant fevers that are 
so destructive to life in many localities. It is Pure Spring Water 
that can be liberally used in sickness or health. An elegant wat- 
er for table use, either charged with gas or plain. It is put in 
Bottles, Cans, Kegs and Barrels. 

The fifth year of the fair began October, 1893 and lasted 
five days. S. T. Barnett was Sec,, Peters and Neal continued 
as Pres, and Vice Pres, L. R. Winslow became treasurer. A 
few new names appeared as directors; A. L. Rosencrans, James 
Havens, Wm. Patrick, Ed. E, Elstun, Edward Ward and L. C. 
Feltner , 

It was in this year that Robert Glenn became superintendent of 
Speep and Swine. (>Robert was the Grandfather of David Glenn 
who served as president of the fair in 1952 and ) Robert 

Glenn later became president of the fair. 

-154- 



The first Merry- Go-Round was introduced to the children and 
young people in 1893 by Charles Stockbarger. Later he brought in 
the Ocean Wave ride. The Merry- Go-Round was operated by 
John Fort, assisted by Henry Roberts, Grandfather of our popu- 
lar State Trooper, John Roberts and a past president, Carl Ro- 
berts now deceased. The first Merry- Go-Round was pulled by 
a horse on the inside and the music was provided by a hand organ. 

Concession stands in those days were covered with brush, 
instead of tent tops. Wagon loads of people came to the fair ear- 
ly in the morning with well filled baskets and stayed all day eat- 
ing lunch and resting under the big shade trees. Only those who 
had to watch their stands and exhibits ^ayed on the grounds af- 
ter dark as there was no electricity on the grounds. Later when 
there was electricity, lights went out over town at mid-night. 

The sixth year the fair began in Sept. 25-29, 1894. One item 
of interest was a ruling that no person will be allowed to run a 
steam engine on the grounds without a certificate satisfactory to 
the board. Tuesday, the first day of the fair was free to every 
person. Peters and Neal were Pres. and Vice Pres. again, but 
George Monohon became treas. and W. T. Barnett Secy. 

From the seventh annual Cumberland Co. Fair book I have 
taken a bit of Greenup history. 

Greenup, Cumberland County, Illinois is a village of over 
1, 000 inhabitants, located at the crossing the Vandalia Line and 
P., D. and E. Railroad, and on the Ambraw River banks. It 
is situated at a healthful altitude and is blessed with the finest 
artesial and well water in the world. It is surrounded by good 
agricultural country and is a trading point for farmers for miles 
around. Greenup has not or does not want any "boom" or unnatural 
growth, but is enjoying a steady healthful prosperity, improving, 
every day, building new business blocks, new residences, new 
paved sidewalks, and keeping up a steady march of improvement. 
The Greenup Cumberland Fair which in its seventh year stands at 
the head of all Southern and Central Illinois County expositions, is 
a fair sample of the kind of grit and energy Greenup is made of. 
Parties seeking a place to locate should pay a visit during the fair. 

Samuel Wisely was Pres. with Ed E. Elstun Vice and Geo, Mono- 
hon Treas. and L. R. Winslow, Sec. The directors were Rosecrans, 
Ewart, Inskeep, H. E. Cash Glenn and Feltner. Geo. Sherwood was 
Marshal the seventh year. The Supts. were about the same as 
named in the previous years. 

The covers of the Fair Books for the eighth and ninth annual 
Greenup Cumberland County Fairs v/ere almost exactly alike and 
were more decorative than before. They were printed by the Green- 

-155- 



up Pres s . 

The books not only list premiums, rules and regulations of the 
fair and the program, but they are Directories of Business and 
Professional Men of Cumberland and Adjoining Counties. 

Familiar names listed are Wm. Wylde, Insurance; Dr, C. J. 
Price; President Board U. S. Examining Surgeons, Clothing, W. 
E. Gooch, Prop. J. V. Eoff Mgr., J. M. Cook, Hardware; Squire 
Holt, Furniture and Undertaker, in the Holt Block, West Side 
Square, Greenup, 111.; James H. Ward, Bricklayer, Contractor 
and Manufacturer of Brick, Greenup, 111. J. M. Nanamaker, Res- 
taurant, Hotel, and Lunch Counter, Warm Meals 25^; P. C. Mor- 
gan Dealer in Harness and Horse Furnishing Goods, West Side 
Square. John Conzet, Drugs, Medicines. Paints, Oils. Dye- 
stuffs, Watches, Clocks, Jewelry; Wall Paper cut to order. Gar- 
rett and Personet, Dealer in Wines, Liquors, Cigars, Etc., Ol's 
Golden Rule Stand, Jewett, 111. Chas. Bersig, Wines, Liquors, 
Beer Cigars, and Tobacco, Jewett, 111. W. O. Denman, Ladies 
Furnishings, Goods, Millinery, Dry Goods, In Demansn old Cor- 
ner, Greenup. N. W. Corner of Square, George Jobe, Blacksmith, 

Mrs. Hettie J. Peters advertised the IMPERIAL MILLS BEST 
EQUIPPED MILLS in the State, Greenup. 

J. W. Wards store was called the Racket Store. He sold 
practically everything. 

E. Garrison was a Physician and Surgeon, and L. A. Fisher 
was the Physician and Surgeon who brought many of the middle 
aged citizens of Greenup, into the world. 

Names familiar to Toledo people are Jasper Bean, and E. D. 
StuU Livery and Feed Stable, and Samuel Wisely also had a Livery 
and Feed Stable. The Attorney's at law were C. M. Connor; 
Everhart andDecius; L. N. Brewer and F. J. Tossey. Charles 
Hanker sold Furniture, Wall Paper Queensware, and was an Un- 
dertaker, and also a contractor and Builder. It would cost $1.00 
to subscribe to the Toledo Democrat for one yr., F. Jeff, Tossey, 
Mgr. The BLOOMFIELD HOUSE was owned by G. D. Bloomfield. 

Back in Greenup we find that John Gugumus did all kinds of 
draying and teaming carefully and at reasonable rates. 

We shall skip from 1897 to 1906. It was during this fair that 
Frank James started the races at the Greenup Fair Grounds for 
one hundred dollars. 

Since we do not have Fair Books for the years between 1897 
and 1924 we must rely upon writings of some-of our older citizens, 
and those in their fifties and sixties and the old Secretarial Books, 

Some of the old timers that were associated with the fair were: 
Gesham Monohon, James Ewart, Henry Catey, Ed Stewart, Bubby 

-156- 



Boots, Bill Wickiser, Captain Roy Fancher, Herb Sperry, Joe 
Greeson, J. P. Ewart, John Tracey, Charles Greeson, George 
Holsapple, Waller Sedgwick, Arch Feltner, Robert Glenn, John 
Jenuine, John Freeland, W, C. Travis, J, P. Inskeep. 

Eugene Nees who was an active director for several years 
and never missed a fair kept the fair books, after his death only 
a few could be found. 

Harry Jenuine has written DO YOU REMEMBER? 

When the beautiful Mrs. Hettie Peters Kohler drove her spi- 
rited horses in the society events, attired in fashionable cus- 
tume, complete with ostrich plumed hat and white gloves ? 

When Mr. Oscar Matteson operated hacks to the fairgrounds. 
The hacks loaded to overflowing, his sons standing on the double- 
trees to drive, sleigh bells jingling on the white horses as they 
raced up and down the sandy hill at full speed. 

When one of the features of the fair v/as a balloon ascension 
which ended tragically by killing the operator of the balloon, and 
breaking the leg of a bystander, Alec Gordon, when his foot 
caught in the ropes dragging him to the tree tops. 

When Otis Gregg and George Calvery came to Greenup as 
Jockeys to ride "Miss Specks" and "Angora" for Bill Garrett? 

When the shooting galleries had real guns and the target was 
a bell? A boy walked in front of the bell and was shot and killed. 

When Secretary B. J. McDonaugh employed a Scotch Kilt 
band ? 

When Frank Benson's lumonade stand was the landmark of the 
fair ? 

The famous harness horse owned by Alec Neal named "Hero" 
held the track record for years ? 

When Ed Parks and Charley Jones started the races by snap- 
ping their buggy whips ? 

When a Ford car was given away every day of the fair? 

Mr. J. A. Cambell was a faithful treasurer for many years. 
He had a perfect record at the fair from 1906 until his death in 
Sept. 7, 1957. 

Fred Wylde was faithful to the Fair for years and years and 
his son Bill is carrying on the good work. 

P. J. Bowman who spent so many years as president that his 
name became known by all who knew of the fair. 

Since 1954 the Fair Association has added the Queen Contest. 
Queens have been chosen from all parts of the county. Tractor 
pulling contests have brought many people to the night fairs. 

-157- 



Ostrich races have been featured at least two years. 

Many new things, such as the 4-H Show, educational exhib- 
its and historical and genealogical exhibits are a great attract- 
ion to the children and older visitors, especially. Auto Thrill 
Shows bring large audiences at night shows. 

In 1968, the Sesquicentennial celebration for the eastern 
part of the county will be held at Greenup on the Saturday and Sun- 
day preceding the fair. All people interested in what now is or 
has been in our county are invited to celebrate with us. Be sure 
to visit the Historical Museum in the basement of the Carnegie 
Library in Greenup, 

COTTONWOOD WILLING WORKERS SERVICE CLUB 

The Willing Workers Club started about 1934, when a few 
women decided it was too bad that neighbors did not visit as 
they used to do. Gletie and Freda Carrell and Mildred Ryan, 
seem to have been the ones who started the Club. At first it 
was confined to the area of Sconce's Bend, about four miles east 
of Bradbury, 111. , but later gradually began to spread west to not- 
so near neighbors. Through the years, besides visiting and being 
neighborly, the Club has had songs. Scripture reading and prayer 
at meetings. One of the first things they did was to make blue 
shambrey shirts for boys and dresses for girls in a Baptist 
Orphanage. They sewed for needy ones in the neighborhood, quilted 
tacked comforts, visited the sick and sometimes provided food, and 
served lunches at numerous farm sales. They have also con- 
tributed to the Heart Fund, Red Cross, Cancer and Polio funds, 
as well as giving cash to ones less fortunate. The last few years 
we have had all-day meetings with pot lunch dinner, to make cancer 
dressings for the county. We also used to make floats for the 
Toledo Fall Festival, and for the first one. Dr. Rhodes' Day, we 
had the winner with Winona Carrell as the Queen, One Fall we 
chartered a bus and the members took a trip to Chicago and saw 
the Christmas Parade on State Street, At the present time our 
membership has dwindled so that we are not a very big club. The 
following are some of the women who have been members through 
the years: Gletie Carrell, Mildred Ryan, Freda Carrell, Melia 
Ryan, Ester Hutton Stingley, Mable St. John, Clara Titus, Lelia 
Pennington, Hazel Grisamore, Zora Flemings , Violet McCandlish, 
Sidney Carrell, Aleen Ryan, Blanche Carrell, May Hurst, Letha 
Ryan, Maude Hutchison, Mele Knupp, OUie Hutton, Madge Carrell, 
Bertha Sparks, Lena Cook, O Titus, Mrs. Lee Barr, Virginia 
Scott, Evelyn Mooday, Verna Huffman, Myra Barger, Lois Wool- 

-158- 



ever, Edna Faye Coolet, Ruth Swearingen, Minnie Tippett, Erma 
Moses and Bonnie Spessard, 

GENEALOGICAL SOCIETY 

The Cumberland County Genealogical Society of Illinois was 
organized August 1965. 

Its purpose is to collect, preserve and disseminate knowledge 
and information with reference to genelaogical and biographical 
data. 

The first officers elected were; Director, Mary Eleanor Holt; 
1st Assistant Director and Hosstess, Vivian Coslet; 2nd Assist- 
ant Director and Social leader, Ina Dillier; Recording Secretary, 
Carrie Carson, all of Greenup; Corresponding Secretary, Grace 
Outright, Toledo; Treasurer, Vera Stanberry, Greenup; Histor- 
ian, Ellen Decker, Casey (Union Township, Cumberland County); 
Archivist, Helen Orndorff, Greenup, 

HAZEL DELL LADIES 

On March 25th I960 a group of ladies from the Hazel Dell 
community met at the home of Alice Laymon to organize a woman's 
club. 

The club was named the Busy Bee Women's Club, being organ- 
ized to help with community betterment projects and to exchange 
hobby and homemaking ideas. Charter members were, Rezida 
Devall, Kate Curry, Shieley Burnett, Dorothy Glidewell, Cora 
Glidewell, and Alice Laymon, Those w^ho joined later were, Ma- 
bel Glenn, Ester Timmons, Lucille Laymon, Pearl Strange, Ruth 
Glidewell, Marlene Chapman, Hazel Timmons, Shelby Hawker, 
Eileen Taggart, Lucille Graham and Ann Daily. 

The community projects which the Club has worked for are, 
the Vapor Street Lights, which number twelve at the present time, 
and also street signs. Although the streets had been named when 
the town was layed out, few people knew the street names. Each 
improvement just helps our little town to be a better place to live. 

The officers for 1968 are; President, Hazel Timmons; Vice 
President, Alice Laymon; Secretary and Treasurer, Ester Tim- 
mons; Reporter, Alice Laymon, 

HICKORY CORNER AFRICAN VIOLET CLUB 

The object of our club shall be to afford a convenient and bene- 
ficial association of persons interested in African violet (Saint- 

-159- 



paulia); to stimulate wide-spread interest in the propagation and 
culture of African Violets. We are a non-profit organization 
sharing our information with our local, State and National Organ- 
izations using or rather utilizing every possible means to promote 
our favorite house plant; and to distribute and publicize the state 
and national magazines that serve our needs so well. 

Club organized May 1964, with the following charter members: 
Mr. & Mrs. Don Carrell, Mr. &; Mrs. Herald Ferguson, Mr. & 
Mrs. Clarence Mingus, Freda Misenheimer, Georgia Price, Mr. 
& Mrs. Tom Meachum, Hazel Gardner; Josie Perry. 

Affiliated with National October 1964, all of the above mem- 
bers are still members, with the following members enrolled in 
1968, Wilma Decker, Lois Gaddis, Virginia Gabbert, Minnie 
Barger, Jo Casstevens, Rowena Finley. 

"We have an annual show, plant sale, & bazaar, our first two 
held at the American Legion Hall at Toledo, this year our show is 
at Neoga Legion Hall March 30th & 31st. Our show theme is Vio- 
lets, Vines &; Vases. We are very honored to be asked to host the 
Illinois Fall State show to be at the Greenup Municipal Building 
November 1, 2, & 3, and our theme for this fall show is Violets 
along the Heritage Trail. The public is invited to see the show, and 
there will be four or five Commercial Violet Growers where beauti- 
ful plants may be purchased. 

Our regular meeting place is Hickory Corner Townhouse the 
second Monday night of each month at seven PM during CST and 
eight PM during DST. Love to have you come. Lach Thanksgiv- 
ing Time we ha x e a covered dish dinner and a noted. Violet Speak- 
er also an annual trip to one of the Hybridizers so far we have 
visited Richters Hammond, Indiana; Dates at Belleville, Gran- 
gers at Medina, Ohio and petersons at Cincinnati, Ohio, always 
room for one more Violet, personally I would rather have a few 
well brought Violet children, than many that can't be lavished 
with Tender Loving Care. An Avid A/ Violet Fancier. 

By Mrs. Herald Ferguson, Pres. & State Rep. 

HOMEMAKERS EXTENSION ASSOCIATION 

The Cumberland County Homemakers Extension Association 
had its beginning back before 1937 when several units were or- 
ganized as affiliates of the Coles County Honie Bureau. 

Through the tireless efforts, of the number of its citizens, the 
county was able to launch its own program. The annual report 
for 1949-50 shows 470 dues-paying members of the Cumberland 
County Home Bureau. The name was changed in 1962 to the 

-160- 



Homemakers Extension As sociation. 

Today, there are 16 neighborhood units taking advantage of 
the University of Illinois Home Economics Extension Service 
]pnethod of continuing education in an off-campus curriculum for 
women. Specialists train local leaders, who in turn, present 
the materials to the units. The extension Adviser gives four 
lessons per ^ear at each unit. 

Subject matter includes Textiles and Clothing, Family Life, 
Home Management, Home Furnishings, Health, Housing and 
Foods and Nutrition. 

Some county meetings are planned jointly with the Agricul- 
ture Extension Council on topics of interest to both men and 
women. 

The Home Economics Extension Council sponsors 4-H Club 
work in Home Economics, The membership is 2 10 including 
two clubs for EMH boys and girls. 

Past Advisers are Mrs. Bessie Wilson, Mrs. Charles Doug- 
las, Miss Libby Hafner, and Mrs. Mary Beth Card, The pre- 
sent Adviser is Mrs, Genevieve Farrell, whose services began in 
February, 1958, 

LADIES AUXILIARY TO THE VETERANS OF FOREIGN WARS 

On May 12, 1949, the Cumberland County Post # 4598 felt an 
auxiliary was need to assist them in their work, so invited their 
wives, mothers, and sisters to attend a meeting in the V. F.W. 
Hall located upstairs in the Town House, Greenup, 111, Mrs. 
Ethel Sheridan of Mattoon, Senior Vice President of the 9th Dis- 
trict, was present to explain the purposes of an Auxiliary and 
procedure of formation. The application was signed by sixteen. 
June 1, 1949, Cumberland Auxiliary was instituted, officers 
elected and installed. The charter was issued w^ith thirty mem- 
bers, seven of whom are still members. 

To raise money the Auxiliary held bake sales so we could 
buy our patriotic flag, color bearer flags, gavel and Bible so 
we could conduct meetings properly. We started assisting the 
Post in their projects, at that time we had a street carnival, 
and food stand at the Cumberland County Fair, We took part 
in the Memorial Day Services, placing the wreath, and have 
assisted each year since. In May 1951, we started selling po- 
pies, we first ordered 500 but l^ave since increased to 1, 000 
in order to do more for the Veterans and their families, and 
take part in the National and Department projects. Each year 
we contribute to the National Home, to the National and Depart- 

-161- 



ment cancer fund, child welfare, Danville hospital, and send 
gift boxes. Locally we contribute to the various fund drives. Sal- 
vation Army, Polio, Heart, and Boy Scouts, needy families, and 
sponsor a bowling team. We spend many hours making bed pads 
and dressings for the County Cancer Society, We make poppy 
crosses for all deceased members of the Post and Auxiliary to 
be placed on Memorial Day. We have sent gift boxes to our boys 
from Cumberland County who are serving Viet Nam. We have 
spent hundreds of dollars on furnishings for our Post Home and 
realize there is much yet to be done. We are the only V. F. W. 
Auxiliary in Cumberland County and we now have approximately 
forty members who are proud of their Auxiliary. 



7?7 



Those who have served as Presidents are: Mary Jane Rod- y ^t?, 
;ers, Lucille Coble, Chlora McElravy, Maude Coble,,/'F7erdar^^7~'^^4^ ' 
Dzier, Lillian Hesler, Lottie Lewis, Carolyn Bland, Deanne ^^s^'^/ij'*.^ 



Ozier, Lillian Hesler, Lottie Lewis, Carolyn jDictnu, utidumti ^v'''<i'C'> 
Winnett, Ellen Vaughn, Corenne Carrell, Dorothy McElravy, ~ 

Rosemary Brandenburg, and Florine Faulkner, some have served 
more than one year. Our deceased n:iembers are Florence Sins, 
Lela Ruffner, Maude Rodgers, Aleen Shriver, Lucille Branden- 
burg and Alta Mattison. 

ORDER OF EASTERN STAR #29 

The charter was granted to Greenup Chapter on August 2, 
1884, and the following members signed it: Sarah Jane ShuU, 
Hallie Brady, Isabelle Monohan, Lucy P. Niswanger, Ann Mana 
Quinn, Ester Tutewiler, Kate Kester, Hester Norman, Ann 
Mathena, Levisa Jenuine, Lenora Conger, S. C. Moon, and 
Robert M. Moore, Michael Shull, Garshom Monohon, Thomas 
Tutewiler and M. S. Conger. That year, 1884, Robert Moore 
was Worthy Patron, Sarah Jane Shull, Worthy Matron and 
Hallie Brady, Assoc. Matron. The Worthy Grand Officers 
for that year were: Sister Jane F. Cozine, Worthy Grand Mat- 
ron, Brother Albert B. Ashley, Worthy Grand Patron, Sister 
Mary Beale, Worthy Grand Secretary. 

Greenup Chapter, as it has always been called, is one of 
the oldest chapters in the state, being the 29th to be organized. 
Melissa Buff Cochran was the wife of Dr. Charles G. Cochran, 
well known physician of the Greenup and Hazel Dell areas. 
She was a devout Eastern Star, and at the time of her death in 
1935, had been a member of the Order longer than any other 
person in the state. She had been initiated into the Order by 
Robert Morris, the founder and author of the ritual, when she 
was 17 years of age, before there were any chartered chap- 

-162- 



ters. Her father and Robert Morris were old friends. When 
Mr, Morris visited in the Buff home, the young Melissa was 
taken to the local Masonic Hall, in Merom, and given the initia- 
tion. Always active in Eastern Star work, she served in all 
offices of the local chapter in Greenup, and then became Chap- 
lain, and served in that office the last seventeen years of her 
life. Her daughter, Bonnie Kelly, was also very active, and 
served as Grand Lecturer in the State of 111, for many years, 
instructing and installing in many chapters. A granddaughter, 
Juanita Kelly Loving, is also a member of the Greenup Chap- 
ter and, although she did not live here, she has kept her mem- 
bership in Greenup, and is very proud of the family's Eastern 
Star record. 

When the Chapter was first organized, the meetings were 
held in the Odd Fellow's Bldg,, and in the year 1922 moved to 
the Masonic Bldg. , where the meetings are held at the present 
time. 

The Order of Eastern Star is dedicated to Charity, Truth, 
and Loving Kindness, and exists for the purpose of providing 
for the welfare of the wives, daughters, mothers, widows and 
sisters of Master Masons. We are governed by the laws and 
regulations of the Grand Chapter, 

According to records, the first worthy matron to servein 
Greenup Chapter who is now living is Sister Maude Ratcliff, and 
the worthy patron, who is now living, was Glen Ratcliff, In an- 
other section of this book, you will find an article entitled "The 
Ratcliff Boys of Cumberland County", but Glen failed to mention 
in that article that during the years of 1916, 1917 and 1918 how- 
active he and his wife, Maude, were in his home town Eastern 
Star Chapter. 

Greenup Chapter meets the first Friday night of each 
month at 7:30 P, M, in the Masonic Hall. The officers for 
our Sesquicentennial year are: Martha Robey, Worthy Matron; 
Pearl Brandenburg, Worthy Patron; Isa Winnett, Associate 
Matron; Lee Winnett, Associate Patron; Alverta Callahan, Sec- 
retary; Lenora Wylde, Treasurer; Loraine Keller, Conductress: 
Mary E, Holt, Assoc, Conductress; Thelma Keller, Chaplain; 
Ruby Foster, Marshal; Grace Havens, Organist; Lydia Carpen- 
ter; Adah; Flossie Euband, Ruth; Vinnie Shore, Ester; Peggy 
Holsapple, Martha; Lala Glidewell, Electa; Hazel Brandenburg, 
Warder; Berniece Wilson, Sentinel; and Perry Keller, Flag 
Bearer, 

By Alverta Callahan 
-163- 



VETERANS OF FOREIGN WARS POST# 4598 

In the fall of 1945, Mr. Erwin Everson who was organizer 
of new posts for the Department of Illinois V. F. W. , came to 
Greenup to see if it was possible to organize a V. F. W. Post. 
He contacted a few Veterans and they met on the benches in the 
City Park for their first meeting. 

They soon made application for a charter and December 10, 
1945 a charter was issued under the name of Cumberland Coun- 
ty Post #4598. The charter has 101 members listed and of this 
number 34 are still members of this Post and 6 are deceased. 
Soon after receiving the charter, the Post was selected by the 
War Department to represent the War Department and conduct 
Military Services for those soldiers killed in action, that were 
being returned home for burial. This the Post did, for which 
the War Department sent a letter of appreciation. 

Our first meeting place was the recreation hall, owned by 
the Ettelbrick Shoe Co, After holding a few meetings in the rec- 
reaction hall and some bingo games, the hall was needed by the 
Shoe Co. for storage, so we were without a meeting place. We 
rented the I. O.O.F. for bingo games and made arrangements 
to meet over the old town house. The upstairs of the town house 
was in such a run-down condition, we were two months working 
there before we could meet there. Several of our niembers 
donated a lot of work and time in repairing the town house and 
the Post spent several hundred dollars for paint and materials. 

In need of money, we decided to have a stand at the Cumber- 
land County Fair, however this did not prove a money maker 
and after two years we gave it up as a bad cause. In 1954 we 
bought on contract from Harry and Valley Jenuine the building 
on Main Street. Once again before we could meet in this build- 
ing we had a lot to do, work and repairing. We started having 
bingo games and in the new location they were very successful. 
We also again had a stand at the fair, and this was also a suc- 
cess. In early I960, we paid off the debt to Mr, Jenuine, 

Our membership had increased and this building was not 
large enough, so we decided to erect a new building. Decem- 
ber 6, I960, we purchased from Pearl and Athus Dillier the lot 
and one half where the present building now stands. In November, 
1961, we sold our building on main street to Herman and Bonnie 
Underwood. In January, 1962, we moved into our new Post Home. 

It has been our duty to conduct military rites for over ninety 
deceased Veterans. We have each year conducted or assisted 
in Memorial Day Services, We have also placed a flag each Mem- 

-164- 



orial Day, on the graves of all Veterans in the Greenup Ceme- 
tery and furnished flags for all surrounding cemetaries. We 
have made donations to all worthy causes and have cared for 
and helped all Veterans who have asked for our assistance. 

The history of this Post will not be complete without naming 
the past Commanders and they are: Richard Hayden, Ernest 
Rodgers, Richard Shadley, Abner Vaughn, Paul Hemphill, John 
"Bill" Mock, Vernon Ozier, Lowell Wade,' Lee McElravy, Rus- 
sell Waterford, Bob McMechan, Bob Brandenburg, Dean Swim, 
and Donald Carrell, the present Commander. 

ZAZAREBEKAH LODGE 176, GREENUP 

In the year of 1851, Schuyler CoUfax wrote a request to the 
Soverign Grand Master of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows 
to prepare a ritual for the Rebekah Degree, 

August 6, 1853 the Degree of Rebekah was opened on appli- 
cation of Brothers P Welshimer, William E, Smith, E, Tal- 
bott and J. Pickering and were instructed in the Rebekah Degree. 

Applications were then made by B. C. Talbott for the degree 
of Rebekah to be conferred on Jane C, Talbott,* Mary E. Talbott, 
Ruth Coville and Susan Ward. They were present and were duly 
instructed in the degree given by the men. 

The Order was first known as the Daughters of Rebekah. 
The Oddfellows purchased the regalia for the Rebekahs, The 
original charter was granted about 1853 and was destroyed by 
fire and was replaced by a duplicate June 17, 1887 signed by J. 
S, Carr, Grand Master, There were 44 charter members, and 
the first officers were: Lou Conzet, Noble Grand; W. T, Barn- 
ett, Vice Grand; LouWylde, Treasurer; Eva Elstun, Secretary; 
John Conzet, Warden; J. W. Heath, Inside Guardian; James Heath, 
Right Supporter to Noble Grand; M. C, Price, Left Supporter to 
Noble Grand; R. M. Button, Right Supporter to Vice Grand; J. 
W. Decker, Left Supporter to Vice Grand; New officers were 
elected semi-annually and meetings were held Tuesday of each 
week. Officers now are elected annually and meetings are held 
the second and fourth Tuesdays eachmonth. The present officers 
are: Isa^ Winnett, Noble Grand; Clara Mitchell, Vice Grand; Maye 
Carrell, Financial Secretary; Cora Hutton, Treasurer; Flossie 
Eubank, Warden; Florence Strain, Conductor; Lois Winnett, Right 
Supporter to the Noble Grand; Lee Winnett, Left Supporter to the 
Noble Grand; Agatha Holsapple, Right Supporter to the Vice Grand; 
L. A, Roan, Left Supporter to Vice Grand; Zelma Roan, Chaplain; 
Elma Stewart, Musician; Elva Carrell, Inside Guardian; Arthur 



•165 



McElravy, Outside Guardian; Olive Holsapple, Jr. Past Noble 
Grand, Meetings are held in the I.O.O, Y. Hall, Greenup. 

The members of Zaza Rebekah 176 help support the children's 
home at Lincoln, 111. and the Old Folks Home at Mattoon, 111. 
We have several -SO-year members and have presented them with 
50-year jewels. 

Charter i"nembers were: William Wylde, Lorinda Wylde, 
C. Conzet, Louisa C, Conzet, M. C, Price, Abagille Price, 
Laura A, Meeker, J. W, Arthur, M, L. Arthur, John Conzet, 
Emma Conzet, John Decker, Emma Decker, L. L. Meeker, 
Charles Peters, Peter Shade, Eliza Shade, W, F. Shade. J. H. 
Nicholas, Lida Nicholas, Relly M, Smith, Mattie J. Smith, M. 
C, Price, Winnie Price, Eugene Templeton, Frances Templeton, 
Ed. E. Elstun, Eva Elstun, W. T, Barnet, Julia A. Barnet, P. 
A, Brady, Hallie Brady, Jerry Reedy, Louisa Reedy, John Ship- 
lor, Amanda Shipler, James, Heath, Mary E. Heath, R. N. 
Button, Emilia Button, J. P, Ewart, L. A, Freeman, J. M. 
Cleghorn, H, F. Sperry, 

By Chlora McElravy 




Greenup- 1968 



-166- 



taken by Bobby Goodman, 



MILITARY SERVICE DATA 

]]{yJy-^AZ^ ^L&^in i/U^JuiiaH t^^^ born October 19, 1932 in Greenup, 

Illinois, C/and entered the Army February, 1953 at St. Louis, 
Missouri, and was discharged in December of 1954 at Fort Sheri- 
dan, Illinois, His service number was U.S. 55 334 114. In 
August he was assigned to the 9th. Corps HDQS in Korea, and 
held the rank of Corporal. He is a member of the V. F. W. and 
American Legion at Greenup, Illinois, 

Anderson, Ezekiel was born September 17, 1884 in Noble 
County, Ohio, Enlisted in Co. I 20th Ohio Infantry Dec, the 9th 
1861 for three years. Went to Fort Donelson guarded prisoners 
from there to St. Louis, Mo, went from there to Pudukah, Ky, 
went up with the fleet of one hundred boats to Shilo on Pitsburgh 
landing was on the campaign and seige of Vicksburgh, Miss, was 
out 2 years. Reenlisted as a veteran for 3 years more went 
home on furlough was on a campaign to Atlanta Ga, marched back 
to Nashville, Tenn, Afterward was mustered out July 22, 1865. 
Serving 3 yrs, & 8 Mo. came to 111, Cumb. Co, 1871, married 
Rachel C. Winnett 1868. Am near 85 years old and wrote this 
without glasses. Written by E. Anderson 

Bingamon, John Buchanan was born Mar, 10, 1921 in 
Paradise Townsh'ip, Coles County, 111. He lived at Neoga, 111. 
when he entered the Air Force on Sept, 6, 1943 at Chanute Field 
Rantoul, 111, He was. assigned to the following: Freeman Field, 
Indiana; Stockton, California; Strother Field, Kansas; La Junta, 
Colorado; Orlando, Florida; Goldboro, South Carolina, and Wea- 
ther Instructor at Chanute Field, 111. The special military courses 
and schools attended were at the University of Chicago, Scott 
Field, and Rantoul, 111. His service number was 0874178. He 
held the rank of 1st Lt, when he was discharged on April 2, 1946 
at Camp Atterbury, Indiana, His address was Neoga, 111. when 
he was discharged. He is a member of the American Legion at 
Piano, 111, 

Bingaman, Richard LeRoy was born Sept, 5, 1945 at Mattoon, 
111. He entered the Army in 1966. 

Bingaman, Thomas Clifford was born in Cumberland Co, on 
Nov. 16 and lived at Gays, 111, when he entered the Army on June 
27, 1918 at Mattoon, 111, His service number was 3708455. He 
was assigned to Co, K. 22nd Engineers and took six weeks train- 
ing at a Camp near Indianapolis, Ind. He participated in the 
Campaign at Muese, Argonne France, He was a PFC when he 
was discharged on June 25, 1919 at Camp Jackson, S. C. His 
discharge papers say Honorable Discharge, Character excell- 

-167- 



ent. He received a small pension for about a year previous to 
his death. He was a member of American Legion, Votaw-Swank, 
Unit 458, Neoga, 111. and received a thirty year pin for continuous 
membership in Votaw-Swank Post. 

Barnes, Phillip Dale was born March 10, 1936, in Suffolk, Vir- 
ginia. He entered the service from, and return to, Portsmouth, 
Virginia, after his discharge October 11, 1957, His Air Force No. 
was AF 1348753, and he entered the Air Force February 12, 1954 
at Richmond, Va, In February of 1954 he was assigned to Samp- 
son Air Force Base in New York, N. Y. for Basic Training, In 
May, 1954 he went to school at Shephard Air Force Base in Texas, 
and in January, 1956 he was assigned to Elmendorf A. F.B. in 
Alaska as a Flight Mechanic. From June, 1956 to October, 1957 
he was stationed at Donaldson A, F.B. at Greenville S. C. , where 
he received his discharge. He attended Aircraft Mechanics School 
at Sheppart A. F.B, at Texas, and Aircraft Maintenance School at 
Donaldson A, F.B. inS. C, He held the rank of Airman 1st. Class, 
He received the National Defense Service Medal, Good Conduct 
Medal, and Crew Member Badge. He received benefits from the 
Veterans Educational Fund. 

Beeman, George J. of Greenup, 111. was born Oct. Z2, 1847 
in Clark Co,, 111, He enlisted at Mansfield, Ohio, in April 1862. 
He fought in the campaing in the Shenadoah Valley, He was cap- 
tured in December 1863 and held prisoner a short time in Mississ- 
ippi, He was discharged in Columbus, Ohio, June 27, 1865, 

Benson, Robert E. , son of John and Jane Benson, was born in 
Edgar County, eight miles north of Paris, March 16, 1846, 

He mioved to Yale in 1852 when six years of age. He attended 
school there. He was Road commissioner for seven years and 
School Director for nine years. In 1864 he enlisted in C, D, 143rd 
Reg, 111. Volunteer Infantry, In 1868 he was united in marriage 
to Emily Porter of Greenup. He was a farmer by occupation and 
made ties for six years. He helped build the Vandalia R. R. His wife 
died in 1912 at Yale, 111, This same year he moved to Greenup. 

In Nov. 1914 he was married to Ellen Erines. Since that 
time he has resided in Greenup, 111, By R. E. Benson 

Boots, D. C. Greenup, Illinois 
In the year 1860 I was married to what I thought was the most 
beautiful bride in Cumberland Co, Those 2 years of joyous and 
happy life in which a son was born to brighten the home. At 
that time the dark clouds of rebellion and secession was hover- 
ing over the nation. The slave ov/ners of the south said we are 
going to establish a southern confederacy. The great company 
of I860 with its contestant for Presidency was before the nation 

-168- 



to decide who should be to lead us through the wilderness of con- 
flict, murdering and rebellion against a government of the peo- 
ple by the people and for the people could exist. The testing time 
caine for the nation to decide whether we should be a divided or 
a united people or a nation, or a divided one. The gauntlet was 
to be run and the great union army said we accept the challenge 
we care not for your cotton, we care not for your slaves but be- 
fore you divide this union we will fill your southern graves. But 
in the great Baptism of blood this nation has had a new birth and 
the curse of Slavery has been attoned for the Sheding of Blood 
on the very hard fought Battle Fields. And Abraham Lincoln's 
prophecy is fulfilled. This Country cannot live one half free and 
one half Slave and if we have a great and undivided Nation to say 
it is because the Union Army made it so God Grant that this bro- 
therhood that united us may continue until the King of Kings Shall 
Set up his Throne. 

By D. C. Boots 

Brady, Lawrence H. was born October 22, 1926 in Coles 
County. He entered the Army August 3, 1945 at Fort Sheridan, 
Illinois. His service number was 46035028. He attained the 
rank of Corporal and served with the 10th Engineers with the 
Third Division in Germany as a Company Clerk. He was later 
assigned as a Clerk with the Blue Devils, 88th Division in 
Italy. He was discharged March 17, 1947 at Fort Sheridan. 

Bradley, Peter was born Oct. 15, 1946 at Manhattan, New 
York and lived at Hicksville, New York when he entered the 
Army on May 24, 1966. His service number is US5 1619694. 
Special Military courses and schools he attended were 05B20 
Radio Teletype at Ft. Gordon, Georgia (United States Army 
Southeastern Signal School), He was the National Defense Rib- 
bon and is a Sgt, presently stationed at Ft. Sill, Oklahoma he 
is to be discharged May 23, 1968. 

Brown, Juanita Marie was born Jan, 8, 1916 at Mattoon, 
111. in Coles County. She served in the service in 1942 and 
1943. 

Brown, Nicholas, was born August 28, 1839 in Cumberland 
County, Illinois. No record of place of residence. He entered 
the service in 1861, in C. A. 5th Illinois Cavalry. 

He served all during the Civil War from 1861 to 1865. No 
other records. 

Buchanan, Alfred Wallace was born two miles north of 
Neoga, November 30, 1898, the fourth child and only son of 



•169- 



Elmer J. and Sidney Kimery Buchanan, 

His military career began in 1916 when he served on the 
Mexican border with General Pershing and the militia. When 
discharged, he joined the regular Army as an artilleryman. 

In World War I he was in the first combat unit to reach the 
front. He remained on French soil until the close of the war 
and returned to the U. S, in 1919. He then enlisted in the Navy 
and was sent to the submarine base in New London, Conn, When 
his training was completed, he was assigned to the famous but 
ill-fated S-4, and cruised the waters of the Caribbean, Pacific 
and China Seas, While stationed at the Cavite Naval Base in 
Luzon he joined the local Masonic lodge. 

In 1927, the S.-4 returned to homie base in New London and 
for the remainder of that year, Wallace and the S-4 repeatedly 
took part in maneuvers off the New England coast. 

On December 17, 1927, Wallace drew shore duty for the 
day, and the submarine put to sea without him. This proved to 
be the S-4's last trip, as the crew of 40 men perished in her 
last dive off Provincetown, Mass. 

After Demecber 7, 1941, Wallace enlisted in the Merchant 
Marine and was given the rank of Lieutenant Commander. He 
served on an oil tanker in the Arabian Sea, transporting vital 
fuel from the wells of Asia Minor to Allied Refineries. 

At the close of World War II, he returned to Chicago and 
his wife, the former Emma Mulvanney, whom he had married 
August 22, 1936, 

Wallace Buchanan died January 31, 1956 at Hines Veterans 
Hospital from the effects of a cerebral hemorrhage. The Elm- 
wood Park V, F, W, was in charge of the military service, and 
burial was in the Ridgewood Cemetery. His sisters are: Blanche 
Buchanan Shores, Marguerite Buchanan Brown, Marie Buchanan 
Young, Edith Buchanan Bingaman, and Sylvia Buchanan Swinehart. 

Buchanan, James Norton was born Sept, 14, 1930 at Chicago, 
111, but lived at Neoga in Cumberland Co. when he enlisted in the 
U. S, Air Force on March 31, 1951 at St. Louis, Missouri, His 
service number is F R 45402, In Aug. 195 1 he was in Pilot train- 
ing at Spence AFB, Ga. in Jan. 1963 the Aeronatical Systems Div- 
ision at Wright, Patterson AFB, Ohio as a Aeronatical Engineer, 
Dec, 1967 A F Systems Command at Andrews AFB, Md. in 
Tactical Plans. Special Military courses & schools attended 
were Pilot Training Aug. 1951, Combat CRWE training in Sept. 
1952, Pilot Instructor School March 1957, Squadron Officer School 
July 1958, F-lOO Combat Training in Nov, 1965. He held the Rank 
of 2/Lt in Sept. 1952, 1/Lt in March 1954, Capt. in March 1958 

-170- 



and Major in Oct. 1965. From Jan. to Aug. 1952 he participated 
in the Korean Campaign in the Far East. From Dec. 1966 to 
Dec. 1967 he participated in the Vietnam Campaign in Southeast 
Asia. He has received the Dist' Flying Cross, Air Medal, Kor- 
ean Campaign Medal, and the Vietnam Campaign Medal. 

Burkybile, Robert J. was born November 4, 1913 at Mar- 
shall, Illinois. He entered the Navy from there and returned at 
his discharge. He entered the service Jan, 6, 1942 at St. Louis, 
and was discharged at Great Lakes, 111, His service number 
was 688 22 91. Jan. 20, 1942 he was assigned as Carpenter at 
Great Lakes. April 6, 1942 he went to Grosse He Naval Air Sta- 
tion at Grosse He, Michigan, as Messenger. July 31, 1944 he 
was assigned to Philadelphia Receiving at Philadelphia, Penn, 
as Messenger, then Aug. 18 he went to U. S, Naval Station at 
Newport Rhode Island , and was in the carpenter shop tempor- 
arily. He took courses in Firefighting, Salvage training and 
Chemical Warfare at Navy Boot Camp, Salvage training at Ft. 
Pierce, Florida, and Norfolk, Virginia. Nov. 10, 1944 he was 
at Pier 92, N. Y. and Nov. 14, on the U. S. S. Memdicino, Pier 
33, Brooklyn, N. Y. Sea Duty (Carpenter), 

January 6, 1942 he was Carpenter's Mate 3rd. Class, then 
2nd^ and ist. Class. 

November 14, 1944 he left Brooklyn for Norfolk, Virginia and 
went into dry dock. Dec. 10, they left Norfolk for Panama Canal, 
arrived the 16th, and picked up 700 armed guards, and when they 
left the 17th,, they also had 1, 000 Puerto Rican soldiers, Dec, 
25 they arrived at San Pedro, Calif, and unloaded the soldiers, 
but still had the armed guards when they left Jan. 2, 1945 they 
arrived in Pearl Harbor and put the armed guards ashore, and 
Jan, 5, they took on 200 bed patients and 500 other wounded and 
started for San Diego, Calif, where they arrived Jan. 11, Jan. 
29th they went on maneuvers, then returned to San Diego Feb. 1, 
and next day went to San Francisco. Feb. 5 they left there with 
1600 troops, and arrived at Enivctok{?) in the Marshall Islands, 
and Feb, 28 they were in Leyte, Philippines (San Joes), March 
4, with the 96th, Division aboard they went on maneuvers, Guin- 
an Samar for several days, March 27, left for Okinowa Shima, 
and on D-Day, April 1, Hobert went in with the 6th, wave for 
salvage. April 6, 1945 they left with wounded soldiers for a hos- 
pital in Saipan, where they arrived April 10, and then took others 
aboard and headed for Pearl Harbor, and arrived April 22, May 
6 they went on manuevers to Maui until May 14, May 29 they left 
Pearl Harbor and arrived in San Francisco June 4 and put the ship 
in dry dock. 



-171- 



June 29, he started for Guam with 2400 troops aboard and 
arrived there July 16, 1945. July 21 they brought 2400 soldiers 
and Sea-Bees to San Francisco, and there reloaded with troops 
and equipment to go to Japan. War ended, and Aug, he was 
sent to Great Lakes for discharge, but it took till Oct. for it to 
come through, his orders were delayed 25 days, 

Robert J. Burkybile was in the Battle of Oinaw Shima, and 
received a Good Conduct Medal, Asiatic - Pacific Ribbon with one 
Star, Philippine Liberation Ribbon and American Theater Rib- 
bon. He went to G.I. School and received mustering out pay and 
Illinois Veterans Bonus. He belongs to the American Legion in 
Casey, Illinois, 

Bushur, Loyd R. was born July 15, 1915 at Sprinpoint Town- 
ship, Cumberland County. He lived at Sigel, 111. Rt. 2 when he 
entered the Army on Apr. 24, 1941 at Ft. Sheridan 111. His ser- 
vice number was 3629905 he was assigned to Co. M 109 Inf. 28 
Division, He had special courses in Communications &; Fire 
Control. He was wounded near Paris and was hospitalized from 
Aug. 26, 1944 to Dec. 24, 1944. He was in the European Thea- 
ter of Operation, He received the Bronze Star, Purple Heart, 
Combat Infantry Badge, and E T O Ribbon with 2 Battle Stars. 
He received disability compensation and lived at Montrose, 111. 
when he was discharged on Oct. 13, 1945 at Ft. Sheridan 111. He 
is a member of Post 3464 VFW, Post 12^- American Legion, and 
Chapter 102 DAV at Norwood, Ohio. 

Butler, Sylvester , was born June 27, 1840, in Perry County 
Ohio, and died November 9, 1905 in Wayne County, Illinois, and 
was brought back to Cumberland County, 111. for burial in Tip- 
pett Ceinetery. He enlisted in the Civil War at Charleston, Ill- 
inois, December 1, 1861 in Co, K, 63rd, Reg. of Illinois Volun- 
teers Infantry, under Captain William Seaman, His term was to 
be for three years. He was discharged April 9, 1865 at Golds- 
boro, North Carolina by reason of expiration of term of service. 
He attained the rank of Corporal. 

Because of ill health and being unable to support his family, 
in 1898 he applied for a pension, which he received and it was 
continued until his widow's death in 1938. 

Capps, Grant Buchanan, born 9-December- 19 19, Neoga, 
Cumberland County, Illinois, he entered the Army Air Corps 
25-October- 1939 at the U.S. A. Recruiting Station, Peoria, Ill- 
inois. He was assigned to Selfridge Field, Michigan; Phillippines 
under General McArthur; Captured at Nicholas Field, Pearl Har- 
bor; was taken prisoner at Pearl Harbor and was in the death 
march on Bataan and Corregidor. He died in a prison camp on 

-172- 



Luzon Island of dysentary and malnutrition. He was a Techni- 
cian 4th. Grade. 

His decorations, honors etc, were, Philippine Republic 
Presidential Unit Citation Emblem, The Philippine Defense Rib- 
bons with Bronze Service Star, the Good Conduct Medal, Foreign 
Service Medal, the Distinguished Unit Emblem with two oak clu- 
sters; Asiatic - Pacific Campaign Medals; World War 11 Victory 
Medal and a Citation of Honor from the Commanding General of 
the Army Air Force, H. H. Arnold, 

He received Government Insurance and Illinois State Bonus. 

Grant Capp's remains were returned to the United States and 
buried in the National Cemetary at Jefferson Barracks, St. Louis, 
Missouri, May 20, 1952. 

Carrell, Warren Eugene was born 12 - July- 1932, north of 
Greenup, Cumberland County, Illinois. He entered the Navy on 
15-May-1955, at Norfolk, Virginia. In September 1951 he was 
assigned to the U,S,S. Newport News CA- 148, at Norfolk, Vir- 
ginia as gunner's mate. In December, 1955 he was assigned to 
the U.S.S. New Jersey BB 62, at Norfolk, Virginia as gunner's 
mate. In August of 1955 he was in Gunner's Mate Class "B " in 
Washington D.C. He held the ranks of SA, SR, SN, and G-MSN. 
He was given the Good Conduct Medal, and the European Occup- 
ation Ribbon. On 24- November- 196 1, he became a member of 
the VFW Post No. 4598, at Greenup, Cumberland County, Illinois. 

Casstevens, Robert L. , born Aug, 9, 1900 entered into and 
was discharged from military service from Toledo, 111. 

His Army service number was 1383072, date entered April 
10, 1917 at St. Louis, Mo. Date discharged was March 7, 1920 
at Rockford, 111. 

Centers, Duane Harold was born November 7, 1935, at 
Charleston, Illinois, from which place he entered the Air Force 
November 10, 1953. He was inducted at St, Louis, and his ser- 
ial number was AF 17 382 372. He was discharged October 7, 
1957 at Manhatten Beach, N. Y,, and re-entered service October 
23, 1961 at Syracuse, New York, and was discharged from there 
September 30, 1962. November, 1953 he was assigned to Lack- 
land Air Force Base at San Antonio, Texas for basic training. 
In January of 1954 he went to Nellis A. F, Base in Las Vagas, Nev- 
ada as a Vehicle Operator. In June, 1954 he went to Indian Springs 
A.F.B, at Indian Springs, Nevada as a Vehicle Operator, and in 
October, 1955 west to Ernest Harmon A.F.B. Stephenville, New 
Foundland, as an Operator. June 12, 1956 he attended GED High 
School Level, 

About April, 1954, he was in Parks A.F.B. hospital, Oakland, 

-173- 



California for operation on his right eye. The ranks he held were: 
November, 1953, Air Basic, January, 1954 A/3C, July 12, 1955 
A/2C, October 23, 1961 re-entered with previous rank and Sept- 
ember 30, 1962 was discharged as A/2C. In 1955 he was stationed 
in France during the Berlin Crisis. He was awarded the National 
Defense Service Medal AFL (Dec. 12, 1961) SA. 

In October, 1957, he went to Manhatten Beach, N. Y. for Se- 
paration from the Air Force, in I960 he joined the active reserves 
and went to Chanute AFB, Rantoul, Illinois for fifteen days, Octo- 
ber 23, 1961 he entered the Air Force for the second time and 
went to Phalsbourg, France and came back for discharge September 
30, 1962, during the Berlin Crisis. 

Cisney, John W. was born June 17, 1941 in Cumberland, County 
and lived at Rose Hill, 111. in Jasper County when he enlisted in the 
Army on Jan. 22, I960 at St. Louis, Missouri. In Oct. I960 to 
Sept 1963 he was in the 2nd Bn 25 Arty at Stuttgart Germany as a 
Snd. Rng. Crmn. He was discharged in Sept, 1963 at Ft. Hamili- 
ton. New York but re-entered and served from Sept. 1963 to Aug, 
1964 in the 3rd Bn 26th Arty, at Ft. Sill, Okla as a Snd. Rng. Crmn. 
From Aug. 1964 to May 1965 he was in USA Primary Helicoptor 
School at Ft. Wolters, Texas and Ft. Rucker, Ala as a Student. He 
was discharged May 10, 1965 at Ft, Rucker Ala. but re-entered May 
11, 1965 at Ft. Rucker Ala. From July 195^to Sept. 1966 he was 
assigned to E Btry 82nd Arty 1st Cav. Div. in the Republic of Viet- 
nam as a Pilot. From Sept. 1966 to Sept 1967 he was in the 135 
Avn Co. at Ft Hood, Texas as a Pilot and was sent to Vietnam in 
Oct, 1967 for his second tour of duty. He was accidentally wounded 
on Nov, 9, 1967 in Vietnam when the gun of one of the men in his 
Co. accidentally discharged. The bullet went through his hand into 
his chest. He was hospitalized at the 23rd Evac. Hospital Vietnam 
and the 244 Gen. Hospital Asaka, Japan and the Fitzsimons Gen 
Hospital Denver, Colo. He was in the Vietnam Defensive and Viet- 
nam Offensive and in Nov 1965 was in the battle at lA Drang Valley 
and in Feb, 1966 the battle of Bong Son. He has received the Bronze 
Star, Air Medal with Oak Leaf Cluster, Vietnam Campaign Ribbon, 
Vietnaixi Service Ribbon, National Defense Ribbon, and Good Conduct 
Medal. He was promoted to 1st Lt. in Nov. 1967 and isnowa Heli- 
coptor Instructor at Ft, Wolters, Texas, 

Clark, A. B. , S/Sgt. Crew Chief, assistant Flight engineer on 
Boeing B- 29 Superfortress. 

Clark, Hiram, served in the Army Air Force January 1942 to 
January 1947. Discharged as Captain. 

Clark, Noah, entered service August 23, 1862 to January 20, 
1865 as a Second Lieutenant in Co. E, 1st O. V.H.A. Got an hon- 

-174- 



orable discharge at Knoxville, Kentucky. Pension $24 per month. 

Clark, Thomas, was born August 10, 1759 and died March 9, 
1831. Ensign in 13th. Virginia Regiment, in the Revolutionary- 
War December 29, 1776, Lieutenant April 15, 1777. Discharged 
September 14, 1778, light infantry. 

Clark, William, son of Thomas, born February 7, 1790, died 
July 11, 1849 in War of 1812. 

Clark, Appleton Blaine, son of Appleton Blaine Clark, "A. B. " 
Clark, the father is dead. When his mother married Mr, Foss, he 
was adopted by and his name was changed to FOSS, Blaine. As 
such he was inducted February 26, 1968, at Sioux Falls, South Da- 
kota, He was in basic training two months at Fort Lewis, Wash- 
ington, and was sent to Fort Ord, California, April 27, 1968, 
where he is taking training in Clerical Study this 10th day of May, 
1968. 

Clark, Dean Eldon, son of Clifford N. Clark, entered the ser- 
vice and was stationed at Fort Ord in California November 27, 1963, 
He was discharged November 26, 1965, from Fort Riley, Kansas, 
with the rank of P.F.C. 

Collins, Carl Morris, was born May 13, 1927, R, R. 2, Green- 
up, Illinois, and left there for service June 30, 1944, for Camp 
Ellis, Illinois, and was discharged February 12, 1947 at Ft, Sheri- 
dan, Illinois, He service number was 16 200 217. June, 1945 he 
west to Camp Robinson, Arkansas for Basic Training, and Novem- 
ber 1945 he went to 696 Eng. PETR Dist. Col, Leghorn, Italy. 
August, 1944 he was in ASTRP at Champaign, and held the rank of 
T/5. 1947 to 1951 he attended Eastern Illinois University on an 
Educational Grant, 

Conn, Donald Gordon, service number 303 01 58, was born 
December 11, 1929, in Douglas County, Illinois; and on December 
6, 1948, when he entered the U, S, Navy his residence was R. R. 
2, Tuscola, He entered the services at Champaign, Illinois, and 
was discharged December 5, 1949, at Headquarters, Ninth Naval 
District, Great Lakes, Illinois, On December 6, 1949, at Great 
Lakes he re-entered the service, and was discharged from the 
same place on December 6, 1955. 

Conn attended metalsmith school at the Aviation Fundament- 
als School, Memphis, Tennessee, and was assigned to the Tool 
Crib and Paint Crew for Airplane Repairs at Atlantic City, New 
Jersey, He also took special military courses at the Naval Base 
in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. His ratings during his tour of 
duty with the Navy included SR, AA, and AMAA. 

Outright, George Leo, was born Aug. 8, 1928 at Mattoon, 
Coles County, Illinois. He lived at Mattoon 111. when he enlisted 

-175- 



in the Army on April 15, 1948 at St. Louis, Missouri. His ser- 
vice No. was 16283 125. He was in the Infantry he completed 
leaders course and instructed there. He was chosen outstanding 
trainee in basic training and was awarded a U.S. Savings Bond. 
At time of discharge he was a Duty Non Commissioned Officer 
and instructed basic trainees. He was a member of Co. C, 37th 
Co B, 3rd armored Division, Fort Knox, Kentucky and Headquar- 
ters Co., 213th Eng., Fort Knox, Ky, His residence was Mat- 
tocjp, Illinois when he was discharged on Feb. 6, 1950 at Fort 
Knox, Kentucky. He now lives at Toledo, Cumberland County, 
Illinois. 

Davis, Earl S. , was born 30, Nov. 1891 at Aldersburg, Frank- 
lin Co. Ind. Address on entry and discharge was Hazel Dell, 111. 
He was a member of the Army, service no. 3444081. Date entered 
service was 13 June, 1918 at Toledo, 111. and was discharged 15, 
Sept. 1919 at Camp Grant, 111. Aug. 13, 1918, he was assigned 
to following: Co, 2 Water Tank Train 302, Camp Holabird, Md, as 
Truck Driver, In Nov. , 1918, he was transferr ed.^and sent to Quar- 
termaster Corps, Miramas Bouche-Du Rhone, France as clerk in 
2 M,C, office. He attended Rhae's Army School, North Kansas, 
City, Mo. and his rank was Cpl. 2MC. He is a member of Hazel 
Dell, 111. Legion. 

Dillier, Robert C. born Nov. 22, 1920, in Greenup, 111. He 
entered the U.S. Airforce Maj»ch 3, 1942, at Peoria, III. and was 
discharged Nov. 30, 1945 at March Field, Riverside, Calif, His 
service number is 16054382. 

Dunn, Robert Gerald was born April 16, 1896 at Greenup 111. 
Cumberland Co. Entered the army on April 28, 1918 at Toledo, 
111 his service Number was 2 417 601. He was assigned to Co, K. 
310th Inf. at Camp Dix, New Jersey about May 14, I9I8 about 
Sept. 1 I9I8 he was transferred to 3rd Bn Intelligence section 
some where in France on march to front line. His Division sailed 
for England May 20, 1918 and landed June 4th. Then on June 9, 
19 18 sailed for France where they trained until Sept. then went 
into action. He was over seas 1 year & 3 days with a little more 
than 13 months service altogether. He was in the service about 
23 days when he was sent over seas and had just got his uniform 
and equipment the night before he got on the boat. He was gassed 
in Muese Argonne Offensive and lost his voice for 2 months but 
did not go to hospital. He was promoted to PVT. 1st class in Aug- 
ust of I9I8. He participated in the following Campaigns; St. Mihiel 
offensive Sept. 12 to Sept 16 in 1918, Limey Sector Sept. 17 to Oct. 
5 in 1918 and Limey Mt. Plasir offensive Sept. 22, 1918 also the 
Muese Argonne Offensive Oct. 11 to Nov. 5, 1918. He received 

-176- 



the Victory Medal with clasps for St Mihiel and Muese Argonne 
Defensive Sector, He was discharged June 3, 1919 at Camp 
Grant, 111, and lives at Greenup, 111, 

Easton, Wilmer LeRoy (born April 22, 1925 at Cerro Gordo, 
Macon County, Illinois) was a resident of Greenup, Illinois, R. 
F,D. 3, the Liberty Hill community, at the time of his entry in- 
to the United States Marine Corps, He enlisted in Danville, Ill- 
inois at the Marine Recruiting Office, and was sworn in on March 
15, 1943 at Chicago, Illinois, His service number was 519603, 

W. L. Easton received his boot camp training at the San Diego 
Marine Corps Base. From there he was sent to Navy Pier in 
Chicago for six months of Aeronautics Mechanics school. At the 
end of this time he was promoted to P.F.C, He was then sent 
to Camp Miramar in California for about three months of further 
training and conditioning. He was then stationed at 87th and Anth- 
only Streets in Chicagoi'for five months more of Marine Aeronautic 
Mechanics School. At the end of this time, he was promoted to 
Corporal, After this he was sent to the Marine Air Base as ivlo- 
jave, California for ten months of line work and further training. 
While there he received the rank of Sergeant. From there he was 
sent overseas to Okinawa where he was a Line Chief participating 
in the air offensive against Japan until the War's end. While on 
Okinawa he was promoted to Staff Sergeant. He was honorably 
discharged on May 25, 1946 at Great Lake's, 

He returned to his home in Greenup, Illinois where he is a 
farmer. He is a member of the Greenup Veterans of Foreign 
Wars and the American Legion. 

Fancher, C. C, a Civil War veteran of Casey, 111, Brief 
sketch of the early life of C. C, Fancher was the Son of David 
Fancher was born at or near Westville, Ohio in the year of 1836. 
The family 7 children, 5 boys & 2 girls moved to Illinois in the 
year of 1849 and settled in Cumberland Co, 7 miles east of Green- 
up on the National Road, The Old Stage coach was drawn by 4 
horses which would seat about 8 passengers was the only method 
of transportation with relay stations for change of horses every 
10 or 20 miles apart. Railroads were not known here in the year 
of 1850. A telegraph line was put up along the National Road run- 
ing from Terre Haute to St, Louis which created no little excite- 
ment. The report was that they could send messages on the wire 
was looked upon as being incredible. Great droves of wild deer, 
Turkeys, wild geese and wild ducks and all kinds of smaller game 
were numerous. Hogs of attened on the mask and cattle on the 
ranges families were generally large run Bare-footed the most of 
the year lived on mush and milk and cornbread and had free ac- 



-177- 



cess to all kinds of meat and nothing to contend with by way of 
plagues. Only Ague and chills and Fever and the school mas- 
ters puzzle. Occasionally a preacher would wonder into the 
neighborhood and give a discourse on the wiles of the Devil or 
take the road that leads to Heaven. AH groceries and goods 
that was needed to supply the natives was hauled with the teams 
hitched to wagons which would take 3 days to make the trip from 
Greenup and back home. Goods would generally consist of Or- 
lean Sugar and Molasses, Barrel of Tar, Tobacco and Lead and 
Barrels of whiskey. The Hum Drum life was rather monotonous 
in these days but there was friendship that lasted. 

By C. C. Fancher 
Faulkner, Laverl "Bill" was born April 24, 1910 at Green- 
up, 111. and lived at Greenup when he enlisted in the U, S. Navy 
on Jan. Z2, 1942 at Effingham, 111, His service number was 
668-34-01. He received his boot training at Great Lakes, 111. 
and in Jan, 1942 he was a Seaman 3rd Class. On Feb, 14, 1942 
he entered the Great Lakes Naval Hospital and was hospitalized 
until April 1, 1942. He attended Gunnery School at Chicago 
Armory from May 1, 1942 until June 1, 1942. On June 7th, 1942 
he was assigned to a Cargo carrying ship the U.S.S. Caplan as 
a member of the gun crew with home base at Brooklyn, N. Y. 
His first trip was to Belfast Ireland and on Aug. of 1942 made 
trip to Manchester, England. On Nov, 15, 1942 was assigned 
to a Liberty ship, John J. Whitter, and made a trip to Oran, 
North Africa returning to N, Y. On Mar. 4, 1943 he left on trip 
around the world calling at ports of Colon in Panama Canal, Fre- 
mantle and Penth, Australia, ports in Persian Gulf, Durban and 
Capetown South Africa, Rio De Janerio, Buenos Aires, Trinidad 
South America and returned to N, Y. in Nov. 1943. On Mar. 
1944 he was assigned to a Tanker, U.S.S South Carolina, carry- 
ing oil and molassas between ports of Baltmore, Aruba, Veni- 
zuela and New Orleans, La. and returned to N. Y. in Nov, 1944. 
He was assigned to a Naval Base in Brooklyn from Nov. 1944 to 
Mar, 1945, From Mar. until Apr, he was assigned to Gunnery 
School in Norfork, Va, On April 13, 1945 he was transferred 
to Naval Base at Treasure Island at San Francisco, Calif, for 
duration of the war. He was a Boatswain 2nd Class when dis- 
charged on Sept. 15, 1945 at Great Lakes Naval Base his add- 
ress •was Greenup, 111. He was a member of the American Le- 
gion Post #515 Martinsville, 111. from 1946 to 1956. In 1956 he 
transferred to the American Legion Post #62 at Bridgeport, 111. 
In 1964 he joined the V.F.W. Post #2244 at Lawrenceville, 111, 
He was Post Commander of Post #62 of American Ledgion at 

-178- 



Bridgeport from 1962 to 1964 and Post Commander of Lawrence 
county Council of American Legion from 1965 to 1966. 

Ferguson, Harold Elwood, was born March 24, 1920, in 
Cumberland County, Illinois. His address at the time of his en- 
try into service was 842 West Sawyer Street, Decatur, 111. , with 
the same home address at the time of discharge. He was in the 
Army, and his Service No. was 36-061-450. He entered July 2, 
1942 at Scott Field, Belleville, Illinois, and was discharged 
November 26, 1945 . In 1942 he attended Tank Hull SOS S U S 
in Tank Power Training, He held the rank of T/3 in 1945, and 
participated in the Rhineland Central Campaign in Europe. He 
was awarded 1 Service Stripe, 3 Overseas Service Bars, Ameri- 
can Theater Ribbon, European, African-Middle Eastern Theatre 
Ribbon with two bronze battle stars, a Good Conduct Medal and 
a World War II Victory Medal 

Graham, Robert M., was born July 30, 1893 at Hazel Dell, 
111. His place of residence on entry and discharge was Hazel 
Dell, 111, He was a member of the Armed Forces, service no. 
2417606. He entered service Apr. 18, 1918 at Toledo, 111, and 
discharged Apr. 15, 1919 at Camp Grant, 111. Rank held was 
private. He participated in the following campaigns - -Defensive 
Bacearat Sector, Aug. 4, 1918-Sept. 16, 1918: Offensive- Meuse- 
Argonne Offense, Sept. 26, 1918, Ypres-Lys: Offense Oct. 31, 
1918-Nov. 4, 1918, Ypres-Lys Offense, Nov. 9, 1918-Nov, 11, 
1918. 

His Veteran benefits were National Bonus- - Pension 1953-to 
present. He is a member of the An^erican Legion, Hazel Dell, 
111. 

Greeson, Dexter Leon was born April 8, 1914 at Johnstown, 
111. in Cumberland Co. He lived at Neoga, 111. when he enlisted 
in the U. S. Army on July 1, 1933 at Ft. McPherson, Atlanta, 
Georgia. His service number was 6384560. He attended West 
Point Preperation School from July 1, 1933 to Oct, 1, 1933 and 
the Infantry School Detachment from Jan. 1, 1934 to March 31, 
1934. He was promoted to PVT 4th Class on June 1, 1934. He 
was discharged on July 1, 1934 at Ft. Benning, Ga. 29th, In, 
fantry HDQ, Co. His residence was at Neoga at time of discharge, 

Greeson, Ernest Alva enlisted as a private in 1941 and re- 
ceived training as a radio operator in Field Artillary. 

In 1942 he was appointed as aviation Cadet and received pilot 
training in Calif, Texas and Arizona. Upon completion he was 
commissioned a 2nd Lt, He was then selected as a pilot instruct- 
or. 

In 1945 he received training as a communication and electronic 

-179- 



officer and was sent to Japan in this capacity with the occupa- 
tion forces . 

In 1947 he was separated and continued formal education at 
Sacramento College, Calif. 

In 1951 he was recalled to active duty due to the Korean con- 
flict. He helped train men in control and warning of aircraft un- 
til 1952 when he went to the Philippines where he maintained an 
early warning site. He returned in 1954 and went back into full 
time flying in B-36 and B-52. 

He retired -as a Lt. Colonel in 1966 and resides in Alvin^Texas, 

Greesonj^/^^Tranklin, was born August 6, 1910 at Johnstown, 
Cumberland County, Illinois, His address at time of entry into 
service was Decatur, Illinois, and the same at time of discharge. 
He was in the Navy U, S. N. R. and his service number was 
944-17-13, He entered at Great Lakes, Illinois, and was dis- 
charged November 28, 1945 at the same place. May 28, 1944 
he was assigned to the U. S. S. Bell (D D 587) in the Pacific as 
a seaman. He held the ranks of A/S, S2/C, and Cox-Swain. He 
was assigned to the 3rd, and 7th. Fleets as escorts for Carriers 
and Battlewagons, and was in over 50 engagements. He was a- 
warded the Asiatic Pacific Ribbon with two Stars, Philippines Lib- 
eration with two stars, and the Victory Medal, 

Greeson, Marion Franklin was born at Johnstown 111, in Cum- 
berland Co, on July 11, 1916. He lived at Neoga, 111, when he 
enlisted in the Army on June 22, 19.45 at Chicago, 111. His ser- 
vice number was 46027569, On Nov. 11, 1945 he was assigned 
to (ETO) Army of occupation in Germany where he was a heavy 
truck driver. On Nov, 17, 1945 he participated in the following 
companies O M- T R K- Co, (A V N), -946 in Germany, On Nov, 
Y'3~6, i-94^-he was promoted to Corporal, The battles he was in 

were the Army Occupation Germany, African European, and Mid- 
dle East. He received the following decorations; Campaign Med- 
als, Overseas Bar, Service Ribbons, and Germany Ribbon. He 
was discharged July 6, 1946 at Cainp McCoy, Wisconsin. His 
residence was Neoga at tirae of discharge. He is a member of the 
American Legion Post 458 at Neoga, 111, 

Greeson, Ralph Waldo was born March 12, 1896 in Cumber- 
land County, 111, He lived at Toledo, 111. when he entered the 
Navy- USNRF on Nov. 19, 1917 at Great Lakes, 111. His ser- 
vice number was 161-89-32. He was assigned to the following; 
Great Lakes Training Station, Philadelphia Navy Yard in Penn- 
sylvania his duty was disbursing and U. S. S Trippe at Queens- 
town, Ireland in Convoy. The special military courses and 
schools attended were Seaman School and Great Lakes Training 

-180- 



Station. He was a Y3C USNRF on Nov. 19, 1917, Y2C USNRF 
on June 15, 1918, YIC USNRF on Nov. 15, 1918. He partici- 
pated in the following campaigns Convoy Duty, Destroyer, 1918. 
Theater of operation was in the Altantic Ocean and the English 
Channel, He was discharged Sept. 30, 1921 at Great Lakes, 111, 
and lived at Toledo, 111. He was a member of Mumford Post 
No, 764, American Legion, at Toledo, Illinois, 

Greeson, Sidney Vernon, was born March 4, 1926 at Neoga 
111. in Cumberland Co. He lived in Neoga, 111. when he enlisted 
in the Air Force on June 10, 1944 at Fort Sheridan. His ser- 
vice number was 16195222. In October 1945 he was in the Paci- 
fic Air Command at Manila where he was a Radio Operator &; 
Mechanic Plane to Ground Communications. On February 1945 
he attended a 26 weeks course Radio Operation &; Mechanics, 
AFFTS, Scott Field, 111, He was hospitalized July 1944 at 
Sheppard Field, Texas for the removal of a Cyst on bottom of 
spine and was discharged Dec. 1944. On Feb, 1946 he was a 
PFC and on March 1946 he became a CPL. The theater of oper- 
ation he participated in was the Asiatic Pacific at Manila in 
October of 1945. The Service ribbons he received were the 
American Theater and the Asiatic Pacific Theater. His resi- 
dence was Neoga, 111. when he was discharged on May 21, 1946 
at Fort Sheridan. In 1946 he received 14 months on job train- 
ing in dry cleaning. In 1946 he was a member of the American 
Legion for 1 year. 

Herr, W. T. a Civil War veteran. Born 8, Dec. 1847 on 
farm near Attica Fountain Co., Ind. Age 81 years. Volun- 
teered in Co. B, 135th Ind Regiment in April 1864 serving my 
timie out married Nancy Jane Hays of Attica, Ind. in 1873, 
Born, two children, Kitty and Gar Herr, Wife died in 19--. 
Since then spent most of my life time on the farm. Lived in 
Greenup 20 years. Came to 111., in 1882. (unable to read the 
last four lines. ) Written by W. T. Herr 

Hickle, Capt. A. R., Greenup, who is aboard The Fighting 
Lady aircraft Yorktown with the U. ■ S. Pacific Fleet helped the 
"Bulldogs" of VMA-223 Det TANGO attain another first recently 
when all six pilots under Capt. Hickle, who is officer in charge 
of the Squadron became Centurions, 

The achievement is made even more notable because all 
detachment pilots arrived at their status on the same day by 
snaring 35 traps in 35 passes. 

To arrive at this mark the Bulldogs logged 600 arrested land- 
ings aboard Yorktown in 53 flying days. Last to arrive at the 
distinctivernark was Capt. A. R. Hickle, Bulldog Officer in- 

-181- 



Charge, who in doing so, spiked his 100th landing since depart- 
ing Long Beach. 

The six new Centurions tip their hard hats to the outstanding 
efforts of all detachment personnel, the LSO's and the crew of 
the Fighting Lady for making this record possible. 

Others in the Squadron included: 1st Lt. Dave Durham, 1st 
Lt. R« E. Enis, Capt. M. T. Fountain, Capt, Don Crowe, and 
1st Lt. R. J. Gregor. 

Capt. Hickle's wife, the former Judy McFarling, and their 
three children reside in Greenup in 1966. 

He is now stationed in California. (1968) 

Holt, Edwin Hugh was born Feb. 14, 1925, Greenup, 111. 
His address on entry and discharge in service was 1002 Madison 
St., Charleston, 111, He was a member of the Coast Guard, ser- 
vice no. 529-841. Date entered the service was June 17, 1942 
at Peoria, 111. and the date discharged was Feb. 26, 1945 at St. 
Louis, He had special military courses in Sonar. 

iJoU.^ ^George LeRoy, A 1/C, Service No. A. F. 17359294, 

born June 5, 1932, Greenup, Cumberland County, Illinois, en- 
tered Armed Services April 29, 1952, at St. Louis, Missouri, 
and was discharged honorable April 28, 1956, his discharge be- 
ing issued by Myron E. Thomas, U, S. A. F. Captain. His 
basic training was taken at Lackland Air Force Base, San Anton- 
io, Texas, He was assigned to Westover Air Force Base, Spring- 
field, Massachusetts. His term of military service was during 
the Korean War. He kept records in the Band Office (Music. ) 
Later he was schooled in IBM where he served in the office IBM 
machines two years where many servicemen's records were 
kept. In 1955 he was transferred to Sampson Air Force Base, 
Geneva, New York, 1141 Medical Service Det. Hospital, in off- 
ice of IBM records of servicemen for the remaining two years 
before receiving his discharge. 

Holt, Richard Hugh, born 18 Nov. 1944, New York City, N. 
Y, , who address was Sadorus, 111, on entry in service and add- 
ress on discharge was Areola, 111. was a member of the Air 
Force, service no. AF 16775442. Date entered the service was 
18 Aug., 1963 at Champaign, 111, and date discharged was 18 
Aug., 1967 at Grand Forks A.F.B. North Dakota. He took 
courses in Electronics. 

Howard, Dwight E. was born 28 -August- 1938 in St. Louis, 
Missouri, He entered the Army 1 -November- 1 956 in St. Louis, 
Missouri, and was discharged on 1 -November - 1959 at Ft. Meade, 
Maryland. On 1-November 1956 he was assigned to Ft, Leo- 
nard Wood, Missouri, for Basic Training. Later he was assigned 

-182- 



to A, p. G. , Aberdeen Proving Ground in Maryland, Auto- Wheel 
and Track Mechanic's School, then 175 Ord. Co. (FS) lot Ord. Bn. , 
Ft. Mead, Maryland as a niechanic. He was in Aviation Mech. 
Sc. Ft. Rocker, Alabama, Aviation Mech. Sc., Indian Town Gap, 
Pennsylvania, as acting Motor Sgt, and Aviation Mech, Sc. Ft. 
Rocker, Alabama, Automotive Wheel and track Mech, He took 
Special Military Courses at Aberdeen Proving Ground, Maryland. 
1-November he was Pvt. El, and on 1 -November - 1959 was made 
Spec, /4. 

Hurt, Eli Mitchell, was born January 28, 1844, in Carroll 
County, Kentucky. He entered the Union Army at the age of 18 
years on August 21, 1862, and was discharged from Louisville, 
Kentucky July 12, 1865. He was assigned to Company A. 11th, 
Kentucky Cavalry, 

Hutson, Cloyce Eigene born August 14, 1922, at Hidalgo, 
Illinois, entered the Array July 7, 1943, at Camp Grant, Illinois, 
and it was also his home address at time of his discharge. 

He was assigned to the Anti-Air Craft, 982 Engineers, Camp 
Callan, Calfiornia. He received special military courses at the 
General Maintenance School for Anti-Air Craft Batallions, He 
entered the army in 1943 as a private, being promoted to rank of 
Tech, 5 in 1944, the rank he held when discharged. 

In 1944-45 he participated in the campaigns at Rhineland and 
Central Europe in the Eastern Theater of Operation. 

He received two Overseas Service Barsf American Campaign 
Medal; European African- Middle Eastern Theater Ribbon with two 
Bronze Battle Stars; the Good Conduct Medal, and World War II 
Victory Medal. 

He is a member of the Greenup, Illinois, chapters of the Vet- 
erans of Foreign Wars and American Legion. 

His Army Service number was 36673197. 

Jackson, Felding, was born in Charleston, Illinois, and enter- 
ed the Army from there January 11, 1863, He died in the service 
September 9, 1863, at Hempstead, Texas. 

Jones, William Chester was born August the 27, 1847 in Hari- 

can township and was afterwards onto Union township. 

I was born on what is known as the George Jabe farm. When I was 
15 years and 3 months old I enlisted in the army in 17th Calvary, 
I wounded 2 times and 2 horses shot from under me. 

By Wm, C. Jones 

King, Donald R, was born November 4, 1922 in Neoga, Illin- 
ois. Before entering the service he lived on Eastern Point Road, 
Groton, Connecticut and worked for the Electric Boan Company 
in that city. He entered the Navy on May 5, 1944 at Hartford, 

-183- 



Conn, with the service number 8990888, His assignments were 
as follows: May 5, 1944, Basic training, Sampson, New York; 
June 30, 1944, Guard duty of Prisoners, Shoemaker, California; 
July 28, 1944, Guard Duty on Base at Alameda Naval Air Base, 
Alameda, Calif; Dec, 3, 1944, Deck and Gunnery Division of 
the U.S.S, Belleau Wood CVL 24, an aircraft carrier. He parti- 
cipated in February raids on Tokeyo, Iwo Jima and Okinawa, 
On Jan. 1945 he attained the rank of S 1/C, He received the fol- 
lowing decorations and medals: American Theater Campaign 
Ribbon; Victory Campaign Medal; Third Fleet Raids of July and 
August, Bronze Star; Asiatic - Pacific Campaign Ribbon and his 
ship recieved the Presidential Unit Citatioli. He was discharged 
May 7, 1946 at Great Lakes, Illinois. He trained for one year 
under the G.I, Bill, He became a member of the Veterans of 
Foreign Wars of New London, Conn, in 1950. His address at 
the time of his discharge was 107 Monument Street, Groton, Conn, 
He and his wife now reside in Gales Ferry, Conn, where he is 
employed with Pfizer Chemical Company. 

Latta, John Worley born at Paris, Ohio Nov. 1, 1841, came 
to 111. Apr, 1851, located 3 miles north west of Greenup, Colery 
broke out in the neighborhood. My father and mother moved to 
Marshall in Aug. My mother died Sept 9 same year. My father 
died 10th of Oct, 1852. A Gardian was put over us children and 
he bound me out for 3 1/2 years. I ran off and west to Pittsfield, 
Pike CO. Was there when Douglas &: Lincoln canvassed the state 
in 1858, I joined the army 28th of July 1861. Was in the Battle 
of Shilo &: Corninth, Miss, April 6 &; 7 at Corinth Oct. 4 and 5th 
1862 was in the battle at Brices Cross road June 10, 1864, 

Leohr, Walter N, was born near Hazel Dell, 111. Place of 
residence on entry and discharge from service was Hazel Dell, 
111. He was a member of the army forces, service no, 3485013. 
He entered service 27 May, 1918 at Marshall, 111, and was dis- 
charged 12 Dec, 1918 at Camp McClellan, Alabama. He was 
assigned to the following- - 6 1 st Co, 6th Inf. Repl, Reg, at Camp 
Gorgon, Georgia, duty assignment was the infantry. Rank held 
was private. Veterans benefits received was the 111. Bonus, He 
is a member of the American Legion Post 1230, Hazel Dell, 111, 

Madlem, John was born in Pennsylvania and came to Ohio in 
1850, He fought in the Civil War as a boy of 15 years. In 1870 
he came to Illinois, He and his wife, Louise (Smith) had six 
children (1) Ora married Nancy Eveland; (2) Will T, born Aug, 
11, 1875 in Cumberland Col, 111., and married Flora Glosser 
on Dec. 18, 1904, he died June 1, 1957 and is buried in the 
Block cemeterv; (3) Jane married Ulysses Walden; (4) Charles 

-184- 



Maud Slusser; (5) Isaac married Nora Roberts; and (6) Cecile 
married Lewis Brown, The parents of Flora Glosser were 
John and Clara (Hutchison) Glosser. 

Miller, William H. , was born January 3, 1913 in Ohio 
County, Indiana. His address at the time of entry into service 
was Olney, 111. and on discharge it was Ohio County, Indiana. 
He was a member of the Air Force, and his service number 
was 36 057 303. He entered the service in May, 1942 from 
Olney, Richland County, 111 and was discharged at Patterson 
Field, Ohio in October, 1945. He attended A A F T T A, Flint, 
Michigan, and was later hospitalized for yellow fever. In May, 
1945 he held the rank of Staff Sgt. In February he participated 
in the FAME theater of operations, and was there in April 
26, 1945. He was in Tunisia, Naples -Foggia, and Rome-Arno 
Battles. He earned the European- Africa, Middle East Ribbon 
with 3 bronze stars, and the Good Conduct Medal with clasp. 

Mitchell, Dale, born July 2 1, 1920, Cumberland County, 
Illinois, entered the Army Air Force from Greenup, Illinois, 
March 30, 1943, being inducted at Camp Grant, Illinois, and 
discharged from that same camp December 30, 1945. His ser- 
vice number Vv'as 36 742 811, 

Basic training for Mitchell was given at Camp Grant, Illin- 
ois, April, 1943; A, S. T, P. University of Illinois, Champaign, 
May 1943; Combat Engineers, Camp Ellis, Illinois; Air Force - 
Jefferson Barracks, Missouri, November, 1943; OshKosh Tea- 
chers College, OshKosh, Wisconsin, December, 1943; Camp 
McCoy, Wisconsin, March 1944; Combat Infantry, 76th Division, 
August, 1944, to Ft. Sheridan Combat Cooking School, Nov- 
ember, 1944. 

S/Sgt. A.D. Mitchell was sent to Camp Miles Standish, Mass- 
achusetts, preparatory to overseas duty, embarking Thanksgiv- 
ing Day, November, 1944, for England. He arrived in South Hamp- 
ton, England, December, 1944, LaHarve, France, January, 1945; 
Battle of the Bulge, January, 1945; in the command of General 
Patton's battles in Ardennes, Rhineland, and Central Europe, 

Among citations received were Combat Infantry Badge; Sharp 
Shooter Medal; Marksman- Carbine ; 2 overseas Service Bars; 
American Campaign Medal; European-African-Middle Eastern 
Theater Ribbon with 3 bronze battle stars; Good Conduct Medal; 
World War II Victory Medal. 

He is a member of the Veterans of Foreign Wars and Ameri- 
can Legion both organizations in Greenup, Illinois, 

Mock, John H. "Bill", was born December 2, 1918 in Toledo, 
Illinois, and from there he entered the service November 26, 1941, 



•185- 



at Camp Grant at Rockford, Illinois, He was discharged Sept- 
ember 5, 1945, at Fort McPherson, Georgia, Nov. 26, 1941 
he was assigned to Camp Grant, Rockford, 111. for induction, 
then in Dec. 4, 1941, he went to Camp Croft, Spartensburg, 
South Caroline for Basic Training. March 15, 1942, Co. 1, 135th 
Infantry, 34th. Division, Ft. Dix, N. J. as Infantryman. April 
30, 1942 he embarked for North Ireland for Infantry Training, and 
landed there May 13, 1942. October 20, 1942, they embarked for 
an unknown destination and landed at Algiers, North Africa, Nov. 
8, for the African Invasion. September 10, 1943 they embarked 
again for an unknown destination, and landed at Salerno Italy, on 
the 15th, he as Infantryman Squad Leader. March 26, 1944 he 
landed at Anzio Beach Head as Platoon Seargent, and May 11, he 
left the 34th. Division for the United States on Rotation plan. 

June 9 he landed in New York for first furlough of twenty- one 
days, and July 5, 1944, v/ent to Camp Butner, North Carolina 
for reassignment., which was to Welch Convalescent Hospital 
at Daytona Beach, Florida, as a Sergeant Major. 

February 2, 1944, he was hospitalized for wounds received 
at Cassino, Italy, and released Feb. 18,^1944. Nov. 26, 1941 
Bill was a private, April 1, 1943, Private First Class, May 

10, 1943 was made Corporal, and Oct. 25, 1943 a Seargent, Feb. 
1, 1944 was Staff Seargent, and March 1, 1944 Tech. Seargent. 

In Nov. 8, 1942 he was in the Invasion of North Africa, and 
May 8, 1943 the Tunisian Campaign, both in European Theater. 
Sept, 15, 1943 he took part in the Invasion of Italy, and March 

11, 1944 in the Invasion of Anzio Beach, both in the Italian Theater 
of War. 

Nov. 8, 1942 was the Invasion of North Africa, landing at 
Algiers, and made sixty air raids in 62 days. Feb. 11, 1943 
he was in Sidi Bel, North Africa, and the 14th^in Pichan, and on 
the 18th. Faid Pass, Kasserine and Fondouk Pass, all in North 
Africa. March 26, 1943 was the Battle of Fondouk Pass, 27th. 
the battle of Hill 609 which they took in 30 days and nights. May 
8 the African Campaign was over, the Germans . surrendered. Sept. 
21, 1943 was the landing of Salerno Beach, Italy. Oct. 14, there 
were the First, Second, and Third Cros sing of the Volturno River, 
Nov. 28, the Battle of Monte Pantano, and Dec. 30 the Crossing of 
the Rapido River. Jan. 8, 1944 was the Battle of Monte Trocchio, 
the 20th the Cassino. Feb. 2, 1944 the Battle of Abby of Cassino, 
John "Bill" was wounded. March 11, 1944 he was in the Battle of 
Anzio Beach. 

Medals and Decorations earned by John Mock were the Silver 
Star, Bronze Star medal. Purple Heart, Good Conduct, European 

-186- 



Theater Ribbon with 5 stars, 3 Arrowheads, Unit Citation, In- 
fantry Combat Badge, Pre-Pearl Harbor Badge, and American 
Defense Ribbon. 

He is a member of Veterans of Foreign Wars, Post 4598, 
Greenup, Illinois, and the American Legion, Post 764, Toledo, 
Illinois, His service number was 36 306 777. 

Monroney, Pearl F. was born Hazel Dell, 

Cumberland County, Illinois, a daughter of William L. and Min- 
nie P. Monroney, and was graduated from the Casey township 
High School in May, 1925. 

When the WAAC was organized in 1942, during World War 
II, Pearl enlisted in September, 1942, and from her basic train- 
ing in DesMoines, Iowa, she was assigned to an advanced over- 
seas unit that was made part of the U.S. Army at Ft. Devens , 
Mass. She served three years on the East Coast and in Europe. 
She was assigned to British and American offices of the G-2 
intelligence Division, operating at SHAEF (General Eisenhower's) 
Hdgs, She was discharged in October, 1945, 

Pearl has spent most of her employment time in Chicago and 
visiting in Hazel Dell and Casey occasionally. 

McCandlish, Fred Raymond was born IS-April- 1893, near Tol- 
edo, Cumberland County, Illinois, He enlisted in the Army at 
Jefferson Barracks, St. Louis, Missouri, On 14-December- 19 17, 
and was discharged at S. O. Headquarters, Camp Grant, Rockford, 
Illinois. The Quartermaster Corps Company "B " was in Wash- 
ington D. C. ready to leave for France when the Armistice was 
signed, they did not go "over there". He is a member of the Wiley 
Mumford Post No, 764, American Legion, Toledo, Cumberland 
County, Illinois, 

Neeley, John J, enlisted on the 5th day of December, 1861, 
from Allen County, Ohio, to serve three years or during the war, 
and was mustered into the United States service at Findlay, Ohio, 
December 9, 1861, as a private of Captain Samuel R. Mott's Com- 
pany "C" 57th Regiment, Ohio Volunteer Infantry, Colonel William 
Mungen commanding. 

The regiment rendevoused at Camp Vance, Findlay, Ohio, in 
the fall of 1861, where it was partially organized, and from whence 
it moved to Camp Chase, Columbus, Ohio, January 22, 1862, under 
orders to report at Fort Donelson., Tennessee, but upon its ar- 
rival at Smithland, Kentucky, this order was countermanded and 
the regiment proceeded to Paducah, Kentucky, where it was as- 
signed to the 3rd Brigade, 3rd Division, 15th Corps of the same 
army, and during its service participated in the following engage- 
ments: Shiloh or Pittsburg landing, Tennessee; Wolf Creek 

-187- 



Bridge, Chickasaw Bayou, Mississippi; Arkansas Post or Fort 
Hindman, Arkansas; siege and assault of Vicksburg and Jack- 
son, Mississippi, ; Lookout Mountain and Missionary Ridge, Tenn. 
essee; Snake Creek Gap, Dallas or New Hope Church, Kenesaw 
Mountain, seige of Altanta, Jones Brook, Fort McAllister, Savan- 
nah, Georgia; Fayctteville, Bentonville, and Goldsboro, North 
Carolina; and a number of minor engagements and skirmishes. 

After the surrender of Confederate General Johnston to Gen- 
eral Sherman at Bennett House, near Raleigh, N, C, the regi- 
ment marched by way of Peter sburg and Richmond, Virginia, to 
Washington, D. C, , where it participated in the Grand Review 
May 24, 1865, after which it moved to Kentucky and Arkansas, 
The regiment travelled by railroad, steamboat and on foot over 
the twenty-eight thousand miles while in the service, 

John J. Neeley v/as constantly with his command from the 
time of his enlistment, participating in all its engagements and 
campaigns, being detailed about fourteen months after his en- 
listment, as teamster, serving in that capacity until mustered 
out of the service. He performed gallant and meritorious duty 
at all times, and earned high commendation for faithful service. 

He received an Honorable Discharge at Fort McAllister near 
Savannah, Georgia' January 2, 1865, by reason of expiration of 
his term of service. 

Nichols, Fred Eugene, was born January 1, 1926, in Green- 
up, Illinois, from which place he entered the service February 
8, 1943, and where he returned when discharged at Jacksonville, 
Florida, January 25, 1947, At first he went to Great Lakes 
Naval Training Center, Great Lakes, Illinois, then in April, 1943 
he was assigned to Amphibious Training, at Little Creek, Va. as 
a Diesel Maintainance man. In July, 1943, he was assigned to 
the European Theatre at Bedeford, England in Invasion Tactics, 
He attended Diesel Training at Little Creek, Va. He held the rank 
of M O M M 2/C, June 6, 1944 he participated in the Invasion 
of Normandy in the European Theater, in the Initial Invasion, He 
was awarded the Over Seas Medal, Normandy Campaign Ribbon 
and the Good Conduct Medal, He received Veteran's benefits for 
Pilot Training. His service number was 775 01 57. 

Nichols, Raymond W. , was born January 24, 1895 in Green- 
up Illinois, from where he entered the Army May 28, 1918, He 
was discharged January 14, 1919, at Camp Euster, Michigan, 
his number was 21 268 361. He was assigned to the 10th. Infan- 
try at Indianapolis, Indiana. Later he was a Corporal in Co, M. , 
77th. Infantry at Camp Custer, Michigan. 

Perisho, Norman Wayne, Service No. 16052738, was born 



-li 



November 7, 1913, south of Vevay Park, Cumberland County, 
Illinois. His address on entering the Army January 13, 1942, 
was Greenup, Illinois, and was also the same address when he was 
honorably discharged December 19, 1945. Cci^yu^ Jg^^l^^Tvl, 

He received training at Camp Cook on the desert at Stockton, 
California, and sailed from Camp Kilmer, New Jersey, with 502nd 
Quartermaster Car Company, April, 1944, Later, about October, 
1944, he was transferred to 3709 Quarter-Master Truck Company. 

He was hospitalized in England a short time with hand and 
foot injuries in May, 1944, where he made complete recovery. 

He served with the rank of Staff Sgt. in the African-European 
Theater, Normandy, Northern France, Rhineland, and Central 
Europe, as well as in England, France, Germany, and Austria 
where he was located when the war ended. 

He received the Good Conduct Medal, four Bronze Battle Medals, 
three Service Bars, one Service World War II Victory Medal Strip. 

Roberts, John W., Sr., was born June 28, 1913 at Greenup, 
Illinois, from where he entered the service of the Army in March, 
1944, his number was 36 954 913. He was discharged June, 1946, 
at Mayo General Hospital, Galesburg, Illinois. He was inducted 
at Ft. Sheridan, Illinois. In 1945 he was assigned to the South 
West Pacific on Army duty, and participated in campaigns in that 
theater of operations. He is a member of the American Legion 
and Veterans of Foreign Wars, both in Greenup, Illinois. John 
W. Roberts, Sr. is now a State Trooper. 

Roberts, Mac K. was born June 7, 1919 in Cumberland Co., 
111. , and left Greenup, 111. for service in the Army Air Force, 
in Chicago, 111. October 20, 1943. He was discharged from the 
service September 6, 1945 in Chicago, 111. August 1, 1944 he 
was assigned to the 8th Air Force in England as a gunner. He be- 
came a Staff Sergeant. He participated in the Naples - Foggis, Rome- 
Arno, Ardennes, and Rhineland Campaigns. He was given the Euro- 
pean Ribbon with 4 Battle Stars, Air Medal with 4 Clusters, and the 
Purple Heart Medal. He is a member of the Veterans of Foreign War 
post 4598, Greenup, Illinois. His service number was 3669908. 

Sappinton, Franklin H. , was born May 17, 1915 in Cottonwood 
township, Cumberland County, Illinois. He entered the service 
December 23, 1942 from Greenup, Illinois and returned to rural 
Greenup on his discharge June 23, 1943, from Needles, California. 
He en'tered at Fort Sheridan, Chicago, Illinois January 1, 1943, he 
was assigned to D. Co. 123 Inf. , 33rd Div. at Ft. Lewis, Washing- 
ton, for training, for Army. 

Schooley, Richard, service number 6840630, was born May 2, 
1943, at Natcoke, Pennsylvania, and was living at 22 Everhart. 

-189- 



Street, Buttonwood, Pennsylvania when he entered the U, S. Na- 
vy on July 30, 1962, at Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania. 

From March to June, 1963, Schooley was located in Japan, 
From November , 1965, to May, 1966, he was engaged in the 
Vietnam Conflict, and was discharged July 4, 1966, in Vietnam. 
Schooley re-entered the armed services that same day in Viet- 
nam, 

On November 30, 1966, he was assigned to the U. S. S. Brush 
D D745, at Long Beach, California, as a Boilerman. He has at- 
tended Boilerman School in Philadelphia. 

Schooley has received the Vietnam Service Medal and Ribbon; 
the Good Conduct Service Medal and Ribbon; the National Defense 
Service Medal and Ribbon; and the Vietnam Expeditionary Medal, 

Short, James Avery, was born October Z6, 1917 in Cumber- 
land County, Illinois, Neoga was his address when he entered 
the Navy, and also when he was discharged from service. He 
entered December 2, 1941, at Great Lakes, Illinois and was dis- 
charged September 22, 1945 at Shoemaker, California. His ser- 
vice number was 668 08 95. He was assigned to the U, S. S. 
Neeches (A047) in the Pacific Theater as Storekeeper, He had 
been to Storekeeper School in Toledo, Ohio. He held the ranks 
of AS, S2C, SK3C, SK2C, SKIC, CSK (AA) (T), 

James received the Illinois State Bonus for Veterans, he be- 
longs to the American Legion (Votaw- Swank- Post 458) at Neoga, 
Illinois. 

Short, William Votaw (born October 25, 1914, in Cumber- 
land County at Neoga) lived in Neoga at the time of his entry into 
the United States Naval Reserve. He was sworn in on December 
12, 1943 at Chicago, Illinois. His service number was 942-93-38. 

His boot camp training was taken at Sampson Naval Training 
Center at Geneva, New York, Upon completion of this, he started 
with his training as a Radio Technician. He attended schools at 
Utah State College, Logan, Utah, and at Navy Pier, Chicago, Ill- 
inois, for a period of nine months. He was then sent to a commun- 
ication Installation School at Noroton Heights, Connecticut. In 
August of 1945, he became Radio Technician, First Class, 

William Votaw Short was honorably discharged on November 
11, 1945 at the Great Lakes Naval Training Center, He returned 
to Neoga to resume his position with the Short Furniture Store. He 
is a member of the Votaw Swank American Legion at Neoga, Illinois, 

Shull, Robert B. was born Mar. 11, 1840 at Fairfield County, 
Ohio and lived at Greenup, 111 when he entered the Army on July 
19, 1862 at Chicago, 111. His service Number was S C 762 3 18. He 
was assigned to Co, B97 Regiment Hi, Volunteer Infantry during 

-190- 



the Civil War and was in the battle of Vicksburg. He was a Ser- 
geant when he was discharged on July 29, 1865 at Galveston, Texas 
and his address was Greenup, 111. He received a $90 per month 
pension at time of his death in 1927, He was a member of the G, 
A, R. Smeidel Post No. 257 at Greenup, 111, which he joined on 
June 17, 1889. 

Snearly, Earl Arthur, was born Jan. 30, 1898 at Greenup, 
111. and entered the Navy from Peoria, 111. on Aug, 6, 1918, 
His service number was 29566, He was discharged from Hoboken, 
N. J, on July 3, 1919. Earl was assigned to the Battleship U. S, 
S. Kentucky and a Transport Ship, U, S, S. Santa Rosa, His rank 
was Machinist Mate 2nd Class. 

Snearley, Earl, was born Feb. 14, 1924 at Greenup, 111, and 
entered the Marines from St, Louis, Mo. on Nov, 21, 1942. He 
was discharged Aug, 30, 1946 at Great Lakes, 111, Earl attended 
the Eleventh Platoon Cammanders School, Quantico, Va, On Aug. 
1, 1945 he was promoted to Second Lieutenant, His Theater of 
operation was in Japan and his service number was 047 108. 

Sowers, Berl Dean "Jim'', was born November 14, 1932 in 
Greenup, Illinois. 

On January 3 1, 1953, "Jim" enlisted in the Marine Corps at 
Indianapolis, Indiana. His service number was 1325299 and he 
received his boot training at San Diego, California. 

April 16, 1953, "Jim" became a Pfc .; June 15, 1954 a Cpl, ; 
December 1, 1955 a Sgt, 

"Jim" received the Korean Service Medal, The United Nations 
Medal, National Defense Service Medal and the Good Conduct 
Medal. 

January 30, 1956. "Jim" was separated from the Marine Corps 
at New River, North Carolina and January 31, 1961, he received 
his discharge, 

October 16, 1965, "Jim" became a member of the V. F, W. 
Post No, 4598 in Greenup, Illinois, 

Sowers, Carol Hobert "Pete", was born March 16, 1922 near 
Hidalgo, Illinois. He was living in Greenup when he was inducted 
into the Army, September 19, 1942, at Camp Grant in Chicago, 
111. His service number was 36374035, "Pete" was assigned to 
the 508th C A C at Camp Stewart, Georgia for basic training. In 
October, 1942, he was assigned to the 360th AAA Bn, A Btry. in 
Africa and Italy as a lineman and switchboard operator; in 1944, 
to the 306th AAA Bn. C Btry. in Italy as a switchboard operator; 
in 1945, to the 88th Signal Co. in Italy as a switchboard operator. 

"Pete" went in a Pvt, advanced to Pfc. and then to T/5. He 
spent nearly a year on Port and Harbor Defense in North Africa and 

-191- 



participated in the Rome-Arno, North Appennines and Po Valley- 
Campaigns in the European Theater of Operation, 

He was awarded one Service Stripe; five Overseas Bars; Eur- 
opean, African, Middle Eastern Theater Ribbon with three Bronze 
Battle Stars; Good Conduct Medal and World War II Victory Medal, 

"Pete" received his discharge on November 13, 1945 at Camp 
Grant in Chicago. 

He has received the Illinois State Bonus and four years of On 
the Farm Training, 

He is^a member of V. F. W, Post No, 4598 in Greenup, Illin- 
ois. East Elizabeth Street in Greenup is his home address at this 
time. 

Sowers, Kenneth John, was born November 10, 1927 in Green- 
up, Illinois, He was living in Greenup when he was inducted into 
the Army March 12, 1946 at Chicago, Illinois, His service num- 
ber was 16208082. 

Kenneth advanced to Pfc. and was an Automatic Rifleman, He 
received the World War II Victory Medal and was discharged Sept- 
ember 11, 1947 at Camp Carson, Colorado. 

Sowers, Richard Wayne, was born January 10, 1930 in Green- 
up, Illinois, He was living in Greenup when he was inducted into 
the Army, June 21, 1951 at St, Louis, Missouri. Richard's ser- 
vice number was U. S. 55158162, June 22, 1951, he was assigned 
to the Recp, Center, Ft, Custer, Michigan for tests and clothing. 
After basic training at the Aberdeen Proving Ground in Maryland, 
he attended twelve weeks at Ord, School at A, P. G, , Md. in Hvy, 
A, A, A. Control System Repair. 

February 7, 1952, Richard was assigned to the 88th Ord. Hvy, 
Maint, Co. for R, C, S. Repair in Mannheim, Germany. April 
24, 1952, he promoted to Pfc. and December 29, 1952 to Cpl, 

Richard received the Good Conduct Medal-and Army of Occu- 
pation Medal (Germany). 

He has taken a correspondence course on Radio and T V Re- 
pair as a veteran benefit. 

Richard joined the American Legion in Greenup in 1954, 

He was separated from the Army May 26, 1953 at Camp Brech- 
enridge, Kentucky and he was living in Bethany, Illinois when he 
received his discharge, August 4, 1959. He resides in Bethany 
with his family, 

Strader, Richard L, (service number 2013543), was born Jan- 
uary 3, 1945, at Paris, Edgar County, Illinois, and was living at 
Neoga, Illinois at the time he entered the U. S. Marines on April 
4, 1962, at Decatur, Illinois. At the time of his discharge April 
22, 1965, and re-entry into the Marines at Charleston, South 

-192- 



Carolina on the same date, his home address was Box 325, Neoga, 
Illinois. 

He attended Aviation Supply School at the Naval Aviation Tech- 
nical Training Center at Memphis, Tennessee, and on January 1, 
1966, was a corporal. 

Strader was not engaged in any battles or campaigns. He has 
been awarded the National Defense Service Ribbon and the Good 
Conduct Medal, He does not belong to a veteran's organization 
and has received no pension or other veteran benefits. 

Strain, Owen entered U, S. Army Oct. 4, 1917 at Toledo, 111., 
Cumberland Co, He was discharged at Camp Taylor, Louisville, 
Ky., on May 19, 1919. 

Tippett, Luke A., was born June 6, 1908 in Toledo, Bl, His 
address on entry and discharge from service was Toledo, 111. He 
was a member of the Army forces, service no, 36714193. Date 
entered the service was Nov, 30, 1942, at Camp Grant, 111. and 
date discharged was Sept, 15, 1945 at Camp Attebury, Ind. He was 
assigned to the following- - 1560th Service Command Unit at Seattle, 
Wash., at message center. Other assignments were 37th Inf. Regi- 
ment 106th Inf. Detached Service -39th Coast Artillery and 773rd 
Anti-Aircraft Artillery Brigade. He taught at Camp Attebury, Ind, 
Rank held was PFC. He received a good conduct ribbon. He re- 
ceived $200 muster out pay. He is a member of the American Leg- 
ion (Chaplain) at Toledo, 111. 

Tutewiler, Andrew Schiver, entered military service Aug, 7, 
1942, Relieved from active duty May 1945, Recalled to active duty 
March 1947. Relieved from active duty September 1947, Recalled 
to active duty Aug, 195 1, Relieved from active duty Dec, 1952. 
Lieutenant Colonel, Air Force Reserve, Retiring May 1968, 

Business, Real Estate, Former Mayor, City of Montebello, Calif. 
A member of Los Angeles County Assessments Appeals Board, A 
Judicial Tribunal, Chairman of Los Angeles County Safety Com- 
mission, Residence, Montebello, Calif, 

Viles, Carl W, , enlisted in the Navy January 4, 1951, He re- 
ceived six weeks basic training at Great Lakes, Illinois, He served 
on the Albert Harris D. E, 447, He made several cruises to Cuba 
and South America, He was initiated for his first crossing of the 
Equator. He was discharged November 20, 1955. 

Viles, Wendell G. , enlisted in the Navy August 20, 1951. He 
received twelve weeks basic training at Great Lakes, Illinois, He 
served on the U, S. S, D. D, R, 876 for seven and one half months 
in Korean waters. He came to California from Korea and through 
the Panama Canal Zone to Norfolk, Virginia on The Missouri, He 
was sent to Green Cove Springs, Florida and transferred to the 

-193- 



Albert F, Harris D, E. 447, He was released from the Navy- 
August 13, 1955 and was in the inactive Reserves for four years. 
He was discharged August, 1959. 

He was awarded the following: Korean Service Medal, two 
battle stars; United Nations Medal; Good Conduct Medal, one star, 
three years service; Chinese Service Medal; Asiatic Service 
Medal. 

Watson, James Ronald was born February 22, 1933 in Spring- 
field, Illinois, He entered the service April 15, 1955 at Ft, Ben- 
ning, Georgia, and was discharged November 20, 1958 at Ft. Lew- 
is, Washington, his service number was 04030504. He was in the 
Army, August, 1955 he was assigned to Ft. Ord, Monterey, Cal- 
ifornia for Basic Training Instructor, November, 1955 he went 
to Edward Gary Air Force Base in San Marcos, Texas to Flight 
School. September, 1956 he went to Korea as a pilot, and in Dec,, 
1957 went to Ft, Lewis, Tacoma, Washington as a pilot. He went 
to Basic Infantry Officers Training and Flight School, April 15, 
1955 he was made Second Lieutenant, and in 1956 was promoted to 
1st. Lieutenant. 

Winnett, Cole C. , was born Nov. 20, 1889 at Greenup, 111, 
and entered the Army on July 22, 1918 at Toledo, 111. His ser- 
vice number was 3955828 and he was in Co, L, 1611 Inf. 4 1 Divi- 
son. He was assigned to Camp Dodge Iowa from July 22, 1918 to 
Sept, 1, 1918; Camp Johnson, Florida froin Sept. 4, 1918, to 
Sept, 20, 1918; Camp Merrit N. J, from Sept. 24, 1918 to Oct, 
7, 1918; Brest France Oct. 22, 1918 to Nov. 2, 1918; Blois France 
Nov, 3, 1918 to Nov. 8, 1918 and Bordeaux France Nov. 16, 1918 
to Dec. 1, 1918. He left the United States for overseas Oct, 7, 
1918 and returned to U. S. Feb, 22, 1919. His Co, was guarding 
German prisoners when the war ended. He was a Private when 
he was discharged on March 13, 1919 at Camp Grant 111. 

Winnett, Richard Leon, was born March 22, 1935 at Greenup, 
111. and entered the Navy on July 7, 1953 at Effingham, Illinois. 
His service number was 7497710, He was assigned to China Ser- 
vice, National Defense and held the rank of MML 2, He has the 
China Service Ribbon, He was discharged June 19, 1957 at 
RECSTA, TI, SFRAN, CALIF, and re-entered TR, to Reserves, 
June 19, 1957 at RECSTA, TI, SFRAN, CALIF, He was dis- 
charged Jan. 21, 1968 at Co, NRSD9-44 (M), USNPRTC, Indiana- 
polis, Indiana. 

Wood, Harold B. was born Sept. 14, 1918 in the U. S, A. and 
lived at Greenup, 111. R. R, 3 when he entered the AriTiy on Feb, 
21, 194 1 at Greenup, Illinois, In 194 1 he was assigned to the Re- 
placement Training Center at Ft, Warren Wyo, as a Private, in 

-194- 



1942 the Staff Sgt. Finance Dept. and in Sept, 1942 he enrolled in 
Officer's Training School at Ft. Warren, Wyo. , in 1942 he was 
assigned to the 3201 Quartermaster Company at Camp Chaffee, 
Ark. as a Co, Officer. In 1943 he was sent overseas to Casa- 
blanca Franch Morrocco then to the invasion of Southern France 
and on to Germany and France, The special military courses 
and schools attended were Officer Candidate School, Quartermas- 
ter Corps, and Information- Education School. In 1946 he was 
promoted to the rank of Captain, He participated in the Invas- 
ion of Southern France in Europe and was in the Battle of San 
Tropez, He received the normal and unimportant ribbons and 
one commendation from SHAEF giving him and his outfit credit 
for saving the invasion of Anzio by rapid delivery of 13, 000, 000 
gallons of gasoline within a two day period. In 1946 he was a 
member of the Greenup V, F. W. In 1964 became a member of 
the American Legion and V, F. W. in Albuquerque, New Mexico, 
His address was Greenup, 111. w^hen he was discharged on Sept, 
14, 1946 at Camp Kilmer, New Jersey. His service Number was 
01575 284, 

Wylde, John William, was born April 3, 1915 in Greenup, Ill- 
inois, and entered the service from Pine Bluff, Arkansas, but 
came back to Greenup when discharged. He was in the Air Force 
Reserve and his number was 38511450, and he entered service 
July 1, 1943 at Little Rock, Arkansas, July 1, 1943 he was as- 
signed to Pine Bluff Primary Flight Base, Pine Bluff, Arkansas, 
as flight instructor. 

Young, Warren Richard, was born April 2, 1926 at Neoga, 
Illinois and lived there when he volunteered for the Army Air Corps 
on Oct, 25, 1943 at Decatur, 111, His service number was 16 188 
487, On July 28, 1944 he was called to active duty for training as 
an Air Cadet, on Aug, 3, 1944 he received basic training at Amar- 
illo, Texas; Sept, 17, 1944 he took pre-cadet training at Hobbs, 
New Mexico and on Jan. 1945 took pre-cadet and Liaison Pilot 
training at Sheppard Field, Texas, Special military courses at- 
tended was Liaison Pilot Mechanical Course, He was discharged 
on Oct, 31, 1945 at Sheppard Field, Texas and attended the Pur- 
due University on the GI bill.^--- ^ 



-195- 



SOME CUMBERLAND COUNTY MEMBERS OF THE ILLINOIS 
STATE LEGISLATURE 

In 1844 ELISHA H. STARKWEATHER No. of G. A. 14. He 
was born in Vermont, known as a blue bellied Yankee, Taught 
school in his cabin for years. Practiced law with Thomas Brew- 
er in Greenup 1855, He was the first "County Judge. " Dates 
of birth and death not known. 

In 1858 THOMAS BREWER No. of G. A. 2 1. He was born 
Nov, 15, 1819 in Wayne Co,, Ind. Was a warm personal friend 
of Stephen A. Douglas, He was nominated for Congress in 1868 
and served in the Lower House of the State Senate in 1872. He 
died Nov, 11, 1886 and is buried in the Toledo Cemetery. Is 
in the 1884 History. 

In 1868 LEWIS BROOKHART No. of G. A. 26. Born 

son of Dr. Brookhart. Was in Toledo in 1874. Died Feb. 28, 
1882 in Toledo, 111. 

In 1870 WM, McELWEE No, of G. A, 27. Born died 

May 13, 1944 in Crooked Creek Township, 

1870 EDWARD BARRETT No of G. A. 27. Dates not known, 

1872 WM. H, McDonald No. of G. A, 28. Born March 11, 
1841 in Ross Co., Ohio. Was lawyer in Greenup, lU, Died June 
19, 1922 in Greenup. Buried in Greenup Cemetery, 

1876 GERSHOM MONOHON No. of G, A, 30. Born Feb, 10, 
1830 in Montgomery Co,, Ind. Died Dec. 21, 1912 at Greenup, 
Buried in Greenup Cemetery. 

1878 JAMES LEANDER RYAN No, of G. A, 31. Born Nov, 
21, 1841 in Cumberland Co, 111, Was a lawyer, and became a 
Baptist minister. Died Sept. 23, 1930 in the home of Murray 
Stone in Charleston, 111. Burial place Greenup Cemetery 

1880 FRANCIS M. RICHARDSON No. of G. A, 32. Born July 
24, 183 1 at Feesburg, Ohio. Death date unknown, 

1882 WM. H. DeBORD No. of G. A. 33, Born Oct. 1, 1884 
on a farm in Decatur Co., Ind. Death date unknown, 

1884 HENRY SHEPLOR No. of G, A. 34. Born October 29, 
1829 in Ohio. Death date unknown, 

1886 SAMUEL F. WILSON No. of G. A, 35, Born (probably 
Virginia) died Sept, 25, 1920 at Neoga, 111, 
1892 CHARLES HANKER No. of G. A. 38. Born May 4, 1843 at 
Wittenborg, Prussia died April 11, 1916 at Toledo, 111., Buried 
in Toledo Cemetery. 

1896 EB STEWART No. of G. A. 40. Born Sept. 14, 1860 
on a farm in Morgan Co., Ind, Died Oct, 2, 1915 at Greenup, 
111., and buried in the Greenup Cemetery, 

-196- 



1898 ISAAC T, HACKLEY No. of G. A. 41. Born Feb. 25, 
1845 at Litchfield, Ky. Died April 11, 1936 in Cumberland Co. 
111. 

1900 CHARLES M. CONNOR No. of G. A. 42. Born April 
13, 1872 at Neoga, 111, He was a lawyer in Toledo for many 
years. Died July 2 1, 1962 at the home of a daughter at Evans- 
ville, Ind. Burial in Toledo Cemetery. 

1908 JEFF F. TOSSEY No. of G, A. . Born March 29, 

1865 at Toledo, 111. Died April 11, 1930 at Toledo, 111. 

1916 LINCOLN BANCROFT No, of G. A. 50. Born June 30, 
1877 in Cumberland Co. 111. Died July 1942, buried Greenup. 

1956 DAVID McCONNELL GLENN No. of G. A. 70. Born 
on a farm in Cumberland County in the district he represented. 
Served in World War I. Married Edith Nichols of Greenup, Ill- 
inois in 1924. Elected sheriff of Cumberland County in 1926. 
Served twenty years as Senatorial committeeman in 40th Sena- 
torial district. Employed twenty years in the Secretary of State's 
Office under two Democrat Secretaries of State, President and 
director of Cumberland County Agricultural fairs for many years. 
He incorporated Cumberland Coaches Bus Lines and served as 
president for sixteen years. Was active in American Legion and 
Veterans affairs for thirty- five years. Member of Christian 
Church, Masons, Moose, American Legion (Post No, 566), Voi- 
ture No, 717, 40 and 8, Mattoon, Illinois and Cumberland County 
Farm Bureau, Served four terms in General Assembly, He 
died April 1, 1964 at his home in Greenup. Burial in Greenup 
Cemetery. 

Others: Judge A, L. Ruffner - died Oct. 25, 1938, Buried 
in the Ruffner Cemetery. 

HORSE THIEVES 

In about 1905, a gang of thieves stole horses one night from 
the farms of Jonathan Floyd, Clark Markwell, and Rev, Jonathan 
Wright, south of Greenup. The day before the horses were stolen, 
Clark noticed a stranger loitering on the road, and looking at the 
horses as he passed; but, at the time, he thought little of it. That 
night a neighbor boy who had come to the Markwell farm to borrow 
some medicine heard noises in the woods by the cemetery near 
Clark's barn. The boy was so frightened that he ran all the way 
home without stopping. j^^^^t-tx^ -^fS^/Oc^cJiyfxJi'Xj' t 

The next morning Clark found the south door of the barn open 
and an old mare was missing from her stall. Then he learned of 
the other thefts. The thieves apparently were amateurs because 

-197- 



they stole the worst horses from each farm. 

Clark's son, Harlen, (who still lives south of Greenup) and 
Jonathan Floyd's sons, Sam and Pete, tried to catch the thieves, 
but the thieves always managed to stay one town ahead of them. 
They took the horses south, crossed the Wabash River into Indi- 
had , and then went north. When the boys finally caught up with 
them, they were in jail for some other crime, and the horses 
ahd been sold at Terre Haute. 

Some saddles and part of the money from the sale of the 
horses were retrieved, but the horses were not returned. I 
don't know what happened to the thieves. 

By Mike Markwell 

THE NATIONAL ROAD 

So many people wanted to go west that a great demand for a 
road through Pennsylvania, Ohio, Indiana, and Illinois arose, and 
the government decided to satisfy their demands by constructing 
a road. 

The problem of selecting the route for the National Road be- 
came important. Actual construction started at Cumberland Mary- 
land. Pittsburg, Wheeling, and Steubenville were all strong con- 
tenders for the terminus but Wheeling won the prize. The road 
was planned to run through the Pennsylvania towns of Washington 
and Uniontown. In 1805 the route was made necessary by these 
decisions. A definite location of the road was made by act of 
Congress on March 29, 1806. By 1818 the United States mails 
were running between Washington and Wheeling over the new road. 

The eastern part was cheaper to construct than the western, 
and the total cost was $1, 700, 000, or an average of $13, 000 a 
mile, which was probably too much. 

The right of way of the National Road (often called the Cumber- 
land Road) was thirty feet wide in the mountains and sixty feet 
wide elsewhere. Bridges were of solid masonry and built so 
strongly that many are still in use. The roadbed was raised in 
the center and ditches v/ere dug on each side to drain off the wa- 
ter. The roadbed was composed of stones, those of the lower 
stratum were broken to pass through a seven-inch ring and those 
of the upper stratum through a three-inch ring. The stones were 
broken with a round hammer weighing about a pound, although 
larger stones required a larger hammer. The laborer who broke 
the smaller stones received an average wage of about a dollar a 
day, 

-198- 



Even though the National Road was a great improvement 
over its predecessors, it too had serious deficiencies. A gra- 
vel road made of loosely packed stones was fairly smooth when 
it was built, but it soon deteriorated. A steady flow of traffic 
produced bad ruts, while melting snows and heavy rains made 
deep gullies and from time to timie washed out portions of the 
mountain construction. 

Congress had apparently considered only the original con- 
struction of the road, and had not thought of the necessity of 
repairs. But this attitude became difficult to maintain almost 
before the highway was completed, and the rapid deterioration 
of the road produced a continually increasing popular pressure 
for further outlays for repairs. The obvious method to provide 
for repairs was to erect toll gates and to use the toll money for 
replacements, and a bill for that purpose passed Congress. 

The National Road was crowded with traffic immediately 
upon its opening, for it afforded by far the best existing highway 
between East and West. Immigrants and their families, travel- 
ers, salesmen, farmers with their produce, freighters, stages, 
pedestrians, and cattle being driven to market filled the way bet- 
ween Cumberland and Wheeling. In the West, Wheeling grew in 
importance, while in the East Baltimore looked forward to a 
long period of commercial development. 

The largest and most important stage was run by the Nation- 
al Road Stage Company. Its chief competitor was the Good In- 
tent Line, Stages ran both day and night, and their arrival was 
the chief event of each town through which they passed, 

A stage was ordinarily drawn by four horses, which were 
changed every twelve miles. The stage had three seats, of which 
the front one faced the rear, and the middle one had a strap for 
its back. Each seat held three people, and the place beside the 
driver was much coveted in fair weather. The driver was on top 
in front, and the baggage was placed in a "boot" in the rear. 

The aristocrat of the road was the stage driver, whose im- 
portance was comparable to that of the captain of a boat at sea. 
the importance of the driver did not depend on his salary, which 
was ordinarily twelve dollars a month and keep, but on his cour- 
age and skill. He averaged ten miles an hour. Driving was a 
dangerous occupation even under the most favorable conditions, 
but on a dark night, or in a heavy rain, or when the roads were 
icy, it was so hazardous that only the most competent or the 
most foolhardy man would undertake it. 

The average distance covered by each stage per day tended to 
increase, varying of course with the time of the year and the con- 

-199- 



dition of the highway. During the 1830's the trip from Washing- 
ton to Wheeling could be made in thirty hours, although the us- 
ual time with stops at night was two and a half days. By then con- 
struction of the road had been continued farther west, reaching 
Columbus, Ohio, in 1833, and being graded, but not hard surfaced 
into Illinois, By 1837 the trip took only 48 hours. 

Taverns lined the entire route of the National Road at frequent 
intervals, even in the mountains. Food was plentiful but plain, 
and whisky was sold everywhere. The bar was the most important 
room in the inn, usually being in the front and serving also as an 
office for the landlord. Drivers of the wagons were not given 
rooms in these hotels, but had to sleep either on the barroom 
floor or outside. Here and there along the road were so-called 
"wagon houses", which were rude shacks for the use of the team- 
sters; the teamsters were obliged to furnish their own bedding 
and to do their own cooking. 

There were many hazards on the National Road. With all 
its roughness, its ruts, its dangers, and its lack of repair, it 
was immeasurably superior to the roads elsewhere in the West, 
Most of them v/ere like their predecessors of a decade or two earl- 
ier; a so-called "road" was often no more than a single track 
through the woods and at best an unimproved double track which 
was almost impassable in the early spring, A traveler between 
Nashville and Memphis in 1831 penned a description which might 
have been repeated with variations throughout the West: "Fright- 
ful roads. Precipitous descent. No regular highway. The road 
is only an opening cut in the forest. The stumps of the trees are 
not completely cut away, so that they form so many impediments 
over which we jolt. " 

Western coach travel was an experience to be undertaken on- 
ly by the hardiest traveler or under extreme necessity. Most 
main roads had one or more coach lines, although sometimes 
there was no regular schedule, and cases are on record in which 
a traveler waited days and even weeks for a coach. With a well- 
organized line, travel might continue day and night, but more us- 
ually stops were made at night. The usual day's travel was bet- 
ween twenty and fifty miles, but under exceptional circumstances, 
as much as a hundred miles might be covered, at a rate of six or 
seven cents a mile, exclusive of board and lodging. For a long 
trip the coach departed as early as three to four A. M. and kept 
going until ten P. M. or later with stops only for meals. Three 
or four such days were excessive punishment for even the strong- 
est traveler, and he would then be glad to stop a week or more to 
regain his vigor. 



-200- 



Accidents were so frequent as to be commonplaces of west- 
ern travel. With the roughness of the roads, the coaches rocked 
dizzily from one side to the other, and the passengers were 
forced to sway in the opposite direction to keep the vehicle up- 
right. 

In spite of all difficulties, the United States was a nation of 
travelers. Horses and all kinds of wagons and carriages filled 
the roads, for the nation was restless and feeling its young 
strength. Discomforts were accepted with resignation, particu- 
larly since more comfortable travel was unknown. Such accept- 
ance did not mean, however, that people were satisfied. They 
wanted an ever-increasing amount of transportation, even though 
poor, and even more they desired greater speed and cheapness. 
These goals were particularly important to the westerner with 
his farm products and long distances to cover. In time, after 
much experimentation, he was to approach within reasonable dis- 
tance of his goal. 

(From a paper produced by Ellen Dillier of Room 6-2, Cumber- 
land Junior High School, Greenup, Illinois, ) 

Eventually the old National Road became Route 40 with con- 
crete pavement, which served its purpose well for several years 
until traffic became so very much greater that a w^ider road was 
needed. Then through Cumberland County "new" Route 40 was 
built nearly parallel to the old one. Much of the old pavement was 
removed and towns were by passed to make the road more safe. 
Greatly increased traffic has caused Route 70 to cross the nation 
with a four-lane highway and fewer access roads to discourage 
local traffic. This highway through Cumberland County is sche- 
duled to be completed in 1968. 

POTTERS FIELD MONUMENT 

Through the efforts of Mrs. Mary Harper and Harvey Strater 
of Toledo, Charlie Myers of Neoga, and Wayne Sperry of Green- 
up, a nice monument was erected July 8, 1965, at the Cumber- 
land County Potters Field on the Stitt Road northeast of Toledo. 
It is located on the ground of the old county home. It has a flag 
staff, donated by the Legionaires of Toledo. Bill Beaumont don- 
ated the material to erect a pole and Harvey Strater donated his 
work. The flag is flown on special days. 

When the county home was discontinued about 1937 the acre- 
age of the potters field was deeded to Sumpter Township, Over 
a period of 75 years approximately 40 persons were buried there. 



-201- 



The committee wishes to thank all who contributed and all 
who expressed interest and helped with this project, A special 
thanks to Bill Mock and Maxine Bean for printing the notices, 
also thanks to Miss Grace Outright, who helped me with this 
article. 

By Mary Harper 

THREE TRIPS TO THE LINOOLN HOME 

The editors made a Sunday trip and stopped at the farm of 
John Hall. We found the editor's old-time friend John Hall, at 
home on the old Lincoln farm and had much pleasure in renew- 
ing his acquaintance. He came to Illinois with the Lincoln fam- 
ily in 1830, when he was but a year old and after the death of 
Thomas Lincoln bought the old farm place of John D, Johnston, 
and has owned it since, Grandmother Lincoln making her home 
with him until her death, Mr, Hall is a second-cousin of Abra- 
ham Lincoln on his father's side, and is also what might be 
called a step-nephew by his mother's kin, so being doubly con- 
nected to the Lincoln family- -his father, Squire Hall, was a 
son of Elizabeth Hanks, a sister of Nancy Hanks, President 
Lincoln's own mother, and his mother, Matilda Hall, had been 
a daughter of Thomas Lincoln's second wife by her first hus- 
band, Daniel Johnston, thus Abraham Lincoln's step-mother 
being John Hall's grandmother, Mr. Hall had eight brothers 
and sisters who share this distinction, namely, Nancy A,, wife 
of Miles Moore, now living at Toledo, 111. ; Elizabeth Berry, 
Janesville, 111.; Louisa, who married Morrill Fox of Evansville, 
Indiana, and is now a widow; Alfred Hall, Toledo, 111,, Joseph 
Hall, deceased; Amanda who married Robert Brown and lives in 
Missouri; Rachel and Harriet, twins, one living in California and 
one in Coles county. , . . "My mother and myself, I being a child, 
rode in the wagon which brough the Lincoln family from Spencer 
county, Ind. to 111. Abraham Lincoln drove the ox team which 
drew the wagon. 
Sept. 12, 1895, Greenup Press (Cunninghams) 

A VISIT TO THE LINCOLN CABIN 

On the glorious Fourth of July 1861, the writer and a com- 
pany of citizens of Greenup, Cumberland County, Illinois, drove 
sixteen miles northwest to see the old cabin house where Thomas, 
the father of Abraham Lincoln lived and died. 



-202. 



We arrived at the cabin a little after 10 a. m. and found 
the neighborhood already collected there and uniting their ef- 
forts with the proprietor, to make a pleasant time. 

Some came to see the cabin the first time and some for 
the last time as it is to be taken to Chicago immediately. 

The visitors and neighbors united their luncheon and spread 
it in the west room of the cabin and the secretary of the Ameri- 
can Sabbath Union invoked the blessing of God and we all par- 
took of a hearty dinner. 

After dinner the company was addressed by Dr. N. S. Free- 
man, the family physician. He said "Grandmother Sarah Lin- 
coln was the best Christian he ever knew. " Several others 
spoke, among them Mr, Hall, the proprietor, who made sever- 
al good points concerning the old couple. 

Our band of visitors then went to see the old bureau that 
was made in Kentucky, in 1809, or before, costing $40. We 
found it to be a beautiful piece of furniture. We also saw the 
old family Bible, printed about 1799, the Bible that Mother 
Lincoln loved. 

From there we went a mile or more northwest, to the old 
graveyard, where the parents of the martyred President sleep. 
On the marble monument I read "Thomas Lincoln, father of the 
martyred President. Born January 6, 1778. Died January 15, 1851, 
Sarah Lincoln. Died April 11, 1869. " They lie side by side, in 
the Gordon Cemetery at Shiloh Church. Peace to their memory. 

The cabin is a double log house, only one story and that very 
low. A large brick chimney unites the two houses, with a fire- 
place in each room. There is a five foot room south of the chim- 
ney through whichall must pass in going from room to room. 

by Wm. B. Bruner 
July Z2, 1891, Greenup Press (from the Greenville Advocate) 

THE GLORIOUS FOURTH CELEBRATED LN GRAND STYLE AT 

THE OLD LINCOLN'S HOME 

Day dawned upon us, and a delegation to the number of 25 of 
Greenup's Citizens started for the old Lincoln Cabin, located 
about 2 mi. south of Farmington, 111. We arrived at the old 
homestead about 10 A. M. and weiiasereceived werh welcome by 
the owenr of the farm, Mr. Hall. 

After resting awhile, dinner was prpared in the same room 
wihch our beloved President Abraham had eaten hundreds of 
meals in the happy days gone by. 

The oid house, which consiste of two cabins about 16 ft. 



-203 



square, joined together by a roof at the top and boarded up at 
the sides, is in remarkably good shape considering it's age 
(being built in 1835. ) 

During our stay there, it reminded us of the Pilgrim's story 
who visits the Holy Lands, not that we compare Abraham with 
Jesus, but a man who struck the fatal blow at slavery and freed 
four million slaves, and thus rid the country of one of the great- 
est curses that was ever in our land should have a place in our 
memory forever. Dinner being over, the next thing in order was 
speeches. Dr. Freeman gave us a short talk in which he told us 
many incidents connected with the history of the Lincolns. After 
Abraham had been exalted to the highest position in the gift of the 
people, he did not forget his humble dwelling of his youthful days, 
but drove down to take which proved to be his last look at the ca- 
bin preparatory to going to Washington in the discharge of his 
duties. 

We were told by some of the old neighbors that when it was 
known that Abe would be at home they would gather in from miles 
around to listen to him tell his droll stories. About two months 
ago a company in Chicago purchased the old cabin for the sum of 
$1000, and the building will be moved to Chicago at an early date. 

The premises are guarded day and night to keep relic hunters 
from cutting it to pieces and carrying it off piece by piece. The 
company also has a lady in the neighborhood writing up the "Cabin 
Life of Lincoln. " 

Our visit at the old home being over, we repaired to the ceme- 
tery in which Mr, Lincoln's father lies buried. The mark at his 
grave is a plain monument about eleven ft. high with this inscript- 
ion: "Thomas Lincoln, father of The Martyred President, born 
Jan. 6, 1778, Died Jan. 10, 185 1. " As we stood by his grave we 
could not help but think; here lies the father of the greatest man 
that the world ever knew. On our home-ward journey we saw a 
balloon descending a short distance from us, at first it looked 
very small but when we arrived at the place where it was anchored, 
we found out how easily the eye was deceived. The balloon started 
from Mattoon at 3:10 and it took it about 2 hrs. to travel that dis- 
tance. 

The man who went up in it landed safely. The following are a 
list of the delegation- -Mr. and Mrs. N, Fancher, Isaac Seaman 
wife, Leroy Fancher, Ida Fancher, J, Hopper, and sister, Jane 
Burge, J, Ravens and wife, A. Davis, Geo. Davis, Rev. Kester 
and wife, Rev, Bruner, Willie Parker, Alva Button, Lillie Eck- 
ard, Riler Stateler and wife. 
June 8, 1.891 (Greenup Press) 

-204- 



VANDALIA TRAIN ROBBERY 

WASHINGTON, D. C; MARCH 22, 1912 
AN OLD CRIME RECALLED IN A STRANGE MANNER 

A few days ago I had one of the strangest experiences I ever 
had in my life, and it has made an impression on my mind that 
I cannot shake off, and I am going to tell it just as it occurred to 
me. 

While going home from my office work, as I was walking 
through the Capitol grounds I met a rather short, thick set, gray- 
haired man, who looked at me closely as I approached him, and 
as I was passing him he said, "I beg your pardon, but is this not 
Clint Bell, of Marshall, Illinois ?" I told him that it was, but 
that I did not recognize him. "Never mind that, " he replied, "I 
know you, and have known you by sight and by reputation for 
years, " 

"Where do you live and when and where do you know me?" 
I asked. He then told me that at present he was residing in Balti- 
more and he once resided in Crawford, Cumberland, and Clark 
counties in Illinois, but he would not give me his name, and while 
there was something about the fellow's face and general make-up 
that appeared familiar to me, and I feel sure I have seen him be- 
fore, yet for the life of me I could not remember his name, if 
ever I knew it, nor could I remember, if I really ever knew, when 
and where I had seen him. But as I talked to him I became advised 
that he knew me all right, as well as many people in Clark, Craw- 
ford, and Cumberland counties that I knew or had known. 

He spoke of reading of my county history of Clark County and 
knew all about my letters to the Herald. He also seemed to know 
all about John Littlefield, Thomias Golden, Tom Orndorff, Judge 
Scholfield, Jim Graham, M. O, Frost, Jim Ryan of Greenup, Tom 
Brewer, Jake Wilkins, Ricey Rhinehart, Tom Warner, Judge Dec- 
ius, John and Peter Bradbury, John Morton, and Abe Harrison. In 
fact he appeared to know all these men and many more, especially 
of the older set, living and dead, as well as I did, which convinced 
me beyond question that he knew as much about the men and women 
of Clark and Crawford Counties as I did, especially those who 
lived there and have lived there since along in the sixties and sev- 
enties. But whenever I would ask him his name he would say, "Ne- 
ver mind that; you see don't you that I know you and am acquainted 
with the people of Clark, Crawford, and Cumberland Counties, as 
well as a good many people who have lived in Effingham County, in 

-205- 



Illinois. " He appeared to have an especially good knowledge 
of Judge Scholfield, S. S. Whitehead, Mark Hare, Judge Wil- 
kins, John E, Lamo, Tom Brewer, Levi Brewer, and others 
connected in any way with the trial of Jennie Osgood, Charles 
St. Clair, and other connected, whether as witnesses, defend- 
ants or attorneys with the trial of Jennie Osgood and St, Clair 
for the murder of Mino Ames at Long Point in Cumberland County 
long ago. And it was not long until he edged around to the point 
that he knew the parties who tried to rob the Vandalia train, and 
who actually killed Ames, the engineer of the train at the time of 
his murder, and while he did not say so, yet I could see that he 
had sought me out for the sole purpose of telling me just who were 
in the outlaw gang whp sought to rob the express car, and who 
fired the shot that killed Ames, in the hope that I would give these 
names in one of my letters to the Herald, and he actually gave me 
the names of five men who were in the gang, and I found that I 
had known all five of them intimately and well. Three of them 
lived at the time of the murder in Marshall. They were all dead; 
one of them lived in York township, and he is dead. The fifth 
one at one time lived in Crawford County and he said this was 
the man who actually fired the fatal shot that killed Ames, but 
this man he peremptorily refused to name, or to say whether he 
was living or dead, nor would he tell me about the man intimate- 
ly or well. I asked him how he knew all these things so well and 
he said, "Never mind about that, Clint, but this much I will say 
I had nothing to do with the killing of Milo Ames, directly or in- 
directly, but I've done a little detective v^ork in my time, and I 
know who were in the gang that tried to rob that Vandalia train 
forty years ago. And I also know the name of the one who killed 
him but I will not say if I know whether he is alive or dead, nor 
will I tell you where he is if I knew, w^hich I do not say I do, " 
"Well, " I said, "will you tell me how they attempted robbery of 
the express car and the killing of Ames occurred?" "Yes, " he 
said, "I will do that. " And I may say right here that my myster- 
ious friend was no fool, but evidently a inan of large travel, ex- 
tensive acquaintance and unusual information, and his use of 
correct English indicated also, that he was a man of considerable 
education. He went on to say that the five men who killed Ames 
met and preceeded to Long Point in a wagon; the wagon was drawn 
by two horses and one of the horses had a blazed face and one 
white foot. The wagon had a peculiar forward end gate, which 
stuck up over the front end of the wagon. He then went on to say 
that when the train drew in two of the parties boarded the engine 
and ordered Ames to open the throttle and let the train go, they 

-206- 



having before uncoupled all the cars except the tender and bag- 
gage or express car; that Ames either refused or was not quick 
enough about it, and that the man who had on a long linen duster, 
and who it charged was Jennie Osgood, shot and killed Ames; 
that then the train was run down the track about a mile in the 
direction of Casey, where it was stopped, then rolled out and 
one of the men who was a blacksmith, who had a sledge hammer, 
tried to break the safe door, but before he could do so they saw 
light approaching from the direction of Long Point and they hast- 
ily ran to their wagon, got in and started southeast in the direct- 
ion of West Union, and about three o'clock in the morning they 
reached the home of one of the men, where they put up all night 
and that some of them kept in hiding all next day; then they were 
afraid the peculiar end gate of their wagon and the blaze-face 
horse and his one white forfoot might cause the detectives who 
were early on their trail to track them to their rendesvous and 
identify them as the murderers of Milo Ames. So they took the 
horse out in the woods and shot him and at the same time knocked 
off the top and the distinguishing part of the end gate of the wa- 
gon. I asked him how the devil he got all this apparently reliable 
data as to the attempted robbery of that train and the killing of 
Milo Ames and why, if he knew so much he had not helped to ap- 
prehend the outlaws while they were alive, and why not even now 
go after the one who might, as he intimated, be still alive, and 
he said he had the facts from the lips of a dying person who knew 
all about the matters, and that even if he should locate and have 
arrested the person, if alive, who did the killing, that he could 
not even be indicted much less convicted, as the person from 
whom he had all the information was dead, and that his testimony 
would be only hearsay evidence, which not even a grand jury, 
would listen to, and I knew of course that this was true. In spite 
of cuteness of my mysterious friend I did see however, clearly, 
that he might know that the fellow who did the actual killing was 
still alive, that he in fact knew where to find him and that per- 
haps he might be laying his plans to blackmail him out of some 
money, and especially so as the one he said did the killing was, 
when I knew him in the long ago, a man of considerable education, 
and refinement and who was quite likely to acquire and hold on 
to property, and that he knew this, and was scheming to get hold 
of some of it. 

In fact I am thoroughly convinced in my own mind that it was 
precisely for this reason that he hunted me up and why he so 
studiously refrained- -absolutely refused- -from telling his name 
and of the person from whom he learned w^ho the men were who 

-207- 



sought to rob the Vandalia train, and the particulars as to how 
they did it and what they did after they had done it. As said be- 
fore all the Clark County men whose names he gave me (four of 
the five men) are now dead, but they all have relatives in Mar- 
shall and Clark County who are good and respectable people, and 
their names will never pass my lips to anyone. I do not know 
that what he told me was true but as to his knowledge of men and 
women, and events in Clark, Crawford, and Cumberland and Eff- 
ingham Counties, and that he had known and kept tab on me for 
the last forty years, there is not the slightest doubt. We had 
strolled slowly through the Capitol grounds while the mysterious 
stranger was giving me this strange story of the almost forgot- 
ten past, and as we reached the street car line at the intersec- 
tion of First and East Capitol Streets, near my home, a car came 
along, bound for the Union Depot, on which he quickly jumped, as 
if anxious to get away from me, and that was the last I have seen 
of my mysterious friend, whoever he is. But I watched him close- 
ly all the time he was talking to me, his eyes, the working of his 
mouth and lips, the cut of his strong intelligent features, the shape 
of his hands and feet, his luxuriant head of gray hair and in spite 
of his age of 65 or 70 years I will know him the next time we meet, 
if we ever do. H. C, Bell 

By Ralph Moore, Vevay Park 

UNEARTH SKELETONS ON GRAVEL BANKS ON THE WALTERS 

FARMS 

Place Famous for Buried Treasure Legends and in Region of 
Prehistoric Lore, 

Two skeletons were found by v/orkmen in a gravel bank Thurs- 
day and Saturday of last week on the farm of Mr. Jake Walters, 
north of Union Center. 

The bones were in fairly good state of preservation, though 
badly broken by the caving of the bank where they were found. 
They were of a reddish cast and one of them must have been a gi- 
ant from the size of the skull, the lower jaw bone and the upper 
bones of the legs. 

The smaller of the two must have been a large man or woman 
yet the other was almost twice as large. The lower jaw of this 
one was nearly intact and was of enormous proportions. It still 
contained ten teeth, not one of which showed any decay, though 
they had been worn well down, showing the owner lived to old age. 

-208- 



No one who has so far examined the find can pass on their 
age or origin - whether they were Indian or people of a prehis- 
toric age. This is in a region of prehistoric trails and burial 
grounds, one of the famous prehistoric stone age burial places 
lying a few miles northwest of the Walters place and a prehis- 
toric trail passing a little to the north. 

The skeletons were buried about four feet below the surface 
of the ground which is the extreme end of a ridge running out 
from the eastern hills of Hurricane Creek. They lay almost due 
east and west with the feet to the east. They were ten or fifteen 
feet apart. 

This ridge is famous for its tales of buried treasure and 
many people have dug for it. A young preacher Vv'ho stayed with 
Mr. Walters some years ago made some excavations. The 
Charleston fortune teller told of his work, said that he would 
find part of a chain, but would not discover the treasure, although 
he would come very near it. 

This chain was apparently i-nade of silver. The fortune teller 
says she knows where the treasure is, but v/ill not tell until the 
right person to claim it comes along. 

One of the traditions is that a young Indian Chief said one of 
the old Chiefs of his tribe buried the treasure, but would not dig 
it up for the person who took it would die and go to the bad place. 

Mr. Walters has the skeletons and for a limited tiine anyone 
who wants to see them can do so by going there. You can reach 
there on the concrete road running west to the second road run- 
ning north, west of Vevay Park. The road north to Mr, Walters' 
farm, which is on the v/est side of the road some tv/o miles north 
of Union Center is good gravel road. 

Mr, Walters is one of the leaders in his section for good 
roads and the find was made through using one of the several 
gravel banks on his farm for finishing the road north to connect 
with the Charleston gravel roads. Martinsville Planet, 

Residents of Union Township think these skeletons were 
found about 1920. 

By Venetta Repp 

CUMBERLAND COUNTY CELEBRATIONS 

Cumberland County is making an all-out effort to celebrate 
150 years of Illinois statehood. We are marking this year by 
starting some new events which we hope will become annual, 

-209- 



and at the established annual celebrartions we are featuring the 
Illinois sesquicentennial as the theme. Also this year we are 
compiling a new and up-to-date history of Cumberland County. 

Already we have held an "Illinois, 150 years toward Tom- 
morrow" pageant with a square dance afterward, sponsored by 
the Kiwanis, the Town and Country Club, and the Domestic Sci- 
ence Club (all of Toledo); these events took place at Cumberland 
High School on Feb. 12, 1968. On April 21, 1968, during the 
Sesquicentennial Sabbath weekend, Greenup sponsored the Green- 
up Union Church Observance. On display were different types of 
Bibles, records about church history, and pictures of Greenup 
churches. The observance was held in the Greenup Municipal 
Building. 

Coming up are the individual celebration days of the towns 
and villages of our county. July 28 to July 30 will be the Jew- 
ett Homecoming with a historical parade and related celebra- 
tions. On Sept. 21 through 23, Toledo v/ill sponsor its annual 
Fall Festival, Neoga's sesquicentennial plans are indefinite, but 
some sort of celebration will probably take place on the second 
or third Tuesday and Wednesday in August. Greenup is planning 
its celebration on August 17 or 18, 1968. The title of the pageant 
to be given then is "The Cumberland Road Remembers. " The 
merchants have been asked to donate window space to anyone who 
wants to make a display illustrating any activity from 1818 to the 
present day. Booths on the street will exhibit historical articles 
related to Cumberland County and Illinois state lore. Petitions 
for booths in which to sell homemade foods have already been 
submitted by interested citizens. 

On May 19 we are planning to hold the third Cumberland County 
Genealogiacl Society Annual Open House at the Greenup Municipal 
Building. The doors will be open all afternoon, from 1 to 5 P. M, 
On display will be all available pictures of past and present citizens 
plus family histories and items that had been on display previously 
in the Cumberland County Historical Society Museum in the Carne- 
gie Library in Greenup, At that time, too, the manuscript of the 
new history of Cumberland County, as much as is then compiled, 
will be put on display. 

Coming at the Greenup Fairgrounds, Aug. 19 through 26, 1968, 
is the Sesquicentennial Stock Show and the annual Cumberland 
County Fair. More celebrations are under consideration. Citizens 
are being urged to dress in historic custumes or copies of them. 

Our county is located just south of historically renowned Coles 
County, so come one and all and join us "Cumberlander s " in our 
sesquicentennial celebrations. (Froni an interview with Miss Mary 

-210- 



Holt, Greenup; "Illinois 68" (newspaper supplement), Feb. 4, 
1968.) 

"I see in the magazine that Brad Edwards has been selected 
as Student Historian of the year from Cumberland High School 
and David Biggs as an Honored Teacher from the same school 
1967-1968. The Student Historian Award Day will be held May 
17, 1968 at 1:30 P. M. at the Auditorium, 111. Bldg. State Fair- 
grounds, Springfield. Gov. Kerner will presnet Achievement 
Awards to 26 students. The State Historical Society's special 
sesquicentennial awards a week-long trips to Washington, D. C. 
and Colonial Williamsburg. 

By Julia Roberts 
Cumberland High School 

GENEALOGICAL OPEN HOUSE 

The Genealogical Society held its third annual Open House, 
May 19, 1968 at the Municipal Building at Greenup, Illinois on 
Sunday from 2 to 5 P. M. , with an attendance of 127 people of 
all ages from one to ninety-five. 

There were very many interesting articles and collections 
to be seen--many pictures, funeral memorials, old Bibles, old. 
record books, an 1876 Atlas, maps family trees, a real tree hung 
with pictures of the society members on monkey bodies, for fun. 
Several members wore old costumes. Mrs. HoUensbe wore her 
grandmother's dress. 

Those who had exhibits were Martha Floyd and Martha Gree- 
son of Neoga; Freda Stipp, Ruth Ward, and Edythe Stephens- -the 
old time cemetery--of Paris; Lucile Hoedebecket of Teutopolis; 
Thelma and Marjorie Bushur of Montrose; Mary T. Greeson, Vio- 
let McCandlish, and Olive Holsapple of Toledo; Tom Fenimore Jr., 
of Chicago with two tables full of copies of records of Coles and 
Cumberland county, and much other helpful information for re- 
searchers; Ina Dillier with her beautifully arranged exhibits; Ellen 
Decker and Genevieve Henderson of Casey; Mary E. Holt and Car- 
rie Carson, 

Mr. and Mrs. Taylor and their son, wife, and baby daughter 
of Olney were present to show a copy of the reprint of the 1884 
Cumberland Jasper, and Richland County History, Many Cum- 
berland county people have taken advantage of the pre- publication 
offer of $12,50 for the book. He presented door prizes to the 
following people: Dorothy Outright, Muriel Tippett, Martha Hay- 
den, and Edythe Stephens. The "Care of the Heart" a book 

-211- 



which the Taylor Printers recently completed was the gift pre- 
sented to each winner. 

The youngest visitor was the Taylor granddaughter and the 
oldest was Mrs. Rose Harrell, formerly from Greenup, but now 
a resident of Decatur, who will reach 96 if she has a few more 
days . 

Beautiful background music furnished by George Holt's record 
player, and candy on each table furnished by Lucile Hoedenbecke 
added to the occasion. Attendance was good, and interest was 
great. 




Greenup, Illinois, above, 1888, Frank Hubbart with the team, 

-212- 



BIOGRAPHIES 

AGLER, ROLLAND/ a lifetime employee of the Ohio Oil Co., 
came to Casey in the early days of the oil industry. He was 
born in Willshire, Ohio, the son of Jerimiah and Ida (Moor) 
Agler. His mother died three months after he was born and he 
went to make his home with his grandfather, Timothy Agler. 
When he became a young man he moved to Marion, Ind., and went 
to work for the Ohio Oil Co., and in 1907 he moved to Casey 
with wife, the former Jane Ann Livsey and their small daugh- 
ter, Valma. In 1908 another daughter, Maurine, was born and 
a third daughter, Ruth, was born in 1912. 

in 1914 when a new "field" opened up northwest of Casey 
in Cumberland Co., Mr. Agler was promoted to "field boss" and 
they moved on the Carlos Walker farm, where they lived for 
29 years. The children attended Lacey School during their 
childhood days and later drove a horse and buckboard to high 
school. In May, 1920, a son was born but died shortly after 
birth and in April, 1921 a daughter, Betty Jane, was born. 
Valma passed away in Dec, 1957. 

After 50 years of faithful service in the Oil fields, Mr. 
Agler retired and moved to Casey. He passed away April 20, 
1962 and his wife, Jane, on April 24, 1967. 

Valma Katherine, born Oct. 26, 1905, married B.F.Yeager 
on June 3, 1930, She died Dec. 19, 1957 in Elkart, Ind. 
Margaret Maurine, born Dec. 19, 1908, married Nash Fancher 
Sept. 6, 1932 and lives in Casey. Ruth Aline, born Oct. 16, 
1912, married Eugene Wimot, Dec. 23, 1936 and lives at Falls 
Church, Va. Betty Jane, born April 17, 1921, married Ben 
Combs and lives at McLeansboro, 111. <2,o..wAa>i; (i» / ^■/~/' 

ALBERT, C. R., was born in Gumbe^^flSSSlco . , 111., died-cxa^ 
-May--2-,-.X9j64^- and is --bt}r4&d-.-ln-X^ib>€rty Hill -C-emetery , Greenup^ 
'-lii-. He is the son of Charlie and ©*-i€ (Shepard) Albert. He -^ 
married Leeta Lovina Strader, who was born June 27,. 1912 at .,^^ 
Greenup, 111. Leeta' s father was Norman Francis Strader, 
born Jan. 29, 1883 in Cumberland Co., who was married Sept. 
8, 1907 in Cumberland Co. Mr. Strader 's wife was the former 
Clova Clyo Eveland. She was born Nov. 20, 1887 in Cumberland 
Co. and died Feb. 3, 1953 in Coles Co., 111. She is buried 
at Liberty Hill Cemetery and services were at U. B. Church at 
Liberty Hill. 

C- R. and Leeta (Strader) Albert had one daughter. Norma 
Lou. She was born on Oct. 2, 1930 in Cumberland Co., 111. 
On March 24, 1951 she married Herbert Brown, and they now 
have two children. The first, William Dean, born Feb. 3, 
1952 at Mattoon, 111. The second, Lu Ann, born August 26, 
1955 at Effingham, 111. 

Mrs. Leeta Albert married Lester Carlen and they have one 

-213- 



daughter^ Connie Mae, born March 17, 1955 at Effingham, 111. 

ALBERT, EDGAR N., born Nov. 4, 1925, Hidalgo, Jasper Co., 
111., is the son of Elmer Launce and Edna Pearl (Cummings) 
Albert. He married Dorothy Marie Tiemann, who was born on 
Dec. 3, 1928, Kewanee, Henry Co., 111. She is the daughter 
of Herman Theodore, born Dec. 14, 1898, Muelhiem, Germany, 
and Marie Christine (Hansen) Tiemann, who was born March 12, 
1907, Kewanee, 111. 

The children of Edgar and Dorothy are Daniel Ray H., born 
June 28, 1949, Hidalgo, Jasper Co., 111.; Carl Allen F., born 
Nov. 21, 1950, Greenup, Cumberland Co., 111.; David Andrew, 
born July 27, 1952, Greenup,; William Lee, born Oct. 19, 1953 
Greenup, 111. 

ALBIN, JAMES STANLEY, born Jan. 27, 1889 near Neoga, 111. 
son of Joseph Lozier and Margaret (Hart) Albin, married on 
Oct. 2, 1909, Florence Alice Royer, born Nov. 19, 1891 in 
Cumberland Co., 111. 

Joseph Lozier, born Dec. 4, 1863 at Bainbridge, Ind., 
came to our county in 1870 with his parents, James M. and 
Mary J. Albin. He attended school at Valparaiso, Ind. and 
became a Methodist minister, serving in Christian Co., 
Shiloh and Long Point churches near by. His first marriage 
in 1887 was to Margaret Hart. They had: (1) Paul Dewitt, 
born March 17, 1891 and died Jan. 1, 1892; (2) James Stanley 
was born Jan. 5, 1883. Margaret died Feb. 23, 1892. In 
1898 he married Rilla Taylor who died in 1910. In 1915 he 
married Lula Stout of White Hall, 111. The Albins were 
buried at Long Point Cemetery. 

The father of Florence, Samuel Royer, born April 6, 
1849 in Tarrytown, Md . , married at Mattoon Cellestine Gordon 
Jan. 6, 1873, died July 7, 1923 and was buried in Neoga 
Cemetery. Cellestine was born Nov. 11, 1853 at Janesville, 
111., died in 1930 and was buried in Neoga Cemetery. 

The children of J. Stanley were: (1) Glenn Samuel born 
Nov. 15, 1910; married Delores Stuckey Dec. 7, 1934, and 
died Jan., 1968; (2) Helen Lucile born Jan. 26, 1912, 
married Henry Parker on Nov. 25, 1931; (3) Hazel Marie born 
Jan. 26, 1912, died July 22, 1912; (4) Margaret Gellestina 
born July 7, 1913, married (a) Joseph Arthur Jones on Nov. 
11, 1930; (b) James Fetzer; (5) Joseph Stanley born Feb. 9, 
1915, married Edna Bowers June 8, 1950 in Huntington, W.Va.; 
(6) Theodore Roosevelt, born June 11, 1918, married Agnes 
Hauskenhurm Oct. 2, 1946; (7) Eugene James born June 6, 1921 
married Mildred Gammill April 8, 1944 and (8) Charles DeWitt 
born March 7, 1923, married Marjorie Coen on March 20, 1943. 
All were born and reared in Cumberland Co. 

ALBIN, RICHARD L., was born Feb. 7, 1935. He is the son 
of Glenn and Dolores (Stuckey) Albin. He married Betty 

-214- 



Mercier of Altamont, 111. on Jan. 27, 1963 in the St. Johns' 
Lutheran Church at Effingham, 111. 

Glenn was born Nov. 15, 1910, married Dec. 1, 1934 to 
Delores Stuckey, and died Jan. 28, 1968. Dolores was born 
Dec. 16, 1915. 

Betty, born April 14, 1936 at Effingham, is the daughter 
of William and Alma (Kirchoff) Mercier of Altamont. William 
was born Sept. 9, 1905 and married Sept. 1, 1928. Alma was 
born Dec. 27, 1905. 

Richard and Betty have: (1) Randall Richard born Aug. 
20, 1963 and (2) Tracy Jean, born Sept. 21, 1966, both at 
the St. Anthony Hospital in Effingham. 

Richard has worked as an insurance salesman with the 
Cumberland County Farm Bureau and is presently manager of the 
elevator at Neoga, 111. 

ALBIN, ROGER C, was born Feb. 1, 1947 in Coles Co., 111. 
the son of Charles D. Albin, born March 7, 1923, Cumberland 
Co., 111., married Marjorie Lula Coen in Neoga, 111. He was 
born Feb. 27, 1922. Charles works at Construction Material 
Co., in Mattoon, 111. 

Roger C. married Nancy Jean Parker, Sept. 19, 1964 at 
Martinsville, 111. She was born July 25, 1946, Coles Co., 
111., the daughter of Charles D. Parker, born April 22, 
1917, Coles Co., 111. He married Alice Elizabeth Wright 
March 7, 1942, Springfield, 111. Alice was born April 18, 
1920, Mattoon, 111. 

Charles D. Parker is an accountant for the State of 
Illinois. They live in Neoga. Alice and Nancy Jean work at 
the Kern Mfg. Co. in Neoga. 

Roger C. Albin and Nancy Jean are the parents of one son 
Bradley Charles. 

ALEXANDER, MICHAEL, born Sept. 8, 1836 in Coles Co., Ill, 
the son of Alfred and Katherine (Whetstone) Alexander. 
Alfred operated a Tan Yard in Johnstown, 111. On Jan. 28, 
1858 Michael Alexander married Harriet Forbes. To this 
union was born 4 children: William Kemper, Margaret, Mary 
Anna, Emmerette. 

On Aug. 9, 1862, Michael enlisted in the Civil War at 
Paradise, 111. He served in the 123rd Illinois Calvalry, 
under General R. E. Lee, and was discharged at Camp Butler, 
Springfield, 111. on July 8, 1865. 

On April 24, 1868 his wife Harriet died, leaving him with 
the young children. On April 11, 1869, Michael married Mrs. 
Mary Christeen (Vincent) Cornell, daughter of Obadiah and 

(Scott) Vincent of Kentucky. Mary's father, Obadiah, 

was a soldier of the Black Hawk War under Cap. Thomas B.Ross. 
Mary was the widow of Ambrose Cornell, a Civil War soldier 
who died and was buried in the National Cemetery in Nashville, 

-215- 



Tenn. Ambrose and Mary were the parents of 5 children: 
William H., Jennie (Bosley) , Stephen^ Amelia, and Mary 
(Whitten) . 

Michael and Mary Christeen became the parents of three 
children: Alfred, Sarah Hannah (Blair) , Lillie Pink 
(Wishard) . They were devoted christians and were life long 
members of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church of Trilla,Ill. 

By trade^ Michael was a carpenter and a republican in 
politics. They live 1/2 mile south of Trilla, 111., except 
for one year in Missouri and Kansas, and two years in 
Neoga^ 111., where he died Feb. 8, 1917. He is buried in 
Beals Cemetery, Trilla, 111.^ beside Mary Christeen, who 
preceded him in death in Aug. 28, 1913. 

George R. Alexander, born Feb. 14, 1841 in Coles Co., 
111., died Dec. 21, 1916, the son of Alfred Alexander, 
born Dec. 26, 1805, died March 30, 1855 and Katherine 
Whetstone, born Jan 27, 1807, died Feb. 18, 1862. They are 
buried at the Folger of Lower Muddy Cemetery in Coles Co., 
111. They were married July 2, 1826 in Coles Co., 111. 

George R. Alexander married Mary E. Bailey on June 7, 
1862. Mary died Sept 1, 1898. They are the parents of 5 
children. All preceded him in death. 

George served in the Civil War. He enlisted as a member 
of C. I. 54th Illinois Regiment in the spring of 1865 and 
served his country until the end of the war. The 54th 
Infantry Illinois Volunteers was organized at Camp Dubois, 
Anna, 111. by Colonel Thomas W. Harris, in Nov., 1861, as a 
part of the "Kentucky Brigade." It was mustered into the 
United Statesservice on Feb. 18, 1862. 

The Regiment was exchanged Dec. 5, 1864 and arrived at 
Hickory Station on Memphis and Little Rock Railroad on Jan. 
18, 1865, and remained as a railroad guard until June 6, 1865 
Arrived at Pine Bluff, June 9, 1865. Marched Aug. 18 and 
arrived at Fort Smith, Ark., Aug. 30th. Oct. 4th, marched 
and arrived at Little Rock, Oct. 6th, mustered out Oct. 15, 
1865. Arrived at Camp Butler, 111. on Oct. 26th and was 
discharged. 

Since the organization, the Regiment has had 1,342 en- 
listed men and 71 commissioned officers. 

George R. Alexander was a farmer and lived all his life 
around Toledo, 111., Cumberland Co. They are buried in the 
Toledo Cemetery. 

ALLEN, CHARLES J., born Sept. 22, 1836, died July 11, 
1894, married Rachel Wharton, Oct. 3, 1865. Rachel was born 
April 4, 1842, died Aug. 10, 1909. Their children were: (1) 
Eva May Dora, born Aug. 27, 1866, died 1950; (2) Mary Susan, 
born May 11, 1868, died Nov. 13, 1948; (3) Thomas Warren, 
born May 23, 1870, died Oct. 1928; (4) Nancy Jane, born Feb. 

-216- 



18^ 1872; (5) Laura Ellen, born Nov. 18, 1873; (6) Minnie 
Dian, born Aug. 18, 1876, died June 20, 1877; (7) Charles 
Lawrence^ born May 1, 1878; (8) Nora Matilda, born Aug. 18, 
1881; (9) Gertie Olive, born May 24, 1883. 

May Susan Allen married Albert Absalom Travis, Sept. 22, 
1886 and had: (1) Laura May, born Aug. 20, 1887, died May 
13, 1948; (2) Edward Everett, born Sept. 5, 1890, died Dec. 
7, 1918; (3) Myrna Lucille, born Sept 15, 1897; (4) Frank 
Ainsworth, born June 15, 1901, died Jan 18, 1903; (5) 
Lemoire "Lee" Wesley, born Jan 21, 1904; (6) one daughter 
died in infancy. /tJAtli^ 

Thomas Warren Allen married Mary A^ li - o e Holt. They had 
three sons. Nancy Jane Allen married James A. Scot on Oct. 
2, 1888. They had two sons and one daughter. Laura Ellen 
married Michael Dillier and had Earl and Ethel. Charles 
Lawrence married Lucy Stevens and had two sons. Nora 
Matilda married Harry Kelly and they had two sons and two 
daughters. 

ANDERSON, ALVAH ALFRED, born July 29, 1873 was a son of 
Ezekial and Rachel Catherine Winnett Anderson. In April, 
1898 he married Sarah Evelyn Bemount, born Feb. 6, 1875, a 
daughter of Dennis and Elizabeth Neese Bemount of Cumberland 
Co. They lived on farms in Cumberland Co. They lived 
several years at Edgewood, 111., where he worked on the 
railroad. Then they moved to Richland Co. near Parkersburg, 
where he farmed again. Coming back north, they moved to 
Coles Co. where he worked for William Berkeley on the farm. 
In 1929, Alvah and Sarah with their youngest son. Dale, moved 
to California, first living at Barstow, then in San Bernadino, 
He did different work here, mostly carpenter work, as his 
health permitted. He died in a San Bernardino hospital on 
Jan. 31, 1945. He was brought back to Cumberland Co. and 
buried at Harmony Cemetery near Greenup. Sarah, who was 92 
Feb., 1968, lives in Casey. They were parents of 6 children. 

Martha Alma born Oct. 5, 1900, married Gaylon Reynolds 
on April 19, 1918. He is a painter and they live in Casey. 
They have three children, all married. 

Ava Chloe, born April 3, 1902, married Roy Garrett. He 
is a retired oil field worker. They have one son and four 
grandchildren. They and their son live at Casey. 

William Elvin, born April 18, 1904, married Exie Ashby. 
He works at the Automotive Plant in Casey, where they live. 
They have a son and two grandchildren, also living in Casey. 

Lula Lois, born March 6, 1906, married Paul Rosebraugh. 
Their home is in Rockford, 111., where Paul worked as a 
mechanic in a garage until his death April 29, 1968. 

Amy Opal, born Jan. 1, 1908 and died in July, 1908 at 
6 months of age. 

-217- 



Herman Dale, born June 3^ 1912, married Helen Chapman and 
has one daughter. He lives in Richmond, Calif., and is a 
brakeman for the Santa Fe Railroad. 

ANDERSON, ROBERT C, was born Dec, 2 5, 1811, in Ohio. He 
died Feb. 15, 1882. Nancy Smith, born March 16, 1813 in Ohio, 
married Robert C. Anderson on Aug. 21^ 1834. She died Aug. 
16, 1892 and they are buried in the Long Point Cemetery, 
Neoga, 111. Robert ran a grocery store in Etna, 111., then 
moved to a farm, two miles south from Neoga^ near Etna. 

There were two sons; the first was Charles F., born 
June 26, 1849 and died Feb. 18, 1906. On Feb. 2, 1870, he 
married Malissa Smith, who was born July 4, 1851 and died 
Nov. 19, 1929. They were married at Higginsport, Ohio and 
both are buried at Beecher City, 111. Malissa had two 
brothers, namely, Tobe of Eureka, Kan., and Joseph, Terre 
Haute, Ind. Charles and Malissa had five children: Walter 
F. was born Jan. 4, 1871 and died June 15, 1949. He married 
his wife in Neoga, 111., and later married a second wife, 
Edna Barr. Minnie May was born June 14, 1874 and died April 

12, 1900. Claude was born June 14, 1878 and died Dec. 9, 
1950. Claude married Nellie Ebling on Sept. 24, 1901, in 
Neoga, 111. John Robert was born July 9, 1883, in Neoga, 
111., and married Valie B. Mullins on June 17, 1906, at 
Beecher City, 111. He is now living in Kincaid, 111. 
Edward Raymond was born March 6, 1890 and died Sept. 2,1959. 

The second son of Charles F. and Malissa Smith Anderson 
was Samuel Oliver Anderson, born 1852 and died April 25, 
1927. He married Mary W. Higgins, who was born Feb. 4, 1850 
and died June 8, 1931. They were married at Neoga, 111., and 
both are buried there. There were two daughters: Rosa Lee 
Anderson Higgins, born 1873 and died 1944; and Neva Higgins 
Young, now 69 years old and living in Neoga, 111. 

Children of John Robert Anderson and Valie B. Anderson 
are: George Pearl Anderson, born Nov. 15, 1906 in Terre Haute, 
Ind. He moved with his family to Taylorville, 111. and marr- 
ied Alice Margarette Heath, who was born Feb. 22, 1914. Both 
are living in Bulpitt, 111. Opal Incy Colclasure, born April 
30, 1908 and living at Oconee, 111.; Zelma Fern Clark, born 
April 12, 1910, Kinkaid, 111.; Freida May, born March 14, 1912 
and died March 31, 1914; Juanita A. Summers, born May 18, 1915 
at Kincaid, 111.; Albert Edward, born Oct. 19, 1917 and died 
Feb. 18, 1918; Wilbur Francis, born Nov. 19, 1921, Mason City, 
111.; John Robert Anderson, born Nov. 3, 1926 and died Jan. 

13, 1941. 

ANDRUS, ALVAH, born Nov. 26, 1888 near Toledo, 111., son 
of John G. and Susan Amelia Andrus, married Lola Jackson on 
March 20, 1912 near Toledo, 111. 

John G. was born Dec. 25, 1853 at Terre Haute, Ind.; 

-218- 



married Susan, July 4, 1877 at Toledo, died Dec. 13, 1877 
and was buried at Morton Chapel. Susan was born May 4, 
1855 near Toledo, died March 6, 1929, also buried at Morton. 
The Andrus families are Methodists. 

Lola, born May 16, 1886 was the daughter of Frank and 
Lillie Jackson. Frank was born July 16, 1855 and died June 
13, 1938. Lillie w^s born July 4, 1862 and died Oct. 21, 
1926. Both are buried in the Toledo Cemetery. All lived 
near Toledo. The Jackson family were affiliates of the 
Christian Church. 

Alvah and Lola had; Ruby Maxine, born Jan. 4, 1920, 
married Robert Scott at Indianapolis, Ind. Wilma Christine, 
born May 17, 1922, married William Miller of Indianapolis. 
Granddaughter, Judith Lynn Miller, born April 27, 1951. 

Mr. Andrus of Olney, 111., recently contributed a home- 
made wooden sausage grinder (Made by his step-grandfather, 
Mr. Boph, of the Toledo neighborhood) to our Cumberland Co. 
Historical Museum at Greenup. 

APPLEGATE, VICTOR WAYNE, youngest son of William 
Asineous and Rebecca (Stump) Applegate, was born in Cumber- 
land Co., April 30, 1901. He grew to manhood on the family 
farm north of Hazel Dell, 111. On Dec. 24, 1921, he married 
Edna Pearl Shore. To this union were born three sons and one 
daughter, Wayne Victor, born Nov. 7, 1922, Leonard Leroy, 
born Oct. 14, 1924, married Betty Glidewell of Hazel Dell. 
Betty Margret, born Aug. 3, 1925. Marion Raymond, born 
June 11, 1928. 

Wayne moved to Mahomet, 111. shortly after his marriage 
to work on a farm. After three years of farm work, he moved 
to Champaign, where he now resides and for several years he 
has worked for the Athletic Association at the University of 
Illinois . 

APPLEGATE, WILLIAM ARCHIBALD, was born July 4, 1835 in 
Shelby Co., Ind. and died Dec. 11, 1915. He married Elizabeth 
Radar and came to Cumberland Co., 111., about 1856 and settled 
north of Hazel Dell, being among the first settlers in 
Crooked Creek township. He homesteaded land and built a log 
cabin and other buildings. He was a farmer and carpenter. To 
this union was born three sons and three daughters. William 
Asinias, born Oct. 16, 1858, died Dec, 1945; Alice Carrie, 
born Aug. 29, 1859, died Oct. 15, 1881; Mary, born Aug. 5, 
1860, died Dec. 11, 1891; Nickolus Sherman, born 1855, died 
1950; Judson Sheridan, born April 20, 1867, died Dec, 1870; 
Cora, dates unknown. 

Archibald's eldest son, William Asinias married Rebecca 
Stump. They lived on a farm north of Hazel Dell, where they 
spent their entire married life and where their four sons and 
three daughters grew up. Charles Edward, dates unknown, 

-219- 



married Nellie Hashbarger. Nellie Leora, born Sept. 2, 1880, 
married "Pod" Hurt. Zenas Sherman, born June 18, 1883, 
married Alona Wertz. Ethel Izetta, born Aug. 15, 1890, 
married John Weaver. Orville Earl, born Feb. 19, 1894, 
married Lula Shadley. Hazel Cleone, born Feb. 14, 1898, died 
Dec, 1915. Victor Wayne, born April 30, 1901, married Edna 
Shores. Zenas Sherman was born and reared near Hazel Dell, 
111. He attended the Center School. On June 17, 1911, he 
married Alona Wertz. They lived near Moriah for a few years 
where Zene had employment. Then they moved to Hazel Dell and 
and he farmed for awhile. Then they moved back to Moriah 
where he worked in the oilfield. He lived at Moriah until 
1930 when he bought a farm northwest of Casey, 111. and re- 
tired from the oilfield. His beloved companion, Alona, 
passed away in April, 1935. His sister, Nellie, came to make 
her home with him and help care for the children. While 
living in Casey he owned and operated the Rex Cafe for a 
number of years. Zene lived the last several years of his 
life in Hazel Dell, 111., near his brother Earl. He met a 
tragic death on April 27, 1957 when he was hit by an auto- 
mobile. He lived in Casey from 1937 to 1942 with family. 

Zenas and Alona were the proud parents of four boys and 
three daughters. Glen Elden, born Jan. 25, 1912, married 
Pauline Deverick. Herbert L., born Oct. 4, 1913, died Sept. 
29, 1914. Mildred Aleen, born Jan. 27, 1916, married Hers- 
chel W. Gardner. Howard Eugene, born Jan. 13, 1918, 
married Helen Brandenburg. Lowell Dean, born Nov. 11, 1919 
married Phylis Comer. Marjorie Pauline, born Oct. 30, 1922 
married Lyle Bennett. Mary Katheline, born April 2, 1926, 
married William C. Willis. 

Mildred Aleen married Herschel W. Gardner March 17, 1934 
and to this union was born four children. Shirley Maurine, 
born Aug. 30, 1934, married Olin Clark Burnett, and are the 
parents of two children, Dennis Clark and Nancy Lynn. Sharon 
Darlene, born April 1, 1940, married Ted Allen Hutton and are 
the parents of two children, Annette Marie and Robert Brian. 
Frederick Nile, born Nov. 1, 1945, married Sheryl Lynn Dulgar. 
Infant son born and died July 25, 1937. 

Orville Earl, born Feb. 19, 1894 was the son of William 
and Rebecca (Stump) Applegate . He was born and reared in 
Crooked Creek Township, on the family farm north of Hazel Dell, 
111. When a young man, he helped on the farm and worked as a 
section hand on the C. H. & D. Railroad until he entered 
World War I, serving from 1917 to 1919. After returning home. 
Earl married Lula Ellen Shadley. They lived in Crooked Creek 
Township most of their married life. He was road commissioner 
for four years and was in the grocery business several times. 
They had one daughter and one son; Alice Rebecca (Laymon) , 

-220- 



born March 25, 1921. William Allen, born August 8, 1927, 
died Feb. 25, 1928. Lula passed away April 21, 1955 at 
their home in Hazel Dell. 

ASHBROOK, WILSON, born June 8, 1914 in Moultrie Co., 
111., son of Dick N. and Ivanora Rose Vaughn, married 
Mildred P. Allen, June 28, 1938 in Williamson Co., 111. 

Dick N., born March 17, 1883, in Moultrie Co., 111., 
married Ivanora, born May 25, 1887, died Nov. 24, 1964 
and was buried at Decatur, Macon Co., 111. Mildred's 
father, Marvin L. Allen, born March 23, 1891 in William- 
son Co., married Florria Jane Fuller, born Jan. 30, 1891 
in Williamson Co. Marvin died Jan. 15, 1948. Florrie 
died Jan. 19, 1958. Both were buried in their home 
county. Wilson and Mildred had (1) Alan Eugene, born 
May 10, 1941, married Paulette Roach, Jan. 7, 1961 and 
(2) Annetta Rose, born Nov. 20, 1948. 

ASKEW, ALLEN A., born in 1820 was an early settler in 
Cumberland Co. He resided on a farm east of Timonthy. He 
also took part in township affairs as we find from the 
early record of Union Township that he served as overseer 
of highways several times. By his first wife, Melvina, he 
had four children: Allison who went west to work in the 
gold mines. After a time they quit hearing from him, so 
it is not known what happened to him. Hyte who settled in 
Venice, 111., near East St. Louis, where he raised a family 
of five. Sarah married Pinkney Batty and lived on a farm 
near Timothy, and Mary who married Douglas Tutwiler and 
lived in Charleston. She had one son, Harry. Allen's wife 
Melvina, died July 27, 1852 and is buried at Harmony. 

After her death, he married Rebecca Ellen Elder Wall, 
a widow who also had four children and a step-daughter. The 
step-daughter, Susan Wall, married Joseph Price and lived in 
Janesville. William Wall married Violet Baumgartner and moved 
to Missouri where they raised a family of four. After Violet's 
death, he remarried and had one child. They are buried in 
Missouri. James Berry Wall went to Arkansas to live. He was 
killed and is buried there. Adeline Wall married Tillman 
Carrell and had children: Jessee and Byrd deceased, Rufus of 
Greenup, and Estie of Wisconsin. Margaret Wall married James 
Carrell (a brother to Tillman) and had childred: Thomas, 
Marvin, John, Joseph, Brie, Dessie, Alma and Daisy. John, 
Joe and Alma are living. 

Allen and Rebecca were parents of seven children: twins, 
Nancy Ellen and Laura Anna, born Oct. 17, 1863, Johnathan, 
born July 5, 1865, married Ellen Wall and had one child, 
Essie Baldwin of Sidell, 111. John died April 8, 1889; 
Georgie, born 1869 and died Feb. 11, 1888; Stephen Alexander 
born June 14, 1871 and died Oct. 22, 1932; Louisa Jane born 

-221- 



April 17, 1874, died Oct. 14, 1942; and Renna G., born Dec. 
13, 1877 and died Feb. 15, 1900. She married Jacob Grisson 
and they had one son, Lewis. Lewis was less than two years 
old when his mother died, so he lived part time with relatives 
and part time with his father. 

Allen died April 19, 1877 before his daughter, Renna, was 
born. Rebecca lived on the homeplace and raised her family. 
She died Dec. 15, 1892. They are buried at Harmony. 

ASKEW, EBENEZER, son of Harrison and Margaret Williams 
Askew, was born Sept. 18, 1853 near Martinsville, Ind. He 
came to Cumberland Co., 111. as a young man. He married 
Josephine Walters, born Jan. 4, 1870; on Jan. 8, 1891, the 
daughter of Elijah and Julia Ann Allen Walters. 

When they were first married, they lived on the old 
Walters place, which was in the northwest part of Union Town- 
ship, north of the Bell Cemetery. They later moved to 
another farm nearby. Essie, the first child, was born Aug. 
20, 1891, Nellie Opal was born Aug. 4, 1893, Orace Elmer, 
Nov. 24, 1895, Ruth Ellen, Jan. 10, 1899, Ralph Elijah, 
May 14, 1901. Then the family moved to a farm north of the 
Union Church where they lived for two years. Mr. Askew then 
purchased a farm of Jake Stirewalt, near the Timothy Store 
and they moved there. Here Charles Glen was born, July 26, 
1904; Alice Irene was born June 26, 1908, and Margaret Edna 
Sept. 6, 1916. Ebenezer farmed and Josephine was busy rear- 
ing her family. She sat up many nights sewing for them. 
During the time they lived at Timothy, they had a serious 
attack of scarlet fever, when the family was quarrantined 
for quite some time. 

In the spring of 1917 they purchased a farm north of 
Unicn Center and moved there. They lived the rest of their 
married life at this place. In Feb., 1919, Ralph Elijah 
passed away as a young man and is buried at the Bell Cemetery. 
On Oct. 23, 1919 Nellie was married to Joseph Ellsworth Wade. 
Ruth taught school a few years and on Aug. 13, 1921, was 
married to Sidney Closson. They made their home in Charleston 
where Sidney was manager of the Wadley Poultry Co. They were 
parents of two children; Ralph Eugene, burn July 23, 1923 and 
Erma Jean, born Nov. 16, 1925. Ruth and Sidney both died in 
June, 1945 in Charleston, a few days apart and had a double 
funeral. They are buried in the Mound Cemetery at Charleston. 
Their son Ralph, was overseas serving in World War II at the 
time. Ralph married Lorraine Burgess on June 9, 1946. They 
are parents of two children, Patricia Butler and James Eugene. 
Ralph is city editor of the Mattoon Journal Gazette and 
Lorraine is a nurse at the Mattoon hospital. 

Essie worked for the Bedford Carrell family for several 
years and in the late 1920 's, married James Stirewalt. He 

-222- 



passed away in the late 1940' s. She still lives at Timothy. 

Charles Askew graduated from Casey Township High School 
in 1923. Later he graduated from Eastern Illinois Teachers 
College. He taught agriculture in high school , teaching in 
Bible Grove, Anna and Noble, 111. He married Arlie Dodds on 
Dec. 14/ 1935. They have one daughter , Kathryn, born on 
March 29, 1939. Charles has now retired from teaching and 
they live at Noble, 111. 

Alice Askew married Graydon Ingram^ Dec, 1935. They 
are parents of one daughter, Peggy Joyce, born Jan. 1, 1940. 
Graydon taught school until his death on April 6, 1962 in 
Warren, 111. Alice now lives at Mattoon where she is a 
Nurse's Aide at the Mattoon Memorial Hospital. 

Ebenezer passed away at his home on April 26, 1935 and 
is buried at the Bell Cemetery. Josephine, Margaret and 
Grace continued to live together on the farm. Then on May 
7, 1941, Margaret married Daniel F. Lee, a son of Grant Lee 
of Union Township. They live on a farm near his parents and 
are parents of two daughters; Ruth Ann, born May 2, 1944 and 
Carol Sue, born Aug. 2, 1946. 

Orace Askew was never married. He continued to farm the 
Askew place for a few years, but in the early forties went 
to Arizona for his health and later to California. He 
passed away in California in Aug., 1947 and was returned to 
Cumberland Co. for burial at the Bell Cemetery. 

In Feb., 1945, Josephine, still living on the farm 
alone, fell and broke her hip and from then on it was nec- 
essary for her to live with her children. She passed away 
July 5, 1949 at the home of her daughter, Essie Stirewalt, 
and is buried in the Bell Cemetery. 

-B- 

BABBS, ELIE and Mary Thrawls were married April 22, 1805 
in Anne Arundel Co., Maryland. They had (1) Evan, (2) Elie, 
(twins) ; (3) Mary, born in Ohio, married (1) James Green and 
had David B. and Susan Green, married (2) Cain Bright; (4) 
Susannah, born March 27, 1810, married (1) John D. Gardner, 

who was born in July, 1809 and died Aug. 14, 1851 in 
Cumberland Co., 111. 

The children of Susannah and John D. Gardner were (1) 
Mary B., born Oct. 31, 1833 in Perry Co., Ohio, married 

(1) John J. Sheplor on March 31, 1852 and had two children,"^ 
Arabella who married Anslem Armer and Rachel (Sept. 8, 1853- 
Sept. 23, 1879). John J., died in 1859. Susannah married 

(2) Philip Sheplor, born in 1795 and died March 15, 1879, 
They had Alcinda who married Elias Armer and Lewis who ^ 

arried Cordelia Mock. ^ . . ^ 

^"V^ w n ' f:r ; v.. v/y^v ,-^'yb^- i^f^' 9-3 /S''^J c^'^^r ly^y, J^M, 



H 



(2) Margaret A. Gardner born Nov. 5, 1835 in Perry Co., 
married Irving W. Wood on Oct. 15, 1853. They had Almira 
who married Elmer Ranch and had two children: Alfred, vii o 
married Myrtle Brown and Arlie B. who married Rolland 
Pettit. A few years later Margaret married William Green, 
son of Jacob and Mary Sheplor Green. She died in Greenup, 
111., May 20, 1913. Their children were Mary B., Arvilla, 
Franklin O., and Rose. 

(3) Anna Marie born Dec. 18, 1839 near Woodbury, 111. 
She married Dec. 5, 1858, John Green, son of Jacob and 
Mary S. Green. She died Aug. 15, 1910 in Greenup. Their 
childred were William, Alice F., John D., and a small son. 

(4) Francis Marion, born in 1842, died March 27, 1863, 
was a soldier in the Civil War. 

(5) Eli, probably the oldest in the family, went to 
California in the gold rush of 1849. 

BAKER, EARL CUBA, was born May 19, 1898 in Shelby Co., 
111. He was the youngest child of Levi L. and Anna (Luedke) 
Baker. Earl operated the first movie theatre in Sigel, 111. 
during the early 1920 's. He married Hester Hedwig Wolf on 
Sept. 8, 1919 in Toledo, 111., the daughter of John Henry 
and Matilda Felgenhauer Wolf. She was born Nov. 23, 1902 
in Neoga Township, Cumberland Co. At the time of their 
marriage they were both residents of the Sigel community, 
after living in Mattoon and Sigel, they moved in 1929 into 
a house on the Rea farm in Spring Point Township, Cumber- 
land Co. In 1934 they moved into a new home across the 
road from the Rea house, which they built on land Earl had 
inherited from his father, and where Hester still lives. 

Earl C.Baker died Oct. 26, 1955 in St. Anthony's hospital, 
Effingham, 111- and is buried in St. Michael's Cemetery, 
Sigel, 111. Earl and Hester had 14 children, one died at 
birth; Earl Cuba, Jr., was born Jan. 19, 1920 in Mattoon, 
111. He was a Cpl. in the 330th Engineers Corp., U.S. Army 
and was stationed in India during World War II, where he 
worked on the Burma Road. He married Evelyn M. Oakley in 
Effingham. She was a daughter of Jess and Edna (Light) 
Oakley of Jewett, 111. They have four children, Stephen 
Douglas, Linda Maxine, Charles Cuba, and Maria Jean. He 
is president of E. C. Baker & Sons, Inc. and is a resident 
of Effingham, 111. 

Paul Vernon was born July 5, 1921 in Sigel. He was 
stationed in Panama during the war, a Sergeant in the 20th 
Ord. Med. Maint. Co., U. S. Army. He married Wilma Jean 
Hill in Mattoon, she was a daughter of Addison and Irene 
(Mowell) Hill of that city, formerly of rural Neoga. They 
have one son, Paul William "Bill". After living in Toledo 
for several years, they moved to Lodi, Calif, where they 

-224- 



now reside. He is employed in a shipyard at Stockton , Calif . 

Sarah "Sara" Pauline was born July 14, 1923 in Sigel. 
After graduating from Teutopolis High School, she moved to 
Chicago/ 111./ where she was employed. She married Charles 
L. Carpenter in Chicago. He was born in Cumberland Co./ and/L-^ 
is the son of Louis and Bessie (- B - istain ^ Carpenter, R.F.D.(3^< 
Neoga/ 111. Charles was a private in the Q/m Corp, U. S. ^ 
Army from 1946-1947. They are residents of Worth/ 111. /near 
Chicago; he is employed in construction work. 

Floyd Foster was born May 4, 1924 in Sigel. He was a 
P.F.C., Co. D/ 19 Inf., U.S. Army. Floyd was stationed in the 
Phillipine Islands and in Japan during World War II, he 
received shrapnel wounds while in the Phillipines, and was 
awarded the Purple Heart. He married Mary L. Hoelscher in 
St. Francis Church/ Teutopolis/ 111.; she was the daughter of 
Henry and Teresa (Vaultenberg) Hoelscher of rural Teutopolis. 
They have nine children, Dennis Joseph/ Susan Jean/ John 
Michael, Judith Lynn, Ruth Ann, Jane Ellen, Patrick James, 
Timothy Joseph and Nancy Kay. They are residents of Sigel, 
and he is employed at E. C- Baker & Sons and in construction. 
.5 Norman Ellis was born April 18, 1927 in Sigel. He was a 
l\\ -^T^lS- (Sergant) , 410th Ord., M. M. Co., U. S. Army; he went in 
the service at the end of World War II and was stationed in 
Saipan. He married Leona G. Yocum in Effingham; she was a 
daughter of Claud Yocum of Montrose, 111./ and Clara (Hingson) 
Mechling of Shumway, 111. They have eleven children, Alan 
Curtis, born March 30, 1951 in Coles Co./ 111.; Jerry Ellis/ 
born June 25, 1952 in Spring Point Township; Carl Wayne and 
Clifford William (twins), born Aug. 16, 1954; Debra Kay, born 
Sept. 15/ 1955; Barbara Diann, born Jan. 6, 1957; Jackie Edward 
born March 15, 1958; Jimmy Lee/ born June 15/ 1959; Gale 
Arthur, born Sept. 10, 1960; Anthony Eugene/ born Sept. 3, 
1962; Roger Leroy, born June 20, 1964, in Effingham Co., 111. 
They are residents of rural Sigel/ Spring Point Township. 
Norman is employed at International Harvester Co. , Mattoon. 

Vernon Allen was born April 15, 1929 in Spring Point 
Township. He is the Secretary of E. C. Baker & SonS/ Inc./ 
and is the owner of the Vernon A. Baker Talent Agency. He is 
a resident of rural Sigel, Spring Point Township. 

Loretta Ann was born January 31, 1931 in Spring Point 
Township. She married Bernard John Tegeler in St. Michael's 
Church, Sigel. He was a son of Joseph and Anna (Lohman) 
Tegeler of R.R. 3/ Effingham. Joseph Tegeler was born in 
Cumberland Co. and his parents moved from the county when he 
was about three years old . Bernard J. was a farmer in 
Effingham Co. He died Nov. 23/ 1966 in St. Anthony's Hospital 
at Effingham and is buried in St. Michael's Cemetery, Sigel. 
She crocheted her wedding dress with No. 60 white crochet 

-225- 



thread in a stitch called the "lovers knot". It was lined in 
white satin and took approximately nine months to make. They 
have two children, Bernard John Jr., and Brian James. They 
are residents of Effingham Co., and she is employed at the 
E. G. B aker & Sons^ Inc. 

Lowell Thomas was born Aug. 12, 1932 in Spring Point Town- 
ship. He was a P.F.G. in the 279th Inf., Regt . , 45th Inf. 
Div., U. S. Army at the end of the Korean War. The ship he 
was on docked in Korea just before the Truce went into effect. 
He married Joan M. Davis in the First Baptist Church in 
Effingham; she was a daughter of Wilfred and Helen (Warner) 
Davis, Watson, 111. They have two children, Thomas David and 
Brenda Jo. He has built three cars from the ground up; one 
was a racer and one was a sports car of his own design^ which 
he still has. He just finished a two place airplane, which 
he built in his garage in Effingham; he started building it 
in 1961. It is a modified design (partially his own) and 
was licensed Oct., 1967. The wings fold up against the 
fucilage and it is pulled behind his car. It is Poppy Red 
(Orange) with gold trim. Thomas is employed at the Lewis 
Tire Shop in Effingham and they are residents of that city; 
Joan is employed at E. G. Baker & Sons, Inc.^ Sigel. 

Arthur Lee was born July 8, 1934 in Spring Point Town- 
ship. He was Sp/4 in the 35th Aviation Go., Inf. Div., and 
was stationed in Hawaii during peace time. He married Ruth 
A. Fruchtl in St. Michael's Church, Sigel; she was the 
daughter of Matthias and Ann (Sur) Fruchtl of that community. 
They have three daughters, Lee Ann, Sara Marie and Amy Louise. 
They are residents of Sigel and he is employed at E. G. Baker 
& Sons, Inc., of that city. 

Max Lloyd was born Oct. 14, 1936 in Spring Point Town- 
ship. He married Beverly A. Tabor in the First Baptist Church 
in Effingham. She was a daughter of Clarence and Betty 
(Pachura) Tabor of Chicago, formally of Effingham. They were 
residents of Spring Point Township, for about four years 
after they were married and lived in Effingham about one year. 
Max drowned in Lake Sara, July 20, 1961 and is buried in the 
Town Cemetery in Sigel. They had two children, Minda Lee and 
Denise Colleen, now living in Columbus, Miss. 

James Curtis was born May 3, 1938 in Spring Point Town- 
snip. He married LoElla M. Lankford in tne FunKinouser 
Methodist Churcn. She was a daughter of Owen and Ena (Loy) 
Lankford of Funknouser, 111. They have two children, Scherry 
Ann and Michael Curtis. Curtis and LoElla are residents of 
Effingnam, and they are both employed at E. C. Baker & Sons, 
Inc . , Sigel . 

Donald Kay was born Feb. 8, 1940 in Spring Point Town- 
ship. He married Joan L. Pardieck in St. Paul's Lutheran 

-226- 



church, Sigel; she was a daughter of Edwin and Mary (Fearday) 
Pardieck of Neoga. They are expecting their first child in 
Aug., 1958. "Butch" is employed at E. C. Baker & Sons, Inc., 
Sigel, and Joan is employed by Maurice A. Rickelman, attorney 
at Effingham. They are residents of rural Neoga. They pur- 
chased from the U. S. Government, the Radar Station which is 
northeast of Neoga, and are in the process of remodeling it 
into a home. 

Bonnie Elaine was born Dec. 15, 1941 at Effingham. She 
is the compiler of this family history and is employed by 
E. C. Baker & Sons, Inc., Sigel and is a resident of Sigel. 

BAKER BAND - Arthur "Tuf fy" , Loretta, Max "Curly" and 
Donald "Butch" were well known musicians during the 1950' s. 
They performed at numerous gatherings throughout Cumberland 
and the surrounding counties. Tuffy, who is well known for 
his guitar playing, also played the bass fiddle and fiddle. 
The bass fiddle was Loretta 's instrument and Max played the 
steel guitar and bass. Butch was known for his banjo and 
also performed on the guitar and bass fiddle. Tuffy is the 
only one who is still performing before the public. He plays 
with a band three nights a week in Decatur, 111. 

PUBLIC ADDRESS SYSTEM - Earl Baker Sr. bought a PA system 
in Oct. of 1953; it was used for the first time at the Toledo 
Fall Festival. His sons, Vernon and J. Curtis, continue to 
operate it; it has been used many times at the Jewett Home- 
coming and other events of this nature. 

FAMILY BUSINESS - At one time or another, all of the 
children of Earl and Hester have been employed in the family 
business . 

BAKER, JESSE, was born near Shawneetown, 111. in 1823 
and came with his parents to settle near the south and west 
Cumberland line at the age of five. In 1845, he married 
Tamar Walker who died in Jan., 1858, leaving a family of 
seven children. He became an extensive land owner and live- 
stock feeder. In Nov., 1858, he married Martha Rentfrow and 
they in turn had a family of nine children, the youngest 
being Jesse I. Baker, who resided in the Sigel community for 
his entire life of 91 years. He followed his father's foot- 
steps in being a livestock farmer. 

Jesse I. Baker (1876-1967) married Fannie E. Lugar (1876- 
1962), eldest daughter of G. M. Lugar in 1898 and to this 
union was born four children: Ralph L., who left the farm 
early in life and has resided in Houston, Texas many years; 
J. Leroy (1904- ) ; Kenneth and Evelyn (1908- ) . Kenneth 
is a retired teacher and farmer. Evelyn is a retired Major 
in the Army Nurse's Corps. 

J. Leroy Baker started teaching in 1923 at a country 
school; he received his B.S. in Education from Eastern 111. 

-227- 



University in 1931. Four years later he received his M. S. 
in Education from the University of Illinois. He served the 
schools of Illinois as teacher and administrator for almost 
forty years, the major part of which was spent in Cumberland 
County, 111. He was principal of Burlington Township High 
School in Kane County for twelve years, then returned to 
Cumberland Co. in June of 1947, bought a farm in Spring Point 
Township and was elected to the Office of Co. Superintendent 
of Schools. 

The next four years, 1947-51, were exciting ones; it was 
in that period that the reorganization of the Toledo, Greenup 
Jewett and area schools into a unit district took place and 
the building of Cumberland High School was started. The scars 
from that struggle carried over into the next election for 
Co. Superintendent of Schools and caused his defeat, but he 
was elected to that office in 1962 and again in 1966. 

During that period when he was not in school work, he and 
his brother, Kenneth, devoted their time to agriculture, pro- 
ducing grain and swine. 

In 1937, he was married to Thelma McSchooler, daughter of 
Mr. and Mrs. Thomas E. McSchooler of Dieter ich. Two children 
were born of this marriage: Bette (1940- ) and Linda (1946- 

) . Both daughters are elementary majors and are teaching 
school. Bette was married to Blaine Haskett, son of Mr. and 
Mrs. Frank Haskett of Neoga. They have a daughter, Sherri. 
Linda married James Short, son of Mr. and Mrs. James A. Short 
of Neoga, 111. 

Leroy and his wife were active in the Toledo Methodist 
Church; he as a teacher and trustee. Both could be counted 
on for help in any worthy community project. 

BAKER, NORMAN, born April 1, 1927 at Sigel, 111., son of 
Earl Cuba and Hester (Wolf) Baker, married Leona Yocum, July 
19, 1950 at Effingham, 111. Earl was born May 19, 1898 near 
Sigel and married Hester on Sept. 8, 1919 in Cumberland Co. 
He died Oct. 26, 1955 and was buried in the Sigel Cemetery. 
Hester was born at home in Cumberland Co., Nov. 23, 1902. 

Norman and Leona have Alan C, born March 30, 1951; Jerry 
E., born June 25, 1952; Carl W. and Clifford W. (twins), born 
Aug 16, 1954; Debra K., born Sept. 15, 1955; Barbara D., on 
Jan. 6, 1956; Jackie E., born March 15, 1958; Jimmy L., born 
June 15, 1959; Gale A., born Sept. 3, 1960; Tony E., born on 
Sept. 10, 1962; and Roger L., born June 20, 1964. All were 
born in Effingham hospital, except Alan C. 

BALES, CLIFFORD, was born in Shelby Co., in 1917, son of 
Preston and Fannie Bales. Fannie was born in 1898 and died 
in 1918. She attended the Christian Church. 

Delores Lane was born in Neoga, Shelby Co., in 1930. Her 
parents were Dale, born 1908 and Mildred (Stevens) Lane, born 

-228- 



1908. They were married July 14, 1925. Children born, in 
Mattoon, 111., were: Steven, Aug. 7, 1948; Dennis, Oct. 31, 
1951; and Jerry, Nov. 29, 1952. 

BALLINGER, GEORGE WESLEY, was born in Cumberland Co., 111. 
on Aug. 17, 1881. He is the son of John Riley and Jane 
(Patterson) Ballinger. They are both deceased and buried at 
the Drummond Cemetery, Cumberland Co. 

Grace Irene Keller was born Oct. 15, 1884 in Cumberland 
Co. and is the daughter of George W. and Malinda Jane (White) 
Keller. The parents are both buried in the Drummond Cemetery. 
George and Grace were married May 15, 1900 in Cumberland Co. 
Two sons and three daughters were born to them in Cumberland 
Co. Zelma, born Dec. 30, 1901, married to Carl Mendenhall; 
Harold Leland was born Jan. 4, 1904 and married Hazel McCoy; 
Helen Pauline, born June 15, 1905, married B. Reed; Foster 
Woodrow, born Jan. 20, 1914, married Ellen Layton and Gladys 
Lorene, born Dec. 25, 1917, married to Mike Tate. 

BALLINGER, JOHN RILEY, was born May 1, 1878 near Neoga, 
111. John received his education in the old Buck Branch 
Country School, about 1/4 mile from his parents home. On 
April 4, 1900 he was married to Flossie Irene Blair, a 
neighbor girl. John Riley's father was John Riley Ballinger, 
Sr., who was born Dec. 15, 1851. He died May 15, 1915 near 
Neoga, 111. and was buried at the Drummond Cemetery. John 
Riley, Jr.'s mother was Jane Peterson, born Dec. 15, 1853 
near Neoga. She died March 13, 1939 near Neoga, and she 
too, was buried in the Drummond Cemetery. She was affil- 
iated with the Christian Church. 

Flossie Irene Blair was born June 5, 1878 near Neoga. 
Her father was John Blair, born May 22, 1840. He was marr- 
ied Feb. 28, 1855 near Neoga. He died Jan. 28, 1917, and was 
buried at the Long Point Cemetery. Flossie's mother was 
Martha V. Ewing, born Aug. 25, 1841. She died April 23, 1913 
near Neoga and buried in the Long Point Cemetery. 

Soon after Flossie Irene and John Riley were married, they 
left by covered wagon to take a claim in the Indian territory, 
now a part of the state of Oklahoma. They remained there one 
year, coming back to Illinois and living at the Blair Home- 
stead. Soon after their return a new home was under constru- 
ction on 40 acres of land given to them by John R. Ballinger, 
Sr. On Nov. 30, 1905, Thanksgiving Day, a daughter, Mary, was 
born to Flossie and John, Jr., near Neoga, 111. On Oct. 8, 
1960, Mary married Marion A. Mason at Neoga, 111. 

On July 15, 1909, a son Marion Laverne, was born to Flossie 
and John Riley, Jr. On June 30, 1937, Marion married Evelyn 
Peters at Martinsville, 111. Marion died at Neoga, 111., on 
May 11, 1955. 

On May 13, 1939, Flossie Irene passed away and was buried 

-229- 



at Long Point Cemetery. She was affiliated with the Baptist 
Southern Church. John Riley, and his daughter Mary lived on 
the farm till he passed away Jan. 14, 1946, and he too, was 
buried at Long Point Cemetery. 

BALLINGER, OMER LEVI, was born Dec. 24, 187 5 near Neoga, 
111., in Cumberland Co. He was married July 3, 1904 near 
Neoga and died Oct. 6, 1947 at Toledo, 111. He was affili- 
ated with the Baptist Southern Church. Omer Levi's father 
was John Riley Ballinger, who was born Dec. 16, 1851. Mr. 
Ballinger died May 16, 1916 near Neoga, 111. Jane Peterson, 
born Dec., 1853 near Neoga, was Omer Levi's mother. She died 
at Neoga on March 13, 1939. All were buried in Drummond 
Cemetery. She was affiliated with the Christian C hurch. 

In July, 1904, Omer married Ida Belle Ballinger. She was 
born Jan. 16, 1886 near Toledo, 111. She is affiliated with 
the Christian Church. Ida Belle's father was Jasper Lee 
Ballinger. He is buried at Toledo Cemetery. Omer ' s mother 
is Mary Ann Burge . She died in Feb., 1922 at Litchfield, 
111, and was buried there. She was affiliated with the 
Christian Church. Omer Ballinger and Ida Belle were the 
parents of eight children: (1) Beulah Eloise, born Sept. 8, 
1907 and married Roscoe Warner of Toledo; (2) Reva Leora, 
born May 27, 1909, married David Cain; (3) Grace Marie, born 
May 30, 1911 and married George Selby; (4) Clark Delbert, 
born Feb. 3, 1913 and married Naomi Cox; (5) Ina Christine, 
born June 20, 1915 and died Jan. 14, 1920; (6) Geneva May, 
born April 30, 1917 and married Dan Brooks; (7) Hazel 
Dorothy, born Oct. 31, 1921 and married Earl Holmes; (8) 
Norma Jean, born May 13, 1925 and married Denzel Rennels. 
All were born near Neoga, 111. 

BANCROFT, GEORGE ERNEST, born July 13, 1911 in Greenup, 
111., son of Ernest James and Fannie Myrtle (Reeder) 
Bancroft, married Cleta Bernadine Parker of Westfield, 111. 
on June 15, 1935 in Charleston, 111. Fannie died in 1959-,/%/ 
aged 68 years and Ernest died irfl tsJalr at the age of 76. 

George was a Greyhound bus driver for several years. 
Now, having graduated from Central 111. Barber College, he 
is a registered barber. He received from the Bradley 
University Division of Horology a certificate of certified 
jewelry and watchmaking. He is the owner and operator of 
Bancroft Barber Shop, Watch and Clock Repair Shop of 
Greenup, 111. He purchased his building in 1951. It ad- 
joins the National Bank Building on the south side of 
Cumberland Street (the Old National Road.) The east half of 
this building houses the Victor Brooks' Radio & TV Sales 
and Repair Shop. 

BARGER, JAMES WASHINGTON, born in Botetourt Co., Va . , 
on May 31, 1840, a son of George W. and Susan (Weymer) 

-230- 



Barger. About 1849 the family moved into Champaign Co., near 
Eris, Ohio and on to Cumberland Co., 111. in 1851^ probably 
because a cousin had already migrated here. The Barger men 
bore distinctive titles that lasted their lifetime. There 
was Cottonwood Jake, cousin of George; Muddy Creek Jake, no 
kin; Red George, and Black George Barger. Black George was 
the father of our subject, James W. The family settled a 
half mile north, and a half mile west of the site of Brad- 
bury, 111., Cottonwood Twp./ and on the Fulfur Branch where 
a fine spring furnished plenty of water. George never owned 
any land of his own, but farmed various tracts. His wife, 
Susan, died on the homestead, April 7, 1867, with burial in 
Haggin Cemetery, nearby. In the family were James and two 
sisters, Minerva, and Salina. Minerva married Abe Wilson, 
and Salina married Sam Harvey, one of the first store 
keepers in the town of Toledo, 111. 

The Bargers were an outdoor family, wi th the love of 
open sky, of dogs and hunting that never left them. On the 
trip to Illinois, James walked almost the entire distance 
carrying his gun, and keeping the family well supplied with 
all kinds of wild game. West of Bradbury stretched the 
prairie, an unhealthy, unbroken line of watery swales, of 
prairie blue stem grass so tough it rivaled the brush growing 
along the streams. It was so heavy buffalo could stampede 
over it and not destroy it. The prairie land had long been 
bought and entered, but none was plowed, and the prediction 
was that it never would be. The Barger family found it tough 
going in the area with the war upon them, but after some time 
James was able to buy 3 or 4 yoke of oxen. Sending back to 
Cincinnatti for 24" steel plow, unheard of locally to date. 
For 5 dollars an acre, James Barger took on the terrible task 
of plowing this prairie south of Johnstown, 111. When dry 
enough to plow, the grass came alive with the vicious prairie 
rattlers, which were exceedingly dangerous. It was a long 
slow job, but eventually the heaving mass of grass yielded 
to James, the big plow, and the plodding oxen. In winter the 
oxen were used in the timber for logging purposes, as oxen 
excelled in timber work on rough land. Slowly James prospered 
and began to purchase land, in all, acquiring 362 acres. 

On Sept. 25, 1870, James married Mary Alice, daughter of 
James and Tabitha (W right) Hill. She was born near Johnstown 
on Dec. 21, 1852. On land bought, one mile east of the 
village, James built a small house where they lived for some 
time. Alice, of warm, wonderful personality was loved by the 
entire community. Later, James was able to purchase 110 acres 
of rolling land on the south side of the Coles-Cumberland line, 
building a nice home there in 1876. His father, George W., 
died suddenly while visiting there on Oct. 3, 1876, while 



watching the new house being built. James purchased acreage 
to the north of the line, including the celebrated Sulphur 
Springs area, installing a saw and grist mill near the line 
on Dix Creek, and near his home, where he operated a thriving 
business for many years. 

Mr. Barger was a charter member of the lOOF Lodge, Clear 
Creek, Coles Co. #712, Nov. 23, 1882. He became a Mason on 
March 21, 1884. These two lodges held meetings in the same 
building 1^ miles east of Trilla, 111. The men attended for 
miles around, carrying lanterns on their saddles, come snow 
or come storm, as the Lodges were their supreme source of 
culture and achievement. 

Alice (Hill) Barger was an Eastern Star and member of the 
Shiloh Cumberland Presby. Church. Mr. Barger died Dec. 22, 
1902; his wife, Alice, on Oct. 28, 1926. They were parents 
of 9 children, all born in Cottonwood Twp., near the Coles- 
Cumberland line. At the death of their father, they were 
left 40 acres of land each. Ida May, born Aug. 9, 1871, 
married Thomas Carwell; Elnora Blanche, born Feb. 6, 1873, 
married Robert Best; George Lewis, born Dec. 9, 1874, 
married Lydia Michael; Carrie Tabitha, born Aug. 5, 1877, 
married Owen Stanberry; Leonard Burton, born Aug. 1, 1879, 
married Lora Davis; Herman Leslie, born July 28, 1881, 
married Viola Cummings ; James Emil, born Nov. 7, 1889, 
married Minnie Edith Judson; Mathew Wymer, born June 26, 
1893, married Daisy Jones; and Frederick Hill, born March 
23, 1895, married Gladys Brown. 

James Emil Barger, hunter, farmer, sawmill operator for 
over 40 years on the Sulphur Springs farm, and father of 2 
sons, David Lloyd, born 1912, and Leland Brooks, born in 
1914. In 2 separate tragic accidents, Emil lost his eye- 
sight in the later years of his life, but retained his jovial 
and serene outlook on life. Many remember his helping hand 
held out to those less fortunate than himself. He died 
suddenly of a heart attack on Jan. 3, 1955. Lloyd Barger 
married Eloise Rhodes and they have 2 sons, John and James. 
Leland, single, lives at home with his mother, Minnie. Both 
homes are on the Sulphur Springs home farm. They raise 
stock extensively, farm widely, and carry on the saw mill 
work first started by their grandfather, James W. Barger. 

BARGER, SAMUEL JACOB, born Nov. 13, 1837, in Champaign 
Co., Ohio, the oldest child of Madison and Elizabeth (Neer) 
Barger. Other children of Madison and Elizabeth were Jane, 
Delia and John. Names of the other five children are not 
known. Samuel Jacob enlisted in the 66th Ohio Infantry and 
fought in the Civil War until Sept. 17, 1862, when he was 
wounded in the Battle of Antietam. He was handicapped the 
rest of his life. He came west to Illinois soon after the 

-232- 



civil War. Soon after his arrival here, he married Barbara 
Caroline "Carrie" Heath (Jan. 5, 1842-March 25, 1883.) Their 
children were Edwin Eugene (June 24, 1868-1950) who married 
Rose Brady (Nov. 27, 1869-Oct., 1948); Mary Bell (Feb. 18, 
1872-Sept. 30, 1943) married John W. Tippett; Sally Delia 
(Oct. 12, 1874-April 4, 1912) married Luther Brewster on 
Dec. 16, 1896; and Harry Fred (March 4, 1882-Jan. 24, 1936) 
married Myrtle S. Croy Nov. 16, 1904, who died in 1940. 

Mary Bell and John W. Tippett were married April 26, 1893 
at Neoga, CumJoerland Co., 111. He was a farmer and both he 
and Mary Bell were active workers in the Cottonwood Methodist 
Church. They were parents of three children, Harry Elbridge 
(April 10, 1894-Sept. 28, 1894) ; Lena Myrtle (March 2, 1905- 
July 18, 1906) ; and Luke Austin (born June 6, 1908.) 

Edwin Eugene and Rose (Brady) were the parents of Joseph 
Lewis (Nov. 17, 1890-Feb. 21, 1961) who married Ida Lee 
Alderson in West Va. Sally Delia and Luther Brewster were 
the parents of Ivan (Oct. 7, 1898-March 8, 1935) ; Carrie E. 
(Sept. 13, 1900-Jan. 17, 1958), who never married; and 
Furlin (born September 17, 1903). 

Ivan Brewster married Clara Marshall Aug. 20, 1919, and 
to this union were born Bonnadell (born June 1, 1920) and 
Keith (born July 1, 1922) . Bonnadell served as a member of 
the WAVES, enlisting in the Armed Services on Jan. 20, 1943, 
and being discharged Nov. 21, 1945. She married Theodore E. 
Umhoefer in Chicago Dec. 27, 1947, and to this union were 
born Patricia Ann (born April 12, 1949) and Theodore E.,Jr. 
(born June 15, 1950) . Keith Brewster entered the United 
States Navy Oct. 6, 1940 and served as a career man in the 
Hospital Corps until June, 1960. He married Martha Marshall 
Dec. 26, 1948 and to this union one son. Laird, was born in 
Hawaii, March 15, 1950. 

Furlin Brewster married Leona ,Gr isamore June 27, 1925, 
and to this union were born four children, namely: Wanda 
(born Aug. 10, 1927) ; James (Born Feb. 26, 1930) ; Patricia 
(born Nov. 25, 1931) ; and Marilyn (born July 29, 1936) . 

Wanda Brewster married Ivan Joe Gentry Nov. 13, 1943, 
and to this union were born Carolyn Ann (Feb. 11, 1945) , who 
married Carl Beatty July 10, 1965; Larry Joe (Oct. 23, 1946) 
who was drafted into the U.S. Army in May, 1966; Shirley Jean 
(Oct. 6, 1947) and David Allen (May 8, 1964) . 

James Brewster, who enlisted and served three years in 
the U.S. Navy, married Donna Mae Annis on Aug. 29, 1954. Two 
children were born to this union, namely Kevin Lynn (March 10, 
1959) and Darwin Lydell (June 6, 1964) . Patricia Brewster 
married Kenneth William Horn March 16, 1954 and their children 
are Terry William (Nov. 5, 1955) and Cheryl Ann (Nov. 1,1957). 

Following the death of his first wife, Samuel Jacob married 

-233- 



Mary Light Bennett Nov. 1 , 1885/ and to this union were born 
three children^ Jesse (1887-1957) who married Nelle Black; 
Emma (Dec. 21, 1890) who on Feb. 14, 1907 married Hugh Foote 
(born Oct. 3, 1885) ; and Virgil (born Feb. 20, 1899) who 
married Esther . 

BA.RGER, MADISON, father of Samuel Jacob, was one of 12 
children born to Jacob and Polly (Bousman) Barger who were 
married Oct. 9, 1809 at Natural Bridge, Va. Jacob and Polly 
moved to Champaign Co., Ohio in 1813, to Conord Twp, locating 
a half mile west and north of the Concord Centralized School. 
Polly died May 22, 1841 and Jacob died May 1, 1863, a few 
months after his grandson, Samuel Jacob, was wounded during 
the Civil War. Madison Barger was born Sept. 30, 1812 and 
died Oct. 9, 1873, on his parents 54th wedding anniversary. 
Madison Barger and Elizabeth Neer were married Nov. 12, 1835, 
in Champaign Co., Ohio by W. H. Raper, a minister of the gospel 

Other children of Jacob and Polly Barger were: John, born 
Jan. 20, 1811, near the Natural Bridge in Virginia, who marr- 
ied Sarah Sail March 15, 1832. After her death on Feb. 15, 
1850, he married Martha Graves Nov. 14, 1850 and they were 
parents of seven children. Sarah, born Sept. 1, 1814, died 
Sept. 17, 1855, who married Washington Fuson Jan. 28, 1833. 
Deborah, born Nov. 7, 1815, died Nov. 10, 1852, married 
Armstead Claspy March 28, 1841. William, born Nov. 9, 1818, 
died Feb. 15, 1895. Mary, born Oct. 10, 1820, died Jan. 28, 
1905, who married Daniel Kizer Feb. 18, 1845. George, born 
Sept. 11, 1822, whose wife was Elizabeth (Sept. 13, 1829- 
March 18, 1888), died Nov. 21, 1887, and is buried in Tippett 
Cemetery in this county. Samuel B., born Aug. 5, 1824, died 
Oct. 18, 1845. Jacob, Jr., born Sept. 25, 1825, died Nov. 25, 
1847. Nancy A., born Sept. 9, 1828, died Feb. 23, 1873, 
married Wesley Heath Oct. 13, 1847. Leonard, born Sept. 27, 
1830, died Oct. 22, 1907, married Elizajoeth Whitmore, June 13, 
1852. And Philander R., born Jan. 22, 1835, died April, 1917. 
Philander also served in the war of the rebellion in 1851 when 
Concord furnished her full complement of volunteer soldiers 
who were principally in the gallant 55th Regiment. The 1881 
edition of "History of Champaign Co., Ohio" lists both 
Philander R. Barger and the subject of this sketch, S amuel 
Jacob Barger as among those "who enlisted in behalf of the 
American flag." The history goes ahead to state "Samuel J. 
Barger was severely wounded at the battle of Antietam, but 
survived and is now an honored citizen of Cumberland Co., 111." 

Barbara Caroline "Carrie" Heath, first wife of Samuel J. 
Barger, was one of four children born to Henry and Clarinda 
(Kerns) Heath. Henry (May 22, 1813-Sept. 25, 1888) lived 
north of Charleston in Coles Co., 111., when they first came 
to Illinois, before the Lincoln-Douglas debate held in 

-234- 



Charleston, which Henry attended. At that time, the northern 
part of Coles Co. was grown up in tall swamp grass, and he, 
being a carpenter, moved to land in Cottonwood Twp., Cumber- 
land Co., which is now owned by Henry Tippett, his great 
grandson. Both Henry and Clarinda (Feb. 11, 1816-March 12, 
1895) are buried in Mound Cemetery, Charleston, Coles. Co. 
Illinois. Other children of Henry and Clarinda (Kerns) Heath 
were John K. Heath (April 16, 1834-Jan. 28, 1908) who with 
his wife Margaret (May 15, 1837-April 30, 1919) are buried by 
his parents; Sallie (Dec. 29, 1838-March 31, 1917) who with 
her husband, Alonzo Grafton (Oct. 5, 1839-Jan. 12, 1909) are 
buried in the Janesville Cemetery, as is the fourth child, 
Joseph (March 3, 1836-Feb. 25, 1917) and his wife, Sarah Jane 
(Reed) (Feb. 22, 1844-Nov. 24, 1940). 

Samuel Jacob Barger and his wife are buried in the Tippett 
Cemetery as are two of their children, Mary Bell (Barger) 
Tippett and her husband and two small children (the little 
girl, Lena Myrtle, having drowned in a stone crocka few days 
after having won the Baby Contest in the county) ; and Edwin 
Eugene Barger and his wife. Sally Delia Brewster and her 
husband are buried in the Toledo Cemetery, all in Cumoerland 
Co. Harry Fred Barger and his wife are buried in the Janes- 
ville Cemetery in Coles Co. 

BEALS, ROY LEE was born April 6, 1938 at Neoga, 111. His 
parents, Otis (born Aug. 2, 1908) and Alice Kathryn (Thompson) 
Beals (born Feb. 18, 1918) were married on Dec. 9, 1936. 

On July 15, 1955, Roy Lee married Wanda June Rawlings. 
Wanda was born June 1, 1938, the daughter of Joe Ralph 
Rawlings (born March 22, 1907 at Strasburg) and Hazel Marie 
Gordon (born March 24, 1917) . Hazel Rawlings is buried at 
Berry Cemetery in Toledo, 111. Roy Lee and Wanda's children 
were born in Mattoon, 111., as follows: Ronal Lee, May 16, 
1955; Shirley Jo, Nov. 27, 1959; Carla Jean, May 24, 1953. 

BELL, CLYDE HARRISON, was born Jan. 14, 1905 in Edgar Co. 
111. He was married Sept. 28, 1930 in Vermillion, 111. 
Clyde's father was Charley Bell, who was born April 24, 1885 
in Scotland, 111. He was married Feb. 10, 1904 in Cumberland 
Co. Mr. Bell died Dec. 15, 1949 in Vermillion Co., and was 
buried at Ridgefarm, 111. His church affiliation was the 
Nazarene. Clyde's mother was Sarah Elizabeth Strader. She 
was born Dec. 23, 1885 in Cumberland Co. She died Nov. 9, 
1962 in CumDerland Co., 111. and she too was buried at 
Ridgefarm, 111., the Brewer Funeral Home in charge. 

Letha Mildred Wilson, born June 27, 1910 in Vermillion 
Co., married Clyde H. Bell in Sept. 1930. Her father was 
Arthur Barton Wilson, born Dec. 12, 1881 in Vermilion Co. 
He was married in 1903 in Vermilion Co. Mr. Wilson died 
Feb. 7, 1953 in Vermilion Co., and was buried at Georgetown, 

-235- 



111. Letha Mildred Wilson's mother was Cloie Alice Miller, 
born April 6, 1889 in Vermilion Co. She died Jan. 6, 1943 
in same county. She was buried at George town. 111. She 
was affiliated with the Presbyterian Church. 

Clyde H. and Letha M. Bell had one daughter, Bernice 
Alice, who was born April 6, 1931 in Edgar Co., 111. On 
Dec. 5, 1959 she married Herman Paul Harvey in Germany. 
Bernice and Herman now have two children, Eugene Clyde, 
born Sept. 3, 1960 in Montgomery, Ala., and Thomas Paul, 
born Sept. 24, 1963 in Montgomery, Ala. 

BELL, ERNEST L., the son of Ezekiel Vernon and Sarah 
Elizabeth (Cooper) Bell was born in Union Twp., Oct. 8, 
1897. He is the grandson of Dennis Bell whose history is 
in the 1884 history of Cumberland Co., and who had come 
from North Carolina to Indiana with his parents when he 
was eleven years old. Four years later, they came to 
Cumberland Co. On March 29, 1919 Ernest married Nora 
Molea Cougill, born Jan. 21, 1898, a daughter of John 
Leslie and Mioma Kuhn Cougill of Union Twp. They live on 
a farm near his homeplace where his father Vernon had lived. 
When first married they farmed a few years; then moved to 
Martinsville, 111. where he operated a garage for nine 
years. After returning to the farm, he was elected road 
commissioner of Union Twp., serving from 1934 to 1938. 
Since that time he has been engaged in farming. Ernest 
and Molea are parents of three children: Dennis Leone, 
born Jan. 23, 1920, died in March 1921; Martha Louise, 
born Feb. 21, 1922, married Ralph Ernest Oakley June 5, 
1945. He is the owner of Toney Barber Shop in Mattoon, 
111.; Edward Leo Bell, born Feb. 2, 1928 who lives on a 
farm adjoining his parents. 

Edward Leo Bell married Betty Louise Dillier on March 
26, 1949. Betty was born Aug. 9, 1929, a daughter of William 
A. and Jessie P. (Byers) Dillier of Cumberland Co., near 
Greenup. They have three children: Linda Louise, born in 
1949, Ronald Steven, born in 1951 and Charles Dean, born in 
1957. Edward is a farmer and an active member of the Farm 
Bureau, being at the present time the President of Cumber- 
land Co. Farm Bureau. Betty is a member of the women's 
committee of the Farm Bureau. Betty made a "name or title" 
for herself in 1963 when she won the First Woman's Tractor 
Pulling Contest held in connection with the Cumberland Co. 
Fair in 1963. Before a capacity crowd in the grandstands 
and an estimated 600 standees crowding around the race 
track, Betty outdistanced her husband, Ed, who was entered 
in the two divisions in the contest. There were 96 entries, 
21 of them women. The women contestants had decorated their 
tractors with feminie frills such as bouquets of artificial 

-236- 



flowers, perfume bottles, hula skirts and ribbons. Betty won 
a beautiful trophy in addition to her monetary premium. The 
Bells are members of the Mt. Zion Church where they attend, 
and where Betty has helped with the summer Bit)le School for 
many years. Their daughter Linda, is a student at Lakeland 
College in Mattoon. The boys attend the Cumberland School. 

BEMOUNT, DENNIS was born in Indiana Dec. 15, 1838. He 
married Jane Branson and tney had two children, Jane and John. 
After his wife's death, he was dratted into service in the 
Civil War. He served a little more than a year before the 
war ended. After the war, he married Elizabeth Madden and 
they had one son, George. Dennis came to Illinois about 1870 
and never went back to Indiana to live. After he came to 
Illinois he married Elizabeth Burton Neese, born May 15, 1850, 
a daughter of Eli and Mary Decker Neese of CumDerland Co. 
They first lived near Sullivan, 111., then moved south of 
Charleston. While living there, three daughters were born. 
Mary Alice, born March 7, 1873; Sarah Evelyn, born Feb. 6, 
1876; Martna Jane, born Sept. 14, 1880. About four years 
later, he bought sixty acres of land south and east of 
Timothy, moved there where he farmed. Here two sons were 
born, James, born Aug. 4, 1884, and Alva. Alva, born Sept. 
6,, 1883, died Jan. 13, 1885, when he was about three years 
old. In 1903 they sold the farm near Timothy and moved to 
Richland Co., where they bought a farm near Parkersburg, 
111. The girls had married, Alice to Scott Collins, Sarah 
to Alvin Anderson, and Martha to Allen Cutright, and James to 
Effie Weston about 1905. 

On Dec. 23, 1910, Elizabeth died and was brought to 
Harmony for burial. After her death, Dennis lived with his 
son James part time and his daughter Martha part time. James 
and his family lived in his father's home and Dennis died 
in this home Feb., 1916 and was brought to Harmony for 
burial. James continued to live in Richland Co., on the farm 
for several years. Only one child of this family is living, 
Sarah, now 92 years old, lives in Casey, and one son-in-law, 
Allen Cutright, at the age of 87 lives near Union C enter. 

BENSON, BERNETTA EDNA, the sixth child of John William 
and Myrtle (Hurst) Benson, was born Feb. 2, 1915, in Greenup, 
Cumberland Co., 111. Bernetta spent her youth here and 
attended the Greenup Public schools and graduated with the 
Class of 1933, which consisted of 33 graduates. Classmates 
attending the 12 years with her were: Alene McCormick, Martha 
Reeder, Leone Wetherholt, John Wm. Wylde, Doyle Beeman, 
Richard Hayden, Rosebud Price, Iva Kuhn, Marietta Wheat, 
Estella Mae Underwood, and Myrtle Trent; Helen Haughton up 
through the 10th year, and John Wickiser through the 9th. 

Bernetta was married at Toledo, 111. on Sept. 9, 1934 to 

-237- 



Ernest Francis Stewart^ a son of John Wesley and Elizabeth 
(Cornwell) Stewart. These people were born and reared near 
Toledo, 111. They have five children: Larry Eugene, Richard 
Lee, Jane Edna, Mary Christine, and Harry Joe. Richard and 
Mary died as infants. Larry is married and lives in Edwards- 
ville. 111. Jane is married and lives in Indianapolis, Ind. 
Joe is just home from Vietnam. He took his basic training 
at Ft. Riley, Kansas, advanced at S. E. Signal School at 
Ft. Gordon, Ga., in communications, spent 1 year, or all of 

1967 in Vietnam, will go to Ft. Bliss, Texas from Jan. 14, 

1968 and will be released on May 18, 1968. 

BENSLEY, CASSIUS ARTHUR SR., was born Jan. 23, 1909 in 
Hutton Twp., Coles Co., 111. at the home of his parents, 
Frank Elgin and Minnie Frances (Closson) Bensley. He was 
married Nov. 14, 1931 to Birdie Janetta Cutright at Olney, 
111. Arthur lived most of his early life on the same farm 
where he was born, a place that had been in the immediate 
family forover a hundred years. He attended both the 
Charleston Teachers' College High School and Charleston 
High School. Although he considered himself a farmer, he 
has worked at several other jobs, such as carpenter work, 
factory work, and for the State of Illinois. He worked 
fifteen months as a guard at Joliet State Penitentiary. His 
latest state employment was in the maintenance department 
on the State highways. 

Birdie, his wife, was born July 24, 1909 in Union Twp., 
Cumberland Co., 111., at the home of her parents, Allen and 
Martha (Beaumont) Cutright, in the same house where the 
Bensleys now live. She was graduated from Casey Twp. High 
School on May, 1927. After attending Eastern 111. State 
Teachers College for one year, she began teaching school in 
Cumberland Co. She taught four years, was then married so 
did not teach until World War II came along and the demand 
for teachers was great. In 1941 she started back teaching. 
During the summer she attended the University at Charleston 
and received a B.S. degree in Elementary Education in Aug. 
of 1961. She has taught over thirty years in the schools of 
Cumberland and Clark counties. Teaching at several rural 
schools as well as Jewett, Toledo and Casey. She is pre- 
sently teaching the fourth grade at the Monroe School, Casey, 
where she has taught the past eleven years. 

The Bensleys have two sons, Frank Allen, born Aug. 26, 
1932 and Cassius Arthur, Jr., born Dec. 10, 1934. Both were 
born in Union Twp., Cumberland Co., 111., at the home of 
their grandparents, Allen and Martha Cutright. Dr. L. H. 
Johnson and Elizabeth Davis were the attending doctor and 
nurse for both births. 

Frank A. was married to Rhode Jean Bradley, daughter of 

-238- 



James and Eva (Prather) Bradley Dec. 30, 1952 at the Methodist 
Church, Lombard, 111. They have three sons and one daughter. 
David Frank, born Sept- 11, 1955; Terry Lee, born Oct. 25, 
1957; Brett Dean, born March 24, 1959; and Mark Tad, born Aug. 
1960. Frank Allen was graduated from Casey Community Unit 
High School May, 1950. He had attended Eastern Illinois 
University at Charleston for three and one half years when 
he entered the armed services for two years. He served 17 
months in Korea. After returning to the States, he attended 
the University of Illinois at Urbana and received a Bachelor 
of Science degree in Agronomy. Since 1964 he and his family 
have lived at Westfield and he has been employed at Casey, 
as a chemist or geologist for the Forest Oil Company. 

Cassius Arthur Jr. was married to Norma Lois Frizzellee, 
the daughter of Walter and Floria (Winters) Frizzellee, 
Jan. 8, 1955. They had one son, Justin Brian, born May 24, 
1957, who died May 1, 1958. They now have one son and twin 
daughters. Todd Leddy, born Sept. 26, 1960, Cynthia Norma 
and Syble Lorna, born Oct. 3, 1961. Cassius Arthur Jr., 
nicknamed Booge, was graduated from Casey Community High 
School, May, 1952. After attending Eastern University at 
Charleston one year, he started working for the American 
Telephone and Telegraph Co. He has been with the company 
since 1953 with the exception of two years in the army. 
These two years were spent mostly at Ft. Gordon, Augusta, 
Georgia, where Cassius served as an instructor in communi- 
cations. He and his family now live at Lardsburg, New 
Mexico, where he is manager of an A.T.&T. station, patroling 
over a hundred miles of the underground cable reaching from 
Cape Kennedy to the West Coast. 

BENSON, CLYDE EMERY ("PeeWee") was born Jan. 12, 1903 in 
Greenup, Cumberland Co., 111., married June 27, 1929 at 
Toledo, in Lucas Co., Ohio to Alma Louise Gilbert, daughter 
of Franklin Ira and Amelia (Coquigne) Gilbert, born Nov. 4, 
1902 at Rankin, Geneseo Co., Michigan. 

Clyde went to Michigan in 1923, worked in the Buick Motor 
Co., Flint, Michigan 42 years, retired Oct. 1, 1965. He is 
an active member of the Flint Genealogical Society. He had 
a son Gilbert Dean, who married June 21, 1956 to Jean Ann 
Girardot, a teacher. Gilbert and Jean moved to Lancaster, 
Pa., where he is a display designer at Armstrong Cork Co. 
Clyde had a daughter, Janet Louise, who married Alfred B. 
Carpenter. They have five children and live in Huntsville, 
Ala., working in missile services. 

Clyde's parents were John William Benson born Dec. 17, 
1872 in Jasper Co., 111., married Myrtle Hurst, born Oct. 26, 
1882 near Harmony Church, north of Greenup. She died Dec. 11, 
1950. Both John and Myrtle are buried in the Greenup Cemetery. 

-239- 



They were parents of eight children: Opha, Clyde, Eva, 
Robert, Opal, Bernetta, Robert. 

The father of John W. Benson, Robert Elliot, was born 
March 16, 1868 in Edgar Co., 111., married Jan. 23, 1868 
in Jasper Co. and lived for a time in Greenup. He is buried 
in Yale Cemetery, Jasper Co., 111. John's mother was Emily 
Porter, born April 23, 1849 in Neoga Twp., died May 17, 1912 
and was buried at Yale, Illinois. 

BENSON, EVA MARIE, daughter of John William and Myrtle 
(Hurst) Benson, was born March 9, 1906 at Greenup, 111. ; 
attended the Greenup schools and married Bert Edward Cowger, 
son of Lewis and Mary Belle (Reynolds) Cowger, of Charleston, 
111., born Dec. 20, 1907. Their children are (1) Rosemary, 
born April 24', 1933 in Mattoon, married Dec. 28, 1951 to 
Donald W. Houchin; (2) John William, born Dec. 12, 1936 at 
Mattoon, married Mary Alice Daily March 25, 1957, and (3) 
Doris Jean, born Nov. 23, 1940 at Mattoon, married Donald 
Wayne King, Nov. 4, 1959. Since their marriage, this 
couple has lived in Mattoon, Illinois. 

BENSON, HELEN EILEEN, the seventh child of John William 
and Myrtle (Hurst) Benson was born July 28, 1918 in Greenup, 
Cumberland Co., 111. She attended the Greenup School and 
graduated in 1937. She married first to Roy Walden English, 
a son of Lester Claude and Jessie Mable (Read) English of 
Casey. They have one daughter, Beverly Jean, who married 
Henry T. Maddox and has two girls, Janine and Lori. Her 
husband is a teacher and they live in Carmi, 111. They have 
a son, Donald K. English, who married Lois Thompson. They 
have two daughters, Susan and Debra, live in Robinson, 111., 
and Don works at the Marathon Oil Co. in that city. 

Helen and Ray started their married life in Casey, 111. 
but lived in Greenup, Windsor and Mattoon, while he worked 
at movie theatres and ran the movie projectors. They lived 
in Greenup for almost a year. He was an electrical contra- 
ctor while living in Casey, later moving to Robinson and 
continued that work. He did a lot of jobs for Humble Oil 
Co. and Helen did the office work of her husband's business 
in their office at home. 

Roy was a World War II veteran and an electricians mate 
in the navy. He died on July 21, 1965, on the job at St. 
Elmo, 111. He is buried at Casey, 111. 

Helen was married June 2, 1967 in Robinson to Frank 
Tarbet. He was born in Detroit, Michigan, a son of Frank 
Sr. and Elizabeth Robertson Tarbet. They are living in 
Munster, Indiana and he is a terminal supervisor of Marathon 
Oil Co. in Hammond, Ind. Helen's two children lived in 
Greenup, 111. as babies for nearly a year. 

BENSON, OPAL SYVALIA, was born July 6, 1909 in Greenup, 

-240- 



Cumberland Co., 111., the daughter of John William and 
Myrtle Odessa (Hurst) Benson. The family consisted of 
Ophia May, Clyde Emery, Eva Marie, Robert "Rlliot, Onal 
Bernetta Edna, Helen Eileen and Donald Lloyd. Oohia, 
Robert and Donald died young. Opal attended Greenup 
Public schools and graduated from high school in 1927. 
She left Greenup in 1927, worked in Mattoon, Til. for 
about five years, then returned to Greenup and worked 
at Ettelbrick Shoe Co. until her marriage, Jan. 25, 1938 
in Toledo, Cumberland Co., Til., to Joe Tngram, son of 
Josiah and Rhoda Gentry Tngram. She lived in Toledo, 
her husband's hometown until 1942. 

They had three sons: Kenneth Ray, Ralph Leon, and 
Gary Lynn. She became a mother to her husband's children, 
Harley Eugene, Charles D. Wayne, and Norma Louise, and 
helped raise these children. She lived in and near Mattoon, 
moving several times, then moved to Trilla, Til. in 1951. 
Her husband passed away May 16, 1966, at the Charleston 
Hospital, Coles Co., Til. He is buried in the Beals 
Cemetery near Trilla. Her son, Ralph, lives at home with 
her. Her hobby was making quilts until she became inter- 
ested in genealogy in about 1960. 

BTNGAMAN, NELSON JENNTNGS, born March 1, 1P97, and Edith 
Dorothy Buchanan, born Dec. 24, 1900, were married in Neoga 
March 20, 1920. He was the youngest son of John H. and 
Amanda Zimmer Bingaman and was born in Paradise Twp., Coles 
Co., 111. Edith is a daughter of Elmer Jacob and Sydney 
Kimery Buchanan, and was born in Neoga, Til. She taught 
school until the time of their marriage. Nelson Bingaman 
was a farmer until his retirement in 1962. He has been a 
member of the Cumberland Co. Farm Bureau for over 40 years. 
Mr. and Mrs. Bingaman are both members of the United Presby 
Church at Neoga, where Mr. Bingaman has been an elder for 
many years. Their children are: John Buchanan, born March 
10, 1921, Paradise Twp., Coles Co. He was a graduate of 
Neoga Twp. High School and received his B.S. degree from 
Eastern 111. University at Charleston, Til. He entered the 
army air force in Sept., 1943, during which time he was a 
weather instructor at Chanute Field, Til. At the time of 
his discharge in April, 1946, he held tne rank of 1st Lt. 
He was the superintendent of Piano, 111. schools at the 
time of his death. May 1, 1960. He was a member of the 
American Legion and the Masonic Lodge. In Feb, 1944, he 
was united in marriage to Nila Clotilde Culp in the Methodist 
Church in Mattoon, Til. Their children are: Richard LeRoy, 
born Sept. 5, 1945 at Mattoon. Following his graduation from 
Shelbyville High School, he entered the services of the U.S. 
Army in 1966; Ronald Dean, born Nov. 19, 194«, at Decatur, 

-241- 



111. Following his graduation from Shelbyville High School, 
he attended Pharmacy School in St. Louis^ and Sandra Sue/ 
born Nov. 25, 1953 at Sandwich, 111. She attends Shelby- 
ville schools. Nelson and Edith's daughter is Dorothy Ann 
Bingaman, born Dec. 29, 1926 in Cumberland Co. She was a 
graduate of Neoga Twp. High School and of Sparks Business 
College, Shelbyville, 111. On Jan. 18, 1948, she was united 
in marriage to Lawrence H. Brady at the Neoga Presbyterian 
Church. Mr. Brady entered the Army in Aug., 1945, and was 
stationed with the 3rd- Division in Germany, where he served 
as company clerk. He also was stationed in Italy with the 
Blue Devils 88th Division. He is a member of the American 
Legion and of the Masonic Lodge. He is an agent for Country 
Companies Insurance and operates a general grocery store at 
Trilla, 111. They are both members of the Cumberland 
Presbyterian Church at Trilla. 

Their children are: Barbara Sue, born Aug. 4, 1950, 
in Mattoon, and Janet Kay, born Dec. 31, 1953 in Mattoon. 

BINGAMAN, THOMAS CLIFFORD, was born Nov. 16, 1893 in 
Neoga, Cumberland Co. Winifred Buchaman, who was born June 
22, 1900 at Neoga, and Thomas C. Bingaman were married May 
1, 1922 at Neoga. Thomas was a son of John Hamilton and 
Amanda (Zimmer) Bingaman of Coles Co. She was the youngest 
daughter of Frederick N. Buchanan and Incy Hunter Buchanan 
of Neoga. Thomas Clifford served overseas in 1918-19 in 
World War I, with Co. K. 22nd. Engineers. After being 
honorably discharged, he engaged in farming until 1952, 
when due to ill health, he retired from the farm. He moved 
to Neoge, from Coles Co. where he had spent most of his 
life. He passed away at his home in Neoga May 13, 1954. 

He was a member of the Farm Bureau, Odd Fellows, and 
Rebecca Lodge, the Votaw-Swank American Legion Post of 
Neoga for thirty consecutive years. He was a member of the 
Neoga Presbyterian Church. Winifred Bingaman was a graduate 
of the Neoga Twp. High School and taught school until her 
marriage to Thomas C. Bingaman. She too, is a member of the 
Presbyterian Church of Neoga, and a Sunday school teacher of 
the Junior and Senior Class. She is a member of the American 
Legion Auxiliary of Neoga, a past president of the Auxiliary, 
as well as the Coles Co. Council. She is a member of the 
Rebecca Lodge, and a member of the Neoga Womens' Business 
and Professional Club. She is currently serving her second 
term as Township Clerk of Neoga Twp. She is the first woman 
in Neoga Twp. to be elected to hold this office. 

A son, John Miles Bingaman was born Feb. 18, 1923 in 
Coles Co. He is a graduate of Neoga High School. He married 
Ernestine Knox on Oct. 27, 1951. They have two daughters, 
Rebecca Kay, born Dec. 27, 1952 and Brenda Elaine, born Jan. 

-242- 



13, 1956. The girls are students of Community No. 3 School 
of Neoga. They participate in school activities and 4-H 
Club. Miles is engaged in farming and is a salesman for 
Federal Crop Insurance. 

BINGAMAN, WALTER HAMILTON, was born June 4, 1885 in 
Shelby Co., 111. On Jan. 29, 1913, he married Maud M. 
Baird in Mattoon. Mrs. Bingaman was born May 4, 1889. She 
passed away March 4, 1949. Walter Bingaman was the son of 
John H. and Amanda Zimmer Bingaman. Maud Baird Bingaman 
was the daughter of James A. and Janette Watkins Baird. 

Walter Bingaman farmed north of Neoga till his retire- 
ment in 1965. He is a Charter Member of the Cumberland Co. 
Farm Bureau. He received his 50 year membership in the 
Odd Fellows Lodge of Neoga in 1962. He was manager of the 
Neoga Shipping Association until the organization was 
dissolved. He held membership on the Neoga School Board 
for 3 terms, a period of 12 years. For several years he 
was a director of the Cumberland Co. National Bank.. Mr. 
Bingaman served as Road Commissioner and Supervisor in 
Neoga Twp. He was also assessor and township judge. Mr. 
and Mrs. Bingaman were the parents of three children. 

Dorothy Marie was born on Nov. 1, 1914 in Shelby Co. 
She passed away Aug. 4, 1936 as the result of an auto- 
mobile accident. At the time of her death, she was 
employed as a secretary for the Farm Bureau office in 
Toledo. Mildred Ruth was born on Oct. 21, 1916. She 
married Robert Warren Coen on Sept. 16, 1939. Mr. Coen 
farms north of Neoga and Mrs. Coen is employed as a 
receptionist for the doctor in Neoga. Mr. Coen is a 
graduate of Neoga Twp. High School. He is a member of the 
United Presbyterian Church of Neoga. Mrs. Coen is a 
graduate of Neoga Twp. High School and attended Sparks 
Business College at Shelbyville, 111. She is a member of 
the Evergreen Chapter of the Eastern Star and a member of 
the United Presbyterian Church. Prior to her marriage, 
she was employed at the Farm Bureau office in Toledo. Mr. 
and Mrs. Coen have one son, David Lynn Coen. David was born 
April 30, 1946. He is a graduate of Neoga High School and 
is attending Milliken University at Decatur. He will 
graduate in June with a degree in Music Education. David is 
a member of the Milliken Band. He is also a member of the 
United Presbyterian Church and is assistant organist. 

James Wallace Bingaman was born Dec. 14, 1924 in Neoga. 
He was married on Sept. 5, 1948 to Katherine B. Uptmor in 
Teutopolis, 111. He is secretary of the Cumberland Co. Farm 
Bureau, a member of the Coles-Cumberland Co. Service Company 
Board of Directors, and an auditor on the township board. He 
was president of the Board of Directors of the Neoga Grain 

-243- 



Elevator for a number of years. He resides and farms north 
of Neoga. Mrs. Bingaman is a member of the St. Mary's 
Catholic Church in Neoga. Before her marriage^ she worked 
as a dental assistant in Effingham. She has been active in 
4-H work for a number of years. 

They have two daughters^ Deborah Ann and Cynthia Marie. 
Deborah Ann is a sophomore at Neoga High School. She is a 
member of St. Mary's Catholic Church, has been a member of 
4-H, is a member of G.A.A., F-H.A. and chorus. Debby is 
also cheerleader. Cindy is a student at Neoga Junior High 
School. She is a member of St. Mary's Catholic Church, is 
active in band, chorus and is a member of 4-H. 

BLAIR, ALMOND AUGUSTA, born Aug. 10, 1869 in Cumberland 
Co., 111. He is the son of John and Martha V. (Ewing) Blair. 
He married Leota Hunter on Aug. 9, 1893 in Cumberland Co. 

Leota's parents were John and Mary White. Almond and 
Leota had (1) Noy, born Aug. 7, 1894; (2) Ithra Fawn, born 
Jan. 10, 1899; (3) Arveta John, born Dec. 7, 1903; (4) 
Golden S., born 1905, all in Cumberland Co. 

In 1910, the family moved to Mena, Arkansas, where they 
farmed. In 1921 they moved to Fort Myers, Florida, where 
they lived until 1930, when they moved back to Mena, Ark. 
Leota died Feb. 7, 1933, and Almond on March 28, 1935. 
They are buried in the Munley Cemetery in Mena, 

BLAIR, ARTHUR LAVERNE, was born Dec. 22, 1865 near 
Neoga, the oldest son of John (born May 22, 1840) in Morgan 
Co., Ind., and Martha Venable Ewing Blair (Aug. 26, 1841) 
in Edgar Co., 111. He died Jan. 28, 1917 in Cumberland Co. 

As a young man, in 1887, he went west and took a claim 
in Indian Territory, Oklahoma. He paid the transportation 
for Samantha Arguila Hart (born July 18, 1868) to meet him 
in Long Island, Kansas where they were married Jan. 2, 1894. 
The ten children of Arthur and Samantha Hart Blair were: 
(1) Cyrus Clinton, born Nov. 14, 1894, Welch, Okla.; (2) 
Harry LaVerne, Jan. 20, 1896, Welch, Okla.; (3) Florence 
Olive, Sept. 14, 1897, Chetopa, Kan.; (4) Percy Carol, born 
Dec. 5, 1892, Welch, Okla.; (5) Fred Vernon, March 29, 1900, 
Welch; (6) Mary Venable, Feb. 17, 1903; (7) Marta Elizabeth, 
Sept. 19, 1904; (8) Artie Hart, Sept. 4, 1906; (9) Ruth Ethel 
Bee Gertrude, May 10, 1908; (10) Cynthia Ellen Isabell, born 
May 17, 1911. Two children died in infancy. 

Cyrus Clinton served in the 144th field artillery in 
France and Germany during World War I. Harry Laverne served 
as a training officer and military police in Florida during 
World War I. 

BLAIR, EDGAR SHERIFF, born July 26, 1873 in Cumberland 
Co., 111., son of John and Martha V. (Ewing), married Helena 

-Z44- 



Delia Kenworthy on Jan. 11, 1905. Helena was the daughter of 
Joseph and Rosetta Ellen (Davis) Kenworthy. Edgar died Aug. 
6, 1937 in Cumberland Go. 

Edgar and Helena had two children: (1) Hazel Pauline, born 
March 4, 1906. On Sept. 9, 1929 Hazel married Raymond A. 
Gardner at Neoga, 111., the son of Rufus Allen and Berniece 
(Thompson) Gardner, who have lived near Toledo most of their 
lives. Raymond and Hazel have a son, Donavan Francis, born 
Oct. 1, 1932. He married Barbara Day on July 5, 1952 in 
Greenville, 111. Barbara's parents are Darrell Alvin and 
Erna Gertrude (Mull) Day. Donavan and Barbara have three 
sons: (1) Brian Donavan, Oct. 5, 1960; (2) Timothy Christian, 
June 25, 1962; (3) Todd Allen, March 3, 1966, all in Pontiac, 
111. Joy Leon Blair, born Feb. 3, 1925 in Cumberland Co., 
married Norma Jean Huff, April 17, 1948 in the county. Norma 
was born April 26, 1927 in Windsor, 111., the daughter of 
Gerald Freeman and Flossie Bell (Johnson) Huff. Joy and 
Norma had Karen Sue, born Dec. 6, 1949; Patricia Lynn, born 
June 14, 1954; and Darla Jean, born Feb. 8, 1963, all in 
Coles Co., 111. 

BLAIR, GEORGE WASHINGTON, was born April 20, 1842 in 
Morgan Co., Ind., the son of Alexander and Elizabeth Keney. 
In 1863 he came to Illinois with his mother and brothers in 
a covered wagon. His father had died in Morgan Co., Ind. On 
March 5, 1872 he married a neighbor girl, Sarah Catherine 
Baldwin, born June 3, 1859, the daughter of Johnathon Baldwin 
and Sarah Brinkeroff. On Dec. 24, 1890 they bought 120 acres 
five miles east and one mile south of Neoga, 111., from 
Henry T. and Margaret Easton. There they raised a family of 
six sons and one daughter. (1) Frank, June 2<f 1874; (2) 
Monroe Baldwin, May 3, 1876; (3) Thomas Jefferson, Aug. 26, 
1878; (4) Infant daughter, Sept. 19, 1880; (5) George Ernest 
March 6, 1882; (6) Jesse Baldwin, Feb. 24, 1886; (7) Henry 
Harrison, Nov. 2, 1888. All were born in Cumberland Co. 

George died April 4, 1910, and Sarah died Sept. 24, 1919. 
They are buried in Long Point Cemetery, southeast of Neoga. 
After the death of his father, Henry lived on the home place 
with his mother. The house burned, and they moved to the 
Hunter place one-fourth mile north. They lived there a few 
months, then moved to Murray, Utah. Henry worked with his 
brother Frank, in the electrician's business. In 1913 they 
came back to the farm in Illinois and built a new house. 

On April 26, 1927, Henry and Almeda Dorothy Becker were 
married in Cumberland Co., 111. They went to housekeeping 
in the old home place. The children were born here: (1) 
Alice Edna, Sept. 27, 1927; (2) Marcella Kathryn, Nov. 26, 
1928; (3) Lloyd Henry, Aug. 9, 1930; (4) Earnest Russell, 
June 15, 1932, Henry died Sept. 13, 1956 and is buried in 

-245- 



Long Point Cemetery southeast of Neoga, 111. Dorthy lives 
in the house and rents the farm land. She milks Jersey 
cows and sells cream. Her hobbies are crocheting, sewing 
and gardening. 

BLAIR, HERMAN RANWIC, born July 8, 1867, Cumberland Co. 
111., the son of John Blair and Martha Venable Ewing. In 
1887 Herman and his brother Arthur bought a covered wagon 
and supplies; they had a horse each, and hitched them to 
the wagon and started west. Their plans were to homestead 
a claim. They got to Oklahoma where one of the horses drank 
Alkali water and died. Herman and Arthur took turns carry- 
ing one end of the neck yoke until they were able to buy 
another horse. There were letters from Oklahoma to Sarah 
Alexander Blair postmarked 1887, telling of this adventure. 
When Herman grew homesick, he gave his part of the wagon 
and supplies to Arthur for one of the horses and a little 
money and he started back home to 111., working his way home. 

Herman and Sarah Alexander, of close to Trilla, 111., 
were married July 4, 1888 at the home of the brides' parents, 
Mr. and Mrs. Michael Alexander. Herman worked on the farm 
for Alonzo A. Young and Sarah helped Mrs. Young in the house 
for a few months. They then bought a farm southwest of Neal, 
111. They were members of the Church of Christ at Neal, where 
they attended faithfully. Their political views were 
Republican. On Sept. 11, 1891, Emma Retta was born. In 1906 
they moved to Texas, but not liking the climate there, they 
only stayed a few years, then came back to Toledo and bought 
a livery stable with Walter O'Day and Alfred Alexander. 

In 1907 they took Earmel Clark of Tuscola to raise, his 
mother have been burned to death. In March, 1911, Martha 
Christian was born. Herman sold his part of the livery 
stable and the family then moved to Jackson Co., I 11., on a 
farm; while there, the Mississippi river levee broke and 
flooded everywhere; the water was 18 inches deep in the 
house. They lived upstairs, putting the cattle and horses 
in the barn loft and the hogs on top of the corn in the crib. 

In 1915 they moved to Delhi, La.; while there Herman 
received his Veterinary Diploma in 1918. The family moved 
back to 111. in 1920. In 1928 the family moved to Cooks 
Mills, 111., where Martha Christian and John W. Floyd were 
married on Jan. 28, 1929, in Charleston, 111. In March of 
1930, John and Martha rented a dairy farm and moved to 
Burlington, 111. ; Herman and Sarah went with them. In 
March, 1935, the families moved 2 miles west of Neoga, where 
Herman died Dec. 28, 1938. 

BLAIR, JOHN, was born in Morgan Co., Ind., May 22, 1840, 
the son of Alexander Blair; married Jan. 30, 1839 in Monroe 
Co. to Elizabeth Keeney, who was born April 10, 1823 in 

-246- 



Kentucky, died Dec. 4, 1875 and was buried at Long Point 
Cemetery, Cumberland Co., 111. He came to 111. with his 
mother and brothers, George^ James and Peter Alexander in 
a covered wagon in 1864. He had one sister, Margaret 
Adaline^ born Feb. 23, 1845 in Morgan Co. She married 
Robert Washington Coffey, born Aug. 26, 1841 in Morgan Co. 
who was a Civil War soldier, on March 1864 in Morgan Co. 

They settled on a farm east of Neoga on Feb. 28, 1855. 
John was married to Martha Venable Ewing, born Aug. 25, 
1841, Edgar Co., 111. She was the daughter of James Ewing, 
Jr., born Nov. 3, 1804, and Mary A. Alexander, born Nov. 4, 
1815, from Blount Co., Tenn. Martha, who migrated to Edgar 
Co., then to Cumberland Co., was a school teacher. 

They bought a farm close by and set up housekeeping. To 
this union were born seven children: (1) Arthur, born Dec. 
22, 1865; (2) Herman, July 4, 1867; (3) one set of twins. 
Almond and Myrtle, born Aug. 10, 1859; (4) Edgar S., July 
25, 1873; (5) Mary, Jan. 28, 1875; (5) Flora (Flossie), 
June 5, 1879; they were all born in Cumberland Co., 111. 

After all the children left home, John and Martha 
moved to Neoga and after the death of Martha, he sold the 
home place to Charles Bassett. Then he bought another, one 
and one-half miles soutli of the old home place of Leonard 
Ferris, for himself. 

He was a devoted Christian, and belonged to the Woods 
Chapel Presbyterian Church. He was a staunch Republican. 
The weather never got too bad for him to hitch the team to 
the wagon and go to town to cast his vote for his man. 
Shortly before he died, his daughter, Myrtle, who married 
John Bosley on Sept. 23, 1890 in Cumberland Co., came with 
her family to live with him. Before he died he gave his 
team and wagon to his grandson, Ralph Bosley. He died Jan. 
20, 1917 and is buried in Long Point Cemetery, Cumberland 
Co., beside Martha Venable (Ewing) Blair. 

BLAIR, MARGRET ADALINE, was born Sept. 3, 1845 in Morgan 
Co., Ind. She died April 11, 1900 in Cumberland Co., 111. 
She was the daughter of Alexander and Elizabeth (Keeney) 
Blair. Alexander and Elizabeth were married Jan. 30, 1839 
in Monroe Co., Ind. Elizabeth was born April 10, 1823 in 
Kentucky and died Dec. 4, 1875 in Cumberland Co., Inc. 

Margret married Robert Washington Coffey March 17, 1864 
in Morgan Co., Ind. while he was on leave from the Civil 
War. He entered service Aug. 19, 1861 as a member of Co. G, 
27th Reg. Ind. He was born Aug. 2, 1841 in Morgan Co., Ind. 
and died March 19, 1918 in Cumberland Co. They are buried 
in Longpoint Cemetery, east of Neoga. Moses T. and Renner 
Lucinda Coffey were Robert's parents. They moved east of 
Neoga in the spring of 1866 where they made their home until 

-247- 



1898^ then moved to Champaign Co., 111. They lived there 
until 1900 when they moved back to their farm. 

They were the parents of four sons and one daughter^ all 
born in Cumberland Co.: Samuel, born Aug. 21, 1866; Parker 
was born Jan. 1^ 1868, died at the age of twelve years with 
pneumonia; Le\Jis Alexander, born Jan., 1870; Oscar, born Dec. 
12, 1871; Margret Adaline, May 27, 1882, who married Charles 
Arthur Viles, Oct. 30, 1899 in Urbana, 111; Charles, born 
Dec. 22, 1878 in Linton, Ind. and died Oct. 2, 1957 in 
Champaign, 111. The death of Charles occured when the tractor 
he was driving overturned. They are buried in Mt . Olive 
Cemetery in Mayview, Illinois. 

BLAKE, LARRY DEAN, son of Lawrence Hill and Irene (Ferguson) 
Blake, was born Aug. 12, 1939 at Neoga, 111. and was married to 
Jewel Ruth Bolinger of Salem, 111. at Lansing, Michigan. 

Lawrence was born March 31, 1919 in Cumberland Co., and in 
St. Louis married Irene, who was born May 19, 1917 in Shelby 
Co., 111. Jewel was born Oct. 11, 1938 at Salem, the daughter 
of Kenneth Edward (born May, 1918 at Salem) and Mildred Jewel 
Miller (born July 28, 1918 at Murphysboro, 111.) 

Larry is a minister of the United Pentecostal Church and 
his mother, his wife and her parents are all affiliated with 
that church. Larry and Jewel have two sons: Kevin Lee, born 
Dec. 2, 1959 at Effingham; and Jonathan Dean, born April 11, 
1963 at Carbondale, 111. 

BLAND, CHARLES, brother of Edward and John came to Cumber- 
land Co. after his brothers. He made his home with his 
brother John for awhile. He was born Aug. 18, 1875. On March 
11, 1900 he married Rosa J. Wall, born July 29, 1875, a 
daughter of Hester and Samuel Wall. Charles was a carpenter 
by trade but was a man who could do many things so he did 
different kinds of work. They moved to Union Center in 1919. 
In the fall of 1925 they moved to Steger, 111., near Chicago 
where they stayed about six years, moving back to Union Center 
in 1931 where they lived the rest of their married life. 
After Rosa died in 1958, Charles continued to live there many 
years alone. When he could no longer care for himself, he 
went to a nursing home in Casey where he lived several years 
before he died in 1966. 

Charles and Rosa, parents of five children: Pearl married 
Ben Wade of Greenup and went to Kansas to live. He is dead 
and she now lives with a son in California. 

Mabel married Virgil Shafer; both are deceased. They had 
two children, Marjorie, living in Chicago and Richard, living 
in Charleston. Herman married Rose Tierie and they were 
parents of three children: Rhoda, Betty and Charles. Herman 
died in Oct., 1954. His wife lives in East Chicago where she 
has a dry cleaning business. Harold married Florence Mahnke 

-248- 



of Steger, Oct. 15, 1929. He was born March 11, 1909 and 
Florence, July 15, 1913. They were parents of seven children, 
Esther, born June 3, 1930, married Wesley Harms and lives in 
Florida. They have one child, James, born June 26, 1930 and 
died Jan. 1, 1942; Sally born Jan. 27, 1935, married first, 
Don McMechan and to them were born four children; second, she 
married Paul Adams and they had four children. They live in 
Steger; JoAnn born May 5, 1946, married Bud Harwell. They 
live in Mt. Vernon, Ohio and have two sons, Charles, born 
March 6, 1938, died Feb. 13, 1941; Diana, born July 30, 1945, 
married Charles Limpley. They live in Benton, 111., and 
have two sons: Dawn, born Dec. 8, 1950. Harold died April 
7, 1965. Florence and daughter Dawn now reside in Union 
Center, although she still retains her home in Chicag. 

Nina Bland married Dallas Turner and they live at Rose 
Hill, Illinois. 

BLAND, DOLPH, the fourth son of Ed and Mary Bland was born 
Aug. 27, 1897 and married Letha Neeley, born in 1899, the 
daughter of Etta and Hiram Neeley. They lived on a farm in 
Union Twp., and were the parents of two children.; Ruth Eileen, 
born July 15, 1921 and Charles William, born March 28, 1926. 
On April 1 , 1926, Letha passed away. After her death, Dolph 
took the children and went to Richland Co. where he was a 
minister in the United Brethren Church. While living there, 
he met and married Hazel Bailey on Aug. 1, 1928. Hazel was 
born June 19, 1908. To this union five children were born: 
Anita Pearl, born Dec. 31, 1929; Norma Iris, Feb. 6, 1933; 
David Lawrence, March 29, 1934; Dolph Jr., Dec. 13, 1935; 
Lily Marie, Sept. 7, 1938. 

Ruth Bland married Harrel Leon Peters. To them four 
children were born: Leon Jr . (who is married and has two 
children, Jeff and Sham) , Sandra, David and Tracy. Ruth 
lives near Decatur. Charles Bland married Betty Seeley and 
to them were born two daughters, Brenda and Jane. Charles 
lives near Toledo and he is a rural mail carrier out of 
Toledo. Anita Pearl married Loren Smith and to them were 
born Mark, Randy and Patty. Norma Iris married Robert Frye 
and to them were born Alycia, Cathy, Robert, Cindy, John and 
Melody. David married Nancy Parnham and they have three, 
Gail Ann, Debbie and David. Dolph Jr. married Je an Abney and 
they have two children, Cherie and Christeen. Lily Marie 
married William Vermillion and they have two children, Scott 
and Ryan. 

After their marriage, Dolph and Hazel moved to Cumberland 
Co. where he farmed. They then went to Peoria where he worked 
at the Caterpillar factory until retirement. They then went 
to Kentucky for a short time and then came back to Greenup 
where they built a home just south of town. 

-249- 



BLAND, EDWARD was a son of Mr. and Mrs. John Bland of 
Montrose. The Bland family came from Indiana and were on 
their way to Missouri when the mother became ill. They 
stopped in Montrose and stayed there. There were four 
girls and four boys in this family: Manda, Mary, Tilda^ 
Josie, Edward, John, Charles and Allen. Allen was killed 
by a train near Woodbury when a young man. Edward and John 
came to Cumberland Co. to cut ties for the railroad. They 
worked in the timber somewhere east of Greenup. 

Edward was born Jan. 25, 1867 in Green Co., Ind. On 
June 17, 1890 he married Ida May Cutright, born May 12, 
1873, a daughter of John and Elizabeth Day Cutright of 
Union Twp. After marriage, they soon began farming, living 
on farms near the Brushy Ridge community northeast of 
Greenup. After he retired from farming, they moved to a 
place south of Timothy and later into Greenup. He became 
blind several years before he died Jan. 6, 1958. May 
continued to live in her home in Greenup until her death 
May 16, 1962. They are buried in the Greenup Cemetery. 

Edward and May were parents of six children: Bert, 
Oakley, Carl, Dolph, Kathryn and Bernard. 

BLAND, BERT, the eldest son of Edward and May Bland was 
born July 18, 1892. On Feb. 23, 1915 he married Lodica Kuhn 
born Nov. 18, 1895, a daughter of George and Maggie Fort 
Kuhn. Bert worked in the store for George Kuhn, testing 
cream. Later he worked in the broom factory in Greenup and 
at the Bill Morris Poultry House. In later years, he was a 
custodian at the shoe factory. To them were born three 
children: Carl Wilson, born Oct. 19, 1918, died May 18, 1919; 
Marylee married Mac Ross and lives in Toledo. They have three 
children. John married Alberta Freeman and lives near Greenup. 
They have three children. Lodica died May 9, 1942 and is 
buried at the Mt. Zion Cemetery. 

BLAND, KATHRYN BRANDENBURG, the daughter of Edward and May 
Cutright Bland was born Dec. 28, 1899 in Cumberland Co. She 
taught school in Cumberland Co. 1918-1922. On May 13, 1922 
she married Thomas Jefferson Brandenburg, born Feb. 28, 1895 
in Coles Co., the son of Theodore and Nina Poole Brandenburg. 
He was a railway postal clerk, 1917-1918. Later he was 
employed by the Ohio Oil Co. Later he graduated from 
Electrical Engineering School and was employed as Construction 
Engineer by the Sinclair Oil Co. Later he worked on electrical 
construction work. Kathryn was employed as City Collector and 
Bookkeeper by the City of Casey from 1937 until her retirement 
in 1964. 

Kathryn and Thomas are parents of two daughters: Mary 
Louise, born April 2, 1924 in Clark Co. She was employed in 
the office of Ettelbrick Shoe Co. from 1942 to 1945. At present 

-250- 



she is employed in the office of American Automotive Co. She 
is married to Leo LeRoy Simpson, born Feb. 8, 1922, a son of 
Riley and Delia Johnson Simpson. He served in the U.S. Army 
in World War II. For more than 20 years he has been employed 
by the City of Casey and at present is manager of the City 
Water Dept. They are parents of one daughter, Jennifer Kay, 
born Sept. 10, 1945. She attended Eastern University at 
Charleston and later Utterback Business College in Mattoon. 
She married William Paul Blockwood of Newman, 111. He was 
also a student at Eastern. At present he is serving in the 
U.S. Air Force, stationed at Tampa, Florida. 

Melba Aleta Brandenburg, born Oct. 13, 1925 in Clark Co. 
She was employed by Marathon Oil Co. in the office at 
Martinsville until 1948. In Sept., 1947, she married Robert 
Travis Wilcox, born Feb. 15, 1921 in Cumberland Co., the son 
of Ira William and Pearl Travis Wilcox. He graduated from 
Blackburn College and served in the Navy in World War II. He 
has been employed many years by the Marathon Oil Co. and at 
present is Office Manager at Martinsville, 111. They are 
parents of one daughter. Amy Jo Wilcox, born March 14, 1949. 
At present she is attending Eastern University. 

BLAND, BERNARD, youngest son of Edward and May Bland was 
born Jan. 1, 1912 in Union Twp. On August 12, 1933, he marr- 
ied Dorothy Bailey, born Sept. 27, 1910 in Richland Co. He 
works in the shoe factory at Greenup. Dorothy and Bernard 
have two daughters. Marcia, born Aug. 11, 1935 in Union Twp. 
She married Russell D. Davison on March 24, 1954. To them 
one child was born, Jeffrey Lee, born March 27, 1959. Marcia 
works at General Electric in Mattoon. 

Janet, born July 27, 1942 in Greenup Twp. She married 
Jerry K. Sherwood, Sept. 15, 1961. They have one child, 
Kevin Tyler, born Aug. 15, 1963. Janet graduated from Eastern 
and teaches in the Cumberland schopl system. 

BLAND, JOHN, a brother of Edward, came to Cumberland Co. 
when Edward did. After Edward and May were married, he lived 
with them until he married Louella Cutright, a daughter of 
Robert and Deliah Cook Cutright. He worked with his brothers 
making railroad ties. He then worked on a farm, later moving 
to Union Center where he started a blacksmith shop which he 
operated for many years. They had one daughter, Josie. Lou 
and John are buried at the Herr Cemetery. Josie left Union 
Center many years ago and went to Akron, Ohio where she worked 
several years. She now lives in Florida. 

BLAND, WILLIAM OAKLEY, the second son of Ed and May Bland 
was born Feb. 12, 1894. On June 19, 1919 he married Mary Anis 
McMillan, born Feb. 6, 1900, a daughter of William and Louise 
McMillan. They went to housekeeping in the Syaley House north 
of Oak Grove, then lived near Union Center. During this time, 

-251- 



Oakley worked on Route 40 when it was being paved. Later they 
moved near Oilfield where he farmed. Several years later they 
moved near Greenup and finally into Greenup where both worked 
at the shoe factor until retirement age. Oakley is a World 
War I veteran and served overseas. 

To them were born eight children: Robert Mac, born May 26, 
1921, married Jan. 27, 1943 to Mary Carolyn Hawes, born Sept. 
12, 1922 a daughter of Alvin and Myrtle Mae Ghast Hawes of 
Greenup. They have three children: Carolyn Sue, born Aug. 4, 
1943, living at home; Patricia Ann, Sept. 25, 1944, married 
Nov. 9, 1963 to Ray Anderson Sluder, born Feb. 20, 1941 of 
Cheston, North Carolina; they have a son, Ray Anthony, born 
July 24, 1954. They live in Silver Springs, Maryland; and 
Robert Leroy, Sept. 18, 1946, entered the service Jan. 12, 
1956 and was a Corporal in the Marine Corps, serving in Cuba, 
Puerto Rico, Okinawa and Viet Nam. He returned Dec. 29, 1957. 
His father Robert Mac served in World War II as P.F.C. with 
the 340th Engineers from Aug. 25, 1942 to Oct. 25, 1945. He 
served in Alaska, Australia, New Guinea, Luzon and Morti Island, 

Emogene, born Nov. 8, 1923 married Harold Lewis, a son of 
Norton and Lottie Lewis of Greenup. They live in Effingham 
and have two children: William Richard, Jan. 23, 1942 is 
married and has a son, Bradley William, born June 8, 1960 and 
Janice Lou, born Feb. 2, 1944 is married and has two children, 
Debra Lee, born Jan. 21, 1960 and Julie Ann Mason, born March 
4, 1963. 

William Edward, born Feb. 11, 1925 married Dec. 20, 1949 
to Ruby Fern Wade, born May 2, 1924, a daughter of Edgar and 
Goldie Wade. They have three children: Rita Kay, Oct. 28, 
1953; Dee Ann, Nov. 22, 1957; and William Edward, May 14, 

1950. They live in Greenup. William works at the Norge 
Plant in Effingham and Fern works at the shoe factory. He 
served in World War II in Germany. 

Jerold Lee, born Aug. 30, 1929 married Clara Cathryn 
Biggs June 17, 1967. They live in Greenup. He works for the 
telephone company. 

Donald Richard, born July 22, 1931 married Helen Ilene 
Limes "Dec. 23, 1950, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Riley Limes 
of Greenup. One child was born Nov. 4, 1961, Teresa Darlene. 
He entered service Aug. 4, 1948 and was discharged Aug. 4, 

1951. Verne Dale, born March 29, 1933. He works for the 
State Highway Department. 

Doit Allen, born Nov. 30, 1934 married Bessie Suzanne 
Roberts Dec. 15, 1955. They live in Greenup and have two 
children: Kathy Suzanne, born Dec. 30, 1955 and Ben Allen, 
born March 1, 1960. He works forthe telephone company. 

James Russell, born July 27, 1936 has one son. Rex Allen, 
bojrn Aug. 3, 1961. 

-252- 



BLAND, CARL, third son of Ed and May Bland was born Dec. 
31, 1886. He married first Iva Snyder Outright and lived east 
of Timothy on a farm. After her death, he married Leona 
Titus Carlen. They also lived on the farm. After her death 
he married Lula Neese Welton. They live in Greenup. 

BOOTS, BARTIS C. - I am the oldest living granddaughter 
of Bartis C. Boots, an old pioneer who came to Cumberland Co. 
in 1850 or 1852. He took up land along the Embarrass River 
and lived his life there, dying in 1907. My father, Al Boots 
was the oldest son, born in 1850 and died in 1922. My mother, 
Elizabeth Griggs was born in 1855, married in 1873 and died 
in 1878; had Charles Edward, born 1875, died 1940 and Lillie 
Ann, born 1877. Lillie married Calip S. Pearcy, born 1873, 
died 1955. All are buried in the cemetery near Harmony 
Churchnorth of Greenup. Lillie and Mr. Pearcy had six 
children: Amos R. , 1897-1956 was the father of two girls; 
William T., 1899-1958, left five children; son Charles E., 
born 1907 was in the Marines 1926-1930; Grace, born 1904, 
married Cleo R. Bales and had Richard; Louisa Jane, born 
1911, married Guy D. Dudley, 1909-1959 and had David, now 
teaching, Donald, in the Navy 1954-1968, Larry, in business 
at Sharpsville, Ind. and Donna Jane, married to Ernest Barnes 
and living in Greenup. Pearl F. Pearcy, 1901-1965, had 
Robert, a Sergeant in the Air Force for 14 years and Ed, in 
the Army for 12 years. Louisa Dudley married John Knight 
and is living in Clinton, Arkansas. 

My first school days were spent in a log cabin school 
on the east side of the road, just south of the Lost Creek 
Bridge. My childhood was a lonesome one, as I was raised 
by my father's sister, Louisa Boots Williams, who had no 
children of her own, but was a good mother to me. I had 
six children, have fifteen grandchildren, twenty-one great 
grandchildren and ten great great grandchildren. I had a 
great great grandfather on my mother's side, Joseph Griggs, 
who served in the Revolution in Oxford, Connecticut. 

I am now living with my daughter, Grace, at Sharpsville. 

BOSLEY,Carl Edgar, was born Sept. 18, 1909 in Kiowa, 
Kansas. He is the son of John and Myrtle (Blair) Bosley who 
were married Sept. 23, 1890 in Cumberland Co. near Trilla. 
Myrtle died Feb. 4, 1917 in Cumberland Co. and is buried in 
Long Point Cemetery near Neoga. Soon after the death of 
Myrtle, John took his children, Ralph, Elizabeth and Carl 
and came west in a covered wagon. It took them thirty days 
to drive the team to Kiowa, Kansas. Soon after they arrived 
there, John placed Elizabeth and Carl in an orphan home. 
Carl married Alice Lucille Miller on Dec. 28, 1930 in Kingman, 
Kansas. Alice Lucille was born Sept. 23, 1906 in Kingman. 
To this union one girl was born Feb. 29, 1936, who died at 

-253- 



birth and one boy was born, Edgar Adams, Oct. 4, 1940 in 
Fort Scott ^Kansas. Mr. and Mrs. Adams of Kingman^ Kansas 
took Carl when he was 14 years old and cared for him until 
he married. Carl is a farmer and sells crop insurance. 

BOSWELL^ DONALD DEAN, was born Dec. 3, 1937 in Cumberland 
Co. He and his parents, Clarence and Violet Fleenor Boswell 
were affiliated with the Penecostal Church. Clarence is 
buried at the Neoga Cemetery. 

Donald Dean and Judith A. Young (born April 6, 1943) were 
married Oct. 18, 1960 in Neoga. Judith is the daughter of 
Edward S. Young and Thelma A. Huff. Both were affiliated 
with the Christian Church. Mr. Young died March 24, 1959 
and is buried in Neoga Cemetery. The children of Donald D. 
and Judith Boswell are: Darrell Dean, born May 25, 1961; 
Crystal Lynn, born Oct. 12, 1953; and Timothy Wayne, born 
April 28, 1965. 

BOWER, ELI D., the sixth child of Jacob B. and Catherine 
Christine Bower was born near Mt. Eaton, Ohio. When he was 
nine years old his father and mother moved from. Ohio to Owen 
Co., Ind. Here on their homestead west of Patricksburg, he 
attended school. Eli was 19 years old when his father died 
and the only child living at home, he stayed on the farm with 
his mother until 2 years later when the other heirs sold out 
to Eli and his mother. In 1873 he married Sarah Hostetler 
and moved to Cumberland Co., 111. where he bought a farm 4 
miles southwest of Casey. The following children were born 
to this union: Elizabeth, John, Bruce, Walter, Furl, Lilly 
(Brown) and Herman. Only Lilly Brown and Furl Bower are 
still living at this date, 1968. 

BOWER, BRUCE - On a winter Sunday evening, after the 
regular church service at Washington Church, and much to the 
surprise of relatives, neighbors and friends, Bruce Bower 
and Nettie Moore were united in marriage by the Rev. W. C. 
Harbert. This occured Jan. 26, 1908. They established a 
home in Crooked Creek Twp. in Cumberland Co. and lived there 
until Dec. 1956 when they retired from farming and carpenter 
work and moved to Casey, 111. The following children are 
children of Bruce and Nettie Bower: Faye (Kemper) ; Ruth 
(Coartney) ; Exil; Pauline (Lacey) ; Dorothy (Cox) ; and Crystal 
(Ralston) . Mrs. Faye Kemper, Casey, is a graduate of Eastern 
Illinois University, at Charleston. She taught 8 years in the 
public schools of Cumberland Co. She was married to Joel 
Kemper, who died after three and a half years. She has two 
children: Mrs. Ruth Schmidt of Joliet who is a graduate of 
E.I,U,, Charleston, and a teacher; and William Bruck Kemper, 
a graduate of Indiana State University with a master's degree. 
William was a member of the faculty of Ind. State University 
for 4 years. He now has a position in management in Radio 

-254- 



Corporation of America at Bloomingtori/ Ind. Mrs. Ruth 
Coartney, Ashmore^ 111- has three children: Mrs. Robert 
Walters, Cyril Dean Coartney, who is a graduate of E.I.U. 
and a teacher and Marsha Goartney. Her husband is Cyril 
Coartney . 

BOWER, Exil, of Mesa, Arizona spent 4^ years in mili- 
tary service during World War II with 24 months spent in 
England, France, Belgium and Germany. He served with 
Headquarters Co., Maintainance Battalion of the 3rd 
Armored "Spearhead" Division, under the command of Gen. 
Hodges. He received the following ribbons and citations: 
Pre-Pearl Harbor Service Ribbon, European Theatre of 
Operations Ribbon with one silver battle star, 4 overseas 
service bars, one service stripe, a good conduct medal, and 
was issured a certificate of "merit" for service over and 
above the normal call of duty in France, Belgium and 
Germany. Exil is married to the former Eula Arnold and 
has three sons and a daughter. They are Gene of Calif., 
a graduate of the Univ. of So. Calif.; Dennis, who spent 
one year in Vietnam in military service and a new student 
of Arizona State Univ.; Randal and Dixie, at home. 

Mrs. Pauline Lacey of Casey has a daughter, Joan. Her 
husband is Dale Lacey. Mrs. Dorothy Cox, Charleston, 111. 
has a daughter, Martha, a graduate of E.I.U. who is a 
secretary in the office of Dean Bentley of the College of 
Agriculture at the Univ. of 111.; and a son, Connie Cox, 
who is a farmer in Coles Co. Her husband is Marion Cox. 
Mrs. Crystal Ralston of Charleston, whose children are: 
Mrs. Rhea Ralston, Mrs. Linda (Dobbs) , Arnold, Ronnie and 
Doris. Her husband is Alvin Ralston. 

BOWMAN, HIRAM (farmer. Post Office, Greenup) was born 
March 15, 1815 in Guilford Co., No. Carolina of Holland 
Dutch parentage, moved to Morgan Co., Ind. at the age of 
17 and came to Cumberland Co. where he entered land in 1851 
(see page 250 in Counties of Cumberland, Jasper and 
Richland 1884). It is believed that his father's name was 
Peter Bowman. His second marriage was to Lucinda Dabnor of 
Virginia. They had five children: Peter Jefferson, William 
Yancey, Mary Matilda, Samuel and Thomas. 

BOWMAN, PETER JEFFERSON, son of Hiram and Lucinda (Dabnor) 
Bowman was born Dec. 6, 1859 north of Toledo, Cumberland Co. 
On Oct. 20, 1880 he was married to Mary Ellen Williams, a 
daughter of Joel and Catherine Leona Stotts Williams. Mary 
E. was born May 10, 1862 in Cumberland Co. They had ten 
children: Ollie (Mrs. John Tracey, Greenup), Clarence M. 
(St. Louis, Mo.), Sylvia (Mrs. Walter "Doc" Titus, Greenup), 
Chauncey Roscoe (Ben) (St. Louis), Lucian Eugene (Bob of 
Greenup), A. E. (Abe of Longview, Texas), John S. (Indiana- 

-255- 



polls, Ind.), William Stacey (South Bend, Ind.), Grace (Mrs. 
Marshall Coleman, Greenup) and Forrest Orville (Jock of 
Greenup). Of this family, two are living: C. R. "Ben" and 
A. E. "Abe". 

Pete Bowman, known locally as "Col. P.J," Auctioneer, 
lived his entire life in Cumberland Co. where he was a 
prominent farmer, active in agriculture as founder and 1st 
president of the Cumberland Co. Farmer's Institute and where 
he served for 40 years as President of the Cumberland Co. 
Fair Assoc. He was one of the older members of Greenup 
Lodge, No. 125 A.F. and A.M. His wife, Mary Ellen, died 
July 14, 1930 and P. J. died July 11, 1940. Both are buried 
in the Greenup Cemetery. 

BOWMAN, LUCIAN EUGENE (Bob), son of Peter J. and Mary E. 
(Williams) Bowman was born April 28, 1891 north of Toledo. 
On Dec. 26, 1923 he was married to Justine Goldsmith, a 
daughter of Fremont and Elizabeth (Fogle) Goldsmith of Jewett 
in Cumberland Co. They had one child, a daughter, Bobbie 
Claire, named for her father. 

Bob entered the service of his country in Oct., 1917 and 
served with the 130th Inf. in World War I, stationed first 
at Camp Taylor, Louisville, Ky. and later in France. He 
received an honorable discharge with the rank of Sergeant 
in July, 1919. He was a broom-maker at the Greenup Broom 
Mfg. Co. He was an avid sports fan, known locally as a wild 
game hunter and area-wise as a baseball catcher. He played 
with the minor league in Indiana for a time. 

He was a member of Nichols-Goleman-Boggs American Legion 
Post #155, Greenup; Veterans of Foreign Wars of Decatur; 
Masonic Order #125 , Greenup, and these organizations, along 
with the Vandalia, 111. and Effingham, 111. V.F.W. posts, 
Effingham Drum and Bugle Corp, Decatur Gold Star Mothers and 
Masons and servicemen throughout the state made his funeral 
cortege one of the largest ever observed in this section of 
Illinois, upon his death, Jan. 2, 1931. He is buried in the 
Greenup Cemetery. His wife, Justine, survives. On May 6, 
1939 she was married to Walter Earl Dillier of Greenup, who 
died Dec. 28, 1961. She is now owner of Dillier 's Hatchery, 
a Purina Feed store in Greenup. 

BOWMAN, BOBBIE CLAIRE, daughter and only child of Lucian 
Eugene "Bob" and Justine (Goldsmith, Bowman) Dillier was born 
Aug. 24, 1926 in Jewett, 111. She was married May 19, 1946 
to Charles Ewart Goodman, son of Dr. Charles Evans and Hattie 
(Ewart) Goodman of Greenup. They have two daughters, Dana Lu, 
born Sept. 9, 1949 and Darice, born May 19, 1953, both born in 
Terre Haute, Vigo Co., Ind. Bobbie Claire is a 1944 graduate 
of Greenup High School and has worked at a variety of occup- ■ 
ations as a public servant; the past ten years in various 

-256- 




^ 



^^^^ 



Mflp«» 



vv 



9^9 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY POOR FARM 
Built in 1910, ihe first supervisor was John Will Holsapple. 
It was torn down about 1946. Picture taken about 1918. 








Mary Holt with her three-wheeled 
bicycle with umbrella 



Cottonwood Willing Workers Club. 

1953 
Seated: Violet McCandlish, Hazel 
Grisamore, Mildred Ryan, Ola 
Titus, Irma Moses & baby 
Roscoe Dwight. Standing: 
Mary Pennington, Lelia 
Pennington, Myra Barger, 
Hill, Edna Cooly, Minnie Tippett, 
Bonnie Spesard. 



Ester 



James McCuUough 
came to 111, in 1839 



Married 



Sarah (Brewer) 
McCuIlough 




The five children were; Eliza Ann (Armer) McCuIlough, 
wife of Thomas Clark McCuIlough; Dayton "Date" 
McCuIlough, B. May 18, 1863, D. June 13, 1945; 
John Ross McCuIlough, B, Nov. 17, I860, D. July 5, 
1940; Amanda Jane McCuIlough, B. Mar. 9, 1849, 
D. May 14, 1938; Lewis Franklin "Hub" McCuIlough, 
B. Apr. 14, 1866, D. May 2, 1953; Thomas Clark 
McCuUaugh, B. Feb. 8, 1858, D. Aug. 24, 1933. 
Taken in front of home place of James McCuIlough. 



areas of news media. She is a member of the Presbyterian 
Church. The family resides at 500 East Cincinnati, Greenup. 

BRANDENBURG, ROSS, born in Union Twp., Cumberland Co., 
on Feb. 4, 1894, a son of John and Matilda (Rogers) Branden- 
burg, was married in Coles Co. Sept. 14, 1918 to Denzle 
Ingram, born Feb. 4, 1901, a daughter of Elzie and Dora 
(Deverick) Ingram of Coles. Co. Ross and Denzle lived on 
a farm east of Union Center where he farmed and they raised 
their family of three. (1) Lawrence, born in 1920, married 
Ruby Dill in Sept., 1950. They live at Paxton, 111. and 
Lawrence works at the Rantoul Air Base. (2) Aileen, born 
in 1922, married Orlin Legg in Aug., 1941. They live in 
Casey, 111. Aileen has two sons and two daughters. (3) 
Rosalie, born in 1924, married Ivan Sharp in Dec. 1944. 
They live in Homer, 111. and have one son. Denzle died in 
Sept., 1938 and is buried at the Washington Street Cemetery 
in Casey, 111. 

Ross married Dorothy (Robinson) Wolfe, Jan. 30, 1946. 
He quit farming and went to work for the Forest Oil Co. as 
a teamster. They moved to the vicinity near the Lacey 
School, near the oil field. They still live in this vicinity. 
After working for this company a little over 17 years, he 
retired in 1963. Dorothy had 4 children by a previous 
marriage: Mrs. Rexall (Roberta) Sandiford of Oblong, 111.; 
Mrs. John (Wanda) Comer of Casey; S.S.G. Charles L. Wolfe, 
Spanaway, Washington, now serving in Vietnam; Rogene Wolfe 
lives in Casey and was raised in the Brandenburg home. 

BREWER, WILLIAM, born 1790 in No. Carolina, the eldest 
of 8 children; married about 1812 to Jane McKnight, born 
1793; they came via the Cumberland Gap to Wayne Co.,Ind. in 
1817, remaining there until 1838 when they came to Coles Co. 
(now Cumberland Co.) and settled about 5 miles north of 
Greenup. Here, May 23, 1845, Jane died. This piece of land 
remained in the family over 100 years. Eight children were 
born to this couple. (1) Lucretia; (2) John, a farmer who 
had 21 children and spent his later years in Toledo; (3) Mary; 
(4) Thomas, Justice of Peace of Cumberland Co., 1846, Sheriff 
in *53, and practicing law in 1855; (5) Nancy; (6) Eliza Jane; 
(7) Hulda; and (8) Sarah. Sarah Brewer, born July 14, 1824 
in Wayne Co., Ind., walked with her sister Nancy and brother 
Tom from Indiana to their new home near Timothy, which was a 
land grant. Here they planted apple trees which they brought 
with them. James McCullough, born July 31, 1822 in Ohio and 
Sarah Brewer were married about 1844. James McCullough at 
17 years of age in the year of 1839 came to Cumberland Co. 
in the company of Samuel Robertson from near Springfield, Ohio 
and obtained a land grant June 1, 1850, (which land is where 
Ed Tipsword now has his store) . James lived 62 years in this 

-257- 



county and was one of the pioneers. He was a witty Irishman, 
small in size, wore a beard, was a farmer, very religious and 
a good singer; led the song service at Harmony and later at 
Asbury church north of his home. Sarah and James had ten 
children: (1) Mary died an infant; (2) Winfield Scott died 
an infant; (3) Amanda Jane, born March 9, 1849, married 
Frances Marion Williams; (4) Samuel Quinn, born 1851, died 
at 7 mos.; (5) George Ralph died at 1 yr . 10 mos.; (6) Sarah 
Ellen died at 2 yrs, 2 mos.; (7) Thomas Clark, born Feb. 8, 
1858, married Eliza Ann Armer; (8) John Ross, born Nov. 17, 
1860, married Angeline Perry; (9) William Dayton, born May 
18, 1863, married Rebecca Jane Stirewalt Williams; (10) Lewis 
Franklin, born April 14, 1866, married Laura May Jennings. 
James McCullough was found dead of a heart attack in the barn 
of his home place. He was buried June 5, 1901 at Harmony 
Cemetery, Rev. Rousey officiating, Rev. Martin and wife 
Diantha, Quaker , ministers, attending. Sarah McCullough was 
widely known for her kindness in taking care of the sick and 
the homeless and she loved to visit the cemetery. She died 
Jan. 26, 1909 and is buried in Harmony Cemetery. 

BRIGGERMAN, FRANK, was born and raised in Cumberland Co., 
the son of Mary and Herman Briggerman, the latter coming from 
Westphalia, Germany. Sept. 14, 1902, Frank married Miss Lucy 
Ellen Peters, also a resident of Cumberland Co. 

During his life, Frank was an expert at many different 
professions, as follows: operating a steam engine, he used 
to tell many interesting tales of threshing; Frank also ran 
several different saw mills and did farming, raising and 
baling broom corn. Frank and Lucy were the parents of seven 
children^ raising all but two to man and womanhood. (1) Nellie 
Marie, born Dec. 24, 1905 in Toledo, married George F. Goodwin, 
Feb. 16, 1927; (2) Mary, born Dec, 1904, died Dec, 1904 and 
is buried in Drummond Cemetery near Neal; (3) Herman A., born 
Aug. 30, 1907, died April 6, 1911, buried in Drummond Cemetery; 
(4) Maudeline, born July 16, 1910, married Howard Drumm, July 
6, 1930 in Mattoon, and died Oct., 1961 in Coles Co.; (5) 
Luther Franklin, born June 20, 1912, in Neoga, and is married 
to Lottie Thompson; ^6) Don, born Aug. 3, 1914, in Trilla, 
married Lucille Shoulder April 15, 1939 in St. Louis; (7) 
Dale, born Aug. 3, 1914 in Trilla, married Eleanor Lockhart 
in Mattoon on July 26, 1942. 

After Frank passed away Jan. 2, 1950, Lucy moved to 
Bushton, 111. On May 23, 1953 Lucy was married to Lee Ford. 
Lucy did her own housework and raised a large garden every 
year until she became ill in 1966. At the present time, 
she is a resident of the Hill Top Nursing Home, Charleston. 

BRIGGERMAN, JOHN HENRY, was born in Neoga Twp., Cumberland 
Co., Oct. 18, 1872, a son of Herman H. and Mary (Hiatt) 

-258- 



Briggerman. Herman Briggerman, at that time the name was 
spelled Bruggeman, was born in Herford, Germany, July 12, 
1835. He came to America in 1858 as a stowaway, landing 
in New York and made his way to St. Louis, Mo. where he 
joined two or three brothers who had come to this country 
earlier. It is believed that the brothers operated a 
bakery. Herman remained in St. Louis 7 years, and in or 
about 1865 he came to Cumberland Co., settling on a farm 
2H, miles southwest of Trilla, 111. In 1871 he married 
Mary Hiatt, born in Cumberland Co., June 25, 1844, she 
was a young widow with one daughter. Flora Hiatt. In his 
youth he had been confirmed in the Lutheran Church in 
Germany, but in 1875 he and Mary were charter members of 
the Woods Chapel Cumberland Presbyterian Church which was 
built in the northwest corner of his farm, facing west on 
the present Route #121. He died suddenly of a heart attack 
March 16, 1916, his wife Mary, died Jan. 18, 1901. Burial 
place was the Drummond Cemetery near Neal. One brother, 
William, was yet living in Wayne, Neb. Herman and Mary were 
parents of two children, John Henry and Frank A., born in 
1877, and married Lucy Peters. 

John grew up on the farm and he and Frank attended 
Beehive School and Woods Chapel Church. Oct. 30, 1898, 
John married Angeline, called Angle, Hill, second daughter 
of Lewis and Alice (Gowin) Hill of Johnstown, 111. and born 
July 5, 1875. John took his bride to the large and com- 
fortable home of his father, and lived there all their 
married lives. Angle was active in church, club and lodge 
work all her life. She died June 7, 1925 and in later years 
John moved to Mattoon, 111., where he died June 19, 1942. 
John and Angle were parents of three sons: Lloyd Henry, born 
Aug. 13, 1899, and married to Gladys Plummer, daughter of 
Oscar and Savilla Plummer, near Johnstown, they lived in 
Mattoon; Hubert Louis, born July 18, 1907 and married Nellie 
Wilson, daughter of Ben and Mary (Brown) Wilson. Hubert and 
Nellie have four children, Bryan Lee; Julia Ann; James W. ; 
and Shelia A. John Leslie Briggerman, born July 29, 1911, 
married WaveAcJell Lois Davis of Muncie, 111., daughter of 
George and ^?iSr (Pl^atner) Davis. One son, Steven Leslie, 
was born to them, and they live in Peoria, 111. They are 
members of the Union Congregational Church and he is a Mason. 

BRIGHT, JAMES HENSON was a son of Josiah and Ida Eaton 
Bright. He was married to Nova Ethel Tipsword on Oct. 24, 
1917. She was born Dec. 11, 1896, a daughter of Arauna and 
Zeta Carrell Tipsword of Union Twp. James left for service 
in World War I on May 26, 1918. He spent 6 months in France 
as a bugler. He was discharged Feb. 12, 1919. Returning 
from the service, they lived in Greenup and for 15 years, 

-259- 



Nova working in the shoe factory and James clerking in stores, 
They then spent 15 years in Florida where they both worked at 
Miami Battle Creek Sanitarium. Then they came back to Cumber- 
land Co. to stay. For several years they lived on her old 
homeplace near Jack Oak, which they remodeled. About 2 years 
ago they bought the Gar Borden place in Greenup where they 
now live. Nova and Jim had no children of their own, but had 
a little 13 month old baby given to them to raise. His 
father was a brother to Jim and his mother had burned to 
death. His name is Carl Eugene Bright and his wife, Jetta 
Jones Bright. He has two daughters, Vicki and Kimberly Dawn. 

In 1967 Jim and Nova celebrated their 50th wedding with 
"Open House" given by Carl and his wife, other relatives and 
friends . 

BROOKS, RUSSEL W., was born Feb. 24, 1903, a son of 
William A. and Elizabeth (Finney) Brooks, and married Mildred 
A. Nisinger of Alton, 111. William A. died June, 1935 at 
Greenup. Elizabeth was born Feb. 24, 1870 and died in March 
1952. Both are buried in the Greenup Cemetery. Mildred is 
the daughter of William and Manie (Eckstein) Nisinger of 
Alton, 111. William was born March 1, 1888 and Mamie was 
was born Jan., 1887 and died in Nov., 1966, and was buried 
at Alton, 111. Russell and Mildred have Doris Mae, born 
Sept. 30, 1924, who married Dale Mitchell, May 24, 1941. 

BROOM, LEWIS HARRIS, youngest son of twelve children, 
born in Altamont, 111., Oct. 6, 1873 (died May 20, 1951), 
son of Rev. William A. and Nancy Agnes (Bishop) Broom; 
attended the 111. College of Pharmacy in Chicago, married 
Eleanor (Nell) Josephine Dyke on Dec. 10, 1905 (died Sept. 
9, 1963) ; purchased the Allentharp Pharmacy in Greenup, 
Feb. 6, 1914, was in the drug store business in the same 
building for 37 years (first floor of the I.O.O.F. bldg.) 
Children: Grace Agnes, married John DeLaurenti, had two 
children, Nancy Jane and John Lewis; Lewis (Bud) married, 
had one daughter, Barbara (Bud died Feb. 5, 1959) ; Elizabeth 
(Betty) Catherine married Loren Carey Bowman, May 14, 1932, 
had one son, Loren Carl; Clarence Austin married Helen Wake- 
field, had two children, Diana and Michael. Elizabeth, born 
in Effingham April 11, 1912, attended Plant High in Tampa, 
Fla., 111. Eastern College, Charleston, 111., member of 
Greenup Methodist Church, charter member of Woman's Civic 
Club, charter member of Cumberland Co. Historical Society, 
retired teacher in 1967 after 20^ years teaching in Greenup 
Elementary school. Loren Carey Bowman, son of Clarence 
Mansfield and Ethel Julia (Carey) Bowman, born in Greenup, 
July 20, 1909, member of Cumberland Housing Board for 22 
years, member of Greenup Developments, Inc., Masonic Lodge, 
Postmaster of Greenup for 18 years. World War II Navy Veteran 

-260- 



in the Pacific area, charter member of V.F.W. Post #4598. 

Loren Carl Bowman, born Nov. 10, 1938 in Effingham, 
aeronautical engineer, attended the Univ. of Florida and 
Angola Tri State College; married Rachel Gayle Barnes of 
Fayetteville, Tenn., June 13/ 1964. He is employed by 
Brown Engineering Co. for NASA; moved to Merritt Island, 
Florida in 1955; Technical System Engineer , employed by 
North American Rockwell for NASA in V A B, Cape Kennedy. 

BROWN, JOURDAN, born in Hardin Co., Ky., April 1, 
1809, a son of Jonathon and Phoebe (Boone) Brown, a grand- 
niece of Daniel Boone. He was married about 3 r O30 to Lydia''''^ 
Alexander, also born in Hardin Co., in 1808 and a daughter^ 
of Andrew and Betsey Ann C^Esierih) Alexander, who came to'^'c,;^ 
111., settling about a mile north of the Coles Co. line, ^S 
where they lived until their death, having reared a large 
family. In 1831, after 2 years of marriage, one spent in 
Ky., one in Tenn., Jourdan and Lydia, packing their all in 
their saddle bags, rode out of Ky., headed for the famous 
new state of Illinois. Both came from a long line of 
hunters and were equally good with a gun. Wild game 
abounded, off which they lived on the long trip. They 
arrived in what was then Coles. Co., with a fifty cent 
piece in Jourdan 's pocket and a coon skin cap upon his head. 
They took up a claim of 80 acres in Cottonwood Twp., which 
was afterward cut off into Cumberland Co., his land on the 
north adjoining the line, lying one mile west of Johnstown, 
111. Jourdan built his log cabin well up on the hill and 
to the west of Darkey Creek, and on a knoll up from a branch 
that meandered past from the west and which he called 
Jourdan' s branch, which is so called today. The timber was 
so huge and thick, a settler could clear only a few acres per 
year. In 1831 there were no roads save bridle paths. The 
few settlers intent on homes and clearing, sowing and reap- 
ing to provide sustenance, roads were a part of the pioneer 
economy that could wait. 

Jourdan, like all others, went about his clearing 
dressed in baggy, shapeless, homemade trousers that were 
saggy and bothersome. One day he presented himself to his 
horrified wife minus britches legs to the knees, remarking 
comically. ... "I axed 'em." 

Jourdan Brown settled in here only 4 years after John 
Tully set the water wheel in Muddy Creek a mile below him, 
and where the few settlers came to get grist ground. There 
were a few Indians yet here who always appeared on the 
settlers butchering day. Their favorite sport was to grab 
handfuls of the hog entrails and chase the women, flipping 
them about like whips. The women fled in terror from the 
savages who enjoyed their gory pranks immensely. The 

-261- 



panthers squalled in the timber, and wild turkeys raced 
through the weeds like horses in stampede. A big spring 
and salt lick were on Jourdan's land and the deer hung out 
in this area until at last all were driven out or killed. 
They survived here longest and Jourdan claimed them, 
though settlers sneaked in and killed them, which roused 
his ire. After Jourdan had been on his land 5 years, he 
must ride to Vandalia, the capital, and enter it to secure 
his deed, and this he had neglected to do, as the town lay 
70 or 80 miles away. By chance, Lydia overheard two men 
talking who intended to ride to Vandalia and falsely enter 
their neighbor's land. With nightfall, Lydia was telling 
Jourdan of their intent, and within an hour Jourdan was 
booted and spurred and ready to ride to defend his right. 
A legend of the countryside . . . that wild, fast ride to 
the Capital, not knowing if the men were before or behind 
him. The mad plunging into marshes, streams, across water 
covered swales, and tearing a path for miles throught the 
tough prairie grass, a terrible ordeal by day, a terrible 
trip by night. Finally, worn out and disheveled, he arrived 
at Vandalia, overjoyed to find he had been in the lead. 
Leaving the land office with his deed, he met his so-called 
neighbor in the doorway, equally as exhausted as he. The 
date was Feb. 23, 1836. Always alert to prowlers in this 
wilderness, first to curious, roving Indians, also the 
animals roving the glades, and not unmindful of white 
travelers, both friendly and unfriendly, Lydia closed the 
cabin door soon after Jourdan's departure, turning the 
heavy, hand-hewn table across it, piling their other be- 
longings on top, she sat down with her gun across her lap 
to wait out the night, alert to varied sounds of prowling 
that went on for hours and thought probable interested 
parties were attempting to learn if Jourdan were inside. 

Jourdan was a friend of the Lihcoln family, Thomas and 
Abe, having visited and dined in his cabin. Once, Jourdan 
took a contract to make 1,000 rails for Abe Lincoln for 
five dollars. He voted twice for Abe for President, and 
voted twice to put the county seat in the center of the 
county. He and a son, George, once captured 2 live deer 
and took them to Charleston, 111., for exhibition. He drove 
herds of hogs to Terre Haute, which was the closest market. 
He became owner of 5 yoke of oxen, and upon his return would 
bring back scarce items of the day, such as salt and flour. 
He hauled the first steam boiler ever seen into Charleston. 

He and Lydia were members of the Free Will Baptist Church 
of Johnstown, joining with that order in 1858, were baptized 
in Muddy Creek near the village and lived consistent lives 
until their deaths. On Nov. 1, 1845, Smoky Jesse Wright had 

-262- 



"cried" the sale when the ghost town of Sheffield at Tully's 
Mill was sold at auction to Jacob Decker, a Charleston mer- 
chant, the highest bidder. On May 10, 1847, a brother of 
Lydia (Alexander) Brown, Alfred Alexander, and his son, John 
for 300 dollars purchased the town and 80 acres from Decker. 
The town was only a small cluster of log houses, but John re- 
named the town John's-town, platted lots, named the streets, 
opening a store and a smithy. His father operated a tannery 
on the spring fed branch just to the west of the village and 
the town came to life again, becoming a frontier town, the 
mecca for settlers moving west, with many remaining in this 
area. This was of greatest importance to the settlers work- 
ing their land in the timber, as supplies were closer, also 
a grist mill and a "still". And, on March 30, 1855, a Post 
Office was established in- the village, with Nicholas F. Esray 
as Postmaster. 

Children of Jourdan and Lydia: Two infants perished; 
Johathon married Mary Jane Bailey; Robert married Amanda Hall 
of Farmington, daughter of Squire and Matilda (Johnston) Hall; 
Phoebe Ann eloped with Joseph Ferguson at the age of 14 years. 
She died after the birth of her second child, not yet 17 
years of age; Andrew married Arabella Humphrey, daughter of 
John M. and Frances (Nay) Humphrey. Andrew was a veteran of 
the Civil War, Co. H. 123rd Inf. 111. Vols. On Sept. 3, 1863 
he arrived in Mattoon, 111., with cholera, dying within a 
few hours; George David married Lucretia Beals, daughter of 
Levi and Catherine (Lundry) Beals, pioneers to this area 
about 1832 or 1833. George David stayed on the farm with his 
father, living in the new house built for him up on the road 
above Darkey Creek, and northeast of the log cabin site; Mary 
Lucy, married John D. Fickes, rearing a family of 13 children. 

Jourdan Brown was one of the most rugged and colorful 
pioneers of this area, one to "ride the river with" from all 
accounts . He lived to see good roads come to the county and 
Trilla, Lerna and Janesville platted, with railroads and 
trains on them carrying goods to the people. Whereas in 1831 
as the poet Balch wrote: 

"Before them all was waste and wild 
Where lovely gardens since have smiled. 
And where the wild beast roamed and fed 
The toiler earns his daily bread. 
And where the panther made his lair 
The Godly meet for praise and prayer." 

Jourdan had built a commodious new farm home for himself 
on the northwest corner of the 80, and as the children marr- 
ied, he provided homes until at one time, five homesteads were 

-263- 



located at various points about the farm. 

Children of George David and Lucretia: Levi, married 
Cynthia Stirewalt; Ella, married Charles Anderson; Alzada, 
married Byron Gordon; Frankie May, married William Grant 
Nichols; James married 1st, Angle Pritchett, who died one 
year after marriage, second to Carrie Stirewalt, sister of 
Cynthia; Wilbert married Bessie Kelly. George D., retired 
from the farm at the time of his daughter May's marriage to 
Nichols, about 1894, moving into Trilla, 111. Will and May 
Nichols remained on her father's homestead where their 
children were born, following the farming trade until 1912 
when they moved to a 150 acre farm on the north side of 
Trilla where they remained the rest of their lives. When 
old, Jourdan moved into Trilla, living with his son, George 
and where he died on May 26, 1895. Lydia, his wife, died 
in 1892. Burial place of this family is Wright Cemetery, 
near his farm. 

Children of Will and May Nichols: Lester, died young; 
Hugh married Iva Beruff; Eva, married Mark Beals; Daisy 
Lucretia, married Dewey Morgan, retired, living in Toledo, 
111.; Nellie married Frank Titus, all of Trilla, 111. 

BROWN, MARGUERITE (Buchanan) was the daughter of Elmer 
Jacob and Sidney A. (Kimery) Buchanan. Elmer Jacob was 
born in 1866 and lived and died on the Buchanan farm north 
of Neoga, 111. His father, John B. Buchanan, lived in 
Switzerland Co., Ind. and came to Neoga about 1857. In 
1862 John B. married Margaret Ann Ewing (2nd wife). She 
was the daughter of Alexander and Margaret Linda (McCulloch) 
Ewing, who were natives of Blount Co., Tenn; coming to 
Edgar Co., 111. in 1825 and to Neoga about 1850. Marguerite 
Linda was descended from the Revolutionary soldier, Thomas 
McCulloch who served from Augusta Co., Va. Margaret Ann 
(Ewing) Buchanan's great grandfather was Alexander Ewing, 
who served from Montgomery Co., Va. He was the son of 
Samuel Ewing, theimmigrant who died in Prince Edward Co., 
Va. in 1758. John B. was the grandson of George Buchanan, 
immigrant who served four years in the Pennsylvania Conti- 
nental Line during the War of the American Revolution. He 
m.arried Elizabeth Campbell and with his family moved to 
Jefferson Co., Ind. about 1800. In 1813, he and his sons 
built a large blockhouse as defense against the Indians. 
Some of the people of the county came there to live at 
times. A large historical marker is on the site today, also 
markers for George Buchanan are in the Jefferson Co. Church 
Cemetery and McLaughlin Cemetery. He died in 1818, at the 
age of 97. The fort and blockhouse were called "Buchanan's 
Station- " 

BROWN, TABITHA MARILLA (Montonya) was the only child of 

-264- 



Joseph Madison and Nancy Jane (Hill) Montonye. Joseph M. was 
the son of Joseph, Jr. and Marilla (Spencer) Montonye, who 
came from Luzerne Co. Penn., about 1840 to Bethany, Moultrie 
Co., 111. Joseph M. served in Co. F, 49th Reg. 111. Inf. 
from 1861 to 1865. He received a gunshot wound in his leg,, 
at Nashville, Tenn. This fractured leg later caused 
erysipelas, resulting in his death in 1888 (Pension Papers) . 
He is buried near Allenville, 111. 

He was the great grandson of John Montonye of Orange Co. 
New York, who served in Col. May Hawk's Regiment in the War 
of the American Revolution. This John, a zealous patriot, 
tore out and gave the lead from his house windows to be 
molded into bullets. He moved to Luzerne Co., Penn. in 1788 
and died in 1802. He is buried in Carverton Cemetery, King- 
ston Twp., Luzerne Co., Penn. These early Montonyes were 
French Huguenots from Holland and took a prominent part in 
founding New Amsterdam. 

BROWN, NICHOLAS, was the son of Edward and Margaret 
(Durbin) Brown. He was born Oct. 17, 1765 in Frederick Co.^ 
Maryland. He was a soldier in the Rev. War, holding the rank 
of lietenant. He witnessed the surrender of Lord Cornwallis. 
He was an Episcopalian, holding offices in the church from 
early boyhood. He married Sarah Whitaker at Burgetstown, Pa. 
in 1792. They had ten children. The oldest, Bazzel, is 
buried in Salem Cemetery, near Jewett, 111. 

Nicholas' youngest son, Edward was born Sept. 29, 1811 
in Madison Co., Ky. and was married to Emmira Owings, a 
daughter of Nicholas and Margaret Owings on Nov. 22, 1835 
in Fairfield, Ohio. Emmira was born March 31, 1816 in 
Fairfield Co., Ohio. They came to Cumberland Co. in 1851 ans 
settled in Spring Point Twp. The one room Fairview School- 
house District No. 52 was built on land from their farm. He 
was a farmer and Veterinarian. He served as Justice of the 
Peace in the 1870 's. He was Republican in politics. 

Their children were: Owings W., born Jan. 11, 1837; 
Nicholas, born Aug. 28, 1839; and Emma Frances, born Aug. 5, 
1850, who died at the age of 8 years on Feb. 9, 1859. 
Margaret died in the home of her daughter-in-law, Mrs. Owings 
Brown, Dec. 28, 1889. They are buried in Brush Creek Cemetery 
in Spring Point Twp. 

Owings W., born in Fairfield, Ohio came to Cumberland Co. 
in 1851. He married Mary Elizabeth Rhodes June 12, 1857. 
Mary was born at Gosport, Ind., Aug. 25, 1841, the daughter 
of John and Surilda (Steel) Rhodes. Their children were: 
Emma Jane, born May 12, 1860 and died Sept. 14, 1861; H.Wilson 
born Jan. 8, 1862; Nannie Emmira, born Nov. 22, 1863; John 
Edward, born March 21, 1866 who died Oct. 21, 1867; Sherman, 
born Oct. 30, 1868; Clara Surilda, born April 11, 1873. Owings 

-265- 



served as tax assessor in Spring Point Twp. He died Sept. 
17, 1888 and Mary died Feb. 15, 1925. They are buried in 
Brush Creek Cemetery jOj^^-(!_/*' 

Wilson married ^.^v^xTou Bishop, daughter of William L. 
and Isabelle (Pearson) Bishop in 1889. Their . children are: 
Mae, born July 6, 1891, died Aug. 9, 1948 and^is buried at 
Brush Creek. Minnie Gladys, born Jan. 24, 1903; Grace, born 
JyFeh. 20, 1906; Charles Roy, born in 1908, died in 1915, and 
-y Carl, born Nov. 27, 1911. They moved to Champaign and 

passed away there. Mrs. Brown died Nov. 18, 1935 and Wilson 
died on March 20, 1942. They are buried at Brush Creek. 

Nannie Emmira, taught school in Spring Point Twp. She 
taught Lone Elm, Spring Point and Fairview. She married 
Jasper Lacy, Nov. 30, 1899. She died Jan, 1934 and she and 
her husband, who died July, 1935, are both buried at Long 
Point Cemetery, east of Neoga. 

Clara S., married Albert W. Speer, March 3, 1896. They 
have one son, Hobart, who is a retired mail carrier in 
Mattoon, 111. Clara died March 1, 1937 and Albert, May 16, 
^-1 1 - G r g ; They are buried at Dodge Grove Cemetery in Mattoon. 
Sherman married Carrie Gaskins, daughter of Samuel and 
Elmira (Hupp) Gaskins March 24, 1896. Their children are: 
Florence Mae, who has taught 43 years in Cumberland Co., 
namely Lookout, Aleshire, Buchanan, Bean, Morton, Spring 
Point and Lone Elm. She is now retired. She is a member 
of the Roslyn Methodist Church. She attended E.I.U.; 
Ethel Annie has taught for 41 years, 39 of them in Cumber- 
land Co. She attended Cumberland schools and E.I.U. She 
is a member of the Roslyn Church. Schools in Cumberland 
Co. taught in are Lookout, Aleshire, West Union, Buchanan, 
Spring Point, Bluebird, Fairview and is presently teaching 
at Pioneer; Chester Norman married Jennie Belle McGinnis, 
daughter of J. L. and Lydia (Tolch) McGinnis, Sept. 11, 
1941. Chester is a farmer and trucker. Jennie is librarian 
at the Neoga Elem. school. They are members of the Grace 
Methodist Church in Neoga; their children are Donald Sherman 
who graduated from Neoga High in 1961 and Northwestern Univ. 
in 1965 and received his Master's Degree in Business Admin, 
from Leland Stanford Univ. of Palo Alto, Calif, in 1967. He 
is presently with the Jewel Tea Co., with headquarters in 
Melrose Park, 111. He is a member of the Grace Methodist 
Church, Neoga; Kathleen Louise^ graduated from Neoga High 
and ig attending MacMurray College, and is a member of Grace 
Methodist Church, Neoga, 111.; Janice MarieB'^^-^^'-^^^^^-J'^'^ ^^.'^^'^^li^ 

Alice Elmira, daughter of Sherman and Carrie Brown, m^ 

married Walter Otto on Aug. 8, 1959. They are members of the^^^^ 

Jefferson Park Bible Church in Chicago, 111. '''^y*- 

Walter Vernon, son of Sherman and Carrie Brown, served as''''V<<(, 



''<&££t 



^V 



state Motor Vehicle License Investigator and is a member of 
the Roslyn Methodist Church. Sherman Brown passed away on 
March 18, 1934 and Carrie March 8^ 1963. They are buried 
at Brush Creek. 

Nicholas, son of Edward and Emmira Brown, born Aug. 28^ 
1839 married Gerzella Swinehart. Their children were: James, 
born April 29, 1868; William, born Feb. 18, 1870; George W., 
born Feb. 14, 1873; Nicholas Raymond, born Feb. 11, 1876 and 
a son Charles who died young. Nicholas died Jan. 2, 1877 and 
is buried in Brush Creek Cemetery. Gerzella moved to Terre 
Haute, Ind. and married a McBride. She died in 1890 and is 
buried near Terre Haute. James was a carpenter and plasterer, 
married Rose Whitton of Montrose. Their children are Oliver 
(deceased) and Lulu, Elmer, and Charles, all living in or 
near Terre Haute, Ind. James died in 1912 and is buried at 
Mullen Cem. near Montrose; William married Alice Warner. 
Their children are: Nathan G., born Sept. 16, 1899 and Ora 
A., born Sept. 10, 1900. Alice died in 1900 and William 
married Cardelia Mae Loftland. Their children were: George 
M., born July 25, 1905, Carrie Bell, born July 26, 1908, 
Raymond P., Nov. 7, 1912, John E., born March 28, 1916 and 
Helen Marea, Nov. 12, 1918. William died in 1950 and is 
buried in Brush Creek Cem. ; George W. married Adah M. 
Whitaker, daughter of Eli and Mary Whitaker on Sept. 4, 1901. 
Their children born in Cumberland Co. are: Denova of Rialto, 
Calif.; Gerzella Davis of Charleston; Ralph of Casey; George 
R. of Taylorville; and Virgil of Neoga. George W. died May 
23, 1942 and is buried in Brush Creek Cem, Adah is still 
living on the home farm and despite her 87 years is still 
active. She attends Church regularly at the Neoga Christian 
Church. The only child of this family residing in Cumberland 
Go. is Virgil who married Norma Jean Wolke, daughter of Paul 
and Regina (Moran) Wolke, Nov. 14, 1952. They attended Fair- 
view School. Their children are: Jerry Lee, born June 14, 
1954 and Janice Lynn, born Nov. 12, 1956 and Dennis Alan, 
born Nov. 7, 1964. 

Raymond Nicholas, son of Nicholas and Gerzella Swinehart 
Brown married Nina Mae Reynolds, daughter of Adam and Sarah 
Reynolds on March 15, 1905. He passed away May 16, 1966 at 
the age of 90. Nina is still living and at age 85 keeps her 
own home. She was born in Casey, 111., May 22, 1883. 

BROWN, VERNON, eldest son of Charles Nolton and Tabitha 
Marilla (Montonye) Brown, lived in Mattoon, 111. most of his 
life. He was a rural mail carrier out of the Postoffice 
there for almost 40 years; retiring in 1959. He married 
Marguerite Buchanan of near Neoga in 1915. Charles Nolton 
Brown was the eldest child of Addison Frank and Elvira 
(Goldman) Brown. He was born in 1867. She was a daughter 

-267- 



of Jackson and Milly (Barton) Goldman of Crawford Co., Ind. 
Addison Frank Brown enlisted in Co. H, 49th Inf., Indiana, 
and served from 1861 to 1864. He lost a thumb in the bloody 
battle of Vicksburg while serving under Gen. U.S.Grant. He 
came to Coles Co. in 1867 and settled near Trilla. He was 
the son of George and Sophia (Williams) Brown. Sophia was 
the granddaughter of Constant Williams of Williamstown, 
Mass., who served under Ethan Allen in the War of the Ameri- 
can Revolution. He married Treana Fuller, daughter of Lt. 
Asa Fuller and Mary Goodwin, Oct. 9, 1785. These Fullers 
were of Mayflower descent. He is buried in Cedar Hill Cem., 
Leavenswood, Ind., his grave has a government stone. His 
pension number was S 32594. 

Constant's father was Nehemiah Williams, who married 
Elizabeth Gallop. Nehemiah served in the Battle of 
Bennington from Williamstown. 

BUCHAN, LARRY L., born Sept. 30, 1932 in Baker Co., 
Oregon, son of Lloyd and Frieda (Armbruster) Buchan, marr- 
ied in Cumberland Co., 111. to Mary Ann Hartke who was born 
Feb. 22, 1933 in Shelby Co. on June 2, 1956. 

Lloyd Buchan was born June 23, 1905 in Pendleton, Ore., 
and Frieda arrived in Baker Co., Dec. 19, 1905. Mary's 
parents, Robert and Bertha (Swingler) Hartke, were born 
June 5, 1906 in Effingham Co., and March 3, 1908 in Shelby 
Co., respectively. They were married Feb. 23, 1927 in 
Shelby Co. Bertha died Nov. 10, 1967 and was buried in 
Sigel,Ill. 

Larry and Mary Ann had: (1) Michael, March 13, 1957; 
(2) Cynthia, Aug. 30, 1960, both in Los Angeles Co., Calif. 
This is a Catholic family. 

BUCHANAN, ALFRED WALLACE, was born 2 miles north of 
Neoga, Nov. 30, 1898, the 4th child and only son of Elmer 
J. and Sidney Kimery Buchanan. His military career began 
in 1916 when he served on the Mexican border with General 
Pershing and militia. When discharged, he joined the 
regular army as an artilleryman. 

In World War I he was in the first combat unit to reach 
the front. He remained on French soil until the close of 
the war and returned to the U. S. in 1919. He then enlisted 
in the Navy and was sent to the submarine base at New London, 
Conn. When his training was completed, he was assigned to 
the famous, but illfated S-4, and cruised the waters of the 
Caribbean, Pacific and the China Seas and while stationed in 
the Cavite Naval Base in Luzon, joined the local Masonic 
Lodge. In 1927, the S-4 returned to home base in New London 
and for the remainder of tnat year, Wallace and the S-4 
repeatedly took part in maneuvers off the New England coast. 

On Dec. 17, 1924, Wallace drew shore duty for the day, and 

-268- 



the submarine put to sea without him. This proved to be the 
S-4's last trip/ as the crew of 40 men perished in her last 
dive off Provincetown, Mass. 

After Dec. 7, 1941, Wallace enlisted in the Merchant 
Marine and was given the rank of Lt. Commander and served on 
an oil tanker in the Arabian Sea, transporting vital fuel 
from the wells of Asia Minor to Allied refineries. At the 
close of the war, he returned to Chicago and his wife, the 
former Emma Mulvanney, whom he married on Aug. 22, 1936. 

Wallace Buchanan died Jan. 31, 1956 at Hines Veterans' 
Hospital from the effects of a cerebral hemorrhage. The 
military service was in charge of the Elmwood Park V.F.W. 
and burial was in the Ridgewood Cem. His sisters are: Blanche 
(shores) , Marguerite (Brown) , Marie (Young) , Edith (Bingaman) , 
and Sylvia (Swinehart) . 

BUCKLEY, GEORGE born Feb. 21, 1856 married Mattie 
Pumphrey, born Nov. 23, 1860. They were married in 1879 on 
Oct. 3. In 1884 George and Mattie emigrated to Illinois 
from Greensburg, Ind. There were five covered wagons in 
this wagon train. They settled five miles west of Casey. 
George was a farmer and they lived on different farms in 
Cumberland Go. and surrounding counties. Eight of ten child- 
ren were born in Cumberland, Clark and Jasper counties. At 
one time they lived at Union Center. (1) Urbie, born Dec. 
12, 1880 married Elsie Reddick. He was a barber. He died 
June 3, 1958; (2) Nellie, born Feb. 11,1882 and died Jan. 20, 
1959. She was a school teacher (3) Jesse born Nov. 22, 1885, 
married Fay Kirby. He worked in a rice mill. He died March 
8, 1959; (4) Van, born April 11, 1887, married Nora Cutright 
and lives in Casey; (5) Delsa, born April 16, 1889 married F. 
L. King. She helped her husband in a mortuary. She died on 
March 13, 1962; (6) Fannie, born Jan. 14, 1891, married in 
1920 in Oklahoma; (7) Harry, born Oct. 24, 1892. He was a 
veteran of World War I. He died Oct. 4, 1921; (8) Clay, born 
Nov. 13, 1894, and died March' 26, 1911; (9) Beulah, born Oct. 
26, 1898 married Harley Bastian in Indiana in 1919; (10) 
Pearl, born Feb. 28, 1902 and died Aug. 17, 1932. 

Mr. Buckley died Nov., 1921 and Mrs. Buckley died Jan. 21, 
1936. 

BUCKLEY, VAN, a son of George and Mattie Pumphrey Buckley 
born April 11, 1887 near Casey. On Dec. 21, 1929 he married 
Nora Cutright, born Oct. 19, 1897, a daughter of Melvin and 
Addie Coleman Cutright of Union Twp. Van was a school teacher 
and is a veteran of World War I. For many years he was a 
rural mail carrier out of Casey. They have lived all their 
married life in Casey, except 6 or 7 years when they lived in 
Charleston while their daughters were in school there. They 
have tv'o daughters: Neva Fay, born Oct. 6, 1930. She received 

-269- 



her Master degree from E.I.U. and teaches music in grade 
school- At present, she teaches in Elgin, 111. Alta Mae, 
born Feb. 14, 1932 earned her A. B. degree at Charleston 
and her Master degree at New York University. She was an 
English teacher and at present is teaching physically 
handicapped children in the Charles Evans High School in 
Manhattan, New York. Alta married Roy Waldau Aug. 4, 1966 
in New York. They have a son, Alan, born April 13, 1967. 
Mr. Waldau is also a teacher. 

BURKYBILE, HOBART AND HARRY, twin sons of Mr. and Mrs. 
Ray Burkybile of Marshall, 111., were born Nov. 4, 1913 in 
Clark Co. Ray was born Nov. 4, 1884 at Murdock, 111. in 
Douglas Co. Lillian Walls was born Sept. 7, 1889 in Clark 
Co. Ray and Lillian were married Sept. 9, 1906. Hobart and 
Harry were two of the seven children born to Ray and Lillian 
Burkybile. Ray taught school 32 years and was Circuit Clerk 
in Clark Co. for 20 years. T hey live on a farm near Clark 
Center, 111. Harry and Hobart graduated from Marshall High 
School in 1932. They worked on the family farm and did 
some carpenter work. Hobart enlisted Jan. 6, 1942 in the 
U. S. Navy. Louise and Eloise Cole were born May 29, 1920 
in Decatur, 111. The father, Walter Harrison Cole was born 
April 22, 1889 in Richland Co., Parkersburg, 111. He was 
one of five children and his father, John, died when Walter 
was 15 years old. He farmed with his mother, Susan (Weber) 
on the home place near Parkersburg. Jennie Markman was born 
in Edwards Co. Jennie was one of 14 children born to a 
German couple, Henry C. and Catherine (Kurth) Markman. Walter 
and Jennie attended grade school when they could but there 
was work to be done on the farm by the children. 

Walter and Jennie were married July 12, 1919 and moved to 
Decatur, 111. to work for Staley Mfg. Co. The Cole family 
moved to the Oak Grove community near Parkersburg in 1921. 
They bought the home place and farmed this 80 acres and 
reared five children. Walter Cole died Jan. 21, 1961 and 
is buried at West Salem, 111. Eloise and Louise graduated 
from Oak Grove grade school and attended Parkersburg High 
School and graduated at Bone Gap High School in 1939. A 
brother, John H. also graduated the same year, making three 
of the same family graduates of the 7 seniors at Bone Gap 
High School. Eloise and Louise attended E.I.U. 2 years and 
one summer. They taught one room elementary grade schools 
for two years. 

Harry Burkybile and Louise Cole and Hobart Burkybile and 
Eloise Cole were married May 9, 1943 at Oak Grove E.U.B. 
Church. Hobart and Eloise moved to Wyandotte, Michigan 
where Hobart was close to Grosse Isle Naval Air Station to 
which he was assigned. Hobart was a 1st Class Carpenter in 

-270- 



the Navy. He worked in the carpenter shop and also worked on 
construction of navy buildings. Eloise worked for Pennsylvania 
Salt Co. in the laboratory testing cleaners. They took an 
active part in the Methodist Church in Wyandotte. Hobart was 
sent overseas in 1944 and Eloise went back to live with Harry 
and Louise Burkybile on a rented farm near Leander Wright's. 
Harry was very busy with farm work the 4 years Hobart served 
with the U. S. Navy. Carolyn was born June 22^ 1944 at the 
Wright place to Louise and Harry. On Feb. 7^ 1945 Lois was 
born to Eloise and Hobart. When Lois was four months old, 
Hobart came back to the States and had a ten day leave from 
Calif. Dale, son of Harry and Louise was born July 14, 1945. 
Hobart received his discharge from the Navy on Oct. 3, 1945. 
The Burkybile brothers began to look for a place to buy and 
move to. In Feb., 1946 they moved to the Woods farm in the 
northeast corner of Union Twp = , Cumberland Co. The cost of 
the land was $90.00 an acre. The farm consisted of 240 acres 
and all farmable. Herb Huisinga had owned it. There were 
large hedge fences all over the farm. A large two story 
house was a comfortable home where the two Burkybile families 
could live together. The business was started as Burkybile 
Bros, and having one bank account. Mud roads were bad and 
the country churches small. It was decided to join the 
Methodist Church in Casey where the Burkybile families have 
had many happy experiences through the years. 

It was a big day when R.E.A. was responsible for turning 
on lights and power. It was a big accomplishment to have 
hedge fence rows cleaned out and have gravel roads. Carl was 
born on April 12, 1947 to Hobart and Eloise. The family was 
growing and so was the need for more land. The Culp place 
was rented. Hobart and Eloise, Lois and Carl moved in 1951 
to the Culp place, one mile west. Lois and Carl attended 
Tadpole School. Carolyn and Dale attended No. 3 School. Then 
another big day came with school consolidation with buses 
taking the children to town. Max was born in 1951, son of 
Louise and Harry. Walter was born in 1952, son of Eloise and 
Hobart. Mary Ann was born in 1953, daughter of Louise and 
Harry. Earl was born in 1954 to Eloise and Hobart. 

We had the farm of 240 acres paid for and the families 
were growing. We decided to buy 80 more acres of land 
bordering the northwest 80 that we owned. This made 150 
acres on each side of the Union Center road and bordering the 
Clark-Cumberland road. A house was built by the Burkybiles 
in the corner of the 80 acres purchased for $325.00 an acre. 
Harry and Hobart had built a house for their folks, Mr. and 
Mrs. Ray Burkybile. The same plan with few exceptions and 
adjustments was used to build a house for the Hobart Burkybile 
family. The house has seven rooms, a bath, full basement and 

-271- 



a one car garage. As all the children were old enough to 
enter school/ activities increased and continued through 
school. Sports, music, P.T.A., F.F.A,, F.H.A. were some of 
the activities enjoyed by the Burkybile students. Carolyn 
and Dale graduated from the U. of I. in 1966 and 1967, 
respectively. Carolyn and Gerald Grieser were married July 

4, 1965. Gerald signed up in 1964 for 5 years service with 
the Naval Air Force after graduating from U. of I. He is a 
Lt. and has been a pilot instructor. Carolyn has been doing 
some substitute teaching. Dale was drafted in the Army July 

5, 1967 and will serve 2 years. Lois attended U. of I . for 
one semester. Lois married Robert Thibert Feb. 22, 1964. 
They both worked in Champaign for awhile and then moved to 
Peru, 111. They both worked there. Then they moved to 
Palatine, 111. Bob works with the sale of electric compo- 
nents. Lois attended Jr. College and is now a secretary. 
She likes her job and has proven to be very efficient. 

Carl is a junior at U. of I . He would like to get his 
Master Degree but will probably be in the service after his 
senior year. Earl, Walter and Max are all following the 
AG Major through high school and plan to go to college. We 
hope that Max, Walter, Mary Ann, and Earl will earn the 
4-H Key Club award as did Carolyn, Lois, Dale and Carl. 
Black Angus cattle are the pride and joy of the boys. It 
has taken lots of time, work and play, but we feel it helps 
prepare young people for life in our day. 

Harry and Hobart work at extra carpenter jobs besides 
the work on our 320 acres and the 200 acres rented farm in 
Clark Co. New and bigger machinery has been purchased and 
yields have increased on the farm„ The house that Harry and 
Louise lived in was over 100 years old, so plans were made 
for a new house. They moved into the new 9 room stone home 
with lots of cabinets and storage and a double car garage. 
Louise, Harry, and Hobart worked long hours on the house. 
Eloise helps as she can, since her walking is impaired from 
Multiple Sclerosis. The boys all helped before they started 
to school last fall. We all work to help each other. We are 
all adding to our list of twin friends and international 
friends. All enjoy guests and correspondence. Harry and 
Louise, Hobart and Eloise and all the children look forward 
to greeting their friends, relatives and neighbors. May 12, 
at open house in Harry and Louise's new home. 

BURNS, LACEY DEWEY, born April 30, 1895 at Wind Ridge, 
Pa., son of Oliver and Evans and Barbara Anna (Loar) Burns, 
married Elizabeth Mae Schiver Oct. 17, 1927 in Oregon, 111. 
Olive, born Sept. 11, 1846 at Burnsville, Pa., married March 
22, 1882 in Green Co., Pa. and died Aug. 26, 1913. His wife, 
Barbara was born Oct. 15, 1852 inGreen Co., Pa. and died 

-272- 



Sept. 9, 1909. Both were Presbyterians and buried at Fair- 
view Cem. in Wind Ridge. 

Elizabeth, daughter of Andrew and Sarah Catherine (Kauble) 
Schiver^ was born Aug. 22, 1898 at Vevay Park, 111. Andrew 
was born July 22, 1859 at Patr icksburg, Ind., married Sarah at 
Patricksburg March 5, 1883, and died June 4, 1904 and was 
buried at Casey, 111. Sarah was born March 5, 1852 and died 
and was buried at Casey. They were affiliated with the U. B. 
Church of Casey. No children were born to Lacey and Elizabeth. 

Christopher and Mary Groaner Scheuber, the name later being 
changed to Schiver, lived in Patricksburg, Ind. They had 3 
sons, Andrew, John, and David, and a daughter Elizabeth. 
Andrew, his wife, Sarah Catherine Kauble Schiver and their 
two children, Edna, three years old, and Grover, age one, 
came to Cumberland Co., 1888. They lived in a two story house 
at the county line west of Casey. A year later the house 
burned to the ground and they lost everything they owned. 
They then bought a farm south of the Vevay Park school and 
church. Here years later, Elizabeth Mae was born. Mr. 
Schiver in the ensuing years purchased more land, owning 
4 farms in all. He also owned rental houses in Casey. 

Through her maternal grandmother, who was a sister to 
Eli Bower (see Bower genealogy) Elizabeth traces her 
ancestry back for XIV generations to Adrion De Jongh in the 
year of 1500. That name, Adrion De Jongh was carried for 
five generations. There are three generations following 
Elizabeth's. Her sister Edna's descendents, making XVII 
generations. Elizabeth and her husband L. D. Burns own 
three farms in Cumberland Co., 111. 

BURSON, JOSEPH and his wife Catherine (Stigler) moved 
from Gurnsey Co., Ohio (Salesville, Ohio near Cambridge) to 
Cumberland Co., 111. in 1853. They settled north of Vevay 
Park, 111. near the Long Point Church. They were the 
parents of 13 children. One daughter, Amanda was married to 
Jesse Bond Oct. 25, 1855. Jesse was born in Green Co., Pa. 
in Aug., 1834. He came to Cumberland Co. in 1853. Jesse and 
Amanda Bond settled south and west of Vevay Park. Amanda was 
a charter member of the Macadonia Baptist Church. Jesse was 
converted and became a member of the same church in 1885. 
They were the parents of 5 children: Jehue Madison, born Nov. 
24, 1858; Laura May, born June 12, 1871; Maggie born Nov. 17, 
1873; Essa born July 19, 1880, and Jessie Catherine, born 
Dec. 14, 1883. 

Jessie Catherine married William Arthur Daughhetee on 
Sept. 25, 1907. They "set up housekeeping" in Clark Co., the 
first house south of Oak Leaf Railroad Crossing. They were 
the parents of two children, Frieda and Dean. In 1917 they 
moved to Cumberland, west of Vevay Park to the "Parker Farms" 

-273- 



the first house north of "Liberty Camp", where they resided 
until after the death of Jesse Bond in 1921, then they moved 
to the Bond farm to be with Amanda Bond and care for until 
her death in 1928. Jesse Bond and Arthur Daughhetee were 
farmers, farming the land as long as health permitted. Arthur 
died suddenly in May, 1945. Jessie, his wife, remained on 
the farm until 1950 when she went to the home of her daughter 
Frieda. Frieda Daughhetee was married to James Harold Johns 
of Charleston, in 1928 and they resided in Cumberland Co. 
until 1960 when they moved to Clark Co., Casey, 111. 

Dean Daughhetee has lived outside Cumberland Co. most of 
his adult life. The old house on the Bond farm was torn down 
in 1967. Dean and Frieda still own the land. 

BURTON, CARL, son of Henry and Sarah Hawley Burton, was 
born Jan. 4, 1886 in Brown Co., Ind. He married (1) Dorothy 
Miller, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Gordon Miller of Toledo, 
on April 18, 1914 at Effingham, 111. In Dec, 1942, he 
married Verna Harris. 

Carl had two daughters, Sarah Florence, born Feb. 12, 
1915 in Spring Point Twp., Cumberland Co., who married Vernon 
Keller. Lois Gertrude was born Aug. 7, 1916 in the same 
locality. She married Jack Hoyt. 

BURTON, HARRY DONALD, son of Estal and Edna (Young) Burton 
was born on Nov. 10, 1929 in Shelby Co., 111. and was married 
at Kemp, Douglas Co., 111. to Roberta Hope Hiatt, daughter of 
Garland Bliss and Elizabeth Chloe ( Reynolds) Hiatt onJune 
29, 1957. Estel, born Dec. 26, 1891 in Cumberland Co., was 
married to Edna Young, born July 24, 1904, on April 2, 1924 
at Neoga, 111. Garland Hiatt, born in Shelby Co., Ill, 
married Elizabeth Reynolds on June 9th at Charleston. All 
are living in 1968. Dixie Lynne Burton was born to Donald and 
Roberta on Feb. 9, 1958 at the Effingham hospital. 

BURTON, LESTER E., was born July 28, 1916 in Shelby Co. 
On Dec. 28, 1940 he married Jaunita Noles at St. Charles, Mo. 
Jaunita was born on Aug. 16, 1922 at Mattoon and is affiliated 
with the Christian Church. 

Lester's father, Thurl Burton was born Jan. 10, 1889 in 
Brown Co., Ind. He married Dec. 25, 1913 in Cumberland Co. to 
Nellie Prince. Jaunita' s father was Henry N. Noles, born 
Sept. 27, at Crystal, Ind. On Nov. 5, 1916, he married 
Frances Anderson, at Paris, 111. Frances was born May 4, 
1899 at Ingraham, 111. She is affiliated with the Baptist 
Church. Lester and Juanita Burton had the following children: 
Dorothy Ann, born April 4, 1941 at Neoga. She died Feb. 20, 
1966. Lester Raymond, born Dec. 5, 1942 at Mattoon. Robert 
Eugene, born Oct. 2, 1943 at Mattoon. He married Joan Cooper 
on June 21, 1965 at Neoga Christian Church. Thomas Michael, 
born March 10, 1945 at Mattoon. James David, born Aug. 25, 

-274- 



1949 at Mattoon. Ronnie Dean, born Sept. 10, 1952 at 
Mattoon, and Doris Jean, born Aug. 18, 1953 at Mattoon. 

BUSHUR, HENRY JOSEPH came to Cumberland Co., 111.^ 
where he was employed by Adam Sehi (borri 1857, died 1925) 
to assist on his farm. Born near Sigel, 111. in 1882, 
Henry was a son of Joseph (born 1853, died 1931) and 
Louisa (Mehl) Bushur (born 1857, died 1931), being one of 
the oldest of 15 children. At the age of 16, Henry came to 
the Sehi farm, located in Spring Point Twp., a short dis- 
tance south and west of Roslyn. About this time Henry's 
brother, Frank Bushur (born 1880, died 1958) came to the 
same neighborhood where he worked for Peter Sehi, Adam's 
brother. The Sehis were good farmers and Henry made his 
home with them for 13 years. During this time he became 
acquainted with the Flood family, who resided near Woodbury. 
Alice McElhiney Sehi (born 1862, died 1952), Adam's wife, 
was a daughter of Charles McElhiney, who had come from 
Ireland with the Floods about 1852, so the families had 
been friends for many years. In 1911, after a long horse 
and buggy courtship, Henry Bushur was married to Evelyn 
Flood (born 1884) , the youngest daughter of Michael (born 
1829, died 1908) and Mary (Kelly) Flood (born 1843, died 
1912) . The wedding took place at St. Rose Catholic Church 
in Montrose, where they were both members and where the 
family still attends. After their marriage the Bushurs 
moved to a farm south of Roslyn, which they purchased from 
Adam Sehi. Three children were born, two daughters, Thelma 
Rose and Marjorie Kathleen, and one son, Loys Raymond. The 
children attended Blue Bird Schooli, south of Roslyn. Late 
on a cold evening in Dec, 1927, flam.es were seen shooting 
from the school house and in spite of the neighbors attempts 
to save it, the school was soon a pile of ashes. A few books 
were saved and the students finished the term in the old 
Kingery house, a short distance south of the school. There 
they had a merry time as they skated on the nearby pond, 
sometimes breaking through the ice, or explored the "treasures' 
stored in the attic of the old house. After acquiring all 
the knowledge they could at Blue Bird, Thelma and Loys 
attended Montrose High School for three years and Loys 
attended Teutopolis High School for his senior year, gradu- 
ating in 1932. 

Loys joined the Civilian Conservation Corps in 1936 and 
was stationed at Wisconsin for a year and a half. In 1941 he 
entered the U, S. Army where he participated in the European 
Theatre of operations. After his discharge from the army in 
1945, Loys went to Cincinnati, Ohio where he still resides. 

In 1944, since his son was in the service, Henry Bushur 
was forced to quit farming. The farm was sold to William 

-275- 



Lanus and the Bushur family moved to Montrose^ where Mr. 
Bushur was employed as mail messenger for the post office 
and also served on the town board until his death in 1956. 
He is buried in the Catholic Cem. in Montrose and Mrs. 
Bushur, Thelma and Marjorie continued to reside in Montrose 
after his death. 

BUSHUR, KERMIT A.^ was born March 3, 1924 at Neoga, the 
son of William J. and Catherine E. (Hartman) Bushur, formerly 
of Tuscola, 111. They are affiliated with the Catholic 
Church. W. J. Bushur is deceased and buried at Sigel, 111. 

Kermit married Betty Lou Freeland, who was born Oct. 2, 
1922 at Farmington, W. Va. Her father, Charles E. Freeland 
of Fairmont, W.Va., is a Baptist. Her mother, Sarah Ann 
Powell of Jacksonville, 111. is an Episcopalian. 

Children of Kermit and Betty Lou are: Karen Sue, born 
Jan. 13, 1947 at Akron, Ohio; Kermit Wayne, born Dec. 1, 
1947 at Mattoon; Kenneth Blaine, born June 4, 1950 at Mattoon; 
Kevin Duane, born May 10, 1954 at Mattoon; Kim Lee, born on 
Sept. 28, 1956 at Mattoon; and Keith James, born Sept. 24, 
1957 at Mattoon, 111. 

BUTLER, AMOS WEEDON, was born April 22, 1871, a son of 
Sylvester (1840-1905) and Sidney Titus (1848-1877) Butler, 
in Cumberland Co., 111. On March 3, 1897 he married Bertha 
Evalena Starbuck, daughter of Charles Wesley and Hester 
Hubbart Starbuck. They had seven children: Iva Ann, born 
in 1898 in Cumberland Co. and married Arthur H. Harris; 
Golda Odessa, born in 1901 and married Clifford Eldon 
Carrell; Charles S. born in 1903, married Helen M. Fox, and 
died in 1967; Violet E., born in 1906, and married Fred R. 
McCandlish; Bertha E-, born in 1908, married William M. 
Eggers; all born in Jefferson Co., Ill; Amos Levi, born in 
1910, and died in 1937; infant son, born and died Feb., 1914 
in Lewisville, Arkansas. 

The older generations of Butlers were farmers and in 1900 
with his wife and eldest daughter, Amos moved to Jefferson 
Co. In the winter of 1910, they sold out and went briefly 
to Monroe Co., Ind., then to Lewisville, in southwest Arkansas, 
There they had two small farms, one a gravely piece, the other 
about 5 miles south of Lewisville, on Bodcaw Lake. The main 
crops were cotton and corn, with smaller acreages of peanuts 
and sweet potatoes. Amos had a boat made, 18 feet long and 
6 feet wide, and the children spent many happy hours in it 
on the lake, just floating and fishing. But that is not to 
say that they did not spend many more hours chopping cotton 
and hoeing corn. Amos had trouble with his eyes and later 
contracted tuberculosis, and in 1918 the family moved back to 
Cumberland Co., 111. where the older son helped his uncle 
with the farming. Amos W., B. Evalena, Charles S. and Amos L. 

-276- 



are buried in Friends Grove Cem.^ three and one half miles 
northeast of Toledo, 111. Grandchildren of Amos and Evalena 
are: Kenneth B. Carrell, Armilla Carrell Decker, Dorothy 
McCandlish Outright, Carolyn McCandlish Auger, Bruce William 
McCandlish, Donna McCandlish Barnes, Robert Eugene Eggers, 
Norma Eggers Kirkley, Beverly Eggers Burnes, Roy S. Eggers, 
Evelyn Eggers Howard, Jack B. Eggers, in service in Germany 
and Sharon Eggers Green. 

The Butlers were affiliated with the Methodist Church, 
except for Charles S., who went to Detroit in early manhood 
and joined the Woodward Ave. Baptist Church, where he worked 
faithfully for over thirty years. 

BUTLER, LEVI (1815-1861) came to Illinois from Ashland 
or Putnam Co., Ohio, soon after 1855. His wife was Julia 
Ann (Wright) Butler, born in 1812, and died Aug. 21, 1877. 
They are both buried in Tippett Cem. As far as is known, 
they settled on land about seven miles northwest of Greenup, 
111., north of the present Cottonwood Church. He built a 
two room house and it is still being used, after having been 
added to and remodeled several times. In 1861, Levi fell 
into a well and drowned, leaving his widow, Julia Ann, to 
take care of the farm land and family of six sons and one 
daughter. The children were: Sylvester, 1840-1905; Philetus, 
1843-1912; Elias, 1845-1878; Elizabeth (Goin) 1847-1933; 
James, 1851-1934; David, 1849-1921; Levi, born about 1855. 
Sylvester, Philetus and Elias served in the Civil War. 
Sylvester enlisted at Charleston, 111. , under Captain Wm. 
Seaman, in Co. K, 63rd Reg. of 111. Inf. Volunteers, and 
was dischared at Goldsboro, No. Carolina. 

Surviving grandchildren of Sylvester Butler are: Iva 
(Butler) Harris, Bradenton, Fla. ; Golda (Butler) Carrell, 
Mattoon; Violet (Butler) McCandlish and Bertha (Butler) 
Eggers of Toledo, 111; Grace (Stockinger) Nicholson, Swifton, 
Ark.; Everett Stockinger; Ira Stockinger of Greenwood, Ind.; 
Leah Gentry, Springfield, 111.; Alice Dillin, Searcy, Ark.; 
Elizabeth Robyns ; and Bert Butler. Mrs. Gladys (Hickle) 
Stewart of Greenup, 111. is a granddaughter of Elias and 
Candacy Butler; Enock and Erskin E. of Charleston, 111. are 
sons of David Butler, and Ellen (Bennett) Butler. 

BUTTON, ROBERT HOWARD, born May 15, 1883 in Cumberland 
Co. was a son of Robert Newton and Emilie Irene Johnson 
Button. Emilie Irene was born in London, England, and came 
to this country at the age of 12. They first lived in Chicago 
and had the experience of surviving the "Chicago Fire". A 
granddaughter has a little rocking chair which went through 
this fire. Robert Newton's parents also came from England. 
On Nov. 17, 1904 Robert Howard Button narried Rose Violet 
Hosier, born Jan. 3, 1885, a daughter of George W. and Martha 

-277- 



Jane Baumgartner Hosier. The Baumgartners came from Shelby 
Go./ Ind. and settled near Hazel Dell where he owned a store 
and many other pieces of property. A school west and south 
of Hazel Dell bore this name. Later Mr. Baumgartner bought 
several properties in Greenup, one being the part called 
Ewart Addition, extending from the Glenn Property eastward 
to Lee Winnett's property and southward, including the big 
brick house of Greeson's. When he owned this it was called 
Baumgartner ' s Grove. The Hosier's also lived near Hazel Dell 
and Rose's grandfather came with a team to Greenup^ looking 
for a farm to buy. He drove two days and nights and the only 
farm he could ind was a place east of Greenup on Route #40, 
then the old National Road. Robert and Rose Button lived on 
this farm many years and were living there at the time of 
their deaths. A grandson and his family now live there. 
Robert was known in Greenup and vicinity as an outstanding 
plasterer and mason. He did some farming after he was unable 
to plaster. Rose took great pride in her lawn and flowers 
and three times won the Lewis L. Emerson "Farm Floral Con- 
test along Route 40"; twice she won first and once she won 
second, each time receiving a bronze plaque in addition to 
a monetary prize. Rose died June 24, 1955 and Robert, Aug. 
1, 1963. They are buried in the Greenup Gem. They raised 
a family of six children: Ila Naomi, born June 25,1905, 
married Byron Emrich, Sept. 4, 1932. They live in Union 
Twp., near Casey. They have two children: Sue and Richard; 
Martha Louise, born April 15, 1908 married William Drum and 
lives in Greenup; Charles Howard, born Nov., 1910, married 
Martha Louise Stevens. They live in Greenup; Charlotte 
Roberta, born Dec. 3, 1912, married John William Roberts. 
They live in Greenup and have one son; Doris Rose born in 
1923 married Charles Ulrey; Phyllis Jean, born in 1925, 
married Walter Gabel; and Evelyn Ramona Callahan in 1929 
married Dean Callahan. They live in Marshall, 111. 

-C- 

CADLE, GEORGE, my great grandfather was born in the city 
of Oxford in Oxfordshire, England in 1808. He, with his 
wife, emigrated from Liverpool, England, landed in New York 
City, July 22, 1853. Two years later, 1855, their daughter 
and her husband, Emma and Thomas Edwards, and family came to 
America in a sailing vessel, taking them six weeks to cross 
the Atlantic Ocean. Several years later, great grandfather, 
George Cadle, a Free Methodist minister, died in the pulpit 

just after announcing his text from Luke 18:25 "Who Then 

Can Be Saved?" 

On Nov. 23, 1857, my mother, Annie Elizabeth, was born. 

-278- 



On Nov. b, 1880/ she was married to John Robert Ward at 
Armstrong, 111. They are the parents of nine children, 
two died in infancy. Nora Dunning died Feb. 15, 1933 and 
Maudie Glenn died Sept. 29, 1967. Remaining of their 
immediate family are: May Matthews and Myrtie Matthews 
of Urbana, 111. Faye Kellogg of Tuscola, 111., Delia 
Hanners and Neva Snearly of Greenup, 111. 

In 1882 they with 13 families formed a colony and 
homesteaded in Beadle Co., South Dakota. There they had 
many experiences of the early settlers, such as blizzards, 
driving across the frozen James river, living in a sod 
shanty until they could build their home, taking their 
turn in using their home for church services until a church 
house was erected. When three children of one of the 
families froze to death in a blizzard coming home from 
school, they and their three children started back to 111. 
in a covered wagon. Enroute they lived in Bloomfield, 
Iowa for 4 years; later making their home near Greenup. 

CAMPBELL, ALEXANDER, born 1788, died 1866, principal 
founder of the Disciples of Christ Denomination. He was 
born in County Antrim, Ireland, attended Glasgow Univ. 
for a year and then came to America to join his father, 
Thomas Campbell, who had emigrated to Washington, Pa. , two 
years earlier (1807) . Both men belonged to the Antiburgher 
Presbyterians who were opposed to the rigid discipline of 
the main church. In America they found themselves at 
variance with Communion participation, the earlier Campbell 
inviting all Presbyterians, the older Campbell insisted on 
serving only the members of the Church. 

Although the synod upheld his action, which could have 
been condemned by the Presbytery. So, much antagonism 
continued that the Christians' Assoc., Washington, from which 
Alexander Campbell received a license to preach in 1811. 
In 1840 Campbell founded Bethany College at Bethany, West Va . , 
serving as its first president until his death, but also as a 
powerful speaker and brilliant debater, who traveled widely 
and greatly influenced large audiences. He was an able and 
prolific writer, winning many adherents to the new sect 
through his publication. His most outstanding work was the 
Christian system (1839) . He also prepared a work, trans- 
lation of the Bible and wrote Memoirs of Elder Thomas Camp- 
bell (1861) . W.G.D. 

Alex was married and had at least one son, Mark Campbell. 
The Campbellite or Christian Church was built in Johnstown, 
111. Jackson Campbell compiled by writer with the aid of 
Tilda Campbell Davis and Alice Shriver of Mattoon, Illinois. 
Mark Campbell, born Oct. 18, 1799, died July 24, 1868. It is 
believed he married Esther who died Oct. 12, 1856. 

-27Q_ 



Known children are: John Jackson, born Oct. 3^ 1824, died 
Feb. 29, 1861; Frances, twin sister of Jackson, born 1824, 
married Henry Wilson, died Jan. 9, 1849; Mark W. , born Aug. 

30, 1827, died June 6, 1868. Married Lucinda , 

born 1829, died July 22, 1857. Two infants, one dead same 
day, secon^d, Sarah Francis, born Oct. 12, 1857, died at age 
6 months. 

Frances Marie Campbell, born Sept. 24, 1826, died Feb. 
2, 1921. Her death record on file in Toledo, 111. states 
that David Beals, then living in Toledo, filed the follow- 
ing information: Frances M. Campbell Williams, born Sept. 
24, 1826 in Ohio, a daughter of John and (Beals) 

Campbell. Both parents also born in Ohio. Burial place 
Folger Cem. , northeast Trilla, 111., however no one remem- 
bers the relationship between her and the early David Beals 
family who emigrated to this country. She lived always 
with the Campbell family and is possible her parents were 
dead and her grandparents may have reared her. In her late 
years she became blind and lived with Catherine (Beals) 
Landrus in Trilla, 111. and Oliver Beals looked after her 
financial affairs. Late in life. Aunt F anny, as she was 
called, married Henry Williams, Black Hawk Soldier, and 
became his second wife. They had no children. Fanny is 
remembered as a spinster with a great love of walking and 
she did walk to visit with friends and neighbors for miles 
around. Tilda (Campbell) Davis of Trilla, 111. informs me 
she understood from relatives, her grandfather. Rev. John 
A. Campbell may have been a cousin or nephew of Fanny, 
though he is not sure, but dates of their birth indicate 
cousinship. Rev. John Jackson Campbell came into the John- 
stown community possibly with his parents and others of the 
family. And there were several Campbells mentioned in early 
Coles-Cumberland history. They settled on a farm two miles 
west of Johnstown on the tracts owned at present by Clarence 
Starwalt. Rev. Campbell organized the Johnstown Church 
called Christian, or the "Old Union" as several faiths used 
this pioneer church and it was the universal gathering point 
with the 2nd 111. Inf. during the Civil War. Died July 21, 
1865. Children were: Barbara; Matilda, born Feb. 29, 1852, 
died May, 1926; Mary Jane, born March 13, 1854, died June 
29, 1941; Sarah Ann; Jessie married Ludolph August Cordes, 
born in Finebrug, Germany, a town near Hamburg, on May 12, 
1852, a son of Charles and Henrietta Josephine Cordes and 
came to America with his parents about 1866, at the age of 
four years. He died in Neoga, 111. on Feb. 25, 1957. The 
family first settled in Marion Co., 111., near Odin. In 
about 1867 they moved to the young growing town of Mattoon 
and settled in what is now the 2700 block of Marshall Av . , 

-280- 



and Mr. Gordes went into the restaurant business. Dodge 
Grove Cemetery was the place, but nothing much between 
there and the Cordes home as the family cannot remember 
over half a dozen houses that were built west of the ICRR 
at that time. 

Nellie Cordes married Frank Beals, no children, were 
divorced; Charles Cordes married Hazel Reed of Trilla, 
they lived north of Trilla, 111., three children; Leota 
Cordes married Glen Soliday of north of Toledo, they have 
children; Mark Cordes married Pauline Phelps of Neoga. 
They reside in Neoga; children: Thelma, Betty, Don and 
Evelyn . 

Leo Cordes married Mellia Zimmers of Neoga. They have 
children. David Andrews, born 1848 was a veteran of the 
Civil War, Co. C. 54th 111. Vol. The family living one 
mile south of Johnstown when David and two companions were 
walking to Johnstown to cast their vote in an election. 
David suffered a stroke and fell lifeless in the road. 
Charles and Matilda Michaels had one daughter. 

Zora Michaels Hardwick, born March 20, 1894; Lucy 
Chaney died 1930 at St. Louis, Mo. 

Charles Michaels, son of David A. and Matilda Campbell 
Michaels married Minnie Landrus, daughter of Zeke and 
Harriet (Hall) Landrus. Minnie had two babies dead by 
1904. Charles Michaels was married a second time to Ida 
Plummer who also perished in childbirth. His third wife 
was Edna Spear, niece to Ida (Plummer) Michaels. Charles 
died about 1953 and is buried in the Dodge Grove Cemetery, 
Mattoon. Fred Michaels married May Harrington, daughter of 
James and Lizzie (Richardson) Harrington of Johnstown. One 
son. Glen Michaels, was born. Zora Michaels married Tom 
Hardwick and lives southwest of the Ryan Bridges, east of 
Hickory Corner. Tom is a carpenter and farmer in Cottonwood 
Twp. , Cumberland Co. Children: Harold Hardwick, born Dec. 
25, 1913, married Genevieve Clark of near Hickory Corner. 
Harold lives in Mattoon and is employed by the Texas Oil Co. 
They have one son, Steve, born March 25, 1941. 

Nellie Hardwick, born Feb. 5, 1915 married Earl Howard. 
Earl is a farmer and lives near Hickory Corner. One son, 
John Howard, born Sept. 1, 1939; Jessie Hardwick, born Jan. 
9, 1926; Edna Hardwick, born Nov. 14, 1929 married John 
Freeman of Louisville, 111., where they live. John is a 
farmer, two sons, Keith Freeman, born Feb. 6, 1951 and 
Thomas Freeman, born Feb. 14, 1952; Alma Lee Hardwick, born 
July 24, 1939. Cammie Idora Michaels, born 1887, died March 
31, 1955, married Ray McDuffie, they lived in Mattoon. 
Cammie' s unexpected death in Oct., 1956 was a great shock to 
everyone. Buried in Beals Cemetery. Children: Homer, 

-281- 



married Virginia Highland from Lerna^ their children: Leroy, 
Farrell^ Cutright^ Carol, Bryan; Catherine McDuffie married 
Lawrence Hash from Lerna^ their children: Mrs. Carl Galey 
and Mrs. Ernie Watkins; Marry McDuffie married Rullel Ellis 
of Mattoon^ their children: Lila Elliot, Sharon Elliot, 
Latella Hash, Charles Hash; Joe McDuffie married Betty 
French of Mattoon, no children; Sally McDuffie married Rex 
Williams of Mattoon, one child, Sharon Williams; Clark 
McDuffie married Patricia Roderick of Mattoon, children: 
Rebecca, Clark Jr.; Nellie McDuffie, single; Nellie Michaels 
married Arley Wilbur, born March 21, 1885, died Nov. 9, 
1945, Harold Wilbur, born Nov. 19, 1908, died Aug. 6, 1954. 

CAMPBELL, CECIL, born Nov. 10, 1915 at Areola, 111., 
son of James Roy and Florence Pearl (Harker) Campbell of 
Wayne Co., 111. married Mildred Maxine Floyd of Greenup, 
111., Sept. 14, 1935, at Mattoon, 111. 

James was born April 17, 1896 and married Florence, 
June 23, 1915 at Areola, 111. Florence was born March 25, 
1898 in Wayne Co., 111. 

Mildred Maxine, born Feb. 1, 1916 near Greenup, 111., 
was a daughter of Silas Sylvester and Mary Ellen Floyd. 
Silas was born Jan. 31, 1877 and died Jan. 25, 1940. Mary 
was born Oct. 18, 1885, and died Jan. 25, 1940. No Children. 

CAMPBELL, JOHN D. was born in Georgia on June 15, 1838; 
the son of a prosperous grist mill operator. He was marr- 
ied Sept. 19, 1860 to Elizabeth Ferguson, who was also born 
in Georgia, on Aug. 15, 1840. Both John and Elizabeth's 
parents were born in the S outh. John Campbell enlisted in 
Co. L, 1st Georgia Regulars on March 7, 1861 and fought in 
the Confederate Army during the Civil War. The Campbells 
left the south and came north into 111. after a brief stop 
in Tenn. They bought a small farm located in the northeast 
quarter of secion 29 of what was then Twp. No. 10, Cumber- 
land Co. They were blessed with ten children, Francis, 
March 9, 1862 in Georgia; Jane, May 1864 in 111.; John W., 
July, 1866 in Tenn.; Nancy, 1867; Mary, 1870; Carolyn, 1874; 
Addorah, 1876; Emma, 1878; Pinkney, 1879 and Elmer, 1886. 
The last seven were born in 111. 

Francis as a young man was boarded as a laborer on a 
nearby farm belonging to Eb and Lydia Steward. As a boy, 
Francis played with the other children in the original 
Lincoln Lob Cabin, just a few miles across the county line. 
He had four children -- Walter, Helen, Clarence and the only 
surviving son, Wilfred, who is living in Buffalo, N.Y., as 
of this writing. John W. was a carpenter who spent most of 
his life at Mattoon. His only surviving daughter is Cora 
Lockhart in Cowden, 111. There were children by others in 
the family, but the only one still living in Greenup is Maye 

-282- 



Carrell, wife of ex-postmaster, Rusus Carrell. Maye is the 
daughter of Nancy Campbell (Cutright) . 

Elmer N. Campbell went to Lemmon, So. Dak. as a home- 
steader near the turn of the century. He lived in a sod hut, 
married and raised a large family. Most of the original 
family of John D. and Elizabeth, including them, are buried 
in Harmony Church cemetery near Greenup. The write, Wilfred 
H. Campbell, married Lucille Contino, Feb. 9, 1963 and they 
now have three children, Lauren Marie, born March 19, 1965; 
Ian Ashford, born May 24, 1966 and Derrick Ferguson born Oct. 
27, 1967. This family is planning to visit relatives and 
attend the Greenup Fair this summer of 1968. 

CAMERON, WILBUR, was born April 3, 1925, the son of 
Edward and Nora (Quicksal) C ameron. Nora Quicksal was born 
Aug. 22, 1884 and died in January, 1957. She is buried at 
Neoga. No data furnished for her husband, Edward. 

Wilbur married Doris Jean Drennen on July 27, 1946. She 
was born the 28th of Aug., 1929, the daughter of Elda C^orn 
Nov. 5, 1896) and Leona Drennen (born Nov. 22, 1895) . They 
were married Sept. 18, 1918. Wilbur and Doris have five 
children: Deane, born Dec. 24, 1947 who married Roger 
McClain on July 31, 1965; Mary, born April 30, 1949; David 
born Feb. 17, 1952; Gary, born Oct. 14, 1955 and Scottie, 
born July 10, 1963. 

CAPPS, RAYMOND SOLIDAY, born Jan. 15, 1894 and Lelia 
Margaret Buchanan, born June 9, 1892 were married in Neoga 
on Feb. 25, 1919. He was the eldest son of Grant and lone 
Dell Soliday Capps and was engaged in farming until the 
time of his death at 37 years of age. Mr. Capps was a mem- 
ber of the Neoga Presbyterian Church and is buried in the 
Neoga Cem. Mrs. Capps is the eldest daughter of Frederick 
Nathaniel and Lucy Lorena (Hunter) Buchanan. She graduated 
from Neoga Twp. High School and is an active member of the 
Neoga Presby. Church and the American Legion Aux. She is a 
Gold Star Mother. Mrs. Capps resides in Neoga. 

Mr. and Mrs. Capps were the parents of three sons: Grant 
Buchanan was born Dec. 9, 1919 at Noega. He is a graduate 
of Neoga Twp. High School. He enlisted in the Army Air 
Corps in World War II and gave his life for his country. He 
served as a technician in the Phillipines under General 
McArthur. On June 29, 1942, he passed away in a Japanese 
prison camp at Luzon, suffering from dysentery and malnu- 
trition. His decorations included the Phillipine Republic 
Presidential Unit Citation Emblem, the Phillipine Defense 
Ribbons with Bronze Service Star , the Distinguished Unit 
Emblem with two oak leaf clusters, the Good Conduct medal. 
Foreign Service Medal, Asiatic-Pacific Campaign medals. 
World War II Victory Medal and a citation of honor from the 
Commanding General of the Army Air Force, H. H. Arnold. His 

-283- 



remains were returned to the U.S.A. and were buried in the 
National Cem. at Jefferson Barracks^ Mo., May 20/ 1952. 

The second son, Robert Henry Capps, was born Sept. 3^ 
1922. He married Anna Irene Price on Oct. 15, 1941. Robert 
is a veteran of the Korean War. He lives in St. Louis, Mo. 
and is employed as an engineer in the round house in East 
St. Louis. Their children include three daughters: Judith 
Ann, Carla Jean and Margaret Ellen; three sons: Raymond 
Edward, Michael and Jeffery. Warren Ralph Capps, the 
youngest son was born Oct. 29, 1924 in Neoga. Warren was 
graduated from Neoga Twp. High School. On Sept. 26, 1948, 
he married Margaret Louise Terzo in Marion, Ohio. They 
have one son. Grant David, born April 24, 1950. They live 
in Los Angeles, Calif, where Warren is a Chief Clerk in 
L, A, Freight office. 

GARLEN, CLEVELAND, born Nov. 18, 1885 in Union Twp., 
was a son of Jake and Mary Stanberry Carlen. On Sept. 18, 
1907 he married Cora Kuhn, a daughter of George and Maggie 
Fort Kuhn, born May 4, 1889 in Union Twp. He was a farmer 
and they lived on a farm east of the Lockwain Schoolhouse 
in Union Twp. To them were born three daughters. 

Treva Naomi, born Jan. 13, 1914 married Earl Sims. 
After farming many years, they have retired and now live in 
Charleston. Georgia Alien, born June 27, 1920, married 
Gordon Galloway. They live in C harleston and are parents 
of four children. Clara Ruth, born Dec. 14, 1927 married 
Clifford Tinsman. They live in Champaign and also have four 
children. Cleve Carlen died July 12, 1954. Since his 
death, Cora has made her home with her daughters; spending 
most of her time with Treva and her husband. Ear. 

CARLEN, ELMER DAVID, a son of Ephraim and Harriet Orn- 
dorff Carlen married Carrie Belle Jobe, a daughter of David 
Francisco and Sarah Tipsword Jobe. They spent most of their 
married life on a farm near Timothy. After her parents died 
they bought the Jobe place in Greenup and moved into town. 

To them were born five children: Mildred Fern, born Jan. 
1, 1907; Merle, born May 14, 1911; Dale Russell, born May 31, 
1917; Marjorie died an infant; David Ellis, May 24, 1923. 
Mildred married Cleo Darling, now deceased. Merle married 
Leonard Sterling and lives in Arizona; Dale married Catherine 
Richardson, and David married Mariam Titus. 

CARLEN, FRED R., a son of Ephraim and Harriett Orndorff 
Carlen was born Aug. 2, 1902 in Cumberland Co. He married 
Opal M. Andrews, a daughter of William and Rosa Mayberry 
Andrews of Decatur, 111. To them were born five children: 
Raymond, born March 12, 1927 and died Aug. 8, 1958. He was 
married to Maxine Findley on Aug. 27, 1949. They had two 
children, Raymond and Reatha. 

-284- 



Roland, born Sept. 13, 192_, married Margaret Hawker/ 
Nov. 10/ 1957. They live in Hazel Dell and have two 
children: Jeanette and Michael Roland. Roland works for 
the Forest Oil Co. Janis, born Dec. 19, 1930, married 
Don Greenwell, Dec. 10/ 1949. They live in Martinsville 
and are parents of four children. LaDora, born Jan. 10/ 
1932, married Jim Minear, Dec. 10, 1949. They live in 
Florida and have no children. Loreda, born Sept. 4, 1933/ 
married Forest Malcom, Jan. 3, 1954. They live in Robinson 
and have three sons. Opal Andrews Carlen died about 1942 
and is buried in Coles Co. On Nov. 28, 1946, Fred married 
Esther Naomi Vernon of Casey. They have one daughter/ 
Sharon, born April 25, 1954. Mrs. Carlen is a very 
artistic and efficient person in sewing/ music, and other 
talents. Fred tells us about himself: "I attended school 
at Jack Oak and Lockwain. Most of my teachers are now 
deceased. I have fond memories of them. I was converted 
at the Jack Oak Church of God in Aug., 1923. I entered the 
ministry of the Churches of North America in Sept., 1924. 
I have served the following churches in Illinois: Willis 
Chapel, Melrose, Moriah/ Boiling Springs, Decatur 2nd 
Church, Charleston, Hazel Dell/ White Oak, Jack Oak, (my 
home church for 17 years) and Casey, where I am now Pastor. 
I spent several years in Evangelistic work." The Carlens 
live in Casey/ 111. 

CARR/ CLAYBORN (1864-192 5) was born in Cumberland Co. 
and passed his entire life there as a farmer. He was a 
member of the Quaker Church. He was married to Mary Ellen 
Tipsword, also of Cumberland Co. Four children were born 
to them: Maude (1888-1948), wife of Stacey Catey; Merida 
(1890- ) , a retired farmer and carpenter of near 
Greenup; Okla (1892- ) , the widow of Clarence Kirk. She 
resides on a farm north of Toledo; Wilton A. (1901- ) . 

Wilton A. Carr received his early education in the 
public schools of Greenup/ graduating from the high school 
there in the class of 1920. Then he entered the Univ. of 
111. and received a B.A. degree and the degree of Bachelor 
of Laws in 1925. In 1968, Mr. Carr exchanged the latter 
degree for that of J. D. In 1925/ he was admitted to the 
111. Bar and settled in Paris, 111., where he practiced 
law with Hon. Harvey G ross. After one year, Mr. Carr 
moved to Greenup and engaged in practice alone. In 1928, 
he was elected State's Attorney of Cumberland Co. Upon 
election to this office, he moved to Toledo where he still 
lives. On June 17/ 1930, Mr. Carr was married to Ruth 
Elizabeth Connor (1906-1966) of Toledo. She was the 
daughter of Charles M. and Clyta McNutt Connor. To this 
marriage was born: Marilyn Anne, born 1933, Patricia Joan/ 

-285- 



born 1936, Charles Robert, born 1947. 

Marilyn Anne graduated from Cumberland High School in 
1950 and E. I. U. in 1954. She was married to Robert Scott, 
son of Orla and Nellie Gardner Scott of Toledo in 1953. To 
this marriage was born: Barbara Anne, born 1954; Michael 
Kurt, born 1956; Marilyn taught in the Neoga and Cumberland 
High Schools for 12 years. She is active in the Toledo 
Methodist Church and many other civic organizations. Her 
husband owns and manages the Builder's Supply Co. of Toledo 
and Greenup. 

Patricia Joan graduated from Cumberland High School in 
1953 and from E.I.U. She was married to Arlin Rice in 1957. 
Tvvo children were born to this marriage: Kathryn Lee, born 
1958, and Kendra, born 1960. Both Pat and her husband 
taught school. Both are musicians. 

CARR^ WILLIAM PERRY, born Feb. 16, 1923 near Greenup, 
is the son of Clifford Herman and Edna (Donley) Carr, marr- 
ied Lucille Edna Thomas on June 5, 1943 at St. Louis, Mo. 
Clifford was born Sept. 11, 1897 in Cumberland Co. and marr- 
ied Edna May, 27, 1918 at Toledo, 111. Edna was born July 
26, 1899 at Indianola, 111. 

Lucille, born Aug. 25, 1922 is the daughter of Benjamin 
Franklin Thomas who was born March 23, 1873 and married 
Bonnie Adella Tharp on Oct. 8, 1899. "Frank" died May 6, 
1949 and is buried in the Greenup Cem. Adella was born 
March 31, 1880. All except Edna were born and lived in 
Cumberland Co. Lucille and "Bill" had (1) John William, 
born at Effingham on June 23, 1944, and married Janice Gail 
Nash on Sept. 3, 1967 at Hazel Dell; (2) Claire Elaine, born 
March 9, 1946 at Effingham. She married Richard Vanatta on 
Dec. 18, 1966 in Coles Co.; (3) Roy Allen, born May 13, 
1952; (4) Kathy Adella, born Dec. 20, 1955; (5) Brian Scott, 
born Nov. 2, 1960; the last three were born at Mattoon. 
William is a carpenter and owner of a saw mill. 

CARRELL, DONALD DEAN "Duck", born Nov. 24, 1935, son of 
Forest Algene and Freda May (Tinsman) Carrell, married Male 
Lin Louie in Cleveland, Ohio on June 18, 1960. Forrest was 
born Feb. 9, 1906, married Freda on March 15, 1925 in 
Cumberland Co., 111. Freda was born May 21, 1906. 

Male Lin Louie, born April 30, 1934 is the very attractive 
daughter of George and Gam (Bowl) Louie of Cleveland, Ohio. 
George was born Aug. 3, 1897 and Gam was born Feb. 28, 1912, 
both were born near Canton, Ohio. Donald and Male Lin have 
two small ones: (1) Susan Lin, born Oct. 3, 1961, and (2) 
Steven Forrest, born Aug. 14, 1964. Both children were born 
in Cleveland, Ohio. 

Donald graduated from Cumberland High School at Greenup 
and then attended Rose Polytechnic at Terre Haute, Ind. He 

-286- 



is following his profession in Cleveland, Ohio. 

GARRELL, KENNETH BUTLER, born May 13, 1924, son of 
Clifford Eldon and Golda Odessa (Butler) Carrell, married 
Dec. 25, 1949 to Ila Ethelene Carlen in Cumberland Co. 
where both they and their parents were born^ lived and 
died. Clifford was born Oct. 24, 1900 and married Golda 
on Jan. 30, 1923 at Charleston^ 111. Golda was born Aug. 
6, 1901. Ila, born Jan. 4, 1920 is a daughter to Guy 
Ramoth Carlen, born July 2, 1896, married Dec. 12, 1915 
to Ida May Drum, who was born May 26, 1899, died April 2, 
1925 and is buried at Mt . Zion (Nebo) Cemetery. 

Kenneth and Ila had (1) Clifford Guy, born Feb. 23, 
1951; (2) Golda May, born Dec. 25, 1955; (3) Esther Irene, 
born May 2, 1960, all three at Mattoon Hospital. 

CARRELL, RUFUS A., born March 26, 1889 at Union Center, 
son of Elisha T. and Mary Adline (Wall) Carrell. He marr- 
ied Maye L. Cutright, Dec. 12, 1919 at Greenup, 111. Elisha 
died April, 1910 and Mary died Jan. 30, 1917. Both are 
buried at Harmony Cemetery. Maye was born Dec. 24, 1894, 
northeast of Greenup. Her father, Lewis Cutright, was 
born Oct. 13, 1867. He married Nancy Campbell, Oct. 13, 
1889, and died April 1, 1955. Nancy was born Nov. 6, 1867 
and died Sept. 7, 1904. Both are buried at Harmony. 

Rufus and Maye had (1) Rufus Keith, born at Greenup, 
Aug. 13, 1920 and married Eva Martin of Scotland; (2) Doris 
Katherine, born Nov. 9, 1922 and married Byron Shields of 
Americus, Ga. They have three children and two grand- 
children. Rufus Carrell was postmaster at Greenup, 1942- 
1958. Maye taught school at Brushy Ridge, Hogback, Titus, 
Billtown and Pinchback. 

CARRUTHERS, MARK, son of Will and Sarah (Little) 
Carruthers was born April 24, 1881 in Terre Haute, Ind. He 
moved with his family to Hazel Dell and then to Greenup 
after his father's death. In his youth, he traveled the 
United States as a musician and played with the famous 
John "Philip Sousa Band. While with the Sousa Band, he 
was bestowed the honor of playing a trombone solo at the 
wedding of Theodore Roosevelt's daughter, Alice, to Nicholas 
Longworth at the White House. 

Mr. Carruthers owned and operated the Greenup Press from 
Sept, 1918 until he sold it in 1937, served as mayor of 
Greenup for two terms and was one-time president of the 
Greenup school board. He was a veteran of the Spanish- 
American War, a member of the American Legion and a member 
of the Masonic Lodge for 47 years. In July of 1938, he was 
united in marriage to the former Hollis Meyes of Mattoon. 

A one-time band director at St. Anthony High School in 
Effingham, Mr. Carruthers was instrumental in organizing 
and directing municipal bands, both in Greenup and Effingham 

-287- 



for a period of twenty years. Mr. Carruthers died at the age 
of 77 years. Bishop Funeral Home was in charge of the ser- 
vices which were held in the Methodist Church, Greenup, 111, 
Burial was made in the Dodge Grove Cem., Mattoon, where 
Masonic and military rites were held. 

CARSON, DAVID SR., born Sept. 1 , 1799 in New York City, 
died near Greenup, 111., July 9, 1875, was first married to 
Margaretta W. Goe at Cincinnati, Ohio, who died Aug. 26^ 1837 
near Greenup. On Oct. 25, 1837 David purchased 80 acres 
south of Greenup and later sold 30 acres from the north end 
of the farm to Mr. Wickiser (husband of Lydia) . David was a 
tanner and the several springs on this farm made an ideal 
place for him to carry on his trade. He spent the remainder 
of his life on this farm. His wife lived only a short time 
in Cumberland Co., however. Their son Andrew, born July 28, 
1838 was marrifed, May^ 1869, at Charleston^ 111. to Mary E. 
Harker who was born Sept. 10, 1847, and died July 11, 1879. 
They had Victor Talbot "Bunn" who was born May 22, 1870 and 
died Jan. 10, 1937, and Lois M., born July 18, 1871 and died 
Oct. 23, 1872. Andrew held county offices several years and 
lived in Toledo, 111. Margaretta and Lois were buried on 
the farm in a spot which became known as the Carson Cem. as 
more members of the family were placed here. 

David Sr. married Feb., 1841 at Greenup, Elizabeth Spoon, 
born June 2, 1820 and died May 23, 1873. They had seven 
children: (1) David Jr., born June 10, 1842, married Mary A. 
Shull, had Alice Mabell, Jennie, and Daisey, and died May 4, 
1908 at Okla. City, Okla; (2) Margaretta D., born Sept. 31, 
1844, died Oct. 14, 1847; (3) William, died Nov. 10, 1847; 
(4) Eliza, born Dec. 11, 1848, married Solomon Smith (in 
1884 History), and died Aug. 31, 1927 in Greenup. They had 
two daughters (1) Elizabeth, who married Andrew M. Freeman, 
Nov. 16, 1889. They had Marshall, born March 14, 1890, who 
married Mildred Townsend, born Nov. 21, 1891, and had Victor 
Doyle, Thelma Edna, Ralph Delane, Martha Pauline, and Agnes 
Irene. Marshall and Mildred are to celebrate their 50th 
Wedding anniversary at their home in Casey on Sunday, May 
26, 1958. Daughter Thelma has spent several years in Cumber- 
land Co. teaching school. As the wife of Garrett Wall, she 
lived in Clark Co., where their two sons, Fred and Charles, 
were born. Later, when she married Scott Harrison of Casey, 
they lived in this county for several years. 

Vernon Freeman, second son of Elizabeth and Andrew has 
spent most of his life in this county. His son, Virgil, also 
lives here; Vernon's brother, Richard, married Nicolette 
Loomis, but died as a young man; sister, Ethel, married 
Jacob H. Carpenter, had a daughter Virginia, and now lives 
in Pana, 111. ; Guy Victor married Alma Carlen, had Lowell 

-288- 



and Inez; Edith Gertrude married Daniel Newell Robinson. 
(2) Ethel Smith was born Feb. 1, 1880 and died in an 
accident Aug. 15, 1890. 

John Washington Carson was born Aug. 12, 1851 near 
Greenup, married Mary Rebecca Grafa May 10, 1871, who was 
born Feb. 5, 1856 at Florence, Ky. (See later for John W. 
Carson) . The last son of David and Elizabeth was Oliver 
born May 25, 1855, married Nannie Kate Grafa, born April 
30, 1860. Oliver died Nov. 20, 1884 and Nannie June 10, 
1885. They had Andrew D., Neal Monroe, and Nannie E., 
born Sept. 8, 1884 at Greenup. Nannie died in the west. 

The last daughter of David and Elizabeth was Mary 
Jane, born Aug. 17, 1859 who married at Greenup, William 
H. Wickiser, born April 24, 1860 at Greenup. He was a 
musician, carpenter, and contractor. They had Charles, 
James, Thomas, Cora and Leroy. Cora is the only one 
still living. She is an artist and musician and lives in 
Tulsa, Okla. The David Carson farm still has its 
excellent springs and has been the home through the years 
of David Sr., John W. and family, Frank, and now is owned 
by Barbara June, daughter of Frank. It has been in the 
family for 131 years. 

CARSON, FRANK, born Dec. 5, 1894, son of John Wash- 
ington and Mary Rebecca (Grafa) Carson, married Carrie 
Fay Lyons Jan. 15, 1923 at the home of Rev. and Mrs. James 
L. Ryan of Greenup, 111. They lived for five years with 
his mother on the Carson farm south of Greenup, then 
bought the Hiram L. Scranton place, west of Greenup, on 
the old National Road. Here they continued to raise 
registered Jerseys and milk them until Frank's death on 
August 15, 1961. Frank devoted his life to his family, 
his Carson Jerseys, and his farming. His "boys" were 
girls but they played their part in caring for the Jerseys 
and doing 4-H work in many categories. 

They had Barbara June, born March 14, 1928 at the 
Carson place south of Greenup. She took four years of work 
in the College of Agriculture, U. of I . and then married 
John V. Kirkland of Flora, Tenn., Feb. 25, 1950 and had 
Carol Ann, born Jan. 19, 1951; Jane, March 6, 1952; and 
Mary Kathleen, born June 20, 1954 (the same day that her 
Aunt Mary graduated from the U, of I . in Home Economics), 
After five years spent in Tenn., the Kirklands moved back 
to Cumberland Co., 111. In 1956, John had a stroke and 
Barbara June taught Grade I at the West Side School in 
Effingham, 111. Then she did work for a B.S. degree in 
E.I.U. at Charleston and taught three years at Witt, 111. 
Following this, she and her mother taught at Dietrich, 111. 
High School. She also was school librarian at Martinsville, 

-289- 



111. one year. In 1964 she divorced John and in Oct., 1965 
she married George Bearing. In 1967 George adopted the three 
Kirkland girls. These girls have been milking Jerseys for 
some years too. They enjoy their ponies, calves^pigs, ducks, 
chickens, rabbits, goats, dogs and cats very much. They have 
been doing 4-H work also. In 1968-69 they will all be in 
Cumberland High School. 

On Aug. 1, 1932/ Mary Elizabeth joined the Frank Carson 
family. After her second year in school at Hamilton, she 
went to Greenup and graduated in 1950 from Cumberland in the 
first group made up of Toledo and Greenup graduates. Then 
followed four years at the U. of I . with the same girls on 
the top floor of Evans Hall. On the farm she liked to play 
her trumpet, groom and ride her horses, and show Jerseys as 
well as milk them. One year at the State Fair at Springfield 
her Jersey calf took first place and she got to lead her at 
the head of the livestock 4-H parade around the race track 
on Friday. She remarked that getting to lead her calf in 
the parade was worth all the hard work of getting them all 
ready for the Fair. 

Mary had one summer in White Co., 111., as an In-service 
trainee in Home Extension work, one year as Youth Assistant 
in Will Co., at Joliet, then some time as Home Advisor in 
Stark Co. Here she met Merlin Bernard and they were marr- 
ied Sept. 28, 1956 in Florence, Ala. They lived in Illinois 
about a year and went to California. She became a Director 
for C amp Fire Girls in Pomona, Calif. There, Sept. 14, 
1950, her only child, Victor Frederick, was born. Because 
her father was not very well, they came back to Cumberland 
in Feb., 1961. In Dec. they went back to Calif. Merlin is 
now in college, working toward a B.S. degree in Commerce and 
Mary is a Supervisor in the Redlands office of the S an 
Bernadino Co. Welfare Dept. Victor is in second grade this 
year. Carrie graduated from the U. of I . in 1916. Whenever 
she was needed to fill in, she taught at Greenup, but left 
in March, 1919 to do Cottage Cheese demonstrations all over 
111., working with the first three home advisors. After her 
marriage to Frank, she did no regular teaching until the 
girls were in school and electricity had come to the farms. 
After having taught in five rural schools, she went back to 
Greenup to each second grade, one of the most pleasant years 
of her teaching life. In all, she had 23 years in the school 
room, all but seven of them in High School English, Science, 
Library and Latin, at Greenup, Cumberland, Neoga and Diet- 
erich, 111. She was with the U. S. Government again in World 
War II as Farmer Fieldwoman in the A. A. A. Since retiring in 
1966, she is an active member in several organizations, such 
as Home Extension, Farm Bureau Women's Committee, Presbyterian 

-290- 



Church, Historical and Genealogical Society^ Retired Teachers, 
managing her Jersey herd, also working on the 1968 History of 
Cumberland Co., and also Historical Museum work. 

CARSON, JOHN WASHINGTON, born Aug. 12, 1851, died Feb. 18, 
1918, son of David and Elizabeth (Spoon) Carson, married Mary 
Rebecca Graf a on May 10, 1871. Mary R. was the daughter of 
Cord Henry and Nancy Elder (Lowe) Grafa who were married March 
2, 1851. Cord Henry was born Oct. 16, 1810 in Germany and 
came to America in 1836. Nancy was born March 2, 1829, the 
daughter of Robert and Rebecca E. (Dance) Lowe. Nancy died 
Dec. 7, 1895 at Cleburne, Texas. Nancy was a descendant of 
William Lowe, who with his brother Rober, emigrated from 
England and settled first in Virginia. Robert remained 
single, but William moved on to Pendleton Co., Ky. and marr- 
ied Nancy Jones about 1790. Among other children they had 
Robert Lowe who married (1) Elizabeth W. Dance and (2) 
Rebecca E. Dance. 

The children of John and Rebecca Carson were (1) Henry 
Oliver, born Dec. 13, 1872; (2) Edward Lee, born Aug. 22, 
1875, died July 11, 1878; (3) David Chord "Code", born April 
6, 1878; (4) Victor Monroe, born June 2, 1883; (5) Norma 
Cecil, born Sept. 11, 1886; (6) Grace Elder, born Feb. 19, 
1892; (7) Andrew Franklin "Frank", born Dec. 5, 1894, all 
on the Carson farm. 

Henry 0. Carson married Oct. 15, 1902 America Ann Byers, 
"Amy" born Aug, 5, 1886 near Hazel Dell and had (1) Loren 
Clinton, born March 8, 1904 near Greenup; (2) Robert Edward, 
born July 30, 1905 near Eldorado, Okla; (3) Inez Rebecca, 
born Nov. 20, 1907 near Eldorado; (4) Grace Mae, born July 
9, 1909 near Elida, N. M. ; (5) John Albert Franklin "Frank" 
born Aug. 28, 1910 near Luanna, Texas. In 1918 Henry and 
family returned to Cumberland Co. He died in 1950. He was 
a farmer. 

(1) Loren C. Carson born March 8, 1904 married March 24, 
1928 to Thelma Malcolm, born June 14, 1904. They had Shirley 
Joan born Sept. 11, 1932 and Russell Clinton born Dec. 1, 
1934. Shirley married (1) Don Ulrey who died Jan. 21, 1952. 
She later married R alph Fitch and had twin sons, Bradley 
Dean and Bryan Clinton, born July 27, 1958. Russell Clinton 
was killed in a car-train accident Jan. 10, 1953. Loren and 
Thelma both have worked many years at the shoe factory in 
Casey. Ralph teaches at Casey High School. 

(2) Robert E. "Bob" Carson married Dec. 7, 1939 Lucille 
Reed born March 14, 1921. They had Duane Howard born Aug. 
1, 1940 at Charleston, who, after 3 years in the U.S. Marines 
married Sandra Dryden, born Aug. 5, 1948, on Oct. 15, 1966 
and had Marci Lynn Nov, 17, 1967. Robert and Lucile had 
Donna Fay, born July 20, 1951 at Charleston. They now live 

-291- 



at Bradbury, 111. Bob works at Mattoon in the shoe factory 
and Lucile works at Casey. Donna is in Cumberland high school- 

(3) Inez R. Carson married March 6, 1928 Leroy Cox, born 
Jan. 24, 1901. After his death she married Walter St. John 
of Toledo, 111. He died several years ago. She is employed 
at Casey, Illinois. 

(4) Grace M. Carson married Dec. 10, 1927 Parmer Etnire 
born March 6, 1903. They had Wilbur Gene, Wanda June, Virginia 
Ann, Marjorie Ilene, and Darius Dean. They live in Coles Co. 

(5) Frank Carson married Nov. 24, 1932 Helen Letner born 
Jan. 24, 1915 near Casey. They had Carolyn Jean and Donald 
Larry. They moved to Whiting, Ind. several years ago. Both 
have married a second time. 

David Cord "Code" Carson, son of John W. married at Casey 
March 5, 1902 Mary Eunice Davis, born Feb. 5, 1880 near 
Columbus, Ind. Code taught school a few terms and then be- 
came a railway mail clerk out of Texas a few years, then out 
of Greenup for many years. Eunice taught about 35 years and 
served two terms as Assistant Co. Superintendent of Schools. 
After each had retired they collected data and compiled a 
book of Carson Family Records from 1799 to 1942, from which 
most of the material for these Carson stories is taken. 
Helen was the only child of Code and Eunice in reality, but 
many, many more were made welcome and helped in their home 
through the years. Helen, born Aug. 29, 1905 married Byron 
Cochonour Davidson, born Jan. 22, 1906 at Casey, 111. He has 
been a teacher in Covington, Ky . schools for many years. 
Helen has been a Commerce teacher for a long time also. They 
had Byron Carson, born Oct. 8, 1935 and Marilyn Helen, born 
Jan. 8, 1942, both at Cincinnati, Ohio. Byron is now a 
salesman in Kansas City and Marilyn, who married Stanley 
Martin, is a Home Economics teacher in Ohio. Eunice died in 
Covington and was brought back to Greenup for burial on 
January 22, 1968. 

Victor M. Carson, son of John W. married Marie Olive 
Luther born June 14, 1882 at Vandalia, 111. on Nov. 7, 1907 
at Cleburne, Texas. They went to Calif, before 1920 and 
lived there until his death a month before that of Code. 
They had no children. Marie still lives there in Los 
Angeles. Victor was a shoe salesman and fitter and Marie 
was a secretary. Her father served in the Civil War from 
Ohio. He was one of eight who successfully escaped from 
Libby prison. 

Norma C. Carson married Sept. 2, 1909 Arthur Heddins, 
born Dec. 13, 1887 near Charleston. Arthur was a blacksmith 
with his special love for shoeing race horses. He said he 
hoped to shoe horses until he was 70. On a Friday he was 
70. The following Monday, he went to Martinsville to do 

-292- 



some shoeing. At noon time he straightened up from his work 
with a horse, and fell forward dead. No manner of dying 
could have suited him better. Norma survived him by a few 
years. They had no children of their own, but took Evelyn, 
a daughter of Arthur's youngest brother to bring up when she 
was between two and three years old. They also helped with 
the care of David Myers who seemed as near as a son to them. 
They were devoted Baptists. 

Grace E. Carson married Dec. 12, 1912 Winford E. Catey, 
born Oct. 10, 1889 near Greenup. Winford was a farmer until 
he became a minister and evangelist of the Pilgrim Holiness 
Church. He was the youngest son of Henry Catey of 1884 
History. They had (1) John Henry, born Jan. 24, 1915, marr- 
ied Dec. 24, 1936 to Irma Hubbart, born Sept. 29, 1917. They 
farmed until John's health failed, when they moved to 
Greenup. Irma works at Casey. Their children were (1) 
Marjorie Jane, born Sept. 22, 1942, married Jerry Jackson, 
they have Kit and Jason Anthony. Marjorie graduated from 
E.I.U. and has taught in the Cumberland Unit. Jerry is an 
excellent meat cutter with Hayden ' s IGA store. They live in 
Greenup. (2) Henry Jay, born March 14, 1944. He graduated 
from E.I-U. also and is teaching at Sullivan High School; 
(2) Ruth Elizabeth Catey, born Sept. 24, 1917 married Albert 
Lacey (who drowned in 1967 near Flint, Michigan). Ruth is 
a first grade teacher in Michigan. (3) Harold Carson Catey, 
born Dec. 6, 1921 married Betty Brussell Dec. 14, 1943 at 
San Diego, Calif. He has spent much time as a pilot in 
World War II and in Korea, as well as in civilian planes. 
He is now in Calif., still with planes. Betty has worked 
as a secretary. Their children are: (1) Richard Harold, 
born Sept. 20, 1944 at Terre Haute, Ind. and (2) Carolyn. 
Richard is in Uncle Sam's service, is married and has two 
children. They live in Indianapolis, Ind. 

(4) Mary Jane Catey, born Dec. 30, 1929, died Oct. 22, 
1930. 

(5) Winford E. Catey Jr., born July 22, 1933, married 
Rogene Stultz and they have Rita Ann, Deborah Lynn, Robert 
Allen and Donald Lee. They built a new house on the Henry 
Catey farm, where they live and farm. 

Andrew Franklin "Frank" Carson, son of J. W., married 
Carrie Lyons, Jan. 15, 1923 at Greenup. 

CARVER, EZRA, a son of Fred and Lydia (Kemper) Carver 
was born in Cumberland Co., Aug. 27, 1901. On Dec. 12, 1922 
he was married to Freda Carrell, born in Cumberland Co. on 
Nov. 27, 1907, a daughter of Otha and Lura (Hill) Carrell. 
They were married in Eldorado Kansas and spent about 4 years 
of their early married life in Kansas where Ezra worked in 
the oilfields. They came back to Illinois and moved to a 

-293- 



farm east of Timothy and farmed. They remained here until 
Ezra's death on Dec. 15, 1967. He is buried in the Harmony 
Gem. After his death, Freda sold the farm and moved to 
Greenup. Freda and Ezra had five children: Otha Lee, born 
Oct. 23, 1923, died on Luzon Island in the Philippines on 
March 1, 1945 while serving in World War II. He was returned 
to the states and buried at Harmony. Rosalee, born March 15, 
1925 and died March 15, 1925. Lucille, born June 12, 1926, 
married Ed Lewis, Dec. 27, 1945. They live in Arizona. 
Hazel, born Oct. 24, 1927, married Lyle Gentry, Dec. 21, 1945 
and lives in Cumberland Go. near Toledo. Billy, born Sept. 
12, 1929, married Ruth Woolever of Charleston on Oct. 8, 
1949. They live in Arizona. Freda and Ezra have nine grand- 
children and five great grandchildren. 

CARVER, FRED W., was born May 18, 1875 in Kansas, a son 
of George and Emma Cox Carver. Lydia M. Kemper was born 
June 28, 1878 in Cumberland Co., a daughter of Ezra and 
Minerva Sherwood Kemper. Lydia and Fred were married in 
Toledo, and spent in Cumberland Go. most of their lives. Fred 
worked in the oilfield and did carpenter work. They did some 
farming. They were parents of eleven children: (1) Effie, 
born Jan. 14, 1898 married Owen Brandenburg. She lives in 
Casey; (2) Tom, born July 8, 1899 married Grace Maddock. 
They live in Kansas; (3) Ezra, born Aug. 27, 1901, died Nov. 
15, 1957. He was married to Freda Carrell. They lived on a 
farm west of Timothy; (4) Goldie, born Nov. 13, 1903 married 
David Neese first, then she married Fred Steen and lives in 
Oregon; (5) Wesley, born Nov. 17, 1905 and died in April, 
1935. He was married to Clarice Carlen; (5) Pete, born Jan. 
18, 1908, married Goldie Duvall. They live on a farm north 
of Union Center; (7) Martha, born June 5, 1910, married Oval 
Robey and they live on the homeplace near Timothy; (8) Minnie 
born July 27, 1912, married Dale Reeder. They live on a 
farm near Vevay Park; (9) Ossie, born March 19, 1914, marr- 
ied Opal Hanners. They live on a farm north of Union Center; 
(lO)Dick, born March 13, 1918, married Helen Ramsey. After 
her death, he married Reba Payne and they live in Texas; (11) 
Olive, born June 28, 1920, married Kenneth Carlen. They live 
on a farm near Jack Oak and Antioch Church. 

Wesley died early in his life leaving five children who 
came and stayed with their Grandmother Carver. After Dick's 
first wife, Helen, died leaving two small daughters, they 
also came and lived with Grandmother Carver, while their 
father served with the U. S. Army in Germany in World War II. 
SOf we thank God for both our parents whose love and care 
was outstanding to care for 18 children. 

CASSTEVENS, ROBERT LEWIS, born Aug. 9, 1900 at Neoga, 
111., son of Walter and Mary (Snyder) Gasstevens. He married 

-294- 



Josephine Elvessa McGuire of Bethany, 111. on Sept. 12, 1925 
at Decatur, 111. Walter was born Jan. 10, 1876, died Jan. 
31, 1919 and buried at Neoga. His wife, Mary, was born Jan. 
1, 1881 at Asherville, Ind., died July 19, 1955 at Oahu, 
Hawaii, and was cremated. These people were Neoga Presby- 
terians. James Lafayette McGuire, father of Josephine, was 
born Aug. 21, 1859, married Susan Josephine Walker, also of 
Bethany on July 29, 1885, and died Nov. 27, 1941. Susan was 
born March 1, 1861 and died Feb. 8, 1926. Both were buried 
at Bethany and were Presbyterians. 

Bob and Jo Casstevens had one child, David Eugene. He 
was born Dec. 2, 1934 at Decatur and married Janet Kay Edwards 
on Aug. 22, 1955 at Neoga. Their children are: (1) Cynthia 
Kay, born Oct. 5, 1956 at Charleston; (2) Ann Rene, born 
Sept. 21, 1960 at Watseka, 111.; (3) Jodi Lynn, born Nov. 30, 
1965 at Urbana, 111. 

Robert L. Casstevens entered into and was discharged 
from military service from Toledo, 111. His Army service 
number was 1383072, date entered, April 10, 1917 at St. Louis, 
Missouri. Date discharged, March 7, 1920 at Rockford, 111. 

CATEY, STAGEY ORLESTUS , the son of William Henry (1847- 
1919) and Sarah Jane (Williams) Catey (1847-1921) was born 
in Greenup Twp. , west of Timothy, 111. on Jan. 4, 1884. On 
Nov. 19, 1905 he married Maude Carr (1888-1948), the daughter 
of Clayborn and Mary (Tipsword) Carr. Stacey died March 10, 
1926. He and his wife are buried at Harmony Cem., north of 
Greenup. Stacey and Maude Catey had five children: (1) Neva 
Alora, born 1906 and married to D ana Hudelson; (2) Nina 
Alene, born 1910 and married to Eugene Hidden; (3) William 
Henry, born 1911, married Waneta Sedgwick; (4) Naomi Alys, 
born 1917 married Leroy Carrell; (5) Wilma Eleanor, born 1920 
and married to Norman Reichert. 

Neva and Dana Hudelson of Champaign, 111. have two 
daughters: (1) Nina Jean, born 1925, married to Ned Maxey ; 
mother of Catey Jane and Dana. (2) Bette Lou, born 1927, 
married to Jerry Cain. The Cain children are: Jeffrey, 
Lori and Michael of Tucson, Arizona. 

Naomi and Leroy Carrell of Marine, 111. have three 
children: (1) James Marvin, born 1935; (2) Richard, born 
1951; (3) Pamela Jane, born 1953. The children of Wilma and 
Norman Reichert, Wynnewood, Pa., are: (1) Susan Catey, born 
1949; (2) Norman Reichert Jr., born 1952. 

GATHER, JAMES, born 1807 in Indiana, son of James W. and 
Margaret (or Mary) McPhillamy, married Mary A. Bannister, 
who was born 1814 in Cincinnati, Ohio and died 1887 in 
Johnstown, 111., and James died in Johnstown, 111. 

Their children were: (1) Margaret Elizabeth, born Nov. 
19, 1833; (2) Martha Jane, Sept. 9, 1835; (3) Sarah Miranda, 

-295- 



born July 7, 1937; married John M. Crooke and died June 19, 
1909; (4) Margaret McPhillary, Sept. 23, 1839, married John 
M. Crooke and died Sept. 17, 1877; (5) John William, Aug. 7, 
1840, died 1870 at Johnstown, 111.; (6) Mary "Betsy" Elizabeth 
born April 23, 1842, married Mr. Howell. He disappeared; (7) 
James, born March 15, 1844, died at Lerna, 111. Sept. 30, 1938; 
(8) Robert Laurence, Jan. 29, 1846, died June 26, 1906; (9) 
Jess, born Jan. 21, 1850, died Jan. 19, 1853; <10) Clara, born 
Sept. 22, 1852, died Jan. 20, 1871. 

Nos . 7 James P. and Robert L. were soldiers, and after 
the Civil War spent their lives in Cumberland Co. Their 
loyalties differed and John went back to Indiana. James P. 
married Eliza Ann Hill at Johnstown, 111. on Feb. 9, 1873. 
They had five boys and five girls. Eight of them died before 
Aug. 17, 1959. James P. enlisted in Co. B. — 155th Inf. and 
was discharged at Murphysboro, Tenn. on Sept. 4, 1865. 
Thomas married Lena F. Montgomery on Dec. 11, 1909 in Newton, 
111. They had one son. Major Robert M. Gathers, born Feb. 
22, 1921 at Mattoon^ 111. 

CENTERS, DUANE HAROLD, was born near Charleston and 
attended schools in Kansas, Westfield and Rardin and Charles- 
ton High School. Quitting school, he entered the U.S. Air 
Force, where he spent four years. After returning home, he 
was united in marriage to Leona Fern Goodwin in the Mt . Zion 
Baptist Church to which they both belong. They lived in 
Edgar and Cumberland counties until Dec, 1959, when they 
bought a home in Janesville, 111., where they moved and lived 
until Nov., 1967. They then bought the Claud Storm house in 
Neoga and sold the one in Janesville. 

Leona Fern Goodwin was born near Neal, Cumberland Co., 111. 
on the farm which her great great grandfather, James Goodwin, 
bought in 1849. The last child was born in the three room 
house that was built by her great grandfather, Jefferson 
Goodwin. She attended Midway School at Neal and Silverlake 
School, four miles north of Neal, also Pioneer, which is on 
Route 121 east of Neoga. She attended Neoga High School, 
where she graduated in 1956. Leona worked at Seats Variety 
Store in Toledo for 4 years, Kern Mfg. Co. in Neoga and at 
the present time she is at home. 

Duane has worked on the farm, as stock boy for the welders 
at Norge-Borg-Warner at Effingham, 111. He is presently 
working for Coles-Cumberland Service Co. in Neoga. 

CHAPMAN, RAY, born Aug. 25, 1903 in Clark Co., son of 
Wilson Monroe and Delia Grace (Lamb) Chapman, married Pauline 
Townsend Aug. 15, 1926 in Cumberland Co., 111. Wilson was 
born June 28, 1882 in Jasper Co., married Delia, Oct. 19, 
1902 at Advance in Jasper Co., died Nov. 12, 1910 in Clark 
Co. and is buried in Jasper Co. Delia was born March 6, 1881 

-296- 



in Indiana, died April 10, 1907 and is buried in Jasper Co. 

Pauline was born Feb. 23, 1907 in Cumberland Co., the 
daughter of Charles Byron and Leona (Kelly) Townsend. 
Charles Byron was born at Henryville, Ind. Feb. 18, 1874 
and married Leona, Feb. 16, 1902 in Cumberland Co. Leona 
was born Dec. 26, 1881, died April 4, 1943 and is buried at 
Hazel Dell in Cumberland Co. 

Ray and Pauline had (1) Mary Ellen, born Feb. 3, 1927, 
married Robert E. Stevens Nov. 25, 1948 at Mattoon ; (2) 
Norval Gene, born June 1 , 1928 and is divorced; (3) Lela 
Marie, born Aug. 4, 1929, married Loren P. Smith, Nov. 15, 
1947 at Hazel Dell; (4) Charles Monroe, born Nov. 7, 1942 
at the Effingham hospital, is not married. The first three 
children were born in Cumberland Co. 

Norval Gene served in the Armed Forces from 1950 to 
1952. He was in active duty in Korea for one year during 
that time. Charles Monroe is a member of the 111. National 
Guard at the present time. He joined in October, 1963. 

CHRYSLER, DAVID L., a son of Anson L. and M. Alice 
Stanford Chrysler was born Jan. 1, 1884 in Cumberland Co. 
On Sept. 2, 1903 he married Rosa M. Comer born June 10, 
1886, a daughter of Simon R. and Laura E. Edman of Cumber- 
land Co. David was a farmer and worked in the oil field. 
They lived south of the Yanaway School, 1/4 mile from the 
Clark Co. line. To them four children were born: Harold 
R., born May 7, 1904, married Thelma Sutherland in May, 
1928; an infant son born Oct. 25, 1905, died Oct. 26, 1905. 
Laura Alice born Nov. 23, 1907, died April 29, 1905, and 
Mildred Marie born July 29, 1910 married Russell R. Kitchen 
June 26, 1932. Mildred lives in Martinsville and is a 
secretary at the school. 

On June 24, 1923 David married a second time to Lou 
Groves, born Feb. 7, 1900, a daughter of Artie and Anna 
Phillips Groves. She, too, had four children: F. Lavonne 
born April 23, 1921, married Alfred Hawn in Nov., 1941 in 
Muskogee, Okla. ; Dale L., born Dec. 30, 1923 married Martha 
Prince on Jan. 11, 1946; Lois Ruth born July 23, 1926, 
married George Pyle in Feb., 1967 in Champaign; and Jeanne /? 
Ann, born Jan. 21, 1938 married Kenneth &ti - glecr u in March, c-^*^^^^'*^'*^ 
1962 in Marion Co., Ind. She lives in Indianapolis, Ind. 

Later in life, he married Rose Howard and she still 
lives on the farm near Casey. David died Jan. 2, 1959 and 
is buried at Macedonia Cemetery. 

CHRYSLER, WILLIAM HENRY, a son of Anson Leroy and Sarah 
Howe Chrysler was born March 23, 1871. His father, Anson 
was born in Ohio and came to Illinois where he married Sarah 
Howe on April 25, 1870. She was born March 28, 1846 and died 
May 26, 1880. Anson died Jan. 1, 1921. William Chrysler 

-297- 



married Malissa Caroline Mayfield March 3, 1897. She was 
born Nov. 20, 1866 at Mason City, 111.^ a daugher of Charles 
and Charity Edwards Mayfield. Charles Mayfield was born in 
1837, in Germany, and Charity was born June 3, 1841. They 
were married Aug. 27, 1865 in Logan Co. She died May 13, 
1913 and he died in Feb., 1917. They are buried at Long 
Point Cem. Mr. and Mrs. Chrysler lived on a farm in Union 
Twp. where all of their eight children were born. Mr. 
Chrysler died early in life, being only 40 years of age when 
he passed away, Jan. 1 , 1911. Mrs. Chrysler was left with 
the children to raise, the oldest being 12 and the youngest 
less than a year. Mrs. Chrysler and the children attended 
church at Long Point and the children attended Casey High 
School. Mrs. Chrysler continued to live on the farm many 
years. She died in Decatur, 111. on Dec. 28, 1944. They are 
buried at Long Point. 

Charles A. Chrysler, born Dec. 28, 1897 married Marie J. 
Prague, Aug. 29, 1920. They lived in Chicago until her death 
Sept. 22, 1960. He worked for the U. S. Government in the 
mail service at Midway Airport. They had a daughter, Barbara 
who married a Chicago boy, Edd Anderson. Their home is at 
Sao Paulo, Brazil and they have a son, Kevin, born Aug. 26, 
1966. Charles was remarried Dec. 2, 1961 to Velma Culp 
Sharp and on his retirement moved to Robinson, 111. 

Paul R. Chrysler, born Aug. 22, 1899 married Elsie 
Enland Nov. 18, 1925 in Chicago. They bought a home in 
Elmhurst, 111. where they lived until he was killed in a 
train wreck April 27, 1943. They had two children, Richard, 
who died at the age of 6 years and a daugher, Doris Mae. She 
married Robert Newton of Villa Park and they live in Dallas, 
Texas. Elsie still lives in Elmhurst. 

Jesse T. Chrysler, born Oct. 2, 1900 married Mildred 
McGinness April 28, 1923. They have always remained in Casey 
where he still follows his trade as a brick mason. He has 
served as Mayor of Casey. They have a daughter, Billie Jean 
born July 28, 1926. She married Ray Lee and they moved to 
Tuscola, 111. where he has a Law office. They have two sons, 
Jim and Brian, of whom their grandparents are very proud. 

Clarence D. Chrysler, born June 22, 1902 married Winifred 
MacDonald Nov. 16, 1933 in Winona, Minn. "Jack" as he is 
known and Winnie went to the state of Washington years ago 
where he is field man for the Stockley-Van Camp Co. Their 
home is in Burlington and they had five children, several of 
whom are married. They have 6 grandchildren at present. 

Florence E. Chrysler, born Sept. 9, 1904 married Harold 
Stubblef ield, Dec. 11, 1926. They moved to Decatur several 
years ago where he is in the heating and refrigeration 
business here. They have two sons, John and Richard, both of 

-298- 



whom are married and have children of their own. 

Elsie M. Chrysler, born Oct. 31, 1906 married Fred Beeson 
on June 1, 1929. Fred worked in production in the oilfields, 
so, soon after they were married, they went to Indiana and 
a few years ago bought a home in Poseyville, near where he 
worked. Elsie still lives in that home. On May 3, 1967, Fred 
suffered a fatal heart attack. They had two children, Richard 
who lives in Evansville and Norma (Shelby) who resides at 
Muskegon, Michigan. 

Lily F. Chrysler, born May 12, 1908 married Carl Moser, 
Nov. 25, 1936. They live on North Avenue near Glen Ellyn, 
111., where they own and manage a nursery. They have four 
children: Gertrude, Bruno, and twins, Lois and Mary. Trudy 
as Gertrude is known, married a Nagle and lives in Glen 
Ellyn, Bruno and Mary live in New Jersey. Lois and her hus- 
bnad live in DeKalk, 111. Mary is still in school. 

William E. Chrysler married Dorothy Havens June 30, 1935. 
They had one son born to them, Ralph William, who owns the 
"Chrysler Beauty College" in Decatur, 111. William, or Bill, 
as he is known, remarried in 1966 to Marion Sckowska and are 
residents of Decatur, where he is manager of a record store. 

CLARK, JAMES, born Sept. 20, 1840 in Buckhannon, W.Va. 
He is the son of Cornelius and Abigail (Wright) Clark, marr- 
ied Lucinda Buchanan, Nov. 28, 1866 at Neoga, 111., died Feb. 
1, 1926 and was buried at Long Point Cem. He was affiliated 
with the Presbyterian Woods Chapel. His father, Cornelius 
was born Nov. 27, 1798 at B ridgewater, Mass., married 
Abigail, Sept. 3, 1822 at Ashby, Mass. He died in Coles Co. 
on Aug. 25, 1857 and was buried at Dry Grove Cem. Abigail 
was born Dec. 26, 1799 at Westford, Mass., died Sept. 28, 
1879 at Decatur, 111., buried at Ash Grove. They were 
Unitarians. Lucinda was born July 27, 1845 at Vevay, Ind., 
died Dec. 28, 1922 at Neoga, and was buried at Long Point. 
Her father, John Buchanan, was born Nov. 11, 1819 in Jeffer- 
son Co., Ind., married Elizabeth Jane Peters April 16, 1840 
in Switzerland Co., Ind., died Nov. 2, 1873 at Neoga and was 
buried in the Buchanan Cem. Elizabeth was born Nov. 12, 
1820 in Switzerland Co. and died at Neoga, Oct. 7, 1860 with 
burial at Buchanan Cemetery. 

James and Lucinda had (1) Mary, Sept. 30, 1868, married 
Frederick Caldwell March 27, 1890, died Sept. 23, 1891; (2) 
Rose Emily, born Sept. 15, 1870, died Nov. 2, 1894; (3) 
Carrie Adelaide, born June 14, 1872, married Joseph T. Dryden 
June 26, 1912, died Jan. 29, 1956; (4) John James, Nov. 28, 
1874, married Maude M. King, March 5, 1902 and died May 4, 
1932; (5) George Lyman, Jan. 26, 1877, married Maude Emily 
Lacy, Aug- 9, 1900 and died at Twin Falls, Idaho on June 29, 
1951; (6) Charles Cornelius, born June 10, 1879, married 

-299- 



Clerza Ethlyn Redman, May 24, 1890 and died at Chicago, Dec. 
28, 1945; (7) Robert Henry, June 9, 1882, married Eleanor 
Belle Dryden, Nov. 24, 1904 and died Dec. 20, 1967 at 
Pontiac, Mich.; Baby, Nov. 4, 1884, died Nov. 4, 1884; (9) 
Albert Benjamin, April 16, 1887, died March 25, 1889. 

Dry Grove Cemetery is about two miles south of Mattoon, 
111. Buchanan Cem. is a family plot, north of Neoga about 
two miles and east off the road along the 111. Central RR . 

CLARK, NOAH STRAIT, son of William E. and Elizabeth (Nita) 
Clark was born Jan. 24, 1841 in Gallia Co., Ohio and married 
Ella Susanna Allison, born Feb. 24, 1846 on Sept. 21, 1865 
in Gallia Co. where he taught school. Led by talk of higher 
teacher salaries in Illinois, Noah came to Jasper and Cumber- 
land Co. about 1871. Later he entered Medical School and 
became a surgeon and medical doctor. Noah died Oct. 26, 
1916 and Ella, Jan. 22, 1927. Both are buried in the Kedron 
Cem., Jasper Co., 111. Four children were born to them in 
Gallia Co.; (1) Maxwell Gaddis, Sept. 5, 1856 who died in 
infancy; (2) Albert Gallatin, Sept. 11, 1867, married Isa- 
bell McClure of Henry Co., 111. He died April 16, 1942 in 
Alva, Okla.; (3) William Harvey, March 14, 1870 and died in 
the same year; (4) Maggie Jane, Nov. 9, 1871, married Alonzo 
Williams and died April 19, 1955 in Flora, 111.; other child- 
ren were born in Jasper Co., Ill; (5) Elsworth Noah, 1873, 
married Alice Belle Palmer, died Sept. 22, 1936; (6) Oscar 
Edgar, Sept. 1, 1874, married Bertha Lancaster, died March 

15, 1933; (7) Rosa Gertrude, Jan. 28, 1879, died in infancy, 
buried in Kedron Cem.; (8) Flora Ellen, Sept. 20, 1880, 
married Ira Ball, died April 21, 1955; (9) Lucy Pearl, June 

16, 1885, married Willie McKinney ;died Dec, 1958, and 
buried in South Muddy Cem. in Jasper Co.; (10) Pluma Bell, 
April 22, 1887, (see latter); (11) Tracy Dell, March 16, 1890, 
died Dec. 6, 1895, and buried in Kedron Cem. 

Pluma Bell Clark (No. 10) married Appleton Blaine Clark 
(no relation) . Known by "App" , he was born Nov. 26, 1884, 
the son of Charles Clifford and Lizzie (Nichols) Clark, died 
in Indianapolis, Ind., and was buried in Island Creek Cem., 
in Jasper Co., 111. Their children are (1) Clifford Noah, 
June 30, 1913, married Maudeline Cox of Jewett. They had 
(1) Judith Marlene, June 21, 1936 and (2) Marjorie Eileen, 
May 10, 1938. He married (2) Eleanor Sander, Sept. 10, 1940 
and they have Dean Elder, who was born Sept. 11, 1941. 
Clifford does excavation work. (2) Albert Hiram, Feb. 25, 
1918 taught school until he was called to serve in World War 
II. Since his return, he has farmed the "home place." In 
1942 he married Edna Fogleman. They had a son and also a 
daughter, who was killed in an auto accident. (3) Appleton 
B. "Ab", Aug. 9, 1923, married Phyllis Graham, served in 

-300- 



World War II, died March 21^ 1950 and was buried in the Island 
Creek Cem. "Ab" managed a farm and raised Poland China hogs. 

The only daughter and first child of Appleton and Belle 
Clark/ born Nov. 16, 1911 was Vera Emma Jean, who graduated 
from Newton High School in 1930, graduated from Mattoon Hosp. 
Nursing School in 1933, and in 1934 married Charles Alonzo 
Nickum of Mattoon, 111. Vera and Charles had (1) Charles 
Clark, born Jan. 21, 1936 and (2) Jean Anne, born April 17, 
1940, both at Mattoon. In October, 1951, Vera was appointed 
Public Health Nurse of Cumberland Co., which job she still 
holds with her office in the Co. Court House. In 1952, she 
received her Public Health training at Peabody College, in 
Nashville, Tenn. In 1957 Charles Clark Nickum married Diana 
Shore, daughter of Dallas and Vinnie Shore of Greenup, 111. 
Both have bachelor and master degrees from E.I.U., Charleston 
and both teach in Robinson, 111. schools. They have (1) 
Bradford Lee, born April 21, 1958 and (2) Gregory Allen, born 
Aug. 29, 1960. In 1958, Jean Anne Nickum married Richard 
Green of Greenup. They have Lisa Jo, born May 14, 1960; 
(2) Julie Lynn, born May 18, 1962, and (3) Matthew Lee, born 
May 14, 1967. They farm south of Greenup, 111. 

CLOSSON, JOHN D., son of William and Lucy McMillan 
Closson, married Harriett E. Dobbins, Aug. 31, 1884. They 
were parents of six children: William H., Charles W., Minnie 
P., Albert M. , Sidney D., and an infant son who only lived a 
few days. Most of them were born in a little country home 
east of Union Center on their grandfather's farm. A few 
years later they cut the timber, cleared the land and built 
them a new home one and three-fourths mile north of Union 
Center. Three of the children became school teachers: Will- 
iam, Minnie and Albert. Albert taught for some 25 years; a 
few terms in Cumberland Co., but mostly in Coles Co. He 
married Lura Ingram, Nov. 2, 1919, after serving his country 
in World War I in the Navy. They had two children. Rex 
received his Ph. D. in Chemistry from Ohio State Univ. and 
then went to work for Shell Oil Co. in Calif, for one and 
one half years. Then he moved to Detroit and worked as a 
chemist there for over 20 years. While living in Detroit, 
he married and has one daughter, Marjory. He is now living 
on a farm in Coles Co. Geraldine married Albert Belus and 
lives in Colorado Springs, Colo. They have three sons. 

Albert and family moved to Rock Island, 111. where he 
worked during World War II at the arsenal. He retired and 
bought a new home in Colorado, but before he moved there, he 
died on Dec. 18, 1966. Lura moved to Colo, and she died 
there in Aug., 1967. They are buried at Rest Haven near 
Mattoon. Minnie married Frank Bensley on Jan. 5, 1908. They 
were the parents of two sons, one dying at an early age, and 

-301- 



Arthur, now a resident of Union Twp. He married Birdie Gut- 
right and is the father of two sons, Frank of Westfield and 
Cassius of New Mexico. Minnie and Frank lived on the Bensley 
farm until her death Nov. 21, 1937. She is buried at the 
Johnson Gem. 

William joined the navy and served his country for the 
duration of World War I from New York state. He married late 
in life to a New York girl. They had one son, William Potter 
Scoffield. He was affiliated with the hospital doing labor- 
atory work for many years until his death in Aug., 1960. 
Sidney married Ruth Askew, Aug. 13, 1921. He was a farmer 
for a few years. Later they moved to Gharleston where he was 
manager of the Wadley Go. until his death in June, 1945. 
They had a boy, Ralph, who is now living in Mattoon, and a 
girl, Erma Jean, now Mrs. Robert Sturgeon of Harpster, Ohio. 

Gharles, better known as "Nick", after the death of his 
father lived with his mother and farmed, helping her support 
and raise her family. He also answered the call of his 
country and served in the Army. He served as town clerk of 
Union Twp. as a young man. Nick cared for his mother until 
her death in 1927. In Sept., 1925, he and Porter Dodds 
started a little country store known as "Glosson and Dodds" 
at Salisbury, 111., Goles Go. On June 11, 1930, he married 
Tressia Stults. They moved back to the home where he lived 
as a small boy. They had three children: Gharles Dean now 
living in Carbondale and working in the post office there; 
Wanda June who died at the age of three, and Harriett Mae, 
now Mrs. John Strain of Danville, 111. John is affiliated 
with the office of the Hyster Gompany. In Sept., 1940 after 
a 15 year partnership, Nick bought the store and continued 
until July 4, 1942 when he sold out to Perry Green. Nick 
again became a farmer. He served as director for the old 
McMillan School District a few terms. He was elected the 
supervisor of Union Twp. for three 4 year terms. He was 
chairman of the Board three times and served on the Board 
of Review each time. Nick lived his entire life in Union 
Twp. , except during the war and short time he lived in the 
store. He departed this life on Dec. 27, 1962. 

GOGHONOUR, GHRISTIAN - his progenitors were natives of 
Wurtemberg, Germany. He was a native of York Go., Penn.and 
married Gatherine Marsh of Penn. Both of Gatherine's grand- 
fathers served in the Revolutionary War. Ghristian's and 
Gatherine's son, David, was born in Baltimore Go., Md. on 
Sept. 22, 1818. In 1820, the family moved back to York Go. 
and lived there until they moved to Fairfield Go., Ohio in 
1837. In 1839, David married Rebecca Mouser. This excerpt 
was taken from the writings of Becky's granddaughter, the 
late Rena Emrich Nicholson. "When Becky was eight, her 

-302- 



parents died and her Uncle Richard Buffington took charge of 
her and her little sister, Rachel. Becky was miserable with 
the loss of her parents and her sharp tongue did not endear 
her to her uncle. Then when he moved on, she was left to stay 
and work for Mr. and Mrs. Jones who operated a big tavern at 
the crossroads on the old Ohio National Highway. Since she 
felt lost and heart-sick, Becky was grateful for the hard work 
of the tavern. She ran errands, cleaned the travelers' boots 
and helped Mrs. Jones with the cooking and sewing. Mrs. Jones 
became Mother Jones to her and was increasingly fond of the 
girl. Becky was proud that her grandfathers had fought in 
the war that saved America from the English King, and a feel- 
ing of intense patriotism for her country was nurtured. As 
she grew into a beautiful young lady. Mother Jones watched 
over her as if she had been her own daughter. When a young 
man drove in one day with a fine rig and team of horses, he 
was carefully scrutinized. After several visits, he won the 
favor of Mr. and Mrs. Jones. They were pleased when he made 
shoes for both of them, which showed that he had a reliable 
trade and could offer Becky security. This young man was 
David Cochonour and he won Becky's heart. A number of men 
had gone to the great prairie in Illinois and had returned 
with reports of fine farm land for only a few dollars. After 
two years, the young couple, with a young baby, and as Becky 
would say "another under her apron", loaded their wagon with 
their possessions -- a few chests of comforters, quilts and 
linens, and as many provisions as they could forsee needing, 
and bade a fond farewell to Mr. and Mrs. Jones. Mother Jones 
ran back into the tavern and came out with a jug of pure 
whiskey which she gave to Becky. It was almost like syrup 
and a valuable addition to their stores, to be kept for 
medicine. Sometimes after walking many miles to save the 
horses, Becky would soak her feet in hot water while she 
nursed her baby and then rubbed her feet with a little of the 
whiskey. They found the Illinois land rich, some fresh 
streams, and many good trees, ash, oak, hickory, hackberry, 
elderberry and wild cherry. David settled his young wife and 
baby in a one-room cabin near the present Macedonia Church. 
Holes were cut for windows and door. David fenced in the cow 
and returned to Greencastle to fetch some of their possess- 
ions they had left there on their way out. The first night, 
David was gone, Becky had a bad time. A small pack of wolves 
approached the cabin and Becky stayed up all night keeping 
the fire going and waving a wooden brand in the doorway to 
keep them away. Just as dawn broke, she saw a boy on horse- 
back. It was the nine year old son of the Phillip Emrichs. 
David had met the Emrichs soon after he set out for Green- 
castle, and Phillip had sent his son, Taylor, back to help 

-303- 



Becky. From that day Becky was fond of the Emrichs, especi- 
ally Taylor and it was the beginning of a long and close 
friendship between the Cochonours and the Emrichs. David 
returned in September and harvested wild hay, and with a cow 
and a calf which provided them with fresh milk, they got 
safely throught the first winter. David had put in some 
crops and also had made boots for the neighbors. It was a 
lonely and hard life^ but still they were happy. Their 
second baby arrived, but this event was overshadowed by the 
death of little Franklin, the first baby who had been sickly. 
David decided to sell his first property and they moved not 
far from there in Cumberland Co. near the Clark Co. line and 
established their home. (The same site where Aunt Vine 
Davids house now stands.) David Cochonour and Phillip 
Emrich each gave a piece of land from their property for a 
school and also for a church. (The schoolhouse was on the 
site where the Clyde Staleys' home now stands, and the church 
was just south of this -- this was later known as Yanaway 
School and Good Hope Church.) The men wrote to Boston and 
secured a Universalist minister. Both families were pro- 
gressive in their religious thinking." 

David and Rebecca Cochonour had seven children: Marion 
Green, Mary Kate, Susan Rebecca, Lewis W., Perry L., Clark 
Harding and Douglas. Marion Green was born March 29, 1855 
in a home on the Clark and Cumberland Co, line. He helped 
his father with the farming until he was 18. He learned 
the carpenter's trade and in 1870 moved to Casey and engaged 
in the furniture and undertaking business. Mary C. (Kate) 
married William Kilgore of Jasper Co. She helped to rear 
her stepdaughter, Lillie Kilgore. (Lillie married Wilse 
Abraham who had a shoe store in Casey. Their daughter is 
Mary Abraham Ives.) In later years, Kate lived on North 
Eighth Street in Casey, 111. Susan Rebecca was born in 1847. 
Becky married John R. Emrich, the son of Charity Ratcliff 
who was one of the twelve children of John Ratcliff. John 
served with Gen. Morgan and Sherman during the Civil War. 
After the war he came to Cumberland Co. and engaged in farm- 
ing. It was there he met and married Becky in 1867. Their 
children were Perry, Rose, Ollie, Bessie and Rena. Of these 
children, only Bessie, who lives on South Central in Casey 
survives. Lewis W. married Hannah Hutchingson. They lived 
on a farm in the Vevay Park community. Their two children 
were Worth and Grace. Perry L. married Mary Ratcliff, the 
daughter of Moses and Sara Routt Ratcliff. (Moses was the 
eleventh child of John and Rachael Ratcliff. Several of 
Moses' children died in infancy and are buried in Macedonia 
Church Cem. Moses and Sara lived on various farms in and 
around Greenup and Jewett.) Perry and Mary's children were: 

-304- 



Monte, Lettie, Omer^ Ernest, Moses, Emza, and Harry. Emza, 
their only surviving child, lives at the Casey Nursing Home. 
Douglas married Laura Price. Their children were Lily, Clara, 
and Lydia. Lydia presently lives in Casey on North 9th Str. 
Clark Harding was born in 1857. He married Mary E. Gardner 
and they had five children: Willie, George, Owen, Norah and 
Jennie. Willie died at birth and his mother a short time 
later at the age of 29. Two other wives, Carrie Shoots and 
Ella Brimer, preceeded him in death. George and Owen farmed 
with their father in Clark and Cumberland Co. For some time 
they lived west of the Cumberland Co. line. Later Clark 
built a home two miles north of highway 40 on the Cumberland- 
Clark Co. line where he lived until his death in 1930. Be- 
sies farming, he was in the real estate business and was 
fortunate in having oil produced on his land. Owen married 
Louise Ratcliff of Londonderry, Ohio in 1909. Their two 
children, Clark and Mary were born in Ohio. In 1915, the 
family moved to the Boy Farm about 3 miles west of Casey 
where Clark and his family still reside. The farm now 
encompasses the Casey Thoroughbred Farm. In 1934 Clark 
married Ruth Bryan of Ada, Okla. They have three sons: Bob, 
Joe and Don; all three graduated from Florida So. College in 
Lakeland, Fla. Bob received additional education at the 
School of Law at the Univ. of Florida and is now a member of 
the Florida Bar Assoc. Joe married Jacquelyn Kline of Casey 
in 1964 and they live on the farm west of Casey where Joe is 
the manager of the Casey Thoroughbred Farm. Don is teaching 
physics and chemistry at Farina, 111. and on June 16, will 
marry Joanne Staley. Mary married Dr. Howard Johnson, son of 
Dr. and Mrs. L. H. Johnson. Howard served from 1942-45 in 
World War II in the Army Air Force Medical Corps where he 
became a flight surgeon. Captain Johnson was stationed over- 
seas for two years in North Africa and Italy. Mary and 
Howard's two sons are: Jim who graduated from So. Methodit 
Univ. at Dallas, Texas in 1967 and is now in medical school 
at Washington Univ. in St. Louis, Mo. Kent, the youngest son, 
is in Casey Jr. High School. In 1967 the Johnsons moved to 
their new red brick home a mile south of the Cochonour home- 
stead. Norah married John McKibben in 1911 in the Casey 
Methodist Church. They have a son, John, born in Albuquerque 
where they have gone for John's health. John Sr. died in 
1917 and Norah and her three year old son returned to Casey. 
Her son, John, graduated from the U. of I . He is now living 
with his wife Alice and children in Springfield where he is 
an engineer for the State of Illinois. Norah is now living 
at the Casey Nursing Home. She has lived there since the day 
the nursing home opened. Jennie married George Luby and moved 
to Palestine, 111. where she still resides. Her two sons, 

-303- 



George and Joe live with their families in Dallas, Texas, 
where they manage a chain of Luby Cafeterias in Texas, 
Colorado and Indiana. 

COEN, RICHARD R., born June 9, 1919 at Neoga, 111. He 
is the son of J. Elmer and Jennie M. (Gibbons) Coen. He 
married Ruth M. Kirk of Moweaqua, 111. on Jan. 31, 1943 at 
Neoga. J. Elmer was born Aug. 27, 1884 and married Jennie 
Sept. 9, 1909 in Shelby Co., 111. Jennie was born Sept. 5, 
1888 and died July 19, 1965. She was buried in the Zion 
Cem. Ruth, born May 29, 1923, was the daughter of J, Ray 
and Amanda Odessa (Poole) Kirk. J. Ray was born Oct. 15, 
1880 at Blue Mound, 111., married Amanda on April 21, 1920 
at Moweaqua and died Aug. 9, 1937. Amanda was born Sept. 
6, 1883 at Moweaqua and died April 21, 1955, and both are 
buried in the I.O.O.F. Cemetery there. Richard and Ruth had 
(1) Richard Ray, born July 14, 1944 and married Sherrie A. 
Grisham June 23, 1963 at Neoga First Christian Church; (2) 
David Dwight, born Aug. 6, 1945; (3) Donald Lyle, born Nov. 
24, 1949; all were born at Neoga, 111. 

COEN, WILLIAM D., the son of R. Stanley and Lelia E. 
(Dryden) Coen was born Jan. 9, 1916 in Cumberland Co. His 
father was born June 9, 1892 and his mother was born Nov. 
2, 1894. They were married Nov. 9, 1912 in Missouri. Both 
belong to the Christian Church. Wm. D. Coen married A. 
Ruth Kingery on July 3, 1946 in Douglas Co. Ruth was the 
daughter of Theodore G. Kingery who was born Sept. 12, 1900 
in Cumberland Co. Theo married Mary E. Brown on July 11, 
1919. She was born Sept. 29, 1901. Ruth's father died 
Aug. 27, 1956 and her mother died Aug. 26, 1956. Both are 
buried in Drummond Cem. William D. and Ruth have 6 children; 
Douglas W., born Oct. 15, 1947; Kathleen A., born Dec. 14, 
1948; Steven Daniel, born May 5, 1950; Timothy P., born June 

24, 1952; James L., born Oct. 25, 1953; Michael D., born 
April 4, 1957. 

COFFEY, JAMES LUTHER, born April 17, 1896 at Lerna, 111. 
is living at 817 So. 18th Str., Mattoon, 111. He married (1) 
Evangeline Nichols, Sept. 5, 1914. She was born at Neoga, 
July 20, 1896, died May 18, 1942 at Mattoon, and is buried 
at Long Point Cem. east of Neoga. Her parents were Nathan P. 
and Emma (Brown) Nichols of Neoga. James married (2) Susan 
Glines Metheny, July 17, 1945 in Arkansas. Susan is still 
living. Luther and "Eva" had: (1) Ailsa Gentry, born April 

25, 1915 at Martinsville, Ind.; (2) James Luther; (3) Conrad 
Hilton; (4) Sammie Mariej^ born Feb. 16, 1927 at Danville, 
died Dec. 10, 1927 at Mattoon, buried at Neoga. Ailsa 
married Grover Floyd Gentry, born April 3, 1915, on Dec. 25, 
1936 at Mattoon. Their children are: (1) James Conrad, born 
Nov. 11, 1943; (2) Niles Ellison, born Sept. 10, 1946; (3) 

-306- 



Kent David, born April 20, 1951; (4) Dennis Gene, born April 
25, 1952; (5) John Matthew, born Sept. 15, 1954; (6) Grover 
Floyd, Jr., born April 14, 1941. All were born at Quincy, 111. 
Grover Jr. married Cynthia Sue Scharnhorst, June 10, 1960 at 
Quincy. Her mother was Virginia (Schlueter) Scharnhorst. 
Grover Jr. and Cynthia have Laura Denise, born April 26, 1961. 
Their address is 1035 Jefferson, Quincy, 111. 

COFFEY, MELVIN married Winna May Pilgrim, a daughter of 
Samuel and Emily (Pilgrim) Cutright. Winna May was a daughter 
of Emily by a previous marriage. Melvin and Winna May had a 
son, Floyd Melvin, who was born Dec. 3, 1893 at St. James, 
Mo. Floyd came to Greenup, 111. in 1895 to live with his 
grandparents following his mother's death. He attended the 
Hamilton School west of Greenup. In 1910 he went to Gelena, 
Kansas where he worked in lead and zinc mines. Oct. 3, 1917 
he entered the U. S. Army at Camp Funkston, Kansas, and was 
discharged on May 9, 1919. He married Adoratha Creager in 
1919. They had two children: Winna Grace, who lives in 
Topeka, Kansas, and Warren Dale, who died Dec. 11, 1966. 
Floyd returned to Greenup in 1935 to care for his grandmother 
who then died in 1941 and was buried in the Greenup Cem. He 
worked for Ettelbrick's Mfg. Co. for 15 years. He is a mem- 
ber of the Pentecost Church in Terre Haute, Ind. where he is 
a trustee. Daniel Clarence Mitchell was born April 14, 1871 
in Greenup and died Dec- 12, 1938 and buried in the (Peach 
Orchard) Harmony Cem. north of Greenup. He was the son of 
William Edward, born 1846 in Lechina, Ohio and died in Greenup 
Aug. 2, 1878.) Margaret (Snyder) Mitchell, who was born on 
June 19, 1842 in Lechina and died Oct. 16, 1925 at Greenup. 

Bartus Commador Batty was born Jan. 14, 1852 in Marion 
Co. and died Feb. 23, 1919 at Greenup. He married Frances 
Isabelle Boxley who was born Oct. 20, 1857 in Princton, Mo. 
and died June 5, 1927 at Denver, Colo.; a daughter, Rachel 
Hartley, was born Sept. 15, 1879, Princeton, Mo., and died 
Oct. 24, 1965 at Charleston, 111. She is buried at Harmony 
Cem. Daniel and Rachel Hartley Mitchell were married Jan. 4, 
1899 at Greenup, 111. Their children were Anna Leona, who 
married Henry George; Eva Belle; lola, who married Omer Lowe; 
Mary Josephine; Edward; Albert; and James. Eva Belle was 
born Nov. 16, 1909, Greenup. She attended school at Greenup 
from 1914 to 1927. She married Otis Roberts, who died Nov. 
14, 1942. They had two children, Eugene, who married 
Virginia Lonbardi and Anna Mae who married George Bence. Eva 
worked for the Ettlebrick Mfg. Co. for 26 years. She is a 
member of the American Legion Aux. Post 565 and a member of 
the Pentecost Church of Terre Haute, Ind. Floyd and Eva 
'loffey were married Dec. 26, 1944. They have a daughter, 
Debra Bellene, who was born Nov. 8, 1953 in Mattoon. She is 

-307- 



a sophomore in Cumberland High School. Now she is a member 
of the Cloverlette 4-H Club. 

COLEMAN, CLAUDE, born June 17, 1900 in Douglas Co. is a 
son of William and Evalena Gross Coleman. The Colemans, 
natives of Cumberland Co., moved back into Cumberland Co. when 
Claude was small and he grew up on a farm south of Greenup. 
He married Hazel Votaw, born March 2, 1902. Her parents and 
grandparents were also natives of Cumberland Co., residing in 
Neoga where her mother still resides. Claude resided with an 
uncle in Paris while going to high school and graduated from 
Paris High School. After graduating from the U. of I . , he 
began his teaching career at Taylorville High School. He 
received his M. A. Degree from the Univ. of Wisconsin in 1927 
and from 1927 to 1935 was a graduate assistant, teaching at 
the U. of I. while working for his Doctor's Degree. He com- 
pleted his PH. D. in English at the U. of I . in 1936. He 
then went to Sul Ross State College, Alpine, Texas where he 
taught in the English Dept. In 1946 he came back to 111. to 
So. 111. Univ. in Carbondale, where he was a professor of 
English until he retired in 1967. Hazel too was a teacher. 
After graduating from the U. of I., she taught high school 
Mathematics. After her children were grown, she resumed her 
teaching and taught Algebra at So. 111. Univ. until her re- 
tirement. They now reside in Carbondale. They are parents 
of five children: Robert Votaw, born Nov. 29, 1926, married 
Kathryn Johnson and they have three children, Virginia Claire, 
Tobin (deceased) and Charles Votaw. They live in Kirkwood, 
Mo. Dorothy Alice, born Oct. 15, 1929, married Jerry Henry. 
They live near Grabill, Indiana. No children. Philip Yates 
was born July 10, 1931, married Wyona Smith. They have three 
children: Philip Smith, David Yates and Sidney (a girl) . 
They live in California, Pa., where he teaches in a college. 
Richard Gilbert, born June 4, 1933, married Patsy Johnson. 
They have four children: Connie Lynn, Craig Alan, Gary 
Anderson, and Christine. They live in Cincinnati, Ohio. John 
Stewart, born Oct. 15, 1934 married Nancy Hanson. They have 
three children, Susan, Scott and Stewart. John married a 
second time to Alice Johnson and lives in Evanston, 111. 

COLEMAN, WILLIAM WITWER, born April 27, 1912 in Cumber- 
land Co. is a son of William and Evalena Gross Coleman. On 
Sept. 6, 1932 he married Evelyn Musetta Cutright, born July 
3, 1911 in Union Twp., a daughter of Allen and Martha Jane 
Demount Cutright. William graduated from Greenup High School 
in 1930 and Evelyn graduated from Casey High School in 1929. 
She attended Eastern 111. State College at Charleston one 
year, then taught school two years; one term at LaFever and 
one at Plum Grove. They went to housekeeping in Greenup and 
both worked at Ettelbrick Shoe Co. several years. While 

-308- 



living in Greenup, their son William Earl was born, July 22, 
1933. He started to school there, attending his first and 
second year. Early in 1941 William entered defense work and 
they moved to Burlington, Iowa. Just before Christmas in 1941 
he was transfered to Joplin, Mo., where they remained about 
six weeks. They then moved to Dixon, 111. where he worked in 
the defense plant near Amboy, 111. After the defense work 
ended, he entered the carpenter trade. While living in Dixon 
their second child was born, Nancy Sue, Aug. 25, 1943. In 
the spring of 1947 they moved to Casey, 111. and William 
went into business for himself as a contractor carpenter. On 
Jan. 15, 1949, a second daughter, Judith Ann, was born. 
William Earl graduated from Casey High School in 1951 and 
the family moved to Urbana, where he entered the U. of I . 
in the fall. Shortly after going to Urbana, William was 
employed as a carpenter at the Univ. where he still works 
as a carpenter forman. Evelyn was employed in the Univ. 
Library, first in the stock room then in the mending 
department where college girls worked under her. She kept 
this position until she retired in 1963. In the fall of 
1955 they moved into a new house in the northwest part of 
Champaign where they now live. They are active in church 
work at the Church of Christ in Urbana. 

William Earl married Elizabeth Hopkins on Sept. 5, 1954. 
She was born Sept., 1933, the daughter of Robert and Lucy 
Allen Hopkins of Delavan, 111. She received her B.S. degree 
from the U. of I. in Home Economics (sewing) in 1954. 
William Earl received his B. S. Degree in chemistry in Jan., 
1956. They both worked in a science laboratory in Champaign 
while he was finishing school. Then he received an 
assistantship to the U. of Calif, in Berkley where they re- 
mained three years while he worked on his Doctor's Degree. 
Here their first son, William Allen, was born in April, 1958. 
After completing his Ph.D. in Research Chemistry in 1959, he 
accepted a position with the Araphoe Chemical Co. in Boulder, 
Colorado and went to work as a research chemist. Later, he 
was promoted to Vice President of the Sales Dept. In May, 

1960, another son, Jerome Lee was born. A little girl, Janis 
Kay was born in Feb., 1963. The Arapahoe Chem. Co. merged 
with the Syntex Corp. and they built a new plant at Freeport, 
Grand Bahama Island. William Earl and family moved there in 
July, 1967 and he is manager of the new plant. 

Nancy Sue Coleman graduated from Champaign High School in 

1961. She attended the University one and one-half years. 

On June 22, 1963, she married Robert Yackel of Alton, 111. He 
received his degree in Industrial Designing from the U. of I. 
in 1962. They now live in Denver, Colo, where he works for 
the State as an advisor on buying and placing computing 

-309- 



machines in various departments. They have a son^ Steven 
Allen, born Nov. 8, 1966. Judith Ann Coleman graduated 
from Champaign High School in 1966. She is attending 
Harding Christian College (studying mathematics and 
science} in Searcy, Ark. She works during the summer. In 
1967 she was life guard at the Champaign Country Club 
swimming pool; and in the statistic department at the 
University. 

COLEMAN, ELIAS was a son of Jacob Kuhlman and Barbara 
Emrich Kuhlman. Jacob was born April 6, 1784 in Center 
Co., Pa. On Jan. 6, 1807 he married Barbara Emrich, born 
May 6, 1788. Jacob died April 20, 1833 and Barbara died 
April 8, 1860. Elias was born April 5, 1820 and died on 
March 3, 1888. He married Sara Wolf, born Sept. 6, 1815, 
who died Nov. 1, 1894. The children of Elias and Sara 
were: Jacob A., born Nov. 3, 1839; Adam, born Sept. 6, 1842 
and died Oct. 8, 1862; Margaret, born Nov. 21, 1844 and 
died Oct. 23, 1845; Philip, born Sept. 25, 1846; Levi born 
Sept. 28, 1848; John, born Aug. 15, 1850 and died Jan. 8, 
1929; William, born Jan. 23, 1853; Starke, born Sept. 14, 
1865 and died May 7, 1875; Barbarry Elen, born Oct. 10, 
1859 and died Aug. 17, 1889. 

COLEMAN, JOHN, born Aug. 15, 1850 was a son of Elias 
and Sara (Wolf) Coleman. Aug. 14, 1880 he married Alice 
Cutright, born Dec. 10, 1862. She was a daughter of John 
and Elizabeth (Day) Cutright. They lived in Union Twp. in 
between Union Center and Timothy. They had a family of eight 
children: Rosa, born June 4, 1881, died Sept. 25, 1946, 
married Otto Kemper; Harvey, born June 8, 1882, died Nov. 21, 
1901, never married; Delpha D., born March 3, 1884, died May 
4, 1949, married Sam Cutright; George, born Dec. 5, 1885, 
married Elizabeth Lacey; Clova P., born Oct. 6, 1888, died 
Oct. 17, 1966, married Henry Volk; Clarrie, born March 20 
and died Aug. 7; Lenna Inez, born Sept. 4, 1894 and married 
Everett Cooper; Mary Fay, born May 5, 1904, died an infant. 
George and Lenna are still living. George in Casey and Lenna 
in Charleston. 

COLEMAN, GEORGE WARREN, born Dec. 5, 1885 in Cumberland 
Co., a son of John and Alice (Cutright) Coleman, married 
Elizabeth Lacey, born Sept. 6, 1891 in Cumberland Co., a 
daughter of Frank and Harriett (Cutright) Lacey, on June 6, 
1908. They spent most of their married life on farms in 
Union Twp. until after retirement when they went to live in 
Casey. Elizabeth died Dec. 19, 1967 and is buried in 
Cumberland Co. Cem. in Casey. They had six children: (1) 
Margaret Frances, born Jan. 12, 1909, married Palmer Roberts 
Dec. 22, 1928. They have three daughters. They live east 
of Casey. (2) John Harlen, born April 18, 1911, married 

-310- 



Ruby Shafer, Dec. 23, 1930. They have three children. They 
live on a farm north of Union Center. (3) Ralph Berlin, born 
July 1^ 1914 married Vivian Patchett, July 23, 1939. They 
have one son and live in Clark Co., east of Casey; (4) 
Maxine Fern, born July 6, 1917, married Lawrence Wilkins on 
April 16, 1938. They live in Champaign, 111.; (5) Marble 
Georgia, born Jan. 25, 1923, married Herschel Noblitt on 
Dec. 14, 1943. They have two children. They live at Oblong, 
111.; (6) Don Everett, born July 29, 1925, married Shirley 
Swanson, July 29, 1945. They have three children and live 
in Casey. These children all grew up in Cumberland Co. 

COLEMAN, JOHN HARLEN, a son of George Warren and Eliza- 
beth (Lacey) Coleman was born in Cumberland Co., April 18, 
1911. On Dec. 23, 1930 he married Ruby Doris Shafer, born 
Sept. 14, 1909 in Cumberland Co., a daughter of Eckard and 
Nora Emily (Cooper) Shafer. They live on the Shafer home- 
place north of Union Center. For many years Harlen has 
worked at construction work, mostly road work. At present. 
Ruby works at a factory in Casey. They are parents of four 
children: (1) Patricia Joann, born Dec. 14, 1932, died Feb. 
4, 1935 and is buried at Johnson Cem. near the Union Church. 
(2) James Howard, born June 28, 1935, married Barbara Bea- 
bout on Dec. 23, 1956. James works at construction work. 
They live in Casey. (3) Nora Elizabeth, born Aug. 9, 1938 
married Richard Leon Redfern on July 7, 1956. They have two 
daughters, Karen Rae, born July 6, 1958 and Kathy Elizabeth 
born Oct. 22, 1960. They live in Toledo, 111.; (4) George 
Alezander, born May 5, 1945 married Joyce Elaine Scott on 
Sept. 4, 1966. They live in Toledo. Both are attending 
E.I.U, at Charleston. The three Coleman children attended 
elementary school in Cumberland Co. and was graduated from 
the Casey High School. 

COLEMAN, PHILIP and Emily Jane Carrell were married 
around the year of 1864. They were born and raised near 
Greenup, 111. and Philip was a farmer and a carpenter. His 
parents came from Germany and could speak very little English 
Philip and Emily Jane were the parents of nine children, two 
daughters died in infancy. The other children were: Anna, 
William, Edward, Florence, Harriet, Arlie and Newton. Anna 
married Alfred Woodard; William married Lena Gross; Edward 
married Fannie McMorris; Florence married L. F. Jenkins; 
Harriet married George Brown; Arlie married an Alexander, 
first name unknown; Newton married Izora White. All of the 
immediate family are now deceased. 

COLEMAN, WILLIAM, a son of Philip and Emma Carrell Cole- 
man was born Oct. 27, 1873 in Cumberland Co. On April 1, 
1894 he married Evalena Gross, born Jan. 17, 187_, a daughter 
of Solomon and Anna Witwer Gross of Jasper Co. In the early 

-311- 



part of their married life they lived near Kemp^ 111., north 
of Charleston. Then they moved to a farm south of Greenup 
where they spent the latter days as long as they were able to 
care for their home. He did carpenter work and as he grew 
older^ loved to care for his garden and fruit. Before her 
marriagegf Mrs. Coleman taught school. As she grew older, she 
loved to care for her flowers. They were parents of six 
children: Lloyd, born June 23, 1895 in Cumberland Co., marr- 
ied Eithel Gwinn. They lived many years in Indianapolis, 
where he worked in a garage, then had a garage of his own. 
Here they raised five children, four boys and a girl. After 
his retirement, they bought a place in the country near 
Worthington, Ind., where they now reside. Elmer, born Sept. 
28, 1897 in Cumberland Co. married Bertha Clark. They too, 
live in Indianapolis where Elmer has done many kinds of work: 
garage work, carpenter and for several years he drove a May- 
flower Moving Van. He is now retired. They have one son 
and three daughters. Claude, born June 17, 1900 in Douglas 
Co., married Hazel Votaw. Both Hazel and Claude were 
teachers. They are now retired and live in Garbondale, 111. 
They have five children, one daughter and four sons. LaVera, 
born March 12, 1903 is a teacher. After teaching several 
years in numerous places, she went to Kankakee, 111. where 
she has taught social studies in the high school for many 
years. She will retire this year. She has traveled ex- 
tensively and enjoys raising flowers. Courtland, born July, 
1908 in Cumberland Co., married Eleanor Morgan in Arizona. 
They now live in California. For many years he has been a 
car salesman. They have one son, Cortland, who is now in 
the service. William, born April 27, 1911 married Evelyn 
Cutright and they live in Champaign, where he is a carpenter 
foreman at the U. of I . They have three children. William 
and Lena Coleman celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary, 
April, 1944 with "Open House" at their home south of Greenup. 
They lived to see their 55th anniversary before Mr. Coleman 
passed away Dec. 29, 1949. After his death, Mrs. Coleman 
made her home with her daughter Vera in Kankakee where she 
passed away in July, 1955. They were members of the Church 
of Christ and are buried at Hazel Dell. 

COLLINS, SCOTT ARLO, born Sept. 22, 1877 in Cumberland Co. 
was the son of Andy and Amy Collins Vankey. He was raised by 
his grandfather Lewis Collins and his grandmother, Rebecca 
Ruffner Collins. In 1895 he married Mary Alice Bemount, born 
March 7, 1872, a daughter of Dennis and Elizabeth Neese Bemount 
of Cumberland Co. He worked in the oilfields many years, 
starting as a roustabout, becoming a pumper and then a field 
boss. When he began working he worked in the fields around 
Casey and Oilfield. After becoming field boss, he worked at 

-312- 



Moriah and Dupo^ 111. After retiring from the oilfield, he 
farmed several years as long as his health permitted. Alice 
and Scott were parents of eight children: their first child 
died at birth; the others are: Edith, born July 14, 1898, 
married Lewis Grissom, March 17, 1920. He also was a field 
boss in the oilfields but over a much larger field. He is 
retired and they live near Brownstown, 111. They have three 
daughters and five grandchildren. Arthur, born March 31, 1900 
married Minnie Heath of Cumberland Co. Later he went to 
Calif, where he married Virginia Nirtell, then Nellie Grey- 
kowsky. He now lives in Casey. Electa, born Feb. 23, 1902 
married James Flenniken of Charleston. For many years they 
lived in Collinsville, 111. where he worked as a carpenter 
for a chemical corporation. After his retirement, he worked 
at a motel until his death in July, 1957. They have a son 
and daughter and four grandchildren. Electa is now in Casey. 
Harry, born May 8, 1904 married Ollie Grimm of Collinsville, 
March, 1928. They have two daughters and five grandchildren. 
They live in Collinsville. Rosalee, born Sept. 24, 1906, 
married George Walker in March, 1952. He was a farmer and 
carpenter, now retired. They have a new home in Casey. 
Pauline, born Dec. 13, 1908 married Herbert Ghinn who lost 
his life in the Invasion of France in World War II. She is 
now married to Lyle Shull and lives on a farm south of 
Greenup. Juanita, born May 30, 1913 married Lester Cox of 
Coles Co. He works in an auto accessory store in Ind. They 
have four children and three grandchildren. Juanita lives 
in Casey. All these children were born in Cumberland Co., 
except Harry who was born in Richland Co. when the family 
lived there a year or two, and Juanita born in Clark Co. 
Alice died April 11, 1931 at Dupo, 111. and is buried at the 
Harmony Cem. After her death, Scott was married to Effie 
Carr Winnett. They lived on a farm in Cumberland Co. until 
his death Aug. 5, 1949. 

COLLINS, THELMA GRACE (Fitch) was born Nov. 23, 1896, 
second child of Edwin Albert and Etta May (Freeland) Fitch 
on a farm two miles west and two miles south of Hazel Dell, 
111. In fact, I was born on the same farm as my father was 
born on May 7, 1859. The only difference, he was born in 
a log cabin on the west side of the road, and I was born in 
a frame house a little farther north on the east side. This 
is where we both spent most of our lives. That house burned 
in Jan., 1919 and another one was built. It is still stand- 
ing and my younger brother, Clyde, and family live there. My 
parents were hard workers. However, they were not early 
risers. They burned the midnight oil doing the evening 
chores, much of the time, because my grandmother was late 
getting her chores done, and wanted to sleep in the morning, 

-313- 



and didn't want any stir. They milked the cows by lantern 
light, especially in the winter, even after grandmother was 
gone; also fed the horses and the hogs. They also fed out 
about 20 head of fat cattle for which I've seen ray mother 
draw water from an open well, using a big wooden candy 
bucket. Money was a very scarce article — like in Sam Leving- 
ston's book — "We had everything but money". My father used 
to say "Raise more cattle to get more money to buy more feed 
to raise more cattle to get more money". Of course, my older 
brother Ralph and I had our chores to do, but after walking 
two miles from school, we were hungry and the first thing we 
did was to uncover the table and eat something -- there was 
always meat and potatoes, or beans, and pie or cookies which 
I took to the crock of milk in the pantry, and proceeded to 
skim. Sometimes a little piece would let loose and go to the 
bottom of the crock. For that I got a scolding when Mamma 
found it. But, O -- it was worth it I My brother went to the 
cattle barn and cut corn for the fat cattle and threw down 
hay. It was my job to gather the eggs, and that meant climb- 
ing up in the haymow in the horse barn and cattle barn, be- 
sides looking in the_ hen house — those chickens liked to 
hide their nests. Then I had to carry in a big bucket of 
cobs or chips and wood for the cook stove and the heating 
stove. However, it wasn't all work. On Sundays, we went to 
Sunday School and once a month there was church. In the 
spring or summer we had Children's Day, in which all the 
children in the community took part. Also, on Saturday night 
every so often, everyone who like to dance gathered at a 
neighbor's house and danced 'till midnight. Most people 
didn't have anything on the kitchen floor, and they could 
have a dance any time, but others had their dance in the 
spring or fall when they cleaned house, and took the home- 
made carpet up to clean. Then there was the Greenup Fair, 
we hardly missed a day. We'd come home late and have the 
chores to do by lantern light; but we children went to bed. 
Also, there were Sunday School picnics all day, with basket 
dinners and after dinner, there was singing. There was more 
visiting too. After Sunday School, families went home with 
other families for dinner and to spend the day. 

Most of our elementary education was received in a country 
school — Baumgardner, and two years in Greenup. We children 
walked two miles except when it was too bad. Then Papa took 
us on horseback or in the buggy, or, if there were a snow on, 
we went in the bob-sled. Sometimes, when the snow drifted 
across the roads and fences, we could walk right over the 
fences. I remember my very first day of school — my Aunt 
Fay (Freeland) Aldrich was the teacher. Our desks were 
double and she seated me with my brother Ralph, who had gone 

-314- 



to school a year before. He didn't want me sitting with him 
so he put his feet up in the seat and pushed me out. It made 
me so embarrassed and mad, and I cried. She had to find 
another seat for me. I guess, if there was a disease in the 
neighborhood/ I got it. I was a very tiny baby when I had 
whooping cough, but I lived over it. I also had diptheria, 
and I can still remember how painful it was to get my throat 
swabbed. I guess there was one disease I failed to take — 
chicken pox. When we lived in Greenup, my brother took it. 
The folks kept me home^ thinking I would take it, but I 
didn't. I didn't take it when our children had it, or the 
children in my schools. My brother got the mumps and brought 
them home to me and mother. But, I paid him back — I got 
the measles and gave them to him. I guess the reason he 
wasn't at school was that he had to stay home and help with 
the farming, as it was in the summer. Our teacher was Elsie 
Wright Payne. After writing on the eighth grade final 
examination, my brother and I each got a scholarship in 1912. 
He beat me one tenth and got the scholarship from our town- 
ship — Crooked Creek, and since there was no one from Wood- 
bury Twp. , I received one too. (It may have been Cottonwood 
Twp.) In Sept., 1912, my brother, my cousin, Inez (Smith) 
Gray and I entered what was then the Normal School at 
Charleston, 111. For a month or two we had to room, until 
the folks could move. We graduated in 1916. I began teach- 
ing school that fall. I taught for two years and then got 
married April 2, 1918. My teaching days were over until 
1930, when I began teaching again. I taught 2 months, sub- 
stituting for Mrs. Faye (Bower) Kemper, at the Center School 
in Cumberland Co. Then I taught in Jasper Co., 111. The 
rest of my 31 years of school teaching was done in Cumberland 
Co. The children went to school with me until they were 
through the eighth grade. I finished my last year at Hazel 
Dell, 1950. We had consolidated and were in Unit C L, 
Clark Co. I was a substitute teacher for five years. 

We had five children: Charles, Beulah, Albert, John Lyle 
and Carl. We lost baby John Lyle when he was only 13 months 
old with double pneumonia. The others are all married now 
and have children of their own. We lost Charles in Sept., 
1958, in a car accident. He was a game warden. He left his 
wife, Marjorie (Watson) and little daughter, Emily Sue, who 
will be 13 years old May 13, 1968. They are living in Casey 
at the present time. Beulah graduated from the Casey High 
School in 1938, received her Bachelor's degree from Eastern 
College at Charleston, and her Master's degree at the U. of 
Denver, Colo. She taught in Hartsburg, 111. for 9 years and 
in Lincoln High School for 2 years. Then she married Walter 
Aide, and they have a son, Carl Walter, who was 13 on March 

-315- 



30, 1968. She has been teaching in Lincoln College for the 
past 6 years. Walter had a daughter, Dorene, who is now marr- 
ied to Norb Cieslewicz^ who is teaching band in Peoria, 111. 
She is doing substitute teaching. They have two children, 
Kelly, 8 years and Michael John, 4 years. Our third child, 
Albert went two years to Casey High School and then quit to 
go to work. He worked at farming then in an egg drying plant 
in Indianapolis, Ind. He was called to service, but did not 
pass the examination. He then went to Evansville where he 
worked in the ship yards, during the war. There he met and 
married Claudette Lester in 1943. They have two sons, Albert 
Walter, born in 1944 and Gary Lee, born in 1952. He has 
worked for the Forest Oil Co. for the past 17 years. He has 
been living in Casey, 111. for the past 3 years. Our fifth 
child was Carl Morris, born May 13, 1927. He graduated from 
Casey High School in 1944 when he was 17. He enlisted in the 
service and took ROTC. When he was 18, he was called to 
service and although the Armistic was signed with Japan, he 
was sent overseas and finished his service in Italy. After 
his discharge, he enrolled in college in Charleston where he 
received his B. A. degree. He taught Industrial Arts in 
Newman, 111 for 7 years, then was asked to come to work in 
the Newton Bank, where he worked for over 7 years. Here is 
where he met and married his wife, Rita Murphy on April 2, 
1953. They have two daughters, Carla Sue, age 14 and Jill 
Ann, age 11^^ years. 

I have two brothers, Ralph, born March 4, 1895 and 
married Edith Cook. They have 7 children. They live ih mile 
north of us. My younger brother, Clyde, born Aug. 6, 1910 
married Florence Kibler. They have two daughters, Barbara 
and Lois Marie. They live two miles south of us, on the 
home Fitch place, where we were all born. My husband, Walter 
whom I married (just 50 yrs. ago today) April 2, 1918, and 
I live on a farm 2 miles west of Hazel Dell, the farm my 
grandfather John Freeland owned and where he raised his 
family of six girls: Catherine (Mrs. Charles Smith), Ora 
(Mrs. William Burnett), Blanche (Mrs. Sam Miller), Frankie 
(Mrs. L. C. Markwell) , Etta May (Mrs. Edwin A. Fitch), my 
mother, the third daughter, and Fay (Mrs. Luke Aldrich) , who 
is the youngest and the only one of the family still living. 
She is 83 years old. Walter retired in 1961. He still takes 
care of 100 acres of the original 200, belonging to my grand- 
father, with the help of neighbors. I remember how we made 
our apple butter. It was my job to stir it with a specially 
made paddle, as it was cooking in a big brass kettle outdoors. 
Also, I remember how we made our own soap; we saved our wood 
ashes in a barrel, keeping a lid on it until we were ready, 
then, the night before, we'd carry water and fill the barrel. 

-316- 



The water would run through the ashes and make lye which we 
caught in a stone crock. This was used to eat the cracklings 
and it made a soft soap. Later^ Mamma learned to make it 
hard and cut it into cakes. Still later, she made beautiful 
white soap with sassafrass oil to make it smell sweet. 

COMER, NATHAN was born in Ross Co., near Chillicothe, 
Ohio on Sept. 15, 1835. He migrated to Illinois in 1852- 
1863, and settled in Cumberland Go. about seven miles north- 
west of Casey, where his grandson Kenneth Nathan Comer now 
lives. He was married to Malissie Ratcliff and to this 
union were born ten children, all of whom are deceased: 
Nancy Ann, William Francis, Simon Rufus, John Vinson, James 
Warden, Mary Ella, Sarah Etta, Miles, Jessie and Persilla. 
He enlisted on May 2, 1864 to serve 100 days and was dis- 
charged on Sept. 14, 1864. He was a private in Co. E. 148th 
Regiment of Ohio Infantry Volunteers. 

COMER, MILES was born Sept. 16, 1872 at the home where 
his parents, Nathan and Malissie Ratcliff Comer had settled 
after coming from Ohio. He married Myrtle May Beck on June 
4, 1899. Seven children were born: Glenn Dale, Audrey Marie, 
Miles Ray, Ruby Evelyn, Myrtle Bernece, Donald Deene, and 
Kenneth Nathan. He established his home in the northeast 
corner of Cumerland Co., near his father's old home. Late 
in his life he bought the home where his father had lived and 
his son Kenneth Nathan inherited it after his death. Miles 
Comer was a farmer, auctioneer, and played a fife and drum 
in what was known as a "Jaybird Band". His children's 
methods of earning their living were: two mechanics, two 
farmers, one teacher, and two office secretaries. He has 
13 grandchildren and 24 great grandchildren (three of whom 
are adopted) . Two of his grandchildren are teachers and one 
is a minister. Eight have served in the armed forces. 

COMER, KENNETH GENE, born in 1933 in Cumberland Co. is 
the son of Kenneth Nathan and Margaret Hosman Comer. In 1954 
he married Glenda Sue Emrich, born in 1934 in Cumberland Co., 
a daughter of Byron William and Ila Naomi Button Emrich. 
Kenneth is a farmer specializing in hog production. They 
live on a farm on the east side of the county near Casey. 
Both graduated from Casey High School and Kenneth has a 
B.S. degree from the U. of I . Glenda Sue has been active in 
P.T.A. and Civic and local affairs. Their hobbies are music 
and reading. Kenneth was in the U. S. Army from 1955 to 
1957. Kenneth and Sue have three children: Deborah Lynn, 
born in 1957 in El Paso Co., Colorado Springs, Colo. Stanley 
Evan, born in 1959 in Vigo Co., Terra Haute, Ind. Carole Alane 
born in 1962 in Hamilton Co., Noblesville, Ind. 

COMER, THOMAS N., born Feb. 6, 1894 was a son of Simon 
Rufus and Laurae Edman Comer. July 26, 1919 he was married 

-317- 



to Elsie Stults, born June 27, 1896, a daughter of Lewis 
Albert and Cora Wood Stults. Thomas was born in Coles Co. 
and Elsie was born in Indian Territory, now the state of 
Okla. Her parents were raised in Cumberland Co., but had 
moved to the Territory where they resided several years 
before coming back to Illinois. Thomas served in World War 
I. Elsie and Thomas spent most of their life in Union Twp. 
living about 29 years in the same place near the Clark Co. 
line in the Yanaway School District. Here all their 
children were born and reared, attending school at Yanaway. 
Thomas was a pumper for the Ohio Oil Co. In the late 1940 's 
he was transferred to the oil field south of Robinson, 111. 
where they moved and spent two or three years until he re- 
tired. After retirement they returned to their home. They 
then bought a home in Casey where they lived until their 
death. Elsie passed away Jan. 14, 1965 and Thomas, April 
13, 1967. They are buried at Macedonia near the church they 
had attended so many years. The Comers were parents of 7 
children: (1) Phyllis, born June 4, 1920, married Lowell 
Applegate, Dec. 2, 1939; they live in Casey and have one 
daughter; (2) Thomas D., born Nov. 8, 1922 married Mary 
Ferguson, Aug. 6, 1961. They live at Grandridge, 111. and 
have one son; (3) Harold, born April 17, 1924 married Wanda 
Wolfe, Feb. 26, 1949. They live in Casey and have two 
daughters and one son; (4) June, born June 27, 1925 lives 
in Casey and has never married; (5) Jack, born Nov. 8, 1927 
married Catherine Ryan, July 9, 1950. They live in Phoenix, 
Ariz., and have two daughters; (6) Bobby, born June 3, 1932 
married Margaret Armstrong. They live in Elmhurst, 111. and 
have two children; (7) Jerry, born Feb. 1939, married Neva 
Bennett, June 1, 1962. They live in Casey. 

COMER, WILLIAM FRANCIS, a son of Nathan and Malissie 
Ratcliff was born June 15, 1860 near Chillicothe, Ohio. They 
came to Illinois when he was very young. William married 
Sarah Gossett and they were parents of two sons, Rov and 
Arthur. Sarah passed away and William married Jossie 
O. Delia Easton of Hutton Twp., Coles Co., on Dec. 25, 1902. 
Delia was born Jan. 31, 1874, a daughter of John and Erissa 
Berkley Easton. They lived on a farm in the northeast part 
of Cumberland Co. William died May 1, 1948 and is buried at 
the Macedonia Cem. After his death, Mrs. Comer moved into 
Casey where she lived until her death Sept. 15, 1965 and is 
buried in the ^Gasey- Cem. William and Delia were parents of 
ten children: (1) Eunice, born in 1904 marrried Irvin Laymon 
(2) Lenora, born in 1905 married Owen Laymon; (3) Elsie, born 
in 1908 married Wayne Miller; (4) Clara, born 1910 married 
Earl Ramsey; (5) Dorothy, born 1911 married Wayne Taggart; 
(6) Edith, born 1912 married Willis Cox; (7) Robert, born in 

-318- 



1913 married Hazel Culbertson; (8) Faye, born in 1915 married 
Allen O'Dell; ,{9) Mary Lucille died at the age of 18 months, 
and (10) Lula died at the age of 9 months. 

Roy Comer married Zella Watters and lives north of Casey. 
Arthur Comer married Alma Cutright and they live in Casey. 

CONN, DON^ son of Claud and Gladys (Harling) Conn, born 
Dec. 11, 1929, northeast of Tuscola, 111., moved to Lancaster, 
Ky. in 1933 or 1934. Moved back to the farm northeast of 
Broadland, 111. in 1935 or 1936. Don started school at 
Vermilion Bridge School in 1936. Moved to a farm east of 
Villa Grove, 111. in the spring of 1937, moved to a farm 
wouthwest of Tuscola, 111. in 1939. Finished school at 
Tuscola High School in 1948, joined the U. S. Navy on Dec. 
6, 1948. While in the service, Don was stationed at Memphis, 
Tenn., Atlantic City, N.J., was discharged at Philadelphia, 
Pa. on Dec. 5, 1949, but re-enlisted Dec. 6, 1949. His 
final discharge came at Great Lakes, 111. in Dec. 6, 1955. 
After leaving the service, he farmed for 5 years with his 
father, west of Tuscola. Don married Nina May (Feltner) 
daughter of Commendore Wayne and Ina Lorene (Floyd) Feltner 
of Greenup, 111. in Nov. 2, 1952, to this union were born 
three children: Teresa Ann, Linda Kay and Charles. Don 
quit farming and started working at U.S. Industrial Chem- 
icals on Jan., 1958 in Tuscola. They then moved to Bourbon, 
111. Feb., 1959. 

CONNELL, JOHN LOGAN, born near Clinton, Dewitt Co., I 11. 
March 31, 1858, a son of James and Johanna (McMahon) Connell 
who came from Ireland. James was born Sept. 29, 1825 in 
County Kerry, Ireland. He emigrated to America with his 
brother in 1845. On board the same ship was Johanna McMahon, 
born May 17, 1826, in Milltown, Molbay, County Clare, Ireland. 
The young people did not meet at this time. When they were 
nearly across, a storm blew up, driving the ship far off its 
course, having intended to land at New York. After three and 
one-half days the winds calmed, and all on board were ex- 
hausted from pumping water to keep the ship afloat, when 
they landed at Quebec Canada. In time, after rest and re- 
pairs, they landed at Buffalo, New York, where an epidemic 
of cholera was raging, and all the work the brothers could 
find was carrying out the dead. John's brother took the 
disease and died. In making his way westward, James met 
Johanna McMahon in Green Co., Ohio, and they were married 
Dec. 25, 1853, and lived there until some of their children 
were born. And to James Connell, who had played around the 
beautiful lakes of Killarney, this wild country must have 
been a great challenge. The family moved to Dewitt Co., 
in 1857 where their third son, John Logan, was born in 1858. 
They moved on to Taylorville, then to Pana, 111. and in 

-319- 



1866^ into Cumberland Co., a half mile west of the Baptist 
Church, near Johnstown^ buying 40 acres of land, and with 
son John, acquiring more land over the years. Here, James 
and Johanna lived for the rest of their lives. They built 
a new house east of the log one, which, as more rooms were 
added, became a commodious home. Recently, 1955, the old 
Connell house was demolished so another landmark about the 
village is gone. James died Jan. 8, 1900 and Johanna, his 
wife, died July 21, 1901. Burial place of the Connell family 
is the Janesville Cem. The Connells were Catholic, but no 
church was available, so they eventually joined the Baptist 
Church. They were parents of nine children, only five sur- 
viving: Michael ran away from home as a boy; Charles, born 
Sept. 5, 1856, in Green Co., Ohio, married Sarah Ann Mills, 
born Aug. 15, 1858, at Sadorus, 111., daughter of Daniel A. 
and Louisa (Franklin) Mills. His grandfather, Abner Franklin 
was a brother of Benjamin Franklin, early American statesman; 
John Logan, our subject; Jenny, married Will Goodman; Flora 
married Thomas Harris. 

John Logan, farmer and stockman, lived all his life on 
the family farm. He like horses, was a good hand at break- 
ing the wild ones brought here by traders. At the age of 
20, on Christmas Day, he was thrown from a horse and suffered 
a broken back, which left him permanently crippled, a cond- 
ition he ignored as much as possible. When there was yet 
no organized mail route, the fathei^"e^ James Connell had the 
job of packing the mail from Farmington to Johnstown. With 
his passing, John assumed this task, and for some months 
served as the Johnstown Postmaster. Oct. 10, 1895, John 
was married to Alicia Jane Marlott, daughter of Charles and 
Mary Marlott, born Sept. 26, 1879, in Brownstown, Ind. 
She came to Johnstown at the age of 15, to remain all her 
life. John died Dec. 3, 1939 and Jane died suddenly of a 
heart attack on Aug. 31, 1952. They were staunch Baptists 
and republicans. 

John and Jane were parents of three children; born near 
Johnstown, Cottonwood Twp. : Mary Olive, born Feb. 9, 1898, 
married Lester Beals ; Beulah Marie, born Sept. 16, 1899, 
married Charles Hillard; James McKinley, born June 8, 1901, 
married Pearl Cougill. Jim was a merchant and mayor of 
Toledo for many years. Charles Hillard, a carpenter and 
farmer, was a merchant in Johnstown for a time. He is a 
Democrat and served one term as Town Clerk of Cottonwood 
Twp. They were parents of three children: John Henry, born 
Aug. 11, 10 aS ^ Marian Faye, born Dec. 13, 1924, married 
Charles Thompson; and Larry Joe, born Feb. 25, 1928, marr- 
ied Doris Erickson. John Henry, called "Jack", narried 
three times, first Amber Lee Barrett, second Nell Davis, 
and third, Sally 

-320- 



CONNOR, CHARLES MILTON, was born on a farm about 5 miles 
southeast of Neoga, in Spring Point Twp., Cumberland Co. on 
April 13, 1872, a son of John Tipton and Jacy (Carr) Connor. 
His great-grandfather, Tarrence O'Connor, was born in Ireland 
about 17 58 and when 18 years of age, ran away from home and 
took passage on a sailing vessel, arriving in the colony of 
Virginia in 1776. He married Sarah J. Speaks (for Sprake) 
about 1780 and they eventually settled in Perry Co., Ind. , 
where he died in 1841. Samuel Connor, the grandfather of 
Charles Connor was born in Fairfax Co., Virginia, May 15, 
1783 and married Elizabeth Claycomb in Breckenridge Co., 
Ky. In 1806 he moved to Perry Co. in Indiana near Rome, 
where his wife died Oct. 30, 1820 in her 35th year. He was 
married then to Nancy Hyde, July 4, 1821. It was to this 
union that John Tipton Connor was born, Jan. 5, 1843. He 
grew up and went to school in Rome, Perry Co., Ind., and in 
1870 he left and settled in Spring Point Twp., Cumberland 
Co., 111., where he was engaged in farming for a number of 
years. He then moved to Toledo and became publisher of the 
Toledo Express, a Republican organ, of which he was the 
proprietor for more than 15 years. He was a leader of the 
Republican Party commander of the local post of the Grand 
Army of the Republic, and was for 12 years postmaster of 
Toledo, and a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He 
died Feb. 14, 1914. His wife Jacy (Carr) Connor was born 
May 9, 1850 at Rome, died Nov. 8, 1914. 

Charles Connor (1872-1962) attended the country schools 
in Cumberland Co. and DePauw Univ. and was graduated from 
111. Wesleyan Univ. at Bloomington, 111. with the degree of 
Bachelor of Laws as a member of the class of 1895. Admitted 
to the bar the same year, he took up his residence and pro- 
fessional activities at Toledo. He practiced law from 1895 
until his retirement in 1955 in Toledo, during which time he 
was a member of the Cumberland Co. Bar Assoc, and the 111. 
State Bar Assoc. Fraternally he was past Chancellor of the 
Knights of Pythias and past noble grand of the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows. He was a member of the Danville 
Consistory and was the first president and charter member of 
the Toledo Kiwanis. Mr. Connor was very active in politics, 
being a past chairman of the county central committee of the 
Republican party. He served as mayor of Toledo, was on the 
school board for 6 years and the board of town trustees for 
for 3 years, and acted as Master in Chancery for Cumberland 
Co. On June 3, 1903, Mr. Connor married Miss Clyta McNutt 
(1882-1945) of Charleston, daughter of Samuel and Ruth McNutt, 
Her father came to Illinois just prior to the Civil War. Mrs. 
Connor was educated in the schools of Coles Co. and the State 
Teachers College at Charleston. Both Mr. and Mrs. Connor 
were very active in the Toledo Methodist Church. Two 

-321- 



children were born to this marriage. Ruth Elizabeth, born at 
Toledo, August 25, 1906, a graduate of the Toledo High School, 
a Bachelor of Arts honor graduate of the University of Illinois, 
a member of the Sigma Kappa sorority, who married Wilton A. 
Carr, of Toledo, June 16, 1930. She died August 23, 1966. 
Their other daughter, Kathryn Jacy, was born at Toledo, April 
12, 1910. She was a graduate of Toledo High School and the 
University of Illinois class of 1932, and married Farrell Hod- 
ges who is now deceased. 

COOK, CHARLOTTE MAY, was born April 14, 1868 in Woodbury 
Township, Cumberland County, Illinois. Her parents were Thomas 
and Charlotte (Bee Bee) Cook. She died June 4, 1953 at the 
home of her daughter, Mrs. Ollie Claar and was buried in 
Leith Cemetery east of Mason, Illinois. There is no informa- 
tion available about Charlotte's grandparents. 

Thomas was born May 11, 1819 in Claiborne County, Tennessee. 
It is thought that he was buried in the Elliott Cemetery near 
Greenup, Illinois. Charlotte, the mother, was born September 
20, 1829 in Clermont County, Ohio. She is probably buried in 
Coles County, Illinois, near Paradise Lake. 

John Wesley Bryant was born February 26, 1851 in Watson 
Township, Effingham County, Illinois, the son of William 
(1825-1880) and Eliza Loy (1831-1911) . The parents are buried 
in the Loy Cemetery in Watson Township. 

John Wesley and Charlotte May were married January 6, 
1885. Their seven children were born in Effingham County. 
Rolla Thomas was born October 10, 1885. He died April 1, 1962 
and was buried in the Leith Cemetery. His wife's name is 
Lettie Bushue. 

William Jennings was born October 10, 1887. He died at 
the Effingham Hospital, June 17, 1966, and was buried at 
Leith Cemetery. He first married Effie Warner and married 
his second wife, Edna McManaway in Louisville, Clay County, 
Illinois . 

Edna Eva was born July 10, 1891 and died August 29, 1964 
at Victory Hospital, Waukegan, Illinois. She married Fred 
Pingle in Washington, D. C. 

Ross was born November 9, 1894 and is making his home at 
the Soldier's and Sailor's Home in Quincy, Illinois. He 
served in the Army during World War I. 

Olive was born January 9, 1896. She married Harry B. 
Claar on April 7, 1917 in Effingham, I llinois . 

Bruce Henry was born July 5, 1898. He married Elma Lucy 
McCoy, July 17, 1926 in Vandalia, Fayette County, Illinois. 
Bruce served in the Navy during World War I. 

Gladys Leona was born June 4, 1902 in Union Township, Ef 
Effingham County. She married Milton Benham in Granite City 
City, Madison County, Illinois. 

-322- 



COOK, JAMES B. was born in Ohio March 10, 1818. His 
father's name is not known, his mother's name was Abagail 
Kennard, born about 1790 in Pennsylvania. Abagail remarried 
about 1825 to John Sherwood, a widower with several children. 
They lived on a farm in Perry County, Ohio where their two 
children were born; Harlow O. and Samuel B. Harlow came to 
Illinois in 1860. His biography is given elsewhere in this 
history . 

On June 19, 1839, James and Anna Charlotta Chidester of 
Union Furnace, Ohio, who was born July 25, 1822, were married 
in Logan, Ohio. Anna was the daughter of James Chidester • 
born February 12, 1785 in New Jersey near Delaware Bay, died 
July 17, 1857 at Union Furnace, and Anna Charlotta Bugh, born 
Jan. 26, 1785 in Lancaster, Pa., died Dec. 20, 1836 in Ohio. 
Anna's paternal grandparents were Eliphalet Chidester, born 
December 12, 1750 in New Jersey, died Feb. 12, 1821 at Bruceton 
West Va., and Mary Adams, born in New Jersey Feb. 5, 1751, 
died about 1821. Her maternal grandparents 

were Peter Bugh born December 26, 1753 in Germany, died Oct. 
11, 1819 near Somerset Ohio, and Catherine Maverstic, born 
June 14, 1751 in Germany, died July 7, 1821 at Somerset, Ohio. 
Both Eliphalet Chidester and Peter Bugh were Revolutionary 
Soldiers . 

James Cook operated a wagon manufacturing business in Logan 
where nine of their thirteen children were born. Miles on 
June 24, 1840; Elizabeth on July 3, 1842; Jesse C. on May 27, 
1844; Sarah on March 27, 1846; Joseph M. on March 5, 1848; 
Henry C. on Feb. 4, 1850; Anthony K. on Sept. 2, 1852; an in- 
fant believed to have been named Peter who died on the day of 
his birth, Dec. 18, 1854 and Crumel born Jan 12, 1856 who died 
on Nov. 20, 1856. In 1855 James traveled to 111. by stage and 
train. Three of his brothers had preceeded him and were living 
in or near Greenup; Zebulon and his wife Maria, Abram who was 
the first town clerk of Greenup and his wife Mary, and John 
and his wife Barbara. James bought some farm land near Neoga 
and returned to Logan to prepare for a move to Illinois. He 
sold his home and business, bought wagons and horses and laid 
in supplies. The account of the trip is preserved in a letter 
which Sarah, who was eleven when the family started out in 
Sept. 1857, wrote to her brother Chace in 1918. She says that 
they had "two nice wagons and four nice good stout horses." 
James drove one wagon and Miles, who was 17, the other. Neigh- 
bors gave them going away presents of food, a pyramid of loaf 
sugar, two bottles of port wine and so many apple pies that a 
"pile" of them had to be thrown away soon after the start. It 
had been planned that except for James and Miles who would stay 
with the wagons, the rest of them would sleep at farm houses 
along the way, but on the third night Anna walked out on this 

-323- 



arrangement because of the "fiddling and dancing" that was 
going on. For the remainder of the two or three weeks trip 
over about a 350 mile route^ they slept in the wagons, bought 
fruit and bread along the way and as Sarah says "got along 
fine, got a little tired at times, perhaps." One can easily 
believe that their journey was typical of those of the families 
who joined that tremendous migration westward in that period. 
Presumably they followed the Old National Road, now U.S. Route 
40^ as there were few other through roads available. They 
stopped for a few days at Brother Zebulon's and Brother Abram's 
whose wives Maria and Mary helped them get cleaned up and rest- 
ed after the trip. 

In the spring James built a new house on the southeast 
corner of Franklin and Pleasant Streets which the older resi- 
dents of Greenup will remember as the Park Hotel of the late 
1800 's and early 1900 's. James engaged in various real estate 
and business ventures including a grocery store located on 
Cumberland Street north of the Square, where the Greenup Press 
office is now located. He was a strong churchman and vigorous 
opponent of the liquor business. 

Four more children were born in Greenup to add to those 
born in Logan. All the children and their descendents are 
listed below: 

Miles Cook, a Civil War veteran married Louisiana Smith 
of Laclede, Missouri and they had one son, James, born 1871. 
After Miles' death Aug. 25, 1878, his widow remarried and their 
son James lived with his grandparents and after their death 
with his Aunt and Uncle, Mr. and Mrs. J. M. Cook. James 
married Margaret Wheat of Greenup and they had three children; 
Edith (Mrs. Cal Crum) , Ethel (Mrs. Faye Foster) and Arnold. 

Elizabeth Cook married B. M. Davied, lived in Topeka, 
Kansas 1875-1891, moved to Chicago, resided there until her 
death April 9, 1899. They had two children, Charles and Mrs. 
Joseph LeRoy and several grandchildren. 

Jesse C. Cook , died August 12, 1864, while serving in 
the Army of the Cumberland. He was unmarried. 

Sarah Cook married Adoniram Judson Ewart of Greenup on 
February 25, 1856, moved to Topeka, Kansas where Mr. Ewart 
was in the lumber business until 1908 when they moved to Bir- 
mingham, Alabama. Sarah died November 10, 1923 in Chicago. 
Her daughter Cleo married a Mr. Strawbridge. There were 
other descendents . 

Joseph M. Cook's biography is given below. 

Henry C. Cook married Laura B. Pearman. They had two sons, 
Ferdinand, who married Bertha Huston of Greenup and lived for 
many years in East St. Louis, and Miles who lived in St. Louis. 
Henry died in Greenup Jan. 13, 1882; Anthony K. married Margaret 
C. Willard. Four of their children died in infancy. Their 

-324- 



daughter May married Toby Travis in Greenup and had two child- 
ren, Thelma and Margaret. Anthony died May 14, 1894. His 
widow married John Talbot; Emma S. was born in Greenup June 
12, 1858 and died April 25, 1876. Hattie F. was born April 8, 
1861 in Greenup. She married Frank Crandall of Paris, 111. 
on April 9, 1879, and had two children. May and John, and died 
April 13, 1921. There were other descendents: Ettie May, 
born in Greenup April 2, 1863, died Dec. 18, 1882; Marcus Chace 
born in Greenup Sept. 1, 1865, married Susan R. Perisho of 
Paris, 111. on Dec. 18, 1886. They had two children, Leander 
P. and Lulu Belle. Chace died in Laredo, Texas, Oct. 3, 1925 
and Susan died June 3, 1927 in Paris. Chace and Susan were 
buried in Laredo. Their daughter Lulu Belle died Oct. 8, 1925, 
three days after her daughter Adabelle was born. Leander and 
his wife Bessie had no children but raised Adabelle who married 
Ken Rossman of Detroit. Leander, Bessie and Ken operated a 
real estate business in Detroit. 

James B. Cook and Anna lived out their lives and were 
buried in Greenup. James died April 19, 1881 and Anna died 
March 6, 1884. They were truly pioneers in the building of 
the Midwest. 

Joseph Marion Cook, the fifth child of James B. and Anna 
C. Cook was born in Logan, Ohio March 5, 1848 and came to 
Greenup with the family in Sept. 1857. He attended grade 
school in Logan and Greenup. There were no high schools there 
then. In the late 1860 's he attended the Illinois Industrial 
School in Urbana, 111. (this was the predecessor of the Univer- 
sity of Illinois). It was what would now be called a technical 
institute or trade school. There he was trained as a tinsmith. 
This was the period of railroad building to the Pacific Coast 
and with his brother Miles, Joseph went to work with the rail- 
road construction crews in the West. Miles' wife was Louisiana 
Smith of Laclede, Missouri, and it was through them that Joseph 
met his future bride, Elmira Frances Smith, Louisiana's sister. 
They were married in LaClede Jan. 10, 1869. The witnesses were 
Miles, Louisiana, and Mrs. Annah Burgundie Smith, Elmira' s 
mother. The newlyweds came to Greenup, arriving by stage in 
the winter of 1869. The weather was miserable and their boist- 
erous reception by Joseph's brothers and their friends was a 
memorable performance that Elmira never entirely forgave. 

Joseph, with his brother Henry, established an "Iron Store" 
on Cumberland Street, north side of the Square, next door to 
his father's grocery. The original store, as shown in an old 
photograph, was a single story frame building with a "two story 
front" inscribed "Cook and Bro. Hardware". That photograph, 
probably taken about 1880, shows the dirt street and the wood 
sidewalk, with a stack of grindstones beside the door. This 
building with a front of about 25 feet and a depth of about 40 

-325- 



feet housed the business until the mid-90 's when it was moved 
to the back of the lot to make room for the building of a new 
group of four brick buildings which stand today. The old store 
became the tin shop adjoining the new 25 foot by 80 foot hard- 
ware store. Brother Henry dropped out of the business sometime 
before his death in 1882. This old building was typical of 
the business buildings of Greenup in the middle and latter 
1800' s. Many of the old frame business buildings were still 
standing in the pre-World War I era, as were several of the 
old frame residences. The wood sidewalks of Greenup were not 
entirely replaced by brick and concrete until about 1910. 

Joseph and Elmira Cook were active in the affairs of the 
community. Elmira was a talented and vigorous woman who was 
a self-taught musician and artist, active in church affairs 
and social events. She was an expert at needlework, an 
imaginative cook and an enthusiastic flower and vegetable 
gardener. Joseph was "Uncle Joe" to both the children and 
the adults of Greenup, was universally respected and had a 
host of friends. He conducted his store in the easy and in- 
formal manner which was typical of the times. He confined 
his advertising generally to a block on the stage curtain in 
the theatre above the Town Hall and an insert in the County 
Fair Program. The copy never varied, "J.M. Cook — Hardware 
and Queensware — North Side Square." As small town retail 
stores of the time went, he prospered moderately. Their home 
was on the southeast corner of Kentucky and Pleasant Street 
to the alley and it was only a few steps from the back of the 
store to the residence. 

Joseph and Elmira had three children. Gladys, born Dec. 
8, 1873 was a member of Greenup High School's first graduating 
class. She operated a millinery store in Greenup for many 
years and married Frank Walker Dec 18, 1919. Gladys died Aug. 
3, 1945 and was buried in Greenup. Gertrude was born Feb. 3, 
1895 and died Aug 3, 1895. Joseph died May 20, 1908. Elmira 
died June 28, 1934. They are buried in Greenup. Benjamin 
Franklin Cook was born in Greenup Apr. 18, 1871. He attended 
grade school in Greenup and since there was no High School at 
the time he gained the practical equivalent of a High School 
education by home study and private instruction by Mr. Whight- 
sil, a local teacher. At the age of 17, he taught school in 
Jewett and West Union and in 1890 he entered the Civil Ser- 
vice as a Railway Mail Clerk, working the mail on trains of 
the Vandalia branch of the Penn. RR between Pittsburgh Pa. 
and St. Louis. He continued in the mail service 27 years 
until his death, rising to Chief Clerk. On Sept. 26, 1894 
he married Miss Bertha Ann Brewer of Terre Haute, Ind. They 
lived in Terre Haute until 1897 and had two children, Thelma 
born Nov. 26, 1895 and Morris, born August 2, 1897. Bertha's 

-326- 



parents were Henry Brewer^ born in Canal Dover/ OhiO/ Aug. 
18, 1843, died in Greenup Oct. 6, 1926, and Mary McCurley 
Brewer, born in Mahoning Co., Ohio Nov. 28, 1845, died in 
Terre Haute, Jan. 13, 1916. Henry was a Civil War Veteran, 
remembered by many in Greenup, where he lived for the last 
ten years of his life. Their third child, Lewis Ray was 
born in Greenup Nov. 24, 1906. He was an avid reader, 
collected a large personal library and was one of the organi- 
zers of the first public lending library in Greenup located 
in the bell tower of the school building. Their home was 
the first in Greenup to have central heating and bathroom. 
Mr. Cook was a vigorous opponent of saloons and was a leader 
in the Anit-saloon movement which was successful in driving 
the saloons out of Greenup under the local Option Laws. 

Mr. Cook owned the store property formerly the site of 
his grandfather's grocery store, the building now occupied 
by the Greenup Press. Bertha was a diligent worker in 
Community and church affairs. She was a steward and Trustee 
of the Methodist Church of Greenup, was a teacher and Superin- 
tendent of the Sunday School for many years. She graduated 
from Terre Haute High School (now Wiley) and from Indiana 
Normal (now Indiana State University) . She was County Admini- 
strator of the Food Conservation Program in World War I, 
served in the Red Cross, the American Legion Ausilary and a 
host of other public and community services. She died in the 
Mattoon hospital on Jan. 22, 1960. Benjamin died June 20, 
1917, after a long and painful illness. Benjamin and she 
were both buried in Greenup. 

Thelma Cook graduated from Greenup High in 1914, married 
Alvah Edson (Ab) Bowman of Greenup, a professional baseball 
pitcher on Feb. 14, 1915. Ab is Sales Manager for the Kelly 
Plow Co. in Long Texas. They had three children. Col. Donald 
S. of the U. S. Army, Mrs. Joan Hunter of Austin, Texas, and 
daughter Patricia who died shortly after birth. 

Morris H. Cook graduated from Greenup High School in 1915, 
attended the U. of I. for two years, worked as an automotive 
designer in Toledo, Ohio and Washington, D.C., served in the 
U. S. Marine Corps in World War I, and returned to the Univer- 
sity where he graduated in Electrical Engineering in 1921. 
When he retired in 1962, he was Vice President of the Bell 
Telephone Laboratories. He married Miss Frances L. Lynch of 
Battle Ground, Indiana on Aug. 13, 1932. They have four 
children, Joseph M., Robert S., Mrs. Elizabeth Boye, and 
Richard L. They have ten grandchildren and reside in Murray 
Hill, New Jersey. Lewis Ray Cook graduated from Greenup High 
School in 1923. He attended the University of Illinois 1923- 
1925, worked as a draftsman for the Western Electric Co. 1925- 
1927, returned to the University and graduated in Electrical 

-327- 



Engineering in 1929. Since graduation he has been awarded 
Master's Degrees in Electrical Engineering and Business Ad- 
ministration. He returned to the Western Electric Co. after 
graduation and after several assignments he was elected a 
Vice President and Director of the Teletype Corp., a Western 
Electric subsidiary. Later he returned to the Western Elec- 
tric Co. as Manager of Industrial Relations, and after trans- 
ferring to the company's headquarters in New York, he was 
elected a vice president. He is a Director of the Bell Tele- 
phone Laboratory and the Sandia Corporation. He married 
Miss Marie Roberts of Cicero, Illinois on Jan. 1, 1936. They 
have two children, Mrs. Judith R. Gordon and Terry Roberts 
Cook, and several grandchildren. They live in Murray Hill, 
New Jersey. 

The Cook family, at times in considerable numbers, lived 
in Greenup and vicinity for more than one hundred years and 
made their marks on that community. When Bertha died in 
Jan. of 1960^ the family record in Greenup was closed. 

COOK, THOMAS, was born May 11, 1819 in Claibourne County, 

Tennessee, a son of Henry Thompson and Hobbs Cook, 

married about 1852, first Charlotte Bebeern Sept. 20, 1829, 
in Clermont County, Ohio. He married second, Mary Jane 
Elliott in Cumberland County, 111, in 1872. Thomas died 
Nov. 11, 1890, in Cumberland Co., and is buried in Elliott 
Cemetery. Charlotte died about 1871 in Coles or Cumberland 
County, 111. Her mother's maiden name was Trout. 

The children of Thomas were (1) Henry; (2) Helen married 

Barbee, and had a son Art; (3) Olive married 

Smith and second ^Cox; (4) Thomas Jr. born 1859, in 

Missouri (5) Georgia Ann, born in 1861, in Illinois, married 
Miles C. Hart; (6) Jo Ann, twin to Georgia Ann, married Oliver 
Peters; (7) Marginis, born in 1864 in 111; (8) Charlotte May, 
born April 14, 1968, in Cumberland Co,, was married Jan. 6, 
1885, to John Wesley Bryant, in 'Effingham, 111., and had four 
boys and three girls. She died June 4, 1953 and was buried 
at Leigh Cemetery, Macon Township, Effingham Co.; (9) Isaac, 
born Dec. 31, 1874 in Cumberland Co., (second wife's child), 
married (1) Anna May Hall, and (2) Marie Zelda Best, and (3) 
Elizabeth Kelsey, was a Spanish American War veteran, and 
died Feb. 27, 1953, at Wichita, Kansas. 

The 1880 census shows Thomas in Woodbury Township, Cum- 
berland County, 111, with children Thomas, Jr., Georgia, Mar- 
ginis, Charlotte, Isaac and James R. 

COOPER, EVERETT, born June 27, 1891 in Coles County was 
the son of James William and Clara Cooper. On June 15, 1912 
he married Lennie Coleman born Sept. 4, 1894 in Cumberland 
County, a daughter of John and Alice Outright Coleman. Lennie 
and Everett lived several years in Cumberland County when they 

-328- 



were first married and their two daughters *'ere born here. 
They have lived in Charleston many years, v;here they worked 
in the factory until they retired. They have three children: 

Violet born in 1913 in Cumberland County married Flaud 
Jobe in 1955. They live in Charleston and have one son, Byron 
who is married. 

Elnora born in 1915 in Cumberland County married Karion 
Cassidy in 1950. They live in Charleston. 

James William born in 1921 in Clark County married Cecile 
Stewart in 1942. They also live in Charleston. 

COOTSH, ARTIi: ROoCO, born May 1, IS'. 5, son of James 
Matson and Mary Louisa (Padrick) Cooter on Feb. 25, 191-^ 
married Hope Dorthy Zwing, both of Cumberland Co., 111. 

James was born Aug. 10, 1855 in Monroe Co., Ind., married 
Mary Oct. 50, 1881, and died in Cumberland Go. March 18, 192?. 
Mary was born Feb. 26, 1862, died Oct. 15, 1915, Hope Dorthy 
was born Aug. 12, 1895 and died Nov. 10, 1956. All three 
were buried at Drummond Cemetery. Her father, ./hitney L. 
£wing was born Dec. 8, 1861, married Ruth Needham Feb. 19, 
1890, died Nov. 8, 1954 and was buried at Long Point Cemetery. 
Ruth was born Dec. 27, 1865 and died Aug. 9, 1949. Cumberland 
County was the home of this whole family. 

Artie and Dorthy had Mary Ruth, v;ho was born July 8, 1928 
married Robert W. McKinney May 11, 194?. 

Artie's maternal grandparents were ./illiam and Elizabeth 
Padrick. rJlizabeth was born Feb. 26, 1862 in Marion Co., Ind. 
and died in Cumberland Co. Oct. 15, 1915. 

Dorthy' s paternal grandparents were James McCulloch and 
Prudentia (Stone) iiwing. James was born in Vigo Co., Ind. 
July 51, 1825, died Dec. 6, 1899. Prudentia, born 1855 in 
Nev; York, died Mar. 9, 1899, and both v/ere buried in Long 
Point Cemetery, Cumberland Co. Prudentia 's parents v/ere 
Monroe and Laura (Whitney) Stone in New York State. 

The parents of Ruth Needham were John W. and Margaret 
(Smith) Needham. No dates. 

The parents of James McCulloch Ewing were Alexander and 
Margaret Linda (McCullock) Zv;ing. Alexander was born in 
Blount Co., Tenn., Feb. 15, 1799, and died April 27, 1851. 
His wife died Feb. 10, 1866 and is buried at Long Point 
Cemetery. 

COxiDES, M/iRI'I, son of LudolpL and Josephine (Campbell) 
Cordes was born in Cumberland County June 25, 1904. His 
father, Ludolph, was born May 12, 1862 near Hamburg, 
Germany. He died February 25, 1957 near Neoga. He was 
married to Josephine Campbell on October 5, 1595 • She vms 
born Oct. 7, 1875 near Trilla, 111.; died April 2, 1942 at 
Neoga and both of Mark's parents are buried at the Beal 
Cemetery. 

Mark Cordes married Pauline ihelps, born October 7, 1875 
at Charleston October 1, 1925. She is the daughter of Floyd 
Ellsworth and Ethel Pearl (Ray) Ihelps. Pauline's father 

-329- 



was born in 3helby County September 7, 1877 and died Feb. 
18, 1962, Floyd Ellsworth married Ethel learl at Ueoga Dec. 
31, 1908. She was born July 24, 1890 at Neoga and died 
Nov. 24, 1948. Both are buried in Zion Hill Cemetery. 

Hark and lauline have four children: Thelma Irene born 
January 18, 1950 at Neoga v;ho married Charles Edv;ard I^ussel 
July 12, 1945 at Corinth, Miss.; Betty Eloise, born Dec. 7, 
1932 at Neoga who married James Linden Parker Feb. 3, 1951 
at the Christian Church at Heoga; Donald ^arren born I^Iovember 
30, 1936 at Trilla v;ho married Mary Ruth Edv/ards Se];tember 2, 
I960 at the Royston Methodist Church in Cumberland Co.; and 
Evelyn Mae born Feb. 1939 at Trilla who married Delbert John 
Habing May 28, i960 at Shumway in Shelby County. 

COREY, GERTRUDE E. writes, "I have had an active life, 
attended church at Harmony and school at Lost Greek. On 
March 10, 1914, I married Levert J. Corey in Marshall, 111. 
.ve went to Michigan to live and I studied Fine Arts under 
Mrs. Claudia Moore who was a teacher in the Chicago Art 
Institute. 

In 1917 we, the Coreys and Guy Elder, started to Denver, 
Colo., where my parents, John and Elnora Elder, had gone for 
my mother's health. ^e stopped in Median, ilansas July 1917 
to visit a friend of my husband. This was during the big boom 
in El Dorado, Kansas, the first ./orld .-ar v;as on, and every- 
one was needed, so the men decided to stay there and v;ork for 
av;hile. We stayed almost ten years. This you can hardly 
believe I Such a small world 1 My art teacher, Mrs. Mcore 
and her husband, searching for health for Mr. Moore came to 
Midian, Kansas and opened an Art School. I was right there 
and took advantage of everything and studied another year. 
Later I taught in the Moore Studio. 

In 1927 v;e came to Denver, purchased a home, and I 
opened a Studio in my home. Later I opened my ov;n Art Shop, 
taught an Art Glass once a v/eek, and gave private lessons. 
One of my first students is now teaching in the Chicago Art 
Institute. In Kansas and Colorado as v;ell, v;e have been 
very active in community life — politics, ITA, Church, Lodge, 
and Youth Groups." 

She hopes to be in Cumberland County for the Fair t:iis 
year. 

Joseph Elder, married Mary Ann warmen. Son: william R. 
Elder married Catherine Johnson. His second marriage was to 
Mary Jane Cutright. 

John Tilford Elder v;as born March 29, 1870 at Greenup, 
111. He died Jan. 29, 1930 at Denver, Colo. Married March 
25, 189"^ to Elnora Batty by Justice of Peace, Ben McMillan, 
ivitnesses: Wm. McMillan and Steve Askev/. 

Elnora (Batty) Elder was born July 5, 1875, died July 
1, 1927, at Denver, Colo. To this union were born 12 child- 
ren, namely: (1) Cren G. Elder, born Aug. 5, 1895, and died 
June 29, 1948 at Los Angeles, Calif. (2) Gertrude Elder 
(Corey), born Oct. 11, lo96. (3) Edith Elder, born May 21, 
1898, and died Feb. 20, 1900, at Greenup, 111. (4) Ernest 



-330. 



Harvy, born Sept. 50, 1899, and died June 25, 1957 at Denver 
Colo., and buried in Crown Hill Cemetery. (5) Guy Milton, 
born Aug. 19, 1901, and died in Jan. 196? at Denver, Colo. 
(6) Fred Alvin, born May IS, 1905- (7) Joseph I. born Feb. 
18, 1905. (8) worth, born April 6, 1906 and died July 21, 
1907. (9) Agnes June, born June 50, 1907, died June 4, 1962 
burial in Riverside Calif. (10) Charles Francis, born July 
16, 1910. (11) Glen E. born Nov. 15, 1911. (12) 2d. S. born 
April 9, I9I6. 

My great grandmother was Susan Johnson, ivho wrote a poem 
and letter to her grandson, she v/as born June 20, 1617. The 
grandson was John Tilford Elder, who v;as my father. 

William R. Elder, my grandfather was born Aug. 21, 1859, 
and died Aug. 16, 1898. He was married to Catherine Johnson. 
Date unknov;n. Date of death unknovm. Their 8 children were: 
(1) Joseph Isaac, born July 25, 1862. Date of death unknown, 
but he is buried in Harmony Cemetery. (2) Francis Alexander, 
born Dec. 5, 1865, and died Jan. 22, 1925. Never married. 
He is buried in Harmony Cemetery. (5) George Washington, 
born Oct. 21, 1865, and died May 15, 1885, buried in Harmony 
Cemetery. (4) Mary Frances born Hay 1, 1867. She married 
Harve Grissom, and burial is in Harmony. (5) John Tilfor, 
born March 29, 1870. Died Jan. 29, 1950, and buried at 
Harmony. He married Elnora Batty, daughter of Isabelle and 
Bartus Commodore Batty. (6) Thomas ?I. L. , born Dec. 24, 1872, 
and died May 19, 1875* Burial at Harmony. (7) Robert B., 
born Sept. 14, 1874. Have no record on her death. (8) Cora 
Eunice, born Nov. 24, 1882. No record of her death. Record 
probably v;ill be found in Harmony Cemetery in the Elder row. 

CCUGILL, GLENN M. born August 14, 1897 in Union Township 
a son of Clarence and Delia B. (Outright) Cougill married 
Inez 1. Decker born November 14, 1904 in Union Township, a 
daughter of George W. and Luella (Rodebaugh) Decker. Glenn 
farms and does some trucking and Inez has v;orked at the 
Ettlebrick Shoe Company a number of years. They live on the 
farm where Inez grew up. 

Inez and Glenn have two children: (1) Roberta Fern born 
Aug. 8, 1925 married Robert Jones May 12, 1944. They live 
on a farm near Casey and have tv/o children. (2) Glen Myron 
born June 26, 1926 married Nadien Legg February 10, 1951* 
They have tv;o children David J. and Judith Kaye. He is a 
Navy veteran of World Jar II. He was "County Highway Super- 
intendent" of De./itt County for 11 years. He resigned this 
position and accepted one in Champaign County as County 
Highway Superintendent, beginning his duties there May 1, 1967 

COUGILL, LESI'i'^R C. born Jan. 15, 1900 in Union Township 
a son of Clarence and Delia (Outright) Cougill married Ethelyn 
Drumm on Dec. 18, 1925, Ethelyn v/as born Oct. 15, 1901 a 
daughter of John and Gertrude (Bensley) Drumm of Union Town- 
ship. The Cougills live on a farm on Route I50 between the 
Timothy and Union Center roa-^s. They have one sone Gene L. 
born Nov. 15, 1926, v;ho married Betty Hurt of Marshall Jan. 

-331- 



31, l9'4-8. Gene and Betty have one daurjhter Cathy born Feb. 
25; 1953 • 'dene served three years in the U. 3. Navy in 
-/orld ',/ar II. They live in Greenup. Gene works for the 
Forest Oil Company. 

CCUGILL, JAI'li:;S ■i/ALT-iH a son of Mr. and I'irs. Joseph 
Gougill was born May 17, lti37 in Cumberland County. On 
March 26, 1907 he married learle Luella Decker born July 
10, 1885 a dau;;jhter of James and 2osa iiodebauch Decker also 
of Cumberland County. He was a farmer and v;hen first married 
they resided on a farm known as the Jim Decker farm which 
they bout^ht and where they lived when their first child Myrna 
Maxine was born. Then in a fev; years they rented this farm 
and moved to the farm knov/n as the Joe Cougill farm where 
they lived until he retired from school teaching and farming. 
kJalter was active in Community affairs and held township 
elective offices. He was a member of the Cumberland Pres- 
byterian Church known as the Bethabara Church near Diona, 
Illinois. He attended Lockwain grade school and v/rote on 
examination for his certificate to teach school. He taught 
in the Cumberland County System for 27 years. His first 
school was the Bean School, located west of Toledo, in I9O6. 
He resided with the family Mr. and Mrs. Jap Schooley. Then 
he came' back to his home school Lockwain. Others were Hog- 
back, Reed, Plum Grove, Jones, Haddock and his last term 
was Jack Oak. He also taught one term at the Hutton School 
in Coles County. He spent one year attending Brown's Busin^jss 
College at Terre Haute, Ind. 

Mrs. Cougill was also active in church and school affairs 
during her residence in Cumberland County. She was active in 
organizing the P.T.A. at the Lockwain School. Mr. Gougill 
kept his certificate up to date by annually attending insti- 
tutes and opportunities afforded teachers at that time. 

On Aug. 50, 19^3 the Gougills moved to Mattoon, 111. at 
1116 Marshall Ave. where he resided \intil his death Dec. 2, 
1967. He v;as employed by Atlas Imperial Diesel Co. until 
'/\/orld l/ar II ended. Then he was employed by Garwood Industries 
from Oct. 20, 194-5 to Feb. 1955. After moving to Mattoon he 
with his family attended the x^vangelical United Brethern 
Church, 1421 v/abash Ave., v/here he was active in Church affairs. 
He worked from the promotional side of construction of the 
churches. 

After retiring he enjoyed gardening, flowers, and trips 
to his farm. He loved his radio programs and kept informed 
by reading three newspapers daily. He v/as a member of 
Cumberland Co., Farm Bureau and Coles Co. Retired Teachers 
Association. After an active and useful life he passed away 
suddenly at his home Dec. 2, 1857 and was buried in the Bell 
Cemetery. Mrs. Cougill still resides in Mattoon. 

COUGILL, JAI'IES JOSEPH was born on the home place Jan. 27, 
I9I6, the son of Jalter and Pearle Decker Cougill. On Aug. 
10, 1943 he married Opal Velma Lowry born May 19, 1917, a" 
daughter of John V/illiam and Lucy Bell Ross Lowry of Coles Co. 

-332- 



xxfter his marriage his i:arents and sister moved to Kattoon 
and Joe and Opal remained on the farm south of Diona v/here he 
continued farming and v;here they still live. Opal taught 
school in a rural school in Coles Go. after marriage. Later 
she taught in Cumberland Co. and nov/ is teaching in Charleston. 

A son Larry Ralph born march 8, 19^6 was graduated from 
Cumberland High School in 1964. He helped his father farm and 
Vv'orked at G-eneral Kotors in rlattoon. On September 17 ■> 1966 
he married Jeannie Dale Coslet v;ho graduated from Cumberland 
High School in 1966. After their marriage they lived in 
Charleston. A daughter, Hechelle liae v;as born July 21, 196?. 
Larry entered the armed Services February 5» 1968 and is 
stationed at rort Bliss Texas. xiis v.'ife is v.'orking in Charles- 
ton. 

A daughter, Linda Ruth, was born Dec. 2, 19^7 • She married 
Max Robert Faul of Dallas City, 111,, June 20, 1964. To them 
a daughter, Lori .Ann v;as born Feb. 9, 1965- They live at 
Dallas City and both v/ork at Burlington, lov/a. 

CvOUGILL, JAI-IES, was born in Frederick Co., Virginia. He 
came to Cumberland with his parents and brother, Joe, in 
around 1840. He v;as married to Rhoda Stansberry ( -1897) 
He was a minister of the United Brethren Church and served in 
churches in Janesville, Johnstov;n and Toledo in Cumberland 
Co. His last preaching assignment v.'as at Casey, 111. He died 
there in 1910. He and his wife are buried in the Bell Cemetery. 

It was under the ministr3/ of Rev. Cougill that the U. 3. 
Church at Johnstown was built. The early church at this loca- 
tion had grov;n very slowly, sharing a church building with 
the Christians. The ilnnual Conference minutes shov/ed that 
with Rev. Cougill as pastor for the year 1897-98, the Church 
increased substantially in membership, so much so that they 
built a church of their own, v;hich v;as completed in 1899. 

Born to the Cougills were: Joseph (1862-1939); Otterbein; 
-:.tta, married J 4ark Neeley; Clara, married Mark IJeeley; Martha 
married Charles Smirh; These children lived in Union Township 
and reared their families there. Lou, married Frank -illliott; 

James', wife v>?as Ida . The latter two families went to 

the //est and hjmesteaded in Montana and Canada. Later, 
Orterbein did the same. 

COUGILL, JOSiiFH, was married to iiimma C. Bennett (1867- 
1940) in Union Tovmsh'ip in the home of Rev. ^lihu Stansberry, 
an Uncle of Joseph. They resided on a farm 1]2 miles south of 
Diona for a number of years. Besides being a farmer, he 
filled several township offices and v;as active in community 
life and church v/ork. In 1913^ he and his family moved to 
Toledo. There he served as County Treasurer for six years- 
part was the unexpired term of Jacob Lyons, who died, and 
one full term. After retiring from office he engaged in the 
coal business and bought and sold hay as a sideline. He also 
sold insurance. 

Born to this couple were: Charles Lesley (1885-1900), 
•.vho died v;hile working av;ay from home during harvest time; 
..alter (1887-1967); Cora (1889- ); Lewis 1891-1937); 
Carrie (1895- ); Ray (1895-1906), died of diphtheria; 
learl (1902- ); Russell (1906- ). 

-333- 



Jalter v;as married to tearl Decker, daughter of James and 
Rosa Decker. He v/as a farmer and schoolteacher in Cumberland 
Co. for 28 years. After retirement they moved to Fiattoon, 
111. Their children are: Joe, who nov; lives on the Cougill 
homestead, south of Diona; i'iyrna, v/ife of willard Johnson, 
lives in Mattoon. 

Cora, v;idov; of Oscar Outright, the son of Jack and Sarah 
Outright, After Oscar's retirement from the Illinois Central 
Rail Road, they moved to Toledo. Three children were horn 
to this union; Delores, v.'ho died ivhen seven years of age; 
Leo ( ); and Joe who lives at Janes \dlle, 111. Cora 

rains great satisfaction from her activity in the church and 
from her g- rdening, 

Lewis Cougill was married to Llda Grissom, daughter of 
Oliver and Nary Grissom. Their children were: Oliver of 
Lima, Ohio; Lela, widov; of Stanley McNeel. They were the 
parents of two dau^jhters, ./anda and Janice; Max, v;ho owns and 
operates the Bel Air Bo\>rling Alley in Charleston, 111., and 
is active in the civic affairs of that city. He is a graduate 
of Eastern 111. University. 

Carrie was married to Alia liodebaugh, son of jilliam and 
Kahala Rodebaugh. Three c lildren were born to them: Lena 
Harie, Mrs. ^'rrol McCall, of Martoon; Donald, of Shelbyville 
and Raymond of Mattoon. 

learl was married to James K. Connell (1901-1959) of 
Johnstown, son of John and Jane Connell. Jim v/as a farmer 
but quit that occupation during the depression and moved to 
Toledo where he v:as a partner in the Icenogle and Connell 
Grocery and Meat Market. In 19'4-8, he bou.-;ht the Ford Agency 
of Clint Duensing who had been the Ford Dealer in Toledo for 
thirty years. Learl was a teacher; she retired in 1968, having 
taught for -^2 years. The period of her teaching spanned the 
time from the one-room, all-grades, country school (Lockwain 
v;as her first) to the new Cumberland Elementary that houses 
all children K-8 in one building. The last 23 years were 
spent teaching first graders. She was a graduate of Eastern 
111, University. Kenneth, their only son, graduated from 
EIU in 19'^9 with a BS in Education. In 1958, he received his 
M.S. from the U of I. He is nov; I'rincipal of Special Edu- 
cation in the Effingham Unit, Effingham, 111. 

C.'UGILL, RUSSELL (1906- ) married Esther Clark, 
daughter of Lola B. Clark. He formerly was a baker in Mattoon, 
111., but is now a farmer living 4 miles northv;est of Toledo. 
They have one daughter, Janice Randolph of Mattoon, 

CO.v'jLN", HUGH - A family legend handed down over the years 
is told that Hugh Cowan and a brother came to the U. S. from 
Scotland, leaving all their brothers, sisters, and parents 
in the Old Country. This legend regarding Hugh Cov;an is borne 
out by the records of the Adjutant General's Office, now kept 
in the 111. State Archives which records show in his Civil 
v.ar Service record: "Nativity — Scotland." 

On Dec. 5 7 1839 j he married Synthy Ann Birk who was born 
in Ky. At one time he lived in Utica, Oneida Co., Nev; York, 

-334- 



This information is written in his family Bible printed in 
1803 . They were the parents of Sarah liaranda (h. Jan. 3, 
18AA) who married Henery Black Oct. 19, 1S60, and who v/as 
married to David Hadley of Casa, Perry Co., Ark., at the tir.e 
of Hugh Cowan's death April 19, 1884. 

From the Civil Jar records of Hugh Cowan, he was 44 v/hen 
he was mustered into Service Sept. 23, lb51 , making his date 
of birth 1817. He was mustered out at Vicksburg, Miss. Nov. 
7, 1864. 

Other children born to Hugh and Synthy linn (Birk) Cov;an 
were Margaret Alisebeth (Sept. IC, 1840 - Nov. 5, 1840); 
Mary Agnes (Sept. 11, 1845- Oct. 7, 1845); Jabez Reeves (Sept. 
14, 1846 - 1936); William Nelson (Ncv. 6, 1850 - Sept. 2, 
1856); Eliza Ann (May 3, 1852 - Dec. 16, 1911) and Nancy 
Jaine (June 22, 1862 - Aug. 2, 1862). 1 laces of birth of the 
children are not known except for Jabez Reeves and Eliza Ann 
who were born in Boone Co., Ind. The family moved to 111. 
when Eliza v;as a small child, 

Jabez Reeves also served the Union cause during the Civil 
Jar . 

Eliza Ann married Isaac Green Croy Nov. 15, 1870. Their 
children are listed elsevmere in the "John Croy" chapter. 

On Nov. 31, 1869, Jabez Reeves married Mary A. Young 
(April 12, 1849-1934) v/ho v/as the daughter of Robert A. Young 
having been born in Vigo Co., Ind. Jabez Reeves and Mary A. 
were parents of Hugh Alexander (b. Dec. 12, 1870) v/ho married 
Mary Dobbs Dec. 1, 1901; Frances Ladora (b Sept. 6, 1872) 
whose first husband v;as Monroe .-/hite; william Nelson (Nov. 
25, 1875-Dec. 17, 1875); Isaac Nev/ton (Dec. 5, 1876-July 28, 
1878); Charles Taylor (b June 1, 1878); Sarah /mn (b Jan. 
12, 1881), whose first husband v/as John McElravy; Maggie Bell 
(1889-1966) and Albert Claude (b 1888). 

Following the death of his first v/ife, Synthy Ann (Birk) 
Cowan, Hugh moved to Perry Co., Ark. He remarried and left 
a widow and two small children, Hugh and Evalyn v;hen he died 
there April 19, 1884. 

COX, JILLIAM ROSS, was born Jan. 5, 1840, in Greenup, 111 
enlisted in the 14th. Indiana Volunteers during the Civil 
war, was wounded, and left at a farmhouse near Lineburrow, 
on the v;ay to Gettysburg. Here he recovered, fell in love 
with the daughter of the family, Sophia Feathers, married her 
and remained in Fennsylvania. 

There was a sister, Patricia Cox and a sister married "co 
Charles Bosv/orth herein Greenup, 111. 

William and Sophia had a daughter and a son who were 
nineteen years older than Nettie. Nettie married a Mr. Hirt 
and they had eight children. She stated that her father had 
always told her he was going on a trip to Greenup and he v;ould 
take her along, but v;hen she v;as still small, he died v/ith 
a heart attack and she never got her trip. 

Nettie had four sons in l/orld ./ar II. Rodney v/as a 
captain, Stephen v/as a Staff Sergeant. They served in Germany, 

-335- 



Ireland, and in the Swiss Alps. She had ei;"ht children. 

Mrs. Hirt was bl March 4, 1968. 

Contributed by Mrs. ITettie S. Kirt , 911 Hay St., York, 
Pa. C'lre of Xather;^m riiley. 

COX - The Cox family originated in ./ales, an ancestor iv-ent 
to Scotland, married a Scottish girl, had -hree sons, and then 
moved to -England. They were Quakers and had acquired consid- 
erable wealth. These three sons came to America to I'hila- 
delphia where they moved to a . uaker colony 18 miles out in 
Fox CO., ia. The eldest son v;as sent for by his father to 
return to England and help him manage the large estate he 
had accumulated. The incomplete records of births and deaths 
in this country made it impossible for the /umerican heirs to 
share in the estate in i^ngland. 

COX, JOSEPH was born in Pox Co. Dec. 25, 1776. He had 
tv;o older Cox brothers and several Hart step-brothers. The 
two older brothers served in the Pievolutionary --ar. A few 
years later he, Joseph, was in a .,^uaker settlement in Xorth 
Carolina where he married Mary Sergener, daughter of a 
Baptist minister. They lived in Ash Co., K. C, then moved 
to Greyson Co., Va., v;here several children v/ere born. After- 
v;ards they moved to Polk Co. Va. v/here he later sold out and 
moved to Knox Co., Ky. on the Cumberland Aiver. Here he was 
allowed to measure by metes and bounds a large tract of land 
bordering on the river, v/here he settled and raised a large 
family. These children were Thomas, .Jilliam, Gideon, John 
Jacob, Peter, Jesse, James, Millie and ^lias. 

He again sold out and intended to follov; his two elder 
brothers v;ho were living north of St. Louis, Missouri, he 
crossed the Ohio into Indiana but had to stop in Chestnut 
3idge , Jackson Co., Ind. because of the illness of his wife. 
She remained ill so long that he purchased 240 acres of land 
and remained there in a ',uaker settlement for three years. 
He was no longer a uaker, having been expelled for having 
gone to fight Indians in Kentucky. He sold this land for 
;ilO per acre (a good price in those days) to Joel A. Moore 
and bought 1300 acres at il.25 per aci'e in the former Indian 
Reservation on Hav/ Creek. In moving to the new land it took 
seven days to go eighteen miles with his '.earns. Having lost 
two or three days at Sand Creek because of high v/ater, and 
having to cut a road through a dense forest of underbrush, 
trees and vines, he arrived at Haw Greek three miles northeast 
of Columbus, Ind., where he built the first cabin in Barth-1- 
omew Co. This road v;as the first road, and his teams ;:he first 
teams in the county. His son, Thomas, built the first grist 
mill and they cleared and planted seven acres of corn. 

The father of J. S. Cox, Plias, v;ho married Sarah Tracey, 
bought grandfather Joseph's farm after the death of the grand- 
mother in 1546. Joseph died in 1851. He and Judge i/illiam 
Jones laid out the old state road from the Ohio Aiver at 
Madison by way of Columbus to Indianapolis, Ind, Thomas Cox 
moved to Oregon; .;illiam to Missouri; John to 111., then to 

-336- 



Missouri; Jacob to Mo.; leter to Jashington Territory; Jess 
to Kansas and on to Ark. where the Battle of lea Ridge was 
fought on his farn. He had two sons v/ith hin in the Confed- 
erate Army and three enlisted in the Northern Army in Kansas. 
James moved to Mo., and Millie married Jack Reins, and moved 
to 111., Mo., and Oregon. 

COX, JOSEi^H BENJIMjIN, was born Oct. 3, 18^0, and married 
Sarah Jane Tracev, born May 8, 1845, on Dec. 25, 1851. i'heir 
children were (1; lidith R.M., born April 10, 1853, died at 
two years; (2) Elias Arthur, born ?eb. 21, 1855, died March 
19, 1941; (3) 'Thomas ^^lonzo, born Oct. 26, 185?, died Oct. 
10, 1943; (4) Otto Franklin, born aept. 8, 1858, died Aug. 
10, 1951; (5) Joseph Olimpeth, born Sept. 15, 1870, died as 
infant; (5) Orie Osmond, born Sept. 5, 1871, died Sept. 1888; 
(7) Florence Agnes, born in 1874, died Feb. 8, 1957; (8) 
Franklin Bertram, born Feb. 18, 1877; (9) Lily Mary, "Mae", 
born Oct. 28, 1879, died June 1, 1955; (10) Maude Lucette, 
born Nov. 10, 1881, died Sept. 1, 1919; (11) Lulu Jane, born 
Dec. 1, 1883, died Nov. 27, 1954; (12) Essie Ethel Catherine, 
born July 15, 1884; (13) Jessie Angeline, born July 19, 1888, 
and died four days later; (14) Norman Grove, born Aug. 19, 
1890. J. B. Cox built a large house oust south of the 
National Road about halfv/ay between Greenup and Jewett v/here 
he reared his family. 

COX, OTTO, was born Sept. 8, 1858, died Aug. 10, 1951, 
and was buried in the Greenup Cemetary. His parents were 
Joseph and Sarah (Tracey) Cox, Otto married Ella Basden, born 
Jan. 28, 1884, at Montrose, 111., the daughter of Albert and 
Fannie (Booth) Basden. 

The children of Otto and Ella were (1) Ruth, born Oct. 31 
1901 at Jev/ett, 111., married Lewis Holt Feb. 29, 1924; (2) 
Joe married Helen Brovm; (3) Otto married Helen Enyart ; (3) 
Ravmond married Inez Glenn; (4) Golden married Fern Odin; 
(5) Maudeline married first, Clifford Clark, and second, Lyle 
Brummer. Otto lived near Jewett all of his life. 

COX, OTTO' born Aug. 17, 1905, and married Jan. 15, 1932 
Helen Enyart, born Dec. 9, 1909. Otto was the son of Otto 
and Ellen Cox of Jev/ett, 111. Otto and Helen had (1) Norma 
Jean, born Nov. 2, 1932, married Loren Grissom Dec. 1949. 
They had Stephen, born May 22, 1952; Randall, born Jan. 51, 
1954; and Daniel, born Aug. 13, 1956. (2) Harold Dean, born 
Sept. 27, 1936, and married Yvonne Kemper in 1953 and had 
Deborah, born March 20, 1954; Billie Jean, born June 13, 1955 
Sharon, born June 12, 1956; Allen born and died Feb. 25, 1962; 
Gregory, born Ap.ril 11, 1963; Tonya, born Sept. 1, 1954. (3) 
Jerry, born Nov. 20, 1947, and married Sarah O'Dell in 1958. 

COX, ,/ILLIE B., a son of John and Lydia Ellen Brandenburg 
Cox was born May 4, 1893 in Cumberland County. His father, 
John Cox, v;as born April 20, 1858 and died Dec. 25, 1945; his 
mother Lydia Ellen was born Sept. 11, 1855 and died July 18, 
1952. They are buried at the Johnson Cemetery near the Union 
Church. 

-337- 



On Oct. 4, 191$ Willie married Hazel Marie iitnire born 
Feb. 22, 1&97 in Coles Co., a daUt];hter of Henry Samuel and 
Nettie Harriett McMorris Etnire. Willie has always farmed 
living on different farms in Coles and Cumberland Counties. 
They now ovm and live on a farm Just east of the Jack Oak 
Church, and are retired. 

Hazel and 'Willie are parents of five children: Bedford 
Mitchell, i/ayne Lester, Willard Sussell, Lydia Janette, and 
Franklin D. born Aug. 21, 1955 and died July I5, 19^1. 

Their daughter Lydia Janette born Sept. 5, 1926 married 
Floyd Garlen a son of Lawrence and Mamie Vaughn Carlen. They 
live on a farm on Route I50 near Jack Oak. They have six 
children: Sally Ann, a graduate of Cumberland High School 
now works at the Rhodes Clinic in Toledo, Carol and Sheryl 
(tv/ins) also graduated from Cumberland and are attending 
Eastern University at Charleston, Joyce in high school, Floyd 
and Joe in grade school at Cumberland. 

Bedford Cox born September 7» 191'^, oldest son of Hazel 
and Willie Cox married Clara Roberts on March 14, 1938. She 
was born July 29, 1916 a daughter of John Milton and Myrtle 
Elma St. John Roberts. Bedford is a farmer and they live on 
a farm v^fest and south of Union Center. Bedford also v/orks 
with the Agricultural Stabilization and Conservation Service 
of Cumberland Co. They have two children: Robert Lee born 
March 15, 1959 married Linda Lou York, Nov. 10, 1965, daughter 
of Mrs. William Drum of Greenup. They have one son. Mary 
Jean born June 22, 19^6 married Bobbie McMechan March 27, 1964. 

v^ayne Cox born May 17, 1917, second son of Hazel and Willie 
Cox married Irma Carlen a dau..;hter of Guy Carlen of Greenup. 
They live on a farm near Westfield, Illinoi.'-j and have tv/o 
daughters. Ida Marie a graduate of Westfield High School nov/ 
works at T.R.W. in Casey and Ruth Ann a student at ./estfield 
High School. 

Willard Cox born Jan. 5, 1920 third son of Hazel and 
Willie Cox married Dora Sherwood born Oct. 18, 1922, a daughter 
of Howard and Lauretta Gray Sherv;ood. >yillard is a farmer 
and they live on a farm North of Union Center. ./illard and 
his brother Wayne both served in World .var II. Willard was 
stationed in North Africa, Italy and Germany. He spent about 
four years in the service. Before his marriage V/illard worked 
for Vern McMillan in the store at Union Center driving the 
"Huckster Wagon" for him one summer. 

Dora and Willard have three children: John David born 
Oct. 17, 1946 is a senior at EIU majoring in chemistry, James 
Stephen born Nov. 20, 1949 is a student at Lakeland College 
in Mattoon, and Judith /uin born Jan. 28, 1951, is a student 
at Casey High School. 

Ivan Ferry and Clayton Victor are sons of John and Lydia 
Ellen Brandenburg Cox. (Brothers of Willie) Ivan was born 
May 51, 1897 and Clayton was born December 8, 1905. Neither 
ever married and they live together on the Cox homeplace 
northeast of Union Center. 



• 338- 



COY, JOHN H:-:NRY, born July 20, 1885 in Coles Co., 111. 
is the son of Wm. Henry and Nary J. Crawford Coy. He nar::'ied 
Neva Shepperd in Coles Co., 111. on Aug. 5, 1917, and (2) 
Carrie Ray in Cumberland Go_ , 111, 

V/illian and Mary were buried in the Drummond Cemetery. 
Mary died Dec. 50, 1919 in Coles Co. 

Carrie Ray Coy v;as born Dec. 22, 1591 in Jev;ett , 111. 
She is the daughter of ;/illiam and Huldah ( £lder) Ray, v;ho 
were married Oct. 17, 1877 in Cumberland Co., v/here they spent 
their married life. ,/m. was born in Ky. on July 3, 1856 and 
died April 15, 1922. Huldah was born July 5, 1859 in Cumber- 
land Co., and died Jan. 15, 19'^0. They are buried in the 
Jev/ett Cemetery. 

John Coy was born June 5, 1931, died three days later, 
and was buried at Jev;ett. 

GROY, JOm-T, (Dec. 16, 1820-Oct. 29, 1902) was born in 
Ohio, and married Mary Plousev/orth in Pennsylvania (March 10, 
1S24-1I0V. 2, 1859 in Cumberland Co.) They were the parents 
of Isaac Green, v;ho was born Oct. 13, 15-4-7 in DeKalb Co., Ind. 
and died July 9, 1936, in Ciimberland Co., 111.; Charles I/. 
(Nov. 18, 1556-?eb. 15, 1924); Riley and .-illiam who were 
twins; Edson (Jan. 13, 1852-July 4, 1921) and Laura. 

When Isaac Green i-i&s a small child, his parents moved to 
111., first settling on land nov; ovmed by the heirs of his son 
Joe Henry. Isaac Green v;as a charter member of the Toledo 
United Brethern Church. He enlisted in the Union Army during 
the Civil war and v;ent as far as Cairo v/here he contracted 
spotted fever and was not allov/ed to go on to v:ar. 

On Nov. 15, 1870, Isaac Green married j21iza Ann Cov/an, 
v7ho v/as born in Boone Co., Ind. May 5, 1552, and died in 
Cumberland Co., 111., Dec. 16, 1911. To this union vj&s born 
ten children, namely .^lilliam 31mer (Julv 14, 1871-Nov. 4, 
1952); Mary Lille (Apr. 11, 1875-Jan. 15, 19^6); Janie Maude 
(Oct. 16, 1875-June 12, 1965); John "Johnnie" Reece, (June 20 
1878-Jan. 29, 1959); Lev;is Richard (Feb. 29, 1880-Nov. 28, 
1920); Dollie Ann, (b Nov. 27, 1885); Luther (Feb. 28, 1856- 
Nov. 5, 1556); Joe Henry, (Aug. 5, 1587-Aug. 15, 1955); Hugh 
■-■ilson (Sept. 29, 1889 - Feb. 25, 1964) and Ralph Leonard 
(Oct. 24, 1891 - Dec. 14, 1952). 

William Elmer married Lettie Ralston Jan. 1, 1895, and 
were parents of George (Oct. 6, 1897-Oct. 25, 1965) v;ho marri- 
ed EtLa Randolph Feb. 26, 1919; Beulah Agnes (b March 10, 
1900) who married Fred jicke on Oct. 10, 1920; ::;dith (Aug. 

14, 1902 - Feb. 16, 191C); Esther (July 18, 1904-Feb. 15, 
1956); Emery (b Oct. 1, 1906), married Mary Buckner Oct. 16, 
1926, terminated by divorce; Clotilde (b Sept. 11, 1908), 
married waiter Gray Dec. 22, 1927, terminated by divorce; 
Dessa (b May 15, 1912) married Arthur Gordon Jan. 5, 1951; 
Holly (b Aug. 29, 1914) married Flora .varner Jan. 26, 1955 
who died in May, 1965, second marriage to Maxine Dutiel Nov. 

15, 1965; and .<urren (b Aug. 12, 1920) married Ruth Grissom 
June 6, 1942. Lettie died Nov. 14, 1958. 

-339- 



Mary Lillie married .villiam Ralston i<'ebruary 24, 1892, 
and they were parents of Bessie (bHarch 1, 1895) who married 
Albrot Grills (a native of Jn^^land) April 17, 1915; Blanche 
(April 25, lS95-Cct. 9, 192?) married John Taylor; Grace 
(b Nov. 19, 1900) married Fxa^h Jakefield Oct. 50, 1921; Noble 
(b May 50, 1905) married Lucille Sims Oct. 15, 1921; Jennie 
(April 2, 1907-Iiarch 18, 1955); Frances (b Sept. 1, 1910) 
married Earl Jones; Frank (b Oct. 20, 1912) married Mildred 
Hapkey in 1958. ./illiam Ralston died Jan, 29, 1929. 

Janie Maude married Harvey Peters Dec. 25, 1892 and the^/ 
were parents of two children, Anna (b March 7, 1895) and 
Nellie (July 21-1898 - Sept. 27, 1898). Janie Maude later 
married Henry Jackson v;ho died in 1957. Her third husband 
was Joe Strain who died in 1957. Anna married v/esley Davis 
Oct. 5, 1915. He died in 19^9. 

John "Johnnie" Reece married Lou Nichols Feb. 17, 1901, 
and their children were Isaac, ij^verett, Helen, Ralph './ilson, 
Frank, Ina, Lester, Bertha, Maurice, Maxine and twins Gilbert 
and Ora. "Johnnie" moved his family to Missouri before the 
children v;ere grown. Contact v/ith his family in Cumberland 
Co. was lost until around l9'4-5 v;hen his brother, Joe Henry, 
visited him in Missouri. A fev; years later he came back to 
111. and made his home v/ith Joe Henry for a time. He returned 
to Missouri where he died. 

Lewis Richard married Gusta Carroll April 16, 1900. To 
this union were born Robert, Iva , Alfred, Ruth, Harry, Maude, 
IV alter, I earl , Charles, Fred, Harold, Chauncey and Max. Max 
died June 8, 19'^-''+, v;hile serving his country as a Technical 
Sergeant in the infantry in France during w'orld ^iar II. His 
body was returned to Toledo for burial. His was the first 
military funeral for a Gold Star Soldier of ,/orld .;ar II con- 
ducted in the County. He is buried in Drummond Cemetery. 

On Oct. 10, 1907, Dollie Ann married i^Jmery Cooley who 
died Feb. 5, 1955* "^'o this union v/ere born Gladys Mildred 
(b Sept. 5, 1909) who married Herbert Carpenter; Opal Marie 
(July 18, 1912-Aug. 2, 1912); Delbert Wilson 

(b Jan. 4, 191'^-) who married Grace Livingston; Lucille Eliza 
(b July 15, I9I6); John Emery (b Nov. 2, 1920) who married 
Edna Faye Williams; and lauline Louise (Sept. 7, 1925-Oct. 
19, 1925). Dollie Ann is the sole surviving child of Isaac^ 
Green and Eliza ^Vnn (Cowan) Croy at the time this history is 
being compiled. 

On March 51, 1912, Ralph Leonard married Delia Boruff 
(July 1, 189'4— June 1966). They were parents of Edgar (b Sept 
16, 1912), married Marjorie Randolph; Nellie (b April 2, 1915) 
who married Chauncey Michaels; Fern (b Sept. 5, 1919) who 
married Vernon Hatfill; Berdena (b Feb. 29, 1924) who married 
Eve-ett Strong; Donald (b Feb. 11, 1927) who married Carol 
wortham; Ivan (b Dec. 9, 1928) who married Martha Spurgeon; 
Bobby (b May .5, 1955) who married Joan Pygett; Roger (b April 
22, 1957) who married Lorene Tynam; and two sons v;ho died 
in infancy — Leonard Alvis (1914) and Clarence (1952), 

-340- 



Joe Henry married Lucy Florence Thompson on June 5, 1907 
in St. Paul, Minn. To this union were "born tv/in daUf-;;hters , 
Clarice Hester and Evelyn, born Aug. 29, 1908. livelyn died 
Sept. 12, 1908. Seventeen years later a third daughter, Kaida 
Muriel, v;as born Aug. 27, 1925. 

Joe was a farmer most of his lifetime and ovmed the land 
that family legend st^ys his grandfather, John, inhabited 
during his first years in this county. 

Clarice Hester married Sherman Monroe Lineberry Nov. 2-4-, 
1952, in McAllister, Oklahoma, and to this union tv;o sons 
were born — Richard Lee (b Sept. 27, 1933) and Carroll Joe 
(b July 25, 1935)* Sherman enlisted in the U.S. Navy in 
World War II and served in the Pacific Theater, v;as in the 
Battle of Guadacsinal , and other islands in that area, 
Richard Lee served in the U.S. Army, taking his basic training 
at Fort Leonard, Wood, Missouri, and leaving for his overseas 
duty in England in Nov., 1953* He is married to Dixie Irene 
Burchett, and they are the parents of Glenna Sue (b Oct. 20, 
I960; Kelly Gene (b Jan. 20, 1962) Leslie Ann (b June 5, 1963) 
Kerry Monroe (b Aug. 2, 1964) and Kiraberly Pvay (b July 12, 
1967) . 

Carroll Joe married Anna Mae Pearcy and they are i^arents 
of Joe Keith (b Oct. 31, 195^); Leroy Austin (b Jan. 8, 1956) 
Joanna Muriel (b April 23, 1958); Robert Curtis (b July 24, 
I960); Brian Andrew (b Oct. 3, 1964); Randall Lee (b Sept. 
30, 1965) and Kenneth Alan (b Sept. 4, 1967). 

Naida Muriel married Luke Austin Tippett Oct. 8, 1949. 
It is believed he is the only person who had the opportunity 
of issuing his own marriage license v;hile holding the office 
of County Clerk of this county. They are parents of an 
adopted daughter, Linda Lee (b May 6, 1949;. 

Hugh Wilson married Effie Morris, Nov. 28, 1912. They 
had no children. He v/as a member of the U.S. Amy from Aug, 
1, 1918 to June 13, 1919, and served on the front battle lines 
in Prance v;ith Company C of the 144th Infantry. 

Charles //. Croy, son of John Croy, our earliest pioneer 
relative in this county, operated Groy's Opera House in Toledo 
for many years, and at one time ovmed a hardv/are store and 
a skating rink. He married Margaret E. "Meg" Young, and after 
her death, he married her sister, Mattie Young, 

Edson, another son of John Croy, married Laura Peters, 
and they were parents of Herbert H. , Freddie, Myrtle S., 
Bertha, Delia, and Golden. His second wife, sina, died in 
1918. 

Riley and William and tlieir families moved zo Missouri. 
Laura married George Thompson and they moved to Okla, 

GULP, WILLIAM H. born March 20, 1875 in Crawford Co. was 
the son of Jacob T. and Catherine L. Smith Gulp. On Feb. 
15, 1898, he married Elfreda Dale Byerly born Sept. 6, 1879 
in Crawford Co. a daughter of Leonard and Callie B. Strohl 
Byerly. -jlien Elfreda Dale was two years old her mother 

-341- 



Callie sickened and died of Typhoid Fever in the latter part 
of 1881. Two from the day of her mother's death her father, 
Lon, died of the sane disease leaving little Dale to be 
reared by her grandmother, Mary Byerly. They are buried in 
the Oblong Cemetery in an unmarked grave. On April 5, 1968 
after all these years their grave was located and their grand- 
daughter Velma Gulp Chrysler hopes to erect a marker soon. 

./illiam and Dale v/ere young farmers and started out on an 
80 acre farm on which had been built a four room house near 
Oblong, t eir family began to grow: (1) Roy H. born June 2_, 
1899; then on Feb. 25, 1902 came twins (2) Virgil H. and (5) 
Velma G. i^) Ada M. was born July 17, 1904; (5) I^^-ott H. was 
born Aug. 22, 1911 and (6) Don II. Aug. 2, 191^. In 1906 oil 
was discovered near Oblong and 7 or 8 v;ells were drilled on 
their farm v/hich produced and improved their financial sit- 
uation. About 1917 Ada became afflicted v;ith some disease 
not knovm at that time and steadily grew helpless. Also about 
this time the family had out-grovm the little home and .-'illiam 
fearing the black stuff (oil) might dwindle out and v;ith 
shackle rods cutting up the 80 acres he struck up a trade for 
160 acres of fertile soil and good improvements located 7 
miles northwest of Casey, 111. in Cumberland Co. On March 29, 
1917 with v/agons and teams the family migrated to Cumberland 
Co. The family was happy in their nev; home for seven years. 
Tv70 more children had been born. (7) Dv;ight H. born -i.ug. 21, 
1919 and (8) D. Maxine Jan. 27, 1922. On April 24, 1919 
Virgil married leach Sardin of Charleston, 111. and Iioy 
married Florence Umbarger of Casey June 12, 1920. 

In the early j)art of 1925 tragedy entered their home. 
while at school Glenn was shot in the eye by a playmate with 
a "ITigger-shootor" and lost the sight of his eye. In early 
July the mother. Dale, became very ill and had a gall bladder 
operation from which she never rallied. Three months later 
Ty]jhoid (in its worst form) took little Maxine on Kov. 6, 
1923. At the same time Dv;ight v/as desperately ill. Then 
Mott, Glenn, and Ada became ill. Doctors, nurses, and 
neighbors came in and helped and for two months they hardly 
knew day from night. On Dec. 1, 1923 Mott passed away at the 
age of 12, and on Dec. 17, 1925 Glenn also passed away at the 
age of 16. Ada, v/ho had been almost helpless since 1917 
seemed to improve for awhile, then on July 1, 1924 she, too, 
left the family. Dv/ir;ht v;as the only one v;ho had the dreaded 
disease and survived. The mother and four children are all 
buried at Macedonia Cemetery in Union Tovmship. 

So it v;as in 1925 after eight years that their abode in 
Cumberland Go. came to an end. Mr. Gulp rented the farm, 
took the tv/o little boys and daughter Velma and moved to 
Aobinson, 111. Velma v;as grown nov; and really had much ex- 
j.erience keeping house and caring for the sick, as she had 
taken over all the household duties after her mother's death. 
Finally Mr. Gulp sold the farm and took his family to Mich. 
v;here he v/orked for ilenry Ford. Then he married a second 

-342- 



time to larsie ochwenkee. Don married iiuby Barnett in 1938 
in Ann Arbor, liichigan and Dwicht married Sylvia Hichardson 
in 1965 in Trenton, liich. and both still live in liich. Mr. 
Gulp died Jept. 19, 196? and v;as buried at Macedonia by his 
wife and children. 

After her father's remarriage Velma came back to Casey 
v;here she had employment for 11 years at the Telephone Office 
as an extra working on Sunday and three nights a week. Then 
five days a week she v/orked at 5ttlebrick Shoe Factory, and on 
Saturday and three hours each evening she helped in Kent 
Morgan's Grocery. She spent one year at Union Center v;ith 
Effie and Vern McMillan helping them in their Store, j^iarly 
in 19^5 Velma left Casey and went to Calif, and was married 
to Jolm H. Sharp Eeb. 17, 19-^3, v/ho passed away in 1957 after 
15 years of marriage. Velma stayed in Calif. 18 years during 
v/hich tine she worked for General Electric. She then retired 
and came back to Robinson and bought a home. On Dec. 2, 1961 
she married Charles Chrysler, formerly of Cumberland Co., 
and they nov; live in Robinson. 

Hoy and Florence Culp had three children; Mary Louise, 
Lester Forest, (deceased; and Jilma Dale, (deceased) Roy live? 
in Macomb, 111. and is retired. Virgil and Serena are 
parents of four c. ildren: Doit E. , Victor H. , 'Jendell H. , 
and Velma Jean. Virgil is retired and lives in Robinson. 
Donald and Ruby live in .^ayne, Mich, and have two sons, Stephen 
B. and Jeffrey D. Dv/ight and Sylvia live in Lincoln lark, 
Michigan. 

CUIJKIITGHA.M, CKAxU^ES ALVIN was born in 1895 at Annapolis, 
111. He is the son of Charles \J . and Patsy (Griffith) Cunn- 
ingham. His mother died in 1911 and his father in 192^ and 
are buried at Annapolis. Alvin married Clara Lindley. He 
with his wife, Clara, and two sons, Lee Clinton and Lyle Emer- 
son, came to Union Tovmship in 1931 "to the C. M. .ueen farm 
to work in the oil field for Bell Brothers, 

Lee Clinton was born Oct. 28, 1917 and Lyle Emerson on 
March 20, 192^. They attended Casey High School. Lee lives 
in Robinson and v;orks in Terre Haute for the Lovelace Truck- 
ing Company. Lyle lives eight miles v/est of Decatur and works 
for Shell Oil Co. 

Clara died Feb. 22, 19*^6 and is buried in Hutsonville, 111. 
In IIov. 19'^7 Alvin married Delores H. Haddock. Delores has 
one daughter, w'anda Jean who lives in Detroit, Mich, 

Alvin and Delores still live on the Bell Brothers lease 
near the Longpoint Church, 

COX, WILLIAM, was born in Handfield, Ind. , a son of Dillon 
and Elizabeth (McNary) Cox. On Feb, 14, 1903, he married 
Pearl LeFavour of Van Buren, Ind,, a daughter of John and 
Amanda Smith LeFavour, He was engaged in farming and they 
resided on her parents farm for several years. In 1917 they 
came to 111. to the Oilfield Community in Clark Co, and he 
became a p\imper for the Ohio Oil Co, Later they moved into 
Cumberland Co., Union Township near the Lacey School and he 

-343- 



continued v/orking as a pumper for the Ohio until he retired 
in 19^8. After retirement they bout^-ht a home in Gasey and 
moved into tovm. He then v;ent to work for the city of Casey. 
Mr. Cox died Aug. 24, 1958 and Mrs. Cox Feb. 22, 1966. They 
are buried at Van Buren, Ind. They had two children, a son 
and daughter. The son lives in liichigan. Their daughter, 
Delores is married to Alvin Cunningham of Union Township. 

CURl^Y, CHARLi£S A., was born Sept. 24, 1865 near Mattoon, 
111. On Dec. 8, 1887 be married Jane A. Holly born March 26, 
1870, at Strasburg, 111. The Currys came to Union Center 
from Douglas Co. in 1910 and bought a home with a few acres 
of land. At that time they had three teen-age boys and four 
girls all under ten years of age. Orval the oldest boy work- 
ed away most of the time. Roy and Mr. Curry rented land and 
farmed. The girls grew up in Union Center. The Currys were 
members of the Church of Christ. Mr. and Mrs. Gurry spent 
the remainder of their lives he.'^e. She died May 6, 1943 and 
he died Feb. 25, 1945. 

They were parents of seven children: (1) Orval born May 
9, I89I, near Stev;ardson married iCdith Tipsword. He died 
Feb. 6, 1956. (2) Leonard Leroy born Jan. 18, 1895 near 
Stewardson married Nellie Outright. He died March 24, 1953. 
(3) Dale born Feb. 2, 1895 near Stewardson married Lorene 
Sheeks. They had tv/o children Cyril and Dorothy who live in 
Mt . Vernon, 111. Later he married ^dith Tipsv/ord. He died 
Nov. 11, 1946. (4) ^^mma born May 14, 190O in Douglas Co. 
married Otto Tipsv;ord. They had tv/o daughters. limma 
died Aug. 10, 1931. (5) Marie born June 26, 19OI in Douglas 
Co. Marie went to Mt. Vernon to work v;here she met and married 
Fred Edson. They had one daughter. They moved to Pheonix, 
Arizona several years ago where she still lives. (6) Rose 
born Sept. 16, 1902 in Douglas Co. married Slza Hampsten of 
Union Township. They had two children Burl and Bernadine. 
Elza died several years ago. After his death Hose and the 
children went to Mt . Vernon to work, then they, too, went to 
Phoenix and they are still in Arizona. (7) Helen born May 
16, I9O8 in Douglas Co. married Alva Hulbert when she was in 
Mt . Vernon. They lived there many years and have three child- 
ren, Helen now lives in Sterling, 111, 

CURRY, LEONARD LEROY, born January 18, 1895 near Steward- 
son, 111. a son of Charles and Jane Holly Curry. On March 24, 
1953 be passed av/ay in Pike Co. 'where he then lived and is 
buried in Griggsville, 111. Roy moved to Union Center with 
his parents in 1910, v;here he farmed with his father. On 
Dec. 20, 1914 he married Nellie Outright born Oct. 6, 1896 
a daughter of Melvin and Addie Coleman Outright of Union Town- 
ship. They lived on different farms in the tovmship for 
several years. In addition to farming Roy became a minister 
and about 1950 he accepted a ministerial position in Pike Co. 
near Perry, 111. and moved his family there. They are parents 
of six children: all born in Union TowTiship except the young- 
est v/ho was born after they moved to Pike County, 

-344- 



Paul born ITov. 4, 1915 married I-Iina Lord Kay 5, 1937. 
Beulah born Dec. 18, 1916 married Paul Greiwe Sept. 19, 19^2. 
Leonard born Aug. 22, 1920 married Anne 3rev.'ster Aug. 4, 19^5 • 
Charles born Karch 9, 1925 married Muriel Myers April 25, 1946. 
George born Feb. 15, 192? married ^dith Orr June 12, 19'''-6. 
I^ichard born Jan. 5, 1935 married Alice Goewey June 21, 1953. 
All of these children live in Pike Co. near their mother ex- 
cept Leonard who has made a career of the Navy and lives in 
Jacksonville, Fla. He v;ill retire from the ITavy in Sert. 
1968. 

CUP21GHT, ALMiA NLOMA v;as born Jan. 11, 1900, and was 
raised on a farm south of Union Center and v;ent to school at 
Hogback one mile west of Union Center. She married .Villiam 
Arthur Comer Jan. 17, 1920. He was born Oct. 11, 1897 and 
lived north of Union Center in Cumberland Co. the son of 
w'illiam F. Comer and Sarah Gossett Comer v;ho were also born 
in Cumberland Co., His mother died Vv^hile he v/as an infant 
and he was raised by Oscar and Sarah Cooper, his aunt and 
uncle. 

Alice and Arthur were blessed by a son, iioland Prancis, 
Nov. 22, 1920. He was stricken by pneumonia and died at the 
age of 16 months on March 20, 1922. He v;as nursed by Eliza- 
beth Davis. 

In Peb. 29, 1924 a daughter, Norma Louise, v;as born in 
Clark Co. near Oilfield. She got her education at Oilfield 
School and .jestfield High School. After graduation, she 
attended the Beauty Culture School at Alton, 111. and in 
Dec. 24, 1941, she married Glenn Jones, zhe son of Glenn and 
Edith Jones of Casey. 'They v;ere blessed with three children, 
Carol Sue and two others v:ho died in infancy. Glenn served 
four years in j'orld ;/ar II. They are now living in Port 
Myers, PI a. 

In Aug. 7, 1931 another daughter, Barbara Pileene v;as born. 
She also v;ent to Oilfield School and graduated from Casey 
High School. She worked at the Pord Garage as secretary 
and in Dec. 17, 19'^8 she married Donald Gene Shiels, the son 
of Bennie and Bertha Shiels of Casey. He v/as v:ith the Nail- 
road Signal Division and had served tv;o years in the Korean 
//ar. They were blessed v;ith two daughters, Janet Lyn and 
Vickie Jean. They now live in Altoona, Pa., vmere he is a 
Supervisor over the Signal Department. 

Arthur and xilma operated a Grocery Store at Oilfield and 
Casey for fifteen years. Alma then worked at rhs Casey Manu- 
facturing Co. v;ith the Prtlebrick Shoe Co. and Arthur sold 
insurance for the Parm Bureau Insurance Co. until the time 
of their retirement. 

OUTRIGHT, GNONGP LPO, ;-;as born in Mattoon, 111., on Aug. 
8, 1928, the son of Albert Leo and Alice (Cross) Outright. 
On Aug. 29, 19'^8, he and Dorothy Elizabeth McOandlish, daughter 
of Pred Naymond and Violet Elizabeth Butler McCandlish, were 
married in Cottonwood Methodist Church. Pollowing discharge 
from the United States Army at Pt. Knox, Ny. , in Peb., 1950, 

-345- 



he and his v;ife resided in Toledo, 111. Three children were 
born in Hattoon Memorial Hospital, Coles Co.: Elizabeth Anne, 
born riarch 23, 1950; Geor^^e L. , Jr., born July 51) 1951; and 
Neil Raymond, born July 15, 1956- i^lizabeth Anne graduated 
from Cumberland High School in 1968. Although employed by 
the Mattoon Lamp Plant of the General Electric Co. for fourteen 
years, George returned to rJastern 111. University and gradu- 
ated in 1967- The next year, his wife also graduated from 
the University. At present he is a General Electric manu- 
facturing engineer. The family are active in the Methodist 
Church. 

Albert Leo Cutright was born Dec. 25, 1910, in Coles 
County, the son of Oscar Noel and Cora Lelia Cougill Cutright. 
He died on May 26, 195^. The daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Elmer 
Cross, Alice Cross was born Aug. 12, 1912, and died July 
19, 1951. Both are buried in Resthaven Cemetery, Mattoon, 
Coles Co. , 111. 

Fred Raymond McCandlish was born April 18, 1895, in Cum- 
berland Co., 111., the son of .-jilliam Ross and Emma Isabell 
Holsapple McCandlish. The dauf-hter of Amos .ieedon and 
Bertha Evalena Starbuck Butler, Violet McCandlish v;as born 
in Jefferson Co., 111., on April 4, 1905. 

CUTRIGHT, JAMES J. born Sept. 5, 1849 in Ohio came to 
111. with his parents, Robert V. and Sarah E. Baker Cutright, 
v.'hen quite young. His father, Robert V., v/as a nephev; of 
John II, the first of the Cutrights to come to 111. James J. 
married Sarah E. Roberts born Feb. I5, 1852 in Union Township 
a daughter of Daniel and Amy (v/oolever) Roberts. James took 
an active part in the governing of Union Township in the late 
loOO's. They lived on a farm north of Union Center where 
they raised their family, being parents of nine children. 

Zeola married S. L. McMorris; Leona died at about three 
years of age; Robert B. married Daisy Irice; Effie married 
Arbie Armstrong; Stella married Nelson Luke; Oscar married 
Cora Cougill; Ora married Jesse Hopkins; John W. married 
learl Shaffer; and an infant son died at birth. Only two of 
these children are living, Ora and Effie. 

James J. died Jan. 14, 1954 and Sarah died Oct. 4, 1956. 
They are buried at Mt . Zion Cemetery north and west of Union 
Center. 

CUTRIGHT, JUHIT W. a son of James A. and Sarah (Roberts) 
Cutright, born Feb. 11, 1892 in Union Township, married Pearl 
G. Shafer born Feb. 14, 1895 in Union Township a daughter 
of A. E. Shafer and Nora E. (Cooper) Shafer on June 15, 1912. 
They live on a farm north of Union Center v;hich was his 
homeplace. They have always taken an active part in civic 
affairs and have been active in church work at Union Baptist 
Church where they attend. John served as school director 
many times when v;e had one-room country schools. After the 
unit system was formed he worked for the Casey Unit hauling 
children to school in his car for several years. They are 
now retired. John and Pearl are parents of six children. 

-346- 



(1) James A. born Sept. 20, 1912 and died July 11, 1916; 
(2) Evelyn E. born March 6, 1915 married L. G. } ridemore Oct. 
10, 1935 • They have three children and one grandchild; (3) 
Mariam E. born Nov. 11, 1916 married vv. u. Sanders July 25, 
19^0. They have three children and four grandchildren; (^; 
Aleen E. born July 11, 191S married J. M. liennels July 10, 
1959, they have two children. All three girls Evelyn, Tlariam 
and Aleen live in I'lattoon, Illinois; (5) John Lee born March 
14, 1921 married Mary L. Plunmer Nov. 7, 1941. They have 
three children and tv;o grandchildren. They live in Casey. 
John Lee v;orks at construction v;ork and Mary v;orks at the 
V/hite Barn Tea Room; (6) Larry G. born April 9, 193^ married 
Wilma J. Hanley July 25, 1959. They have no children. They 
live on a farm just west of his parents and he does the 
farming. 

John W. Outright passed away Saturday, April 13, 1968 
after this sketch was written. His funeral v;as held at the 
Markwell Funeral Home in Casey and he was buried in the 
Mt. Zion (NEBO) Cemetery northeast of Union Center, April 15, 
1968. 

CUTRIGHT, JOHN: All the Cutrights in Cumberland County 
are descended from a man named John Outright, kno\^m as the 
Bear Hunter, who was born in Virginia in 17^7 and served in 
the Revoluoionary v/ar as a private v;ith the Second Virginia 
Regiment. In 1773 he married Elizabeth Subre and they pro- 
duced seven sons and three daughters. One of these sons, also 
named John but called the Deer Hunter to distinguish him from 
his father, \-ias born in 1789 in Virginia. The family came 
to Ohio in 1796 with General Nathaniel Massie's party of Re- 
volutionary veterans v;ho surveyed and helped establish what 
is now Chillicothe, Ross County, Ohio. 

Young John married Martha /ingle in 1809 and for many 
years \-ias prominent in the Ohio legislature and v;as once the 
choice of the Ohio delegation for Vice-President of the 
United States. In the lS30's John and Martha, accompanied by 
some of their children and other relatives, migrated to 111. 
and settled in what is now Union Tovmship, Cumberland County. 
John entered up 1480 acres of land at the land office in 
Palestine. Jhile John farmed some of this land, he is knovm 
mainly for his prov;ess in deerhunting v;hich he did from horse- 
back. The Kentucky rifle that he used to kill deer is still 
in existence and is nov/ in the possession of Amos ..'. Outright, 
a great-great-grandson of the Deer Hunter. 

John's sons, Albert, Oliver and John, Jr., and his dau- 
ghters Rachel (Shaner) and Elizabeth (Redman) came to 111. 
with him, but another son Camden remained in Ohio. In v/rit- 
ing to Camden on June 24, 1849, John said about the new land: 
"Here you can live as healthy as any place for I consider the 
prairie land in this country as healthy as any place I ever 
lived at . . . provisions are cheap here corn 10 cents oats 
10 cents bacon 6'h cents cattle in demand at a fair price. . ." 

At his death in 1860, John the Oeer Hunter v;as buried be- 

-347- 



side his v/ife Martha, on some of the land he had entered, in 
the Cutri,-;ht Cemetery, v/hich is located in Union Tovmship 
on a farm now ov;ned by 'rheodore 0. Cutrik'ht, his great-great 
grandson. 

Oliver Outright, one of the Deer Hunter's sons, was born 
in 1816 in Ohio. When he came v;ith his father to Illinois, he 
entered up 120)2 acres of land. One piece of this is still 
owned by his grandson, Oliver Duncan Outright of Toledo. This 
first Oliver married Mary Baumgartner, the great-granddaughter 
of a Hessian soldier who deserted the British army and joined 
the Oolonists during the iijnerican Revolution. 

Oliver and liary had five children: iunos Green; John who 
died young; Ihilip who married Ida Lacey and went to Oregon 
v;here they have many descendants; Rebecca who married Lou 
Shaner and left no children; and Lennie known as Dolly who 
never married. 

'./hen Amos G. was born in 1844, there -were only three 
other families besides Gutrights living in the neighborhood: 
the .vestalls, the liahns , and the Ratliffs. The night he was 
born some wolves killed all his father's sheep. Like his father 
and grandfather before him, ...mos G. v;as a farmer, but he also 
served as storekeeper in Union Center -nd in various Union 
Township offices, including collecting taxes on horseback for 
many years. He married Margaret Hodge in 1867 and they had 
five children, three of whom grew oo maturity. 

Their son Oliver Duncan was born in 1874, on a farm in 
Union Township, part of which v;as entered by his great-grand 
father John and his grandfather Oliver. In 1905, he married 
Blanche Outright, a descendant of Camden, mentioned above. 
She v;as born in 18o0 in Ross County, Ohio, and came to 111. 
to teacli. They have four children: 

Theodore Oliver, born in 1906, has been an at orney in 
Toledo since 1931, during which time he served tv;o terms as 
state's attorney of Cumberland Co. In 1941 he married 
Madeleine Anderson of Bloomington. They have t'wo children: 
John Oliver, an attorney who practices vv'ioh his father under 
the name of CUTx'lIGHT £: CUTRlGiiT, and Melitta J., a graduate 
student in the doctoral program at Korthwestern University. 

Clinton Stuart, born in 1907, has been farm adviser for 
Effingham Oo. for over 25 years. He married Ada Oreath of 
Sullivan and they have -chree children: ^■^onald ana David w^ho 
live in Joliet, and Richard, a student in Louisiana. 

Amos ..'illiam, born in 1911 is office manager for ^agri- 
cultural Stabilization and Conservation Service in Cumber- 
land Oo. He married Thelma Thomas of Greenup and they have 
three children: Annette (Diehl), teacher in Effingham; Robert 
.villiam v.-ith the T'ederal Bureau of Drug -".buse Control, and 
Mike at home . 

Alice (Hllis), born in 1\'-21, is a teacher who married 
Harold -:;ilis, an attorney, and lives near .-.■ashington, D. 0. 
They have two children: Diane and Steven. Oliver D. now 93 
and Blanche nov; 87 have retired from the farm and live in 
Toledo. 

-348- 



Amos G.'s daughter Mollie married George Harris and moved 
to rit. Zion, Illinois. They had four children, of whom only 
Eay of Ht. Zion survives. 

Amos G.'s other daughter Kusetta married John 3cranton. 
Thev had Laurell, who has held various positions in the fed- 
eral agriculture and state departments and spent many years 
abroad, but is now retired and living in Sarasota, Fla. ; 
Norman, an engineer with Staley Co., living in Decatur; Corwin 
and Mamie (Hende:-son) in Calif., and Nellie who married Earl 
Lacey. 

Although many of John the Deer Hunter's descendants now 
live in Illinois, some of them are still to be found in Ohio. 
There has always been a close relationship betv;een the Gut- 
rights in the two states and :'rec,uent visits have been made 
each way. The latest of his descendants to migrate to 111. 
is Grace Bro\m Outright, also a granddaughter of Oamden, \;ho 
now calls Toledo, 111., her home. 

The Outrights started in 111. as farmers, but some of 
the land entered by John the Deer Hunter passed from the 
family's hands. None of his descendants through Oliver and 
Mary Baumgartner Outright are "dirt" farmers today, but much 
of the land has been repurchased by their descendants who are 
proud to o\\fn land entered by their great-great-grandfather. 

OUT:i:IGHT, JOHI^^ hi, was the rough, sturdy, pioneer type 
who came to settle in 111. Once he walked all the way from 
Ross Oo., Ohio to 111., swimming across the rivers and streams 
along the way. His father John II had sent him on this mission 
with ^A-OO. to enter government land at the land office in 
Talestine, 111. This was in 1858 or 1839, according to records 
probably 1639. ite turning to Ohio John III did not come to 
Illinois to se-ctle until after he had married. John, born in 
1820, was the son of John II and Martha Angle Outright who 
were the first of the Outrights to settle in what is now 
Cumberland Co., at that time a part of Clark Oo. 

John III married i^lizabeth Shaner a daughter of Kr. and 
Mrs. John Shaner of Ohio, who also came to 111. later. Their 
first child, Robert, born in 18^7, v/as born in Ohio. The 
second child Louella, was born in 18^9 in HI. so they came to 
111. sometime between these two dates. Byrd was born Feb. 28, 
1851 and ..arren on July 25, 1654. After coming to Illinois 
John, cleared land and f-irmed as did other pioneers but also 
spent a great deal of time hunting. .ihen /-arren was about two 
years old the mother Elizabeth died and is buried in the Herr 
or (Outright) Cemetery v/hich is located on the land originally 
entered by the Outrights. 

John III later married Elizabeth Day of near Greenup. 
They raised a family of nine children and lost two in infancy. 
(1) £mily born in 1850 or 61 married w'illiam Fox. They lived 
near Bluford, 111. and had a family of two girls and five 
boys. (2) Alice born Dec. 10, 1852 married John Coleman and 
lived in Union Township. They were parents of six girls and 
two boys. (5) Kathryn born in 1854 married Lloyd Frizzell. 

-349- 



They lived in Union Tovmship and had six daughters and one 
son (4) Rachel born in 1870 married John Gossett. They 
lived on a farm in Union Township for several years then 
moved into Casey but he still v/ent out to the farm to care 
for his stock as long as he was able. They had one daughter 
and three sons. (5) Lewis born Oct. 15, 1867, he married 
Nancy Campbell and they lived in Cumberland Co. '-i^hey were 
parents of three daughters and one son. (6) May born Kay 19, 
1S72 married iidward Bland and lived near Greenup. They 
raised one girl and five boys. (7) -Nathan Allen born March 
10, 1878 married Pearl Burson. He was a farmer and they 
lived a number of different peaces in Cumber-land and Clark 
Counties. They were parents of four girls and five boys. 
(8) Minnie born in 1880 and married Sari Reed. They lived 
in Casey many years, then moved to Areola. They had two 
daughters. (9) Myrtle born July 25, 1884 married Jake Tute- 
wiler. She had one son and one daughter. 

John III died in 1892 and Elizabeth died in June 1922. 
They are buried in the Herr Cemetery. 

OUTRIGHT, ROBERT born in 1847 was the eldest son of John 
III and Elizabeth Outright married Delilah Cook a daughter of 
John and Barbara Smith Cook of Union -L'ownship. They lived 
south of Union Center near the other Gutrights. They had a 
son and a daughter. The daughter, Louella, married Jol'm. Bland 
and they had a daughter, Josie. The son, George, married Jane 
Deverick and they had one daughter Irma. Irma married './ilton 
Seaton of Martinsville where they now live. They have one 
daughter Linda Jane. Linda is librarian and English teacher 
in the Grossville High School at Crossville, 111. 

OUTRIGHT, V/ILLI/iM a son of Stingley and Elizabeth Brown 
Outright married Louella Outright the daughter of John III 
and Elizabeth Shaner Cutri ;ht. They lived south of Timothy 
in Greenup Township. They were parents of four sons. Byrd 
married Cora Keese both are deceased. Stingley Tr.^rried Rosa 
Neese. They had one daughter. Myrtle. Rosa is deceased. 
Stingley and daughter Myrtle live on the farm south of Green- 
up. Camden married Ollie Underwood. They had one daughter 
Inez. About 1910 Camden decided that small farming, hunting, 
and fishing like the rest of the family was no life for him 
so he took his wife and daughter and v/ent to Montana to 
"homestead". He took a claim near ./innett, Montana and stayed 
on it raising cattle until it was his property. About this 
time the oilfields were opening in Montana and he worked many 
years in the oilfields. He is now retired and living in Cut- 
bank, Montana, Ollie passed away in August of 1958 and is 
buried in Conrad, Montana. Inez is married to Norman Gregg, 
a native of Kansas, who was working in the oilfields of 
Montana when they were married. Later they came to southern 
111. where he worked in the oilfield. After going back to 
Montana awhile they went to Kansas and lived on a cattle ranch 
for several years. He is nov; retired and t:;ey are living in 

-350- 



Cutbank to be near her father. Hiram narried Vica Neese and 
they lived in Charleston. Both are nov/ deceased. 

CUTHIGHT, BYED, a son of John III and i^lizabeth ohaner 
Cutrit::ht, was born Feb. 28, 1951 • He married ITancy i:^llen 
Askev; a daughter of Allen and l^ebecca Jlder Askev; of Union 
-L'ownship. He spent his entire life in Union Tov;nship farming 
and raising livestock. At one tine he raised many horses. 
He harvested so much hay that hay harvest most always lasted 
nearly the whole month of July v/ith several men and boys 
working. I'hey were parents of two sons: Allen born April 5? 
1881 and Ira born March 2, 1884. Allen married Martha Bemo^ant 
and Ira married Iva Snyder. After an appendecoomy Ira passed 
away in March 1919 and v;as buried at Harmony just two v.'eeks 
after his 55'th birthday. Allen is still living on the home- 
place in Union To'wnship. 

GUT3IGHT,:;ARH2N, the youngest son of John III and Eliza- 
beth Shaner Outright, born July 25, 185-^, v;as another one of 
those who decided to move on further west so v;hen a young man 
he went to Kansas. There he married T'tebecca Keelin whose 
family had also emigrated from 111. to Kansas. They lived on 
a Kansas farm for av/hile and when the Okla. Territory was 
opened he nade the run for a homestead and settled near Byron, 
Okla, not far south of the PLansas line. 

They raised a family of three boys and three girls: John, 
now deceased, Oharles living near Byron, Okla. , Emily married 
Forest Furgason living on a farm near Cherokee, Okla., Car^^-ie 
married a Mr. Larrimore , both deceased, Martha married Eston 
Silcott living on a farm near Manchester, Okla. and Andrev; 
who v;as killed by a train in Calif. 

warren and :iis v/ife are buried near Byron and their sons 
John and Andrev/, are also there, 

CUTHIGHT, ALLEN the elder son of Byrd and Nancy Askew Cut- 
right v;as born April 5, 1681 in Union Township. On May 10, 
1905 on a Sunday afternoon two very unusual wedding ceremonies 
were performed by Ben McMillan, Justice of Peace of Union 
Township. "Uncle Ben" as he v/as l<jiov;n married hundreds of 
couples while he v;as Justice of Peace so v;hat v;as so unusual 
about this one? Allen Outright eind Martha Jane Bemount ; and 
Allen Speakman and Ollie Outright v;ent to Uncle Ben's to be 
married. He was not at home so they drove on dovm the road 
about one-half mile and found him at the home of his daughter 
Mrs. Alma Askew. He came out and standing there by the side 
of the road performed the ceremonies v.dth the brides and 
grooms sitting in their bug ies. These ceremonies were just 
as lasting as if they had been performed in a church as both 
couples had a long life together. The Speakmans lived to- 
gether almost fifty years before his death -and Allen and 
Martha celebrated their Golden wedding on Sunday afternoon 
May 5? 1955 ■..'ith "Open House" at their home south of Union 
Center. They had their fifty-fifth anniversary before her 
death March 22, 1959. Martha was born Sept. 14, 1880 a 

-351- 



daughter of Jennis and -Elizabeth Keese Bemount. She was born 
in Coles Go. south of Charleston, but the family had moved to 
a little farm south of Timothy v;hen she was small. Allen was 
a former and helped his father v;ith his farming as v;ell as 
his ov;n; hov/ever he did many other thing's. He bought -4-0 acres 
from Kr. Herr, land which had been his i;jreat-grandfather ' s in 
the beginning and where one of their daui^hters nov; lives. 
They had an apple orchard on the small farm and for several 
years sold apples to merchants in tovm. -L'or several years 
Allen made brooms during the winter months on a hand machine 
and sold the brooms to the merchants as well as to individuals 
One v/inter he worked in th,- oilfield near Oilfield, 111. In 
the early twenties he started a r.iilk route which he operated 
for more than ten years; first taking the milk to the Model 
Ice Cream ilant in Ter e Haute and bringing back merchandise 
for the merchant.-; of Casey, Greenuj), and Union Center. Later 
he took the milk to the Cheese i^'actory in .'iarshall. He 
served as Supervisor of Union Township and was Chairman of 
the -Board of --Review. He was also School Trustee. All this 
time Martha was also busy carin.; for the home and c:iildren 
and helping friends and neighbors. In 1955 they accepted 
]-Ositions at the Gixon State Hos] ital in Dixon, 111. where 
they lived and v/orked until March 1^42 when they came back 
to the farm. After Iiartha ' s death Allen had the misfortune 
of losing his right arm in a combine accident in June 1959. 
In November of that year his son and daughter-in-law moved in 
with hin and he is still living on the farm v/here he lived as 
a boy. 

Martha and Allen were ] arenjs of four children: Sllen 
born -Jec. 15, 1907, now Mrs. i:.arl Decker; Birdie born July 
24-, 1909, now Mrs. y^rthur Bensley; Zvelyn born July 3, 1911, 
nov; Mrs. jilliam Coleman; and albert Bemont born Feb. 4, 1919 
married jileanor -iade. 

OUTRIGHT, ALBERT BJ'^MOUT , son of Allen and Martha Jane Be- 
mount Outright v;as born in Union Township on -b'eb. 4, 1919. 
He was the youngest in his family having three older sisters, 
-livelyn, Birdie, and Lllen. 

He attended the Reed and Fairview rural schools and later 
attended Greenup and Casey High Schools. 

In Dec. 1955 Bemont and his parents moved to Dixon, 111. 
v;he:'e his parents had employment at the Dixon State Hospital. 
Most of the time v;hile in Dixon Bemont worked on a farm near 
lolo, 111. for the Don Ijong Family. In 1939 Bemont came home 
to resume farming. In the spring of 194-2 his parents also 
came back home. 

On Dec. 25, 194-3 Albert Bemont Outright s^nd -c^leanor 
Maudeline .iade v;ere married at the Methodist larsonage in 
Greenup. 'ihey started housekeeping on a farm which had been 
the former family home of his parents and where he had been 
born. Eleanor born Hov. 29, 1920 is the daughter of J. E. 
and Uellie Askew Wade of Union Township. She attended school 
at Heal, graduated from Greenup High School in 1939, and 

-352- 



y 



graduated from a two year teachers' course at Eastern 111. 
Teachers' College in 19^1. At the time of her marriage she 
was teaching at the Lockwain School v;here she had taught for 
three years. In March 19^6 they moved to the Ebb Askew farm, 
Eleanor's Grandfather's home. Eleanor was still teaching at 
Hogback, Reed and one year at the Roosevelt school in Casey 
until the spring of 19^9. 

On Oct. 30, 19^9 Kay Lynne Outright was born at the Union 
Hospital in Terre Haute, Ind. , the first child of Eleanor and 
Bemont . 

Bemont continued farming until 1951 when he started the 
A. B.C. Gravel Pit and began producing sand and gravel for sale. 
In 1950 he had purchased land from .\/illiam Short for gravel 
production. At first the gravel pit was run by Gerald and 
Denzil Henderson. In 1951 Bemont purchased their equipment 
and started producing gravel and sand for himself with the 
help of an employee. I'he A. B.C. Gravel Pit is now in a 
differant location being located on the Bedford Cox farm near 
Hurricane Creek. 

In March 1952 the family moved again to a home in Union 
Center the former Irvin and Docia Hill property. On Oct. 15, 
1953 their second daughter Joyce Ann was born at the Union 
Hospital in Terre Haute. 

Kay and Joyce attended school in the Casey Unit, Kay began 
taking baton lessons in the third grade and v;hen she v;as a 
freshman in high school started ^jiving baton lessons, first at 
Casey, then at Greenup where she had a tv;irling group "The 
Twirling Kayettes" which performed at parades, the county 
fair, and other events. She v;as a majorette in the high school 
band, was in choir, various clubs, and a member of the Nation- 
al Honor Society. At present she is a freshman at the U of 
I, majoring in accounting. She has earned membership in Alpha 
Lamba Delta, the National scholastic honor society for fresh- 
man women, ^bo - is also a majorette in the band and is in the 
chorus. She was interested in "tumbling" and took lessons 
for two years. She has performed her tumbling acts at the 
fair, for clubs and school affairs. She is a member of the 
First Christian Church in Casey. Both girls have been in 
Girl Scouts and have been active in 4-H of Cumberland Co. 

In Nov. of 1959 the family moved in with Bemont ' s father, 
Allen, to live and help care for him. Bemont farms and con- 
tinues to operate the gravel pit. Eleanor does substitute 
teaching in the Casey Unit Schools. 

OUTRIGHT, MELVIN born August 26, 1872 in Union Township 
was a son of Austin and Margaret Strong Outright. He married 
Addie Anis Coleman born Sept. 18?-^ in Cumberland Co. a dau- 
ghter of Levi and Barbara Outright Coleman. They spent all 
their life on a farm in Union Township near his parents, south 
and west of Union Center. They had a family of four girls 
and one boy. 

(1) Nellie born Oct. 5, 1396 married Roy Curry, now lives 
in the western part of Illinois; (2) Nora born Oct. 19, 1897 

-353- 



married Van Buckley and now lives in Casey; (3) Grace born 
Feb. 9, 1899 married Ferd Stewart; died August 3, 1965. They 
lived on a farm b " Harmony Church; (4) Alma born June 11, 
1900 married Arthur Comer and now lives in Casey; (5) Charles 
born Oct. 6, 1905 married Huth Yanaway in 1926. Ruth died 
in 1929. 

CUTiaOHT, CHARLES, then married Berniece Short born Feb. 1911, 
26, a daughter of 'Jilliam and Lenona Short of Union Tovmship. 
They have always lived in tiiis locality first on r.is grand- 
father's farm, and later moved to his father's farm (after his 
father's death), which he now owns. Here they raised their 
family; two girls and two boys, (a) Charles Lee born May 50, 
1930 married Velma Lorene Murphy (born March 28, 193'^-) on 
Sept. 25, 19'^9; they have four children: Sharon Lorene, Cathy 
Jo, Marsha Lynn and Lisa Ann. (b) Lela Frances born March 11, 
1932 married Samuel Doughty May 29 > 19^8. They had two dau- 
ghters Sandra Kay and Connie Sue. Lela then married Robert 
Kull on Dec. 9, 1921 and they have two sons, Robert Carl and 
Michael. They live in Mattoon. (c) Max Eugene born Feb. 9, 
193^ married Rose ilnn Seeley in June 1957. '-^^hey have two 
sons David Eugene and Dennie Franklin. They live on a farm 
near Jewett. (d) Elsie Mae born Aj)ril 26, 1956 married on 
Dec. 20, 195'^ "to Harold Leon Dillier born July 3, 1936. They 
have tv;o children Randall Lyn and Brenda Lea. They live on 
a furm south of Casey. 

Charles Lee and Velma have a ne.i home east and north of 
Union Center. In addition to his ov;n land he f':rms the 
kvilcox place south of Union Center. 

Charles and Berneice still live on the farm although he 
has retired from farming. 

iiddie died Aug. 30, 1928 and is buried at Harmony. Some 
years later Melvin married Maud Roan. Melvin died Dec. 15, 
1959 and is buried at Harmony. A-fter his death Maud v/ent back 
to her own farm in Jasper Co. She is now deceased. 

CUTTS, ELMER BEHJAPIIN was born Feb. 25, 1884, at Lee, De 
Kalb County, 111., the son of Robert and Jennie (Beals) Gutts. 
He was married Oct. 20, 1902 in Lee, 111. to Bertha Leonora 
Adams (born Feb. 19, 1680) daughter of Hev;ell Henry Harrison 
and Harriett Leonora (McKinney) Adams of Traer, Tama Co., 
Iowa. Their c ildren v/ere (1) Robert Henry, born July 6, 

1904 at Lee, 111. and died May 20, 1925 in Toledo, 111. and 
is buried in Toledo cemetery; (2) Floyd E. , born Dec. 12, 

1905 at Traer, Tama Co., lov/a, died Jan. 9, 1956 in Toledo 
and is buried in the Toledo cemetery; (3) Donald Elmer, born 
Jan. 1, 1912 in Toledo, Cumberland Co., 111. and (4) Raymond 
Lester, born Jan. 24, 1915 in Toledo, 111. Elmer Cutts died 

on Oct. 26, 1962 in Toledo and is buried in the Toledo cemetery o. 

Mr. and Mrs. E. B. Cutts brought their tv;o young sons, 
Robert and Floyd, to Toledo in March 1910 where Mr. Cutts 
had been appointed manager of the liimber yard belonging to 
the Armour Grain Co. In 1925, he and H. B. Grafton of Lerna 
purchased the lumber yard which has been known as the Toledo 

-354- 



Builders Supply Go. since that tine. Mr. Gutts remained 
active in the lumber "business for over 50 years, retiring in 
1961. 

Mr. and Mrs. Gutts and their family became members of the 
Toledo Presbyterian Ghurch shortly after moving to Toledo 
and remained active in that church until it was disbanded in 
1963. Mr. Gutts was a member of the Toledo Masonic Lodge 
and a charter member of the Toledo Isaak .ialton League. He 
served several terms as Supervisor of General Assistance of 
Sumpter Township, served as a member of the Board of Trustees 
of the Toledo Public Schools, v;as a member of the Toledo 
Village Board and Mayor of Toledo, was on the Board of Review, 
and was long prominent in the business and civic improvement 
of the Toledo community. Mrs. Gutts is a member of the 
Order of the Eastern Star and the Toledo Domestic Science 
Glub. 

As a memorial to the late lilmer B. Gutts, friends and 
relatives planted a beautiful blue spruce tree on the lawn 
of the Gumberland Gounty Gourt House in Toledo in Nov. 1962. 
It is located about thirty feet northeast of the East entrance 
of the Gourt House. 

GUTTS, FLOYD EIIIER was bo.-n Dec. 12, 1905 in Traer, Tama 
Go., Iowa, the son of Elmer Benjamin "E.B." and Bertha L. 
(Adams) Gutts. In I9IC ^loyd moved to Toledo with his 
parents where he resided the greater part of his life. On 
June 29, 1924 he v;as married to Thelma Stark the daughter of 
Jesse G. and Edith (Holsapple) Stark. Their children are 
Robert Stark Gutts born on Oct. 16, 1926 in Toledo, 111.; 
and Joanne (Gutts) Easton born April 24, 1928 in 'iatseka, 
Iroquois Go., 111. Eloyd v;as a member of the Toledo Presby- 
terian Ghurch, and The Toledo Kiwanis Glub. He was associated 
v;ith the Builders' Supply Go. v/ith his father, "E.B.". Gutts 
at the time of his d 
the Toledo cemetery. 

GYR, PatricK H., born Dec. 6, 1923 in Shelby Go., 111., 
son of Edward E. and Grace (Kennedy) Gyr, married June 26, 
1946 to Rita Meek, born March 23, 1924 in Piatt Go., 111. 

GYR, EDwARD was born ^pril 30, 1385 at Ghippawa Falls, 
Wis., married Grace Oct. 5, 1920 in Shelby Go. and died June 
26, 1954. Grace died July 5> 1925- -"oth are buried in St. 
Patrick Gemetery, Shelby Go. 

Ernest Meek father of Rita, was born May 5? 1891, was 
married to Frances Monaghan (born Oct. 27, 1892 in Piatt Go. 
on Feb. 5, 1915* 

Pat and Rita had (1) Zita A. born March 23, 194?, (2) 
Mike E. born Jan. 8, 1949, (3) Martha G. born July 6, 1950, 
(4) Tim J. born Nov. 4, 1951, (5) Terry R. born Aug. 11, 
1954, (6) Mary Ellen born Feb. 5, 1956, and (?) Patricia M. 
born April 25, 1957- 

Pat v;orks in a Ford garage at Effingham, 111. and does oil 
and sign painting. The family lived in Ileoga, 111, 



-355- 



- D - 

DOWDEIT, HANNAH LOUISA, born March 26, 18^8, daughter of 
Archibald and Hannah Ann (Iriest) Dowden, natives of Ohio, 
moved to Delavmre Co., Ind, near Mxincie, then into Cumberland 
Co., 111., by covered wagon v/hen Louisa was four years old. 
with them came Elizabeth, v/ife of A. D. Dowden, born Dec. 31, 
1788, and died Dec. 8, 187"^ mother of Archibald Dowden who 
was born April 1, 1815. Hannah, his wife, was born March 25, 
1820. They purchased 240 acres of good land from Alcana 
Bright on Nov. 15, 1852. Alcana had entered this land di- 
rectly from the government. It v/as located in Union Town- 
ship, one mile south of Diona, 111., and one mile v;est. Here 
they built a small log house for temporary shelter and began 
farming. He also operated a brick kiln on his farm v/here in 
about 1864, he burned brick v/hich he used to build his per- 
manent home on the middle eighty of the farm. The vmlls 
were made two bricks thick, including all the inner v;alls, 
then paneled and finished with black walnut lumber he cut and 
finished off his ovm farm. Today this house is a very attrac- 
tive place and despite its age is in a good state of repair, 
and iS' owned by a granddaughter, Ethel (otanberry) '^oleman. 

Archibald owned an interest in the famous Sulphur Mineral 
Springs farm, located a half mile north of the Coles County 
line in Pleasant Grove tov;nship at the time it was in its 
heyday as a noted resort. Four daughters v;ere born to ^irchi- 
bald and Hannah Dowden, at least one, Louisa, v;as born in 
Indiana. Children: (1) Nancy Jane, married a Haddock and 
had children Thomas and Alice; (2) J. U. Jenkins; (3) Louisa, 
our subject; (4) Amelia, born May 12, 1857, died Nov. 29, 
1858; (5) Leah, born Jan. 25, 1861, married Dr. J. W. Frank- 
lin, a noted physician of Diona, 111. Leah died Dec. 19, 
1880, leaving two children, Lula Ann, married Charles M. 
Jenkins; (6) Melvin S., single, living all his life on the 
Franklin home place; and a son (7) Clarence, died Aug. 4, 
1875, age one year. Mr. Dowden died March 8, 1883, his wife 
Hannah, died Jan. 24, 1899- Burial place of the Dowden family 
is Neal cemetery, south of Clear Creek c-iurch in Union Tovm- 
ship. 

Louisa was first married to Adam Columbus Carrell, v\fho 
died Jan. 12, 1882, leaving her with^slx children: (l) 

Cynthia L., married Shobe; (2) Flora A., married 

Alonza D. Howell; (5) Cecil; (4) Otha; (5) Zeta married A. W. 
Tipsword; and (6) Archibald D., who died at age six days.>|(^ 
Louisa was next married to vVilliam Henry Stanberry of the 
Mineral Springs area, born Nov. 4, 1857, a son of Elihu and 
Euphrocina (Jalker) Stanberry. They became parents of four 
children, (1) Jesse Oscar and (2) C. Earnest, both graduates 
of Charleston Normal School, becoming teachers. Jesse married 
Hannah Sands, they had one daughter, Cecile; Earnest married 
Opal Bensley, and had children, Richard, Mary Alice and 
Eugene; (3) Fred, married Elsie Frits, their children v;ere 
Darrell, Louise and Gretchen. Fred became a minister of the 
Decatur, 111., Church of God; (4) Ethel Lillian, born Jan. 

-356- 



15, 1&91» and married Noah Coleman of the Union Center Area. 
His father, Jacob, was a German, and his mother, Sarah (Baiim- 
gartner) Coleman was Irish. Noah's grandparents Coleman came 
from Germany and were never able to speak iinglish. Noah was 
a farmer and livestock man, and lived all his married life 
on the Dov/den homestead except for about three years when he 
and his brother moved to Deering, /iisconsin andengaged in the 
logging business, around 1917 • -lithel was able to buy the 
east eighty acresof the Dov/den farm from the heirs, so 160 
acres of the original 240 acres are still in family possession. 
Noah died June 1, 195'^, ^^^thel Just recently mov rd to Greenup, 
111. 'i'here were three children: (1) Leland Henry, born Jan. 
27, 1911, married Lorene Carpenter on June 6, 1956, their 
children were Loralee and Leah June; (2) Ruby Louisa, born 
Aug. 12, 1912, married Chester Winchester one child, Marian 
Louise; and (j) Sarah Aleen, born June 11, 1915, and married 
Ov/en Dolphus ^ijan Dec. 24, 193^, one son James Leroy, born 
Oct. 27, 19^5, and married .Winifred Kaye Parrott on June 3, 
1966. 

DUVyjjL, LE/jIS ALBjiRT was born in Cumberland Co. in Sept. 
1874, a son of Charles and Maggie (Park) Juvall. His grand- 
father v/as a postmaster in Hazel Dell and gave Hazel Dell its 
name. In Dec. 1898 Lev/is married Mahala Catherine Hanners 
born in March 1582 in Ind. She was the daughter of John 
Phomas and Cynthia Jane (Brooks) Hanners. ./hen first married 
they lived in a log cabin. They lived on a farm in the Hazel 
Dell vicinity. Phey were parents of nine children all born in 
Cumberland Co., namely: (1) Nellie born Ajril 17, 1898; died 
May 17, 1898; (2) riuby Inez born Jan. 2, 1901 married George 
Philippi. After his death she married j'ayne ..-atts. Aiiby 
died Nov. 24, 1950; (3) -t^lina Mae born Dec. 12, 1905 married 
Jesse Ricketts in 1925; C'^-) ^ola Fern born Aug. 2o, 1905 
married Robert Snider in 1927; (5) './alter jimerson born April 
18, 1907 married Hilda Phillippi; (6) Goldie Lucille born 
July 3, 1909 mar.^ied lete Carver in 1932; (7) Audrey Orel born 
April 11, 1911 married '/irgil Freeman in 1930; (8) Clova 
Beatrice born Jan. 3, 1916 married Harold Smith, Jr., Clova 
died in 1948; (9) Maxine Jeneva born May 12, 1926 married 
Charles Smith in 19^7- 

After retiring Mr. and Mrs. Duvall moved into Greenup 
v/here Mr. Duvall died at his home in Sept. 1957 and is buried 
in Casey Washington St. Cemetery. 

DARLING, CLEO LAVERE was the son of Lewis and Dovie Drum 
Darling, born Dec. 10, 1903 . In Sept. 1922 he v;as married to 
Mildred Fern Carlen born Jan. 1, 1907 a daughter of Elmer David 
and Carrie Belle Jobe Carlen. Both families' lived in Cum- 
berland County. Cleo and Mildred lived on a farm north of 
Greenup on Rt. I50 where he farmed as long as his health 
permitted. He passed away March 16, 1955 and is buried at 
Hurricane Cemetery in Coles Co. Cleo and Mildred raised a 
family of six children: Maurine Olga born April 1, 1925 
married Everett Decker, Rosalee Srma born Dec. 6, 1925, 

-357- 



married Harry Metzler and lives in Hobart , Ind. They have 
three children. -i-endon E. born July 16, 192?, married Pat- 
ricia ricCormick on Aug. 5, 1950; they have tv;o children. 
Russell Dale born May 5, 1929 married Thresea flooling Nay 16,- 
1951; they have four children and live at Haroa, 111. Lloyd 
-Eugene oorn Oct. 29, 1951, married Barbara Carpenter; they 
have two children and live at Mechanicsburg, 111. Billy Logan 
born Oct. 10, 1951 married Marilyn McNurlan June 28, 1951; 
they have five children and live in Kankakee, 111. 

Mildred still lives out on the farm and works at the shoe 
factory in Greenup. 

DAIttilKG, JAillGi:; GLYO, was born July 2?, 19^1 in Cumberland 
Co., 111. a daughter of Lee "Shad" and Mary (Strater) Darling. 
Lee was born Aug. 10, 19-1 in Jasper Co., 111. and died July 
26, 1959 in Cumberland Co. He is buried at Liberty Hill and 
was affiliated with the United Brethren Church. He married 
Mary otrater, Sept. 50, 1925 in Cumberland Co. who was born 
June 5, 19O8 in Cumberland Co. 

Janice married Lloyd Riddle Sept. 6, 1959 at Hidalgo, 
111. '--'hey have two children: Julia imn born Aj^ril 24, 196I 
at Mattoon and Jimmie born Jan. 51, 1965. 

DAIULIN I, Lj;E "SHAD" was born in Jasper Co. on Aug. 10, 
1901 to Melvina Lemay and James Darling (died Oct. 19'^5). 
Both of his parents are buried in the Hays Cemetery in Cum- 
berland Co. He v;qs a member of the United Brethren Church. 
He died July 26, 1959 in Greenup and is buried in Liberty 
Hill Cemetery, Ciimberland Co. 

On Sept. 50, 1925 he was married to Mary Elizabeth Strader 
who was born June 5, 1908 in Greenu]-. "-"he was the daughter 
of Clova Eveland and Norman Francis Strader who were married 
Sept. 8, 1907. Clova Eveland was born Hov. 20, 1887 in Cum- 
berland Co. and died Feb. 5, 1955, in Coles Co. Norman Francis 
Strader was born Jan. 29, 1885 in Cumberland Co. and died May 
2, 1964. Both parents are buried in Liberty Hill Cemetery 
Cumberland Co. 

Mary Elizabeth Strader was married a second time to Roy 
Sheridan who died Jan. 2, 1966. 

Children of Lee Darling and Mary E. Strader are: Lois 
Lee, James Norman and Janice Clyo. 

DALE JAI'IES was married on Sept. 10, 1944 to Louis Lee 
Darling, daughter of Mary Elizabeth Strader and Lee Darling. 
She was born July 29, 1926 in Cumberland Co. Their children: 
Sheryl Lay, born April 19, 1947, Roger Dale born April 6, 
1952, (both in Cumberland Co.), Marilyn born Aug. 11, 1956, 
Carolyn, born Aug. 11, 1956 in Coles Co. 

DARLING, JAMES NORMAN born Oct. 14, 193O in Cumberland Go. 
v;as married to Ople Loehr on Aug. 6, 1962 in Cumberland Co. 
Children: Garry, born Nov. 26, 1954 in Terre Haute, Ind. 

LLOYD RIDDLE married Janice Clyo Darling on Sept. 6, 1959 
in Cumberland Co. -^he was born July 27, 1941. 

DARLING, LEwIS CLINTON a son of David and Loretta (Roberts) 
Darling was born Feb. 20, 1880. On Feb. 22, 1903 he married 

-358- 



Dovie May Drum born Feb. 19, 1886 a daughter of Amanda Decker 
Drum and John Drum of ^umerland Co. Lewis did farm work 
most of his life. After living in a number of different 
places, they bought a farm about a mile west of Union Center 
and moved there about 1950, Here he farmed and spent the rest 
of his life. He also served as road commissioner of Union 
Township at one time. Lewis died April 1^ 19'^0 and Dovie died 
Aug. 11, 1959* '^hey are buried at Hurricane Cemetery in Coles 
Co. Just north of Diona. 

Lewis and Dovie were parents of 11 children namely: Cleo 
Levere born Dec. 12, 1905, died Mar. 16, 1955, was married to 
Mildred Carlen; Freda Cleste born J\ine 24, 1905 married 
Ralph Burnall; Leta Murl born June 9, 1907 married Clifford 
Kuhn; Thelma Inez born June 1, 1909 married Harold Peterson; 
Norris Hershel born Dec. 12, 1911 married Mildred Kuhn; Dorine 
Elaine born Oct. 12, 191^, married Munson Richardson; Edema 
Drum born Dec. 22, 1919 married Howard Smith; Phyliss Claire 
born May 20, 1917 married Norman Repp; Rupert Rex born May 
5, 1922 married Betty Burris; Nadine Maxine born March 28, 
1924- married Dean Hardy; An infant girl born Sept, 11, 1926 
and died the same day. 

DARLING, 'JILLI.\M the son of Isaac and Hannah Shafer Darling 
was born April 4, 1828. He was one of nine children: Lucy 
married Oliver Easton, Elmira married Joshua Powers, Jerucia 
married .vesley .v'ebb, Mary Ann married John Decker, Sarah Ann 
married Tom Stull, Jonathan, Charles, Eli and V/illiam. -^^li 
married Sarah Bov/les and william married Susanna Bowles. 
Sarah andSusanna had brothers Semore, Jim and Bill and a half 
sister Hulda Ekens. 

William Darling and Susanna Bov/les Darling were parents of 
ten Children, namely: Florence born Jan. 27, 1856,; Vernon 
Lewis born June 6, 1858; Dora Ethelyn born June 17, I860; 
Elmina May born Dec. 14, 1862; infant boy born Oct. 24, 1864; 
Lennie Rosalee born April 18, 1867; Iva Myrtle born Dec. 27, 
1869; Logan Denver born Aug. 10, 1872; Clement Semore born 
July 2, 1875; Leni Leote born Jan. 15, 1866. Six of these 
children grew to adulthood. 

Florence was married four times; 1st to John Mattin having 
one son, Chester, 2nd to Peter DeVore and they had five child- 
ren: Nettie, William, Frank, Nora, and Roakel ; 5rd Mr. Jack- 
son and 4th Mr. Phue . Florence lived to be 101 years of age. 

Dora married John ./allace Redman. They had two daughters 
Coral and Julia. She later married .-/illiam Applegate. 

Lennie married Charles Dodds. To them were born, Dav/n, 
Harry, Noble, Hobart , Walter and Mark. After the death of 
Mr. Dodds she married Fred Gilcher. They had one son Darrell. 

Iva i'iarried Nick Tanner and they were parents of seven 
children: Lela, Eddie, Oma, Loree, Nellie, Bertha and Lester. 

Logan never married. 

Clement married Minnie (7). They had four children: Addie, 
Leo, Arthur, and Emma. 

William Darling was a farmer. During the "Gold Rush" he 

-359- 



v;ent to Calif, to dig for gold. He brought honie some gold 
dust and enough gold to make two gold rings; one for his v;ife 
and one for himself. One of these rings is now a possession 
of one of his grand-daughters, Julia Luke. Later in life 
'William and dusanna moved to Bone Gap, 111. where they lived 
until his death on Feb. 2, 1908. He is buried at Bone Gap. 
Susanna and her son Logan moved back to- a place near Janes- 
ville, 111. v/here she died June 6, 1916 at the age of 80. 
ohe is buried in Janesville. One of the ten children still 
survives; Clement. Iva died in 1968 at the age of 9^ 

DAVIS, z,ARL S. son of George v;. and Anna C. (Starks) Davis 
v;as born at Oldenburg, Ind. on Nov. 30, 1891. ihe family 
moved to Cumberland Co., 111. in 1910. 

iiarl married Orel Kae Simcox at Hazel Dell, on Sept. 16, 
191'^. He served in ..orld v^ar I from June 15, 1918 til Sept. 
15, 1919. 

They spent their entire married life on a farm east of 
Hazel Dell, where Orel passed av/ay Aug 15, 1955- 

Orel Mae was born June 25, lci89, the daughter of Samuel 
and Iheby (Partlov;) Simcox, from Mariah, 111. 

D^ADMOND, HAYI'lOHD FLOYD, born Hov. 26, 1908 in Marion 
Co., 111. son of Oscar Carl and Fvelyn (licKown) Deadmond, 
married Mary ^"uin LuKoseck, born August 25, Sandoval, 111. 

Oscar Carl, born ii-ugust 17, 1868 died Sept. 28, 1950 and 
Fvelyn died Aug. 10, 19^7 • Both are buried in the Deadmond 
Cemetery at Oden, 111. 

Mary ilnn's father, Lewis Lui^oseck was born July 26, 1876 
in Germany, and died May 27, 1928. Her mother, Justina 
Ostrodka, born Aug. 26, 1884 at Irague, Austria, died Sept. 
29, 1919 at Centralia, 111. Both are buried in the Gentralia 
City Cemetery. 

Raymond and Mary had (1) Raymond Jr. born May 1, 1952 v.'ho 
married Ruth Koester ^ug. 29, 1956; (2) James ^rvin born 
Sejt. 26, 1953, died Sept. 29, 1951, buried at Heoga, 111. 
Cemetery; (5) Frances liileen born April 2-4-, 1935, married Jack 
Clevengei' Jan. 29, 1955 in Coles Co., 111.; (4) Shirley Mae 
born May 2, 1957, married Charles 1. I-:cDewitt Sej;t. 15, 1961 
at Miama, Okla.; (5) Jenette born June 27, 1959, married Greg 
Myers May 26, 1957 at Corinth, Miss.; (6) Larry Leroy born 
Dec. 27, 19-^6; (7) 'Iheodore Lane born Kcv. 9, 1949; and .Cheryl 
Lynn born July 10, 1956. 

This family has lived in Heoga several years. The first 
five children were born at Odin, 111., the last three in 
iiffingham Co., 111. 

DECKER, iLi.RL FARI'-iLR, son of Oce and Susan Matheny Decker 
was born Jan. 4, 1903. On Sept. 8, 1828 Earl and Lllen i^urton 
Outright were married in the home of her parents, I-iartha And 
Allen Outright. ^llen was born Dec. 15, 1907- After grad- 
uating from the Casey High School in 1925 she attended Eastern 
Illinois State Teachers' College whei'e she graduated from a 
two 3/ear elementary teachers course in 1927. After 35 years 
of teaching; sixteen years in the rural schools of Cumberland 

-360- 



Co. and seventeen years in the Casey Unit; twelve at the 
Monroe ochool in Casey she is now retired. Earl began working 
out on farms at an early age and has always farmed. In 19^2 
they bought the "Collins llace" east of Timothy and have made 
it their home since that tine. Earl is now retired. They 
have no children. 

DECKER, GSOHGE W. born in Union Township on June 25, 1860 
was a son of Caleb and Susan A. (./alls) Decker. On Nov. 25, 
lo85 he v/as married to Nancy Luella Rodebaugh born Julv 2, 
1869, a daughter of Francis M. and Samantha (Linnabary; Rode- 
baugh. They spent their entire married life in Union Town- 
ship living on a farm south of Maple loint (Kuhntovm) where 
they farmed and raised a family of five children. (1) Renna 
Calvin born Dec. 50, 1886 married Nellie Natheny March 20, 
1909; (2) Caleb Francis born April 12, 1888 married Maude 
Wade Jan. 21, 191^; (5) '.Villiam V. born Sept. 18, 1890 married 
Elsie Brandenburg Dec. 15, 1910; (-4-) Finis Fern born on Feb. 
15, 1895 married William Rienbolt Aug. 14, 191^; (5) and Inez 
I. born Nov. 11, 1904 married Glenn Cougill Jan. 10, 1925. 
George died Oct. 9, 1924. Mrs. Decker continued to live in 
her home alone until June 12, 1955 when she passed away. They 
are buried in the Decker Cemetery on a hill Just east and a 
little south of their homeplace. 

DECKER, RENNA CALVIN, a son of George and Luella Rodabaugh 
Decker was born Dec. 50, 1386. He married Nellie Matheny 
March 20, 1909. when a young man he v/ent to Crary, North 
Dakota where he worked on a farm for approximately three 
years. After returning to 111. he became a school teacher 
teaching in the rural schools of Cumberland Co., namely: 
McMillan, Reed, Hogback, Jack Oak, Neal and Lockwain. He then 
received the appointment as nail carrier on Rt. 1 out of 
Greenup which he held from April 1, 1919 until he retired 
Dec. 51, 1951 • During his years of service as carrier it was 
estimated that he had traveled approximately 500,000 miles. 
Renna died June 21, 1952 and Nellie on Aug. 19, 19&5' They 
are buried in the Greenup Cemetery. 

DECKER, JOHN ANDREW JACKSON was a son of Caleb and Susan 
./all Decker born Nov. 15, 1870 in Cumberland Co. He married 
Martha Ellen Martin born Nov. 17, 1869. Early in life John 
was a farmer and minister. Not only was he an able speaker 
but he v;as a fluent writer and was called upon to write many 
obituaries for people of Union Township. He was County Super- 
intendent of Highways of Cumberland Co. for 55 years with an 
office in Toledo. He and his family lived on a farm near the 
Antioch Church by Hurricane Creek. Just east of his place 
on the Union Center road the old bridge over Hurricane was 
built 80 years ago. A few years ago, since is death, a new 
bridge was built here and was named the "John A. Decker Me- 
morial Bridge". Ex-supervisor, Charles Closson and super- 
visor Albert Vaughn had ^va Matheny, sister of John Decker, 
to cut the ribbon at the west end of the bridge and then took 
her a ride across the bridge as the first one to ride across. 
John knew Governor Len Small and v/as one of those who conferred 

-361- 



with him to get lit, 150 through from Albion to Charleston then 
known as the A. C. Trail. John died Dec. JO, 1956* His wife 
Martha had died May 5, 1955. 

Martha and John were parents of five children: Golden 
Sylvester born June 15, 1895 is a farmer and still lives on 
the homeplace. 

Sylvia Mabel born Aug. 27, 1896 married John Haerr. He 
died April 1, 1966. They had four children: Harley Dale born 
Oct. 25, 1922. He and his wife, Mary have six children 
Christopher Allen born May 16, 19'4-8, Hobin Lee born Oct. 6, 

1950, Janice Elaine born July 2, 1955, Diana Kay born July 

14, 1956, Philip N. born April 2, 1958, and Grace Genelle 
born Dec. 2, I960. Harold -c^ugene Haerr born November 10, 

1924. He and his wife Martha have two children, Otis .Eugene 
born Dec. 16, 1950 and Sylvia Mae born April 15, 195^ • Har- 
vey David Haerr born Feb. 25, 1926. He and his wife Marjorie 
have four children, Harvey David born Dec. 1, 19'^8, Roger 
Neil born Dec. 27, 1950, John Ernest born Jan. 7, 1952, and 
Susan Elaine born July 17, 1955- Ruth Elizabeth Haerr born 
May 15, 1952 married James Odell and they have four children, 
James Leland born April 10, 1950, Jeffrey Lee born Feb. 2, 

1951, J&rry Lavell born Sept. 11, 195^, and Jay Lynn born Oct. 
11, 1958. 

Nellie Blanche Decker born Nov. I5, 1897, married Roy 
Niccum. He died April 2, 1962. They had two sons, John born 
Nov. 5, 1925 and James born Feb. 26, 1928. 

DECKER, HALLIE BRYAN born Aug. 27, 1900. She makes her 
home with her brother Golden at the farm when she isn't working 
away. 

DECIER, GLADYS ELSIE born Feb. 25, 1905, married Cephas 
Kulin born Nov. 22, 1902. They had two daughters Marjorie 
Louise born Oct. 21, 1922 and Marian Katheryn born April 25, 

1925. Cephas got his clothing on fire and burned so badly 
that he died May 11, 1925. Gladys married Ira Russell Niccum 
born Aug. 2, 1904, died on July 14, 1962. To them were born 
two daughters, Mary Lou born Feb. 2, 1955 and Ruth Ann born 
Oct. 21, 1958. Marjorie Louise Kuhn married leter Morris 
Grubb July 2, 1945. He v;as born April I5, 1925. He is a 
teacher, minister, painter, and paper hanger. They live in 
Westfield and have five children: Sandra Jean born Aug. 10, 
1944. She and her father have a B.S. Degree from EIU and she 
is also a teacher. Philip Dean born Oct. 18, 19^7 is in the 
U. S. Air Force stationed in Alaska. Mark Eugene born April 
6, 1955, Brenda Elaine born Dec. 2, 195^, and Pamela Jane born 
May 6, 1961 are still in school. Marian Katheryn Kuhn born 
April 25, 1925 married Charles Schmidt born Feb. 12, 1924. 
They live near Effingham. They have two sons Lawrence Russell 
born Oct. 16, 1946. After serving two years in Germany he 
returned to the states in Oct. in 1967. Kent Lee born Feb. 

15, 1965. Mary Lou Niccum born Feb. 2, 1955 married Theodore 
D, Richardson and they have two children, Michael born Feb. 
26, 1961 and Terrie born Sept 8, 1966. Ruth Ann Niccum 

-362- 



married David Myers. He is in the Air Force and now serving 
in Thailand. They have two children, Debbie born in 1959 and 
Richie born May 1, 1961. 

Gladys Decker Niccum died May 5» 1955* 

DiCCKi:JH, MINOR was born in Cottonv;ood Tovmship Jan. 51 » 
1897. He is the son of Columbus and Dora M. Hutton Decker. 
Columbus was born May 6, 1864 and died March 10, 1900. He 
is buried at Mt. Zion Cemetery. On July 25, 1895 he married 
Dora M. Hutton of Cottonv.'ood Township. After his death she 
married Crayton Butler and they raised two sons and two 
daughters. She died Jan. 16, 193^ and is buried in the Tippet 
Cemetery. Minor married Nellie I. ./oolever on April 5» 1900. 
She was born in Union Township on Aug. 19, 1899* Her parents 
were David L. and Amillie Belle Van Tassel vvoolever. David 
L. was born March 22, 1871 and died May 10, 1944. Amillie 
Belle was born June 19, 1875 and died March 2$, 1953. They 
were married Nov. 22, 1893. They attended church at Jack Oak 
and are buried at Mt. Zion Cemetery. 

After their marriage Minor and Nellie lived many years 
in Charleston v/here he v/orked at the Broom Factory. Later 
they moved to his mother's farm just west of Rt. 130 north of 
Timothy. After seven years there they moved to Nellie's 
homeplace, the Woolever farm south of Jack Oak, v/hich they nov/ 
own. After v/orking at the Broom Factory tv/enty years Minor 
farmed and worked for the road commissioner of Union Town- 
ship. Nellie has v/orked at the Charleston Hospital for the 
past ten years, v/here she now v;orks part time. 

Nellie and Minor are parents of one son, Paul Clinton 
born Jan. 16, 1921. On July 24, 19^3, he married Mossie L. 
Osburn at Montgomery, Ala. They have three children: Carolyn 
Faye (married Darrell Ferris and they have two children, 
Darrell Glenn and Shannon Faye;), laul Osburn and Jeffrey 
Stev/art. Paul and Mossie lived in Charleston until this 
spring, 1968, v;hen they built a new home south of his yarents 
and moved there in May 1968. 

Besides their son Paul, Nellie and Minor have a foster 
daughter, Dora Ann Moore, a daughter of Minor's half-sister 
Lula Mae Butler Moore, born Jan. 17, 1958. She was known in 
school and by her friends as Dora Ann Decker. She married 
Daniel Sherrick Aug. 11, 1957. They have two daughters, 
Renata Ann and Sherrie Dee. They live in Jacksonville, Fla. 

DECKSR, OCOLIA a son of v/illiam R. and Elizabeth Decker 
was born Sept. 29, 1859. On Jan. 18, I8s5 he married Susan 
Catherine Matheny born Jan. 5, 1867 a daughter of Benjamin and 
Ruth Tharp Matheny. She was born in Jasper Co. near Yale, 
111. and came to Cumberland Co. v/ith her parents at the age 
of 14. "Oce" v;as a farmer and they lived on farms near Green- 
up and in the Jack Oak vicinity. He passed away on April 27, 
1925. After his death Susan lived in her hone, which had 
been her parents home north of Jack Oak, with her son Earl 
until his marriage in 1928. Then she lived alone until 1932 
when she moved into the hone v;ith her daughter Mrs. Lillie 

-363- 



ilohej v/hei'e she lived, until her death on Sept. 5, 19^"^. 
They are buried, at lit. .^ion Cemetery. They v/ere parents of 
eleven children. 

(1) Dessie Viola born Cct. .??, 1885 and died Jan. 13, 
la86. (2) Lillie i:Jllon born Jan. 6, 1887 married /irnold Robey 
June 27, 1906. Arnold died Feb. 19'i-7 and Lillie died Jan. 
29, 1958. They are buried at the Long Point Cemetery. (3) 
riary iillsie born Feb. 23, 1889 married Hugh HcCorniack. She 
died i-iarch 6, 1951. i^) Corlista i:ettie born March 20, 1591 
and died Nov. 30, 1902. (5) Goldie May born August 31, 1893 
married ^idgar Vv'ade. (6) Sylvia IJenetia born Dec. 2o, 1895 
married Thomas Hodebaugh. (7) william j.jrnest born Feb. 18, 
1888 married Florence lioberts. (8) iilza U. born Sept. 18, 
1900 married Inez Kemper, (9) ^arl born Jan. 4, 1903 marr- 
ied Ellen Outright. (10) Clarence Victor born March 27, 
19C'6 died May 26, 1916. An infant son born Dec. 28, 1895, 
a tv;in to Sylvia was born dead. 

Dr:CKz.R, .v'lLLlA?! ExlKEST born Feb. 18, 1898 a son of Oce 
and Susan Matheny Decker was married to Florence rJoberts on 
April 20, 1919. Florence born Feb. 26, I9OI was the daughter 
of Milton and Myrtle St. John Roberts. Both families lived 
in Union Township, Cumberland Co. VJilliam and i'lorence have 
alv;ays lived on farms in Union Tovmsip, several years ago they 
bought the Hogback Schoolhouse one mile west of Union Center 
and made it into a home where they now live. To them were 
born eight children: .:£rnest Roberts, Everett Lee, Kosebud 
Virginia, Marion Lucille, Billie Gene, Donald Max, Janet 
Delana, and John Raymond. 

Ernest Roberts Decker born Jan. 25, 1920 the eldest son 
of -iilliam and Florence Decker married Mary 1 oulter of Charles- 
ton on Oct. 2, 19-^8. Ernest has always worked at construction 
work. He worked on the railroad many years and the past few 
years on road and other construction. They live in Greenup 
where Mary works at Hayden's Grocery. They have three child- 
ren; Virginia Lynn born Aug. 9, 19'^9. She is a graduate of 
Cumberland liigh School and nov; \;orks at General Electric in 
Mattoon. She will be married June 2, 1968 to Miciiael Miller, 
son of Mrs. Kenneth Miller of Timothy. Ernest Eugene born 
Sept. 28, 1950. He graduated from Cumberland High School in 
May 1968. He v/orks part time at Hayden's Grocery. Delana 
Jev;ell born Hovember 19, 1951 is a high school student. 
Ernest spent 18 months in Germany in i/orld w'ar II. 

Everett Lee Decker, second son of '.Villiam and Florence 
Decker was born Dec. 12, 1922. On February 3, 19'^0 he 
married Maurine Olga Darling born Ar^ril 1, 1923 a daughter of 
Cleo and Mildred Carlen Darling. Everett farms on several 
farms as v;ell as his own farm near Timothy. He lives on a 
farm near Union Center belonging to John Outright. His son 
Carroll lives on his farm. At one time both Everett and 
Maurine ^^;orked at Ettlebrick Shoe Company in Greenup when 
first married. Everett and Maurine have three children: 
Carroll born May 3, 19'4-2 married Janice Parker of Martinsville 
July 7, I960. He works at the Columbia Machine Co. in Mat- 

-364- 



toon and also helps his father with the farming. They live 
on his father's farm north of Timothy on Rt. I30. They have 
two daughters Shelly Jo and Denise. Twin girls, Linda Kaye 
and Glenda Tiaye were born March 3I > 19^5* Linda Kaye married 
Robert Ragon Feb. 26, I960. They live in Hazel Dell and have 
three sons Bobby, Russell and Ricky. Glenda Maye married 
Larry Sidwell May 19, 1964. They live on a farm in Union 
Township north of Rt. 40. They have one daughter, Selena, 

Rosebud Virginia Decker born Nov. 23, 1924 married rlugene 
Mc-31ravy March 21, 1942. They live on a farm south of Jev/ett 
111. They have three children Vicki born Aug. 22, 1944, 
married Carl wellbaum. They live at Jev/ett and have a son 
Eric Joe, Randall is in the Army stationed at Fort Riley, 
Kansas, and Jeffrey is a student of Cumberland High School, 
Gene served overseas iii /vorld 'jar II. 

Marion Lucille Decker born Feb. 12, 1927 married Charles 
Decker Oct. 23, 1941, a son of Kr. and Mrs. John Decker of 
Charleston. They live on a farm near Rardin, 111. and are 
parents of six children; Judith Rose married Don Tatman and 
they have two children, Cynthia and lilddie. They live in Merr- 
ill, ^±s.; Sharon Kay married Richard Button, son of Mr. and 
Mrs. Charles Button of Greenup and they have a daughter 
Anita Jo. They live in Greenup; Donna married Don wells of 
Charleston and they live in Mattoon; Richard, Patty and Terry 
living at home. 

Billie Gene Decker born April 18, 1929 married Roberta 
May Kuhn the daughter of Albert and Mary Malcom Kuhn Aug. 10, 
1951' He works for the Forest Oil Co. and they live in 
Casey. They have three children Debbie, Stephen, and Charles. 
Billie Gene served in the Army in Germany. 

Donald Max Decker born Sept. 28, 1932 married Barbara 
Jackson of Charleston June 11, 1955, and they live in Charles- 
ton. He teaches music (vocal, choir, and musical dramatics) 
in the Charleston High School. He and Barbara sing for many 
occasions, i'hey have four children Dawn, Bradley and Brad 
and Don. Don, an adopted son, attends art school in Indiana- 
polis, Ind. Donald Max served in the army in Xorth Carolina 
during the Korean '-Var. 

Janet Delana Decker born March 50, 1937 married Ihil 
Cooper Nov. 10, 1956, a son of Mr. and Mrs. Fred Cooper of 
near Martinsville. Phil farms although "chey live in Casey. 
They have three children, Kim, Kevin, and Karen. 

John Raymond Decker born April 27, 1940 married Barbara 
Scoles Nov. 13, 1962. Both John and Barbara worked at Norge 
Plant in Effingham several years. John is now working as a 
bricklayer. They live in Casey and have a son, Bruce Allen. 
John is in the National Guard, 

DECIiER, ELZA 0. born Sept. 18, 1900 a son of Ccolia and 
Suaan Matheny Decker married Inez Kemper born July 1, 1903, 
a daughter of Wesley and Daisy Baldwin Kemper of Union Tovm- 
ship. They have always lived in Union Tov/nship where Elza 

-365- 



farmed and v/orked many years for the Road Commissioner driving 
a truck and working on roads and bridges. He also served as 
precinct .committeeman of his precinct. They live on a farm 
near Maple Point. I'o them were born two children, Aline and 
Howard . 

Aline born Feb. IC, 1920 married Garl Grissom March 6, 
1936 • Carl born April 25, 191S is zhe son of Oris and Zetta 
■Tipsv;ord Grissom. Both worked at the shoe factory in Green- 
up when first married. x^fter a fev; years they began farming. 
In 19'^8 "Chey moved to a farm near Decatur v/here they lived 
several years. Later they moved to a farm north of Jecatur 
near Maroa, 111. and lived there until the spring of 1968 
when they bought the farm west of the Ryan Bridge in Cotton- 
wood tov.'nship and moved back to Cumberland Co. 

Carl and Aline are parents of five children. ii^verett 
Carl born Jan. 31, 19'^1 married Margaret Day born June 2, 
19'4-1. -c^verett has farmed, done construction work, run a 
filling station and is nov; working for the Decatur School 
oystem, d:"iving a bus and doing maintenance \;ork. They live 
near Maroa, 111. and have three daughters, Angela and Dayna. 
Lela born Feb. 6, 19^6 married James Campbell born Sept. 10, 
1945. 'i'hey have two sons Allen and Stephen. James v/orks 
as a mechanic at Bryant Chevrolet in Casey, v;here they live. 
Letha born Dec. 28, 19'4-6 graduated in May 1968 from Inter- 
I^ational Bible College in San Antonion, Texas. Viola born 
Dec. 23, 19'^? has completed two years at International Bible 
College. She is to be married June 16, 1968 to Eugene Cole 
Holder of Georgia. Velraa born July 10, 19^9 and passed av/ay 
June 6, 1967. 'l^he four girls were a singing gospel quartet 
and sang at many cliurches and on the radio. After Lela's 
marriage the other three formed a trio and were on their v;ay 
to sing at a meeting in Florida v/hen they stopped to rest 
along the Gulf of Mexico. Iv'hile wading in the v;ater an 
undercurrent caught Letha and Velma and Velma was drowned. 

Howard Decker born Jan. 5, 1923 married Louise Sowers 
born Sept. 9, 1922. They live in Teoria, 111. v/here Hov;ard 
has a used car business. During .vorld ..ar II he v;as a para- 
trooper with the 82nd Airborne. He v/as overseas two years 
and made several jumps over Germany. They have one son Danny 
born May 17, 19'^2. He is married to Darlene Buchanan and they 
have four children; David, twins Donna and Darrell, and Deanna, 
Danny works at the Caterpillar I lant in leoria. 

BEGL^R, l/ILLIAM R. born Aug. 8, 1851 was a son of Henry 
(1808-1855) and Synthia Decker (1812-1850).. Henry Decker came 
to what is now Cumberland Co. and entered almost 250 acres of 
government land in May and June 1939. v/illiam R. married 
Llizabeth Decker born Nov. 10, 1625. They lived in the Jack 
Oak and Antioch community. Elizabeth's father was also 
named .villiam and he had come to 111. from Ky. 

ti/illiam and "Betty" as she v;as called lived on farms in 
the same vicinity as her parents. They were parents of ten 
children: 

-366- 



./illiam Henry, Ocolia, Charles A, John A., Columbus, Mar- 
tha and lianda, tv;ins, Lucy ^. , Mary ^. and Margaret. 

iillizabeth died Jan. 16, 1902. In Nov. 1905 •■'/illiani mar- 
ried Charity Thomas. -^'hey lived on a farm east of Greenup 
on the York Road at the time of .villiam's death Feb. 2, 1912. 
.villiam and Elizabeth are buried in the Mt . Zion Cemetery in 
Union Township. 

(1) Margaret married John Rodebaugh and they had three 
children: Mollie, william, and Charles all deceased. 

(2) Mary si,. Lnown as "Met" married Douglas .voodrow. Their 
children were vyalter, iirlo, Morton, Harlen, and Lucille. 
..alter and Morton are living. (3) Manda married John Drum 
and they had one daughter, Jovie, deceased. (4) Martha marr- 
ied William Huston and she had two daughters -lissie and Florence 
both deceased. (5) Charles A. died at the age of twenty. (6) 
John A. and (7) Lucy ii. died early in life. (8) Columbus was 
born May 5, 1864 married Dora Hutton and they had one son, 
Minor. Columbus died March 10, 1900. (9) William Henry born 
-Sept. 26, 1852 nnd died Feb. 7, 1927. He married Sarah Ed- 
v;ards in 1872 and to them v/ere born four children: Lizzie, 
Lona , Ross, and Ira, all deceased. His v;ife Sarah died in 
1880. On Sept. 22, 1886 he married Rhoda Ann Bensley and to 
them were born six children: Charles, Noah, Cecil, James, 
Beulah, and Everett. 

DELP, FORREST E. , born Sept. 22, 1899, son of Lewis and 
Mallissia (Sawyer) Delp, married Zola Hurt Aug. 10, 1920, at 
Henderson, Ky. Zola's parents v/ere Elmer Charles "Tell" and 
Pearl (.jood) Hurt. "Tell" v;as born Sept. 15, 1881, near Green- 
up, 111. Pearl died Dec. 4, I960, at Marshall, 111., and is 
buried at Casey, 111., in North Cemetery. She was born July 
29, 1888, at Mattoon, 111. Zola was born Jan. 21, 1906 near 
Greenup. 

Forrest and Zola had (1) Betty June, born July 10, 1921 
at home, Rt. 2, Greenup, and married Joe Van De Jiele April 
5, 1949 at San Diego, Calif.; (2) Loistel, born April 19, 
1930, same address, and married David Summerville at Decatur, 
111.; (3) Sandra Lee, born Feb. 4, 1956 at home, R. 1, Casey, 
and married Leland Hawes at Casey, March 5, 1947- 

In 1955, after the burning of the Lev/is Delp home, where 
they lived with his mother, the Forrest Delps moved to their 
present home. He built an auto repair shop there and is still 
operating it. The farm was bought from the Andy Schiver heirs. 
It is just west of the Vevay Park store and north of the rail- 
road lake. He made a lake which the family enjoys very much 
for swimming and fishing. 

In 1949, the farm buildings and house had to be moved to 
make way for the construction of new Rt . 40. The stopping of 
trains v/ith steam driven engines to take on v/ater from the 
water tov/er, is missed by the older residents of the neigh- 
borhood- the diesels drive on past. 

Lev/is Delp and my grandfather. Bob ,;ood, helped the brick 

-367- 



Vevay Park store for Abe Suffner. ^ibe had everything in the 
store from dress material to any kind of hardv/are , shoes, and 
boots. The elevator v/as south of the road. From there they 
shipped cattle and other livestock. Ily father, "Tell" Hurt 
hadagasoline baler, bought about 1912, and he baled many tons 
of hay v/hich v;as shipped from that siding. 

Abe also had an ice storage house v;hich Lewis and Bob 
helped to fill v/ith ice cut from the lake. There v;as a scale 
house where Frank "Jockey" opears, jokingly known as the mayor 
of Vevay lark, lived later, and heated with coal ] ick.ed up 
from the track, spilled from the railroad coal cars v/hen they 
were jerked by the stoj-ping and starting to take on v;ater. 
There v/as a depot and mail stop at Vevay then. ./hen the new 
road came through, the scale house v/as moved to the north side 
of the road. He died this v/inter and was buried at Greenup. 

There v;as a salt lick just east of our house, v;here the 
cattle came and bedded down for the night. The brick in the 
Vevay Park store v/ere baked in the kiln v/here the Everett 
Short home is now. -L'he clay v;as taken from the Lewis Cochonour 
(now Summerville) farm jjlace. Hot long ago the Vevay Lark 
store building burned down and all the rest connected v/ith it 
has gone, even the section house, moved to make room for the 
new road. Contributed by Zola Delp. 

DELI', Lev/is, July 51, 1858 in Cumberland Co., 111. son of 
Adam and Latherine (Nigh) Jelp, married Nallisia 3av;yer, born 
April 5? 1852, in 1878 in Cumberland Go. Adam v/as born in 1818, 
in Germany and died in 1853 here. He is buried in the Green- 
up cemetery. Katherine was born, lived, and died in this Co. 

Lewis died in March, 1928, buried at Greenup, 111. rlallissia 
of Columbus, Ind. , died in Casey, III., Nov. 2^, 1950 and is 
buried at Greenup. Her futher was oolom Sav/yer v;ho died and 
was buried at Brazil, Ind. in 1918. His v/ife was a Freeman 
who died in 1887 in Ohio, no more dates. 

Lewis Delp ' s had (1) Pearl, born near Greenup, died at 
Casey, was married to Arthur Reeder; (2) Bessie born Nov. 1884 
near Greenup, married P. McCabe, and died May, 1924 at Charles- 
ton, 111.; (5) Forrest E. born Sept. 22, 1899 near Greenup, 
married Zola Hurt Aug. 10, 1920 in Kentucky. 

Lewis and Mallissia Delp spent their married life in the 
Valley Church neighborhood. If Lewis had lived until their 
anniversary date they would have celebrated their fiftieth 
that year. They moved to their home one half mile north and 
one half mile v;est of the Pleasant Grove Church v;hen Pearl 
was about tv;o years old. The house was log. Bessie was born 
in Nov. and Lewis scooped out a wagon load of snov; from the 
loft. They used a fireplace for heat. Later they built a 
frame house. Mellissia was good to go v/hen any of the njigh- 
bors were sick or expecting a nev/ baby. Lewis was road com- 
missioner for many years. They were good farmers and took many 
blue ribbons at the Greenup Cumberland Co. FiAr v/ith their 
P^oland China hogs, garden produce, canned and baked goods, 

-368- 



butter, lard and home made soap. -hey had never missed a 
Fair until 1925, v;hen Lewis v/as ill. 

DILLIER, F3AITKLIN XAVIZR, son of a master glass blower, 
Jacob Xavier Joseph and A. Karia Antonia (Heymann) Dillier, 
was born Aug. 13, 1S4-0 in Eappersch\i^l , St. Gallen Co., 
Switzerland, and came to this country v;hen a child. 

He served in the 2nd Cavalry Regiment Illinois Volunteers 
during the Civil ./ar. Enlisting at Upper Alton, 111. July 

20, 1851, he was disch-;rged for disability Karch 25, 1852. 
Oct. 11, 1865, at Alton, 111., he v;as married by Rev. 

Oof tope to Frederricca I-faff, ;/ho came i'ron Baden, Germany 
when a child. '-i^hey became the parents of tv;elve children: 
(1) Frank; (2) Michael "Mike"; (5) Johnny, died in infancy; 
(4) Mary; (5) Joseph; (5) Charles; (7) infant; (8) Jake; 
(9) Harry A. died in infancy; (10) Kate, (11) .Elizabeth and 
(12) George. 

Franklin Xavie'r resided in Missouriten years after the 
v/ar, and came to Illinois by covered v/agon drawn by a v;hite 
tea.m, v/ith his v;ife and four children. He established a 
home five miles southeast of Greenup and four miles northv/est 
of Hazel Dell v/hich is in Crooked Creek twp. in Cumb. Co. 
There the rest of his children were born. Here he engaged 
in farming and upon retiring moved to Greenup purchasing the 
property near the Mineral v/ell, v;hich belonged to Lemuel 
Leggett. His vjife, Frederricca passed av;ay June 29, 1910 
and was buried in the Hazel Dell, 111. Cemetery. He married 
Mrs. Hettie Coble Oct. 12, 1910. Franklin died June 29, 1917 
and was buried in Hazel Dell Cem. leaving v;ife, nine children 
tv;enty-seven grand-children, tv;o great grandchildren and one 
half-brother of Chicago, 111., of whom no further record has 
been found. 

(1) Frank Dillier, son of Franklin Xavier and Frederricca 
(Pfaff) Dillier was born Jan. 2, 1867 at Sedaig, Missouri, 
and came v/ith his parents to 111. and setled in Cumb. Co. 
at the age of ten. July 28, 1895 j he married Lennie Jane, dau. 
of -vm. and Maggie (Bolen) loe. Frank and Lennie were parents 
of 8 children: Mabel Mae; Maggie (infant); ./m. "Bill"; Holly; 
Flora; Elza; Clyde and J'alter LaVerl . Frank died Nov. 11, 
1957 and Lennie, Dec. 2, 1955. Both are buried in Hazel Dell 
Illinois Cemetery, 

(a) Mabel Mae, v/as born June 12, 1895 near Greenup, Cumb. 
Co., Jan. 28, 1917? Mabel married Geo. Alvery Markv/ell. 'fhey 
are parents of the following: Vera Lucille; Helen Juanita; 
and Loren Dean. Mable and George celebrated their 50th -Ved- 
ding ilnniversary in 1957. ("b) ..'illiam "Bill" v/as born Sept. 

21, 1900. He married Nov. 2, 1924, Jessie Pearl Byers. They 
were the parents of three children, Doyle; Betty and latricia 
Joan. Jessie died Mar. 13, 1940. "Bill" married Mrs. Lillian 
Markwell and they reside in Greenup. (c) Holly v/as born April 
19, 1903. He married Mary Jane, dau. of ./m. Albert and Bertha 
Alice (Slusser) Freeland. Holly and Mary are parents of 
Bertha lola and James Lee. Holly and Mary live at Casey, 111. 

(d) Flora was born Nov. 9, 1908. Unmarried, she resides 

-369- 



in Casey, 111. and has worked at the Casey Manufacturing Co. 
for many years. (e) .^Iza was horn Feb. 14, 1910. He married 
Lucille oimpson and they are j)arents of Harold Leon; Carolyn 
Joan, r;nd Tiarsha Kay, v;ho died Nov. 12, 1962. (f) Clyde was 
born Jan. 22, 1915 and married Violet riadlem. 'i'hey had one 
son, -Robert Eugene. Clyde died Feb. 12, 1937 • (g) .Valter 
LaVerl was born Kat'ch 5, 1919- He rrrried Mary Fasig. '-^'hey 
are parents of: Betsy Ann; Hark ^i-lan; Joe Marvin and oteven 
Lee. i^hey reside near Casey, 111. 

(2) Michael "Mike", son of Franklin Xavier and Frederricca 
(Ifaff) Dillier I'/as born near Joplin, Missouri, oept. 28, 1869 
and came to Cumberland Co. v/ith his ].arents at the age of 8 
years. March 15, 1891, he married Laura Allen and they became 
parents of following children: iLthel; Jalter ^'arl and -ri-lbert 
..'arren v/ho died in infancy. "Mike" passed away Feb. 2$, 1950 
and Laura passed av/ay Feb. 4, 1959- Both are buried in Mt . 
Zion (Black) Cemetery. -L:.thel v;as born Dec. 13, 1891. ^he 
married Jess Hurt June 4, 1911. 'fhey were jarents of Hussell; 
Sybil and Dean. waiter ii^arl was born Oct. 9, 1899. He was 
married Dec. 24, 1920, to Freda Jane King. '-^'hey were parents 
of tv;o children, Burnetta Cecelia and an infant son. Freda 
died Sept. 15, 1935 • -i^arl married Mrs. Justine (Goldsmith) 
Bowman. He died Dec. 28, 1961 and v;as buried in Greenup 
Cemetery. Justine lives in Greenup and manages the Dillier 
Hatchery. 

(4) Mary Dillier, dau. of Franklin Xavier and Frederricca 
(xfaff) Dillier v/as born Dec. 18, 1873 near Joplin, Mo. ^he 
married Frank T. Benson, Nov. 1896. -^'hey were parents of 
follov:ing children: I'ercie who died in infancy; Arthur Glen; 
.■/alter Coral "Carl" and Evelyn Valentine. Frank owned and 
operated I'he Benson Grocery Store on Kentucky Street, the iest 
side of the Village Souare. Plary died Oct. 16, 19''*-8 and Frank 
died April 10, I960. Both are buried in the Harmony Cemetery 
near Greenup. Arthur Glen was born Oct. 15, 1902. He was 

married June 11, 1927 to Gladys Clara, dau. of John D. and 
iiffie (Hayv;ood) Chezem. Clara was born Mar. 5, 1908. .irthur 
and Clara v;ere parents of tv;o children, Rosalee Charlene and 
Jerald .jean. Clara died Jan. 22, 1967 and was buried in 
Greenup Cemetery. Arthur lives on East Pleasant St., Green- 
up, --''■osalee Charlene was born ^>.ug. 4, 1928 and is married 
to 'fheo Quentin Swim. They are parents of three sons: Theo 
Shawn, born June 9, 1952; Gregory Todd, born April 17, 1956; 
and Christopher Lee, born March 13, 1962. They live on East 
Elizabeth St. in Greenup, 111. Jerald Dean was born Oct. 24, 
195^ and is married to Mabel Lind Ewart. They are the parents 
of two daus.; Andrea Lind, born June 20, 1959; and Mindy Jo, 
born Aug. 15, I960. They reside in Paris, 111, 

Walter Coral "Carl" was born May 24, 1907 . He married 
Serena Latta, Oct. 1930. They were parents of four sons: 
Faul Edwin; Carl Ramon; Jack Leroy and James Allen. Serena 
passed away Dec. 6, 1955 and was buried in Greenup Cemetery 

-370- 



Carl married Mrs. Eileen Mae (Ormsby) Armistead, July 4-, 1957« 
Carl owns and operates the Benson's Shell Service Station, in 
Greenup. Paul Edwin, born April 28, 1931, was married to 
Shirley Peters July 5, 1962. They have one dau. , Kimberly 
Ann born March 18, 1967. They live at Salem, 111. Carl Ramon 
was born June 12, 1952 and was married Aug. 12, 1956 to Alice 
dau. of Leonard and Nellie (Craig) Mills. They are the parents 
of two children; Kelly Richelle, born March 13, 1961; and 
Roger Edward, born Nov. 14, 1962. They live in Findlay, Ohio, 
Jack Leroy, v/as born July 12, 1935, unmarried lives near Van 
Nuys, Calif.; and James Allen, born March 2, 19^4-3, unmarried, 
lives in Okla. City, Okla. 

Evelyn Valentine, born Feb. 14, 1910, married Lawrence 
Gerald "Funk" Miller, Oct. 25, 1932. They were parents of 
two sons, Lawrence Gerald Jr. "Larry" and infant. Evelyn 
died Oct. 2, 1955 and was buried in the Harmony Cem. "Funk" 
lives in Greenup and is employed by Benson's Service Station. 
He also farms. Lawrence Gerald Jr. "Larry" was born Oct. 51, 
1952. He married Patsy Shull, Aug. 28, 1958. They have a 
dau.. Sue Anne, born June 20, 1965. They reside in Robinson, 
111. 

(5) Joseph "Joe" Dillier, son of Franklin Xavier and 
Frederricca (Pfaff) Dillier was born March 6, 1876 near 
Sedalia, Mo. He v/as married to Eva May Lawson, Dec. 5, 1899 
and they were the parents of Albert Harold and Mary Eva. Eva 
May passed away July 2, 1902 and was buried in the Hazel Dell 
111. Cemetery. Joe married Viola Stevens May 15, 1912 and 
they adopted a dau. Patricia Joan. Joe passed away Dec. 12, 
1954 and was buried in Hazel Dell, 111. Cemetery. His wife 
Viola lives in Greenup. Albert Harold was born Oct. 25, 1900. 
He married Clarice Thomas, and they were parents of three 
children, Nellie; Opal and Dale. Harold and Clarice live in 
Greenup. Mary Eva v;as born Feb. 20, 1902 and was married to 
Euris E. Greeson, Dec. 26, 1926. -^'hey v;ere parents of four 
children: Wm. A.; Donald J.; Ruth Irene and George Raymond 
(deceased). Mary and Euris live near Toledo, 111. 

(6) Charles Dillier, son of Franklin and Frederricca 
Dillier was born March 10, 1878 in Crooked Creek Twp., Cumber- 
land Co. near Greenup, 111. On Dec. 24, 1899, he married Mona 
dau. of Walter and Josephine (Caylor) Butler. Charles and 
Mona were parents of three children; James Albert; Josephine; 
and Clarence Raymond. Mona passed away June 11, 1905, at 
Helena, Ark. and was buried in Greenup Cem. Charles married 
Sept. 11, 1924, Elsie Yelton. He passed away Dec. 5, 1956 
and was buried in Hazel Dell Cem. Elsie married a Mr. Houser 
and later she passed away. James Albert was born Sept. 21, 
1900, and married Mary Agnes Reddy. They v;ere parents of 
four children: Charles; Martha; Dorothy and infant son. 
James Albert passed away April 10, 1948. Josephine "Josie" 
was born Feb. 16, 1902. She married Theodore "Teddy" Klaus, 
Feb. 14, 1920. They are the parents of six cr.ildren: Mona 

-371- 



winsor, born Feb. 1$, 1921, married Maurice Kendall Aug. 27, 
1956. '-'■'hey v/ere parents of six ciiildren. John Allen, born 
March 12, 1925, married ij^ileen Christine Hobbins, Dec. 24-, 
1949. Mary Louise, born April 10, 1930 married Gerald j'arfel 
Nov. 6, 19^8. '-L'hey were parents of a dau. Terri Louise: 
James Ray, born May 15, 1955, died Oct.. 15, 1952; JoAnn,born 
May 2, 1958 married Collins Marion Jenkins, oept. 28, 1957 • 
They are parents of three children, Cathy Jo, Jody Renee and 
Brett Allen: Judy i^ose, born Nov. 9, 19'4-5, married Lenard 
Vincent Kurring. Clarence Raymond was born April 11, 1904. 
He married Lmily Miller, May 25, 1925^ They were parents of 
two c.'iildren, Charles Ray and Robert Allan. Emily passed 
away April 20, 1959 • ^e then married Mrs. Margaret Rahar. 
Raymond passed av/ay Feb. 5, 1965, Collinsville , 111. and 
buried in ot. Johns Cemetery. 

(8) Jake, son of Franklin and Frederricca Dillier was 
born May 4, 1881 near Greenup in Cumberland Co. He was married 
Dec. 6, 1905 to Myrtle Mae, born Nov. 4, 1885, a dau. of '.vm. 
Henry and Mary Fliz. (Williams) Hayden. They were parents of 
four children: Pearl Carl; Ethel Fstaline; Bonnie Irene and 
Freda May. For many years they resided in the Delno School 
Community where they were engaged in farming. Upon retiring, 
they moved to town on 111. Street across from the First Presby. 
Church in Greenup. The Jake Dilliers celebrated their 50th 
vVedding Anniversary in 1955* Myrtle passed away July 22, 
1962 and Jake on Nov. 16, 1962. Both are buried in the Green- 
up Cemetery. Pearl Carl, was born Sept. 19, 1907 near Green- 
up, 111. He v/as married Sept. 8, 1928 to Athus Cleo, born 
Oct. 16, I9O8, a dau. of David Marshall and Forest Bell (Carr) 
Stewart. Pearl and Athus were parents of a dau. Norma Joan. 
The Dilliers owned and operated the Greenup Appliance Store. 
Pearl died Oct. 15, 1965 and was buried in Greenup Cemetery 
Athus lives in Greenup. Norma Joan v^as born July 28, 1929 in 
Bradford, Ark. She is married to Jack Cecil Montgomery and 
they have three children, -^herrel Lynn, born July 10, 1949. 
Kay, born March 19, 1955 and John Carl born April 7, 1958. 
Joan and Jack now ovm the Greenup Appliance Store. Fthel 
Estaline, was born May 50, 1910 near Greenup. August 2, 1928 
she married Carl Loren Light, born Oct. 25, 1909 . -'-'hey are 
parents of three children, Donald Lugene ; Madge Rossine and 
Donna Carlene (both died in infancy) . The Lights are engaged 
in farming and reside near Toledo, 111. -'-'onald Eugene was 
born Jan. 10, 1950 near Toledo, 111. He married Dona Luida 
McClain, Sept. 11, 1948 in Henderson, Ky. They are parents 
of four children: Randal Joe, born Aug. I5, 1949; ^on Thomas 
born May 22, 1955; James Alan, born Oct. I7, 1959, and Nancy 
Ann born Sept. 20, 1952. Randal Joe is nox\r serving in the 
U. S. Navy. Bonnie Irene, v/as born Jan. 31, 1915 near Green- 
up, 111. She married March 15, 1950 Herman Underv/ood who was 
born Oct. 6, I905 a son of John Calvin and Delia May (Ragon) 
Underwood. -^^onnie and Herman Underv/ood are parents of a son 

-372- 



Robert Delno. They ov/n and operate the Underwood Shoe otore 
in Greenup. Robert Delno was born July '26, 1955 • He married 
Retia Kay Golden, JJec. 5» 1958. '-'•'hey are parents of three 
daus.: Connie Sue, born April 50, 1959; Lenora Kay, born Feb. 
22, 1951 and Nancy Jo, born Sept. 24, 1965. Freda May, was 
born Hay 28, 1917 near Greenup, 111. She v;as married July 
3, 195^ to Clarence Underwood who was born Nov. 29, 1912, a 
son of John Calvin and Delia May (Ragon) Underwood. They are 
parents of a dau. , Nancy Sue. Nancy i^ue was born Oct. 1, 
19^2 in Jiffingham Go. Effingham, 111. She married Roger Dean 
Swearingen who was born Jan. 15, 19*^2. They have a son, 
Michael Wayne born March 50, 1964 in Urbana, 111. 

(10) Kate, dau. of Franklin and Frederricca Dillier was 
born May 18, 1886 near Greenup, 111. June 21, 1908 she was 
married to Geo. Elza Hayden, who was born April 12, 1888, a 
son of v-/m. Henry and Mary Eliz. (vvilliams) Hayden. Kate and 
Elza were parents of four children: V/alter Geo., born July 4, 
1909 married Ila Maurine Stev;art, infant son; Mildred Lucille 
born July 15, 1912 married Philip Gorden Eubank; Donald Albert 
born Sept. 7 ■> 1922, married Patricia Lucille Sowers; 

(11) Elizabeth "Lizzie", dau. of Franklin Xavier and 
Frederricca (Pfaff) Dillier was born April 18, 1888 near 
Greenup. She v/as married June 21, I9O8 to w'm. Winfield "Win" 
Shadley who was born Nov. 6, 1880 a son of James and Eliz. 
(Lev/is; Shadley. "Lizzie" and "Win" were parents of 7 child- 
ren: Ruth Irene; Ruby Lucille; Lawrence Franklin; Richard 
William; Grace Ann; Marjorie Jean and Lloyd Ernest. The Shad- 
leys celebrated their 50th i^edding Anniversary in 1958. "Lizzie-'^ 
passed away June 5? 1951 and "v/in" Dec. 20, 1961. Both are 
buried at the Greenup Cemetery. 

Ruth Irene was born Jan. 12, 1909, near Greenup. She 
married Frank IVilliams Oct. 18, 1928. He was the son of John 
Edv/ard and Dora (Shull) .villiams. Ruth and Frank are parents 
of three children, infant, Marilyn Virginia, and Carolyn Sue. 

Marilyn Virginia born Sept. 28, 1952 married May 20, 1950 
Newell Dean Carter who was born Feb. I5, 1950. -^'hey are 
parents of three daus., Deana Lyn born June 5, 1952, Morgan- 
field, Ky. Pamela Jo born Sept. 29, 1956 Brush Colorado, 
Carrie Lee born April 25, 1951 Brush, Colo. They reside in 
Olney, 111. 

Carolyn Sue, born Dec. 25, 195^ married May 1, 1955 to 
Robert Steven "Steve" Winnett son of Benjamin Lee and Isa Laud 
(Spesard) Winnett. Carolyn and Steve are parents of four daus. 
Carolyn Michelle born May 14, 1955, San Diego, Calif., Steph- 
anie Lynn, Feb. 1, 1957, Charleston, 111., Eliz. --^ue, Dec. 15 
1959, Terre Haute, Ind. , Joan Leslie, Aug. 20, 1962, Dubuque, 
Iowa. -^"hey presently reside at woodriver, 111. 

Ruby Lucille was born Sept. 18, 1911 at Greenup. She was 
married at Terre Haute, Ind. Oct. 3, 1955 at Verne D. Phillips 
from Martinsville, 111. They are parents of one dau., Connie 
Lou. Connie Lou was born Mar. 26, 1945 in San Diego, Calif. 
She married Michael Patrick I'loore who was born May 4, 1941 

-373- 



and they are parents of two children. Barry Edward born 
Sept. 5, 1962 and Lisa born Dec. '4-, 1963 in San Diego, Calif. 
They now reside in Texas. Ruby and Verne live in Chula "^ista 
Calif. 

Lawrence Franklin "Mike" was born Jan. 51, 191^ in Cum- 
berland Co. He married Anna Mae, v/ho was born March 24, 1920 
a daughter of Earl Alfonso and Alva Coral (Neeley) Bliss. 
Mike and Anna Mae are parents of Susan Darlene born Aug. 14, 
1956. They reside in Greenup. 

Hichard William "Dick" was born Jan. 25, 1917 in Cumber- 
land Co. Dec. 51, 19^^ he married liary Eleanor -c'urry from 
Toledo. Dick and Eleanor live in Greenup where he is em- 
ployed by the Greenup Manufacturing Co. and she teaches at 
Cumberland Unit 411' 

Grace Ann was born June 1, 1920 in Greenup, 111. •-'he v;as 
married May 20, 1939 to John Richard itten, v/ho v/as born Aug. 
26, 1915 and a son of Cell Honnie and Orthal Marie (Eibler; 
Aten. Grace and Richard are parents of two daus., Ella Lee 
born Oct. 10, 1940 and Betty Ann born Jan. 7, 1952. i'he 
Aten's are engaged in farming and reside near Hidalgo, 111. 
in Jasper Co. 

Marjorie Joan was born Sept. 9, 1922, in Greenup, 111. 
She married Wm. Joseph "Bill" who was born Sept. 27, 1921 a 
son of Wm. Byran and Sylvia (Cox) McMorris. Marge and Bill 
are parents of two sons, Wm. Dale and Richard Eugene. Wm. 
Dale born Sept. 14, 19'^2, married Margaret Ann Snearley from 
Casey, 111. Richard Eugene born Nov. 50, 19^^ is now serving 
with the Armed Forces overseas. 

Lloyd Ernest was born Dec. 1, 1924 in Greenup, 111. Lloyd, 
unmarried is head of the Accounting Dept . of the Jev/ish 
Hospital and resides in Hollywood, Calif. 

(12) Diliier, George, twelfth and youngest child of Frank- 
lin X. and Frederricca (Pfaff) Diliier was born Aug. 27, 1890 
in Crooked Creek twp., Cumberland Co. near Greenup, 111. He 
spent most of his childhood on the farm. Nov. 12, 1911 he 
was married to Lucille Jane, who was born July 21, 1894 a dau 
of Clark Cushman and Jessie Adelaide (Parker) Leggett. George 
and Lucille were parents of four children: George Arthur 
born Dec. 25, 1912 and died April 4, 1915; Donavan Leggett 
born June 25, 1917 and died June 25, 1918, Ina Lucille and 
Robert Clinton. George was Deacon of the First Presby. Church 
of Greenup, served on the i'own Council and School Board for 
many years. He was employed by the Cumberland Mineral Springs 
and the Greenup Light Plant. At the time of his death was 
with the Ettelbrick Shoe Co. He passed away Feb. 6, 19'^5 and 
was buried in the Greenup Cemetery. 

Ina Lucille, was born Oct. 15, 1919 in Greenup, and she 
and her mother live on East Pleasant Street in Greenup. Their 
home was built in 1922 by her father, George, and grandfather 
Clark Cushman Leggett. The house stands where the early Chris- 
tian Church once stood and before that v;as known as First Meth. 
Church. Some of the old timber from the church is still in the 
house today. Ina is a Deacon in the First Presbyterian Church 

-374- 



p^^sa 




George Eillier, Lucille Leggett Dillier, 
Ina Lucille Dillier, Robert Clinton Dillier, 




Mr. and Mrs, William Cass 
Prather, States Attorney in 1880. 




Delbert Johnson & friend 
Mable L. Carter 



of Greenup, a charter menber of the Young .Vonen's Club, '^he 
Cumberland Business and Professional .somen's Club, the Cum- 
berland Co. Historical and Generalogical docieties. ohe en- 
joys civic participation and hobbies are Genealogy, collect- 
ing friends, flowers, bells, dishes and "Junk". 

l-iobt. Clinton "Bob" was born Nov. 22, 1920 in Greenup. 
He served with the U. iJ. Air J'orce during .^orld war 2. ii-n- 
tering the service Mar. 3, 19^2 from Greenup, he was dis- 
charged v;ith rank of tJergeant, 1605'4-382, Nov. $0, 19'^5 at 
March Pield, Riverside, Calif. Nov. 22, 19^6 in Newton, 111. 
he married Dorothy Lucille, who was born May 10, 191? at 
Murray City, Hocking Co., Ohio, daughter of Morris Daniel 
and Hyla Lorraine (James) Albaugh. -^ob and Dorothy are parents 
of two boys, Robt. Clinton, Jr. and Norman James. Bob grad- 
uated from the University of 111., in 19^4-9 and is presently 
employed by the University as System Analyst. 

Robert Clinton, Jr. "Rob" born Aug. 21, 19^7, Galesburg, 
111. attended Mattbon Grade school, Effingham High School and 
one year at U. of I. and is nov; serving in the U.S. Armed 
ii'orces overseas. 

Norman James born July 25, 1956 Mattoon, 111., attended 
school in Effingham, 111. Bedford, Ind. and now Cumberland 
Unit r^77^ 

DUGAN, MiAURICE EJING, born Oct. 7, 189^ in Cumberland Co. 
111., married Rena Sheltry, xiug. IS, 1915, in Duluth, -Jis. 
Her father, Charles Edv/ard Dugan, born April 17, 1861, in 
Higginsport, Ohio, and married Laura M. Ewing Oct. 17, 1888 
she v/as born Jan. 26, 1865, Charles died Sept. 19, 1925 and 
Laura died June 1, 193^ • Both are buried at Noega, 111. 

Their children were: Un-naraed son born Aug. 9, 1904; 
Chauncey born Nov. 20, 1689; Mary Irene born Feb. 16, 1892; 
Maurice Ewing born Oct. 7, 1894; Christine born Dec. 5, 1901, 
married George Jacobsen. 

The children of M. E. Dugan are: Donald Edv/ard born Jan. 
9, 1920 ; v;ho married Dorothy Louise i^ord; and Charles Joseph 
born July 11, 1921; Marjorie Helen born Jan. 7, 1918, who 
married Burnace Ball. 

DUGAN, EVANS, born Sept. 10, 1826 at Higginsport, Ohio, 
married May 8, 1855, Ellen Jane Martin, in Ohio, Brown Co., 
who was born July 29, 1834. Both Duncan and Ellen died at 
Neoga, 111., Duncan April 26, 1887, and Ellen Nov. 3, 1916. 
His father v/as Basil Dugan, his mother, Sarah Evans. Their 
children were Mary F., born May 10, 1856, married James Thayer, 
died Aug. 21, 1887; Charles Edward born April 17, 1861, marr- 
ied Laura Ewing, died Sept. 19, 1923; Lewis, born Nov, 27, 
1862, married Alice Morrison, died Aug. 11, 1914; Clara, born 
Dec. 20, 1872, married Charles Dove, died May 11, 1954; 
Harriett, born Aug. 12, 1874 and died Aug. 29, 1959. p^^,^t^^«AiL^ 

DUl^HAT-I, SOLOMON, miller and blacksmith, born in Delal. Co. 
Ohio, Dec. 14, 1825, a son of Harleck and Elizabeth (Haskins) 
Dunham, who came from Gonv;ay, Mass., to Ohio about 1808, v;hile 
the Indians were yet there in great numbers. Solomon was 
married to Mary Sherman in Dela. Co., on April 21, 1850. 

-375- 



Mary was born in Muskingum Co., Ohio, Aug. 30, 1850, a dau. of 
iili and Rachael (Nichols) '-'herman. This section of Ohio was 
settled mainly by veterans of the Revolutionary vlar who came 
up from Virginia, and to v;hom hardship and danger were common- 
place. They were on the first land gained from the Indians 
by treaty. The way westv/ard was a dangerous trail, yet these 
old soldiers accepted the challenge. Abel oherman, great 
grandfather of Mary, after settling the Olive Green Creek 
settlement some twenty-six miles up the Muskingum River, was 
murdered by the famous half breed Indian, Silverheels, Aug. 
15^ 179'4-, as were many another of the early settlers slain 
and mutilated by the red man. 

In 1865, -Solomon Dunham, in company with Ira Sherman, 
uncle of Mary, and various other -Sherman kin, moved to Cum- 
berland Co., 111. settling six miles northeast of Toledo, 
near Cottonwood Church. The road one half mile east of 
Cottonv/ood angling south toward Greenup was called the Dela. 
Road, because so many settlers lived on from Dela. Co., Ohio. 
Five children were born to the Dunhams, Sarah, born Feb. 16, 
1851, in Dela. Co.; Charles, Clem, ^^ilfred and william. The 
mother, Mary Dunham, died Oct. 10, 1867, and was buried in 
Tippett Cemetery, six miles northwest of Greenup, 111. 

March 9, 1869, Sarah Dunham v/as married to James Arthur 
Busick in Greonup,Ill. James, a son of John and Mary (Bowdre) 
Busick, v;ho had moved to this county from Madison Col, Ohio, 
about 1850, settled in the Cottonwood area, v;here Mr. Busick 
died in IQ^l^-'^'^Jajn.es was a farmer, born April 19, 18-4-6, in 
Madison Co., Ohio, and a Union soldier, slipping away to en- 
list when only seventeen years old. 

In 1870, Solomon Dunham moved to Albion, Iowa, and in 
187^, on to near Brady, Texas, urging the James Busick family 
to join him there. James and Sarah, now the parents of four 
children, born in Cottonwood Tov;nship, Cumberland Co., 111., 
Delia, Samuel L., who died at four months of age, George and 
Gertrude, only three months old. They made the move in March 
1875* James, leaving his family with a rancher, walked on 
forty miles to join his f ather-in-lav; near the San Saba River. 
Next morning, March 18, 1875, Oomanche Indians on a cattle- 
stealing raid, attacked the ranch, ambushing and killing Solo- 
mon and James Busick. They are buried in Spiller Cemetery, 
near Voca, McCullen Co., Texas. Indeed true, the trail west- 
ward was a dangerous one. Sarah, a twenty-four year old girl 
having spent most of her life on the quiet farm near Toledo, 
111., remained on her father's ranch for three years. She 
killed rattle snakes and wildcats, and listened to the spine 
chilling v/ar .hoops of Indians, huddling in the corner of her 
little "soddie" with her three small children, expecting to 
be killed at any time. She roped wild cows to trees and milk- 
ed them, selling milk and butter to the nearby fort to pro- 
vide for herself and children. Not only the soldiers accepted 
th© challenges I 

Sarah returned to Albion, Iowa, in 1879. July 5, 1880, 
she married John Rathbone , returning to 111. in 1884, and 

-376- 



lived at Pierson, Hume, and Atwood. •^afah. died Jan. 20, 1927 
in D\indee, Mich. John Hathbone died in Monticello, 111., June 
21, 1953. Burials were in Atwood, 111. They had six children: 
Clara, John, -dlmer, Walter, Ora L. , born Dec. 13, 1889 at 
Hume, and Hay Hathbone. Ora L. married Huth Meyer, July 25, 
I9I6, in Indianapolis, Ind. Ruth -was born Nov. 12, 1900, 
in Macomb, 111, Their children were: Robert, 2velyn, Ruth, 
and Patricia Hathbone. Ora L. graduated from Hiime High School 
in 1910, and attended Butler college in Indianapolis. Moving 
to Dearborn, Mich., in 1928, he worked for the Ford Motor Co. 
for 28 years in charge of the Tool and Book Store at the River 
Rouge Plant. He now resides at 1329 Linville St., v/ayne , Mich. 

DUKN, MAUDE BEHITEICE: I was born Maude Berneice Dunn, 
April 25, 1884, in Ciunberland "^o. on the farm home of my 
mother and father, Mr. and Mrs. Jefferson L. Dunn, seven miles 
south of Greenup, one mile off of v;hat is nov; State St. 130, 
near Range Creek. My mother was Miranda J. Applegate. She 
was the mother of nine children, namely: Maida (Jackson) died 
in 1952; Maude (Hunt, Davie), born in 1884; John H. , who lives 
in Reno, Nevada; Edwin C. , died in St. Louis in 1952; Gerald 
R., Elbert L. , Richard L. , Merl R. , and Lowell C, all live 
in Greenup, 111 . 

Our grandfather, Harvey Applegate was killed on July 4 
in the Civil War v/hen our mother was a babe in arms. He 
never saw her. This was 1854. 

DUITN, ROBERT GERALD was born April 15, 1895 in Greenup, 
111., the son of Miranda Josephine Applegate and Louis Jeffer- 
son Dunn. Miranda was born on Feb. 20, 1853 in. Ind, She died 
May 15, 1955 at Hidalgo, Ci^mberland Co. They were married 
May 5, 1882. Louis J. Dunn vms born Sept. 22, 1853 in Ky. and 
died Nov. 13, 1936 in Cumberland Co. Both parents belonged 
to the Hidalgo Baptist church6.nd are buried at Aten Cemetery. 

Robert married Cleo Joy Sperry on March 21, 1920. She 
was born Nov. 15, 1895 at Greenup, the daughter of Herbert F. 
Sperry and Alice I. Snearley. Herbert v;as born Nov. 7, 1847 
and died June 21, 1925. Alice was born Sept. 22, 1857 and 
died Nov. 23, 1945. They were married May 2, 1875- Both 
were members of Liberty Hill Evangelical United Brethren 
church and were buried in Greenup Cemetery. 

Robert is a veteran of World War I. His hobby is carpentry, 
occupation is farming ahd has been township asses x^or for 35 
years. Their children are Fredia Viola, Virginia Louise, 
Alberta Jean and Donna Mae. 

DUI'CN: Russell D. Markwell v/as married on Nov. 30, 1945 
to Fredia Viola Dunn who was born April 3, 1921 at Greenup. 
Their children: Joyce Lorean, March 15, 1948, Robert Lewis, 
born March 8, 1949, Sandra Ellen, born June 17, 1951, Richard 
Dale, born May 24, 195^, William Eugene, born Dec. 5, 1955 • 

Suris C. Henderson was married on Dec. 22, 1945 at Green- 
up to Virginia Louise Dunn who was born Aug. 3, 1924 at Green- 
up. Their children are Sally Dean, born Jan. 1, 1948 and 
Kathleen Sue, born August 8, 1952. 

Lloyd L. Darling was married Nov. 18, 1949 to Alberta 

-377- 



Jean Dunn who was born June 22, 1930. Their children: Jerry 
Lee, born July 7, 1951 » Terry Duane , born June $, 1953 » Allen 
Dean^ born Nov. 21, 1957. 

i:iobert E. Carl en was married on Feb. 7, 1958 at Greenup 
to Donna Mae Dunn who was born August 3, 1937 at Greenup. 

DODDS, PORTER BERRY a son of William Logan and Roxana 
(Alexander) Dodds was born in Union Township Oct. 11, 1895* 
He married Edna B. Jalters, born in Union Tov/nship June 2, 
1906, a daughter of Jake and Arizona (Ivens) waiters, on June 
16, 1929. After teaching school a few years Porter served in 
the U. S. ITavy during Jorld '.i/ar I. Returning from the Navy 
he again taught school a fev; years. He then went to Detroit, 
Mich, where he worked in the Henry Ford plant as a paint in- 
spector for several years. Coming back to 111. he bought the 
store at Hutton in Coles Co., 111. Charles Closson became his 
partner and they ran this General Merchandise Store for about 
eighteen years. After selling out here Porter and Edna moved 
to Casey, 111. and again he went into the store business run- 
ning a small store and gas station on North Central St. where 
he was still in business at the time of his death on Nov. 9, 
1956. 

Porter and Edna had one daughter Joretta Ann born July 
20, 1932 but they had the misfortune of losing her on March 

II, 19^3 • Porter and daughter Joretta are buried in the 
Washington St. Cemetery in Casey. Edna lives in her home in 

DOUGLAS, MARY ROv/ENA, born Feb. 9, 1923 at Neoga, 111. a 
daughter of Charles 0. and Ina M. (Lane) Douglas. Charles 
was born July 12, 1892 in Mattoon, 111. Ina was born Sept. 
25, 1900 at vJindsor, 111. 

Mary married Leo Finley, Oct. 31, 19^4-7 at the First 
Christian Church in Neoga, 111. He was a son of Fred -t'inley 
born Aug. 16, 1886 in Macoupin Co., 111. and Estella (Daniels) 
Finley born Oct. 29, 1866 in Vandalia, 111. 

Mary and Leo have one son, David Leo who was born Aug. 
5, 1948 at Mattoon, 111. They now live at Neoga. 

- E - 

SASTON, GLEN was born Dec. 21, 1904 the son of Charles L. 
and Oda Alice (Barbee) Easton near Janesville in Coles Co. 

III. He was married to Meredith Light, dau. of George w. and 
Mamie (Ward) Light on March 9, 1924 at Tuscola, 111. Mr. 
Easton made his living as a farmer in the Liberty Hill Comm- 
unity. Mr. and Mrs. Easton are presently living in Greenup. 
They are both members of the E.U.B. Church at Liberty Hill, 
Mr. Easton is a member of the Cumberland Co. Fair Association 
The Greenup Kiv;anis Club, and has alv;ays been actively inter- 
ested in community affairs and improvements. Mr. and Mrs. 
Easton are parents of the following children: ./ilmer LeRoy, 

born April 22, 1925 in Cerro Gordo, Macon Co. Ill; Kathryn 
Marie, born Nov. 14, I927at Greenup; Glen Eugene, born Feb. 
16, 1930 in Greenup twp; Rosemary Alice, born Nov. 6, 1933 

-378- 



in Greenup Township; and Patricia Joan, .born Dec. 5» 19^2 in 
Greenup Township. 

EASTON, BILKER LEROY was born April 22, 1925 a son of Glen 
and Meredith (Light) Easton at Cerro Gordo, Macon Co., 111. 
On March 30, 19^4-7 he married Joanne Cutts, dau. of Floyd 
Elmer and Thelma (Stark) Cutts. They have three sons: Jilmer 
L., Jr., born July 20, 19^9; J^obert Glenn, born May 7, 195^; 
and Benjamin Joseph, born Feb. 17, 1958» -^H three sons were 
born in the Mattoon Hospital in Mattoon, Coles Co., 111. 

Mr. Easton is a lifelong resident of Cumberland Go. His 
childhood years were spent in the Liberty Hill Commtmity where 
he attended the Liberty Hill Church, the Liberty Hill Grade 
School, and the Greenup High School, -during vv'orld \Jar II 
he served his country f®r thirty eight months as a member of 
the U.S. Marine Corps. He advanced to rank of Technical 
Sergeant, was with the First Marines and was attnched to the 
Third Marine Air i/v'ing serving in the Pacific Area on Ikinawa 
and the Occupation of Japan. Mr. Easton is actively engaged 
in farming and has other successful business interests. He 
is an Elder in the Presby. Church in Greenup, past president 
and charter member of the Greenup Kiwanis Club, a member of 
the Chamber of Commerce, and a Director of the Greenup Deve- 
lopments, Inc. which is at present building a fine new Nur- 
sign Home for the area and has caused the Cumberland Heights 
addition to be added to the Corporation of Greenup. Mr. Easton 
has served on the Greenup Village Council for twelve years, 
six of those years as Village President. He is also actively 
interested in Soil Conservation, '-/abash Valley Association, 
Tourism, a Director of the Embarrass Hiver Basin Agency for 
Economic Opportunity, and a member of the Cumberland Co. 
Historical Society, the V.F.W., and American Legion. 

Joanne (Cutts) Easton was born April 24, 1928 in .vatseka, 
Iroquois Co., 111. With the exception of three years in Ind. 
Mrs. Easton 's childhood was spent in Toledo where she attend- 
ed the Toledo Schools enjoying participation in band, chorus, 
school plays, the school paper, and athletic activities. 
She graduated from Toledo Community High School in 19'^6. She 
attended the Methodist Church which she joined at age sixteen. 
Singing in the church choir was one of her greatest pleasures 
as a girl. After coming to Greenup at the time of her marr- 
iage, Mrs. Easton attended and eventually changed her member- 
ship to the Presbyterian Church in Greenup. She has ivorked 
v/ith youngsters in Vacation Church School, Jr. Choirs, Class 
teaching, has served on the Christian Education Committee, 
and for some tine now has been church organist. As a member 
and past president of the Young ift/oman's Club of Greenup, she 
has taken part in many civic activities. She is also a member 
of the Cumberland Co. Historical Society and the Cumberland 
Genealogical Society, 

Mr. and Mrs. Easton Iwe resided in the same neighborhood 
since their marriage; they lived in a frame dwelling for 
eighteen years ad have recently moved into a pink brick home 
which they built just across the street on S. Franklin St. 
Family, home, and friends are an important part of life to them. 

-379- 



ELLIOTT, LESTER MARION, born April 5, 1904, in Jasper co. 
III., son of John D, and Etta Jane (ICingery) Elliott, of Jasper 
Co., married Oma Price, born June 4, 1909, in Toledo, 111. 

John D. born June 5, 1879, died in April, 1938, and was 
buried in the Island Creek cemetery where his wife, Etta, 
born March 7, 1879, and died Jan., 19^3, was also buried. 

The father of Laura, Joseph Henry Price, born March 6, 
1873, married Louisa Peters on July 3, 1907. Louisa's birth 
date was April 15, 1880 and death date March, I960, with 
burial at Brush Creek Cemetery. 

The Lester Elliott family was (1) Evelyn Louise, born 
Sept. 8, 1929, married Vernon Livingston Oct. 30, 1950 at 
Toledo, 111.; (2) Dorsa Marie born May 20, 1931 in Coles Co. 
111. and died June 10, 19^9; (3) Luella Fern born June 16, 
1933 and married Leonard Livingston, all of Toledo; (4) Gary 
Lester born Jan. 10, 1937 in Jasper Co.; (5) Janice Marcella 
born Sept. 3, l9'4-0 in Jasper Co., married Max James May 31, 
1958, in Toledo, 111. 

Lester Elliott's maternal grandfather, John Kingery, 
served in the Civil v/ar. He lived in Cumberland Co., 111. 

The father of John D. Elliott was Michael who married 
Weltha Wallace. Both are buried in Island Creek Cemetery. 

The parents of Etta Kingery were John and Lens Mumper, 
both buried in the Mullen Cemetery. 

John Henry Price was the son of William, born July 25, 
1849, died Nov. 27, 1922, and Rachel Houser who was born Dec. 
25, 1850 and died Dec. 1943- 

Louisa Peters was the daughter of John and Jeannette (Pope) 
Peters, who are buried at the Brush Creek cemetery. 

Island Creek cemetery is about eight miles southwest of 
Jewett, 111. in Jasper County. 

Brush Creek cemetery is about ten miles southwest of 
Toledo, Cumberland Co., 111. 

ELDER, JOSEPH married Elizabeth v/arman and they lived the 
region between Greenup and Toledo. They raised a family of 
five girls and three boys: Rebecca Ellen born Aug. 14, 1838 
married Thomas Wall. They had four children. After his death 
she married Allen Askew and they had seven children. 

Hulda married William Ray of Jewett. They had three child- 
ren; Joe, Norris, and Carrie. Carrie married John Coy and 
lives between Toledo and Neoga. Norris was the father of 
Evelyn of Jewett and Edgar of Greenup. 

Nancy married John Ingram and lived north of ^ioodbury. 
They had five children; Walter lived in Charleston and had 
two daughters; Tilford married Mamie Livingston and had four 
children. They lived near Jewett. John married Bessie Cooley 
and they lived in Jewett. Their children were, Opal, Mildred 
and Lloyd. Lloyd lives in Greenup. Maggie married Vernon 
Raredin and lives in Charleston. They had ten children; two 
are deceased. Annie married Lee Arnett of Jewett. They had 
three daughters now living in Greenup. 

Margaret married Isaac Stirewalt and lived at Timothy. 
They were parents of ten children: Joe married Nan Wright and 

-380- 



they lived at Timothy then moved to Ark. They had four child- 
ren Alexander, Nola, Augusta, and Lev/is. Rebecca married Lin- 
coln Williams and lived near the Harmony Church. They had two 
children a son dying at about three months of age and Lucille, 
Mrs. Harold Law near Charleston. After Mr. Williams death 
Rebecca married Dayton McCollough. Their children a?e v/eltha 
Hemphill, deceased. Avis Barger, Marion Jinnett, Margaret 
Herrick, and Alta, deceased. Ann married Henry Wall. They 
lived southeast of Timothy. They had tv;o children Iva Burson 
and Garrett Wall. Jake married Melvina »'illiams and had five 
children; Isaac, Warren, Joe, Dean, and £dna. Bid married 
Lizzie Hallett and they had three children, Fearl , Bertha, and 
Taylor. Elizabeth married Grove Reed and had, Lucinda, Mary 
Ann, Herman, Wayne, j^Jdith, Alex, and Lowell. Margaret -iilllen 
married Melvin Carrell. -^hej had two sons, Thomas who died 
at age of five and Lewis. James married Nellie Reed and they 
had three children; Newman, Dorothy, and Weldon. Arminda mar- 
ried Gus Overweser, to them were born two children, Mona and 
William. Lou married Homer "i//atts. They live in Mattoon. 

Lizzie iilder married a Mr. Lineberry. They had a son. 
William married and had five children; Frank, Joe, Robert, 
John, and Mollie (Married Harve Grissom). Joe iilder never 
married. There was another son called "Doc". 

ELSON, EDMUND COMBS was born Dec. 21, 1872 in Trilla, 111. 
the son of Turner and Mary (Lovett) El son. 

Turner Elson was born Oct. 24, 1824 and died Sept. 14, 
1899. He married Mary Lovett in 1853 • She was born Jan. 1, 
1834 in Carroll Co., Ohio. She died Feb. 24, 1916 and was 
buried beside her husband in the cemetery at Trilla, 111. 

Mabel Lorene Thompson was born May 3» 1885 and died April 
23, 1965* She is buried in Neoga Cemetery. Her parents, 
John C. and Mary Wishort were married Jan. 6, 1877. 

John C. Wishort was born in Ohio Nov. 20, 1851 and died 
July 10, 1924. Mary was born in Morgan Co., Ind. Jan. 31, 
1859 and died Jan. 25, 1950. John and Mary are buried in 
Neoga, 111. 

Children born in Trilla, 111. to Edmond and Mabel Elson 
are: Dloyd Thompson born Jan. 31, 1905 married Thelma Farr 
of Ind. Aug. 11, 1926. Carl Edmund born March 18, 1907 marr- 
ied Bessie Baker April 25, 1936 in Mattoon, 111. William 
Dwight born Nov. 1, 1908 married Evelyn Scott Dec. 19, 1936 
in Champaign, 111. Helen Lorena born July 29, 1910 married 
George Wilson May 11, 1935 at Moweaqua, 111. Beulah Irene 
born Feb. 27, 191^ married Paul Zeck June 20, 1939. The 
children born in Neoga, 111. are: John -urner born July 7, 
1918 married Fairy Best Oct. 20, 1942 in Mo. Warren Calvin 
born Aug. 14, 1925 married Wanda Beals July 14, 1951 in 
Mattoon, 111. Rowena Mary born July 16, 1925 married v/illiam 
Drennan Nov. 14, 1948 in Neoga, 111, 

ELSON, WILLIAM DWIGHT born in Trilla, Cumberland Co., 111. 
Nov. 1, 1908 is the son of Edmond C. and Mable (Thompson; 
Elson. 

Edmond C. was born in Trilla, 111. and died June 11, 1955» 

-381- 



On May 3» 1904 he married Mable Thompson who was born in 
Cumberland Co. May 5, 1884. ^he died April 24, 1965, Mattoon 
Coles Co., 111. They are buried in Neoga. ±]dmond and Mable 
were members of the Presby. Church. 

EVELYN PEARL iSCOTT was born July 15, 1915, Effingham Co. 
She is the dau. of Logan Raymond born Oct. 5, 1891 at Gays, 
Coles Co., 111., and Pearl Georgia (Davis) Scott born Nov. 8, 
1897 at Altamont, 111. They were married June 11, 1914 in 
Vandalia, 111. 

William and Evelyn are parents of (1) Betty, born Feb. 
20, 1948 at Decatur, 111. who was married Feb. 28, 1966 in 
Corinth, Miss, to Don Krietemeyer, and (2) Lee who was born 
March 27, 1949 in Decatur, 111. 

EMRICH, PHILLIP, born in 1616 in Ross Co., Ohio, moved 
to Cumberland Co., 111. in 1846. He homesteaded 175 acres 
near the Clark Co. line. He was married to Nancy Redman, born 
in Ross Co., Ohio in 1915. To them six children were born: 
John, Mary, Sarah, Scott, Benjamin, and Taylor. 

After Phillip's death ^Jinfield Scott retained the family 
farm. Later he was elected sherif:pt)f Cumberland Co. and 
while living in Toledo he met and married Olive Mae Park, the 
daughter of Dr. and Mrs. William w. Park of Toledo. After 
his term of office Scott and Ollie moved back to the farm 
in Union Township where seven children were born to them: 
Ben, Marion, Blanche, wayne, Russell, Mary and Annette. Ben 
and Russell are deceased. Marion married Vance Elliott of 
Casey. They and their daughter Margaret Mae live in Casey. 
Wayne also lives in Casey. Blanche lives in Texas. Mary and 
Annette live in Calif. After their dau., Olive married amd 
moved to Union Township, Dr. Park and his family also moved 
to Union Center where he practiced medicine for many years. 
Taylor Emrich bought 175 acres one and a half miles south 
of the family home. He married Catherine McCracken. They 
had three children: Nora, Lucian and Frank. Nora married 
William David. He is deceased. She lives in Casey. Lucian 
had three children: Lucian (deceased Mary Kathryn, and William, 
who lives on the family farm east of Casey. Frank married 
Grace Troughton to which two children were born: Byron and 
Nora Louise. Nora Louise married John 0. Hawkins of Olney, 
111.; a music teacher, who taught music at the Casey High 
School for several years before his retirement. Byron married 
Ila Button of Greenup, 111. Taylor, later bought the home- 
stead farm from his brother, Scott, and Byron, Taylor's grand- 
son, lives on the homestead farm. Byron and Ila have two 
children; Glenda Sue and Richard. Glenda Sue married Kenneth 
Comer and they have three children: Deborah, Stanley, and 
Carole. They live on a farm which is a part of the home- 
stead farm. Richard married Loretta Finn of Newton, 111. and 
is serving four years in the U.S. Navy. 

Frank Emrich married Belle Tracy. They were parents of 
six children: Roy, Harry, Oral, Fred, Earl, and Helen. Of 
these children only Oral is living. She is Mrs. Joseph Webber 
of Denver, Colo. Helen married a Mr. Howard and had a son, 

-382- 



Harold Howard, who lives near Hidalgo, 111. ^fter his first 
wife's death Frank married Alice Mcriechan Roberts and they 
had one daughter, Lula, who married William Brovm and lives 
in Denver, Colo. 

EVERHAHT, MILLAHD C. was born July 18, 1889 in Toledo, 
111. the son of Winfield Scott and Clara (Carr) iiverhart. He 
married Hyrna Green on Nov. 11, 1911 at Charleston, 111. They 
had one child, William Scott, born ^^ug. 26, 1921. Mr. M. C. 
Everhart died March 2, 196? and is buried in the Toledo 
Cemetery. Myrna (Green) Everhart was born Oct. 29, 1890 at 
Bel Air, 111. She is living in Toledo. 

Millard Everhart v/as a. lifelong resident of Toledo, and 
he was actively engaged in the land title business for over 
fifty five years before retiring in 1954. He was Master in 
Chancery of Cumberland Co. for many years and served over 
thirty years as a precinct committeeman v/ith over tv/enty 
years as Judge of the Cumberland Co. Court, he had previously 
served twelve years on the Toledo Village Board and twelve 
years on the Toledo Public School Board. He was a veteran of 
World War I and a charter member of the Wiley-Mumf ord iimerican 
Legion Post 764 in Toledo. He was also a Fast Master of the 
Masonic Lodge in Toledo. 

The Everhart family has resided in Cumberland Co. since 
1868. Philip Everhart (Millard's grandfather) and his wife, 
Susanna, came to Neoga from Shelby Co., 111. in 1868 and re- 
sided there for many years where he was in business. Their 
son, vvinfield Scott, moved to Toledo in 1875 and commenced 
the practice of law with Judge H. B. Decius. Winfield and 
Clara Everhart had a family of six children: (1) Louise 
(Brewer); (2) Susie (Castelo); (3) Minnie (Fitzgerald); (4) 
Gladys (Torrence); (5) Philip; and (6) Millard. 

Millard and Myrna 's son, William Scott, is presently Mayor 
of Toledo, and is continuing in the land title and insurance 
business formerly operated by his father. 

EVERHART, WILLIAM SCOTT, was born Aug. 26, 1921 in Toledo, 
111. the son of Millard C. and Myrna (Green) Everhart. He 
was married on Aug. 6, 1949 in Martinsville, Clark Co., 111. 
to Kathryn J. Kannmacher, daughter of Harry and the late Edith 
L. (Kile) Kannmacher of Anderson T\^. , Clark Co., 111. Kathryn 
J. was born Jan. 17, 1923 in Anderson twp., Clark Co. 

They have two children: (1) Millard Scott, born Feb. 15, 
1951, and (2) Kathryn Anne, born Aug. 5, 1955. They were 
both born in Mattoon, Coles Co., 111. 

Wm. Scott went to the Toledo Public Schools and graduated 
from Toledo High School in 1939. He attended the University 
of 111., and during ./orld Jar II, he served his country in 
the U. S. Army from Aug. 26, 1942 to Feb. 28, 1946. He was 
assigned to the European theater of v;ar. For the family 
background of "Scott", see the sketch on Millard C. Everhart 
in this book. William Scott is continuing in the land title 
and insurance business formerly operated by his father. He 
is the Mayor of the Village of Toledo. 

Kathryn (Kannmacher) Everhart attended the Martinsville 

-383- 



schools and graduated from Martinsville High School in 19'4-0, 
ohe graduated from Ind. State U. , Terre Haute, Ind. She is 
a teacher in Cumberland Grade School. Her mother is deceased 
and is "buried in Marshall cemetery; her father is living in 
Martinsville, (R.F.D.), 111. 

Millard and Kathy i^verhart are both students at Cumberland 
iiigh School. 

E^ETG, ALE:-LAHD£R B. , born June 15, 1828, in ildgar Co., 
111. was married April 1, 1857, to Hancy Templeton. The parents 
of Alexander were George Jr. and jileanor (Parker) Ewing. 
Nancy died March 5, 1865, and Alexander died June 18, 1909- 
Both were buried at Long Point Cemetery, IJeoga, 111. Their 
children were: Thomas Chester, born May 4, 1860, v/ho married 
Minnie Buchanan; Laura, born Jan. 26, 1865, who married 
Charles Dugan. 

THOMiAS TEMPLETON, born 1805, in North Carolina, died Feb. 
1, 1895, and buried at Neoga, 111. -t^'irst v;ife's name is un- 
known. Their children were Jilliam, born 1850, in Ind.; James, 
born 1856, in Ind.; Nancy, born 1859, in 111.; Louisa born 
1842; and Thomas, born 1845, both in 111. 

Thomas' second vi/ife was Rebecca Jane Dryden, born in Tenn 
and died July 28, 1904 at Neoga, 111., and buried there. 
Their children were winfield J., born 1849; Martha, born 1858; 
Elizabeth, born 1861; Ollie, born 1862. All were born in 111. 

- F - 

FAITCHER, CICERO has a sketch in the 1884 Cumberland Co. 
History but since he lived so many years after that and well 
into the 20th century we feel that his story should be brought 
up to date. "Uncle Cicero" as he was knovm by most of his 
friends v;as born near V/esterville , Ohio, on Nov. 27, 1856 and 
came to 111. as a boy of 15, along with his parents, David 
and Martha Francher, five brothers and tv;o sisters in two 
covered wagons. They settled in Cumberland Go. in 1849 just 
2 miles v;est of Casey. The only dv;elling where Casey is now 
was a "Stage Stand" r\in by John Lang. Cicero's father bought 
1200 acres of land which he later distributed among his five 
sons as they married. Cicero clearly recalled all of his early 
years and would tell hoiv the Fanchers were among the first to 
plant wheat where nothing but corn had been grown before. 
They laid out 50 acres in wheat the first year and the yield 
was 50 bushels an acre. He was married to Lydia Tutewiler 
Nov. 27, 1860 in Cumberland Co. and two years later enlisted 
in the Army at Mattoon, 111. He was engaged in 14 heavy 
battles and wounded at Farmington, Tenn. On July 8, 1865 he 
was mustered out of the army at Springfield, 111. and returned 
to his home. He raised a family of three sons and one dau. , 
their first child dying at the age of three months and a son 
Thomas, who was killed at the age of 14 years. Cicero was 
a staunch Republican. He was founder of the First United 
Brethern Church in Casey. In 1956, a hugh celebration was held 

-384- 



at the Casey High School for his 100th birthday. Only a slight 
deafness betrayed his age and he made his daily walk to town 
without the use of a cane. Temperance and clean living were 
the centenarian's explanation of his long life. He passed 
away at the age of 101 years, 2 months and 2-4- days. He is 
buried in Casey. 

FANCHER, DAVID ROYAL, eldest son of Cicero and Lydia 
Fancher was born Oct. 28, 1868 in Cumberland Co., spending his 
younger life on the farm. '^rowing to manhood he married Laura 
i/\/ood, daughter of Brune v\/ood. This marriage produced two 
children. Court, who died in infancy and Lucille who is still 
living, -^arly in the 1900' s he was associated with his father 
and two brothers in the Grocery known as "The Golden Rule 
Store" in Casey. In the early twenties he sold out to his 
brother Orla and retired. Laura died in 195^ and Royal died 
in 1956. They are buried in Casey. Lucille married Victor 
Elliott present owner-operator of the Main St. Pharmacy in 
Casey. They have one daughter "Beth", Mrs. Leo Shelley, liv- 
ing in Arizona. 

FANCHER, ORLA ELLSV/ORTH, second son of Cicero and Lydia 
Fancher was born Nov. 16, 1870 in Cumberland Co. and got his 
early education at the old Ruffner School. After reaching 
manhood he married Daisy Lee. Unto them were born two child- 
ren, Raymond and Marjorie. Orla was in the Grocery business 
for many years after the turn of this century v;ith his father 
and two brothers at "The Golden Rule Store". He passed away 
in the Olney Hospital in 1926. Daisy passed away in 1966. 
His son Raymond passed away several years ago in Fla. Mar- 
jorie is living in Reno, Nevada. 

FAITCHER, CORA ALBERTA was born in Cumberland Co. at their 
farm home. She v/as interested in Church work and followed the 
footsteps of her father in the U.B. Church after it was or- 
ganized at Long I'oint and in the church in Casey. Her father 
was one of the organizers of that denomination in this region. 
She never married j-.referring to live a spinster. She was born 
on Dec. 11, 1873 and passed away at the Rude Nursing Home in 
Casey on April 2, 1965. 

FANCHER, WILBUR PEARL youngest son of Cicero and Lydia 
Fancher was born on a farm west of Casey in Cumberland Co. 
when he reached manhood, he, his parents, along with his two 
brothers and one sister moved to Terre Haute, Ind. where they 
received a business education. After moving back to the farm 
Cicero and his three sons became engaged in the grocery busi- 
ness, which was known as "The Golden Rule Store". On Sept. 
7, 1899 learl was united in marriage to Stella Nash and to 
this union was born one son, Nash. In 1902 Pearl left the 
store and became a salesman for Hulman Co. of Terre Haute. 
He became well knovm and made many friends, as he traveled 
by horse and buggy to the many small villages around Casey. 
After traveling for Hulman seventeen years he opened a grocery 
on South Central in Casey. After the death of his brother 
Orla, he and ^is brother Royal formed a partnership in the 

-385- 



grocery business on the corner of Main and North Central. 
Later Fearl and his son Nash operated a grocery store. After 
his son, Nash was married, Pearl gave up the grocery store in 
1952 and retired. His wife passed away in l95o; the result 
of a broken hip. Two years later Fearl passed away April 1, 
1958. He was a life long member of the E.U.B. Church. 

FANGHER, NASH the son of Pearl and Stella Fancher born 
March 5» 1902 married Maurine Agler Sept. 6, 1952 in Indiana- 
polis, Ind. She was the daughter of Holland and Jane Imn 
Agler of Cumberland Co. After Nash and his father v;ent out 
of the store business Nash worked for the Sohio Oil Co., 
worked at the Stone Quarry, drove a transport truck and drove 
the school bus several years. He is now retired and they 
live in Casey. 

Nash and Maurine have three married sons: James is an 
Industrial Arts Teacher but is now Director of Diversified 
Education at the Argo High School, Argo , 111. near Chicago. 
They live in Orland Park, 111. They have two daughters. 

Gary is a Laboratory Supervisor for Seal Test Co. in Ashe- 
ville, N. C . They have tv;o boys and one girl. 

Steven is a Counselor in the Industrial ochool for Boys 
at Sheridan, 111. They have one son. 

FAULKIIER, SAM, son of Sanford and Jerush Sprague Faulkner, 
was born June 4, 1886 east of Rose Hill in Jasper ^o. After 
his fathers death he came to CumberlandCo. with his mother. 
He married Zelda Irene Shull, daughter of Robert B. and 
Josephine Severns Shull, on *^ept. 1, 1909 at Toledo, 111. in 
Cumberland Co. Zelda v/as born Oct. 25, 1892 about five miles 
south of Greenup, 111. They lived on a farm all of their 
married life. Sam was a great lover of horses and was a jockey 
when a young man. Their main interest was rearing their 
family and their summer vacation was attending the Greenup 
Fair. Sam and Zelda v;ere the parents of five children: La- 
verl, Ladoit, Lela, Eileen, and Florine all v/ere born in the 
same house and delivered by the same doctor. Doctor Keuchler. 
They were born in a community called ^^alla v/alla or Jahpuck 
about five miles southwest of Greenup, 111. 

FAULKNER, LAVERL "BILL" was born April 24, 191O he helped 
farm and worked at the Greenup Shoe Factory until he enlist- 
ed in the U.S. Navy during -vorld War II where he served from 
Jan. 1942 until the was war was over in 1945» Much of the ti'ie 
was spent over seas. He married Goldie Poe of Kartinsville, 
111. On Oct. 12, 1942 in Ste. Genevieve, Mo. They now live 
in Bridgeport, 111. where they own and operate a Coin Laun- 
dry he also works for the Marathon Oil Co. 

FAULF^ER, LADOIT "BUCK" was born March 12, 1915 he helped 
farm, worked at filling stations and drove trucks when a young 
man. He married Iva Kuhn Brown of Greenup on Oct. 4, 1941 
at St. Charles, Mo. He had no children of his own, but a 
step son Lewis Wayne "Jack" Brown whom he loved and raised 
as his own. They moved to Casey, 111. where he worked for 
the Shell Oil Co. later transferred to Niles, Mich. Ladoit 

-386- 



passed away at his home in Mich. v;ith a heart attack on Feb. 
17, 1957 and is buried at the Casey G-umberland Cemetery in 
Casey 111. In Clark Co. His step son "Jack" v;as born Apr. 5, 
1937 and married /Janda Rae McNeel Dec. 14, 1958 they have tv;o 
children, Doit -Vayne born Aug. 10, 1961 and Lynn Ann born Jan. 
24, 1967. Jack graduated from Eastern University at Charleston, 
111. and v/orks for the Marathon Oil Co. at BridgeDort, 111. 

FAULKITER, LELA ZDNA v;as born May 25, 1915 and" married 
Herbert K. Vanatta May 11, 1936 at Hidalgo, 111. 'i^hey live 
on a farm southwest of Greenup, 111. and have two daughters 
Anita Irene and Edna Arlene. Anita Irene v;as born -aug. 51, 
1945 and married John Cisney Sept. 25, I960. They have tv/o 
children Janice Carol born Oct. 10, 1962 in Stuttgart-Bad 
Cannstatt , Germany and John Bradley born June 4, 1964 in Fort 
Sill, Okla. John H. Cisney is a Lt. in the U.S. Army serving 
in Germany and now his second tour in Viet Nam. Edna Arlene 
was born Mar. 19, 1949 and attended SIU. She married Sgt. 
Feter Bradley Feb. 10, 1968 at Ft. Sill, Okla. 

FAULPIJIEa, FERl^ EILEEN was born Sept. 15, 1919 she graduat- 
ed from the Greenup High School with the Class of 1942. She 
was the Chief Operator for the C.T.N. Telephone Co. in Green- 
up, 111. She v;as transferred to Casey, III. v;hen they changed 
to dial system. She is a member of the V.F.w'. Auxuliary 4598 
at Greenup, 111. 

FAULKNER, FLORINE was born Nov. 8, 1922 she graduated from 
the Greenup High School in the year of 1942. She went to '..'ork 
at the Greenup Shoe Factory in May of 1942 and is still em- 
ployed there. She is a member and past president of the V.F.vv. 
Auxuliary 4598 at Greenup, 111. >-'he was married in 1950 but 
divorced and maiden name restored. 

In 1945 Sam and Eelda moved to a farm a mile south of 
Greenup which Sam inherited from his sister, Nola. It was 
known as the Jim Van Dyke farm who was the great-grandfather 
of Dick and Jerry Van Dyke of T. V. fame. "-"am passed away 
at his home with a heart attack on Sept. I5, 1952 and is 
buried at Greenup Cemetery. 

Compiled by Florine Faulkner 

FAULKNER, SANFORD was born in Grant Co., Ky. July 1, 1843 
His v;ife Jerusha Elizabeth Sprague, the daughter of Charles 
and Mahalia Keys Sprague, was born July 29, 1849 in Campbell 
Co., Ky. They were married March 25, 1S65 in Newport, Ky, 
They were the parents of ten children namely: Mary, Sarah, 
Knox, Charles, Flora, Ed, Nola, Dora, May and Sam. The child- 
ren were all born in Campbell Co., Ej. but Sam v;ho was born 
in Jasper Co. In 1885 they came to 111. settling four miles 
east of Rose Hill in Jasper Co. Mr. Faulkner passed away Jan. 
11, 1895 and v/as buried at the Hunt Cemetery about seven 
miles east and south of Rose ?Iill, it was then Mrs. Faulkner 
and her children moved to Cumberland Co. when the children 
grew older most of them moved to different states. Mrs. 
Faulkner passed av;ay in Greenup on April 12, 1950 and is 
buried at the Flainfield Cemetery about one mile east and 

-387- 



north of Rose Hill, 111. Mary was born Sept. 7, 1865 and 
died in lenn. Sept. 8, 1927 and is buried at the Plainfield 
Cemetery. "Sally" was born Aug. 23, 1868 and lived at Green- 
up v;hen she passed away Jan. 28, 19^6 and is buried at Plain- 
field Cemetery. - Knox was born Sept. 18, 1870 he married Nora 
Ling. i'hey had four children Lee, Tlona, iCdgar and Charley. 
Knox died in 1956 and is buried in Charleston, 111. Charles 
T. was born June 9, 1873 and married £dith Adkins of Greenup. 
They had four children Sherman, Ray, Lorene, and Leroy. He 
later remarried and passed away in 1952 and is buried in New 
Mexico. i:''lora was born Sept. 29, 1875 and lived in Penn. 
She married Tom Hurst who passed away. She later moved to 
Fla. and married George Boyle. She passed av;ay at the home 
of her brother, Sam, at Greenuj; on April 11, 1952 and is 
buried at Plainfield. Ed was born Sept. 9, 1877 and married 
Ada, maiden name not known, they had a daughter Mary. Ed 
is buried near Pittsburg, Pa. Nola was born Jan. 9, 1880, 
she married A. F. Thomsen they lived in Washington D. G. after 
her husband passed av;ay, she returned to Greenup and bought 
a farm south of Greenup which was known as the Van Dyke Farm. 
Nola died Feb. 12, 19^5 and is buried at Plainfield. Dora 
was born March 9, 1882 and married Lula Kearstin they had 
three sons, Bernard, Donald, and Forrest. Dora died Feb. 2, 
19^9 and is buried at Minneola, Kan. May Louise was born Apr. 
5, 1884 and married James Templeton of Greenup. They were 
the parents of two daughters, Irene, now Mrs. Wm. Packer, 
and Juanita, now Mrs. Foster, May passed away in San Francisco, 
Calif, on Jan. 27, 1959 and is buried at Plainfield Cemetery. 

Compiled by Florine Faulkner 

FELGENHAUER, M. was born April 18, 1821. He emigrated 
to this country in 1861 v;ith his wife, Francisca Amelia 
(Nicolai) Felgenhauer. '-'he was born Sept. 16, 1827 in Stettin, 
Pomerania, Germany. They homesteaded what is now the Virgil 
.Valk farm, about two miles south of Neoga, Neoga Twp. , Cum- 
berland Co., Ill, Wm. Felgenhauer became a citizen of the 
U. S. on Dec. 17, 1867 at Prairie City (now Toledo) in C\im- 
berland Co. 

He died July 25, 1875 and is buried in the Lutheran Ceme- 
tery at Sigel, 111. Francisca moved to Sigel about 1889 and 
she lived there until her death, April 19, 1912. "^he is buried 
in the Town Cemetery, Sigel, next to her eldest daughter. 

ir/m. and Francisca had two daughters: ';\/ilhelmina was born 
March 25, 1863, died Nov. 14, 1879 and she was buried in the 
Town Cemetery, Sigel. Matilda was born Aug, 9» 1865 in Neoga 
Twp. She married John Henry i^olf June 2, 1884 in St, Paul's 
Lutheran Church, Sigel, 111, 

John Henry .>/olf was born Jan. 12, 1843 in Grebenstein, 
Germany, a son of David v/olf (mother's name is unknown). He 
came to this country in 1882 and lived in Chicago, 111. for 
ten months. In 1883 he came to Sigel with Joseph Roetker who 
was bringing some horses from Chicago. Henry and Matilda 
resided on the farm that was homesteaded by her parents until 

-388- 



1915 when they moved to Sigel. He died Feb. 9, 1919 at his 
home and was buried in the Lutheran Cemetery, Sigel, She died 
July 24, 1947 in St. Anthony's Hospital, Effingham, 111. and 
was buried beside her husband. 

Henry and Matilda had ten children, three died in infancy: 
Elsa Hermine Matilda v/as born Sept. 18, 1885 in Neoga Tovm- 
ship. She married Frederick W. Voigt April 16, 1906 in St. 
Paul's Lutheran Church, Sigel. He was a son of John C. and 
Wilhelmina (Noffke) Voigt of this county. They were divorced 
after about twenty years and she never remarried, "-"he was a 
resident of Terre Haute, Ind. , for about thirty years, -^he 
died there and was buried in Woodlawn Cemetery, Terre Haute. 

Henry Alfred, elsewhere in this book. 

Henry William David was born April 9, 1889 in Neoga Twp. 
He moved to Sigel v/ith his parents ih 1915 and worked in the 
Dakotas a couple of summers during the wheat harvest. About 
1915 or I9I6 he was the proprietor of the hardv/are store in 
Neoga. He died in Deaconess Hospital St. Louis Mo., Feb. 14, 
1917 following an operation for appendicitis. He is buried 
in the Lutheran Cemetery, Sigel, next to his parents. 

Frieda Florentine Eliza was born Jan. 2, 1892 in Neoga 
Twp. and moved to Sigel v;ith her parents in 1915* "^be v;orked 
for Adolf Walk and Fred Baker of Cumberland Co. doing general 
house and farm tasks but preferred the field work, driving a 
team of horses ,ulling a rake or mower. She was working for 
Fred Baker (butchering) when she became ill v;ith flu and 
pneumonia and died in their home Jan. 15, 1919. This was dur- 
ing the flu epedemic , she had a private funeral and was buried 
in the Lutheran Cemetery beside her brother. 

Herman Otto, Henry Louis Warner, Hester Hedv/ig, elsev;here 
in this book. Compiled by Bonnie Baker 

FELTNER, FLOYD JAYNE, born Nov. 28, 1928, son of Wayne 
and Ina (Floyd) Feltner married Floris Matilda ("Wright) Feltner, 
Oct. 9, 1950. Floris is the daughter of Roy and Mable (Jones) 
Wright, born July 26, 1950. They have three children; Deborah 
Sue, born April 10, 195"^, in Mattoon, Coles Co., 111.; Steven 
Ray, born July 18, 1957, in Mattoon, Coles Co., III.; and 
Bruce Wayne, born June 27, 1965, in Mattoon, Coles Co., 111. 

Floyd was in the Armed Forces during the Korean Conflict 
from 1951 to 1955. He now operates a garage in Greenup, 111. 
and has a contract with the Strickland Truck Co. to repair 
their trucks. He is a Republican, and family are members of 
the Block Christian Church south of Greenup, 111. 

FELTNER, INA LORENE (FLOYD), daughter of Silas Sylvester 
"Pete" and Mary Ellen (Strader) Floyd, was born May 29th, 1912. 
She married Commodore Wayne Feltner, on Feb. 20, 1928. He 
was born Nov. 11, 1906, son of Clark and Cora Bell (Forbis) 
Feltner. They liad three children: Floyd .jayne - Nov. 28, 1928 
in Cumberland Co., 111.; Nina May (Conn) - Feb. 7th, 1951 in 
C\amberland Co., 111.; Joseph William - Feb. 19th, 1959. They 
live on their farm home southwest of Greenup, 111. and for the 
last five years he has worked on State Highway Construction. 

-389- 



They are members of the New Hope Christian Church south 
of Greenup, 111. -^'hey a.-e Republicans in politics. 

F3LTN:::H, JOSiilH //ILLIAI-I v;as born Feb. 19, 1959 in Cumber- 
land Co. a son of .vayne Commodore Feltner and Ina Lorene 
(Floyd) Feltner. Wayne was born Nov. 11, 1906. He married 
Ina Lorene Floyd, Feb. 20, 1928 at Marshall, 111. ohe v/as 
born Nay 29, 1912 in Cumberland Co. 

Joseph William Feltner married Bonnie Kaye I.uhn, born 

Sept. 18, 19 in Cumberland Co, ohe was a daughter of 

Lov;ell Franklin Euhn born Nov. 27, 1919, and Merle Ina (Brand- 
enburg) ILuhn, born March 15, 1921. 

Joseph 'William and Bonnie Kaye have two children: Trina 
Joe, born November 3, i960 at Mattoon, 111. and Billy Jo 
"Jodey" born June 23, 1965 at i]ffingham, 111, -^ ibS^ 

FERGUSON, v/ILLIA^I ALEXANDER was born March ^i-,^-3r86^ in 
Coles Co., 111., on the Coles-Cumberland line, east of Trilla 
a son of Joseph M. and Sarah (Alexander) ^' . Ferguson. ^©t), , 
14, 1878 he married Mary Jane "Molly" Sti];^alt, born Jan. 5&-if^^i^ 
24, 1860, a daughter of John and Isobell (Farmer) Stirwalt, 
living southwest of Toledo, 111. They lived all their married 
life on the eifrhty acres of the 160 acre tract of land his 
grandfather, Stephen Ferguson, had entered from the Government 
in 1834, one half mile north of Johnstown, 111. Their first 
home v/as built on the northv/est corner of the 80, and was 
destroyed by fire. The new house v;as built on the northeast 
corner, on the Johnstov;n-Lerna road. William ]ater acquired 
an additional 40 acres near Johnstown. He v/as a Modern ./ood- 
man and Republican, and the family v/as of the United Brethren 
Faith. Molly and ./illiam had seven children, all living to 
be married and have homes of their ov/n: Belle, born July 22, 
1S79, married Lev/is Zike, farmer and storekeeper in Johns- 
town; Grace, born June 2-j, 1882, married George Ozee, farmer 
and banker in Janesville, 111. She was organist at the U.B. 
Church from the age of fourteen till she retired in 1962; 
June, born June 12, 1884, married Charles Barger; learl, born 
July 29, 1887, married Cass Barger; Felix, born Feb. 14, 1893 
married Cora Jones; Hugh McFadden, born July 14, 1895, married 
Roma Lucille Greeson; Hugh was a farmer and Johnstov/n merchant 
for several years, and for fourteen years v/as an employee of 
Kulm;.n wholesale Co., of Mattoon, 111.; Myron Jedediah, born 
Oct. 24, 1902, m.arried Lillie Florence Greeson, sister of 
Roma. Myron ^^/as a farmer and contractor of Government Post 
Office Buildings. The William Ferguson home place has been 
enlarged and remodeled and is the home of Rev. Leo and Beulah 
(Ozee) Vannetta. 

Joseph M. Ferguson, born July 17, 1825, in Bradford County, 
Pa., a son of Stephen and lolly (Atv/ood) Ferguson. His father, 
Stephen Sr. , v/as a native of England and a soldier in the 
British Army. Coming to this country at an early age, he 
settled in Bradford Co., Fa., and married a Miss Foster, from 
an Eastern state. lolly (Atv/ood) Ferguson was a daughter of 
Myron Atwood of Bradford Co., a native of Wales, who served as 
a teamster in the Revolutionary War. 

-390- 



In 1836, Stephen Jr. and Polly moved into 111., settling 
in Coles Co. He entered a large acreage of land, 160 acres 
of which was in what v/as to become Cumberland Co. Joseph was 
eleven v;hen the move v/as made, and one of three children, 
tVilliam, Joseph Vi. and Fiyron J. Joseph v;orked on his father's 
farm, went to school, and became a successful farmer and stock 
raiser. He v;as married, first, in 1849, to I hoebe Ann Brown, 
a daughter of Jourdan and Lydia (Alexander) Brown, who came 
from Ky. to this county about 1850. '-^hey had two children, 
a son died young, and Hary, who married Joseph Dornblazer. 
Ihoebe ^Inn died at 1? years of age, and Mary died at 19. 
March 9, 1852, Joseph l''erguson married Sarah Alexander, 
daughter of Robert and Jemima (Howard) Alexander, natives of 
Hardin Co., Ky. who came to Coles Co., 111. in 1831. Sarah 
was born here May 30, 1832. They settled two miles east of 
Trilla, 111. In those days wild game was plentiful, but was 
gradually killed and driven away. 

Joseph M. and Sarah were parents of eleven children, six 
living to be adults, William A.; Clarence A., married Sarah 
Anderson; Clarissa, married Hugh McFadden; jiffie married 
Charles Landrus ; Alice married John William Boruff; and Joseph 
V/. , v;ho died as a young man. The Fergusons were Whigs, and 
became Republicans after the party was organized. 

F:1]RRIS, CHARLEY AUGUSTUS, son of Henry and Sarah (Peter- 
son) Ferris was born east of Neoga on the Ferris farm Oct. 
1'4-, 1886. He married Nettie Lenora Gordon Nov. 5, 1905 in 
Toledo, Cumberland Co., 111. 

Henry was born April 4, 1839 ? and died Jan. 10, 1918. 
Sarah v/as born Sept. 24, 1849 and died Dec. 17, 1935- They 
belonged to the Church of Christ, and both are buried in the 
Drummond Cemetery, Neoga area. 

The parents of Nettie are Alonzo Gordon and L. Snyder. 
They are buried in Frinia Cemetery. 

Children of Charley and Nettie are: Cieo Ivin, born 
April 15, 1907, and died April 5, 1966 in Mattoon, Coles Co. 
111. He married Alma Mehl in 1957. Donald Lloyd, was born 
Nov. 17, 1911, Neoga and died June 21, 1963 in Mattoon, 111. 
He. v/as married to Mildred Robey. 

FISHER, DR. LEWIS ADDISON, born Oct. 19, 1857 at Cent^r- 
ville, Ind., married Susan Catherine Brewer Nov. 2, 1881. 
In 1881 he was graduated from Butler Medical School in Ind- 
ianapolis, Ind. He began practicing medicine in Oliver, 111, 
the same year. In 1882 he came to Greenup, where he practiced 
continuously until May 1912^ when, because of his health he 
moved /j'est. 

Dr. Fisher and Susan had Dartha, Ophia (Jones), Gladys 
(Joimson), Forrest 1., Ernest and Clyde "Sam" v/ho grev/ up in 
Greenup. 

The good doctor practiced in the 'old horse and buggy' 
days when the roads became impassable for a buggy, he abandon- 
ed his buggy for a cart, and v;hen the cart could not get 
through, he rode horseback. This often happened in the middle 
of the night, and ii/all kinds of -feather. He never measured 

-391- 



the miles. His family often pleaded, "It is too bad to go 1" 
but he would say "oomeone is sick. I must go 1" and off he 
went . 

Often Mother Fisher l^^as called upon to help out v;hen a 
nev; baby arrived, as mothers did not go to the hospital in 
those days and nurses were scarce. .-/hen i^^orrest Fisher re- 
tired and came back to Greenup to live, he was talking to Dr. 
Rhodes of 'foledo who told him that when he was starting his 
practice Dr. Fisher had encouraged him by saying, "You will 
always be busy. There will always be babies". He also pre- 
dicted that hospitals would soon come into general use for 
operations as well as for baby cases. 

After leaving Greenup, Dr. Fisher practiced in Hocky 
Ford, Colo, and in Hudson, Kan. v/here he was privileged to 
work in more modern surroundings, with hospitals, better roads , 
and even a Ford car, but always \\rith the sane dignity and 
honor for his profession that the few old-timers around 
Greenup still remember him for. 

FITCH, JOHI\[ RADER: This is a brief history of the John 
Rader Fitch family, which came to Cumberland ^o.. 111. in 
1865 and settled on a 160 acre farm nine miles southeast of 
Greenup. This line of Fitch was started in the U. S. by Peter 
Fitch. He was born in England in 1765* He and two brothers 
came to New York in 1783 • They went on to Pa. Peter left 
his brothers and settled in Rockingham Co. , Va, in the Shen- 
andoah Valley. He married Jemima Nelson. They were the parents 
of six sons. The oldest son, i^iilliam,